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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 

publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 

days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 

necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 

clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 

comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 

to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 

completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 

comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 

than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 

period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 

appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 

may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 

objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 

will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 

by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 

with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 

Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 

substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 

30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 

public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 

receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 

comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 

inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 

certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 

process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 

provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 

objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 

consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 

Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 

emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 

regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 

law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 

days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 

operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 

unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 

more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 

months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 

Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 

procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 

agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 

Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 

regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 

180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 

chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 

prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

29:5 VA.R. 1075-1192 November 5, 2012, refers to Volume 29, Issue 

5, pages 1075 through 1192 of the Virginia Register issued on  

November 5, 2012. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

James M. LeMunyon, Vice Chair, Gregory D. Habeeb; Ryan T. 

McDougle; Pamela S. Baskervill; Robert L. Calhoun; Carlos L. 

Hopkins; E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; Christopher R. 

Nolen; Timothy Oksman; Charles S. Sharp; Robert L. Tavenner. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 

Karen Perrine, Assistant Registrar; Anne Bloomsburg, Regulations 
Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Operations 

Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

September 2015 through October 2016 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

32:1 August 19, 2015 September 7, 2015 

32:2 September 2, 2015 September 21, 2015 

32:3 September 16, 2015 October 5, 2015 

32:4 September 30, 2015 October 19, 2015 

32:5 October 14, 2015 November 2, 2015 

32:6 October 28, 2015 November 16, 2015 

32:7 November 10, 2015 (Tuesday) November 30, 2015 

32:8 November 24, 2015 (Tuesday) December 14, 2015 

32:9 December 9, 2015 December 28, 2015 

32:10 December 21, 2015 (Monday) January 11, 2016 

32:11 January 6, 2016 January 25, 2016 

32:12 January 20, 2016 February 8, 2016 

32:13 February 3, 2016 February 22, 2016 

32:14 February 17, 2016 March 7, 2016 

32:15 March 2, 2016 March 21, 2016 

32:16 March 16, 2016 April 4, 2016 

32:17 March 30, 2016 April 18, 2016 

32:18 April 13, 2016 May 2, 2016 

32:19 April 27, 2016 May 16, 2016 

32:20 May 11, 2016 May 30, 2016 

32:21 May 25, 2016 June 13, 2016 

32:22 June 8, 2016 June 27, 2016 

32:23 June 22, 2016 July 11, 2016 

32:24 July 6, 2016 July 25, 2016 

32:25 July 20, 2016 August 8, 2016 

32:26 August 3, 2016 August 22, 2016 

33:1 August 17, 2016 September 5, 2016 

33:2 August 31, 2016 September 19, 2016 

33:3 September 14, 2016 October 3, 2016 

33:4 September 28, 2016 October 17, 2016 

33:5 October 12, 2016 October 31, 2016 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Medical Assistance 

Services intends to consider promulgating 12VAC30-121, 

Medicare-Medicaid Demonstration Waivers and amending 

12VAC30-50, Amount, Duration, and Scope of Medical 

and Remedial Care Services. The purpose of the proposed 

action is to create the Commonwealth Coordinated Care 

program, which enables individuals who are eligible for both 

Medicare and Medicaid services (dual eligibles) to receive 

acute, primary, and long-term care services in a coordinated 

managed care system. 

The dual eligible population is of particular interest for a 

managed care program because the participants represent 

some of the most vulnerable citizens who typically have 

extensive medical, behavioral health, social, and long-term 

care needs. In the Commonwealth, dual eligibles are currently 

excluded from managed care because Medicare, being their 

first payer of services, covers their acute care services. Also, 

managed care organizations did not originally cover long-

term care services (neither nursing facility services nor home 

and community-based services). These dual eligible persons 

have been receiving acute and long-term care services in 

Medicaid's fee-for-service system.  

As a result of being in the fee-for-service system, no single 

health care provider or entity is responsible for coordinating 

all of these individuals' care, resulting in an inefficient system 

that is cumbersome for the individuals with misaligned 

benefit structures and opportunities for cost shifting. This 

system has likely led to unnecessary hospital admissions, 

unnecessary use of nursing facilities, and the mismanagement 

of medications.  

Integrating primary and acute care services with long-term 

care and behavioral health services into one delivery system 

will streamline the delivery of services by offering ongoing 

access to quality health and long-term care services, care 

coordination, and referrals to appropriate community 

resources. This will also empower the Commonwealth's full 

dual eligible beneficiaries to remain independent, residing in 

settings of their choice for as long as possible. 

The Social Security Act (§ 1932(a)) permits the combining of 

Medicare and Medicaid services to dual eligible individuals 

under the authority of a Financial Administration 

Demonstration Waiver. The goal of this action is to provide 

integrated care to dual eligible individuals who are currently 

excluded from participating in managed care programs. This 

change will enable these participants to access their primary, 

acute, behavioral health, and long-term care services through 

a single managed delivery system, thereby increasing the 

coordination of services across the spectrum of care. 

Commonwealth Coordinated Care (CCC) Program 

participants will include adult full benefit dual eligible 

individuals (ages 21 and older), including full benefit dual 

eligible individuals in the Elderly or Disabled with Consumer 

Direction (EDCD) Waiver and full benefit dual eligible 

individuals residing in nursing facilities. Individuals who are 

required to "spend down" income in order to meet Medicaid 

eligibility requirements will not be eligible. The CCC 

Program also will not include individuals for whom DMAS 

only pays a limited amount each month toward their cost of 

care (e.g., deductibles only) such as: (i) qualified Medicare 

beneficiaries (QMBs); (ii) special low income Medicare 

beneficiaries (SLMBs); (iii) qualified disabled working 

individuals (QDWIs); or (iv) qualified individuals (QIs).  

The proposed regulatory action will allow DMAS to combine 

certain aspects of managed care, long-term care, and 

Medicare into one program. The program is expected to offer 

participants care coordination, which will, it is anticipated, 

improve their quality of care. To accomplish this, DMAS is 

including certain populations and certain services previously 

excluded from managed care into a new managed care 

program. This new managed care program is being offered on 

a voluntary basis in five regions of the Commonwealth: 

Central Virginia, Tidewater, Northern Virginia, 

Charlottesville/Western, and the Roanoke region. The 

program has been phased in on a regional basis over the first 

12 months of the program, starting with the Central Virginia 

and Tidewater regions. Eligible individuals were notified of 

the opportunity to enroll during March 2014 and the first 

opportunity for enrollment was effective on April 1, 2014. 

The remaining three regions were phased in later in 2014. 

Covered services will include the following:  

1. All Medicare Parts A, B, and D services (including 

inpatient, outpatient, durable medical equipment (DME), 

skilled nursing facilities (NFs), home health, and pharmacy); 

2. The majority of Medicaid State Plan services that are not 

covered by Medicare, including behavioral health and 

transportation services; 

3. Medicaid-covered EDCD Waiver services: adult day health 

care, personal care (consumer and agency directed), respite 

services (consumer and agency directed), personal emergency 

response system (PERS), transition coordination, and 

transition services;  

4. Personal care services for persons enrolled in the Medicaid 

Works program; 

5. Nursing facility services; and 

6. Flexible benefits that will be at the option of participating 

plans. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  
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Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

§§ 1932 and 1915(c) of the Social Security Act. 

Public Comment Deadline: October 7, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Matthew Behrens, Project Manager, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 

Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

625-3673, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

matthew.behrens@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-3786; Filed August 10, 2015, 8:46 a.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Medical Assistance 

Services intends to consider amending 12VAC30-141, 

Family Access to Medical Insurance Security Plan. The 

purpose of the proposed action is to grant eligibility to 

applicable qualified state employees or their dependents who 

are otherwise eligible to enroll in the FAMIS MOMs program 

to be enrolled in the program. Current regulations exclude 

state employees who have access to subsidized health 

insurance coverage from enrolling in the FAMIS MOMS 

program, even if they are otherwise eligible by income and 

residency. This amendment will only affect state employees 

who are qualified for employer-sponsored health insurance; 

wage employees are not eligible to receive a state 

contribution toward the cost of their health coverage.  

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-351 of the Code of Virginia; Title 

XXI of the Social Security Act. 

Public Comment Deadline: October 7, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4365; Filed August 10, 2015, 7:49 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

VIRGINIA BOARD FOR ASBESTOS, LEAD, AND 
HOME INSPECTORS 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Virginia Board for Asbestos, 

Lead, and Home Inspectors intends to consider amending 

18VAC15-40, Virginia Certified Home Inspectors 

Regulations. The certified home inspector program is a 

voluntary regulatory program administered by the Board for 

Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors. Chapter 411 of the 

2015 Acts of Assembly requires anyone who conducts a 

home inspection on a new residential structure to be certified 

by the board and to have successfully completed a training 

module developed by the board in conjunction with the 

Department of Housing and Community Development. The 

training module must be based on the International 

Residential Code component of the Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code. Certification would become 

mandatory for those individuals who wish to conduct a home 

inspection on new residential structures. The board is required 

to develop regulation to implement Chapter 411 of the 2015 

Acts of Assembly for implementation on July 1, 2016. The 

act further requires the board to develop the training module 

prior to July 1, 2016, and make such training module 

available for use in accordance with Chapter 411. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-501 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: October 7, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Trisha L. Henshaw, Executive Director, 

Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 

telephone (804) 367-8595, FAX (804) 350-5354, or email 

alhi@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4423; Filed August 17, 2015, 10:43 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Social Services 

has WITHDRAWN the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

for 22VAC40-185, Standards for Licensed Child Day 

Centers, and 22VAC40-186, Standards for Licensed Child 

Day Centers, which was published in 29:3 VA.R. 341 

October 8, 2012. 

Agency Contact: Debra O'Neill, Child Care Consultant, 

Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7648, FAX (804) 

726-7132, or email debra.oneill@dss.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3376; Filed August 19, 2015, 3:45 p.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Social Services 

intends to consider amending 22VAC40-295, Temporary 

Assistance for Needy Families (TANF). The current 

regulation describes fair hearings and administrative 

disqualification hearings. While those are different types of 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol29/iss03/v29i03.pdf
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol29/iss03/v29i03.pdf
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hearings, the current regulation can be interpreted as meaning 

fair hearings and administrative disqualification hearings are 

the same. The agency proposes amending 22VAC40-295-140 

to provide further clarification regarding the interplay 

between the two hearing processes and eliminate the 

misunderstanding about these separate processes.  

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: October 7, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Bridget Shelmet, Department of Social 

Services, 801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 726-7144, FAX (804) 726-7357, or email 

bridget.shelmet@dss.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4443; Filed August 9, 2015, 10:07 a.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

DEPARTMENT OF GENERAL SERVICES 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 1VAC30-45. Certification for 

Noncommercial Environmental Laboratories (amending 

1VAC30-45-10, 1VAC30-45-30 through 1VAC30-45-130, 

1VAC30-45-300 through 1VAC30-45-400, 1VAC30-45-

500, 1VAC30-45-510, 1VAC30-45-520, 1VAC30-45-600, 

1VAC30-45-610, 1VAC30-45-660, 1VAC30-45-670, 

1VAC30-45-720 through 1VAC30-45-771, 1VAC30-45-

775, 1VAC30-45-791, 1VAC30-45-796, 1VAC30-45-798, 

1VAC30-45-811, 1VAC30-45-850; adding 1VAC30-45-95; 

repealing 1VAC30-45-530, 1VAC30-45-780 through 

1VAC30-45-788, 1VAC30-45-800 through 1VAC30-45-

808, 1VAC30-45-820 through 1VAC30-45-829).  

Statutory Authority: § 2.2-1105 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: November 6, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Rhonda Bishton, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of General Services, 1100 Bank Street, Suite 420, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-3311, FAX (804) 

371-8305, or email rhonda.bishton@dgs.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 2.2-1102 A 1 of the Code of Virginia 

authorizes the Department of General Services (DGS) to 

prescribe regulations necessary or incidental to the 

performance of the department's duties or execution of 

powers conferred by the Code of Virginia. 

Section 2.2-1105 A of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

Division of Consolidated Laboratory Services (DCLS) to 

establish and conduct a program for the certification of 

laboratories conducting any tests, analyses, measurements, or 

monitoring required pursuant to the Air Pollution Control 

Law (§ 10.1-1300 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), the 

Virginia Waste Management Act (§ 10.1-1400 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia), or the State Water Control Law (§ 62.1-

44.2 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Section 2.2-1105 C of 

the Code of Virginia authorizes DCLS to establish a fee 

system to pay for the costs of the certification program. 

Purpose: Environmental laboratories are required by § 2.2-

1105 of the Code of Virginia to be certified before submitting 

data to the Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) 

under Virginia's air, water, and waste laws and regulations. 

This statutory requirement is carried out by DCLS under the 

regulatory requirements of 1VAC30-45 (noncommercial 

laboratories) and 1VAC30-46 (commercial laboratories). 

Certifying environmental laboratories to a single set of 

standards has several benefits. Certification promotes 

continuous quality improvement. Certification gives 

confidence that work is performed properly and to a known 

standard. Under the certification program, assurance is 

provided that all environmental laboratories meet the same 

proficiency testing and quality assurance and quality control 

standards. Meeting these standards ensures that the 

laboratories have the ability to produce environmental test 

data of known quality and defensibility for levels of 

pollutants in environmental samples. The limits set by DEQ 

for air and water pollutants and for solid and hazardous waste 

help protect our environment and public health. Laboratory 

measurements of environmental samples determine 

compliance with Virginia's environmental laws and therefore 

are the key to providing protection of public health and 

welfare. Certifying laboratories to one standard reduces the 

uncertainties associated with decisions made by the 

regulatory agencies that affect the protection of human health 

and the environment. 

Current fees charged under the program are insufficient to 

support the program as required by § 2.2-1105 C of the Code 

of Virginia. The current fees are inadequate for three reasons. 

First, the fees were set initially using an estimate of the 

number of laboratories to be certified that was too high. 

Second, the program fees were established in 2004 and do not 

account for inflation in the intervening years. Third, the fee 

structure does not take into account the variety and amount of 

testing done by the laboratories that DCLS certifies. 

The original estimate of laboratories that would be covered by 

the program was based on limited information provided by 

DEQ and other sources. Using this information, DCLS 

estimated the number of in-house and commercial 

laboratories that were serving DEQ permit holders. This 

estimate proved to be too high and the resulting fees, based 

on these estimates, are too low. The revised fees are based on 

the number of laboratories currently certified under the 

program. 

The current fee provisions do not include a factor for 

inflation. The fees were proposed in 2004 in regulations that 

did not become final until 2009. The cost of living has 

increased by approximately 20% since 2004. The revised fees 

have been adjusted to account for this increase in the cost of 

living. 

The current fee provisions do not take into account the range 

of testing and the variety of testing done by the certified 
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laboratories. This results in fees that do not mirror the scope 

of the laboratory testing. The work performed by DCLS to 

certify a laboratory is directly related to the number of test 

methods performed and the number of matrices tested by the 

laboratory. The revised fee structure accounts for these 

differences. The revised fees are adjusted in proportion to the 

number of test methods a laboratory performs and for the 

number of matrices tested. 

The agency has gained operational experience through 

certifying laboratories since January 2009. The proposed 

action revises the procedures used to certify the laboratories, 

eliminating provisions that no longer apply and revising some 

provisions to make the program more efficient. This includes 

the addition of procedures to suspend laboratory certification. 

Suspension is a benefit to the laboratory that may otherwise 

have its certification withdrawn. 

Noncommercial environmental laboratories perform 

proficiency tests quite well. During a 31-month period (2010, 

2011, and the first nine months of 2012), these laboratories 

had a 95.79% success rate. Through this experience DCLS 

has determined that reducing the annual requirement for two 

proficiency test studies for each field of certification to one 

proficiency test study will reduce the cost of the program for 

the laboratories and for the agency without reducing the 

benefit gained from the certification program. 

The current regulation contains requirements for laboratories 

that perform toxicity, asbestos, or radiochemical testing. No 

current noncommercial environmental laboratory performs 

these specialized types of tests. DCLS is removing these 

requirements in this proposal for this reason. Only those 

requirements pertinent to noncommercial laboratories should 

be included in the regulation. The proposal does stipulate that 

if a noncommercial environmental laboratory decides to 

perform one or more of these types of tests, the laboratory 

would have to meet the requirements for these types of testing 

that are set out in the 2009 TNI Standards incorporated by 

reference into proposed 1VAC30-46. These laboratories 

would also need to pay the test category fees for these types 

of testing as set out in proposed 1VAC30-46. 

The quality control requirements that are part of Article 4 

(1VAC30-45-600 et seq.) in the current regulation are based 

on the 2003 NELAC standards. The NELAC Institute (TNI) 

has revised the 2003 standards and now requires TNI-

accredited laboratories to meet the 2009 standards. The 2009 

TNI Standards have eliminated or increased flexibility for a 

number of these quality control requirements. DCLS is 

proposing in a separate rulemaking (1VAC30-46) that 

commercial environmental laboratories meet the 2009 TNI 

Standards. Where TNI has revised these provisions to make 

them more flexible or has eliminated requirements, this 

proposed action does the same so that the noncommercial 

laboratories will not be required to meet standards more 

stringent than the commercial laboratories. 

Substance: The substantive revisions to 1VAC30-45 are listed 

below. 

1. 1VAC30-45-40. The definition of "environmental 

analysis" includes two exceptions that DCLS has 

previously made through guidance.  

2. 1VAC30-45-70 B. The procedures pertinent to the 

initial certification period are deleted. The initial 

certification period was established as January 1, 2009, to 

January 1, 2012, when DCLS certified environmental 

laboratories for the first time. Because DCLS has 

completed the initial certification of noncommercial 

environmental laboratories, these provisions no longer 

apply. 

3. 1VAC30-45-70 C. The requirement for laboratories to 

file an application for renewal every other year is deleted. 

Renewal can be done efficiently without an additional 

application process.  

4. 1VAC30-45-95. A new section pertaining to 

suspension is added. Suspension provides the laboratory 

an opportunity to correct a problem that would ordinarily 

cause the agency to withdraw certification from the 

laboratory. This section sets out the procedures used to 

suspend laboratory certification in part or in total. DCLS 

also may provide extra time under these provisions for a 

lab to correct deficiencies before suspension occurs.  

5. 1VAC30-45-110. The procedures to deny or withdraw 

certification are revised. The notification procedures are 

revised to be more explicit. The appeal process 

provisions are simplified, referring only to the 

Administrative Process Act.  

6. 1VAC30-45-130. The current fees are replaced by a 

system and new fees that reflect the current costs of the 

program. The revised fees account for inflation since 

2004. Revised fees represent more closely the cost of 

certifying each laboratory. These fees take into account 

the number of test methods and the number of matrices 

for which the laboratory seeks or maintains certification. 

The cost of certifying a laboratory is directly proportional 

to the number of methods and matrices to be certified.  

7. 1VAC30-45-500 through 1VAC30-45-520. The 

requirement for two successful proficiency test studies 

every year is replaced by a requirement for one 

successful proficiency test study per year for each field 

of certification. A laboratory may participate in a second 

proficiency test study if the first test is unsuccessful. The 

revision to the proficiency test requirements includes 

revised procedures.  

8. 1VAC30-45-530. The specific requirements for 

aquatic toxicity proficiency testing are deleted. 

Noncommercial environmental laboratories currently 

certified under the program do not perform this type of 

testing because it is specialized.  
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9. 1VAC30-45-750 B, 1VAC30-45-780 through 

1VAC30-45-789, 1VAC30-45-800 through 1VAC30-45-

809, and 1VAC30-45-819 through 1VAC30-45-840. The 

quality control requirements for toxicity, radiochemical, 

and asbestos testing are deleted. These types of testing 

are not performed by noncommercial environmental 

laboratories currently certified under the program 

because this testing is specialized. If a noncommercial 

laboratory wishes to become certified for one or more of 

these types of testing, the laboratory will be required to 

meet the 2009 TNI Standards requirements for toxicity, 

radiochemical, and asbestos testing. 

10. Over 20 provisions in Article 4, the quality system 

standards, have been deleted, relaxed, or made more 

flexible. These provisions were revised to ensure that 

they are no more stringent than the accreditation 

standards for commercial laboratories. DCLS is 

proposing in a separate rulemaking to accredit 

commercial laboratories to the requirements of the 2009 

TNI Standards replacing the currently used 2003 NELAC 

Standards. These changes are a result of the change to the 

2009 TNI Standards for commercial laboratories. 

Issues: The advantage to the general public is the 

maintenance of up-to-date standards for the certification of 

noncommercial environmental laboratories. There are no 

disadvantages to the public. 

There are two primary reasons this action is necessary for 

DCLS and the Commonwealth. First the revisions to 

1VAC30-45 modify or reduce the program's administrative 

requirements making the program more efficient to operate. 

Second charging the revised fees will enable the agency to 

cover the cost of the certification program. There are no 

disadvantages to the agency or Commonwealth. 

There are a number of advantages for the environmental 

laboratories certified under 1VAC30-45. Many of these 

proposed revisions reduce the costs for the noncommercial 

laboratories. The main examples of the revisions that reduce 

cost for the laboratories are described below. 

The proposed action drops the requirement to perform 

proficiency test studies from two to one each year for each 

field of certification. Noncommercial environmental 

laboratory costs will drop as a result. In some cases this 

reduced requirement may offset the increase in fees proposed 

in this action. The noncommercial laboratories have 

demonstrated a high success rate in the performance of 

proficiency tests. These laboratories have often asked that the 

proficiency test study requirement be limited to one 

proficiency test. DCLS believes reducing the requirement 

from two to one proficiency test each year will not have a 

negative effect on the efficacy of the program. 

The noncommercial laboratories will also benefit from the 

changes to the quality system standards. These revisions 

delete or relax standards or provide flexibility in meeting the 

standards. These changes reduce the costs of certification for 

the laboratories. 

The primary disadvantage of the proposed action for the 

affected laboratories is the increase in fees. The fee structure 

is revised to reflect the actual cost to the agency of certifying 

each laboratory. The fees are increased generally and will be 

charged annually rather than every other year. The increase in 

fees should be offset by the reduction in the proficiency test 

requirement. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Division of Consolidated Laboratory Services (DCLS) 

proposes to amend its regulations that govern certification of 

noncommercial environmental laboratories. Current 

regulations were initially proposed in 2004 and became 

effective in 2009. Now that DCLS has had several years of 

experience in certifying noncommercial laboratories, they are 

proposing to amend these regulations to remove obsolete 

language, make many clarifying changes to regulatory text 

and also to make several substantive changes to these 

regulations. The substantive changes that DCLS proposes 

will: 

1. Add two types of tests that do not qualify under the 

regulatory definition of environmental analysis, 

2. Remove the requirement that certified noncommercial 

labs fill out a renewal application, 

3. Add new rules that will govern suspension of non-

compliant laboratories and revise the rules that govern 

denial and withdrawal of certification,  

4. Make changes to quality control rules in these 

regulations so that they are harmonized with DCLS's 

regulations that govern commercial environmental 

laboratories,  

5. Reduce the number of successful proficiency tests that 

labs must complete each year from two to one for each 

field of certification and  

6. Increase fees. 

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for most 

proposed regulatory changes. For some proposed changes, 

there is insufficient information to ascertain whether benefits 

outweigh costs. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Current regulations define 

"environmental analysis" and list several types of testing that 

are excluded from this definition. Laboratories are not 

required to be certified under these regulations (for the 

purposes of complying with the Virginia Air Pollution 

Control Act, the Virginia Waste Management Act and the 

State Water Control Act) in order to perform tests that are on 

the excluded list. DCLS now proposes to add two tests; 

geochemical and permeability testing for solid waste 

compliance and materials specification for air quality 

compliance when product certifications specify the data 
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required by an air permit such as fuel type, BTU content, 

sulfur content or VOC content, will be added to the excluded 

list. DCLS staff reports that these tests are currently exempted 

in DCLS guidance. No entity is likely to incur any costs on 

account of this regulatory change. Regulated entities will 

likely gain some benefit from this change as language in 

regulation is legally enforceable and regulated entities are 

entitled to notice of any changes to such language and are 

also entitled to participate in the process that any proposed 

changes must go through. 

Current regulations require certified labs to fill out a renewal 

application at least 90 days before the expiration date of their 

current certification. DCLS proposes to drop this requirement 

as they believe that renewal of certification can be 

accomplished without a formal application (by the lab 

attesting to compliance with applicable regulation, reporting 

acceptable proficiency test results and by paying the required 

renewal fees). No entity is likely to incur any costs on 

account of this proposed change as labs will still have to 

remain in compliance with these regulations. Affected labs 

will save some time and may also save some money (if they 

were not submitting their renewal application electronically) 

on account of this change. 

Current regulations allow DCLS to decertify labs that are not 

in compliance with regulations or that have been found to 

have falsified any data or have provided false information to 

support certification. Labs that are decertified currently would 

have to reapply for certification. DCLS proposes to amend 

regulatory language for decertification to increase clarity and 

also proposes to add rules for suspension of certification. 

Under these new rules, DCLS will be able to notify labs of 

deficiencies and, in most cases, give them up to 60 days to 

remediate those deficiencies. Under proposed regulations, if a 

lab has deficiencies, has been notified of those deficiencies 

and does not remediate them within the allowed time, DCLS 

will be able to suspend certification for 6 months or the 

remainder of the certification period (whichever is longer). 

Adding language that allows suspension of certification will 

benefit both the department and affected labs. The department 

will have a remedy short of decertification for the labs under 

their purview. Labs will benefit from these changes as they 

will allow labs time to address identified problems without 

going through the time and expense of reapplying for 

certification after they have fixed their issues. No entity is 

likely to incur any additional expense under these proposed 

changes. 

Current regulations are not identical to regulations for the 

certification of commercial environmental laboratories. 

DCLS proposes to delete or relax several quality control 

requirements in current regulations so that these regulations 

are no more stringent than those for commercial 

environmental labs. DCLS, for instance, proposes to delete 

language that requires a copy of certification statements be 

retained in analysts' personnel files. No entity is likely to 

incur additional costs on account of changes like these. 

Noncommercial environmental labs are likely to accrue some 

time and money savings on account of these changes that 

harmonize rules for noncommercial and commercial 

environmental labs. 

Current regulations require certified labs to complete 

proficiency testing for each field of certification 

approximately every 6 months. DCLS proposes to only 

require one successful test per certification field each year in 

order to maintain certification. DCLS estimates that this 

change will save labs that only perform simple test 

procedures (STP labs) between $149 and $245 per year. 

General labs will save between $198 and $296 per year. This 

regulatory change will benefit labs while still requiring labs 

to prove proficiency in testing for which they are certified. 

Current regulations require renewal of certification biennially 

and include a fee schedule that was written in 2004 (and only 

effective since 2009) when this certification program became 

required by legislation. When current fees were set, DCLS 

had limited information from DEQ and other sources and 

over-estimated how many labs would need to be certified 

(and, therefore, underestimated the approximate portion of the 

cost of the certification program each lab would have to bear). 

As a consequence of both an initial underestimation of 

sufficient fees and because fees have not been adjusted as the 

cost of this certification program has risen, DCLS now 

proposes to require certification to be renewed every year and 

to increase fees for renewal. 

Current renewal fees for the 56 certified STP labs are 

between $475 and $600 every two years. Fees for the 53 

certified general labs currently range between $2,825 and 

$5,200 every two years. DCLS proposes to set the annual 

renewal fee for STP labs at $600. DCLS also proposes to 

increase fees for renewal of certification for general labs. 

DCLS staff estimates that fees for 47 STP labs will increase 

by 100%; fees for the remaining 9 STP labs will increase 

153%. DCLS staff estimates that fees for general labs will 

increase between 2% and 56%; fees for two labs will increase 

between 2% and 6%, fees for 22 labs will increase by 

between 19% and 28%, fees for 27 labs will increase between 

31% and 48% and fees for two labs will increase between 

50% and 56%.  

DCLS will benefit from these fee increases as they will likely 

allow this regulatory program to be more fully self-funded. 

To the extent that this program provides a benefit to the 

public, proposed fee increases will allow that benefit to 

continue. Labs will bear the costs of these increased fees. 

There is insufficient information to ascertain whether the 

benefits of increasing fees will outweigh the costs of doing 

so. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. DCLS reports that they 

certify 109 noncommercial labs under the provisions of these 

regulations. Of these 109 labs certified, 80 belong to local 

governments, 13 are owned by industrial companies, one is 

owned by a private water utility, eight belong to the 
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Commonwealth of Virginia and seven are run by agencies of 

the federal government. None of these laboratories qualify as 

small businesses. 

Localities Particularly Affected. Localities with certified labs 

will be particularly affected by this proposed regulatory 

action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This regulatory action is 

unlikely to affect employment in the Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. For affected 

privately owned noncommercial labs, increasing fees will 

likely cause a small decrease in company profits and in the 

value of companies that own these labs. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No small 

businesses will be affected by these proposed regulatory 

changes. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. No small businesses will be affected by 

these proposed regulatory changes. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, a determination 

of the public benefit, the projected number of businesses or 

other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the 

identity of any localities and types of businesses or other 

entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons 

and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs 

to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with 

the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private 

property. Further, if the proposed regulation has an adverse 

effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such 

economic impact analyses include (i) an identification and 

estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the 

regulation; (ii) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and 

other administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the regulation, including the type of professional 

skills necessary for preparing required reports and other 

documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the 

regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a description 

of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of 

achieving the purpose of the regulation. The analysis 

presented above represents DPB's best estimate of these 

economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency is providing the following comments on the July 6, 

2015, revised economic impact analysis (EIA). 

Estimated Economic Impact - page 3, first full paragraph. The 

regulation for commercial environmental laboratories 

(1VAC30-46) is being revised separately. The standards that 

commercial environmental laboratories currently meet and 

will have to continue to meet under revised 1VAC30-46 are 

different than those for noncommercial environmental 

laboratories under revised 1VAC30-45. The quality control 

standards are the same in both regulations as currently 

written. The quality control standards for noncommercial 

environmental laboratories are being harmonized under this 

proposed revision to provide flexibility or to lessen the 

quality control requirements where the revised standards for 

the commercial environmental laboratories also do so. Where 

the proposed revisions to 1VAC30-46 for commercial 

environmental laboratories provide flexibility or reduce 

requirements pertaining to these standards, the revisions to 

1VAC30-45 provide these identical changes to ensure that the 

noncommercial laboratories are meeting no more stringent 

standards than the commercial laboratories. 

Estimated Economic Impact - page 3, second full paragraph; 

and page 4, first full paragraph. The agency background 

document, TH02, on page 10, addresses the overall cost 

change of the proposed revisions to 1VAC30-45. While the 

noncommercial laboratories will incur higher fees, the 

reduction in the requirement to perform proficiency testing 

(PT) studies each year will greatly compensate for this 

increase in fees. 

DCLS provides four examples in the TH02 to demonstrate 

how fees will change under the new fee structure given the 

reduction in the requirement to perform PT studies. The four 

examples follow for comparison. 

Example A: A laboratory performing a total of 8 test methods 

on nonpotable water in four test categories (oxygen demand, 

bacteriology, physical, and inorganic chemistry) will see a fee 

increase of 19% [current fee annualized is $1787.50; 

proposed annual fee is $2125; increase of $337.50]. 

Example B: A laboratory performing a total of 8 methods on 

nonpotable water in four test categories (bacteriology, 

physical, inorganic chemistry, and organic chemistry) will see 

a fee increase of 24% [current fee annualized is $1900; 

proposed annual fee is $2350; increase of $450]. 

Example C: A laboratory performing a total of 11 methods on 

nonpotable water and solid and chemical materials in two test 

categories (physical and inorganic chemistry) will see a fee 

increase of 28% [current fee annualized is $1637.50; 

proposed annual fee is $2090; increase of $452.50]. 

Example D: A laboratory performing a total of 9 methods on 

nonpotable water and solid and chemical materials in four test 

categories (oxygen demand, physical, bacteriology, and 

inorganic chemistry) will see a fee increase of 31% [current 

fee annualized is $1787.50; proposed annual fee is $2345; 

increase of $915]. 

Most laboratories performing any number of tests defined as 

simple test procedures (STP) will incur a fee increase of 

100%. These laboratories currently pay $600 every two years. 
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Under the proposal they will pay $600 annually, an increase 

of $300 each year. 

At the same time, DCLS will require only one proficiency test 

study for each field of certification (matrix, technology/method, 

and analyte). This is a significant cost reduction for both the STP 

laboratories and the general laboratories. A typical STP 

laboratory performs nonpotable water testing for E. coli, total 

suspended solids, and biochemical oxygen demand. Some STPs 

perform only two of these tests; others test pH in addition to 

these tests. The majority of the STP labs (64%) will see an 

overall savings on average of between $149 and $245 each year 

due to the reduced proficiency testing requirement. 

A typical general environmental lab performs tests for simple 

and complex nutrients as well as those tests performed by the 

STP labs. Others add a test for total residual chlorine to the 

basic STP lab tests. The majority of the general 

environmental labs (64% or 34 labs) will save on average 

between $198 and $296 each year from the reduction in the 

requirement to perform PT studies. Twelve other general 

environmental laboratories are certified for many fields of 

certification, including test methods for organic chemistry 

and chemical metals testing. Their savings will be greater but 

their fees will be higher as well. 

Using the four examples above, the reduction in PT costs 

would be as follows: Example A=$296; Example B=$289; 

Example C=$362; and Example D=$341. 

The PT costs illustrated above are an average of the prices 

charged by four approved PT providers that offer all the PT 

studies required by these laboratories. 

Overall Changes in Laboratory Cost to Maintain 

Certification. While the proposed fees will increase, the cost 

of maintaining certification will be reduced overall. The 

reduction in the requirement to purchase and perform PT 

studies from two to one each year will offset the increase in 

fees for all laboratories. This can be demonstrated by using 

the four examples shown above for general environmental 

1aboratories. 

 

DESCRIPTION EXAMPLE A EXAMPLE B EXAMPLE C EXAMPLE D 

Current annualized fee $1787.50 $1900.00 $1637.50 $1787.50 

Current PT cost $592.00 $578.00 $724.00 $682.00 

Total current fee and PT costs $2379.50 $2478.00 $2361.50 $2469.50 

Proposed annual fee $2125.00 $2350.00 $2090.00 $2345.00 

Reduced PT cost under 

proposal 

$296.00 $289.00 $362.00 $341.00 

Total proposed fee and PT 

costs 

$2421.00 $2639.00 $2452.00 $2686.00 

TOTAL INCREASE IN COST 

TO MAINTAIN CERTIFICATION 

UNDER PROPOSAL 

$41.50 (1.7%) $161.00 (6.5%) $90.50 (3.8%) $216.50 (8.8%) 

The laboratories performing only simple test procedures (STP) will also benefit from the reduction in the requirement to purchase and 

perform PT studies from two to one each year. The PT section above indicates that 64% of STP laboratories would see an average 

savings between $149 and $245 per year. To demonstrate the overall cost change for STP laboratories, two examples are provided 

using these PT cost savings. Example E will see a savings of $149 each year. Example F will see a savings of $245 each year.  

DESCRIPTION EXAMPLE E EXAMPLE F 

Current annualized fee $300.00 $300.00 

Current PT cost $298.00 $490.00 

Total current fee and PT costs $598.00 $790.00 

Proposed annual fee $600.00 $600.00 

Reduced PT cost under proposal $149.00 $245.00 

Total proposed fee and PT costs $749.00 $845.00 

TOTAL INCREASE IN COST TO MAINTAIN 

CERTIFICATION UNDER PROPOSAL 

$151.00 (25.3%) $55.00 (6.7%) 
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The increase in the proposed fees is substantially reduced by 

the reduction in PT study requirements proposed under the 

revisions to 1VAC30-45. The examples provided show an 

overall increase of cost (fees and PT studies) for the 

noncommercial laboratories ranging from 1.7% to 25.3% 

annually compared with the increase in fees of 19% to 100%. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) streamline the procedures 

for application and renewal of certification, (ii) reduce the 

requirement to perform proficiency test studies to one 

study annually for each field of certification, (iii) eliminate 

requirements for specialized testing that noncommercial 

laboratories currently do not perform, (iv) add procedures 

for suspension of certification to provide a laboratory time 

to correct problems to avoid decertification, (v) make 

explicit the requirements to notify a laboratory that the 

agency has cause to deny certification or to decertify, (vi) 

simplify the appeal procedure language, (vii) restructure 

and modify the fee system and increase the fees paid by 

laboratories, and (viii) eliminate or provide increased 

flexibility for a number of quality system provisions 

(Article 4).  

Part I  

General Provisions  

1VAC30-45-10. Purpose. 

Section 2.2-1105 of the Code of Virginia directs the 

Division of Consolidated Laboratory Services to establish a 

program to certify environmental laboratories that perform 

tests, analyses, measurements or monitoring required 

pursuant to the Commonwealth's air, waste and water laws 

and regulations. This chapter sets out the required standards 

and the process by which owners of noncommercial 

environmental laboratories may obtain certification for their 

laboratories. 1VAC30-46 covers commercial environmental 

laboratories and NELAP-accredited environmental 

laboratories seeking reciprocal accreditation in Virginia. 

1VAC30-45-30. Applicability. 

A. This chapter applies to any owner of a noncommercial 

environmental laboratory. 

B. Any environmental laboratory owned by an agency of the 

federal government may be certified as follows: 

1. By DGS-DCLS DCLS to the standards set out in this 

chapter; or 

2. By a federal primary accrediting authority accreditation 

body to the standards established by the National 

Environmental Laboratory Accreditation Conference TNI. 

C. Citizen monitoring groups. Section 62.1-44.19:11 of the 

Code of Virginia both establishes a citizen water quality 

monitoring program for Virginia and encourages the growth 

of the program. The Department of Environmental Quality 

(DEQ) has a separate program of quality assurance and 

quality control (QA/QC) standards for citizen monitoring 

groups and their laboratories to follow. The following 

laboratories shall meet the DEG QA/QC requirements 

developed for the purposes of citizen monitoring of water 

quality in lieu of the requirements of 1VAC30-45 or 

1VAC30-46: 

1. Laboratories owned by citizen monitoring groups. 

2. Laboratories at institutions of higher education affiliated 

with citizen monitoring groups for the purposes of 

analyzing samples for the groups.  

D. Environmental research performed by environmental 

laboratories owned by institutions of higher education. 

Institutions of higher education. Environmental laboratories 

owned by institutions of higher education located in Virginia 

that perform analyses for the purpose of providing 

environmental research data to DEQ at DEQ's request shall 

meet the QA/QC requirements specified by DEQ. An 

environmental laboratory owned by an institution of higher 

education located in Virginia that performs environmental 

research for DEQ shall not be subject to the requirements of 

either 1VAC30-45 or 1VAC30-46 unless DEQ requires the 

laboratory to do so.  

1VAC30-45-40. Definitions. 

Where a term is defined in this section, the term shall have 

no other meaning, even if it is defined differently in the Code 

of Virginia or another regulation of the Virginia 

Administrative Code. Unless specifically defined in this 

section, the terms used in this chapter shall have the meanings 

commonly ascribed to them by recognized authorities. The 

following words and terms when used in this chapter shall 

have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise. 

"Acceptance criteria" means specified limits placed on 

characteristics of an item, process, or service defined in 

requirement documents. 

"Accuracy" means the degree of agreement between an 

observed value and an accepted reference value. Accuracy 

includes a combination of random error (precision) and 

systematic error (bias) components that are due to sampling 

and analytical operations. Accuracy is an indicator of data 

quality. 

"Algae" means simple single-celled, colonial, or multicelled, 

mostly aquatic plants, containing chlorophyll and lacking 

roots, stems and leaves that are either suspended in water 

(phytoplankton) or attached to rocks and other substrates 

(periphyton).  

"Aliquot" means a portion of a sample taken for analysis. 

"Analyte" means the substance or physical property to be 

determined in samples examined. 

"Analytical method" means a technical procedure for 

providing analysis of a sample, defined by a body such as the 

Environmental Protection Agency or the American Society 

for Testing and Materials, that may not include the sample 

preparation method. 
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"Assessment" means the evaluation process used to measure 

or establish the performance, effectiveness, and conformance 

of an organization and its systems or both to defined criteria. 

"Assessor" means the person who performs on-site 

assessments of laboratories' capability and capacity for 

meeting the requirements under this chapter by examining the 

records and other physical evidence for each one of the tests 

for which certification has been requested assigned by DCLS 

to perform, alone or as part of an assessment team, an 

assessment of an environmental laboratory. 

"Audit" means a systematic evaluation to determine the 

conformance to quantitative and qualitative specifications of 

some operational function or activity. 

"Authority" means, in the context of a governmental body or 

local government, an authority created under the provisions of 

the Virginia Water and Waste Authorities Act, Chapter 51 

(§ 15.2-5100 et seq.) of Title 15.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Batch" means environmental samples that are prepared 

together or analyzed together or both with the same process 

and personnel, using the same lot or lots of reagents. 

"Analytical batch" means a batch composed of prepared 

environmental samples (extracts, digestates or concentrates) 

that are analyzed together as a group. An analytical batch can 

include prepared samples originating from various 

environmental matrices and can exceed 20 samples. 

"Preparation batch" means a batch composed of one to 20 

environmental samples of the same matrix that meets the 

criteria in this definition for "batch" and with a maximum 

time between the start of processing of the first and last 

sample in the batch to be 24 hours. 

"Benthic macroinvertebrates" means bottom dwelling 

animals without backbones that live at least part of their life 

cycles within or upon available substrates within a body of 

water.  

"Blank" means a sample that has not been exposed to the 

analyzed sample stream in order to monitor contamination 

during sampling, transport, storage or analysis. The blank is 

subjected to the usual analytical and measurement process to 

establish a zero baseline or background value and is 

sometimes used to adjust or correct routine analytical results. 

Blanks include the following types: 

1. Field blank. A blank prepared in the field by filling a 

clean container with pure deionized water and appropriate 

preservative, if any, for the specific sampling activity being 

undertaken. 

2. Method blank. A sample of a matrix similar to the batch 

of associated samples (when available) that is free from the 

analytes of interest and is processed simultaneously with 

and under the same conditions as samples through all steps 

of the analytical procedures, and in which no target 

analytes or interferences are present at concentrations that 

impact the analytical results for sample analyses.  

"Calibration" means to determine, by measurement or 

comparison with a standard, the correct value of each scale 

reading on a meter, instrument or other device. The levels of 

the applied calibration standard should bracket the range of 

planned or expected sample measurements. 

"Calibration curve" means the graphical relationship 

between the known values, such as concentrations, of a series 

of calibration standards and their instrument response. 

"Calibration standard" means a substance or reference 

material used to calibrate an instrument. 

"Certified reference material" means a reference material 

one or more of whose property values are certified by a 

technically valid procedure, accompanied by or traceable to a 

certificate or other documentation that is issued by a 

certifying body.  

"Client" or "customer" means the Department of 

Environmental Quality (DEQ) when used in the context of 

quality assurance and specific quality control provisions. 

"Commercial environmental laboratory" means an 

environmental laboratory where environmental analysis is 

performed for another person. 

"Corrective action" means the action taken to eliminate the 

causes of an existing nonconformity, defect or other 

undesirable situation in order to prevent recurrence. 

"DGS-DCLS" "DCLS" means the Division of Consolidated 

Laboratory Services of the Department of General Services. 

"Demonstration of capability" means the procedure to 

establish the ability of the analyst to generate data of 

acceptable accuracy and precision. 

"Detection limit" means the lowest concentration or amount 

of the target analyte that can be determined to be different 

from zero by a single measurement at a stated degree of 

confidence. 

"Environmental analysis" or "environmental analyses" 

means any test, analysis, measurement, or monitoring used 

for the purposes of the Virginia Air Pollution Control Law, 

the Virginia Waste Management Act or the State Water 

Control Law (§ 10.1-1300 et seq., § 10.1-1400 et seq., and 

§ 62.1-44.2 et seq., respectively, of the Code of Virginia). For 

the purposes of these regulations, any test, analysis, 

measurement, or monitoring required pursuant to the 

regulations promulgated under these three laws, or by any 

permit or order issued under the authority of any of these laws 

or regulations is "used for the purposes" of these laws. The 

term shall not include the following: 

1. Sampling of water, solid and chemical materials, 

biological tissue, or air and emissions. 

2. Field testing and measurement of water, solid and 

chemical materials, biological tissue, or air and emissions, 

except when performed in an environmental laboratory 

rather than at the site where the sample was taken. 
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3. Taxonomic identification of samples for which there is 

no national accreditation standard such as algae, benthic 

macroinvertebrates, macrophytes, vertebrates and 

zooplankton.  

4. Protocols used pursuant to § 10.1-104.2 of the Code of 

Virginia to determine soil fertility, animal manure nutrient 

content, or plant tissue nutrient uptake for the purposes of 

nutrient management. 

5. Geochemical and permeability testing for solid waste 

compliance. 

6. Materials specification for air quality compliance when 

product certifications specify the data required by an air 

permit such as fuel type, Btu content, sulfur content, or 

VOC content. 

"Environmental laboratory" or "laboratory" means a facility 

or a defined area within a facility where environmental 

analysis is performed. A structure built solely to shelter field 

personnel and equipment from inclement weather shall not be 

considered an environmental laboratory.  

"Establishment date" means the date set for the accreditation 

program under 1VAC30-46 and the certification program to 

be established under this chapter. 

"Establishment of certification program" or "established 

program" means that DGS-DCLS DCLS has completed the 

initial accreditation of environmental laboratories covered by 

1VAC30-46 and the initial certification of environmental 

laboratories covered by 1VAC30-45. 

"Facility" means something that is built or installed to serve 

a particular function. 

"Field of certification" or "FoC" means an approach to 

certifying laboratories by those matrix, technology/method, 

and analyte/analyte group analyte combinations for which 

DCLS offers certification. 

"Field of proficiency testing" or "FoPT" means analytes for 

which a laboratory is required to successfully analyze a PT 

sample in order to obtain or maintain certification, 

collectively defined as matrix, technology/method, and 

analyte. 

"Field testing and measurement" means any of the 

following: 

1. Any test for parameters under 40 CFR Part 136 for 

which the holding time indicated for the sample requires 

immediate analysis; or 

2. Any test defined as a field test in federal regulation. 

The following is a limited list of currently recognized field 

tests or measures that is not intended to be inclusive: 

continuous emissions monitoring; on-line online monitoring; 

flow monitoring; tests for pH, residual chlorine, temperature 

and dissolved oxygen; and field analysis for soil gas. 

"Finding" means an assessment conclusion that identifies a 

condition having a significant effect on an item or activity. 

An assessment finding is normally a deficiency and is 

normally accompanied by specific examples of the observed 

condition. referenced to a laboratory certification standard 

and supported by objective evidence that identifies a 

deviation from a laboratory certification standard 

requirement.  

"Governmental body" means any department, agency, 

bureau, authority, or district of the United States government, 

of the government of the Commonwealth of Virginia, or of 

any local government within the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

"Holding time (or maximum allowable holding time)" 

means the maximum time that a sample may be held prior to 

analysis and still be considered valid or not compromised can 

elapse between two specified activities. 

"Initial certification period" means the period during which 

DGS-DCLS is accepting and processing applications for the 

first time under this chapter as specified in 1VAC30-45-60. 

"International System of Units (SI)" means the coherent 

system of units adopted and recommended by the General 

Conference on Weights and Measures. 

"Laboratory control sample" or "LCS" means a sample 

matrix, free from the analytes of interest, spiked with verified 

known amounts of analytes or a material containing known 

and verified amounts of analytes. It is generally used to 

establish intra-laboratory or analyst specific precision and 

bias or to assess the performance of all or a portion of the 

measurement system. "Laboratory control sample" or "LCS" 

may also be named laboratory fortified blank, spiked blank, 

or QC check sample.  

"Laboratory manager" means the person who has overall 

responsibility for the technical operation of the environmental 

laboratory and who exercises actual day-to-day supervision of 

laboratory operation for the appropriate fields of testing and 

reporting of results. The title of this person may include but is 

not limited to laboratory director, technical director, 

laboratory supervisor or laboratory manager. 

"Legal entity" means an entity, other than a natural person, 

who has sufficient existence in legal contemplation that it can 

function legally, be sued or sue, and make decisions through 

agents as in the case of corporations. 

"Limit of detection" or "LOD" means an estimate of the 

minimum amount of a substance that an analytical process 

can reliably detect. An LOD is analyte and matrix specific 

and may be laboratory dependent. 

"Limit of quantitation" or "LOQ" means the minimum 

levels, concentrations, or quantities of a target variable (e.g., 

target analyte) that can be reported with a specified degree of 

confidence.  

"Local government" means a municipality (city or town), 

county, sanitation district, or authority. 

"Macrophytes" means any aquatic or terrestrial plant species 

that can be identified and observed with the eye, unaided by 

magnification.  
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"Matrix" means the component or substrate that may contain 

the analyte of interest. A matrix can be a field of certification 

matrix or a quality system matrix.  

1. Field of certification matrix. These matrix definitions 

shall be used when certifying a laboratory. 

a. Non-potable Nonpotable water. Any aqueous sample 

that has not been designated a potable or potential 

potable water source. Includes surface water, 

groundwater, effluents, water treatment chemicals, and 

TCLP or other extracts. 

b. Solid and chemical materials. Includes soils, 

sediments, sludges, products and byproducts of an 

industrial process that results in a matrix not previously 

defined. 

c. Biological tissue. Any sample of a biological origin 

such as fish tissue, shellfish, or plant material. Such 

samples shall be grouped according to origin. 

d. Air and emissions. Whole gas or vapor samples 

including those contained in flexible or rigid wall 

containers and the extracted concentrated analytes of 

interest from a gas or vapor that are collected with a 

sorbent tube, impinger solution, filter or other device. 

2. Quality system matrix. For purposes of batch and quality 

control requirement determinations, the following matrix 

types shall be used: 

a. Drinking water. Any aqueous sample that has been 

designated a potable or potential potable water source. 

b. Aqueous. Any aqueous sample excluded from the 

definition of drinking water matrix or saline/estuarine 

source. Includes surface water, groundwater, effluents, 

and TCLP or other extracts. 

c. Saline/estuarine. Any aqueous sample from an ocean 

or estuary, or other salt water source. 

d. Nonaqueous liquid. Any organic liquid with less than 

15% settleable solids. 

e. Biological tissue. Any sample of a biological origin 

such as fish tissue, shellfish, or plant material. Such 

samples shall be grouped according to origin. 

f. Solids. Includes soils, sediments, sludges and other 

matrices with more than 15% settleable solids. 

g. Chemical waste. A product or by-product byproduct of 

an industrial process that results in a matrix not 

previously defined. 

h. Air and emissions. Whole gas or vapor samples 

including those contained in flexible or rigid wall 

containers and the extracted concentrated analytes of 

interest from a gas or vapor that are collected with a 

sorbent tube, impinger solution, filter or other device. 

"Matrix spike (spiked sample or fortified sample)" means a 

sample prepared by adding a known mass of target analyte to 

a specified amount of matrix sample for which an 

independent estimate of target analyte concentration is 

available. Matrix spikes are used, for example, to determine 

the effect of the matrix on a method's recovery efficiency. 

"Matrix spike duplicate (spiked sample or fortified sample 

duplicate)" means a second replicate matrix spike prepared in 

the laboratory and analyzed to obtain a measure of the 

precision of the recovery for each analyte.  

"National Environmental Laboratory Accreditation 

Conference (NELAC)" means a voluntary organization of 

state and federal environmental officials and interest groups 

with the primary purpose to establish mutually acceptable 

standards for accrediting environmental laboratories. A subset 

of NELAP. 

"National Environmental Laboratory Accreditation Program 

(NELAP)" means the overall National Environmental 

Laboratory Accreditation Program of which NELAC is a part. 

"National Institute of Standards and Technology" or "NIST" 

means an agency of the U.S. Department of Commerce's 

Technology Administration that is working with EPA, states, 

NELAC, and other public and commercial entities to 

establish a system under which private sector companies and 

interested states can be certified by NIST to provide NIST-

traceable proficiency testing (PT) samples. 

"Negative control" means measures taken to ensure that a 

test, its components, or the environment do not cause 

undesired effects, or produce incorrect test results. 

"Noncommercial environmental laboratory" means either of 

the following: 

1. An environmental laboratory where environmental 

analysis is performed solely for the owner of the 

laboratory. 

2. An environmental laboratory where the only 

performance of environmental analysis for another person 

is one of the following: 

a. Environmental analysis performed by an 

environmental laboratory owned by a local government 

for an owner of a small wastewater treatment system 

treating domestic sewage at a flow rate of less than or 

equal to 1,000 gallons per day. 

b. Environmental analysis performed by an 

environmental laboratory operated by a corporation as 

part of a general contract issued by a local government to 

operate and maintain a wastewater treatment system or a 

waterworks. 

c. Environmental analysis performed by an 

environmental laboratory owned by a corporation as part 

of the prequalification process or to confirm the identity 

or characteristics of material supplied by a potential or 

existing customer or generator as required by a hazardous 

waste management permit under 9VAC20-60. 

d. Environmental analysis performed by an 

environmental laboratory owned by a Publicly Owned 

Treatment Works (POTW) for an industrial source of 
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wastewater under a permit issued by the POTW to the 

industrial source as part of the requirements of a 

pretreatment program under Part VII (9VAC25-31-730 et 

seq.) of 9VAC25-31. 

e. Environmental analysis performed by an 

environmental laboratory owned by a county authority 

for any municipality within the county's geographic 

jurisdiction when the environmental analysis pertains 

solely to the purpose for which the authority was created. 

f. Environmental analysis performed by an 

environmental laboratory owned by an authority or a 

sanitation district for any participating local government 

of the authority or sanitation district when the 

environmental analysis pertains solely to the purpose for 

which the authority or sanitation district was created. 

"Owner" means any person who owns, operates, leases or 

controls an environmental laboratory. 

"Person" means an individual, corporation, partnership, 

association, company, business, trust, joint venture or other 

legal entity. 

"Physical," for the purposes of fee test categories, means the 

tests to determine the physical properties of a sample. Tests 

for solids, turbidity and color are examples of physical tests. 

"Positive control" means measures taken to ensure that a test 

or its components are working properly and producing correct 

or expected results from positive test subjects. 

"Precision" means the degree to which a set of observations 

or measurements of the same property, obtained under similar 

conditions, conform to themselves. Precision is an indicator 

of data quality. Precision is expressed usually as standard 

deviation, variance or range, in either absolute or relative 

terms. 

"Primary accrediting authority accreditation body" means 

the agency or department designated at the territory, state or 

federal level as the recognized authority with the 

responsibility and accountability for granting NELAC 

accreditation to a specific laboratory for a specific field of 

accreditation body responsible for assessing a laboratory's 

total quality system, on-site assessment, and PT performance 

tracking for fields of accreditation. 

"Proficiency test or testing (PT)" means evaluating a 

laboratory's performance under controlled conditions relative 

to a given set of criteria through analysis of unknown samples 

provided by an external source. 

"Proficiency test (PT) field of testing" means the approach 

to offer proficiency testing by maxtrix, technology/method, 

and analyte/analyte group. 

"Proficiency test (PT) sample" means a sample, the 

composition of which is unknown to both the analyst and the 

laboratory and is provided to test whether the analyst or 

laboratory or both laboratory can produce analytical results 

within specified acceptance criteria. 

"Proficiency testing (PT) program" means the aggregate of 

providing rigorously controlled and standardized 

environmental samples to a laboratory for analysis, reporting 

of results, statistical evaluation of the results and the 

collective demographics and results summary of all 

participating laboratories. 

"Program," in the context of a regulatory program, means 

the relevant U.S. Environmental Protection Agency program 

such as the water program under the Clean Water Act 

(CWA), the air program under the Clean Air Act (CAA), the 

waste program under the Comprehensive Environmental 

Response, Compensation and Liability Act (CERCLA or 

Superfund) or the waste program under the Resource 

Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA). 

"Publicly Owned Treatment Works (POTW)" means a 

treatment works as defined by § 212 of the CWA, which is 

owned by a state or municipality (as defined by § 502(4) of 

the CWA). This definition includes any devices and systems 

used in the storage, treatment, recycling, and reclamation of 

municipal sewage or industrial wastes of a liquid nature. It 

also includes sewers, pipes, and other conveyances only if 

they convey wastewater to a POTW treatment plant. The term 

also means the municipality as defined in § 502(4) of the 

CWA, which has jurisdiction over the indirect discharges to 

and the discharges from such a treatment works. 

"Quality assurance" or "QA" means an integrated system of 

management activities involving planning, quality control, 

quality implementation, assessment, reporting and quality 

improvement to ensure that a product process, item, or service 

meets defined standards of quality with a stated level of 

confidence is of the type and quality needed and expected by 

the client. 

"Quality assurance officer" means the person who has 

responsibility for the quality system and its implementation. 

Where staffing is limited, the quality assurance officer may 

also be the laboratory manager. 

"Quality control" or "QC" means the overall system of 

technical activities whose purpose is to measure and control 

the quality of a product or service so that it meets the needs of 

users that measures the attributes and performance of a 

process, item, or service against defined standards to verify 

that they meet the stated requirements established by the 

customer; operational techniques and activities that are used 

to fulfill requirements for quality; and also the system of 

activities and checks used to ensure that measurement 

systems are maintained within prescribed limits, providing 

protection against "out of control" conditions and ensuring 

that the results are of acceptable quality. 

"Quality manual" means a document stating the 

management policies, objectives, principles, organizational 

structure and authority, responsibilities, accountability, and 

implementation of an agency, organization, or laboratory, to 

ensure the quality of its product and the utility of its product 

to its users. 
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"Quality system" means a structured and documented 

management system describing the policies, objectives, 

principles, organizational authority, responsibilities, 

accountability, and implementation plan of an organization 

for ensuring quality in its work processes, products (items), 

and services. The quality system provides the framework for 

planning, implementing, and assessing work performed by 

the organization and for carrying out required quality 

assurance and quality control activities. 

"Range" means the difference between the minimum and 

maximum of a set of values. 

"Reference material" means a material or substance one or 

more properties of which are sufficiently well established to 

be used for the calibration of an apparatus, the assessment of 

a measurement test method, or for assigning values to 

materials. 

"Reference standard" means a standard, generally of the 

highest metrological quality available at a given location, 

from which measurements made at that location are derived.  

"Responsible official" means one of the following, as 

appropriate: 

1. If the laboratory is owned or operated by a private 

corporation, "responsible official" means (i) a president, 

secretary, treasurer, or a vice-president of the corporation 

in charge of a principal business function, or any other 

person who performs similar policy-making or decision-

making functions for the corporation or (ii) the manager of 

one or more manufacturing, production, or operating 

facilities employing more than 250 persons or having gross 

annual sales or expenditures exceeding $25 million (in 

second-quarter 1980 dollars), if authority to sign 

documents has been assigned or delegated in accordance 

with corporate procedures. 

2. If the laboratory is owned or operated by a partnership, 

association, or a sole proprietor, "responsible official" 

means a general partner, officer of the association, or the 

proprietor, respectively. 

3. If the laboratory is owned or operated by a governmental 

body, "responsible official" means a director or highest 

official appointed or designated to oversee the operation 

and performance of the activities of the environmental 

laboratory. 

4. Any person designated as the responsible official by an 

individual described in subdivision 1, 2 or 3 of this 

definition, provided the designation is in writing, the 

designation specifies an individual or position with 

responsibility for the overall operation of the 

environmental laboratory, and the designation is submitted 

to DGS-DCLS DCLS. 

"Sampling" means the act of collection for the purpose of 

analysis. 

"Sanitation district" means a sanitation district created under 

the provisions of Chapters 3 (§ 21-141 et seq.) through 5 

(§ 21-291 et seq.) of Title 21 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Sewage" means the water-carried human wastes from 

residences, buildings, industrial establishments or other 

places together with such industrial wastes and underground, 

surface, storm, or other water as may be present. 

"Simple test procedures" or "STP" means any of the 

following: 

1. Field testing and measurement performed in an 

environmental laboratory. 

2. The test procedures to determine: 

a. Biochemical oxygen demand (BOD) or carbonaceous 

BOD (CBOD); 

b. Fecal coliform; 

c. Total coliform; 

d. Fecal streptococci; 

e. E. coli; 

f. Enterococci;  

g. Settleable solids (SS); 

h. Total dissolved solids (TDS); 

i. Total solids (TS); 

j. Total suspended solids (TSS); 

k. Total volatile solids (TVS); and 

l. Total volatile suspended solids (TVSS). 

"Standard operating procedure (SOP)" or "SOP" means a 

written document that details the method of an operation, 

analysis or action whose techniques and procedures are 

thoroughly prescribed and which is accepted for an operation, 

analysis, or action with thoroughly prescribed techniques and 

steps. An SOP is officially approved as the method for 

performing certain routine or repetitive tasks. 

"Standardized reference material (SRM)" or "SRM" means a 

certified reference material produced by the U.S. National 

Institute of Standards and Technology or other equivalent 

organization and characterized for absolute content, 

independent of analytical method. 

"System laboratory" means a noncommercial laboratory that 

analyzes samples from multiple facilities having the same 

owner.  

"TCLP" or "toxicity characteristic leachate procedure" 

means Test Method 1311 in "Test Methods for Evaluating 

Solid Waste, Physical/Chemical Methods," EPA Publication 

SW-846, as incorporated by reference in 40 CFR 260.11. This 

method is used to determine whether a solid waste exhibits 

the characteristic of toxicity (see 40 CFR 261.24). 

"Test" means a technical operation that consists of the 

determination of one or more characteristics or performance 

of a given product, material, equipment, organism, physical 
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phenomenon, process or service according to a specified 

procedure. 

"Test, analysis, measurement or monitoring required 

pursuant to the Virginia Air Pollution Control Law" means 

any method of analysis required by the Virginia Air Pollution 

Control Law (§ 10.1-1300 et seq.); by the regulations 

promulgated under this law (9VAC5) including any method 

of analysis listed either in the definition of "reference 

method" in 9VAC5-10-20, or listed or adopted by reference 

in 9VAC5; or by any permit or order issued under and in 

accordance with this law and these regulations. 

"Test, analysis, measurement or monitoring required 

pursuant to the Virginia Waste Management Act" means any 

method of analysis required by the Virginia Waste 

Management Act (§ 10.1-1400 et seq.); by the regulations 

promulgated under this law (9VAC20), including any method 

of analysis listed or adopted by reference in 9VAC20; or by 

any permit or order issued under and in accordance with this 

law and these regulations. 

"Test, analysis, measurement or monitoring required 

pursuant to the Virginia Water Control Law" means any 

method of analysis required by the Virginia Water Control 

Law (§ 62.1-44.2 et seq.); by the regulations promulgated 

under this law (9VAC25), including any method of analysis 

listed or adopted by reference in 9VAC25; or by any permit 

or order issued under and in accordance with this law and 

these regulations. 

"Test method" means an adoption of a scientific technique 

for performing a specific measurement as documented in a 

laboratory standard operating procedure or as published by a 

recognized authority. 

"The NELAC Institute" or "TNI" means the organization 

whose standards environmental laboratories must meet to 

become accredited under 1VAC30-46, the regulation 

governing commercial environmental laboratories in Virginia. 

"Toxicity characteristic leachate procedure" or "TCLP" 

means Test Method 1311 in "Test Methods for Evaluating 

Solid Waste, Physical/Chemical Methods," EPA Publication 

SW-846, as incorporated by reference in 40 CFR 260.11. This 

method is used to determine whether a solid waste exhibits 

the characteristic of toxicity (see 40 CFR 261.24). 

"Traceability" means the property of a result of a 

measurement whereby it can be related to appropriate 

standards, generally international or national standards, 

through an unbroken chain of comparisons. 

"U.S. Environmental Protection Agency" or "EPA" means 

the federal government agency with responsibility for 

protecting, safeguarding and improving the natural 

environment (i.e., air, water and land) upon which human life 

depends. 

"Virginia Air Pollution Control Law" means Chapter 13 

(§ 10.1-1300 et seq.) of Title 10.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

which is titled "Air Pollution Control Board." 

"Virginia Environmental Laboratory Accreditation 

Program" or "VELAP" means the program DCLS operates to 

certify environmental laboratories under this chapter. 

"Wastewater" means liquid and water-carried industrial 

wastes and domestic sewage from residential dwellings, 

commercial buildings, industrial and manufacturing facilities 

and institutions.  

"Waterworks" means each system of structures and 

appliances used in connection with the collection, storage, 

purification, and treatment of water for drinking or domestic 

use and the distribution thereof to the public, except 

distribution piping. 

"Zooplankton" means microscopic animals that float freely 

with voluntary movement in a body of water.  

1VAC30-45-50. Scope of certification. 

A. Noncommercial environmental laboratories shall be 

certified based on the general laboratory standards set out in 

Part II (1VAC30-45-200 et seq.) of this chapter and on the 

specific test methods or analysis, monitoring or measurement 

required by regulatory permit or other requirement under the 

Virginia Air Pollution Control Law, Virginia Waste 

Management Act, or Virginia Water Control Law, the 

regulations promulgated under these laws, and by permits and 

orders issued under and in accordance with these laws or 

regulations. 

B. DGS-DCLS DCLS shall review alternative test methods 

and procedures for certification when these are proposed by 

the applicant laboratory. The provisions of 1VAC30-45-70 E 

and 1VAC30-45-90 B govern alternative test methods and 

procedures. 

C. Certification shall be granted for one or more fields of 

certification, including the matrix, the technology and 

methods used by the noncommercial environmental 

laboratory, and the individual analytes or analyte groups 

determined by the particular method used by the laboratory. 

1VAC30-45-60. General: certification requirements. 

A. Components of certification. The components of 

certification include review of personnel qualifications, on-

site assessment, proficiency testing, and quality systems. The 

criteria for these components, set out in Part II (1VAC30-45-

200 et seq.) of this chapter, shall be fulfilled for certification. 

B. Individual laboratory sites and mobile laboratories. 

1. Individual laboratory sites are subject to the same 

application process, assessments, and other requirements as 

environmental laboratories. Any remote laboratory sites 

are considered separate sites and subject to separate on-site 

assessments. 

2. Laboratories located at the same physical location shall 

be considered an individual laboratory site if these 

laboratories are owned by the same person, and have the 

same laboratory manager and quality system. 
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3. Laboratories located at separate, noncontiguous physical 

locations may request to be considered as an individual 

laboratory site if these laboratories are owned by the same 

person and have the same laboratory manager and quality 

system.  

4. 3. A mobile laboratory, which is configured with 

equipment to perform analyses, whether associated with a 

fixed-based laboratory or not, is considered an 

environmental laboratory and shall require separate 

certification. This certification shall remain with the 

mobile laboratory and be site independent. Moving the 

configured mobile laboratory to a different site will not 

require a new or separate certification. Before performing 

analyses at each new site, the laboratory shall ensure that 

instruments and equipment have been checked for 

performance and have been calibrated. 

1VAC30-45-70. Process to apply and obtain certification. 

A. Duty to apply. All owners of noncommercial 

environmental laboratories shall apply for certification as 

specified by the provisions of this section. Applications for 

certification must be obtained from DCLS program staff by 

email at Lab_Cert@dgs.virginia.gov. 

B. Timely initial applications. 

1. Owners of noncommercial environmental laboratories 

applying for certification under this chapter for the first 

time shall submit an application to DGS-DCLS no later 

than September 29, 2009. 

2. Owners of noncommercial environmental laboratories 

that come into existence after January 1, 2009, shall submit 

an initial application to DGS-DCLS no later than 180 

calendar days prior to beginning operation. 

C. Timely renewal applications. The owner of a certified 

noncommercial environmental laboratory shall submit an 

application for renewal of certification at least 90 calendar 

days prior to expiration of certification. 

B. Owners of noncommercial environmental laboratories 

applying for certification under this chapter for the first time 

shall submit an application to DCLS as specified under 

subsection F of this section. 

C. Renewal and reassessment. 

1. DCLS shall renew certification annually for the certified 

laboratory provided the laboratory does the following: 

a. Maintains compliance with this chapter. 

b. Attests to this compliance by signing the certificate of 

compliance provided under subdivision F 3 of this 

section. 

c. Reports acceptable proficiency test values as required 

by Article 3 (1VAC30-45-500 et seq.) of Part II of this 

chapter. 

d. Pays the fee required by 1VAC30-45-130. 

2. DCLS shall reassess the certified environmental 

laboratory during an on-site assessment as required by 

Article 2 (1VAC30-45-300 et seq.) of Part II of this 

chapter. 

D. Responsibilities of the owner and operator when the 

laboratory is owned by one person and operated by another 

person. 

1. When an environmental laboratory is owned by one 

person but is operated by another person, the operator may 

submit the application for the owner. 

2. If the operator fails to submit the application, the owner 

is not relieved of his responsibility to apply for 

certification. 

3. While DGS-DCLS DCLS may notify noncommercial 

environmental laboratories of the date their applications 

are due, failure of DGS-DCLS DCLS to notify does not 

relieve the owner of his obligation to apply under this 

chapter. 

E. Submission of applications for modifications to 

certification. An owner of a certified noncommercial 

environmental laboratory shall follow the process set out in 

1VAC30-45-90 B to add a new matrix, technology/method, 

an analyte or analyte group, modify a test method or institute 

use of a method or technology not in the laboratory's standard 

operating procedures, including alternative test methods or 

procedures to modify the laboratory's scope of certification. 

F. Contents of application. 

1. Applications shall include but not be limited to the 

following information and documents: 

a. Legal name of laboratory; 

b. Name of owner of laboratory; 

c. Name of operator of laboratory, if different than 

owner; 

d. Street address and description of location of 

laboratory; 

e. Mailing address of laboratory, if different from street 

address; 

f. Address of owner, if different from laboratory address; 

g. Name, address, telephone number, facsimile number 

and e-mail email, as applicable, of responsible official;  

h. Name, address, telephone number, facsimile number 

and e-mail email, as applicable, of laboratory manager; 

i. Name, address, telephone number, facsimile number 

and e-mail email, as applicable, of designated quality 

assurance officer; 

j. Name title, and telephone number of laboratory contact 

person; 

k. Laboratory type (e.g., public water system, public 

wastewater system or combination of the two, or 

industrial (with type of industry indicated)); 

l. Laboratory hours of operation; 
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m. Fields of certification (matrix, technology/method, 

and analyte/analyte group) analyte) for which 

certification is sought; 

n. Methods employed, including analytes; 

o. n. The results of the three most recent proficiency test 

studies one successful unique PT study for each field of 

proficiency testing as required by Article 3 (1VAC30-45-

500 et seq.) of Part II of this chapter; 

p. o. Quality assurance manual; and 

q. Lab identification number (for renewal only); and 

r. p. For mobile laboratories, a unique vehicle 

identification number, such as a manufacturer's vehicle 

identification number (VIN#), serial number, or license 

number. 

2. Fee. The application shall include payment of the fee as 

specified in 1VAC30-45-130. 

3. Certification of compliance. 

a. The application shall include a "Certification of 

Compliance" statement signed and dated by the 

responsible official, by the quality control officer and by 

the laboratory manager. 

b. The certification of compliance shall state: "The 

applicant understands and acknowledges that the 

laboratory is required to be continually in compliance 

with the Virginia environmental laboratory certification 

program regulation (1VAC30, Chapter 45) and is subject 

to the provisions of 1VAC30-45-100 in the event of 

noncompliance. I certify under penalty of law that this 

document and all attachments were prepared under my 

direction or supervision in accordance with a system 

designed to assure that qualified personnel properly 

gather and evaluate the information submitted. Based on 

my inquiry of the person or persons who manage the 

laboratory or those persons directly responsible for 

gathering and evaluating the information, the information 

submitted is, to the best of my knowledge and belief, 

true, accurate and complete. Submitting false information 

or data shall result in denial of certification or 

decertification. I hereby further certify that I am 

authorized to sign this application." 

G. Completeness determination. 

1. DGS-DCLS DCLS shall determine whether an 

application is complete and notify the laboratory of the 

result of such determination. During the initial certification 

period, DGS-DCLS DCLS shall provide this notice within 

90 calendar days of its receipt of a laboratory's initial 

application. Following the initial certification period, DGS-

DCLS shall provide this notice within 60 calendar days of 

DGS-DCLS's receipt of a laboratory's initial application 

and within 30 calendar days of DGS-DCLS' receipt of a 

laboratory's renewal application. 

2. An application shall be determined complete if it 

contains all the information required pursuant to subsection 

F of this section and is sufficient to evaluate the laboratory 

prior to the on-site assessment. Designating an application 

complete does not preclude DGS-DCLS DCLS from 

requesting or accepting additional information. 

3. If DGS-DCLS DCLS determines that an application is 

incomplete, DGS-DCLS's the DCLS notification of such 

determination shall explain why the application is 

incomplete and specify the additional information needed 

to make the application complete.  

4. Except during the initial certification period, if If DCLS 

makes no determination is made within 60 within 90 

calendar days of DGS-DCLS's its receipt of either (i) the 

application or (ii) additional information, in the case of an 

application determined to be incomplete, the application 

shall be determined to be complete. During the initial 

certification period, the time period shall be 90 calendar 

days. 

5. If the laboratory has not submitted the required 

additional information within 90 days of receiving a notice 

from DGS-DCLS DCLS requesting additional information, 

DGS-DCLS DCLS may return the incomplete application 

and inform the laboratory that the application cannot be 

processed. The laboratory may then submit a new 

application. 

H. Grant of interim certification pending final determination 

on application. 

1. DGS-DCLS DCLS shall grant a laboratory interim 

certification status under the following conditions: 

a. The laboratory's application is determined to be 

complete; 

b. The laboratory has satisfied all the requirements for 

certification, including all requests for additional 

information, with the exception of on-site assessment; 

and 

c. DGS-DCLS DCLS is unable to schedule the on-site 

assessment within 90 120 days of its determination that 

the application is complete (for initial applications) or 

before the laboratory's certification expires (for renewal 

applications). 

2. A laboratory with interim certification status shall have 

the same rights and status as a laboratory that has been 

granted certification by DGS-DCLS DCLS. 

3. Interim certification expires when DGS-DCLS DCLS 

issues a final determination on certification. 

I. On-site assessment. 1. An on-site assessment shall be 

performed and the follow-up and reporting procedures for 

such assessments shall be completed in accordance with 

Article 2 (1VAC30-45-300 et seq.) of Part II of this chapter 

prior to issuance of a final determination on certification.  
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2. Alternative on-site assessment option. If DGS-DCLS is 

unable to schedule an on-site assessment under the 

conditions of subsection H 1 c of this section, the owner of 

the applicant laboratory may use third-party on-site 

assessors instead of DGS-DCLS on-site assessors under 

the following conditions: 

a. The third-party on-site assessors are on a DGS-DCLS-

approved list of on-site assessors; and 

b. The owner of the applicant laboratory agrees to pay 

the third-party on-site assessors. 

J. Final determination on certification. 1. Upon completion 

of the certification review process and corrective action, if 

any, DGS-DCLS DCLS shall grant certification in 

accordance with subsection K of this section or deny 

certification in accordance with subsection L of this section. 

2. Except during the initial certification period, DGS-

DCLS shall complete action on a laboratory's application 

within nine months from the time a completed application 

is received from the laboratory. 

K. Grant of certification. 

1. When a laboratory meets the requirements specified for 

receiving certification, DGS-DCLS DCLS shall issue a 

certificate to the laboratory. The DCLS shall send the 

certificate shall be sent to the laboratory manager, and shall 

notify the responsible official shall be notified. 

2. The director of DGS-DCLS DCLS or his designee shall 

sign the certificate. The certificate shall include the 

following information: 

a. Name of owner of laboratory; 

b. Name of operator of laboratory, if different from 

owner;  

c. Name of responsible official; 

d. Address and location of laboratory; 

e. Laboratory identification number; 

f. Fields of certification (matrix, technology/method, 

analyte/analyte group) and analyte) for which 

certification is granted; 

g. Any addenda or attachments; and 

h. Issuance date and expiration date. 

3. The laboratory shall post the most recent certificate of 

certification and any addenda to the certificate issued by 

DGS-DCLS DCLS in a prominent place in the laboratory 

facility. 

4. Certification shall expire two years one year after the 

date on which certification is granted. 

L. Denial of certification. 

1. DGS-DCLS DCLS shall deny certification to an 

environmental laboratory in total if the laboratory is found 

to be falsifying any data or providing false information to 

support certification. 

2. Denial of certification in total or in part. 

a. DGS-DCLS DCLS may deny certification to an 

environmental laboratory in total or in part if the 

laboratory fails to do any of the following: 

(1) Pay the required fees. 

(2) Employ laboratory staff to meet the personnel 

qualifications as required by Part II (1VAC30-45-200 et 

seq.) of this chapter. 

(3) Successfully analyze and report proficiency testing 

samples as required by Part II of this chapter. 

(4) Submit a corrective action report plan in accordance 

with Part II of this chapter in response to a deficiency 

report from the on-site assessment team within the 

required 30 calendar days. 

(5) Implement the corrective actions detailed in the 

corrective action report plan within the time frame 

specified by DGS-DCLS DCLS. 

(6) Pass required on-site assessment as specified in Part 

II of this chapter. 

(7) Implement a quality system as defined in Part II of 

this chapter. 

b. DGS-DCLS DCLS may deny certification to an 

environmental laboratory in total or in part if the 

laboratory's application is not determined to be complete 

within 90 calendar days following notification of 

incompleteness because the laboratory is delinquent in 

submitting information required by DGS-DCLS DCLS in 

accordance with this chapter. 

c. DGS-DCLS DCLS may deny certification to an 

environmental laboratory in total or in part if the DGS-

DCLS DCLS on-site assessment team is unable to carry 

out the on-site assessment pursuant to Article 2 

(1VAC30-45-300 et seq.) of Part II of this chapter 

because a representative of the environmental laboratory 

denied the team entry during the laboratory's normal 

business hours that it specified in its application. 

3. DGS-DCLS DCLS shall follow the process specified in 

1VAC30-45-110 when denying certification to an 

environmental laboratory. 

M. Reapplication following denial of certification. 1. Upon 

denial of certification, the laboratory shall wait six months 

before reapplying for certification. 2. DGS-DCLS DCLS 

shall not waive application fees for a laboratory reapplying 

for certification. 

1VAC30-45-80. Maintaining certification. 

A. Certification remains in effect until withdrawn by DGS-

DCLS DCLS, withdrawn voluntarily at the written request of 

the certified laboratory, or until expiration of the certification 

period. To maintain certification, the certified laboratory shall 

comply with the elements listed in this section and in 

1VAC30-45-90. 
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B. Quality systems. Laboratories seeking to maintain 

certification under this chapter shall assure consistency and 

promote the use of quality assurance and quality control 

procedures. Article 4 (1VAC30-45-600 et seq.) of Part II of 

this chapter specifies the quality assurance and quality control 

requirements that shall be met to maintain certification. 

C. Proficiency tests. Laboratories seeking to maintain 

certification under this chapter shall perform proficiency tests 

as required under Article 3 (1VAC30-45-500 et seq.) of Part 

II of this chapter. 

D. Recordkeeping and retention. All laboratory records 

associated with certification parameters shall be kept as 

provided by the requirements for records under Part II 

(1VAC30-45-200 et seq.) of this chapter. These records shall 

be maintained for a minimum of three years unless the 

records are required to be maintained for a longer period by 

another section of this regulation or another regulation. All 

such records shall be available to DGS-DCLS DCLS upon 

request. 

1VAC30-45-90. Notifications and changes to certification 

elements and status. 

A. Changes to key certification criteria. The certified 

laboratory shall notify DGS-DCLS DCLS in writing of any 

changes in key certification criteria within 30 calendar days 

of the change. Key certification criteria are laboratory 

ownership, location, key personnel, and major 

instrumentation. 

B. Changes to scope of certification. 

1. DGS-DCLS DCLS may approve a laboratory's 

application to add a new matrix, technology, analyte, or 

test method to a laboratory's scope of certification or to 

otherwise modify the laboratory's scope of certification by 

performing a data review. 

2. To apply, the owner of the certified laboratory shall 

submit the following to DGS-DCLS DCLS: 

a. A letter written request signed by the owner that 

briefly summarizes the addition to be made to the 

laboratory's scope of certification. 

b. Pertinent information demonstrating the laboratory's 

capability to perform the additional matrix, 

technology/method, or analyte/analyte group analyte, 

such as proficiency testing performance and quality 

control performance. 

c. A written standard operating procedure covering the 

new matrix, technology/method, or analyte/analyte group 

analyte. 

3. DGS-DCLS DCLS may approve a laboratory's 

application for modification to its scope of certification by 

performing a review of the application materials submitted, 

without an on-site assessment. The addition of a 

technology or test method requiring the use of specific 

equipment may require an on-site assessment. Other 

reviews of performance and documentation may be carried 

out by DGS-DCLS DCLS depending on the modification 

for which the laboratory applies. 

4. Within 90 calendar days of the receipt of the application 

from the certified environmental laboratory, DGS-DCLS 

DCLS shall review and determine whether the proposed 

modification may be approved.  

5. If the proposed modification to the laboratory's scope of 

certification is approved, DGS-DCLS DCLS shall amend 

the laboratory's certificate of certification. 

6. DCLS shall not send the amended certificate of 

certification to the laboratory until DCLS receives the 

payment of the fee required under 1VAC30-45-130 F 1. 

C. Change of ownership or location of laboratory. 

1. The certified laboratory shall submit a written 

notification to DGS-DCLS DCLS of the change of 

ownership or location of the laboratory within 30 calendar 

days of the change. This requirement applies only to fixed-

based and not pertaining to change of location does not 

apply to mobile laboratories.  

2. Certification may be transferred when the legal status or 

ownership of a certified laboratory changes as long as the 

transfer does not affect the laboratory's personnel, 

equipment, or organization.  

3. If the laboratory's personnel, equipment, or organization 

are affected by the change of legal status or ownership, 

DGS-DCLS DCLS may require recertification or 

reapplication in any or all of the categories for which the 

laboratory is certified. 

4. DGS-DCLS DCLS may require an on-site assessment 

depending on the nature of the change of legal status or 

ownership. DGS-DCLS DCLS shall determine the 

elements of any on-site assessment required.  

5. When there is a change in ownership, the new owner of 

the certified laboratory shall assure historical traceability 

of the laboratory identification numbers.  

6. 5. When there is a change in ownership, the new owner 

of the certified laboratory shall keep all records and 

analyses performed by the previous owner under his scope 

of pertaining to certification for a period of three years, or 

longer if required by other regulations. These records and 

analyses are subject to inspection by DGS-DCLS DCLS 

during this three-year period. This provision applies 

regardless of change of ownership, accountability or 

liability. 

D. Voluntary withdrawal. Any environmental laboratory 

owner who wishes to withdraw the laboratory from its 

certification status or from being certified, in total or in part, 

shall submit written notification to DGS-DCLS no later than 

30 calendar days before the end of the laboratory's 

certification term DCLS. Within 30 calendar days, DGS-

DCLS DCLS shall provide the laboratory with a written 

notice of withdrawal. 
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1VAC30-45-95. Suspension of certification. 

A. DCLS may suspend certification from an environmental 

laboratory in total or in part to allow the laboratory time to 

correct the reason for which DCLS may withdraw 

certification. Suspension is limited to the reasons listed in 

subsection B of this section. 

B. DCLS may suspend certification from an environmental 

laboratory in part or in total when the laboratory has failed to 

do any of the following: 

1. Participate in the proficiency testing program as required 

by Article 2 (1VAC30-45-300 et seq.) of Part II of this 

chapter. 

2. Satisfactorily complete proficiency testing studies as 

required by Article 2 (1VAC30-45-300 et seq.) of Part II of 

this chapter. 

3. Maintain a quality system as defined in Article 4 

(1VAC30-45-600 et seq.) of Part II of this chapter. 

4. Employ staff that meets the personnel qualifications of 

Article 1 (1VAC30-45-200 et seq.) of Part II of this 

chapter. 

5. Notify DCLS of any changes in key certification criteria 

as set forth in 1VAC30-45-90. 

C. Process to suspend certification. 

1. When DCLS becomes aware of a cause to suspend a 

laboratory, the agency shall send notification to the 

responsible official and the laboratory manager stating it 

appears to DCLS that the laboratory has failed to meet the 

1VAC30-45 standards for one or more of the reasons listed 

in subsection B of this section. DCLS shall send the 

notification by certified mail. 

2. The DCLS notification shall do the following: 

a. Require the laboratory to provide DCLS with 

documentation of the corrective action already taken with 

regard to its failure to meet a standard under subsection B 

of this section. 

b. State the corrective action the laboratory must take and 

the time allowed for this corrective action to be 

completed in order to retain certification. 

3. The environmental laboratory may proceed to correct 

the deficiencies for which DCLS may suspend the 

laboratory's certification.  

4. Alternatively the laboratory may state in writing that 

DCLS is incorrect in its observations regarding potential 

suspension and give specific reasons why the laboratory 

believes DCLS should not suspend certification. The 

laboratory has the right to due process as set forth in 

1VAC30-45-110, the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-

4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), and Part 2A of the 

Rules of the Supreme Court of Virginia. 

5. With the exception of subdivision B 4 of this section, 

DCLS may allow the laboratory up to 60 days to correct 

the problem for which it may have its certification 

suspended. 

6. DCLS shall set a date for suspension that follows the 

period provided under subdivision 5 of this subsection to 

restore certification. 

7. If the laboratory does not correct its deficiencies within 

the time period allowed or pursue options under 

subdivision 4 of this subsection, DCLS may suspend a 

laboratory in part or in total. 

8. DCLS shall notify the laboratory by letter if the 

laboratory's certification is suspended in part or in total. 

DCLS shall send the notification by certified mail. DCLS 

shall also notify the pertinent Virginia state agency of the 

laboratory's suspension status. 

9. The laboratory may provide information demonstrating 

why suspension is not warranted in accordance with 

subdivision 4 of this subsection. 

D. Responsibilities of the environmental laboratory and 

DCLS when certification has been suspended. 

1. The term of suspension shall be limited to six months or 

the period of certification whichever is longer. 

2. The environmental laboratory shall not continue to 

analyze samples or report analysis for the fields of 

certification for which DCLS has suspended certification. 

3. The environmental laboratory shall retain certification 

for the fields of certification, methods, and analytes where 

it continues to meet the requirements of this chapter. 

4. The laboratory's suspended certification status shall 

change to certified when the laboratory demonstrates to 

DCLS that the laboratory has corrected the deficiency or 

deficiencies for which its certification was suspended. 

5. An environmental laboratory with suspended 

certification shall not have to reapply for certification if the 

cause or causes for suspension are corrected within the 

term of suspension. 

6. If the laboratory fails to correct the causes of suspension 

within the term of suspension, DCLS shall decertify the 

laboratory in total or in part. 

1VAC30-45-100. Decertification. 

A. DGS-DCLS DCLS shall decertify an environmental 

laboratory in total if the laboratory is found to be falsifying 

any data or providing false information to support 

certification. 

B. DGS-DCLS DCLS may decertify an environmental 

laboratory in part or in total when the laboratory has failed to 

do any of the following: 

1. Participate in the proficiency testing program as required 

by Article 3 (1VAC30-45-500 et seq.) of Part II of this 

chapter. 

2. Complete Satisfactorily complete proficiency testing 

studies and maintain a history of at least two successful 
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proficiency testing studies for each affected certified field 

of testing out of the three most recent proficiency testing 

studies as defined in as required by Article 3 (1VAC30-45-

500 et seq.) of Part II of this chapter. 

3. Maintain a quality system as defined in Article 4 

(1VAC30-45-600 et seq.) of Part II of this chapter. 

4. Employ staff that meet meets the personnel 

qualifications in Article 1 (1VAC30-45-200 et seq.) of Part 

II of this chapter. 

5. Submit an acceptable corrective action report plan after 

two opportunities as specified in 1VAC30-45-390. 

6. Implement corrective action specified in the laboratory's 

corrective action report plan as set out under 1VAC30-45-

390. 

7. Notify DGS-DCLS DCLS of any changes in key 

certification criteria as set forth in 1VAC30-45-90. 

8. Use accurate references to the laboratory's certification 

status in the laboratory's documentation. 

9. Allow a DCLS assessment team entry during normal 

business hours to conduct an on-site assessment required 

by Article 2 (1VAC30-45-300 et seq.) of Part II of this 

chapter. 

10. Pay the required fees specified in 1VAC30-45-130. 

C. DGS-DCLS DCLS shall follow the process specified in 

1VAC30-45-110 when decertifying an environmental 

laboratory. 

D. Responsibilities of the environmental laboratory and 

DGS-DCLS DCLS when certification has been withdrawn. 

1. Laboratories that lose their certification in full shall 

return their certificate to DGS-DCLS DCLS. 

2. If a laboratory loses certification in part, an addendum to 

the certificate shall be issued by DGS-DCLS DCLS shall 

issue a revised certificate to the laboratory. 

3. When the environmental laboratory has lost certification 

in full or in part, the laboratory shall not continue to 

analyze samples or report analyses for the fields of 

certification that DCLS has decertified. 

E. After correcting the reason or cause for decertification 

under 1VAC30-45-100 subsection A or B of this section, the 

laboratory owner may reapply for certification under 

1VAC30-45-70. 

1VAC30-45-110. Procedures to deny certification, to or 

decertify a laboratory, and; appeal procedures. 

A. Notification. 

1. If DGS-DCLS believes it has grounds DCLS becomes 

aware of a cause to deny certification or to decertify an 

environmental laboratory, DGS-DCLS DCLS shall notify 

the environmental laboratory in writing of its intent to hold 

an informal fact finding under § 2.2-4019 of the Code of 

Virginia in order to make a decision on the denial of 

certification or decertification this information and require 

a response from the responsible official. DGS-DCLS 

DCLS shall send this notification by certified mail to the 

responsible official and provide a copy to the manager of 

the environmental laboratory. The notice of informal fact 

finding shall provide a detailed explanation of the basis for 

the notice. 

2. For a potential denial of certification, the notice shall 

state that the laboratory has failed to meet the 1VAC30-45 

standards and shall specify one or more of the reasons for 

denial of certification under 1VAC30-45-70 L, providing a 

detailed explanation of the basis for the denial of 

certification. 

3. For a potential decertification, the notice shall state that 

the laboratory has failed to meet the 1VAC30-45 standards 

and shall specify one or more of the reasons for 

decertification under 1VAC30-45-100 A or B, providing a 

detailed explanation of the basis for decertification. 

4. In its notice, DCLS shall request the laboratory to notify 

DCLS in writing if the laboratory believes the agency is 

incorrect in its determination. Before rendering a decision 

on decertification or denial of certification, DCLS shall 

provide the opportunity for the laboratory to meet with 

DCLS in an informal fact-finding proceeding pursuant to 

§ 2.2-4019 of the Code of Virginia. 

5. If the laboratory believes DCLS to be incorrect in its 

determination, the laboratory shall provide DCLS with a 

detailed written demonstration of why DCLS should not 

deny certification to or decertify the laboratory. The 

laboratory shall include this demonstration in the response 

required under subdivision 6 of this subsection. 

6. The laboratory shall provide DCLS with a written 

response within 30 calendar days of the date of notification 

from DCLS. The laboratory shall indicate whether it 

disputes the DCLS determination provided in the agency 

notice and whether the laboratory requests an informal 

fact-finding proceeding. If the laboratory does not respond, 

DCLS shall render its case decision. 

B. Following the informal fact finding held pursuant to 

§  2.2-4019 of the Code of Virginia, the director shall render a 

decision regarding certification, and shall send this 

notification by certified mail to the responsible official and 

provide a copy to the manager of the environmental 

laboratory. If the director's decision is adverse to the 

environmental laboratory, the responsible official may appeal 

this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4026 of the Code of 

Virginia and Part 2A of the Rules of the Supreme Court of 

Virginia. 

C. The provisions of this section do not preclude informal 

discussions between DGS-DCLS and any environmental 

laboratory that has been notified of a possible denial of 

certification or of decertification. These informal discussions 

to resolve the concerns that prompted the notice shall be held 

prior to the informal fact-finding proceeding. 
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B. An environmental laboratory may appeal a final decision 

by DCLS to deny certification to or decertify a laboratory 

pursuant to the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et 

seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

D. C. The certification status of an environmental laboratory 

appealing decertification shall not change pending the final 

decision of the appeals filed under the Virginia 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia) and Part 2A of the Rules of Supreme Court of 

Virginia.  

1VAC30-45-120. Exemptions. 

A. DGS-DCLS DCLS may grant a partial or full exemption 

from the requirements of this chapter based on compliance 

and performance. 

B. DGS-DCLS DCLS may consider granting an exemption 

if a laboratory applies for an exemption and has met all 

certification requirements for a period of four consecutive 

years. 

C. An environmental laboratory may apply for an exemption 

by submitting a request. The request shall include the 

following information: 

1. The scope of the requested exemption; 

2. Whether the exemption should be partial or total; 

3. If partial, what form the exemption will take; and 

4. Why the exemption is appropriate. 

D. Upon receiving an application for an exemption, DGS-

DCLS DCLS shall provide notice of the request for an 

exemption in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

E. The notice shall provide a 30-day comment period on the 

request and shall specify the nature of the request. 

F. DGS-DCLS DCLS shall grant or deny the exemption 

request and provide a written response to the requesting 

laboratory within 90 calendar days of receipt of the request. 

G. Exemptions granted by DGS-DCLS DCLS shall be for a 

period of no more than 24 months. 

1VAC30-45-130. Fees. 

A. General. 

1. Fees shall be submitted with all applications, including 

reapplications, for certification and all renewal applications 

for certification. Applications shall not be designated as 

complete until the fee is received by DGS-DCLS. 

Environmental laboratories shall pay a fee with all 

applications, including reapplications, for certification. 

DCLS shall not designate an application as complete until 

it receives payment of the fee. 

2. Each certified environmental laboratory shall pay an 

annual fee to maintain its certification. DCLS shall send an 

invoice to the certified environmental laboratory. 

3. Fees shall be nonrefundable. 

B. Fee computation. 

1. Fees shall be computed based on the test methods for 

which a laboratory seeks certification and on the laboratory 

type. For the purpose of fee calculation, the designations 

for the laboratory type are (i) a general environmental 

laboratory or (ii) an environmental laboratory performing 

only simple test procedures. 

2. The fee shall be the total of the base fee and the test 

category fees for the specific laboratory type to be 

certified. 

3. The test category fees cover categories for the test 

methods to be certified as specified in the laboratory's 

application. 

4. If the total of the base fee and the test category fees is 

more than the maximum fee designated for the specific 

laboratory type to be certified, the laboratory shall pay the 

maximum fee. 

C. Laboratories B. Environmental laboratories performing 

only simple test procedures shall pay an annual fee of $600. 

1. The base fee shall be $100. 

2. The maximum fee shall be $600. 

D. General environmental laboratories. 

1. The base fee shall be $1,700. 

2. The maximum fee shall be $5,200. 

E. Test category fees. 

1. Fees shall be charged for each category of tests to be 

certified. 

2. The fee for each category includes one or more 

analytical methods unless otherwise specified. With the 

exception of the test categories labeled oxygen demand and 

physical, test categories related to test methods for water 

are defined by 40 CFR 136.3. 

3. Fees. 

TEST CATEGORY FEE 

Oxygen demand (BOD or COD) $375 

Bacteriology $375 

Inorganic chemistry, fewer than four methods $375 

Inorganic chemistry, four or more methods $750 

Chemistry metals, one – two methods $450 

Chemistry metals, more than two methods $1,000 

Organic chemistry, fewer than four methods $600 

Organic chemistry, four or more methods  $1,200 

Aquatic toxicity, acute methods only $400 

Aquatic toxicity, acute and chronic methods $700 

Radiochemical $1,000 

Physical $375 
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C. Fee computation for general environmental laboratories. 

1. Fees shall be applied on an annual basis. 

2. Environmental laboratories shall pay the total of the base 

fee and the test category fees set out in subsections D and 

E of this section. 

D. Base fees for general environmental laboratories.  

1. DCLS determines the base fee for a laboratory by taking 

into account both the total number of methods and the total 

number of field of certification matrices for which the 

laboratory would be certified. 

2. DCLS shall charge the base fees set out in Table 1. The 

base fee for a laboratory is located by first finding the row 

for the total number of methods to be certified and then 

finding the box on that row located in the column headed 

by the total number of matrices to be certified. For 

example, DCLS charges a base fee of $1300 to a 

laboratory performing a total of eight methods for one 

matrix. 

TABLE 1: BASE FEES 

Number of 

Methods 

1 Matrix 2 Matrices 

1 - 9 $1300 $1430 

10 - 29 $1400 $1575 

30 - 99 $1550 $1825 

E. Test category fees for general environmental laboratories. 

1. The test category fees cover the types of testing for 

which a laboratory may be certified as specified in the 

laboratory's application or as certified at the time of annual 

billing. 

2. Fees shall be charged for each category of tests to be 

certified. 

3. Fees shall be charged for the total number of field of 

certification matrices to be certified under the specific test 

category. For example, if a laboratory is performing 

inorganic chemistry for both nonpotable water and solid 

and chemical materials matrices, the fee for this test 

category would be found in the column for two matrices. 

4. The fee for each category includes one or more 

analytical methods unless otherwise specified.  

5. DCLS shall charge the test category fees set out in Table 

2. The test category fees for a laboratory are located by 

first finding the row with the total number of test methods 

for the test category to be certified. The fee to be charged 

for the test category will be found on that row in the 

column headed by the total number of matrices to be 

certified. A laboratory performing four test methods for 

inorganic chemistry in nonpotable water and solid and 

chemical materials (two matrices) would be charged a test 

category fee of $375. 

6. Noncommercial environmental laboratories that perform 

toxicity, radiochemical, or asbestos testing shall pay the 

test category fees established for these types of testing in 

1VAC30-46-150. 

TABLE 2: TEST CATEGORY FEES 

Test Category 

Fees by Number of 

Matrices  

 

One  Two  

Oxygen demand $225  $335 

Bacteriology, 1 - 3 total 

methods $175 $265  

Bacteriology, 4 or more total 

methods $220  $330  

Physical, 1 - 5 total methods $175  $265 

Physical, 6 - 10 total 

methods $220  $330  

Inorganic chemistry, 1 - 10 

total methods $250  $375 

Inorganic chemistry, 11 - 20 

total methods $315 $475  

Inorganic chemistry, 21 - 49 

total methods $394 $590  

Chemistry metals, 1 - 5 total 

methods $325  $490  

Chemistry metals, 6 - 20 

total methods $410 $615  

Organic chemistry, 1 - 5 

total methods $400  $600 

Organic chemistry, 6 - 20 

total methods $500  $750 

7. Fee examples. Three examples are provided. 

a. Example 1: 

Base Fee 
One matrix and 

four test methods 
$1300 

Test Category Fees 
  

One Matrix 
  

Nonpotable 

Water 

Bacteriology (2 

methods) 
$175 

Nonpotable 

Water 

Oxygen demand 

(1 method) 
$225 

Nonpotable 

Water 
Physical (1) $175 

TOTAL 
 

$1875 
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b. Example 2: 

Base Fee 
One matrix and 

15 test methods 
$1400 

Test Category Fees 
  

One Matrix 
  

Nonpotable 

Water 

Bacteriology (2 

methods) 
$175 

Nonpotable 

Water 

Inorganic 

chemistry (9 

methods) 

$250 

Nonpotable 

Water 

Chemistry 

metals (2 

methods) 

$325 

Nonpotable 

Water 

Oxygen 

demand (1 

method) 

$225 

Nonpotable 

Water 
Physical (1) $175 

TOTAL 
 

$2550 

c. Example 3: 

Base Fee 

Two matrices 

and 27 test 

methods 

$1575 

Test Category Fees 
  

One Matrix 
  

Nonpotable 

Water 

Bacteriology (4 

methods) 
$220 

Nonpotable 

Water 

Oxygen 

demand (1 

method) 

$225 

Solid and 

Chemical 

Materials 

Chemistry 

metals (1 

method) 

$325 

Two Matrices 
  

Nonpotable 

Water and 

Solid and 

Chemical 

Materials 

Inorganic 

chemistry (13 

methods) 

$475 

Nonpotable 

Water and 

Solid and 

Chemical 

Materials 

Physical (7 

methods) 
$330 

TOTAL 
 

$3150 

F. Additional fees. Additional fees shall be charged to 

laboratories applying for the following: (i) modification to 

scope of certification under 1VAC30-45-90 B, (ii) transfer of 

ownership under 1VAC30-45-90 C, (iii) exemption under 

1VAC30-45-120, (iv) request that multiple noncontiguous 

laboratory sites be considered as one site under 1VAC30-45-

60 B 3, or (v) (iv) petition for a variance under 1VAC30-45-

140.  

1. For any certified environmental laboratory that applies 

to modify its scope of certification as specified under 

1VAC30-45-90 B, DCLS shall assess a fee determined by 

the method in subsection G of this section. 

2. Under 1VAC30-45-90 C, DCLS may charge a transfer 

fee to a certified laboratory that transfers ownership. A fee 

shall be charged if DCLS (i) needs to review 

documentation sent by the laboratory about the transfer of 

ownership or (ii) determines that an on-site assessment is 

necessary to evaluate the effect of the transfer of 

ownership. DCLS shall assess a fee determined by the 

method in subsection G of this section. If, under 1VAC30-

45-90 C, DCLS determines that the change of ownership or 

location of laboratory requires recertification of or 

reapplication by the laboratory, the laboratory shall pay the 

application fees required under this section. 

1. 3. General environmental laboratories applying for an 

exemption under 1VAC30-45-120 shall pay an initial 

application fee of $250 and if the exemption is granted, up 

to an additional $1,000 depending on the scope of the 

exemption. $700 plus an additional fee based on the actual 

time needed for DCLS to assess the exemption request. 

The total fee shall not exceed the actual time DCLS takes 

to assess the exemption request. Laboratories performing 

only simple test procedures applying for an exemption 

under 1VAC30-45-120 shall pay an initial application fee 

of $100 and if the exemption is granted, up to an additional 

$1,000 depending on the scope of the exemption. The fee 

assessed for the scope of the exemption shall be based on 

the actual time needed for DGS-DCLS to make the 

determination $300 plus an additional fee based on the 

actual time needed for DCLS to assess the exemption 

request. The total fee shall not exceed the actual time 

DCLS takes to assess the exemption request. The fee 

assessed shall be calculated using the method in subsection 

G of this section. 

2. For any certified environmental laboratory that applies 

to modify its scope of certification as specified under 

1VAC30-45-90 B, DGS-DCLS shall assess a fee 

determined by the method in subsection G of this section. 

3. Under 1VAC30-45-90 C, DGS-DCLS may charge a 

transfer fee to a certified laboratory that transfers 

ownership. A fee shall be charged if DGS-DCLS (i) needs 

to review documentation sent by the laboratory about the 

transfer of ownership or (ii) determines that an on-site 

assessment is necessary to evaluate the effect of the 
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transfer of ownership. DGS-DCLS shall assess a fee 

determined by the method in subsection G of this section. 

If DGS-DCLS determines that a fee should be charged, the 

fee shall be a minimum of $100 and a maximum of $1,000. 

If, under 1VAC30-45-90 C, DGS-DCLS determines that 

the change of ownership or location of laboratory requires 

recertification of or reapplication by the laboratory, the 

laboratory shall pay the application fees required under this 

section. 

4. Under 1VAC30-45-60 B 3, the owner of multiple 

noncontiguous laboratories may request that DGS-DCLS 

consider these laboratories to be one site. If, as a result of 

the request being granted, DGS-DCLS needs to perform 

multiple on-site assessments, DGS-DCLS shall charge a 

fee for the additional on-site assessments. The fee shall be 

the sum of reasonable travel costs and labor charges for the 

additional on-site assessments. The labor charges will be 

determined following the method in subsection G of this 

section. 

5. 4. Under 1VAC30-45-140, any person regulated by this 

chapter may petition the director to grant a variance from 

any requirement of this chapter. DGS-DCLS DCLS shall 

charge a an initial fee for the time needed of $700 plus an 

additional fee based on the actual time needed for DCLS to 

review the petition, including any on-site assessment 

required. The total fee shall not exceed the actual time 

DCLS takes to review and make a determination on the 

request for a variance. The fee shall be determined by the 

method specified in subsection G of this section.  

G. Fee determination. 

1. The fee shall be the sum of the total hourly charges for 

all reviewers plus any on-site review costs incurred. 

2. An hourly charge per reviewer shall be determined by (i) 

obtaining a yearly cost by multiplying the reviewer's 

annual salary by 1.35 (accounts for overhead such as taxes 

and insurance) and then (ii) dividing the yearly cost by 

1,642 (number of annual hours established by Fiscal 

Services, DGS, for billing purposes).  

3. The charge per reviewer shall be determined by 

multiplying the number of hours expended in the review by 

the reviewer's hourly charge. 

4. If an on-site review is required, travel time and on-site 

review time shall be charged at the same hourly charge per 

reviewer, and any travel expenses shall be added. 

H. Out-of-state laboratories - travel costs. The owner of an 

environmental laboratory located in another state who applies 

for certification under this chapter shall also pay a fee equal 

to the reasonable travel costs associated with conducting an 

on-site assessment at the laboratory. Reasonable travel costs 

include transportation, lodging, per diem, and telephone and 

duplication charges. 

I. DGS-DCLS DCLS shall derive the travel costs charged 

under subsections G and H of this section from the 

Commonwealth of Virginia reimbursement allowances and 

rates for lodging, per diem, and mileage.  

Article 2  

On-Site Assessment  

1VAC30-45-300. Frequency of on-site assessment. 

A. A comprehensive on-site assessment shall be conducted 

of each laboratory as a condition for granting certification 

initially and at renewal every two years. DCLS shall reassess 

each certified laboratory every two years starting from the 

date of the previous assessment plus or minus six months. 

B. Other on-site assessments. 

1. If DGS-DCLS DCLS identified a deficiency on a 

previous on-site assessment, the agency may conduct a 

follow-up on-site assessment. 

2. DGS-DCLS DCLS may conduct an on-site assessment 

when a laboratory applies to modify its scope of 

certification,; when a transfer of owner occurs that affects 

personnel, equipment, or the laboratory facilities,; or when 

a laboratory applies for an exemption or a variance. Any 

other change occurring in a laboratory's operations that 

might reasonably be expected to alter or impair analytical 

capability and quality may trigger an on-site assessment. 

1VAC30-45-310. Announced and unannounced on-site 

assessments. 

A. DGS-DCLS DCLS may conduct, at its discretion, either 

announced or unannounced on-site assessments. 

B. Advance notice of an assessment shall not be necessary. 

C. To the maximum extent practical, DGS-DCLS DCLS, 

when necessary, shall work with the owner of an 

environmental laboratory to obtain government security 

clearances for assessment personnel as far in advance as 

possible. The owner of the environmental laboratory shall 

facilitate expeditious attainment of the necessary clearances. 

D. To the maximum extent practical, assessment personnel 

shall minimize disruption of a laboratory's operations and 

take into account competing demands on the time of 

laboratory personnel. 

1VAC30-45-320. Request for records. 

Prior to the actual site visit, DGS-DCLS DCLS may request 

in writing from a laboratory those records required to be 

maintained by this chapter. 

1VAC30-45-330. Areas to be assessed. 

DGS-DCLS DCLS shall assess the laboratory against the 

personnel and quality control standards in Article 1 

(1VAC30-45-200 et seq.) and Article 4 (1VAC30-45-600 et 

seq.) of this part. The specific areas evaluated in an on-site 

assessment shall include but not be limited to: 

1. Adequacy of the laboratory facility. 

2. Organization and management of the laboratory. 

3. Qualifications and experience of laboratory personnel. 

4. Receipt, tracking and handling of samples. 
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5. Quantity, condition, and performance of laboratory 

instrumentation and equipment. 

6. Preparation and traceability of calibration standards. 

7. Test methods (including the adequacy of the laboratory's 

standard operating procedures as well as confirmation of 

the analyst's adherence to SOPs, and the analyst's 

proficiency with the described task). 

8. Data reduction procedures, including an examination of 

raw data and confirmation that final reported results can be 

traced to the raw data/original observations. 

9. Quality assurance and quality control procedures, 

including adherence to the laboratory's quality assurance 

plan and adequacy of the plan. 

10. Recordkeeping. 

1VAC30-45-340. National security considerations. 

A. Assessments at facilities owned or operated by federal 

agencies or contractors may require security clearances, 

appropriate badging, or a security briefing before the 

assessment begins. 

B. The laboratory shall notify DGS-DCLS DCLS in writing 

of any information that is controlled for national security 

reasons and cannot be released to the public. 

1VAC30-45-350. Arrival, admittance, and opening 

conference. 

A. Arrival. Assessment personnel shall arrive at the 

laboratory during established working hours. The laboratory 

manager (or, if unavailable, the laboratory manager's 

designee) shall be located as soon as possible after the 

assessment personnel arrive on the premises. 

B. Admittance of assessment personnel.  

1. A laboratory's refusal to admit the assessment personnel 

for an on-site assessment shall result in an automatic 

failure of the laboratory to receive certification or loss of 

an existing certification by the laboratory, unless there are 

extenuating circumstances that are accepted and 

documented by DGS-DCLS DCLS. The team leader for 

the assessment personnel shall notify DGS-DCLS DCLS 

as soon as possible after refusal of entry. 

2. DCLS shall consider any verbal or physical threat to the 

health and safety of its assessors or any overt antagonism 

towards its assessors as a refusal to admit the assessors for 

the purpose of on-site assessment. The assessors shall 

vacate the laboratory and shall notify DCLS as soon as 

possible of the circumstances of this refusal to admit. This 

refusal to admit shall result in an automatic failure of the 

laboratory to receive certification or the automatic loss of 

an existing certification by the laboratory. 

C. Health and safety. 

1. Under no circumstance, and especially as a precondition 

to gain access to a laboratory, shall assessment personnel 

be required or even allowed to sign any waiver of 

responsibility on the part of the laboratory for injuries 

incurred during an assessment. 

2. Assessment personnel shall comply with all facility and 

laboratory safety procedures. 

D. Opening conference. An opening conference shall be 

conducted and shall address the following topics: 

1. The purpose of the assessment; 

2. The identification of assessment personnel; 

3. The test methods that will be examined; 

4. Any pertinent records and procedures to be examined 

during the assessment and the names of the individuals in 

the laboratory responsible for providing assessment 

personnel with such records; 

5. The roles and responsibilities of laboratory staff and 

managers; 

6. Any special safety procedures that the laboratory may 

think necessary for the protection of assessment personnel; 

7. The standards and criteria that will be used in judging 

the adequacy of the laboratory operation; 

8. Confirmation of the tentative time for the exit 

conference; and 

9. Discussion of any questions the laboratory may have 

about the assessment process. 

1VAC30-45-380. Closing conference. 

A. Assessment personnel shall meet with representatives of 

the laboratory following the assessment for a closing 

conference. 

B. During the closing conference, assessment personnel 

shall inform the laboratory of the preliminary findings and the 

basis for such findings. The laboratory shall have an 

opportunity to provide further explanation or clarification 

relevant to the preliminary findings. If the laboratory objects 

to the preliminary findings during the closing conference, all 

objections shall be documented by the assessment personnel 

and included in the final report to DGS-DCLS DCLS. 

C. Additional problem areas may be identified in the final 

report. 

D. Any potentially illegal activity that may be the subject of 

further action shall not be discussed in the closing conference. 

1VAC30-45-390. Follow-up and reporting procedures. 

A. DGS-DCLS DCLS shall present an assessment report to 

the laboratory within 30 calendar days of the assessment. 

B. If there are deficiencies identified in the assessment 

report, the laboratory shall have 30 calendar days from the 

date of its receipt of the assessment report to provide a 

response to DGS-DCLS DCLS. This response shall be called 

a corrective action report plan. 

C. An exception to the deadlines specified in subsections A 

and B of this section may occur in appropriate circumstances. 

Two circumstances that may be considered appropriate by 
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DGS-DCLS DCLS are where a possible enforcement 

investigation or other action has been initiated or where the 

laboratory shows good cause for an extension. 

D. The corrective action report plan shall include the 

following: 

1. Any objections that the laboratory has with regard to the 

assessment report; 

2. The action that the laboratory proposes to implement to 

correct each deficiency identified in the assessment report; 

and 

3. The time period required to accomplish the corrective 

action. 

E. DGS-DCLS DCLS shall determine and shall notify the 

laboratory within 30 calendar days of receipt whether the 

corrective action report plan is an acceptable response to the 

deficiencies identified in the assessment report. 

F. If the corrective action report plan (or a portion of the 

report) plan) is determined to be unacceptable to remedy the 

deficiency, DGS-DCLS DCLS shall provide written 

notification to the responsible official and manager of the 

laboratory including a detailed explanation of the basis for 

such determination. Following receipt of such notification, 

the laboratory shall have an additional 30 calendar days to 

submit a revised corrective action report plan acceptable to 

DGS-DCLS DCLS. 

1VAC30-45-400. Documentation of on-site assessment. 

A. Checklists. The checklists used by assessment personnel 

during the assessment shall become a part of DGS-DCLS's 

DCLS's file for the laboratory. 

B. Assessment report format. 

1. The final assessment report shall contain a narrative 

description of the adequacy of the laboratory as it relates to 

the assessment standards specified in this chapter and in 

1VAC30-45-330. 

2. Assessment reports shall contain: 

a. Name of owner of the laboratory (or operator of the 

laboratory, if different from the owner); 

b. Identification of the laboratory assessed; 

c. Date of the assessment; 

d. Identification and affiliation of all assessment 

personnel; 

e. Identification of participants in the assessment process; 

f. Identification of analytes and test methods assessed; 

g. Statement of the objective of the assessment; 

h. Summary; 

i. Assessment observations, findings (including any 

deficiencies), objections noted by the laboratory, and 

requirements; and 

j. Comments and recommendations. 

3. The assessment findings and requirements shall be 

referenced to the standards in Part II (1VAC30-45-200 et 

seq.) of this chapter so that both the finding is understood 

and the specific requirement is outlined. The assessor shall 

specify the laboratory records, documents, equipment, 

procedures, or staff evaluated and the observations that 

contributed to each identified deficiency. The assessment 

report shall support with sufficient data all assessment 

findings and the overall evaluation of the laboratory. 

4. The comments and recommendations section may be 

used to convey recommendations aimed at helping the 

laboratory improve. 

C. Release of report. 

1. The assessment report shall be released initially by 

DGS-DCLS DCLS to the responsible official and the 

laboratory manager. The assessment report shall not be 

released to the public until findings of the assessment and 

the corrective actions have been finalized, all information 

relating to national security has been stricken from the 

report in accordance with prescribed procedures, and the 

report has been provided to the laboratory. 

2. Once the assessment report has been released to the 

laboratory, any member of the public may request a copy 

of the report under the requirements of the Virginia 

Freedom of Information Act (§ 2.2-3700 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia). 

3. Checklists used by assessment personnel during the on-

site assessment shall be provided to the laboratory with the 

final on-site assessment report. 

D. The laboratory shall have access to documentation 

pertaining to any on-site assessment of its facilities. Any 

laboratory wishing to review its files shall request such 

assistance of DGS-DCLS DCLS five days prior to visiting 

DGS-DCLS DCLS. A laboratory may request copies of its 

documents without visiting DGS-DCLS DCLS. A reasonable 

fee may be charged for copying, mailing, and staff time. 

Article 3  

Proficiency Testing  

1VAC30-45-500. Laboratory enrollment in proficiency 

testing program. 

A. Required level of participation. 

1. To be certified initially and to maintain certification, a 

laboratory shall participate in two single-blind, single-

concentration PT studies, where available, per year for 

each PT field of testing for which it seeks or wants to 

maintain certification. Laboratories applying to be certified 

for environmental toxicology (aquatic toxicity, sediment 

toxicity, or soils toxicity) shall meet the requirements of 

subdivision 3 of this subsection.  

2. Laboratories shall obtain PT samples from any PT 

provider approved under the requirements of the NELAC 

standards for proficiency test providers set out in Chapter 2 

of the 2003 standards such as NIST. For PT fields of 
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testing having no approved providers listed by NELAC, 

the laboratory shall consult DGS-DCLS for an approved 

provider.  

3. Laboratories applying to be certified for environmental 

toxicology (aquatic toxicity, sediment toxicity, or soils 

toxicity). To be certified initially and to maintain 

certification, a laboratory shall participate in at least one 

PT study per year (i.e., not more than 12 months apart), 

when available, for each method code (matrix, organism, 

exposure system and endpoint) for which it seeks or wants 

to maintain certification. Laboratories seeking certification 

for aquatic toxicity testing shall meet the requirements of 

1VAC30-45-530.  

1. To be certified initially and to maintain certification, a 

laboratory shall participate in PT studies as specified in 

1VAC30-45-520 B for the fields of certification (FoC) for 

which the laboratory seeks or wants to maintain 

certification. 

2. The applicant laboratory shall obtain PT samples from a 

PT provider approved by TNI. If a PT sample is not 

available from a TNI-approved provider, the laboratory 

shall consult DCLS for an approved provider. 

B. Requesting certification. 

1. When applying for certification, the laboratory owner 

shall notify DGS-DCLS DCLS of the fields of testing 

certification for which the laboratory chooses to become 

certified and shall participate in the appropriate PT studies. 

2. For all fields of testing certification for which PT 

samples are not available, the laboratory shall ensure the 

reliability of its testing procedures by maintaining a quality 

system that meets all applicable requirements of Article 4 

(1VAC30-45-600 et seq.) of Part II of this chapter. 

C. Reporting results. 1. Each laboratory shall authorize the 

PT study provider to release all certification and remediation 

results and "acceptable" or "not acceptable" status the results 

of the final evaluation report of the laboratory's PT study 

directly to DGS-DCLS DCLS, in addition to the laboratory. 

2. The results of all of the PT sample tests including 

"acceptable" or "not acceptable" status shall be part of the 

public record. 

1VAC30-45-510. Requirements for laboratory testing of 

PT study samples. 

A. The samples shall be analyzed and the results returned to 

the PT study provider no later than 45 calendar days from the 

scheduled study shipment date. Samples for environmental 

toxicology shall be analyzed within 45 calendar days of 

sample receipt. The laboratory shall report the result within 

45 calendar days of completion of the PT. The laboratory 

shall report the analytical results from its analysis of the PT 

study to the PT provider on or before the closing date of the 

study using the reporting format specified by the PT provider. 

B. The laboratory's management and all analysts shall 

ensure that all PT samples are managed, analyzed, and 

reported in the same manner as real environmental samples 

utilizing the same staff, methods as used for routine analysis 

of that analyte, procedures, equipment, and facilities. When 

analyzing a PT sample, the laboratory shall employ the same 

calibration, laboratory quality control and acceptance criteria, 

sequence of analytical steps, number of replicates and other 

procedures as used when analyzing routine samples.  

C. Restrictions on exchanging information. Laboratories 

shall comply with all of the following restrictions on the 

transfer of PT samples and communication of PT sample 

results prior to the time the results of the study are released. 

Laboratory management or staff shall not: 

1. Send any PT sample, or a portion of a PT sample, to 

another laboratory for any analysis for which it seeks 

certification or is certified. 

2. Knowingly receive any PT sample or portion of a PT 

sample from another laboratory for any analysis for which 

the sending laboratory seeks certification or is certified. 

3. Communicate with any individual at another laboratory 

(including intra-company communication) concerning the 

PT sample. 

4. Attempt to obtain the assigned value of any PT sample 

from their PT provider. 

D. Maintenance of records. The laboratory shall maintain 

copies of all written, printed, and electronic records, including 

but not limited to bench sheets, instrument strip charts or 

printouts, data calculations, and data reports, resulting from 

the analysis of any PT sample for three years or for as long as 

is required by the applicable regulatory program. These 

records shall include a copy of the PT study report forms used 

by the laboratory to record PT results. All of these laboratory 

records shall be made available to the DCLS assessors of 

DGS-DCLS during on-site audits assessments of the 

laboratory. 

1VAC30-45-520. PT criteria for laboratory certification. 

A. Result categories. 

1. The criteria described in this section apply individually 

to each PT field of testing FoPT, as defined by the 

laboratory seeking to obtain or maintain certification in its 

certification request. These criteria apply only to the PT 

portion of the overall certification standard. 

2. There are two PT result categories: "acceptable" and 

"not acceptable." 

B. Initial and continuing certification. 

1. A laboratory seeking to obtain or maintain certification 

shall successfully complete two PT studies one PT study 

for each requested PT field of testing within the most 

recent three rounds attempted FoC. 

2. Once a laboratory has been granted certification status, it 

shall continue to complete PT studies for each PT field of 

testing FoPT and maintain a history of at least two one 

acceptable PT studies for each PT field of testing out of the 
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most recent three study each calendar year. The laboratory 

shall complete its PT studies by September 30 of each 

calendar year. 

3. For a laboratory seeking to obtain initial certification, 

the most recent three rounds attempted shall have occurred 

within 18 months of the laboratory's application date. 

When the PT sample used for initial certification was 

analyzed by the laboratory prior to the date of application, 

the analysis date of the PT sample shall be no more than 12 

months prior to the application date of certification. 

4. For a laboratory seeking initial certification, or for For a 

laboratory performing supplemental testing, the PT studies 

shall be at least 15 calendar days apart from the closing 

date of one study to the shipment date of another study for 

the same PT field of testing FoPT. 

5. For a laboratory to maintain certification, completion 

dates of successive proficiency rounds for a given PT field 

of testing shall be approximately six months apart. Failure 

to meet the semiannual schedule is regarded as a failed 

study.  

5. When the PT study result is reported by the PT provider 

as "acceptable" the environmental laboratory has satisfied 

the PT requirement. 

6. When the PT study result is "not acceptable," the 

environmental laboratory shall follow the procedure in 

subsection C of this section. 

7. DCLS shall consider a laboratory's analytical result for a 

FoPT not acceptable when the laboratory makes any 

reporting error or omission that results in a nonspecific 

match between the analytical result for the FoPT and any 

criterion that identifies the laboratory or the field of 

certification for which the PT sample was analyzed for the 

purpose of initial or continued certification. 

C. Procedure and requirements for "not acceptable" PT 

study results. 

1. When a laboratory receives a PT study result of "not 

acceptable," the laboratory shall determine the cause for 

the failure and perform and document corrective action. 

The corrective action documentation shall be completed 

within 30 days of receiving the "not acceptable" PT study 

result and be submitted to DCLS upon request. 

2. Upon completion of the corrective action the laboratory 

shall perform another PT study for each FoPT that had a 

"not acceptable" result. 

3. If the laboratory successfully completes the makeup PT 

study by receiving an "acceptable" result before December 

31, DCLS shall not suspend the laboratory's certification 

for the pertinent FoC.  

4. If the laboratory receives a "not acceptable" result on the 

makeup PT study, DCLS shall notify the laboratory that 

there is cause to suspend the laboratory's certification for 

the FoC for which the PT study was "not acceptable." 

5. DCLS shall not extend the period for annual PT study 

completion beyond December 31 each year. Failure to 

satisfactorily complete a PT study by December 31 shall 

result in suspension of certification in total or in part. 

6. If the laboratory receives a "not acceptable" result on 

three successive PT studies, DCLS shall decertify the 

laboratory for the pertinent FoC until such time that the 

laboratory: 

a. Completes corrective action for all failed studies and 

submits its corrective action report to DCLS;  

b. Obtains an "acceptable" result for the PT studies; and 

c. Applies for a change to its scope of certification and 

pays applicable fees required by 1VAC30-45-90 B and 

1VAC30-45-130 F. 

7. DCLS shall follow the provisions of 1VAC30-45-110 in 

decertifying the laboratory. 

C. Supplemental studies. 

1. A laboratory may elect to participate in PT studies more 

frequently than required by the semiannual schedule. This 

may be desirable, for example, when a laboratory first 

applies for certification or when a laboratory fails a study 

and wishes to quickly reestablish its history of successful 

performance. 

2. These additional studies shall be reported and are 

counted and scored the same way as routinely scheduled 

studies and shall be at least 15 calendar days apart. 

D. Failed studies and corrective action. 

1. Whenever a laboratory fails a study, it shall determine 

the cause for the failure and take any necessary corrective 

action. It shall then document in its own records and 

provide to DGS-DCLS both the investigation and the 

action taken. 

2. If a laboratory fails two out of the three most recent 

studies for a given field of testing, its performance is 

considered unacceptable for that field. The laboratory shall 

then meet the requirements of initial certification as 

described in subsection B of this section. 

E. Second failed study. 

1. The PT provider reports laboratory PT performance 

results to DGS-DCLS at the same time that it reports the 

results to the laboratory. 

2. If a laboratory fails a second study out of the most recent 

three, as described in subdivision D 2 of this section, DGS-

DCLS shall take action within 60 calendar days to 

determine the certification status for the unacceptable PT 

field of testing. 

F. Scheduling of PT studies. Laboratories shall determine 

the schedule for their PT studies.  

G. D. Withdrawal from PT studies. A laboratory may 

withdraw from a PT study for an analyte or analytes or for the 

entire study if the laboratory notifies both the PT provider and 
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DGS-DCLS before the closing date of the PT study. This 

does not exempt the laboratory from participating in the 

semiannual schedule. any FoPT on or before the close date of 

the study. Withdrawing from a study shall not exempt the 

laboratory from meeting the annual analysis requirements 

necessary for continued certification. 

1VAC30-45-530. Special requirements for aquatic 

toxicity. (Repealed.) 

A. Laboratories seeking certification for aquatic toxicity 

testing shall be assessed through on-site assessment and 

evaluation of EPA Discharge Monitoring Report-Quality 

Assurance (DMR-QA) test results when available. A failed 

DMR-QA endpoint shall require both of the following: 

1. A formal response to DGS-DCLS with an explanation of 

the probable cause for the endpoint failure and description 

of corrective actions to be taken (where appropriate). 

2. A decision by DGS-DCLS to accept the response or 

require additional actions on the part of the laboratory or 

by DGS-DCLS. 

B. If a laboratory's response is unacceptable and DGS-

DCLS does not require additional on-site assessments, the 

laboratory shall complete another study. Such additional 

studies shall be conducted at least 15 calendar days from the 

previous study until the results are acceptable to DGS-DCLS. 

DGS-DCLS may conduct additional on-site assessments as 

necessary based on the results of any additional studies. 

C. When the DMR-QA whole effluent toxicity portion does 

not include all test procedures required for a permit, the 

laboratory shall perform a proficiency test for aquatic toxicity 

testing. 

D. DGS-DCLS shall not base loss of certification for aquatic 

toxicity testing solely on PT results.  

Article 4  

Quality System  

1VAC30-45-600. Quality system. 

A. This article sets out the general requirements that an 

environmental laboratory has to successfully demonstrate to 

be recognized as competent to carry out specific 

environmental tests. The environmental laboratory shall 

establish, implement and maintain a quality system based on 

the required elements contained in this article. 

B. The quality system shall be appropriate to the type, range 

and volume of testing, analysis, measurement or monitoring 

performed by the laboratory.  

C. The quality system's documentation shall be 

communicated to, understood by, available to, and 

implemented by the appropriate personnel. All personnel 

concerned with testing and calibration activities within the 

laboratory shall familiarize themselves with the quality 

documentation and implement the policies and procedures in 

their work. 

C. D. If more stringent standards or requirements are 

included in a mandated test method or by regulation, the 

laboratory shall demonstrate that such requirements are met. 

If it is not clear which standard or requirement is more 

stringent, the standard or requirement from the method or 

regulation is to be followed. 

D. E. Provisions pertaining to the management of the quality 

system appear in 1VAC30-45-610 through 1VAC30-45-700. 

Provisions pertaining to the technical requirements for the 

quality system appear in 1VAC30-45-710 through 1VAC30-

45-770. 

1VAC30-45-610. Quality manual. 

A. General. 

1. The laboratory shall document its quality system in a 

quality manual. The quality manual shall reflect all quality 

assurance and quality control practices and programs used 

by the laboratory. The required elements of the quality 

system may be described in more than one document. 

2. The quality manual shall be maintained current under 

the responsibility of the quality assurance officer. 

3. The quality manual and any related documents shall be 

communicated to, understood by, available to, and 

implemented by all laboratory personnel. 

4. The quality manual shall include but not be limited to 

the elements listed in subsection subsections B and C of 

this section. 

B. The elements of a quality manual shall include but not be 

limited to: 

1. Title page. The quality manual shall list the following 

items on the title page: 

a. 1. A document title; 

b. 2. The laboratory's full name and address; 

c. 3. The name, address (if different from above), and 

telephone number of the responsible official, laboratory 

manager, and quality assurance officer; 

d. 4. The laboratory facility or facilities covered by the 

quality manual; 

e. 5. Signed and dated concurrence, with appropriate titles, 

of the responsible official, laboratory manager, and quality 

assurance officer; and 

f. 6. The effective date of the quality manual.; 

2. 7. Table of contents. and applicable lists of references, 

glossaries, and appendices; and 

3. 8. A quality policy statement, including objectives of the 

quality system and commitment to good ethical laboratory 

practices and to upholding the requirements of this 

chapter's standards. 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 1 Virginia Register of Regulations September 7, 2015 

34 

C. The quality manual shall include or reference but not be 

limited to: 

4. 1. The organization and management structure of the 

laboratory, its place in any parent organization and relevant 

organizational charts. 

5. The relationship between management, technical 

operations, support services and the quality system. 

6. The capabilities of the laboratory or scope of its 

operation. 

7. 2. Job descriptions of key staff and reference to the job 

descriptions of other staff. 

8. 3. Processes or procedures for establishing that 

personnel have adequate training and experience in the 

duties they are expected to carry out and are receiving any 

needed training. 

9. Ethics policy statement developed by the laboratory. 

Processes and procedures for educating and training 

personnel in their ethical and legal responsibilities 

including the potential penalties for improper, unethical or 

illegal actions. 

10. 4. Mechanisms for ensuring that the laboratory reviews 

all new work to ensure that it has the appropriate facilities 

and resources before commencing such work.  

11. 5. Procedures to ensure that all records required by this 

chapter are retained, as well as procedures for control and 

maintenance of documentation through a document control 

system that ensures that all standard operating procedures, 

manuals, or documents clearly indicate the time period 

during which the procedure or document was in force. 

12. 6. Procedures for dealing with complaints. 

13. 7. Procedures for audits and data review. 

14. Reference to verification 8. Verification practices that 

may include inter-laboratory comparisons, proficiency 

testing programs, use of reference materials and internal 

quality control schemes. 

15. 9. Procedures to be followed for feedback and 

corrective action whenever testing discrepancies are 

detected, or departures from documented policies and 

procedures occur. 

16. 10. The laboratory management arrangements for 

permitting departures from documented policies and 

procedures or from standard specifications when the 

departures are planned and controlled. 

17. Reference to the 11. The major equipment and 

reference measurement standards used as well as the 

physical facility and environment used by the laboratory in 

conducting tests. 

18. Reference to procedures 12. Procedures for calibration, 

verification and maintenance of equipment. 

19. 13. A list of all technology/methods under which the 

laboratory performs its certified testing.  

20. The laboratory's procedures 14. Procedures for 

achieving traceability of measurements, including 

standards. 

21. 15. Procedures for receiving, handling, storing, and 

disposing of submitted samples. 

22. Reference to procedures 16. Procedures for reporting 

analytical results. 

17. Policy addressing the use of unique electronic 

signatures, where applicable. 

C. D. Review and approval of quality manual. 

1. The quality assurance officer shall review the 

laboratory's quality assurance program, manual and any 

related documentation whenever there is any change in test 

methods employed by the laboratory, change in equipment, 

or any other change in the laboratory that affects the 

quality assurance program. 

2. The quality assurance manual shall be reviewed and 

approved by the quality assurance officer, the laboratory 

manager, and the responsible official at least annually. 

1VAC30-45-660. Required records. 

A. Sample handling. 

1. The laboratory shall maintain a record of all procedures 

to which a sample is subjected while in the possession of 

the laboratory. These shall include but are not limited to all 

records pertaining to sample preservation, identification, 

receipt, acceptance or rejection, log-in, storage and 

tracking. The laboratory shall also maintain sampling 

information on each sample. This includes time and date of 

collection, type of sample (grab or composite), type of 

container, sampling point and preservation.  

2. The laboratory shall have documented procedures for 

the receipt and retention of samples, including provisions 

necessary to protect the integrity of the samples. 

B. Laboratory support activities. The laboratory shall retain 

the following documents and data: 

1. All original raw data, whether hard copy or electronic, 

for calibrations, samples and quality control measures, 

including analysts' work sheets and data output records 

(chromatograms, strip charts, and other instrument 

response readout records). 

2. A written description or reference to the specific test 

method used that includes a description of the specific 

computational steps used to translate parametric 

observations into a reportable analytical value. 

3. Copies of final reports. 

4. Archived standard operating procedures. 

5. Correspondence relating to laboratory activities. 

6. All corrective action reports plans, audits, and audit 

responses. 

7. Proficiency test results and raw data. 
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8. Results of data review, verification, and cross-checking 

procedures. 

C. Analytical records. The laboratory shall retain essential 

information associated with analytical documents, such as 

strip charts, tabular printouts, computer data files, analytical 

notebooks, and run logs. This information includes, but is not 

limited to, all manual calculations, (e.g., manual integrations); 

sample preparation; standard and reagent origin, receipt, 

preparation, and use; quality control protocols and 

assessment; and method performance criteria. 

D. Administrative records. The laboratory shall maintain the 

following administrative records: 

1. Personnel qualifications, experience and training 

records. 

2. Records of demonstration of capability for each analyst 

or work cell. 

3. A log of names, initials and signatures for all individuals 

who are responsible for signing or initialing any laboratory 

record. 

1VAC30-45-670. Audits. 

A. Internal audits. 

1. The laboratory shall arrange for annual internal audits to 

verify that its operations continue to comply with the 

requirements of the laboratory's quality system. It is the 

responsibility of the quality assurance officer to plan and 

organize audits as required by a predetermined schedule 

and requested by management. 

2. Trained and qualified personnel who are, wherever 

resources permit, independent of the activity to be audited, 

shall carry out these audits. Personnel shall not audit their 

own activities except when it can be demonstrated that an 

effective audit will be carried out. 

3. Where the audit findings cast doubt on the correctness or 

validity of the laboratory's calibrations or test results, the 

laboratory shall take immediate corrective action. 

4. A laboratory may have an audit performed under 

contract by an outside source competent to audit the 

laboratory's operations. 

B. Managerial review. 

1. The laboratory management shall conduct a review, at 

least annually, of its quality system and its testing and 

calibration activities to ensure its continuing suitability and 

effectiveness and to introduce any necessary changes or 

improvements in the quality system and laboratory 

operations. 

2. The review shall take account of reports from 

managerial and supervisory personnel, the outcome of 

recent internal audits, assessments by external bodies, the 

results of inter-laboratory comparisons or proficiency tests, 

corrective actions and other relevant factors. 

3. The laboratory shall have a procedure for review by 

management and maintain records of review findings and 

actions. 

4. Where the staff of a laboratory is limited to a single 

analyst, a supervisor may perform a managerial review. 

C. Audit review. All audit and review findings and any 

corrective actions that arise from them shall be documented. 

The laboratory management shall ensure that these actions are 

discharged within the agreed time frame as indicated in the 

quality manual or standard operating procedures or both. For 

clarification, documentation of audit and review findings 

should be a simple procedure, essentially a memorandum 

setting out the findings of the audit and managerial review 

and any action to follow. 

D. Corrective actions. 

1. In addition to providing acceptance criteria and specific 

protocols for corrective actions in the method standard 

operating procedures, the laboratory shall implement 

general procedures to be followed to determine 

consistently when departures from documented policies, 

procedures and quality control have occurred. These 

procedures may include but are not limited to the 

following: 

a. Identify the individual or individuals responsible for 

assessing each quality control data type; 

b. Identify the individual or individuals responsible for 

initiating or recommending corrective actions or both; 

c. Define how the analyst shall treat a data set if the 

associated quality control measurements are 

unacceptable; 

d. Specify how out-of-control situations and subsequent 

corrective actions are to be documented; and 

e. Specify procedures for management (including the 

quality assurance officer) to review corrective action 

reports plans. 

2. To the extent possible, samples shall be reported only if 

all quality control measures are acceptable. If a quality 

control measure is found to be out of control, and the data 

are to be reported, all samples associated with the failed 

quality control measure shall be reported with the 

appropriate data qualifiers. 

1VAC30-45-720. Equipment and reference materials. 

A. The laboratory shall be furnished with all items of 

equipment, including reference materials, required for the 

correct performance of tests for which certification is sought. 

The laboratory shall maintain records of reference materials 

sufficient to provide proper performance of tests. In those 

cases where the laboratory needs to use equipment outside its 

permanent control it shall ensure that the relevant 

requirements of this article are met. 

B. All equipment shall be properly maintained, inspected 

and cleaned. Maintenance procedures shall be documented. 
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C. Any item of the equipment that has been subjected to 

overloading or mishandling, or that gives suspect results, or 

has been shown by verification or otherwise to be defective 

shall be taken out of service immediately, clearly identified as 

being out of service and, wherever possible, stored at a 

specified place until it has been repaired and shown by 

calibration, verification or test to perform satisfactorily. The 

laboratory shall examine the effect of this defect on previous 

calibrations or tests. 

D. Each item of equipment including reference materials 

shall be labeled, marked or otherwise identified to indicate its 

calibration status. 

E. Records of each major item of equipment significant to 

the tests performed shall be maintained. These records shall 

include documentation on all routine and non-routine 

maintenance activities. The laboratory shall maintain records 

of reference materials sufficient to provide proper 

performance of tests. The records shall include: 

1. The name of the item of equipment; 

2. The manufacturer's name, type identification, and serial 

number or other unique identification; 

3. Date received and date placed in service (if available); 

4. 3. Current location, where appropriate; 

5. If available, condition when received (e.g., new, used, 

reconditioned); 

6. 4. Copy of the manufacturer's instructions, where 

available; 

7. 5. Dates and results of calibrations or verifications or 

both and date of the next calibration or verification; 

8. 6. Details of maintenance carried out to date and planned 

for the future; and 

9. 7. History of any damage, malfunction, modification or 

repair. 

1VAC30-45-730. Test methods and standard operating 

procedures. 

A. Methods documentation. 

1. The laboratory shall have documented instructions on 

the use and operation of all relevant equipment, on the 

handling and preparation of samples, and for calibration or 

testing, where the absence of such instructions could 

jeopardize the calibrations or tests. 

2. All instructions, standards, manuals and reference data 

relevant to the work of the laboratory shall be maintained 

up to date and be readily available to the staff. 

B. Standard operating procedures (SOPs). 

1. Laboratories shall maintain SOPs that accurately reflect 

all phases of current laboratory activities such as assessing 

data integrity, corrective actions, handling customer 

complaints, and all test methods. These documents, for 

example, may be equipment manuals provided by the 

manufacturer or internally written documents. The test 

methods may be copies of published methods as long as 

any changes or selected options in the methods are 

documented and included in the laboratory methods 

manual. 

2. The SOPs shall be organized. Each SOP shall clearly 

indicate the effective date of the document, the revision 

number, and the signature or signatures of the responsible 

laboratory manager or managers. 

3. Copies of all SOPs shall be accessible to all personnel. 

C. Laboratory methods manuals. SOPs for laboratory 

methods. 

1. The laboratory shall have and maintain an in-house 

methods manual or manuals SOP for each certified analyte 

or test method. 

2. This manual may consists of copies of published or 

referenced methods or standard operating procedures that 

have been SOP may be a copy of a published or referenced 

method or may be written by the laboratory. In cases where 

modifications to the published method have been made by 

the laboratory or where the referenced test method is 

ambiguous or provides insufficient detail, these changes or 

clarifications shall be clearly described. Each test method 

shall include or reference where applicable: 

a. Identification of the test method; 

b. Applicable matrix or matrices; 

c. Method detection limit Limits of detection or 

quantitation; 

d. Scope and application, including components 

parameters to be analyzed; 

e. Summary of the test method; 

f. Definitions; 

g. Interferences; 

h. Safety; 

i. Equipment and supplies; 

j. Reagents and standards; 

k. Sample collection, preservation, shipment and storage; 

l. Quality control; 

m. Calibration and standardization; 

n. Procedure; 

o. Calculations Data analysis and calculations; 

p. Method performance; 

q. Pollution prevention; 

r. Data assessment and acceptance criteria for quality 

control measures; 

s. Corrective actions for out-of-control data; 

t. Contingencies for handling out-of-control or 

unacceptable data; 

u. Waste management; 
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v. References; and 

w. Any tables, diagrams, flowcharts and validation data. 

D. Test methods. 

1. Laboratories shall use (i) promulgated test methods in 

accordance with the Code of Federal Regulations; (ii) test 

methods stated in any current permit issued by Virginia the 

State Air Pollution Control Board, the Virginia Waste 

Management Board, or the State Water Control Board; or 

(iii) alternate test procedures approved by the board issuing 

the permit or the Department of Environmental Quality, 

including applicable quality assurance requirements, and 

sample preservation, container, storage, and holding time 

requirements. Laboratories shall use the latest valid edition 

of a method unless it is not appropriate to do so. 

2. The laboratory shall use appropriate test methods and 

procedures for all tests and related activities within its 

responsibility (including sample handling, transport and 

storage, preparation and analysis). The method and 

procedures shall be consistent with the accuracy required 

and with any standard specifications relevant to the 

calibrations or tests concerned. 

3. When the use of reference test methods for a sample 

analysis is mandated, only those methods shall be used. 

4. Where test methods are employed that are not required, 

as in the Performance Based Measurement System 

approach, the methods shall be fully documented and 

validated (see subsection E of this section). 

E. Demonstration of capability. 

1. Prior to acceptance and institution of any test method, 

satisfactory initial demonstration of method capability is 

required. In general, this demonstration does not test the 

performance of the method in real world samples, but in 

the applicable and available clean quality system matrix 

sample (a quality system matrix in which no target analytes 

or interferences are present at concentrations that impact 

the results of a specific test method), e.g. for example, 

drinking water, solids, biological tissue and air. 

Laboratories shall follow the procedure in subsection F of 

this section to demonstrate capability. 

2. Thereafter, continuing ongoing demonstration of method 

performance, such as laboratory control samples, is 

required. 

3. In cases where a laboratory analyzes samples using a 

test method that has been in use by the laboratory before 

July 1999 for at least one year prior to applying for 

certification, and there have been no significant changes in 

instrument type, personnel or test method, the continuing 

demonstration of method performance and the analyst's 

documentation of continued proficiency shall be 

acceptable. The laboratory shall have records on file to 

demonstrate that an initial demonstration of capability is 

not required. 

4. In all cases, the laboratory shall complete and retain a 

certification statement and shall make the statement 

available upon request. The laboratory shall retain all 

associated supporting data necessary to reproduce the 

analytical results summarized in the certification statement. 

5. The laboratory shall complete a demonstration of 

capability each time there is a change in instrument type, 

personnel or test method, including the addition of an 

analyte to a certified test method. 

6. In laboratories with specialized work cells (a group 

consisting of analysts with specifically defined tasks that 

together perform the test method), the group as a unit shall 

meet the criteria of this subsection. This demonstration of 

capability shall be fully documented.  

F. Procedure for demonstration of capability. The following 

steps shall be performed for mandated test methods. 

However, before any results are reported using this method, 

actual sample spike results may be used to meet this standard, 

(i.e., at least four consecutive matrix spikes within the last 12 

months). For analytes that do not lend themselves to spiking, 

(e.g., TSS), the demonstration of capability may be performed 

using quality control samples. The laboratory may document 

that other approaches to demonstration of capability are 

adequate. This documentation shall be included in the 

laboratory's quality manual: 

1. A quality control (QC) sample may be obtained from an 

outside source or may be prepared by the laboratory using 

alternate source stock standards that are prepared 

independently from those used in instrument calibration. 

2. The analyte or analytes shall be diluted in a volume of 

clean quality system matrix sufficient to prepare four 

aliquots at the concentration specified, or if unspecified, to 

a concentration of 1-4 times the limit of quantitation. 

3. At least four aliquots shall be prepared and analyzed 

according to the test method either concurrently or over a 

period of days. 

4. Using all of the results, calculate the mean recovery in 

the appropriate reporting units (such as g/L) and the 

standard deviations of the population sample (n-1) (in the 

same units) for each parameter of interest. When it is not 

possible to determine mean and standard deviations, such 

as for presence or absence of the analyte and logarithmic 

values, the laboratory shall assess performance against 

established and documented criteria. 

5. Compare the information from subdivision 4 of this 

subsection to the corresponding acceptance criteria for 

precision and accuracy in the test method (if applicable) or 

in laboratory-generated acceptance criteria (if there are not 

established mandatory criteria). If all parameters meet the 

acceptance criteria, the analysis of actual samples may 

begin. If any one of the parameters do not meet the 

acceptance criteria, the performance is unacceptable for 

that parameter. 
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6. When one or more of the tested parameters fail at least 

one of the acceptance criteria, the analyst shall proceed 

according to either subdivision 6 a or 6 b below of this 

subsection. 

a. Locate and correct the source of the problem and 

repeat the test for all parameters of interest beginning 

with subdivision 3 of this subsection. 

b. Beginning with subdivision 3 of this subsection, repeat 

the test for all parameters that failed to meet criteria. 

Repeated failure, however, confirms a general problem 

with the measurement system. If this occurs, locate and 

correct the source of the problem and repeat the test for 

all compounds of interest beginning with subdivision 3 of 

this subsection. 

G. Certification statement. The following certification 

statement shall be used to document the completion of each 

demonstration of capability. A copy of the certification 

statement shall be retained in the personnel records of each 

affected employee. 

Demonstration of Capability  

Certification Statement  

Date: Page __of __ 

Laboratory Name:  

Laboratory Address: 

Analyst(s) Name(s): 

Matrix: 

(examples: laboratory pure water, soil, air, solid, biological 

tissue) 

Method number, SOP#, Rev#, and Analyte, or Class of 

Analytes or Measured Parameters 

(examples: barium by 200.7, trace metals by 6010 B, benzene 

by 8021 B, etc.) 

We, the undersigned, CERTIFY that: 

1. The analysts identified above, using the cited test 

method(s), which is in use at this facility for the analyses 

of samples under the Virginia Environmental Laboratory 

Certification Program, have met the Demonstration of 

Capability. 

2. The test method(s) was performed by the analyst(s) 

identified on this certification. 

3. A copy of the test method(s) and the laboratory-specific 

SOPs are available for all personnel on-site. 

4. The data associated with the demonstration capability 

are true, accurate, complete and self-explanatory
(1)

. 

5. All raw data (including a copy of this certification form) 

necessary to reconstruct and validate these analyses have 

been retained at the facility, and that the associated 

information is well organized and available for review by 

authorized assessors. 

Laboratory Manager's Name and Title________________ 

Signature________________ Date_______ 

Quality Assurance Officer's Name___________________ 

Signature________________ Date_______ 
(1)

True - consistent with supporting data. Accurate - based on 

good laboratory practices consistent with sound scientific 

principles and practices. Complete - includes the results of all 

supporting performance testing. Self-explanatory - data 

properly labeled and stored so that the results are clear and 

require no additional explanation.  

H. Sample aliquots. Where sampling (as in obtaining sample 

aliquots from a submitted sample) is carried out as part of the 

test method, the laboratory shall use documented procedures 

and appropriate techniques to obtain representative 

subsamples. 

I. Data verification. Calculations and data transfers shall be 

subject to appropriate checks. The laboratory shall establish 

standard operating procedures to ensure that (i) the reported 

data are free from transcription and calculation errors and (ii) 

all quality control measures are reviewed and evaluated 

before data are reported. The laboratory also shall establish 

standard operating procedures addressing manual calculations 

including manual integrations. 

J. Documentation and labeling of standards and reagents. 

Documented procedures shall exist for the reception and 

storage of consumable materials used for the technical 

operations of the laboratory. 

1. The laboratory shall retain records for all standards, 

reagents, reference materials and media including the 

manufacturer/vendor, the manufacturer's Certificate of 

Analysis or purity (if available), the date of receipt, 

recommended storage conditions, and an expiration date 

after which the material shall not be used unless its 

reliability is verified by the laboratory. 

2. Original containers (such as provided by the 

manufacturer or vendor) shall be labeled with an expiration 

date if this date is provided by the manufacturer or vendor. 

3. Records shall be maintained on standard and reference 

material preparation. These records shall indicate 

traceability to purchased stocks or neat compounds, 

reference to the method of preparation, date of preparation, 

expiration date and preparer's initials. 

4. Sufficient identification of containers of prepared 

reagents and standards shall be provided to ensure proper 

performance of tests. 

K. Computers and electronic data related requirements. 

Where computers, automated equipment or microprocessors 

are used for the capture, processing, manipulation, recording, 

reporting, storage or retrieval of test data, the laboratory shall 

ensure the following: 

1. Computer software developed by the user is documented 

in sufficient detail and is suitably validated as being 

adequate for use. 
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2. Procedures are established and implemented for 

protecting the integrity of data, such as integrity of data 

entry or capture, data storage, data transmission and data 

processing. 

3. Computer and automated equipment are maintained to 

ensure proper functioning and provided with the 

environmental and operating conditions necessary to 

maintain the integrity of calibration and test data. 

4. Appropriate procedures are established and implemented 

for the maintenance of security of data including the 

prevention of unauthorized access to, and the unauthorized 

amendment of, computer records. 

1VAC30-45-740. Measurement traceability and 

calibration. 

A. General requirements. All equipment used for 

environmental tests, including equipment for subsidiary 

measurements (e.g., for environmental conditions) having a 

significant effect on the accuracy or validity of the result of 

the environmental test or sampling shall be calibrated before 

being put into service and on a continuing basis. The 

laboratory shall have an established program and procedure 

for the calibration of its equipment. This includes balances, 

thermistors, thermometers and control standards. Such a 

program shall include a system for selecting, using, 

calibrating, checking, controlling and maintaining 

measurement standards, reference materials used as 

measurement standards, and measuring and test equipment 

used to perform environmental tests.  

B. Traceability of calibration. 

1. The laboratory shall ensure that the equipment used can 

provide the uncertainty of measurement needed. 

2. The overall program of calibration or verification or 

both and validation of equipment shall be designed and 

operated so as to ensure that measurements made by the 

laboratory are traceable to national standards of 

measurement. 

3. Where traceability of measurements to the International 

System of Units (SI) is not possible or not relevant, the 

same requirements for traceability to, for example, 

certified reference materials, agreed methods and/or or 

consensus standards, are required. The laboratory shall 

provide satisfactory evidence of correlation of results, for 

example by participation in a suitable program of inter-

laboratory comparisons, proficiency testing, or 

independent analysis. 

C. Reference standards and reference materials.  

1. Reference standards. The laboratory shall have a 

program and procedure for the calibration of its reference 

standards. Reference standards of measurement shall be 

calibrated by a body that can provide traceability as 

described in subsection B of this section. Such reference 

standards of measurement held by the laboratory (such as 

Class S or equivalent weights or traceable thermometers) 

shall be used for calibration only and for no other purpose, 

unless it can be demonstrated that their performance as 

reference standards would not be invalidated. Where 

commercially available, this traceability shall be to a 

national standard of measurement. 

2. Reference materials. Reference materials shall, where 

commercially available, be traceable to SI units of 

measurement, or to certified reference materials. Where 

possible, traceability shall be to national or international 

standards of measurement, or to national or international 

standard reference materials. Internal reference materials 

shall be checked as far as is technically and economically 

practicable.  

D. Calibration. Calibration requirements are divided into 

two parts: (i) requirements for analytical support equipment 

and (ii) requirements for instrument calibration. In addition, 

the requirements for instrument calibration are divided into 

initial instrument calibration and continuing instrument 

calibration verification. 

1. Support equipment. These standards apply to all devices 

that may not be the actual test instrument, but are 

necessary to support laboratory operations. These include 

but are not limited to balances, ovens, refrigerators, 

freezers, incubators, water baths, temperature measuring 

devices (including thermometers and thermistors), 

thermal/pressure sample preparation devices and 

volumetric dispensing devices (such as Eppendorf®, or 

automatic dilutor or dispensing devices) if quantitative 

results are dependent on their accuracy, as in standard 

preparation and dispensing or dilution into a specified 

volume. 

a. All support equipment shall be maintained in proper 

working order. The records of all repair and maintenance 

activities, including service calls, shall be kept. 

b. All support equipment shall be calibrated or verified at 

least annually, using NIST traceable references when 

available, over the entire range of use. The results of such 

calibration shall be within the specifications required of 

the application for which this equipment is used. If not, 

the laboratory shall either (i) remove the equipment from 

service until repaired or (ii) maintain records of 

established correction factors to correct all 

measurements. 

c. Raw data records shall be retained to document 

equipment performance. 

d. Prior to use on each working day On each day the 

equipment is used, balances, ovens, refrigerators, 

freezers, and water baths shall be checked in the expected 

use range, with NIST traceable references where 

available. The acceptability for use or continued use shall 

be according to the needs of the analysis or application 

for which the equipment is being used. 
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e. Mechanical volumetric dispensing devices including 

burettes (except Class A glassware) shall be checked for 

accuracy on at least a quarterly use basis. Glass 

microliter syringes are to be considered in the same 

manner as Class A glassware, but shall come with a 

certificate attesting to established accuracy or the 

accuracy shall be initially demonstrated and documented 

by the laboratory. 

f. For chemical tests, the temperature, cycle time and 

pressure of each run of autoclaves shall be documented 

by the use of appropriate chemical indicators or 

temperature recorders and pressure gauges. 

g. For biological tests that employ autoclave sterilization, 

the following requirements apply: 

(1) The performance of each autoclave shall be initially 

evaluated by establishing its functional properties and 

performance, for example heat distribution characteristics 

with respect to typical uses. Autoclaves shall meet 

specified temperature tolerances. Pressure cookers fitted 

only with a pressure gauge are not recommended for 

sterilization of media or decontamination of wastes. 

(2) Records of autoclave operations including 

temperature and time shall be maintained. This shall be 

done for every cycle. Acceptance and rejection criteria 

shall be established and used to evaluate the autoclave 

efficiency and effectiveness. 

2. Instrument calibration. 

a. This standard specifies the essential elements that 

define the procedures and documentation for initial 

instrument calibration and continuing instrument 

calibration verification to ensure that the data shall be of 

known quality and be appropriate for a given regulation 

or decision. This standard does not specify detailed 

procedural steps for calibration, but establishes the 

essential elements for selection of the appropriate 

technique or techniques. If more stringent standards or 

requirements are included in a mandated test method or 

by regulation, the laboratory shall demonstrate that such 

requirements are met. If it is not apparent which standard 

is more stringent, then the requirements of the regulation 

or mandated test method are to be followed. 

b. Initial instrument calibrations. The following items are 

essential elements of initial instrument calibration: 

(1) The laboratory shall include or reference the details 

of the initial instrument calibration procedures, including 

calculations, integrations, acceptance criteria and 

associated statistics in the standard operating procedure 

for the test method. When initial instrument calibration 

procedures are referenced in the test method, then the 

laboratory shall retain the referenced material and make 

it available for review. 

(2) The laboratory shall retain sufficient raw data records 

to permit reconstruction of the initial instrument 

calibration, (e.g., calibration date, test method, 

instrument, analysis date, each analyte name, analyst's 

initials or signature, concentration and response, 

calibration curve or response factor, or unique equation 

or coefficient used to reduce instrument responses to 

concentration). 

(3) Sample results shall be quantitated from the initial 

instrument calibration and may not be quantitated from 

any continuing instrument calibration verification unless 

otherwise required by regulation, method, or program. 

(4) All initial instrument calibrations shall be verified 

with a standard obtained from a second manufacturer or 

lot. Traceability shall be to a national standard, when 

available. This element does not apply to laboratories 

performing only simple test procedures. 

(5) Criteria for the acceptance of an initial instrument 

calibration shall be established, (e.g., correlation 

coefficient and relative percent difference). The criteria 

used shall be 0.995 or greater for the calibration 

coefficient unless a different criterion is included in the 

method being used. 

(6) Results of samples not bracketed by initial calibration 

standards (within calibration range) shall be reported as 

having less certainty, (e.g., defined qualifiers or flags or 

explained in the case narrative). The lowest calibration 

standard shall be above the detection limit. 

(7) If the initial instrument calibration results are outside 

established acceptance criteria, corrective actions shall be 

performed. Data associated with an unacceptable initial 

instrument calibration shall not be reported. 

(8) Calibration standards shall include concentrations at 

or below the regulatory limit or decision level, if these 

limits or levels are known by the laboratory, unless these 

concentrations are below the laboratory's demonstrated 

detection limits. 

(9) If a reference or mandated method does not specify 

the number of calibration standards, the minimum 

number is two, not including blanks or a zero standard. 

The laboratory shall have a standard operating procedure 

for determining the number of points for establishing the 

initial instrument calibration. 

c. Continuing instrument calibration verification. 

(1) When an initial instrument calibration is not 

performed on the day of analysis, the validity of the 

initial calibration shall be verified prior to sample 

analyses by a continuing instrument calibration check 

with each analytical batch. This provision does not apply 

to laboratories performing only simple test procedures. 

(2) The following items are essential elements of 

continuing instrument calibration verification: 

(a) The laboratory shall include or reference the details of 

the continuing instrument calibration procedure, 
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calculations and associated statistics in the standard 

operating procedure for the test method. 

(b) The laboratory shall verify calibration for each 

compound, element, or other discrete chemical species, 

except for multicomponent analytes such as Aroclors, 

Total Petroleum Hydrocarbons, or Toxaphene where a 

representative chemical related substance or mixture can 

be used.  

(c) The laboratory shall perform a continuing instrument 

calibration verification as follows: 

(i) At the beginning and end of each analytical batch. If 

an internal standard is used, only one verification needs 

to be performed at the beginning of the analytical batch; 

(ii) Whenever it is expected that the analytical system 

may be out of calibration or might not meet the 

verification acceptance criteria; 

(iii) If the time period for calibration or the most previous 

calibration verification has expired; or 

(iv) For analytical systems that contain a calibration 

verification requirement.  

(d) Sufficient raw data records shall be retained to permit 

reconstruction of the continuing instrument calibration 

verification, (e.g., or test method, instrument, analysis 

date, each analyte name, concentration and response, 

calibration curve or response factor, or unique equations 

or coefficients used to convert instrument responses into 

concentrations). Continuing calibration verification 

records shall explicitly connect the continuing 

verification data to the initial instrument calibration. 

(e) Criteria for the acceptance of a continuing instrument 

calibration verification shall be established, (e.g., percent 

recovery or relative percent difference). 

(f) If the continuing instrument calibration verification 

results obtained are outside established acceptance 

criteria, corrective actions shall be performed. If routine 

corrective action procedures fail to produce a second 

consecutive (immediate) calibration verification within 

acceptance criteria, then either the laboratory has to 

demonstrate acceptable performance after corrective 

action with two consecutive successful calibration 

verifications, or a new initial instrument calibration shall 

be performed. If the laboratory has not verified 

calibration, sample analyses shall not occur until the 

analytical system is calibrated or calibration verified. If 

samples are analyzed using a system on which the 

calibration has not yet been verified, the results shall be 

flagged. Data associated with an unacceptable calibration 

verification may be fully useable under the following 

special conditions: 

(i) When the acceptance criteria for the continuing 

calibration verification are exceeded high, (i.e., high 

bias,) and there are associated samples that are 

nondetects, then those nondetects may be reported. 

Otherwise the samples affected by the unacceptable 

calibration verification shall be reanalyzed after a new 

calibration curve has been established, evaluated and 

accepted. 

(ii) When the acceptance criteria for the continuing 

calibration verification are exceeded low, (i.e., low bias,) 

those sample results may be reported if they exceed a 

maximum regulatory limit or decision level. Otherwise 

the samples affected by the unacceptable verification 

shall be reanalyzed after a new calibration curve has been 

established, evaluated and accepted. 

1VAC30-45-750. Quality assurance. 

A. General. The laboratory shall have quality control 

procedures for monitoring the validity of environmental tests 

undertaken. The resulting data shall be recorded in such a 

way that trends are detectable and, where practicable, 

statistical techniques shall be applied to the reviewing of the 

results. This monitoring shall be planned and reviewed and 

may include, but not be limited to, the following: 

1. Regular use of certified reference materials and/or or 

internal quality control using secondary reference materials 

or both. 

2. Participation in interlaboratory comparison or 

proficiency testing program. 

3. Replicate tests using the same or different methods. 

4. Retesting of retained samples. 

5. Correlation of results for different characteristics of a 

sample (for example (e.g., total phosphate should be 

greater than or equal to orthophosphate). 

B. Essential quality control procedures. The general quality 

control principles in subsections C through F of this section 

shall apply, where applicable, to all environmental 

laboratories. The manner in which they are implemented is 

dependent on the types of tests performed by the laboratory. 

1VAC30-45-760 through 1VAC30-45-829 specify quality 

control requirements for specific test types. 1VAC30-45-770 

through 1VAC30-45-775, 1VAC30-45-790 through 

1VAC30-45-798, and 1VAC30-45-810 through 1VAC30-45-

818 specify quality control requirements for chemical testing, 

microbiological testing, and air testing, respectively. 

Noncommercial environmental laboratories that analyze 

environmental samples using other types of testing such as 

toxicity, radiochemical, or asbestos testing shall meet the 

quality control standards for the specific method and the 

specific type of testing in the 2009 TNI Standards for 

Environmental Laboratories. The standards for any given test 

type shall assure that the applicable principles are addressed. 

C. All laboratories shall have detailed written protocols in 

place to monitor the following quality controls: 

1. Positive and negative controls to monitor tests such as 

blanks, spikes, reference toxicants. 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 1 Virginia Register of Regulations September 7, 2015 

42 

2. Tests to define the variability or repeatability of the 

laboratory results or both such as replicates. 

3. Measures to assure the accuracy of the test method 

including calibration or continuing calibrations or both, use 

of certified reference materials, proficiency test samples, or 

other measures. 

4. Measures to evaluate test method capability, such as 

method detection limits and quantitation limits or range of 

applicability such as linearity. 

5. Selection of appropriate formulae to reduce raw data to 

final results such as regression analysis, comparison to 

internal and external standard calculations, and statistical 

analyses. 

6. Selection and use of reagents and standards of 

appropriate quality. 

7. Measures to assure the selectivity of the test for its 

intended purpose. 

8. Measures to assure constant and consistent test 

conditions (both instrumental and environmental) where 

required by the test method such as temperature, humidity, 

light, or specific instrument conditions. 

1VAC30-45-760. Quality control requirements. 

A. General. 

1. The quality control protocols specified by the 

laboratory's method manual SOPs shall be followed 

(1VAC30-45-730 C). The laboratory shall ensure that 

either the (i) applicable essential standards outlined in this 

section through 1VAC30-45-829 1VAC30-45-775, 

1VAC30-45-791 through 1VAC30-45-798, and 1VAC30-

45-811 or (ii) mandated methods or regulations, whichever 

are more stringent, are incorporated into their method 

manuals SOPs. When it is not apparent which is more 

stringent, the quality control controls in the mandated 

method or regulations is are to be followed.  

2. All quality control measures shall be assessed and 

evaluated on an ongoing basis and quality control 

acceptance criteria shall be used to determine the validity 

of the data. The laboratory shall have procedures for the 

development of acceptance/rejection criteria where no 

method or regulatory criteria exists. 

B. Initial test method evaluation. For all test methods other 

than toxicity and microbiology, the requirements of 

subdivisions 1 and 2 of this subsection apply. For toxicity and 

microbiology testing, the initial test method evaluation 

requirements are contained in 1VAC30-45-780 through 

1VAC30-45-788 and 1VAC30-45-790 through 1VAC30-45-

798, respectively. For the evaluation of precision and bias 

(subdivision 3 of this subsection), the requirements of 

subdivision 3 a of this subsection apply to standard methods. 

The requirements of subdivision 3 b of this subsection apply 

to the methods referenced in that subdivision. 

1. Limit of detection (LOD). 

a. The laboratory shall determine the LOD for the 

method for each target analyte of concern in the quality 

system matrices. All sample processing steps of the 

analytical method shall be included in the determination 

of the LOD. 

b. The validity of the LOD shall be confirmed by 

qualitative identification of the analyte(s) in a quality 

control sample in each quality system matrix containing 

the analyte at no more than two to three times the LOD 

for single analyte tests and one to four times the LOD for 

multiple analyte tests. This verification shall be 

performed on every instrument that is to be used for 

analysis of samples and reporting of data. 

c. An LOD study is not required for any component for 

which spiking solutions or quality control samples are 

not available such as temperature, or, when test results 

are not to be reported to the LOD (versus the limit of 

quantitation or working range of instrument calibration), 

according to 1VAC30-45-771, 1VAC30-45-805, and 

1VAC30-45-814, and 1VAC30-45-826. Where an LOD 

study is not performed, the laboratory may not report a 

value below the limit of quantitation. 

2. Limit of quantitation (LOQ). 

a. The laboratory shall determine the LOQ for each 

analyte of concern according to a defined, documented 

procedure. 

b. The LOQ study is not required for any component or 

property for which spiking solutions or quality control 

samples are not commercially available or otherwise 

inappropriate (e.g., pH). 

c. The validity of the LOQ shall be confirmed by 

successful analysis of a QC sample containing the 

analytes of concern in each quality system matrix one to 

two times the claimed LOQ. A successful analysis is one 

where the recovery of each analyte is within the 

established test method acceptance criteria or client data 

quality objectives for accuracy. This single analysis is 

not required if the bias and precision of the measurement 

system is evaluated at the LOQ. 

3. Evaluation of precision and bias. 

a. Standard methods. The laboratory shall evaluate the 

precision and bias of a standard method for each analyte 

of concern for each quality system matrix according to 

either of the following: 

(1) The single-concentration four-replicate recovery 

study procedures in 1VAC30-45-730 F; or 

(2) An alternate procedure documented in the quality 

manual when the analyte cannot be spiked into the 

sample matrix and quality control samples are not 

commercially available. 

b. Nonstandard methods. 
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(1) For laboratory-developed test methods or nonstandard 

test methods that were not in use by the laboratory before 

July 2003, the laboratory shall have a documented 

procedure to evaluate precision and bias. The laboratory 

shall also compare results of the precision and bias 

measurements with criteria given in the reference method 

or criteria established by the laboratory. 

(2) Precision and bias measurements shall evaluate the 

method across the analytical calibration range of the 

method. The laboratory shall also evaluate precision and 

bias in the relevant quality system matrices and shall 

process the samples through the entire measurement 

system for each analyte of interest. 

(3) The following are examples of a systematic approach 

to evaluate precision and bias: 

(a) Example 1. Analyze QC samples in triplicate 

containing the analytes of concern at or near the limit of 

quantitation, at the upper-range of the calibration (upper 

20%) and at a mid-range concentration. Process these 

samples on different days as three sets of samples 

through the entire measurement system for each analyte 

of interest. Each day one QC sample at each 

concentration is analyzed. A separate method blank shall 

be subjected to the analytical method along with the QC 

samples on each of the three days. (Note that the three 

samples at the LOQ concentration can demonstrate 

sensitivity as well.) For each analyte, calculate the mean 

recovery for each day, for each level over days, and for 

all nine samples. Calculate the relative standard deviation 

for each of the separate means obtained. Compare the 

standard deviations for the different days and the 

standard deviations for the different concentrations. If the 

different standard deviations are all statistically 

insignificant (e.g., F-test), then compare the overall mean 

and standard deviation with the established criteria from 

above. 

(b) Example 2. A validation protocol such as the Tier I, 

Tier II, and Tier III requirements in U.S. EPA Office of 

Water's Alternate Test Procedure (ATP) approval 

process. 

4. Evaluation of selectivity. The laboratory shall evaluate 

selectivity by following the checks established within the 

method. These checks may include mass spectral tuning, 

second column confirmation, ICP inter-element 

interference checks, chromatography retention time 

windows, sample blanks, spectrochemical absorption or 

fluorescence profiles, co-precipitation evaluations, and 

electrode response factors.  

1VAC30-45-770. Chemical testing: positive and negative 

controls. 

A. Negative control – method performance. 

1. Purpose. The method blank is used to assess the 

preparation batch for possible contamination during the 

preparation and processing steps. The method blank shall 

be processed along with and under the same conditions as 

the associated samples to include all steps of the analytical 

procedure. Procedures shall be in place to determine if a 

method blank is contaminated. Any affected samples 

associated with a contaminated method blank shall be 

reprocessed for analysis or the results reported with 

appropriate data qualifying codes. 

2. Frequency. The method blank shall be analyzed at a 

minimum of one per preparation batch. In those instances 

for which no separate preparation method is used 

(example: (e.g., volatiles in water) the batch shall be 

defined as environmental samples that are analyzed 

together with the same method and personnel, using the 

same lots of reagents, not to exceed the analysis of 20 

environmental samples.  

3. Composition. The method blank shall consist of a 

quality system matrix that is similar to the associated 

samples and is known to be free of the analytes of interest. 

4. Evaluation criteria and corrective action. While the goal 

is to have no detectable contaminants, each method blank 

shall be critically evaluated as to the nature of the 

interference and the effect on the analysis of each sample 

within the batch. The source of contamination shall be 

investigated and measures taken to minimize or eliminate 

the problem and affected samples reprocessed or data shall 

be appropriately qualified if: 

a. The concentration of a targeted analyte in the blank is 

at or above the reporting limit as established by the test 

method or by regulation, and is greater than 1/10 of the 

amount measured in any sample. 

b. The blank contamination otherwise affects the sample 

results as per the test method requirements or the 

individual project data quality objectives. 

c. When a blank is determined to be contaminated, the 

cause shall be investigated and measures taken to 

minimize or eliminate the problem. Samples associated 

with a contaminated blank shall be evaluated as to the 

best corrective action for the samples (e.g., reprocessing 

or data qualifying codes). In all cases the corrective 

action shall be documented. 

B. Positive control – method performance. Laboratory 

control sample (LCS). 

1. Purpose. The LCS is used to evaluate the performance of 

the total analytical system, including all preparation and 

analysis steps. Results of the LCS are compared to 

established criteria and, if found to be outside of these 

criteria, indicates that the analytical system is "out of 

control." Any affected samples associated with an out of 

control LCS shall be reprocessed for re-analysis or the 

results reported with appropriate data qualifying codes. 

2. Frequency. The LCS shall be analyzed at a minimum of 

one per preparation batch. Exceptions would be for those 
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analytes for which no spiking solutions are available such 

as total suspended solids, total dissolved solids, total 

volatile solids, total solids, pH, color, odor, temperature, 

dissolved oxygen or turbidity. In those instances for which 

no separate preparation method is used (example: volatiles 

in water) the batch shall be defined as environmental 

samples that are analyzed together with the same method 

and personnel, using the same lots of reagents, not to 

exceed the analysis of 20 environmental samples. 

3. Composition. The LCS is a quality system matrix, 

known to be free of analytes of interest, spiked with known 

and verified concentrations of analytes. NOTE: the matrix 

spike may be used in place of this control as long as the 

acceptance criteria are as stringent as for the LCS. 

Alternatively the LCS may consist of a media containing 

known and verified concentrations of analytes or as 

Certified Reference Material (CRM). All analyte 

concentrations shall be within the calibration range of the 

methods. The following shall be used in choosing 

components for the spike mixtures: 

The components to be spiked shall be as specified by the 

mandated test method or other regulatory requirement or as 

requested by the client. In the absence of specified spiking 

components the laboratory shall spike per the following: 

a. For those components that interfere with an accurate 

assessment such as spiking simultaneously with technical 

chlordane, toxaphene and PCBs, the spike should be 

chosen that represents the chemistries and elution 

patterns of the components to be reported. 

b. For those test methods that have extremely long lists 

of analytes, a representative number may be chosen. The 

analytes selected should be representative of all analytes 

reported. The following criteria shall be used for 

determining the minimum number of analytes to be 

spiked. However, the laboratory shall insure that all 

targeted components are included in the spike mixture 

over a two-year period. For methods that include 1-10 

targets, spike all components; for methods that include 

11-20 targets, spike at least 10% 10 components or 80%, 

whichever is greater; and for methods with more than 20 

targets, spike at least 16 components. 

4. Evaluation criteria and corrective action. 

a. The results of the individual batch LCS are calculated 

in percent recovery or other appropriate statistical 

technique that allows comparison to established 

acceptance criteria. The laboratory shall document the 

calculation. 

b. The individual LCS is compared to the acceptance 

criteria as published in the mandated test method. Where 

there are no established criteria, the laboratory shall 

determine internal criteria and document the method used 

to establish the limits or utilize client specified 

assessment criteria. 

c. A LCS that is determined to be within the criteria 

effectively establishes that the analytical system is in 

control and validates system performance for the samples 

in the associated batch. Samples analyzed along with a 

LCS determined to be "out of control" shall be 

considered suspect and the samples reprocessed and re-

analyzed or the data reported with appropriate data 

qualifying codes. 

5. If a large number of analytes are in the LCS, it becomes 

statistically likely that a few will be outside control limits. 

This may not indicate that the system is out of control, 

therefore corrective action may not be necessary. Upper 

and lower marginal exceedance (ME) limits can be 

established to determine when corrective action is 

necessary. A ME is defined as being beyond the LCS 

control limit (3 standard deviations), but within the ME 

limits. ME limits are between 3 and 4 standard deviations 

around the mean. 

a. The number of allowable marginal exceedances is 

based on the number of analytes in the LCS. If more 

analytes exceed the LCS control limits than is allowed, or 

if any one analyte exceeds the ME limits, the LCS fails 

and corrective action is necessary. This marginal 

exceedance approach is relevant for methods with long 

lists of analytes. It will not apply to target analyte lists 

with fewer than 11 analytes. 

b. The number of allowable marginal exceedances is as 

follows: 

Number of analytes 

in LCS 

Number of analytes 

allowed in ME of the LCS 

control limit 

Greater than 90 Five 

71-90 Four 

51-70 Three 

31-50 Two 

11-30 One 

Fewer than 11 None 

c. Marginal exceedances shall be random. If the same 

analyte exceeds the LCS control limit repeatedly, it is an 

indication of a systemic problem. The source of the error 

shall be located and corrective action taken. Laboratories 

shall have a written procedure to monitor the application 

of marginal exceedance allowance to the LCS to ensure 

random behavior. 

C. Sample specific controls - general. 

1. The laboratory shall document procedures for 

determining the effect of the sample matrix on method 

performance. These procedures relate to the analyses of 

quality system matrix specific Quality Control (QC) 

samples and are designed as data quality indicators for a 
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specific sample using the designated test method. These 

controls alone are not used to judge laboratory 

performance. 

2. Examples of matrix specific QC include: Matrix Spike 

(MS); Matrix Spike Duplicate (MSD); sample duplicates; 

and surrogate spikes. The laboratory shall have procedures 

in place for tracking, managing, and handling matrix 

specific QC criteria including spiking appropriate 

components at appropriate concentrations, calculating 

recoveries and relative percent difference, evaluating and 

reporting results based on performance of the QC samples. 

D. Sample specific controls - matrix spike and matrix spike 

duplicates. 

1. Purpose. Matrix specific QC samples indicate the effect 

of the sample matrix on the precision and accuracy of the 

results generated using the selected method. The 

information from these controls is sample/matrix specific 

and would not normally be used to determine the validity 

of the entire batch. 

2. Frequency. The frequency of the analysis of matrix 

specific samples shall be determined as part of a systematic 

planning process (e.g., Data Quality Objectives) or as 

specified by the test method. 

3. Composition. The components to be spiked shall be as 

specified by the mandated test method. Any permit 

specified analytes, as specified by regulation or client 

requested analytes shall also be included. If there are no 

specified components, the laboratory shall spike per the 

following: 

a. For those components that interfere with an accurate 

assessment such as spiking simultaneously with technical 

chlordane, toxaphene and PCBs, the spike should be 

chosen that represents the chemistries and elution 

patterns of the components to be reported. 

b. For those test methods that have extremely long lists 

of analytes, a representative number may be chosen using 

the following criteria for choosing the number of analytes 

to be spiked. However, the laboratory shall insure that all 

targeted components are included in the spike mixture 

over a two-year period.  

(1) For methods that include 1-10 targets, spike all 

components; 

(2) For methods that include 11-20 targets, spike at least 

10% 10 components or 80%, whichever is greater; 

(3) For methods with more than 20 targets, spike at least 

16 components. 

4. Evaluation criteria and corrective action. 

a. The results from matrix spike/matrix spike duplicate 

are primarily designed to assess the precision and 

accuracy of analytical results in a given matrix and are 

expressed as percent recovery (%R), relative percent 

difference (RPD), or other appropriate statistical 

technique that allows comparison to established 

acceptance criteria. The laboratory shall document the 

calculation for %R, RPD or other statistical treatment 

used.  

b. The results are compared to the acceptance criteria as 

published in the mandated test method. Where there are 

no established criteria, the laboratory shall determine 

internal criteria and document the method used to 

establish the limits. For matrix spike results outside 

established criteria corrective action shall be documented 

or the data reported with appropriate data qualifying 

codes.  

E. Sample specific controls - matrix duplicates. 

1. Purpose. Matrix duplicates are defined as replicate 

aliquots of the same sample taken through the entire 

analytical procedure. The results from this analysis indicate 

the precision of the results for the specific sample using the 

selected method. The matrix duplicate provides a usable 

measure of precision only when target analytes are found 

in the sample chosen for duplication.  

2. Frequency. The frequency of the analysis of matrix 

duplicates may be determined as part of a systematic 

planning process (e.g., Data Quality Objectives) or as 

specified by the mandated test method. 

3. Composition. Matrix duplicates are performed on 

replicate aliquots of actual samples. The composition is 

usually not known.  

4. Evaluation criteria and corrective action. 

a. The results from matrix duplicates are primarily 

designed to assess the precision of analytical results in a 

given matrix and are expressed as relative percent 

difference (RPD) or another statistical treatment (e.g., 

absolute differences). The laboratory shall document the 

calculation for relative percent difference or other 

statistical treatments. 

b. Results are compared to the acceptance criteria as 

published in the mandated test method. Where there are 

no established criteria, the laboratory shall determine 

internal criteria and document the method used to 

establish the limits. For matrix duplicates results outside 

established criteria corrective action shall be documented 

or the data reported with appropriate data qualifying 

codes. 

F. Sample specific controls - surrogate spikes. 

1. Purpose. Surrogates are used most often in organic 

chromatography test methods and are chosen to reflect the 

chemistries of the targeted components of the method. 

Added prior to sample preparation/extraction, they provide 

a measure of recovery for every sample matrix. 

2. Frequency. Except where the matrix precludes its use or 

when not commercially available, surrogate compounds 

shall be added to all samples, standards, and blanks for all 

appropriate test methods.  
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3. Composition. Surrogate compounds are chosen to 

represent the various chemistries of the target analytes in 

the method or MQO. They are often specified by the 

mandated method and are deliberately chosen for their 

being unlikely to occur as an environmental contaminant. 

Often this is accomplished by using deuterated analogs of 

select compounds. 

4. Evaluation criteria and corrective action. The results are 

compared to the acceptance criteria as published in the 

mandated test method. Where there are no established 

criteria, the laboratory should determine internal criteria 

and document the method used to establish the limits. 

Surrogates outside the acceptance criteria shall be 

evaluated for the effect indicated for the individual sample 

results. Data quality objectives or other site-specific 

requirements may guide the appropriate corrective action. 

Results reported from analyses with surrogate recoveries 

outside the acceptance criteria should include appropriate 

data qualifiers. 

1VAC30-45-771. Chemical testing: limit of detection and 

limit of quantitation. 

A. General. All procedures used shall be documented. 

Documentation shall include the quality system matrix type. 

All supporting data shall be retained. 

B. Limit of detection (LOD). The laboratory shall utilize a 

test method that provides an LOD that is appropriate and 

relevant for the intended use of the data. An LOD is not 

required for a test method when test results are not reported 

outside of the calibration range. LODs shall be determined by 

the protocol in the mandated test method or applicable 

regulation. If the protocol for determining LODs is not 

specified, the selection of the procedure shall reflect 

instrument limitations and the intended application of the test 

method. 

1. The LOD shall be initially determined for the 

compounds of interest in each test method in a quality 

system matrix in which there are no target analytes or 

interferences at a concentration that would impact the 

results. Alternatively the LOD shall be determined in the 

quality system matrix of interest (see definition of matrix). 

2. LODs shall be determined each time there is a change in 

the test method that affects how the test is performed, or 

when a change in instrumentation occurs that affects the 

sensitivity of the analysis. 

3. The laboratory shall have established procedures to 

relate LOD with LOQ. 

4. 3. The LOD shall be verified annually for each quality 

system matrix, method and analyte according to the 

procedure specified in 1VAC30-45-760 B 1. 

C. Limit of quantitation (LOQ). 

1. Any established LOQ shall be above the LOD. 

2. The LOQ shall be verified annually for each quality 

system matrix, method and analyte according to the 

procedure specified in 1VAC30-45-760 B 2. Alternatively, 

the annual LOQ verification is not required if the LOD is 

reevaluated or verified according to subdivision B 4 of this 

section. 

1VAC30-45-775. Chemical testing: constant and 

consistent test conditions. 

A. The laboratory shall assure that the test instruments 

consistently operate within the specifications required of the 

application for which the equipment is used. 

B. Glassware cleaning. Glassware shall be cleaned to meet 

the sensitivity of the test method. 

C. B. Any cleaning and storage procedures that are not 

specified by the test method shall be documented in 

laboratory records and SOPs. 

1VAC30-45-780. Toxicity testing: general. (Repealed.) 

These standards apply to laboratories measuring the toxicity 

and/or bioaccumulation of contaminants in effluents (aquatic 

toxicity), receiving waters, sediments, elutriates, leachates 

and soils. In addition to the essential quality control standards 

set out in 1VAC30-45-781 through 1VAC30-45-788, some 

methods may have additional or other requirements based on 

factors such as the type of quality system matrix evaluated. 

1VAC30-45-781. Toxicity testing: positive and negative 

controls. (Repealed.) 

A. Positive control. Reference toxicant tests demonstrate a 

laboratory's ability to obtain consistent results with the test 

method and evaluate the overall health and sensitivity of test 

organisms over time. 

1. The laboratory shall demonstrate its ability to obtain 

consistent results with standard reference toxicants (SRT) 

and complete an initial Demonstration of Capability 

(DOC) in order to attain accreditation in toxicity testing 

methods. 

a. An initial DOC shall consist of five or more acceptable 

SRT tests for each test method, species and endpoint with 

different batches of organisms. Appropriate negative 

controls (water, sediment, or soil) shall be tested at the 

frequency and duration specified in the test method. 

Initial DOCs shall be prepared in accordance with the 

requirements of 1VAC30-45-730 F.  

b. Initial DOC is established by maintenance of SRT test 

results on control charts. A laboratory shall record the 

control performance and statistical endpoints (such as 

NOEC or ECp) for each method species and endpoint on 

control charts. Initial DOC is established where 95% of 

the test results required in subdivision A 1 a of this 

section fall within the control limits established in 

accordance with subdivision A 1 c of this section and 

meet test acceptability criteria (TAC). The laboratory 

shall evaluate precision (i.e., coefficient of variation 

(CV)) or sensitivity (i.e., statistical minimum significant 

difference (SMSD) measures; see subdivision A 1 d of 

this section) for these tests against method-specific or, 
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lacking the former, laboratory-derived criteria to 

determine validity of the initial DOC. 

c. For endpoints that are point estimates (ICp, ECp), 

control charts are constructed by plotting the cumulative 

mean and the control limits that consist of the upper and 

lower 95% confidence limits (+/- 2 standard deviations). 

In case of highly variable point estimates that exceed 

method-specific criteria, the control chart limits are 

adjusted accordingly. For endpoints from hypothesis tests 

(NOEC, NOAEC), the values are plotted directly and the 

control limits consist of one concentration interval above 

and below the concentration representing the central 

tendency (i.e., the mode). 

d. For endpoints that are point estimates, the cumulative 

mean CV is calculated and for endpoints from hypothesis 

tests, the SMSD is calculated. These values are 

maintained on a control chart. 

2. Ongoing laboratory performance shall be demonstrated 

by routine SRT testing for each test method and species 

and endpoint in accordance with the minimum frequency 

requirements specified in subdivision A 3 of this section. 

a. Intralaboratory precision is determined on an ongoing 

basis through the use of control charts as established in 

subdivision A 1 b of this section. The control charts shall 

be plotted as point estimate values, such as EC25 for 

chronic tests and LC50 for acute tests, or as appropriate 

hypothesis test values, such as the NOEC or NOAEC, 

over time within a laboratory. 

b. After initial laboratory DOC is determined, the control 

limits and CV for an individual test method, endpoints 

and species shall be adjusted as additional test results are 

obtained. After 20 data points are collected for a test 

method and species, the control chart is maintained using 

only the last 20 data points, i.e., each successive mean 

value and control limit is calculated using only the last 20 

values.  

c. Control chart limits are expected to be exceeded 

occasionally regardless of how well a laboratory 

performs. Acceptance limits for point estimates (ICp, 

ECp) that are based on 95% confidence limits should 

theoretically be exceeded for one in 20 tests. Depending 

on the dilution factor and test sensitivity, control charts 

based on hypothesis test values (NOEC, NOAEC) may 

be expected to be exceeded on a similar frequency. Test 

results that fall outside of control chart limits at a 

frequency of 5.0% or less, or that fall just outside control 

chart limits (especially in the case of highly proficient 

laboratories that may develop relatively narrow 

acceptance limits over time), are not rejected de facto. 

Such data are evaluated in comparison with control chart 

characteristics including the width of the acceptance 

limits and the degree of departure of the value from 

acceptance limits. 

d. Consistent with the test methods used, laboratories 

shall develop acceptance/rejection policies for SRT data 

that consider the source of test organisms, the direction 

of the deviation, test dilution factor, test sensitivity (for 

hypothesis test values), testing frequency, out-of-control 

test frequency, relative width of acceptance limits, inter-

test CV, and degree of difference between test results and 

acceptance limits. 

e. In the case of reference toxicant data that fails to meet 

control chart acceptance criteria, the test data are 

examined for defects, corrective action taken, and the test 

repeated if necessary, using a different batch of 

organisms or the data is qualified. 

3. The frequency of ongoing laboratory reference toxicant 

testing shall be as follows unless the method specifically 

requires less frequent SRT tests (e.g., sediment tests): 

a. For test methods conducted at a frequency of monthly 

or greater, SRT tests shall be conducted at an ongoing 

frequency of monthly.  

b. For test methods and species commonly used in the 

laboratory, but that are tested at a frequency of less than 

monthly, SRT tests shall be conducted concurrently with 

the environmental test.  

c. If the test organisms are obtained from an outside 

source the sensitivity of each batch of organisms received 

from a supplier shall be determined via a concurrent SRT 

test unless the supplier can provide control chart data for 

the last five SRT tests using the same SRT and test 

conditions. Supplied SRT data may not be older than six 

months. 

d. The DOC for an analyst shall be consistent with 

1VAC30-45-220 B but the frequency need not exceed the 

method-specified requirements and subdivision A 3 a and 

A 3 b of this section. 

4. These standards do not currently specify a particular 

reference toxicant and dilution series. If the permitting 

authority identifies a reference toxicant or dilution series 

for a particular test, the laboratory shall follow the 

specified requirements. All reference toxicant tests 

conducted for a given test method and species shall use the 

same reference toxicant, test concentrations, dilution water 

and data analysis methods. A dilution factor of 0.5x or 

greater shall be used for both acute and chronic tests.  

5. The reference toxicant tests shall be conducted 

following the same procedures as the environmental 

toxicity tests for which the precision is being evaluated, 

unless otherwise specified in the test method (for example, 

10-day sediment tests employ 96-h water-only reference 

toxicant tests). The test duration, laboratory dilution water, 

feeding, organism age, range and density, test volumes, 

renewal frequency, water quality measurements, and the 

number of test concentrations, replicates and organisms per 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 1 Virginia Register of Regulations September 7, 2015 

48 

replicate shall be the same as specified for the 

environmental toxicity test. 

B. Negative control: control, brine control, control sediment, 

control soil or dilution water. 

1. The standards for the use, type and frequency of testing 

of negative controls are specified by the test methods and 

by permit or regulation and shall be followed. A negative 

control is included with each test to evaluate test 

performance and the health and sensitivity of the specific 

batch of organisms. 

2. Appropriate additional negative controls shall be 

included when sample adjustments (for example, addition 

of thiosulfate for dechlorination) or solvent carriers are 

used in the test. 

3. Test acceptability criteria (TAC). The test acceptability 

criteria specified in the test method shall be achieved for 

both the reference toxicant and the effluent or 

environmental sample toxicity test. The criteria shall be 

calculated and shall meet the method specified 

requirements for performing toxicity tests. 

1VAC30-45-782. Toxicity testing: variability and/or 

reproducibility. (Repealed.) 

Intralaboratory precision shall be determined on an ongoing 

basis through the use of further reference toxicant tests and 

related control charts as described in 1VAC30-45-840 A. 

1VAC30-45-783. Toxicity testing: accuracy. (Repealed.) 

This principle is not applicable to toxicity testing. 

1VAC30-45-784. Toxicity testing: test sensitivity. 

(Repealed.) 

A. The statistical minimum significant difference (SMSD) 

shall be calculated according to the formula specified by the 

test method and reported with the test results. 

B. Point estimates: (LCp, ICp, or ECp) Confidence intervals 

shall be reported as a measure of the precision around the 

point estimate value, when the calculation is possible. 

C. The SMSD shall be calculated and reported for only 

hypothesis test values, such as the NOEC or NOAEC.  

1VAC30-45-785. Toxicity testing: selection of appropriate 

statistical analysis methods. (Repealed.) 

A. If required, methods of data analysis and endpoints are 

specified by language in the regulation, permit or the test 

method. 

B. Dose response curves. The data shall be plotted in the 

form of a curve relating the dose of the chemical or 

concentration of sample to cumulative percentage of test 

organisms demonstrating a response such as death. 

Evaluation criteria shall be established for interpretation of 

concentration or dose response curves. 

1VAC30-45-786. Toxicity testing: selection and use of 

reagents and standards. (Repealed.) 

A. The grade of all reagents used in toxicity tests is specified 

in the test method except the reference standard. All reference 

standards shall be prepared from chemicals that are analytical 

reagent grade or better. The preparation of all standards and 

reference toxicants shall be documented. 

B. All standards and reagents associated with chemical 

measurements, such as dissolved oxygen, pH or specific 

conductance, shall comply with the standards outlined in 

1VAC30-45-740 D 1 d.  

C. Only reagent-grade water collected from distillation or 

deionization units is used to prepare reagents. 

1VAC30-45-787. Toxicity testing: selectivity. (Repealed.) 

The permit or regulation specifies the selectivity of the test. 

1VAC30-45-788. Toxicity testing: constant and consistent 

test conditions. (Repealed.) 

A. If closed refrigerator-sized incubators are used, culturing 

and testing of organisms shall be separated to avoid 

cross-contamination. 

B. Laboratory space shall be adequate for the types and 

numbers of tests performed. The building shall provide 

adequate cooling, heating and illumination for conducting 

testing and culturing; hot and cold running water shall be 

available for cleaning equipment. 

C. Air used for aeration of test solutions, dilution waters and 

cultures shall be free of oil and fumes. 

D. The laboratory or a contracted outside expert shall 

positively identify test organisms to species on an annual 

basis. The taxonomic reference (citation and page(s)) and the 

names(s) of the taxonomic expert(s) shall be kept on file at 

the laboratory. When organisms are obtained from an outside 

source, the supplier shall provide this same information. 

E. Instruments used for routine support measurements of 

chemical and physical parameters such as pH, DO, 

conductivity, salinity, alkalinity, hardness, chlorine, 

ammonia, and weight shall be calibrated, and/or standardized 

per manufacturer's instructions. As these are support 

measurements, only the calibration and verification 

requirements specified at 1VAC30-45-740 D 1 apply. All 

measurements and calibrations shall be documented. 

F. Test temperature shall be maintained as specified for the 

test method. Temperature control equipment shall be 

adequate to maintain the required test temperature(s). The 

average daily temperature of the test solutions shall be 

maintained within the method-specified range. The minimum 

frequency of measurement shall be once per 24-hour period. 

The test temperature for continuous-flow toxicity tests shall 

be recorded and monitored continuously. Where electronic 

data loggers are used, temperature shall be monitored at a 

frequency sufficient to capture temporal variations of the 

environmental control system. 
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G. Reagent-grade water, prepared by any combination of 

distillation, reverse osmosis, ion exchange, activated carbon 

and particle filtration, shall meet the method specified 

requirements. 

H. The quality of the standard dilution water used for testing 

or culturing shall be sufficient to allow satisfactory survival, 

growth and reproduction of the test species as demonstrated 

by routine reference toxicant tests and negative control 

performance. Water used for culturing and testing shall be 

analyzed for toxic metals and organics whenever the 

minimum acceptability criteria for control survival, growth or 

reproduction are not met and no other cause, such as 

contaminated glassware or poor stock, can be identified. It is 

recognized that the analyte lists of some methods manuals 

may not include all potential toxicants, are based on estimates 

of chemical toxicity available at the time of publication and 

may specify detection limits that are not achievable in all 

matrices. However, for those analytes not listed, or for which 

the measured concentration or limit of detection is greater 

than the method-specified limit, the laboratory shall 

demonstrate that the analyte at the measured concentration or 

reported limit of detection does not exceed one-tenth of the 

expected chronic value for the most sensitive species tested 

and/or cultured. The expected chronic value is based on 

professional judgment and the best available scientific data. 

The "USEPA Ambient Water Quality Criteria Documents" 

and the EPA AQUIRE database provide guidance and data on 

acceptability and toxicity of individual metals and organic 

compounds. 

I. The quality of the food used for testing or culturing shall 

be sufficient to allow satisfactory survival, growth and 

reproduction of the test species as demonstrated by routine 

reference toxicant tests and negative control performance. 

The laboratory shall have written procedures for the 

evaluation of food acceptance. 

J. A subset of organisms used in bioaccumulation tests shall 

be analyzed at the start of the test (baseline) for the target 

compounds to be measured in the bioaccumulation tests.  

K. Test chamber size and test solution volume shall be as 

specified in the test method. All test chambers used in a test 

shall be identical. 

L. Test organisms shall be fed the quantity and type food or 

nutrients specified in the test method. They shall also be fed 

at the intervals specified in the test methods. 

M. All organisms in a test shall be from the same source. 

Where available certified seeds are used for soil tests. 

N. All organisms used in tests, or used as broodstock to 

produce neonate test organisms (for example cladocerans and 

larval fish), shall appear healthy, show no signs of stress or 

disease and exhibit acceptable survival (90% or greater) 

during the 24-hour period immediately preceding use in tests. 

O. All materials used for test chambers, culture tanks, 

tubing, etc., and coming in contact with test samples, 

solutions, control water, sediment or soil or food shall be 

nontoxic and cleaned as described in the test methods. 

Materials shall not reduce or add to sample toxicity. 

Appropriate materials for use in toxicity testing and culturing 

are described in the referenced manuals.  

P. Light intensity shall be maintained as specified in the 

methods manuals. Measurements shall be made and recorded 

on a yearly basis. Photoperiod shall be maintained as 

specified in the test methods and shall be documented at least 

quarterly. For algal and plant tests, the light intensity shall be 

measured and recorded at the start of each test. 

Q. The testing laboratory shall document the health and 

culturing conditions of all organisms used for testing. Such 

documentation shall include culture conditions (e.g., salinity, 

hardness, temperature, pH) and observations of any stress, 

disease or mortality. When organisms are obtained from an 

outside source, the laboratory shall obtain written 

documentation of these water quality parameters and 

biological observations for each lot of organism received. 

These observations shall adequately address the 24-hour time 

period referenced in subsection N of this section. The 

laboratory shall also record each of these observations and 

water quality parameters upon the arrival of the organisms at 

the testing laboratory.  

R. Age and the age range of the test organisms shall be as 

specified in the test method. Supporting information, such as 

hatch dates and times, times of brood releases and metrics 

(for example, chironomid head capsule width) shall be 

documented. 

S. The maximum holding time of effluents (elapsed time 

from sample collection to first use in a test) shall not exceed 

36 hours; samples may be used for renewal up to 72 hours 

after first use except as prescribed by the method and 

approved by the regulatory agency having authority for 

program oversight.  

T. All samples shall be chilled to 0 to 6°C during or 

immediately after collection except as prescribed by the 

method.  

U. Organisms used in a given test shall be from the same 

batch.  

V. All tests shall have the minimum number of replicates 

per treatment as prescribed by the method.  

W. The control population of Ceriodaphnia in chronic 

effluent or receiving water tests shall contain no more than 

20% males. 

X. The culturing of C. dubia shall be adequate such that 

blocking by parentage can be established. 

Y. Dissolved oxygen and pH in aquatic tests shall be within 

acceptable range at test initiation and aeration (minimal) is 

provided to tests if, and only if, acceptable dissolved oxygen 

concentrations cannot be otherwise maintained or if specified 

by the test method. 
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Z. Test soils or sediments shall be within the geochemical 

tolerance range of the test organism. 

AA. An individual test may be conditionally acceptable if 

temperature, dissolved oxygen, pH and other specified 

conditions fall outside specifications, depending on the 

degree of the departure and the objectives of the tests (see test 

conditions and test acceptability criteria specified for each 

test method). 

1VAC30-45-791. Microbiology testing: sterility checks 

and blanks, positive and negative controls. 

A. Sterility checks and blanks. The laboratory shall 

demonstrate that the filtration equipment and filters, sample 

containers, media and reagents have not been contaminated 

through improper handling or preparation, inadequate 

sterilization, or environmental exposure. 

1. A sterility blank shall be analyzed for each lot of pre-

prepared, ready-to-use medium (including 

chromofluorogenic reagent) and for each batch of medium 

prepared in the laboratory. This shall be done prior to first 

use of the medium. 

2. For filtration technique, the laboratory shall conduct one 

beginning and one ending sterility check for each 

laboratory sterilized filtration unit used in a filtration 

series. The filtration series may include single or multiple 

filtration units, which have been sterilized prior to 

beginning the series. For presterilized single use funnels a 

sterility check shall be performed on one funnel per lot. 

The filtration series is considered ended when more than 

30 minutes elapses between successive filtrations. During a 

filtration series, filter funnels shall be rinsed with three 20-

30 ml portions of sterile rinse water after each sample 

filtration. In addition, laboratories shall insert a sterility 

blank after every 10 samples or sanitize filtration units by 

UV light after each sample filtration. 

3. For pour plate technique, sterility blanks of the medium 

shall be made by pouring, at a minimum, one uninoculated 

plate for each lot of pre-prepared, ready-to-use media and 

for each batch of medium prepared in the laboratory. 

4. Sterility checks on sample containers shall be performed 

on at least one container for each lot of purchased, 

presterilized containers with nonselective growth media. 

For containers prepared and sterilized in the laboratory, a 

sterility check shall be performed on one container per 

sterilized batch with nonselective growth media. 

5. A sterility blank shall be performed on each batch of 

dilution water prepared in the laboratory and on each batch 

of pre-prepared, ready-to-use dilution water with 

nonselective growth media. 

6. At least one filter from each new lot of membrane filters 

shall be checked for sterility with nonselective growth 

media. 

B. Positive controls. 

1. Positive culture controls demonstrate that the medium 

can support the growth of the target organism(s), and that 

the medium produces the specified or expected reaction to 

the target organism(s). 

2. Each preprepared, ready-to-use lot of medium (including 

chromofluorogenic reagent) and each batch of medium 

prepared in the laboratory shall be tested and demonstrate a 

known positive response. This shall be done prior to first 

use of the medium. 

C. Negative controls. The provisions of this subsection shall 

not apply to wastewater treatment plants.  

1. Negative culture controls demonstrate that the medium 

does not support the growth of non-target organisms or 

does not demonstrate the typical positive reaction of the 

target organism(s) organism or organisms. 

2. Each pre-prepared, ready-to-use lot of selective medium 

(including chromofluorogenic reagent) and each batch of 

selective medium prepared in the laboratory shall be 

analyzed with one or more known negative culture 

controls, (i.e., nontarget organisms,) as appropriate to the 

method. This shall be done prior to first use of the medium. 

1VAC30-45-796. Microbiology testing: quality of 

standards, reagents, and media. 

A. The laboratory shall ensure that the quality of the 

reagents and media used is appropriate for the test concerned. 

B. Culture media may be prepared from commercial 

dehydrated powders or may be purchased ready to use. The 

laboratory may prepare media from basic ingredients when 

commercial media are not available or when it can be 

demonstrated that commercial media do not provide adequate 

results. Media prepared by the laboratory from basic 

ingredients shall be tested for performance (e.g., for 

selectivity, sensitivity, sterility, growth promotion, growth 

inhibition) prior to first use. Detailed testing criteria 

information shall be defined in either the laboratory's test 

methods, SOPs, quality manual, or similar documentation. 

C. Reagents, commercial dehydrated powders and media 

shall be used within the shelf-life of the product and shall be 

documented according to 1VAC30-45-730 J. 

D. Distilled water, deionized water or reverse osmosis 

produced water free from bactericidal and inhibitory 

substances shall be used in the preparation of media, solutions 

and buffers. The quality of the water shall be monitored for 

chlorine residual, specific conductance, and heterotrophic 

bacteria plate count monthly (when in use), when 

maintenance is performed on the water treatment system, or 

at startup after a period of disuse longer than one month.  

E. Analysis for metals and the Bacteriological Water Quality 

Test (to determine presence of toxic agents or growth 

promoting substances) shall be performed annually. Results 

of these analyses shall meet the specifications of the required 

method and records of analyses shall be maintained for three 
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years. (An exception to performing the Bacteriological Water 

Quality Test shall be given to laboratories that can supply 

documentation to show that their water source meets the 

criteria, as specified by the method, for Type I or Type II 

reagent water.) 

F. Media, solutions and reagents shall be prepared, used and 

stored according to a documented procedure following the 

manufacturer's instructions or the test method. 

Documentation for media prepared in the laboratory shall 

include date of preparation, preparer's initials, type and 

amount of media prepared, manufacturer and lot number, 

final pH of the media, and expiration date. Documentation for 

media purchased pre-prepared, ready to use shall include 

manufacturer, lot number, type and amount of media 

received, date of receipt, expiration date of the media, and pH 

of the media. 

1VAC30-45-798. Microbiology testing: constant and 

consistent test conditions. 

A. Laboratory facilities. Floors and work surfaces shall be 

nonabsorbent and easy to clean and disinfect. Work surfaces 

shall be adequately sealed. Laboratories shall provide 

sufficient storage space, and shall be clean and free from dust 

accumulation. Plants, food, and drink shall be prohibited from 

the laboratory work area. 

B. Laboratory equipment. 

1. Temperature measuring devices. Temperature measuring 

devices such as liquid-in-glass thermometers, 

thermocouples, and platinum resistance thermometers used 

in incubators, autoclaves and other equipment shall be the 

appropriate quality to meet specification(s) specifications 

in the test method. The graduation of the temperature 

measuring devices shall be appropriate for the required 

accuracy of measurement and they shall be calibrated to 

national or international standards for temperature (see 

1VAC30-45-740 C). Calibration shall be done at least 

annually. 

2. Autoclaves. 

a. The performance of each autoclave shall be initially 

evaluated by establishing its functional properties and 

performance, for example, heat distribution 

characteristics with respect to typical uses. Autoclaves 

shall meet specified temperature tolerances. Pressure 

cookers shall not be used for sterilization of growth 

media. 

b. Demonstration of sterilization temperature shall be 

provided by use of continuous temperature recording 

device or by use of a maximum registering thermometer 

with every cycle. Appropriate biological indicators shall 

be used once per month to determine effective 

sterilization. Temperature sensitive tape shall be used 

with the contents of each autoclave run to indicate that 

the autoclave contents have been processed. 

c. Records of autoclave operations shall be maintained 

for every cycle. Records shall include date, contents, 

maximum temperature reached, pressure, time in 

sterilization mode, total run time (may be recorded as 

time in and time out) and analyst's initials.  

d. Autoclave maintenance shall be performed annually, 

either internally or by service contract, shall be 

performed annually and shall include a pressure check 

and calibration of temperature device. Records of the 

maintenance shall be maintained in equipment logs. If 

the laboratory demonstrates regular monitoring of 

pressure (e.g., for each autoclaved batch) and annual 

calibration of the maximum registering thermometer, the 

annual autoclave pressure and temperature device checks 

shall not be required. 

e. The autoclave mechanical timing device shall be 

checked quarterly against a stopwatch and the actual time 

elapsed documented. 

3. Volumetric equipment. Volumetric equipment shall be 

calibrated as follows: 

a. Equipment with movable parts such as automatic 

dispensers, dispensers/diluters, and mechanical hand 

pipettes shall be verified for accuracy quarterly. 

b. Equipment such as filter funnels, bottles, nonclass A 

glassware, and other marked containers shall be 

calibrated once per lot prior to first use. 

c. The volume of the disposable volumetric equipment 

such as sample bottles and disposable pipettes shall be 

checked once per lot. 

4. UV instruments. UV instruments used for sanitization 

shall be tested quarterly for effectiveness with an 

appropriate UV light meter or by plate count agar spread 

plates. Replace bulbs if output is less than 70% of original 

for light tests or if count reduction is less than 99% for a 

plate containing 200 to 300 organisms. 

5. Conductivity meters, oxygen meters, pH meters, 

hygrometers, and other similar measurement instruments 

shall be calibrated according to the method specified 

requirements (see 1VAC30-45-740 D 1 d). 

6. Incubators, water baths, and ovens. 

a. The stability and uniformity of temperature 

distribution and time required after test sample addition 

to reestablish equilibrium conditions in incubators and 

water baths shall be established. Temperature of 

incubators and water baths shall be documented twice 

daily, at least four hours apart, on each day of use. 

b. Ovens used for sterilization shall be checked for 

sterilization effectiveness monthly with appropriate 

biological indicators. Records shall be maintained for 

each cycle that include date, cycle time, temperature, 

contents and analyst's initials. 
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7. Labware (glassware and plasticware). 

a. The laboratory shall have a documented procedure for 

washing labware, if applicable. Detergents designed for 

laboratory use shall be used. 

b. Glassware shall be made of borosilicate or other 

noncorrosive material, free of chips and cracks, and shall 

have readable measurement marks. 

c. Labware that is washed and reused shall be tested for 

possible presence of residues that may inhibit or promote 

growth of microorganisms by performing the Inhibitory 

Residue Test annually, and each time the lab changes the 

lot of detergent or washing procedures. 

d. Washed labware shall be tested at least once daily, 

each day of washing, for possible acid or alkaline residue 

by testing at least one piece of labware with a suitable pH 

indicator such as bromothymol blue. Records of tests 

shall be maintained. 

1VAC30-45-800. Radiochemical testing: general. 

(Repealed.) 

These standards apply to laboratories undertaking the 

examination of environmental samples by radiochemical 

analysis. These procedures for radiochemical analysis may 

involve some form of chemical separation followed by 

detection of the radioactive decay of analyte (or indicative 

daughters) and tracer isotopes where used. For the purpose of 

these standards, procedures for the determination of 

radioactive isotopes by mass spectrometry (e.g., ICP-MS or 

TIMS) or optical (e.g., KPA) techniques are not addressed 

herein. 

1VAC30-45-801. Radiochemical testing: negative and 

positive controls. (Repealed.) 

A. Negative controls. 

1. Method blank shall be performed at a frequency of one 

per preparation batch. The results of this analysis shall be 

one of the quality control measures to be used to assess the 

batch. The method blank result shall be assessed against 

the specific acceptance criteria specified in the laboratory 

method manual. When the specified method blank 

acceptance criteria is not met, the specified corrective 

action and contingencies shall be followed and results 

reported with appropriate data qualifying codes. The 

occurrence of a failed method blank acceptance criteria and 

the actions taken shall be noted in the laboratory report. 

2. In the case of gamma spectrometry, generally a 

nondestructive analysis, a method blank shall be prepared 

using a calibrated counting geometry similar to that used 

for the samples. The container of the appropriate geometry 

can be empty or filled to similar volume to partially 

simulate gamma attenuation due to a sample matrix.  

3. There shall be no subtraction of the required method 

blank result from the sample results in the associated 

preparation or analytical batch unless permitted by method 

or program. This does not preclude the application of any 

correction factor (e.g., instrument background, analyte 

presence in tracer, reagent impurities, peak overlap, etc.) to 

all analyzed samples, both program/project submitted and 

internal quality control samples. However, these correction 

factors shall not depend on the required method blank 

result in the associated analytical batch. 

4. The method blank sample shall be prepared with similar 

aliquot size to that of the routine samples for analysis and 

the method blank result and acceptance criteria shall be 

calculated in a manner that compensates for sample results 

based upon differing aliquot size. 

B. Positive controls. 

1. Laboratory control samples shall be performed at a 

frequency of one per preparation batch. The results of this 

analysis shall be one of the quality control measures to be 

used to assess the batch. The laboratory control sample 

result shall be assessed against the specific acceptance 

criteria specified in the laboratory method manual. When 

the specified laboratory control sample acceptance criteria 

is not met the specified corrective action and contingencies 

shall be followed. The occurrence of a failed laboratory 

control sample acceptance criteria and the actions taken 

shall be noted in the laboratory report. 

2. Matrix spike shall be performed at a frequency of one 

per preparation batch for those methods that include a 

chemical separation process without the use of an internal 

standard or carrier, and where there is sufficient sample to 

do so. Although gross alpha, gross beta and tritium 

measurements do not involve a chemical separation 

process, matrix spikes shall be performed for these 

analyses on aqueous samples. The results of this analysis 

shall be one of the quality control measures to be used to 

assess the batch. The matrix spike result shall be assessed 

against the specific acceptance criteria specified in the 

laboratory method manual. When the specified matrix 

spike acceptance criteria is not met, the specified 

corrective action and contingencies shall be followed. The 

occurrence of a failed matrix spike acceptance criteria and 

the actions taken shall be noted in the laboratory report. 

The lack of sufficient sample aliquot size to perform a 

matrix spike shall be noted in the laboratory report.  

3. The activity of the laboratory control sample shall (i) be 

at least five times the limit of detection and (ii) at a level 

comparable to that of routine samples when such 

information is available if the sample activities are 

expected to exceed five times the limit of detection. 

4. The activity of the matrix spike analytes(s) shall be 

greater than five times the limit of detection. 

5. The laboratory standards used to prepare the laboratory 

control sample and matrix spike shall be from a source 

independent of the laboratory standards used for 

instrument calibration and shall meet the requirements for 

reference standards provided in 1VAC30-45-807 A. 
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6. The matrix spike shall be prepared by adding a known 

activity of target analyte after subsampling if required but 

before any chemical treatment (e.g., chemical digestion, 

dissolution, separation, etc.). Where a radiochemical 

method, other than gamma spectroscopy, has more than 

one reportable analyte isotope (e.g., plutonium, Pu 238 and 

Pu 239, using alpha spectrometry), only one of the analyte 

isotopes need be included in the laboratory control or 

matrix spike sample at the indicated activity level. 

However, where more than one analyte isotope is present 

above the specified limit of detection, each shall be 

assessed against the specified acceptance criteria. 

7. Where gamma spectrometry is used to identify and 

quantitate more than one analyte isotope, the laboratory 

control sample shall contain isotopes that represent the low 

(e.g., americium-241), medium (e.g., cesium-137) and high 

(e.g., cobalt-60) energy range of the analyzed gamma 

spectra. As indicated by these examples the isotopes need 

not exactly bracket the calibrated energy range or the range 

over which isotopes are identified and quantitated. 

8. The laboratory control sample shall be prepared with 

similar aliquot size to that of the routine samples for 

analyses. 

C. Other controls. 

1. Tracer. For those methods that utilize a tracer (i.e., 

internal standard) each sample result shall have an 

associated tracer recovery calculated and reported. The 

tracer shall be added to the sample after subsampling if 

required but before any chemical treatment (e.g., chemical 

digestion, dissolution, separation, etc.) unless otherwise 

specified by the method. The tracer recovery for each 

sample result shall be one of the quality control measures 

to be used to assess the associated sample result 

acceptance. The tracer recovery shall be assessed against 

the specific acceptance criteria specified in the laboratory 

method manual. When the specified tracer recovery 

acceptance criteria is not met the specified corrective 

action and contingencies shall be followed. The occurrence 

of a failed tracer recovery acceptance criteria and the 

actions taken shall be noted in the laboratory report. 

2. Carrier. For those methods that utilize a carrier for 

recovery determination, each sample shall have an 

associated carrier recovery calculated and reported. The 

carrier shall be added to the sample after subsampling if 

required but before any chemical treatment (e.g., chemical 

digestion, dissolution, separation, etc.) unless otherwise 

specified by the method. The carrier recovery for each 

sample shall be one of the quality control measures to be 

used to assess the associated sample result acceptance. The 

carrier recovery shall be assessed against the specific 

acceptance criteria specified in the laboratory method 

manual. When the specified carrier recovery acceptance 

criteria is not met the specified corrective action and 

contingencies shall be followed. The occurrence of a failed 

carrier recovery acceptance criteria and the actions taken 

shall be noted in the laboratory report. 

1VAC30-45-802. Radiochemical testing: analytical 

variability/reproducibility. (Repealed.) 

A. Replicate shall be performed at a frequency of one per 

preparation batch where there is sufficient sample to do so. 

The results of this analysis shall be one of the quality control 

measures to be used to assess batch acceptance. The replicate 

result shall be assessed against the specific acceptance criteria 

specified in the laboratory method manual. When the 

specified replicate acceptance criteria is not met the specified 

corrective action and contingencies shall be followed. The 

occurrence of a failed replicate acceptance criteria and the 

actions taken shall be noted in the laboratory report. 

B. For low level samples (less than approximately three 

times the limit of detection) the laboratory may analyze 

duplicate laboratory control samples or a replicate matrix 

spike (matrix spike and a matrix spike duplicate) to determine 

reproducibility within a preparation batch. 

1VAC30-45-803. Radiochemical testing: method 

evaluation. (Repealed.) 

In order to ensure the accuracy of the reported result, the 

following procedures shall be in place: 

1. Initial demonstration of capability shall be performed 

initially (prior to the analysis of any samples) and with a 

significant change in instrument type (e.g., different 

detection technique), personnel or method. 

2. Proficiency test samples. The laboratory shall use the 

results of such analysis to evaluate its ability to produce 

accurate data. 

1VAC30-45-804. Radiochemical testing: radiation 

measurement instrumentation. (Repealed.) 

A. General. Because of the stability and response nature of 

modern radiation measurement instrumentation, it is not 

typically necessary to verify calibrate these systems each day 

of use. However, verification of calibration is required as 

outlined in subsection B of this section. This section 

addresses those practices that are necessary for proper 

calibration and those requirements of 1VAC30-45-740 D 

(instrument calibrations) that are not applicable to some types 

of radiation measurement instrumentation. 

B. Instrument calibration. 

1. Given that activity detection efficiency is independent of 

sample activity at all but extreme activity levels, the 

requirements of 1VAC30-45-740 D 2 b (7) are not 

applicable to radiochemical method calibrations except 

mass attenuation in gas-proportional counting and sample 

quench in liquid scintillation counting. Radiation 

measurement instruments are subject to calibration prior to 

initial use, when the instrument is placed back in service 

after malfunctioning and the instrument's response has 

changed as determined by a performance check or when 
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the instrument's response exceeds predetermined 

acceptance criteria for the instrument quality control. 

2. Instrument calibration shall be performed with reference 

standards as defined in 1VAC30-45-807 A. The standards 

shall have the same general characteristics (i.e., geometry, 

homogeneity, density, etc.) as the associated samples. 

3. The frequency of calibration shall be addressed in the 

laboratory method manual if not specified in the method. A 

specific frequency (e.g., monthly) or observations from the 

associated control or tolerance chart, as the basis for 

calibration shall be specified. 

C. Continuing instrument calibration verification 

(performance checks). Performance checks shall be 

performed using appropriate check sources and monitored 

with control charts or tolerance charts to ensure that the 

instrument is operating properly and that the detector 

response has not significantly changed and, therefore, the 

instrument calibration has not changed. The same check 

source used in the preparation of the tolerance chart or control 

chart at the time of calibration shall be used in the calibration 

verification of the instrument. The check sources shall 

provide adequate counting statistics for a relatively short 

count time and the source should be sealed or encapsulated to 

prevent loss of activity and contamination of the instrument 

and laboratory personnel. 

1. For gamma spectroscopy systems, the performance 

checks for efficiency and energy calibration shall be 

performed on a day-of-use basis along with performance 

checks on peak resolution. 

2. For alpha spectroscopy systems, the performance check 

for energy calibration shall be performed on a weekly basis 

and the performance check for counting efficiency shall be 

performed on at least a monthly basis. 

3. For gas-proportional and liquid scintillation counters, 

the performance check for counting efficiency shall be 

performed on a day-of-use basis. For batches of samples 

that uninterruptedly count for more than a day a 

performance check can be performed at the beginning and 

end of the batch as long as this time interval is no greater 

than one week. Verification of instrument calibration does 

not directly verify secondary calibrations, e.g., the mass 

efficiency curve or the quench curve. 

4. For scintillation counters the calibration verification for 

counting efficiency shall be performed on a day of use 

basis. 

D. Background measurement. Background measurements 

shall be made on a regular basis and monitored using control 

charts or tolerance charts to ensure that a laboratory maintains 

its capability to meet required data quality objectives. These 

values may be subtracted from the total measured activity in 

the determination of the sample activity. 

1. For gamma spectroscopy systems, background 

measurements shall be performed on at least a monthly 

basis. 

2. For alpha spectroscopy systems, background 

measurements shall be performed on at least a monthly 

basis. 

3. For gas-proportional counters, background 

measurements shall be performed on at least on a weekly 

basis. 

4. For scintillation counters, background measurements 

shall be performed each day of use.  

E. Instrument contamination monitoring. The laboratory 

shall have a written procedure for monitoring radiation 

measurement instrumentation for radioactive contamination. 

The procedure shall indicate the frequency of the monitoring 

and shall indicate criteria, which initiates corrective action. 

1VAC30-45-805. Radiochemical testing: Minimum 

detectable activity (MDA)/Minimum detectable 

concentration (MDC)/Lower level of detection (LLD). 

(Repealed.) 

A. MDA/MDC/LLD shall be determined prior to sample 

analysis and shall be redetermined each time there is a 

significant change in the test method or instrument type. 

B. The procedures employed shall be documented and 

consistent with mandated method or regulation. 

1VAC30-45-806. Radiochemical testing: data reduction. 

(Repealed.) 

A. The requirements of 1VAC30-45-730 K apply. 

B. Measurement uncertainties. Each result shall be reported 

with the associated measurement uncertainty. The procedures 

for determining the measurement uncertainty shall be 

documented and be consistent with mandated method and 

regulation. 

1VAC30-45-807. Radiochemical testing: quality of 

standards and reagents. (Repealed.) 

A. The quality control program shall establish and maintain 

provisions for radionuclide standards. 

1. Reference standards that are used in a radiochemical 

laboratory shall be obtained from the National Institute of 

Standards and Technology (NIST), or suppliers who 

participate in supplying NIST standards or NIST traceable 

radionuclides. Any reference standards purchased outside 

the United States shall be traceable back to each country's 

national standards laboratory. Commercial suppliers of 

reference standards shall conform to ANSI N42.22 to 

assure the quality of their products. 

2. Reference standards shall be accompanied with a 

certificate of calibration whose content is as described in 

ANSI N42.22 - 1995, Section 8, Certificates. 

3. Laboratories should consult with the supplier if the 

laboratory's verification of the activity of the reference 

traceable standard indicates a noticeable deviation from the 
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certified value. The laboratory shall not use a value other 

than the decay corrected certified value. The laboratory 

shall have a written procedure for handling, storing and 

establishment of expiration dates for reference standards. 

B. All reagents used shall be analytical reagent grade or 

better. 

1VAC30-45-808. Radiochemical testing: constant and 

consistent test conditions. (Repealed.) 

The laboratory shall maintain a radiological control program 

that addresses analytical radiological control. The program 

shall address the procedures for segregating samples with 

potentially widely varying levels of radioactivity. The 

radiological control program shall explicitly define how low 

level and high level samples will be identified, segregated and 

processed in order to prevent sample cross-contamination. 

The radiological control program shall include the measures 

taken to monitor and evaluate background activity or 

contamination on an ongoing basis.  

1VAC30-45-811. Air testing: negative and positive 

controls. 

A. Negative controls. 

1. Method blanks shall be performed at a frequency of at 

least one per batch of 20 environmental samples or less per 

sample preparation method. The results of the method 

blank analysis shall be used to evaluate the contribution of 

the laboratory provided sampling media and analytical 

sample preparation procedures to the amount of analyte 

found in each sample. If the method blank result is greater 

than the limit of quantitation and contributes greater than 

10% of the total amount of analyte found in the sample, the 

source of the contamination shall be investigated and 

measures taken to eliminate the source of contamination. If 

contamination is found, the data shall be qualified in the 

report. 

2. Collection efficiency. Sampling trains consisting of 

multiple sections (e.g., filters, sorbent tubes, impingers) 

that are received intact by the laboratory shall be separated 

into "front" and "back" sections if required by the client. 

Each section shall be processed and analyzed separately 

and the analytical results reported separately. 

B. Positive controls. Laboratory control sample (LCS) shall 

be analyzed at a rate of at least one per batch of 20 or fewer 

samples per sample preparation method for each analyte. If a 

spiking solution is not available, a calibration solution whose 

concentration approximates that of the samples shall be 

included in each batch and with each lot of media. If a 

calibration solution must be used for the LCS, the client will 

be notified prior to the start of analysis. The concentration of 

the LCS shall be relevant to the intended use of the data and 

either at a regulatory limit or below it. 

C. Surrogates shall be used as required by the test method. 

D. Matrix spike shall be used as required by the test method. 

1VAC30-45-820. Asbestos testing: general. (Repealed.) 

These standards apply to laboratories undertaking the 

examination of asbestos samples. These standards are 

organized by analytical technique, including transmission 

electron microscopy (TEM) for the analysis of water, 

wastewater, air, and bulk samples; phase contrast microscopy 

(PCM) for analysis of workplace air; and polarized light 

microscopy (PLM) for analysis of bulk samples. These 

procedures for asbestos analysis involve sample preparation 

followed by detection of asbestos. If NIST SRMs specified 

below are unavailable, the laboratory may substitute an 

equivalent reference material with a certificate of analysis. 

1VAC30-45-821. Asbestos testing: negative controls. 

(Repealed.) 

A. Transmission electron microscopy. 

1. Water and wastewater. 

a. Blank determinations shall be made prior to sample 

collection. When using polyethylene bottles, one bottle 

from each batch, or a minimum of one from each 24 shall 

be tested for background level. When using glass bottles, 

four bottles from each 24 shall be tested. An acceptable 

bottle blank level is defined as ≤0.01 MFL > 10 μm. 

(EPA/600/R-94/134, Method 100.2, Section 8.2) 

b. A process blank sample consisting of fiber-free water 

shall be run before the first field sample. The quantity of 

water shall be ≥10 mL for a 25-mm diameter filter and ≥ 

50 mL for a 47-mm diameter filter. (EPA/600/R-94/134, 

Method 100.2, Section 11.8) 

2. Air. 

a. A blank filter shall be prepared with each set of 

samples. A blank filter shall be left uncovered during 

preparation of the sample set and a wedge from that 

blank filter shall be prepared alongside wedges from the 

sample filters. At minimum, the blank filter shall be 

analyzed for each 20 samples analyzed. (40 CFR Part 

763, Appendix A to Subpart E (AHERA), Table 1) 

b. Maximum contamination on a single blank filter shall 

be no more than 53 structures/mm
2
. Maximum average 

contamination for all blank filters shall be no more than 

18 structures/mm
2
. (AHERA, III.F.2) 

3. Bulk samples. 

a. Contamination checks using asbestos-free material, 

such as the glass fiber blank in SRM 1866 (Page C-3, 

NIST Handbook 150-3, August 1994) shall be performed 

at a frequency of one for every 20 samples analyzed. The 

detection of asbestos at a concentration exceeding 0.1% 

will require an investigation to detect and remove the 

source of the asbestos contamination. 

b. The laboratory shall maintain a list of nonasbestos 

fibers that can be confused with asbestos (Section 7.5, 

Page C-8, NIST Handbook 150-3, August 1994). The list 

shall include crystallographic and/or chemical properties 
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that disqualify each fiber being identified as asbestos 

(Section 2.5.5.2.1 Identification, Page 54, EPA/600/R-

93/116). 

c. The laboratory should have a set of reference asbestos 

materials from which a set of reference diffraction and 

X-ray spectra have been developed. 

B. Phase contrast microscopy. At least two field blanks (or 

10% of the total samples, whichever is greater) shall be 

submitted for analysis with each set of samples. Field blanks 

shall be handled in a manner representative of actual handling 

of associated samples in the set with a single exception that 

air shall not be drawn through the blank sample. A blank 

cassette shall be opened for approximately 30 seconds at the 

same time other cassettes are opened just prior to analysis. 

Results from field blank samples shall be used in the 

calculation to determine final airborne fiber concentration. 

The identity of blank filters should be unknown to the counter 

until all counts have been completed. If a field blank yields 

greater than seven fibers per 100 graticule fields, report 

possible contamination of the samples. 

C. Polarized light microscopy. 

1. Friable materials. At least one blank slide shall be 

prepared daily or with every 50 samples analyzed, 

whichever is less. This is prepared by mounting a 

subsample of an isotropic verified non-ACM (e.g., 

fiberglass in SRM 1866) in a drop of immersion oil (nD 

should reflect usage of various nD's) on a clean slide, 

rubbing preparation tools (forceps, dissecting needles, etc.) 

in the mount and placing a clean coverslip on the drop. The 

entire area under the coverslip shall be scanned to detect 

any asbestos contamination. A similar check shall be made 

after every 20 uses of each piece of homogenization 

equipment. An isotropic verified non-ACM shall be 

homogenized in the clean equipment, a slide prepared with 

the material and the slide scanned for asbestos 

contamination. (This can be substituted for the blank slide 

mentioned in this section.) 

2. Nonfriable materials. At least one non-ACM nonfriable 

material shall be prepared and analyzed with every 20 

samples analyzed. This non-ACM shall go through the full 

preparation and analysis regimen for the type of analysis 

being performed. 

1VAC30-45-822. Asbestos testing: test 

variability/reproducibility. (Repealed.) 

A. Transmission electron microscopy. Quality assurance 

analyses shall be performed regularly covering all time 

periods, instruments, tasks, and personnel. The selection of 

samples shall be random and samples of special interest may 

be included in the selection of samples for quality assurance 

analyses. When possible, the checks on personnel 

performance shall be executed without their prior knowledge. 

A disproportionate number of analyses shall not be performed 

prior to internal or external audits. It is recommended that a 

laboratory initially be at 100% quality control (all samples 

reanalyzed). The proportion of quality control samples can 

later be lowered gradually, as control indicates, to a minimum 

of 10%. 

1. Water and wastewater. All analyses shall be performed 

on relocator grids so that other laboratories can easily 

repeat analyses on the same grid openings. Quality 

assurance analyses shall not be postponed during periods 

of heavy workloads. The total number of QA samples and 

blanks shall be greater than or equal to 10% of the total 

sample workload. Precision of analyses is related to 

concentration, as gleaned from interlaboratory proficiency 

testing. Relative standard deviations (RSD) for amphibole 

asbestos decreased from 50% at 0.8 MFL to 25% at 7 MFL 

in interlaboratory proficiency testing, while RSD for 

chrysotile was higher, 50% at 6 MFL.  

a. Replicate. A second, independent analysis shall be 

performed on the same grids but on different grid 

openings than used in the original analysis of a sample. 

Results shall be within 1.5X of Poisson standard 

deviation. This shall be performed at a frequency of 1 per 

100 samples. (EPA/600/R-94/134, Method 100.2, Table 

2) 

b. Duplicate. A second aliquot of sample shall be filtered 

through a second filter, prepared and analyzed in the 

same manner as the original preparation of that sample. 

Results shall be within 2.0X of Poisson standard 

deviation. This shall be performed at a frequency of one 

per 100 samples. (EPA/600/R-94/134, Method 100.2, 

Table 2) 

c. Verified analyses. A second, independent analysis 

shall be performed on the same grids and grid openings 

used in the original analysis of a sample. The two sets of 

results shall be compared according to Turner and Steel 

(NISTIR 5351). This shall be performed at a frequency 

of one per 20 samples. Qualified analysts shall maintain 

an average of ≥ 80% true positives, ≤ 20% false 

negatives, and ≤ 10% false positives. 

2. Air. 

a. All analyses shall be performed on relocator grids so 

that other laboratories can easily repeat analyses on the 

same grid openings. 

b. The laboratory and TEM analysts shall obtain mean 

analytical results on NIST SRM 1876b so that trimmed 

mean values fall within 80% of the lower limit and 110% 

of the upper limit of the 95% confidence limits as 

published on the certificate. These limits are derived 

from the allowable false positives and false negatives 

given in subdivision A 2 e (3) of this subsection. SRM 

1876b shall be analyzed a minimum of once per year by 

each TEM analyst. 

c. The laboratory shall have documentation 

demonstrating that TEM analysts correctly classify at 

least 90% of both bundles and single fibrils of asbestos 
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structures greater than or equal to 1 mm in length in 

known standard materials traceable to NIST, such as 

NIST bulk asbestos SRM 1866. 

d. Interlaboratory analyses shall be performed to detect 

laboratory bias. The frequency of interlaboratory verified 

analysis shall correspond to a minimum of 1 per 200 grid 

square analyses. 

e. If more than one TEM is used for asbestos analysis, 

intermicroscope analyses shall be performed to detect 

instrument bias. 

(1) Replicate. A second, independent analysis shall be 

performed in accordance with Section D.6.2.1.1.a. 

(AHERA, Table III) 

(2) Duplicate. A second wedge from a sample filter shall 

be prepared and analyzed in the same manner as the 

original preparation of that sample. Results shall be 

within 2.0X of Poisson standard deviation. This shall be 

performed at a frequency of 1 per 100 samples. 

(AHERA, Table III) 

(3) Verified analyses. A second, independent analysis 

shall be performed on the same grids and grid openings 

in accordance with subdivision A 1 c of this section. 

3. Bulk samples. Determination of precision and accuracy 

should follow guidelines in NISTIR 5951, Guide for 

Quality Control on the Qualitative and Quantitative 

Analysis of Bulk Asbestos Samples: Version 1. Because 

bulk samples with low (< 10%) asbestos content are the 

most problematic, a laboratory's quality control program 

should focus on such samples. At least 30% of a 

laboratory's QC analyses shall be performed on samples 

containing from 1.0% to 10% asbestos. 

a. Intra-analyst precision. At least one out of 50 samples 

shall be reanalyzed by the same analyst. For single 

analyst laboratories, at least one out of every 10 samples 

shall be reanalyzed by the same analyst. 

b. Inter-analyst precision. At least one out of 15 samples 

shall be reanalyzed by another analyst. Inter-analyst 

results will require additional reanalysis, possibly 

including another analyst, to resolve discrepancies when 

classification (ACM vs. non-ACM) errors occur, when 

asbestos identification errors occur, or when inter-analyst 

precision is found to be unacceptable. 

c. Inter-laboratory precision. The laboratory shall 

participate in round robin testing with at least one other 

laboratory. Samples shall be sent to this other lab at least 

four times per year. These samples shall be samples 

previously analyzed as QC samples. Results of these 

analyses shall be assessed in accordance with QC 

requirements. As a minimum, the QC requirements shall 

address misclassifications (false positives, false 

negatives) and misidentification of asbestos types.  

B. Phase contrast microscopy. 

1. Inter-laboratory precision. Each laboratory analyzing air 

samples for compliance determination shall implement an 

inter-laboratory quality assurance program that as a 

minimum includes participation of at least two other 

independent laboratories. Each laboratory shall participate 

in round robin testing at least once every six months with 

at least all the other laboratories in its inter-laboratory 

quality assurance group. Each laboratory shall submit 

slides typical of its own workload for use in this program. 

The round robin shall be designed and results analyzed 

using appropriate statistical methodology. Results of this 

QA program shall be posted in each laboratory to keep the 

microscopists informed. 

2. Intra- and inter-analyst precision. Each analyst shall 

select and count a prepared slide from a "reference slide 

library" on each day on which air counts are performed. 

Reference slides shall be prepared using well-behaved 

samples taken from the laboratory workload. Fiber 

densities shall cover the entire range routinely analyzed by 

the laboratory. These slides shall be counted by all analysts 

to establish an original standard deviation and 

corresponding limits of acceptability. Results from the 

daily reference sample analysis shall be compared to the 

statistically derived acceptance limits using a control chart 

or a database. It is recommended that the labels on the 

reference slides be periodically changed so that the 

analysts do not become familiar with the samples. Intra- 

and inter-analyst precision may be estimated from blind 

recounts on reference samples. Inter-analyst precision shall 

be posted in each laboratory to keep the microscopists 

informed. 

C. Polarized light microscopy. Refer to subdivision A 3 of 

this section. 

1VAC30-45-823. Asbestos testing: other quality control 

measures. (Repealed.) 

A. Transmission electron microscopy. 

1. Water and wastewater. 

a. Filter preparations shall be made from all six asbestos 

types from NIST SRMs 1866 and 1867. These 

preparations shall have concentrations between one and 

20 structures (> 10 μm) per 0.01 mm
2
. One of these 

preparations shall be analyzed independently at a 

frequency of one per 100 samples analyzed. Results shall 

be evaluated as verified asbestos analysis in accordance 

with Turner and Steel (NISTIR 5351). 

b. NIST SRM 1876b shall be analyzed annually by each 

analyst. Results shall be evaluated in accordance with 

limits published for that SRM. This SRM is not strictly 

appropriate for waterborne asbestos but analysts can 

demonstrate general TEM asbestos competence by 

producing results within the published limits of this (the 

only recognized TEM counting standard) SRM. 
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2. Air. 

a. Filter preparations shall be made from all six asbestos 

types in accordance with subdivision A 1 a of this 

section. 

b. NIST SRM 1876b shall be analyzed annually in 

accordance with subdivision A 1 b of this section. 

3. Bulk samples. All analysts shall be able to correctly 

identify the six regulated asbestos types (chrysotile, 

amosite, crocidolite, anthophyllite, actinolite, and 

tremolite). Standards for the six asbestos types listed are 

available from NIST (SRMs 1866 and 1867). These 

materials can also be used as identification standards for 

AEM (Section 3.2.1 Qualitative Analysis, Page 57, 

EPA/600/R-93/116). 

B. Phase contrast microscopy. 

1. Test for nonrandom fiber distribution. Blind recounts by 

the same analyst shall be performed on 10% of the filters 

counted. A person other than the counter should re-label 

slides before the second count. A test for type II error 

(NIOSH 7400, Issue 2, 15 August 1994, Section 13) shall 

be performed to determine whether a pair of counts by the 

same analyst on the same slide should be rejected due to 

nonrandom fiber distribution. If a pair of counts is rejected 

by this test, the remaining samples in the set shall be 

recounted and the new counts shall be tested against first 

counts. All rejected paired counts shall be discarded. It 

shall not be necessary to use this statistic on blank 

recounts. 

2. All individuals performing airborne fiber analysis shall 

have taken the NIOSH Fiber Counting Course for sampling 

and evaluating airborne asbestos dust or an equivalent 

course. 

3. All laboratories shall participate in a national sample 

testing scheme such as the Proficiency Analytical Testing 

(PAT) program or the Asbestos Analysts Registry (AAR) 

program, both sponsored by the American Industrial 

Hygiene Association (AIHA), or equivalent. 

C. Polarized light microscopy. 

1. Friable materials. Because accuracy cannot be 

determined by reanalysis of routine field samples, at least 

one out of 100 samples shall be a standard or reference 

sample that has been routinely resubmitted to determine 

analyst's precision and accuracy. A set of these samples 

should be accumulated from proficiency testing samples 

with predetermined weight compositions or from standards 

generated with weighed quantities of asbestos and other 

bulk materials (Perkins and Harvey, 1993; Parekh et al., 

1992; Webber et al., 1982). At least half of the reference 

samples submitted for this QC shall contain between 1.0% 

and 10% asbestos. 

2. Nonfriable materials. At least one out of 100 samples 

shall be a verified quantitative standard that has routinely 

been resubmitted to determine analyst precision and 

accuracy. 

1VAC30-45-824. Asbestos testing: method evaluation. 

(Repealed.) 

In order to ensure the accuracy of reported results, the 

following procedures shall be in place: 

1. Demonstration of capability shall be performed initially 

(prior to the analysis of any samples) and with a significant 

change in instrument type, personnel, or method. 

2. Performance audits. The results of such analyses shall be 

used by the laboratory to evaluate the ability of the 

laboratory to produce accurate data. 

1VAC30-45-825. Asbestos testing: asbestos calibration. 

(Repealed.) 

Refer to methods referenced in the following sections for 

specific equipment requirements. 

1. Transmission electron microscopy: general. Analytical 

electron microscopy equipment will not be discussed in 

this document. 

2. Transmission electron microscopy: water and 

wastewater. All calibrations listed below (unless otherwise 

noted) shall be performed under the same analytical 

conditions used for routine asbestos analysis and shall be 

recorded in a notebook and include date and analyst's 

signature. Frequencies stated below may be reduced to 

"before next use" if no samples are analyzed after the last 

calibration period has expired. Likewise, frequencies may 

have to be increased following non-routine maintenance or 

unacceptable calibration performance. 

a. Magnification calibration. Magnification calibration 

shall be done at the fluorescent screen, with the 

calibration specimen at the eucentric position, at the 

magnification used for fiber counting, generally 10,000 

and 20,000x. A logbook shall be maintained with the 

dates of the calibration recorded. Calibrations shall be 

performed monthly to establish the stability of 

magnification. Calibration data shall be displayed on 

control charts that show trends over time. (EPA/600/R-

94/134, Method 100.2, Section 10.1) 

b. Camera constant. The camera length of the TEM in the 

Selected Area Electron Diffraction (SAED) mode shall 

be calibrated before SAED patterns of unknown samples 

are observed. The diffraction specimen shall be at the 

eucentric position for this calibration. This calibration 

shall allow accurate (< 10% variation) measurement of 

layer-line spacings on the medium used for routine 

measurement, i.e., the phosphor screen or camera film. 

This shall also allow accurate (< 5.0% variation) 

measurement of zone axis SAED patterns on permanent 

media, e.g., film. Calibrations shall be performed 

monthly to establish the stability of the camera constant 

(EPA/600/R-94/134, Method 100.2, Section 10.2). 

Where nonasbestiform minerals may be expected (e.g., 
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winchite, richterite, industrial talc, vermiculite, etc.), an 

internal camera constant standard such as gold, shall be 

deposited and measured on each sample to facilitate 

accurate indexing of zone axis SAED patterns. In such 

cases, layer line analysis alone shall not be used. 

Calibration data shall be displayed on control charts that 

show trends over time. 

c. Spot size. The diameter of the smallest beam spot at 

crossover shall be less than 250 nm as calibrated 

quarterly. Calibration data shall be displayed on control 

charts that show trends over time. (EPA/600/R-94/134, 

Method 100.2, Section 10.3) 

d. Beam dose. The beam dose shall be calibrated so that 

beam damage to chrysotile is minimized, specifically so 

that an electron diffraction pattern from a single fibril ≥1 

μm in length from a NIST SRM chrysotile sample is 

stable in the electron beam dose for at least 15 seconds.  

e. EDXA system. 

(1) The x-ray energy vs. channel number for the EDXA 

system shall be calibrated to within 20 eV for at least two 

peaks between 0.7 keV and 10 keV. One peak shall be 

from the low end (0.7 keV to 2 keV) and the other peak 

from the high end (7 keV to 10 keV) of this range. The 

calibration of the x-ray energy shall be checked prior to 

each analysis of samples and recalibrated if out of the 

specified range. 

(2) The ability of the system to resolve the Na Ka line 

from the Cu L line shall be confirmed quarterly by 

obtaining a spectrum from the NIST SRM 1866 

crocidolite sample on a copper grid. 

(3) The k-factors for elements found in asbestos (Na, Mg, 

Al, Si, Ca, and Fe) relative to Si shall be calibrated 

semiannually, or anytime the detector geometry may be 

altered. NIST SRM 2063a shall be used for Mg, Si, Ca, 

Fe, while k-factors for Na and Al may be obtained from 

suitable materials such as albite, kaersutite, or NIST 

SRM 99a. The k-factors shall be determined to a 

precision (2s) within 10% relative to the mean value 

obtained for Mg, Al, Si, Ca, and Fe, and within 20% 

relative to the mean value obtained for Na. The k-factor 

relative to Si for Na shall be between 1.0 and 4.0, for Mg 

and Fe shall be between 1.0 and 2.0, and for Al and Ca 

shall be between 1.0 and 1.75. The k-factor for Mg 

relative to Fe shall be 1.5 or less. Calibration data shall 

be displayed on control charts that show trends over time. 

(4) The detector resolution shall be checked quarterly to 

ensure a full-width half-maximum resolution of <175 eV 

at Mn Ka (5.90 keV). Calibration data shall be displayed 

on control charts that show trends over time. 

(5) The portions of a grid in a specimen holder for which 

abnormal x-ray spectra are generated under routine 

asbestos analysis conditions shall be determined and 

these areas shall be avoided in asbestos analysis. 

(6) The sensitivity of the detector for collecting x-rays 

from small volumes shall be documented quarterly by 

collecting resolvable Mg and Si peaks from a unit fibril 

of NIST SRM 1866 chrysotile. 

f. Low temperature asher. The low temperature asher 

shall be calibrated quarterly by determining a calibration 

curve for the weight vs. ashing time of collapsed mixed-

cellulose-ester (MCE) filters. Calibration data shall be 

displayed on control charts that show trends over time. 

g. Grid openings. The magnification of the grid opening 

measurement system shall be calibrated using an 

appropriate standard at a frequency of 20 openings/20 

grids/lot of 1000 or one opening/sample. The variation in 

the calibration measurements (2s) is <5.0% of the mean 

calibration value. 

3. Air. All calibrations shall be performed in accordance 

with subdivision 2 of this section, with the exception of 

magnification. Magnification calibration shall be done at 

the fluorescent screen, with the calibration specimen at the 

eucentric position, at the magnification used for fiber 

counting, generally 15,000 to 20,000x (AHERA, III.G.1.c). 

A logbook shall be maintained with the dates of the 

calibration recorded. Calibrations shall be performed 

monthly to establish the stability of magnification.  

4. Bulk samples. All calibrations shall be performed in 

accordance with subdivision 3 of this section. 

5. Phase contrast microscopy.  

a. At least once daily, the analyst shall use the telescope 

ocular (or Bertrand lens, for some microscopes) supplied 

by the manufacturer to ensure that the phase rings 

(annular diaphragm and phase-shifting elements) are 

concentric. 

b. The phase-shift limit of detection of the microscope 

shall be checked monthly or after modification or 

relocation using an HSE/NPL phase-contrast test slide 

for each analyst/microscope combination (refer to 

NIOSH 7400, Issue 2, 15 August 1994, Section 10b). 

This procedure assures that the minimum detectable fiber 

diameter (< ca. 0.25mm) for this microscope is achieved. 

c. Prior to ordering the Walton-Beckett graticule, 

calibration, in accordance with NIOSH 7400, Issue 2, 15 

August 1994, Appendix A, shall be performed to obtain a 

counting area 100 mm in diameter at the image plane. 

The diameter, dc (mm), of the circular counting area and 

the disc diameter shall be specified when ordering the 

graticule. The field diameter (D) shall be verified (or 

checked), to a tolerance of 100 μm ± 2 μm, with a stage 

micrometer upon receipt of the graticule from the 

manufacturer. When changes (zoom adjustment, 

disassembly, replacement, etc.) occur in the eyepiece-

objective-reticle combination, field diameter shall be 

remeasured (or recalibrated) to determine field area 

(mm
2
). Recalibration of field diameter shall also be 
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required when there is a change in interpupillary distance 

(i.e., change in analyst). Acceptable range for field area 

shall be 0.00754 mm
2
 to 0.00817 mm

2
. The actual field 

area shall be documented and used. 

6. Polarized light microscopy. 

a. Microscope alignment. To accurately measure the 

required optical properties, a properly aligned polarized 

light microscope (PLM) shall be utilized. The PLM shall 

be aligned before each use. (Section 2.2.5.2.3, 

EPA/600/R-93/116, July 1993) 

b. Refractive index liquids. Series of nD = 1.49 through 

1.72 in intervals less than or equal to 0.005. Refractive 

index liquids for dispersion staining, high-dispersion 

series 1.550, 1.605, 1.680. The accurate measurement of 

the refractive index (RI) of a substance requires the use 

of calibrated refractive index liquids. These liquids shall 

be calibrated at first use and semiannually, or next use, 

whichever is less frequent, to an accuracy of 0.004, with 

a temperature accuracy of 2°C using a refractometer or 

RI glass beads. 

1VAC30-45-826. Asbestos testing: analytical sensitivity. 

(Repealed.) 

A. Transmission electron microscopy. 

1. Water and wastewater. An analytical sensitivity of 

200,000 fibers per liter (0.2 MFL) is required for each 

sample analyzed (EPA/600/R-94/134, Method 100.2, 

Section 1.6). Analytical sensitivity is defined as the 

waterborne concentration represented by the finding of one 

asbestos structure in the total area of filter examined. This 

value will depend on the fraction of the filter sampled and 

the dilution factor (if applicable). 

2. Air. An analytical sensitivity of 0.005 structures/cm
2
 is 

required for each sample analyzed. Analytical sensitivity is 

defined as the airborne concentration represented by the 

finding of one asbestos structure in the total area of filter 

examined. This value will depend on the effective surface 

area of the filter, the filter area analyzed, and the volume of 

air sampled (AHERA, Table I). 

3. Bulk samples. 

a. The range is dependent on the type of bulk material 

being analyzed. The sensitivity may be as low as 

0.0001% depending on the extent to which interfering 

materials can be removed during the preparation of AEM 

specimens. (Section 2.5.2 Range, Page 51, EPA/600/R-

93/116) 

b. There should be an error rate of less than 1.0% on the 

qualitative analysis for samples that contain chrysotile, 

amosite, and crocidolite. A slightly higher error rate may 

occur for samples that contain anthophyllite, actinolite, 

and tremolite, as it can be difficult to distinguish among 

the three types. (Section 3, Page 10, NIST Handbook 

150-3, August 1994) 

B. Phase contrast microscopy. The normal quantitative 

working range of the test method is 0.04 to 0.5 fiber/cm
2
 for a 

1000 L air sample. An ideal counting range on the filter shall 

be 100 to 1300 fibers/mm
2
. The limit of detection (LOD) is 

estimated to be 5.5 fibers per 100 fields or 7 fibers/mm
2
. The 

LOD in fiber/cc will depend on sample volume and quantity 

of interfering dust but shall be <0.01 fiber/cm
2
 for 

atmospheres free of interferences. (NIOSH 7400, Issue 2, 15 

August 1994) 

C. Polarized light microscopy. The laboratory shall utilize a 

test method that provides a limit of detection that is 

appropriate and relevant for the intended use of the data. 

Limit of detection shall be determined by the protocol in the 

test method or applicable regulation. 

1VAC30-45-827. Asbestos testing: data reduction. 

(Repealed.) 

A. Transmission electron microscopy. 

1. Water and wastewater. 

a. The concentration of asbestos in a given sample shall 

be calculated in accordance with EPA/600/R-94/134, 

Method 100.2, Section 12.1. Refer to 1VAC30-45-730 K 

for additional data reduction requirements. 

b. Measurement uncertainties. The laboratory shall 

calculate and report the upper and lower 95% confidence 

limits on the mean concentration of asbestos fibers found 

in the sample (EPA/600/R-94/134, Method 100.2, 

Section 12.2.2). 

2. Air. 

a. The concentration of asbestos in a given sample shall 

be calculated in accordance with the method utilized, 

e.g., AHERA. Refer to 1VAC30-45-730 K for additional 

data reduction requirements. 

b. Measurement uncertainties. The laboratory shall 

calculate and report the upper and lower 95% confidence 

limits on the mean concentration of asbestos fibers found 

in the sample. 

3. Bulk samples. 

a. The concentration of asbestos in a given sample shall 

be calculated in accordance with the method utilized 

(e.g., EPA/600/R-93/116, July 1993). Refer to 1VAC30-

45-730 K for additional data reduction requirements. 

b. Measurement uncertainties. Proficiency testing for 

floor tiles analyzed by TEM following careful 

gravimetric reduction (New York ELAP Certification 

Manual Item 198.4) has revealed an interlaboratory 

standard deviation of approximately 20% for residues 

containing 70% or more asbestos. Standard deviations 

range from 20% to 60% for residues with lower asbestos 

content.  

B. Phase contrast microscopy. 

1. Airborne fiber concentration in a given sample shall be 

calculated in accordance with NIOSH 7400, Issue 2, 15 
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August 1994, Sections 20 and 21. Refer to 1VAC30-45-

730 K for additional data reduction requirements. 

2. Measurement uncertainties. The laboratory shall 

calculate and report the intra-laboratory and inter-

laboratory relative standard deviation with each set of 

results. (NIOSH 7400, Issue 2, 15 August 1994) 

3. Fiber counts above 1300 fibers/mm
2
 and fiber counts 

from samples with >50% of the filter area covered with 

particulate should be reported as "uncountable" or 

"probably biased." Other fiber counts outside the 100-1300 

fibers/mm
2
 range should be reported as having "greater 

than optimal variability" and as being "probably biased." 

C. Polarized light microscopy. 

1. The concentration of asbestos in a given sample shall be 

calculated in accordance with the method utilized (e.g., 

EPA/600/R-93/116, July 1993). Refer to 1VAC30-45-730 

K for additional data reduction requirements. 

2. Method uncertainties. The individual laboratory shall 

determine precision and accuracy for the percent range 

involved. If point counting and/or visual estimates are 

used, a table of reasonable expanded errors (refer to 

EPA/600/R-93/116, July 1993, Table 2-1) should be 

generated for different concentrations of asbestos.  

1VAC30-45-828. Asbestos testing: quality of standards 

and reagents. (Repealed.) 

A. Transmission electron microscopy. 

1. The quality control program shall establish and maintain 

provisions for asbestos standards. 

a. Reference standards that are used in an asbestos 

laboratory shall be obtained from the National Institute of 

Standards and Technology (NIST), EPA, or suppliers 

who participate in supplying NIST standards or NIST 

traceable asbestos. Any reference standards purchased 

outside the United States shall be traceable back to each 

country's national standards laboratory. Commercial 

suppliers of reference standards shall conform to ANSI 

N42.22 to assure the quality of their products. 

b. Reference standards shall be accompanied with a 

certificate of calibration whose content is as described in 

ANSI N42.22-1995, Section 8, Certificates. 

2. All reagents used shall be analytical reagent grade or 

better. 

3. The laboratory shall have mineral fibers or data from 

mineral fibers that will allow differentiating asbestos from 

at least the following "look-alikes": fibrous talc, sepiolite, 

wollastonite, attapulgite (palygorskite), halloysite, 

vermiculite scrolls, antigorite, lizardite, pyroxenes, 

hornblende, richterite, winchite, or any other asbestiform 

minerals that are suspected as being present in the sample.  

B. Phase contrast microscopy. Standards of known 

concentration have not been developed for this testing 

method. Routine workload samples that have been 

statistically validated and national proficiency testing samples 

such as PAT and AAR samples available from the AIHA may 

be utilized as reference samples (refer to 1VAC30-45-822 B 

2) to standardize the optical system and analyst. All other 

testing reagents and devices (HSE/NPL test slide and Walton-

Beckett Graticule) shall conform to the specifications of the 

method (refer to NIOSH 7400, Issue 2, 15 August 1994).  

C. Polarized light microscopy. Refer to 1VAC30-45-828 A. 

1VAC30-45-829. Asbestos testing: constant and consistent 

test conditions. (Repealed.) 

The laboratory shall establish and adhere to written 

procedures to minimize the possibility of cross-contamination 

between samples. 

1VAC30-45-850. Sample handling, sample acceptance 

policy, and sample receipt. 

While the laboratory may not have control of field sampling 

activities, the following are essential to ensure the validity of 

the laboratory's data. 

1. Sample tracking. The laboratory shall have a 

documented system for uniquely identifying the items to be 

tested to ensure that there can be no confusion regarding 

the identity of such items at any time. This system shall 

include identification for all samples, subsamples and 

subsequent extracts or digestates or both. The use of 

container shape, size or other physical characteristic, such 

as amber glass or purple top, is not an acceptable means of 

identifying the sample. System laboratories shall use a 

permanent chronological record such as a logbook or 

electronic database to document receipt of all containers. 

This sample receipt log shall record the following at a 

minimum: name of facility where sample was taken, date 

and time of laboratory receipt, unique laboratory ID code, 

and signature or initials of the person making the entries.  

2. Sample acceptance policy. The laboratory shall have a 

written sample acceptance policy that clearly outlines the 

circumstances under which samples shall be accepted or 

rejected. The policy shall ensure that only properly 

obtained samples with appropriate sampling records (see 

1VAC30-45-640 B) are analyzed and that the samples are 

handled properly. This sample acceptance policy shall be 

made available to sample collection personnel. The policy 

shall include elements such as appropriate documentation 

of the sample's identification, use of appropriate sample 

containers, adherence to specified holding times, adequate 

sample volume to perform necessary tests, and procedures 

to be used when samples show signs of damage, 

contamination or inadequate preservation. 

3. Sample receipt protocols. 

a. Upon receipt, the condition of the sample, including 

any abnormalities or departures from standard condition 

as prescribed in the relevant test method, shall be 

recorded. All items specified by the sample acceptance 

policy shall be checked. 
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b. All samples that require thermal preservation shall be 

considered acceptable if the arrival temperature is either 

within 2 degrees Celsius °C of the required temperature 

or the method specified range. For samples with a 

specified temperature of 4 degrees Celsius °C, samples 

with a temperature of ranging from just above freezing 

temperature of water to 6 degrees Celsius °C shall be 

acceptable. Samples that are hand delivered to the 

laboratory immediately after collection or on the same 

day that are collected may not meet this these criteria. In 

these cases, the samples shall be considered acceptable if 

there is evidence that the chilling process has begun such 

as arrival on ice. Thermal preservation is not required in 

the field if the laboratory receives the sample and either 

begins the analysis or refrigerates the sample within 15 

minutes of collection. 

c. The laboratory shall implement procedures for 

checking chemical preservation using readily available 

techniques, such as pH or free chlorine prior to or during 

sample preparation or analysis. 

d. The results of all checks required by the sample 

acceptance policy and relevant test method shall be 

recorded. 

4. Storage conditions. 

a. The laboratory shall have documented procedures and 

appropriate facilities to avoid deterioration, 

contamination or damage to the sample during storage, 

handling, preparation, and testing. Any relevant 

instructions provided with the item shall be followed. 

Where items have to be stored or conditioned under 

specific environmental conditions, these conditions shall 

be maintained, monitored and recorded. 

b. Samples shall be stored according to the conditions 

specified by preservation protocols: 

(1) Samples that require thermal preservation shall be 

stored under refrigeration that is within 2 degrees Celsius 

°C of the specified preservation temperature unless 

method specific criteria exist. For samples with a 

specified storage temperature of 4 degrees Celsius °C, 

storage at a temperature above the freezing point of water 

to 6 degrees Celsius °C shall be acceptable. 

(2) Samples shall be stored away from all standards, 

reagents, food and other potentially contaminating 

sources. Samples shall be stored in such a manner to 

prevent cross contamination. 

c. Sample fractions, extracts, leachates and other sample 

preparation products shall be stored according to 

subdivision 4 a of this section or according to 

specifications in the test method. 

d. Where a sample or portion of the sample is to be held 

secure (for example (e.g., for reasons of record, safety or 

value, or to enable check calibrations or tests to be 

performed later), the laboratory shall have storage and 

security arrangements that protect the condition and 

integrity of the secured items or portions concerned. 

5. Sample disposal. The laboratory shall have standard 

operating procedures for the disposal of samples, 

digestates, leachates and extracts or other sample 

preparation products. 

FORMS (1VAC30-45) 

Application for Certification of Environmental Laboratories 

DGS-21-156 (eff. 1/09)  

Application for Certification under 1VAC30-45 must be 

obtained from program staff at Lab_Cert@dgs.virginia.gov 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(1VAC30-45) 

The Standards for Environmental Laboratories and 

Accreditation Bodies, 2009, The NELAC Institute (TNI), 

P.O. Box 2439, Weatherford, TX 76086; www.nelac-

institute.org:  

Volume 1: Management and Technical Requirements for 

Laboratories Performing Environmental Analysis (EL-V1-

2009) 

Volume 2: General Requirements for Accreditation Bodies 

Accrediting Environmental Laboratories (EL-V2-2009) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3334; Filed August 10, 2015, 10:01 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 1VAC30-46. Accreditation for 

Commercial Environmental Laboratories (amending 

1VAC30-46-10, 1VAC30-46-30 through 1VAC30-46-150, 

1VAC30-46-200, 1VAC30-46-210; adding 1VAC30-46-15, 

1VAC30-46-95, 1VAC30-46-220).  

Statutory Authority: § 2.2-1105 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 1, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Rhonda Bishton, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of General Services, 1100 Bank Street, Suite 420, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-3311, FAX (804) 

371-8305, or email rhonda.bishton@dgs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) replace the 2003 National 

Environmental Laboratory Accreditation Conference 

(NELAC) Standards used to accredit commercial 

environmental laboratories with the 2009 The NELAC 

Institute (TNI) Standards; (ii) restructure and increase 

fees; (iii) revise the process used to accredit laboratories, 

eliminating requirements relating to the initial 

accreditation period and streamlining the process to renew 

accreditation; (iv) add a provision on suspension of 

accreditation; and (v) eliminate obsolete language and 

amend text for clarity. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

http://www.nelac-institute.org/
http://www.nelac-institute.org/
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cb011003067~11&typ=40&actno=003067&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cb011003067~11&typ=40&actno=003067&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cb011003067~11&typ=40&actno=003067&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=827c0003067~12&typ=40&actno=003067&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=827c0003067~12&typ=40&actno=003067&mime=application/pdf
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Part I  

General Provisions  

1VAC30-46-10. Purpose. 

Section 2.2-1105 of the Code of Virginia directs the 

Division of Consolidated Laboratory Services to establish a 

program to certify environmental laboratories that perform 

tests, analyses, measurements or monitoring required 

pursuant to the Commonwealth's air, waste and water laws 

and regulations. This chapter sets out the required standards 

and the process by which owners of commercial 

environmental laboratories may obtain certification for their 

laboratories. Certification is referred to as accreditation in this 

chapter. Commercial environmental laboratories are 

accredited under the standards of the National Environmental 

Laboratory Accreditation Conference (NELAC) as approved 

in 2003. In addition, this chapter sets out the process that 

NELAP-accredited environmental laboratories must use to 

receive accreditation in Virginia. 1VAC30-45 covers 

noncommercial environmental laboratories. 

1VAC30-46-15. Standards for accreditation transition. 

A. Commercial environmental laboratories are accredited 

under the standards of the National Environmental Laboratory 

Accreditation Conference (NELAC), now The NELAC 

Institute (TNI). 

B. DCLS shall accredit commercial environmental 

laboratories under the 2003 NELAC Standards [ through June 

30, 2014, as specified by the provisions of this chapter that 

became effective on January 1, 2009, for the first 10 months 

following November 1, 2015 ]. 

C. DCLS shall accredit commercial environmental 

laboratories under the 2009 TNI Standards [ beginning on 

July 1, 2014, as specified by the provisions of this chapter 

effective on November 1, 2015, beginning on the first day of 

the 11th month following November 1, 2015 ]. 

1VAC30-46-30. Applicability. 

A. General applicability. This chapter applies to the 

following: 

1. Any owner of a commercial environmental laboratory. 

2. Any owner of an environmental laboratory holding 

NELAP TNI accreditation from a primary accrediting 

authority accreditation body who wishes to apply for 

reciprocal secondary accreditation under 1VAC30-46-140. 

B. DGS-DCLS. 

1. NELAP-accredited laboratory. DGS-DCLS shall meet 

the requirements of this chapter through review and 

accreditation by a NELAP-accredited federal or state 

accrediting authority. This process shall be completed 

before January 1, 2012. 

2. Primary accrediting authority. DGS-DCLS shall meet 

the requirements of the NELAC standards to become the 

primary accrediting authority for the Commonwealth of 

Virginia. This review and approval by a NELAP 

accrediting team shall be completed no later than January 

1, 2010. 

B. Acquiring primary TNI accreditation through this 

chapter. 

1. A commercial environmental laboratory located in 

Virginia shall obtain primary TNI accreditation in Virginia 

as long as the fields of accreditation for which the 

laboratory seeks accreditation are offered by DCLS. 

2. DLCS shall not provide primary TNI accreditation for 

environmental laboratories located in other states that offer 

TNI accreditation. 

C. Voluntary accreditation. Any owner of an a 

noncommercial environmental laboratory may apply for 

accreditation under this chapter. 

D. Environmental laboratories required to obtain drinking 

water certification under 1VAC30-40. Any owner of an 

environmental laboratory Drinking water laboratory 

certification. An owner of a laboratory who must meet the 

requirements of 1VAC30-40 pertaining to drinking water 

laboratory certification and either 1VAC30-45 or this chapter 

may meet those requirements by obtaining accreditation 

under this chapter. 

1VAC30-46-40. Definitions. 

A. The definitions contained in the 2003 National 

Environmental Laboratory Accreditation Conference 

(NELAC) standards, Chapter 1, Appendix A – Glossary, the 

2009 TNI Standards are incorporated by reference into this 

section. Some of the these definitions from this glossary are 

included in this section because the terms are used throughout 

this chapter. Where a term is defined in this section, the term 

shall have no other meaning, even if it is defined differently 

in the Code of Virginia or another regulation of the Virginia 

Administrative Code. Unless specifically defined in this 

section, the terms used in this chapter shall have the meanings 

commonly ascribed to them by recognized authorities.  

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Acceptance criteria" means specified limits placed on 

characteristics of an item, process, or service defined in 

requirement documents. 

"Accreditation" means the process by which an agency or 

organization evaluates and recognizes a laboratory as meeting 

certain predetermined qualifications or standards, thereby 

accrediting the laboratory. "Accreditation" is the term used as 

a substitute for the term "certification" under this chapter. 

[ "Accreditation body" or "AB" means the authoritative 

body that performs accreditation. ]  

"Accrediting authority" [ "Accreditation body" of "AB" 

means the territorial, state, or federal agency having 

responsibility and accountability for environmental laboratory 

accreditation and which grants accreditation. ]  
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"Acceptance criteria" means specified limits placed on 

characteristics of an item, process, or service defined in 

requirement documents. 

"Algae" means simple single-celled, colonial, or multicelled, 

mostly aquatic plants, containing chlorophyll and lacking 

roots, stems and leaves that are either suspended in water 

(phytoplankton) or attached to rocks and other substrates 

(periphyton). 

"Analyte" means the substance or physical property to be 

determined in samples examined. 

"Analytical method" means a technical procedure for 

providing analysis of a sample, defined by a body such as the 

Environmental Protection Agency or the American Society 

for Testing and Materials, that may not include the sample 

preparation method. 

"Assessment" means the evaluation process used to measure 

or establish the performance, effectiveness, and conformance 

of an organization and its systems or both to defined criteria 

(i.e., the standards and requirements of laboratory 

accreditation). 

"Assessor" means the person who performs on-site 

assessments of laboratories' capability and capacity for 

meeting the requirements under this chapter by examining the 

records and other physical evidence for each one of the tests 

for which accreditation has been requested assigned by DCLS 

to perform, alone or as part of an assessment team, an 

assessment of an environmental laboratory. 

"Authority" means, in the context of a governmental body or 

local government, an authority created under the provisions of 

the Virginia Water and Waste Authorities Act, Chapter 51 

(§ 15.2-5100 et seq.) of Title 15.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Benthic macroinvertebrates" means bottom dwelling 

animals without backbones that live at least part of their life 

cycles within or upon available substrates within a body of 

water.  

"Commercial environmental laboratory" means an 

environmental laboratory where environmental analysis is 

performed for another person. 

"Corrective action" means the action taken to eliminate the 

causes of an existing nonconformity, defect or other 

undesirable situation in order to prevent recurrence. 

"DGS-DCLS" "DCLS" means the Division of Consolidated 

Laboratory Services of the Department of General Services. 

"Environmental analysis" or "environmental analyses" 

means any test, analysis, measurement, or monitoring used 

for the purposes of the Virginia Air Pollution Control Law, 

the Virginia Waste Management Act or the State Water 

Control Law (§ 10.1-1300 et seq., § 10.1-1400 et seq., and 

§ 62.1-44.2 et seq., respectively, of the Code of Virginia). For 

the purposes of these regulations, any test, analysis, 

measurement, or monitoring required pursuant to the 

regulations promulgated under these three laws, or by any 

permit or order issued under the authority of any of these laws 

or regulations is "used for the purposes" of these laws. The 

term shall not include the following: 

1. Sampling of water, solid and chemical materials, 

biological tissue, or air and emissions. 

2. Field testing and measurement of water, solid and 

chemical materials, biological tissue, or air and emissions, 

except when performed in an environmental laboratory 

rather than at the site where the sample was taken. 

3. Taxonomic identification of samples for which there is 

no national accreditation standard such as algae, benthic 

macroinvertebrates, macrophytes, vertebrates and 

zooplankton.  

4. Protocols used pursuant to § 10.1-104.2 of the Code of 

Virginia to determine soil fertility, animal manure nutrient 

content, or plant tissue nutrient uptake for the purposes of 

nutrient management. 

5. Geochemical and permeability testing for solid waste 

compliance. 

6. Materials specification for air quality compliance when 

product certifications specify the data required by an air 

permit such as fuel type, Btu content, sulfur content, or 

volatile organic chemical (VOC) content. 

"Environmental laboratory" or "laboratory" means a facility 

or a defined area within a facility where environmental 

analysis is performed. A structure built solely to shelter field 

personnel and equipment from inclement weather shall not be 

considered an environmental laboratory.  

"Establishment date" means the date set for the accreditation 

program under this chapter and the certification program 

under 1VAC30-45 to be established. 

"Establishment of accreditation program" or "established 

program" means that DGS-DCLS DCLS has completed the 

initial accreditation of environmental laboratories covered by 

this chapter and the initial certification of environmental 

laboratories covered by 1VAC30-45. 

"Facility" means something that is built or installed to serve 

a particular function. 

"Field of accreditation" means an approach to accrediting 

laboratories by those matrix, technology/method, and 

analyte/analyte group analyte combinations for which DCLS 

offers accreditation. 

"Field of accreditation matrix" means the following when 

accrediting a laboratory: 

1. Drinking water. Any aqueous sample that has been 

designated a potable or potential potable water source. 

2. Nonpotable water. Any aqueous sample excluded from 

the definition of drinking water matrix. Includes surface 

water, groundwater, effluents, water treatment chemicals, 

and TCLP or other extracts. 

3. Solid and chemical materials. Includes soils, sediments, 

sludges, products and byproducts of an industrial process 

that results in a matrix not previously defined. 
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4. Biological tissue. Any sample of a biological origin such 

as fish tissue, shellfish, or plant material. Such samples 

shall be grouped according to origin, i.e., by species. 

5. Air and emissions. Whole gas or vapor samples 

including those contained in flexible or rigid wall 

containers and the extracted concentrated analytes of 

interest from a gas or vapor that are collected with a 

sorbent tube, impinger solution, filter or other device. 

"Field of proficiency testing" or "FoPT" means an approach 

to offer proficiency testing by analytes for which a laboratory 

is required to successfully analyze a PT sample in order to 

obtain or maintain accreditation, collectively defined as: 

matrix, technology/method, and analyte/analyte group 

analyte. 

"Field testing and measurement" means any of the 

following: 

1. Any test for parameters under 40 CFR Part 136 for 

which the holding time indicated for the sample requires 

immediate analysis; or 

2. Any test defined as a field test in federal regulation. 

The following is a limited list of currently recognized field 

tests or measures that is not intended to be inclusive: 

continuous emissions monitoring; on-line monitoring; flow 

monitoring; tests for pH, residual chlorine, temperature and 

dissolved oxygen; and field analysis for soil gas. 

"Finding" means a conclusion reached during an on-site 

assessment that identifies a condition having a significant 

effect on an item or activity. An assessment finding is 

normally a deficiency and is normally accompanied by 

specific examples of the observed condition an assessment 

conclusion referenced to a laboratory accreditation standard 

[ incorporated by reference or contained in this chapter ] and 

supported by objective evidence that identifies a deviation 

from a laboratory accreditation standard requirement. 

"Governmental body" means any department, agency, 

bureau, authority, or district of the United States government, 

of the government of the Commonwealth of Virginia, or of 

any local government within the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

"Holding time" (or maximum allowable holding time)" 

means the maximum time that a sample may be held prior to 

analysis and still be considered valid or not compromised can 

elapse between two specified activities. 

"Initial accreditation period" means the period during which 

DGS-DCLS is accepting and processing applications for the 

first time under this chapter as specified in 1VAC30-46-70. 

"Legal entity" means an entity, other than a natural person, 

who has sufficient existence in legal contemplation that it can 

function legally, be sued or sue and make decisions through 

agents as in the case of corporations. 

"Local government" means a municipality (city or town), 

county, sanitation district, or authority. 

"Macrophytes" means any aquatic or terrestrial plant species 

that can be identified and observed with the eye, unaided by 

magnification. 

"Matrix" means the component or substrate that contains the 

analyte of interest of a test sample. 

"National accreditation database" means the publicly 

accessible database listing the accreditation status of all 

laboratories participating in NELAP. 

"National Environmental Laboratory Accreditation 

Conference (NELAC)" means a voluntary organization of 

state and federal environmental officials and interest groups 

with the primary purpose to establish mutually acceptable 

standards for accrediting environmental laboratories. A subset 

of NELAP. 

"National Environmental Laboratory Accreditation Program 

(NELAP)" means the overall National Environmental 

Laboratory Accreditation Program of which NELAC is a part. 

"Noncommercial environmental laboratory" means either of 

the following: 

1. An environmental laboratory where environmental 

analysis is performed solely for the owner of the 

laboratory. 

2. An environmental laboratory where the only 

performance of environmental analysis for another person 

is one of the following: 

a. Environmental analysis performed by an 

environmental laboratory owned by a local government 

for an owner of a small wastewater treatment system 

treating domestic sewage at a flow rate of less than or 

equal to 1,000 gallons per day. 

b. Environmental analysis performed by an 

environmental laboratory operated by a corporation as 

part of a general contract issued by a local government to 

operate and maintain a wastewater treatment system or a 

waterworks. 

c. Environmental analysis performed by an 

environmental laboratory owned by a corporation as part 

of the prequalification process or to confirm the identity 

or characteristics of material supplied by a potential or 

existing customer or generator as required by a hazardous 

waste management permit under 9VAC20-60. 

d. Environmental analysis performed by an 

environmental laboratory owned by a Publicly Owned 

Treatment Works (POTW) for an industrial source of 

wastewater under a permit issued by the POTW to the 

industrial source as part of the requirements of a 

pretreatment program under Part VII (9VAC25-31-730 et 

seq.) of 9VAC25-31. 

e. Environmental analysis performed by an 

environmental laboratory owned by a county authority 

for any municipality within the county's geographic 
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jurisdiction when the environmental analysis pertains 

solely to the purpose for which the authority was created. 

f. Environmental analysis performed by an 

environmental laboratory owned by an authority or a 

sanitation district for any participating local government 

of the authority or sanitation district when the 

environmental analysis pertains solely to the purpose for 

which the authority or sanitation district was created. 

"Owner" means any person who owns, operates, leases or 

controls an environmental laboratory. 

"Person" means an individual, corporation, partnership, 

association, company, business, trust, joint venture or other 

legal entity. 

"Physical," for the purposes of fee test categories, means the 

tests to determine the physical properties of a sample. Tests 

for solids, turbidity and color are examples of physical tests. 

"Pretreatment requirements" means any requirements arising 

under Part VII (9VAC25-31-730 et seq.) of 9VAC25-31 

including the duty to allow or carry out inspections, entry or 

monitoring activities; any rules, regulations, or orders issued 

by the owner of a POTW; or any reporting requirements 

imposed by the owner of a POTW or by the regulations of the 

State Water Control Board. Pretreatment requirements do not 

include the requirements of a national pretreatment standard. 

"Primary accrediting authority accreditation body" or 

"primary AB" means the agency or department designated at 

the territory, state or federal level as the recognized authority 

with the responsibility and accountability for granting 

NELAC accreditation to a specific laboratory for a specific 

field of accreditation accreditation body responsible for 

assessing a laboratory's total quality system, on-site 

assessment, and PT performance tracking for fields of 

accreditation. 

"Proficiency test or testing (PT)" "Proficiency test," 

"proficiency testing," or "PT" means evaluating a laboratory's 

performance under controlled conditions relative to a given 

set of criteria through analysis of unknown samples provided 

by an external source. 

"Proficiency test (PT) sample" or "PT sample" means a 

sample, the composition of which is unknown to both the 

analyst and the laboratory, and is provided to test whether the 

analyst or laboratory or both laboratory can produce 

analytical results within specified acceptance criteria. 

"Proficiency testing (PT) program" or "PT program" means 

the aggregate of providing rigorously controlled and 

standardized environmental samples to a laboratory for 

analysis, reporting of results, statistical evaluation of the 

results and the collective demographics and results summary 

of all participating laboratories. 

"Publicly Owned Treatment Works" or "POTW" (POTW)" 

means a treatment works as defined by § 212 of the CWA, 

which is owned by a state or municipality (as defined by 

§ 502(4) of the CWA). This definition includes any devices 

and systems used in the storage, treatment, recycling, and 

reclamation of municipal sewage or industrial wastes of a 

liquid nature. It also includes sewers, pipes, and other 

conveyances only if they convey wastewater to a POTW 

treatment plant. The term also means the municipality as 

defined in § 502(4) of the CWA, which has jurisdiction over 

the indirect discharges to and the discharges from such a 

treatment works. 

"Quality assurance" or "QA" means an integrated system of 

management activities involving planning, quality control, 

quality implementation, assessment, reporting, and quality 

improvement to ensure that a product process, item, or service 

meets defined standards of quality with a stated level of 

confidence is of the type and quality needed and expected by 

the client. 

"Quality assurance officer" means the person who has 

responsibility for the quality system and its implementation. 

Where staffing is limited, the quality assurance officer may 

also be the technical director manager. 

"Quality control" or "QC" means the (i) overall system of 

technical activities whose purpose is to measure and control 

the quality of a product or service so that it meets the needs of 

users that measures the attributes and performance of a 

process, item, or service against defined standards to verify 

that they meet the stated requirements established by the 

customer; (ii) operational techniques and activities that are 

used to fulfill requirements for quality; and (iii) system of 

activities and checks used to ensure that measurement 

systems are maintained within prescribed limits, providing 

protection against "out of control" conditions and ensuring 

that the results are of acceptable quality. 

"Quality manual" means a document stating the 

management policies, objectives, principles, organizational 

structure and authority, responsibilities, accountability, and 

implementation of an agency, organization, or laboratory, to 

ensure the quality of its product and the utility of its product 

to its users. 

"Quality system" means a structured and documented 

management system describing the policies, objectives, 

principles, organizational authority, responsibilities, 

accountability, and implementation plan of an organization 

for ensuring quality in its work processes, products (items), 

and services. The quality system provides the framework for 

planning, implementing, and assessing work performed by 

the organization and for carrying out required quality 

assurance and quality control activities.  

"Quality system matrix," for purposes of batch and quality 

control requirements, means the following: 

1. Aqueous. Any aqueous sample excluded from the 

definition of drinking water matrix or saline/estuarine 

source. Includes surface water, groundwater, effluents, and 

TCLP or other extracts. 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 1 Virginia Register of Regulations September 7, 2015 

67 

2. Drinking water. Any aqueous sample that has been 

designated a potable or potential potable water source. 

3. Saline/estuarine. Any aqueous sample from an ocean or 

estuary, or other salt water source such as the Great Salt 

Lake. 

4. Non-aqueous liquid. Any organic liquid with less than 

15% settleable solids. 

5. Biological tissue. Any sample of a biological origin such 

as fish tissue, shellfish, or plant material. Such samples 

shall be grouped according to origin. 

6. Solids. Includes soils, sediments, sludges and other 

matrices with more than 15% settleable solids. 

7. Chemical waste. A product or byproduct of an industrial 

process that results in a matrix not previously defined. 

8. Air and emissions. Whole gas or vapor samples 

including those contained in flexible or rigid wall 

containers and the extracted concentrated analytes of 

interest from a gas or vapor that are collected with a 

sorbent tube, impinger solution, filter or other device. 

1. Air and emissions. Whole gas or vapor samples, 

including those contained in flexible or rigid wall 

containers and the extracted concentrated analytes of 

interest from a gas or vapor that are collected with a 

sorbent tube, impinger solution, filter, or other device. 

2. Aqueous. Any aqueous sample excluded from the 

definition of drinking water matrix or saline/estuarine 

source. Includes surface water, groundwater, effluents, and 

TCLP or other extracts. 

3. Biological tissue. Any sample of a biological origin such 

as fish tissue, shellfish, or plant material. Such samples 

shall be grouped according to origin. 

4. Chemical waste. A product or byproduct of an industrial 

process that results in a matrix not previously defined. 

5. Drinking water. Any aqueous sample that has been 

designated a potable or potential potable water source. 

6. Non-aqueous liquid. Any organic liquid with less than 

15% settleable solids. 

7. Saline/estuarine. Any aqueous sample from an ocean or 

estuary, or other salt water source such as the Great Salt 

Lake. 

8. Solids. Includes soils, sediments, sludges, and other 

matrices with more than 15% settleable solids.  

"Recognition" means the mutual agreement of two or more 

accrediting authorities to accept each other's findings 

regarding the ability of environmental laboratories to meet 

NELAC standards. 

"Responsible official" means one of the following, as 

appropriate: 

1. If the laboratory is owned or operated by a private 

corporation, "responsible official" means (i) a president, 

secretary, treasurer, or a vice-president of the corporation 

in charge of a principal business function, or any other 

person who performs similar policy-making or decision-

making functions for the corporation or (ii) the manager of 

one or more manufacturing, production, or operating 

facilities employing more than 250 persons or having gross 

annual sales or expenditures exceeding $25 million (in 

second-quarter 1980 dollars), if authority to sign 

documents has been assigned or delegated in accordance 

with corporate procedures.  

2. If the laboratory is owned or operated by a partnership, 

association, or a sole proprietor, "responsible official" 

means a general partner, officer of the association, or the 

proprietor, respectively. 

3. If the laboratory is owned or operated by a governmental 

body, "responsible official" means a director or highest 

official appointed or designated to oversee the operation 

and performance of the activities of the governmental 

laboratory. 

4. Any person designated as the responsible official by an 

individual described in subdivision 1, 2 or 3 of this 

definition provided the designation is in writing, the 

designation specifies an individual or position with 

responsibility for the overall operation of the laboratory, 

and the designation is submitted to DGS-DCLS DCLS. 

"Sampling" means the act of collection for the purpose of 

analysis. 

"Sanitation district" means a sanitation district created under 

the provisions of Chapters 3 (§ 21-141 et seq.) through 5 

(§ 21-291 et seq.) of Title 21 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Secondary accreditation body" or "secondary AB" means 

the accreditation body that grants TNI accreditation to 

laboratories based on their accreditation by a TNI-recognized 

primary accreditation body. 

"Sewage" means the water-carried human wastes from 

residences, buildings, industrial establishments or other 

places together with such industrial wastes and underground, 

surface, storm, or other water as may be present. 

"Standard operating procedure" or "SOP" (SOP)" means a 

written document which details the method of an operation, 

analysis or action whose techniques and procedures are 

thoroughly prescribed and which is accepted that details the 

method for an operation, analysis, or action with thoroughly 

prescribed techniques and steps. An SOP is officially 

approved as the method for performing certain routine or 

repetitive tasks. 

"TCLP" or "toxicity characteristic leachate procedure" 

means Test Method 1311 in "Test Methods for Evaluating 

Solid Waste, Physical/Chemical Methods," EPA Publication 

SW-846, as incorporated by reference in 40 CFR 260.11. This 

method is used to determine whether a solid waste exhibits 

the characteristic of toxicity (see 40 CFR 261.24). 

"Technical director manager (however named)" means the 

person who has overall responsibility for the technical 
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operation of the environmental laboratory and who exercises 

actual day-to-day supervision of laboratory operation for the 

appropriate fields of testing and reporting of results. The title 

of this person may include but is not limited to laboratory 

director, technical director manager, laboratory supervisor, or 

laboratory manager. 

"Technology" means a specific arrangement of analytical 

instruments, detection systems, or preparation techniques, or 

any combination of these elements. 

"Test" means a technical operation that consists of the 

determination of one or more characteristics or performance 

of a given product, material, equipment, organism, physical 

phenomenon, process or service according to a specified 

procedure. 

"Test, analysis, measurement or monitoring required 

pursuant to the Virginia Air Pollution Control Law" means 

any method of analysis required by the Virginia Air Pollution 

Control Law (§ 10.1-1300 et seq. of the Code of Virginia); by 

the regulations promulgated under this law (9VAC5), 

including any method of analysis listed either in the definition 

of "reference method" in 9VAC5-10-20, or listed or adopted 

by reference in 9VAC5; or by any permit or order issued 

under and in accordance with this law and these regulations. 

"Test, analysis, measurement or monitoring required 

pursuant to the Virginia Waste Management Act" means any 

method of analysis required by the Virginia Waste 

Management Act (§ 10.1-1400 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia); by the regulations promulgated under this law 

(9VAC20), including any method of analysis listed or 

adopted by reference in 9VAC20; or by any permit or order 

issued under and in accordance with this law and these 

regulations. 

"Test, analysis, measurement or monitoring required 

pursuant to the Virginia Water Control Law" means any 

method of analysis required by the Virginia Water Control 

Law (§ 62.1-44.2 et seq. of the Code of Virginia); by the 

regulations promulgated under this law (9VAC25), including 

any method of analysis listed or adopted by reference in 

9VAC25; or by any permit or order issued under and in 

accordance with this law and these regulations. 

"Test method" means an adoption of a scientific technique 

for performing a specific measurement, as documented in a 

laboratory standard operating procedure or as published by a 

recognized authority. 

"The NELAC Institute (TNI)" or "TNI" means the 

organization whose standards environmental laboratories 

must meet to be accredited in Virginia. 

"TNI standards" means the 2009 Standards for 

Environmental Laboratories and Accreditation Bodies 

approved by TNI. 

"U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (U.S. EPA or 

EPA)" means the federal government agency with 

responsibility for protecting, safeguarding and improving the 

natural environment (i.e., air, water and land) upon which 

human life depends. 

"Virginia Air Pollution Control Law" means Chapter 13 (§ 

10.1-1300 et seq.) of Title 10.1 of the Code of Virginia which 

that is titled "Air Pollution Control Board." 

"Virginia Environmental Laboratory Accreditation 

Program" or "VELAP" means the program DCLS operates to 

accredit environmental laboratories under this chapter.  

"Wastewater" means liquid and water-carried industrial 

wastes and domestic sewage from residential dwellings, 

commercial buildings, industrial and manufacturing facilities, 

and institutions.  

"Waterworks" means each system of structures and 

appliances used in connection with the collection, storage, 

purification, and treatment of water for drinking or domestic 

use and the distribution thereof to the public, except 

distribution piping. 

"Zooplankton" means microscopic animals that float freely 

with voluntary movement in a body of water. 

1VAC30-46-50. Scope of accreditation. 

A. Commercial environmental laboratories shall be 

accredited based on the general laboratory standards set out in 

Part II (1VAC30-46-200 et seq.) of this chapter and on the 

specific test methods or analysis, monitoring or measurement 

required by Virginia Air Pollution Control Law (§ 10.1-1300 

et seq. of the Code of Virginia), Virginia Waste Management 

Act (§ 10.1-1400 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) or Virginia 

Water Control Law (§ 62.1-44.2 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia), the regulations promulgated under these laws, and 

by permits and orders issued under and in accordance with 

these laws and regulations. 

B. DGS-DCLS DCLS shall review alternative test methods 

and procedures for accreditation when these are proposed by 

the applicant laboratory. The provisions of 1VAC30-46-70 E 

and 1VAC30-46-90 B govern alternative test methods and 

procedures. 

C. Accreditation shall be granted for one or more fields of 

accreditation, including the matrix, the technology and 

methods used by the commercial environmental laboratory, 

and the individual analytes or analyte groups determined by 

the particular method. 

1VAC30-46-60. General: accreditation requirements. 

A. Components of accreditation. The components of 

accreditation include review of personnel qualifications, on-

site assessment, proficiency testing and quality assurance and 

quality control standards. The criteria for these components, 

specified in Part II (1VAC30-46-200 et seq.) of this chapter, 

shall be fulfilled for accreditation. 

B. Individual laboratory sites and mobile laboratories. 

1. Individual laboratory sites are subject to the same 

application process, assessments, and other requirements as 

environmental laboratories. Any remote laboratory sites 
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are considered separate sites and subject to separate on-site 

assessments. 

2. Laboratories located at the same physical location shall 

be considered an individual laboratory site if these 

laboratories are owned by the same person, and have the 

same technical director manager and quality system. 

3. Laboratories located at separate, noncontiguous physical 

locations may request to be considered as an individual 

laboratory site if these laboratories are owned by the same 

person and have the same laboratory manager and quality 

system. 

4. 3. A mobile laboratory, which is configured with 

equipment to perform environmental analyses, whether 

associated with a fixed-based laboratory or not, is 

considered an environmental laboratory and shall require 

separate accreditation. This accreditation shall remain with 

the mobile laboratory and be site independent. Moving the 

configured mobile laboratory to a different site shall not 

require a new or separate accreditation. Before performing 

analyses at each new site, the laboratory shall ensure that 

instruments and equipment have been checked for 

performance and have been calibrated. 

1VAC30-46-70. Process to apply and obtain accreditation. 

A. Duty to apply. All owners of (i) commercial 

environmental laboratories and (ii) NELAP-accredited TNI-

accredited commercial environmental laboratories applying 

for reciprocal secondary accreditation shall apply for 

accreditation as specified by the provisions of this section. 

Applications for accreditation must be obtained from DCLS 

program staff by email at Lab_Cert@dgs.virginia.gov. 

B. Timely initial applications. 

1. Owners of commercial environmental laboratories 

applying for accreditation under this chapter for the first 

time shall submit an application to DGS-DCLS no later 

than July 1, 2009. 

2. Owners of commercial environmental laboratories that 

come into existence after January 1, 2009, shall submit an 

initial application to DGS-DCLS no later than 180 calendar 

days prior to initiating the provision of environmental 

laboratory services. 

3. Owners of NELAP-accredited environmental 

laboratories. 

a. During the initial accreditation period, NELAP- 

accredited environmental laboratories shall submit an 

application to DGS-DCLS no later than July 1, 2009. 

b. After the program is established, NELAP-accredited 

environmental laboratories shall submit an application to 

DGS-DCLS no later than 180 calendar days prior to 

initiating the provision of environmental laboratory 

services in Virginia. 

C. Timely renewal applications.  

1. Every two years from the date of initial accreditation, 

laboratories accredited under this chapter shall submit an 

application for renewal of accreditation as required by 

subsection F of this section, including the fees required by 

1VAC30-46-150. During this biannual renewal DGS-

DCLS shall perform an on-site assessment in addition to a 

review of the laboratory's application package. 

2. Every other year, DGS-DCLS shall renew accreditation 

for the accredited laboratory provided the laboratory does 

all of the following: 

a. Maintains compliance with this chapter. 

b. Attests to this compliance by signing the Certificate of 

Compliance provided under subdivision F 3 of this 

section. 

c. Reports acceptable proficiency test values for the 

Fields of Accreditation for which the laboratory held 

accreditation during the previous year. 

The laboratory shall submit the application information 

required by subdivisions F 1 (except for the quality 

manual) and F 3 of this section. 

3. Renewal application due dates. 

a. The owner of either an (i) accredited commercial 

environmental laboratory or (ii) environmental laboratory 

holding reciprocal accreditation shall submit an 

application for renewal of accreditation under 

subdivision C 1 of this section at least 90 calendar days 

prior to expiration of accreditation. 

b. The owner of either an (i) accredited commercial 

environmental laboratory or (ii) environmental laboratory 

holding reciprocal accreditation shall submit an 

application for renewal of accreditation under 

subdivision C 2 of this section at least 30 calendar days 

prior to expiration of accreditation.  

B. Initial applications. Owners of commercial environmental 

laboratories applying for accreditation under this chapter for 

the first time shall submit an application to DCLS as specified 

under subsection F of this section. 

C. Renewal and reassessment. 

1. DCLS shall renew accreditation annually for the 

accredited laboratory provided the laboratory does the 

following: 

a. Maintains compliance with this chapter. 

b. Attests to this compliance by signing the certificate of 

compliance provided under subdivision F 3 of this 

section. 

c. Reports acceptable proficiency test values as required 

by 1VAC30-46-210 B. 

d. Pays the fee required by 1VAC30-46-150. 

2. DCLS shall reassess the accredited environmental 

laboratory during an on-site assessment as required by 

1VAC30-46-220. 
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D. Responsibilities of the owner and operator when the 

laboratory is owned by one person and operated by another 

person. 

1. When an environmental laboratory is owned by one 

person but is operated by another person, the operator may 

submit the application for the owner. 

2. If the operator fails to submit the application, the owner 

is not relieved of his responsibility to apply for 

accreditation. 

3. While DGS-DCLS DCLS may notify environmental 

laboratories of the date their applications are due, failure of 

DGS-DCLS DCLS to notify does not relieve the owner of 

his obligation to apply under this chapter. 

E. Submission of applications for modifications to 

accreditation. An owner of an accredited environmental 

laboratory shall follow the process set out in 1VAC30-46-90 

B to add a new matrix technology/method, an analyte or, 

analyte group, modify a test method or institute use of a 

method or technology not in the laboratory's standard 

operating procedures, including alternative test methods or 

procedures to modify the laboratory's scope of accreditation. 

F. Contents of application. 

1. Applications shall include but not be limited to the 

following information and documents: 

a. Legal name of laboratory; 

b. Name of owner of laboratory; 

c. Name of operator of laboratory, if different than 

owner; 

d. Street address and description of location of 

laboratory; 

e. Mailing address of laboratory, if different from street 

address; 

f. Address of owner, if different from laboratory address; 

g. Name, address, telephone number, facsimile number 

and e-mail, as applicable, of responsible official;  

h. Name, address, telephone number, facsimile number 

and e-mail, as applicable, of technical director manager; 

i. Name, address, telephone number, facsimile number 

and e-mail, as applicable, of designated quality assurance 

officer; 

j. Name, title and telephone number of laboratory contact 

person; 

k. Laboratory type (e.g., commercial, public wastewater 

system, mobile); 

l. Laboratory hours of operation; 

m. Fields of accreditation for which the laboratory is 

seeking accreditation; 

n. Methods employed, including analytes; 

o. n. The results of the three most recent proficiency test 

studies two successful unique TNI-compliant PT studies 

for each accreditation field of proficiency testing as 

required by 1VAC30-46-210 B  (for primary 

accreditation only);  

p. o. Quality assurance manual (for primary accreditation 

only); 

q. Lab identification number (for renewal only) p. Copy 

of the primary certificate of accreditation for secondary 

accreditation applications; and 

r. q. For mobile laboratories, a unique vehicle 

identification number, such as a manufacturer's vehicle 

identification number (VIN #), serial number, or license 

number. 

2. Fee. The application shall include payment of the fee as 

specified in 1VAC30-46-150. 

3. Certification of compliance. 

a. The application shall include a "Certification of 

Compliance" statement signed and dated by (i) the 

quality assurance officer, and a (ii) the responsible 

official or the technical director manager, or both. 

b. The certification of compliance shall state: "The 

applicant understands and acknowledges that the 

laboratory is required to be continually in compliance 

with the Virginia environmental laboratory accreditation 

program regulation (1VAC30 Chapter 46) and is subject 

to the provisions of 1VAC30-46-100 in the event of 

noncompliance. Specifically the applicant: 

(1) Shall commit to fulfill continually the requirements 

for accreditation set by DCLS for the areas where 

accreditation is sought or granted. 

(2) When requested, shall afford such accommodation 

and cooperation as is necessary to enable DCLS to verify 

fulfillment of requirements for accreditation. This applies 

to all premises where laboratory services take place. 

(3) Shall provide access to information, documents, and 

records as necessary for the assessment and maintenance 

of the accreditation. 

(4) Shall provide access to those documents that provide 

insight into the level of independence and impartiality of 

the laboratory from its related bodies, where applicable. 

(5) Shall arrange the witnessing of laboratory services 

when requested by DCLS. 

(6) Shall claim accreditation only with respect to the 

scope for which it has been granted accreditation. 

(7) Shall pay fees as shall be determined by the 

accreditation body. 

I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 

attachments were prepared under my direction or 

supervision in accordance with a system designed to 

assure that qualified personnel properly gather and 

evaluate the information submitted. Based on my inquiry 

of the person or persons who manage the laboratory or 

those persons directly responsible for gathering and 
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evaluating the information, the information submitted is, 

to the best of my knowledge and belief, true, accurate 

and complete. Submitting false information or data shall 

result in denial or withdrawal of accreditation. I further 

certify that I am authorized to sign this application." 

G. Completeness determination. 

1. DGS-DCLS DCLS shall determine whether an 

application is complete and notify the laboratory of the 

result of such determination. During the initial 

accreditation period, DGS-DCLS DCLS shall provide this 

notice within 90 calendar days of its receipt of the initial 

application. Following the initial accreditation period, 

DGS-DCLS shall provide this notice as follows:  

a. Within 60 calendar days of DGS-DCLS' receipt of a 

laboratory's initial application. 

b. Within 30 calendar days of DGS-DCLS' receipt of a 

laboratory's renewal application under subdivision C 1 of 

this section. 

c. Within 15 calendar days of DGS-DCLS' receipt of a 

laboratory's renewal application under subdivision C 2 of 

this section. 

2. An initial application or an application for renewal under 

subdivision C 1 of this section shall be determined 

complete if it contains all the information required 

pursuant to subsection F of this section and is sufficient to 

evaluate the laboratory prior to the on-site assessment. 

DGS-DCLS shall consider an application for renewal 

under subdivision C 2 of this section to be complete if it 

contains the information required under subdivision C 2 of 

this section. Designating an application complete does not 

preclude DGS-DCLS DCLS from requesting or accepting 

additional information. 

3. If DGS-DCLS DCLS determines that an application is 

incomplete, DGS-DCLS's the DCLS notification of such 

determination shall explain why the application is 

incomplete and specify the additional information needed 

to make the application complete. 

4. Except during the initial accreditation period, if If DCLS 

makes no determination is made within 60 within 90 

calendar days of DGS-DCLS's its receipt of either (i) the 

application or (ii) additional information, in the case of an 

application determined to be incomplete, the application 

shall be determined to be complete. During the initial 

accreditation period, the time period shall be 90 calendar 

days.  

5. If the laboratory has not submitted the required 

additional information within 90 days of receiving a notice 

from DGS-DCLS DCLS requesting additional information, 

DGS-DCLS DCLS may return the incomplete application 

and inform the laboratory that the application cannot be 

processed. The laboratory may then submit a new 

application. 

H. Grant of interim accreditation pending final 

determination on application. 

1. DGS-DCLS DCLS shall grant interim accreditation 

status to laboratories applying initially or for renewal under 

subdivision C 1 of this section under the following 

conditions: 

a. The laboratory's application is determined to be 

complete; 

b. The laboratory has satisfied all the requirements for 

accreditation, including all requests for additional 

information, with the exception of on-site assessment; 

and 

c. DGS-DCLS DCLS is unable to schedule the on-site 

assessment within 90 120 days of its determination that 

the application is complete (for initial applications) or 

before the laboratory's accreditation expires (for renewal 

applications under subdivision C 1 of this section). 

2. DGS-DCLS shall grant interim accreditation status to a 

laboratory renewing its accreditation under subdivision C 2 

of this section during its review of the renewal application 

if the owner has submitted a complete application as 

required under subdivision C 2 of this section. 

3. 2. A laboratory with interim accreditation status shall 

have the same rights and status as a laboratory that has 

been granted accreditation by DGS-DCLS DCLS. 

4. 3. Interim accreditation status shall not exceed 12 

months. 

I. On-site assessment. 

1. An on-site assessment shall be performed and the 

follow-up and reporting procedures for such assessments 

shall be completed in accordance with Part II (1VAC30-

46-200 et seq.) of this chapter 1VAC30-46-220 prior to 

issuance of a final determination on accreditation. 

2. Alternative on-site assessment option. If DGS-DCLS is 

unable to schedule an on-site assessment under the 

conditions of subdivision H 1 c of this section, the owner 

of the applicant laboratory may use third-party on-site 

assessors instead of DGS-DCLS on-site assessors under 

the following conditions: 

a. The third-party on-site assessors are on a DGS-DCLS-

approved list of NELAC-trained on-site assessors; and 

b. The owner of the applicant laboratory agrees to pay 

the third-party on-site assessors.  

J. Final determination on accreditation.  

1. Upon completion of the accreditation review process 

and corrective action, if any, DGS-DCLS DCLS shall grant 

accreditation in accordance with subsection K of this 

section or deny accreditation in accordance with subsection 

L of this section. 

2. Except during the initial accreditation period, DGS-

DCLS shall complete action on a laboratory's application 
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within nine months from the time a completed application 

is received from the laboratory. 

3. During the initial accreditation period, DGS-DCLS shall 

notify applicants of their interim accreditation status under 

subsection H of this section only after all applications have 

been reviewed and are determined to be complete. 

4. During the final approval process of the initial 

accreditation period, DGS-DCLS shall notify applicants of 

their final accreditation status only after all timely and 

complete applications have been reviewed, all on-site 

assessments have been completed, and accreditation status 

has been determined for all applicant laboratories. 

5. During the final approval process, DGS-DCLS shall 

release on-site assessment reports to applicants at the time 

that applicants are notified of their final accreditation 

status.  

K. Grant of accreditation. 

1. When a laboratory meets the requirements specified for 

receiving accreditation, DGS-DCLS DCLS shall issue a 

certificate to the laboratory. The certificate shall be sent to 

the technical director manager, and the responsible official 

shall be notified. 

2. The director of DGS-DCLS DCLS or his designee shall 

sign the certificate. The certificate shall be transmitted as a 

sealed and dated document. 

3. The certificate shall include the following information: 

a. Name of owner of laboratory; 

b. Name of operator of laboratory, if different from 

owner; 

c. Name of responsible official; 

d. Address and location of laboratory; 

e. Laboratory identification number; 

f. Fields of accreditation (matrix, technology/method and 

analyte/analyte group) analyte) for which accreditation is 

granted; 

g. Any addenda or attachments; and 

h. Issuance date and expiration date. 

4. National Environmental Laboratory Accreditation 

Program (NELAP) TNI-accreditation status. 

a. Laboratories accredited under this chapter are 

accredited under the standards of the National 

Environmental Laboratory Accreditation Conference 

TNI. 

b. The certificate of accreditation shall contain the 

NELAP TNI insignia. 

c. Accredited laboratories shall comply with the 

provisions of 1VAC30-46-130 with regard to the use of 

these certificates and their status as NELAP-accredited 

TNI-accredited laboratories. 

5. The laboratory shall post the most recent certificate of 

accreditation and any addenda to the certificate issued by 

DGS-DCLS DCLS in a prominent place in the laboratory 

facility. 

6. Accreditation shall expire one year after the date on 

which accreditation is granted. 

L. Denial of accreditation. 

1. DGS-DCLS DCLS shall deny accreditation to an 

environmental laboratory in total if the laboratory is found 

to be falsifying any data or providing false information to 

support accreditation. 

2. Denial of accreditation in total or in part. 

a. DGS-DCLS DCLS may deny accreditation to an 

environmental laboratory in total or in part if the 

laboratory fails to do any of the following: 

(1) Pay the required fees; 

(2) Employ laboratory staff to meet the personnel 

qualifications as required by Part II (1VAC30-46-200 et 

seq.) of this chapter 1VAC30-46-210 A; 

(3) Successfully analyze and report proficiency testing 

samples as required by Part II of this chapter 1VAC30-

46-210 B; 

(4) Submit a corrective action report plan in accordance 

with Part II of this chapter 1VAC30-46-220 in response 

to a deficiency report from the on-site assessment team 

within the required 30 calendar days; 

(5) Implement the corrective actions detailed in the 

corrective action report plan within the time frame 

specified by DGS-DCLS DCLS; 

(6) Pass required on-site assessment as specified in Part 

II of this chapter 1VAC30-46-220; or 

(7) Implement a quality system as defined in Part II of 

this chapter 1VAC30-46-210 C. 

b. DGS-DCLS DCLS may deny accreditation to an 

environmental laboratory in total or in part if the 

laboratory's application is not determined to be complete 

within 90 days following notification of incompleteness 

because the laboratory is delinquent in submitting 

information required by DGS-DCLS DCLS in 

accordance with this chapter. 

c. DGS-DCLS DCLS may deny accreditation to an 

environmental laboratory in total or in part if the DGS-

DCLS DCLS on-site assessment team is unable to carry 

out the on-site assessment pursuant to 1VAC30-46-210 B 

1VAC30-46-220 because a representative of the 

environmental laboratory denied the team entry during 

the laboratory's normal business hours that it specified in 

the laboratory application. 

3. DGS-DCLS DCLS shall follow the process specified in 

1VAC30-46-110 when denying accreditation to an 

environmental laboratory.  
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M. Reapplication following denial of accreditation. 

1. Upon denial of accreditation, the laboratory shall wait 

six months before reapplying for accreditation. 

2. DGS-DCLS DCLS shall not waive application fees for a 

laboratory reapplying for accreditation. 

1VAC30-46-80. Maintaining accreditation. 

A. Accreditation remains in effect until withdrawn by DGS-

DCLS DCLS, withdrawn voluntarily at the written request of 

the accredited laboratory, or expiration of the accreditation 

period. To maintain accreditation, the accredited laboratory 

shall comply with the elements listed in this section and in 

1VAC30-46-90. 

B. Quality systems. A laboratory seeking to maintain 

accreditation under this regulation shall assure consistency 

and promote the use of quality assurance and quality control 

procedures. Part II (1VAC30-46-200 et seq.) of this chapter 

1VAC30-46-210 C specifies the quality assurance and quality 

control requirements that shall be met to maintain 

accreditation. The laboratory shall establish and maintain a 

quality system based on the these required elements contained 

in Part II. 

C. Proficiency tests. Laboratories seeking to maintain 

accreditation under this regulation shall perform proficiency 

tests as required under Part II (1VAC30-46-200 et seq.) of 

this chapter 1VAC30-46-210 B. 

D. Recordkeeping and retention. All laboratory records 

associated with accreditation parameters shall be kept as 

provided by the requirements for records under Part II 

(1VAC30-46-200 et seq.) of this chapter. These records shall 

be maintained for a minimum of five years unless designated 

for a longer period by another regulation or authority. All 

such records shall be available to DGS-DCLS DCLS upon 

request. 

1VAC30-46-90. Notifications and changes to accreditation 

elements and status. 

A. Changes to key accreditation criteria. The accredited 

laboratory shall notify DGS-DCLS DCLS in writing of any 

changes in key accreditation criteria within 30 calendar days 

of the change. Key accreditation criteria are laboratory 

ownership (including legal, commercial, or organizational 

status), location, resources and premises, key personnel 

(including top management), and major instrumentation, and 

quality system policies. 

B. Changes to scope of accreditation. 

1. DGS-DCLS DCLS may approve a laboratory's 

application to add a new matrix, technology, analyte, or 

test method to a laboratory's scope of accreditation or 

otherwise modify the laboratory's scope of accreditation by 

performing a data review. 

2. To apply, the owner of the accredited laboratory shall 

submit the following to DGS-DCLS DCLS: 

a. A letter written request signed by the owner that 

briefly summarizes the addition to be made to the 

laboratory's scope of accreditation. 

b. Pertinent information demonstrating the laboratory's 

capability to perform the additional matrix, 

technology/method, or analyte/analyte group analyte, 

such as proficiency testing performance and quality 

control performance. 

c. A written standard operating procedure covering the 

new matrix, technology/method, or analyte/analyte group 

analyte. 

3. DGS-DCLS DCLS may approve a laboratory's 

application for modification to its scope of accreditation by 

performing a review of the application materials submitted, 

without an on-site assessment. The addition of a new 

technology or test method requiring the use of specific 

equipment may require an on-site assessment. Other 

reviews of performance and documentation may be carried 

out by DGS-DCLS DCLS, depending on the modification 

for which the laboratory applies. 

4. Within 90 calendar days of the receipt of the application 

from the accredited environmental laboratory, DGS-DCLS 

DCLS shall review and determine whether the proposed 

modification may be approved. 

5. If the proposed modification to the laboratory's scope of 

accreditation is approved, DGS-DCLS DCLS shall amend 

the laboratory's certificate of accreditation. 

6. DCLS shall not send the amended certificate of 

accreditation to the laboratory until DCLS receives the 

payment of the fee required under 1VAC30-46-150 E 1.  

C. Change of ownership or location of laboratory. 

1. The accredited laboratory shall submit a written 

notification to DGS-DCLS DCLS of the change of 

ownership or location of the laboratory within 30 calendar 

days of the change. This requirement applies only to fixed-

based and not pertaining to change of location does not 

apply to mobile laboratories. 

2. Accreditation may be transferred when the legal status 

or ownership of a accredited laboratory changes as long as 

the transfer does not affect the laboratory's personnel, 

equipment, or organization. 

3. If the laboratory's personnel, equipment, or organization 

are affected by the change of legal status or ownership, 

DGS-DCLS DCLS may require reaccreditation or 

reapplication in any or all of the categories for which the 

laboratory is accredited. 

4. DGS-DCLS DCLS may require an on-site assessment 

depending on the nature of the change of legal status or 

ownership. DGS-DCLS DCLS shall determine the 

elements of any on-site assessment required. 
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5. When there is a change in ownership, the new owner of 

the accredited laboratory shall assure historical traceability 

of the laboratory accreditation numbers.  

6. 5. When there is a change in ownership, the new owner 

of the accredited laboratory shall keep for a minimum of 

five years all records and analyses performed by the 

previous owner under his scope of accreditation for a 

period of five years pertaining to accreditation. These 

records and analyses are subject to inspection by DGS-

DCLS DCLS during this five-year period. This provision 

applies regardless of change of ownership, accountability 

or liability.  

D. Voluntary withdrawal. Any environmental laboratory 

owner who wishes to withdraw the laboratory from its 

accreditation status or from being accredited, in total or in 

part, shall submit written notification to DGS-DCLS no later 

than 30 calendar days before the end of the laboratory's 

accreditation term DCLS. Within 30 calendar days, DGS-

DCLS DCLS shall provide the laboratory with a written 

notice of withdrawal. 

1VAC30-46-95. Suspension of accreditation. 

A. Before withdrawing accreditation, DCLS may suspend 

accreditation from an environmental laboratory in total or in 

part to allow the laboratory time to correct the reason for 

which DCLS may withdraw accreditation. Suspension is 

limited to the reasons listed in subsection B of this section. 

B. DCLS may suspend accreditation from an environmental 

laboratory in part or in total when the laboratory has failed to 

do any of the following: 

1. Participate in the proficiency testing program as required 

by 1VAC30-46-210 B. 

2. Complete proficiency testing studies and maintain a 

history of at least two successful proficiency testing studies 

for each accredited field of testing out of the three most 

recent proficiency testing studies as defined in 1VAC30-

46-210 B. 

3. Maintain a quality system as defined in 1VAC30-46-210 

C. 

4. Employ staff that meets the personnel qualifications of 

1VAC30-46-210 A. 

5. Notify DCLS of any changes in key accreditation 

criteria as set forth in 1VAC30-46-90. 

C. Process to suspend accreditation. 

1. When DCLS determines that cause exists to suspend a 

laboratory, the agency shall send notification to the 

responsible official and the technical manager stating the 

agency's determination that the laboratory has failed to 

meet the 1VAC30-46 standards for one or more of the 

reasons listed in subsection B of this section. DCLS shall 

send the notification by certified mail. 

2. In its notice, DCLS shall request the laboratory to notify 

DCLS in writing if the laboratory believes the agency is 

incorrect in its determination. 

3. The notification shall state that the laboratory is required 

to take corrective action whenever a failure occurs and to 

document the corrective action. The notification shall 

require the laboratory to provide DCLS with 

documentation of the corrective action taken with regard to 

its failure to meet a standard under this chapter. 

4. The notification shall state what the laboratory is 

required to do to restore its accreditation status and the 

time allowed to do so. 

5. The environmental laboratory may proceed to correct 

the deficiencies for which DCLS has suspended the 

laboratory's accreditation. 

6. Alternatively the laboratory may state in writing that 

DCLS is incorrect in its determination regarding 

suspension, giving specific reasons why the laboratory 

believes DCLS should not suspend accreditation.  

7. With the exception of subdivision B 4 of this section, 

DCLS may allow the laboratory up to 60 days to correct 

the problem for which it may have its accreditation 

suspended. 

8. DCLS shall set a date for suspension that follows the 

period provided under subdivision [ B ] 7 of this [ section 

subsection ] to restore accreditation. 

9. If the laboratory does not correct its deficiencies within 

the time period allowed, DCLS shall suspend a laboratory 

in part or in total. 

10. DCLS shall notify the laboratory by letter of its 

suspension status. DCLS shall send the notification by 

certified mail. DCLS shall also notify the pertinent 

Virginia state agency of the laboratory's suspension status. 

11. The laboratory may provide information demonstrating 

why suspension is not warranted in accordance with the 

standard referenced in the initial DCLS notification. If 

such information is not provided prior to the suspension 

date, the laboratory accepts the DCLS decision to suspend. 

12. The laboratory has the right to due process as set forth 

in 1VAC30-46-110. 

D. Responsibilities of the environmental laboratory and 

DCLS when accreditation has been suspended. 

1. The term of suspension shall be limited to six months or 

the period of accreditation whichever is longer. 

2. The environmental laboratory shall not continue to 

analyze samples or report analysis for the fields of 

accreditation for which DCLS has suspended accreditation. 

3. The environmental laboratory shall retain accreditation 

for the fields of accreditation, methods, and analytes where 

it continues to meet the requirements of this chapter. 

4. The laboratory's suspended accreditation status shall 

change to accredited when the laboratory demonstrates to 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 1 Virginia Register of Regulations September 7, 2015 

75 

DCLS that the laboratory has corrected the deficiency or 

deficiencies for which its accreditation was suspended. 

5. An environmental laboratory with suspended 

accreditation shall not have to reapply for accreditation if 

the cause or causes for suspension are corrected within the 

term of suspension. 

6. If the laboratory fails to correct the causes of suspension 

within the term of suspension, DCLS shall withdraw the 

laboratory's accreditation in total or in part. 

1VAC30-46-100.Withdrawal of accreditation. 

A. DGS-DCLS DCLS shall withdraw accreditation from an 

environmental laboratory in total if the laboratory is found to 

be falsifying any data or providing false information to 

support certification: accreditation. 

B. DGS-DCLS DCLS may withdraw accreditation from an 

environmental laboratory in part or in total when the 

laboratory has failed to do any of the following: 

1. Participate in the proficiency testing program as required 

by 1VAC30-46-210 C 1VAC30-46-210 B. 

2. Complete proficiency testing studies and maintain a 

history of at least two successful proficiency testing studies 

for each affected accredited field of testing out of the three 

most recent proficiency testing studies as defined in 

1VAC30-46-210 C 1VAC30-46-210 B. 

3. Maintain a quality system as defined in 1VAC30-46-210 

D 1VAC30-46-210 C. 

4. Employ staff that meet meets the personnel 

qualifications of 1VAC30-46-210 A. 

5. Submit an acceptable corrective action report plan after 

two opportunities as specified in 1VAC30-46-210 B 

1VAC30-46-220. 

6. Implement corrective action specified in the laboratory's 

corrective action report plan as set out under 1VAC30-46-

210 B 1VAC30-46-220. 

7. Notify DGS-DCLS DCLS of any changes in key 

accreditation criteria as set forth in 1VAC30-46-90. 

8. Use correct and authorized references to the laboratory's 

accreditation status or that of DGS-DCLS DCLS in the 

laboratory's documentation and advertising as set forth in 

1VAC30-46-130. 

9. Allow a DCLS assessment team entry during normal 

business hours to conduct an on-site assessment required 

by 1VAC30-46-220. 

10. Pay required fees specified in 1VAC30-46-150. 

C. DGS-DCLS DCLS shall follow the process specified in 

1VAC30-46-110 when withdrawing accreditation from an 

environmental laboratory. 

D. Responsibilities of the environmental laboratory and 

DGS-DCLS DCLS when accreditation has been withdrawn. 

1. Laboratories that lose their accreditation in full shall 

return their certificate to DGS-DCLS DCLS. 

2. If a laboratory loses accreditation in part, an addendum 

to the certificate shall be issued by DGS-DCLS DCLS 

shall issue a revised certificate to the laboratory. 

3. The laboratory shall discontinue the use of all materials 

that contain either a reference to the environmental 

laboratory's past accreditation status or that display the 

NELAC/NELAP TNI logo. These materials may include 

catalogs, advertising, business solicitations, proposals, 

quotations, laboratory analytical results reports, or other 

materials. 

4. The environmental laboratory shall not continue to 

analyze samples or report analyses for the fields of 

accreditation for which DCLS has withdrawn 

accreditation. 

E. After correcting the reason or cause for the withdrawal of 

accreditation under 1VAC30-46-100 A or B, the laboratory 

owner may reapply for accreditation under 1VAC30-46-70 B 

and E. 

1VAC30-46-110. Procedures to deny or withdraw 

accreditation, to withdraw accreditation, and appeal 

procedures. 

A. Notification. 

1. If DGS-DCLS believes it has grounds DCLS determines 

that cause exists to deny accreditation to or withdraw 

accreditation from an environmental laboratory, DGS-

DCLS DCLS shall notify the environmental laboratory in 

writing of its intent to hold an informal fact finding under 

§ 2.2-4019 of the Code of Virginia in order to make a 

decision on the denial of accreditation or withdrawal of 

accreditation determination. DGS-DCLS DCLS shall send 

this notification by certified mail to the responsible official 

and provide a copy to the technical director manager of the 

environmental laboratory. The notice of informal fact 

finding shall provide a detailed explanation of the basis for 

the notice. 

2. For denial of accreditation, the notice shall state that the 

laboratory has failed to meet the standards in 1VAC30-46 

and shall specify one or more of the reasons for denial of 

accreditation under 1VAC30-46-70 L, providing a detailed 

explanation of the basis for the denial of accreditation. 

3. For withdrawal of accreditation, the notice shall state 

that the laboratory has failed to meet the standards in 

1VAC30-46 and shall specify one or more of the reasons 

for withdrawal of accreditation under 1VAC30-46-100 A 

or B, providing a detailed explanation of the basis for the 

withdrawal of accreditation. 

4. In its notice, DCLS shall request the laboratory to notify 

DCLS in writing if the laboratory believes the agency is 

incorrect in its determination. 

5. If the laboratory believes DCLS to be incorrect in its 

determination, the laboratory shall provide DCLS with a 

detailed written demonstration of why DCLS should not 

deny or withdraw accreditation. 
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B. Following the informal fact finding held pursuant to § 

2.2-4019 of the Code of Virginia, the director shall render a 

decision regarding accreditation, and shall send this 

notification by certified mail to the responsible official and 

provide a copy to the technical director of the environmental 

laboratory. If the director's decision is adverse to the 

environmental laboratory, the responsible official may appeal 

this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4026 of the Code of 

Virginia and Part 2A of the Rules of the Supreme Court of 

Virginia. 

C. The provisions of this section do not preclude informal 

discussions between DGS-DCLS and any environmental 

laboratory that has been notified of a possible denial or 

withdrawal of accreditation. These informal discussions to 

resolve the concerns that prompted the notice shall be held 

prior to the informal fact finding proceeding.  

B. An environmental laboratory may appeal a final decision 

by DCLS to deny or withdraw accreditation pursuant to the 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia). 

D. C. The accreditation status of an environmental 

laboratory appealing withdrawal of accreditation shall not 

change pending the final decision of the appeals filed under 

the Virginia Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of 

the Code of Virginia) and Part 2A of the Rules of the 

Supreme Court of Virginia. 

1VAC30-46-120. National accreditation database. 

Information about accredited environmental laboratories. 

DGS-DCLS shall provide to NELAP the following 

information about environmental laboratories accredited 

under this chapter: (i) technical director's name; (ii) 

ownership and location of laboratory and any changes; (iii) 

key accreditation criteria and any changes; (iv) interim, as 

well as final, accreditation status; and (v) on-site assessment 

reports. DCLS shall make available to the public information 

identifying the environmental laboratories that it has 

accredited under this chapter. 

1VAC30-46-130. Use of accreditation status by 

environmental laboratories accredited under this chapter. 

A. The owner of an environmental laboratory accredited 

under this chapter shall not misrepresent the laboratory's 

fields of accreditation or its accreditation status on any 

document. This includes laboratory reports, catalogs, 

advertising, business solicitations, proposals, quotations or 

other materials. 

B. Environmental laboratories accredited under this chapter 

shall comply with all of the following: 

1. Post or display their most recent accreditation certificate 

or their fields of accreditation in a prominent place in the 

laboratory facility. 

2. Make accurate statements concerning their fields of 

accreditation and accreditation status. 

3. Accompany DGS-DCLS's DCLS's name or the 

NELAC/NELAP TNI logo or both with at least the phrase 

"NELAP-accredited" "TNI-accredited" and the laboratory's 

identification number or other identifier when DGS-

DCLS's DCLS's name is used on general literature such as 

catalogs, advertising, business solicitations, proposals, 

quotations, laboratory analytical reports or other materials. 

4. Not use their accreditation certificate, their accreditation 

status or the NELAC/NELAP TNI logo to imply 

endorsement by DGS-DCLS DCLS. 

C. The owners of laboratories accredited under this chapter 

who choose to (i) use DGS-DCLS's DCLS's name; (ii) make 

reference to its NELAP TNI accreditation status; or (iii) use 

the NELAC/NELAP TNI logo in any catalogs, advertising, 

business solicitations, proposals, quotations, laboratory 

analytical reports or other materials, shall comply with both 

of the following: 

1. Distinguish between proposed testing for which the 

laboratory is accredited and the proposed testing for which 

the laboratory is not accredited. 

2. Include the laboratory's identification number or other 

identifier. 

1VAC30-46-140. Reciprocal Secondary accreditation. 

A. DGS-DCLS, when recognized by NELAP as a primary 

accrediting authority, DCLS may grant reciprocal secondary 

accreditation to an environmental laboratory that holds a 

current accreditation from another NELAP-recognized TNI-

recognized primary accrediting authority accreditation body. 

B. The owner of a NELAP-accredited TNI-accredited 

environmental laboratory that seeks accreditation under this 

chapter shall apply as specified in 1VAC30-46-70 with the 

exception of 1VAC30-46-70 F 1 n and o. 

C. The owner of the applicant laboratory shall pay the fee 

required by 1VAC30-46-150. 

D. DGS-DCLS DCLS shall not require a NELAP-accredited 

TNI-accredited environmental laboratory that seeks 

accreditation under this section to meet any additional 

proficiency testing, quality assurance, or on-site assessment 

requirements for the fields of accreditation for which the 

laboratory holds primary NELAP TNI accreditation. 

E. DGS-DCLS DCLS shall consider only the current 

certificate of accreditation issued by the NELAP-recognized 

TNI-recognized primary accrediting authority accreditation 

body. 

F. DGS-DCLS shall do the following: 1. Grant reciprocal 

DCLS shall grant secondary accreditation for only the fields 

of accreditation offered under this chapter for which the 

laboratory holds current primary NELAP TNI accreditation. 

2. Except during the initial accreditation period, grant 

reciprocal accreditation and issue certificates to an 

applicant laboratory within 30 calendar days of receipt of 

the laboratory's application. 
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G. Potential nonconformance issues. 

1. If DGS-DCLS notes any potential nonconformance with 

the NELAC standards by a laboratory during the initial 

application process for reciprocal accreditation or for a 

laboratory that already has been granted NELAP 

accreditation through reciprocal accreditation, DGS-DCLS 

shall immediately notify, in writing, the applicable 

NELAP-recognized primary accrediting authority and the 

laboratory. The notification shall cite the applicable 

sections within the NELAC standards for which 

nonconformance by the laboratory has been noted. 

2. If the alleged nonconformance is noted during the initial 

application process for reciprocal accreditation, final action 

on the application for reciprocal accreditation shall not be 

taken until the alleged nonconformance issue has been 

resolved. 

3. If the alleged nonconformance is noted after reciprocal 

accreditation has been granted, the laboratory shall 

maintain its current accreditation status until the alleged 

nonconformance issue has been resolved. 

4. If DGS-DCLS does not believe the primary accrediting 

authority has taken timely and appropriate action on the 

potential nonconformance, DGS-DCLS shall notify the 

NELAP director of its concerns. 

1VAC30-46-150. Fees. 

A. General. 

1. Fees shall be submitted Environmental laboratories shall 

pay a fee with all applications, including reapplications, for 

accreditation and all renewal applications for accreditation 

under 1VAC30-46-70 C 1. Applications shall not be 

designated as complete until the fee is received by DGS-

DCLS. DCLS shall not designate an application as 

complete until it receives payment of the fee. 

2. Fees shall be nonrefundable. Each accredited 

environmental laboratory shall pay an annual fee to 

maintain its accreditation. DCLS shall send an invoice to 

the accredited environmental laboratory. 

3. An environmental laboratory applying for reciprocal 

secondary accreditation under this chapter 1VAC30-46-

140 shall pay the same fee as other laboratories subject to 

this chapter. 

4. Fees shall be nonrefundable. 

B. Fee computation. 

1. The fee shall be the total of the base fee and the test 

category fees. 

2. The test category fees cover categories for the test 

methods to be accredited as specified in the laboratory's 

application. 

3. If the total of the base fee and the test category fees is 

more than the maximum fee, the laboratory shall pay the 

maximum fee. 

1. Fees shall be applied on an annual basis. 

2. Environmental laboratories shall pay the total of the base 

fee and the test category fees set out in subsections C and 

D of this section [ for the first twelve months following 

(insert the effective date of this chapter) ]. 

[ 3. Environmental laboratories shall pay the total of the 

base fee and the test category fees required by subsections 

C and D of this section as adjusted by the method set out in 

subsection E of this section beginning the second 12 

months following (insert the effective date of this chapter) 

and for each of the 12-month periods that follow. ]  

C. Base fee. The base fee shall be $1,700. 

1. DCLS determines the base fee for a laboratory by taking 

into account both the total number of methods and the total 

number of field of accreditation matrices for which the 

laboratory would be accredited. 

2. DCLS shall charge the base fees set out in Table 1. The 

base fee for a laboratory is located by first finding the row 

for the total number of methods to be accredited and then 

finding the box on that row located in the column headed 

by the total number of matrices to be accredited. For 

example, DCLS charges a base fee of $1300 to a 

laboratory performing a total of eight methods for one 

matrix. 

TABLE 1: BASE FEES 

Number 

of 

Methods 

One 

Matrix 

Two 

Matrices 

Three 

Matrices 

Four or 

more 

Matrices 

1 - 9 $1300 $1430 $1575 $1730 

10 - 29 $1400 $1575 $1750 $1950 

30 - 99 $1550 $1825 $2150 $2550 

100 - 149 $1650 $1980 $2375 $2850 

150+ $1800 $2250 $2825 $3525 

D. Maximum fee. The maximum fee shall be $5,200.  

E. D. Test category fees. 

1. The test category fees cover the types of testing for 

which a laboratory may be accredited as specified in the 

laboratory's application or as accredited at the time of 

annual billing. 

1. 2. Fees shall be charged for each category of tests to be 

accredited. 

3. Fees shall be charged for the total number of field of 

accreditation matrices to be accredited under the specific 

test category. For example, if a laboratory is performing 

inorganic chemistry for both nonpotable water and solid 

and chemical matrices, the fee for this test category would 

be found in the column for two matrices. 

2. 4. The fee for each category includes one or more 

analytical methods unless otherwise specified. With the 

exception of the test categories labeled oxygen demand and 
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physical, test categories related to test methods for water 

are defined by 40 CFR 136.3. 

5. Test category fees. DCLS shall charge the test category 

fees set out in Table 2. The test category fees for a 

laboratory are located by first finding the row with the total 

number of test methods for the test category to be 

accredited. The fee to be charged for the test category will 

be found on that row in the column headed by the total 

number of matrices to be accredited. A laboratory 

performing four test methods for bacteriology in both 

nonpotable and drinking water (two matrices) would be 

charged a test category fee of $330. 

3. Fees. 

TEST CATEGORY FEE 

Oxygen demand (BOD or COD) $375 

Bacteriology $375 

Inorganic chemistry, fewer than four 

methods 

$375 

Inorganic chemistry, four or more 

methods 

$750 

Chemistry metals, one - two methods $450 

Chemistry metals, more than two methods $1,000 

Organic chemistry, fewer than four 

methods 

$600 

Organic chemistry, four or more methods $1,200 

Aquatic toxicity, acute methods only $400 

Aquatic toxicity, acute and chronic 

methods 

$700 

Radiochemical $1,000 

Physical $375 

TABLE 2: TEST CATEGORY FEES 

 

Fees by Number of Matrices 

Test Category One  Two  

Three 

or 

More 

Aquatic toxicity, acute 

methods only $400  N/A N/A 

Aquatic toxicity, acute and 

chronic methods $600  N/A N/A 

Oxygen demand $225 $335 $435 

Bacteriology, 1 - 3 total 

methods $175 $265 $345 

Bacteriology, 4 or more 

total methods $220 $330 $430 

Physical, 1 - 5 total 

methods $175 $265 $345 

Physical, 6 - 10 total 

methods $220 $330 $430 

Physical, 11 or more total 

methods $275 $415 $540 

Inorganic chemistry, 1 - 10 

total methods $250 $375 $490 

Inorganic chemistry, 11 - 

20 total methods $315 $475 $620 

Inorganic chemistry, 21 - 

49 total methods $394 $590 $767 

Inorganic chemistry, 50 or 

more total methods $492 $740 $962 

Chemistry metals, 1 - 5 

total methods $325 $490 $637 

Chemistry metals, 6 - 20 

total methods $410 $615 $800 

Chemistry metals, 21 or 

more total methods $512 $770 $1000 

Organic chemistry, 1 - 5 

total methods $400 $600 $780 

Organic chemistry, 6 - 20 

total methods $500 $750 $975 

Organic chemistry, 21 - 40 

total methods $625 $940 $1222 

Organic chemistry, 41 or 

more total methods $780 $1170 $1520 

Radiochemical, 1 - 10 total 

methods $600 $900 $1170 

Radiochemical, 11 or more 

total methods $725 $1090 $1420 

Asbestos $725 $1090 $1420 

6. Fee examples. Three examples are provided. 

a. Example 1: 

Base Fee 

One matrix and four 

test methods $1300 

Test Category Fees 

 

  

One Matrix 

 

  

Nonpotable 

Water 

Bacteriology 

(2 methods) $175 
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Nonpotable 

Water 

Oxygen demand 

(1 method) $225 

Nonpotable 

Water 

Physical 

(1 method) $175 

TOTAL 

 

$1875 

b. Example 2: 

Base Fee 

One matrix and 15 

test methods $1400 

Test Category Fees     

One Matrix     

Nonpotable 

Water 

Bacteriology 

(2 methods) $175 

Nonpotable 

Water 

Inorganic chemistry 

(9 methods) $250 

Nonpotable 

Water Metals (2 methods) $325 

Nonpotable 

Water 

Oxygen demand 

(1 method) $225 

Nonpotable 

Water Physical (1 method) $175 

TOTAL 

 

$2550 

c. Example 3: 

Base Fee 

Two matrices and 

27 test methods $1575 

Test Category Fees     

One Matrix     

Nonpotable 

Water 

Bacteriology 

(4 methods) $220 

Nonpotable 

Water 

Oxygen demand 

(1 method) $225 

Solid and 

Chemical 

Materials Metals (1 method) $325 

Two Matrices     

Nonpotable 

Water and Solid 

and Chemical 

Materials 

Inorganic chemistry 

(13 methods) $475 

Nonpotable 

Water and Solid 

and Chemical 

Materials 

Physical 

(7 methods) $330 

TOTAL 

 

$3150 

[ E. Calculation of fees - fees beginning (the thirteenth 

month following the effective date of this chapter). 

1. DCLS shall revise the base fee and test category fee 

tables after the first twelve months following the effective 

date of this chapter and every twelve-month period 

thereafter. 

2. DCLS shall increase or decrease the fees set out in the 

base fee and the test category fee tables using the 

Consumer Price Index-Urban (CPI-U) percentage change, 

average-average for the previous calendar year. (The CPI-

U for all urban consumers is published by the U.S. 

Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics, U.S. 

Examples of the CPI-U average-average are -0.04, +1.6, 

and +3.2 percent for 2009, 2010, and 2011, respectively. 

DCLS would determine the fees in the tables for 2012, for 

example, by increasing each fee by 3.2 percent, the CPI-U 

average-average percentage change for 2011.)  

3. DCLS shall revise each previous year's tables so that the 

revisions will be cumulative, reflecting the changes in the 

CPI-U over time. 

4. DCLS shall round the revised fees to the nearest dollar. 

5. DCLS shall publish the revised base fee and test 

category fee tables annually on its VELAP website. 

F. E. ] Additional fees. Additional fees shall be charged to 

laboratories applying for the following: (i) modification to 

scope of accreditation under 1VAC30-46-90 B, (ii) transfer of 

ownership under 1VAC30-46-90 C, (iii) request that multiple, 

noncontiguous laboratory sites be considered as one site 

under 1VAC30-46-60 B 3, or (iv) (iii) petition for a variance 

under 1VAC30-46-160. 

1. For any accredited environmental laboratory that applies 

to modify its scope of accreditation as specified under 

1VAC30-46-90 B, DGS-DCLS DCLS shall assess a fee 

determined by the method in subsection [ G F ] of this 

section. 

2. Under 1VAC30-46-90 C, DGS-DCLS DCLS may 

charge a transfer fee to a certified laboratory that transfers 

ownership. A fee shall be charged if DGS-DCLS DCLS (i) 

needs to review documentation sent by the laboratory 

about the transfer of ownership or (ii) determines that an 

on-site assessment is necessary to evaluate the effect of the 

transfer of ownership. DGS-DCLS DCLS shall assess a fee 

determined by the method in subsection [ G F ] of this 

section. If DGS-DCLS determines that a fee should be 

charged, the fee shall be a minimum of $100 and a 

maximum of $1,000. If, under 1VAC30-46-90 C, DGS-

DCLS DCLS determines that the change of ownership or 

location of laboratory requires reaccreditation of or 

reapplication by the laboratory, the laboratory shall pay the 

application fee required under this section. 

3. Under 1VAC30-46-60 B 3, the owner of multiple non-

contiguous laboratories may request that DGS-DCLS 

consider these laboratories to be one site. If, as a result of 
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the request being granted, DGS-DCLS needs to perform 

multiple on-site assessments, DGS-DCLS shall charge a 

fee for the additional on-site assessments. The fee shall be 

the sum of reasonable travel costs and labor charges for the 

additional on-site assessments. The labor charges will be 

determined following the method in subsection G of this 

section. 

4. 3. Under 1VAC30-46-160, any person regulated by this 

chapter may petition the director to grant a variance from 

any requirement of this chapter. DGS-DCLS DCLS shall 

charge a fee for the time needed to review the petition, 

including any on-site assessment required. The fee shall be 

determined by the method specified in subsection [ G F ] 

of this section.  

[ G. F. ] Fee Additional fees determination. 

1. The fee shall be the sum of the total hourly charges for 

all reviewers plus any on-site review costs incurred. 

2. An hourly charge per reviewer shall be determined by (i) 

obtaining a yearly cost by multiplying the reviewer's 

annual salary by 1.35 (accounts for overhead such as taxes 

and insurance) and then (ii) dividing the yearly cost by 

1,642 (number of annual hours established by Fiscal 

Services, DGS, for billing purposes). 

3. The charge per reviewer shall be determined by 

multiplying the number of hours expended in the review by 

the reviewer's hourly charge. 

4. If an on-site review is required, travel time and on-site 

review time shall be charged at the same hourly charge per 

reviewer, and any travel expenses shall be added. 

[ H. G. ] Out-of-state laboratories – travel costs applying for 

primary accreditation.  

1. The owner of an environmental laboratory located in 

another state who applies for primary accreditation under 

this chapter shall also pay a fee equal to the surcharge of 

$5000 plus the labor costs of the on-site assessment and 

reasonable travel costs associated with conducting an on-

site assessment at the laboratory. Reasonable travel costs 

include transportation, lodging, per diem, and telephone 

and duplication charges. These charges shall be in addition 

to the fees charged under subdivision A 1 and subsections 

B through D of this section. 

2. Once the laboratory is accredited, DCLS shall charge the 

annual fee specified in subdivision A 2 and subsections B 

through D of this section, the labor costs for the on-site 

assessment, and reasonable travel costs associated with 

conducting the on-site assessment. 

[ I. H. ] DGS-DCLS DCLS shall derive the travel costs 

charged under subsections G and H F and G of this section 

from the Commonwealth of Virginia reimbursement 

allowances and rates for lodging, per diem, and mileage. 

Part II  

Standards  

1VAC30-46-200. Incorporation of NELAC standards by 

reference of TNI standards. 

A. The 2003 National Environmental Laboratory 

Accreditation Conference (NELAC) standards approved June 

5, 2003, as specified in 1VAC30-46-210 are incorporated by 

reference into this chapter. 

B. Laboratories applying for accreditation and accredited 

under this chapter shall comply with the 2003 NELAC 

standards incorporated by reference into 1VAC30-46-210. 

C. The requirements of Chapter 4 of the 2003 NELAC 

standards, Accreditation Process, are incorporated by 

reference into this chapter unless the requirements are (i) 

already addressed in this chapter, (ii) superseded by Virginia 

law, or (iii) incorporated by reference into 1VAC30-46-210.  

A. The following TNI standards are incorporated by 

reference into this chapter: The Standards for Environmental 

Laboratories and Accreditation Bodies, 2009 (The NELAC 

Institute (TNI)), Volume 1: Management and Technical 

Requirements for Laboratories Performing Environmental 

Analysis, and Volume 2: General Requirements for 

Accreditation Bodies Accrediting Environmental 

Laboratories, except for section 6.6 of Module 3 concerning 

confidential business information. 

B. Environmental laboratories applying for accreditation and 

accredited under this chapter shall comply with the TNI 

standards incorporated by reference into subsection A of this 

section. For convenience these standards are specified by 

accreditation component in 1VAC30-46-210 and 1VAC30-

46-220. 

C. The TNI standards are organized by volume and module. 

1. Volume 1 - Management and Technical Requirements 

for Laboratories Performing Environmental Analysis 

includes the following modules: 

a. Proficiency Testing. 

b. Quality Systems General Requirements. 

c. Quality Systems for Asbestos Testing. 

d. Quality Systems for Chemical Testing. 

e. Quality Systems for Microbiological Testing. 

f. Quality Systems for Radiochemical Testing. 

g. Quality Systems for Toxicity Testing. 

2. Volume 2 - General Requirements for Accreditation 

Bodies Accrediting Environmental Laboratories includes 

the following modules: 

a. General Requirements. 

b. Proficiency Testing. 

c. On-Site Assessment. 
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1VAC30-46-210. Standards for accreditation. 

A. Standards for personnel qualifications. The standards for 

personnel qualifications are the following provisions of the 

National Environmental Laboratory Accreditation Conference 

(NELAC) standards as incorporated by reference into this 

part: Chapter 4, Accreditation Process, specifically, 

Components of Accreditation and Personnel Qualifications 

(4.1.1) and Chapter 5, Quality Systems, specifically, 

Technical Requirements - Personnel (5.5.2). 

B. Standards for on-site assessment. The standards for on-

site assessment are the following provisions of the NELAC 

standards as incorporated by reference into this part. 

1. Chapter 3, On-site Assessment with one exception. 

Subsection 3.4.5, Confidential Business Information (CBI) 

Considerations, shall not be incorporated by reference into 

this part. 

2. Chapter 4, Accreditation Process, specifically, On-site 

Assessments and Corrective Action Reports in Response to 

On-site Assessment (4.1.2 and 4.1.3). 

C. Standards for proficiency testing. The standards for 

proficiency testing are the following provisions of the 

NELAC standards as incorporated by reference into this part. 

1. Chapter 2, Proficiency Testing, specifically, 

Introduction, Scope, and Applicability; Major PT Groups 

and Their Responsibilities; Laboratory Enrollment in 

Proficiency Testing Programs; Requirements for 

Laboratory Testing of PT Study Samples; and PT Criteria 

for Laboratory Accreditation (2.1, 2.2, 2.4 through 2.7). 

2. Chapter 4, Accreditation Process, specifically, 

Proficiency Testing Samples (4.1.4). 

D. Standards for quality systems. 

1. The standards for quality systems are the following 

provisions of the NELAC standards as incorporated by 

reference into this part: (i) Chapter 4, specifically, 

Accountability for Analytical Standards and (ii) Chapter 5, 

Quality Systems. 

2. Quality systems - scope. Chapter 5 of the NELAC 

standards sets out the scope of quality systems 

requirements. These provisions provide an overview to 

major aspects of the accreditation process and are set out 

below for emphasis: 

a. Chapter 5 includes all quality assurance policies and 

quality control procedures that shall be delineated in a 

quality manual and followed to ensure and document the 

quality of the analytical data. Laboratories seeking 

accreditation shall assure implementation of all quality 

assurance policies and the essential applicable quality 

control procedures specified in this chapter. The quality 

assurance policies, which establish essential quality 

control procedures, are applicable to environmental 

laboratories regardless of size and complexity. 

b. The intent of Chapter 5 is to provide sufficient detail 

concerning quality management requirements so that 

DGS-DCLS can evaluate environmental laboratories 

consistently and uniformly. 

c. Chapter 5 sets out the general requirements that a 

laboratory has to successfully demonstrate to be 

recognized as competent to carry out specific 

environmental tests. 

d. If more stringent standards or requirements are 

included in a mandated test method or by regulation, the 

laboratory shall demonstrate that such requirements are 

met. If it is not clear which standards or requirements are 

more stringent, the standard or requirement from the 

method or regulation is to be followed. 

A. Standards for personnel. The standards for personnel are 

found in Section 5.2 of Volume 1, Module 2 of the TNI 

standards. 

B. Standards for proficiency testing. 

1. The standards for proficiency testing are found in (i) 

Module 1 and (ii) section 4.11 of Module 2 of Volume 1 of 

the TNI standards. 

2. Additional requirements from Volume 2, Module 2 of 

the TNI standards. 

a. A laboratory shall perform two proficiency test studies 

each calendar year for each FoPT. These proficiency 

testing studies shall be performed at least five months 

apart and no longer than seven months apart within the 

calendar year. 

b. The following proficiency testing studies shall not 

apply when meeting the requirements of subdivision 2 a 

of this subsection: 

(1) Studies used for corrective action to reestablish 

successful history in order to maintain accreditation; and 

(2) Studies used to reinstate accreditation after DCLS 

suspends accreditation. 

c. DCLS shall consider a laboratory's analytical result for 

a FoPT not acceptable for the following reasons: 

(1) When the laboratory does not report the results within 

the time frames specified in Volume 1, Module 1 of the 

TNI standards. 

(2) When the laboratory makes any reporting error or 

omission that results in a nonspecific match between the 

analytical result for the FoPT and any criterion that 

identifies the laboratory or the field of accreditation for 

which the PT sample was analyzed for the purpose of 

initial or continued accreditation. 

d. If DCLS requests a corrective action plan from a 

laboratory, the laboratory shall provide the plan within 

30 calendar days of the request. 

e. A laboratory may withdraw from a study for any FoPT 

on or before the close date of the study. Withdrawing 

from a study shall not exempt the laboratory from 
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meeting the semiannual analysis requirements necessary 

for continued accreditation. 

C. Standards for quality systems. 

1. General requirements for all environmental laboratories 

are found in Volume 1, Module 2 of the TNI standards. 

2. Requirements for the specific types of testing that may 

be performed by an individual environmental laboratory 

are found in Volume 1, Modules 3 through 7 of the TNI 

standards. 

3. Drinking water laboratories obtaining certification under 

this chapter shall meet the reporting requirements set out in 

[ 1VAC30-40 1VAC30-41 ] for compliance with 12VAC5-

590-530 and 12VAC5-590-540. 

1VAC30-46-220. On-site assessment. 

A. The standards for on-site assessment are found in 

Volume 2, Module 3 of the TNI standards. The requirements 

specific to environmental laboratories are set out in this 

section. 

B. DCLS shall conduct a comprehensive on-site assessment 

of an environmental laboratory prior to granting final primary 

accreditation to the laboratory. 

C. Frequency of on-site assessment. 

1. DCLS shall reassess each accredited laboratory every 

two years starting from the date of the previous assessment 

plus or minus six months. 

2. Other on-site assessments. 

a. If DCLS identified a deficiency on a previous on-site 

assessment, the agency may conduct a follow-up on-site 

assessment. 

b. DCLS may conduct an on-site assessment under the 

following circumstances: 

(1) A laboratory applies to modify its scope of 

accreditation; 

(2) A transfer of ownership occurs that affects personnel, 

equipment, or the laboratory facilities; or 

(3) A laboratory applies for an exemption or a variance.  

c. Any other change occurring in a laboratory's 

operations that might reasonably be expected to alter or 

impair analytical capability and quality may trigger an 

on-site assessment. 

D. Announced and unannounced on-site assessments. 

DCLS, at its discretion, may conduct either announced or 

unannounced on-site assessments. Advance notice of an 

assessment shall not be necessary. 

E. Preparation for the on-site assessment. 

1. Prior to the actual site visit, DCLS may request in 

writing from a laboratory those records required to be 

maintained by this chapter. 

2. DCLS may opt not to proceed with an on-site 

assessment based on nonconformities found during 

document and record review. 

F. Areas to be assessed. 

1. DCLS shall assess the laboratory against the standards 

incorporated by reference and specified in 1VAC30-46-

200 and 1VAC30-46-210.  

2. The laboratory shall ensure that its quality manual, 

analytical methods, quality control data, proficiency test 

data, laboratory SOPs, and all records needed to verify 

compliance with the standards specified in 1VAC30-46-

200 and 1VAC30-46-210 are available for review during 

the on-site assessment. 

G. National security considerations. 

1. Assessments at facilities owned or operated by federal 

agencies or contractors may require security clearances, 

appropriate badging, or a security briefing before the 

assessment begins. 

2. The laboratory shall notify DCLS in writing of any 

information that is controlled for national security reasons 

and cannot be released to the public. 

H. Arrival, admittance, and opening conference. 

1. Arrival. DCLS and the laboratory shall agree to the date 

and schedule for announced on-site assessments. 

2. Admittance of assessment personnel. A laboratory's 

refusal to admit the assessment personnel for an on-site 

assessment shall result in an automatic failure of the 

laboratory to receive accreditation or loss of an existing 

accreditation by the laboratory, unless there are 

extenuating circumstances that are accepted and 

documented by DCLS.  

3. Health and safety. Under no circumstance, and 

especially as a precondition to gain access to a laboratory, 

shall assessment personnel be required or even allowed to 

sign any waiver of responsibility on the part of the 

laboratory for injuries incurred during an assessment. 

4. Opening conference. An opening conference shall be 

conducted and shall address the following topics: 

a. The purpose of the assessment; 

b. The identification of assessment personnel; 

c. The test methods that will be examined; 

d. Any pertinent records and procedures to be examined 

during the assessment and the names of the individuals in 

the laboratory responsible for providing assessment 

personnel with such records; 

e. The roles and responsibilities of laboratory staff and 

managers; 

f. Any special safety procedures that the laboratory may 

think necessary for the protection of assessment 

personnel; 
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g. The standards and criteria that will be used in judging 

the adequacy of the laboratory operation; 

h. Confirmation of the tentative time for the exit 

conference; and 

i. Discussion of any questions the laboratory may have 

about the assessment process. 

I. On-site laboratory records review and collection. 

1. Records shall be reviewed by assessment personnel for 

accuracy, completeness, and the use of proper 

methodology for each analyte and test method to be 

evaluated. 

2. Records required to be maintained pursuant to this 

chapter shall be examined as part of an assessment for 

accreditation.  

J. Observations of and interviews with laboratory personnel. 

1. As an element of the assessment process, the assessment 

team shall evaluate an analysis regimen by requesting that the 

analyst normally conducting the procedure give a step-by-step 

description of exactly what is done and what equipment and 

supplies are needed to complete the regimen. Any deficiencies 

shall be noted and discussed with the analyst. In addition, the 

deficiencies shall be discussed in the closing conference. 

2. Assessment personnel may conduct interviews with 

appropriate laboratory personnel. 

3. Calculations, data transfers, calibration procedures, quality 

control and quality assurance practices, adherence to test 

methods, and report preparation shall be assessed for the 

complete scope of accreditation with appropriate laboratory 

analysts. 

K. Closing conference. 

1. Assessment personnel shall meet with representatives of 

the laboratory following the assessment for a closing 

conference.  

2. During the closing conference, assessment personnel shall 

inform the laboratory of the preliminary findings and the basis 

for such findings. The laboratory shall have an opportunity to 

provide further explanation or clarification relevant to the 

preliminary findings. If the laboratory objects to the 

preliminary findings during the closing conference, all 

objections shall be documented by the assessment personnel 

and included in the final report to DCLS. 

3. Additional problem areas may be identified in the final 

report. 

L. Follow-up and reporting procedures. 

1. DCLS shall provide an on-site assessment report to the 

laboratory documenting any deficiencies found by DCLS 

within 30 calendar days of the last day of the on-site 

assessment. 

2. When deficiencies are identified in the assessment 

report, the laboratory shall have 30 calendar days from the 

date of its receipt of the on-site assessment report to 

provide a corrective action plan to DCLS.  

3. The laboratory's corrective action plan shall include the 

following: 

a. Any objections that the laboratory has with regard to 

the on-site assessment report; 

b. The action that the laboratory proposes to correct each 

deficiency identified in the assessment report;  

c. The time period required to accomplish the corrective 

action; and 

d. Documentation of corrective action that the laboratory 

has already completed at the time the corrective action 

plan is submitted. 

4. If the corrective action plan, or a portion of the plan, is 

determined to be unacceptable to remedy the deficiency, 

DCLS shall provide written notification to the responsible 

official and technical manager of the laboratory, including a 

detailed explanation of the basis for such determination. 

Following receipt of such notification, the laboratory shall 

have an additional 30 calendar days to submit a revised 

corrective action plan acceptable to DCLS. 

5. DCLS may withdraw accreditation from a laboratory under 

1VAC30-46-100 B 5 if DCLS finds the second revised 

corrective action plan to be unacceptable. 

6. The laboratory shall submit documentation to DCLS that 

the corrective action set out in its plan has been completed 

within the time period specified in the plan. 

7. DCLS, under 1VAC30-46-100 B 6, may withdraw 

accreditation from a laboratory if the laboratory fails to 
implement the corrective actions set out in its corrective 

action plan. 

8. DCLS shall grant final accreditation as specified in 

1VAC30-46-70 K upon successful completion of any required 

corrective action following the on-site assessment. 

FORMS (1VAC30-46) 

Application for Certification of Environmental Laboratories, 

DGS-21-156 (eff. 1/09). 

Application for Accreditation under 1VAC30-46 - must be 

obtained from program staff at Lab_Cert@dgs.virginia.gov  

[ Laboratory Management Qualifications, DGS-21-179 (eff. 

2/09) 

Applicant Laboratory Certification of Compliance, DGS-21-

180 (eff. 8/12) 

VELAP Request for Change of Scope - Request 

Authorization, DGS-21-185 (eff. 7/13) 

Corrective Action (CA) Form, DGS-35-192 (rev. 4/13) 

On-site Assessment Corrective Action Plan (CAP) Form, 

DGS-35-196 (eff. 5/13) 

Sample - On-site Assessment Corrective Action Plan (CAP) 

Form, DGS-35-196 (eff. 5/13) 

Fee Payment Form for Virginia Laboratory Certification 

Programs, DGS-35-232 (rev. 1/11) 

mailto:Lab_Cert@dgs.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9b3f2003067~1&typ=40&actno=003067&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9b3f2003067~1&typ=40&actno=003067&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=62507003067~2&typ=40&actno=003067&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=62507003067~2&typ=40&actno=003067&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=889fc003067~3&typ=40&actno=003067&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=889fc003067~3&typ=40&actno=003067&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d0d24003067~4&typ=40&actno=003067&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=747e5003067~5&typ=40&actno=003067&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=747e5003067~5&typ=40&actno=003067&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=67a37003067~6&typ=40&actno=003067&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=67a37003067~6&typ=40&actno=003067&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f193a003067~7&typ=40&actno=003067&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f193a003067~7&typ=40&actno=003067&mime=application/pdf
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Documentation Requested by VELAP Prior to Laboratory 

On-site Assessment, DGS-35-233 (rev. 3/13) 

Demonstration of Capability Certification Statement, DGS-

35-234 (eff. 4/10) ] 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(1VAC30-46) 

2003 National Environmental Laboratory Accreditation 

Conference (NELAC) Standards, EPA/600/R-04/003, 

Approved at Ninth NELAC Annual Meeting, June 5, 2003.  

The Standards for Environmental Laboratories and 

Accreditation Bodies, 2009, The NELAC Institute (TNI), 

P.O. Box 2439, Weatherford, TX 76086; www.nelac-

institute.org:  

Volume 1: Management and Technical Requirements for 

Laboratories Performing Environmental Analysis (EL-V1-

2009) 

Volume 2: General Requirements for Accreditation Bodies 

Accrediting Environmental Laboratories (EL-V2-2009) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3067; Filed August 12, 2015, 1:19 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-280. Pertaining to Speckled 

Trout and Red Drum (amending 4VAC20-280-60).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 1, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-

2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 

jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment removes the Class 1 misdemeanor penalty 

for any person fishing recreationally with any gear type in 

possession of more than three red drum to conform to 

Chapter 108 of the 2014 Acts of Assembly, which repealed 

§ 28.2-304 of the Code of Virginia. 

4VAC20-280-60. Penalty.  

A. Pursuant to § 28.2-304 of the Code of Virginia, any 

person violating any provision of 4VAC20-280-40 C of this 

chapter shall be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor.  

B. Pursuant to § 28.2-903 of the Code of Virginia, any 

person violating any provision of this chapter other than 

4VAC20-280-40 C shall be guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor, 

and a second or subsequent violation of any provision of this 

chapter, other than 4VAC20-280-40 C, committed by the 

same person within 12 months of a prior violation is a Class 1 

misdemeanor.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4484; Filed August 27, 2015, 9:47 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-720. Pertaining to 

Restrictions on Oyster Harvest (amending 4VAC20-720-

15, 4VAC20-720-20, 4VAC20-720-40, 4VAC20-720-60 

through 4VAC20-720-80).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 1, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-

2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 

jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) include effort controls on sale and 

resale of specific oyster licenses, with exceptions, and 

restriction on agents for public oyster gear licensees; (ii) 

change coordinates and correct a direction in oyster 

harvest area descriptions; (iii) update open oyster harvest 

seasons and areas; (iv) set Friday as an additional 

unlawful day to take, catch, or possess oysters from public 

grounds; (v) provide a vessel limit of 24 bushels only to the 

oyster areas designated as hand scrape gear areas listed in 

4VAC20-720-40 B 8 through B 14 and a no-vessel limit for 

harvesters in hand tong gear areas listed in 4VAC20-720-

40 B 2 through B 7 and B 15; and (vi) establish a 12-

bushel vessel limit in the hand tong gear area listed in 

4VAC20-720-40 B 1. 

4VAC20-720-15. Control date, effort control, and agents. 

A. The commission hereby establishes July 1, 2014, as the 

control date for management of all public oyster fisheries in 

Virginia. Participation by any individual in any public oyster 

fishery after the control date will not be considered in the 

calculation or distribution of oyster fishing rights should entry 

limitations be established. Any individual entering the public 

oyster fishery after the control date will forfeit any right to 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=04f34003067~8&typ=40&actno=003067&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=04f34003067~8&typ=40&actno=003067&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9a4a9003067~9&typ=40&actno=003067&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9a4a9003067~9&typ=40&actno=003067&mime=application/pdf
http://www.nelac-institute.org/
http://www.nelac-institute.org/
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cb011003067~11&typ=40&actno=003067&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cb011003067~11&typ=40&actno=003067&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cb011003067~11&typ=40&actno=003067&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=827c0003067~12&typ=40&actno=003067&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=827c0003067~12&typ=40&actno=003067&mime=application/pdf
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future participation in the public oyster fishery should further 

entry limitations be established by the commission. 

B. The sale of oyster hand scrape and oyster dredge licenses 

to individuals who have not previously held these licenses 

shall be suspended until the commission reinstates the sale of 

those licenses. The sale of oyster patent tong licenses to 

individuals who had not purchased that license during the 

period from July 1, 2013, through August 25, 2015, shall be 

suspended until the commission reinstates the sale of those 

licenses. 

C. For any lawful open public oyster harvest season, 

commercial licenses for oyster hand scrape and oyster dredge 

shall only be sold to those registered commercial fishermen 

who have been determined by the commission to be eligible 

to purchase either of these licenses as of December 1, 2015, 

for license year 2016, except as described in subsection D of 

this section. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any registered commercial 

fisherman who paid an oyster resource user fee for using one 

or more gear types from July 1, 2013, through June 30, 2015, 

but during that same time period reported less than 20 days of 

harvest by oyster hand scrape or oyster dredge to purchase 

either of those gear licenses after November 30, 2015. 

E. Any registered commercial fisherman with an oyster 

harvest status, as described in subsection D of this section, 

may appeal his license ineligibility to the commission if that 

person can document that a medical hardship, active military 

duty, or a substantial error in his mandatory harvest reporting 

records prevented him from reporting at least 20 days of 

oyster harvest from using oyster dredge or oyster hand scrape 

gear. 

F. Beginning January 1, 2016, valid oyster hand scrape and 

oyster dredge for commercial licenses may be transferred to 

an immediate family member of the licensee. In cases of 

death or incapacitation of a licensee, these same licenses may 

be transferred to a registered commercial fisherman who paid 

a current oyster resource user fee for one or more gear types. 

A registered commercial fisherman who holds a current 

oyster resource user fee for one or more gear types and is a 

current oyster hand scrape or oyster dredge licensee may 

transfer that oyster hand scrape or oyster dredge license. All 

such transfers shall be documented by the commission and 

shall be subject to the approval of the commission. 

G. No person shall serve as an agent for any public oyster 

gear licensee. 

4VAC20-720-20. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Aid to navigation" means any public or private day beacon, 

lighted channel marker, channel buoy, lighted channel buoy, 

or lighthouse that may be at, or adjacent to, any latitude and 

longitude used in area descriptions. 

"Clean culled oyster" means any oyster taken from natural 

public beds, rocks, or shoals that is three inches or greater in 

shell length. 

"Coan River Area" means that area of the Coan River inside 

of Public Grounds 77 and 78 of Northumberland County. 

Public Ground 77 of Northumberland County is located 

near the mouth of the Coan River, beginning at a point 

approximately 2,300 feet northeast of Honest Point and 

1,300 feet southwest of Travis Point, said point being 

Corner 1, located at Latitude 37° 59.5257207' N., 

Longitude 76° 27.8810639' W.; thence southwesterly to 

Corner 2, Latitude 37° 59.3710259' N., Longitude 76° 

27.9962148' W.; thence southwesterly to Corner 3, 

Latitude 37° 59.2953830' N., Longitude 76° 28.0468953' 

W.; thence northwesterly to Corner 4, Latitude 37° 

59.3350863' N., Longitude 76° 28.0968837' W.; thence 

northeasterly to Corner 5, Latitude 37° 59.3965161' N., 

Longitude 76° 28.0287342' W.; thence northwesterly to 

Corner 6, Latitude 37° 59.4758507' N., Longitude 76° 

28.1112280' W.; thence north-northwesterly to Corner 7, 

Latitude 37° 59.5079401' N., Longitude 76° 28.1230058' 

W.; thence northeasterly to Corner 8, Latitude 37° 

59.5579153' N., Longitude 76° 27.9889429' W.; thence 

southeasterly to Corner 1, said corner being the point of 

beginning. 

Public Ground 78 of Northumberland County is located 

near the mouth of the Coan River, beginning at a point 

approximately 3,420 feet southeast of Travis Point and 

3,260 feet northwest of Great Point, said point being 

Corner 1, located at Latitude 37° 59.4822275' N., 

Longitude 76° 27.1878637' W.; thence southeasterly to 

Corner 2, Latitude 37° 59.3824046' N., Longitude 76° 

27.1088650' W.; thence southwesterly to Corner 3, 

Latitude 37° 59.2283287' N., Longitude 76° 27.8632901' 

W.; thence northeasterly to Corner 4, Latitude 37° 

59.4368502' N., Longitude 76° 27.6868001' W.; thence 

continuing northeasterly to Corner 5, Latitude 37° 

59.5949216' N., Longitude 76° 27.5399436' W.; thence 

southeasterly to Corner 1, said corner being the point of 

beginning. 

"Deep Rock Area" means all public grounds and unassigned 

grounds, in that area of the Chesapeake Bay near Gwynn 

Island, beginning at Cherry Point at the western-most point of 

the eastern headland of Kibble Pond located at Latitude 37° 

30.9802148' N., Longitude 76° 17.6764393' W.; thence 

northeasterly to the Piankatank River, Flashing Green 

Channel Light "3", Latitude 37° 32.3671325' N., Longitude 

76° 16.7038334' W.; thence east-southeasterly to the 

Rappahannock River Entrance Lighted Buoy G"1R", Latitude 

37° 32.2712833' N., Longitude 76° 11.4813666' W.; thence 

southwesterly to the southern-most point of Sandy Point, the 

northern headland of "The Hole in the Wall", Latitude 37° 

28.1475258' N., Longitude 76° 15.8185670' W.; thence 

northwesterly along the Chesapeake Bay mean low water line 
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of the barrier islands of Milford Haven, connecting headland 

to headland at their eastern-most points, and of Gwynn Island 

to the western-most point of the eastern headland of Kibble 

Pond on Cherry Point, said point being the point of 

beginning. 

"Deep Water Shoal State Replenishment Seed Area" or 

"DWS" means that area in the James River near Mulberry 

Island, beginning at a point approximately 530 feet west of 

Deep Water Shoal Light, said point being Corner 1, located at 

Latitude 37° 08.9433287' N., Longitude 76° 38.3213007' W.; 

thence southeasterly to Corner 2, Latitude 37° 09.5734380' 

N., Longitude 76° 37.8300582' W.; thence southwesterly to 

Corner 3, Latitude 37° 08.9265524' N., Longitude 76° 

37.0574269' W.; thence westerly to Corner 4, Latitude 37° 

08.4466039 N., Longitude 76° 37.4523346' W.; thence 

northwesterly to Corner 5, Latitude 37° 08.4491489' N., 

Longitude 76° 38.0215553' W.; thence northeasterly to 

Corner 1, said corner being the point of beginning. 

"Great Wicomico River Area" means all public grounds and 

unassigned grounds, in that area of the Great Wicomico 

River, Ingram Bay, and the Chesapeake Bay, beginning at a 

point on Sandy Point, Latitude 37° 49.3269652' N., 

Longitude 76° 18.3821766' W.; thence easterly to the 

southern-most point of Cockrell Point, Latitude 37° 

49.2664838' N., Longitude 76° 17.3454434' W.; thence 

easterly following the mean low water line of Cockrell Point 

to a point on the boundary of Public Ground 115 at Cash 

Point, Latitude 37° 49.2695619' N., Longitude 76° 

17.2804046' W.; thence southeasterly to the gazebo on the 

pierhead at Fleets Point, Latitude 37° 48.7855824' N., 

Longitude 76° 16.9609311' W.; thence southeasterly to the 

Great Wicomico Lighthouse; thence due south to a point due 

east of the southern-most point of Dameron Marsh, Latitude 

37° 46.6610003' N., Longitude 76° 16.0570007' W.; thence 

due east west to the southern-most point of Dameron Marsh, 

Latitude 37° 46.6609070' N., Longitude 76° 17.2670707' W.; 

thence along the mean low water line of Dameron Marsh, 

north and west to Garden Point, Latitude 37° 47.2519872' N., 

Longitude 76° 18.4028142' W.; thence northwesterly to 

Windmill Point, Latitude 37° 47.5194547' N., Longitude 76° 

18.7132194' W.; thence northerly along the mean low water 

to the western headland of Harveys Creek, Latitude 37° 

47.7923573' N., Longitude 76° 18.6881450' W.; thence east-

southeasterly to the eastern headland of Harveys Creek, 

Latitude 37° 47.7826936' N., Longitude 76° 18.5469879' W.; 

thence northerly along the mean low water line, crossing the 

entrance to Towels Creek at the offshore ends of the jetties 

and continuing to Bussel Point, Latitude 37° 48.6879208' N., 

Longitude 76° 18.4670860' W.; thence northwesterly to the 

northern headland of Cranes Creek, Latitude 37° 48.8329168' 

N., Longitude 76° 18.7308073' W.; thence following the 

mean low water line northerly to a point on Sandy Point, said 

point being the point of beginning. 

"Hand scrape" means any device or instrument with a 

catching bar having an inside measurement of no more than 

22 inches, which is used or usable for the purpose of 

extracting or removing shellfish from a water bottom or the 

bed of a body of water.  

"Hand tong" or "ordinary tong" means any pincers, nippers, 

tongs, or similar device used in catching oysters, which 

consist of two shafts or handles attached to opposable and 

complementary pincers, baskets, or containers operated 

entirely by hand, from the surface of the water and has no 

external or internal power source. 

"James River Area" means those public grounds of the 

James River and Nansemond River west of the Monitor 

Merrimac Memorial Bridge Tunnel (Route I-664), northeast 

of the Mills E. Godwin, Jr. Bridge (U.S. Route 17) on the 

Nansemond River, and south of the James River Bridge (U.S. 

Route 17).  

"James River Seed Area" means all public grounds and 

unassigned grounds in that area of the James River and its 

tributaries with a southeastern boundary beginning at a point 

on the shore on the south side of the river at Rainbow Farm 

Point in Isle of Wight County located at Latitude 37° 

00.1965862' N., Longitude 76° 34.0712010' W.; thence north-

northeasterly to a VMRC Marker "STH", Latitude 37° 

00.9815328 N., Longitude 76° 33.5955842' W.; thence to a 

VMRC Marker "SMT", at Latitude 37° 01.3228160' N., 

Longitude 76° 33.3887351' W.; thence to the Flashing Green 

Channel Light #5, at Latitude 37° 02.3449949' N., Longitude 

76° 32.7689936' W.; thence northeasterly to a VMRC Marker 

"NMT", Latitude 37° 02.7740540' N., Longitude 76° 

32.0960864' W.; thence to a VMRC Marker "NTH" located at 

Latitude 37° 03.2030055' N., Longitude 76° 31.4231211' W.; 

thence to a point on the north shore of the river at Blunt 

(Blount) Point, in the City of Newport News, located at 

Latitude 37° 03.3805862' N., Longitude 76° 31.1444562' W.; 

the northern boundary, being a straight line, beginning at a 

point on the shore on the east side of the river in the City of 

Newport News, at Latitude 37° 08.4458787' N., Longitude 

76° 37.2855533' W.; thence westerly to the southeast corner 

of the Deep Water Shoal State Replenishment Seed Area, 

Latitude 37° 08.4466039' N., Longitude 76° 37.4523346' W.; 

thence westerly to the southwest corner of the Deep Water 

Shoal State Replenishment Seed Area, Latitude 37° 

08.4490472' N., Longitude 76° 38.0215554' W.; thence 

westerly to a point on the shore on the west side of the river at 

the mouth of Lawnes Creek in Isle of Wight County, Latitude 

37° 08.4582990' N., Longitude 76° 40.2816023' W. 

"Latitude and longitude" means values that are based upon a 

geodetic reference system of the North American Datum of 

1983 (NAD83). When latitude and longitude are used in any 

area description, in conjunction with any physical landmark, 

to include aids to navigation, the latitude and longitude value 

is the legal point defining the boundary. 

"Little Wicomico River" means that area of the Little 

Wicomico River inside of Public Ground 43 of 

Northumberland County, located in the Little Wicomico 
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River near Bridge Creek, beginning at a point approximately 

150 feet north of Peachtree Point, said point being Corner 1, 

located at Latitude 37° 53.2910650' N., Longitude 76° 

16.7312926' W.; thence southwesterly to Corner 2, Latitude 

37° 53.2601877' N., Longitude 76° 16.8662408' W.; thence 

northwesterly to Corner 3, Latitude 37° 53.2678470' N., 

Longitude 76°16.8902408' W.; thence northeasterly to Corner 

4, Latitude 37° 53.3113148' N., Longitude 76° 16.8211543' 

W.; thence southeasterly to Corner 1, said corner being the 

point of beginning. 

"Milford Haven" means that area of Milford Haven inside of 

Public Ground 7 of Mathews County, beginning at a point 

approximately 1,380 feet east of Point Breeze, said point 

being Corner 1, located at Latitude 37° 28.3500000' N., 

Longitude 76° 16.5000000' W.; thence northeasterly to 

Corner 2, Latitude 37° 28.3700000' N., Longitude 76° 

16.4700000' W.; thence southeasterly to Corner 3, Latitude 

37° 28.3500000' N., Longitude 76° 16.4200000' W.; thence 

southwesterly to Corner 4, Latitude 37° 28.3200000' N., 

Longitude 76° 16.4500000' W.; thence northwesterly to 

Corner 1, said corner being the point of beginning. 

"Mobjack Bay Area" means those areas of Mobjack Bay 

consisting of Public Ground 25 of Gloucester County (Tow 

Stake) and that portion of Public Ground 2 of Mathews 

County known as Pultz Bar described as: 

Public Ground 25 of Gloucester County, known as Tow 

Stake, is located in Mobjack Bay, near the mouth of the 

Severn River, beginning at a point approximately 2,880 

feet east-northeast of Tow Stake Point, said point being 

Corner 1, located at Latitude 37° 20.3883888' N., 

Longitude 76° 23.5883836' W.; thence northeasterly to 

Corner 2, Latitude 37° 30.5910482' N., Longitude 76° 

23.2372184' W.; thence southeasterly to Corner 3, Latitude 

37° 20.3786971' N., Longitude 76° 22.7241180' W.; thence 

southwesterly to Corner 4, Latitude 37° 19.8616759' N., 

Longitude 76° 23.5914937' W.; thence northwesterly to 

Corner 5, Latitude 37° 20.0284019' N., Longitude 76° 

23.7717423' W.; thence northeasterly to Corner 1, said 

corner being the point of beginning. 

Public Ground 2 of Mathews County, known as Pultz Bar, 

is located in Mobjack Bay, beginning at a point 

approximately 5,420 feet south of Minter Point, said point 

being Corner 1, located at Latitude 37° 21.2500000' N., 

Longitude 76° 21.3700000' W.; thence easterly to Corner 

2, Latitude 37° 21.2700000' N., Longitude 76° 20.9600000' 

W.; thence southerly to Corner 3, Latitude 37° 21.0200000' 

N., Longitude 76° 20.9400000' W.; thence westerly to 

Corner 4, Latitude 37° 21.0500000' N., Longitude 76° 

21.3300000' W.; thence northerly to Corner 1, said corner 

being the point of beginning. 

"Nomini Creek Area" means that area of Nomini Creek 

inside of Public Grounds 26 and 28 of Westmoreland County. 

Public Ground 26 of Westmoreland County is located in 

Nomini Creek, north of Beales Wharf and east of Barnes 

Point, beginning at a point approximately 1,400 feet north 

of Barnes Point, said point being Corner 1, located at 

Latitude 38° 07.2690219' N., Longitude 76° 42.6784210' 

W.; thence southeasterly to Corner 2, Latitude 38° 

07.0924060' N., Longitude 76° 42.4745767' W.; thence 

southwesterly to Corner 3, Latitude 38° 06.8394053' N., 

Longitude 76° 42.6704025, W.; thence northwesterly to 

Corner 4, Latitude 38° 06.8743004' N., Longitude 76° 

42.7552151' W.; thence northeasterly to Corner 5, Latitude 

38° 07.0569717' N., Longitude 76° 42.5603535' W.; thence 

northwesterly to Corner 1, said corner being the point of 

beginning. 

Public Ground 28 of Westmoreland County is located at 

the mouth of Nomini Creek, beginning at a point 

approximately 50 feet west of White Oak Point, said point 

being Corner 1, located at Latitude 38° 07.6429987' N., 

Longitude 76° 43.0337082' W.; thence south-southeasterly 

to Corner 2, Latitude 38° 07.2987193' N., Longitude 76° 

43.1101420' W.; thence northwesterly to Corner 3, 

Latitude 38° 07.7029267' N., Longitude 76° 43.3337762' 

W.; thence west to the mean low water line, Latitude 38° 

07.7031535' N., Longitude 76° 43.3378345' W.; thence 

northerly and westerly along the mean low water line of 

Nomini Creek to a point southwest of Cedar Island, 

Latitude 38° 07.8986449' N., Longitude 76° 43.6329097' 

W.; thence northeasterly to a point on the mean low water 

line at the southern-most point of Cedar Island, Latitude 

38° 07.8986449' N., Longitude 76° 43.6329097' W.; thence 

following the mean low water line of the southern and 

eastern sides of Cedar Island to a point, Latitude 38° 

08.0164430' N., Longitude 76° 43.4773169' W.; thence 

northeasterly to Corner 4, Latitude 38° 08.0712849' N., 

Longitude 76° 43.4416606' W.; thence northeasterly to a 

point on the northern headland of Nomini Creek at the 

mean low water line, said point being Corner 5, Latitude 

38° 08.2729626' N., Longitude 76° 43.3105315' W.; thence 

following the mean low water line of White Point to a 

point northwest of Snake Island, Corner 6, Latitude 38° 

08.4066960' N., Longitude 76° 42.9105565' W.; thence 

southeast, crossing the mouth of Buckner Creek, to a point 

on the mean low water line of Snake Island, Corner 7, 

Latitude 38° 08.3698254' N., Longitude 76° 42.8939656' 

W.; thence southeasterly following the mean low water 

line of Snake Island to Corner 8, Latitude 38° 08.2333798' 

N., Longitude 76° 42.7778877' W.; thence south-

southwesterly, crossing the mouth of Buckner Creek, to 

Corner 9, Latitude 38° 08.2134371' N., Longitude 76° 

42.7886409' W.; thence southeasterly to a point on the 

mean low water line of the southern headland of Buckner 

Creek, Corner 10, Latitude 38° 08.1956281' N., Longitude 

76° 42.7679625' W.; thence southwesterly following the 

mean low water line of Nomini Creek, crossing the mouth 

of an un-named cove at the narrowest point between the 

headlands and continuing to follow the mean low water 

line to a point on White Oak Point, Latitude 38° 
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07.6428228' N., Longitude 76° 43.0233530' W.; thence 

west to Corner 1, said point being the point of beginning.  

"Oyster" means any shellfish of the species Crassostrea 

virginica. 

"Oyster dredge" means any device having a maximum 

weight of 150 pounds with attachments, maximum width of 

50 inches, and maximum tooth length of four inches.  

"Oyster patent tong" means any patent tong not exceeding 

100 pounds in gross weight, including any attachment other 

than rope and with the teeth not to exceed four inches in 

length. 

"Oyster resource user fee" means a fee that must be paid 

each calendar year by anyone who grows, harvests, shucks, 

packs, or ships oysters for commercial purposes. 

"Pocomoke Sound Area" means that area of Pocomoke 

Sound inside of Public Grounds 9 and 10 of Accomack 

County. 

Public Ground 9 of Accomack County is located in the 

Pocomoke Sound, beginning at a corner on the Maryland-

Virginia state line, located in the Pocomoke Sound 

approximately 1.06 nautical miles north-northeast of the 

northern-most point of North End Point, said point being 

Corner 1, located at Latitude 37° 57.2711566' N., 

Longitude 75° 42.2870790' W. (NAD83); thence east-

northeasterly along the Maryland-Virginia state line to 

Corner 2, Latitude 37° 57.2896577' N., Longitude 75° 

41.9790727' W.; thence southerly to Corner 3, Latitude 37° 

57.2574850' N., Longitude 75° 41.9790730' W.; thence 

southwesterly to Corner 4, Latitude 37° 57.2288700' N., 

Longitude 75° 42.0077287' W.; thence west-southwesterly 

to Corner 5, Latitude 37° 57.2034533' N., Longitude 75° 

42.1511250' W.; thence south-southwesterly to Corner 6, 

Latitude 37° 57.0940590' N., Longitude 75° 42.1935214' 

W.; thence south-southeasterly to Corner 7, Latitude 37° 

57.0551726' N., Longitude 75° 42.1814457' W.; thence 

southwesterly to Corner 8, Latitude 37° 56.9408327' N., 

Longitude 75° 42.2957912' W.; thence south-southwesterly 

to Corner 9, Latitude 37° 56.6574947' N., Longitude 75° 

42.3790819' W.; thence southwesterly to Corner 10, 

Latitude 37° 56.5790952' N., Longitude 75° 42.5228752' 

W.; thence west-southwesterly to Corner 11, Latitude 37° 

56.5712564' N., Longitude 75° 42.5915437' W.; thence 

south-southeasterly to Corner 12, Latitude 37° 56.5441067' 

N., Longitude 75° 42.5869894' W.; thence southwesterly to 

Corner 13, Latitude 37° 56.4575045' N., Longitude 75° 

42.7458050' W.; thence west-southwesterly to Corner 14, 

Latitude 37° 56.2575123' N., Longitude 75° 43.3791097' 

W.; thence southwesterly to Corner 15, Latitude 37° 

55.7408688' N., Longitude 75° 43.7957804' W.; thence 

westerly to Corner 16, Latitude 37° 55.7575327' N., 

Longitude 75° 43.9458298' W.; thence northwesterly to 

Corner 17, Latitude 37° 55.8908661' N., Longitude 75° 

44.1291309' W.; thence north-northeasterly to Corner 18, 

Latitude 37° 55.9908639' N., Longitude 75° 44.0791266' 

W.; thence northeasterly to Corner 19, Latitude 37° 

56.1241858' N., Longitude 75° 43.8791328' W.; thence 

north-northeasterly to Corner 20, Latitude 37° 56.4075136' 

N., Longitude 75° 43.7291361' W.; thence northeasterly to 

Corner 21, Latitude 37° 56.8241664' N., Longitude 75° 

43.2624601' W.; thence north-northeasterly to Corner 22, 

Latitude 37° 57.0706006' N., Longitude 75° 43.1480402' 

W.; thence east-northeasterly along the Maryland-Virginia 

state line to Corner 1, said corner being the point of 

beginning. 

Public Ground 10 of Accomack County is located in the 

Pocomoke Sound, beginning at a corner on the Maryland-

Virginia state line, located in the Pocomoke Sound 

approximately 2.3 nautical miles westerly of the northern-

most point of North End Point, said point being Corner 1, 

located at Latitude 37° 56.4741881' N., Longitude 75° 

45.7051676' W. (NAD83); thence east-northeasterly along 

the Maryland-Virginia state line to Corner 2, Latitude 37° 

56.9261140' N., Longitude 75° 43.7679786' W.; thence 

south-southwesterly to Corner 3, Latitude 37° 56.1241948' 

N., Longitude 75° 44.3624962' W.; thence west-

southwesterly to Corner 4, Latitude 37° 56.0820561' N., 

Longitude 75° 44.5826292' W.; thence northerly to Corner 

5, Latitude 37° 56.1377309' N., Longitude 75° 44.5817745' 

W.; thence west-southwesterly to Corner 6, Latitude 37° 

56.1259751' N., Longitude 75° 44.6226859' W.; thence 

southwesterly to Corner 7, Latitude 37° 56.1039335' N., 

Longitude 75° 44.6692334' W.; thence southerly to Corner 

8, Latitude 37° 56.0643616' N., Longitude 75° 44.6750106' 

W.; thence west-southwesterly to Corner 9, Latitude 37° 

55.9742005' N., Longitude 75° 45.1458109' W.; thence 

west-northwesterly to Corner 10, Latitude 37° 56.0741973' 

N., Longitude 75° 45.8958329' W.; thence north-

northwesterly to Corner 11, Latitude 37° 56.2565760' N., 

Longitude 75° 46.0000557' W.; thence northeasterly along 

the Maryland-Virginia state line to Corner 1, said corner 

being the point of beginning. 

"Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds Management Area" or 

"PTSMA" means the area as defined in § 28.2-524 of the 

Code of Virginia.  

"Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds Rotation Area 1" means all 

public grounds and unassigned grounds, within an area of the 

PTSMA, in Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds, bounded by a 

line beginning at a point on the Maryland-Virginia state line, 

located at Latitude 37° 54.6136000' N., Longitude 75° 

53.9739600' W.; thence south to the house on Great Fox 

Island, Latitude 37° 53.6946500' N., Longitude 75° 

53.8898800' W.; thence westerly to a point, Latitude 37° 

53.3633500' N., Longitude 75° 56.5589600' W.; thence south 

to a point, Latitude 37° 48.4429100' N., Longitude 75° 

56.4883600' W.; thence easterly to the north end of Watts 

Island, Latitude 37° 48.7757800' N., Longitude 75° 

53.5994100' W.; thence northerly to the house on Great Fox 

Island, Latitude 37° 53.6946500' N., Longitude 75° 

53.8898800' W.; thence southeasterly to Pocomoke Sound 
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Shoal Flashing Light Red "8", Latitude 37° 52.4583300' N., 

Longitude 75° 49.4000000' W.; thence southeasterly to 

Messongo Creek Entrance Buoy Green Can "1", Latitude 37° 

52.1000000' N., Longitude 75° 47.8083300' W.; thence 

southeast to Guilford Flats Junction Light Flashing 2+1 Red 

"GF", Latitude 37° 50.9533300' N., Longitude 75° 

46.6416700' W.; thence southerly to a point on a line from 

Guilford Flats Junction Light to the northern-most point of 

Russell Island, where said line intersects the PTSMA 

boundary, Latitude 37° 48.4715943' N., Longitude 75° 

46.9955932' W.; thence clockwise following the PTSMA 

boundary to a point on the Maryland-Virginia state line, said 

point being the point of beginning. 

"Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds Rotation Area 2" means all 

public grounds and unassigned grounds, within an area of the 

PTSMA, in Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds, bounded by a 

line beginning at the house on Great Fox Island, located at 

Latitude 37° 53.6946500' N., Longitude 75° 53.8898800' W.; 

thence southerly to the north end of Watts Island, Latitude 

37° 48.7757800' N., Longitude 75° 53.5994100' W.; thence 

westerly to a point, Latitude 37° 48.4429100' N., Longitude 

75° 56.4883600' W.; thence northerly to a point, Latitude 37° 

53.3633500' N., Longitude 75° 56.5589600' W.; thence 

easterly to the house on Great Fox Island, said house being 

the point of beginning. Also, Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds 

Rotation Area 2 shall include all public grounds and 

unassigned grounds in the PTSMA in Pocomoke Sound 

bounded by a line beginning at a point on the Maryland-

Virginia state line, Latitude 37° 54.6136000' N., Longitude 

75° 53.9739600' W.; thence following the PTSMA boundary 

clockwise to a point on the line from the northern-most point 

of Russell Island to Guilford Flats Junction Light Flashing 

2+1 Red "GF", where said line intersects the PTSMA 

boundary, Latitude 37° 48.4715943' N., Longitude 75° 

46.9955932' W.; thence northerly to Guilford Flats Junction 

Light Flashing 2+1 Red "GF", Latitude 37° 50.9533300' N., 

Longitude 75° 46.6416700' W.; thence northwesterly to 

Messongo Creek Entrance Buoy Green Can "1", Latitude 37° 

52.1000000' N., Longitude 75° 47.8083300' W.; thence 

northwesterly to Pocomoke Sound Shoal Flashing Light Red 

"8", Latitude 37° 52.4583300' N., Longitude 75° 49.4000000' 

W.; thence northwesterly to the house on Great Fox Island, 

Latitude 37° 53.6946500' N., Longitude 75° 53.8898800' W.; 

thence northerly to a point on the Maryland-Virginia state 

line, said point being the point of beginning. 

"Public oyster ground" means all those grounds defined in 

§ 28.2-551 of the Code of Virginia or by any other acts of the 

General Assembly pertaining to those grounds, all those 

grounds set aside by court order, and all those grounds set 

aside by order of the Marine Resources Commission, and 

may be redefined by any of these legal authorities.  

"Rappahannock River Area 7" means all public grounds, in 

that area of the Rappahannock River, bounded downstream 

by a line from Rogue Point, located at Latitude 37° 

40.0400000' N., Longitude 76° 32.2530000' W.; thence west-

northwesterly to Flashing Red Buoy "8", Latitude 37° 

40.1580000' N., Longitude 76° 32.9390000' W.; thence 

southwesterly to Balls Point, Latitude 37° 39.3550000' N., 

Longitude 76° 34.4440000' W.; and bounded upstream by a 

line from Punchbowl Point, Latitude 37° 44.6750000' N., 

Longitude 76° 37.3250000' W.; thence southeasterly to 

Monaskon Point, Latitude 37° 44.0630000' N., Longitude 76° 

34.1080000' W. 

"Rappahannock River Area 8" means all public grounds, in 

that area of the Rappahannock River, bounded downstream 

by a line from Monaskon Point, located at Latitude 37° 

44.0630000' N., Longitude 76° 34.1080000' W.; thence 

northwesterly to Punchbowl Point, Latitude 37° 44.6750000' 

N., Longitude 76° 37.3250000' W.; and bounded upstream by 

a line from Jones Point, Latitude 37° 46.7860000' N., 

Longitude 76° 40.8350000' W.; thence north-northwesterly to 

Sharps Point, Latitude 37° 49.3640000' N., Longitude 76° 

42.0870000' W. 

"Rappahannock River Area 9" means all public grounds, in 

that area of the Rappahannock River, bounded downstream 

by a line from Sharps Point, located at Latitude 37° 

49.3640000' N., Longitude 76° 42.0870000' W.; thence 

south-southeasterly to Jones Point, Latitude 37° 46.7860000' 

N., Longitude 76° 40.8350000' W.; and bounded upstream by 

the Thomas J. Downing Bridge (U.S. Route 360). 

"Rappahannock River Rotation Area 1” means all public 

grounds, in that area of the Rappahannock River and 

Chesapeake Bay, bounded by a line offshore and across the 

mouth of the Rappahannock River from a point on the mean 

low water line of Windmill Point, located at Latitude 37° 

36.8200000' N., Longitude 76° 16.9460000' W.; thence 

southeast to Windmill Point Light, Latitude 37° 35.7930000' 

N., Longitude 76° 14.1800000' W.; thence southwesterly to 

Stingray Point Light, Latitude 37° 33.6730000' N., Longitude 

76° 16.3620000' W.; thence westerly to a point on the mean 

low water line of Stingray Point, Latitude 37° 33.6920000' 

N., Longitude 76° 17.9860000' W.; and bounded upstream by 

a line from the mean low water line west of Broad Creek, 

Latitude 37° 33.9520000' N., Longitude 76° 19.3090000' W.; 

thence northeasterly to a VMRC Buoy on the Baylor line, 

Latitude 37° 34.5390000' 34.5310000' N., Longitude 76° 

19.0220000' 19.1430000' W.; thence northeasterly to a 

VMRC Buoy, Latitude 37° 34.6830000' N., Longitude 76° 

19.1000000' W.; thence northwesterly to a VMRC Buoy, 

Latitude 37° 35.0170000' N., Longitude 76° 19.4500000' W.; 

thence northwesterly to Sturgeon Bar Light “7R”, Latitude 

37° 35.1500000' N., Longitude 76° 19.7330000' W.; thence 

continuing northwesterly to Mosquito Point Light “8R”, 

Latitude 37° 36.1000000' N., Longitude 76° 21.3000000' W.; 

thence northwesterly to the southern-most corner of the house 

on Mosquito Point, Latitude 37° 36.5230000' N., Longitude 

76° 21.5950000' W. 

"Rappahannock River Rotation Area 2" means all public 

grounds, in that area of the Rappahannock River, bounded 
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downstream by a line from the southern-most corner of the 

house on Mosquito Point, located at Latitude 37° 36.5230000' 

N., Longitude 76° 21.5950000' W.; thence southeast to 

Mosquito Point Light "8R", Latitude 37° 36.1000000' N., 

Longitude 76° 21.3000000' W.; thence continuing 

southeasterly to Sturgeon Bar Beacon "7R", Latitude 37° 

35.1500000' N., Longitude 76° 19.7330000' W.; thence west-

southwesterly to a VMRC Buoy, Latitude 37° 34.9330000' 

N., Longitude 76° 21.0500000' W.; thence southwesterly to a 

VMRC Buoy, Latitude 37° 34.8830000' N., Longitude 76° 

21.1000000' W.; thence southwesterly to a pier west of 

Hunting Creek at Grinels, Latitude 37° 34.4360000' N., 

Longitude 76° 26.2880000' W.; and bounded on the upstream 

by a line from Mill Creek Channel Marker "4", Latitude 37° 

35.0830000' N., Longitude 76° 26.9500000' W.; thence 

northeasterly to Mill Creek Channel Marker "2", Latitude 37° 

35.4830000' N., Longitude 76° 24.5670000' W.; thence 

northeasterly to the southern-most corner of the house on 

Mosquito Point, Latitude 37° 36.5230000' N., Longitude 76° 

21.5950000'0 W. 

"Rappahannock River Rotation Area 3" means all public 

grounds, in that area of the Rappahannock River, beginning 

from the north channel fender at the Robert O. Norris, Jr. 

Bridge, located at Latitude 37° 37.4830000' N., Longitude 

76° 25.3450000' W.; thence southeast to the southern-most 

corner of the house on Mosquito Point, Latitude 37° 

36.5230000' N., Longitude 76° 21.5950000' W.; thence 

southwest to Mill Creek Channel Marker "2", Latitude 37° 

35.4830000' N., Longitude 76° 24.5670000' W.; thence 

southwesterly to Mill Creek Channel Marker "4", Latitude 

37° 35.0830000' N., Longitude 76° 24.9500000' W.; thence 

northeasterly to Parrotts Creek Channel Marker "1", Latitude 

37° 36.0330000' N., Longitude 76° 25.4170000' W.; thence 

northerly to VMRC Buoy, Latitude 37° 36.3330000' N., 

Longitude 76° 25.2000000' W.; thence northerly to the north 

channel fender of the Robert O. Norris, Jr. Bridge, said point 

being the point of beginning. 

"Rappahannock River Rotation Area 4" means all public 

grounds, in that area of the Rappahannock River, Corrotoman 

River and Carter Creek, beginning at the White Stone end of 

the Robert O. Norris, Jr. Bridge (State Route 3), located at 

Latitude 37° 38.1290000' N., Longitude 76° 24.7220000' W.; 

thence along said bridge to the north channel fender, Latitude 

37° 37.4830000' N., Longitude 76° 25.3450000' W.; thence 

westerly to the VMRC Buoy "5-4", Latitude 37° 38.0050000' 

N., Longitude 76° 30.0280000' W.; thence northerly to Old 

House Point, Latitude 37° 39.1390000' N., Longitude 76° 

29.6850000' W.; thence northeasterly to Ball Point, Latitude 

37° 41.6600000' N., Longitude 76° 28.6320000' W.; thence 

southeasterly to VMRC reef marker "Ferry Bar – North", 

Latitude 37° 40.3000000' N., Longitude 76° 28.5000000' W.; 

thence southwesterly to VMRC reef marker "Ferry Bar – 

South", Latitude 37° 40.1670000' N., Longitude 76° 

28.5830000' W.; thence southeasterly to a duck blind west of 

Corrotoman Point, Latitude 37° 39.8760000' N., Longitude 

76° 28.4200000' W.; thence southerly to VMRC Buoy "543", 

Latitude 37° 39.2670000' N., Longitude 76° 27.8500000' W.; 

thence southerly to VMRC Buoy "Drumming-West", Latitude 

37° 38.8830000' N., Longitude 76° 27.6830000' W.; thence 

southerly to VMRC Buoy "Drumming-East", Latitude 37° 

38.8330000' N., Longitude 76° 27.5670000' W.; thence 

northeasterly to Orchard Point, Latitude 37° 38.9240000' N., 

Longitude 76° 27.1260000' W. 

"Rappahannock River Rotation Area 5" means all public 

grounds, in that area of the Rappahannock River, beginning at 

the Greys Point end of the Robert O. Norris, Jr. Bridge (State 

Route 3), located at Latitude 37° 36.8330000' N., Longitude 

76° 25.9990000' W.; thence northeasterly along the bridge to 

the north channel fender, Latitude 37° 37.4830000' N., 

Longitude 76° 25.3450000' W.; thence west-northwesterly to 

VMRC Buoy "5-4", Latitude 37° 38.0050000' N., Longitude 

76° 30.0280000' W.; thence westerly to Buoy "R6", Latitude 

37° 38.0330000' N., Longitude 76° 30.2830000' W.; thence 

south to the eastern headland of Whiting Creek, Latitude 37° 

36.6580000' N., Longitude 76° 30.3120000' W. 

"Rappahannock River Rotation Area 6" means all public 

grounds, in that area of the Rappahannock River, beginning 

on the eastern headland of Whiting Creek, located at Latitude 

37° 36.6580000' N., Longitude 76° 30.3120000' W.; thence 

north to Buoy "R6", Latitude 37° 38.0330000' N., Longitude 

76° 30.2830000' W.; thence northwesterly to VMRC White 

House Sanctuary Buoy, Latitude 37° 38.1500000' N., 

Longitude 76° 30.5330000' W.; thence northwesterly to 

VMRC Towles Point Area Buoy, Latitude 37° 38.8330000' 

N., Longitude 76° 31.5360000' W.; thence northwesterly to 

Flashing Red Buoy "8" off Rogue Point, Latitude 37° 

40.1580000' N., Longitude 76° 32.9390000' W.; thence 

southwesterly to Balls Point, Latitude 37° 39.3550000' N., 

Longitude 76° 34.4440000' W. 

"Seed oyster" means any oyster taken by any person from 

natural beds, rocks, or shoals that is more than 30 days from 

harvest for human consumption. 

"Thomas Rock Area" means all public grounds and 

unassigned grounds, in that area of the James River, with an 

eastern boundary being the upstream side of the James River 

Bridge (U.S. Route 17), and a western boundary being a line 

drawn from the south side of the river at Rainbow Farm 

Point, a point on the shore, in line with VMRC Markers 

"STH" and "SMT", located at Latitude 37° 00.1965862' N., 

Longitude 76° 34.0712010' W.; thence north-northeasterly to 

a VMRC Marker "STH", Latitude 37° 00.9815328 N., 

Longitude 76° 33.5955842' W.; thence to a VMRC Marker 

"SMT", at Latitude 37° 01.3228160' N., Longitude 76° 

33.3887351' W.; thence to the Flashing Green Channel Light 

#5, at Latitude 37° 02.3449949' N., Longitude 76° 

32.7689936' W.; thence northeasterly to a VMRC Marker 

"NMT", Latitude 37° 02.7740540' N., Longitude 76° 

32.0960864' W.; thence to a VMRC Marker "NTH" located at 

Latitude 37° 03.2030055' N., Longitude 76° 31.4231211' W.; 
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thence to a point on the north shore of the river at Blunt 

(Blount) Point, said point being in line with VMRC Markers 

"NMT" and "NTH" and located at Latitude 37° 03.3805862' 

N., Longitude 76° 31.1444562' W. 

"Unassigned ground" means all those grounds defined by 

any other acts of the General Assembly pertaining to those 

grounds, all those grounds set aside by court order, and all 

those grounds set aside by order of the Marine Resources 

Commission, and may be redefined by any of these legal 

authorities.  

"Upper Chesapeake Bay - Blackberry Hangs Area" means 

all public grounds and unassigned grounds, in that area of the 

Chesapeake Bay, bounded by a line, beginning at a point 

approximately 300 feet east of the mean low water line of the 

Chesapeake Bay and approximately 1,230 feet southwest of 

the end of the southern-most stone jetty at the mouth of the 

Little Wicomico River, said point being Corner 1, Latitude 

37° 53.1811193' N., Longitude 76° 14.1740146' W.; thence 

east-southeasterly to Corner 2, Latitude 37° 52.9050025' N., 

Longitude 76° 11.9357257' W.; thence easterly to Corner 3, 

Latitude 37° 52.9076552' N., Longitude 76° 11.6098145' W.; 

thence southwesterly to Corner 4, Latitude 37° 52.8684955' 

N., Longitude 76° 11.6402444' W.; thence east-southeasterly 

to Corner 5, Latitude 37° 52.7924853' N., Longitude 76° 

11.0253352' W.; thence southwesterly to Corner 6, Latitude 

37° 49.4327736' N., Longitude 76° 13.2409959' W.; thence 

northwesterly to Corner 7, Latitude 37° 50.0560555' N., 

Longitude 76° 15.0023234' W.; thence north-northeasterly to 

Corner 8, Latitude 37° 50.5581183' N., Longitude 76° 

14.8772805' W.; thence north-northeasterly to Corner 9, 

Latitude 37° 52.0260950' N., Longitude 76° 14.5768550' W.; 

thence northeasterly to Corner 1, said corner being the point 

of beginning. 

"Yeocomico River Area" means that area of the North West 

Yeocomico River, inside Public Ground 8 of Westmoreland 

County and those areas of the South Yeocomico River inside 

Public Grounds 102, 104, and 107 of Northumberland 

County. 

Public Ground 8 of Westmoreland County is located in the 

North West Yeocomico River, beginning at a point 

approximately 1,455 feet northeast of Crow Bar and 1,850 

feet northwest of White Point, said point being Corner 1, 

located at Latitude 38° 02.7468214' N., Longitude 76° 

33.0775726' W.; thence southeasterly to Corner 2, Latitude 

38° 02.7397202' N., Longitude 76° 33.0186286' W.; thence 

southerly to Corner 3, Latitude 38° 02.6021644' N., 

Longitude 76° 33.0234175' W.; thence westerly to Corner 

4, Latitude 38° 02.6006669' N., Longitude 76° 33.0824799' 

W.; thence northerly to Corner 1, said corner being the 

point of beginning. 

Public Ground 102 of Northumberland County is located 

in the South Yeocomico River, beginning at a point 

approximately 630 feet south of Mundy Point and 1,745 

feet southwest of Tom Jones Point, said point being Corner 

1, located at Latitude 38° 01.2138059' N., Longitude 76° 

32.5577201' W.; thence east-northeasterly to Corner 2, 

Latitude 38° 01.2268644' N., Longitude 76° 32.4497849' 

W.; thence southwesterly to Corner 3, Latitude 38° 

01.1091209' N., Longitude 76° 32.5591101' W.; thence 

northerly to Corner 1, said corner being the point of 

beginning. 

Public Ground 104 of Northumberland County is located 

in the South Yeocomico River, beginning at a point 

approximately 670 feet north of Walker Point and 1,900 

feet northwest of Palmer Point, said point being Corner 1, 

located at Latitude 38° 00.8841841' N., Longitude 76° 

32.6106215' W.; thence southeasterly to Corner 2, Latitude 

38° 00.8609163' N., Longitude 76° 32.5296302' W.; thence 

southeasterly to Corner 3, Latitude 38° 00.6693092' N., 

Longitude 76° 32.4161866' W.; thence southwesterly to 

Corner 4, Latitude 38° 00.6418466' N., Longitude 76° 

32.5394849' W.; thence northwesterly to Corner 1, said 

corner being the point of beginning. 

Public Ground 107 of Northumberland County is located 

in the South Yeocomico River, beginning at a point 

approximately 1,000 feet southwest of Barn Point and 

1,300 feet northwest of Tom Jones Point, said point being 

Corner 1, located at Longitude 38° 01.1389367' N., 

Latitude 76° 32.3425617' W.; thence east-southeasterly to 

Corner 2, Latitude 38° 01.4106421' N., Longitude 76° 

32.1077962' W.; thence southwesterly to Corner 3, 

Latitude 38° 01.2717197' N., Longitude 76° 32.2917989' 

W.; thence north-northwesterly to Corner 1, said corner 

being the point of beginning. 

"York River Rotation Area 1" means all public grounds in 

the York River, within Gloucester County, between a line 

from Upper York River Flashing Red Channel Marker "8", 

Latitude 37° 17.8863666' N., Longitude 76° 34.6534166' W.; 

thence northeasterly to Red Day Marker "2" at the mouth of 

Cedar Bush Creek, Latitude 37° 18.6422166' N., Longitude 

76° 33.8216000' W.; upstream to a line from the Flashing 

Yellow VIMS Data Buoy "CB", Latitude 37° 20.4670000' N., 

Longitude 76° 37.4830000' W.; thence northeasterly to the 

inshore end of the wharf at Clay Bank.  

"York River Rotation Area 2" means all public grounds in 

the York River, within Gloucester County, from the George 

P. Coleman Memorial Bridge (U.S. Route 17), upstream to a 

line from Upper York River Flashing Red Channel Marker 

"8", Latitude 37° 17.8863666' N., Longitude 76° 34.6534166' 

W.; thence northeasterly to Red Day Marker "2" at the mouth 

of Cedar Bush Creek, Latitude 37° 18.6422166' N., Longitude 

76° 33.8216000' W. 

4VAC20-720-40. Open oyster harvest season and areas.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest oysters 

from public and unassigned grounds outside of the seasons 

and areas set forth in this section. 

B. It shall be unlawful to harvest clean cull oysters from the 

public oyster grounds and unassigned grounds except during 
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the lawful seasons and from the lawful areas as described in 

the following subdivisions of this subsection. 

1. James River Seed Area, including the Deep Water Shoal 

State Replenishment Seed Area: October 1, 2014 2015, 

through April 30, 2015 2016. 

2. James River Area and the Thomas Rock Area (James 

River): November 1, 2014, through January 31, 2015 

Milford Haven: December 1, 2015, through February 29, 

2016. 

3. York River Rotation Area 1: January 1, 2015, through 

February 28, 2015 Rappahannock River Area 9: November 

1, 2015, through December 31, 2015. 

4. Milford Haven: December 1, 2014, through February 28, 

2015 Little Wicomico River: October 1, 2015, through 

December 31, 2015. 

5. Deep Rock Area: December 1, 2014, through February 

28, 2015 Coan River: October 1, 2015, through December 

31, 2015. 

6. Rappahannock River Rotation Area 1: October 1, 2014, 

through November 30, 2014 Yeocomico River: October 1, 

2015, through December 31, 2015. 

7. Rappahannock River Rotation Area 6: November 1, 

2014, through December 31, 2014 Nomini Creek: October 

1, 2015, through December 31, 2015. 

8. Rappahannock River Area 7: December 1, 2014, 

through January 31, 2015 Mobjack Bay Area: January 1, 

2016, through January 31, 2016. 

9. Rappahannock River Area 8: January 1, 2015, through 

February 28, 2015 Rotation Area 5: October 1, 2015, 

through November 30, 2015. 

10. Rappahannock River Area 9: November 1, 2014, 

through December 31, 2014 Rotation Area 3: November 1, 

2015, through December 31, 2015. 

11. Great Wicomico River Area: December 1, 2014 2015, 

through January 31, 2015 2016. 

12. Upper Chesapeake Bay - Blackberry Hangs Area: 

December 1, 2014 2015, through January 31, 2015 2016. 

13. Little Wicomico River: October 1, 2014, through 

December 31, 2014 James River Area and the Thomas 

Rock Area (James River): November 1 2015, through 

December 31, 2015, and March 1, 2016, through March 

31, 2016. 

14. Coan River: October 1, 2014, through December 31, 

2014 Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds Rotation Area 1: 

December 1, 2015, through February 29, 2016. 

15. Yeocomico River: October 1, 2014, through December 

31, 2014 Deep Rock Area: December 1, 2015, through 

February 29, 2016. 

16. Nomini Creek: October 1, 2014, through December 31, 

2014 Seaside of the Eastern Shore (for clean cull oysters 

only): November 1, 2015, through March 31, 2016. 

17. Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds Rotation Area 2: 

December 1, 2014, through February 28, 2015. 

18. Seaside of the Eastern Shore (for clean cull oysters 

only): November 1, 2014, through March 31, 2015. 

C. It shall be unlawful to harvest seed oysters from the 

public oyster grounds or unassigned grounds, except during 

the lawful seasons. The harvest of seed oysters from the 

lawful areas is described in the following subdivisions of this 

subsection. 

1. James River Seed Area: October 1, 2014 2015, through 

May 31, 2015 2016. 

2. Deep Water Shoal State Replenishment Seed Area: 

October 1, 2014 2015, through May 31, 2015 2016. 

4VAC20-720-60. Day and time limit. 

A. It shall be unlawful to take, catch, or possess oysters on 

Saturday and Sunday from the public oyster grounds or 

unassigned grounds in the waters of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia, for commercial purposes, except that this provision 

shall not apply to any person harvesting no more than one 

bushel per day by hand or ordinary tong for household use 

only during the season when the public oyster grounds or 

unassigned grounds are legally open for harvest.  

B. From October 1, 2015, through December 31, 2015, it 

shall be unlawful to take, catch, or possess oysters on any 

Friday from the public oyster grounds or unassigned grounds 

described in 4VAC20-720-40 B 9 through B 14. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest or attempt 

to harvest oysters prior to sunrise or after 2 p.m. from the 

areas described in 4VAC20-720-40 B 1 through 17 B 15 and 

4VAC20-720-40 C. In addition, it shall be unlawful for any 

boat with an oyster dredge aboard to leave the dock until one 

hour before sunrise or return to the dock after sunset, and it 

shall be unlawful for any boat with a hand scrape aboard to 

leave the dock until one-half hour before sunrise or return to 

the dock after sunset. 

4VAC20-720-70. Gear restrictions.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest oysters in 

the James River Seed Area, including the Deep Water Shoal 

State Replenishment Seed Area;, the Rappahannock River 

Area 9;, Milford Haven, Little Wicomico River, Coan River, 

Nomini Creek and Yeocomico River, except by hand tong. It 

shall be unlawful for any person to have a hand scrape on 

board a boat that is harvesting or attempting to harvest oysters 

from public grounds by hand tong. 

B. It shall be unlawful to harvest oysters from the seaside of 

the Eastern Shore area by any gear, except by hand. 

C. It shall be unlawful to harvest oysters in the 

Rappahannock River Rotation Areas 1 and 6 Areas 3 and 5, 

the Rappahannock River Areas 7 and 8, James River Area, 

Thomas Rock Area, Upper Chesapeake Bay Blackberry 

Hangs Area, York River Rotation Area 1 Mobjack Bay Area, 

and Great Wicomico River Area, except by hand scrape.  
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D. It shall be unlawful for any person to have more than one 

hand scrape on board any boat that is harvesting oysters or 

attempting to harvest oysters from public grounds. It shall be 

unlawful for any person to have a hand tong on board a boat 

that is harvesting or attempting to harvest oysters from public 

grounds by hand scrape. 

E. It shall be unlawful to harvest oysters from the Pocomoke 

and Tangier Sounds Rotation Area 2 Area 1, except by an 

oyster dredge. 

F. It shall be unlawful to harvest oysters from the Deep 

Rock Area, except by an oyster patent tong.  

4VAC20-720-75. Gear license.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest shellfish, 

from the hand scrape areas in the Rappahannock River, James 

River, Upper Chesapeake Bay, York River Mobjack Bay 

Area, and Great Wicomico River, unless that person has first 

obtained a valid hand scrape license.  

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest shellfish 

with an oyster dredge from the public oyster grounds in the 

Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds Rotation Area 2 Area 1, 

unless that person has first obtained a valid oyster dredge 

license.  

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest shellfish 

with a patent tong from the public oyster grounds in the Deep 

Rock Area, unless that person has first obtained a valid oyster 

patent tong license. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest shellfish 

with a hand tong from the public oyster grounds, as described 

in 4VAC20-720-70 A, unless that person has first obtained a 

valid hand tong license. 

E. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest shellfish by 

hand from the public oyster grounds on the Seaside of the 

Eastern Shore, as described in 4VAC20-720-40 B 16, unless 

that person has first obtained a valid oyster by hand license. 

4VAC20-720-80. Quotas and harvest limits. 

A. The lawful daily harvest and possession limit of clean 

cull oysters harvested from the areas described in 4VAC20-

720-40 B 2 through 17 shall be eight bushels per registered 

commercial fisherman licensee who has paid the oyster 

resource user fee. It shall be unlawful for any registered 

commercial fisherman licensee to harvest or possess more 

than eight bushels per day. The lawful daily vessel limit of 

clean cull oysters harvested from the areas described in 

4VAC20-720-40 B 2 through 17 shall be determined as the 

number of registered commercial fisherman licensees who 

have paid the oyster resource user fee on board the vessel 

multiplied by eight bushels with a maximum daily landing 

and possession limit of 24 bushels of clean cull oysters per 

vessel. It shall be unlawful to possess on board any vessel or 

to land more than the lawful daily vessel limit of clean cull 

oysters described in this subsection. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person who does not possess 

a valid commercial fisherman's registration license and a 

valid gear license required by harvest area, as described in 

4VAC20-720-75, and has not paid the current year's oyster 

resource user fee to harvest or possess more than eight 

bushels per day. It shall be unlawful for any vessel to exceed 

a daily vessel limit of 24 bushels clean cull oysters harvested 

from the areas described in 4VAC20-720-40 B 8 through 14. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any person who does not possess 

a valid commercial fisherman's registration license and a 

valid gear license required by harvest area, as described in 

4VAC20-720-75, and has not paid the current year's oyster 

resource user fee to harvest or possess more than eight 

bushels per day. It shall be unlawful for any vessel to exceed 

a daily vessel limit for clean cull oysters harvested from the 

areas described in 4VAC20-720-40 B 2 through 7 and 15, 

whereby that vessel limit shall equal the number of registered 

commercial fisherman licensees on board the vessel who hold 

a valid gear license and who have paid the oyster resource 

user fee multiplied by eight. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any vessel to exceed a daily 

vessel limit for clean cull oysters harvested from the areas 

described in 4VAC20-720-40 B 1, whereby that vessel limit 

shall equal the number of registered commercial fisherman 

licensees on board the vessel who hold a valid gear license 

and who have paid the oyster resource user fee multiplied by 

12. It shall be unlawful for any person who does not possess a 

valid commercial fisherman's registration license and hold a 

valid gear license required by harvest area, as described in 

4VAC20-720-75, and has not paid the current year's oyster 

resource user fee to harvest or possess more than 12 bushels 

per day.  

B. D. In the Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds Rotation Area 2 

1, no blue crab bycatch is allowed. It shall be unlawful to 

possess on board any vessel more than 250 hard clams. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4483; Filed August 27, 2015, 9:46 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-1300. Living Shoreline 

Group 1 General Permit for Certain Living Shoreline 

Treatments Involving Tidal Wetlands (adding 4VAC20-

1300-10 through 4VAC20-1300-50).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-104.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 1, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-

2248, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 
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Summary: 

This regulation establishes a general permit that 

authorizes and encourages the use of living shorelines as 

the preferred alternative for stabilizing tidal shorelines. 

The regulation provides for the permitting processes for 

living shoreline treatments by establishing procedures and 

qualifications for the general permit and sets forth specific 

criteria and permit conditions. 

CHAPTER 1300 

LIVING SHORELINE GROUP 1 GENERAL PERMIT FOR 

CERTAIN LIVING SHORELINE TREATMENTS 

INVOLVING TIDAL WETLANDS 

4VAC20-1300-10. Purpose. 

The purpose of this general permit is to provide a 

streamlined permitting process as an incentive to encourage 

property owners to utilize a living shoreline approach as 

appropriate, manage shoreline erosion, and promote the 

planting and growth of tidal wetland vegetation to restore or 

enhance ecosystem services. The techniques and conditions 

contained in this general permit are designed to limit the 

applicability of the permit to situations where the projects are 

most likely to be successful, and so as to limit the potential 

for adverse impacts on the environment and adjoining or 

nearby properties.  

Approval under this general permit constitutes the 

commission or local wetlands board authorization required in 

accordance with § 28.2-1306 of the Code of Virginia. This 

general permit shall not conflict with or obviate the need to 

comply with any other federal, state, or local permitting 

requirement or authorization governing the proposed activity. 

4VAC20-1300-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Chairman" means the chairman of a local wetlands board or 

his designee. 

"Commission" or "VMRC" means the Virginia Marine 

Resources Commission. 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of Marine 

Resources or his designee. 

"Fiber log" means biodegradable fibrous material often 

composed of coconut fiber that is formed into rolls of various 

lengths and thicknesses used for erosion control and as a 

growing medium. 

"Fiber mat" means a biodegradable fibrous material woven 

mat often composed of coconut fiber that is formed into mats 

of various sizes and thicknesses used for erosion control and 

as a growing medium.  

"Grazing protection" means temporary structures consisting 

of wooden stakes, string lines, netting, and metal cages 

intended to protect planted wetland vegetation and introduced 

ribbed mussels from predation. 

"Joint Permit Application" means the current Joint Permit 

Application utilized by the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, 

Virginia Marine Resources Commission, Department of 

Environmental Quality, and local wetlands boards to evaluate 

projects involving submerged lands, wetlands, and coastal 

primary sand dunes and beaches for permit review, and any 

abbreviated application developed specifically for this general 

permit. 

"Living shoreline" means a shoreline management practice 

that provides erosion control and water quality benefits; 

protects, restores, or enhances shoreline habitat; and 

maintains coastal processes through the strategic placement of 

plants, stone, sand fill, and other structural and organic 

materials. 

"Ribbed mussels" means the Atlantic ribbed mussel 

(Geukensia demissa). 

"Shell bags" means net bags of various sizes filled with 

oyster or clam shells used for erosion control and as a 

substrate for other organisms.  

"Tidal wetlands" or "wetlands" means the jurisdictional area 

meeting the definition contained in § 28.2-1302 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

"Wetlands board" or "board" means a local wetlands board 

created pursuant to § 28.2-1303 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Wetlands vegetation" means the vegetative species listed in 

§ 28.2-1302 of the Code of Virginia. 

4VAC20-1300-30. Applicability and procedures. 

A. This general permit shall authorize the placement of 

certain specified sand fill, fiber logs, fiber mats, shell bags, 

and temporary grazing protection in tidal wetlands, landward 

of mean low water, to improve the growing conditions for 

wetland vegetation. The establishment of oysters and ribbed 

mussels may be incorporated into the project design. 

B. To qualify for this general permit the applicant must 

submit to VMRC a complete Joint Permit Application or 

special abbreviated application and any supplemental 

information deemed necessary by the commission or the 

applicable wetlands board chairman to fully evaluate the 

proposal. The commissioner will oversee administration of 

the provisions of the general permit. 

VMRC will forward the application to the Norfolk District 

of the Corps of Engineers, the appropriate local wetlands 

board, and the Department of Environmental Quality. 

C. The wetlands board and VMRC will review the 

application concurrently to determine whether: 

1. The application is sufficiently complete to allow 

evaluation. 

2. The project satisfactorily meets the general permit 

criteria. 

3. The general permit process should be utilized. 

If both the wetlands board chairman and the commission 

determine the proposal affirmatively satisfies all three 
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requirements specified in subdivisions 1, 2, and 3 of this 

subsection, the commissioner shall issue the general permit. 

No public interest review or notification of adjoining property 

owners shall be required and there shall be no application 

processing fee or permit fee. In the event that no comment or 

request for additional information is received from a wetlands 

board chairman or designee within 21 days of being provided 

the application, it shall be assumed the wetlands board has no 

objection to the issuance of the general permit, and the 

commissioner may issue the permit. 

Should either the wetlands board chairman or the 

commission determine that the proposal does not satisfy all 

three requirements specified in subdivisions 1, 2, and 3 of this 

subsection, the general permit process shall not be utilized; 

however, the application may be supplemented with 

additional information deemed necessary to qualify for the 

general permit, or the proposal could be reviewed in 

accordance with the standard provisions of the wetlands 

zoning ordinance contained in Chapter 13 (§ 28.2-1300 et 

seq.) of Title 28.2 of the Code of Virginia. Issuance of the 

general permit does not obviate the requirement for the 

permittee to comply with all other applicable local, state, and 

federal laws and regulations, including those laws and 

regulations administered by the U.S. Army Corps of 

Engineers, the Chesapeake Bay Preservation Act (§ 62.1-

44.15:67 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), erosion and 

sediment control ordinances, stormwater management 

programs, and the Virginia Water Protection Permit 

programs. 

4VAC20-1300-40. Specific criteria. 

A. The maximum fetch at the project site shall not exceed 

1/2 mile in any shore angle direction. Coarse sand should be 

utilized for any required fill. At a minimum the sand shall 

contain less than 10% very fine material (passing a #100 

sieve). The sand shall not be placed in a manner that raises 

the elevation of any existing wetland area above the elevation 

of jurisdictional tidal wetlands (1.5 times the mean tide range 

above mean low water). 

B. Appropriate wetland vegetation shall be planted in all 

wetland areas on which sand is placed where the resulting 

substrate elevation is appropriate to support the growth of 

wetlands vegetation. If deemed necessary to improve wetland 

habitat or resiliency, existing wetlands vegetation may be 

filled provided the project does not result in a net loss in 

aerial coverage of wetlands vegetation. Appropriate wetlands 

vegetation includes only those species listed in the tidal 

wetlands ordinance (§ 28.2-1302 of the Code of Virginia) that 

are anticipated to survive at the project site elevation and 

normal salinity regime. The common reed, Phragmites sp., 

shall not typically be considered appropriate wetlands 

vegetation for planting purposes.  

C. Fiber logs, fiber mats, and shell bags may be utilized 

within the jurisdictional tidal wetland area to create a sill or to 

otherwise support the growth of wetlands vegetation, 

provided they are not placed on existing vegetation and are 

not stacked to a height that exceeds mean high water. The 

bags, mats, and fiber logs shall be maintained and promptly 

removed should they become displaced or unexpectedly 

damaged. If available, appropriate biodegradable materials 

are encouraged. The replacement of failed fiber logs, mats, or 

shell bags in the same location shall be allowed without the 

need to receive additional authorization. Additional sand may 

be placed to replace any lost sand or to adjust for substrate 

settlement, provided the elevation of the originally proposed 

grade is not exceeded.  

D. Temporary grazing protection may be utilized to protect 

wetlands vegetation and ribbed mussels until they become 

established. The protective structures shall be removed once 

the vegetation or mussels are established. Such grazing 

protection is encouraged and should be considered in the 

project design. Any requested grazing protection shall be 

specified in the permit application. 

E. The permittee agrees to notify the commission upon 

completion of the project and to provide a brief monitoring 

report at the end of the first full growing season following 

planting and after the second year of establishment. The 

monitoring shall be undertaken between June and September 

of each year and shall include at a minimum the permit 

number, representative photos of the site, and a brief 

statement concerning the success of the project. Additional 

documentation is encouraged to allow improved evaluation of 

the techniques utilized. 

F. Any vegetated wetlands established under this general 

permit shall not be cut or harvested. Areas shall be replanted 

as necessary to ensure there is at least no net loss of wetland 

vegetation within the project area during the term of the 

permit. If necessary to promote the establishment of wetlands 

vegetation, additional sand may be placed to restore the 

originally proposed elevation grade. 

G. Any measures taken to eradicate invasive species at the 

project site associated with the living shoreline activity, 

including Phragmites sp., shall be noted in the permit 

application or conducted in accordance with a plan evaluated 

and approved by the appropriate wetlands board or locality. 

Such plans shall include measures to revegetate the area with 

appropriate native wetlands vegetation. 

H. All activities undertaken in accordance with the general 

permit are subject to the enforcement and penalty provisions 

contained in Article 4 (§ 28.2-1316 et seq.) of Chapter 13 of 

Title 28.2 of the Code of Virginia. Failure to comply with any 

criteria or condition of the general permit may constitute a 

violation of the permit. 

4VAC20-1300-50. Permit conditions. 

A. This permit grants no authority to the permittee to 

encroach on property rights, including riparian rights, of 

others. 
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B. The duly authorized agents of the commission and the 

applicable local government shall have the right to enter upon 

the premises at reasonable times for the purposes of 

inspecting the work authorized by the permit and to evaluate 

compliance with the terms and conditions of the permit. 

Although the general permit is issued by the commissioner, 

the applicable local wetlands board retains jurisdiction and 

may enforce violations and any nonconformance with the 

permit occurring within tidal wetlands. 

C. The permittee shall comply with all applicable federal, 

state, and local laws, ordinances, and rules and regulations 

concerning the project, specifically including those related to 

the Corps of Engineers, water quality standards, erosion and 

sedimentation control, the Chesapeake Bay Preservation Act, 

the Stormwater Management Act, and the Virginia Water 

Protection Permit Program. The granting of this permit shall 

not relieve the permittee of the responsibility of obtaining any 

and all other permits or authorization for this project. 

D. The permit shall not affect or interfere with the right 

vouchsafed to the people of Virginia concerning fowling and 

the catching of and taking of oysters and other shellfish in 

and from the waters not included within the terms of the 

permit. 

E. The permittee shall, to the greatest extent practicable, 

minimize adverse impacts of the project on adjacent properties 

and wetlands and upon the natural resources of the 

Commonwealth. 

F. The permit may be revoked at any time by the 

commission upon the failure of the permittee to comply with 

the terms and conditions hereof or at the will of the General 

Assembly of Virginia. 

G. All structures authorized by this permit that are not 

maintained in good repair or that are displaced to areas not 

authorized shall be completely removed within 30 days after 

notification by the commission or its designated 

representatives. 

H. The permittee agrees to indemnify and save harmless the 

Commonwealth of Virginia and any applicable locality from any 

liability arising from the establishment, operation, or 

maintenance of said project. 

I. This general permit shall be retained by the permittee for 

the life of the project as evidence of authorization. 

J. The project authorized by this general permit shall be 

completed within two years of the issuance of the permit. Upon 

proper request by the permittee, the permit may be extended to 

allow completion of the work. 

NOTICE: The following form used in administering the 

regulation was filed by the agency. The form is not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of the form to 

access it through a hyperlink. The form is also available from 

the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (4VAC20-1300) 

Tidewater Joint Permit Application (JPA) for Projects 

Involving Tidal Waters, Tidal Wetlands, and/or Dunes and 

Beaches in Virginia (rev. 3/2014) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4482; Filed August 10, 2015, 11:00 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Proposed Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 8VAC20-22. Licensure Regulations 

for School Personnel (repealing 8VAC20-22-10 through 

8VAC20-22-760). 

8VAC20-23. Licensure Regulations for School Personnel 

(adding 8VAC20-23-10 through 8VAC20-23-800).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 22.1-298.1 and 22.1-299 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

October 22, 2015 - 11 a.m. - 22nd Floor Conference 

Room; James Monroe Building, 101 North 14th Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219. The public hearing will begin 

immediately following adjournment of the Board of 

Education business meeting. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 6, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Patty S. Pitts, Assistant Superintendent for 

Teacher Education and Licensure, Department of Education, 

P.O. Box 2120, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-

2522, or email patty.pitts@doe.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The Board of Education has the statutory authority to 

prescribe licensure requirements. Section 22.1-298.1 of the 

Code of Virginia, states, in part, the following: "…The Board 

of Education shall prescribe, by regulation, the requirements 

for the licensure of teachers and other school personnel 

required to hold a license…." 

Article VIII, Section 4 of the Constitution of Virginia states 

that "The general supervision of the public school system 

shall be vested in a Board of Education…." 

Sections 22.1-16, 22.1-298.1, 22.1-299, and 22.1-305.2 

provide authority for the Board of Education to promulgate 

Licensure Regulations for School Personnel. 

Purpose: A comprehensive review and subsequent revisions 

of the Licensure Regulations for School Personnel will align 

the regulations with recent actions of the General Assembly, 

current best practices in education, and with current 

educational research. The regulations will be aligned to the 

revised Virginia Standards of Learning and the Guidelines for 

Uniform Performance Standards and Evaluation Criteria for 

Teachers. Revisions to the Licensure Regulations for School 

Personnel will assist in ensuring that Virginia maintains high 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=49140004482~1&typ=40&actno=004482&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=49140004482~1&typ=40&actno=004482&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=49140004482~1&typ=40&actno=004482&mime=application/pdf
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standards of professional competence for teachers and 

professional school personnel. In addition, these regulations 

establish policies and standards for the qualifications of 

instructional personnel, further ensuring educational quality 

for Virginia public school students is current and up to date. 

Ensuring high standards for professional competence and the 

qualifications of instructional personnel will provide for 

educational quality for public school students, which is 

necessary for the welfare of citizens. In revising these 

regulations, the Board of Education sets forth requirements 

for the revocation, cancellation, suspension, denial, and 

reinstatement of licenses. 

Substance: The Board of Education has the statutory authority 

to prescribe licensure requirements. Section 22.1-298.1 of the 

Code of Virginia, states, in part, the following: "The Board of 

Education shall prescribe, by regulation, the requirements for 

the licensure of teachers and other school personnel required 

to hold a license…." 

The Advisory Board on Teacher Education and Licensure 

received the proposed revisions to the Licensure Regulations 

for School Personnel on April 22, 2013. The advisory board 

unanimously recommended that the Board of Education 

accept the proposed revisions to the regulations in the 

proposed stage of the regulatory process under the 

Administrative Process Act. 

Sections proposed to have substantive changes include the 

following sections:  

• 8VAC20-22-10. Definitions. The amendments revise 

the definitions section of this chapter to align with 

proposed revisions throughout the Licensure Regulations 

for School Personnel. 

• 8VAC20-22-40. Conditions for licensure. The 

amendments include the requirement that individuals 

seeking initial licensure provide evidence of training or 

certification in emergency first aid, cardiopulmonary 

resuscitation, and the use of automated external 

defibrillators, as prescribed in Chapters 498 and 530 of 

the 2013 Acts of Assembly. Text was added to clarify the 

endorsement requirements for the teacher of record. 

• 8VAC20-22-50. Types of licenses; dating licenses. The 

amendments would revise this section to include the 

following:  

- Issue a Provisional License for two years (with the 

exception of the Provisional Career Switcher License). 

Individuals may apply for a third year on the Provisional 

License by submitting documentation indicating that all 

licensure assessments prescribed by the Virginia Board 

of Education have been taken. 

- Issue the International Educator License for a five-year, 

instead of a three-year, exchange program. 

- Discontinue the Local Eligibility License by action of 

the 2013 General Assembly.  

- Add the Online Teacher License as a five-year, 

renewable license valid only for teaching online courses. 

- Add the Teach for America License, established as a 

two-year provisional license by action of the 2013 

General Assembly. 

• 8VAC20-22-90. Alternate routes to licensure. The 

amendments increase the requirements from three 

semester hours to nine semester hours of specified 

coursework prior to issuance of a Provisional (Special 

Education) License to individuals without a five-year 

Virginia teaching license. 

• 8VAC20-22-110. Requirements for renewing a license. 

The amendments would revise this section to include the 

following:  

- Add the requirement, as prescribed by Chapter 726 of 

the 2013 Acts of Assembly, that any individual licensed 

and endorsed to teach middle school civics or economics 

or high school government or history who is seeking 

renewal of such license is required to demonstrate 

knowledge of Virginia history or state and local 

government by completing a module or professional 

development course specifically related to Virginia 

history or state and local government. 

- Add the requirement that individuals renewing a 

license, effective July 1, 2013, provide evidence of 

training or certification in emergency first aid, 

cardiopulmonary resuscitation, and the use of automated 

external defibrillators, as prescribed in  Chapters 498 and 

530 of the 2013 Acts of Assembly.  

- Change text to allow the division superintendent or the 

principal to approve renewal activities and exceptions. 

Remove the text "for one cycle of the renewal process" to 

allow an exception to the content course requirements for 

individuals without a graduate degree beyond one 

renewal cycle. 

• 8VAC20-22-130. Professional studies requirements. 

The amendments include changing professional study 

coursework titles and course content and adding an 

additional course requirement, "Assessment of and for 

Learning"; three semester hours. 

• 8VAC20-22-140 – 8VAC20-22-670 (endorsement 

areas) The amendments would revise the following 

endorsement areas:  

- Early childhood for three-year-olds and four-year-olds 

(add-on endorsement) - Allow individuals who hold the 

early childhood special education endorsement to add 

this endorsement.  

- Early/primary education preK-3 - Increase the 

coursework requirements in mathematics and science and 

provide an option for specified requirements and testing.  

- Elementary education preK-6 - Increase the coursework 

requirements in mathematics and science and provide an 

option for specified requirements and testing.  
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- Middle education 6-8 - Increase the coursework 

requirements in mathematics.  

- Career and technical education - industrial cooperative 

training (add-on endorsement). Discontinue the 

endorsement. 

- Engineering - Create a new endorsement.  

- Special education - general curriculum K-6 (add-on 

endorsement); Special education - general curriculum 

middle grades 6-8 (add-on endorsement); Special 

education - general curriculum secondary grades 6-12 

(add-on endorsement) Establish new add-on 

endorsements.  

- Administration and supervision preK-12 - Revise the 

alternate route to add an option of a combination of 

graduate-level coursework and a research-based program 

approved by the Department of Education and add 

"Principal of Distinction" to the name of the Level II 

endorsement, mathematics specialist for elementary 

education, and mathematics specialist for middle 

education. 

- Establish separate endorsements specific to the 

population of students being served. Currently the 

endorsement is combined, mathematics specialist for 

elementary and middle education.  

- Special education - speech language pathologist preK-

12 - Discontinue issuing an initial license with an 

endorsement in speech/language pathology. Individuals 

will seek a license from the Virginia Board of Examiners 

for Audiology and Speech Pathology. 

• 8VAC20-22-720 – 8VAC20-22-800 (Part VII-

Revocation, Cancellation, Suspension, Denial, and 

Reinstatement of Teaching Licenses) - Amendments 

proposed. 

Issues: The primary advantages of revising the Licensure 

Regulations for School Personnel are to align the regulations 

with recent actions of the General Assembly, with current 

best practices in education, and with current educational 

research. The regulations will be aligned to the revised 

Virginia Standards of Learning and the Guidelines for 

Uniform Performance Standards and Evaluation Criteria for 

Teachers. Revisions to the Licensure Regulations for School 

Personnel will assist in ensuring that Virginia maintains high 

standards of professional competence for teachers and 

professional school personnel. 

In addition, the regulations establish policies and standards 

for the qualifications of instructional personnel, further 

ensuring educational quality for Virginia public school 

students. In revising these regulations, the Board of Education 

sets forth requirements for the revocation, cancellation, 

suspension, denial, and reinstatement of licenses.  

The regulatory action poses no disadvantages to the public or 

the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Education proposes to repeal the current regulation 

(8 VAC 20-22) and replace it with a new regulation (8 VAC 

20-23). In doing so, the Board proposes numerous 

amendments to the rules including: 

• Requiring that individuals seeking initial licensure 

provide evidence of training or certification in 

emergency first aid, cardiopulmonary resuscitation, and 

the use of automated external defibrillators, as prescribed 

in Chapter 498 of the 2013 Acts of Assembly. 

• Adding the requirement that individuals renewing a 

license, effective July 1, 2013, provide evidence of 

training or certification in emergency first aid, 

cardiopulmonary resuscitation, and the use of automated 

external defibrillators, as prescribed in Chapter 498 of 

the 2013 Acts of Assembly. 

• Issuing a Provisional License for two years (with the 

exception of the Provisional Career Switcher License). 

Individuals may apply for a third year on the Provisional 

License by submitting documentation indicating that all 

licensure assessments prescribed by the Virginia Board 

of Education have been taken. 

• Issuing the International Educator License for a five-

year, instead of a three-year exchange program. 

• Discontinuing the Local Eligibility License pursuant to 

Chapter 588 of the 2013 Acts of Assembly. 

• Adding the Online Teacher License as a five-year, 

renewable license valid only for teaching online courses. 

• Adding the Teach for America License, established as a 

two-year provisional license, pursuant to Chapter 440 of 

the 2013 Virginia Acts of Assembly. 

• Increase the requirements from three semester hours to 

nine semester hours of specified coursework prior to 

issuance of a Provisional (Special Education) License to 

individuals without a five-year Virginia teaching license.  

• Adding the requirement, as prescribed by Chapter 726 

of the 2013 Acts of Assembly, that any individual 

licensed and endorsed to teach a) middle school civics or 

economics or b) high school government or history who 

is seeking renewal of such license is required to 

demonstrate knowledge of Virginia history or state and 

local government by completing a module or 

professional development course specifically related to 

Virginia history or state and local government. 

• Changing text to allow the division superintendent or 

the principal to approve renewal activities and 

exceptions. Removed the text for one cycle of the 

renewal process to allow an exception to the content 

course requirements for individuals without a graduate 

degree beyond one renewal cycle. 
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• Changing professional study coursework titles and 

course content. An additional course requirement, 

Assessment of and for Learning (3 semester hours), is 

proposed. 

• Allowing individuals who hold the early childhood 

special education endorsement to add the endorsement 

early childhood for three- and four-year-olds 

endorsement. 

• For the early/primary education preK-3 endorsement, 

increasing the coursework requirements in mathematics 

and science and providing an option for specified 

requirements and testing. 

• For the elementary education preK-6 endorsement, 

increasing the coursework requirements in mathematics 

and science and providing an option for specified 

requirements and testing.  

• For the middle education 6-8 endorsement, increasing 

the coursework requirements in mathematics. 

• Discontinuing the career and technical education 

industrial cooperative training endorsement.
1
  

• Creating a new engineering endorsement. 

• Establishing the following new add-on endorsements: 

Special education general curriculum K-6 (add-on 

endorsement), Special education general curriculum 

middle grades 6-8 (add-on endorsement), and Special 

education general curriculum secondary grades 6-12 

(add-on endorsement). 

• For administration and supervision preK-12, revising 

the alternate route to add an option of a combination of 

graduate-level coursework and a research-based program 

approved by the Department of Education. Adding 

Principal of Distinction to the name of the Level II 

endorsement. 

• Establishing separate mathematics specialist for 

elementary education and mathematics specialist for 

middle education endorsements specific to the population 

of students being served. Currently the endorsement is 

combined, Mathematics specialist for elementary and 

middle education. 

• Discontinuing initial licenses with an endorsement in 

speech/language pathology. Individuals will seek a 

license from the Virginia Board of Examiners for 

Audiology and Speech Pathology.
2
  

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for 

some changes. For other amendments, whether the benefits 

exceed the costs depend on the policy views of the observer. 

Estimated Economic Impact.  

First Aid, CPR, and AED Training: 

The legislatively mandated proposal to require that 

individuals seeking initial teacher licensure and teachers 

seeking license renewal provide evidence of training or 

certification in emergency first aid, cardiopulmonary 

resuscitation, and the use of automated external defibrillators 

will introduce significant benefits and costs. Having all (or 

nearly all) teachers in the Commonwealth trained in 

emergency first aid, cardiopulmonary resuscitation, and the 

use of automated external defibrillators will increase the 

likelihood that someone with potentially lifesaving skills will 

be on hand during medical emergencies in the classroom. To 

the extent that the future teachers absorb and retain the 

knowledge they gain in this training, the long-run benefits 

may be quite significant. 

For onsite training in emergency first aid, cardiopulmonary 

resuscitation, and the use of automated external defibrillators, 

the American Red Cross charges $250 plus $72 per person 

being trained if there at least 20 people being trained.
3
 So for 

example, if a school district arranged to have the Red Cross 

come in and train 50 teachers the fees would total $3,850. If 

teachers take courses on their own and go to a location 

already offering the course, the cost is $90. If done all in 

person, the Red Cross training would take 5.5 hours. 

Alternatively, the teachers could do 2 hours of online training 

ahead of time. In that case the in-person training would last 

1.5 hours. The fees would be the same in either case, but the 

amount of staff time that potentially could have been used for 

other subjects differs. 

Teach for America: 

Currently individuals who go through the Teach for America 

training program are not permitted to teach in Virginia (unless 

they fulfill other requirements for provisional licensure). 

Pursuant to Chapter 440 of the 2013 Virginia Acts of 

Assembly, the Board proposes to add the Teach for America 

License, established as a two-year provisional license. The 

addition of this license will likely lead to Teach for America 

trained individuals teaching in Virginia. High-quality peer-

reviewed research has found that Teach for America trained 

teachers have been particularly effective teachers in 

mathematics.
4
 Thus this proposed new license may have some 

positive impact on math learning in the Commonwealth. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 

affect the 132 public school divisions in the Commonwealth, 

current and future teachers, and businesses or organizations 

that provide training in emergency first aid, cardiopulmonary 

resuscitation, and the use of automated external defibrillators.  

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

do not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The requirement that 

individuals seeking initial teacher licensure and teachers 

seeking license renewal provide evidence of training or 

certification in emergency first aid, cardiopulmonary 

resuscitation, and the use of automated external defibrillators 

will increase demand for these services from businesses and 

organizations that provide such training. The increase in 

demand may be enough to create additional jobs. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

requirement that individuals seeking initial teacher licensure and 
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teachers seeking license renewal provide evidence of training or 

certification in emergency first aid, cardiopulmonary 

resuscitation, and the use of automated external defibrillators 

will likely increase business for firms that provide such training. 

This may increase the value of such organizations and firms.  

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 

amendments are unlikely to significantly affect costs for small 

businesses. The requirement that individuals seeking initial 

teacher licensure and teachers seeking license renewal provide 

evidence of training or certification in emergency first aid, 

cardiopulmonary resuscitation, and the use of automated external 

defibrillators will increase demand for these services from small 

businesses that provide such training. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse 

Impact. The proposed amendments will not adversely affect 

small businesses.  

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to significantly affect real estate development 

costs. 

Legal Mandate. 

General: The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has 

analyzed the economic impact of this proposed regulation in 

accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and 

Executive Order Number 14 (2010). Section 2.2-4007.04 

requires that such economic impact analyses determine the 

public benefits and costs of the proposed amendments. 

Further the report should include but not be limited to: 

• the projected number of businesses or other entities to 

whom the proposed regulatory action would apply, 

• the identity of any localities and types of businesses or 

other entities particularly affected, 

• the projected number of persons and employment 

positions to be affected,  

• the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and  

• the impact on the use and value of private property.  

Small Businesses: If the proposed regulatory action will have 

an adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires 

that such economic impact analyses include: 

• an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the proposed regulation, 

• the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other 

administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the proposed regulation, including the type 

of professional skills necessary for preparing required 

reports and other documents, 

• a statement of the probable effect of the proposed 

regulation on affected small businesses, and  

• a description of any less intrusive or less costly 

alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the 

proposed regulation.  

Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1, if there is a finding 

that a proposed regulation may have an adverse impact on 

small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative 

Rules is notified at the time the proposed regulation is 

submitted to the Virginia Register of Regulations for 

publication. This analysis shall represent DPB's best estimate 

for the purposes of public review and comment on the 

proposed regulation.  

_________________________________________________ 
1According to the Department of Education the industrial cooperative 

training endorsement has never been used. 
2The proposal to discontinue issuing an initial license with an endorsement in 

speech/language pathology resulted from a joint effort with the Department 

of Health Professions (DHP) to eliminate confusion as to whether these 
individuals should be licensed by DHP or the Department of Education. 

Chapter 781 of the 2014 Acts of Assembly clarified that DHP would issue 

the licenses; therefore the board is eliminating references to the program 
from its regulations. 
3If there are fewer than 20 individuals being trained, the American Red Cross 

charges $90 per student. 
4Glazerman, S., Mayer, D., & Decker, P. (2006). Alternative routes to 

teaching: The impacts of Teach For America on student achievement and 
other outcomes. Journal of Policy Analysis and Management, 25(1), 75-96. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency concurs with the economic impact analysis completed 

by the Department of Planning and Budget. The agency will 

continue to examine the economic and administrative impact 

of the regulations as they progress through the regulatory 

process under the Administrative Process Act. 

Summary: 

The proposed action repeals the existing regulation 

(8VAC20-22) and adopts a new regulation (8VAC20-23) 

regarding licensure for school personnel to align the 

regulation with recent changes in the Code of Virginia, 

current best practices in education, current educational 

research, and the revised Virginia Standards of Learning 

and the Guidelines for Uniform Performance Standards 

and Evaluation Criteria for Teachers. Substantive elements 

of the proposed new regulations (i) revise selected 

definitions to conform with changes in the proposed new 

regulations; (ii) require initial and renewal licensure 

applicants to provide evidence of training or certification 

in emergency first aid, cardiopulmonary resuscitation, and 

the use of automated external defibrillators; (iii) clarify the 

endorsement requirements for the teacher of record; (iv) 

modify the term of issuance of certain licenses; (v) 

discontinue the Local Eligibility License; (vi) add the 

Online Teacher License and the Teach for America 

License; (vii) increase the coursework requirements prior 

to issuance of a Provisional (Special Education) License to 

individuals without a five-year Virginia teaching license; 

(viii) add requirements for any individual licensed and 

endorsed to teach middle school civics or economics, or 

high school government or history, seeking license 

renewal; (ix) allow the division superintendent or the 

principal to approve renewal activities and exceptions; (x) 
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change professional study coursework titles and course 

content and add a three-semester-hour course in 

assessment of and for learning; (xi) revise endorsement 

areas; (xii) discontinue issuance of an initial license with 

an endorsement in speech/language pathology as 

individuals will seek a license from the Virginia Board of 

Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology; and (xiii) 

amend the provisions on the revocation, cancellation, 

suspension, denial, and reinstatement of teaching licenses. 

CHAPTER 23 

LICENSURE REGULATIONS FOR SCHOOL 

PERSONNEL 

Part I 

Definitions 

8VAC20-23-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the meanings indicated unless the context clearly 

implies otherwise: 

"Accredited institution" means an institution of higher 

education accredited by a regional accrediting agency 

recognized by the United States Department of Education. 

"Accredited virtual school or program" means a virtual 

school or program accredited by one of the accrediting 

agencies recognized by the Virginia Department of 

Education. 

"Alternate route to licensure" means a nontraditional route 

to licensure available to individuals who meet the criteria 

specified in 8VAC20-23-90. 

"Approved program" means a professional education 

program recognized as meeting state standards for the content 

and operation of such programs so that graduates of the 

program will be eligible for state licensure. The Virginia 

Board of Education has the authority to approve programs in 

Virginia. 

"Cancellation" means the withdrawal of a teaching license 

following the voluntary return of the license by the license 

holder. 

"Certified provider" means a provider certified by the 

Virginia Department of Education to provide preparation and 

training for applicants seeking the Provisional License 

specified in 8VAC20-23-90. 

"Collegiate Professional License" means a five-year, 

renewable license available to an individual who has satisfied 

all requirements for licensure set forth in this chapter, 

including an earned baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university and the professional teacher's 

assessments prescribed by the Virginia Board of Education. 

"Content area coursework" means courses at the 

undergraduate level (i.e., two-year or four-year institution) or 

at the graduate level that will not duplicate previous courses, 

or the level of coursework, taken in humanities, English, 

history and social sciences, sciences, mathematics, health and 

physical education, and fine arts. These courses are usually 

available through the college or department of arts or 

sciences. 

"Denial" means the refusal to grant a teaching license to a 

new applicant or to an applicant who is reapplying after the 

expiration of a license. 

"Division Superintendent License" means a five-year, 

renewable license available to an individual who has 

completed an earned master's degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university and meets the requirements 

specified in 8VAC20-23-630. The individual's name must be 

listed on the Virginia Board of Education's list of eligible 

division superintendents. 

"Experiential learning" means a process of applying for an 

initial license through the alternate route as prescribed by the 

Virginia Board of Education and meeting the criteria 

specified in 8VAC20-23-90 E to be eligible to request 

experiential learning credits in lieu of the coursework for the 

endorsement (teaching) content area. 

"International Educator License" means a five-year cultural 

exchange opportunity for Virginia students and international 

teachers. The International Educator License is a professional 

teaching license issued for no more than five years to an 

exchange teacher with citizenship in a nation other than the 

United States of America and employed as teacher in a 

Virginia public school or an accredited nonpublic school. 

"Licensure by reciprocity" means a process used to issue a 

license to an individual coming into Virginia from another 

state when that individual meets certain conditions specified 

in this chapter. 

"Mentor" means a classroom teacher hired by the local 

school division who has achieved continuing contract status 

or other instructional personnel including retired teachers who 

meet local mentor selection criteria. The mentor should work 

in the same building as the beginning teacher or be 

instructional personnel who is assigned solely as a mentor. A 

mentor should be assigned a limited number of teachers at 

any time. Instructional personnel who are not assigned solely 

as mentors should not be assigned to more than four teachers 

at any time. Mentors guide teachers in the program through 

demonstrations, observations, and consultations. 

"Online Teacher License" means a five-year, renewable 

license valid only for teaching online courses. Teachers who 

hold a five-year renewable license issued by the Virginia 

Board of Education may teach online courses for which they 

are properly endorsed and do not need to seek this license. 

"Postgraduate Professional License" means a five-year, 

renewable license available to an individual who has qualified 

for the Collegiate Professional License and who holds an 

appropriate earned graduate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university. 
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"Professional teacher assessment" means those tests or other 

requirements mandated for licensure as prescribed by the 

Virginia Board of Education. 

"Provisional License" means a nonrenewable license valid 

for a specified period of time not to exceed three years issued 

to an individual who has allowable deficiencies for full 

licensure as set forth in this chapter. The individual must have 

a minimum of an undergraduate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university, with the exception of those 

individuals seeking the Technical Professional License. The 

Provisional License, with the exception of those individuals 

seeking licensure through a career switcher program who will 

be issued a one-year Provisional License, will be issued for 

two years. Individuals may apply for a third year on the 

Provisional License by submitting documentation indicating 

that all licensure assessments prescribed by the Virginia 

Board of Education have been taken. Individuals must 

complete all requirements, including passing all licensure 

assessments, for a renewable license within the validity 

period of the license.  

"Pupil Personnel Services License" means a five-year, 

renewable license available to an individual who has earned 

an appropriate graduate degree from a regionally accredited 

college or university with an endorsement as a school 

counselor, school psychologist, school social worker, or 

vocational evaluator. This license does not require teaching 

experience unless otherwise outlined under the specific 

endorsement's requirements. 

"Renewable license" means a license issued by the Virginia 

Board of Education for five years to an individual who meets 

all requirements specified in this chapter. 

"Revocation" means the withdrawal of a teaching license. 

"School Manager License" means a five-year, renewable 

license intended to provide for a differentiation of 

administrative responsibilities in a school setting. A school 

manager is licensed to administer noninstructional 

responsibilities in an educational setting. For example, a 

school manager is restricted from evaluating teachers, 

supervising instruction, developing and evaluating 

curriculum, and serving as a school’s student disciplinarian. 

The license is available to a candidate who holds a 

baccalaureate degree from a regionally accredited college or 

university; has three years of success managerial experience; 

and is recommended for the license by a Virginia school 

division superintendent. 

"Suspension" means the temporary withdrawal of a teaching 

license. 

"Technical Professional License" means a five-year, 

renewable license available to an individual who has 

graduated from an accredited high school (or possesses a 

General Educational Development Certificate); has exhibited 

academic proficiency, technical competency, and successful 

occupational experience; and meets the requirements 

specified in subdivision 4 of 8VAC20-23-50. 

Part II  

Administering the Regulations 

8VAC20-23-20. Administering this chapter. 

A. In administering this chapter, modifications may be made 

in exceptional cases by the Superintendent of Public 

Instruction. Proposed modifications shall be made in writing 

to the Superintendent of Public Instruction, Commonwealth 

of Virginia, Virginia Department of Education, P.O. Box 

2120, Richmond, Virginia 23218-2120.  

B. In administering this chapter, competencies required for 

endorsement areas are outlined in the Regulations Governing 

the Review and Approval of Education Programs in Virginia 

(8VAC20-543). This document should be referenced for 

detailed information regarding coursework content for 

endorsements. Individuals must complete the semester hours 

required for endorsement areas, or the equivalent, that must 

be documented and approved by the Department of 

Education. 

Part III  

Licensure 

8VAC20-23-30. Purpose and responsibility for licensure. 

The primary purpose for licensing teachers and other school 

personnel is to maintain standards of professional 

competence. The responsibility for licensure is set forth in 

§ 22.1-298.1 of the Code of Virginia, which states that the 

Virginia Board of Education shall prescribe by regulation the 

requirements for licensure of teachers. 

8VAC20-23-40. Conditions for licensure. 

A. Applicants for licensure must: 

1. Be at least 18 years of age; 

2. Pay the appropriate fees as determined by the Virginia 

Board of Education and complete the application process; 

3. Have earned a baccalaureate degree, with the exception 

of the Technical Professional License, from a regionally 

accredited college or university and meet requirements for 

the license sought. Persons seeking initial licensure 

through approved programs from Virginia institutions of 

higher education shall only be licensed as instructional 

personnel by the Virginia Board of Education if the 

professional education programs offered at such 

institutions have been accredited by a national accrediting 

agency and the education (endorsement) programs have 

final approval by the Virginia Board of Education; and 

4. Possess good moral character (i.e., free of conditions 

outlined in Part VII (8VAC20-23-720 et seq.) of this 

chapter. 

B. All candidates who hold at least a baccalaureate degree 

from a regionally accredited college or university and who 

seek an initial Virginia teaching license must obtain passing 

scores on professional teacher's assessments prescribed by the 

Virginia Board of Education. With the exception of the career 

switcher program that requires assessments as prerequisites, 
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individuals must complete the professional teacher's 

assessments requirements within the three-year validity of the 

initial provisional license. Candidates seeking a Technical 

Professional License, International Educator License, School 

Manager License, or Pupil Personnel Services License are not 

required to take the professional teacher's assessments. 

Individuals who hold a valid out-of-state license (full 

credential without deficiencies) and who have completed a 

minimum of three years of full-time, successful teaching 

experience in a public or an accredited nonpublic school, 

kindergarten through grade 12, outside of Virginia are exempt 

from the professional teacher's assessment requirements. 

Documentation must be submitted to verify the school's status 

as a public or an accredited nonpublic school. 

C. All individuals seeking an initial endorsement in 

early/primary education preK-3, elementary education preK-

6, special education-general curriculum, special education-

deaf and hard of hearing, special education-blindness and 

visual impairments, and individuals seeking an endorsement 

as a reading specialist must obtain passing scores on a reading 

instructional assessment prescribed by the Virginia Board of 

Education. 

D. Licensure by reciprocity is set forth in 8VAC20-23-100. 

A school leaders assessment prescribed by the Virginia Board 

of Education must be met for all individuals who are seeking 

an endorsement authorizing them to serve as principals and 

assistant principals in the public schools. Individuals seeking 

an initial administration and supervision endorsement who 

are interested in serving as central office instructional 

personnel are not required to take and pass the school leaders 

assessment prescribed by the Virginia Board of Education. 

E. Individuals seeking initial licensure must demonstrate 

proficiency in the use of educational technology for 

instruction, complete study in child abuse recognition and 

intervention in accordance with curriculum guidelines 

developed by the Virginia Board of Education in consultation 

with the Virginia Department of Social Services, and receive 

professional development in instructional methods tailored to 

promote student academic progress and effective preparation 

for the Standards of Learning end-of-course and end-of-grade 

assessments. 

F. Every person seeking initial licensure shall provide 

evidence of completion of certification or training in 

emergency first aid, cardiopulmonary resuscitation, and use 

of automated external defibrillators. The certification or 

training program shall be based on the current national 

evidenced-based emergency cardiovascular care guidelines 

for cardiopulmonary resuscitation and the use of an 

automated external defibrillator, such as a program developed 

by the American Heart Association or the American Red 

Cross. The Virginia Board of Education shall provide a 

waiver for this requirement for any person with a disability 

whose disability prohibits such person from completing the 

certification or training. 

G. The teacher of record for verified credit courses for high 

school graduation must hold a Virginia license with the 

appropriate content endorsement. 

8VAC20-23-50. Types of licenses; dating licenses. 

A. The following types of licenses are available: 

1. Provisional License. The Provisional License is a 

nonrenewable license valid for a period not to exceed three 

years issued to an individual who has allowable 

deficiencies for full licensure as set forth in this chapter. 

The Provisional License will be issued for two years, with 

the exception of those individuals seeking a Provisional 

License through a career switcher program. Individuals 

may apply for a third year on the Provisional License by 

submitting documentation indicating that all licensure 

assessments prescribed by the Virginia Board of Education 

(http://doe.virginia.gov/teaching/licensure/prof_teacher_as

sessment.pdf) have been taken. The Provisional (Career 

Switcher) License will be dated as set forth in 8VAC20-

23-90 A 2. Individuals must complete the requirements 

including passing all licensure assessments, for the 

renewable five-year license within the validity period of 

the Provisional License. The individual must have a 

minimum of an undergraduate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university, with the exception of 

those individuals seeking the Technical Professional 

License. 

2. Collegiate Professional License. The Collegiate 

Professional License is a five-year, renewable license 

available to an individual who has satisfied all 

requirements for licensure, including an earned 

undergraduate degree from a regionally accredited college 

or university and the professional teacher's assessments 

prescribed by the Virginia Board of Education. 

3. Postgraduate Professional License. The Postgraduate 

Professional License is a five-year, renewable license 

available to an individual who has qualified for the 

Collegiate Professional License and who holds an 

appropriate earned graduate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university. 

4. Technical Professional License. The Technical 

Professional License is a five-year, renewable license 

available to a person who has graduated from an accredited 

high school or possesses a General Educational 

Development Certificate; has exhibited academic 

proficiency, skills in literacy and communication, technical 

competency, and successful occupational experience; and 

has completed nine semester hours of specialized 

professional studies credit from a regionally accredited 

college or university. The nine semester hours of 

professional studies coursework must include three 

semester hours of human development and learning, three 

semester hours of curriculum and instruction, and three 

semester hours of applications of instructional technology 

or classroom and behavior management. The Technical 

http://doe.virginia.gov/teaching/licensure/prof_teacher_assessment.pdf
http://doe.virginia.gov/teaching/licensure/prof_teacher_assessment.pdf
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Professional License is issued at the recommendation of an 

employing educational agency in the areas of career and 

technical education, educational technology, and military 

science. Individuals seeking an endorsement to teach 

military science must have the appropriate credentials 

issued by the United States military. The employing 

Virginia educational agency must ensure the credentials 

issued by the United States military are active during the 

period the individual is teaching. In addition to 

demonstrating competency in the endorsement area sought, 

the individual must: 

a. Hold a valid license issued by the appropriate Virginia 

board for those program areas requiring a license and a 

minimum of two years of successful experience at the 

journeyman level or an equivalent. The employing 

Virginia educational agency must ensure that the valid 

license issued by the appropriate Virginia board for the 

occupational program area is active during the period the 

individual is teaching; 

b. Have completed a registered apprenticeship program 

and two years of successful experience at the journeyman 

level or an equivalent level in the trade; or 

c. Have four years of successful work experience at the 

management or supervisory level or equivalent or have a 

combination of four years of training and work 

experience at the management or supervisory level or 

equivalent. 

Individuals holding the Technical Professional License 

who seek the Collegiate Professional or Postgraduate 

Professional License must meet the requirements of the 

respective licenses. 

5. School Manager License. The school manager license is 

a five-year, renewable license intended to provide for the 

differentiation of administrative responsibilities in a school 

setting. A school manager is licensed to administer 

noninstructional responsibilities in an educational setting. 

For example, a school manager is restricted from 

evaluating teachers, supervising instruction, developing 

and evaluating curriculum, and serving as a school's 

student disciplinarian. The license is available to a 

candidate who holds a baccalaureate degree from a 

regionally accredited college or university, has three years 

of successful managerial experience, and is recommended 

for the license by a Virginia school division 

superintendent. 

6. Pupil Personnel Services License. The Pupil Personnel 

Services License is a five-year, renewable license available 

to an individual who has earned an appropriate graduate 

degree from a regionally accredited college or university 

with an endorsement for school counselor, school 

psychologist, school social worker, or vocational evaluator. 

This license does not require teaching experience, unless 

otherwise outlined under the specific endorsement's 

requirements. 

7. Division Superintendent License. The Division 

Superintendent License is a five-year, renewable license 

available to an individual who has completed an earned 

master's degree from a regionally accredited college or 

university and meets the requirements specified in 

8VAC20-23-630. The individual's name must be listed on 

the Virginia Board of Education's list of eligible division 

superintendents. 

8. International Educator License. The International 

Educator License provides a five-year cultural exchange 

opportunity for Virginia students and international 

teachers. The International Educator License is a 

professional teaching license issued to an exchange teacher 

with citizenship in a nation other than the United States of 

America and who is employed as a teacher in a Virginia 

public or accredited nonpublic school. To be issued the 

five-year, nonrenewable International Educator License, an 

individual serving as a cultural exchange teacher in 

Virginia must: 

a. Be employed by a Virginia public or an accredited 

nonpublic school; 

b. Hold non-United States citizenship and be a 

nonpermanent resident; and 

c. Meet the following requirements as verified by a state-

approved, federally-designated Exchange Visitor 

Program (22 CFR Part 62): 

(1) Be proficient in written and spoken English; 

(2) Demonstrate competence in the appropriate academic 

subject area or areas by meeting the credential 

requirements for a qualified teacher in the exchange 

country; 

(3) Hold the United States equivalent of a baccalaureate 

degree or higher as determined by an approved credential 

agency; and 

(4) Complete at least two years of successful full-time 

teaching experience that enables the educator to fulfill a 

similar assignment in his home country or is comparable 

to those requirements for Virginia teachers. 

If an individual meets requirements of subdivisions 8 a, 8 

b, 8 c (1), 8 c (2), and 8 c (3) of this subsection and has 

completed at least one year, but less than two years, of 

successful full-time teaching experience that enables the 

educator to fulfill a similar assignment in his home country 

or is comparable to those requirements for Virginia 

teachers, the International Educator License will be issued 

for three years with an option to extend the nonrenewable 

International Educator License for the additional two years 

upon meeting all teacher assessments prescribed by the 

Virginia Board of Education and a recommendation of the 

Virginia employing school division or accredited 

nonpublic school. 

Individuals who have been issued an International 

Educator License who seek a five-year, renewable license 
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will need to meet all licensure and endorsement 

requirements, including applicable assessments prescribed 

by the Virginia Board of Education. 

9. Online Teacher License. The Online Teacher License is 

a five-year, renewable license valid only for teaching 

online courses. Teachers who hold a five-year renewable 

license issued by the Virginia Board of Education may 

teach online courses for which they are properly endorsed 

and do not need to seek this license. 

a. The individual is required to meet requirements for an 

endorsement in a content (teaching) area, professional 

studies requirements, and qualifying scores on 

professional teacher's assessments as prescribed by the 

Virginia Board of Education. In addition, the individual 

must complete a three-semester-hour course in online 

instructional procedures. 

Online instructional procedures: 3 semester hours. Skills 

in this area shall contribute to an understanding of the 

principles of online learning and online instructional 

strategies and the application of skills in the ability to use 

the Internet for teaching, learning, and management; 

design, deliver, and support instruction in an online 

environment; adapt strategies for a variety of course 

models (e.g., synchronous and asynchronous); select, 

adapt, and create rich multimedia for instruction; adapt 

individualized education program requirements to online 

course practices, as appropriate; use data to meet 

individual students needs; and employ innovative 

teaching strategies in an online environment. 

Demonstrated proficiency of advanced skills in the 

following must be addressed: use of communication 

technologies to interact with and engage students, 

parents, and mentors; use of education technologies; 

management of instructional activities in a technology-

mediated environment; and nontraditional content 

delivery methods. 

b. Online teaching experience is not acceptable to meet 

the full-time teaching experience for other license types, 

such as a Division Superintendent License, or for 

endorsements, such as for the reading specialist, school 

counselor, or administration and supervision 

endorsements. The Online Teacher License may be 

issued if requirements have been met as one of the 

following licenses to individuals teaching only online 

courses: 

(1) Online Teacher (Postgraduate Professional) License - 

a five-year, renewable license available to an individual 

who has qualified for the Online Teacher (Collegiate 

Professional) License and who holds an appropriate 

earned graduate degree from a regionally accredited 

college or university. 

(2) Online Teacher (Collegiate Professional) License - a 

five-year, renewable teaching license available to an 

individual who has satisfied all requirements for 

licensure, including an earned baccalaureate degree from 

a regionally accredited college or university, 

endorsement and professional studies requirements, and 

the professional teacher's assessments prescribed by the 

Virginia Board of Education, or  

(3) Online Teacher (Technical Professional) License - a 

five-year, renewable teaching license available to an 

individual who has graduated from an accredited high 

school or possesses a General Educational Development 

Certificate; has exhibited academic proficiency, technical 

competency, and occupational experience; and meets the 

requirements specified in subdivision 4 of this section. 

An individual seeking an Online Teacher (Technical 

Professional) License must be recommended for the 

license by a Virginia public school, a Virginia accredited 

nonpublic school, or an accredited virtual school 

program. 

c. A nonrenewable Online Teacher (Provisional) License 

may be issued for a period not to exceed three years to an 

individual who has allowable deficiencies for full 

licensure as set forth in 8VAC20-23-90 B. The Online 

(Provisional) License will be issued for two years. 

Individuals may apply for a third year on the Online 

(Provisional) License by submitting documentation 

indicating that all licensure assessments prescribed by the 

Virginia Board of Education have been taken. The 

individual must have a minimum of an undergraduate 

degree from a regionally accredited college or university, 

with the exception of those individuals seeking the 

Technical Professional License. Individuals must 

complete all requirements for a renewable Online 

Teacher License within the validity period of the license. 

10. Teach For America License. The Teach For America 

License is a two-year provisional license. 

a. This provisional license is available to any participant 

in Teach For America, a nationwide nonprofit 

organization focused on closing the achievement gaps 

between students in high-income and low-income areas, 

who submits an application and meets the following 

requirements:  

(1) Holds, at minimum, a baccalaureate degree from a 

regionally accredited institution of higher education; 

(2) Has met the requirements prescribed by the Virginia 

Board of Education for all endorsements sought or has 

met the qualifying scores on the content area assessment 

prescribed by the board for the endorsements sought; 

(3) Possesses good moral character according to criteria 

developed by the Virginia Board of Education;  

(4) Has been offered and has accepted placement in 

Teach For America; 

(5) Has successfully completed preservice training and is 

participating in the professional development 

requirements of Teach For America, including teaching 
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frameworks, curricula, lesson planning, instructional 

delivery, classroom management, assessment and 

evaluation of student progress, classroom diversity, and 

literacy development; 

(6) Has an offer of employment from a local school 

board to teach in a public elementary or secondary school 

in the Commonwealth or a preschool program that 

receives state funds pursuant to subsection C of § 22.1-

199.1 of the Code of Virginia; and  

(7) Receives a recommendation from the employing 

school division for a Teach For America License in the 

endorsement area in which the individual seeks to be 

licensed. 

b. In addition to the criteria set forth in subdivision 10 a 

of of this subsection, any individual who seeks an 

endorsement in early childhood, early/primary, or 

elementary education shall either (i) agree to complete 

such coursework in the teaching of reading as may be 

prescribed by the Virginia Board of Education pursuant 

to 8VAC20-23-130 during the first year of employment 

or (ii) achieve a passing score on a reading instructional 

assessment prescribed by the Virginia Board of 

Education. 

c. Teachers issued a Teach For America provisional 

license shall not be eligible for continuing contract status 

while employed under the authority of a Teach For 

America license and shall be subject to the probationary 

terms of employment specified in § 22.1-303 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

d. The Virginia Board of Education may extend any 

Teach For America License for one additional year upon 

request of the employing school division, provided that 

no Teach For America License shall exceed a total of 

three years in length.  

e. Notwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary, 

upon completion of at least two years of full-time 

teaching experience in a public elementary or secondary 

school in the Commonwealth or a preschool program that 

receives state funds pursuant to subsection C of § 22.1-

199.1 of the Code of Virginia, an individual holding a 

Teach For America License shall be eligible to receive a 

renewable license if he has (i) achieved satisfactory 

scores on all professional teacher assessments required 

by the Virginia Board of Education and (ii) received 

satisfactory evaluations at the conclusion of each year of 

employment. 

f. Notwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary, 

the Virginia Board of Education shall issue a Teach For 

America License to any individual who (i) has completed 

two years of successful teaching in the Teach For 

America program in another state, (ii) is not eligible to 

receive a renewable license, and (iii) meets the criteria 

set forth in subdivision 10 a of this subsection. 

B. All licenses will be effective from July 1 in the school 

year in which the application is made. An employing Virginia 

public school division, agency, or accredited nonpublic 

school is required to notify employees in writing at the time 

of employment of the need to meet appropriate assessment 

requirements for licensure.  

8VAC20-23-60. Designations on licenses for career paths 

to teaching. 

A. Designations on licenses will reflect stages in the 

professional development of teachers and promote continuing 

growth and career paths as educators.  

B. Teaching licenses may be issued with one of the 

following designations, and the designation will be processed 

as an add-on endorsement. These designations will not apply 

to the Division Superintendent License, School Manager 

License, International Educator License, or Pupil Personnel 

Services License. 

1. Career Teacher: This voluntary teacher designation will 

be issued on a renewable teaching license for individuals 

who have gained continuing contract status in Virginia and 

who apply for the Career Teacher designation. 

2. Mentor Teacher: This voluntary teacher designation will 

be issued on a renewable teaching license for individuals 

who have (i) achieved the Career Teacher designation, (ii) 

received a recommendation for the designation from an 

employing Virginia school division superintendent or 

designee or accredited nonpublic school head, (iii) served 

at least three years as a mentor teacher in Virginia, (iv) 

documented responsibilities as a mentor, and (v) completed 

a local or state mentor teacher training program in 

accordance with the Virginia Board of Education 

requirements for mentor teachers in the Virgnia Board of 

Education Mentor Teacher Guidelines 

(http://www.doe.virginia.gov/teaching/career_resources/m

entor/program_creation_guidelines.pdf). 

3. Teacher as Leader: This voluntary teacher designation 

will be issued on a renewable teaching license for 

individuals who have (i) achieved the Career Teacher 

designation; (ii) completed at least five years of successful, 

full-time teaching experience in a Virginia public school or 

accredited nonpublic school; (iii) received the 

recommendation from an employing Virginia school 

division superintendent or designee or an accredited 

nonpublic school head; (iv) and completed one of the 

following: 

a. National Board Certification or a nationally recognized 

certification program approved by the Virginia Board of 

Education and a recommendation from an employing 

Virginia school division superintendent or designee or 

accredited nonpublic school head and documentation in 

an approved Department of Education format verifying 

the individual's demonstrated skills and abilities as a 

school leader and direct contributions to school 

effectiveness and student achievement; or 

http://www.doe.virginia.gov/teaching/career_resources/mentor/program_creation_guidelines.pdf
http://www.doe.virginia.gov/teaching/career_resources/mentor/program_creation_guidelines.pdf
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b. A recommendation from an employing Virginia school 

division superintendent or designee or accredited 

nonpublic school head and documentation in an approved 

Department of Education format verifying the 

individual's demonstrated skills and abilities as a school 

leader and direct contributions to school effectiveness 

and student achievement. 

8VAC20-23-70. Additional endorsements. 

A. An individual who holds a teaching license may add an 

additional teaching endorsement to the license by passing a 

rigorous academic subject test for endorsements in which a 

test is prescribed by the Virginia Board of Education. This 

testing option does not apply to individuals (i) who are 

seeking an early/primary education preK-3 or elementary 

education preK-6 endorsement, special education 

endorsements, or a reading specialist endorsement or (ii) who 

hold a Technical Professional License, Vocational Evaluator 

License, Pupil Personnel Services License, School Manager 

License, or Division Superintendent License. 

B. One or more endorsements may be added to a license 

provided specific endorsement requirements have been met. 

Written requests may be made by the licensed professional 

and should be directed to the Virginia employing educational 

agency or college or university. If the request is not acted 

upon by the local educational agency or college or university 

within 30 days or is disputed, the license holder may make a 

written request for an additional endorsement directly to the 

Office of Professional Licensure, Virginia Department of 

Education. Written requests should be submitted by January 

15 to be in effect by July 1 of the same year. 

8VAC20-23-80. Deletion of an endorsement. 

An endorsement may be deleted from a license at the request 

of the licensed professional. Written requests are made by the 

licensed professional and should be directed to the employing 

educational agency. If the request is not acted upon by the 

local educational agency within 30 days or is disputed, the 

license holder may make a written request for the deletion of 

an endorsement directly to the Office of Professional 

Licensure, Virginia Department of Education. Written 

requests should be submitted by January 15 to be in effect on 

July 1 of that year.  Individuals who wish to add an 

endorsement that has been deleted must meet requirements 

for that endorsement at the time it is requested. 

8VAC20-23-90. Alternate routes to licensure. 

A. Career switcher alternate route to licensure for career 

professions - Provisional (Career Switcher) License. An 

alternate route is available to career switchers who seek 

teaching endorsements preK through grade 12 with the 

exception of special education. 

1. An individual seeking a Provisional (Career Switcher) 

License through the career switcher program must meet the 

following prerequisite requirements: 

a. An application process; 

b. An earned baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university; 

c. The completion of requirements for an endorsement in 

a teaching area or the equivalent through verifiable 

experience or academic study; 

d. At least five years of full-time work experience or its 

equivalent; and 

e. Virginia qualifying scores on the professional teacher's 

assessments as prescribed by the Virginia Board of 

Education. 

2. The Provisional (Career Switcher) License is awarded at 

the end of Level I preparation. All components of the 

career switcher alternate route for career professions must 

be completed by the candidate. 

3. The Level I requirements must be completed during the 

course of a single year and may be offered through a 

variety of delivery systems, including distance learning 

programs. If an employing agency recommends extending 

the Provisional (Career Switcher) License for a second 

year, the candidate will enter Level III of the program. 

Career switcher programs must be certified by the Virginia 

Department of Education. 

a. Level I preparation. Intensive Level I preparation 

includes a minimum of 180 clock hours of instruction, 

including field experience. This phase includes, but is not 

limited to, curriculum and instruction, including 

technology, reading, and other specific course content 

relating to the Standards of Learning; differentiation of 

instruction; classroom and behavior management; 

instructional design based on assessment data; and 

human development and learning. 

b. Level II preparation during first year of employment. 

(1) Candidate seeks employment in Virginia with the 

one-year Provisional (Career Switcher) License. 

(2) Continued Level II preparation during the first year of 

employment with a minimum of five seminars that 

expand the intensive preparation requirements listed in 

subdivision 3 a of this subsection. The five seminars will 

include a minimum of 20 cumulative instructional hours. 

A variety of instructional delivery techniques will be 

utilized to implement the seminars. 

(3) One year of successful, full-time teaching experience 

in a Virginia public or accredited nonpublic school under 

a one-year Provisional (Career Switcher) License. A 

trained mentor must be assigned to assist the candidate 

during the first year of employment. Responsibilities of 

the mentor include, but are not limited to, the following: 

(a) Collaborate with the beginning teacher in the 

development and implementation of an individualized 

professional development plan; 
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(b) Observe, assess, coach, and provide opportunities for 

constructive feedback, including strategies for self-

reflection; 

(c) Share resources and materials; 

(d) Share best instructional, assessment, and 

organizational practices; classroom and behavior 

management strategies; and techniques for promoting 

effective communication; and 

(e) Provide general support and direction regarding 

school policies and procedures. 

(4) Upon completion of Levels I and II of the career 

switcher alternate route to licensure program and 

submission of a recommendation from the Virginia 

educational employing agency, the candidate will be 

eligible to apply for a five-year, renewable license. 

Renewal requirements for the regular license will be 

subject to current regulations of the Virginia Board of 

Education. 

c. Level III preparation, if required. 

(1) Post preparation, if required, will be conducted by the 

Virginia employing educational agency to address the 

areas where improvement is needed as identified in the 

candidate's professional improvement plan; and 

(2) Upon completion of Levels I, II, and III of the career 

switcher alternate route to licensure program and 

submission of a recommendation from the Virginia 

educational employing agency, the candidate will be 

eligible to receive a five-year renewable license. 

4. Verification of program completion will be documented 

by the certified program provider and the division 

superintendent or designee. 

5. Certified providers implementing a career switcher 

program may charge a fee for participation in the program. 

B. An alternate route is available to individuals employed by 

an educational agency who seek teaching endorsements preK 

through grade 12. The employing Virginia educational 

agency may request a nonrenewable Provisional License on 

behalf of the individual if the individual has completed an 

allowable portion of professional studies and endorsement 

requirements. This route is also applicable to individuals who 

are employed by a Virginia public school, a Virginia 

accredited nonpublic school, or an accredited virtual school or 

program and who are seeking the Online Teacher License that 

is issued to teachers who teach only online courses. The 

Provisional License will be issued for two years. Individuals 

may apply for a third year on the Provisional License by 

submitting documentation indicating that all licensure 

assessments prescribed by the Virginia Board of Education 

have been taken. The Provisional License is a nonrenewable 

teaching license valid for a period not to exceed three years. 

Individuals must complete all licensure requirements to 

become eligible for the five-year, renewable license. 

1. An individual seeking a license through this alternate 

route must have met the following requirements: 

a. Entered the teaching field through the alternate route to 

licensure upon the recommendation of the Virginia 

employing educational agency. For the Online Teacher 

Provisional License, individuals must be employed by a 

Virginia public school division, a Virginia accredited 

nonpublic school, or an accredited virtual school or 

program; 

b. Earned a baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university with the exception of 

individuals seeking the Technical Professional License; 

c. Have met requirements for the endorsement area; and 

d. Need to complete an allowable portion of professional 

studies and licensure requirements. 

2. The professional studies requirements for the 

appropriate level of endorsement sought must be 

completed. A Virginia educational agency may submit to 

the Superintendent of Public Instruction for approval an 

alternate program to meet the professional studies 

requirements. The alternate program must include training 

(e.g., seminar, internship, coursework, etc.) in human 

development and learning; curriculum and instruction, 

including technology; assessment of and for learning; 

classroom and behavior management; the teaching 

profession, including legal status of teachers and students, 

federal and state laws, and teacher evaluation as prescribed 

by Virginia's Guidelines for Uniform Performance 

Standards and Evaluation Criteria for Teachers; and 

reading. 

3. One year of successful, full-time teaching experience in 

the appropriate teaching area in a Virginia public or an 

accredited nonpublic school must be completed. For the 

Online Teacher License only, one year of successful online 

teaching experience in the endorsement area in a public 

school division, an accredited nonpublic school, or an 

accredited virtual school or program may be accepted in 

lieu of the supervised teaching experience. A fully licensed 

experienced teacher must be available in the school 

building to assist the beginning teacher employed through 

the alternate route. 

C. Alternate route in special education. The Provisional 

(Special Education) License is a nonrenewable teaching 

license issued to an individual employed as a special 

education teacher in a public school or a nonpublic special 

education school in Virginia who does not hold the 

appropriate special education endorsement. The Provisional 

(Special Education) License will be issued for two years. 

Individuals may apply for a third year on the Provisional 

License by submitting documentation indicating that all 

licensure assessments prescribed by the Virginia Board of 

Education have been taken. The Provisional License is a 

nonrenewable teaching license valid for a period not to 

exceed three years. This alternate route to special education is 
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not applicable to individuals seeking the Online Teacher 

License. To be issued the Provisional (Special Education) 

License through this alternate route, an individual must meet 

the requirements through one of the two following options: 

1. Option I. The individual must hold a full, valid 

Collegiate Professional or Postgraduate Professional 

License and must: 

a. Be employed by a Virginia public or nonpublic school 

as a special educator and have the recommendation of the 

employing educational agency; 

b. Have earned a baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university; 

c. Have an assigned mentor with an active Virginia 

teaching license with an endorsement in special 

education; and 

d. Have a planned program of study in the assigned 

endorsement area, make progress toward meeting the 

endorsement requirements each of the three years of the 

license, and have completed at least three semester hours 

of coursework in the competencies of foundations for 

educating students with disabilities and an understanding 

and application of the legal aspects and regulatory 

requirements associated with identification, education, 

and evaluation of students with disabilities. A survey 

course integrating these competencies would satisfy this 

requirement.  

The Provisional (Special Education) License through this 

alternate route shall not be issued without the completion 

of these prerequisites. 

2. Option II. The individual must: 

a. Be employed by a Virginia public or nonpublic school 

as a special educator and have the recommendation of the 

employing educational agency; 

b. Have earned a baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university; 

c. Have an assigned mentor endorsed in special 

education; and  

d. Have a planned program of study in the assigned 

endorsement area, make progress toward meeting the 

endorsement requirements each of the three years of the 

license, and have completed nine semester hours 

including courses in the following: characteristics of 

students with disabilities, individualized education 

program implementation, and classroom and behavior 

management.  

The Provisional (Special Education) License through this 

alternate route shall not be issued without the completion 

of these prerequisites. 

D. Alternate programs at institutions of higher education or 

Virginia school divisions. Alternate programs developed by 

institutions of higher education (i) recognize the unique 

strengths of prospective teachers from nontraditional 

backgrounds and (ii) prepare these individuals to meet the 

same standards that are established for others who are granted 

a license through an alternate route. 

E. Experiential learning. Individuals applying for an initial 

teaching license through the alternate route as prescribed by 

the Virginia Board of Education must meet the following 

criteria to be eligible to request experiential learning to satisfy 

the coursework for the endorsement (teaching) content area: 

1. Have earned a baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university; 

2. Have at least five years of documented full-time work 

experience that may include specialized training related to 

the endorsement sought; and 

3. Have met the qualifying score on the content knowledge 

assessment prescribed by the Virginia Board of Education. 

Experiential learning does not apply to individuals seeking 

special education and elementary education (i.e., preK-3 and 

preK-6) endorsements or endorsements in which there is no 

Virginia Board of Education prescribed content or subject 

assessment. 

8VAC20-23-100. Conditions for licensure for out-of-state 

candidates by reciprocity. 

A. An individual coming into Virginia from any state may 

qualify for a Virginia teaching license with comparable 

endorsement areas if the individual (i) has completed a state-

approved teacher preparation program through a regionally 

accredited four-year college or university or (ii) holds a valid 

out-of-state teaching license (i.e., full credential without 

deficiencies) that must be in force at the time the application 

for a Virginia license is made. An individual seeking 

licensure must establish a file in the Department of Education 

by submitting a complete application packet that includes 

official student transcripts. Unless exempted by the criteria in 

subsection C of this section, professional teacher's 

assessments prescribed by the Virginia Board of Education 

must be satisfied. 

B. An individual coming into Virginia will qualify for a 

Virginia teaching license with comparable endorsement areas 

if the individual holds an active national certification from the 

National Board for Professional Teaching Standards 

(NBPTS) or a nationally recognized certification program 

approved by the Virginia Board of Education. 

C. Individuals who hold a valid out-of-state license (i.e., full 

credential without deficiencies) and who have completed a 

minimum of three years of full-time, successful teaching 

experience in a public or an accredited nonpublic school, 

kindergarten through grade 12, outside of Virginia are exempt 

from the professional teacher's assessment requirements. 

Documentation must be submitted to verify the school's status 

as a public or accredited nonpublic school. 

8VAC20-23-110. Requirements for renewing a license. 

A. The Division Superintendent, Postgraduate Professional, 

Collegiate Professional, Technical Professional, Pupil 
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Personnel Services, Online Teacher, and School Manager 

Licenses may be renewed upon the completion of 180 

professional development points within a five-year validity 

period based on an individualized professional development 

plan that includes ongoing, sustained, and high-quality 

professional development. 

B. An individual who holds an expired license must submit 

a completed licensure application at the time a licensure 

renewal request is submitted.  

C. Virginia public school divisions and public education 

agencies must report annually to the Virginia Department of 

Education that instructional personnel have completed high-

quality professional development each year as set forth by the 

Virginia Department of Education. 

D. Any individual licensed and endorsed to teach (i) middle 

school civics or economics or (ii) high school government or 

history who is seeking renewal of such license is required to 

demonstrate knowledge of Virginia history or state and local 

government by completing a module or professional 

development course specifically related to Virginia history or 

state and local government that has a value of five 

professional development points. This requirement applies for 

purposes of the individual's next or initial renewal occurring 

after July 1, 2014. 

E. If the requirement has not been met for initial licensure or 

licensure renewal, individuals seeking renewal of a license 

shall provide evidence of completion of certification or 

training in emergency first aid, cardiopulmonary 

resuscitation, and the use of automated external defibrillators. 

The certification or training program shall be based on the 

current national evidence-based emergency cardiovascular 

care guidelines for cardiopulmonary resuscitation and the use 

of an automated external defibrillator, such as a program 

developed by the American Heart Association or the 

American Red Cross. The Virginia Board of Education shall 

provide a waiver for this requirement for any person with a 

disability whose disability prohibits such person from 

completing the certification or training. 

F. Professional development points may be accrued by the 

completion of professional development activities to improve 

and increase instructional personnel's knowledge of the 

academic subjects the teachers teach or the area assigned 

from one or more of the following eight options. 

1. College credit. Acceptable coursework offers content 

that provides new information and is offered on campus, 

off campus, or through extension by any regionally 

accredited two-year or four-year college or university. 

College coursework must develop further experiences in 

subject content taught, teaching strategies, uses of 

technologies, leadership, and other essential elements in 

teaching to high standards and increasing student learning. 

Instructional personnel must complete coursework to 

improve and increase the knowledge of the academic 

subjects or endorsement areas in which they are assigned. 

Individuals who do not hold a graduate degree must refer 

to subsection G of this section. 

2. Professional conference. A professional conference is a 

workshop, institute, or seminar of four or more hours that 

contributes to ongoing, sustained, and high-quality 

professional development. 

3. Curriculum development. Curriculum development is a 

group activity in which the license holder contributes to the 

improvement of the curriculum of a school, a school 

division, or an education institution in the teaching area 

assigned. This includes the alignment of curriculum 

frameworks, instructional materials, and assessments to 

provide a system with clear expectations of what is to be 

taught and learned. 

4. Publication of article. The article must contribute to the 

education profession or to the body of knowledge of the 

license holder's teaching area or instructional position. 

Grant reports that present the results of educational 

research are acceptable provided the license holder had an 

active role in planning, analyzing, interpreting, 

demonstrating, disseminating, or evaluating the study or 

innovation. The article must be published in a recognized 

professional journal. 

5. Publication of book. Books must be published for 

purchase and must contribute to the education profession 

or to the body of knowledge of the license holder's 

teaching area or instructional position. The published book 

must increase the field of content knowledge; planning and 

assessment for evaluating and providing students with 

feedback that encourages student progress and measures 

student achievement; instruction, safety, and learning 

environment; and communication and community relations 

working with students, parents, and members of the 

community to promote broad support for student learning. 

Points will not be awarded for self-published books. 

6. Mentorship. Mentoring is the process by which an 

experienced professional who has received mentorship 

training provides assistance to one or more persons for the 

purpose of improving their performance. Assistance may 

involve role modeling, direct instruction, demonstration, 

observation with feedback, developing of plans, and 

consultation to promote instructional excellence and 

increased student achievement. Mentoring may include the 

supervision of a field experience of a pre-service student 

teacher or an intern in an approved teacher or principal 

preparation program, as well as mentoring as part of the 

induction process for a beginning teacher or a first-year 

administrator. Individuals serving in this role and 

submitting documentation for license renewal based on the 

mentorship option shall receive training as a mentor prior 

to the assignment and at least once during the five-year 

renewal cycle. 

7. Educational project. Educational projects must be 

planned, focused projects based on high standards of 
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teaching and learning. Projects must result in a written 

report or other tangible product. Projects must contribute to 

the education profession or to the body of knowledge of 

the license holder's teaching area or instructional position. 

A project could include participation in new professional 

responsibilities, such as leading a school improvement 

initiative. 

8. Professional development activity. Professional 

development activities must focus on student learning and 

achievement, schoolwide educational improvement, 

leadership, subject content, teaching strategies, and use of 

technologies and other essential elements in teaching to 

high standards. Activities must be planned, rigorous, 

systematic, and promote continuous inquiry and reflection. 

Local employing educational agencies are encouraged to 

design professional development activities that are 

conducted in school settings and linked to student learning 

and achievement. 

G. A minimum of 90 points (i.e., three semester hours in a 

content area) at the undergraduate (i.e., two-year or four-year 

institution) or graduate level earned from a regionally 

accredited college or university in the license holder's 

endorsement areas shall be required of license holders 

without a master's degree. With prior approval, exceptions to 

the content course requirement may be made by the division 

superintendent or principal. Special education coursework 

designed to assist classroom teachers and other school 

personnel in working with students with disabilities, a course 

in gifted education, a course in educational technology, or a 

course in English as a second language may be completed to 

satisfy the content course requirement. Professional 

development activities designed to support the Virginia 

Standards of Learning, Standards of Accreditation, and state 

assessments may be accepted in lieu of the content course. An 

individual without a master's degree who holds a renewable 

Online Teacher License may complete pedagogy of online 

instruction coursework to meet this requirement. The 

substance of the activities must clearly support these 

initiatives and address one or more of the following areas: (i) 

new content knowledge to implement the Virginia Standards 

of Learning, (ii) curriculum development initiative designed 

to translate the standards from standards to classroom 

objectives, (iii) teaching beginning reading skills including 

phonemic awareness and the structure of language (i.e., 

phonics), (iv) staff development activities in assessment to 

assist classroom teachers in the utilization of test results to 

improve classroom instruction, and (v) professional 

development designed to implement the technology standards 

in the schools. Technical Professional License holders 

without baccalaureate degrees may satisfy the requirement 

through career and technical education workshops, career and 

technical education institutes, or through undergraduate 

coursework at two-year or four-year institutions. 

H. Content area courses are courses at the undergraduate 

level (i.e., two-year or four-year institution) or at the graduate 

level that will not duplicate previous courses taken in the 

humanities, English, history and social sciences, sciences, 

mathematics, health and physical education, and fine arts. 

These courses are usually available through the college of or 

department of arts and sciences. License holders with 

elementary education, middle education, special education, or 

reading endorsements must satisfy the 90-point requirement 

through reading coursework or content coursework in one of 

the areas listed in this subsection. Courses available through a 

regionally accredited college's or university's department of 

education may be used to satisfy the content requirement for 

those license holders with endorsements in health and 

physical education, career and technical education, and 

library science education. 

I. With prior approval of the division superintendent or 

principal, the 90 points in a content area also may be satisfied 

through coursework taken to obtain a new teaching 

endorsement or coursework taken because of a particular 

need of a particular teacher. 

J. The remaining 90 points may be accrued by activities 

drawn from one or more of the eight renewal options. 

Renewal work is designed to provide licensed personnel with 

opportunities for professional development relative to the 

grade levels or teaching fields to which they are assigned or 

for which they seek an added endorsement. Such professional 

development encompasses (i) responsible remediation of any 

area of an individual's knowledge or skills that fails to meet 

the standards of competency and (ii) responsible efforts to 

increase the individual's knowledge of new developments in 

his field and to respond to new curricular demands within the 

individual's area of professional competence. 

K. The proposed work toward renewal in certain options 

must be approved in advance by the chief executive officer or 

designee of the employing educational agency. Persons who 

are not employed by an educational agency may renew or 

reinstate their license by submitting to the Office of 

Professional Licensure, Department of Education, their 

individualized renewal record and verification of points, 

including official student transcripts of coursework taken at a 

regionally accredited two-year or four-year college or 

university. 

L. Accrual of professional development points shall be 

determined by criteria set forth by the Virginia Department of 

Education in the Virginia Renewal Manual 

(http://doe.virginia.gov/teaching/licensure/licensure_renewal_

manual.pdf). 

M. Persons seeking license renewal as teachers must 

demonstrate proficiency in the use of educational technology 

for instruction. 

N. Virginia school divisions and nonpublic schools will 

recommend renewal of licenses using the renewal point 

system. The renewal recommendation must include 

verification of demonstrated proficiency in the use of 

educational technology for instruction. 

http://doe.virginia.gov/teaching/licensure/licensure_renewal_manual.pdf
http://doe.virginia.gov/teaching/licensure/licensure_renewal_manual.pdf
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O. Training in instructional methods tailored to promote 

academic progress and effective preparation for the Standards 

of Learning tests and end-of-grade assessments is required for 

licensure renewal. 

P. If they have not already met the requirement, persons 

seeking licensure renewal as teachers must complete study in 

child abuse recognition and intervention in accordance with 

curriculum guidelines developed by the Virginia Board of 

Education in consultation with the Virginia Department of 

Social Services that are relevant to the specific teacher 

licensure routes. 

Part IV  

Licensure Regulations Governing Early/Primary Education, 

Elementary Education, and Middle Education Endorsements 

8VAC20-23-120. Early/primary education, elementary 

education, and middle education endorsements. 

Individuals seeking licensure with endorsements in 

early/primary education, elementary education, and middle 

education may meet requirements through the completion of 

an approved program or if employed by a Virginia public or 

nonpublic school through the alternate route to licensure. 

Components of the licensure program include a degree from a 

regionally accredited college or university in the liberal arts 

and sciences, or equivalent; professional teacher's 

assessments requirement prescribed by the Virginia Board of 

Education; specific endorsement requirements; and 

professional studies requirements. 

8VAC20-23-130. Professional studies requirements. 

Professional studies requirements for early/primary 

education, elementary education, and middle education: 21 

semester hours. These requirements may be taught in 

integrated coursework or modules. 

1. Human development and learning (birth through 

adolescence): 3 semester hours.  

a. Skills in this area shall contribute to an understanding 

of the physical, social, emotional, speech and language, 

and intellectual development of children and the ability 

to use this understanding in guiding learning experiences 

and relating meaningfully to students.  

b. The interaction of children with individual 

differences - economic, social, racial, ethnic, religious, 

physical, and mental - should be incorporated to include 

skills contributing to an understanding of developmental 

disabilities and developmental issues related to but not 

limited to low socioeconomic status, attention deficit 

disorders, developmental disorders, gifted education 

including the use of multiple criteria to identify gifted 

students, substance abuse, child abuse, and family 

disruptions. 

2. Curriculum and instruction: 3 semester hours. 

a. Early/primary education preK-3 or elementary 

education preK-6 curriculum and instruction: 3 semester 

hours.  

(1) Skills in this area shall contribute to an understanding 

of the principles of learning; the application of skills in 

discipline-specific methodology; effective 

communication with and among students; selection and 

use of materials, including media and contemporary 

technologies; and selection, development, and use of 

appropriate curricula, methodologies, and materials that 

support and enhance student learning and reflect the 

research on unique, age-appropriate, and culturally 

relevant curriculum and pedagogy.  

(2) Understanding of the principles of online learning and 

online instructional strategies and the application of skills 

to deliver online instruction must be included.  

(3) Instructional practices that are sensitive to culturally 

and linguistically diverse learners, including limited 

English proficient students, gifted and talented students, 

and those students with disabilities; and appropriate for 

the level of endorsement (i.e., preK-3 or preK-6) sought 

shall be included.  

(4) Teaching methods shall be tailored to promote 

student engagement and student academic progress and 

effective preparation for the Standards of Learning 

assessments.  

(5) Study in (i) methods of improving communication 

between schools and families, (ii) communicating with 

families regarding social and instructional needs of 

children, (iii) ways of increasing family involvement in 

student learning at home and in school, (iv) the Virginia 

Standards of Learning, and (v) Virginia Foundation 

Blocks for Early Learning: Comprehensive Standards for 

Four-Year-Olds prepared by the department's Office of 

Humanities and Early Childhood shall be included.  

(6) Early childhood educators must understand the role of 

families in child development and in relation to teaching 

educational skills.  

(7) Early childhood educators must understand the role of 

the informal and play-mediated settings for promoting 

students' skills and development and must demonstrate 

knowledge and skill in interacting in such situations to 

promote specific learning outcomes as reflected in 

Virginia's Foundation Blocks for Early Learning. 

Demonstrated proficiency in the use of educational 

technology for instruction shall be included. Persons 

seeking initial licensure as teachers and persons seeking 

licensure renewal as teachers for the first time shall 

complete study in child abuse recognition and 

intervention in accordance with curriculum guidelines 

developed by the Virginia Board of Education in 

consultation with the Virginia Department of Social 

Services that are relevant to the specific teacher licensure 

routes. Pre-student teaching experiences (i.e., field 

experiences) should be evident within these skills. 

b. Middle education 6-8 curriculum and instruction: 3 

semester hours.  
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(1) Skills in this area shall contribute to an understanding 

of the principles of learning; the application of skills in 

discipline-specific methodology; effective 

communication with and among students; and selection 

and use of materials, including media and contemporary 

technologies. 

(2) Understanding of the principles of online learning and 

online instructional strategies and the application of skills 

to deliver online instruction must be included.  

(3) Instructional practices that are sensitive to culturally 

and linguistically diverse learners including limited 

English proficient students, gifted and talented students, 

and students with disabilities, and must be appropriate 

for the middle education endorsement shall be included.  

(4) Teaching methods shall be tailored to promote 

student engagement and student academic progress and 

effective preparation for the Virginia Standards of 

Learning assessments.  

(5) Study in methods of improving communication 

between schools and families, ways of increasing family 

involvement in student learning at home and in school, 

and the Standards of Learning shall be included.  

(6) Demonstrated proficiency in the use of educational 

technology for instruction shall be included.  

(7) Persons seeking initial licensure as teachers and 

persons seeking licensure renewal as teachers for the first 

time shall complete study in child abuse recognition and 

intervention in accordance with curriculum guidelines 

developed by the Virginia Board of Education in 

consultation with the Virginia Department of Social 

Services that are relevant to the specific teacher licensure 

routes. Pre-student teaching experiences (i.e., field 

experiences) should be evident within these skills. 

3. Classroom and behavior management: 3 semester hours.  

a. Skills in this area shall contribute to an understanding 

and application of research-based classroom and 

behavior management techniques, classroom community 

building, positive behavior supports, and individual 

interventions, including techniques that promote 

emotional well-being and teach and maintain behavioral 

conduct and skills consistent with norms, standards, and 

rules of the educational environment.  

b. This area shall address diverse approaches based upon 

behavioral, cognitive, affective, social and ecological 

theory and practice.  

c. Approaches should support professionally appropriate 

practices that promote positive redirection of behavior, 

development of social skills, and of self discipline.  

d. Knowledge and an understanding of various school 

crisis management and safety plans and the demonstrated 

ability to create a safe, orderly classroom environment 

must be included.  

e. The link between classroom management and students' 

ages must be understood and demonstrated in techniques 

used in the classroom. 

4. Assessment of and for learning: 3 semester hours.  

a. Skills in this area shall be designed to develop an 

understanding and application of creating, selecting, and 

implementing valid and reliable classroom-based 

assessments of student learning, including formative and 

summative assessments. Assessments designed and 

adapted to meet the needs of diverse learners must be 

addressed.  

b. Analytical skills necessary to inform ongoing planning 

and instruction, as well as to understand, and help 

students understand their own progress and growth must 

be included.  

c. Skills also include the relationships among assessment, 

instruction, and monitoring student progress to include 

student performance measures in grading practices, the 

ability to interpret valid assessments using a variety of 

formats in order to measure student attainment of 

essential skills in a standards-based environment, and the 

ability to analyze assessment data to make decisions 

about how to improve instruction and student 

performance.  

d. Understanding of state assessment programs and 

accountability systems, including assessments used for 

student achievement goal setting as related to teacher 

evaluation and determining student academic progress 

must be included.  

e. Knowledge of legal and ethical aspects of assessment, 

and skills for developing familiarity with assessments 

used in preK-12 education (e.g., diagnostic, college 

admission exams, industry certifications, and placement 

assessments) must be included. 

5. The teaching profession: 3 semester hours.  

a. Skills in this area shall be designed to develop an 

understanding of the historical, philosophical, and 

sociological foundations underlying the role, 

development, and organization of public education in the 

United States.  

b. Attention must be given to the legal status of teachers 

and students, including federal and state laws and 

regulations; school as an organization and culture; and 

contemporary issues and current trends in education, 

including the impact of technology on education. Local, 

state, and federal governance of schools, including the 

roles of teachers and schools in communities, must be 

included.  

c. Professionalism and ethical standards, as well as 

personal integrity must be addressed.  

d. Knowledge and understanding of Virginia's Guidelines 

for Uniform Performance Standards and Evaluation 

Criteria for Teachers must be included.  
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6. Reading: 6 semester hours. 

a. Early/primary preK-3 and elementary education preK-

6 - language acquisition and reading and writing: 6 

semester hours. Skills listed for these endorsement areas 

represent the minimum competencies that a beginning 

teacher must be able to demonstrate. These skills are not 

intended to limit the scope of a beginning teacher's 

program. Additional knowledge and skills that add to a 

beginning teacher's competencies to deliver instruction 

and improve student achievement should be included as 

part of a quality learning experience. 

(1) Language acquisition: 3 semester hours. Skills in this 

area shall be designed to impart a thorough 

understanding of the Virginia English Standards of 

Learning as well as the complex nature of language 

acquisition as a precursor to literacy. Language 

acquisition shall follow the typical development of 

linguistic competence in the areas of phonetics, 

semantics, syntax, morphology, phonology, and 

pragmatics. 

(2) Reading and writing: 3 semester hours. Skills in this 

area shall be designed to impart a thorough 

understanding of the Virginia English Standards of 

Learning as well as the reciprocal nature of reading and 

writing. Reading shall include phonemic awareness, 

concept of print, phonics, fluency, vocabulary 

development, and comprehension strategies. Writing 

shall include writing strategies and conventions as 

supporting the composing and writing expression and 

usage and mechanics domains. Additional skills shall 

include proficiency in understanding the stages of 

spelling development, the writing process, as well as the 

ability to foster appreciation of a variety of fiction and 

nonfiction texts and independent reading.  

b. Middle education - language acquisition and reading 

development: 3 semester hours and literacy in the content 

areas: 3 semester hours.  

(1) Language acquisition and reading development: 3 

semester hours. Skills in this area shall be designed to 

impart a thorough understanding of the complex nature 

of language acquisition and reading, to include phonemic 

awareness, phonics, fluency, vocabulary development, 

and comprehension strategies for adolescent learners. 

Additional skills shall include proficiency in writing 

strategies as well as the ability to foster appreciation of a 

variety of fiction and nonfiction texts and independent 

reading for adolescent learners. 

(2) Literacy in the content areas: 3 semester hours. Skills 

in this area shall be designed to impart an understanding 

of vocabulary development and comprehension skills in 

English, mathematics, science, history and social science, 

and other content areas. Strategies include teaching 

students how to ask effective questions, summarize and 

retell both verbally and in writing, and to listen 

effectively. Teaching strategies include literal, 

interpretive, critical, and evaluative comprehension, as 

well as the ability to foster appreciation of a variety of 

fiction and nonfiction texts and independent reading for 

adolescent readers. 

7. Supervised clinical experience. Supervised clinical 

experiences shall be continuous and systematic and 

comprised of early field experiences and a minimum of 10 

weeks of full-time student teaching under the supervision 

of a cooperating teacher with demonstrated effectiveness in 

the classroom. The summative supervised student teaching 

experience shall include at least 150 clock hours spent in 

direct teaching at the level of endorsement. One year of 

successful full-time teaching experience in the 

endorsement area in a public or accredited nonpublic 

school may be accepted in lieu of the supervised teaching 

experience. For the Online Teacher License only, one year 

of successful online teaching experience in the 

endorsement area in a public school, an accredited 

nonpublic school, or an accredited virtual school or 

program may be accepted in lieu of the supervised teaching 

experience. A fully licensed, experienced teacher shall be 

available in the school building to assist a beginning 

teacher employed through the alternate route. 

8VAC20-23-140. Early childhood for three-year-olds and 

four-year-olds (add-on endorsement). 

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have: 

1. An earned baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university and hold a license issued 

by the Virginia Board of Education with an endorsement in 

elementary education (such as preK-3 or preK-6) or special 

education early childhood; 

2. Completed 9 semester hours of graduate-level 

coursework in early childhood education; and 

3. Completed a supervised practicum of at least 45 

instructional hours in a preschool setting (i.e., three-year-

olds and four-year-olds) in a public school, an accredited 

nonpublic school, or another program approved by the 

Virginia Board of Education. One year of successful, full-

time teaching experience in a public or accredited 

nonpublic school may be accepted in lieu of the practicum. 

4. The add-on endorsement to an elementary endorsement 

that includes preK is not required to teach preK (i.e., three-

year-olds and four-year-olds), but the endorsement 

recognizes the candidate's additional preparation in early 

childhood education.  

8VAC20-23-150. Early/primary education preK-3. 

Endorsement requirements. 

1. The candidate must have graduated from an approved 

teacher preparation program in early/primary education 

preK-3; or 

2. The candidate for the early/primary education preK-3 

endorsement must have earned a baccalaureate degree 
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from a regionally accredited college or university in the 

liberal arts and sciences, or equivalent, and completed 

coursework that covers the early/primary education preK-3 

competencies and fulfills the following 51 semester-hour 

requirements: 

a. English (must include composition, oral 

communication, and literature): 12 semester hours; or 

complete 6 semester hours in English and pass a rigorous 

elementary subject test prescribed by the Virginia Board 

of Education; 

b. Mathematics (must include algebra, geometry, 

probability and statistics, and methods in teaching 

elementary mathematics): 12 semester hours; or complete 

6 semester hours in mathematics, complete a methods in 

teaching elementary mathematics course (3 semester 

hours), and pass a rigorous elementary subject test 

prescribed by the Virginia Board of Education; 

c. Laboratory sciences: 12 semester hours (in at least two 

science disciplines and methods in teaching elementary 

science); or complete 6 semester hours in laboratory 

science (in two science disciplines), complete a methods 

in teaching elementary science course (3 semester hours), 

and pass a rigorous elementary subject test prescribed by 

the Virginia Board of Education; 

d. History (must include American history and world 

history): 6 semester hours, and Social Science (must 

include geography and economics): 6 semester hours; or 

complete 3 semester hours in history, complete 3 

semester hours in social science (geography or 

economics), and pass a rigorous elementary subject test 

prescribed by the Virginia Board of Education; and 

e. Arts: 3 semester hours. 

8VAC20-23-160. Elementary education preK-6. 

Endorsement requirements. 

1. The candidate shall have graduated from an approved 

teacher preparation program in elementary education preK-

6; or 

2. The candidate for the elementary education preK-6 

endorsement must have earned a baccalaureate degree 

from a regionally accredited college or university majoring 

in the liberal arts and sciences (or equivalent) and fulfill 

the following 57 semester-hour requirements: 

a. English (must include composition, oral 

communication, and literature): 12 semester hours; or 

complete 6 semester hours in English and pass a rigorous 

elementary subject test prescribed by the Virginia Board 

of Education; 

b. Mathematics (must include algebra, geometry, 

probability and statistics, and teaching elementary 

mathematics): 15 semester hours; or complete 6 hours in 

mathematics, complete a methods in teaching elementary 

mathematics course (3 semester hours), and pass a 

rigorous elementary subject test prescribed by the 

Virginia Board of Education; 

c. Science (including a laboratory course): 15 semester 

hours in at least three science disciplines and at least a 

three credit science methods course; or complete 6 

semester hours (in two science disciplines), complete a 

methods in teaching elementary science course (3 

semester hours), and pass a rigorous elementary subject 

test prescribed by the Virginia Board of Education; 

d. History (must include American history and world 

history): 6 semester hours, and Social Science (must 

include geography and economics): 6 semester hours; or 

complete 3 semester hours in history, complete 3 

semester hours in social science (geography or 

economics), and pass a rigorous elementary subject test 

prescribed by the Virginia Board of Education; and 

e. Arts: 3 semester hours. 

8VAC20-23-170. Middle education 6-8. 

Endorsement requirements. 

1. The candidate must have graduated from an approved 

teacher preparation discipline-specific program in middle 

education 6-8 with at least one area of academic 

preparation from the areas of English, mathematics, 

science, and history and social sciences; or 

2. An applicant seeking the middle education 6-8 

endorsement must have earned a baccalaureate degree 

from a regionally accredited college or university in the 

liberal arts and sciences, or equivalent; and completed the 

minimum number of semester hours, as indicated, in at 

least one area of academic preparation (i.e., concentration) 

that will be listed on the license. The applicant will be 

restricted to teaching only in the area or areas of 

concentration listed on the teaching license. 

a. English. English concentration (must include 

coursework in language, for example history, structure, 

grammar, fiction and nonfiction texts, media literacy, 

advanced composition, and interpersonal communication 

or speech): 21 semester hours. 

b. Mathematics. Mathematics concentration (must 

include coursework in algebra, geometry, probability and 

statistics, applications of mathematics, and methods of 

teaching mathematics to include middle school 

mathematics content): 24 semester hours. 

c. Science. Science concentration (must include courses 

in each of the following: biology, chemistry, physics, and 

Earth and space science; and a laboratory course is 

required in two of the four areas): 21 semester hours. 

d. History and social sciences. History and social 

sciences concentration (must include a course in 

American history; world history; economics; American 

government, including state and local government; and 

geography): 21 semester hours. 
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Part V  

Licensure Regulations Governing PreK-12 Endorsements, 

Special Education, Secondary Grades 6-12 Endorsements, 

and Adult Education 

8VAC20-23-180. PreK-12 endorsements, special 

education, secondary grades 6-12 endorsements, and adult 

education. 

Individuals seeking licensure with preK-12 endorsements, 

special education, secondary grades 6-12 endorsements, or 

adult education may meet requirements through the 

completion of an approved program or if employed by a 

Virginia public or nonpublic school through the alternate 

route to licensure. Components of the licensure program 

include a degree from a regionally accredited college or 

university in the liberal arts and sciences, or equivalent; 

professional teacher's assessment requirements prescribed by 

the Virginia Board of Education; specific endorsement 

requirements; and professional studies requirements. 

8VAC20-23-190. Professional studies requirements. 

Professional studies requirements for adult education, preK-

12 endorsements, and secondary grades 6-12 endorsements: 

18 semester hours. Professional studies requirements for 

special education: 21 semester hours. These requirements 

may be taught in integrated coursework or modules. 

1. Human development and learning (birth through 

adolescence): 3 semester hours.  

a. Skills in this area shall contribute to an understanding 

of the physical, social, emotional, speech and language, 

and intellectual development of children and the ability 

to use this understanding in guiding learning experiences.  

b. The interaction of children with individual differences 

- economic, social, racial, ethnic, religious, physical, and 

mental - should be incorporated to include skills 

contributing to an understanding of developmental 

disabilities and developmental issues related to but not 

limited to low socioeconomic status, attention deficit 

disorders, developmental disabilities, gifted education 

including the use of multiple criteria to identify gifted 

students, substance abuse, child abuse, and family 

disruptions. 

2. Curriculum and instruction: 3 semester hours.  

a. Skills in this area shall contribute to an understanding 

of the principles of learning; the application of skills in 

discipline-specific methodology; effective 

communication with and among students; selection and 

use of materials, including media and contemporary 

technologies; selection, development, and use of 

appropriate curricula, methodologies, and materials that 

support and enhance student learning and reflect the 

research on unique, age-appropriate, and culturally 

relevant curriculum and pedagogy.  

b. Understanding of the principles of online learning and 

online instructional strategies and the application of skills 

to deliver online instruction must be included.  

c. Instructional practices that are sensitive to culturally 

and linguistically diverse learners, including limited 

English proficient students; gifted and talented students 

and those students with disabilities; and appropriate for 

the level of endorsement sought shall be included.  

d. Teaching methods shall be tailored to promote student 

academic progress and effective preparation for the 

Virginia Standards of Learning assessments.  

e. Methods of improving communication between 

schools and families, ways of increasing family 

involvement in student learning at home and in school, 

and the Virginia Standards of Learning shall be included.  

f. Demonstrated proficiency in the use of educational 

technology for instruction shall be included.  

g. Persons seeking initial licensure as teachers and 

persons seeking licensure renewal as teachers for the first 

time shall complete study in child abuse recognition and 

intervention in accordance with curriculum guidelines 

developed by the Virginia Board of Education in 

consultation with the Virginia Department of Social 

Services that are relevant to the specific teacher licensure 

routes.  

h. Curriculum and instruction for secondary grades 6-12 

endorsements shall include middle and secondary 

education. Pre-student teaching experiences (i.e., field 

experiences) should be evident within these skills. For 

preK-12, field experiences shall be at the elementary, 

middle, and secondary levels. 

3. Assessment of and for learning: 3 semester hours.  

a. Skills in this area shall be designed to develop an 

understanding and application of creating, selecting, and 

implementing valid and reliable classroom-based 

assessments of student learning, including formative and 

summative assessments. Assessments designed and 

adapted to meet the needs of diverse learners must be 

addressed.  

b. Analytical skills necessary to inform ongoing planning 

and instruction, as well as to understand, and help 

students understand their own progress and growth must 

be included.  

c. Skills also include the relationships among assessment, 

instruction, and monitoring student progress to include 

student performance measures in grading practices, the 

ability to interpret valid assessments using a variety of 

formats in order to measure student attainment of 

essential skills in a standards-based environment, and the 

ability to analyze assessment data to make decisions 

about how to improve instruction and student 

performance.  
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d. Understanding of state assessment programs and 

accountability systems, including assessments used for 

student achievement goal setting as related to teacher 

evaluation and determining student academic progress, 

including knowledge of legal and ethical aspects of 

assessment.  

e. Develop familiarity with assessments used in preK-12 

education (e.g., diagnostic, college admission exams, 

industry certifications, placement assessments). 

4. The teaching profession: 3 semester hours.  

a. Skills in this area shall be designed to develop an 

understanding of the historical, philosophical, and 

sociological foundations underlying the role, 

development, and organization of public education in the 

United States.  

b. Attention must be given to the legal status of teachers 

and students, including federal and state laws and 

regulations, school as an organization and culture, and 

contemporary issues and current trends in education, 

including the impact of technology on education. Local, 

state, and federal governance of schools, including the 

roles of teachers and schools in communities must be 

included.  

c. Professionalism and ethical standards, as well as 

personal integrity must be addressed.  

d. Knowledge and understanding of Virginia's Guidelines 

for Uniform Performance Standards and Evaluation 

Criteria for Teachers must be included.  

5. Classroom and behavior management: 3 semester hours.  

a. Skills in this area shall contribute to an understanding 

and application of research-based classroom and 

behavior management techniques, classroom community 

building, positive behavior supports, and individual 

interventions, including techniques that promote 

emotional well-being and teach and maintain behavioral 

conduct and skills consistent with norms, standards, and 

rules of the educational environment.  

b. This area shall address diverse approaches based upon 

behavioral, cognitive, affective, social and ecological 

theory and practice.  

c. Approaches should support professionally appropriate 

practices that promote positive redirection of behavior, 

development of social skills and of self-discipline.  

d. Knowledge and an understanding of various school 

crisis management and safety plans and the ability to 

create a safe, orderly classroom environment must be 

included. The link between classroom management and 

the students' ages must be understood and demonstrated 

in techniques used in the classroom.  

6. Reading. 

a. Adult education, preK-12, and secondary grades 6-12 - 

literacy in the content areas: 3 semester hours. Skills in 

this area shall be designed to impart an understanding of 

vocabulary development and comprehension skills in 

English, mathematics, science, history and social science, 

and other content areas. Strategies include teaching 

students how to ask effective questions, summarize and 

retell both verbally and in writing, and listen effectively. 

Teaching strategies include literal, interpretive, critical, 

and evaluative comprehension, as well as the ability to 

foster appreciation of a variety of fiction and nonfiction 

texts and independent reading for adolescent learners. 

b. Special education - language acquisition and reading 

and writing: 6 semester hours. Skills listed for these 

endorsement areas represent the minimum competencies 

that a beginning teacher must be able to demonstrate. 

These skills are not intended to limit the scope of a 

beginning teacher's program. Additional knowledge and 

skills that add to a beginning teacher's competencies to 

deliver instruction and improve student achievement 

should be included as part of a quality learning 

experience. 

(1) Language acquisition: 3 semester hours. Skills in this 

area shall be designed to impart a thorough 

understanding of the Virginia English Standards of 

Learning as well as the complex nature of language 

acquisition as a precursor to literacy. Language 

acquisition shall follow the typical development of 

linguistic competence in the areas of phonetics, 

semantics, syntax, morphology, phonology, and 

pragmatics.  

(2) Reading and writing: 3 semester hours. Skills in this 

area shall be designed to impart a thorough 

understanding of the Virginia English Standards of 

Learning as well as the reciprocal nature of reading and 

writing. Reading shall include phonemic awareness, 

concept of print, phonics, fluency, vocabulary 

development, and comprehension strategies. Writing 

shall include writing strategies and conventions as 

supporting the composing and writing expression and 

usage and mechanics domains. Additional skills shall 

include proficiency in understanding the stages of 

spelling development, the writing process, as well as the 

ability to foster appreciation of a variety of fiction and 

nonfiction texts and independent reading. 

7. Supervised classroom experience. Supervised clinical 

experiences shall be continuous and systematic and 

comprised of early field experiences and a minimum of 10 

weeks of full-time student teaching under the supervision 

of a cooperating teacher with demonstrated effectiveness in 

the classroom. The summative supervised student teaching 

experience shall include at least 150 clock hours spent in 

direct teaching at the level of endorsement.  

If a preK-12 endorsement is sought, teaching activities 

shall be at the elementary and middle or secondary levels. 

Individuals seeking the endorsement in library media shall 
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complete the supervised school library media practicum in 

a school library media setting. Individuals seeking an 

endorsement in an area of special education shall complete 

the supervised classroom experience requirement in the 

area of special education for which the endorsement is 

sought. One year of successful full-time teaching 

experience in the endorsement area in a public or an 

accredited nonpublic school may be accepted in lieu of the 

supervised teaching experience. For the Online Teacher 

License only, one year of successful online teaching 

experience in the endorsement area in a public school, an 

accredited nonpublic school, or an accredited virtual school 

or program may be accepted in lieu of the supervised 

teaching experience. A fully licensed, experienced teacher 

shall be available in the school building to assist a 

beginning teacher employed through the alternate route. 

8VAC20-23-200. Adult education. 

A. Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have: 

1. Earned a baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university or hold a Collegiate 

Professional License; and 

2. A minimum of 15 semester hours in adult education that 

must include the following competencies and one semester 

of supervised successful full-time, or an equivalent number 

of hours of part-time experience, teaching of adults: 

a. Understanding of the nature or psychology of the adult 

learner or adult development; 

b. Understanding of the knowledge, skills, and processes 

needed for the selection, evaluation, and instructional 

applications of the methods and materials for adult basic 

skills including: 

(1) Curriculum development in adult basic education or 

General Educational Development (GED) instruction; 

(2) Beginning reading for adults; 

(3) Beginning mathematics for adults; 

(4) Reading comprehension for adult education; 

(5) Foundations of adult education; and 

(6) Other adult basic skills instruction. 

B. Individuals not holding a Collegiate Professional License 

or a Postgraduate Professional License must meet the 

professional teacher's assessment requirements prescribed by 

the Virginia Board of Education. 

8VAC20-23-210. Adult English as a second language (add-

on endorsement). 

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have: 

1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation 

program in adult English as a second language; or 

2. An earned baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university and hold a license issued 

by the Virginia Board of Education with an endorsement in 

a teaching area; and  

3. Completed 21 semester hours of coursework distributed 

in the following areas: 

a. Methods for teaching English as a second language to 

adults: 3 semester hours; 

b. English linguistics: 3 semester hours; 

c. Cross-cultural education: 3 semester hours; 

d. Modern foreign language: 6 semester hours; and 

e. Electives from the following areas: 6 semester hours: 

(1) Cross-cultural communication; 

(2) Second language acquisition; 

(3) General linguistics; 

(4) Teaching reading to adults; 

(5) Adult English as a second language instruction; or 

(6) Adult English as a second language curriculum 

development. 

8VAC20-23-220. Career and technical education – 

agricultural education. 

A. Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have: 

1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation 

program with a minimum of a baccalaureate degree from a 

regionally accredited college or university in agricultural 

education; or 

2. Completed 39 semester hours of coursework in 

agriculture, including at least three semester hours in each 

of the following areas in subdivisions 2 a through 2 f as 

well as a minimum of nine hours in one concentration area 

listed in the following areas subdivisions 2 a through 2 f: 

a. Plant science; 

b. Animal science; 

c. Agricultural mechanics and applied technology with a 

lab component; 

d. Agricultural economics and management; 

e. Forestry and wildlife management;  

f. Horticulture; and 

g. Supervised occupational experience, 3 semester hours, 

or one year of successful, full-time or the equivalent of 

relevant occupational experience (a minimum of 2,000 

cumulative hours) within the past five years. 

B. Technical Professional License. An endorsement in 

specialized areas may be granted to individuals who have: 

1. Been recommended by an employing Virginia 

educational agency; 

2. Completed two years of successful, full-time or the 

equivalent of occupational experience within the past five 

years in the teaching specialty sought; 

3. Completed professional studies requirements (human 

development and learning: 3 semester hours; curriculum 

and instruction in career and technical education: 3 

semester hours; and applications of instructional 
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technology or classroom and behavior management: 3 

semester hours); and 

4. Completed an agricultural education certificate or 

associate degree program in the teaching specialty area 

sought. 

8VAC20-23-230. Career and technical education – 

business and information technology. 

A. Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have:  

1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation 

program with a minimum of a baccalaureate degree from a 

regionally accredited college or university in business and 

information technology; or  

2. Completed a major in business education or 39 semester 

hours of coursework in business and information 

technology, including:  

a. Accounting: 6 semester hours;  

b. Economics: 3 semester hours;  

c. Business law, business principles, management, 

marketing, or finance: 9 semester hours;  

d. Communications and media to include oral, written, 

and presentation: 3 semester hours;  

e. Information systems and technology to include 

computer software applications (e.g., word processing, 

spreadsheet, database, and presentation), information 

technology fundamentals, database management, 

communications systems, programming, software 

development, security, and networking: 12 semester 

hours;  

f. Input technologies to include touch keyboarding 

(required, or documented demonstrated mastery of the 

touch keyboarding skill), audio input devices, video input 

devices, pointing devices, touch screens, or other 

emerging input technologies: 3 semester hours; and  

g. Supervised business experience: 3 semester hours; or 

one year of successful full-time or the equivalent (i.e., 

2,000 part-time hours) relevant occupational experience 

within the last five years.  

B. Technical Professional License. An endorsement in a 

highly specialized business and information technology area, 

such as networking, administration, communications systems, 

programming, database management, Internet application 

development, medical office procedures, legal office 

procedures, network administration, and other emerging 

highly specialized areas may be granted to individuals who 

have:  

1. Been recommended by an employing Virginia 

educational agency;  

2. Completed two years of successful, full-time or the 

equivalent occupational experience within the last five 

years in the teaching specialty area sought;  

3. Completed a business certificate or associate degree 

program from a regionally accredited institution in the 

teaching specialty area sought; and  

4. Completed professional studies requirements (human 

development and learning: 3 semester hours; curriculum 

and instruction in career and technical education: 3 

semester hours; and applications of instructional 

technology or classroom and behavior management: 3 

semester hours). 

8VAC20-23-240. Career and technical education – family 

and consumer sciences. 

A. Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have: 

1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation 

program with a minimum of a baccalaureate degree from a 

regionally accredited college or university in family and 

consumer sciences; or 

2. Completed a major in family and consumer sciences 

education or 39 semester hours of coursework in family 

and consumer sciences distributed in the following areas: 

a. Development of individuals through the lifespan and 

the family life cycle and family: 9 semester hours; 

b. Resource management, personal and family finance, 

and consumer economics: 6 semester hours; 

c. Food, nutrition, dietetics, wellness, and food science: 9 

semester hours; 

d. Housing, home furnishing, and equipment: 3 semester 

hours; 

e. Apparel and textiles: 6 semester hours; 

f. Occupational program management: 3 semester hours; 

and 

g. Supervised occupational experience related to family 

and consumer sciences, 3 semester hours, or one year of 

successful, full-time or the equivalent of relevant 

occupational experience within the last five years. 

B. Technical Professional License. An endorsement in a 

specialized family and consumer sciences area, such as child 

care occupations, consumer services, family and human 

services, fashion design occupations, food occupations, 

hospitality occupations, interior design occupations, and 

home furnishings occupations, and home and institutional 

services, may be granted to individuals who have: 

1. Been recommended by an employing Virginia 

educational agency. 

2. Completed at least two years of successful, full-time 

occupational experience or the equivalent within the past 

five years in the teaching specialty for which they are 

seeking endorsement. 

3. Completed a family and consumer sciences certificate or 

associate degree program where applicable in the area of 

endorsement sought. 
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4. Completed professional studies requirements (human 

development and learning: 3 semester hours; curriculum 

and instruction in career and technical education: 3 

semester hours; and applications of instructional 

technology or classroom and behavior management: 3 

semester hours). 

8VAC20-23-250. Career and technical education – health 

and medical sciences. 

A. Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have: 

1. Graduated from an approved program of study with a 

minimum of a baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university in a health care program of 

study and hold a current license or certification as a 

professional practitioner in the area in which one is to be 

teaching; or 

2. A current license or certification as a professional 

practitioner in the area in which one is to be teaching and 

completed two years of successful, full-time or the 

equivalent of occupational experience within the past five 

years in an area related to the teaching specialty sought. 

B. Technical Professional License. An endorsement in a 

specialized health occupations area may be granted to 

individuals who have: 

1. Been recommended by an employing Virginia 

educational agency; 

2. A license or be certified as a professional practitioner in 

the area in which one is to be teaching; 

3. Completed two years of full-time or the equivalent of 

occupational experience within the past five years in the 

teaching specialty sought; 

4. Completed a health occupations certificate or associate 

degree program from a regionally accredited institution in 

the teaching specialty area sought; and 

5. Completed professional studies requirements (human 

development and learning: 3 semester hours; curriculum 

and instruction in career and technical education: 3 

semester hours; and applications of instructional 

technology or classroom and behavior management: 3 

semester hours). 

8VAC20-23-260. Career and technical education – 

marketing education. 

A. Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have: 

1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation 

program with a minimum of a baccalaureate degree from a 

regionally accredited college or university in marketing 

education; or 

2. Completed a major in marketing education or a 

minimum of 39 semester hours of coursework in marketing 

to include; 

a. Marketing processes and environment: 3 semester 

hours; 

b. Management and supervision: 6 semester hours; 

c. Economics: 3 semester hours; 

d. Merchandising and operations: 3 semester hours; 

e. Advertising and promotion: 3 semester hours; 

f. Sales and selling: 3 semester hours; 

g. Communication theory and techniques: 3 semester 

hours; 

h. Consumer behavior: 3 semester hours; 

i. International (global) marketing: 3 semester hours; 

j. Finance, accounting, or marketing mathematics: 3 

semester hours; 

k. Technology applications: 3 semester hours; and 

l. Supervised marketing occupational experience, 3 

semester hours, or one year of full-time work experience 

in the field of marketing may be accepted in lieu of the 

supervised marketing internship. 

B. Technical Professional License. An endorsement in a 

specialized marketing area, such as apparel and accessories, 

hotel operations, international marketing, or restaurant, may 

be granted to individuals who have: 

1. Been recommended by an employing Virginia 

educational agency; 

2. Completed two years of full-time occupational 

experience, or the equivalent, within the last five years in 

the teaching specialty area sought; and 

3. Completed professional studies requirements (human 

development and learning: 3 semester hours; curriculum 

and instruction in career and technical education: 3 

semester hours; and applications of instructional 

technology or classroom and behavior management: 3 

semester hours). 

8VAC20-23-270. Career and technical education – 

technology education. 

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have: 

1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation 

program from a regionally accredited college or university 

with a minimum of a baccalaureate degree in technology 

education; or 

2. Completed a major in technology education or 33 

semester hours in technology education distributed in the 

following areas: 

a. The nature of technology. Experiences shall include 

those that promote an understanding of the 

characteristics, scope, and core concepts of physical, 

biological, and informational technologies, the 

relationships among these technologies, and their 

connections to other science, technology, engineering, 

and mathematics (STEM) fields: 6 semester hours; 

b. Technology and society. Experiences shall include 

those that develop a working knowledge of the cultural, 
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social, economic, and political effects of technology, its 

effect on the environment, and the role of society in the 

history, development, and use of physical, biological, and 

informational technologies: 3 semester hours; 

c. Engineering. Experiences shall include those that 

develop comprehension of the attributes of technological 

design, inclusive of constraints, optimization, predictive 

analysis, problem solving, critical thinking, technical 

writing, and integrative mathematics and science: 6 

semester hours;  

d. Abilities for a technological world. Experiences shall 

include those that develop the capacity to utilize the 

design process, to use and maintain technological 

products and systems, and to assess their impact: 9 

semester hours; and 

e. The designed world. Experiences shall include those 

that promote an understanding of current and emerging 

physical, biological, and informational technologies: 9 

semester hours; or 

3. Earned a baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university with a major in one of the 

following fields of study: architecture, design, engineering, 

engineering technology, industrial technology, or physics 

and completed a minimum of 15 semester hours of 

technology education content coursework, including at 

least 3 semester hours in each of the following areas: 

a. The nature of technology; 

b. Technology and society; 

c. Engineering;  

d. Abilities for a technological world; and 

e. The designed world. 

8VAC20-23-280. Career and technical education – trade 

and industrial education. 

A. Endorsement requirements. 

1. The candidate must have graduated from an approved 

teacher preparation program with a minimum of a 

baccalaureate degree from a regionally accredited college 

or university in trade and industrial education; or 

2. A candidate who has graduated from an approved 

teacher preparation program that is not in the trade and 

industrial education program subject area for which the 

candidate is seeking endorsement must have: 

a. A current state licensure or industry certification based 

on the prescribed standard or examination, if applicable; 

and 

b. Evidence of at least two years of full-time or 

equivalent occupational experience within the past five 

years in the teaching specialty for which the candidate is 

seeking endorsement. A candidate whose occupational 

experience has not been within the last five years must 

participate in a supervised technical update related to the 

teaching specialty or area of endorsement or complete a 

supervised internship of work experience of not less than 

six weeks related to the area of endorsement or teaching 

specialty. 

B. Technical Professional License. An endorsement in a 

specialized trade and industrial education area will be granted 

to an individual who has: 

1. Been recommended by an employing Virginia 

educational agency; 

2. A current license or is currently certified as a 

professional practitioner in the area in which he is to be 

teaching, if applicable, or can demonstrate competency in 

the area of trade and industrial education he is to be 

teaching; 

3. Evidence of at least two years of full-time or the 

equivalent occupational experience within the past five 

years in the teaching specialty for which he is seeking 

endorsement. Candidates whose occupational experience 

has not been within the last five years must participate in a 

supervised technical update related to the teaching 

specialty or area of endorsement or complete a supervised 

internship of work experience of not less than six weeks 

related to the area of endorsement or teaching specialty; 

and 

4. Completed professional studies requirements (human 

development and learning: 3 semester hours; curriculum 

and instruction in career and technical education: 3 

semester hours; and applications of instructional 

technology or classroom and behavior management: 3 

semester hours). 

C. Add-on endorsement requirements. A candidate must: 

1. Hold an active Collegiate Professional or Postgraduate 

Professional License with a teaching endorsement; 

2. Demonstrate competency in the trade or industrial area 

being sought; 

3. Hold current state licensure or industry certification for 

the trade or industrial area for which endorsement is sought 

based upon the prescribed standard or examination; 

4. Have completed two years or 4,000 clock hours of 

satisfactory, full-time occupational experience at the 

journeyman level or an equivalent level in the occupation 

within the last five years. Candidates whose occupational 

experience has not been within the last five years must 

participate in a supervised technical update related to the 

teaching specialty or area of endorsement or complete a 

supervised internship of work experience of not less than 

six weeks related to the area of endorsement or teaching 

specialty; and 

5. Have completed 3 semester hours in curriculum and 

instruction specific to vocational industrial education. 

8VAC20-23-290. Career and technical education – 

transition and special needs (add-on endorsement). 

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have: 
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1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation 

program with a minimum of a baccalaureate degree from a 

regionally accredited college or university in special needs; 

or 

2. Completed a major in career and technical education or 

special education, pre-K-12 with an endorsement in one 

area of career and technical education or special education 

preK-12, including 12 semester hours distributed in the 

following areas: 

a. Overview of special needs programs and services: 3 

semester hours; 

b. Instructional methods, curriculum, and resources: 3 

semester hours; 

c. Career and life planning, transitioning, occupational 

information, and delivery of cooperative education 

programs: 3 semester hours; and 

d. Purposes and practices and characteristics of special 

populations: 3 semester hours; and 

3. Completed successful, supervised occupational 

experience, 3 semester hours, or one year of full-time or 

the equivalent of relevant occupational experience within 

the past five years. 

8VAC20-23-300. Computer science. 

A. Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have: 

1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation 

program in computer science; or 

2. Earned a baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university and completed 36 semester 

hours of coursework distributed in the following areas: 

a. Mathematics, including discrete mathematics; 

b. Data structures and algorithm analysis; 

c. Foundations of computer science; and 

d. Programming in at least two distinct languages: 6 

semester hours. 

B. Add-on endorsement requirements in computer science. 

The candidate must have: 

1. An earned baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university and hold a license issued 

by the Virginia Board of Education with a teaching 

endorsement in a teaching area; and 

2. Completed 18 semester hours of coursework distributed 

in the following areas: 

a. Mathematics, including discrete mathematics; 

b. Data structures and algorithm analysis; 

c. Foundations of computer science; and 

d. Programming in at least two distinct languages: 6 

semester hours. 

8VAC20-23-310. Dance arts preK-12. 

A. Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have: 

1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation 

program in dance arts; or 

2. Earned a baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university and completed a major in 

dance arts or 24 semester hours with coursework 

distributed in the following areas: 

a. Development of movement language: 9 semester 

hours. 

(1) A course in each area of ballet, folk, jazz, and modern 

dance: 6 semester hours; and 

(2) Area of concentration in one area of ballet, folk, jazz, 

or modern dance beyond the entry level: 3 semester 

hours; 

b. Composition, improvisation, and dance arts 

production, may include stage lighting, stage costuming, 

or stage makeup: 3 semester hours; 

c. Scientific foundations, including human anatomy, 

kinesiology, and injury prevention and care for dance 

arts: 9 semester hours; and 

d. Cultural understanding, including cultural context and 

dance history: 3 semester hours. 

B. Add-on endorsement requirements in dance arts. The 

candidate must have: 

1. An earned baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university and hold a license issued 

by the Virginia Board of Education with a teaching 

endorsement in a teaching area; and 

2. Completed 15 semester hours of coursework distributed 

in the following areas: 

a. Development of movement language: 9 semester 

hours. 

(1) A course in each area of ballet, folk, jazz, and 

modern: 6 semester hours; and 

(2) Area of concentration in one area of ballet, folk, jazz, 

or modern beyond the entry level: 3 semester hours; 

b. Composition, improvisation, and dance arts 

production, may include stage lighting, stage costuming, 

or stage makeup: 3 semester hours; and 

c. Cultural understanding, including cultural context and 

dance history: 3 semester hours. 

8VAC20-23-320. Driver education (add-on endorsement). 

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have: 

1. An earned baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university and hold a license issued 

by the Virginia Board of Education with a teaching 

endorsement in a teaching area; and 

2. Completed an approved teacher preparation program in 

driver education; or 

3. Completed 6 semester hours of coursework distributed 

in the following areas: 
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a. Driver Task Analysis: to include instructional 

strategies as prescribed in the Curriculum and 

Administrative Guide for Driver Education in Virginia 

2010 (http://www.doe.virginia.gov/instruction/driver_ 

education/curriculum_admin_guide/index.shtml); 

understanding the highway transportation system; 

applying Virginia's motor vehicle laws; personal, legal, 

and emotional factors; visual and sensory perception; risk 

perception and risk management; space management and 

other defensive driving techniques; environmental, 

financial, and other vehicle ownership responsibilities; 

vehicle technologies; and the scientific principles of the 

driving tasks: 3 semester hours; and 

b. Principles and methodologies of classroom and in-car 

instruction, including applying classroom and in-car 

teaching techniques for delivering concurrent instruction; 

applying perception, vehicle balance, speed control, and 

other risk management principles to the development of 

precision driving skills; and understanding program 

administrative tasks, including juvenile licensing laws 

and issuance of a driver's license; a minimum of 14 hours 

of actual behind-the-wheel supervised teaching 

experience demonstrating vehicle control skills and 

performance capabilities that includes 2 hours of basic 

evasive maneuvers; and a minimum of 14 hours of 

mentorship with a licensed, endorsed driver education 

teacher: 3 semester hours. 

4. A current, valid Virginia driver's license.  

8VAC20-23-330. Engineering. 

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have: 

1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation 

program in engineering; 

2. Earned a baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university and completed a major in 

engineering or an engineering subspecialty at an 

Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology 

(ABET)-accredited college or university program; 

3. Earned a baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university and completed an 

engineering technology, science, or technology education 

major with at least 12 semester hours of coursework in 

engineering courses, including: 

a. Introduction to engineering design; 

b. Statics or dynamics; 

c. Circuits or fluid mechanics; and 

d. Thermodynamics;  

4. Completed a science, mathematics, or technology 

education major with at least five years of successful 

experience working in an engineering environment; or 

5. Hold a professional engineer's (P.E.) license. 

8VAC20-23-340. English. 

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have: 

1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation 

program in English; or 

2. Earned a baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university and completed a major in 

English or a minimum of 36 semester hours of coursework 

distributed in the following areas: 

a. Literacy and reading: 12 semester hours. Courses must 

include: 

(1) Survey of British literature; 

(2) Survey of American literature; 

(3) World literature; and 

(4) Literary theory and criticism. 

b. Language: 3 semester hours. Includes the development 

and nature of the English language.  

c. Composition: 12 semester hours. Experiences shall 

include: 

(1) A grammar course integrating grammar and writing; 

(2) The teaching of writing, based on current knowledge 

and most effective practices, including the use of 

technology for this purpose; 

(3) An advanced composition course emphasizing 

rhetorical practices of expository, persuasive, 

argumentative, and analytical writing; and 

(4) Teaching research including ethical accessing, 

evaluating, organizing, crediting, and synthesizing 

information. 

d. Oral language: 3 semester hours. Experiences shall 

include the teaching of public and presentation speaking, 

including nonverbal communication and the role of 

communication in small group and mass communication. 

e. Electives from the areas listed in this section: 6 

semester hours. 

8VAC20-23-350. English as a second language preK-12. 

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have: 

1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation 

program in English as a second language; or 

2. Earned a baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university and completed 24 semester 

hours of coursework distributed in the following areas: 

a. Teaching of reading and writing. Courses must include 

the five areas of reading instruction: phonemic 

awareness, phonics, fluency, vocabulary and text 

comprehension as well as the similarities and differences 

between reading in a first language and reading in a 

second language and a balanced literacy approach; one 

course must address teaching reading to English 

language learners: 6 semester hours; 

b. English linguistics: 3 semester hours; 

http://www.doe.virginia.gov/instruction/driver_education/curriculum_admin_guide/index.shtml
http://www.doe.virginia.gov/instruction/driver_education/curriculum_admin_guide/index.shtml
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c. Cross-cultural education: 3 semester hours; 

d. Second language acquisition: 3 semester hours;  

e. Methods of English as a second language, to include 

the World-Class Instructional Design and Assessment 

(WIDA) English Language Development (ELD) 

Standards: 3 semester hours; 

f. English as a second language assessment to include 

assessing comprehension and communication in English: 

3 semester hours; and 

g. Electives from the areas listed in this section: 3 

semester hours. 

8VAC20-23-360. Foreign language preK-12. 

A. The specific language of the endorsement will be noted 

on the license. 

B. Endorsement requirements for foreign language  

preK-12 - languages other than Latin. The candidate must 

have: 

1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation 

program in a foreign language; or  

2. Earned a baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university and completed 30 semester 

hours of coursework above the intermediate level in the 

foreign language distributed in the following areas:  

a. Advanced grammar and composition; 

b. Conversation, culture and civilization, and literature; 

and 

c. In addition to the 30 semester hours, completed a 

minimum of 3 semester hours of methods of teaching 

foreign languages at the elementary and secondary levels. 

3. Endorsement in a second language may be obtained with 

24 semester hours of coursework above the intermediate 

level.  

4. Candidates who have learned a foreign language without 

formal academic credit in a regionally accredited college or 

university must complete the following requirements: 

a. Achieve a qualifying score on a foreign language 

assessment in the appropriate language as prescribed by 

the Virginia Board of Education; and 

b. Earn a minimum of 3 semester hours of methods of 

teaching foreign languages at the elementary and 

secondary levels from a regionally accredited college or 

university in the United States or obtain teacher 

certification in another country with at least 3 semester 

hours of methods of teaching foreign languages at the 

elementary and secondary levels at a foreign institution. 

C. Endorsement requirements for foreign language  

preK-12 - Latin. The candidate must have: 

1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation 

program in Latin; or 

2. Earned a baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university and completed 24 semester 

hours of Latin above the intermediate level. A maximum of 

six semester hours of Roman history, Roman life, 

mythology, or archaeology may be included in the total 

hours. A minimum of 3 semester hours of methods of 

teaching Latin at the elementary and secondary levels are 

required. 

D. Endorsement requirements for foreign language  

preK-12 - American Sign Language.  

1. The candidate must have (i) graduated from an approved 

teacher preparation program in a foreign language - 

American Sign Language or (ii) earned a baccalaureate 

degree from a regionally accredited college or university 

and completed a major in American Sign Language or 24 

semester hours above the intermediate level in American 

Sign Language. The program shall include (i) courses in 

advanced grammar and syntax, conversation, and culture 

and (ii) a minimum of 3 semester hours of methods of 

teaching foreign languages at the elementary and 

secondary levels. 

2. Native users or candidates who have learned American 

Sign Language without formal academic credit in a 

regionally accredited college or university, as explained in 

subdivision 1 of this subsection, must complete the 

following requirements: 

a. Competency in American Sign Language 

demonstrated by written documentation of one of the 

following: 

(1) Hold a current, valid Provisional, Qualified, or 

Professional certification by the American Sign 

Language Teachers' Association; 

(2) Hold one of the following current, valid national 

certificates in interpreting: 

(a) Registry of Interpreters for Deaf certification in at 

least one of the following: Certificate of Interpretation 

(CI), Certificate of Deaf Interpretation (CDI), Reverse 

Skills Certification (RSC), or Comprehensive Skills 

Certificate (CSC); 

(b) Hold a current, valid National Association for the 

Deaf Level IV certification or higher; or 

(c) National Interpreter Certification (NIC); or 

(3) Complete requirements by achieving a qualifying 

score on an assessment demonstrating proficiency in 

American Sign Language prescribed by the Virginia 

Board of Education. 

b. Completed a minimum of 3 semester hours of methods 

of teaching foreign languages at the elementary and 

secondary levels from a regionally accredited college or 

university in the United States; and 

c. Earned a minimum of 6 semester hours in coursework 

including grammar and syntax of American Sign 

Language. 
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8VAC20-23-370. Gifted education (add-on endorsement). 

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have: 

1. An earned baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university and hold a license issued 

by the Virginia Board of Education with a teaching 

endorsement in a teaching area; and 

2. Completed an approved teacher preparation program in 

gifted education; or 

3. Completed the following requirements: 

a. Completed 12 semester hours of graduate-level 

coursework in gifted education distributed in the 

following areas:  

(1) Academic and social-emotional characteristics and 

special populations of gifted learners: 3 semester hours; 

(2) Curriculum models and differentiation of instruction 

for gifted learners: 3 semester hours; 

(3) Identification and assessment of gifted learners: 3 

semester hours; and 

(4) Current trends and issues in the field of gifted 

education: 3 semester hours; and 

b. Completed a practicum of at least 45 instructional 

hours. This practicum shall include a minimum of 45 

instructional hours of successful teaching experiences 

with gifted students in a public or an accredited 

nonpublic school. In lieu of the practicum, one year of 

successful, full-time teaching experience with gifted 

students in a public or an accredited nonpublic school 

may be accepted provided the teacher is assigned a 

mentor holding a valid license with an endorsement in 

gifted education. 

8VAC20-23-380. Health and physical education preK-12. 

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have: 

1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation 

program in health and physical education; or 

2. Earned a baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university and completed a major in 

health and physical education or 45 semester hours of 

coursework distributed in the following areas: 

a. Personal health and safety: 3 semester hours; 

b. Human anatomy, physiology, and kinesiology: 

9 semester hours; 

c. General health and physical education theory, 

including curriculum design and development in health 

and physical education: 3 semester hours; 

d. Instructional methods and skills for secondary physical 

education: 3 semester hours; 

e. Instructional methods and skills for elementary 

physical education: 3 semester hours; 

f. School health methods course: 3 semester hours;  

g. Health and physical education electives: 9 semester 

hours; 

h. Adapted physical education: 3 semester hours; 

i. Technology in health and physical education: 

3 semester hours;  

j. Nutrition: 3 semester hours; and 

k. Measurement and evaluation in the content area: 

3 semester hours. 

8VAC20-23-390. History and social sciences. 

A. Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have: 

1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation 

program in history and social sciences; or 

2. Earned a baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university and completed 51 semester 

hours of coursework distributed in the following areas: 

a. History: a major in history or 18 semester hours in 

history (must include coursework in American history, 

Virginia history, and world history); 

b. Political science: a major in political science or 

18 semester hours in political science to include 

coursework in American government (state and local 

government); 

c. Geography: 9 semester hours; and 

d. Economics: 6 semester hours. 

B. Add-on endorsement requirements in history, political 

science, geography, and economics. The candidate must have: 

1. Earned a baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university and have a teaching license 

with an endorsement in history, political science, 

geography, or economics; and 

2. Completed 21 semester hours of coursework in the 

additional social science area (i.e., history, political 

science, geography, or economics) sought. 

8VAC20-23-400. Journalism (add-on endorsement). 

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have: 

1. An earned baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university and hold a license issued 

by the Virginia Board of Education with a teaching 

endorsement in a teaching area; and 

2. Completed a minimum of 15 semester hours in 

journalism. 

8VAC20-23-410. Keyboarding (add-on endorsement). 

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have: 

1. An earned baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university and hold a license issued 

by the Virginia Board of Education with a teaching 

endorsement in a teaching area; and 

2. Completed  6 semester hours in keyboarding. Three of 

the six semester hours may be from either formal 

keyboarding instruction or documented demonstrated 
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mastery of the touch keyboarding skill, and three semester 

hours must include document formatting skills, word 

processing, and computer applications. 

8VAC20-23-420. Library media preK-12. 

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have: 

1. Graduated from an approved preparation program in 

school library media; or 

2. Earned a baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university and completed 24 semester 

hours distributed in the following areas: 

a. Teaching for learning, including knowledge of learners 

and learning; effective and knowledgeable teaching; 

collaborative instructional partners; integration of 

learning standards and technologies; assessment of and 

for student learning; and the design and implementation 

of instruction that engages students interests and 

develops their ability to inquire, think critically, and gain 

and share knowledge: 3 semester hours; 

b. Literacy and reading, including familiarity with 

children's, young adult, and professional literature in 

multiple formats; use of a variety of strategies to promote 

reading for enjoyment and information; collection 

development to support diverse learning needs; and 

collaboration to reinforce reading instructional strategies: 

6 semester hours; 

c. Information and knowledge, including efficient and 

ethical information-seeking behavior, ethical and 

equitable access to information, design and delivery of 

authentic learning through current and emerging 

technology, and the use of evidence-based action 

research to create and share knowledge: 6 semester 

hours; 

d. Advocacy and leadership, including networking with 

the library community, commitment to professional 

development, leadership in articulating the role of the 

school library program in the educational community and 

in student learning, and advocacy for school library 

programs, resources, and services: 3 semester hours; and 

e. Program management and administration, including 

planning, developing, implementing, and evaluating 

library programs, collections, and facilities; personnel; 

funding; organization of materials; professional ethics; 

and strategic planning and program assessment: 6 

semester hours. 

3. Supervised school library media practicum. Experiences 

shall include clinical experience to give the applicant an 

opportunity to apply the skills, understandings, and 

competencies required for the endorsement. One year of 

successful, full-time experience as a school librarian in a 

public or accredited nonpublic school may be accepted in 

lieu of the supervised practicum. 

8VAC20-23-430. Mathematics. 

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have: 

1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation 

program in mathematics; or 

2. Earned a baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university and completed a major in 

mathematics or 36 semester hours of coursework 

distributed in each of the following areas: 

a. Algebra. Experience shall include linear algebra 

(matrices, vectors, and linear transformations) and 

abstract algebra (ring, group, and field theory); 

b. Geometry. Experience shall include Euclidean and 

non-Euclidean geometries; 

c. Analytic geometry; 

d. Probability and statistics; 

e. Discrete mathematics. Experience shall include the 

study of mathematical properties of finite sets and 

systems and linear programming; 

f. Calculus. Experience shall include multivariable 

calculus; and 

g. Mathematical modeling. 

8VAC20-23-440. Mathematics – Algebra I (add-on 

endorsement). 

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have: 

1. An earned baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university and hold a license issued 

by the Virginia Board of Education with a teaching 

endorsement in a teaching area; and 

2. Either: 

a. Completed an approved teacher preparation program in 

Algebra I; or 

b. Completed 24 semester hours that include coursework 

in each of the following areas: 

(1) Elementary functions, introductory college algebra, 

and trigonometry; 

(2) Linear algebra; 

(3) Calculus; 

(4) Euclidean geometry; 

(5) Probability and statistics; 

(6) Discrete mathematics;  

(7) Mathematical modeling; and 

(8) Methods of teaching algebra. 

8VAC20-23-450. Music education – instrumental preK-

12. 

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have: 

1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation 

program in music education - instrumental; or 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 1 Virginia Register of Regulations September 7, 2015 

127 

2. Earned a baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university and completed 42 semester 

hours of coursework distributed in the following areas: 

a. Basic music knowledge. Experiences shall be related 

to music theory, music history, and literature: 18 

semester hours. 

b. Musical performance. Experiences shall consist of 

developing competency in a primary performance 

medium (band or orchestral instrument), in a secondary 

performance medium (band, orchestral, or keyboard 

instrument), and in teaching, rehearsing, and conducting 

ensembles: 18 semester hours. 

c. Electives with coursework selected from either of the 

two areas listed in subdivisions 2 a and 2 b of this 

section: 6 semester hours. 

8VAC20-23-460. Music education – vocal/choral preK-12. 

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have: 

1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation 

program in music education - vocal/choral; or 

2. Earned a baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university and completed 42 semester 

hours of coursework distributed in the following areas: 

a. Basic music knowledge. Experiences shall be related 

to music theory, music history, and literature: 18 

semester hours. 

b. Musical performance. Experiences shall consist of 

developing competency in a primary and secondary 

medium, selected from voice or keyboard and in 

teaching, rehearsing, and conducting ensembles: 18 

semester hours. 

c. Electives with coursework selected from either of the 

two areas listed in subdivisions 2 a and 2 b of this 

section: 6 semester hours. 

8VAC20-23-470. Science – biology. 

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have: 

1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation 

program in biology; 

2. Earned a baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university and completed a major in 

biology or 32 semester hours in biology, and at least one 

course in each of the following: genetics, 

biochemistry/molecular biology, cell biology, botany, 

zoology, anatomy/physiology, ecology,  and evolutionary 

biology and other preparation consistent with the 

competencies for the endorsement; or 

3. Earned an endorsement in another science discipline and 

at least 18 semester hours in biology, including at least one 

course in each of the following areas: genetics, 

biochemistry/molecular biology or cell biology, botany or 

zoology, anatomy/physiology, and evolutionary biology or 

ecology. 

8VAC20-23-480. Science – chemistry. 

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have: 

1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation 

program in chemistry; 

2. Earned a baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university and completed a major in 

chemistry or 32 semester hours in chemistry, including at 

least one course in each of the following: inorganic 

chemistry, organic chemistry, physical chemistry, 

biochemistry, and analytical chemistry and other 

preparation consistent with the competencies required for 

the endorsement; or 

3. Earned an endorsement in another science discipline and 

at least 18 semester hours in chemistry, including at least 

one course in each of the following areas: inorganic 

chemistry, organic chemistry, physical chemistry, 

biochemistry, and analytical chemistry. 

8VAC20-23-490. Science – Earth science. 

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have: 

1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation 

program in Earth science; 

2. Earned a baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university and completed a major in 

Earth science, geology, or environmental science with a 

minimum of 32 semester hours in Earth sciences, including 

at least one course in each of the following: structural 

geology, petrology, paleontology, oceanography, 

meteorology, and astronomy/space science; or 

3. Earned an endorsement in another science discipline and 

at least 18 semester hours in Earth sciences, including at 

least one course in each of the following areas: structural 

geology, petrology, paleontology, oceanography, 

meteorology, and astronomy/space or planetary science. 

8VAC20-23-500. Science – physics. 

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have: 

1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation 

program in physics; 

2. Earned a baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university and completed a major in 

physics or 32 semester hours in physics, including the 

following coursework: mechanics, electricity and 

magnetism, optics, and modern physics and other 

preparation consistent with the competencies required for 

the endorsement; or 

3. Earned an endorsement in another science discipline and 

at least 18 semester hours in physics, including preparation 

in each of the following areas: mechanics, electricity and 

magnetism, optics, and modern physics. 

8VAC20-23-510. Special education – adapted curriculum 

K-12. 

Endorsement requirements: The candidate must have: 
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1. Graduated from an approved program in special 

education - adapted curriculum; or 

2. Earned a baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university and completed 27 semester 

hours in the education of students with disabilities 

distributed in the following areas: 

a. Core coursework: 12 semester hours distributed among 

the following areas: 

(1) Foundations:  3 semester hours. Characteristics that 

include knowledge of the foundation for educating 

students with disabilities; historical, ethical, and legal 

aspects that include an understanding and application of 

the federal and state regulatory requirements; and 

expectations associated with identification, education, 

and evaluation of students with disabilities; 

(2) Assessment and evaluation: 3 semester hours. 

Includes an understanding and application of the 

foundation of assessment and evaluation related to best 

practices in special education, including types and 

characteristics of assessment, introduction to formal and 

informal assessment, and the use of assessments and 

other information to determine special education 

eligibility, service delivery, curriculum, and instruction 

of students with disabilities. Understanding of the current 

legal and ethical issues related to assessment selection 

and use, including comprehensive evaluation 

requirements, students with disabilities participation in 

the state and local accountability systems, assessment 

options, appropriate grading and testing 

accommodations, and assessment of students from 

diverse backgrounds. 

(3) Collaboration that includes skills in consultation, case 

management, co-teaching, and collaboration: 3 semester 

hours. Includes understanding roles and responsibilities, 

knowledge and application of effective communication 

skills and of culturally responsive practices and 

strategies, and the ability to develop home, school, and 

community partnerships to address the needs of students 

with disabilities.  

(4) Management of classroom instruction and behaviors: 

3 semester hours. Includes an understanding and 

knowledge of research-based classroom management 

techniques, positive behaviors supports, and individual 

interventions and a demonstrated ability to create a safe, 

orderly classroom environment including classroom 

organization, instructional design, and establishment of 

classroom routines and procedures. Knowledge of the 

elements of effective instructional planning, 

differentiation of instruction, and other instructional 

approaches to enhance student engagement and 

achievement. Understanding of behavior assessments, 

data collection and analysis, and development and 

monitoring of behavior intervention plans. 

b. Adapted curriculum coursework: 15 semester hours of 

coursework distributed in the following areas: 

(1) Characteristics: 3 semester hours. Skills in this area 

include the ability to demonstrate knowledge of the 

characteristics, including medical and health conditions, 

and learning and support needs of students with 

disabilities (K-12) whose cognitive and functional skills 

are significantly different from typically developing 

peers and therefore require adaptations to the general 

curriculum for an appropriate education, including, but 

not limited to, students with autism spectrum disorders, 

developmental delay, intellectual disability, traumatic 

brain injury, and multiple disabilities including sensory, 

deaf-blindness, speech-language, orthopedic and/or 

health impairments as an additional disability to those 

referenced above. 

(2) Individualized education program (IEP) 

implementation: 3 semester hours. Knowledge of the 

eligibility process and legal and regulatory requirements 

of IEP development, including timelines, components, 

team composition, roles, and responsibilities. Skills in 

this area include the ability to apply knowledge of 

assessment and evaluation throughout the K-12 grade 

levels to construct, use, and interpret a variety of 

standardized and nonstandardized data collection 

techniques; to make decisions about student progress, 

instruction, program, goal development, modifications, 

adaptations, placement, and teaching methodology for 

students with disabilities who are accessing the general 

education curriculum and Standards of Learning through 

an aligned curriculum; and to demonstrate the use of 

assessment, evaluation, and other information to develop 

and implement individual educational planning and 

group instruction with students with disabilities in an 

adapted curriculum across the K-12 grade levels. 

(3) Transitioning: 3 semester hours. Skills in this area 

include the ability to prepare students and work with 

families to provide successful student transitions 

throughout the educational experience to include 

postsecondary education, training, employment, and 

independent living that addresses an understanding of 

long-term planning, age-appropriate transition 

assessments, career development, life skills, community 

experiences and resources, and self-determination to 

include goal setting, decision making, problem solving, 

self-awareness and self-advocacy, guardianship, and 

other legal considerations. 

(4) Instructional methods and strategies for the adapted 

curriculum: 3 semester hours. An understanding and 

application of service delivery, curriculum, and 

instruction of students with disabilities who need an 

adapted curriculum. Knowledge of the general 

curriculum requirements and expectations and how to 

provide access to the curriculum based on student 
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characteristics and needs. Skills in this area include the 

ability to understand and use a range of modifications, 

adaptations, special instructional strategies, and research-

based interventions that reflect best practice in reading, 

writing, and mathematics instruction for students with 

more significant disabilities; ability to align the 

instructional practices and intervention with the Virginia 

Standards of Learning and state assessments; knowledge 

of available assistive and instructional technologies, 

including alternative communication methods and 

systems to promote learning and independence for 

students with disabilities in the adaptive curriculum and 

the ability to evaluate its effectiveness; ability to develop 

and use curriculum-based and standardized assessment to 

conduct ongoing evaluations of instructional material and 

practices to determine effectiveness and assess student 

needs as they relate to curriculum design and delivery; 

ability to modify and adapt instructional content in a 

variety of settings and collaborate with general education 

content teachers to develop and implement instructional 

practices that meet the needs of students with disabilities 

in the adapted curriculum and monitor student progress. 

(5) Individualized supports and specialized care of 

students with significant disabilities: 3 semester hours. 

Knowledge of and ability to implement adapted 

strategies to address the positioning, handling, 

communication, personal care, and medical needs of 

students with significant disabilities. Knowledge and 

understanding of the roles of related disciplines and 

service providers in collaborative planning and service 

delivery. Demonstration of the ability to develop and 

utilize a blended curriculum design to address disability-

specific or unique needs such as feeding and 

communication while addressing the adapted curriculum 

requirements. 

8VAC20-23-520. Special education blindness and visual 

impairments preK-12. 

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have: 

1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation 

program in special education visual impairments preK-12; 

or 

2. Earned a baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university and completed a major in 

special education blindness and visual impairments or 30 

semester hours in education of students with visual 

impairments, distributed with at least one course in each of 

the following areas:  

a. Characteristics of students with visual impairment. 

Provides an overview of the characteristics of and 

services to persons with visual impairments, including 

the impact of visual impairment on infant and child 

growth and development, child and adolescent emotional 

and social development, and family interaction patterns. 

Includes the educational, conceptual, psychosocial, and 

physical implications of a visual impairment. 

b. Foundations. Includes knowledge of the foundation for 

educating students with disabilities; historical, ethical, 

and legal aspects that include understanding and 

application of the regulatory requirements; and 

expectations associated with identification, education, 

and evaluation of students with disabilities. 

c. Braille code: 3 semester hours. Includes the literary 

code of Braille, its implications for educational and 

literacy programs for students with visual disabilities and 

how to teach the Braille code to students with visual 

impairments. 

d. Braille reading and writing: 3 semester hours. Includes 

instruction in the various technologies used by students 

who use Braille; basic instruction on transcription of 

advanced Braille codes, including music, foreign 

language, chemistry, computer Braille, and Nemeth code 

(Braille mathematics code); techniques for teaching skills 

in each code; and technology tools used to create Braille 

and tactile materials in addition to other assistive 

technologies used for instruction in mathematics and 

science. 

e. Medical and educational implications of visual 

impairment. Includes anatomy of the human eye, normal 

visual development, pathology of the eye, examination 

procedures for the identification of visual pathology, and 

the effects of pathology on visual learning and 

development. 

f. Assistive technology for students with sensory 

impairment. Introduces specific technology and resources 

available to enhance and improve ability of individuals 

with sensory disabilities and includes literacy skill 

development of students who are blind or visually 

impaired using technology. 

g. Curriculum and assessment. Includes knowledge of 

educational assessments used with students with visual 

impairments and additional disabilities including deaf-

blindness. Addresses assessment of technology needs of 

students with visual impairments, including functional 

vision assessments, learning media assessments, assistive 

technology, and assessment in areas of the expanded core 

curriculum; application of assessment results to 

development of the individualized education program 

(IEP); planning for placement; and services and 

accommodations for students with visual impairments.  

h. Positive behavior intervention supports. Includes 

understanding of research-based, positive behavior 

intervention supports and individual interventions; 

knowledge of the elements of effective instructional 

planning, differentiation of instruction, and other 

instructional approaches to enhance student engagement 

and achievement; and understanding of behavior 
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assessments, data collection and analysis, development 

and monitoring of behavior intervention plans. 

i. Collaboration. Includes skills in consultation, case 

management, co-teaching, and collaboration that include 

understanding roles and responsibilities, knowledge and 

application of effective communication skills, of 

culturally responsive practices and strategies, and the 

ability to develop home, school, and community 

partnerships to address the needs of students who are 

visually impaired. 

j. Teaching methods.  

(1) Includes methods of teaching compensatory skills, the 

core curriculum, and technology used by students who 

are blind and visually impaired; introduces individual 

family service plans (IFSPs); and includes understanding 

and application of development and implementation of 

the IEP, including service delivery, curriculum, and 

instruction of students who are visually impaired.  

(2) Knowledge of the general curriculum requirements 

and expectations and how to provide access to the 

curriculum based on student characteristics and needs.  

(3) Ability to assess, interpret data, and implement 

instructional practices to address the identified needs of 

the students. Skills in this area include the ability to 

identify, understand, and implement a range of 

specialized instructional strategies and research-based 

interventions that reflect best practice in instruction for 

students who are visually impaired.  

(4) Ability to align the instructional practices and 

intervention with the Standards of Learning and state 

assessments.  

(5) Ability to develop and use curriculum-based and 

standardized assessments to conduct ongoing evaluations 

of instructional materials and practices to assess student 

needs as they relate to curriculum design and delivery.  

(6) Ability to model and directly teach instructional 

strategies in a variety of settings, and monitor student 

progress.  

(7) Ability to adapt materials and procedures to meet the 

needs of students with visual impairments. 

k. Orientation and mobility. Includes the components of 

orientation and mobility (O&M); how the need for 

independent travel in the blind population created the 

field of O&M; and the philosophy and history of O&M, 

including cane instruction, dog guides, and methods of 

travel. Addresses techniques in developing orientation 

skills and basic mobility instruction. Motor and concept 

skill development are emphasized. 

8VAC20-23-530. Special education deaf and hard of 

hearing preK-12. 

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have: 

1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation 

program in special education deaf and hard of hearing; or 

2. Earned a baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university and completed a major in 

special education deaf and hard of hearing or 27 semester 

hours in education of students who are deaf and hard of 

hearing distributed in the following areas:  

a. Foundations: 3 semester hours. Includes knowledge of 

the foundation for educating students with disabilities; 

historical, ethical and legal aspects that include 

understanding and application of the regulatory 

requirements; and expectations associated with 

identification, education, and evaluation of students with 

disabilities. 

b. Characteristics: 3 semester hours. Includes the ability 

to demonstrate knowledge of etiologies of hearing loss, 

definitions, characteristics, learning, and support needs of 

students who are deaf and hard of hearing from pre-K 

through secondary levels, who may be using various 

communication modalities/languages and who may have 

additional disabilities. 

c. Assessment and evaluation: 3 semester hours. Includes 

an understanding and application of the foundation of 

assessment and evaluation related to best practices, 

including types and characteristics of assessments, 

formal and informal assessment, and the use of 

assessment information to determine special education 

eligibility and inform service delivery, curriculum, 

accommodations, instructional methods, and student 

progress. Understanding comprehensive evaluation 

requirements, participation of students with disabilities in 

state and local accountability systems, assessment 

options, appropriate testing accommodations, and 

assessment of students from diverse backgrounds. 

d. Instructional planning: 3 semester hours.  

(1) Familiarity with individual family service plans 

(IFSPs).  

(2) An understanding and application of development 

and implementation of the individualized education 

program (IEP) including service delivery, curriculum, 

and instruction of students who are deaf and hard of 

hearing and transition.  

(3) Knowledge of the general curriculum requirements 

and expectations and how to provide access to the 

curriculum based on student characteristics and needs.  

(4) Ability to assess, interpret data, and implement 

instructional practices to address the identified needs of 

the students. Skills in this area include the ability to 

identify, understand, and implement a range of 

specialized instructional strategies and research-based 
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interventions that reflect best practice in instruction for 

students who are deaf and hard of hearing.  

(5) Ability to align the instructional practices and 

intervention with the Standards of Learning and state 

assessments.  

(6) Ability to develop and use curriculum-based and 

standardized assessments to conduct ongoing evaluations 

of instructional materials and practices to assess student 

needs as they relate to the curriculum design and 

delivery.  

(7) Ability to model and directly teach instructional 

strategies in a variety of settings, collaborate with general 

educators to develop and implement instructional 

practices that meet the needs of students who are deaf 

and hard of hearing, and monitor student progress. 

e. Speech, language, and literacy development: 3 

semester hours. Includes an understanding of the normal 

developmental sequence of speech, language (oral, 

signed, and written), auditory, and cognitive milestones, 

varying methodologies and strategies used in assessing 

language skills (through the air and spoken) of a student 

who is deaf and hard of hearing; demonstrate skills 

necessary to foster and enhance language development 

and communication skills in students who are deaf and 

hard of hearing including American Sign Language, cued 

speech, and listening and spoken language skills. Ability 

to model and directly teach instructional strategies that 

foster language and literacy development. 

f. Classroom and behavior management: 3 semester 

hours. Includes an understanding and knowledge of 

research-based classroom management techniques, 

positive behavior intervention supports and individual 

interventions; and demonstrated ability to create a safe, 

orderly classroom environment including classroom 

organization, instructional design, and establishment of 

classroom routines and procedures. Knowledge of the 

elements of effective instructional planning, 

differentiation of instruction, and other instructional 

approaches to enhance student engagement and 

achievement. Understanding of behavior assessments, 

data collection and analysis, development, and 

monitoring of behavior intervention plans 

g. Audiology and speech and hearing science: 3 semester 

hours. Understanding of the basic principles of sound 

reception and production including neuroanatomy of 

speech and hearing mechanisms and physical 

characteristics and measurement of acoustic stimuli; 

biological, neurological, and acoustic bases of 

communication; reading and interpreting audiograms and 

other audiologic assessments used in determining 

eligibility; knowledge of types, degrees, and effects of 

hearing loss on developmental domains; relevance of age 

of onset, age of identification of hearing loss, and age of 

amplification and intervention in speech and language 

development; ability to troubleshoot hearing aids, 

external components of cochlear implants, and other 

assistive listening devices; ability to foster development 

of listening skills. 

h. Collaboration: 3 semester hours. Includes skills in 

consultation, case management, co-teaching, and 

collaboration that includes understanding roles and 

responsibilities, knowledge and application of effective 

communication skills, of culturally responsive practices 

and strategies, and the ability to develop home, school, 

and community partnerships to address the needs of 

students who are deaf and hard of hearing. 

i. Communication Modalities: 3 semester hours. Includes 

introduction to the various communication modalities 

used by students who are deaf and hard of hearing, 

including listening and spoken language, cued speech, 

speech reading, and through the air communication 

including use of American Sign Language (ASL) and 

contact varieties of signed language and coursework to 

learn ASL. 

8VAC20-23-540. Special education early childhood (birth-

age five years). 

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have: 

1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation 

program in early childhood special education; or 

2. Earned a baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university and completed a major in 

early childhood special education or 27 semester graduate 

hours in early childhood special education, including at 

least one course in each of the following:  

a. Foundations and legal aspects of special education: 3 

semester hours; 

b. Assessment for diagnosis, program planning, and 

curriculum-based measurement to document progress for 

young children with typical development, disabling, and 

at-risk conditions: 3 semester hours; 

c. Curriculum and instructional programming for 

preschool: 3 semester hours; 

d. Speech and language development and intervention: 3 

semester hours;  

e. Medical aspects: 3 semester hours; 

f. Social and emotional skills and behavior management 

for early childhood: 3 semester hours; 

g. Consultation, co-teaching, coaching, and mentoring: 3 

semester hours; 

h. Family-centered intervention: 3 semester hours; and 

i. Early childhood elective: 3 semester hours. 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 1 Virginia Register of Regulations September 7, 2015 

132 

8VAC20-23-550. Special education – general curriculum 

K-12. 

Endorsement requirements: The candidate must have: 

1. Graduated from an approved program in special 

education - general curriculum; or 

2. Earned a baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university and completed 27 semester 

hours in the education of students with disabilities 

distributed in the following areas: 

a. Core coursework: 12 semester hours distributed among 

the following areas: 

(1) Foundations: 3 semester hours. Characteristics that 

include knowledge of the foundation for educating 

students with disabilities; historical, ethical, and legal 

aspects that include an understanding and application of 

the federal and state regulatory requirements; and 

expectations associated with identification, education, 

and evaluation of students with disabilities. 

(2) Assessment and evaluation: 3 semester hours. 

Includes an understanding and application of the 

foundation of assessment and evaluation related to best 

practice in special education, including types and 

characteristics of assessment, introduction to formal and 

informal assessment, and the use of assessments and 

other information to determine special education 

eligibility, service delivery, curriculum, and instruction 

of students with disabilities. Understanding of the current 

legal and ethical issues related to assessment selection 

and use, including comprehensive evaluation 

requirements, students with disabilities participation in 

the state and local accountability systems, assessment 

options, appropriate grading and testing 

accommodations, and assessment of students from 

diverse backgrounds. 

(3) Collaboration that includes skills in consultation, case 

management, co-teaching, and collaboration: 3 semester 

hours. Includes understanding roles and responsibilities, 

knowledge and application of effective communication 

skills and of culturally responsive practices and strategies 

and the ability to develop home, school, and community 

partnerships to address the needs of students with 

disabilities. 

(4) Management of classroom instruction and behaviors: 

3 semester hours. Includes an understanding and 

knowledge of research-based classroom management 

techniques, positive behavior support, and individual 

interventions and a demonstrated ability to create a safe, 

orderly classroom environment, including classroom 

organization, instructional design, and establishment of 

classroom routines and procedures. Knowledge of the 

elements of effective instructional planning, 

differentiation of instruction, and other instructional 

approaches to enhance student engagement and 

achievement. Understanding of behavior assessments, 

data collection and analysis, development, and 

monitoring of behavior intervention plans. 

b. General curriculum coursework: 15 semester hours 

distributed in the following areas: 

(1) Characteristics: 3 semester hours. Skills in this area 

shall include the ability to demonstrate knowledge of 

definitions, characteristics, and learning and behavioral 

support needs of students with disabilities who are 

accessing the general education curriculum at the 

elementary, middle, and high school levels, including but 

not limited to, students with learning disabilities, 

emotional disability, and intellectual disabilities; 

developmental delay; autism; other health impairments; 

traumatic brain injury; and multiple disabilities. 

(2) Individualized education program development and 

implementation: 3 semester hours. Knowledge of the 

eligibility process and legal and regulatory requirements 

of IEP development including timelines, components, 

team composition, and roles and responsibilities. Skills in 

this area include the ability to apply knowledge of 

assessment and evaluation throughout the K-12 grade 

levels to construct, use, and interpret a variety of 

standardized and nonstandardized data collection 

techniques; to make decisions about student progress, 

instructional program, goal development, 

accommodations, placement, and teaching methodology 

for students with disabilities who are accessing the 

general education curriculum and the standards of 

learning; and to demonstrate the use of assessment, 

evaluation, and other information to develop and 

implement individual educational planning and group 

instruction with students with disabilities who are 

accessing the general education curriculum across the K-

12 grade levels. 

(3) Transitioning: 3 semester hours. Skills in this area 

include the ability to prepare students and work with 

families and community agencies to provide successful 

student transitions throughout the educational experience 

to include postsecondary education training, 

employment, and independent living that addresses an 

understanding of long-term planning, career 

development, life skills, community experiences and 

resources, self-advocacy, and self-determination, 

guardianship, and legal considerations. 

(4) Instructional strategies in reading and writing: 3 

semester hours.  

(a) An understanding and application of service delivery, 

curriculum, and instruction of students with disabilities in 

reading and writing.  

(b) Knowledge of the general curriculum, English 

requirements and expectations, and how to provide 

access to the curriculum based on student characteristics 

and needs.  
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(c) Ability to assess, interpret data, and implement 

instructional practices to address the identified reading 

needs of the students. Skills in this area include the 

ability to identify, understand, and implement a range of 

specialized instructional strategies and research-based 

interventions that reflect best practice in reading and 

writing instruction for students with disabilities.  

(d) Ability to align the instructional practices and 

intervention with the Virginia Standards of Learning and 

state assessments.  

(e) Knowledge and ability to utilize current assistive and 

instructional reading and writing technologies to promote 

learning and independence for students with disabilities 

in the general curriculum and the ability to evaluate the 

effectiveness of the use of the technologies.  

(f) Ability to develop and use curriculum-based and 

standardized reading and writing assessments to conduct 

ongoing evaluations of instructional materials and 

practices to determine effectiveness and assess student 

needs as they relate to the curriculum design and 

delivery.  

(g) Ability to model and directly teach reading and 

writing instructional strategies in a variety of settings, 

collaborate and co-teach with general educators to 

develop and implement instructional practices that meet 

the needs of students with disabilities in the general 

curriculum, and monitor student progress. 

(5) Instructional strategies in mathematics: 3 semester 

hours.  

(a) An understanding and application of service delivery, 

curriculum, and instruction of students with disabilities in 

mathematics.  

(b) Knowledge of the general curriculum mathematics 

requirements and expectations and how to provide access 

to the curriculum based on student characteristics and 

needs.  

(c) Ability to assess, interpret data, and implement 

instructional practices to address calculations, reasoning, 

and problem-solving skills. Skills in this area include the 

ability to understand and use a range of specialized 

mathematics instructional strategies and research-based 

interventions that reflect best practice in mathematics 

instruction for students with disabilities.  

(d) Ability to align the instructional practices and 

intervention with the Virginia Standards of Learning and 

state assessments.  

(e) Knowledge of and ability to utilize current 

mathematics related assistive and instructional 

technologies to promote learning and independence for 

students with disabilities in the general curriculum and 

the ability to evaluate the effectiveness of the use of the 

technologies.  

(f) Ability to develop and use curriculum-based and 

standardized mathematics assessments to conduct 

ongoing evaluations of instructional materials and 

practices to determine effectiveness and assess student 

needs as they relate to the mathematics curriculum design 

and delivery. 

(g) Ability to model and directly teach mathematics 

instructional strategies in a variety of settings, collaborate 

and co-teach with general educators to develop and 

implement instructional practices that meet the needs of 

students with disabilities in the mathematics general 

curriculum, and monitor student progress. 

8VAC20-23-560. Special education – general curriculum 

K-6 (add-on endorsement). 

Endorsement requirements: The candidate must: 

1. Hold an earned baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university and hold a license issued 

by the Virginia Board of Education with an endorsement in 

elementary education (i.e., early/primary education preK-3 

or elementary education preK-6). 

2. Have completed 15 semester hours in the education of 

students with disabilities distributed in each of the 

following areas: 

a. Foundations: 3 semester hours. Characteristics that 

include knowledge of the foundation for educating 

students with disabilities; historical, ethical, and legal 

aspects that include an understanding and application of 

the federal and state regulatory requirements; and 

expectations associated with identification, education, 

and evaluation of students with disabilities. 

b. Individualized education program development and 

implementation: 3 semester hours. Knowledge of the 

eligibility process and legal and regulatory requirements 

of IEP development including timelines, components, 

team composition, and roles and responsibilities. Skills in 

this area include the ability to apply knowledge of 

assessment and evaluation throughout the K-12 grade 

levels to construct, use, and interpret a variety of 

standardized and nonstandardized data collection 

techniques; to make decisions about student progress, 

instructional, program, goal development, 

accommodations, placement, and teaching methodology 

for students with disabilities who are accessing the 

general education curriculum and the Virginia Standards 

of Learning; and to demonstrate the use of assessment, 

evaluation, and other information to develop and 

implement individual educational planning and group 

instruction with students with disabilities who are 

accessing the general education curriculum across the K-

12 grade levels. 

c. Assessment and evaluation: 3 semester hours. Includes 

an understanding and application of the foundation of 

assessment and evaluation related to best practice in 
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special education, including types and characteristics of 

assessment, introduction to formal and informal 

assessment, and the use of assessments and other 

information to determine special education eligibility, 

service delivery, curriculum, and instruction of students 

with disabilities. Understanding of the current legal and 

ethical issues related to assessment selection and use, 

including comprehensive evaluation requirements, 

students with disabilities' participation in the state and 

local accountability systems, assessment options, 

appropriate grading and testing accommodations, and 

assessment of students from diverse backgrounds. 

d. Instructional strategies in reading and writing: 3 

semester hours.  

(1) An understanding and application of service delivery, 

curriculum, and instruction of students with disabilities in 

reading and writing.  

(2) Knowledge of the general curriculum, English 

requirements and expectations, and how to provide 

access to the curriculum based on student characteristics 

and needs.  

(3) Ability to assess, interpret data, and implement 

instructional practices to address the identified reading 

needs of the students. Skills in this area include the 

ability to identify, understand, and implement a range of 

specialized instructional strategies and research-based 

interventions that reflect best practice in reading and 

writing instruction for students with disabilities.  

(4) Ability to align the instructional practices and 

intervention with the Virginia Standards of Learning and 

state assessments.  

(5) Knowledge and ability to utilize current assistive and 

instructional reading and writing technologies to promote 

learning and independence for students with disabilities 

in the general curriculum and the ability to evaluate the 

effectiveness of the use of the technologies.  

(6) Ability to develop and use curriculum-based and 

standardized reading and writing assessments to conduct 

ongoing evaluations of instructional materials and 

practices to determine effectiveness and assess student 

needs as they relate to the curriculum design and 

delivery. 

(7) Ability to model and directly teach reading and 

writing instructional strategies in a variety of settings, 

collaborate and co-teach with general educators to 

develop and implement instructional practices that meet 

the needs of students with disabilities in the general 

curriculum, and monitor student progress. 

e. Instructional strategies in mathematics: (3 semester 

hours).  

(1) An understanding and application of service delivery, 

curriculum, and instruction of students with disabilities in 

mathematics.  

(2) Knowledge of the general curriculum mathematics 

requirements and expectations and how to provide access 

to the curriculum based on student characteristics and 

needs.  

(3) Ability to assess, interpret data, and implement 

instructional practices to address calculations, reasoning, 

and problem-solving skills. Skills in this area include the 

ability to understand and use a range of specialized 

mathematics instructional strategies and research-based 

interventions that reflect best practice in mathematics 

instruction for students with disabilities.  

(4) Ability to align the instructional practices and 

intervention with the Virginia Standards of Learning and 

state assessments.  

(5) Knowledge of and ability to utilize current 

mathematics-related assistive and instructional 

technologies to promote learning and independence for 

students with disabilities in the general curriculum and 

the ability to evaluate the effectiveness of the use of the 

technologies.  

(6) Ability to develop and use curriculum-based and 

standardized mathematics assessments to conduct 

ongoing evaluations of instructional materials and 

practices to determine effectiveness and assess student 

needs as they relate to the mathematics curriculum design 

and delivery. 

(7) Ability to model and directly teach mathematics 

instructional strategies in a variety of settings, collaborate 

and co-teach with general educators to develop and 

implement instructional practices that meet the needs of 

students with disabilities in the mathematics general 

curriculum, and monitor student progress. 

8VAC20-23-570. Special education – general curriculum 

middle grades 6-8 (add-on endorsement). 

Endorsement requirements: The candidate must: 

1. Hold an earned baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university and hold a license issued 

by the Virginia Board of Education with an endorsement in 

middle education (i.e., middle education 6-8 English, 

middle education 6-8 history and social sciences, middle 

education 6-8 mathematics, or middle education-sciences).  

2. Have completed 15 semester hours in the education of 

students with disabilities distributed in each of the 

following areas: 

a. Foundations: 3 semester hours. Characteristics that 

include knowledge of the foundation for educating 

students with disabilities; historical, ethical, and legal 

aspects that include an understanding and application of 

the federal and state regulatory requirements; and 

expectations associated with identification, education, 

and evaluation of students with disabilities. 

b. Individualized education program development and 

implementation: 3 semester hours. Knowledge of the 
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eligibility process and legal and regulatory requirements 

of IEP development, including timelines, components, 

team composition, and roles and responsibilities. Skills in 

this area include the ability to apply knowledge of 

assessment and evaluation throughout the K-12 grade 

levels to construct, use, and interpret a variety of 

standardized and nonstandardized data collection 

techniques; to make decisions about student progress, 

instructional, program, goal development, 

accommodations, placement, and teaching methodology 

for students with disabilities who are accessing the 

general education curriculum and the standards of 

learning; and to demonstrate the use of assessment, 

evaluation, and other information to develop and 

implement individual educational planning and group 

instruction with students with disabilities who are 

accessing the general education curriculum across the K-

12 grade levels. 

c. Transitioning: 3 semester hours. Skills in this area 

include the ability to prepare students and work with 

families and community agencies to provide successful 

student transitions throughout the educational experience 

to include postsecondary education training, 

employment, and independent living that addresses an 

understanding of long-term planning, career 

development, life skills, community experiences and 

resources, self-advocacy, and self-determination, 

guardianship, and legal considerations. 

d. Instructional strategies in reading and writing: 3 

semester hours.  

(1) An understanding and application of service delivery, 

curriculum, and instruction of students with disabilities in 

reading and writing.  

(2) Knowledge of the general curriculum, English 

requirements and expectations, and how to provide 

access to the curriculum based on student characteristics 

and needs.  

(3) Ability to assess, interpret data, and implement 

instructional practices to address the identified reading 

needs of the students. Skills in this area include the 

ability to identify, understand, and implement a range of 

specialized instructional strategies and research-based 

interventions that reflect best practice in reading and 

writing instruction for students with disabilities.  

(4) Ability to align the instructional practices and 

intervention with the Virginia Standards of Learning and 

state assessments.  

(5) Knowledge and ability to utilize current assistive and 

instructional reading and writing technologies to promote 

learning and independence for students with disabilities 

in the general curriculum and the ability to evaluate the 

effectiveness of the use of the technologies.  

(6) Ability to develop and use curriculum-based and 

standardized reading and writing assessments to conduct 

ongoing evaluations of instructional materials and 

practices to determine effectiveness and assess student 

needs as it relates to the curriculum design and delivery.  

(7) Ability to model and directly teach reading and 

writing instructional strategies in a variety of settings, 

collaborate and co-teach with general educators to 

develop and implement instructional practices that meet 

the needs of students with disabilities in the general 

curriculum, and monitor student progress. 

e. Instructional strategies in mathematics: (3 semester 

hours).  

(1) An understanding and application of service delivery, 

curriculum, and instruction of students with disabilities in 

mathematics.  

(2) Knowledge of the general curriculum mathematics 

requirements and expectations and how to provide access 

to the curriculum based on student characteristics and 

needs.  

(3) Ability to assess, interpret data, and implement 

instructional practices to address calculations, reasoning 

and problem-solving skills. Skills in this area include the 

ability to understand and use a range of specialized 

mathematics instructional strategies and research-based 

interventions that reflect best practice in mathematics 

instruction for students with disabilities.  

(4) Ability to align the instructional practices and 

intervention with the Virginia Standards of Learning and 

state assessments.  

(5) Knowledge of and ability to utilize current 

mathematics-related assistive and instructional 

technologies to promote learning and independence for 

students with disabilities in the general curriculum and 

the ability to evaluate the effectiveness of the use of the 

technologies.  

(6) Ability to develop and use curriculum-based and 

standardized mathematics assessments to conduct 

ongoing evaluations of instructional materials and 

practices to determine effectiveness and assess student 

needs as they relate to the mathematics curriculum design 

and delivery. 

(7) Ability to model and directly teach mathematics 

instructional strategies in a variety of settings, collaborate 

and co-teach with general educators to develop and 

implement instructional practices that meet the needs of 

students with disabilities in the mathematics general 

curriculum, and monitor student progress. 
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8VAC20-23-580. Special education – general curriculum 

secondary grades 6-12 (add-on endorsement). 

Endorsement requirements: The candidate must: 

1. Hold an earned baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university and hold a license issued 

by the Virginia Board of Education with an endorsement in 

English, history and social sciences, mathematics, biology, 

chemistry, Earth science, or physics. 

2. Have completed 15 semester hours in the education of 

students with disabilities distributed in each of the 

following areas: 

a. Foundations: 3 semester hours. Characteristics that 

include knowledge of the foundation for educating 

students with disabilities; historical, ethical, and legal 

aspects that include an understanding and application of 

the federal and state regulatory requirements; and 

expectations associated with identification, education, 

and evaluation of students with disabilities. 

b. Individualized education program development and 

implementation: 3 semester hours. Knowledge of the 

eligibility process and legal and regulatory requirements 

of IEP development, including timelines, components, 

team composition, and roles and responsibilities. Skills in 

this area include the ability to apply knowledge of 

assessment and evaluation throughout the K-12 grade 

levels to construct, use, and interpret a variety of 

standardized and nonstandardized data collection 

techniques; to make decisions about student progress, 

instructional, program, goal development, 

accommodations, placement, and teaching methodology 

for students with disabilities who are accessing the 

general education curriculum and the Virginia Standards 

of Learning; and to demonstrate the use of assessment, 

evaluation, and other information to develop and 

implement individual educational planning and group 

instruction with students with disabilities who are 

accessing the general education curriculum across the K-

12 grade levels. 

c. Transitioning: 3 semester hours. Skills in this area 

include the ability to prepare students and work with 

families and community agencies to provide successful 

student transitions throughout the educational experience 

to include postsecondary education training, 

employment, and independent living that addresses an 

understanding of long-term planning, career 

development, life skills, community experiences and 

resources, self-advocacy, and self-determination, 

guardianship, and legal considerations. 

d. Instructional strategies in reading and writing: 3 

semester hours.  

(1) An understanding and application of service delivery, 

curriculum, and instruction of students with disabilities in 

reading and writing.  

(2) Knowledge of the general curriculum, English 

requirements and expectations, and how to provide 

access to the curriculum based on student characteristics 

and needs.  

(3) Ability to assess, interpret data, and implement 

instructional practices to address the identified reading 

needs of the students. Skills in this area include the 

ability to identify, understand, and implement a range of 

specialized instructional strategies and research-based 

interventions that reflect best practice in reading and 

writing instruction for students with disabilities.  

(4) Ability to align the instructional practices and 

intervention with the Virginia Standards of Learning and 

state assessments.  

(5) Knowledge and ability to utilize current assistive and 

instructional reading and writing technologies to promote 

learning and independence for students with disabilities 

in the general curriculum and the ability to evaluate the 

effectiveness of the use of the technologies.  

(6) Ability to develop and use curriculum-based and 

standardized reading and writing assessments to conduct 

ongoing evaluations of instructional materials and 

practices to determine effectiveness and assess student 

needs as they relate to the curriculum design and 

delivery. 

(7) Ability to model and directly teach reading and 

writing instructional strategies in a variety of settings, 

collaborate and co-teach with general educators to 

develop and implement instructional practices that meet 

the needs of students with disabilities in the general 

curriculum, and monitor student progress. 

e. Instructional strategies in mathematics: (3 semester 

hours).  

(1) An understanding and application of service delivery, 

curriculum, and instruction of students with disabilities in 

mathematics.  

(2) Knowledge of the general curriculum mathematics 

requirements and expectations and how to provide access 

to the curriculum based on student characteristics and 

needs.  

(3) Ability to assess, interpret data, and implement 

instructional practices to address calculations, reasoning, 

and problem-solving skills. Skills in this area include the 

ability to understand and use a range of specialized 

mathematics instructional strategies and research-based 

interventions that reflect best practice in mathematics 

instruction for students with disabilities.  

(4) Ability to align the instructional practices and 

intervention with the Virginia Standards of Learning and 

state assessments.  

(5) Knowledge of and ability to utilize current 

mathematics-related assistive and instructional 

technologies to promote learning and independence for 
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students with disabilities in the general curriculum and 

the ability to evaluate the effectiveness of the use of the 

technologies.  

(6) Ability to develop and use curriculum-based and 

standardized mathematics assessments to conduct 

ongoing evaluations of instructional materials and 

practices to determine effectiveness and assess student 

needs as they relate to the mathematics curriculum design 

and delivery. 

(7) Ability to model and directly teach mathematics 

instructional strategies in a variety of settings, collaborate 

and co-teach with general educators to develop and 

implement instructional practices that meet the needs of 

students with disabilities in the mathematics general 

curriculum, and monitor student progress. 

8VAC20-23-590. Speech communication (add-on 

endorsement). 

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have: 

1. An earned baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university and a license issued by the 

Virginia Board of Education with a teaching endorsement 

in a teaching area; and 

2. A minimum of 15 semester hours in speech 

communication. 

8VAC20-23-600. Theatre arts preK-12. 

A. Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have: 

1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation 

program in theatre arts; or 

2. Earned a baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university and completed a major in 

theatre arts or 33 semester hours distributed among the 

following areas: 

a. Directing: 6 semester hours; 

b. Technical theatre: 9 semester hours; 

c. Cultural context and theatre history: 3 semester hours; 

d. Performance: 6 semester hours; and 

e. Dramatic literature: 9 semester hours. 

B. Add-on endorsement requirements in theatre arts preK-

12. The candidate must have: 

1. An earned baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university and hold a license issued 

by the Virginia Board of Education with a teaching 

endorsement in a teaching area; and 

2. Completed 15 semester hours distributed in the 

following areas: 

a. Directing: 3 semester hours; 

b. Technical theatre: 3 semester hours; 

c. Cultural context and theatre history: 3 semester hours; 

and 

d. Performance: 6 semester hours. 

8VAC20-23-610. Visual arts preK-12. 

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have: 

1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation 

program in visual arts; or 

2. Earned a baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university and completed a major in 

visual arts or 36 semester hours in art distributed in the 

following areas: 

a. Two-dimensional media: 12 semester hours; 

b. Three-dimensional media: 12 semester hours; 

c. Cultural context and art history: 6 semester hours;  

d. Evaluation and criticism and aesthetics: 3 semester 

hours; and 

e. Related areas of the fine arts: 3 semester hours. 

Part VI  

Licensure Regulations Governing Support Personnel 

8VAC20-23-620. Administration and supervision  

preK-12. 

A. An endorsement in administration and supervision preK-

12 consists of Level I, which is required to serve as a 

building-level administrator or central office instructional 

supervisor, and Level II, which is an optional endorsement to 

which an experienced building-level administrator may 

aspire. Individuals must meet the requirements for the 

administration and supervision preK-12 endorsement through 

one of the four options listed in this section. A school leader's 

assessment prescribed by the Virginia Board of Education 

must be met for all individuals who are seeking an initial 

endorsement authorizing them to serve as principals and 

assistant principals in the public schools. Individuals seeking 

an initial administration and supervision endorsement who 

are interested in serving as central office instructional 

personnel are not required to take and pass the school leaders 

assessment prescribed by the Virginia Board of Education. 

B. Level I, Option I: Approved program route to Level I 

administration and supervision preK-12 endorsement. To 

become eligible for a Level I endorsement under this option, 

the candidate must have: 

1. Earned a master's degree from a regionally accredited 

college or university; 

2. Completed three years of successful, full-time 

experience in a public school or accredited nonpublic 

school in an instructional personnel position that requires 

licensure in Virginia; 

3. Completed an approved program in administration and 

supervision from a regionally accredited college or 

university; 

4. Completed a deliberately structured and supervised 

internship that is focused on student academic progress for 

all students and that: 
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a. Provides significant experiences within a school 

environment for candidates to synthesize and apply 

content knowledge and develop professional skills 

through school-based leadership experiences;  

b. Shall occur in a public or accredited nonpublic school;  

c. Provides exposure to five different multiple sites (i.e., 

elementary, middle high, central office, agency) with 

diverse student populations; and 

d. Documents a minimum of 320 clock hours, of which 

120 clock hours are embedded as experiential field-based 

opportunities experienced during coursework; and 

5. Satisfied the requirements for the school leaders 

licensure assessment prescribed by the Virginia Board of 

Education. Individuals seeking an initial administration 

and supervision endorsement who are interested in serving 

as central office instructional personnel are not required to 

take and pass the school leaders assessment prescribed by 

the Virginia Board of Education. 

C. Level I, Option II: Alternate route to Level I 

administration and supervision preK-12 endorsement 

restricted to the Virginia school division in which the 

superintendent submitted the recommendation for 

endorsement. This endorsement is valid only in the 

designated Virginia school division and would not be portable 

or reciprocal. In order to be eligible for Level I endorsement 

under this option, the candidate must have: 

1. Earned a master's degree from a regionally accredited 

college or university; 

2. Completed graduate coursework in school law, 

evaluation of instruction, and other areas of study as 

required by an employing Virginia school superintendent. 

The graduate coursework must be taken from a regionally 

accredited college or university that has a state-approved 

administration and supervision program;  

3. Completed three years of successful, full-time 

experience in a public school or accredited nonpublic 

school in an instructional personnel position that requires 

licensure in Virginia; 

4. Satisfied the requirements for the school leaders 

licensure assessment specified by the Virginia Board of 

Education; and 

5. Been recommended by the superintendent in the 

employing Virginia school division. 

D. Level I, Option III: Alternate route to Level I 

administration and supervision preK-12 endorsement. In 

order to be eligible for Level I endorsement under this option, 

the candidate must have: 

1. Earned a master's degree from a regionally accredited 

college or university; 

2. Completed graduate coursework in school law, 

evaluation of instructional personnel, special education, 

school finance, educational leadership, and other areas of 

study as required by an employing Virginia school 

superintendent, and the graduate coursework must be taken 

from a regionally accredited college or university that has a 

state-approved administration and supervision program, or 

the candidate must have completed school law, school 

finance, and a research-based program approved by the 

Virginia Department of Education that includes 

organizational leadership, instructional leadership, 

instructional practices in content areas, data utilization, 

evaluation and instructional coaching, and creating positive 

school cultures;  

3. Completed three years of successful, full-time 

experience in a public school or accredited nonpublic 

school in an instructional personnel position that requires 

licensure in Virginia; 

4. Satisfied the requirements for the school leaders 

licensure assessment specified by the Virginia Board of 

Education; and 

5. Been recommended by the superintendent in the 

employing Virginia school division. 

E. Level I, Option IV: Out-of-state administration and 

supervision endorsement. Virginia does not issue a stand-

alone license in administration and supervision. The 

endorsement is added to a license. The candidate must have: 

1. Earned a master's degree from a regionally accredited 

college or university;  

2. Completed three years of successful, full-time 

experience in a public school or accredited nonpublic 

school in an instructional personnel position; 

3. Satisfied the requirements for the school leaders 

licensure assessment specified by the Virginia Board of 

Education; and 

4. A current, valid out-of-state license, which is full 

credential, with an endorsement in administration and 

supervision or completed an approved program in 

administration and supervision from a regionally 

accredited college or university leading to an endorsement 

as a building-level administrator. 

F. Level II: Principal of Distinction endorsement in 

administration and supervision preK-12. A building-level 

administrator may seek the Principal of Distinction, Level II 

endorsement in administration and supervision preK-12 after 

successfully serving as a building-level administrator for at 

least five years in a public school or an accredited nonpublic 

school and successfully completing a formal induction 

program as a principal or assistant principal. In order to earn 

the Principal of Distinction, Level II endorsement, the 

candidate must meet two or more of the following criteria as 

specified by the Virginia Board of Education and documented 

in a Virginia Department of Education approved format and 

be recommended by the employing Virginia school division 

superintendent: 

1. Evidence of improved student achievement; 
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2. Evidence of effective instructional leadership; 

3. Evidence of positive effect on school climate or culture; 

4. Earned doctorate in educational leadership or evidence 

of formal professional development in the areas of school 

law, school finance, supervision, human resource 

management, and instructional leadership; or 

5. Evidence of a completion of a high-quality professional 

development project designed by the division 

superintendent. 

8VAC20-23-630. Division Superintendent License. 

An individual may be a candidate for the list of eligible 

division superintendents and the renewable Division 

Superintendent License through the completion of the 

requirements in one of the following four options: 

1. Option I. The individual must: 

a. Hold an earned doctorate degree in educational 

administration or educational leadership from a 

regionally accredited college or university; and 

b. Have completed five years of educational experience 

in a public or an accredited nonpublic school, two of 

which must be successful, full-time teaching experience 

at the preK-12 level and two of which must be in 

administration and supervision at the preK-12 level. 

2. Option II. The individual must: 

a. Hold an earned master's degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university and completed 30 

graduate semester hours beyond the conferral date of the 

master's degree; and 

b. Have completed requirements for administration and 

supervision preK-12 endorsement that includes the 

demonstration of competencies in the following areas: 

(1) Knowledge, understanding, and application of 

planning, assessment, and instructional leadership that 

builds collective professional capacity, including; 

(a) Principles of student motivation, growth, and 

development as a foundation for age- appropriate and 

grade-appropriate curriculum, instruction, and 

assessment; 

(b) Collaborative leadership in gathering and analyzing 

data to identify needs to develop and implement a school 

improvement plan that results in increased student 

learning; 

(c) Planning, implementation, and refinement of 

standards-based curriculum aligned with instruction and 

assessment; 

(d) Collaborative planning and implementation of a 

variety of assessment techniques, including examination 

of student work that yields individual, class, grade level, 

and school level data as a foundation for identifying 

existing competencies and targeting areas in need of 

further attention; 

(e) Incorporation of differentiated and effective 

instruction that responds to individual learner needs 

including appropriate response to cultural, ethnic, and 

linguistic diversity; 

(f) Knowledge, understanding, and application of the 

federal and state regulatory requirements and 

expectations associated with identification, education, 

and evaluation of students with disabilities; 

(g) Collaboratively working with parents and school 

personnel to ensure that students with disabilities are 

included as a valued part of the school community, and 

that they receive effective and appropriately intensive 

instruction to assist them in meeting the standards set for 

all students as well as individual goals outlined in their 

individualized education programs; 

(h) Integration of technology in curriculum and 

instruction to enhance learner understanding; 

(i) Identification, analysis, and resolution of problems 

using effective problem-solving techniques; and 

(j) Development, articulation, implementation, and 

stewardship of a vision of excellence linked to mission 

and core beliefs that promote continuous improvement 

consistent with the goals of the school division. 

(2) Knowledge, understanding, and application of 

leadership and organizations, including; 

(a) The change process of systems, organizations, and 

individuals, using appropriate and effective adult 

learning models; 

(b) Aligning organizational practice, division mission, 

and core beliefs for developing and implementing 

strategic plans; 

(c) Information sources and processing, including data 

collection and data analysis strategies; 

(d) Using data as a part of ongoing program evaluation to 

inform and lead change; 

(e) Developing a change management strategy for 

improved student outcomes; 

(f) Developing distributed leadership strategies to create 

personalized learning environments for diverse schools; 

and 

(g) Effective two-way communication skills including 

consensus building, negotiation, and mediation skills. 

(3) Knowledge, understanding, and application of 

management and leadership skills that achieve effective 

and efficient organizational operations and sustain an 

instructional program conducive to student academic 

progress, including; 

(a) Alignment of curriculum and instruction and 

assessment of the educational program to achieve high 

academic success at the school and division or district 

level; 
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(b) Principles and issues of supervising and leading 

others to ensure a working and learning climate that is 

safe, secure, and respectful of a diverse school 

community; 

(c) Management decisions that ensure successful 

teaching and learning including, human resources 

management and development, theories of motivation, 

change in school culture, innovation and creativity, 

conflict resolution, adult learning, and professional 

development models; 

(d) Knowledge, understanding, and application of 

Virginia's Guidelines for Uniform Performance 

Standards and Evaluation Criteria for Teachers and 

Virginia's Guidelines for Uniform Performance 

Standards and Evaluation Criteria for Principals;  

(e) Principles and issues related to fiscal operations of 

school management; 

(f) Principles and issues related to school facilities and 

use of space and time for supporting high-quality school 

instruction and student learning; 

(g) Legal issues impacting school operations and 

management; 

(h) Technologies that support management functions; and 

(i) Application of data-driven decision making to initiate 

and continue improvement in school and classroom 

practices and student achievement. 

(4) Knowledge, understanding, and application of the 

conditions and dynamics impacting a diverse school 

community, including: 

(a) Emerging issues and trends within school and 

community relations; 

(b) Working collaboratively with staff, families, and 

community members to secure resources and to support 

the success of a diverse population; 

(c) Developing appropriate public relations and public 

engagement strategies and processes for building and 

sustaining positive relationships with families, 

caregivers, and community partners; and 

(d) Integration of technology to support communication 

efforts. 

(5) Knowledge, understanding, and application of the 

purpose of education and the role of professionalism in 

advancing educational goals, including: 

(a) Philosophy of education that reflects commitment to 

principles of honesty, fairness, caring, and equity in day-

to-day professional behavior; 

(b) Integration of high-quality, content-rich, job-

embedded professional learning that respects the 

contribution of all faculty and staff members in building 

a diverse professional learning community; 

(c) Reflective understanding of moral and legal 

consequences of decision making in the school setting; 

(d) Intentional and purposeful effort to model 

professional, moral, and ethical standards as well as 

personal integrity in all interactions; and 

(e) Intentional and purposeful effort to model continuous 

professional learning and to work collegially and 

collaboratively with all members of the school 

community to support the school's goals and enhance its 

collective capacity. 

(6) Knowledge, understanding, and application of 

leadership theories and influences that impact schools, 

including: 

(a) Concepts of leadership including systems theory, 

change theory, learning organizations, and current 

leadership theory; 

(b) Identify and respond to internal and external forces 

and influences on a school; 

(c) Identify and apply the processes of educational policy 

development at the state, local, and school level; and  

(d) Identify and demonstrate ways to influence 

educational policy development at the state, local, and 

school level. 

3. Option III. The individual must: 

a. Hold an earned master's degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university;  

b. Hold a current, valid out-of-state license with an 

endorsement as a division or district superintendent; and 

c. Have completed five years of educational experience 

in a public or an accredited nonpublic school, two of 

which must be successful, full-time teaching experience 

at the preK-12 level and two of which must be in 

successful administration and supervision. 

4. Option IV. The individual must: 

a. Hold an earned master's degree or its equivalent from a 

regionally accredited college or university; 

b. Have held a senior leadership position such as chief 

executive officer or senior military officer; and 

c. Be recommended by a school board interested in 

employing the individual as superintendent. 

8VAC20-23-640. Mathematics specialist for elementary 

education. 

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have: 

1. Earned a baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university and an endorsement in a 

teaching area; 

2. Completed at least three years of successful, full-time 

teaching experience in a public or accredited nonpublic 

school in which the teaching of mathematics was an 

important responsibility; and 
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3. Either:  

a. Graduated from an approved mathematics specialist 

for elementary preparation program - master's level; or  

b. Completed a master's level program in mathematics, 

mathematics education, or related education field with at 

least 21 semester hours undergraduate or graduate 

mathematics coursework distributed in the following 

areas: (i) number and operations; (ii) rational numbers; 

(iii) geometry and measurement; (iv) probability and 

statistics; (v) algebra and functions; and (vi) at least nine 

semester hours of graduate coursework pertaining to 

mathematics education in mathematics instructional 

leadership, evaluation of mathematics curriculum and 

instruction, mathematical learning theory, and student 

assessment for mathematics. 

8VAC20-23-650. Mathematics specialist for middle 

education. 

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have: 

1. Earned a baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university and an endorsement in a 

teaching area; 

2. Completed at least three years of successful, full-time 

teaching experience in a public or accredited nonpublic 

school in which the teaching of mathematics was an 

important responsibility; 

3. Hold the secondary mathematics teaching endorsement 

(6-12); and 

4. Either: 

a. Graduated from an approved mathematics specialist 

for middle education preparation program - master's 

level; or  

b. Completed a master's level program in mathematics, 

mathematics education, or related education field with at 

least 21 semester hours of undergraduate or graduate 

mathematics coursework distributed in the following 

areas; (i) number and operations; (ii) rational numbers; 

(iii) geometry and measurement; (iv) probability and 

statistics; (v) algebra and functions; and (vi) at least nine 

semester hours of graduate coursework pertaining to 

mathematics education in mathematics instructional 

leadership, evaluation of mathematics curriculum and 

instruction, mathematical learning theory, and student 

assessment for mathematics. 

8VAC20-23-660. Reading specialist. 

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have: 

1. Completed a graduate-level reading specialist state-

approved preparation program - master's degree required - 

that includes course experiences of at least 30 semester 

hours of graduate coursework in the competencies for the 

endorsement, as well as a practicum experience in the 

diagnosis and remediation of reading difficulties. 

2. Satisfied the requirements for the reading specialist 

assessment specified by the Virginia Board of Education. 

3. At least three years of successful classroom teaching 

experience in which the teaching of reading was an 

important responsibility. 

8VAC20-23-670. School counselor preK-12. 

Endorsement requirements.  

1. Option I. The candidate must have: 

a. Earned a master's degree from a regionally accredited 

college or university and completed an approved school 

counselor preparation program that shall include at least 

100 clock hours of internship and practicum experiences 

in the preK-6 setting and 100 clock hours of internship 

and practicum experiences in the grades 7-12 setting; and 

b. Two years of successful, full-time teaching experience 

or two years of successful, full-time experience in school 

counseling in a public or an accredited nonpublic school. 

Two years of successful, full-time experience in school 

counseling in a public or an accredited nonpublic school 

under a Provisional License may be accepted to meet this 

requirement. 

2. Option II. The candidate must have: 

a. Earned a master's degree from a regionally accredited 

college or university and completed an approved school 

counselor preparation program that shall include at least 

100 clock hours of internship and practicum experiences 

in the preK-6 setting and 100 clock hours of internship 

and practicum experiences in the grades 7-12 setting; and 

b. Two years of successful, full-time teaching experience 

or two years of successful, full-time experience in school 

counseling in a public or an accredited nonpublic school. 

Two years of successful, full-time experience in school 

counseling in a public or an accredited nonpublic school 

under a nonrenewable Provisional License may be 

accepted to meet this requirement. 

8VAC20-23-680. School manager license. 

A. The school manager license is intended to provide for the 

differentiation of administrative responsibilities in a school 

setting. A school manager is licensed to administer 

noninstructional responsibilities in an educational setting. For 

example, a school manager is restricted from evaluating 

teachers, supervising instruction, developing and evaluating 

curriculum, and serving as a school's student disciplinarian. 

B. To earn a school manager license, the candidate must: 

1. Have earned a baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university; 

2. Have three years successful, full-time managerial 

experience; and 

3. Be recommended for the license by a Virginia school 

division superintendent. 
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8VAC20-23-690. School psychology. 

Endorsement requirements: 

1. Option I. The candidate must: 

a. Complete an approved program in school psychology; 

b. Earn a baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university and complete 60 

graduate-level hours, 54 of which are academic 

coursework, exclusive of field-based experiences, that 

culminate in at least a master's degree; and 

c. Complete an internship that is documented by the 

degree-granting institution. The internship experience 

shall occur on a full-time basis over a period of one year 

or on a half-time basis over a period of two consecutive 

years. The internship shall occur under conditions of 

appropriate supervision, that is, the school-based 

supervisor shall be licensed as either a school or clinical 

psychologist. The internship shall include experiences at 

multiple age levels, at least one half of which shall be in 

an accredited school setting. 

2. Option II. The candidate must hold a currently valid 

certificate issued by the National School Psychology 

Certification Board. 

8VAC20-23-700. School social worker. 

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have: 

1. Earned a master's of social work degree from a 

regionally accredited college or university school of social 

work with a minimum of 60 graduate-level semester hours; 

2. A minimum of six graduate semester hours in education 

to include six semester hours from two of the following 

courses: 

a. The teaching profession (3 semester hours); 

b. Characteristics of special education (3 semester hours); 

c. Human development and learning (3 semester hours); 

or 

d. Classroom and behavior management (3 semester 

hours). 

3. Completed a supervised practicum or field experience of 

a minimum of 400 clock hours in a public or an accredited 

nonpublic school discharging the duties of a school social 

worker. One year of successful, full-time experience as a 

school social worker in a public or an accredited nonpublic 

school may be accepted in lieu of the school social work 

practicum. 

8VAC20-23-710. Vocational evaluator. 

Endorsement requirements: 

1. Option I. The candidate must be certified as a vocational 

evaluation specialist by holding a professional vocational 

evaluator (PVE) credential or a certified vocational 

evaluator (CVE) specialist credential, meeting all standards 

and criteria of the Commission on Certification of Work 

Adjustment and Vocational Evaluation Specialists 

(CCWAVES). 

2. Option II. The candidate must have earned a master's 

degree in vocational evaluation, career and technical 

education, special education, or rehabilitation counseling 

and completed 15 graduate semester hours distributed in 

the following areas: 

a. Tests and measurements: 3 semester hours; 

b. Medical and educational aspects of disability: 3 

semester hours; 

c. Occupational information and job analysis: 3 semester 

hours; 

d. Purposes and practices of vocational evaluation: 3 

semester hours; and 

e. Career, life planning, and transition services: 3 

semester hours. 

Part VII  

Revocation, Cancellation, Suspension, Denial, and 

Reinstatement of Teaching Licenses 

8VAC20-23-720. Revocation. 

A. A license issued by the Virginia Board of Education may 

be revoked for the following reasons: 

1. Obtaining or attempting to obtain such license by 

fraudulent means or through misrepresentation of material 

facts; 

2. Falsification of school records, documents, statistics, or 

reports; 

3. Conviction of any felony; 

4. Conviction of any misdemeanor involving moral 

turpitude; 

5. Conviction of any misdemeanor involving a minor child 

or drugs, not including alcohol; 

6. Conduct with direct and detrimental effect on the health, 

welfare, discipline, or morale of students; 

7. Misapplication of or failure to account for school funds 

or other school properties with which the licensee has been 

entrusted; 

8. Acts related to secure mandatory tests as specified in 

subsection A of § 22.1-292.1 of the Code of Virginia; 

9. Knowingly and willfully with the intent to compromise 

the outcome of an athletic competition procure, sell, or 

administer anabolic steroids or cause such drugs to be 

procured, sold, or administered to a student who is a 

member of a school athletic team, or fail to report the use 

of such drugs by a student to the school principal and 

division superintendent as required by clause (iii) of 

subsection A of § 22.1-279.3:1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Any person whose license is suspended or revoked by the 

board pursuant to this section shall be ineligible for three 

school years for employment in the public schools of the 

Commonwealth;  
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10. Revocation, suspension, surrender, cancellation, 

invalidation, or denial of, or other adverse action against, a 

teaching, administrator, pupil personnel services, or other 

education-related certificate or license by another state, 

territory, or country; 

11. Founded case of child abuse or neglect after all appeal 

rights have been exhausted; 

12. Notification of dismissal or resignation pursuant to 

subsection F of § 22.1-313 of the Code of Virginia; or 

13. Other good and just cause in the best interest of the 

public schools of the Commonwealth of Virginia.  

B. Procedures. 

1. A complaint may be filed by anyone, but it shall be the 

duty of a division superintendent, principal, or other 

responsible school employee to file a complaint in any case 

in which he has knowledge that a holder of a license is 

guilty of any offense set forth in subsection A of this 

section. The person making the complaint shall submit the 

complaint in writing to the appropriate division 

superintendent. 

2. Upon receipt of the complaint against the holder of a 

license, a division superintendent or his duly authorized 

representative shall investigate the complaint. If, on the 

basis of such investigation, the division superintendent 

finds the complaint to be without merit, he shall so notify 

the complaining party or parties in writing and then close 

his file on the matter. This action shall be final unless the 

local school board, on its own motion, votes to proceed to 

a hearing on the complaint.  

C. Petition for revocation. Should the division 

superintendent or local school board conclude that there is 

reasonable cause to believe that a complaint against the 

holder of a license is well founded, the license holder shall be 

notified of the complaint by a written petition for revocation 

of a license signed by the division superintendent. A copy of 

such petition shall be sent by certified mail, return receipt 

requested, to the license holder's last known address. 

D. Form of petition. The petition for the revocation of a 

license shall set forth: 

1. The name and last known address of the person against 

whom the petition is being filed; 

2. The type of license and the license number held by the 

person against whom the petition is being filed; 

3. The offenses alleged and the specific actions that 

comprise the alleged offenses; 

4. A statement of rights of the person charged under this 

chapter. The statement of rights shall include notification 

to the person of the right to cancel the license if he chooses 

not to contest the allegations in the petition. The statement 

must notify the individual that he shall receive a notice of 

cancellation that will include the statement: "The license 

holder voluntarily returned the license in response to a 

petition for revocation." The individual also shall be 

notified that the cancellation of the license will be reported 

to division superintendents in Virginia and to chief state 

school officers of the other states and territories of the 

United States; and 

5. Any other pertinent information. 

E. Filing of petition. The original petition shall be entered in 

the files of the local school board where the license holder is 

or was last employed. 

F. Response to petition. The license holder shall present his 

written answer to the petition, if any, within 14 days of 

delivery or attempted delivery of the petition as certified by 

the United States Postal Service. 

1. If the license holder does not wish to contest the 

allegations in the petition, he may cancel the license by 

returning the license to the division superintendent with a 

written, signed statement requesting cancellation in 

response to a petition for revocation. The division 

superintendent shall forward the request for cancellation 

along with the petition for revocation to the Superintendent 

of Public Instruction within 14 days of receipt. The 

Superintendent of Public Instruction shall cancel the 

license and send a notice of cancellation to the person by 

certified mail within 14 days of receipt of the request for 

cancellation. 

2. If the license holder files a written answer admitting or 

denying the allegations in the petition or fails to file a 

written answer within 14 days of delivery or attempted 

delivery of the petition as certified by the United States 

Postal Service, the local school board shall promptly 

proceed to a hearing. The local school board shall provide 

a hearing at the time and place of its regular meeting or at 

such other reasonable time and place it may specify. The 

license holder or his representative, if any, shall be given at 

least 14 days' notice of the hearing. 

3. At the hearing, the local school board shall receive the 

recommendation of the division superintendent and then 

either deny the petition or recommend license revocation 

or suspension. A decision to deny the petition shall be 

final, except as specified in subsection G of this section, 

and the investigative file on the petition shall be closed and 

maintained as a separate file. Any record or material 

relating to the allegations in the petition shall be placed in 

the investigative file. Should the local school board 

recommend the revocation or suspension of a license, the 

division superintendent shall forward the recommendation 

and the investigative file to the Superintendent of Public 

Instruction within 14 days. 

G. Revocation on motion of the Virginia Board of 

Education. The Virginia Board of Education reserves the right 

to act directly to revoke a license when the Virginia Board of 

Education has reasonable cause to believe that subsection A 

of this section is applicable. The Superintendent of Public 

Instruction may send a petition for revocation to the license 
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holder as provided by subsection D of this section. The 

license holder shall have the opportunity to respond to the 

petition or request cancellation of the license within 14 days 

of delivery or attempted delivery of the petition, as certified 

by the United States Postal Service.  

1. If the license holder files a written answer admitting the 

allegations in the petition or fails to file a written answer 

within 14 days of delivery or attempted delivery of the 

petition as certified by the United States Postal Service, the 

petition shall be forwarded to the Virginia Board of 

Education for action. No revocation will be ordered 

without the involved license holder being given the 

opportunity to appear at a hearing specified in 8VAC20-

23-780 C. 

2. If the license holder timely files his written answer 

denying the allegations in the petition, the Superintendent 

of Public Instruction shall schedule a hearing with the 

investigative panel provided in 8VAC20-23-780 A. The 

license holder or his representative, if any, shall be given at 

least 14 days' notice of the hearing. The investigative panel 

shall take action on the petition as specified in 8VAC20-

23-780 A. No revocation will be ordered without the 

involved license holder being given the opportunity to 

appear at a hearing specified in 8VAC20-23-780 C. 

H. Reinstatement of license. A license that has been revoked 

may be reinstated by the Virginia Board of Education after 

five years if the board is satisfied that reinstatement is in the 

best interest of the public schools of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia. The individual seeking reinstatement must submit a 

written request and completed application to the board. The 

request for reinstatement will be reviewed by the 

Superintendent of Public Instruction's investigative panel 

pursuant to 8VAC20-23-780. Notification to all appropriate 

parties will be communicated in writing by the Virginia 

Department of Education. 

8VAC20-23-730. Cancellation. 

A. A license may be canceled by the voluntary return of the 

license by the license holder. Reasons for cancellation are the 

same as those listed under 8VAC20-23-720 A. 

B. The individual may voluntarily return the license to the 

division superintendent or the Superintendent of Public 

Instruction with a written, signed statement requesting 

cancellation. The individual shall acknowledge in the request 

that he understands that the notice of cancellation will include 

the statement: "The license holder voluntarily returned his 

teaching license and requested cancellation. Reasons for 

cancellation are the same as those for revocation." However, 

if the request for cancellation is in response to a petition for 

revocation, the individual shall acknowledge that he 

understands that the notice of cancellation will include the 

statement: "The license holder voluntarily returned the license 

in response to a petition for revocation." The individual also 

shall acknowledge that he understands that the cancellation of 

the license will be reported to division superintendents in 

Virginia and to chief state school officers of the other states 

and territories of the United States. The division 

superintendent shall forward any request for cancellation and, 

if applicable, the petition for revocation to the Superintendent 

of Public Instruction within 14 days of receipt. The 

Superintendent of Public Instruction shall cancel the license 

and send the person a notice of cancellation by certified mail 

within 14 days of receipt of the request for cancellation.  

C. A license that has been canceled may be reinstated by the 

Virginia Board of Education if the board is satisfied that 

reinstatement is in the best interest of the public schools of 

the Commonwealth of Virginia. The individual seeking 

reinstatement must submit a written request and completed 

application to the board. The request for reinstatement will be 

reviewed by the Superintendent of Public Instruction's 

investigative panel pursuant to 8VAC20-23-780 A. 

Notification to all appropriate parties will be communicated 

in writing by the Virginia Department of Education. 

8VAC20-23-740. Suspension. 

A. A license may be suspended for the following reasons: 

1. Physical, mental, or emotional incapacity as shown by a 

competent medical authority; 

2. Incompetence or neglect of duty; 

3. Failure or refusal to comply with school laws and 

regulations, including willful violation of contractual 

obligations; 

4. Acts related to secure mandatory tests as specified in 

subsection A of § 22.1-292.1 of the Code of Virginia; 

5. Knowingly and willfully with the intent to compromise 

the outcome of an athletic competition procure, sell, or 

administer anabolic steroids or cause such drugs to be 

procured, sold, or administered to a student who is a 

member of a school athletic team, or fail to report the use 

of such drugs by a student to the school principal and 

division superintendent as required by clause (iii) of 

subsection A of § 22.1-279.3:1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Any person whose license is suspended or revoked by the 

board pursuant to this section shall be ineligible for three 

school years for employment in the public schools of the 

Commonwealth; or 

6. Other good and just cause in the best interest of the 

public schools of the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

B. Procedures. 

1. A complaint may be filed by anyone, but it shall be the 

duty of a division superintendent, principal, or other 

responsible school employee to file a complaint in any case 

in which he has knowledge that the license holder has 

committed any offense set forth in subsection A of this 

section. The person making the complaint shall submit the 

complaint in writing to the appropriate division 

superintendent. 
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2. Upon receipt of the complaint against the holder of a 

license, a division superintendent or his duly authorized 

representative shall investigate the complaint. If, on the 

basis of such investigation, the division superintendent 

finds the complaint to be without merit, he shall so notify 

the complaining party or parties in writing and then close 

his file on the matter. This action shall be final unless the 

local school board on its own motion votes to proceed to a 

hearing on the complaint.  

C. Petition for suspension. Should the division 

superintendent or local school board conclude that there is 

reasonable cause to believe that a complaint against the 

holder of a license is well founded, the license holder shall be 

notified of the complaint by a written petition for suspension 

of a license signed by the division superintendent. A copy of 

such petition shall be sent by certified mail, return receipt 

requested, to the license holder's last known address. 

D. Form of petition. The petition for the suspension of a 

license shall set forth: 

1. The name and last known address of the person against 

whom the petition is being filed; 

2. The type of license and the license number held by the 

person against whom the petition is being filed; 

3. The offenses alleged and the specific actions that 

comprise the alleged offenses; 

4. A statement of the rights of the person against whom the 

petition is being filed. The statement of rights shall notify 

the person of the right to cancel the license if he chooses 

not to contest the allegations in the petition. The statement 

also shall notify the individual that the license may be 

suspended for up to five years and that he shall receive a 

notice of cancellation that will include the statement: "The 

license holder voluntarily returned the license in response 

to a petition for suspension." The individual also shall be 

notified that the cancellation and period of suspension will 

be reported to division superintendents in Virginia and to 

chief state school officers of the other states and territories 

of the United States; and  

5. Any other pertinent information. 

E. Filing of petition. The original petition shall be entered in 

the files of the local school board where the license holder is 

or was last employed. 

F. Response to petition. The license holder shall present his 

written answer to the petition, if any, within 14 days of 

delivery or attempted delivery of the petition, as certified by 

the United States Postal Service. 

1. If the license holder does not wish to contest the 

allegations in the petition, he may cancel the license by 

returning the license to the division superintendent with a 

written and signed statement requesting cancellation. The 

division superintendent shall forward the request for 

cancellation along with the petition for suspension to the 

Superintendent of Public Instruction within 14 days of 

receipt. The Superintendent of Public Instruction shall 

cancel the license and send the person a notice of 

cancellation by certified mail within 14 days of receipt of 

the request for cancellation.  

2. If the license holder files a written answer admitting or 

denying the allegations in the petition or fails to file a 

written answer within 14 days of delivery or attempted 

delivery of the petition as certified by the United States 

Postal Service, the local school board shall promptly 

proceed to a hearing. The local school board shall provide 

a hearing at the time and place of its regular meeting or at 

such other reasonable time and place it may specify. The 

license holder or his representative, if any, shall be given at 

least 14 days' notice of the hearing. 

3. At its hearing, the local school board shall receive the 

recommendation of the division superintendent and then 

either deny the petition or recommend suspension. A 

decision to deny the petition shall be final, except as 

specified in subsection G of this section, and the 

investigative file on the petition shall be closed and 

maintained as a separate file. Any record or material 

relating to the allegations in the petition shall be placed in 

the investigative file. Should the local school board 

recommend the suspension of a license, the division 

superintendent shall forward the recommendation and the 

investigative file to the Superintendent of Public 

Instruction within 14 days. 

G. Suspension on motion of the Virginia Board of 

Education. The Virginia Board of Education reserves the right 

to act directly to suspend a license when the Virginia Board 

of Education has reasonable cause to believe that subsection 

A of this section is applicable. The Superintendent of Public 

Instruction may send a petition for suspension to the license 

holder as specified in subsection D of this section. The 

license holder shall have the opportunity to respond to the 

petition or request cancellation of the license within 14 days 

of delivery or attempted delivery of the petition, as certified 

by the United States Postal Service. 

1. If the license holder files a written answer admitting the 

allegations in the petition or fails to file a written answer 

within 14 days of delivery or attempted delivery of the 

petition as certified by the United States Postal Service, the 

petition shall be forwarded to the Virginia Board of 

Education for action. No suspension will be ordered 

without the involved license holder being given the 

opportunity to appear at a hearing specified in 8VAC20-

23-780 C. 

2. If the license holder timely files his written answer 

denying the allegations in the petition, the Superintendent 

of Public Instruction shall schedule a hearing with the 

investigative panel provided in 8VAC20-23-780 A. The 

license holder or his representative, if any, shall be given at 

least 14 days' notice of the hearing. The investigative panel 

shall take action on the petition as specified in 8VAC20-
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23-780 A. No suspension will be ordered without the 

involved license holder being given the opportunity to 

appear at a hearing specified in 8VAC20-23-780 C. 

H. Reinstatement of license. A license may be suspended for 

a period of time not to exceed five years. The license may be 

reinstated by the Superintendent of Public Instruction, upon 

written request and application, with verification that all 

requirements for license renewal have been satisfied. 

Notification to all appropriate parties will be communicated 

in writing by the Virginia Department of Education.  

8VAC20-23-750. Denial. 

A license may be denied for the following reasons: 

1. Attempting to obtain such license by fraudulent means 

or through misrepresentation of material facts; 

2. Falsification of records or documents; 

3. Conviction of any felony; 

4. Conviction of any misdemeanor involving moral 

turpitude; 

5. Conviction of any misdemeanor involving a minor child 

or drugs, not including alcohol; 

6. Conduct with a direct and detrimental effect on the 

health, welfare, discipline, or morale of students; 

7. Revocation, suspension, surrender, cancellation, 

invalidation, or denial of, or other adverse action against, a 

teaching, administrator, pupil personnel services, or other 

education-related certificate or license by another state, 

territory, or country;  

8. Founded case of child abuse or neglect, after all appeal 

rights have been exhausted; or 

9. Other good and just cause in the best interest of the 

public schools of the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

8VAC20-23-760. Expired licenses. 

A. The holder of a license that has expired must apply for a 

license according to the procedures set forth in 8VAC20-23-

40 or 8VAC20-23-110. Such application may be denied 

renewal by the Superintendent of Public Instruction for any of 

the reasons specified in 8VAC20-23-750. No such denial will 

be ordered unless the license holder is given the opportunity 

for the hearing specified in 8VAC20-23-780 C. 

B. A license issued by the Virginia Board of Education may 

be revoked or suspended for any of the reasons listed in 

8VAC20-23-720 A or 8VAC20-23-740 A, even if the license 

is expired, as long as the basis for action occurred prior to the 

issuance of the license or while the license was active.  

8VAC20-23-770. Right to counsel and transcript. 

A license holder or applicant shall have the right, at his own 

expense, to be represented by an attorney or other 

representative at (i) any local school board hearing provided 

for in 8VAC20-23-720 F 2 or 8VAC20-23-740 F 2, (ii) 

investigative panel hearing provided for in 8VAC20-23-780 

A, or (iii) proceedings before the Virginia Board of Education 

as specified in 8VAC20-23-780 C. The hearing before the 

local school board provided for in 8VAC20-23-720 F 2 or 

8VAC20-23-740 F 2 and the investigative panel hearing 

provided for in 8VAC20-23-780 A shall be recorded, and 

upon written request the license holder or applicant shall be 

provided a transcript of the hearing at his own expense. Any 

such hearing before the Virginia Board of Education shall be 

recorded, and upon written request the license holder or 

applicant shall be provided a transcript of the hearing at no 

charge. 

8VAC20-23-780. Action by the Superintendent of Public 

Instruction and the Virginia Board of Education. 

A. Upon receipt of a petition, the Superintendent of Public 

Instruction will ensure that an investigative panel at the state 

level reviews the petition. The panel shall consist of three to 

five members selected by the Superintendent of Public 

Instruction. The applicant or license holder shall be given at 

least 14 days' notice of the date, time, and location of the 

investigative panel hearing when his case will be considered. 

The Virginia Department of Education shall ensure that the 

applicant or license holder receives all documentation that 

will be used during the investigative panel hearing prior to the 

hearing. Representatives of the local school division and the 

applicant or license holder are entitled to be present with 

counsel and witnesses if so desired. The investigative panel 

hearing shall be recorded. The recommendation of the 

investigative panel is made to the Superintendent of Public 

Instruction who will forward his recommendation and the 

documentation used during the investigative panel hearing to 

the Virginia Board of Education or its duly designated 

committee at one of its scheduled meetings. The applicant or 

license holder shall be given at least 14 days' notice of the 

Virginia Board of Education meeting when his case will be 

considered. Following the investigative panel hearing, the 

Virginia Department of Education shall forward the 

recommendation of the investigative panel to the applicant or 

license holder as soon as practicable, but no later than 14 days 

prior to the scheduled Virginia Board of Education meeting 

when his case will be considered.  

B. The Superintendent of Public Instruction is authorized to 

approve the issuance of licenses for individuals who have a 

misdemeanor convictions related to drugs, not including 

alcohol, based on a review of the cases. No individual would 

be denied a license without a hearing of the Virginia Board of 

Education as required in this section. 

C. The Virginia Board of Education, or its duly designated 

committee, shall consider the recommendation of the 

Superintendent of Public Instruction and such relevant and 

material evidence as the applicant or license holder may 

desire to present at the hearing. At its discretion, the Virginia 

Board of Education may ask the applicant or license holder 

questions. At the conclusion of the hearing, the Virginia 

Board of Education will announce its decision.  
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D. The decision of the Virginia Board of Education shall be 

recorded in the minutes of the meeting, and the applicant or 

license holder and principal complainants will receive written 

notice of the decision.  

8VAC20-23-790. Right of applicant or license holder to 

appear at hearing. 

An applicant or a license holder shall have the right to 

appear in person at the hearings held by the local school 

board, Virginia Board of Education, or board committee 

described in this part unless he is confined to jail or a penal 

institution.  The local school board or Virginia Board of 

Education, at its discretion, may continue such hearings for a 

reasonable time if the applicant or license holder is prevented 

from appearing in person for reasons such as documented 

medical or mental impairment. 

8VAC20-23-800. Notification. 

Notification of the revocation, suspension, cancellation, 

denial, or reinstatement of a license shall be made by the 

Superintendent of Public Instruction, or his designee, to 

division superintendents in Virginia and to chief state school 

officers of the other states and territories of the United States. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3476; Filed August 10, 2015, 10:40 a.m.  

STATE COUNCIL OF HIGHER EDUCATION FOR 
VIRGINIA 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Council of Higher 

Education for Virginia is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 B 4 of 

the Code of Virginia, which exempts regulations relating to 

grants of state or federal funds or property. 

Title of Regulation: 8VAC40-40. College Scholarship 

Assistance Program Regulations (repealing 8VAC40-40-

10 through 8VAC40-40-130).  

Statutory Authority: § 23-38.47 (Repealed) of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 7, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Lee Ann Rung, Manager, Executive and 

Council Affairs, State Council of Higher Education for 

Virginia, James Monroe Building, 101 North 14th Street, 9th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-2602, 

FAX (804) 371-7911, or email leeannrung@schev.edu. 

Summary: 

This action repeals the College Scholarship Assistance 

Program Regulations as unnecessary due to the repeal 

of  the statutory authority for the program by Chapter 484 

of the 2014 Acts of Assembly. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4478; Filed August 6, 2015, 4:28 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following forms used in 

administering the regulation were filed by the agency. The forms 

are not being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name to access 

a form. The forms are also available through the agency contact 

or at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, General 

Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC20-90. Solid Waste Management 

Permit Action Fees and Annual Fees. 

Agency Contact: Melissa Porterfield, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4238, or email 

melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (9VAC20-90) 

Solid Waste Information and Assessment Program - 

Reporting Table, Form DEQ 50-25 with Statement of 

Economic Benefits Form and Instructions (rev. 11/14) 

11/2014) 

Solid Waste Annual Permit Fee Quarter Payment Form, 

PF001 (rev. 7/14) 

Solid Waste Annual Permit Fee Quarter Payment Form 

PF001 (rev. 7/2015) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4491; Filed August 19, 2015, 10:54 a.m.  

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

following regulation have been filed by the State Water 

Control Board. The forms are not being published; however, 

online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations may click on the name of a new or amended form 

to access it. The forms are also available from the agency 

contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of 

Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-610. Groundwater 

Withdrawal Regulations. 

Agency Contact: Debra Harris, Policy and Planning 

Specialist, Department of Environmental Quality, 629 East 

Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 698-

4209, email debra.harris@deq.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (9VAC25-610)  

Department of Environmental Quality Water Division 

Permit Application Fee Form (rev. 10/14) 

Application Instructions for Completing a Groundwater 

Withdrawal Permit Application (rev. 11/13) 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6cda9004221~2&typ=40&actno=004221&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6cda9004221~2&typ=40&actno=004221&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6cda9004221~2&typ=40&actno=004221&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ebe8c004491~1&typ=40&actno=004491&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ebe8c004491~1&typ=40&actno=004491&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3f9d8004208~10&typ=40&actno=004208&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3f9d8004208~10&typ=40&actno=004208&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=add58001781~5&typ=40&actno=001781&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=add58001781~5&typ=40&actno=001781&mime=application/pdf
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Application for a Groundwater Withdrawal Permit (rev. 

9/12) 

Groundwater Withdrawal Permit - Change of Ownership 

Agreement Form (rev. 11/13)  

Uncontested Termination Agreement (rev. 11/13)  

Water Well Completion Report, Form GW2 (eff. 7/07) 

Uniform Water Well Completion Report, Form GW-2 (rev. 

7/15) 

Public Notice Authorization Form - Authorization for Public 

Notice Billing to Groundwater Withdrawal Permit Applicant 

(rev. 11/13)  

Preapplication Meeting - Application for a Groundwater 

Withdrawal Permit (rev. 9/12) 

Local and Areawide Planning Requirements (rev. 9/12) 

Quarterly Groundwater Withdrawal Report (rev. 11/13)  

Mitigation Plan (rev. 11/13)  

Existing Users Groundwater Withdrawal Permit Application 

and Instructions (eff. 2/14) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4489; Filed August 12, 2015, 9:36 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-50. Amount, Duration, and 

Scope of Medical and Remedial Care Services (amending 

12VAC30-50-35, 12VAC30-50-75).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: October 7, 2015. 

Effective Date: October 22, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia grants to the 

Board of Medical Assistance Services the authority to 

administer and amend the Plan for Medical Assistance. 

Section 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

Director of the Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) to administer and amend the Plan for Medical 

Assistance according to the board's requirements. The 

Medicaid authority as established by § 1902 (a) of the Social 

Security Act (42 USC 1396a) provides governing authority 

for payments for services. 

Purpose: This amendment to the state Medicaid regulations 

eliminates redundant coverage of benzodiazepines and 

barbiturates between Medicare and Medicaid. This 

amendment will not prevent full benefit dual eligibles from 

receiving these drugs. With this change, full benefit dual 

eligibles will obtain these two drugs from their Medicare Part 

D pharmacy benefit provider, rather than through the 

Medicaid fee-for-service program. In accordance with 

existing Medicaid policy, DMAS will continue to provide 

coverage for all other Virginia Medicaid-covered drugs that 

are not covered under Medicare Part D coverage. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: DMAS is utilizing 

the fast-track rulemaking process because the agency does not 

anticipate any objections to these changes. Full benefit dual 

eligibles will continue to have the same access to all of the 

classes of drugs they previously had under Medicaid. This 

change is anticipated by the provider community because the 

expanded Medicare Part D drug coverage for benzodiazepines 

and barbiturates, regardless of medical condition, will be a 

national change that all Medicare Part D pharmacy benefit 

plans must implement. These plans are required by the 

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services to inform their 

enrollees of these changes. 

Substance: The sections of the State Plan for Medical 

Assistance that will be affected by this action are 12VAC30-

50-35 (Requirements relating to payment for covered 

outpatient drugs for the categorically needy) and 12VAC30-

50-75 (Requirements relating to payment for covered 

outpatient drugs for the medically needy). Prior to the 

Medicare Improvement for Patients and Providers Act of 

2008 (MIPPA), federal law restricted coverage of these two 

drugs under Medicare Part D, but they were available through 

Medicaid. Effective January 1, 2014, benzodiazepines and 

barbiturates will be covered for full benefit dual eligibles 

under Medicare Part D for all health conditions.  

This change resulted from the passage of § 175 of MIPPA 

and the Affordable Care Act of 2010. MIPPA amended 

§ 1860D-2(e)(2)(A) of the Social Security Act to remove the 

blanket exclusion of these two drugs from Part D coverage. 

The Affordable Care Act amended § 1927(d)(2) of the Social 

Security Act to require Medicare Part D coverage of 

benzodiazepines and barbiturates for any health condition, 

effective January 1, 2014.  

Because of this additional Part D drug coverage, DMAS no 

longer needs to provide this class of drugs to full benefit dual 

eligible individuals. Therefore, DMAS terminates coverage of 

benzodiazepines and barbiturates for full benefit dual 

eligibles in order to eliminate redundant coverage of these 

two drugs.  

Issues: The primary advantage to the general public and 

private citizens with this proposed regulatory amendment is 

the cost savings associated with the implementation of this 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7f2e6001781~13&typ=40&actno=001781&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7f2e6001781~13&typ=40&actno=001781&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2768a001781~6&typ=40&actno=001781&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2768a001781~6&typ=40&actno=001781&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=59e6c001781~7&typ=40&actno=001781&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f0af8004489~1&typ=40&actno=004489&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f0af8004489~1&typ=40&actno=004489&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=85e13001781~9&typ=40&actno=001781&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=85e13001781~9&typ=40&actno=001781&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=85e13001781~9&typ=40&actno=001781&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=45793001781~18&typ=40&actno=001781&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=45793001781~18&typ=40&actno=001781&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=19d2d001781~19&typ=40&actno=001781&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c5c54001781~10&typ=40&actno=001781&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=697b1001781~11&typ=40&actno=001781&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dbab6003949~1&typ=40&actno=003949&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dbab6003949~1&typ=40&actno=003949&mime=application/pdf
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change. DMAS will no longer need to provide 

benzodiazepines and barbiturates. With the implementation of 

this change, the cost of these drugs will be borne by the 

Medicare Part D plan of the enrollee, not by the Virginia 

Medicaid program. There are no disadvantages to the general 

public or private citizens.  

The primary advantage to the agency and the Commonwealth 

is the transfer of coverage for barbiturates and 

benzodiazepines to the federally funded Medicare Part D 

plans, which will save money for the Commonwealth.  

Medicaid enrolled pharmacies that provide coverage to full 

benefit dual eligibles also participate in the Medicare Part D 

plans that will be providing this additional coverage. It is 

anticipated that the transition to a different payor for these 

classes of drugs from the Virginia Medicaid program to 

Medicare Part D plans should cause no disruption in 

coverage. There are no perceived disadvantages to the 

Commonwealth for this proposed regulatory change. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to changes in federal law, the proposed regulations 

eliminate Medicaid coverage of benzodiazepines and 

barbiturates as of January 1, 2014, for recipients who will be 

eligible to receive these drugs under their Medicare coverage. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Prior to the Medicare 

Improvement for Patients and Providers Act of 2008 

(MIPPA), federal law restricted coverage of these two drugs 

under Medicare Part D, but they were available through 

Medicaid. 

Effective January 1, 2014, benzodiazepines and barbiturates 

will be covered for full benefit dual eligibles under Medicare 

Part D for all health conditions. This change resulted from the 

passage of both Section 175 of MIPPA and the Affordable 

Care Act of 2010. MIPPA amended section 1860D-2(e)(2)(A) 

of the Social Security Act to remove the blanket exclusion of 

these two drugs from Part D coverage. The Affordable Care 

Act amended section 1927(d)(2) of the Social Security Act, to 

require Medicare Part D coverage of benzodiazepines and 

barbiturates for any health condition, effective January 1, 

2014. 

Because of this additional Part D drug coverage, Virginia 

Medicaid no longer needs to provide this class of drugs to full 

benefit dual eligible individuals. Thus, the proposed 

regulations terminate coverage of benzodiazepines and 

barbiturates for approximately 109,000 full benefit dual 

eligibles. With this change, full benefit dual eligibles will 

obtain these two drugs from their Medicare Part D pharmacy 

benefit provider, rather than through the Medicaid fee-for-

service program. 

While changes in coverage of these drugs will take place 

regardless of this regulatory action, the main economic 

impact of these changes is the shift in the funding sources. 

Currently, these drugs are paid by Virginia Medicaid which is 

funded jointly by state (50%) and by federal (50%) 

governments. As of January 1, 2014, Medicare program 

which is funded l00% by federal government will pay for 

these drugs. Thus, the Commonwealth will realize some fiscal 

savings and there will be additional federal funds coming into 

Virginia. Since additional federal funds coming into Virginia 

do not have offsetting reductions elsewhere in the state, these 

funds represent a net injection into Virginia's economy. These 

injections are likely to have positive impacts on state gross 

domestic product, employment, and income. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. There are approximately 

109,000 categorically and medically needy full benefit dual 

eligibles and approximately 1,000 pharmacies participating in 

the Medicaid program currently. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulations 

apply throughout the Commonwealth. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This change should have a 

positive impact on employment in the Commonwealth as 

there will be some state fiscal savings and inflow of 

additional federal funds in the Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

changes are not anticipated to have a direct impact on the use 

and value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. These changes are 

not anticipated to have costs or other adverse impacts on 

small businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. These changes are not anticipated to have an 

adverse impact on small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No effect on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, a determination 

of the public benefit, the projected number of businesses or 

other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the 

identity of any localities and types of businesses or other 

entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons 

and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs 

to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with 

the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private 

property. Further, if the proposed regulation has an adverse 

effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such 

economic impact analyses include (i) an identification and 

estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the 

regulation; (ii) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and 
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other administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the regulation, including the type of professional 

skills necessary for preparing required reports and other 

documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the 

regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a description 

of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of 

achieving the purpose of the regulation. The analysis 

presented above represents DPB's best estimate of these 

economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency has reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared 

by the Department of Planning and Budget. The agency 

concurs with this analysis. 

Summary: 

The amendments eliminate redundant coverage of 

benzodiazepines and barbiturates between Medicare and 

Medicaid. Individuals who are eligible for both Medicare 

and Medicaid will obtain these medications under 

Medicare Part D drug coverage.  

12VAC30-50-35. Requirements relating to payment for 

covered outpatient drugs for the categorically needy.  

A. Effective January 1, 2006, the Medicaid agency will not 

cover any Part D drug for full-benefit dual eligible individuals 

who are entitled to receive Medicare benefits under Part A or 

Part B.  

The Medicaid agency provides coverage for the following 

excluded or otherwise restricted drugs or classes of drugs, or 

their medical uses to all Medicaid recipients, including full 

benefit dual eligible beneficiaries under the Medicare 

Prescription Drug Benefit-Part D. The following excluded 

drugs are covered:  

1. Agents when used for anorexia, weight loss, or weight 

gain (see specific drug categories in subsection B of this 

section);  

2. Agents when used for the symptomatic relief of cough 

and colds (see specific drug categories in subsection B of 

this section);  

3. Prescription vitamins and mineral products, except 

prenatal vitamins and fluoride (see specific drug 

categories in subsection B of this section); and 

4. Nonprescription drugs (see specific drug categories in 

subsection B of this section);. 

5. Barbiturates, except for dual eligible individuals when 

used in the treatment of epilepsy, cancer, or a chronic 

mental health disorder (see specific drug categories in 

subsection B of this section); and  

6. Benzodiazepines, except for dual eligible individuals 

as Part D will provide coverage for all conditions (see 

specific drug categories in subsection B of this section).  

B. Coverage of specific categories of excluded drugs will be 

in accordance with existing Medicaid policy as described in 

12VAC30-50-520.  

12VAC30-50-75. Requirements relating to payment for 

covered outpatient drugs for the medically needy.  

A. Effective January 1, 2006, the Medicaid agency will not 

cover any Part D drug for full-benefit dual eligible individuals 

who are entitled to receive Medicare benefits under Part A or 

Part B.  

The Medicaid agency provides coverage for the following 

excluded or otherwise restricted drugs or classes of drugs, or 

their medical uses to all Medicaid recipients, including full 

benefit dual eligible beneficiaries under the Medicare 

Prescription Drug Benefit Part D. The following excluded 

drugs are covered:  

1. Agents when used for anorexia, weight loss, or weight 

gain (see specific drug categories in subsection B of this 

section);  

2. Agents when used for the symptomatic relief of cough 

and colds (see specific drug categories in subsection B of 

this section);  

3. Prescription vitamins and mineral products, except 

prenatal vitamins and fluoride (see specific drug 

categories in subsection B of this section); and 

4. Nonprescription drugs (see specific drug categories in 

subsection B of this section);. 

5. Barbiturates, except for dual eligible individuals when 

used in the treatment of epilepsy, cancer, or a chronic 

mental health disorder (see specific drug categories in 

subsection B of this section); and  

6. Benzodiazepines, except for dual eligible individuals 

as Part D will provide coverage for all conditions (see 

specific drug categories in subsection B of this section).  

B. Coverage of specific categories of excluded drugs will be 

in accordance with existing Medicaid policy as described in 

12VAC30-50-520.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-3797; Filed August 10, 2015, 8:20 a.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-100. State Programs 

(amending 12VAC30-100-260, 12VAC30-100-270, 

12VAC30-100-320, 12VAC30-100-340).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-325 and 32.1-330.1 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: October 7, 2015. 

Effective Date: October 22, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Victoria Simmons, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-6043, FAX (804) 

786-1680, or email victoria.simmons@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia grants the 

Board of Medical Assistance Services the authority to 
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administer and amend the Plan for Medical Assistance. 

Section 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

Director of the Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) to administer and amend the Plan for Medical 

Assistance according to the board's requirements. The 

Medicaid authority as established by § 1902(a) of the Social 

Security Act (42 USC § 1396a) provides governing authority 

for payments for services. 

DMAS provides financial assistance to individuals who have 

been diagnosed as HIV positive to purchase group health 

insurance plan benefits through their employers. This 

assistance is permitted under the authority of § 32.1-330.1 of 

the Code of Virginia and the HIV Health Care Services 

Program (42 USC § 300ff-21 et seq.). 

Purpose: The purpose of this regulatory change is to amend 

the current HIV Premium Assistance Program regulations in 

three ways: (i) refer to individual and spousal income, rather 

than family income, when evaluating individuals for this 

program's eligibility; (ii) expand the list of countable liquid 

assets that DMAS may evaluate during eligibility 

determination; and (iii) provide for coverage of family 

members if the participant's health insurance is the sole 

source of health insurance for the family.  

DMAS believes that the proposed amendments contribute to 

preserving the health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of the 

Commonwealth. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The fast-track 

rulemaking process is being utilized to promulgate this 

change in regulatory language as it is expected to be 

noncontroversial. Removing this nonemployment 

requirement enables persons who are still able to work to 

remain in the workforce, which benefits the general economy 

as well as these individuals' families. 

Substance: 12VAC30-100-260 - Currently, Medicaid 

regulations require that an HIV Premium Assistance Program 

participant's family income not exceed 250% of the federal 

poverty level. This program provides assistance to qualifying 

individuals to purchase private health insurance, which covers 

their medical care for their HIV diagnoses. In some instances, 

program participants have been required to move into 

residences with their adult children. This current regulatory 

wording requires DMAS to consider the income of these 

employed adult children in determining if the parent can 

receive premium assistance. DMAS believes it is not 

appropriate to consider the income of adult children in 

determining eligibility for this program. It is more cost 

effective for DMAS to provide premium assistance for these 

individuals as compared to having these individuals become 

eligible for the full range of Medicaid-covered services. 

DMAS recommends the modification of the family income to 

include only that of the program participant and the program 

participant's spouse. 

12VAC30-100-270 - Currently, this Medicaid regulation 

contains a specific finite list of liquid assets that DMAS 

considers when evaluating an individual's eligibility for the 

HIV Premium Assistance Program. If a participant's financial 

circumstances change during this period of program 

eligibility, DMAS needs to be able to consider all available 

liquid assets in determining eligibility. The appropriated 

funds for this program are limited and individuals who have 

sufficient assets to afford their care should not be permitted to 

access these limited funds. Permitting DMAS to consider 

liquid assets beyond the finite list will help ensure that funds 

are allocated appropriately. Adding reference from § 6.2-1100 

of the Code of Virginia that lists liquid assets accomplishes 

this.  

12VAC30-100-340 - Currently, this Medicaid regulation 

contains all the requirements of § 32.1-330.1 of the Code of 

Virginia except for the requirement to provide "Coverage of 

family members, if the HIV-infected person's policy is the 

sole source of health insurance." Since family coverage is 

already unofficially permitted in DMAS policy, this change 

will create no practical difference in this program. The 

amendment adds the language of § 32.1-330.1 to the 

regulation. 

Issues: These changes will not have any disadvantages to the 

Commonwealth, public, or government officials. The 

advantage of changing "family income" to the "participant 

and spouse income" is to prevent potential applicants from 

being disqualified from the program due to the income earned 

by their adult children. The advantage of broadening the list 

of liquid assets that DMAS can consider in determining 

eligibility is to ensure that benefits are provided to 

appropriate individuals. There is no advantage to adding 

reference to coverage of family members as this merely adds 

current policy to regulation. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) 

administers the Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV) 

Premium Assistance Program under the authority of § 32.1-

330.1 of the Code of Virginia. Participants in the HIV 

premium assistance program must be unable to work or have 

a substantial likelihood of being unable to work within three 

months of becoming eligible to receive the assistance. In 

addition, a physician must certify this condition. 

DMAS is proposing to amend regulations for the HIV 

Premium Assistance program in 3 areas: (1) to refer to 

individual/spousal income, rather than family, when 

evaluating individuals for program eligibility; (2) to expand 

the list of countable liquid assets that DMAS may evaluate 

during eligibility determination; and (3) to include a provision 

for coverage of family members if the participants' health 

insurance is the sole source of health insurance for the family. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 
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Estimated Economic Impact. Currently, DMAS counts family 

income to determine if an individual can qualify for HIV 

premium assistance. The agency proposes that only the 

individual's and spouse's income will be considered when 

evaluating an individual for this assistance. Sometimes these 

individuals have to move into their adult employed children's 

homes and under the current regulations these children's 

incomes count in determining their parent's eligibility. 

Countable liquid assets are now limited to the following: a) 

savings accounts, b) checking accounts, c) money market 

certificates, d) certificates of deposit, e) mutual funds, and f) 

stocks and bonds. DMAS proposes to add "All other liquid 

assets as provided in § 6.2-1100 of the Code of Virginia" to 

the list of countable liquid assets. Under this portion of the 

Code of Virginia liquid assets are defined as: 

(i) cash on hand; (ii) cash on deposit in Federal Home 

Loan Banks, Federal Reserve Banks, savings institutions, 

or in commercial banks that is withdrawable upon not 

more than 30 days' notice and that is not pledged as 

security for indebtedness; (iii) the liquid asset fund of the 

United States League of Saving Institutions; (iv) 

obligations of, or obligations that are fully guaranteed as 

to principal and interest by, the United States; or (v) any 

other asset that the Commissioner designates as a liquid 

asset. Any deposits in financial institutions under the 

control or in the possession of any supervisory authority 

are not liquid assets. 

This is intended to more fully reflect all assets that an 

individual may acquire in determining eligibility for HIV 

premium assistance.  

When the section of this regulation on health insurance 

premium payments was initially drafted, DMAS did not 

address coverage of family members in cases in which the 

participant's policy was the sole source of health insurance. 

The agency proposes to include a provision for coverage of 

family members if the participants' health insurance is the 

sole source of health insurance for the family. 

All of the funding for the HIV Premium Assistance Program 

is spent each year. The funding is the limiting factor as 

toward how much is spent, not the number of people who 

qualify. The proposed amendments will just change who 

receives how much. In that sense, the proposed amendments 

may be considered beneficial in that they help enable the 

funds to be distributed to those who are most needy. Those 

who lose out on premium assistance may feel otherwise. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 

affect individuals with HIV. There are currently 8 individuals 

in the HIV Premium Assistance Program. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

do not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to significantly affect employment.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments do not significantly affect the use and 

value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 

amendments do not significantly affect costs for small 

businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments will not 

adversely affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

will not affect real estate development costs. 

Legal Mandate 

General: The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has 

analyzed the economic impact of this proposed regulation in 

accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and 

Executive Order Number 17 (2014). Section 2.2-4007.04 

requires that such economic impact analyses determine the 

public benefits and costs of the proposed amendments. 

Further the report should include but not be limited to: 

• the projected number of businesses or other entities to 

whom the proposed regulatory action would apply, 

• the identity of any localities and types of businesses or 

other entities particularly affected, 

• the projected number of persons and employment 

positions to be affected,  

• the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and  

• the impact on the use and value of private property.  

Small Businesses: If the proposed regulatory action will have 

an adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires 

that such economic impact analyses include: 

• an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the proposed regulation, 

• the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other 

administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the proposed regulation, including the type 

of professional skills necessary for preparing required 

reports and other documents, 

• a statement of the probable effect of the proposed 

regulation on affected small businesses, and  

• a description of any less intrusive or less costly 

alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the 

proposed regulation.  

Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1, if there is a finding 

that a proposed regulation may have an adverse impact on 

small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative 

Rules is notified at the time the proposed regulation is 

submitted to the Virginia Register of Regulations for 

publication. This analysis shall represent DPB's best estimate 

for the purposes of public review and comment on the 

proposed regulation.  
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Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency has reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared 

by the Department of Planning and Budget regarding the 

regulations concerning the HIV Premium Assistance 

Program. The agency raises no issues with this analysis. 

Summary: 

The amendments to the Human Immunodeficiency Virus 

(HIV) Premium Assistance Program include (i) referring 

to individual and spousal income, rather than family 

income, when evaluating individuals for program 

eligibility; (ii) expanding the list of countable liquid assets 

that may be evaluated during eligibility determination; and 

(iii) including provision for coverage of family members if 

the participant's health insurance is the sole source of 

health insurance for the family. 

12VAC30-100-260. Eligibility requirements.  

An applicant will be determined to be eligible for the HIV 

Premium Assistance Program if the individual:  

1. Is a Virginia resident at the time of application and is:  

a. A citizen of the United States;  

b. An alien lawfully admitted for permanent residence or 

otherwise permanently residing in the United States 

under color of law, including an alien who is lawfully 

present in the United States pursuant to 8 USC § 1101 et 

seq.; or  

c. An alien lawfully admitted under authority of the 

Indochina Migration and Refugee Assistance Act of 

1975, 22 USC § 2601 et seq.;  

2. Is certified by a licensed physician to be HIV positive;  

3. Is certified by a licensed physician to be unable to work 

or to have a substantial likelihood of being unable to work 

within three months of the date of the physician's 

certification due to the HIV infection;  

4. Is eligible for continuation of group health insurance 

plan benefits through the employer and the provisions of 

the Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act 

(COBRA) of 1985, or for continuation of benefits under 

any type of health insurance plan unless DMAS has reason 

to believe it is not cost effective;  

5. Has family applicant and spouse income no greater than 

250% of the poverty level;  

6. Has countable liquid assets no more than $10,000 in 

value; and  

7. Is not eligible for Medicaid.  

12VAC30-100-270. Determination of countable income 

and liquid assets.  

When determining eligibility for the HIV Premium 

Assistance Program, the countable income and assets of each 

applicant shall be determined as follows:  

1. Income shall include total projected family applicant and 

spouse income for the year beginning with the month of 

application to the program, including but not limited to:  

a. Wages;  

b. Commissions and fees;  

c. Salaries and tips;  

d. Profit from self-employment;  

e. Dividends or interest income;  

f. Disability benefits;  

g. Unemployment;  

h. Pension or retirement.  

2. Countable liquid assets shall include assets available as 

of the date of the application which are convertible to cash. 

The following liquid assets shall be counted when 

determining eligibility:  

a. Savings accounts;  

b. Checking accounts;  

c. Money market certificates;  

d. Certificates of deposit;  

e. Mutual funds; or  

f. Stocks and bonds.; or 

g. All other liquid assets as provided in § 6.2-1100 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

12VAC30-100-320. Notification.  

The program shall inform an applicant, enrollee, or the 

individual's representative of the individual's legal rights and 

obligations and give written notice of the following:  

1. The final determination on an application, which shall 

include the reason or reasons if an applicant is found 

ineligible;  

2. The imminent expiration of program authority and 

funding;  

3. A notice of action to deny, cancel, or suspend program 

benefits which shall:  

a. Include a statement of the proposed action, the reason 

for the action, and the statutory or regulatory authority 

for the action;  

b. Include notification of the right to appeal the action;  

c. Be mailed at least 15 calendar days before the effective 

date of the action.  

12VAC30-100-340. Health insurance premium payments.  

A. Premium payments shall be made to the employer, the 

insurer, or the enrollee, according to procedures established 

by the program.  

B. Applicants and enrollees shall provide information as 

may be necessary for the payment of health insurance 

premiums by the program, including but not limited to the 

name and address of the employer or health insurance 
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company, the last day of employment, the type of policy, the 

amount of the premium, and the date by which the premium 

must be paid.  

C. Payments under this program are limited to the cost of the 

health insurance premium currently in effect and shall not 

include copayments, deductibles, or any other costs incurred 

by the enrollees. Payments under this program shall include 

coverage of family members if the enrollee's policy is the sole 

source of health insurance.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4165; Filed August 10, 2015, 8:07 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

VIRGINIA BOARD FOR ASBESTOS, LEAD, AND 
HOME INSPECTORS 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC15-30. Virginia Lead-Based 

Paint Activities Regulations (amending 18VAC15-30-161).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-501 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 1, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Trisha Henshaw, Executive Director, 

Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 

telephone (804) 367-8595, FAX (866) 350-5354, or email 

alhi@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments remove the lead licensure examination 

fee cap and provide that examination fees are established 

through competitive negotiation pursuant to the Virginia 

Public Procurement Act. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

Part IV  

Fees  

18VAC15-30-161. General fee requirements.  

A. All fees are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated. The 

date on which the fee is received by the department or its 

agent will determine whether the fee is on time. Checks or 

money orders shall be made payable to the Treasurer of 

Virginia.  

B. Fees for approval and renewal of an accredited lead 

training program and an accredited lead refresher training 

program shall not be imposed on any state, local government, 

or nonprofit training program.  

C. The examination fee [ shall consist of the administration 

expenses of the board ensuing from the board's examination 

procedures and contract charges. Examination service 

contracts shall be established through competitive 

negotiations is subject to contracted charges to the department 

by an outside vendor. These contracts are competitively 

negotiated and bargained for ] in compliance with the 

Virginia Public Procurement Act (§ 2.2-4300 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia). [ The examination shall not exceed a cost 

of ] $75 [ $150 to the candidate Fees will be adjusted and 

charged to the candidate in accordance with this contract ].  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3849; Filed August 17, 2015, 10:44 a.m.  

AUCTIONEERS BOARD 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC25-21. Regulations of the 

Virginia Auctioneers Board (amending 18VAC25-21-10, 

18VAC25-21-50, 18VAC25-21-70, 18VAC25-21-80, 

18VAC25-21-90, 18VAC25-21-110, 18VAC25-21-120, 

18VAC25-21-140 through 18VAC25-21-185, 18VAC25-

21-220, 18VAC25-21-250, 18VAC25-21-280; adding 

18VAC25-21-95).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-602 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 1, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Marian H. Brooks, Regulatory Board 

Administrator, Auctioneers Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8514, 

FAX (866) 465-6206, or email 

auctioneers@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) replace the $40 examination and 

reexamination fees with language making such fees subject 

to competitively negotiated contracts, (ii) allow licensees 

to use continuing education hours gained in reciprocating 

states to meet continuing education requirements in 

Virginia, and (iii) clarify existing regulatory language. 

Since publication of the proposed regulation, a change is 

added to clarify the requirements of the contract between 

auctioneer or auction firm and the owner of the items to be 

sold.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

Part I  

Definitions  

18VAC25-21-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Owner" means the bona fide owner or any lawfully 

designated agent of the real or personal property being 

offered for sale; in the case of a corporation, partnership, or 

other entity, except a sole proprietorship, an authorized 
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officer, director, or partner may be deemed to be "owner" of 

the real or personal property being offered for sale, provided 

such entity is licensed to do business in the Commonwealth 

of Virginia.  

18VAC25-21-50. Application. 

A. All applicants seeking licensure by reciprocity or 

examination shall submit a fully executed application with the 

appropriate fee or fees attached. Applicants will be notified if 

their application is incomplete. 

Applications for licensure by examination must comply with 

the requirements of the board's designee as to the deadline for 

submission of the application to the board's designee. 

B. 1. If a corporation, limited liability company, or other 

entity, the application shall include copies of the certificate of 

incorporation or certificate of organization issued by the 

Virginia State Corporation Commission, articles and bylaws.  

2. If a foreign corporation, foreign limited liability 

company, or other entity, the application shall include 

copies of the certificate of authority to conduct business 

issued by the Virginia State Corporation Commission, 

which shall be required in lieu of the certificates as 

required by subdivision 1 of this subsection. 

3. Any firm applicant shall not have been previously found 

by any regulatory board or agency to have violated any 

applicable regulations or laws in the course of performing 

auctioneer duties or been convicted or found guilty, 

regardless of the manner of adjudication, in any 

jurisdiction of the United States of a misdemeanor 

involving moral turpitude or any felony, there being no 

appeal pending therefrom or the time for appeal having 

elapsed. Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for purposes of this subdivision. A certified 

copy of a final order, decree or case decision by a court or 

regulatory agency with the lawful authority to issue such 

order shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of such 

conviction or discipline. Applicants for licensure who do 

not meet requirements set forth in this section may be 

approved for licensure following consideration by the 

board in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

C. All applications will be reviewed by the Auctioneers 

Board staff, or the board's designee, to determine eligibility 

for examination and licensure within 30 days of receipt at the 

offices of the Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation or the board's designee. However, failure to 

review an application within 30 days of receipt shall not 

imply or result in the automatic approval of the application. 

No applicant will be approved for licensure unless all 

requirements of this part of this chapter are met. 

18VAC25-21-70. Fees.  

Fees are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated. The 

following fees shall apply:  

1. Individual auctioneer license $25 

2. Auctioneer firm license $55 

3. Examination $40 

4. Reexamination fee $40 

5. 3. Renewal for individual auctioneer's 

license 

$55 

6. 4. Renewal for firm or corporation license $65 

7. 5. Late renewal for an individual auctioneer's 

license 

$80 

8. 6. Late renewal for an auction firm or 

corporate license 

$90 

9. 7. Reinstatement of the individual 

auctioneer's license 

$105 

10. 8. Reinstatement of the firm or corporate 

license 

$115 

The fee for examination or reexamination is subject to 

contracted charges by an outside vendor. These contracts are 

competitively negotiated and bargained for in compliance 

with the Virginia Public Procurement Act (§ 2.2-4300 et seq. 

of the Code of Virginia). The board may adjust the fee 

charged to candidates in accordance with these contracts. 

Part III  

Renewal/Reinstatement  

18VAC25-21-80. Notice of renewal.  

The Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation board will mail a renewal notice to the licensee 

outlining the amount due and procedures for renewal to the 

last known mailing address of record. Failure to receive this 

notice shall not relieve the individual or firm licensee of the 

obligation to renew.  

Licenses issued under this chapter shall be issued for a two-

year period. Each license holder, corporation or firm shall be 

required to renew the license by submitting the proper fee 

made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia, with verification 

of current surety bond coverage as detailed in 18VAC25-21-

30. In addition, individual license holders applying for 

renewal are required to certify that they comply with the 

continuing education requirements as contained in this 

chapter. By renewing the license, the licensee is certifying 

continued compliance with the Standards of Practice in Part 

IV (18VAC25-21-100 et seq.) and Standards of Conduct in 

Part V (18VAC25-21-180 et seq.), as well as Continuing 

Education Requirements in Part VII (18VAC25-21-230 et 

seq.) of this chapter. 

18VAC25-21-90. Failure to renew.  

A. Any individual or firm licensee who fails to renew a 

license within 30 days after the license expires, shall be 

required to pay a late renewal fee. 
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B. Any individual or firm licensee, including individuals 

initially licensed pursuant to § 54.1-603 A of the Code of 

Virginia, who fails to renew his license within six calendar 

months after the expiration date of the license shall be 

required to apply for reinstatement of the license. The 

applicant shall submit to the Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation board a reinstatement application 

and fee and comply with the following paragraph. 

If the license has expired for six months or more, but less 

than two years, the applicant shall be required to submit a 

reinstatement application, which shall be evaluated by the 

board to determine if the applicant meets the renewal 

requirements. In addition, individual license holders applying 

for reinstatement are required to provide evidence of 

compliance with the continuing education requirements as 

contained in this chapter. A license that is reinstated shall be 

deemed as having been continuous without interruption. 

Nothing in these regulations shall divest the board of its 

authority to discipline a license holder for a violation of the 

law or regulation during the period of time for which the 

regulant licensee was licensed. 

C. If the license has expired for two years or more, the 

applicant shall be required to submit a new application and 

meet current entry requirements that are in effect as of the 

date the application is received by the board office. The 

applicant shall be required to submit the examination fee and 

sit for and pass the Virginia Licensed Auctioneer's 

Examination or comply with the provisions contained in 

18VAC25-21-40. Any auctioneering activity conducted 

between the time the previous license expired and the 

effective date of the new license shall be considered 

unlicensed activity. 

D. The date that the complete renewal application, including 

fees and all required documentation, is received by the 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 

board or its agent will determine whether a license will be 

renewed without penalty or will be subject to reinstatement 

requirements.  

E. Auctioneer individual and firm licenses Licenses issued 

under this regulation shall expire 24 months from the last day 

of the month in which the license was issued. The expiration 

date of the license will be included on the license. 

18VAC25-21-95. Board discretion to deny renewal or 

reinstatement. 

The board may deny renewal or reinstatement of a license 

for the same reason as it may refuse initial licensure or 

discipline a licensee. The licensee has the right to request 

further review of any such action by the board under the 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia). 

18VAC25-21-110. Contracts.  

A. When an auctioneer or auction firm a licensee agrees to 

conduct an auction, a contract shall be drawn setting forth the 

particulars of the terms and conditions under which the 

auctioneer or auction firm received the real or personal 

property for auction and particulars for the disbursement of 

the proceeds. Each contract for auction shall include the 

following:  

1. a. A detailed list of the real or personal property 

received for sale with adequate descriptions of the property 

so that the personal property [ of material value ] can be 

readily identified. If a list cannot be made at the time of 

signing of the contract, [ and the owner of the items agrees 

to waive this requirement in writing in an addendum to the 

contract, ] then a list must be [ signed and dated by the 

owner and ] made a part of the contract (and attached) 

prior to auction of the real or personal property for that 

day; or  

b. If the auctioneer or auction firm enters into a contract 

to sell items on a consignment basis where the total value 

of all the items to be sold at any one action does not 

exceed $500, [ and the owner of the items agrees to 

waive this requirement in writing on a document separate 

from, but made a part of, the contract, ] then the 

requirement contained in subdivision 1 a of this 

subsection is not applicable.  

2. The name, address, telephone number, and license 

number of the Virginia auctioneer or auction firm licensee 

entering into the contract.  

3. The name, address and telephone number of the property 

owner.  

4. The date, time and place of the auction or auctions at 

which the real or personal property is scheduled to be 

auctioned. The date by which the property is to be returned 

or otherwise disposed of in accordance with the terms of 

the contract if it is not sold. 

5. The fee or percentage of gross sales the auctioneer or 

auction firm will charge the owner and what services are 

included in the fee, such as preparation, travel, labor, 

advertising and any other auction related expenses.  

6. By what date the owner is to be paid and who is 

responsible for disbursing the funds.  

7. A statement that the clerk sheets, or other evidence to 

properly account for all items sold, shall be given or made 

available for inspection by the owner on a daily basis.  

8. The following statement above the owner's signature 

line: "I have read and accepted the terms of this contract."  

B. A legible executed copy of the contract and any 

addendums shall be given to the owner at the time of 

execution. 

18VAC25-21-120. Conduct at auctions.  

No auctioneer or auction firm licensee shall attempt to 

escalate bidding through false bids, or through collusion with 

another (shills). The auctioneer or auction firm licensee shall 

not bid on the owner's behalf nor knowingly accept a bid 
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made by the owner or made on the owner's behalf unless 

notice has been given that liberty for such bidding has been 

reserved. The auctioneer or auction firm licensee shall not 

neither bid on his own behalf nor knowingly accept a bid 

made on his behalf unless notice has been given that such 

bidding will be permitted. 

18VAC25-21-140. Documentation.  

Upon completion of the auctioneer's or auction firm's 

licensee's service, each owner shall be given legible copies of 

bills of sale, clerk sheets, consignment sheets, settlement 

papers, balance sheets or other evidence to properly account 

for all items sold at auction.  

18VAC25-21-150. Escrow funds. 

A. Proceeds of a personal property auction not disbursed to 

the owner on auction day shall be deposited in an auction 

escrow account by the auctioneer/auction firm licensee no 

later than the next banking day following the date of auction 

or sale of the goods, whichever occurs first. 

B. Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection A of this 

section for, proceeds that are paid via credit card, the payment 

of such proceeds from the credit card issuer debit card, check 

card, or any other electronic funds transfer (EFT) method 

shall be deposited into an auction escrow account upon 

receipt from the credit card issuer originating source. 

C. The auction escrow account shall be used solely for the 

preservation and guarantee of auction proceeds until 

disbursed at settlement. Funds for any other purpose shall not 

be commingled with the auction escrow account. 

Contingency accounts established to guarantee checks 

accepted on the owner's behalf shall not be considered 

commingling of funds. Moneys due to the licensee shall not 

be withdrawn from the auction escrow account until final 

settlement is made with the owner. 

D. Funds to be deposited in the escrow account may include 

moneys that shall ultimately belong to the licensee for 

incidental expenses per the terms of the contract. Such 

moneys shall be separately identified in the escrow account 

records and shall be paid to the licensee by a check drawn on 

the escrow account when the funds become due to the 

licensee. The fact that an escrow account contains money that 

may ultimately belong to the licensee does not constitute 

"commingling of funds" provided that there are periodic 

withdrawals of said funds at intervals of not more than six 

months and that the licensee can at all times accurately 

identify the total funds in that account that belong to the 

licensee. 

E. On funds placed in an account bearing interest, written 

disclosure in the contract of sale or lease at the time of 

contract or lease writing shall be made to the principals to the 

transaction regarding the disbursement of interest. 

C. Auctioneers/auction firms F. Auctioneers and auction 

firms shall use federally insured depositories in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. All accounts, checks, and bank 

statements shall be labeled "escrow" and the accounts shall be 

designated as "escrow" accounts with the financial institution 

where such accounts are established. 

D. G. Proceeds due from the sale of goods other than real 

property shall be disbursed to the owner no later than 30 days 

after the date of each auction. 

E. H. Funds from a real estate auction shall be held in 

escrow until settlement in accordance with the agreement of 

sale. 

F. I. If the owners' owner's goods are not sold in a single 

auction, proceeds due shall be disbursed to the owner within 

30 days after each auction for goods other than real property, 

or in accordance with the agreement of sale for the sale of 

real property. Notice must be given to the owner of tentative 

date of auction, or date of return to the owner, of the 

remaining goods. 

G. The auction escrow account shall be used solely for the 

preservation and guarantee of auction proceeds until 

disbursed at settlement. Funds for any other purpose shall not 

be commingled with the auction escrow account. 

Contingency accounts established to guarantee checks 

accepted on the owner's behalf shall not be considered 

commingling of funds. Moneys due to the licensee shall not 

be withdrawn from the auction escrow account until final 

settlement is made with the owner. 

H. J. The balance in the escrow accounts shall be sufficient 

at all times to account for all funds that are designated to be 

held by the licensee. A licensee shall not disburse or cause to 

be disbursed moneys from an escrow account unless 

sufficient money is on deposit in that account to the credit of 

the individual client or property involved.  

I. Funds to be deposited in the escrow account may include 

moneys that shall ultimately belong to the licensee for 

incidental expenses per the terms of the contract. Such 

moneys shall be separately identified in the escrow account 

records and shall be paid to the licensee by a check drawn on 

the escrow account when the funds become due to the 

licensee. The fact that an escrow account contains money that 

may ultimately belong to the licensee does not constitute 

"commingling of funds" provided that there are periodic 

withdrawals of said funds at intervals of not more than six 

months, and that the licensee can at all times accurately 

identify the total funds in that account that belong to the 

licensee. 

J. On funds placed in an account bearing interest, written 

disclosure in the contract of sale or lease at the time of 

contract or lease writing shall be made to the principals to the 

transaction regarding the disbursement of interest. 

18VAC25-21-160. Records.  

The licensee is required to maintain, for a period of four 

years from the date of settlement, written records of the 

following: the contract drawn with each owner; auction 

records, including but not limited to lists of buyers and their 
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addresses; and clerk sheets showing the items sold including 

the buyers' numbers or names and the selling prices and the 

final settlement papers shall be retained for a period of four 

years from the date of settlement. These business records 

shall be available for inspection by the board or its designees 

as deemed appropriate and necessary.  

18VAC25-21-170. Change of address.  

A. An auctioneer's or auction firm's license Licenses shall 

not be transferable and shall bear the same name and physical 

address as the business. Upon dissolution or change in the 

form of the business entity of an auction firm, the auction 

firm license shall become void. 

B. Written notice shall be given within 30 days A licensee 

shall report all changes of address to the board by each 

individual or firm licensee of any change of physical business 

address or location in writing, within 30 calendar days of the 

change, whereupon the board shall issue an amended license 

without fee for the unexpired portion of the biennial period. 

C. A post office box is not an acceptable only when a 

physical business address is also provided. If the licensee 

holds more than one license, certificate, or registration, the 

licensee shall inform the board of all licenses, certificates, and 

registrations affected by the address change. 

Part V  

Standards of Conduct  

18VAC25-21-180. Discipline. 

The board has the power to fine any individual or firm 

licensee, or to suspend or revoke any license issued under the 

provisions of Chapter 6 (§ 54.1-600 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of 

the Code of Virginia and the regulations of the board pursuant 

to the provisions of the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-

4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) if it finds that: 

1. The license was obtained, renewed or reinstated through 

fraud or misrepresentation; 

2. The licensed auctioneer or firm licensee has been 

convicted or found guilty, regardless of the manner of 

adjudication, in any jurisdiction of the United States of a 

misdemeanor involving moral turpitude or any felony, 

there being no appeal pending therefrom or the time for 

appeal having elapsed. Review of prior criminal 

convictions shall be subject to the requirements of § 54.1-

204 of the Code of Virginia. A certified copy of a final 

order, decree or case decision by a court with the lawful 

authority to issue such order shall be admissible as prima 

facie evidence of such conviction or discipline; 

3. The licensed auctioneer or firm licensee has been found 

by any regulatory board, agency, or jurisdiction where 

licensed to have had a license or registration suspended, 

revoked or surrendered in connection with a disciplinary 

action, who has been the subject of discipline in another 

jurisdiction or to have violated any applicable regulations 

or laws in the course of performing auctioneer duties. A 

certified copy of a final order, decree or case decision by a 

court or regulatory agency with the lawful authority to 

issue such order shall be admissible as prima facie 

evidence of such conviction or discipline; 

4. The licensed auctioneer or firm licensee has not 

demonstrated reasonable care, judgment, or application of 

his knowledge and ability in the performance of 

auctioneering duties; 

5. The license auctioneer or firm licensee violated or 

induced assisted another person to violate any provisions 

of Chapters Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.), 2 (§ 54.1-200 et 

seq.), 3 (§ 54.1-300 et seq.), or 6 of Title 54.1 of the Code 

of Virginia, or any provision of this chapter;, or combined 

or conspired with or acted as agent, partner, or associate 

for another; or 

6. The licensee fails to comply, or misrepresents any 

information pertaining to his compliance, with any of the 

continuing education requirements as contained in this 

chapter. 

18VAC25-21-185. Cooperation with board. 

A. The licensee shall, upon request or demand, produce to 

the board, or any of its agents, within 10 days any plan, 

document, book, record or copy thereof in his possession 

concerning a transaction covered by this chapter, and shall 

cooperate in the investigation of a complaint filed with the 

board. 

B. A professional licensee who has direct knowledge that 

any individual, including himself, or firm may be violating 

any of these provisions, or the provisions of Chapters 1 

(§ 54.1-100 et seq.) through 3 (§ 54.1-300 et seq.) or Chapter 

6 (§ 54.1-600 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

shall immediately inform the secretary of the board in writing 

and shall cooperate in furnishing any further information or 

assistance that may be required. 

C. The board, in its discretion, may refuse to grant the 

renewal or reinstatement of a license of any person for any of 

the reasons specified in subsection A of this section.  

18VAC25-21-220. Periodic requalification for continued 

course approval.  

At times established by the board, the The board may 

require that schools that have previously obtained course 

approval provide the board with evidence, in a form set forth 

by the board, that they continue to comply with the 

requirements of 18VAC25-21-190 and 18VAC25-21-200. 

Failure to continue to comply with the board's requirements 

or respond to such a request may result in the board 

withdrawing its approval.  

18VAC25-21-250. Continuing education requirements for 

renewal or reinstatement. 

A. Individuals Licensees whose licenses expire [ , ]  or 

[ who ] apply to reinstate [ , after February 1, 2008, ]  shall be 

required to comply with the continuing education provisions 

of this chapter. 
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B. Individuals are required to complete at least six 

continuing education credit hours of board-approved 

continuing education courses for any license renewal or 

reinstatement. 

B. Licensees are required to complete at least six continuing 

education credit hours of board-approved continuing 

education courses for any license renewal or reinstatement. 

A Virginia licensee that is also licensed in another state with 

which the board shares a reciprocal agreement may use 

board-approved continuing education in that state to meet the 

required six hours of continuing education for Virginia, 

provided that the reciprocal jurisdiction affords the same 

privilege to Virginia licensees.  

C. 1. Each individual licensee applying for renewal shall 

certify that he has met the continuing education requirements 

of this chapter. Only continuing education courses completed 

during the license period immediately prior to the expiration 

date of the license shall be acceptable in order to renew the 

license. 

2. Individuals Licensees shall maintain records of 

completion of continuing education credit hours for two 

years from the date of expiration of the license for which 

the continuing education credit hours are being used to 

renew the license. Individuals shall provide such records to 

the board or its duly authorized agents upon request. 

3. Continuing education credit hours utilized to satisfy the 

continuing education requirements to renew a license shall 

be valid only for that renewal and shall not be accepted for 

any subsequent renewal cycles or reinstatement. 

D. 1. Each individual applying for reinstatement shall 

provide, as part of his reinstatement application, evidence of 

compliance with the continuing education requirements of 

this chapter. The completion date of continuing education 

courses submitted in support of a reinstatement application 

shall not be more than two years old as of the date a complete 

reinstatement application is received by the board. 

2. Continuing education credit hours utilized to satisfy the 

continuing education requirements in order to reinstate a 

license shall be valid only for that reinstatement and shall 

not be accepted for any subsequent renewal cycles or 

reinstatement. 

E. Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection C of this 

section, continuing education hours earned during a licensing 

renewal cycle to satisfy the continuing education 

requirements of the preceding licensing renewal cycle shall 

be valid only for that preceding license renewal cycle and 

shall not be accepted for any subsequent renewal cycles or 

reinstatement. 

18VAC25-21-280. Periodic requalification for continued 

course approval. 

At times established by the board, the The board may 

require that course providers that have previously obtained 

course approval provide the board with evidence, in a form 

set forth by the board, that they continue to comply with the 

requirements of 18VAC25-21-230 A and 18VAC25-21-240. 

Failure to continue to comply with the board's requirements 

or respond to such a request may result in the board 

withdrawing its approval. 

FORMS (18VAC25-21) 

[ Auctioneer License By Examination Application, 

2907EXLIC (rev. 11/08) 

Auctioneer Surety Bond Form, 2905_07BOND (rev. 11/08) 

Auctioneer License by Examination Application, 

2907EXLIC (rev. 3/13) 

Auctioneer Surety Bond Form, 2905_07BOND (rev. 4/10) ] 

Auctioneer Firm License Application, 2908LIC (rev. 11/08) 

Auction Firm Surety Bond Form, 2906_08BOND (rev. 

11/08) 

[ States with Approved Reciprocal Agreements, 29RECLST 

(rev. 11/08) 

Virginia Approved Auctioneering Schools, 29SCHLST (rev. 

11/08) 

States with Approved Reciprocal Agreements, 29RECLST 

(rev. 2/12) 

Virginia Approved Auctioneering Schools, 29SCHLST (rev. 

9/13) ]  

Auctioneering School Application for Course Approval, 

29CRS (rev. 11/08) 

Auctioneer License By Reciprocity Application, 

2907RECLIC (rev. 11/08) 

Auctioneer License Reinstatement Application, 2905_07REI 

(rev. 11/08) 

Application for Continuing Education Course Approval, 

29CECRS (rev. 11/08) 

Auctioneer Firm License Renewal Form, 2906_08REN (eff. 

11/08) 

Individual Auctioneer License Renewal Form, 2905_07REN 

(eff. 11/08) 

Continuing Education Medical Exemption Request, 

2905_07CEXMP (eff. 11/08) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-2002; Filed August 5, 2015, 2:11 p.m.  

BOARD OF AUDIOLOGY AND SPEECH-LANGUAGE 
PATHOLOGY 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC30-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Audiology and Speech-Language 

Pathology (adding 18VAC30-20-141).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 7, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 

Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology, 9960 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=546e9002002~1&typ=40&actno=002002&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=546e9002002~1&typ=40&actno=002002&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=532f5002002~3&typ=40&actno=002002&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bc945002002~4&typ=40&actno=002002&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bc945002002~4&typ=40&actno=002002&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1e183002002~7&typ=40&actno=002002&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1e183002002~7&typ=40&actno=002002&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=772c9002002~8&typ=40&actno=002002&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=772c9002002~8&typ=40&actno=002002&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1303a002002~9&typ=40&actno=002002&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1303a002002~9&typ=40&actno=002002&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a5d33002002~10&typ=40&actno=002002&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a5d33002002~10&typ=40&actno=002002&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5ca59002002~11&typ=40&actno=002002&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5ca59002002~11&typ=40&actno=002002&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7a7f6002002~12&typ=40&actno=002002&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7a7f6002002~12&typ=40&actno=002002&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4fc27002002~13&typ=40&actno=002002&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4fc27002002~13&typ=40&actno=002002&mime=application/pdf
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Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, 

telephone (804) 367-4630, FAX (804) 527-4413, or email 

leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulation sets forth (i) the educational qualifications, 

supervised experience, and certification necessary for a 

speech-language pathologist to perform an endoscopic 

evaluation of swallowing and (ii) requirements for 

endoscopic evaluation that include referral from a 

qualified physician, performance in a health care facility 

with protocols for emergency medical backup, and reports 

to the referring physician. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

18VAC30-20-141. Performance of flexible endoscopic 

evaluation of swallowing. 

A. For the purposes of this section, an endoscopic procedure 

shall mean a flexible endoscopic evaluation of swallowing 

limited to the use of flexible endoscopes to observe, collect 

data, and measure the parameters of swallowing for the 

purposes of functional assessment and therapy planning.  

B. A speech-language pathologist who performs an 

endoscopic procedure shall meet the following qualifications: 

1. Completion of a course or courses or an educational 

program offered by a provider approved in 18VAC30-20-

300 that includes at least 12 hours on endoscopic 

procedures; 

2. Successful performance of at least 25 flexible 

endoscopic procedures under the immediate and direct 

supervision of a board-certified otolaryngologist or another 

speech-language pathologist who has successfully 

performed at least 50 flexible endoscopic procedures 

beyond the 25 required for initial qualification and has 

been approved in writing by a board-certified 

otolaryngologist to provide that supervision; and 

3. Current certification in basic life support. 

C. The speech-language pathologist who qualifies to 

perform an endoscopic procedure pursuant to subsection B of 

this section shall maintain documentation of course 

completion and written verification from the supervising 

otolaryngologist or speech-language pathologist of successful 

completion of flexible endoscopic procedures. 

D. An endoscopic procedure shall only be performed by a 

speech-language pathologist on referral from an 

otolaryngologist or other qualified physician. 

E. A speech-language pathologist shall only perform an 

endoscopic procedure in a facility that has protocols in place 

for emergency medical backup. A flexible endoscopic 

evaluation of swallowing shall only be performed by a 

speech-language pathologist in either: 

1. A licensed hospital or nursing home under the general 

supervision of a physician who is readily available in the 

event of an emergency, including physical presence in the 

facility or available by telephone; or  

2. A physician's office at which the physician is on 

premises and available to provide onsite supervision. 

F. The speech-language pathologist shall promptly report 

any observed abnormality or adverse reaction to the referring 

physician, an appropriate medical specialist, or both. The 

speech-language pathologist shall provide a report of an 

endoscopic procedure to the referring physician in a timely 

manner and, if requested, shall ensure access to a visual 

recording for viewing.  

G. A speech-language pathologist is not authorized to 

possess or administer prescription drugs except as provided in 

§ 54.1-3408 B of the Code of Virginia. 

H. A speech-language pathologist who has been performing 

flexible endoscopic evaluations of swallowing prior to 

[ (insert effective date of regulation) October 7, 2015, ] may 

continue to perform such evaluations provided he has written 

verification from a board-certified otolaryngologist that he 

has the appropriate training, knowledge, and skills to safely 

perform such evaluations. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2689; Filed August 7, 2015, 3:10 p.m.  

CEMETERY BOARD 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC47-20. Cemetery Board Rules 

and Regulations (amending 18VAC47-20-180, 18VAC47-

20-190, 18VAC47-20-270; adding 18VAC47-20-280).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-2313 of the Code 

of Virginia (18VAC47-20-270).  

§§ 54.1-201, 54.1-2312.01, and 54.1-2313 of the Code of 

Virginia (18VAC47-20-180, 18VAC47-20-190, 18VAC47-

20-280). 

Public Hearing Information: 

October 20, 2015 - 10 a.m. - Department of Professional 

and Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Richmond, VA 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: November 6, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Christine Martine, Executive Director, 

Cemetery Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, 

VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (804) 527-4299, 

or email cemetery@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Chapter 500 of the 2014 Acts of Assembly states in 

part "The Board shall adopt such regulations as the Board 

deems appropriate and necessary to implement the provisions 

of this section. Regulations of the Board shall be in 

accordance with the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 

et seq.)." 

Section 54.1-2313 D of the Code of Virginia states: "In 

addition to the general powers and duties conferred in this 
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subtitle, the Board shall have the power and duty to (i) 

regulate preneed burial contracts and perpetual care trust fund 

accounts as prescribed by this chapter, including, but not 

limited to, the authority to prescribe preneed contract forms, 

disclosure requirements and disclosure forms and to require 

reasonable bonds to insure performance of preneed contracts, 

(ii) regulate and register sales personnel employed by a 

cemetery company, and (iii) regulate and establish 

qualifications and standards of conduct for compliance agents 

employed by a cemetery company to assure compliance of the 

cemetery with the provisions of this chapter." 

Section 54.1-201 A 1 of the Code of Virginia states: "The 

powers and duties of regulatory boards shall be as follows: to 

establish the qualifications of applicants for certification or 

licensure by any such board, provided that all qualifications 

shall be necessary to ensure either competence or integrity to 

engage in such profession or occupation." 

Section 54.1-201 A 5 of the Code of Virginia states: "The 

powers and duties of regulatory boards shall be as follows: to 

promulgate regulations in accordance with the Administrative 

Process Act necessary to assure continued competency, to 

prevent deceptive or misleading practices by practitioners and 

to effectively administer the regulatory system administered 

by the regulatory board . . ." 

Purpose: The purpose of the proposed regulation is to make 

clarifying changes, to incorporate language as necessary to 

implement new statutory requirements for interment of pets to 

ensure consistency with § 54.1-2312.01 of the Code of 

Virginia, and to make other changes that the board considers 

necessary. Since the regulations have not undergone 

substantial revision since 2007, a thorough review was 

necessary to ensure the regulations provide minimum burdens 

on the regulants while still protecting the public health, 

safety, and welfare and reflect current procedures and policies 

of the board and the Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation. The goal of the proposed 

amendments is to make clear to both the cemetery companies 

and the public what the requirements are for cemeteries that 

choose to permit the interment of pets so an individual can 

choose whether or not he wants to be interred in that 

cemetery. 

Substance: The proposed amendments to (i) 18VAC47-20-

180 clarify records requirements for pet interments; (ii) 

18VAC47-20-190 update prohibited activities to ensure 

consistency with statutory changes regarding pet interment; 

(iii) 18VAC47-20-270 reduce the hours to make training 

more meaningful without unnecessary excess information to 

fill the hours; and (iv) 18VAC47-20-280 add a section to 

implement § 54.1-2312.01 of the Code of Virginia regarding 

pet interment. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is that the 

revisions will improve the clarity of the regulations and 

ensure consistency with current board practices, legal 

requirements, and standards of practice in the industry, all to 

better protect the health, safety, and welfare of citizens of the 

Commonwealth. The primary advantage to the 

Commonwealth is that the revisions to the regulations reflect 

the importance that Virginia places on ensuring the 

regulations are the least burdensome but also provide 

protection to the citizens of the Commonwealth. No 

disadvantages to the Commonwealth could be identified. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to § 54.1-2312.01, the Cemetery Board (Board) 

proposes to amend its regulation to decrease the mandatory 

hours that a training course must last and to allow cemetery 

companies to set up separate sections in their cemeteries that 

allow pets to be buried either separately or beside their 

owners. 

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for these 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Current regulation requires that 

training courses for compliance agents and their designees 

approved by the Board include all Board required information 

and be at least eight hours long. The Board has determined, 

however, that teaching all the required information in any 

given course generally takes much less time than the 

minimum eight hours allotted. Accordingly, the Board now 

proposes to amend the regulation so that approved training 

courses must be at least four hours. Because the changed 

hours would be a minimum, and because courses will still 

cover all information required by the Board even if it takes 

longer than four hours to do so, the public is unlikely to be 

harmed by more poorly informed cemetery compliance 

officers. Cemetery companies will likely save money on 

account of this change as they pay for their compliance 

officers' training. Compliance agents and designees will likely 

benefit from having to spend less time in training. 

Currently, cemetery companies are only allowed to inter 

human remains. In 2014, the General Assembly passed 

legislation that allows cemetery companies to set aside 

sections of their cemeteries to bury humans and their pets so 

long as: 

1. The sections set aside are "segregated entirely from the 

remainder of the cemetery devoted to the interment of 

human remains," 

2. Pets are not buried in the same grave, crypt or niche as 

a human and 

3. Sections set aside are clearly marked and advertised as 

being for pets and their owners. 

This legislation also allows for sections of cemeteries to be 

set aside strictly for pets so long as those sections are 

segregated, clearly marked and advertised as strictly for pets 

by the cemetery companies. The Board now proposes to 

amend its regulation to reflect these legislative changes and to 

require cemetery companies that set up sections of their 
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cemeteries for pets or pets and their owners to keep 

permanent records identifying the name and type of pet 

interred, the name of the owner of the pet and the exact 

location were the pet is interred. Cemetery companies are not 

required to set up separate sections of their cemeteries for 

pets or pets and their owners and, so, are unlikely to do so 

unless the revenue that is accrued from doing so outweigh 

costs.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. Board staff reports that 

there are 93 cemetery companies in the Commonwealth that 

own and operate 164 cemeteries. Approximately 90 of those 

cemetery companies would qualify as small businesses. All of 

these cemetery companies will gain the ability to inter pets or 

pets and their owners so long as they follow rules set forth in 

the authorizing legislation and this proposed regulation. 

Board staff further reports that fewer than 10 people per year 

apply to the Board to be compliance agents or designees that 

would be affected by the changing training course hour 

minimum. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by this proposed regulation. 

Projected Impact on Employment. These proposed regulatory 

changes are unlikely to have any impact on employment in 

the Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to have any impact 

on the use or value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Small business 

cemetery companies will not be required to incur any costs on 

account of this regulatory action. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. Small business cemetery companies will not 

be required to incur any costs on account of this regulatory 

action. 

Real Estate Development Costs. Cemetery companies may 

choose to incur extra property development costs to set up 

sections of their cemeteries for pets or pets and their owners 

but would likely only do so if they had an expectation that 

they would see increased profits from that choice.  

Legal Mandate.  

General: The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has 

analyzed the economic impact of this proposed regulation in 

accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and 

Executive Order Number 17 (2014). Section 2.2-4007.04 

requires that such economic impact analyses determine the 

public benefits and costs of the proposed amendments. 

Further the report should include but not be limited to: 

• the projected number of businesses or other entities to 

whom the proposed regulation would apply, 

• the identity of any localities and types of businesses or 

other entities particularly affected, 

• the projected number of persons and employment 

positions to be affected,  

• the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and  

• the impact on the use and value of private property.  

Small Businesses: If the proposed regulation will have an 

adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires 

that such economic impact analyses include: 

• an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the proposed regulation, 

• the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other 

administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the proposed regulation, including the type 

of professional skills necessary for preparing required 

reports and other documents, 

• a statement of the probable effect of the proposed 

regulation on affected small businesses, and  

• a description of any less intrusive or less costly 

alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the 

proposed regulation.  

Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1, if there is a finding 

that a proposed regulation may have an adverse impact on 

small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative 

Rules is notified at the time the proposed regulation is 

submitted to the Virginia Register of Regulations for 

publication. This analysis shall represent DPB's best estimate 

for the purposes of public review and comment on the 

proposed regulation. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The board 

concurs with the approval.  

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) reduce the length of training 

courses from eight hours to four hours and (ii) incorporate 

provisions on pet interments and pet and owner interments 

to align with Chapter 500 of the 2014 Acts of Assembly. 

18VAC47-20-180. Records of interments.  

A permanent record shall be kept of every interment in the 

cemetery, showing the date of the interment, the name of the 

person interred, together with information identifying the 

specific location in which the interment was made. For 

interments made pursuant to § 54.1-2312.01 of the Code of 

Virginia, the permanent records shall also include the type 

and name of the pet interred and the name of the owner with 

information identifying the specific location in which the pet 

interment was made. 

18VAC47-20-190. Prohibited activities.  

In addition to the acts set forth in §§ 54.1-2314, 54.1-2315, 

and 54.1-2316 of the Code of Virginia, the board may 

discipline a licensee or registrant for the following acts:  

1. Employing or affiliating with by independent contract, 

sales personnel not registered with the board.  
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2. Unless otherwise addressed in this chapter, failing to 

retain for a period of three years all records required by 

this chapter or Chapter 23.1 (§ 54.1-2310 et seq.) of Title 

54.1 of the Code of Virginia at the place of business in 

Virginia of the licensed cemetery company.  

3. Failing to produce to the board or any of its agents, upon 

request, any document, book, or record required by this 

chapter or Chapter 23.1 (§ 54.1-2310 et seq.) of Title 54.1 

of the Code of Virginia.  

4. Failing to respond to an inquiry by the board or any of 

its agents within 21 days.  

5. Advertising in any name other than the name in which 

licensed or registered.  

6. Furnishing substantially inaccurate or incomplete 

information to the board in obtaining, renewing, 

reinstating, or maintaining a license or registration.  

7. Allowing a cemetery company license or sales personnel 

registration to be used by an unlicensed cemetery company 

or unregistered sales personnel.  

8. Acting as or being an ostensible licensee for undisclosed 

persons who do or will control or direct, directly or 

indirectly, the operations of the licensee's business.  

9. Having failed to inform the board in writing, within 30 

days, that the company, an officer, director, or compliance 

agent, has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere or was 

convicted and found guilty of any felony or any crime 

involving moral turpitude.  

10. Having failed to inform the board in writing, within 30 

days, of a disciplinary action in a jurisdiction where 

licensed, including suspension, revocation, or surrender in 

connection with a disciplinary action.  

11. Failing to reasonably maintain the buildings, grounds, 

and facilities of a cemetery licensed to a cemetery 

company.  

12. Failing to file any report required by Chapter 23.1 of 

Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

13. Engaging in negligent, improper, fraudulent, or 

dishonest conduct.  

14. Failing to segregate entirely the section of the cemetery 

dedicated to the interment of pets or the interment of 

human remains and the pets of such deceased humans by 

means such as hedge, wall, tree line, fence, roadway, or 

other similar physical barrier or boundary. 

15. Permitting the interment of a pet in the same grave, 

crypt, or niche as the remains of a human. 

16. If a cemetery company has a section devoted to the 

interment of pets or the interment of human remains and 

the pets of such deceased humans, any advertisements 

failing to clearly state the cemetery company has such 

section or sections in its cemetery. 

17. Failing to clearly mark the section or sections devoted 

to the interment of pets or the interment of human remains 

and the pets of such deceased humans with signage that is 

reasonably apparent to the general public. 

18VAC47-20-270. Standards of approval of training 

course. 

All training courses shall be approved by the board. The 

training course shall be at least eight four hours and include 

appropriate testing procedures to demonstrate an 

understanding of the topics.  The training program shall 

include, but is not limited, to the following topics: 

1. Cemetery Board statute and regulations; 

2. Perpetual care trust fund requirements; 

3. Preneed trust fund requirements; 

4. Preneed burial contracts; 

5. Interment records; 

6. General price list; 

7. Itemized statement of goods and services provided; 

8. Advertising; 

9. Solicitation; 

10. Funeral rule; and 

11. Proper care, maintenance, administration, and 

embellishment of the cemetery. 

18VAC47-20-280. Special interment requirement 

A licensed cemetery company may establish a section in its 

cemetery devoted to the interment of pets or the interment of 

human remains and the pets of such deceased humans in 

accordance with § 54.1-2312.01 of the Code of Virginia. All 

other provisions of this chapter shall apply.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4107; Filed August 17, 2015, 1:24 p.m.  

BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC50-30. Individual License and 

Certification Regulations (amending 18VAC50-30-40, 

18VAC50-30-90, 18VAC50-30-120, 18VAC50-30-130, 

18VAC50-30-185, 18VAC50-30-190, 18VAC50-30-200).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201, 54.1-1102, and 54.1-1146 

of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 1, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, Board for 

Contractors, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (866) 430-1033, or 

email contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments provide for the licensure of residential 

building energy analysts to comport with Chapter 865 of 

the 2011 Acts of Assembly. The amendments add a 

definition of residential building energy analyst, establish 

licensure eligibility criteria, list the fees associated with 

the license, add prohibited acts for the license, and identify 

other administrative requirements.  
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Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

18VAC50-30-40. Evidence of ability and proficiency.  

A. Applicants for examination to be licensed as a 

journeyman shall furnish evidence that one of the following 

experience and education standards has been attained:  

1. Four years of practical experience in the trade and 240 

hours of formal vocational training in the trade. Experience 

in excess of four years may be substituted for formal 

vocational training at a ratio of one year of experience for 

80 hours of formal training, but not to exceed 200 hours;  

2. Four years of practical experience and 80 hours of 

vocational training for liquefied petroleum gas fitters and 

natural gas fitter providers except that no substitute 

experience will be allowed for liquefied petroleum gas and 

natural gas workers;  

3. An associate degree or a certificate of completion from 

at least a two-year program in a tradesman-related field 

from an accredited community college or technical school 

as evidenced by a transcript from the educational 

institution and two years of practical experience in the 

trade for which licensure is desired;  

4. A bachelor's degree received from an accredited college 

or university in an engineering curriculum related to the 

trade and one year of practical experience in the trade for 

which licensure is desired; or  

5. [ On or after July 1, 1995, an An ] applicant with 10 

years of practical experience in the trade as verified by 

reference letters of experience from any of the following: 

building officials, building inspectors, current or former 

employers, contractors, engineers, architects or current or 

past clients attesting to the applicant's work in the trade, 

may be granted permission to sit for the journeyman's level 

examination without having to meet the educational 

requirements.  

B. Applicants for examination to be licensed as a master 

shall furnish evidence that one of the following experience 

standards has been attained:  

1. Evidence that they have one year of experience as a 

licensed journeyman; or  

2. [ On or after July 1, 1995, an An ] an applicant with 10 

years of practical experience in the trade, as verified by 

reference letters of experience from any of the following: 

building officials, building inspectors, current or former 

employers, contractors, engineers, architects or current or 

past clients, attesting to the applicant's work in the trade, 

may be granted permission to sit for the master's level 

examination without having to meet the educational 

requirements.  

C. Individuals who have successfully passed the Class A 

contractors trade examination prior to January 1, 1991, 

administered by the Virginia Board for Contractors in a 

certified trade shall be deemed qualified as a master in that 

trade in accordance with this chapter.  

D. Applicants for examination to be certified as a backflow 

prevention device worker shall furnish evidence that one of 

the following experience and education standards has been 

attained:  

1. Four years of practical experience in water distribution 

systems and 40 hours of formal vocational training in a 

school approved by the board; or  

2. Applicants with seven or more years of experience may 

qualify with 16 hours of formal vocational training in a 

school approved by the board.  

The board accepts the American Society of Sanitary 

Engineers' (ASSE) standards for testing procedures. Other 

programs could be approved after board review. The board 

requires all backflow training to include instruction in a wet 

lab.  

E. An applicant for certification as an elevator mechanic 

shall:  

1. Have three years of practical experience in the 

construction, maintenance and service/repair of elevators, 

escalators, or related conveyances; 144 hours of formal 

vocational training; and satisfactorily complete a written 

examination administered by the board. Experience in 

excess of four years may be substituted for formal 

vocational training at a ratio of one year of experience for 

40 hours of formal training, but not to exceed 120 hours;  

2. Have three years of practical experience in the 

construction, maintenance, and service/repair of elevators, 

escalators, or related conveyances and a certificate of 

completion of the elevator mechanic examination of a 

training program determined to be equivalent to the 

requirements established by the board; or  

3. Successfully complete an elevator mechanic 

apprenticeship program that is approved by the Virginia 

Apprenticeship Council or registered with the Bureau of 

Apprenticeship and Training, U.S. Department of Labor, as 

evidenced by providing a certificate of completion or other 

official document, and satisfactorily complete a written 

examination administered by the board.  

F. Pursuant to § 54.1-1129.1 A of the Code of Virginia, an 

applicant for examination as a certified water well systems 

provider shall provide satisfactory proof to the board of at 

least: 

1. One year of full-time practical experience in the drilling, 

installation, maintenance, or repair of water wells or water 

well systems under the supervision of a certified master 

water well systems provider or other equivalent experience 

as approved by the board to qualify for examination as a 

trainee water well systems provider; 
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2. Three years of practical experience in the drilling, 

installation, maintenance, or repair of water wells or water 

well systems under the supervision of a certified master 

water well systems provider or other equivalent experience 

as approved by the board and 24 hours of formal 

vocational training in the trade to qualify for examination 

as a journeyman water well systems provider; or 

3. Six years of practical experience in the drilling, 

installation, maintenance, or repair of water wells or water 

well systems under the supervision of a certified master 

water well systems provider or other equivalent experience 

as approved by the board and 48 hours of formal 

vocational training in the trade to qualify for examination 

as a master water well systems provider. 

G. An applicant for certification as an accessibility 

mechanic shall: 

1. Have three years of practical experience in the 

construction, installation, maintenance, service, repair, and 

testing of wheelchair lifts, incline chairlifts, dumbwaiters, 

residential elevators, or related conveyances; 80 hours of 

formal vocational training; and satisfactorily complete a 

written examination administered by the board. Experience 

in excess of four years may be substituted for formal 

vocational training at a ratio of one year of experience for 

20 hours of formal training, but not to exceed 60 hours; 

2. Have three years of practical experience in the 

construction, installation, maintenance, service, repair, and 

testing of wheelchair lifts, incline chairlifts, dumbwaiters, 

residential elevators, or related conveyances and a 

certificate of completion of an accessibility mechanic 

examination of a training program determined to be 

equivalent to the requirements established by the board; or 

3. Successfully complete an accessibility mechanic 

apprenticeship program that is approved by the Virginia 

Apprenticeship Council or registered with the Bureau of 

Apprenticeship and Training, U.S. Department of Labor, as 

evidenced by providing a certificate of completion or other 

official document, and satisfactorily complete a written 

examination administered by the board. 

H. An applicant for a limited use/limited application 

(LULA) endorsement shall: 

1. Hold a current certification as an accessibility mechanic 

issued by the board.  

2. Have one year of practical experience in the 

construction, installation, maintenance, service, repair, and 

testing of limited use/limited application elevators and 

complete a vocational education program approved by the 

board; and satisfactorily complete a written examination 

administered by the board; or complete a limited 

use/limited application elevator training program 

determined to be equivalent to the requirements established 

by the board.  

I. Pursuant to § 54.1-1145 B of the Code of Virginia, an 

applicant for licensure as a residential building energy analyst 

shall provide satisfactory proof to the board of: 

1. The completion of a residential building energy analyst 

training program approved by the board; 

2. The completion of a minimum of five residential 

building energy analyses under the supervision of a 

licensed residential building energy analyst; 

3. Current membership in good standing with a certifying 

organization approved by the board; and 

4. Maintaining a minimum of $100,000 of general liability 

insurance from a company authorized to provide such 

insurance in the Commonwealth of Virginia unless the 

individual is employed by a company that holds a valid 

residential building energy analyst firm license issued by 

the board. 

The applicant shall provide information for the past five 

years prior to application on any outstanding past-due debts, 

outstanding judgments, outstanding tax obligations, defaults 

on bonds, or pending or past bankruptcies. 

J. Individuals applying for initial licensure as residential 

building energy analysts who meet the criteria of § 54.1-1145 

C of the Code of Virginia are not required to meet the 

eligibility standards for licensure found in subsection I of this 

section.  

18VAC50-30-90. Fees for licensure and certification. 

A. Each check or money order shall be made payable to the 

Treasurer of Virginia. All fees required by the board are 

nonrefundable and shall not be prorated. The date of receipt 

by the department or its agent is the date that will be used to 

determine whether or not it is on time. Fees remain active for 

a period of one year from the date of receipt and all 

applications must be completed within that time frame.  

B. Fees are as follows:  

Original tradesman license by examination $130 

Original tradesman license without 

examination 

$130 

Card exchange (exchange of locality-issued 

card for state-issued Virginia tradesman 

license) 

$95  

Liquefied petroleum gas fitter $130 

Natural gas fitter provider $130 

Backflow prevention device worker 

certification 

$130 

Elevator mechanic certification $130 

Certified accessibility mechanic $130 

Water well systems provider certification $130 

Residential building energy analyst license $130 

Limited use/limited application endorsement $65 
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18VAC50-30-120. Renewal. 

A. Licenses and certification cards issued under this chapter 

shall expire two years from the last day of the month in which 

they were issued as indicated on the license or certification 

card. 

B. Effective with all licenses issued or renewed after 

December 31, 2007, as a condition of renewal or 

reinstatement and pursuant to § 54.1-1133 of the Code of 

Virginia, all individuals holding tradesman licenses with the 

trade designations of plumbing, electrical and heating 

ventilation and cooling shall be required to satisfactorily 

complete three hours of continuing education for each 

designation and individuals holding licenses as liquefied 

petroleum gas fitters and natural gas fitter providers, one hour 

of continuing education, relating to the applicable building 

code, from a provider approved by the board in accordance 

with the provisions of this chapter. An inactive tradesman is 

not required to meet the continuing education requirements as 

a condition of renewal. 

C. Certified elevator mechanics and certified accessibility 

mechanics, as a condition of renewal or reinstatement and 

pursuant to § 54.1-1143 of the Code of Virginia, shall be 

required to satisfactorily complete eight hours of continuing 

education relating to the provisions of the Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code pertaining to elevators, escalators, 

and related conveyances. This continuing education will be 

from a provider approved by the board in accordance with the 

provisions of this chapter.  

D. Certified water well systems providers, as a condition of 

renewal or reinstatement and pursuant to § 54.1-1129.1 B of 

the Code of Virginia, shall be required to satisfactorily 

complete eight hours of continuing education in the specialty 

of technical aspects of water well construction, applicable 

statutory and regulatory provisions, and business practices 

related to water well construction from a provider approved 

by the board in accordance with the provisions of this chapter. 

E. Renewal fees are as follows:  

Tradesman license $90  

Liquefied petroleum gas fitter license $90  

Natural gas fitter provider license $90  

Backflow prevention device worker 

certification 

$90  

Elevator mechanic certification $90 

Certified accessibility mechanic $90 

Water well systems provider certification $90 

Residential building energy analyst license $90 

All fees are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated. 

For renewal fees received on or before August 31, 2017, the 

fee shall be $60. 

F. The board will mail a renewal notice to the regulant 

outlining procedures for renewal. Failure to receive this 

notice, however, shall not relieve the regulant of the 

obligation to renew. If the regulant fails to receive the 

renewal notice, a photocopy of the tradesman license or 

backflow prevention device worker certification card may be 

submitted with the required fee as an application for renewal 

within 30 days of the expiration date. 

G. The date on which the renewal fee is received by the 

department or its agent will determine whether the regulant is 

eligible for renewal or required to apply for reinstatement. 

H. The board may deny renewal of a tradesman license or a 

backflow prevention device worker certification card for the 

same reasons as it may refuse initial issuance or to discipline 

a regulant. The regulant has a right to appeal any such action 

by the board under the Virginia Administrative Process Act 

(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

I. Failure to timely pay any monetary penalty, 

reimbursement of cost, or other fee assessed by consent order 

or final order shall result in delaying or withholding services 

provided by the department such as, but not limited to, 

renewal, reinstatement, processing of a new application, or 

exam administration. 

J. Residential building energy analysts, as a condition of 

renewal or reinstatement, shall provide documentation of 

continued membership, in good standing, of a certifying 

organization approved by the board and proof of insurance as 

required in 18VAC50-30-40 I 4.  

18VAC50-30-130. Reinstatement. 

A. Should the Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation fail to receive the renewal application or fees 

within 30 days of the expiration date, the regulant will be 

required to apply for reinstatement of the license or 

certification card. 

B. Reinstatement fees are as follows: 

Tradesman license $140* 

Liquefied petroleum gas fitter license $140* 

Natural gas fitter provider license $140* 

Backflow prevention device worker 

certification 

$140* 

Elevator mechanic certification $140* 

Certified accessibility mechanic $140* 

Water well systems provider certification $140* 

Residential building energy analyst 

license 

$140* 

*Includes renewal fee listed in 18VAC50-30-120. 

All fees required by the board are nonrefundable and shall 

not be prorated. 
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For reinstatement fees received on or before August 31, 

2017, the fee shall be $100. This fee includes the renewal fee 

listed in 18VAC50-30-120. 

C. Applicants for reinstatement shall meet the requirements 

of 18VAC50-30-30. 

D. The date on which the reinstatement fee is received by 

the department or its agent will determine whether the license 

or certification card is reinstated or a new application is 

required.  

E. In order to ensure that license or certification card holders 

are qualified to practice as tradesmen, liquefied petroleum gas 

fitters, natural gas fitter providers, backflow prevention 

device workers, elevator mechanics, [ or ] water well systems 

providers, or residential building energy analysts, no 

reinstatement will be permitted once one year from the 

expiration date has passed. After that date the applicant must 

apply for a new license or certification card and meet the then 

current entry requirements.  

F. Any tradesman, liquefied petroleum gas fitter, or natural 

gas fitter provider activity conducted subsequent to the 

expiration of the license may constitute unlicensed activity 

and may be subject to prosecution under Title 54.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. Further, any person who holds himself out 

as a certified backflow prevention device worker, as defined 

in § 54.1-1128 of the Code of Virginia, or as a certified 

elevator mechanic or certified accessibility mechanic, as 

defined in § 54.1-1140 of the Code of Virginia, or as a water 

well systems provider as defined in § 54.1-1129.1 of the Code 

of Virginia, without the appropriate certification, may be 

subject to prosecution under Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. Any activity related to the operating integrity of an 

elevator, escalator, or related conveyance, conducted 

subsequent to the expiration of an elevator mechanic 

certification may constitute illegal activity and may be subject 

to prosecution under Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. Any 

individual who completes a residential building energy 

analysis, as defined in § 54.1-1144 of the Code of Virginia, 

subsequent to the expiration of a residential building energy 

analyst license may have engaged in illegal activity and may 

be subject to prosecution under Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

G. The board may deny reinstatement of a license or 

certification card for the same reasons as it may refuse initial 

issuance or to discipline a regulant. The regulant has a right to 

appeal any such action by the board under the Virginia 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia). 

H. Failure to timely pay any monetary penalty, 

reimbursement of cost, or other fee assessed by consent order 

or final order shall result in delaying or withholding services 

provided by the department, such as, but not limited to, 

renewal, reinstatement, processing of a new application, or 

exam administration. 

Part V  

Standards of Conduct  

18VAC50-30-185. Revocation of licensure or certification.  

A. Licensure or certification may be revoked for 

misrepresentation or a fraudulent application or for 

incompetence as demonstrated by an egregious or repeated 

violation of the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code.  

B. The board shall have the power to require remedial 

education and to fine, suspend, revoke or deny renewal of a 

license or certification card of any individual who is found to 

be in violation of the statutes or regulations governing the 

practice of licensed tradesmen, liquefied petroleum gas fitters, 

natural gas fitter providers, backflow prevention device 

workers, elevator mechanics, or accessibility mechanics, or 

residential building energy analysts in the Commonwealth of 

Virginia.  

18VAC50-30-190. Prohibited acts.  

Any of the following are cause for disciplinary action:  

1. Failure in any material way to comply with provisions of 

Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.) or Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-1100 

et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia or the 

regulations of the board;  

2. Furnishing substantially inaccurate or incomplete 

information to the board in obtaining, renewing, 

reinstating, or maintaining a license or certification card;  

3. Where the regulant has failed to report to the board, in 

writing, the suspension or revocation of a tradesman, 

liquefied petroleum gas fitter or natural gas fitter provider 

license, certificate or card, or backflow prevention device 

worker, water well systems provider, elevator mechanic, or 

accessibility mechanic certification card, by another state 

or a conviction in a court of competent jurisdiction of a 

building code violation;  

4. Negligence or incompetence in the practice of a 

tradesman, liquefied petroleum gas fitter, natural gas fitter 

provider, backflow prevention device worker, elevator 

mechanic, accessibility mechanic, or water well systems 

provider;  

5. Misconduct in the practice of a tradesman, liquefied 

petroleum gas fitter, natural gas fitter provider, backflow 

prevention device worker, elevator mechanic, accessibility 

mechanic, or water well systems provider;  

6. A finding of improper or dishonest conduct in the 

practice of a tradesman, liquefied petroleum gas fitter, 

natural gas fitter provider, backflow prevention device 

worker, elevator mechanic, accessibility mechanic, or 

water well systems provider by a court of competent 

jurisdiction;  

7. For licensed tradesmen, liquefied petroleum gas fitters 

or natural gas fitter providers performing jobs under 

$1,000, or backflow prevention device workers, elevator 

mechanics, accessibility mechanics, or water well systems 
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providers performing jobs of any amount, abandonment, 

the intentional and unjustified failure to complete work 

contracted for, or the retention or misapplication of funds 

paid, for which work is either not performed or performed 

only in part (unjustified cessation of work under the 

contract for a period of 30 days or more shall be 

considered evidence of abandonment);  

8. Making any misrepresentation or making a false promise 

of a character likely to influence, persuade, or induce;  

9. Aiding or abetting an unlicensed contractor to violate 

any provision of Chapter 1 or Chapter 11 of Title 54.1 of 

the Code of Virginia, or these regulations; or combining or 

conspiring with or acting as agent, partner, or associate for 

an unlicensed contractor; or allowing one's license or 

certification to be used by an unlicensed or uncertified 

individual;  

10. Where the regulant has offered, given or promised 

anything of value or benefit to any federal, state, or local 

government employee for the purpose of influencing that 

employee to circumvent, in the performance of his duties, 

any federal, state, or local law, regulation, or ordinance 

governing the construction industry;  

11. Where the regulant has been convicted or found guilty, 

after initial licensure or certification, regardless of 

adjudication, in any jurisdiction of any felony or of a 

misdemeanor involving lying, cheating or stealing, sexual 

offense, drug distribution, physical injury, or relating to the 

practice of the profession, there being no appeal pending 

therefrom or the time of appeal having elapsed. Any pleas 

of guilty or nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for the purposes of this subdivision. The record 

of a conviction certified or authenticated in such form as to 

be admissible in evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction 

where convicted shall be admissible as prima facie 

evidence of such guilt;  

12. Having failed to inform the board in writing, within 30 

days, that the regulant has pleaded guilty or nolo 

contendere or was convicted and found guilty of any 

felony or a misdemeanor involving lying, cheating, 

stealing, sexual offense, drug distribution, physical injury, 

or relating to the practice of the profession;  

13. Having been disciplined by any county, city, town, or 

any state or federal governing body for actions relating to 

the practice of any trade, backflow prevention device work, 

elevator or accessibility work, or water well systems 

provider work, which action shall be reviewed by the board 

before it takes any disciplinary action of its own;  

14. Failure to comply with the Virginia Uniform Statewide 

Building Code;  

15. Practicing in a classification or specialty service for 

which the regulant is not licensed or certified;  

16. Failure to obtain any document required by the 

Virginia Department of Health for the drilling, installation, 

maintenance, repair, construction, or removal of water 

wells, water well systems, water well pumps, or other 

water well equipment; and 

17. Failure to obtain a building permit or applicable 

inspection where required; 

18. Failure to perform a residential building energy 

analysis consistent with the requirements set forth by the 

board, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, the U.S. 

Department of Energy, or the "Energy Star" Program; and 

19. Failure of a residential building energy analyst to 

maintain the general liability insurance required in 

18VAC50-30-40 I 4. 

Part VI  

Vocational Training and Continuing Education Providers  

18VAC50-30-200. Vocational training.  

A. Vocational training courses must be completed through 

accredited colleges, universities, junior and community 

colleges; adult distributive, marketing and formal vocational 

training as defined in this chapter; Virginia Apprenticeship 

Council programs; or proprietary schools approved by the 

Virginia Department of Education.  

B. Backflow prevention device worker courses must be 

completed through schools approved by the board. The board 

accepts the American Society of Sanitary Engineers' (ASSE) 

standards for testing procedures. Other programs could be 

approved after board review. The board requires all backflow 

training to include instruction in a wet lab.  

C. Elevator mechanic courses must be completed through 

schools approved by the board. The board accepts training 

programs approved by the National Elevator Industry 

Education Program (NEIEP). Other programs could be 

approved after board review.  

D. Water well systems provider courses must be completed 

through schools or programs approved by the board. 

E. Certified accessibility courses must be completed through 

education providers approved by the board.  

F. Residential building energy analyst courses must be 

completed through programs that meet or exceed the 

standards set forth by the U.S. Environmental Protection 

Agency, the U.S. Department of Energy, or the Home 

Performance with Energy Star Program. Other programs 

could be approved after board review. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 
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[ FORMS (18VAC50-30) 

Education Provider Listing Application, A501-27EDLIST-

v3 (rev. 12/12) 

Education Provider Registration/Course Approval 

Application, A501-27EDREG-v5 (rev. 12/12) 

Tradesman Additional Designation & License Upgrade 

Application, A501-2710_ADDLIC-v2 (rev. 12/12) 

Tradesman Exam & License Application, A501-

2710EXLIC-v2 (rev. 12/12) 

Tradesman Individual Experience Form, A501-2710EXP-v2 

(rev. 12/12) 

Tradesman – Inactive/Activate License Application, A501-

2710INAT-v1 (eff. 1/13) 

Backflow Prevention Device Worker Certification 

Application, A501-2717CERT-v2 (rev. 12/12) 

Certified Elevator Mechanic Application, A501-2718CERT-

v3 (rev. 7/13) 

Temporary Elevator Mechanic Certification (rev. 4/10)  

Certified Water Well System Provider Application, A501-

2719CERT-v2 (rev. 12/12) 

Certified Accessibility Mechanics Application, A501-

2720CERT-v1 (eff. 1/14) 

Certified Accessibility Mechanics Limited Use/Limited 

Application (LULA) Endorsement Application, A501-

2720LULA-v1 (eff. 1/14)  

Residential Building Energy Analyst License Application, 

Form A501-2722LIC-v4 (rev. 7/14) 

Residential Building Energy Analyst Experience Form, 

Form A501-2722EXP-v3 (rev. 7/13) ] 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-2739; Filed August 17, 2015, 10:48 a.m.  

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Medicine is claiming 

an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative Process 

Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of 

Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where no 

agency discretion is involved. The Board of Medicine will 

receive, consider, and respond to petitions from any interested 

person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Medicine, Osteopathic Medicine, Podiatry, 

and Chiropractic (amending 18VAC85-20-121, 18VAC85-

20-122).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 7, 2015.  

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 

Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4621, FAX 

(804) 527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments conform regulation requirements for 

postgraduate training per Chapter 525 of the 2015 Acts of 

Assembly so that 12 months of such training must be done 

in one program or institution.  

18VAC85-20-121. Educational requirements: Graduates 

of approved institutions.  

A. Such an applicant shall be a graduate of an institution that 

meets the criteria appropriate to the profession in which he 

seeks to be licensed, which are as follows:  

1. For licensure in medicine. The institution shall be 

approved or accredited by the Liaison Committee on 

Medical Education or other official accrediting body 

recognized by the American Medical Association, or by 

the Committee for the Accreditation of Canadian Medical 

Schools or its appropriate subsidiary agencies or any other 

organization approved by the board.  

2. For licensure in osteopathic medicine. The institution 

shall be approved or accredited by the Bureau of 

Professional Education of the American Osteopathic 

Association or any other organization approved by the 

board.  

3. For licensure in podiatry. The institution shall be 

approved and recommended by the Council on Podiatric 

Medical Education of the American Podiatric Medical 

Association or any other organization approved by the 

board.  

B. Such an applicant for licensure in medicine, osteopathic 

medicine, or podiatry shall provide evidence of having 

completed one year 12 months of satisfactory postgraduate 

training as an intern or resident in a hospital or health care 

facility offering approved internship and residency training 

programs in one program or institution when such a program 

or institution is approved by an accrediting agency recognized 

by the board for internship and residency training.  

C. For licensure in chiropractic.  

1. If the applicant matriculated in a chiropractic college on 

or after July 1, 1975, he shall be a graduate of a 

chiropractic college accredited by the Commission on 

Accreditation of the Council of Chiropractic Education or 

any other organization approved by the board.  

2. If the applicant matriculated in a chiropractic college 

prior to July 1, 1975, he shall be a graduate of a 

chiropractic college accredited by the American 

Chiropractic Association or the International Chiropractic 

Association or any other organization approved by the 

board.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=76254002485~13&typ=40&actno=002485&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=76254002485~13&typ=40&actno=002485&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e2548002485~14&typ=40&actno=002485&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e2548002485~14&typ=40&actno=002485&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=587c3002485~15&typ=40&actno=002485&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=587c3002485~15&typ=40&actno=002485&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cc708002485~16&typ=40&actno=002485&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cc708002485~16&typ=40&actno=002485&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bc38e002485~18&typ=40&actno=002485&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bc38e002485~18&typ=40&actno=002485&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dd92d002485~17&typ=40&actno=002485&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dd92d002485~17&typ=40&actno=002485&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2012e002485~10&typ=40&actno=002485&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2012e002485~10&typ=40&actno=002485&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fba9d002485~11&typ=40&actno=002485&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fba9d002485~11&typ=40&actno=002485&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=118e7002619~7&typ=40&actno=002619&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0099d002485~12&typ=40&actno=002485&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0099d002485~12&typ=40&actno=002485&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7a75e002485~19&typ=40&actno=002485&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7a75e002485~19&typ=40&actno=002485&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6113b002485~20&typ=40&actno=002485&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6113b002485~20&typ=40&actno=002485&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6113b002485~20&typ=40&actno=002485&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=79f90002739~2&typ=40&actno=002739&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=79f90002739~2&typ=40&actno=002739&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=14b07002739~1&typ=40&actno=002739&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=14b07002739~1&typ=40&actno=002739&mime=application/pdf
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18VAC85-20-122. Educational requirements: Graduates 

and former students of institutions not approved by an 

accrediting agency recognized by the board.  

A. A graduate of an institution not approved by an 

accrediting agency recognized by the board shall present 

documentary evidence that he:  

1. Was enrolled and physically in attendance at the 

institution's principal site for a minimum of two 

consecutive years and fulfilled at least half of the degree 

requirements while enrolled two consecutive academic 

years at the institution's principal site.  

2. Has fulfilled the applicable requirements of § 54.1-2930 

of the Code of Virginia.  

3. Has obtained a certificate from the Educational Council 

of Foreign Medical Graduates (ECFMG), or its equivalent. 

Proof of licensure by the board of another state or territory 

of the United States or a province of Canada may be 

accepted in lieu of ECFMG certification.  

4. Has had supervised clinical training as a part of his 

curriculum in an approved hospital, institution or school of 

medicine offering an approved residency program in the 

specialty area for the clinical training received or in a 

program acceptable to the board and deemed a 

substantially equivalent experience, if such training was 

received in the United States.  

5. Has completed two years of satisfactory postgraduate 

training as an intern, or resident in a hospital or health care 

facility offering an approved internship or residency 

training program when such a program is approved by an 

accrediting agency recognized by the board for internship 

and residency, or clinical fellow. The two years shall 

include at least 12 months in one program or institution 

approved by an accrediting agency recognized by the board 

for internship or residency training or in a clinical 

fellowship acceptable to the board in the same or a related 

field. 

a. The board may substitute other postgraduate training 

or study for one year of the two-year requirement when 

such training or study has occurred in the United States 

or Canada and is:  

(1) An approved fellowship program; or  

(2) A position teaching medical students, interns, or 

residents in a medical school program approved by an 

accrediting agency recognized by the board for internship 

and residency training.  

b. The board may substitute continuous full-time practice 

of five years or more with a limited professorial license 

in Virginia and one year of postgraduate training in a 

foreign country in lieu of two years of postgraduate 

training.  

6. Has received a degree from the institution.  

B. A former student who has completed all degree 

requirements except social services and postgraduate 

internship at a school not approved by an accrediting agency 

recognized by the board shall be considered for licensure 

provided that he:  

1. Has fulfilled the requirements of subdivisions A 1 

through 5 of this section;  

2. Has qualified for and completed an appropriate 

supervised clinical training program as established by the 

American Medical Association; and  

3. Presents a document issued by the school certifying that 

he has met all the formal requirements of the institution for 

a degree except social services and postgraduate 

internship.   

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4123; Filed August 17, 2015, 2:09 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Medicine is claiming 

an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative Process 

Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of 

Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where no 

agency discretion is involved. The Board of Medicine will 

receive, consider, and respond to petitions from any interested 

person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-40. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Respiratory Care Practitioners (amending 

18VAC85-40-10, 18VAC85-40-40 through 18VAC85-40-

60, 18VAC85-40-65 through 18VAC85-40-70).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2912.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 7, 2015.  

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 

Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4558, FAX (804) 

527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments conform to Chapter 302 of the 2015 Acts 

of Assembly by changing the term "respiratory care 

practitioner" to "respiratory therapist." 

CHAPTER 40  

REGULATIONS GOVERNING THE PRACTICE OF 

RESPIRATORY CARE PRACTITIONERS THERAPISTS  

Part I  

General Provisions  

18VAC85-40-10. Definitions.  

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the meanings ascribed to them in § 54.1-2900 of 

the Code of Virginia:  

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/54.1-2930/
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Board  

Qualified medical direction  

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"AARC" means the American Association for Respiratory 

Care.  

"Accredited educational program" means a program 

accredited by the Commission on Accreditation for 

Respiratory Care or any other agency approved by the NBRC 

for its entry level certification examination.  

"Active practice" means a minimum of 160 hours of 

professional practice as a respiratory care practitioner 

therapist within the 24-month period immediately preceding 

renewal or application for licensure if previously licensed or 

certified in another jurisdiction. The active practice of 

respiratory care may include supervisory, administrative, 

educational or consultative activities or responsibilities for the 

delivery of such services.  

"Advisory board" means the Advisory Board on Respiratory 

Care to the Board of Medicine as specified in § 54.1-2956 of 

the Code of Virginia.  

"NBRC" means the National Board for Respiratory Care, 

Inc.  

"Respiratory care practitioner therapist" means a person as 

specified in § 54.1-2954 of the Code of Virginia.  

Part II  

Requirements for Licensure as a Respiratory Care Practitioner 

Therapist 

18VAC85-40-40. Licensure requirements.  

An applicant for licensure shall submit the following on 

forms provided by the board:  

1. A completed application and a fee as prescribed in 

18VAC85-40-35.  

2. Verification of professional education in respiratory care 

as required in 18VAC85-40-45.  

3. Verification of practice as required on the application 

form.  

4. Evidence of passage of the national examination as 

required in 18VAC85-40-50.  

5. If licensed or certified in any other jurisdiction, 

documentation of active practice as a respiratory care 

practitioner therapist or documentation of 20 hours of 

continuing education within the 24-month period 

immediately preceding application and verification that 

there has been no disciplinary action taken or pending in 

that jurisdiction.  

18VAC85-40-45. Educational requirements.  

An applicant for licensure shall:  

1. Be a graduate of an accredited educational program for 

respiratory care practitioners therapists; or  

2. Hold current credentialing as a Certified Respiratory 

Therapist (CRT) or a Registered Respiratory Therapist 

(RRT) from the NBRC or any other credentialing body 

determined by the board to be equivalent.  

18VAC85-40-50. Examination requirements.  

An applicant for a license to practice as a licensed 

respiratory care practitioner therapist shall submit to the 

board evidence that the applicant has passed the NBRC entry 

level examination for respiratory care, or its equivalent as 

approved by the board.  

18VAC85-40-55. Registration for voluntary practice by 

out-of-state licensees.  

Any respiratory care practitioner therapist who does not hold 

a license to practice in Virginia and who seeks registration to 

practice under subdivision 27 of § 54.1-2901 of the Code of 

Virginia on a voluntary basis under the auspices of a publicly 

supported, all volunteer, nonprofit organization that sponsors 

the provision of health care to populations of underserved 

people shall:  

1. File a complete application for registration on a form 

provided by the board at least five business days prior to 

engaging in such practice. An incomplete application will 

not be considered;  

2. Provide a complete record of professional licensure in 

each state in which he has held a license and a copy of any 

current license;  

3. Provide the name of the nonprofit organization, the dates 

and location of the voluntary provision of services;  

4. Pay a registration fee of $10; and  

5. Provide a notarized statement from a representative of 

the nonprofit organization attesting to its compliance with 

provisions of subdivision 27 of § 54.1-2901 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

Part III  

Renewal and Reinstatement  

18VAC85-40-60. Renewal of license.  

A. Every licensed respiratory care practitioner therapist 

intending to continue his licensure shall biennially in each 

odd-numbered year in his birth month:  

1. Register with the board for renewal of his license;  

2. Pay the prescribed renewal fee at the time he files for 

renewal;  

3. Attest that he has engaged in active practice as defined 

in 18VAC85-40-10 or present other documented evidence 

acceptable to the board that he is prepared to resume 

practice; and  

4. Attest to having met the continuing education 

requirements of 18VAC85-40-66.  

B. A respiratory care practitioner therapist whose licensure 

has not been renewed by the first day of the month following 
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the month in which renewal is required shall pay a late fee as 

prescribed in 18VAC85-40-35.  

18VAC85-40-65. Reactivation or reinstatement. 

A. To reactivate an inactive license or to reinstate a license 

that has been lapsed for more than two years, a respiratory 

care practitioner therapist shall submit evidence of 

competency to return to active practice to include one of the 

following: 

1. Information on continued practice in another jurisdiction 

during the period in which the license has been inactive or 

lapsed; 

2. Ten hours of continuing education for each year in 

which the license has been inactive or lapsed, not to exceed 

three years; or 

3. Recertification by passage of an examination from 

NBRC. 

B. To reactivate an inactive license, a respiratory care 

practitioner therapist shall pay a fee equal to the difference 

between the current renewal fee for inactive licensure and the 

renewal fee for active licensure. 

C. To reinstate a license which has been lapsed for more 

than two years, a respiratory care practitioner therapist shall 

file an application for reinstatement and pay the fee for 

reinstatement of his licensure as prescribed in 18VAC85-40-

35. The board may specify additional requirements for 

reinstatement of a license so lapsed to include education, 

experience or reexamination. 

D. A respiratory care practitioner therapist whose licensure 

has been revoked by the board and who wishes to be 

reinstated shall make a new application to the board, fulfill 

additional requirements as specified in the order from the 

board and make payment of the fee for reinstatement of his 

licensure as prescribed in 18VAC85-40-35 pursuant to 

§ 54.1-2408.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

E. The board reserves the right to deny a request for 

reactivation or reinstatement to any licensee who has been 

determined to have committed an act in violation of § 54.1-

2915 of the Code of Virginia or any provisions of this 

chapter. 

18VAC85-40-66. Continuing education requirements.  

A. In order to renew an active license as a respiratory care 

practitioner therapist, a licensee shall attest to having 

completed 20 hours of continuing education as approved and 

documented by a sponsor recognized by the AARC or in 

courses directly related to the practice of respiratory care as 

approved by the American Medical Association for Category 

1 CME credit within the last biennium.  

B. A practitioner shall be exempt from the continuing 

education requirements for the first biennial renewal 

following the date of initial licensure in Virginia.  

C. The practitioner shall retain in his records the completed 

form with all supporting documentation for a period of four 

years following the renewal of an active license.  

D. The board shall periodically conduct a random audit of 

its active licensees to determine compliance. The practitioners 

selected for the audit shall provide all supporting 

documentation within 30 days of receiving notification of the 

audit.  

E. Failure to comply with these requirements may subject 

the licensee to disciplinary action by the board.  

F. The board may grant an extension of the deadline for 

continuing competency requirements, for up to one year, for 

good cause shown upon a written request from the licensee 

prior to the renewal date.  

G. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

requirements for circumstances beyond the control of the 

licensee, such as temporary disability, mandatory military 

service, or officially declared disasters.  

18VAC85-40-67. Restricted volunteer license. 

A. A respiratory care practitioner therapist who held an 

unrestricted license issued by the Virginia Board of Medicine 

or by a board in another state as a licensee in good standing at 

the time the license expired or became inactive may be issued 

a restricted volunteer license to practice without 

compensation in a clinic that is organized in whole or in part 

for the delivery of health care services without charge in 

accordance with § 54.1-106 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. To be issued a restricted volunteer license, a respiratory 

care practitioner therapist shall submit an application to the 

board that documents compliance with requirements of 

§ 54.1-2928.1 of the Code of Virginia and the application fee 

prescribed in 18VAC85-40-35. 

C. The licensee who intends to continue practicing with a 

restricted volunteer license shall renew  biennially during his 

birth month, meet the continued competency requirements 

prescribed in subsection D of this section, and pay to the 

board the renewal fee prescribed in 18VAC85-40-35. 

D. The holder of a restricted volunteer license shall not be 

required to attest to hours of continuing education for the first 

renewal of such a license.  For each renewal thereafter, the 

licensee shall attest to obtaining 10 hours of continuing 

education as approved and documented by a sponsor 

recognized by the AARC or in courses directly related to the 

practice of respiratory care as approved by the American 

Medical Association for Category 1 CME credit within the 

last biennium. 

Part IV  

Scope of Practice  

18VAC85-40-70. Individual responsibilities.  

Practice as a licensed respiratory care practitioner therapist 

means, upon receipt of written or verbal orders from a 

qualified practitioner and under qualified medical direction, 
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the evaluation, care and treatment of patients with 

deficiencies and abnormalities associated with the 

cardiopulmonary system. This practice shall include, but not 

be limited to, ventilatory assistance and support; the insertion 

of artificial airways without cutting tissue and the 

maintenance of such airways; the administration of medical 

gases exclusive of general anesthesia; topical administration 

of pharmacological agents to the respiratory tract; 

humidification; and administration of aerosols. The practice 

of respiratory care shall include such functions shared with 

other health professionals as cardiopulmonary resuscitation; 

bronchopulmonary hygiene; respiratory rehabilitation; 

specific testing techniques required to assist in diagnosis, 

therapy and research; and invasive and noninvasive 

cardiopulmonary monitoring.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC85-40)  

Instructions and Application for Reinstatement of License to 

Practice Respiratory Care (rev. 11/10). 

Instructions (rev. 1/09) and Application for a License to 

Practice as a Respiratory Care Practitioner (rev. 12/07). 

Reinstatement Application Instructions for Respiratory Care 

Practitioner after Reinstatement Denied or License Revoked 

(rev. 8/07). 

Reinstatement Application Instructions for Respiratory Care 

Practitioner after Mandatory Suspension, Suspension or 

Surrender (rev. 8/07). 

Form A, Claims History Sheet (rev. 8/07). 

Form B, Activity Questionnaire (rev. 8/07). 

Form C, Clearance from Other State Boards (rev. 8/07). 

Form L, Certificate of Professional Education (rev. 1/09). 

Application for Registration for Volunteer Practice (rev. 

8/07). 

Sponsor Certification for Volunteer Registration (rev. 8/08)  

Instructions and Application for a License to Practice as a 

Respiratory Therapist (rev. 8/2015) 

Application for Registration for Volunteer Practice 

(undated) 

Form B, Activity Questionnaire (rev. 8/2015) 

Application to reactivate an Inactive License for a 

Respiratory Therapist (eff. 8/2015) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4312; Filed August 17, 2015, 2:10 p.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following forms used in 

administering the regulation were filed by the agency. The 

forms are not being published; however, online users of this 

issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the 

name of a form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are 

also available from the agency contact or may be viewed at 

the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly 

Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC120-40. Virginia Professional 

Boxing and Wrestling Events Regulations. 

Agency Contact: Kathleen R. Nosbisch, Executive Director, 

Professional Boxing, Wrestling and Martial Arts Advisory 

Board, Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-8514, or email 

kate.nosbisch@dpor.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC120-40) 

Boxing and Wrestling Nonparticipant License Application, 

41NPLIC (rev. 7/05). 

Boxing and Wrestling Event Card Additions and Deletions 

Form, 41EVCHG (eff. 8/03). 

Boxing and Wrestling Event Surety Bond Form, 

41EVBOND (rev. 8/03). 

Boxing and Wrestling Deposit Verification, 41DEPOSIT 

(rev. 8/03). 

Boxing and Wrestling Promoter's Fee Report, 41PFRFIN 

(rev. 2/06). 

Boxing Event License Application, 41BEVLIC (rev. 8/06). 

Boxing License Application, 41BOXLIC (rev. 8/06). 

Boxing Promoter License Application, 41BPRLIC (eff. 

7/05). 

Promoters Payout Report, 41PQYREP (rev. 4/06). 

Wrestling Event License Application, 41WEVLIC (rev. 

8/06). 

Wrestling License Application, 41WLIC (rev. 8/06). 

Wrestling Promoter License Application, 41WPRLIC (eff. 

7/05). 

Limited Boxing License Application, 41LTDBOXLIC (eff. 

9/05). 

Limited Wrestling License Application, 41LTDWLIC (eff. 

9/05). 

Martial Arts Boxing License Application, 41MALIC (eff. 

8/06). 

Wrestling License Application, A511-4101LIC-v2 (eff. 

1/2015) 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=77441002953~58&typ=40&actno=002953&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=efbe1004312~1&typ=40&actno=004312&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=efbe1004312~1&typ=40&actno=004312&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b0819004312~2&typ=40&actno=004312&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b0819004312~2&typ=40&actno=004312&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b9a62004312~3&typ=40&actno=004312&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ebc05004312~4&typ=40&actno=004312&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ebc05004312~4&typ=40&actno=004312&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8ce14004486~6&typ=40&actno=004486&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8ce14004486~6&typ=40&actno=004486&mime=application/pdf
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Boxing License Application, A511-4102LIC-v2 (eff. 

1/2015) 

Boxing Manager/Matchmaker License Application, A511-

4103_04LIC (eff. 9/2012) 

Trainer, Second or Cut Man License Application, A511-

4105LIC-v2 (eff. 1/2015) 

Wrestling Promoter License Application, A511-4106LIC-v2 

(eff. 9/2013) 

Wrestling Event License Application, A511-4107LIC-v2 

(eff. 1/2014) 

Boxing Event License Application, A511-4108LIC-v2 (eff. 

1/2014) 

Boxing Promoter License Application, A511-4110LIC-v1 

(eff. 9/2012) 

Limited (Temporary) Wrestling License Application, A511-

4121LIC-v2 (eff. 1/2015) 

Limited (Temporary) Boxing License Application, A511-

4122LIC-v2 (eff. 1/2015) 

Martial Arts Boxing License Application, A511-4123LIC-

v2 (eff. 1/2015) 

Amateur Boxing - Sanctioning Organization Approval 

Application, A511-4130AB_SO-v1 (eff. 10/2015) 

Amateur Martial Arts - Sanctioning Organization Approval 

Application, A511-4130AMA_SOA-v1 (eff. 10/2015) 

Amateur Event Notification Form, A511-4130EVE-v1 (eff. 

10/2015) 

Amateur Sanctioning Organization - Experience 

Verification Form, A511-4130EXP-v1 (eff. 10/2015) 

Event Cash Bond Form, A511-41ECBOND (eff. 9/2012) 

Event Surety Bond Form, A511-41EVBOND (eff. 9/2012) 

Event Card Additions and/or Deletions Form, A511-

41EVCHG (eff. 9/2012) 

Promoter Payout Report, A511-41PAYREP (eff. 9/2012) 

Promoter's Fee Report, A511-41PFR (eff. 9/2012) 

Gate Fee Report, A511-41GFR-v2 (eff. 10/2015) 

Criminal Conviction Reporting Form, A406-01CCR-v1 (eff. 

5/2015)  

Disciplinary Action Reporting Form, A406-01DAR-v1 (eff. 

5/2015) 

Denial of Licensure Reporting Form, A406-01DEN-v1 (eff. 

5/2015) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4486; Filed August 8, 2015,  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Proposed Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 22VAC40-72. Standards for Licensed 

Assisted Living Facilities (repealing 22VAC40-72-10 

through 22VAC40-72-1160). 

22VAC40-73. Standards for Licensed Assisted Living 

Facilities (adding 22VAC40-73-10 through 22VAC40-73-

1180).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 63.2-217, 63.2-1732, and 63.2-1805 

of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

October 13, 2015 - 12 p.m. - Department of Social 

Services, Central Regional Office, 1604 Santa Rosa 

Road, Richmond, VA 23229 

Public Comment Deadline: November 6, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Judith McGreal, Licensing Program 

Consultant, Division of Licensing Programs, Department of 

Social Services, 801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 726-7157, FAX (804) 726-7132, TTY (800) 

828-1120, or email judith.mcgreal@dss.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia requires the 

State Board of Social Services to adopt regulations as may be 

necessary or desirable to carry out the purpose of Title 63.2 of 

the Code of Virginia. Section 63.2-1721 of the Code of 

Virginia requires applicants for assisted living facility 

licensure to undergo a background check; § 63.2-1732 of the 

Code of Virginia provides the board's overall authority to 

promulgate regulations for assisted living facilities and 

specifies content areas to be included in the standards; § 63.2-

1802 of the Code of Virginia authorizes assisted living 

facilities to provide safe, secure environments for residents 

with serious cognitive impairments due to dementia if they 

comply with the board's regulations; § 63.2-1803 of the Code 

of Virginia addresses staffing of assisted living facilities; 

§ 63.2-1805 of the Code of Virginia requires the board to 

promulgate regulations regarding admission, retention, and 

discharge of residents; and § 63.2-1808 of the Code of 

Virginia relates to resident rights. The promulgating entity is 

the State Board of Social Services. 

Purpose: This regulatory action is essential to protect the 

health, safety, and welfare of aged, infirm, or disabled adults 

who reside in assisted living facilities. The regulatory action 

is needed to ensure that assisted living facilities provide care, 

services, and a safe environment for an increasingly 

vulnerable population. In addition, the assisted living facility 

regulation provides clear criteria for licensees to follow to 

obtain and maintain their licensure. 

The State Board of Social Services adopted 22VAC40-72 in 

November 2006 and has amended the regulation five times 

over the intervening years. Repeal of the existing regulation 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8bc6e004486~7&typ=40&actno=004486&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8bc6e004486~7&typ=40&actno=004486&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3d756004486~8&typ=40&actno=004486&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3d756004486~8&typ=40&actno=004486&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9bef8004486~9&typ=40&actno=004486&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9bef8004486~9&typ=40&actno=004486&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5f538004486~10&typ=40&actno=004486&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5f538004486~10&typ=40&actno=004486&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c3d55004486~11&typ=40&actno=004486&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c3d55004486~11&typ=40&actno=004486&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dd7e6004486~12&typ=40&actno=004486&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dd7e6004486~12&typ=40&actno=004486&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=91f9d004486~13&typ=40&actno=004486&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=91f9d004486~13&typ=40&actno=004486&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fe9db004486~14&typ=40&actno=004486&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fe9db004486~14&typ=40&actno=004486&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d4221004486~15&typ=40&actno=004486&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d4221004486~15&typ=40&actno=004486&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=576af004486~16&typ=40&actno=004486&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=576af004486~16&typ=40&actno=004486&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d7529004486~17&typ=40&actno=004486&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d7529004486~17&typ=40&actno=004486&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dd7db004486~18&typ=40&actno=004486&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dd7db004486~18&typ=40&actno=004486&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=21714004486~19&typ=40&actno=004486&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=21714004486~19&typ=40&actno=004486&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6c7a2004486~20&typ=40&actno=004486&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6c7a2004486~20&typ=40&actno=004486&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ba689004486~21&typ=40&actno=004486&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=92374004486~22&typ=40&actno=004486&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=46c63004486~23&typ=40&actno=004486&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=46c63004486~23&typ=40&actno=004486&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5674e004486~25&typ=40&actno=004486&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=39327004486~26&typ=40&actno=004486&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2634c004486~24&typ=40&actno=004486&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d8064004486~27&typ=40&actno=004486&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d8064004486~27&typ=40&actno=004486&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=adc3e004486~28&typ=40&actno=004486&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=adc3e004486~28&typ=40&actno=004486&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f9c73004486~29&typ=40&actno=004486&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f9c73004486~29&typ=40&actno=004486&mime=application/pdf
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and adoption of a new regulation will allow greater flexibility 

to adjust the structure, format, and language to provide 

increased consistency and clarity. This consistency and clarity 

will improve both compliance with the regulation and 

enforcement. It will also allow for a format conducive to the 

greater protection of residents of the Commonwealth's 

licensed assisted living facilities, the number of which (both 

residents and facilities) are expected to significantly increase 

in upcoming years. 

Substance: New substantive provisions in the regulation 

include:  

22VAC40-73-100 provides for the development and 

implementation of an enhanced infection control program that 

addresses the surveillance, prevention, and control of disease 

and infection. 

22VAC40-73-160 adds to administrator training requirements 

that administrators who supervise medication aides, but are 

not registered medication aides themselves, must have annual 

training in medication administration. 

22VAC40-73-210 increases the annual training hours for 

direct care staff. 

22VAC40-73-220 adds requirements regarding private duty 

personnel. 

22VAC40-73-260 increases the number of staff needed with 

certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation to one for every 

50 residents. 

22VAC40-73-280 changes an exception to the staffing 

requirement that allows staff to sleep at night under certain 

circumstances to limit its application to facilities licensed for 

residential living care only. 

22VAC40-73-310 adds to admission and retention 

requirements additional specifications regarding an agreement 

between a facility and hospice program when hospice care is 

provided to a resident. 

22VAC40-73-325 adds a requirement for a fall risk 

assessment for residents who meet the criteria for assisted 

living care. 

22VAC40-73-490 reduces the number of times annually 

required for health care oversight when a facility employs a 

full-time licensed health care professional and adds a 

requirement that all residents be included annually in the 

health care oversight. 

22VAC40-73-540 specifies that visiting hours may not be 

restricted unless a resident so chooses. 

22VAC40-73-620 reduces the number of times annually for 

oversight of special diets. 

22VAC40-73-750 adds a provision that a resident may 

determine not to have certain furnishings that are otherwise 

required in his bedroom. 

22VAC40-73-880 adds to the standard that in a bedroom with 

a thermostat where only one resident resides, the resident may 

choose a temperature other than what is otherwise required. 

22VAC40-73-930 adds to the provision for signaling and call 

systems that for a resident with an inability to use the 

signaling device, this inability must be included on his 

individualized service plan with frequency of rounds 

indicated. 

22VAC40-73-980 adds antibiotic cream or ointment and 

aspirin to first aid kit requirements and eliminates activated 

charcoal; adds a requirement for flashlight or battery lantern 

for each employee directly responsible for resident care, not 

only for those at night; and adds a requirement that 48 hours 

of emergency food and water supply be on site. 

22VAC40-73-1010 removes the exception for facilities 

licensed for 10 or fewer with no more than three with serious 

cognitive impairment that currently applies to all 

requirements for mixed population and makes it applicable 

only to the staffing requirement. 

22VAC40-73-1030 increases the training required in 

cognitive impairment for direct care staff and other staff, 

except for the administrator. 

22VAC40-73-1120 increases the number of hours per week 

of activities for residents in a safe, secure environment. 

22VAC40-73-1130 specifies that there must be at least two 

direct care staff members on each floor in each special care 

unit, rather than in each special care unit. 

22VAC40-73-1140 increases the number of hours of training 

in cognitive impairment for the administrator and changes the 

time period in which the training must be received for both 

the administrator and for direct care staff who work in a 

special care unit, and also increases training in cognitive 

impairment for others who have contact with residents in a 

special care unit. 

Issues: The primary advantage of the proposed regulatory 

action to the public and the Commonwealth is the increased 

protection it provides to residents in assisted living facilities. 

The action is needed to protect the health, safety, and welfare 

of an increasingly vulnerable population of aged, infirm, or 

disabled adults. The regulation addresses the care, services, 

and environment provided by assisted living facilities. 

The new regulation also provides clear criteria for licensees to 

follow to maintain their licensure and for licensing staff to 

use in determining compliance with standards and in the 

implementation of any necessary enforcement action. In the 

proposed regulatory action, a fair and reasonable balance has 

been attempted to ensure adequate protection of residents 

while considering the cost to facilities. Although some 

requirements have been increased, others have been 

eliminated or reduced. 

Several areas of the proposed regulations have been of 

particular interest to assisted living facility providers, 

provider associations, advocacy groups, licensing staff, and 

the general public. These areas have been addressed and 

include (i) revising requirements for health care oversight to 

allow more flexibility, (ii) adding to provisions for signaling 
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and call systems to better meet the needs of residents who are 

unable to use a signaling device, (iii) prohibiting restrictions 

on visiting hours but allowing for facility guidelines for such 

purposes as security, (iv) providing for more staff training to 

better meet the needs of residents, (v) reducing the frequency 

of oversight of special diets, (vi) providing greater flexibility 

when residents store cleaning supplies or other hazardous 

materials in their rooms, (vii) providing more specific 

requirements regarding fall risk assessment to prevent or 

reduce falls by residents, and (viii) eliminating some 

requirements relating to personnel practices that are internal 

business practices of a facility. 

The regulation takes into consideration differences in the 

levels of care, that is, residential living care and assisted 

living care, as well as the cost constraints of smaller facilities. 

The regulation addresses the needs of the mental health 

population, physically disabled residents, and elderly persons. 

Because the assisted living facility industry is so diverse in 

respect to size, population in care, types of services offered, 

form of sponsorship, etc., the standards must be broad enough 

to allow for these differences, while at the same time be 

specific enough so that providers know what is expected of 

them. The new regulation was revised based on multiple 

regulatory advisory panel input, recommendations and 

feedback, public comment, and Assisted Living Facility 

Advisory Committee recommendations.  

The regulatory action poses no disadvantages to the public or 

the Commonwealth. 

Governor's Request for Public Comment: I have reviewed the 

proposed regulation on a preliminary basis. While I reserve 

the right to take action under the Administrative Process Act 

as the regulation moves forward, I approve the publication of 

this proposed regulation to the next stage for the purpose of 

soliciting public comment. Specifically, I would like public 

comment on and agency consideration of two possible 

changes. 

First, whether assisted living facilities should be required to 

have Internet capability for the use of residents. Currently, 

assisted living facilities are required to provide residents 

access to a telephone, but these regulations have not been 

changed for many years. The Internet has become such an 

integral part of everyday life that it may be time to update 

these regulations to require assisted living facilities in 

Virginia to have Internet capability. The benefits to resident 

quality of life could be substantial; however, more 

information about both the costs and the benefits is needed. I 

would like the agency to consider the costs and benefits of 

requiring Internet capability at assisted living facilities, and I 

would like public comment on the same. Specific information 

about cost issues should be included in any public comment 

that argues the costs of requiring Internet capability are 

prohibitive.  

Second, the proposed regulation amends rules regarding 

direct care staff based on the number per floor, rather than per 

unit. I would like public comment on and agency 

consideration of any alternative ways to implement a 

common sense requirement based either on the number of 

residents or some more flexible measure since assisted living 

facilities vary in their physical design and space. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Social Services (Board) proposes to repeal its 

current regulations that govern standards for licensed assisted 

living facilities and replace them with revised regulations that 

contain numerous changes. In addition to clarifying and 

organizational changes, the Board is proposing various 

substantive changes as well. The most significant of the 

changes proposed for these regulations include:  

1. The development and implementation of an enhanced 

infection control program that addresses the surveillance, 

prevention, and control of disease and infection. 

Proposed requirements for the enhanced program include 

that the program be written down, that a licensed health 

care professional be involved in its development and that 

a staff person be appointed as a point of contact. 

2. Requiring administrators who are not registered 

medication aides but who supervise medication aides to 

have annual refresher training in medication 

administration.  

3. Increasing the annual training that direct care staff who 

work for assisted living facilities are required to complete 

from 16 hours to 18 hours. Annual training for direct care 

staff at residential care facilities is proposed to increase 

from 8 to 14 hours. 

4. Increasing the cognitive impairment training required 

for direct care staff (except for administrators) who work 

in mixed population facilities from four to six hours to be 

completed within four months of employment. Non-

direct care staff training (again, excepting administrators) 

must be completed within one month of employment and 

was increased from one to two hours. 

5. Increasing the number of hours of training in cognitive 

impairment for administrators of facilities with special 

care units from 10 hours within a year of hiring to 12 

hours within 3 months. The time period in which 

cognitive impairment training must be completed by 

direct care staff who work in a special care unit is 

proposed to shorten from within a year of hiring to within 

four months. Other staff cognitive impairment training is 

proposed to increase from one to two hours within a 

month of hiring. 

6. Increasing the hours of training that managers of 

smaller facilities that share an administrator must 

complete from 16 hours to 20 hours annually. As part of 

the required annual training, managers of facilities that 

have residents with mental impairment will have to 
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complete six hours of training (rather than the four hours 

required now) specifically geared toward meeting the 

needs of the mentally impaired. The Board also proposes 

to newly require two hours of annual training on 

infection control as part of the 20 hours of proposed 

required annual training. 

7. Requiring direct care staff who work with residential 

care level residents to meet the same staff qualifications 

as individuals who work with assisted living level 

residents. Residential direct care staff will newly be 

required to complete some sort of approved nurse aide or 

personal care aide training. The proposed regulations will 

give these individuals one year from the effective date of 

these regulations to get the additional training that would 

be newly required.  

8. Adding requirements regarding private duty personnel 

that would incorporate into the regulation some of the 

standards that are currently in the Department of Social 

Services' (DSS) technical assistance document. 

9. Increasing the number of staff needed with 

certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation from one 

for every 100 to one for every 50 residents.  

10. Changing a staffing requirement exception that 

allows staff to sleep at night in facilities that house 19 or 

fewer residents to limit its application to residential 

living facilities only. 

11. Listing additional specifications regarding 

agreements between facilities and hospice programs 

when hospice care is provided to a resident.  

12. Requiring a fall risk assessment to be conducted for 

residents who meet the criteria for assisted living care.  

13. Reducing the number of health care oversight 

reviews when a facility employs a full-time licensed 

health care professional (usually a registered nurse or a 

licensed practical nurse). For assisted living level 

residents, the requirement would decrease from four 

times per year to two times per year. For residential 

living level residents, the requirement would decrease 

from twice per year to once per year. The Board also 

proposes to require that all residents, rather than just a 

sampling, be included in at least one review annually. 

14. Reducing the number of times a review must be 

conducted to oversee special diets from quarterly to 

every six months. 

15. Requiring that staff at facilities with residents who 

are unable to use their room's signaling/call systems 

device have a plan to keep those residents safe. This 

information would be included on the resident's 

individualized service plan (ISP). Residents ISP's must 

also indicate with what frequency rounds will be done. 

16. Eliminating activated charcoal and adding antibiotic 

cream or ointment and aspirin to the list of what first aid 

kits must contain. This section would also add a 

flashlight or battery lantern requirement for each 

employee who is directly responsible for resident care. 

17. Modifying the current requirement to have 96 hours 

of emergency food and water supply available to include 

a requirement that 48 hours of the supply be available on-

site.  

18. Removing the exception for facilities licensed for ten 

or fewer residents with no more than three individuals 

with serious cognitive impairments that applied to all 

requirements for mixed populations so that it only applies 

to the staffing requirement. 

19. Increasing the number of hours per week of activities 

that must be offered to residents in a safe, secure 

environment from 16 hours weekly, with not less than 

one hour each day, to 21 hours weekly, with not less than 

two hours each day.  

20. Specifying that there must be at least two direct care 

staff members on each floor in each special care unit.  

21. Specifying that visiting hours may not be restricted 

unless a resident chooses.  

22. Allowing residents to determine whether they want to 

have certain furnishings that are otherwise required in 

their bedrooms.  

23. Permitting residents to set the thermostats to a 

temperature other than what is otherwise required so long 

as they do not have a roommate.  

24. Allowing residents who do not have serious cognitive 

impairments increased flexibility pertaining to the 

storage of cleaning supplies and personal care items that 

could be considered hazardous. 

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for some 

proposed changes. For other proposed changes, there is 

insufficient information to ascertain whether benefits will 

outweigh costs. Costs likely outweigh benefits for one 

proposed change. 

Estimated Economic Impact.  

Infection Control: 

Current regulations require Licensed Assisted Living 

Facilities (ALFs) to develop and maintain an infection control 

program that addresses the surveillance, prevention and 

control of infections by: 1) training staff and volunteers in 

hand washing and preventing cross contamination between 

residents or tasks, 2) prohibiting staff and volunteers with 

communicable diseases from direct contact with residents or 

their food and 3) training staff how to properly handle, store 

and transport linens, supplies, equipment and medical waste 

so as to not spread infection. Current regulations also require 

that methods used for infection control be described in a 

written document. 

The Board proposes to amend infection control program 

requirements so that ALFs will have to develop and write the 

required infection control programs with input from a 
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licensed health care professional (usually a nurse), will have 

to review their infection control programs at least annually 

and will have to designate a staff person as point of contact to 

monitor compliance with the facilities' infection control 

programs. Board staff reports that some licensed facilities 

already have a licensed health care professional on staff that 

will be able to help create or review infection control 

programs for the facilities in which they work. Where that is 

true, the costs to facilities on account of the proposed changes 

to infection control programs will be limited to the 

opportunity cost of having the health care professional work 

at this task for however many hours it takes rather than 

working at some other task(s). For licensed facilities that do 

not have a health care professional on staff, the costs 

associated with these proposed changes will include the cost 

of hiring a health care professional to help with the infection 

control program. Board staff estimates that a nurse can be 

hired for approximately $30 an hour and that it would take 

approximately eight hours to write an infection control plan. 

Using these numbers, the costs associated with these changes 

will be $240 initially plus the wage costs for other staff that 

would be involved in writing the plan. Since each facility's 

infection control program will have to be reviewed annually, 

and a health care professional will have to be involved each 

time the program is reviewed, facilities may incur 

approximately the same costs (~$240 + the cost for other staff 

members' time) each year after these proposed regulations are 

promulgated. While the Board's goal in proposing these 

changes to infection control programs is presumably to 

decrease the number of diseases spread in licensed facilities, 

the magnitude of any future effects from these changes is 

unknown. Because of this, there is insufficient information to 

tell whether there will be ameliorative effects on disease 

control sufficient to justify the costs of these proposed 

changes to facilities. 

Training Requirements: 

Current regulations of the Department of Social Services 

require assisted living facility administrators who supervise 

medication aides, but who are not licensed or registered to 

administer medication themselves, to complete 68 hours of 

Board of Nursing approved training on administering 

medication. The Board now proposes to also require affected 

administrators to complete yearly refresher training. Board 

staff reports that this training will be approximately four 

hours in length and will cost approximately $50 per year per 

affected administrator plus the implicit cost of administrators' 

time to take the course. The Board also proposes to increase 

the amount of annual general continuing education that direct 

care staff at assisted living level facilities must complete from 

16 hours to 18 hours and to increase the annual general 

continuing education that direct care staff at residential care 

facilities must complete from 8 hours to 14 hours. Board staff 

estimates that this training will cost $20 plus the salary costs 

for each staff person who is required to train. Board staff 

estimates that salary costs will be approximately $8 per hour 

of additional training. 

Required hours of cognitive impairment training are also 

proposed to increase over several categories. Direct care staff 

at facilities with mixed populations will have to complete 6 

hours of annual cognitive impairment training rather than the 

4 hours they must currently complete. Administrators of 

facilities with special care units would have to complete 12 

hours of initial cognitive impairment training within three 

months of hire rather than the currently required 10 hours of 

training within 12 months of hire. Non-direct care staff at 

mixed population facilities and in special care units would see 

their annual cognitive impairment training increase from one 

to two hours. Board staff did not report specifically on how 

much cognitive impairment training will cost but costs will 

likely be roughly the same as those for general training for all 

staff but the administrators (i.e., approximately $20 for the 

training itself plus $8 x the number of additional hours 

required for each affected staff member). Time costs incurred 

on account of these proposed training standards will likely be 

higher for facility administrators since their salaries are likely 

higher. 

Managers at smaller ALFs that share an administrator 

currently have to complete 16 hours of annual training 

relating to management or operations of the type of facilities 

where they are employed with the addendum that managers 

who work at facilities that have mentally impaired residents 

must currently complete 4 hours of mental impairment 

training as part of their 16 hours per year. The Board 

proposes to increase annual training for managers to 20 hours 

and increase the mental impairment training for managers 

who have to complete such training to 6 hours (of the 

required 20). Additionally, the Board proposes to require that 

managers complete 2 hours of annual infection control 

training that can be counted toward their 20 hour total. 

Additional training for managers will have costs attached that 

are more in line with the additional training costs for 

administrators listed above. 

For all of the categories of training listed in the three 

paragraphs above, Board staff reports that training is being 

increased to address concerns that have arisen on account of 

complaints to the Board and on account of issues raised 

during inspections. Since the magnitude of possible benefits 

of additional training cannot be measured (as they have not 

happened yet), there is insufficient information to judge 

whether benefits will outweigh costs for these proposed 

training increases. 

Under current regulations, direct care staff who care for 

assisted living level residents must meet certain qualifications 

within two months of employment. They must either 1) have 

a certification as a nurse aide issued by the Virginia Board of 

Nursing, 2) have successfully completed a Virginia Board of 

Nursing approved nursing assistant, geriatric assistant or 

home health aide education program, 3) have successfully 
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completed a personal care aide training program approved by 

the Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS), 4) 

have successfully completed a DSS approved nursing 

assistant, geriatric assistant or home health aide education 

program or 5) have successfully completed DSS-approved 

40-hour direct care staff training.  

The Board now proposes to slightly change the training 

options available to direct care staff that care for assisted 

living level residents and to also require direct care staff who 

care for residential living level residents to meet one of these 

same criteria within one year of the promulgation of these 

proposed regulations. Under proposed regulations affected 

direct care staff must either 1) have a certification as a nurse 

aide issued by the Virginia Board of Nursing, 2) have 

successfully completed a Virginia Board of Nursing approved 

nurse aide education program, 3) have successfully completed 

a nursing education program preparing for registered nursing 

licensure of practical nursing licensure, 4) be enrolled in a 

nursing education program and have completed at least one 

course that includes 40 hours of direct client care clinical 

experience, 5) have successfully completed a personal care 

aide training program approved by DMAS, 6) have 

successfully completed an education program for geriatric 

assistants or home health care aides or for nurse aides which 

is provided by a hospital, nursing facility or educational 

institution approved by DSS, or 7) have successfully 

completed DSS-approved 40-hour direct care staff training.  

Board staff reports that the lowest cost option for attaining 

one of the required credentials would be to have a qualified 

individual who is already employed by a facility or who 

comes into a facility specifically to teach new direct care staff 

the department-approved 40-hour direct care staff training 

program. The costs associated with this credentialing would 

be the time value of the approximately 40 hours times the 

instructor's hourly wage plus 40 hours times the wage of the 

newly hired direct care employee times the number of 

employees taught at once. So, assuming an hourly wage for 

the health care professional teaching the class is $30 per hour 

and an hourly wage for direct care staff of $8 per hour, the 

cost of this instruction would be would be 40x30 or $1,200 

plus 8x40 or $320 per trainee. Since residential living level 

residents do not require as intense a level of care as assisted 

living level residents, it is likely that direct care staff for 

residential living level residents do not need all of the training 

that direct care staff for assisted living level residents do. 

Therefore, it is likely that the costs of requiring the same level 

of training for all direct care staff will likely outweigh the 

anticipated benefits of doing so. 

Staffing Requirements: 

Current regulations require that there be one staff member 

trained in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) on site for 

every 100 residents in a facility. The Board proposes to 

amend this standard so that the ratio of CPR trained staff to 

residents is 1:50. Board staff estimates that the costs 

associated with changing this standard will include $50 for 

the class in CPR plus $8x4 hours of a staff member's time to 

take the class for each additional trained staff member 

required. Board staff also reports that 52% of facilities house 

fewer than 50 residents and would, therefore, be unaffected 

by this proposed change. Of the remaining facilities, most 

would have to have only one additional CPR trained staff 

member on site during each shift. Since the populations 

served by assisted living facilities and residential care 

facilities are, by and large, older and more prone to illnesses 

such as heart attack and stroke that would likely require CPR 

to be administered, the benefits of this proposed change likely 

outweighs its costs. 

Current requirements that personal care staff hired by 

residents or their families must meet are located in DSS's 

technical assistance document. The Board proposes to move 

these requirements to regulation. Under the proposed 

regulations, facilities will have to have a written agreement 

outlining the services to be provided by the private personal 

care personnel and will also have to ensure that these 

individuals have a tuberculosis screening and orientation and 

initial training. Board staff reports that the requirements for 

private duty personnel in these proposed regulations are less 

restrictive than those currently enforced so both facilities and 

families ought to benefit from these proposed changes. 

Current regulations allow staff at licensed facilities that house 

19 or fewer residents to sleep at night so long as all residents 

are also asleep and do not need care. The Board proposes to 

change this allowance so that it only applies to residential 

living level facilities with 19 or fewer residents. This means 

that staff at assisted living level facilities will have to remain 

awake at night. Given that assisted living level residents 

require a greater level of care, and are likely more prone to 

needing sudden intervention at any time including the night, 

the benefits of this change likely outweigh any inconvenience 

that staff may experience from not being able to sleep during 

their work hours. 

Current regulations require that there be two direct care staff 

members awake and on duty in each special care unit in a 

facility. The Board proposes to amend this requirement so 

that there will have to be two direct care staff members on 

each floor of a special care unit. This change will 

significantly increase the number of staff that will be required 

to be on premises in special care units that are housed on 

multiple floors of a facility or will require facilities to 

reconfigure special care units so that they are housed only on 

one floor. These costs must be weighed against any benefit 

that might accrue to residents of special care units because of 

the presence of additional staff. The benefits of this change 

would likely have to be quite large if they are to outweigh its 

costs. 

Other requirements:  

The Board proposes to newly require that residents entering 

assisted living level care undergo a fall risk assessment and 
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that this assessment be conducted by the time each resident's 

ISP is complete. The proposed regulations also require that a 

resident's fall risk assessment be updated annually or when a 

resident has a fall or a change in condition. There will be time 

costs for staff to do fall risk assessments but these costs 

should be minimal and, in any case, are likely outweighed by 

the benefits that will likely accrue to residents when direct 

care staff is more aware of how at risk of falling a resident is. 

Current regulations require that assisted living level facilities 

conduct four health care oversight reviews per year and that 

residential living level facilities conduct two health care 

oversight reviews each year. These are general reviews of 

health outcomes and care at the facility rather than specific 

reviews of any particular residents. Current regulations also 

require facilities to conduct a review of how well special 

dietary needs are being met quarterly. The Board now 

proposes to reduce the number of health care oversight 

reviews when a facility employs a full-time licensed health 

care professional, from four per year to two per year for 

assisted living level care and from two per year to one per 

year for residential living level care, and to also reduce the 

frequency of special dietary oversight reviews from quarterly 

to every six months. These changes are likely to benefit 

facilities by reducing the time needed to comply with 

regulatory requirements each year. There are likely no costs 

attached to these proposed changes because individual 

residents' health care and dietary needs are analyzed 

individually apart from these aggregate reviews. 

Current regulations require assisted living facilities to have 

signaling devises in residents' bedrooms or attached 

bathrooms that can be pulled or otherwise activated and that 

alert direct care staff that a resident needs assistance. Some 

assisted living residents, however, have difficulty reaching or 

pulling signaling devises. As a consequence, the Board 

proposes to require facilities to have a plan to monitor 

residents who cannot use signaling devises and also proposes 

to require that each such resident have written into his/her ISP 

the frequency with which staff will be checking in on them. 

This change may require staff to check in on affected 

residents more often but the costs of both staff time and 

keeping records as to how often residents are checked on are 

likely outweighed by the health benefits that will likely 

accrue to residents whose acute health issues will likely get a 

quick response despite them not being able to alert staff that 

is a distance from them.  

Current regulations exempt mixed population facilities with 

no more than 10 total residents and with no more than three 

residents with serious cognitive impairments from cognitive 

impairment safety requirements that larger facilities must 

adhere to. Currently, facilities that are licensed for more than 

10 residents and that have residents with serious cognitive 

impairments must have some sort of system that monitors 

such residents so that they do not wander, must have at least 

two direct care staff on duty and awake in each building of 

the facility and must have staff provide sight and sound 

supervision for impaired residents while on trips away from 

the facility. The Board proposes to amend these requirements 

so that facilities licensed for 10 or fewer residents, that house 

three or fewer residents with serious cognitive impairments, 

will have to have a security monitoring system of some sort 

but will not have to meet the additional staffing requirements 

that larger facilities have to meet.  

Board staff reports that affected facilities can install door 

alarms (estimated cost $2 to $40 per door plus the cost of 

batteries) or they can install a camera system (estimated cost 

approximately $300). Facilities may also choose to pay for 

bracelets that are monitored by the local sheriff's office and 

that allow residents who wander to be tracked down. The 

initial cost of bracelets varies from locality to locality (free in 

some localities and several hundred dollars in other 

localities); localities may charge a monthly fee of 

approximately $10 per bracelet per month for monitoring and 

tracking, if necessary. Alternately, facilities might choose to 

install door alarms with keypads (estimated cost $4,500 to 

$5,100) or purchase a ResidentGuard system that has several 

safety systems for residents (estimated cost $1,000 to 

$2,000). Whatever the safety system chosen, the attendant 

costs would need to be measured against any benefits in 

additional safety that might accrue to impaired residents. 

There is insufficient information at this time to accurately 

measure costs against benefits.  

Current regulations require facilities with special care units to 

offer 16 hours of planned activities each week with at least 

one hour of activity each day for these units. The Board 

proposes to increase the hours of activity required to 21 hours 

per week with at least two hours of activity being offered 

each day. This change will likely cost facilities some 

additional staff time and perhaps some additional cost in 

activity materials, depending on what kind of activity is being 

offered. Residents may benefit from additional activities that 

will likely increase interaction with other residents and staff 

of the facility and that may slow the degradation of health and 

mental faculties that may occur in inactive seniors.
1
 There is 

insufficient information to measure the magnitude of costs 

versus benefits for this proposed incremental change to 

required planned activity. 

The Board proposes a number of other changes to these 

regulations that will allow residents more autonomy in setting 

their own environment. For instance, the Board proposes to 

allow residents who are in single rooms to set the thermostat 

in their room to some other temperature than what is required 

now. The Board also proposes to specify that visiting hours 

may not be restricted unless a resident chooses, to allow 

residents to remove furniture from their rooms and to allow 

residents to keep cleaning supplies and personal care 

chemicals out of sight in their rooms so long as they do not 

have a serious cognitive impairment. Costs associated with 

these changes will likely be minimal and might include staff 

time to move furniture and monitor guests and/or some 

additional heating and cooling cost for residents that change 
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their thermostat settings. These costs are likely outweighed 

by the benefits to residents of having a friendlier more 

personalized environment that might be individually safer.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. Board staff reports there are 

currently 552 licensed assisted living facilities; of these, 

approximately 12%, or approximately 66 facilities, house 

only residential living care residents. The remaining facilities 

house both residential living care residents and assisted living 

care residents or house only assisted living care residents. 

Board staff also reports that most of these facilities would 

qualify as small businesses in the Commonwealth.  

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. Proposed increases in 

training requirements for staff of ALFs, particularly training 

that is currently not required of residential care level staff but 

will be required under these proposed regulations, will 

increase the costs of being eligible to work in residential care 

and assisted living care facilities. As a consequence of these 

increased costs, fewer individuals are likely to seek 

employment in these facilities; especially if they can earn a 

comparable wage in another field that does not require 

training at all or requires less training than this. Facilities may 

also hire fewer staff and/or take in fewer residents if their 

costs increase because they have to cover increased training 

costs directly. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use or 

value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Affected small 

businesses will likely incur costs for hiring health care 

professionals to perform certain newly required tasks and for 

additional staff training. Smaller facilities with 19 or fewer 

residents and with 10 or fewer residents will incur costs to 

meet regulatory requirements that they are currently 

exempted from. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. The Board may wish to revisit the issue of 

proposed qualifications for staff that work solely with 

residential care level residents. Since these residents do not 

require the same level of care as assisted living level 

residents, the Board may be able to lessen the adverse impact 

of these regulations on affected small businesses by not 

requiring the same staff qualifications for working with 

residents that require less intervention and care as they do for 

working with residents that require more.  

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, a determination 

of the public benefit, the projected number of businesses or 

other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the 

identity of any localities and types of businesses or other 

entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons 

and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs 

to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with 

the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private 

property. Further, if the proposed regulation has an adverse 

effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such 

economic impact analyses include (i) an identification and 

estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the 

regulation; (ii) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and 

other administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the regulation, including the type of professional 

skills necessary for preparing required reports and other 

documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the 

regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a description 

of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of 

achieving the purpose of the regulation. The analysis 

presented above represents DPB's best estimate of these 

economic impacts. 

_____________________________________________ 
1 http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca/cphorsphc-respcacsp/2010/fr-rc/cphorsphc-

respcacsp-06-eng.php 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Social Services reviewed the economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget 

and has no comment. 

Summary: 

This proposed regulatory action repeals the existing 

regulation, 22VAC40-72, and establishes a comprehensive 

new regulation, 22VAC40-73, for licensed assisted living 

facilities. The comprehensive new regulation is intended to 

(i) improve clarity, (ii) incorporate improvements in the 

language and reflect current federal and state law, (iii) 

relieve intrusive and burdensome requirements that are not 

necessary, (iv) provide greater protection for residents in 

care, and (v) reflect current standards of care.  

Major components of the new regulation include 

requirements regarding (i) general provisions; (ii) 

administration and administrative services and personnel; 

(iii) staffing and supervision; (iv) admission, retention, and 

discharge of residents; (v) resident care and related 

services; (vi) resident accommodations and related 

provisions; (vii) buildings and grounds; (viii) emergency 

preparedness; and (ix) additional requirements for 

facilities that care for adults with serious cognitive 

impairments who cannot recognize danger or protect their 

own safety and welfare.  

http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca/cphorsphc-respcacsp/2010/fr-rc/cphorsphc-respcacsp-06-eng.php
http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca/cphorsphc-respcacsp/2010/fr-rc/cphorsphc-respcacsp-06-eng.php
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CHAPTER 73 

STANDARDS FOR LICENSED ASSISTED LIVING 

FACILITIES 

Part I 

General Provisions 

22VAC40-73-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Activities of daily living" or "ADLs" means bathing, 

dressing, toileting, transferring, bowel control, bladder 

control, and eating or feeding. A person's degree of 

independence in performing these activities is a part of 

determining appropriate level of care and services. 

"Administer medication" means to open a container of 

medicine or to remove the ordered dosage and to give it to the 

resident for whom it is ordered. 

"Administrator" means the licensee or a person designated 

by the licensee who is responsible for the general 

administration and management of an assisted living facility 

and who oversees the day-to-day operation of the facility, 

including compliance with all regulations for licensed 

assisted living facilities. 

"Admission" means the date a person actually becomes a 

resident of the assisted living facility and is physically present 

at the facility. 

"Advance directive" means, as defined in § 54.1-2982 of the 

Code of Virginia, (i) a witnessed written document, 

voluntarily executed by the declarant in accordance with the 

requirements of § 54.1-2983 of the Code of Virginia or (ii) a 

witnessed oral statement, made by the declarant subsequent to 

the time he is diagnosed as suffering from a terminal 

condition and in accordance with the provisions of § 54.1-

2983 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Ambulatory" means the condition of a resident who is 

physically and mentally capable of self-preservation by 

evacuating in response to an emergency to a refuge area as 

defined by 13VAC5-63, the Virginia Uniform Statewide 

Building Code, without the assistance of another person, or 

from the structure itself without the assistance of another 

person if there is no such refuge area within the structure, 

even if such resident may require the assistance of a 

wheelchair, walker, cane, prosthetic device, or a single verbal 

command to evacuate. 

"Assisted living care" means a level of service provided by 

an assisted living facility for adults who may have physical or 

mental impairments and require at least moderate assistance 

with the activities of daily living.  

"Assisted living facility" means, as defined in § 63.2-100 of 

the Code of Virginia, any congregate residential setting that 

provides or coordinates personal and health care services, 24-

hour supervision, and assistance (scheduled and unscheduled) 

for the maintenance or care of four or more adults who are 

aged, infirm, or disabled and who are cared for in a primarily 

residential setting, except (i) a facility or portion of a facility 

licensed by the State Board of Health or the Department of 

Behavioral Health and Developmental Services, but including 

any portion of such facility not so licensed; (ii) the home or 

residence of an individual who cares for or maintains only 

persons related to him by blood or marriage; (iii) a facility or 

portion of a facility serving infirm or disabled persons 

between the ages of 18 and 21 years, or 22 years if enrolled in 

an educational program for the handicapped pursuant to 

§ 22.1-214 of the Code of Virginia, when such facility is 

licensed by the department as a children's residential facility 

under Chapter 17 (§ 63.2-1700 et seq.) of Title 63.2 of the 

Code of Virginia, but including any portion of the facility not 

so licensed; and (iv) any housing project for persons 62 years 

of age or older or the disabled that provides no more than 

basic coordination of care services and is funded by the U.S. 

Department of Housing and Urban Development, by the U.S. 

Department of Agriculture, or by the Virginia Housing 

Development Authority. Included in this definition are any 

two or more places, establishments, or institutions owned or 

operated by a single entity and providing maintenance or care 

to a combined total of four or more aged, infirm, or disabled 

adults. Maintenance or care means the protection, general 

supervision, and oversight of the physical and mental well-

being of an aged, infirm, or disabled individual.  

"Attorney-in-fact" means strictly, one who is designated to 

transact business for another: a legal agent. 

"Behavioral health authority" means the organization, 

appointed by and accountable to the governing body of the 

city or county that established it, that provides mental health, 

developmental, and substance abuse services through its own 

staff or through contracts with other organizations and 

providers. 

"Building" means a structure with exterior walls under one 

roof. 

"Cardiopulmonary resuscitation" or "CPR" means an 

emergency procedure consisting of external cardiac massage 

and artificial respiration; the first treatment for a person who 

has collapsed, has no pulse, and has stopped breathing; and 

attempts to restore circulation of the blood and prevent death 

or brain damage due to lack of oxygen. 

"Case management" means multiple functions designed to 

link clients to appropriate services. Case management may 

include a variety of common components such as initial 

screening of needs, comprehensive assessment of needs, 

development and implementation of a plan of care, service 

monitoring, and client follow-up. 

"Case manager" means an employee of a public human 

services agency who is qualified and designated to develop 

and coordinate plans of care. 

"Chapter" or "this chapter" means these regulations, that is, 

Standards for Licensed Assisted Living Facilities, 22VAC40-

73, unless noted otherwise. 
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"Chemical restraint" means a psychopharmacologic drug 

that is used for discipline or convenience and not required to 

treat the resident's medical symptoms or symptoms from 

mental illness or intellectual disability and that prohibits an 

individual from reaching his highest level of functioning. 

"Commissioner" means the commissioner of the department, 

his designee, or authorized representative. 

"Community services board" or "CSB" means a public body 

established pursuant to § 37.2-501 of the Code of Virginia 

that provides mental health, developmental, and substance 

abuse programs and services within the political subdivision 

or political subdivisions participating on the board. 

"Companion services" means assistance provided to 

residents in such areas as transportation, meal preparation, 

shopping, light housekeeping, companionship, and household 

management.  

"Conservator" means a person appointed by the court who is 

responsible for managing the estate and financial affairs of an 

incapacitated person and, where the context plainly indicates, 

includes a "limited conservator" or a "temporary 

conservator." The term includes (i) a local or regional 

program designated by the Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services as a public conservator pursuant to 

Article 6 (§ 51.5-149 et seq.) of Chapter 14 of Title 51.5 of 

the Code of Virginia or (ii) any local or regional tax-exempt 

charitable organization established pursuant to § 501(c)(3) of 

the Internal Revenue Code to provide conservatorial services 

to incapacitated persons. Such tax-exempt charitable 

organization shall not be a provider of direct services to the 

incapacitated person. If a tax-exempt charitable organization 

has been designated by the Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services as a public conservator, it may also 

serve as a conservator for other individuals. 

"Continuous licensed nursing care" means around-the-clock 

observation, assessment, monitoring, supervision, or 

provision of medical treatments provided by a licensed nurse. 

Residents requiring continuous licensed nursing care may 

include: 

1. Individuals who have a medical instability due to 

complexities created by multiple, interrelated medical 

conditions; or 

2. Individuals with a health care condition with a high 

potential for medical instability. 

"Days" means calendar days unless noted otherwise. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Social 

Services. 

"Department's representative" means an employee or 

designee of the Virginia Department of Social Services, 

acting as an authorized agent of the Commissioner of Social 

Services. 

"Dietary supplement" means a product intended for 

ingestion that supplements the diet, is labeled as a dietary 

supplement, is not represented as a sole item of a meal or diet, 

and contains a dietary ingredient, (i.e., vitamins, minerals, 

amino acid, herbs or other botanicals, dietary substances 

(such as enzymes), and concentrates, metabolites, 

constituents, extracts, or combinations of the preceding types 

of ingredients). Dietary supplements may be found in many 

forms, such as tablets, capsules, liquids, or bars. 

"Direct care staff" means supervisors, assistants, aides, or 

other staff of a facility who assist residents in the 

performance of personal care or daily living 

activities.  Examples are likely to include nursing staff, 

activity staff, geriatric or personal care assistants, medication 

aides, and mental health workers but are not likely to include 

waiters, chauffeurs, cooks, and dedicated housekeeping, 

maintenance, and laundry personnel. 

"Discharge" means the movement of a resident out of the 

assisted living facility. 

"Electronic" means relating to technology having electrical, 

digital, magnetic, wireless, optical, electromagnetic, or 

similar capabilities. 

"Electronic record" means a record created, generated, sent, 

communicated, received, or stored by electronic means. 

"Electronic signature" means an electronic sound, symbol, 

or process attached to or logically associated with a record 

and executed or adopted by a person with the intent to sign 

the record. 

"Emergency placement" means the temporary status of an 

individual in an assisted living facility when the person's 

health and safety would be jeopardized by denying entry into 

the facility until the requirements for admission have been 

met. 

"Emergency restraint" means a situation that may require the 

use of a restraint where the resident's behavior is 

unmanageable to the degree an immediate and serious danger 

is presented to the health and safety of the resident or others. 

"General supervision and oversight" means assuming 

responsibility for the well-being of residents, either directly or 

through contracted agents. 

"Guardian" means a person appointed by the court who is 

responsible for the personal affairs of an incapacitated person, 

including responsibility for making decisions regarding the 

person's support, care, health, safety, habilitation, education, 

therapeutic treatment, and, if not inconsistent with an order of 

involuntary admission, residence. Where the context plainly 

indicates, the term includes a "limited guardian" or a 

"temporary guardian." The term includes (i) a local or 

regional program designated by the Department for Aging 

and Rehabilitative Services as a public guardian pursuant to 

Article 6 (§ 51.5-149 et seq.) of Chapter 14 of Title 51.5 of 

the Code of Virginia or (ii) any local or regional tax-exempt 

charitable organization established pursuant to § 501(c)(3) of 

the Internal Revenue Code to provide guardian services to 

incapacitated persons. Such tax-exempt charitable 

organization shall not be a provider of direct services to the 

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+51.5-149
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incapacitated person. If a tax-exempt charitable organization 

has been designated by the Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services as a public guardian, it may also serve 

as a guardian for other individuals.  

"Habilitative service" means activities to advance a normal 

sequence of motor skills, movement, and self-care abilities or 

to prevent avoidable additional deformity or dysfunction. 

"Health care provider" means a person, corporation, facility, 

or institution licensed by this Commonwealth to provide 

health care or professional services, including but not limited 

to a physician or hospital, dentist, pharmacist, registered or 

licensed practical nurse, optometrist, podiatrist, chiropractor, 

physical therapist, physical therapy assistant, clinical 

psychologist, or health maintenance organization. 

"Household member" means any person domiciled in an 

assisted living facility other than residents or staff. 

"Imminent physical threat or danger" means clear and 

present risk of sustaining or inflicting serious or life 

threatening injuries. 

"Independent clinical psychologist" means a clinical 

psychologist who is chosen by the resident of the assisted 

living facility and who has no financial interest in the assisted 

living facility, directly or indirectly, as an owner, officer, or 

employee or as an independent contractor with the facility. 

"Independent living status" means that the resident is 

assessed as capable of performing all activities of daily living 

and instrumental activities of daily living for himself without 

requiring the assistance of another person and is assessed as 

capable of taking medications without the assistance of 

another person. If the policy of a facility dictates that 

medications are administered or distributed centrally without 

regard for the residents' capacity, this policy shall not be 

considered in determining independent status. 

"Independent physician" means a physician who is chosen 

by the resident of the assisted living facility and who has no 

financial interest in the assisted living facility, directly or 

indirectly, as an owner, officer, or employee or as an 

independent contractor with the facility.  

"Individualized service plan" or "ISP" means the written 

description of actions to be taken by the licensee, including 

coordination with other services providers, to meet the 

assessed needs of the resident. 

"Instrumental activities of daily living" or "IADLs" means 

meal preparation, housekeeping, laundry, and managing 

money. A person's degree of independence in performing 

these activities is a part of determining appropriate level of 

care and services. 

"Intellectual disability" means disability, originating before 

the age of 18 years, characterized concurrently by (i) 

significantly subaverage intellectual functioning as 

demonstrated by performance on a standardized measure of 

intellectual functioning, administered in conformity with 

accepted professional practice, that is at least two standard 

deviations below the mean and (ii) significant limitations in 

adaptive behavior as expressed in conceptual, social, and 

practical adaptive skills. 

"Intermittent intravenous therapy" means therapy provided 

by a licensed health care professional at medically predictable 

intervals for a limited period of time on a daily or periodic 

basis. 

"Legal representative" means a person legally responsible 

for representing or standing in the place of the resident for the 

conduct of his affairs. This may include a guardian, 

conservator, attorney-in-fact under durable power of attorney 

("durable power of attorney" defines the type of legal 

instrument used to name the attorney-in-fact and does not 

change the meaning of attorney-in-fact), trustee, or other 

person expressly named by a court of competent jurisdiction 

or the resident as his agent in a legal document that specifies 

the scope of the representative's authority to act. A legal 

representative may only represent or stand in the place of a 

resident for the function or functions for which he has legal 

authority to act. A resident is presumed competent and is 

responsible for making all health care, personal care, 

financial, and other personal decisions that affect his life 

unless a representative with legal authority has been 

appointed by a court of competent jurisdiction or has been 

appointed by the resident in a properly executed and signed 

document. A resident may have different legal representatives 

for different functions. For any given standard, the term 

"legal representative" applies solely to the legal representative 

with the authority to act in regard to the function or functions 

relevant to that particular standard.  

"Licensed health care professional" means any health care 

professional currently licensed by the Commonwealth of 

Virginia to practice within the scope of his profession, such 

as a nurse practitioner, registered nurse, licensed practical 

nurse (nurses may be licensed or hold multistate licensure 

pursuant to § 54.1-3000 of the Code of Virginia), clinical 

social worker, dentist, occupational therapist, pharmacist, 

physical therapist, physician, physician assistant, 

psychologist, and speech-language pathologist. 

Responsibilities of physicians referenced in this chapter may 

be implemented by nurse practitioners or physician assistants 

in accordance with their protocols or practice agreements 

with their supervising physicians and in accordance with the 

law. 

"Licensee" means any person, association, partnership, 

corporation, company, or public agency to whom the license 

is issued. 

"Manager" means a designated person who serves as a 

manager pursuant to 22VAC40-73-170 and 22VAC40-73-

180. 

"Mandated reporter" means persons specified in § 63.2-1606 

of the Code of Virginia who are required to report matters 

giving reason to suspect abuse, neglect, or exploitation of an 

adult. 
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"Maximum physical assistance" means that an individual 

has a rating of total dependence in four or more of the seven 

activities of daily living as documented on the uniform 

assessment instrument. An individual who can participate in 

any way with performance of the activity is not considered to 

be totally dependent. 

"Medication aide" means a staff person who has current 

registration with the Virginia Board of Nursing to administer 

drugs that would otherwise be self-administered to residents 

in an assisted living facility in accordance with the 

Regulations Governing the Registration of Medication Aides 

(18VAC90-60). This definition also includes a staff person 

who is an applicant for registration as a medication aide in 

accordance with subdivision 2 of 22VAC40-73-670. 

"Mental illness" means a disorder of thought, mood, 

emotion, perception, or orientation that significantly impairs 

judgment, behavior, capacity to recognize reality, or ability to 

address basic life necessities and requires care and treatment 

for the health, safety, or recovery of the individual or for the 

safety of others. 

"Mental impairment" means a disability that reduces an 

individual's ability to reason logically, make 

appropriate decisions, or engage in purposeful behavior. 

"Minimal assistance" means dependency in only one activity 

of daily living or dependency in one or more of the 

instrumental activities of daily living as documented on the 

uniform assessment instrument. 

"Moderate assistance" means dependency in two or more of 

the activities of daily living as documented on the uniform 

assessment instrument. 

"Nonambulatory" means the condition of a resident who by 

reason of physical or mental impairment is not capable of 

self-preservation without the assistance of another person. 

"Nonemergency restraint" means circumstances that may 

require the use of a restraint for the purpose of providing 

support to a physically weakened resident. 

"Physical impairment" means a condition of a bodily or 

sensory nature that reduces an individual's ability to function 

or to perform activities. 

"Physical restraint" means any manual method or physical 

or mechanical device, material, or equipment attached or 

adjacent to the resident's body that the resident cannot remove 

easily, which restricts freedom of movement or access to his 

body. 

"Physician" means an individual licensed to practice 

medicine or osteopathic medicine in any of the 50 states or 

the District of Columbia. 

"Prescriber" means a practitioner who is authorized pursuant 

to §§ 54.1-3303 and 54.1-3408 of the Code of Virginia to 

issue a prescription. 

"Private duty personnel" means an individual hired, either 

directly or through a licensed home care organization, by a 

resident, family member, legal representative, or similar 

entity to provide one-on-one services to the resident, such as a 

private duty nurse, home attendant, personal aide, or 

companion. Private duty personnel are not hired by the 

facility, either directly or through a contract.  

"Private pay" means that a resident of an assisted living 

facility is not eligible for benefits under the Auxiliary Grants 

Program. 

"Psychopharmacologic drug" means any drug prescribed or 

administered with the intent of controlling mood, mental 

status, or behavior. Psychopharmacologic drugs include not 

only the obvious drug classes, such as antipsychotic, 

antidepressants, and the antianxiety/hypnotic class, but any 

drug that is prescribed or administered with the intent of 

controlling mood, mental status, or behavior, regardless of the 

manner in which it is marketed by the manufacturers and 

regardless of labeling or other approvals by the U.S. Food and 

Drug Administration. 

"Public pay" means that a resident of an assisted living 

facility is eligible for benefits under the Auxiliary Grants 

Program. 

"Qualified" means having appropriate training and 

experience commensurate with assigned responsibilities, or if 

referring to a professional, possessing an appropriate degree 

or having documented equivalent education, training, or 

experience. There are specific definitions for "qualified 

assessor" and "qualified mental health professional" in this 

section.  

"Qualified assessor" means an individual who is authorized 

to perform an assessment, reassessment, or change in level of 

care for an applicant to or resident of an assisted living 

facility. For public pay individuals, a qualified assessor is an 

employee of a public human services agency trained in the 

completion of the uniform assessment instrument (UAI). For 

private pay individuals, a qualified assessor is an employee of 

the assisted living facility trained in the completion of the 

UAI or an independent private physician or a qualified 

assessor for public pay individuals. 

"Qualified mental health professional" means a behavioral 

health professional who is trained and experienced in 

providing psychiatric or mental health services to individuals 

who have a psychiatric diagnosis, including (i) a physician 

licensed in Virginia; (ii) a psychologist: an individual with a 

master's degree in psychology from a college or university 

accredited by an association recognized by the U.S. Secretary 

of Education, with at least one year of clinical experience; 

(iii) a social worker: an individual with at least a master's 

degree in human services or related field (e.g., social work, 

psychology, psychiatric rehabilitation, sociology, counseling, 

vocational rehabilitation, or human services counseling) from 

college or university accredited by an association recognized 

by the U.S. Secretary of Education, with at least one year of 

clinical experience providing direct services to persons with a 

diagnosis of mental illness; (iv) a registered psychiatric 
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rehabilitation provider (RPRP) registered with the 

International Association of Psychosocial Rehabilitation 

Services (IAPSRS); (v) a clinical nurse specialist or 

psychiatric nurse practitioner licensed in the Commonwealth 

of Virginia with at least one year of clinical experience 

working in a mental health treatment facility or agency; (vi) 

any other licensed mental health professional; or (vii) any 

other person deemed by the Department of Behavioral Health 

and Developmental Services as having qualifications 

equivalent to those described in this definition. Any 

unlicensed person who meets the requirements contained in 

this definition shall either be under the supervision of a 

licensed mental health professional or employed by an agency 

or organization licensed by the Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services. 

"Rehabilitative services" means activities that are ordered by 

a physician or other qualified health care professional that are 

provided by a rehabilitative therapist (e.g., physical therapist, 

occupational therapist, or speech-language pathologist). 

These activities may be necessary when a resident has 

demonstrated a change in his capabilities and are provided to 

restore or improve his level of functioning. 

"Resident" means any adult residing in an assisted living 

facility for the purpose of receiving maintenance or care. 

"Residential living care" means a level of service provided 

by an assisted living facility for adults who may have 

physical or mental impairments and require only minimal 

assistance with the activities of daily living. Included in this 

level of service are individuals who are dependent in 

medication administration as documented on the uniform 

assessment instrument, although they may not require 

minimal assistance with the activities of daily living. This 

definition includes the services provided by the facility to 

individuals who are assessed as capable of maintaining 

themselves in an independent living status. 

"Respite care" means services provided in an assisted living 

facility for the maintenance or care of aged, infirm, or 

disabled adults for a temporary period of time or temporary 

periods of time that are regular or intermittent. Facilities 

offering this type of care are subject to this chapter. 

"Restorative care" means activities designed to assist the 

resident in reaching or maintaining his level of potential. 

These activities are not required to be provided by a 

rehabilitative therapist and may include activities such as 

range of motion, assistance with ambulation, positioning, 

assistance and instruction in the activities of daily living, 

psychosocial skills training, and reorientation and reality 

orientation. 

"Restraint" means either "physical restraint" or "chemical 

restraint" as these terms are defined in this section. 

"Safe, secure environment" means a self-contained special 

care unit for individuals with serious cognitive impairments 

due to a primary psychiatric diagnosis of dementia who 

cannot recognize danger or protect their own safety and 

welfare. There may be one or more self-contained special 

care units in a facility or the whole facility may be a special 

care unit. Nothing in this definition limits or contravenes the 

privacy protections set forth in § 63.2-1808 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"Sanitizing" means treating in such a way to remove bacteria 

and viruses through using a disinfectant solution (e.g., bleach 

solution or commercial chemical disinfectant) or physical 

agent (e.g., heat). 

"Serious cognitive impairment" means severe deficit in 

mental capability of a chronic, enduring, or long-term nature 

that affects areas such as thought processes, problem-solving, 

judgment, memory, and comprehension and that interferes 

with such things as reality orientation, ability to care for self, 

ability to recognize danger to self or others, and impulse 

control. Such cognitive impairment is not due to acute or 

episodic conditions, nor conditions arising from treatable 

metabolic or chemical imbalances or caused by reactions to 

medication or toxic substances. For the purposes of this 

chapter, serious cognitive impairment means that an 

individual cannot recognize danger or protect his own safety 

and welfare. Serious cognitive impairment involves an 

assessment by a clinical psychologist licensed to practice in 

the Commonwealth or by a physician as specified in 

22VAC40-73-1090. 

"Significant change" means a change in a resident's 

condition that is expected to last longer than 30 days. It does 

not include short-term changes that resolve with or without 

intervention, a short-term acute illness or episodic event, or a 

well-established, predictive, cyclic pattern of clinical signs 

and symptoms associated with a previously diagnosed 

condition where an appropriate course of treatment is in 

progress. 

"Skilled nursing treatment" means a service ordered by a 

physician or other prescriber that is provided by and within 

the scope of practice of a licensed nurse. 

"Skills training" means systematic skill building through 

curriculum-based psychoeducational and cognitive-behavioral 

interventions. These interventions break down complex 

objectives for role performance into simpler components, 

including basic cognitive skills such as attention, to facilitate 

learning and competency. 

"Staff" or "staff person" means personnel working at a 

facility who are compensated or have a financial interest in 

the facility, regardless of role, service, age, function, or 

duration of employment at the facility. "Staff" or "staff 

person" also includes those individuals hired through a 

contract to provide services for the facility. 

"Substance abuse" means the use, without compelling 

medical reason, of alcohol or other legal or illegal drugs that 

results in psychological or physiological dependency or 

danger to self or others as a function of continued use in such 

a manner as to induce mental, emotional, or physical 
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impairment and cause socially dysfunctional or socially 

disordering behavior. 

"Systems review" means a physical examination of the body 

to determine if the person is experiencing problems or 

distress, including cardiovascular system, respiratory system, 

gastrointestinal system, urinary system, endocrine system, 

musculoskeletal system, nervous system, sensory system, and 

the skin. 

"Transfer" means movement of a resident to a different 

assigned living area within the same licensed facility. 

"Trustee" means one who stands in a fiduciary or 

confidential relation to another; especially, one who, having 

legal title to property, holds it in trust for the benefit of 

another and owes a fiduciary duty to that beneficiary. 

"Uniform assessment instrument" or "UAI" means the 

department designated assessment form. There is an alternate 

version of the form that may be used for private pay residents. 

Social and financial information that is not relevant because 

of the resident's payment status is not included on the private 

pay version of the form. 

"Volunteer" means a person who works at an assisted living 

facility who is not compensated. This does not include 

persons who, either as an individual or as part of an 

organization, present at or facilitate group activities. 

22VAC40-73-20. Requirements of law and applicability. 

A. Chapters 17 (§ 63.2-1700 et seq.) and 18 (§ 63.2-1800 et 

seq.) of Title 63.2 of the Code of Virginia include 

requirements of law relating to licensure, including licensure 

of assisted living facilities. 

B. This chapter applies to assisted living facilities as defined 

in § 63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia and in 22VAC40-73-

10. 

1. Each assisted living facility shall comply with Parts I 

(22VAC40-73-10 et seq.) through IX (22VAC40-73-950 et 

seq.) of this chapter. 

2. An assisted living facility that cares for adults with 

serious cognitive impairments shall also comply with Part 

X (22VAC40-73-1000 et seq.) of this chapter. 

22VAC40-73-30. Program of care. 

There shall be a program of care that: 

1. Meets the resident population's physical, mental, 

emotional, and psychosocial needs; 

2. Provides protection, guidance, and supervision; 

3. Promotes a sense of security, self-worth, and 

independence; and 

4. Promotes the resident's involvement with appropriate 

community resources. 

Part II 

Administration and Administrative Services 

22VAC40-73-40. Licensee. 

A. The licensee shall ensure compliance with all regulations 

for licensed assisted living facilities and terms of the license 

issued by the department; with relevant federal, state, and 

local laws; with other relevant regulations; and with the 

facility's own policies and procedures. 

B. The licensee shall: 

1. Give evidence of financial responsibility and solvency. 

2. Be of good character and reputation in accordance with 

§ 63.2-1702 of the Code of Virginia. Character and 

reputation investigation includes, but is not limited to, 

background checks as required by § 63.2-1721 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

3. Meet the requirements specified in the Regulation for 

Background Checks for Assisted Living Facilities and 

Adult Day Care Centers (22VAC40-90). 

4. Act in accordance with General Procedures and 

Information for Licensure (22VAC40-80).  

5. Protect the physical and mental well-being of residents. 

6. Exercise general supervision over the affairs of the 

licensed facility and establish policies and procedures 

concerning its operation in conformance with applicable 

law, this chapter, and the welfare of the residents. 

7. Ensure that he or his relatives, his agents or agents' 

relatives, the facility administrator or administrator's 

relatives, or facility staff shall not act as, seek to become, 

or become the conservator or guardian of any resident 

unless specifically so appointed by a court of competent 

jurisdiction pursuant to Article 1 (§ 64.1-2000 et seq.) of 

Chapter 20 of Title 64.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

8. Ensure that the current license is posted in the facility in 

a place conspicuous to the residents and the public. 

9. Ensure that the facility keeps and maintains at the 

facility records, reports, plans, schedules, and other 

information as required by this chapter for licensed assisted 

living facilities.  

10. Ensure that any document required by this chapter to 

be posted shall be in at least 12-point type or equivalent 

size.  

11. Make certain that when it is time to discard records, 

they are disposed of in a manner that ensures 

confidentiality.  

12. Ensure that at all times the department's representative 

is afforded reasonable opportunity to inspect all of the 

facility's buildings, books, and records and to interview 

agents, employees, residents, and any person under its 

custody, control, direction, or supervision.  

C. Upon initial application for an assisted living facility 

license, any person applying to operate such a facility who 
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has not previously owned or managed or does not currently 

own or manage a licensed assisted living facility shall be 

required to undergo training by the commissioner. Such 

training shall be required of those owners and currently 

employed administrators of an assisted living facility at the 

time of initial application for a license. 

1. The commissioner may also approve training programs 

provided by other entities and allow owners or 

administrators to attend such approved training programs 

in lieu of training by the commissioner. 

2. The commissioner may at his discretion also approve for 

licensure applicants who meet requisite experience criteria 

as established by the board. 

3. The training programs shall focus on the health and 

safety regulations and resident rights as they pertain to 

assisted living facilities and shall be completed by the 

owner or administrator prior to the granting of an initial 

license. 

4. The commissioner may, at his discretion, issue a license 

conditioned upon the completion by the owner or 

administrator of the required training. 

D. The licensee shall notify in writing the regional licensing 

office of intent to sell or voluntarily close the facility no less 

than 60 days prior to the sale date or closure. The following 

shall apply: 

1. No less than 60 days prior to the planned sale date or 

closure, the licensee shall notify the residents, and as 

relevant, legal representatives, case managers, eligibility 

workers, and designated contact persons of the intended 

sale or closure of the facility and the date for such.  

2. If plans are made at such time that 60-day notice is not 

possible, the licensee shall notify the regional licensing 

office, the residents, legal representatives, case managers, 

eligibility workers, and designated contact persons as soon 

as the intent to sell or close the facility is known. 

3. If the facility is to be sold, at the time of notification 

specified in subdivision 1 of this subsection, the licensee 

shall explain to each resident, his legal representative, case 

manager, and at least one designated contact person that 

the resident can choose whether to stay or relocate, unless 

the new licensee specifies relocation. If a resident chooses 

to stay, there must be a new resident agreement between 

the resident and the new licensee that meets the 

specifications of 22VAC40-73-390. 

4. The licensee shall provide updates regarding the closure 

or sale of the facility to the regional licensing office, as 

requested. 

22VAC40-73-50. Disclosure. 

A. The assisted living facility shall prepare and provide a 

statement to the prospective resident and his legal 

representative, if any, that discloses information about the 

facility. The statement shall be on a form developed by the 

department and shall: 

1. Disclose information fully and accurately in plain 

language; 

2. Be provided in advance of admission and prior to 

signing an admission agreement or contract; 

3. Be provided upon request; and 

4. Disclose the following information, which shall be kept 

current: 

a. Name of the facility; 

b. Name of the licensee; 

c. Ownership structure of the facility (e.g., individual, 

partnership, corporation, limited liability company, 

unincorporated association, or public agency); 

d. Description of all accommodations, services, and care 

that the facility offers; 

e. Fees charged for accommodations, services, and care, 

including clear information about what is included in the 

base fee and all fees for additional accommodations, 

services, and care; 

f. Criteria for admission to the facility and restrictions on 

admission; 

g. Criteria for transfer to a different living area within the 

same facility, including transfer to another level or type 

of care within the same facility or complex; 

h. Criteria for discharge; 

i. Categories, frequency, and number of activities 

provided for residents;  

j. General number, position types, and qualifications of 

staff on each shift; 

k. Notation that additional information about the facility 

that is included in the resident agreement is available 

upon request; and 

l. The department's website address, with a note that 

additional information about the facility may be obtained 

from the website, including type of license, capacity, 

special services, and most recent years' compliance 

history. 

B. Written acknowledgment of the receipt of the disclosure 

by the resident or his legal representative shall be retained in 

the resident's record. 

C. The disclosure statement shall also be available to the 

general public, upon request. 

22VAC40-73-60. Electronic records and signatures. 

A. Use of electronic records or signatures shall comply with 

the provisions of the Uniform Electronic Transactions Act, 

§§ 59.1-479 through 59.1-501 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. In addition to the requirements of the Uniform Electronic 

Transactions Act, the use of electronic signatures shall be 

deemed to constitute a signature and have the same effect as a 

written signature on a document as long as the licensee: 
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1. Develops, implements, and maintains specific policies 

and procedures for the use of electronic signatures; 

2. Ensures that each electronic signature identifies the 

individual signing the document by name and title; 

3. Ensures that the document cannot be altered after the 

signature has been affixed; 

4. Ensures that access to the code or key sequence is 

limited; 

5. Ensures that all users have signed statements that they 

alone have access to and use the key or computer password 

for their signature and will not share their key or password 

with others; and 

6. Ensures that strong and substantial evidence exists that 

would make it difficult for the signer or the receiving party 

to claim the electronic representation is not valid. 

C. A back-up and security system shall be utilized for all 

electronic documents. 

22VAC40-73-70. Incident reports. 

A. Each facility shall report to the regional licensing office 

within 24 hours any major incident that has negatively 

affected or that threatens the life, health, safety, or welfare of 

any resident.  

B. The report required in subsection A of this section shall 

include (i) the name of the facility, (ii) the name or names of 

the resident or residents involved in the incident, (iii) the 

name of the person making the report, (iv) the date of the 

incident, (v) a description of the incident, and (vi) the actions 

taken in response to the incident. 

C. The facility shall submit a written report of each incident 

specified in subsection A of this section to the regional 

licensing office within seven days from the date of the 

incident. The report shall be signed and dated by the 

administrator and include the following information: 

1. Name and address of the facility; 

2. Name of the resident or residents involved in the 

incident; 

3. Date and time of the incident; 

4. Description of the incident, the circumstances under 

which it happened, and when applicable, extent of injury or 

damage; 

5. Location of the incident; 

6. Actions taken in response to the incident; 

7. Actions to prevent recurrence of the incident, if 

applicable; 

8. Name of staff person in charge at the time of the 

incident; 

9 . Names, telephone numbers, and addresses of witnesses 

to the incident, if any; and 

10. Name, title, and signature of the person making the 

report, if other than the administrator, and date of the 

completion of the report.  

D. The facility shall submit to the regional licensing office 

amendments to the written report when circumstances 

require, such as when substantial additional actions are taken, 

when significant new information becomes available, or there 

is resolution of the incident after submission of the report. 

E. A copy of the written report of each incident shall be 

maintained by the facility for at least two years. 

F. If applicable, the facility shall ensure that there is 

documentation in the resident's record as required by 

22VAC40-73-470 F.  

22VAC40-73-80. Management and control of resident 

funds. 

Pursuant to § 63.2-1808 A 3 of the Code of Virginia, the 

resident shall be free to manage his personal finances and 

funds regardless of source, unless a committee, conservator, 

or guardian has been appointed for a resident. However the 

resident may request that the facility assist with the 

management of personal funds, and the facility may assist the 

resident in such management under the following conditions: 

1. There shall be documentation of this request and 

delegation, signed and dated by the resident and the 

administrator. The documentation shall be maintained in 

the resident's record. 

2. Residents' funds shall be held separately from any other 

moneys of the facility. Residents' funds shall not be 

borrowed, used as assets of the facility, or used for 

purposes of personal interest by the licensee, operator, 

administrator, or facility staff. 

3. The resident shall be given a choice of whether he 

wishes his funds to be maintained in an individual resident 

account, which may be interest-bearing, or in a single 

account for the accumulated funds of multiple residents, 

which shall not be interest-bearing.  

4. For residents who are not recipients of an auxiliary 

grant, the facility may charge a reasonable amount for 

administration of the account. 

5. The facility shall maintain a written accounting of 

money received and disbursed by the facility that shows a 

current balance. The written accounting of the funds shall 

be made available to the resident at least quarterly and 

upon request, and a copy shall also be placed in the 

resident's record.  

6. The resident's funds shall be made available to the 

resident upon request. 

22VAC40-73-90. Safeguarding residents' funds. 

No facility administrator or staff person shall act as either 

attorney-in-fact or trustee unless the resident has no other 

preferred designee and the resident himself expressly requests 

such service by or through facility personnel. When the 
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facility administrator or staff person acts as attorney-in-fact or 

trustee, the following applies: 

1. There shall be documentation that the resident has 

requested such service and from whom, signed and dated 

by the resident, the facility administrator, and if a staff 

person is to provide the service, the staff person. The 

documentation shall be maintained in the resident's record. 

2. The facility administrator or staff person so named 

attorney-in-fact or trustee shall be accountable at all times 

in the proper discharge of such fiduciary responsibility as 

provided under Virginia law.  

3. The facility shall maintain a written accounting of 

money received and disbursed by the facility administrator 

or staff person that shows a current balance. The written 

accounting of the funds shall be made available to the 

resident at least quarterly and upon request, and a copy 

shall also be placed in the resident's record.  

4. The resident's funds shall be made available to the 

resident upon request. 

5. Upon termination of the power of attorney or trust for 

any reason, the facility administrator or staff person so 

named attorney-in-fact or trustee shall return all funds and 

assets, with full accounting, to the resident or to another 

responsible party expressly designated by the resident. 

22VAC40-73-100. Infection control program. 

A. The assisted living facility shall develop, in writing, and 

implement an infection control program addressing the 

surveillance, prevention, and control of disease and infection 

that is consistent with the federal Centers for Disease Control 

and Prevention (CDC) guidelines and the federal 

Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) 

bloodborne pathogens regulations. 

1. A licensed health care professional, practicing within the 

scope of his profession and with training in infection 

prevention, shall participate in the development of 

infection prevention policies and procedures and shall 

assure compliance with applicable guidelines and 

regulations. 

2. The administrator shall ensure at least an annual review 

of infection prevention policies and procedures for any 

necessary updates. A licensed health care professional, 

practicing within the scope of his profession and with 

training in infection prevention, shall be included in the 

review to assure compliance with applicable guidelines and 

regulations. Documentation of the review shall be 

maintained at the facility.  

3. A staff person who has been trained in basic infection 

prevention shall participate in the annual review and serve 

as point of contact for the program. This person shall be 

responsible for on-going monitoring of the implementation 

of the infection control program.  

B. The infection control program shall be applicable to all 

staff and volunteers and encompass all services as well as the 

entire physical plant and grounds. 

C. The infection control program shall include:  

1. Procedures for the implementation of infection 

prevention measures by staff and volunteers to include: 

a. Use of standard precautions; 

b. Use of personal protective equipment; and 

c. Means to assure hand hygiene. 

2. Procedures for other infection prevention measures 

related to job duties to include, but not be limited to: 

a. Determination of whether prospective or returning 

residents have acute infectious disease and use of 

appropriate measures to prevent disease transmission; 

b. Use of safe injection practices and other procedures 

where the potential for exposure to blood or body fluids 

exists;  

c. Blood glucose monitoring practices that are consistent 

with CDC guidelines. When providing assisted blood 

glucose monitoring, only single-use auto-retractable 

disposable lancets may be used; 

d. The handling, storing, processing, and transporting of 

linens, supplies, and equipment in a manner that prevents 

the spread of infection;  

e. The sanitation of rooms, including cleaning and 

disinfecting procedures, agents, and schedules; 

f. The sanitation of equipment, including medical 

equipment that may be used on more than one resident 

(e.g., blood glucose meters and blood pressure cuffs, 

including cleaning and disinfecting procedures, agents, 

and schedules);  

g. The handling, storing, processing, and transporting of 

medical waste in accordance with applicable regulations; 

and 

h. Maintenance of an effective pest control program. 

3. Readily accessible handwashing equipment and 

necessary personal protective equipment for staff and 

volunteers (e.g., soap, alcohol-based hand rubs, disposable 

towels or hot air dryers, and gloves). 

4. Product specific instructions for use of cleaning and 

disinfecting agents (e.g., dilution, contact time, and 

management of accidental exposures). 

5. Initial training as specified in 22VAC40-73-120 C 4 and 

annual retraining of staff and volunteers in infection 

prevention methods, as applicable to job responsibilities. 

D. The facility shall have a staff health program that 

includes: 

1. Provision of information on recommended vaccinations, 

per guidelines from the CDC Advisory Committee on 

Immunization Practices (ACIP), to facility staff and 

volunteers who have any potential exposure to residents or 
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to infectious materials, including body substances, 

contaminated medical supplies and equipment, 

contaminated environmental surfaces, or contaminated air; 

2. Assurance that employees with communicable diseases 

are identified and prevented from work activities that could 

result in transmission to other personnel or residents; 

3. An exposure control plan for bloodborne pathogens; 

4. Documentation of screening and immunizations offered 

to, received by, or declined by employees in accordance 

with law, regulation, or recommendations of public health 

authorities, including access to hepatitis B vaccine; 

5. Compliance with requirements of the OSHA for 

reporting of workplace associated injuries or exposure to 

infection.  

E. The facility administrator shall immediately make or 

cause to be made a report of an outbreak of disease as defined 

by the State Board of Health. Such report shall be made by 

rapid means to the local health director or to the 

Commissioner of the Virginia Department of Health and to 

the licensing representative of the Department of Social 

Services in the regional licensing office.  

F. When recommendations are made by the Virginia 

Department of Health to prevent or control transmission of an 

infectious agent in the facility, the recommendations must be 

followed. 

Part III 

Personnel 

22VAC40-73-110. Staff general qualifications. 

All staff shall: 

1. Be considerate and respectful of the rights, dignity, and 

sensitivities of persons who are aged, infirm, or disabled;  

2. Be able to speak, read, and write in English as necessary 

to carry out their job responsibilities; and  

3. Meet the requirements specified in the Regulation for 

Background Checks for Assisted Living Facilities and 

Adult Day Care Centers (22VAC40-90). 

22VAC40-73-120. Staff orientation and initial training. 

A. The orientation and training required in subsections B 

and C of this section shall occur within the first seven 

working days of employment. Until this orientation and 

training is completed, the staff person may only assume job 

responsibilities if under the sight supervision of a trained 

direct care staff person or administrator.  

B. All staff shall be oriented to: 

1. The purpose of the facility; 

2. The facility's organizational structure; 

3. The services provided; 

4. The daily routines;  

5. The facility's policies and procedures; 

6. Specific duties and responsibilities of their positions; 

and 

7. Required compliance with regulations for assisted living 

facilities as it relates to their duties and responsibilities. 

C. All staff shall be trained in the relevant laws, regulations, 

and the facility's policies and procedures sufficiently to 

implement: 

1. Emergency and disaster plans for the facility; 

2. Procedures for the handling of resident emergencies; 

3. Use of the first aid kit and knowledge of its location; 

4. Handwashing techniques, standard precautions, infection 

risk-reduction behavior, and other infection control 

measures specified in 22VAC40-73-100; 

5. Confidential treatment of personal information; 

6. Requirements regarding the rights and responsibilities of 

residents; 

7. Requirements and procedures for detecting and reporting 

suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of residents and 

for mandated reporters, the consequences for failing to 

make a required report, as set out in § 63.2-1606 of the 

Code of Virginia; 

8. Procedures for reporting and documenting incidents as 

required in 22VAC40-73-70; 

9. Methods of alleviating common adjustment problems 

that may occur when a resident moves from one residential 

environment to another; and 

10. For direct care staff, the needs, preferences, and 

routines of the residents for whom they will provide care. 

22VAC40-73-130. Reports of abuse, neglect, or 

exploitation. 

All staff who are mandated reporters under § 63.2-1606 of 

the Code of Virginia shall report suspected abuse, neglect, or 

exploitation of residents in accordance with that section.  

22VAC40-73-140. Administrator qualifications. 

A. The administrator shall be at least 21 years of age. 

B. The administrator shall be able to read and write, and 

understand this chapter. 

C. The administrator shall be able to perform the duties and 

carry out the responsibilities required by this chapter. 

D. For a facility licensed only for residential living care that 

does not employ an administrator licensed by the Virginia 

Board of Long-Term Care Administrators, the administrator 

shall: 

1. Be a high school graduate or shall have a General 

Education Development (GED) Certificate; 

2. (i) Have successfully completed at least 30 credit hours 

of postsecondary education from a college or university 

accredited by an association recognized by the U.S. 

Secretary of Education and at least 15 of the 30 credit 

hours shall be in business or human services or a 
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combination thereof; (ii) have successfully completed a 

course of study approved by the department that is specific 

to the administration of an assisted living facility; (iii) have 

a bachelor's degree from a college or university accredited 

by an association recognized by the U.S. Secretary of 

Education; or (iv) be a licensed nurse; and 

3. Have at least one year of administrative or supervisory 

experience in caring for adults in a residential group care 

facility. 

The requirements of this subsection shall not apply to an 

administrator of an assisted living facility employed prior to 

the effective date of these regulations, who met the 

requirements in effect when employed and who has been 

continuously employed as an assisted living facility 

administrator. 

E. For a facility licensed for both residential and assisted 

living care, the administrator shall be licensed by the Virginia 

Board of Long-Term Care Administrators as required by 

§ 63.2-1803 of the Code of Virginia. 

22VAC40-73-150. Administrator provisions and 

responsibilities. 

A. Each facility shall have an administrator of record. 

B. If an administrator dies, resigns, is discharged, or 

becomes unable to perform his duties, the facility shall 

immediately employ a new administrator or appoint a 

qualified acting administrator.  

1. The facility shall notify the department's regional 

licensing office in writing within 14 days of a change in a 

facility's administrator, including but not limited to the 

resignation of an administrator, appointment of an acting 

administrator, and appointment of a new administrator, 

except that the time period for notification may differ as 

specified in subdivision 2 of this subsection. 

2. A facility licensed for both residential and assisted living 

care shall comply with the notice requirements set out in 

§ 63.2-1803 B of the Code of Virginia.  

3. For a facility licensed for both residential and assisted 

living care, when an acting administrator is named, he shall 

meet the qualifications and notice requirements set out in 

§ 63.2-1803 B of the Code of Virginia.  

4. A facility licensed only for residential living care may 

be operated by an acting administrator for no more than 90 

days from the last date of employment of the administrator. 

5. A facility licensed for both residential and assisted living 

care may be operated by an acting administrator in 

accordance with the time frames set out in § 63.2-1803 B 

and C of the Code of Virginia. 

6. A person may not become an acting administrator at any 

assisted living facility if the Virginia Board of Long-Term 

Care Administrators has refused to issue or renew, 

suspended, or revoked his assisted living facility or nursing 

home administrator license.  

7. No assisted living facility shall operate under the 

supervision of an acting administrator pursuant to §§ 54.1-

3103.1 and 63.2-1803 of the Code of Virginia more than 

one time during any two-year period unless authorized to 

do so by the department. 

C. The administrator shall be responsible for the general 

administration and management of the facility and shall 

oversee the day-to-day operation of the facility. This shall 

include but shall not be limited to responsibility for: 

1.Ensuring that care is provided to residents in a manner 

that protects their health, safety, and well-being;  

2. Maintaining compliance with applicable laws and 

regulations; 

3. Developing and implementing all policies, procedures, 

and services as required by this chapter; 

4. Ensuring staff and volunteers comply with residents' 

rights; 

5. Maintaining buildings and grounds; 

6. Recruiting, hiring, training, and supervising staff; and 

7. Ensuring the development, implementation, and 

monitoring of an individualized service plan for each 

resident, except that a plan is not required for a resident 

with independent living status. 

D. The administrator shall report to the Director of the 

Department of Health Professions information required by 

and in accordance with § 54.1-2400.6 of the Code of Virginia 

regarding any person (i) licensed, certified, or registered by a 

health regulatory board or (ii) holding a multistate licensure 

privilege to practice nursing or an applicant for licensure, 

certification, or registration. Information required to be 

reported, under specified circumstances includes but is not 

limited to substance abuse and unethical or fraudulent 

conduct. 

E. For a facility licensed only for residential living care, 

either the administrator or a designated assistant who meets 

the qualifications of the administrator shall be awake and on 

duty on the premises at least 40 hours per week with no fewer 

than 24 of those hours being during the day shift on 

weekdays. 

Exceptions: 

1. 22VAC40-73-170 allows a shared administrator for 

smaller facilities. 

2. If the administrator is licensed as an assisted living 

facility administrator or nursing home administrator by the 

Virginia Board of Long-Term Care Administrators, the 

provisions regarding the administrator in subsection F of 

this section apply. When such is the case, there is no 

requirement for a designated assistant. 

F. For a facility licensed for both residential and assisted 

living care, the administrator shall serve on a full-time basis 

as the on-site agent of the licensee and shall be responsible 
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for the day-to-day administration and management of the 

facility, except as provided in 22VAC40-73-170. 

G. The administrator, acting administrator, or as allowed in 

subsection E of this section, designated assistant 

administrator, shall not be a resident of the facility. 

22VAC40-73-160. Administrator training. 

A. For a facility licensed only for residential living care that 

does not employ a licensed administrator, the administrator 

shall attend at least 20 hours of training related to 

management or operation of a residential facility for adults or 

relevant to the population in care within 12 months from the 

date of employment and annually thereafter from that date. At 

least two of the required 20 hours of training shall focus on 

infection control and prevention, and when adults with mental 

impairments reside in the facility, at least six of the required 

20 hours shall focus on topics related to residents' mental 

impairments. Documentation of attendance shall be retained 

at the facility and shall include type of training, name of the 

entity that provided the training, and date and number of 

hours of training. 

B. All licensed administrators shall meet the continuing 

education requirements for continued licensure. 

C. Any administrator who has not previously undergone the 

training specified in 22VAC40-73-40 C shall be required to 

complete that training within two months of employment as 

administrator of the facility. The training may be counted 

toward the annual training requirement for the first year, 

except that for licensed administrators, whether the training 

counts toward continuing education and for what period of 

time depends upon the administrator licensure requirements. 

Administrators employed prior to December 28, 2006, are not 

required to complete this training. 

D. Administrators who supervise medication aides, but are 

not registered medication aides themselves, shall successfully 

complete a training program approved by the Virginia Board 

of Nursing for the registration of medication aides. The 

training program for such administrators must include a 

minimum of 68 hours of student instruction and training, but 

need not include the prerequisite for the program or the 

written examination for registration. The training shall be 

completed prior to supervising medication aides and may be 

counted toward the annual training requirement in subsection 

A of this section, except that for licensed administrators, 

whether the training counts toward continuing education and 

for what period of time depends upon the administrator 

licensure requirements. The following exceptions apply: 

1. The administrator is licensed by the Commonwealth of 

Virginia to administer medications; or 

2. Medication aides are supervised by an individual 

employed full time at the facility who is licensed by the 

Commonwealth of Virginia to administer medications.  

E. Administrators who have completed the training program 

specified in subsection D of this section and who supervise 

medication aides shall be required to annually have (i) four 

hours of training in medication administration specific to the 

facility population or (ii) a refresher course in medication 

administration offered by a Virginia Board of Nursing 

approved program. Administrators are exempt from this 

annual medication training or refresher course during the first 

year after completion of the training program noted in 

subsection D of this section. This annual medication 

administration training or course may not be counted toward 

the annual training requirement specified in subsection A of 

this section. For licensed administrators, whether the training 

counts toward continuing education and for what period of 

time depends upon the administrator licensure requirements.  

F. If a designated assistant administrator, as allowed in 

22VAC40-73-150 E supervises medication aides, the 

requirements of subsections D and E of this section apply to 

the designated assistant administrator.  

22VAC40-73-170. Shared administrator for smaller 

facilities. 

A. An administrator who is not licensed as an assisted living 

facility administrator or nursing home administrator by the 

Virginia Board of Long-Term Care Administrators is allowed 

to be present at a facility for fewer than the required 

minimum 40 hours per week in order to serve multiple 

facilities, without a designated assistant, under the following 

conditions: 

1. The administrator shall serve no more than four 

facilities. 

2. The combined total licensed capacity of the facilities 

served by the administrator shall be 40 or fewer residents. 

3. The administrator shall be awake and on duty on the 

premises of each facility served for at least 10 hours a 

week. 

4. The administrator shall serve as a full-time administrator 

(i.e., shall be awake and on duty on the premises of all 

facilities served for a combined total of at least 40 hours a 

week). 

5. Each of the facilities served shall be within a 30-minute 

average one-way travel time of the other facilities. 

6. When not present at a facility, the administrator shall be 

on call to that facility during the hours he is working as an 

administrator and shall maintain such accessibility through 

suitable communication devices. 

7. A designated assistant may act in place of the 

administrator during the required minimum of 40 hours 

only if the administrator is ill or on vacation and for a 

period of time that shall not exceed four consecutive 

weeks. The designated assistant shall meet the 

qualifications of the administrator. 

8. Each of the facilities served shall have a manager, 

designated and supervised by the administrator. The 

manager shall be awake and on duty on the premises of the 

facility for the remaining part of the 40 required hours per 
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week when the administrator or designated assistant is not 

present at the facility. The manager shall meet the 

following qualifications and requirements: 

a. The manager shall be at least 21 years of age. 

b. The manager shall be able to read and write, and 

understand this chapter. 

c. The manager shall be able to perform the duties and to 

carry out the responsibilities of his position. 

d. The manager shall:  

(1) Be a high school graduate or have a General 

Education Development (GED) Certificate; 

(2) (i) Have successfully completed at least 30 credit 

hours of postsecondary education from a college or 

university accredited by an association recognized by the 

U.S. Secretary of Education and at least 15 of the 30 

credit hours shall be in business or human services or a 

combination thereof; (ii) have successfully completed a 

course of study of 40 or more hours approved by the 

department that is specific to the management of an 

assisted living facility; (iii) have a bachelor's degree from 

a college or university accredited by an association 

recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education; or (iv) be 

a licensed nurse; and 

(3) Have at least one year of administrative or 

supervisory experience in caring for adults in a 

residential group care facility.  

e. Subdivision 8 d of this subsection does not apply to a 

manager of an assisted living facility employed prior to 

the effective date of this chapter who met the 

requirements in effect when employed and who has been 

continuously employed as an assisted living facility 

manager.  

f. The manager shall not be a resident of the facility. 

g. The manager shall complete the training specified in 

22VAC40-73-40 C within two months of employment as 

manager. The training may be counted toward the annual 

training requirement for the first year. 

Exception: A manager employed prior to December 28, 

2006, who met the requirements in effect when employed 

and who has been continuously employed as a manager.  

h. The manager shall attend at least 20 hours of training 

related to management or operation of a residential 

facility for adults or relevant to the population in care 

within each 12-month period. When adults with mental 

impairments reside in the facility, at least six of the 

required 20 hours of training shall focus on topics related 

to residents' mental impairments and at least two of the 

required 20 hours on infection control and prevention. 

Documentation of attendance shall be retained at the 

facility and shall include title of course, name of the 

entity that provided the training, and date and number of 

hours of training. 

9. There shall be a written management plan for each 

facility that describes how the administrator will oversee 

the care and supervision of the residents and the day-to-day 

operation of the facility. 

10. The minimum of 40 hours per week required for the 

administrator or manager to be awake and on duty on the 

premises of a facility shall include at least 24 hours during 

the day shift on weekdays. 

B. An administrator, who is licensed as an assisted living 

facility administrator or nursing home administrator by the 

Virginia Board of Long-Term Care Administrators, may be 

responsible for the day-to-day administration and 

management of multiple facilities under the following 

conditions: 

1. The administrator shall serve no more than four 

facilities. 

2. The combined total licensed capacity of the facilities 

served by the administrator shall be 40 or fewer residents. 

3. The administrator shall serve on a full-time basis as the 

on-site agent of the licensee or licensees, proportioning his 

time among all the facilities served in order to ensure that 

he provides sufficient administrative and management 

functions to each facility. 

4. Each of the facilities served shall be within a 30-minute 

average one-way travel time of the other facilities. 

5. When not present at a facility, the administrator shall be 

on call to that facility during the hours he is working as an 

administrator and shall maintain such accessibility through 

suitable communication devices. 

6. Each of the facilities served shall have a manager, 

designated and supervised by the administrator, to assist 

the administrator in overseeing the care and supervision of 

the residents and the day-to-day operation of the facility. 

The majority of the time, the administrator and the 

manager shall be present at a facility at different times to 

ensure appropriate oversight of the facility. The manager 

shall meet the qualifications and requirements specified in 

subdivision A 8 of this section.  

Exception: In regard to subdivision A 8 of this section, the 

reference to 40 hours is not relevant to a facility to which 

this subsection applies (i.e., a facility with a licensed 

administrator). 

7. There shall be a written management plan for each 

facility that includes written policies and procedures that 

describe how the administrator shall oversee the care and 

supervision of the residents and the day-to-day operation of 

the facility. 

C. This section shall not apply to an administrator who 

serves both an assisted living facility and a nursing home as 

provided for in 22VAC40-73-180. 
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22VAC40-73-180. Administrator of both assisted living 

facility and nursing home. 

A. Any person meeting the qualifications for a licensed 

nursing home administrator pursuant to § 54.1-3103 of the 

Code of Virginia may serve as the administrator of both an 

assisted living facility and a licensed nursing home, provided 

the assisted living facility and licensed nursing home are part 

of the same building. 

B. Whenever an assisted living facility and a licensed 

nursing home have a single administrator, there shall be a 

written management plan that addresses the care and 

supervision of the assisted living facility residents. The 

management plan shall include, but not be limited to, the 

following: 

1. Written policies and procedures that describe how the 

administrator will oversee the care and supervision of the 

residents and the day-to-day operation of the facility. 

2. If the administrator does not provide the direct 

management of the assisted living facility or only provides 

a portion thereof, the plan shall specify a designated 

individual who shall serve as manager and who shall be 

supervised by the administrator. 

3. The manager referred to in subdivision 2 of this 

subsection shall be on site and meet the qualifications and 

requirements of 22VAC40-73-170 A 8, A 9, and A 10.  

22VAC40-73-190. Designated direct care staff person in 

charge. 

A. When the administrator, the designated assistant, or the 

manager is not awake and on duty on the premises, there shall 

be a designated direct care staff member in charge on the 

premises. However, when no residents are present at the 

facility, the designated staff person in charge does not have to 

be on the premises. 

B. The specific duties and responsibilities of the designated 

direct care staff member in charge shall be determined by the 

administrator. 

C. Prior to being placed in charge, the staff member shall be 

informed of and receive training on his duties and 

responsibilities and provided written documentation of such 

duties and responsibilities. 

D. The staff member shall be awake and on duty on the 

premises while in charge. 

E. The staff member in charge shall be capable of protecting 

the physical and mental well-being of the residents. 

F. The administrator shall ensure that the staff member in 

charge is prepared to carry out his duties and responsibilities 

and respond appropriately in case of an emergency. 

G. The staff member in charge shall not be a resident of the 

facility. 

22VAC40-73-200. Direct care staff qualifications. 

A. Direct care staff shall be at least 18 years of age unless 

certified in Virginia as a nurse aide.  

B. Direct care staff who are responsible for caring for 

residents with special health care needs shall only provide 

services within the scope of their practice and training.  

C. Direct care staff shall meet one of the requirements in this 

subsection. If the staff does not meet the requirement at the 

time of employment, he shall successfully meet one of the 

requirements in this subsection within two months of 

employment. Licensed health care professionals practicing 

within the scope of their profession are not required to 

complete the training in this subsection. 

1. Certification as a nurse aide issued by the Virginia 

Board of Nursing. 

2. Successful completion of a Virginia Board of Nursing-

approved nurse aide education program. 

3. Successful completion of a nursing education program 

preparing for registered nurse licensure or practical nurse 

licensure.  

4. Current enrollment in a nursing education program 

preparing for registered nurse or practical nurse licensure 

and completion of at least one clinical course in the nursing 

program that includes at least 40 hours of direct client care 

clinical experience.  

5. Successful completion of a personal care aide training 

program approved by the Virginia Department of Medical 

Assistance Services. 

6. Successful completion of an educational program for 

geriatric assistant or home health aide or for nurse aide that 

is not covered under subdivision 2 of this subsection. The 

program shall be provided by a hospital, nursing facility, or 

educational institution and may include out-of-state 

training. The program must be approved by the 

department. To obtain department approval: 

a. The facility shall provide to the department's 

representative an outline of course content, dates and 

hours of instruction received, the name of the entity that 

provided the training, and other pertinent information. 

b. The department will make a determination based on 

the information in subdivision 6 a of this subsection and 

provide written confirmation to the facility when the 

educational program meets department requirements. 

7. Successful completion of the department-approved 40-

hour direct care staff training provided by a registered 

nurse or licensed practical nurse.  

8. Direct care staff employed prior to the effective date of 

this chapter who did not care for residents meeting the 

criteria for assisted living care, and who were therefore not 

required to meet this subsection at that time, shall 

successfully complete a training program consistent with 

department requirements no later than one year after the 

effective date of this chapter, except that direct care staff of 

the facility employed prior to February 1, 1996, shall not 

be required to complete the training in this subsection if 

they (i) have been continuously employed as direct care 
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staff in the facility since then and (ii) have demonstrated 

competency on a skills checklist dated and signed no later 

than February 1, 1997, by a licensed health care 

professional practicing within the scope of his profession. 

D. The facility shall obtain a copy of the certificate issued or 

other documentation indicating that the person has met one of 

the requirements of subsection C of this section, which shall 

be part of the staff member's record in accordance with 

22VAC40-73-250. 

E. The administrator shall develop and implement a written 

plan for supervision of direct care staff who have not yet met 

the requirements as allowed for in subsection C of this 

section. 

22VAC40-73-210. Direct care staff training. 

A. In a facility licensed only for residential living care, all 

direct care staff shall attend at least 14 hours of training 

annually.  

B. In a facility licensed for both residential and assisted 

living care, all direct care staff shall attend at least 18 hours of 

training annually.  

C. Training for the first year shall commence no later than 

60 days after employment. 

D. The training shall be in addition to (i) required first aid 

training; (ii) CPR training, if taken; and (iii) for medication 

aides, continuing education required by the Virginia Board of 

Nursing. 

E. The training shall be relevant to the population in care 

and shall be provided by a qualified individual through in-

service training programs or institutes, workshops, classes, or 

conferences. 

F. At least two of the required hours of training shall focus 

on infection control and prevention. When adults with mental 

impairments reside in the facility, at least four of the required 

hours shall focus on topics related to residents' mental 

impairments. 

G. Documentation of the type of training received, the entity 

that provided the training, number of hours of training, and 

dates of the training shall be kept by the facility in a manner 

that allows for identification by individual staff person and is 

considered part of the staff member's record. 

Exception: Direct care staff who are licensed health care 

professionals or certified nurse aides shall attend at least 12 

hours of annual training. 

22VAC40-73-220. Private duty personnel. 

A. When private duty personnel from licensed home care 

organizations provide direct care or companion services to 

residents in an assisted living facility, the following applies: 

1. Before direct care or companion services are initiated, 

the facility shall obtain, in writing, information on the type 

and frequency of the services to be delivered to the resident 

by private duty personnel, review the information to 

determine if it is acceptable, and provide notification to the 

home care organization regarding any needed changes.  

2. The direct care or companion services provided by 

private duty personnel to meet identified needs shall be 

reflected on the resident's individualized service plan.  

3. The facility shall ensure that the requirements of 

22VAC40-73-250 D 1 through D 4 regarding tuberculosis 

are applied to private duty personnel and that the required 

reports are maintained by the facility or the licensed home 

care organization, based on written agreement between the 

two. 

4. The facility shall provide orientation and training to 

private duty personnel regarding the facility's policies and 

procedures related to the duties of private duty personnel. 

5. The facility shall ensure that documentation of resident 

care required by this chapter is maintained. 

6. The facility shall monitor the delivery of direct care and 

companion services to the resident by private duty 

personnel. 

B. When private duty personnel who are not employees of a 

licensed home care organization provide direct care or 

companion services to residents in an assisted living facility, 

the requirements listed under subdivisions 2 through 6 in 

subsection A of this section apply. In addition, before direct 

care or companion services are initiated, the facility shall: 

1. Obtain, in writing, information on the type and 

frequency of the services to be delivered to the resident by 

private duty personnel, review the information to 

determine if it is acceptable, and provide notification to 

whomever has hired the private duty personnel regarding 

any needed changes. 

2. Ensure that private duty personnel are qualified for the 

types of direct care or companion services they are 

responsible for providing to residents and maintain 

documentation of the qualifications. 

C. The requirements of subsections A and B of this section 

shall not apply to private duty personnel who only provide 

skilled nursing treatments as specified in 22VAC40-73-470 

B. However, depending upon the circumstances, there may be 

other sections of this chapter that apply in such cases (e.g., 

inclusion on the resident's individualized service plan). 

22VAC40-73-230. Staff duties performed by residents. 

A. Any resident who performs any staff duties shall meet the 

personnel and health requirements for that position. 

B. There shall be a written agreement between the facility 

and any resident who performs staff duties. 

1. The agreement shall specify duties, hours of work, and 

compensation. 

2. The agreement shall not be a condition for admission or 

continued residence. 

3. The resident shall enter into such an agreement 

voluntarily. 
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22VAC40-73-240. Volunteers. 

A. Any volunteers used shall:  

1. Have qualifications appropriate to the services they 

render; and  

2. Be subject to laws and regulations governing 

confidential treatment of personal information.  

B. No volunteer shall be permitted to serve in an assisted 

living facility without the permission of or unless under the 

supervision of a person who has received a criminal record 

clearance pursuant to § 63.2-1720 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. The facility shall maintain the following documentation 

on volunteers: 

1. Name. 

2. Address. 

3. Telephone number. 

4. Emergency contact information. 

5. Information on any qualifications, orientation, training, 

and education required by this chapter, including any 

specified relevant information. 

D. Duties and responsibilities of all volunteers shall be 

clearly differentiated from those of persons regularly filling 

staff positions.  

E. At least one staff person shall be assigned responsibility 

for coordinating volunteer services, including overall 

selection, supervision, and orientation of volunteers.  

F. Prior to beginning volunteer service, all volunteers shall 

attend an orientation including information on their duties and 

responsibilities, resident rights, confidentiality, emergency 

procedures, infection control, the name of their supervisor, 

and reporting requirements and sign and date a statement that 

they have received and understood this information. 

G. All volunteers shall be under the supervision of a 

designated staff person when residents are present.  

22VAC40-73-250. Staff records and health requirements. 

A. A record shall be established for each staff person. It 

shall not be destroyed until at least two years after 

employment is terminated. 

B. All staff records shall be retained at the facility, treated 

confidentially, and kept in a locked area. 

Exception: Emergency contact information required by 

subdivision C 9 of this section shall also be kept in an easily 

accessible place.  

C. Personal and social data to be maintained on staff and 

included in the staff record are as follows: 

1. Name; 

2. Birth date; 

3. Current address and telephone number; 

4. Position title and date employed; 

5. Verification that the staff person has received a copy of 

his current job description; 

6. An original criminal record report and a sworn 

disclosure statement; 

7. Documentation of qualifications for employment related 

to the staff person's position, including any specified 

relevant information; 

8. Verification of current professional license, certification, 

registration, medication aide provisional authorization, or 

completion of a required approved training course; 

9. Name and telephone number of person to contact in an 

emergency; 

10. Documentation of orientation, training, and education 

required by this chapter, including any specified relevant 

information; and 

11. Date of termination of employment. 

D. Health information required by these standards shall be 

maintained at the facility and be included in the staff record 

for each staff person, and also shall be maintained at the 

facility for each household member who comes in contact 

with residents. 

1. Initial tuberculosis examination and report. 

a. Each staff person on or within seven days prior to the 

first day of work at the facility and each household 

member prior to coming in contact with residents shall 

submit the results of a risk assessment, documenting the 

absence of tuberculosis in a communicable form as 

evidenced by the completion of the current screening 

form published by the Virginia Department of Health or 

a form consistent with it.  

b. The risk assessment shall be no older than 30 days. 

2. Subsequent tuberculosis evaluations and reports. 

a. Any staff person or household member required to be 

evaluated who comes in contact with a known case of 

infectious tuberculosis shall be screened as determined 

appropriate based on consultation with the local health 

department. 

b. Any staff person or household member required to be 

evaluated who develops chronic respiratory symptoms of 

three weeks duration shall be evaluated immediately for 

the presence of infectious tuberculosis. 

c. Each staff person or household member required to be 

evaluated shall annually submit the results of a risk 

assessment, documenting that the individual is free of 

tuberculosis in a communicable form as evidenced by the 

completion of the current screening form published by 

the Virginia Department of Health or a form consistent 

with it. 

3. Any individual suspected to have infectious tuberculosis 

shall not be allowed to return to work or have any contact 

with the residents and personnel of the facility until a 
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physician has determined that the individual is free of 

infectious tuberculosis. 

4. The facility shall report any active case of tuberculosis 

developed by a staff person or household member required 

to be evaluated to the local health department. 

E. Record of any vaccinations and immunizations received 

as noted in 22VAC40-73-100 D. 

F. At the request of the administrator of the facility or the 

department, a report of examination by a licensed physician 

shall be obtained when there are indications that the safety of 

residents in care may be jeopardized by the physical or 

mental health of a staff person or household member. 

G. Any staff person or household member who, upon 

examination or as a result of tests, shows indication of a 

physical or mental condition that may jeopardize the safety of 

residents in care or that would prevent performance of duties: 

1. Shall be removed immediately from contact with 

residents; and 

2. Shall not be allowed contact with residents until the 

condition is cleared to the satisfaction of the examining 

physician as evidenced by a signed statement from the 

physician. 

22VAC40-73-260. First aid and CPR certification. 

A. First aid. 

1. Each direct care staff member who does not have current 

certification in first aid as specified in subdivision 2 of this 

subsection shall receive certification in first aid within 60 

days of employment from the American Red Cross, 

American Heart Association, National Safety Council, 

American Safety and Health Institute, community college, 

hospital, volunteer rescue squad, or fire department. The 

certification must either be in adult first aid or include 

adult first aid. 

2. Each direct care staff member shall maintain current 

certification in first aid from an organization listed in 

subdivision 1 of this subsection. To be considered current, 

first aid certification from community colleges, hospitals, 

volunteer rescue squads, or fire departments shall have 

been issued within the past three years. The certification 

must either be in adult first aid or include adult first aid. 

3. A direct care staff member who is a registered nurse or 

licensed practical nurse does not have to meet the 

requirements of subdivisions 1 and 2 of this subsection. 

4. There shall be at least one staff person on the premises 

at all times who has current certification in first aid that 

meets the specifications of this section, unless the facility 

has an on-duty registered nurse or licensed practical nurse. 

B. Cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR). 

1. There shall be at least one staff person on the premises 

at all times who has current certification in CPR from the 

American Red Cross, American Heart Association, 

National Safety Council, American Safety and Health 

Institute, or who has current CPR certification issued 

within the past two years by a community college, hospital, 

volunteer rescue squad, or fire department, The 

certification must either be in adult CPR or include adult 

CPR. 

2. In facilities licensed for over 50 residents, at least one 

additional staff person who meets the requirements of 

subdivision 1 of this subsection shall be available for every 

50 residents, or portion thereof. More staff persons who 

meet the requirements in subdivision 1 of this subsection 

shall be available if necessary to assure quick access to 

residents in the event of the need for CPR. 

C. A listing of all staff who have current certification in first 

aid or CPR, in conformance with subsections A and B of this 

section, shall be posted in the facility so that the information 

is readily available to all staff at all times. The listing must 

indicate by staff person whether the certification is in first aid 

or CPR or both and must be kept up to date. 

D. A staff person with current certification in first aid and 

CPR shall be present for the duration of facility-sponsored 

activities off the facility premises, when facility staff are 

responsible for oversight of one or more residents during the 

activity. 

22VAC40-73-270. Direct care staff training when 

aggressive or restrained residents are in care. 

The following training is required for staff in assisted living 

facilities that accept, or have in care, residents who are or 

who may be aggressive or restrained: 

1. Aggressive residents. 

a. Direct care staff shall be trained in methods of dealing 

with residents who have a history of aggressive behavior 

or of dangerously agitated states prior to being involved 

in the care of such residents. 

b. This training shall include, at a minimum, information, 

demonstration, and practical experience in self-protection 

and in the prevention and de-escalation of aggressive 

behavior. 

2. Restrained residents. 

a. Prior to being involved in the care of residents in 

restraints, direct care staff shall be appropriately trained 

in caring for the health needs of such residents.  

b. This training shall include, at a minimum, information, 

demonstration, and experience in: 

(1) The proper techniques for applying and monitoring 

restraints; 

(2) Skin care appropriate to prevent redness, breakdown, 

and decubiti; 

(3) Active and active assisted range of motion to prevent 

contractures; 

(4) Assessment of blood circulation to prevent 

obstruction of blood flow and promote adequate blood 

circulation to all extremities; 
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(5) Turning and positioning to prevent skin breakdown 

and keep the lungs clear; 

(6) Provision of sufficient bed clothing and covering to 

maintain a normal body temperature; 

(7) Provision of additional attention to meet the physical, 

mental, emotional, and social needs of the restrained 

resident; and 

(8) Awareness of possible risks associated with restraint 

use and methods of reducing or eliminating such risks. 

3. The training described in subdivisions 1 and 2 of this 

section shall meet the following criteria: 

a. Training shall be provided by a qualified health 

professional. 

b. A written description of the content of this training, a 

notation of the entity providing the training, and the 

names of direct care staff receiving the training shall be 

maintained by the facility except that, if the training is 

provided by the department, only a listing of direct care 

staff trained and the date of training are required. 

4. Refresher training for all direct care staff shall be 

provided at least annually or more often as needed. 

a. The refresher training shall encompass the techniques 

described in subdivision 1 or 2 of this section, or both. 

b. A record of the refresher training and a description of 

the content of the training shall be maintained by the 

facility. 

Part IV 

Staffing and Supervision 

22VAC40-73-280. Staffing. 

A. The assisted living facility shall have staff adequate in 

knowledge, skills, and abilities and sufficient in numbers to 

provide services to attain and maintain the physical, mental, 

and psychosocial well-being of each resident as determined 

by resident assessments and individualized service plans, and 

to assure compliance with this chapter. 

B. The assisted living facility shall maintain a written plan 

that specifies the number and type of direct care staff required 

to meet the day-to-day, routine direct care needs and any 

identified special needs for the residents in care. This plan 

shall be directly related to actual resident acuity levels and 

individualized care needs.  

C. An adequate number of staff persons shall be on the 

premises at all times to implement the approved fire and 

emergency evacuation plan. 

D. At least one direct care staff member shall be awake and 

on duty at all times in each building when at least one 

resident is present. 

Exception: For a facility licensed for residential living care 

only, in buildings that house 19 or fewer residents, the staff 

member on duty does not have to be awake during the 

night if (i) none of the residents have care needs that 

require a staff member awake at night and (ii) the facility 

ensures compliance with the requirements of 22VAC40-

73-930 C.  

22VAC40-73-290. Work schedule and posting. 

A. The facility shall maintain a written work schedule that 

includes the names and job classifications of all staff working 

each shift, with an indication of whomever is in charge at any 

given time. 

1. Any absences, substitutions, or other changes shall be 

noted on the schedule. 

2. The facility shall maintain a copy of the schedule for 

two years. 

B. The facility shall develop and implement a procedure for 

posting the name of the current on-site person in charge, as 

provided for in this chapter, in a place in the facility that is 

conspicuous to the residents and the public. 

22VAC40-73-300. Communication among staff. 

A. Procedures shall be established and reviewed with staff 

for communication among administrators, designated 

assistant administrators, managers, and designated staff 

persons in charge, as applicable to a facility, to ensure stable 

operations and sound transitions. 

B. A method of written communication shall be utilized as a 

means of keeping direct care staff on all shifts informed of 

significant happenings or problems experienced by residents, 

including complaints and incidents or injuries related to 

physical or mental conditions.  

1. A record shall be kept of the written communication for 

at least the past two years. 

2. The information shall be included in the records of the 

involved residents.  

Part V 

Admission, Retention, and Discharge of Residents 

22VAC40-73-310. Admission and retention of residents. 

A. No resident shall be admitted or retained: 

1. For whom the facility cannot provide or secure 

appropriate care; 

2. Who requires a level of care or service or type of service 

for which the facility is not licensed or which the facility 

does not provide; or 

3. If the facility does not have staff appropriate in numbers 

and with appropriate skill to provide the care and services 

needed by the resident. 

B. Assisted living facilities shall not admit an individual 

before a determination has been made that the facility can 

meet the needs of the resident. The facility shall make the 

determination based upon the following information at a 

minimum: 

1. The completed UAI. 

2. The physical examination report. 
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3. A documented interview between the administrator or a 

designee responsible for admission and retention decisions, 

the resident, and his legal representative, if any. In some 

cases, medical conditions may create special circumstances 

that make it necessary to hold the interview on the date of 

admission.  

4. A mental health screening in accordance with 

22VAC40-73-330 A. 

C. An assisted living facility shall only admit or retain 

residents as permitted by its use and occupancy classification 

and certificate of occupancy. The ambulatory or 

nonambulatory status, as defined in 22VAC40-73-10, of an 

individual is based upon: 

1. Information contained in the physical examination 

report; and 

2. Information contained in the most recent UAI. 

D. Based upon review of the UAI prior to admission of a 

resident, the assisted living facility administrator shall 

provide written assurance to the resident that the facility has 

the appropriate license to meet his care needs at the time of 

admission. Copies of the written assurance shall be given to 

the legal representative and case manager, if any, and a copy 

signed by the resident or his legal representative shall be kept 

in the resident's record. 

E. All residents shall be 18 years of age or older. 

F. No person shall be admitted without his consent and 

agreement, or that of his legal representative with 

demonstrated legal authority to give such consent on his 

behalf.  

G. The facility shall not require a person to relinquish the 

rights specified in § 63.2-1808 of the Code of Virginia as a 

condition of admission or retention. 

H. In accordance with § 63.2-1805 D of the Code of 

Virginia, assisted living facilities shall not admit or retain 

individuals with any of the following conditions or care 

needs: 

1. Ventilator dependency; 

2. Dermal ulcers III and IV except those stage III ulcers 

that are determined by an independent physician to be 

healing; 

3. Intravenous therapy or injections directly into the vein, 

except for intermittent intravenous therapy managed by a 

health care professional licensed in Virginia except as 

permitted in subsection K of this section; 

4. Airborne infectious disease in a communicable state that 

requires isolation of the individual or requires special 

precautions by the caretaker to prevent transmission of the 

disease, including diseases such as tuberculosis and 

excluding infections such as the common cold; 

5. Psychotropic medications without appropriate diagnosis 

and treatment plans; 

6. Nasogastric tubes; 

7. Gastric tubes except when the individual is capable of 

independently feeding himself and caring for the tube or as 

permitted in subsection K of this section; 

8. Individuals presenting an imminent physical threat or 

danger to self or others; 

9. Individuals requiring continuous licensed nursing care; 

10. Individuals whose physician certifies that placement is 

no longer appropriate; 

11. Unless the individual's independent physician 

determines otherwise, individuals who require maximum 

physical assistance as documented by the UAI and meet 

Medicaid nursing facility level of care criteria as defined in 

the State Plan for Medical Assistance Program (12VAC30-

10); or 

12. Individuals whose physical or mental health care needs 

cannot be met in the specific assisted living facility as 

determined by the facility. 

I. When a resident has a stage III dermal ulcer that has been 

determined by an independent physician to be healing, 

periodic observation and any necessary dressing changes shall 

be performed by a licensed health care professional under a 

physician's or other prescriber's treatment plan.  

J. Intermittent intravenous therapy may be provided to a 

resident for a limited period of time on a daily or periodic 

basis by a licensed health care professional under a 

physician's or other prescriber's treatment plan. When a 

course of treatment is expected to be ongoing and extends 

beyond a two-week period, evaluation is required at two-

week intervals by the licensed health care professional. 

K. At the request of the resident in an assisted living facility 

and when his independent physician determines that it is 

appropriate, care for the conditions or care needs (i) specified 

in subdivisions G 3 and G 7 of this section may be provided 

to the resident by a physician licensed in Virginia, a nurse 

licensed in Virginia or a nurse holding a multistate licensure 

privilege under a physician's treatment plan, or a home care 

organization licensed in Virginia or (ii) specified in 

subdivision G 7 of this section may also be provided to the 

resident by facility staff if the care is delivered in accordance 

with the regulations of the Board of Nursing for delegation by 

a registered nurse, 18VAC90-20-420 through 18VAC90-20-

460, and 22VAC40-73-470 E. This standard does not apply to 

recipients of auxiliary grants. 

L. When care for a resident's special medical needs is 

provided by licensed staff of a home care agency, the assisted 

living facility direct care staff may receive training from the 

home care agency staff in appropriate treatment monitoring 

techniques regarding safety precautions and actions to take in 

case of emergency. This training is required prior to direct 

care staff assuming such duties. Updated training shall be 

provided as needed. The training shall include content based 

on the resident's specific needs. 
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M. Notwithstanding § 63.2-1805 of the Code of Virginia, at 

the request of the resident, hospice care may be provided in 

an assisted living facility under the same requirements for 

hospice programs provided in Article 7 (§ 32.1-162.1 et seq.) 

of Chapter 5 of Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia if the 

hospice program determines that such program is appropriate 

for the resident. If hospice care is provided, there shall be a 

written agreement between the assisted living facility and any 

hospice program that provides care in the facility. The 

agreement shall include: 

1. Policies and procedures to ensure appropriate 

communication and coordination between the facility and 

the hospice program; 

2. Specification of the roles and responsibilities of each 

entity, including listing of the services that will generally 

be provided by the facility and the services that will 

generally be provided by the hospice program;  

3. Acknowledgment that the services provided to each 

resident shall be reflected on the individualized service 

plan as required in 22VAC40-73-450 D; and 

4. Signatures of an authorized representative of the facility 

and an authorized representative of the hospice program. 

22VAC40-73-320. Physical examination and report. 

A. Within the 30 days preceding admission, a person shall 

have a physical examination by an independent physician. 

The report of such examination shall be on file at the assisted 

living facility and shall contain the following: 

1. The date of the physical examination; 

2. Height, weight, and blood pressure; 

3. Significant medical history; 

4. General physical condition, including a systems review 

as is medically indicated; 

5. Any diagnosis or significant problems; 

6. Any known allergies and description of the person's 

reactions; 

7. Any recommendations for care including medication, 

diet, and therapy; 

8. Results of a risk assessment documenting the absence of 

tuberculosis in a communicable form as evidenced by the 

completion of the current screening form published by the 

Virginia Department of Health or a form consistent with it; 

9. A statement that the individual does not have any of the 

conditions or care needs prohibited by 22VAC40-73-310 

H; 

10. A statement that specifies whether the individual is 

considered to be ambulatory or nonambulatory;  

11. A statement that specifies whether the individual is or 

is not capable of self-administering medication; and 

12. The signature of the examining physician or his 

designee. 

B. Subsequent tuberculosis evaluations. 

1. A risk assessment for tuberculosis shall be completed 

annually on each resident as evidenced by the completion 

of the current screening form published by the Virginia 

Department of Health or a form consistent with it. 

2. Any resident who comes in contact with a known case of 

infectious tuberculosis shall be screened as deemed 

appropriate in consultation with the local health 

department. 

3. Any resident who develops respiratory symptoms of 

three or more weeks duration with no medical explanation 

shall be referred for evaluation for the presence of 

infectious tuberculosis. 

4. If a resident develops an active case of tuberculosis, the 

facility shall report this information to the local health 

department. 

C. As necessary to determine whether a resident's needs can 

continue to be met in the assisted living facility, the 

department may request a current physical examination or 

psychiatric evaluation, including diagnosis and assessments. 

22VAC40-73-325. Fall risk assessment. 

A. For residents who meet the criteria for assisted living 

care, by the time the comprehensive ISP is completed, a fall 

risk assessment shall be conducted. 

B. The fall risk assessment shall be reviewed and updated: 

1. At least annually;  

2. When the condition of the resident changes; and 

3. After a fall. 

C. Should a resident fall, the facility must show 

documentation of an analysis of the circumstances of the fall 

and interventions that were initiated to prevent or reduce 

additional falls. 

22VAC40-73-330. Mental health screening. 

A. A mental health screening shall be conducted prior to 

admission if behaviors or patterns of behavior occurred 

within the previous six months that were indicative of mental 

illness, intellectual disability, substance abuse, or behavioral 

disorders and that caused, or continue to cause, concern for 

the health, safety, or welfare either of that individual or others 

who could be placed at risk of harm by that individual.  

Exceptions:  

1. If it is not possible for the screening to be conducted 

prior to admission, the individual may be admitted if all 

other admission requirements are met. The reason for the 

delay shall be documented and the screening shall be 

conducted as soon as possible, but no later than 30 days 

after admission. 

2. The screening shall not be required for individuals under 

the care of a qualified mental health professional 

immediately prior to admission, as long as there is 
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documentation of the person's psychosocial and behavioral 

functioning as specified in 22VAC40-73-340 A 1. 

B. A mental health screening shall be conducted when a 

resident displays behaviors or patterns of behavior indicative 

of mental illness, intellectual disability, substance abuse, or 

behavioral disorders that cause concern for the health, safety, 

or welfare of either that individual or others who could be 

placed at risk of harm by the individual. 

C. The mental health screening shall be conducted by a 

qualified mental health professional having no financial 

interest in the assisted living facility, directly or indirectly as 

an owner, officer, employee, or as an independent contractor 

with the facility. 

D. A copy of the screening shall be filed in the resident's 

record. 

E. If the screening indicates a need for mental health, 

intellectual disability, substance abuse, or behavioral disorder 

services for the resident, the facility shall provide: 

1. Notification of the resident's need for such services to 

the community services board, behavioral health authority, 

or other appropriate licensed provider identified by the 

resident or his legal representative; and  

2. Notification to the resident, authorized contact person of 

record, and physician of record that mental health services 

have been recommended for the resident. 

22VAC40-73-340. Psychosocial and behavioral history. 

A. When determining appropriateness of admission for an 

individual with mental illness, intellectual disability, 

substance abuse, or behavioral disorders, the following 

information shall be obtained by the facility: 

1. If the prospective resident is referred by a state or 

private hospital, community services board, behavioral 

health authority, or long-term care facility, documentation 

of the individual's psychosocial and behavioral functioning 

shall be acquired.  

2. If the prospective resident is coming from a private 

residence, information about the individual's psychosocial 

and behavioral functioning shall be gathered from primary 

sources, such as family members or friends. Although there 

is no requirement for written information from primary 

sources, the facility must document the source and content 

of the information that was obtained. 

B. The administrator or his designee shall document that the 

individual's psychosocial and behavioral history were 

reviewed and used to help determine the appropriateness of 

the admission. 

C. If the individual is admitted, the psychosocial and 

behavioral history shall be used in the development of the 

person's individualized service plan and documentation of the 

history shall be filed in the 'record. 

22VAC40-73-350. Sex offender information. 

A. The assisted living facility shall register with the 

Department of State Police to receive notice of the 

registration or reregistration of any sex offender within the 

same or a contiguous zip code area in which the facility is 

located, pursuant to § 9.1-914 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. The assisted living facility shall ascertain, prior to 

admission, whether a potential resident is a registered sex 

offender if the facility anticipates the potential resident will 

have a length of stay greater than three days or in fact stays 

longer than three days and shall document in the resident's 

record that this was ascertained and the date the information 

was obtained. 

C. The assisted living facility shall ensure that each resident 

or his legal representative is fully informed, prior to or at the 

time of admission and annually, that he should exercise 

whatever due diligence he deems necessary with respect to 

information on any sex offenders registered pursuant to 

Chapter 9 (§ 9.1-900 et. seq.) of Title 9.1 of the Code of 

Virginia, including how to obtain such information. Written 

acknowledgment of having been so informed shall be 

provided by the resident or his legal representative and shall 

be maintained in the resident's record. 

D. At the same time that the person is informed as required 

in subsection C of this section, the assisted living facility 

shall provide notification that, upon request, the facility shall: 

1. Assist the resident, prospective resident, or his legal 

representative in accessing the information on registered 

sex offenders; and 

2. Provide the resident, prospective resident, or his legal 

representative with printed copies of the information on 

registered sex offenders. 

22VAC40-73-360. Emergency placement. 

A. An emergency placement shall occur only when the 

emergency is documented and approved by (i) an adult 

protective services worker for public pay individuals or (ii) an 

independent physician or an adult protective services worker 

for private pay individuals. 

B. When an emergency placement occurs, the person shall 

remain in the assisted living facility no longer than seven 

days unless all the requirements for admission have been met 

and the person has been admitted. 

C. The facility shall obtain sufficient information on the 

person to protect the health, safety, and welfare of the 

individual while he remains at the facility as allowed by 

subsection B of this section.  

22VAC40-73-370. Respite care. 

If an assisted living facility provides respite care as defined 

in 22VAC40-73-10, the requirements of this chapter apply to 

the respite care, except as follows: 
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1. For individuals in respite care, the ISP shall be 

completed prior to the person participating in respite care 

and need not include expected outcome.  

2. Each time an individual returns for respite care, the 

facility shall reevaluate the person's condition and as 

needed, ensure that the uniform assessment instrument and 

the individualized service plan are updated. The 

reevaluation shall include, but not be limited to, 

observation of the person; interviews with the individual 

and his legal representative, if any; and consultation with 

others knowledgeable about the person, as appropriate. 

3. If the period of time between respite care stays is six 

months or longer, a new physical examination report shall 

be required prior to the individual returning for respite 

care. The examination shall take place within 30 days prior 

to the person's return for respite care. 

4. The record for the individual in respite care shall include 

the dates of respite care. 

5. The medication review required by 22VAC40-73-690 

does not apply to individuals in respite care. 

22VAC40-73-380. Resident personal and social 

information. 

A. Prior to or at the time of admission to an assisted living 

facility, the following personal and social information on a 

person shall be obtained: 

1. Name; 

2. Last home address, and address from which resident was 

received, if different; 

3. Date of admission; 

4. Birth date or if unknown, estimated age; 

5. Birthplace, if known; 

6. Marital status, if known; 

7. Name, address, and telephone number of all legal 

representatives, if any; 

8. If there is a legal representative, copies of current legal 

documents that show proof of each legal representative's 

authority to act on behalf of the resident and that specify 

the scope of the representative's authority to make 

decisions and to perform other functions; 

9. Name, address, and telephone number of next of kin, if 

known (two preferred); 

10. Name, address, and telephone number of designated 

contact person authorized by the resident or legal 

representative, if appropriate, for notification purposes, 

including emergency notification and notification of the 

need for mental health, intellectual disability, substance 

abuse, or behavioral disorder services - if the resident or 

legal representative is willing to designate an authorized 

contact person. There may be more than one designated 

contact person. The designated contact person may also be 

listed under another category, such as next of kin or legal 

representative; 

11. Name, address, and telephone number of the 

responsible individual stipulated in 22VAC40-73-550 H, if 

needed; 

12. Name, address, and telephone number of personal 

physician, if known; 

13. Name, address, and telephone number of personal 

dentist, if known; 

14. Name, address, and telephone number of clergyman 

and place of worship, if applicable; 

15. Name, address, and telephone number of local 

department of social services or any other agency, if 

applicable, and the name of the assigned case manager or 

caseworker; 

16. Service in the armed forces, if applicable; 

17. Lifetime vocation, career, or primary role; 

18. Special interests and hobbies; 

19. Known allergies, if any;  

20. Information concerning advance directives, Do Not 

Resuscitate (DNR) Orders, or organ donation, if 

applicable; and 

21. For residents who meet the criteria for assisted living 

care, the additional information in subdivisions a, b, and c 

of this subdivision 21:  

a. Previous mental health or intellectual disability 

services history, if any, and if applicable for care or 

services; 

b. Current behavioral and social functioning including 

strengths and problems; and 

c. Any substance abuse history if applicable for care or 

services. 

B. The personal and social information required in 

subsection A of this section shall be placed in the individual's 

record. 

22VAC40-73-390. Resident agreement with facility. 

A. At or prior to the time of admission, there shall be a 

written agreement or written acknowledgment of notification 

dated and signed by the resident or applicant for admission or 

the appropriate legal representative, and by the licensee or 

administrator. This document shall include the following: 

1. Financial arrangement for accommodations, services, 

and care that specifies: 

a. Listing of specific charges for accommodations, 

services, and care to be made to the individual resident 

signing the agreement, the frequency of payment, and 

any rules relating to nonpayment; 

b. Description of all accommodations, services, and care 

that the facility offers and any related charges; 
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c. For an auxiliary grant recipient, a list of services 

included under the auxiliary grant rate; 

d. The amount and purpose of an advance payment or 

deposit payment and the refund policy for such payment, 

except that recipients of auxiliary grants may not be 

charged an advance payment or deposit payment; 

e. The policy with respect to increases in charges and 

length of time for advance notice of intent to increase 

charges; 

f. If the ownership of any personal property, real estate, 

money or financial investments is to be transferred to the 

facility at the time of admission or at some future date, it 

shall be stipulated in the agreement; and 

g. The refund policy to apply when transfer of 

ownership, closing of facility, or resident transfer or 

discharge occurs. 

2. Requirements or rules to be imposed regarding resident 

conduct and other restrictions or special conditions. 

3. Those actions, circumstances, or conditions that would 

result or might result in the resident's discharge from the 

facility. 

4. Signed acknowledgments that:  

a. Requirements or rules regarding resident conduct, 

other restrictions, or special conditions have been 

reviewed by the resident or his legal representative; 

b. The resident or his legal representative has been 

informed of the policy regarding the amount of notice 

required when a resident wishes to move from the 

facility; 

c. The resident has been informed of the policy required 

by 22VAC40-73-840 regarding pets living in the facility; 

d. The resident has been informed of the policy required 

by 22VAC40-73-860 K regarding weapons; 

e. The resident or his legal representative or responsible 

individual as stipulated in 22VAC40-73-550 H has 

reviewed § 63.2-1808 of the Code of Virginia, Rights 

and Responsibilities of Residents of Assisted Living 

Facilities, and that the provisions of this statute have 

been explained to him; 

f. The resident or his legal representative or responsible 

individual as stipulated in 22VAC40-73-550 H has 

reviewed and had explained to him the facility's policies 

and procedures for implementing § 63.2-1808 of the 

Code of Virginia, including the grievance policy and the 

transfer or discharge policy; 

g. The resident has been informed that interested 

residents may establish and maintain a resident council, 

that the facility is responsible for providing assistance 

with the formation and maintenance of the council, 

whether or not such a council currently exists in the 

facility, and the general purpose of a resident council 

(See 22VAC40-73-830); 

h. The resident has been informed of the bed hold policy 

in case of temporary transfer or movement from the 

facility, if the facility has such a policy (See 22VAC40-

73-420 B); 

i. The resident has been informed of the policy or 

guidelines regarding visiting in the facility, if the facility 

has such a policy or guidelines (See 22VAC40-73-540 

C); 

j. The resident has been informed of the rules and 

restrictions regarding smoking on the premises of the 

facility, including but not limited to that which is 

required by 22VAC40-73-820; 

k. The resident has been informed of the policy regarding 

the administration and storage of medications and dietary 

supplements; and 

l. The resident has received written assurance that the 

facility has the appropriate license to meet his care needs 

at the time of admission, as required by 22VAC40-73-

310 D. 

B. Copies of the signed agreement or acknowledgment of 

notification shall be provided to the resident and, as 

appropriate, his legal representative and shall be retained in 

the resident's record. 

C. The original agreement shall be updated whenever there 

are changes in financial arrangements, accommodations, 

services, care provided by the facility, requirements 

governing the resident's conduct, other restrictions, or special 

conditions, and signed by the licensee or administrator and 

the resident or his legal representative. If the original 

agreement provides for specific changes in any of these items, 

this standard does not apply to those changes. 

22VAC40-73-400. Monthly statement of charges and 

payments. 

The facility shall provide to each resident or the resident's 

legal representative, if one has been appointed, a monthly 

statement that itemizes any charges made by the facility and 

any payments received from the resident or on behalf of the 

resident during the previous calendar month and shall show 

the balance due or any credits for overpayment. The facility 

shall also place a copy of the monthly statement in the 

resident's record. 

22VAC40-73-410. Orientation and related information for 

residents. 

A. Upon admission, the assisted living facility shall provide 

an orientation for new residents and their legal 

representatives, including but not limited to, emergency 

response procedures, mealtimes, and use of the call system. If 

needed, the orientation shall be modified as appropriate for 

residents with cognitive impairments. Acknowledgment of 

having received the orientation shall be signed and dated by 

the resident and, as appropriate, his legal representative, and 

such documentation shall be kept in the resident's record. 
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B. Upon admission and upon request, the assisted living 

facility shall provide to the resident and, if appropriate, his 

legal representative, a written description of the types of staff 

persons working in the facility and the services provided, 

including the hours such services are available. 

22VAC40-73-420. Acceptance back in facility. 

A. An assisted living facility shall establish procedures to 

ensure that any resident detained by a temporary detention 

order pursuant to §§ 37.2-809 through 37.2-813 of the Code 

of Virginia is accepted back in the assisted living facility if 

the resident is not involuntarily committed pursuant to 

§§ 37.2-814 through 37.2-819 of the Code of Virginia. The 

procedures shall include, but not be limited to: 

1. Obtaining written recommendations from a qualified 

mental health professional regarding supportive services 

necessary to address the mental health needs of the resident 

returning to the facility; 

2. Documenting whether the recommendations specified in 

subdivision 1 of this subsection can be implemented based 

on facility or community resources and whether the 

resident can be retained at the facility or would need to be 

discharged; 

3. Updating the resident's individualized service plan, as 

needed; and 

4. Ensuring that direct care staff involved in the care and 

supervision of the resident receive clear and timely 

communication regarding their responsibilities in respect to 

the mental health needs of the resident and behavioral or 

emotional indicators of possible crisis situations. 

B. If an assisted living facility allows for temporary 

movement of a resident with agreement to hold a bed, it shall 

develop and follow a written bed hold policy, which includes, 

but is not limited to, the conditions for which a bed will be 

held, any time frames, terms of payment, and circumstances 

under which the bed will no longer be held. 

22VAC40-73-430. Discharge of residents. 

A. When actions, circumstances, conditions, or care needs 

occur that will result in the discharge of a resident, discharge 

planning shall begin immediately, and there shall be 

documentation of such, including the beginning date of 

discharge planning. The resident shall be moved within 30 

days, except that if persistent efforts have been made and the 

time frame is not met, the facility shall document the reason 

and the efforts that have been made.  

B. As soon as discharge planning begins, the assisted living 

facility shall notify the resident, the resident's legal 

representative and designated contact person if any, of the 

planned discharge, the reason for the discharge, and that the 

resident will be moved within 30 days unless there are 

extenuating circumstances relating to inability to place the 

resident in another setting within the time frame referenced in 

subsection A of this section. Written notification of the actual 

discharge date and place of discharge shall be given to the 

resident, the resident's legal representative and contact 

person, if any, and additionally for public pay residents, the 

eligibility worker and assessor, at least 14 days prior to the 

date that the resident will be discharged. 

C. The assisted living facility shall adopt and conform to a 

written policy regarding the number of days' notice that is 

required when a resident wishes to move from the facility. 

Any required notice of intent to move shall not exceed 30 

days. 

D. The facility shall assist the resident and his legal 

representative, if any, in the discharge or transfer process. 

The facility shall help the resident prepare for relocation, 

including discussing the resident's destination. Primary 

responsibility for transporting the resident and his possessions 

rests with the resident or his legal representative. 

E. When a resident's condition presents an immediate and 

serious risk to the health, safety, or welfare of the resident or 

others and emergency discharge is necessary, 14-day 

notification of planned discharge does not apply, although the 

reason for the relocation shall be discussed with the resident 

and, when possible, his legal representative prior to the move. 

F. Under emergency conditions, the resident's legal 

representative, designated contact person, family, caseworker, 

social worker, or any other persons, as appropriate, shall be 

informed as rapidly as possible, but by the close of the day 

following discharge, of the reasons for the move. For public 

pay residents, the eligibility worker and assessor shall also be 

so informed within the same time frame. No later than five 

days after discharge, the information shall be provided in 

writing to all those notified.  

G. For public pay residents, in the event of a resident's 

death, the assisted living facility shall provide written 

notification to the eligibility worker and assessor within five 

days after the resident's death. 

H. Discharge statement. 

1. At the time of discharge, the assisted living facility shall 

provide to the resident and, as appropriate, his legal 

representative and designated contact person a dated 

statement signed by the licensee or administrator that 

contains the following information: 

a. The date on which the resident, his legal 

representative, or designated contact person was notified 

of the planned discharge and the name of the legal 

representative or designated contact person who was 

notified; 

b. The reason or reasons for the discharge; 

c. The actions taken by the facility to assist the resident 

in the discharge and relocation process; and 

d. The date of the actual discharge from the facility and 

the resident's destination. 

2. When the termination of care is due to emergency 

conditions, the dated statement shall contain the 
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information in subdivisions 1 a through 1 d of this 

subsection as appropriate and shall be provided or mailed 

to the resident, his legal representative, or designated 

contact person within 48 hours from the time of the 

decision to discharge. 

3. A copy of the written statement shall be retained in the 

resident's record. 

I. When the resident is discharged and moves to another 

caregiving facility, the assisted living facility shall provide to 

the receiving facility such information related to the resident 

as is necessary to ensure continuity of care and services. 

Original information pertaining to the resident shall be 

maintained by the assisted living facility from which the 

resident was discharged. The assisted living facility shall 

maintain a listing of all information shared with the receiving 

facility. 

J. Within 60 days of the date of discharge, each resident or 

his legal representative shall be given a final statement of 

account, any refunds due, and return of any money, property, 

or things of value held in trust or custody by the facility. 

Part VI 

Resident Care and Related Services 

22VAC40-73-440. Uniform assessment instrument (UAI). 

A. All residents of and applicants to assisted living facilities 

shall be assessed face to face using the uniform assessment 

instrument in accordance with Assessment in Assisted Living 

Facilities (22VAC30-110). The UAI shall be completed prior 

to admission, at least annually, and whenever there is a 

significant change in the resident's condition.  

B. The UAI shall be completed within 90 days prior to 

admission to the assisted living facility, except that if there 

has been a change in the resident's condition since the 

completion of the UAI that would affect the admission, a new 

UAI shall be completed. 

C. When a resident moves to an assisted living facility from 

another assisted living facility or other long-term care setting 

that uses the UAI, if there is a completed UAI on record, 

another UAI does not have to be completed except that a new 

UAI shall be completed whenever: 

1. There is a significant change in the resident's condition; 

or  

2. The previous assessment is more than 12 months old. 

D. Annual reassessments and reassessments due to a 

significant change in the resident's condition, using the UAI, 

shall be utilized to determine whether a resident's needs can 

continue to be met by the facility and whether continued 

placement in the facility is in the best interest of the resident. 

E. During an inspection or review, staff from the 

department, the Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

or the local department of social services may initiate a 

change in level of care for any assisted living facility resident 

for whom it is determined that the resident's UAI is not 

reflective of the resident's current status.  

F. At the request of the assisted living facility, the resident's 

legal representative, the resident's physician, the department, 

or the local department of social services an independent 

assessment using the UAI shall be completed to determine 

whether the resident's care needs are being met in the assisted 

living facility. The assisted living facility shall assist in 

obtaining the independent assessment as requested. An 

independent assessment is one that is completed by a 

qualified entity other than the original assessor.  

G. For private pay individuals, the assisted living facility 

shall ensure that the uniform assessment instrument is 

completed as required by 22VAC30-110.  

H. For a private pay resident, if the UAI is completed by an 

independent physician or a qualified human services agency 

assessor, the assisted living facility shall be responsible for 

coordinating with the physician or the agency assessor to 

ensure that the UAI is completed as required.  

I. The assisted living facility shall be in compliance with the 

requirements set forth in 22VAC30-110. 

J. The facility shall maintain the completed UAI in the 

resident's record. 

22VAC40-73-450. Individualized service plans. 

A. On the day of admission, unless a comprehensive 

individualized service plan is completed during that time, a 

preliminary plan of care shall be developed to address the 

basic needs of the resident, which adequately protects his 

health, safety, and welfare. The preliminary plan shall be 

developed by a staff person with the qualifications specified 

in subsection B of this section and in conjunction with the 

resident, and, as appropriate, other individuals noted in 

subdivision B 1 of this section. 

B. The licensee, administrator, or his designee who has 

successfully completed the department-approved 

individualized service plan (ISP) training, provided by a 

licensed health care professional practicing within the scope 

of his profession, shall develop a comprehensive ISP to meet 

the resident's service needs. An individualized service plan is 

not required for those residents who are assessed as capable 

of maintaining themselves in an independent living status. 

1. The licensee, administrator, or designee shall develop 

the ISP in conjunction with the resident and, as 

appropriate, with the resident's family, legal representative, 

direct care staff members, case manager, health care 

providers, qualified mental health professionals, or other 

persons. 

2. The plan shall reflect the resident's assessed needs and 

support the principles of individuality, personal dignity, 

freedom of choice, and home-like environment and shall 

include other formal and informal supports that may 

participate in the delivery of services. Whenever possible, 
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residents shall be given a choice of options regarding the 

type and delivery of services. 

3. The plan shall be designed to maximize the resident's 

level of functional ability. 

C. The comprehensive individualized service plan shall be 

completed within 30 days after admission and shall include 

the following: 

1. Description of identified needs and date identified based 

upon the (i) UAI; (ii) admission physical examination; (iii) 

interview with resident; (iv) fall risk assessment, if 

appropriate; (v) assessment of psychological, behavioral, 

and emotional functioning, if appropriate; and (vi) other 

sources; 

2. A written description of what services will be provided 

to address identified needs, and if applicable, other 

services, and who will provide them; 

3. When and where the services will be provided;  

4. The expected outcome and time frame for expected 

outcome;  

5. Date outcome achieved; and 

6. For a facility licensed for residential living care only, if 

a resident lives in a building housing 19 or fewer residents, 

a statement that specifies whether the person does need or 

does not need to have a staff member awake and on duty at 

night. 

D. When hospice care is provided to a resident, the assisted 

living facility and the licensed hospice organization shall 

communicate and establish and agree upon a coordinated plan 

of care for the resident. The services provided by each shall 

be included on the individualized service plan. 

E. The individualized service plan shall be signed and dated 

by the licensee, administrator, or his designee, (i.e., the 

person who has developed the plan), and by the resident or 

his legal representative. The plan shall also indicate any other 

individuals who contributed to the development of the plan, 

with a notation of the date of contribution. The title or 

relationship to the resident of each person who was involved 

in the development of the plan shall be so noted. These 

requirements shall also apply to reviews and updates of the 

plan. 

F. Individualized service plans shall be reviewed and 

updated at least once every 12 months and as needed as the 

condition of the resident changes. The review and update 

shall be performed by a staff person with the qualifications 

specified in subsection B of this section and in conjunction 

with the resident and, as appropriate, with the resident's 

family, legal representative, direct care staff, case manager, 

health care providers, qualified mental health professionals, 

or other persons.  

G. The master service plan shall be filed in the resident's 

record. A current copy shall be provided to the resident and 

shall also be maintained in a location accessible at all times to 

direct care staff, but that protects the confidentiality of the 

contents of the service plan. Extracts from the plan may be 

filed in locations specifically identified for their retention. 

H. The facility shall ensure that the care and services 

specified in the individualized service plan are provided to 

each resident, except that: 

1. There may be a deviation from the plan when mutually 

agreed upon between the facility and the resident or the 

resident's legal representative at the time the care or 

services are scheduled or when there is an emergency that 

prevents the care or services from being provided. 

2. Deviation from the plan shall be documented in writing, 

including a description of the circumstances, the date it 

occurred, and the signatures of the parties involved, and 

the documentation shall be retained in the resident's record.  

3. The facility may not start, change, or discontinue 

medications, dietary supplements, diets, medical 

procedures, or treatments without an order from a 

physician or other prescriber. 

22VAC40-73-460. Personal care services and general 

supervision and care. 

A. The facility shall assume general responsibility for the 

health, safety, and well-being of the residents. 

B. Care provision and service delivery shall be resident-

centered to the maximum extent possible and include: 

1. Resident participation in decisions regarding the care 

and services provided to him;  

2. Personalization of care and services tailored to the 

resident's circumstances and preferences; and 

3. Prompt response by staff to resident needs as reasonable 

to the circumstances. 

C. Care shall be furnished in a way that fosters the 

independence of each resident and enables him to fulfill his 

potential. 

D. The facility shall provide supervision of resident 

schedules, care, and activities, including attention to 

specialized needs, such as prevention of falls and wandering 

from the premises. 

E. The facility shall regularly observe each resident for 

changes in physical, mental, emotional, and social 

functioning. 

1. Any notable change in a resident's condition or 

functioning, including illness, injury, or altered behavior, 

and action taken shall be documented in the resident's 

record. 

2. The facility shall provide appropriate assistance when 

observation reveals unmet needs. 

F. The facility shall notify the next of kin, legal 

representative, designated contact person, or, if applicable, 

any responsible social agency of any incident of a resident 

falling or wandering from the premises, whether or not it 
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results in injury. This notification shall occur as soon as 

possible but at least within 24 hours from the time of initial 

discovery or knowledge of the incident. The resident's record 

shall include documentation of the notification, including 

date, time, caller, and person or agency notified. 

Exception: If the whereabouts of a resident are unknown 

and there is reason to be concerned about his safety, the 

facility shall immediately notify the appropriate law-

enforcement agency. The facility shall also immediately 

notify the resident's next of kin, legal representative, 

designated contact person, or, if applicable, any 

responsible social agency. 

G. The facility shall provide care and services to each 

resident by staff who are able to communicate with the 

resident in a language the resident understands or shall make 

provisions for communications between staff and residents to 

ensure an accurate exchange of information. 

H. The facility shall ensure that personal assistance and care 

are provided to each resident as necessary so that the needs of 

the resident are met, including but not limited to assistance or 

care with: 

1. The activities of daily living: 

a. Bathing - at least twice a week, but more often if 

needed or desired; 

b. Dressing; 

c. Toileting; 

d. Transferring; 

e. Bowel control;  

f. Bladder control; and 

g. Eating or feeding; 

2. The instrumental activities of daily living: 

a. Meal preparation; 

b. Housekeeping; 

c. Laundry; and 

d. Managing money; 

3. Ambulation; 

4. Hygiene and grooming: 

a. Shampooing, combing, and brushing hair; 

b. Shaving; 

c. Trimming fingernails and toenails (certain medical 

conditions necessitate that this be done by a licensed 

health care professional); 

d. Daily tooth brushing and denture care; and 

e. Skin care at least twice daily for those with limited 

mobility; and 

5. Functions and tasks: 

a. Arrangements for transportation; 

b. Arrangements for shopping; 

c. Use of the telephone; and 

d. Correspondence. 

I. Each resident shall be dressed in clean clothing and be 

free of odors related to hygiene. Each resident shall be 

encouraged to wear day clothing when out of bed. 

J. Residents who are incontinent shall have a full or partial 

bath and clean clothing and linens each time their clothing or 

bed linen is soiled or wet. 

K. The facility shall ensure each resident is able to obtain 

individually preferred personal care items when: 

1. The preferred personal care items are reasonably 

available; and 

2. The resident is willing and able to pay for the preferred 

items. 

22VAC40-73-470. Health care services. 

A. The facility shall ensure, either directly or indirectly, that 

the health care service needs of residents are met. The ways 

in which the needs may be met include, but are not limited to: 

1. Staff of the facility providing health care services; 

2. Persons employed by a resident providing health care 

services; or 

3. The facility assisting residents in making appropriate 

arrangements for health care services. 

a. When a resident is unable to participate in making 

appropriate arrangements, the resident's family, legal 

representative, designated contact person, cooperating 

social agency, or personal physician shall be notified of 

the need. 

b. When mental health care is needed or desired by a 

resident, this assistance shall include securing the 

services of the local community services board, state or 

federal mental health clinic, or similar facility or agent in 

the private sector.  

B. A resident's need for skilled nursing treatments within the 

facility shall be met by the facility’s employment of a 

licensed nurse or contractual agreement with a licensed nurse, 

or by a home health agency or by a private duty licensed 

nurse. 

C. Services shall be provided to prevent clinically avoidable 

complications, including but not limited to: 

1. Pressure ulcer development or worsening of an ulcer;  

2. Contracture; 

3. Loss of continence;  

4. Dehydration; and 

5. Malnutrition. 

D. The facility shall develop and implement a written policy 

to ensure that staff are made aware of any life-threatening 

conditions of residents, including but not limited to allergic 

reactions, and actions that staff may need to take. 
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E. When care for gastric tubes is provided to a resident by 

unlicensed direct care facility staff as allowed in clause (ii) of 

22VAC40-73-310 K, the following criteria shall be met: 

1. Prior to the care being provided, the facility shall obtain 

an informed consent, signed by the resident or his legal 

representative, that includes at a minimum 

acknowledgment that: 

a. An unlicensed person will routinely be providing the 

gastric tube care and feedings under the delegation of a 

registered nurse (RN) who has assessed the resident's 

care needs and the unlicensed person's ability to safely 

and adequately meet those needs; 

b. Delegation means the RN need not be present in the 

facility during routine gastric tube care and feedings;  

c. Registered medication aides are prohibited from 

administering medications via gastric tubes and 

medications may only be administered by licensed 

personnel (e.g., a licensed practical nurse (LPN) or RN);  

d. The tube care and feedings provided to the resident 

and the supervisory oversight provided by the delegating 

RN will be reflected on the individualized service plan as 

required in 22VAC40-73-450; and 

e. The signed consent shall be maintained in the 

resident's record. 

2. Only those direct care staff with written approval from 

the delegating nurse may provide the tube care and 

feedings.  In addition to the approval, the RN shall 

document: 

a. The general and resident-specific instructions he 

provided to the staff person; and 

b. The staff person's successful demonstration of 

competency in tube care, 

3. The delegating RN shall be employed by or under 

contract with the licensed assisted living facility and shall 

have supervisory authority over the direct care staff being 

approved to provide gastric tube care and feedings. 

4. The supervisory responsibilities of the delegating nurse 

include, but are not limited to: 

a. Monitoring the direct care staff performance related to 

the delegated tasks;  

b. Evaluating the outcomes for the resident;  

c. Ensuring appropriate documentation; and 

d. Documenting relevant findings and recommendations. 

5. The delegating RN shall schedule supervisory oversight 

based upon the following criteria: 

a. The stability and condition of the resident;  

b. The experience and competency of the unlicensed 

direct care staff person;  

c. The nature of the tasks or procedures being delegated; 

and  

d. The proximity and availability of the delegating nurse 

to the unlicensed direct care staff person when the 

nursing tasks will be performed.  

6. Prior to allowing direct care staff to independently 

perform care for gastric tubes as provided for in this 

subsection, each person must be able to successfully 

demonstrate performance of the entire procedure correctly 

while under direct observation of the delegating RN. 

Subsequently, each person shall be directly observed no 

less than monthly for at least three consecutive months, 

after which direct observation shall be conducted no less 

than every six months or more often if indicated. The 

delegating RN shall retain documentation at the facility of 

all supervisory activities and direct observations of staff. 

7. Contact information for the delegating RN shall be 

readily available to all staff responsible for tube feedings 

when an RN or LPN is not present in the facility. 

8. Written protocols that encompass the basic policies and 

procedures for the performance of gastric tube feedings, as 

well as any resident-specific instructions, shall be available 

to any direct care staff member responsible for tube 

feedings.  

9. The facility shall have a written back-up plan to ensure 

that a person who is qualified as specified in this 

subsection is available if the direct care staff member who 

usually provides the care is absent. 

F. When the resident suffers serious accident, injury, illness, 

or medical condition, or there is reason to suspect that such 

has occurred, medical attention from a licensed health care 

professional shall be secured immediately. The circumstances 

involved and the medical attention received or refused shall 

be documented in the resident's record. The date and time of 

occurrence, as well as the personnel involved shall be 

included in the documentation. 

1. The resident's physician, if not already involved, next of 

kin, legal representative, designated contact person, case 

manager, and any responsible social agency, as 

appropriate, shall be notified as soon as possible but at 

least within 24 hours of the situation and action taken, or if 

applicable, the resident's refusal of medical attention. If a 

resident refuses medical attention, the resident's physician 

shall be notified immediately. 

2. A notation shall be made in the resident's record of such 

notice, including the date, time, caller, and person notified. 

G. If a resident refuses medical attention, the facility shall 

assess whether it can continue to meet the resident's needs. 

22VAC40-73-480. Restorative, habilitative, and 

rehabilitative services. 

A. Facilities shall assure that all restorative care and 

habilitative service needs of the residents are met. Facilities 

shall coordinate with appropriate professional service 

providers and ensure that any facility staff who assist with 

support for these service needs are trained by and receive 
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direction from qualified professionals. Restorative and 

habilitative care includes, but is not limited to, range of 

motion, assistance with ambulation, positioning, assistance 

and instruction in the activities of daily living, psychosocial 

skills training, and reorientation and reality orientation. 

B. In the provision of restorative and habilitative care, staff 

shall emphasize services such as the following: 

1. Making every effort to keep residents active, within the 

limitations set by physicians' or other prescribers' orders; 

2. Encouraging residents to achieve independence in the 

activities of daily living; 

3. Assisting residents to adjust to their disabilities, to use 

their prosthetic devices, and to redirect their interests if 

they are no longer able to maintain past involvement in 

particular activities;  

4. Assisting residents to carry out prescribed physical 

therapy exercises between appointments with the physical 

therapist; and 

5. Maintaining a bowel and bladder training program. 

C. Facilities shall arrange for specialized rehabilitative 

services by qualified personnel as needed by the resident. 

Rehabilitative services include physical therapy, occupational 

therapy, and speech-language pathology services. 

Rehabilitative services may be indicated when the resident 

has lost or has shown a change in his ability to respond to or 

perform a given task and requires professional rehabilitative 

services in an effort to regain lost function. Rehabilitative 

services may also be indicated to evaluate the appropriateness 

and individual response to the use of assistive technology. 

D. All rehabilitative services rendered by a rehabilitative 

professional shall be performed only upon written medical 

referral by a physician or other qualified health care 

professional. 

E. The physician's or other prescriber's orders, services 

provided, evaluations of progress, and other pertinent 

information regarding the rehabilitative services shall be 

recorded in the resident's record. 

F. Direct care staff who are involved in the care of residents 

using assistive devices shall know how to operate and utilize 

the devices. 

22VAC40-73-490. Health care oversight. 

A. Each assisted living facility shall retain a licensed health 

care professional who has at least two years of experience as 

a health care professional in an adult residential facility, adult 

day care center, acute care facility, nursing home, or licensed 

home care or hospice organization, either by direct 

employment or on a contractual basis, to provide on-site 

health care oversight.  

1. For residents who meet the criteria for residential living 

care:  

a. The licensed health care professional, practicing within 

the scope of his profession, shall provide the health care 

oversight at least every six months, or more often if 

indicated, based on his professional judgment of the 

seriousness of a resident's needs or the stability of a 

resident's condition; or 

b. If the facility employs a licensed health care 

professional who is on site on a full-time basis, the 

licensed health care professional, practicing within the 

scope of his profession, shall provide the health care 

oversight at least annually, or more often if indicated, 

based on his professional judgment of the seriousness of 

a resident's needs or stability of a resident's condition. 

2. For residents who meet the criteria for assisted living 

care: 

a. The licensed health care professional, practicing within 

the scope of his profession, shall provide the health care 

oversight at least every three months, or more often if 

indicated, based on his professional judgment of the 

seriousness of a resident's needs or stability of a 

resident's condition; or 

b. If the facility employs a licensed health care 

professional who is on site on a full-time basis, the 

licensed health care professional, practicing within the 

scope of his profession, shall provide the health care 

oversight at least every six months, or more often if 

indicated, based on his professional judgment of the 

seriousness of a resident's needs or stability of a 

resident's condition. 

3. All residents shall be included at least annually in the 

health care oversight. 

B. While on site, as specified in subsection A of this section, 

the licensed health care professional shall provide health care 

oversight of the following and make recommendations for 

change as needed: 

1. Ascertain whether a resident's service plan appropriately 

addresses the current health care needs of the resident. 

2. Monitor direct care staff performance of health-related 

activities. 

3. Evaluate the need for staff training. 

4. Provide consultation and technical assistance to staff as 

needed. 

5. Review documentation regarding health care services, 

including medication and treatment records, to assess that 

services are being provided in accordance with physicians' 

or other prescribers' orders. 

6. Monitor conformance to the facility's medication 

management plan and the maintenance of required 

medication reference materials.  

7. Observe infection control measures and consistency with 

the infection control program of the facility. 

8. Review the current condition and the records of 

restrained residents to assess the appropriateness of the 

restraint and progress toward its reduction or elimination. 
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a. The licensed health care professional shall be at a 

minimum a registered nurse.  

b. The licensed health care professional providing the 

oversight for this subdivision shall also provide the 

oversight for subdivisions 1 through 7 of this subsection 

for restrained residents. 

c. The health care oversight for all restrained residents 

shall be provided at least every three months. 

d. The oversight provided shall be a holistic review of the 

physical, emotional, and mental health of the resident and 

identification of any unmet needs.  

e. The oversight shall include review of physician's 

orders for restraints to determine whether orders are no 

older than three months, as required by 22VAC40-73-

710 C 2.  

f. The oversight shall include an evaluation of whether 

direct care staff have received the restraint training 

required by 22VAC40-73-270 and whether the facility is 

meeting the requirements of 22VAC40-73-710 regarding 

the use of restraints. 

9. Certify that the requirements of subdivisions 1 through 8 

of this subsection were met, including the dates of the 

health care oversight. The specific residents for whom the 

oversight was provided must be identified. The 

administrator shall be advised of the findings of the health 

care oversight and any recommendations. All of the 

requirements of this subdivision shall be (i) in writing, (ii) 

signed and dated by the health care professional, (iii) 

provided to the administrator within 10 days of the 

completion of the oversight, and (iv) maintained in the 

facility files for at least two years, with any specific 

recommendations regarding a particular resident also 

maintained in the resident's record.  

10. Action taken in response to the recommendations noted 

in subdivision 9 of this subsection shall be documented in 

the resident's record if resident specific, and if otherwise, 

in the facility files. 

22VAC40-73-500. Access by community services boards, 

certain local government departments, and behavioral 

health authorities. 

All assisted living facilities shall provide reasonable access 

to staff or contractual agents of community services boards, 

local government departments with policy-advisory 

community services boards, or behavioral health authorities 

as defined in § 37.2-100 of the Code of Virginia for the 

purposes of: 

1. Assessing or evaluating clients residing in the facility;  

2. Providing case management or other services or 

assistance to clients residing in the facility; or  

3. Monitoring the care of clients residing in the facility.  

Such staff or contractual agents also shall be given 

reasonable access to other facility residents who have 

previously requested their services. 

22VAC40-73-510. Mental health services coordination 

and support. 

A. For each resident requiring mental health services, the 

services of the local community services board, or a public or 

private mental health clinic, rehabilitative services agency, 

treatment facility or agent, or qualified health care 

professional shall be secured as appropriate based on the 

resident's current evaluation and to the extent possible, the 

resident's preference for service provider. The assisted living 

facility shall assist the resident in obtaining the services. If 

the services are not able to be secured, the facility shall 

document the reason for such and the efforts made to obtain 

the services. If the resident has a legal representative, the 

representative shall be notified of failure to obtain services 

and the notification shall be documented. 

B. Written procedures to ensure communication and 

coordination between the assisted living facility and the 

mental health service provider shall be established to assure 

that the mental health needs of the resident are addressed.  

C. Efforts, which must be documented, shall be made by the 

assisted living facility to assist in ensuring that prescribed 

interventions are implemented, monitored, and evaluated for 

their effectiveness in addressing the resident's mental health 

needs. 

D. If efforts to obtain the recommended services are 

unsuccessful, the facility must document: 

1. Whether it can continue to meet all other needs of the 

resident. 

2. How it plans to ensure that the failure to obtain the 

recommended services will not compromise the health, 

safety, or rights of the resident and others who come in 

contact with the resident. 

3. Details of additional steps the facility will take to find 

alternative providers to meet the resident's needs. 

22VAC40-73-520. Activity and recreational requirements. 

A. Activities for residents shall: 

1. Support the skills and abilities of residents in order to 

promote or maintain their highest level of independence or 

functioning; 

2. Accommodate individual differences by providing a 

variety of types of activities and levels of involvement; and 

3. Offer residents a varied mix of activities weekly 

including, but not limited to, those that are physical; social; 

cognitive, intellectual, or creative; productive; sensory; 

reflective or contemplative; nature or the natural world; 

and weather permitting, outdoor. Any given activity may 

involve more than one of these. Community resources as 

well as facility resources may be used to provide activities. 
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B. Resident participation in activities.  

1. Residents shall be encouraged but not forced to 

participate in activity programs offered by the facility and 

the community.  

2. During an activity, each resident shall be encouraged but 

not coerced to join in at his level of functioning, to include 

observing. 

3. Any restrictions on participation imposed by a physician 

shall be documented in the resident's record.  

C. Activities shall be planned under the supervision of the 

administrator or other qualified staff person who shall 

encourage involvement of residents and staff in the planning. 

D. In a facility licensed for residential living care only, there 

shall be at least 11 hours of scheduled activities available to 

the residents each week for no less than one hour each day.  

E. In a facility licensed for both residential and assisted 

living care, there shall be at least 14 hours of scheduled 

activities available to the residents each week for no less than 

one hour each day.  

F. During an activity, when needed to ensure that each of the 

following is adequately accomplished, there shall be staff 

persons or volunteers to:  

1. Lead the activity;  

2. Assist the residents with the activity;  

3. Supervise the general area;  

4. Redirect any individuals who require different activities; 

and 

5. Protect the health, safety, and welfare of the residents 

participating in the activity. 

G. The staff person or volunteer leading the activity shall 

have a general understanding of the following: 

1. Attention spans and functional levels of the residents in 

the group; 

2. Methods to adapt the activity to meet the needs and 

abilities of the residents; 

3. Various methods of engaging and motivating individuals 

to participate; and 

4. The importance of providing appropriate instruction, 

education, and guidance throughout the activity. 

H. Adequate supplies and equipment appropriate for the 

program activities shall be available in the facility. 

I. There shall be a written schedule of activities that meets 

the following criteria: 

1. The schedule of activities shall be developed at least 

monthly. 

2. The schedule shall include: 

a. Group activities for all residents or small groups of 

residents; and 

b. The name, if any, and the type, date, and hour of the 

activity. 

3. If one activity is substituted for another, the change shall 

be noted on the schedule. 

4. The current month's schedule shall be posted in a 

conspicuous location in the facility or otherwise be made 

available to residents and their families. 

5. The schedule of activities for the past two years shall be 

kept at the facility. 

6. If a resident requires an individual schedule of activities, 

that schedule shall be a part of the individualized service 

plan. 

J. The facility shall promote access to the outdoors.  

K. In addition to the required scheduled activities, there 

shall be unscheduled staff and resident interaction throughout 

the day that fosters an environment that promotes 

socialization opportunities for residents. 

22VAC40-73-530. Freedom of movement. 

A. Any resident who does not have a serious cognitive 

impairment shall be allowed to freely leave the facility.  A 

resident who has a serious cognitive impairment shall be 

subject to the provisions set forth in 22VAC40-73-1040 A or 

22VAC40-73-1150 A. 

B. Doors leading to the outside shall not be locked from the 

inside or secured from the inside in any manner that amounts 

to a lock, except that doors may be locked or secured in a 

manner that amounts to a lock in special care units as 

provided in 22VAC40-73-1150 A. Any devices used to lock 

or secure doors in any manner must be in accordance with 

applicable building and fire codes. 

C. The facility shall provide freedom of movement for the 

residents to common areas and to their personal spaces. The 

facility shall not lock residents out of or inside their rooms. 

22VAC40-73-540. Visiting in the facility. 

A. Daily visits to residents in the facility shall be permitted. 

B. Visiting hours shall not be restricted, except by a resident 

when it is the resident's choice.  

C. The facility may establish a policy or guidelines so that 

visiting is not disruptive to other residents and facility 

security is not compromised. However, daily visits and 

visiting hours shall not be restricted as provided in 

subsections A and B of this section. 

D. The facility shall encourage regular family involvement 

with the resident and shall provide ample opportunities for 

family participation in activities at the facility. 

22VAC40-73-550. Resident rights. 

A. The resident shall be encouraged and informed of 

appropriate means as necessary to exercise his rights as a 

resident and a citizen throughout the period of his stay at the 

facility. 

B. The resident has the right to voice or file grievances, or 

both, with the facility and to make recommendations for 

changes in the policies and services of the facility. The 
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residents shall be protected by the licensee or administrator, 

or both, from any form of coercion, discrimination, threats, or 

reprisal for having voiced or filed such grievances. 

C. Any resident of an assisted living facility has the rights 

and responsibilities as provided in § 63.2-1808 of the Code of 

Virginia and this chapter. 

D. The operator or administrator of an assisted living facility 

shall establish written policies and procedures for 

implementing § 63.2-1808 of the Code of Virginia. 

E. The facility shall make its policies and procedures for 

implementing § 63.2-1808 of the Code of Virginia available 

and accessible to residents, relatives, agencies, and the 

general public. 

F. The rights and responsibilities of residents shall be 

printed in at least 12-point type and posted conspicuously in a 

public place in all assisted living facilities. The facility shall 

also post the name and telephone number of the appropriate 

regional licensing supervisor of the department, the Adult 

Protective Services' toll-free telephone number, the toll-free 

telephone number of the Virginia Long-Term Care 

Ombudsman Program and any substate (i.e., local) 

ombudsman program serving the area, and the toll-free 

telephone number of the Virginia Office for Protection and 

Advocacy.  

G. The rights and responsibilities of residents in assisted 

living facilities shall be reviewed annually with each resident 

or his legal representative or responsible individual as 

stipulated in subsection H of this section and each staff 

person. Evidence of this review shall be the resident's, his 

legal representative's or responsible individual's, or staff 

person's written acknowledgment of having been so informed, 

which shall include the date of the review and shall be filed in 

the resident's or staff person's record. 

H. If a resident is unable to fully understand and exercise the 

rights and responsibilities contained in § 63.2-1808 of the 

Code of Virginia, the facility shall require that a responsible 

individual, of the resident's choice when possible, designated 

in writing in the resident's record annually be made aware of 

each item in § 63.2-1808 and the decisions that affect the 

resident or relate to specific items in § 63.2-1808.  

1. A resident shall be assumed capable of understanding 

and exercising these rights unless a physician determines 

otherwise and documents the reasons for such 

determination in the resident’s record. 

2. The facility shall seek a determination and reasons for 

the determination from a resident's physician regarding the 

resident's capability to understand and exercise these rights 

when there is reason to believe that the resident may not be 

capable of such. 

22VAC40-73-560. Resident records. 

A. The facility shall establish written policy and procedures 

for documentation and recordkeeping to ensure that the 

information in resident records is accurate and clear and that 

the records are well-organized. 

B. Resident records shall be identified and easily located by 

resident name, including when a resident's record is kept in 

more than one place. This shall apply to both electronic and 

hard copy material. 

C. Any physician's notes and progress reports in the 

possession of the facility shall be retained in the resident's 

record. 

D. Copies of all agreements between the facility and the 

resident and official acknowledgment of required 

notifications, signed by all parties involved, shall be retained 

in the resident's record. Copies shall be provided to the 

resident and to persons whose signatures appear on the 

document. 

E. All resident records shall be kept current, retained at the 

facility, and kept in a locked area, except that information 

shall be made available as noted in subsection F of this 

section. 

F. The licensee shall assure that all records are treated 

confidentially and that information shall be made available 

only when needed for care of the resident. All records shall be 

made available for inspection by the department's 

representative. 

G. Residents shall be allowed access to their own records. A 

legal representative of a resident shall be provided access to 

the resident's record or part of the record as allowed by the 

scope of his legal authority.  

H. The complete resident record shall be retained for at least 

two years after the resident leaves the facility. 

1. For at least the first year, the record shall be retained at 

the facility. 

2. After the first year, the record may be retained off site in 

a safe, secure area. The record must be available at the 

facility within 48 hours. 

I. A current picture of each resident shall be readily 

available for identification purposes or, if the resident refuses 

to consent to a picture, there shall be a narrative physical 

description, which is annually updated, maintained in his file. 

22VAC40-73-570. Release of information from resident's 

record. 

A. The resident or the appropriate legal representative has 

the right to release information from the resident's record to 

persons or agencies outside the facility.  

B. The licensee is responsible for making available to 

residents and legal representatives a form which they may use 

to grant their written permission for the facility to release 

information to persons or agencies outside the facility. The 

facility shall retain a copy of any signed release of 

information form in the resident's record.  

C. Only under the following circumstances is a facility 

permitted to release information from the resident's records or 
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information regarding the resident's personal affairs without 

the written permission of the resident or his legal 

representative, where appropriate:  

1. When records have been properly subpoenaed;  

2. When the resident is in need of emergency medical care 

and is unable or unwilling to grant permission to release 

information or his legal representative is not available to 

grant permission; 

3. When the resident moves to another caregiving facility;  

4. To representatives of the department; or  

5. As otherwise required by law. 

D. When a resident is hospitalized or transported by 

emergency medical personnel, information necessary to the 

care of the resident shall be furnished by the facility to the 

hospital or emergency medical personnel. Examples of such 

information include medications, a Do Not Resuscitate 

(DNR) Order, advance directives, and organ donation 

information. The facility shall also provide the name, address, 

and telephone number of the resident's designated contact 

person to the hospital or emergency medical personnel.  

22VAC40-73-580. Food service and nutrition. 

A. When any portion of an assisted living facility is subject 

to inspection by the Virginia Department of Health, the 

facility shall be in compliance with those regulations, as 

evidenced by an initial and subsequent annual reports from 

the Virginia Department of Health. The report shall be 

retained at the facility for a period of at least two years. 

B. All meals shall be served in the dining area as designated 

by the facility, except that: 

1. If the facility, through its policies and procedures, offers 

routine or regular room service, residents shall be given the 

option of having meals in the dining area or in their rooms, 

provided that: 

a. There is a written agreement to this effect, signed and 

dated by both the resident and the licensee or 

administrator and filed in the resident's record. 

b. If a resident's individualized service plan, physical 

examination report, mental health status report, or any 

other document indicates that the resident has a 

psychiatric condition that contributes to self-isolation, a 

qualified mental health professional shall make a 

determination in writing whether the person should have 

the option of having meals in his room. If the 

determination is made that the resident should not have 

this option, then the resident shall have his meals in the 

dining area. 

2. Under special circumstances, such as temporary illness, 

temporary incapacity, temporary agitation of a resident 

with cognitive impairment, or occasional, infrequent 

requests due to a resident's personal preference, meals may 

be served in a resident's room.  

3. When meals are served in a resident's room, a sturdy 

table must be used. 

C. Personnel shall be available to help any resident who may 

need assistance in reaching the dining room or when eating. 

D. A minimum of 45 minutes shall be allowed for each 

resident to complete a meal. If a resident has been assessed on 

the UAI as dependent in eating or feeding, his individualized 

service plan shall indicate an approximate amount of time 

needed for meals to ensure needs are met. 

E. Facilities shall develop and implement a policy to 

monitor each resident for:  

1. Warning signs of changes in physical or mental status 

related to nutrition; and 

2. Compliance with any needs determined by the resident's 

individualized service plan or prescribed by a physician or 

other prescriber, nutritionist, or health care professional. 

F. Facilities shall implement interventions as soon as a 

nutritional problem is suspected. These interventions shall 

include, but are not limited to the following: 

1. Weighing residents at least monthly to determine 

whether the resident has significant weight loss (i.e., 5.0% 

weight loss in one month, 7.5% in three months, or 10% in 

six months); and 

2. Notifying the attending physician if a significant weight 

loss is identified in any resident who is not on a physician-

approved weight reduction program and obtaining, 

documenting, and following the physician's instructions 

regarding nutritional care. 

G. Residents with independent living status who have 

kitchens equipped with stove, refrigerator, and sink within 

their individual apartments may have the option of obtaining 

meals from the facility or from another source. If meals are 

obtained from another source, the facility must ensure 

availability of meals when the resident is sick or temporarily 

unable to prepare meals for himself. 

22VAC40-73-590. Number of meals and availability of 

snacks. 

A. At least three well-balanced meals, served at regular 

intervals, shall be provided daily to each resident, unless 

contraindicated as documented by the attending physician in 

the resident's record or as provided for in 22VAC40-73-580 

G. 

B. Bedtime and between meal snacks shall be made 

available for all residents desiring them or in accordance with 

their physician's or other prescriber's orders. 

1. Appropriate adjustments in the provision of snacks to a 

resident shall be made when orders from the resident's 

physician or other prescriber in the resident's record limits 

the receipt or type of snacks. 

2. Vending machines shall not be used as the only source 

for snacks. 
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22VAC40-73-600. Time interval between meals. 

A. Time between the evening meal and breakfast the 

following morning shall not exceed 15 hours. 

B. There shall be at least four hours between breakfast and 

lunch and at least four hours between lunch and supper. 

C. When multiple seatings are required due to limited dining 

space, scheduling shall ensure that these time intervals are 

met for all residents. Schedules shall be made available to 

residents, legal representatives, staff, volunteers, and any 

other persons responsible for assisting residents in the dining 

process. 

22VAC40-73-610. Menus for meals and snacks. 

A. Food preferences of residents shall be considered when 

menus are planned.  

B. Menus for meals and snacks for the current week shall be 

dated and posted in an area conspicuous to residents.  

1. Any menu substitutions or additions shall be recorded 

on the posted menu.  

2. A record shall be kept of the menus served for two 

years. 

C. Minimum daily menu.  

1. Unless otherwise ordered in writing by the resident's 

physician or other prescriber, the daily menu, including 

snacks, for each resident shall meet the current guidelines 

of the U.S. Department of Agriculture's food guidance 

system or the dietary allowances of the Food and 

Nutritional Board of the National Academy of Sciences, 

taking into consideration the age, sex, and activity of the 

resident.  

2. Other foods may be added.  

3. Second servings and snacks shall be available at no 

additional charge.  

4. At least one meal each day shall include a hot main dish.  

D. When a diet is prescribed for a resident by his physician 

or other prescriber, it shall be prepared and served according 

to the physician's or other prescriber's orders.  

E. A copy of a diet manual containing acceptable practices 

and standards for nutrition shall be kept current and on file in 

the dietary department.  

F. The facility shall make drinking water readily available to 

all residents. Direct care staff shall know which residents 

need help getting water or other fluids and drinking from a 

cup or glass. Direct care staff shall encourage and assist 

residents who do not have medical conditions with physician 

or other prescriber ordered fluid restrictions to drink water or 

other beverages frequently. 

22VAC40-73-620. Oversight of special diets. 

A. There shall be oversight at least every six months of 

special diets by a dietitian or nutritionist for each resident 

who has such a diet. Special diets may also be referred to 

using terms such as medical nutrition therapy or diet therapy. 

The dietitian or nutritionist must meet the requirements of 

§ 54.1-2731 of the Code of Virginia and 18VAC75-30, 

Regulations Governing Standards for Dietitians and 

Nutritionists. 

B. The oversight specified in subsection A of this section 

shall be on site and include the following: 

1. A review of the physician's or other prescriber's order 

and the preparation and delivery of the special diet. 

2. An evaluation of the adequacy of the resident's special 

diet and the resident's acceptance of the diet. 

3. Certification that the requirements of this subsection 

were met, including the date of the oversight and 

identification of the residents for whom the oversight was 

provided. The administrator shall be advised of the 

findings of the oversight and any recommendations. All of 

the requirements of this subdivision shall be (i) in writing, 

(ii) signed and dated by the dietitian or nutritionist, (iii) 

provided to the administrator within 10 days of the 

completion of the oversight, and (iv) maintained in the files 

at the facility for at least two years, with any specific 

recommendations regarding a particular resident also 

maintained in the resident's record. 

4. Upon receipt of recommendations noted in subdivision 3 

of this subsection, the administrator or the dietitian or 

nutritionist shall report them to the resident's physician. 

Documentation of the report shall be maintained in the 

resident's record. 

5. Action taken in response to the recommendations noted 

in subdivision 3 of this subsection shall be documented in 

the resident's record. 

22VAC40-73-630. Observance of religious dietary 

practices. 

A. The resident's religious dietary practices shall be 

respected. 

B. Religious dietary practices of the administrator or 

licensee shall not be imposed upon residents unless mutually 

agreed upon in the admission agreement between 

administrator or licensee and resident.  

22VAC40-73-640. Medication management plan and 

reference materials. 

A. The facility shall have, keep current, and implement a 

written plan for medication management. The facility's 

medication plan shall address procedures for administering 

medication and shall include: 

1. Methods to ensure an understanding of the 

responsibilities associated with medication management; 

2. Standard operating procedures, including but not limited 

to the facility's standard dosing schedule and any general 

restrictions specific to the facility; 

3. Methods to prevent the use of outdated, damaged, or 

contaminated medications; 
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4. Methods to ensure that each resident's prescription 

medications and any over-the-counter drugs and 

supplements ordered for the resident are filled and refilled 

in a timely manner to avoid missed dosages; 

5. Methods for verifying that medication orders have been 

accurately transcribed to medication administration records 

(MARs), including within 24 hours of receipt of a new 

order or change in an order; 

6. Methods for monitoring medication administration and 

the effective use of the MARs for documentation; 

7. Methods to ensure accurate counts of all controlled 

substances whenever assigned medication administration 

staff changes; 

8. Methods to ensure that staff who are responsible for 

administering medications meet the qualification 

requirements of 22VAC40-73-670; 

9. Methods to ensure that staff who are responsible for 

administering medications are adequately supervised, 

including periodic direct observation of medication 

administration; 

10. A plan for proper disposal of medication; 

11. Methods to ensure that residents do not receive 

medications or dietary supplements to which they have 

known allergies; 

12. Identification of the medication aide or the person 

licensed to administer drugs responsible for routinely 

communicating issues or observations related to 

medication administration to the prescribing physician or 

other prescriber;  

13. Methods to ensure that staff who are responsible for 

administering medications are trained on the facility's 

medication management plan; and 

14. Procedures for internal monitoring of the facility's 

conformance to the medication management plan. 

B. The facility's written medication management plan 

requires approval by the department.  

C. Subsequent changes shall be reviewed as part of the 

department's regular inspection process. 

D. In addition to the facility's written medication 

management plan, the facility shall maintain, as reference 

materials for medication aides, at least one pharmacy 

reference book, drug guide, or medication handbook for 

nurses that is no more than two years old.  

22VAC40-73-650. Physician's or other prescriber's order. 

A. No medication, dietary supplement, diet, medical 

procedure, or treatment shall be started, changed, or 

discontinued by the facility without a valid order from a 

physician or other prescriber. Medications include 

prescription, over-the-counter, and sample medications. 

B. Physician or other prescriber orders, both written and 

oral, for administration of all prescription and over-the-

counter medications and dietary supplements shall include the 

name of the resident, the date of the order, the name of the 

drug, route, dosage, strength, how often medication is to be 

given, and identify the diagnosis, condition, or specific 

indications for administering each drug. 

C. Physician's or other prescriber's oral orders shall: 

1. Be charted by the individual who takes the order. That 

individual must be one of the following: 

a. A licensed health care professional practicing within 

the scope of his profession; or 

b. A medication aide. 

2. Be reviewed and signed by a physician or other 

prescriber within 14 days.  

D. Medication aides may not transmit an oral order to a 

pharmacy. 

E. The resident's record shall contain the physician's or other 

prescriber's signed written order or a dated notation of the 

physician's or other prescriber's oral order. Orders shall be 

organized chronologically in the resident's record. 

F. Whenever a resident is admitted to a hospital for 

treatment of any condition, the facility shall obtain new 

orders for all medications and treatments prior to or at the 

time of the resident's return to the facility. The facility shall 

ensure that the primary physician is aware of all medication 

orders and has documented any contact with the physician 

regarding the new orders.  

22VAC40-73-660. Storage of medications. 

A. A medicine cabinet, container, or compartment shall be 

used for storage of medications and dietary supplements 

prescribed for residents when such medications and dietary 

supplements are administered by the facility. Medications 

shall be stored in a manner consistent with current standards 

of practice.  

1. The storage area shall be locked.  

2. Schedule II drugs and any other drugs subject to abuse 

must be kept in a separate locked storage compartment 

(e.g., a locked cabinet within a locked storage area or a 

locked container within a locked cabinet or cart). 

3. The individual responsible for medication administration 

shall keep the keys to the storage area on his person. 

4. When in use, the storage area shall have adequate 

illumination in order to read container labels.  

5. The storage area shall not be located in the kitchen or 

bathroom, but in an area free of dampness or abnormal 

temperatures unless the medication requires refrigeration.  

6. When required, medications shall be refrigerated.  

a. It is permissible to store dietary supplements and foods 

and liquids used for medication administration in a 

refrigerator that is dedicated to medication storage if the 

refrigerator is in a locked storage area. 
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b. When it is necessary to store medications in a 

refrigerator that is routinely used for food storage, the 

medications shall be stored together in a locked container 

in a clearly defined area. 

7. Single-use and dedicated medical supplies and 

equipment shall be appropriately labeled and stored. 

Medical equipment suitable for multi-use shall be stored to 

prevent cross-contamination. 

B. A resident may be permitted to keep his own medication 

in an out-of-sight place in his room if the UAI has indicated 

that the resident is capable of self-administering medication. 

The medication and any dietary supplements shall be stored 

so that they are not accessible to other residents. This does 

not prohibit the facility from storing or administering all 

medication and dietary supplements.  

Exception: If the facility has no residents with serious 

cognitive impairments, the facility may determine that the 

out-of-sight and inaccessibility safeguards specified in this 

subsection do not apply. 

22VAC40-73-670. Qualifications and supervision of staff 

administering medications. 

When staff administers medications to residents, the 

following standards shall apply: 

1. Each staff person who administers medication shall be 

authorized by § 54.1-3408 of the Virginia Drug Control 

Act. All staff responsible for medication administration 

shall: 

a. Be licensed by the Commonwealth of Virginia to 

administer medications; or 

b. Be registered with the Virginia Board of Nursing as a 

medication aide, except as specified in subdivision 2 of 

this section. 

2. Any applicant for registration as a medication aide who 

has provided to the Virginia Board of Nursing evidence of 

successful completion of the education or training course 

required for registration may act as a medication aide on a 

provisional basis for no more than 120 days before 

successfully completing any required competency 

evaluation. However, upon notification of failure to 

successfully complete the written examination after three 

attempts, an applicant shall immediately cease acting as a 

medication aide.  

3. Medication aides shall be supervised by one of the 

following: 

a. An individual employed full time at the facility who is 

licensed by the Commonwealth of Virginia to administer 

medications; 

b. The administrator who is licensed by the 

Commonwealth of Virginia to administer medications or 

who has successfully completed a training program 

approved by the Virginia Board of Nursing for the 

registration of medication aides. The training program for 

administrators who supervise medication aides, but are 

not registered medication aides themselves, must include 

a minimum of 68 hours of student instruction and 

training but need not include the prerequisite for the 

program or the written examination for registration. The 

administrator must also meet the requirements of 

22VAC40-73-160 E; or  

c. For a facility licensed for residential living care only, 

the designated assistant administrator, as specified in 

22VAC40-73-150 E, who is licensed by the 

Commonwealth of Virginia to administer medications or 

who has successfully completed a training program 

approved by the Virginia Board of Nursing for the 

registration of medication aides. The training program for 

designated assistant administrators who supervise 

medication aides, but are not registered medication aides 

themselves, must include a minimum of 68 hours of 

student instruction and training but need not include the 

prerequisite for the program or the written examination 

for registration. The designated assistant administrator 

must also meet the requirements of 22VAC40-73-160 E. 

22VAC40-73-680. Administration of medications and 

related provisions. 

A. Staff who are licensed, registered, or acting as medication 

aides on a provisional basis as specified in 22VAC40-73-670 

shall administer drugs to those residents who are dependent 

on medication administration as documented on the UAI.  

B. Medications shall be removed from the pharmacy 

container, or the container shall be opened, by a staff person 

licensed, registered, or acting as a medication aide on a 

provisional basis as specified in 22VAC40-73-670 and 

administered to the resident by the same staff person. 

Medications shall remain in the pharmacy issued container, 

with the prescription label or direction label attached, until 

administered to the resident. 

C. Medications shall be administered not earlier than one 

hour before and not later than one hour after the facility's 

standard dosing schedule, except those drugs that are ordered 

for specific times, such as before, after, or with meals. 

D. Medications shall be administered in accordance with the 

physician's or other prescriber's instructions and consistent 

with the standards of practice outlined in the current 

registered medication aide curriculum approved by the 

Virginia Board of Nursing. 

E. Medical procedures or treatments ordered by a physician 

or other prescriber shall be provided according to his 

instructions. 

F. Sample medications shall remain in the original 

packaging, labeled by a physician or other prescriber or 

pharmacist with the resident's name, the name of the 

medication, the strength, dosage, and route and frequency of 

administration, until administered. 
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G. Over-the-counter medication shall remain in the original 

container, labeled with the resident's name, or in a pharmacy-

issued container, until administered. 

H. At the time the medication is administered, the facility 

shall document on a medication administration record (MAR) 

all medications administered to residents, including over-the-

counter medications and dietary supplements. 

I. The MAR shall include:  

1. Name of the resident;  

2. Date prescribed;  

3. Drug product name;  

4. Strength of the drug; 

5. Dosage;  

6. Diagnosis, condition, or specific indications for 

administering the drug or supplement; 

7. Route (e.g., by mouth);  

8. How often medication is to be taken;  

9. Date and time given and initials of direct care staff 

administering the medication;  

10. Dates the medication is discontinued or changed;  

11. Any medication errors or omissions;  

12. Description of significant adverse effects suffered by 

the resident;  

13. For "as needed" (PRN) medications: 

a. Symptoms for which medication was given; 

b. Exact dosage given; and 

c. Effectiveness; and 

14. The name, signature, and initials of all staff 

administering medications. 

J. In the event of an adverse drug reaction or a medication 

error, the following applies: 

1. Action shall be taken as directed by a physician, 

pharmacist, or a poison control center; 

2. The resident's physician of record and family member or 

other responsible person shall be notified as soon as 

possible; and 

3. Medication administration staff shall document actions 

taken in the resident's record.  

K. The performance of all medical procedures and 

treatments ordered by a physician or other prescriber shall be 

documented, and the documentation shall be retained in the 

resident's record. 

L. The use of PRN medications is prohibited, unless one or 

more of the following conditions exist:  

1. The resident is capable of determining when the 

medication is needed;  

2. Licensed health care professionals administer the PRN 

medication; or  

3. Medication aides administer the PRN medication when 

the facility has obtained from the resident's physician or 

other prescriber a detailed medication order. The order 

shall include symptoms that indicate the use of the 

medication, exact dosage, the exact time frames the 

medication is to be given in a 24-hour period, and 

directions as to what to do if symptoms persist.  

M. In order for drugs in a hospice comfort kit to be 

administered, the requirements specified in subsection L of 

this section must be met, and each medication in the kit must 

have a prescription label attached by the pharmacy. 

N. Medications ordered for PRN administration shall be 

available, properly labeled for the specific resident, and 

properly stored at the facility. 

O. Stat-drug boxes may only be used when the following 

conditions are met: 

1. There is an order from the prescriber for any drug 

removed from the stat-drug box; and 

2. The drug is removed from the stat-drug box and 

administered by a nurse, pharmacist or prescriber licensed 

to administer medications.  

3. Registered medication aides are not permitted to either 

remove or administer medications from the stat-drug box.  

22VAC40-73-690. Medication review. 

A. For each resident assessed for residential living care, 

except for those who self-administer all of their medications, 

a licensed health care professional, practicing within the 

scope of his profession, shall perform an annual review of all 

the medications of the resident.  

B. For each resident assessed for assisted living care, except 

for those who self-administer all of their medications, a 

licensed health care professional, practicing within the scope 

of his profession, shall perform a review every six months of 

all the medications of the resident. 

C. The medication review shall include prescription drugs, 

over-the-counter medications, and dietary supplements 

ordered for the resident.  

D. If deemed appropriate by the licensed health care 

professional, the review shall include observation of the 

resident or interview with the resident or staff. 

E. The review shall include, but not be limited to, the 

following: 

1. All medications that the resident is taking and 

medications that he could be taking if needed (PRNs). 

2. An examination of the dosage, strength, route, how 

often, prescribed duration, and when the medication is 

taken.  

3. Documentation of actual and consideration of potential 

interactions of drugs with one another. 

4. Documentation of actual and consideration of potential 

interactions of drugs with foods or drinks. 
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5. Documentation of actual and consideration of potential 

negative effects of drugs resulting from a resident's 

medical condition other than the one the drug is treating. 

6. Consideration of whether PRNs, if any, are still needed 

and if clarification regarding use is necessary. 

7. Consideration of whether the resident needs additional 

monitoring or testing. 

8. Documentation of actual and consideration of potential 

adverse effects or unwanted side effects of specific 

medications. 

9. Identification of that which may be questionable, such as 

(i) similar medications being taken, (ii) different 

medications being used to treat the same condition, (iii) 

what seems an excessive number of medications, and (iv) 

what seems an exceptionally high drug dosage. 

10. The health care professional shall notify the resident's 

attending physician of any concerns or problems and 

document the notification. 

F. The licensed health care professional shall certify that the 

requirements of subdivisions E 1 through E 10 of this section 

were met, including the dates of the medication review. The 

administrator shall be advised of the findings of the 

medication review and any recommendations. All of the 

requirements of this subdivision shall be (i) in writing, (ii) 

signed and dated by the health care professional, (iii) 

provided to the administrator within 10 days of the 

completion of the review, and (iv) maintained in the facility 

files for at least two years, with any specific 

recommendations regarding a particular resident also 

maintained in the resident's record. 

G. Action taken in response to the recommendations noted 

in subsection F of this section shall be documented in the 

resident's record. 

22VAC40-73-700. Oxygen therapy.  

When oxygen therapy is provided, the following safety 

precautions shall be met and maintained:  

1. The facility shall have a valid physician's or other 

prescriber's order that includes the following: 

a. The oxygen source, such as compressed gas or 

concentrators; 

b. The delivery device, such as nasal cannula, reservoir 

nasal cannulas, or masks; and 

c. The flow rate deemed therapeutic for the resident. 

2. The facility shall post "No Smoking-Oxygen in Use" 

signs and enforce the smoking prohibition in any room of a 

building where oxygen is in use.  

3. The facility shall ensure that only oxygen from a 

portable source shall be used by residents when they are 

outside their rooms. The use of long plastic tether lines to 

the source of oxygen outside their rooms is not permitted.  

4. The facility shall make available to staff the emergency 

numbers to contact the resident's physician or other 

prescriber and the oxygen vendor for emergency service or 

replacement.  

5. The facility shall demonstrate that all direct care staff 

responsible for assisting residents who use oxygen supplies 

have had training or instruction in the use and maintenance 

of resident-specific equipment. 

6. The facility shall include in its disaster preparedness 

plan a checklist of information required to meet the 

identified needs of those individuals who require oxygen 

therapy including, but not limited to, the following: 

a. Whether the facility has on-site, emergency generator 

capacity sufficient to safely operate oxygen concentrators 

efficiently. 

b. Whether in the absence of on-site generators the 

facility has agreements with vendors to provide 

emergency generators, including whether those 

generators will support oxygen concentrators.  

c. Where the facility maintains chart copies of each 

resident's agreement, including emergency preparedness 

and back-up plans, with his oxygen equipment and 

supply vendor for ready access in any emergency 

situation. 

d. How equipment and supplies will be transported in the 

event that residents must be evacuated to another 

location.  

22VAC40-73-710. Restraints. 

A. The use of chemical restraints is prohibited. 

B. Physical restraints shall not be used for purposes of 

discipline or convenience. Restraints may only be used to 

treat a resident's medical symptoms or symptoms from mental 

illness or intellectual disability.  

C. The facility may only impose physical restraints when the 

resident's medical symptoms or symptoms from mental 

illness or intellectual disability warrant the use of restraints. 

The restraint must:  

1. Be necessary to ensure the physical safety of the resident 

or others; 

2. Be imposed in accordance with a physician's written 

order, which must be no older than three months, that 

specifies the condition, circumstances, and duration under 

which the restraint is to be used, except in emergency 

circumstances until such an order can reasonably be 

obtained; and  

3. Not be ordered on a standing, blanket, or "as needed" 

(PRN) basis.  

D. Whenever physical restraints are used, the following 

conditions shall be met:  

1. A restraint shall be used only to the minimum extent 

necessary to protect the resident or others; 
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2. Restraints shall only be applied by direct care staff who 

have received training in their use as specified by 

subdivision 2 of 22VAC40-73-270; 

3. The facility shall closely monitor the resident's 

condition, which includes checking on the resident at least 

every 30 minutes;  

4. The facility shall assist the resident as often as 

necessary, but no less than 10 minutes every hour, for his 

hydration, safety, comfort, range of motion, exercise, 

elimination, and other needs;  

5. The facility shall release the resident from the restraint 

as quickly as possible;  

6. Direct care staff shall keep a record of restraint usage, 

outcomes, checks, and any assistance required in 

subdivision 4 of this subsection and shall note any unusual 

occurrences or problems;  

7. In nonemergencies, as defined in 22VAC40-73-10: 

a. Restraints shall be used as a last resort and only if the 

facility, after completing, implementing, and evaluating 

the resident's comprehensive assessment and service 

plan, determines and documents that less restrictive 

means have failed; 

b. Restraints shall be used in accordance with the 

resident's service plan, which documents the need for the 

restraint and includes a schedule or plan of rehabilitation 

training enabling the progressive removal or the 

progressive use of less restrictive restraints when 

appropriate; 

c. The facility shall explain the use of the restraint and 

potential negative outcomes to the resident or his legal 

representative and the resident's right to refuse the 

restraint and shall obtain the written consent of the 

resident or his legal representative; 

d. Restraints shall be applied so as to cause no physical 

injury and the least possible discomfort; and 

e. The facility shall notify the resident's legal 

representative or designated contact person as soon as 

practicable, but no later than 24 hours after the initial 

administration of a nonemergency restraint. The facility 

shall keep the legal representative or designated contact 

person informed about any changes in restraint usage. A 

notation shall be made in the resident's record of such 

notice, including the date, time, caller, and person 

notified. 

8. In emergencies, as defined in 22VAC40-73-10:  

a. Restraints shall not be used unless they are necessary 

to alleviate an unanticipated immediate and serious 

danger to the resident or other individuals in the facility;  

b. An oral or written order shall be obtained from a 

physician within one hour of administration of the 

emergency restraint and the order shall be documented; 

c. In the case of an oral order, a written order shall be 

obtained from the physician as soon as possible;  

d. The resident shall be within sight and sound of direct 

care staff at all times;  

e. If the emergency restraint is necessary for longer than 

two hours, the resident shall be transferred to a medical 

or psychiatric inpatient facility or monitored in the 

facility by a mental health crisis team until his condition 

has stabilized to the point that the attending physician 

documents that restraints are not necessary; and  

f. The facility shall notify the resident's legal 

representative or designated contact person as soon as 

practicable, but no later than 12 hours after 

administration of an emergency restraint. A notation shall 

be made in the resident's record of such notice, including 

the date, time, caller and person notified. 

22VAC40-73-720. Do Not Resuscitate Orders. 

A. Do Not Resuscitate (DNR) Orders for withholding 

cardiopulmonary resuscitation from an individual in the event 

of cardiac or respiratory arrest may only be carried out in a 

licensed assisted living facility when: 

1. A valid written order has been issued by the resident's 

attending physician; and  

2. The written order is included in the individualized 

service plan;  

B. The facility shall have a system to ensure that all staff are 

aware of residents who have a valid DNR Order. 

C. The DNR Order shall be readily available to other 

authorized persons, such as emergency medical technicians 

(EMTs), when necessary. 

D. Durable DNR Orders shall not authorize the assisted 

living facility or its staff to withhold other medical 

interventions, such as intravenous fluids, oxygen, or other 

therapies deemed necessary to provide comfort care or to 

alleviate pain. 

E. Section 63.2-1807 of the Code of Virginia states that the 

owners or operators of any assisted living facility may 

provide that their staff who are certified in CPR shall not be 

required to resuscitate any resident for whom a valid written 

order not to resuscitate in the event of cardiac or respiratory 

arrest has been issued by the resident's attending physician 

and has been included in the resident's individualized service 

plan. 

F. If the owner or operator of a facility has determined that 

DNR Orders will not be honored, the facility shall have a 

policy specifying this and, prior to admission, the resident or 

his legal guardian shall be notified of the policy and sign an 

acknowledgment of the notification. 

22VAC40-73-730. Advance directives. 

A. Upon admission or while residing in the facility, 

whenever the resident has established advance directives, 

such as a living will or a durable power of attorney for health 
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care, to the extent available, the facility shall obtain the 

following: 

1. The name of and contact information for the individual 

or individuals who has the document or documents; 

2. The location of the documents;  

3. Either the advance directives or the content of the 

advance directives; and 

4. The name of and contact information for any designated 

agent, as related to the development and modification of 

the individualized service plan.  

B. If the facility is unable to obtain any of the information or 

documents as noted in subdivisions 1 through 4 of subsection 

A of this section, the efforts made to do so shall be 

documented in the resident's record.  

C. The information regarding advance directives shall be 

readily available to other authorized persons, such as 

emergency medical technicians (EMTs), when necessary. 

D. A resident requesting assistance with establishing 

advance directives shall be referred to his primary health care 

provider or attorney. 

Part VII 

Resident Accommodations and Related Provisions 

22VAC40-73-740. Personal possessions. 

A. Each resident shall be permitted to keep reasonable 

personal property in his possession at a facility in order to 

maintain individuality and personal dignity. 

B. A facility shall ensure that each resident has his own 

clothing.  

1. The use of a common clothing pool is prohibited.  

2. If necessary, resident's clothing shall be inconspicuously 

marked with his name to avoid getting mixed with others.  

3. Residents shall be allowed and encouraged to select their 

daily clothing and wear clothing to suit their activities and 

appropriate to weather conditions.  

C. Each resident shall have his own personal care items.  

D. Each facility shall develop and implement a written 

policy regarding procedures to be followed when a resident's 

clothing or other personal possessions, such as jewelry, 

television, radio, or other durable property, are reported 

missing. Attempts shall be made to determine the reason for 

the loss and any reasonable actions shall be taken to recover 

the item and to prevent or discourage future losses. The 

results of the investigation shall be reported in writing to the 

resident. Documentation shall be maintained for at least two 

years regarding items that were reported missing and 

resulting actions that were taken. 

22VAC40-73-750. Resident rooms. 

A. The resident shall be encouraged to furnish or decorate 

his room as space and safety considerations permit and in 

accordance with this chapter. 

B. Bedrooms shall contain the following items, except as 

provided for in subsection C of this section: 

1. A separate bed with comfortable mattress, springs, and 

pillow for each resident. Provisions for a double bed for a 

married couple shall be optional; 

2. A table or its equivalent accessible to each bed; 

3. An operable bed lamp or bedside light accessible to each 

resident; 

4. A sturdy chair for each resident; 

5. Drawer space for clothing and other personal items. If 

more than one resident occupies a room, ample drawer 

space shall be assigned to each individual; 

6. At least one mirror - if the resident has an individual 

adjoining bathroom, the mirror may be in the bathroom; 

and 

7. Window coverings for privacy. 

C. If a resident specifies in writing that he does not wish to 

have an item or items listed in subsection B of this section 

and understands that he may decide otherwise at any time, the 

resident's bedroom is not required to contain those specified 

items. The written specification shall be maintained in the 

resident's record. 

D. Adequate and accessible closet or wardrobe space shall 

be provided for each resident. As of December 28, 2006, in 

all buildings approved for construction or change in use and 

occupancy classification, the closet or wardrobe space shall 

be in the resident's bedroom. 

E. The facility shall have sufficient bed and bath linens in 

good repair so that residents always have clean: 

1. Sheets; 

2. Pillowcases; 

3. Blankets; 

4. Bedspreads; 

5. Towels; 

6. Washcloths; and 

7. Waterproof mattress covers when needed. 

22VAC40-73-760. Living room or multipurpose room. 

A. Sitting rooms or recreation areas or both shall be 

equipped with: 

1. Comfortable chairs (e.g., overstuffed, straight-backed, 

and rockers);  

2. Tables;  

3. Lamps;  

4. Television, if not available in other areas of the facility;  

5. Radio, if not available in other areas of the facility; and 

6. Current newspaper.  

B. Space other than sleeping areas shall be provided for 

residents for sitting, for visiting with one another or with 
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guests, for social and recreational activities, and for dining. 

These areas may be used interchangeably. 

22VAC40-73-770. Dining areas. 

Dining areas shall have a sufficient number of sturdy dining 

tables and chairs to serve all residents, either all at one time or 

in reasonable shifts.  

22VAC40-73-780. Laundry and linens. 

A. Residents' clothing shall be kept clean and in good repair.  

B. Bed and bath linens shall be changed at least every seven 

days and more often if needed. In facilities with common 

bathing areas, bath linens shall be changed after each use.  

C. When the facility provides laundry service for residents' 

clothing or personal linens, the clean items shall be sorted by 

individual resident.  

D. Table coverings and napkins shall be clean at all times.  

E. Table and kitchen linens shall be laundered separately 

from other washable goods.  

F. When bed, bath, table, and kitchen linens are washed, the 

water shall be above 140°F or the dryer shall heat the linens 

above 140°F as verified by the manufacturer or a sanitizing 

agent shall be used according to the manufacturer's 

instructions.  

22VAC40-73-790. Transportation. 

The resident shall be assisted in making arrangements for 

transportation as necessary.  

22VAC40-73-800. Incoming and outgoing mail. 

A. Incoming and outgoing mail shall not be censored. 

B. Incoming mail shall be delivered promptly. 

C. Mail shall not be opened by staff or volunteers except 

upon request of the resident and in his presence or written 

request of the legal representative. 

22VAC40-73-810. Telephones. 

A. Each building shall have at least one operable, nonpay 

telephone easily accessible to staff. There shall be additional 

telephones or extensions as may be needed to summon help in 

an emergency.  

B. The resident shall have reasonable access to a nonpay 

telephone on the premises.  

C. Privacy shall be provided for residents to use a telephone. 

22VAC40-73-820. Smoking. 

A. Smoking by residents, staff, volunteers, and visitors shall 

be done only in areas designated by the facility and approved 

by the State Fire Marshal or local fire official. Smoking shall 

not be allowed in a kitchen or food preparation areas. A 

facility may prohibit smoking on its premises. 

B. All designated smoking areas shall be provided with 

suitable ashtrays.  

C. Residents shall not be permitted to smoke in or on their 

beds.  

D. All common areas shall have smoke-free areas 

designated for nonsmokers.  

22VAC40-73-830. Resident councils. 

A. The facility shall permit and encourage the formation of a 

resident council by residents and shall assist the residents in 

its establishment. 

B. The purposes of the resident council shall be to: 

1. Work with the administration in improving the quality of 

life for all residents; 

2. Discuss the services offered by the facility and make 

recommendations for resolution of identified problems or 

concerns; and  

3. Perform other functions as determined by the council. 

C. The resident council shall be composed of residents of 

the facility and the council may extend membership to family 

members, advocates, friends, and others. Residents shall be 

encouraged but shall not be compelled to attend meetings. 

D. The facility shall assist residents in maintaining the 

resident council, including, but not limited to: 

1. Scheduling regular meetings; 

2. Providing space for meetings; 

3. Posting notice for meetings; 

4. Providing assistance in attending meetings for those 

residents who request it; and  

5. Preparing written reports of meetings as requested by the 

council for dissemination to all residents. 

E. The facility shall provide a written response to the 

council prior to the next meeting regarding any 

recommendations made by the council for resolution of 

problems or concerns.  

F. In order to promote a free exchange of ideas, the presence 

of any facility personnel shall be only at the request of the 

council. 

G. If there is no council, the facility shall annually remind 

residents that they may establish a resident council and that 

the facility would assist in its formation and maintenance. 

The general purpose of the council shall also be explained at 

this time. 

22VAC40-73-840. Pets living in the assisted living facility. 

A. Each assisted living facility shall develop and implement 

a written policy regarding pets living on the premises that will 

ensure the safety and well-being of all residents and staff. 

B. If a facility allows pets to live on the premises, the 

following applies: 

1. The policy specified in subsection A of this section shall 

include: 

a. The types of pets that are permitted in the assisted 

living facility; and 

b. The conditions under which pets may be in the assisted 

living facility. 
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2. Before being allowed to live on the premises, pets shall 

have had all recommended or required immunizations and 

shall be certified by a licensed veterinarian to be free of 

diseases transmittable to humans. 

3. Pets living on the assisted living facility premises: 

a. Shall have regular examinations and immunizations, 

appropriate for the species, by a licensed veterinarian; 

and  

b. Shall be restricted from central food preparation areas. 

4. Documentation of examinations and immunizations 

shall be maintained at the facility.  

5. Pets shall be well-treated and cared for in compliance 

with state regulations and local ordinances. 

6. Any resident's rights, preferences, and medical needs 

shall not be compromised by the presence of a pet. 

7. Any pet living on the premises shall have a suitable 

temperament, be healthy, and otherwise pose no significant 

health or safety risks to residents, staff, volunteers, or 

visitors. 

22VAC40-73-850. Pets visiting the assisted living facility. 

If an assisted living facility allows pets to visit the premises, 

the following shall apply: 

1. Any pet present at the facility shall be in good health 

and show no evidence of carrying any disease; 

2. Any resident's rights, preferences, and medical needs 

shall not be compromised by the presence of a pet; and 

3. Any pet shall be well-treated while visiting on the 

premises, have a suitable temperament, and otherwise pose 

no significant health or safety risks to residents, staff, 

volunteers, or visitors. 

Part VIII 

Buildings and Grounds 

22VAC40-73-860. General requirements. 

A. Buildings licensed for ambulatory residents or 

nonambulatory residents shall be classified by and meet the 

specifications for the proper use and occupancy classification 

as required by the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code 

(13VAC5-63). 

B. Documentation completed and signed by the building 

official shall be obtained as evidence of compliance with the 

applicable edition of the Virginia Uniform Statewide 

Building Code. 

C. Before construction begins or contracts are awarded for 

any new construction, remodeling, or alterations, plans shall 

be submitted to the department for review. 

D. Doors and windows. 

1. All doors shall open and close readily and effectively. 

2. Any doorway that is used for ventilation shall be 

effectively screened. 

3. Any operable window (i.e., a window that may be 

opened) shall be effectively screened. 

E. There shall be enclosed walkways between residents' 

rooms and dining and sitting areas that are adequately lighted, 

heated, and ventilated. 

F. There shall be an ample supply of hot and cold water 

from an approved source available to the residents at all 

times. 

G. Hot water at taps available to residents shall be 

maintained within a range of 105°F to 120°F. 

H. Where there is an outdoor area accessible to residents, 

such as a porch or lawn, it shall be equipped with furniture in 

season. 

I. Each facility shall store cleaning supplies and other 

hazardous materials in a locked area, except as noted in 

subsection J of this section.  

J. A resident may be permitted to keep his own cleaning 

supplies or other hazardous materials in an out-of-sight place 

in his room if the resident does not have a serious cognitive 

impairment. The cleaning supplies or other hazardous 

materials shall be stored so that they are not accessible to 

other residents.  

Exception: When a resident keeps his own cleaning 

supplies or other hazardous materials in his room, if the 

facility has no residents with serious cognitive 

impairments, the facility may determine that the out-of-

sight and inaccessibility safeguards specified in this 

subsection do not apply, unless mandated by the Virginia 

Uniform Statewide Building Code or Virginia Statewide 

Fire Prevention Code (13VAC5-51). 

K. Each facility shall develop and implement a written 

policy regarding weapons on the premises of the facility that 

will ensure the safety and well-being of all residents and staff.  

22VAC40-73-870. Maintenance of buildings and grounds. 

A. The interior and exterior of all buildings shall be 

maintained in good repair and kept clean and free of rubbish. 

B. All buildings shall be well-ventilated and free from foul, 

stale, and musty odors.  

C. Adequate provisions for the collection and legal disposal 

of garbage, ashes, and waste material shall be made.  

D. Buildings shall be kept free of infestations of insects and 

vermin. The grounds shall be kept free of their breeding 

places.  

E. All furnishings, fixtures, and equipment, including, but 

not limited to, furniture, window coverings, sinks, toilets, 

bathtubs, and showers, shall be kept clean and in good repair 

and condition, except that furnishings and equipment owned 

by a resident shall be, at a minimum, in safe condition and not 

soiled in a manner that presents a health hazard.  

F. All inside and outside steps, stairways, and ramps shall 

have nonslip surfaces.  
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G. Grounds shall be properly maintained to include mowing 

of grass and removal of snow and ice.  

H. Handrails shall be provided on all stairways, ramps, 

elevators, and at changes of floor level.  

I. Elevators, where used, shall be kept in good running 

condition and shall be inspected at least annually. Elevators 

shall be inspected in accordance with the Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63). The signed and 

dated certificate of inspection issued by the local authority 

shall be evidence of such inspection. 

22VAC40-73-880. Heating, ventilation, and cooling. 

A. At least one movable thermometer shall be available in 

each building for measuring temperatures in individual rooms 

that do not have a fixed thermostat that shows the temperature 

in the room.  

B. Heating.  

1. Heat shall be supplied from a central heating plant or an 

electrical heating system in accordance with the Virginia 

Uniform Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63).  

2. Provided their installation or operation has been 

approved by the state or local building or fire authorities, 

space heaters, such as but not limited to, wood burning 

stoves, coal burning stoves, and oil heaters, or portable 

heating units either vented or unvented, may be used only 

to provide or supplement heat in the event of a power 

failure or similar emergency. These appliances shall be 

used in accordance with the manufacturer's instructions.  

3. A temperature of at least 72°F shall be maintained in all 

areas used by residents during hours when residents are 

normally awake. During night hours, when residents are 

asleep, a temperature of at least 68°F shall be maintained. 

This standard applies unless otherwise mandated by federal 

or state authorities. 

Exception: The facility may allow the temperature in a 

bedroom in which only one resident resides, which has a 

thermostat in the room, to be controlled by the resident as 

long as the temperature does not endanger the health, 

safety, or welfare of the resident.  

C. Cooling.  

1. The facility shall provide in all buildings an air 

conditioning system for all areas used by residents, 

including residents' bedrooms and common areas. 

Temperatures in all areas used by residents shall not 

exceed 80°F. 

Exception: The facility may allow the temperature in a 

bedroom in which only one resident resides, which has a 

thermostat in the room, to be controlled by the resident as 

long as the temperature does not endanger the health, 

safety, or welfare of the resident.  

2. Any electric fans shall be screened and placed for the 

protection of the residents.  

D. The facility shall develop and implement a plan to protect 

residents from heat-related and cold- related illnesses in the 

event of loss of air-conditioning or heat due to emergency 

situations or malfunctioning or broken equipment.  

22VAC40-73-890. Lighting and lighting fixtures. 

A. Artificial lighting shall be by electricity.  

B. All interior and exterior areas shall be adequately lighted 

for the safety and comfort of residents and staff.  

C. Glare shall be kept at a minimum in rooms used by 

residents. When necessary to reduce glare, coverings shall be 

used for windows and lights.  

D. If used, fluorescent lights shall be replaced if they flicker 

or make noise.  

22VAC40-73-900. Sleeping areas. 

Resident sleeping quarters shall provide: 

1. For not less than 450 cubic feet of air space per resident; 

2. For square footage as provided in this subdivision: 

a. As of February 1, 1996, all buildings approved for 

construction or change in use and occupancy 

classification, as referenced in the Virginia 

Uniform Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63), shall 

have not less than 100 square feet of floor area in 

bedrooms accommodating one resident; otherwise not 

less than 80 square feet of floor area in bedrooms 

accommodating one resident shall be required. 

b. As of February 1, 1996, all buildings approved for 

construction or change in use and occupancy 

classification, as referenced in the Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code, shall have not less than 80 

square feet of floor area per person in bedrooms 

accommodating two or more residents; otherwise not less 

than 60 square feet of floor area per person in bedrooms 

accommodating two or more persons shall be required; 

3. For ceilings at least 7-1/2 feet in height; 

4. For window areas as provided in this subdivision: 

a. There shall be at least eight square feet of glazed 

window area in a room housing one person; and 

b. There shall be at least six square feet of glazed 

window area per person in rooms occupied by two or 

more persons; 

5. For occupancy as provided in this subdivision: 

a. As of December 28, 2006, in all buildings approved 

for construction or change in use and occupancy 

classification, as referenced in the Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63), there shall be no 

more than two residents residing in a bedroom. 

b. Unless the provisions of subdivision 5 a of this 

subsection apply, there shall be no more than four 

residents residing in a bedroom; 

6. For at least three feet of space between sides and ends of 

beds that are placed in the same room; 
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7. That no bedroom shall be used as a corridor to any other 

room; 

8. That all beds shall be placed only in bedrooms; and 

9. That household members and staff shall not share 

bedrooms with residents. 

22VAC40-73-910. Common rooms. 

As of October 9, 2001, buildings approved for construction 

or change in use and occupancy classification, as referenced 

in the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-

63), shall have a glazed window area above ground level in at 

least one of the common rooms (e.g., living room, 

multipurpose room, or dining room). The square footage of 

the glazed window area shall be at least 8.0% of the square 

footage of the floor area of the common room. 

22VAC40-73-920. Toilet, face/hand washing, and bathing 

facilities. 

A. In determining the number of toilets, face/hand washing 

sinks, bathtubs, or showers required, the total number of 

persons residing on the premises shall be considered. Unless 

there are separate facilities for household members or staff, 

they shall be counted in determining the required number of 

fixtures, except that for bathtubs or showers, the staff count 

shall include only live-in staff. 

1. As of December 28, 2006, in all buildings approved for 

construction or change in use and occupancy classification, 

as referenced in the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building 

Code (13VAC5-63), on each floor where there are 

residents' bedrooms, there shall be: 

a. At least one toilet for each four persons, or portion 

thereof; 

b. At least one face/hand washing sink for each four 

persons, or portion thereof; 

c. At least one bathtub or shower for each seven persons, 

or portion thereof; 

d. Toilets, face/hand washing sinks and bathtubs or 

showers in separate rooms for men and women where 

more than four persons live on a floor. Bathrooms 

equipped to accommodate more than one person at a time 

shall be labeled by gender. Gender designation of 

bathrooms shall remain constant during the course of a 

day. 

2. Unless the provisions of subdivision 1 of this subsection 

apply, on each floor where there are residents' bedrooms, 

there shall be: 

a. At least one toilet for each seven persons, or portion 

thereof; 

b. At least one face/hand washing sink for each seven 

persons, or portion thereof; 

c. At least one bathtub or shower for each 10 persons, or 

portion thereof; 

d. Toilets, face/hand washing sinks and bathtubs or 

showers in separate rooms for men and women where 

more than seven persons live on a floor. Bathrooms 

equipped to accommodate more than one person at a time 

shall be labeled by gender. Gender designation of 

bathrooms shall remain constant during the course of a 

day. 

3. As of December 28, 2006, in all buildings approved for 

construction or change in use and occupancy classification, 

as referenced in the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building 

Code, when residents' rooms are located on the same floor 

as the main living or dining area, in addition to the 

requirements of subdivision 1 of this subsection, there shall 

be at least one more toilet and face/hand washing sink, 

which is available for common use. The provisions of 

subdivision 4 c of this subsection shall also apply. 

4. On floors used by residents where there are no residents' 

bedrooms, there shall be: 

a. At least one toilet; 

b. At least one face/hand washing sink; 

c. Toilets and face/hand washing sinks in separate rooms 

for men and women in facilities where there are 10 or 

more residents. Bathrooms equipped to accommodate 

more than one person at a time shall be designated by 

gender. Gender designation of bathrooms must remain 

constant during the course of a day. 

B. Bathrooms shall provide for privacy for such activities as 

bathing, toileting, and dressing.  

C. There shall be ventilation to the outside in order to 

eliminate foul odors. 

D. The following sturdy safeguards shall be provided, with 

installation in compliance with the Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code: 

1. Handrails by bathtubs; 

2. Grab bars by toilets; and 

3. Handrails inside and stools available to stall showers. 

Exception: These safeguards shall be optional for 

individuals with independent living status. 

E. Bathtubs and showers shall have nonskid surfacing or 

strips. 

F. The face/hand washing sink shall be in the same room as 

the toilet or in an adjacent private area that is not part of a 

common use area of the assisted living facility. 

G. The assisted living facility shall provide private or 

common use toilet, face/hand washing, and bathing facilities 

to meet the needs of each resident. 

22VAC40-73-925. Toilet, face/hand washing, and bathing 

supplies. 

A. The facility shall have an adequate supply of toilet tissue 

and soap. Toilet tissue shall be accessible to each commode 
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and soap shall be accessible to each face/hand washing sink 

and each bathtub or shower. 

B. Common face/hand washing sinks shall have paper 

towels or an air dryer and liquid soap for hand washing. 

C. Residents may not share bar soap.  

D. The facility may not charge an additional amount for 

toilet paper, soap, paper towels, or use of an air dryer at 

common sinks and commodes. 

22VAC40-73-930. Provisions for signaling and call 

systems. 

A. All assisted living facilities shall have a signaling device 

that is easily accessible to the resident in his bedroom or in a 

connecting bathroom that alerts the direct care staff that the 

resident needs assistance. 

B. In buildings licensed to care for 20 or more residents 

under one roof, there shall be a signaling device that 

terminates at a central location that is continuously staffed 

and permits staff to determine the origin of the signal or is 

audible and visible in a manner that permits staff to determine 

the origin of the signal.  

C. In buildings licensed to care for 19 or fewer residents 

under one roof, if the signaling device does not permit staff to 

determine the origin of the signal as specified in subsection B 

of this section, direct care staff shall make rounds at least 

once each hour to monitor for emergencies or other 

unanticipated resident needs. These rounds shall begin when 

the majority of the residents have gone to bed each evening 

and shall terminate when the majority of the residents have 

arisen each morning, and shall be documented as follows: 

1. A written log shall be maintained showing the date and 

time rounds were made and the signature of the direct care 

staff member who made rounds. 

2. Logs for the past two years shall be retained. 

D. For each resident with an inability to use the signaling 

device, this inability shall be included in the resident's 

individualized service plan, indicating the need for 

monitoring for emergencies and other unanticipated needs. In 

addition to any other services, the plan shall specify a 

minimal frequency of rounds to be made by direct care staff 

and the method used to document that such rounds were 

made. Documentation of rounds shall be retained for two 

years. 

22VAC40-73-940. Fire safety: compliance with state 

regulations and local fire ordinances. 

A. An assisted living facility shall comply with the Virginia 

Statewide Fire Prevention Code (13VAC5-51) as determined 

by at least an annual inspection by the appropriate fire 

official. Reports of the inspections shall be retained at the 

facility for at least two years. 

B. An assisted living facility shall comply with any local fire 

ordinance. 

Part IX 

Emergency Preparedness 

22VAC40-73-950. Emergency preparedness and response 

plan. 

A. The facility shall develop a written emergency 

preparedness and response plan that shall address: 

1. Documentation of initial and annual contact with the 

local emergency coordinator to determine (i) local disaster 

risks, (ii) communitywide plans to address different 

disasters and emergency situations, and (iii) assistance, if 

any, that the local emergency management office will 

provide to the facility in an emergency. 

2. Analysis of the facility's potential hazards, including 

severe weather, fire, loss of utilities, flooding, work place 

violence or terrorism, severe injuries, or other emergencies 

that would disrupt normal operation of the facility. 

3. Written emergency management policies and procedures 

for provision of: 

a. Administrative direction and management of response 

activities; 

b. Coordination of logistics during the emergency; 

c. Communications; 

d. Life safety of residents, staff, volunteers, and visitors; 

e. Property protection; 

f. Continued services to residents; 

g. Community resource accessibility; and 

h. Recovery and restoration. 

4. Written emergency response procedures for assessing 

the situation; protecting residents, staff, volunteers, 

visitors, equipment, medications, and vital records; and 

restoring services. Emergency procedures shall address: 

a. Alerting emergency personnel and facility staff; 

b. Warning and notification of residents, including 

sounding of alarms when appropriate; 

c. Providing emergency access to secure areas and 

opening locked doors; 

d. Conducting evacuations and sheltering in place, as 

appropriate, and accounting for all residents; 

e. Locating and shutting off utilities when necessary; 

f. Maintaining and operating emergency equipment 

effectively and safely; 

g. Communicating with staff and community emergency 

responders during the emergency; and 

h. Conducting relocations to emergency shelters or 

alternative sites when necessary and accounting for all 

residents. 

5. Supporting documents that would be needed in an 

emergency, including emergency call lists, building and 

site maps necessary to shut off utilities, memoranda of 
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understanding with relocation sites, and list of major 

resources such as suppliers of emergency equipment. 

B. Staff and volunteers shall be knowledgeable in and 

prepared to implement the emergency preparedness plan in 

the event of an emergency. 

C. The facility shall develop and implement an orientation 

and quarterly review on the emergency preparedness and 

response plan for all staff, residents, and volunteers, with 

emphasis placed on an individual’s respective 

responsibilities. The orientation and review shall cover 

responsibilities for:  

1. Alerting emergency personnel and sounding alarms;  

2. Implementing evacuation, shelter in place, and 

relocation procedures;  

3. Using, maintaining, and operating emergency 

equipment;  

4. Accessing emergency medical information, equipment, 

and medications for residents;  

5. Locating and shutting off utilities; and  

6. Utilizing community support services.  

D. The facility shall review the emergency preparedness 

plan annually or more often as needed and make necessary 

revisions. Such revisions shall be communicated to staff, 

residents, and volunteers and incorporated into the orientation 

and quarterly review for staff, residents, and volunteers.  

E. In the event of a disaster, fire, emergency, or any other 

condition that may jeopardize the health, safety, and welfare 

of residents, the facility shall take appropriate action to 

protect the health, safety, and welfare of the residents and 

take appropriate actions to remedy the conditions as soon as 

possible.  

F. After the disaster or emergency is stabilized, the facility 

shall: 

1. Notify family members and legal representatives; and 

2. Report the disaster or emergency to the regional 

licensing office by the next day as specified in 22VAC40-

73-70. 

22VAC40-73-960. Fire and emergency evacuation plan. 

A. Assisted living facilities shall have a written plan for fire 

and emergency evacuation that is to be followed in the event 

of a fire or other emergency. The plan shall be approved by 

the appropriate fire official.  

B. A fire and emergency evacuation drawing shall be posted 

in a conspicuous place on each floor of each building used by 

residents. The drawing shall show primary and secondary 

escape routes, areas of refuge, assembly areas, telephones, 

fire alarm boxes, and fire extinguishers, as appropriate.  

C. The telephone numbers for the fire department, rescue 

squad or ambulance, police, and Poison Control Center shall 

be posted by each telephone shown on the fire and emergency 

evacuation plan. 

D. In assisted living facilities where all outgoing telephone 

calls must be placed through a central switchboard located on 

the premises, the information required in subsection C of this 

section may be posted by the switchboard rather than by each 

telephone, provided this switchboard is manned 24 hours 

each day.  

E. Staff and volunteers shall be fully informed of the 

approved fire and emergency evacuation plan, including their 

duties, and the location and operation of fire extinguishers, 

fire alarm boxes, and any other available emergency 

equipment. 

22VAC40-73-970. Fire and emergency evacuation drills. 

A. Fire and emergency evacuation drill frequency and 

participation shall be in accordance with the current edition of 

the Virginia Statewide Fire Prevention Code (13VAC5-51). 

The drills required for each shift in a quarter shall not be 

conducted in the same month. 

B. Additional fire and emergency evacuation drills may be 

held at the discretion of the administrator or licensing 

inspector and must be held when there is any reason to 

question whether the requirements of the approved fire and 

emergency evacuation plan can be met. 

C. Each required fire and emergency evacuation drill shall 

be unannounced. 

D. Immediately following each required fire and emergency 

evacuation drill, there shall be an evaluation of the drill by the 

staff in order to determine the effectiveness of the drill. The 

licensee or administrator shall immediately correct any 

problems identified in the evaluation and document the 

corrective action taken, 

E. A record of the required fire and emergency evacuation 

drills shall be kept in the facility for two years. Such record 

shall include: 

1. Identity of the person conducting the drill; 

2. The date and time of the drill; 

3. The method used for notification of the drill; 

4. The number of staff participating; 

5. The number of residents participating; 

6. Any special conditions simulated;  

7. The time it took to complete the drill; 

8. Weather conditions; and 

9. Problems encountered, if any. 

22VAC40-73-980. Emergency equipment and supplies. 

A. A complete first aid kit shall be on hand at the facility, 

located in a designated place that is easily accessible to staff 

but not to residents. Items with expiration dates must not have 

dates that have already passed. The kit shall include, but not 

be limited to, the following items:  

1. Adhesive tape;  

2.Antibiotic cream or ointment packets; 
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3. Antiseptic wipes or ointment; 

4. Band-aids, in assorted sizes; 

5. Blankets, either disposable or other; 

6. Disposable single-use breathing barriers or shields for 

use with rescue breathing or CPR (e.g., CPR mask or other 

type); 

7. Cold pack; 

8. Disposable single-use waterproof gloves; 

9. Gauze pads and roller gauze, in assorted sizes; 

10 . Hand cleaner (e.g., waterless hand sanitizer or 

antiseptic towelettes); 

11. Plastic bags; 

12. Scissors; 

13. Small flashlight and extra batteries; 

14. Thermometer; 

15. Triangular bandages; 

16. Tweezers;  

17. 81-milligram aspirin in single packets or small bottle; 

and 

18. The first aid instructional manual. 

B. In facilities that have a motor vehicle that is used to 

transport residents and in a motor vehicle used for a field trip, 

there shall be a first aid kit on the vehicle, located in a 

designated place that is accessible to staff but not residents 

that includes items as specified in subsection A of this 

section. 

C. First aid kits shall be checked at least monthly to assure 

that all items are present and items with expiration dates are 

not past their expiration date. 

D. Each facility with six or more residents shall be equipped 

with a permanent connection able to connect to a temporary 

emergency electrical power source for the provision of 

electricity during an interruption of the normal electric power 

supply. The connection shall be of the size that is capable of 

providing power to required circuits when connected and that 

is sufficient to implement the emergency preparedness and 

response plan. The installation of a connection for temporary 

electric power shall be in compliance with the Virginia 

Uniform Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63) and 

approved by the local building official. Permanent 

installations of emergency power systems shall be acceptable 

when installed in accordance with the Uniform Statewide 

Building Code and approved by the local building official. 

E. The following emergency lighting shall be available: 

1. Flashlights or battery lanterns for general use. 

2. One flashlight or battery lantern for each employee 

directly responsible for resident care. 

3. One flashlight or battery lantern for each bedroom used 

by residents and for the living and dining area unless there 

is a provision for emergency lighting in the adjoining 

hallways. 

4. The use of open flame lighting is prohibited. 

F. There shall be two forms of communication for use in an 

emergency. 

G. The facility shall ensure the availability of a 96-hour 

supply of emergency food and drinking water. At least 48 

hours of the supply must be on site at any given time.  

22VAC40-73-990. Plan for resident emergencies and 

practice exercise. 

A. Assisted living facilities shall have a written plan for 

resident emergencies that includes: 

1. Procedures for handling medical emergencies, including 

identifying the staff person responsible for (i) calling the 

rescue squad, ambulance service, resident's physician, or 

Poison Control Center; and (ii) providing first aid and 

CPR, when indicated. 

2. Procedures for handling mental health emergencies such 

as, but not limited to, catastrophic reaction or the need for 

a temporary detention order. 

3. Procedures for making pertinent medical information 

and history available to the rescue squad and hospital, 

including but not limited to, information on medications 

and advance directives. 

4. Procedures to be followed in the event that a resident is 

missing, including but not limited to (i) involvement of 

facility staff, appropriate law-enforcement agency, and 

others as needed; (ii) areas to be searched; (iii) 

expectations upon locating the resident; and (iv) 

documentation of the event. 

5. Procedures for notifying the resident's family, legal 

representative, designated contact person, and any 

responsible social agency. 

6. Procedures for notifying the regional licensing office as 

specified in 22VAC40-73-70. 

B. At least once every six months, all staff on each shift 

shall participate in an exercise in which the procedures for 

resident emergencies are practiced. Documentation of each 

exercise shall be maintained in the facility for at least two 

years. 

C. The plan for resident emergencies shall be readily 

available to all staff. 

Part X 

Additional Requirements for Facilities that Care for Adults 

with Serious Cognitive Impairments  

Article 1 

Subjectivity 

22VAC40-73-1000. Subjectivity. 

All facilities that care for residents with serious cognitive 

impairments due to a primary psychiatric diagnosis of 

dementia who cannot recognize danger or protect their own 
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safety and welfare shall be subject to either Article 2 

(22VAC40-73-1010 et seq.) or Article 3 (22VAC40-73-1080 

et seq.) of this part. All facilities that care for residents with 

serious cognitive impairments due to any other diagnosis who 

cannot recognize danger or protect their own safety and 

welfare shall be subject to Article 2 of this part.  

Article 2 

Mixed Population 

22VAC40-73-1010. Applicability. 

The requirements in this article apply when there is a mixed 

population consisting of any combination of (i) residents who 

have serious cognitive impairments due to a primary 

psychiatric diagnosis of dementia who are unable to 

recognize danger or protect their own safety and welfare and 

who are not in a special care unit as provided for in Article 3 

(22VAC40-73-1080 et seq.) of this part; (ii) residents who 

have serious cognitive impairments due to any other 

diagnosis who cannot recognize danger or protect their own 

safety and welfare; and (iii) other residents. The requirements 

in this article also apply when all the residents have serious 

cognitive impairments due to any diagnosis other than a 

primary psychiatric diagnosis of dementia and cannot 

recognize danger or protect their own safety and welfare. 

Except for special care units covered by Article 3 of this part, 

these requirements apply to the entire facility unless specified 

otherwise. 

22VAC40-73-1020. Staffing. 

A. When residents are present, there shall be at least two 

direct care staff members awake and on duty at all times in 

each building who shall be responsible for the care and 

supervision of the residents.   

B. During trips away from the facility, there shall be 

sufficient direct care staff to provide sight and sound 

supervision to all residents who cannot recognize danger or 

protect their own safety and welfare. 

Exception: The requirements of subsections A and B of this 

section do not apply when facilities are licensed for 10 or 

fewer residents if no more than three of the residents have 

serious cognitive impairments. Each prospective resident or 

his legal representative shall be notified of this exception 

prior to admission. 

22VAC40-73-1030. Staff training. 

A. Commencing immediately upon employment and within 

three months, the administrator shall attend 12 hours of 

training in working with individuals who have a cognitive 

impairment, and the training shall meet the requirements of 

subsection C of this section.  

1. Training in cognitive impairment that meets the 

requirements of subsection C of this section and was 

completed in the year prior to employment is transferable 

and counts toward the required 12 hours if there is 

documentation of the training. 

2. Whether the training counts toward continuing education 

for administrator licensure and for what period of time 

depends upon the licensure requirements of the Virginia 

Board of Long-Term Care Administrators. 

B. Commencing immediately upon employment and within 

four months, direct care staff shall attend six hours of training 

in working with individuals who have a cognitive 

impairment, and the training shall meet the requirements of 

subsection C of this section.  

1. The six-hour training received within the first four 

months of employment is counted toward the annual 

training requirement for the first year.  

2. Training in cognitive impairment that meets the 

requirements of subsection C of this section and was 

completed in the year prior to employment is transferable 

if there is documentation of the training.  

3. The documented previous cognitive impairment training 

referenced in subdivision 2 of this subsection is counted 

toward the required six hours but not toward the annual 

training requirement. 

C. Curriculum for the training in cognitive impairment for 

direct care staff and administrators shall be developed by a 

qualified health professional or by a licensed social worker, 

shall be relevant to the population in care, shall maximize the 

level of a resident's functional ability, and shall include, but 

need not be limited to: 

1. Information about cognitive impairment, including areas 

such as cause, progression, behaviors, and management of 

the condition; 

2. Communicating with the resident; 

3. Resident care techniques for persons with physical, 

cognitive, behavioral, and social disabilities; 

4. Managing dysfunctional behavior;  

5. Creating a therapeutic environment; 

6. Planning and facilitating activities appropriate for each 

resident; and 

7. Identifying and alleviating safety risks to residents with 

cognitive impairment. 

D. Within the first month of employment, staff, other than 

the administrator and direct care staff, shall complete two 

hours of training on the nature and needs of residents with 

cognitive impairments relevant to the population in care. 

22VAC40-73-1040. Doors and windows. 

A. Doors leading to the outside shall have a system of 

security monitoring of residents with serious cognitive 

impairments, such as door alarms, cameras, constant staff 

oversight, security bracelets that are part of an alarm system, 

or delayed egress mechanisms. Residents with serious 

cognitive impairments may be limited but not prohibited from 

exiting the facility or any part thereof. Before limiting any 

resident from freely leaving the facility, the resident's record 

shall reflect the behavioral observations or other bases for 
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determining that the resident has a serious cognitive 

impairment and cannot recognize danger or protect his own 

safety and welfare. 

B. There shall be protective devices on the bedroom and the 

bathroom windows of residents with serious cognitive 

impairments and on windows in common areas accessible to 

these residents to prevent the windows from being opened 

wide enough for a resident to crawl through. The protective 

devices on the windows shall be in conformance with the 

Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63).  

22VAC40-73-1050. Outdoor access. 

A. The facility shall have a secured outdoor area for the 

residents' use or provide direct care staff supervision while 

residents with serious cognitive impairments are outside. 

B. Weather permitting, residents with serious cognitive 

impairments shall be reminded of the opportunity to be 

outdoors on a daily basis,  

22VAC40-73-1060. Indoor walking area. 

The facility shall provide to residents free access to an 

indoor walking corridor or other indoor area that may be used 

for walking. 

22VAC40-73-1070. Environmental precautions. 

A. Special environmental precautions shall be taken by the 

facility to eliminate hazards to the safety and well-being of 

residents with serious cognitive impairments.  Examples of 

environmental precautions include signs, carpet patterns and 

arrows that point the way, and reduction of background noise. 

B. When there are indications that ordinary materials or 

objects may be harmful to a resident with a serious cognitive 

impairment, these materials or objects shall be inaccessible to 

the resident except under staff supervision. 

Article 3 

Safe, Secure Environment 

22VAC40-73-1080. Applicability. 

A. In order to be admitted or retained in a safe, secure 

environment as defined in 22VAC40-73-10, except as 

provided in subsection B of this section, a resident must have 

a serious cognitive impairment due to a primary psychiatric 

diagnosis of dementia and be unable to recognize danger or 

protect his own safety and welfare. The requirements in this 

article apply when such residents reside in a safe, secure 

environment. These requirements apply only to the safe, 

secure environment.  

B. A resident's spouse, parent, adult sibling, or adult child 

who otherwise would not meet the criteria to reside in a safe, 

secure environment may reside in the special care unit if the 

spouse, parent, sibling, or child so requests in writing, the 

facility agrees in writing, and the resident, if capable of 

making the decision, agrees in writing. The written request 

and agreements must be maintained in the resident's file. The 

spouse, parent, sibling, or child is considered a resident of the 

facility and as such this chapter applies. The requirements of 

this article do not apply for the spouse, parent, adult sibling, 

or adult child since the individual does not have a serious 

cognitive impairment due to a primary psychiatric diagnosis 

of dementia with an inability to recognize danger or protect 

his own safety and welfare. 

22VAC40-73-1090. Assessment. 

A. Prior to his admission to a safe, secure environment, the 

resident shall have been assessed by an independent clinical 

psychologist licensed to practice in the Commonwealth or by 

an independent physician as having a serious cognitive 

impairment due to a primary psychiatric diagnosis of 

dementia with an inability to recognize danger or protect his 

own safety and welfare. The physician shall be board certified 

or board eligible in a specialty or subspecialty relevant to the 

diagnosis and treatment of serious cognitive impairments 

(e.g., family practice, geriatrics, internal medicine, neurology, 

neurosurgery, or psychiatry). The assessment shall be in 

writing and shall include, but not be limited to the following 

areas: 

1. Cognitive functions (e.g., orientation, comprehension, 

problem-solving, attention and concentration, memory, 

intelligence, abstract reasoning, judgment, and insight); 

2. Thought and perception (e.g., process and content); 

3. Mood/affect; 

4. Behavior/psychomotor; 

5. Speech/language; and 

6. Appearance. 

B. The assessment required in subsection A of this section 

shall be maintained in the resident's record. 

22VAC40-73-1100. Approval. 

A. Prior to placing a resident with a serious cognitive 

impairment due to a primary psychiatric diagnosis of 

dementia in a safe, secure environment, the facility shall 

obtain the written approval of one of the following persons, in 

the following order of priority: 

1. The resident, if capable of making an informed decision; 

2. A guardian or other legal representative for the resident 

if one has been appointed; 

3. A relative who is willing and able to take responsibility 

to act as the resident's representative, in the following 

specified order: (i) spouse, (ii) adult child, (iii) parent, (iv) 

adult sibling, (v) adult grandchild, (vi) adult niece or 

nephew, (vii) aunt or uncle; or 

4. If the resident is not capable of making an informed 

decision and a guardian, legal representative, or relative is 

unavailable, an independent physician who is skilled and 

knowledgeable in the diagnosis and treatment of dementia. 

B. The obtained written approval shall be retained in the 

resident's file. 
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C. The facility shall document that the order of priority 

specified in subsection A of this section was followed, and 

the documentation shall be retained in the resident's file. 

D. As soon as one of the persons in the order as prioritized 

in subsection A of this section disapproves of placement or 

retention in the safe, secure environment, then the assisted 

living facility shall not place or retain the resident or 

prospective resident in the special care unit. If the resident is 

not to be retained in the unit, the discharge requirements 

specified in 22VAC40-73-430 apply. 

22VAC40-73-1110. Appropriateness of placement and 

continued residence. 

A. Prior to admitting a resident with a serious cognitive 

impairment due to a primary psychiatric diagnosis of 

dementia to a safe, secure environment, the licensee, 

administrator, or designee shall determine whether placement 

in the special care unit is appropriate. The determination and 

justification for the decision shall be in writing and shall be 

retained in the resident's file.  

B. Six months after placement of the resident in the safe, 

secure environment and annually thereafter, the licensee, 

administrator, or designee shall perform a review of the 

appropriateness of each resident's continued residence in the 

special care unit. 

C. Whenever warranted by a change in a resident's 

condition, the licensee, administrator, or designee shall also 

perform a review of the appropriateness of continued 

residence in the unit. 

D. The reviews specified in subsections B and C of this 

section shall be performed in consultation with the following 

persons, as appropriate:  

1. The resident;  

2. A responsible family member;  

3. A guardian or other legal representative;  

4. A designated contact person;  

5. Direct care staff who provide care and supervision to the 

resident;  

6. The resident's mental health provider;  

7. The licensed health care professional required in 

22VAC40-73-490;  

8. The resident's physician; and  

9. Any other professional involved with the resident.  

E. The licensee, administrator, or designee shall make a 

determination as to whether continued residence in the special 

care unit is appropriate at the time of each review required by 

subsections B and C of this section. The determination and 

justification for the decision shall be in writing and shall be 

retained in the resident's file. 

22VAC40-73-1120. Activities. 

A. In addition to the requirements of this section, all the 

requirements of 22VAC40-73-520 apply to safe, secure 

environments, except for 22VAC40-73-520 C and E.  

B. There shall be at least 21 hours of scheduled activities 

available to the residents each week for no less than two 

hours each day.  

C. If appropriate to meet the needs of the resident with a 

short attention span, there shall be multiple short activities. 

D. Staff shall regularly encourage residents to participate in 

activities and provide guidance and assistance, as needed. 

E. As appropriate, residents shall be encouraged to 

participate in supervised activities or programs outside the 

special care unit. 

F. There shall be a designated staff person responsible for 

managing or coordinating the structured activities program. 

This staff person shall be on site in the special care unit at 

least 20 hours a week, shall maintain personal interaction 

with the residents and familiarity with their needs and 

interests, and shall meet at least one of the following 

qualifications: 

1. Be a qualified therapeutic recreation specialist or an 

activities professional; 

2. Be eligible for certification as a therapeutic recreation 

specialist or an activities professional by a recognized 

accrediting body; 

3. Have one year full-time work experience within the last 

five years in an activities program in an adult care setting; 

4. Be a qualified occupational therapist or an occupational 

therapy assistant; or 

5. Prior to or within six months of employment, have 

successfully completed 40 hours of department-approved 

training in adult group activities and in recognizing and 

assessing the activity needs of residents. 

The required 20 hours on site does not have to be devoted 

solely to managing or coordinating activities; neither is it 

required that the person responsible for managing or 

coordinating the activities program conduct the activities. 

22VAC40-73-1130. Staffing. 

A. When residents are present, there shall be at least two 

direct care staff members awake and on duty at all times on 

each floor in each special care unit who shall be responsible 

for the care and supervision of the residents, except as 

provided in subsection B of this section. This requirement is 

independent of 22VAC40-73-280 D and 22VAC40-73-1020 

A. 

B. Only one direct care staff member has to be awake and 

on duty in the unit if sufficient to meet the needs of the 

residents, if (i) there are no more than five residents present in 

the unit and (ii) there are at least two other direct care staff 

members in the building, one of whom is readily available to 

assist with emergencies in the special care unit, provided that 
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supervision necessary to ensure the health, safety, and welfare 

of residents throughout the building is not compromised. 

C. During trips away from the facility, there shall be 

sufficient direct care staff to provide sight and sound 

supervision to residents. 

22VAC40-73-1140. Staff training. 

A. Commencing immediately upon employment and within 

three months, the administrator shall attend at least 12 hours 

of training in cognitive impairment that meets the 

requirements of subsection C of this section. 

1. Training in cognitive impairment that meets the 

requirements of subsection C of this section and was 

completed in the year prior to employment is transferable 

and counts toward the required 12 hours if there is 

documentation of the training. 

2. Whether the training counts toward continuing education 

for administrator licensure and for what period of time 

depends upon the licensure requirements of the Virginia 

Board of Long-Term Care Administrators. 

B. Commencing immediately upon employment in the safe, 

secure environment and within four months, direct care staff 

shall attend at least 10 hours of training in cognitive 

impairment that meets the requirements of subsection C of 

this section.  

1. The training is counted toward the annual training 

requirement for the first year.  

2. Training in cognitive impairment that meets the 

requirements of subsection C of this section and was 

completed in the year prior to employment is transferable 

if there is documentation of the training.  

3. The documented previous cognitive impairment training 

referenced in subdivision 2 of this subsection is counted 

toward the required 10 hours but not toward the annual 

training requirement. 

C. The training in cognitive impairment required by 

subsections A and B of this section shall be relevant to the 

population in care, shall maximize the level of a resident's 

functional ability, and shall include, but not be limited to, the 

following topics: 

1. Information about cognitive impairment, including areas 

such as cause, progression, behaviors, and management of 

the condition; 

2. Communicating with the resident; 

3. Resident care techniques for persons with physical, 

cognitive, behavioral, and social disabilities; 

4. Managing dysfunctional behavior;  

5.Creating a therapeutic environment; 

6. Planning and facilitating activities appropriate for each 

resident; and  

7. Identifying and alleviating safety risks to residents with 

cognitive impairment. 

D. The training specified in subsection C of this section 

shall be developed and provided by: 

1. A licensed health care professional practicing within the 

scope of his profession who has at least 12 hours of 

training in the care of individuals with cognitive 

impairments due to dementia; or 

2. A person who has been approved by the department to 

develop or provide the training. 

E. Within the first month of employment, staff, other than 

the administrator and direct care staff, who will have contact 

with residents in the special care unit shall complete two 

hours of training on the nature and needs of residents with 

cognitive impairments due to dementia. 

22VAC40-73-1150. Doors and windows. 

A. Doors that lead to unprotected areas shall be monitored 

or secured through devices that conform to applicable 

building and fire codes, including but not limited to, door 

alarms, cameras, constant staff oversight, security bracelets 

that are part of an alarm system, pressure pads at doorways, 

delayed egress mechanisms, locking devices, or perimeter 

fence gates. Residents who reside in safe, secure 

environments may be prohibited from exiting the facility or 

the special care unit, if applicable building and fire codes are 

met. 

B. There shall be protective devices on the bedroom and 

bathroom windows of residents and on windows in common 

areas accessible to residents to prevent the windows from 

being opened wide enough for a resident to crawl through. 

The protective devices on the windows shall be in 

conformance with the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building 

Code (13VAC5-63).  

22VAC40-73-1160. Outdoor access. 

A. The facility shall have a secured outdoor area for the 

residents' use or provide direct care staff supervision while 

residents are outside. 

B. Residents shall be given the opportunity to be outdoors 

on a daily basis, weather permitting. 

22VAC40-73-1170. Indoor walking area. 

The facility shall provide to residents free access to an 

indoor walking corridor or other indoor area that may be used 

for walking. 

22VAC40-73-1180. Environmental precautions. 

A. Special environmental precautions shall be taken by the 

facility to eliminate hazards to the safety and well-being of 

residents. Examples of environmental precautions include 

signs, carpet patterns and arrows that point the way, high 

visual contrast between floors and walls, and reduction of 

background noise. 

B. When there are indications that ordinary materials or 

objects may be harmful to a resident, these materials or 

objects shall be inaccessible to the resident except under staff 

supervision. 
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C. Special environmental enhancements, tailored to the 

population in care, shall be provided by the facility to enable 

residents to maximize their independence and to promote 

their dignity in comfortable surroundings. Examples of 

environmental enhancements include memory boxes, activity 

centers, rocking chairs, and visual contrast between plates and 

eating utensils and the table. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (22VAC40-73) 

Report of Tuberculosis Screening 

Virginia Department of Health Report of Tuberculosis 

Screening Form (eff. 3/2011) 

Virginia Department of Health TB Control Program TB 

Risk Assessment Form, TB 512 (eff. 5/2011) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3227; Filed August 5, 2015, 1:42 p.m.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=42f54003227~1&typ=40&actno=003227&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fa5d2003227~2&typ=40&actno=003227&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fa5d2003227~2&typ=40&actno=003227&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ba55b003227~3&typ=40&actno=003227&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ba55b003227~3&typ=40&actno=003227&mime=application/pdf
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

State Implementation Plan Revision 
Major New Source Review Program Regulations 

(9VAC5-80, Revision D14) 

Notice of action: The Department of Environmental Quality 

(DEQ) is announcing an opportunity for public comment on a 

proposed revision to the Commonwealth of Virginia State 

Implementation Plan (SIP). The SIP is a plan developed by 

the Commonwealth in order to fulfill its responsibilities under 

the federal Clean Air Act to attain and maintain the ambient 

air quality standards promulgated by the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency (EPA) under the Act. The Commonwealth 

intends to submit the regulation to EPA as a revision to the 

SIP in accordance with the requirements of § 110(a) of the 

federal Clean Air Act. 

Regulations affected: Article 8, Permits for Major Stationary 

Sources and Major Modifications Locating in Prevention of 

Significant Deterioration Areas (9VAC5-80-1605 et seq.) and 

Article 9, Permits for Major Stationary Sources and Major 

Modifications Locating in Nonattainment Areas or the Ozone 

Transport Region (9VAC5-80-2000 et seq.) of Part II of 

9VAC5-80, Permits for Stationary Sources, (Revision D14). 

Purpose of notice: DEQ is seeking comment on the issue of 

whether the regulation amendments should be submitted as a 

revision to the SIP. 

Public comment period: 30 Day Comment Forum September 

7, 2015, through midnight on October 7, 2015. 

Public hearing: A public hearing may be conducted if a 

request is made in writing to the contact listed at the end of 

this notice. In order to be considered, the request must include 

the full name, address, and telephone number of the person 

requesting the hearing and be received by DEQ by the last 

day of the comment period. Notice of the date, time, and 

location of any requested public hearing will be announced in 

a separate notice, and another 30-day comment period will be 

conducted. 

Public comment stage: Because the amendments have been 

adopted and are exempt from administrative procedures for 

the adoption of regulations, DEQ is accepting comment only 

on the issue cited under "purpose of notice" and not on the 

content of the regulation amendments. 

Description of proposal: The purpose of the action is to 

amend the major new source review (NSR) program 

regulations such that certain provisions are consistent with 

EPA regulations. These amendments are needed in order for 

the program to operate more effectively and to encourage the 

implementation of projects that are more protective of air 

quality. The following specific changes have been made: (i) 

The definition of "baseline actual emissions" was amended to 

extend the lookback period from five to 10 years. (ii) The 

definition of "baseline actual emissions" was amended to 

enable different lookback periods for different regulated NSR 

pollutants. (iii) The regulations were amended to increase the 

plantwide applicability limit (PAL) effective period from five 

to 10 years. (iv) The definitions of "emissions unit" were 

amended and a definition of "replacement unit" was added in 

order to enable use of the baseline actual emissions of the unit 

being replaced and the projected actual emissions of the 

replacement unit. 

Federal information: This notice is being given to satisfy the 

public participation requirements of federal regulations 

(40 CFR 51.102) and not any provision of state law. The 

proposal will be submitted as a revision to the 

Commonwealth of Virginia SIP under § 110(a) of the federal 

Clean Air Act in accordance with 40 CFR 51.104. It is 

planned to submit all provisions of the proposal as a revision 

to the SIP. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 

fax, and postal mail. In order to be considered, comments 

must include the full name, address, and telephone number of 

the person commenting and be received by DEQ by the last 

day of the comment period. All materials received are part of 

the public record. 

To review regulation documents: The proposal and 

supporting documents are available on the DEQ Air Public 

Notices for Plans website at 
http://www.deq.state.va.us/Programs/Air/PublicNotices/airpla

nsandprograms.aspx. The documents may also be obtained by 

contacting the DEQ representative named below. The public 

may review the documents between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. 

of each business day until the close of the public comment 

period at the following DEQ locations:  

1) Main Street Office, 8th Floor, 629 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA, telephone (804) 698-4070,  

2) Southwest Regional Office, 355 Deadmore Street, 

Abingdon, VA, telephone (276) 676-4800,  

3) Blue Ridge Regional Office, Roanoke Location, 3019 

Peters Creek Road, Roanoke, VA, telephone (540) 562-

6700,  

4) Blue Ridge Regional Office, Lynchburg Location, 7705 

Timberlake Road, Lynchburg, VA, telephone (434) 582-

5120,  

5) Valley Regional Office, 4411 Early Road, Harrisonburg, 

VA, telephone (540) 574-7800,  

6) Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen 

Allen, VA, telephone (804) 527-5020,  

7) Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, 

Woodbridge, VA, telephone (703) 583-3800, and  

8) Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Boulevard, 

Virginia Beach, VA, telephone (757) 518-2000. 

http://townhall.virginia.gov/l/comments.cfm?GeneralNoticeid=562
http://www.deq.state.va.us/Programs/Air/PublicNotices/airplansandprograms.aspx
http://www.deq.state.va.us/Programs/Air/PublicNotices/airplansandprograms.aspx
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Contact Information: Karen G. Sabasteanski, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4426, FAX (804) 

698-4510, or email karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov. 

BOARD FOR BARBERS AND COSMETOLOGY 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Board for Barbers and 

Cosmetology is currently reviewing each of the regulations 

listed below to determine whether the regulation should be 

repealed, amended, or retained in its current form. The review 

of each regulation will be guided by the principles in 

Executive Order 17 (2014). Public comment is sought on the 

review of any issue relating to each regulation, including 

whether the regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of 

public health, safety, and welfare or for the economical 

performance of important governmental functions; (ii) 

minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 

manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable 

law; and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable. 

18VAC41-11, Public Participation Guidelines 

18VAC41-20, Barbering and Cosmetology 

18VAC41-40, Wax Technician Regulations 

18VAC41-50, Tattooing Regulations 

18VAC41-60, Body-Piercing Regulations 

18VAC41-70, Esthetics Regulations 

The comment period begins September 7, 2015, and ends 

September 28, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Demetrios J. Melis, Executive Director, 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 

telephone (804) 367-8590, FAX (804) 527-4295, or email 

barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Town Hall, and a report of the small business 

impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Notice of Public Comment Period Regarding the 
Clean Power Plan 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) is 

announcing an informal public comment period on the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Clean Power Plan. 

The plan has been established to cut carbon emissions 

(greenhouse gases) from existing power plants that generate 

electricity from fossil fuels. These new EPA rules may have a 

significant impact on the Commonwealth. Therefore, prior to 

taking any formal action, DEQ is gathering general input 

from the public to help inform the Commonwealth's review 

and implementation of EPA's final rules for existing power 

plants (see implement EPA's emission guidelines for existing 

power plants on EPA's website at 

http://www2.epa.gov/carbon-pollution-standards). 

In addition to receiving general input from the public, the 

Commonwealth is also interested in identifying and collecting 

input from vulnerable and overburdened communities. These 

communities include low-income communities, communities 

of color, areas where people are most vulnerable to climate 

change, and communities where economies may be affected 

by changes in the utility power and related sectors. 

How to comment to DEQ: Email written comments to 

ghg@deq.virginia.gov, send a FAX to (804) 698-4510, or 

send postal mail to the Air Division, Department of 

Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 

23218, from August 13, 2015, to October 13, 2015. Please 

provide your full name, address, and telephone number. Note 

that there is no formal Commonwealth proposal available for 

comment at this time, and DEQ will not be preparing a 

response to comments. 

Public listening sessions: DEQ will meet informally with the 

public to receive public input on the best way for Virginia to 

implement EPA's carbon reduction plan for existing power 

plants at a series of listening sessions around the state. The 

only topic under consideration will be the plan for existing 

power plants. These listening sessions are only for receiving 

input from the public, and there will be no formal 

presentations from DEQ. The dates and times of these 

listening sessions will be announced shortly. 

Federal information: EPA has also issued two other rules for 

the control of carbon dioxide (CO2) from power plants: 

• Final new source performance standard for new power 

plants. 

• Proposed federal plan and model rule for existing power 

plants. This rule is open for public comment; follow EPA's 

instructions in the preamble to the rule. 

Learn more about these rules on EPA's website at 

http://www2.epa.gov/carbon-pollution-standards. 

Virginia information: DEQ has established a web page with 

information about Virginia's actions for meeting the federal 

requirements at 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Air/GreenhouseGasPl

an.aspx. This page will be updated periodically as new 

information and opportunities for public comment become 

available. 

http://www2.epa.gov/carbon-pollution-standards
http://www2.epa.gov/carbon-pollution-standards
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Air/GreenhouseGasPlan.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Air/GreenhouseGasPlan.aspx
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Contact Information: Air Division, 629 East Main Street, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, email 

ghg@deq.virginia.gov, FAX (804) 698-4510. 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH AND DEPARTMENT OF 
MEDICAL ASSISTANCE SERVICES 

Notice of Request for Certificate of Public Need 
Applications for Development of Additional Nursing 

Home Beds Planning Target Year 2017 

Legal Notice of Request for Certificate of Public Need 

Applications: Pursuant to the authority vested in the State 

Board of Health (board) and the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services (DMAS) by § 32.1-102.3:2 of the Code 

of Virginia, notice is hereby given of the proposed issuance of 

a request for applications (RFA). This RFA would be a 

request for certificate of public need (COPN) applications for 

projects that would result in an increase in the number of beds 

in which nursing home services are provided in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. The RFA process is outlined in 

12VAC5-220-335 of the Virginia Medical Care Facilities 

Certificate of Public Need Rules and Regulations. 

Eligible Planning District and Total Nursing Home Beds 

Available for Authorization: In the review cycle that would 

be established by this RFA upon issuance of the final notice, 

the State Health Commissioner will consider requests for 

COPNs that propose an increase in nursing home beds in the 

planning district (PD) identified below and that propose an 

increase in beds no greater than the number of available beds 

shown below for that planning district. COPN requests that 

propose an increase in nursing home beds in any other 

planning district not identified below or propose an increase 

in beds greater than the number of available beds shown 

below for the eligible planning district will not be accepted 

for review. 

Planning District 18, also known as the Middle Peninsula 

Planning District, consisting of the Counties of Essex, 

Gloucester, King and Queen, King William, Matthews, and 

Middlesex. 

Total nursing home beds available for authorization: 30. 

Evaluation of Need for Additional Nursing Home Beds: The 

"Nursing Facilities" component of the Virginia State Medical 

Facilities Plan (SMFP) contains a nursing home bed need 

forecasting method (12VAC5-230-610). This method has 

been employed by the Virginia Department of Health to 

compute a forecast of needed nursing home beds in 2017 in 

each of Virginia's 22 planning districts.
1
 

Consistent with the Virginia State Medical Facilities Plan 

(12VAC5-230-610 A), no planning district is considered to 

have a need for additional nursing home beds unless the 

average annual occupancy of all existing Medicaid-certified 

nursing home beds in the planning district was at least 93%, 

excluding the bed inventory and utilization of the Virginia 

Veterans Care Centers. For purposes of this document, the 

annual occupancy of Medicaid-certified nursing home beds 

was determined from filings with Virginia Health Information 

made by Virginia nursing homes covering their fiscal year 

ending in 2012. 

Also, no planning district will be considered to have a need 

for additional nursing home beds if there are uncompleted 

new nursing home beds, for which Medicaid certification will 

be sought, that were authorized for the planning district 

within the three years prior to this notice of a proposed RFA. 

The following table displays, by planning district, the nursing 

home gross bed need forecast for 2017, the current licensed 

bed inventory plus uncompleted COPN-authorized additions 

of nursing home beds, and the net bed need forecast for 2017. 

The table also shows the average annual occupancy rate of 

Medicaid-certified nursing home beds for each planning 

district for the 2012 reporting year and identifies the status of 

each planning district with respect to authorized but 

uncompleted new nursing home beds that are expected to be 

Medicaid-certified. The final column of the table states 

whether the planning district qualifies for additional nursing 

home (NH) beds for 2017. 
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Nursing Home Bed Need Forecast and 

Whether a Planning District Qualifies for Additional Nursing Home Beds for 2017 

 

Planning 

District 

Gross 

Bed Need 

Forecast 

for 2017 

Existing 

Plus 

Authorized 

Beds 

Projected 

Net Bed 

Need 

in 2017 

Average 

Occupancy 

Medicaid Beds 

2012 

Authorized but 

Uncompleted New 

Medicaid Beds 

Planning District 

Qualifies for 

Additional 

NH Beds 

1 503 641 (138) 87.0% No no--no need 

2 426 539 (113) 77.6% No no--no need 

3 1,460 1,525 (65) 83.0% No no--no need 

4 898 788 110 87.3% No no--low occu. 

5 2,151 2,285 (134) 89.7% No no--no need 

6 1,898 1,516 382 90.5% No no--low occu. 

7 1,035 992 43 90.2% No no--low occu. 

8 5,454 4,478 976 87.8% Yes no--low occu. 

9 871 806 65 90.2% Yes no--low occu. 

10 1,279 1,037 242 91.7% Yes no--low occu. 

11 1,663 1,596 67 89.4% No no--low occu. 

12 2,218 1,929 289 90.3% No no--low occu. 

13 943 881 62 87.2% No no--low occu. 

14 628 670 (42) 88.8% No no--no need 

15 4,421 4,059 362 91.3% No no--low occu. 

16 896 785 111 83.9% No no--low occu. 

17 339 308 31 91.3% No no--low occu. 

18 576 540 36 93.0% No yes--30 beds 

19 1,114 1,055 59 87.8% No no--low occu. 

20 4,843 4,393 450 88.2% No no--low occu. 

21 2,270 1,867 403 89.7% No no--low occu. 

22 345 376 (31) 84.5% No no--no need 

Total VA 36,231 33,066 3,165 88.6%   
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Sources: State Medical Facilities Plan (12VAC5-230-610)  

University of Virginia Weldon Cooper Center (population 

projections, 2012 edition) 

2006 Virginia Nursing Home Patient Survey, Health Systems 

Agency of Northern Virginia (for age-specific nursing home 

use rates) 

Office of Licensure and Certification, VDH (for bed 

inventory). 

Basis for Review: The State Health Commissioner, in her 

review of COPN requests submitted pursuant to this RFA, 

will consider each of the eight factors enumerated in § 32.1-

102.3 B of the Code of Virginia, as applicable. She will also 

consider applicable standards of the State Medical Facilities 

Plan (12VAC5-230-600 et. seq.). 

Projection of Potential Fiscal Impact: The Department of 

Medical Assistance Services projects total additional 

expenditures for medical services provided to Medicaid 

recipients of approximately $0.824 million ($0.412 million of 

Commonwealth general funds) for the fiscal year (FY) 

ending June 30, 2017, if all 30 beds included in this RFA are 

authorized and available for occupancy by July 1, 2016. This 

projection is based on the following principal assumptions: 

Average proportion of beds filled during FY 

2017 

89% 

Assumed Medicaid proportion of bed-days of 

service 

62% 

Average estimated payment rate per day (net of 

patient copayments) 

$136 

Schedule for Review: COPN requests filed in response to this 

RFA must be filed in accordance with the provisions of 

12VAC5-220-355. The review schedules shown below will 

apply. Letters of intent and applications must be received by 

the Virginia Department of Health Division of COPN by the 

dates shown below in order to qualify for consideration in the 

specified review cycle. 

Letter of intent must be received by November 2, 2015. 

Application must be received by December 1, 2015. 

Review cycle will begin on January 10, 2016. 

Application Fees: The Virginia Department of Health shall 

collect fees for COPN applications filed in response to this 

RFA. No application may be deemed to be complete for 

review until the required application fee is paid. The fee is 

one percent of the proposed capital expenditure for the 

project, but not less than $1,000 or more than $20,000. 

_______________________________________________ 

1 For conduct of the certificate of public need program, the Virginia 
Department of Health continues to recognize the former Planning District 

20, Southeastern Virginia, and the former Planning District 21, Peninsula, 

rather than Planning District 23, Hampton Roads, which combined the 
former PD 20 and PD 21. 

DEPARTMENT OF PLANNING AND BUDGET 

Commercial Activities List – Public Comments and 
Recommendations 

Pursuant to § 2.2-1501.1. of the Code of Virginia, the 

Virginia Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has 

developed the Commercial Activities List (CAL). The CAL 

is posted on the DPB website at 

https://www.dpb.virginia.gov under Documents, Instructions 

and Publications. 

DPB is seeking written comments on the CAL and invites 

recommendations from the public regarding activities being 

performed by state agencies that might better be performed 

by the private sector. The public comment period will begin 

September 7, 2015, and end September 21, 2015. Please 

include "CAL" in the subject of the email. 

Agency Contact: Cari Corr, Virginia Department of Planning 

and Budget, CAL, 1111 East Broad Street, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 786-7455, or 

email efis@dpb.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 

conducted a small business impact review of 18VAC120-11, 

Public Participation Guidelines and determined that this 

regulation should be retained in its current form. The 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation is 

publishing its report of findings dated August 18, 2015, to 

support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Section 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia mandates the 

agency to solicit the input of interested parties in the 

formation and development of its regulations. Therefore, the 

continued need for the regulation is established in statute. 

The regulation is necessary to protect public health, safety, 

and welfare by establishing public participation guidelines, 

which promote public involvement in the development, 

amendment, or repeal of an agency's regulation. By soliciting 

the input of interested parties, the agency is better equipped 

to effectively regulate the occupation or profession. Since no 

complaints or comments were received during the public 

comment period, there does not appear to be a reason to 

amend or repeal the regulation. The regulation is clearly 

written and easily understandable. The regulation does not 

overlap, duplicate, or contravene federal or state law or 

regulation. This is the first periodic review of the regulation 

since becoming effective in 2008. On August 18, 2015, the 

director reviewed the regulation and, for the reasons stated in 

this section, determined that the regulation should not be 

tel:%28804%29%20786-7455
mailto:efis@dpb.virginia.gov


General Notices/Errata 

Volume 32, Issue 1 Virginia Register of Regulations September 7, 2015 

239 

amended or repealed, but should be retained in its current 

form. 

Agency Contact: Mark N. Courtney, Senior Director, 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 

telephone (804) 367-8500, FAX (804) 527-4403, or email 

mark.courtney@dpor.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Chesapeake 
Grain Company, Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Chesapeake 

Grain Company, Inc. for alleged violations of the State Water 

Control Law in Chesapeake, Virginia. A description of the 

proposed action is available at the Department of 

Environmental Quality office named below or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. Mr. Robin Schuhmann will accept 

comments by email at robin.schuhmann@deq.virginia.gov, 

FAX at (757) 518-2009, or postal mail at Department of 

Environmental Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 

Southern Boulevard, Virginia Beach, VA 23462, from 

September 7, 2015, to October 7, 2015. 

Proposed Consent Order for Virginia-American 
Water Company 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Virginia-

American Water Company for violations at the Hopewell 

Low Service Pump Station located at 915 Riverside Avenue 

in Hopewell, Virginia. The board proposes to issue a consent 

order to address noncompliance with State Water Control 

Law. A description of the proposed action is available at the 

Department of Environmental Quality office named below or 

online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Frank Lupini will accept 

comments by email at frank.lupini@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at 

(804) 527-5106, or postal mail at Department of 

Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A 

Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, from September 7, 2015, 

to October 8, 2015. 

Public Meeting and Public Comment for a Water 
Quality Study (TMDL) of Long Meadow Run and 

Turley Creek  

Public Meeting: A meeting will be held Monday, September 

14, 2015, at 7 p.m. at J. Frank Hillyard Middle School at 226 

Hawks Hill Drive, Broadway, VA 22815. This meeting will 

be open to the public and all are welcome. In the case of 

inclement weather, the meeting will take place on Thursday, 

September 17, 2015, at the same time and place. Please 

contact Tara Sieber at (540) 574-7870 with any questions.  

Purpose of notice: The Department of Environmental Quality 

(DEQ), its contractors, Virginia Tech's Biological Systems 

Engineering Department, and the local steering committee, 

comprised of local landowners and interested parties, will 

present the results of a water quality study known as a total 

maximum daily load (TMDL) and the recommendations in 

the implementation plan, or watershed clean-up plan, for 

Long Meadow Run and Turley Creek. This is an opportunity 

for local residents to learn more about the water quality 

study, the clean-up plan, and find out how they can make a 

difference to their local streams. A public comment period, 

beginning September 15, 2015, and ending October 16, 2015, 

will follow the meeting. 

Meeting description: A public meeting will be held to 

reintroduce to the local community the water quality 

improvement process in Virginia, known as the TMDL 

process, review the work of the local steering committee, and 

solicit the input of the community on the TMDL document 

and the implementation plan, also known as a watershed 

clean-up plan. Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and 

§ 62.1-44.19:7 C of the Code of Virginia require DEQ to 

develop TMDLs for pollutants responsible for each impaired 

water contained in Virginia's § 303(d) TMDL Priority List 

and Report.  

Description of study: Several streams in the North Fork 

Shenandoah River watershed do not meet Virginia's water 

quality standards. Long Meadow Run and Turley Creek were 

listed in 2002 as impaired due to violations of the state's 

general water quality standard (benthic) for aquatic life. The 

aquatic life impairment on Long Meadow Run extends from 

its headwaters to the confluence with the North Fork 

Shenandoah River, which is a total of 8.53 miles. The Turley 

Creek aquatic life impairment extends a total of 4.01 miles 

from its headwaters to the confluence with the North Fork 

Shenandoah River. These streams do not host a healthy and 

diverse population of aquatic life and subsequently were 

listed as impaired for the "general benthic (aquatic life)" 

water quality standard. This water quality study reviewed all 

data collected and determined the cause of the benthic 

impairment to be excess sediment in both streams; in 

addition, nitrogen was identified as an issue in Long Meadow 

Run. A TMDL is the total amount of a pollutant a water body 

can contain and still meet water quality standards. To restore 

water quality, sediment levels need to be reduced to the 

TMDL amount in both streams, and nitrogen should be 

reduced in Long Meadow Run. Virginia agencies worked 

with local community partners to identify sources of excess 

sediment and recommend actions, practices, and strategies 

that could achieve the necessary reductions. The stream 

segments included in this TMDL study and IP are as follows:  

Stream County  Length Impairment 

Long 

Meadow 

Run 

Rockingham 

County 

8.53 miles General 

Benthic 

(Aquatic Life) 

Turley 

Creek 

Rockingham 

County 

4.01 miles 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:Robin.Schuhmann@deq.virginia.gov
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How to comment: The public comment period for this public 

meeting and the TMDL water quality study and watershed 

clean-up plan begins September 15, 2015, and will end on 

October 16, 2015. Written comments should include the 

name, address, and telephone number of the person 

submitting the comments and should be sent to Tara Sieber, 

Department of Environmental Quality, Valley Regional 

Office, P.O. Box 3000, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, telephone 

(540) 574-7870, FAX (540) 574-7878, or email 

tara.sieber@deq.virginia.gov. 

Public Meeting and Public Comment Period for 
Proposed Changes to Three River Basins' Water 

Quality Management Planning Regulations - 
Potomac-Shenandoah River Basin, Tennessee-Big 

Sandy River Basin, and Chesapeake Bay-Small 
Coastal-Eastern Shore River Basin 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) seeks written 

and oral comments from interested persons on eight proposed 

revisions to wasteload allocations (WLAs) in the regulation for 

eight EPA approved total maximum daily loads (TMDLs). DEQ 

will hold a public meeting to describe these proposed revisions 

on September 17, 2015, at 1 p.m. - 2 p.m. in DEQ's Central 

Office 2nd Floor Conference Room A, 629 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219. In case of inclement weather, the public 

meeting will be held at the same location on September 29, 

2015, at 1 p.m. The eight proposed revisions to the WLAs in the 

Potomac-Shenandoah River Basin (9VAC25-720-50 A), 

Tennessee-Big Sandy River Basin (9VAC25-720-90 A), and 

Chesapeake Bay-Small Coastal Eastern Shore River Basin 

(9VAC25-720-110 A) include revisions to seven errors and the 

revision of one WLA to be in accordance with the EPA-

approved TMDL modification. The public comment period for 

these proposed revisions will begin on September 17, 2015, and 

end on October 19, 2015. If requested during the public 

comment period, an advisory group of relevant and interested 

stakeholders will be convened. Please note that all written 

comments should include the name, address, and telephone 

number of the person submitting the comments. For more 

information or to submit written or oral comments, please 

contact Will Isenberg, Department of Environmental Quality, 

Central Office, by postal mail at P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 

23218, by telephone at (804) 698-4228, or by email at 

william.isenberg@deq.virginia.gov.  

The revisions to the Water Quality Management Planning 

Regulation are summarized below by river basin:  

Potomac-Shenandoah River Basin (9VAC25-720-50 A):  

The proposed revisions in the Potomac-Shenandoah River Basin 

Water Quality Management Planning Regulation (WQMPR) 

apply to TMDLs 1, 9, 58, and 59 in subsection A of 9VAC25-

720-50. For TMDL #1, proposed changes include a revision of 

the stream name to read "Muddy Creek, Dry River and 

tributaries to North River," and a revision to the water body ID 

(WBID) to include B22R. For TMDL #9, the proposed change 

includes a revision of the current WLA to be the EPA approved 

value from the TMDL report of 116 lbs/year. TMDL #58 and 

#59 are duplicates of TMDLs #29 and #30, respectively. 

Therefore, it is proposed that TMDL #58 and #59 be removed 

from the WQMPR.  

The following EPA approved TMDL reports apply to 

revisions for TMDLs 1, 9, 58, and 59 described above:  

 TMDL #1: 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/portals/0/DEQ/Water/TMDL/appt

mdls/shenrvr/muddyni.pdf  

 TMDL #9: 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/portals/0/DEQ/Water/TMDL/appt

mdls/shenrvr/plmillbc.pdf  

 TMDLs #29 and #30 & #58 and #59: 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/portals/0/DEQ/Water/TMDL/ 

apptmdls/shenrvr/abropebc.pdf  

Tennessee-Big Sandy River Basin (9VAC25-720-90 A):  

The proposed revisions in the Tennessee-Big Sandy River Basin 

WQMPR apply to TMDLs #6 and #9 in subsection A of 

9VAC25-720-90. For TMDL #6, the proposed change includes a 

revision of the current WLA in regulation to be the EPA 

approved value from the TMDL report of 21,732 lbs/year. For 

TMDL #9, the proposed change includes a revision of the 

current WLA in regulation to be the EPA approved value from 

the TMDL modification of 322,234 kg/year. 

The following EPA approved TMDL reports and modifications 

apply to revisions for TMDLs #6 and #9 described above:  

 TMDL #6:  

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/portals/0/DEQ/Water/TMDL/appt

mdls/tenbigrvr/lewisbc.pdf  

 TMDL #9 modification & report:  

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/portals/0/DEQ/Water/TMDL/app

tmdls/mod/dumpsmod.pdf  

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/portals/0/DEQ/Water/TMDL/app

tmdls/tenbigrvr/dumps.pdf  

Chesapeake Bay-Small Coastal-Eastern Shore River Basin 

(9VAC25-720-110 A):  

The proposed revisions in the Chesapeake Bay-Small Coastal-

Eastern Shore River Basin WQMPR apply to TMDLs #3 and #4 

in subsection A of 9VAC25-720-110. For TMDL #3, the 

proposed change includes a revision to the current WLA in 

regulation to be the EPA approved value from the TMDL report 

of 0.31 lbs/day. For TMDL #4, the proposed change includes a 

revision to the current WLA to be the EPA approved value from 

the TMDL report of 0.10 lbs/day.  

The following EPA approved TMDL report applies to 

revisions for TMDLs #3 and #4 described above:  

 TMDL# 3-4: 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/portals/0/DEQ/Water/TMDL/appt

mdls/baycoast/millcrdo.pdf. 
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Proposed revisions to the WQMPRs are summarized below:  

WQMPR TMDL# Stream Name TMDL Title City/County WBID  Pollutant WLA Units 

9
V

A
C

2
6

-7
2
0

-5
0
 

1 Muddy Creek, 

Dry River, and 

tributaries to 

North River 

Nitrate 

TMDL 

Development 

for Muddy 

Creek/Dry 

River, 

Virginia 

Rockingham B21R, 

B22R 

Nitrate 49,389 lbs/year 

9 Mill Creek TMDL 

Development 

for Mill Creek 

and Pleasant 

Run 

Rockingham B29R Phosphorus 116 lbs/year 

58 Abrams Creek Opequon 

Watershed 

TMDLs for 

Benthic 

Impairments 

Frederick and 

Clark 

B09R Sediment 1039 T/YR 

59 Lower Opequon Opequon 

Watershed 

TMDLs for 

Benthic 

Impairments 

Frederick and 

Clark 

B09R Sediment 1039 T/YR 

9
V

A
C

2
6
-7

2
0
-9

0
 

6 Lewis Creek Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the Lewis 

Creek 

Watershed 

Russell P04R Sediment 21,732 lbs/year 

9 Dumps Creek General 

Standard Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for Dumps 

Creek, Russell 

County, 

Virginia 

Russell P08R Total Suspended 

Solids 

322,234 kg/year 

9
V

A
C

2
6

-7
2
0

-1
1

0
 

3 Mill Creek Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

for Dissolved 

Oxygen in 

Mill Creek, 

Northampton 

County, VA 

Northampton D06R Organic 

Carbon as TC 

0.31 lbs/day 

4 Mill Creek Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

for Dissolved 

Oxygen in 

Mill Creek, 

Northampton 

County, VA 

Northampton D06R Nutrients as TN 0.10 lbs/day 
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VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, General Assembly Building, 201 North 9th 

Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: Voice 

(804) 786-3591; Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

http://www.virginia.gov/connect/commonwealth-calendar. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 

ERRATA 

REAL ESTATE BOARD 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC135-20. Virginia Real Estate 

Board Licensing Regulations. 

Publication: 31:26 VA.R. 2604-2426 August 24, 2015. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 2611, 18VAC135-20-120 B, table, second row, column 

1 should read as follows: "Salesperson's or associate broker's 

license as a business entity" 

Page 2611, 18VAC135-20-120 B, table, second row, column 

1 should read as follows: "Salesperson's or associate broker's 

license as a business entity" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3250; Filed August 28, 2015, 3:39 p.m.  
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