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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 
published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 
Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 
regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 
to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 
Register is a source of other information about state government, 
including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 
orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 
regulations. 
ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 
An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 
publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 
agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 
giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 
text of the proposed regulation. 
Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 
days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 
necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 
clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 
comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 
to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 
completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 
comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 
than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 
period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 
The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 
appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 
may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 
objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 
will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 
by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 
with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 
When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 
publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 
final publication in the Virginia Register. 
The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 
of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 
signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 
and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 
regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 
Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 
substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 
30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 
public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 
Virginia Register. 
The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 
receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 
comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 
inconsequential impact. 
A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 
agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 
period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 
provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 
for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 
Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 
regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 
earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 
A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 
any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 
Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 
certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 
regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 
process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 
provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 
become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 
objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 
consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 
Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 
emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 
regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 
law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 
days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 
operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 
unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 
more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 
months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 
Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 
During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 
procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 
agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 
Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 
regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 
180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 
chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 
prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 
The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 
(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 
examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 
The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 
29:5 VA.R. 1075-1192 November 5, 2012, refers to Volume 29, Issue 
5, pages 1075 through 1192 of the Virginia Register issued on  
November 5, 2012. 
The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 
(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  
Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 
James M. LeMunyon, Vice Chair, Gregory D. Habeeb; Ryan T. 
McDougle; Pamela S. Baskervill; Robert L. Calhoun; Carlos L. 
Hopkins; E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; Christopher R. 
Nolen; Timothy Oksman; Charles S. Sharp; Robert L. Tavenner. 
Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 
Karen Perrine, Assistant Registrar; Anne Bloomsburg, Regulations 
Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Operations 
Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

July 2015 through August 2016 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

31:24 July 8, 2015 July 27, 2015 

31:25 July 22, 2015 August 10, 2015 

31:26 August 5, 2015 August 24, 2015 

32:1 August 19, 2015 September 7, 2015 

32:2 September 2, 2015 September 21, 2015 

32:3 September 16, 2015 October 5, 2015 

32:4 September 30, 2015 October 19, 2015 

32:5 October 14, 2015 November 2, 2015 

32:6 October 28, 2015 November 16, 2015 

32:7 November 10, 2015 (Tuesday) November 30, 2015 

32:8 November 24, 2015 (Tuesday) December 14, 2015 

32:9 December 9, 2015 December 28, 2015 

32:10 December 21, 2015 (Monday) January 11, 2016 

32:11 January 6, 2016 January 25, 2016 

32:12 January 20, 2016 February 8, 2016 

32:13 February 3, 2016 February 22, 2016 

32:14 February 17, 2016 March 7, 2016 

32:15 March 2, 2016 March 21, 2016 

32:16 March 16, 2016 April 4, 2016 

32:17 March 30, 2016 April 18, 2016 

32:18 April 13, 2016 May 2, 2016 

32:19 April 27, 2016 May 16, 2016 

32:20 May 11, 2016 May 30, 2016 

32:21 May 25, 2016 June 13, 2016 

32:22 June 8, 2016 June 27, 2016 

32:23 June 22, 2016 July 11, 2016 

32:24 July 6, 2016 July 25, 2016 

32:25 July 20, 2016 August 8, 2016 

32:26 August 3, 2016 August 22, 2016 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-50. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Physician Assistants. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Cara English. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: Replace requirement for 
National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants 
(NCCPA) certification with other measure(s) of continuing 
competency for renewal of physician assistant licensure. 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: At its meeting on June 4, 
2015, the Advisory Board on Physician Assistants 
recommended that the petition be denied because members 
believe NCCPA certification continues to be the best measure 
of continued competency and because physician assistants 
have multiple opportunities to pass the examination prior to 
expiration of their certifications. On June 18, 2015, the Board 
of Medicine accepted the recommendation and rationale of 
the advisory board and voted to deny the petition. 

Agency Contact: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 
9960 Mayland Drive, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 
367-4688, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-28; Filed July 1, 2015, 10:48 a.m. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Education 
intends to consider promulgating the following regulations: 
8VAC20-750, Regulations Governing the Use of Seclusion 
and Restraint in Public Elementary and Secondary 
Schools in Virginia. The purpose of the proposed action is to 
adopt regulations in accordance with § 22.1-279.1:1 of the 
Code of Virginia relating to the use of seclusion and restraint 
in public elementary and secondary schools. The regulations 
will (i) be consistent with the board's Guidelines for the 
Development of Policies and Procedures for Managing 
Student Behavior in Emergency Situations and the Fifteen 
Principles contained in the U.S. Department of Education's 
Restraint and Seclusion: Resource Document; (ii) include 
definitions, criteria for use, restrictions for use, training 
requirements, notification requirements, reporting 
requirements, and follow-up requirements; and (iii) address 
distinctions, including distinctions in emotional and physical 
development, between (a) the general student population and 
the special education student population and (b) elementary 
school students and secondary school students. 
The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  
Statutory Authority: §§ 22.1-16 and 22.1-279.1:1 of the Code 
of Virginia. 
Public Comment Deadline: August 26, 2015. 
Agency Contact: Melissa Luchau, Director for Board 
Relations, Department of Education, P.O. Box 2120, 101 
North 14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 225-2924, FAX (804) 225-2524, or email 
melissa.luchau@doe.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4323; Filed July 2, 2015, 9:15 a.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 8VAC20-131. Regulations Establishing 
Standards for Accrediting Public Schools in Virginia 
(amending 8VAC20-131-5; adding 8VAC20-131-185).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 22.1-16 and 22.1-253.13:3 of the 
Code of Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information: 

September 10, 2015 - 11 a.m. - James Monroe Building, 
101 North 14th Street, 22nd Floor, Conference Room, 
Richmond, Virginia 23219. The public hearing will begin 
immediately following adjournment of the Board of 
Education business meeting. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 25, 2015. 
Agency Contact: Anne Wescott, Assistant Superintendent, 
Policy and Communications, Department of Education, 
P.O. Box 2120, Richmond, VA 23218-2120, telephone (804) 
225-2403, FAX (804) 225-2524, or email 
anne.wescott@doe.virginia.gov. 
Basis: The Board of Education's authority for promulgating 
regulations governing standards for accrediting public schools 
may be found in § 22.1-253.13:3 of the Code of Virginia and 
includes promulgating regulations establishing standards for 
accreditation of public virtual schools under the authority of 
the local school board that enroll students full time. The 
Board of Education's overall regulatory authority is found in 
§ 22.1-16 of the Code of Virginia, which provides that the 
board may adopt bylaws for its own government and 
promulgate such regulations as may be necessary to carry out 
its powers and duties and the provisions of this title. 
Purpose: This regulatory action is necessary to protect the 
health, safety, and welfare of citizens, particularly those of 
school age. This regulatory action is essential to comport with 
the Code of Virginia and to ensure that an effective 
educational program is established and maintained in all of 
Virginia's public schools, including Virginia's public virtual 
schools. These regulations will further ensure that public 
virtual schools meet the same accreditation requirements as 
the brick-and-mortar public school. It is important that all 
public schools adhere to the same rigorous standards so that 
all students receive an effective education that helps them to 
become career and college ready. 
Substance: The proposed amendments define a public virtual 
school as a school under the authority of the local school 

board where a student is enrolled full time and receives 
instruction primarily electronically using the Internet or other 
computer-based methods. 
The proposed amendments are designed to provide public 
virtual schools with an alternative way of meeting the 
requirements that are currently in place for public brick-and-
mortar schools, or an exemption from any requirement that 
would not be reasonable for a public virtual school. 
Specifically, the proposed amendments provide for the 
following: 

1. Licensed personnel employed either by the school 
division or the public virtual school provider would be 
required to supervise student testing for the Virginia 
assessment program. 
2. If a student enrolled in a public virtual school 
participates in a career and technical education course 
that requires cooperative education or work-based 
experience, the safety training provided in the virtual 
classroom would be required to be equivalent to the 
safety training given at a worksite. 
3. Any teacher providing instruction in a full-time virtual 
school in Virginia shall hold a valid Virginia teaching 
license and shall be appropriately endorsed by the Board 
of Education for that teacher's assignment. 
4. Each student enrolled in a public virtual school must 
have access to the necessary technology for participation 
in public virtual school courses, including a computer 
and printer, as well as a broadband Internet connection 
for school work purposes.  
5. The local school board shall develop a policy that 
students who are unable to afford the necessary 
technology, including the hardware, software, and the 
broadband connection to the Internet, shall be provided 
with these items. 
6. Students and teachers would be required to have the 
necessary technical security to ensure student safety 
while using the computer for school work. 
7. Technical support services and training must be 
provided to assist in the resolution of technical problems 
for teachers and students. 
8. New and experienced online teachers employed to 
instruct students in the public virtual school must 
participate annually in professional development for 
online teaching. 
9. The requirement for 140 clock hours of instruction to 
earn a standard unit of credit may be waived if the 
content of the course is comparable to a course that 



Regulations 

Volume 31, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 27, 2015 

2152 

would otherwise require 140 clock hours of instruction in 
a non-virtual setting and, upon completion, the student 
would be able to demonstrate mastery of the course. 
10. The school board would be required to develop a 
written policy to ensure that all students receiving 
instruction in a public virtual school setting have access 
to adequate and appropriate library resources.  
11. Guidance counseling and other student support 
services are required to be available to students in the 
public virtual school from appropriately licensed and 
endorsed personnel. 
12. Extracurricular activities and eligibility requirements 
for students in virtual school settings shall be established 
and approved by the superintendent and the school board.  
13. Public virtual schools would be exempt from the 
school facilities and safety requirements unless the public 
virtual school is operated in a stand-alone facility. 
14. A full time public virtual school shall have a learning 
management system that provides secure and appropriate 
access to the virtual learning environment; supports the 
creation and management of content and assessments; 
provides communication tools that facilitate synchronous 
and asynchronous discussion and collaboration among 
learners and teachers; and supports the collection, 
management, and reporting of data on learning outcomes. 
15. Student engagement shall be monitored. If a student 
fails to interact with the learning management system 
every school day, the public virtual school principal or 
designee shall contact the students parent or guardian. 
16. Public virtual schools would be required to provide 
all policies and procedures unique to enrollment and 
matriculation in the public virtual school to parents prior 
to enrollment and post such information for the public on 
the school division's website. 

Issues: There are no disadvantages to the public, the 
Commonwealth, or the agency. The primary advantage to the 
public is in ensuring that the same standards apply to all 
public schools, both virtual and bricks-and-mortar, which will 
mean that all students receive a quality public education. The 
primary advantage to the Commonwealth, the agency, and 
local school divisions is that there will now be standards that 
are applicable to virtual public schools, which will assist local 
school boards in developing, establishing, and maintaining an 
effective educational program in schools.  
Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 
Chapter 183 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly amends Virginia 
Code § 22.1-253.13:3 by requiring the Board of Education 
(Board) to promulgate regulations establishing standards for 
the accreditation of public virtual schools that enroll full-time 
students. Consequently, the Board proposes to promulgate 
these regulations, Regulations Establishing Standards for 

Accrediting Public Schools in Virginia, to satisfy the 
statutory requirement. 
Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for 
some changes. For other amendments, whether the benefits 
exceed the costs depend on the policy views of the observer. 
Estimated Economic Impact. There is currently one public 
virtual school in Virginia, in Carroll County. The school is 
accredited, having been granted waivers by the Board from 
certain provisions in these regulations that were not 
applicable to virtual schools. The requirements for virtual 
schools under the proposed regulations are consistent with the 
status quo with one exception. The local school board would 
be required to develop a policy that students who are unable 
to afford the necessary technology, including the hardware, 
software, and the broadband connection to the Internet, shall 
be provided with these items.  
This would increase costs for establishing and maintaining a 
virtual school. Currently local school divisions are not 
specifically required to provide hardware, software, and 
broadband connections to the Internet for students from low-
income families. The additional cost for local divisions if they 
choose to have a virtual school would likely be in the 
hundreds of dollars per low-income student who qualified for 
the virtual school. The total cost would depend on the cost of 
the specific software needed for the particular virtual 
instruction program, the hardware attributes needed to handle 
the software, and the number of low-income students who 
qualify. 
Specifying the requirements for virtual schools in regulations 
is advantageous for local school boards in that it reduces 
uncertainty. Requiring that the local school board develop a 
policy that students who are unable to afford the necessary 
technology, including the hardware, software, and the 
broadband connection to the Internet, be provided with these 
items is beneficial in that enables lower socioeconomic 
students to have the same opportunity to attend a virtual 
school as middle and upper socioeconomic students. On the 
other hand, it significantly increases costs for local divisions 
which may result in cuts to other areas of educational 
spending or make it too expensive to have an otherwise 
planned virtual school. Whether the benefit of increased 
potential opportunity for some low-income students exceeds 
the potential cost of cuts to other areas depends on the policy 
views of the observer.  
Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 
potentially affect the 132 public school divisions in the 
Commonwealth, their staff, and their students, as well 
providers of software, hardware, and Internet service.  
Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulations 
potentially affect all localities. 
Projected Impact on Employment. The proposal amendments 
are unlikely to significantly affect employment. 
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Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed regulations are unlikely to have a large impact on 
the use and value of private property. 
Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 
regulations are unlikely to have a large impact on small 
businesses. 
Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed regulations are unlikely to 
have a large impact on small businesses. 
Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
will not affect real estate development costs. 
Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 
(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 
best estimate of these economic impacts. 
Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
agency concurs with the economic impact analysis completed 
by the Department of Planning and Budget. 
Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) define a public virtual 
school; (ii) specify those provisions in the current 
regulations that are not applicable to public virtual 
schools, such as exempting the school from school 
facilities and safety requirements unless the school is in a 
stand-alone facility, and providing appropriate options for 
library services, counseling and student services, and 
extracurricular activities; and (iii) add provisions 
applicable only to public virtual schools, such as ensuring 
that students have access to the necessary technology and 
monitoring student engagement online. 

Part I  
Definitions and Purpose  

8VAC20-131-5. Definitions.  
The following words and terms apply only to these 

regulations this chapter and do not supersede those definitions 
used for federal reporting purposes or for the calculation of 
costs related to the Standards of Quality (§ 22.1-253.13:1 et 
seq. of the Code of Virginia). When used in these regulations 
this chapter, these words shall have the following meanings, 
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Accreditation" means a process used by the Virginia 
Department of Education (hereinafter "department") to 
evaluate the educational performance of public schools in 
accordance with these regulations this chapter.  

"Additional test" means a test, including substitute tests 
approved by the Board of Education that students may use in 
lieu of a Standards of Learning test to obtain verified credit.  

"Class period" means a segment of time in the school day 
that is approximately 1/6 of the instructional day.  

"Combined school" means a public school that contains any 
combination of or all of the grade levels from kindergarten 
through grade 12. This definition does not include those 
schools defined as elementary, middle, or secondary schools.  

"Credit accommodations" means adjustments to meet the 
standard and verified credit requirements for earning a 
Standard Diploma for students with disabilities.  

"Elementary school" means a public school with any grades 
kindergarten through five.  

"Eligible students" means the total number of students of 
school age enrolled in the school at a grade or course for 
which a Standards of Learning test is required unless 
excluded under the provisions of 8VAC20-131-30 G and 
8VAC20-131-280 D relative to limited English proficient 
(LEP) students.  

"Enrollment" means the act of complying with state and 
local requirements relative to the registration or admission of 
a child for attendance in a school within a local school 
division. This term also means registration for courses within 
the student's home school or within related schools or 
programs.  

"First time" means the student has not been enrolled in the 
school at any time during the current school year (for 
purposes of 8VAC20-131-60 with reference to students who 
transfer in during the school year).  

"Four core areas" or "four core academic areas" means 
English, mathematics, science, and history and social science 
for purposes of testing for the Standards of Learning.  

"Graduate" means a student who has earned a Board of 
Education recognized diploma, which includes the Advanced 
Studies Diploma, the Standard Diploma, and the Special 
Diploma.  
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"Homebound instruction" means academic instruction 
provided to students who are confined at home or in a health 
care facility for periods that would prevent normal school 
attendance based upon certification of need by a licensed 
physician or a licensed clinical psychologist.  

"Learning management system" or "LMS" means a 
technology platform through which online courses are 
accessed by students and teachers. The LMS facilitates 
delivery, management, tracking, and reporting of content, 
student and teacher interactions, and learner progress. 

"Locally awarded verified credit" means a verified unit of 
credit awarded by a local school board in accordance with 
8VAC20-131-110.  

"Middle school" means a public school with any grades 6 
through 8.  

"Planning period" means one class period per day or the 
equivalent unencumbered of any teaching or supervisory 
duties.  

"Public virtual school" means a school under the authority of 
the local school board where a student is enrolled full time 
and receives instruction primarily electronically, using the 
Internet or other computer-based methods. 

"Recess" means a segment of free time exclusive of time 
provided for meals during the standard school day in which 
students are given a break from instruction.  

"Reconstitution" means a process that may be used to 
initiate a range of accountability actions to improve pupil 
performance, curriculum, and instruction to address 
deficiencies that caused a school to be rated Accreditation 
Denied that may include, but not be limited to, restructuring a 
school's governance, instructional program, staff or student 
population.  

"School" means a publicly funded institution where students 
are enrolled for all or a majority of the instructional day and:  

1. Those students are reported in fall membership at the 
institution; and  
2. At a minimum, the institution meets the preaccreditation 
eligibility requirements of these regulations as adopted by 
the Board of Education.  

"Secondary school" means a public school with any grades 9 
through 12.  

"Standard school day" means a calendar day that averages at 
least five and one-half instructional hours for students in 
grades 1 through 12, excluding breaks for meals and recess, 
and a minimum of three instructional hours for students in 
kindergarten.  

"Standard school year" means a school year of at least 180 
teaching days or a total of at least 990 teaching hours per 
year.  

"Standard unit of credit" or "standard credit" means credit 
awarded for a course in which the student successfully 
completes 140 clock hours of instruction and the 

requirements of the course. Local school boards may develop 
alternatives to the requirement for 140 clock hours of 
instruction as provided for in 8VAC20-131-110.  

"Standards of Learning tests" or "SOL tests" means those 
criterion referenced assessments approved by the Board of 
Education for use in the Virginia assessment program that 
measure attainment of knowledge and skills required by the 
Standards of Learning.  

"Student" means a person of school age as defined by 
§ 22.1-1 of the Code of Virginia, a child with disabilities as 
defined in § 22.1-213 of the Code of Virginia, and a person 
with limited English proficiency in accordance with § 22.1-5 
of the Code of Virginia.  

"Student periods" means the number of students a teacher 
instructs per class period multiplied by the number of class 
periods taught.  

"Verified unit of credit" or "verified credit" means credit 
awarded for a course in which a student earns a standard unit 
of credit and achieves a passing score on a corresponding 
end-of-course SOL test or an additional test approved by the 
Board of Education as part of the Virginia assessment 
program.  

"Virginia assessment program" means a system used to 
evaluate student achievement that includes Standards of 
Learning tests and additional tests that may be approved from 
time to time by the Board of Education.  
8VAC20-131-185. Public virtual schools. 

A. Public virtual schools shall meet all of the laws and 
regulations required of all other public schools, unless 
otherwise specified in this section.  

Instruction in a public virtual school shall be designed to 
accommodate all students, including those identified with 
disabilities in accordance with the Individuals with 
Disabilities Education Act (20 USC § 1431 et seq.) or § 504 
of the Rehabilitation Act, as amended (29 USC § 794); those 
identified as gifted; and those who have limited English 
proficiency. Any school division providing instruction to 
students in a virtual school setting must have written policies 
and procedures that address service delivery to accommodate 
all students. Instruction provided by a public virtual school 
must comport with the requirements of the Standards of 
Learning and career and technical education competencies 
and must be provided by teachers licensed by the Board of 
Education and endorsed in the subjects in which they provide 
instruction.  

Students enrolled in a public virtual school shall be required 
to take all applicable Virginia assessment program tests in a 
secure, controlled, and proctored environment under the 
supervision of licensed personnel employed by a local school 
division or the public virtual school provider and trained in 
administering the tests. 

If a student enrolled in a public virtual school participates in 
a career and technical education course that requires 
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cooperative education work-based experience, the safety 
training provided in the virtual classroom must be equivalent 
and related to the safety training given at a worksite. To 
achieve the competencies related to the use of equipment and 
machinery may require on-site instruction during the course, 
which may be conducted in a classroom laboratory or in a 
work-based instructional environment in which any safety 
requirements would apply. 

B. Any teacher providing instruction in a full-time public 
virtual school in Virginia shall hold a valid Virginia teaching 
license and shall be appropriately endorsed for his assignment 
by the Board of Education. 

C. Each student enrolled in a public virtual school shall have 
access to the necessary technology for participation in public 
virtual school courses, such as a computer and printer, and to 
a broadband Internet connection for school work purposes. 
The local school board shall develop a policy that students 
who are unable to afford the necessary technology, including 
the hardware, software, and the broadband connection to the 
Internet, shall be provided with these items. In addition, 
students and teachers shall have the necessary technical 
security to ensure student safety while using the computer for 
school work. 

Technical support services and training shall be provided to 
assist in the resolution of technical problems for teachers and 
students. 

New and experienced online teachers employed to instruct 
students in the public virtual school shall participate annually 
in professional development for online teaching. 

D. The requirement for 140 clock hours of instruction to 
earn a standard unit of credit may be waived if the content of 
the course is comparable to a course that would otherwise 
require 140 clock hours of instruction in a non-virtual school 
setting and, upon completion, the student will be able to 
demonstrate mastery of the course. 

E. Section 22.1-98 of the Code of Virginia requires the 
length of the school term to be not less than 180 teaching 
days or 990 teaching hours in any school year unless there are 
severe weather conditions or other emergency situations 
resulting in the closing of the school. Furthermore, students 
who complete their course requirements in fewer than 180 
days or 990 hours (a standard school year) are still subject to 
§ 22.1-254 of the Code of Virginia, compulsory attendance. 
The school division shall develop policies and procedures to 
ensure that the student is in compliance with § 22.1-254 of 
the Code of Virginia throughout the school year.  

Where a student has mastered the course content and 
completed all course requirements in fewer than 180 days or 
990 hours, the school shall enroll the student in the next 
course level or in another course, provide remediation if 
needed, focus on increasing the student's academic 
proficiency, provide enrichment, or meet the student's 
academic needs in another way as determined by school 
board policies. 

F. Each local school board that authorizes a public virtual 
school must develop a written policy to ensure that all 
students receiving instruction in a public virtual school setting 
have access to adequate and appropriate library resources 
sufficient to meet research, inquiry, and reading requirements 
of the instructional program and general student interest.  

G. Guidance counseling and other student support services 
shall be available to students in the public virtual school from 
appropriately licensed and endorsed personnel. 

H. Extracurricular activities and eligibility requirements for 
students in virtual school settings shall be established and 
approved by the superintendent and the school board.  

I. Public virtual schools are exempt from the requirements in 
8VAC20-131-260, related to school facilities and safety, 
unless the public virtual school is operated in a stand-alone 
facility. 

J. A full-time public virtual school shall have a learning 
management system that provides secure and appropriate 
access to the virtual learning environment; supports the 
creation and management of content and assessments; 
provides communication tools that facilitate synchronous and 
asynchronous discussion and collaboration among learners 
and teachers; and supports the collection, management, and 
reporting of data on learning outcomes. 

K. Student engagement shall be monitored. If a student fails 
to interact with the learning management system every school 
day, the public virtual school principal or designee shall 
contact the student's parent or guardian. 

L. The public virtual school principal or designee shall be 
responsible for: 

1. Analyzing the school's test scores annually, by grade and 
by discipline, to:  

a. Direct and require appropriate prevention, 
intervention, remediation, or any combination thereof to 
those students performing below grade level or not 
passing the SOL tests;  
b. Involve the staff of the school in identifying the types 
of staff development needed to improve student 
achievement and ensure that the staff participate in those 
activities; and  
c. Analyze classroom practices and methods for 
improvement of online instruction;  

2. Ensuring that student records are maintained and that 
criteria used in making placement and promotion 
decisions, as well as any instructional interventions used to 
improve the student's performance, are included in the 
record;  
3. Monitoring and evaluating the quality of instruction, 
providing staff development, providing support that is 
designed to improve instruction, and seeking to ensure the 
successful attainment of the knowledge and skills required 
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for students by the SOL tests and for college and career 
readiness;  
4. Maintaining records of students who drop out of school, 
including their reasons for dropping out and actions taken 
to prevent these students from dropping out; 
5. Notifying the parents of rising eleventh-grade and 
twelfth-grade students of: 

a. The number of standard and verified units of credit 
required for graduation; and 
b. The remaining number of such units of credit the 
individual student requires for graduation; 

6. Maintaining a current record of licensure, endorsement, 
and in-service training completed by staff; and  
7. Maintaining records of receipts and disbursements of all 
funds handled. These records shall be audited annually by 
a professional accountant approved by the local school 
board. 

All of the records, reports, and other information maintained 
by the public virtual school related to these documents, 
student scholastic records, and any other record or document 
maintained by the public virtual school shall be made 
available as may be necessary to the school board, 
superintendent, and school board employees.  

M. Public virtual schools shall provide all policies and 
procedures unique to enrollment and matriculation in the 
public virtual school to parents prior to enrollment and post 
such information for the public on the school division's 
website.  

N. Public virtual schools shall develop policies and 
procedures regarding the monitoring of student attendance, 
notification of parents and students regarding attendance 
issues and related disciplinary actions, and maintenance of 
records of attendance. This information shall be provided to 
parents prior to enrollment. 

O. Information regarding student accountability and 
assessment shall be provided to the parents prior to 
enrollment. Public virtual schools shall develop policies and 
procedures to ensure that each student shall be assessed 
annually to determine what remediation and other support 
structures are needed to help the student achieve academic 
success. As determined by the school division, traditional and 
nontraditional assessments, such as state assessments and 
portfolios, may be used as part of this annual assessment 
process. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3261; Filed July 2, 2015, 12:19 p.m.  

Final Regulation 
Titles of Regulations: 8VAC20-670. Regulations Governing 
the Operation of Private Day Schools for Students with 
Disabilities (repealing 8VAC20-670-10 through 8VAC20-
670-440). 

8VAC20-671. Regulations Governing the Operation of 
Private Schools for Students with Disabilities (adding 
8VAC20-671-10 through 8VAC20-671-780).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 22.1-16 and 22.1-321 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
Effective Date: August 26, 2015.  
Agency Contact: John Eisenberg, Assistant Superintendent 
for Special Education and Student Services, Department of 
Education, P.O. Box 2120, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 
(804) 786-8079 or email john.eisenberg@doe.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

In response to Chapter 873 of the 2008 Acts of Assembly, 
the regulatory action repeals the Regulations Governing 
the Operation of Private Day Schools for Students with 
Disabilities (8VAC20-670) and creates a new chapter, 
Regulations Governing the Operation of Private Schools 
for Students with Disabilities (8VAC20-671), to address all 
applicable requirements for both private day schools and 
education programs in residential facilities, including 
group homes. The new chapter clarifies provisions for 
obtaining a license to operate, the management and 
conduct of schools, and the standards for programs offered 
by schools. Requirements of the new chapter include (i) 
programs of instruction that promote individual student 
academic achievement in the essential academic 
disciplines, (ii) development of policies and procedures by 
schools to ensure safe learning environments for and the 
protection of children in their care, and (iii) a change in 
the amount of the required guaranty instrument.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

CHAPTER 671 
REGULATIONS GOVERNING THE OPERATION OF 

PRIVATE SCHOOLS FOR STUDENTS WITH 
DISABILITIES 

8VAC20-671-10. Definitions. 
The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

[ "504 Plan" means a written plan required under § 504 of 
the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (29 USC § 701 et seq.), as 
amended. A student's 504 Plan details modifications, 
accommodations, and services that are needed for the student 
with a disability to participate in and enjoy the benefits of 
school programs at the same level as his peers without 
disabilities. ]  

"Applicant" means the person, partnership, corporation, or 
association that has completed and submitted an application 
to the [ licensing agency department ] for approval for a 
license to operate a school for students with disabilities in 
Virginia. 
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"Autism" means a developmental disability significantly 
affecting verbal and nonverbal communication and social 
interaction, generally evident before age three, that adversely 
affects a child's educational performance. Other 
characteristics often associated with autism are engagement in 
repetitive activities and stereotyped movements, resistance to 
environmental change or change in daily routines, and 
unusual responses to sensory experiences. Autism does not 
apply if a child's educational performance is adversely 
affected primarily because the child has an emotional 
disturbance. A child who manifests the characteristics of 
autism after age three could be identified as having autism if 
the criteria in this definition are satisfied. [ (34 CFR 300.8(c) 
(1)) ]  

[ "Aversive stimuli" means any action used to punish a 
student or to eliminate, reduce, or discourage the problem 
behavior by use of any of the following or any other actions 
that are painful, humiliating, degrading, or abusive:  

1. Noxious odors and tastes. 
2. Water and other mists or sprays. 
3. Blasts of air. 
4. Corporal punishment as defined in § 22.1-279.1 of the 
Code of Virginia. 
5. Verbal and mental abuse. 
6. Placement of a student alone in a room, where the door 
is locked or held shut and the student is prevented from 
leaving the room. 
7. Forced exercise where: 

a. The student's behavior is related to his disability; 
b. The exercise would have a harmful effect on the 
student's health; or 
c. The student's disability prevents participation in 
activities. 

8. Deprivation of necessities, including: 
a. Food or liquid at a time when it is customarily served;  
b. Medication; or 
c. Use of restroom. ]  

"Behavioral intervention plan" means a plan that utilizes 
positive behavioral interventions and supports to address 
[ (i) ] behaviors that [ (i) ] interfere with the learning of 
students with disabilities or with the learning of others or (ii) 
[ behaviors that ] require disciplinary action.  

[ "Behavioral support" means those principles and methods 
employed by a school to help a student achieve positive 
behavior and to address and correct a student's behavior in a 
constructive and safe manner in accordance with written 
policies and procedures governing program expectations, 
educational and treatment goals, safety and security, and the 
student's Individualized Education Program (IEP) or 
Individual Instruction Plan (IIP). ]  

"Board" means the State Board of Education [ , which has 
general supervision of the public school system ]. 

"Business day" means Monday through Friday, 12 months 
of the year, exclusive of federal and state holidays (unless 
holidays are specifically included in the designation of 
business days).  

"Calendar days" means consecutive days, inclusive of 
Saturdays and Sundays. Whenever any period of time fixed 
by this chapter shall expire on a Saturday, Sunday, or federal 
or state holiday, the period of time for taking such action 
under this chapter shall be extended to the next day that is not 
a Saturday, Sunday, or federal or state holiday.  

"Complaint" means an accusation that a school has violated 
one or more of the requirements of this chapter or other 
applicable regulation.  

"Consent" means:  
1. The parent(s) or eligible student has been fully informed 
of all information relevant to the activity for which consent 
is sought in the parent's or eligible student's native 
language or other mode of communication; 
2. The parent(s) or eligible student understands and agrees 
in writing to the carrying out of the activity for which 
consent is sought, and the consent describes that activity 
and lists the records (if any) that will be released and to 
whom; and 
3. The parent(s) or eligible student understands that the 
granting of consent is voluntary on the part of the parent(s) 
or eligible student and may be revoked any time.  

If a parent [ or eligible student ] revokes consent, that 
revocation is not retroactive (i.e., it does not negate an action 
that has occurred after the consent was given and before the 
consent was revoked. [ ) ] Revocation ceases to be relevant 
after the activity for which consent was obtained was 
completed [ .) ]. 

The meaning of the term "consent" is not the same as the 
meaning of the term "agree" or "agreement." "Agree" or 
"agreement" refers to an understanding between the 
parent [ or eligible student ] and the school about a particular 
matter and as required in this chapter. There is no requirement 
that an agreement be in writing, unless stated in this chapter. 
The school should document [ their its ] agreement.  

"Controlled substance" means a drug or other substance 
identified under Schedules I, II, III, IV, or V [ in § 202(c) ] of 
the Controlled Substances Act, 21 USC § 812(c). [ (34 CFR 
300.530 (i)(1)) ]  

"Corrective action plan" means the school's plan of action to 
correct a finding of noncompliance [ applicable to this chapter 
or other applicable regulations ]. The plan must identify 
specific timelines and the person(s) responsible for 
implementation. 

"Deaf-blindness" means simultaneous hearing and visual 
impairments, the combination of which causes such severe 
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communication and other developmental and educational 
needs that they cannot be accommodated in special education 
programs solely for children with deafness or children with 
blindness. [ (34 CFR 300.8(c)(3)) ]  

"Deafness" means a hearing impairment that is so severe 
that the child is impaired in processing linguistic information 
through hearing, with or without amplification, that adversely 
affects the child's educational performance. [ (34 CFR 
300.8(c)(3)) ]  

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Education. 
"Developmental delay" means a disability affecting a child 

age two by September 30 through six, inclusive: [ (34 CFR 
300.8(b) and 34 CFR 300.306(b)) ]  

1. Who (i) is experiencing developmental delays, as 
measured by appropriate diagnostic instruments and 
procedures, in one or more of the following areas: physical 
development, cognitive development, communication 
development, social or emotional development, or adaptive 
development or (ii) has an established physical or mental 
condition that has a high probability of resulting in 
developmental delay; 
2. The delay is not primarily a result of cultural factors, 
environmental or economic disadvantage, or limited 
English proficiency; and 
3. The presence of one or more documented characteristics 
of the delay has an adverse effect on educational 
performance and makes it necessary for the student to have 
specially designed instruction to access and make progress 
in the general educational activities for this age group.  

"Disability category" means a listing of special education 
eligibility classifications for students served including: 
autism, deaf-blindness, developmental delay, emotional 
disability, hearing impairment (including deafness), 
intellectual disability, multiple disabilities, orthopedic 
impairment, other health impairment, specific learning 
disability, speech or language impairment, traumatic brain 
injury, and visual impairment (including blindness). [ § 22.1-
213 of the Code of Virginia; 34 CFR 300.8(a)(1) and 34 CFR 
300.8(a)(2)(i) and (ii)). ]  

"Education records," [ also known as scholastic records, ] 
mean those records that are directly related to a student and 
maintained by the school or by a party acting for the school. 
Education records may be recorded in any manner including, 
but not limited to, handwriting, print, computer media, video 
or audiotape, film, microfilm, or microfiche. Education 
records include discipline and medical records. Education 
records include electronic exchanges between school 
personnel and parent(s) regarding matters associated with the 
child's educational program. 

"Eligible student" means a student who has reached 18 years 
of age. 

"Emotional disability" [ or "emotional disturbance" ] means 
a condition exhibiting one or more of the following 

characteristics over a long period of time and to a marked 
degree that adversely affects a child's educational 
performance: [ (34 CFR 300.8(c)(4)) ]  

1. An inability to learn that cannot be explained by 
intellectual, sensory, or health factors; 
2. An inability to build or maintain satisfactory 
interpersonal relationships with peers and teachers; 
3. Inappropriate types of behavior or feelings under normal 
circumstances; 
4. A general pervasive mood of unhappiness or depression; 
or 
5. A tendency to develop physical symptoms or fears 
associated with personal or school problems. 

Emotional disability [ or emotional disturbance ] includes 
schizophrenia. The term does not apply to children who are 
socially maladjusted, unless it is determined that they have an 
[ emotional disturbance or ] emotional disability as defined 
[ by the Regulations Governing Special Education Programs 
for Children with Disabilities in Virginia in this section ]. 

[ "Funding agency" means a community policy and 
management team under the Children's Services Act, Chapter 
52 (§ 2.2-5200 et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia; 
local school division; or local department of social services. ]  

"Guaranty instrument" means a surety bond, irrevocable 
letter of credit, or certificate of deposit. 

"Hearing impairment" means an impairment in hearing in 
one or both ears, with or without amplification, whether 
permanent or fluctuating, that adversely affects a child's 
educational performance but that is not included under the 
definition of deafness in the Regulations Governing Special 
Education Programs for Children with Disabilities [ in 
Virginia ] (8VAC20-81). [ (34 CFR 300.8(c)(5)) ]  

"Illegal drug" means a controlled substance [ , or a 
prescription drug not prescribed for the person ] but does not 
include a controlled substance that is legally possessed or 
used under the supervision of a licensed [ health-care health 
care ] professional or that is legally possessed or used under 
any other authority under the Controlled Substances Act, 21 
USC § 812(c), or under any other provision of federal law.  

"Individualized Education Program" or "IEP" means a 
written statement for a child with a disability that is 
developed, reviewed, and revised at least annually in a team 
meeting in accordance with the Regulations Governing 
Special Education for Children with Disabilities in Virginia 
[ (8VAC20-81) ]. The IEP specifies the individual 
educational needs of the child and what special education and 
related services are necessary to meet the child's educational 
needs. [ (34 CFR 300.22) ]  

"Individualized Instruction Plan" or "IIP" means a written 
statement [ (plan) ] for a child who is privately placed or for a 
child who has not been determined eligible for special 
education services that is developed, reviewed, and revised at 



Regulations 

Volume 31, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 27, 2015 

2159 

least annually in a team meeting that includes the parent [ and 
student when appropriate ]. The IIP specifies the student's 
academic level, course of study, individual educational needs, 
and the educational services the child will receive. 

"Intellectual disability" means the definition formerly 
known as "mental retardation" and means significantly 
subaverage general intellectual functioning, existing 
concurrently with deficits in adaptive behavior and 
manifested during the developmental period that adversely 
affects a child's educational performance. [ (34 CFR 
300.8(c)(6)) ]  

"Licensee," also known as the sponsor, means the person, 
partnership, corporation, or association to whom a license is 
issued and who is legally responsible for compliance with this 
chapter. 

"License to operate" or "license" means a document issued 
by the [ State state ] Superintendent of Public Instruction that 
[ verifies authorizes ] approval to operate a school for 
students with disabilities [ and that indicates the status of the 
school regarding compliance with applicable regulations ].  

[ "Licensing agency" means the Virginia Department of 
Education.  

"Mechanical restraint" means the use of any device or 
equipment to restrict a student's freedom of movement. This 
term does not include devices implemented by trained school 
personnel or utilized by a student that have been prescribed 
by an appropriate medical or related services professional and 
are used for the specific and approved purposes for which 
such devices were designed, such as: 

1. Adaptive devices or mechanical supports used to 
achieve proper body position, balance, or alignment to 
allow greater freedom of mobility than would be possible 
without the use of such devices or mechanical supports; 
2. Vehicle safety restraints when used as intended during 
the transport of a student in a moving vehicle; 
3. Restraints for medical immobilization; or 
4. Orthopedically prescribed devices that permit a student 
to participate in activities without risk of harm. ]  

"Multiple disabilities" mean simultaneous impairments 
(such as intellectual disability with blindness or intellectual 
disability with orthopedic impairment), the combination of 
which causes such severe educational needs that they cannot 
be accommodated in special education programs solely for 
one of the impairments. The term does not include deaf-
blindness. [ (34 CFR 300.8(c)(7) ]  

"Orthopedic impairment" means a severe orthopedic 
impairment that adversely affects a child's educational 
performance. The term includes impairments caused by 
congenital anomaly, impairments caused by disease (e.g., 
poliomyelitis, bone tuberculosis, etc.), and impairments from 
other causes (e.g., cerebral palsy, amputations, and fractures 
or burns that cause contractures). [ (34 CFR 300.8(c)(8)) ]  

"Other health impairment" means having limited strength, 
vitality, or alertness, including a heightened alertness to 
environmental stimuli, that results in limited alertness with 
respect to the educational environment, that is due to chronic 
or acute health problems such as asthma, attention deficit 
disorder or attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, diabetes, 
epilepsy, a heart condition, hemophilia, lead poisoning, 
leukemia, nephritis, rheumatic fever, sickle cell anemia, and 
Tourette syndrome [ , and ] that adversely affects a child's 
educational performance. [ (34 CFR 300.8(c)(9) ]  

"Paraprofessional," also known as paraeducator, means an 
appropriately trained employee who assists and is supervised 
by qualified professional staff in meeting the requirements of 
this chapter.  

"Parent" means [ (§ 22.1-213.1 of the Code of Virginia) ]: 
1. A person who is: 

a. A biological or adoptive parent of a child; 
b. A foster parent, even if the biological or adoptive 
parent's rights have not been terminated, but subject to 
subdivision [ 2 3 ] of this definition;  
c. A guardian generally authorized to act as the child's 
parent or make educational decisions for the child (but 
not the Commonwealth if the child is a ward of the 
Commonwealth); 
d. An individual acting in the place of a biological or 
adoptive parent (including grandparent, stepparent, or 
other relative) with whom the child lives, or an individual 
who is legally responsible for the child's welfare; or  
e. If no party qualified under subdivisions 1 a through 
[ 1 ] d of this definition can be identified, or those parties 
are unwilling to act as parent, a surrogate parent who has 
been appointed in accordance with [ 8VAC20-81-80 
8VAC20-81-220 ].  

2. The biological or adoptive parent, when attempting to 
act as the parent pursuant to this section and when more 
than one party is qualified under subdivision 1 of this 
definition to act as a parent, must be presumed to be the 
parent for purposes of this section unless the biological or 
adoptive parent has had his residual parental rights and 
responsibilities terminated pursuant to § 16.1-277.01, 16.1-
277.02, or 16.1-283 of the Code of Virginia or a 
comparable law in another state. 
3. The local school division shall provide written notice to 
the biological or adoptive parents at their last known 
address that a foster parent is acting as the parent pursuant 
to this section, and the local school division is entitled to 
rely upon the actions of the foster parent pursuant to this 
section until such time that the biological or adoptive 
parent attempts to act as the parent. 
4. If a judicial decree or order identifies a specific person 
or persons among subdivisions 1 a through [ 1 ] e of this 
definition to act as the "parent" of a child or to make 
educational decisions on behalf of a child, then such person 
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or persons shall be determined to be the "parent" for 
purposes of the special education identification, evaluation, 
and placement of a child and the provision of a free 
appropriate public education to a child.  

[ "Pat down" means a thorough external body search of a 
clothed student. ]  

"Personally identifiable information" means information that 
includes, but is not limited to:  

1. The student's name, the child's parent, or other family 
member;  
2. The address of the child; 
3. A personal identifier, such as the child's social security 
number or student number; or 
4. A list of personal characteristics that would make the 
student's identity easily traceable. 

[ "Pharmacological restraints" means a drug or medication 
used on a student to control behavior or restrict freedom of 
movement that is not (i) prescribed by a licensed physician or 
other qualified health professional acting under the scope of 
the professional's authority for the standard treatment of a 
student's medical or psychiatric condition and (ii) 
administered as prescribed by the licensed physician or other 
qualified health professional acting under the scope of the 
professional's authority. ]  

"Physical restraint" means the use of approved physical 
interventions or "hands-on" holds by trained staff to prevent a 
student from moving his body to engage in a behavior that 
places him or others at risk of physical harm. Physical 
restraint does not include: 

1. Briefly holding a student in order to calm or comfort the 
student; or 
2. Holding a student's hand or arm to escort the student 
safely from one area to another. [ (Board of Education's 
Guidelines for the Development of Policies and Procedures 
for Managing Student Behaviors in Emergency Situations)  

"Placing agency" means the community policy and 
management team under the Children's Services Act, Chapter 
52 (§ 2.2-5200 et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia; 
the local school division; or the local department of social 
services. ]  

"Privately placed student" means a student placed in a 
private school for students with disabilities by [ his parent(s) 
the parent ]. 

"Publicly placed student" means a student placed in a private 
school for students with disabilities by a local school division 
[ or, family assessment and planning team under the ] 
[ Comprehensive Children's ] Services Act [ team, ] or [ by ] 
court order. 

"Qualified personnel" or "qualified staff" means personnel 
who have met [ Virginia Department of Education approved 
or recognized the state-approved or state-recognized ] 
certification, licensing, [ registration, or other comparable 

requirements that apply to the area in which the individual is 
providing special education or related services. In addition, 
the professional must meet other state agency requirements 
for such professional service and Virginia licensure 
requirements as designated by Virginia law or regulations or 
other comparable requirement applicable to a specific 
discipline ].  

[ "Regular basis" means more than twice a month. ]  
"Related services" means transportation and such 

developmental, corrective, and other supportive services as 
are required to assist a child with a disability to benefit from 
special education and includes speech-language pathology 
and audiology services; interpreting services; psychological 
services; physical and occupational therapy; recreation, 
including therapeutic recreation; early identification and 
assessment of disabilities in children; counseling services, 
including rehabilitation counseling; orientation and mobility 
services and medical services for diagnostic or evaluation 
purposes. Related services also [ includes include ] school 
health services and school nurse services; social work 
services in schools; and parent counseling and training. 
Related services do not include a medical device that is 
surgically implanted including cochlear implants, the 
optimization of device functioning (e.g., mapping), 
maintenance of the device, or the replacement of that device. 
The list of related services is not exhaustive and may include 
other developmental, corrective, or supportive services (such 
as artistic and cultural programs, and art, music and dance 
therapy, if they are required to assist a child with a disability 
to benefit from special education [ ) ]. [ (§ 22.2-213 of the 
Code of Virginia; 34 CFR 300.34(a) and (b)) ]  

"School" means a school for students with disabilities that 
has a license to operate issued by the Superintendent of 
Public Instruction.  

"School for students with disabilities [ , ]" [ "school," ] or 
"schools" means a privately owned and operated preschool, 
school or educational organization, no matter how titled, 
maintained, or conducting classes for the purpose of offering 
instruction, for a consideration, profit or tuition, to persons 
determined to have autism, deaf-blindness, developmental 
delay, a hearing impairment including deafness, [ intellectual 
disability, ] multiple disabilities, orthopedic impairment, 
other health impairment, an emotional disturbance, [ a severe 
disability, ] a specific learning disability, a speech or 
language impairment, a traumatic brain injury, or a visual 
impairment including blindness. [ (§ 22.1-319 of the Code of 
Virginia) ]  

"Seclusion" means the confinement of a student alone in a 
room from which the student is physically prevented from 
leaving. [ ( Board of Education's Guidelines for the 
Development of Policies and Procedures for Managing 
Student Behaviors in Emergency Situations) 

"Section 504" means that section of the Rehabilitation Act 
of 1973 (29 USC § 701 et seq.), as amended, which is 
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designed to eliminate discrimination on the basis of disability 
in any program or activity receiving federal financial 
assistance. ] 

"Serious incident" means: 
1. Any accident or injury requiring medical attention by a 
licensed physician; 
2. Any illness that requires hospitalization; 
3. Any runaway; or 
4. Any event that affects, or potentially may affect, the 
health, safety, or welfare of any student being served at the 
school or school-related activity.  

"Serious injury" means any injury resulting in bodily hurt, 
damage, harm, or loss that requires medical attention by a 
licensed physician.  

"Special education" means specially designed instruction to 
meet the unique needs of a child with a disability. [ There is 
no cost to the parent(s) for special education for a child who 
is placed in a school for students with disabilities by a school 
division, the Department of Social Services, or court order. 
(§ 22.1-213 of the Code of Virginia; 34 CFR 300.39) ]  

The term includes: 
1. Speech-language pathology services or any other related 
service, if the service is considered special education rather 
than a related service under state standards; 
2. Vocational education; and 
3. Travel training.  

"Specially designed instruction" means adapting, as 
appropriate [ , ] to the needs of an eligible child under this 
chapter, the content, methodology, or delivery of instruction 
to: [ (34 CFR 300.39(b)(3)) ]  

1. Address the unique needs of the child that result from 
the child's disability; and 
2. Ensure access of the child to the general curriculum [ , ] 
so that the child can meet the educational standards that 
apply to all children within the jurisdiction of the local 
educational agency. 

"Specific learning disability" means a disorder in one or 
more of the basic psychological processes involved in 
understanding or in using language, spoken or written, that 
may manifest itself in the imperfect ability to listen, think, 
speak, read, write, spell, or do mathematical calculations, 
including conditions such as perceptual disabilities, brain 
injury, minimal brain dysfunction, dyslexia, and 
developmental aphasia. Specific learning disability does not 
include learning problems that are primarily the result of (i) 
visual, hearing, or motor disabilities; (ii) intellectual 
disabilities; (iii) emotional disabilities; or (iv) environmental, 
cultural, or economic disadvantage. [ (§ 22.1-213 of the Code 
of Virginia; 34 CFR 300.8(c)(10)) ]  

Dyslexia is distinguished from other learning disabilities due 
to its weakness occurring at the phonological level. Dyslexia 

is a specific learning disability that is neurobiological in 
origin. It is characterized by difficulties with accurate [ or 
and/or ] fluent word recognition and by poor spelling and 
decoding abilities. These difficulties typically result from a 
deficit in the phonological component of language that is 
often unexpected in relation to other cognitive abilities and 
the provision of effective classroom instruction. Secondary 
consequences may include problems in reading 
comprehension and reduced reading experience that can 
impede growth of vocabulary and background knowledge.  

"Speech or language impairment" means a communication 
disorder, such as stuttering, impaired articulation, expressive 
or receptive language impairment, or voice impairment, that 
adversely affects a child's educational performance. [ (34 
CFR 300.8(c)(11)) ]  

"Standard precautions" mean [ universal ] precautions 
designed to prevent transmission of HIV, hepatitis B virus 
(HBV), and other bloodborne pathogens when providing first 
aid or health care. Standard [ cautions precautions ] apply to 
blood; all body fluids, secretions, and excretions except 
sweat, regardless of whether or not they contain blood; 
nonintact skin; and mucous membranes. The precautions are 
designed to reduce the risk of transmission of microorganisms 
from both recognized and unrecognized sources of infection 
when providing first aid or health care. Standard precautions 
include protective barriers such as gloves, gowns, aprons, 
masks, or protective eye wear that can reduce the risk of 
exposure with materials that may contain infectious 
microorganisms. 

"Standards of Learning" or "SOL" means Virginia's rigorous 
academic standards established by the Board of Education. 

"Strip search" means a visual inspection of the body of a 
student when that student's outer clothing or total clothing is 
removed, and there is an inspection of the removed clothing. 
Strip searches are conducted for the detection of contraband. 

[ "Substantial compliance" means that while there may be 
noncompliance with one or more regulations that represent 
minimum risk, compliance clearly and obviously exists with 
most of the regulations as a whole. ]  

"Superintendent" means the [ State state ] Superintendent of 
Public Instruction. 

"Teacher of record" means the teacher who is responsible 
for the delivery of instruction. The teacher of record shall 
hold a license issued by the [ State Virginia ] Board of 
Education. 

"Time-out" means assisting a student to regain control by 
removing the student from his immediate environment to a 
different open location until the student is calm or the 
problem behavior has subsided. [ (Board of Education's 
Guidelines for the Development of Policies and Procedures 
for Managing Student Behaviors in Emergency Situations) ]  

"Traumatic brain injury" means an acquired injury to the 
brain caused by an external physical force, resulting in total 
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or partial functional disability or psychosocial impairment, or 
both, that adversely affects a child's educational performance. 
Traumatic brain injury  applies to open or closed head injuries 
resulting in impairments in one or more areas, such as 
cognition; language; memory; attention; reasoning; abstract 
thinking; judgment; [ problem-solving problem solving ]; 
sensory, perceptual, and motor abilities; psychosocial 
behavior; physical functions; information processing; and 
speech. Traumatic brain injury does not apply to brain 
injuries that are congenital or degenerative or to brain injuries 
induced by birth trauma. [ (34 CFR 300.8(c)(12)) ]  

"Visual impairment including blindness" means an 
impairment in vision that, even with correction, adversely 
affects a child's educational performance. The term includes 
both partial sight and blindness. [ (34 CFR 300.8(c)(13)) ]  

"Volunteer" means any individual who of his own free will 
and without compensation provides goods or services to the 
school. 

"Virtual learning" means the delivery of instruction through 
emerging technologies such as satellite, streaming video, or 
the Internet.  
8VAC20-671-20. Exemptions. 

This chapter shall not apply to any of the following [ at 
§ 22.1-320 of the Code of Virginia ]: 

1. Any school that is licensed or approved pursuant to 
other statutes of the Commonwealth; 
2. Any public or private high school accredited or 
recognized by the Board of Education that has offered or 
may offer programs for students with disabilities covered 
in this chapter [ , ] if any tuition, fees, and charges made by 
the school are collected in accordance with the regulations 
prescribed by the governing body of such school;  
3. Tutorial instruction given in a private home or elsewhere 
as supplemental to regular classes for students enrolled in 
any public or private school or in preparation of an 
individual for an examination for professional practice or 
higher education; 
4. A program through which persons with disabilities are 
provided employment and training primarily in simple 
skills in a sheltered or protective environment; [ or ]  
5. Any privately owned or operated preschool, or 
elementary, middle, or secondary school that operates 
primarily to provide educational services to students 
without disabilities, although the school may serve children 
with disabilities in a regular academic setting [ ; or 
6. Any private school for students with disabilities that 
operates in or on the premises of an elementary, middle, or 
secondary public school in a regular school setting during a 
typical school day ].  

8VAC20-671-30. Licenses generally. 
A. The Board of Education has established general 

requirements for a license to operate a private school for 

students with disabilities and has authorized the 
Superintendent of Public Instruction to issue licenses. The 
following applies in accordance with § 22.1-323 of the Code 
of Virginia: 

1. No person shall open, operate, or conduct any school for 
students with disabilities in this Commonwealth without a 
license to operate. 
2. A license to operate shall be restricted to the disability 
categories specifically indicated on the license, which may 
include one or more of the disability categories in the 
definition of a school for students with disabilities in this 
chapter.  
3. A license to operate may be issued for a period of up to 
three successive years. 
4. The term of a school's license may be reduced at any 
time during the licensure period based on a change in the 
school's compliance with these requirements. 
5. A license to operate shall be prominently displayed on 
the premises of the school in a place open for inspection by 
any interested person during the hours of operation.  
6. A license to operate shall be restricted to the approved 
conditions as printed on the license. Such conditions 
include, but are not limited to, the maximum number of 
students that can be enrolled, the disability category or 
categories of students that can be served, [ and the ] age 
range and gender [ , and grade levels ]. 

B. An individual seeking to operate a school for students 
with disabilities shall file an application with the [ licensing 
agency department ].  

 [ C. The department may make exception to the 
requirements of this chapter for good cause. ]  
8VAC20-671-40. Advertising. 

The following provisions consistent with [ § 22.1-323 
§ 22.1-325 ] of the Code of Virginia regarding advertisement 
of a school shall apply: 

1. No school may use the seal of the Commonwealth in any 
advertisement, publication, or document, including 
diplomas, certificates, and other awards. 
2. The advertisement of a school shall be in a form and 
manner that is free from misrepresentation, deception, or 
fraud and shall conform to the following: 

a. The complete school name as listed on the license to 
operate shall be used in all publicity, publications, or 
promotions or for marketing purposes. 
b. Advertisement shall not expressly or by implication 
indicate by any means that the license to operate 
represents an endorsement by the Virginia Department of 
Education or the Board of Education. 
c. No fraudulent or misleading statement shall be in print 
or nonprint about the school's admission policy, tuition 
and fees; programs and services; size and location; or any 
other information concerning the school. 
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d. Endorsements, commendations, or recommendations 
by students, individuals, manufacturers, business 
establishments, or organizations are prohibited except 
with their written consent and without any offer of 
financial compensation. 
e. The accrediting agency shall be named [ , using its 
official title ] if accreditation is used [ , ] as part of a 
school's promotional materials. 

3. Prospective applicants may advertise projected services 
and staff positions while in the application process but 
shall not misrepresent licensure status and shall not enroll 
students prior to receiving a license to operate from the 
Superintendent of Public Instruction. 

8VAC20-671-50. Types of licenses. 
The following shall apply consistent with [ § §§ 22.1-323, ] 

22.1-323.1 [ , and 22.1-323.2 ] of the Code of Virginia: 
1. A conditional license [ shall may ] be issued [ to a new 
school that demonstrates compliance with administrative 
and policy requirements but has not demonstrated 
compliance with all requirements of this chapter upon 
approval of an application to operate a school for students 
with disabilities not to exceed a period of six months ]. 
 [ a. ] A conditional license may be renewed [ for a period 
of six months when a new school demonstrates compliance 
with administrative and policy requirements but has not 
fully demonstrated substantial compliance with 
requirements of this chapter ]. 

 [ b. The issuance of a conditional license and any 
renewals thereof shall be for no longer a period than six 
successive months.  

2. A provisional license may be issued to a school that has 
demonstrated an inability to maintain compliance with this 
chapter or other applicable regulations. 

a. A provisional license may be issued at any time. 
b. A provisional license may be renewed.  
c. The issuance of a provisional license and any renewal 
thereof shall be for no longer a period than six successive 
months.  

3. 2. ] An annual license may be issued under the following 
conditions and may be extended for a period not to exceed 
[ six 36 ] successive months: 

a. A school [ applies for renewal provides notice for 
continued licensure ] while holding a conditional or 
provisional license. 
[ b. When a school holds a provisional license and ] 
substantially meets the requirements of this chapter;  
[ b. The licensing agency determines that a major 
violation has occurred that impacts the overall operation 
of the school; or ]  
c. [ The When a ] school makes significant changes in its 
operation. 

[ 4. 3. ] A triennial license shall be issued when a school [ : 
holds an annual or triennial license and substantially meets 
the requirements of this chapter. ]  

[ a. Applies for renewal while holding an annual or 
triennial license; and 
b. Substantially meets or exceeds the requirements of this 
chapter and other applicable regulations. 

5. 4. ] The term of a school's license may be [ modified at 
any time during the licensure period based on a change in 
the school's reduced to provisional when the school has 
demonstrated an inability to achieve or maintain ] 
compliance with this chapter [ and or ] other applicable 
regulations. 

[ a. A provisional license may be issued at any time. 
b. A provisional license may be renewed. 
c. The issuance of a provisional license and any renewal 
thereof shall be for no longer a period than six successive 
months. ]  

8VAC20-671-60. Change in condition. 
A. A condition of a license may be modified during the term 

of the license with respect to: capacity of the school or 
classrooms; disability category or categories of students 
served; age range [ of students ]; [ grade levels, ] change in 
location; change in services; change in ownership; merger of 
schools; and enrollment of day student(s) in a residential 
setting. 

B. A change in a condition shall not be implemented prior to 
approval by the [ licensing agency department ]. [ The 
licensing agency shall respond to the request and provide 
approval or denial in 10 calendar days following the date the 
request was received. 

C. A change in a condition may not be approved during a 
provisional or conditional licensure period. ]  
8VAC20-671-70. License to operate is nontransferable. 

A change of ownership occurs when control of a school 
changes from one owner to another. If there is a change in 
ownership, the following shall apply:  

1. The licensee shall notify the [ licensing agency 
department ] at least 30 calendar days prior to the proposed 
change. 
2. The new owner shall submit an initial application for a 
license to operate to the [ licensing agency department ] 
within 30 calendar days following the effective date of the 
change in ownership. 
3. The school may operate under the existing license for 60 
calendar days from the effective date of the change in 
ownership at which time a conditional license may be 
issued. 
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8VAC20-671-80. Penalty for noncompliance in obtaining 
a license to operate. 

[ Failure to obtain a license to operate Operating ] a school 
for students with disabilities [ without a license ] shall result 
in the following penalties allowed in § 22.1-331 of the Code 
of Virginia: 

1. Any person who opens, operates, or conducts a school 
without first obtaining a license to operate [ may shall ] be 
[ found  ] guilty of a Class 2 misdemeanor. 
2. Each day [ such person who permits ] the school 
[ remains to be ] open [ and operate ] without a license [ to 
operate, the owner or board of directors ] shall incur a 
separate offense. 
3. The [ licensing agency department ] shall refer [ to the 
Office of the Attorney General any alleged or known 
violation of this chapter. The Office of the Attorney 
General shall refer the matter any person who opens, 
operates, or conducts a school for students with disabilities 
without a license ] to the [ appropriate ] Commonwealth's 
attorney [ of proper jurisdiction ]. 

8VAC20-671-90. [ Directory List ] of private schools for 
students with disabilities. 

The [ licensing agency department ] shall maintain a 
[ directory list ] of schools holding valid licenses to operate 
that shall be available to the public [ (§ 22.1-332 of the Code 
of Virginia) ]. The [ directory shall identify other applicable 
state licensing agencies over the school and list ] may include 
additional information to inform the public about the school's 
operation. 
8VAC20-671-100. Initial application. 

To obtain a license to operate a school for students with 
disabilities, an application shall be filed with the [ Virginia ] 
Department of Education. A completed initial application 
shall include the following: 

1. Complete name [ and with ] physical [ address and 
mailing addresses ] of the school; 
2. Name and address of owners, controlling officials, and 
managing employees; 
3. Evidence that the applicant has [ conducted a needs 
assessment assessed the community's need for a new 
school ]; 
4. Evidence of the applicant's compliance with the 
applicable regulations of the State Corporation 
Commission when the school is owned by a partnership or 
corporation; 
5. Narrative description of building and scale [ drawing 
drawings ] or copy of all floor plans including room use 
and dimensions; 
6. Certificate of occupancy with educational use group or 
other report from the appropriate government agency or 
agencies indicating that the location meets applicable 

zoning, building code, use permit, business license, fire 
safety, and sanitation requirements;  
7. Copy of the deed, lease, or other legal instrument 
authorizing the school to occupy such location; 
8. Proposed working budget for the year showing projected 
revenue and expenses for the first year of operation and a 
balance sheet showing assets and liabilities; a three-year 
financial plan; and documentation of sufficient operating 
capital or line of credit to carry the school through the first 
year of operation; 
9. Original signed surety bond, irrevocable letter of credit, 
or certificate of deposit to protect the contractual rights of 
parents and students; 
10. Schedule of tuition and other fees and the procedure for 
collecting and refunding tuition; 
11. Copies of all proposed advertisements;  
12. Description of the education program to include 
disability category or categories to be served, enrollment 
capacity, [ grade level or levels, ] age range, gender, and 
course offerings;  
13. Listing of instructional resources and equipment; 
14. Description of related services;  
15. School's policy manual; 
16. Proposed staffing and organizational chart; 
17. Job description for each position; 
18. Parent/student handbook; 
19. Statement [ of regarding ] transportation services if the 
school provides transportation for students; 
20. Statement regarding provision of student lunches; 
[ 21. Description of the behavior management program; ] 
and 
[ 21. 22. ] Any other information necessary to complete the 
application process. 

8VAC20-671-110. Applicant commitments. 
Each application for a license to operate a school for 

students with disabilities shall contain the following 
commitments: 

1. To conduct the school in accordance with all applicable 
regulations of the board; 
2. To permit the board or department to inspect the school 
or classes being conducted therein at any time and to make 
available to the board or department, when requested to do 
so, all information pertaining to the activities of the school 
required for the administration of this chapter, including its 
financial condition; 
3. To advertise the school at all times in a form and manner 
that is free from misrepresentation, deception, or fraud and 
to conform to provisions of the board governing such 
advertising; 
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4. To ensure that all representations made by an agent of 
the school are free from misrepresentation, deception, or 
fraud and to conform to provisions of the board governing 
such advertising;  
5. To display the current license to operate prominently 
where it may be inspected by students, visitors, and the 
board or department; and 
6. To maintain all premises, equipment, and facilities of the 
school in an adequate, safe, and sanitary condition.  

8VAC20-671-120. Assessment of application. 
A. The [ licensing agency department ] shall evaluate each 

application within 60 calendar days from the date received 
and advise the applicant in writing of approval or 
deficiencies. 

B. The applicant shall correct all deficiencies within 30 
calendar days from the date of the written assessment of the 
application. The [ licensing agency department ] may grant an 
extension for a reasonable period of time.  

C. [ Any application that has not been approved within the 
allotted time period shall be denied and returned to the 
applicant. The applicant may reapply for a license 90 calendar 
days following the date of the returned application. The 
department shall conduct a review of the character, 
reputation, and status with other licensing agencies, and the 
responsibility of the applicant before issuing a license. ] 

D. The [ licensing agency department ] may require the 
applicant to [ appear before a review committee for meet with 
department staff before ] final approval of the application.  
8VAC20-671-130. On-site inspection. 

Before a license can be issued [ to an applicant ], the 
[ licensing agency department ] shall conduct an on-site 
inspection or [ equivalent virtual inspection review 
photographs or videos ] of the school building and grounds to 
determine its suitability for the operation of a school for 
students with disabilities. 
8VAC20-671-140. Renewal of licenses. 

[ A. Sixty calendar days prior to the expiration of a license 
to operate, the licensee shall submit to the licensing agency 
notification of intent for continued operation of the school.  

B. A. ] The license of each school that continues to operate 
as such shall be renewed on or before the anniversary date set 
by the [ licensing agency department ]. 

[ C. B. ] Each license that has not been renewed in 
accordance with this chapter shall expire [ and a new license 
shall be obtained from the board before such school may 
continue to operate. A new application must be submitted to 
the licensing agency ]. 
8VAC20-671-150. Monitoring. 

The [ licensing agency department ] shall: 
1. Make at least one [ announced or ] unannounced visit 
during the effective dates of the license to operate for the 

purpose of monitoring the school's compliance with this 
chapter; 
2. Notify relevant local governments and placing and 
funding agencies of health and safety or human rights 
violations. 
3. [ Notify the appropriate public agencies when a school's 
licensure status is lowered to provisional; 
4. ] Cooperate with other [ state ] licensing agencies [ , 
specifically, the Department of Social Services and the 
Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 
Services, ] in fulfilling licensing responsibilities [ . The 
licensing agency shall notify relevant local governments 
and placing and funding agencies when a school's licensure 
status is lowered to provisional.; and 
5. Re-examine findings of noncompliance in consultation 
with the school administrator when there is disagreement 
and amend any written report as appropriate in seven 
business days. ]  

8VAC20-671-160. Complaint resolution procedures. 
A. A complaint may be filed with the [ licensing agency 

department ] by any individual or organization and shall 
address an action that occurred not more than one year prior 
to the date the complaint is received by the [ licensing agency 
department ]. 

B. A complaint must provide a statement of some 
disagreement with procedures or process regarding any matter 
relative to this chapter or other applicable regulations. 

C. Upon receipt of a complaint, the [ licensing agency 
department ] shall initiate an investigation to determine 
whether the school is in compliance with applicable laws and 
regulations in accordance with the following procedures: 

1. Within seven business days of the receipt of a complaint, 
the [ licensing agency department ] shall provide written 
notification to each complainant and the private school. 

a. The notification sent to the school shall include: 
(1) A copy of the complaint; 
(2) An offer of technical assistance in resolving the 
complaint; 
(3) A statement that the school has the opportunity to 
propose a resolution of the complaint; 
(4) A request that the school submit within 10 business 
days of receipt of the letter of notification either: 
(a) Written documentation that the complaint has been 
resolved; or  
(b) If the complaint was not resolved, a written response 
including all requested documentation.  

2. The [ licensing agency department ] shall review the 
complaint and the school's response and determine the 
need for any further investigation or corrections. 
3. The [ licensing agency department ] shall notify 
appropriate agencies of serious violations. 
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4. During the course of the investigation, the [ licensing 
agency department ] shall: 

a. Conduct an investigation of the complaint that shall 
include a complete review of all relevant documentation 
and may include interviews with appropriate individuals 
and an independent on-site investigation, if necessary. 
b. Consider all facts and issues presented and the 
applicable requirements specified in this chapter or other 
applicable regulations.  
c. Make a determination of compliance or noncompliance 
on each issue in the complaint based upon the facts and 
applicable regulations and notify the parties in writing of 
the findings and the bases for such findings. The 
[ licensing agency department ] has 60 calendar days 
after the written complaint is received to carry out the 
investigation and to [ resolve the complaint issue a letter 
of finding ]. An extension of the 60 calendar day time 
limit may occur if exceptional circumstances exist with 
respect to a particular complaint. 
d. Ensure that the final decision is effectively 
implemented, if needed, through technical assistance 
activities, negotiations, and corrective actions to achieve 
compliance. 
e. Notify the parties in writing of any needed corrective 
actions and the specific steps that shall be taken by the 
school to bring it into compliance with applicable 
timelines. 

[ E. D. ] Parties to the complaint procedures shall have the 
right to appeal the final decision to the [ licensing agency 
department ] within 30 calendar days of the issuance of the 
decision. 

[ F. E. ] When the school develops a plan of action to correct 
the violations, such plan shall include timelines to correct 
violations not to exceed 30 business days unless 
circumstances warrant otherwise. The plan of action shall 
include a description of all [ proposed ] changes 
[ contemplated ] and shall be subject to approval of the 
[ licensing agency department ]. 

[ G. F. ] If the school does not come into compliance within 
the period of time set forth in the notification, the [ licensing 
agency department ] may reduce or revoke the school's 
license to operate. 
8VAC20-671-170. Denial, revocation, or suspension of 
license. 

A. The [ superintendent board ] may refuse to issue or renew 
a license to operate or may revoke or suspend a license issued 
to any school pursuant to this chapter for the following causes 
[ (§ 22.1-329 of the Code of Virginia) ]: 

1. Violating any provision of this chapter or regulation of 
the board;  

2. Furnishing false, misleading, or incomplete information 
to the board or department or failure to furnish information 
requested by the board or department; 
3. Violating any commitment made in an application for a 
license; 
4. Presenting either by the school or by any agent of the 
school to prospective students information relating to the 
school which is false, misleading, or fraudulent;  
5. Failing to provide or maintain premises or equipment in 
a safe and sanitary condition as required by law; 
6. Making any false promises through agents or by 
advertising or otherwise of a character likely to influence, 
persuade, or induce enrollments;  
7. Paying a commission or valuable consideration to any 
person for any act of service performed in willful violation 
of this chapter; 
8. Failing to maintain financial resources adequate for the 
satisfactory conduct of courses of instruction offered or to 
retain a sufficient or qualified instructional staff; 
9. Demonstrating unworthiness or incompetency to 
conduct the school in a manner calculated to safeguard the 
interests of the public; 
10. Failing within a reasonable time to provide information 
requested by the board or department as a result of a 
formal or informal complaint to or by the board or 
department that would indicate a violation of these 
requirements;  
11. Attempting to use or employ any enrolled students in 
any commercial activity whereby the school receives any 
compensation whatsoever without reasonable remuneration 
to the student, except to the extent that employment of 
students in such activities is necessary or essential to their 
training and is permitted and authorized by the board; or 
12. Engaging in or authorizing any other conduct, whether 
of the same or of a different character from that specified 
in this section, that constitutes fraudulent or dishonest 
dealings.  

[ B. The provisions of the Administrative Process Act 
(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) shall be 
applicable to proceedings under this section. ]  
8VAC20-671-180. Summary or final order of suspension. 

 [ The provisions of the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-
4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) shall be applicable to 
proceedings under this section. ] In compliance with § 22.1-
329 of the Code of Virginia, the following shall apply: 

1. In addition to the authority for other disciplinary actions 
provided in this chapter, the Superintendent of Public 
Instruction may issue a summary order of suspension of a 
license of a residential or day school for students with 
disabilities in conjunction with any proceeding for 
revocation, denial, or other action when conditions or 
practices exist in the school that pose an immediate and 
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substantial threat to the health, safety, and welfare of the 
students who are residing or attending the school and the 
Superintendent of Public Instruction believes the operation 
of the school should be suspended during the pendency of 
such proceeding. 
2. The summary order of suspension shall take effect upon 
its issuance and shall be served on the licensee or its 
designee as soon as practicable thereafter by personal 
service and certified mail, return receipt requested, to the 
address of record of the licensee. The order shall state the 
time, date, and location of a hearing to determine whether 
the suspension is appropriate. Such hearing shall be held 
no later than three business days after the issuance of the 
summary order of suspension and shall be convened by the 
Superintendent of Public Instruction or designee. 
3. After such hearing, the Superintendent of Public 
Instruction may issue a final order of summary suspension 
or may find that such summary suspension is not warranted 
by the facts and circumstances presented. A final order of 
summary suspension shall include notice that the licensee 
may appeal the Superintendent of Public Instruction's 
decision to the appropriate circuit court no later than 10 
days following issuance of the order. The sole issue before 
the court shall be whether the Superintendent of Public 
Instruction had reasonable grounds to require the licensee 
to cease operations during the pendency of the concurrent 
revocation, denial, or other proceeding. The concurrent 
revocation, denial, or other proceeding shall not be affected 
by the outcome of any hearing on the appropriateness of 
the summary suspension.  
4. The willful and material failure to comply with the 
summary order of suspension or final order of summary 
suspension shall be punishable as a Class 2 misdemeanor. 
The Superintendent of Public Instruction may require the 
cooperation of any other agency or subdivision of the 
Commonwealth in the relocation of students who are 
residents of a home or facility whose license has been 
summarily suspended pursuant to this section and in any 
other actions necessary to reduce the risk of further harm to 
students. 

8VAC20-671-190. Timeline for correction of 
unsatisfactory conditions. 

In compliance with § 22.1-330 of the Code of Virginia, the 
board or department: 

1. May, upon its own motion, and shall, upon the verified 
complaint in writing of any person setting forth facts that 
[ , ] if proved [ , ] would constitute grounds for refusal, 
suspension, or revocation of a license, investigate the 
actions of any applicant for or any person or persons 
holding or claiming to hold a license to operate [ a 
school ].  
2. Before refusing to renew, revoking, or suspending any 
license, may grant such period of time as it deems 
reasonable to correct any unsatisfactory condition. 

8VAC20-671-200. Governing body. 
A. Each school shall use its complete name as [ listed 

printed ] on the license to operate for all publicity, 
publications, promotions, or marketing purposes.  

B. Any governing board, body, entity, or person to whom it 
delegates the legal responsibilities and duties of the licensee 
shall be clearly identified.  
8VAC20-671-210. Responsibilities of the licensee. 

The licensee shall: 
1. Appoint an individual(s) to whom it delegates the 
authority and responsibility to assume the administrative 
direction of the school. The appointment shall be in 
writing. 
2. Develop and implement a written decision-making plan 
that shall include provision for a staff person with the 
qualifications of the school administrator or education 
program director to be designated to assume the temporary 
responsibility for the operation of the school in the absence 
of the school administrator. The plan shall include a 
current organizational chart. 
3. Ensure that staff positions and responsibilities meet the 
needs of the population served. 
4. Develop a written statement of the objectives of the 
school including a description of the target population and 
the program offerings. 
5. Develop and implement written policies and procedures 
to monitor and evaluate the effectiveness of the education 
program on a systematic and ongoing basis and implement 
improvements when the need is determined. 
6. Ensure compliance with applicable child labor laws. 
7. Develop a written policy prohibiting the consumption of 
tobacco products, [ illegal ] drugs, and alcohol or being 
under the influence of intoxicating or hallucinogenic 
agents while on campus and at school-sponsored [ student ] 
activities.  
8. Require as a condition of employment that any applicant 
who accepts employment full-time or part-time, permanent 
or temporary, [ including interns and ] volunteers [ to on a 
regular basis and will be alone with a student in the 
performance of his duties, or anyone who provides 
contractual services, including services of a student intern, 
on a regular basis and will be alone with a student in the 
performance of his duties shall ] submit to fingerprinting 
and to provide personal descriptive information to be 
forwarded along with the applicant's fingerprints through 
[ Virginia's the ] Central Criminal Records Exchange to the 
Federal Bureau of Investigation for the purpose of 
obtaining criminal history record information regarding 
such applicant. [ In addition, where the applicant has 
resided in another state within the last five years, the 
school shall as a condition of employment determine if 
there are any founded complaints of child abuse or neglect 
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in such state(s) pursuant to §§ 22.1-296.3 and 22.1-296.4 
of the Code of Virginia. 
Anyone who is hired or is approved to provide volunteer 
services, contractual services, or services of a student-
intern on a regular basis and will be alone with students 
cannot begin working with children until the criminal 
history background check has been received by the 
school. ]  
9. Require as a condition of employment that any applicant 
who accepts employment requiring direct contact with 
students, whether full-time or part-time, permanent or 
temporary, [ including interns and ] volunteers [ on a 
regular basis and will be alone with a student in the 
performance of his duties; or anyone who provides 
contractual services, including services of a student intern 
on a regular basis and will be alone with a student in the 
performance of his duties, shall ] provide written consent 
and necessary personal information for the school to obtain 
a search of the registry of founded complaints of child 
abuse and neglect maintained by the Department of Social 
Services [ pursuant to § 63.2-1515 of the Code of 
Virginia ]. [ Where the applicant has resided in another 
state within the last five years, the school shall as a 
condition of employment, determine if there are any 
founded complaints of child abuse or neglect in such 
state(s) pursuant to §§ 22.1-296.3 and 22.1-296.4 of the 
Code of Virginia.  

a. Anyone who has not submitted to a search of the 
registry of founded complaints of child abuse and neglect 
maintained by the Department of Social Services shall 
not be permitted to work alone with children. 
b. The results of the search of the registry must be 
received prior to permitting an applicant to work alone 
with children. ]  

10. Notify the [ licensing agency department ] within five 
calendar days of any change in administration or newly 
appointed individual responsible for the day-to-day 
administration or operation of the school. 
11. Ensure that all staff members receive annual 
professional development related to their job 
responsibilities.  
12. Report to the [ licensing agency department ] within 10 
business days lawsuits [ , settlements, or criminal charges 
relating to the operation of the school against or 
settlements with the licensee relating to the health and 
safety or human rights of students and any criminal 
charges against any staff that may be related to the health 
and safety or human rights of students ]. 
13. Develop and implement an accessible policy and 
procedures to handle [ grievances school related 
complaints ] from students, parents, and employees. 
[ Schools are required to provide written notification of the 

right to file a complaint with the department's private 
school licensure office.  
14. The school shall have a written policy and procedure 
that the school does not discriminate according to state and 
federal law. ]  

8VAC20-671-220. Fiscal accountability. 
A. The licensee shall prepare at the end of each fiscal year:  

1. An operating statement to include a month-to-month 
accounting of revenue and expenses for the fiscal year just 
ended; 
2. A working budget showing projected revenue and 
expenses for the next fiscal year that gives evidence of 
sufficient funds to operate; and 
3. A balance sheet showing assets and liabilities for the 
fiscal year just ended. 

B. There shall be a system of financial recordkeeping that 
shows a separation of the school's accounts from all other 
records. 

C. There shall be written policies and procedures that 
address the day-to-day handling of the school's funds. 

D. The [ licensing agency department ] reserves the right to 
call for one of these two types of statements: 

1. An audited financial statement certified by an outside 
independent certified public accountant in accordance with 
standards established by the American Institute of Certified 
Public Accountants; or  
2. A financial statement that has been reviewed by an 
outside independent certified public accountant in 
accordance with principles established for reviews by the 
American Institute of Certified Public Accountants. 

8VAC20-671-230. Protection of contractual rights. 
In compliance with § 22.1-324 of the Code of Virginia, 

provisions for the protection of contractual rights shall 
include the following: 

1. With each application, the applicant shall submit and 
maintain a guaranty instrument payable to the 
Commonwealth of Virginia to protect the contractual rights 
of students and other contracting parties. 
2. The guaranty instrument shall be based on the school's 
approved capacity. A [ minimum ] guaranty of $10,000 for 
up to 25 students and $5,000 for each additional 25 
students shall apply. 
3. In the event a guaranty instrument is terminated, the 
license to operate will terminate within 30 calendar days if 
a replacement bond or other instrument is not filed with the 
[ licensing agency department ]. 
4. If a school collects no advance tuition other than equal 
monthly installments or receives payment after services 
have been rendered, the school may apply to the [ licensing 
agency department ] for exemption from the guaranty 
requirements. 
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8VAC20-671-240. Insurance. 
A. The licensee shall maintain liability insurance covering 

the premises and the school's operation. 
B. The licensee shall maintain liability insurance on all 

vehicles used to transport students, including vehicles owned 
by staff. [ The school shall obtain written consent from the 
parent to transport a student in a staff member's personal 
vehicle. ]  

C. The members of the governing body and staff who are 
authorized to handle school or [ students' student ] funds shall 
be bonded [ or indemnified against employee dishonesty ]. 
8VAC20-671-250. Fundraising. 

 [ A. ] Written consent of the [ parent(s) or legal guardian 
and of a child age 14 or older parent ] shall be obtained before 
[ participating allowing a student to participate ] in any school 
fundraising activity.   

 [ B. No student shall be forced to participate in any school 
fundraising activity. ]  
8VAC20-671-260. Relationship to the [ licensing agency 
department ]. 

The licensee shall make information available to the 
[ licensing agency department ] upon the requested due date 
in order to make a timely determination of compliance with 
this chapter and other applicable regulations and statutes. The 
[ licensing agency department ] may alter the term of a 
license if the school fails to comply in a reasonable time 
period.  
8VAC20-671-270. Personnel policies and procedures. 

A. The licensee shall have written personnel policies and 
procedures that include, but are not limited to, job 
qualifications, job descriptions, [ staff ] supervision, 
evaluation, [ grievance dispute resolution ], and termination. 

1. The licensee shall develop and implement written 
policies and procedures that persons appointed or 
designated to assume the responsibilities of each position 
possess the education, experience, [ knowledge, ] skills, 
and abilities specified in the job description. 
2. The licensee shall make written personnel policies and 
procedures accessible to each employee. 

B. The licensee shall maintain a current organizational chart 
of all full-time and part-time positions.  
8VAC20-671-280. Job qualifications. 

A person who assumes or is designated to assume the 
responsibilities of a position or any combination of positions 
described in this chapter shall meet the qualifications of the 
position, comply with all applicable regulations for each 
function, and demonstrate a working knowledge of the 
policies and procedures applicable to the position. 
8VAC20-671-290. Job descriptions. 

A. There shall be a written job description for each position 
that includes job title; duties and responsibilities; job title of 

the immediate supervisor; and minimum education, 
experience, [ knowledge, ] skills, and abilities required for 
entry-level performance of the job.  

B. A copy of the job description shall be given to each 
person assigned to a position at the time of employment or 
assignment. 
8VAC20-671-300. School administrators. 

A. The licensee shall designate [ one or more individuals an 
individual(s) who is a graduate of an accredited college or 
university and is ] responsible for the administrative operation 
of the school [ who serves as the instructional leader and is 
responsible for effective school management that promotes 
positive student achievement, and a safe and secure 
environment in which to teach and learn ]. [ This individual 
may also serve as the instructional leader. ]  

B. [ As the instructional leader, the The ] school 
administrator [ is responsible for ensuring that students are 
provided an opportunity to learn and ] shall: 

1. Protect the academic instructional time from 
unnecessary interruptions [ and disruptions and enable the 
professional teaching staff to spend the maximum time 
possible in the teaching/learning process by keeping to a 
minimum clerical responsibility and the time students are 
out of class ]; 
2. Seek to maintain a safe and secure school environment;  
3. Involve the [ school ] staff [ of the school ] in identifying 
[ the types of ] staff development [ needed needs ] to 
improve student achievement and ensure [ that the ] staff 
[ participate in those activities participation ]; 
4. Analyze classroom practices and methods for 
improvement of instruction; 
5. Ensure [ that students' student ] education records are 
maintained [ and that criteria used in making placement 
and promotion decisions, as well as any instructional 
interventions used to improve the student's performance, 
are included in the record confidentially ]; and 
6. Monitor and evaluate the quality of instruction [ , 
provide staff development, and provide support that is 
designed and provide supports as needed ] to improve 
instruction. 

C. The instructional leader shall hold a valid five-year 
renewable postgraduate professional license issued by the 
board with an endorsement in school administration and 
supervision or special education and have at least three years 
of experience working with students with disabilities. 

D. The instructional leader or designee shall at all times be 
on the premises of the school while the school is in operation.  

E. All staff on duty must know who is responsible for the 
administration of the school at any given time. 
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8VAC20-671-310. Teachers and staffing. 
A. Each teacher shall meet the requirements of the [ Board 

of Education's ] Licensure Regulations for School Personnel 
(8VAC20-22). 

[ 1. Schools where students are instructed by content or 
grade level endorsed teachers shall have available 
appropriately endorsed special education teachers to case 
manage IEPs and to provide disability specific technical 
assistance and instruction. 
2. Schools offering only self-contained classroom 
instruction shall have teachers endorsed in either special 
education general curriculum or special education adapted 
curriculum depending on the functioning levels of the 
students. ]  

B. Staffing shall be in accordance with the Regulations 
Governing Special Education Programs for Children with 
Disabilities in Virginia (8VAC20-81) in the following 
settings: 

1. A student with an Individualized Education Program 
(IEP) may be instructed with students without disabilities, 
as appropriate, and in accordance with the IEP.  
2. A student with an IEP may receive services with 
children with the same disability or with children with 
different disabilities. 

C. Teacher personnel assignments shall be in accordance 
with Regulations Governing Special Education Programs for 
Children with Disabilities in Virginia (8VAC20-81). 

1. General education qualified personnel who are 
knowledgeable about the students and their special 
education may implement special services in collaboration 
with special education personnel. 
2. Special education services include those services 
provided directly to the student and those provided 
indirectly. 

D. Teacher caseloads shall be assigned in accordance with 
the Regulations Governing Special Education Programs for 
Children with Disabilities in Virginia (8VAC20-81). 

1. If children with disabilities in a single building receive 
academic content area instruction from multiple special 
education teachers, the teachers' caseloads shall be 
determined by using a building average. 
2. When special education personnel are assigned to 
provide services for students who do not have a disability 
under this chapter or are assigned to administrative duties, 
there shall be a reduction in the caseload specified in 
proportion to the percentage of school time on such 
assignment. 
3. Special education personnel may be assigned to serve 
children who are not eligible for special education and 
related services as long as they hold appropriate licenses 
and endorsements for such assignments.  

E. Staffing for early childhood special education shall be in 
accordance with the Regulations Governing Special 
Education Programs for Children with Disabilities in Virginia 
(8VAC20-81). 

1. Children of preschool ages (two to five, inclusive) who 
are eligible for special education may receive early 
childhood special education. 
2. Students receiving early childhood special education 
may receive services together with other preschool-aged 
children with the same or with different disabilities. 

F. A school may offer for consideration of approval an 
alternative staffing plan in accordance with the department's 
procedures. The department may grant approval for 
alternative staffing levels [ and teaching assignments ] upon 
request from private schools for students with disabilities 
seeking to implement innovative programs that are not 
consistent with the staffing levels outlined in the Regulations 
Governing Special Education Programs for Children with 
Disabilities in Virginia (8VAC20-81). 
8VAC20-671-320. Substitute teachers. 

A. No substitute teacher shall be used to fill a vacant 
teaching position for more than 90 teaching days in such 
vacancy during one school year. 

B. Substitute teachers shall be at least 18 years of age, hold a 
high school diploma or a [ general educational diploma 
General Educational Development ] (GED) [ certificate ], 
have two years of full-time postsecondary education or two 
years of [ successful ] work experience with children [ with 
disabilities or equivalent, and attend orientation to the 
school's policies and procedures ].  

[ C. A substitute teacher employed to fill a teacher vacancy 
shall receive orientation to the school's policies and 
procedures. ]  
8VAC20-671-330. Support staff. 

A. School support personnel, including contractual service 
providers, shall meet the Board of Education's Licensure 
Regulations for School Personnel (8VAC20-22) or the 
requirements of another state or national accrediting agency. 

B. Paraprofessionals and other ancillary staff shall be at least 
18 years of age (21 years of age preferred), [ at a minimum ] 
hold a high school diploma or [ a general educational 
diploma General Educational Development ] (GED) 
[ certificate ], have two years of [ full-time successful ] work 
experience with children or completed two years of 
coursework in a related field, [ complete orientation 
conducted by the school administrator or designee regarding 
school policies and procedures and characteristics of students 
served, and work under the supervision of qualified staff or 
upon employment complete within 60 calendar days of hire 
training specific to the assigned student population and job 
duties as they relate to the academic and behavioral progress 
of students. Such training shall include individualized 
instruction and student behavior management, including 



Regulations 

Volume 31, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 27, 2015 

2171 

principles and strategies to reduce interfering behavior, build 
positive skills, and enhance communication of students with 
autism spectrum disorders ]. 

C. No support staff shall be used as replacement for teachers 
or related service staff unless they meet the qualifications of 
the position. 

D. Support staff who do not meet licensure or certification 
requirements shall not be given misleading work titles or 
titles that infer [ that ] they meet required credentials. 

[ E. Paraprofessionals shall work under the supervision of 
qualified professional staff. ]  
8VAC20-671-340. Staff supervision. 

The licensee shall develop and implement written policies 
and procedures regarding the supervision of employees [ , 
full-time and part-time, ] and all other [ individuals working 
with children, including volunteers and interns staff including 
volunteers and student interns working in the school building 
or on school grounds ].  
8VAC20-671-350. Staff development. 

A. Within seven calendar days following [ their staff's ] 
begin date, each staff member responsible for working with 
students shall receive orientation of the school's philosophy, 
goals and objectives; duties and responsibilities of their 
position; and the school's policy and procedures for behavior 
intervention. 

B. Within 14 calendar days following [ their staff's ] begin 
date [ and before an individual is alone supervising students ], 
all staff shall receive emergency preparedness and response 
training that shall include: alerting emergency personnel and 
sounding alarms; implementing evacuation procedures with 
particular attention to students with special needs; using, 
maintaining, and operating emergency equipment; accessing 
emergency information for students including medical 
information; and utilizing community support services. 

C. Within 14 calendar days following [ their staff's ] begin 
date, [ all ] staff shall receive professional development on 
confidentiality; the school's administrative decision-making 
plan; and policies and procedures [ , including prohibited 
actions, ] that are applicable to their positions, duties, and 
responsibilities.  

D. Within 30 calendar days following [ their staff's ] begin 
date, [ all ] staff shall receive training on the school's policy 
and procedures, including standard precautions, child abuse 
and neglect, [ and ] mandatory reporting [ , maintaining 
appropriate professional relationships and interactions among 
staff and students, and suicide prevention ].  

[ E. Within 30 calendar days following their begin date, all 
staff responsible for medication administration shall have 
successfully completed an approved medication training 
program approved by the Board of Nursing or be licensed by 
the Commonwealth of Virginia to administer medications. 
Staff shall meet this requirement before administering any 
medication to students and shall receive annual retraining. 

F. E. ] All staff shall receive annual professional 
development and refresher [ in on the school's policies and 
procedures on standard precautions; ] emergency 
preparedness and response to include alerting emergency 
personnel and sounding alarms; implementing evacuation 
procedures with particular attention to students with special 
needs; [ and ] using, maintaining, and operating emergency 
equipment [ ; and accessing emergency information for 
students and staff including medical information and utilizing 
community supports ]. 

[ G. F. ] All staff shall receive annual professional 
development and refresher on behavior supports, child abuse 
and neglect, [ and ] mandatory reporting [ , maintaining 
appropriate professional relationships and interactions among 
staff and students, and suicide prevention ].  

[ H. Each full-time staff person shall complete an additional 
15 hours of annual training applicable to his job duties G. 
Each staff who works directly with students shall annually 
receive 15 hours of professional development related to 
student progress and academic achievement that is applicable 
to the population served and to their job duties ]. 
8VAC20-671-360. Personnel records. 

A. Separate up-to-date personnel records shall be maintained 
for each full-time and part-time employee, student intern, and 
volunteer for whom background investigations are required 
by Virginia statute. Content of personnel records of 
volunteers, student interns, and contractual service providers 
shall include, at a minimum, documentation of compliance 
with requirements of Virginia laws regarding child protective 
services and criminal history background investigations. 

B. [ A record Records ] shall be maintained for each staff to 
include: 

1. A completed employment application or other 
documentation providing the individual's name, address, 
and telephone number;  
2. Documentation of qualifications [ , including 
educational background and professional licensure or 
certification ]; 
3. Employment history; 
4. Written references or notations of oral references;  
5. Reports of required [ health examinations tuberculosis 
certificate ]; 
6. Annual performance evaluations; 
7. Date of employment for each position held and date of 
separation; 
8. Documentation of compliance with requirements of 
Virginia laws regarding child protective services and 
criminal history background investigations; 
9. [ Documentation of Driving record verification from 
the ] Department of Motor Vehicles [ checks ] and a 
current copy of the driver's license for [ all ] staff who 
transport students; 
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10. Documentation of all training required by this chapter 
and any other training or professional development 
received by individual staff; and 
11. A current job description. 

C. All personnel records shall be maintained confidentially 
and retained in their entirety for a minimum of three years 
after staff's separation from the school.  
8VAC20-671-370. School facilities and safety. 

A. Each school shall be maintained in [ a manner ensuring ] 
compliance with the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building 
Code (13VAC5-63). [ Each school shall  

1. Maintain B. Each school shall maintain ] a physical plant 
that is accessible, barrier free, safe, and clean [ ;. ]  

[ 2. Provide 50 net square feet per occupant space for 
classrooms and suitable C. Each school shall provide safe and 
adequate instructional areas, ] space for administrative staff, 
pupil personnel services, library and media services, and 
physical education [ with consideration given to safety;. 
Schools established after the effective date of these 
regulations and classrooms added to existing buildings shall 
provide at least 50 square feet of classroom or instructional 
area per student excluding classroom fixtures. ]  

[ 3.  Provide D. Each school shall provide ] adequate, safe, 
and properly equipped classrooms [ and instructional areas, 
and where appropriate ], laboratories, play areas, and dining 
areas that meet the needs of students and instruction [ ; and. ]  

[ 4. Provide E. Each school shall provide ] space for safe 
storage of items such as first aid equipment, medication, 
household supplies, school supplies, and equipment. 

[ B. F. ] After the initial application, the school shall 
document annually that buildings and equipment are 
maintained in accordance with the Virginia Statewide Fire 
Prevention Code (13VAC5-51) and maintain records of 
regular safety, health, and fire inspections conducted and 
certified by local health and fire departments.  

[ C. G. ] Building plans and specifications for new 
construction, change in use of existing buildings, and any 
structural modifications or additions to existing buildings 
shall be submitted in advance to the [ licensing agency 
department ] for approval. 

[ D. H. ] Animals allowed on the premises shall be tested, 
inoculated, and licensed as required by law.  

[ E. Smoking shall be prohibited at all times and in all 
school buildings, on all school grounds, and during off 
campus school-sponsored activities.  

F. I. ] Swimming pools shall be inspected annually by the 
state or local health authorities or by a swimming pool 
business. 

[ G. J. ] There shall be a written policy concerning [ the 
provision of ] safeguards for [ aquatic-related activities to 
include supervision by a certified lifeguard water-related 

activities and a provision that a certified lifeguard supervises 
all swimming activities ]. 

[ H. K. ] There shall be a written policy regarding 
safeguards for school-sponsored activities including 
adventure and wilderness activities. 

[ I. L. ] There shall be [ an electronic two-way a ] 
communication system available to staff at all times in the 
classroom and during school-sponsored activities.  

[ M. Schools shall have safeguards to be able to identify any 
visitor in the school building and on the premises during the 
school day. ]  
8VAC20-671-380. Contingency plans. 

A. A school shall have contingency plans for [ medical ] 
emergencies that include staff certification in 
cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR), [ abdominal thrust 
(Heimlich maneuver), and ] emergency first aid [ , and 
medication administration ]. 

B. The school administration shall ensure that the school 
has: 

1. Written procedures to follow in emergencies such as 
fire, injury, illness, and violent or threatening behavior. 
Contingency plans should be developed with the assistance 
of state or local public safety authorities. Such plans shall 
be outlined in the student handbook and [ discussed 
reviewed ] with staff and students during the first week of 
each school year;  
2. Space for the proper care of students who become ill; 
and 
3. A written procedure for responding to violent, 
disruptive, or illegal activities by students on school 
property or during a school-sponsored activity. 

C. Each school shall [ annually ] have at least [ three one ] 
tornado [ drills every school year in order that students may 
be practiced in such drills drill, at least one earthquake drill, 
and at least two lockdown drills, one in September and one in 
January ]. 

D. The school shall have a written emergency preparedness 
and response plan for all locations that addresses:  

1. Documentation of contact with the local emergency 
coordinator to determine (i) local disaster risks, (ii) 
communitywide plans to address different disasters and 
emergency situations, and (iii) assistance, if any, that the 
local emergency management office will provide to the 
school in an emergency. 
2. Analysis of the school's capabilities and potential 
hazards, including natural disasters, severe weather, fire, 
flooding, workplace violence [ , intruder, hostage 
situation, ] or terrorism, missing persons, riot, severe 
injuries, or other emergencies that would disrupt the 
normal course of service delivery. 
3. Written emergency management policies outlining 
specific responsibilities for provision of administrative 
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direction and management of response activities; 
coordination of logistics during the emergency; 
communications; life safety of students, employees, 
contractors, student interns, volunteers, and visitors; 
property protection; community outreach; and recovery 
and restoration.  
4. Written emergency response procedures for assessing 
the situation; protecting students, employees, contractors, 
student interns, volunteers, and visitors; [ protecting ] 
equipment and education records; and restoring services. 
5. Emergency procedures, which shall address:  

a. Communicating with employees, contractors, 
[ volunteers, student interns, ] and community 
responders;  
b. Warning and notification of students;  
c. Providing emergency access to secure areas and 
opening locked doors;  
d. Conducting evacuations to emergency shelters or 
alternative sites and accounting for all students;  
e. Relocating students and staff, if necessary;  
f. Notifying family members and legal guardians; 
g. Alerting emergency personnel and sounding alarms; 
and  
h. Locating and shutting off utilities when necessary.  

6. Supporting documents that would be needed in an 
emergency, including emergency call lists, building and 
site maps necessary to shut off utilities, designated escape 
routes, and list of major resources such as local emergency 
shelters. 
7. Schedule for testing the implementation of the plan and 
conducting emergency preparedness drills. 
8. Children who use wheelchairs, crutches, canes, or other 
mechanical devices for assistance in walking shall be 
provided with a planned, personalized means of effective 
egress for use in emergencies.  

E. The school shall have emergency preparedness and 
response training for all employees, contractors, student 
interns, and volunteers that shall include responsibilities for:  

1. Alerting emergency personnel and sounding alarms;  
2. Implementing evacuation procedures [ , ] including 
evacuation of students with special needs (i.e., deaf, blind, 
nonambulatory);  
3. Using, maintaining, and operating emergency 
equipment;  
4. Accessing emergency information for students including 
medical information; and  
5. Utilizing community support services.  

F. There shall be documented review of the emergency 
preparedness plan annually and revisions made if necessary.  

G. Employees, contractors, student interns, and volunteers 
shall be prepared to implement the emergency preparedness 
plan in the event of an emergency.  

H. Floor plans showing primary and secondary means of 
egress shall be posted on each floor in locations where they 
can easily be seen by staff and students.  

I. The procedures and responsibilities reflected in the 
emergency procedures shall be communicated to all students 
within seven days following admission or a substantive 
change in the procedures.  

J. At least one [ emergency ] evacuation drill [ (the 
simulation of the school's emergency procedures) ] shall be 
conducted [ each week during the first month of school and 
one each month thereafter ] in each building occupied by 
students [ at least once per week for the first 20 school days 
and then once a month for the rest of the school year and 
more often if necessary ].  

K. Evacuation drills shall include, at a minimum:  
1. Sounding of emergency alarms;  
2. Practice in evacuating buildings and buses or vans;  
3. Practice in alerting emergency authorities;  
4. Simulated use of emergency equipment; and  
5. Practice in securing student emergency information.  

L. A record shall be maintained for each evacuation drill and 
shall include the following: 

1. Buildings and buses or vans in which the drill was 
conducted;  
2. Date and time of drill;  
3. Amount of time to evacuate the buildings;  
4. Specific problems encountered;  
5. Staff tasks completed including head count and practice 
in notifying emergency authorities; and 
6. The name of the staff members responsible for 
conducting and documenting the drill and preparing the 
record. 

M. The record for each evacuation drill shall be retained for 
three years after the drill.  

N. At least one staff member shall be assigned the 
responsibility for ensuring that all requirements regarding the 
emergency preparedness and response plan and the 
evacuation drill program are met. 

O. In the event of a disaster, fire, emergency, or any other 
condition that may jeopardize the health, safety, and welfare 
of students, the school shall notify the parent(s), the student's 
public school, placing agency, and [ licensing agency 
department ] as soon as possible, but no later than 24 hours 
after the incident occurs.  
8VAC20-671-390. Weapons. 

The licensee shall develop written policies and procedures 
governing prohibition of [ the possession and use of firearms, 
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pellet guns, air guns, and other weapons on the school's 
premises and during school-related activities unless the 
weapons are in the possession of licensed security personnel 
or law-enforcement officers weapons on school property 
mandated in § 18.2-308.1 of the Code of Virginia. The staff 
and students shall be annually informed of the policies and 
procedures regarding the prohibition of weapons. ]  
8VAC20-671-400. [ Strip searches Searches ]. 

[ A. Strip searches and body cavity searches are prohibited.  
B. A. ] A school that does not conduct pat downs shall have 

a written policy prohibiting them. 
[ C. B. ] A school that conducts pat downs shall develop and 

implement written policies and procedures that shall provide 
the following:  

1. Pat downs shall be limited to instances where they are 
necessary to prohibit contraband;  
2. Pat downs shall be conducted by personnel of the same 
gender as the student being searched; 
3. Pat downs shall be conducted only by personnel who are 
specifically authorized to conduct searches by the school's 
written policies and procedures; and  
4. Pat downs shall be conducted in such a way as to protect 
the subject's dignity and in the presence of one or more 
witnesses. 

8VAC20-671-410. Student application and admission. 
A. The school's written admission policy shall include: 

1. A description of the population to be served; 
2. A description of the types of services offered;  
3. Admission procedures; 
4. Exclusion criteria that identify behaviors or conditions 
the school will not accept; and 
5. A description of how educational services will be 
delivered. 

B. [ A summary of each The ] school's admissions policy, 
course offerings [ at each grade level ], and behavioral 
management program shall be made available to students, 
parents, and placing and licensing agencies.  

C. Each school's admissions process shall be designed to 
determine the suitability of enrolling a student. The school 
shall accept and serve only those students whose needs are 
compatible with the services provided by the school. 

D. [ The school shall provide written notification for a 
student's education records within five business days of the 
student's enrollment. Notification shall be made to the 
superintendent of the school division where the student last 
attended. The school shall request current information 
pertinent to the student's educational growth to include, but 
not limited to, the IEP, 504 Plan, or career development plan; 
plan of study; assessments; grades or transcript; discipline 
records; and health records Upon enrollment and at least 
annually, the school shall provide parents access to, or a copy 

of upon request, the school's policies and procedures, 
including those governing the management of student 
behavior, the school's curriculum, and the school's promotion 
and retention policies ]. 

E. [ When the student's education records are not provided 
during the application process, the school with written 
parental consent shall make a request within five business 
days of enrollment to the student's last attended school or the 
division superintendent or designee. 

F. ] An application for admission is not to be construed as a 
binding instrument on the part of the student or the school.  

[ F. G. ] A school may require the payment of a reasonable 
nonrefundable initial application fee to cover expenses in 
connection with processing a student's application provided 
[ it the school ] retains a signed statement in which the parties 
acknowledge their understanding that the fee is 
nonrefundable. No other nonrefundable fees shall be allowed 
prior to enrollment. 

[ G. H. ] Any contract or enrollment agreement used by the 
school shall be in writing and clearly specify the following: 

1. Complete name and physical address of the school; 
2. Itemized cost of the program to include tuition, 
[ scholarships, and ] all other charges [ , and any 
scholarship amount applied to the cost of tuition ]; and 
3. The school's contingency, cancellation, and refund 
policies. 

[ H. I. ] Any contract or enrollment agreement used by the 
school becomes a legally binding instrument upon the 
school's written acceptance [ of the student ]. 

[ I. Each school that serves privately placed students shall 
offer access to a tuition insurance plan if the school 
financially obligates students for more than quarterly 
increments of annual tuition. ]  
8VAC20-671-420. Standard school year and school day. 

A. Each school shall have a standard school year of at least 
180 [ instructional teaching ] days [ or a total of at least 990 
teaching hours per year ]. The standard school day for 
students in grades 1 through 12 shall average at least [ 5-1/2 
instructional five and one-half teaching ] hours [ (990 hours 
annual instructional time) or average 27 and one-half hours 
weekly ], excluding breaks for meals and recess, and a 
minimum of three [ instructional ] hours [ daily ] for 
kindergarten. 

B. [ All students in grades 1 through 12 shall maintain a full 
day schedule of classes (5-1/2 hours) unless otherwise stated 
in the child's Individualized Education Program (IEP), 
Individualized Instruction Plan (IIP), 504 Plan, or other 
documentation. The private school shall initiate a team 
meeting to review the child's IEP, 504 Plan, or IIP when a 
student has a medical, mental, or physical condition that 
requires modification of the student's school schedule. ]  
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C. Each school shall have policies and procedures that 
address make-up days when the school is unable to meet the 
required instructional time.  
8VAC20-671-430. [ School and community 
communications Community relationships ]. 

[ A. Each school shall promote communications and foster 
mutual understanding with parents and the community and 
use information from parents, citizens, business, and industry 
in evaluating the educational program.  

B. At the beginning of each school year, the school shall 
provide to parents or guardians information on the availability 
of and source for receiving the curriculum for their child's 
core subjects and a copy of the school's promotion and 
retention policies and access to the school's policies and 
procedures. 

Each school shall facilitate cooperative relationships with 
neighbors, the school system, local law enforcement, local 
government officials, and the community at large. ]  
8VAC20-671-440. Philosophy, goals, and objectives. 

A. Each school shall have a current philosophy, goals, and 
objectives that serve as the basis for all policies and practices 
and shall be developed using the following criteria: 

1. The philosophy, goals, and objectives shall be developed 
with the advice of professional and lay people who 
represent the various populations served by the school and 
in consideration of the needs of the community and 
[ shall ] serve as a basis for an annual self-evaluation of the 
school. 
2. [ The goals Goals ] and objectives shall [ (i) ] be written 
in plain language so as to be understandable to 
noneducators, including parents [ ; (ii) to the extent 
possible, be stated in measurable terms; and (iii) consist 
primarily of measurable objectives to raise student and 
school achievement in the core academic areas, to increase 
graduation rates, and to increase the quality of instruction 
through professional staff development and licensure ]. 

B. Copies of the school's philosophy, goals, and objectives 
shall be available upon request. 
8VAC20-671-450. Student achievement expectations. 

A. [ A process to identify and recommend Schools shall 
develop ] strategies to address the learning, behavior, [ and ] 
communication [ , or development of needs of ] individual 
students [ who are having difficulty in the educational setting 
shall be developed at each school in collaboration with the 
parent ].  

B. Participation in the Virginia assessment program by 
students with disabilities shall be prescribed by provisions of 
their IEPs or 504 Plans. [ All students with disabilities shall 
be assessed with appropriate accommodations and alternate 
assessments when required. ]  

C. Each school that serves students who anticipate earning a 
diploma and graduating from a [ public ] Virginia high school 

must follow the requirements for graduation outlined in the 
Regulations Establishing Standards for Accrediting Public 
Schools in Virginia (8VAC20-131). 

D. The school shall cooperate with the public school in the 
administration of SOL tests [ to students with disabilities and 
students who need verified credits to graduate from a public 
high school in Virginia, and the administration of any other 
SOL tests ]. 

E. The school shall use testing and evaluation materials that 
are not racially or culturally discriminatory and do take into 
consideration the student's disabling condition(s), racial 
background, and cultural background.  
[ 8VAC20-671-460. 8VAC20-671-490. ] Program of 
instruction and learning objectives. 

A. Each school's instructional program shall reflect the 
written philosophy of the school. The methods, procedures, 
and practices shall reflect an understanding of and meet the 
applicable academic, vocational, therapeutic, recreational, and 
socialization needs of the students served.  

B. The instructional program shall be designed to meet the 
needs of all students enrolled and shall educate students with 
age-appropriate peers [ unless it can be shown that for a 
particular child with a disability, the alternative placement is 
appropriate and documented on the student's IEP, IIP, or 504 
Plan ]. 

C. Services shall be delivered in accordance with the 
student's IEP, IIP, or 504 Plan. 

[ D. Children of preschool ages (two years to five years, 
inclusive) shall receive services determined by the child's 
IEP, IIP, or 504 Plan. ]  

[ D. Each school serving students E. Students ] 14 years of 
age and older shall [ provide be provided ] opportunities [ for 
students ] to gain knowledge and occupational readiness skills 
necessary for successful transition to [ postsecondary 
education, ] training, employment, and independent living, as 
appropriate.  

[ E. Each school shall provide opportunities for students to 
gain knowledge and occupational readiness skills necessary 
for successful transition to postsecondary training, education, 
employment and independent living skills, as appropriate. ]  

F. Each school shall provide a program of instruction that 
[ supports the SOL clearly articulates learning outcomes ] for 
the core subjects: English, mathematics, science, and 
history/social science. [ Schools may use Virginia's Standards 
of Learning (SOL). ]  

G. Each school shall require students to participate in a 
program of health and physical fitness during the regular 
school year unless the student is unable to participate due to a 
medical condition [ or has met the credit requirement for 
graduation ].  

H. Each school shall provide students with opportunities to 
gain appreciation for art and music. 
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I. Each school shall provide an instructional program that 
promotes the individual student's developmental growth and 
academic achievement at successive grade levels, as 
appropriate.  

[ J. The services provided by a private school shall be 
provided by personnel meeting the same licensure 
requirements as personnel providing services in the public 
school, outlined in Licensure Regulations for School 
Personnel (8VAC20-22).  

K. J. ] The school shall equitably serve the needs and 
interests of all students, taking into consideration age 
appropriateness, cultural norms, physical abilities, and 
cognitive abilities. 

[ K. Each school shall implement evidence-based practices 
to improve academic, behavior, and social outcomes for all 
students. ]  
[ 8VAC20-671-470. 8VAC20-671-460. ] Individualized 
Education Program (IEP). 

A. [ When a child is presently receiving the services of a 
private school, a A ] representative of the private school shall 
attend IEP meetings upon the request of the student's school 
division. If a representative is not able to attend, the school 
shall use other methods to ensure participation [ by the 
private school ] including individual or conference telephone 
calls.  

B. [ After a child with a disability enters a private school, 
any Any ] meetings to review and revise the child's IEP may 
be initiated and conducted by the private school at the 
discretion of the student's school division.  

C. If the private school initiates and conducts these 
meetings, the student's school division and the parent(s) shall: 

1. Be involved in any decision affecting the child's IEP; 
2. Agree to any proposed changes in the program before 
those changes are implemented; and  
3. Be involved in any meetings that are held regarding 
reevaluation. 

D. A [ parent(s) parent ] does not include local or state 
agencies or their agents, including local departments of social 
services, if the child is in the custody of such an agency. 

E. When a child with a disability is placed by a local school 
division or [ a Comprehensive Services Act team family 
assessment and planning team ] in a private school, all rights 
and protections under state and federal regulations shall be 
extended to the child.  
 [ 8VAC20-671-480. 8VAC20-671-470. ] Individualized 
Instruction Program (IIP). 

A. Students [ without disabilities not determined eligible for 
special education ] and those placed by parents [ for 
educational reasons ] shall have an Individualized Instruction 
Program (IIP) developed within 30 [ business ] days of 
[ admission enrollment ] that describes strengths and needs of 
the student, current level of functioning, goals and objectives, 

[ timelines, ] course of study, and postsecondary goals for 
students 14 years of age and older. 

B. Each school shall request with [ written ] consent of the 
[ parent(s) parent ] the student's education records from the 
last school attended [ , ] and information from other agencies 
as appropriate. This information should be used in developing 
the student's IIP. 

C. The IIP shall provide a beginning and ending date of 
services. 

D. The IIP shall be reviewed at least annually by a team that 
includes the [ school administrator or teacher, other staff as 
appropriate, parent, and ] student [ and the parent as 
appropriate ]. 

E. Student progress reports shall be provided to the parent 
[ or guardian ] at least quarterly. 
[ 8VAC20-671-490. 8VAC20-671-480. ] 504 Plans. 

Each school admitting students with 504 Plans shall 
implement the plan and cooperate with the school division in 
its annual review. [ An individualized instruction plan (IIP) 
shall be developed for each student with a 504 plan. ]  
8VAC20-671-500. Instructional program for elementary 
school grades. 

[ A. The elementary school grades shall provide each 
student a program of instruction that supports the SOL for 
English, mathematics, science, and history/social science. In 
addition, each school shall provide opportunities for students 
to gain an appreciation for art and music. Students shall be 
required to participate in a program of health and physical 
fitness during the regular school year. 

In addition to the applicable requirements under 8VAC20-
671-490, the following shall apply: ]  

[ B. 1. ] In kindergarten through grade 3, reading, writing, 
spelling, and mathematics shall be the focus of the 
instructional program. 
[ C. 2. ] To provide students with sufficient opportunity to 
learn, a minimum of 75% of the annual instructional time 
of 990 hours shall be given to instruction in the disciplines 
of English, mathematics, science, and history/social 
science. Students who are not successfully progressing in 
early reading proficiency or who are unable to read with 
comprehension the materials used for instruction shall 
receive additional [ instructional time instruction ] in 
reading. 

8VAC20-671-510. Instructional program for middle 
school grades. 

[ A. The middle school grades shall provide each student a 
program of instruction that supports the SOL for English, 
mathematics, science, and history/social science. Each school 
shall provide opportunities for appreciation of art and music 
and an introduction to career and technical exploration and 
require students to participate in a program of health and 
physical fitness during the regular school year. 
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B. English, mathematics, science, and history/social science 
shall be required. 

In addition to the applicable requirements under 8VAC20-
671-490, the following shall apply: ] 

[ C. 1. ] To provide students a sufficient opportunity to 
learn, each student shall be provided 140 clock hours per 
year of instruction in each of the four disciplines of 
English, mathematics, science, and history/social science. 
[ D. 2. ] Each school shall ensure that students who are 
unable to read with comprehension the materials used for 
instruction receive additional instruction in reading. 
[ 3. Each school shall provide students with opportunities 
for career and technical exploration. ]  

8VAC20-671-520. Instructional program for secondary 
school grades. 

[ A. The secondary school grades shall provide each student 
a program of instruction that supports the SOL in English, 
mathematics, science, and history/social science. 

In addition to the applicable requirements under 8VAC20-
671-490, the following shall apply: ] 

[ B. 1. ] To provide students a sufficient opportunity to 
learn, each student shall be provided 140 clock hours per 
year of instruction in each of the four disciplines [ , 
English, mathematics, science, and history/social science ]. 
[ C. Students in secondary education programs who plan to 
graduate with a standard or advanced diploma from a 
Virginia public high school should have the opportunity to 
complete credits in foreign languages, fine arts, and career 
and technical training.  
2. Each school shall provide a course of study that leads to 
graduation and postsecondary education, training, 
employment, and independent living, as appropriate. 
3. Each school shall provide instruction in economics and 
personal finance and occupational readiness. 
4. A curriculum that includes functional living skills 
training, including community-based instruction, shall be 
available for students as the need is determined by the IEP 
or IIP. ]  
[ D. 5. ] Classroom driver education may count for 36 class 
periods of health education. Students shall not be removed 
from classes other than health and physical education for 
the in-car phase of driver education. 
[ E. 6. ] Each school shall ensure that students who are 
unable to read with comprehension the materials used for 
instruction receive additional instruction in reading [ ,. ]  

[ F. Guidance and counseling shall be provided for students 
to ensure that a program of studies contributing to the 
student's academic achievement and meeting graduation 
requirements is being followed. 

7. Staff shall provide guidance and counseling to assist 
students in meeting graduation requirements. ]  

8VAC20-671-530. Alternative education. 
Schools may provide students, 16 years of age to 18 years of 

age [ who choose to prepare for the Tests of General 
Educational Development (GED) certificate ], an 
Individualized Student Alternative Education Plan (ISAEP) 
[ , a ] program [ that includes career guidance counseling; 
mandatory enrollment in a GED preparation program; and 
career and technical education ]. Implementation of the 
ISAEP [ program ] requires submission of an application and 
approval by the [ Department of Education department ]. 
8VAC20-671-540. Transition services. 

A. Schools shall cooperate with the public schools to ensure 
that the transition plan for each student with a disability, 
beginning at 14 years of age (or younger), is implemented 
according to the child's IEP. 

B. Schools shall provide evidence of transition services 
designed within an outcome-oriented process for all students, 
as appropriate, that promotes movement from the private 
school to a public school the child would normally attend; 
movement from school to post-school activities, including 
postsecondary education, vocational training, integrated 
employment (including supported employment), continuing 
and adult education, adult services, independent living, or 
community participation. 
8VAC20-671-550. Extracurricular and other school 
activities, and recess. 

A. School-sponsored extracurricular activities shall be under 
[ the ] direct supervision of [ the ] staff and [ shall contribute 
to the educational objectives of the school. Extracurricular 
activities must be ] organized to avoid interrupting the 
instructional program.  

B. [ School-sponsored extracurricular CPR and first aid 
certified staff shall accompany students on school-sponsored ] 
activities [ shall have at least one person certified in CPR for 
every 10 students ]. 

C. Schools that take students on [ outdoor ] adventure 
activities [ and offer programs such as canoeing, skiing, 
camping, and rock climbing ] shall develop policies and 
procedures to ensure supervision, health and safety, and 
medical management. 
8VAC20-671-560. Family life. 

A. Schools may use the Standards of Learning for the family 
life education program or other education program, [ which 
shall have the goals that is designed to promote parental 
involvement, foster positive self concepts, and provide 
mechanisms for coping with peer pressure and the stresses of 
modern living according to the student's developmental stage 
and has the goal ] of reducing the incidence of pregnancy and 
sexually transmitted diseases and substance abuse. 

B. Schools offering family life shall obtain written consent 
from the parent [ or guardian ] for the child's [ enrollment in 
the course participation ]. 
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8VAC20-671-570. Student work-study or on-the-job 
training. 

A. Each school that places students on work-study, on-the-
job training, or any other form of employment shall ensure 
compliance with the applicable laws governing the 
employment of children.  

[ B. Work assignments that are paid or unpaid shall be in 
accordance with the age, health, ability, and education 
program of the student. ]  

[ C. B. ] Work assignments or employment [ outside the 
school ], including [ reasonable ] rates of pay, shall be 
approved by the school administrator with the [ knowledge 
and ] consent of the parent [ or legal guardian ]. 
8VAC20-671-580. Virtual learning. 

A. [ Schools are encouraged to pursue alternative means to 
deliver instruction to accommodate student needs through 
virtual learning. A school shall ensure that each virtual 
education course is provided by an institution accredited by a 
nationally recognized accrediting body or is authorized by a 
public school or school division. Virtual courses may only be 
offered through accredited providers as outlined in §§ 22.1-
212.23 and 22.1-253.13:3 of the Code of Virginia. ]  

B. [ A school shall ensure that virtual learning courses meet 
the following requirements: 

1. The content, instruction, and assessment of each course 
is comparable in rigor and breadth to the course that is 
traditionally delivered;  
2. The course content is appropriate for the school's grade 
levels and age range; and  
3. The virtual learning shall be supervised by a licensed 
teacher or a person eligible to hold a Virginia teaching 
license. The individual shall be available to the student. 

The virtual learning shall be proctored by a licensed teacher 
or appropriately trained paraprofessional who is supervised 
by a licensed teacher. The teacher or paraprofessional shall be 
available to the student. ]  
8VAC20-671-590. Equipment, instructional materials, 
and library media. 

A. Each school shall provide [ a variety of current grade-
level instructional ] materials and equipment [ necessary ] to 
support the instructional program, including [ functional life 
skills programs the goals and objectives established for 
individual students ].  

B. [ Each school shall provide access to computers and 
library media necessary to meet research inquiry and reading 
requirements of the instructional program and general student 
interest. Students shall receive instruction on the use of 
classroom equipment as appropriate and demonstrate 
applicable safety competencies before being allowed to use 
such equipment. ]  

[ C. Each student, as appropriate, shall be provided 
instruction on the use of instructional equipment and shall 
demonstrate understanding before access to laboratories. 

D. Each school shall provide textbooks and instructional 
materials that support Virginia's Standards of Learning. 

E. C. ] Each school shall establish written policy on the use 
of computers, including the use of the Internet and email.  
8VAC20-671-600. School records. 

Each school shall maintain up-to-date records to include [ a 
listing of all enrolled students with directory information, ] 
the school's academic calendar, class roster, class schedule, 
course descriptions, course curriculum, individual student 
schedules, student progress reports, and [ student transcript or 
other ] documentation of [ each student's ] grades [ and 
credits earned ]. 
8VAC20-671-610. Diplomas. 

A. No school shall use the seal of Virginia in its diploma 
design.  

B. Each school that offers a diploma upon graduation shall 
have written [ policy policies ] and procedures that address 
the following:  

1. The requirements for a diploma shall be those in effect 
when the student enters the ninth grade for the first time. 
2. The requirements for a diploma shall be based upon 
completion of program requirements that demonstrate 
academic rigor. 

8VAC20-671-620. Student conduct. 
[ A. Each school shall provide a schoolwide environment 

that reinforces appropriate behaviors and assists students in 
becoming actively engaged in their own learning, academic, 
and behavioral success. ]  

[ A. B. ] Each school shall have written policies and 
procedures that address standards of student conduct and 
procedures for enforcement to include attendance, truancy, 
suspension, expulsion, alcohol, drugs, weapons, fighting, 
bullying, sexual and disability harassment, pornography, and 
other areas as appropriate. 

[ B. When a student is suspended, including in-school 
suspension, or expelled, the school shall notify the student's 
home school division within 24 hours. C. The parent shall be 
notified on the date on which the decision is made to suspend 
or expel a student because of a violation of a code of student 
conduct. When a publicly placed student is suspended or 
expelled, the student's home school division shall be notified 
within 24 hours. ]  
8VAC20-671-630. Behavior intervention. 

A. Each school shall develop and implement written policies 
and procedures that emphasize positive behavior 
interventions [ that focus on teaching and supporting students 
to practice methods to manage their own behavior ]. 
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B. Behavior techniques that are used or available for use 
shall be listed in the order of their relative degree of 
restrictiveness and specify the staff members who may 
authorize the use of each technique. 

C. Staff shall consider behavior management data in their 
annual review of the school's policies and procedures.  

D. When substantive revisions are made to policies and 
procedures governing management of student behavior, 
written information concerning the revisions shall be 
provided to students, parents, placing agencies, and the 
[ licensing agency department ] prior to implementation. 

[ E. The parent shall be provided access to the school's 
behavior management policy and procedures upon enrollment 
and at the beginning of each school year, and provided a 
written copy upon request. ]  
8VAC20-671-640. Time-out. 

[ A. The school shall have written policy and procedures 
governing the conditions under which a student may use 
time-out and the maximum period of time-out not to exceed 
30 minutes per episode. The conditions and maximum period 
of time-out shall be based on the student's chronological and 
developmental level. The school's policy and procedures shall 
include provisions that address the following: Policies and 
procedures shall be written that govern the conditions under 
which a student may self-select or be placed in time-out and 
the maximum length of time a student may be in time-out. 
The conditions for time-out and length of time a student may 
be in time-out shall be based on the student's chronological 
and developmental levels. The school's policy and procedures 
shall include: ]  

1. Each student is entitled to be completely free from any 
unnecessary use of time-out. 
2. [ The areas in which a student is placed A door to a 
time-out room ] shall not be locked nor [ the door ] secured 
in a manner that prevents the student from opening it.  
3. A student in time-out shall be able to communicate with 
staff. 
4. Staff shall check on the student [ in the time-out area ] at 
least every 15 minutes and more often depending on the 
nature of the student's disability, condition, [ and or ] 
behavior. 
5. [ Procedures shall be implemented for documenting the 
The ] use of time-out and staff checks on the student [ shall 
be documented ]. 
6. Staff shall review procedures when a student 
consistently chooses to stay in time-out beyond the 
determined time limit to determine that it has not become 
reinforcement. 

8VAC20-671-650. Prohibitions. 
[ A. ] The following actions are prohibited: 

1. Restraint and seclusion, except when it is necessary to 
protect the student or others from personal harm, injury, or 

death and other less restrictive interventions were 
unsuccessful; 
2. Prone "face down" restraints, mechanical restraints, 
[ and ] pharmacological restraints [ , and any other restraint 
that restricts breathing or harms the child or interferes with 
the child's ability to communicate ]; 
3. Deprivation of drinking water or food;  
4. Limitation on contacts and visits [ with from ] the 
student's probation officer, [ regulators, or social worker, ] 
placing agency representative [ , or other service provider 
as appropriate ]; 
5. Any action that is humiliating, degrading, or abusive;  
6. Corporal punishment; 
7. Deprivation of approved prescription medication or 
other necessary services [ and treatment ]; 
8. Denial of access to toilet facilities;  
9. Application of aversive stimuli;  
10. Strip and body cavity searches; and 
11. Discipline, restraint, or implementation of behavior 
management plans by other students.  

8VAC20-671-660. Managing student behavior in 
emergency situations. 

[ A. Application of a formal behavior management program 
designed to reduce or eliminate severely maladaptive, violent, 
or self-injurious behavior contingent upon the exhibition of 
such behaviors is allowed only as part of an individually 
approved time specific plan that is consistent with sound 
therapeutic practice. Written consent of the student, parent or 
guardian, and the student's school division is required. 

B. A. ] Each school shall have written policies and 
procedures [ made available annually to students, parents, and 
placing agencies ] that include, but are not limited to: 

1. Methods for preventing student violence, self-injurious 
behavior, and suicide, including de-escalation of 
potentially dangerous behavior occurring among groups of 
students or with an individual student. 
2. A [ policy stating statement ] that corporal punishment 
and abusive techniques and interventions are not 
authorized, permitted, or condoned. 
[ C. Each school shall develop and implement 3. A 
statement that ] behavior management techniques [ are 
applied ] in order of their [ relative ] degree of 
intrusiveness or restrictiveness and the conditions under 
which they may be used by trained [ school ] personnel.  

[ D. While the use of restraint and seclusion is prohibited, a 
school that finds it absolutely necessary can only do so under 
the following conditions: 

1. B. ] Physical restraint or seclusion is allowed only in an 
emergency situation [ for a time period that and only when it ] 
is necessary to [ contain the behavior of the student so that the 
student no longer presents an immediate threat of causing 
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physical injury to self or others or causing severe property 
damage protect the student or another person from imminent 
danger of serious physical harm after less intrusive 
interventions have been attempted and failed to manage that 
particular behavior and there is a substantial explanation for 
why other interventions were deemed inadequate or 
inappropriate ]. 

[ 1. The use of restraint or seclusion, particularly when 
there is repeated use for an individual child, multiple uses 
within the same classroom, or multiple uses by the same 
individual, shall trigger a review and, if appropriate, a 
revision of behavioral strategies currently in place to 
address dangerous behavior. If positive behavioral 
strategies are not in place, staff shall develop them. 
2. In cases where a student has a history of dangerous 
behavior for which restraint or seclusion was considered or 
used, a school shall have a plan developed in consultation 
with the parent for (i) teaching and supporting more 
appropriate behavior and (ii) determining positive methods 
to prevent behavioral escalations that have previously 
resulted in the use of restraint or seclusion. ]  
[ 2. 3. ] Physical restraint or seclusion shall not be used 
[ for disciplinary reasons, ] as a punishment [ , or ] 
retaliation, or for staff's convenience. 
[ 3. The school shall have written policies and procedures 
governing use of physical restraint and seclusion incidents 
that shall include the following: 
a. 4. ] Each student is entitled to be completely free from 
any unnecessary use of physical restraint or seclusion. 
[ Physical restraint and seclusion are allowed only in an 
emergency situation for a time period that is necessary to 
contain the behavior of the student so that the student no 
longer presents an immediate threat of causing physical 
injury to self or others or causing severe property damage. 
b. The school shall provide written notice of its behavior 
management program to students, parent(s), and placing 
agency at the time of the student's enrollment. 
c. 5. ] Staff shall [ continuously ] monitor the use of 
[ physical ] restraint and seclusion [ through continuous 
face-to-face observation, not solely by and shall not rely 
on ] an electronic surveillance device. 
[ d. Restraints 6. Physical restraint ] may only be 
implemented, monitored, [ and or ] discontinued by staff 
who have [ been trained in the proper and safe use of 
restraint, including hands-on techniques received proper 
training ]. 
[ e. Students must be supervised by staff members trained 
in behavior intervention. 
f. Schools shall inform the parent and placing agency of 
each incident of physical restraint or seclusion on the day 
of the occurrence and make available to the licensing 
agency upon request. 

7. The door to any room in which a student is secluded 
may be held shut only when a staff member is personally 
securing it. The door must immediately disengage when 
the staff member steps away from it. The room must meet 
specification including size and viewing panels that ensure 
the student's safety at all times including during a fire or 
other emergency. 
8. Schools shall permit parents to inspect any area used 
during an emergency for the purpose of seclusion. 
9. The parent shall be informed on the day of each incident 
of physical restraint or seclusion. The student's home 
school division and placing agency shall be informed as 
soon as possible but within 24 hours of the occurrence. ]  
[ g. 10. ] Each application of physical restraint or seclusion 
shall be fully documented in the student's record including 
date, time, staff involved, justification for the [ physical ] 
restraint or seclusion, [ behavior antecedents, ] less 
restrictive interventions that were unsuccessfully attempted 
prior to using physical restraint or seclusion, duration, 
description of method or methods of physical restraint 
techniques used, signature of the person completing the 
report and date, and reviewer's signature and date. [ The 
written report shall be made available to the parent within 
two business days of the occurrence and opportunity given 
for the parent and student, as appropriate, to discuss the 
matter with school staff. 
11. Schools shall collect and annually report to the 
department the number of times restraint and seclusion 
were used during the school year. The data shall be 
disaggregated by students and number of occurrences. ]  

8VAC20-671-670. Videotaping. 
A. Schools shall have written policy and procedures 

regarding videotaping students while in school and any 
school-sponsored activity, including those used for staff 
training. 

B. No student shall be videotaped without written consent of 
the parent and eligible student. 

C. Any videotaping of students shall be maintained 
confidentially unless there is explicit written permission to 
release or disclose from the [ parent(s) parent ] and eligible 
student. 

D. Buildings and grounds surveillance is not considered 
videotaping for the purpose of this chapter.  
8VAC20-671-680. Referral for evaluation. 

[ A. ] When a student [ , including those placed by their 
parent(s) or from out-of-state, ] is suspected of having a 
disability, the [ private ] school [ shall may ] make a referral 
to the division superintendent of the school division where 
the private school is located. Documentation of the referral 
notice shall be maintained in the student's record.  

 [ B. The school shall cooperate with the school division on 
child find activities. ]  
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8VAC20-671-690. Suspected child abuse and neglect. 
A. Written policies and procedures related to child abuse 

and neglect shall comply with the requirements of § 63.2-
1509 of the Code of Virginia and distributed to all staff 
members. Policies and procedures shall include: 

1. Handling accusations against staff; and 
2. [ Promptly referring suspected cases Reporting 
immediately, but under no circumstance later than 24 hours 
after having a suspicion of a reportable offense ] of child 
abuse and neglect to the [ local ] child protective services 
unit [ of the local department of social services of the 
county or city wherein the abuse or neglect was believed to 
have occurred or to the Department of Social Services toll-
free child abuse and neglect hotline and for cooperating 
with the unit during any investigation ]. 

B. Any case of suspected child abuse or neglect occurring at 
the school or on a school-sponsored event or excursion shall 
be reported immediately to the student's parent [ , guardian, or 
both if appropriate, ] and the [ placing and licensing agencies 
department ]. For publically placed students, the home school 
division and the placing agency shall also be notified. 

C. [ When a case of suspected Suspected ] child abuse or 
neglect [ is reported to child protective services, the school 
shall document: shall be immediately documented to include ] 
the following: 

1. The date and time the suspected abuse or neglect 
occurred; 
2. A description of the suspected abuse or neglect; 
3. Action taken as a result of the suspected abuse or 
neglect; 
4. The name of the person who made the report to child 
protective services; and 
5. The name of the person to whom the report was made at 
the local child protective services unit. 

[ D. Suspected child abuse shall be handled and reported as 
a serious incident. ]  
8VAC20-671-700. Serious incident reports. 

A. Any serious incident, accident, or injury to a student [ or 
medication error ] that occurs at the school or a school-
sponsored activity shall be reported [ to the parent ] 
immediately, [ but ] no later than the end of the school day [ , 
to the parent, student's public school, placing agency, and 
licensing agency. A publically placed student's home school 
division and the placing agency shall be notified as soon as 
possible, but not later than 24 hours of the occurrence. ]  

B. The school shall document the following: 
1. The date and time the incident occurred; 
2. A brief description of the incident; 
3. The action taken as a result of the incident; 
4. The name of the person who completed the incident 
report; and 

5. The date and name of the person who made the report to 
the proper authorities. 

C. The [ licensing agency department ] shall review [ all ] 
reports of serious incidents and investigate as appropriate 
[ using the complaint resolution procedures of this chapter ]. 
8VAC20-671-710. Medication and health. 

A. Each student shall have on file evidence of a 
comprehensive physical examination prescribed by the State 
Health Commissioner from a qualified licensed (i) physician, 
(ii) nurse practitioner, or (iii) physician assistant acting under 
the supervision of a licensed physician. The examination 
must contain, at a minimum, information required on the 
Commonwealth of Virginia School Entrance Health Form. 

B. Each student shall have an up-to-date certificate of 
immunization [ documenting the immunizations required by 
the Code of Virginia and State Board of Health’s Regulations 
for the Immunization of School Children (12VAC5-110) ].  

C. Any student or staff with a [ disease or ] medical 
condition that is contagious or infectious shall [ be excluded 
take leave ] from school while in that condition unless 
attendance is approved by a qualified [ healthcare health 
care ] provider. Conditions meeting this requirement must be 
provided in the parent/student handbook or other print 
materials. 

D. A first aid kit shall be maintained and readily accessible 
for minor injuries and medical emergencies in each building 
used for instruction or other school activity.  

E. All medications shall be accepted only in the original 
container with written permission signed and dated by the 
parent to administer to [ his the ] child. The use of all 
prescriptive medication must be authorized in writing by a 
licensed prescriber.  

F. All medication and medical paraphernalia shall be 
[ securely locked and properly labeled properly labeled and 
securely locked or stored in accordance with the Virginia 
School Health Guidelines ].  

[ G. A program of medication administration shall be 
initiated for a student only when prescribed in writing by a 
person authorized by law to prescribe medication and written 
consent from the parent is obtained to administer. 

H. G. ] An individual medication administration record shall 
be maintained for each medication a student receives and 
shall include student name, date the medication is to begin, 
drug name, schedule for administration, strength, route, 
identification of the individual who administered the 
medication, and dates the medication was discontinued or 
changed.  

[ I. H. ] The provider shall develop and implement written 
policies and procedures regarding: 

1. Managing medication errors to include the following: 
administering first aid; contacting the poison control 
center; notifying the prescribing physician; taking action as 
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directed; documenting the incident; reviewing medication 
errors and staff responses; and reporting errors to the 
parent and placing agency.  
2. Handling adverse drug reactions; 
3. Revising procedures as events may warrant; 
4. Disposing of medication and medical supplies such as 
needles, syringes, lancets, etc.; 
5. Storing of controlled substances;  
6. Distributing medication off campus; and 
7. [ Medication refusal to include who is responsible for 
documentation, where it will be documented and action 
taken by staff Documenting medication refusal ].  

[ J. I. ] The telephone number of a regional poison control 
center and other emergency numbers shall be posted on or 
near the phone. 

[ K. J.]. Medication training.  
1. All staff responsible for medication administration shall 
have successfully completed [ a ] medication training [ , 
including refresher training, in a ] program approved by the 
Board of Nursing or be licensed by the Commonwealth of 
Virginia to administer medication before they can 
administer medication.  
2. Training shall be provided to [ all ] staff in medication 
procedures and effects and infection control measures, 
including the use of standard precautions.  
3. [ There shall be a ratio of one staff member to 10 
students Staff ] certified in first aid and CPR [ and shall 
be ] available at all times on the school grounds and during 
any school-sponsored activity. 
4. Documentation of medication training must be 
maintained in personnel files. 
5. Staff authorized to administer medication shall be 
informed of any known side effects of the medication and 
the symptoms of the effects.  

[ L. K. ] Monitoring the supply of medications. 
1. Upon receiving any medication, staff members handling 
medication shall count individual tablets and measure the 
level of liquid medicine in the presence of the parent(s) or 
another staff member and record the count on the 
medication log. 
2. The medication log shall include the signature or initials 
of the staff member who counted the medication and the 
parent or staff who witnessed the occurrence. When initials 
are used, the medication administration record must 
contain the full name of the staff with corresponding 
initials for identification purposes. 
3. Students shall be prohibited from transporting 
medication [ unless directed otherwise by the student's 
health care plan ]. 

8VAC20-671-720. School nutrition. 
A. Schools with [ internal ] food service shall [ serve to each 

student on a daily basis a daily ensure a ] diet that (i) consists 
of nutritionally balanced meals, (ii) includes an adequate 
variety and quantity of food for the age of students, and (iii) 
meets [ the ] minimum requirements [ and of ] the [ U.S. ] 
Dietary Guidelines [ for Americans, 2010, U.S. Department 
of Agriculture and U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services, 7th Edition, December 2010 ]. 

[ B. Schools with internal food service shall ensure that all 
1. All ] food safety and sanitation procedures [ are shall 
be ] followed in accordance with state and federal 
regulations. 
[ C. 2. ] Records of menus for all meals served shall be 
kept on file for six months. 
[ D. Special diets shall be provided 3. Provisions shall be 
made for special diets ] when prescribed by a physician or 
requested by the student or parent because of the student's 
established religion. 

[ E. B. ] In schools where students are required to bring their 
own lunch, provisions shall be made to ensure a meal for all 
students.  
8VAC20-671-730. Transportation. 

A. [ Each school shall have on file evidence that any 
vehicles used for the purpose of transporting students to and 
from school and school-related activities meet federal and 
state regulations, including: Transportation provided for or 
used by students shall comply with local, state, and federal 
laws relating to: ]  

1. Vehicle safety and maintenance;  
2. Licensure of vehicles;  
3. Licensure of drivers; 
4. [ Vehicle liability insurance Child passenger safety, 
including requiring children to wear appropriate seat belts 
or restraints for the vehicle in which they are being 
transported ];  
5. [ Child passenger safety, including requiring students to 
wear seat belts or restraints Vehicle liability insurance ]; 
and 
6. Safety measures that take into consideration the age and 
disabling conditions of students.  

B. All vehicles used to transport students to school activities 
shall be equipped with first aid kits, a fire extinguisher, and 
two-way communication devices. 

C. Individual student emergency information including 
currently prescribed and over-the-counter medications, 
significant medical problems, and any allergies shall 
accompany students when they are being transported.  
8VAC20-671-740. [ Treatment services (Reserved.) ] 

[ Licensed providers of treatment services shall coordinate 
those services to allow students to receive the required hours 
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of instruction to the extent possible. When treatment services 
are not prescribed by a licensed mental health professional, 
the student shall receive the required number of hours of 
instruction. ] 
8VAC20-671-750. Student discharge. 

A. Each school shall have policies and procedures that 
address conditions for which a student may be discharged 
from the school.  

B. The school's criteria for discharge shall be made available 
to prospective students, parents, and placing agencies before 
their enrollment. 

C. The student's education record shall be documented with 
the date of discharge and reason for discharge. 

D. Students shall be discharged only to the parent or legally 
authorized representative.  
8VAC20-671-760. Maintenance of student records. 

A. The school shall have written policy and procedures for 
the management of all records, print and nonprint, regarding 
confidentiality, accessibility, security, [ and ] retention [ , and 
disposition ]. 

B. Student education records shall be maintained in 
[ fireproof fire resistant ] cabinets [ and protected from 
unauthorized disclosure ]. 

C. Each student's education record shall contain information 
pertinent to the educational growth and development to 
include a completed enrollment sheet; a current IEP, 504 
Plan, or IIP; student transcript; course of studies; and progress 
reports. Other information should include disciplinary 
records, health records, and achievement and test data. 

D. [ A school shall obtain written Written ] consent from the 
child's parent [ shall be obtained ] before disclosure of 
information from a student's education record to unauthorized 
parties. Authorized parties shall be limited to school 
employees, including contracted employees, and 
representatives of [ placing school divisions, accrediting 
agencies, and ] state licensing agencies who need access to 
the student's records to carry out their work responsibilities. 

E. [ A school may disclose information Information may be 
disclosed ] in an emergency to any person who needs that 
particular information for the purpose of preventing injury to 
a student or staff. The school shall not disclose any 
information that is not needed for this specific purpose. [ The 
school may disclose any records if they are properly 
subpoenaed, if a court orders them to be produced, to the 
school's own legal counsel, or to anyone working on behalf of 
their legal counsel in providing representation to the school. ]  

F. The school shall permit a parent [ or parents ] to inspect 
and review any education records relating to [ their the ] child 
that are collected, maintained, or used by the school. The 
school shall comply with a request without unnecessary delay 
and before any meeting regarding an IEP or 504 Plan [ or in 
no case more than 14 calendar days after the request has been 

made ]. The right to inspect and review education records 
under this section includes: 

1. The right to a response from the school to reasonable 
requests for explanations and interpretations of the records; 
2. The right to request that the school provide copies of the 
records containing the information if failure to provide 
those copies would effectively prevent the parent from 
exercising the right to inspect and review the records;  
3. The right to have a representative of the parent inspect 
and review the records; and 
4. A school may presume that a parent has authority to 
inspect and review records relating to his child unless the 
school has been advised that the parent does not have the 
authority under applicable Virginia law governing such 
matters as guardianship, separation, and divorce. 

G. Each school shall keep a record of parties, except parents 
and authorized employees of the school, obtaining access to 
education records collected or maintained, including the name 
of the party, the date of access, and the purpose of the access. 

H. If any education record includes information on more 
than one child, the [ parent(s) of those children have parent 
has ] the right to inspect and review only the information 
relating to [ their his ] child or to be informed of the specific 
information requested.  

I. Schools may charge a fee for copies of records that are 
made for a [ parent(s) parent ] under this chapter if the fee 
does not effectively prevent the [ parent(s) parent ] from 
exercising [ their his ] right to inspect and review those 
records. A school may not charge a fee to search for or to 
retrieve information under this section.  

J. A [ parent(s) parent ] who believes that information in the 
education records collected, maintained, or used under this 
chapter is inaccurate or misleading or violates the privacy or 
other rights of the child may request the school that maintains 
the information to amend the information.  

1. The school shall decide whether to amend the 
information in accordance with the request within a 
reasonable period of time [ of receipt of the request ]. 
2. If the school decides to refuse to amend the information 
in accordance with the request, it shall inform the 
[ parent(s) parent ] of the refusal and inform the parent of 
the right to place in the child's education records a 
statement commenting on the information or setting forth 
any reasons for disagreeing with the decision of the school. 
3. Any explanation placed in the records of the child under 
this section must: 

a. Be maintained by the school as part of the records of 
the child as long as the record or contested portion is 
maintained by the school; and  
b. If the records of the child or the contested portion is 
disclosed by the school to any party, the explanation 
must also be disclosed to the party.  
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K. [ Records retention. 
1. Each school shall maintain all education records, 
including discipline and medical records for as long as the 
student continues enrollment at the school.  
2. When a student transfers to another school, the student's 
complete education record shall be transferred within five 
business days from the date of request and notification of 
the transfer to the parent, guardian, and placing agency. 
3. When a student graduates or leaves school, the school 
shall offer all records to the eligible student or parent(s). 
The records of a publicly placed student who graduates or 
leaves school shall be transferred to the child's public 
school. 

When a privately placed student graduates or leaves school, 
the student's education record shall be offered to the eligible 
student or parent. The records of a publically placed student 
who graduates or leaves school shall be transferred to the 
child's home school. 

L. Each school shall maintain a permanent record of 
attendance to include the following: ]  

[ a. 1. ] Name and address of school;  
[ b. 2. ] Name, address, and birth date of student; 
[ 3. Name and address of the home school division for 
publically placed students; ]  
[ c. 4. ] Name and address of [ the ] parent [ or parents ]; 
[ d. 5. ] Student ID [ number ]; 
[ e. 6. ] Dates of attendance; [ and ]  
[ f. Verification of immunizations 
g. Scholastic work completed; and  
h. Academic transcript. 
7. Academic transcript ]. 

8VAC20-671-770. Participation of students in human 
research. 

A. No human research involving students shall be conducted 
or authorized by any school unless in compliance with [ the 
Board of Education's regulation, 8VAC20-565, or other 
applicable law, including §§ 32.1-162.16 through 32.1-162.20 
of the Code of Virginia and ] 45 CFR Part 46. 

B. No such research shall be conducted or authorized unless 
the student and the student's legally authorized representative 
give their informed consent. Such informed consent shall be 
by a signed and witnessed informed consent form. Such form 
shall comply with § [ 32.1-162 32.1-162.18 ] of the Code of 
Virginia. 

C. Any such research shall be approved and conducted 
under the review of a human research committee, which shall 
be established by the school conducting or authorizing the 
research. Any such committee shall comply with the 
provisions of § 32.1-162.19 of the Code of Virginia. The 
committee shall submit to the Governor, the General 
Assembly, and the Superintendent of Public Instruction or 

designee at least annually a report on the student projects 
reviewed and approved by the committee, which shall state 
significant deviations from the proposals as approved. 

D. There shall be excluded from the operation of this 
chapter those categories of research in § 32.1-162.17 of the 
Code of Virginia that exempt research or student learning 
outcomes as conducted in educational settings involving 
regular or special education instructional strategies; the 
effectiveness of or the comparison among instructional 
techniques, curricula, or classroom management methods; or 
the use of educational tests, whether cognitive, diagnostic, 
aptitude, or achievement, if the data from such tests are 
recorded in a manner so that subjects cannot be identified, 
directly or through identifiers linked to the subjects. 
8VAC20-671-780. Procedures for [ permanent ] school 
closing. 

A. A school that ceases operation shall provide written 
notice as early as possible to all enrolled students, the 
parent(s), the student's public school, and licensing agencies. 

B. All advertisements of the school's operation shall cease 
immediately, and the current license to operate shall be 
returned promptly to the [ licensing agency department ].  

C. If privately placed students are unable to complete the 
academic year due to the school's closing, the school's 
guaranty instrument shall be used for tuition reimbursement 
to the fullest extent allowable. 

D. All education records of privately placed students shall 
be provided to the parent or student who has reached 18 years 
of age and acknowledgement of such to the [ licensing agency 
department ]. 

E. All education records of publicly placed students shall be 
returned to the school division of the parent's residence and 
acknowledgement of such to the parent or student who has 
reached 18 years of age, and the [ licensing agency 
department ]. 
NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 
regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 
published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 
a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 
agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 
Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 
Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 
[ FORMS (8VAC20-671) 

2015 -2016 Application to Operate a Private School for 
Students with Disabilities (rev. 7/15) 

School Entrance Health Form, MCH 213G (rev. 3/14) ]  
[ DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 
(8VAC20-671) 

Virginia School Health Guidelines - General Guidelines for 
Administering Medication in School (pages 253-256), May 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=96ece002536~4&typ=40&actno=002536&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=96ece002536~4&typ=40&actno=002536&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7abea002536~3&typ=40&actno=002536&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cad18002536~2&typ=40&actno=002536&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cad18002536~2&typ=40&actno=002536&mime=application/pdf
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1999, published by the Virginia Department of Health and 
printed by the Virginia Department of Education 

Dietary Guidelines for Americans 2010, 7th Edition, 
December 2010, U.S. Department of Agriculture and U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services, Washington, 
D.C.: U.S. Government Printing Office, www.dietary 
guidelines.gov ] 

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2536; Filed July 2, 2015, 2:28 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 
claiming an exclusion from Article 2 of the Administrative 
Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 
of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 
conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where no 
agency discretion is involved. The State Water Control Board 
will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 
interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 
or revision. 
Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-20. Fees for Permits and 
Certificates (amending 9VAC25-20-40, 9VAC25-20-50, 
9VAC25-20-146, 9VAC25-20-147).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 62.1-44.15 and 62.1-44.15:6 of the 
Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: October 1, 2015.  
Agency Contact: William K. Norris, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4022, FAX (804) 
698-4347, or email william.norris@deq.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendments (i) delete the fee exemption for the land 
application of materials classified as exceptional quality 
biosolids; (ii) add a fee of $3.75 on each dry ton of 
exceptional quality biosolids cake sewage sludge that is 
land applied, beginning October 1, 2015; and (iii) clarify 
the distinction between Class B biosolids and exceptional 
quality biosolids for recordkeeping and reporting 
requirements. The amendments conform the regulation to 
changes in the Code of Virginia enacted by Item 361 of 
Chapter 665 of the 2015 Acts of Assembly. 

9VAC25-20-40. Applicability.  
A. This chapter applies to:  

1. All applicants for issuance of a new permit, permit 
authorization or certificate, or reissuance of an existing 
permit, permit authorization or certificate, except as 
specifically exempt under 9VAC25-20-50 A. The fee due 

shall be as specified under 9VAC25-20-110 or 9VAC25-
20-130.  
2. All permit, permit authorization or certificate holders 
who request that an existing permit, permit authorization or 
certificate be modified, except as specifically exempt under 
9VAC25-20-50 A 3 or 9VAC25-20-50 A 6. The fee due 
shall be as specified under 9VAC25-20-120.  
3. All land appliers land applying biosolids on permitted 
sites in the Commonwealth of Virginia, except as 
specifically exempt under 9VAC25-20-50 C. The fee due 
shall be as specified under 9VAC25-20-146. 

B. An applicant for a permit, permit authorization or 
certificate involving a permit that is to be revoked and 
reissued shall be considered an applicant for a new permit. 
The fee due shall be as specified under 9VAC25-20-110.  

C. Permit maintenance fees apply to each Virginia Pollutant 
Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) permit holder and 
each Virginia Pollution Abatement (VPA) permit holder, 
except those specifically exempt under 9VAC25-20-50 B of 
this chapter. The fee due shall be as specified under 9VAC25-
20-142.  

D. Virginia Water Protection (VWP) Individual/Minimum 
Instream Flow permit fees apply to any permit for the 
construction of an intake on a stream or river, or to any permit 
for the construction of a new intake on an existing reservoir. 
The fee due shall be as specified under 9VAC25-20-110 or 
9VAC25-20-120, as applicable.  

E. VWP Individual/Reservoir permit fees apply to any 
permit for the construction of a new reservoir, or the 
expansion of an existing reservoir in which one of the 
purposes of the reservoir is for water supply. The fee due 
shall be as specified under 9VAC25-20-110 or 9VAC25-20-
120, as applicable. VWP Individual/Reservoir permit fees do 
not apply to the construction of any impoundment, pond or 
lake in which water supply is not part of the project's purpose.  
9VAC25-20-50. Exemptions.  

A. No permit application fees will be assessed to:  
1. An applicant for a permit, permit authorization, 
certificate or special exception pertaining to a farming 
operation engaged in production for market.  
2. An applicant for a permit, permit authorization, or 
certificate pertaining to maintenance dredging for federal 
navigation channels or other U.S. Army Corps of 
Engineers-sponsored or Department of the Navy-sponsored 
dredging projects.  
3. Permit holders who request minor modifications or 
minor amendments to permits, permit authorizations or 
certificates as defined in 9VAC25-20-10.  
4. Permit, permit authorization or certificate holders whose 
permits, permit authorizations or certificates are modified 
or amended at the initiative of the board.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cad18002536~2&typ=40&actno=002536&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cad18002536~2&typ=40&actno=002536&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bc732002536~2&typ=40&actno=002536&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bc732002536~2&typ=40&actno=002536&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bc732002536~2&typ=40&actno=002536&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bc732002536~2&typ=40&actno=002536&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bc732002536~2&typ=40&actno=002536&mime=application/pdf
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5. VPDES permit holders or VPA permit holders for the 
regularly scheduled renewal of an individual permit for an 
existing facility, except VPDES and VPA permit holders 
whose permits expire on or before December 27, 2004.  
6. An applicant for a permit, permit authorization, permit 
modification, or certificate pertaining solely to biosolids 
research. 

B. No permit maintenance fees will be assessed to:  
1. VPDES and VPA facilities operating under a general 
permit.  
2. Permits pertaining to a farming operation engaged in 
production for market.  
3. Virginia Water Protection (VWP), Surface Water 
Withdrawal (SWW), and Ground Water Withdrawal 
(GWW) permits, permit authorizations, certificates and 
special exceptions.  
4. Permits pertaining solely to biosolids research. 

C. No fee shall be imposed on the land application of 
materials classified as "exceptional quality biosolids" or the 
equivalent thereof, as defined by 9VAC25-32. 

Part IV  
Biosolids Fees and Reimbursable Costs  

9VAC25-20-146. Established fees. 
A. Land appliers shall remit the established fees to the 

department as specified in this regulation. The land appliers 
shall collect the required fees from the owners of the sewage 
treatment works and facilities that generate the Class B 
biosolids and exceptional quality biosolids cake that are land 
applied. Such works and facilities shall be approved sources 
of biosolids in accordance with this regulation 9VAC25-31 or 
9VAC25-32. Land application shall only include biosolids 
from approved sources as listed in the land application 
permit. The established fee shall be imposed on each dry ton 
of Class B biosolids and exceptional quality biosolids cake 
that is land applied in the Commonwealth of Virginia in 
accordance with 9VAC25-31 or 9VAC25-32.  

B. The amount of the established fee and disbursement are 
as follows:  

1. The fee shall be $7.50 per dry ton of Class B biosolids 
land applied in the Commonwealth of Virginia.  
2. The fee shall be $3.75 per dry ton of exceptional quality 
biosolids land applied as a cake in the Commonwealth of 
Virginia. 
2. 3. Disbursement of the established fees collected by the 
department shall be made to reimburse or partially 
reimburse those counties, cities and towns with duly 
adopted local ordinances that submit documentation of 
reimbursable expenses acceptable to the department as 
provided for in this regulation. 
3. 4. Disbursement of the established fees collected by the 
department shall be made to reimburse the Department of 

Conservation and Recreation's costs for implementation of 
the biosolids application program.  

9VAC25-20-147. Records and reports. 
A. Records. Permittees shall maintain complete records of 

the land application activities and amounts of Class B 
biosolids and exceptional quality biosolids cake that they land 
apply in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Such records shall 
be maintained by the permittee for five years after the date of 
the activity in a form that is available for inspection by the 
department. Records of land application activities shall 
include at minimum:  

1. Name of permittee, DEQ permit number, and dates of 
activity.  
2. Identification of land application site, including the DEQ 
control number.  
3. The source of biosolids, whether the biosolids are Class 
B or exceptional quality cake, and field area receiving 
those biosolids.  
4. The amount of biosolids applied in dry tons, by class, 
and the method and calculations used to determine the 
reported value.  
5. Name of responsible representative of permittee and a 
statement signed and dated by that representative 
indicating that the information submitted has been verified 
by that representative as correctly reported in accordance 
with this regulation.  

B. Reports and notification. The permittee shall submit a 
monthly report by the 15th day of each month for land 
application activity that occurred in the previous calendar 
month, unless another date is specified in the permit in 
accordance with 9VAC25-32-80 I 4. The report shall include 
(i) the recorded information listed in subsection A of this 
section and (ii) a calculation of the total fee. The submitted 
report shall include a summary list of the total amount of 
Class B biosolids and exceptional quality biosolids cake 
applied and the calculated fee based on the land-applied Class 
B biosolids and exceptional quality biosolids cake for each 
county in which land application occurred. If no land 
application occurs under a permit during the calendar month, 
a report shall be submitted stating that no land application 
occurred.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4358; Filed July 1, 2015, 12:20 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 
claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 
Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 8 of the Code of 
Virginia, which exempts general permits issued by the State 
Water Control Board pursuant to the State Water Control Law 
(§ 62.1-44.2 et seq.), Chapter 24 (§ 62.1-242 et seq.) of Title 
62.1, and Chapter 25 (§ 62.1-254 et seq.) of Title 62.1 if the 
board (i) provides a Notice of Intended Regulatory Action in 
conformance with the provisions of § 2.2-4007.01; (ii) 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.2
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-242
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-254
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4007.01
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following the passage of 30 days from the publication of the 
Notice of Intended Regulatory Action forms a technical 
advisory committee composed of relevant stakeholders, 
including potentially affected citizens groups, to assist in the 
development of the general permit; (iii) provides notice and 
receives oral and written comment as provided in § 2.2-
4007.03; and (iv) conducts at least one public hearing on the 
proposed general permit.  
Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-110. Virginia Pollutant 
Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) General Permit 
for Domestic Sewage Discharges of Less Than or Equal to 
1,000 Gallons Per Day (amending 9VAC25-110-10 
through 9VAC25-110-80; adding 9VAC25-110-15).  
Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 
§ 402 of the Clean Water Act; 40 CFR Parts 122, 123, and 
124. 
Public Hearing Information: 

August 25, 2015 - 3 p.m. - Department of Environmental 
Quality, Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, 
Glen Allen, VA 

Public Comment Deadline: September 25, 2015. 
Agency Contact: Allan Brockenbrough, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4147, FAX (804) 
698-4032, or email allan.brockenbrough@deq.virginia.gov. 
Announcement of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review: Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and § 
2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the agency is conducting 
a periodic review and small business impact review of this 
regulation to determine whether this regulation should be 
terminated, amended, or retained in its current form. Public 
comment is sought on the review of any issue relating to this 
regulation, including whether the regulation (i) is necessary 
for the protection of public health, safety, and welfare or for 
the economical performance of important governmental 
functions; (ii) minimizes the economic impact on small 
businesses in a manner consistent with the stated objectives 
of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly written and easily 
understandable. 
Summary: 

The proposed amendments reissue the existing Virginia 
Pollutant Discharge Elimination System general permit for 
domestic sewage discharges of less than or equal to 1,000 
gallons per day (VAG40) that will expire on August 1, 
2016. The general permit contains effluent limitations, 
permit conditions and monitoring requirements for 
domestic sewage discharges to surface waters from 
treatment works with a design discharge flow of less than 
or equal to 1,000 gallons per day on a monthly average. 
The permit requirements are designed to protect the 
quality of the waters receiving the treated wastewater 
discharges. Amendments are proposed to update and 
clarify definitions, effective dates, authorization to 

discharge, registration statement requirements, general 
permit limits pages, special conditions, and conditions 
applicable to all permits. The amendments include (i) 
adding a limit set for discharges to receiving waters 
subject to the Policy for the Potomac River Embayments 
(9VAC25-415); (ii) requiring owners of treatment works 
serving buildings or dwellings other than individual single 
family dwellings to submit the monitoring results to the 
Department of Environmental Quality on a Discharge 
Monitoring Report (DMR) after each monitoring period; 
and (iii) requiring owners of treatment works serving 
buildings or dwellings other than individual single family 
dwellings to maintain a log of all maintenance performed 
on the treatment works and submit the log to the 
department along with the facilities monitoring results.  

9VAC25-110-10. Definitions. 
The words and terms used in this chapter shall have the 

same meanings as given in the State Water Control Law, 
Chapter 3.1 (§ 62.1-44.2 et seq.) of Title 62.1 of the Code of 
Virginia and the VPDES Permit Regulation (9VAC25-31), 
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise, except that for 
the purposes of this chapter: 

"7Q10" means the lowest flow averaged over a period of 
seven consecutive days that can be statistically expected to 
occur once every 10 climatic years. 

"Board" or "State Water Control Board" means the Virginia 
State Water Control Board. 

"Climatic year" means a year beginning on April 1 and 
ending on March 31. 

"Combined application" means the Virginia Department of 
Health Discharging System Application for Single Family 
Dwellings Discharging Sewage Less Than or Equal to 1,000 
Gallons per Day and State Water Control Board Virginia 
Pollutant Discharge Elimination System General Permit 
Registration Statement for Domestic Sewage Discharges Less 
Than or Equal to 1,000 Gallons per Day. This application 
combines the VDH Alternative Discharging Sewage 
Treatment Regulations for Individual Single Family 
Dwellings (12VAC5-640) requirements with the board's 
registration statement requirements. 

"Department" or "DEQ" means the Virginia Department of 
Environmental Quality or the department. 

"Domestic sewage" means the water-carried human wastes 
from residences, buildings, industrial establishments or other 
places. 

"Individual single family dwelling" means a residence 
housing one family or household or one that is designed for 
one family only. 

"Receiving water" means a creek, stream, river, lake, 
estuary, groundwater formation, or other body of water into 
which treated waste or untreated waste is discharged. 

"Total maximum daily load" or "TMDL" means a 
calculation of the maximum amount of a pollutant that a 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4007.03
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4007.03
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waterbody can receive and still meet water quality standards, 
and an allocation of that amount to the pollutant's sources. A 
TMDL includes wasteload allocations (WLAs) for point 
source discharges, and load allocations (LAs) for nonpoint 
sources or natural background or both, and must include a 
margin of safety (MOS) and account for seasonal variations. 

"VDH" means the Virginia Department of Health. 
9VAC25-110-15. Applicability of incorporated references 
based on the dates that they became effective. 

Except as noted, when a regulation of the U.S. 
Environmental Protection Agency set forth in Title 40 of the 
Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is referenced and 
incorporated herein, that regulation shall be as it exists and 
has been published as of July 1, 2014. 
9VAC25-110-20. Purpose; delegation of authority; 
effective date of permit. 

A. This general permit regulation governs domestic sewage 
discharges to surface waters from treatment works with a 
design discharge flow of less than or equal to 1,000 gallons 
per day on a monthly average.  

B. The Director of the Department of Environmental 
Quality, or his designee, may perform any act of the board 
provided under this chapter, except as limited by § 62.1-44.14 
of the Code of Virginia.  

C. This general VPDES permit will become effective on 
August 2, 2011 2016, and it expires on August 1, 2016 2021. 
With respect to a particular facility dwelling, building, or site 
served, this general permit shall become effective upon the 
facility dwelling, building, or site served owner's compliance 
with the provisions of 9VAC25-110-60.  
9VAC25-110-60. Authorization to discharge. 

A. Any owner of a treatment works governed by this general 
permit is hereby authorized to discharge treated domestic 
sewage to surface waters of the Commonwealth of Virginia 
provided that: 

1. The owner submits a registration statement, if required 
to do so, in accordance with 9VAC25-110-70, and that 
registration statement is accepted by the board. For an 
individual single family dwelling, the owner may submit a 
combined application in place of a registration statement; 
2. The owner complies with the effluent limitations and 
other requirements of 9VAC25-110-80; and 
3. The board has not notified the owner, in accordance with 
subsection B of this section, that the discharge is not 
eligible for coverage under this permit. 

B. The board will notify an owner that the discharge is not 
eligible for coverage under this permit in the event of any of 
the following: 

1. The owner is required to obtain an individual VPDES 
permit in accordance with 9VAC25-31-170 B 3 of the 
VPDES Permit Regulation;  

2. The owner is proposing to discharge to surface waters 
specifically named in other board regulations that prohibit 
such discharges;  
3. The owner is proposing to discharge to surface waters in 
an area where there are central sewage facilities reasonably 
available, as determined by the board;  
4. The owner of any proposed treatment works or any 
treatment works that has not previously been issued a 
VPDES permit has applied to the Virginia Department of 
Health for an onsite sewage disposal system permit, and 
the Virginia Department of Health has determined that an 
onsite system is available to serve that parcel of land; 
5. The discharge would violate the antidegradation policy 
stated in 9VAC25-260-30 of the Virginia Water Quality 
Standards; or 
6. A TMDL (board adopted, EPA approved, or EPA 
imposed) contains an individual WLA for the facility, 
unless this general permit specifically addresses the TMDL 
pollutant of concern and the permit limits are at least as 
stringent as those required by the TMDL WLA The 
discharge is not consistent with the assumptions and 
requirements of an approved TMDL. 

C. Compliance with this general permit constitutes 
compliance, for purposes of enforcement, with the federal 
Clean Water Act §§ 301, 302, 306, 307, 318, 403, and 405 (a) 
through (b), and the State Water Control Law, and applicable 
regulations under either, with the exceptions stated in 
9VAC25-31-60 of the VPDES Permit Regulation. Approval 
for coverage under this general VPDES permit does not 
relieve any owner of the responsibility to comply with any 
other applicable federal, state or local statute, ordinance or 
regulation, including, for owners of sewage treatment works 
that serve individual single family dwellings, the Alternative 
Discharging Sewage Treatment Regulations for Individual 
Single Family Dwellings (12VAC5-640) of the Virginia 
Department of Health adopted pursuant to §§ 32.1-12, 32.1-
163, and 32.1-164 of the Code of Virginia and, for owners of 
sewage treatment works that serve nonsingle buildings or 
dwellings other than individual single family dwellings, the 
Sewage Collection and Treatment Regulations (9VAC25-
790) adopted by the State Water Control Board pursuant to 
§ 62.1-44.18 62.1-44.19 of the Code of Virginia.  

D. Continuation of permit coverage. 
1. Any owner that was authorized to discharge under the 
domestic sewage discharges general permit issued in 2006, 
2011 and who is required to and submits a complete 
registration statement, or for an individual single family 
dwelling a combined application, on or before August 1, 
2011 2016, is authorized to continue to discharge treated 
domestic sewage under the terms of the 2006 2011 general 
permit until such time as the board either: 

a. Issues coverage to the owner under this general permit; 
or 
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b. Notifies the owner that the discharge is not eligible for 
coverage under this general permit is denied. 

2. When the owner that was covered under the expiring or 
expired general permit has violated or is violating the 
conditions of that permit, the board may choose to do any 
or all of the following: 

a. Initiate enforcement action based upon the 2011 
general permit which has been continued; 
b. Issue a notice of intent to deny coverage under the new 
reissued general permit. If the general permit coverage is 
denied, the owner would then be required to cease the 
activities discharges authorized by the administratively 
continued coverage under the terms of the 2011 general 
permit or be subject to enforcement action for operating 
without a permit; 
c. Issue an individual permit with appropriate conditions; 
or 
d. Take other actions authorized by the VPDES Permit 
Regulation (9VAC25-31). 

9VAC25-110-70. Registration statement. 
A. Deadlines for submitting registration statement. Any 

owner seeking coverage under this general permit, and who is 
required to submit a registration statement, shall submit a 
complete General general VPDES Permit Registration 
Statement permit registration statement in accordance with 
this chapter section, which shall serve as a notice of intent to 
be covered for coverage under the general General VPDES 
permit Permit for domestic sewage discharges Domestic 
Sewage Discharges of less than Less Than or equal Equal to 
1,000 gallons per day Gallons per Day. For an individual 
single family dwelling, the owner may submit a combined 
application in place of the registration statement.  

1. New facilities treatment works. Any owner proposing a 
new discharge shall submit a complete registration 
statement, or for an individual single family dwelling a 
combined application, to the department at least 60 days 
prior to the date planned for commencing operation of the 
treatment works.  
2. Existing facilities treatment works.  

a. Any owner of an existing treatment works covered by 
an individual VPDES permit who is proposing to be 
covered by this general permit shall notify the 
department and submit a complete registration statement, 
or for an individual single family dwelling a combined 
application, at least 240 days prior to the expiration date 
of the individual VPDES permit.  
b. Any owner of a treatment works that was authorized to 
discharge under the general permit issued in 2006 2011, 
and who intends to continue coverage under this general 
permit, is automatically covered by this general permit 
and is not required to submit a registration statement, or 
for an individual single family dwelling a combined 
application, if: 

(1) The ownership of the treatment works has not 
changed since the registration statement or combined 
application for coverage under the 2006 2011 general 
permit was submitted, or, if the ownership has changed, 
(i) a new registration statement or combined application 
or (ii) VPDES Change of Ownership form was submitted 
to the department by the new owner at the time of the 
title transfer; 
(2) There has been no change in the design or operation, 
or both, of the treatment works since the registration 
statement or combined application for coverage under the 
2006 2011 general permit was submitted; 
(3) For treatment works serving individual single family 
dwellings, the Virginia Department of Health VDH has 
no objection to the automatic permit coverage renewal 
for this treatment works based on system performance 
issues, enforcement issues, or other issues sufficient to 
the board. If the Virginia Department of Health VDH 
objects to the automatic renewal for this treatment works, 
the owner will be notified by the board in writing; and 
(4) For treatment works serving nonsingle buildings or 
dwellings other than individual single family dwellings, 
the board has no objection to the automatic permit 
coverage renewal for this treatment works based on 
system performance issues, or enforcement issues, or 
other issues sufficient to the board. If the board objects to 
the automatic renewal for this treatment works, the 
owner will be notified by the board in writing. 
c. Any owner that of a treatment works that was 
authorized to discharge under the general permit issued 
in 2011 that does not qualify for automatic permit 
coverage renewal shall submit a complete registration 
statement, or for an individual single family dwelling a 
combined application, to the department on or before 
June 2, 2011 2016. 

3. Late notifications registration statements. Late 
registration Registration statements will be accepted by the 
board, or for individual single family dwellings combined 
applications, for existing treatment works covered under 
subdivision 2 b of this subsection will be accepted after 
August 1, 2016, but authorization to discharge will not be 
retroactive. Owners described in subdivision 2 b of this 
subsection that submit registration statements or combined 
applications after June 2, 2016, are authorized to discharge 
under the provisions of 9VAC25-110-60 D if a complete 
registration statement, or combined application, is 
submitted before August 2, 2016. 

B. Registration statement. The registration statement shall 
contain the following information:  

1. a. Indicate if the facility building served by the treatment 
works is a an individual single family dwelling. If the 
facility building is not a an individual single family 
dwelling, describe the facility's use of the building or site 
served. 
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b. Name and street address of the facility building or site 
served by the treatment works.  

2. a. Name, mailing address, email address (where 
available), and work and home telephone numbers number 
of the facility owner of the treatment works. For a 
dwelling, indicate Indicate if the owner is or will be the 
occupant of the dwelling or building served by the 
treatment works. 

b. If the owner is not or will not be the occupant of the 
dwelling or building, provide an alternate contact name, 
mailing address, email address (where available), and 
telephone number of the dwelling or building, if 
available. 

3. Name of the water body receiving the discharge. 
Indicate if the discharge point is on a stream that usually 
flows during dry weather.  
4. The amount of discharge from the treatment works, in 
gallons per day, on a monthly average, and the design flow 
of the treatment works, in gallons per day.  
5. A description of any pollutants, other than domestic 
sewage, to be discharged.  
6. For a proposed treatment works, indicate if there are 
central sewage facilities available to serve the facility 
building or site.  
7. If the facility treatment works currently has a VPDES 
permit, provide the permit number. Indicate if the facility 
treatment works has been built and begun discharging.  
8. For the owner of any proposed treatment works or any 
treatment works that has not previously been issued a 
VPDES permit:  

a. A 7.5 minute USGS U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) 
topographic map or equivalent (e.g., a computer 
generated map) that indicates the discharge point, the 
location of the property to be served by the treatment 
works, and the location of any wells, springs, other water 
bodies, and any residences within 1/2 mile downstream 
from the discharge point;  
b. A site diagram of the existing or proposed sewage 
treatment works; to include the property boundaries, the 
location of the facility or dwelling to be , building, or site 
served, the individual sewage treatment units, the 
receiving water body, and the discharge line location; 
and  
c. A copy of the notification from the Virginia 
Department of Health that an onsite sewage disposal 
system permit has been applied for and that the Virginia 
Department of Health has determined that there is no 
onsite system available to serve that parcel of land. 

9. Maintenance contract Operation and maintenance. 
a. For the owner of a treatment works serving an 
individual single family dwelling, indicate if a valid 
operation and maintenance contract has been obtained in 

accordance with the requirements are specified in VDH 
regulations at 12VAC5-640-500, or if an variance to the 
maintenance contract requirement has been requested and 
granted by the Virginia Department of Health. Provide 
the name of the individual or company contracted to 
perform the treatment works maintenance and the 
expiration date of the current contract, if applicable. If 
the treatment works has not been constructed yet, provide 
the name after construction is complete and prior to 
starting the treatment plant operation. 
Indicate if a monitoring contract has been obtained in 
accordance with the requirements in 12VAC5-640-490 F, 
or if the monitoring contract requirement has been 
waived by the Virginia Department of Health, or if the 
monitoring requirements are included as part of the 
maintenance contract. Provide the name of the individual 
or company contracted to perform the treatment works 
monitoring and the expiration date of the current 
contract, if applicable. If the treatment works has not 
been constructed yet, provide the name after construction 
is complete and prior to starting the treatment plant 
operation; 
b. For the owner of a treatment works serving a 
nonsingle building or dwelling other than an individual 
single family dwelling, indicate if a valid maintenance 
contract has been obtained, or if an exception to the 
maintenance contract requirement has been requested and 
granted in accordance with subdivision 10 of this 
subsection. Provide the name of the individual or 
company contracted to perform the treatment works 
maintenance and the expiration date of the current 
contract, if applicable. If the treatment works has not 
been constructed yet, provide the name after the 
certificate to construct (CTC) is issued, and prior to 
requesting a certificate to operate (CTO). A valid 
maintenance contract shall provide for the following:  
(1) Performance of all testing required in accordance 
with either 9VAC25-110-80 Part I A or Part I B, as 
appropriate, and periodic (at least annual) inspections of 
the treatment works. Note: The treatment works should 
be sampled during normal discharging operations or 
normal discharging conditions (i.e., operations that are 
normal for that facility). The owner or maintenance 
provider should not force a discharge in order to collect a 
sample;  
(2) A written notification to the owner within 24 hours 
whenever the contract provider becomes aware that 
maintenance or repair of the owner's treatment works is 
necessary. The owner is responsible for prompt 
maintenance and repair of the treatment works including 
all costs associated with the maintenance or repair. 
Immediately upon receipt of notice that repair or 
maintenance is required, the owner shall begin 
emergency pump and haul of all sewage generated from 
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the facility or dwelling if full and complete repairs 
cannot be accomplished within 48 hours.  
(3) A log of the following items shall be maintained by 
the contract provider for as long as the contract is in 
force:  
(a) Results of all tests and sampling. Note: If sampling is 
attempted, but no sample was taken or possible, the log 
shall show all sampling attempts, and document and 
explain why no sample was taken or possible;  
(b) Alarm activation incidents;  
(c) Maintenance, corrective, or repair activities 
performed;  
(d) Recommended repair or replacement items; and  
(e) Copies of all reports prepared by the contract 
provider.  
(4) An inspection shall be conducted by the contract 
provider within 48 hours after notification by the owner 
that a problem may be occurring; and  
(5) The maintenance contract shall be kept in force 
during the entire permit term, and shall be valid for a 
minimum of 24 months of consecutive coverage.  

10. The owner of a treatment works serving a nonsingle 
building or dwelling other than an individual single family 
dwelling may request an exception to the maintenance 
contract requirement by submitting an operation and 
maintenance plan to the board for review and approval. If 
an operation and maintenance plan has been approved by 
the board previously and remains current and complete, 
then it does not need to be resubmitted. In such cases, the 
owner shall provide the date of approval of the operation 
and maintenance plan, and identify any changes that have 
been made to the approved plan. At a minimum, the 
operation and maintenance plan shall contain the following 
information:  

a. An up-to-date operation and maintenance manual for 
the treatment works;  
b. A log of all maintenance performed on the treatment 
works including, but not limited to, the following:  
(1) The date and amount of disinfection chemicals added 
to the chlorinator.  
(2) If dechlorination is used, the date and amount of any 
dechlorination chemicals that are added.  
(3) The date and time of equipment failure(s) and the 
date and time the equipment was restored to service.  
(4) The date and approximate volume of sludge removed. 
(5) Results of all tests and sampling. Note: If sampling is 
attempted, but no sample was taken or possible, the log 
shall show all sampling attempts, and document and 
explain why no sample was taken or possible;  
c. Dated receipts for chemicals purchased, equipment 
purchased, and maintenance performed; and  

d. An effluent monitoring plan to conform with the 
requirements of 9VAC25-110-80 Part I A or Part I B, as 
appropriate, including all sample collection, preservation, 
and analysis procedures. Note: The treatment works 
should be sampled during normal discharging operations 
or normal discharging conditions (i.e., operations that are 
normal for that facility). The owner or maintenance 
provider should not force a discharge in order to collect a 
sample. 

11. The following certification: "I hereby grant to duly 
authorized agents of the Department of Environmental 
Quality, upon presentation of credentials, permission to 
enter the property where the treatment works is located for 
the purpose of determining compliance with or the 
suitability of coverage under the General Permit. I certify 
under penalty of law that this document and all 
attachments were prepared under my direction or 
supervision in accordance with a system designed to assure 
that qualified personnel properly gather and evaluate the 
information submitted. Based on my inquiry of the person 
or persons who manage the system or those persons 
directly responsible for gathering the information, the 
information submitted is to the best of my knowledge and 
belief true, accurate, and complete. I am aware that there 
are significant penalties for submitting false information 
including the possibility of fine and imprisonment for 
knowing violations."  

C. The registration statement shall be signed in accordance 
with the requirements of 9VAC25-31-110 A of the VPDES 
Permit Regulation. 

D. The registration statement may be delivered to the 
department by either postal or electronic mail and shall be 
submitted to the DEQ regional office serving the area where 
the treatment works is located. 
9VAC25-110-80. General permit. 

Any owner whose registration statement is accepted by the 
board, or whose permit coverage is automatically renewed, 
shall comply with the requirements contained herein and be 
subject to all requirements of 9VAC25-31-170.  

General Permit No.: VAG40  
Effective Date: August 2, 2011 2016  

Expiration Date: August 1, 2016 2021  
GENERAL PERMIT FOR DOMESTIC SEWAGE 

DISCHARGES OF LESS THAN OR EQUAL TO 1,000 
GALLONS PER DAY  

AUTHORIZATION TO DISCHARGE UNDER THE 
VIRGINIA POLLUTANT DISCHARGE ELIMINATION 

SYSTEM AND THE VIRGINIA STATE WATER 
CONTROL LAW  

In compliance with the provisions of the Clean Water Act 
(33 USC § 1251 et seq.), as amended, and pursuant to the 
State Water Control Law and regulations adopted pursuant 
thereto, owners of treatment works with domestic sewage 
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discharges of a design flow of less than or equal to 1,000 
gallons per day on a monthly average are authorized to 
discharge to surface waters within the boundaries of the 
Commonwealth of Virginia, except those waters specifically 
named in board regulations that prohibit such discharges.  

The authorized discharge shall be in accordance with this 
cover page, Part I-Effluent Limitations, Monitoring 
Requirements and Special Conditions, and Part II-Conditions 
Applicable to All VPDES Permits, as set forth herein.  

Part I  
Effluent Limitations, Monitoring Requirements and Special 

Conditions  
A. Effluent limitations and monitoring requirements—

receiving waters where the 7Q10 flows are less than 0.2 
MGD.  

1. During the period beginning with the permit's effective 
date and lasting until the permit's expiration date, the 
permittee is authorized to discharge from outfall number 
001 to receiving waters where the 7Q10 flows are less than 
0.2 MGD.  
The discharge shall be limited and monitored by the 
permittee as specified below:  

EFFLUENT 
CHARACTERISTICS 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Instantaneous 
Minimum 

Instantaneous 
Maximum Frequency Sample Type 

Flow (MGD)(1) NA NL 1/year Estimate 

BOD5 NA 30 mg/l 1/year Grab 

Total Suspended Solids NA 30 mg/l 1/year Grab 

Total Residual Chlorine(2)         

After contact tank 1.0 mg/l NA 1/year Grab 

Final effluent NA 0.016 mg/l(6) 1/year Grab 

E. coli(3) NA 235/100 235 
CFU/100 ml 

1/year Grab 

enterococci(4) NA 104/100 104 
CFU/100 ml 

1/year Grab 

Fecal Coliform Bacteria(5) NA 200/100 200 
CFU/100 ml 

1/year Grab 

pH (standard units) 6.0 9.0 1/year Grab 

Dissolved Oxygen 5.0 mg/l(6) NA 1/year Grab 

NL = No Limitation, monitoring required 
NA = Not Applicable 

 

(1)The design flow of this treatment facility works is less than or equal to 1,000 gallons per day. 
(2)Applies only when chlorine is used for disinfection and the discharge is into freshwater (see 9VAC25-260-140 C for the 
classes of waters and boundary designations).  
(3)Applies only when methods other than chlorine are used for disinfection and the discharge is into freshwater (see 9VAC25-
260-140 C for the classes of waters and boundary designations). When the facility treatment works is discharging, continuous 
disinfection shall be provided in order to maintain this effluent limit. 
(4)Applies only when the discharge is into saltwater or the transition zone (see 9VAC25-260-140 C for the classes of waters and 
boundary designations). When the facility treatment works is discharging, continuous disinfection shall be provided in order to 
maintain this effluent limit. 
(5)Applies only when the discharge is into shellfish waters (see 9VAC25-260-160 for the description of what are shellfish 
waters). When the facility treatment works is discharging, continuous disinfection shall be provided in order to maintain this 
effluent limit. 
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(6)Does not apply when the receiving stream is an ephemeral stream. "Ephemeral streams" are drainage ways, ditches, hollows, 
or swales that contain only (i) flowing water during or immediately following periods of rainfall or (ii) water supplied by the 
discharger. These waterways would normally have no active aquatic community. 

2. All monitoring data required by Part I A 1 shall be maintained on site in accordance with Part II B. Reporting of results to 
DEQ is not required; however, the monitoring Monitoring results for treatment works serving buildings or dwellings other 
than individual single family dwellings shall be made available to DEQ personnel upon request submitted to the department 
on a Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR) no later than the 10th of January following the monitoring period. The monitoring 
period is January 1 through December 31. A copy of the maintenance log required by Part I D 2 b (4) shall also be submitted 
with the DMR. Monitoring results for treatment works serving individual single family dwellings shall be are submitted to 
the Virginia Department of Health in accordance with 12VAC5-640.  
3. The 30-day average percent removal for BOD5 and total suspended solids shall not be less than 85%.  

B. Effluent limitations and monitoring requirements—receiving waters where the 7Q10 flows are equal to or greater than 0.2 
MGD.  

1. During the period beginning with the permit's effective date and lasting until the permit's expiration date, the permittee is 
authorized to discharge from outfall number 001 to receiving waters where the 7Q10 flows are equal to or greater than 0.2 
MGD.  
The discharge shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below:  

EFFLUENT CHARACTERISTICS 
DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Instantaneous 
Minimum 

Instantaneous 
Maximum Frequency Sample Type 

Flow (MGD)(1) NA NL 1/year Estimate 

BOD5 NA 30 mg/l 1/year Grab 

Total Suspended Solids NA 30 mg/l 1/year Grab 

Total Residual Chlorine(2)         

After contact tank 1.0 mg/l NA 1/year Grab 

Final effluent 1.0 mg/l NA 2.0 mg/l 1/year Grab 

E. coli(3) NA 235/100 235 
CFU/100 ml 

1/year Grab 

enterococci(4) NA 104/100 104 
CFU/100 ml 

1/year Grab 

Fecal Coliform Bacteria(5) NA 200/100 200 
CFU/100 ml 

1/year Grab 

pH (standard units) 6.0 9.0 1/year Grab 

NL = No Limitation, monitoring required 
NA = Not Applicable 

 

(1)The design flow of this treatment facility works is less than or equal to 1,000 gallons per day.  
(2)Applies only when chlorine is used for disinfection and the discharge is into freshwater (see 9VAC25-260-140 C for the 
classes of waters and boundary designations).  
(3)Applies only when methods other than chlorine are used for disinfection and the discharge is into freshwater (see 9VAC25-
260-140 C for the classes of waters and boundary designations). When the facility treatment works is discharging, continuous 
disinfection shall be provided in order to maintain this effluent limit.  
(4)Applies only when the discharge is into saltwater or the transition zone (see 9VAC25-260-140 C for the classes of waters and 
boundary designations). When the facility treatment works is discharging, continuous disinfection shall be provided in order to 
maintain this effluent limit.  
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(5)Applies only when the discharge is into shellfish waters (see 9VAC25-260-160 for the description of what are shellfish 
waters). When the facility treatment works is discharging, continuous disinfection shall be provided in order to maintain this 
effluent limit.  

2. All monitoring data required by Part I B 1 shall be maintained on site in accordance with Part II B. Reporting of results to 
DEQ is not required; however, the monitoring Monitoring results for treatment works serving buildings or dwellings other 
than individual single family dwellings shall be made available to DEQ personnel upon request submitted to the department 
on a Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR) no later than the 10th of January following the monitoring period. The monitoring 
period is January 1 through December 31. A copy of the maintenance log required by Part I D 2 b (4) shall also be submitted 
with the DMR. Monitoring results for treatment works serving individual single family dwellings shall be are submitted to 
the Virginia Department of Health in accordance with 12VAC5-640.  
3. The 30-day average percent removal for BOD5 and total suspended solids shall not be less than 85%.  

C. Effluent limitations and monitoring requirements—discharges to receiving waters subject to the Policy for the Potomac 
River Embayments (9VAC25-415). 

1. During the period beginning with the permit's effective date and lasting until the permit's expiration date, the permittee is 
authorized to discharge from outfall number 001 to receiving waters subject to the Policy for the Potomac River 
Embayments (9VAC25-415). 
The discharge shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below: 

EFFLUENT CHARACTERISTICS 
DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Instantaneous 
Minimum 

Instantaneous 
Maximum Frequency Sample Type 

Flow (MGD)(1) NA NL 1/3 months Estimate 

pH (standard units) 6.0 9.0 1/3 months Grab 

cBOD5 NA 5 mg/l 1/3 months Grab 

Total Suspended Solids NA 6.0 mg/l 1/3 months Grab 

Ammonia as N 
(Apr 1 – Oct 31) 

NA 1.0 mg/l 1/3 months Grab 

Ammonia as N 
(Nov 1 – Mar 31) 

NA 3.1 mg/l 1/3 months Grab 

Dissolved Oxygen 6.0 mg/l NA 1/3 months Grab 

E. coli(3) NA 235 CFU/100 ml 1/3 months Grab 

enterococci(4) NA 104 CFU/100 ml 1/3 months Grab 

Total Phosphorus NA 0.18 mg/l 1/3 months Grab 

Total Residual Chlorine(2)     
After contact tank 1.0 mg/l NA 1/3 months Grab 

Final effluent NA 0.016 mg/l 1/3 months Grab 

NL = No Limitation, monitoring required 
NA = Not Applicable 

 

(1)The design flow of this treatment works is less than or equal to 1,000 gallons per day.  
(2)Applies only when chlorine is used for disinfection and the discharge is into freshwater (see 9VAC25-260-140 C for the 
classes of waters and boundary designations).  
(3)Applies only when methods other than chlorine are used for disinfection and the discharge is into freshwater (see 9VAC25-
260-140 C for the classes of waters and boundary designations). When the treatment works is discharging, continuous 
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disinfection shall be provided in order to maintain this effluent limit.  
(4)Applies only when the discharge is into saltwater or the transition zone (see 9VAC25-260-140 C for the classes of waters and 
boundary designations). When the treatment works is discharging, continuous disinfection shall be provided in order to maintain 
this effluent limit.  

2. All monitoring data required by Part I C 1 shall be 
maintained on site in accordance with Part II B. 
Monitoring results shall be submitted to the department on 
a Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR) no later than the 
10th day of the month following the monitoring period. 
The quarterly monitoring periods shall be January through 
March, April through June, July through September, and 
October through December. A copy of the maintenance log 
required by Part I D 2 b (4) shall also be submitted with the 
DMR. Monitoring results for treatment works serving 
individual single family dwellings shall also be submitted 
to the Virginia Department of Health in accordance with 
12VAC5-640. 
3. The 30-day average percent removal for BOD5 and total 
suspended solids shall not be less than 85%. 

D. Special conditions.  
1. There shall be no discharge of floating solids or visible 
foam in other than trace amounts.  
2. Maintenance contract Operation and maintenance.  

a. Treatment works serving individual single family 
dwellings. The Operation and maintenance requirements 
for treatment works serving individual single family 
dwellings are specified in the Virginia Department of 
Health regulations at 12VAC5-640-500 require 
maintenance contracts for treatment works serving 
individual single family dwellings.  
(1) For existing treatment works, the permittee shall keep 
a maintenance contract in force during the permit term, 
unless the permittee has been granted a variance from the 
maintenance contract requirement by the Virginia 
Department of Health. A copy of the maintenance 
contract, if applicable, shall be kept at the site of the 
treatment works and shall be made available to DEQ or 
to the Virginia Department of Health for examination 
upon request. The permittee is also responsible for 
ensuring that the local health department has a current 
copy of a valid maintenance agreement in accordance 
with 12VAC5-640-500 B.  
(2) For proposed treatment works, the permittee shall 
submit a copy of a valid maintenance contract to both 
DEQ and the Virginia Department of Health prior to 
operation of the treatment works unless the permittee has 
been granted a variance from the maintenance contract 
requirement by the Virginia Department of Health. The 
maintenance contract shall be kept in force during the 
permit term. A copy of the maintenance contract, if 
applicable, shall be kept at the site of treatment works, 
and made available to DEQ or the Virginia Department 
of Health for examination upon request. The permittee is 

also responsible for ensuring that the local health 
department has a current copy of a valid maintenance 
agreement in accordance with 12VAC5-640-500 B.  
(3) At a minimum, the maintenance contract shall 
provide for the following: 
(a) Performance of all testing required in either Part I A 
or Part I B of this permit, as appropriate, and in the 
Alternative Discharging Sewage Treatment Regulations 
for Individual Single Family Dwellings, 12VAC5-640-
490 B, unless the owner maintains a separate monitoring 
contract in accordance with 12VAC5-640-490 F. Note: 
The treatment works should be sampled during normal 
discharging operations or normal discharging conditions 
(i.e., operations that are normal for that facility). The 
owner or maintenance provider should not force a 
discharge in order to collect a sample; 
(b) A written notification to the owner within 24 hours 
whenever the contract provider becomes aware that 
maintenance or repair of the owner's treatment works is 
necessary. The owner is responsible for prompt 
maintenance and repair of the treatment works including 
all costs associated with the maintenance or repair. 
Immediately upon receipt of notice that repair or 
maintenance is required, the owner shall begin 
emergency pump and haul of all sewage generated in the 
dwelling if full and complete repairs cannot be 
accomplished within 48 hours; and 
(c) The maintenance contract shall be valid for a 
minimum of 24 months of consecutive coverage. 
b. Treatment works serving nonsingle buildings or 
dwellings other than individual single family dwellings. 
(1) For existing treatment works, the permittee shall keep 
a maintenance contract in force during the permit term, 
unless an exception to the maintenance contract 
requirement has been requested and granted in 
accordance with Part I C D 3. A copy of the maintenance 
contract, if applicable, shall be kept at the site of the 
treatment works and made available to DEQ for 
examination upon request. 
(2) For proposed treatment works, the permittee shall 
submit a copy of certification that the permittee has a 
valid maintenance contract to DEQ prior to operation of 
the treatment works, unless an exception to the 
maintenance contract requirement has been requested and 
granted in accordance with Part I C D 3. The A 
maintenance contract shall be kept in force during the 
permit term. A copy of the maintenance contract shall be 
kept at the site of the treatment works, and shall be made 
available to DEQ for examination upon request.  
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(3) At a minimum, the maintenance contract shall 
provide for the following:  
(a) Performance of all testing required in accordance with 
either Part I A, Part I B, or Part I B C, as appropriate, and 
periodic (at least annual) inspections of the treatment 
works. Note: The Discharges from the treatment works 
should be sampled during normal discharging operations 
or normal discharging conditions (i.e., operations that are 
normal for that facility) treatment works). The owner or 
maintenance provider should not force a discharge in 
order to collect a sample;  
(b) A written notification to the owner within 24 hours 
whenever the contract provider becomes aware that 
maintenance or repair of the owner's treatment works is 
necessary. The owner is responsible for prompt 
maintenance and repair of the treatment works including 
all costs associated with the maintenance or repair. 
Immediately upon receipt of notice that repair or 
maintenance is required, the owner shall begin 
emergency pump and haul of all sewage generated from 
the facility building or dwelling or otherwise ensure that 
no discharge occurs if full and complete repairs cannot 
be accomplished within 48 hours;  
(c) A log of the following items shall be maintained at 
the treatment works by the contract provider:  
(i) Results of all tests and sampling. Note: If sampling is 
attempted, but no sample was taken or possible, the log 
shall show all sampling attempts, and document and 
explain why no sample was taken or possible;  
(ii) Alarm activation incidents;  
(iii) Maintenance, corrective, or repair activities 
performed;  
(iv) Recommended repair or replacement items; and  
(v) Copies of all reports prepared by the contract 
provider; and 
(d) An inspection shall be conducted by the contract 
provider within 48 hours after notification by the owner 
that a problem may be occurring; and.  
(e) The maintenance contract shall be valid for a 
minimum of 24 months of consecutive coverage.  
(4) The permittee shall keep a log of all maintenance 
performed on the treatment works including, but not 
limited to, the following:  
(a) The date and amount of disinfection chemicals added 
to the chlorinator. 
(b) If dechlorination is used, the date and amount of any 
dechlorination chemicals that are added. 
(c) The date and time of equipment failure and the date 
and time the equipment was restored to service.  
(d) The date and approximate volume of sludge removed. 

(e) Dated receipts for chemicals purchased, equipment 
purchased, and maintenance performed. 

3. Operation and maintenance plan. The owner of any 
treatment works serving a nonsingle building or dwelling 
other than an individual single family dwelling may 
request an exception to the maintenance contract 
requirement by submitting an operation and maintenance 
plan to the board for review and approval. At a minimum, 
the operation and maintenance plan shall contain the 
following information:  

a. An up-to-date operation and maintenance manual for 
the treatment works;  
b. A log of all maintenance performed on the treatment 
works including, but not limited to, the following:  
(1) The date and amount of disinfection chemicals added 
to the chlorinator (if applicable). 
(2) If dechlorination is used, the date and amount of any 
dechlorination chemicals that are added. 
(3) The date and time of equipment failure(s) failure and 
the date and time the equipment was restored to service.  
(4) The date and approximate volume of sludge removed. 
(5) Results of all tests and sampling. Note: If sampling is 
attempted, but no sample was taken or possible, the log 
shall show all sampling attempts, and document and 
explain why no sample was taken or possible;  
c. Dated receipts for chemicals purchased, equipment 
purchased, and maintenance performed; and  
d. An effluent monitoring plan to conform with the 
requirements of Part I A, Part I B, or Part I B C, as 
appropriate, including all sample collection, preservation, 
and analysis procedures. Note: The Discharges from the 
treatment works should be sampled during normal 
discharging operations or normal discharging conditions 
(i.e., operations that are normal for that facility) 
treatment works). The owner or maintenance provider 
should not force a discharge in order to collect a sample. 
Should the permittee fail to implement the approved 
operation and maintenance plan, or if there are violations 
of effluent limitations, the board reserves the right to 
require the permittee to obtain a maintenance contract.  

4. Compliance recordkeeping under Part I A, Part I B, and 
Part I B C. 

a. The quantification levels (QL) shall be less than or 
equal to the following concentrations: 

Effluent Parameter Quantification Level 

BOD5 2.0 mg/l 

cBOD5 2 mg/l 

Ammonia as N 0.20 mg/l 

Total Phosphorus 0.10 mg/l 
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TSS 1.0 mg/l 

Chlorine 0.10 mg/l 

The QL is defined as the lowest concentration used to 
calibrate a measurement system in accordance with the 
procedures published for the test method. 
b. Recording results. Any concentration data below the 
QL used in the analysis shall be recorded as "<QL" if it is 
less than the QL in subdivision 4 a of this subsection. 
Otherwise the numerical value shall be recorded. 
c. Monitoring results shall be recorded using the same 
number of significant digits as listed in the permit. 
Regardless of the rounding convention used by the 
permittee (e.g., 5 always rounding up or to the nearest 
even number), the permittee shall use the convention 
consistently, and shall ensure that consulting laboratories 
employed by the permittee use the same convention. 

5. The discharges authorized by this permit shall be 
controlled as necessary to meet water quality standards.  

Part II  
Conditions Applicable to all All VPDES Permits  

A. Monitoring.  
1. Samples and measurements taken as required by this 
permit shall be representative of the monitored activity.  
2. Monitoring shall be conducted according to procedures 
approved under 40 CFR Part 136 or alternative methods 
approved by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 
unless other procedures have been specified in this permit.  
3. The permittee shall periodically calibrate and perform 
maintenance procedures on all monitoring and analytical 
instrumentation at intervals that will ensure accuracy of 
measurements.  
4. Samples taken as required by this permit shall be 
analyzed in accordance with 1VAC30-45 (Certification for 
Noncommercial Environmental Laboratories) or 1VAC30-
46 (Accreditation for Commercial Environmental 
Laboratories). 

B. Records.  
1. Records of monitoring information shall include:  

a. The date, exact place, and time of sampling or 
measurements;  
b. The individual(s) who performed the sampling or 
measurements;  
c. The date(s) and time(s) analyses were performed;  
d. The individual(s) who performed the analyses;  
e. The analytical techniques or methods used; and  
f. The results of such analyses.  

2. Except for records of monitoring information required 
by this permit related to the permittee's sewage sludge use 
and disposal activities, which shall be retained for a period 

of at least five years, the permittee shall retain records of 
all monitoring information, including all calibration and 
maintenance records and all original strip chart recordings 
for continuous monitoring instrumentation, copies of all 
reports required by this permit, and records of all data used 
to complete the registration statement for this permit, for a 
period of at least three years from the date of the sample, 
measurement, report or request for coverage. This period 
of retention shall be extended automatically during the 
course of any unresolved litigation regarding the regulated 
activity or regarding control standards applicable to the 
permittee, or as requested by the board.  

C. Reporting monitoring results. Monitoring results under 
this permit are not required to be submitted to the department. 
However, should the board request that the permittee submit 
monitoring results, the following subsections would apply. 

1. The permittee shall submit the results of the monitoring 
required by this permit not later than the 10th day of the 
month after monitoring takes place, unless another 
reporting schedule is specified elsewhere in this permit. 
Monitoring results shall be submitted to the department's 
regional office.  
2. Monitoring results shall be reported on a Discharge 
Monitoring Report (DMR) or on forms provided, approved 
or specified by the department.  
3. If the permittee monitors any pollutant specifically 
addressed by this permit more frequently than required by 
this permit using test procedures approved under 40 CFR 
Part 136 or using other test procedures approved by the 
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency or using procedures 
specified in this permit, the results of this monitoring shall 
be included in the calculation and reporting of the data 
submitted on the DMR or reporting form specified by the 
department.  
4. Calculations for all limitations that require averaging of 
measurements shall utilize an arithmetic mean unless 
otherwise specified in this permit.  

D. Duty to provide information. The permittee shall furnish 
to the department, within a reasonable time, any information 
that the board may request to determine whether cause exists 
for modifying, revoking and reissuing, or terminating 
coverage under this permit or to determine compliance with 
this permit. The board may require the permittee to furnish, 
upon request, such plans, specifications, and other pertinent 
information as may be necessary to determine the effect of 
the wastes from his the discharge on the quality of state 
waters, or such other information as may be necessary to 
accomplish the purposes of the State Water Control Law. The 
permittee shall also furnish to the department, upon request, 
copies of records required to be kept by this permit.  

E. Compliance schedule reports. Reports of compliance or 
noncompliance with, or any progress reports on, interim and 
final requirements contained in any compliance schedule of 
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this permit shall be submitted no later than 14 days following 
each schedule date.  

F. Unauthorized discharges. Except in compliance with this 
permit, or another permit issued by the board, it shall be 
unlawful for any person to:  

1. Discharge into state waters sewage, industrial wastes, 
other wastes, or any noxious or deleterious substances; or  
2. Otherwise alter the physical, chemical or biological 
properties of such state waters and make them detrimental 
to the public health, to animal or aquatic life, to the use of 
such waters for domestic or industrial consumption, for 
recreation, or for other uses.  

G. Reports of unauthorized discharges. Any permittee who 
discharges or causes or allows a discharge of sewage, 
industrial waste, other wastes or any noxious or deleterious 
substance into or upon state waters in violation of Part II F, or 
who discharges or causes or allows a discharge that may 
reasonably be expected to enter state waters in violation of 
Part II F, shall notify the department of the discharge 
immediately upon discovery of the discharge, but in no case 
later than 24 hours after said discovery. A written report of 
the unauthorized discharge shall be submitted to the 
department within five days of discovery of the discharge. 
The written report shall contain:  

1. A description of the nature and location of the discharge;  
2. The cause of the discharge;  
3. The date on which the discharge occurred;  
4. The length of time that the discharge continued;  
5. The volume of the discharge;  
6. If the discharge is continuing, how long it is expected to 
continue;  
7. If the discharge is continuing, what the expected total 
volume of the discharge will be; and  
8. Any steps planned or taken to reduce, eliminate and 
prevent a recurrence of the present discharge or any future 
discharges not authorized by this permit.  

Discharges reportable to the department under the 
immediate reporting requirements of other regulations are 
exempted from this requirement.  

H. Reports of unusual or extraordinary discharges. If any 
unusual or extraordinary discharge including a bypass or 
upset should occur from a treatment works and the discharge 
enters or could be expected to enter state waters, the permittee 
shall promptly notify, in no case later than 24 hours, the 
department by telephone after the discovery of the discharge. 
This notification shall provide all available details of the 
incident, including any adverse affects effects on aquatic life 
and the known number of fish killed. The permittee shall 
reduce the report to writing and shall submit it to the 
department within five days of discovery of the discharge in 
accordance with Part II I 2. Unusual and extraordinary 

discharges include, but are not limited to, any discharge 
resulting from:  

1. Unusual spillage of materials resulting directly or 
indirectly from processing operations;  
2. Breakdown of processing or accessory equipment;  
3. Failure or taking out of service some or all of the 
treatment works; and  
4. Flooding or other acts of nature.  

I. Reports of noncompliance. The permittee shall report any 
noncompliance that may adversely affect state waters or may 
endanger public health.  

1. An oral report shall be provided within 24 hours from 
the time the permittee becomes aware of the 
circumstances. The following shall be included as 
information that shall be reported within 24 hours under 
this paragraph:  

a. Any unanticipated bypass; and  
b. Any upset that causes a discharge to surface waters.  

2. A written report shall be submitted within five days and 
shall contain:  

a. A description of the noncompliance and its cause;  
b. The period of noncompliance, including exact dates 
and times, and if the noncompliance has not been 
corrected, the anticipated time it is expected to continue; 
and  
c. Steps taken or planned to reduce, eliminate, and 
prevent reoccurrence of the noncompliance.  

The board may waive the written report on a case-by-case 
basis for reports of noncompliance under Part II I if the 
oral report has been received within 24 hours and no 
adverse impact on state waters has been reported.  
3. The permittee shall report all instances of 
noncompliance not reported under Part II I 1 or 2, in 
writing, at the time the next monitoring reports are 
submitted. The reports shall contain the information listed 
in Part II I 2.  

NOTE: The immediate (within 24 hours) reports required in 
Parts II G, H, and I may be made to the department's regional 
office. Reports may be made by telephone or by fax, FAX, or 
online at http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Pollution 
ResponsePreparedness/MakingaReport.aspx. For reports 
outside normal working hours, leave a message may be left 
and this shall fulfill the immediate reporting requirement. For 
emergencies, the Virginia Department of Emergency 
Management maintains a 24-hour telephone service at 1-800-
468-8892.  

J. Notice of planned changes.  
1. The permittee shall give notice to the department as 
soon as possible of any planned physical alterations or 
additions to the permitted facility. Notice is required only 
when:  
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a. The permittee plans alteration or addition to any 
building, structure, facility, or installation from which 
there is or may be a discharge of pollutants, the 
construction of which commenced:  
(1) After promulgation of standards of performance 
under Section § 306 of the Clean Water Act (33 USC § 
1251 et seq.) that are applicable to such source; or  
(2) After proposal of standards of performance in 
accordance with Section § of the Clean Water Act that 
are applicable to such source, but only if the standards 
are promulgated in accordance with Section § 306 within 
120 days of their proposal;  
b. The alteration or addition could significantly change 
the nature or increase the quantity of pollutants 
discharged. This notification applies to pollutants that are 
subject neither to effluent limitations nor to notification 
requirements specified elsewhere in this permit; or  
c. The alteration or addition results in a significant 
change in the permittee's sludge use or disposal practices, 
and such alteration, addition, or change may justify the 
application of permit conditions that are different from or 
absent in the existing permit, including notification of 
additional use or of disposal sites not reported during the 
permit application process or not reported pursuant to an 
approved land application plan.  

2. The permittee shall give advance notice to the 
department of any planned changes in the permitted facility 
or activity that may result in noncompliance with permit 
requirements.  

K. Signatory requirements.  
1. Registration statement. All registration statements shall 
be signed as follows:  

a. For a corporation: by a responsible corporate officer. 
For the purpose of this section, a responsible corporate 
officer means: (i) a president, secretary, treasurer, or 
vice-president of the corporation in charge of a principal 
business function, or any other person who performs 
similar policy-making or decision-making functions for 
the corporation, or (ii) the manager of one or more 
manufacturing, production, or operating facilities, 
provided the manager is authorized to make management 
decisions which govern the operation of the regulated 
facility including having the explicit or implicit duty of 
making major capital investment recommendations, and 
initiating and directing other comprehensive measures to 
assure long term environmental compliance with 
environmental laws and regulations; the manager can 
ensure that the necessary systems are established or other 
actions taken to gather complete and accurate 
information for permit application registration 
requirements; and where authority to sign documents has 
been assigned or delegated to the manager in accordance 
with corporate procedures;  

b. For a partnership or sole proprietorship: by a general 
partner or the proprietor, respectively; or  
c. For a municipality, state, federal, or other public 
agency: by either a principal executive officer or ranking 
elected official. For purposes of this section, a principal 
executive officer of a public agency includes: (i) the 
chief executive officer of the agency or (ii) a senior 
executive officer having responsibility for the overall 
operations of a principal geographic unit of the agency.  

2. Reports, etc. All reports required by permits, and other 
information requested by the board shall be signed by a 
person described in Part II K 1 or by a duly authorized 
representative of that person. A person is a duly authorized 
representative only if:  

a. The authorization is made in writing by a person 
described in Part II K 1;  
b. The authorization specifies either an individual or a 
position having responsibility for the overall operation of 
the regulated facility or activity such as the position of 
plant manager, operator of a well or a well field, 
superintendent, position of equivalent responsibility, or 
an individual or position having overall responsibility for 
environmental matters for the company. A duly 
authorized representative may thus be either a named 
individual or any individual occupying a named position; 
and  
c. The written authorization is submitted to the 
department.  

3. Changes to authorization. If an authorization under Part 
II K 2 is no longer accurate because a different individual 
or position has responsibility for the overall operation of 
the facility, a new authorization satisfying the requirements 
of Part II K 2 shall be submitted to the department prior to 
or together with any reports, or information to be signed by 
an authorized representative.  
4. Certification. Any person signing a document under Part 
II K 1 or 2 shall make the following certification:  

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 
attachments were prepared under my direction or 
supervision in accordance with a system designed to 
assure that qualified personnel properly gather and 
evaluate the information submitted. Based on my inquiry 
of the person or persons who manage the system, or 
those persons directly responsible for gathering the 
information, the information submitted is, to the best of 
my knowledge and belief, true, accurate, and complete. I 
am aware that there are significant penalties for 
submitting false information, including the possibility of 
fine and imprisonment for knowing violations."  

L. Duty to comply. The permittee shall comply with all 
conditions of this permit. Any permit noncompliance 
constitutes a violation of the State Water Control Law and the 
Clean Water Act, except that noncompliance with certain 
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provisions of this permit may constitute a violation of the 
State Water Control Law but not the Clean Water Act. Permit 
noncompliance is grounds for enforcement action; for permit 
termination, revocation and reissuance, or modification; or 
denial of a permit coverage renewal application.  

The permittee shall comply with effluent standards or 
prohibitions established under Section § 307(a) of the Clean 
Water Act for toxic pollutants and with standards for sewage 
sludge use or disposal established under Section § 405(d) of 
the Clean Water Act within the time provided in the 
regulations that establish these standards or prohibitions or 
standards for sewage sludge use or disposal, even if this 
permit has not yet been modified to incorporate the 
requirement.  

M. Duty to reapply.  
1. If the permittee wishes to continue an activity regulated 
by this permit after the expiration date of this permit, and 
the permittee does not qualify for automatic permit 
coverage renewal, the permittee shall submit a new 
registration statement, or for an individual single family 
dwelling a combined application, at least 60 days before 
the expiration date of the existing permit, unless 
permission for a later date has been granted by the board. 
The board shall not grant permission for registration 
statements or combined applications to be submitted later 
than the expiration date of the existing permit.  
2. A permittee qualifies for automatic permit coverage 
renewal and is not required to submit a registration 
statement, or for an individual single family dwelling a 
combined application, if: 

a. The ownership of the treatment works has not changed 
since this general permit went into effect on August 2, 
2011 2016, or, if the ownership has changed, (i) a new 
registration statement or for an individual single family 
dwelling a combined application or (ii) a VPDES Change 
of Ownership form was submitted to the department by 
the new owner at the time of the title transfer; 
b. There has been no change in the design or operation, 
or both, of the treatment works since this general permit 
went into effect on August 2, 2011 2016; 
c. For treatment works serving individual single family 
dwellings, the Virginia Department of Health does not 
object to the automatic permit coverage renewal for this 
treatment works based on system performance issues, 
enforcement issues, or other issues sufficient to the 
board. If the Virginia Department of Health objects to the 
automatic renewal for this treatment works, the permittee 
will be notified by the board in writing; and 
d. For treatment works serving nonsingle buildings or 
dwellings other than single family dwellings, the board 
has no objection to the automatic permit coverage 
renewal for this treatment works based on system 
performance issues, or enforcement issues, or other 

issues sufficient to the board. If the board objects to the 
automatic renewal for this treatment works, the permittee 
will be notified by the board in writing. 

3. Any permittee that does not qualify for automatic permit 
coverage renewal shall submit a new registration 
statement, or for an individual single family dwelling a 
combined application, in accordance with Part II M 1. 

N. Effect of a permit. This permit does not convey any 
property rights in either real or personal property or any 
exclusive privileges, nor does it authorize any injury to 
private property or invasion of personal rights, or any 
infringement of federal, state or local law or regulations.  

O. State law. Nothing in this permit shall be construed to 
preclude the institution of any legal action under, or relieve 
the permittee from any responsibilities, liabilities, or penalties 
established pursuant to, any other state law or regulation or 
under authority preserved by Section § 510 of the Clean 
Water Act. Except as provided in permit conditions on 
"bypassing" (Part II U), and "upset" (Part II V) nothing in this 
permit shall be construed to relieve the permittee from civil 
and criminal penalties for noncompliance.  

P. Oil and hazardous substance liability. Nothing in this 
permit shall be construed to preclude the institution of any 
legal action or relieve the permittee from any responsibilities, 
liabilities, or penalties to which the permittee is or may be 
subject under §§ 62.1-44.34:14 through 62.1-44.34:23 of the 
State Water Control Law.  

Q. Proper operation and maintenance. The permittee shall at 
all times properly operate and maintain all facilities and 
systems of treatment and control (and related appurtenances) 
that are installed or used by the permittee to achieve 
compliance with the conditions of this permit. Proper 
operation and maintenance also include effective plant 
performance, adequate funding, adequate staffing, and 
adequate laboratory and process controls, including 
appropriate quality assurance procedures. This provision 
requires the operation of back-up or auxiliary facilities or 
similar systems that are installed by the permittee only when 
the operation is necessary to achieve compliance with the 
conditions of this permit.  

R. Disposal of solids or sludges. Solids, sludges or other 
pollutants removed in the course of treatment or management 
of pollutants shall be disposed of in a manner so as to prevent 
any pollutant from such materials from entering state waters.  

S. Duty to mitigate. The permittee shall take all reasonable 
steps to minimize or prevent any discharge or sludge use or 
disposal in violation of this permit that has a reasonable 
likelihood of adversely affecting human health or the 
environment.  

T. Need to halt or reduce activity not a defense. It shall not 
be a defense for a permittee in an enforcement action that it 
would have been necessary to halt or reduce the permitted 
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activity in order to maintain compliance with the conditions 
of this permit.  

U. Bypass.  
1. "Bypass" means the intentional diversion of waste 
streams from any portion of a treatment facility. The 
permittee may allow any bypass to occur that does not 
cause effluent limitations to be exceeded, but only if it also 
is for essential maintenance to ensure efficient operation. 
These bypasses are not subject to the provisions of Parts II 
U 2 and 3.  
2. Notice.  

a. Anticipated bypass. If the permittee knows in advance 
of the need for a bypass, prior notice shall be submitted, 
if possible, at least 10 days before the date of the bypass.  
b. Unanticipated bypass. The permittee shall submit 
notice of an unanticipated bypass as required in Part II I.  

3. Prohibition of bypass.  
a. Bypass is prohibited, and the board may take 
enforcement action against a permittee for bypass, 
unless:  
(1) Bypass was unavoidable to prevent loss of life, 
personal injury, or severe property damage;  
(2) There were no feasible alternatives to the bypass, 
such as the use of auxiliary treatment facilities, retention 
of untreated wastes, or maintenance during normal 
periods of equipment downtime. This condition is not 
satisfied if adequate back-up equipment should have 
been installed in the exercise of reasonable engineering 
judgment to prevent a bypass that occurred during 
normal periods of equipment downtime or preventive 
maintenance; and  
(3) The permittee submitted notices as required under 
Part II U 2.  
b. The board may approve an anticipated bypass after 
considering its adverse effects if the board determines 
that it will meet the three conditions listed above in Part 
II U 3 a.  

V. Upset.  
1. An upset, defined in 9VAC25-31-10, constitutes an 
affirmative defense to an action brought for noncompliance 
with technology-based permit effluent limitations if the 
requirements of Part II V 2 are met. A determination made 
during administrative review of claims that noncompliance 
was caused by upset, and before an action for 
noncompliance, is not a final administrative action subject 
to judicial review.  
2. A permittee who wishes to establish the affirmative 
defense of upset shall demonstrate through properly 
signed, contemporaneous operating logs, or other relevant 
evidence that:  

a. An upset occurred and that the permittee can identify 
the cause(s) of the upset;  

b. The permitted facility was at the time being properly 
operated;  
c. The permittee submitted notice of the upset as required 
in Part II I; and  
d. The permittee complied with any remedial measures 
required under Part II S.  

3. In any enforcement proceeding the permittee seeking to 
establish the occurrence of an upset has the burden of 
proof.  

W. Inspection and entry. The permittee shall allow the 
director, or an authorized representative, upon presentation of 
credentials and other documents as may be required by law, 
to:  

1. Enter upon the permittee's premises where a regulated 
facility or activity is located or conducted, or where 
records must be kept under the conditions of this permit;  
2. Have access to and copy, at reasonable times, any 
records that must be kept under the conditions of this 
permit;  
3. Inspect at reasonable times any facilities, equipment 
(including monitoring and control equipment), practices, or 
operations regulated or required under this permit; and  
4. Sample or monitor at reasonable times, for the purposes 
of assuring permit compliance or as otherwise authorized 
by the Clean Water Act and the State Water Control Law, 
any substances or parameters at any location.  

For purposes of this section, the time for inspection shall be 
deemed reasonable during regular business hours, and 
whenever the facility is discharging. Nothing contained 
herein shall make an inspection unreasonable during an 
emergency.  

X. Permit actions. Permits may be modified, revoked and 
reissued, or terminated for cause. The filing of a request by 
the permittee for a permit modification, revocation and 
reissuance, termination, or notification of planned changes or 
anticipated noncompliance does not stay any permit 
condition.  

Y. Transfer of permits. 1. Permits are not transferable to any 
person except after notice to the department. Except as 
provided in Part II Y 2, a permit may be transferred by the 
permittee to a new owner or operator only if the permit has 
been modified or revoked and reissued, or a minor 
modification made, to identify the new permittee and 
incorporate such other requirements as may be necessary 
under the State Water Control Law and the Clean Water Act. 
2. As an alternative to transfers under Part II Y 1, Coverage 
under this permit may be automatically transferred to a new 
permittee if:  

a. 1. The current permittee notifies the department within 
30 days of the transfer of the title to the facility or 
property, unless permission for a later date has been 
granted by the board;  
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b. 2. The notice includes a written agreement between the 
existing and new permittees containing a specific date for 
transfer of permit responsibility, coverage, and liability 
between them; and  
c. 3. The board does not notify the existing permittee and 
the proposed new permittee of its intent to modify or 
revoke and reissue deny the new permittee coverage 
under the permit. If this notice is not received, the 
transfer is effective on the date specified in the 
agreement mentioned in Part II Y 2 b.  

Z. Severability. The provisions of this permit are severable, 
and if any provision of this permit or the application of any 
provision of this permit to any circumstance is held invalid, 
the application of such provision to other circumstances, and 
the remainder of this permit, shall not be affected thereby.  
NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 
regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 
published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 
a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 
agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 
Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 
Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 
FORMS (9VAC25-110) 

VPDES Change of Ownership Agreement Form (eff. 7/10). 
Combined Application - Virginia Department of Health 

Discharging System Application for Single Family Dwellings 
Discharging Sewage Less Than or Equal to 1,000 Gallons per 
Day and State Water Control Board Virginia Pollutant 
Discharge Elimination System General Permit Registration 
Statement for Domestic Sewage Discharges Less Than or 
Equal to 1,000 Gallons per Day (eff. 9/11)  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4177; Filed July 1, 2015, 1:55 p.m.  

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 
claiming an exclusion from Article 2 of the Administrative 
Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 
of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 
conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where no 
agency discretion is involved. The State Water Control Board 
will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 
interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 
or revision. 
Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-830. Chesapeake Bay 
Preservation Area Designation and Management 
Regulations (amending 9VAC25-830-40, 9VAC25-830-80).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 62.1-15:69 and 62.1-15:72 of the 
Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: August 26, 2015.  
Agency Contact: William K. Norris, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4022, FAX (804) 
698-4347, or email william.norris@deq.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

To conform the regulation to changes in the Code of 
Virginia enacted by Chapter 674 of the 2015 Acts of 
Assembly, the amendments define a daylighted stream and 
add an exemption for a locality's designation of a Resource 
Protection Area adjacent to a daylighted stream. 

9VAC25-830-40. Definitions. 
The following words and terms used in this chapter have the 

following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates 
otherwise. In addition, some terms not defined herein are 
defined in § 62.1-44.15:68 of the Act.  

"Act" means the Chesapeake Bay Preservation Act, Article 
2.5 (§ 62.1-44.15:67 et seq.) of Chapter 3.1 of Title 62.1 of 
the Code of Virginia.  

"Best management practice" means a practice, or 
combination of practices, that is determined by a state or 
designated area-wide planning agency to be the most 
effective, practicable means of preventing or reducing the 
amount of pollution generated by nonpoint sources to a level 
compatible with water quality goals.  

"Board" means the State Water Control Board.  
"Buffer area" means an area of natural or established 

vegetation managed to protect other components of a 
Resource Protection Area and state waters from significant 
degradation due to land disturbances.  

"Chesapeake Bay Preservation Area" means any land 
designated by a local government pursuant to Part III 
(9VAC25-830-70 et seq.) of this chapter and § 62.1-44.15:74 
of the Act. A Chesapeake Bay Preservation Area shall consist 
of a Resource Protection Area and a Resource Management 
Area.  

"Daylighted stream" means a stream that had been 
previously diverted into an underground drainage system and 
has been redirected into an aboveground channel using 
natural channel design concepts as defined in § 62.1-44.15:51 
of the Code of Virginia, and where the adjacent lands would 
meet the criteria for being designated as a Resource 
Protection Area (RPA) as defined by the board under this 
chapter. 

"Department" means the Department of Environmental 
Quality.  

"Development" means the construction or substantial 
alteration of residential, commercial, industrial, institutional, 
recreation, transportation or utility facilities or structures.  

"Director" means the Director of the Department of 
Environmental Quality. 

"Erosion and Sediment Control Law" means Article 2.4 
(§ 62.1-44.15:51 et seq.) of Chapter 3.1 of Title 62.1 of the 
Code of Virginia.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=149ce002062~1&typ=40&actno=002062&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=57f3d004177~2&typ=40&actno=004177&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=57f3d004177~2&typ=40&actno=004177&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=57f3d004177~2&typ=40&actno=004177&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=57f3d004177~2&typ=40&actno=004177&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=57f3d004177~2&typ=40&actno=004177&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=57f3d004177~2&typ=40&actno=004177&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=57f3d004177~2&typ=40&actno=004177&mime=application/pdf
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"Floodplain" means all lands that would be inundated by 
flood water as a result of a storm event of a 100-year return 
interval.  

"Highly erodible soils" means soils (excluding vegetation) 
with an erodibility index (EI) from sheet and rill erosion 
equal to or greater than eight. The erodibility index for any 
soil is defined as the product of the formula RKLS/T, where 
K is the soil susceptibility to water erosion in the surface 
layer; R is the rainfall and runoff; LS is the combined effects 
of slope length and steepness; and T is the soil loss tolerance.  

"Highly permeable soils" means soils with a given potential 
to transmit water through the soil profile. Highly permeable 
soils are identified as any soil having a permeability equal to 
or greater than six inches of water movement per hour in any 
part of the soil profile to a depth of 72 inches (permeability 
groups "rapid" and "very rapid") as found in the "National 
Soil Survey Handbook" of November 1996 in the "Field 
Office Technical Guide" of the U.S. Department of 
Agriculture Natural Resources Conservation Service.  

"Impervious cover" means a surface composed of any 
material that significantly impedes or prevents natural 
infiltration of water into the soil. Impervious surfaces include, 
but are not limited to, roofs, buildings, streets, parking areas, 
and any concrete, asphalt or compacted gravel surface.  

"Infill" means utilization of vacant land in previously 
developed areas.  

"Intensely Developed Areas" means those areas designated 
by the local government pursuant to 9VAC25-830-100.  

"Local governments" means counties, cities and towns. This 
chapter applies to local governments in Tidewater Virginia, as 
defined in § 62.1-44.15:68 of the Act, but the provisions of 
this chapter may be used by other local governments.  

"Local program" means the measures by which a local 
government complies with the Act and this chapter.  

"Local program adoption date" means the date a local 
government meets the requirements of subdivisions 1 and 2 
of 9VAC25-830-60.  

"Nontidal wetlands" means those wetlands other than tidal 
wetlands that are inundated or saturated by surface or ground 
water at a frequency and duration sufficient to support, and 
that under normal circumstances do support, a prevalence of 
vegetation typically adapted for life in saturated soil 
conditions, as defined by the U.S. Environmental Protection 
Agency pursuant to § 404 of the federal Clean Water Act in 
33 CFR 328.3b.  

"Plan of development" means any process for site plan 
review in local zoning and land development regulations 
designed to ensure compliance with § 62.1-44.15:74 of the 
Act and this chapter, prior to issuance of a building permit.  

"Public road" means a publicly owned road designed and 
constructed in accordance with water quality protection 
criteria at least as stringent as requirements applicable to the 
Virginia Department of Transportation, including regulations 

promulgated pursuant to (i) the Erosion and Sediment Control 
Law and (ii) the Virginia Stormwater Management Act. This 
definition includes those roads where the Virginia 
Department of Transportation exercises direct supervision 
over the design or construction activities, or both, and cases 
where secondary roads are constructed or maintained, or both, 
by a local government in accordance with the standards of 
that local government.  

"Redevelopment" means the process of developing land that 
is or has been previously developed.  

"Resource Management Area" means that component of the 
Chesapeake Bay Preservation Area that is not classified as the 
Resource Protection Area.  

"Resource Protection Area" means that component of the 
Chesapeake Bay Preservation Area comprised of lands 
adjacent to water bodies with perennial flow that have an 
intrinsic water quality value due to the ecological and 
biological processes they perform or are sensitive to impacts 
which may result in significant degradation to the quality of 
state waters.  

"Silvicultural activities" means forest management 
activities, including but not limited to the harvesting of 
timber, the construction of roads and trails for forest 
management purposes, and the preparation of property for 
reforestation that are conducted in accordance with the 
silvicultural best management practices developed and 
enforced by the State Forester pursuant to § 10.1-1105 of the 
Code of Virginia and are located on property defined as real 
estate devoted to forest use under § 58.1-3230 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

"Substantial alteration" means expansion or modification of 
a building or development that would result in a disturbance 
of land exceeding an area of 2,500 square feet in the Resource 
Management Area only.  

"Tidal shore" or "shore" means land contiguous to a tidal 
body of water between the mean low water level and the 
mean high water level.  

"Tidal wetlands" means vegetated and nonvegetated 
wetlands as defined in § 28.2-1300 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Tidewater Virginia" means those jurisdictions named in 
§ 62.1-44.15:68 of the Act.  

"Use" means an activity on the land other than development 
including, but not limited to, agriculture, horticulture and 
silviculture. 

"Virginia Stormwater Management Act" means Article 2.3 
(§ 62.1-44.15:24 et seq.) of Chapter 3.1 of Title 62.1 of the 
Code of Virginia.  

"Water-dependent facility" means a development of land 
that cannot exist outside of the Resource Protection Area and 
must be located on the shoreline by reason of the intrinsic 
nature of its operation. These facilities include, but are not 
limited to (i) ports; (ii) the intake and outfall structures of 
power plants, water treatment plants, sewage treatment plants 
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and storm sewers; (iii) marinas and other boat docking 
structures; (iv) beaches and other public water-oriented 
recreation areas; and (v) fisheries or other marine resources 
facilities.  
9VAC25-830-80. Resource Protection Areas. 

A. At a minimum, Resource Protection Areas shall consist 
of lands adjacent to water bodies with perennial flow that 
have an intrinsic water quality value due to the ecological and 
biological processes they perform or are sensitive to impacts 
which may cause significant degradation to the quality of 
state waters. In their natural condition, these lands provide for 
the removal, reduction or assimilation of sediments, nutrients 
and potentially harmful or toxic substances in runoff entering 
the bay and its tributaries, and minimize the adverse effects of 
human activities on state waters and aquatic resources.  

B. The Resource Protection Area shall include:  
1. Tidal wetlands;  
2. Nontidal wetlands connected by surface flow and 
contiguous to tidal wetlands or water bodies with perennial 
flow;  
3. Tidal shores; and 
4. Such other lands considered by the local government to 
meet the provisions of subsection A of this section and to 
be necessary to protect the quality of state waters; and.  
5. A buffer area not less than 100 feet in width located 
adjacent to and landward of the components listed in 
subdivisions 1 through 4 above of this subsection, and 
along both sides of any water body with perennial flow. 
The full buffer area shall be designated as the landward 
component of the Resource Protection Area 
notwithstanding the presence of permitted uses, 
encroachments, and permitted vegetation clearing in 
compliance with Part IV (9VAC25-830-120 et seq.) of this 
chapter.  

C. Designation of the components listed in subdivisions 1-4 
through 4 of subsection B of this section shall not be subject 
to modification unless based on reliable, site-specific 
information as provided for in 9VAC25-830-110 and 
subdivision 6 of 9VAC25-830-140.  

D. For the purpose of generally determining whether water 
bodies have perennial flow, local governments may use one 
of the following methods as long as the methodology is 
adopted into the local program and applied consistently: (i) 
designation of water bodies depicted as perennial on the most 
recent U.S. Geological Survey 7-1/2 minute topographic 
quadrangle map (scale 1:24,000) or (ii) use of a scientifically 
valid system of in-field indicators of perennial flow. 
However, site-specific determinations shall be made or 
confirmed by the local government pursuant to 9VAC25-830-
110.  

E. A locality is not required to designate a Resource 
Protection Area adjacent to a daylighted stream. However, a 
locality that elects not to designate a Resource Protection 

Area adjacent to a daylighted stream shall use a water quality 
assessment as identified in subdivision 6 of 9VAC25-830-140 
to ensure that proposed development on properties adjacent to 
the daylighted stream do not result in the degradation of the 
stream. The objective of this assessment is to ensure that 
practices on properties adjacent to daylighted streams are 
effective in retarding runoff, preventing erosion, and filtering 
nonpoint source pollution. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4357; Filed July 1, 2015, 12:17 p.m.  

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 
claiming an exclusion from Article 2 of the Administrative 
Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 
of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 
conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where no 
agency discretion is involved. The State Water Control Board 
will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 
interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 
or revision. 
Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-840. Erosion and Sediment 
Control Regulations (amending 9VAC25-840-40).  
Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15:52 of the Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: August 26, 2015.  
Agency Contact: William K. Norris, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4022, FAX (804) 
698-4347, or email william.norris@deq.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

To conform to Chapter 497 of the 2015 Acts of Assembly, 
the amendment exempts routine maintenance projects from 
the flow rate capacity and velocity requirements of the 
Virginia Erosion and Sediment Control Law (Article 2.4 of 
Chapter 3.1 of Title 62.1 of the Code of Virginia). 

9VAC25-840-40. Minimum standards. 
A VESCP must be consistent with the following criteria, 

techniques and methods:  
1. Permanent or temporary soil stabilization shall be 
applied to denuded areas within seven days after final 
grade is reached on any portion of the site. Temporary soil 
stabilization shall be applied within seven days to denuded 
areas that may not be at final grade but will remain 
dormant for longer than 14 days. Permanent stabilization 
shall be applied to areas that are to be left dormant for 
more than one year.  
2. During construction of the project, soil stock piles and 
borrow areas shall be stabilized or protected with sediment 
trapping measures. The applicant is responsible for the 
temporary protection and permanent stabilization of all soil 
stockpiles on site as well as borrow areas and soil 
intentionally transported from the project site.  
3. A permanent vegetative cover shall be established on 
denuded areas not otherwise permanently stabilized. 
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Permanent vegetation shall not be considered established 
until a ground cover is achieved that is uniform, mature 
enough to survive and will inhibit erosion.  
4. Sediment basins and traps, perimeter dikes, sediment 
barriers and other measures intended to trap sediment shall 
be constructed as a first step in any land-disturbing activity 
and shall be made functional before upslope land 
disturbance takes place.  
5. Stabilization measures shall be applied to earthen 
structures such as dams, dikes and diversions immediately 
after installation.  
6. Sediment traps and sediment basins shall be designed 
and constructed based upon the total drainage area to be 
served by the trap or basin.  

a. The minimum storage capacity of a sediment trap shall 
be 134 cubic yards per acre of drainage area and the trap 
shall only control drainage areas less than three acres.  
b. Surface runoff from disturbed areas that is comprised 
of flow from drainage areas greater than or equal to three 
acres shall be controlled by a sediment basin. The 
minimum storage capacity of a sediment basin shall be 
134 cubic yards per acre of drainage area. The outfall 
system shall, at a minimum, maintain the structural 
integrity of the basin during a 25-year storm of 24-hour 
duration. Runoff coefficients used in runoff calculations 
shall correspond to a bare earth condition or those 
conditions expected to exist while the sediment basin is 
utilized.  

7. Cut and fill slopes shall be designed and constructed in a 
manner that will minimize erosion. Slopes that are found to 
be eroding excessively within one year of permanent 
stabilization shall be provided with additional slope 
stabilizing measures until the problem is corrected.  
8. Concentrated runoff shall not flow down cut or fill 
slopes unless contained within an adequate temporary or 
permanent channel, flume or slope drain structure.  
9. Whenever water seeps from a slope face, adequate 
drainage or other protection shall be provided.  
10. All storm sewer inlets that are made operable during 
construction shall be protected so that sediment-laden 
water cannot enter the conveyance system without first 
being filtered or otherwise treated to remove sediment.  
11. Before newly constructed stormwater conveyance 
channels or pipes are made operational, adequate outlet 
protection and any required temporary or permanent 
channel lining shall be installed in both the conveyance 
channel and receiving channel.  
12. When work in a live watercourse is performed, 
precautions shall be taken to minimize encroachment, 
control sediment transport and stabilize the work area to 
the greatest extent possible during construction. 
Nonerodible material shall be used for the construction of 

causeways and cofferdams. Earthen fill may be used for 
these structures if armored by nonerodible cover materials.  
13. When a live watercourse must be crossed by 
construction vehicles more than twice in any six-month 
period, a temporary vehicular stream crossing constructed 
of nonerodible material shall be provided.  
14. All applicable federal, state and local requirements 
pertaining to working in or crossing live watercourses shall 
be met.  
15. The bed and banks of a watercourse shall be stabilized 
immediately after work in the watercourse is completed.  
16. Underground utility lines shall be installed in 
accordance with the following standards in addition to 
other applicable criteria:  

a. No more than 500 linear feet of trench may be opened 
at one time.  
b. Excavated material shall be placed on the uphill side 
of trenches.  
c. Effluent from dewatering operations shall be filtered or 
passed through an approved sediment trapping device, or 
both, and discharged in a manner that does not adversely 
affect flowing streams or off-site property.  
d. Material used for backfilling trenches shall be properly 
compacted in order to minimize erosion and promote 
stabilization.  
e. Restabilization shall be accomplished in accordance 
with this chapter.  
f. Applicable safety requirements shall be complied with.  

17. Where construction vehicle access routes intersect 
paved or public roads, provisions shall be made to 
minimize the transport of sediment by vehicular tracking 
onto the paved surface. Where sediment is transported onto 
a paved or public road surface, the road surface shall be 
cleaned thoroughly at the end of each day. Sediment shall 
be removed from the roads by shoveling or sweeping and 
transported to a sediment control disposal area. Street 
washing shall be allowed only after sediment is removed in 
this manner. This provision shall apply to individual 
development lots as well as to larger land-disturbing 
activities.  
18. All temporary erosion and sediment control measures 
shall be removed within 30 days after final site 
stabilization or after the temporary measures are no longer 
needed, unless otherwise authorized by the VESCP 
authority. Trapped sediment and the disturbed soil areas 
resulting from the disposition of temporary measures shall 
be permanently stabilized to prevent further erosion and 
sedimentation.  
19. Properties and waterways downstream from 
development sites shall be protected from sediment 
deposition, erosion and damage due to increases in volume, 
velocity and peak flow rate of stormwater runoff for the 
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stated frequency storm of 24-hour duration in accordance 
with the following standards and criteria. Stream 
restoration and relocation projects that incorporate natural 
channel design concepts are not man-made channels and 
shall be exempt from any flow rate capacity and velocity 
requirements for natural or man-made channels:  

a. Concentrated stormwater runoff leaving a development 
site shall be discharged directly into an adequate natural 
or man-made receiving channel, pipe or storm sewer 
system. For those sites where runoff is discharged into a 
pipe or pipe system, downstream stability analyses at the 
outfall of the pipe or pipe system shall be performed.  
b. Adequacy of all channels and pipes shall be verified in 
the following manner:  
(1) The applicant shall demonstrate that the total drainage 
area to the point of analysis within the channel is one 
hundred times greater than the contributing drainage area 
of the project in question; or  
(2) (a) Natural channels shall be analyzed by the use of a 
two-year storm to verify that stormwater will not overtop 
channel banks nor cause erosion of channel bed or banks.  
(b) All previously constructed man-made channels shall 
be analyzed by the use of a ten-year 10-year storm to 
verify that stormwater will not overtop its banks and by 
the use of a two-year storm to demonstrate that 
stormwater will not cause erosion of channel bed or 
banks; and  
(c) Pipes and storm sewer systems shall be analyzed by 
the use of a ten-year 10-year storm to verify that 
stormwater will be contained within the pipe or system.  
c. If existing natural receiving channels or previously 
constructed man-made channels or pipes are not 
adequate, the applicant shall:  
(1) Improve the channels to a condition where a ten-year 
10-year storm will not overtop the banks and a two-year 
storm will not cause erosion to the channel, the bed, or 
the banks; or  
(2) Improve the pipe or pipe system to a condition where 
the ten-year 10-year storm is contained within the 
appurtenances;  
(3) Develop a site design that will not cause the pre-
development peak runoff rate from a two-year storm to 
increase when runoff outfalls into a natural channel or 
will not cause the pre-development peak runoff rate from 
a ten-year 10-year storm to increase when runoff outfalls 
into a man-made channel; or  
(4) Provide a combination of channel improvement, 
stormwater detention or other measures which is 
satisfactory to the VESCP authority to prevent 
downstream erosion.  
d. The applicant shall provide evidence of permission to 
make the improvements.  

e. All hydrologic analyses shall be based on the existing 
watershed characteristics and the ultimate development 
condition of the subject project.  
f. If the applicant chooses an option that includes 
stormwater detention, he shall obtain approval from the 
VESCP of a plan for maintenance of the detention 
facilities. The plan shall set forth the maintenance 
requirements of the facility and the person responsible 
for performing the maintenance.  
g. Outfall from a detention facility shall be discharged to 
a receiving channel, and energy dissipators shall be 
placed at the outfall of all detention facilities as 
necessary to provide a stabilized transition from the 
facility to the receiving channel.  
h. All on-site channels must be verified to be adequate.  
i. Increased volumes of sheet flows that may cause 
erosion or sedimentation on adjacent property shall be 
diverted to a stable outlet, adequate channel, pipe or pipe 
system, or to a detention facility.  
j. In applying these stormwater management criteria, 
individual lots or parcels in a residential, commercial or 
industrial development shall not be considered to be 
separate development projects. Instead, the development, 
as a whole, shall be considered to be a single 
development project. Hydrologic parameters that reflect 
the ultimate development condition shall be used in all 
engineering calculations.  
k. All measures used to protect properties and waterways 
shall be employed in a manner which minimizes impacts 
on the physical, chemical and biological integrity of 
rivers, streams and other waters of the state.  
l. Any plan approved prior to July 1, 2014, that provides 
for stormwater management that addresses any flow rate 
capacity and velocity requirements for natural or man-
made channels shall satisfy the flow rate capacity and 
velocity requirements for natural or man-made channels 
if the practices are designed to (i) detain the water quality 
volume and to release it over 48 hours; (ii) detain and 
release over a 24-hour period the expected rainfall 
resulting from the one year, 24-hour storm; and (iii) 
reduce the allowable peak flow rate resulting from the 
1.5, 2, and 10-year, 24-hour storms to a level that is less 
than or equal to the peak flow rate from the site assuming 
it was in a good forested condition, achieved through 
multiplication of the forested peak flow rate by a 
reduction factor that is equal to the runoff volume from 
the site when it was in a good forested condition divided 
by the runoff volume from the site in its proposed 
condition, and shall be exempt from any flow rate 
capacity and velocity requirements for natural or man-
made channels as defined in any regulations promulgated 
pursuant to § 62.1-44.15:54 or 62.1-44.15:65 of the Act.  
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m. For plans approved on and after July 1, 2014, the flow 
rate capacity and velocity requirements of § 62.1-
44.15:52 A of the Act and this subsection shall be 
satisfied by compliance with water quantity requirements 
in the Stormwater Management Act (§ 62.1-44.15:24 et 
seq. of the Code of Virginia) and attendant regulations, 
unless such land-disturbing activities are in accordance 
with 9VAC25-870-48 of the Virginia Stormwater 
Management Program (VSMP) Regulations Regulation 
or are exempt pursuant to subdivision C 7 of § 62.1-
44.15:34 of the Act. 
n. Compliance with the water quantity minimum 
standards set out in 9VAC25-870-66 of the Virginia 
Stormwater Management Program (VSMP) Regulations 
Regulation shall be deemed to satisfy the requirements of 
this subdivision 19 of this subsection. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4356; Filed July 1, 2015, 12:13 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-481. Virginia Radiation 
Protection Regulations (amending 12VAC5-481-10, 
12VAC5-481-290, 12VAC5-481-340, 12VAC5-481-350, 
12VAC5-481-2110, 12VAC5-481-3410; adding 12VAC5-
481-1581, 12VAC5-481-1591, 12VAC5-481-1601, 
12VAC5-481-1611, 12VAC5-481-1621, 12VAC5-481-1631, 
12VAC5-481-1641, 12VAC5-481-1651, 12VAC5-481-1653, 
12VAC5-481-1655, 12VAC5-481-1657; repealing 
12VAC5-481-1580, 12VAC5-481-1590, 12VAC5-481-1600, 
12VAC5-481-1610, 12VAC5-481-1620, 12VAC5-481-1630, 
12VAC5-481-1640, 12VAC5-481-1650).  
Statutory Authority: § 32.1-229 of the Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: August 27, 2015.  
Agency Contact: Steve Harrison, Director, Office of 
Radiological Health, Department of Health, 109 Governor 
Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-8151, 
FAX (804) 864-8155, or email 
steve.harrison@vdh.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendments (i) reflect changes to federal regulations, 
(ii) reflect new x-ray modalities in the medical field, (iii) 
reduce the frequency of required inspections for lower-risk 
equipment, (iv) update definitions, and (v) make minor 
grammatical and clarifying changes.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

Part I  
General Provisions  

12VAC5-481-10. Definitions. 
As used in these regulations, these terms have the definitions 

set forth below.  
"A1" means the maximum activity of special form 

radioactive material permitted in a Type A package. This 
value is listed in Table 1 of 12VAC5-481-3770. 

"A2" means the maximum activity of radioactive material, 
other than special form radioactive material, LSA, and SCO 
material, permitted in a Type A package. This value is listed 
in Table 1 of 12VAC5-481-3770. 

"Absorbed dose" means the energy imparted by ionizing 
radiation per unit mass of irradiated material. The units of 
absorbed dose are the gray (Gy) and the rad.  

"Absorbed dose rate" means absorbed dose per unit time, for 
machines with timers, or dose monitor unit per unit time for 
linear accelerators.  

"Accelerator" means any machine capable of accelerating 
electrons, protons, deuterons, or other charged particles in a 
vacuum and of discharging the resultant particulate or other 
radiation into a medium at energies usually in excess of one 
MeV. For purposes of this definition, "particle accelerator" is 
an equivalent term.  

"Accelerator-produced material" means any material made 
radioactive by a particle accelerator.  

"Accessible surface" means the external surface of the 
enclosure or housing of the radiation producing machine as 
provided by the manufacturer. It also means surface of 
equipment or of an equipment part that can be easily or 
accidentally touched by persons without the use of a tool.  

"Act" means §§ 32.1-227 through 32.1-238 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

"Active maintenance" means any significant activity needed 
during the period of institutional control to maintain a 
reasonable assurance that the performance objectives in 
12VAC5-481-2490 and 12VAC5-481-2500 are met. Such 
active maintenance includes ongoing activities such as the 
pumping and treatment of water from a disposal unit or one-
time measures such as replacement of a disposal unit cover. 
Active maintenance does not include custodial activities such 
as repair of fencing, repair or replacement of monitoring 
equipment, revegetation, minor additions to soil cover, minor 
repair of disposal unit covers, and general disposal site 
upkeep such as mowing grass.  

"Activity" means the rate of disintegration or transformation 
or decay of radioactive material. The units of activity are the 
becquerel (Bq) and the curie (Ci).  

"Acute" means a single radiation dose or chemical exposure 
event or multiple radiation dose or chemical exposure events 
occurring within a short time (24 hours or less). 
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"Added filtration" means any filtration that is in addition to 
the inherent filtration.  

"Address of use" means the building or buildings that are 
identified on the license and where radioactive material may 
be produced, prepared, received, used, or stored.  

"Adult" means an individual 18 or more years of age.  
"Agency" means the Radiological Health Program of the 

Virginia Department of Health.  
"Agreement state" means any state with which the NRC or 

the Atomic Energy Commission has entered into an effective 
agreement under subsection 274b of the Atomic Energy Act 
of 1954, as amended (73 Stat. 689).  

"Airborne radioactive material" means any radioactive 
material dispersed in the air in the form of dusts, fumes, 
particulates, mists, vapors, or gases.  

"Airborne radioactivity area" means a room, enclosure, or 
area in which airborne radioactive materials composed wholly 
or partly of licensed material exist in concentrations:  

1. In excess of the derived air concentrations (DACs) 
specified in 12VAC5-481-3690; or  
2. To such a degree that an individual present in the area 
without respiratory protective equipment could exceed, 
during the hours an individual is present in a week, an 
intake of 0.6% of the annual limit on intake (ALI) or 12 
[ DAC-hours DAC hours ].  

"Air kerma (K)" or "K" means the kinetic energy released in 
air by ionizing radiation. Kerma is determined as the quotient 
of De by Dm, where De is the sum of the initial kinetic 
energies of all the charged ionizing particles liberated by 
uncharged ionizing particles in air of mass Dm. The SI unit of 
air kerma is joule per kilogram and the special name for the 
unit of kerma is the gray (Gy) kerma in air (see definition of 
"kerma").  

"Air kerma rate" or "AKR" means the air kerma per unit 
time. 

"Air-purifying respirator" means a respirator with an air-
purifying filter, cartridge, or canister that removes specific air 
contaminants by passing ambient air through the air-purifying 
element. 

"Alert" means events may occur, are in progress, or have 
occurred that could lead to a release of radioactive material 
but that the release is not expected to require a response by 
offsite response organizations to protect persons offsite. 

"Aluminum equivalent" means the thickness of type 1100 
aluminum alloy affording the same attenuation, under 
specified conditions, as the material in question. The nominal 
chemical composition of type 100 aluminum is 99.00% 
minimum aluminum, 0.12% copper.  

"Analytical X-ray x-ray equipment" means equipment used 
for X-ray x-ray diffraction or fluorescence analysis.  

"Analytical X-ray x-ray system" means a group of 
components utilizing x-rays or gamma-rays to determine the 

elemental composition or to examine the microstructure of 
materials.  

"Annual limit on intake" (ALI) or "ALI" means the derived 
limit for the amount of radioactive material taken into the 
body of an adult worker by inhalation or ingestion in a year. 
ALI is the smaller value of intake of a given radionuclide in a 
year by the reference man that would result in a committed 
effective dose equivalent of 0.05 Sv (5 rem) or a committed 
dose equivalent of 0.5 Sv (50 rem) to any individual organ or 
tissue. ALI values for intake by ingestion and by inhalation of 
selected radionuclides are given in Tables 1 and 2 in 
12VAC5-481-3690.  

"Annual refresher safety training" means a review conducted 
or provided by the licensee or registrant for its employees on 
radiation safety aspects of industrial radiography. The review 
shall include, as a minimum, any results of internal 
inspections, new procedures or equipment, new or revised 
regulations, and accidents or errors that have been observed. 
The review shall also provide opportunities for employees to 
ask safety questions.  

"Annually" means at intervals not to exceed one year.  
"ANSI" means the American National Standards Institute.  
"Area of use" means a portion of a physical structure that 

has been set aside for the purpose of producing, preparing, 
receiving, using, or storing radioactive material.  

"Assigned protection factor (APF)" or "APF" means the 
expected workplace level of respiratory protection that would 
be provided by a properly functioning respirator or a class of 
respirators to properly fitted and trained users. Operationally, 
the inhaled concentration can be estimated by dividing the 
ambient airborne concentration by the APF. 

"As low as is reasonably achievable" (ALARA) or 
"ALARA" means making every reasonable effort to maintain 
exposures to radiation as far below the dose limits in these 
regulations as is practical, consistent with the purpose for 
which the licensed or registered activity is undertaken, taking 
into account the state of technology, the economics of 
improvements in relation to state of technology, the 
economics of improvements in relation to benefits to the 
public health and safety, and other societal and 
socioeconomic considerations, and in relation to utilization of 
nuclear energy and licensed or registered sources of radiation 
in the public interest.  

"Articulated joint" means a joint between two separate 
sections of a tabletop that provides the capacity for one of the 
sections to pivot on the line segment along which the sections 
join. 

"Assembler" means any person engaged in the business of 
assembling, replacing, or installing one or more components 
into an X-ray x-ray system or subsystem. The term includes 
the owner of an X-ray x-ray system or his [ or her ] employee 
or agent who assembles components into an X-ray x-ray 
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system that is subsequently used to provide professional or 
commercial services.  

"Associated equipment" means equipment that is used in 
conjunction with a radiographic exposure device to make 
radiographic exposures that drive, guide, or come in contact 
with the source.  

"Atmosphere-supplying respirator" means a respirator that 
supplies the respirator user with breathing air from a source 
independent of the ambient atmosphere, and includes 
supplied-air respirators (SARs) and self-contained breathing 
apparatus (SCBA) units. 

"Attenuation block" means a block or stack, having 
dimensions 20 centimeters by 20 centimeters by 3.8 
centimeters, of type 1100 aluminum alloy or other materials 
having equivalent attenuation. The nominal chemical 
composition of type 100 aluminum is 99.00% minimum 
aluminum, 0.12% copper.  

"Authorized medical physicist" means an individual who: 
1. Meets the requirements in 12VAC5-481-1760 and 
12VAC5-481-1790; or  
2. Is identified as an authorized medical physicist or 
teletherapy physicist on: 

a. A specific medical use license issued by the NRC or 
another agreement state; 
b. A medical use permit issued by an NRC master 
material licensee; 
c. A permit issued by an NRC or another agreement state 
broad scope medical use licensee; or 
d. A permit issued by an NRC master material license 
broad scope medical use permittee. 

"Authorized nuclear pharmacist" means a pharmacist who: 
1. Meets the requirements in 12VAC5-481-1770 and 
12VAC5-481-1790;  
2. Is identified as an authorized nuclear pharmacist on: 

a. A specific license issued by the NRC or another 
agreement state that authorizes medical use or the 
practice of nuclear pharmacy; 
b. A permit issued by an NRC master material licensee 
that authorizes medical use or the practice of nuclear 
pharmacy; 
c. A permit issued by an NRC or another agreement state 
broad scope medical use licensee that authorizes medical 
use or the practice of nuclear pharmacy; or 
d. A permit issued by an NRC master material license 
broad scope medical use permittee that authorizes 
medical use or the practice of nuclear pharmacy;  

3. Is identified as an authorized nuclear pharmacist by a 
commercial nuclear pharmacy that has been authorized to 
identify authorized nuclear pharmacists; or 
4. Is designated as an authorized nuclear pharmacist in 
accordance with 12VAC5-481-440 I 2. 

"Authorized user" means a practitioner of the healing arts 
who: 

1. Meets the requirements in 12VAC5-481-1790 and any 
of the following: 

a. 12VAC5-481-1910; 
b. 12VAC5-481-1940; 
c. 12VAC5-481-1980; 
d. 12VAC5-481-1990; 
e. 12VAC5-481-2000; 
f. 12VAC5-481-2010; 
g. 12VAC5-481-2030;  
h. 12VAC5-481-2040; or 

2. Is identified as an authorized user on: 
a. A specific license issued by the NRC or another 
agreement state that authorizes medical use; 
b. A permit issued by an NRC master material licensee 
that authorizes medical use; 
c. A permit issued by an NRC or another agreement state 
broad scope medical use licensee that authorizes medical 
use; or 
d. A permit issued by an NRC master material license 
broad scope medical use permittee that authorizes 
medical use. 

"Automatic exposure control (AEC)" or "AEC" means a 
device that automatically controls one or more technique 
factors in order to obtain, at a preselected location(s), a 
required quantity of radiation (includes devices such as 
phototimers and ion chambers).  

"Background radiation" means radiation from cosmic 
sources, naturally occurring radioactive materials, that have 
not been technologically enhanced, including radon, except as 
a decay product of source or special nuclear material, and 
including global fallout as it exists in the environment from 
the testing of nuclear explosive devices, or from past nuclear 
accidents such as Chernobyl that contribute to background 
radiation and are not under the control of the licensee or 
registrant. "Background radiation" does not include sources 
of radiation from radioactive materials regulated by the 
agency.  

"Barrier" (See "Protective barrier").  
"Beam axis" means a line from the source through the 

centers of the X-ray x-ray fields.  
"Beam-limiting device" means a device that provides a 

means to restrict the dimensions of the X-ray x-ray field.  
"Beam monitoring system" means a system designed and 

installed in the radiation head to detect and measure the 
radiation present in the useful beam.  

"Beam scattering foil" means a thin piece of material 
(usually metallic) placed in the beam to scatter a beam of 
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electrons in order to provide a more uniform electron 
distribution in the useful beam.  

"Becquerel" (Bq) or "Bq" means the SI unit of activity. One 
becquerel is equal to one disintegration or transformation per 
second (dps or tps).  

"Beneficial attribute" means, as used in Part XVI (12VAC5-
481-3460 et seq.) of this chapter, the radioactivity of the 
product necessary to the use of the product.  

"Beneficial to the product" see "Beneficial attribute."  
"Bent beam linear accelerator" means a linear accelerator 

geometry in which the accelerated electron beam must change 
direction by passing through a bending magnet.  

"Bioassay" means the determination of kinds, quantities or 
concentrations, and, in some cases, the locations of 
radioactive material in the human body, whether by direct 
measurement, in-vivo counting, or by analysis and evaluation 
of materials excreted or removed from the human body. For 
purposes of these regulations, "radiobioassay" is an 
equivalent term.  

"Board" means the State Board of Health. 
"Brachytherapy" means a method of radiation therapy in 

which sealed sources are utilized to deliver a radiation dose at 
a distance of up to a few centimeters, by surface, 
intracavitary, or interstitial application.  

"Buffer zone" means a portion of the disposal site that is 
controlled by the licensee and that lies under the disposal 
units and between the disposal units and the boundary of the 
site.  

"Byproduct material" means:  
1. Any radioactive material (except special nuclear 
material) yielded in, or made radioactive by, exposure to 
the radiation incident to the process of producing or using 
special nuclear material;  
2. The tailings or wastes produced by the extraction or 
concentration of uranium or thorium from ore processed 
primarily for its source material content, including discrete 
surface wastes resulting from uranium solution extraction 
processes. Underground ore bodies depleted by these 
solution extraction operations do not constitute "byproduct 
material" within this definition; 
3. a. Any discrete source of radium-226 that is produced, 
extracted, or converted after extraction, before, on, or after 
August 8, 2005, for use for a commercial, medical, or 
research activity; or 

b. Any material that: 
(1) Has been made radioactive by use of a particle 
accelerator; and 
(2) Is produced, extracted, or converted after extraction, 
before, on, or after August 8, 2005, for use for a 
commercial, medical, or research activity; and 

4. Any discrete source of naturally occurring radioactive 
material, other than source material, that: 

a. The NRC, in consultation with the Administrator of 
the Environmental Protection Agency, the Secretary of 
Energy, the Secretary of Homeland Security, and the 
head of any other appropriate federal agency, determines 
would pose a threat similar to the threat posed by a 
discrete source of radium-226 to the public health and 
safety or the common defense and security; and 
b. Before, on, or after August 8, 2005, is extracted or 
converted after extraction for use in a commercial, 
medical, or research activity. 

"C-arm X-ray system fluoroscope" means an X-ray x-ray 
system in which the image receptor and X-ray x-ray tube 
housing assembly are connected by a common mechanical 
support system in order to maintain a desired spatial 
relationship. This system is designed to allow a change in the 
projection of the beam through the patient without a change 
in the position of the patient.  

"Cabinet radiography" means industrial radiography 
conducted in an enclosure or cabinet so shielded that every 
location on the exterior meets the dose limits for individual 
members of the public as specified in 12VAC5-481-720.  

"Cabinet X-ray x-ray system" means an X-ray x-ray system 
with the X-ray x-ray tube installed in an enclosure 
independent of existing architectural structures except the 
floor on which it may be placed. The cabinet X-ray x-ray 
system is intended to contain at least that portion of a material 
being irradiated, provide radiation attenuation, and exclude 
personnel from its interior during generation of radiation. 
Included are all X-ray x-ray systems designed primarily for 
the inspection of carry-on baggage at airline, railroad, and bus 
terminals, and in similar facilities. An X-ray x-ray tube used 
within a shielded part of a building, or X-ray x-ray equipment 
that may temporarily or occasionally incorporate portable 
shielding, is not considered a cabinet X-ray x-ray system.  

"Calendar quarter" means not less than 12 consecutive 
weeks nor more than 14 consecutive weeks. The first calendar 
quarter of each year shall begin in January and subsequent 
calendar quarters shall be so arranged such that no day is 
included in more than one calendar quarter and no day in any 
one year is omitted from inclusion within a calendar quarter. 
The method observed by the licensee or registrant for 
determining calendar quarters shall only be changed at the 
beginning of a year.  

"Calibration" means the determination of (i) the response or 
reading of an instrument relative to a series of known 
radiation values over the range of the instrument or (ii) the 
strength of a source of radiation relative to a standard.  

"Camera" (See "Radiographic exposure device").  
"Carrier" means a person engaged in the transportation of 

passengers or property by land or water as a common, 
contract, or private carrier, or by civil aircraft.  
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"Cassette holder" means a device, other than a spot-film 
device, that supports or fixes the position of an x-ray film 
(imaging) cassette during an x-ray exposure. 

"Cephalometric device" means a device intended for the 
radiographic visualization and measurement of the 
dimensions of the human head.  

"Certifiable cabinet X-ray x-ray system" means an existing 
uncertified X-ray x-ray system that has been modified to meet 
the certification requirements specified in 21 CFR 1020.40.  

"Certificate holder" means a person who has been issued a 
certificate of compliance or other package approval by the 
NRC. 

"Certificate of compliance (CoC)" or "COC" means the 
certificate issued by the NRC that approves the design of a 
package for the transportation of radioactive material. 

"Certified cabinet X-ray x-ray system" means an X-ray x-
ray system that has been certified in accordance with 21 CFR 
1010.2 as being manufactured and assembled pursuant to the 
provisions of 21 CFR 1020.40.  

"Certified components" means components of X-ray x-ray 
systems that are subject to regulations promulgated under 
Pub.L. 90-602, the Radiation Control for Health and Safety 
Act of 1968 of the Food and Drug Administration.  

"Certified system" means any X-ray system which has one 
or more certified component(s).  

"Certifying entity" means an independent certifying 
organization meeting the agency's requirements for 
documenting applicant's training in topics set forth in 
12VAC5-481-1320 or equivalent state or NRC regulations.  

"CFR" means Code of Federal Regulations.  
"Changeable filters" means any filter, exclusive of inherent 

filtration, that can be removed from the useful beam through 
any electronic, mechanical, or physical process.  

"Chelating agent" means amine polycarboxylic acids, 
hydroxycarboxylic acids, gluconic acid, and polycarboxylic 
acids.  

"Chemical description" means a description of the principal 
chemical characteristics of a low-level radioactive waste. 

"Class" means a classification scheme for inhaled material 
according to its rate of clearance from the pulmonary region 
of the lung. Materials are classified as D, W, or Y, which 
applies to a range of clearance half-times: for Class D, Days, 
of less than 10 days; for Class W, Weeks, from 10 to 100 
days; and for Class Y, Years, of greater than 100 days. For 
purposes of these regulations, "lung class" and "inhalation 
class" are equivalent terms.  

"Closed transport vehicle" means a transport vehicle 
equipped with a securely attached exterior enclosure that 
during normal transportation restricts the access of 
unauthorized persons to the cargo space containing the 
radioactive material. The enclosure may be either temporary 
or permanent but shall limit access from top, sides, and ends. 

In the case of packaged materials, it may be of the "see-
through" type.  

"cm" means centimeters. 
"Coefficient of variation (C)" or "C" means the ratio of the 

standard deviation to the mean value of a set population of 
observations. It is estimated using the following equation:  

 
where: 

s = Standard deviation of the observed values; 

[  X̅ ] = Mean value of observations in sample; 
xi = ith observation in sample; 
n = Number of observations in sample. 

"Collective dose" means the sum of the individual doses 
received in a given period of time by a specified population 
from exposure to a specified source of radiation.  

"Collimator" means a device used to limit the size, shape, 
and direction of the primary radiation beam. For industrial 
radiography it means a radiation shield that is placed on the 
end of the guide tube or directly onto a radiographic exposure 
device to restrict the size of the radiation beam when the 
sealed source is cranked into position to make a radiographic 
exposure.  

"Commencement of construction" means any clearing of 
land, excavation, or other substantial action that would 
adversely affect the environment of a land disposal facility. 
The term does not mean disposal site exploration, necessary 
roads for disposal site exploration, borings to determine 
foundation conditions, or other preconstruction monitoring or 
testing to establish background information related to the 
suitability of the disposal site or the protection of 
environmental values.  

"Committed dose equivalent" (HT,50) or "HT,50" means the 
dose equivalent to organs or tissues of reference (T) that will 
be received from an intake of radioactive material by an 
individual during the 50-year period following the intake.  

"Committed effective dose equivalent" (HE, 50) or "HE,50" is 
the sum of the products of the weighting factors (wT) 
applicable to each of the body organs or tissues that are 
irradiated and the committed dose equivalent to each of these 
organs or tissues (HE,50 = Σ (wT HT,50)).  

"Computed tomography" means the production of a 
tomogram by the acquisition and computer processing of X-
ray x-ray transmission data.  

"Computed tomography dose index" means the integral from 
-7T to +7T of the dose profile along a line perpendicular to 
the tomographic plane divided by the product of the nominal 
tomographic section thickness and the number of tomograms 
produced in a single scan, that is:  
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where: 

z = Position along a line perpendicular to the 
tomographic plane; 
D(z) = Dose at position z; 
T = Nominal tomographic section thickness; 
n = Number of tomograms produced in a single scan. 

This definition assumes that the dose profile is centered 
around z = 0 and that, for a multiple tomogram system, the 
scan increment between adjacent scans is nT.  

"Computer-readable medium" means that the regulatory 
agency's computer can transfer the information from the 
medium into its memory. 

"Consignee" means the designated receiver of the shipment 
of low-level radioactive waste. 

"Consignment" means each shipment of a package or groups 
of packages or load of radioactive material offered by a 
shipper for transport. 

"Consortium" means an association of medical use licensees 
and a PET radionuclide production facility in the same 
geographical area that jointly own or share in the operation 
and maintenance cost of the PET radionuclide production 
facility that produces PET radionuclides for use in producing 
radioactive drugs within the consortium for noncommercial 
distributions among its associated members for medical use. 
The PET radionuclide production facility within the 
consortium must be located at an educational institution or a 
federal facility or a medical facility. 

"Constraint" means each shipment of a package or groups of 
packages or load of radioactive material offered by a shipper 
for transport. 

"Constraint (dose constraint)" or "dose constraint" means a 
value above which specified licensee actions are required. 

"Contact therapy system" means a therapeutic radiation 
machine with a short target to skin distance (TSD), usually 
less than five centimeters.  

"Contrast scale" means the change in the linear attenuation 
coefficient per CTN relative to water, that is:  

 
where: 

[  ] = Linear attenuation coefficient of the 
material of interest; 

[  ] = Linear attenuation coefficient of water; 

 = of the material of interest; 

 = of water. 
"Control (drive) cable" or "drive" means the cable that is 

connected to the source assembly and used to drive the source 
to and from the exposure location.  

"Control drive mechanism" means a device that enables the 
source assembly to be moved into and out of the exposure 
device.  

"Control panel" means that part of the X-ray x-ray control 
upon which are mounted the switches, knobs, pushbuttons, 
and other hardware necessary for manually setting the 
technique factors.  

"Control tube" means a protective sheath for guiding the 
control cable. The control tube connects the control drive 
mechanism to the radiographic exposure device.  

"Controlled area" means an area, outside of a restricted area 
but inside the site boundary, access to which can be limited 
by the licensee for any reason. 

"Conveyance" means: 
1. For transport by public highway or rail any transport 
vehicle or large freight container; 
2. For transport by water any vessel, or any hold, 
compartment, or defined deck area of a vessel including 
any transport vehicle on board the vessel; and 
3. For transport by any aircraft. 

"Cooling curve" means the graphical relationship between 
heat units stored and cooling time.  

"Cradle" means either: 
1. A removable device that supports and may restrain a 
patient above an x-ray table; or  
2. A device: 

a. Whose patient support structure is interposed between 
the patient and the image receptor during normal use; 
b. Which is equipped with means for patient restraint; 
and 
c. Which is capable of rotation about its long 
(longitudinal) axis. 

"Critical group" means the group of individuals reasonably 
expected to receive the greatest exposure to residual 
radioactivity for any applicable set of circumstances. 

"Criticality safety index (CSI)" or "CSI" means the 
dimensionless number (rounded up to the next tenth) assigned 
to and placed on the label of a fissile material package, to 
designate the degree of control of accumulation of packages 
containing fissile material during transportation. 
Determination of the criticality safety index is described in 
Part XIII (12VAC5-481-2950 et seq.). 

"CS" (See "Contrast scale").  
"CT" (See "Computed tomography").  
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"CT conditions of operation" means all selectable 
parameters governing the operation of a CT X-ray x-ray 
system including, but not limited to, nominal tomographic 
section thickness, filtration, and the technique factors as 
defined in these regulations.  

"CTDI" (See "Computed tomography dose index").  
"CT gantry" means the tube housing assemblies, beam-

limiting devices, detectors, and the supporting structures and 
frames which hold these components.  

"CTN" (See "CT number").  
"CT Number" number" means the number used to represent 

the X-ray x-ray attenuation associated with each elemental 
area of the CT image.  

 
where: 

 = A constant, a normal value of 1,000 when the 
Houndsfield scale of CTN is used; 

 = Linear attenuation coefficient of the material of 
interest; 

 = Linear attenuation coefficient of water. 
"Cumulative air kerma" means the total air kerma accrued 

from the beginning of an examination or procedure and 
includes all contribution from fluoroscopic and radiographic 
irradiation. 

"Curie" means a unit of quantity of activity. One curie (Ci) 
is that quantity of radioactive material that decays at the rate 
of 3.7E+10 disintegrations or transformations per second (dps 
or tps).  

"Custodial agency" means an agency of the government 
designated to act on behalf of the government owner of the 
disposal site.  

"Dead-man switch" means a switch so constructed that a 
circuit closing contact can be maintained only by continuous 
pressure on the switch by the operator.  

"Declared pregnant woman" means a woman who has 
voluntarily informed the licensee, in writing, of her 
pregnancy and the estimated date of conception. The 
declaration remains in effect until the declared pregnant 
woman withdraws the declaration in writing or is no longer 
pregnant. 

"Decommission" means to remove a facility or site safely 
from service and reduce residual radioactivity to a level that 
permits release of the property for unrestricted use and 
termination of the license or release of the property under 
restricted conditions and termination of the license. 

"Decontamination facility" means a facility operating under 
a Commission or Agreement State license whose principal 

purpose is decontamination of equipment or materials to 
accomplish recycle, reuse, or other waste management 
objectives, and, for purposes of this part, is not considered to 
be a consignee for LLW shipments. 

"Dedicated check source" means a radioactive source that is 
used to assure the constant operation of a radiation detection 
or measurement device over several months or years. This 
source may also be used for other purposes.  

"Deep dose equivalent" (Hd), or "Hd," which applies to 
external whole body exposure, means the dose equivalent at a 
tissue depth of one centimeter (1000 mg/cm²).  

"Demand respirator" means an atmosphere-supplying 
respirator that admits breathing air to the facepiece only when 
a negative pressure is created inside the facepiece by 
inhalation. 

"Department of Energy" means the Department of Energy 
established by Pub. L. 95-91, August 4, 1977, 91 Stat. 565, 42 
USC § 7101 et seq., to the extent that the Department 
exercises functions formerly vested in the Atomic Energy 
Commission, its Chairman, members, officers, and 
components and transferred to the Energy Research and 
Development Administration and to the Administrator thereof 
pursuant to sections 104(b), (c) and (d) of the Energy 
Reorganization Act of 1974 (Pub. L. 93-438, October 11, 
1974, 88 Stat. 1233 at 1237, 42 USC § 5814, effective 
January 19, 1975) and retransferred to the Secretary of 
Energy pursuant to section 301(a) of the Department of 
Energy Organization Act (Pub. L. 95-91, August 4, 1977, 91 
Stat. 565 at 577-578, 42 USC § 7151, effective October 1, 
1977.)  

"Depleted uranium" means the source material uranium in 
which the isotope uranium-235 is less than 0.711 weight 
percentage of the total uranium present. Depleted uranium 
does not include special nuclear material.  

"Derived air concentration" (DAC) or "DAC" means the 
concentration of a given radionuclide in air which, if breathed 
by the reference man for a working year of 2,000 hours under 
conditions of light work, results in an intake of one ALI. For 
purposes of these regulations, the condition of light work is 
an inhalation rate of 1.2 cubic meters of air per hour for 2,000 
hours in a year. DAC values are given in 12VAC5-481-3690.  

"Derived air concentration-hour" (DAC-hour) or "DAC 
hour" means the product of the concentration of radioactive 
material in air, expressed as a fraction or multiple of the 
derived air concentration for each radionuclide, and the time 
of exposure to that radionuclide, in hours. A licensee or 
registrant may take 2,000 [ DAC-hours DAC hours ] to 
represent one ALI, equivalent to a committed effective dose 
equivalent of 0.05 Sv (5 rem).  

"Detector" (See "Radiation detector").  
"Deuterium" means, for the purposes of Part XIII (12VAC5-

481-2950 et seq.) deuterium and any deuterium compounds, 
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including heavy water, in which the ratio of deuterium atoms 
to hydrogen atoms exceeds 1:5000. 

"Diagnostic clinical procedures manual" means a collection 
of written procedures that describes each method (and other 
instructions and precautions) by which the licensee performs 
diagnostic clinical procedures, where each diagnostic clinical 
procedure has been approved by the authorized user and 
includes the radiopharmaceutical, dosage, and route of 
administration.  

"Diagnostic source assembly" means the tube housing 
assembly with a beam-limiting device attached.  

"Diagnostic X-ray x-ray system" means an X-ray x-ray 
system designed for irradiation of any part of the human or 
animal body for the purpose of diagnosis or visualization.  

"Diagnostic X-ray imaging system" means an assemblage of 
components for the generation, emission and reception of X-
rays and the transformation, storage and visual display of the 
resultant X-ray image.  

"Direct scattered radiation" means that scattered radiation 
that has been deviated in direction only by materials 
irradiated by the useful beam (See "Scattered radiation").  

"Discrete source" means a radionuclide that has been 
processed so that its concentration within a material has been 
purposely increased for use for commercial, medical, or 
research activities. 

"Disposable respirator" means a respirator for which 
maintenance is not intended and that is designed to be 
discarded after excessive breathing resistance, sorbent 
exhaustion, physical damage, or end-of-service-life renders it 
unsuitable for use. Examples of this type of respirator are a 
disposable half-mask respirator [ or and ] a disposable escape-
only self-contained breathing apparatus (SCBA). 

"Disposal" means the isolation of wastes from the biosphere 
inhabited by man and his food chains by emplacement in a 
land disposal facility.  

"Disposal container" means a container principally used to 
confine low-level radioactive waste during disposal 
operations at a land disposal facility (also see "high integrity 
container"). Note that for some shipments, the disposal 
container may be the transport package. 

"Disposal site" means that portion of a land disposal facility 
that is used for disposal of waste. It consists of disposal units 
and a buffer zone.  

"Disposal unit" means a discrete portion of the disposal site 
into which waste is placed for disposal. For near-surface 
disposal, the unit is usually a trench.  

"Distinguishable from background" means that the 
detectable concentration of a radionuclide is statistically 
different from the background concentration of that 
radionuclide in the vicinity of the site or, in the case of 
structures, in similar materials using adequate measurement 
technology, survey, and statistical techniques.  

"Dose" is a generic term that means absorbed dose, dose 
equivalent, effective dose equivalent, committed dose 
equivalent, committed effective dose equivalent, total organ 
dose equivalent, or total effective dose equivalent. For 
purposes of these regulations, "radiation dose" is an 
equivalent term.  

"Dose commitment" means the total radiation dose to a part 
of the body that will result from retention in the body of 
radioactive material. For purposes of estimating the dose 
commitment, it is assumed that from the time of intake the 
period of exposure to retained material will not exceed 50 
years. 

"Dose equivalent (HT)" or "HT" means the product of the 
absorbed dose in tissue, quality factor, and all other necessary 
modifying factors at the location of interest. The units of dose 
equivalent are the sievert (Sv) and rem.  

"Dose limits" means the permissible upper bounds of 
radiation doses established in accordance with these 
regulations. For purposes of these regulations, "limits" is an 
equivalent term.  

"Dose monitor unit (DMU)" or "DMU" means a unit 
response from the beam monitoring system from which the 
absorbed dose can be calculated.  

"Dose profile" means the dose as a function of position 
along a line.  

"Dosimetry processor" means an individual or an 
organization that processes and evaluates individual 
monitoring devices in order to determine the radiation dose 
delivered to the monitoring devices.  

"Doubly encapsulated sealed source" means a sealed source 
in which the radioactive material is sealed within an inner 
capsule and that capsule is sealed within an outer capsule.  

"Drive cable" (See "Control cable").  
"Effective dose equivalent (HE)" or "HE" means the sum of 

the products of the dose equivalent (HT) to each organ or 
tissue and the weighting factor (wT) applicable to each of the 
body organs or tissues that are irradiated (HE = Σ wTHT).  

"Elemental area" means the smallest area within a tomogram 
for which the X-ray x-ray attenuation properties of a body are 
depicted. (See also "Picture element").  

"Embryo/fetus" means the developing human organism from 
conception until the time of birth.  

"Energy compensation source (ECS)" or "ECS" means a 
small sealed source, with an activity not exceeding 3.7 MBq 
(100 μCi), used within a logging tool, or other tool 
components, to provide a reference standard to maintain the 
tool's calibration when in use. 

"Engineered barrier" means a manmade structure or device 
that is intended to improve the land disposal facility's ability 
to meet the performance objectives in these regulations.  

"Enriched uranium" (See "Uranium – natural, depleted, 
enriched"). 



Regulations 

Volume 31, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 27, 2015 

2215 

"Entrance exposure rate" means the exposure free in air per 
unit time at the point where the center of the useful beam 
enters the patient.  

"Entrance or access point" means any opening through 
which an individual or extremity of an individual could gain 
access to radiation areas or to licensed or registered 
radioactive materials. This includes entry or exit portals of 
sufficient size to permit human entry, irrespective of their 
intended use.  

"EPA identification number" means the number received by 
a transporter following application to the Administrator of 
EPA as required by 40 CFR Part 263. 

"Equipment" (See "X-ray equipment").  
"Exclusive use" means the sole use by a single consignor of 

a conveyance for which all initial, intermediate, and final 
loading and unloading are carried out in accordance with the 
direction of the consignor or consignee. The consignor and 
the carrier must ensure that any loading or unloading is 
performed by personnel having radiological training and 
resources appropriate for safe handling of the consignment. 
The consignor must issue specific instructions, in writing, for 
maintenance of exclusive use shipment controls, and include 
them with the shipping paper information provided to the 
carrier by the consignor.  

"Explosive material" means any chemical compound, 
mixture, or device that produces a substantial instantaneous 
release of gas and heat spontaneously or by contact with 
sparks or flame.  

"Exposure" means being exposed to ionizing radiation or to 
radioactive material.  

"Exposure head" means a device that locates the gamma 
radiography sealed source in the selected working position.  

"Exposure rate" means the exposure per unit of time, such as 
roentgen per minute and milliroentgen per hour.  

"External beam radiation therapy" means therapeutic 
irradiation in which the source of radiation is at a distance 
from the body.  

"External dose" means that portion of the dose equivalent 
received from any source of radiation outside the body.  

"Extremity" means hand, elbow, arm below the elbow, foot, 
knee, and leg below the knee.  

"Facility" means the location, building, vehicle, or complex 
under one administrative control, at which one or more 
radiation machines are installed, located and/or used.  

"Fail-safe characteristics" mean a design feature that causes 
beam port shutters to close, or otherwise prevents emergence 
of the primary beam, upon the failure of a safety or warning 
device.  

"Field emission equipment" means equipment that uses an 
X-ray x-ray tube in which electron emission from the cathode 
is due solely to the action of an electric field.  

"Field-flattening filter" means a filter used to homogenize 
the absorbed dose rate over the radiation field.  

"Field station" means a facility where radioactive sources 
may be stored or used and from which equipment is 
dispatched to temporary jobsites.  

"Filter" means material placed in the useful beam to 
preferentially absorb selected radiations. It also means 
material placed in the useful beam to change beam quality in 
therapeutic radiation machines subject to Part XV (12VAC5-
481-3380 et seq.) of this chapter.  

"Filtering facepiece (dusk mask)" or "dusk mask" means a 
negative pressure particulate respirator with a filter as an 
integral part of the facepiece or with the entire facepiece 
composed of the filtering medium, not equipped with 
elastomeric sealing surfaces and adjustable straps. 

"Fissile material" means the radionuclides uranium-233, 
uranium-235, plutonium-239, and plutonium-241, or any 
combination of these radionuclides. "Fissile material" means 
the fissile nuclides themselves, not material containing fissile 
nuclides. Unirradiated natural uranium and depleted uranium 
and natural uranium or depleted uranium, that has been 
irradiated in thermal reactors only, are not included in this 
definition. Certain exclusions from fissile material controls 
are provided in 10 CFR 71.15.  

1. Fissile Class I: A package that may be transported in 
unlimited numbers and in any arrangement, and that 
requires no nuclear criticality safety controls during 
transportation. A transport index is not assigned for 
purposes of nuclear criticality safety but may be required 
because of external radiation levels.  
2. Fissile Class II: A package that may be transported 
together with other packages in any arrangement but, for 
criticality control, in numbers that do not exceed an 
aggregate transport index of 50. These shipments require 
no other nuclear criticality safety control during 
transportation. Individual packages may have a transport 
index not less than 0.1 and not more than 10.  

"Fissile material package" means a fissile material 
packaging together with its fissile material contents.  

"Fit factor" means a quantitative estimate of the fit of a 
particular respirator to a specific individual, and typically 
estimates the ratio of the concentration of a substance in 
ambient air to its concentration inside the respirator when 
worn. 

"Fit test" means the use of a protocol to qualitatively or 
quantitatively evaluate the fit of a respirator on an individual. 

"Fluoroscopic imaging assembly" means a subsystem in 
which X-ray x-ray photons produce a visible image set of 
fluoroscopic images or radiographic images recorded from 
the fluoroscopic image receptor. It includes the image 
receptor(s) such as the image intensifier and spot-film device 
receptors, electrical interlocks, if any, and structural material 
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providing linkage between the image receptor and diagnostic 
source assembly.  

"Fluoroscopic irradiation time" means the cumulative 
duration during an examination or procedure of operator-
applied continuous pressure to the device, enabling x-ray tube 
activation in any fluoroscopic mode of operation. 

"Fluoroscopy" means a technique for generating x-ray 
images and presenting them simultaneously and continuously 
as visible images. This term has the same meaning as the term 
"radioscopy" in the standards of the International 
Electrotechnical Commission. 

"Focal spot (actual)" or "actual" means the area projected on 
the anode of the X-ray x-ray tube bombarded by the electrons 
accelerated from the cathode and from which the useful beam 
originates.  

"Former Atomic Energy Commission or NRC licensed 
facilities" means nuclear reactors, nuclear fuel reprocessing 
plants, uranium enrichment plants, or critical mass 
experimental facilities where Atomic Energy Commission or 
NRC licenses have been terminated.  

"Gantry" means that part of a radiation therapy system 
supporting and allowing movements of the radiation head 
about a center of rotation.  

"Generally applicable environmental radiation standards" 
means standards issued by the Environmental Protection 
Agency under the authority of the Atomic Energy Act of 
1954, as amended, that impose limits on radiation exposures 
or levels, or concentrations or quantities of radioactive 
material, in the general environment outside the boundaries of 
locations under the control of persons possessing or using 
radioactive material.  

"General environment" means, as used in Part XVI 
(12VAC5-481-3460 et seq.) of this chapter, the total 
terrestrial, atmospheric, and aquatic environments outside the 
site boundary within which any activity, operation, or process 
authorized by a general or specific license issued under Part 
XVI, is performed.  

"General purpose radiographic X-ray x-ray system" means 
any radiographic X-ray x-ray system which, by design, is not 
limited to radiographic examination of specific anatomical 
regions.  

"Generator" means a licensee who (i) is a waste generator as 
defined in this chapter, or (ii) is the licensee to whom waste 
can be attributed within the context of the Low-Level 
Radioactive Waste Policy Amendments Act of 1985 (e.g., 
waste generated as a result of decontamination or recycle 
activities). 

"Gonad shield" means a protective barrier for the testes or 
ovaries.  

"Gray (Gy)" means the SI unit of absorbed dose. One gray is 
equal to an absorbed dose of one joule per kilogram (100 
rad).  

"Guide tube (protection sheath)" means a flexible or rigid 
tube, or "J" tube, for guiding the source assembly and the 
attached control cable from the exposure device to the 
exposure head. The guide tube may also include the 
connections necessary for attachment to the exposure device 
and to the exposure head.  

"Half-value layer (HVL)" or "HVL" means the thickness of 
a specified material that attenuates X-radiation or gamma 
radiation to an extent such that the air kerma rate, exposure 
rate or absorbed dose rate is reduced to one-half of the value 
measured without the material at the same point the beam of 
radiation to an extent that the AKR is reduced by one-half of 
its original value. In this definition, the contribution of all 
scattered radiation, other than any which might be present 
initially in the beam concerned, is deemed to be excluded. 

"Hand-held radiographic unit" means x-ray equipment that 
is designed to be hand-held during operation. 

"Hands-on experience" means experience in all of those 
areas considered to be directly involved in the radiography 
process, and includes taking radiographs, calibration of 
survey instruments, operational and performance testing of 
survey instruments and devices, film development, posting of 
radiation areas, transportation of radiography equipment, 
posting of records and radiation area surveillance, etc., as 
applicable. Excessive time spent in only one or two of these 
areas, such as film development or radiation area 
surveillance, should not be counted toward the 2,000 hours of 
hands-on experience required for a radiation safety officer in 
12VAC5-481-1310 [ A B ] 2 or the hands-on experience for a 
radiographer as required by 12VAC5-481-1320 A.  

"Hazardous waste" means those wastes designated as 
hazardous by the Environmental Protection Agency 
regulations in 40 CFR Part 261.  

"Healing arts" means the art or science or group of arts or 
sciences dealing with the prevention and cure or alleviation of 
ailments, diseases or infirmities, and has the same meaning as 
"medicine" when the latter term is used in its comprehensive 
sense.  

"Healing arts screening" means the testing of human beings 
using X-ray x-ray machines for the detection or evaluation of 
health indications when such tests are not specifically and 
individually ordered by a licensed practitioner of the healing 
arts legally authorized to prescribe such X-ray x-ray tests for 
the purpose of diagnosis or treatment.  

"Heat unit" means a unit of energy equal to the product of 
the peak kilovoltage, milliamperes, and seconds, such as 
(kVp) times (mA) times (seconds).  

"Helmet" means a rigid respiratory inlet covering that also 
provides head protection against impact and penetration. 

"High integrity container (HIC)" or "HIC" means a container 
commonly designed to meet the structural stability 
requirements of 12VAC5-481-2572 and to meet 
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U.S. Department of Transportation requirements for a Type A 
package. 

"High radiation area" means an area, accessible to 
individuals, in which radiation levels from radiation sources 
external to the body could result in an individual receiving a 
dose equivalent in excess of one mSv (0.1 rem) in one hour at 
30 centimeters from any source of radiation or 30 centimeters 
from any surface that the radiation penetrates.  

"Hood" means a respiratory inlet covering that completely 
covers the head and neck and may also cover portions of the 
shoulders and torso. 

"Human use" means the internal or external administration 
of radiation or radioactive material to human beings.  

"HVL" (See "Half-value layer").  
"Hydrogeologic unit" means any soil or rock unit or zone 

which by virtue of its porosity or permeability, or lack 
thereof, has a distinct influence on the storage or movement 
of groundwater.  

"Image intensifier" means a device, installed in its housing, 
that instantaneously converts an X-ray x-ray pattern into a 
corresponding light image of higher intensity.  

"Image receptor" means any device, such as a fluorescent 
screen or, radiographic film, x-ray image intensifier tube, 
solid-state detector, or gaseous detector that transforms 
incident X-ray x-ray photons either into a visible image or 
into another form that can be made into a visible image by 
further transformations. In those cases where means are 
provided to preselect a portion of the image receptor, the term 
"image receptor" shall mean the preselected portion of the 
device. 

"Image receptor support device" means, for mammographic 
systems, that part of the system designed to support the image 
receptor during mammography mammographic examination 
and to provide a primary protective barrier. 

"Inadvertent intruder" means a person who might occupy the 
disposal site after closure and engage in normal activities, 
such as agriculture, dwelling construction, or other pursuits in 
which an individual might be unknowingly exposed to 
radiation from the waste.  

"Independent certifying organization" means an independent 
organization that meets the agency's criteria for documenting 
applicant's training in topics set forth in 12VAC5-481-1320 
or equivalent agreement state or NRC regulations.  

"Individual" means any human being.  
"Individual monitoring" means the assessment of:  

1. Dose equivalent (i) by the use of individual monitoring 
devices or (ii) by the use of survey data; or  
2. Committed effective dose equivalent (i) by bioassay or 
(ii) by determination of the time-weighted air 
concentrations to which an individual has been exposed, 
that is, [ DAC-hours DAC hours ]. (See the definition of 
DAC)  

"Individual monitoring devices" means devices designed to 
be worn by a single individual for the assessment of dose 
equivalent. For purposes of these regulations, "personnel 
dosimeter" and "dosimeter" are equivalent terms. Examples 
of individual monitoring devices are film badges, 
thermoluminescent dosimeters (TLDs), pocket ionization 
chambers, optically stimulated luminescence (OSL) 
dosimeters and personal air sampling devices.  

"Industrial radiography" means an examination of the 
structure of materials by the nondestructive method of 
utilizing ionizing radiation to make radiographic images.  

"Inhalation class" (See "Class").  
"Inherent filtration" means the filtration of the useful beam 

provided by the permanently installed components of the tube 
housing assembly.  

"Injection tool" means a device used for controlled 
subsurface injection of radioactive tracer material.  

"Inspection" means an official examination or observation 
including, but not limited to, tests, surveys, and monitoring to 
determine compliance with rules, regulations, orders, 
requirements, and conditions of the agency.  

"Institutional controls" means: (i) permanent markers placed 
at a disposal site, (ii) public records and archives, (iii) 
government ownership and regulations regarding land or 
resource use, and (iv) other methods of preserving knowledge 
about the location, design, and contents of a disposal system.  

"Instrument traceability" (for ionizing radiation 
measurements) means the ability to show that an instrument 
has been calibrated at specified time intervals using a national 
standard or a transfer standard. If a transfer standard is used, 
the calibration must be at a laboratory accredited by a 
program that requires continuing participation in 
measurement quality assurance with the National Institute of 
Standards and Technology or other equivalent national or 
international program.  

"Interlock" means a device arranged or connected such that 
the occurrence of an event or condition is required before a 
second event or condition can occur or continue to occur.  

"Internal dose" means that portion of the dose equivalent 
received from radioactive material taken into the body.  

"Interruption of irradiation" means the stopping of 
irradiation with the possibility of continuing irradiation 
without resetting of operating conditions at the control panel.  

"Intruder barrier" means a sufficient depth of cover over the 
waste that inhibits contact with waste and helps to ensure that 
radiation exposures to an inadvertent intruder will meet the 
performance objectives set forth in these regulations, or 
engineered structures that provide equivalent protection to the 
inadvertent intruder.  

"Irradiation" means the exposure of matter to ionizing 
radiation.  
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"Irradiator" means a facility that uses radioactive sealed 
sources for the irradiation of objects or materials and in which 
radiation dose rates exceeding five grays (500 rads) per hour 
exist at one meter from the sealed radioactive sources in air or 
water, as applicable for the irradiator type, but does not 
include irradiators in which both the sealed source and the 
area subject to irradiation are contained within a device and 
are not accessible to personnel.  

"Irradiator operator" means an individual who has 
successfully completed the training and testing described in 
12VAC5-481-2830 and is authorized by the terms of the 
license to operate the irradiator without a supervisor present.  

"Irradiator operator supervisor" means an individual who 
meets the requirements for an irradiator operator and who 
physically oversees operation of the irradiator by an 
individual who is currently receiving training and testing 
described in 12VAC5-481-2830.  

"Isocenter" means the center of the smallest sphere through 
which the useful beam axis passes while the gantry moves 
through its full range of motions when the equipment moves 
through a full range of rotations about its common center.  

"kBq" means kilabecquerels. 
"Kerma" or "K" means the quantity defined by the 

International Commission on Radiation Units and 
Measurements. The kerma is the quotient of dEtr by dm, 
where dEtr is the sum of the initial kinetic energies of all 
charged particles liberated by uncharged particles in a mass 
dm of materials; thus K=dEtr/dm, in units of J/kg, where the 
special name for the units of kerma is gray (Gy). When the 
materials is air, the quantity is referred to as "air kerma." 

"Kilovolt (kV) (kilo electron volt (keV))" or "kV" means the 
energy equal to that acquired by a particle with one electron 
charge in passing through a potential difference of 1,000 volts 
in a vacuum. Current convention is to use kV for photons and 
keV for electrons.  

"Kilovolts peak" (See "Peak tube potential").  
"kV" means kilovolts.  
"kVp" (See "Peak tube potential").  
"kWs" means kilowatt second.  
"Land disposal facility" means the land, buildings, structures 

and equipment that is intended to be used for the disposal of 
wastes into the subsurface of the land. For purposes of this 
chapter, a "geologic repository" as defined in 10 CFR Part 60 
or 10 CFR Part 63 is not considered a land disposal facility. 

"Last image hold radiograph" or "LIH" means an image 
obtained either by retaining one or more fluoroscopic images, 
which may be temporarily integrated, at the end of a 
fluoroscopic exposure or by initiating a separate and distinct 
radiographic exposure automatically and immediately in 
conjunction with termination of the fluoroscopic exposure. 

"Lay-barge radiography" means industrial radiography 
performed on any water vessel used for laying pipe.  

"Lead equivalent" means the thickness of the material in 
question affording the same attenuation, under specified 
conditions, as lead.  

"Leakage radiation" means radiation emanating from the 
diagnostic source assembly except for:  

1. The useful beam; and  
2. Radiation produced when the exposure switch or timer is 
not activated.  

"Leakage technique factors" means the technique factors 
associated with the diagnostic source assembly that are used 
in measuring leakage radiation. They are defined as follows:  

1. For diagnostic source assemblies intended for capacitor 
energy storage equipment, the maximum-rated peak tube 
potential and the maximum-rated number of exposures in 
an hour for operation at the maximum-rated peak tube 
potential with the quantity of charge per exposure being 10 
millicoulombs, i.e., 10 milliampere seconds (10 mAs), or 
the minimum obtainable from the unit, whichever is larger;  
2. For diagnostic source assemblies intended for field 
emission equipment rated for pulsed operation, the 
maximum-rated peak tube potential and the maximum-
rated number of X-ray x-ray pulses in an hour for operation 
at the maximum-rated peak tube potential; or 
3. For all other diagnostic source assemblies, the 
maximum-rated peak tube potential and the maximum-
rated continuous tube current for the maximum-rated peak 
tube potential.  

"Lens dose equivalent (LDE)" or "LDE" applies to the 
external exposure of the lens of the eye and is taken as the 
dose equivalent at a tissue depth of 0.3 cm (300 mg/cm2). 

"License" means a license issued by the agency in 
accordance with the regulations adopted by the board.  

"Licensed material" means radioactive material received, 
possessed, used, transferred or disposed of under a general or 
specific license issued by the agency.  

"Licensee" means any person who is licensed by the agency 
in accordance with these regulations and the Act.  

"Light field" means that area of the intersection of the light 
beam from the beam-limiting device and one of the set of 
planes parallel to and including the plane of the image 
receptor, whose perimeter is the locus of points at which the 
illumination is one-fourth of the maximum in the intersection.  

"Limits" (See "Dose limits").  
"Line-voltage regulation" means the difference between the 

no-load and the load line potentials expressed as a percentage 
percent of the load line potential. It is calculated using the 
following equation as follows:  

Percent line-voltage regulation = 100 (Vn-Vl)/Vl  
where:  
Vn = No-load line potential; and  
Vl = Load line potential.  
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"Lixiscope" means a portable light-intensified imaging 
device using a sealed source.  

"Local components" mean part of an analytical X-ray x-ray 
system and include areas that are struck by X-rays x-rays 
such as radiation source housings, port and shutter 
assemblies, collimators, sample holders, cameras, 
goniometers, detectors, and shielding, but do not include 
power supplies, transformers, amplifiers, readout devices, and 
control panels.  

"Logging assistant" means any individual who, under the 
personal supervision of a logging supervisor, handles sealed 
sources or tracers that are not in logging tools or shipping 
containers or who performs surveys required by Part XIV 
(12VAC5-481-3140 et seq.) of this chapter.  

"Logging supervisor" means the individual who uses 
licensed material or provides personal supervision in the use 
of licensed material at a temporary jobsite and who is 
responsible to the licensee for assuring compliance with the 
requirements of this chapter and the conditions of the license.  

"Logging tool" means a device used subsurface to perform 
well-logging.  

"Loose-fitting facepiece" means a respiratory inlet covering 
that is designed to form a partial seal with the face. 

"Lost or missing licensed material" means licensed (or 
registered) source of radiation whose location is unknown. 
This definition includes, but is not limited to, radioactive 
material that has been shipped but has not reached its planned 
destination and whose location cannot be readily traced in the 
transportation system.  

"Lot tolerance percent defective" means, expressed in 
percent defective, the poorest quality in an individual 
inspection lot that should be accepted. 

"Low specific activity (LSA) material" or "LSA [ material ]" 
means radioactive material with limited specific activity that 
is nonfissile or is excepted under 12VAC5-481-2970 C, and 
that satisfies the descriptions and limits set forth below. 
Shielding materials surrounding the LSA material may not be 
considered in determining the estimated average specific 
activity of the package contents. LSA material must be in one 
of three groups:  

1. LSA-I  
a. Uranium and thorium ores, concentrates of uranium 
and thorium ores, and other ores containing naturally 
occurring radioactive radionuclide that are not intended 
to be processed for the use of these radionuclides;  
b. Solid unirradiated natural uranium or depleted uranium 
or natural thorium or their solid or liquid compounds or 
mixtures;  
c. Radioactive material, for which the A2 value is 
unlimited; or  
d. Other radioactive material in which the activity is 
distributed throughout and the estimated average specific 

activity does not exceed 30 times the value for exempt 
material activity concentration determined in accordance 
with 12VAC5-481-3720.  

2. LSA-II  
a. Water with tritium concentration up to 0.8 
terabecquerel per liter (20.0 Ci/L); or  
b. Other material in which the activity is distributed 
throughout, and the average specific activity does not 
exceed 1.0 E-04 A2/g for solids and gases, and 1.0 E-05 
A2/g for liquids.  

3. LSA-III  
Solids (e.g., consolidated wastes, activated materials), 
excluding powders, that satisfy the requirements of 10 
CFR 71.77) in which:  

a. The radioactive material is distributed throughout a 
solid or a collection of solid objects, or is essentially 
uniformly distributed in a solid compact binding agent 
(for example: concrete, bitumen, or ceramic);  
b. The radioactive material is relatively insoluble, or it is 
intrinsically contained in a relatively insoluble material, 
so that, even under loss of packaging, the loss of 
radioactive material per package by leaching, when 
placed in water for seven days, would not exceed 0.1 A2; 
and  
c. The estimated average specific activity of the solid 
does not exceed 2.0 E-03 A2/g.  

"Low toxicity alpha emitters" means natural uranium, 
depleted uranium, natural thorium; uranium-235, uranium-
238, thorium-232, thorium-228 or thorium-230 when 
contained in ores or physical or chemical concentrates or 
tailings; or alpha emitters with a half-life of less than 10 days.  

"Lung class" (See "Class").  
"mA" means milliampere.  
"mAs" means milliampere second.  
"Major processor" means a user processing, handling, or 

manufacturing radioactive material exceeding Type A 
quantities as unsealed sources or material, or exceeding four 
times Type B quantities as sealed sources, but does not 
include nuclear medicine programs, universities, industrial 
radiographers, or small industrial programs. Type A and B 
quantities are defined in this section.  

"Maximum line current" means the root-mean-square 
current in the supply line of an X-ray machine operating at its 
maximum rating.  

"Management" means the chief executive officer or that 
individual's designee.  

"MBq" means megabecquerels. 
"Medical event" means an event that meets the criteria in 

12VAC5-481-2080. 
"Medical institution" means an organization in which 

several medical disciplines are practiced.  
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"Medical use" means the intentional internal or external 
administration of radioactive material or the radiation from 
radioactive material to patients or human research subjects 
under the supervision of an authorized user. 

"Megavolt (MV) (mega electron volt (MeV))" or "MV" 
means the energy equal to that acquired by a particle with one 
electron charge in passing through a potential difference of 
one million volts in a vacuum. (Note: current convention is to 
use MV for photons and MeV for electrons.)  

"Member of the public" means an individual except when 
that individual is receiving an occupational dose.  

"Mineral logging" means any logging performed for the 
purpose of mineral exploration other than oil or gas.  

"Minor" means an individual less than 18 years of age.  
"Misadministration" means either: 

1. An x-ray teletherapy radiation dose: 
a. Involving the wrong patient; 
b. Involving the wrong mode of treatment; 
c. Involving the wrong treatment site; 
d. Where the calculated total administered dose differs 
from the total prescribed dose by more than 10% when 
the treatment consists of three or fewer fractions; 
e. Where the calculated weekly administered dose differs 
from the weekly prescribed dose by 30%; or 
f. Where the calculated total administered dose differs 
from the total prescribed dose by more than 20%; or 

2. An x-ray brachytherapy radiation dose: 
a. Involving the wrong patient; 
b [ ,. ] Involving the wrong treatment site; or 
c. Where the calculated administered dose differs from 
the prescribed dose by more than 20%. 

"mm" means millimeters. 
"Mobile nuclear medicine service" means the transportation 

and medical use of radioactive material.  
"Mobile X-ray x-ray equipment" (See "X-ray equipment").  
"Mode of operation" means, for fluoroscopy systems, a 

distinct method of fluoroscopy or radiography provided by 
the manufacturer and selected with a set of several technique 
factors or other control settings uniquely associated with the 
mode. The set of distinct technique factors and control 
settings for the mode may be selected by the operation of a 
single control. Examples of distinct modes of operation 
include normal fluoroscopy (analog or digital), high-level 
control fluoroscopy, cineradiography (analog and digital), 
digital subtraction angiography, electronic radiography using 
the fluoroscopic image receptor, and photospot recording. In 
a specific mode of operation, certain system variables 
affecting kerma, AKR, or image quality, such as image 
magnification, x-ray field size, pulse rate, pulse duration, 
number of pulses, source-image receptor distance (SID), or 

optical aperture, may be adjustable or may vary; their 
variation per se does not comprise a mode of operation 
different from the one that has been selected.  

"Monitor unit (MU)" or "MU" (See "Dose monitor unit").  
"Monitoring" means the measurement of radiation, 

radioactive material concentrations, surface area activities or 
quantities of radioactive material and the use of the results of 
these measurements to evaluate potential exposures and 
doses. For purposes of these regulations, "radiation 
monitoring" and "radiation protection monitoring" are 
equivalent terms. For Part XI (12VAC5-481-2330 et seq.) of 
this chapter, it means observing and making measurements to 
provide data to evaluate the performance and characteristics 
of the disposal site.  

"Moving beam radiation therapy" means radiation therapy 
with any planned displacement of radiation field or patient 
relative to each other, or with any planned change of absorbed 
dose distribution. It includes arc, skip, conformal, intensity 
modulation and rotational therapy.  

"Multiple tomogram system" means a computed 
tomography X-ray x-ray system that obtains X-ray x-ray 
transmission data simultaneously during a single scan to 
produce more than one tomogram.  

"NARM" means any naturally occurring or accelerator-
produced radioactive material. It does not include byproduct, 
source, or special nuclear material.  

"National Sealed Source and Device Registry" or "SSDR" 
means the national registry that contains the registration 
certificates, maintained by the NRC, that summarize the 
radiation safety information for sealed sources and devices, 
and describes the licensing and use conditions approved for 
the product. 

"Nationally tracked source" means a sealed source 
containing a quantity equal to or greater than Category 1 or 
Category 2 levels of any radioactive material listed in 
12VAC5-481-3780. In this context a sealed source is defined 
as radioactive material that is sealed in a capsule or closely 
bonded, in a solid form and that is not exempt from 
regulatory control. It does not mean material encapsulated 
solely for disposal, or nuclear material contained in any fuel 
assembly, subassembly, fuel rod, or fuel pellet. Category 1 
nationally tracked sources are those containing radioactive 
material at a quantity equal to or greater than the Category 1 
threshold. Category 2 nationally tracked sources are those 
containing radioactive material at a quantity equal to or 
greater than the Category 2 threshold but less than the 
Category 1 threshold. 

"Natural radioactivity" means radioactivity of naturally 
occurring nuclides.  

"Natural thorium" means thorium with the naturally 
occurring distribution of thorium isotopes, which is 
essentially 100 weight percent thorium-232.  
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"Natural uranium" (See "Uranium – natural, depleted, 
enriched"). 

"Near-surface disposal facility" means a land disposal 
facility in which waste is disposed of within approximately 
the upper 30 meters of the earth's surface.  

"Negative pressure respirator (tight fitting)" or "tight fitting" 
means a respirator in which the air pressure inside the 
facepiece is negative during inhalation with respect to the 
ambient air pressure outside the respirator. 

"Noise" means the standard deviation of the fluctuations in 
CTN expressed as a percentage of the attenuation coefficient 
of water. Its estimate (Sn) is calculated using the following 
expression:  

 
where: 

 = Linear attenuation coefficient of the material of 
interest. 

 = Linear attenuation coefficient of water. 
 = Standard deviation of the CTN of picture elements 

in a specified area of the CT image. 
"Nominal tomographic section thickness" means the full 

width at half-maximum of the sensitivity profile taken at the 
center of the cross-sectional volume over which X-ray x-ray 
transmission data are collected.  

"Non-image-intensified fluoroscopy" means fluoroscopy 
using only a fluorescent screen. 

"Nonstochastic effect" means a health effect, the severity of 
which varies with the dose and for which a threshold is 
believed to exist. Radiation-induced cataract formation is an 
example of a nonstochastic effect. For purposes of these 
regulations, "deterministic effect" is an equivalent term.  

"NORM" means any naturally occurring radioactive 
material. It does not include accelerator produced, byproduct, 
source, or special nuclear material.  

"Normal form radioactive material" means radioactive 
material that has not been demonstrated to qualify as special 
form radioactive material.  

"Normal operating procedures" mean step-by-step 
instructions necessary to accomplish the analysis. These 
procedures shall include sample insertion and manipulation, 
equipment alignment, routine maintenance by the registrant 
(or licensee), and data recording procedures, which are 
related to radiation safety.  

"Nominal treatment distance" means:  
1. For electron irradiation, the distance from the scattering 
foil, virtual source, or exit window of the electron beam to 
the entrance surface of the irradiated object along the 
central axis of the useful beam.  

2. For X-ray x-ray irradiation, the virtual source or target to 
isocenter distance along the central axis of the useful beam. 
For nonisocentric equipment, this distance shall be that 
specified by the manufacturer.  

"NRC Forms 540, 540A, 541, 541A, 542, and 542 542A" 
means official NRC forms referenced in this chapter. 
Licensees need not use originals of these NRC Forms as long 
as any substitute forms are equivalent to the original 
documentation in respect to content, clarity, size, and location 
of information. Upon agreement between the shipper and 
consignee, NRC Forms 541 (and 541A) and NRC Forms 542 
(and 542A) may be completed, transmitted, and stored in 
electronic media. The electronic media must have the 
capability for producing legible, accurate, and complete 
records in the format of the uniform manifest. 

"Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC)" or "NRC" means 
the NRC or its duly authorized representatives.  

"Nuclear waste" means a quantity of source, byproduct or 
special nuclear material (the definition of nuclear waste in 
this part is used in the same way as in 49 CFR 173.403) 
required to be in NRC-approved specification packaging 
while transported to, through or across a state boundary to a 
disposal site, or to a collection point for transport to a 
disposal site.  

"Occupational dose" means the dose received by an 
individual in the course of employment in which the 
individual's assigned duties for the licensee or registrant 
involve exposure to sources of radiation, whether or not the 
sources of radiation are in the possession of the licensee, 
registrant, or other person. Occupational dose does not 
include doses received from background radiation, from any 
medical administration the individual has received, from 
exposure to individuals administered radioactive material and 
released in accordance with 12VAC5-481-1870, from 
voluntary participation in medical research programs, or as a 
member of the public.  

"Offshore platform radiography" means industrial 
radiography conducted from a platform over a body of water.  

"Offshore waters" means that area of land and water, beyond 
the Commonwealth of Virginia's jurisdiction, on or above the 
U.S. Outer Continental Shelf. 

"Open-beam configuration" means an analytical X-ray x-ray 
system in which an individual could accidentally place some 
part of his body in the primary beam path during normal 
operation.  

"Output" means the exposure rate, dose rate, or a quantity 
related in a known manner to these rates from a teletherapy 
unit for a specified set of exposure conditions.  

"Package" means the packaging together with its radioactive 
contents as presented for transport. 

1. Fissile material package or Type AF package, Type BF 
package, Type B(U)F package, or Type B(M)F package 
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means a fissile material packaging together with its fissile 
material contents. 
2. Type A package means a Type A packaging together 
with its radioactive contents. A Type A package is defined 
and must comply with the DOT regulations in 49 CFR Part 
173. 
3. Type B package means a Type B packaging together 
with its radioactive contents. On approval, a Type B 
package design is designated by NRC as B(U) unless the 
package has a maximum normal operating pressure of 
more than 700 kPa (100 lbs/in2) gauge or a pressure relief 
device that would allow the release of radioactive material 
to the environment under the tests specified in 10 CFR 
71.73 (hypothetical accident conditions), in which case it 
will receive a designation B(M). B(U) refers to the need 
for unilateral approval of international shipments; B(M) 
refers to the need for multilateral approval of international 
shipments. There is no distinction made in how packages 
with these designations may be used in domestic 
transportation. To determine their distinction for 
international transportation, see DOT regulations in 49 
CFR Part 173. A Type B package approved before 
September 6, 1983, was designated only as Type B. 
Limitations on its use are specified in 10 CFR 71.19.  

"Packaging" means the assembly of components necessary 
to ensure compliance with the packaging requirements of 
these regulations. It may consist of one or more receptacles, 
absorbent materials, spacing structures, thermal insulation, 
radiation shielding, and devices for cooling or absorbing 
mechanical shocks. The vehicle, tie-down system, and 
auxiliary equipment may be designated as part of the 
packaging.  

"Panoramic dry-source-storage irradiator" means an 
irradiator in which the irradiations occur in air in areas 
potentially accessible to personnel and in which the sources 
are stored in shields made of solid materials. The term 
includes beam-type dry-source-storage irradiators in which 
only a narrow beam of radiation is produced for performing 
irradiations.  

"Panoramic irradiator" means an irradiator in which the 
irradiations are done in air in areas potentially accessible to 
personnel. The term includes beam-type irradiators.  

"Panoramic wet-source-storage irradiator" means an 
irradiator in which the irradiations occur in air in areas 
potentially accessible to personnel and in which the sources 
are stored under water in a storage pool.  

"Particle accelerator" (See "Accelerator").  
"Patient" means an individual or animal subjected to healing 

arts examination, diagnosis, or treatment.  
"PBL" (See "Positive beam limitation").  
"Peak tube potential" means the maximum value of the 

potential difference across the X-ray x-ray tube during an 
exposure.  

"Periodic quality assurance check" means a procedure that is 
performed to ensure that a previous calibration continues to 
be valid.  

"Permanent radiographic installation" means an enclosed 
shielded room, cell, or vault, not located at a temporary 
jobsite, in which radiography is performed.  

"Person" means any individual, corporation, partnership, 
firm, association, trust, estate, public or private institution, 
group, department of the Commonwealth other than the 
Department of Health, political subdivision of the 
Commonwealth, any other state or political subdivision or 
department thereof, and any legal successor, representative, 
agent, or department of the foregoing, but not including 
federal government agencies.  

"Personal supervision" means guidance and instruction by 
the supervisor who is physically present at the jobsite and 
watching the performance of the operation in such proximity 
that contact can be maintained and immediate assistance 
given as required. In radiography it means guidance and 
instruction provided to a radiographer trainee by a 
radiographer instructor who is present at the site, in visual 
contact with the trainee while the trainee is using sources of 
radiation, and in such proximity that immediate assistance can 
be given if required.  

"Personnel monitoring equipment" (See "Individual 
monitoring devices").  

"Phantom" means a volume of material behaving in a 
manner similar to tissue with respect to the attenuation and 
scattering of radiation. This requires that both the atomic 
number (Z) and the density of the material be similar to that 
of tissue.  

"Physical description" means the items called for on NRC 
Form 541 to describe a low-level radioactive waste. 

"Pool irradiator" means any irradiator at which the sources 
are stored or used in a pool of water including panoramic wet-
source-storage irradiators and underwater irradiators.  

"Pharmacist" means an individual licensed by this state to 
compound and dispense drugs, prescriptions, and poisons.  

"Physician" means an individual licensed by this state to 
prescribe drugs in the practice of medicine.  

"Picture element" means an elemental area of a tomogram.  
"PID" (See "Position indicating device").  
"Pigtail" (See "Source assembly").  
"Pill" (See "Sealed source").  
"Planned special exposure" means an infrequent exposure to 

radiation, separate from and in addition to the annual 
occupational dose limits.  

"Portable X-ray x-ray equipment" (See "X-ray equipment").  
"Position indicating device" means a device on dental X-ray 

x-ray equipment used to indicate the beam position and to 
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establish a definite source-surface (skin) distance. It may or 
may not incorporate or serve as a beam-limiting device.  

"Positive beam limitation" means the automatic or semi-
automatic adjustment of an X-ray x-ray beam to the size of 
the selected image receptor, whereby exposures cannot be 
made without such adjustment.  

[ "Positive emission tomography ] (PET) [ Positron emission 
tomography ] radionuclide production facility" or "PET" 
means a facility operating a cyclotron or [ other particle ] 
accelerator for the purpose of producing [ PET ] radionuclides 
[ that decay by positron emission ]. 

"Positive pressure respirator" means a respirator in which 
the pressure inside the respiratory inlet covering exceeds the 
ambient air pressure outside the respirator. 

"Powered air-purifying respirator (PAPR)" or "PAPR" 
means an air-purifying respirator that uses a blower to force 
the ambient air through air-purifying elements to the inlet 
covering. 

"Practical examination" means a demonstration through 
application of the safety rules and principles in industrial 
radiography including use of all procedures and equipment to 
be used by radiographic personnel.  

"Practical range of electrons" corresponds to classical 
electron range where the only remaining contribution to dose 
is from bremsstrahlung X-rays x-rays. A further explanation 
may be found in "Clinical Electron Beam Dosimetry: Report 
of AAPM Radiation Therapy Committee Task Group 25" 
(Medical Physics 18(1): 73-109, Jan/Feb. 1991) and ICRU 
Report 35, "Radiation Dosimetry: Electron Beams with 
Energies Between 1 and 50 MeV," International Commission 
on Radiation Units and Measurements, September 15, 1984.  

"Preceptor" means an individual who provides, directs, or 
verifies training and experience required for an individual to 
become an authorized user, an authorized medical physicist, 
an authorized nuclear pharmacist, or a radiation safety officer. 

"Prescribed dosage" means the quantity of 
radiopharmaceutical activity as documented:  

1. In a written directive; or  
2. Either in the diagnostic clinical procedures manual or in 
any appropriate record in accordance with the directions of 
the authorized user for diagnostic procedures.  

"Prescribed dose" means:  
1. For gamma stereotactic radiosurgery, the total dose as 
documented in the written directive; or  
2. For teletherapy, the total dose and dose per fraction as 
documented in the written directive; or  
3. For brachytherapy, either the total source strength and 
exposure time, or the total dose, as documented in the 
written directive.  

"Pressure demand respirator" means a positive pressure 
atmosphere-supplying respirator that admits breathing air to 

the facepiece when the positive pressure is reduced inside the 
facepiece by inhalation. 

"Primary beam" means radiation that passes through an 
aperture of the source housing by a direct path from the X-ray 
x-ray tube or a radioactive source located in the radiation 
source housing.  

"Primary dose monitoring system" means a system that will 
monitor the useful beam during irradiation and that will 
terminate irradiation when a preselected number of dose 
monitor units have been delivered.  

"Primary protective barrier" (See "Protective barrier") means 
the material, excluding filters, placed in the useful beam to 
reduce the radiation exposure (beyond the patient and cassette 
holder) for protection barriers.  

"Principal activities," as used in this chapter, means 
activities authorized by the license that are essential to 
achieving the purpose(s) for which the license was issued or 
amended. Storage during which no licensed material is 
accessed for use or disposal and activities incidental to 
decontamination or decommissioning are not principal 
activities. 

"Private inspector" means an individual who meets the 
requirements set forth in 12VAC5-481-340 and who has 
demonstrated to the satisfaction of the agency that such 
individual possesses the knowledge, training and experience 
to measure ionizing radiation, to evaluate safety techniques, 
and to advise regarding radiation protection needs.  

"Product" means, as used in Part XVI (12VAC5-481-3460 et 
seq.) of this chapter, something produced, made, 
manufactured, refined, or benefited.  

"Product conveyor system" means a system for moving the 
product to be irradiated to, from, and within the area where 
irradiation takes place.  

"Projection sheath" (See "Guide tube").  
"Projector" (See "Radiographic exposure device").  
"Protective apron" means an apron made of radiation-

attenuating or absorbing materials used to reduce exposure to 
radiation.  

"Protective barrier" means a barrier of radiation absorbing 
material(s) used to reduce radiation exposure. The types of 
protective barriers are as follows:  

1. "Primary protective barrier" means the material, 
excluding filters, placed in the useful beam;  
2. "Secondary protective barrier" means the material that 
attenuates stray radiation.  

"Protective glove" means a glove made of radiation 
absorbing materials used to reduce radiation exposure.  

"Public dose" means the dose received by a member of the 
public from exposure to sources of radiation released by the 
licensee or registrant, or to any other source of radiation 
under the control of the licensee or registrant. Public dose 
does not include occupational dose, or doses received from 
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background radiation, from any medical administration the 
individual has received, from exposure to individuals 
administered radioactive material and released in accordance 
with 12VAC5-481-1870, or from voluntary participation in 
medical research programs.  

"Pulsed mode" means operation of the x-ray system such 
that the x-ray tube is pulsed by the x-ray control to produce 
one or more exposure intervals of duration less than one-half 
second. 

"Pyrophoric material" means any liquid that ignites 
spontaneously in dry or moist air at or below 130°F (54.4°C) 
or any solid material, other than one classed as an explosive, 
which under normal conditions is liable to cause fires through 
friction, retained heat from manufacturing or processing, or 
that can be ignited readily and, when ignited, burns so 
vigorously and persistently as to create a serious 
transportation, handling, or disposal hazard. Included are 
spontaneously combustible and water-reactive materials.  

"Qualitative fit test (QLFT)" or "QLFT" means a pass/fail fit 
test to assess the adequacy of respirator fit that relies on the 
individual's response to the test agent. 

"Quality factor" (Q) or "Q" means the modifying factor, that 
is referenced in 12VAC5-481-240, that is used to derive dose 
equivalent from absorbed dose.  

"Quantitative fit test (QNFT)" or "QNFT" means an 
assessment of the adequacy of respirator fit by numerically 
measuring the amount of leakage into the respirator. 

"Quarter" means a period of time equal to one-fourth of the 
year observed by the licensee, approximately 13 consecutive 
weeks, providing that the beginning of the first quarter in a 
year coincides with the starting date of the year and that no 
day is omitted or duplicated in consecutive quarters.  

"Rad" means the special unit of absorbed dose. One rad is 
equal to an absorbed dose of 100 erg per gram or 0.01 joule 
per kilogram (0.01 gray).  

"Radiation" means alpha particles, beta particles, gamma 
rays, X-rays x-rays, neutrons, high-speed electrons, high-
speed protons, and other particles capable of producing ions. 
For purposes of these regulations, ionizing radiation is an 
equivalent term. Radiation, as used in these regulations, does 
not include nonionizing radiation, such as radiowaves or 
microwaves, visible, infrared, or ultraviolet light.  

"Radiation area" means any area, accessible to individuals, 
in which radiation levels could result in an individual 
receiving a dose equivalent in excess of 0.05 mSv (0.005 
rem) in one hour at 30 centimeters from the source of 
radiation or from any surface that the radiation penetrates.  

"Radiation dose" (See "Dose").  
"Radiation field" (See "Useful beam").  
"Radiation head" means the structure from which the useful 

beam emerges.  

"Radiation machine" means any device capable of producing 
radiation except those devices with radioactive material as the 
only source of radiation.  

"Radiation room" means a shielded room in which 
irradiations take place. Underwater irradiators do not have 
radiation rooms.  

"Radiation safety officer (RSO)" or "RSO" means an 
individual who has the knowledge and responsibility to apply 
appropriate radiation protection regulations and has been 
assigned such responsibility by the licensee or registrant.  

"Radiation safety officer for industrial radiography" means 
an individual with the responsibility for the overall radiation 
safety program on behalf of the licensee or registrant and who 
meets the requirements of 12VAC5-481-1310.  

"Radiation safety officer for medical" means an individual 
who meets the requirements of 12VAC5-481-1750 and 
12VAC5-481-1790 or is identified as an RSO on [ : ] a 
medical use license issued by the agency, NRC or another 
agreement state, or a medical use permit issued by an NRC 
masters material licensee. 

"Radiation therapy physicist" means an individual qualified 
in accordance with 12VAC5-481-340.  

"Radiation therapy simulation system" means a radiographic 
or fluoroscopic X-ray x-ray system intended for localizing the 
volume to be exposed during radiation therapy and 
confirming the position and size of the therapeutic irradiation 
field.  

"Radioactive material" means any solid, liquid, or gas which 
emits radiation spontaneously.  

"Radioactive marker" means radioactive material placed 
subsurface or on a structure intended for subsurface use for 
the purpose of depth determination or direction orientation. 

"Radioactivity" means the transformation of unstable atomic 
nuclei by the emission of radiation.  

"Radiobioassay" (See "Bioassay").  
"Radiograph" means an image receptor on which the image 

is created directly or indirectly by an X-ray x-ray pattern and 
results in a permanent record.  

"Radiographer" means any individual who performs or who, 
in attendance at the site where the sources of radiation are 
being used, personally supervises industrial radiographic 
operations and who is responsible to the licensee or registrant 
for assuring compliance with the requirements of the agency's 
regulations and the conditions of the license or registration.  

"Radiographer certification" means written approval 
received from a certifying entity stating that an individual has 
satisfactorily met the radiation safety, testing, and experience 
criteria in 12VAC5-481-1320.  

"Radiographer instructor" means any radiographer who has 
been authorized by the agency to provide on-the-job training 
to radiographer trainees in accordance with Part V (12VAC5-
481-1170 et seq.) of this chapter. 
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"Radiographer trainee" means any individual who, under the 
personal supervision of a radiographer instructor, uses 
sources of radiation, related handling tools, or radiation 
survey instruments during the course of his instruction.  

"Radiographer's assistant" means any individual who under 
the direct supervision of a radiographer, uses radiographic 
exposure devices, sources of radiation, related handling tools, 
or radiation survey instruments in industrial radiography.  

"Radiographic exposure device" means any instrument 
containing a sealed source fastened or contained therein, in 
which the sealed source or shielding thereof may be moved, 
or otherwise changed, from a shielded to unshielded position 
for purposes of making a radiographic exposure.  

"Radiographic imaging system" means any system whereby 
a permanent or semi-permanent image is recorded on an 
image receptor by the action of ionizing radiation.  

"Radiographic operations" means all activities performed 
with a radiographic exposure device, or with a radiation 
machine. Activities include using, transporting except by 
common or contract carriers, or storing at a temporary job 
site, performing surveys to confirm the adequacy of 
boundaries, setting up equipment, and any activity inside 
restricted area boundaries. Transporting a radiation machine 
is not considered a radiographic operation.  

"Radiographic personnel" means any radiographer, 
radiographer instructor, or radiographer trainee.  

"Radiography" (See "Industrial radiography") means: 
1. For radioactive materials: See "Industrial radiography." 
2. For x-ray: A technique for generating and recording an 
x-ray pattern for the purpose of providing the user with an 
image after termination of the exposure.  

"Rating" means the operating limits as specified by the 
component manufacturer.  

"Reasonably maximally exposed individual" means, as used 
in Part XVI (12VAC5-481-3460 et seq.) of this chapter, a 
representative of a population who is exposed to TENORM at 
the maximum TENORM concentration measured in 
environmental media found at a site along with reasonable 
maximum case exposure assumptions. The exposure is 
determined by using maximum values for one or more of the 
most sensitive parameters affecting exposure, based on 
cautious but reasonable assumptions, while leaving the others 
at their mean value.  

"Recording" means producing a permanent retrievable form 
of an image resulting from X-ray x-ray photons.  

"Redundant beam monitoring system" means a combination 
of two dose monitoring systems in which each system is 
designed to terminate irradiation in accordance with a 
preselected number of dose monitor units.  

"Reference man" means a hypothetical aggregation of 
human physical and physiological characteristics determined 
by international consensus. These characteristics may be used 

by researchers and public health employees to standardize 
results of experiments and to relate biological insult to a 
common base. A description of the reference man is 
contained in the International Commission on Radiological 
Protection report, ICRP Publication 23, "Report of the Task 
Group on Reference Man."  

"Reference plane" means a plane that is displaced from and 
parallel to the tomographic plane.  

"Registrant" means any person who is registered with the 
agency and is legally obligated to register with the agency 
pursuant to these regulations and the Act.  

"Registration" means registration with the agency in 
accordance with the regulations adopted by the agency.  

"Regulations of the United States Department of 
Transportation" means the regulations in 49 CFR Parts 100-
189.  

"Rem" means the special unit of any of the quantities 
expressed as dose equivalent. The dose equivalent in rems is 
equal to the absorbed dose in rad multiplied by the quality 
factor (1 rem = 0.01 Sv).  

"Reportable event" means the administration of either: 
1. A diagnostic x-ray exposure where an actual or 
suspected acute or long-term functional damage to an 
organ or a physiological system has occurred. Exempt 
from this reporting requirement is any event when any 
functional damage to a patient organ or a physiological 
system that was an expected outcome when the causative 
procedures were prescribed; 
2. A procedure where the patient or operator is injured as a 
result of a mechanical injury; 
3. A teletherapy x-ray [ or electron ] dose where the 
calculated weekly administered dose differs from the 
weekly prescribed dose by 15% or more; or 
4. A brachytherapy x-ray dose where the calculated 
administered dose differs from the prescribed dose by 10% 
or more. 

"Research and development" means (i) theoretical analysis, 
exploration, or experimentation; or (ii) the extension of 
investigative findings and theories of a scientific or technical 
nature into practical application for experimental and 
demonstrative purposes, including the experimental 
production and testing of models, devices, equipment, 
materials, and processes. Research and development does not 
include the internal or external administration of radiation or 
radioactive material to human beings.  

"Residential location" means any area where structures in 
which people lodge or live are located, and the grounds on 
which such structures are located including, but not limited 
to, houses, apartments, condominiums, and garages.  

"Residual radioactive material" means (i) waste (that the 
U.S. Secretary of Energy determines to be radioactive) in the 
form of tailings resulting from the processing of ores for the 
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extraction of uranium and other valuable constituents of the 
ores and (ii) other waste (that the U.S. Secretary of Energy 
determines to be radioactive) at a processing site that relates 
to such processing, including any residual stock of 
unprocessed ores or low-grade materials. This term is used 
only with respect to materials at sites subject to remediation 
under Title I of the Uranium Mill Tailings Radiation Control 
Act of 1978, as amended. 

"Residual radioactivity" means radioactivity in structures, 
materials, soils, groundwater, and other media at a site 
resulting from activities under the licensee's control. This 
includes radioactivity from all licensed and unlicensed 
sources used by the licensee, but excludes background 
radiation. It also includes radioactive materials remaining at 
the site as a result of routine or accidental releases of 
radioactive materials at the site and previous burials at the 
site, even if those burials were made in accordance with the 
provisions of Part IV (12VAC5-481-600 et seq.) of this 
chapter.  

"Residual waste" means low-level radioactive waste 
resulting from processing or decontamination activities that 
cannot be easily separated into distinct batches attributable to 
specific waste generators. This waste is attributable to the 
processor or decontamination facility, as applicable. 

"Respiratory protective device" means an apparatus, such as 
a respirator, used to reduce an individual's intake of airborne 
radioactive materials.  

"Restricted area" means an area, access to which is limited 
by the licensee or registrant for the purpose of protecting 
individuals against undue risks from exposure to radiation 
and radioactive materials. Restricted area does not include 
areas used as residential quarters, but separate rooms in a 
residential building may be set apart as a restricted area.  

"Roentgen" means the special unit of exposure. One 
roentgen (R) equals 2.58E-4 coulombs per kilogram of air 
(see "Exposure" and 12VAC5-481-240).  

"S-tube" means a tube through which the radioactive source 
travels when inside a radiographic exposure device.  

"Sanitary sewerage" means a system of public sewers for 
carrying off waste water and refuse, but excluding sewage 
treatment facilities, septic tanks, and leach fields owned or 
operated by the licensee or registrant.  

"Scan" means the complete process of collecting X-ray x-
ray transmission data for the production of a tomogram. Data 
can be collected simultaneously during a single scan for the 
production of one or more tomograms.  

"Scan increment" means the amount of relative displacement 
of the patient with respect to the CT X-ray x-ray system 
between successive scans measured along the direction of 
such displacement.  

"Scan sequence" means a preselected set of two or more 
scans performed consecutively under preselected CT 
conditions of operation.  

"Scan time" means the period of time between the beginning 
and end of X-ray x-ray transmission data accumulation for a 
single scan.  

"Scattered radiation" means ionizing radiation emitted by 
interaction of ionizing radiation with matter, the interaction 
being accompanied by a change in direction of the radiation. 
Scattered primary radiation means that scattered radiation 
which has been deviated in direction only by materials 
irradiated by the useful beam.  

"Sealed source" means any radioactive material that is 
encased in a capsule designed to prevent leakage or escape of 
any radioactive material.  

"Sealed Source and Device Registry (SSD)" means the 
national registry that contains the registration certificates, 
maintained by the NRC, that summarize the radiation safety 
information for sealed sources and devices, and describes the 
licensing and use conditions approved for the product.  

"Secondary dose monitoring system" means a system which 
will terminate irradiation in the event of failure of the primary 
dose monitoring system.  

"Secondary protective barrier" (See "Protective barrier").  
"Seismic area" means any area where the probability of a 

horizontal acceleration in rock of more than 0.3 times the 
acceleration of gravity in 250 years is greater than 10%, as 
designated by the United States Geological Survey.  

"Self-contained breathing apparatus (SCBA)" or "SCBA" 
means an atmosphere-supplying respirator for which the 
breathing air source is designed to be carried by the user. 

"Shadow tray" means a device attached to the radiation head 
to support auxiliary beam blocking material.  

"Shallow dose equivalent (Hs)," or "Hs" which applies to the 
external exposure of the skin or an extremity, means the dose 
equivalent at a tissue depth of 0.007 centimeter (7 mg/cm2).  

"Shielded position" means the location within the 
radiographic exposure device or storage container which, by 
manufacturer's design, is the proper location for storage of the 
sealed source.  

"Shielded-room radiography" means industrial radiography 
conducted in a room shielded so that radiation levels at every 
location on the exterior meet the limitations specified in 
12VAC5-481-640.  

"Shipper" means the licensed entity (i.e., the waste 
generator, waste collector, or waste processor) who offers 
low-level radioactive waste for transportation, typically 
consigning this type of waste to a licensed waste collector, 
waste processor, or land disposal facility operator. 

"Shipping paper" means NRC Form 540 and, if required, 
NRC Form 540A, which includes the information required by 
DOT the U.S. Department of Transportation in 49 CFR Part 
172. 

"Shutter" means a device attached to the tube housing 
assembly which can intercept the entire cross sectional area of 
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the useful beam and which has a lead equivalency not less 
than that of the tube housing assembly.  

"SI" means the abbreviation for the International System of 
Units.  

"SID" (See "Source-image receptor distance").  
"Sievert" (Sv) or "Sv" means the SI unit of any of the 

quantities expressed as dose equivalent. The dose equivalent 
in sievert is equal to the absorbed dose in gray multiplied by 
the quality factor (1 Sv = 100 rem).  

"Simulator (radiation therapy simulation system)" or 
"radiation therapy simulation system" means any X-ray x-ray 
system intended for localizing the volume to be exposed 
during radiation therapy and reproducing the position and size 
of the therapeutic irradiation field.  

"Single tomogram system" means a CT X-ray x-ray system 
that obtains X-ray x-ray transmission data during a scan to 
produce a single tomogram.  

"Site area emergency" means events may occur, are in 
progress, or have occurred that could lead to a significant 
release of radioactive material and that could require a 
response by offsite response organizations to protect persons 
offsite. 

"Site boundary" means that line beyond which the land or 
property is not owned, leased, or otherwise controlled by the 
licensee. 

"Site closure and stabilization" means those actions that are 
taken upon completion of operations that prepare the disposal 
site for custodial care and that assure that the disposal site 
will remain stable and will not need ongoing active 
maintenance.  

"Source" means the focal spot of the X-ray x-ray tube.  
"Source assembly" means an assembly that consists of the 

sealed source and a connector that attaches the source to the 
control cable. The source assembly may include a ballstop to 
secure the source in the shielded position.  

"Source changer" means a device designed and used for 
replacement of sealed sources in radiographic exposure 
devices, including those source changers also used for 
transporting and storage of sealed sources.  

"Source holder" means a housing or assembly into which a 
radioactive source is placed for the purpose of facilitating the 
handling and use of the source in well-logging operations.  

"Source-image receptor distance" means the distance from 
the source to the center of the input surface of the image 
receptor.  

"Source material" means:  
1. Uranium or thorium, or any combination thereof, in any 
physical or chemical form; or  
2. Ores that contain by weight one-twentieth of 1.0% 
(0.05%) or more of uranium, thorium or any combination 

of uranium and thorium. Source material does not include 
special nuclear material.  

"Source of radiation" means any radioactive material or any 
device or equipment emitting, or capable of producing, 
radiation.  

"Source-skin distance (SSD)" or "SSD" means the distance 
between from the source and the skin entrance plane of the 
patient to the center of the entrant x-ray field in the plane 
tangent to the patient's skin surface.  

"Source traceability" means the ability to show that a 
radioactive source has been calibrated either by the national 
standards laboratory of the National Institute of Standards and 
Technology, or by a laboratory that participates in a 
continuing measurement quality assurance program with 
National Institute of Standards and Technology or other 
equivalent national or international program.  

"Special form radioactive material" means radioactive 
material that satisfies the following conditions:  

1. It is either a single solid piece or is contained in a sealed 
capsule that can be opened only by destroying the capsule;  
2. The piece or capsule has at least one dimension not less 
than five millimeters (0.2 in.); and  
3. It satisfies the test requirements specified by the NRC. A 
special form encapsulation designed in accordance with the 
NRC requirements in effect on June 30, 1983, and 
constructed prior to July 1, 1985, may continue to be used. 
A special form encapsulation either designed or 
constructed after April 1, 1998, must meet requirements of 
this definition applicable at the time of its design or 
construction.  

"Special nuclear material" means:  
1. Plutonium, uranium-233, uranium enriched in the 
isotope 233 or in the isotope 235, and any other material 
the NRC, pursuant to the provisions of [ section § ] 51 of 
the Atomic Energy Act of 1954, as amended, determines to 
be special nuclear material, but does not include source 
material; or  
2. Any material artificially enriched by any of the 
foregoing but does not include source material.  

"Special nuclear material in quantities not sufficient to form 
a critical mass" means uranium enriched in the isotope U-235 
in quantities not exceeding 350 grams of contained U-235; 
uranium-233 in quantities not exceeding 200 grams; 
plutonium in quantities not exceeding 200 grams; or any 
combination of them in accordance with the following 
formula: For each kind of special nuclear material, determine 
the ratio between the quantity of that special nuclear material 
and the quantity specified above for the same kind of special 
nuclear material. The sum of such ratios for all of the kinds of 
special nuclear material in combination shall not exceed 1. 
For example, the following quantities in combination would 
not exceed the limitation and are within the formula:  
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"Specific activity" of a radionuclide means the radioactivity 

of a radionuclide per unit mass of that nuclide. The specific 
activity of a material in which the radionuclide is essentially 
uniformly distributed is the radioactivity per unit mass of the 
material.  

"Spot film" means a radiograph that is made during a 
fluoroscopic examination to permanently record conditions 
that exist during that fluoroscopic procedure.  

"Spot-film device" means a device intended to transport 
and/or position a radiographic image receptor between the X-
ray x-ray source and fluoroscopic image receptor. It includes 
a device intended to hold a cassette over the input end of an 
image intensifier for the purpose of making a radiograph.  

"Stability" means structural stability.  
"State inspector" means an employee of the Virginia 

Department of Health designated to perform those duties or 
functions assigned the Radiological Health Program.  

"Stationary beam radiation therapy" means radiation therapy 
without displacement of one or more mechanical axes relative 
to the patient during irradiation.  

"Stationary X-ray x-ray equipment" (See "X-ray 
equipment").  

"Stochastic effect" means a health effect that occurs 
randomly and for which the probability of the effect 
occurring, rather than its severity, is assumed to be a linear 
function of dose without threshold. Hereditary effects and 
cancer incidence are examples of stochastic effects. For 
purposes of these regulations, "probabilistic effect" is an 
equivalent term.  

"Storage" means a condition in which a device or source is 
not being used for an extended period of time, and has been 
made inoperable.  

"Storage area" means any location, facility, or vehicle that is 
used to store and secure a radiographic exposure device, a 
radiation machine, or a storage container when it is not used 
for radiographic operations. Storage areas are locked or have 
a physical barrier to prevent accidental exposure, tampering, 
or unauthorized removal of the device, machine, or container.  

"Storage container" means a device in which sealed sources 
or radiation machines are secured and stored.  

"Stray radiation" means the sum of leakage and scattered 
radiation.  

"Subsurface tracer study" means the release of a substance 
tagged with radioactive material for the purpose of tracing the 
movement or position of the tagged substance in the well-
bore or adjacent formation.  

"Supplied-air respirator (SAR) or," "airline respirator," or 
"SAR" means an atmosphere-supplying respirator for which 
the source of breathing air is not designed to be carried by the 
user. 

"Surface contaminated object" (SCO) or "SCO" means a 
solid object that is not itself classed as radioactive material, 
but that has radioactive material distributed on any of its 
surfaces. An SCO must be in one of two groups with surface 
activity not exceeding the following limits:  

1. SCO-I: A solid object on which:  
a. The nonfixed contamination on the accessible surface 
averaged over 300 cm², or the area of the surface if less 
than 300 cm², does not exceed four becquerel per cm² (1 
E-04 μCi/cm²) for beta and gamma and low toxicity 
alpha emitters, or 0.4 becquerel per cm² (1 E-05 μCi/cm²) 
for all other alpha emitters;  
b. The fixed contamination on the accessible surface 
averaged over 300 cm², or the area of the surface if less 
than 300 cm², does not exceed 4 E+04 becquerel per cm² 
(1.0 μCi/cm²) for beta and gamma and low toxicity alpha 
emitters, or 4 E+03 becquerel per cm² (0.1 μCi/cm²) for 
all other alpha emitters; and  
c. The nonfixed contamination plus the fixed 
contamination on the inaccessible surface averaged over 
300 cm², or the area of the surface if less than 300 cm², 
does not exceed 4 E+04 becquerel per cm² (1 μCi/cm²) 
for beta and gamma and low toxicity alpha emitters, or 4 
E+03 Becquerel per cm² (0.1 μCi/cm²) for all other alpha 
emitters.  

2. SCO-II: A solid object on which the limits for SCO-I are 
exceeded and on which:  

a. The nonfixed contamination on the accessible surface 
averaged over 300 cm², or the area of the surface if less 
than 300 cm², does not exceed 400 becquerel per cm² (1 
E-02 μCi/cm²) for beta and gamma and low toxicity 
alpha emitters or 40 becquerel per cm² (1 E-03 μCi/cm²) 
for all other alpha emitters;  
b. The fixed contamination on the accessible surface 
averaged over 300 cm², or the area of the surface if less 
than 300 cm², does not exceed 8 E+05 becquerel per cm² 
(20 μCi/cm²) for beta and gamma and low toxicity alpha 
emitters, or 8 E+04 becquerel per cm² (2 μCi/cm²) for all 
other alpha emitters; and  
c. The nonfixed contamination plus the fixed 
contamination on the inaccessible surface averaged over 
300 cm², or the area of the surface if less than 300 cm², 
does not exceed 8 E+05 becquerel per cm² (20 μCi/cm²) 
for beta and gamma and low toxicity alpha emitters, or 8 
E+04 becquerel per cm² (2 μCi/cm²) for all other alpha 
emitters.  

"Surveillance" means monitoring and observation of the 
disposal site for purposes of visual detection of need for 
maintenance, custodial care, evidence of intrusion, and 
compliance with other license and regulatory requirements.  

"Survey" means an evaluation of the radiological conditions 
and potential hazards incident to the production, use, transfer, 
release, disposal, or presence of radioactive material or other 
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sources of radiation. When appropriate, such an evaluation 
includes a physical survey of the location of radioactive 
material and measurements or calculations of levels of 
radiation, or concentrations or quantities of radioactive 
material present.  

"Tabletop, stationary" means a tabletop that, when 
assembled for use, is incapable of movement with respect to 
its supporting structure within the plane of the tabletop. 

"Target" means that part of an X-ray x-ray tube or 
accelerator onto which a beam of accelerated particles is 
directed to produce ionizing radiation or other particles.  

"Technologically Enhanced Naturally Occurring 
Radioactive Material (TENORM)" or "TENORM" means, as 
used in Part XVI (12VAC5-481-3460 et seq.) of this chapter, 
naturally occurring radionuclides whose concentrations are 
increased by or as a result of past or present human practices. 
TENORM does not include background radiation or the 
natural radioactivity of rocks or soils. TENORM does not 
include uranium or thorium in "source material" as defined in 
the AEA and NRC regulations.  

"Technique factors" means the following conditions of 
operation:  

1. For capacitor energy storage equipment, peak tube 
potential in kV kilovolts (kV) and quantity of charge in 
mAs milliampere-seconds (mAs);  
2. For field emission equipment rated for pulsed operation, 
peak tube potential in kV kilovolts (kV), and number of X-
ray x-ray pulses;  
3. For CT X-ray systems equipment designed for pulsed 
operation, peak tube potential in kV kilovolts (kV), scan 
time in seconds, and either tube current in Ma milliamperes 
(mA), X-ray x-ray pulse width in seconds, and the number 
of X-ray x-ray pulses per scan, or the product of tube 
current, X-ray x-ray pulse width, and the number of X-ray 
x-ray pulses in mAs milliampere-seconds (mAs);  
4. For CT X-ray systems equipment not designed for 
pulsed operation, peak tube potential in kV kilovolts (kV), 
and either tube current in Ma milliamperes (mA) and scan 
time in seconds, or the product of tube current and 
exposure time in mAs milliampere-seconds (mAs) and the 
scan time when the scan time and exposure time are 
equivalent; and  
5. For all other equipment, peak tube potential in kV 
kilovolts (kV), and either tube current in Ma milliamperes 
(mA) and exposure time in seconds, or the product of tube 
current and exposure time in mAs milliampere-seconds 
(mAs).  

"Teletherapy physicist" means an individual identified as a 
qualified teletherapy physicist on an agency license.  

"Teletherapy" means therapeutic irradiation in which the 
source of radiation is at a distance from the body.  

"Temporary job site" means any location where industrial 
radiography, wireline service, well-logging, portable gauge or 
[ XRF x-ray fluorescense ] use is performed and where 
licensed material may be stored other than those location(s) of 
use authorized on the license.  

"Tenth-value layer (TVL)" or "TVL" means the thickness of 
a specified material that attenuates X-radiation or gamma 
radiation to an extent such that the air kerma rate, exposure 
rate, or absorbed dose rate is reduced to one-tenth of the value 
measured without the material at the same point.  

"Termination of irradiation" means the stopping of 
irradiation in a fashion that will not permit continuance of 
irradiation without the resetting of operating conditions at the 
control panel.  

"Test" means the process of verifying compliance with an 
applicable regulation.  

"Therapeutic radiation machine" means X-ray x-ray or 
electron-producing equipment designed and used for external 
beam radiation therapy.  

"These regulations" mean all parts of these regulations.  
"Tight-fitting facepiece" means a respiratory inlet covering 

that forms a complete seal with the face. 
"Tomogram" means the depiction of the X-ray x-ray 

attenuation properties of a section through the body.  
"Tomographic plane" means that geometric plane which is 

identified as corresponding to the output tomogram.  
"Tomographic section" means the volume of an object 

whose X-ray x-ray attenuation properties are imaged in a 
tomogram.  

"Total effective dose equivalent" (TEDE) or "TEDE" means 
the sum of the effective dose equivalent for external 
exposures and the committed effective dose equivalent for 
internal exposures.  

"Total organ dose equivalent" (TODE) or "TODE" means 
the sum of the deep dose equivalent and the committed dose 
equivalent to the organ receiving the highest dose as 
described in 12VAC5-481-1040.  

"Traceable to a National Standard" (See "Instrument 
traceability" or "Source traceability").  

"Transfer" means, as used in Part XVI (12VAC5-481-3460 
et seq.) of this chapter, the physical relocation of NORM 
containing materials not directly associated with commercial 
distribution within a business's operation or between general 
or specific licensees. This term does not include a change in 
legal title to NORM containing materials that does not 
involve physical movement of those materials.  

"Transport container" means a package that is designed to 
provide radiation safety and security when sealed sources are 
transported and which meets all applicable requirements of 
the United States Department of Transportation.  

"Transport index (TI)" or "TI" means the dimensionless 
number, rounded up to the next tenth, placed on the label of a 
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package to designate the degree of control to be exercised by 
the carrier during transportation. The transport index is the 
number determined by multiplying the maximum radiation 
level in millisievert (mSv) per hour at one meter (3.3 feet) 
from the external surface of the package by 100 (equivalent to 
the maximum radiation level in millirem per hour at one 
meter (3.3 ft)).  

"Treatment site" means the correct anatomical description of 
the area intended to receive a radiation dose, as described in a 
written directive. 

"Tritium neutron generator target source" means a tritium 
source used within a neutron generator tube to produce 
neutrons for use in well-logging applications. 

"Tube" means an X-ray x-ray tube, unless otherwise 
specified.  

"Tube housing assembly" means the tube housing with tube 
installed. It includes high-voltage and/or filament 
transformers and other appropriate elements when such are 
contained within the tube housing.  

"Tube rating chart" means the set of curves which specify 
the rated limits of operation of the tube in terms of the 
technique factors.  

"Type A quantity" means a quantity of radioactive material, 
the aggregate radioactivity of which does not exceed A1 for 
special form radioactive material or A2 for normal form 
radioactive material, where A1 and A2 are given in Table A-1 
of 12VAC5-481-3770 or may be determined by procedures 
described in Table A-1 of 12VAC5-481-3770.  

"Type B quantity" means a quantity of radioactive material 
greater than a Type A quantity.  

"Underwater irradiator" means an irradiator in which the 
sources always remain shielded under water and humans do 
not have access to the sealed sources or the space subject to 
irradiation without entering the pool.  

"Underwater radiography" means radiographic operations 
performed when the radiographic exposure device or 
radiation machine and/or related equipment are beneath the 
surface of the water.  

"Uniform Low-Level Radioactive Waste Manifest" or 
"uniform manifest" means the combination of NRC Forms 
540 and 541, and, if necessary, 542, and their respective 
continuation sheets as needed, or equivalent. 

"Unirradiated uranium" means uranium containing not more 
than 2 x 103 Bq of plutonium per gram of uranium-235, not 
more than 9 x 106 Bq of fission products per gram of 
uranium-235, and not more than 5 x 10-3 g of uranium-236 
per gram of uranium-235. 

"Unrefined and unprocessed ore" means ore in its natural 
form prior to any processing, such as grinding, roasting, 
beneficiating, or refining.  

"Unrestricted area" means an area, access to which is neither 
limited nor controlled by the licensee or registrant. For 

purposes of these regulations, "uncontrolled area" is an 
equivalent term.  

"Uranium—natural, depleted, enriched"  
1. "Natural uranium" means uranium with the naturally 
occurring distribution of uranium isotopes, which is 
approximately 0.711 weight percent uranium-235, and the 
remainder by weight essentially uranium-238.  
2. "Depleted uranium" means uranium containing less 
uranium-235 than the naturally occurring distribution of 
uranium isotopes.  
3. "Enriched uranium" means uranium containing more 
uranium-235 than the naturally occurring distribution of 
uranium isotopes.  

"Uranium sinker bar" means a weight containing depleted 
uranium used to pull a logging tool down toward the bottom 
of a well.  

"Useful beam" means the radiation emanating from that 
passes through the tube housing port or the radiation head and 
passing through and the aperture of the beam limiting beam-
limiting device when the exposure controls are in a mode to 
cause the system to produce radiation switch or timer is 
activated.  

"User seal check (fit check)" or "fit check" means an action 
conducted by the respirator user to determine if the respirator 
is properly seated to the face. Examples include negative 
pressure check, positive pressure check, irritant smoke check, 
or isoamyl acetate check. 

"Variable-aperture beam-limiting device" means a beam-
limiting device which has capacity for stepless adjustment of 
the X-ray x-ray field size at a given SID.  

"Very high radiation area" means an area, accessible to 
individuals, in which radiation levels from radiation sources 
external to the body could result in an individual receiving an 
absorbed dose in excess of five Gy (500 rad) in one hour at 
one meter from a source of radiation or one meter from any 
surface that the radiation penetrates.  

"Virtual source" means a point from which radiation appears 
to originate.  

"Visible area" means that portion of the input surface of the 
image receptor over which incident X-ray x-ray photons are 
producing a visible image.  

"Visiting authorized user" means an authorized user who is 
not identified on the license of the licensee being visited.  

"Waste" means those low-level radioactive wastes 
containing source, special nuclear, or byproduct material that 
are acceptable for disposal in a land disposal facility. For the 
purposes of this definition, low-level radioactive waste means 
radioactive waste not classified as high-level radioactive 
waste, transuranic waste, spent nuclear fuel, or byproduct 
material as defined in subdivisions 2, 3, and 4 of the 
definition of byproduct material.  
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"Waste collector" means an entity, operating under a 
specific license, whose principal purpose is to collect and 
consolidate waste generated by others, and to transfer this 
waste, without processing or repackaging the collected waste, 
to another licensed waste collector, licensed waste processor, 
or licensed land disposal facility. 

"Waste description" means the physical, chemical and 
radiological description of a low-level radioactive waste as 
called for on NRC Form 541. 

"Waste generator" means an entity, operating under a 
license, who (i) possesses any material or component that 
contains radioactivity or is radioactively contaminated for 
which the licensee foresees no further use, and (ii) transfers 
this material or component to a licensed land disposal facility 
or to a licensed waste collector or processor for handling or 
treatment prior to disposal. A licensee performing processing 
or decontamination services may be a "waste generator" if the 
transfer of low-level radioactive waste from its facility is 
defined as "residual waste." 

"Waste handling licensees" mean persons licensed to receive 
and store radioactive wastes prior to disposal and/or persons 
licensed to dispose of radioactive waste.  

"Waste processor" means an entity, operating under a 
specific license, whose principal purpose is to process, 
repackage, or otherwise treat low-level radioactive material or 
waste generated by others prior to eventual transfer of waste 
to a licensed low-level radioactive waste land disposal 
facility. 

"Waste type" means a waste within a disposal container 
having a unique physical description (i.e., a specific waste 
descriptor code or description; or a waste sorbed on or 
solidified in a specifically defined media). 

"Wedge filter" means a filter that effects continuous change 
in transmission over all or a part of the useful beam.  

"Week" means seven consecutive days starting on Sunday.  
"Weighting factor [ (wT)" " or "wT" for an organ or tissue 

(T) means the proportion of the risk of stochastic effects 
resulting from irradiation of that organ or tissue to the total 
risk of stochastic effects when the whole body is irradiated 
uniformly. For calculating the effective dose equivalent, the 
values of wT are:  

Organ Dose Weighting Factors   

Organ or Tissue wT   

Gonads 0.25   

Breast 0.15   

Red bone marrow 0.12   

Lung 0.12   

Thyroid 0.03   

Bone surfaces 0.03   

Remainder  0.30a/   

Whole Body 1.00b/   
a/0.30 results from 0.06 for each of five "remainder" 
organs, excluding the skin and the lens of the eye, that 
receive the highest doses.  
b/For the purpose of weighting the external whole body 
dose for adding it to the internal dose, a single weighting 
factor, wT = 1.0, has been specified. The use of other 
weighting factors for external exposure will be approved 
on a case-by-case basis until such time as specific 
guidance is issued.  

"Well-bore" means a drilled hole in which wireline service 
operations or subsurface tracer studies are performed.  

"Well-logging" means all operations involving the lowering 
and raising of measuring devices or tools that may contain 
sources of radiation into well-bores or cavities for the purpose 
of obtaining information about the well or adjacent 
formations.  

"Whole body" means, for purposes of external exposure, 
head, trunk including male gonads, arms above the elbow, or 
legs above the knee.  

"Wireline" means a cable containing one or more electrical 
conductors that is used to lower and raise logging tools in the 
well-bore.  

"Wireline service operation" means any evaluation or 
mechanical service that is performed in the well-bore using 
devices on a wireline.  

"Worker" means an individual engaged in work under a 
license or registration issued by the agency and controlled by 
a licensee or registrant but does not include the licensee or 
registrant.  

"Working level (WL)" or "WL" means any combination of 
short-lived radon daughters in one liter of air that will result 
in the ultimate emission of 1.3E+5 MeV of potential alpha 
particle energy. The short-lived radon daughters of radon-222 
are polonium-218, lead-214, bismuth-214, and polonium-214; 
and those of radon-220 are polonium-216, lead-212, bismuth-
212, and polonium-212.  

"Working level month" (WLM) or "WLM" means an 
exposure to one working level for 170 hours. Two thousand 
working hours per year divided by 12 months per year is 
approximately equal to 170 hours per month.  

"Written directive" means an order in writing for a specific 
patient, dated and signed by an authorized user prior to the 
administration of a radiopharmaceutical or radiation, except 
as specified in subdivision 6 below, containing the following 
information:  

1. For any administration of quantities greater than 1.11 
megabecquerels (30 mCi) of sodium iodide I-125 or I-131: 
the radionuclide, and dosage; or  
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2. For a therapeutic administration of a 
radiopharmaceutical other than sodium iodide I-125 or I-
131: the radiopharmaceutical, dosage, and route of 
administration; or  
3. For gamma stereotactic radiosurgery: target coordinates, 
collimator size, plug pattern, and total dose; or  
4. For teletherapy: the total dose, dose per fraction, 
treatment site, and overall treatment period; or  
5. For high-dose-rate remote afterloading brachytherapy: 
the radionuclide, treatment site, and total dose; or  
6. For all other brachytherapy,  

a. Prior to implantation: the radionuclide, number of 
sources, and source strengths; and  
b. After implantation but prior to completion of the 
procedure: the radionuclide, treatment site, and total 
source strength and exposure time (or, equivalently, the 
total dose).  

"X-ray control" means a device that controls input power to 
the x-ray high-voltage generator or the x-ray tube. It includes 
equipment such as timers, phototimers, automatic brightness 
stabilizers, and similar devices, which control the technique 
factors of an x-ray exposure. 

"X-ray exposure control" means a device, switch, button or 
other similar means by which an operator initiates and/or 
terminates the radiation exposure. The X-ray x-ray exposure 
control may include such associated equipment as timers and 
back-up timers.  

"X-ray equipment" means an X-ray x-ray system, 
subsystem, or component thereof. Types of X-ray x-ray 
equipment are as follows:  

1. "Mobile X-ray x-ray equipment" means X-ray x-ray 
equipment mounted on a permanent base with wheels 
and/or casters for moving while completely assembled.  
2. "Portable X-ray x-ray equipment" means X-ray x-ray 
equipment designed to be hand-carried.  
3. "Stationary X-ray x-ray equipment" means X-ray x-ray 
equipment that is installed in a fixed location.  

"X-ray field" means that area of the intersection of the 
useful beam and any one of the sets of planes parallel to and 
including the plane of the image receptor, whose perimeter is 
the locus of points at which the exposure rate AKR is one-
fourth of the maximum in the intersection.  

"X-ray high-voltage generator" means a device which 
transforms electrical energy from the potential supplied by 
the X-ray x-ray control to the tube operating potential. The 
device may also include means for transforming alternating 
current to direct current, filament transformers for the X-ray 
x-ray tube(s), high-voltage switches, electrical protective 
devices, and other appropriate elements.  

"X-ray system" means an assemblage of components for the 
controlled production of X-rays x-rays. It includes minimally 
an X-ray x-ray high-voltage generator, an X-ray x-ray 

control, a tube housing assembly, a beam-limiting device, and 
the necessary supporting structures. Additional components 
that function with the system are considered integral parts of 
the system.  

"X-ray table" means a patient support device with its patient 
support structure (tabletop) interposed between the patient 
and the image receptor during radiography and/or 
fluoroscopy. This includes, but is not limited to, any stretcher 
equipped with a radiolucent panel and any table equipped 
with a cassette tray (or bucky), cassette tunnel, image 
intensifier fluoroscopic image receptor, or spot-film device 
beneath the tabletop.  

"X-ray tube" means any electron tube that is designed for 
the conversion of electrical energy into X-ray x-ray energy.  

"Year" means the period of time beginning in January used 
to determine compliance with the provisions of these 
regulations. The licensee or registrant may change the starting 
date of the year used to determine compliance by the licensee 
or registrant provided that the change is made at the 
beginning of the year. If a licensee or registrant changes in a 
year, the licensee or registrant shall assure that no day is 
omitted or duplicated in consecutive years.  
12VAC5-481-290. Registration of radiation machine 
facilities.  

Each person having a radiation machine facility shall:  
1. Apply for registration of such facility with the agency 
within 30 days following installation of equipment. 
Application for registration shall be completed on forms 
furnished by the agency and shall contain all the 
information required by the form and accompanying 
instructions. Registrations filed with the agency prior to 
September 20, 2006, shall remain in effect until a renewal 
notice is issued by the agency pursuant to 12VAC5-481-
310.  
2. Designate on the application form an individual to be 
responsible for radiation protection [ ;. ] 
3. Submit to the agency as part of any application for 
registration or renewal of registration one copy of each 
radiation survey or calibration report for which records are 
required to be maintained pursuant to 12VAC5-481-1590 
12VAC5-481-1591 A 12 c. Records submitted once need 
not be submitted again for renewal of registration.  
4. Have an initial inspection by a private or state inspector 
no later than 30 days after the registration of the 
equipment. Subsequent inspections shall be made 
periodically in accordance with other parts of these 
regulations or whenever the equipment is moved to a new 
location. The agency shall furnish a list of private 
inspectors.  

12VAC5-481-340. Private inspector qualifications.  
Any person desiring designation as a private inspector for 

diagnostic X-ray x-ray, mammographic or therapeutic X-ray 
x-ray and teletherapy machines must be qualified by training 
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and experience to perform inspections or calibrations 
according to the following criteria and must submit to the 
agency a statement on the appropriate form certifying his 
specific qualifications. In order to maintain designation as a 
private inspector, the individual must maintain satisfactory 
performance of work performed in that capacity. The agency 
shall disqualify individuals any individual from this 
designation for just cause provided that a show-cause hearing 
has been held and the agency if the agency has determined 
that the individual has demonstrated unsatisfactory 
performance as a private inspector. The individual may 
request an informal hearing.  

A. Private inspector, diagnostic X-ray x-ray (except 
mammography). The person must have adequate knowledge, 
training and experience to measure ionizing radiation, 
evaluate safety techniques, and advise regarding radiation 
protection needs to assure compliance with Virginia Rules 
and Regulations for Ionizing Radiation as evidenced by all of 
the following:  

1. Initial qualifications: evidenced by one or more of the 
following:  

a. Certification by one of the following: American Board 
of Radiology either in diagnostic or radiological physics, 
American Board of Health Physics in comprehensive 
practice, or the American Board of Medical Physics in 
diagnostic imaging physics.  
b. Bachelor's degree in one of the physical sciences or 
engineering and three years of full-time experience in 
radiation safety including at least one year in diagnostic 
X-ray x-ray safety. Advanced degrees in related areas 
may be substituted for experience on an equal time basis, 
except that no substitution shall be allowed for the 
required one year of experience in diagnostic X-ray x-ray 
safety.  
c. Those individuals listed as private inspectors 
immediately prior to September 20, 2006, shall be 
considered grandfathered.  

2. Continuing qualifications:  
a. Continuing education. Private inspectors must 
participate in continuing education programs relating to 
diagnostic X-ray x-ray, either by teaching or completing 
at least 15 continuing education units (CMEs) every three 
years.  
b. Continuing experience. The private inspector must 
have inspected at least 10 diagnostic X-ray x-ray 
machines within the preceding 12 months.  

3. Reestablishing qualifications. Private inspectors who fail 
to maintain the required continuing qualifications of this 
section may not perform the inspections without the 
supervision of a qualified private inspector. Before 
independently inspecting another facility, private 
inspectors must reestablish their qualifications, as follows:  

a. Private inspectors who fail to meet the continuing 
educational requirements of this section shall obtain a 
sufficient number of continuing education units to bring 
their total units up to five continuing education units 
during the preceding 12 months.  
b. Private inspectors who fail to meet the continuing 
experience requirement of this section shall complete a 
satisfactory inspection of a sufficient number of facilities 
and machines under the direct supervision of a private 
inspector who meets the qualifications of this section to 
bring the number to the required level.  

B. Private inspector, therapeutic X-ray x-ray and teletherapy 
machines. The person must have adequate knowledge, 
training, and experience to calibrate a therapeutic X-ray x-ray 
machine or teletherapy machine, perform inspections and to 
establish procedures for (and review the results of) spot-check 
measurements as evidenced by all of the following:  

1. Initial qualifications: evidenced by one or more of the 
following:  

a. Be certified by the American Board of Radiology in:  
(1) Therapeutic radiological physics [ or therapeutic 
medical physics ];  
(2) Roentgen-ray and gamma-ray physics;  
(3) X-ray and radium physics;  
(4) Radiological physics;  
b. Be certified by the American Board of Medical 
Physics in Radiation Oncology Physics;  
c. Be certified by the Canadian College of Medical 
Physics; or  
d. Hold a master's or doctor's degree in physics, 
biophysics, radiological physics, or health physics, and 
have completed one year of full time training in 
therapeutic radiological physics and also one year of full 
time work experience under the supervision of a radiation 
therapy physicist at a medical institution. To meet this 
requirement, the individual shall have performed the 
tasks listed in 12VAC5-481-3400 A;, 12VAC5-481-3420 
P;, [ 12VAC5-481-3420 Q, ] 12VAC5-481-3430 T;, 
[ 12VAC5-481-3420 Q;, ] and 12VAC5-481-3430 U 
under the supervision of a radiation therapy physicist 
during the year of work experience.  

Notwithstanding the provisions of 12VAC5-481-3390 D, 
certification pursuant to subdivisions B 1 a, b, or c of this 
section shall be required on or before July 1, 2007, for all 
persons currently qualifying as a radiation therapy 
physicist pursuant to subdivision B 1 d of this section.  
2. Continuing qualifications.  

a. Continuing education: Private inspectors must 
participate in continuing education programs relating to 
therapeutic X-ray x-ray and teletherapy machines, either 
by teaching or completing at least 15 continuing 
education units (CEUs) every three years.  
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b. Continuing experience: The private inspector must 
have inspected at least one therapeutic X-ray x-ray or 
teletherapy facilities and at least one therapeutic X-ray x-
ray or teletherapy machine within the preceding 12 
months.  

3. Reestablishing qualifications. Private inspectors who fail 
to maintain the required continuing qualifications of this 
section may not perform an inspection without the 
supervision of a qualified private inspector. Before 
independently inspecting another facility, private 
inspectors must reestablish their qualifications, as follows:  

a. Private inspectors who fail to meet the continuing 
educational requirements of this section shall obtain a 
sufficient number of continuing education units to bring 
their total units up to five continuing education units 
during the preceding 12 months.  
b. Private inspectors who fail to meet the continuing 
experience requirement of this section shall complete a 
satisfactory inspection of a sufficient number of facilities 
and machines under the direct supervision of a private 
inspector who meets the qualifications of this section to 
bring the number to the required level.  

C. Private inspector, mammography. The person must have 
adequate knowledge, training, and experience to inspect 
mammography X-ray x-ray machines and facilities. All 
mammography private inspector conducting inspections of 
mammography facilities and providing oversight of the 
facility quality assurance program must meet one of the 
following tracks, either through the initial master's degree of 
higher route or the alternative initial bachelor's degree route:  

1. Initial qualifications:  
Master Route:  

a. Be certified by the American Board of Radiology 
(ABR) or the American Board of Medical Physics 
(ABMP) in:  
(1) Diagnostic radiological physics;  
(2) Radiological physics; or  
(3) Diagnostic imaging physics;  
b. A master's degree or higher in a physical science with 
at least 20 semester hours or equivalent of graduate or 
undergraduate physics; and  
c. Twenty contact hours of mammography facility 
training; and  
d. The experience of conducting inspections of at least 
one mammography facility and a total of at least 10 
mammography units.  

Bachelor Route (must have been qualified before April 28, 
1999):  

a. A bachelor's degree in a physical science with at least 
10 semester hours or equivalent of college level physics;  

b. Forty contact hours of documented specialized training 
in conducting inspections of mammography facilities; 
and  
c. The experience of conducting inspections of at least 
one mammography facility and a total of at least 20 
mammography units. The training and experience 
requirements must be met after fulfilling the degree 
requirement.  

2. Continuing qualifications.  
a. Continuing education. At all times after the third 
anniversary of completion of the initial requirements of 
this section, the private inspector shall have taught or 
completed at least 15 continuing education units in 
mammography during the preceding three years.  
b. Continuing experience. At all times after the first 
anniversary of the completion of the initial requirements 
of this section, the private inspector shall have inspected 
at least two mammography facilities and six machines in 
24 months.  
c. Before a private inspector may begin independently 
performing mammographic examinations using a new 
modality, that is, a modality other than one for which the 
physicist received training to qualify under this section, 
the inspector must receive at least eight hours of training 
in inspecting units with the new modality.  

3. Reestablishing qualifications. Private inspectors who fail 
to maintain the required continuing qualifications of this 
section may not perform the mammography inspections 
without the supervision of a qualified private inspector. 
Before independently inspecting another facility, private 
inspectors must reestablish their qualifications as follows:  

a. Private inspectors who fail to meet the continuing 
educational requirements of this section shall obtain a 
sufficient number of continuing education units to bring 
their total units up to the required 15 in the previous three 
years.  
b. Private inspectors who fail to meet the continuing 
experience requirement of this section shall complete a 
satisfactory inspection of three mammography facilities 
under the direct supervision of a private inspector who 
meets the qualifications of this section.  

12VAC5-481-350. Assembler or transfer obligation.  
A. Any person who sells, leases, transfers, lends, disposes, 

assembles, or installs radiation machines or upon significant 
service or modification thereof of any radiation machine 
(such as tube inserts, generators, or collimators) in this state 
shall notify the agency within 15 days of:  

1. The name and address of persons who have received 
these machines;  
2. The manufacturer, model, and serial number of each 
radiation machine transferred; however, in the case of 
diagnostic x-ray systems that contain certified components, 
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a copy of the assembler's report (Form FDA 2579) 
prepared in compliance with the requirements of the Food 
and Drug Administration's Federal Diagnostic X-ray 
Standard (21 CFR 1020.30(d)) shall be submitted and shall 
suffice in lieu of any other report by the assembler; and  
3. The date of transfer of each radiation machine.  

B. No person shall make, sell, lease, transfer, lend, 
assemble, or install radiation machines or the supplies used in 
connection with such machines unless such supplies and 
equipment when properly placed in operation and used shall 
meet the requirements of these regulations.  

Part VI  
Use Of Diagnostic X-Rays In The Healing Arts  

12VAC5-481-1580. Purpose and scope. (Repealed.)  
This part establishes requirements, for which a registrant is 

responsible, for use of diagnostic X-ray equipment by, or 
under the supervision of, an individual authorized by and 
licensed in accordance with state statutes to engage in the 
healing arts or veterinary medicine. The provisions of this 
part are in addition to, and not in substitution for, other 
applicable provisions of Parts I (12VAC5-481-10 et seq.); II 
(12VAC5-481-260 et seq.); IV (12VAC5-481-600 et seq.); 
and X (12VAC5-481-2250 et seq.) of this chapter. Some 
registrants may also be subject to the requirements of Parts IX 
(12VAC5-481-2140 et seq.) and XV (12VAC5-481-3380 et 
seq.) of this chapter.  
12VAC5-481-1581. Purpose and scope. 

This part establishes requirements, for which a registrant is 
responsible, for use of diagnostic x-ray equipment and 
imaging systems by or under the supervision of an individual 
authorized by and licensed in accordance with Virginia law to 
engage in the healing arts or veterinary medicine. The 
provisions of this part are in addition to and not in 
substitution for other applicable provisions of this chapter. 
12VAC5-481-1590. General and administrative 
requirements. (Repealed.) 

A. Radiation safety requirements. The registrant shall be 
responsible for directing the operation of the X-ray system(s) 
under his administrative control. The registrant or the 
registrant's agent shall assure that the requirements of these 
regulations are met in the operation of the X-ray system(s).  

1. An X-ray system that does not meet the provisions of 
these regulations shall not be operated for diagnostic 
purposes.  
2. Individuals who will be operating the X-ray systems 
shall be adequately instructed in the safe operating 
procedures and be competent in the safe use of the 
equipment. The agency may use interview, observation 
and/or testing to determine compliance. The following are 
areas in which the agency considers it important that an 
individual have expertise for the competent operation of X-
ray equipment:  

a. Familiarization with equipment  
(1) Identification of controls  
(2) Function of each control  
(3) How to use a technique chart  
b. Radiation protection  
(1) Collimation  
(2) Filtration  
(3) Gonad shielding and other patient protection devices, 
if used  
(4) Restriction of X-ray tube radiation to the image 
receptor  
(5) Personnel protection  
(6) Grids  
c. Image processing  
(1) Film speed as related to patient exposure  
(2) Image processing parameters  
(3) Quality assurance program  
d. Emergency procedures—termination of exposure in 
event of automatic timing device failure  
e. Proper use of personnel dosimetry, if required  
f. Understanding units of radiation  

3. A chart shall be provided in the vicinity of the diagnostic 
X-ray system's control panel that specifies, for all 
examinations performed with that system, the following 
information:  

a. Patient's body part and anatomical size, or body part 
thickness, or age (for pediatrics), versus technique factors 
to be utilized;  
b. Reserved;  
c. Reserved;  
d. Source to image receptor distance to be used (except 
for dental intra-oral radiography);  
e. Type and location of placement of patient shielding 
(e.g., gonad, etc.) to be used; and  
f. For mammography, indication of kVp/target/filter 
combination.  

4. The registrant of a facility shall create and make 
available to X-ray operators written safety procedures, 
including patient holding and any restrictions of the 
operating technique required for the safe operation of the 
particular X-ray system. The operator shall be able to 
demonstrate familiarity with these procedures. A copy of 
the written safety procedures shall be posted near each X-
ray machine.  
5. Except for patients who cannot be moved out of the 
room, only the staff, ancillary personnel or other persons 
required for the medical procedure or training shall be in 
the room during the radiographic exposure. Other than the 
patient being examined:  
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a. All individuals shall be positioned such that no part of 
the body will be struck by the useful beam unless 
protected by not less than 0.5 millimeter lead equivalent 
material;  
b. The X-ray operator, other staff, ancillary personnel, 
and other persons required for the medical procedure 
shall be protected from the direct scatter radiation by 
protective aprons or whole body protective barriers of not 
less than 0.25 millimeter lead equivalent material;  
c. Human patients who cannot be removed from the room 
shall be protected from the direct scatter radiation by 
whole body protective barriers, or protective aprons of 
not less than 0.25 millimeter lead equivalent material or 
shall be so positioned that the nearest portion of the body 
is at least two meters from both the tube head and the 
nearest edge of the image receptor.  

6. Gonad shielding of not less than 0.5 millimeter lead 
equivalent material shall be used for human patients, who 
have not passed the reproductive age, during radiographic 
procedures in which the gonads are in the useful beam, 
except for cases in which this would interfere with the 
diagnostic procedure.  
7. Individuals shall not be exposed to the useful beam 
except for healing arts purposes and unless such exposure 
has been authorized by a licensed practitioner of the 
healing arts. This provision specifically prohibits deliberate 
exposure for the following purposes:  

a. Exposure of an individual for training, demonstration, 
or other nonhealing arts purposes; and  
b. Exposure of an individual for the purpose of healing 
arts screening except as authorized by subdivision A 11 
of this section.  

8. When a patient or film must be provided with auxiliary 
support during a radiation exposure:  

a. Mechanical holding devices shall be used when the 
technique permits. The written safety procedures, 
required by subdivision A 4 of this section, shall list 
individual projections where holding devices cannot be 
utilized;  
b. Written safety procedures, as required by subdivision 
A 4 of this section, shall indicate the requirements for 
selecting a holder and the procedure the holder shall 
follow;  
c. The human holder shall be instructed in personal 
radiation safety and protected as required by subdivision 
A 5 of this section;  
d. No individual shall be used routinely to hold film or 
patients;  
e. In those cases where the patient must hold the film, 
except during intraoral examinations, any portion of the 
body other than the area of clinical interest struck by the 

useful beam shall be protected by not less than 0.5 
millimeter lead equivalent material; and  
f. Each facility shall have leaded aprons and gloves 
available in sufficient numbers to provide protection to 
all personnel who are involved with X-ray operations and 
who are otherwise not shielded.  
g. When an animal must be held in position during 
radiography, mechanical supporting or restraining 
devices should be used. If the animal must be held by an 
individual, that individual shall be protected by 
appropriate shielding devices, such as protective glove 
and apron, and he shall be so positioned that no part of 
his body will be struck by the useful beam. The radiation 
exposure of and individual used for this purpose shall be 
monitored and recorded. These records of radiation 
exposure must be maintained indefinitely for inspection 
by the agency.  

9. Procedures and auxiliary equipment designed to 
minimize patient and personnel exposure commensurate 
with the needed diagnostic information shall be utilized.  

a. The speed of the screen and film combinations used 
shall be the fastest speed consistent with the diagnostic 
objective of the examinations. Film cassettes without 
intensifying screens shall not be used for any routine 
diagnostic radiological imaging, with the exception of 
veterinary radiography and standard film packets for 
intra-oral use in dental radiography.  
b. The radiation exposure to the patient shall be the 
minimum exposure required to produce images of good 
diagnostic quality and, where applicable, shall not exceed 
the following standards:  

EXPOSURE LIMITS FOR SELECTED PROJECTIONS  
Using a method acceptable to the agency, the exposure 

measurement shall be determined in the center of the X-ray 
field at the location of the entrance skin of a standard patient, 
except for dental intraoral X-ray machines in which case the 
measurement shall be determined at the conetip. The 
technique factors selected shall be those used for routine 
radiography for an average size adult patient at that facility 
for that X-ray machine. At least one projection must be tested 
for each X-ray machine unless none of the projections listed 
are used. If an X-ray machine is used in both the manual and 
phototimed modes, then only the manual mode shall be 
tested. If the machine is used only in the phototimed mode, 
then this test is not required. An average size adult, for 
purposes of these regulations, is defined as a 5'8", 164 lb. 
adult male meeting the following anthropometric guidelines 
for the radiographic examination projection specified: PA 
Chest—Thorax—23 cm thickness; AP Abdomen and AP 
Lumbar Spine—Abdomen—23 cm thickness.  

The exposure shall not exceed the following maximum 
exposure limits for the projections below:  
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Projection Maximum Exposure 

PA Chest 50 mR 

AP Lumbar Spine 1400 mR 

AP Abdomen 1100 mR 

Dental Bitewing 
Using D Speed Film 

50 kVp 575 mR 

55 kVp 500 mR 

60 kVp 440 mR 

65 kVp 400 mR 

70 kVp 350 mR 

75 kVp 260 mR 

80 kVp 230 mR 

85 kVp 200 mR 

90 kVp 180 mR 

95 kVp 160 mR 

100 kVp 140 mR 

Using E Speed Film 

50 kVp 320 mR 

55 kVp 270 mR 

60 kVp 230 mR 

65 kVp 200 mR 

70 kVp 170 mR 

75 kVp 140 mR 

80 kVp 120 mR 

85 kVp 105 mR 

90 kVp 90 mR 

95 kVp 80 mR 

100 kVp 70 mR 

c. Portable or mobile X-ray equipment shall be used only 
for examinations where it is impractical to transfer the 
patient(s) to a stationary X-ray installation.  
d. X-ray systems subject to 12VAC5-481-1620 shall not 
be utilized in procedures where the source to patient 
distance is less than 30 centimeters, except for veterinary 
systems.  

e. If grids are used between the patient and the image 
receptor to decrease scatter to the film and improve 
contrast, the grid shall:  
(1) Be positioned properly, i.e., tube side facing the right 
direction, and grid centered to the central ray;  
(2) If of the focused type, be of the proper focal distance 
for the SID's being used.  

10. All individuals who are associated with the operation 
of an X-ray system are subject to the requirements of 
12VAC5-481-640, 12VAC5-481-680, 12VAC5-481-700 
and 12VAC5-481-710.  
11. Healing arts screening. Any person proposing to 
conduct a healing arts screening program shall not initiate 
such a program without prior approval of the agency. 
When requesting such approval, that person shall submit 
the following information. If any information submitted to 
the agency becomes invalid or outdated, the agency shall 
be immediately notified.  
INFORMATION TO BE SUBMITTED BY PERSONS 

PROPOSING TO CONDUCT HEALING ARTS 
SCREENING  

Persons requesting that the agency approve a healing arts 
screening program shall submit the following information 
and evaluation:  

a. Name and address of the applicant and, where 
applicable, the names and addresses of agents within this 
state;  
b. Diseases or conditions for which the X-ray 
examinations are to be used in diagnoses;  
c. A detailed description of the X-ray examinations 
proposed in the screening program;  
d. Description of the population to be examined in the 
screening program, i.e., age, sex, physical condition, and 
other appropriate information;  
e. An evaluation of any known alternate methods not 
involving ionizing radiation that could achieve the goals 
of the screening program and why these methods are not 
used instead of the X-ray examinations;  
f. An evaluation by a private inspector of the X-ray 
system(s) to be used in the screening program. The 
evaluation by the private inspector shall show that such 
system(s) do satisfy all requirements of these regulations. 
The evaluation shall include a measurement of patient 
exposures from the X-ray examinations to be performed;  
g. A description of the diagnostic X-ray quality control 
program;  
h. A copy of the technique chart for the X-ray 
examination procedures to be used;  
i. The qualifications of each individual who will be 
operating the X-ray system(s);  
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j. The qualifications of the individual who will be 
supervising the operators of the X-ray system(s). The 
extent of supervision and the method of work 
performance evaluation shall be specified;  
k. The name and address of the individual who will 
interpret the radiograph(s);  
l. A description of the procedures to be used in advising 
the individuals screened and their private practitioners of 
the healing arts of the results of the screening procedure 
and any further medical needs indicated;  
m. A description of the procedures for the retention or 
disposition of the radiographs and other records 
pertaining to the X-ray examinations;  
n. An indication of the frequency of screening and the 
duration of the entire screening program.  

12. Information and maintenance record and associated 
information. The registrant shall maintain the following 
information for each X-ray system for inspection by the 
agency:  

a. Model and serial numbers of all major components, 
and user's manuals for those components;  
b. Tube rating charts and cooling curves;  
c. Records of surveys, calibrations, maintenance, and 
modifications performed on the X-ray system(s); and  
d. A copy of all correspondence with this agency 
regarding that X-ray system.  

13. X-ray utilization log. Except for veterinary facilities, 
each facility shall maintain a record containing the patient's 
name, the type of examinations, and the dates the 
examinations were performed. When the patient or film 
must be provided with human auxiliary support, the name 
of the human holder shall be recorded.  
14. The registrant shall maintain a list of X-ray machine 
operators for each facility. The following information will 
be maintained on the list:  

The name of the X-ray machine operator. Operators must 
be licensed by the Department of Health Professions 
where X-rays are used within the scope of practice or be 
certified by the ARRT, or an individual enrolled in an 
accredited program for radiologic technology and under 
the supervision of a licensed or certified radiological 
technologist, and if a dental assistant, comply with the 
Board of Dentistry's radiation certification requirements 
in 18VAC60-20-195.  

B. X-ray film processing facilities and practices.  
1. Each installation using a radiographic X-ray system and 
using analog image receptors (e.g. radiographic film) shall 
have available suitable equipment for handling and 
processing radiographic film in accordance with the 
following provisions:  

a. Manually developed film:  

(1) Processing tanks shall be constructed of mechanically 
rigid, corrosion resistant material; and  
(2) The temperature of solutions in the tanks shall be 
maintained within the range of 60°F to 80°F (16°C to 
27°C). Film shall be developed in accordance with the 
time-temperature relationships recommended by the film 
manufacturer, or, in the absence of such 
recommendations, with the following time-temperature 
chart that must be posted in the darkroom:  

Thermometer Reading 
(Degrees) 

Minimum 
Developing 

Time 
(Minutes) °C °F 

26.7 80 2 

26.1 79 2 

25.6 78 22 

25.0 77 22 

24.4 76 3 

23.9 75 3 

23.3 74 32 

22.8 73 32 

22.2 72 4 

21.7 71 4 

21.1 70 42 

20.6 69 42 

20.0 68 5 

19.4 67 52 

18.9 66 52 

18.3 65 6 

17.8 64 62 

17.2 63 7 

16.7 62 8 

16.1 61 82 

15.6 60 92 

(3) Devices shall be utilized which will indicate the 
actual temperature of the developer and signal the 
passage of a preset time appropriate to the developing 
time required.  
b. Automatic processors and other closed processing 
systems:  
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(1) Films shall be developed in accordance with the time-
temperature relationships recommended by the film 
manufacturer; in the absence of such recommendations, 
the film shall be developed using the following chart:  

Developer Temperature Minimum 
Immersion 

Timea 

(Seconds) 
°C °F 

35.5 96 19 

35 95 20 

34.5 94 21 

34 93 22 

33.5 92 23 

33 91 24 

32 90 25 

31.5 89 26 

31 88 27 

30.5 87 28 

30 86 29 

29.5 85 30 
a Immersion time only, no crossover time 
included.  

(2) The specified developer temperature and immersion 
time shall be posted in the darkroom or on the automatic 
processor.  
c. Processing deviations from the requirements of 
subdivision 1 of this subsection shall be documented by 
the registrant in such manner that the requirements are 
shown to be met or exceeded (e.g., extended processing, 
and special rapid chemistry).  

2. Other requirements.  
a. Pass boxes, if provided, shall be so constructed as to 
exclude light from the darkroom when cassettes are 
placed in or removed from the boxes, and shall 
incorporate adequate shielding from stray radiation to 
prevent exposure of undeveloped film.  
b. The darkroom shall be light tight and use proper 
safelighting such that any film type in use exposed in a 
cassette to x-radiation sufficient to produce an optical 
density from one to two when processed shall not suffer 
an increase in density greater than 0.1 (0.05 for 
mammography) when exposed in the darkroom for two 
minutes with all safelights on. If used, daylight film 
handling boxes shall preclude fogging of the film.  

c. Darkrooms typically used by more than one individual 
shall be provided a method to prevent accidental entry 
while undeveloped films are being handled or processed.  
d. Film shall be stored in a cool, dry place and shall be 
protected from exposure to stray radiation. Film in open 
packages shall be stored in a light tight container.  
e. Film cassettes and intensifying screens shall be 
inspected periodically and shall be cleaned and replaced 
as necessary to best assure radiographs of good 
diagnostic quality.  
f. Outdated X-ray film shall not be used for diagnostic 
radiographs, unless the film has been stored in 
accordance with the manufacturer's recommendations 
and a sample of the film passes a sensitometric test for 
normal ranges of base plus fog and speed.  
g. Film developing solutions shall be prepared in 
accordance with the directions given by the 
manufacturer, and shall be maintained in strength by 
replenishment or renewal so that full development is 
accomplished within the time specified by the 
manufacturer.  
h. Living and deceased patient's films (diagnostic 
images) shall be maintained for a minimum of five years. 
Films for minors shall be maintained for a minimum of 
five years beyond their 18th birthday.  

C. Information to be submitted to the agency. The registrant 
shall submit to the agency a copy of all surveys, calibrations 
and inspections performed by a private inspector within 30 
days of completion of the survey or calibration.  

D. Information to be submitted by the private inspector to 
the registrant. The private inspector shall provide the 
inspection report to the registrant within 14 days of the 
completion of the inspection. A summary and/or 
recommendations shall be included with this report. The 
private inspector shall notify the registrant of any 
noncompliances that need corrective action.  
12VAC5-481-1591 General and administrative 
requirements 

A. Radiation safety requirements. The registrant shall be 
responsible for directing the operation of the x-ray system 
under his administrative control. The registrant or the 
registrant's agent shall assure that the requirements of this 
chapter are met in the operation of the x-ray system or 
systems. 

1. An x-ray system that does not meet the provisions of 
this chapter shall not be operated for diagnostic purposes. 
2. Individuals who will be operating the x-ray systems 
shall meet the qualifications of this part to conduct the 
practice of radiologic technology.  
3. A chart shall be provided in the vicinity of the diagnostic 
x-ray system's control panel that specifies, for all 
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examinations performed with that system, the following 
information: 

a. Patient's body part and anatomical size, or body part 
thickness, or age (for pediatrics), versus technique factors 
to be utilized; 
b. Type and size of the image receptor to be used; 
c. Type and size of the image receptor combination to be 
used, if any; 
d. Source to image receptor distance to be used (except 
for dental intraoral radiography); 
e. Type and location of placement of patient shielding 
(e.g., gonad, etc.) to be used; and 
f. For mammography, indication of kVp/target/filter 
combination. 

4. The registrant of a facility shall create and make 
available to x-ray operators written safety procedures, 
including patient holding and any restrictions of the 
operating technique required for the safe operation of the 
particular x-ray system. The operator shall be able to 
demonstrate familiarity with these procedures. 
5. Except for patients who cannot be moved out of the 
room, only the staff, ancillary personnel, or other persons 
required for the medical procedure or training shall be in 
the room during the radiographic exposure. Other than the 
patient being examined: 

a. All individuals shall be positioned such that no part of 
the body will be struck by the useful beam unless 
protected by not less than 0.5 mm lead equivalent 
material; 
b. The x-ray operator, other staff, ancillary personnel, 
and other persons required for the medical procedure 
shall be protected from the direct scatter radiation by 
protective aprons or whole body protective barriers of not 
less than 0.25 mm lead equivalent material [ . However, 
when distances provide sufficient protection from scatter 
radiation, or for low dose rate devices such as bone 
densitometry equipment, no protective devices may be 
necessary ]; and 
c. Human patients who cannot be removed from the room 
shall be protected from the direct scatter radiation by 
whole body protective barriers of not less than 0.25 mm 
lead equivalent material or shall be so positioned that the 
nearest portion of the body is at least two meters from 
both the tube head and the nearest edge of the image 
receptor. 

6. Gonad shielding of not less than 0.5 mm lead equivalent 
material shall be used for human patients, who have not 
passed the reproductive age, during radiographic 
procedures in which the gonads are in the useful beam, 
except for cases in which this would interfere with the 
diagnostic procedure. 

7. Individuals shall not be exposed to the useful beam 
except for healing arts purposes and unless such exposure 
has been authorized by a licensed practitioner of the 
healing arts. This provision specifically prohibits deliberate 
exposure for the following purposes: 

a. Exposure of an individual for training, demonstration, 
or other non-healing arts purposes; and 
b. Exposure of an individual for the purpose of healing 
arts screening except as authorized by subdivision 11 of 
this subsection. 

8. When a patient or image receptor must be provided with 
auxiliary support during a radiation exposure: 

a. Mechanical holding devices shall be used when the 
technique permits. The written safety procedures, as 
required by subdivision 4 of this subsection, shall list 
individual projections where holding devices cannot be 
utilized; 
b. Written safety procedures, as required by subdivision 4 
of this subsection, shall indicate the requirements for 
selecting a holder and the procedure the holder shall 
follow; 
c. The human holder shall be instructed in personal 
radiation safety and protected as required by subdivision 
5 of this subsection [ . Caregivers who stay in the room 
to assist with imaging of patients shall be positioned and 
instructed to keep the protective apron between 
themselves and the patient ]; 
d. No individual shall be used routinely to hold image 
receptors or patients; 
e. In those cases where the patient must hold the image 
receptor, except during intraoral examinations, any 
portion of the body other than the area of clinical interest 
struck by the useful beam shall be protected by not less 
than 0.5 mm lead equivalent material; and 
f. Each facility shall have leaded aprons and gloves 
available in sufficient numbers to provide protection for 
all personnel who are involved with x-ray operations and 
who are otherwise not shielded. 

9. Procedures and auxiliary equipment designed to 
minimize patient and personnel exposure commensurate 
with the needed diagnostic information shall be utilized. 

a. The fastest imaging system consistent with the 
diagnostic objective of the examinations shall be used. 
Film cassettes without intensifying screens shall not be 
used for any routine diagnostic radiological imaging, 
with the exception of veterinary radiography and 
standard film packets for intraoral use in dental 
radiography. 
b. The radiation exposure to the patient shall be the 
minimum exposure required to produce images of good 
diagnostic quality. 
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c. Portable or mobile radiographic [ (exclude 
fluoroscopic) ] x-ray equipment shall be used only for 
examinations where it is impractical to transfer the 
patient to a stationary x-ray installation. 
d. X-ray systems subject to 12VAC5-481-1621 shall not 
be utilized in procedures where the source to patient 
distance is less than 30 cm, except for veterinary 
systems. 
e. If grids are used between the patient and the image 
receptor to decrease scatter to the film and improve 
contrast, the grid shall: 
(1) Be positioned properly, [ i.e. that is ], tube side facing 
the right direction, and grid centered to the central ray; 
and 
(2) If the grid is of the focused type, be of the proper 
focal distance for the SIDs being used. 

10. All individuals who are associated with the operation 
of an x-ray system are subject to the requirements of 
12VAC5-481-640, 12VAC5-481-700, and 12VAC5-481-
710. 
11. Any person proposing to conduct a healing arts 
screening program shall not initiate such a program 
without prior approval of the agency. If any information 
submitted to the agency becomes invalid or outdated, the 
agency shall be immediately notified. Persons requesting 
that the agency approve a healing arts screening program 
shall submit the following information and evaluation: 

a. Name and address of the applicant and, where 
applicable, the names and addresses of agents within this 
state; 
b. Diseases or conditions for which the x-ray 
examinations are to be used in diagnoses; 
c. A description of the x-ray examinations proposed in 
the screening program, [ i.e. that is ], type and number of 
views; 
d. Description of the population to be examined in the 
screening program, [ i.e. that is ], age range, sex, physical 
condition, and other appropriate information; 
e. An evaluation of any known alternate methods not 
involving ionizing radiation that could achieve the goals 
of the screening program and why these methods are not 
used instead of the x-ray examinations; 
f. An evaluation by a qualified medical physicist of the x-
ray system or systems to be used in the screening 
program. The evaluation shall include the following: 
(1) Documentation that such systems satisfy all 
requirements of this chapter; and 
(2) Measurement of patient exposures from the x-ray 
examinations to be performed; 
g. A description of the diagnostic x-ray quality control 
program; 

h. A copy of the technique chart for the x-ray 
examination procedures to be used; 
i. The qualifications of each individual who will be 
operating the x-ray system or systems; 
j. The qualifications of the individual who will be 
supervising the operators of the x-ray system or systems. 
The extent of supervision and the method of work 
performance evaluation shall be specified; 
k. The name and address of the practitioner licensed in 
the state who will interpret the radiograph; 
l. Procedures to be used in advising the individuals 
screened and their practitioners of the healing arts or 
health care providers of the results of the screening 
procedure and any further medical needs indicated; 
m. Procedures for the retention or disposition of the 
radiographs and other records pertaining to the x-ray 
examinations; 
n. Frequency of screening of individuals; and  
o. The duration of the screening program. 

12. The registrant shall maintain the following information 
and maintenance record for each x-ray system for 
inspection by the agency: 

a. Model and serial numbers of all major components, 
and user's manuals for those components; 
b. Tube rating charts and cooling curves; 
c. Records of surveys, calibrations, maintenance, and 
modifications performed on the x-ray system or systems; 
and 
d. A copy of all correspondence with the agency 
regarding that x-ray system. 

13. Except for veterinary facilities, each facility shall 
maintain an x-ray utilization log containing the patient's 
name, the type of examination, and the date the 
examination was performed. 
14. The registrant shall maintain a list of x-ray operators 
for each facility. Operators must be licensed by the 
Department of Health Professions where x-rays are used 
within the scope of practice or be certified by the American 
Registry of Radiological Technologists (ARRT), or be an 
individual enrolled [ , or was enrolled within the past three 
months, ] in an accredited program for radiologic 
technology and under the supervision of a licensed or 
certified radiological technologist, [ and or ] if a dental 
assistant, comply with the Board of Dentistry's radiation 
certification requirements in 18VAC60-20-195. 

B. X-ray film processing facilities and practices. 
1. Each installation using a radiographic x-ray system and 
analog image receptors (e.g., radiographic film) shall have 
available suitable equipment for handling and processing 
radiographic film in accordance with the following 
provisions: 
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a. Manually developed film. 
(1) Processing tanks shall be constructed of mechanically 
rigid, corrosion resistant material; and 
(2) The temperature of solutions in the tanks shall be 
maintained within the range of 60°F to 80°F (16°C to 
27°C). Film shall be developed in accordance with the 
time-temperature relationships recommended by the film 
manufacturer or, in the absence of such 
recommendations, with the following time-temperature 
chart: 

Time-Temperature Chart 

Thermometer Reading 
(Degrees) 

Minimum 
Developing Time 

(Minutes) 

°C °F   

26.7 80 2 

26.1 79 2 

25.6 78 2-1/2 

25.0 77 2-1/2 

24.4 76 3 

23.9 75 3 

23.3 74 3-1/2 

22.8 73 3-1/2 

22.2 72 4 

21.7 71 4 

21.1 70 4-1/2 

20.6 69 4-1/2 

20.0 68 5 

19.4 67 5-1/2 

18.9 66 5-1/2 

18.3 65 6 

17.8 64 6-1/2 

17.2 63 7 

16.7 62 8 

16.1 61 8-1/2 

15.6 60 9-1/2 

(3) Devices shall be utilized that will indicate the actual 
temperature of the developer and signal the passage of a 
preset time appropriate to the developing time required. 

b. Automatic processors and other closed processing 
systems. Films shall be developed in accordance with the 
time-temperature relationships recommended by the film 
manufacturer. In the absence of such recommendations, 
the film shall be developed using the following chart: 

Developer Temperature Minimum Immersion 
Time* 

°C °F Seconds 

35.5 96 19 

35 95 20 

34.5 94 21 

34 93 22 

33.5 92 23 

33 91 24 

32 90 25 

31.5 89 26 

31 88 27 

30.5 87 28 

30 86 29 

29.5 85 30 

*Immersion time only, no crossover time included. 

Processing deviations from the requirements of this 
subdivision shall be documented by the registrant in such 
manner that the requirements are shown to be met or 
exceeded (e.g., extended processing and special rapid 
chemistry). 

2. Other requirements. 
a. Pass boxes, if provided, shall be so constructed as to 
exclude light from the darkroom when cassettes are 
placed in or removed from the boxes and shall 
incorporate adequate shielding from stray radiation to 
prevent exposure of undeveloped film. 
b. The darkroom shall be light tight and use proper 
safelighting such that any film type in use exposed in a 
cassette to x-ray radiation sufficient to produce an optical 
density from one to two when processed shall not suffer 
an increase in density greater than 0.1 (0.05 for 
mammography) when exposed in the darkroom for two 
minutes with all safelights on. If used, daylight film 
handling boxes shall preclude fogging of the film. 
c. Darkrooms typically used by more than one individual 
shall be provided a method to prevent accidental entry 
while undeveloped films are being handled or processed. 
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d. Film shall be stored in a cool, dry place and shall be 
protected from exposure to stray radiation. Film in open 
packages shall be stored in a light tight container. 
e. Film cassettes and intensifying screens shall be 
inspected periodically and shall be cleaned and replaced 
as necessary to best assure radiographs of good 
diagnostic quality. 
f. Outdated x-ray film shall not be used for diagnostic 
radiographs, unless the film has been stored in 
accordance with the manufacturer's recommendations 
and a sample of the film passes a sensitometric test for 
normal ranges of base plus fog and speed. 
g. Film developing solutions shall be prepared in 
accordance with the directions given by the manufacturer 
and shall be maintained in strength by replenishment or 
renewal so that full development is accomplished within 
the time specified by the manufacturer. 
h. Living and deceased patients' diagnostic images shall 
be maintained for a minimum of five years. Diagnostic 
images for minors shall be maintained for a minimum of 
five years beyond their 18th birthday. 

C. The registrant shall submit to the agency a copy of all 
surveys, calibrations, and inspections performed by a private 
inspector within 30 days of completion of the survey, 
calibration, or inspection. 

D. The private inspector shall provide the inspection report 
to the registrant within 14 days of the completion of the 
inspection. A summary or recommendation shall be included 
with this report. The inspector shall notify the registrant of 
any noncompliances that need corrective action. 

E. Violations identified as "serious" must be corrected 
within 30 days. Certification of the unit will not be issued 
until the violation is corrected. Violations identified as "non-
serious" shall be corrected before the next inspection cycle. 
Uncorrected "non-serious" violations will become "serious" 
and require immediate correction. 
12VAC5-481-1600. General requirements for all 
diagnostic X-ray systems. (Repealed.) 

In addition to other requirements of this part, all diagnostic 
X-ray systems shall meet the following requirements:  

1. Warning label. The control panel containing the main 
power switch shall bear the warning statement, legible and 
accessible to view: "WARNING: This X-ray unit may be 
dangerous to patient and operator unless safe exposure 
factors and operating instructions are observed."  
2. Battery charge indicator. On battery-powered X-ray 
generators, visual means shall be provided on the control 
panel to indicate whether the battery is in a state of charge 
adequate for proper operation.  
3. Leakage radiation from the diagnostic source assembly. 
The leakage radiation from the diagnostic source assembly 
measured at a distance of one meter in any direction from 
the source shall not exceed 25.8 μC/kg (100 
milliroentgens) in one hour when the X-ray tube is 
operated at its leakage technique factors. Compliance shall 
be determined by measurements averaged over an area of 
100 square centimeters with no linear dimension greater 
than 20 centimeters.  
4. Radiation from components other than the diagnostic 
source assembly. The radiation emitted by a component 
other than the diagnostic source assembly shall not exceed 
0.5 μC/kg (2 milliroentgens) in one hour at five 
centimeters from any accessible surface of the component 
when it is operated in an assembled X-ray system under 
any conditions for which it was designed. Compliance 
shall be determined by measurements averaged over an 
area of 100 square centimeters with no linear dimension 
greater than 20 centimeters.  
5. Beam quality.  

a. Half-value layer.  
(1) The half-value layer of the useful beam for a given X-
ray tube potential shall not be less than the values shown 
in Table I. If it is necessary to determine such half-value 
layer at an X-ray tube potential that is not listed in Table 
I, linear interpolation or extrapolation may be made.  
 

TABLE I 

Design 
Operating 

Range (kVp) 
Measured 

Potential (kVp) 

Half-Value Layer In mm Aluminum 

Dental Intra-Oral 
Manufactured Before Aug. 

1, 1974, and on or After 
Dec. 1, 1980 

All Other Diagnostic X-
ray Systems 

Below 51 30 N/A 0.3 

  40 N/A 0.4 

  50 1.5 0.5 
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51 to 70 51 1.5 1.2 

  60 1.5 1.3 

  70 1.5 1.5 

Above 70 71 2.1 2.1 

  80 2.3 2.3 

  90 2.5 2.5 

  100 2.7 2.7 

  110 3.0 3.0 

  120 3.2 3.2 

  130 3.5 3.5 

  140 3.8 3.8 

  150 4.1 4.1 

(2) For capacitor energy storage equipment, compliance 
with the requirements of subdivision 5 a of this section 
shall be determined with the system fully charged and a 
setting of 10 mAs for each exposure.  
(3) The required minimal half-value layer of the useful 
beam shall include the filtration contributed by all 
materials which are permanently between the source and 
the patient.  
b. Filtration controls. For X-ray systems that have 
variable kVp and variable filtration for the useful beam, a 
device shall link the kVp selector with the filter(s) and 
shall prevent an exposure unless the minimum amount of 
filtration necessary to produce the HVL required by 
subdivision 5 a of this section is in the useful beam for 
the given kVp that has been selected.  

6. Multiple tubes. Where two or more radiographic tubes 
are controlled by one exposure switch, the tube or tubes 
that have been selected shall be clearly indicated prior to 
initiation of the exposure. This indication shall be both on 
the X-ray control panel and at or near the tube housing 
assembly that has been selected.  
7. Mechanical support of tube head. The tube housing 
assembly supports shall be adjusted such that the tube 
housing assembly will remain stable during an exposure 
unless tube housing movement is a designed function of 
the X-ray system.  
8. Technique indicators.  

a. The technique factors to be used during an exposure 
shall be indicated before the exposure begins. If 
automatic exposure controls are used, the technique 
factors which are set prior to the exposure shall be 
indicated.  
b. The requirement of subdivision 8 a of this section may 
be met by permanent markings on equipment having 

fixed technique factors. Indication of technique factors 
shall be visible from the operator's position except in the 
case of spot films made by the fluoroscopist.  

9. Maintaining compliance. Diagnostic X-ray systems and 
their associated components used on humans and certified 
pursuant to the federal X-ray Equipment Performance 
Standard (21 CFR Part 1020) shall be maintained in 
compliance with applicable requirements of that standard.  
10. Locks. All position locking, holding, and centering 
devices on X-ray system components and systems shall 
function as intended.  
11. Mechanical timers. The use of a mechanical timer is 
prohibited.  

12VAC5-481-1601. General requirements for all 
diagnostic x-ray systems. 

In addition to other requirements of this part, all diagnostic 
x-ray systems shall meet the following requirements: 

1. Warning label. The control panel containing the main 
power switch shall bear the warning statement, legible and 
accessible to view:  

"WARNING: This x-ray unit may be dangerous to 
patient and operator unless safe exposure factors, 
operating instructions, and maintenance schedules are 
observed." 

2. Leakage radiation from the diagnostic source assembly. 
The leakage radiation from the diagnostic source assembly 
measured at a distance of one meter in any direction from 
the source shall not exceed 0.88 milligray (mGy) air kerma 
(100 milliroentgen (mR) exposure) in one hour when the x-
ray tube is operated at its leakage technique factors. If the 
maximum rated peak tube potential of the tube housing 
assembly is greater than the maximum rated peak tube 
potential for the diagnostic source assembly, positive 
means shall be provided to limit the maximum x-ray tube 
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potential to that of the diagnostic source assembly. 
Compliance shall be determined by measurements 
averaged over an area of 100 square cm with no linear 
dimension greater than 20 cm. 
3. Radiation from components other than the diagnostic 
source assembly. The radiation emitted by a component 
other than the diagnostic source assembly shall not exceed 
an air kerma of 18 microgray (two milliroentgens 
exposure) in one hour at five cm from any accessible 
surface of the component when it is operated in an 
assembled x-ray system under any conditions for which it 
was designed. Compliance shall be determined by 
measurements averaged over an area of 100 square cm 
with no linear dimension greater than 20 cm. 
4. Beam quality half-value layer (HVL). 

a. The HVL of the useful beam for a given x-ray tube 
potential shall not be less than the values shown in Table 
1 (i) under the heading "Specified Dental Systems" for 
any dental x-ray system designed for use with intraoral 
image receptors and manufactured after December 1, 
1980; (ii) under the heading "I-Other X-Ray Systems" for 

any dental x-ray system designed for use with intraoral 
image receptors and manufactured before or on 
December 1, 1980, and all other x-ray systems subject to 
this section and manufactured before June 10, 2006; and 
(iii) under the heading "II-Other X-Ray Systems" for all 
x-ray systems, except dental x-ray systems designed for 
use with intraoral image receptors, subject to this section 
and manufactured on or after June 10, 2006.  If it is 
necessary to determine such half-value layer at an x-ray 
tube potential that is not listed in Table 1, linear 
interpolation or extrapolation may be made. Positive 
means shall be provided to ensure that at least the 
minimum filtration needed to achieve beam quality 
requirements is in the useful beam during each exposure. 
In the case of a system, which is to be operated with 
more than one thickness of filtration, this requirement 
can be met by a filter interlocked with the kilovoltage 
selector that will prevent x-ray emissions if the minimum 
required filtration is not in place. 
 

TABLE 1 

X-Ray Tube Voltage (kilovolt peak) 

Design Operating 
Range 

Measured Operating 
Potential 

Minimum HVL (mm in Aluminum) 

Specified Dental 
Systems1 

I-Other X-Ray 
Systems2 

II-Other X-Ray 
Systems3 

Below 51 30 1.5 0.3 0.3 
  40 1.5 0.4 0.4 
  50 1.5 0.5 0.5 

51 to 70 51 1.5 1.2 1.3 
  60 1.5 1.3 1.5 
  70 1.5 1.5 1.8 

Above 70 71 2.1 2.1 2.5 
  80 2.3 2.3 2.9 
  90 2.5 2.5 3.2 
  100 2.7 2.7 3.6 
  110 3.0 3.0 3.9 
  120 3.2 3.2 4.3 
  130 3.5 3.5 4.7 
  140 3.8 3.8 5.0 
  150 4.1 4.1 5.4 

1 Dental x-ray systems designed for use with intraoral image receptors and manufactured after December 1, 1980. 
2 Dental x-ray systems designed for use with intraoral image receptors and manufactured before or on December 1, 1980, and 
all other x-ray systems subject to this section and manufactured before June 10, 2006. 
3 All x-ray systems, except dental x-ray systems designed for use with intraoral image receptors, subject to this section and 
manufactured on or after June 10, 2006. 

b. Optional filtration. Fluoroscopic systems 
manufactured on or after June 10, 2006, incorporating an 
x-ray tube or tubes with a continuous output of one 
kilowatt or more and an anode heat storage capacity of 

one million heat units or more shall provide the option of 
adding x-ray filtration to the diagnostic source assembly 
in addition to the amount needed to meet the half-value 
layer provisions in Table 1. The selection of this 
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additional x-ray filtration shall be either at the option of 
the user or automatic as part of the selected mode of 
operation. A means of indicating which combination of 
additional filtration is in the x-ray beam shall be 
provided. 
c. Measuring compliance. For capacitor energy storage 
equipment, compliance shall be determined with the 
maximum selectable quantity of charge per exposure.  

5. Aluminum equivalent of material between patient and 
image receptor. Except when used in a CT x-ray system, 
the aluminum equivalent of each of the items listed in 
Table 2, which are used between the patient and the image 
receptor, shall not exceed the indicated limits. Compliance 
shall be determined by x-ray measurements made at a 
potential of 100 kilovolts peak and with an x-ray beam that 
has an HVL specified in Table 1 for the potential. This 
requirement applies to front panel or panels of cassette 
holders and film changers provided by the manufacturer 
for patient support or for prevention of foreign object 
intrusions. It does not apply to screens and their associated 
mechanical support panels or grids. 

TABLE 2 

Item Maximum 
Aluminum 

Equivalent (mm) 

Front panel(s) of cassette holders 
(total of all) 

1.2 

Film panel(s) of film changer (total 
of all) 

1.2 

Cradle 2.3 

Tabletop, stationary, without 
articulated joints 

1.2 

Tabletop, movable, without 
articulated joints (including 
stationary subtop) 

1.7 

Tabletop, with radiolucent panel 
having one articulated joint 

1.7 

Tabletop, with radiolucent panel 
having two or more articulated joints 

2.3 

Tabletop, cantilevered 2.3 

Tabletop, radiation therapy simulator 5.0 

6. Battery charge indicator. On battery-powered 
generators, visual means shall be provided on the control 
panel to indicate whether the battery is in a state of charge 
adequate for proper operation. 
7. Modification of certified diagnostic x-ray components 
and systems. 

a. Diagnostic x-ray components and systems certified in 
accordance with 21 CFR Part 1020 shall not be modified 
such that the component or system fails to comply with 
any applicable provision of this part.  
b. The owner of a diagnostic x-ray system who uses the 
system in a professional or commercial capacity may 
modify the system provided the modification does not 
result in the failure of the system or a component to 
comply with the applicable requirements of this part. The 
owner who causes such modification need not submit the 
reports required by this part, provided the owner records 
the date and the details of the modification in the system 
records and maintains this information, and provided the 
modification of the x-ray system does not result in a 
failure to comply with this part. 

8. Multiple tubes. Where two or more radiographic tubes 
are controlled by one exposure switch, the tube or tubes 
that have been selected shall be clearly indicated prior to 
initiation of the exposure. This indication shall be both on 
the x-ray control panel and at or near the tube housing 
assembly which has been selected. 
9. Mechanical support of tube head. The tube housing 
assembly supports shall be adjusted such that the tube 
housing assembly will remain stable during an exposure 
unless tube housing movement is a designed function of 
the x-ray system. 
10. Technique indicators. 

a. For x-ray equipment capable of displaying technique 
factors, the technique factors to be used during an 
exposure shall be indicated before the exposure begins. If 
automatic exposure controls are used, the technique 
factors that are set prior to the exposure shall be 
indicated. 
b. The requirement of subdivision 10 a of this subsection 
may be met by permanent markings on equipment having 
fixed technique factors. Indication of technique factors 
shall be visible from the operator's position except in the 
case of spot films made by the fluoroscopist. 

11. Maintaining compliance. Diagnostic x-ray systems and 
their associated components used on humans and certified 
pursuant to the Federal X-Ray Equipment Performance 
Standard (21 CFR Part 1020) shall be maintained in 
compliance with applicable requirements of that standard. 
12. Locks. All position locking, holding, and centering 
devices on x-ray system components and systems shall 
function as intended. 
13. Mechanical timers. The use of mechanical timers is 
prohibited. 

12VAC5-481-1610. Fluoroscopic X-ray systems. 
(Repealed.) 

All fluoroscopic X-ray systems used shall be image 
intensified and meet the following requirements:  
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1. Limitation of useful beam.  
a. Primary barrier.  
(1) The fluoroscopic imaging assembly shall be provided 
with a primary protective barrier that intercepts the entire 
cross section of the useful beam at any SID.  
(2) The X-ray tube used for fluoroscopy shall not 
produce X-rays unless the barrier is in position to 
intercept the entire useful beam.  
b. Fluoroscopic beam limitation.  
(1) For certified fluoroscopic systems with or without a 
spot film device, neither the length nor the width of the 
X-ray field in the plane of the image receptor shall 
exceed that of the visible area of the image receptor by 
more than 3.0% of the SID. The sum of the excess length 
and the excess width shall be no greater than 4.0% of the 
SID.  
(2) For uncertified fluoroscopic systems with a spot film 
device, the X-ray beam with the shutters fully opened 
(during fluoroscopy or spot filming) shall be no larger 
than the largest spot film size for which the device is 
designed. Measurements shall be made at the minimum 
SID available but at no less than 20 centimeters table top 
to the film plane distance.  
(3) For uncertified fluoroscopic systems without a spot 
film device, the requirements of subdivision b (1) of this 
section apply.  
(4) Other requirements for fluoroscopic beam limitation:  
(a) Means shall be provided to permit further limitation 
of the field. Beam-limiting devices manufactured after 
May 22, 1979, and incorporated in equipment with a 
variable SID and/or a visible area of greater than 300 
square centimeters shall be provided with means for 
stepless adjustment of the X-ray field;  
(b) All equipment with a fixed SID and a visible area of 
300 square centimeters or less shall be provided with 
either stepless adjustment of the X-ray field or with 
means to further limit the X-ray field size at the plane of 
the image receptor to 125 square centimeters or less;  
(c) If provided, stepless adjustment shall, at the greatest 
SID, provide continuous field sizes from the maximum 
attainable to a field size of five centimeters by five 
centimeters or less;  
(d) For equipment manufactured after February 25, 1978, 
when the angle between the image receptor and beam 
axis is variable, means shall be provided to indicate when 
the axis of the X-ray beam is perpendicular to the plane 
of the image receptor;  
(e) For noncircular X-ray fields used with circular image 
receptors, the error in alignment shall be determined 
along the length and width dimensions of the X-ray field 
that pass through the center of the visible area of the 
image receptor.  

c. Spot-film beam limitation. Spot-film devices shall 
meet the following requirements:  
(1) Means shall be provided between the source and the 
patient for adjustment of the X-ray field size in the plane 
of the film to the size of that portion of the film that has 
been selected on the spot film selector. Such adjustment 
shall be automatically accomplished except when the X-
ray field size in the plane of the film is smaller than that 
of the selected portion of the film. For spot film devices 
manufactured after June 21, 1979, if the X-ray field size 
is less than the size of the selected portion of the film, the 
means for adjustment of the field size shall be only at the 
operator's option;  
(2) Neither the length nor the width of the X-ray field in 
the plane of the image receptor shall differ from the 
corresponding dimensions of the selected portion of the 
image receptor by more than 3.0% of the SID when 
adjusted for full coverage of the selected portion of the 
image receptor. The sum, without regard to sign, of the 
length and width differences shall not exceed 4.0% of the 
SID;  
(3) It shall be possible to adjust the X-ray field size in the 
plane of the film to a size smaller than the selected 
portion of the film. The minimum field size at the 
greatest SID shall be equal to, or less than, five 
centimeters by five centimeters;  
(4) The center of the X-ray field in the plane of the film 
shall be aligned with the center of the selected portion of 
the film to within 2.0% of the SID; and  
(5) On spot-film devices manufactured after February 25, 
1978, if the angle between the plane of the image 
receptor and beam axis is variable, means shall be 
provided to indicate when the axis of the X-ray beam is 
perpendicular to the plane of the image receptor, and 
compliance shall be determined with the beam axis 
indicated to be perpendicular to the plane of the image 
receptor.  
d. Override. If a means exists to override any of the 
automatic X-ray field size adjustments required in 
subdivisions 1 b and c of this section that means:  
(1) Shall be designed for use only in the event of system 
failure;  
(2) Shall incorporate a signal visible at the fluoroscopist's 
position that will indicate whenever the automatic field 
size adjustment is overridden; and  
(3) Shall be clearly and durably labeled as follows:  

FOR X-RAY FIELD LIMITATION SYSTEM FAILURE  
2. Activation of the fluoroscopic tube. X-ray production in 
the fluoroscopic mode shall be controlled by a device that 
requires continuous pressure by the fluoroscopist for the 
entire time of any exposure. When recording serial 
fluoroscopic images, the fluoroscopist shall be able to 
terminate the X-ray exposure(s) at any time, but means 
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may be provided to permit completion of any single 
exposure of the series in process.  
3. Exposure rate limits.  

a. Entrance exposure rate allowable limits.  
(1) Fluoroscopic equipment which is provided with 
automatic exposure rate control shall not be operable at 
any combination of tube potential and current which will 
result in an exposure rate in excess of 2.6 mC/kg (10 
roentgens) per minute at the point where the center of the 
useful beam enters the patient, except:  
(a) During recording of fluoroscopic images; or  
(b) When an optional high level control is provided. 
When so provided, the equipment shall not be operable at 
any combination of tube potential and current that will 
result in an exposure rate in excess of 5.2 mC/kg-min (20 
R/min) at the point where the center of the useful beam 
enters the patient unless the high level control is 
activated. Special means of activation of high level 
controls shall be required. The high level control shall 
only be operable when continuous manual activation is 
provided by the operator. A continuous signal audible to 
the fluoroscopist shall indicate that the high level control 
is being employed.  
(2) Fluoroscopic equipment that is not provided with 
automatic exposure rate control shall not be operable at 
any combination of tube potential and current that will 
result in a exposure rate in excess of 1.3 mC/kg (5 
roentgens) per minute at the point where the center of the 
useful beam enters the patient, except:  
(a) During recording of fluoroscopic images; or  
(b) When an optional high level control is activated. 
Special means of activation of high level controls shall 
be required. The high level control shall only be operable 
when continuous manual activation is provided by the 
operator. A continuous signal audible to the fluoroscopist 
shall indicate that the high level control is being 
employed.  
(3) Compliance with the requirements of subdivision 3 of 
this section shall be determined as follows:  
(a) If the source is below the X-ray table, the exposure 
rate shall be measured one centimeter above the tabletop 
or cradle;  
(b) If the source is above the X-ray table, the exposure 
rate shall be measured at 30 centimeters above the 
tabletop with the end of the beam-limiting device or 
spacer positioned as closely as possible to the point of 
measurement;  
(c) For a C-arm type of fluoroscope, the exposure rate 
shall be measured 30 centimeters from the input surface 
of the fluoroscopic imaging assembly, with the source 
positioned at any available SID, provided that the end of 
the beam-limiting device or spacer is no closer than 30 

centimeters from the input surface of the fluoroscopic 
imaging assembly;  
(d) For a lateral type fluoroscope, the exposure rate shall 
be measured at a point 15 centimeters from the centerline 
of the X-ray table and in the direction of the X-ray source 
with the end of the beam-limiting device or spacer 
positioned as closely as possible to the point of 
measurement. If the tabletop is movable, it shall be 
positioned as closely as possible to the lateral X-ray 
source, with the end of the beam-limiting device or 
spacer no closer than 15 centimeters to the centerline of 
the X-ray table.  
b. Periodic measurement of entrance exposure rate shall 
be performed by a private inspector for both typical and 
maximum values as follows:  
(1) Such measurements shall be made annually or after 
any maintenance of the system that might affect the 
exposure rate;  
(2) Results of these measurements shall be posted where 
any fluoroscopist may have ready access to such results 
while using the fluoroscope and in the record required in 
12VAC5-481-1590 A 12 c. The measurement results 
shall be stated in coulombs per kilogram (roentgens) per 
minute and include the technique factors used in 
determining such results. The name of the individual 
performing the measurements and the date the 
measurements were performed shall be included in the 
results;  
(3) Conditions of periodic measurement of typical 
entrance exposure rate are as follows:  
(a) The measurement shall be made under the conditions 
that satisfy the requirements of subdivision 3 a (3) of this 
section;  
(b) The kVp, mA, and/or other selectable parameters 
shall be adjusted to those settings typical of clinical use 
on a 23 cm thick abdominal patient;  
(c) The X-ray system that incorporates automatic 
exposure rate control shall have sufficient attenuative 
material placed in the useful beam to produce a 
milliamperage and/or kilovoltage to satisfy the conditions 
of subdivision 3 b (3) (b) of this section.  
(4) Conditions of periodic measurement of maximum 
entrance exposure rate are as follows:  
(a) The measurement shall be made under the conditions 
that satisfy the requirements of subdivision 3 a (3) of this 
setion1;  
(b) The kVp, mA and/or other selectable parameters shall 
be adjusted to those settings which give the maximum 
entrance exposure rate;  
(c) The X-ray system(s) that incorporates automatic 
exposure rate control shall have sufficient attenuative 
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material placed in the useful beam to produce the 
maximum entrance exposure rate of the system.  

4. Barrier transmitted radiation rate limits.  
a. The exposure rate due to transmission through the 
primary protective barrier with the attenuation block in 
the useful beam, combined with radiation from the image 
intensifier, if provided, shall not exceed 0.5 
%v(508)%E2%vC/kg (2 milliroentgens) per hour at 10 
centimeters from any accessible surface of the 
fluoroscopic imaging assembly beyond the plane of the 
image receptor for each mC/kg (roentgen) per minute of 
entrance exposure rate.  
b. Measuring compliance of barrier transmission.  
(1) The exposure rate due to transmission through the 
primary protective barrier combined with radiation from 
the image intensifier shall be determined by 
measurements averaged over an area of 100 square 
centimeters with no linear dimension greater than 20 
centimeters.  
(2) If the source is below the tabletop, the measurement 
shall be made with the input surface of the fluoroscopic 
imaging assembly positioned 30 centimeters above the 
tabletop.  
(3) If the source is above the tabletop and the SID is 
variable, the measurement shall be made with the end of 
the beam-limiting device or spacer as close to the 
tabletop as it can be placed, provided that it shall not be 
closer than 30 centimeters.  
(4) Movable grids and compression devices shall be 
removed from the useful beam during the measurement.  

5. Indication of potential and current. During fluoroscopy 
and cinefluorography, the kV and the mA shall be 
continuously indicated.  
6. Source-to-skin distance. The SSD shall not be less than:  

a. Thirty-eight centimeters on stationary fluoroscopic 
systems manufactured on or after August 1, 1974;  
b. Thirty-five and one-half centimeters on stationary 
fluoroscopic systems manufactured prior to August 1, 
1974;  
c. Thirty centimeters on all mobile fluoroscopes;  
d. Twenty centimeters for all mobile fluoroscopes when 
used for specific surgical applications; or  
e. Nine centimeters for all portable fluoroscopes when 
used for special applications.  

7. Fluoroscopic timer.  
a. Means shall be provided to preset the cumulative on-
time of the fluoroscopic X-ray tube. The maximum 
cumulative time of the timing device shall not exceed 
five minutes without resetting.  
b. A signal audible to the fluoroscopist shall indicate the 
completion of any preset cumulative on-time. Such signal 

shall continue to sound while X-rays are produced until 
the timing device is reset.  

8. Control of scattered radiation.  
a. Fluoroscopic table designs when combined with 
procedures utilized shall be such that no unprotected part 
of any staff or ancillary individual's body shall be 
exposed to unattenuated scattered radiation that 
originates from under the table. The attenuation required 
shall be not less than 0.25 millimeter lead equivalent.  
b. Equipment configuration when combined with 
procedures shall be such that no portion of any staff or 
ancillary individual's body, except the extremities, shall 
be exposed to the unattenuated scattered radiation 
emanating from above the tabletop unless that individual:  
(1) Is at least 120 centimeters from the center of the 
useful beam; or  
(2) The radiation has passed through not less than 0.25 
millimeter lead equivalent material including, but not 
limited to, drapes, Bucky-slot cover panel, or self-
supporting curtains, in addition to any lead equivalency 
provided by the protective apron referred to in 12VAC5-
481-1590 A 5.  
c. The agency may grant exemptions to subdivision 8 b 
of this section where a sterile field will not permit the use 
of the normal protective barriers. Where the use of 
prefitted sterilized covers for the barriers is practical, the 
agency shall not permit such exemption. The following is 
a suggested list of fluoroscopic procedures where such 
exemptions will be automatically granted: angiograms, 
arthrograms, biliary drainage procedures, fluoroscopic 
biopsy procedures, myelograms, percutaneous 
cholangiograms, percutaneous nephrostomies, sinograms 
or fistulograms, t-tube cholangiograms, interventional 
cardiac catheterization, and interventional special 
procedures.  

9. Spot-film exposure reproducibility. Fluoroscopic 
systems equipped with spot-film (radiographic) mode shall 
meet the exposure reproducibility requirements of 
12VAC5-481-1620 D when operating in the spot film 
mode.  
10. Radiation therapy simulation systems. Radiation 
therapy simulation systems shall be exempt from all the 
requirements of subdivision 3 of this section. In addition, 
these systems shall be exempt from:  

a. The requirements of subdivisions 1 and 4 of this 
section provided such systems are designed and used in 
such a manner that no individual other than the patient is 
in the X-ray room during periods of time when the 
system is producing X-rays; and  
b. The requirements of subdivision 7 of this section if 
such systems are provided with a means of indicating the 
cumulative time that an individual patient has been 
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exposed to X-rays. Procedures shall require in such cases 
that the timer be reset between examinations.  

11. Surveys. Radiation safety and equipment performance 
surveys shall be performed annually on all fluoroscopic X-
ray systems by or under the direct supervision of a private 
or state inspector who is physically present at the facility 
during the inspection in order to assure compliance with 
these regulations.  

12VAC5-481-1611. Fluoroscopic equipment. 
A. The provisions of this section apply to equipment for 

fluoroscopic imaging or for recording images from the 
fluoroscopic image receptor, except computed tomography x-
ray systems manufactured on or after November 29, 1984. 

B. Primary protective barrier. 
1. Limitation of useful beam. The fluoroscopic imaging 
assembly shall be provided with a primary protective 
barrier that intercepts the entire cross section of the useful 
beam at any SID. The x-ray tube used for fluoroscopy shall 
not produce x-rays unless the barrier is in position to 
intercept the entire useful beam. The AKR due to 
transmission through the barrier with the attenuation block 
in the useful beam combined with radiation from the 
fluoroscopic imaging receptor shall not exceed 3.34x10-3% 
of the entrance AKR, at a distance of 10 cm from any 
accessible surface of the fluoroscopic imaging assembly 
beyond the plane of the image receptor. Radiation therapy 
simulation systems shall be exempt from this requirement 
provided the systems are intended only for remote control 
operation. 
2. Measuring compliance. The AKR shall be measured in 
accordance with subsection E of this section. The AKR due 
to transmission through the primary barrier combined with 
radiation from the fluoroscopic image receptor shall be 
determined by measurements averaged over an area of 100 
square cm with no linear dimension greater than 20 cm. If 
the source is below the tabletop, the measurement shall be 
made with the input surface of the fluoroscopic imaging 
assembly positioned 30 cm above the tabletop. If the 
source is above the tabletop and the SID is variable, the 
measurement shall be made with the end of the beam-
limiting device or spacer as close to the tabletop as it can 
be placed, provided that it shall not be closer than 30 cm. 
Movable grids and compression devices shall be removed 
from the useful beam during the measurement. For all 
measurements, the attenuation block shall be positioned in 
the useful beam 10 cm from the point of measurement of 
entrance AKR and between this point and the input surface 
of the fluoroscopic imaging assembly.  

C. Field limitation.  
1. Angulation. For fluoroscopic equipment manufactured 
after February 25, 1978, when the angle between the image 
receptor and the beam axis of the x-ray beam is variable, 
means shall be provided to indicate when the axis of the x-

ray beam is perpendicular to the plane of the image 
receptor. Compliance with subdivisions 4 and 5 of this 
subsection shall be determined with the beam axis 
indicated to be perpendicular to the plane of the image 
receptor. 
2. Further means for limitation. Means shall be provided to 
permit further limitation of the x-ray field to sizes smaller 
than the limits of subdivisions 4 and 5 of this subsection. 
Beam-limiting devices manufactured after May 22, 1979, 
and incorporated in equipment with a variable SID or 
capability of a visible area of greater than 300 square cm, 
shall be provided with means for stepless adjustment of the 
x-ray field. Equipment with a fixed SID and the capability 
of a visible area of no greater than 300 square cm shall be 
provided with either stepless adjustment of the x-ray field 
or with a means to further limit the x-ray field size at the 
plane of the image receptor to 125 square cm or less. 
Stepless adjustment shall, at the greatest SID, provide 
continuous field sizes from the maximum obtainable to a 
field size containable in a square of five cm by five cm. 
This paragraph does not apply to non-image-intensified 
fluoroscopy.  
3. Non-image-intensified fluoroscopy. The x-ray field 
produced by non-image-intensified fluoroscopic equipment 
shall not extend beyond the entire visible area of the image 
receptor. Means shall be provided for stepless adjustment 
of field size. The minimum field size, at the greatest SID, 
shall be containable in a square of five cm by five cm. 
4. Fluoroscopy and radiography using the fluoroscopic 
imaging assembly with inherently circular image receptors. 

a. For fluoroscopic equipment manufactured before June 
10, 2006, other than radiation therapy simulation 
systems, the following applies: 
(1) Neither the length nor width of the x-ray field in the 
plane of the image receptor shall exceed that of the 
visible area of the image receptor by more than 3.0% of 
the SID. The sum of the excess length and the excess 
width shall be no greater than 4.0% of the SID. 
(2) For rectangular x-ray fields used with circular image 
receptors, the error in alignment shall be determined 
along the length and width dimensions of the x-ray field 
that pass through the center of the visible area of the 
image receptor. 
b. For fluoroscopic equipment manufactured on or after 
June 10, 2006, other than radiation simulation systems, 
the maximum area of the x-ray field in the plane of the 
image receptor shall conform with one of the following 
requirements: 
(1) When any linear dimension of the visible area of the 
image receptor measured through the center of the visible 
area is less than or equal to 34 cm in any direction, at 
least 80% of the area of the x-ray field overlaps the 
visible area of the image receptor; or 
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(2) When any linear dimension of the visible area of the 
image receptor measured through the center of the visible 
area is greater than 34 cm in any direction, the x-ray field 
measured along the direction of greatest misalignment 
with the visible area of the image receptor does not 
extend beyond the edge of the visible area of the image 
receptor by more than two cm. 

5. Fluoroscopy and radiography using fluoroscopic 
imaging assembly with inherently rectangular image 
receptors. For x-ray systems manufactured on or after June 
10, 2006, the following applies: 

a. Neither the length nor width of the x-ray field in the 
plane of the image receptor shall exceed that of the 
visible area of the image receptor by more than 3.0% of 
the SID. The sum of the excess length and the excess 
width shall be no greater than 4.0% of the SID. 
b. The error in alignment shall be determined along the 
length and width dimensions of the x-ray field that pass 
through the center of the visible area of the image 
receptor. 

If the fluoroscopic x-ray field size is adjusted automatically 
as the SID or image receptor size is changed, a capability 
may be provided for overriding the automatic adjustment 
in case of system failure. If it is so provided, a signal 
visible at the fluoroscopist's position shall indicate 
whenever the automatic field adjustment is overridden. 
Each such system failure override switch shall be clearly 
labeled as follows: 

"For X-Ray Field Limitation System Failure" 
D. Activation of tube. X-ray production in the fluoroscopic 

mode shall be controlled by a device that requires continuous 
pressure by the operator for the entire time of any exposure. 
When recording serial radiographic images from the 
fluoroscopic image receptor, the operator shall be able to 
terminate the x-ray exposure or exposures at any time, but 
means may be provided to permit completion of any single 
exposure of the series in process. 

E. Air kerma rates. For fluoroscopic equipment, the 
following requirements apply: 

1. Fluoroscopic equipment manufactured before May 19, 
1995. 

a. Equipment provided with automatic exposure rate 
control (AERC) shall not be operable at any combination 
of tube potential and current that will result in an AKR in 
excess of 88 mGy per minute (10 R/min exposure rate) at 
the measurement point specified in subdivision 3 of this 
subsection, except as specified in subdivision 1 e of this 
subsection.  
b. Equipment provided without AERC shall not be 
operable at any combination of tube potential and current 
that will result in an AKR in excess of 44 mGy per 
minute (5 R/min exposure rate) at the measurement point 

specified in subdivision 3 of this subsection, except as 
specified in subdivision 1 e of this subsection. 
c. Equipment provided with both an AERC mode and a 
manual mode shall not be operable at any combination of 
tube potential and current that will result in an AKR in 
excess of 88 mGy per minute (10 R/min exposure rate) in 
either mode at the measurement point specified in 
subdivision 3 of this subsection, except as specified in 
subdivision 1 e of this subsection. 
d. Equipment may be modified in accordance with this 
part to comply with subdivision 2 of this subsection. 
When the equipment is modified, it shall bear a label 
indicating the date of the modification and the statement:  

"Modified to comply with 21 CFR 1020.32(h)(2)" 
e. Exceptions: 
(1) During recording of fluoroscopic images; or 
(2) When a mode of operation has an optional high-level 
control, in which case that mode shall not be operable at 
any combination of tube potential and current that will 
result in an AKR in excess of any of the rates specified in 
subdivisions 1 a, b, and c of this subsection at the 
measurement point specified in subdivision 3 of this 
subsection, unless the high-level control is activated. 
Special means of activation of high-level controls shall 
be required. The high-level control shall be operable only 
when continuous manual activation is provided by the 
operator. A continuous signal audible to the fluoroscopist 
shall indicate that the high-level control is being 
employed. 

2. Fluoroscopic equipment manufactured on or after May 
19, 1995. 

a. Equipment shall be equipped with AERC if operable at 
any combination of tube potential and current that results 
in an AKR greater than 44 mGy per minute (5 R/min 
exposure rate) at the measurement point specified in 
subdivision 3 of this subsection. Provision or manual 
selection of technique factors may be provided. 
b. Equipment shall not be operable at any combination of 
tube potential and current that will result in an AKR in 
excess of 88 mGy per minute (10 R/min exposure rate) at 
the measurement point specified in subdivision 3 of this 
subsection, except as specified in subdivision 2 c of this 
subsection. 
c. Exceptions: 
(1) For equipment manufactured prior to June 10, 2006, 
during the recording of images from the fluoroscopic 
image receptor using photographic film or a video 
camera when the x-ray source is operated in a pulsed 
mode. 
(2) For equipment manufactured on or after June 10, 
2006, during the recording of images from the 
fluoroscopic image receptor for the purpose of providing 
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the user with a recorded image or images after 
termination of the exposure. Such recording does not 
include images resulting from a last-image-hold feature 
that are not recorded. 
(3) When a mode of operation has an optional high-level 
control and the control is activated, in which case the 
equipment shall not be operable at any combination of 
tube potential and current that will result in an AKR in 
excess of 176 mGy per minute (20 R/min exposure rate) 
at the measurement point specified in subdivision 3 of 
this subsection. Special means of activation of high-level 
controls shall be required. The high-level control shall be 
operable only when continuous manual activation is 
provided by the operator. A continuous signal audible to 
the fluoroscopist shall indicate that the high-level control 
is employed. 

3. Measuring compliance. Compliance with this subsection 
shall be determined as follows: 

a. If the source is below the x-ray table, the AKR shall be 
measured at one cm above the tabletop or cradle. 
b. If the source is above the x-ray table, the AKR shall be 
measured at 30 cm above the tabletop with the end of the 
beam-limiting device or spacer positioned as closely as 
possible to the point of measurement. 
c. In a C-arm type of fluoroscope, the AKR shall be 
measured at 30 cm from the input surface of the 
fluoroscopic imaging assembly, with the source 
positioned at any available SID, provided that the end of 
the beam-limiting device or spacer is no closer than 30 
cm from the input surface of the fluoroscopic imaging 
assembly. 
d. In a C-arm type of fluoroscope having an SID less than 
45 cm, the AKR shall be measured at the minimum SSD. 
e. In a lateral type of fluoroscope, the air kerma rate shall 
be measured at a point 15 cm from the centerline of the 
x-ray table and in the direction of the x-ray source with 
the end of the beam-limiting device or spacer positioned 
as closely as possible to the point of measurement. If the 
tabletop is movable, it shall be positioned as closely as 
possible to the lateral x-ray source, with the end of the 
beam-limiting device or spacer no closer than 15 cm to 
the centerline of the x-ray table. 

4. Exemptions. Fluoroscopic radiation therapy simulation 
systems are exempt from the requirements set forth in this 
subsection when used for therapy simulation purposes. 

F. Reserved. 
G. Indication of potential and current. During fluoroscopy 

and cinefluorography, x-ray tube potential and current shall 
be continuously indicated. Deviation of x-ray tube potential 
and current from the indicated value shall not exceed the 
maximum deviation as stated by the manufacturer. 

H. Source-skin distance.  

1. Means shall be provided to limit the source-skin distance 
to not less than 38 cm on stationary fluoroscopes and to not 
less than 30 cm on mobile and portable fluoroscopes. In 
addition, for fluoroscopes intended for specific surgical 
application that would be prohibited at the source-skin 
distances specified in this subsection, provisions may be 
made for operating at shorter source-skin distances but in 
no case less than 20 cm. 
2. For stationary, mobile, or portable C-arm fluoroscopic 
systems manufactured on or after June 10, 2006, having a 
maximum source-image receptor distance of less than 45 
cm, means shall be provided to limit the source-skin 
distance to not less than 19 cm. Such systems shall be 
labeled for extremity use only. In addition, for those 
systems intended for specific surgical application that 
would be prohibited at the source-skin distance specified in 
this subsection, provisions may be made for operation at 
shorter source-skin distances but in no case less than 10 
cm. 

I. Fluoroscopic irradiation time, display, and signal. 
1. Fluoroscopic equipment manufactured before June 10, 
2006. 

a. Equipment shall be provided with means to preset the 
cumulative irradiation time of the fluoroscopic tube. The 
maximum cumulative time of the timing device shall not 
exceed five minutes without resetting. A signal audible to 
the fluoroscopist shall indicate the completion of any 
preset cumulative irradiation time. Such signal shall 
continue to sound while x-rays are produced until the 
timing device is reset. Fluoroscopic equipment may be 
modified in accordance with 21 CFR 1020.30(q) to 
comply with the requirements of this subdivision. When 
the equipment is modified, it shall bear a label indicating 
the statement: 

"Modified to comply with 21 CFR 1020.32(h)(2)" 
b. As an alternative to the requirements of this 
subsection, radiation therapy simulation systems may be 
provided with a means to indicate the total cumulative 
exposure time during which x-rays were produced, and 
which is capable of being reset between x-ray 
examinations. 

2. For x-ray controls manufactured on or after June 10, 
2006, there shall be provided for each fluoroscopic tube: 

a. A display of the fluoroscopic irradiation time at the 
fluoroscopist's working position. This display shall 
function independently of the audible signal described in 
this subsection. The following requirements apply: 
(1) When the x-ray tube is activated, the fluoroscopic 
irradiation time in minutes and tenths of minutes shall be 
continuously displayed and updated at least once every 
six seconds. 



Regulations 

Volume 31, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 27, 2015 

2253 

(2) The fluoroscopic irradiation time shall also be 
displayed within six seconds of termination of an 
exposure and remain displayed until reset. 
(3) Means shall be provided to reset the display to zero 
prior to the beginning of a new examination or 
procedure. 
b. A signal audible to the fluoroscopist shall sound for 
each passage of five minutes of fluoroscopic irradiation 
time during an examination or procedure. The signal 
shall sound until manually reset or, if automatically reset, 
for at least two seconds. 

J. Mobile and portable fluoroscopes. In addition to the other 
requirements of this subsection, mobile and portable 
fluoroscopes shall provide an image receptor incorporating 
more than a simple fluorescent screen. 

K. Display of last-image-hold (LIH). Fluoroscopic 
equipment manufactured on or after June 10, 2006, shall be 
equipped with means to display LIH image following 
termination of the fluoroscopic exposure. 

1. For an LIH image obtained by retaining pretermination 
fluoroscopic images, if the number of images and method 
of combining images are selectable by the user, the 
selection shall be indicated prior to initiation of the 
fluoroscopic exposure. 
2. For an LIH image obtained by initiating a separate 
radiographic-like exposure at the termination of 
fluoroscopic imaging, the technique factors for the LIH 
image shall be selectable prior to the fluoroscopic 
exposure, and the combination selected shall be indicated 
prior to initiation of the fluoroscopic exposure. 
3. Means shall be provided to clearly indicate to the user 
whether a displayed image is the LIH radiograph or 
fluoroscopy. Display of the LIH radiograph shall be 
replaced by the fluoroscopic image concurrently with re-
initiation of fluoroscopic exposure, unless separate 
displays are provided for the LIH radiograph and 
fluoroscopic images. 

L. Displays of values of AKR and cumulative air kerma. 
Fluoroscopic equipment manufactured on or after June 10, 
2006, shall display at the fluoroscopist's working position the 
AKR and cumulative air kerma. The following requirements 
apply for each x-ray tube used during an examination or 
procedure: 

1. When the x-ray tube is activated and the number of 
images produced per unit time is greater than six images 
per second, the AKR in mGy/min shall be continuously 
displayed and updated at least once every second. 
2. The cumulative air kerma in units of mGy shall be 
displayed either within five seconds of termination of an 
exposure or displayed continuously and updated at least 
once every five seconds. 
3. The display of the AKR shall be clearly distinguishable 
from the display of the cumulative air kerma. 

4. The AKR and cumulative air kerma shall represent the 
value for conditions of free-in-air irradiation at one of the 
following reference locations specified according to the 
type of fluoroscope.  

a. For fluoroscopes with x-ray source below the x-ray 
table, x-ray source above the table, or of lateral type, the 
reference location shall be the respective locations 
specified in subdivision E 3 a or E 3 e of this section. 
b. For C-arm fluoroscopes, the reference location shall be 
15 cm from the isocenter toward the x-ray source along 
the beam axis. Alternatively, the reference location shall 
be at a point specified by the manufacturer to represent 
the location of the intersection of the x-ray beam with the 
patient's skin. 

5. Means shall be provided to reset to zero the display of 
cumulative air kerma prior to the commencement of a new 
examination or procedure. 
6. The displayed AKR and cumulative air kerma shall not 
deviate from the actual values by more than ±35% over the 
range of six mGy/min and 100 mGy to the maximum 
indication of AKR and cumulative air kerma, respectively. 
Compliance shall be determined with an irradiation time 
greater than three seconds. 

M. Control of scattered radiation. 
1. Fluoroscopic table designs when combined with 
procedures utilized shall be such that no unprotected part 
of any staff or ancillary individual's body shall be exposed 
to unattenuated scattered radiation that originates from 
under the table. The attenuation required shall be not less 
than 0.25 mm lead equivalent. 
2. Equipment configuration when combined with 
procedures shall be such that no portion of any staff or 
ancillary individual's body, except the extremities, shall be 
exposed to the unattenuated scattered radiation emanating 
from above the tabletop unless that individual: 

a. Is at least 120 centimeters from the center of the useful 
beam; or 
b. The radiation has passed through not less than 0.25 
mm lead equivalent material including, but not limited to, 
drapes, Bucky-slot cover panel, or self-supporting 
curtains, in addition to any lead equivalency provided by 
the protective apron referred to in 12VAC5-481-1591 A 
5. 

3. The agency may grant exemptions to subdivision 2 of 
this subsection where a sterile field will not permit the use 
of the normal protective barriers. Where the use of 
prefitted sterilized covers for the barriers is practical, the 
agency shall not permit such exemption. 

N. Operator qualifications. The facility shall ensure that only 
a licensed practitioner of the healing arts or a radiologic 
technologist or equivalent be allowed to operate fluoroscopic 
x-ray systems.  
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O. Equipment operation. 
1. All imaging formed by the use of fluoroscopic x-ray 
systems shall be viewed, directly or indirectly, and 
interpreted by a licensed practitioner of the healing arts. 
2. The operation of fluoroscopic x-ray systems by 
radiologic technologists or equivalent shall be performed 
under the direct supervision of a licensed practitioner of 
the healing arts. 
3. Radiologic technology students shall not be allowed to 
operate fluoroscopic x-ray systems unless directly 
supervised by a licensed practitioner of the healing arts or 
radiologic technologist as specified in subsection N of this 
section. 
4. Overhead fluoroscopy shall not be used as a positioning 
tool for general purpose radiographic examinations. 
5. Facilities shall maintain a record of the cumulative 
fluoroscopic exposure time used and the number of 
fluorographic images recorded for each examination. This 
record shall include patient identification, type and date of 
examination, the fluoroscopic system used, and operator's 
name. 

P. Surveys. Radiation safety and equipment performance 
surveys shall be performed annually on all fluoroscopic x-ray 
systems by or under the direct supervision of a private or state 
inspector who is physically present at the facility during the 
inspection in order to assure compliance with these 
regulations. 
12VAC5-481-1620. Radiographic systems other than 
fluoroscopic, dental intraoral, or computed tomography 
X-ray systems. (Repealed.) 

A. Beam limitation, except mammographic systems. The 
useful beam shall be limited to the area of clinical interest. 
This shall be deemed to have been met if a positive beam 
limiting device meeting manufacturer's specifications and the 
requirements of 12VAC5-481-1620 H 2 has been properly 
used or if evidence of collimation is shown on at least three 
sides or three corners of the film (for example, projections 
from the shutters of the collimator, cone cutting at the 
corners, or borders at the film's edge).  

1. General purpose stationary and mobile X-ray systems, 
including veterinary systems (other than portable) installed 
after September 20, 2006.  

a. Only X-ray systems provided with means for 
independent stepless adjustment of at least two 
dimensions of the X-ray field shall be used.  
b. A method shall be provided for visually defining the 
perimeter of the X-ray field. The total misalignment of 
the edges of the visually defined field with the respective 
edges of the X-ray field along either the length or width 
of the visually defined field shall not exceed 2.0% of the 
distance from the source to the center of the visually 
defined field when the surface upon which it appears is 
perpendicular to the axis of the X-ray beam.  

c. The agency may grant an exemption on noncertified 
X-ray systems to subdivisions 1 a and b of this 
subsection provided the registrant makes a written 
application for such exemption and in that application:  
(1) Demonstrates it is impractical to comply with 
subdivisions 1 a and b of this subsection; and  
(2) The purpose of subdivisions 1 a and b of this 
subsection will be met by other methods.  

2. Additional requirements for stationary general purpose 
X-ray systems. In addition to the requirements of 
subdivision 1 of this subsection, stationary general purpose 
X-ray systems, both certified and noncertified, shall meet 
the following requirements:  

a. A method shall be provided to indicate when the axis 
of the X-ray beam is perpendicular to the plane of the 
image receptor, to align the center of the X-ray field with 
respect to the center of the image receptor to within 2.0% 
of the SID, and to indicate the SID to within 2.0%;  
b. The beam-limiting device shall indicate numerically 
the field size in the plane of the image receptor to which 
it is adjusted; and  
c. Indication of field size dimensions and SID's shall be 
specified in inches and/or centimeters, and shall be such 
that aperture adjustments result in X-ray field dimensions 
in the plane of the image receptor that correspond to 
those indicated by the beam-limiting device to within 
2.0% of the SID when the beam axis is indicated to be 
perpendicular to the plane of the image receptor.  

3. X-ray systems designed for one image receptor size. 
Radiographic equipment designed for only one image 
receptor size at a fixed SID shall be provided with means 
to limit the field at the plane of the image receptor to 
dimensions no greater than those of the image receptor, 
and to align the center of the X-ray field with the center of 
the image receptor to within 2.0% of the SID, or shall be 
provided with means to both size and align the X-ray field 
such that the X-ray field at the plane of the image receptor 
does not extend beyond any edge of the image receptor.  
4. X-ray systems other than those described in subdivisions 
1 through 3 of this subsection, and veterinary systems 
installed prior to September 20, 2006, and all portable 
veterinary X-ray systems.  

a. Means shall be provided to limit the X-ray field in the 
plane of the image receptor so that such field does not 
exceed each dimension of the image receptor by more 
than 2.0% of the SID when the axis of the X-ray beam is 
perpendicular to the plane of the image receptor.  
b. Means shall be provided to align the center of the X-
ray field with the center of the image receptor to within 
2.0% of the SID, or means shall be provided to both size 
and align the X-ray field such that the X-ray field at the 
plane of the image receptor does not extend beyond any 
edge of the image receptor. Compliance shall be 
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determined with the axis of the X-ray beam 
perpendicular to the plane of the image receptor.  
c. Subdivisions 4 a and b of this subsection may be met 
with a system that meets the requirements for a general 
purpose X-ray system as specified in subdivision 1 of 
this subsection or, when alignment means are also 
provided, may be met with either:  
(1) An assortment of removable, fixed-aperture, beam-
limiting devices sufficient to meet the requirement for 
each combination of image receptor size and SID for 
which the unit is designed with each such device having 
clear and permanent markings to indicate the image 
receptor size and SID for which it is designed; or  
(2) A beam-limiting device having multiple fixed 
apertures sufficient to meet the requirement for each 
combination of image receptor size and SID for which 
the unit is designed. Permanent, clearly legible markings 
shall indicate the image receptor size and SID for which 
each aperture is designed and shall indicate which 
aperture is in position for use.  

B. Radiation exposure control.  
1. Exposure initiation. Means shall be provided to initiate 
the radiation exposure by a deliberate action on the part of 
the operator, such as the depression of a switch. Radiation 
exposure shall not be initiated without such an action. In 
addition, it shall not be possible to initiate an exposure 
when the timer is set to a "zero" or "off" position if either 
position is provided.  
2. Exposure indication. Means shall be provided for visual 
indication observable at or from the operator's protected 
position whenever X-rays are produced. In addition, a 
signal audible to the operator shall indicate that the 
exposure has terminated.  
3. Exposure termination. Means shall be provided to 
terminate the exposure at a preset time interval, preset 
product of current and time, a preset number of pulses, or a 
preset radiation exposure to the image receptor. Except for 
dental panoramic systems, termination of an exposure shall 
cause automatic resetting of the timer to its initial setting or 
to "zero."  

a. Manual exposure control. An X-ray control shall be 
incorporated into each X-ray system such that an 
exposure can be terminated by the operator at any time 
except for:  
(1) Exposure of two seconds or less; or  
(2) During serial radiography when means shall be 
provided to permit completion of any single exposure of 
the series in process.  
b. Automatic exposure controls. When an automatic 
exposure control is provided:  
(1) Indication shall be made on the control panel when 
this mode of operation is selected;  

(2) If the X-ray tube potential is equal to or greater than 
50 kVp, the minimum exposure time for field emission 
equipment rated for pulsed operation shall be equal to or 
less than a time interval equivalent to two pulses;  
(3) The minimum exposure time for all equipment other 
than that specified in subdivision 3 b (2) of this 
subsection shall be equal to or less than one-sixtieth 
(1/60) second or a time interval required to deliver five 
mAs, whichever is greater;  
(4) Either the product of peak X-ray tube potential, 
current, and exposure time shall be limited to not more 
than 60 kWs per exposure, or the product of X-ray tube 
current and exposure time shall be limited to not more 
than 600 mAs per exposure except that, when the X-ray 
tube potential is less than 50 kVp, the product of X-ray 
tube current and exposure time shall be limited to not 
more than 2000 mAs per exposure; and  
(5) A visible signal shall indicate when an exposure has 
been terminated at the limits required by subdivision 3 b 
(4) of this subsection, and manual resetting shall be 
required before further automatically timed exposures 
can be made.  

4. Exposure duration (timer) linearity. For systems having 
independent selection of exposure time settings, the 
average ratios (Xi) of exposure to the indicated timer 
setting, in units of C kg-1s-1 (mR/s), obtained at any two 
clinically used timer settings shall not differ by more than 
0.10 times their sum. This is written as:  

(X1-X2) 0.1 (X1 + X2)  
where X1 and X2 are the average C kg-1s-1 (mR/s) values.  

5. Exposure control location. The X-ray exposure control 
shall be so placed that the operator can view the patient 
while making any exposure.  
6. Operator protection, except veterinary systems, bone 
densitometers, and other self-contained machines whose 
design was approved by the FDA.  

a. Stationary systems. Stationary X-ray systems shall be 
required to have the X-ray exposure control permanently 
mounted behind a protected barrier so that the operator 
can remain behind that protected barrier during the entire 
exposure. Where it is impractical to stand behind a 
protected barrier, dental panographic and podiatry X-ray 
systems may, as an alternative, be provided with means 
to allow the operator to be at least nine feet from the tube 
housing assembly during exposures.  
b. Mobile and portable systems. Mobile and portable X-
ray systems that are:  
(1) Used continuously for greater than one week in the 
same location, i.e., a room or suite, shall meet the 
requirements of subdivision 6 a of this subsection;  
(2) Used for less than one week at the same location shall 
be provided with either a protective barrier at least two 
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meters (6.5 feet) high for operator protection during 
exposures, or means shall be provided to allow the 
operator to be at least 2.7 meters (9 feet) from the tube 
housing assembly during the exposure.  

7. Operator protection for veterinary systems. All 
stationary, mobile or portable X-ray systems used for 
veterinary work shall be provided with either a two meter 
(6.5 feet) high protective barrier for operator protection 
during exposures, or shall be provided with means to allow 
the operator to be at least 2.7 meters (9 feet) from the tube 
housing assembly during exposures.  

C. Source-to-skin distance. All mobile or portable 
radiographic systems shall be provided with means to limit 
the source-to-skin distance to equal to or greater than 30 
centimeters, except for veterinary systems.  

D. Reproducibility for Exposure and Time. When all 
technique factors are held constant, including control panel 
selections associated with automatic exposure control 
systems, the coefficient of variation of exposure for both 
manual and automatic exposure control systems shall not 
exceed 0.10. This requirement applies to clinically used 
techniques.  

E. Radiation from capacitor energy storage equipment in 
standby status. Radiation emitted from the X-ray tube when 
the system is fully charged and the exposure switch or timer 
is not activated shall not exceed a rate of 0.5 
%v(508)%E2%vC/kg (2 milliroentgens) per hour at five 
centimeters from any accessible surface of the diagnostic 
source assembly, with the beam-limiting device fully open.  

F. Accuracy. Deviation of measured technique factors from 
indicated values of kVp and exposure time shall not exceed 
the limits specified for that system by its manufacturer. In the 
absence of manufacturer's specifications, the deviation shall 
not exceed 10% of the indicated value for kVp and 10% for 
time.  

G. mA/mAs linearity. The following requirements apply 
when the equipment is operated on a power supply as 
specified by the manufacturer for any fixed X-ray tube 
potential within the range of 40% to 100% of the maximum 
rated:  

1. Equipment having independent selection of X-ray tube 
current (mA). The average ratios (Xi) of exposure to the 
indicated milliampere-seconds product (C kg-1 mAs-1 (or 
mR/mAs)) obtained at any two consecutive tube current 
settings shall not differ by more than 0.10 times their sum:  

X1-X2 < 0.10 (X1+X2)  
where X1 and X2 are the average values obtained at each 
of two consecutive tube current settings, or at two 
settings differing by no more than a factor of two where 
the tube current selection is continuous.  

2. Equipment having a combined X-ray tube current-
exposure time product (mAs) selector, but not a separate 
tube current (mA) selector. The average ratios (Xi) of 

exposure to the indicated milliampere-seconds product, in 
units of C kg-1 mAs-1 (or mR/mAs), obtained at any two 
consecutive mAs selector settings shall not differ by more 
than 0.10 times their sum:  

X1-X2 < 0.10 (X1+X2)  
where X1 and X2 are the average values obtained at any 
two mAs selector settings, or at two settings differing by 
no more than a factor of two where the mAs selector 
provides continuous selection.  

3. Measuring compliance. Determination of compliance 
shall be based on four exposures taken within a time period 
of one hour, at each of the two settings. These two settings 
may include any two focal spot sizes except where one is 
equal to or less than 0.45 millimeters and the other is 
greater than 0.45 millimeters. For purposes of this 
requirement, focal spot size is the nominal focal spot size 
specified by the X-ray tube manufacturer.  

H. Additional requirements. Diagnostic X-ray systems shall 
be required to comply with the following additional 
requirements.  

1. Beam limitation for stationary and mobile general 
purpose X-ray systems.  

a. There shall be provided a means of stepless adjustment 
of the size of the X-ray field. The minimum field size at 
an SID of 100 centimeters shall be equal to or less than 
five centimeters by five centimeters.  
b. When a light localizer is used to define the X-ray field, 
it shall provide an average illumination of not less than 
120 lux or 10 footcandles at 100 centimeters or at the 
maximum SID, whichever is less. The average 
illumination shall be based upon measurements made in 
the approximate center of each quadrant of the light field. 
Radiation therapy simulation systems manufactured on 
and after May 27, 1980, are exempt from this 
requirement.  

2. Beam limitation and alignment on stationary general 
purpose X-ray systems equipped with PBL. If PBL is 
being used, the following requirements shall be met:  

a. PBL shall prevent the production of X-rays when:  
(1) Either the length or width of the X-ray field in the 
plane of the image receptor differs, except as permitted 
by subdivision 2 c of this subsection, from the 
corresponding image receptor dimensions by more than 
3.0% of the SID; or  
(2) The sum of the length and width differences as stated 
in subdivision 2 a (1) of this subsection without regard to 
sign exceeds 4.0% of the SID;  
b. Compliance with subdivision 2 a of this subsection 
shall be determined when the equipment indicates that 
the beam axis is perpendicular to the plane of the image 
receptor. Compliance shall be determined no sooner than 
five seconds after insertion of the image receptor;  
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c. The PBL system shall be capable of operation, at the 
discretion of the operator, such that the size of the field 
may be made smaller than the size of the image receptor 
through stepless adjustment of the field size. The 
minimum field size at an SID of 100 centimeters shall be 
equal to or less than five centimeters by five centimeters;  
d. The PBL system shall be designed such that if a 
change in image receptor does not cause an automatic 
return to PBL function as described in subdivision 2 a of 
this subsection, then any change of image receptor size or 
SID must cause the automatic return.  

3. Beam limitation for portable X-ray systems. Beam 
limitation for portable X-ray systems shall meet the beam 
limitation requirements of subdivisions A 1 or H 2 of this 
section.  

I. Tube stands for portable X-ray systems. A tube stand or 
other mechanical support shall be used for portable X-ray 
systems, so that the X-ray tube housing assembly need not be 
hand held during exposures unless the system is specifically 
designed to be handheld.  

J. Surveys. Radiation safety and equipment performance 
surveys shall be performed annually on all X-ray machines 
covered by this section in order to assure compliance with the 
regulations, except that bone densitometers and X-ray 
machines used in the practice of podiatry or dentistry shall be 
surveyed every three years. The surveys shall be performed 
by or under the direct supervision of a private or state 
inspector who is physically present at the facility during the 
inspection.  
12VAC5-481-1621. Radiographic equipment. 

A. Control and indication of technique factors. 
1. Visual indication. The technique factors to be used 
during an exposure shall be indicated before the exposure 
begins, except when automatic exposure controls are used, 
in which case the technique factors that are set prior to the 
exposure shall be indicated. On equipment having fixed 
technique factors, this requirement may be met by 
permanent markings. Indication of technique factors shall 
be visible from the operator's position except in the case of 
spot films made by the fluoroscopist. 
2. Timers. Means shall be provided to terminate the 
exposure at a preset time interval, a preset product of 
current and time, a preset number of pulses, or a preset 
radiation exposure to the image receptor. 

a. Except during serial radiography, the operator shall be 
able to terminate the exposure at any time during an 
exposure of greater than one-half second. Except during 
panoramic dental radiography, termination of exposure 
shall cause automatic resetting of the timer to its initial 
setting or to zero. It shall not be possible to make an 
exposure when the timer is set to a zero or off position if 
either position is provided. 

b. During serial radiography, the operator shall be able to 
terminate the x-ray exposure at any time, but means may 
be provided to permit completion of any single exposure 
of the series in process. 

3. Automatic exposure controls. When an automatic 
exposure control is provided: 

a. Indication shall be made on the control panel when this 
mode of operation is selected; 
b. When the x-ray tube potential is equal to or greater 
than 51 kilovolts peak (kVp), the minimum exposure 
time for field emission equipment rated for pulse 
operation shall be equal to or less than a time interval 
equivalent to two pulses and the minimum exposure time 
for all other equipment shall be equal to or less than 1/60 
second or a time interval required to deliver five 
milliampere-seconds (mAs), whichever is greater; 
c. Either the product of peak x-ray tube potential, current, 
and exposure time shall be limited to not more than 60 
kilowatt-seconds (kWs) per exposure or the product of x-
ray tube current and exposure time shall be limited to not 
more than 600 mAs per exposure, except when the x-ray 
tube potential is less than 51 kVp, in which case the 
product of x-ray tube current and exposure time shall be 
limited to not more than 2,000 mAs per exposure; and 
d. A visible signal shall indicate when an exposure has 
been terminated at the limits described in subdivision 3 c 
of this subsection, and manual resetting shall be required 
before further automatically timed exposures can be 
made. 

4. Accuracy. Deviation of technique factors from indicated 
values shall not exceed the limits given by the 
manufacturer. In the absence of manufacturer's limits, the 
deviation shall not exceed 10% of the indicated value for 
kVp and time. 

B. Reproducibility. The following requirements shall apply 
when the equipment is operated on an adequate power supply 
as specified by the manufacturer: 

1. Coefficient of variation. For any specific combination of 
selected technique factors, the estimated coefficient of 
variation of the air kerma shall be no greater than 0.10. 
2. Measuring compliance. Determination of compliance 
shall be based on [ 10 four ] consecutive measurements 
taken within a time period of one hour. Equipment 
manufactured after September 5, 1978, shall be subject to 
the additional requirement that all variable controls for 
technique factors shall be adjusted to alternate settings and 
reset to the test setting after each measurement. The 
percent line-voltage regulation shall be within ±1 of the 
mean value for all measurements. For equipment having 
automatic exposure controls, compliance shall be 
determined with a sufficient thickness of attenuating 
material in the useful beam such that the technique factors 
can be adjusted to provide individual exposures of a 
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minimum of 12 pulses on field emission equipment rated 
for pulsed operation or no less than one-tenth second per 
exposure on all other equipment. 

C. Linearity. The following requirements apply when the 
equipment is operated on a power supply as specified by the 
manufacturer in accordance with 21 CFR Part 1020 for any 
fixed x-ray tube potential within the range of 40% to 100% of 
the maximum rated. 

1. Equipment having independent selection of x-ray tube 
current (mA). The average ratios of air kerma to the 
indicated milliampere-seconds product (mGy/mAs) 
obtained at any two consecutive tube current settings 
shall not differ by more than 0.10 times their sum. This 
is:  
|X1 – X2| ≤ 0.10(X1 + X2)  
where X1 and X2 are the average mGy/mAs values 
obtained at each of two consecutive mAs selector settings 
or at two settings differing by no more than a factor of 2 
where the mAs selector provides continuous selection. 
2. Equipment having selection of x-ray tube current-
exposure time product (mAs). For equipment 
manufactured after May 3, 1994, the average ratios of air 
kerma to the indicated milliampere-seconds product 
(mGy/mAs) obtained at any two consecutive mAs 
selector settings shall not differ by more than 0.10 times 
their sum. This is:  
|X1 – X2| ≤ 0.10(X1 + X2) 
where X1 and X2 are the average mGy/mAs values 
obtained at each of two consecutive mAs selector settings 
or at two settings differing by no more than a factor of 2 
where the mAs selector provides continuous selection. 

3. Measuring compliance. Determination of compliance 
shall be based on [ 10 four ] exposures, made within one 
hour, at each of the two settings. These two settings may 
include any two focal spot sizes except where one is equal 
to or less than 0.45 mm and the other is greater than 0.45 
mm. For purposes of this requirement, focal spot size is the 
focal spot size specified by the x-ray tube manufacturer. 
The percent line-voltage regulation shall be determined for 
each measurement. All values for percent line-voltage 
regulation at any one combination of technique factors 
shall be within ±1 of the mean value for all measurements 
at these technique factors. 

D. Field limitation and alignment for mobile, portable, and 
stationary general purpose x-ray systems. Except when spot-
film devices are in service, mobile, portable, and stationary 
general purpose radiographic x-ray systems shall meet the 
following requirements: 

1. Variable x-ray field limitation. A means for stepless 
adjustment of the size of the x-ray field shall be provided. 
Each dimension of the minimum field size at an SID of 
100 cm shall be equal to or less than five cm. 
2. Visual definition. 

a. Means for visually defining the perimeter of the x-ray 
field shall be provided. The total misalignment of the 
edges of the visually defined field with the respective 
edges of the x-ray field along either the length or width 
of the visually defined field shall not exceed 2.0% of the 
distance from the source to the center of the visually 
defined field when the surface upon which it appears is 
perpendicular to the axis of the x-ray beam. 
b. When a light localizer is used to define the x-ray field, 
it shall provide an average illuminance of not less than 10 
foot-candles at 100 cm or at the maximum SID, 
whichever is less. The average illuminance shall be based 
on measurements made in the approximate center of each 
quadrant of the light field. Radiation therapy simulation 
systems are exempt from this requirement. 
c. The edge of the light field at 100 cm or at the 
maximum SID, whichever is less, shall have a contrast 
ratio, corrected for ambient lighting, of not less than four 
in the case of beam-limiting devices designed for use on 
stationary equipment, and a contrast ratio of not less than 
three in the case of beam-limiting devices designed for 
use on mobile and portable equipment. The contrast ratio 
is defined as I1/I2, where I1 is the illuminance three mm 
from the edge of the light field toward the center of the 
field, and I2 is the illuminance three mm from the edge of 
the light field away from the center of the field. 
Compliance shall be determined with a measuring 
aperture of one mm. 

E. Field indication and alignment on stationary general 
purpose x-ray equipment. Except when spot-film devices are 
in service, stationary general purpose x-ray systems shall 
meet the following requirements in addition to those 
prescribed in subsection D of this section: 

1. Means shall be provided to indicate when the axis of the 
x-ray beam is perpendicular to the plane of the image 
receptor, to align the center of the x-ray field with respect 
to the center of the image receptor to within 2.0% of the 
SID and to indicate the SID to within 2.0%; 
2. The beam-limiting device shall numerically indicate the 
field size in the plane of the image receptor to which it is 
adjusted; 
3. Indication of field size dimensions and SIDs shall be 
specified in centimeters or inches and shall be such that 
aperture adjustments result in x-ray field dimensions in the 
plane of the image receptor that correspond to those 
indicated by the beam-limiting device to within 2.0% of 
the SID when the beam axis is indicated to be 
perpendicular to the plane of the image receptor; and 
4. Compliance measurements will be made at discrete SIDs 
and image receptor dimensions in common clinical use 
(such as SIDs of 100, 150, and 200 cm or 36, 40, 48, and 
72 inches and nominal image receptor dimensions of 13, 
18, 24, 30, 35, 40, and 43 cm or 5, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 14, 
and 17 inches) or at any other specific dimensions at which 
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the beam-limiting device or its associated diagnostic x-ray 
system is uniquely designed to operate. 

F. Field limitation on radiographic x-ray equipment other 
than general purpose radiographic systems. 

1. Equipment for use with intraoral image receptors. 
Radiographic equipment designed for use with an intraoral 
image receptor shall be provided with means to limit the x-
ray beam such that: 

a. If the minimum [ source-to-skin source-skin ] distance 
(SSD) is 18 cm or more, the x-ray field at the minimum 
SSD shall be containable in a circle having a diameter of 
no more than seven cm; and 
b. If the minimum SSD is less than 18 cm, the x-ray field 
at the minimum SSD shall be containable in a circle 
having a diameter of no more than six cm. 

For dental intraoral uses, an open ended shielded 
positioning device shall be used. 
2. X-ray systems designed for one image receptor size. 
Radiographic equipment designed for only one image 
receptor size at a fixed SID shall be provided with means 
to limit the field at the plane of the image receptor to 
dimensions no greater than those of the image receptor and 
to align the center of the x-ray field with the center of 
image receptor to within 2.0% of the SID, or shall be 
provided with means to both size and align the x-ray field 
such that the x-ray field at the plane of the image receptor 
does not extend beyond the edge of the image receptor. 
3. Systems designed for mammography. 

a. Radiographic systems designed only for 
mammography and general purpose radiography systems, 
when special attachments for mammography are in 
service, manufactured on or after November 1, 1977, and 
before September 30, 1999, shall be provided with means 
to limit the useful beam such that the x-ray field at the 
plane of the image receptor does not extend beyond any 
edge of the image receptor at any designated SID except 
the edge of the image receptor designed to be adjacent to 
the chest wall where the x-ray field may not extend 
beyond this edge by more than 2.0% of the SID. This 
requirement can be met with a system that performs as 
prescribed in subdivisions 4 a, b, and c of this subsection. 
When the beam-limiting device and image receptor 
support device are designed to be used to immobilize the 
breast during a mammographic procedure and the SID 
may vary, the SID indication specified in subdivisions 4 
b and c of this subsection shall be the maximum SID for 
which the beam-limiting device or aperture is designed. 
b. Mammographic beam-limiting devices manufactured 
on or after September 30, 1999, shall be provided with a 
means to limit the useful beam such that the x-ray field at 
the plane of the image receptor does not extend beyond 
any edge of the image receptor by more than 2.0% of the 
SID. This requirement can be met with a system that 

performs as prescribed in subdivisions 4 a, b, and c of 
this subsection. For systems that allow changes in SID, 
the SID indication specified in subdivisions 4 b and c of 
this subsection shall be the maximum SID for which the 
beam-limiting device or aperture is designed. 
c. Each image receptor support device manufactured on 
or after November 1, 1977, intended for installation on a 
system designed for mammography shall have clear and 
permanent markings to indicate the maximum image 
receptor size for which it is designed. 

4. Other x-ray systems. Radiographic systems not 
specifically covered in subsections D, E, and H of this 
section, which are also designed for use with extraoral 
image receptors and when used with an extraoral image 
receptor, shall be provided with means to limit the x-ray 
field in the plane of the image receptor so that such field 
does not exceed each dimension of the image receptor by 
more than 2.0% of the SID when the axis of the x-ray 
beam is perpendicular to the plane of the image receptor. 
In addition, means shall be provided to align the center of 
the x-ray field with the center of the image receptor to 
within 2.0% of the SID, or means shall be provided to both 
size and [ alignment align ] the x-ray field such that the x-
ray field at the plane of the image receptor does not extend 
beyond any edge of the image receptor. These 
requirements may be met with: 

a. A system that performs in accordance with subsections 
D and E of this section; or when alignment means are 
also provided, may be met with either; 
b. An assortment of removable, fixed-aperture, beam-
limiting devices sufficient to meet the requirement for 
each combination of image receptor size and SID for 
which the unit is designed. Each such device shall have 
clear and permanent markings to indicate the image 
receptor size and SID for which it is designed; or 
c. A beam-limiting device having multiple fixed 
apertures sufficient to meet the requirement for each 
combination of image receptor size and SID for which 
the unit is designed. Permanent, clearly legible markings 
shall indicate the image receptor size and SID for which 
each aperture is designed and shall indicate which 
aperture is in position for use. 

G. Positive beam limitation (PBL). The requirements of this 
subsection shall apply to radiographic systems that contain 
PBL. 

1. Field size. When a PBL system is provided, it shall 
prevent x-ray production when: 

a. Either the length or width of the x-ray field in the 
plane of the image receptor differs from the 
corresponding image receptor dimension by more than 
3.0% of the SID; or 
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b. The sum of the length and width differences stated in 
subdivision 1 a of this subsection without regard to sign 
exceeds 4.0% of the SID. 
c. The beam-limiting device is at an SID for which PBL 
is not designed for sizing. 

2. Conditions for PBL. When provided, the PBL system 
shall function as described in subdivision 1 of this 
subsection whenever all the following conditions are met: 

a. The image receptor is inserted into a permanently 
mounted cassette holder; 
b. The image receptor length and width are less than 50 
cm; 
c. The x-ray beam axis is within ±3 degrees of vertical 
and the SID is 90 cm to 130 cm inclusive; or the x-ray 
beam axis is within ±3 degrees of horizontal and the SID 
is 90 cm to 205 cm inclusive; 
d. The x-ray beam axis is perpendicular to the plane of 
the image receptor to within ±3 degrees; and  
e. Neither tomographic nor stereoscopic radiography is 
being performed. 

3. Measuring compliance. Compliance with the 
requirements of subdivision 1 of this subsection shall be 
determined when the equipment indicates that the beam 
axis is perpendicular to the plane of the image receptor and 
the provisions of subdivision 2 of this subsection are met. 
Compliance shall be determined no sooner than five 
seconds after insertion of the image receptor. 
4. Operator initiated undersizing. The PBL system shall be 
capable of operating such that, at the discretion of the 
operator, the size of the field may be made smaller than the 
size of the image receptor through stepless adjustment of 
the field size. Each dimension of the minimum field size at 
an SID of 100 cm shall be equal to or less than five cm. 
Return to PBL function as described in subdivision 1 of 
this subsection shall occur automatically upon any change 
of image receptor size or SID. 
5. Override of PBL. A capability may be provided for 
overriding PBL in case of system failure and for servicing 
the system. This override may be for all SIDs and image 
receptor sizes. A key shall be required for any override 
capability that is accessible to the operator. It shall not be 
possible to remove the key while PBL is overridden. Each 
such key switch or key shall be clearly and durably labeled 
as follows: 

"For X-Ray Field Limitation System Failure" 
The override capability is considered accessible to the 
operator if it is referenced in the operator's manual or in 
other material intended for the operator or if its location is 
such that the operator would consider it part of the 
operational controls. 

H. Field limitation and alignment for spot-film devices. The 
following requirements shall apply to spot-film devices, 

except when the spot-film device is provided for use with a 
radiation therapy simulation system: 

1. Means shall be provided between the source and the 
patient for adjustment of the x-ray field size in the plane of 
the image receptor to the size of that portion of the image 
receptor that has been selected on the spot-film selector. 
Such adjustment shall be accomplished automatically when 
the x-ray field size in the plane of the image receptor is 
greater than the selected portion of the image receptor. If 
the x-ray field size is less than the size of the selected 
portion of the image receptor, the field size shall not open 
automatically to the size of the selected portion of the 
image receptor unless the operator has selected that mode 
of operation. 
2. Neither the length nor width of the x-ray field in the 
plane of the image receptor shall differ from the 
corresponding dimensions of the selected portion of the 
image receptor by more than 3.0% of the SID when 
adjusted for full coverage of the selected portion of the 
image receptor. The sum, without regard to sign, of the 
length and width differences shall not exceed 4.0% of the 
SID. On spot film devices manufactured after February 25, 
1978, if the angle between the plane of the image receptor 
and beam axis is variable, means shall be provided to 
indicate when the axis of the x-ray beam is perpendicular 
to the plane of the image receptor, and compliance shall be 
determined with the beam axis indicated to be 
perpendicular to the plane of the image receptor. 
3. The center of the x-ray field in the plane of the image 
receptor shall be aligned with the center of the selected 
portion of the image receptor to within 2.0% of the SID. 
4. Means shall be provided to reduce the x-ray field size in 
the plane of the image receptor to a size smaller than the 
selected portion of the image receptor such that: 

a. For spot-film devices used on fixed-SID fluoroscopic 
systems that are not required to and do not provide 
stepless adjustment of the x-ray field, the minimum field 
size, at the greatest SID, does not exceed 125 square cm; 
or 
b. For spot-film devices used on fluoroscopic systems 
that have a variable SID or stepless adjustment of the 
field size, the minimum field size, at the greatest SID, 
shall be containable in a square of five cm by five cm. 

5. A capability may be provided for overriding the 
automatic x-ray field size adjustment in case of system 
failure. If it is so provided, a signal visible at the 
fluoroscopist's position shall indicate whenever the 
automatic x-ray field size adjustment override is engaged. 
Each such system failure override switch shall be clearly 
labeled as follows: 

"For X-ray Field Limitation System Failure" 
I. Source-skin distance. 
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1. X-ray systems designed for use with an intraoral image 
receptor shall be provided with means to limit the source-
skin distance to not less than: 

a. 18 cm if operable above 50 kVp; or  
b. 10 cm if not operable above 50 kVp. 

2. Mobile and portable x-ray systems other than dental 
shall be provided with means to limit the source-skin 
distance to not less than 30 cm. 

J. Beam-on indicators. The x-ray control shall provide visual 
indication whenever x-rays are produced. In addition, a signal 
audible to the operator shall indicate that the exposure has 
terminated. 

K. Reserved. 
L. Radiation from capacitor energy storage equipment. 

Radiation emitted from the x-ray tube shall not exceed: 
1. An air kerma of 0.26 microGy (0.03 mR exposure) in 
one minute at five cm from any accessible surface of the 
diagnostic source assembly, with the beam-limiting device 
fully open, the system fully charged, and the exposure 
switch, timer, or any discharge mechanism not activated. 
Compliance shall be determined by measurements 
averaged over an area of 100 square cm, with no linear 
dimensions greater than 20 cm: and 
2. An air kerma of 0.88 mGy (100 mR exposure) in one 
hour at 100 cm from the x-ray source, with beam-limiting 
device fully open, when the system is discharged through 
the x-ray tube either manually or automatically by use of a 
discharge switch or deactivation of the input power. 
Compliance shall be determined by measurements of the 
maximum air kerma per discharge multiplied by the total 
number of discharges in one hour (duty cycle). The 
measurements shall be averaged over an area of 100 square 
cm with no linear dimension greater than 20 cm. 

M. Primary protective barrier for mammography x-ray 
systems. 

1. For x-ray systems manufactured after September 5, 
1978, and before September 30, 1999, which are designed 
only for mammography, the transmission of the primary 
beam through any image receptor support provided with 
the system shall be limited such that the air kerma five cm 
from any accessible surface beyond the plane of the image 
receptor supporting device does not exceed 0.88 microGy 
(0.1 mR exposure) for each activation of the tube. 
2. For mammographic x-ray systems manufactured on or 
after September 30, 1999: 

a. At any SID where exposures can be made, the image 
receptor support device shall provide a primary 
protective barrier that intercepts the cross section of the 
useful beam along every direction except at the chest 
wall edge. 

b. The x-ray system shall not permit exposure unless the 
appropriate barrier is in place to intercept the useful 
beam as required in subdivision 2 a of this subdivision. 
c. The transmission of the useful beam through the 
primary protective barrier shall be limited such that the 
air kerma five cm from any accessible surface beyond the 
plane of the primary protective barrier does not exceed 
0.88 microGy (0.1 mR exposure) for each activation of 
the tube. 

3. Compliance with the requirements of subdivisions 1 and 
2 c of this subsection for transmission shall be determined 
with the x-ray system operated at the minimum SID for 
which it is designed, at maximum rated peak tube 
potential, at the maximum rated product of x-ray tube 
current and exposure time (mAs) for the maximum rated 
peak tube potential, and by measurements averaged over 
an area of 100 square cm with no linear dimension greater 
than 20 cm. The sensitive volume of the radiation 
measuring instrument shall not be positioned beyond the 
edge of the primary protective barrier along the chest wall 
side. 

N. Reserved. 
O. Beam limitation, except mammographic systems. The 

useful beam shall be limited to the area of clinical interest. 
This shall be deemed to have been met if a positive beam-
limiting device meeting manufacturer's specifications and the 
requirements of subsection G of this section have been 
properly used or if evidence of collimation is shown on at 
least three sides or three corners of the film (for example, 
projections from the shutters of the collimator, cone cutting at 
the corners, or borders at the film's edge). 

P. Radiation exposure control. 
1. Exposure initiation. Means shall be provided to initiate 
the radiation exposure by a deliberate action on the part of 
the operator, such as the depression of a switch. Radiation 
exposure shall not be initiated without such an action. In 
addition, it shall not be possible to initiate an exposure 
when the timer is set to a "zero" or "off" position if either 
position is provided. 
2. Exposure indication. Means shall be provided for visual 
indication observable at or from the operator's protected 
position whenever x-rays are produced. In addition, a 
signal audible to the operator shall indicate that the 
exposure has terminated. 
3. Operator protection, except veterinary systems. 

a. Stationary systems. Stationary x-ray systems shall be 
required to have the x-ray control permanently mounted 
in a protected area so that the operator may remain in that 
protected area during the entire exposure. For dental 
intraoral systems installed prior to September 20, 2006, if 
the x-ray control is not permanently mounted behind a 
protected barrier, then dosimetry is required by all 
operators of the system. 
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b. Mobile and portable systems. Mobile and portable x-
ray systems that are: 
(1) Used continuously for greater than one week in the 
same location, [ i.e. that is ], a room or suite, shall meet 
the requirements of subdivision 3 a of this subsection; 
(2) Used for less than one week at the same location shall 
be provided with either a protective barrier at least two 
meters (6.5 feet) high for operator protection during 
exposures, or means shall be provided to allow the 
operator to be at least 2.7 meters (nine feet) from the tube 
housing assembly during the exposure.  

4. Operator protection for veterinary systems. All 
stationary, mobile or portable x-ray systems used for 
veterinary work shall be provided with either a two meter 
(6.5 feet) high protective barrier for operator protection 
during exposures, or shall be provided with means to allow 
the operator to be at least 2.7 meters (nine feet) from the 
tube housing assembly during exposures.  

Q. Tube stands for portable x-ray systems. A tube stand or 
other mechanical support shall be used for portable x-ray 
systems, so that the x-ray tube housing assembly need not be 
hand-held during exposures.  

R. Surveys. Radiation safety and equipment performance 
surveys shall be performed annually on all x-ray machines 
covered by this section in order to assure compliance with the 
regulations, except that bone densitometers, hand-held units, 
and x-ray machines other than head CT or cone beam units 
used in the practice of podiatry, dentistry, or veterinary 
medicine shall be surveyed every three years. The surveys 
shall be performed by or under the direct supervision of a 
private or state inspector who is physically present at the 
facility during the inspection.  
12VAC5-481-1630. Intraoral dental radiographic systems. 
(Repealed.) 

In addition to the provisions of 12VAC5-481-1590 and 
12VAC5-481-1600, the requirements of 12VAC5-481-1630 
apply to X-ray equipment and associated facilities used for 
dental radiography. Requirements for extraoral dental 
radiographic systems are covered in 12VAC5-481-1620. 
Only systems meeting the requirements of this section shall 
be used.  

A. Source-to-skin distance (SSD). X-ray systems designed 
for use with an intraoral image receptor shall be provided 
with means to limit SSD, to not less than:  

1. 18 centimeters if operable above 50 kVp; or  
2. 10 centimeters if operable at 50 kVp only.  

B. Beam limitation. Radiographic systems designed for use 
with an intraoral image receptor shall be provided with means 
to limit the X-ray beam such that the beam at the minimum 
SSD shall be containable in a circle having a diameter of no 
more than seven centimeters.  

C. Radiation exposure control.  

1. Exposure initiation.  
a. Means shall be provided to initiate the radiation 
exposure by a deliberate action on the part of the 
operator, such as the depression of a switch. Radiation 
exposure shall not be initiated without such an action; 
and  
b. It shall not be possible to make an exposure when the 
timer is set to a "zero" or "off" position if either position 
is provided.  

2. Exposure indication. Means shall be provided for visual 
indication observable at or from the operator's protected 
position whenever X-rays are produced. In addition, a 
signal audible to the operator shall indicate that the 
exposure has terminated.  
3. Exposure termination.  

a. Means shall be provided to terminate the exposure at a 
preset time interval, preset product of current and time, a 
preset number of pulses, or a preset radiation exposure to 
the image receptor.  
b. An X-ray exposure control shall be incorporated into 
each X-ray system such that an exposure can be 
terminated by the operator at any time, except for 
exposures of two seconds or less.  
c. Termination of an exposure shall cause automatic 
resetting of the timer to its initial setting or to "zero."  

4. Exposure duration (timer) linearity. For systems having 
independent selection of exposure time settings, the 
average ratios (Xi) of exposure to the indicated timer 
setting, in units of C kg-1 s-1 (mR/s), obtained at any two 
clinically used timer settings shall not differ by more than 
0.10 times their sum. This is written as:  

(X1-X2) 0.1 (X1+X2)  
where X1 and X2 are the average values.  

5. Exposure control location and operator protection.  
a. After September 20, 2006, stationary X-ray systems 
shall be required to have the X-ray exposure control 
permanently mounted behind a protected barrier, so that 
the operator can remain behind that protected barrier 
during the entire exposure. Where it is impractical to 
stand behind a protected barrier, the X-ray exposure shall 
be permanently mounted at least 2.7 meters (9 feet) from 
the tube housing assembly while making exposures. If an 
X-ray machine was installed prior to September 20, 
2006, and if the X-ray exposure control is not 
permanently mounted behind a protected barrier, so that 
the operator can remain behind that protected barrier 
during the entire exposure, then dosimetry shall be 
required by all operators of the X-ray system.  
b. Mobile and portable X-ray systems that are:  
(1) Used for greater than one week in the same location, 
i.e., a room or suite, shall meet the requirements of 
subdivision 5 of this subsection;  
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(2) Used for less than one week in the same location shall 
be provided with either a protective barrier at least two 
meters (6.5 feet) high for operator protection, or means 
shall be provided to allow the operator to be at least 2.7 
meters (9 feet) from the tube housing assembly while 
making exposures.  

D. Reproducibility for Exposure and Time. When the 
equipment is operated on an adequate power supply as 
specified by the manufacturer, the estimated coefficient of 
variation of radiation exposures and times shall be no greater 
than 0.10, for any specific combination of selected technique 
factors.  

E. mA/mAs linearity. The following requirements apply 
when the equipment is operated on a power supply as 
specified by the manufacturer for any fixed X-ray tube 
potential within the range of 40% to 100% of the maximum 
rated.  

1. Equipment having independent selection of X-ray tube 
current (mA). The average ratios (Xi) of exposure to the 
indicated milliampere-seconds product, in units of C kg-1 
mAs-1 (or mR/mAs), obtained at any two consecutive tube 
current settings shall not differ by more than 0.10 times 
their sum:  

X1-X2 < 0.10 (X1+X2)  
where X1 and X2 are the average values obtained at each 
of two consecutive tube current settings, or at two 
settings differing by no more than a factor of two where 
the tube current selection is continuous.  

2. Equipment having a combined X-ray tube current-
exposure time product (mAs) selector, but not a separate 
tube current (mA) selector. The average ratios (Xi) of 
exposure to the indicated milliampere-seconds product, in 
units of C kg-1 mAs-1 (or mR/mAs), obtained at any two 
consecutive mAs selector settings shall not differ by more 
than 0.10 times their sum:  

X1-X2 < 0.10 (X1+X2)  
where X1 and X2 are the average values obtained at any 
two mAs selector settings, or at two settings differing by 
no more than a factor of two where the mAs selector 
provides continuous selection.  

3. Measuring compliance. Determination of compliance 
shall be based on four exposures taken within a time period 
of one hour, at each of the two settings. These two settings 
may include any two focal spot sizes except where one is 
equal to or less than 0.45 millimeters and the other is 
greater than 0.45 millimeters. For purposes of this 
requirement, focal spot size is the nominal focal spot size 
specified by the X-ray tube manufacturer.  

F. Accuracy. Deviation of technique factors from indicated 
values for kVp and exposure time (if time is independently 
selectable) shall not exceed the limits specified for that 
system by its manufacturer. In the absence of manufacturer's 

specifications the deviation shall not exceed 10% of the 
indicated value for kVp and 10% for time.  

G. kVp limitations. Dental X-ray machines with a nominal 
fixed kVp of less than 50 kVp shall not be used to make 
diagnostic dental radiographs of humans.  

H. Administrative controls.  
1. Patient and film holding devices shall be used when the 
techniques permit.  
2. The tube housing and the PID shall not be hand held 
during an exposure.  
3. The X-ray system shall be operated in such a manner 
that the useful beam at the patient's skin does not exceed 
the requirements of subsection B of this section.  
4. Dental fluoroscopy without image intensification shall 
not be used.  

I. Radiation safety and equipment performance surveys shall 
be performed every three years on all dental X-ray systems by 
or under the direct supervision of a private or state inspector 
who is physically present at the facility during the inspection 
in order to assure compliance with these regulations.  
12VAC5-481-1631. Intraoral dental radiographic 
equipment. 

In addition to the applicable provisions of 12VAC5-481-
1591, 12VAC5-481-1601, and 12VAC5-481-1621, the 
requirements of this section apply to x-ray equipment and 
associated facilities used for dental intraoral radiography. 
Requirements for extraoral dental radiographic systems are in 
12VAC5-481-1621.  

1. Radiation exposure control. Means shall be provided to 
initiate the radiation exposure by a deliberate action on the 
part of the operator, such as the depression of a switch. 
Radiation exposure shall not be initiated without such an 
action. 
2. Exposure control location and operator protection. 

a. Stationary x-ray systems shall be required to have the 
x-ray exposure control permanently mounted in a 
protected area, so that the operator is required to remain 
in that protected area during the entire exposure; and  
b. Mobile and portable x-ray systems that are: 
(1) Used for greater than one week in the same location 
[ i.e. that is ], a room or suite, shall meet the requirements 
of subdivision 2 a of this section.  
(2) Used for less than one week in the same location shall 
be provided with either a protective barrier at least two 
meters (6.5 feet) high for operator protection, or means to 
allow the operator to be at least 2.7 meters (nine feet) 
from the tube housing assembly while making exposures. 

3. kVp limitations. Dental x-ray machines with a nominal 
fixed kVp of less than 50 kVp shall not be used to make 
diagnostic dental radiographs of humans. 
4. Administrative controls. 



Regulations 

Volume 31, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 27, 2015 

2264 

a. Patient and film holding devices shall be used when 
the techniques permit. 
b. The tube housing and the PID for a permanently 
mounted intraoral dental system shall not be hand-held 
during an exposure. 
c. Dental fluoroscopy without image intensification shall 
not be used. 

12VAC5-481-1640. Computed tomography X-ray systems. 
(Repealed.) 

A. Reserved.  
B. Requirements for equipment.  

1. Termination of exposure.  
a. Means shall be provided to terminate the X-ray 
exposure automatically by either de-energizing the X-ray 
source or shuttering the X-ray beam in the event of 
equipment failure affecting data collection. Such 
termination shall occur within an interval that limits the 
total scan time to no more than 110% of its preset value 
through the use of either a backup timer or devices that 
monitor equipment function.  
b. A visible signal shall indicate when the X-ray 
exposure has been terminated through the means required 
by subdivision 1 a of this subsection.  
c. The operator shall be able to terminate the X-ray 
exposure at any time during a scan, or series of scans 
under CT X-ray system control, of greater than one-half 
second duration.  

2. Tomographic plane indication and alignment.  
a. For any single tomogram system, means shall be 
provided to permit visual determination of the 
tomographic plane or a reference plane offset from the 
tomographic plane.  
b. For any multiple tomogram system, means shall be 
provided to permit visual determination of the location of 
a reference plane. This reference plane can be offset from 
the location of the tomographic planes.  
c. If a device using a light source is used to satisfy the 
requirements of subdivisions 2 a or b of this subsection, 
the light source shall provide illumination levels 
sufficient to permit visual determination of the location 
of the tomographic plane or reference plane under 
ambient light conditions of up to 500 lux.  

3. Beam-on and shutter status indicators and control 
switches.  

a. The CT X-ray control and gantry shall provide visual 
indication whenever X-rays are produced and, if 
applicable, whether the shutter is open or closed.  
b. Each emergency button or switch shall be clearly 
labeled as to its function.  

4. Indication of CT conditions of operation. The CT X-ray 
system shall be designed such that the CT conditions of 

operation to be used during a scan or a scan sequence shall 
be indicated prior to the initiation of a scan or a scan 
sequence. On equipment having all or some of these 
conditions of operation at fixed values, this requirement 
may be met by permanent markings. Indication of CT 
conditions of operation shall be visible from any position 
from which scan initiation is possible.  
5. Extraneous radiation. When data are not being collected 
for image production, the radiation adjacent to the tube 
port shall not exceed that permitted by subdivision 3 of 
12VAC5-481-1600.  
6. Maximum surface CTDI identification. The angular 
position where the maximum surface CTDI occurs shall be 
identified to allow for reproducible positioning of a CT 
dosimetry phantom.  
7. Additional requirements applicable to CT X-ray Systems 
containing a gantry manufactured after September 3, 1985.  

a. The total error in the indicated location of the 
tomographic plane or reference plane shall not exceed 
five millimeters.  
b. If the X-ray production period is less than one-half 
second, the indication of X-ray production shall be 
actuated for at least one-half second. Indicators at or near 
the gantry shall be discernible from any point external to 
the patient opening where insertion of any part of the 
human body into the primary beam is possible.  
c. The deviation of indicated scan increment versus 
actual increment shall not exceed plus or minus one 
millimeter with any mass from 0 to 100 kilograms resting 
on the support device. The patient support device shall be 
incremented from a typical starting position to the 
maximum incremented distance or 30 centimeters, 
whichever is less, and then returned to the starting 
position. Measurement of actual versus indicated scan 
increment may be taken anywhere along this travel.  
d. Premature termination of the X-ray exposure by the 
operator shall necessitate resetting of the CT conditions 
of operation prior to the initiation of another scan.  

C. Facility design requirements.  
1. Aural communication. Provision shall be made for two-
way aural communication between the patient and the 
operator at the control panel.  
2. Viewing systems.  

a. Windows, mirrors, closed-circuit television, or an 
equivalent shall be provided to permit continuous 
observation of the patient during irradiation and shall be 
so located that the operator can observe the patient from 
the control panel.  
b. When the primary viewing system is by electronic 
means, an alternate viewing system (which may be 
electronic) shall be available for use in the event of 
failure of the primary viewing system.  
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D. Surveys, calibrations, spot checks, and operating 
procedures.  

1. Surveys.  
a. All CT X-ray systems installed after September 20, 
2006, and those systems not previously surveyed shall 
have a survey made by, or under the direct supervision of 
a private inspector who is physically present at the 
facility during the inspection. In addition, such surveys 
shall be done at least annually or after any change in the 
facility or equipment that might cause a significant 
increase in radiation hazard, whichever occurs first.  
b. The registrant shall obtain a written report of the 
survey from the private inspector, and a copy of the 
report shall be sent to the agency within 60 days of the 
date of the survey.  

2. Radiation calibrations.  
a. The calibration of the radiation output of the CT X-ray 
system shall be performed by, or under the direction of, a 
private inspector who is physically present at the facility 
during such calibration.  
b. The calibration of a CT X-ray system shall be 
performed at intervals specified by a private inspector 
and after any change or replacement of components that, 
in the opinion of the private inspector, could cause a 
change in the radiation output.  
c. The calibration of the radiation output of a CT X-ray 
system shall be performed with a calibrated dosimetry 
system. The calibration of such system shall be traceable 
to a national standard. The dosimetry system shall have 
been calibrated within the preceding two years.  
d. CT dosimetry phantom(s) shall be used in determining 
the radiation output of a CT X-ray system. Such 
phantom(s) shall meet the following specifications and 
conditions of use:  
(1) CT dosimetry phantom(s) shall be right circular 
cylinders of polymethyl methacrylate of density 1.19 plus 
or minus 0.01 grams per cubic centimeter. The 
phantom(s) shall be at least 14 centimeters in length and 
shall have diameters of 32.0 centimeters for testing CT 
X-ray systems designed to image any section of the body 
and 16.0 centimeters for systems designed to image the 
head or for whole body scanners operated in the head 
scanning mode;  
(2) CT dosimetry phantom(s) shall provide means for the 
placement of a dosimeter(s) along the axis of rotation and 
along a line parallel to the axis of rotation 1.0 centimeter 
from the outer surface and within the phantom. Means 
for the placement of dosimeters or alignment devices at 
other locations may be provided;  
(3) Any effects on the doses measured due to the removal 
of phantom material to accommodate dosimeters shall be 
accounted for through appropriate corrections to the 

reported data or included in the statement of maximum 
deviation for the values obtained using the phantom;  
(4) All dose measurements shall be performed with the 
CT dosimetry phantom placed on the patient couch or 
support device without additional attenuation materials 
present.  
e. The calibration shall be required for each type of head, 
body, or whole-body scan performed at the facility.  
f. Calibration shall meet the following requirements:  
(1) The dose profile along the center axis of the CT 
dosimetry phantom for the minimum, maximum, and 
midrange values of the nominal tomographic section 
thickness used by the registrant shall be measurable. 
Where less than three nominal tomographic thicknesses 
can be selected, the dose profile determination shall be 
performed for each available nominal tomographic 
section thickness;  
(2) The CTDI along the two axes specified in subdivision 
2 d (2) of this subsection shall be measured. The CT 
dosimetry phantom shall be oriented so that the 
measurement point 1.0 centimeter from the outer surface 
and within the phantom is in the same angular position 
within the gantry as the point of maximum surface CTDI 
identified. The CT conditions of operation shall 
correspond to typical values used by the registrant;  
(3) The spot checks specified in subdivision 3 of this 
subsection shall be made.  
g. Calibration procedures shall be in writing. Records of 
calibrations performed shall be maintained for inspection 
by the agency.  

3. Spot checks.  
a. The spot-check procedures shall be in writing and shall 
have been developed by a private inspector.  
b. The spot-check procedures shall incorporate the use of 
a CT dosimetry phantom that has a capability of 
providing an indication of contrast scale, noise, nominal 
tomographic section thickness, the resolution capability 
of the system for low and high contrast objects, and 
measuring the mean CTN for water or other reference 
material.  
c. All spot checks shall be included in the calibration 
required by subdivision 2 of this subsection and at time 
intervals and under system conditions specified by a 
private inspector.  
d. Spot checks shall include acquisition of images 
obtained with the CT dosimetry phantom(s) using the 
same processing mode and CT conditions of operation as 
are used to perform calibrations required by subdivision 
2 of this subsection. The images shall be retained, until a 
new calibration is performed, in two forms as follows:  
(1) Photographic copies of the images obtained from the 
image display device; and  
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(2) Images stored in digital form on a storage medium 
compatible with the CT X-ray system.  
e. Written records of the spot checks performed shall be 
maintained for inspection by the agency.  

4. Operating procedures.  
a. The CT X-ray system shall not be operated except by 
an individual who has been specifically trained in its 
operation.  
b. Information shall be available at the control panel 
regarding the operation and calibration of the system. 
Such information shall include the following:  
(1) Dates of the latest calibration and spot checks and the 
location within the facility where the results of those tests 
may be obtained;  
(2) Instructions on the use of the CT dosimetry 
phantom(s) including a schedule of spot checks 
appropriate for the system, allowable variations for the 
indicated parameters, and the results of at least the most 
recent spot checks conducted on the system;  
(3) The distance in millimeters between the tomographic 
plane and the reference plane if a reference plane is 
utilized; and  
(4) A current technique chart available at the control 
panel that specifies for each routine examination the CT 
conditions of operation and the number of scans per 
examination.  
c. If the calibration or spot check of the CT X-ray system 
identifies that a system operating parameter has exceeded 
a tolerance established by the private inspector, use of the 
CT X-ray system on patients shall be limited to those 
uses permitted by established written instructions of the 
private inspector.  

12VAC5-481-1641. Computed tomography equipment. 
A. Reserved. 
B. Requirements for equipment. 

1. Termination of exposure. 
a. Means shall be provided to terminate the x-ray 
exposure automatically by either de-energizing the x-ray 
source or shuttering the x-ray beam in the event of 
equipment failure affecting data collection. Such 
termination shall occur within an interval that limits the 
total scan time to no more than 110% of its preset value 
through the use of either a backup timer or devices that 
monitor equipment function. 
b. A visible signal shall indicate when the x-ray exposure 
has been terminated through the means required by 
subdivision 1 a of this subsection. 
c. The operator shall be able to terminate the x-ray 
exposure at any time during a scan, or series of scans 
under CT x-ray system control, of greater than one-half 
second duration. 

2. Tomographic plane indication and alignment. 
a. For any single tomogram system, means shall be 
provided to permit visual determination of the 
tomographic plane or a reference plane offset from the 
tomographic plane. 
b. For any multiple tomogram system, means shall be 
provided to permit visual determination of the location of 
a reference plane. This reference plane can be offset from 
the location of the tomographic planes. 
c. If a device using a light source is used to satisfy the 
requirements of subdivision 2 a or b of this subsection, 
the light source shall provide illumination levels 
sufficient to permit visual determination of the location 
of the tomographic plane or reference plane under 
ambient light conditions of up to 500 lux. 

3. Beam-on and shutter status indicators and control 
switches. 

a. The CT x-ray control and gantry shall provide visual 
indication whenever x-rays are produced and, if 
applicable, whether the shutter is open or closed. 
b. Each emergency button or switch shall be clearly 
labeled as to its function. 

4. Indication of CT conditions of operation. The CT x-ray 
system shall be designed such that the CT conditions of 
operation to be used during a scan or a scan sequence shall 
be indicated prior to the initiation of a scan or a scan 
sequence. On equipment having all or some of these 
conditions of operation at fixed values, this requirement 
may be met by permanent markings. Indication of CT 
conditions of operation shall be visible from any position 
from which scan initiation is possible. 
5. Extraneous radiation. When data are not being collected 
for image production, the radiation adjacent to the tube 
port shall not exceed that permitted by subdivision 3 of 
12VAC5-481-1601. 
6. Maximum surface CTDI identification. The angular 
position where the maximum surface CTDI occurs shall be 
identified to allow for reproducible positioning of a CT 
dosimetry phantom. 
7. Additional requirements applicable to CT x-ray systems 
containing a gantry manufactured after September 3, 1985. 

a. The total error in the indicated location of the 
tomographic plane or reference plane shall not exceed 
five mm. 
b. If the x-ray production period is less than one-half 
second, the indication of x-ray production shall be 
actuated for at least one-half second. Indicators at or near 
the gantry shall be discernible from any point external to 
the patient opening where insertion of any part of the 
human body into the primary beam is possible. 
c. The deviation of indicated scan increment versus 
actual increment shall not exceed one millimeter with 
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any mass from 0 to 100 kg resting on the support device. 
The patient support device shall be incremented from a 
typical starting position to the maximum incremented 
distance or 30 cm, whichever is less, and then returned to 
the starting position. Measurement of actual versus 
indicated scan increment may be taken anywhere along 
this travel. 
d. Premature termination of the x-ray exposure by the 
operator shall necessitate resetting of the CT conditions 
of operation prior to the initiation of another scan. 

C. Facility design requirements. 
1. Aural communication. Provision shall be made for two-
way aural communication between the patient and the 
operator at the control panel. 
2. Viewing systems. 

a. Windows, mirrors, closed-circuit television, or an 
equivalent shall be provided to permit continuous 
observation of the patient during irradiation and shall be 
so located that the operator can observe the patient from 
the control panel. 
b. When the primary viewing system is by electronic 
means, an alternate viewing system (which may be 
electronic) shall be available for use in the event of 
failure of the primary viewing system. 

D. Surveys, calibrations, spot checks, and operating 
procedures. 

1. Surveys. 
a. All CT x-ray systems installed after September 19, 
2006, and those systems not previously surveyed shall 
have a survey made by, or under the direction of, a 
qualified medical physicist.  In addition, such surveys 
shall be done after any change in the facility or 
equipment that might cause a significant increase in 
radiation hazard. 
b. The registrant shall obtain a written report of the 
survey from the qualified medical physicist, and a copy 
of the report shall be made available to the agency upon 
request. 

2. Radiation calibrations. 
a. The calibration of the radiation output of the CT x-ray 
system shall be performed by, or under the direction of, a 
qualified medical physicist who is physically present at 
the facility during such calibration. 
b. The calibration of a CT x-ray system shall be 
performed (i) after initial installation and before use on 
human patients, (ii) annually or at intervals specified by a 
qualified medical physicist, and (iii) after any change or 
replacement of components that in the opinion of the 
qualified medical physicist could cause a change in the 
radiation output. 
c. The calibration of the radiation output of a CT x-ray 
system shall be performed with a calibrated dosimetry 

system. The calibration of such system shall be traceable 
to a national standard. The dosimetry system shall have 
been calibrated within the preceding two years. 
d. CT dosimetry phantom shall be used in determining 
the radiation output of a CT x-ray system. Such phantom 
shall meet the following specifications and conditions of 
use: 
(1) CT dosimetry phantom shall be right circular 
cylinders of polymethyl methacrylate of density 1.19 plus 
or minus 0.01 grams per cubic cm. The phantom shall be 
at least 14 cm in length and shall have diameters of 32.0 
cm for testing CT x-ray systems designed to image any 
section of the body and 16.0 cm for systems designed to 
image the head or for whole body scanners operated in 
the head scanning mode; 
(2) CT dosimetry phantom shall provide means for the 
placement of a dosimeter along the axis of rotation and 
along a line parallel to the axis of rotation 1.0 cm from 
the outer surface and within the phantom. Means for the 
placement of dosimeters or alignment devices at other 
locations may be provided; 
(3) Any effects on the doses measured due to the removal 
of phantom material to accommodate dosimeters shall be 
accounted for through appropriate corrections to the 
reported data or included in the statement of maximum 
deviation for the values obtained using the phantom; and 
(4) All dose measurements shall be performed with the 
CT dosimetry phantom placed on the patient couch or 
support device without additional attenuation materials 
present. 
e. The calibration shall be required for each type of head, 
body, or whole-body scan performed at the facility. 
f. Calibration shall meet the following requirements: 
(1) The dose profile along the center axis of the CT 
dosimetry phantom for the minimum, maximum, and 
midrange values of the nominal tomographic section 
thickness used by the registrant shall be measurable. 
Where less than three nominal tomographic thicknesses 
can be selected, the dose profile determination shall be 
performed for each available nominal tomographic 
section thickness; 
(2) The CTDI along the two axes specified in subdivision 
2 d (2) of this subsection shall be measured. For the 
purpose of determining the CTDI, the manufacturer's 
statement as to the nominal tomographic section 
thickness for that particular system may be utilized. The 
CT dosimetry phantom shall be oriented so that the 
measurement point 1.0 cm from the outer surface and 
within the phantom is in the same angular position within 
the gantry as the point of maximum surface CTDI 
identified.  The CT conditions of operation shall 
correspond to typical values used by the registrant; and 
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(3) The spot checks specified in subdivision 3 of this 
subsection shall be made. 
g. Calibration procedures shall be in writing. Records of 
calibrations performed shall be maintained for inspection 
by the agency. 

3. Spot checks. 
a. The spot-check procedures shall be in writing and shall 
have been developed by a qualified medical physicist. 
b. The spot-check procedures shall incorporate the use of 
a CT dosimetry phantom that has a capability of (i) 
providing an indication of contrast scale, noise, nominal 
tomographic section thickness, and the resolution 
capability of the system for low and high contrast 
objects; and (ii) measuring the mean CTN for water or 
other reference material. 
c. All spot checks shall be included in the calibration 
required by subdivision 2 of this subsection and at time 
intervals and under system conditions specified by a 
qualified medical physicist. 
d. Spot checks shall include acquisition of images 
obtained with the CT dosimetry phantom or phantoms 
using the same processing mode and CT conditions of 
operation as are used to perform calibrations required by 
subdivision 2 of this subsection. 
e. The results of each spot check shall be maintained for 
two years. 

4. Operating procedures. 
a. The CT x-ray system shall not be operated except by 
an individual who has been specifically trained in its 
operation. 
b. Information shall be available at the control panel 
regarding the operation and calibration of the system. 
Such information shall include the following:  
(1) Dates of the latest calibration and spot checks and the 
location within the facility where the results of those tests 
may be obtained; 
(2) Instructions on the use of the CT dosimetry phantoms 
including a schedule of spot checks appropriate for the 
system, allowable variations for the indicated parameters, 
and the results of at least the most recent spot checks 
conducted on the system; 
(3) The distance in millimeters between the tomographic 
plane and the reference plane if a reference plane is 
utilized; and 
(4) A current technique chart available at the control 
panel that specifies for each routine examination the CT 
conditions of operation and the number of scans per 
examination. 
c. If the calibration or spot check of the CT x-ray system 
identifies that a system operating parameter has exceeded 
a tolerance established by the qualified medical physicist, 
use of the CT x-ray system on patients shall be limited to 

those uses permitted by established written instructions 
of the qualified medical physicist. 

12VAC5-481-1650. Mammography. (Repealed.) 
A. Equipment standards. Only X-ray systems meeting the 

following standards shall be used.  
1. System design. The X-ray system shall be specifically 
designed for mammography.  
2. Image receptor. The image receptor systems and their 
individual components shall be specifically designed for or 
appropriate for mammography.  
3. kVp/target/filter. The X-ray system shall have the 
capability of providing kVp/target/filter combinations 
compatible with the selected image receptor system.  
4. Beam quality.  

a. When used with screen-film image receptors, and 
when the contribution to filtration made by the 
compression device is included, the useful beam shall 
have a half-value layer (HVL):  
(1) Between the values of: ((measured kVp)/100) and 
((measured kVp)/100 + 0.1) millimeters aluminum for 
molybdenum targets;  
(2) At least the value of ((measured kVp)/100) 
millimeters aluminum for rhodium alloy targets.  
b. For xeroradiography, the HVL of the useful beam with 
the compression device in place shall be at least 1.0 and 
not greater than 1.6 mm aluminum, measured at 49 kVp 
with a tungsten target tube.  

5. Resolution. The combination of focal spot size, source-
to-image receptor distance and magnification shall result in 
a resolution of at least 12 line pairs per millimeter 
(cycles/mm) measured when a resolution pattern is 
positioned 4.2 cm above all breast supports and when the 
resolution pattern is either perpendicular to or parallel with 
the chest wall edge of the image receptor support. The 
measurement shall be made with the kVp in the range of 
25-30 and the mA shall be the highest available for the 
focal spot size selected. The resolution shall be at least 11 
line pairs when a high-contrast resolution bar test pattern is 
orientated with the bars perpendicular to the anode-cathode 
axis, and a minimum resolution of 13 line pairs/mm when 
the bars are parallel to that axis. The bar pattern must be 
placed 4.5 cm above the breast support surface, centered 
with respect to the chest wall edge of the image receptor, 
and with the edge of the pattern within one cm of the chest 
wall edge of the image receptor. When more than one 
target material is provided, the measurement must be made 
using the appropriate focal spot for each target material.  
6. Compression.  

a. The X-ray system shall be capable of compressing the 
breast with a force of at least 25 pounds and shall be 
capable of maintaining this compression for at least three 
minutes.  
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b. The chest wall edge of the compression paddle shall 
extend beyond the chest wall edge of the image receptor 
by no more than 2.0% of the Source-to-Image Receptor 
Distance with the compression paddle placed 4.2 cm 
above the breast support device. With the compression 
paddle in this position, the chest wall edge of the 
compression paddle shall not be visible in the acquired 
image.  

7. System capabilities. A mammographic X-ray system 
utilizing screen-film image receptors shall have:  

a. The capability of using anti-scatter grids that are:  
(1) Integral to the X-ray system;  
(2) Available for all image receptor sizes used;  
b. The capability of automatic exposure control, for 
systems installed after September 20, 2006; and  
c. The capability of displaying post-exposure mAs after 
an exposure made using an automatic exposure control 
device, for systems installed after September 20, 2006.  

8. Milliampere-second read-out accuracy. For those 
mammographic X-ray systems equipped with automatic 
exposure control and post-exposure mAs read-out, the 
indicated mAs read-out shall be within 10% of the actual 
mAs delivered.  
9. Transmission. For X-ray systems manufactured after 
September 5, 1978, the transmission of the primary beam 
through any image receptor support provided with the 
system shall be limited such that the exposure five 
centimeters from any accessible surface beyond the plane 
of the image receptor supporting device does not exceed 
25.8 nC/kg (0.1 milliroentgen) for each activation of the 
tube. Exposure shall be measured with the system operated 
at the minimum SID for which it is designed. Compliance 
shall be determined at the maximum rated peak tube 
potential for the system and at the maximum rated product 
of tube current and exposure time (mAs) for that peak tube 
potential. Compliance shall be determined by 
measurements averaged over an area of 100 square 
centimeters with no linear dimension greater than 20 
centimeters.  
10. Collimation.  

a. All systems shall have beam-limiting devices that 
allow the entire chest wall edge of the X-ray field to 
extend to the chest wall edge of the image receptor and 
provide means to assure that the X-ray field does not 
extend beyond any edge of the image receptor by more 
than 2.0% of the SID.  
b. Means for visually defining the perimeter of the X-ray 
field shall be provided. The total misalignment of the 
edges of the visually defined field with the respective 
edges of the X-ray field along either the length or width 
of the visually defined field shall not exceed 2.0% of the 
distance from the source to the center of the visually 

defined field when the surface upon which it appears is 
perpendicular to the axis of the X-ray beam.  

11. Accuracy of kVp. Deviation of actual kVp from the 
indicated kVp shall not exceed the limits specified by the 
manufacturer of the X-ray system, or, the actual kVp shall 
be within plus or minus 2 kVp of the indicated kVp, 
whichever limit is more restrictive.  
12. Automatic exposure control performance. In addition 
to 12VAC5-481-1620 D, mammographic systems in the 
AEC mode shall be able to maintain constant film density 
to within an optical density of plus or minus 0.3 of the 
average optical density over the kVp range used clinically, 
using phantoms of BR-12 or other breast equivalent 
material thicknesses of two centimeters to six centimeters. 
If the facility has established a technique chart that utilizes 
varying technical factors for different breast thicknesses, 
those adjustments in technique may be used when 
performing this test.  
13. Radiation output minimum. At 28 kVp, with a focal 
spot meeting the requirements of subdivision A 5 of this 
section, the mammographic system shall be capable of 
sustaining a minimum output rate of 130 
%v(508)%E2%vC/kg/sec (500 mR/sec) for at least three 
seconds. This output shall be measured at a point 4.2 
centimeters from the surface of the breast support device 
when the SID is at its maximum and the effect of 
compression paddle attenuation is included.  
14. Screen-film contact. Cassettes shall not be used for 
mammography if poor contact of two or more large areas 
(>1 cm in diameter) or a section longer than 1 cm and >2 
mm in width along the chest wall edge can be seen in a 40 
mesh test.  
15. Image quality. The mammographic X-ray imaging 
system shall be capable of providing an image of a 0.75 
mm fiber, 0.32 mm speck group, and a 0.75 mm mass from 
the Conference of Radiation Control Program Directors 
NEXT "92 phantom (or equivalent) on the standard 
mammographic image receptor system in use at a facility. 
Mammograms shall not be taken on patients if this 
minimum is not met. Any fibers, speck groups and masses 
larger than those specified shall also be imaged.  
16. Dose. The mean glandular dose for one craniocaudal 
view, measured with the phantom referenced in 
subdivision 15 of this subsection, based on exposure 
measured at the breast entrance location, and using dose 
conversion factors specified by the Health Care Financing 
Administration in their Medicare Mammography Survey 
Protocols, shall not exceed the following values:  

a. 2.0 mGy (200 millirads) for nongrid screen film 
systems;  
b. 3.0 mGy (300 millirads) for screen-film systems with 
grid.  
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17. Technique settings. The technique settings used for 
subdivisions 15 and 16 of this subsection shall be those 
used by the facility for its clinical images of a 50% 
adipose, 50% glandular, 4.2 cm compressed breast.  

B. Quality assurance.  
1. Quality assurance program required. The registrant shall 
have a written, on-going equipment quality assurance 
program specific to mammographic imaging, covering all 
components of the diagnostic X-ray imaging system, to 
ensure consistently high-quality images with minimum 
patient exposure. Responsibilities under this requirement 
include providing qualified individuals who are to:  

a. Conduct equipment performance monitoring functions;  
b. Analyze the monitoring results to determine if there 
are problems requiring correction;  
c. Carry out or arrange for the necessary corrective 
actions when results of quality control tests including 
those specified in subdivision 3 of this subsection 
indicate the need; and  
d. Maintain records for a minimum of two years 
documenting that actions required under subdivisions 1 a 
through c of this subsection have been completed.  

2. Quality assurance program review. At intervals not to 
exceed 12 months, the registrant shall:  

a. Have the annual quality control tests specified in 
subdivision 3 of this subsection performed by a qualified 
individual and obtain the results of those tests, 
incorporating them into the records specified in 
subdivision 1 d of this subsection; and  
b. Conduct a review of the effectiveness of the quality 
assurance program required in subdivision 1 of this 
subsection and maintain a written report of such review. 
Records of annual reviews shall be maintained for a 
minimum of two years and shall be available for agency 
review.  

3. Equipment quality control tests. The registrant shall 
ensure that the following quality control tests are 
performed when applicable equipment or components are 
initially installed, or replaced or serviced (if such servicing 
affects test results), and performed thereafter at least as 
often as the frequency specified. The private inspector 
shall determine the corrective action interval.  

a. Processor performance by sensitometric means—daily, 
or day of use, prior to the first patient exposure. For any 
mammography registrant using film processors at 
multiple locations, such as a mobile service, each 
processor shall be subject to this requirement. Corrective 
action shall be taken when:  
(1) Deviations of 0.15 or more in optical density from 
established operating levels occur for readings of mid-
density (MD) and density difference (DD) on the 
sensitometric control charts;  

(2) Base plus fog (B+F) exceeds the established 
operating level by more than 0.03 in optical density.  
b. Resolution—upon tube installation or replacement and 
every 12 months.  
c. Focal spot size—upon tube installation or tube 
replacement only or at least every 12 months, whichever 
occurs first.  
d. Half-value layer—12 months.  
e. kVp accuracy and reproducibility—12 months.  
f. Output reproducibility, mA linearity, and mR/mAs—
12 months.  
g. Automatic exposure control reproducibility and 
performance (response to kVp and phantom thickness 
variations)—12 months.  
h. Screen-film contact and screen artifact detection—six 
months.  
i. Compression device performance (releases, level of 
force, etc)—six months.  
j. Collimator alignment—12 months.  
k. Primary/secondary barrier transmission—upon initial 
X-ray system installation and significant modification of 
the system or the facility.  
l. Image quality (using a test "phantom," that simulates 
the composition of the breast and includes simulations of 
breast structures)—weekly for stationary systems, on 
each day of use for mobile systems, and upon significant 
service or modification of any mammographic system.  
m. Densitometer accuracy check—every 12 months.  
n. Glandular dose—every 12 months.  
o. Image quality—every 12 months.  
p. Artifacts—every 12 months.  

4. Additional quality control requirements. The registrant 
shall perform the following observations and procedures 
according to the frequency noted and record the results. 
Corrections of problems noted shall be made and recorded. 
Records shall be maintained over the most recent two-year 
period.  

a. Retake Analysis—three months.  
b. Viewbox uniformity—six months.  
c. Darkroom integrity (safelight condition, light leaks, 
etc.)—six months.  
d. Screen cleaning—weekly.  
e. Fixer retention—three months.  

C. Additional facility requirements.  
1. Masks. Masks shall be provided on the viewboxes to 
block extraneous light from the viewer's eye when the 
illuminated surface of the viewbox is larger than the 
exposed area of the film.  
2. Film processing.  



Regulations 

Volume 31, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 27, 2015 

2271 

a. Film processors utilized for mammography shall be 
adjusted to and operated at the specifications 
recommended by the mammographic film manufacturer, 
or at other settings such that the sensitometric 
performance is at least equivalent.  
b. Clinical films and phantom image quality films shall 
be processed within 10 hours of exposure.  
c. Facilities shall offer to process films before the patient 
leaves the facility. If the patient chooses not to wait; of 
there is not developing capabilities, the patient will be 
notified within two business days if additional films are 
necessary.  

3. Instruments and devices. An image quality phantom, 
sensitometer, and a calibrated densitometer shall be 
available to each facility in order to comply with the 
quality control test frequencies specified in subdivision B 3 
of this section.  
4. Operator qualifications. The operator of the X-ray 
machine shall be certified by the American Registry of 
Radiologic Technologists and shall have had specialized 
training in mammography meeting the requirements set 
forth by the FDA under the MQSA of 1992.  
5. Physician qualifications. The physician interpreting the 
mammograms shall be certified by the American Board of 
Radiology, the American Osteopathic Board of Radiology, 
or Board eligible, or equivalent, and shall have had 
specialized training in mammography and image 
interpretation.  
6. Physicist qualifications. The person performing 
evaluation of mammographic system performance in 
accordance with these regulations shall meet the 
requirements set forth in 12VAC5-481-340 C.  
7. Image retention. Clinical images shall be retained for a 
minimum of five years or 10 years if no other clinical 
images are obtained.  
8. Retake rate. Corrective action shall be taken if the retake 
rate exceeds 5.0%. The retake rate shall be calculated as 
(repeated + rejected films)/ total number of clinical films.  
9. Darkroom fog. Darkroom fog levels shall not exceed 
0.05 in optical density when sensitized mammographic 
film of the type used in the facility is exposed to darkroom 
conditions with safelight on for two minutes. Film shall be 
sensitized by exposing it to sufficient light from an 
appropriate intensifying screen or sensitometer so that after 
processing an optical density of at least 1.0 is achieved.  

Facility qualifications. The registrant performing 
mammography shall be accredited by the American College 
of Radiology or another agency recognized as a certifying 
body or have their application pending. The registrant shall 
also be certified by the FDA or another agency recognized as 
an accrediting body under the MQSA of 1992 or have a 
provisional/interim certificate.  

D. Additional state requirements.  

1. When film developing is not available or the patient 
chooses not to wait, the patient shall be notified within two 
business days if another mammogram is necessary. This 
requirement does not imply or require that a diagnostic 
opinion be made at the time of the mammogram. The 
interpreting physician may require that the mammogram be 
retaken if, in the opinion of the physician, the study is of 
inadequate quality.  
2. Agency inspectors may conduct unannounced 
inspections during normal hours of business.  

12VAC5-481-1651. Mammography requirements. 
A. Only x-ray systems, pursuant to the Mammography 

Quality Standards Reauthorization Act of 1998 [ (Public 
Law (Pub.L. ] 105-248) and 21 CFR Part 900, shall be used 
for screening and diagnostic mammography. 

B. A facility performing mammography shall have a valid 
certificate issued by the U.S. Department of Health and 
Human Services, pursuant to the Mammography Quality 
Standards Reauthorization Act of 1998 and 21 CFR Part 900. 

C. A facility performing mammography shall ensure that the 
additional mammography activities of processing the x-ray 
film, interpreting the image, and maintaining viewing 
conditions, wherever performed, meet all quality standards 
pursuant to the Mammography Quality Standards 
Reauthorization Act of 1998 and 21 CFR Part 900. 

D. The operator of the mammography machine shall be 
certified by the American Registry of Radiologic 
Technologists (ARRT) and shall have had specialized training 
in mammography meeting the requirements set forth by the 
U.S. Food and Drug Administration under the Mammography 
Quality Standards Reauthorization Act of 1998. 

E. When film developing is not available or the patient 
chooses not to wait, the patient shall be notified within two 
business days if another mammogram is necessary. This 
requirement does not imply or require that a diagnostic 
opinion be made at the time of the mammogram. The 
interpreting physician may require that the mammogram be 
retaken if, in the opinion of the physician, the study is of 
inadequate quality. 

F. Agency inspectors may conduct unannounced inspections 
during normal business hours. 
12VAC5-481-1653. Hand-held radiographic unit. 

In addition to the applicable provisions found elsewhere in 
this chapter, the following provisions apply to a hand-held 
radiographic unit. 

1. A hand-held radiograph unit shall be: 
a. Certified by the manufacturer pursuant to 21 CFR Part 
803, Medical Device Reporting of the Federal Food and 
Drug Administration Modernization Act of 1997; 21 
USC Chapter 9, Subchapter V, Part C – Electronic 
Product Radiation Control (EPRC) (§ 360hh et seq.) of 
the Federal Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act; and 21 CFR 
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1020.30, Diagnostic x-ray systems and their major 
components. 
b. Registered with the agency in accordance with 
applicable parts of this chapter. 
c. Maintained and operated in accordance with the 
manufacturer's specifications.  

2. For all uses: 
a. Operators of a hand-held radiographic unit shall be 
specifically trained to operate such equipment. 
b. When operating a hand-held radiographic unit, 
operators shall wear dosimetry unless otherwise 
authorized by the agency. 
c. A hand-held radiographic unit shall have the 
backscatter radiation shield in place to protect the 
operator during operation. 
d. The operator shall ensure there are no bystanders 
within a radius of at least six feet from the patient being 
examined with a hand-held radiograph unit. 
e. A hand-held radiographic unit shall not be used in 
hallways or waiting rooms.  

12VAC5-481-1655. Bone densitometry. 
A. A bone densitometry system shall be: 

1. Certified by the manufacturer pursuant to 21 CFR Part 
803, Medical Device Reporting of the Federal Food and 
Drug Administration Modernization Act of 1997; 21 USC 
Chapter 9, Subchapter V, Part C – Electronic Product 
Radiation Control (EPRC) (§ 360hh et seq.) of the Federal 
Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act; and 21 CFR 1020.30, 
Diagnostic x-ray systems and their major components.  
2. Registered with the agency in accordance with 
applicable parts of this chapter. 
3. Maintained and operated in accordance with the 
manufacturer's specifications. 

B. Equipment requirements. A system with stepless 
collimators shall be provided with means to both size and 
align the x-ray field such that the x-ray field at the plane of 
the image receptor does not extend beyond 2.0% of the SID. 

C. Operators of a bone densitometry system shall meet one 
of the following: 

1. Be certified by the American Registry of Radiologic 
Technologists (ARRT);  
2. Be licensed by the Virginia Department of Health 
Professions, Board of Medicine as a radiologic 
technologist or a limited radiologic technologist for bone 
density operation;  
3. Be licensed by the Virginia Department of Health 
Professions, Board of Medicine as a practitioner of the 
healing arts; or 
4. Be in an accredited program for radiologic technology 
and under the supervision of an individual who meets one 

of the criteria listed in [ subdivisions subdivision ] 1, 2, or 
3 of this subsection.  

D. During the operation of any bone densitometry system: 
1. The operator, ancillary personnel, and members of the 
general public shall be positioned at least one meter from 
the patient and bone densitometry system during the 
examination.  
2. The operator shall advise the patient that the bone 
densitometry examination is a type of x-ray procedure. 

E. The registrant shall keep maintenance records for bone 
densitometry systems as prescribed by subdivision A 3 of this 
section. These records shall be maintained for inspection by 
the agency. 

F. Bone densitometry on human patients shall be conducted 
only: 

1. Under a prescription of an individual licensed by the 
Virginia Department of Health Professions, Board of 
Medicine as a practitioner of the healing arts; or 
2. Under a screening program approved by the agency.  

12VAC5-481-1657. Quality assurance program. 
All registrants of diagnostic x-ray imaging equipment may 

be required by the agency to establish and maintain a quality 
assurance program consisting of quality control assessments. 
12VAC5-481-2110. Area requirements.  

A. Radiation Levels. The local components of an analytical 
X-ray x-ray system shall be located and arranged and shall 
include sufficient shielding or access control such that no 
radiation levels exist in any area surrounding the local 
component group that could result in a dose to an individual 
present therein in excess of the dose limits given in 12VAC5-
481-640. For systems utilizing X-ray x-ray tubes, these levels 
shall be met at any specified tube rating.  

B. Surveys.  
1. Radiation surveys, as required by 12VAC5-481-750, of 
all analytical X-ray x-ray systems sufficient to show 
compliance with 12VAC5-481-2440 A shall be performed:  

a. Upon installation of the equipment, and at least once 
every 12 months five years thereafter [ by or under the 
supervision of a private or state inspector who is 
physically present at the facility during the inspection in 
order to assure compliance with this chapter ];  
b. Following any change in the initial arrangement, 
number, or type of local components in the system;  
c. Following any maintenance requiring the disassembly 
or removal of a local component in the system;  
d. During the performance of maintenance and alignment 
procedures if the procedures require the presence of a 
primary X-ray x-ray beam when any local component in 
the system is disassembled or removed;  
e. Any time a visual inspection of the local components 
in the system reveals an abnormal condition; and  
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f. Whenever personnel monitoring devices show a 
significant increase over the previous monitoring period 
or the readings are approaching the limits specified in 
12VAC5-481-630.  

2. Radiation survey measurements shall not be required if a 
registrant (or licensee) can demonstrate compliance with 
subsection A of this section to the satisfaction of the 
agency.  

C. Posting. Each area or room containing analytical X-ray x-
ray equipment shall be conspicuously posted with a sign or 
signs bearing the radiation symbol and the words 
"CAUTION—X-RAY EQUIPMENT" or words having a 
similar intent in accordance with 12VAC5-481-660.  
12VAC5-481-3410. Quality management program.  

The facility shall implement a quality management program. 
The facility shall include in the quality management program 
written notification to the agency within 72 hours of 
discovery of a reportable event or a misadministration, a 
recordable event, and recording written directives.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2412; Filed July 1, 2015, 10:50 a.m.  
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GOVERNOR 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 45 (2015) 

Extension of the Governor's Climate Change and 
Resiliency Update Commission 

Importance of the Issue 

The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration has 
identified some Virginia coastal areas as among the most 
vulnerable to sea level rise in the nation, and the U.S. Navy 
Task Force Climate Change has identified Naval Station 
Norfolk as one of its most endangered installations. The 
Chesapeake Bay is particularly susceptible to damage caused 
by climate change. While Virginia has taken certain steps to 
mitigate the effects of climate change, it is imperative that the 
Commonwealth redouble its efforts in the face of this looming 
problem. 

In 2008, Governor Kaine established the Governor's 
Commission on Climate Change to address these concerns. 
The Commission's final report outlined the impact that 
changing weather conditions have on Virginia's built 
environment, natural systems, and the health of its citizens. 
Among the findings was the decline or disappearance of key 
species of the Chesapeake Bay, increased damage from more 
frequent and severe storms, and the spread of vector born 
diseases like West Nile virus. The report also made over 150 
recommendations to help Virginia adapt to the consequences 
of climate change, as well as reduce Virginia's contributions 
to the problem. 

Extension of the Commission 

On July 1, 2014, I convened the Governor's Climate Change 
and Resiliency Update Commission ("Commission") to 
review, update, and prioritize the recommendations of the 
2008 Climate Change Action Plan. This updated report will 
work to identify sources of revenue to fund the 
implementation of these recommendations. Pursuant to § 2.2-
135(C) of the Code of Virginia, I hereby reissue Executive 
Order Nineteen (2014) as Executive Order Forty-Five (2015), 
and extend the Commission's work for an additional year. 

Composition of the Commission 

The Governor's Climate Change and Resiliency Update 
Commission membership will remain as currently constituted. 

The Governor may appoint any other member(s) deemed 
necessary to carry out the assigned functions of the 
Commission and the members shall serve at his pleasure. 

Staff support for the Commission will be provided by the 
Offices of the Secretary of Natural Resources, the Secretary 
of Public Safety and Homeland Security, the Secretary of 
Transportation, the Secretary of Commerce and Trade, the 
Department of Environmental Quality, the Department of 
Mines, Minerals and Energy, the Office of the Governor, and 
other agencies as may be designated by the Governor. The 

estimated direct cost of the Commission is $5,000. All 
executive branch agencies shall cooperate fully with the 
Commission and provide any assistance necessary, upon 
request of the Commission or its staff. 

Duties of the Commission 

The Commission is charged with conducting an assessment of 
the recommendations from the 2008 Climate Change Action 
Plan. Specifically, the Commission will: 

• Determine which recommendations from the original 
report were implemented; 

• Update and prioritize the recommendations; and, 

• Identify sources of funding to support the implementation 
of the recommendations. 

The Commission shall submit a report with its updated 
recommendations by September 30, 2015. 

Effective Date of the Order 

This Executive Order shall be effective upon its signing and, 
pursuant to §§ 2.2-134 and 2.2-135 of the Code of Virginia, 
shall remain in force and effect for a year or until superseded 
or rescinded. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 
Commonwealth of Virginia, this 1st day of July, 2015. 

/s/ Terence R. McAuliffe 
Governor 
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Rocky Forge Small Wind Energy Project 

The Department of Environmental Quality has received a 
Notice of Intent from Rocky Forge Wind, LLC (Rocky 
Forge), an affiliate of Apex Clean Energy Holdings, LLC. 
Rocky Forge intends to submit the necessary document for a 
permit by rule (PBR) for a small renewable energy project 
(wind) in Botetourt County, Virginia, pursuant to the Small 
Renewable Energy Projects (Wind) Permit By Rule 
regulation (9VAC15-40). 

Rocky Forge is studying the feasibility of constructing and 
operating the Rocky Forge Wind Project (Project), which 
would be located on a remote tract of private property in 
northern Botetourt County. The Project site is ideal for a wind 
project due to the strong wind resource and existing onsite 
transmission line. The Project is likely to consist of 15 to 25 
modern wind turbines, depending upon the turbine model 
selected, with a total project capacity not to exceed 80 MW. 
Rocky Forge is committed to responsibly developing the 
Project and complying with local, state, and federal permit 
standards to ensure the Project is a long-term benefit for both 
Botetourt County and the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4423, FAX 
(804)698-4510, or email mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 
2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Department of Health is 
conducting a periodic review and small business impact 
review of 12VAC5-66, Regulations Governing Durable Do 
Not Resuscitate Orders. 

The review of this regulation will be guided by the principles 
in Executive Order 17 (2014).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 
regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 
current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 
issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 
regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 
safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 
important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 
economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 
with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 
written and easily understandable. 

The comment period begins July 27, 2015, and ends August 
17, 2015. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 
Regulatory Town Hall at 
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 
may also be sent to Michael Berg, Regulation and 
Compliance Manager, Virginia Department of Health, Office 
of Emergency Medical Services, 1001 Technology Park 
Drive, Glen Allen, VA 23059, telephone (804) 888-9131, 
FAX (804) 371-3108, or email 
michael.berg@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 
(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 
to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 
public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 
posted on the Town Hall and a report of the small business 
impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations. 

BOARD OF JUVENILE JUSTICE 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board 
of Juvenile Justice conducted a small business impact review 
of 6VAC35-11, Public Participation Guidelines and 
determined that this regulation should be retained in its 
current form. The Board of Juvenile Justice is publishing its 
report of findings dated June 25, 2015, to support this 
decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of 
Virginia. 

This regulation has no impact on small business.  

1. Section 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia  requires 
each agency subject to the Virginia Administrative Process 
Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) to develop, 
adopt, and use public participation guidelines for soliciting 
the input of interested parties in the formation and 
development of the agency's regulations.  

2. No comments or complaints have been received 
regarding this regulation.  

3. The regulation is not complex and clearly outlines the 
requirements for notice and the timelines for public 
comment.  

4. The regulation duplicates the requirements of the 
Virginia Administrative Process Act. The regulation does 
not conflict with federal or state law or regulation.  

5. The regulation was last reviewed in September of 2008. 
As part of the review process, the department assessed 
whether changes or clarifications were needed. The 
conclusion was reached that no revisions to the regulation 
were necessary and maintaining this regulation is in 
keeping with the requirements of the Administrative 
Process Act. 
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Contact Information: Janet Van Cuyk, Manager, Legislative 
and Research Unit, Department of Juvenile Justice, P.O. Box 
1110, Richmond, VA 23218-1110, telephone (804) 588-3879, 
FAX (804) 371-6490, or email 
janet.vancuyk@djj.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board 
of Juvenile Justice conducted a small business impact review 
of 6VAC35-190, Regulations Governing Juvenile Work 
and Educational Release Programs and determined that this 
regulation should be retained in its current form. The Board 
of Juvenile Justice is publishing its report of findings dated 
June 25, 2015, to support this decision in accordance with 
§ 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

This regulation is intended to have a positive impact on 
juveniles, communities, and small businesses. Allowing 
juveniles to work in communities during their commitment is 
intended to benefit the juvenile and the community by 
facilitating the juvenile's successful reintegration into society. 
The regulation does not place any undue burden on 
businesses. The only regulatory requirement related to 
businesses is the requirement that all federal and state laws 
and regulations including but not limited to those related to 
employment and child labor be followed. All other 
requirements of the regulation are requirements for juveniles 
and department staff.  

1. The regulation is still necessary. Section 66-25.1:3 of the 
Code of Virginia authorizes the board to promulgate 
regulations governing the form and review process of 
agreements entered into by the director or his designee with 
a public or private entity for the operation of work 
programs for juveniles committed to the department. 
Additionally, the board is required to establish rules and 
regulations for work release programs established by the 
director.  

2. No comments or complaints have been received 
regarding this regulation.  

3. The regulation is not complex and clearly outlines the 
eligibility criteria and the requirements for procedures to 
ensure adequate supervision is provided to juveniles 
participating in work and education release programs.  

4. The regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict 
with federal or state law or regulation.  

5. The regulation was last reviewed in September of 2008. 
As part of the review process, the department assessed 
whether any changes or clarifications were needed. The 
conclusion was reached that no revisions to the regulation 
were necessary at this time. Maintaining this regulation is 
important because it provides clear, concise, and consistent 
requirements for work and education release programs for 
department staff and committed juveniles. 

Contact Information: Janet Van Cuyk, Manager, Legislative 
and Research Unit, Department of Juvenile Justice, P.O. Box 
1110, Richmond, VA 23218-1110, telephone (804) 588-3879, 
FAX (804) 371-6490, or email 
janet.vancuyk@djj.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA LOTTERY 

Director's Orders 

The following Director's Orders of the Virginia Lottery were 
filed with the Virginia Registrar of Regulations on June 16, 
2015. The orders may be viewed at the Virginia Lottery, 900 
East Main Street, Richmond, VA, or at the office of the 
Registrar of Regulations, 201 North 9th Street, 2nd Floor, 
Richmond, VA. 

Director's Order Number Seventy (15) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1570 "Spades" Final Rules 
for Game Operation (effective June 22, 2015) 

Director's Order Number Seventy-One (15) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1569 "Triple Your Luck" 
Final Rules for Game Operation (effective June 22, 2015) 

Director's Order Number Seventy-Four (15) 

"Raise the Bar Retailer Incentive Promotion" Virginia Lottery 
Retailer Incentive Program Requirements (This Director's 
Order becomes effective on July 14, 2015, and shall remain in 
full force and effect until ninety (90) days after the conclusion 
of the incentive program, unless otherwise extended by the 
Director) 

Director's Order Number Seventy-Five (15) 

Virginia Lottery's Redskins Champions Club Promotion Final 
Rules for Operation (This Director's Order becomes effective 
on Tuesday, August 4, 2015, and shall remain in full force 
and effect unless amended or rescinded by further Director's 
Order) 

Director's Order Number Ninety-Five (15) 

"Retailer Recruitment Incentive Promotion" Virginia Lottery 
Retailer Incentive Program Requirements (This Director's 
Order becomes effective on July 1, 2015, and shall remain in 
full force and effect until ninety (90) days after the conclusion 
of the Incentive Program, unless otherwise extended by the 
Director) 

Director's Order Number Ninety-Seven (15) 

Virginia Lottery's "Premium Registration Coupon" Final 
Rules for Operation (This Director's Order becomes effective 
nunc pro tunc to Tuesday, June 15, 2015, and shall remain in 
full force and effect unless amended or rescinded by further 
Director's Order) 



General Notices/Errata 

Volume 31, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 27, 2015 

2277 

Director's Order Number Ninety-Eight (15) 

Virginia Lottery's "Social Media Sweepstakes/Contest 
Promotion" Final Rules for Operation (This Director's Order 
becomes effective on July 1, 2015, and shall remain in full 
force and effect effective through December 31, 2015, unless 
amended or rescinded by further Director's Order) 

DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 
2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Department of 
Professional and Occupational Regulation is conducting a 
periodic review and small business impact review of 
18VAC120-11, Public Participation Guidelines. 

The review of this regulation will be guided by the principles 
in Executive Order 17 (2014).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 
regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 
current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 
issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 
regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 
safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 
important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 
economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 
with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 
written and easily understandable. 

The comment period begins July 27, 2015, and ends August 
17, 2015. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 
Regulatory Town Hall at 
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 
may also be sent to Mark N. Courtney, Senior Director, 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 
telephone (804) 367-8500, FAX (804) 527-4403, or email 
mark.courtney@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 
(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 
to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 
public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 
posted on the Town Hall and a report of the small business 
impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the State 
Water Control Board conducted a small business impact 

review of 9VAC25-220, Surface Water Management Area 
Regulation and determined that this regulation should be 
retained in its current form. The State Water Control Board is 
publishing its report of findings dated June 17, 2015, to 
support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the 
Code of Virginia. 

This regulation continues to be needed. It establishes 
requirements for the use of surface water in surface water 
management areas, including reporting requirements from 
those withdrawing surface water and when a permit is or is 
not required. Surface water withdrawals need to be regulated 
to prevent negative impacts from occurring due to the over 
withdrawal of surface water. No comments were received 
during the public comment period.  

The regulation is written to clearly describe the requirements 
within surface water management areas. The regulations in 
9VAC25-220-70 B exclude certain scenarios from being 
required to obtain a permit. One of these exclusions is not 
requiring a permit for a surface water withdrawal of less than 
300,000 gallons in any single month. Depending on the type 
of small business, this provision may exempt small 
businesses from being required to obtain a permit, while a 
larger business competing with the small business may be 
required to obtain a permit. This would provide the small 
businesses with some regulatory relief since their withdrawal 
would have a smaller impact on the environment.  

This regulation is a state-only regulation and there is no 
equivalent federal regulation. This regulation is part of a 
series of regulations utilized by the State Water Control 
Board to protect water in the Commonwealth. The Surface 
Water Management Area Regulation is closely related to the 
Virginia Water Protection Permit Program Regulation 
(9VAC25-210) since both regulate impacts to surface waters. 
The Surface Water Management Area Regulation however 
specifically addresses surface water withdrawals regulated 
under the Surface Water Management Act of 1989. The 
Water Withdrawal Reporting regulation (9VAC25-200) 
requires withdrawers of surface water (and groundwater) to 
report monthly and annual withdrawals of water. Collectively 
the regulations adopted by the State Water Control Board 
protect state waters including surface waters, and regulating 
withdrawals of surface water within surface water 
management areas plays a role in protecting surface waters 
from impacts caused from the withdrawals. 

The regulation was last amended in 2013 in response to 
Chapter 348 of the 2013 Acts of Assembly. Prior to that, the 
regulation was amended in 2000 in response to an act of the 
1999 General Assembly. In recent years technology has 
improved the monitoring of surface water levels and flows, 
and more accurate information concerning surface water 
availability has been available to assist with making decisions 
concerning the use of surface water. This is important since 
both groundwater and surface water withdrawals are used to 
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meet water supply demands and the supply of groundwater 
available is decreasing, which will potentially impact demand 
for surface water withdrawals.  

The department has determined that the regulation should be 
retained. The department plans to recommend making minor 
revisions to the regulation to the State Water Control Board in 
the near future. These changes will update the citations in the 
regulation. 

Contact Information: Melissa Porterfield, Office of 
Regulatory Affairs, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, 
telephone (804) 698-4238, FAX (804) 698-4019, or email 
melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

Total Maximum Daily Loads for the Lower 
Chickahominy River and its Tributaries in New Kent, 

Charles City, and James City Counties 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) seeks 
written and oral comments from interested persons on the 
development of total maximum daily loads (TMDLs) for the 
Lower Chickahominy River and its tributaries in New Kent, 
Charles City, and James City Counties. These streams are 
listed on the § 303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report as 
impaired due to violations of the state's water quality 
standards for bacteria for recreation use.  

Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C 
of the State Water Control Law (§ 62.1-44.2 et seq. of the 
Code of Virginia) require the DEQ to develop TMDLs for 
pollutants responsible for each impaired water contained in 
Virginia's § 303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report.  

Waterbodies identified for TMDL development include the 
following:  

Stream Impairment Location 

Beaverdam Creek 
and 

Recreation use 
(bacteria) 

New Kent County 
XAH-Beaverdam 

Creek, UT 

Diascund Creek New Kent and James 
City Counties 

Mill Creek James City County 

Barrows Creek Charles City County 

Chickahominy 
River 

Charles City, James 
City, New Kent 

Counties 

Gordon Creek James City County 

The first public meeting on the development of the TMDL to 
address the recreation impairment for these segments will be 
held on Tuesday, July 28, 2015, at 10:30 a.m. at the Heritage 
Public Library located at 6215 D Chesapeake Circle, New 
Kent, VA 23124. 

The public comment period begins July 29, 2015, and ends 
August 27, 2015. 

An advisory committee to assist in development of this 
TMDL will be established. Persons interested in assisting 
should notify the DEQ contact person listed below by the end 
of the comment period and provide name, address, phone 
number, email address, and the organization being 
represented, if any. Notification of the composition of the 
panel will be sent to all applicants.  

A component of a TMDL is the wasteload allocation (WLA); 
therefore, this notice is provided pursuant to § 2.2-4006 A 14 
of the Administrative Process Act for any future adoption of 
the TMDL WLAs. Information on the development of the 
TMDLs for the impairments is available upon request. 
Questions, information requests, and written comments 
should be addressed to Margaret Smigo, 4949 Cox Road, 
Glen Allen, VA 23060, telephone (804) 527-5124, or email 
margaret.smigo@deq.virginia.gov. Please note all written 
comments should include the name, address, and telephone 
number of the person submitting the comments.  

Total Maximum Daily Loads for North Fork Catoctin 
Creek in Loudoun County 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) seeks 
written and oral comments from interested persons on the 
draft stressor identification analysis in support of the 
development of total maximum daily loads (TMDLs) for 
North Fork Catoctin Creek in Loudoun County. Two 
segments of the stream are listed on the Draft 2014 § 303(d) 
TMDL Priority List and Report as impaired due to violations 
of the state's water quality standards for the aquatic life use 
due to poor health of the benthic macroinvertebrate 
communities. 

Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C 
of the State Water Control Law require DEQ to develop 
TMDLs for pollutants responsible for each impaired water 
contained in Virginia's § 303(d) TMDL Priority List and 
Report. 

Stream 
Name Location Length 

(miles) Upstream Limit Downstream 
Limit 

North 
Fork 

Catoctin 
Creek 

Loudoun 
County 4.42 

Unnamed 
tributary, 

located ~0.15 
mile 

downstream of 
Route 287 

Catoctin Creek 

North 
Fork 

Catoctin 
Creek 

Loudoun 
County 2.54 

Unnamed 
tributary, 

located ~0.75 
mile upstream 
of Route 719 

Impoundment 
(Godfrey Pond) 

The first public meeting will focus on the results of the draft 
stressor identification analysis, which identifies the stressors 
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to the benthic communities in the North Fork Catoctin Creek 
watershed. The meeting will be held on Monday, August 3, 
2015, 6 p.m., Purcellville Library, Robey Meeting Room, 
220 East Main Street, Purcellville, VA 20132. 

In case of inclement weather, the alternate meeting date is 
Monday, August 10, 2015, 6 p.m., Purcellville Library, 
Robey Meeting Room, 220 East Main Street, Purcellville, VA 
20132. 

The public comment period begins August 3, 2015, and ends 
September 2, 2015. 

An advisory committee to assist in development of this 
TMDL was convened on May 20, 2015. A component of a 
TMDL is the wasteload allocations (WLAs); therefore, this 
notice is provided pursuant to § 2.2-4006 A 14 of the 
Administrative Process Act for any future adoption of the 
TMDL's associated WLAs. 

Information on the development of the TMDLs for the 
impairments is available upon request. Questions or 
information requests should be addressed to the DEQ contact 
person listed below. Please note, all written comments should 
include the name, address, and telephone number of the 
person submitting the comments and should be sent to 
Jennifer Carlson, Department of Environmental Quality, 
13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, telephone 
(703) 583-3859, or email jennifer.carlson@deq.virginia.gov. 

Notice of Final Public Meeting for the Development 
of a TMDL Implementation Plan for Upper Rapidan 

River Watersheds: Garth Run, Rippin Run, Blue 
Run, Marsh Run, Beautiful Run, Poplar Run, 

Unnamed Tributaries to the Rapidan River, and the 
Rapidan River in Madison, Greene, Orange, and 

Albemarle Counties 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) 
will host a public meeting on a water quality study for Garth 
Run, Rippin Run, Blue Run, Marsh Run, Beautiful Run, 
Poplar Run, unnamed tributaries to the Rapidan River, and 
the Rapidan River on August 13, 2015. 

The meeting will start at 6 p.m. and will be held at James 
Madison's Montpelier in Lewis Hall, located at 
13384 Laundry Road, Montpelier Station, VA 22957. The 
purpose of the meeting is to present the draft Upper Rapidan 
Implementation Plan to interested local community members 
and government staff. 

The waters listed for this study were identified in Virginia's 
Water Quality Assessment Integrated Report as impaired for 
not supporting the E.coli bacteria criteria for recreational 
uses. The impairments are based on water quality monitoring 
data reports of sufficient exceedences of Virginia's water 
quality standard for bacteria. A draft implementation plan (IP) 
has been developed by DEQ in order to identify measurable 
goals for restoring water quality. The draft IP also includes 

corrective actions needed and their associated costs, benefits, 
and environmental impacts. Please see the link below for 
information presented during the first public meeting and 
working group meetings: 
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityIn
formationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLImplementation/TMDLImpl
ementationProgress.aspx 

The implementation plan has been under development for the 
last six months and has included a series of local meetings 
and input from local citizens and government agencies. A 
copy of the draft can be found at the link listed above the day 
after the public meeting. 

The public comment period on materials presented at this 
meeting begins August 13, 2015, through September 14, 
2015. For additional information or to submit comments, 
contact May Sligh, Department of Environmental Quality, 
Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, 
VA 22193, telephone (804) 450-3802, or email 
may.sligh@deq.virginia.gov. 

Additional information is also available on the DEQ website 
at www.deq.virginia.gov/tmdl 

Notice of 30-day Public Comment Period on the 
Draft List of Impaired Waters Prioritized for TMDL or 

TMDL Alternative Development for 2016-2022 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) seeks 
written or electronic comments from interested persons on the 
draft list of impaired waters prioritized for total maximum 
daily load (TMDL) or TMDL alternative development 
throughout 2016-2022. The public comment period begins 
July 27, 2015, and ends August 26, 2015. Please note that all 
written comments should include the name, address, and 
telephone number of the person submitting the comments. 
DEQ will hold a public meeting to address and discuss the 
draft list of impaired waters prioritized for TMDL or TMDL 
alternative development if there is sufficient interest from the 
public. For more information or to submit written or 
electronic comments, please contact Will Isenberg, 
Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4228, or email 
william.isenberg@deq.virginia.gov. 

DEQ is implementing the national § 303(d) Vision, which 
facilitates the prioritization of impaired waters for TMDL or 
TMDL alternative development throughout 2016-2022. While 
the national § 303(d) Vision involves prioritizing impaired 
waters for TMDL or TMDL alternative development, DEQ 
took this opportunity to also prioritize impaired waters that 
require a stressor analysis report or a natural conditions 
report. TMDLs or TMDL alternatives are reports that outline 
necessary reductions in pollutant or pollution loads in order to 
restore water quality. In some cases, stressor analyses must be 
conducted prior to any restoration plan development due to 
the uncertain causes of water quality impairment. These 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLImplementation/TMDLImplementationProgress.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLImplementation/TMDLImplementationProgress.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLImplementation/TMDLImplementationProgress.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/tmdl
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL.aspx
http://water.epa.gov/lawsregs/lawsguidance/cwa/tmdl/programvision.cfm
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reports analyze water quality data to determine what the most 
probable stressors are that contribute to the impaired status of 
the water. In other cases where either a stressor analysis or a 
watershed characteristic suggests that the impaired status of 
the water is due more to natural conditions than human 
activity, a natural conditions report is conducted. 

Before finalizing the list of prioritized impaired waters, DEQ 
is seeking comments from the public on this draft list of 
priorities. DEQ will hold a public meeting to address and 
discuss the draft priorities list if there is sufficient interest 
from the public. Once all of the comments have been 
addressed following the 30-day public comment period, DEQ 
will finalize the 2016-2022 priorities list and post it on DEQ 
TMDL program webpage. The final list will also be published 
in the 2016, 2018, and 2020 biennial § 305(b)/303(d) 
Integrated Reports, where it will be available for additional 
public comment under the comment period for the entire 
Integrated Report.  

External links to priorities information 

1. Description of the Process for Prioritizing Impaired 
Waters 

2. Maps of Draft Two Year Targets (2016-2017) 

3. List of Draft Two Year Targets (2016-2017) 

4. Map of Draft 2016-2022 Priority Waters and Watersheds 

5. Summary of Draft 2016-2022 Priorities 

6. Draft List of 2016-2022 Priority Waters by City/County 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 
Commission, General Assembly Building, 201 North 9th 
Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: Voice 
(804) 786-3591; Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 
requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 
websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 
http://www.virginia.gov/connect/commonwealth-calendar. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 
Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 
regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 
repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 
regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 
the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 
available at 
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 
System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 
Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 
Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 
Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 
complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 
regulatory information. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/WaterQualityAssessments.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/WaterQualityAssessments.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Portals/0/DEQ/Water/TMDL/Priorities/PN/1-PrioritiesProcess.pdf
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Portals/0/DEQ/Water/TMDL/Priorities/PN/1-PrioritiesProcess.pdf
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Portals/0/DEQ/Water/TMDL/Priorities/PN/2-Two_Year_draft_targets_map.pdf
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Portals/0/DEQ/Water/TMDL/Priorities/PN/3-Two_Year_Draft_Targets_2016-2017.pdf
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Portals/0/DEQ/Water/TMDL/Priorities/PN/4-2016-22_draft_priorities_map.pdf
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Portals/0/DEQ/Water/TMDL/Priorities/PN/5-Summary_of_2016-22_Draft_Priority_Waters.pdf
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Portals/0/DEQ/Water/TMDL/Priorities/PN/6-2016-22_draft_Priorities-city_county.pdf
http://www.virginia.gov/connect/commonwealth-calendar
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
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