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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 

publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 

days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 

necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 

clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 

comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 

to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 

completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 

comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 

than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 

period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 

appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 

may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 

objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 

will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 

by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 

with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 

Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 

substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 

30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 

public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 

receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 

comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 

inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 

certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 

process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 

provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 

objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 

consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 

Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 

emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 

regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 

law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 

days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 

operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 

unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 

more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 

months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 

Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 

procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 

agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 

Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 

regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 

180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 

chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 

prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

29:5 VA.R. 1075-1192 November 5, 2012, refers to Volume 29, Issue 

5, pages 1075 through 1192 of the Virginia Register issued on  

November 5, 2012. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

James M. LeMunyon, Vice Chair, Gregory D. Habeeb; Ryan T. 

McDougle; Pamela S. Baskervill; Robert L. Calhoun; Carlos L. 

Hopkins; E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; Christopher R. 

Nolen; Timothy Oksman; Charles S. Sharp; Robert L. Tavenner. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 

Karen Perrine, Assistant Registrar; Anne Bloomsburg, Regulations 
Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Operations 

Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

July 2015 through August 2016 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

31:23 June 24, 2015 July 13, 2015 

31:24 July 8, 2015 July 27, 2015 

31:25 July 22, 2015 August 10, 2015 

31:26 August 5, 2015 August 24, 2015 

32:1 August 19, 2015 September 7, 2015 

32:2 September 2, 2015 September 21, 2015 

32:3 September 16, 2015 October 5, 2015 

32:4 September 30, 2015 October 19, 2015 

32:5 October 14, 2015 November 2, 2015 

32:6 October 28, 2015 November 16, 2015 

32:7 November 10, 2015 (Tuesday) November 30, 2015 

32:8 November 24, 2015 (Tuesday) December 14, 2015 

32:9 December 9, 2015 December 28, 2015 

32:10 December 21, 2015 (Monday) January 11, 2016 

32:11 January 6, 2016 January 25, 2016 

32:12 January 20, 2016 February 8, 2016 

32:13 February 3, 2016 February 22, 2016 

32:14 February 17, 2016 March 7, 2016 

32:15 March 2, 2016 March 21, 2016 

32:16 March 16, 2016 April 4, 2016 

32:17 March 30, 2016 April 18, 2016 

32:18 April 13, 2016 May 2, 2016 

32:19 April 27, 2016 May 16, 2016 

32:20 May 11, 2016 May 30, 2016 

32:21 May 25, 2016 June 13, 2016 

32:22 June 8, 2016 June 27, 2016 

32:23 June 22, 2016 July 11, 2016 

32:24 July 6, 2016 July 25, 2016 

32:25 July 20, 2016 August 8, 2016 

32:26 August 3, 2016 August 22, 2016 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC60-20. Regulations Governing 

Dental Practice.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Terry Dickinson. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend regulations for 

unprofessional conduct to adopt, by reference, the Principles 

of Ethics and Code of Professional Conduct of the American 

Dental Association. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: The petition will be 

published on July 13, 2015, in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations and also posted on the Virginia Regulatory 

Townhall at www.townhall.virginia.gov to receive public 

comment ending August 12, 2015. The request to amend 

regulations and any comments for or against the petition will 

be considered by the board at its meeting scheduled for 

September 18, 2015. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 12, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, 

telephone (804) 367-4688, or email 

elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-35; Filed June 11, 2015, 9:22 a.m. 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC60-20. Regulations Governing 

Dental Practice. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Mandepp Sood. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: Amend 18VAC60-20-60 to 

accept dental school programs accredited by Commission on 

Dental Accreditation of Canada (CDAC) since there is an 

existing reciprocal agreement between CDAC and 

Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental 

Association (CODA) to bilaterally recognize programs that 

are accredited by either of these commissions. 

Agency Decision: Request granted. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: The petition and public 

comment, including a letter of support from CODA, were 

considered by the board on June 9, 2015. The board's decision 

was to amend its regulation by a fast-track action. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 

(804) 367-4688, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-31; Filed June 15, 2015, 2:34 p.m. 
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

STATE BOARD OF ELECTIONS 

Extension of Public Comment Period 

Title of Regulation: 1VAC20-40. Voter Registration 

(amending 1VAC20-40-70).  

Statutory Authority: § 24.2-103 of the Code of Virginia. 

The State Board of Elections noticed a public comment 

period on amendments to the voter registration application 

regulation (1VAC20-40-70) and form (VA-NVRA-1) in the 

June 15, 2015, issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations 

(31:21 V.A.R. 1773-1774 June 15, 2015).  

The proposed amendments address material and immaterial 

omissions from applications for voter registration and make 

changes to the state voter registration application form. 

The board at its meeting on June 22, 2015, extended the 

public comment period to seek public comment on the 

proposed regulation amendments and form changes. 

The public comment period has been extended to Monday 

August 3, 2015, using the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall 

website, http://www.townhall.virginia.gov. Please include the 

full name of the person commenting and any organization 

represented. In order to be considered, written comments 

must be submitted in the Town Hall online comment forum 

by 11:59 p.m. on August 3, 2015. Persons without Internet 

access wishing to comment please call Terry Wagoner, 

Accessibility Coordinator, Department of Elections, 1-800-

260-3466 (ext. 8937) TTY: 711. 

A public hearing will be held on July 28, 2015, at 8 a.m., 

Double Tree Hilton, James River Ball Room, 1024 Koger 

Center Boulevard, Richmond, VA 23235. Oral and written 

comments are accepted at public hearings.  

The proposed form can be viewed at this link also appearing 

at the end of the proposed regulation text: Virginia Voter 

Registration Application Form, VA-NVRA-1 (rev. 7/15). 

Agency Contact: Martha Brissette, Policy Analyst, 

Department of Elections, 1100 Bank Street, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 864-8925, FAX (804) 371-0194, or 

email martha.brissette@elections.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4128; Filed June 24, 2015, 8:41 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-70. Pertaining to the 

Harvesting of Clams (amending 4VAC20-70-20 through 

4VAC20-70-50, 4VAC20-70-70, 4VAC20-70-80, 4VAC20-

70-90; adding 4VAC20-70-135).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-

2248 or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) establish the criteria for harvesting 

cultured hard clams by water rakes on leased ground and 

(ii) add clarifying language to the description of sections 

relating to hydraulic dredging on leased and public 

grounds.  

4VAC20-70-20. Definitions.  

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise.:  

"Bull rake" means a device designed for use by hand for the 

purpose of harvesting clams, and which has the following 

characteristics: rake mouth width shall not exceed 30 inches, 

the teeth on the bar shall not be longer than 4½ 4-1/2 inches, 

the holding basket shall not hold greater than ¾ 3/4 of a 

bushel of clams and bottom material, and the handle shall not 

be longer than 30 feet. A bull rake may be equipped with 

skids to adjust the teeth for depth of penetration into the 

bottom.  

"Commission" means the Marine Resources Commission.  

"Conventional dredge" means the type of dredge that has 

become customarily used in Virginia to dredge oysters and 

crabs. It excludes any type of dredge where the dredging 

action functions or is aided by hydraulic action.  

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol31/iss21/v31i21.pdf
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=828e3004128~2&typ=40&actno=004128&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=828e3004128~2&typ=40&actno=004128&mime=application/pdf
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"Conventional hard clam rake" means a device designed for 

use by hand for the purpose of harvesting clams, and which 

has the following characteristics: rake mouth width shall not 

exceed 16 inches, the teeth on the bar shall not be longer than 

seven inches, the attached holding basket shall not hold 

greater than one-tenth 1/10 of a bushel of clams and bottom 

material, and the handle shall not be longer than 10 feet.  

"Cultured clams" means hard shell clams (Mercenaria 

mercenaria) that have been spawned in a hatchery, planted on 

leased ground, and covered with netting or other means 

protected from predators until harvest. 

"Public ground" means the grounds defined by §§ 28.2-551 

and 28.2-639 through 28.2-649 of the Code of Virginia, and 

any areas set aside as public ground by court order.  

"Leased ground" means any grounds leased by the Marine 

Resources Commission pursuant to the provisions of Chapter 

6 (§ 28.2-600 et seq.) of Title 28.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Officer" means a law-enforcement officer of the Marine 

Resources Commission.  

"Unassigned ground" means any ground outside the public 

ground as defined by this chapter and which has not been set 

aside, or assigned by lease, permit or easement by the Marine 

Resources Commission.  

"Water rake" means a device for use by hand for the 

harvesting of cultured clams on leased grounds. The mouth of 

the water rake shall not exceed 36 inches in width, and the 

water rake shall be attached by a hose to a single pump 

engine of no greater than 7.5 horsepower and shall only be 

pulled by a single person, with no mechanical assistance. 

Part II  

Pertaining to the Taking or Catching of Soft Shell Clams 

from Leased Grounds  

4VAC20-70-30. License required for use of a hydraulic 

dredge on leased ground.  

A. It shall be unlawful to take or catch soft shell clams from 

any leased grounds in any of the tidal waters of the 

Commonwealth by the use of a hydraulic dredge without first 

obtaining (i) a soft shell clam dredge license for each boat 

used for such a purpose and (ii) a permit for each boat and 

operator thereof.  

B. Any lessee desiring to take or catch soft shell clams from 

leased ground by the use of a hydraulic dredge shall apply to 

the officer in charge of the district, in writing, specifying the 

location and identity of the specific lease or leases where he 

desires to dredge and request the privilege to dredge the 

specific lease or leases.  

C. Each application will be reviewed by the commission. 

The commission may conduct a public hearing on such 

application if, in its discretion, it is deemed necessary. If the 

commission deems it wise to permit dredging of soft shell 

clams within the area of such a lease, the commission 

engineers shall first approve the existing boundaries, survey 

and plat of each lease. Any surveying or marking of the lease 

which may be necessary shall be at the expense of the lessee, 

unless such survey shows that the leased ground was properly 

marked.  

4VAC20-70-40. Additional permits required for use of a 

hydraulic dredge on leased ground.  

A. After the license is issued by the officer in charge of the 

district and before the licensee may begin to operate the 

hydraulic dredge, the lessee shall obtain from the officer in 

charge of the district a separate and individual permit which 

combines the identification of each lease, boat, and the 

operator thereof. An additional permit shall be obtained from 

the officer in charge of the district each time there is any 

change in operations which does not comply with all 

provisions in the original permit.  

B. The license and permit shall at all times be on board the 

boat available for inspection by any inspector of the 

commission.  

4VAC20-70-50. Operation of a hydraulic dredge on leased 

ground.  

A. It shall be unlawful to operate a hydraulic dredge in the 

nighttime between the hours of sunset and sunrise or on 

Sunday for the catching of soft shell clams from leased 

ground.  

B. It shall be unlawful to operate a hydraulic dredge on any 

lease for less than three acres unless adjoining other leases 

where the combined leases total more than three acres.  

C. It shall be unlawful to operate a hydraulic dredge on any 

leased ground unless the boundaries of the lease are distinctly 

marked between corners to the satisfaction of the officer in 

charge of the district. All such marking shall be continually 

maintained during the dredging operations.  

4VAC20-70-70. License required for use of a hydraulic 

dredge on public ground.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person, other than an 

employee of the commission or the Virginia Institute of 

Marine Science while conducting tests or experiments, to take 

or catch soft shell clams from any public grounds in the tidal 

waters of the Commonwealth by the use of a dredge without 

first obtaining (i) a soft shell clam dredge license as set forth 

in subsection E of this section for each boat used for such 

purpose and (ii) a permit for each boat and operator thereof.  

B. Any person desiring to take or catch soft shell clams from 

the public grounds by the use of a hydraulic dredge shall 

apply to the officer in charge of the district, in writing, 

describing the area and requesting the privilege to dredge the 

specific area.  

C. Each application shall be reviewed by the commission. 

The commission shall conduct a public hearing to determine 

the suitability of the area for the production of oysters, and 

shall make such further investigations and studies as in its 

discretion it deems necessary. If the commission deems it 

wise to permit dredging of soft shell clams in such an area, 
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the area must be surveyed and marked by the commission 

before a license and permit is issued.  

D. If the application is approved by the commission, no 

person shall have the exclusive use of the area for taking or 

catching soft shell clams by hydraulic dredge. The area shall 

be open to the general public for such a purpose provided 

each person obtains the necessary license and permit and 

complies with all other provisions of this chapter.  

4VAC20-70-80. Additional permit required for use of a 

hydraulic dredge on public ground.  

A. After the license is issued by the officer in charge of the 

district, and before the licensee may begin to operate the 

hydraulic dredge, the licensee shall obtain from the officer in 

charge of the district a separate and individual permit which 

combines the identification of the approved area, boat and the 

operator thereof. An additional permit shall be obtained from 

the officer in charge of the district each time there is any 

change in operations which does not comply with the 

provisions in the original permit.  

B. The license and permit shall at all times be on board the 

boat available for inspection by any officer.  

4VAC20-70-90. Operation of a hydraulic dredge on public 

ground.  

It shall be unlawful to operate a hydraulic dredge in the 

nighttime between the hours of sunset and sunrise, or on 

Saturday or Sunday, for the catching of soft shell clams from 

public ground.  

4VAC20-70-135. Water rakes. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to purchase a water 

rake permit, unless that person is a valid clam aquaculture 

product owner permittee. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest or attempt 

to harvest cultured clams by water rake from leased ground 

without a water rake permit. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to pull a water rake by 

any means, other than by hand, and it shall be unlawful for 

that person to use any mechanical assistance while harvesting 

or attempting to harvest cultured clams. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest or attempt 

to harvest cultured clams by water rake prior to sunrise or 

after sunset. It shall be unlawful for any person to leave the 

dock prior to one hour before sunrise, or return to the dock 

after sunset, on a boat with a water rake on that boat. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4419; Filed June 24, 2015, 11:19 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-1090. Pertaining to Licensing 

Requirements and License Fees (amending 4VAC20-1090-

30).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-

2248 or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment adds a water rake permit fee of $24.00 for 

harvesting cultured clams by water rake. 

4VAC20-1090-30. License fees. 

The following listing of license fees applies to any person 

who purchases a license for the purposes of harvesting for 

commercial purposes, or fishing for recreational purposes, 

during any calendar year. The fees listed below include a 

$1.00 agent fee. 

1. COMMERCIAL LICENSES 

Commercial Fisherman Registration 

License $190.00 

Commercial Fisherman Registration 

License for a person 70 years or older $90.00 

Delayed Entry Registration  $190.00 

Delayed Entry Registration License for a 

person 70 years or older  $90.00 

Seafood Landing License for each boat 

or vessel $175.00 

For each Commercial Fishing Pier over 

or upon subaqueous beds (mandatory) $83.00 

Seafood Buyer's License -- For each boat 

or motor vehicle $63.00 

Seafood Buyer's License -- For each 

place of business $126.00 

Clam Aquaculture Product Owner's 

Permit $10.00 

Oyster Aquaculture Product Owner's 

Permit $10.00 

Clam Aquaculture Harvester's Permit $5.00 
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Oyster Aquaculture Harvester's Permit $5.00 

Nonresident Harvester's License $444.00 

2. OYSTER RESOURCE USER FEES 

Any licensed commercial fisherman 

harvesting oysters by hand $50.00 

For any harvester using one or more gear 

types to harvest oysters or for any 

registered commercial fisherman who 

solely harvests or possesses any bushel 

limit described in 4VAC20-720-80, only 

one oyster resource user fee, per year, 

shall be paid $300.00 

On any business shucking or packing no 

more than 1,000 gallons of oysters $500.00 

On any business shucking or packing 

more than 1,000 but no more than 10,000 

gallons of oysters $1,000.00 

On any business shucking or packing 

more than 10,000 but no more than 

25,000 gallons of oysters $2,000.00 

On any business shucking or packing 

more than 25,000 gallons of oysters $4,000.00 

On any oyster buyer using a single truck 

or location $100.00 

On any oyster buyer using multiple 

trucks or locations $300.00 

Commercial aquaculture operation, on 

riparian assignment or general oyster 

planting grounds $50.00 

3. OYSTER HARVESTING, SHUCKING, RELAY, AND 

BUYERS LICENSES 

Any person purchasing oysters caught 

from the public grounds of the 

Commonwealth or the Potomac River, 

for a single place of business with one 

boat or motor vehicle used for buying 

oysters $50.00 

Any person purchasing oysters caught 

from the public grounds of the 

Commonwealth or the Potomac River, 

for a single place of business with 

multiple boats or motor vehicles used for 

buying oysters $100.00 

For each person taking oysters by hand, 

or with ordinary tongs $10.00 

For each single-rigged patent tong boat 

taking oysters $35.00 

For each double-rigged patent tong boat 

taking oysters $70.00 

Oyster Dredge Public Ground $50.00 

Oyster Hand Scrape $50.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for any 

number of gallons under 1,000 $12.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for 1,000 

gallons, up to 10,000 $33.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for 10,000 

gallons, up to 25,000 $74.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for 25,000 

gallons, up to 50,000 $124.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for 50,000 

gallons, up to 100,000 $207.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for 100,000 

gallons, up to 200,000 $290.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for 200,000 

gallons or over $456.00 

One-day permit to relay condemned 

shellfish from a general oyster planting 

ground $150.00 

4. BLUE CRAB HARVESTING AND SHEDDING 

LICENSES, EXCLUSIVE OF CRAB POT LICENSES 

For each person taking or catching crabs 

by dip nets $13.00 

For ordinary trotlines  $13.00 

For patent trotlines $51.00 

For each single-rigged crab-scrape boat $26.00 

For each double-rigged crab-scrape boat $53.00 

For up to 210 peeler pots $36.00 

For up to 20 tanks and floats for 

shedding crabs $9.00 

For more than 20 tanks or floats for 

shedding crabs $19.00 

For each crab trap or crab pound $8.00 

5. CRAB POT LICENSES 

For up to 85 crab pots $48.00 

For over 85 but not more than 127 crab 

pots $79.00 
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For over 127 but not more than 170 crab 

pots $79.00 

For over 170 but not more than 255 crab 

pots $79.00 

For over 255 but not more than 425 crab 

pots $127.00 

6. HORSESHOE CRAB AND LOBSTER LICENSES 

For each person harvesting horseshoe 

crabs by hand  $16.00 

For each boat engaged in fishing for, or 

landing of, lobster using less than 200 

pots  $41.00 

For each boat engaged in fishing for, or 

landing of, lobster using 200 pots or 

more  $166.00 

7. CLAM HARVESTING LICENSES 

For each person taking or harvesting 

clams by hand, rake, or with ordinary 

tongs $24.00 

For each single-rigged patent tong boat 

taking clams $58.00 

For each double-rigged patent tong boat 

taking clams $84.00 

For each boat using clam dredge (hand) $19.00 

For each boat using clam dredge (power) $44.00 

For each boat using hydraulic dredge to 

catch soft shell clams $83.00 

For each person taking surf clams $124.00 

Water Rake Permit $24.00 

8. CONCH (WHELK) HARVESTING LICENSES 

For each boat using a conch dredge $58.00 

For each person taking channeled whelk 

by conch pot $51.00 

9. FINFISH HARVESTING LICENSES 

Each pound net $41.00 

Each stake gill net of 1,200 feet in length 

or under, with a fixed location $24.00 

All other gill nets up to 600 feet $16.00 

All other gill nets over 600 feet and up to 

1,200 feet  $24.00 

Each person using a cast net or throw net 

or similar device $13.00 

Each fyke net head, weir, or similar 

device $13.00 

For fish trotlines $19.00 

Each person using or operating a fish dip 

net $9.00 

On each haul seine used for catching 

fish, under 500 yards in length $48.00 

On each haul seine used for catching 

fish, from 500 yards in length to 1,000 

yards in length $146.00 

For each person using commercial hook 

and line $31.00 

For each person using commercial hook 

and line for catching striped bass only $31.00 

For up to 100 fish pots or eel pots $19.00 

For over 100 but not more than 300 fish 

pots or eel pots $24.00 

For over 300 fish pots or eel pots $62.00 

10. MENHADEN HARVESTING LICENSES  

Any person purchasing more than one of the following 

licenses, as described in this subsection, for the same vessel, 

shall pay a fee equal to that for a single license for the same 

vessel. 

On each boat or vessel under 70 gross 

tons fishing for the purse seine 

menhaden reduction sector $249.00 

On each vessel 70 gross tons or over 

fishing for the purse seine menhaden 

reduction sector $996.00 

On each boat or vessel under 70 gross 

tons fishing for the purse seine 

menhaden bait sector $249.00 

On each vessel 70 gross tons or over 

fishing for the purse seine menhaden bait 

sector $996.00 

11. COMMERCIAL GEAR FOR RECREATIONAL USE 

Up to five crab pots $36.00 

Crab trotline (300 feet maximum) $10.00 

One crab trap or crab pound $6.00 

One gill net up to 300 feet in length $9.00 

Fish dip net $7.00 
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Fish cast net $10.00 

Up to two eel pots $10.00 

12. SALTWATER RECREATIONAL FISHING LICENSE 

Individual, resident $17.50 

Individual, nonresident $25.00 

Temporary 10-Day, resident $10.00 

Temporary 10-Day, nonresident $10.00 

Recreational boat, resident $48.00 

Recreational boat, nonresident, provided 

a nonresident may not purchase a 

recreational boat license unless his boat 

is registered in Virginia $76.00 

Head Boat/Charter Boat, resident, six or 

less passengers $190.00 

Head Boat/Charter Boat, nonresident, six 

or less passengers $380.00 

Head Boat/Charter Boat, resident, more 

than six passengers, plus $5.00 per 

person, over six persons $190.00 

Head Boat/Charter Boat, nonresident, 

more than six passengers, plus $5.00 per 

person, over six persons $380.00 

Rental Boat, resident, per boat, with 

maximum fee of $703 $14.00 

Rental Boat, nonresident, per boat, with 

maximum fee of $1270 $18.00 

Commercial Fishing Pier (Optional) $632.00 

Disabled Resident Lifetime Saltwater 

License $10.00 

Disabled Nonresident Lifetime Saltwater 

License $10.00 

Reissuance of Saltwater Recreational 

Boat License $5.00 

13. COMBINED SPORTFISHING LICENSE 

This license is to fish in all inland waters and tidal waters of 

the Commonwealth during open season. 

Residents $39.50 

Nonresidents $71.00 

14. COMBINED SPORTFISHING TRIP LICENSE 

This license is to fish in all inland waters and tidal waters of 

the Commonwealth during open season for five consecutive 

days. 

Residents $24.00 

Nonresidents $31.00 

15. TIDAL BOAT SPORTFISHING LICENSE 

Residents $126.00 

Nonresidents $201.00 

16. LIFETIME SALTWATER RECREATIONAL 

FISHING LICENSES 

Individual Resident Lifetime License $276.00 

Individual Nonresident Lifetime License $500.00 

Individual Resident Lifetime License age 

45 - 50 $132.00 

Individual Nonresident Lifetime License 

age 45 - 50 $240.00 

Individual Resident Lifetime License age 

51 - 55 $99.00 

Individual Nonresident Lifetime License 

51 - 55 $180.00 

Individual Resident Lifetime License age 

56 - 60 $66.00 

Individual Nonresident Lifetime License 

age 56 - 60 $120.00 

Individual Resident Lifetime License age 

61 - 64 $35.00 

Individual Nonresident Lifetime License 

age 61 - 64 $60.00 

Individual Resident Lifetime License age 

65 and older $5.00 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4424; Filed June 24, 2015, 11:25 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-1270. Pertaining to Atlantic 

Menhaden (amending 4VAC20-1270-10, 4VAC20-1270-

30, 4VAC20-1270-50).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2015.  
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Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-

2248 or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) increase the nonpurse seine menhaden 

bait sector quota for all categories as well as the total 

allowable landings for menhaden and (ii) establish that an 

overage in any year shall be deducted from the subsequent 

year from the sector of the menhaden fishery that exceeded 

the allocation specified in 4VAC20-1270-30. 

4VAC20-1270-10. Purpose. 

The purpose of this chapter is to comply with the Interstate 

Fishery Management Plan for Atlantic menhaden, including 

the mandated 20% reduction in total allowable commercial 

landings of Atlantic menhaden from the average of the 2009 

through 2011 landings. 

4VAC20-1270-30. Total allowable landings for menhaden; 

allocation, accountability, and overages. 

A. In accordance with Section 28.2-400.2 of the Code of 

Virginia establishes the total allowable commercial landings 

for menhaden in 2015 and 2016 in metric tons shall be 

equivalent to 318,067,167 349,873,884 pounds, and that total 

amount of allowable landings shall be allocated as quotas 

among three sectors of the menhaden fishery, as described 

below, pursuant to § 28.2-400.3 of the Code of Virginia. The 

purse seine menhaden reduction sector is allocated a quota of 

286,396,768 315,036,445 pounds of allowable menhaden 

landings; the purse seine menhaden bait sector a 26,648,870 

29,313,757 pound quota of allowable menhaden landings; 

and the nonpurse seine menhaden bait sector a 5,021,529 

5,523,682 pound quota of allowable menhaden landings. 

B. Any menhaden landings on and after January 1, 2013, 

count towards that particular sector's 2013 commercial quota.  

C. Any overages of a sector's commercial quota shall be 

deducted from the following year's quota for that sector. B. If 

the total allowable landings specified in subsection A of this 

section are exceeded in any year, the total allowable landings 

for the subsequent year will be reduced by the amount of the 

overage. Such overage shall be deducted from the sector of 

the menhaden fishery that exceeded the allocation specified in 

subsection A of this section. 

4VAC20-1270-50. Nonpurse seine menhaden bait sector 

quota; allocation and bycatch provisions. 

A. The commercial nonpurse seine bait sector's allocation 

shall be by gear type as follows:  

1. Cast net: 1,779 2,123 pounds. 

2. Dredge: 2,829 3,376 pounds. 

3. Fyke net: 1,950 2,326 pounds. 

4. Gill net: 1,402,368 1,673,219 

pounds. 

5. Hook and line: 216 258 pounds. 

6. Pot: 1,903 2,270 pounds. 

7. Pound net: 3,145,673 3,753,222 

pounds. 

8. Seine: 18,534 22,113 pounds. 

9. Trawl: 54,254 64,732 pounds.  

10. Trot line: 36 43 pounds.  

B. Pursuant to § 28.2-400.4 of the Code of Virginia, once 

the commissioner announces the date of closure for the 

nonpurse seine bait fishery, any person licensed in the 

nonpurse seine menhaden bait sector may possess and land up 

to 6,000 pounds of menhaden per day. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4421; Filed June 24, 2015, 11:15 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS  

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Criminal Justice Services 

Board is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that 

are necessary to conform to changes in Virginia statutory law 

where no agency discretion is involved. The Criminal Justice 

Services Board will receive, consider, and respond to 

petitions from any interested person at any time with respect 

to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 6VAC20-250. Regulations Relating to 

Property and Surety Bail Bondsmen (amending 6VAC20-

250-30, 6VAC20-250-230, 6VAC20-250-250).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 9.1-102 and 9.1-185.2 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 12, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Lisa McGee, Regulatory Manager, 

Department of Criminal Justice Services, 1100 Bank Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-2419, FAX (804) 

786-6344, or email lisa.mcgee@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments conform bail bondsmen 

regulations to statutory changes as follows:  

1. Pursuant to Chapter 600 of the 2015 Acts of the 

Assembly, (i) require a bail bondsman to report any felony 

arrest to the Department of Criminal Justice Services 

within 10 calendar days of the arrest; (ii) reduce from 30 

to 10 calendar days the time within which a bail bondsman 

must report changes to a residence or business address, a 
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disciplinary action, or an arrest or criminal conviction; 

and (iii) prohibit any bail bondsman who has been 

arrested for a felony from issuing any new bonds pending 

the outcome of an investigation by the department.  

2. Pursuant to Chapter 84 of the 2014 Acts of Assembly, 

replace the acronym "GED" with "passed a high school 

equivalency examination approved by the Board of 

Education," which affects the eligibility requirements for 

bail bondsmen.  

3. Pursuant to Chapter 623 of the 2011 Acts of Assembly, 

prohibit (i) a bail bondsman from charging a bail bond 

premium--which is added as a defined term--less than 10% 

of or more than 15% of the amount of bond and (ii) a bail 

bondsman from loaning money with interest for the 

purpose of helping another obtain a bond.  

Part III  

Licensing Procedures and Requirements  

6VAC20-250-30. Bail bondsman eligibility. 

A. Persons required to be licensed as a bail bondsman 

pursuant to § 9.1-102.47 subdivision 47 of § 9.1-102 of the 

Code of Virginia, shall meet all licensure requirements in this 

section. Persons who carry or have access to a firearm while 

on duty must have a valid license with a firearm endorsement 

as described under 6VAC20-250-80. If carrying a handgun 

concealed, the person must also have (i) a valid concealed 

handgun permit pursuant to Article 6.1 (§ 18.2-307.1 et seq.) 

of Chapter 7 of Title 18.2 of the Code of Virginia and (ii) the 

written permission of his employer pursuant to § 18.2-308 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

B. Each person applying for a bail bondsman license shall 

meet the minimum requirements for eligibility as follows: 

1. Be a minimum of 18 years of age; 

2. Be a United States citizen or legal resident alien of the 

United States; and 

3. Have received a high school diploma or GED passed a 

high school equivalency examination approved by the 

Board of Education. 

4. Have successfully completed all initial training 

requirements, pursuant to the compulsory minimum 

training standards in Part IV (6VAC20-250-130 et seq.) of 

this chapter. 

5. Have successfully completed the bail bondsman exam 

required by the board at a certified or licensed private 

security services training school with a minimum passing 

grade of 70%. 

C. The following persons are not eligible for licensure as 

bail bondsmen and may not be employed nor serve as the 

agent of a bail bondsman:  

1. Persons who have been convicted of a felony within the 

Commonwealth, any other state, or the United States, who 

have not been pardoned, or whose civil rights have not 

been restored;  

2. Employees of a local or regional jail; 

3. Employees of a sheriff's office; 

4. Employees of a state or local police department; 

5. Persons appointed as conservators of the peace pursuant 

to Article 4.1 (§ 9.1-150.1 et seq.) of Chapter 1 of Title 9.1 

of the Code of Virginia; 

6. Employees of an office of an attorney for the 

Commonwealth; 

7. Employees of the Department of Corrections, 

Department of Criminal Justice Services, or a local pretrial 

or community-based probation services agency; and 

8. Spouses of or any persons residing in the same 

household as persons referred to in subdivisions 2 through 

7 of this subsection. 

D. The exclusions in subsection C of this section shall not be 

construed to limit the ability of a licensed bail bondsman to 

employ or contract with a licensed bail enforcement agent 

authorized to do business in the Commonwealth.  

6VAC20-250-230. Reporting requirements. 

A. Each licensed bail bondsman shall report within 30 10 

calendar days to the department any change in his residence, 

name, business name or business address, and ensure that the 

department has the names and all fictitious names of all 

companies under which he carries out his bail bonding 

business.  

B. Each licensed bail bondsman arrested for a felony shall 

submit a copy of the warrant of arrest within seven days to 

the department.  

C. Each licensed bail bondsman arrested for or convicted of 

a felony shall report within 30 10 calendar days to the 

department the facts and circumstances regarding the criminal 

arrest or conviction.  

D. Each licensed bail bondsman shall report to the 

department, within 30 10 calendar days of the final 

disposition, of the matter any administrative action taken 

against him by another governmental agency in the 

Commonwealth or in another jurisdiction. Such report shall 

include a copy of the order, consent to order or other relevant 

legal documents. 

E. Each licensed bail bondsman shall report to the 

department within 24 hours any event in which he discharges 

a firearm during the course of his duties.  

F. Each licensed property bail bondsman shall submit to the 

department, on a prescribed form, not later than the fifth day 

of each month, a list of all outstanding bonds on which he 

was obligated as of the last day of the preceding month, 

together with the amount of the penalty of each such bond.  

G. Each licensed property bail bondsman shall report to the 

department any change in the number of agents in his employ 

within seven days of such change and concurrently provide 

proof of collateral of $200,000 for each new agent, in 
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accordance with subsection C of § 9.1-185.5 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

H. Each licensed agent bail bondsman shall report to the 

department termination of his employment within seven days 

of such termination. 

I. Each licensed property bail bondsman shall report to the 

department within five business days any change in legal 

ownership or if any new lien, encumbrance, or deed of trust is 

placed on any real estate that is being used as collateral on his 

or his agents' bonds as well as the amount it is securing. The 

reporting requirement deadline is deemed to begin as soon as 

the licensed property bail bondsman learns of any change in 

legal ownership or of the new lien, encumbrance, or deed of 

trust, or should have reasonably known of the change in legal 

ownership or that such a lien, encumbrance, or deed of trust 

had been recorded.  

J. Each licensed surety bail bondsman shall report to the 

department within 30 days any change in his employment or 

agency status with a licensed insurance company. If the 

surety bail bondsman receives a new qualifying power of 

attorney from an insurance company, he shall forward a copy 

thereof within 30 days to the department, in accordance with 

subdivision D 2 of § 9.1-185.5 of the Code of Virginia. 

6VAC20-250-250. Professional conduct standards; 

grounds for disciplinary actions. 

A. Any violations of the restrictions or standards under this 

statute shall be grounds for placing on probation, refusal to 

issue or renew, sanctioning, suspension or revocation of the 

bail bondsman's license. A licensed bail bondsman is 

responsible for ensuring that his employees, partners and 

persons contracted to perform services for or on behalf of the 

bonding business comply with all of these provisions, and do 

not violate any of the restrictions that apply to bail bondsmen. 

Violations by a bondsman's employee, partner, or agent may 

be grounds for disciplinary action against the bondsman, 

including probation, suspension or revocation of license. 

Upon notification from the State Corporation Commission of 

a license suspension, the department shall immediately 

suspend a surety bondsman's license, pending the results of an 

investigation. 

B. A licensed bail bondsman shall not:  

1. Knowingly commit, or be a party to, any material fraud, 

misrepresentation, concealment, conspiracy, collusion, 

forgery, scheme or device whereby any other person 

lawfully relies upon the word, representation, or conduct of 

the bail bondsman. 

2. Solicit sexual favors or extort additional consideration as 

a condition of obtaining, maintaining, or exonerating bail 

bond, regardless of the identity of the person who performs 

the favors. 

3. Conduct a bail bond transaction that demonstrates bad 

faith, dishonesty, coercion, incompetence, extortion or 

untrustworthiness. 

4. Coerce, suggest, aid and abet, offer promise of favor, or 

threaten any person on whose bond he is surety or offers to 

become surety, to induce that person to commit any crime. 

5. Give or receive, directly or indirectly, any gift of any 

kind to any nonelected public official or any employee of a 

governmental agency involved with the administration of 

justice, including but not limited to law-enforcement 

personnel, magistrates, judges, and jail employees, as well 

as attorneys. De minimis gifts, not to exceed $50 per year 

per recipient, are acceptable, provided the purpose of the 

gift is not to directly solicit business, or would otherwise 

be a violation of board regulations or the laws of the 

Commonwealth. 

6. Fail to comply with any of the statutory or regulatory 

requirements governing licensed bail bondsmen.  

7. Fail to cooperate with any investigation by the 

department. 

8. Fail to comply with any subpoena issued by the 

department. 

9. Provide materially incorrect, misleading, incomplete or 

untrue information in a license application, renewal 

application, or any other document filed with the 

department.  

10. Provide bail for any person if he is also an attorney 

representing that person.  

11. Provide bail for any person if the bondsman was 

initially involved in the arrest of that person.  

C. A licensed bail bondsman shall ensure that each 

recognizance on all bonds for which he signs shall contain his 

name, license number and contact information.  

D. A surety bail bondsman shall in addition ensure that each 

recognizance for which he signs contains the contact 

information for both the surety agent and the registered agent 

of the issuing company. 

E. An administrative fee may be charged by a bail 

bondsman, not to exceed reasonable costs and must be 

disclosed in writing. Reasonable costs may include, but are 

not limited to, travel, court time, recovery fees, phone 

expenses, administrative overhead and postage.  

F. A property bail bondsman shall not enter into any bond if 

the aggregate of the penalty of such bond and all other bonds, 

on which he has not been released from liability, is in excess 

of four times the true market value of the equity in his real 

estate, cash or certificates of deposit issued by a federally 

insured institution, or any combination thereof.  

G. A property bail bondsman or his agent shall not refuse to 

cover any forfeiture of bond against him or refuse to pay such 

forfeiture after notice and final order of the court.  

H. A surety bail bondsman shall not refuse to cover any 

forfeiture of bond against him or refuse to pay such forfeiture 

after notice and final order of the court. 
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I. A surety bail bondsman shall not write bail bonds on any 

qualifying power of attorney for which a copy has not been 

filed with the department. 

J. A surety bail bondsman shall not violate any of the 

statutes or regulations that govern insurance agents.  

K. A licensed bail bondsman shall disclose in writing to the 

indemnitor if the bail bondsman has the knowledge that the 

bailee is being held in multiple jurisdictions. 

L. A licensed bail bondsman shall not violate any provision 

specified in protective orders served on a potential bailee 

pursuant to § 16.1-253.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

M. A licensed bail bondsman shall not charge a bail bond 

premium less than 10% or more than 15% of the amount of 

the bond. A licensed bail bondsman shall not loan money 

with interest for the purpose of helping another obtain a bail 

bond. 

For the purpose of this subsection, "bail bond premium" 

means the amount of money paid to a licensed bail bondsman 

for the execution of a bail bond. 

N. A licensed bail bondsman who has been arrested for a 

felony offense shall not issue any new bonds pending the 

outcome of the investigation by the department. 

NOTICE: The following form used in administering the 

regulation was filed by the agency. The form is not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of the form 

with a hyperlink to access it. The form is also available from 

the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (6VAC20-250) 

Property Bail Bondsman - Monthly Outstanding Bond 

Report (5/14) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4374; Filed June 23, 2015, 12:48 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Air Pollution Control 

Board is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with (i) § 2.2-4006 

A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that 

are necessary to conform to changes in Virginia statutory law 

where no agency discretion is involved, and (ii) § 2.2-4006 A 

4 c of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that 

are necessary to meet the requirements of federal law or 

regulations provided such regulations do not differ materially 

from those required by federal law or regulation. The State 

Air Pollution Control Board will receive, consider, and 

respond to petitions by any interested person at any time with 

respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC5-50. New and Modified 

Stationary Sources (Rev. A15) (amending 9VAC5-50-400, 

9VAC5-50-410).  

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia; 

§§ 110, 111, 123, 129, 171, 172, and 182 of the Clean Air 

Act; 40 CFR Parts 51 and 60. 

Effective Date: August 12, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Karen G. Sabasteanski, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4426, FAX (804) 

698-4510, or email karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Amendments to §§ 10.1-1300 and 10.1-1307 of the Code of 

Virginia enacted by Chapter 471 of the 2015 Acts of 

Assembly prohibit the State Air Pollution Control Board 

from adopting regulations that limit emissions from certain 

smaller wood heaters and from enforcing any federal 

regulation limiting emissions from wood heaters that was 

adopted after May 1, 2014.  Therefore, the amendments to 

the regulation indicate that implementation authority for 

Subparts AAA and QQQQ of 40 CFR Part 60 is retained 

by the federal Environmental Protection Agency to 

conform to state law. In addition, the amendments update 

state regulations that incorporate by reference certain 

federal regulations to reflect the Code of Federal 

Regulations as published on July 1, 2015. 

Article 5  

Environmental Protection Agency Standards of Performance 

for New Stationary Sources (Rule 5-5)  

9VAC5-50-400. General. 

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Regulations on 

Standards of Performance for New Stationary Sources 

(NSPSs), as promulgated in 40 CFR Part 60 and designated in 

9VAC5-50-410 are, unless indicated otherwise, incorporated 

by reference into the regulations of the board as amended by 

the word or phrase substitutions given in 9VAC5-50-420. The 

complete text of the subparts in 9VAC5-50-410 incorporated 

herein by reference is contained in 40 CFR Part 60. The 40 

CFR section numbers appearing under each subpart in 

9VAC5-50-410 identify the specific provisions of the subpart 

incorporated by reference. The specific version of the 

provision adopted by reference shall be that contained in the 

CFR (2014) (2015) in effect July 1, 2014 2015. In making 

reference to the Code of Federal Regulations, 40 CFR Part 60 

means Part 60 of Title 40 of the Code of Federal Regulations; 

40 CFR 60.1 means 60.1 in Part 60 of Title 40 of the Code of 

Federal Regulations.  

 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c0a15004374~2&typ=40&actno=004374&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c0a15004374~2&typ=40&actno=004374&mime=application/pdf
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9VAC5-50-410. Designated standards of performance.  

Subpart A - General Provisions.  

40 CFR 60.1 through 40 CFR 60.3, 40 CFR 60.7, 40 CFR 

60.8, 40 CFR 60.11 through 40 CFR 60.15, 40 CFR 60.18 

through 40 CFR 60.19  

(applicability, definitions, units and abbreviations, 

notification and recordkeeping, performance tests, 

compliance, circumvention, monitoring requirements, 

modification, reconstruction, general control device 

requirements, and general notification and reporting 

requirements)  

Subpart B - Not applicable.  

Subpart C - Not applicable.  

Subpart Ca - Reserved.  

Subpart Cb - Not applicable.  

Subpart Cc - Not applicable.  

Subpart Cd - Not applicable.  

Subpart Ce - Not applicable.  

Subpart D - Fossil Fuel-Fired Steam Generators.  

40 CFR 60.40 through 40 CFR 60.46  

(fossil fuel-fired steam generating units of more than 250 

million Btu per hour heat input rate, and fossil fuel-fired 

and wood residue-fired steam generating units capable of 

firing fossil fuel at a heat input rate of more than 250 

million Btu per hour)  

Subpart Da - Electric Utility Steam Generating Units.  

40 CFR 60.40Da through 40 CFR 60.52Da 

(electric utility steam generating units capable of 

combusting more than 250 million Btu per hour heat input 

of fossil fuel (either alone or in combination with any other 

fuel), and for which construction, reconstruction, or 

modification is commenced after September 18, 1978)  

Subpart Db - Industrial-Commercial-Institutional Steam 

Generating Units.  

40 CFR 60.40b through 40 CFR 60.49b  

(industrial-commercial-institutional steam generating units 

which have a heat input capacity from combusted fuels of 

more than 100 million Btu per hour)  

Subpart Dc - Small Industrial-Commercial-Institutional 

Steam Generating Units.  

40 CFR 60.40c through 40 CFR 60.48c  

(industrial-commercial-institutional steam generating units 

which have a heat input capacity of 100 million Btu per 

hour or less, but greater than or equal to 10 million Btu per 

hour)  

Subpart E - Incinerators.  

40 CFR 60.50 through 40 CFR 60.54  

(incinerator units of more than 50 tons per day charging 

rate)  

Subpart Ea - Municipal Waste Combustors for which 

Construction is Commenced after December 20, 1989, and on 

or before September 20, 1994.  

40 CFR 60.50a through 40 CFR 60.59a  

(municipal waste combustor units with a capacity greater 

than 250 tons per day of municipal-type solid waste or 

refuse-derived fuel)  

Subpart Eb - Large Municipal Combustors for which 

Construction is Commenced after September 20, 1994, or for 

which Modification or Reconstruction is Commenced after 

June 19, 1996.  

40 CFR 60.50b through 40 CFR 60.59b  

(municipal waste combustor units with a capacity greater 

than 250 tons per day of municipal-type solid waste or 

refuse-derived fuel)  

Subpart Ec - Hospital/Medical/Infectious Waste Incinerators 

for which Construction is Commenced after June 20, 1996.  

40 CFR 60.50c through 40 CFR 60.58c  

(hospital/medical/infectious waste incinerators that 

combust any amount of hospital waste and 

medical/infectious waste or both)  

Subpart F - Portland Cement Plants.  

40 CFR 60.60 through 40 CFR 60.66  

(kilns, clinker coolers, raw mill systems, finish mill 

systems, raw mill dryers, raw material storage, clinker 

storage, finished product storage, conveyor transfer points, 

bagging and bulk loading and unloading systems)  

Subpart G - Nitric Acid Plants.  

40 CFR 60.70 through 40 CFR 60.74  

(nitric acid production units)  

Subpart Ga - Nitric Acid Plants for which Construction, 

Reconstruction, or Modification Commenced after October 

14, 2011. 

40 CFR 60.70a through 40 CFR 60.77a 

(nitric acid production units producing weak nitric acid by 

either the pressure or atmospheric pressure process) 

Subpart H - Sulfuric Acid Plants.  

40 CFR 60.80 through 40 CFR 60.85  

(sulfuric acid production units)  

Subpart I - Hot Mix Asphalt Facilities.  

40 CFR 60.90 through 40 CFR 60.93  

(dryers; systems for screening, handling, storing and 

weighing hot aggregate; systems for loading, transferring 

and storing mineral filler; systems for mixing asphalt; and 

the loading, transfer and storage systems associated with 

emission control systems)  

Subpart J - Petroleum Refineries.  

40 CFR 60.100 through 40 CFR 60.106  



Regulations 

Volume 31, Issue 23 Virginia Register of Regulations July 13, 2015 

2097 

(fluid catalytic cracking unit catalyst regenerators, fluid 

catalytic cracking unit incinerator-waste heat boilers and 

fuel gas combustion devices)  

Subpart Ja - Petroleum Refineries for which Construction, 

Reconstruction, or Modification Commenced after May 14, 

2007. 

40 CFR 60.100a through 40 CFR 60.109a 

(fluid catalytic cracking units, fluid coking units, delayed 

coking units, fuel gas combustion devices, including flares 

and process heaters, and sulfur recovery plants) 

Subpart K - Storage Vessels for Petroleum Liquids for which 

Construction, Reconstruction, or Modification Commenced 

after June 11, 1973, and prior to May 19, 1978.  

40 CFR 60.110 through 40 CFR 60.113  

(storage vessels with a capacity greater than 40,000 

gallons)  

Subpart Ka - Storage Vessels for Petroleum Liquids for 

which Construction, Reconstruction, or Modification 

Commenced after May 18, 1978, and prior to July 23, 1984.  

40 CFR 60.110a through 40 CFR 60.115a  

(storage vessels with a capacity greater than 40,000 

gallons)  

Subpart Kb - Volatile Organic Liquid Storage Vessels 

(Including Petroleum Liquid Storage Vessels) for which 

Construction, Reconstruction, or Modification Commenced 

after July 23, 1984.  

40 CFR 60.110b through 40 CFR 60.117b  

(storage vessels with capacity greater than or equal to 

10,566 gallons)  

Subpart L - Secondary Lead Smelters.  

40 CFR 60.120 through 40 CFR 60.123  

(pot furnaces of more than 550 pound charging capacity, 

blast (cupola) furnaces and reverberatory furnaces)  

Subpart M - Secondary Brass and Bronze Production Plants.  

40 CFR 60.130 through 40 CFR 60.133  

(reverberatory and electric furnaces of 2205 pound or 

greater production capacity and blast (cupola) furnaces of 

550 pounds per hour or greater production capacity)  

Subpart N - Primary Emissions from Basic Oxygen Process 

Furnaces for which Construction is Commenced after June 

11, 1973.  

40 CFR 60.140 through 40 CFR 60.144  

(basic oxygen process furnaces)  

Subpart Na - Secondary Emissions from Basic Oxygen 

Process Steelmaking Facilities for which Construction is 

Commenced after January 20, 1983.  

40 CFR 60.140a through 40 CFR 60.145a  

(facilities in an iron and steel plant: top-blown BOPFs and 

hot metal transfer stations and skimming stations used with 

bottom-blown or top-blown BOPFs)  

Subpart O - Sewage Treatment Plants.  

40 CFR 60.150 through 40 CFR 60.154  

(incinerators that combust wastes containing more than 

10% sewage sludge (dry basis) produced by municipal 

sewage treatment plants or incinerators that charge more 

than 2205 pounds per day municipal sewage sludge (dry 

basis))  

Subpart P - Primary Copper Smelters.  

40 CFR 60.160 through 40 CFR 60.166  

(dryers, roasters, smelting furnaces, and copper converters)  

Subpart Q - Primary Zinc Smelters.  

40 CFR 60.170 through 40 CFR 60.176  

(roasters and sintering machines)  

Subpart R - Primary Lead Smelters  

40 CFR 60.180 through 40 CFR 60.186  

(sintering machines, sintering machine discharge ends, 

blast furnaces, dross reverberatory furnaces, electric 

smelting furnaces and converters)  

Subpart S - Primary Aluminum Reduction Plants.  

40 CFR 60.190 through 40 CFR 60.195  

(potroom groups and anode bake plants)  

Subpart T - Phosphate Fertilizer Industry: Wet-Process 

Phosphoric Acid Plants.  

40 CFR 60.200 through 40 CFR 60.204  

(reactors, filters, evaporators, and hot wells)  

Subpart U - Phosphate Fertilizer Industry: Superphosphoric 

Acid Plants.  

40 CFR 60.210 through 40 CFR 60.214  

(evaporators, hot wells, acid sumps, and cooling tanks)  

Subpart V - Phosphate Fertilizer Industry: Diammonium 

Phosphate Plants.  

40 CFR 60.220 through 40 CFR 60.224  

(reactors, granulators, dryers, coolers, screens, and mills)  

Subpart W - Phosphate Fertilizer Industry: Triple 

Superphosphate Plants.  

40 CFR 60.230 through 40 CFR 60.234  

(mixers, curing belts (dens), reactors, granulators, dryers, 

cookers, screens, mills, and facilities which store run-of-

pile triple superphosphate)  

Subpart X - Phosphate Fertilizer Industry: Granular Triple 

Superphosphate Storage Facilities.  

40 CFR 60.240 through 40 CFR 60.244  

(storage or curing piles, conveyors, elevators, screens and 

mills)  
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Subpart Y - Coal Preparation and Processing Plants.  

40 CFR 60.250 through 40 CFR 60.258 

(plants which process more than 200 tons per day: thermal 

dryers, pneumatic coal-cleaning equipment (air tables), 

coal processing and conveying equipment (including 

breakers and crushers), coal storage systems, and coal 

transfer and loading systems)  

Subpart Z - Ferroalloy Production Facilities.  

40 CFR 60.260 through 40 CFR 60.266  

(electric submerged arc furnaces which produce silicon 

metal, ferrosilicon, calcium silicon, silicomanganese 

zirconium, ferrochrome silicon, silvery iron, high-carbon 

ferrochrome, charge chrome, standard ferromanganese, 

silicomanganese, ferromanganese silicon or calcium 

carbide; and dust-handling equipment)  

Subpart AA - Steel Plants: Electric Arc Furnaces Constructed 

after October 21, 1974, and on or before August 17, 1983.  

40 CFR 60.270 through 40 CFR 60.276  

(electric arc furnaces and dust-handling systems that 

produce carbon, alloy or specialty steels)  

Subpart AAa - Steel Plants: Electric Arc Furnaces and Argon-

Oxygen Decarburization Vessels Constructed after August 

17, 1983.  

40 CFR 60.270a through 40 CFR 60.276a  

(electric arc furnaces, argon-oxygen decarburization 

vessels, and dust-handling systems that produce carbon, 

alloy, or specialty steels)  

Subpart BB - Kraft Pulp Mills.  

40 CFR 60.280 through 40 CFR 60.285  

(digester systems, brown stock washer systems, multiple 

effect evaporator systems, black liquor oxidation systems, 

recovery furnaces, smelt dissolving tanks, lime kilns, 

condensate strippers and kraft pulping operations)  

Subpart BBa - Kraft Pulp Mill Affected Sources for which 

Construction, Reconstruction, or Modification Commenced 

after May 23, 2013. 

40 CFR 60.280a through 40 CFR 60.288a 

(digester systems, brown stock washer systems, multiple 

effect evaporator systems, black liquor oxidation systems, 

recovery furnaces, smelt dissolving tanks, lime kilns, 

condensate strippers, and kraft pulping operations) 

Subpart CC - Glass Manufacturing Plants.  

40 CFR 60.290 through 40 CFR 60.296  

(glass melting furnaces)  

Subpart DD - Grain Elevators.  

40 CFR 60.300 through 40 CFR 60.304  

(grain terminal elevators/grain storage elevators: truck 

unloading stations, truck loading stations, barge and ship 

unloading stations, barge and ship loading stations, railcar 

unloading stations, railcar loading stations, grain dryers, 

and all grain handling operations)  

Subpart EE - Surface Coating of Metal Furniture.  

40 CFR 60.310 through 40 CFR 60.316  

(metal furniture surface coating operations in which 

organic coatings are applied)  

Subpart FF - Reserved.  

Subpart GG - Stationary Gas Turbines.  

40 CFR 60.330 through 40 CFR 60.335  

(stationary gas turbines with a heat input at peak load equal 

to or greater than 10 million Btu per hour, based on the 

lower heating value of the fuel fired)  

Subpart HH - Lime Manufacturing Plants.  

40 CFR 60.340 through 40 CFR 60.344  

(each rotary lime kiln)  

Subparts II through JJ - Reserved.  

Subpart KK - Lead-Acid Battery Manufacturing Plants.  

40 CFR 60.370 through 40 CFR 60.374  

(lead-acid battery manufacturing plants that produce or 

have the design capacity to produce in one day (24 hours) 

batteries containing an amount of lead equal to or greater 

than 6.5 tons: grid casting facilities, paste mixing facilities, 

three-process operation facilities, lead oxide manufacturing 

facilities, lead reclamation facilities, and other lead-

emitting operations)  

Subpart LL - Metallic Mineral Processing Plants.  

40 CFR 60.380 through 40 CFR 60.386  

(each crusher and screen in open-pit mines; each crusher, 

screen, bucket elevator, conveyor belt transfer point, 

thermal dryer, product packaging station, storage bin, 

enclosed storage area, truck loading station, truck 

unloading station, railcar loading station, and railcar 

unloading station at the mill or concentrator with the 

following exceptions. All facilities located in underground 

mines are exempted from the provisions of this subpart. At 

uranium ore processing plants, all facilities subsequent to 

and including the beneficiation of uranium ore are 

exempted from the provisions of this subpart)  

Subpart MM - Automobile and Light Duty Truck Surface 

Coating Operations.  

40 CFR 60.390 through 40 CFR 60.397  

(prime coat operations, guide coat operations, and top-coat 

operations)  

Subpart NN - Phosphate Rock Plants.  

40 CFR 60.400 through 40 CFR 60.404  

(phosphate rock plants which have a maximum plant 

production capacity greater than four tons per hour: dryers, 

calciners, grinders, and ground rock handling and storage 

facilities, except those facilities producing or preparing 
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phosphate rock solely for consumption in elemental 

phosphorous production)  

Subpart OO - Reserved. 

Subpart PP - Ammonium Sulfate Manufacture.  

40 CFR 60.420 through 40 CFR 60.424  

(ammonium sulfate dryer within an ammonium sulfate 

manufacturing plant in the caprolactam by-product, 

synthetic, and coke oven by-product sectors of the 

ammonium sulfate industry)  

Subpart QQ - Graphic Arts Industry: Publication Rotogravure 

Printing.  

40 CFR 60.430 through 40 CFR 60.435  

(publication rotogravure printing presses, except proof 

presses)  

Subpart RR - Pressure Sensitive Tape and Label Surface 

Coating Operations.  

40 CFR 60.440 through 40 CFR 60.447  

(pressure sensitive tape and label material coating lines)  

Subpart SS - Industrial Surface Coating: Large Appliances.  

40 CFR 60.450 through 40 CFR 60.456  

(surface coating operations in large appliance coating 

lines)  

Subpart TT - Metal Coil Surface Coating.  

40 CFR 60.460 through 40 CFR 60.466  

(metal coil surface coating operations: each prime coat 

operation, each finish coat operation, and each prime and 

finish coat operation combined when the finish coat is 

applied wet on wet over the prime coat and both coatings 

are cured simultaneously)  

Subpart UU - Asphalt Processing and Asphalt Roofing 

Manufacture.  

40 CFR 60.470 through 40 CFR 60.474  

(each saturator and each mineral handling and storage 

facility at asphalt roofing plants; and each asphalt storage 

tank and each blowing still at asphalt processing plants, 

petroleum refineries, and asphalt roofing plants)  

Subpart VV - Equipment Leaks of Volatile Organic 

Compounds in the Synthetic Organic Chemicals 

Manufacturing Industry for which Construction, 

Reconstruction, or Modification Commenced after January 5, 

1981, and on or before November 7, 2006.  

40 CFR 60.480 through 40 CFR 60.489  

(all equipment within a process unit in a synthetic organic 

chemicals manufacturing plant) 

Subpart VVa - Equipment Leaks of VOC in the Synthetic 

Organic Chemicals Manufacturing Industry for which 

Construction, Reconstruction, or Modification Commenced 

after November 7, 2006. 

40 CFR 60.480a through 40 CFR 60.489a 

(all equipment within a process unit in a synthetic organic 

chemicals manufacturing plant) 

Subpart WW - Beverage Can Surface Coating Industry.  

40 CFR 60.490 through 40 CFR 60.496  

(beverage can surface coating lines: each exterior base coat 

operation, each overvarnish coating operation, and each 

inside spray coating operation)  

Subpart XX - Bulk Gasoline Terminals.  

40 CFR 60.500 through 40 CFR 60.506  

(total of all loading racks at a bulk gasoline terminal which 

deliver liquid product into gasoline tank trucks)  

Subparts YY through ZZ - Reserved.  

Subpart AAA - New Residential Wood Heaters.  

40 CFR 60.530 through 40 CFR 60.539b  

(wood heaters)  

(NOTE: In accordance with Chapter 471 of the 2015 Acts 

of Assembly, authority to enforce the above standard is 

being retained by EPA and the standard is not incorporated 

by reference into these regulations. A state permit may be 

required of certain facilities if the provisions of 9VAC5-50 

and 9VAC5-80 apply. Owners should review those 

provisions and contact the appropriate regional office for 

guidance on whether those provisions apply.) 

Subpart BBB - Rubber Tire Manufacturing Industry.  

40 CFR 60.540 through 40 CFR 60.548  

(each undertread cementing operation, each sidewall 

cementing operation, each tread end cementing operation, 

each bead cementing operation, each green tire spraying 

operation, each Michelin-A operation, each Michelin-B 

operation, and each Michelin-C automatic operation)  

Subpart CCC - Reserved.  

Subpart DDD - Volatile Organic Compound (VOC) 

Emissions from the Polymer Manufacturing Industry.  

40 CFR 60.560 through 40 CFR 60.566  

(for polypropylene and polyethylene manufacturing using a 

continuous process that emits continuously or 

intermittently: all equipment used in the manufacture of 

these polymers. For polystyrene manufacturing using a 

continuous process that emits continuously: each material 

recovery section. For poly(ethylene terephthalate) 

manufacturing using a continuous process that emits 

continuously: each polymerization reaction section; if 

dimethyl terephthalate is used in the process, each material 

recovery section is also an affected facility; if terephthalic 

acid is used in the process, each raw materials preparation 

section is also an affected facility. For VOC emissions 

from equipment leaks: each group of fugitive emissions 

equipment within any process unit, excluding 

poly(ethylene terephthalate) manufacture.)  

Subpart EEE - Reserved. 
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Subpart FFF - Flexible Vinyl and Urethane Coating and 

Printing.  

40 CFR 60.580 through 40 CFR 60.585  

(each rotogravure printing line used to print or coat flexible 

vinyl or urethane products)  

Subpart GGG - Equipment Leaks of VOC in Petroleum 

Refineries for which Construction, Reconstruction, or 

Modification Commenced after January 4, 1983, and on or 

before November 7, 2006.  

40 CFR 60.590 through 40 CFR 60.593  

(each compressor, valve, pump pressure relief device, 

sampling connection system, open-ended valve or line, and 

flange or other connector in VOC service)  

Subpart GGGa - Equipment Leaks of VOC in Petroleum 

Refineries for which Construction, Reconstruction, or 

Modification Commenced after November 7, 2006. 

40 CFR 60.590a through 40 CFR 60.593a 

(each compressor, valve, pump pressure relief device, 

sampling connection system, open-ended valve or line, and 

flange or other connector in VOC service) 

Subpart HHH - Synthetic Fiber Production Facilities.  

40 CFR 60.600 through 40 CFR 60.604  

(each solvent-spun synthetic fiber process that produces 

more than 500 megagrams of fiber per year)  

Subpart III - Volatile Organic Compound (VOC) Emissions 

from the Synthetic Organic Chemical Manufacturing Industry 

(SOCMI) Air Oxidation Unit Processes.  

40 CFR 60.610 through 40 CFR 60.618  

(each air oxidation reactor not discharging its vent stream 

into a recovery system and each combination of an air 

oxidation reactor or two or more air oxidation reactors and 

the recovery system into which the vent streams are 

discharged)  

Subpart JJJ - Petroleum Dry Cleaners.  

40 CFR 60.620 through 40 CFR 60.625  

(facilities located at a petroleum dry cleaning plant with a 

total manufacturers' rated dryer capacity equal to or greater 

than 84 pounds: petroleum solvent dry cleaning dryers, 

washers, filters, stills, and settling tanks)  

Subpart KKK - Equipment Leaks of VOC from Onshore 

Natural Gas Processing Plants for which Construction, 

Reconstruction, or Modification Commenced after January 

20, 1984, and on or before August 23, 2011.  

40 CFR 60.630 through 40 CFR 60.636  

(each compressor in VOC service or in wet gas service; 

each pump, pressure relief device, open-ended valve or 

line, valve, and flange or other connector that is in VOC 

service or in wet gas service, and any device or system 

required by this subpart)  

Subpart LLL - Sulfur Dioxide Emissions from Onshore 

Natural Gas Processing for which Construction, 

Reconstruction, or Modification Commenced after January 

20, 1984, and on or before August 23, 2011.  

40 CFR 60.640 through 40 CFR 60.648  

(facilities that process natural gas: each sweetening unit, 

and each sweetening unit followed by a sulfur recovery 

unit)  

Subpart MMM - Reserved. 

Subpart NNN - Volatile Organic Compound (VOC) 

Emissions from Synthetic Organic Chemical Manufacturing 

Industry (SOCMI) Distillation Operations.  

40 CFR 60.660 through 40 CFR 60.668  

(each distillation unit not discharging its vent stream into a 

recovery system, each combination of a distillation unit or 

of two or more units and the recovery system into which 

their vent streams are discharged)  

Subpart OOO - Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plants.  

40 CFR 60.670 through 40 CFR 60.676  

(facilities in fixed or portable nonmetallic mineral 

processing plants: each crusher, grinding mill, screening 

operation, bucket elevator, belt conveyor, bagging 

operation, storage bin, enclosed truck or railcar loading 

station)  

Subpart PPP - Wool Fiberglass Insulation Manufacturing 

Plants.  

40 CFR 60.680 through 40 CFR 60.685  

(each rotary spin wool fiberglass insulation manufacturing 

line)  

Subpart QQQ - VOC Emissions from Petroleum Refinery 

Wastewater Systems.  

40 CFR 60.690 through 40 CFR 60.699  

(individual drain systems, oil-water separators, and 

aggregate facilities in petroleum refineries)  

Subpart RRR - Volatile Organic Compound Emissions from 

Synthetic Organic Chemical Manufacturing Industry 

(SOCMI) Reactor Processes.  

40 CFR 60.700 through 40 CFR 60.708  

(each reactor process not discharging its vent stream into a 

recovery system, each combination of a reactor process 

and the recovery system into which its vent stream is 

discharged, and each combination of two or more reactor 

processes and the common recovery system into which 

their vent streams are discharged)  

Subpart SSS - Magnetic Tape Coating Facilities.  

40 CFR 60.710 through 40 CFR 60.718  

(each coating operation and each piece of coating mix 

preparation equipment)  

Subpart TTT - Industrial Surface Coating: Surface Coating of 

Plastic Parts for Business Machines.  
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40 CFR 60.720 through 40 CFR 60.726  

(each spray booth in which plastic parts for use in the 

manufacture of business machines receive prime coats, 

color coats, texture coats, or touch-up coats)  

Subpart UUU - Calciners and Dryers in Mineral Industries.  

40 CFR 60.730 through 40 CFR 60.737  

(each calciner and dryer at a mineral processing plant)  

Subpart VVV - Polymeric Coating of Supporting Substrates 

Facilities.  

40 CFR 60.740 through 40 CFR 60.748  

(each coating operation and any onsite coating mix 

preparation equipment used to prepare coatings for the 

polymeric coating of supporting substrates)  

Subpart WWW - Municipal Solid Waste Landfills.  

40 CFR 60.750 through 40 CFR 60.759  

(municipal solid waste landfills for the containment of 

household and Resource Conservation and Recovery Act 

(RCRA) Subtitle D wastes)  

Subpart AAAA - Small Municipal Waste Combustors for 

which Construction is Commenced after August 30, 1999, or 

for which Modification or Reconstruction is Commenced 

after June 6, 2001.  

40 CFR 60.1000 through 40 CFR 60.1465  

(municipal waste combustor units with a capacity less than 

250 tons per day and greater than 35 tons per day of 

municipal solid waste or refuse-derived fuel)  

Subpart BBBB - Not applicable.  

Subpart CCCC - Commercial/Industrial Solid Waste 

Incinerators for which Construction is Commenced after 

November 30, 1999, or for which Modification or 

Construction is Commenced on or after June 1, 2001.  

40 CFR 60.2000 through 40 CFR 60.2265  

(an enclosed device using controlled flame combustion 

without energy recovery that is a distinct operating unit of 

any commercial or industrial facility, or an air curtain 

incinerator without energy recovery that is a distinct 

operating unit of any commercial or industrial facility)  

Subpart DDDD - Not applicable.  

Subpart EEEE - Other Solid Waste Incineration Units for 

which Construction is Commenced after December 9, 2004, 

or for which Modification or Reconstruction Is is 

Commenced on or after June 16, 2006.  

40 CFR 60.2880 through 40 CFR 60.2977  

(very small municipal waste combustion units with the 

capacity to combust less than 35 tons per day of municipal 

solid waste or refuse-derived fuel, and institutional waste 

incineration units owned or operated by an organization 

having a governmental, educational, civic, or religious 

purpose)  

Subpart FFFF - Reserved. 

Subpart GGGG - Reserved. 

Subpart HHHH - Reserved. 

Subpart IIII - Stationary Compression Ignition Internal 

Combustion Engines. 

40 CFR 60.4200 through 40 CFR 60.4219 

(NOTE: Authority to enforce the above standard is being 

retained by EPA and it the standard is not incorporated by 

reference into these regulations for any source that is not 

(i) a major source as defined in 9VAC5-80-60 and subject 

to Article 1 (9VAC5-80-50 et seq., Federal Operating 

Permits for Stationary Sources) of Part II of 9VAC5-80 

(Permits for Stationary Sources) or (ii) an affected source 

as defined in 9VAC5-80-370 and subject to Article 3 

(9VAC5-80-360 et seq., Federal Operating Permits for 

Acid Rain Sources) of Part II of 9VAC5-80) 

Subpart JJJJ - Stationary Spark Ignition Internal Combustion 

Engines. 

40 CFR 60.4230 through 40 CFR 60.4248 

(NOTE: Authority to enforce the above standard is being 

retained by EPA and it the standard is not incorporated by 

reference into these regulations for any source that is not 

(i) a major source as defined in 9VAC5-80-60 and subject 

to Article 1 (9VAC5-80-50 et seq., Federal Operating 

Permits for Stationary Sources) of Part II of 9VAC5-80 

(Permits for Stationary Sources) or (ii) an affected source 

as defined in 9VAC5-80-370 and subject to Article 3 

(9VAC5-80-360 et seq., Federal Operating Permits for 

Acid Rain Sources) of Part II of 9VAC5-80) 

Subpart KKKK - Stationary Combustion Turbines. 

40 CFR 60.4300 through 40 CFR 60.4420 

(stationary combustion turbine with a heat input at peak 

load equal to or greater than 10.7 gigajoules (10 MMBtu) 

per hour) 

Subpart LLLL - Sewage Sludge Incineration Units. 

40 CFR 60.4760 through 40 CFR 60.4925 

(an incineration unit combusting sewage sludge for the 

purpose of reducing the volume of the sewage sludge by 

removing combustible matter, including the sewage sludge 

feed system, auxiliary fuel feed system, grate system, flue 

gas system, waste heat recovery equipment, and bottom 

ash system; and all ash handling systems connected with 

the bottom ash handling system) 

Subpart MMMM - Reserved. 

Subpart NNNN - Reserved. 

Subpart OOOO - Crude Oil and Natural Gas Production, 

Transmission and Distribution. 

40 CFR 60.5360 through 40 CFR 60.5430 

(facilities that operate gas wells, centrifugal compressors, 

reciprocating compressors, pneumatic controllers, and 

storage vessels) 

Subpart PPPP - Reserved. 
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Subpart QQQQ - New Residential Hydronic Heaters and 

Forced-Air Furnaces 

40 CFR 60.5472 through 40 CFR 60.5483  

(NOTE: In accordance with Chapter 471 of the 2015 Acts 

of Assembly, authority to enforce the above standard is 

being retained by EPA and the standard is not incorporated 

by reference into these regulations. A state permit may be 

required of certain facilities if the provisions of 9VAC5-50 

and 9VAC5-80 apply. Owners should review those 

provisions and contact the appropriate regional office for 

guidance on whether those provisions apply.) 

Subpart RRRR - Reserved. 

Subpart SSSS - Reserved. 

Subpart TTTT - Reserved. 

Appendix A - Test methods.  

Appendix B - Performance specifications.  

Appendix C - Determination of Emission Rate Change.  

Appendix D - Required Emission Inventory Information.  

Appendix E - Reserved. 

Appendix F - Quality Assurance Procedures.  

Appendix G - Not applicable. 

Appendix H - Reserved.  

Appendix I - Removable label and owner's manual.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4353; Filed June 23, 2015, 8:17 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Air Pollution Control 

Board is claiming an exclusion from Article 2 of the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that 

are necessary to conform to changes in Virginia statutory law 

where no agency discretion is involved. The State Air 

Pollution Control Board will receive, consider, and respond to 

petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC5-91. Regulations for the Control 

of Motor Vehicle Emissions in the Northern Virginia Area 

(Rev. MP) (amending 9VAC5-91-20, 9VAC5-91-30).  

Statutory Authority: § 46.2-1180 of the Code of Virginia; 

§ 182 of the Clean Air Act; 40 CFR Part 51, Subpart S. 

Effective Date: August 12, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4423, FAX (804) 

698-4510, or email mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) exempt autocycles that have not been 

emissions certified with an on-board diagnostic system by 

the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) from the 

motor vehicle inspections program as required by Chapter 

95 of the 2015 Acts of Assembly and (ii) increase the 

length of a valid enhanced emissions inspection to four 

years for vehicles titled for the first time, in accordance 

with Chapter 729 of the 2006 Acts of Assembly, which 

became effective in April 2015 upon approval of the state 

implementation plan for certain areas. 

9VAC5-91-20. Terms defined. 

"Aborted test" means an emissions inspection procedure that 

has been initiated by the inspector but stopped and not 

completed due to inspector error or a vehicular problem that 

prevents completion of the test. Aborted tests are not tests 

that cannot be completed due to a "failed/invalid" result 

caused by an exhaust dilution problem or an engine condition 

that prevents the inspection from being completed. 

"Acceleration Simulation Mode (ASM) 50-15 equipment" 

means dynamometer-based emissions test equipment used to 

perform an enhanced emissions test in one or more, discreet, 

simulated road speed and engine load modes.  

"Acceleration Simulation Mode (ASM) 25-25 standards" 

means the standards utilized for one of the discreet modes of 

the ASM test of the enhanced emission inspection program.  

"Access code" means the security phrase or number which 

allows authorized station personnel, the department, and 

analyzer service technicians to perform specific assigned 

functions using the certified analyzer system, as determined 

by the department. Depending on the assigned function, the 

access code is a personal password, a state password or a 

service password. Access code is not an identification 

number, but is used as an authenticator along with the 

identification number where such number is needed to 

perform specific tasks.  

"Actual gross weight" means the gross vehicle weight rating 

(GVWR).  

"Administrator" means the administrator of the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) or an authorized 

representative.  

"Affected motor vehicle" means any motor vehicle or 

replica vehicle which: 

1. Was manufactured or designated by the manufacturer as 

a model year less than 25 calendar years prior to January 1 

of the present calendar year according to the formula, the 

current calendar year minus 24, except those identified by 

remote sensing as specified in subdivision 5 of this 

definition;  

2. Is designed for the transportation of persons or property;  

3. Is powered by an internal combustion engine;  

4. For the Northern Virginia Emissions Inspection 

Program, has an actual gross weight of 10,000 pounds or 

less; and 

5. For vehicles subject to the remote sensing requirements 

of 9VAC5-91-180, was designated by the manufacturer as 

model year 1968 or newer. 
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The term "affected motor vehicle" does not mean any:  

1. Vehicle powered by a clean special fuel as defined in 

§ 46.2-749.3 of the Code of Virginia, provided the federal 

Clean Air Act permits such exemptions for vehicles 

powered by clean special fuels;  

2. Motorcycle or autocycle, unless such autocycle has been 

emissions certified with an on-board diagnostic system by 

the United States Environmental Protection Agency;  

3. Vehicle that at the time of its manufacture was not 

designed to meet emissions standards set or approved by 

the federal government;  

4. Any antique motor vehicle as defined in § 46.2-100 of 

the Code of Virginia and licensed pursuant to § 46.2-730 

of the Code of Virginia;  

5. Firefighting equipment, rescue vehicle, or ambulance;  

6. Vehicle for which no testing standards have been 

adopted by the board;  

7. Tactical military vehicle; or  

8. Qualified hybrid motor vehicle if such vehicle obtains a 

rating from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency of 

at least 50 miles per gallon, or 48 miles per gallon for 

model years 2008 or 2009, during city fuel economy tests 

unless identified by the remote sensing requirements of 

9VAC5-91-180 as violating the on-road high emitter 

emissions standards for on-road testing; or 

9. Vehicle manufactured for the current model year or any 

of the three immediately preceding model years unless 

identified by the remote sensing requirements of 9VAC5-

91-180 as violating the emissions standards for on-road 

testing.  

"Air intake systems" means those systems that allow for the 

induction of ambient air (to include preheated air) into the 

engine combustion chamber for the purpose of mixing with a 

fuel for combustion.  

"Air pollution" means the presence in the outdoor 

atmosphere of one or more substances which are or may be 

harmful or injurious to human health, welfare or safety; to 

animal or plant life; or to property; or which unreasonably 

interfere with the enjoyment by the people of life or property.  

"Air Pollution Control Law" means Chapter 13 (§ 10.1-1300 

et seq.) of Title 10.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Air system" or "air injection system" means a system for 

providing supplementary air to promote further oxidation of 

hydrocarbons and carbon monoxide gases and to assist 

catalytic reaction.  

"Alternative fuel" means an internal combustion engine fuel 

other than (i) gasoline, (ii) diesel, or (iii) fuel mixtures 

containing more than 15% volume of gasoline.  

"Alternative method" means any method of sampling and 

analyzing for an air pollutant that is not a reference method, 

but that has been demonstrated to the satisfaction of the 

board, in specific cases, to produce results adequate for its 

determination of compliance.  

"Authorized personnel" means department personnel, an 

individual designated by analyzer system manufacturer, 

station owner, licensed emissions inspector, program 

coordinator, station manager or other person as designated by 

the station manager.  

"Basic engine systems" means those parts or assemblies 

which provide for the efficient conversion of a compressed air 

and fuel charge into useful power to include but not be 

limited to valve train mechanisms, cylinder head to block 

integrity, piston-ring-cylinder sealing integrity and post-

combustion emissions control device integrity.  

"Board" means the State Air Pollution Control Board or its 

designated representative.  

"Calibration" means establishing or verifying the response 

curve of a measurement device using several different 

measurements having precisely known quantities.  

"Calibration gases" means gases of precisely known 

concentrations that are used as references for establishing or 

verifying the response curve of a measurement device.  

"Catalytic converter" means a post combustion device that 

oxidizes hydrocarbons, carbon monoxide gases, and may also 

reduce oxides of nitrogen.  

"Certificate of emissions inspection" means a document, 

device, or symbol, whether recorded in written or electronic 

form, as prescribed by the director and issued pursuant to this 

chapter, which indicates that (i) an affected motor vehicle has 

satisfactorily complied with the emissions standards and 

passed the emissions inspection provided for in this chapter; 

(ii) the requirement of compliance with the emissions 

standards has been temporarily waived; or (iii) the affected 

motor vehicle has failed the emissions inspection.  

"Certified emissions repair facility" means a facility, or 

portion of a facility, that has obtained a certification in 

accordance with Part VII (9VAC5-91-500 et seq.) to perform 

emissions related repairs on motor vehicles.  

"Certified emissions repair technician" means a person who 

has obtained a certification in accordance with Part VIII 

(9VAC5-91-550 et seq.) to perform emissions related repairs 

on motor vehicles.  

"Certified enhanced analyzer system" or "analyzer system" 

means the complete system that samples and reads 

concentrations of hydrocarbon, carbon dioxide, nitric oxides 

and carbon monoxide gases or interrogates the vehicle OBD 

system or both, and that is approved by the department for 

use in the Enhanced Emissions Inspection Program in 

accordance with Part X (9VAC5-91-640 et seq.). The 

analyzer system includes the exhaust gas handling system, the 

exhaust gas analyzer, associated automation hardware and 

software, data media, the analyzer system cabinet, 

dynamometer control devices, vehicle identification 

equipment, printer, and calibration gases. The analyzer 
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system does not include the dynamometer and associated 

cooling and exhaust fans that are supplied by the inspection 

station. 

"Certified thermometer" means a laboratory grade ambient 

temperature-measuring device with a range of at least 20°F 

through 120°F, and an attested accuracy of at least 1°F with 

increments of 1°, with protective shielding.  

"Chargeable inspection" means a completed inspection on 

an affected motor vehicle, for which the station owner is 

entitled to collect an inspection fee. No fee shall be paid for 

(i) inspections for which a certificate of emissions inspection 

has not been issued, (ii) inspections that are conducted by the 

department for referee purposes, (iii) inspections which were 

ordered due to on-road test failures but which result in an 

emissions inspection "pass" at an inspection station, or (iv) 

the first reinspection done at the same station that performed 

the initial inspection within 14 days. An inspection ordered 

by the department due to an on-road test failure that results in 

a confirmation test failure at an emissions inspection station 

is a chargeable inspection.  

"Clean screen vehicle" means a vehicle that has been 

identified by the on-road inspector as having met the criteria 

in 9VAC5-91-185 A or B and is eligible to participate in the 

on-road clean screen program. 

"Clean screen vehicle notification" means a document, 

device, or symbol, whether recorded in written or electronic 

form, as prescribed by the director and issued pursuant to this 

chapter, that (i) indicates that an affected motor vehicle has 

satisfactorily complied with the clean screen vehicle 

emissions standards for on-road testing, and (ii) may be used 

by the motor vehicle owner to voluntarily comply with the 

vehicle registration requirements of § 46.2-1183 of the Code 

of Virginia. The notification shall also indicate that the motor 

vehicle owner may obtain an emissions inspection from an 

emissions inspection station. 

"Clean screen vehicle standard" means any provision of 

9VAC5-91-185 that prescribes an emission limitation, or 

other criteria used to select clean screen vehicles. 

"Confirmation test" means an emissions inspection required 

due to a determination that the vehicle exceeds the on-road 

high emitter emissions standards prescribed in 9VAC5-91-

180 B. The confirmation emissions inspection procedure may 

include an exhaust test (ASM or TSI), OBD system test or 

both.  

"Consent order" means a mutual agreement between the 

department and any owner, operator, emissions inspector, or 

emissions repair technician that such owner or other person 

will perform specific actions for the purpose of diminishing 

or abating the causes of air pollution or for the purpose of 

coming into compliance with this chapter. A consent order 

may include agreed upon civil charges. Such orders may be 

issued without a formal hearing.  

"Curb idle" means vehicle operation whereby the 

transmission is disengaged and the engine is operated with 

the throttle in the closed or idle stop position with the 

resultant engine speed between 400 and 1,250 revolutions per 

minute (rpm), or at another idle speed if so specified by the 

manufacturer.  

"Data handling system" means all the computer hardware, 

software and peripheral equipment used to conduct emissions 

inspections and manage the enhanced emissions inspection 

program.  

"Data media" means the media contained in the certified 

analyzer system and used to electronically record test data.  

"Day" means a 24-hour period beginning at midnight.  

"Department" means any employee or other representative 

of the Virginia Department of Environmental Quality, as 

designated by the director.  

"Director" means the director of the Virginia Department of 

Environmental Quality or a designated representative.  

"Emissions control equipment" means any part, assembly or 

equipment originally installed by the manufacturer in or on a 

motor vehicle for the sole or primary purpose of reducing 

emissions.  

"Emissions control systems" means any system consisting of 

parts, assemblies or equipment originally installed by the 

manufacturer in or on a motor vehicle for the primary purpose 

of reducing emissions.  

"Emissions inspection" means an emissions inspection of a 

motor vehicle performed by an emissions inspector employed 

by or working at an emissions inspection station or fleet 

emissions inspection station, using the tests, procedures, and 

provisions set forth in this chapter.  

"Emissions inspection station" means a facility or portion of 

a facility that has obtained an emissions inspection station 

permit from the director authorizing the facility to perform 

emissions inspections in accordance with the provisions of 

this chapter.  

"Emissions inspector" means, except for an on-road 

emissions inspector, a person licensed by the department to 

perform inspections of vehicles required under the Virginia 

Motor Vehicle Emissions Control Law and is qualified in 

accordance with this chapter.  

"Emissions standard" means any provision of Part III 

(9VAC5-91-160 et seq.) or Part XIV (9VAC5-91-790 et seq.) 

that prescribes an emission limitation, or other emission 

control requirements for motor vehicle air pollution.  

"Empty weight (EW)" or "EW" means that weight stated as 

the EW on a Virginia motor vehicle registration or derived 

from the motor vehicle title or manufacturer's certificate of 

origin. The EW may be used to determine emissions 

inspection standards.  

"Enhanced emissions inspection program" means a motor 

vehicle emissions inspection system established by this 
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chapter that designates, as the only authorized testing 

equipment for emissions inspection stations, (i) the use of the 

ASM 50-15 (acceleration simulation mode or method) 

together with an OBD-II (on-board diagnostic system) with 

wireless capability, (ii) the use of the ASM 50-15 together 

with the use of a dynamometer, and (iii) two-speed tailpipe 

testing equipment. Possession and availability of a 

dynamometer shall be required for enhanced emissions 

inspection stations. Only those computer software programs 

and emissions testing procedures necessary to comply with 

applicable provisions of Title I of the federal Clean Air Act 

shall be included. Such testing equipment shall be approvable 

for motor vehicle manufacturers' warranty repairs. An 

enhanced emissions inspection program shall include remote 

sensing and an on-road clean screen program as provided in 

this chapter. 

"EPA" means the United States Environmental Protection 

Agency.  

"Equivalent test weight (ETW)," "ETW," or "emission test 

weight" means the weight of a motor vehicle as automatically 

determined by the emissions analyzer system based on 

vehicle make, model, body, style, model year, engine size, 

permanently installed equipment, and other manufacturer and 

aftermarket supplied information, and used for the purpose of 

assigning dynamometer resistance and exhaust emissions 

standards for the conduct of an exhaust emissions inspection.  

"Exhaust gas analyzer" or "gas analyzer" means an exhaust 

gas handling system that is capable of measuring the 

concentrations of certain air pollutants in the exhaust gas 

from a motor vehicle. 

"Facility" means something that is built, installed or 

established to serve a particular purpose; includes, but is not 

limited to, buildings, installations, public works, businesses, 

commercial and industrial plants, shops and stores, apparatus, 

processes, operations, structures, and equipment of all types. 

"Federal Clean Air Act" means Chapter 85 (§ 7401 et seq.) 

of Title 42 of the United States Code. 

"Fleet" means 20 or more motor vehicles that are owned, 

operated, leased or rented for use by a common owner. 

"Fleet emissions inspection station" means any inspection 

facility operated under a permit issued to a qualified fleet 

owner or lessee as determined by the director. 

"Formal hearing" means a board or department process that 

provides for the right of private parties to submit factual 

proofs as provided in § 2.2-4020 of the Administrative 

Process Act in connection with case decisions. Formal 

hearings do not include the factual inquiries of an informal 

nature provided in § 2.2-4019 of the Administrative Process 

Act. 

"Fuel control systems" means those mechanical, electro-

mechanical, galvanic or electronic parts or assemblies which 

regulate the air-to-fuel ratio in an engine for the purpose of 

providing a combustible charge. 

"Gas span" means the adjustment of an exhaust gas analyzer 

to correspond with known concentrations of gases. 

"Gas span check" means a procedure using known 

concentrations of gases to verify the gas span adjustment of a 

gas analyzer.  

"Gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR)" or "GVWR" means 

the maximum recommended combined weight of the motor 

vehicle and its load as prescribed by the manufacturer and is 

(i) expressed on a permanent identification label affixed to the 

motor vehicle; (ii) stated on the manufacturer's certificate of 

origin; or (iii) coded in the vehicle identification number. If 

the GVWR can be determined it shall be one element used to 

determine emissions inspection standards and test type. If the 

GVWR is unavailable, the department may make a 

determination based on the best available evidence including 

manufacturer reference, information coded in the vehicle 

identification number, or other available sources of 

information from which to make the determination.  

"Heavy duty gasoline vehicle (HDGV)" or "HDGV" means 

a heavy duty vehicle using gasoline as its fuel.  

"Heavy duty vehicle (HDV)" or "HDV" means any affected 

motor vehicle (i) which is rated at more than 8,500 pounds 

GVWR or (ii) which has a loaded vehicle weight or GVWR 

of more than 6,000 pounds and has a basic frontal area in 

excess of 45 square feet.  

"High emitter value" means the values in Table III-B of 

9VAC5-91-180 that are used to determine vehicles in 

violation of the on-road high emitter emissions standard. 

"Identification number" means the number assigned by the 

department to uniquely identify department personnel, an 

emissions inspection station, a certified emissions repair 

facility, a licensed emissions inspector, a certified emissions 

repair technician or other authorized personnel as necessary 

for specific tasks.  

"Idle mode" means a condition where the vehicle engine is 

warm and running at the rate specified by the manufacturer as 

curb idle, where the engine is not propelling the vehicle, and 

where the throttle is in the closed or idle stop position.  

"Ignition systems" means those parts or assemblies that are 

designed to cause and time the ignition of a compressed air 

and fuel charge.  

"Implementation plan" means the plan, including any 

revision thereof, that has been submitted by the 

Commonwealth and approved in Subpart VV of 40 CFR Part 

52 by the administrator under § 110 of the federal Clean Air 

Act, or promulgated in Subpart VV of 40 CFR Part 52 by the 

administrator under § 110(c) of the federal Clean Air Act, or 

promulgated or approved by the administrator pursuant to 

regulations promulgated under § 301(d) of the federal Clean 

Air Act and that implements the relevant requirements of the 

federal Clean Air Act.  

"Informal fact finding" means an informal conference or 

consultation proceeding used to ascertain the fact basis for 
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case decisions as provided in § 2.2-4019 of the 

Administrative Process Act.  

"Initial inspection" means the first complete emissions 

inspection of a motor vehicle conducted in accordance with 

the biennial inspection requirement and for which a valid 

vehicle emissions inspection report was issued. Any test 

following the initial inspection is a retest or reinspection.  

"Inspection area" means in reference to an emissions 

inspection station, (i) the area that is occupied by the certified 

analyzer system and the vehicle being inspected or (ii) for 

only an OBD II test, the area within wireless range that is on 

the property on which the inspection station is located.  

"Inspection fee" means the amount of money that (i) the 

emissions inspection station may collect from the motor 

vehicle owner for each chargeable inspection or (ii) an on-

road emissions inspector may collect from the motor vehicle 

owner in response to a clean screen vehicle notification.  

"Light duty gasoline vehicle (LDGV)" or "LDGV" means a 

light duty vehicle using gasoline as its fuel.  

"Light duty gasoline truck (LDGT1)" or "LDGT1" means a 

light duty truck 1 using gasoline as its fuel.  

"Light duty gasoline truck (LDGT2)" or "LDGT2" means a 

light duty truck 2 using gasoline as its fuel.  

"Light duty truck (LDT)" or "LDT" means any affected 

motor vehicle which (i) has a loaded vehicle weight or 

GVWR of 6,000 pounds or less and meets any one of the 

criteria below; or (ii) is rated at more than 6,000 pounds 

GVWR but less than 8,500 pounds GVWR and has a basic 

vehicle frontal area of 45 square feet or less; and meets one of 

the following criteria:  

1. Designed primarily for purposes of transportation of 

property or is a derivation of such a vehicle.  

2. Designed primarily for transportation of persons and has 

a capacity of more than 12 persons.  

3. Equipped with special features enabling off-street or off-

highway operation and use.  

"Light duty truck 1 (LDT1)" or "LDT1" means any light 

duty truck rated at 6,000 pounds GVWR or less. LDT1 is a 

subset of light duty trucks.  

"Light duty truck 2 (LDT2)" or "LDT2" means any light 

duty truck rated at greater than 6,000 pounds GVWR. LDT2 

is a subset of light duty trucks.  

"Light duty vehicle (LDV)" or "LDV" means an affected 

motor vehicle that is a passenger car or passenger car 

derivative capable of seating 12 passengers or less.  

"Loaded vehicle weight (LVW)," "LVW," or "curb weight" 

means the weight of a vehicle and its standard equipment; i.e. 

that is, the empty weight as recorded on the vehicle's 

registration or the base shipping weight as recorded in the 

vehicle identification number, whichever is greater; plus the 

weight of any permanent attachments, the weight of a 

nominally filled fuel tank, plus 300 pounds.  

"Locality" means a city, town, or county created by or 

pursuant to state law.  

"Mobile fleet emissions inspection station" means a facility 

or entity that provides emissions inspection equipment or 

services to a fleet emissions inspection station on a temporary 

basis. Such equipment is not permanently installed at the fleet 

facility but is temporarily located at the fleet facility for the 

sole purpose of testing vehicles owned, operated, leased or 

rented for use by a common owner. 

"Model year" means, except as may be otherwise defined in 

this chapter, the motor vehicle manufacturer's annual 

production period which includes the time period from 

January 1 of the calendar year prior to the stated model year 

to December 31 of the calendar year of the stated model year; 

provided that, if the manufacturer has no annual production 

period, the term "model year" shall mean the calendar year of 

manufacture. For the purpose of this definition, model year is 

applied to the vehicle chassis, irrespective of the year of 

manufacture of the vehicle engine. 

"Monitors" means those computer programs in the on-board 

vehicle computer that evaluate the various emissions 

components and systems to determine status of such 

components and systems. 

"Motor vehicle" means any motor vehicle as defined in 

§ 46.2-100 of the Code of Virginia as a motor vehicle and 

that: 

1. Is designed for the transportation of persons or property; 

and  

2. Is powered by an internal combustion engine.  

"Motor vehicle dealer" means a person who is licensed by 

the Department of Motor Vehicles in accordance with 

§§ 46.2-1500 and 46.2-1508 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Motor vehicle emissions" means any emissions related 

information that can be captured through (i) a basic test and 

repair inspection, (ii) enhanced emissions inspection, or (iii) 

on-road testing. 

"Motor vehicle inspection report" means a printed certificate 

of emissions inspection that is a report of the results of an 

emissions inspection. It indicates whether the motor vehicle 

has (i) passed, (ii) failed, or (iii) obtained a temporary 

emissions inspection waiver. It may also indicate whether the 

emissions inspection could not be completed due to an 

exhaust dilution or an engine condition that prevents the 

inspection from being completed. The report shall accurately 

identify the motor vehicle and shall include inspection results, 

recall information provided by the department, warranty and 

repair information, and a unique identification number.  

"Motor vehicle owner" means any person who owns, leases, 

operates, or controls a motor vehicle or fleet of motor 

vehicles.  

"Nonconforming vehicle" means a vehicle not manufactured 

for sale in the United States to conform to emissions 

standards established by the federal government.  
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"Normal business hours" for emissions inspection stations, 

means a daily eight-hour period Monday through Friday, 

between the hours of 8 a.m. and 6 p.m., with the exception of 

national holidays, state holidays, temporary closures noticed 

to the department and closures due to the inability to meet the 

requirements of this chapter. Nothing in this chapter shall 

prevent stations from performing inspections at other times in 

addition to the "normal business hours." Emissions inspection 

stations may, with the approval of the department, substitute a 

combined total of eight hours, between 8 a.m. and 6 p.m., 

over a weekend period for one weekday as their "normal 

business hours" for conducting emission inspections. 

Emissions inspection stations shall post inspection hours.  

"Northern Virginia emissions inspection program" means 

the emissions inspection program required by this chapter in 

the Northern Virginia program area.  

"Northern Virginia program area" or "program area" means 

the territorial area encompassed by the boundaries of the 

following localities: the counties of Arlington, Fairfax, 

Loudoun, Prince William, and Stafford; and the cities of 

Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls Church, Manassas, and Manassas 

Park.  

"On-board diagnostic system (OBD system)" or "OBD 

system" means the computerized emissions control diagnostic 

system installed on model year 1996 and newer affected 

motor vehicles.  

"On-board diagnostic system (OBD test)" or "OBD 

test"  means an evaluation of the OBD system pursuant to 

either 40 CFR 86.094-17 (2009 CFR) or 40 CFR 86.099-17 

as applicable, according to procedures specified in 40 CFR 

85.2222 and this chapter.  

"On-board diagnostic vehicle (OBD vehicle)" or "OBD 

vehicle" means a model year 1996 and newer model affected 

motor vehicle equipped with an on-board diagnostic system 

and meeting the requirements of 40 CFR 85.2231.  

"On-road clean screen program" means a program that 

allows a motor vehicle owner to voluntarily certify 

compliance with emissions standards by means of on-road 

remote sensing. 

"On-road emissions inspector" means the entity or entities 

authorized by the Department of Environmental Quality to 

perform on-road testing, including on-road testing in 

accordance with the on-road clean screen program. 

"On-road emissions measurement" means data obtained 

through on-road testing. 

"On-road high emitter emissions standard" means any 

provision of 9VAC5-91-180 that prescribes an emission 

limitation, or other emission control requirements for motor 

vehicle emissions.  The on-road high emitter emissions 

standard shall be determined by multiplying the high emitter 

value in Table III-B of 9VAC5-91-180 with the appropriate 

ASM 25-25 standard in 9VAC5-91-810 or the TSI standard 

in Table III-A of 9VAC5-91-160. 

"On-road testing" means tests of motor vehicle emissions or 

emissions control devices by means of roadside pullovers or 

remote sensing devices.  

"Operated primarily" means motor vehicle operation that 

constitutes routine operation into or within the program area 

as evidenced by observation using remote sensing equipment 

at least three times in a 60-day period with no less than 30 

days between the first and last observation. The director may 

increase the number of observations required for compliance 

determination if, in his discretion, based on program 

experience, such an increase would not significantly 

adversely impact the objectives of this chapter. The term 

"operated primarily" shall be used to identify motor vehicle 

operation that is subject to the exhaust emission standards for 

on-road testing through remote sensing set forth in 9VAC5-

91-180. The term "operated primarily" shall not be used to 

identify motor vehicle operation that will subject the vehicle 

to the compliance provisions set forth in 9VAC5-91-160 and 

9VAC5-91-170 for biennial emissions inspections.  

"Order" means any decision or directive of the board or the 

director, including orders, consent orders, and orders of all 

types rendered for the purpose of diminishing or abating the 

causes of air pollution or enforcement of this chapter. Unless 

specified otherwise in this chapter, orders shall only be issued 

after the appropriate administrative proceeding.  

"Owner" means any person who owns, leases, operates, 

controls or supervises a facility or motor vehicle.  

"Party" means any person who actively participates in the 

administrative proceeding or offers comments through the 

public participation process and is named in the 

administrative record. The term "party" also means the 

department.  

"Person" means an individual, corporation, partnership, 

association, a governmental body, a municipal corporation, or 

any other legal entity.  

"Pollutant" means any substance the presence of which in 

the outdoor atmosphere is or may be harmful or injurious to 

human health, welfare or safety, to animal or plant life, or to 

property, or which unreasonably interferes with the 

enjoyment by the people of life or property. 

"Program coordinator" means any person or corporation that 

has entered into a contract with the director to provide 

services in accordance with Part X (9VAC5-91-640 et seq.) 

and other services not to include remote sensing.  

"Qualified hybrid motor vehicle" means a motor vehicle that 

(i) meets or exceeds all applicable regulatory requirements, 

(ii) meets or exceeds the applicable federal motor vehicle 

emissions standards for gasoline-powered passenger cars, and 

(iii) can draw propulsion energy both from gasoline or diesel 

fuel and a rechargeable energy storage system.  

"Reconstructed vehicle" means every vehicle of a type 

required to be registered under Title 46.2 (§ 46.2-100 et seq.) 

of the Code of Virginia, materially altered from its original 
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construction by the removal, addition or substitution of new 

or used essential parts. Such vehicles, at the discretion of the 

Department of Motor Vehicles, shall retain their original 

vehicle identification number, line-make, and model year.  

"Referee station" or "referee facility" means those facilities 

operated or used by the department to (i) determine program 

effectiveness, (ii) resolve emissions inspection conflicts 

between motor vehicle owners and emissions inspection 

stations, and (iii) provide such other technical support and 

information, as appropriate, to emissions inspection stations 

and motor vehicle owners.  

"Reference method" means any method of sampling and 

analyzing for an air pollutant as described in Appendix A of 

40 CFR Part 60.  

"Reinspection" or "retest" means a type of inspection 

selected by the department or the emissions inspector when a 

request for an inspection is due to a previous failure. Any 

inspection that occurs 120 days or less following the most 

recent chargeable inspection is a retest.  

"Rejected" or "rejected from testing" means that the vehicle 

cannot be inspected due to conditions in accordance with 

9VAC5-91-420 C or 9VAC5-91-420 G 3. 

"Remote sensing" means the measurement of motor vehicle 

emissions through electronic or light-sensing equipment from 

a remote location such as the roadside. Remote sensing 

equipment may include devices to detect and record the 

vehicle's registration or other identification numbers. 

"Replica vehicle" means every vehicle of a type required to 

be registered under Title 46.2 (§ 46.2-100 et seq.) of the Code 

of Virginia not fully constructed by a licensed manufacturer 

but either constructed or assembled from components. Such 

components may be from a single vehicle, multiple vehicles, 

a kit, parts, or fabricated components. The kit may be made 

up of "major components" as defined in § 46.2-1600 of the 

Code of Virginia, a full body, or a full chassis, or a 

combination of these parts. The vehicle shall resemble a 

vehicle of distinctive name, line-make, model, or type as 

produced by a licensed manufacturer or manufacturer no 

longer in business and is not a reconstructed or specially 

constructed vehicle.  Any vehicle registered as a replica 

vehicle shall meet emission requirements as established for 

the model year of which the vehicle is a replica. 

"Sensitive mission vehicle" means any vehicle which, for 

law enforcement or national security reasons, cannot be tested 

in the public inspection system and must not be identified 

through the fleet testing system. For such vehicles, an 

autonomous fleet testing system may be established by 

agreement between the controlling agency and the director. 

"Span gas" means gases of known concentration used as 

references to adjust or verify the accuracy of an exhaust gas 

analyzer that are approved by the department and are so 

labeled. 

"Specially constructed vehicle" means any vehicle that was 

not originally constructed under a distinctive name, make, 

model, or type by a generally recognized manufacturer of 

vehicles and not a reconstructed vehicle as defined in this 

section. 

"Specific engine family" means a group of motor vehicles 

with the same vehicle type, make, year, and engine size. 

"Standardized instruments" or "standardizing instruments" 

means laboratory instruments calibrated with precision gases 

traceable to the National Institute of Standards and 

Technology and accepted by the department as the standards 

to be used for comparison purposes. All candidate 

instruments are compared in performance to the standardized 

instruments.  

"Tactical military vehicle" means any motor vehicle 

designed to military specifications or a commercially 

designed motor vehicle modified to military specifications to 

meet direct transportation support of combat, tactical, or 

military relief operations, or training of personnel for such 

operations.  

"Tampering" means to alter, remove or otherwise disable or 

reduce the effectiveness of emissions control equipment on a 

motor vehicle.  

"Test" means an emissions inspection of a vehicle, or any 

portion thereof, performed by an emissions inspector at an 

emissions inspection station, using the procedures and 

provisions set forth in this chapter.  

"Test and repair" means motor vehicle emissions inspection 

stations that perform emissions inspections and may also 

perform vehicle repairs. No provision of this chapter shall bar 

emissions inspection stations from also performing vehicle 

repairs.  

"Thermostatic air cleaner" means a system that supplies 

temperature-regulated air to the air intake system during 

engine operation.  

"Two-speed idle test (TSI)" or TSI" means a vehicle exhaust 

emissions test, performed in accordance with section (II) of 

40 CFR Part 51, Appendix B to Subpart S, which measures 

the concentrations of pollutants in the exhaust gases of an 

engine (i) while the motor vehicle transmission is not 

propelling the vehicle and (ii) while the engine is operated at 

both curb idle and at a nominal engine speed of 2,500 rpm.  

"Vehicle emissions index" means the ranking of probable 

emissions inspection failure-rates of affected motor vehicles. 

Values within the index are determined by calculating a 

percentile of the historical emissions inspection failure-rates 

of a specific engine family, and comparing that to the 

historical emissions inspection failure-rates of all engine 

families in a specific model year group. Motor vehicles with 

the highest percentage of failure rates have the highest 

ranking on the index.  Failure rates are based on the two most 

recent calendar years of emissions inspection test data from 

the Virginia Motor Vehicle Emissions Control Program. 
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"Vehicle specific power (VSP)" or "VSP" means an 

indicator expressed as a function of vehicle speed, 

acceleration, drag coefficient, tire rolling resistance and 

roadway grade that is used to characterize the load a vehicle 

is operating under at the time and place a vehicle is measured 

by remote sensing equipment. It is calculated using the 

following formula:  

VSP = 4.39 x Sine (Site Grade in Degrees/57.3) x Speed 

+ K1  

x Speed x Acceleration + K2 x Speed + K3 x Speed
3
.  

Where:  

VSP = vehicle specific power indicator;  

Sine = the trigonometric function that for an acute angle 

is the ratio between the side opposite the angle when it is 

considered part of a right triangle and the hypotenuse;  

Site Grade in Degrees = slope of road where remote 

sensing measurement is taken;  

K1, K2 and K3 = empirically determined coefficients 

specific to the weight class of the vehicle;  

Speed = rate of motion in miles per hour of vehicle at the 

time remote sensing measurement is taken; and  

Acceleration = change in speed in miles per hour per 

second.  

For light duty vehicles the values for K1, K2 and K3 are 

respectively 0.22, 0.0954 and 0.0000272. Based on EPA 

guidance, the department may develop different values for 

K1, K2 and K3 that are applicable to heavy duty vehicles or 

to specific classes of light duty vehicles.  

"Virginia Motor Vehicle Emissions Control Program" 

means the program for the inspection and control of motor 

vehicle emissions established by Virginia Motor Vehicle 

Emissions Control Law.  

"Virginia Motor Vehicle Emissions Control Law" means 

Article 22 (§ 46.2-1176 et seq.) of Chapter 10 of Title 46.2 of 

the Code of Virginia.  

"Visible smoke" means any air pollutant, other than visible 

water droplets, consisting of black, gray, blue or blue-black 

airborne particulate matter emanating from the exhaust 

system or crankcase. Visible smoke does not mean steam.  

Part II  

General Provisions  

9VAC5-91-30. Applicability and authority of the 

department.  

A. The provisions of this chapter, unless specified 

otherwise, apply to the following:  

1. Any owner of an affected motor vehicle, including new 

motor vehicles, specified in subsection B of this section. 

References made to responsibilities or requirements 

applicable to an affected motor vehicle shall mean that the 

owner shall be responsible for compliance with all 

applicable provisions of this chapter.  

2. Any owner of an emissions inspection station or fleet 

emissions inspection station under the auspices of the 

enhanced emissions inspection program. References made 

to responsibilities or requirements of emissions inspection 

stations or fleet emissions inspection stations shall mean 

that the owner, permittee or certificate holder, as 

appropriate, shall be responsible for compliance with all 

applicable provisions of this chapter.  

3. Any person who conducts an emissions inspection under 

the auspices of the enhanced emissions inspection 

program.  

4. Any owner of an emissions repair facility performing 

emissions repairs on motor vehicles affected by this 

chapter. References made to responsibilities or 

requirements of certified emissions repair facilities shall 

mean that the owner, permittee or certificate holder, as 

appropriate, shall be responsible for compliance with all 

applicable provisions of this chapter.  

5. Any emissions repair technician performing emissions 

repairs on motor vehicles affected by this chapter.  

6. Any on-road emissions inspector conducting on-road 

testing. 

7. Any person or corporation that has entered into a 

contract with the director to provide services in accordance 

with this chapter. 

B. The provisions of this chapter, unless specified otherwise, 

apply to the following affected motor vehicles:  

1. Any affected motor vehicle, including new motor 

vehicles, registered by the Virginia Department of Motor 

Vehicles and garaged within the Northern Virginia 

program area.  

2. Any affected motor vehicle, including new motor 

vehicles, registered by the Virginia Department of Motor 

Vehicles and garaged outside of the Northern Virginia 

program area but operated primarily in the Northern 

Virginia program area.  

3. Any affected motor vehicle, including new motor 

vehicles not registered by the Department of Motor 

Vehicles but operated primarily in the Northern Virginia 

program area.  

4. Any affected motor vehicle, including new motor 

vehicles owned or operated as part of a fleet located 

outside the Northern Virginia program area but operated 

primarily in the Northern Virginia program area.  

C. As provided in the Virginia Motor Vehicle Emissions 

Control Law, affected motor vehicles shall be submitted for 

biennial emissions inspections and shall be in compliance 

with this chapter.  

1. Motor vehicles having obtained a valid enhanced 

emissions inspection pass from another program area or 

another state within the most recent 12 months may be 

determined by the director to be in compliance with the 
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enhanced emissions inspection required by this chapter for 

initial registration in Virginia. The valid period for such 

emissions inspection shall be one year. The proof of 

emissions inspection results from an enhanced emissions 

inspection program shall be presented to the Department of 

Motor Vehicles in such cases. The vehicle and proof of 

compliance may be presented to the department for 

verification purposes in order to resolve questions or 

disputes. Such vehicles are subject to all other provisions 

of this chapter.  

2. The director may temporarily defer the emissions 

inspection requirement for motor vehicles registered in but 

temporarily located outside the program area at the time of 

such requirement based on information including, but not 

limited to, the location of the vehicle, the reason for and 

length of its temporary location, and demonstration that it 

is not practical or reasonable to return the vehicle to the 

program area for inspection. All such information shall be 

provided by the owner and is subject to verification by the 

department.  

3. Clean screen vehicles may be determined by the director 

to be in compliance with the enhanced emissions 

inspection required by this chapter. 

D. Motor vehicles being titled for the first time shall be 

considered to have an enhanced emissions inspection valid 

for two four years from the month of the first titling unless 

identified by the remote sensing program as violating the 

emissions standards for that program. A vehicle manufactured 

for the current model year or any of the three immediately 

preceding model years shall be considered to have a valid 

emissions inspection unless identified by the remote sensing 

program as violating the emissions standards established for 

that program. Such vehicles are not exempt from the 

emissions inspection program and are subject to all other 

provisions of this chapter. 

E. Pursuant to § 46.2-1180 B of the Motor Vehicle 

Emissions Control Law, motor vehicles of the current model 

year and the four immediately preceding model years, held 

for resale in a licensed motor vehicle dealer's inventory, may 

be registered for one year upon sale without obtaining an 

emissions inspection in accordance with conditions 

enumerated below.  

1. The vehicle must be registered in the program area.  

2. The vehicle has not failed nor received a waiver during 

its most recent emissions inspection.  

3. The vehicle has not previously been registered under the 

provisions of this subsection.  

4. The motor vehicle dealer guarantees in writing to the 

customer and to the department that the emissions 

equipment on the motor vehicle is operating in compliance 

with the warranty of the manufacturer or distributor, or 

both if applicable, at the time of sale.  

a. The document supplied must describe the method by 

which this compliance was determined and provide a 

copy of any emissions readings obtained from the vehicle 

for the purpose of making this showing.  

b. The document must state in prominent or bold print 

that the certification in no way warrants or guarantees 

that the vehicle complied with the emission standards 

used in the Virginia enhanced emissions inspection 

program, or similar language approved by the department 

and that the customer has a right to request an emissions 

inspection, which may be at the expense of the customer, 

in lieu of the one year emissions validation period 

authorized by this subsection.  

5. A written request, including the documentation cited 

above, must be presented to the department not more than 

30 days prior to the date of sale so that the department can 

record such temporary emissions validation period and 

furnish it to the Department of Motor Vehicles.  

6. Such temporary validation period shall not be granted 

more than once for any motor vehicle.  

7. For the purposes of this subsection, any used motor 

vehicle will be considered to be one model year old on the 

first day of October of the next calendar year after the 

model year described on the vehicle title or registration, 

and shall increase in age by one year on the first day of 

each October thereafter.  

F. Owners or operators of fleets, including fleets of 

government vehicles and sensitive mission vehicles, shall 

provide a report to the department annually containing 

information regarding vehicles operated in the program area 

sufficient to determine compliance with this chapter. The 

report shall contain information deemed necessary by the 

department to determine compliance. Such information shall 

include, but not be limited to, (i) number of vehicles, (ii) 

compliance method, and (iii) results of any inspections. 

Reports shall be in a format and according to a schedule 

acceptable to the department.  

G. Manufacturers and distributors of emissions testing 

equipment are prohibited from directly or indirectly owning 

or operating any emissions testing facility or having any 

direct or indirect financial interest in any such facility other 

than the leasing of or providing financing for equipment 

related to emissions testing.  

H. The provisions of this chapter, unless specified 

otherwise, apply only to those pollutants for which emission 

standards are set forth in Part III (9VAC5-91-160 et seq.) and 

Part XIV (9VAC5-91-790 et seq.).  

I. Applicants for inspection station permits and emissions 

repair facility certificates shall have a Virginia business 

license and the application shall only be for a facility in 

Virginia.  
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J. By the adoption of this chapter, the board confers upon 

the department the administrative, enforcement and decision 

making authority enumerated herein.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4395; Filed June 23, 2015, 8:11 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-90. Regulations for Disease 

Reporting and Control (amending 12VAC5-90-10, 

12VAC5-90-80, 12VAC5-90-90, 12VAC5-90-100, 

12VAC5-90-110, 12VAC5-90-280; repealing 12VAC5-90-

50, 12VAC5-90-290 through 12VAC5-90-360).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-35 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: September 11, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Diane Woolard, Ph.D., Director, Division of 

Surveillance and Investigation, Department of Health, 

109 Governor Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

864-8124, or email diane.woolard@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-35 directs the State Board of Health to 

promulgate regulations specifying which diseases occurring 

in the Commonwealth are to be reportable and the method by 

which they are to be reported. Further, § 32.1-42 of the Code 

of Virginia authorizes the board to promulgate regulations 

and orders to prevent a potential emergency caused by a 

disease dangerous to public health. The board is empowered 

to adopt such regulations as are necessary to carry out 

provisions of laws of the Commonwealth administered by the 

State Health Commissioner by § 32.1-12 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Purpose: The amendments are necessary in order to ensure 

that the regulations comply with changes in the Code of 

Virginia and recommendations of national public health 

organizations. The proposed changes improve the ability of 

the Virginia Department of Health to conduct surveillance 

and implement disease control for conditions of public health 

concern, including outbreaks and emergencies that could be 

caused by naturally occurring disease or acts of bioterrorism. 

The changes will position the agency to better detect and 

respond to these illnesses to protect the health of the public. 

Substance: The proposed amendments (i) update definitions 

to align them with current usage; (ii) update the reportable 

disease list to reflect current national recommendations and 

language; (iii) update the list of conditions reportable by 

laboratory directors to reflect current laboratory technology 

and public health standards; (iv) increase the information 

reported by laboratory directors for Campylobacter infection, 

hepatitis B, and human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) 

testing, especially for children, and increase the specimens to 

be submitted to the Division of Consolidated Laboratory 

Services (DCLS) of the Virginia Department of General 

Services for advanced laboratory testing; (v) update language 

to ensure consistency between sections; (vi) clarify the 

agency's role in interstate and national notifications; (vii) 

clarify the level of information that may be shared with the 

agency by schools and other facilities; (viii) renumber 

sections for internal consistency within the regulations; and 

(ix) update reporting of dangerous microbes and pathogens 

sections to reflect federal code section numbering changes 

and other requirements. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the agency is that the 

proposed amendments will improve the ability of the Virginia 

Department of Health (VDH) to detect and control diseases of 

public health importance. Most of the changes being 

proposed are updates to terminology to reflect current usage 

or to clarify requirements. Some formatting changes have also 

been proposed.  

The impact on businesses primarily affects laboratories 

conducting business in the Commonwealth. The addition of 

laboratory testing methods to the list of conditions that 

laboratory directors must report reflects advances in 

laboratory science, but would mean that laboratories 

conducting business in Virginia will have to report additional 

positive laboratory findings to VDH. To reflect current 

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention 

recommendations, the reportable blood lead level is changed 

from 10 to 5 μg/dL for children and from 25 to 10 μg/dL for 

adults. Many of the proposed changes are already being 

reported by laboratories that offer those testing options. The 

proposed amendments would require laboratory directors to 

provide additional information on antimicrobial susceptibility 

for gonorrhea, to provide details of hepatitis test results, and 

to submit remnant HIV diagnostic serum to DCSL for HIV 

recency testing and HIV genetic sequence data from HIV 

drug resistance tests. Laboratory directors would also report 

all hepatitis B test results for children younger than two years 

of age and HIV test results for children younger than four 

years of age. 

The primary advantage to the public is that VDH will be 

increasingly aware of conditions of public health concern so 

that staff can take action to reduce the risk of preventable 

acute diseases. No disadvantages to the public are known. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Regulations for Disease Reporting and Control provide 

information about the process and procedures for reporting 

diseases to the Virginia Department of Health (VDH), 

including what diseases must be reported, who must report 

them and other details related to public health reporting and 

disease control. The Virginia Board of Health proposes to: 1) 
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add two diseases and subtract one from the reportable disease 

list, 2) add three conditions to the list of conditions for which 

specimens must be shipped to the Department of General 

Services Division of Consolidated Laboratory Services 

(DCLS), and make numerous other changes for clarity and to 

reflect current practice. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The specific changes being 

proposed are necessary to ensure the regulations comply with 

recent changes in the practice of public health pertaining to 

the reporting of diseases in humans that are potentially 

transmitted from environmental sources (e.g., babesiosis and 

leptospirosis) as well as to update the list of laboratory tests 

that can be used to identify reportable disease findings and of 

specimens needing further testing to reflect advances in 

laboratory technology. Further amendments are necessary to 

clarify definitions and ensure consistency of the regulatory 

language, such as to standardize the reporting requirements 

for those who are required to report. Minor changes are also 

proposed to the section on the reporting of dangerous 

microbes to align the regulatory requirements with federal 

requirements. The benefits of the proposed amendments stem 

from the improvement in information on which actions can be 

taken to minimize the spread of disease in Virginia. 

The Board proposes to add babesiosis and leptospirosis and 

remove monkeypox from the reportable disease list. 

According to VDH, babesiosis and leptospirosis are quite rare 

and monkeypox has never been found in the Commonwealth. 

Thus this proposed change will in net likely cause a very 

small increase in laboratory staff time spent on reporting  

Another proposed change will newly require the shipping of 

specimens to DCLS if positive tests are found for: 1) HIV, 2) 

Vibrio infection, or 3) when a clinical specimen yields 

evidence indicating the presence of a select agent or toxin as 

defined by federal regulations in 42 CFR Part 73. VDH 

estimates that approximately 2,400 positive HIV lab tests are 

confirmed each year in Virginia. Annually there are about 30 

Vibrio infections and fewer than ten for select agents in the 

Commonwealth.  

Private and Public labs that do HIV testing currently ship 

remnant sample (that is, serum that is remaining after they 

have finished their testing) to the federal Centers for Disease 

Control and Prevention (CDC)-designated lab voluntarily and 

at zero cost to the shipping lab. The samples are tested to 

determine recency of the HIV infection; thus this lab is 

referred to as the recency lab. One state lab (NY) does all of 

the testing for the country and works with the labs that do 

confirmatory testing for HIV to provide for them to ship their 

remnant samples to the recency lab using CDC funds. CDC 

has supported this program since 2004. As long as CDC 

funds continue to be available, this proposed amendment 

would not have any costs to laboratories in Virginia. 

There is currently no federal funding to pay for the shipping 

of the Vibrio and select agent specimens. Statewide there will 

likely be fewer than 40 times per annum where such a 

specimen would need to be shipped.
1
 Also, if labs are already 

shipping other specimens to DCLS at the same, the lab could 

potentially just add the specimen in question to the package 

and not incur additional costs. Nevertheless, there will likely 

be occasions where a shipment must be made due to the 

detection of Vibrio or a select agent.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. VDH estimates that up to 

100 laboratories may be affected by the changes proposed in 

laboratory reporting requirements; however, not all will offer 

the types of testing that must be reported. These laboratories 

are already reporting disease information to the health 

department, and the additions should have minimal impact. 

Some of the affected laboratories, including those in 

hospitals, would meet the definition of a small business.  

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

do not disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

will not likely affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposal to add Vibrio infection and the presence of a select 

agent or toxin
2
 to the list of conditions for which specimens 

must be shipped to DCLS will create some occasions where 

private laboratories must expend additional dollars on 

shipping.  

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposal to 

add Vibrio infection and the presence of a select agent or 

toxin
3
 to the list of conditions for which specimens must be 

shipped to DCLS will create some occasions where small 

private laboratories must expend additional dollars on 

shipping.  

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. Short of providing a subsidy or other outside 

reimbursement, there is no clear alternative method that 

would reduce the additional shipping costs for some small 

laboratories while still accomplishing the policy goal of 

improved information on which actions can be taken to 

minimize the spread of disease in Virginia. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

do not affect real estate development costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, a determination 

of the public benefit, the projected number of businesses or 

other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the 

identity of any localities and types of businesses or other 

entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons 

and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs 
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to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with 

the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private 

property. Further, if the proposed regulation has an adverse 

effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such 

economic impact analyses include (i) an identification and 

estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the 

regulation; (ii) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and 

other administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the regulation, including the type of professional 

skills necessary for preparing required reports and other 

documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the 

regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a description 

of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of 

achieving the purpose of the regulation. The analysis 

presented above represents DPB's best estimate of these 

economic impacts. 

_________________________________________________ 
1As mentioned, VDH estimates that there are about 30 Vibrio infections and 
fewer than ten for select agents annually in the Commonwealth 
2As defined by federal regulations in 42 CFR Part 73. 
3Ibid. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Virginia Department of Health concurs with the results of the 

analysis performed by the Department of Planning and 

Budget, specifically, the benefits likely exceed the costs for 

all proposed changes. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) add babesiosis and 

leptospirosis to and remove monkeypox from the 

reportable disease list; (ii) require the shipping of 

specimens to the Department of General Services' Division 

of Consolidated Laboratory Services if positive tests are 

found for HIV or Vibrio infection, or when a clinical 

specimen yields evidence indicating the presence of a 

select agent or toxin as defined in 42 CFR Part 73; and 

(iii) make numerous changes for clarity and to reflect 

current practice. 

Part I  

Definitions  

12VAC5-90-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Acute care hospital" means a hospital as defined in § 32.1-

123 of the Code of Virginia that provides medical treatment 

for patients having an acute illness or injury or recovering 

from surgery. 

"Adult intensive care unit" means a nursing care area that 

provides intensive observation, diagnosis, and therapeutic 

procedures for persons 18 years of age or more who are 

critically ill. Such units may also provide intensive care to 

pediatric patients. An intensive care unit excludes nursing 

areas that provide step-down, intermediate care, or telemetry 

only. 

"Affected area" means any part or the whole of the 

Commonwealth, which has been identified as where persons 

reside, or may be located, who are known to have been 

exposed to or infected with, or who are reasonably suspected 

to have been exposed to or infected with, a communicable 

disease of public health threat. "Affected area" shall include, 

but not be limited to, cities, counties, towns, and subsections 

of such areas, public and private property, buildings, and 

other structures. 

"Arboviral infection" means a viral illness that is transmitted 

by a mosquito, tick, or other arthropod. This includes, but is 

not limited to, chikungunya, dengue, eastern equine 

encephalitis (EEE), LaCrosse encephalitis (LAC), St. Louis 

encephalitis (SLE), and West Nile virus (WNV) infection. 

"Board" means the State Board of Health.  

"Cancer" means all carcinomas, sarcomas, melanomas, 

leukemias, and lymphomas excluding localized basal and 

squamous cell carcinomas of the skin, except for lesions of 

the mucous membranes. 

"CDC" means the Centers for Disease Control and 

Prevention of the U.S. Department of Health and Human 

Services. 

"Central line-associated bloodstream infection" means a 

primary bloodstream infection identified by laboratory tests, 

with or without clinical signs or symptoms, in a patient with a 

central line device, and meeting the current Centers for 

Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) CDC surveillance 

definition for laboratory-confirmed primary bloodstream 

infection. 

"Central line device" means a vascular infusion device that 

terminates at or close to the heart or in one of the greater great 

vessels. The following are considered great vessels for the 

purpose of reporting central line infections and counting 

central line days: aorta, pulmonary artery, superior vena cava, 

inferior vena cava, brachiocephalic veins, internal jugular 

veins, subclavian veins, external iliac veins, and common 

femoral veins. 

"Child care center" means a child day center, child day 

program, family day home, family day system, or registered 

family day home as defined by § 63.2-100 of the Code of 

Virginia, or a similar place providing day care of children by 

such other name as may be applied.  

"Clinic" means any facility, freestanding or associated with 

a hospital, that provides preventive, diagnostic, therapeutic, 

rehabilitative, or palliative care or services to outpatients.  

"Commissioner" means the State Health Commissioner or 

his duly designated officer or agent, unless stated in a 

provision of these regulations that it applies to the State 

Health Commissioner in his sole discretion. 

"Communicable disease" means an illness due to an 

infectious agent or its toxic products which is transmitted, 
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directly or indirectly, to a susceptible host from an infected 

person, animal, or arthropod or through the agency of an 

intermediate host or a vector or through the inanimate 

environment. 

"Communicable disease of public health significance" 

means an illness caused by a specific or suspected infectious 

agent that may be transmitted directly or indirectly from one 

individual to another. This includes but is not limited to 

infections caused by human immunodeficiency viruses, 

bloodborne pathogens, and tubercle bacillus. The State Health 

Commissioner may determine that diseases caused by other 

pathogens constitute communicable diseases of public health 

significance. 

"Communicable disease of public health threat" means an 

illness of public health significance, as determined by the 

State Health Commissioner in accordance with these 

regulations, caused by a specific or suspected infectious agent 

that may be reasonably expected or is known to be readily 

transmitted directly or indirectly from one individual to 

another and has been found to create a risk of death or 

significant injury or impairment; this definition shall not, 

however, be construed to include human immunodeficiency 

viruses or the tubercle bacilli, unless used as a bioterrorism 

weapon.  

"Companion animal" means any domestic or feral dog, 

domestic or feral cat, nonhuman primate, guinea pig, hamster, 

rabbit not raised for human food or fiber, exotic or native 

animal, reptile, exotic or native bird, or any feral animal or 

any animal under the care, custody, or ownership of a person 

or any animal that is bought, sold, traded, or bartered by any 

person. Agricultural animals, game species, or any animals 

regulated under federal law as research animals shall not be 

considered companion animals for the purpose of this 

regulation. 

"Condition" means any adverse health event, such as a 

disease, an infection, a syndrome, or as indicated by a 

procedure (including but not limited to the results of a 

physical exam, laboratory test, or imaging interpretation) 

suggesting that an exposure of public health importance has 

occurred. 

"Contact" means a person or animal known to have been in 

such association with an infected person or animal as to have 

had an opportunity of acquiring the infection. 

"Contact services" means a broad array of services that are 

offered to persons with infectious diseases and their contacts. 

Contact services include contact tracing, providing 

information about current infections, developing risk 

reduction plans to reduce the chances of future infections, and 

connecting to appropriate medical care and other services. 

"Contact tracing" means the process by which an infected 

person or health department employee notifies others that 

they may have been exposed to the infected person in a 

manner known to transmit the infectious agent in question. 

"Decontamination" means the use of physical or chemical 

means to remove, inactivate, or destroy hazardous substances 

or organisms from a person, surface, or item to the point that 

such substances or organisms are no longer capable of 

causing adverse health effects and the surface or item is 

rendered safe for handling, use, or disposal. 

"Department" means the State Department of Health. 

"Designee" or "designated officer or agent" means any 

person, or group of persons, designated by the State Health 

Commissioner, to act on behalf of the commissioner or the 

board. 

"Ehrlichiosis/anaplasmosis" "Ehrlichiosis/Anaplasmosis" 

means human infections caused by Ehrlichia chaffeensis 

(formerly included in the category "human monocytic 

ehrlichiosis" or "HME"), Ehrlichia ewingii or Anaplasma 

phagocytophilum (formerly included in the category "human 

granulocytic ehrlichiosis" or "HGE"). 

"Epidemic" means the occurrence in a community or region 

of cases of an illness clearly in excess of normal expectancy.  

"Essential needs" means basic human needs for sustenance 

including but not limited to food, water, and health care, (e.g., 

medications, therapies, testing, and durable medical 

equipment).  

"Exceptional circumstances" means the presence, as 

determined by the commissioner in his sole discretion, of one 

or more factors that may affect the ability of the department 

to effectively control a communicable disease of public health 

threat. Factors to be considered include but are not limited to: 

(i) characteristics or suspected characteristics of the disease-

causing organism or suspected disease-causing organism such 

as virulence, routes of transmission, minimum infectious 

dose, rapidity of disease spread, the potential for extensive 

disease spread, and the existence and availability of 

demonstrated effective treatment; (ii) known or suspected risk 

factors for infection; (iii) the potential magnitude of the effect 

of the disease on the health and welfare of the public; and (iv) 

the extent of voluntary compliance with public health 

recommendations. The determination of exceptional 

circumstances by the commissioner may take into account the 

experience or results of investigation in Virginia, another 

state, or another country.  

"Foodborne outbreak" means two or more cases of a similar 

illness acquired through the consumption of food 

contaminated with chemicals or an infectious agent or its 

toxic products. Such illnesses include but are not limited to 

heavy metal intoxication, staphylococcal food poisoning, 

botulism, salmonellosis, shigellosis, Clostridium perfringens 

food poisoning, hepatitis A, and Shiga toxin-producing 

Escherichia coli O157:H7 infection.  

"Healthcare-associated infection" (also known as 

nosocomial infection) means a localized or systemic 

condition resulting from an adverse reaction to the presence 

of an infectious agent or agents or its toxin or toxins that (i) 
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occurs in a patient in a healthcare health care setting (e.g., a 

hospital or outpatient clinic), (ii) was not found to be present 

or incubating at the time of admission unless the infection 

was related to a previous admission to the same setting, and 

(iii) if the setting is a hospital, meets the criteria for a specific 

infection site as defined by CDC. 

"Hepatitis C, acute" means the following clinical 

characteristics are met: (i) discrete onset of symptoms 

indicative of viral hepatitis and (ii) jaundice or elevated serum 

aminotransferase levels and the following laboratory criteria 

are met: (a) serum alanine aminotransferase levels (ALT) 

greater than 400 IU/L; (b) IgM anti-HAV negative (if done); 

(c) IgM anti-HBc negative (if done); and (d) hepatitis C virus 

antibody (anti-HCV) screening test positive with a signal-to-

cutoff ratio predictive of a true positive as determined for the 

particular assay as defined by CDC, HCV antibody positive 

by immunoblot (RIBA), or HCV RNA positive by nucleic 

acid test.  

"Hepatitis C, chronic" means that the laboratory criteria 

specified in clauses (b), (c) and (d) listed above for an acute 

case are met but clinical signs or symptoms of acute viral 

hepatitis are not present and serum alanine aminotransferase 

(ALT) levels do not exceed 400 IU/L. This category will 

include cases that may be acutely infected but not 

symptomatic.  

"Immunization" means a procedure that increases the 

protective response of an individual's immune system to 

specified pathogens.  

"Independent pathology laboratory" means a nonhospital or 

a hospital laboratory performing surgical pathology, 

including fine needle aspiration biopsy and bone marrow 

specimen examination services, which reports the results of 

such tests directly to physician offices, without reporting to a 

hospital or accessioning the information into a hospital tumor 

registry.  

"Individual" means a person or companion animal. When 

the context requires it, "person or persons" shall be deemed to 

include any individual.  

"Infection" means the entry and multiplication or persistence 

of a disease-causing organism (prion, virus, bacteria, fungus, 

parasite, or ectoparasite) in the body of an individual. An 

infection may be inapparent (i.e., without recognizable signs 

or symptoms but identifiable by laboratory means) or 

manifest (clinically apparent).  

"Influenza A, novel virus" means infection of a human with 

an influenza A virus subtype that is different from currently 

circulating human influenza H1 and H3 viruses. Novel 

subtypes include H2, H5, H7, and H9 subtypes or influenza 

H1 and H3 subtypes originating from a nonhuman species.  

"Invasive" means the organism is affecting a normally 

sterile site, including but not limited to blood or cerebrospinal 

fluid.  

"Investigation" means an inquiry into the incidence, 

prevalence, extent, source, mode of transmission, causation 

of, and other information pertinent to a disease occurrence.  

"Isolation" means the physical separation, including 

confinement or restriction of movement, of an individual or 

individuals who are infected with, or are reasonably suspected 

to be infected with, a communicable disease in order to 

prevent or limit the transmission of the communicable disease 

to uninfected and unexposed individuals.  

"Isolation, complete" means the full-time confinement or 

restriction of movement of an individual or individuals 

infected with, or reasonably suspected to be infected with, a 

communicable disease in order to prevent or limit the 

transmission of the communicable disease to uninfected and 

unexposed individuals.  

"Isolation, modified" means a selective, partial limitation of 

freedom of movement or actions of an individual or 

individuals infected with, or reasonably suspected to be 

infected with, a communicable disease. Modified isolation is 

designed to meet particular situations and includes but is not 

limited to the exclusion of children from school, the 

prohibition or restriction from engaging in a particular 

occupation or using public or mass transportation, or 

requirements for the use of devices or procedures intended to 

limit disease transmission.  

"Isolation, protective" means the physical separation of a 

susceptible individual or individuals not infected with, or not 

reasonably suspected to be infected with, a communicable 

disease from an environment where transmission is occurring, 

or is reasonably suspected to be occurring, in order to prevent 

the individual or individuals from acquiring the 

communicable disease.  

"Laboratory" as used herein means a clinical laboratory that 

examines materials derived from the human body for the 

purpose of providing information on the diagnosis, 

prevention, or treatment of disease.  

"Laboratory director" means any person in charge of 

supervising a laboratory conducting business in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia.  

"Law-enforcement agency" means any sheriff's office, 

police department, adult or youth correctional officer, or other 

agency or department that employs persons who have law-

enforcement authority that is under the direction and control 

of the Commonwealth or any local governing body. "Law-

enforcement agency" shall include, by order of the Governor, 

the Virginia National Guard.  

"Lead, elevated blood levels" means a confirmed blood level 

greater than or equal to 10 micrograms of lead per deciliter 

(μg/dL) of whole blood in a child or children 15 years of age 

and younger, a venous blood lead level greater than or equal 

to 25 μg/dL in a person older than 15 years of age, or such 

lower blood lead level as may be recommended for individual 

intervention by the department or the Centers for Disease 
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Control and Prevention the reference value established by the 

CDC. In 2012, the reference value was 5 μg/dL in children 

and 10 μg/dL for persons older than 15 years of age.  

"Least restrictive" means the minimal limitation of the 

freedom of movement and communication of an individual 

while under an order of isolation or an order of quarantine 

that also effectively protects unexposed and susceptible 

individuals from disease transmission.  

"Medical care facility" means any hospital or nursing home 

licensed in the Commonwealth, or any hospital operated by or 

contracted to operate by an entity of the United States 

government or the Commonwealth of Virginia.  

"Midwife" means any person who is licensed as a nurse 

midwife by the Virginia Boards of Nursing and Medicine or 

who is licensed by the Board of Medicine as a certified 

professional midwife. 

"National Healthcare Safety Network (NHSN)" or "NHSN" 

means a surveillance system created by the CDC for 

accumulating, exchanging, and integrating relevant 

information on infectious adverse events associated with 

healthcare health care delivery. 

"Nucleic acid detection" means laboratory testing of a 

clinical specimen to determine the presence of 

deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA) or ribonucleic acid (RNA) 

specific for an infectious agent using any method, including 

hybridization, sequencing, or amplification such as 

polymerase chain reaction.  

"Nurse" means any person licensed as a professional nurse 

or as a licensed practical nurse by the Virginia Board of 

Nursing.  

"Occupational outbreak" means a cluster of illness or 

disease that is indicative of a work-related exposure. Such 

conditions include but are not limited to silicosis, asbestosis, 

byssinosis, pneumoconiosis, and tuberculosis.  

"Outbreak" means the occurrence of more cases of a disease 

than expected.  

"Period of communicability" means the time or times during 

which the etiologic agent may be transferred directly or 

indirectly from an infected person to another person, or from 

an infected animal to a person.  

"Physician" means any person licensed to practice medicine 

or osteopathy by the Virginia Board of Medicine.  

"Quarantine" means the physical separation, including 

confinement or restriction of movement, of an individual or 

individuals who are present within an affected area or who 

are known to have been exposed, or may reasonably be 

suspected to have been exposed, to a communicable disease 

and who do not yet show signs or symptoms of infection with 

the communicable disease in order to prevent or limit the 

transmission of the communicable disease of public health 

threat to unexposed and uninfected individuals.  

"Quarantine, complete" means the full-time confinement or 

restriction of movement of an individual or individuals who 

do not have signs or symptoms of infection but may have 

been exposed, or may reasonably be suspected to have been 

exposed, to a communicable disease of public health threat in 

order to prevent the transmission of the communicable 

disease of public health threat to uninfected individuals.  

"Quarantine, modified" means a selective, partial limitation 

of freedom of movement or actions of an individual or 

individuals who do not have signs or symptoms of the 

infection but have been exposed to, or are reasonably 

suspected to have been exposed to, a communicable disease 

of public health threat. Modified quarantine may be designed 

to meet particular situations and includes but is not limited to 

limiting movement to the home, work, and/or or one or more 

other locations, the prohibition or restriction from using 

public or mass transportation, or requirements for the use of 

devices or procedures intended to limit disease transmission.  

"Reportable disease" means an illness due to a specific toxic 

substance, occupational exposure, or infectious agent, which 

affects a susceptible individual, either directly, as from an 

infected animal or person, or indirectly through an 

intermediate host, vector, or the environment, as determined 

by the board.  

"SARS" means severe acute respiratory syndrome (SARS)-

associated coronavirus (SARS-CoV) disease, Middle East 

respiratory syndrome (MERS)-associated coronavirus 

(MERS-CoV) disease, or another coronavirus causing a 

severe acute illness.  

"School" means (i) any public school from kindergarten 

through grade 12 operated under the authority of any locality 

within the Commonwealth; (ii) any private or parochial 

school that offers instruction at any level or grade from 

kindergarten through grade 12; (iii) any private or parochial 

nursery school or preschool, or any private or parochial child 

care center licensed by the Commonwealth; and (iv) any 

preschool handicap classes or Head Start classes.  

"Serology" means the testing of blood, serum, or other body 

fluids for the presence of antibodies or other markers of an 

infection or disease process.  

"Surveillance" means the ongoing systematic collection, 

analysis, and interpretation of outcome-specific data for use 

in the planning, implementation, and evaluation of public 

health practice. A surveillance system includes the functional 

capacity for data analysis as well as the timely dissemination 

of these data to persons who can undertake effective 

prevention and control activities.  

"Susceptible individual" means a person or animal who is 

vulnerable to or potentially able to contract a disease or 

condition. Factors that affect an individual's susceptibility 

include but are not limited to physical characteristics, 

genetics, previous or chronic exposures, chronic conditions or 

infections, immunization history, or use of medications.  
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"Toxic substance" means any substance, including any raw 

materials, intermediate products, catalysts, final products, or 

by-products of any manufacturing operation conducted in a 

commercial establishment, that has the capacity, through its 

physical, chemical or biological properties, to pose a 

substantial risk of death or impairment either immediately or 

over time, to the normal functions of humans, aquatic 

organisms, or any other animal but not including any 

pharmaceutical preparation which deliberately or 

inadvertently is consumed in such a way as to result in a drug 

overdose.  

"Tubercle bacilli" means disease-causing organisms 

belonging to the Mycobacterium tuberculosis complex and 

includes Mycobacterium tuberculosis, Mycobacterium bovis, 

and Mycobacterium africanum or other members as may be 

established by the commissioner.  

"Tuberculin skin test (TST)" means a test for demonstrating 

infection with tubercle bacilli, performed according to the 

Mantoux method, in which 0.1 ml of 5 TU strength tuberculin 

purified protein derivative (PPD) is injected intradermally on 

the volar surface of the arm. Any reaction is observed 48-72 

hours after placement and palpable induration is measured 

across the diameter transverse to the long axis of the arm. The 

measurement of the indurated area is recorded in millimeters 

and the significance of the measured induration is based on 

existing national and department guidelines.  

"Tuberculosis" means a disease caused by tubercle bacilli.  

"Tuberculosis, active disease" (also "active tuberculosis 

disease" and "active TB disease"), as defined by § 32.1-49.1 

of the Code of Virginia, means a disease caused by an 

airborne microorganism and characterized by the presence of 

either (i) a specimen of sputum or other bodily fluid or tissue 

that has been found to contain tubercle bacilli as evidenced by 

culture or nucleic acid amplification, including preliminary 

identification by rapid methodologies; (ii) a specimen of 

sputum or other bodily fluid or tissue that is suspected to 

contain tubercle bacilli as evidenced by smear, and where 

sufficient clinical and radiographic evidence of active 

tuberculosis disease is present as determined by a physician 

licensed to practice medicine in Virginia; or (iii) sufficient 

clinical and radiographic evidence of active tuberculosis 

disease as determined by the commissioner is present, but a 

specimen of sputum or other bodily fluid or tissue containing, 

or suspected of containing, tubercle bacilli is unobtainable.  

"Tuberculosis infection in children age less than 4 <4 years" 

means a significant reaction resulting from a tuberculin skin 

test (TST) or other approved test for latent infection without 

clinical or radiographic evidence of active tuberculosis 

disease, in children from birth up to their fourth birthday.  

"Vaccinia, disease or adverse event" means vaccinia 

infection or serious or unexpected events in persons who 

received the smallpox vaccine or their contacts, including but 

not limited to bacterial infections, eczema vaccinatum, 

erythema multiforme, generalized vaccinia, progressive 

vaccinia, inadvertent inoculation, post-vaccinial 

encephalopathy or encephalomyelitis, ocular vaccinia, and 

fetal vaccinia.  

"Waterborne outbreak" means two or more cases of a similar 

illness acquired through the ingestion of or other exposure to 

water contaminated with chemicals or an infectious agent or 

its toxic products. Such illnesses include but are not limited to 

giardiasis, viral gastroenteritis, cryptosporidiosis, hepatitis A, 

cholera, and shigellosis. A single case of laboratory-

confirmed primary amebic meningoencephalitis or of 

waterborne chemical poisoning is considered an outbreak.  

12VAC5-90-50. Applicability. (Repealed.) 

A. This chapter has general application throughout the 

Commonwealth.  

B. The provisions of the Virginia Administrative Process 

Act, which is codified as Chapter 40 (§ 2.2-4000 et seq.) of 

Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia shall govern the adoption, 

amendment, modification, and revision of this chapter, and 

the conduct of all proceedings and appeals hereunder. All 

hearings on such regulations shall be conducted in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.01 of the Code of Virginia.  

Part III  

Reporting of Disease  

12VAC5-90-80. Reportable disease list Lists of diseases 

that shall be reported. 

A. Reportable disease list. The board declares suspected or 

confirmed cases of the following named diseases, toxic 

effects, and conditions to be reportable by the persons 

enumerated in 12VAC5-90-90. Conditions identified by an 

asterisk (*) require immediate communication to the local 

health department by the most rapid means available upon 

suspicion or confirmation, as defined in subsection C of this 

section. Other conditions should be reported within three days 

of suspected or confirmed diagnosis.  

Acquired immunodeficiency syndrome (AIDS)  

Amebiasis  

*Anthrax  

Arboviral infections (e.g., dengue, EEE, LAC, SLE, WNV)  

Babesiosis 

*Botulism  

*Brucellosis  

Campylobacteriosis  

Chancroid  

Chickenpox (Varicella)  

Chlamydia trachomatis infection  

*Cholera  

Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease if <55 years of age 

Cryptosporidiosis  

Cyclosporiasis  

*Diphtheria  
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*Disease caused by an agent that may have been used as a 

weapon  

Ehrlichiosis/Anaplasmosis  

Escherichia coli infection, Shiga toxin-producing  

Giardiasis  

Gonorrhea  

Granuloma inguinale  

*Haemophilus influenzae infection, invasive  

Hantavirus pulmonary syndrome  

Hemolytic uremic syndrome (HUS)  

*Hepatitis A  

Hepatitis B (acute and chronic)  

Hepatitis C (acute and chronic)  

Hepatitis, other acute viral  

Human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infection  

Influenza  

*Influenza-associated deaths in children <18 years of age 

Lead, elevated blood levels 

Legionellosis  

Leprosy (Hansen (Hansen's disease)  

Leptospirosis 

Listeriosis  

Lyme disease  

Lymphogranuloma venereum  

Malaria  

*Measles (Rubeola)  

*Meningococcal disease  

*Monkeypox  

Mumps  

Ophthalmia neonatorum  

*Outbreaks, all (including but not limited to foodborne, 

healthcare-associated health care-associated, occupational, 

toxic substance-related, and waterborne)  

*Pertussis  

*Plague  

*Poliovirus infection, including poliomyelitis 

*Psittacosis  

*Q fever  

*Rabies, human and animal  

Rabies treatment, post-exposure  

*Rubella, including congenital rubella syndrome  

Salmonellosis  

*Severe acute respiratory syndrome (SARS), including any 

coronavirus causing a severe acute illness  

Shigellosis  

*Smallpox (Variola)  

Spotted fever rickettsiosis 

Staphylococcus aureus infection, vancomycin-intermediate 

or vancomycin-resistant  

Streptococcal disease, Group A, invasive or toxic shock  

Streptococcus pneumoniae infection, invasive, in children 

<5 years of age 

Syphilis (report *primary and *secondary syphilis by rapid 

means)  

Tetanus  

Toxic substance-related illness  

Trichinosis (Trichinellosis)  

*Tuberculosis, active disease  

Tuberculosis infection in children <4 years of age 

*Tularemia  

*Typhoid/Paratyphoid fever  

*Unusual occurrence of disease of public health concern  

*Vaccinia, disease or adverse event  

*Vibrio infection  

*Viral hemorrhagic fever  

*Yellow fever  

Yersiniosis  

B. Conditions reportable by directors of laboratories.  

Conditions identified by an asterisk (*) require immediate 

communication to the local health department by the most 

rapid means available upon suspicion or confirmation, as 

defined in subsection C of this section. Other conditions 

should be reported within three days of suspected or 

confirmed diagnosis.  

Amebiasis - by microscopic examination, culture, antigen 

detection, nucleic acid detection, or serologic results 

consistent with recent infection  

*Anthrax - by culture, antigen detection or nucleic acid 

detection  

Arboviral infection - by culture, antigen detection, nucleic 

acid detection, or serologic results consistent with recent 

infection  

Babesiosis - by culture, antigen detection, nucleic acid 

detection, or serologic results consistent with recent 

infection 

*Botulism - by culture, nucleic acid detection, or 

identification of toxin neurotoxin in a clinical specimen  

*Brucellosis - by culture, antigen detection, nucleic acid 

detection, or serologic results consistent with recent 

infection  

Campylobacteriosis - by culture, antigen detection, or 

nucleic acid detection. Submit all culture results (positive 
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or negative) associated with a positive antigen detection 

test. 

Chancroid - by culture, antigen detection, or nucleic acid 

detection  

Chickenpox (varicella) (Varicella) - by culture, antigen 

detection, nucleic acid detection, or serologic results 

consistent with recent infection  

Chlamydia trachomatis infection - by culture, antigen 

detection, nucleic acid detection or, for lymphogranuloma 

venereum, serologic results consistent with recent infection  

*Cholera - by culture or serologic results consistent with 

recent infection  

Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease if <55 years of age by 

histopathology in patients under the age of 55 years 

Cryptosporidiosis - by microscopic examination, antigen 

detection, or nucleic acid detection  

Cyclosporiasis - by microscopic examination or nucleic 

acid detection  

*Diphtheria - by culture or histopathology 

Ehrlichiosis/Anaplasmosis - by culture, nucleic acid 

detection, or serologic results consistent with recent 

infection  

Escherichia coli infection, Shiga toxin-producing - by 

culture of E. coli O157 or other Shiga toxin-producing E. 

coli, Shiga toxin detection (e.g., by EIA), or nucleic acid 

detection  

Giardiasis - by microscopic examination or, antigen 

detection, or nucleic acid detection  

Gonorrhea - by microscopic examination of a urethral 

smear specimen (males only), culture, antigen detection, or 

nucleic acid detection. Include available antimicrobial 

susceptibility findings in report.  

*Haemophilus influenzae infection, invasive - by culture, 

antigen detection, or nucleic acid detection from a 

normally sterile site  

Hantavirus pulmonary syndrome - by antigen detection 

(immunohistochemistry), nucleic acid detection, or 

serologic results consistent with recent infection  

*Hepatitis A - by detection of IgM antibodies  

Hepatitis B (acute and chronic) - by detection of HBsAg, 

HBeAg, or IgM antibodies or nucleic acid detection. For 

any reportable hepatitis finding, submit all available results 

from the hepatitis panel. Submit all findings for hepatitis B 

testing in children younger than two years of age.  

Hepatitis C (acute and chronic) - by hepatitis C virus 

antibody (anti-HCV) screening test positive with a signal-

to-cutoff ratio predictive of a true positive as determined 

for the particular assay as defined by CDC, HCV antibody 

positive by immunoblot (RIBA), or HCV RNA positive by 

nucleic acid test. For all hepatitis C patients, also report 

available results of serum alanine aminotransferase (ALT), 

anti-HAV IgM, anti-HBc IgM, and HBsAg. For any 

reportable hepatitis finding, submit all available results 

from the hepatitis panel. 

Hepatitis, other acute viral – any finding indicative of acute 

infection with hepatitis D, E, or other cause of viral 

hepatitis. For any reportable hepatitis finding, submit all 

available results from the hepatitis panel. 

Human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infection - by 

culture, antigen detection, nucleic acid detection, or 

detection of antibody confirmed with a supplemental test. 

For HIV-infected patients, report all results of CD4 and 

HIV viral load tests and all HIV genetic sequence data 

associated with HIV drug resistance tests. For children 

from birth to three years of age, report all tests regardless 

of the test findings (e.g., negative or positive).  

Influenza - by culture, antigen detection by direct 

fluorescent antibody (DFA), or nucleic acid detection  

Lead, elevated blood levels - by blood lead level greater 

than or equal to 10 μg/dL in children ages 0-15 years, or 

greater than or equal to 25 μg/dL in persons older than 15 

years of age the reference value established by CDC. The 

reference value established in 2012 was 5 µg/dL in 

children and 10 µg/dL in persons older than 15 years of 

age.  

Legionellosis - by culture, antigen detection (including 

urinary antigen), nucleic acid detection, or serologic results 

consistent with recent infection  

Leptospirosis - by culture, microscopic examination by 

dark field microscopy, nucleic acid detection, or serologic 

results consistent with recent infection 

Listeriosis - by culture  

Lyme disease - by culture, antigen detection, or detection 

of antibody confirmed with a supplemental test 

Malaria - by microscopic examination, antigen detection, 

or nucleic acid detection  

*Measles (rubeola) (Rubeola) - by culture, antigen 

detection, nucleic acid detection, or serologic results 

consistent with recent infection  

*Meningococcal disease - by culture or antigen detection 

from a normally sterile site  

*Monkeypox - by culture or nucleic acid detection  

Mumps - by culture, nucleic acid detection, or serologic 

results consistent with recent infection  

*Mycobacterial diseases - (See 12VAC5-90-225 B) Report 

any of the following:  

1. Acid fast bacilli by microscopic examination;  

2. Mycobacterial identification - preliminary and final 

identification by culture or nucleic acid detection;  

3. Drug susceptibility test results for M. tuberculosis.  

*Pertussis - by culture, antigen detection, or nucleic acid 

detection  
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*Plague - by culture, antigen detection, nucleic acid 

detection, or serologic results consistent with recent 

infection  

*Poliovirus infection - by culture  

*Psittacosis - by culture, antigen detection, nucleic acid 

detection, or serologic results consistent with recent 

infection  

*Q fever - by culture, antigen detection, nucleic acid 

detection, or serologic results consistent with recent 

infection  

*Rabies, human and animal - by culture, antigen detection 

by direct fluorescent antibody test, nucleic acid detection, 

or, for humans only, serologic results consistent with 

recent infection  

*Rubella - by culture, nucleic acid detection, or serologic 

results consistent with recent infection  

Salmonellosis - by culture or antigen detection 

*Severe acute respiratory syndrome, including any 

coronavirus causing a severe acute illness - by culture, 

nucleic acid detection, or serologic results consistent with 

recent infection  

Shigellosis - by culture or antigen detection 

*Smallpox (variola) (Variola) - by culture or nucleic acid 

detection  

Spotted fever rickettsiosis - by culture, antigen detection 

(including immunohistochemical staining), nucleic acid 

detection, or serologic results consistent with recent 

infection 

Staphylococcus aureus infection, resistant, as defined 

below.: 

1. Methicillin-resistant - by antimicrobial susceptibility 

testing of a Staphylococcus aureus isolate, with a 

susceptibility result indicating methicillin resistance, 

cultured from a normally sterile site 

2. Vancomycin-intermediate or vancomycin-resistant 

Staphylococcus aureus infection - by antimicrobial 

susceptibility testing of a Staphylococcus aureus isolate, 

with a vancomycin susceptibility result of intermediate or 

resistant, cultured from a clinical specimen. Include 

available antimicrobial susceptibility findings in report. 

Streptococcal disease, Group A, invasive or toxic shock - 

by culture from a normally sterile site  

Streptococcus pneumoniae infection, invasive, in children 

<5 years of age - by culture from a normally sterile site in a 

child under the age of five years 

*Syphilis - by microscopic examination (including dark 

field), antigen detection (including direct fluorescent 

antibody), or serology by either treponemal or 

nontreponemal methods  

Toxic substance-related illness - by blood or urine 

laboratory findings above the normal range, including but 

not limited to heavy metals, pesticides, and industrial-type 

solvents and gases. When applicable and available, report 

speciation of metals when blood or urine levels are 

elevated in order to differentiate the chemical species 

(elemental, organic, or inorganic).  

Trichinosis (trichinellosis) (Trichinellosis) - by 

microscopic examination of a muscle biopsy or serologic 

results consistent with recent infection  

*Tularemia - by culture, antigen detection, nucleic acid 

detection, or serologic results consistent with recent 

infection  

*Typhoid/Paratyphoid fever - by culture  

*Vaccinia, disease or adverse event - by culture or nucleic 

acid detection  

*Vibrio infection - by culture. Include Photobacterium 

damselae and Grimontia hollisae as well as Vibrio species.  

*Viral hemorrhagic fever - by culture, antigen detection 

(including immunohistochemical staining), nucleic acid 

detection, or serologic results consistent with recent 

infection  

*Yellow fever - by culture, antigen detection, nucleic acid 

detection, or serologic results consistent with recent 

infection  

Yersiniosis - by culture, nucleic acid detection, or serologic 

results consistent with recent infection  

C. Reportable diseases requiring rapid communication. 

Certain of the diseases in the list of reportable diseases, 

because of their extremely contagious nature or their potential 

for greater harm, or both, require immediate identification 

and control. Reporting of persons confirmed or suspected of 

having these diseases, listed below, shall be made 

immediately by the most rapid means available, preferably 

that of telecommunication (e.g., by telephone, telephone 

transmitted facsimile, pagers, etc.) to the local health director 

or other professional employee of the department. (These 

same diseases are also identified by an asterisk (*) in 

subsection A and subsection B subsections A and B, where 

applicable, of this section.)  

Anthrax  

Botulism  

Brucellosis  

Cholera  

Diphtheria  

Disease caused by an agent that may have been used as a 

weapon  

Haemophilus influenzae infection, invasive  

Hepatitis A  

Influenza-associated deaths in children <18 years of age 

Influenza A, novel virus 

Measles (Rubeola)  
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Meningococcal disease  

Monkeypox  

Outbreaks, all  

Pertussis  

Plague  

Poliovirus infection, including poliomyelitis 

Psittacosis  

Q fever  

Rabies, human and animal  

Rubella, including congenital rubella syndrome  

Severe acute respiratory syndrome (SARS), including any 

coronavirus causing a severe acute illness  

Smallpox (Variola)  

Syphilis, primary and secondary  

Tuberculosis, active disease  

Tularemia  

*Typhoid/Paratyphoid Typhoid/Paratyphoid fever  

Unusual occurrence of disease of public health concern  

Vaccinia, disease or adverse event  

Vibrio infection  

Viral hemorrhagic fever  

Yellow fever 

D. Toxic substance-related illnesses. All toxic substance-

related illnesses, including pesticide and heavy metal 

poisoning or illness resulting from exposure to an 

occupational dust or fiber or radioactive substance, shall be 

reported.  

If such illness is verified or suspected and presents an 

emergency or a serious threat to public health or safety, the 

report of such illness shall be by rapid communication as in 

subsection C of this section made immediately by the most 

rapid means available.  

E. Outbreaks. The occurrence of outbreaks or clusters of any 

illness which may represent a group expression of an illness 

which may be of public health concern shall be reported to 

the local health department immediately by the most rapid 

means available.  

F. Unusual or ill-defined diseases or emerging or 

reemerging pathogens. Unusual or emerging conditions of 

public health concern shall be reported to the local health 

department immediately by the most rapid means available. 

In addition, the commissioner or his designee may establish 

surveillance systems for diseases or conditions that are not on 

the list of reportable diseases. Such surveillance may be 

established to identify cases (delineate the magnitude of the 

situation), to identify the mode of transmission and risk 

factors for the disease, and to identify and implement 

appropriate action to protect public health. Any person 

reporting information at the request of the department for 

special surveillance or other epidemiological studies shall be 

immune from liability as provided by § 32.1-38 of the Code 

of Virginia.  

12VAC5-90-90. Those required to report. 

A. Physicians. Each physician who treats or examines any 

person who is suffering from or who is suspected of having a 

reportable disease or condition shall report that person's 

name, address, age, date of birth, race, sex, and pregnancy 

status for females; name of disease diagnosed or suspected; 

the date of onset of illness; and the name, address, and 

telephone number of the physician and medical facility where 

the examination was made, except that influenza should be 

reported by number of cases only (and type of influenza, if 

available). Reports are to be made to the local health 

department serving the jurisdiction where the physician 

practices. A physician may designate someone to report on 

his behalf, but the physician remains responsible for ensuring 

that the appropriate report is made. Any physician, designee, 

or organization making such report as authorized herein shall 

be immune from liability as provided by § 32.1-38 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Such reports shall be made on a form to be provided by the 

department (Form Epi-1) Form Epi-1, a computer generated 

printout containing the data items requested on Form Epi-1, 

or a Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) CDC 

surveillance form that provides the same information and 

shall be made within three days of the suspicion or 

confirmation of disease unless the disease in question requires 

rapid reporting under 12VAC5-90-80 C except that those 

identified in 12VAC5-90-80 C shall be reported immediately 

by the most rapid means available to the local health 

department serving the jurisdiction in which the facility is 

located. Reporting may be done by means of secure electronic 

transmission upon agreement of the physician and the 

department.  

Pursuant to § 32.1-49.1 of the Code of Virginia, additional 

Additional elements are required to be reported for 

individuals with confirmed or suspected active tuberculosis 

disease. Refer to Part X (12VAC5-90-225 et seq.) for details 

on these requirements. 

B. Directors of laboratories. Any person who is in charge of 

a laboratory conducting business in the Commonwealth shall 

report any laboratory examination of any clinical specimen, 

whether performed in-house or referred to an out-of-state 

laboratory, which yields evidence, by the laboratory 

method(s) indicated or any other confirmatory test, of a 

disease listed in 12VAC5-90-80 B.  

Each report shall give the source of the specimen and the 

laboratory method and result; the name, address, age, date of 

birth, race, sex, and pregnancy status for females (if known) 

of the person from whom the specimen was obtained; and the 

name, address, and telephone number of the physician for 

whom and medical facility for whom at which the 

examination was made. When the influenza virus is isolated, 
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the type should be reported, if available. Reports shall be 

made within three days of identification of evidence of 

disease, except that those identified by an asterisk in 

12VAC5-90-80 C shall be reported immediately by the most 

rapid means available, to the local health department serving 

the jurisdiction in which the laboratory is located. Reports 

shall be made on Form Epi-1 or on the laboratory's own form 

if it includes the required information. Computer generated 

reports containing the required information may be submitted. 

Reporting may be done by means of secure electronic 

transmission upon agreement of the laboratory director and 

the department. Any person making such report as authorized 

herein shall be immune from liability as provided by § 32.1-

38 of the Code of Virginia.  

A laboratory identifying evidence of any of the following 

conditions shall notify the local health department of the 

positive culture or other positive test result within the 

timeframes specified in 12VAC5-90-80 and submit the initial 

isolate or other initial specimen to the Virginia Division of 

Consolidated Laboratory Services (DCLS) within seven days 

of identification. All specimens must be identified with the 

patient and physician information required in this subsection. 

Anthrax 

Brucellosis 

Cholera 

Diphtheria 

E. coli infection, Shiga toxin-producing. (Laboratories that 

use a Shiga toxin EIA methodology but do not perform 

simultaneous culture for Shiga toxin-producing E. coli 

should forward all positive stool specimens or positive 

broth cultures enrichment broths to DCLS the Division of 

Consolidated Laboratory Services for confirmation and 

further characterization.) 

Haemophilus influenzae infection, invasive 

Human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) (Submit all 

remnant HIV diagnostic sera to the Division of 

Consolidated Laboratory Services or other laboratory 

designated by the department for HIV recency testing.)  

Influenza A, novel virus 

Listeriosis 

Meningococcal disease 

Pertussis 

Plague 

Poliovirus infection 

Q fever 

Salmonellosis 

Shigellosis 

Streptococcal disease, Group A, invasive 

Tuberculosis (A laboratory identifying Mycobacterium 

tuberculosis complex (see 12VAC5-90-225) shall submit a 

representative and viable sample of the initial culture to 

DCLS the Division of Consolidated Laboratory Services or 

other laboratory designated by the board to receive such 

specimen.) 

Typhoid/Paratyphoid fever 

Vancomycin-intermediate or vancomycin-resistant 

Staphylococcus aureus infection 

Vibrio infection, including infections due to 

Photobacterium damselae and Grimontia hollisae 

Yersiniosis 

Other diseases as may be requested by the health 

department 

When a clinical specimen yields evidence indicating the 

presence of a select agent or toxin as defined by federal 

regulations in 42 CFR Part 73, the person in charge of the 

laboratory shall contact the Division of Consolidated 

Laboratory Services and arrange to forward an isolate for 

confirmation. If a select agent or toxin has been confirmed in 

a clinical specimen, the laboratory director shall consult with 

Division of Consolidated Laboratory Services or CDC 

regarding isolate transport or destruction. 

Laboratories operating within a medical care facility shall be 

considered to be in compliance with the requirement to notify 

the local health department when the director of that medical 

care facility assumes the reporting responsibility; however, 

laboratories are still required to submit isolates to DCLS the 

Division of Consolidated Laboratory Services or other 

designated laboratory as noted above in this subsection.  

C. Persons in charge of a medical care facility. Any person 

in charge of a medical care facility shall make a report to the 

local health department serving the jurisdiction where the 

facility is located of the occurrence in or admission to the 

facility of a patient with a reportable disease listed in 

12VAC5-90-80 A unless he has evidence that the occurrence 

has been reported by a physician. Any person making such 

report as authorized herein shall be immune from liability as 

provided by § 32.1-38 of the Code of Virginia. The 

requirement to report shall include all inpatient, outpatient, 

and emergency care departments within the medical care 

facility. Such report shall contain the patient's name, address, 

age, date of birth, race, sex, and pregnancy status for females; 

name of disease being reported; the date of admission; 

hospital chart number; date expired (when applicable); and 

attending physician. Influenza should be reported by number 

of cases only (and type of influenza, if available). Reports 

shall be made within three days of the suspicion or 

confirmation of disease unless the disease in question requires 

rapid reporting under 12VAC5-90-80 C and except that those 

identified in 12VAC5-90-80 C shall be reported immediately 

by the most rapid means available to the local health 

department serving the jurisdiction in which the facility is 

located. Reports shall be made on Form Epi-1, a computer 

generated printout containing the data items requested on 

Form Epi-1, or a Centers for Disease Control and Prevention 
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(CDC) CDC surveillance form that provides the same 

information. Reporting may be done by means of secure 

electronic transmission upon agreement of the medical care 

facility and the department. 

A person in charge of a medical care facility may assume 

the reporting responsibility on behalf of the director of the 

laboratory operating within the facility. 

D. Persons in charge of a residential or day program, 

service, or facility licensed or operated by any agency of the 

Commonwealth, or a school, child care center, or summer 

camp. Any person in charge of a residential or day program, 

service, or facility licensed or operated by any agency of the 

Commonwealth, or a school, child care center, or summer 

camp as defined in § 35.1-1 of the Code of Virginia shall 

report immediately to the local health department the 

presence or suspected presence in his program, service, 

facility, school, child care center, or summer camp of persons 

who have common symptoms suggesting an outbreak 

situation. Such persons may report additional information, 

including individual cases of identifying and contact 

information for individuals with communicable diseases of 

public health concern or individuals who are involved in 

outbreaks that occur in their facilities, as necessary to 

facilitate public health investigation and disease control. Any 

person so reporting shall be immune from liability as 

provided by § 32.1-38 of the Code of Virginia.  

E. Local health directors. The local health director shall 

forward any report of a disease or report of evidence of a 

disease which has been made on a resident of his jurisdiction 

to the Office of Epidemiology within three days of receipt. 

This report shall be submitted immediately by the most rapid 

means available if the disease is one requiring rapid 

communication, as required in 12VAC5-90-80 C. All such 

rapid reporting shall be confirmed in writing and submitted to 

the Office of Epidemiology, by either a paper report or entry 

into a shared secure electronic disease surveillance system, 

within three days. Furthermore, the local health director shall 

immediately forward to the appropriate local health director 

any disease reports on individuals residing in the latter's 

jurisdiction or to the Office of Epidemiology on individuals 

residing outside Virginia. The Office of Epidemiology shall 

be responsible for notifying other state health departments of 

reported illnesses in their residents and of notifying CDC as 

necessary and appropriate. 

F. Persons in charge of hospitals, nursing facilities or 

nursing homes, assisted living facilities, and correctional 

facilities. In accordance with § 32.1-37.1 of the Code of 

Virginia, any person in charge of a hospital, nursing facility 

or nursing home, assisted living facility, or correctional 

facility shall, at the time of transferring custody of any dead 

body to any person practicing funeral services, notify the 

person practicing funeral services or his agent if the dead 

person was known to have had, immediately prior to death, an 

infectious disease which may be transmitted through 

exposure to any bodily fluids. These include any of the 

following infectious diseases:  

Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease  

Human immunodeficiency virus infection  

Hepatitis B  

Hepatitis C  

Monkeypox  

Rabies  

Smallpox  

Syphilis, infectious  

Tuberculosis, active disease  

Vaccinia, disease or adverse event  

Viral hemorrhagic fever  

G. Employees, applicants, and persons in charge of food 

establishments. 12VAC5-421-80 of the Food Regulations 

requires a food employee or applicant conditional employee 

to notify the person in charge of the food establishment when 

diagnosed with certain diseases that are transmissible through 

food. 12VAC5-421-120 and requires the person in charge of 

the food establishment to notify the health department 

regulatory authority. Refer to the appropriate sections 

12VAC5-421-80 of the Virginia Administrative Code for 

further guidance and clarification regarding these reporting 

requirements.  

Part IV  

Control of Disease  

12VAC5-90-100. Methods. 

The board and commissioner shall use appropriate disease 

control measures to manage the diseases listed in 12VAC5-

90-80 A, including but not limited to those described in the 

"Methods of Control" sections of the 18th 20th Edition of the 

Control of Communicable Diseases Manual (2004) (2015) 

published by the American Public Health Association. The 

board and commissioner reserve the right to use any legal 

means to control any disease which is a threat to the public 

health.  

When notified about a disease specified in 12VAC5-90-80, 

the local health director or his designee shall have the 

authority and responsibility to perform contact tracing/contact 

services for HIV infection, infectious syphilis, and active 

tuberculosis disease and may perform contact services for the 

other diseases if deemed necessary to protect the public 

health. All contacts of HIV infection shall be afforded the 

opportunity for appropriate counseling, testing, and individual 

face-to-face disclosure of their test results. In no case shall 

names of informants or infected individuals be revealed to 

contacts by the health department. All information obtained 

shall be kept strictly confidential. 

The local health director or his designee shall review reports 

of diseases received from his jurisdiction and follow up such 

reports, when indicated, with an appropriate investigation in 
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order to evaluate the severity of the problem. The local health 

director or his designee may recommend to any individual or 

group of individuals appropriate public health control 

measures, including but not limited to quarantine, isolation, 

immunization, decontamination, or treatment. He shall 

determine in consultation with the Office of Epidemiology 

and the commissioner if further investigation is required and 

if one or more forms of quarantine and/or, isolation, or both 

will be necessary.  

Complete isolation shall apply to situations where an 

individual is infected with a communicable disease of public 

health significance (including but not limited to active 

tuberculosis disease or HIV infection) and is engaging in 

behavior that places others at risk for infection with the 

communicable disease of public health significance, in 

accordance with the provisions of Article 3.01 (§ 32.1-48.02 

32.1-48.01 et seq.) of Chapter 2 of Title 32.1 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

Modified isolation shall apply to situations in which the 

local health director determines that modifications of activity 

are necessary to prevent disease transmission. Such situations 

shall include but are not limited to the temporary exclusion of 

a child with a communicable disease from school, the 

temporary exclusion of an individual with a communicable 

disease from food handling or patient care, the temporary 

prohibition or restriction of an individual with a 

communicable disease from using public transportation, the 

requirement that a person with a communicable disease use 

certain personal protective equipment, or restrictions of other 

activities that may pose a risk to the health of others. 

Protective isolation shall apply to situations such as the 

exclusion, under § 32.1-47 of the Code of Virginia, of any 

unimmunized child from a school in which an outbreak, 

potential epidemic, or epidemic of a vaccine preventable 

disease has been identified.  

To the extent permitted by the Code of Virginia, the local 

health director may be authorized as the commissioner's 

designee to implement the forms of isolation described in this 

section. When these forms of isolation are deemed to be 

insufficient, the local health director may use the provisions 

of Article 3.01 (§ 32.1-48.01 et seq.) of Chapter 2 of Title 

32.1 of the Code of Virginia for the control of communicable 

diseases of public health significance or, in consultation with 

the Office of Epidemiology, shall provide sufficient 

information to enable the commissioner to prepare an order or 

orders of isolation and/or, quarantine, or both under Article 

3.02 (§ 32.1-48.05 et seq.) of Chapter 2 of Title 32.1 of the 

Code of Virginia for the control of communicable diseases of 

public health threat.  

Part V  

Immunization of Persons Less Than 18 Years of Age 

12VAC5-90-110. Dosage and age requirements for 

immunizations; obtaining immunizations. 

A. Every person in Virginia less than 18 years of age shall 

be immunized in accordance with the most recent 

Immunization Schedule developed and published by the 

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) CDC, 

Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP), the 

American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP), and the American 

Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP). Requirements for 

school and day care attendance are addressed in 12VAC5-

110. 

B. The required immunizations may be obtained from a 

physician licensed to practice medicine or from the local 

health department, registered nurse, or other licensed 

professional authorized by the Code of Virginia to administer 

immunizations at locations to include private settings or local 

health departments.  

Part XII  

Reporting of Dangerous Microbes and Pathogens  

12VAC5-90-280. Definitions. Reporting of dangerous 

microbes and pathogens. 

A. Definitions. The following words and terms when used in 

this part shall have the following meanings unless the context 

clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Biologic agent" means any microorganism (including, but 

not limited to, bacteria, viruses, fungi, rickettsiae, or 

protozoa), or infectious substance, or any naturally occurring, 

bioengineered, or synthesized component of any such 

microorganism or infectious substance, capable of causing 

death, disease, or other biological malfunction in a human, an 

animal, a plant, or other living organism; deterioration of 

food, water, equipment, supplies, or material of any kind; or 

deleterious alteration of the environment.  

"CDC" means the Centers for Disease Control and 

Prevention of the U.S. Department of Health and Human 

Services.  

"Diagnosis" means the analysis of specimens for the purpose 

of identifying or confirming the presence or characteristics of 

a select agent or toxin, provided that such analysis is directly 

related to protecting the public health or safety.  

"Proficiency testing" means a sponsored, time-limited 

analytical trial whereby one or more analytes, previously 

confirmed by the sponsor, are submitted to the testing 

laboratory for analysis and where final results are graded, 

scores are recorded and provided to participants, and scores 

for participants are evaluated.  

"Responsible official" means any person in charge of 

directing or supervising a laboratory conducting business in 

the Commonwealth of Virginia. At colleges and universities, 

the responsible official shall be the president of the college or 

university or his designee. At private, state, or federal 
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organizations, the responsible official shall be the laboratory 

director or a chief officer of the organization or his designee.  

"Select agent or toxin" or "select agent and toxin" means all 

those biological agents or toxins as defined by federal 

regulations in 42 CFR Part 73, including: 1. Health and 

Human Services (HHS) select agents and toxins, as outlined 

in 42 CFR 73.4 and overlap select agents and toxins.  

2. HHS overlap select agents and toxins, as outlined in 

42 CFR 73.5.  

"Toxin" means the toxic material or product of plants, 

animals, microorganisms (including but not limited to 

bacteria, viruses, fungi, rickettsiae, or protozoa); or infectious 

substances; or a recombinant or synthesized molecule, 

whatever the origin and method of production; and includes 

any poisonous substance or biological product that may be 

engineered as a result of biotechnology or produced by a 

living organism; or any poisonous isomer or biological 

product, homolog, or derivative of such a substance.  

"Verification" means the process required to assure the 

accuracy, precision, and the analytical sensitivity and 

specificity of any procedure used for diagnosis.  

B. Administration. The dangerous microbes and pathogens 

will be known as "select agents and toxins." The select agent 

and toxin registry will be maintained by the Virginia 

Department of Health, Office of Epidemiology, Division of 

Surveillance and Investigation.  

C. Reportable agents. The board declares the select agents 

and toxins and overlap select agents and toxins outlined in 

42 CFR Part 73 to be reportable and adopts it herein by 

reference including subsequent amendments and editions. The 

select agents and toxins are to be reportable by the persons 

enumerated in subsection F of this section.  

D. Items to report. Each report shall be made on a form 

determined by the department and shall contain the following: 

name, source and characterization information on select 

agents and toxins and quantities held; objectives of the work 

with the agent; location (including building and room) where 

each select agent or toxin is stored or used; identification 

information of persons with access to each agent; 

identification information of the person in charge of each of 

the agents; and the name, position and identification 

information of one responsible official as a single point of 

contact for the organization. The report shall also indicate 

whether the laboratory is registered with the CDC Select 

Agent Program and may contain additional information as 

required by 42 CFR Part 73 or the department.  

E. Timing of reports. Reports shall be made to the 

department within seven calendar days of submission of an 

application to the CDC Select Agent Program. By January 31 

of every year, laboratories shall provide a written update to 

the department, which shall include a copy of the federal 

registration certificate received through the CDC Select 

Agent Program.  

In the event that a select agent or toxin that has previously 

been reported to the department is destroyed, a copy of 

federal forms addressing the destruction of the select agent or 

toxin must be submitted to the department within seven 

calendar days of submission to the CDC Select Agent 

Program.  

In the event that a select agent or toxin, or a specimen or 

isolate from a specimen containing a select agent or toxin, has 

previously been reported to the department and is 

subsequently transferred to a facility eligible for receiving the 

items, a copy of federal forms addressing the transfer of the 

select agent or toxin must be submitted to the department 

within seven calendar days of submission to the CDC Select 

Agent Program.  

In the event of a suspected release, loss, or theft of any 

select agent or toxin, the responsible official at a laboratory 

shall make a report to the department immediately by the 

most rapid means available, preferably by telephone. The 

rapid report shall be followed up by a written report within 

seven calendar days and shall include the following 

information:  

1. The name of the biologic agent and any identifying 

information (e.g., strain or other characterization 

information);  

2. An estimate of the quantity released, lost, or stolen;  

3. An estimate of the time during which the release, loss, or 

theft occurred; and  

4. The location (building, room) from or in which the 

release, loss, or theft occurred. The report may contain 

additional information as required by 42 CFR Part 73 or 

the department.  

The department must be notified in writing of any change to 

information previously submitted to the department. If a new 

application or an amendment to an existing application is 

filed with the CDC Select Agent Program, a copy of the 

application or amendment must be submitted to the 

department within seven calendar days of submission to the 

CDC Select Agent Program.  

F. Those required to report. The responsible official in 

charge of a laboratory conducting business in the 

Commonwealth shall be responsible for annual reporting of 

select agents and toxins to the Virginia Department of Health 

and for the reporting of any changes within the time periods 

as specified within these regulations. Such reports shall be 

made on forms to be determined by the department. Any 

person making such reports as authorized herein shall be 

immune from liability as provided by § 32.1-38 of the Code 

of Virginia.  

G. Exemption from reporting. A person who detects a select 

agent or toxin for the purpose of diagnosing a disease, 

verification, or proficiency testing and either transfers the 

specimens or isolates containing the select agent or toxin to a 

facility eligible for receiving them or destroys them on site is 
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not required to make a report except as required by 12VAC5-

90-80 and 12VAC5-90-90. Proper destruction of the agent 

must take place through autoclaving, incineration, or by a 

sterilization or neutralization process sufficient to cause 

inactivation. The transfer or destruction must occur within 

seven calendar days after identification of a select agent or 

toxin used for diagnosis or testing and within 90 calendar 

days after receipt for proficiency testing.  

Any additional exemptions from reporting under 42 CFR 

Part 73, including subsequent amendments and editions, are 

also exempt from reporting under this regulation; however, 

the department must be notified of the exemption by 

submitting a copy of federal forms addressing the exemption 

within seven calendar days of submission to the CDC Select 

Agent Program.  

H. Release of reported information. Reports submitted to the 

select agent and toxin registry shall be confidential and shall 

not be a public record pursuant to the Freedom of Information 

Act, regardless of submitter. Release of information on select 

agents or toxins shall be made only by order of the State 

Health Commissioner to the CDC and state and federal law-

enforcement agencies in any investigation involving the 

release, theft, or loss of a select agent or toxin required to be 

reported to the department under this regulation.  

12VAC5-90-290. Authority. (Repealed.)  

Chapter 2 (§ 32.1-35 et seq.) of Title 32.1 of the Code of 

Virginia authorizes the reporting of dangerous microbes and 

pathogens to the department. Specifically, § 32.1-35 directs 

the board to promulgate regulations specifying which 

dangerous microbes and pathogens are to be reportable and 

the method and timeframe by which they are to be reported 

by laboratories.  

12VAC5-90-300. Administration. (Repealed.)  

The dangerous microbes and pathogens will be known as 

"select agents and toxins." The select agent and toxin registry 

will be maintained by the Virginia Department of Health, 

Office of Epidemiology, Division of Surveillance and 

Investigation.  

12VAC5-90-310. Reportable agents. (Repealed.)  

The board declares the select agents and toxins outlined in 

42 CFR 73.4 and 42 CFR 73.5 to be reportable, and adopts it 

herein by reference including subsequent amendments and 

editions. The select agents and toxins are to be reportable by 

the persons enumerated in 12VAC5-90-340.  

12VAC5-90-320. Items to report. (Repealed.)  

Each report shall be made on a form determined by the 

department and shall contain the following: name, source and 

characterization information on select agents and toxins and 

quantities held; objectives of the work with the agent; 

location (including building and room) where each select 

agent or toxin is stored or used; identification information of 

persons with access to each agent; identification information 

of the person in charge of each of the agents; and the name, 

position and identification information of one responsible 

official as a single point of contact for the organization. The 

report shall also indicate whether the laboratory is registered 

with the CDC Select Agent Program and may contain 

additional information as required by 42 CFR Part 73 or the 

department.  

12VAC5-90-330. Timing of reports. (Repealed.)  

Initial reports shall be made by October 26, 2004. 

Thereafter, reports shall be made to the department within 

seven calendar days of submission of an application to the 

CDC Select Agent Program. By January 31 of every year, 

laboratories shall provide a written update to the department, 

which shall include a copy of the federal registration 

certificate received through the CDC Select Agent Program.  

In the event that a select agent or toxin that has previously 

been reported to the department is destroyed, a copy of 

federal forms addressing the destruction of the select agent or 

toxin must be submitted to the department within seven 

calendar days of submission to the CDC Select Agent 

Program.  

In the event that a select agent or toxin, or a specimen or 

isolate from a specimen containing a select agent or toxin, has 

previously been reported to the department and is 

subsequently transferred to a facility eligible for receiving the 

items, a copy of federal forms addressing the transfer of the 

select agent or toxin must be submitted to the department 

within seven calendar days of submission to the CDC Select 

Agent Program.  

In the event of a suspected release, loss or theft of any select 

agent or toxin, the responsible official at a laboratory shall 

make a report to the department within 24 hours by the most 

rapid means available, preferably that of telecommunication 

(e.g., telephone, telephone transmitted facsimile, pagers, etc.) 

The rapid report shall be followed up by a written report 

within seven calendar days and shall include the following 

information:  

1. The name of the biologic agent and any identifying 

information (e.g., strain or other characterization 

information);  

2. An estimate of the quantity released, lost or stolen;  

3. An estimate of the time during which the release, loss or 

theft occurred; and  

4. The location (building, room) from or in which the 

release, loss or theft occurred. The report may contain 

additional information as required by 42 CFR Part 73 or 

the department.  

The department must be notified in writing of any changes 

to information previously submitted to the department. If a 

new application or an amendment to an existing application is 

filed with the CDC Select Agent Program, a copy of the 

application or amendment must be submitted to the 

department within seven calendar days of submission to the 

CDC Select Agent Program.  



Regulations 

Volume 31, Issue 23 Virginia Register of Regulations July 13, 2015 

2127 

12VAC5-90-340. Those required to report. (Repealed.)  

The responsible official in charge of a laboratory conducting 

business in the Commonwealth shall be responsible for 

annual reporting of select agents and toxins to the Virginia 

Department of Health and for the reporting of any changes 

within the time periods as specified within these regulations. 

Such reports shall be made on forms to be determined by the 

department. Any person making such reports as authorized 

herein shall be immune from liability as provided by § 32.1-

38 of the Code of Virginia.  

12VAC5-90-350. Exemption from reporting. (Repealed.)  

A person who detects a select agent or toxin for the purpose 

of diagnosing a disease, verification, or proficiency testing 

and either transfers the specimens or isolates containing the 

select agent or toxin to a facility eligible for receiving them or 

destroys them onsite is not required to make a report. Proper 

destruction of the agent must take place through autoclaving, 

incineration, or by a sterilization or neutralization process 

sufficient to cause inactivation. The transfer or destruction 

must occur within seven calendar days after identification of a 

select agent or toxin used for diagnosis or testing and within 

90 calendar days after receipt for proficiency testing.  

Any additional exemptions from reporting under 42 CFR 

73.6, including subsequent amendments and editions, are also 

exempt from reporting under this regulation; however, the 

department must be notified of the exemption by submitting a 

copy of federal forms addressing the exemption within seven 

calendar days of submission to the CDC Select Agent 

Program.  

12VAC5-90-360. Release of reported information. 

(Repealed.)  

Reports submitted to the select agent and toxin registry shall 

be confidential and shall not be a public record pursuant to 

the Freedom of Information Act. Relea\se of information on 

select agents or toxins shall be made only by order of the 

State Health Commissioner to the CDC and state and federal 

law-enforcement agencies in any investigation involving the 

release, theft, or loss of a select agent or toxin required to be 

reported to the department under this regulation.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (12VAC5-90)  

Virginia Department of Health Confidential Morbidity 

Report, Epi-1 (rev. 3/07)  

Confidential Morbidity Report, Epi-1 (rev. 10/11) 

Virginia Cancer Registry Reporting Form (rev. 1/98)  

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(12VAC5-90)  

Control of Communicable Diseases Manual, 18th Edition, 

American Public Health Association, 2004.  

Control of Communicable Diseases Manual, 20th Edition, 

American Public Health Association, 2015 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3366; Filed May 29, 2015, 11:39 a.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Notice of Extension of Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-20. Administration of 

Medical Assistance Services (amending 12VAC30-20-500, 

12VAC30-20-520, 12VAC30-20-540, 12VAC30-20-560).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Expiration Date Extended Through: December 30, 2015. 

The Governor has approved the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services' request to extend the expiration date of 

the above-referenced emergency regulation for six months as 

provided for in § 2.2-4011 D of the Code of Virginia. 

Therefore, the emergency regulation will continue in effect 

through December 30, 2015. The emergency regulation was 

published in 30:7 VA.R. 929-932 December 2, 2013. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 

Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3105; Filed June 24, 2015, 5:42 p.m.  

Notice of Extension of Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-80. Methods and Standards 

for Establishing Payment Rates; Other Types of Care 

(amending 12VAC30-80-20, 12VAC30-80-40; adding 

12VAC30-80-36).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Expiration Date Extended Through: December 30, 2015. 

The Governor has approved the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services' request to extend the expiration date of 

the above-referenced emergency regulation for six months as 

provided for in § 2.2-4011 D of the Code of Virginia. 

Therefore, the emergency regulation will continue in effect 

through December 30, 2015. The emergency regulation was 

published in 30:7 VA.R. 940-946 December 2, 2013. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 

Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3799; Filed June 24, 2015, 5:42 p.m.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1fd3e003366~1&typ=40&actno=003366&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a9f2b003366~2&typ=40&actno=003366&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a9f2b003366~2&typ=40&actno=003366&mime=application/pdf
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol30/iss07/v30i07.pdf
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol30/iss07/v30i07.pdf
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Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-135. Demonstration Waiver 

Services (amending 12VAC30-135-400 through 12VAC30-

135-430, 12VAC30-135-450). 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

§ 1115 of the Social Security Act. 

Effective Dates: July 1, 2015, through June 30, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 

Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Section 2.2-4011 A of the Code of Virginia states that 

agencies may adopt regulations in emergency situations 

after the agency submits a written request stating the 

nature of the emergency and the Governor approves the 

emergency action. The Department of Medical Assistance 

Services (DMAS) submitted a request to the Governor 

stating in writing the nature of this emergency, and on 

June 24, 2015, the Governor specifically authorized this 

action to amend the previous emergency action for the 

Governor's Access Plan (GAP) Demonstration Waiver for 

Individuals with Serious Mental Illness, which was 

published in 31:10 VA.R. 864 January 12, 2015, to be 

promulgated as an emergency action.  

Item 301 LLLL of Chapter 665 of the 2015 Acts of 

Assembly directed DMAS to amend the GAP 

Demonstration Waiver by (i) reducing the household 

income level to 60% of the federal poverty level (FPL), 

while retaining the additional 5.0% household income 

disregard; (ii) providing continued eligibility for all 

individuals enrolled in the demonstration waiver with 

incomes between 61% and 100% of the FPL, plus a 5.0% 

household income disregard, as of May 15, 2015, who 

continue to meet other program eligibility rules, until their 

next eligibility renewal period or July 1, 2016, whichever 

comes first; and (iii) modifying the list of benefits 

provided. The amendments conform the emergency 

regulation to this requirement. 

Part III 

Governor's Access Plan Demonstration Waiver for 

Individuals with Serious Mental Illness 

12VAC30-135-400. Establishment of program. 

A. The Commonwealth through the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services (DMAS), the single state Medicaid 

agency, establishes a § 1115 demonstration waiver, the 

Virginia Governor's Access Plan (GAP) for the Seriously 

Mentally Ill (SMI). With federal approval, Virginia will offer 

a limited yet targeted benefit package of services that builds 

on a successful model of using existing partnerships to 

provide and integrate basic medical and behavioral health 

care services for individuals who have a serious mental illness 

(SMI) and have incomes less than 100% 60% of the federal 

poverty limit (below 95% with plus a 5.0% household income 

disregard to equal 100% of the FPL). 

B. Enabling persons with SMI to access both behavioral 

health and primary health services will enhance the treatment 

they can receive, allow their care to be coordinated among 

providers, and potentially significantly decrease the severity 

of their condition. The three goals of this program are: 

1. Improve access to health care for a segment of the 

uninsured population in Virginia that has significant 

behavioral and medical needs; 

2. Improve health and behavioral health outcomes of 

demonstration participants; and  

3. Serve as a bridge to closing the coverage gap for 

uninsured Virginians.  

12VAC30-135-410. Definitions. 

The following words and terms as used in this part shall 

have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Action" means an action by Cover Virginia or the service 

authorization contractor that constitutes a termination or 

denial of eligibility or services or limited authorization of a 

service authorization request including (i) type or level of 

service; (ii) reduction, suspension, or termination of a 

previously authorized service;  (iii) failure to act on a service 

request;  (iv) denial in whole or in part of coverage for a 

service; or (v) failure by Cover Virginia or the service 

authorization contractor to render a decision within the 

required timeframes. 

"Agency" means either Cover Virginia or the service 

authorization contractor. 

"Alternative home care" means mental health services more 

intensive than outpatient services provided either in the 

individual's home or the individual is temporarily (less than 

two weeks) placed in a therapeutic living setting that provides 

intensive mental health services such as residential crisis 

stabilization.  

"Appellant" means an applicant for or recipient of GAP 

benefits who seeks to challenge an action regarding 

eligibility, services, and coverage determinations. 

"Behavioral health" means mental health and substance use 

disorder services.  

"BHSA" means the behavioral health services administrator 

entity that manages or directs a behavioral health benefits 

program under contract with DMAS. 

"Care coordination" means the collaboration and sharing of 

information among health care providers who are involved 

with an individual's health care to (i) improve the health and 

wellness of individuals with complex and special care needs 

and (ii) integrate services around the needs of such 

individuals at the local level by working collaboratively with 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=4800
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all partners, including the individual, his family, and 

providers.  

"CAT" means computer aided tomography. 

"Certified prescreener" means an employee of the local 

community services board/behavioral health authority or its 

designee who is skilled in the assessment and treatment of 

mental illness and who has completed a certification program 

approved by DBHDS. 

"Client appeal" means an individual's request for review of 

an eligibility, coverage, or payment determination. An appeal 

is an individual's challenge to the actions regarding benefits, 

services, and reimbursement provided by the department, its 

service authorization contractor, or Cover Virginia. 

"Cover Virginia" or "Cover VA" means a department 

contractor that receives applications for the GAP 

Demonstration Waiver for Individuals with SMI, determines 

eligibility, and handles individuals' appeal of actions that 

have denied, reduced, or terminated covered benefits. 

"CSB" means the local community services board or 

behavioral health authority agency, which is the entry point 

for citizens into behavioral health and substance abuse 

treatment services as established in Chapter 5 (§ 37.2-500 et 

seq.) and Chapter 6 (§ 37.2-600 et seq.) of Title 37.2 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

"DBHDS" means the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services consistent with Chapter 3 (§ 37.2-

300 et seq.) of Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Department" or "DMAS" means the Department of 

Medical Assistance Services and its contractor or contractors 

consistent with Chapter 10 (§ 32.1-323 et seq.) of Title 32.1 

of the Code of Virginia. 

"Direct services" means the provision of direct behavioral 

health and medical treatment, counseling, or other supportive 

services not included in the definition of care management 

services. 

"Division" means the Appeals Division at DMAS. 

"DSM-IV-TR" means the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual 

of Mental Disorders, Fourth Edition, Text Revision, copyright 

2000, American Psychiatric Association. 

"DSM-5" means the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of 

Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, copyright 2013, American 

Psychiatric Association. 

"Duration of illness" means the individual (i) is expected to 

require this program's services for an extended period of time; 

(ii) has undergone more than once in his lifetime psychiatric 

treatment more intensive than outpatient care such as crisis 

response services, alternative home care, partial 

hospitalization, or inpatient hospitalization; or (iii) has 

experienced an episode of continuous, supportive residential 

care, other than hospitalization, for a period long enough to 

have significantly disrupted his normal living situation.  

"Eight dimensions of wellness" means the same as found on 

the website for the Substance Abuse and Mental Health 

Services Administration at 

http://www.promoteacceptance.samhsa.gov/10by10/dimensio

ns.aspx. 

"Expedited appeal" means the process by which the 

department must respond to an individual's appeal of an 

adverse action regarding services if an eligibility or denial of 

care decision may jeopardize the individual's life; health; or 

ability to attain, maintain, or regain maximum function. 

"Final decision" means a written determination pertaining to 

client appeals by a department hearing officer that is binding 

on the department, unless modified during or after the judicial 

process, and that may be appealed to the local circuit court. 

"FPL" means the federal poverty level. 

"FQHC" means a federally qualified health center.  

"GAP" means Governor's Access Plan. 

"GAP case management" means services to assist 

individuals in solving problems, if any, in accessing needed 

medical, behavioral health, social, educational, vocational, 

and other supports essential to meeting basic needs, including 

(i) assessment and planning services, including developing an 

individual service plan (does not include performing medical 

and psychiatric assessment but does include referral for such 

assessment); (ii) linking the individual to services and 

supports specified in the individual service plan; (iii) assisting 

the individual for the purpose of locating, developing, or 

obtaining needed services and resources; (iv) coordinating 

services and service planning with other agencies and 

providers involved with the individual; (v) enhancing 

community integration by contacting other entities to arrange 

community access and involvement, including opportunities 

to learn community living skills, and use vocational, civic, 

and recreational services; (vi) making collateral contacts with 

the individuals' significant others to promote implementation 

of the service plan and community adjustment; (vii) follow-

up and monitoring to assess ongoing progress and to ensure 

services are delivered; and (viii) education and counseling 

that guides the client and develops a supportive relationship 

that promotes the service plan.  

"GAP screening entity" means the entity that conducts the 

SMI screening for the GAP SMI program; shall be a CSB or 

participating FQHC or an inpatient psychiatric hospital or 

general hospital with an inpatient psychiatric unit and shall be 

conducted by a qualified provider for the purpose of 

determining eligibility for participation in the GAP SMI 

program. 

"Good cause" means to provide sufficient cause or reason 

for failing to file a timely appeal or for missing a scheduled 

appeal hearing. The existence of good cause shall be 

determined by the department. 

"Grievance" means an expression of dissatisfaction about 

any matter other than an action. A grievance shall be filed and 

http://www.promoteacceptance.samhsa.gov/10by10/dimensions.aspx
http://www.promoteacceptance.samhsa.gov/10by10/dimensions.aspx
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resolved at Cover Virginia or the service authorization 

contractor. Possible subjects for grievances include, but shall 

not be limited to, the quality of care or services provided, 

aspects of interpersonal relationships such as rudeness of a 

provider or employee, or failure to respect the enrollee's 

rights. 

"Hearing" means an informal evidentiary proceeding 

conducted by a department hearing officer during which an 

individual has the opportunity to present his concerns with or 

objections to the action taken by Cover Virginia or the service 

authorization contractor. 

"Hearing officer" means an impartial decision maker who 

conducts evidentiary hearings on behalf of the department. 

"Individual" means the client, enrollee, or recipient of 

services described in this section.  

"Individual service plan" or "ISP" means a comprehensive 

and regularly updated treatment plan specific to the 

individual's unique treatment needs as identified in the 

clinical assessment.  

"Intensive outpatient services" means services for 

individuals who have substance use disorders that are 

provided in a nonresidential clinical setting scheduled a 

maximum of 19 hours of services per week. Intensive 

outpatient services are targeted to individuals who require 

more intensive services than outpatient counseling services. 

Intensive outpatient services are provided in a concentrated 

manner and generally involve multiple outpatient visits per 

week over a period of time for individuals requiring 

stabilization. Intensive outpatient services include monitoring 

and multiple group therapy sessions during the week and 

individual and family therapy focused on the Medicaid-

eligible individual. The maximum annual limit is 600 hours. 

"Licensed mental health professional" or "LMHP" means a 

licensed physician, licensed clinical psychologist, licensed 

professional counselor, licensed clinical social worker, 

licensed substance abuse treatment practitioner, licensed 

marriage and family therapist, or certified psychiatric clinical 

nurse specialist.  

"LMHP-resident" or "LMHP-R" means the same as 

"resident" as defined in (i) 18VAC115-20-10 for licensed 

professional counselors; (ii) 18VAC115-50-10 for licensed 

marriage and family therapists; or (iii) 18VAC115-60-10 for 

licensed substance abuse treatment practitioners. An LMHP-

resident shall be in continuous compliance with the regulatory 

requirements of the applicable counseling profession for 

supervised practice and shall not perform the functions of the 

LMHP-R or be considered a "resident" until the supervision 

for specific clinical duties at a specific site has been 

preapproved in writing by the Virginia Board of Counseling. 

For purposes of Medicaid reimbursement to their supervisors 

for services provided by such residents, they shall use the title 

"Resident" in connection with the applicable profession after 

their signatures to indicate such status. 

"LMHP-resident in psychology" or "LMHP-RP" means the 

same as an individual in a residency program as defined in 

18VAC125-20-10 for clinical psychologists. An LMHP-

resident in psychology shall be in continuous compliance 

with the regulatory requirements for supervised experience as 

found in 18VAC125-20-65 and shall not perform the 

functions of the LMHP-RP or be considered a "resident" until 

the supervision for specific clinical duties at a specific site 

has been preapproved in writing by the Virginia Board of 

Psychology. For purposes of Medicaid reimbursement by 

supervisors for services provided by such residents, they shall 

use the title "Resident in Psychology" after their signatures to 

indicate such status. 

"LMHP-supervisee in social work" or "LMHP-S" means the 

same as "supervisee" as defined in 18VAC140-20-10 for 

licensed clinical social workers. An LMHP-supervisee in 

social work shall be in continuous compliance with the 

regulatory requirements for supervised practice as found in 

18VAC140-20-50 and shall not perform the functions of the 

LMHP-S or be considered a "supervisee" until the 

supervision for specific clinical duties at a specific site is 

preapproved in writing by the Virginia Board of Social Work. 

For purposes of Medicaid reimbursement to their supervisors 

for services provided by supervisees, these persons shall use 

the title "Supervisee in Social Work" after their signatures to 

indicate such status. 

"MRI" means magnetic resonance imaging. 

"Peer support services" or "peer support" means supportive 

services provided by adults who self-disclose as living with 

or having lived with a behavioral health condition and 

includes (i) planning for engaging in natural community 

support resources as part of the recovery process, (ii) helping 

to initiate rapport with therapists, and (iii) increasing teaching 

and modeling of positive communication skills with 

individuals to help them self-advocate for individualized 

services to promote successful community integration 

strategies.  

"Progress notes" means individual-specific documentation 

that contains the unique differences particular to the 

individual's circumstances, treatment, and progress that is 

also signed and contemporaneously dated by the provider's 

professional staff who have prepared the notes.  

"PSN" means a peer support navigator who has self-declared 

that he is living with or has lived with a behavioral health 

condition. PSNs assist individuals to successfully remain in 

or transition back into their communities from inpatient 

hospital stays, help them avoid future inpatient stays, and 

increase community tenure by providing an array of linkages 

to peer run services, natural supports, and other recovery 

oriented resources. 

"Psychoeducational activities and services" means 

systematic interventions based on supportive and cognitive 

behavior therapy that emphasizes individuals' and families' 

needs and focuses on increasing individuals' and families' 
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knowledge about mental disorders, adjusting to mental 

illness, communicating and facilitating problem solving and 

increasing coping skills. 

"Qualified mental health professional-adult" or "QMHP-A" 

means the same as defined in 12VAC35-105-20. 

"Qualified mental health professional-eligible" or "QMHP-

E" means the same as defined in 12VAC35-105-20.  

"Qualified paraprofessional in mental health" or "QPPMH" 

means the same as defined in 12VAC35-105-20.  

"Qualified substance abuse professional" or "QSAP" means 

the same as defined in 12VAC35-105-20.  

"Register" or "registration" means notifying DMAS or its 

contractor that an individual will be receiving services that do 

not require service authorization.  

"Remand" means the return of a case by the hearing officer 

to Cover Virginia or the service authorization contractor for 

further review, evaluation, and action. 

"Representative" means an attorney or other individual who 

has been authorized to represent an applicant or enrollee 

pursuant to this part. 

"Reverse" means to overturn the action of Cover Virginia or 

the service authorization contractor and direct that eligibility 

or requested services be fully approved for the amount, 

duration, and scope of requested services.  

"Serious mental illness" or "SMI" means, for the purpose of 

this part, a diagnosis of (i) schizophrenia spectrum disorders 

and other psychotic disorders but not substance/medication 

induced psychotic disorder; (ii) major depressive disorder; 

(iii) bipolar and related disorders but not cyclothymic 

disorder; (iv) post-traumatic stress disorder; (v) other 

disorders including obsessive-compulsive disorder; (vi) 

agoraphobia; (vii) anorexia nervosa; or (viii) bulimia nervosa.  

"Service authorization" means the process to approve 

specific services for an enrolled GAP individual prior to 

service delivery and reimbursement in order to validate that 

the service requested is medically necessary and meets the 

DMAS and the DMAS contractor criteria for reimbursement. 

"Service-specific provider intake" means the face-to-face 

interaction in which the provider obtains information from the 

individual and his parent or other family member or 

members, as appropriate, about mental health status. It 

includes documented history of the severity, intensity, and 

duration of mental health care problems and issues and shall 

contain all of the following elements: (i) the presenting issue 

or reason for referral; (ii) mental health history and 

hospitalizations; (iii) previous interventions by providers and 

the timeframes and response to treatment; (iv) medical 

profile; (v) developmental history including history of abuse, 

if appropriate; (vi) educational/vocational status; (vii) current 

living situation and family history and relationships; (viii) 

legal status; (ix) drug and alcohol profile; (x) resources and 

strengths; (xi) mental status exam and profile; (xii) diagnosis; 

(xiii) professional summary and clinical formulation; (xiv) 

recommended care and treatment goals; and (xv) the dated 

signature of the LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, 

or LMHP-RP.  

"State fair hearing" means the DMAS evidentiary hearing 

process as administered by the division. 

"State Plan" or "the Plan" means the document required by 

§ 1902(a) of the Act. 

"Sustain" means to uphold the action of Cover Virginia or 

the service authorization contractor. 

"Title XIX of the Social Security Act" or "the Act" means 

the United States Code beginning at 42 USC § 1396. 

"Virtual engagement" means telephonic communications 

between a peer specialist and GAP enrolled individual to 

discuss and promote engagement with resources that may be 

available to the individual to promote his recovery.  

"Warm line" means a peer-support telephone line that 

provides peer support for adult individuals who are living 

with or have lived with behavioral health conditions. The 

peers shall have specific training to provide telephonic 

support, and such systems may operate regionally or 

statewide and beyond traditional business hours. 

"Withdrawal" means a written request from the applicant or 

enrollee or his representative for the department to terminate 

the appeal process without a final decision on the merits. 

12VAC30-135-420. Administration; authority; waived 

provisions. 

A. DMAS shall cover a targeted set of services as set forth 

in 12VAC30-135-450 for currently uninsured individuals 

who have diagnoses of serious mental illnesses with incomes 

below 100% 60% of the federal poverty line (FPL) (below 

95% of the FPL plus a 5.0% household income disregard). 

All individuals enrolled in this Medicaid demonstration 

project with incomes between 61% and 100% of the FPL as 

of May 15, 2015, who continue to meet other program 

eligibility rules shall maintain enrollment in the 

demonstration until their next eligibility renewal period or 

July 1, 2016, whichever comes first. 

B. Consistent with § 1115 of the Social Security Act 

(42 USC § 1315), the department covers certain limited 

services specified in 12VAC30-135-450 for certain targeted 

individuals specified in 12VAC30-135-430. 

C. The Secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Resources has waived compliance for the department 

with the following for the purpose of this demonstration 

waiver program: 

1. Consistent with § 1902(a)(10)(B) of the Act, the amount, 

duration, and scope of services covered in the State Plan 

for Medical Assistance shall be waived. The department 

shall cover a specified set of benefits for the individuals 

who are determined to be eligible for this program. 

2. Consistent with § 1902(a)(23)(A) of the Act, the 

participating individuals' freedom of choice of providers of 
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services shall be waived for peer supports and GAP case 

management.  

3. Consistent with § 1902(a)(23) of the Act, the services 

shall be provided by a different delivery system than 

otherwise used for full State Plan services for peer supports 

and GAP case management. 

4. Consistent with § 1902(a)(4) of the Act, insofar as it 

incorporates 42 CFR 431.53 permitting the 

Commonwealth to waive providing nonemergency 

transportation to and from participating providers for 

eligible, participating individuals. 

5. Consistent with § 1902(a)(35) of the Act, permitting the 

Commonwealth to waiver offering eligible, participating 

individuals retroactive eligibility for this demonstration 

program. 

D. This demonstration program shall operate statewide. 

E. This demonstration program shall operate for at least two 

years beginning January 2015 through January 2017 or until 

the Commonwealth implements an alternative plan to provide 

health care coverage to all individuals having incomes up to 

100% 60% of the FPL. 

F. This demonstration program shall not affect or modify, or 

both, components of the Commonwealth's existing medical 

assistance or children's health insurance programs.  

12VAC30-135-430. Individual eligibility; limitations; 

referrals; eligibility determination process. 

A. The GAP eligibility determination process shall have two 

parts: (i) a determination of whether or not the individual 

meets the GAP SMI criteria and (ii) a determination of 

whether or not the individual meets the GAP financial and 

nonfinancial eligibility criteria. 

1. A person may apply through Cover Virginia for GAP by 

phone or through a provider-assisted web portal. 

2. If an individual is found not to meet GAP eligibility 

rules, either the GAP financial/nonfinancial criteria or the 

GAP SMI criteria, then the individual shall be sent an 

adverse determination letter with appeal rights. Such 

individuals shall be assessed and referred for eligibility 

through Medicaid, FAMIS MOMS, and the federal 

marketplace for private health insurance.  

B. Individuals shall have a screening conducted by a 

DMAS-approved GAP screening entity for the determination 

of eligibility for GAP SMI services.  

C. In order to be eligible for this program, individuals shall 

be assessed to determine whether their diagnosed condition is 

a serious mental illness. The serious mental illness shall be 

diagnosed according to criteria defined in the DSM-IV-TR or 

DSM-5. LMHPs, including LMHP-supervisees, LMHP-

residents, and LMHP-residents in psychology, shall conduct 

the clinical screening required to determine the individual's 

diagnosis if one has not already been made. At least one of 

the following diagnoses shall be documented for the 

individual to be approved for GAP SMI services:  

1. Schizophrenia spectrum disorders and other psychotic 

disorders with the exception of substance/medication 

induced psychotic disorders; 

2. Major depressive disorder; 

3. Bipolar and related disorders with the exception of 

cyclothymic disorder; 

4. Post-traumatic stress disorder; or 

5. Obsessive compulsive disorder, panic disorder, 

agoraphobia, anorexia nervosa, or bulimia nervosa.  

D. In order to be eligible for this program, individuals shall 

meet at least one of the following criteria to reflect the 

duration of illness: 

1. The individual is expected to require treatment and 

supportive services for the next 12 months; 

2. The individual has undergone psychiatric treatment 

more intensive than outpatient care, such as crisis response 

services, alternative home care, partial hospitalization, or 

inpatient hospitalization for a psychiatric condition, more 

than once in his lifetime; or  

3. The individual has experienced an episode of 

continuous, supportive residential care, other than 

hospitalization, for a period long enough to have 

significantly disrupted the normal living situation. A 

significant disruption of a normal living situation means 

the individual has been unable to maintain his housing or 

had difficulty maintaining his housing due to being in a 

supportive residential facility or program that was not a 

hospital. This includes group home placement as an 

adolescent and assisted living facilities but does not 

include living situations through the Department of Social 

Services.  

E. In order to be eligible for this program, individuals shall 

demonstrate a significant level of impairment on a continuing 

or intermittent basis. There shall be evidence of severe and 

recurrent impairment resulting from mental illness. The 

impairment shall result in functional limitation in major life 

activities. Due to the mental illness, the person shall meet at 

least two of the following:  

1. The person is either unemployed or employed in a 

sheltered setting or a supportive work situation, has 

markedly limited or reduced employment skills, or has a 

poor employment history; 

2. The person requires public and family financial 

assistance to remain in his community; 

3. The person has difficulty establishing or maintaining a 

personal social support system;  

4. The person requires assistance in basic living skills such 

as personal hygiene, food preparation, or money 

management; or  
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5. The person exhibits inappropriate behavior that often 

results in intervention by the mental health or judicial 

system. 

F. The individual shall require assistance to consistently 

access and to utilize needed medical or behavioral, or both, 

health services and supports due to the mental illness.  

G. In addition, the individuals shall:  

1. Be adults ages 21 through 64 years of age; 

2. Be United States citizens or lawfully residing 

immigrants; 

3. Be residents of the Commonwealth;  

4. Be uninsured;  

5. Be ineligible for any state or federal full benefits health 

insurance program including, but not necessarily limited to 

Medicaid, Children's Health Insurance Program 

(CHIP/FAMIS), Medicare, or TriCare Federal Military 

benefits; 

6. Have household incomes below 95% 60% of the federal 

poverty level (FPL) plus a 5.0% household income 

disregard, which shall be verified via pay stubs or other 

readily available and reliable electronic sources. All 

individuals enrolled in this Medicaid demonstration project 

with incomes between 61% and 100% of the FPL (plus a 

5.0% household income disregard) as of May 15, 2015, 

who continue to meet other program eligibility rules shall 

maintain enrollment in the demonstration until their next 

eligibility renewal period or July 1, 2016, whichever comes 

first.  Pursuant to DMAS federal authority under the 

§ 1115 waiver, should expenditures for the GAP 

demonstration waiver compromise the program's budget 

neutrality, DMAS may amend the waiver to maintain 

budget neutrality by reducing income eligibility levels to 

below 95% 60% of the FPL; and 

7. Not be current residents of a long-term care facility, 

mental health facility, or penal institution. 

H. Individuals who are enrolled in this GAP demonstration 

waiver program who require hospitalization shall not be 

disenrolled from the GAP demonstration waiver program 

during their hospitalization. 

I. If a GAP-eligible individual secures Medicare or 

Medicaid/FAMIS MOMS coverage, his GAP program 

eligibility shall be terminated consistent with the effective 

date of the Medicare or Medicaid coverage. Individuals who 

gain other sources of health insurance shall not be disenrolled 

from the GAP demonstration waiver program during their 12 

months of eligibility; however, in such instances, the GAP 

program shall be the payer of last resort.  

J. DMAS or its contractor shall verify income data via 

existing electronic data sources, such as Virginia 

Employment Commission and TALX. Citizenship and 

identity shall be verified through the monthly file exchange 

between DMAS and the Social Security Administration. The 

individual's age, residency, and insurance status shall be 

verified through self-attestation. Applicants shall be permitted 

90 days to resolve any citizenship discrepancies resulting 

from Social Security Administration matching process, in any 

of the information provided, and in the DMAS or the 

contractor verification process findings. 

12VAC30-135-450. Covered services; limitations; 

restrictions. 

A. GAP coverage shall be limited to outpatient medical, 

behavioral health, pharmacy, GAP case management, and 

care coordination services for individuals determined to meet 

the GAP SMI eligibility criteria. This program intends that 

such services will significantly decrease the severity of 

individuals' serious mental illnesses so that they can recover, 

work, parent, learn, and participate more fully in their 

communities.  

B. These services are intended to be delivered in a person-

centered manner. The individuals who are receiving these 

services shall be included in all service planning activities.  

C. Medical services including outpatient physician and 

clinic services, telemedicine, specialists, diagnostic 

procedures, laboratory procedures, and pharmacy services 

shall be covered as follows:  

1. Outpatient physician services and medical office visits 

includes evaluation and management, diagnostic and 

treatment procedures performed in the physician's office, 

and therapeutic or diagnostic injections. The requirements 

of 12VAC30-50-140 D 2, 3, and 4 shall be met in order for 

these services to be reimbursed by DMAS. 

2. Outpatient clinic services include evaluation and 

management, treatment, and procedures performed in the 

clinic's office, and medically necessary therapeutic and 

diagnostic injections. The requirements of 12VAC30-50-

180 B, C, and D shall be met in order for this service to be 

reimbursed by DMAS as it pertains to GAP covered 

services. 

3. Outpatient specialty care, consultation, management, 

and treatment includes evaluation and treatment, and 

procedures performed in the physician's office, and 

medically necessary therapeutic or diagnostic injections 

consistent with 12VAC30-50-140 D 2, 3, and 4 as it 

pertains to GAP covered services. 

4. Outpatient diagnostic services includes ultrasounds, 

electrocardiogram, service-authorized CAT and MRI 

scans, and diagnostic services that can be performed in a 

physician's office with the exception of colonoscopy 

procedures and other services listed as noncovered in 

12VAC30-135-469. The requirements of 12VAC30-50-

140 O shall be met as it pertains to GAP SMI services in 

order for these services to be reimbursed by DMAS. CAT 

and MRI scans shall be covered if the service is authorized 

by either DMAS or the service authorization contractor. 



Regulations 

Volume 31, Issue 23 Virginia Register of Regulations July 13, 2015 

2134 

5. Outpatient laboratory consistent with 12VAC30-50-120 

as it pertains to GAP SMI covered services.  

6. Outpatient pharmacy services consistent with 

12VAC30-50-210 as it pertains to GAP SMI covered 

services.  

7. Outpatient family planning consistent with 12VAC30-

50-130 D as it pertains to GAP SMI covered services; 

sterilization procedures and abortions shall not be covered. 

8. Outpatient telemedicine, which is covered the same as 

Medicaid for services that are not otherwise excluded from 

GAP coverage. 

9. Outpatient durable medical equipment and supplies 

coverage shall be limited to diabetic equipment and 

supplies consistent with 12VAC30-50-165 as it pertains to 

GAP SMI covered services. 

10. Outpatient hospital procedures shall be limited to (i) 

diagnostic ultrasound procedures; (ii) EKG/ECG including 

stress tests; and (iii) radiology procedures except for PET 

scans, colonoscopy, and radiation treatment procedures.  

11. GAP case management services pursuant to 12VAC30-

50-420 as it pertains to seriously mentally ill adults. 

a. Reimbursement shall be provided only for active case 

management individuals. An active individual for GAP 

case management purposes means an individual for 

whom there is a current ISP, as defined in 12VAC30-50-

226, that requires regular direct or client-related contacts 

or activity or communication with the individuals or 

families, significant others, service providers, or others. 

Billing can be submitted only for months in which direct 

or individual-related contacts, activity, or 

communications occur. Regular case management is 

reimbursed for months in which the minimum 

requirements are met for case management. High 

intensity case management is reimbursed for months in 

which a face-to-face contact with the individual takes 

place in a community setting outside of the case 

management office.  

b. The case management entity shall collaborate with the 

BHSA monthly with care coordination efforts. 

c. Case management shall not be billed for persons while 

they are in institutions for mental disease.  

d. The provider of case management services shall be 

licensed by DBHDS as a provider of case management 

services.  

D. Care coordination, crisis phone line, and peer supports 

shall be covered through the BHSA as follows: 

1. Care coordination shall be provided as defined in 

12VAC30-135-410. BHSA LMHP care managers shall 

work closely with behavioral health providers including 

local CSB staff to provide information to the individual in 

accessing covered benefits, provider selection, and how to 

access all services including behavioral health.  

2. The BHSA shall provide crisis phone lines 24 hours per 

day and seven days per week including access to a licensed 

care manager during a crisis. 

3. The BHSA or its designee shall provide peer support 

services seven days per week. A telephonic support shall 

be covered staffed by PSNs who have been trained 

specifically in line telephonic support operations and 

resources. The telephonic support associated with the PSN 

GAP program shall offer extended hours, toll-free access, 

and dedicated data collection capabilities. The BHSA shall 

provide trained peer navigators as members of its care 

coordination team or may contract with other entities to do 

so. The BHSA shall employ community-based peer 

navigators to work in provider settings, community 

settings, and peer-run organizations. The scope of peer 

support services shall include, but not be limited to: 

a. Visiting members in inpatient settings to develop the 

peer relationship.  

b. Describing and developing a plan for engaging in peer 

and natural community support resources as part of the 

recovery process.  

c. Initiating rapport, teaching, and modeling positive 

communication skills with members to help them self-

advocate for an individualized services plan and assisting 

the individual with the coordination of services to 

promote successful community integration strategies.  

d. Assisting in developing strategies to decrease or avoid 

the need for future hospitalizations by offering social and 

emotional support and an array of individualized 

services.  

e. Providing social, emotional, and other supports framed 

around the eight dimensions of wellness as defined in 

12VAC30-135-410.  

E. Community mental health (behavioral health) services 

shall be covered as follows: 

1. All community mental/behavioral health services shall 

be subject to service authorization or registration as 

specified.  

2. GAP case management as defined in 12VAC30-135-410 

shall be provided by CSB case managers with consultation 

and support from BHSA care managers. This service shall 

be targeted to individuals who are expected to benefit from 

assistance with medication management and appropriate 

use of community resources. The CSB GAP case managers 

shall have the same knowledge, skills, and abilities as set 

out in 12VAC30-50-420 E 2 e and the case management 

entity shall maintain all licenses required by DBHDS in 

12VAC35-105. GAP case management shall not include 

the provision of direct treatment services and shall have 

two levels of service intensity: regular and high intensity, 

and shall be focused on assisting individuals to access 

needed medical, behavioral health (psychiatric and 
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substance abuse treatment), social, education, vocational, 

and other support services.  

3. Crisis intervention shall be covered consistent with the 

limits and requirements set out in 12VAC30-50-226 B 5 

and 12VAC30-60-143. This service shall only be rendered 

by an LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-

RP, or a certified prescreener. Crisis intervention services 

shall be indicated following a marked reduction in the 

individual's psychiatric, adaptive, or behavioral functioning 

or an extreme increase in personal distress.  

a. The crisis intervention services provider shall be 

licensed as a provider of emergency services by DBHDS 

pursuant to 12VAC35-105-30.  

b. An individual service plan shall not be required for 

individuals newly enrolled in GAP services to receive 

this service. Inclusion of crisis intervention as a service 

on the ISP shall not be required for the service to be 

provided on an emergency basis.  

c. For individuals receiving scheduled, short-term 

counseling as part of the crisis intervention service, an 

ISP shall be developed or revised by the fourth face-to-

face contact to document the short-term counseling goals.  

d. Telephonic supports and collateral contacts related to 

needs are identified during face-to-face contact. 

e. Reimbursement shall be provided for short-term crisis 

counseling contacts occurring within a 30-day period 

from the time of the first face-to-face crisis contact. 

Other than the annual service limits, there are no 

restrictions (regarding number of contacts or a given time 

period to be covered) for reimbursement for unscheduled 

crisis contacts. 

f. Crisis intervention services provided to eligible 

individuals outside of the clinic may be reimbursable, 

provided the provision of out-of-clinic services is 

clinically/programmatically appropriate. Travel-related 

costs (gas and mileage, travel time) by staff to provide 

out-of-clinic services shall not be reimbursable. Crisis 

intervention may involve contacts with the family or 

significant others. If other clinic services are billed at the 

same time as crisis intervention, documentation must 

clearly support the separation of the services with distinct 

treatment goals.  

g. An LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, 

LMHP-RP, or a certified prescreener shall conduct a 

face-to-face service-specific provider intake.  

h. Crisis intervention shall be provided by either an 

LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, 

or a certified prescreener. 

i. Services shall be documented through daily notes and a 

daily log of time spent in the delivery of services.  

4. Crisis stabilization shall be covered consistent with the 

limits and requirements set out in 12VAC30-50-226 B and 

12VAC30-60-143 except that service authorization shall be 

required in place of registration. This service shall only be 

rendered by an LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, 

LMHP-RP, QMHP-A, QMHP-E, or a certified prescreener.  

a. In order to qualify for crisis stabilization services, 

individuals shall demonstrate a clinical necessity for the 

service arising from a condition due to an acute crisis of 

a psychiatric nature, which puts the individual at risk of 

psychiatric hospitalization. 

b. This service shall be authorized following a face-to-

face service-specific provider intake by an LMHP, 

LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, or a 

certified prescreener.  

c. The service-specific provider intake must document 

the need for crisis stabilization services.  

d. Room and board, custodial care, and general 

supervision are not components of this service and shall 

not be reimbursed.  

e. Clinic option services are not billable at the same time 

crisis stabilization services are provided with the 

exception of clinic visits for medication management. 

Medication management visits may be billed at the same 

time that crisis stabilization services are provided but 

documentation must clearly support the separation of the 

services with distinct treatment goals.  

f. Providers of residential crisis stabilization shall be 

licensed by DBHDS as providers of mental health 

residential crisis stabilization. Providers of community-

based crisis stabilization shall be licensed by DBHDS as 

providers of mental health nonresidential crisis 

stabilization. 

5. Psychosocial rehabilitation service-specific provider 

intake and services shall be covered consistent with the 

limits and requirements set out in 12VAC30-50-226 B 4. 

This service shall only be rendered by an LMHP, LMHP-

supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, QMHP-A, 

QMHP-E, or a QPPMH. Psychosocial rehabilitation 

services shall be provided to individuals who have 

experienced long-term or repeated psychiatric 

hospitalization, who experience difficulty in activities of 

daily living and interpersonal skills, whose support system 

is limited or nonexistent, or who are unable to function in 

the community without intensive intervention or when 

long-term services are needed to maintain the individual in 

the community.  

a. Psychosocial rehabilitation services shall be provided 

following a service-specific provider intake that clearly 

documents the need for services. This intake shall be 

completed by an LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-

resident, or LMHP-RP. An ISP shall be completed by the 

LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, 

QMHP-A, or QMHP-E and be reviewed/approved by an 

LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, or LMHP-

RP within 30 calendar days of service initiation. At least 
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every three months, the LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, 

LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, QMHP-A, or QMHP-E 

shall review, modify as appropriate, and update the ISP.  

b. The continued need for psychosocial rehabilitation 

services that continue more than six months shall be 

reviewed by an LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-

resident, or LMHP-RP who shall document the continued 

need for the service.  

c. The enrolled provider of psychosocial rehabilitation 

services shall be licensed by DBHDS as a provider of 

psychosocial rehabilitation.  

d. Psychosocial rehabilitation services may be provided 

by an LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, 

LMHP-RP, QMHP-A, QMHP-E, or a qualified 

paraprofessional under the supervision of a QMHP-A, 

QMHP-E, LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, or 

LMHP-RP.  

e. The psychosocial rehabilitation program shall operate 

a minimum of two continuous hours in a 24-hour period.  

f. Time allocated for field trips may be used to calculate 

time and units when the goal of the field trip is to provide 

training in an integrated setting and to increase the 

individual's understanding or ability to access community 

resources.  

F. Outpatient psychotherapy services shall be covered, 

consistent with 12VAC30-50-140 D 2 through D 5, as 

follows: 

1. Psychiatric evaluation and outpatient individual, family, 

and group therapies (mental health and substance abuse 

treatment) shall be covered.  

2. The first 26 visits shall be covered without prior 

authorization, and additional visits beyond the first 26 shall 

be covered if they have been prior authorized when 

medically necessity is demonstrated. 

3. Reimbursement shall be provided, consistent with 

12VAC30-80-30 A 3, in a tiered manner.  

G. Community substance abuse treatment services shall be 

covered as follows:  

1. Services shall include intensive outpatient services and 

opioid treatment services. These services shall be rendered 

to individuals consistent with the criteria for these two 

services specified in 12VAC30-50-228 A 2. 

a. Intensive outpatient services for individuals shall be 

provided in a nonresidential setting and may be 

scheduled multiple times per week, with a maximum of 

19 hours of service per week. This service should be 

provided to individuals who do not require the intensive 

level of care of inpatient or residential services, but 

require more intensive services than outpatient services. 

Intensive outpatient services shall be provided in a 

concentrated manner and generally involve multiple 

outpatient visits per week over a period of time for 

individuals requiring stabilization. These services include 

monitoring, multiple group therapy sessions during the 

week, and individual and family therapy focused on the 

enrolled individual. The maximum annual limit is 600 

hours. Intensive outpatient services shall not be provided 

concurrently with day treatment services or opioid 

treatment services. Even though day treatment services 

are not covered in the GAP demonstration SMI program, 

intensive outpatient services shall not be provided 

concurrently with it. 

b. Pursuant to 12VAC30-50-140 (with the exception of 

§ 6403 of the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 

1989, which is excluded), methadone/opioid treatment 

means an intervention strategy that combines 

psychological and psychoeducational services with the 

administering or dispensing of opioid agonist treatment 

medication. An individual specific, physician-ordered 

dose of medication is administered or dispensed either 

for detoxification or maintenance treatment. 

Methadone/opioid treatment shall be provided in daily 

sessions with a maximum of 600 hours per year. 

Intensive outpatient services shall not be provided 

concurrently with methadone/opioid treatment. 

Methadone/opioid treatment service covers psychological 

and psychoeducational services. Medication costs for 

methadone/opioid agonists shall be billed separately from 

psychological and psychoeducational services. 

c. Staff qualifications for intensive outpatient and opioid 

treatment services shall be as follows: 

(1) The minimum qualification for providing individual 

and group counseling, family therapy, and occupational 

and recreational therapy shall be a QSAP. 

(2) A QSAP or a paraprofessional under the supervision 

of a QSAP may provide education about the effects of 

alcohol and other drugs on the physical, emotional, and 

social functioning of the individual; information about 

relapse prevention; and information about occupational 

and recreational activities. A QSAP shall be on site when 

a paraprofessional is providing services. 

(3) Paraprofessionals shall participate in supervision as 

described in 12VAC30-50-228 A 2 d. 

2. Evaluations required. Prior to initiation of intensive 

outpatient or opioid treatment services, an evaluation shall 

be conducted consistent with 12VAC30-50-228 B by at 

least a QSAP. The minimum intake will consist of a 

structured objective assessment of the impact of substance 

use or dependence on the individual's functioning in the 

following areas: legal system involvement; employment or 

school performance, or both; and medical, family-social, 

and psychiatric issues. A psychological and psychiatric 

examination shall be included as part of this evaluation, if 

indicated by history or structured assessment.  
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DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(12VAC30-135) 

Child Adolescent Functional Assessment Scale (Uniform 

Assessment Instrument), Functional Assessment Systems, 

2000. 

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders 

(DSM-IV-TR), Fourth Edition, Text Revision, copyright 

2000, American Psychiatric Association, 1000 Wilson 

Boulevard, Suite 1825, Arlington, Virginia 22209, 

http://www.psychiatry.org  

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders 

(DSM-5®), Fifth Edition, copyright 2013, American 

Psychiatric Association, 1000 Wilson Boulevard, Suite 1825, 

Arlington, Virginia 22209, http://www.psychiatry.org/dsm5 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4171; Filed June 25, 2015, 11:16 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF AUDIOLOGY AND SPEECH-LANGUAGE 
PATHOLOGY 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Audiology and 

Speech-Language Pathology is claiming an exemption from 

Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in accordance 

with § 2.2-4006 A 6 of the Code of Virginia, which excludes 

regulations of the regulatory boards served by the Department 

of Health Professions pursuant to Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia that are limited to reducing fees charged to regulants 

and applicants. The Board of Audiology and Speech-

Language Pathology will receive, consider, and respond to 

petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC30-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Audiology and Speech-Language 

Pathology (amending 18VAC30-20-80).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 12, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 

Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, 

telephone (804) 367-4630, FAX (804) 527-4413, or email 

leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments reduce renewal fees for the renewal year 

of 2015 for licenses issued by the Board of Audiology and 

Speech-Language Pathology. 

18VAC30-20-80. Fees.  

A. The following fees shall be paid as applicable for 

licensure: 

1. Application for audiology or speech-

language pathology license 

$135 

2. Application for school speech-language 

pathology license 

$70 

3. Verification of licensure requests from other 

states 

$20 

4. Annual renewal of audiology or speech-

language pathology license 

$75 

5. Late renewal of audiology or speech-

language pathology license 

$25 

6. Annual renewal of school speech-language 

pathology license 

$40 

7. Late renewal of school speech-language 

pathology license 

$15 

8. Reinstatement of audiology or speech-

language pathology license 

$135 

9. Reinstatement of school speech-language 

pathology license 

$70 

10. Duplicate wall certificates $25 

11. Duplicate license $5 

12. Returned check $35 

13. Inactive license renewal for audiology or 

speech-language pathology 

$40 

14. Inactive license renewal for school speech-

language pathology 

$20 

15. Approval of a continuing education 

sponsor 

$200 

16. Application for provisional license  $50 

17. Renewal of provisional license  $25 

B. Fees shall be made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia 

and shall not be refunded once submitted. 

C. For renewal of licenses in 2015, the following fees shall 

apply: 

1. Annual renewal of audiology or speech-

language pathology license 

$55 

2. Annual renewal of school speech-language 

pathology license 

$30 

3. Inactive license renewal for audiology or 

speech-language pathology 

$30 

4. Inactive license renewal for school speech-

language pathology 

$15 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4422; Filed June 24, 2015, 9:42 a.m.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bb758004171~4&typ=40&actno=004171&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bb758004171~4&typ=40&actno=004171&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bb758004171~4&typ=40&actno=004171&mime=application/pdf
http://www.psychiatry.org/
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=10b58004171~2&typ=40&actno=004171&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=10b58004171~2&typ=40&actno=004171&mime=application/pdf
http://www.psychiatry.org/dsm5
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BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Pharmacy is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 13 of the Code 

of Virginia, which exempts amendments to regulations of the 

board to schedule a substance in Schedule I or II pursuant to 

subsection D of § 54.1-3443. The board will receive, 

consider, and respond to petitions by any interested person at 

any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 18VAC110-20-322).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3443 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 12, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4416, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments place four cannabimimetic agents and 

two substituted cathinones into Schedule I of the Drug 

Control Act. The added compounds will remain in effect 

for 18 months or until the compounds are placed in 

Schedule I by the Drug Control Act. 

18VAC110-20-322. Placement of chemicals in Schedule I. 

A. Pursuant to § 54.1-3443 D of the Code of Virginia, the 

Board of Pharmacy places the following substances in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. N-(1-amino-3-methyl-1-oxobutan-2-yl)-1-

(cyclohexylmethyl)indazole-3-carboxamide (other name: 

AB-CHMINACA);  

2. N-(1-amino-3-methyl-1-oxobutan-2-yl)-1-(5-

fluoropentyl)indazole-3-carboxamide (other name: 5-

fluoro-AMB); and 

3. 3,4-methylenedioxy-N,N-dimethylcathinone (other 

names: Dimethylone, bk-MDDMA). 

1. Cannabimimetic agents: 

a. N-(1-amino-3,3-dimethyl-1-oxobutan-2-yl)-1-

(cyclohexylmethyl)indazole-3-

carboxamide (other names: ADB-CHMINACA, MAB-

CHMINACA); 

b. Methyl 2-(1-(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-indazole-3-

carboxamido)-3-methylbutanoate (other name: 5-fluoro-

AMB); 

c. 1-naphthalenyl 1-(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-indole-3-

carboxylate (other name: NM-2201); and 

d. 1-(4-fluorobenzyl)-3-(2,2,3,3-

tetramethylcyclopropylmethanone)indole (other name: 

FUB-144). 

2. Substituted cathinones: 

a. 4-bromomethcathinone (other name: 4-BMC); and 

b. 4-chloromethcathinone (other name: 4-CMC). 

B. The placement shall remain in effect until July 28, 2016 

February 11, 2017, unless enacted into law in the Drug 

Control Act.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4434; Filed June 19, 2015, 2:21 p.m.  
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GOVERNOR 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 44 (2015) 

Establishing the Commission on Parole Review 

Importance of the Commission 

Twenty years ago, the Commonwealth passed legislation 

eliminating discretionary parole for persons convicted of 

felonies. Supporters argued that abolishing parole and 

requiring felony offenders to serve at least 85 percent of their 

sentences would reduce re-offenses and recidivism while 

strengthening public safety. 

It is time to revisit this policy. Virginia has two decades of 

evidence by which to assess progress and public safety 

outcomes and determine whether abolishing parole has 

achieved its intended goals. Virginia must evaluate past and 

present crime rates, prison populations, number of facilities, 

costs of incarceration and recidivism rates. Virginia must 

carefully examine how resources are being allocated and 

ensure that public dollars are spent efficiently and effectively. 

Virginia should also consider modifications using evidence-

based and data-driven approaches that reduce costs while 

improving outcomes for offenders, their families and the 

Commonwealth. This analysis should study whether Virginia 

is properly rehabilitating offenders and preparing them to re-

enter communities as productive citizens. Virginia must also 

look at sentence lengths and determine whether long 

sentences are appropriate for nonviolent offenders. 

Establishment of the Parole Review and Update Commission 

Accordingly, by virtue of the authority vested in me as 

Governor under Article V of the Constitution of Virginia and 

under the laws of the Commonwealth, including but not 

limited to §§ 2.2-134 and 2.2-135 of the Code of Virginia, 

and subject to my continuing and ultimate authority and 

responsibility to act in such matters, I hereby establish the 

Commission on Parole Review. 

Composition of the Commission 

The Commission will include representatives of the Virginia 

General Assembly, the Office of the Attorney General, 

relevant state agencies, advocates, community members and 

other organizations or individuals as assigned by the 

Governor. The Governor will designate the chair or co-chairs 

of the Commission. 

Commission Priorities 

The Commission will address five significant priorities 

related to Parole Reform: 

1. Conduct a Review of Previous Goals and Subsequent 

Outcomes. The Commission shall review whether 

abolishing parole achieved the intended goals of preventing 

new felony offenses, reducing crime, and reducing 

recidivism. The Commission's analysis shall include, at a 

minimum, a quantitative analysis of pre and post-1995 

trends in crime rates, incarceration rates, sentence lengths, 

and recidivism rates. 

2. Examine the Cost of Parole Reform/Abolition. The 

Commission shall conduct an analysis of the fiscal impact 

abolishing parole has had on the Commonwealth, as well as 

an analysis of the societal costs on communities and 

families from longer incarceration. 

3. Evaluate the Best Practices of Other States. The 

Commission shall research and evaluate what policies and 

practices have proven successful or unsuccessful in other 

states, and explore the application of the most successful 

approaches in the Commonwealth. 

4. Recommend Other Mediation Strategies. The 

Commission shall examine what other approaches could be 

used to achieve similar results in terms of preventing new 

felony offenses, reducing crime, and reducing recidivism? 

Virginia must pursue cost-saving, evidence-based, and 

multi-faceted approaches to reducing crime while also 

improving outcomes for offenders, families and 

communities. 

5. Provide Recommendations to Address Public Safety 

Challenges. The Commission shall provide its 

recommendations on how Virginia may best position itself 

to address the public safety challenges resulting from 

changes to parole. These final recommendations shall 

include any proposed legislative or executive branch 

actions necessary, as well as any potential private sector 

engagement. 

Staffing 

Staff support for the Commission will be provided by the 

Office of the Governor, Office of the Secretary of Public 

Safety and Homeland Security, the various secretariats and 

their agencies represented on the Commission and other 

agencies as may be designated by the Governor. It is 

estimated that the staff time required to complete the 

Commission's work will be 500 hours. All executive branch 

agencies will cooperate fully with the Commission and will 

render such assistance as may be requested by the chair or co-

chairs. Direct costs for the Commission are estimated to be 

$3000. Commission members shall serve without 

compensation and shall receive reimbursement for expenses 

incurred in the discharge of their official duties. 

The Commission will provide an interim report to the 

Governor no later than November 2, 2015, with a final report 

due by December 4, 2015. 

Effective Date of the Executive Order 

This Executive Order shall be effective upon its signing and 

shall remain in full force and effect until June 24, 2016, 
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unless otherwise amended or rescinded by further executive 

order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia this 24 day of June 2015. 

/s/ Terence R. McAuliffe 

Governor 
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION AND 
RECREATION 

Proposed Virginia Land Conservation Foundation 
Guidance Document on Conservation Easement 

Dispute Resolution 

Request for Public Comments: Notice is hereby given that the 

Virginia Land Conservation Board of Trustees (board) is 

considering adopting "Virginia Land Conservation 

Foundation Guidance Document on Conservation Easement 

Dispute Resolution" as presented to the Board on June 16, 

2015. The board has requested a 30-day public comment 

period to begin on July 13, 2015, and running through August 

12, 2015. The following document is available in draft format 

for review and public comment: 

"Virginia Land Conservation Foundation Guidance 

Document on Conservation Easement Dispute Resolution." 

The document contains the proposed Conservation Easement 

Dispute Resolution Guidance. 

Public Comment Period: The public comment period will 

close August 12, 2015. The board will accept written 

comments by email at landcon@dcr.virginia.gov and postal 

mail at Office of Land Conservation, Department of 

Conservation and Recreation, 600 East Main Street, 24th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219. Additionally, the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall website has added a new feature that 

allows agencies to open a public comment forum in 

connection with any general notice. Public comment can now 

also be submitted through 

http://townhall.virginia.gov/l/generalnotice.cfm. In order to 

be considered, comments must include the full name, address, 

and telephone number of the person commenting and be 

received by August 12, 2015. 

Statutory Authority and Mandated Solicitation of Public 

Comments: Section 10.1-1021.2 of the Code of Virginia 

directs the board of the Virginia Land Conservation 

Foundation to adopt guidelines by which specified parties 

may request the foundation resolve a dispute related to the 

interpretation or administration of a conservation easement. 

This guidance serves to set out such procedures. 

Purpose and Intent of the Proposed Guidance Document: In 

accordance with § 10.1-1021.2 of the Code of Virginia, this 

document serves to provide guidance to any private owner of 

a fee interest in land that is subject to a perpetual conservation 

easement pursuant to Chapter 10.1 (§ 10.1-1009 et seq.) of 

Title 10.1 of the Code of Virginia, any holder of such an 

easement, or any holder of a third-party right of enforcement 

of such an easement, regarding procedures for submitting a 

request to the Virginia Land Conservation Foundation to 

resolve a dispute that arises out of or relates to the 

interpretation or administration of a conservation easement. 

Such request shall not be part of a dispute already in 

litigation. The Virginia Land Conservation Foundation shall 

utilize the process set forth in the Administrative Dispute 

Resolution Act, Chapter 41.1 (§ 2.2-4115 et seq.) of Title 2.2 

of the Code of Virginia and the procedures outlined in this 

guidance to respond to requests. 

Copies of the Proposed Guidance Document on Conservation 

Easement Dispute Resolution: An electronic copy of this draft 

guidance in PDF format is available on the Regulatory Town 

Hall under the Department of Conservation and Recreation at 

http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GDocs.cfm. The draft guidance 

can also be obtained from the Department of Conservation 

and Recreation's website 

at http://www.dcr.virginia.gov/virginia_land_conservation_fo

undation/index.shtml or the Office of Land Conservation, 

Department of Conservation and Recreation, 600 East Main 

Street, 24th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, or telephone (804) 

371-5218, or email landcon@dcr.virginia.gov. 

Contact Information: Suzan Bulbulkaya, Land Conservation 

Analyst, Department of Conservation and Recreation, 600 

East Main Street, 24th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-5218, or email 

landcon@dcr.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA LOTTERY 

Director's Orders 

The following Director's Orders of the Virginia Lottery were 

filed with the Virginia Registrar of Regulations on June 16, 

2015. The orders may be viewed at the Virginia Lottery, 900 

East Main Street, Richmond, VA, or at the office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 201 North 9th Street, 2nd Floor, 

Richmond, VA. 

Director's Order Number Fifty (15) 

Virginia's Lottery's Summer Jam eXTRA Promotion Final 

Rules for Operation (effective June 2, 2015) 

Director's Order Number Fifty-Two (15) 

Grocery Out of Stock Retailer Incentive Promotion Virginia 

Lottery Retailer Incentive Program Requirements (This 

Director's Order becomes effective on July 1, 2015, and shall 

remain in full force and effect until ninety (90) days after the 

conclusion of the incentive program, unless otherwise 

extended by the Director) 

Director's Order Number Fifty-Four (15) 

"Have You Played Summer Jam?" Virginia Lottery Retailer 

Incentive Program Requirements (This Director's Order 

becomes effective on May 12, 2015, and shall remain in full 

force and effect until ninety (90) days after the conclusion of 

the incentive program, unless otherwise extended by the 

Director) 

mailto:landcon@dcr.virginia.gov
http://townhall.virginia.gov/l/generalnotice.cfm
http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GDocs.cfm
http://www.dcr.virginia.gov/virginia_land_conservation_foundation/index.shtml
http://www.dcr.virginia.gov/virginia_land_conservation_foundation/index.shtml
mailto:landcon@dcr.virginia.gov
mailto:landcon@dcr.virginia.gov
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Director's Order Number Fifty-Five (15) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1556 "Aces High" Final 

Rules for Game Operation (effective May 14, 2015) 

Director's Order Number Fifty-Six (15)  

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1552 "5X The Money" Final 

Rules for Game Operation (effective May 14, 2015) 

Director's Order Number Fifty-Seven (15)  

7-Eleven 2015 Partnership Program Part 1 Virginia Lottery 

Retailer Incentive Program Requirements (This Director's 

Order becomes effective on June 2, 2015, and shall remain in 

full force and effect until ninety (90) days after the conclusion 

of the incentive program, unless otherwise extended by the 

Director) 

Director's Order Number Fifty-Nine (15)  

Virginia Lottery's "Summer Jam Rock Flight® Promotion" 

Final Rules For Operation (effective June 2, 2015) 

Director's Order Number Sixty-One (15)  

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1567 "Summer Jam" Final 

Rules for Game Operation (effective May 14, 2015) 

Director's Order Number Sixty-Two (15)  

Virginia's Computer-Generated Game "Decades of Dollars" 

Final Rules for Game Operation (This Director's Order 

becomes effective on April 30, 2015, fully replaces any and 

all prior Virginia Lottery "Decades of Dollars" game rules, 

and shall remain in full force and effect unless amended or 

rescinded by further Director's Order) 

Director's Order Number Sixty-Three (15)  

Virginia Lottery's "VIP NASCAR® Awards Banquet 

Giveaway Event Promotion" Final Rules for Operation 

(effective June 5, 2015)  

Director's Order Number Sixty-Four (15)  

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1536 "Aces & 8's" Final 

Rules for Game Operation (effective May 12, 2015) 

Director's Order Number Sixty-Five (15)  

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery "Triple Black Cherry" Final 

Rules for Game Operation (effective May 12, 2015) 

Director's Order Number Sixty-Six (15)  

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1565 "$4,000 Pay Day" Final 

Rules for Game Operation (effective June 1, 2015) 

Director's Order Number Sixty-Seven (15)  

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1522 "2 For The Money" 

Final Rules for Game Operation (effective June 1, 2015) 

Director's Order Number Sixty-Eight (15)  

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1578 "Wild Time Gold" 

Final Rules for Game Operation (effective June 10, 2015) 

Director's Order Number Sixty-Nine (15)  

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1560 "Cash Payout" Final 

Rules for Game Operation (effective June 10, 2015) 

Director's Order Number Seventy-Six (15)  

Virginia Lottery's "Summer Jam Ultimate Seat Upgrade 

Promotion" Final Rules for Operation (This Director's Order 

becomes effective on Tuesday, June 2, 2015, completely 

replaces Director's Order Sixty (15), and shall remain in full 

force and effect unless amended or rescinded by further 

Director's Order) 

Director's Order Number Seventy-Seven (15)  

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1544 "Platinum Payout" 

Final Rules for Game Operation (effective June 15, 2015) 

Director's Order Number Seventy-Eight (15)  

Virginia's Computer-Generated Game Lottery "FastPlay Fast 

$50's Hot Slots Doubler" Final Rules for Game Operation 

(effective June 15, 2015) 

Director's Order Number Seventy-Nine (15)  

Virginia's Computer-Generated Game Lottery "FastPlay 

Summer Sizzler" Final Rules for Game Operation (effective 

June 15, 2015) 

Director's Order Number Eighty (15)  

Virginia's Computer-Generated Game Lottery "FastPlay 

Money Bag Crossword" Final Rules for Game Operation 

(effective June 15, 2015) 

Director's Order Number Eighty-One (15)  

Sunoco Retailer Incentive Program Promotions - Virginia 

Lottery Program Requirements (This Director's Order 

becomes effective on July 1, 2015, and shall remain in full 

force and effect until ninety (90) days after the conclusion of 

the final incentive program, unless otherwise extended by the 

Director) 

Director's Order Number Eighty-Two (15)  

"The Pantry August Scratcher Activation Retailer Incentive 

Promotion" Virginia Lottery Retailer Incentive Program 

Requirements (This Director's Order becomes effective on 

August 1, 2015, and shall remain in full force and effect until 

ninety (90) days after the conclusion of the final incentive 

program, unless otherwise extended by the Director) 

Director's Order Number Eighty-Three (15)  

MACS Retailer Incentive Program Promotions - Virginia 

Lottery Program Requirements (This Director's Order 

becomes effective on July 1, 2015, and shall remain in full 
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force and effect until ninety (90) days after the conclusion of 

the final incentive program, unless otherwise extended by the 

Director)  

Director's Order Number Eighty-Four (15)  

"E&C Redskins Ticket Contest Retailer Incentive Promotion" 

Virginia Lottery Retailer Incentive Program Requirements 

(This Director's Order becomes effective on August 1, 2015, 

and shall remain in full force and effect until ninety (90) days 

after the conclusion of the final incentive program, unless 

otherwise extended by the Director) 

Director's Order Number Eighty-Five (15)  

"Farm Fresh Stretch Your Scratcher Goal Contest" Virginia 

Lottery Retailer Incentive Program Requirements (This 

Director's Order becomes effective on August 1, 2015, and 

shall remain in full force and effect until ninety (90) days 

after the conclusion of the final incentive program, unless 

otherwise extended by the Director) 

Director's Order Number Eighty-Six (15)  

"Pit Stop Redskins Ticket Contest Retailer Incentive 

Promotion" Virginia Lottery Retailer Incentive Program 

Requirements (This Director's Order becomes effective on 

October 1, 2015, and shall remain in full force and effect until 

ninety (90) days after the conclusion of the final incentive 

program, unless otherwise extended by the Director) 

Director's Order Number Eighty-Seven (15)  

"Shoppers Stretch Your Scratcher Goal Contest" Virginia 

Lottery Retailer Incentive Program Requirements (This 

Director's Order becomes effective on August 1, 2015, and 

shall remain in full force and effect until ninety (90) days 

after the conclusion of the final incentive program, unless 

otherwise extended by the Director) 

Director's Order Number Eighty-Eight (15)  

FasMart Retailer Incentive Program Promotions - Virginia 

Lottery Program Requirements (This Director's Order 

becomes effective on August 1, 2015, and shall remain in full 

force and effect until ninety (90) days after the conclusion of 

the final incentive program, unless otherwise extended by the 

Director) 

Director's Order Number Ninety-One (15)  

Certain Virginia Fastplay Game; End of Game - Virginia 

Lottery's FastPlay Gold Bar Doubler (163 14) (effective June 

15, 2015) 

Director's Order Number Ninety-Two (15)  

Certain Virginia Fastplay Game; End of Game - Virginia 

Lottery's FastPlay Getaway (29 15) (effective June 15, 2015) 

Director's Order Number Ninety-Three (15)  

Certain Virginia Fastplay Game; End of Game - Virginia 

Lottery's FastPlay Crossword (162 14) (effective June 15, 

2015) 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the State 

Board of Social Services conducted a small business impact 

review of 22VAC40-890, Human Subject Research 

Regulations, and determined that this regulation should be 

retained in its current form. The State Board of Social 

Services is publishing its report of findings dated June 15, 

2015, to support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-

4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

There is no impact on small businesses. The regulation 

applies equally to all organizations conducting research 

through Department of Social Services and its related entities, 

whether public, nonprofit, or private for-profit organizations. 

No complaints have been received from the public. 

Contact Information: Gail Jennings, Administrator, 

Department of Social Services, Institutional Review Board, 

801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

726-7490, FAX (804) 726-7906, or email 

gail.jennings@dss.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Total Maximum Daily Load for Kits Creek in 
Lunenburg County 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) seeks 

written and oral comments from interested persons on the 

draft stressor analysis in support of the development of the 

total maximum daily load (TMDL) for Kits Creek in 

Lunenburg County. This stream is listed on the 2008 § 303(d) 

TMDL Priority List and Report as impaired due to violations 

of the state's water quality standards for the aquatic life use 

due to poor health of the benthic macroinvertebrate 

community. 

Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C 

of the State Water Control Law require the State Water 

Control Board to develop TMDLs for pollutants responsible 

for each impaired water contained in Virginia's § 303(d) 

TMDL Priority List and Report. The stressor analysis is the 

first step in the TMDL process. 

The Kits Creek stream segment is located in Lunenburg 

County. It is 4.8 miles in length and begins at the headwaters 

and continues to the confluence with the North Meherrin 

River.  

The first public meeting on the stressor analysis, which 

identifies the stressors to the benthic community in Kits 
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Creek watershed, will be held on July 16, 2015, 6 p.m. until 

8 p.m., 2nd Floor Courtroom, Lunenburg Courts Building, 

160 Courthouse Square, Lunenburg VA 23952. 

In case of inclement weather, the alternate meeting date is 

July 21, 2015, 6 p.m. until 8 p.m., 2nd Floor Courtroom, 

Lunenburg Courts Building, 160 Courthouse Square, 

Lunenburg VA 23952. 

The public comment period will begin July 17, 2015, and end 

August 17, 2015. 

An advisory committee to assist in stressor analysis will be 

established. Persons interested in assisting should notify the 

DEQ contact person by the end of the comment period and 

provide their name, address, phone number, email address, 

and the organization being represented (if any). Notification 

of the composition of the advisory committee will be sent to 

all applicants.  

A component of a TMDL is the wasteload allocation (WLA); 

therefore, this notice is provided pursuant to § 2.2-4006 A 14 

of the Administrative Process Act for any future adoption of 

the TMDL WLAs. 

Information on the development of the TMDLs for the 

impairments is available upon request. Questions or 

information requests should be addressed to the DEQ contact 

person listed below. Please note, all written comments should 

include the name, address, and telephone number of the 

person submitting the comments and should be sent to Paula 

Nash, Virginia Department of Environmental Quality, 

7705 Timberlake Road, Lynchburg, VA 24502, telephone 

(434) 582-6216, or email paula.nash@deq.virginia.gov. 

Total Maximum Daily Loads for Walker Creek, Town 
Creek, East Wilderness Creek, Nobusiness Creek, 
Kimberling Creek, and Little Walker Creek in Bland 

and Giles Counties 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) seeks 

written and oral comments from interested persons on the 

development of total maximum daily loads (TMDLs) for 

Walker Creek, Town Creek, East Wilderness Creek, 

Nobusiness Creek, Kimberling Creek, and Little Walker 

Creek in Bland and Giles Counties. These streams are listed 

on the 2012 § 303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report as 

impaired due to violations of the state's water quality 

standards for bacteria. 

Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C 

of the State Water Control Law requires State Water Control 

Board to develop TMDLs for pollutants responsible for each 

impaired water contained in Virginia's § 303(d) Priority List 

and Report. 

The impaired segments include: 33.53 miles of Walker Creek 

from the Route 52 crossing to the confluence with 

Kimberling Creek; 4.40 miles of Town Creek from the 

headwaters downstream to the confluence with Crab Orchard 

Creek; 3.35 miles of East Wilderness Creek from the 

confluence with Wolf Pen Branch upstream 3.2 miles; 4.88 

miles of Kimberling Creek from the Hiram Thompson Branch 

confluence upstream to Hazel Branch; and 6.72 miles of 

Nobusiness Creek from the confluence with Kimberling 

Creek upstream 6.4 miles. 

The first public meeting on the development of the TMDL to 

address the bacteria impairments for these segments will be 

held on July 28, 2015, from 6 p.m. until 8 p.m. at the Bland 

County Public Library located at 697 Main Street, Bland, VA 

24315. 

The public comment period will begin July 28, 2015, and end 

August 28, 2015.  

An advisory committee to assist in development of this 

TMDL will be established. Persons interested in assisting 

should notify the DEQ contact person by the end of the 

comment period and provide their name, address, phone 

number, email address, and the organization being 

represented (if any). Notification of the composition of the 

panel will be send to all applicants. 

A component of a TMDL is the wasteload allocations 

(WLAs); therefore, this notice is provided pursuant to § 2.2-

4006 A 14 of the Administrative Process Act for any future 

adoption of the TMDLs associated WLAs. Information on the 

development of the TMDLs for these impairments is 

available upon request. Questions, information requests, and 

written comments should be addressed to the contact listed 

below. Please note, all written comments should include 

name, address, and telephone number of the person 

submitting the comments. 

Contact Information: Martha Chapman, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Southwest Regional Office, 355-A 

Deadmore Street, Abingdon, VA 24210, telephone (276) 676-

4800, or email martha.chapman@deq.virginia.gov. 

Amendment of Water Quality Management Planning 
Regulation 

Notice of action: The State Water Control Board (Board) is 

considering the amendment of the regulation on water quality 

management planning in accordance with the Public 

Participation Procedures for Water Quality Management 

Planning. A regulation is a general rule governing people's 

rights or conduct that is upheld by a state agency. 

Purpose of notice: The Board is seeking comments through 

the Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) on the 

proposed amendment. The purpose of the amendment to the 

state's Water Quality Management Planning Regulation 

(9VAC25-720) is to adopt 12 total maximum daily load 

(TMDL) wasteload allocations.  

Public comment period: July 13, 2015, through August 12, 

2015. 

mailto:paula.nash@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:martha.chapman@deq.virginia.gov
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Description of proposed action: DEQ staff will propose 

amendments of the state's Water Quality Management 

Planning Regulation for the James River Basin (9VAC25-

720-60 A) and the Potomac-Shenandoah River Basin 

(9VAC25-720-50 A). Statutory authority for promulgating 

these amendments can be found in subdivision 10 of § 62.1-

44.15 of the Code of Virginia. 

Staff intends to recommend (1) that the Board approve the 

TMDL reports as the plan for the pollutant reductions 

necessary for attainment of water quality goals in the 

impaired segments, (2) that the Board authorize inclusion of 

the TMDL reports in the appropriate Water Quality 

Management Plan, and (3) that the Board adopt 12 TMDL 

wasteload allocations as part of the state's Water Quality 

Management Planning Regulation in accordance with §§ 2.2-

4006 A 4 c and 2.2-4006 B of the Code of Virginia. 

The TMDL reports were developed in accordance with 

federal regulations (40 CFR 130.7) and are exempt from the 

provisions of Article 2 (§ 2.2-4000 et seq.) of the Virginia 

Administrative Process Act. The reports were subject to the 

TMDL public participation process contained in DEQ's 

Public Participation Procedures for Water Quality 

Management Planning. The public comment process provides 

the affected stakeholders an opportunity for public appeal of 

the TMDL. 

As of July 1, 2014, TMDL WLAs can receive State Water 

Control Board approval prior to EPA approval due to 

amendments outlined in § 2.2-4006 A 14 of the Code of 

Virginia. The two TMDL reports in this public notice have 

been reviewed by EPA for required TMDL elements, 

however the reports remain in draft form awaiting State 

Water Control Board approval. The draft reports can be found 

at http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/Water 

QualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/Draft

TMDLReports.aspx. 

Affected Waterbodies and Localities: 

James River Basin (9VAC25-720-60 A):  

"Bacteria TMDL Development for the Turkey Island Creek 

and James River Westover to Claremont Watershed in 

Charles City, Henrico, Prince George, and Surry Counties, 

Virginia." 

• The Turkey Island Creek and tidal James River 

Westover to Claremont watersheds TMDL, located in 

Charles City, Henrico, Prince George, and Surry 

Counties, proposes E. coli reductions for the Turkey 

Island Creek, James River Westover to Chippokes 

Point, and James River Chippokes Point to Claremont 

watersheds and provides E. coli wasteload allocations 

of 4.31E11 cfu/year, 4.25E13 cfu/year, and 4.99E13 

cfu/year. 

Potomac-Shenandoah River Basin (9VAC25-720-50 A): 

"Bacteria TMDL Development for Crooked Run, Borden 

Marsh Run, Willow Brook, West Run, Long Branch, 

Stephens Run, Manassas Run, and Happy Creek 

Watersheds, and Sediment TMDL Development for Happy 

Creek Watershed Located in Clarke, Frederick, and Warren 

Counties, Virginia" 

• The Crooked Run, Borden Marsh Run, Willow 

Brook, West Run, Long Branch, Stephens Run, 

Manassas Run, and Happy Creek watersheds TMDL, 

located in Clarke, Frederick, and Warren Counties, 

proposes E. coli reductions for the Crooked Run, 

Borden Marsh Run, Willow Brook, West Run, Long 

Branch, Stephens Run, Manassas Run, and Happy 

Creek watersheds and provides E. coli wasteload 

allocations of 2.22E12 cfu/year, 2.81E11 cfu/year, 

2.33E11 cfu/year, 5.80E11 cfu/year, 1.73E11 cfu/year, 

3.07E11 cfu/year, 3.24E11 cfu/year, and 4.27E11 

cfu/year. 

• The Crooked Run, Borden Marsh Run, Willow 

Brook, West Run, Long Branch, Stephens Run, 

Manassas Run, and Happy Creek watersheds TMDL, 

located in Clarke, Frederick, and Warren Counties, 

proposes sediment reductions for the Happy Creek 

watershed and provides a sediment wasteload 

allocation of 29.05 tons/year. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 

fax, and postal mail. All written comments must include the 

full name, address, and telephone number of the person 

commenting and be received by 5 p.m. on the last day of the 

comment period.  

How a decision is made: After comments have been 

considered, the Board will make the final decision. Citizens 

that submit statements during the comment period may 

address the board members during the board meeting at which 

a final decision is made on the proposal.  

To review documents: The TMDL reports are available on the 

DEQ website at http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/ 

Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevel

opment/DraftTMDLReports.aspx, and by contacting the DEQ 

representative named below for any report. The electronic 

copies are in PDF format and may be read online or 

downloaded. 

Contact for public comments, document requests, and 

additional information: Liz McKercher, Department of 

Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 

23218, telephone: (804) 698-4291, FAX (804) 698-4032, or 

email elizabeth.mckercher@deq.virginia.gov. 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/DraftTMDLReports.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/DraftTMDLReports.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/DraftTMDLReports.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/DraftTMDLReports.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/DraftTMDLReports.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/DraftTMDLReports.aspx
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Proposed Enforcement Action for H&W Properties, 
Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for H&W 

Properties, Inc. for the Douthat Road Mobile Home Park for 

violations in Alleghany County at the Douthat Road Mobile 

Home Park Sewage Treatment Plant. The order resolves 

violations of State Water Control Law. A description of the 

proposed action is available at the Department of 

Environmental Quality office named below or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. G. Marvin Booth, III will accept 

comments by email at marvin.booth@deq.virginia.gov, FAX 

(434) 582-5125, or postal mail at Department of 

Environmental Quality, Blue Ridge Regional Office, 7705 

Timberlake Road, Lynchburg, VA 24502, from July 13, 

2015, through August 13, 2015. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, General Assembly Building, 201 North 9th 

Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: Voice 

(804) 786-3591; Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

http://www.virginia.gov/connect/commonwealth-calendar. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 
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