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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 
published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 
Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 
regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 
to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 
Register is a source of other information about state government, 
including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 
orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 
regulations. 
ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 
An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 
publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 
agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 
giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 
text of the proposed regulation. 
Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 
days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 
necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 
clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 
comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 
to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 
completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 
comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 
than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 
period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 
The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 
appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 
may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 
objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 
will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 
by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 
with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 
When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 
publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 
final publication in the Virginia Register. 
The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 
of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 
signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 
and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 
regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 
Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 
substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 
30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 
public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 
Virginia Register. 
The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 
receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 
comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 
inconsequential impact. 
A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 
agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 
period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 
provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 
for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 
Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 
regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 
earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 
A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 
any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 
Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 
certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 
regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 
process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 
provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 
become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 
objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 
consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 
Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 
emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 
regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 
law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 
days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 
operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 
unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 
more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 
months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 
Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 
During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 
procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 
agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 
Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 
regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 
180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 
chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 
prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 
The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 
(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 
examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 
The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 
29:5 VA.R. 1075-1192 November 5, 2012, refers to Volume 29, Issue 
5, pages 1075 through 1192 of the Virginia Register issued on  
November 5, 2012. 
The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 
(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  
Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 
James M. LeMunyon, Vice Chair, Gregory D. Habeeb; Ryan T. 
McDougle; Pamela S. Baskervill; Robert L. Calhoun; Carlos L. 
Hopkins; E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; Christopher R. 
Nolen; Timothy Oksman; Charles S. Sharp; Robert L. Tavenner. 
Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 
Karen Perrine, Assistant Registrar; Anne Bloomsburg, Regulations 
Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Operations 
Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

September 2015 through October 2016 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

32:2 September 2, 2015 September 21, 2015 

32:3 September 16, 2015 October 5, 2015 

32:4 September 30, 2015 October 19, 2015 

32:5 October 14, 2015 November 2, 2015 

32:6 October 28, 2015 November 16, 2015 

32:7 November 10, 2015 (Tuesday) November 30, 2015 

32:8 November 24, 2015 (Tuesday) December 14, 2015 

32:9 December 9, 2015 December 28, 2015 

32:10 December 21, 2015 (Monday) January 11, 2016 

32:11 January 6, 2016 January 25, 2016 

32:12 January 20, 2016 February 8, 2016 

32:13 February 3, 2016 February 22, 2016 

32:14 February 17, 2016 March 7, 2016 

32:15 March 2, 2016 March 21, 2016 

32:16 March 16, 2016 April 4, 2016 

32:17 March 30, 2016 April 18, 2016 

32:18 April 13, 2016 May 2, 2016 

32:19 April 27, 2016 May 16, 2016 

32:20 May 11, 2016 May 30, 2016 

32:21 May 25, 2016 June 13, 2016 

32:22 June 8, 2016 June 27, 2016 

32:23 June 22, 2016 July 11, 2016 

32:24 July 6, 2016 July 25, 2016 

32:25 July 20, 2016 August 8, 2016 

32:26 August 3, 2016 August 22, 2016 

33:1 August 17, 2016 September 5, 2016 

33:2 August 31, 2016 September 19, 2016 

33:3 September 14, 2016 October 3, 2016 

33:4 September 28, 2016 October 17, 2016 

33:5 October 12, 2016 October 31, 2016 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 



REGULATIONS 
For information concerning the different types of regulations, see the Information Page. 

Symbol Key 
Roman type indicates existing text of regulations. Underscored language indicates proposed new text. 

Language that has been stricken indicates proposed text for deletion.  Brackets are used in final regulations to indicate changes from the 
proposed regulation. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKINGNOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTIOTITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION  

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL 

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 1VAC45-10. Regulations Governing 
Disclosure of CID (Civil Investigative Demand)  
(amending 1VAC45-10-10 through 1VAC45-10-50, 
1VAC45-10-70 through 1VAC45-10-100; repealing 
1VAC45-10-20).  
Statutory Authority: § 59.1-9.10 of the Code of Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  
Public Comment Deadline: October 21, 2015. 
Effective Date: November 5, 2015.  
Agency Contact: Christopher J. Pitera, Assistant Attorney 
General and Regulatory Coordinator, Department of Law, 
900 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
786-6576, FAX (804) 786-4839, or email 
cpitera@oag.state.va.us. 
Basis: Section 59.1-9.10 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 
the Attorney General to promulgate rules and regulations 
pertaining to civil investigative demands issued pursuant to 
the Virginia Antitrust Act. Sections 57-59, 59.1-201.1, and 
59.1-516 of the Code of Virginia incorporate the provisions 
of § 59.1-9.10, thereby authorizing the Attorney General to 
promulgate regulations pertaining to civil investigative 
demands issued pursuant to the Solicitation of Contributions 
law, the Virginia Consumer Protection Act, and the Virginia 
Telephone Privacy Protection Act. 
Purpose: The proposed amendments are necessary to 
modernize the regulation and to expand its coverage to the 
statutes that incorporate the Virginia Antitrust Act's civil 
investigative demand provision. This action will protect the 
welfare of citizens by giving local law-enforcement officials, 
who have concurrent enforcement authority under those 
statutes, the ability to access evidence and information 
obtained by the Attorney General through civil investigative 
demands, thus encouraging enforcement of those laws. 
Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: This action is 
expected to be noncontroversial because it does not directly 
affect the public. Its direct effect is limited to those law-
enforcement authorities that represent the Commonwealth, its 
political subdivisions, or its public agencies that are 
empowered to enforce the Virginia Antitrust Act and the 
other statutes that incorporate its civil investigative demands 
provision. In addition, this action is not designed to limit 

those officials' access to the material the Attorney General 
obtains through civil investigative demands. Instead, it is 
designed to set up a formal, transparent process for the 
Attorney General to evaluate information sharing requests. 
Substance: The proposed amendments do not add any new 
provisions. The only substantive changes brought about by 
the proposed amendments are (i) extending the coverage of 
the regulations to materials obtained through civil 
investigative demands issued under the Virginia Consumer 
Protection Act, the Virginia Telephone Privacy Protection 
Act, and the Solicitation of Contributions law; and (ii) 
requiring any requesting authority to show that it is subject to 
confidentiality requirements similar to those found in § 59.1-
20 N of the Code of Virginia, as opposed to requiring the 
authority to show that it will comply with those 
confidentiality requirements, to better reflect the requirements 
of the statute. 
Issues: There are no disadvantages to the public or the 
Commonwealth in implementing the proposed regulations. 
The primary advantage to the Commonwealth and the public 
is that the regulations will create a clear framework for 
information sharing with local officials, which will encourage 
those officials to exercise their authority to enforce those 
statutes. 
Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Department of Law/Office of the Attorney General (OAG) 
proposes to update and amend for clarity its Regulations 
Governing Disclosure of CID (Civil Investigative Demand). 
Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for these 
proposed regulatory changes.  
Estimated Economic Impact. This regulation was 
promulgated in 1981 and is being updated in this action. This 
regulation sets procedures by which local law enforcement 
authorities may access case evidence and information that is 
in the possession of the OAG. The OAG was originally 
authorized by Virginia Code 59.1-9.10(M) to promulgate a 
regulation for civil investigative demands (CIDs) pertaining 
to the Virginia Antitrust Act. Several pieces of legislation 
have been enacted since then that incorporate the mandate for 
CID regulations (Virginia Code 57-59(C), 59.1-201.1, and 
59.1-516 incorporate the provisions of Virginia Code 59.1-
9.10, thereby authorizing the Attorney General to promulgate 
regulations pertaining to CIDs).  
The OAG now proposes to update its regulation so that CIDs 
initiated pursuant to investigations under the Virginia 
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Consumer Protection Act, Virginia Telephone Privacy 
Protection Act or the Solicitation of Contributions law are 
covered under this regulation. The OAG also proposes to 
amend this regulation to make it more clear that requesting 
local law enforcement agencies are bound to keep 
information given confidential with the exceptions that such 
material may be presented in a court of law and may be 
disclosed when required by the Code of Virginia or other 
controlling law.  
No entity is likely to incur costs on account of these proposed 
changes. To the extent that these changes make this 
regulation more complete (by updating references to existing 
law) and more clear, readers will benefit.  
Businesses and Entities Affected. The OAG reports that all 
local law enforcement entities that pursue CIDs will be 
affected by these regulatory changes. 
Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 
particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action.  
Projected Impact on Employment. This proposed regulation 
will likely have no effect on employment in the 
Commonwealth. 
Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 
proposed regulation will likely have no effect on the use or 
value of private property in the Commonwealth 
Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No small business 
is likely to incur any costs on account of the proposed 
regulation. 
Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. No small business is likely to incur any costs 
on account of the proposed regulation. 
Real Estate Development Costs. This proposed regulation is 
unlikely to affect real estate development costs. 
Legal Mandate. General: The Department of Planning and 
Budget (DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this 
proposed regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Code of Virginia and Executive Order Number 17 (2014). 
Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the 
proposed amendments. Further the report should include but 
not be limited to: 

• the projected number of businesses or other entities to 
whom the proposed regulation would apply, 
• the identity of any localities and types of businesses or 
other entities particularly affected, 
• the projected number of persons and employment 
positions to be affected,  
• the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and  
• the impact on the use and value of private property.  

Small Businesses: If the proposed regulation will have an 
adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires 
that such economic impact analyses include: 

• an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the proposed regulation, 
• the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other 
administrative costs required for small businesses to 
comply with the proposed regulation, including the type 
of professional skills necessary for preparing required 
reports and other documents, 
• a statement of the probable effect of the proposed 
regulation on affected small businesses, and  
• a description of any less intrusive or less costly 
alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the 
proposed regulation.  

Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1, if there is a finding 
that a proposed regulation may have an adverse impact on 
small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative 
Rules is notified at the time the proposed regulation is 
submitted to the Virginia Register of Regulations for 
publication. This analysis shall represent DPB's best estimate 
for the purposes of public review and comment on the 
proposed regulation.  
Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
agency concurs with the economic impact analysis prepared 
by the Department of Planning and Budget. 
Summary: 

The amendments (i) extend the coverage of the chapter to 
materials obtained through civil investigative demands 
issued under the Virginia Consumer Protection Act, the 
Virginia Telephone Privacy Protection Act, and the 
Solicitation of Contributions law; (ii) require any 
requesting authority to establish that it is subject to 
confidentiality requirements similar to those in subsection 
N of § 59.1-9.10 of the Code of Virginia; and (iii) make 
stylistic and other nonsubstantive changes. 

1VAC45-10-10. Definitions.  
The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Law-enforcement authority" shall mean any public official, 
and his designees, (i) representing the Commonwealth, which 
includes his its political subdivisions or his and its public 
agencies, and (ii) empowered to bring civil actions to enforce 
the Commonwealth's antitrust laws regulating commerce in 
any manner authorized by those laws the Virginia Antitrust 
Act, Virginia Consumer Protection Act, Virginia Telephone 
Privacy Protection Act, or the Solicitation of Contributions 
law.  

"Material" shall include, but is not limited to, names, 
testimony, documents or answers to interrogatories which are 
means any information taken, furnished, received, examined, 
or copied pursuant to CIDs civil investigative demands issued 
by the Attorney General pursuant to the Virginia Antitrust 
Act, the Virginia Consumer Protection Act, the Virginia 
Telephone Privacy Protection Act, or the Solicitation of 
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Contributions law, including, but not limited to, names, 
testimony, documents, or answers to interrogatories.  

"Person" shall mean any natural person, corporation, trust, 
partnership, proprietorship or association of any type, 
company, or any other legal entity.  

"Solicitation of Contributions law" means Chapter 5 (§ 57-
48 et seq.) of Title 57 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Virginia Antitrust Act" means Chapter 1.1 (§ 59.1-9.1 et 
seq.) of Title 59.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Virginia Consumer Protection Act" means Chapter 17 (§ 
59.1-196 et seq.) of Title 59.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Virginia Telephone Privacy Protection Act" means Chapter 
44 (§ 59.1-510 et seq.) of Title 59 of the Code of Virginia. 
1VAC45-10-20. Purpose and applicability of chapter. 
(Repealed.)  

To provide a regular procedure for the sharing of material 
between the Attorney General and other law-enforcement 
authorities of the Commonwealth; to ensure that material 
furnished is maintained subject to the confidentiality 
requirements of § 59.1-9.10(n) of the Code of Virginia; to 
facilitate the investigation of antitrust violations and full 
enforcement of the law in exercise of the Commonwealth's 
police power regulating commerce; to create penalties for 
violation of this chapter.  
1VAC45-10-30. Applicability.  

This chapter shall apply to all law-enforcement authorities 
that request material from the Attorney General which was 
obtained through CIDs issued pursuant to the Virginia 
Antitrust Act. This chapter shall not apply to federal law-
enforcement authorities.  
1VAC45-10-40. Procedure for making material available.  

Any law-enforcement authority may request of material from 
the Attorney General material obtained directly through CIDs. 
The request shall be in writing. The request shall state with 
reasonable specificity the material desired, subject matter of the 
investigation for which material is desired, and the specific 
statute police powers of the Commonwealth regulating 
commerce that the authority is empowered to enforce under 
which the investigation is being conducted. All requests shall be 
directed to the Attorney General and signed by the chief officer 
of the law-enforcement authority. All requests for material shall 
recite that the law-enforcement authority acknowledges that, 
when provided, the material shall be used exclusively as 
delineated by statute and by these regulations this chapter. The 
request for material shall further include an affirmative showing, 
to the satisfaction of the Attorney General, that the law-
enforcement authority will comply with is subject to 
confidentiality requirements similar to the confidentiality 
requirements of § 59.1-10(n) subsection N of § 59.1-9.10 of the 
Code of Virginia.  
1VAC45-10-50. Responses to requests for material.  

Within seven days of receipt of a request for material, the 
Attorney General, in his discretion, shall inform the chief 

officer of the law-enforcement authority: (i) of his refusal to 
disclose any material; or (ii) that no such material exists; or 
(iii) that all or part of the material shall be made available, at 
the discretion of the Attorney General, for examination at the 
Office of the Attorney General; or (iv) that all or part of the 
material shall be made available, at the discretion of the 
Attorney General, for copying at the Office of the Attorney 
General. If option (iii) or (iv) is exercised, it shall be so 
exercised within 21 days of the receipt of the request.  
1VAC45-10-70. Restrictions on use.  

The law-enforcement authority and its custodian in receipt of 
material shall strictly maintain the confidentiality of CID the 
material. The law-enforcement authority shall use material 
provided pursuant to this chapter to conduct an investigation into 
violations of the Commonwealth's laws regulating commerce and 
prohibiting restraints on trade Virginia Antitrust Act, the 
Virginia Consumer Protection Act, the Virginia Telephone 
Privacy Protection Act, and the Solicitation of Contributions law 
or to conduct any litigation related to such violations. Nothing 
herein in this section shall preclude the use of the materials 
provided by this chapter before a court of law except as may 
otherwise be precluded by law.  
1VAC45-10-80. Restrictions on use disclosure.  

The law-enforcement authority and its custodian in receipt 
of materials shall not release material provided pursuant to 
this chapter, either directly or indirectly, to any person not 
employed by or assigned to the law-enforcement authority for 
purposes of enforcement of the antitrust laws, Virginia 
Antitrust Act, the Virginia Consumer Protection Act, the 
Virginia Telephone Privacy Act, or the Solicitation of 
Contributions law, nor to any other law-enforcement 
authority.  
1VAC45-10-90. Future regulations.  

The law-enforcement authority and its custodian in receipt 
of materials shall be bound to abide by any further regulations 
promulgated by the Attorney General pertaining to the 
safekeeping and custody of civil investigative demands such 
material.  
1VAC45-10-100. Penalties.  

In addition to the criminal penalties enumerated in the 
Virginia Antitrust Act, when applicable, any Any law-
enforcement authority found to have used material provided 
by the Attorney General in a manner inconsistent with this 
chapter shall be required to immediately return all materials 
material provided, as well as copies thereof, and information 
derived therefrom. The Attorney General may also suspend 
for a definite period the law-enforcement authority from 
receiving materials additional material pursuant to this 
chapter.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-3843; Filed August 21, 2015, 3:23 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-685. Regulations Governing 
Pesticide Applicator Certification under Authority of 
Virginia Pesticide Control Act (amending 2VAC5-685-10 
through 2VAC5-685-60, 2VAC5-685-80, 2VAC5-685-90, 
2VAC5-685-130, 2VAC5-685-170, 2VAC5-685-180).  
Statutory Authority: § 3.2-3906 of the Code of Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information: 

December 10, 2015 - 10 a.m. - Virginia State Capitol, 1000 
Bank Street, Senate Room 3  Richmond, VA 23219 

Public Comment Deadline: December 11, 2015. 
Agency Contact: Liza Fleeson, Program Manager, Office of 
Pesticide Services, Department of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 
(804) 371-6559, FAX (804) 371-2283, TTY (800) 828-1120, 
or email liza.fleeson@vdacs.virginia.gov. 
Basis: Section 3.2-109 of the Code of Virginia establishes the 
Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services as a policy 
board with the authority to adopt regulations in accordance 
with the provisions of Title 3.2 of the Code of Virginia. 
Subdivision 4 of § 3.2-3906 of the Code of Virginia 
authorizes the board to adopt regulations to require 
individuals who sell, store, or apply pesticides commercially 
to be adequately trained to observe appropriate safety 
practices. This authority is discretionary. 
Purpose: The Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services is 
authorized to adopt regulations to establish training, testing, 
and standards for certification of commercial pesticide 
applicators. The proposed action seeks to update the 
regulation and align it with current agency practices by (i) 
amending certain definitions; (ii) deleting the requirement 
that individuals who fail the certification examination must 
wait a prescribed number of days before retaking the 
examination; (iii) revising the process by which persons who 
cannot read pesticide labels can be certified to apply restricted 
use pesticides on their own property; (iv) clarifying the on-
the-job training requirements for prospective applicators; (v) 
establishing numeric identifiers for the existing categories of 
registered technician and private applicator certifications; (vi) 
prescribing the minimum educational requirements for 
certified commercial applicators and registered technicians 
taking board-approved recertification training programs; and 
(vii) clarifying the requirements for the issuance of a 
certificate pursuant to a reciprocal agreement with another 
state. The proposed action is intended to ensure the 
competence of pesticide applicators through consistent 
standards of training, testing, and certification while 

ultimately protecting the health, safety, and welfare of the 
citizens of the Commonwealth of Virginia. 
Substance: The proposed amendments to the regulation will: 

1. Amend the definition of the terms "Under the direct 
supervision of" and "Under the direct on-site supervision 
of" to clarify that the individual providing the supervision 
must be a certified commercial applicator. Currently, the 
regulation calls for the individual providing instruction and 
control to others who apply pesticides to be a certified 
applicator, omitting the qualifier "commercial." 
2. Remove the requirement that individuals who fail to 
pass the certification examination must wait a specific 
number of days to retake the exam. Currently, individuals 
must wait 10 days to retake the exam after failing the exam 
for the first time and 30 days after failing the exam the 
second or subsequent times. The agency proposes that 
individuals who fail to pass the exam may, at any time, 
reapply to take the exam and be placed in the work queue 
along with other pending applications. 
3. Revise the process by which persons who cannot read 
pesticide labels can demonstrate competence and obtain 
certification as private applicators to apply restricted use 
pesticides on their own properties. Currently, in order for 
an individual to obtain a waiver of the literacy requirement, 
a pesticide investigator must make a recommendation to 
the board regarding the waiver. The agency intends to 
propose that the individual petition the board directly for 
the waiver. 
4. Eliminate inconsistent language regarding the period of 
time during which individuals seeking certification as 
registered technicians must receive on-the-job-training. 
5. Establish the category number for registered technicians 
and private applicator certifications in a manner similar to 
the category codes already being used in other pesticide 
application specialties. 
6. Add a statement requiring applicants who do not meet 
the certification requirements within two years of the date 
of passing the examination be reexamined. A passing score 
on a certification exam is only valid for two years from the 
date the exam was taken. Several exams may be necessary 
in order for an applicant to become fully certified. If the 
applicant does not pass all of the exams required to become 
certified within a two-year period, the applicant must 
retake all required exams.  
7. Clarify that a person seeking pesticide applicator 
certification in Virginia on a reciprocal basis must hold 
current certification by the reciprocating state or federal 
agency. 

Issues: The proposed regulatory action is advantageous to the 
public, as the amendments clarify and streamline the 
requirements for pesticide applicator certification while 
ensuring applicators' continued competence. The continued 
competence of pesticide applicators ensures individuals who 
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apply pesticides make informed decisions while on the job, 
reducing the chance for misapplication and potential threats 
to the health, safety, and welfare of citizens. These actions do 
not add any additional requirements to the applicator when 
completing the certification or recertification process nor do 
they affect the issuance of a certification to an applicator by 
the agency. There are no known disadvantages to the public 
or the state. The proposed regulatory action will clarify and 
streamline requirements and will lead to an increase in 
compliance through better understanding of applicable 
requirements. 
Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services (Board) 
proposes many clarifying, and two substantive changes to its 
pesticide applicator certification regulation. 
Result of Analysis. For most proposed changes, benefits will 
likely outweigh costs. There is insufficient information to 
ascertain whether benefits will outweigh costs for one 
proposed change. 
Estimated Economic Impact. Most of the changes that the 
Board proposes to make to this regulation are solely to make 
the requirements of the regulation more easily understood. 
For instance, the Board proposes to add language that 
specifies that only commercial applicators may provide 
supervision for technicians. Since it is already the case that 
only commercial applicators may provide supervision, no 
entity is likely to incur any costs on account of this change (or 
other changes like this). Regulated entities as well as other 
interested parties will benefit from the added clarity that 
changes such as these bring to the regulatory text. 
Currently, this regulation requires applicants for certification 
who have failed the certification exam to wait 10 days after 
the date that they failed the exam for the first time to retake 
the exam. Applicants who fail the exam a second or 
subsequent time must currently wait 30 days to attempt to 
retake it. The Board now proposes to remove these limitations 
as they believe the failing applicant has both the 
responsibility to remediate their knowledge before re-taking 
the exam and the incentive to do so since they have to pay the 
exam fee ($70) each time it has to be taken. No entity is likely 
to incur costs on account of this change. Both applicants for 
certification, and the companies that employ them, will 
benefit from applicants being able to retake the exam without 
unnecessary and artificial delay as this may allow applicants 
to become certified more quickly. 
Current regulation requires prospective pesticide applicators 
seeking certification as registered technicians to take the 
certification exam within 90 days of being hired for, or 
transferred into, a position that includes duties involving the 
commercial application of pesticides. If they do not pass the 
exam initially, the regulation gives them 30 days from exam 
failure to retake it and pass. The regulation prohibits them 

from applying pesticides, even under supervision, if they fail 
to retake and pass the exam within 30 days. The Board is 
concerned that a not inconsiderable number of individuals 
who are hired into positions that involve the commercial 
application of pesticides either 1) wait until the end of the 90-
day period to take the exam and then fail to retake the exam, 
or 2) just never take the exam in the first place. The result of 
this is individuals treating their job as short term (90 to 120 
day) employment where they will leave one pesticide 
company after the time limit to take the exam runs out only to 
be hired by another pesticide company, or even rehired by the 
same company after a period of time, where they will again 
work for 90 or 120 days without ever becoming certified as 
pesticide applicators. Board staff reports that, of the 3,286 
prospective applicators who submitted applications to become 
registered technicians to the Board in the last 12 months, 581 
failed to take the certification exam within 90 days.  
The Board proposes to amend this regulation so that 
individuals seeking certification as registered technicians will 
have 90 days to take and pass the exam. Individuals who do 
not pass the exam within 90 days will not be able to apply 
pesticides, even under supervision, until they do pass it. The 
Board further proposes to change the rules so that individual 
applicants seeking certification as registered technicians will 
only have one 90-day period in which they may pass the 
exam. After that one 90-day period, prospective applicators 
will not be able to apply pesticides for any employer even 
under supervision. To the extent that requiring certification 
for pesticide applicators keeps the public from being harmed 
by pesticide application, the public will benefit from this 
change that stops individuals from applying pesticides while 
avoiding certification requirements. Individuals who have 
been engaging in this avoidance will incur costs as they will 
either have to pass the exam or find other, presumably less 
optimal, employment. Without knowing the extent of harm 
that might be avoided on account of pesticide applicator 
certification, Department of Planning and Budget cannot 
ascertain whether the benefits of this regulatory change will 
outweigh its costs.  
Businesses and Entities Affected. Board staff reports that 
there are approximately 3,000 licensed pesticide businesses in 
the Commonwealth; the vast majority of these businesses 
would qualify as small businesses. Board staff also reports 
that the Board currently certifies 22,750 pesticide applicators 
and that 3,286 prospective pesticide applicators have 
submitted an application for examination in the last 12 
months. All of these entities, as well as any individuals who 
might apply for certification in the future, will be affected by 
these proposed regulatory changes. 
Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 
particularly affected by this proposed regulation. 
Projected Impact on Employment. Board staff reports that 
some technicians who habitually avoid the exam requirements 
in this regulation by working a short time (less than 90 days), 
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and then quitting or switching employers, will not qualify for 
employment with pesticide applicators if they continue this 
behavior pattern under the proposed regulation. The new rules 
for exam time limits are, however, unlikely to change total 
employment in this field.  
Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 
proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to have any impact 
on the use or value of private property in the Commonwealth. 
Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Small business 
pesticide applicator companies will likely have to hire 
employees from a smaller pool of applicants once these 
regulatory changes become effective. If applicant pools end 
up significantly smaller, small business employers may incur 
costs for higher wages needed to attract and keep qualifying 
employees. 
Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. There are likely no alternative rules that the 
Board could have adopted that would both meet their goal of 
enforcing certification and result in lower costs for small 
businesses. 
Real Estate Development Costs. Real estate development 
costs are unlikely to be affected by this proposed regulation.  
Legal Mandate. General: The Department of Planning and 
Budget (DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this 
proposed regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Code of Virginia and Executive Order Number 17 (2014). 
Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the 
proposed amendments. Further the report should include but 
not be limited to: 

• the projected number of businesses or other entities to 
whom the proposed regulation would apply, 
• the identity of any localities and types of businesses or 
other entities particularly affected, 
• the projected number of persons and employment 
positions to be affected,  
• the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and  
• the impact on the use and value of private property.  

Small Businesses: If the proposed regulation will have an 
adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires 
that such economic impact analyses include: 

• an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the proposed regulation, 
• the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other 
administrative costs required for small businesses to 
comply with the proposed regulation, including the type 
of professional skills necessary for preparing required 
reports and other documents, 
• a statement of the probable effect of the proposed 
regulation on affected small businesses, and  

• a description of any less intrusive or less costly 
alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the 
proposed regulation.  

Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1, if there is a finding 
that a proposed regulation may have an adverse impact on 
small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative 
Rules is notified at the time the proposed regulation is 
submitted to the Virginia Register of Regulations for 
publication. This analysis shall represent DPB's best estimate 
for the purposes of public review and comment on the 
proposed regulation.  
Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
agency concurs with the analysis of the Department of 
Planning and Budget. 
Summary: 

The proposed amendments update the regulation and align 
it with current agency practices by (i) amending certain 
definitions; (ii) deleting the requirement that individuals 
who fail the certification examination must wait a 
prescribed number of days before retaking the 
examination; (iii) revising the process by which persons 
who cannot read pesticide labels can be certified to apply 
restricted use pesticides on their own property; (iv) 
clarifying the on-the-job training requirements for 
prospective applicators; (v) establishing numeric 
identifiers for the existing categories of private applicator 
certification; (vi) prescribing the minimum educational 
requirements for certified commercial applicators and 
registered technicians taking board-approved 
recertification training programs; and (vii) clarifying the 
requirements for the issuance of a certificate pursuant to a 
reciprocal agreement with another state.  

Part I  
Definitions  

2VAC5-685-10. Definitions. 
The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise. An asterisk or double asterisk following 
a definition indicates that the definition has been taken from 
the Virginia Pesticide Control Act, Article 1 (§ 3.2-3900 et 
seq.) or Article 4 (§ 3.2-3935 et seq.), respectively, of Chapter 
39 of Title 3.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Accident" means an unexpected, undesirable event, 
involving the use or presence of a pesticide, that adversely 
affects man or the environment. 

"Act" means the Virginia Pesticide Control Act (§ 3.2-3900 
et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

"Agricultural commodity" means any plant or part thereof, 
or animal, or animal product, produced by a person, including 
farmers, ranchers, vineyardists, plant propagators, Christmas 
tree growers, aquaculturists, floriculturists, orchardists, 
foresters, nurserymen, wood treaters not for hire, or other 
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comparable persons, primarily for sale, consumption, 
propagation, or other use by man or animals.* 

"Board" means the Board of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services. 

"Board-approved training" means a course which includes, 
at a minimum, study and review of all the material contained 
in an edition used in Virginia of (i) a basic pesticide 
applicator certification training core manual and (ii) a 
certification training manual for each specific category 
pertaining to the type of pesticide application to be done. 

"Certificate" means the document issued to a certified 
applicator or registered technician who has completed all the 
requirements of Article 3 (§ 3.2-3929 et seq.) of Chapter 39 
of Title 3.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Certification" or "certified" means the recognition granted 
by the Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services to an 
applicator upon satisfactory completion of board-approved 
requirements.* 

"Chemigation" means the application of any pesticide 
through an irrigation system. 

"Commercial applicator" means any applicator who has 
completed the requirements as determined by the board, 
including appropriate training and time in service, to apply 
for a certification, and who uses or supervises the use of any 
pesticide for any purpose or on any property, other than as 
provided in the definition of private applicator.* 

"Commercial applicator not for hire" means any commercial 
applicator who uses or supervises the use of pesticides as part 
of his job duties only on property owned or leased by him or 
his employer. It also applies to governmental employees who 
use or supervise the use of pesticides, whether on property 
owned or leased by them or their employers or not, in the 
performance of their official duties. 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of Agriculture 
and Consumer Services. 

"Competent person" means a person having the 
demonstrated ability to perform the task to which he is 
assigned. 

"Department" means the Department of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services. 

"Drift" means the physical movement of pesticide through 
the air at the time of pesticide application or soon thereafter 
from the target site to any nontarget or off-target site. 
Pesticide drift will not include movement of pesticides to 
nontarget or off-target sites caused by erosion, migration, 
volatility, or windblown soil particles that occurs after 
application unless specifically addressed on the pesticide 
product label with respect to drift control requirements. 

"EPA" means the United States Environmental Protection 
Agency. 

"Fumigant" means any substance which that by itself or in 
combination with any other substance emits or liberates a gas 

or gases, fumes, or vapors that will destroy vermin, rodents, 
insects, and other pests, and are is usually lethal, poisonous, 
noxious, or dangerous to human life. 

"Fungicide" means any substance or mixture of substances 
intended for preventing, destroying, repelling, or mitigating 
any fungi or plant disease.* 

"Herbicide" means any substance or mixture of substances 
intended for preventing, destroying, repelling, or mitigating 
any weed.* 

"Incident" means a definite and separate occurrence or 
event, involving the use or presence of a pesticide, that 
adversely affects man or the environment. 

"Insecticide" means any substance or mixture of substances 
intended for preventing, destroying, repelling, or mitigating 
any insects which that may be present in any environment 
whatsoever.* 

"Knowledge" means the possession and comprehension of 
pertinent facts, together with the ability to use them in dealing 
with specific problems and situations within the pesticide 
context. 

"Label" means the written, printed, or graphic matter on, or 
attached to, the pesticide or device, or the immediate 
container thereof, and the outside container or wrapper of the 
retail package, if any, of the pesticide or device.* 

"Labeling" means all labels and other written, printed, or 
graphic matter (i) upon the pesticide or device or any of its 
containers or wrappers, (ii) accompanying the pesticide or 
device at any time, or (iii) to which reference is made on the 
label or in literature accompanying the pesticide or device, 
except when accurate, nonmisleading reference is made to 
current official publications of the agricultural experiment 
station, the Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State 
University, the Department of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services, the State Board of Health, or similar federal 
institutions or other official agencies of the Commonwealth 
or other states when such states are authorized by law to 
conduct research in the field of pesticides.* 

"Licensed" or "licensee" means those businesses which, 
when meeting the requirements established by the Board of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services, are issued a license to 
engage in the sale, storage, distribution, recommend the use, 
or application of pesticides in Virginia in exchange for 
compensation.* 

"Marine antifoulant paint" means any compound, coating, 
paint or treatment applied or used for the purpose of 
controlling freshwater or marine fouling organisms on 
vessels.** 

"Pesticide" means (i) any substance or mixture of substances 
intended for preventing, destroying, repelling, or mitigating 
any insects, rodents, fungi, bacteria, weeds, or other forms of 
plant or animal life or viruses, except viruses on or in living 
man or other animals, which the commissioner shall declare 
to be a pest; (ii) any substance or mixture of substances 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 2 Virginia Register of Regulations September 21, 2015 

252 

intended for use as a plant regulator, defoliant, or desiccant; 
and (iii) any substance which is intended to become an active 
ingredient thereof.* 

"Pesticide business" means any person engaged in the 
business of: distributing, applying or recommending the use 
of a product; or storing, selling, or offering for sale pesticides 
directly to the user. The term "pesticide business" does not 
include (i) wood treaters not for hire; (ii) seed treaters not for 
hire; (iii) operations which that produce agricultural products 
unless the owners or operators of such operations described in 
clauses (i), (ii), and (iii) are engaged in the business of selling 
or offering for sale pesticides, or distributing pesticides to 
persons outside of that agricultural producing operation in 
connection with commercial transactions; or (iv) businesses 
exempted by regulations adopted by the board.* 

"Private applicator" means an applicator who uses or 
supervises the use of any pesticide which that is classified for 
restricted use for purposes of producing any agricultural 
commodity on property owned or rented by him or his 
employer or, if applied without compensation other than 
trading of personal services between producers of agricultural 
commodities, on the property of another person.* 

"Registered technician" means an individual who renders 
services similar to those of a certified commercial applicator, 
but who has not completed all the training or time in service 
requirements to be eligible for examination for certification as 
a commercial applicator and is limited to application of 
general use pesticides. However, if he applies restricted use 
pesticides he shall do so only under the direct supervision of a 
certified commercial applicator.* Every registered technician 
is certified in Category 60 regardless of the category or 
subcategory in which he is trained and applies pesticides. 

"Registered technician not for hire" means any registered 
technician who uses or supervises the use of pesticides as part 
of his job duties only on property owned or leased by him or 
his employer. It also applies to governmental employees who 
use or supervise the use of pesticides, whether on property 
owned or leased by them or their employers or not, in the 
performance of their official duties. 

"Repeat violation" means another violation following the 
first violation of the same provision of the Virginia Pesticide 
Control Act or the federal Insecticide, Fungicide, and 
Rodenticide Act (7 USC § 136 et seq.), or regulations adopted 
pursuant thereto, committed within a three-year period 
commencing with the date of official notification of the first 
violation of the provision. 

"Restricted entry interval" means the time after the end of a 
pesticide application during which entry into the treated area 
is restricted. 

"Restricted use pesticide" or "pesticide classified for 
restricted use" means any pesticide classified for restricted 
use by the administrator of the EPA under the provisions of 
1947 (7 USC § 3(d)(1)(c)) of the federal Insecticide, 
Fungicide, and Rodenticide Act (as amended). 

"Rodenticide" means any substance or mixture of substances 
intended for preventing, destroying, repelling, or mitigating 
rodents or any other vertebrate animal which the 
commissioner shall declare to be a pest.* 

"Tributyltin compounds" means any compound having three 
normal butyl groups attached to a tin atom and with or 
without an anion such as chloride, fluoride, or oxide.** 

"Under the direct supervision of" means the act or process 
whereby the application of a pesticide is made by a competent 
person acting under the instructions and control of a certified 
commercial applicator who is responsible for the actions of 
that person.* 

"Under the direct on-site supervision of" means the act or 
process whereby the application of a pesticide is made by a 
competent person acting under the instructions and control of 
a certified commercial applicator who is responsible for the 
actions of that person and is physically present on the 
property upon which the pesticide is being applied, and is in 
constant visual contact with the person applying the pesticide. 

"Use" means the employment of a pesticide for the purposes 
of (i) preventing, destroying, repelling, or mitigating any pest 
or (ii) regulating plant growth, causing defoliation or 
desiccation of plants. The term "use" shall include application 
or mixing, and shall include handling or transfer of a pesticide 
after the manufacturer's original seal is broken. The term 
"use" shall also include any act with respect to a particular 
pesticide which is consistent with the label directions for that 
particular pesticide.* 

"Vessel" means every description of watercraft, other than a 
seaplane, used or capable of being used as a means of 
transportation on the water, whether self-propelled or 
otherwise, and includes barges and tugs.** 
2VAC5-685-20. General requirements for certification.  

A. The following persons must be certified as pesticide 
applicators: 

1. Commercial applicators; 
2. Registered technicians; and 
3. Private applicators. 

B. Commercial applicators not for hire must be certified 
only when using any pesticide in the following areas except 
as noted in subsection C of this section: 

1. Areas open to the general public at daycare facilities, 
educational institutions, health care facilities, and 
convalescent facilities; 
2. Areas where open food is stored, processed, or sold; and 
3. Recreational lands over five acres in size. 

C. Employees of local, state, and federal governmental 
agencies who use or supervise the use of any pesticide on any 
area in the performance of their official duties must be 
certified as either commercial applicators not for hire or 
registered technicians, but they are exempt from any 
certification fees. 
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D. All persons desiring certification as pesticide applicators 
must: 

1. Complete board-approved training appropriate for the 
desired classification;  
2. Submit a completed application to the commissioner; 
and 
3. Pass required examination(s) examination or 
examinations. a. Applicants who do not pass the 
examination on their first attempt are eligible to be 
reexamined for the same category 10 days from the date of 
the first examination. 

b. Applicants who fail on the second or subsequent 
attempts must wait 30 days from the date of the last 
examination before being reexamined in the same 
category. 
c. Applicants requesting and who request reexamination 
must resubmit a completed application to the 
commissioner or his duly authorized agent and pay the 
nonrefundable applicator certification fee as determined 
by 2VAC5-675, Rules and Regulations Governing the 
Pesticide Fees Charged by the Department of Agriculture 
and Consumer Services Under the Virginia Pesticide 
Control Act. 

E. Persons with a history of repeat violations of federal or 
state pesticide laws or whose certification or pesticide 
business license has been revoked within the two-year period 
immediately prior to application are not eligible for 
certification. Such persons may appear before the board to 
show why they should be granted certification as outlined 
under provisions of § 3.2-3940 E of the Code of Virginia. 

F. Applicants for certification cannot engage in the activity 
for which they are requesting certification, unless 
participating in supervised direct on-site training, until 
certification has been issued by the commissioner. 
Commercial applicators may not apply pesticides in any 
category or subcategory activity until they have passed the 
category-specific examination and obtained the appropriate 
certification. 

G. A commercial or private applicator or registered 
technician may request a duplicate of the certification card if 
the applicator's or technician's card has been lost, stolen, 
mutilated or destroyed. The department shall issue a duplicate 
card to the applicator or technician upon payment of the costs 
of duplication. 
2VAC5-685-30. Specific certification requirements for 
commercial applicators.  

A. In addition to the general requirements listed in 2VAC5-
685-20, applicants for commercial applicator certification 
shall meet the following requirements: 

1. Certification as a registered technician, as well as 
employment as a registered technician for at least a year; or 

2. One year of education, training, or experience in a 
pesticide related field which provides the equivalent 
practical knowledge of proper pesticide use required of a 
registered technician. 

B. The application process for commercial applicators is as 
follows: 

1. The application must be in writing to the commissioner; 
and 
2. The application must contain: 

a. Name; 
b. Principal business address in the Commonwealth and 
elsewhere; 
c. Qualifications and proposed operations; and 
d. Classification(s) Classification or classifications 
desired. 

Individuals seeking certification as commercial applicators 
must pay a fee as determined by 2VAC5-675, Rules and 
Regulations Governing the Pesticide Fees Charged by the 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services Under the 
Virginia Pesticide Control Act. 

C. Applicants shall, within 90 days after submitting the 
application and paying the fee, report to an authorized testing 
location and take the required examinations. 

D. Applicants who do not complete the certification process 
within two years of the date of passing the examinations must 
be reexamined. 

E. Aerial pesticide application applicants must meet the 
requirements of the Federal Aviation Agency, the Virginia 
Department of Aviation of the Commonwealth, and any other 
applicable federal or state laws or regulations to operate aerial 
equipment. 
2VAC5-685-40. Specific certification requirements for 
private applicators.  

A. Each applicant for a private applicator's certificate shall 
apply to the commissioner and then report to an authorized 
testing location within 90 days and take an examination for 
each certification category, specified in 2VAC5-685-80, 
applicable to his operation. The application shall contain the 
applicant's name, address and classification desired for 
certification. 

B. Persons who cannot read or understand labels shall not be 
certified as private applicators unless they demonstrate 
competence to apply restricted use pesticides on their own 
properties. After consulting the appropriate Virginia 
Cooperative Extension agent, a department pesticide 
investigator may recommend that the board grant a waiver of 
the literacy requirement. Persons seeking a waiver of the 
literacy requirements shall petition the board. Persons 
certified under this waiver shall obtain certification in the 
categories of limited certificate or single product certification 
as described in 2VAC5-685-80.  
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2VAC5-685-50. Certification procedures for registered 
technicians.  

A. In addition to the general requirements listed in 2VAC5-
685-20, individuals seeking certification as registered 
technicians must: 

1. Receive on-the-job training in the proper application of 
pesticides under the direct on-site supervision of a certified 
commercial applicator for at least 20 hours during the six-
month period prior to applying for certification; 
2. Complete at least 20 hours of board-approved training; 
3. Submit an application form with the fee established by 
regulations of the Board of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services; and 
4. Take the examination within 90 days after an individual 
is hired or transferred into a position where duties and 
functions involve the commercial use of pesticides. 
Individuals not passing the examination on the first attempt 
must reapply, following the procedures outlined in 
2VAC5-685-20 D 3, and retake the examination within 30 
days after the first attempt. Individuals failing to take and 
pass the exam within 30 days of the initial exam may not 
apply pesticides commercially, even under direct on-site 
supervision, until they pass the examination. 

Individuals who have previously submitted an application 
form and either did not take the examination within 90 days 
or did not pass the examination may not apply pesticides 
commercially, even under direct on-site supervision, until 
they reapply, following the procedures outlined in 2VAC5-
685-20 and pass the examination. 

Applicants who do not complete the certification process 
within two years of the date of passing the examination must 
be reexamined. 

B. Before registered technicians begin working in any 
application category or subcategory that is different from the 
category in which they received their original training, they 
shall receive additional training from a commercial applicator 
in the following aspects of pesticide application as it relates to 
the proposed category or subcategory of work: 

1. Pesticides to be used, including reading and 
understanding the label; 
2. Application equipment and techniques; 
3. Pests to be controlled; 
4. Personal protective equipment and clothing; and 
5. Environmental concerns, including storage and disposal 
of pesticides applied. 

The commercial applicator providing training to a registered 
technician shall be certified in the category or subcategory for 
which he is providing the training and shall provide proof to 
the department of such training on forms provided by the 
department. Such forms must be received by the department 
within 10 calendar days of the completion of such training. 

2VAC5-685-60. Persons exempt from certification.  
The following persons are exempt from certification:  

1. Persons conducting laboratory research involving 
restricted use pesticides;  
2. Doctors of medicine or doctors of veterinary medicine 
applying pesticides as drugs or medication during the 
course of their practice, or to control pests in corpses;  
3. Persons who use or supervise the use of nonrestricted 
use pesticides as part of their duties only on properties 
owned or leased by their employers, except those persons 
identified in 2VAC5-685-20 B;  
4. Persons who provide janitorial or cleaning services 
using nonrestricted use sanitizers, disinfectants, and 
germicides;  
5. Painters who apply restricted use marine antifoulant 
paint under the direct supervision of a certified commercial 
applicator. One certified commercial applicator shall be 
present for every eight painters;  
6. Forestry applicators standing on the ground who apply 
general use herbicides for forest vegetation control and tree 
thinning under the direct on-site supervision of a certified 
commercial applicator. One certified commercial 
applicator shall be present for every eight forestry 
applicators and be within voice contact of and no more 
than 200 feet from such applicators;  
7. Individuals engaged in the training required for 
certification while under the direct on-site supervision of a 
certified commercial applicator;  
8. Employees of local, state, or federal governmental 
agencies who from time to time make incidental use of 
ready-to-use pesticides that are properly registered in 
Virginia. For purposes of this section, "incidental use" 
means the use of a pesticide on an occasional, isolated, 
site-specific basis in order to avoid immediate personal 
harm from stinging or biting insects. This exemption does 
not include regular, routine, or maintenance applications of 
pesticides or any use of restricted-use pesticides; 
9. Individuals who apply pesticides for the survey for 
gypsy moth under the authority of the department; and 
10. Individuals who apply pesticides for the survey for 
cotton boll weevil under the authority of the department. 

2VAC5-685-80. Categories for private applicator 
certification.  

Private applicators who apply or supervise the application of 
restricted use pesticides shall be certified in one or more of 
the following categories:  

1. Food, fiber, forestry products, and commodity 
production. Includes private applicators who use or 
supervise the use of restricted use pesticides: in the 
production of agricultural crops, including fumigation and 
chemigation; forestry products; on animals; in places 
where animals are confined; for the control of vertebrate 
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pests of agricultural crops and livestock animals; in the 
production of agricultural commodities; and for the 
fumigation of agricultural products.  
2. Ornamental production. Includes private applicators who 
use or supervise the use of restricted use pesticides to 
control pests: in tree nurseries; shrub nurseries; ornamental 
plant nurseries; flower nurseries; in greenhouses used for 
breeding and growing ornamental plants; in irrigation 
systems; and in ornamental production using fumigants.  
3. Limited certificate--single product/single use. Includes 
private applicator applicants who are seeking authorization 
to apply a single restricted use pesticide for a single 
identified purpose. This category is intended for limited 
use under special or emergency circumstances as identified 
by the board on a case-by-case basis.  
4. Single product certification. Includes private applicator 
applicants who are seeking authorization to apply a single 
identified restricted use product, or related restricted use 
products with the same active ingredient and with a similar 
formulation and use. This category is intended for limited 
use under special or emergency circumstances as identified 
by the board.  
1. Category 86: Single product certification. Includes 
private applicator applicants who are seeking authorization 
to apply a single identified restricted use product or related 
restricted use products with the same active ingredient and 
with a similar formulation and use. This category is 
intended for limited use under special or emergency 
circumstances as identified by the board. 
2. Category 87: Limited certificate - single product or 
single use. Includes private applicator applicants who are 
seeking authorization to apply a single restricted use 
pesticide for a single identified purpose. This category is 
intended for limited use under special or emergency 
circumstances as identified by the board on a case-by-case 
basis.  
3. Category 90: Agricultural commodity production - food, 
fiber, and forestry products, and commodity production. 
Includes private applicators who use or supervise the use 
of restricted use pesticides (i) in the production of 
agricultural crops, including fumigation and chemigation; 
(ii) on forestry products; (iii) on animals; (iv) in places 
where animals are confined; (v) for the control of 
vertebrate pests of agricultural crops and livestock animals; 
(vi) in the production of agricultural commodities; and (vii) 
for the fumigation of agricultural products.  
4. Category 91: Ornamental production. Includes private 
applicators who use or supervise the use of restricted use 
pesticides to control pests in (i) tree nurseries, (ii) shrub 
nurseries, (iii) ornamental plant nurseries, (iv) flower 
nurseries, (v) greenhouses used for breeding and growing 
ornamental plants, (vi) irrigation systems, and (vii) 
ornamental production using fumigants. 

Part IV  
Knowledge Required for Certification of Pesticide 

Applicators  
2VAC5-685-90. Determination of general knowledge and 
qualifications for private and commercial applicators and 
registered technicians.  

A. Applicants shall be tested on their knowledge and 
qualifications concerning the use and handling of pesticides. 
The examination will test the applicants' general knowledge 
required for all categories, and the additional knowledge 
specifically required for each category or subcategory in 
which an applicator desires to be certified. 

B. All applicants for certification as private or commercial 
applicators or registered technicians shall demonstrate 
practical knowledge of the principles and practices of pest 
control and the safe use of pesticides, as contained in a basic 
pesticide applicator certification training core manual. Testing 
will be based on problems and situations in the following 
areas: 

1. Federal and Commonwealth of Virginia pesticide laws 
and regulations; 
2. Understanding and interpreting pesticide labels; 
3. Handling of accidents and incidents; 
4. Proper methods of storing, mixing/loading mixing, 
loading, transporting, handling, applying, and disposing of 
pesticides; 
5. Safety and health, including proper use of personal 
protective equipment; 
6. Potential adverse effects caused by the application of 
pesticides under various climatic or environmental 
conditions, such as drift from the target area, pesticide run-
off, ground water groundwater and drinking water 
contamination, and hazard to endangered species; and 
7. Recognizing common pests and general pest biology. 

Part V  
Renewal of Certification and Certificates  

2VAC5-685-130. Renewal of certification.  
A. Any certified pesticide private or commercial applicator 

or registered technician who desires to renew his certification 
shall do so biennially for the category or subcategory for 
which he is certified. All applicators A certified private or 
commercial applicator or registered technician must first 
attend board-approved recertification course(s) courses and 
submit proof of attendance at such courses, or be reexamined 
in basic pesticide safety and the categories desired for 
recertification. In addition to the above requirement in this 
subsection, commercial applicators and registered technicians 
shall also pay the biennial certificate fee and submit an 
application for renewal before the commissioner will renew 
their certification.  

B. Certified applicators A certified commercial applicator or 
registered technician must complete a board-approved 
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recertification course that, at a minimum, addresses the 
following topics: 

1. Legal aspects including: 
a. A reminder to follow label directions including those 
on use, storage, disposal, and transportation; 
b. A review of possible consequences of violating the 
law; 
c. A reminder that restricted use pesticides purchased 
under an applicator's certificate number must be for use 
by certified commercial applicators only; 
d. A review of a certified commercial applicator's 
responsibilities in supervising the use of restricted use 
pesticides by noncertified applicators; and 
e. A review of recordkeeping responsibilities of certified 
commercial applicators for restricted use pesticide 
applications; and 

2. Category-related training including: 
a. A review of general safety for the applicator, 
coworkers, and the public; 
b. A review of the environmental aspects of pesticide 
use, including impact on nontarget organisms, wildlife, 
domestic animals, groundwater, etc; 
c. A review of application techniques, including 
equipment, calibration, and maintenance; 
d. A review of hazards, both personal safety and 
environmental, unique to that specific category; 
e. A review of pertinent information regarding new 
chemistry or new formulations available that would be of 
use to applicators certified in the category; 
f. A review of integrated pest management programs 
applicable to the category; and 
g. A review of pests specific to category, including in-
depth training on identification and control of selected 
specific pests. This section may be tailored to local 
needs. 

C. A certified private applicator must complete a board-
approved recertification course that, at a minimum, addresses 
the following topics: 

1. General safety; 
2. Legal update; and 
3. Pest management and application technology including: 

a. A review of category-specific pest management and 
pesticide use patterns; and 
b. A review of category-specific pesticide application and 
handling technology. 

D. A certified private or commercial applicator or registered 
technician may accumulate up to four years of credit by 
attending board-approved recertification courses.  

C. E. Upon expiration of certification, the applicator's 
certificate of a private applicator, commercial applicator, or 

registered technician shall become invalid. Any pesticide 
private applicator, commercial applicator, or registered 
technician who desires to renew his certification, but fails to 
do so within 60 days after its expiration, shall be reexamined.  

Part VII  
Reporting of Pesticide Accidents, Incidents, or Loss  

2VAC5-685-170. Reporting of pesticide accidents and 
incidents.  

A. Commercial Certified commercial or private applicators 
or registered technicians shall report any pesticide accident or 
incident in which they are involved that constitutes a threat to 
any person, to public health or safety, or to the environment, 
as a result of the use or presence of any pesticide. The 
accident or incident shall be reported whether or not a 
restricted use pesticide is involved. 

B. When the accident or incident involves a discharge or 
spillage of a pesticide, the applicator certified commercial or 
private applicator or registered technician shall contact the 
department for guidance to determine whether the discharged 
or spilled amount is a reportable quantity. 

C. The applicator certified commercial or private applicator 
or registered technician shall make the initial notification to 
the department's Office of Pesticide Services by telephone 
within a reasonable time, not to exceed 48 hours after the 
accident or incident occurrence, should circumstances prevent 
immediate notification. The applicator certified commercial 
or private applicator or registered technician shall prepare and 
submit a written report of the accident or incident to the 
Office of Pesticide Services within 10 working days after the 
initial notification. The report shall include the following: 

1. Name of individuals involved in accident or incident; 
2. Name of pesticide involved; 
3. Quantity of pesticide spilled, and containment 
procedures; 
4. Time, date, and location of accident or incident; 
5. Mitigating actions taken; and 
6. Name, (or description if unnamed), and location of 
bodies of water nearby where contamination of such bodies 
of water could reasonably be expected to occur due to 
natural or manmade actions. 

Part VIII  
Reciprocal Agreement  

2VAC5-685-180. Issuance of a certificate on a reciprocal 
basis.  

A. A person who is currently certified by another state or by 
a federal agency may make written application to the 
commissioner, or his duly authorized agent, for issuance of a 
certificate on a reciprocal basis without examination, in 
accordance with § 3.2-3934 of the Code of Virginia. Along 
with his written application, an applicant shall either (i) 
present an original certificate issued by the state of origin or 
issued by a federal agency or (ii) request that the state of 
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origin or federal agency send an attested copy of the 
applicant's certification directly to the commissioner or his 
duly authorized agent.  

The applicant shall either include a document granting 
power of attorney to a resident of Virginia to receive process 
or provide proof that the applicant has appointed a registered 
agent under the laws of the Commonwealth. Reciprocal 
certification shall not be granted based on reciprocal 
certification issued in another state.  

B. Any certificate issued on a reciprocal basis may be 
suspended in the same manner and on the same grounds as a 
Virginia certificate pursuant to the provisions of Chapter 39 
(§ 3.2-3900 et seq.) of Title 3.2 of the Code of Virginia. A 
certificate issued on a reciprocal basis may also be suspended 
if the nonresident's original certificate or federal certification 
is suspended or revoked.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4126; Filed August 20, 2015, 3:50 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

BOARD OF GAME AND INLAND FISHERIES 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 
Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 
Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia 
when promulgating regulations regarding the management of 
wildlife. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-50. Game: Bear (amending 
4VAC15-50-120).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 
the Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: September 4, 2015.  
Agency Contact: Ryan Brown, Legislative and Policy 
Manager, Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 
Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone 
(804) 263-3258, or email ryan.brown@dgif.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendment establishes a bear hound training season 
in Charlotte County that is open from the first Saturday in 
September through the last Saturday in September, both 
dates inclusive. 

4VAC15-50-120. Bear hound training season.  
A. It shall be lawful to chase black bear with dogs, without 

capturing or taking, from the second Saturday in August 
through the last Saturday in September, both dates inclusive, 
in all counties and cities or in the portions in which bear 
hunting is permitted except in the counties of Accomack, 
Amelia, Appomattox, Brunswick, Buckingham, Campbell, 

Caroline, Charles City, Charlotte, Chesterfield, Clarke, 
Cumberland, Dinwiddie, Essex, Fairfax, Fauquier, Fluvanna, 
Frederick, Gloucester, Goochland, Grayson (west of Route 
16), Greensville, Halifax, Hanover, Henrico, Henry, Isle of 
Wight, James City, King and Queen, King George, King 
William, Lancaster, Loudoun, Louisa, Lunenburg, Mathews, 
Mecklenburg, Middlesex, New Kent, Northampton, 
Northumberland, Nottoway, Orange, Patrick, Pittsylvania, 
Powhatan, Prince Edward, Prince George, Prince William, 
Richmond, Roanoke (south of Interstate 81), Smyth (that part 
south of Interstate 81 and west of Route 16), Southampton, 
Spotsylvania, Stafford, Surry, Sussex, Westmoreland, and 
York, and in the cities of Hampton, Newport News and 
Norfolk.  

B. It shall be lawful to chase black bear with dogs, without 
capturing or taking, from the Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November and for 14 days following, both dates 
inclusive, in the counties of Amelia, Appomattox, 
Buckingham, Brunswick, Campbell (east of the Norfolk 
Southern Railroad), Charles City, Charlotte, Cumberland, 
Essex, Gloucester, Greensville, Halifax, Isle of Wight, James 
City, King and Queen, King George, King William, 
Lancaster, Lunenburg, Mathews, Mecklenburg, Middlesex, 
New Kent, Northumberland, Nottoway, Pittsylvania (east of 
the Norfolk Southern Railroad), Prince Edward, Prince 
George, Richmond, Southampton, Surry, Sussex, 
Westmoreland, and York. 

C. It shall be lawful to chase black bears with dogs, without 
capturing or taking, in the counties of Brunswick, Charlotte, 
Greensville, Lunenburg, and Mecklenburg from the first 
Saturday in September through the last Saturday in 
September, both dates inclusive. 

D. It shall be unlawful to have in possession a firearm, bow, 
crossbow or any weapon capable of taking a black bear while 
participating in the bear hound training season. The meaning 
of "possession" for the purpose of this section shall include, 
but not be limited to, having a firearm, bow, crossbow or any 
weapon capable of taking a black bear in or on one's person, 
vehicle, or conveyance.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4470; Filed August 21, 2015, 3:18 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

GEORGE MASON UNIVERSITY 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: George Mason University is 
claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 6 of the Code of Virginia, 
which exempts educational institutions operated by the 
Commonwealth. 
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Title of Regulation: 8VAC35-80. Unclaimed Personal 
Property (adding 8VAC35-80-10, 8VAC35-80-20, 
8VAC35-80-30).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 23-4.2 and 23-91.29 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
Effective Date: September 11, 2015.  
Agency Contact: Elizabeth Woodley, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, 4400 University Drive, Fairfax, VA 22030, 
telephone (703) 993-5115 or email ewoodley@gmu.edu. 
Summary: 

The regulatory action establishes the requirements 
regarding unclaimed personal property in the possession 
of George Mason University. 

CHAPTER 80 
UNCLAIMED PERSONAL PROPERTY 

8VAC35-80-10. Scope. 
This chapter applies to (i) all George Mason University 

faculty, staff, students, and university contractors and (ii) the 
general public. 
8VAC35-80-20. Definitions. 

The following word and term when used in this chapter shall 
have the following meaning unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Unclaimed personal property" refers to tangible or 
intangible personal property, whether lost or abandoned, in 
the possession of George Mason University. 
8VAC35-80-30. Requirements. 

The care, restitution, sale, destruction, and disposal of 
unclaimed personal property in the possession of George 
Mason University shall be in accordance with § 23-4.2 of the 
Code of Virginia and with George Mason University Policy 
1136, Unclaimed Personal Property, approved April 27, 2015.  
DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 
(8VAC35-80) 

Policy 1136: Unclaimed Personal Property, George Mason 
University, April 27, 2015 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4160; Filed September 8, 2015, 9:23 a.m.  

STATE COUNCIL OF HIGHER EDUCATION FOR 
VIRGINIA 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Council of Higher 
Education for Virginia is claiming an exemption from Article 2 
of the Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 
A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that 
are necessary to conform to changes in Virginia statutory law 
where no agency discretion is involved. The State Council of 
Higher Education for Virginia will receive, consider, and 
respond to petitions from any interested person at any time with 
respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 8VAC40-20. Regulations for the Senior 
Citizen Higher Education Program (amending 8VAC40-
20-20).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 23-9.6:1 and 23-38.56 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
Effective Date: September 21, 2015.  
Agency Contact: Melissa Wyatt, Senior Associate for 
Financial Aid, State Council of Higher Education for 
Virginia, 101 North 14th Street, Ninth Floor, Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 225-4113, FAX (804) 225-2604, or 
email melissacollumwyatt@schev.edu. 
Summary: 

The amendment conforms to Chapter 146 of the 2015 Acts 
of Assembly by increasing the maximum state taxable 
income a senior citizen may have, from no more than 
$15,000 to no more than $23,850, to be eligible to have 
tuition waived to take higher education courses for 
academic credit. 

8VAC40-20-20. Eligibility.  
A senior citizen may take courses without paying tuition or 

required fees, except for course materials, under certain 
conditions. If the senior citizen has taxable income of not 
more than $15,000 $23,850 in the preceding year, the 
individual may take a course for academic credit free of 
tuition or fees, except for fees established for the purpose of 
paying for course materials, such as laboratory fees. A senior 
citizen, regardless of income level, may audit a course that is 
given for academic credit or take a noncredit course free of 
tuition or fees, except for fees established for the purpose of 
paying for course materials, such as laboratory fees.  

No limit is placed on the number of terms, quarters, or 
semesters in which a senior citizen who is not enrolled for 
academic credit may register for courses, but the individual 
can take no more than three noncredit courses in any one 
term, quarter, or semester. There will be no restriction on the 
number of courses that may be taken for credit in any term, 
semester, or quarter, or on the number of terms, semesters, or 
quarters in which an eligible senior citizen may take courses 
for credit.  

The two additional conditions listed below shall be met 
before a senior citizen may take a course under the provisions 
of this program:  

1. The senior citizen shall meet the appropriate admission 
requirements of the institution in which the student plans to 
enroll,; and  
2. The senior citizen may be admitted to a course only on a 
space-available basis after all tuition-paying students have 
been accommodated. State institutions of higher education 
may make individual exceptions to this procedure when the 
senior citizen has completed 75% of the requirements for 
the degree.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7cc32004160~1&typ=40&actno=004160&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7cc32004160~1&typ=40&actno=004160&mime=application/pdf
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An institution has no special obligation to offer courses 
specifically to meet the needs of senior citizens or to continue 
to provide a particular course for a senior citizen who has 
registered for the course if the regular enrollment in the 
course is not adequate to justify the offering.  

Nothing in this regulation exempts a senior citizen enrolled 
in a course from the requirements for attendance and 
completion of course assignments.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4477; Filed August 24, 2015, 3:09 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Health is 
claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 
Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 
of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 
conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where no 
agency discretion is involved. The State Board of Health will 
receive, consider, and respond to petitions from any interested 
person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-31. Virginia Emergency 
Medical Services Regulations (amending 12VAC5-31-10).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-111.4 of the Code 
of Virginia. 
Effective Date: October 22, 2015.  
Agency Contact: Michael Berg, Regulatory and Compliance 
Manager, Department of Health, 1041 Technology Park 
Drive, Glen Allen, VA 23059-4500, telephone (804) 888-
9131, or email michael.berg@vdh.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

This action revises the definitions of "emergency medical 
services," "emergency medical services agency," 
"emergency medical services personnel," "emergency 
medical services provider," and "emergency medical 
services system" to conform to changes in the Code of 
Virginia enacted by Chapters 502 and 503 of the 2015 Acts 
of Assembly.  

Part I  
General Provisions  

Article 1  
Definitions  

12VAC5-31-10. Definitions. 
The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise.  

"Abandonment" means the termination of a health care 
provider-patient relationship without assurance that an equal 

or higher level of care meeting the assessed needs of the 
patient's condition is present and available.  

"Accreditation" means approval granted to an entity by the 
Office of Emergency Medical Services (EMS) after the 
institution has met specific requirements enabling the 
institution to conduct basic or advanced life support training 
and education programs. There are four levels of 
accreditation: interim, provisional, full, and probationary. 

"Accreditation cycle" means the term or cycle at the 
conclusion of which accreditation expires unless a full self-
study is performed. Accreditation cycles are typically 
quinquennial (five-year) but these terms may be shorter, 
triennial (three-year) or biennial (two-year), if the Office of 
EMS deems it necessary.  

"Accreditation date" means the date of the accreditation 
decision that is awarded to an entity following its full site 
visit and review. 

"Accreditation decision" means the conclusion reached 
about an entity status after evaluation of the results of the 
onsite survey, recommendations of the site review team, and 
any other relevant information such as documentation of 
compliance with standards, documentation of plans to correct 
deficiencies, or evidence of recent improvements. 

"Accreditation denied" means an accreditation decision that 
results when an entity has been denied accreditation. This 
accreditation decision becomes effective only when all 
available appeal procedures have been exhausted.  

"Acute" means a medical condition having a rapid onset and 
a short duration. 

"Acute care hospital" means any hospital that provides 
emergency medical services on a 24-hour basis.  

"Administrative Process Act" or "APA" means Chapter 40 
(§ 2.2-4000 et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Advanced life support" or "ALS" means the provision of 
care by EMS personnel who are certified as an Emergency 
Medical Technician (EMT)-Enhanced, Advanced EMT, 
Intermediate, or Paramedic or equivalent as approved by the 
Board of Health. 

Advanced life support in the air medical environment is a 
mission generally defined as the transport of a patient who 
receives care during a transport that includes an invasive 
medical procedure or the administration of medications, 
including IV infusions, in addition to any noninvasive care 
that is authorized by the Office of EMS. 

"Advanced life support certification course" means a 
training program that allows a student to become eligible for 
a new ALS certification level. Programs must meet the 
educational requirements established by the Office of EMS as 
defined by the respective advanced life support curriculum. 
Initial certification courses include:  

1. Emergency Medical Technician-Enhanced;  
2. Advanced EMT; 
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3. Advanced EMT to Intermediate Bridge; 
4. EMT-Enhanced to Intermediate Bridge;  
5. Intermediate;  
6. Intermediate to Paramedic Bridge;  
7. Paramedic;  
8. Registered Nurse to Paramedic Bridge; and  
9. Other programs approved by the Office of EMS.  

"Advanced life support (ALS) coordinator" means a person 
who has met the criteria established by the Office of EMS to 
assume responsibility for conducting ALS training programs.  

"Advanced life support transport" means the transportation 
of a patient who is receiving ALS level care.  

"Affiliated" means a person who is employed by or a 
member of an EMS agency.  

"Air medical specialist" means a person trained in the 
concept of flight physiology and the effects of flight on 
patients through documented completion of a program 
approved by the Office of EMS. This training must include 
but is not limited to aerodynamics, weather, communications, 
safety around aircraft/ambulances, scene safety, landing zone 
operations, flight physiology, equipment/aircraft 
familiarization, basic flight navigation, flight documentation, 
and survival training specific to service area.  

"Ambulance" means, as defined by § 32.1-111.1 of the Code 
of Virginia, any vehicle, vessel or craft that holds a valid 
permit issued by the Office of EMS and that is specially 
constructed, equipped, maintained and operated, and intended 
to be used for emergency medical care and the transportation 
of patients who are sick, injured, wounded, or otherwise 
incapacitated or helpless. The word "ambulance" may not 
appear on any vehicle, vessel or aircraft that does not hold a 
valid EMS vehicle permit.  

"Approved locking device" means a mechanism that 
prevents removal or opening of a drug kit by means other 
than securing the drug kit by the handle only.  

"Assistant director" means the Assistant Director of the 
Office of Emergency Medical Services.  

"Attendant-in-charge" or "AIC" means the certified or 
licensed person who is qualified and designated to be 
primarily responsible for the provision of emergency medical 
care.  

"Attendant" means a certified or licensed person qualified to 
assist in the provision of emergency medical care.  

"Basic life support" or "BLS" means the provision of care 
by EMS personnel who are certified as First Responder, 
Emergency Medical Responder (EMR), or Emergency 
Medical Technician or equivalent as approved by the Board 
of Health. 

Basic life support in the air medical environment means a 
mission generally defined as the transport of a patient who 
receives care during a transport that is commensurate with the 

scope of practice of an EMT. In the Commonwealth of 
Virginia care that is provided in the air medical environment 
must be assumed at a minimum by a Virginia certified 
Paramedic who is a part of the regular air medical crew. 
(fixed wing excluded) 

"BLS certification course" means a training program that 
allows a student to become eligible for a new BLS 
certification level. Programs must meet the educational 
requirements established by the Office of EMS as defined by 
the respective basic life support curriculum. Initial 
certification courses include:  

1. EMS First Responder;  
2. EMS First Responder Bridge to EMT;  
3. Emergency Medical Responder; 
4. Emergency Medical Responder Bridge to EMT; 
5. Emergency Medical Technician; and  
6. Other programs approved by the Office of EMS.  

"Board" or "state board" means the State Board of Health.  
"Candidate" means any person who is enrolled in or is 

taking a course leading toward initial certification. 
"Candidate status" means the status awarded to a program 

that has made application to the Office of EMS for 
accreditation but that is not yet accredited. 

"CDC" means the United States Centers for Disease Control 
and Prevention.  

"Certification" means a credential issued by the Office of 
EMS for a specified period of time to a person who has 
successfully completed an approved training program.  

"Certification candidate" means a person seeking EMS 
certification from the Office of EMS.  

"Certification candidate status" means any candidate or 
provider who becomes eligible for certification testing but 
who has not yet taken the certification test using that 
eligibility. 

"Certification examiner" means an individual designated by 
the Office of EMS to administer a state certification 
examination.  

"Certification transfer" means the issuance of certification 
through reciprocity, legal recognition, challenge or 
equivalency based on prior training, certification or licensure.  

"Chief executive officer" means the person authorized or 
designated by the agency or service as the highest in 
administrative rank or authority.  

"Commercial mobile radio service" or "CMRS" means the 
same as that term is defined in §§ 3 (27) and 332 (d) of the 
Federal Telecommunications Act of 1996, (47 USC § 151 et 
seq.), and the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1993, 
(Public Law 103-66, 107 USC § 312. It 312) and includes the 
term "wireless" and service provided by any wireless real 
time two-way voice communication device, including radio-
telephone communications used in cellular telephone service 
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or personal communications service (e.g., cellular telephone, 
800/900 MHz Specialized Mobile Radio, Personal 
Communications Service, etc.).  

"Commissioner" means the State Health Commissioner, the 
commissioner's duly authorized representative, or in the event 
of the commissioner's absence or a vacancy in the office of 
State Health Commissioner, the Acting Commissioner or 
Deputy Commissioner.  

"Continuing education" or "CE" means an instructional 
program that enhances a particular area of knowledge or skills 
beyond compulsory or required initial training. 

"Course" means a basic or advanced life support training 
program leading to certification or award of continuing 
education credit hours.  

"Course coordinator" means the person identified on the 
course approval request as the coordinator who is responsible 
with the physician course director for all aspects of the 
program including but not limited to assuring adherence to 
the rules and regulations, office polices, and any contract 
components.   

"Critical care" or "CC" in the air medical environment is a 
mission defined as an interfacility transport of a critically ill 
or injured patient whose condition warrants care 
commensurate with the scope of practice of a physician or 
registered nurse. 

"Critical criteria" means an identified essential element of a 
state practical certification examination that must be properly 
performed to successfully pass the station.  

"Defibrillation" means the discharge of an electrical current 
through a patient's heart for the purpose of restoring a 
perfusing cardiac rhythm. For the purpose of these 
regulations, defibrillation includes cardioversion.  

"Defibrillator -- automated external" or "AED" means an 
automatic or semi-automatic device, or both, capable of 
rhythm analysis and defibrillation after electronically 
detecting the presence of ventricular fibrillation and 
ventricular tachycardia, approved by the United States U.S. 
Food and Drug Administration.  

"Defibrillator -- manual" means a monitor/defibrillator that 
has no capability for rhythm analysis and will charge and 
deliver a shock only at the command of the operator. For the 
purpose of compliance with these regulations, a manual 
defibrillator must be capable of synchronized cardioversion 
and noninvasive external pacing. A manual defibrillator must 
be approved by the United States U.S. Food and Drug 
Administration.  

"Designated infection control officer" means a liaison 
between the medical facility treating the source patient and 
the exposed employee. This person has been formally trained 
for this position and is knowledgeable in proper post 
exposure medical follow up procedures and current 
regulations and laws governing disease transmission. 

"Designated emergency response agency" means an EMS 
agency recognized by an ordinance or a resolution of the 
governing body of any county, city or town as an integral part 
of the official public safety program of the county, city or 
town with a responsibility for providing emergency medical 
response.  

"Designated infection control officer" means a liaison 
between the medical facility treating the source patient and 
the exposed employee. This person has been formally trained 
for this position and is knowledgeable in proper post 
exposure medical follow up procedures and current 
regulations and laws governing disease transmission. 

"Director" means the Director of the Office of Emergency 
Medical Services.  

"Diversion" means a change in the normal or established 
pattern of patient transport at the direction of a medical care 
facility.  

"Emergency medical services" or "EMS" means the health 
care, public health, and public safety services used in 
responding to an individual's the medical response to the real 
or perceived needs need for immediate medical assessment, 
care, or transportation and preventive care or transportation in 
order to prevent loss of life or aggravation of physiological or 
psychological illness or injury including any or all of the 
services that could be described as first response, basic life 
support, advanced life support, neonatal life support, 
communications, training and medical control. 

"EMS Advisory Board" means the Emergency Medical 
Services Advisory Board as appointed by the Governor.  

"EMS agency status report" means a report submitted on 
forms specified by the Office of EMS that documents the 
operational capabilities of an EMS agency including data on 
personnel, vehicles and other related resources.  

"EMS education coordinator" means any EMS provider, 
registered nurse, physician assistant, doctor of osteopathic 
medicine, or doctor of medicine who possesses Virginia 
certification as an EMS education coordinator. Such 
certification does not confer authorization to practice EMS. 

"Emergency medical services agency" or "EMS agency" 
means a any person licensed by the Office of EMS to engage 
engaged in the business, service, or regular activity, whether 
or not for profit, of transporting or rendering immediate 
medical care and providing transportation to persons who are 
sick, injured, or otherwise incapacitated or helpless and that 
holds a valid license as an emergency medical services 
agency issued by the commissioner in accordance with 
§ 32.1-111.6 of the Code of Virginia. 

"EMS agency status report" means a report submitted on 
forms specified by the Office of EMS that documents the 
operational capabilities of an EMS agency including data on 
personnel, vehicles and other related resources.  

"Emergency medical services personnel" or "EMS 
personnel" means a person, affiliated with an EMS agency, 
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responsible for the provision of individuals who are employed 
by or members of an emergency medical services agency and 
who provide emergency medical services including any or all 
persons who could be described as an attendant, attendant-in-
charge, operator or pursuant to an emergency medical 
services agency license issued to that agency by the 
commissioner and in accordance with the authorization of 
that agency's operational medical director. 

"Emergency medical services physician" or "EMS 
physician" means a physician who holds current endorsement 
from the Office of EMS and may serve as an EMS agency 
operational medical director or training program physician 
course director.  

"Emergency medical services provider" or "EMS provider" 
means a any person who holds a valid certification certificate 
as an emergency medical services provider issued by the 
Office of EMS commissioner.  

"Emergency medical services system" or "EMS system" 
means a the system that provides for the arrangement of 
personnel, facilities, equipment, and other system 
components for the effective and coordinated of emergency 
medical services agencies, vehicles, equipment, and 
personnel; health care facilities; other health care and 
emergency services providers; and other components engaged 
in the planning, coordination, and delivery of emergency 
medical services in an appropriate geographical area that may 
be local, regional, state or national the Commonwealth, 
including individuals and facilities providing communications 
and other services necessary to facilitate the delivery of 
emergency medical services in the Commonwealth. 

"Emergency medical services vehicle" or "EMS vehicle" 
means any vehicle, vessel, aircraft, or ambulance that holds a 
valid emergency medical services vehicle permit issued by 
the Office of EMS that is equipped, maintained or operated to 
provide emergency medical care or transportation of patients 
who are sick, injured, wounded, or otherwise incapacitated or 
helpless.  

"Emergency medical services vehicle permit" means an 
authorization issued by the Office of EMS for any vehicle, 
vessel or aircraft meeting the standards and criteria 
established by regulation for emergency medical services 
vehicles.  

"Emergency medical technician instructor" means an EMS 
provider who holds a valid certification issued by the Office 
of EMS to announce and coordinate BLS programs. 

"Emergency vehicle operator's course" or "EVOC" means an 
approved course of instruction for EMS vehicle operators that 
includes safe driving skills, knowledge of the state motor 
vehicle code affecting emergency vehicles, and driving skills 
necessary for operation of emergency vehicles during 
response to an incident or transport of a patient to a health 
care facility. This course must include classroom and driving 
range skill instruction. An approved course of instruction 
includes the course objectives as identified within the U.S. 

Department of Transportation Emergency Vehicle Operator 
curriculum or as approved by OEMS the Office of EMS. 

"Exam series" means a sequence of opportunities to 
complete a certification examination with any allowed retest.  

"FAA" means the U.S. Federal Aviation Administration.  
"FAR" means Federal Aviation Regulations.  
"FCC" means the U.S. Federal Communications 

Commission.  
"Financial Assistance Review Committee" or "FARC" 

means the committee appointed by the EMS Advisory Board 
to administer the Rescue Squad Assistance Fund.  

"Full accreditation" means an accreditation decision 
awarded to an entity that demonstrates satisfactory 
compliance with applicable Virginia standards in all 
performance areas.  

"Fund" means the Virginia Rescue Squad Assistance Fund.  
"Institutional self study" means a document whereby 

training programs seeking accreditation answer questions 
about their program for the purpose of determining their level 
of preparation to conduct initial EMS training programs. 

"Instructor" means the teacher for a specific class or lesson 
of an EMS training program. 

"Instructor aide" means providers certified at or above the 
level of instruction. 

"Interfacility transport" in the air medical environment 
means as a mission for whom an admitted patient (or patients) 
was were transported from a hospital or care giving facility 
(clinic, nursing home, etc.) to a receiving facility or airport. 

"Interim accreditation" means an accreditation decision that 
results when a previously unaccredited EMS entity has been 
granted approval to operate one training program, for a period 
not to exceed 120 days, during which its application is being 
considered and before a provisional or full accreditation is 
issued, providing the following conditions are satisfied: (i) a 
complete application for accreditation is received by the 
Office of EMS and (ii) a complete institutional self study is 
submitted to the Office of EMS. Students attending a program 
with interim accreditation will not be eligible to sit for state 
testing until the entity achieves official notification of 
accreditation at the provisional or full level.  

"Invasive procedure" means a medical procedure that 
involves entry into the living body, as by incision or by 
insertion of an instrument. 

"License" means an authorization issued by the Office of 
EMS to provide emergency medical services in the state as an 
EMS agency.  

"Local EMS resource" means a person recognized by the 
Office of EMS to perform specified functions for a designated 
geographic area. This person may be designated to perform 
one or more of the functions otherwise provided by regional 
EMS councils.  
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"Local EMS response plan" means a written document that 
details the primary service area and responding interval 
standards as approved by the local government and the 
operational medical director.  

"Local governing body" or "governing body" means 
members of the governing body of a city, county, or town in 
the Commonwealth who are elected to that position or their 
designee. 

"Major medical emergency" means an emergency that 
cannot be managed through the use of locally available 
emergency medical resources and that requires 
implementation of special procedures to ensure the best 
outcome for the greatest number of patients as determined by 
the EMS provider in charge or incident commander on the 
scene. This event includes local emergencies declared by the 
locality's government and states of emergency declared by the 
Governor.  

"Medical care facility" means (as, as defined by § 32.1-
102.1 of the Code of Virginia) Virginia, any institution, place, 
building or agency, whether licensed or required to be 
licensed by the board or the Department of Behavioral Health 
and Developmental Services, whether operated for profit or 
nonprofit and whether privately owned or privately operated 
or owned or operated by a local governmental unit, by or in 
which health services are furnished, conducted, operated or 
offered for the prevention, diagnosis or treatment of human 
disease, pain, injury, deformity or physical condition, whether 
medical or surgical.  

"Medical control" means the direction and advice provided 
through a communications device (on-line) to on-site and in-
transit EMS personnel from a designated medical care facility 
staffed by appropriate personnel and operating under 
physician supervision.  

"Medical direction" means the direction and supervision of 
EMS personnel by the Operational Medical Director of the 
EMS agency with which he is affiliated.  

"Medical emergency" means the sudden onset of a medical 
condition that manifests itself by symptoms of sufficient 
severity, including severe pain, that the absence of immediate 
medical attention could reasonably be expected by a prudent 
layperson who possesses an average knowledge of health and 
medicine to result in (i) serious jeopardy to the mental or 
physical health of the individual, (ii) danger of serious 
impairment of the individual's bodily functions, (iii) serious 
dysfunction of any of the individual's bodily organs, or (iv) in 
the case of a pregnant woman, serious jeopardy to the health 
of the fetus.  

"Medical practitioner" means a physician, dentist, podiatrist, 
licensed nurse practitioner, licensed physician's assistant, or 
other person licensed, registered or otherwise permitted to 
distribute, dispense, prescribe and administer, or conduct 
research with respect to, a controlled substance in the course 
of professional practice or research in this Commonwealth.  

"Mutual aid agreement" means a written document 
specifying a formal understanding to lend aid to an EMS 
agency.  

"Neonatal" or "neonate" means, for the purpose of 
interfacility transportation, any infant who is deemed a 
newborn within a hospital, has not been discharged since the 
birthing process, and is currently receiving medical care 
under a physician. 

"Nonprofit" means without the intention of financial gain, 
advantage, or benefit as defined by federal tax law.  

"OSHA" means the U.S. Occupational Safety and Health 
Administration or Virginia Occupational Safety and Health, 
the state agency designated to perform its functions in 
Virginia.  

"Office of EMS" means the Office of Emergency Medical 
Services within the Virginia Department of Health.  

"Operational medical director" or "OMD" means an EMS 
physician, currently licensed to practice medicine or 
osteopathic medicine in the Commonwealth, who is formally 
recognized and responsible for providing medical direction, 
oversight and quality improvement to an EMS agency and 
personnel. 

"Operator" means a person qualified and designated to drive 
or pilot a specified class of permitted EMS vehicle.  

"Patient" means a person who needs immediate medical 
attention or transport, or both, whose physical or mental 
condition is such that he is in danger of loss of life or health 
impairment, or who may be incapacitated or helpless as a 
result of physical or mental condition or a person who 
requires medical attention during transport from one medical 
care facility to another.  

"Person" means (as, as defined in the Code of Virginia) 
Virginia, any person, firm, partnership, association, 
corporation, company, or group of individuals acting together 
for a common purpose or organization of any kind, including 
any government agency other than an agency of the United 
States government.  

"Physician" means an individual who holds a valid, 
unrestricted license to practice medicine or osteopathy in the 
Commonwealth.  

"Physician assistant" means an individual who holds a valid, 
unrestricted license to practice as a physician assistant in the 
Commonwealth.  

"Physician course director" or "PCD" means an EMS 
physician who is responsible for the clinical aspects of 
emergency medical care training programs, including the 
clinical and field actions of enrolled students.  

"Prehospital patient care report" or "PPCR" means a 
document used to summarize the facts and events of an EMS 
incident and includes, but is not limited to, the type of 
medical emergency or nature of the call, the response time, 
the treatment provided and other minimum data items as 
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prescribed by the board. "PPCR" includes any supplements, 
addenda, or other related attachments that document patient 
information or care provided.  

"Prehospital scene" means, in the air medical environment, 
the direct response to the scene of incident or injury, such as a 
roadway, etc. 

"Prescriber" means a practitioner who is authorized pursuant 
to §§ 54.1-3303 and 54.1-3408 of the Code of Virginia to 
issue a prescription.  

"Primary retest status" means any candidate or provider who 
failed his primary certification attempt. Primary retest status 
expires 90 days after the primary test date. 

"Primary service area" means the specific geographic area 
designated or prescribed by a locality (county, city or town) 
in which an EMS agency provides prehospital emergency 
medical care or transportation. This designated or prescribed 
geographic area served must include all locations for which 
the EMS agency is principally dispatched (i.e., first due 
response agency).  

"Private Mobile Radio Service" or "PMRS" means the same 
as that term is defined in § 20.3 of the Federal 
Communications Commission's Rules, 47 CFR 20.3. (For 
purposes of this definition, PMRS includes "industrial" and 
"public safety" radio services authorized under Part 90 of the 
Federal Communications Commission's Rules, 47 CFR 90.1 
et seq., with the exception of certain for-profit commercial 
paging services and 800/900 MHz Specialized Mobile Radio 
Services that are interconnected to the public switched 
telephone network and are therefore classified as CMRS.)  

"Probationary status" means the Office of EMS will place an 
institution on publicly disclosed probation when it has not 
completed a timely, thorough, and credible root cause 
analysis and action plan of any sentinel event occurring there. 
When the entity completes an acceptable root cause analysis 
and develops an acceptable action plan, the Office of EMS 
will remove the probation designation from the entity's 
accreditation status.  

"Provisional accreditation" means an accreditation decision 
that results when a previously unaccredited entity has 
demonstrated satisfactory compliance with a subset of 
standards during a preliminary on-site evaluation. This 
decision remains in effect for a period not to exceed 365 days, 
until one of the other official accreditation decision categories 
is assigned based upon an a follow-up site visit against all 
applicable standards.  

"Public safety answering point" or "PSAP" means a facility 
equipped and staffed on a 24-hour basis to receive requests 
for emergency medical assistance for one or more EMS 
agencies.  

"Quality management program" or "QM" means the 
continuous study of and improvement of an EMS agency or 
system including the collection of data, the identification of 
deficiencies through continuous evaluation, the education of 

personnel and the establishment of goals, policies and 
programs that improve patient outcomes in EMS systems.  

"Reaccreditation date" means the date of the reaccreditation 
decision that is awarded to an entity following a full site visit 
and review. 

"Recertification" means the process used by certified EMS 
personnel to maintain their training certifications.  

"Reentry" means the process by which EMS personnel may 
regain a training certification that has lapsed within the last 
two years.  

"Reentry status" means any candidate or provider whose 
certification has lapsed within the last two years. 

"Regional EMS council" means an organization designated 
by the board that is authorized to receive and disburse public 
funds in compliance with established performance standards 
and whose function is to plan, develop, maintain, expand and 
improve an efficient and effective regional emergency 
medical services system within a designated geographical 
area pursuant to § 32.1-111.11 32.1-111.4:2 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

"Regional trauma triage plan" means a formal written plan 
developed by a regional EMS council or local EMS resource 
and approved by the commissioner that incorporates the 
region's geographic variations, trauma care capabilities and 
resources for the triage of trauma patients pursuant to § 32.1-
111.3 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Registered nurse" means a person who is licensed or holds 
a multistate privilege under the provisions of Chapter 30 
(§ 54.1-3000 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia to 
practice professional nursing. 

"Regulated medical device" means equipment or other items 
that may only be purchased or possessed upon the approval of 
a physician and that the manufacture or sale of which is 
regulated by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA).  

"Regulated waste" means liquid or semi-liquid blood or 
other potentially infectious materials; contaminated items that 
would release blood or other potentially infectious materials 
in a liquid or semi-liquid state if compressed; items that are 
caked with dried blood or potentially infectious materials and 
are capable of releasing these materials during handling; 
items dripping with liquid product; contaminated sharps; 
pathological and microbiological waste containing blood or 
other potentially infectious materials.  

"Regulations" means (as, as defined in the Code of Virginia) 
Virginia, any statement of general application, having the 
force of law, affecting the rights or conduct of any person, 
promulgated by an authorized board or agency.  

"Rescue" means a service that may include the search for 
lost persons, gaining access to persons trapped, extrication of 
persons from potentially dangerous situations and the 
rendering of other assistance to such persons.  
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"Rescue vehicle" means a vehicle, vessel or aircraft that is 
maintained and operated to assist with the location and 
removal of victims from a hazardous or life-threatening 
situation to areas of safety or treatment.  

"Responding time" means the elapsed time in minutes 
between the time a call for emergency medical services is 
received by the PSAP until the appropriate emergency 
medical response unit arrives on the scene. 

"Responding time standard" means a time standard in 
minutes, established by the EMS agency, the locality and 
OMD, in which the EMS agency will comply with 90% or 
greater reliability.  

"Response obligation to locality" means a requirement of a 
designated emergency response agency to lend aid to all other 
designated emergency response agencies within the locality 
or localities in which the EMS agency is based.  

"Revocation" means the permanent removal of an EMS 
agency license, vehicle permit, training certification, ALS 
coordinator endorsement, EMS education coordinator, EMS 
physician endorsement or any other designation issued by the 
Office of EMS. 

"Safety apparel" means personal protective safety clothing 
that is intended to provide conspicuity during both daytime 
and nighttime usage and that meets the Performance Class 2 
or 3 requirements of the ANSI/ISEA 107–2010 publication 
entitled "American National Standard for High-Visibility 
Safety Apparel and Headwear." 

"Secondary certification status" means any candidate or 
provider who is no longer in primary retest status. 

"Secondary retest status" means any candidate or provider 
who failed their secondary certification attempt. Secondary 
retest status expires 90 days after the secondary test date. 

"Sentinel event" means any significant occurrence, action, or 
change in the operational status of the entity from the time 
when it either applied for candidate status or was accredited. 
The change in status can be based on but not limited to one or 
all of the events indicated below: 

Entering into an agreement of sale of an accredited entity 
or an accreditation candidate. 
Entering into an agreement to purchase or otherwise 
directly or indirectly acquire an accredited entity or 
accreditation candidate. 
Financial impairment of an accredited entity or candidate 
for accreditation, which affects its operational performance 
or entity control. 
Insolvency or bankruptcy filing. 
Change in ownership or control greater than 25%. 
Disruption of service to student body. 
Discontinuance of classes or business operations. 
Failure to report a change in program personnel, location, 
change in training level or Committee on Accreditation of 

Educational Programs for the Emergency Medical Services 
Professions (CoAEMSP) accreditation status. 
Failure to meet minimum examination scores as 
established by the Office of EMS. 
Loss of CoAEMSP or Commission on Accreditation of 
Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP) 
accreditation. 
Company fine or fines of greater than $100,000 for 
regulatory violation, marketing or advertising practices, 
antitrust, or tax disputes. 

"Special conditions" means a notation placed upon an EMS 
agency or registration, variance or exemption documents that 
modifies or restricts specific requirements of these 
regulations.  

"Specialized air medical training" means a course of 
instruction and continuing education in the concept of flight 
physiology and the effects of flight on patients that has been 
approved by the Office of EMS. This training must include 
but is not limited to aerodynamics, weather, communications, 
safety around aircraft/ambulances, scene safety, landing zone 
operations, flight physiology, equipment/aircraft 
familiarization, basic flight navigation, flight documentation, 
and survival training specific to service area.  

"Specialty care mission" in the air medical environment 
means the transport of a patient requiring specialty patient 
care by one or more medical professionals who are added to 
the regularly scheduled medical transport team. 

"Specialty care provider" in the air medical environment 
means a provider of specialized medical care, to include but 
not limited to neonatal, pediatric, and perinatal. 

"Standard of care" means the established approach to the 
provision of basic and advanced medical care that is 
considered appropriate, prudent and in the best interests of 
patients within a geographic area as derived by consensus 
among the physicians responsible for the delivery and 
oversight of that care. The standard of care is dynamic with 
changes reflective of knowledge gained by research and 
practice.  

"Standard operating procedure" or "SOP" means 
preestablished written agency authorized procedures and 
guidelines for activities performed by affiliated EMS agency.  

"Supplemented transport" means an interfacility transport 
for which the sending physician has determined that the 
medically necessary care and equipment needs of a critically 
injured or ill patient is beyond the scope of practice of the 
available EMS personnel of the EMS agency.  

"Suspension" means the temporary removal of an EMS 
agency license, vehicle permit, training certification, ALS 
coordinator endorsement, EMS education coordinator, EMS 
physician endorsement or any other designation issued by the 
Office of EMS.  
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"Test site coordinator" means an individual designated by 
the Office of EMS to coordinate the logistics of a state 
certification examination site.  

"Training officer" means an individual who is responsible for 
the maintenance and completion of agency personnel training 
records and who acts as a liaison between the agency, the 
operational medical director, and a participant in the agency and 
regional quality assurance process. 

"Trauma center" means a specialized hospital facility 
distinguished by the immediate availability of specialized 
surgeons, physician specialists, anesthesiologists, nurses, and 
resuscitation and life support equipment on a 24-hour basis to 
care for severely injured patients or those at risk for severe 
injury. In Virginia, trauma centers are designated by the Virginia 
Department of Health as Level I, II or III.  

"Trauma center designation" means the formal recognition 
by the board of a hospital as a provider of specialized services 
to meet the needs of the severely injured patient. This usually 
involves a contractual relationship based on adherence to 
standards.  

"Triage" means the process of sorting patients to establish 
treatment and transportation priorities according to severity of 
injury and medical need.  

"USDOT" means the United States U.S. Department of 
Transportation.  

"Vehicle operating weight" means the combined weight of 
the vehicle, vessel or craft,; a full complement of fuel,; and all 
required and optional equipment and supplies.  

"Virginia Statewide Trauma Registry" or "Trauma Registry" 
means a collection of data on patients who receive hospital care 
for certain types of injuries. The collection and analysis of such 
data is primarily intended to evaluate the quality of trauma care 
and outcomes in individual institutions and trauma systems. The 
secondary purpose is to provide useful information for the 
surveillance of injury morbidity and mortality.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4446; Filed August 31, 2015, 10:31 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Psychology is 
claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 
Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 
of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 
conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where no 
agency discretion is involved. The Board of Psychology will 
receive, consider, and respond to petitions from any interested 
person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC125-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Psychology (amending 18VAC125-20-121).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3606.1 of the 
Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: October 21, 2015.  
Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Acting Executive Director, 
Board of Psychology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 
327-4435, or email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 359 of the 2015 Acts of Assembly, the 
amendment authorizes a psychologist who completes 
continuing education hours in excess of the required 14 
hours to carry up to seven hours of continuing education 
credit forward to meet the requirements for the next annual 
renewal cycle. 

18VAC125-20-121. Continuing education course 
requirements for renewal of an active license. 

A. Licensees shall be required to have completed a 
minimum of 14 hours of board-approved continuing 
education courses each year for annual licensure renewal. A 
minimum of 1.5 of these hours shall be in courses that 
emphasize the ethics, laws, and regulations governing the 
profession of psychology, including the standards of practice 
set out in 18VAC125-20-150. A licensee who completes 
continuing education hours in excess of the 14 hours may 
carry up to seven hours of continuing education credit 
forward to meet the requirements for the next annual renewal 
cycle. 

B. For the purpose of this section, "course" means an 
organized program of study, classroom experience or similar 
educational experience that is directly related to the practice 
of psychology and is provided by a board-approved provider 
that meets the criteria specified in 18VAC125-20-122.  

1. At least six of the required hours shall be earned in face-
to-face or real-time interactive educational experiences. 
Real-time interactive shall include a course in which the 
learner has the opportunity to interact with the presenter 
and participants during the time of the presentation. 
2. The board may approve up to four hours per renewal 
cycle for specific educational experiences to include: 

a. Preparation for and presentation of a continuing 
education program, seminar, workshop or course offered 
by an approved provider and directly related to the 
practice of psychology. Hours may only be credited one 
time, regardless of the number of times the presentation 
is given, and may not be credited toward the face-to-face 
requirement. 
b. Publication of an article or book in a recognized 
publication directly related to the practice of psychology. 
Hours may only be credited one time, regardless of the 
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number of times the writing is published, and may not be 
credited toward the face-to-face requirement. 

3. The board may approve up to two hours per renewal 
cycle for membership on a state licensing board in 
psychology.  

C. Courses must be directly related to the scope of practice 
in the category of licensure held. Continuing education 
courses for clinical psychologists shall emphasize, but not be 
limited to, the diagnosis, treatment and care of patients with 
moderate and severe mental disorders. 

D. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up to 
one year for the completion of continuing education 
requirements upon written request from the licensee prior to 
the renewal date. Such extension shall not relieve the licensee 
of the continuing education requirement. 

E. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 
continuing education requirements for one renewal cycle due 
to circumstances determined by the board to be beyond the 
control of the licensee. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4295; Filed August 28, 2015, 3:26 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR 
VEHICLES 

COMMONWEALTH TRANSPORTATION BOARD 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Commonwealth 
Transportation Board is claiming an exemption from Article 2 
of the Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-
4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes 
regulations that are necessary to conform to changes in 
Virginia statutory law where no agency discretion is 
involved. The Commonwealth Transportation Board will 
receive, consider, and respond to petitions from any interested 
person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 24VAC30-151. Land Use Permit 
Regulations (amending 24VAC30-151-670).  
Statutory Authority: § 33.2-210 of the Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: October 21, 2015.  
Agency Contact: Robert W. Hofrichter, Assistant Director for 
Land Use, Transportation and Mobility Planning Division, 
Department of Transportation, 1401 East Broad Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-0780, FAX (804) 
786-0628, or email robert.hofrichter@vdot.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 466 of the 2015 Acts of Assembly, the 
amendments permit mobile food vending on state highway 
rights-of-way except limited access highways and allow 
localities to regulate the operation of such mobile food 

vending businesses located on the state highway rights-of-
way within the locality in a manner consistent with local 
ordinances and the board's regulations and policies.  

24VAC30-151-670. Prohibited use of right-of-way. 
No permit shall be issued for the following uses of the right-

of-way:  
1. Signs. Signs not otherwise allowed in this chapter shall 
not be placed on the highway right-of-way or overhang the 
right-of-way.  
2. Vendors on right-of-way. Permits will not be issued to 
vendors for operation of business within state rights-of-
way, except as:  

a. As may be allowed for waysides and rest areas under 
the Rules and Regulations for the Administration of 
Waysides and Rest Areas (see 24VAC30-151-760).  
b. Vendors of newspapers and written materials enjoy 
constitutional protection under the First Amendment to 
place or operate their services within rights-of-way, 
provided they neither impede traffic nor impact the safety 
of the traveling public. Newspaper vending machine size, 
placement, and location shall be as directed by the 
district administrator's designee for that area. 
c. To localities to administer mobile food vending on 
nonlimited access highways, where the vending 
operations are regulated by local ordinances, operated 
consistent with such ordinances, and in accordance with 
the Commonwealth Transportation Board's regulations 
and policies. 

3. Dwellings. No private dwellings, garages, or similar 
structures shall be placed or constructed within the right-
of-way, except as may be allowed under 24VAC30-151-
220 and 24VAC30-151-230. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 
regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 
published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 
a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 
agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 
Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 
Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (24VAC30-151) 
Land Use Permit, Application, LUP-A (rev. 3/10). 
Land Use Permit, Special Provisions, Notice of Permittee 

Liability, LUP-SP (rev. 3/10). 
Land Use Permit, House Movement Application, LUP-HM 

(rev. 3/10). 
Land Use Permit, Corporate Surety Bond, LUP-CSB (rev. 

3/10). 
Land Use Permit, Irrevocable Letter of Credit Bank 

Agreement, LUP-LC (rev. 3/10). 
Land Use Permit, Surety Bond, LUP-SB (rev. 3/10). 
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Land Use Permit, In-Place Permit for Subdivision Street 
Utility, LUP-IPP (rev. 1/10). 

Land Use Permit, Prior-Rights Permit Application, LUP-
PRP (rev. 9/09). 

Land Use Permit, Special Provision, VDOT Erosion & 
Sediment Control Contractor Certification, LUP-ESCC (rev. 
3/10). 

Land Use Permit, Special Provision, VDOT Work Zone 
Traffic Control Certification Verification, LUP-WZTCV (rev. 
3/10). 

Land Use Permit LUP-A, Land Use Permit Application (rev. 
9/2014) 

Land Use Permit LUP-AUA, Agricultural Use Agreement 
(rev. 8/2014) 

Land Use Permit LUP-BMA, Land Use Permit Application - 
Building Movement (rev. 8/2014) 

Land Use Permit LUP-BMI, Building Movement - 
Investigator's Report (rev. 8/2014) 

Land Use Permit LUP-BMR, Building Movement - Route 
Certification (rev. 8/2014) 

Land Use Permit LUP-BMQ, Building Movement - 
Prequalification Questionnaire (rev. 8/2014) 

Land Use Permit LUP-BMV, Building Movement - VDOT 
Recommendation (rev. 8/2014) 

Land Use Permit LUP-CCV, Chemical Control of 
Vegetation (rev. 7/2015) 

Land Use Permit LUP-CS, Cash Surety Affidavit (rev. 
8/2014) 

Land Use Permit LUP-CSB, Corporate Surety Bond (rev. 
8/2014) 

Land Use Permit LUP-CUA, Commercial Use Agreement 
(rev. 8/2014) 

Land Use Permit LUP-ESCCC, Erosion & Sediment Control 
Contractor Certification (rev. 8/2014) 

Land Use Permit LUP-IPP, Land Use Permit Application - 
In Place Utility, New Street Acceptance (rev. 8/2014) 

Land Use Permit LUP-LC, Bank Irrevocable Letter of 
Credit (rev. 8/2014) 

Land Use Permit LUP-MFV, Local Program for the 
Temporary Occupation of Right-of-Way by Mobile Food 
Vendors, (eff. 9/2015) 

Land Use Permit LUP-OC, Open-Cut Pavement Restoration 
Requirements (rev. 8/2014) 

Land Use Permit LUP-PA, Permit Agreement for 
Occupation of Right-of-Way (rev. 8/2014) 

Land Use Permit LUP-PRU, Land Use Permit Application - 
Prior Rights Utility (rev. 8/2014) 

Land Use Permit LUP-SB, Surety Bond (rev. 8/2014) 
Land Use Permit LUP-SEA, Special Events Approvals (rev. 

8/2014) 

Land Use Permit LUP-SEI, Special Event Information (rev. 
8/2014) 

Land Use Permit LUP-SPG, Special Provisions - General 
(rev. 8/2014) 

Land Use Permit LUP-WZTCC, Work Zone Traffic Control 
Certification (rev. 8/2014) 

Land Use Permit Resolution (rev. 8/2014) 
VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4498; Filed September 1, 2015, 8:05 a.m.  

COMMISSION ON THE VIRGINIA ALCOHOL SAFETY 
ACTION PROGRAM 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 24VAC35-60. Ignition Interlock 
Program Regulations (amending 24VAC35-60-20 through 
24VAC35-60-110; adding 24VAC35-60-120, 24VAC35-60-
130; repealing 24VAC35-60-10).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 18.2-270.1 and 18.2-270.2 of the 
Code of Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information:  

November 5, 2015 - 10 a.m. - General Assembly Building, 
Senate Conference Room B, 201 North 9th Street, 
Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 20, 2015. 
Agency Contact: Richard Foy, Field Services Specialist, 
Commission on the Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program, 
701 East Franklin Street, Suite 1110, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-5895, FAX (804) 786-6286, or email 
rfoy.vasap@state.va.us. 
Basis: Section 18.2-271.2 of the Code of Virginia establishes 
the Commission on the Virginia Alcohol Safety Action 
Program (VASAP) in the legislative branch of state 
government. Section 18.2-270.2 directs the Executive 
Director of the Commission on VASAP or his designee to 
certify ignition interlock systems in the Commonwealth and 
to adopt regulations and forms for the installation, 
maintenance, and certification of such ignition interlock 
devices. 
Purpose: Driving under the influence (DUI) continues to be 
the proximate cause of many traffic fatalities in Virginia. 
Research over the past 20 years has validated the 
effectiveness of ignition interlocks in preventing impaired 
driving and reducing DUI recidivism, thereby protecting the 
health, safety, and welfare of the motoring public. As a 
probationary tool, data obtained from ignition interlocks is 
used to ensure offenders comply with court orders and receive 
the most appropriate education/treatment intervention. 
Ignition interlocks enable offenders to continue to drive to 
work, keep appointments, and meet responsibilities at home, 
minimizing disruption to families and eliminating the added 
cost and time of securing alternate transportation. Virginia's 
ignition interlock regulations have not been updated in 
several years. The purpose of the proposed regulations is to 
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ensure that offenders and the public are receiving maximum 
benefit from the ignition interlock program by incorporating 
"best practices" that have been learned as a result of new 
technology, recent research, and several years of experience 
administering the Virginia ignition interlock program.  
Substance: A number of requirements have been added to the 
regulations to conform to the latest technology in the ignition 
interlock industry. Major changes in the regulations include: 
• The requirement that all ignition interlocks be equipped 
with cameras. 
• The requirement that state directors and service technicians 
for all ignition interlock vendors pass a written test to 
demonstrate their knowledge of applicable state laws and 
regulations prior to being permitted to install ignition 
interlock devices in Virginia. 
• The inclusion of wet bath simulators for use in the 
calibration of ignition interlock devices. 
• The alteration of the length of time for motorists to 
complete a "rolling retest" when prompted. 
Issues: The proposed regulations specify ignition interlock 
functional capabilities and standardize procedures for the 
installation, calibration, and removal of the devices. 
Minimum training and certification standards for ignition 
interlock service provider technicians are included. The 
proposed regulations will improve safety for the motoring 
public and enhance the customer experience for offenders. 
The Commonwealth of Virginia will benefit from better 
performance by the ignition interlock vendors, thereby 
reducing the amount of staff time required to train and 
monitor service center employees and to respond to problems. 
No disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth are 
anticipated. 
Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Commission on Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program 
(VASAP) proposes to: 1) require that all ignition interlocks 
be equipped with cameras, 2) require that all ignition 
interlock vendors' state directors and service technicians take 
a certification test to demonstrate their knowledge of 
applicable state laws and regulations prior to being permitted 
to install ignition interlock devices, 3) incorporate existing 
fees into the regulation, establish new fees, and amend certain 
existing fees, 4) allow wet bath simulators for use in the 
calibration of ignition interlock devices, and 5) require sooner 
but less frequent rolling tests and increase the length of time 
for motorists to complete the test when prompted. 
Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for 
the proposed changes. However, the practice of 
subcontracting, which is currently prohibited by the 
regulation, appears to have the potential to be a viable 
alternative to reduce compliance costs. 

Estimated Economic Impact. There are numerous proposed 
changes. Each substantive change is discussed below. 
Cameras: One of the proposed changes will require ignition 
interlock service providers to install cameras with the 
interlock device on all vehicles except motorcycles and 
mopeds. All four of the interlock vendors currently serving 
Virginia are reported to have this capability. The camera will 
capture the image of the person providing the breath sample 
and will ensure that offenders are not circumventing legal 
requirements by having other persons provide breath samples 
to start their vehicles. Thus, new imaging capability will 
likely deter noncompliance.  
Addition of the camera will increase the equipment cost of 
the overall interlock device. VASAP estimates the cost of the 
camera to be about $250 and that there are approximately 
9,000 interlock devices currently installed in the 
Commonwealth. A $250 added cost per camera would 
amount to $2,250,000 for 9,000 interlock devices. Even 
though ignition interlock devices are not required to be 
equipped with a camera by regulation currently, according to 
VASAP cameras are already being required by many courts 
in Virginia. Thus, the magnitude of total added equipment 
costs will likely be less than $2,250,000. 
Other costs to the providers include additional labor time for 
each device installation and downloading of images from the 
device, updating technician training, possible changes in 
provider computer systems to accommodate increases in 
required bandwidth, speed, and storage capacity due to 
additional image data. 
The interlock device is owned by the service providers who 
lease the device to the offenders. If an offender is convicted 
of driving under the influence, he or she is required to have an 
ignition interlock installed in any vehicle he or she operates. 
Second and any subsequent offenses require an ignition 
interlock installed in all vehicles owned by or registered to 
the offender in whole or in part. Service providers are allowed 
to charge an installation fee and monthly monitoring fee, 
which are regulated. Currently, the installation fee is $65 for a 
standard interlock device, and the monthly monitoring fee is 
$80.1 However, according to VASAP, in most cases, 
providers waive the installation fee to promote their services. 
Thus, providers that are currently waiving the installation fee 
may start charging for the installation fee to cover their 
additional costs and providers that are not currently waiving 
the installation fee may have to absorb the added costs since 
there is no change in installation and monitoring fees due to 
the proposed addition of cameras to the interlock device. 
Certification: Another proposed change will require service 
provider state directors and technicians to be certified in order 
to perform ignition interlock services in the Commonwealth 
starting June 30, 2015. Existing state directors and 
technicians as of that day will be grandfathered in. However, 
VASAP may order a state director or a technician to retake 
the state certification exam if he or she demonstrates lack of 
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knowledge or incompetence while performing services. The 
test will measure applicants' knowledge on technical issues, 
customer service, ethics, and Virginia interlock laws and 
regulations. VASAP anticipates this requirement will 
improve compliance with laws and regulations. It will also 
likely increase administrative costs of VASAP as it will take 
time to prepare the test, administer it, and evaluate the results. 
Currently, there are approximately 60 state directors and 
technicians in the Commonwealth who will be grandfathered 
in. In the future, no more than 10 certification applications 
per year are expected. The initial test will be provided free of 
charge. However, if the applicant fails in his or her first try, 
any subsequent tests will be provided at a cost of $250 each. 
Thus, depending on the outcome of the initial test, state 
directors and technicians may or may not incur test fees. 
In addition to the test fee, applicants are likely to incur costs 
in terms of their time devoted to preparing for and taking the 
exam. VASAP estimates that it may take approximately 4 
hours to study the curriculum and the test itself may take up 
to 2 hours to complete. Moreover, the test will be offered in 
Richmond. Since not all of the state directors and technicians 
perform their services in Richmond area, many applicants 
will likely incur travel and lodging expenses to obtain this 
certification. Furthermore, since the certification must be 
obtained prior to employment, it may introduce some delays 
and contingencies in the hiring process for providers. 
Fees: The proposed changes will incorporate existing fees 
into the regulation. Currently, these fees are stated in the 
request for proposals for provider services but are not in 
regulations. Addition of the fees in the regulations will likely 
improve their visibility to the public and when they need to 
be amended in the future, afford the public an opportunity to 
review and provide input on such changes. 
One of the unintended consequences of including fees in the 
regulations is the potential delay in adjusting the fees if 
market conditions dictate a change. A regulatory amendment 
may take a significant amount of time to go in effect and may 
introduce a delay in implementation of new fees. However, 
the proposed regulations address that concern by allowing 
VASAP to increase installation and monitoring fees up to 
25% under certain conditions. 
Additionally, the proposed fee changes will allow service 
providers to charge a higher fee for more complex interlock 
installations such as those on hybrid vehicles or on vehicles 
with a push button starter. The fee for more complex 
installations will be $130. This will allow providers to charge 
an additional $65 over the standard installations to cover 
additional technician labor and training associated with such 
installations. By allowing providers to charge a higher fee for 
more costly installations, this change is expected to better 
allocate cost responsibility for more costly installations. 
The proposed fee changes will also allow a $50 fee to undo a 
permanent lockout if the permanent lockout occurred due to 
the fault of the offender and a $50 an hour fee, not to exceed 

four hours, for repairs and reinstallation of the interlock if the 
device is tampered with. These new fees will allow providers 
to recoup costs for installations and repairs necessitated by 
the fault of offenders. By holding offenders responsible for 
costs due to their actions, these two new fees are expected to 
align incentives with desired outcomes and allocate costs in 
an economically efficient manner. 
The proposed changes will raise the maximum allowable 
charge for optional ignition interlock insurance from $6 to $8 
per month to cover cameras. Since the overall cost of the 
equipment will increase due to inclusion of cameras, the 
insurance coverage and the premium to provide a higher 
coverage need to be adjusted. This change will make it 
possible for offenders to purchase insurance coverage 
commensurate with the coverage they need to protect 
themselves from financial liability in case the camera is 
damaged. 
Finally, the proposed changes will allow providers to charge 
offenders no more than 10% over the replacement cost of 
ignition interlock device if it is damaged or lost and there is 
no insurance coverage. Currently, there is no limit on what 
the providers may charge for a replacement system. This 
change will prevent providers charging a fee significantly 
higher than the replacement cost while allowing an additional 
10% to cover other potential costs such as shipping, handling, 
and postage. 
Wet Bath Reference Sample: Currently, ignition interlocks 
must be calibrated using a dry gas reference sample. The 
proposed regulations will permit vendors to use either a dry 
gas or wet bath reference sample when calibrating ignition 
interlocks. This may reduce the cost of calibration for service 
providers as it will permit more ignition interlock models to 
be used in Virginia. Some interlock devices can only be 
calibrated using a wet bath simulator. On the other hand, 
inspection of different models may add to administrative 
costs of VASAP. 
Rolling Test: Currently, a rolling retest is required within the 
first 10-20 minutes after the vehicle is started and then again 
at random intervals every 20 to 40 minutes. A rolling test is a 
test of offender's breath sample conducted at random intervals 
during the operation of the vehicle. Once the test is initiated, 
the offender has six minutes in which to submit a breath 
sample before the vehicle lights and horn activate. 
The proposed regulations will require an initial rolling retest 
within five minutes of the vehicle starting, and the subsequent 
random rolling retests will now be less often (every 45-60 
minutes). Also, the operator will be given 15 minutes instead 
of six minutes to provide a breath sample before the vehicle 
lights and horn activate. This change will deter the incentive 
an offender may have to drive under the influence when 
traveling short distances and arriving to their destination in 
less than 10-20 minutes and likely reduce the chances of 
distracted driving. Having fewer rolling retests and permitting 
extra time to complete the retest will give drivers additional 
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time to pull to the roadside prior to submitting a breath 
sample. 
Businesses and Entities Affected. These regulations primarily 
affect ignition interlock vendors, technicians, and offenders. 
There are currently four contracted vendors employing 
approximately 60 technicians in the Commonwealth. Also, 
there are approximately 9,000 offenders with interlock 
devices installed in their vehicles at the present time. 
Localities Particularly Affected. The regulations apply 
throughout the Commonwealth.  
Projected Impact on Employment. The proposal to require 
installation of cameras is expected to increase the demand for 
technician labor since installations will likely require more 
time. The proposed certification requirement may reduce the 
technician labor supply as they will be required to pass a 
certification test. The combined effect of these changes on 
employment is indeterminate. 
Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. Permission 
to charge for some services that were not allowed before, 
increased fees for more complex installations, and allowing 
wet bath technology will likely increase provider revenues 
and have a positive impact on their asset values. On the other 
hand, increase in the needed working capital and labor 
demand to install cameras and the proposed certification fee 
for second and subsequent tests will add to the overall 
compliance costs and may offset some of the expected 
positive impact. 
Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The main effect 
of the proposed changes will be on the four contracted 
ignition interlock providers. According to VASAP, all four 
providers are large corporations and have operations in other 
states or even in other countries. Thus, they may not be 
considered as small businesses. 
Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. Under the current regulations and policy, 
VASAP does not allow service providers to subcontract with 
third parties. Every service provider is required to maintain 
direct control and ownership of service centers within a 50-
mile radius of every residence in the Commonwealth. They 
are permitted to rent service bay space from existing gas 
stations, automobile repair shops, etc, but are required to 
employ their own personnel. According to one vendor, "this 
policy- the only one of two of its kind in the country- is 
unduly burdensome on the service providers, who bear the 
cost of directly leasing or owning space throughout the 
Commonwealth in order to provide this service."2 
VASAP is concerned that subcontracting will compromise 
the integrity of the ignition interlock program. VASAP 
believes that protecting the chain of evidence for court 
testimony and evidentiary procedures would be at risk. 
Through consultation with interlock program administrators 
in other states, VASAP states that it is aware of many 
instances of problems associated with subcontracting. 
However, service providers operate under contract and have 

an obligation to comply with regulatory requirements. Thus, 
the risks seem unlikely to increase under a contractual 
operation of service centers, as compared to the direct 
operation by the service providers. 
While the hesitation of VASAP is understandable, its stand 
on this issue disregards provider cost concerns. Also, the fact 
that all fees are regulated by VASAP puts service providers at 
a very precarious situation because they do not have the 
ability to change their prices in response to changing costs.  
It should be noted that subcontracting is a very common 
business practice across many industries including 
construction, manufacturing, health care, information 
technology, even defense, national security, and aerospace. In 
today's economy, very complex tasks are accomplished 
through subcontracting. Undoubtedly, in each case there are 
some concerns that need to be addressed in the subcontracting 
process. Given the spread of subcontracting in the nation and 
the fact that many complex and sensitive tasks in the presence 
of some serious concerns such as national security are 
regularly achieved by subcontracting, it is difficult to assume 
that the ignition interlock regulations cannot be effectively 
administered if service providers are allowed to subcontract. 
In addition, with the proposed new certification requirement 
VASAP will ensure that the technicians and state directors are 
competent. The certification will directly measure the 
knowledge and skills of each technician. Upon a violation, 
VASAP can revoke, suspend, or terminate an individual's 
certification. So, there are safeguards in place to make sure 
the technicians are competent to provide the service and if 
they fail in performing their duties, a corrective action can be 
taken. Since the competency of individual technicians and 
their accountability are addressed in the regulations, it is 
difficult to reach the conclusion that allowing the service 
providers to subcontract with certified technicians will 
somehow compromise the integrity of the Virginia ignition 
interlock program. 
If subcontracting is allowed in performance of interlock 
services, the providers will have much more flexibility and 
will likely have opportunities to reduce their costs and 
improve access to their services in a significant way. Some of 
the cost savings will likely be passed on to their customers in 
an effort to promote their products. 
In short, there seems to be a potent opportunity to reduce 
regulatory compliance costs without compromising the 
integrity of the Virginia ignition interlock program by 
allowing providers to subcontract with third parties. 
Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
are unlikely to affect real estate development costs. 
Legal Mandate.  
General: The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has 
analyzed the economic impact of this proposed regulation in 
accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and 
Executive Order Number 17 (2014). Section 2.2-4007.04 
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requires that such economic impact analyses determine the 
public benefits and costs of the proposed amendments. 
Further the report should include but not be limited to: 

• the projected number of businesses or other entities to 
whom the proposed regulation would apply, 
• the identity of any localities and types of businesses or 
other entities particularly affected, 
• the projected number of persons and employment 
positions to be affected,  
• the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and  
• the impact on the use and value of private property.  

Small Businesses: If the proposed regulation will have an 
adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires 
that such economic impact analyses include: 

• an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the proposed regulation, 
• the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other 
administrative costs required for small businesses to 
comply with the proposed regulation, including the type 
of professional skills necessary for preparing required 
reports and other documents, 
• a statement of the probable effect of the proposed 
regulation on affected small businesses, and  
• a description of any less intrusive or less costly 
alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the 
proposed regulation.  

Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1, if there is a finding 
that a proposed regulation may have an adverse impact on 
small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative 
Rules is notified at the time the proposed regulation is 
submitted to the Virginia Register of Regulations for 
publication. This analysis shall represent DPB's best estimate 
for the purposes of public review and comment on the 
proposed regulation. 
_________________________________________________ 
1Of the $80 monitoring fee, $20 goes to local and state ASAP offices. 
2See Agency Background Document, Form: TH-02, page 6. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: In 
response to the Department of Planning and Budget's 
suggestion that subcontracting ignition interlock services in 
Virginia would be a viable alternative to current practice, the 
Commission on VASAP maintains that subcontracting would 
create challenges that would adversely impact both the 
effectiveness and integrity of the ignition interlock program 
in the Commonwealth as well as potentially jeopardize public 
safety. 
VASAP receives periodic requests from the operators of 
service stations, towing services, audio repair shops, etc. who 
are seeking to increase revenues by becoming ignition 
interlock installers. Since the installation of ignition interlock 
devices would likely represent a small fraction of a 

subcontractor's business, there is concern that subcontractors 
would lack long-term investment in the program and would 
be less motivated to adhere to the strict legal and regulatory 
requirements of the program. Since subcontractors would not 
be directly accountable to the Commission on VASAP, 
correcting performance problems would take longer and be 
more complicated. For example, if a subcontractor commits 
an illegal or unethical act, who is liable: VASAP, the 
interlock vendor, the subcontractor business, or the 
employee?  
While ignition interlock installations were simple in the past, 
and could arguably be performed by most any garage 
technician with proper training, modern vehicles have 
become very complex. It takes considerable experience (often 
months) to learn how to properly install ignition interlocks on 
hybrid vehicles and cars with push button starters in 
particular. Virginia's requirement that the ignition interlock be 
connected to activate the vehicle's lights and horn (a 
requirement not found in all states) also complicates the 
process. It is believed that subcontractors would typically lack 
the in-depth knowledge of the product and service to ensure 
quality work on a consistent basis. During the learning curve 
of the current vendors, several cars were damaged by 
installers who did not yet possess the knowledge to properly 
install the devices. This resulted in the vendors having to pay 
offenders for expensive repairs to their vehicles. Installing 
ignition interlock systems on modern vehicles requires a skill 
set that is best performed by employees who specialize in the 
service. It is believed that the number of improper 
installations would increase if there was a reliance on 
subcontractors to perform this work. Even though ignition 
interlock installers may be private businesses, offenders do 
not disassociate the interlock providers from the probationary 
process; thus, improper installations reflect unfavorably on 
VASAP and the Commonwealth of Virginia. 
The Commonwealth of Virginia's ignition interlock program 
differs from those of many other states since probationary 
oversight, education, and treatment are tied to the interlock 
program. In some states, ignition interlocks are simply 
installed for a given period, and then no subsequent 
monitoring occurs. Research has shown that ignition 
interlocks work very well at preventing DUI offenses, but 
recidivism typically continues after the devices are removed, 
unless the interlock requirement is coupled with education 
and treatment. All interlocks in Virginia are calibrated every 
30 days. The data that are downloaded during each calibration 
are carefully monitored by ASAP case managers to ensure 
there are no violations. The presence of violations may result 
in a return to court for noncompliance and increased 
treatment. Since many ASAP offenders are actively involved 
in treatment, federal confidentiality guidelines apply. 
Information about ASAP offenders may not be released 
without the written consent of the clients. Subcontracting 
would expose confidential information to a greater number of 
employees, especially since the turnover rate of employees 
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may be higher at small businesses. The storing and security of 
confidential paperwork would be an issue as well. ASAP 
offenders would be comingled with customers receiving other 
services such as having stereos installed. Since ASAP 
offenders need to be trained on how to use the ignition 
interlock at the installation site, and have to watch an 
informational video, it would be difficult to protect the 
privacy of these probationers. Space for private viewing may 
be limited or nonexistent at many small subcontractor sites. 
Subcontracting would also necessitate an increase of staff for 
the Commission on VASAP. VASAP regularly inspects all 
ignition interlock installation stations in the Commonwealth 
for compliance with state regulations. Subcontracting would 
likely result in more inspections and more discrepancies, 
since various subcontractors, as well as their employees, 
would be more likely to come and go. Prohibiting 
subcontracting provides stability to the state ignition interlock 
program. 
Permitting subcontracting would result in the loss of 
employment for the current 60-70 ignition interlock 
employees in the Commonwealth. Since subcontractors 
would use existing employees at their businesses to perform 
ignition interlock work, the services of these 60-70, taxpaying 
residents would no longer be required. 
The certification process for ignition interlock employees 
proposed by VASAP in the regulations would ensure that 
technicians possess only a basic understanding of the laws 
and regulations. It is anticipated that noncompliance with 
regulations would increase considerably if subcontracting 
were allowed. Even with the ability to revoke the certification 
of subcontractors, doing so would be a time consuming 
process, and it would reflect unfavorably on the ignition 
interlock program. Decertification or suspension of a 
subcontractor could leave a service provider void in a 
particular geographical area. 
While VASAP recognizes that subcontracting is used 
effectively in many environments, there are some functions 
that are best performed by the government with proper 
regulatory oversight in place. The Commonwealth of Virginia 
presently has a very effective ignition interlock program that 
is recognized as one of the model programs in the country 
that other states seek to emulate. It is our belief that the 
significant policy change of permitting the subcontracting of 
ignition interlock services would compromise the integrity of 
the interlock program as well as public safety in Virginia. 
Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) require all ignition 
interlocks to be equipped with cameras; (ii) require state 
directors and service technicians of all ignition interlock 
vendors to pass a written test regarding applicable state 
laws and regulations prior to being permitted to install 
ignition interlock devices; (iii) incorporate existing fees, 
with certain amendments, and establish new fees; (iv) 
allow the use of wet bath simulators in the calibration of 

ignition interlock devices; and (v) require sooner but less 
frequent rolling tests and increase the length of time for 
motorists to complete a rolling retest when prompted. 

24VAC35-60-10. Purpose. (Repealed.) 
The purpose of these regulations is to establish a set of 

standards for the Commonwealth of Virginia's ignition 
interlock program. Authority to issue these regulations is 
granted to the Executive Director of the Commission on 
Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program (VASAP) or 
authorized designee by § 18.2-270.2 of the Code of Virginia. 
24VAC35-60-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Alcohol" means ethyl alcohol, also called ethanol 
(C2H5OH). 

"Applicant" means a service provider technician or state 
director who applies for a Virginia Ignition Interlock 
Certification Letter from the commission. 

"ASAP" means a local alcohol safety action program. 
"BAC" or "blood alcohol concentration" means the amount 

of alcohol in an offender's blood or breath, as determined by 
chemical analysis, which shall be that is measured by the 
number of grams of alcohol per 100 milliliters of blood, or 
210 liters of breath. 

"Breath test" means an analysis of the breath alcohol 
concentration of a deep lung breath sample. 

"Calibration" means the process that ensures an accurate 
alcohol concentration reading is being obtained on the 
ignition interlock device. 

"Commission" means the Commission on Virginia Alcohol 
Safety Action Program (VASAP) or its designee. 

"Deep lung breath sample," also known as "alveolar breath 
sample," means an air sample that is the last portion of a 
prolonged, uninterrupted exhalation and that gives a 
quantitative measurement of alcohol concentration from 
which breath alcohol concentrations can be determined. 
"Alveolar" refers to the aveoli, which that are the smallest air 
passages in the lungs, surrounded by capillary blood vessels 
and through which an interchange of gases occurs during 
respiration. 

"Device" means a breath alcohol ignition interlock device. 
"Device certification" means the testing and approval 

process required by the Commission on Virginia Alcohol 
Safety Action Program (VASAP). 

"DMV" means the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles.  
"Executive Finance Committee" means the advisory 

subcommittee of the commission composed of the Executive 
Director of the Commission on Virginia Alcohol Safety 
Program, two commission members, and such other person as 
the commission designates.  
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"Fail point" means the point level at which the breath 
alcohol level of 0.02% is met concentration, as established in 
§ 18.2-270.1 of the Code of Virginia, is sufficient to prevent a 
motor vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock device from 
starting.  

"Free restart" means the ability to start the engine again 
within a preset two-minute period of time without completion 
of another breath test, when the condition exists where a 
breath test is successfully completed and the motor vehicle is 
started, but then the engine stops for any reason, (including 
stalling). 

"Ignition interlock system" means a device that (i) connects 
a motor vehicle ignition system to an analyzer that measures 
an offender's blood alcohol concentration; (ii) prevents a 
motor vehicle ignition from starting if the offender's blood 
alcohol concentration is at or above reaches the fail point; and 
(iii) is equipped with the ability to perform a rolling retest and 
to electronically log the blood alcohol concentration during 
ignition, attempted ignition, and rolling retest. 

"Interlock event" means vehicle operator activity that is 
recorded by the ignition interlock to include, but not be 
limited to, vehicle starts and attempted starts, rolling retests, 
breath tests, lockouts, ignition shutoffs, power outages, and 
interlock tampering. 

"Licensing" means the process of determining that a service 
center meets the requirements set by the Commission on 
VASAP.  

"Lockout" means the ability of the ignition interlock device 
to prevent a motor vehicle's engine from starting. 

"Manufacturer" means the actual maker of the ignition 
interlock device who that assembles the product and 
distributes it to service providers. 

"Motor vehicle" means every a motor vehicle as defined in 
§§ 18.2-266 and 46.2-100 of the Code of Virginia, that is self-
propelled, or designed for self-propulsion, to exclude 
bicycles, electric power-assisted mobility devices, electric 
powered-assisted bicycles, and mopeds. 

"Offender" means the individual required by the court or the 
Department of Motor Vehicles to drive only motor vehicles 
that have certified ignition interlock devices installed.  

"Permanent lockout" means a feature of the ignition 
interlock device in which that prevents a motor vehicle will 
not start from starting until the ignition interlock device is 
reset by a service provider. 

"Retest" means an additional opportunity to provide a deep 
lung breath sample below the alcohol fail point. 

"Rolling retest" means a test of the offender's blood alcohol 
concentration required at random intervals during operation 
of the motor vehicle, which that triggers the sounding of the 
horn and flashing of lights if (i) the test indicates that the 
offender has a blood alcohol concentration that is at or above 
reaches the fail point or (ii) the offender fails to take the test. 

"Service center" means the physical location where the 
service provider installs, calibrates, and removes the ignition 
interlock device on the offender's vehicle. 

"Service provider" means an authorized supplier and 
installer of the approved ignition interlock devices. In some 
cases, the service provider may also be a manufacturer of an 
ignition interlock device. 

"State director" means a service provider employee who 
provides oversight of the service provider's ignition interlock 
operations in the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

"Tampering" means an unlawful act or attempt to disable or 
circumvent the legal operation of the ignition interlock device 
to include providing samples other than the natural breath of 
the offender, starting the motor vehicle without using the 
ignition switch, any other an act intended to start the motor 
vehicle without first taking and passing a breath test, or 
physically tampering with the device to disable or otherwise 
disconnect the device from its power source. 

"Technician" means a service provider employee who 
installs, calibrates, or removes interlock devices in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia. 

"Temporary lockout" means a feature of the ignition 
interlock device that will not allow the motor vehicle to start 
for a preset time period after a breath test result indicates a 
BAC at or above that reaches the fail point. 

"Vendor certification" means the process of determining that 
a vendor has been approved to provide ignition interlock 
services in the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

"Violation" means an event, such as a breath test indicating 
a BAC at or above reaching the fail point upon initial startup,; 
a refusal to provide a rolling retest deep lung breath sample,; 
a rolling retest with a BAC at or above reaching the fail 
point,; altering, concealing, hiding, or attempting to hide one's 
identity from the ignition interlock system's camera while 
providing a breath sample; or tampering, which tampering, 
that breaches the guidelines for use of the interlock device. 

"Violation reset" means a feature of the ignition interlock 
device in which that activates a service reminder is activated 
due to a violation or failure to report for calibration within 35 
days of the installation or previous calibration. 

"Virginia Ignition Interlock Certification Exam" means an 
exam administered by the commission to service provider 
state directors and technicians that must be successfully 
completed and submitted as a component of an application for 
a "Virginia Ignition Interlock Certification Letter." 

"Virginia Ignition Interlock Certification Letter" means a 
letter issued by the commission to a service provider 
technician or state director authorizing the technician or state 
director to perform ignition interlock services in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia.  
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24VAC35-60-40. Approval of manufacturers and service 
providers. 

A. The commission shall issue a request for proposals 
(RFPs) (RFP) in compliance with the state Commonwealth of 
Virginia procurement procedures to contract with ignition 
interlock service providers for the services and commodities 
required for the implementation and maintenance of the 
Commonwealth's ignition interlock program. Contracts will 
be for three years with an optional two-year renewal a length 
of time established by the commission. 

B. Integrity of the Ignition Interlock Program shall be 
upheld by restricting the delivery of interlock client service to 
the actual provider of the product (i.e., authorized service 
provider), thereby effectively preventing the extension of 
subcontracts to other persons or businesses who lack long-
term investment, long-term experience, or in-depth 
knowledge of product and service, potentially resulting in a 
higher likelihood of neglect of duty or illegal exchange of 
funds. Denial of subcontracting of the interlock service to the 
consumer is an integral part of protecting the chain of 
evidence for court testimony and evidentiary procedures. 

C. Each A service provider seeking to contract with the 
commission shall submit: 

1. Evidence of a strong background Submit evidence 
demonstrating successful experience in the development 
and maintenance of a statewide an ignition interlock 
service program and evidence of operational programs in 
Virginia, other states, or other countries. The service 
provider must shall be dedicated to the installation and 
maintenance of ignition interlock devices and must supply. 
2. Supply and train staff and service center supervisors to 
assure ensure good customer service and compliance with 
all contract requirements. Personnel hired to install, 
calibrate, or inspect ignition interlock devices may not 
have ever  been convicted of any felony or a crime 
substantially related to the qualifications, functions, and 
duties associated with the installation and inspection of the 
devices; or within a five-year period prior to hiring, been 
convicted of a misdemeanor potentially punishable by 
confinement. 

a. Personnel seeking to perform ignition interlock 
services or administrative duties in the Commonwealth 
of Virginia shall not necessarily be barred from 
employment due to a criminal record; however, a 
criminal record may be considered in conjunction with 
other information to determine the overall suitability of 
applicants for employment.  
b. The authorized service provider must be able to ensure 
that technicians are trained and available to testify in 
court if required for noncompliance hearings. shall 
provide expert or other required testimony in any civil, 
criminal, or administrative proceedings as to the method 
of manufacturing the device, ignition interlock 

functionality, and the testing protocol by which the 
device is calibrated and serviced.  
c. The service provider shall provide a completed 
application for state certification to the commission to 
perform ignition interlock services for all technicians and 
state directors seeking to work in the Commonwealth of 
Virginia. The application shall be submitted at least 10 
days prior to the employee performing any ignition 
interlock services in the Commonwealth of Virginia. 
d. The service provider shall identify all key personnel 
who will be providing ignition interlock services for the 
Commonwealth of Virginia with a means of identifying 
these personnel and furnish the commission with 
credentials on these personnel.  
e. The service provider shall notify the commission at 
least five business days in advance of a reduction in 
staffing levels of key personnel at the local or district 
offices serving the Commonwealth of Virginia. 
f. The service provider shall ensure that technicians and 
the state director are trained and available to testify in 
court if required by a court or Commonwealth's Attorney 
or upon a 10-business-day notice by the ASAP in that 
court's jurisdiction, regardless of whether a subpoena is 
issued.  

2. A 3. Submit a description of the service provider's 
present or planned provisions plan to be approved by the 
commission, for distribution of the device in all locations 
of the Commonwealth of Virginia including all locations in 
the state where the device may be installed, serviced, 
repaired, calibrated, inspected, and monitored ignition 
interlock services will be performed. Each facility At least 
one physical ignition interlock service facility shall be 
located within a 50 mile radius of every residence in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia unless otherwise authorized by 
the commission. Interlock service facilities shall be 
approved inspected and certified by the Commission on 
VASAP commission prior to its use and meet the 
following criteria: the initial provision of services to 
offenders. Each interlock service facility shall be inspected 
and certified at least annually thereafter. Interlock service 
providers shall: 

a. Must pay an annual review fee to the Commission on 
VASAP.  
b. Must comply a. Comply with all local business license 
and zoning regulations, and with all federal, state, and 
local health, fire, and building code requirements. Prior 
to the jurisdictional compliance deadline, a copy of a 
valid business license or business license payment receipt 
shall be forwarded to the commission. The official valid 
business license and tax document are required to be 
posted in a conspicuous place at the service facility 
immediately upon receipt when applicable; 
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c. Must comply b. Comply with all local, state, and 
federal laws pertaining to the provision of physical 
access to persons with disabilities.; 
d. Must maintain c. Maintain offender records in a 
manner that complies with federal confidentiality 
guidelines. All offender files, payment receipts, and other 
identifying information shall be located in locked filing 
cabinets in one centralized location in the Richmond, 
Virginia area. Electronic storage of client files shall be 
permissible if approved by the commission and, if 
approved, shall be encrypted and secured to prevent third 
party access; 
d. Require and enforce maintenance of a drug-free 
workplace and have posted in a conspicuous place, 
available to employees and applicants for employment, a 
statement notifying employees that the unlawful 
manufacture, sale, distribution, dispensation, possession, 
or use of a controlled substance or marijuana is 
prohibited in the service provider's workplace. The notice 
shall specify the actions that will be taken against 
employees for violations of the policy; 
e. Replace an ignition interlock service facility within 30 
days whenever the closing of an interlock service facility 
results in noncompliance with the requirement to possess 
a facility within a 50-mile radius of every residence in 
the Commonwealth of Virginia. The service provider is 
also required to notify offenders of the closure date and 
the address of the new interlock service facility within 15 
days of the closure date;  
f. Ensure that technicians maintain a professional 
appearance and are attired in such a manner as to be 
readily identifiable as service provider employees; 
g. Ensure that interlock service facilities are tidy and 
pose no hazards to public safety; and  
h. Provide the commission a minimum of 20 days notice 
prior to the scheduled opening date of a new location. 
This requirement allows the commission reasonable time 
to schedule an inspection of the new facility prior to 
opening services to ASAP offenders.  

In addition, all services must be available statewide within 
a 50-mile drive to the home location of all residents of the 
Commonwealth.  
3. Documentation of insurance covering product liability 4. 
Submit sufficient documentation to enable the verification 
of adequate insurance covering liability related to ignition 
interlock operations, services, and equipment, including 
coverage in Virginia, with a minimum policy limit of $1 
million per occurrence, and $3 million general aggregate 
total. The service provider's liability insurance shall be 
considered primary above all other available insurance and 
shall so stipulate in the "other insurance" or other 
applicable section of the service provider's insurance 
contract. The service provider shall provide a signed 

statement from the manufacturer holding harmless the 
Commonwealth of Virginia, and the commission, and its 
members, employees, and agents from all claims, demands, 
and actions, as a result of damage or injury to persons or 
property that may arise, directly or indirectly, out of any an 
act or omission by the manufacturer or their its service 
provider relating to the installation, service, repair, use, 
and/or or removal of an ignition interlock device. Coverage 
shall extend to any action taken or not taken by ASAPs or 
the commission due to verified errors in reporting of 
interlock activity by the service provider;  
4. Documentation 5. Submit documentation that the service 
provider will provide a full-time state ignition interlock 
coordinator director who will work exclusively with the 
Virginia interlock program and reside in the Richmond, 
Virginia area program. Among other duties, the 
coordinator state ignition interlock director will be 
expected to (i) respond promptly to any problems in the 
field,; (ii) upon request of the commission testify in court 
upon request, and before applicable courts, the General 
Assembly of Virginia, or the commission; (iii) assist and 
provide training to VASAP staff the commission, ASAP 
staffs, local and statewide, and other stakeholders as 
requested by the commission; and (iv) be responsible for 
quality control reports and statistics, updates to all required 
documentation, and field services reporting and repairs. In 
the event of a state director vacancy, service providers 
shall submit to the commission the name of an interim state 
director within 10 days of the vacancy and the name of a 
permanent state director within 60 days of the vacancy; 
6. Not discriminate against an employee or applicant for 
employment due to race, religion, color, sex, national 
origin, age, disability, or other basis prohibited by state or 
federal law relating to discrimination in employment, 
except where there is a bona fide occupational qualification 
reasonably necessary to the normal operation of the service 
provider. The service provider agrees to post in 
conspicuous places, available to employees and applicants 
for employment, notices setting forth the provisions of this 
nondiscrimination clause. Furthermore, the service 
provider in all solicitations or advertisements for 
employees placed by or on behalf of the service provider 
shall state that the contractor is an equal opportunity 
employer. Notices, advertisements, and solicitations placed 
in accordance with federal law, rule, or regulation shall be 
deemed sufficient for the purpose of meeting the 
requirements of this subdivision; 
7. Not knowingly employ an unauthorized alien as defined 
in the Federal Immigration Reform and Control Act of 
1986 (Pub. L. No. 99-603; 100 Stat. 3359) during the 
performance of the contract for goods and services; and  
8. Notify the commission in writing within 15 days of a 
disciplinary action taken by a state or other political entity 
in which the service provider conducts or has conducted 
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ignition interlock business. This notification shall include 
the reason for the disciplinary action and other information 
as the commission may reasonably request. This 
requirement applies regardless of the existence of an 
appeal. 

D. Provided that all vendor and device certification 
requirements are met, the commission shall may contract with 
those manufacturers or service providers, and may approve 
multiple makes and models of ignition interlock devices for 
use in the Commonwealth of Virginia. 
24VAC35-60-50. Fees. 

A. All potential service providers desiring to conduct 
business in the Commonwealth of Virginia's ignition 
interlock program shall submit a $250 nonrefundable 
application fee to the commission. 

B. The Commission on VASAP will establish by contract 
the following additional fees to shall be paid by the service 
provider. to the commission: 

1. Annual A $250 annual contract review fee to the 
Commission on VASAP.; 
2. Annual A $75 annual review fee for each ignition 
interlock service center to the Commission on VASAP.; 
3. A $250 retest fee each and every time a service provider 
employee is required to take a second or subsequent 
Virginia Ignition Interlock Certification Exam due to an 
unsuccessful attempt on the first exam; and  
3. Monthly 4. A $10 monthly ignition interlock 
administrative fee to the Commission on VASAP for each 
offender with an ignition interlock installed until the device 
is removed for each offender. The fee shall be 
accompanied by an associated offender list, categorized by 
ASAP, supporting the payment amounts. The ASAP 
offender list and payment shall be submitted no later than 
the 10th day of the month following the month when the 
ignition interlock services were provided.  

4. Monthly C. A $10 monthly ignition interlock 
administrative fee shall be paid by the service provider 
directly to the local servicing ASAP for each offender with an 
ignition interlock device installed until the device is removed 
offender. The fee shall be accompanied by an associated 
offender list, categorized by ASAP, supporting the payment 
amounts. The ASAP offender list and payment shall be 
submitted no later than the 10th day of the month following 
the month when the applicable ignition interlock services 
were provided. 

D. Service providers may charge offenders for ignition 
interlock services at rates up to, but not to exceed, the 
following: 

1. $65 for a standard ignition interlock installation; 
2. $130 for the installation of an ignition interlock on a 
hybrid motor vehicle or a motor vehicle with a push button 
starter; 

3. $75 for a change of vehicle ignition interlock 
installation; 
4. $0 for an ignition interlock removal; 
5. $80 plus applicable taxes for monthly ignition interlock 
calibrations or monitoring, inclusive of the monthly 
administrative fees to be paid to the commission and 
servicing ASAP; 
6. $8.00 per month for optional insurance to cover theft, 
loss, or damage to the ignition interlock and its 
components; 
7. An amount of 10% over the actual replacement cost of 
the ignition interlock and its components when theft, loss, 
or damage occurs and the offender has not purchased the 
optional insurance; 
8. $50 plus mileage calculated at the Commonwealth of 
Virginia mileage rate in effect at the time, not to exceed 
100 miles, for service calls; 
9. $50 for violation resets, when the violation is 
determined to be due to the fault of the offender; 
10. $35 for missed appointments; 
11. An amount permitted by the Code of Virginia at the 
time for returned checks; 
12. $50 for provision of a permanent lockout code, when 
the lockout is determined to be due to the fault of the 
offender; and  
13. $50 per hour, not to exceed four total hours, for repairs 
and reinstallation of the ignition interlock when the 
commission determines that the offender illegally tampered 
with the device.  

E. In the event of changes to the Code of Virginia mandating 
enhanced technological capabilities of ignition interlock 
devices used in the Commonwealth, the commission may 
increase offender installation and calibration fees up to a 
maximum of 25%. 

C. F. All service providers shall create and maintain an 
indigency fund for offenders who are eligible for a reduction 
in fees based upon a declaration of indigency by the court and 
approval by the commission. Service providers shall not deny 
service to any offender for whom there has been a declaration 
of indigency and approval by the commission. 
24VAC35-60-60. Cancellation, suspension, and 
Suspension or revocation of manufacturers, service 
providers, and ignition interlock devices ignition interlock 
device or service facility certification. 

A. The commission may indefinitely cancel, suspend, or 
revoke certification of an ignition interlock device and/or its 
manufacturer and service provider or ignition interlock 
service facility, and the executive finance committee, for a 
period not to exceed 30 days, may suspend or revoke 
certification of an ignition interlock device or ignition 
interlock service facility for the following reasons: 
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1. When there is a voluntary request by a manufacturer to 
cancel certification of a device,; 
2. When a device is discontinued by the manufacturer.; 
3. When the manufacturer's liability insurance is 
terminated or cancelled.; 
4. When the manufacturer or service provider attempts to 
conceal its true ownership.; 
5. When materially false or inaccurate information is 
provided relating to a device's performance standards.; 
6. When there are defects in design, materials, or 
workmanship causing repeated failures of a device.; 
7. When the manufacturer or service provider knowingly 
permits nonqualified service technicians to perform work.; 
8. When a manufacturer or service provider assists users 
with circumventing or tampering with a device.; 
9. When service or the submission of required reports is 
not provided in a timely manner.  
10. When required fees are not paid to the commission or 
local programs.  
11. When there is a pattern of substandard customer 
service. 
12. When the manufacturer or service provider interferes 
with or obstructs a site review or investigation by the 
commission.  
13. When there are any other violations of the provisions 
contained in the Code of Virginia, 
commission  regulations, or the ignition interlock contract;  
14. When a manufacturer or service provider solicits the 
employment of another manufacturer's or service 
provider's technician, facility manager, or state ignition 
interlock coordinator 
15. When a manufacturer or service provider solicits 
business outside of the VASAP, or otherwise solicits 
individual ASAP branches through operational incentives, 
gratuities, or any other personal incentives.  
16. When a manufacturer or service provider solicits 
business via direct influence or marketing to judicial, court, 
or DMV personnel.  
9. When a service provider fails to fully correct an 
identified ignition interlock facility noncompliance issue 
within the time frame required by the Code of Virginia, the 
provisions of this chapter, or a service provider contract;  
10. When there is a pattern of identified interlock service 
facility noncompliance issues; 
11. When a service provider impedes, interrupts, disrupts, 
or negatively impacts an investigation conducted by the 
commission involving customer service issues, vehicle 
damage, or other complaint brought forward by a third 
party; or 
12. When there is an identified public safety or client 
confidentiality issue at an ignition interlock service facility. 

B. If such cancellation, a suspension, or revocation of an 
ignition interlock device or service facility certification 
occurs, the manufacturer or service provider may request 
(within, within 15 days of notification) notification, a hearing 
with the commission to contest the decision. Should the 
cancellation, suspension, or a revocation of certification be 
upheld, the manufacturer or service provider (i) shall remain 
be responsible for removal of all devices from customers' 
motor vehicles, all vehicles in which interlocks are installed 
and serviced by the service provider that is subject to the 
revocation, and (ii) will bear the costs associated with the 
required removal and installation of a new approved device 
devices. In addition, the manufacturer or service provider 
subject to the revocation shall continue to provide services for 
these ASAP offenders for a time to be determined by the 
commission, but no longer than 90 days.  

C. Service providers or manufacturers that are suspended 
shall continue to provide services for ASAP offenders; 
however, no new ignition interlock installations shall be 
permitted during the period of suspension.  

D. If a service provider terminates the contract or goes out 
of business, the manufacturer or service provider shall be 
responsible for removal of all devices from all vehicles in 
which interlocks are installed and serviced by the service 
provider that terminates the contract or goes out of business 
and shall bear the costs associated with the required removal 
and installation of new approved devices. In addition, the 
manufacturer or service provider that terminates the contract 
or goes out of business shall continue to provide services for 
these ASAP offenders for 90 days from the date of the service 
provider's notification to the commission that they will be 
terminating ignition interlock services in Virginia. 
24VAC35-60-70. Ignition interlock device specifications. 

A. All ignition interlock devices used pursuant to §§ 18.2-
270.1 and 46.2-391.01 of the Code of Virginia must shall be 
approved by the commission. The commission shall maintain 
a list of approved ignition interlock devices. 

B. Each A service provider seeking to contract with the 
commission shall submit: 

1. The name and address of the ignition interlock device 
manufacturer.; 
2. The name and model number of the ignition interlock 
device.; and 
3. A detailed description of the device including drawings, 
schematics, wiring protocols, and instructions for its 
installation and operation. 

C. The manufacturer or service provider shall provide 
literature promoting its device to the commission, and for 
distribution to the local ASAPs, literature promoting its 
device. 

D. The manufacturer or service provider shall provide 
certification from an independent laboratory that its ignition 
interlock device has been tested in accordance with the most 
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current model specifications published in the Federal Register 
by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (57 
FR 11772-11787 (April 7, 1992)), Administration. The 
manufacturer or service provider is required to provide a 
certified affidavit that the ignition interlock device model 
complies with all applicable state standards, including written 
documentation, current within five years, from either a 
certified testing laboratory or a National Highway Traffic 
Safety Administration testing lab and that the ignition 
interlock device model for which certification is being sought 
meets or exceeds those specifications. the current National 
Highway Traffic Safety Administration's model 
specifications. Included with the certification report should be 
the name and location of the testing laboratory, the address 
and phone number of the testing laboratory, a description of 
the tests performed, copies of the data and results of the 
testing procedures, and the names and qualifications of the 
individuals performing the tests. 

E. If a device is submitted for approval by a service provider 
other than the manufacturer, the submitting party shall submit 
a notarized affidavit from the manufacturer of the device 
certifying that the submitting party is an authorized 
manufacturer's representative. 

F. All Except where otherwise required in this chapter, all 
ignition interlock devices will be required to shall meet the 
model specifications for Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock 
Devices (BAIID) as set forth in the most recent current model 
specifications published in the Federal Register by the 
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) 
and operate reliably over the range of motor vehicle 
environments or motor vehicle manufacturing standards. At a 
minimum, the following specifications will shall be met: 

1. The ignition interlock device shall work accurately and 
reliably in an unsupervised environment, at minimal 
inconvenience to others, and without impeding the safe 
operation of the motor vehicle. 
2. The ignition interlock device shall be able to analyze a 
specimen of alveolar breath for alcohol concentration, 
correlate accurately with established measures of blood 
alcohol concentration, and be calibrated according to the 
manufacturer's specifications. 
3. The ignition interlock device shall be alcohol specific, 
using an electrochemical fuel cell that reacts to and 
measures ethanol, minimizing positive results from any 
other substance substances.  
4. The ignition interlock device shall indicate when a 
sufficient sample of breath 1.5 L breath sample has been 
collected and shall indicate this by audible or visual means. 
The commission may authorize service providers to adjust 
the breath volume requirement to as low as 1.0 L upon 
receipt of documentation from a licensed physician 
verifying the existence of an applicable medical condition. 
The physician's documentation shall be submitted on a 
commission-approved form. A medical waiver of the 

ignition interlock requirement shall only be approved upon 
authorization of the court of jurisdiction and the 
commission. 
5. The ignition interlock device shall detect and record a 
BAC that is at or above reaches the fail point for each 
ignition ignitions, attempted ignition ignitions, and rolling 
retest retests. 
6. The results of the test shall be noted through the use of 
green, yellow, and red signals or similar pass/fail 
indicators. No digital blood alcohol concentration shall be 
indicated to the offender. 
7. The ignition interlock device shall lock out an offender 
when a BAC at or above reaches the fail point is detected. 
8. The ignition interlock device shall have the ability to 
prevent the normal operation of the motor vehicle by an 
offender who fails to retest. 
9. The ignition interlock device shall have the ability to 
perform a permanent lockout if the offender fails to appear 
for a scheduled monitoring appointment after the 
applicable five-day grace period. The service provider shall 
provide a code, smart key, or other similar unlock feature 
that has been approved by the commission to offenders 
whose interlock is in a permanent lockout status. The 
duration of the time period that the interlock is unlocked 
shall not be more than or less than three hours. The code 
shall only unlock the interlock device and shall not disable 
other interlock features. Interlock service providers shall 
not provide an ignition interlock code that disables the 
ignition interlock features to persons without first 
obtaining authorization from the commission. 
10. The ignition interlock device shall automatically purge 
alcohol before allowing subsequent analyses. 
11. The ignition interlock device shall issue a warning of 
an impending lockout. 
12. The ignition interlock device shall be capable of 
random retesting and timed retesting. 
13. The ignition interlock device shall warn the offender of 
upcoming service appointments for at least three days prior 
to the appointment. Should the offender fail to appear, the 
device shall lock out lockout on the fifth day after the 
scheduled appointment, and the motor vehicle shall not be 
operable until the service provider has reset the device. 
14. The internal memory of the ignition interlock device 
shall be capable of recording and storing a minimum of 
500 interlock events and shall enter a service reminder if 
the memory reaches 90% of capacity. 
15. The ignition interlock device shall be designed and 
installed in such a manner as to minimize opportunities to 
be tampered with, altered, bypassed, or circumvented for 
tampering, alteration, bypass, or circumvention. The 
ignition interlock device shall not spontaneously bypass 
the ignition system nor shall it be able to be made 
operational by any a mechanical means of providing air to 
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simulate alveolar breath. Any bogus Bogus breath anti-
circumvention features used to pass laboratory testing of 
the ignition interlock device shall be turned on. In addition, 
service providers shall connect the ignition interlock 
device to a constant and uninterrupted power source to 
further prevent an opportunity to circumvent the system.  
16. The ignition interlock device shall be capable of 
recording and providing evidence of any actual or 
attempted tampering, alteration, bypass, or circumvention. 
17. The ignition interlock device must shall operate 
accurately and reliably at temperatures between -20 and 70 
degrees Celsius -40°C and 85°C. 
18. The ignition interlock device shall operate up to 
altitudes of 2.5 km above sea level. 
19. The readings of the ignition interlock device shall not 
be affected by humidity, dust, electromagnetic 
interference, smoke, exhaust fumes, food substance, or 
normal automobile vibration. 
20. The operation of the ignition interlock device shall not 
be affected by normal fluctuations of power source 
voltage. 
21. The ignition interlock shall be installed with a fully 
functional camera that is equipped to record the date, time, 
and photo of all persons providing breath samples to the 
ignition interlock device; however, this requirement shall 
not pertain to motorcycles and mopeds. In addition, service 
providers are required to present a reference photo of the 
offender to confirm the offender's identity. 

G. All ignition interlock devices that have been approved by 
the commission shall have affixed a warning label with the 
following language: "Any person tampering with or 
attempting to circumvent this ignition interlock system shall 
be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor and, upon conviction, be 
subject to a fine or incarceration or both." The cost and 
supply of the warning labels to be affixed to the ignition 
interlock devices shall be borne by the manufacturer or 
service provider. The manufacturer or service provider shall 
submit to the commission a prototype of the warning label for 
approval. 

H. For initial startup of the motor vehicle: 
1. The ignition interlock device shall enable the ignition 
starter relay after the successful completion of a breath 
alcohol test.  
2. The device shall allow an operator to take up to two 
minutes to elapse between the time the ignition is enabled 
and the start of the motor vehicle after the starter relay is 
enabled to start the engine.  
3. The ignition interlock device shall allow the motor 
vehicle to be restarted within two minutes of the engine 
being stopped without requiring an additional test permit a 
free restart. 

4. If the initial test results in a lockout due to the offender's 
BAC level, the ignition interlock device shall not allow an 
additional attempt for five minutes. 
5. If the offender's BAC is at or above still reaches the fail 
point on the second first retest, the machine shall lock out 
lockout for an additional 15 10 minutes and shall do so 
thereafter for each subsequent failed retest retests. A 
violation reset message shall instruct the offender to return 
the ignition interlock device to the service provider for 
servicing within five days. 
6. If the ignition interlock device is not reset within five 
days, a permanent lockout will occur. 

I. A rolling retest feature is required for all ignition interlock 
devices. For rolling retests: 

1. An ignition interlock device shall require a rolling retest 
within the first 10 to 20 five minutes after the start of the 
motor vehicle and randomly thereafter at least once every 
20 45 to 40 60 minutes as long as the motor vehicle is in 
operation.  
2. The ignition interlock device shall produce a visual and 
audible signal of the need to produce a breath sample for 
the rolling retest. The offender shall have six 15 minutes in 
which to provide the required rolling retest breath sample. 
3. A free restart shall not apply if the ignition interlock 
device was awaiting a rolling retest that was not delivered. 
4. Any A deep lung breath sample at or above the fail point 
or any a failure to provide a rolling retest deep lung breath 
sample within the required time, shall activate the motor 
vehicle's horn and cause the motor vehicle's headlights, 
parking lights, or emergency lights, or other light source 
approved by the commission to flash until the engine is 
shut off by the offender or a passing breath test is provided. 
5. Once the vehicle has been turned off, all prestart 
requirements shall become applicable. 
6. The violations reset message shall instruct the offender 
to return the ignition interlock device to the service 
provider for servicing within five days. 
7. If the ignition interlock device is not reset within five 
days, a permanent lockout will occur. 

J. Additional technical specifications for the operation and 
installation of the ignition interlock device may be described 
in the contract between the commission and the service 
provider. 

K. The vendor shall notify the commission in writing if the 
approval or certification of a device that is approved or has 
been submitted for approval for use in Virginia is or ever has 
been denied, withdrawn, suspended, or revoked in another 
state, whether the action occurred before or after approval in 
Virginia. This notification shall be made in a timely manner, 
not to exceed 15 days after the vendor has received notice of 
the denial, withdrawal, suspension, or revocation of approval 
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or certification of the device, whether or not the action will or 
has been appealed. 
24VAC35-60-80. Ignition interlock device installation. 

A. No offender who has a case pending in the court system 
shall have an interlock installed in Virginia unless enrolled in, 
and monitored by, the ASAP program in the area where the 
case originated. Offenders subject to a DMV ignition 
interlock requirement shall not have an interlock installed in 
Virginia unless first authorized by the ASAP. Prior to 
installation of the device, the vendor must receive written or 
electronic authorization from the ASAP. This section also 
applies to out-of-state offenders who have a Virginia ignition 
interlock requirement. This enables VASAP the commission 
to maintain consistency in policy and use of ignition interlock 
devices in the Commonwealth of Virginia and allows for a 
consistent pattern of instruction to the service provider.  

B. The ignition interlock device must shall be installed by a 
commission-approved manufacturer or authorized service 
provider within 30 days of the date of the court order; if not, 
the service provider will notify the ASAP. Once the ignition 
interlock has been installed, the service provider will send an 
authorized installation report to the ASAP, via a method 
established by the commission, documenting that the ignition 
interlock device has been installed. Once verification of an 
authorized installation has been received by the ASAP, DMV 
will be notified that the offender has successfully installed the 
interlock device. 

C. All agreements between the service provider and the 
offender shall be in the form of a contract and be signed by 
the service provider and the offender. Copies of the written 
contract shall be retained by the service provider with a copy 
given to the offender and the local ASAP office. 

D. Prior to installation of the ignition interlock device, 
offenders must shall provide to the service provider: 

1. Photo identification. If no photo identification is 
available at the time of installation, other adequate proof of 
identification may be accepted to avoid delay of the 
installation. However, photo identification must be 
presented prior to the first calibration appointment; 
2. The name and policy number of their automobile 
insurance.; 
3. The A copy of the registration or title containing the 
vehicle identification number (VIN) of all motor vehicles 
owned or routinely driven by the offender, and a statement 
disclosing the names of all other operators of the motor 
vehicles owned or driven by the offender.;  
4. A notarized affidavit, approved by the commission, from 
the registered owner of the vehicle granting permission to 
install the device if the car is not registered to the offender. 
If the owner is present at installation, provides valid 
identification, and signs the consent to install form in the 
service provider technician's presence, notarization of the 
consent to install form is not required; and 

5. Written authorization from the commission if the air 
volume requirement, blow pressure, or anti-circumvention 
features of the ignition interlock device are to be lowered 
or disabled in order to compensate for an offender's 
diminished lung capacity, when applicable. 

E. Under no circumstances shall an offender, or anyone 
accompanying the offender be permitted to observe the 
installation of the ignition interlock device. 

F. The service provider must shall inspect all motor vehicles 
prior to installation of the device to ensure that they are in 
acceptable mechanical and electrical condition. Under no 
circumstances shall staff of the authorized service provider 
install any a device until, and unless, the motor vehicle is 
approved following the inspection. A pre-inspection checklist 
of the vehicle at installation shall be completed and placed in 
the offender's file. 

G. Each The installation shall include all of the tamper-
resistant features required by the service provider such as 
unique seals, epoxies, or resins at all openings and exposed 
ignition interlock electrical connections so as to make evident 
all attempts to circumvent or otherwise alter the normal 
functioning of the ignition interlock. At a minimum, the 
service provider shall ensure that the vehicle starter wire 
connected to the ignition interlock is secured with uniquely 
identifiable heat shrink tubing or its equivalent and that all 
connected wires are wrapped with uniquely labeled service 
provider tape.  

H. An oral, written, or video orientation to the ignition 
interlock device will be developed and delivered by the 
service provider to the offender and other persons who may 
drive the motor vehicle, including information on the use and 
maintenance of the device as well as all service center 
locations, and procedures for regular and emergency 
servicing. A demonstration interlock will be available at each 
the installation site for use in the training of customers. 

I. If, during the installation, the offender fails to pass the 
initial breath test, the installation will shall be halted and the 
ASAP notified. 

J. The manufacturer and/or or service provider must shall 
maintain a toll-free 24-hour emergency phone service that 
may be used to request assistance in the event of failure of the 
ignition interlock device or motor vehicle problems related to 
operation of the ignition interlock device. The assistance 
provided by the authorized service provider shall include 
technical information and aid in obtaining towing or roadside 
service. The expense of towing and roadside service shall be 
borne by the offender unless it is determined by the service 
center technician that the ignition interlock device failed 
through no fault of the offender, in which offender. If this is 
the case, the manufacturer or service provider will be 
responsible for applicable expenses. The ignition interlock 
device shall be made functional within 48 hours of the call for 
assistance or the ignition interlock device shall be replaced. 
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K. At the time of device installation, a service provider may 
charge an installation fee. The maximum permissible cost for 
installation shall be set by the Commission on VASAP 
commission through contract, and service providers will not 
be permitted to exceed the maximum fee established by the 
commission. No installation fees shall be collected from the 
user until services have been provided. A portion of these fees 
shall include costs for offender indigency funds. In addition 
to the maximum fee permitted, service providers may collect 
applicable taxes and charge for optional insurance to cover 
device loss, theft, or damage. No installation fees shall be 
collected from the user until such services have been 
provided. Optional insurance shall be offered by the service 
provider, and a written copy of the insurance policy stating 
clearly the applicable coverages, coverage amounts, 
conditions, and exclusions shall be given to offenders who 
purchase the insurance. When the ignition interlock is 
installed on a motorcycle or moped, service providers may 
require offenders to provide a saddle bag or similar 
waterproof container in which the device components may be 
stored as a condition of eligibility for the optional insurance.  

L. The manufacturer or the service provider must shall 
provide indigent service to those offenders who are eligible 
for a reduction in fees based upon a declaration of indigence 
by the court and approval by the commission. 

M. No later than the first service appointment, the offender 
must shall provide to the service provider a statement from 
every the licensed driver drivers who will be driving the 
offender's motor vehicle acknowledging their understanding 
of the requirements of the use of the ignition interlock device. 
24VAC35-60-90. Calibration and monitoring visit. 

A. The offender must present photo identification to the 
service provider for all required services. Only calibration 
units (i) found on the current National Highway Traffic 
Safety Administration's Conforming Products List of 
Calibrating Units for Breath Alcohol Testers or (ii) approved 
by the commission shall be used by the service provider to 
calibrate ignition interlock devices. 

B. The service provider must shall: 
1. Provide service/monitoring service and monitoring of 
the ignition interlock device every 30 days; the offender 
will be given a five-day grace period to have the device 
inspected. All ignition interlock calibrations shall occur at 
a service provider interlock service facility unless 
otherwise approved by the commission; 
2. Calibrate the ignition interlock device at each service 
appointment using a dry gas or wet bath reference sample. 
The service provider shall ensure that dry gas and wet bath 
reference values are adjusted in a manner approved by the 
commission; 
3. Calibrate the ignition interlock device for accuracy by 
using a wet bath simulator or dry gas alcohol standard with 
an alcohol reference value between .030 and .050 g/210L; 

4. Expel a three-second purge from the wet bath simulator 
or dry gas standard prior to introducing the alcohol 
reference sample into the ignition interlock device; 
5. Perform an accuracy check that will consist of two 
consecutive reference checks with the result of each 
individual check being within plus or minus 10% or 0.003, 
whichever is smaller, of the alcohol reference value 
introduced into the ignition interlock device. The time 
period between the first and second consecutive accuracy 
check shall not exceed five minutes; 
6. Use a mercury-in-glass thermometer or digital 
thermometer for wet bath simulators. The thermometers 
shall read 34°C, plus or minus 0.2°C, during analysis and 
be certified annually using a National Institute of Standards 
and Technology traceable digital reference thermometer. In 
addition, the service provider shall use alcohol reference 
solutions prepared and tested in a laboratory with reference 
values traceable to the National Institute of Standards and 
Technology. The 500 ml bottles containing simulator 
solution shall be tamper proof and labeled with the lot or 
batch number, value of the reference sample in g/210L, 
and date of preparation or expiration. Alcohol reference 
solutions must be used prior to expiration and within one 
year from the date of preparation. In addition, wet bath 
simulator solutions shall be replaced prior to every 16th 
test;  
7. Store dry gas alcohol standard tanks in an environment 
where the temperature range remains between 10°C and 
40°C. The dry gas tanks shall have a label attached that 
contains the components and concentration of the reference 
value of the gas, an expiration date that shall not be longer 
than three years from the date of preparation, and the lot or 
batch number. Dry gas alcohol standards must be certified 
to a known reference value and be traceable to the National 
Institute of Standards and Technology. The reference value 
shall be adjusted for changes in elevation and pressure. 
Interlock service facilities using a dry gas standard shall 
possess an elevation chart used to determine the proper 
reference value for the elevation where the gas standard is 
being used and a certificate of analysis from the dry gas 
standard manufacturer. Dry gas tanks shall be secured in a 
manner as to prevent harm to the public; 
3. 8. Retrieve data from the ignition interlock device data 
log for the previous period and electronically submit it to 
the local ASAP within 24 hours of calibration.;  
4. 9. Record the odometer reading of the motor vehicle in 
which the ignition interlock device is installed.;  
5. 10. Check the ignition interlock device and wiring for 
signs of circumvention or tampering, and electronically 
report to the local ASAP any violation violations to ASAP 
within 24 hours of servicing. the required time frame 
established by the commission;  
6. 11. Collect the monthly monitoring fee from the 
offender. If an offender who has not been declared to be 
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indigent by the court is three or more months delinquent in 
payments, the service provider may, in its discretion, 
refuse to provide calibration services, but shall not remove 
the ignition interlock device without authorization from the 
commission; 
12. Verify that the offender has a photo identification prior 
to calibrating the ignition interlock device if photo 
identification was not already presented at the time of 
installation; and 
13. Conform to other calibration requirements established 
by the commission, as applicable. 

C. All malfunctions of the ignition interlock device will be 
repaired or the ignition interlock device replaced by the 
service provider within 48 hours at no additional expense to 
the offender. If it is shown that the malfunction is due to 
damage to the device as a result of mistreatment by the 
offender or improper use, and the offender has not purchased 
optional insurance, then the offender will be responsible for 
applicable repair fees. 

D. A certified technician shall be available at the service 
center during specified hours to answer questions and to deal 
with any mechanical concerns that may arise with a motor 
vehicle as a result of the ignition interlock device. 

E. The ignition interlock device shall record, at a minimum, 
the following data: 

1. The time and date of each failed breath test tests; 
2. The time and date of each passed breath test tests; 
3. The breath alcohol level of each test all tests; and 
4. The time and date of any attempt attempts to tamper or 
circumvent the ignition interlock device; 
5. A photo of all persons submitting a breath test sample 
for analysis by the ignition interlock device; and 
6. A reference photo of the offender. 

F. At the time of device calibration, a service provider may 
charge a monthly monitoring fee. The maximum permissible 
cost for monitoring and calibration shall be set by the 
Commission on VASAP commission through contract the 
ignition interlock regulations, and service providers shall not 
be permitted to exceed the maximum fee established by the 
commission. A portion of these fees shall include costs for 
VASAP administrative support and offender indigency funds. 
In addition to the maximum fee permitted, service providers 
may collect applicable taxes and charge for optional 
insurance to cover device theft or damage. Fees for the first 
monthly monitoring and calibration visit will be collected 
from the user in advance at the time of installation and 
monthly thereafter as such when services are rendered. 
24VAC35-60-100. Ignition interlock device removal. 

A. Prior to removal of the ignition interlock device, the 
service provider must receive written or electronic 
authorization from the ASAP. This requirement also applies 
to offenders with a Virginia ignition interlock requirement 

who are receiving interlock services from a service provider 
in another state. 

B. Offenders may not have their ignition interlock device 
removed or replaced by another manufacturer without written 
or electronic authorization from the ASAP commission. 
Whenever removal of an ignition interlock device was 
approved by the commission for the purpose of changing 
service providers and the authorized removal was a result of a 
determination that the initial service provider failed to 
provide a level of service meeting contract requirements, the 
ignition interlock regulations, or the Code of Virginia, the 
original service provider shall bear the costs associated with 
installation of the device by the new service provider.  

C. If, at the time of removal, the service provider notices any 
failed tests that have not been backed up by a successful test 
within 10-15 minutes of the original test, the ASAP will be 
notified for approval before the removal is made. 

D. C. Once the interlock has been removed, the service 
provider will send an authorized removal report to the ASAP 
via fax, email, or online database, a method established by the 
commission documenting that the ignition interlock device 
has been removed and that all fees have been paid. Once 
verification of an authorized removal has been received by 
the ASAP, DMV will be notified that the offender has 
successfully completed the interlock requirements. 

E. D. Whenever an ignition interlock device is removed, all 
components of the motor vehicle altered by the installation or 
servicing of the ignition interlock device must shall be 
restored to their original, preinstallation condition and 
removed in such a manner so as not to impair the continued 
safe operation of the vehicle. All severed wires must shall be 
permanently reconnected (e.g., soldered) and properly 
insulated with heat shrink tubing or its equivalent. A post-
inspection checklist of the vehicle shall be completed after 
removal of the device, documenting that the vehicle or 
vehicles did or did not suffer damage due to interlock services 
provided by the service provider. A copy of the post-
inspection checklist shall be placed in the offender's file. 

F. E. No fee shall be charged to the offender for removal of 
the ignition interlock device. 

F. No offender or person accompanying the offender shall 
be permitted to observe the removal of the ignition interlock 
device. 
24VAC35-60-110. Records and reporting. 

A. The service provider shall be subject to announced or 
unannounced site reviews for the purpose of inspecting the 
facilities and offender records. Access Upon request, access 
to all service provider locations, records, and financial 
information shall be provided to any member of the 
commission staff for the purpose of verifying compliance 
with state law, commission regulations, and the service 
provider agreement.  
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B. In accordance with federal confidentiality guidelines, all 
personal and medical information provided to the service 
provider regarding offenders shall be kept confidential, 
maintained in individual offender files, and secured within a 
lockable filing cabinet at the offender's service center. This 
filing cabinet shall remain locked during any period that the 
periods when the service center is unattended by a service 
provider employee. 

C. Within 24 hours of After installing an interlock, the 
service provider will shall provide the ASAP with an 
installation report, within 24 hours, that includes: 

1. The name, address, and telephone number of the 
offender; 
2. The owner, make, model, year, vehicle identification 
number, license plate number, and registration information 
of the motor vehicle; and 
3. The serial number of the ignition interlock device 
installed.  

D. Within 24 hours after After performing a 
monitoring/calibration monitoring and calibration check, the 
service provider shall submit to the local ASAP, within 24 
hours, all data generated to include: 

1. Name of the offender whose device was monitored.; 
2. Name, address, and telephone number of the monitoring 
official.; 
3. Date of monitoring/calibration. monitoring and 
calibration; 
4. Motor vehicle make, model, year, identification number, 
and odometer. reading; 
5. Number of miles driven during the monitoring period.; 
6. Make, model, and serial number of the ignition interlock 
device.; 
7. Any A change out of the device (handset and/or or 
control box) and reason for the change out.; 
8. Any data Data indicating that the offender has attempted 
to start or drive the motor vehicle with a positive BAC at 
or above the fail point.; 
9. Any attempts Attempts to alter, tamper, circumvent, 
bypass, or otherwise remove the device.; 
10. Any noncompliance Noncompliance with conditions of 
the ASAP or interlock program.; 
11. Any offender Offender concerns.; 
12. All charges Charges incurred for the monitoring visit.; 
13. Date of next scheduled monitoring visit.; 
14. A photo of all persons who have attempted to provide a 
breath test sample on the ignition interlock device; and 
15. A reference photo of the offender. 

E. In addition, the service provider must shall have available 
monthly reports detailing: 

1. All installations Installations during the period covered.; 

2. All calibrations Calibrations performed during the 
period, by date and offender name, detailing any unit 
replacements made during the monitoring period.; 
3. All datalogger Datalogger information from each all 
ignition interlock device. devices; 
4. Any evidence Evidence of misuse, abuse, or attempts to 
tamper with the ignition interlock device.; 
5. Any device Device failure due to material defect or 
improper installation.; and 
6. A summary of all complaints received and corrective 
action taken. 

F. The service provider shall be responsible for purchasing 
and providing necessary computer hardware and software to 
convey all data and information requested by the commission 
if such the equipment is not already present at the 
commission office or local the ASAP. 

G. Reports Accurate reports shall be submitted to the local 
ASAP in the format specified by the Commission on VASAP 
commission. 
24VAC35-60-120. General service provider requirements. 

Interlock service providers that are approved to perform 
ignition interlock services in the Commonwealth of Virginia 
shall: 

1. Abide by all commission memorandums, directives, 
contract terms, and regulations pertaining to the statewide 
ignition interlock program unless prohibited by state law. 
2. Resolve offender, court, DMV, ASAP, commission, and 
other stakeholder complaints as directed by the 
commission. 
3. Install all ASAP authorized ignition interlock 
installations within the time parameters set forth by the 
commission. In situations where an interlock service 
facility or facilities become inoperable due to a large scale 
weather event or some other verified unforeseen 
circumstances, the service provider shall contact the 
commission within 24 hours with an action plan to mitigate 
the impact to customer service. 
4. Resolve ignition interlock service facility compliance 
issues as directed by the commission. 
5. Obtain approval from the commission before 
disseminating any training or advertising materials used in 
association with the Virginia interlock program. 
6. Make modifications to the service provider company 
website that is used to review monthly calibration reports, 
upon reasonable request by the commission. Reasonable 
requests include, but are not limited to, changes due to 
language that is confusing, misleading, offensive, or 
inaccurate; changes required due to updated technology; 
changes to the Code of Virginia or the ignition interlock 
regulations; changes in workload; or changes in product 
enhancements. 
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7. Assume full liability for action taken or not taken by an 
ASAP or the commission due to an inaccurate or 
misleading report, whether electronic or hard copy, 
provided by the service provider. 
8. Be accountable for Virginia offenders with ignition 
interlock devices installed by its company in another state 
and shall ensure that all Virginia interlock processes, 
regulations, request for proposal terms, contract terms, and 
commission requirements are met unless prohibited by 
state law. 
9. Notify the commission within 15 days of disciplinary 
action received from a state where the service provider 
conducts or has conducted ignition interlock business. This 
notification shall include the reason for the disciplinary 
action. This requirement applies regardless of the existence 
of an appeal. 
10. Provide information technology assistance and training, 
per reasonable request, to the commission when requested. 
11. Report all changes to the ignition interlock device 
software or firmware, whether temporary or permanent, to 
the commission within 30 days of release in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia. 
12. Not modify or remove an interlock device that is the 
subject of an investigation by the commission. 

24VAC35-60-130. Service provider technician 
certification. 

A. Service provider state directors and technicians are 
required to possess a Virginia Ignition Interlock Certification 
Letter to perform ignition interlock services in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia. In order to apply for a 
certification letter, service providers shall submit a completed 
application to the commission for approval of newly hired 
technicians and state directors. If approved by the 
commission, this application process may be waived for 
technicians and state directors providing interlock services in 
the Commonwealth of Virginia prior to June 30, 2015. The 
completed application for applicants shall include submission 
of: 

1. A completed applicant form provided by the 
commission; 
2. A complete local and national criminal history check; 
3. A complete driver's record; and 
4. Documentation issued by the commission of successful 
completion of the Virginia Ignition Interlock Certification 
Exam. 

Failure to submit a completed application will result in 
disqualification from consideration for a Virginia Ignition 
Interlock Certification Letter by the commission to perform 
ignition interlock services in the Commonwealth of Virginia. 
The commission reserves the right to deny a certification 
letter to an interlock service provider technician or state 
director due to concerns identified in the application to 

include, but not be limited to, criminal history background 
and driver's transcript issues. 

B. Applicants will be required to complete a Virginia 
Ignition Interlock Certification Exam. Successful completion 
of the exam requires a score of 80% or higher. Applicants 
who fail to successfully complete the state certification exam 
on the first attempt will be allowed a second opportunity to 
successfully complete the exam. Applicants who fail to 
successfully complete the state certification exam on the 
second attempt will not be allowed to reapply to provide 
ignition interlock services for the Commonwealth of Virginia 
for six months from the date of the second failed exam. 
Service providers will be required to pay an administrative 
fee, as provided in 24VAC35-60-50 B 3, to the commission 
for all second and subsequent attempts to successfully 
complete the state certification exam. Applicants who 
successfully pass the state certification exam will receive 
documentation of successful completion from the commission 
that shall be submitted with the application for a Virginia 
Ignition Interlock Certification Letter to perform ignition 
nterlock services in the Commonwealth of Virginia.  

C. The commission may revoke, suspend, or terminate a 
previously issued Virginia Ignition Interlock Certification 
Letter for a service provider technician or state director for 
any of the following reasons: 

1. The technician or state director is convicted of a felony; 
2. The technician or state director is convicted of a 
misdemeanor potentially punishable by confinement; 
3. The technician or state director commits an unethical or 
dishonest act that negatively impacts the integrity of the 
ignition interlock program;  
4. The technician or state director fails to demonstrate the 
ability to consistently comply with ordinances, statutes, 
administrative rules, or court orders, whether at the local, 
state, or federal level; or 
5. The technician or state director fails to demonstrate 
possession of the knowledge required to perform ignition 
interlock services in the Commonwealth of Virginia.  

A service provider technician or state director whose 
Virginia Ignition Interlock Certification Letter has been 
suspended or revoked may request, within 15 days of 
notification, a hearing with the commission to contest the 
decision. In the event that the decision to suspend or revoke 
the Virginia Ignition Interlock Certification Letter of a service 
provider's technician or state director is upheld, the technician 
or state director shall not perform interlock services in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia for the entire suspension period, 
to include any period of contestment, or in the case of a 
revocation or termination, on a permanent basis. The service 
provider is required to return the Virginia Ignition Interlock 
Certification Letter to the commission within 15 days of the 
date that the certification was suspended, revoked, or 
terminated, by the commission. 
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D. Once the completed application has been approved by the 
commission and all other qualifications have been met by the 
applicant, a Virginia Ignition Interlock Certification Letter to 
perform ignition interlock services in the Commonwealth of 
Virginia will be issued to the applicant by the commission. 
The certification letter shall contain the effective date of the 
letter and a certification number specific to the applicant. The 
certification letter will be valid for a time period specified by 
the commission unless otherwise suspended, revoked, or 
terminated but for no longer than the service provider contract 
end date. In the event that an applicant is not approved for a 
Virginia Ignition Interlock Certification Letter to perform 
interlock services in the Commonwealth of Virginia, the 
commission will notify the service provider in writing within 
10 days of the determination. The Virginia Ignition Interlock 
Certification Letter is subject to review by the commission at 
its discretion during the course of the certification period.  

E. An application to renew a Virginia Ignition Interlock 
Certification Letter for an ignition interlock technician or 
state director shall be submitted 30 days prior to the 
expiration date printed on the current certification letter. A 
technician or state director who has had his state certification 
revoked or terminated shall be ineligible to reapply for a 
Virginia Ignition Interlock Certification Letter unless 
otherwise approved by the commission. 

F. Service providers are required to surrender Virginia 
Ignition Interlock Certification Letters for technicians and 
state directors who are no longer employed with their 
company. The surrendered certification letter is to be sent to 
the commission within 15 days of the date that the technician 
or state director is no longer employed with the service 
provider.  

G. In addition to the successful completion of the Virginia 
Ignition Interlock Certification Exam required for application, 
the commission may order that a technician or state director 
performing ignition interlock services in the Commonwealth 
of Virginia review requirements and retake the state 
certification exam to demonstrate that the technician or state 
director possesses the knowledge required to perform ignition 
interlock services in the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 
regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 
published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 
a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 
agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 
Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 
Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (24VAC35-60) 
VASAP Breath Reduction Form (rev. 9/2015) 
VASAP Internet Service Provider Applicant Form (rev. 

9/2015) 
VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3946; Filed September 2, 2015, 11:48 a.m.  

 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3e934003946~1&typ=40&actno=003946&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=110f5003946~2&typ=40&actno=003946&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=110f5003946~2&typ=40&actno=003946&mime=application/pdf
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GOVERNOR 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 47 (2015) 

Establishing the Governor's Council on Youth 
Entrepreneurship 

Importance of the Initiative 

Entrepreneurship and innovation are among the central pillars 
of Governor McAuliffe's economic development platform. 
The foundation for a new Virginia economy rests upon the 
strength of Virginia's young people. In order to stimulate 
future economic prosperity for all Virginians, young people 
must have the support and resources they need to become 
economically secure and successful. 

In Virginia, the unemployment rate for young adults was 
8.4%, double the unemployment rate for Virginians over 35. 
At the same time, the majority of new jobs come from startup 
firms (firms less than five years old), estimated at about 3 
million jobs per year nationally. 

Virginia is home to some of the best colleges, universities, 
and community colleges in the world. By investing in our 
young people, we can provide them the tools they need to 
thrive in the 21st century workforce. We can ensure that they 
have the foundation to become creative and innovative 
leaders of the new Virginia economy. In classrooms and 
businesses across the Commonwealth, our young people are 
already developing the ideas that will transform our future. 
We have achieved great success in supporting young 
entrepreneurs, but we also have an outstanding opportunity 
for improvement and growth. Virginia should work to 
strengthen the innovation infrastructure for young people by 
engaging with leaders in the public and private sectors, the 
education and business communities, and entrepreneurship 
ecosystems. 

Establishment of the Governor's Council on Youth 
Entrepreneurship 

Accordingly, by virtue of the authority vested in me as 
Governor under Article V of the Constitution of Virginia and 
under the laws of the Commonwealth, including, but not 
limited to §§ 2.2-134 and 2.2-135 of the Code of Virginia, 
and subject to my continuing and ultimate authority and 
responsibility to act in such matters, I hereby establish the 
Governor's Council on Youth Entrepreneurship. 

Governor's Council on Youth Entrepreneurship 

The Governor's Council on Youth Entrepreneurship (Council) 
shall be responsible for coordinating and implementing youth 
entrepreneurship initiatives and fostering the growth of the 
entrepreneurial ecosystem for young people in Virginia. 
Specifically, the Council is charged with: 

• Conducting a comprehensive, statewide assessment of 
current programs, services, and local, state, and federal 
resources that support Virginia's young entrepreneurs and 
innovators; 

• Developing a website that aggregates these resources to 
provide a one-stop location for young entrepreneurs, 
businesses and educators to easily access information; 
• Connecting young entrepreneurs to assets in their 
communities through a series of roundtables, town halls or 
other collaborative events to bring together local business 
leaders and job creators with young entrepreneurs to help 
grow these ecosystems; and 
• Providing additional recommendations to achieve the 
goals of this Council and reporting regularly to the 
Governor. 

Additionally, the Council will address five significant 
priorities related to youth entrepreneurship: 

1. Expand students' intellectual property (IP) rights – The 
Council shall work with Boards of Visitors, presidents, 
administration, and faculty at institutions of higher 
education to craft policies that give students more rights 
over their own research and IP. In considering possible 
alternatives, the Council shall consider model policies of 
institutions that have expanded student IP rights with the 
goal of strengthening innovation ecosystems and 
stimulating economic growth. 

2. Promote the formation of collaborative spaces for 
entrepreneurs and students to meet – The Council shall 
work with partners in education and business to identify 
opportunities for expanded space for entrepreneurs and 
students to collaborate. Entrepreneurs consistently cite 
physical space as a priority in deciding where to start a 
business. The Council shall consider model collaborative 
spaces across Virginia and the nation. 

3. Encourage schools to offer courses in entrepreneurship 
that are easily accessible to all students and to integrate 
innovation into curriculum – The Council shall research 
and evaluate strategies for integrating entrepreneurship into 
classroom environments and curricula in higher education. 
It shall explore best practices, such as entrepreneurs-in-
residence and out-of-classroom curricular programs. It shall 
work to ensure that entrepreneurship courses are easily 
accessible and available to all students at institutions of 
higher education regardless of a student's concentration of 
study. 

4. Identify ways for colleges and universities to award 
academic credit to students for starting a business – The 
Council shall work with Boards of Visitors, presidents, 
administrators, and faculty at institutions of higher 
education to determine criteria for awarding academic 
credit to students for starting a business. In the new 
Virginia economy, it is critical to recognize the important 
skills and training that students receive from launching a 
new business venture. Similar to awarding academic credit 
for an internship or co-op, awarding academic credit to 
students for starting a business provides crucial workforce 
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development opportunities that allow students to remain in 
school on a graduation track while still pursuing business 
ventures. 
5. Remove unnecessary costs for students starting a 
business in Virginia – The Council shall consider ways to 
remove regulations and fees that create unnecessary 
burdens or obstacles for individuals who are starting a new 
business. 

Composition of the Council 

The Council will be led by the Secretary of Commerce and 
Trade and include leaders in higher education, business, 
innovators and entrepreneurs, and others with appropriate 
expertise, as appointed by the Governor. In coordination with 
relevant state agencies, the Council will serve as a central 
coordinating entity to identify opportunities and develop 
recommendations for improvement, including but not limited 
to: 1) entrepreneurship education, 2) support from the 
business community for young entrepreneurs, 3) strategies for 
keeping the "best and the brightest" young innovators in 
Virginia, 4) opportunities for strengthening institutional 
support for student creativity and innovation, and 5) the 
growth of entrepreneurial ecosystems across Virginia. The 
Council will also collaborate with other entities as appropriate 
and seek participation from relevant stakeholders, including 
the business and education communities, nonprofit groups, 
and advocacy organizations. 

Staffing 

Staff support for the Council will be provided by the Office 
of the Governor, and any other Secretariats, agencies, or 
offices as designated by the Governor, including staff from 
institutions of higher education if appropriate. The Council 
will serve in an advisory role to the Governor, in accordance 
with § 2.2-2100 of the Code of Virginia. The initial report of 
the Council's assessments and recommendations is due to the 
Governor no later than December 1, 2015. Subsequent annual 
reports from the Council are due to the Governor on 
December 1st each year. In coordination with the Council, 
each public institution of higher education will report to the 
Governor on its progress towards these goals annually. 

Effective Date 

This Executive Order shall be effective upon its signing and, 
pursuant to §§ 2.2-134 and 2.2-135 of the Code of Virginia, 
shall remain in full force and effect from its signing until 
superseded or rescinded. 

Given under my hand and under the seal of the 
Commonwealth of Virginia this 24th day of August, 2015. 

/s/ Terence R. McAuliffe 
Governor 
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GUIDANCE DOCUMENTSGENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

2015 Annual Report, Agricultural Stewardship Act 

The Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services 
announces the availability of the annual report of the 
Agricultural Stewardship Act entitled "Agricultural 
Stewardship Act Annual Report, April 1, 2014 – March 31, 
2015." Copies of this report can be obtained by contacting, 
and questions regarding the report can be directed to, Joyce 
Knight at telephone (804) 786-3538 or email at 
joyce.knight@vdacs.virginia.gov. The report can also be 
obtained by accessing the department's website at 
http://www.vdacs.virginia.gov/stewardship/index.shtml. A 
written request may be sent to the address below. Copies of 
the report are available without charge. 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services 
Office of Policy, Planning and Research 
P. O. Box 1163 
Richmond, VA 23218 

DEPARTMENT OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Proposed Renewal of Variances to Regulations to 
Assure the Rights of Individuals Receiving Services 

from Providers Licensed, Funded, or Operated by 
the Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services (12VAC35-115) 

Notice of action: The Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services (DBHDS), in accordance with Part 
VI - Variances (12VAC35-115-220 et seq.), of the 
Regulations to Assure the Rights of Individuals Receiving 
Services from Providers Licensed, Funded, or Operated by 
the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 
Services (12VAC35-115), hereafter referred to as the "Human 
Rights Regulations," is announcing an opportunity for public 
comment on the applications for proposed renewal of existing 
variances to the Human Rights Regulations. The purpose of 
the regulations is to ensure and protect the legal and human 
rights of individuals receiving services in facilities or 
programs operated, licensed, or funded by DBHDS.  

Each variance application references the specific part of these 
regulations to which a variance is needed, the proposed 
wording of the substitute rule or procedure, and the 
justification for a variance. Such application also describes 
time limits and other conditions for duration and the 
circumstances that will end the applicability of the variance. 
After considering all available information including 
comments, DBHDS intends to submit a written decision 
deferring, disapproving, modifying, or approving each 
variance renewal application. All variances shall be approved 
for a specific time period. The decision and reasons for 

variance will be published in a later issue of  the Virginia 
Register of Regulations. 

Purpose of notice: DBHDS is seeking comment on the 
applications for proposed renewal of the following existing 
variances to the Human Rights Regulations at four private 
providers.  

Variance to Procedures to Ensure Dignity: 

12VAC35-115-50 C 7 and C 8:  

In order to maintain the safety and security of residents 
(youth) the programs restrict communication via telephone 
and visitation to only those placed on a list generated at 
admission by the parent/legal guardian and the resident. 

1. Newport News Behavioral Health Center: The visitation 
list is generated by the Admissions Coordinator. 

2. James Barry Robinson Center  

3. Kempsville Center for Behavioral Health: The Clinical 
Treatment Team is also involved in the creation of the list. 

4. Virginia Beach Department of Human Services 
Residential Crisis Stabilization Program - The Recovery 
Center: Through the first phase of the program, individuals 
are limited from visits with family and friends, and phone 
calls are limited to five minutes per shift. There is no 
limitation on private communication with attorneys, judges, 
legislators, clergy, licensed health care practitioners, 
authorized representatives, advocates, the inspector 
general, or employees of the protection and advocacy 
agency. 

Variance to Procedures for Restrictions on Freedoms of 
Everyday Life: 

12VAC35-115-100 A 1 a and A 1 g: In order to utilize a point 
level system (Behavior Management Model) affecting 
movement of an individual within the service setting 
(grounds, community, purchases in program store). 

1. Harbor Point Behavioral Health Center 

2. Kempsville Center for Behavioral Health: Requiring an 
individual earn points through a level system in order to 
access the store. 

Variance to Procedures for Use of Seclusion, Restraint, and 
Time Out 

12VAC35-115-110 C 16: In order to utilize time out as part 
of the unit restriction policy. 

Kempsville Center for Behavioral Health: At times deemed 
necessary due to unsafe behaviors, to provide additional 
safety and security measures by preventing movement by 
an individual from their assigned unit for periods longer 
than 30 minutes. 

mailto:Joyce.Knight@vdacs.virginia.gov
http://www.vdacs.virginia.gov/stewardship/index.shtml
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Variances to these regulations by the providers listed above 
are reviewed by the State Human Rights Committee (SHRC) 
at least annually, with reports to the SHRC regarding the 
variances as requested. 

Public comment period: September 21, 2015, through 
October 21, 2015. 

Description of proposal: The proposed variance applications 
for renewal must comply with the general requirements of 
Part VI - Variances (12VAC35-115-220 et seq.), of the 
Human Rights Regulations. 

How to comment: DBHDS accepts written comments by 
email, fax, and postal mail. In order to be considered, 
comments must include the full name, address, and telephone 
number of the person commenting and be received by 
DBHDS by the last day of the comment period. All 
information received is part of the public record. 

To review a proposal: Variance applications and any 
supporting documentation may be obtained by contacting the 
DBHDS representative named below.  

Contact Information: Deborah Lochart, Director, Office of 
Human Rights, Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services, 1220 East Bank Street, P.O. Box 
1797, Richmond, VA 23218-1797, telephone (804) 786-0032, 
FAX (804) 804-371-2308, or email 
deb.lochart@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

CEMETERY BOARD 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 
2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Cemetery Board is 
currently reviewing each of the regulations listed below to 
determine whether the regulation should be repealed, 
amended, or retained in its current form. The review of each 
regulation will be guided by the principles in Executive Order 
17 (2014). Public comment is sought on the review of any 
issue relating to each regulation, including whether the 
regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 
safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 
important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 
economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 
with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 
written and easily understandable. 

18VAC47-11, Public Participation Guidelines 

18VAC47-20, Cemetery Board Rules and Regulations 

The comment period begins September 21, 2015, and ends 
October 12, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Christine Martine, Executive Director, 
Department of Professional Occupational Regulation, 9960 
Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 

(804) 367-8552, FAX (866) 826-8863, or email 
cemetery@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 
(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 
to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 
public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 
posted on the Town Hall, and a report of the small business 
impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations. 

BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 
2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Board for Contractors is 
currently reviewing each of the regulations listed below to 
determine whether the regulation should be repealed, 
amended, or retained in its current form. The review of each 
regulation will be guided by the principles in Executive Order 
17 (2014). Public comment is sought on the review of any 
issue relating to each regulation, including whether the 
regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 
safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 
important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 
economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 
with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 
written and easily understandable. 

18VAC50-11, Public Participation Guidelines 
18VAC50-22, Board for Contractors Regulations 
18VAC50-30, Individual License and Certification 
Regulations 

The comment period begins September 21, 2015, and ends 
October 12, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, 
Department of Professional Occupational Regulation, 9960 
Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 
(804) 367-2785, FAX (866) 430-1033, or email 
contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 
(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 
to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 
public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 
posted on the Town Hall, and a report of the small business 
impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Notice of Intent for Solar Energy Project in Brink, 
Virginia 

SolUnesco and its partners intend to submit the necessary 
documentation for a permit by rule for a small renewable 
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energy project (solar) in Brink, Virginia, pursuant to 
9VAC15-60. SolUnesco and its partners are developing a 
24.1 MW DC (76,500 315W panels) solar farm located in 
Brink, Virginia, Greensville County. The system will be a 
ground mounted array covering a plot of about 100 acres in 
an area approximately 2700' X 1700' and will have an 
assumed AC interconnection at the Brink Substation, 
Emporia District within the Mecklenburg Electric 
Cooperative service territory located approximately one mile 
away. SolUnesco and its partners have secured an Option to 
Lease for the site from the property owners and have 
submitted an interconnect request with Mecklenburg Electric 
Cooperative (request submitted on July 31, 2015). Parcel is 
zoned A-1 Agricultural District and rezoning will not be 
required, although Greensville County will require approval 
for a Special Use Permit. The parcel is contained within a 
Natural Resource Overlay District allowing for surface 
mining for minerals and is currently in the advanced stages of 
a reclamation process subsequent to these mining operations. 
Preliminary conversations with Greensville County Planning 
Director indicate strong support for Special Use Permit 
approval for this solar project and a potential timeline has 
been established for this approval by October 19, 2015. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4423, FAX (804) 
698-4510, or email mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

2016 Citizen Water Quality Monitoring Grant 
Program Request for Proposals 

Purpose: The purpose of the Citizen Water Quality 
Monitoring Grant Program is to generate scientifically 
accurate, citizen-collected, water quality data. The program 
helps to guide and support citizen water quality monitoring 
and stewardship activities. Funded projects may focus on any 
or all of the following five categories: 

1. List and delist impaired waters on the § 303(d) Impaired 
Waters List and assess overall water quality. 

2. Identify sources of pollution that may help in total 
maximum daily load (TMDL) development. 

3. Track progress of TMDLs or other restoration activities. 

4. Identify waters for future monitoring by the Department 
of Environmental Quality (DEQ). 

5. Educating the community on local impacts to water 
quality and land use activities. 

Background: The Citizen Water Quality Monitoring Grant 
Program was established by a budget amendment in the 1999 
Virginia General Assembly Session. The General Assembly 
based this budget amendment on the Citizen Water Quality 
Monitoring Grant Report submitted by DEQ regarding the 
feasibility of a grant to fund citizen monitoring activities. In 
2015, the General Assembly allocated general funds for 

eligible activities by citizen monitoring organizations in 
Virginia. 

General Eligibility: Funds are available to assist in the 
development and growth of citizen based water quality 
monitoring activities. Any community or watershed based 
environmental or conservation organization, secondary 
school, college, or university who use volunteers to monitor 
Virginia waters may apply for these funds. The maximum 
possible grant award is $10,000. Only one grant may be 
awarded per grantee per grant year. Grants are awarded on a 
competitive basis. Because of the limited funds available, 
partial funding may be awarded to maximize the effectiveness 
of the program. No match is required to receive the grant, but 
funding from other sources is encouraged. Grant awardees 
must be able to provide DEQ with a Federal Tax 
Identification Number. Nonprofit organizations are 
encouraged to register at no charge with the Virginia e-
Procurement Portal eVA. Visit www.eva.virginia.gov to 
register. Grant funds cannot be used for office space. Funded 
activities can begin as soon as January 1, 2016, and must be 
completed by December 31, 2016. 

Eligible Activities: Eligible activities include but are not 
limited to: 

• Water monitoring equipment expenses such as field test 
kits, probes, nets, sample containers, and manuals. Funded 
projects must monitor in areas representative of the 
sampled waters such as: 

1. Sampling occurs at or near the main area of flow of 
the waterbody. 

2. Sampling occurs just below the water surface or at 
deeper depths. 

3. Sample site is well away from DEQ permitted 
discharge pipes and mixing zones such as those found 
at wastewater treatment plants. 

• Certain administrative costs such as printing of 
newsletters, educational materials, and related items. 

• Staff costs to cover direct volunteer coordination and 
training shall not exceed 20% of the total grant award. 

• If seeking funds to cover mileage reimbursement for 
volunteer sample collection and sample transport, the IRS 
rate of $0.14 per mile for charitable organizations is used. 
Mileage reimbursement shall not exceed 20% of the total 
grant request. 

• Contractual services such as laboratory analysis and 
specialized services. The contractor is otherwise not a paid 
employee of the organization receiving the grant funds. 

Any water quality sampling should occur at safe, publically 
accessible locations such as at bridge crossings or boat ramps. 
If sampling occurs on private property, landowner permission 
must be obtained. 

http://www.eva.virginia.gov/
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Evaluation Criteria: Proposals must be complete and 
responsive to all applicable sections of the request for 
proposal (RFP). Proposals that do not fulfill all required 
solicitation requirements for the grant for which they are 
applying or omit any of the requested contents may receive a 
reduced evaluation score. Proposals will be grouped based on 
the type of award being sought and ranked accordingly (mini-
grant to mini-grant, regular grant to regular grant, etc.) 
Proposals shall be evaluated by a DEQ appointed committee 
using the following criteria: 

  Point 
Value 

1.  Part 1: General Project Description (for 
mini, regular, and coordination grants): 
Project goals and scope, certification 
that volunteers will be used, budget, 
history and future plans of the project, 
completing Attachments A and B. (This 
part will be evaluated and scored on Part 
1 only, with a maximum score of 70) 

70 

2.  Part 2: Site Selection and Quality 
Assurance (for regular and coordination 
grants only): Location of proposed 
sample sites and relation to other 
monitoring activities, training needs of 
volunteers and quality assurance 
documentation. (This part will be 
evaluated and scored with Part 1 
resulting in a combined maximum score 
of 140) 

70 

3.  Part 3: Special Conditions (for 
coordination grants only): Number of 
sub-organizations, geographic area of 
coverage, proportion of monitoring in 
unmonitored waters and future plans of 
project improvement. (This part will be 
evaluated and scored with Parts 1, and 2, 
with a maximum score of 200) 

60 

4.  Penalty if not meeting prior grant 
conditions during the past five years. 
Applied to the final score total 

Up to -50 

TOTAL: Up to 200 

Application Procedures: 

Electronic Submission: Electronic submission of the 
application is preferred. To submit the application 
electronically, please email a completed application and 
attachments to charles.torbeck@deq.virginia.gov. In the 
subject line of the email, please include the name of the 
applying organization and the type of grant being sought. 
Electronic submissions are due no later than 2 p.m. on Friday, 
October 16, 2015. 

Standard Mail Delivery: If delivering by postal mail, an 
original and four copies of the application and attachments 
must be received no later than 2 p.m. on Friday, October 16, 
2015. Mail applications to: 

Mail Delivery: Street Delivery: 
Stuart Torbeck Stuart Torbeck 
Department of Environmental 
Quality 

Department of Environmental 
Quality 

Water Quality Monitoring Water Quality Monitoring 
P.O. Box 1105 629 East Main Street 
Richmond, VA 23218 Richmond, VA 23218 

No exceptions can be made to the above deadline. 
Notification of awards will be made in December 2015. 
Funds will be available when a contract has been signed and 
returned to DEQ. 100% of the award may be distributed when 
the signed contract and a written request for payment are 
returned. For groups who do not have a quality assurance 
project plan (QAPP) and who will collect water quality 
samples, a QAPP must be submitted for DEQ approval by the 
deadline listed below. If a QAPP is not developed and 
approved by DEQ, future grant applications from the 
organization may be disqualified. 

Contractual Agreements: All work to be accomplished 
through the Citizen Monitoring Grant Program must be 
legally embodied in a contract with the grant proposal. This 
contract will serve as a memorandum of agreement in 
accordance with § 62.1-44.19:11 of the Code of Virginia. 
This contract will be between the grantee (or designee) and 
DEQ. Upon submission of both a signed contract agreement 
and a written request for payment, grant funds will be made 
available to the grantee. If at any time the grantee 
organization cannot fulfill the requirements of the contract, 
the remainder of the grant funds and any equipment 
purchased through the grant must be returned to the DEQ 
Citizen Monitoring Grant Program for redistribution. 

Report Requirements: Progress reports providing updates on 
the project are required according to the schedule below: 

Draft QAPP: February 1 2016 (draft due to DEQ for review if 
a QAPP is required) 

Final QAPP: April 1, 2016 (if applicable) 

Interim Report: August 1, 2016 (status of grant funds spent, 
paragraph summary of work completed) 

Final Report: February 15, 2017 (all monitoring data must 
be uploaded to the online DEQ database 
at www.deq.virginia.gov/easi/. No other submissions of raw 
data will be accepted.) 

In an effort to conserve paper, electronic submission of the 
final report is encouraged. These reports can be submitted by 
either a CD or DVD R/RW or by email to 
charles.torbeck@deq.virginia.gov. Final reports should 
consist of the following.* 

mailto:charles.torbeck@deq.virginia.gov
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.19C11
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/easi/
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1. Report summarizing the project and recorded 
observations along with a summary budget. 

2. If applicable, copies of publications, list of workshops, 
and related material that utilized grant funds. 

*If necessary, a hardcopy of these items can be sent to the 
mailing address listed below. 

All water quality data collected using grant funds must be 
entered on the DEQ online database at 
www.deq.virginia.gov/easi/. Instructions on how to upload 
this data will be provided when grant awards are announced 
in the winter of 2015. The database will allow grant recipients 
to upload water quality data collected during the course of the 
project. The public can view this data by accessing the 
website. 

If the organization does not continue monitoring beyond the 
grant period, any equipment, such as meters or unopened 
reagents purchased with grant funds must be returned to DEQ 
at the address listed below to be redistributed or used for 
future training sessions. 

Contact Information: Stuart Torbeck, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4461, or email 
charles.torbeck@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA LOTTERY 

Director's Orders 

The following Director's Orders of the Virginia Lottery were 
filed with the Virginia Registrar of Regulations on September 
2, 2015. The orders may be viewed at the Virginia Lottery, 
900 East Main Street, Richmond, VA, or at the office of the 
Registrar of Regulations, 201 North 9th Street, 2nd Floor, 
Richmond, VA. 

Director's Order Number Ninety-Six (15) 

Virginia's Computer-Generated Game Lottery Powerball® 
Final Rules for Game Operation (This Director's Order 
becomes effective August 11, 2015, fully replaces any and all 
prior Virginia Lottery "Powerball" game rules, and shall 
remain in full force and effect unless amended or rescinded 
by further Director’s Order) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Four (15) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1588 "Redskins Champions 
Club" Final Rules for Game Operation (effective August 4, 
2015) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Five (15) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1574 "Lucky Streak" Final 
Rules for Game Operation (effective August 11, 2015) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Six (15) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1590 "Grocery Bag Bucks" 
Final Rules for Game Operation (effective August 11, 2015) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Eight (15) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1584 "$1,000 Frenzy" Final 
Rules for Game Operation (effective August 11, 2015) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Nine (15) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1589 "Lucky Lines" Final 
Rules for Game Operation (effective August 11, 2015) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Ten (15) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1559 "Double Dollar 
Fortune" Final Rules for Game Operation (effective August 
11, 2015) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Thirteen (15) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1592 "$40,000 Payday" Final 
Rules for Game Operation (effective August 11, 2015) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Fourteen (15) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1571 "Cash Blast" Final 
Rules for Game Operation (effective August 11, 2015) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Fifteen (15) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1557 "20X The Money" 
Final Rules for Game Operation (effective August 11, 2015) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Seventeen (15) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1591 "Spooktacular Fast 
$50's" Final Rules for Game Operation (effective August 18, 
2015) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Eighteen (15) 

Virginia Lottery's "We're Game Honorary Pit Crew 
Promotion" Final Rules for Operation (This Director's Order 
becomes effective on Thursday, August 20, 2015, and shall 
remain in full force and effect unless amended or rescinded 
by further Director's Order 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Nineteen (15) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1593 "Turkey Tripler" Final 
Rules for Game Operation (effective August 18, 2015) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Thirty-One (15) 

Virginia Lottery's "Bank A Million How To Play Coupon" 
Final Rules for Operation (effective September 1, 2015) 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/easi/
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DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review  

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 
2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Department of 
Professional and Occupational Regulation is conducting a 
periodic review and small business impact review of 
18VAC120-30, Regulations Governing Polygraph 
Examiners.  

The review of this regulation will be guided by the principles 
in Executive Order 17 (2014).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 
regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 
current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 
issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 
regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 
safety, and welfare or for the economic performance of 
important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 
economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 
with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 
written and easily understandable. 

The comment period begins September 21, 2015, and ends 
October 12, 2015. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 
Regulatory Town Hall at 
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 
may also be sent to Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, 
Department of Professional Occupational Regulation, 9960 
Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 
(804) 367-7226, FAX (866) 430-1033, or email 
polygraph@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 
(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 
to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 
public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 
posted on the Town Hall and a report of the small business 
impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations. 

BOARD FOR WASTE MANAGEMENT FACILITY 
OPERATORS 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 
2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Board for Waste 
Management Facility Operators is currently reviewing each of 
the regulations listed below to determine whether the 
regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 
current form. The review of each regulation will be guided by 
the principles in Executive Order 17 (2014). Public comment 

is sought on the review of any issue relating to each 
regulation, including whether the regulation (i) is necessary 
for the protection of public health, safety, and welfare or for 
the economical performance of important governmental 
functions; (ii) minimizes the economic impact on small 
businesses in a manner consistent with the stated objectives 
of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly written and easily 
understandable. 

18VAC155-11, Public Participation Guidelines 
18VAC150-20, Waste Management Facility Operators 
Regulations 

The comment period begins September 21, 2015, and ends 
October 12, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, 
Department of Professional Occupational Regulation, 9960 
Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 
(804) 367-8511, FAX (866) 430-1033, or email 
wastemgt@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 
(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 
to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 
public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 
posted on the Town Hall, and a report of the small business 
impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Consent Order for Chesterfield County 
Department of Public Utilities 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Chesterfield 
County Department of Public Utilities. The consent order 
describes a settlement to resolve a violation of State Water 
Control Law associated with an unauthorized discharge to 
Proctors Creek below the Route 1 Bridge in Chesterfield 
County. A description of the proposed action is available at 
the Department of Environmental Quality office named below 
or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Frank Lupini will accept 
comments by email at frank.lupini@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at 
(804) 527-5106, or postal mail at Department of 
Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A 
Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, from September 21, 2015, 
to October 22, 2015. 

Notice of Technical Advisory Committee Meeting 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) seeks 
participation and input on draft source assessment 
information for development of a total maximum daily load 
(TMDL) study for the Lower Chickahominy River and 
Tributaries in New Kent, Charles City, and James City 
Counties. Several waterbodies are listed on the § 303(d) 
TMDL Priority List and Report as impaired due to violations 
of the state's water quality standards for bacteria for the 
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recreation use (see below). Section 303(d) of the Clean Water 
Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C of the State Water Control Law 
requires the DEQ to develop TMDLs for pollutants 
responsible for each impaired waterbody. The presentation 
from the public meeting held in July is available at: 
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityIn
formationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/Documentatio
nforSelectTMDLs.aspx#LoChx.  

The intent to establish an advisory committee was publicly 
noticed in June 2015 and during the public meeting. 
Technical advisory committee (TAC) participation has since 
been encouraged in subsequent phone and email 
correspondence. The TAC meeting will be held Wednesday, 
October 7, 2015, at 10 a.m. at the Charles City County Social 
Center located at 8320 Ruthville Road, Providence Forge, VA 
23140. Meeting minutes will be taken and posted on the DEQ 
website for future reference.  

Waterbodies identified for bacteria TMDL development 
include the following:  

Stream Impairment Location 

Beaverdam Creek 

Recreation 
Use 

(bacteria) 

New Kent County XAH-Beaverdam 
Creek, UT 

Diascund Creek 
New Kent and James 
City Counties 

Mill Creek James City County 

Barrows Creek Charles City County 

Chickahominy 
River 

Charles City, James 
City, New Kent 
Counties 

Gordon Creek James City County 

The purpose of the TAC meeting will be to review the draft 
source assessment information. "Source assessment" is a 
process that involves classifying, identifying, and quantifying 
bacteria source types throughout the watershed. The source 
assessment information will be used to inform the TMDL 
model. Information on the development of the TMDLs is 
available upon request. Questions or information requests 
should be addressed to Margaret Smigo, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 
23060, telephone (804) 527-5124, or email 
margaret.smigo@deq.virginia.gov. 

Public Meeting and Public Comment Period for a 
TMDL Implementation Plan Chuckatuck Creek and 

Brewers Creek in the City of Suffolk and Isle of 
Wight County  

A public meeting to discuss a water quality improvement plan 
for Chuckatuck and Brewers Creeks will be held on 

Thursday, September 24, 2015, at the CE&H Ruritan Hall 
located at 8881 Eclipse Drive, Suffolk, Virginia from 6 p.m. 
to 8 p.m.  

Chuckatuck Creek and Brewers Creek were identified in 
Virginia's Water Quality Assessment Integrated Report as 
impaired for violations of the fecal coliform criteria for 
shellfish waters. Shellfish harvest from these waters is 
restricted as shellfish may be unsafe for consumption. The 
impairment is based on water quality monitoring data reports 
of sufficient exceedances of Virginia's Water Quality 
Standard for Bacteria. Bacteria sources identified that may 
contribute to this impairment include failing septic systems, 
discharges of untreated human waste, pets, and agricultural 
practices in the area.  

The meeting will review the final implementation plan for the 
impaired waters. The Plan has included an outline of 
corrective actions that could be used to reduce the sources of 
bacteria, their associated costs and benefits, along with 
measurable goals, and a timeline. Management options 
include replacing failing septic systems, removing discharge 
of untreated human waste to streams, reducing pollutant loads 
from agricultural, urban, and residential areas, and a pet waste 
disposal and education program.  

The public comment period on materials presented at this 
meeting will extend from September 25, 2015, to October 26, 
2015. For additional information or to submit comments, 
contact Jennifer Howell, Department of Environmental 
Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern 
Boulevard, Virginia Beach, VA 23463, telephone (757) 518-
2111, or email jennifer.howell@deq.virginia.gov The 
implementation plan can be found at 
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityIn
formationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLImplementation/TMDLImpl
ementationPlans.aspx. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice of Public Comment Period on Proposed 
Regulations 

The Virginia Code Commission seeks comment on proposed 
revisions to the Regulations of the Virginia Code 
Commission for Implementing the Virginia Register Act. The 
purpose of the regulation is to direct and assist state agencies 
in filing and publishing regulatory actions and in complying 
with the Virginia Register Act and the provisions of the 
Administrative Process Act related to the publication of the 
Virginia Register of Regulations and the Virginia 
Administrative Code. 

The Code Commission has the responsibility of publishing 
and maintaining the Virginia Administrative Code and 
publishing the Virginia Register of Regulations as provided 
for in § 2.2-4031 of the Code of Virginia. The Code 
Commission's specific authority to adopt regulations is found 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/DocumentationforSelectTMDLs.aspx#LoChx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/DocumentationforSelectTMDLs.aspx#LoChx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/DocumentationforSelectTMDLs.aspx#LoChx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLImplementation/TMDLImplementationPlans.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLImplementation/TMDLImplementationPlans.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLImplementation/TMDLImplementationPlans.aspx
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4031/
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in § 2.2-4104 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts the 
regulations from the Administrative Process Act.  

The purpose of the action is to update the regulations to 
reflect changes to the Code of Virginia and current practices 
for filing and publishing regulatory actions. 

The Code Commission approved the proposed amendments 
on August 19, 2015, for the purpose of soliciting comments 
from state agencies and other interested parties.  

A summary of the proposed changes and the text of the 
proposed regulations with drafting notes are posted on the 
Code Commission's website at 
http://codecommission.dls.virginia.gov/. 

Public comment may be submitted through October 13, 2015, 
to Karen Perrine, Assistant Registrar, Division of Legislative 
Services, 201 North Ninth Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-3591 x261, or email 
codes@dls.virginia.gov. 

Notice to State Agencies 
Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 
Commission, General Assembly Building, 201 North 9th 
Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: Voice 
(804) 786-3591; Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 
requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 
websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 
http://www.virginia.gov/connect/commonwealth-calendar. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 
Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 
regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 
repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 
regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 
the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 
available at 
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 
System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 
publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 
Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 
Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 
Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 
complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 
regulatory information. 

ERRATA 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Title of Regulation: 8VAC20-131. Regulations Establishing 
Standards for Accrediting Public Schools in Virginia. 

Publication: 31:26 VA.R. 2453-2471 August 24, 2015. 

Correction to Fast-Track Regulation: 

Page 2471, 8VAC20-131-360, subsections D through the end 
of the section text should read:  

"D. Accreditation ratings prescribed in 8VAC20-131-300 C 1 
a shall become effective with tests administered in 2010-2011 
and 2011-2012 for ratings awarded in 2011-2012 and 2012-
2013. 

E. D. Accreditation ratings prescribed in 8VAC20-121-300 
C 1 c 8VAC20-131-300 C 1 a shall become effective with 
tests administered in 2012-2013 for ratings awarded in 2013-
2014 and beyond. 

F. E. The Academic and Career Plan prescribed in 8VAC20-
131-140 shall become effective in 2013-2014. 

G. F. Unless otherwise specified, the remainder of these 
regulations shall be effective beginning with the 2011-2012 
academic year. 

G. The revision of the graduation rate formula, for purposes 
of the Standards of Accreditation, as described in 8VAC20-
131-280 is effective as of July 1, 2016." 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4464; Filed September 2, 2015, 1:11 p.m.  

REAL ESTATE BOARD 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC135-20. Virginia Real Estate 
Board Licensing Regulations. 

Publication: 32:1 VA.R. 242 September 7, 2015. 

Correction to Erratum: 

Page 242, second correction should read: 

"Page 2611, 18VAC135-20-140 B, table, second row, column 
1 should read as follows: "Salesperson's or associate broker's 
license as a business entity"" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3250; Filed September 2, 2015, 2:53 p.m.  
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