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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 

publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 

days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 

necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 

clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 

comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 

to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 

completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 

comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 

than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 

period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 

appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 

may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 

objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 

will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 

by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 

with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 

Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 

substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 

30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 

public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 

receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 

comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 

inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 

certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 

process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 

provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 

objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 

consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 

Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 

emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 

regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 

law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 

days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 

operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 

unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 

more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 

months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 

Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 

procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 

agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 

Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 

regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 

180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 

chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 

prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

29:5 VA.R. 1075-1192 November 5, 2012, refers to Volume 29, Issue 

5, pages 1075 through 1192 of the Virginia Register issued on  

November 5, 2012. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

James M. LeMunyon, Vice Chair, Gregory D. Habeeb; Ryan T. 

McDougle; Pamela S. Baskervill; Robert L. Calhoun; Carlos L. 

Hopkins; E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; Christopher R. 

Nolen; Timothy Oksman; Charles S. Sharp; Robert L. Tavenner. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 

Karen Perrine, Assistant Registrar; Anne Bloomsburg, Regulations 
Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Operations 

Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

October 2015 through October 2016 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

32:3 September 16, 2015 October 5, 2015 

32:4 September 30, 2015 October 19, 2015 

32:5 October 14, 2015 November 2, 2015 

32:6 October 28, 2015 November 16, 2015 

32:7 November 10, 2015 (Tuesday) November 30, 2015 

32:8 November 24, 2015 (Tuesday) December 14, 2015 

32:9 December 9, 2015 December 28, 2015 

32:10 December 21, 2015 (Monday) January 11, 2016 

32:11 January 6, 2016 January 25, 2016 

32:12 January 20, 2016 February 8, 2016 

32:13 February 3, 2016 February 22, 2016 

32:14 February 17, 2016 March 7, 2016 

32:15 March 2, 2016 March 21, 2016 

32:16 March 16, 2016 April 4, 2016 

32:17 March 30, 2016 April 18, 2016 

32:18 April 13, 2016 May 2, 2016 

32:19 April 27, 2016 May 16, 2016 

32:20 May 11, 2016 May 30, 2016 

32:21 May 25, 2016 June 13, 2016 

32:22 June 8, 2016 June 27, 2016 

32:23 June 22, 2016 July 11, 2016 

32:24 July 6, 2016 July 25, 2016 

32:25 July 20, 2016 August 8, 2016 

32:26 August 3, 2016 August 22, 2016 

33:1 August 17, 2016 September 5, 2016 

33:2 August 31, 2016 September 19, 2016 

33:3 September 14, 2016 October 3, 2016 

33:4 September 28, 2016 October 17, 2016 

33:5 October 12, 2016 October 31, 2016 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services intends to consider amending 2VAC5-

670, Rules and Regulations for Enforcement of the 

Virginia Pesticide Law. The purpose of the proposed action 

is to update the regulation and align it with current agency 

practices and federal requirements by, among other items, (i) 

changing the title and format to be consistent with other 

pesticide-related regulations; (ii) amending the language to 

reflect the current agency policy regarding requirements for 

submission of pesticide labels; (iii) clarifying the registration 

requirements involving mixtures of pesticides and fertilizers 

or other pesticides; (iv) amending language and adding 

definitions to align the regulation with federal requirements; 

(v) amending language to more closely align the regulation 

with the Virginia Pesticide Control Act; (vi) removing 

duplicative registration requirements; (vii) amending and 

clarifying regulatory label requirements and warning or 

caution statements to more closely align with federal 

requirements and minimize confusion; (viii) amending 

ingredient statement requirements for consistency throughout 

the regulation; and (ix) amending the handling and storage 

requirements. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-3906 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 4, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Laura Hare, Policy Analyst, Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-1908, FAX (804) 

255-2666, or email laura.hare@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4505; Filed September 8, 2015, 12:36 p.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services intends to consider amending 2VAC5-

680, Regulations Governing Licensing of Pesticide 

Businesses Operating under Authority of the Virginia 

Pesticide Control Act. The purpose of the proposed action is 

to update the regulation and align it with current agency 

practices and federal requirements, to include (i) adding the 

definition of the term "operating in Virginia" and amending 

the definition of the term "pesticide business location" in 

order to address current industry practices; (ii) adding the 

definition of the term "limited household use" in order to 

clarify the requirements for merchants who are exempt from 

pesticide business licenses under the Virginia Pesticide 

Control Act; (iii) adding the definition of the term "multiple 

violations"; (iv) clarifying the current requirements for the 

application for a pesticide business license in order to 

decrease regulants' confusion and encourage compliance; (v) 

clarifying the current requirement regarding evidence of 

financial responsibility in order to decrease regulants' 

confusion and encourage compliance; (vi) amending the 

language of the recordkeeping requirements to be consistent 

with other pesticide labeling requirements in the regulation; 

and (vii) revising the recordkeeping sections to reflect the 

changes previously mentioned. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-3906 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 4, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Laura Hare, Policy Analyst, Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-1908, FAX (804) 

255-2666, or email laura.hare@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4506; Filed September 8, 2015, 12:39 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services has WITHDRAWN the 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action for 12VAC35-105, 

Rules and Regulations for the Licensing of Providers of 

Mental Health, Mental Retardation, Substance Abuse, the 

Individual and Family Developmental Disabilities 

Support Waiver, and Residential Brain Injury Services, 

which was published in 26:25 VA.R. 2815-2816 August 16, 

2010.  

Agency Contact: Ruth Anne Walker, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services, 1220 Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23218-1797, 

telephone (804) 225-2252, FAX (804) 786-8623, or email 

ruthanne.walker@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2275; Filed September 9, 2015, 12:28 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=1258
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=1258
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TITLE 17. LIBRARIES AND CULTURAL 
RESOURCES 

BOARD OF HISTORIC RESOURCES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Historic Resources 

intends to consider amending 17VAC5-30, Evaluation 

Criteria and Procedures for Designations By the Board of 

Historic Resources. The purpose of the proposed action is to 

address the owner objection process to properties nominated 

for designation by the Board of Historic Resources for 

inclusion in the Virginia Landmarks Register. The 

amendments will add clarifying language that written 

notification of the nomination and written notification of the 

public hearing will be sent to property owners as shown on 

current real estate tax assessments books. In addition, 

property owners who wish to object to a designation must 

submit their formal objection seven business days prior to the 

board meeting. The amendments also add that in addition to 

the letter being notarized, it must be attested and reference the 

property by address or parcel number, or both. Also, in order 

to be counted by the director as a property owner, if the 

objecting party was not listed on the real estate tax 

assessment list, then a copy of the recorded deed evidencing 

transfer of ownership must be submitted along with the 

attested and notarized statement. Lastly, formal designations 

may be reconsidered at a subsequent board meeting if the 

director receives, at least 30 days prior to the next scheduled 

board meeting, written, attested, and notarized statements 

stating that there is no longer an objection. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-2205 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 4, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Pullen, Executive Assistant, 

Department of Historic Resources, 2801 Kensington Avenue, 

Richmond, VA 23221, telephone (804) 482-6085, FAX (804) 

367-2391, or email jennifer.pullen@dhr.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4259; Filed September 14, 2015, 12:52 p.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF HISTORIC RESOURCES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Department of Historic 

Resources intends to consider amending 17VAC10-20, 

Evaluation Criteria and Procedures for Nominations of 

Property to the National Register or for Designation as a 

National Historic Landmark. The purpose of the proposed 

action is to address the owner objection process to properties 

nominated for designation by the State Review Board for 

inclusion in the National Register of Historic Places or 

designation as a National Historic Landmark. The 

amendments will add clarifying language that written 

notification of the nomination and written notification of the 

public hearing will be sent to property owners as shown on 

current real estate tax assessments books. In addition, 

property owners who wish to object to a designation must 

submit their formal objection seven business days prior to the 

board meeting. The amendments also add that in addition to 

the letter being notarized, it must be attested and reference the 

property by address or parcel number, or both. Also, in order 

to be counted by the director as a property owner, if the 

objecting party was not listed on the real estate tax 

assessment list, then a copy of the recorded deed evidencing 

transfer of ownership must be submitted along with the 

attested and notarized statement.  

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 10.1-2202 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 4, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Pullen, Executive Assistant, 

Department of Historic Resources, 2801 Kensington Avenue, 

Richmond, VA 23221, telephone (804) 482-6085, or email 

jennifer.pullen@dhr.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4260; Filed September 14, 2015, 12:54 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Social Services 

intends to consider amending 22VAC40-325, Fraud 

Reduction/Elimination Effort. The purpose of the proposed 

action is to more clearly define local funding allocation and 

reimbursement practices related to local fraud control 

administrative activities. 

This Notice of Intended Regulatory Action serves as the 

report of the findings of the regulatory review pursuant to 

§ 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 63.2-217 and 63.2-526 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 4, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Toni Blue Washington, Program Manager, 

Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7662, FAX (804) 

726-7669, or email toni.washington@dss.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4195; Filed September 14, 2015, 4:25 p.m.  



REGULATIONS 
For information concerning the different types of regulations, see the Information Page. 

Symbol Key 
Roman type indicates existing text of regulations. Underscored language indicates proposed new text. 

Language that has been stricken indicates proposed text for deletion.  Brackets are used in final regulations to indicate changes from the 
proposed regulation. 

Volume 32, Issue 3 Virginia Register of Regulations October 5, 2015 

301 

REGULATIONS 

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-30. Rules and Regulations 

Pertaining to Reporting Requirements for Contagious and 

Infectious Diseases of Livestock and Poultry in Virginia 

(amending 2VAC5-30-20; adding 2VAC5-30-30; repealing 

2VAC5-30-10).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 3.2-6001 and 3.2-6002 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: November 4, 2015. 

Effective Date: November 19, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Charles Broaddus, D.V.M., Program 

Manager, Office of Veterinary Services, Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-4560, FAX (804) 

371-2380, TTY (800) 828-1120, or email 

charles.broaddus@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 3.2-109 of the Code of Virginia establishes the 

Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services as a policy 

board with the authority to adopt regulations in accordance 

with the provisions of Title 3.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Section 3.2-6001 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the board 

and the State Veterinarian to protect livestock and poultry 

from contagious and infectious disease. Section 3.2-6002 of 

the Code of Virginia authorizes the board to adopt regulations 

to prevent the spread of and eradicate contagious and 

infectious livestock and poultry diseases.  

Purpose: The current regulations concerning the reporting of 

animal diseases in Virginia need minor revisions to align 

them with the current priorities and methodology of state, 

federal, and international animal disease and marketing 

programs. The proposed regulation will bring Virginia in line 

with current federal animal disease reporting requirements, 

protecting the continued viability of Virginia's animal 

industries. These animal disease reporting requirements are 

designed to quickly recognize a significant animal disease in 

Virginia thus allowing the rapid response that will be 

necessary to control the disease. This quick recognition and 

rapid response are essential in order to protect public health 

from potentially zoonotic disease as well as to protect the 

economic interests of animal agriculture producers in 

Virginia, who could be affected by high levels of sickness or 

death loss of their animals without this regulation in place. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The proposed 

amendments are noncontroversial changes that are not 

expected to be opposed by any stakeholders. Veterinarians 

have questioned the likelihood of being penalized for not 

complying with the reporting requirement for "normal 

reporting," and there is widespread agreement among 

veterinarians that the normal reporting could be accomplished 

better outside of the regulatory mechanism. 

Substance: The "normal reporting" requirement is proposed to 

be removed. This section of the current regulation requires a 

laboratory or veterinarian to report diseases of interest to the 

State Veterinarian monthly. While the Virginia Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services (VDACS) continues to 

be interested in these diseases, it is impractical to require 

reporting of them through the regulatory process. 

Language is updated to clarify that when diseases are 

reported, they may be reported in person, by phone, or by 

email within 24 hours to the State Veterinarian or a 

veterinarian in the employ of VDACS.  

The proposed amendments include a new section that lists the 

reportable diseases. Currently, the list appears in a form that 

is referenced in the regulation. The agency determined that 

this list should be included in the provisions of the regulation. 

The board also proposes to bring the list of reportable 

diseases in line with the U.S. National List of Reportable 

Animal Diseases; it is anticipated that this uniform list will 

enhance disease reporting compliance. 

Issues: The primary advantages of the proposed revisions are 

to increase compliance with the regulation by simplifying it 

and placing focus on areas that are most effective in 

mitigating animal disease introduction and resultant losses. 

Veterinarians in the Commonwealth will have less 

burdensome requirements with the "normal reporting" 

removed. The removal of the "normal reporting" requirement 

will also allow the agency to focus additional resources on 

monitoring animal diseases of consequence. Thus, both the 

public and the agency benefit from the proposed changes. The 

proposed revisions pose no disadvantages to the public or the 

Commonwealth. 

Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings:  This 

regulatory action serves as the report of the findings of the 

regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 3 Virginia Register of Regulations October 5, 2015 

302 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services (Board) 

proposes to: 1) no longer require laboratories and 

veterinarians to report diseases that are of interest, but not of 

immediate and widespread consequence, to the State 

Veterinarian monthly, 2) include the list of reportable 

diseases in the text of the regulation, 3) update the list of 

reportable diseases to be in line with the U.S. Department of 

Agriculture's U.S. National List of Reportable Animal 

Diseases, and 4) amend language for clarity. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Virginia has long had 

regulations in place requiring the reporting of certain animal 

diseases of consequence. Diseases of consequence are those 

not present in the United States or are those with a high 

sickness rate or death rate and are those diseases that are 

typically responded to with quarantine and related measures 

as needed to prevent the spread of the disease. Often, it is 

important to quickly control these diseases in order to retain 

the ability to export animal products to foreign countries. 

According to the Virginia Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services (VDACS) reporting compliance with 

diseases of consequence such as avian influenza, tuberculosis, 

or brucellosis has been good, and this requirement is an 

important tool with respect to ensuring these diseases are 

reported promptly so that appropriate action can be taken. 

There are also diseases of interest, but not of immediate and 

widespread consequence, that are currently required to be 

reported by this regulation. These are diseases that are also 

described in some documents as "monitored" diseases and are 

required to be reported under the "normal reporting" section 

of the regulation. Due to the impracticality of enforcing a 

requirement to report these "monitored" diseases, the Board 

proposes that the "normal reporting" requirement be removed 

from the regulation. There is very little active reporting of 

these diseases and no action is taken when reports are 

received. Thus the proposed elimination of the "normal 

reporting" requirement will be beneficial in that it will 

eliminate time spent on reporting information that is not acted 

upon. 

VDACS is still interested in these diseases and intends to 

continue to monitor for their presence outside of the 

regulatory mechanism. As such, under this proposal it would 

no longer be a regulatory requirement to report diseases such 

as Johne's, Bovine Viral Diarrhea, Leukosis, Salmonellosis, 

or Giardia. Instead, VDACS will continue to work with 

veterinarians and laboratories to monitor the presence of these 

"non-regulatory" diseases.  

Currently the list of reportable diseases is kept on a form that 

is referenced in the regulation. The Board proposes to 

incorporate the list into the regulation. This will be beneficial 

in that it will be easier for the public to find and be aware of 

the specific diseases that are reportable. 

The Board also proposes to bring the list of reportable 

diseases in line with the U.S. Department of Agriculture's 

U.S. National List of Reportable Animal Diseases, which is a 

suggested list of reportable diseases. The agency anticipates 

that this uniform list will enhance disease reporting 

compliance.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. VDACS estimates that 5-10 

laboratories within the Commonwealth (including the 5 

VDACS laboratories) and the approximately 2,000 licensed 

veterinarians in the state will be affected. Most of these 

affected entities are small businesses. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

do not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposal to eliminate the reporting requirement for diseases 

that do not have immediate and widespread consequence will 

save some staff time for veterinary practices. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 

amendments will not increase costs for small businesses. The 

proposal to eliminate the reporting requirement for diseases 

that do not have immediate and widespread consequence will 

save some staff time for small veterinary practices 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments will not 

adversely affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to affect real estate development costs. 

Legal Mandate. 

General: The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has 

analyzed the economic impact of this proposed regulation in 

accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and 

Executive Order Number 17 (2014). Section 2.2-4007.04 

requires that such economic impact analyses determine the 

public benefits and costs of the proposed amendments. 

Further the report should include but not be limited to: 

• the projected number of businesses or other entities to 

whom the proposed regulatory action would apply, 

• the identity of any localities and types of businesses or 

other entities particularly affected, 

• the projected number of persons and employment 

positions to be affected,  

• the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and  

• the impact on the use and value of private property.  

Small Businesses: If the proposed regulatory action will have 

an adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires 

that such economic impact analyses include: 
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• an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the proposed regulation, 

• the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other 

administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the proposed regulation, including the type 

of professional skills necessary for preparing required 

reports and other documents, 

• a statement of the probable effect of the proposed 

regulation on affected small businesses, and  

• a description of any less intrusive or less costly 

alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the 

proposed regulation.  

Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1, if there is a finding 

that a proposed regulation may have an adverse impact on 

small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative 

Rules is notified at the time the proposed regulation is 

submitted to the Virginia Register of Regulations for 

publication. This analysis shall represent DPB's best estimate 

for the purposes of public review and comment on the 

proposed regulation. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) eliminate the requirement that 

laboratories and veterinarians report diseases that are of 

interest, but not of immediate and widespread 

consequence, to the State Veterinarian monthly; (ii) set out 

the list of reportable diseases in the text of the regulation; 

and (iii) update the list of reportable diseases to be in line 

with the U.S. Department of Agriculture's U.S. National 

List of Reportable Animal Diseases. 

2VAC5-30-10. Normal reporting. (Repealed.) 

Any person practicing veterinary medicine, any person or 

firm operating a laboratory for the diagnosis of livestock or 

poultry diseases, and any other reporting entity designated by 

the State Veterinarian within the Commonwealth of Virginia 

shall, between the first and tenth day of each month for the 

month preceding, report to the State Veterinarian the 

existence of those contagious or infectious diseases among 

livestock and poultry known to him listed on Schedule B of 

form VDACS-03016 (8/87), "Reportable Diseases of Virginia 

Livestock and Poultry." Reports may be filed electronically in 

a manner specified by VDACS, including, but not limited to, 

electronic mail or by completing any forms provided online 

by VDACS. 

2VAC5-30-20. Special reporting Reporting requirements. 

Any person practicing veterinary medicine, any person or 

firm operating a laboratory for the diagnosis of livestock or 

poultry diseases, and any other reporting entity designated by 

the State Veterinarian within the Commonwealth of Virginia 

shall report within 24 hours by telephone to the State 

Veterinarian: (i) or a veterinarian in the employ of the 

Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

(VDACS) the existence of anthrax, glanders, or any vesicular 

or exotic disease an emerging disease of livestock or poultry 

or any other disease of livestock or poultry known to him 

listed on Schedule A of form VDACS-03016 (8/87), 

"Reportable Diseases of Virginia Livestock and Poultry"; and 

(ii) the existence of any disease of poultry listed on Schedule 

A of form VDACS-03016 (8/87), "Reportable Diseases of 

Virginia Livestock and Poultry." If for any reason the State 

Veterinarian is not immediately available by telephone, such 

report shall be made directly to any veterinarian in the 

employ of the Commonwealth of Virginia in 2VAC5-30-30. 

Reports may be filed electronically in a manner specified by 

VDACS, including, but not limited to, electronic mail or by 

completing any forms provided online by VDACS. 

2VAC5-30-30. Reportable disease list. 

A. The Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

declares suspected or confirmed cases of the following 

multiple-species diseases to be reportable by the persons 

enumerated in 2VAC5-30-20. Conditions identified by an 

asterisk (*) are foreign animal diseases.  

*Akabane 

Anthrax 

Aujeszky's disease (Pseudorabies, PRV) 

Bluetongue (nonendemic) 

Brucellosis (Brucella abortus) 

Brucellosis (Brucella melitensis) 

Brucellosis (Brucella suis) 

*Camelpox 

Chronic wasting disease 

*Crimean-Congo hemorrhagic fever 

Epizootic hemorrhagic disease (EHD) 

Equine encephalomyelitis (Eastern) 

Equine encephalomyelitis (Venezuelan) 

*Foot-and-mouth disease 

*Glanders (Burkholderia mallei) 

*Heartwater 

*Japanese encephalitis 

*Leishmaniosis 

*Melioidosis (Burkholderia pseudomallei) 

*New and Old World screwworms 

Rabies 

*Rift Valley fever 

*Rinderpest 

*Surra (Trypanosoma evansi) 

Tuberculosis (M. bovis, M. tuberculosis) 

Vesicular stomatitis 

West Nile fever/virus 
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B. The Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

declares suspected or confirmed cases of the following cattle 

diseases to be reportable by the persons enumerated in 

2VAC5-30-20. Conditions identified by an asterisk (*) are 

foreign animal diseases.  

*Bovine babesiosis 

*Bovine spongiform encephalopathy 

*Contagious bovine pleuropneumonia 

*Hemorrhagic septicemia 

*Lumpy skin disease 

*Theileriosis (East Coast fever) 

Trichomoniasis 

*Trypanosomosis (tsetse transmitted) 

C. The Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

declares suspected or confirmed cases of the following swine 

diseases to be reportable by the persons enumerated in 

2VAC5-30-20. Conditions identified by an asterisk (*) are 

foreign animal diseases.  

*African swine fever 

*Classical swine fever 

*Nipah virus 

Swine vesicular disease 

Vesicular exanthema 

Porcine enteric coronavirus disease 

D. The Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

declares suspected or confirmed cases of the following sheep 

and goat diseases to be reportable by the persons enumerated 

in 2VAC5-30-20. Conditions identified by an asterisk (*) are 

foreign animal diseases.  

*Contagious caprine pleuropneumonia 

*Nairobi sheep disease 

*Peste des petites ruminants 

Scabies 

Scrapie 

*Sheep pox and goat pox 

E. The Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

declares suspected or confirmed cases of the following equine 

diseases to be reportable by the persons enumerated in 

2VAC5-30-20. Conditions identified by an asterisk (*) are 

foreign animal diseases.  

*African horse sickness 

*Contagious equine metritis 

*Dourine 

Equine encephalomyelitis (Western) 

Equine infectious anemia (EIA) 

Equine piroplasmosis 

Equine herpesvirus-1 myeloencephalopathy (EHV1-EHM) 

*Hendra 

F. The Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

declares suspected or confirmed cases of the following avian 

diseases to be reportable by the persons enumerated in 

2VAC5-30-20. Conditions identified by an asterisk (*) are 

foreign animal diseases.  

*Duck viral hepatitis 

*Exotic (virulent) Newcastle disease as defined in Chapter 

10.9, Terrestrial Animal Health Code, effective July 20, 

2015 

Fowl typhoid (Salmonella gallinarum) 

*Highly pathogenic Avian Influenza as defined in Chapter 

10.4, Terrestrial Animal Health Code, effective July 20, 

2015  

Low pathogenic Avian Influenza in poultry as defined in 

Chapter 10.4, Terrestrial Animal Health Code, effective 

July 20, 2015 

Pullorum disease (Salmonella pullorum) 

Turkey rhinotracheitis  

FORMS (2VAC5-30) 

Reportable Diseases of Virginia Livestock and Poultry 

(Foreign and Domestic), Form VDACS-03016, eff. 8/87.  

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(2VAC5-30) 

Terrestrial Animal Health Code, 24th edition, effective July 

20, 2015, World Organisation for Animal Health (OIE), 

http://www.oie.int/en/ 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4211; Filed September 16, 2015, 9:58 a.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-50. Rules and Regulations 

Governing the Prevention, Control and Eradication of 

Brucellosis of Cattle in Virginia (repealing 2VAC5-50-10 

through 2VAC5-50-110).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 3.2-6001, 3.2-6002, and 3.2-6004 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: November 4, 2015. 

Effective Date: November 19, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Charles Broaddus, D.V.M., Program 

Manager, Office of Veterinary Services, Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-4560, FAX (804) 

371-2380, TTY (800) 828-1120, or email 

charles.broaddus@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 3.2-109 of the Code of Virginia establishes the 

Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services as a policy 

board with the authority to adopt regulations in accordance 

with the provisions of Title 3.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Section 3.2-6001 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the board 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=de3da004211~2&typ=40&actno=004211&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=de3da004211~2&typ=40&actno=004211&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=de3da004211~2&typ=40&actno=004211&mime=application/pdf


Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 3 Virginia Register of Regulations October 5, 2015 

305 

and the State Veterinarian to protect livestock and poultry 

from contagious and infectious disease. Section 3.2-6002 of 

the Code of Virginia authorizes the board to adopt regulations 

to prevent the spread of and eradicate contagious and 

infectious livestock and poultry diseases. 

Purpose: The existing regulation provides the framework for 

the eradication of brucellosis in Virginia cattle. Brucellosis is 

an infectious disease of cattle that can also affect humans and 

was common in cattle in much of the 20th century. Through a 

structured and effective program, brucellosis was eradicated 

from cattle in all of the United States except around the 

Greater Yellowstone Area, where it remains in wildlife such 

as elk and bison and occasionally in cattle exposed to the 

wildlife. Through the testing of cattle and removal of those 

found to be positive for brucellosis, as required in the 

regulation, brucellosis was eradicated from Virginia, with the 

last known case occurring in the 1980s. 

This regulation was developed and used during the successful 

eradication effort for brucellosis in cattle. The regulation is 

now outdated. The tests and programs included in the 

regulation have not been utilized in at least 15 years. As such, 

this regulation is no longer needed. If brucellosis returns to 

Virginia, the agency has the ability to manage disease 

outbreaks and quarantine animals under statutory authority. 

Brucellosis no longer provides a threat to the public health, 

safety, or welfare in Virginia. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: As brucellosis has 

not been detected in cattle in Virginia since the 1980s, there is 

no longer a need for this regulation. The agency is not aware 

of any stakeholders suggesting that the regulation be retained 

or that the regulation is of any benefit to them. 

Substance: Due to the eradication of brucellosis in Virginia, 

this regulation is no longer needed. Therefore, the agency 

proposes to repeal the regulation. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public in repealing the 

regulation is that there would no longer be an outdated 

regulation that specifies actions that are no longer taken. The 

agency and Commonwealth will no longer be in a position of 

having an outdated regulation that is not enforced. This action 

is part of good governance in that an outdated, unnecessary 

regulation will be eliminated. There are no disadvantages to 

the public or the Commonwealth associated with repealing 

the regulation. 

Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings:  This 

regulatory action serves as the report of the findings of the 

regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services (Board) 

proposes to repeal this regulation. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The existing regulation provides 

the framework for the eradication of brucellosis in Virginia 

cattle. Brucellosis is an infectious disease of cattle that can 

also affect humans and was common in cattle in much of the 

20th century. Through a structured and effective program, 

brucellosis was eradicated from cattle in all of the United 

States except around the Greater Yellowstone Area, where it 

remains in wildlife such as elk and bison and occasionally in 

cattle exposed to the wildlife. Through the testing of cattle 

and removal of those found to be positive for brucellosis, as 

required in the regulation, brucellosis was eradicated from 

Virginia, with the last known case occurring in the 1980s. 

According to the Virginia Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services (VDACS), since brucellosis in cattle was 

eradicated the tests and programs included in the regulation 

have not been utilized in at least 15 years. If brucellosis 

returns to the Commonwealth, VDACS has the ability to 

manage disease outbreaks and quarantine animals under 

statutory authority.
1
 Thus, repealing this regulation will have 

no impact beyond the benefit of decreasing the chance that 

readers of the regulation would be misled concerning current 

requirements. Therefore the proposed repeal of the regulation 

will produce a small net benefit. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Repealing this regulation 

will have no impact beyond decreasing the likelihood that 

readers of the regulation would be misled concerning current 

requirements. When the regulation was utilized, it affected 

cattle ranches, stockyards, and slaughterhouses.  

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed repeal of this 

regulation does not disproportionately affect particular 

localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed repeal of this 

regulation does not affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed repeal of this regulation does not significantly affect 

private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 

repeal of this regulation does not significantly affect costs for 

small businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments will not 

adversely affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to affect real estate development costs. 

Legal Mandate. General: The Department of Planning and 

Budget (DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this 

proposed regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Code of Virginia and Executive Order Number 17 (2014). 

Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the 
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proposed amendments. Further the report should include but 

not be limited to: 

• the projected number of businesses or other entities to 

whom the proposed regulatory 

action would apply,the identity of any localities and types 

of businesses or other entities particularly affected, 

• the projected number of persons and employment 

positions to be affected, 

• the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and 

• the impact on the use and value of private property. 

Small Businesses: If the proposed regulatory action will have 

an adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires 

that such economic impact analyses include: 

• an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the proposed 

regulation, 

• the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other 

administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the proposed regulation, including the type of 

professional skills necessary for preparing required reports 

and other documents, 

• a statement of the probable effect of the proposed 

regulation on affected small businesses, and 

• a description of any less intrusive or less costly 

alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the 

proposed regulation. 

Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1, if there is a finding 

that a proposed regulation may have an adverse impact on 

small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative 

Rules is notified at the time the proposed regulation is 

submitted to the Virginia Register of Regulations for 

publication. This analysis shall represent DPB's best estimate 

for the purposes of public review and comment on the 

proposed regulation. 
1Source: Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 

Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The agency concurs 

with the analysis of the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The regulatory action repeals the regulation, which is 

outdated and no longer necessary as brucellosis has been 

eradicated from Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4284; Filed September 8, 2015, 11:58 a.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-141. Health Requirements 

Governing the Admission of Agricultural Animals, 

Companion Animals, and Other Animals or Birds into 

Virginia (amending 2VAC5-141-10 through 2VAC5-141-

40, 2VAC5-141-60 through 2VAC5-141-100, 2VAC5-141-

120, 2VAC5-141-130).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 3.2-5902 and 3.2-6002 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: November 4, 2015. 

Effective Date: November 19, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Charles C. Broaddus, D.V.M., Program 

Manager, Office of Veterinary Services, Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-4560, FAX (804) 

371-2380, TTY (800) 828-1120, or email 

charles.broaddus@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 3.2-5902 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 

the Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services to adopt 

regulations as may be necessary to establish the health of 

certain pet animals imported into Virginia. 

Section 3.2-6001 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services to adopt 

regulations in coordination with other states and the U.S. 

Department of Agriculture (USDA) to protect the livestock 

and poultry of Virginia. 

Section 3.2-6002 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services to adopt 

regulations as may be necessary to prevent, control, or 

eradicate infectious or contagious diseases in livestock and 

poultry in Virginia. 

Purpose: The current regulations concerning the importation 

of animals into Virginia need minor revisions to align them 

with the current priorities and methodology of state, federal, 

and international animal disease and marketing programs. 

The amendments will bring Virginia current with federal and 

other state animal movement requirements, both ensuring that 

Virginia animal producers and owners are not placed at a 

disadvantage in interstate trade and protecting the continued 

viability of Virginia's animal industries. As Virginia is a net 

exporter of agricultural animals, these entry requirements are 

designed to minimize the risk of disease introduction, allow 

rapid response and control should such occur, and 

concurrently promote unimpeded commerce. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The amendments are 

noncontroversial changes that are the consensus of many 

stakeholder organizations. These changes have been 

discussed with and are supported by the leaders of Virginia's 

animal agriculture industries. The revision is not significant, 

but rather for clarification and minor update. 

Substance: Definitions: Several definitions are modified to 

make the definitions consistent with definitions used by 

USDA and with the board's proposed livestock dealers and 

markets regulation. 

Vesicular stomatitis restrictions: Addition of restrictions 

placed on the importation of livestock in the event of an 

outbreak of vesicular stomatitis (VS) in another state. VS 

occurs sporadically every several years, typically in the 
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American Southwest, and unaffected states, including 

Virginia, place import restrictions to ensure that steps are 

taken to minimize the chance of importing an affected animal. 

In the past, this has been addressed through a proclamation 

issued by the State Veterinarian; however, including the 

language in this regulation will address the situation in a 

timelier manner. 

Avian influenza testing requirements: Currently, there is a 

stand-alone avian influenza proclamation issued by the State 

Veterinarian that addresses the specific avian influenza 

testing requirements for imported poultry. The amendments 

include these same requirements and are intended to simplify 

and unify the two sets of requirements under the same 

standard. 

Tuberculosis testing requirement removed for cattle, sheep, 

and goats: Due to USDA's requirement for official 

identification for cattle in interstate transit, removal of the 

requirement for tuberculosis testing is proposed. Focus will 

be placed on adequate traceability of susceptible animals 

rather than individual testing of imported animals. This will 

improve the capability to minimize losses associated with 

introduction of the disease and better facilitate open trade. 

Pseudorabies and brucellosis testing requirements for swine: 

The testing requirements are maintained for swine coming 

from herds or regions not considered free of the disease, but 

the distinction between commercial and noncommercial 

swine is removed. Therefore, as is currently the case for 

commercial swine, pseudorabies and brucellosis testing 

would not be required for noncommercial swine from regions 

considered free of the disease. The proposed revision does 

require testing for those swine that are or have come into 

contact with free roaming swine. 

Issues: The primary advantages of the proposed revisions are 

to increase compliance with the regulation by simplifying it 

and placing focus on areas that are most effective in 

mitigating animal disease introduction and resultant losses. 

Thus, both the public and the agency benefit from the 

proposed changes. This proposed regulatory action poses no 

disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services (Board) 

proposes to 1) eliminate tuberculosis testing for imported 

cattle, sheep, and goats, 2) eliminate pseudorabies and 

brucellosis testing for non-commercial swine from regions 

considered free of these diseases, 3) allow importation of 

primates pending tuberculosis test results, and 4) make a 

number of clarifying changes to the regulatory language.  

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. One of the proposed changes 

will eliminate tuberculosis testing for imported cattle, sheep, 

and goats. Due to United States Department of Agriculture's 

(USDA) requirement for official identification for cattle in 

interstate transit, the Board will place its focus on adequate 

traceability of susceptible animals rather than individual 

testing of imported animals. The Board staff estimates that 

approximately 4,837 cattle over 18 months of age, 517 sheep, 

and 716 goats have been imported to Virginia in the last year. 

The tuberculosis test is performed by the out-of-state 

exporters and is estimated to cost about $10 per animal on 

average. Thus, the animal exporters are expected to save 

approximately $60,700 per year. Some of these cost savings 

may be passed on to Virginia importers via better prices. 

Another change will eliminate pseudorabies and brucellosis 

testing for non-commercial swine from regions considered 

free of these diseases. The cost of testing for these diseases is 

also estimated to be roughly about $10 per animal. The Board 

staff estimates that about 374 noncommercial swine may be 

imported into Virginia per year. Thus, exporters are likely to 

save approximately $3,740 per year due to elimination of 

pseudorabies and brucellosis testing for non-commercial 

swine. Some of these cost savings may also be passed on to 

Virginia importers via better prices. The Board also proposes 

to allow importation of primates pending tuberculosis test 

results. Primates generally have to be sedated for 

transportation as well as for testing. Under the current 

regulations, they are sedated once to be tested for tuberculosis 

and one more time when they are being transported into 

Virginia. The proposed change will allow importation of 

primates pending the test results. With this change, an 

exporter would be able to perform the test while the animal 

sedated for transportation. Approximately 48 primates were 

imported into Virginia last year. The Board staff does not 

anticipate significant cost savings due to this change as most 

primates are cared for by in-house veterinarians at zoos, but 

expect an improvement in primates' welfare since there will 

be one less incidence of sedation. The remaining changes 

update definitions to be consistent with other regulations and 

definitions used by USDA and incorporate requirements that 

are already enforced under the Proclamation of the State 

Veterinarian. None of these changes are expected to create a 

significant economic impact other than improving the clarity 

of the regulations. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed changes will 

reduce disease testing or sedation costs for individuals or 

businesses exporting cattle, sheep, goats, non-commercial 

swine, and primates. Last year approximately 4,837 cattle 

over 18 months of age, 517 sheep, 716 goats, 374 non-

commercial swine, and 48 primates were imported into the 

Commonwealth. However, the numbers of exporters and 

importers are not available. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The regulation applies 

throughout the Commonwealth. However, importation of 

affected animals is probably more prevalent in areas close to 

the state borders. 
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Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to significantly affect employment in Virginia. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments are unlikely to significantly affect the 

use and value of private property in Virginia. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 

amendments are not expected to have a direct impact on small 

businesses in Virginia. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. No adverse economic impact is expected on 

small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to affect real estate development costs. 

Legal Mandate. General: The Department of Planning and 

Budget (DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this 

proposed regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Code of Virginia and Executive Order Number 14 (2010). 

Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the 

proposed amendments. Further the report should include but 

not be limited to: 

• the projected number of businesses or other entities to 

whom the proposed regulation would apply, 

• the identity of any localities and types of businesses or 

other entities particularly affected, 

• the projected number of persons and employment 

positions to be affected, 

• the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and 

• the impact on the use and value of private property. 

Small Businesses: If the proposed regulation will have an 

adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires 

that such economic impact analyses include: 

• an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the proposed regulation,  

• the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other 

administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the proposed regulation, including the type of 

professional skills necessary for preparing required reports 

and other documents, 

• a statement of the probable effect of the proposed 

regulation on affected small businesses, and 

• a description of any less intrusive or less costly 

alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the 

proposed regulation. 

Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1, if there is a finding 

that a proposed regulation may have an adverse impact on 

small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative 

Rules is notified at the time the proposed regulation is 

submitted to the Virginia Register of Regulations for 

publication. This analysis shall represent DPB's best estimate 

for the purposes of public review and comment on the 

proposed regulation. 

Agency Response to the Department of Planning and 

Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The agency concurs 

with the analysis of the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) update definitions; (ii) add vesicular 

stomatitis restrictions; (iii) incorporate avian influenza 

testing requirements; (iv) remove the requirement for 

tuberculosis testing for cattle, goats, and sheep and adjust 

the requirement for tuberculosis testing for primates; and 

(v) simplify the pseudorabies and brucellosis testing 

requirements for swine.  

2VAC5-141-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in these 

regulations this chapter shall have the following meanings 

unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Agricultural animals" means livestock and poultry. 

"Approved livestock market" means a livestock market 

approved by the United States Department of Agriculture in 

accordance with 9 CFR 71.20 and under inspection by the 

State Veterinarian. 

"Avian" means all domestic and wild members of the class 

Aves. 

"Cats" means all domestic and wild members of the family 

Felidae. 

"Cattle" means all domestic and wild members of the genera 

bos Bos, bison Bison, and bubalus Bubalus to include 

domestic cattle, yak, bison, and water buffalo. 

"Certificate of veterinary inspection" means an official 

health certificate endorsed by a state, federal, or international 

government document, which may be in an electronic format, 

issued by a federal, state, tribal, or accredited veterinarian 

certifying the inspection of animals. 

"Commercial swine" means swine that are continuously 

managed; are intended for the production of meat or breeding 

for such purposes; and have adequate facilities and practices 

to prevent exposure to feral swine, captive feral swine, or 

other swine that may have been exposed to feral or captive 

feral swine. 

"Companion animal" means any vertebrate animal excluding 

ornamental fish not otherwise defined herein as avian, cattle, 

goat, horse, other ruminant, sheep, swine, or primate.  

"Dairy type" means all cattle of, or primarily of, a dairy or 

dual-purpose breed of cattle including but not limited to cattle 

of the Ayrshire, Brown Swiss, Guernsey, Holstein, Jersey, 

Milking Shorthorn, or similar breeds to include castrated 

males of such breeds.  

"Dairying purposes" means the production of milk or milk 

products, or the production of breeding stock whose progeny 

are to be used for the production of milk, milk products, or 

breeding stock. 
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"Dogs" means all domestic and wild members of the family 

Canidae. 

"Exhibition purposes" means display at a scheduled event. 

Exhibition purposes shall not include rodeos and similar 

events where cattle, goats, sheep, and other ruminants are 

congregated for entertainment purposes.  

"Free roaming swine" means swine that are not contained 

within an enclosure by their owner or custodian. 

"Goat" means all domestic and wild members of the genus 

capra Capra. 

"Hatching eggs" means all poultry eggs that are intended to 

be hatched. 

"Horse" means all domestic and wild members of the family 

Equidae to include, but not be limited to, (horses, asses, 

zebras, and any hybrids of horses, asses, or zebras). 

"Noncommercial swine" means all swine not otherwise 

herein defined as commercial or slaughter swine, including 

but not limited to wild hogs, feral swine, exhibition swine, or 

swine kept as pets. 

"Livestock" means all cattle, sheep, swine, goats, horses, 

donkeys, mules, camels, llamas, and alpacas. 

"Marketing facility" means a livestock market; stockyard; 

buying station; auction, consignment, or other sale venue; or 

other premises including those operating video, web-based, 

telephone, or other types of electronic sales methods, where 

livestock from multiple owners are comingled and assembled 

for sale or exchange in Virginia. 

"Official identification" means a unique identification 

number issued by a state or federal program or other forms of 

identification approved by the State Veterinarian. 

"Other ruminants" means all members of the order 

Artiodactyla not otherwise defined herein as cattle, goats, 

sheep, or swine to include camelidae and cervidae. 

"Permit" means an official document issued for and prior to 

the interstate shipment of certain classes of livestock, poultry, 

companion animals, and other animals or birds into Virginia. 

This permit is issued at the discretion of the State 

Veterinarian. 

"Poultry" means all domestic fowl, ratites, and game birds 

raised in captivity to include, but not be limited to, chickens, 

turkeys, ducks, geese, ratites, and game birds such as quail or 

partridge. 

"Primate" means all nonhuman members of the order 

Primates. 

"Region" means any premise, premises; political subdivision 

of a state, country,; or other defined geographic area. 

"Sheep" means all domestic and wild members of the genus 

ovis Ovis. 

"Slaughter establishment" means a livestock slaughter 

facility that is under inspection by the USDA or the Virginia 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. 

"Slaughter swine" means all swine brought into Virginia 

solely for the purpose of slaughter. 

"State Veterinarian" means the State Veterinarian of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia or his designee. 

"Swine" means all domestic and wild members of the family 

Suidae. 

"USDA" means the United States Department of 

Agriculture. 

"USDA-approved market" means a livestock market 

approved by the United States Department of Agriculture 

where livestock sold only for slaughter purposes can be 

identified and segregated in accordance with applicable state 

and federal regulations, and from which no such livestock 

intended for slaughter may be released except directly to 

another approved USDA market, or to a recognized slaughter 

establishment for immediate slaughter. 

2VAC5-141-20. Certificates of veterinary inspection. 

A. No agricultural animals, companion animals, or any other 

animals or birds of any species that are affected with or that 

have been exposed to any infectious or contagious disease 

shall be imported into Virginia except by special written 

permit of the State Veterinarian. 

B. All agricultural animals, companion animals, or any other 

animals or birds of any species imported into Virginia, except 

as otherwise exempted by this chapter, shall be accompanied 

by a certificate of veterinary inspection, or alternative 

movement documentation approved by the State Veterinarian 

that shall be attached to the bill of lading or shall be in the 

possession of the person in charge of such animals or birds, 

and a copy of such certificate shall be forwarded promptly to 

the State Veterinarian. 

C. A certificate of veterinary inspection shall be a written 

record meeting the requirements of Virginia and executed on 

an approved form of the state of origin. It shall contain the 

names and street addresses or premise identification numbers 

of the consignor and consignee, and premises of origin and 

destination if different. It shall indicate the health status of the 

animals or birds, and include the dates and results of all 

required tests. 

D. After physical examination of the animal and completion 

of all required tests, the certificate of veterinary inspection 

shall be issued within 30 days before the date of entry for 

cattle, goats, horses, other ruminants, poultry, sheep, and 

swine.  

E. After physical examination of the animal and completion 

of all required tests, the certificate of veterinary inspection 

shall be issued within 10 days before the date of entry for 

avian species not considered poultry, companion animals, and 

primates. 

F. The certificate shall be issued by an accredited 

veterinarian approved by the animal health official of the state 

of origin; a veterinarian in the employ of the state of origin; 

or a veterinarian in the employ of the Veterinary Services 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 3 Virginia Register of Regulations October 5, 2015 

310 

Division, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Services, 

United States Department of Agriculture. 

G. All testing required by  this chapter shall be considered 

official if conducted by an a state, federal, tribal, or accredited 

veterinarian or collected by an a state, federal, tribal, or 

accredited veterinarian and conducted by an official animal 

health laboratory approved by a state or federal animal health 

agency as dictated by testing protocol. 

2VAC5-141-30. Animal identification. 

A. All shipments of poultry and hatching eggs entering 

Virginia must be accompanied by an approval number issued 

by the State Veterinarian. 

B. Official identification for cattle can be:  

1. Ear tag or other permanently affixed device bearing a 

unique identification number issued by an official state or 

federal program; 

2. USDA back tag only for cattle consigned directly to 

slaughter; or 

3. Other forms of  identification approved by the State 

Veterinarian. 

C. Official identification for goats and sheep can be:  

1. Official ear tags that are approved by the USDA for use 

in the Scrapie Eradication Program or the Scrapie Flock 

Certification Program; 

2. For goats exempt from identification required by the 

Scrapie Eradication Program, an ear tag or other affixed 

device bearing a unique identification number issued by an 

official state or federal program, or a USDA back tag only 

for such goats consigned directly to slaughter; 

3. Legible For goats, a legible official registry tattoo if 

accompanied by a registration certificate; and 

4. Other forms of identification approved by the State 

Veterinarian. 

D. Official identification for horses can be:  

1. A thorough written or photographic record of the horse's 

appearance directly noted on or affixed to the official 

health certificate of veterinary inspection and endorsed by 

the issuing veterinarian; 

2. Legible breed association tattoo number; 

3. Affixed or implanted device bearing a unique 

identification number issued by a state or federal program, 

or a breed or performance association that allows the State 

Veterinarian access to records; and 

4. Other forms of identification considered official by the 

USDA or the State Veterinarian. 

E. Official identification for swine can be: 

1. Ear tag, ear notch, or tattoo recorded by a purebred 

registry; 

2. Ear tag or other affixed device bearing a unique 

individual or group identification number issued by an 

official state or federal program; 

3. Official premise identification tattoo including state of 

origin; and 

4. Other forms of identification considered official by the 

USDA or the State Veterinarian.  

2VAC5-141-40. Entry by permit only and import 

restrictions. 

A. When the State Veterinarian is informed of any unusual 

or serious outbreak of disease among livestock or poultry in 

any other region that, in his opinion, constitutes a threat to 

livestock and poultry in Virginia, he shall by proclamation 

prohibit the entrance of any livestock or poultry that originate 

either directly or indirectly from that region at his discretion, 

except by permit. He may also prohibit the entrance of any 

products as defined in the meat or poultry inspection 

regulations of the USDA, or in the Virginia Meat and Poultry 

Products Inspection Act, the Virginia Milk and Cream Law, 

or in any other applicable or related Virginia statutes and 

regulations, except by permit. Specific classes of animals as 

listed in this chapter also require a permit for entry into 

Virginia. 

B. Agricultural animals, companion animals, or any other 

animals or birds of any species imported into Virginia for 

bona fide scientific research by a recognized agricultural 

institution or institution licensed by the USDA, and for which 

compliance with the requirements of this chapter would be a 

detriment to the research, may be excused from the 

requirements at the discretion of the State Veterinarian by the 

issuance of a permit. 

C. No person shall transport through or import into Virginia 

any livestock from a point of origin located within a 10-mile 

radius of any place in which the disease vesicular stomatitis 

has been found to exist during the 30-day period prior to the 

entry of said animal into Virginia. 

D. No person shall transport through or import into Virginia 

any livestock originating in a state in which the disease 

vesicular stomatitis has been found to exist during the 30-day 

period prior to the entry of said animal into Virginia unless 

the animal has been examined and found to be free from 

vesicular stomatitis and is accompanied by a certificate of 

veterinary inspection, a copy of which has been mailed to the 

State Veterinarian, bearing the following or similar statement 

from the issuing state, federal, tribal, or accredited 

veterinarian: "All animals identified on this health certificate 

have been examined and found to be free from vesicular 

stomatitis and, to the best of my knowledge and belief, during 

the past 30 days these animals have neither been exposed to 

said disease nor held at a location within 10 miles of any 

place in which said disease has been found to exist." 
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C. E. All requests for permits must be directed to the State 

Veterinarian in writing and must give all information as he 

may require. 

2VAC5-141-60. Avian entry requirements. 

A. All entry of birds into Virginia must be in compliance 

with the testing and all other requirements of the State 

Veterinarian's Avian Influenza (H5 and H7) Proclamation 

dated January 18, 2012, unless temporarily superseded by a 

valid proclamation issued pursuant to § 3.2-6010 of the Code 

of Virginia, published in the Virginia Register of Regulations, 

and posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. 

Certificates of veterinary inspection or reports issued by a 

laboratory approved by any state or federal animal health 

authority must be dated in accordance with said proclamation. 

B. A. All birds in commerce not classified as poultry must 

be accompanied by a health certificate of veterinary 

inspection issued within 10 days prior to entry into Virginia. 

Any poultry in commerce that by its nature is fit only as a pet 

must be accompanied by an official health a certificate of 

veterinary inspection issued within 10 days prior to entry into 

Virginia. 

C. Approval B. For all other poultry, excepting poultry for 

immediate slaughter and going directly to a slaughter 

establishment, approval numbers are required for shipments 

of poultry and hatching eggs. 

1. Each shipper of poultry or hatching eggs shall first 

secure an approval number from the State Veterinarian. 

This approval number must appear on each shipment of 

poultry or hatching eggs shipped into Virginia. 

2. Applications for approval numbers must be made on 

forms provided by the State Veterinarian. Each application 

shall require the following information on each premises 

from which the poultry or hatching eggs originate: 

a. The name and address of each premises owner; 

b. The species and the number of birds for each on each 

premise, or for hatcheries hatching capacity; 

c. For chickens and turkeys, and the parent flock of the 

hatching eggs of chickens and turkeys, the date of the 

most recent Pullorum-typhoid test, the total number or 

the percentage of positive reactions to said test, and the 

Pullorum-typhoid status attained; and 

d. Any additional information the State Veterinarian may 

require. 

3. Applications, when completed, must be forwarded to the 

official state agency, the state livestock health official, or 

other competent and recognized authority of the state of 

origin for verification, approval, and signature and then 

forwarded to the State Veterinarian for final approval.  

4. Poultry and hatching eggs shall not be shipped into 

Virginia until final approval has been granted and 

the  approval number is received.  

D. C. Chickens, turkeys, and hatching eggs of chickens and 

turkeys shall not be imported into Virginia unless originating 

exclusively from flocks or hatcheries participating in the 

National Poultry Improvement Plan (NPIP) or issued a permit 

and negative to a Pullorum-typhoid test within 30 days prior 

to entry. 

D. Poultry shall not be imported into Virginia unless the 

following conditions are met concerning avian influenza (H5 

and H7):  

1. Requirements governing hatching eggs and certain day-

old birds:  

a. Hatching eggs shall originate from a breeder flock that 

participates in and meets the requirements of the "U.S. 

Avian Influenza Clean" program for chickens or "U.S. 

H5/H7 Avian Influenza Clean" program for turkeys of 

the National Poultry Improvement Plan.  

b. Day-old chickens, day-old game birds, and day-old 

turkeys shall originate from a hatchery that only handles 

hatching eggs that originate breeding flocks that 

participate in and meet the requirements of the "U.S. 

Avian Influenza Clean" or "U.S. H5/H7 Avian Influenza 

Clean" programs of the National Poultry Improvement 

Plan. 

c. A statement certifying that the breeder flock shipping 

hatching eggs and all breeder flocks supplying eggs to 

the hatchery shipping day-old chickens, day-old game 

birds, or day-old turkeys participates in and meets the 

requirements of the "U.S. Avian Influenza Clean" or 

"U.S. H5/H7 Avian Influenza Clean" programs of the 

National Poultry Improvement Plan shall be provided. 

2. Requirements governing all other poultry: 

a. The poultry is tested and found negative for avian 

influenza (H5 and H7) within 14 days prior to entry into 

Virginia or comes from a flock that has first been tested 

with negative results within 14 days prior to entry in 

Virginia as follows: 

(1) Breeding chickens and turkeys: 20 birds per house 

minimum, or for flocks of 500 or fewer, 20 birds 

minimum as long as all houses and pens on the premises 

are represented. 

(2) Grow out turkeys for immediate slaughter at a 

slaughter establishment: 10 birds per house minimum for 

multi-stage farms and 10 birds per farm, with at least five 

birds per house, on single-stage farms. 

(3) Broiler chickens less than or equal to 70 days of age 

for immediate slaughter at a slaughter establishment: 11 

birds per premises with at least one per house. 

b. The results of the tests for avian influenza are recorded 

and signed by an accredited veterinarian in the state of 

origin or are recorded on a report issued by a laboratory 

approved by any state or federal animal authority. Only 

agar gel immunodiffusion (AGID), enzyme-linked 

immunosorbent assay (ELISA), polymerase chain 
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reaction (PCR), virus isolation, or other avian influenza 

test methods approved by the state veterinarian and 

conducted in a laboratory approved by a state or federal 

animal health authority will be permitted. 

E. Exemptions for hatching eggs and poultry, providing the 

hatching eggs or poultry remain subject to the State 

Veterinarian's Avian influenza (H5 and H7) Proclamation 

dated January 18, 2012, unless temporarily superseded by a 

valid proclamation issued pursuant to § 3.2-6010 of the Code 

of Virginia, published in the Virginia Register of Regulations, 

and posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. 

1. This chapter shall not apply to hatching eggs or poultry 

passing directly through the Commonwealth of Virginia in 

interstate commerce. 

2. This chapter shall not apply to poultry imported into the 

Commonwealth of Virginia for immediate slaughter and 

consigned directly to a poultry processing establishment 

that is approved and inspected by the USDA or by the 

Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services. 

F. E. Exemptions for birds other than poultry, providing the 

birds remain subject to the State Veterinarian's Avian 

Influenza (H5 and H7) Proclamation dated January 18, 2012, 

unless temporarily superseded by a valid proclamation issued 

pursuant to § 3.2-6010 of the Code of Virginia, published in 

the Virginia Register of Regulations, and posted on the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. 

1. This chapter shall not apply to birds other than poultry 

that are passing directly through Virginia to another state 

in interstate commerce. 

2. This chapter shall not apply to birds other than poultry 

when the birds are kept properly under control by their 

owner or custodian when passing through Virginia to 

another state. 

3. This chapter shall not apply to birds other than poultry 

brought into Virginia by a resident or by a resident of 

another state who intends to make his residence in Virginia 

except if brought into the Commonwealth Virginia with the 

intent of offering it for public adoption, transfer, sale, 

trade, or promotional incentive. 

4. This chapter shall not apply to birds other than poultry 

brought into Virginia for less than 10 days for the purpose 

of hunting or legal exhibition with no change of ownership. 

G. F. This chapter shall not be construed to (i) permit the 

entry into Virginia of any avian species otherwise prohibited 

or restricted by any state or federal law, regulation, or 

directive; or (ii) contravene additional entry requirements 

imposed by any state or federal law, regulation, or directive. 

2VAC5-141-70. Cattle entry requirements. 

A. All cattle entering Virginia must bear official 

identification, and the official identification number must be 

noted on the certificate of veterinary inspection or other 

movement document if approved by the State Veterinarian. If 

multiple cattle of similar breed, age, and sex are listed on the 

certificate of veterinary inspection, sequential identification 

numbers may be summarized. This requirement shall not 

apply to cattle 18 months of age or younger provided such 

cattle are not of a dairy type and are imported into Virginia 

for feeding purposes only.  

B. All cattle 18 months of age or older that originated in or 

have transited through a foreign country, or are intended to be 

used for rodeo or other entertainment purposes, require a 

negative caudal fold or comparative cervical tuberculin test 

within 60 days prior to entry into Virginia. This requirement 

shall not apply to: cattle consigned directly from a USDA 

accredited tuberculosis-free herd provided the accreditation 

number and date of the last herd test are listed on the 

certificate of veterinary inspection. Entertainment purposes 

shall not include the display of cattle at a scheduled 

agricultural fair, show, or sale. 

1. Cattle consigned directly from an accredited 

tuberculosis-free herd provided the accreditation number 

and date of the last herd test are listed on the certificate of 

veterinary inspection; 

2. Cattle that originate from a region considered free of 

tuberculosis for cattle by the USDA and consigned directly 

to a slaughter establishment or to a USDA-approved 

market and from there directly to a slaughter 

establishment; or 

3. Cattle entering Virginia for a period of 10 days or less 

for exhibition purposes provided they originate from a 

region considered free of tuberculosis for cattle by the 

USDA and no change of ownership occurs.  

C. All cattle originating from a region not considered free of 

tuberculosis for cattle by the USDA require a permit and a 

negative caudal or comparative cervical tuberculin test within 

60 days prior to entry into Virginia. This requirement shall 

not apply to: 

1. Cattle consigned directly from an accredited 

tuberculosis-free herd provided the accreditation number 

and date of the last herd test are listed on the certificate of 

veterinary inspection; and 

2. Cattle consigned directly to a slaughter establishment. 

D. All sexually intact cattle originating from a region not 

considered free of brucellosis by the USDA require a permit 

and an individual brucellosis test within 30 days prior to entry 

into Virginia. Animals allowed entry under a permit will be 

quarantined on the premises of the consignee until retested at 

the consignee's expense and found negative to brucellosis no 

less than 45 days and no more than 120 days after entry as 

indicated by the permit. This requirement shall not apply to: 

1. Cattle consigned directly from a certified brucellosis-

free herd provided the certification number and date of the 

last herd test are listed on the official health certificate of 

veterinary inspection; and  

2. Cattle consigned directly to a slaughter establishment. 
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E. Cattle may be imported for immediate slaughter into 

Virginia without a certificate of veterinary inspection 

provided they are consigned directly to a slaughter 

establishment. Official identification for all cattle under this 

subsection must be listed on the waybill. 

F. Cattle from a region considered free of tuberculosis and 

brucellosis for cattle by the USDA may enter Virginia for the 

purpose of sale at an approved a livestock market marketing 

facility without a certificate of veterinary inspection and 

without tuberculosis testing if otherwise required provided: 

1. All cattle offered for sale at the approved livestock 

market marketing facility excepting cattle 18 months of 

age or younger not of a dairy type and intended for feeding 

purposes bear official individual identification upon entry 

to the approved livestock market marketing facility or have 

such applied at the approved livestock market marketing 

facility; and 

2. The approved livestock market marketing facility 

maintains for at least five years and makes available to the 

State Veterinarian a record of the consignor of the cattle, 

the identification numbers as required of the cattle he 

consigns, and the buyer of the cattle. 

2VAC5-141-80. Companion animal entry requirements. 

A. Companion animals must be accompanied by a certificate 

of veterinary inspection issued within 10 days prior to entry 

into Virginia. 

B. No dog or cat less than eight weeks of age may be 

imported into Virginia unless accompanied by its dam. 

C. Any dog or cat greater than four months of age entering 

Virginia shall be currently vaccinated for rabies. 

D. Exemptions. 

1. This chapter shall not apply to companion animals that 

are passing directly through Virginia to another state in 

interstate commerce.  

2. This chapter shall not apply to companion animals that 

are kept properly under control by their owner or custodian 

when passing through Virginia to another state.  

3. This chapter shall not apply to companion animals 

brought into Virginia by a resident or by a resident of 

another state who intends to make his residence in Virginia 

except if brought into the Commonwealth Virginia with the 

intent of offering it for public adoption, transfer, sale, 

trade, or promotional incentive. 

4. This chapter shall not apply to companion animals 

brought into Virginia for less than 10 days for the purpose 

of hunting or legal exhibition with no change of ownership. 

E. This chapter shall not be construed to (i) permit the entry 

into Virginia of any species of animal otherwise prohibited or 

restricted by any state or federal law, regulation, or directive; 

or (ii) contravene additional entry requirements imposed by 

any state or federal law, regulation, or directive. 

2 VAC5-141-90. Goat and sheep entry requirements. 

A. All goats and sheep entering Virginia must be officially 

identified and the official identification number must be noted 

on the certificate of veterinary inspection. If multiple goats or 

sheep of similar breed, age, and sex are listed on the 

certificate of veterinary inspection, sequential identification 

numbers may be summarized. The requirement shall not 

apply to castrated male goats that are not subject to the 

Scrapie Eradication Program.  

B. Scrapie control. 

1. No sheep or goat may be imported into Virginia that 

does not originate from a scrapie consistent state unless 

originating from a flock enrolled in the complete 

monitored or export monitored category of the USDA 

Scrapie Flock Certification Program.  

2. No goat or sheep infected with scrapie, or the offspring 

of a goat or sheep infected with scrapie, may enter 

Virginia. 

C. All goats and sheep 18 months of age or older imported 

into Virginia for dairying purposes shall be negative to a 

tuberculosis test within 60 days prior to entry. This 

requirement shall not apply to: 

1. Goats and sheep 18 months of age or older imported into 

Virginia for dairying purposes consigned directly from an 

accredited tuberculosis-free herd provided the accreditation 

number and date of the last herd test are listed on the 

certificate of veterinary inspection; or  

2. Goats and sheep 18 months of age or older intended for 

dairying purposes entering Virginia for a period of 10 days 

or less for exhibition purposes provided they originate 

from a region considered free of tuberculosis for cattle by 

the USDA and no change of ownership occurs.  

D. C. All goats and sheep originating from a region not 

considered free of tuberculosis for cattle by the USDA shall 

be negative to a tuberculosis test within 60 days prior to entry 

unless consigned directly to a livestock slaughter 

establishment. This requirement shall not apply to animals 

less than six months of age accompanied by their tested dam. 

E. D. All sexually intact goats and sheep originating from a 

region not considered free of brucellosis for cattle by the 

USDA shall be negative to a brucellosis test within 30 days 

prior to entry unless consigned directly to a livestock 

slaughter establishment. This requirement shall not apply to 

animals less than six months of age accompanied by their 

tested dam. 

F. E. Goats and sheep may be imported for immediate 

slaughter into Virginia without a certificate of veterinary 

inspection provided they are consigned directly to a livestock 

slaughter establishment or to a USDA-approved market 

marketing facility and from there directly to a livestock 

slaughter establishment. 

G. F. Goats and sheep from a region considered free of 

tuberculosis and brucellosis for cattle by the USDA may enter 
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Virginia for the purpose of sale at an approved livestock 

market a marketing facility without a certificate of veterinary 

inspection and without tuberculosis testing if otherwise 

required provided: 

1. The goats and sheep bear any required individual official 

identification upon entry to the approved livestock market 

marketing facility or have such applied at the approved 

livestock market marketing facility; and 

2. The approved livestock market marketing facility 

maintains for at least five years and makes available to the 

State Veterinarian a record of the consignor of the goats 

and sheep, the identification numbers as required of the 

goats and sheep he consigns, and the buyer of the goats and 

sheep. 

2VAC5-141-100. Horse entry requirements. 

A. All horses entering Virginia must be officially identified, 

and the official identification must be noted on the official 

health certificate of veterinary inspection or official equine 

interstate event permit.  

B. Equine infectious anemia testing. 

1. All horses imported into Virginia shall have been 

officially tested and found negative for equine infectious 

anemia within the past 12 months and be accompanied by 

an official certificate stating this information. 

2. Horses that originate from infected premises in other 

states are not eligible for entry into Virginia except by 

permit at the State Veterinarian's discretion. 

3. Foals six months of age or under accompanying a tested 

negative dam are exempt from testing. 

C. Contagious equine metritis control. 

1. No sexually intact horse over two years of age that either 

originated in or has passed through premises or a country 

where contagious equine metritis is known to exist may 

enter the Commonwealth of into Virginia except by permit. 

2. Horses that are issued a permit immediately will be 

immediately placed under quarantine and assigned a 

testing protocol at the consignee's expense until the State 

Veterinarian is satisfied that they pose no danger to the 

Virginia equine population. 

D. Horses may enter Virginia with an official equine 

interstate event permit issued by another state in lieu of 

certificate of veterinary inspection provided the permit is not 

expired. 

2VAC5-141-120. Swine entry requirements. 

A. All swine entering Virginia must bear an identification 

number, and the identification number must be noted on the 

certificate of veterinary inspection. 

B. Commercial swine entry requirements. 

1. Commercial swine B. Swine originating from a herd or 

region that is considered free from brucellosis and 

pseudorabies by a federal program or a state program 

approved by the State Veterinarian may enter Virginia 

without further testing requirements provided a statement 

indicating the region is considered free from brucellosis by a 

federal or state program or verification of herd participation 

in the federal or state program is indicated on the certificate 

of veterinary inspection and the swine have not had known 

contact with free roaming swine. 

2. C. Sexually intact commercial swine over four months of 

age not originating from a herd or region considered free of 

brucellosis by a federal program or a state program approved 

by the State Veterinarian must be negative to a brucellosis 

test within 30 days prior to entry into Virginia. 

3. Commercial swine D. Swine not originating from herd or 

region that is considered free from pseudorabies by a federal 

program or a state program approved by the State 

Veterinarian shall be individually tested and negative to a 

pseudorabies test within 30 days prior to entry into Virginia. 

Sexually intact swine shall be quarantined at the premises of 

destination until retested between 30 and 60 days after 

importation at the consignee's expense.  

4. No commercial swine vaccinated for pseudorabies shall 

be imported into Virginia unless under permit for direct 

slaughter. 

C. Noncommercial swine entry requirements. 

1. Noncommercial swine originating from herds 

considered free from brucellosis and pseudorabies by a 

federal program or a state program approved by the State 

Veterinarian may enter Virginia without further testing 

requirements provided verification of herd participation in 

the federal or state program is indicated on the certificate 

of veterinary inspection and the commercial swine have 

not had contact with feral swine. 

2. Sexually intact noncommercial swine over four months 

of age not from a herd considered free from brucellosis by 

a federal program or a state program approved by the State 

Veterinarian must be negative to a brucellosis test within 

30 days prior to entry into Virginia. 

3. Noncommercial swine not from a herd considered free 

from pseudorabies by a federal program or a state program 

approved by the State Veterinarian shall be negative to a 

pseudorabies test within 30 days prior to entry into 

Virginia. Sexually intact swine shall be quarantined at the 

premises of destination until retested between 30 and 60 

days after importation at the consignee's expense. 

4. No noncommercial swine vaccinated for pseudorabies 

shall be imported into Virginia unless under permit at the 

discretion of the State Veterinarian and subject to any 

restrictions he deems necessary. 

D. E. Slaughter swine entry requirements. Swine may be 

imported for immediate slaughter into Virginia without a 

certificate of veterinary inspection provided they are 

consigned directly to a slaughter establishment. 
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1. No slaughter swine known to be infected with or 

exposed to pseudorabies and no swine vaccinated for 

pseudorabies may enter Virginia unless: 

a. It is shipped directly to a slaughter establishment that 

is approved and inspected by the USDA or by the 

Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services under permit; 

b. It is shipped in a sealed vehicle or individually 

identified on the permit; and 

c. The conveyance transporting the swine into Virginia is 

cleaned and disinfected after the swine is off-loaded but 

prior to the conveyance leaving the slaughter 

establishment.  

2. Any slaughter swine not known to be infected with or 

exposed to pseudorabies may enter Virginia without a 

certificate of veterinary inspection, but only if it is 

accompanied by a waybill, bill of lading, bill of sale, or 

other document that identifies the swine to the farm of 

origin and only if it is sent directly to: 

a. A slaughter establishment that is approved and 

inspected by the USDA or by the Virginia Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services; or 

b. A USDA-approved market and from there directly to a 

recognized slaughter establishment. 

E. Commercial swine F. Swine intended for feeding 

purposes and not intended for breeding purposes from a farm 

of origin in a state adjoining Virginia and from a region 

therein considered free of pseudorabies by a federal or state 

program approved by the State Veterinarian may enter 

Virginia without a certificate of veterinary inspection if an 

alternative movement document that has been approved by 

the State Veterinarian is submitted as required. 

G. Swine that are, or have had known contact with, free 

roaming swine must have tested negative for pseudorabies 

and brucellosis within 30 days prior to entry into Virginia. 

2VAC5-141-130. Primate entry requirements. 

A. All primates imported into Virginia require a certificate 

of veterinary inspection issued within 10 days prior to entry. 

B. All primates imported into Virginia must be 

microchipped, and such microchip number must be noted on 

the certificate of veterinary inspection. 

C. The official health certificate of veterinary inspection 

shall include a statement attesting to the fact that the 

veterinarian has carefully examined the oral mucosa of the 

primate and has found no evidence of disease lesions or 

inflammatory processes. 

D. Tuberculosis testing requirements. 

1. Primates imported into Virginia shall have a negative 

tuberculosis test performed by an a state, federal, tribal, or 

accredited veterinarian within 30 days prior to entry. The 

official health certificate must indicate the kind and 

amount of tuberculin used, the date and hour of injection, 

and the date and hour of reading If using a tuberculosis test 

other than the intradermal test, it is permissible for test 

results to be recorded on the certificate of veterinary 

inspection as pending, as long as the results are reported to 

the State Veterinarian within three business days of entry 

and the animals are isolated upon arrival until the test 

results are reported. 

2. Primates that have been associated with a colony where 

there have been other primates showing response to the 

tuberculin test shall not be eligible for entry into Virginia 

unless and until all primates in the colony shall have 

passed two consecutive tuberculosis tests not less than 30 

days apart. 

E. Exceptions. 

1. This chapter shall not apply to primates that are passing 

directly through Virginia to another state in interstate 

commerce. 

2. This chapter shall not apply to primates that are kept 

properly under control by their owner or custodian when 

passing through Virginia to another state.  

3. This chapter shall not apply to primates brought into 

Virginia by a resident or by a resident of another state who 

intends to make his residence in Virginia, except if brought 

into the Commonwealth Virginia with the intent of offering 

it for public adoption, transfer, sale, trade, or promotional 

incentive. 

4. This chapter shall not apply to primates brought into 

Virginia for less than 10 days for the purpose of legal 

exhibition with no change of ownership. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(2VAC5-141) 

Avian Influenza (H5 and H7) Proclamation, eff. January 18, 

2012, Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, 

State Veterinarian's Office, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 

23218. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-3995; Filed September 8, 2015, 12:06 p.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-180. Rules and Regulations 

Governing Pseudorabies in Virginia (repealing 2VAC5-

180-10 through 2VAC5-180-120).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 3.2-6001, 3.2-6002, and 3.2-6004 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: November 4, 2015. 

Effective Date: November 19, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Charles Broaddus, D.V.M., Program 

Manager, Veterinary Services, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-4560, FAX (804) 371-2380, TTY (800) 

828-1120, or email charles.broaddus@vdacs.virginia.gov. 
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Basis: Section 3.2-109 of the Code of Virginia establishes the 

Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services as a policy 

board with the authority to adopt regulations in accordance 

with the provisions of Title 3.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Section 3.2-6001 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the board 

and the State Veterinarian to protect livestock and poultry 

from contagious and infectious disease. Section 3.2-6002 of 

the Code of Virginia authorizes the board to adopt regulations 

to prevent the spread of and eradicate contagious and 

infectious livestock and poultry diseases.  

Purpose: This regulation was developed and used during the 

successful eradication efforts for pseudorabies in swine. The 

regulation is now outdated. The tests and programs included 

in the regulation have not been utilized in at least 15 years. As 

such, this regulation is no longer needed. If pseudorabies 

returns to Virginia, the agency has the ability to manage 

disease outbreaks and quarantine animals under statutory 

authority. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: As pseudorabies has 

not been detected in swine in Virginia since the 1980s, a need 

for this regulation no longer exists. The agency is not aware 

of any stakeholders suggesting that the regulation be retained 

or that the regulation is of any benefit to them. 

Substance: Due to the eradication of pseudorabies from 

commercial swine in Virginia, this regulation is no longer 

needed. Therefore, the agency proposes to repeal the 

regulation. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public in repealing the 

regulation is that there would no longer be an outdated 

regulation that specifies actions that are no longer taken. The 

agency and Commonwealth will no longer be in a position of 

having an outdated regulation that is not enforced. This action 

is part of good governance in that an outdated, unnecessary 

regulation will be eliminated. There are no disadvantages to 

the public or the Commonwealth associated with repealing 

the regulation. 

Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings: This 

regulatory action serves as the report of the findings of the 

regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services (Board) 

proposes to repeal this regulation. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The existing regulation provides 

the framework for the eradication of pseudorabies in Virginia 

swine. Pseudorabies is an infectious disease of swine, and it 

can also affect other domestic animals. Pseudorabies was 

common in swine in much of the 20th century but through a 

structured and effective program it has been eradicated from 

commercial swine in the United States. Through the testing of 

swine, removal of those swine found to be positive for 

pseudorabies, and vaccination of susceptible populations, as 

required in the regulation, pseudorabies was eradicated from 

Virginia, with the last known case occurring in the 1980s.    

According to the Virginia Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services (VDACS), since pseudorabies in swine 

was eradicated the tests and programs included in the 

regulation have not been utilized in at least 15 years. If 

pseudorabies returns to the Commonwealth, VDACS has the 

ability to manage disease outbreaks and quarantine animals 

under statutory authority. Thus, repealing this regulation will 

have no impact beyond the benefit of decreasing the chance 

that readers of the regulation would be misled concerning 

current requirements. Therefore the proposed repeal of the 

regulation will produce a small net benefit.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. Repealing this regulation 

will have no impact beyond decreasing the likelihood that 

readers of the regulation would be misled concerning current 

requirements. When the regulation was utilized, it affected 

persons, farms and firms who owned, shipped, sold, lent, 

leased or traded swine in Virginia. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed repeal of this 

regulation does not disproportionately affect particular 

localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed repeal of this 

regulation does not affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed repeal of this regulation does not significantly affect 

private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 

repeal of this regulation does not affect costs for small 

businesses.  

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments will not 

adversely affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to affect real estate development costs. 

Legal Mandate. General:  The Department of Planning and 

Budget (DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this 

proposed regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Code of Virginia and Executive Order Number 17 (2014). 

Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the 

proposed amendments. Further the report should include but 

not be limited to: 

• the projected number of businesses or other entities to 

whom the proposed regulatory action would apply, 

• the identity of any localities and types of businesses or 

other entities particularly affected, 

• the projected number of persons and employment 

positions to be affected,  
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• the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and  

• the impact on the use and value of private property.  

Small Businesses: If the proposed regulatory action will have 

an adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires 

that such economic impact analyses include: 

• an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the proposed regulation, 

• the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other 

administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the proposed regulation, including the type 

of professional skills necessary for preparing required 

reports and other documents, 

• a statement of the probable effect of the proposed 

regulation on affected small businesses, and  

• a description of any less intrusive or less costly 

alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the 

proposed regulation.  

Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1, if there is a finding 

that a proposed regulation may have an adverse impact on 

small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative 

Rules is notified at the time the proposed regulation is 

submitted to the Virginia Register of Regulations for 

publication.  This analysis shall represent DPB's best estimate 

for the purposes of public review and comment on the 

proposed regulation.  

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Agriculture and Consumer Services concurs with the 

analysis. 

Summary: 

This regulatory action repeals the regulation, which is 

outdated and no longer necessary due to the successful 

eradication of pseudorabies in commercial swine in 

Virginia.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4285; Filed September 8, 2015, 12:12 p.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-531. Regulations Governing 

Milk for Manufacturing Purposes (amending 2VAC5-531-

10, 2VAC5-531-50, 2VAC5-531-70, 2VAC5-531-90, 

2VAC5-531-110, 2VAC5-531-140).  

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-5206 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 4, 2015. 

Effective Date: November 19, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Robert Trimmer, Program Supervisor, 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 

1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-1452, FAX 

(804) 371-7792, TTY (800) 828-1120, or email 

robert.trimmer@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 3.2-109 of the Code of Virginia establishes the 

Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services as a policy 

board and authorizes the board to adopt regulations in 

accordance with the provisions of Title 3.2 of the Code. 

Section 3.2-5206 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the board 

to establish definitions and standards of quality and identity 

and to adopt and enforce regulations dealing with the issuance 

of permits, production, importation, processing, grading, 

labeling, and sanitary standards for milk, milk products, 

market milk, market milk products, and those products 

manufactured or sold in semblance to or as substitutes for 

milk, milk products, market milk, or market milk products. 

This section also authorizes the board to adopt (i) any 

regulation or part thereof under federal law that pertains to 

milk or milk products, amending the federal regulation as 

necessary for intrastate application and (ii) any model 

ordinance or regulation issued under federal law including the 

Pasteurized Milk Ordinance and the U.S. Department of 

Agriculture's (USDA) Milk for Manufacturing Purposes and 

its Production and Processing Recommended Requirements.  

Purpose: The proposed amendments will align the regulation 

with current federal standards as established by the 2013 

revision of the Pasteurized Milk Ordinance and the 2011 

revision of the USDA's recommended requirements for milk 

for manufacturing purposes and processing plant 

requirements and with the Virginia Regulations Governing 

Grade "A" Milk (2VAC5-490). The goal of these 

amendments is to make necessary updates to the Virginia 

Administrative Code to allow the agency to continue 

protecting the public's health, safety, and welfare with the 

least possible cost and intrusiveness to the citizens and 

businesses of the Commonwealth by ensuring the safety and 

wholesomeness of all milk and milk products sold or offered 

for sale for human consumption.  

Milk is an excellent growth medium for most organisms 

including many pathogens. The fact that spoilage organisms 

and pathogens can grow in milk if they are present or 

introduced later by poor handling practices makes milk and 

milk products potentially hazardous if they are not properly 

processed, handled, packaged, and stored. The requirement 

for pasteurization or aging at specific temperatures in the case 

of certain cheeses as effective means of destroying pathogens 

in manufactured dairy products will reduce the risk of death 

and illness from consuming contaminated manufactured dairy 

products. The regulation also requires the plant to employ 

certain practices that prevent contamination after 

pasteurization or aging. The regulation is essential to ensure 

the safety of these products. The regulation also facilitates 

sales of Virginia-manufactured products by providing for the 

labeling of dairy products to prevent deception, establishing 

standards of identity, and providing a level playing field on 

which all persons may compete. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process. The proposed 

amendments are noncontroversial changes and will align the 
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regulation with current federal standards and the testing 

requirements of the current Virginia Regulations Governing 

Grade "A" Milk. None of the revisions add any new 

requirements. The removal of the requirement for cryoscope 

testing will not affect the safety of the milk supply or the 

finished products.  

Substance: The substantive changes are: 

1. The elimination of the requirement for cryoscope testing. 

Cryoscope testing is used to determine whether water was 

added to milk and addresses a milk quality issue not a milk 

safety issue. The elimination of the requirement for this test 

brings this regulation in line with the recently revised 

Regulations Governing Grade "A" Milk, 2VAC5-490, which 

no longer requires this test. 

2. The removal of specific details on well placement and 

requirements. References to Appendix D of the Grade "A" 

Pasteurized Milk Ordinance, 2013 revision have been 

incorporated to provide requirements regarding well 

placement and related issues. This change will harmonize this 

regulation with the recently revised Regulations Governing 

Grade "A" Milk, 2VAC5-490. 

Issues: The primary advantage of the regulation is to aid in 

safely manufacturing dairy products through proven controls, 

testing methods, and sampling protocols. This ensures that the 

public is afforded the opportunity to consume a safe product. 

The primary advantage to the agency and Commonwealth is 

that the regulation ensures that the Commonwealth can 

adequately protect the public. The requirements will also 

ensure the continued intrastate and interstate sales of 

manufactured products, which will ultimately benefit 

Virginia's economy. Elimination of the cryoscope test will 

also allow the agency to focus on sampling and testing in 

areas that are food safety related. 

This regulatory action poses no disadvantages to the public or 

the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services (Board) 

proposes to amend the regulation to: 1) remove the 

requirement for cryoscope (added water) tests conducted on 

permit holder's milk for manufacturing purposes, 2) remove 

details on well placement and requirements and reference 

instead Appendix D of the Grade "A" Pasteurized Milk 

Ordinance, 2013 revision, for details on well placement and 

requirements, 3) update names, dates, and addresses, and 4) 

remove obsolete language. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The Regulations Governing 

Milk for Manufacturing Purposes establishes minimum 

sanitary standards for manufactured grade raw dairy farms 

and dairy manufacturing plants. The standards address the 

safe and sanitary construction and operation of manufacturing 

facilities at the farm and processing plant, construction 

requirements, pasteurization requirements, standards for 

cheese and related dairy products, manufacture of raw milk 

aged cheese, handling of adulterated products, permits, 

labeling, sample testing requirements, good manufacturing 

practices, and requirements for small scale cheese 

manufacturing plants. The current regulation is based on the 

United States Food and Drug Administration's (FDA) 

Pasteurized Milk Ordinance, and the United States 

Department of Agriculture's (USDA) guidance document, 

"Milk for Manufacturing Purposes and its Production and 

Processing," which establishes recommended requirements 

for states. 

Cryoscope testing is used to determine whether water was 

added to milk and addresses a milk quality issue not a milk 

safety issue. Thus the proposal to remove the requirement for 

cryoscope tests will not affect the safety of the milk supply or 

of the milk used for manufacturing purposes. Removal of the 

requirement will decrease the cost to the Virginia Department 

of Agriculture and Consumer Services (VDACS) by 

approximately $3,000 a year in laboratory costs and $100,000 

over the next three years in replacement of aging equipment. 

Firms are not charged for the testing; so there are no direct 

savings for the firms besides perhaps a small amount of time 

associated with gathering samples. Since this proposed 

amendment does not affect public safety and creates costs 

savings, it creates a net benefit. 

The proposal to remove details on well placement and 

requirements and reference instead Appendix D of the Grade 

"A" Pasteurized Milk Ordinance, 2013 revision, for details on 

well placement and requirements, will produce no changes in 

actual requirements. Thus this proposal will not have 

significant impact. Updating names, dates, and addresses and 

removing obsolete language will improve clarity without 

effectively changing requirements. Thus in total these 

proposed changes will produce a modest net benefit. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed regulation 

affects VDACS and the 40 firms in the Commonwealth that 

manufacture, package, and sell cheese, butter, and other 

manufactured grade dairy products at wholesale and retail. 

All 40 firms are small businesses.  

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

do not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments are unlikely to significantly affect 

private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 

amendments will not increase costs for small businesses.  



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 3 Virginia Register of Regulations October 5, 2015 

319 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments will not 

adversely affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to affect real estate development costs. 

Legal Mandate. 

General: The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has 

analyzed the economic impact of this proposed regulation in 

accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and 

Executive Order Number 17 (2014). Section 2.2-4007.04 

requires that such economic impact analyses determine the 

public benefits and costs of the proposed amendments. 

Further the report should include but not be limited to:  

• the projected number of businesses or other entities to 

whom the proposed regulatory action would apply, 

• the identity of any localities and types of businesses or 

other entities particularly affected, 

• the projected number of persons and employment 

positions to be affected,  

• the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and  

• the impact on the use and value of private property.  

Small Businesses: If the proposed regulatory action will have 

an adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires 

that such economic impact analyses include: 

• an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the proposed regulation, 

• the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other 

administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the proposed regulation, including the type 

of professional skills necessary for preparing required 

reports and other documents, 

• a statement of the probable effect of the proposed 

regulation on affected small businesses, and  

• a description of any less intrusive or less costly 

alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the 

proposed regulation.  

Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1, if there is a finding 

that a proposed regulation may have an adverse impact on 

small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative 

Rules is notified at the time the proposed regulation is 

submitted to the Virginia Register of Regulations for 

publication. This analysis shall represent DPB's best estimate 

for the purposes of public review and comment on the 

proposed regulation. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments align the chapter with current federal 

standards, the U.S. Food and Drug Administration's 2013 

revision of the Pasteurized Milk Ordinance, the 2011 

revision of the U.S. Department of Agriculture's "Milk for 

Manufacturing Purposes and its Production and 

Processing," and Virginia's Regulations Governing Grade 

"A" Milk (2VAC5-490). The changes include (i) updating 

dates and other information for reference documents; (ii) 

removing the requirement for cryoscope tests conducted on 

permit holder's milk for manufacturing purposes; (iii) 

removing details on well placement and requirements and 

adding a reference to Appendix D of the Grade "A" 

Pasteurized Milk Ordinance, 2013 revision, in its place; 

and (iv) removing expired exemptions. 

2VAC5-531-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Adulterated milk" means any milk that meets one or more 

of the conditions specified in § 402 of the Federal Food, Drug 

and Cosmetic Act, as amended (21 USC § 342).  

"Adulterated dairy product" means any dairy product which 

meets one or more of the conditions specified in § 402 of the 

Federal Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act, as amended (21 USC 

§ 342).  

"Asiago fresh cheese" means "asiago fresh cheese" as 

defined in 21 CFR 133.102.  

"Asiago medium cheese" means "asiago medium cheese" as 

defined in 21 CFR 133.103.  

"Asiago old cheese" means "asiago old cheese" as defined in 

21 CFR 133.104  

"Asiago soft cheese" means "asiago soft cheese" as defined 

in 21 CFR 133.102.  

"Beta Lactam and Other Test Methods for Use Under 

Appendix N and Section 6 of the Grade "A" Pasteurized Milk 

Ordinance" means the Beta Lactam and Other Test Methods 

for Use Under Appendix N and Section 6 of the Grade "A" 

Pasteurized Milk Ordinance (PMO), M-a-85 (Revision #14), 

March 22, 2012, published by the Department of Health and 

Human Services, Public Health Service, Food and Drug 

Administration, Dairy and Egg Branch (HFS-316). 

"Blue cheese" means "blue cheese" as defined in 21 CFR 

133.106.  

"Brick cheese" means "brick cheese" as defined in 21 CFR 

133.108.  

"Brick cheese for manufacturing" means "brick cheese for 

manufacturing" as defined in 21 CFR 133.109.  

"Caciocavallo siciliano cheese" means "caciocavallo 

siciliano cheese" as defined in 21 CFR 133.111.  

"Cancel" means to permanently nullify, void, or delete a 

permit issued by the Virginia Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services.  

"CFR" means the Code of Federal Regulations.  
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"Cheddar cheese" means "cheddar cheese" as defined in 

21 CFR 133.113.  

"Cheddar cheese for manufacturing" means "cheddar cheese 

for manufacturing" as defined in 21 CFR 133.114.  

"Cheese" means the consolidated curd of milk, used as food.  

"C-I-P" or "Cleaned-In-Place" means the procedure by 

which sanitary pipelines or pieces of dairy equipment are 

mechanically cleaned in place by circulation of wash, rinse, 

and sanitizer solutions.  

"Club cheese" means "club cheese" as defined in 21 CFR 

133.123.  

"Colby cheese" means "colby cheese" as defined in 21 CFR 

133.118.  

"Colby cheese for manufacturing" means "colby cheese for 

manufacturing" as defined in 21 CFR 133.119.  

"Cold-pack cheese" means "cold-pack cheese" as defined in 

21 CFR 133.123.  

"Cold-pack cheese food" means "cold-pack cheese food" as 

defined in 21 CFR 133.124.  

"Cold-pack cheese food with fruits, vegetables, or meats" 

means "cold-pack cheese food with fruits, vegetables, or 

meats" as defined in 21 CFR 133.125.  

"Cook cheese" means "cook cheese" as defined in 21 CFR 

133.127.  

"Cream cheese" means "cream cheese" as defined in 21 CFR 

133.133.  

"Cream cheese with other foods" means "cream cheese with 

other foods" as defined in 21 CFR 133.134.  

"Dairy farm" means any premises where any cow, goat, 

sheep, water buffalo, or other mammal (except humans) are 

maintained and milked for the purpose of providing milk for 

manufacturing into dairy products as defined herein and 

intended for human consumption.  

"Dairy plant" means any place, premises, or establishment 

where any milk or any dairy product is received or handled 

for processing or manufacturing or prepared for distribution.  

"Dairy product" means butter, natural or processed cheese, 

dry whole milk, nonfat dry milk, dry buttermilk, dry whey, 

evaporated whole or skim milk, condensed whole milk and 

condensed plain or sweetened skim milk.  

"Deny" means the Virginia Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services will not issue a permit to the applicant.  

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Agriculture 

and Consumer Services.  

"Drug" means (i) any article recognized in the official 

United States Pharmacopoeia, official Homeopathic 

Pharmacopoeia of the United States, or official National 

Formulary, or any supplement to any of them; (ii) any article 

intended for use in the diagnosis, cure, mitigation, treatment, 

or prevention of disease in man or other animals; (iii) any 

article other than food intended to affect the structure or any 

function of the body of man or other animals; and (iv) any 

article intended for use as a component of any article 

specified in clause (i), (ii), or (iii) of this definition, but does 

not include devices or their components, parts, or accessories.  

"Drug Residue Test Methods for Confirmation of 

Presumptive Positive Results and Initial Producer Trace 

Back" means the Drug Residue Test Methods for 

Confirmation of Presumptive Positive Results and Initial 

Producer Trace Back, M-l-96-10 (Revision #8), March 22, 

2012, published by the U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Services, Public Health Service, Food and Drug 

Administration, Dairy and Egg Branch (HFS 316). 

"Edam cheese" means "edam cheese" as defined in 21 CFR 

133.138.  

"Evaluation of milk laboratories" means the Evaluation of 

Milk Laboratories, 1995 2011 Revision, published by the 

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public 

Health Service, Food and Drug Administration and contains 

the requirements milk and dairy testing laboratories must 

comply with in order to be included in the Interstate Milk 

Shippers List—Sanitation Compliance and Enforcement 

Ratings of Interstate Milk Shippers. This publication is 

available from the Food and Drug Administration, Laboratory 

Quality Assurance Branch.  

"Farm" means any premises where any cow, goat, sheep, 

water buffalo, or other mammal (except humans) are 

maintained and milked for the purpose of providing milk for 

manufacturing into dairy products as defined herein and 

intended for human consumption.  

"Fresh" means the cheese or related dairy product (except 

Asiago Fresh Cheese), except asiago fresh cheese, that was: 

(i) made from pasteurized milk; (ii) not required to be aged by 

the standard of identity for the specific cheese product; (iii) 

not held longer than five days prior to being offered for sale; 

and (iv) never frozen or stored at temperatures below 35°F.  

"Gammelost cheese" means "gammelost cheese" as defined 

in 21 CFR 133.140.  

"Good manufacturing practices" means "good 

manufacturing practices" as defined in 21 CFR 110.  

"Gorgonzola cheese" means "gorgonzola cheese" as defined 

in 21 CFR 133.141.  

"Gouda cheese" means "gouda cheese" as defined in 21 CFR 

133.142.  

"Granular and stirred curd cheese" means "granular and 

stirred curd cheese" as defined in 21 CFR 133.144.  

"Granular cheese for manufacturing" means "granular 

cheese for manufacturing" as defined in 21 CFR 133.145.  

"Grated American cheese food" means "grated American 

cheese food" as defined in 21 CFR 133.147.  

"Grated cheeses" means "grated cheeses" as defined in 

21 CFR 133.146.  
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"Gruyere cheese" means "gruyere cheese" as defined in 

21 CFR 133.149.  

"Hard cheeses" means "hard cheeses" as defined in 21 CFR 

133.150.  

"Hard grating cheeses" means "hard grating cheeses" as 

defined in 21 CFR 133.148.  

"High-moisture jack cheese" means "high-moisture jack 

cheese" as defined in 21 CFR 133.154.  

"Inspector" means an employee of the Virginia Department 

of Agriculture and Consumer Services qualified, trained, and 

authorized to perform dairy farm or plant inspections.  

"Koch kaese" means "koch kaese" as defined in 21 CFR 

133.127.  

"Limburger cheese" means "limburger cheese" as defined in 

21 CFR 133.152.  

"Low-moisture part-skim mozzarella and scamorza cheese" 

means "low-moisture part-skim mozzarella and scamorza 

cheese" as defined in 21 CFR 133.158.  

"Low-moisture mozzarella and scamorza cheese" means 

"low-moisture mozzarella and scamorza cheese" as defined in 

21 CFR 133.156.  

"Low sodium cheddar cheese" means "low sodium cheddar 

cheese" as defined in 21 CFR 133.116.  

"Low sodium colby cheese" means "low sodium colby 

cheese" as defined in 21 CFR 133.121.  

"Milk" means the normal lacteal secretion, practically free 

from colostrum, obtained by the complete milking of one or 

more healthy cows, goats, sheep, water buffalo, or other 

mammal (except humans) intended for human consumption.  

"Milk for manufacturing purposes" means any milk 

produced for processing and manufacturing into a dairy 

product as defined herein and intended for human 

consumption.  

"Milkhouse" means the building or room on a dairy farm in 

which there is conducted (i) the cooling, handling, and storing 

of milk; and (ii) the washing, sanitizing, and storing of milk 

containers and utensils.  

"Milk product" means (i) acidified lowfat milk, acidified 

milk, acidified milk product, acidified skim milk, acidified 

sour cream, acidified sour half-and-half, aseptically processed 

milk, aseptically processed milk product, buttermilk, coffee 

cream, concentrated milk, concentrated milk product, cottage 

cheese, cottage cheese dry curd, cream, cultured half-and-

half, cultured milk, cultured lowfat milk, cultured skim milk, 

cultured sour cream, dry curd cottage cheese, eggnog, 

eggnog-flavored milk, flavored milk, flavored milk product, 

fortified milk, fortified milk product, frozen milk concentrate, 

goat milk, half-and-half, heavy cream, lactose-reduced lowfat 

milk, lactose-reduced milk, lactose-reduced skim milk, light 

cream, light whipping cream, lowfat cottage cheese, lowfat 

milk, lowfat yogurt, low-sodium lowfat milk, low-sodium 

milk, low-sodium skim milk, milk, nonfat milk, nonfat 

yogurt, recombined milk, recombined milk product, 

reconstituted milk, reconstituted milk product, sheep milk, 

skim milk, sour cream, sour half-and-half, table cream, 

vitamin D milk, vitamin D milk product, whipped cream, 

whipped light cream, whipping cream, or yogurt; (ii) any of 

the following foods: milk, lowfat milk, or skim milk with 

added safe and suitable microbial organisms; or (iii) any food 

made with a food specified in clause (i) of this definition by 

the addition or subtraction of milkfat or addition of safe and 

suitable optional ingredients for protein, vitamin, or mineral 

fortification. Nothing in this definition shall be deemed to 

include any evaporated milk, evaporated skim milk, 

condensed milk (sweetened or unsweetened), infant formula, 

ice cream or other dessert, dietary product, dry milk product 

(except as defined herein), canned eggnog in a rigid metal 

container, or butter or cheese, except when butter or cheese is 

combined with other substances to produce any pasteurized or 

aseptically processed food as specified in this definition.  

"Misbranded dairy product" means any dairy product that: 

(i) satisfies any of the conditions specified in § 403 of the 

Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act, as amended (21 USC 

§ 343); (ii) does not conform to its definition; or (iii) is not 

labeled in accordance with 2VAC5-531-60.  

"Misbranded milk" means any milk that: (i) satisfies any of 

the conditions specified in § 403 of the Federal Food, Drug, 

and Cosmetic Act, as amended (21 USC § 343); (ii) does not 

conform to its definition; or (iii) is not labeled in accordance 

with 2VAC5-531-60.  

"Monterey cheese and monterey jack cheese" means 

"monterey cheese and monterey jack cheese" as defined in 

21 CFR 133.153.  

"Mozzarella cheese and scamorza cheese" means 

"mozzarella cheese and scamorza cheese" as defined in 

21 CFR 133.155.  

"Muenster and munster cheese" means "muenster and 

munster cheese" as defined in 21 CFR 133.160.  

"Muenster and munster cheese for manufacturing" means 

"muenster and munster cheese for manufacturing" as defined 

in 21 CFR 133.161.  

"Neufchatel cheese" means "neufchatel cheese" as defined 

in 21 CFR 133.162.  

"Nuworld cheese" means "nuworld cheese" as defined in 

21 CFR 133.164.  

"Nonstandardized cheese" means any cheese or related 

product which does not conform to a standard of identity for a 

specific cheese or related product established under 21 CFR 

133. Nonstandardized cheese and related products are dairy 

foods manufactured in conformance with this chapter from 

the milk of cows, goats, sheep, water buffalo, or other 

mammals (except humans) by the addition of clotting agents 

(Rennet (rennet, clotting enzymes of mammal, plant, or 

microbial origin, vinegar, acid, or any other agent that causes 
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the clotting of milk and the formation of curd) and other safe 

and suitable ingredients.  

"Officially designated laboratory" means a (i) commercial 

laboratory authorized by the Virginia Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services to examine milk and 

dairy products; or (ii) milk-industry laboratory authorized by 

the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services to examine samples of milk for manufacturing 

purposes; and the laboratory is listed in the Interstate Milk 

Shippers List—Sanitation Compliance and Enforcement 

Ratings of Interstate Milk Shippers as an approved milk 

laboratory certified to test load and producer samples.  

"Official methods" means Official Methods of Analysis of 

AOAC International, 17th 19th Edition, Revision 1 (2002) 

(2012), a publication of the Association of Official Analytical 

Chemists International.  

"Other mammals" means any mammal except humans, 

cows, goats, sheep, or water buffalo.  

"Parmesan and reggiano cheese" means "parmesan and 

reggiano cheese" as defined in 21 CFR 133.165.  

"Part-skim mozzarella and scamorza cheese" means "part-

skim mozzarella and scamorza cheese" as defined in 21 CFR 

133.157.  

"Part-skim spiced cheeses" means "part-skim spiced 

cheeses" as defined in 21 CFR 133.191.  

"Pasteurization" or "pasteurized" means the process of 

heating every particle of milk, milk product, dairy product, or 

whey in equipment designed and operated in conformance 

with this chapter, to one of the temperatures given in the 

following table and held continuously at or above that 

temperature for at least the corresponding specified time for 

the equipment indicated:  

Temperature Time Equipment 

145°F* 30 minutes Vat Pasteurization 

161°F* 15 seconds High Temperature 

Short Time 

191°F 1.0 second High Temperature 

Short Time 

194°F 0.5 second High Temperature 

Short Time 

201°F 0.1 second High Temperature 

Short Time 

204°F 0.05 second High Temperature 

Short Time 

212°F 0.01 second High Temperature 

Short Time 

*If: (i) the fat content of the milk, milk product, or dairy 

product is 10% or more; (ii) the milk, milk product, or dairy 

product contains added sweeteners; (iii) the product is 

condensed milk; or (iv) the dairy product is a condensed milk 

product, then "pasteurization" means increasing the specified 

temperature by 5.0°F.  

*If the dairy product is cream for butter-making, then 

"pasteurization" means heating to at least 165°F and holding 

continuously in a vat pasteurizer for not less than 30 minutes 

or pasteurizing by the High Temperature Short Time method 

at a minimum temperature of not less than 185°F for not less 

than 15 seconds.  

*If the milk product is eggnog, then "pasteurization" means 

heating to at least the following temperatures for the 

corresponding time specifications:  

Temperature Time Equipment 

155°F 30 minutes Vat Pasteurization 

175°F 25 seconds High Temperature 

Short Time 

180°F 15 seconds High Temperature 

Short Time 

"Pasteurized blended cheese" means "pasteurized blended 

cheese" as defined in 21 CFR 133.167.  

"Pasteurized blended cheese with fruits, vegetables, or 

meats" means "pasteurized blended cheese with fruits, 

vegetables, or meats" as defined in 21 CFR 133.168.  

"Pasteurized cheese spread" means pasteurized cheese 

spread" as defined in 21 CFR 133.175.  

"Pasteurized cheese spread with fruits, vegetables, or meats" 

means "pasteurized cheese spread with fruits, vegetables, or 

meats" as defined in 21 CFR 133.176.  

"Pasteurized neufchatel cheese spread with other foods" 

means "pasteurized neufchatel cheese spread with other 

foods" as defined in 21 CFR 133.178.  

"Pasteurized process cheese" means "pasteurized process 

cheese" as defined in 21 CFR 133.169.  

"Pasteurized process cheese food" means "pasteurized 

process cheese food" as defined in 21 CFR 133.173.  

"Pasteurized process cheese food with fruits, vegetables, or 

meats" means "pasteurized process cheese food with fruits, 

vegetables, or meats" as defined in 21 CFR 133.174.  

"Pasteurized process cheese spread" means "pasteurized 

process cheese spread" as defined in 21 CFR 133.179.  

"Pasteurized process cheese spread with fruits, vegetables, 

or meats" means "pasteurized process cheese spread with 

fruits, vegetables, or meats" as defined in 21 CFR 133.180.  

"Pasteurized process cheese with fruits, vegetables, or 

meats" means "pasteurized process cheese with fruits, 

vegetables, or meats" as defined in 21 CFR 133.170.  

"Pasteurized process pimento cheese" means "pasteurized 

process pimento cheese" as defined in 21 CFR 133.171.  
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"Permit" means the written document issued by the Virginia 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services to the 

person who operates a (i) dairy farm producing milk for 

manufacturing purposes or (ii) dairy plant; after the Virginia 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services has 

inspected and approved the person's operation and determined 

the person's compliance with the provisions of this chapter.  

"Person" means any individual, plant operator, partnership, 

corporation, company, firm, trustee, or institution.  

"Pit" means any excavated or naturally occurring space 

below the surface of the ground.  

"Plant" means any place, premises, or establishment where 

any milk or any dairy product is received or handled for 

processing or manufacturing or prepared for distribution.  

"Process" means to produce, manufacture, handle, package, 

reprocess, repackage, or rework, and offer for sale or sell any 

manufactured dairy product in the Commonwealth of 

Virginia.  

"Producer" means any person who exercises control over the 

production of the milk delivered to a processing plant or 

receiving station, and who receives payment for this product.  

"Producer/processor" means any person who manufactures 

dairy products on the dairy farm entirely from his own milk 

production, or from his own milk combined with milk from 

one or more other producers.  

"Provolone cheese" means "provolone cheese" as defined in 

21 CFR 133.181.  

"Public" means any person who has the potential to be a 

consumer of a dairy product.  

"Raw" means unpasteurized.  

"Regulatory agency" means the Virginia Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services.  

"Reprocess" means to obtain finished dairy products suitable 

for sale from unused finished dairy products previously 

manufactured, packaged, and made available for sale.  

"Revoke" means to permanently annul, repeal, rescind, 

countermand, or abrogate the opportunity for any person or 

persons to hold a permit issued by the Virginia Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services to produce milk for 

manufacturing purposes or to operate a dairy plant.  

"Rework" means to obtain finished dairy products suitable 

for sale from used, imperfect, or discarded dairy products or 

ingredients.  

"Romano cheese" means "romano cheese" as defined in 

21 CFR 133.183.  

"Roquefort cheese, sheep's milk blue-mold, and blue-mold 

cheese from sheep's milk" means "roquefort cheese, sheep's 

milk blue-mold, and blue-mold cheese from sheep's milk" as 

defined in 21 CFR 133.184.  

"Safe and suitable" means "safe and suitable" as defined in 

21 CFR 130.3(d).  

"Samsoe cheese" means "samsoe cheese" as defined in 

21 CFR 133.185.  

"Sanitizing treatment" means subjection of a clean surface to 

steam, hot water, hot air, or a sanitizing solution in 

compliance with 21 CFR 178.1010 for the destruction of most 

human pathogens and other vegetative microorganisms to a 

level considered safe for product production.  

"Sap sago cheese" means "sap sago cheese" as defined in 

21 CFR 133.186.  

"Semisoft cheeses" means "semisoft cheeses" as defined in 

21 CFR 133.187.  

"Semisoft part-skim cheeses" means "semisoft part-skim 

cheeses" as defined in 21 CFR 133.188.  

"Septage" means material accumulated in a pretreatment 

system or privy.  

"Sewage" means water-carried and nonwater carried human 

excrement; kitchen, laundry, shower, bath, or lavatory wastes 

separately or together with such underground, surface, storm 

and other water and liquid industrial wastes as may be present 

from residences, buildings, vehicles, industrial establishments 

or other places.  

"Skim milk cheese for manufacturing" means "skim milk 

cheese for manufacturing" as defined in 21 CFR 133.189.  

"Small-scale cheese plant" means any cheese plant that (i) 

pasteurizes milk for cheese production in one or more vat 

pasteurizers with a combined total processing capacity of not 

more than fifty 50 gallons of milk at one time; (ii) processes 

cheese from unpasteurized milk in lots not to exceed 200 

gallons if the milk is from cows, buffalo, or water buffalo; or 

(iii) processes cheese from unpasteurized milk in lots not to 

exceed 50 gallons if the milk is from goats, sheep, or other 

mammals (except cows, buffalo, water buffalo, and humans).  

"Soaked curd cheese" means "soaked curd cheese" as 

defined in 21 CFR 133.136.  

"Soft ripened cheeses" means "soft ripened cheeses" as 

defined in 21 CFR 133.182.  

"Spiced cheeses" means "spiced cheeses" as defined in 

21 CFR 133.190.  

"Spiced, flavored standardized cheeses" means "spiced, 

flavored standardized cheeses" as defined in 21 CFR 133.193.  

"Standard methods" means Standard Methods for the 

Examination of Dairy Products, 17th Edition (2004), a 

publication of the American Public Health Association.  

"Standardized cheeses and related products" means cheeses 

and related cheese products that have a specific standard of 

identity established under 21 CFR Part 133.  

"Suspend" means to temporarily nullify, void, debar, or 

cease for a period of time a permit issued by the Virginia 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services.  

"Swiss and emmentaler cheese" means "swiss and 

emmentaler cheese" as defined in 21 CFR 133.195.  
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"Swiss cheese for manufacturing" means "swiss cheese for 

manufacturing" as defined in 21 CFR 133.196.  

"Uniform Methods and Rules; Bovine Tuberculosis 

Eradication-effective January 22, 1999 Effective January 1, 

2005" means the minimum standards adopted for the 

maintenance of tuberculosis-free accredited herds of cattle, 

captive cervids, bison, and goats, and the maintenance of state 

status in the U.S. Department of Agriculture's tuberculosis 

eradication program and is available from Veterinary 

Services, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service, U.S. 

Department of Agriculture, Federal Center Building, 

Hyattville, Maryland U.S. Department of Agriculture, Animal 

and Plant Health Inspection Service, Veterinary Services, 

Federal Center Building, Hyattsville, Maryland 20782 or 

Assistant District Director, USDA/APHIS-VS, Virginia Area 

Office, 7th Floor, Federal Building, 400 North 8th Street, 

Richmond, Virginia 23240.  

"Uniform Methods and Rules; Brucellosis Eradication-

effective February 1, 1998 Effective October 1, 2003" means 

the minimum standards for certifying herds, classifying states 

and areas, and detecting, controlling, and eradicating 

brucellosis, as well as, minimum brucellosis requirements for 

the intrastate and interstate movement of cattle and bison 

adopted by the U.S. Department of Agriculture and is 

available from Veterinary Services, Animal and Plant Health 

Inspection Service, U.S. Department of Agriculture, Federal 

Center Building, Hyattville, Maryland U.S. Department of 

Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service, 

Veterinary Services, Federal Center Building, Hyattsville, 

Maryland 20782 or Assistant District Director, 

USDA/APHIS-VS, Virginia Area Office, 7th Floor, Federal 

Building, 400 North 8th Street, Richmond, Virginia 23240.  

"Washed curd cheese" means "washed curd cheese" as 

defined in 21 CFR 133.136.  

"Washed curd cheese for manufacturing" means "washed 

curd cheese for manufacturing" as defined in 21 CFR 

133.137.  

"3-A Accepted Practices" means the accepted practices 

published by 3-A Sanitary Standards, Incorporated and 

indexed in the 3-A Sanitary Standards and 3-A Accepted 

Practices, effective on or before August 15, 2013. 

"3-A Sanitary Standards" means the standards for dairy 

equipment and accepted practices formulated by the 3-A 

Sanitary Standards Committees representing the International 

Association for Food Protection, the U.S. Public Health 

Service, and the Dairy Industry Committee and published by 

the International Association for Food Protection, effective as 

of on or November 20, 2001 published by 3-A Sanitary 

Standards, Incorporated and indexed in the 3-A Sanitary 

Standards and 3-A Accepted Practices, effective on or before 

August 15, 2013.  

2VAC5-531-50. Permits. 

A. No person may produce, provide, sell, offer for sale, or 

store in the Commonwealth of Virginia, or bring, send, or 

receive into the Commonwealth of Virginia, any milk for 

manufacturing purposes unless the person possesses a permit 

from the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services. 

B. No person may produce, process, manufacture, handle, 

package, reprocess, repackage, rework, offer for sale or sell 

any manufactured dairy product in the Commonwealth of 

Virginia unless the person possesses a permit from the 

Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. 

The requirement for a permit shall not apply to (i) any 

person's establishment where a manufactured dairy product is 

served or sold at retail, so long as the manufactured dairy 

product is not produced, manufactured, reprocessed or 

reworked at the establishment; (ii) any person who distributes 

and does not process manufactured dairy product; or (iii) any 

person producing manufactured dairy product outside the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. 

C. The Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services may cancel, suspend, or revoke the permit of any 

person, or may deny to any person a permit if: 

1. The permit holder fails to engage daily in the business 

for which the permit is issued;  

2. The permit holder does not daily produce, provide, 

manufacture, sell, offer for sale, or store in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia milk for manufacturing 

purposes or dairy product;  

3. The permit holder fails to provide at no cost to the 

Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services samples of milk for manufacturing purposes or 

dairy product in the person's possession for testing by the 

Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services;  

4. The permit holder fails to provide on a daily basis milk 

for manufacturing purposes or dairy product in the person's 

possession for sampling and testing by the Virginia 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services;  

5. The permit holder fails to comply with any requirement 

of this chapter, or of §§ 3.1-420 through 3.1-424, §§ 3.1-

530.1 through 3.1-530.10 or §§ 3.1-531.1 through 3.1-

545.1 Article 1 (§ 3.2-5200 et seq.), Article 2 (§ 3.2-5206 

et seq.), and Article 4 (§ 3.2-5218 et seq.) of Chapter 52 of 

Title 3.2 of the Code of Virginia;  

6. A public health hazard exists that affects the permit 

holder's milk for manufacturing purposes or dairy product;  

7. The permit holder or any agent of the permit holder has 

obstructed or interfered with the Virginia Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services in the performance of 

its duties;  

8. The permit holder or any agent of the permit holder 

knowingly supplies false or misleading information to the 
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Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services: (i) in the permit holder's application for a permit; 

(ii) concerning the identity of the person or persons who 

will control the facility that is the subject of the permit; 

(iii) concerning the amount of milk for manufacturing 

purposes or dairy product which the permit holder 

produces, provides, manufactures, sells, offers for sale, or 

stores in the Commonwealth of Virginia, or brings, sends, 

or receives into the Commonwealth of Virginia and the 

distribution of the permit holder's milk for manufacturing 

purposes or dairy product; (iv) concerning any 

investigation conducted by the Virginia Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services; or (v) concerning the 

location of any part of the permit holder's operation that is 

subject to a permit;  

9. The permit holder engages in fraudulent activity 

regarding: (i) the amount of milk for manufacturing 

purposes or dairy product the person permit holder offers 

to sell or sells; or (ii) the collection of samples of the 

person's permit holder's milk for manufacturing purposes 

or dairy product used to determine compliance with any 

provision of this chapter or as a basis for payment for milk 

for manufacturing purposes or dairy product.  

10. Three of the most recent five bacteria counts, somatic 

cell counts, or cooling temperature determinations 

conducted on the permit holder's raw milk for 

manufacturing purposes exceed the standards specified in 

this chapter;  

11. Three of the most recent five bacteria counts, coliform 

determinations, or cooling temperature determinations 

conducted on the permit holder's milk for manufacturing 

purposes or dairy product exceed the standards specified in 

this chapter;  

12. Two of the most recent cryoscope tests conducted on 

the permit holder's milk for manufacturing purposes 

exceed the standards specified in this chapter and the most 

recent violative sample occurred within two years after the 

next most recent violative sample;  

13. 12. The most recent drug residue test on the permit 

holder's milk for manufacturing purposes or dairy product 

violates the standard specified in this chapter; 

14. 13. The most recent phosphatase test on the permit 

holder's dairy product violates the standard specified in this 

chapter;  

15. 14. The most recent chemical residue test or pesticide 

residue test on the permit holder's milk for manufacturing 

purposes or dairy product exceeds the actionable level, 

tolerance level, or safe level for any chemical residue or 

pesticide residue specified in 40 CFR Parts 180, 185, or 

186 and 21 CFR Parts 70, 71, 73, 74, 80, 82, 130, 131, 

133, 170, 172, 173, 174, 175, 176, 177, 178, 189, 556, 564, 

570, 573, 589. In the event that no actionable level, 

tolerance level, or safe level for a chemical residue or 

pesticides residue has been established in 40 CFR Parts 

180, 185, or 186 and 21 CFR Parts 70, 71, 73, 74, 80, 82, 

130, 131, 133, 170, 172, 173, 174, 175, 176, 177, 178, 189, 

556, 564, 570, 573, 589, the tolerance level shall be 

deemed to be zero;  

16. 15. The permit holder fails to correct any deficiency 

that the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services has cited in a written notice of intent to suspend 

the person's permit holder's permit, as a violation of this 

chapter;  

17. 16. The permit holder's raw milk for manufacturing 

purposes is warmer than 50°F two hours after the 

completion of the first milking or the permit holder's raw 

milk for manufacturing purposes is warmer than 50°F 

during or after any subsequent milking;  

18. 17. The dairy farm permit holder's raw milk for 

manufacturing purposes is older than 76 hours;  

19. 18. The permit holder's equipment is covered or 

partially covered by an accumulation of milk solids, milk 

fat milkfat, or other residue;  

20. 19. The permit holder sells or offers for sale milk for 

manufacturing purposes or dairy product which violates 

any requirement of this chapter;  

21. 20. The permit holder's permit is suspended three times 

within a 12-month period for violation of the bacteria, 

coliform, cooling temperature, somatic cell, cryoscope, 

drug residue, maximum length of time for milk storage on 

the farm, phosphatase, chemical residue, pesticide residue 

standards, or other requirements specified in this chapter;  

22. 21. The authority in another state responsible for 

issuing permits has denied, suspended, or revoked the 

permit of the person in that state for any act or omission 

that would violate this chapter or the statutes under which 

this chapter was adopted, had the act or omission occurred 

in the Commonwealth of Virginia;  

23. 22. The Virginia Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services has previously revoked the person's 

permit to produce, provide, sell, offer for sale, or store in 

the Commonwealth of Virginia, or bring, send, or receive 

into the Commonwealth of Virginia, any milk for 

manufacturing purposes;  

24. 23. The Virginia Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services has previously revoked the person's 

permit to produce, process, manufacture, handle, package, 

reprocess, repackage, or rework, and offer for sale or sell 

any manufactured dairy product in the Commonwealth of 

Virginia;  

25. 24. The most recent coliform count on the permit 

holder's cheese violates the standard specified in this 

chapter; and  

26. 25. The most recent Staphylococcus aureus count on 

the permit holder's cheese violates the standard specified in 

this chapter.  
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D. The Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services may summarily suspend a permit for violation of 

any of the following subdivisions of subsection C of this 

section: 6, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21 24, 

or 25, or 26.  

E. The Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services may suspend from sale any dairy product in 

violation of the requirements of this chapter processed by any 

dairy plant permit holder in lieu of suspending the dairy plant 

permit holder's permit. 

F. If the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services suspends a permit holder's permit more than three 

times within any 12-month period, the permit holder's permit 

shall not be reinstated for a period of three days on the fourth 

suspension within any 12-month period and six days on the 

fifth suspension within any 12-month period with three days 

being added to the required suspension period for each 

additional suspension thereafter. 

G. If the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services issues two written notices of intent to suspend a 

person's permit for failure to correct the same deficiency 

within any 12-month period, the Virginia Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services may issue and enforce a 

third written notice of intent to summarily suspend the 

person's permit at anytime within six months from the date of 

the third written notice if the same deficiency is found to exist 

on any inspection during the six months specified in the third 

written notice. 

H. No permit holder may transfer any permit to another 

person or another location and no permit holder who has had 

their permit revoked by the Virginia Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services shall be eligible to hold a 

permit to produce milk for manufacturing purposes or a 

permit to operate a dairy plant at any time after the permit 

holder's permit is revoked. 

I. Inspection of dairy farms and dairy plants. 

1. No person who operates a dairy farm or dairy plant 

within the Commonwealth of Virginia may hold a permit 

until the dairy farm or dairy plant has been inspected and 

approved by the Virginia Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services; 

2. Pasteurization equipment may be inspected and tested 

by any person who has demonstrated the knowledge, skills, 

and abilities to perform pasteurization inspections and been 

approved by the Virginia Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services to conduct inspections of vat 

pasteurizers or high temperature short time pasteurizers or 

both vat pasteurizers and high temperature short time 

pasteurizers. The Virginia Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services shall issue to all persons approved to 

inspect pasteurization equipment a letter of certification 

which shall expire 12 months from the date of issue unless 

renewed. The Virginia Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services may suspend the certification of any 

person who has been approved to inspect pasteurization 

equipment if the person fails to conduct the inspections and 

tests in accordance with the department's established policy 

and procedures for inspection of pasteurization equipment. 

J. The examination of milk and dairy products. 

1. The Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services shall collect during any consecutive six months at 

least four samples of raw milk for manufacturing purposes 

from each dairy farm that holds a permit, collected in at 

least four different months, except when three months 

show a month containing two sampling dates separated by 

at least 20 days. In the event the milk from a permitted 

dairy farm is picked up and delivered to a dairy plant 

which is located outside the Commonwealth of Virginia 

more than three times in any calendar month, the permit 

holder's milk marketing cooperative, broker, or person 

purchasing the permit holder's milk, shall be responsible to 

ensure the appropriate number of samples and tests are 

performed in Interstate Milk Shipper approved laboratories 

and to supply the following information for each permit 

holder's milk samples to the Virginia Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services at no cost: 

a. The name of the producer; 

b. The patron number of the producer; 

c. The name of the sampling operator; 

d. The name of the person who collected the sample; 

e. The location where the sample was received; 

f. The date the sample was received; 

g. The date, time, and temperature of the sample at time 

of collection; 

h. The name of the test performed for each test result; 

i. The reported laboratory result for each test performed; 

and 

j. The name and address of the laboratory performing the 

testing. 

2. The Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services shall collect samples of raw milk for 

manufacturing purposes for testing and analysis from each 

dairy farm holding a permit as it deems necessary. 

3. The Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services shall collect samples of processed dairy products 

and ingredients for testing and analysis from each dairy 

plant holding a permit as it deems necessary. 

K. Each permit holder operating a dairy plant shall develop 

a recall plan that when implemented will effectively carry out 

his responsibility to protect the public health and well-being 

from milk and dairy products that present a risk of illness, 

injury, gross deception, or are otherwise defective. Each 

permit holder operating a dairy plant shall submit his recall 

plan for approval to the Virginia Department of Agriculture 

and Consumer Services by May 27, 2005, and prior to the 

issuance of any dairy plant permit thereafter. The Virginia 
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Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services shall 

review and approve the recall plan or require the recall plan to 

be modified by the permit holder operating a dairy plant. 

Each approved recall plan shall be reviewed annually and 

whenever new products are introduced by the permit holder 

operating a dairy plant. Each permit holder operating a dairy 

plant shall modify his recall plan based on his review and 

forward the revised plan to the Virginia Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services for approval within 60 

days after the completion of any review that requires the 

recall plan to be modified. Each recall plan shall include 

provisions to provide the following information to the 

Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services: 

1. Identity of the product involved; 

2. Reason for the recall and the date and circumstances 

under which the product deficiency or possible deficiency 

was discovered; 

3. Evaluation of the risk associated with the deficiency or 

possible deficiency; 

4. Total amount of identified products produced and the 

time span of the production; 

5. Total amount of identified products estimated to be in 

distribution channels; 

6. Distribution information, including the number and 

identity of each person dairy products are sold to;  

7. Draft copy of the permit holder's proposed recall 

communication;  

8. Proposed strategy for conducting the recall; and  

9. Name and telephone number of the permit holder's 

representative who should be contacted concerning the 

recall.  

L. Each permit holder operating a dairy plant shall promptly 

notify each of its affected direct accounts about the recall and 

shall prepare the recall communication to:  

1. Identify clearly the product, size, lot number(s), code(s) 

or serial number(s) and any other descriptive information 

to enable accurate and immediate identification of the 

product;  

2. Explain concisely the reason for the recall and the 

hazard involved, if any;  

3. Provide specific instructions on what should be done 

with respect to the recalled product;  

4. Provide a ready means for the recipient of the 

communication to report to the recalling firm whether it 

has any of the product;  

5. State that further distribution or use of any remaining 

product should cease immediately; and  

6. Where appropriate, state that the direct account should 

in turn notify its customers who received the product about 

the recall.  

M. Each permit holder operating a dairy plant shall provide 

to the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services recall status reports as requested by the Virginia 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services until the 

recall is terminated. Each permit holder operating a dairy 

plant shall include in each recall status report the following 

information:  

1. Number of consignees notified of the recall, and date 

and method of notification;  

2. Number of consignees responding to the recall 

communication and quantity of products on hand at the 

time it the recall communication was received;  

3. Number and identity of consignees that did not respond 

to the recall communication;  

4. Number of products returned or corrected by each 

consignee contacted and the quantity of products 

accounted for;  

5. Number and results of effectiveness checks that were 

made; and  

6. Estimated time frames for completion of the recall.  

N. Each permit holder operating a dairy plant shall 

implement his recall plan within eight hours after receipt of 

written notification to do so by the Virginia Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services. In the event that the 

permit holder operating a dairy plant fails to implement his 

recall plan within eight hours after being notified to do so by 

the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services, the department may prepare and issue the recall 

communication.  

O. Drug residue monitoring and farm surveillance.  

1. Each permit holder operating a dairy plant shall:  

a. Test all milk that the plant receives for residues of beta 

lactam drugs using a test from Beta Lactam and Other 

Test Methods for Use Under Appendix N and Section 6 

of the Grade "A" Pasteurized Milk Ordinance prior to 

processing any of the milk. Each permit holder shall test 

each bulk milk shipment using a sample collected from 

each tank truck after its arrival at the plant and prior to 

any further commingling. Each permit holder shall test 

each compartment from tank trucks with more than one 

compartment separately. Each permit holder shall test 

milk in cans using a sample formed separately at the 

receiving plant for each can milk producer included in 

the delivery, and the milk sample shall be representative 

of all milk received from each producer. Each permit 

holder operating a dairy plant which is classified as a 

producer/processor shall test for residues of beta lactam 

drugs in all milk that the dairy plant produces or receives 

for processing according to the requirements for 

sampling and testing bulk milk shipments and milk in 

cans stated in this subdivision;  

b. Test each shipment of milk received for processing by 

screening test methods which have been Association of 
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Official Analytical Chemists-(AOAC)-reviewed and 

Food and Drug Administration-(FDA)-accepted. In the 

event there are no AOAC reviewed and FDA accepted 

screening test methods for cow's milk, goat's milk, 

sheep's milk, water buffalo's milk, or milk from other 

mammals, the permit holder shall test for residues of beta 

lactam drugs with a screening test kit approved by the 

Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services. In lieu of any test specified in this subdivision 

O 1 b of this subsection a permit holder may use AOAC 

first-action and AOAC final-action tests methods. 

Nothing in this subdivision O 1 b of this subsection shall 

be deemed to include individual raw milk samples 

collected from each dairy farm included in any shipment 

of bulk tank raw milk for processing if the shipment of 

bulk tank raw milk for processing tests negative for 

animal drug residues;  

c. Implement a random-sampling program when the 

commissioner of the FDA determines that a potential 

problem exists with animal drug residues or other 

contaminants in the milk supply. Each permit holder 

operating a dairy plant shall analyze the samples for the 

contaminant by a method determined by FDA to be 

effective in determining compliance with actionable 

levels or established tolerances. Each permit holder 

operating a dairy plant shall continue the random-

sampling program until such time that the commissioner 

of the FDA is reasonably assured that the problem has 

been corrected. The sampling program shall represent 

and include during any consecutive six months, at least 

four samples collected in at least four separate months.;  

d. Retain each sample found to be positive for drug 

residues for a period of 120 hours after the sample test 

result is positive for drug residues for the use of the 

Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services unless directed otherwise by a representative of 

the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services;  

e. Abstain from selling or offering for sale any dairy 

product processed from milk received before results of 

drug screening tests are available and from milk which 

later tests positive for drug residues. All the permit 

holder's milk commingled with any milk which tests 

positive for drug residues shall be deemed adulterated. 

Each permit holder operating a dairy plant shall report to 

the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services instances of adulteration within one hour after 

testing reveals the milk is adulterated with animal drug 

residues;  

f. Record the results of tests on samples of raw milk and 

retain such records for a period of 12 months, report 

records of all results of tests on samples of raw milk to 

the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services by the fifteenth day of each month for the 

preceding month, and maintain and make available to the 

Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services for inspection and review at the permitted 

facility records of results of tests on samples of raw milk. 

Each record of results of tests on samples of raw milk 

required by this subdivision shall include:  

(1) The analyst's signature, date, time, and place where 

the test was performed;  

(2) The registration identification of each pickup tanker 

of bulk raw milk or raw milk sampled;  

(3) The test method used;  

(4) The Interstate Milk Shipper Bulk Tank Unit 

identification number for each Grade A milk supply 

included on each pickup tanker of bulk raw milk tested if 

the milk is Grade A; and  

(5) A statement whether the test results were positive or 

negative. If the results were positive, the permit holder 

shall also record:  

(a) The identity of each producer contributing to the load 

from which the positive sample of raw milk was taken;  

(b) The name of the person notified at the Virginia 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services of the 

positive test results;  

(c) The date and time of day the person at the Virginia 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services was 

notified of the positive test results; and  

(d) The method of notification of the Virginia 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services;  

g. Immediately notify the Virginia Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services of any shipment of 

milk for processing when the shipment of milk is found 

to be positive for drug residues;  

h. Test each producer sample of milk using a test from 

Drug Residue Test Methods for Confirmation of 

Presumptive Positive Results and Initial Producer Trace 

Back to determine the farm of origin, represented by each 

sample of milk which tests positive for drug residues, and 

immediately report to the Virginia Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services the result of each 

producer sample representing the raw milk for 

manufacturing purposes found to be positive for drug 

residues;  

i. Provide by facsimile machine or email to the Virginia 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

copies of load manifests, producer weight tickets, 

laboratory worksheets where the results of laboratory 

tests are originally recorded, and records from electronic 

readers documenting the results for samples tested for all 

positive loads; and  

j. Immediately discontinue receiving shipments of raw 

milk from the permit holder whose milk tests positive for 

drug residues until subsequent tests approved by the 
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Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services are no longer positive for drug residues;  

2. Each permit holder whose milk tests positive for drug 

residues shall dispose of such milk in a manner that 

removes it from the human food chain or in any manner 

approved by the Food and Drug Administration; and  

3. Each permit holder operating a dairy plant that receives 

any milk that could require load confirmation or producer 

traceback as a result of a positive animal drug residue on a 

load of milk delivered at the plant shall provide to the 

Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services results of animal drug-residue tests from an 

officially designated laboratory. Each officially designated 

laboratory shall be listed in the IMS List—Sanitation 

Compliance and Enforcement Ratings of Interstate Milk 

Shippers as an approved milk laboratory certified to test 

load and producer samples. All laboratory results from 

officially designated laboratories shall be reported to the 

Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services within six hours of the initial presumptive 

positive result at the plant. Existing dairy plants holding 

permits on January 26, 2005, shall have until July 26, 

2005, to comply with the requirement of this section.  

P. Each officially designated laboratory shall comply with 

the requirements for certification and listing contained in the 

Evaluation of Milk Laboratories, 1995 2011 revision.  

Q. Each permit holder who operates a dairy plant and each 

person who distributes dairy products shall furnish the 

Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

upon request:  

1. A statement of the quantities of milk and dairy products 

purchased or sold by the dairy plant or distributor; and  

2. A list of all sources from which the dairy plant or 

distributor received any milk or dairy product.  

R. No person holding a permit to produce milk for 

manufacturing purposes may operate a dairy farm that 

receives on the dairy farm raw or untreated sewage or septage 

from any source.  

S. No person holding a permit to produce milk for 

manufacturing purposes shall feed their lactating cows, goats, 

sheep, water buffalo, or other mammals any unprocessed 

poultry litter or other unprocessed body discharges from any 

animal.  

T. No person holding a permit to produce milk for 

manufacturing purposes may place or hold in his milk storage 

tank any milk except that milk that was obtained from cows, 

goats, sheep, water buffalo, or other mammals milked at the 

permit holder's dairy farm; any milk that did not enter the 

milk storage tank through the milking and milk-handling 

equipment on the permit holder's dairy farm during the 

milking of the permit holder's cows, goats, sheep, water 

buffalo or other mammals; any milk that has been held 

without refrigeration; or any milk that has been exposed to 

chemical or physical contamination.  

U. No person holding a permit to produce milk for 

manufacturing purposes may provide their milking cows, 

goats, sheep, water buffalo, or other mammals any feed 

separately or in combination that contains an aflatoxin residue 

greater than 20 parts per billion.  

V. No person holding a permit to produce milk for 

manufacturing purposes may sell or offer for sale any milk 

for manufacturing purposes if it contains an aflatoxin residue 

equal to or greater than 0.50 parts per billion.  

W. No person may hold a permit to produce milk for 

manufacturing purposes if any part of their facilities, 

equipment, storage, or processing area (except toilet rooms), 

requiring inspection is accessed through any room used for 

domestic purposes or part of any room used for domestic 

purposes. Toilet rooms used for domestic purposes shall be 

approved as complying with the requirements of this chapter 

only if (i) the toilet room is located within 300 feet of the 

milking barn, milking parlor, or milk room and (ii) all labor 

utilized in the milkroom, milking parlor or milking barn, and 

animal housing areas is provided by members of the permit 

holder's immediate family.  

X. No person may hold a permit to produce, process, 

manufacture, handle, package, reprocess, repackage, or 

rework, and offer for sale or sell any manufactured dairy 

product in the Commonwealth of Virginia if any part of his 

facilities, equipment, storage, or processing area (except toilet 

rooms), requiring inspection is accessed through any room 

used for domestic purposes or part of any room used for 

domestic purposes. Toilet rooms used for domestic purposes 

shall be approved as complying with the requirements of this 

chapter only if (i) the toilet room is located within 300 feet of 

the processing facilities and (ii) all labor utilized in the 

processing facilities is provided by members of the permit 

holder's immediate family.  

Y. Each person who holds a permit to produce milk for 

manufacturing purposes or a permit to operate a dairy plant 

and who freezes and stores any milk for use in the production 

of any dairy product shall:  

1. Cool each day's morning milking to 40°F or cooler, 

without freezing, within two hours after milking;  

2. Abstain from freezing each day's morning milking until 

completion of the same day's evening milking;  

3. Freeze the milk from each milking or each day 

separately, in single-use, food-grade, plastic bags or other 

suitable food grade disposable containers;  

4. Identify each single-use, food-grade, plastic bag or other 

suitable food-grade disposable container containing any 

frozen milk with the date it was produced, the number of 

milkings, the number of containers in the lot, the permit 

number of the dairy farm or dairy plant, and the name of 

the person who packaged and froze the milk;  
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5. Cool and store all frozen containers of milk at a 

temperature of 0°F or below until ready for use;  

6. Thaw each container of frozen milk prior to use in a 

refrigerator adjusted to a maximum temperature of 40°F or 

thaw each container of frozen milk within two hours using 

a cool water bath;  

7. Abstain from re-using any single-use, food grade, plastic 

bag or other suitable food-grade disposable container; and  

8. Protect from contamination the frozen milk in each 

single-use, food-grade, plastic bag or other suitable food-

grade disposable container during the thawing process.  

2VAC5-531-70. Standards for milk and dairy products.  

A. No person may produce, provide, manufacture, sell, offer 

for sale, or store in the Commonwealth of Virginia, or, bring, 

send, or receive into the Commonwealth of Virginia, any 

milk for manufacturing purposes or dairy products which do 

not comply with the following:  

1. Milk for manufacturing purposes and dairy products 

shall be produced and processed to conform with the 

chemical, bacteriological, somatic cell, cryoscope, 

maximum length of time for milk storage on the farm, and 

temperature standards as identified in this section, and with 

the requirements of this chapter;  

2. No process or manipulation other than pasteurization or 

processing methods integral with pasteurization and 

refrigeration may be applied to milk for manufacturing 

purposes or dairy products for the purpose of removing or 

deactivating microorganisms unless alternative procedures 

to pasteurization are approved in writing by the FDA and 

the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services;  

3. Milk for manufacturing purposes shall comply with the 

following standards:  

a. The temperature of milk for manufacturing purposes 

shall be cooled to 40°F or cooler, but not frozen, within 

two hours after milking and the temperature after the first 

or any subsequent milking shall not be warmer than 

50°F;  

b. The bacteria count of milk for manufacturing purposes 

shall not exceed 500,000 bacteria per milliliter prior to 

commingling with any other milk;, and the bacteria count 

of milk that is commingled shall not exceed 1,000,000 

bacteria per milliliter prior to pasteurization;  

c. Milk for manufacturing purposes shall freeze at or 

below -0.530° Hortvet;  

d. Milk for manufacturing purposes shall test negative for 

animal drug residues by any method evaluated by the 

FDA and found acceptable for detecting drug residues in 

raw milk at current safe or tolerance levels and shall have 

no positive drug residues by detection methods reported 

to the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services by dairy plants;  

e. The somatic cell count of unpasteurized cow's milk, 

sheep's milk, water buffalo's milk, or the milk from other 

mammals intended for human consumption, except goat's 

milk, shall not exceed 750,000 somatic cells per 

milliliter. The somatic cell count of raw goat's milk shall 

not exceed 1,000,000 somatic cells per milliliter;  

f. Raw cow's milk, goat's milk, sheep's milk, water 

buffalo's milk, or the milk from other mammals intended 

for human consumption shall not exceed the actionable 

level, tolerance level, or safe level for any chemical 

residue or pesticide residue specified in 40 CFR Parts 

180, 185, or 186 and 21 CFR Parts 70, 71, 73, 74, 80, 82, 

130, 131, 133, 170, 172, 173, 174, 175, 176, 177, 178, 

189, 556, 564, 570, 573, 589. In the event that no 

actionable level, tolerance level, or safe level for a 

chemical residue or pesticides residue has been 

established in 40 CFR Parts 180, 185, or 186 and 21 CFR 

Parts 70, 71, 73, 74, 80, 82, 130, 131, 133, 170, 172, 173, 

174, 175, 176, 177, 178, 189, 556, 564, 570, 573, or 589, 

the tolerance level shall be deemed to be zero; and  

g. The maximum length of time any milk for 

manufacturing purposes may be stored on the farm prior 

to processing or pickup for delivery to a processing plant 

shall not exceed 76 hours from the end of the first 

milking to the time of pickup or the start of processing. 

Milk for manufacturing purposes that is older than 76 

hours shall be deemed to be a public health hazard and 

shall not be offered for sale or sold;  

4. Dairy products in final package form for direct human 

consumption shall comply with the following standards:  

a. All dairy products in final package form for direct 

human consumption shall:  

(1) Have been pasteurized in accordance with the 

requirements of this chapter;  

(2) Have been made from dairy ingredients (milk or dairy 

products) that have all been pasteurized in accordance 

with the requirements of this chapter; or  

(3) In the case of cheese, the cheese has been aged above 

35°F for a minimum of 60 days or the minimum number 

of days specified under the standards of identity for the 

specific variety of cheese;  

b. The phenol value of test samples of pasteurized 

finished product shall be no greater than the maximum 

specified for the particular product as determined and 

specified by (i) any phosphatase test method prescribed 

in the Official Methods of Analysis of AOAC 

International, 17th 19th Edition, Revision 1 (2002) 

(2012) published by the Association of Official 

Analytical Chemists; (ii) the Fluorometer test method; 

(iii) the Charm ALP test method; or (iv) other equivalent 

method as determined by the Virginia Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services. A phenol value 

greater than the maximum specified for the particular 
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product shall mean that the product was not properly 

pasteurized. A phenol value less than the maximum 

specified for the particular product shall not be 

interpreted to mean that the product was properly 

pasteurized, unless there is evidence of proper 

pasteurization equipment in conformance with this 

chapter and records to determine an adequate 

pasteurization process has been completed;  

c. Dairy products shall test negative for animal drug 

residues by any method which has been evaluated by the 

FDA and found acceptable for detecting drug residues in 

raw milk, pasteurized milk, or dairy products in final 

package form intended for human consumption at current 

safe or tolerance levels;  

d. Dairy products shall not exceed the actionable level, 

tolerance level, or safe level for any chemical residue or 

pesticide residue specified in 40 CFR Parts 180, 185, or 

186 and 21 CFR Parts 70, 71, 73, 74, 80, 82, 130, 131, 

133, 170, 172, 173, 174, 175, 176, 177, 178, 189, 556, 

564, 570, 573, 589. In the event that no actionable level, 

tolerance level, or safe level for a chemical residue or 

pesticides residue has been established in 40 CFR Parts 

180, 185, or 186 and 21 CFR Parts 70, 71, 73, 74, 80, 82, 

130, 131, 133, 170, 172, 173, 174, 175, 176, 177, 178, 

189, 556, 564, 570, 573, 589, the tolerance level shall be 

deemed to be zero; and  

e. Dairy products shall contain no detectable level of 

pathogenic organisms or more than 4.6 Escherichia coli 

organisms per gram of dairy product.; and 

5. Cheese and cheese products shall comply with the 

following:  

a. The coliform count for any cheese or cheese product 

made from pasteurized milk shall not exceed 100 

coliform organisms per gram;  

b. The coliform count for any cheese or cheese product 

made from unpasteurized milk shall not exceed 500 

coliform organisms per gram;  

c. The Staphylococcus aureus count for any cheese or 

cheese product made from pasteurized milk shall not 

exceed 100 Staphylococcus aureus organisms per gram; 

and  

d. The Staphylococcus aureus count for any cheese or 

cheese product made from unpasteurized milk shall not 

exceed 1,000 Staphylococcus aureus organisms per gram.  

B. Sanitation requirements to produce milk for 

manufacturing purposes. 1. Each person who holds a permit 

to produce milk for manufacturing purposes shall comply 

with the following:  

a. 1. Abnormal milk. Each person who holds a permit to 

produce milk for manufacturing purposes shall:  

(1) a. Milk his cows, goats, sheep, water buffalo, or other 

mammals which show evidence of the secretion of 

abnormal milk from one or more mammary glands 

(based upon bacteriological, chemical, or physical 

examination) last or with separate equipment and discard 

those lacteal secretions;  

(2) b. Milk his cows, goats, sheep, water buffalo, or other 

mammals treated with, or which have consumed, 

chemical, medicinal, or radioactive agents which are 

capable of being secreted by the mammary gland and 

which may be deleterious to human health last or with 

separate equipment and discard those lacteal secretions in 

a manner which will not pollute the environment or any 

human food.  

b. 2. Milking barn, stable, or parlor-construction. Each 

person who holds a permit to produce milk for 

manufacturing purposes shall:  

(1) a. Provide on the person's dairy farm a milking barn, 

stable, or parlor in which the animals being milked shall 

be housed during milking time; and  

(2) b. Provide on the permit holder's dairy farm a milking 

barn, stable, or parlor which shall:  

(a) (1) Have floors constructed of concrete or equally 

impervious material;  

(b) (2) Have walls and a ceiling which are smooth, 

painted, or finished in an approved manner, and in good 

repair and have a ceiling which is dust tight;  

(c) (3) Have separate stalls or pens for horses, calves, 

bulls, kids, bucks, rams, and lambs;  

(d) (4) Have natural and artificial light, well distributed 

for day or night milking;  

(e) (5) Have sufficient air space and air circulation to 

prevent condensation and excessive odors; and  

(f) (6) Not be overcrowded.  

c. 3. Milking barn, stable, or parlor-cleanliness. Each 

person who holds a permit to produce milk for 

manufacturing purposes shall:  

(1) a. Keep the interior of the milking barn, stable, or 

parlor clean;  

(3) b. Keep the floors, walls, windows, pipelines, and 

equipment in the milking barn, stable, or parlor free of 

filth or litter and clean;  

(3) c. Keep swine and fowl out of the milking barn, 

stable, and parlor;  

(4) d. Use only milk stools that are not padded and are 

constructed to be easily cleaned; and  

(5) e. Keep surcingles, milk stools, and antikickers clean 

and stored above the floor.  

d. 4. Cow yard, goat yard, sheep yard, water buffalo yard, 

or yard for other mammals. Each person who holds a 

permit to produce milk for manufacturing purposes shall:  

(1) a. Provide and maintain the cow yard, goat yard, 

sheep yard, water buffalo yard, or yard for other 

mammals, to be graded and drained, and to have no 
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standing pools of water or accumulations of organic 

wastes;  

(2) b. In the cow loafing, goat loafing, sheep loafing, 

water buffalo loafing, loafing area for other mammals, 

cattle-housing, sheep-housing, goat-housing, water 

buffalo-housing or area of housing for other mammals 

remove cow droppings, sheep droppings, goat droppings, 

water buffalo droppings, other mammals mammal 

droppings and remove soiled bedding or add clean 

bedding at sufficiently frequent intervals to prevent the 

soiling of the cow's, sheep's, goat's, water buffalo's or 

other mammals' mammal's udders and flanks;  

(3) c. Ensure that waste feed does not accumulate in the 

goat yard, cow yard, sheep yard, water buffalo yard, yard 

for other mammals, cow loafing, sheep loafing, goat 

loafing, water buffalo loafing, loafing area for other 

mammals, cattle-housing, sheep-housing, goat-housing, 

water buffalo-housing or housing for other mammals 

area;  

(4) d. Maintain any manure packs to be properly drained 

and to provide a reasonably firm footing; and  

(5) e. Keep swine and fowl out of the cow yard, sheep 

yard, goat yard, water buffalo yard, yard for other 

mammals, cow loafing, sheep loafing, goat loafing, water 

buffalo loafing, loafing area for other mammals, cattle-

housing, sheep-housing, goat-housing area, water 

buffalo-housing, or other mammal-housing area.  

e. 5. Milkhouse or milkroom construction and facilities. 

Each person who holds a permit to produce milk for 

manufacturing purposes shall:  

(1) a. Provide a milkhouse or milkroom of sufficient size 

in which the cooling, handling, and storing of milk and 

the washing, sanitizing, and storing of milk containers 

and utensils shall be conducted. Existing farms producing 

and shipping milk for manufacturing purposes on July 1, 

2001, shall be exempt from the requirement of this 

subdivision to provide a separate milkhouse or milkroom 

from their milking barn, stable, or parlor until July 1, 

2006, or until the first permit issued after January 26, 

2005, on each of these existing farms is canceled or 

revoked;  

(2) b. Provide a milkhouse with a smooth floor, 

constructed of concrete or equally impervious material 

graded to drain, and maintained in good repair;  

(3) c. Dispose of in a sanitary manner all liquid waste 

generated in the milkhouse;  

(4) d. Provide one or more floor drains in the milkhouse, 

which shall be accessible, and trapped if connected to a 

sanitary sewer system;  

(5) e. Provide in the milkhouse walls and ceilings 

constructed of a smooth material, in good repair, well 

painted, or finished in an equally suitable manner;  

(6) f. Provide adequate natural or artificial light and 

ventilation in the milkhouse;  

(7) g. Use the milkhouse for no other purpose than 

milkhouse operations;  

(8) h. Provide no direct opening from the milkhouse into 

any barn, stable, or into any room used for domestic 

purposes, other than a direct opening between the 

milkhouse and milking barn, stable, or parlor provided 

with a tight-fitting, self-closing, solid door, provided the 

door has been hinged to be single or double acting;  

(9) i. Provide in the milkhouse water under pressure 

which has been piped into the milkhouse;  

(10) j. Provide in the milkhouse a two-compartment wash 

vat and adequate hot water heating facilities;  

(11) k. Provide a suitable shelter for the receipt of milk 

when the permit holder uses a transportation tank for the 

cooling and storage of milk on the permit holder's dairy 

farm, provided that the shelter shall be adjacent to, but 

not a part of, the milkroom, and shall comply with the 

requirements of the milkroom with respect to 

construction, light, drainage, insect and rodent control, 

and general maintenance;  

(12) l. Locate the permit holder's farm bulk tank in the 

milkhouse or milkroom so that all areas are accessible for 

cleaning and servicing. The farm bulk tank shall not be 

located over a floor drain or under a ventilator; and  

(13) m. Provide a platform or slab of sufficient size, 

constructed of concrete or other impervious material 

outside the milkhouse, properly centered under a suitable 

hoseport opening in the wall for making connections 

between the bulk milk tank and the pick-up truck. The 

opening of the hoseport shall be fitted with a tight, self-

closing door. The driveway leading to and from the 

milkhouse or milkroom shall be properly graded and 

surfaced to prevent mud or pooling of water at the point 

of loading outside the milkhouse or milkroom.  

f. 6. Milkhouse or milkroom cleanliness. Each person who 

holds a permit to produce milk for manufacturing purposes 

shall:  

(1) a. Keep clean the floors, walls, ceilings, windows, 

tables, shelves, cabinets, wash vats, nonproduct contact 

surfaces of milk containers, utensils, equipment, and 

other milkroom equipment in the milkroom;  

(2) b. Place in the milkroom only those articles directly 

related to milkroom activities; and  

(3) c. Keep the milkroom free of trash, animals, insects, 

and fowl.  

g. 7. Toilets. Each person who holds a permit to produce 

raw milk for manufacturing purposes shall:  

(1) a. Provide on the person's dairy farm one or more 

toilets, which shall be conveniently located, properly 
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constructed and operated, and maintained in a sanitary 

manner;  

(2) b. Prevent the access of flies to the waste contained in 

or from the toilet;  

(3) c. Prevent the waste contained in or from the toilet 

from polluting the soil surface or contaminating any 

water supply; and  

(4) d. Assure that there is no direct opening from the 

toilet into any milkroom.  

h. 8. Water supply. Each person who holds a permit to 

produce milk for manufacturing purposes shall:  

(1) a. Provide water for milkhouse and milking 

operations from a water supply properly located, 

protected, and operated. The water supply shall be easily 

accessible, adequate, and of a safe, sanitary quality, and 

meet the construction standards of Appendix D of the 

"Grade "A" Pasteurized Milk Ordinance, 2013 Revision;  

(2) Ensure that any well casing which is part of a water 

supply that provides water for any milkhouse or milking 

operation is not located closer to any source of 

contamination which may contaminate the water supply 

than is specified as follows:  

(a) No permit holder may locate a well casing closer than 

10 feet to a pit;  

(b) No permit holder may locate a well casing closer than 

10 feet to any sewer pipe, floor drain, or other pipe which 

may back up;  

(c) No permit holder may locate a well casing closer than 

50 feet to any above-ground gas, oil, petroleum, or 

chemical storage tank;  

(d) No permit holder may locate a well casing closer than 

50 feet to any accumulated animal manure or allow any 

animal manure closer than 50 feet to a well casing;  

(e) No permit holder may locate a well casing closer than 

50 feet to any area to which livestock has access; or 

animal-holding area, feedlot, or loafing area on dirt;  

(f) No permit holder may locate a well casing closer than 

50 feet to any pit not drained to the surface of the ground. 

Nothing in this requirement shall apply to a residential 

basement;  

(g) From and after January 26, 2005, no permit holder 

may locate a well casing closer than 100 feet to any pit 

privy. Existing well casings located on farms producing 

and shipping milk for manufacturing purposes on July 1, 

2001, shall be exempt from the 100-foot distance 

requirement of this subdivision until July 1, 2006, or 

until the first permit issued after January 26, 2005, on 

each of these existing farms is canceled or revoked;  

(h) No permit holder may locate a well casing closer than 

100 feet to any animal-manure disposal area;  

(i) No permit holder may locate a well casing closer than 

100 feet to any cess pool;  

(j) No permit holder may locate a well casing closer than 

100 feet to any dry well;  

(k) No permit holder may locate a well casing closer than 

100 feet to any structure that stores animal manure;  

(l) No permit holder may locate a well casing closer than 

100 feet to any septic tank or drain field; and  

(m) No permit holder may locate a well casing closer 

than 100 feet to any underground or partially-buried gas, 

oil, petroleum, or chemical storage tank;  

(3) Construct the water supply so that the well casing 

terminates at least two feet above the highest-known 

flood plane for the location in which the water supply is 

located; and  

(4) Construct the water supply so that no potable water 

supply pipe attached to the water supply is located closer 

than 10 feet measured horizontally to any sewer pipe, soil 

pipe, or drain.  

b. Construct the water supply so that no cross 

connections between a safe water supply and any unsafe 

or questionable water supply or other source of pollution 

exists; and  

c. Construct the water supply so that no submerged inlets 

exist through which a safe water supply may be 

contaminated. 

i. 9. Utensils and equipment-construction. Each person 

who holds a permit to produce milk for manufacturing 

purposes shall:  

(1) a. Provide multiuse containers, equipment, and 

utensils for use in the handling, storage, or transportation 

of any milk, which multiuse containers, equipment, and 

utensils, shall be made of smooth, nonabsorbent, 

corrosion-resistant, and nontoxic materials; constructed 

to be easily cleaned; and in good repair;  

(2) b. Provide new or replacement multiuse containers, 

equipment, and utensils for use in the handling, storage, 

or transportation of any milk which comply with all 

applicable 3-A Sanitary Standards and 3-A Accepted 

Practices;  

(3) c. Provide and use only new or replacement can lids 

of the umbrella type;  

(4) d. Provide milk pails which are constructed to be 

seamless and of the hooded type if the permit holder does 

hand milking and stripping;  

(5) e. Abstain from using multiple-use multiuse woven 

material for straining any milk;  

(6) f. Use only single-service articles which have been 

manufactured, packaged, transported, stored, and handled 

in a sanitary manner;  

(7) g. Abstain from reusing any article intended for 

single-service use;  



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 3 Virginia Register of Regulations October 5, 2015 

334 

(8) h. Install and use only farm bulk tanks that meet all 

the requirements of 3-A Sanitary Standards for Farm 

Milk Cooling and Storage Systems;, Farm Milk Storage 

Tanks;, and 3-A Sanitary Accepted Practices for Farm 

Milk Cooling and Storage Systems;  

(9) i. Install and use only sanitary piping that complies 

with all the requirements of 3-A Accepted Practices for 

Design, Fabrication, and Installation of Milking and Milk 

Handling Equipment; and  

(10) j. Provide and use only transportation tanks which 

comply with all of the requirements of 3-A Sanitary 

Standards for Stainless Steel Automotive Milk and Milk 

Product Transportation Tanks for Bulk Delivery and/or 

Farm Pick-Up Service;  

j. 10. Utensils and equipment; cleaning. Each person who 

holds a permit to produce milk for manufacturing purposes 

shall:  

(1) a. Clean after each use the product-contact surfaces of 

all multiuse containers, multiuse equipment, and multiuse 

utensils used in the handling, storage, or transportation of 

any milk; and  

(2) b. Abstain from selling or offering for sale milk 

which has passed through any equipment, if the milk-

contact surfaces of the equipment are no longer visible, 

or are covered or partially covered by an accumulation of 

milk solids, milk fat milkfat, cleaning compounds, or 

other soils. Any milk which passes through equipment, 

the milk-contact surfaces of which are no longer visible 

or are covered or partially covered by an accumulation of 

milk solids, milk fat milkfat, cleaning compounds, or 

other soils, shall be deemed adulterated.  

k. 11. Utensils and equipment; sanitization. Each person 

who holds a permit to produce milk for manufacturing 

purposes shall sanitize before each use the product-contact 

surfaces of all multiuse containers, equipment, and utensils 

used in the handling, storage, or transportation of any milk.  

l. 12. Utensils and equipment; storage. Each person who 

holds a permit to produce milk for manufacturing purposes 

shall store containers, utensils, and equipment used in the 

handling, storage, or transportation of any milk in a 

sanitizing solution, or store the containers, utensils, and 

equipment used in the handling, storage, or transportation 

of any milk to ensure complete drainage and protection 

from contamination prior to use. Nothing in this 

subdivision shall be deemed to prohibit a permit holder 

from storing in a milking barn or milking parlor a milk 

pipeline or the following pipeline milking equipment: 

milker claw, inflation, weigh jar, meter, milk hose, milk 

receiver, tubular cooler, plate cooler, or milk pump; if the 

milk pipeline and pipeline milking equipment specified in 

this subdivision is designed for mechanical cleaning; and 

designed, installed, and operated to protect the milk, dairy 

product and solution-contact surfaces from contamination 

at all times.  

m. 13. Milking; flanks, udders, and teats. Each person who 

holds a permit to produce milk for manufacturing purposes 

shall:  

(1) a. Milk all cows, goats, sheep, water buffalo, or other 

mammals in a milking barn, stable, or parlor;  

(2) b. Trim the hair from the udder and tail of all milking 

cows, goats, sheep, water buffalo, or other mammals to 

facilitate cleaning of the udder and tail;  

(3) c. Keep the flanks, udders, bellies, and tails of all 

milking cows, goats, sheep, water buffalo, or other 

mammals free of visible dirt;  

(4) d. Keep the hair on the udders of all milking cows, 

goats, sheep, water buffalo, or other mammals to a length 

that the hair on the udder of any cow, goat, sheep, water 

buffalo, or other mammal can not be incorporated with 

the teat in the inflation during milking;  

(5) e. Abstain from milking any cow, goat, sheep, water 

buffalo, or other mammal whose udder or teats are not 

clean and dry;  

(6) f. Treat with a sanitizing solution, just prior to 

milking, the teats of each milking cow, goat, sheep, water 

buffalo, or other mammal, and dry the teats of each 

milking cow, goat, sheep, water buffalo, or other 

mammal before milking; and  

(7) g. Milk all cows, goats, sheep, water buffalo, or other 

mammals with dry hands.  

n. 14. Protection from contamination. Each person who 

holds a permit to produce milk for manufacturing purposes 

shall:  

(1) a. Locate and operate the milking and milkhouse 

operations, equipment, and facilities to prevent 

overcrowding and any contamination of the milk, 

equipment, containers, or utensils;  

(2) b. Separate pipelines and equipment used to contain 

or conduct milk and dairy products during processing 

from tanks or circuits containing cleaning or sanitizing 

solution, or both;  

(3) c. Discard all milk which has overflowed, leaked, 

been spilled or improperly handled;  

(4) d. Transfer immediately from the milking barn, 

stable, or parlor to the milkhouse each pail or container 

of milk;  

(5) e. Properly cover all pails, cans, and other equipment 

containing milk during transfer and storage;  

(6) f. Handle all containers, utensils, and equipment in 

such a manner to prevent the contamination of any milk-

contact surface of any containers, utensils, or equipment 

after the containers, utensils, or equipment have been 

sanitized; and  

(7) g. Use air under pressure for the agitation or 

movement of milk, or use air under pressure that is 

directed at any milk contact surface that is free of oil, 
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dust, rust, excessive moisture, extraneous materials, or 

odor.  

o. 15. Drug and chemical control. Each person who holds a 

permit to produce milk for manufacturing purposes shall:  

(1) a. Ensure cleaners and sanitizers purchased in 

containers from the manufacturer or distributor properly 

identify the contents, or if bulk cleaners and sanitizers are 

transferred from the manufacturer's or distributor's 

container, that the transfer only occur into a dedicated 

end-use container which is specifically designed, 

maintained, and labeled according to the manufacturer's 

specifications for that specific product;  

(2) b. Abstain from cleaning any equipment used to 

administer medicinals or drugs in the wash vats in the 

milkroom;  

(3) c. Store any equipment used to administer medicinals 

or drugs so as not to contaminate any milk or milk 

contact surfaces of equipment;  

(4) d. Store all drugs and medicinals in such a manner 

that neither the drugs nor the medicinals can contaminate 

any milk or the dairy product-contact surface of any 

equipment, containers, or utensils;  

(5) e. Abstain from using unapproved or improperly 

labeled medicinals or drugs to treat any dairy animal or 

store unapproved or improperly labeled medicinals or 

drugs in the milkhouse, milking barn, stable, or parlor. 

Except for topical antiseptics, wound dressings, vaccines, 

and other biologics (unless intended for direct injection 

into the teat), and dosage form vitamins and mineral 

products, a drug or medicinal is properly labeled only if 

the drug or medicinal is labeled with the following:  

(a) (1) For over-the-counter medicinals or drugs, the 

name and address of the manufacturer or distributor, or 

for prescription and extra-label use medicinals or drugs, 

the name of the veterinary practitioner dispensing the 

product;  

(b) (2) Directions for use of the drug or medicinal and the 

prescribed holding time;  

(c) (3) Any cautionary statement for the drug or 

medicinal, if needed; and  

(d) (4) The active ingredient or ingredients in the drug or 

medicinal;  

(6) f. Except for topical antiseptics, wound dressings 

(unless intended for direct injection into the teat), 

vaccines and other biologics, and dosage form vitamins 

and mineral products, segregate all medicinals and drugs 

used for lactating cows, goats, sheep, water buffalo, and 

other mammals (except humans) from any medicinals 

and drugs used for nonlactating cows, goats, sheep, water 

buffalo, and other mammals (except humans);  

(7) g. Except for topical antiseptics, wound dressings, 

(unless intended for direct injection into the teat) 

vaccines and other biologics, and dosage form vitamins 

and mineral products, provide separate shelves in a 

cabinet, refrigerator, or other storage facility for the 

storage of all medicinals and drugs for treatment of 

nonlactating dairy animals separate from those 

medicinals or drugs used for lactating dairy animals;  

(8) h. Store topical antiseptics, wound dressings, (unless 

intended for direct injection into the teat) vaccines and 

other biologics, and dosage-form vitamins and mineral 

products in a manner that does not contaminate any milk 

or the milk-product surfaces of any containers or utensils;  

(9) i. Store all drugs labeled for use in nondairy animals 

in the milking barn, stable, or parlor; and  

(10) j. Abstain from storing any herbicides, fertilizers, 

pesticides, or insecticides that are not labeled for use in 

the milkhouse, milkroom, milking barn, stable, or parlor 

in the permit holder's milkhouse, milkroom, milking 

barn, stable, or parlor.  

p. 16. Personnel; hand-washing facilities. Each person who 

holds a permit to produce milk for manufacturing purposes 

shall:  

(1) a. Provide hand-washing facilities that are convenient 

to the milkhouse, milking barn, stable, parlor, and flush 

toilet; and  

(2) b. Provide hand-washing facilities that include 

separate hot and cold running water, soap or detergent, 

and individual sanitary towels.  

q. 17. Personnel; cleanliness. Each person who holds a 

permit to produce milk for manufacturing purposes shall:  

(1) a. Ensure each person who milks or performs any 

milkhouse function washes the person's hands clean and 

dries the person's hands with an individual sanitary towel 

immediately before milking, before performing any 

milkhouse function, and immediately after the 

interruption of milking or performing any milkhouse 

function; and  

(2) b. Ensure each person who milks or performs any 

milkhouse function wears clean outer garments while 

milking or handling any milk, milk containers, utensils, 

or equipment. Every person shall wear clean outer 

garments while handling any milk, milk containers, 

utensils, or equipment;  

r. 18. Raw milk cooling. Each person who holds a permit 

to produce milk for manufacturing purposes shall:  

(1) a. Cool to 40°F or cooler (but not freeze), all milk in 

farm bulk tanks, within two hours after the permit holder 

completes each milking; and ensure that the temperature 

of the permit holder's milk is not warmer than 50°F after 

the first milking or any subsequent milking. Milk for 

manufacturing purposes which is warmer than a 

temperature of 50°F two hours after the first milking or 

any subsequent milking shall be deemed a public health 
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hazard and shall not be offered for sale, sold, or used for 

human consumption;  

(2) b. Agitate all milk in farm bulk tanks for not less than 

five minutes at least once every hour and ensure that the 

milk in the farm's bulk milk cooling or holding tank 

covers the agitator paddle sufficiently to facilitate proper 

cooling and sampling after the completion of the first 

milking. Milk which does not cover the agitator paddle 

sufficiently to facilitate proper cooling and sampling 

after the completion of the first milking shall be deemed 

a public health hazard and shall not be offered for sale, 

sold, or used for human consumption; and  

(3) c. Cool to 40°F or cooler (but not freeze), all milk in 

cans or other containers approved by the Regulatory 

Agency regulatory agency, within two hours after the 

permit holder completes milking; and ensure that the 

temperature of the permit holder's milk in cans or other 

containers approved by the regulatory agency is not 

warmer than 50°F at any time thereafter; or deliver the 

milk in cans or other containers approved by the 

regulatory agency to a dairy processing plant within two 

hours after the completion of milking. Milk in cans or 

other containers approved by the regulatory agency 

which is warmer than a temperature of 50°F two hours 

after the completion of milking shall be deemed a public 

health hazard and shall not be offered for sale or, sold, or 

used for human consumption.  

s. 19. Insect and rodent control. Each person who holds a 

permit to produce milk for manufacturing purposes shall:  

(1) a. Keep the areas surrounding the milkhouse, milking 

barn, milking stable, milking parlor, cattle housing, sheep 

housing, goat housing, water buffalo housing, housing 

area for other mammals, cattle loafing, sheep loafing, 

goat loafing, water buffalo loafing, loafing area for other 

mammals, water supply, or other facilities on the permit 

holder's dairy farm neat, clean, and free of conditions 

which might harbor or be conducive to the breeding of 

insects and rodents;  

(2) b. Maintain and manage manure packs in loafing 

areas, stables without stanchions, pen stables, resting 

barns, wandering sheds, and free-stall housing to be 

properly bedded and to prevent fly breeding;  

(3) c. Maintain the milkroom free of insects, rodents, and 

other animals;  

(4) d. Screen or otherwise protect the milkroom against 

the entrance of insects, rodents, vermin, or other animals;  

(5) e. Provide outer milkhouse doors that are tight fitting 

and self-closing;  

(6) f. Provide screen doors that open outward only on any 

milkhouse;  

(7) g. Take effective measures to prevent the 

contamination of any milk, containers, equipment, and 

utensils by insects, rodents, and other animals and by 

chemicals used to control insects, rodents, and other 

animals;  

(8) h. Use only insecticides and rodenticides approved 

for use by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency;  

(9) i. Use insecticides and rodenticides in accordance 

with the manufacturer's label directions and in such a 

manner to prevent the contamination of milk, milk 

containers, equipment, utensils, feed, or water;  

(10) j. Provide covered boxes, bins, or separate storage 

facilities for ground, chopped, or concentrated feed; and  

(11) k. Store any feed in the milking portion of the 

milking barn only and in such a manner as it will not 

attract birds, flies, insects, or rodents.  

C. Sanitation requirements for dairy plants. Each person 

who holds a permit to manufacture dairy products shall 

comply with the following:  

1. Premises. Each person who holds a permit to 

manufacture dairy products shall:  

a. Maintain their his plant premises in a clean and orderly 

condition and free from strong or foul odors, smoke, or 

excessive air pollution;  

b. Construct and maintain driveways and adjacent plant 

traffic areas with concrete, asphalt, or similar material to 

keep dust and mud to a minimum;  

c. Maintain the adjacent surroundings free from refuse, 

rubbish, and waste materials to prevent harborage of 

rodents, insects, and other vermin;  

d. Construct and maintain a drainage system which will 

allow rapid drainage of all water from plant buildings 

and driveways, including surface water around the plant 

and on the premises, and all such water shall be disposed 

of in such a manner to prevent a nuisance or health 

hazard.  

2. Buildings. Each person who holds a permit to 

manufacture dairy products shall:  

a. Provide buildings of sound construction and maintain 

those buildings in good repair to prevent the entrance or 

harboring of rodents, birds, insects, vermin, dogs, cats 

and other animals;  

b. Provide tight metal collars for all service pipe 

openings through outside walls, or shall effectively seal 

around the openings;  

c. Protect or screen against the entrance of flies and other 

insects, rodents, birds, dust, and dirt all openings to the 

outer air including doors, windows, skylights, and 

transoms.;  

d. Provide and maintain each outside door opening into a 

processing room in good condition, properly fitted, and 

tightly self-closing;  

e. Ensure that each hinged, outside screen door opens 

outward and is self closing;  
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f. Maintain each door and window to be clean and in 

good repair;  

g. Construct and maintain each outside conveyor opening 

and other special-type outside openings to effectively 

protect and prevent the entrance of flies and rodents, by 

the use of doors, screens, flaps, fans, or tunnels;  

h. Cover outside openings for sanitary pipelines when not 

in use;  

i. Construct each window sill to be slanted downward at 

a 45 degree angle;  

j. Construct each wall, ceiling, partition, and post of 

rooms in which milk or dairy products are processed, 

manufactured, handled, packaged, or stored (except dry 

storage of packaged finished products and supplies) or in 

which utensils are washed and stored, to be smoothly 

finished with a material of light color, which is 

substantially impervious to moisture and kept clean; and  

k. Refinish each wall, ceiling, partition, and post of 

rooms in which milk or dairy products are processed, 

manufactured, handled, packaged, or stored (except dry 

storage of packaged finished products and supplies) or in 

which utensils are washed and stored as often as 

necessary to maintain a neat, clean surface;  

l. Floors. Each person who holds a permit to manufacture 

dairy products shall:  

(1) Construct the floor of each room in which milk or 

dairy products are processed, manufactured, packaged, or 

stored or in which utensils are washed with tile properly 

laid with impervious joint material, concrete, or other 

equally impervious material;  

(2) Construct and maintain the floors of each room in 

which milk or dairy products are processed, 

manufactured, packaged, or stored or in which utensils 

are washed to be smooth, in good repair, graded to one or 

more drains so that there will be no pools of standing 

water or dairy products after flushing, and the opening to 

each drain shall be equipped with a trap properly 

constructed and kept in good repair;  

(3) Not use bell-type traps on floors;  

(4) Install the plumbing to prevent the backup of sewage 

into the drain lines and onto the floor of the plant; and  

(5) Construct the floors in each room where new 

containers and supplies and certain packaged finished 

products are stored with sound, smooth, wood which 

shall be maintained clean.;  

m. Lighting and ventilation. Each person who holds a 

permit to manufacture dairy products shall:  

(1) Provide ample light, natural, artificial, or both, of 

good quality and well distributed in each room and area 

of the building;  

(2) Provide each room in which dairy products are 

manufactured or packaged or where utensils are washed 

with at least 30 foot-candles of light intensity on all 

working surfaces and at least 50 foot-candles of light 

intensity in areas where dairy products are graded or 

examined for condition and quality;  

(3) Provide in each room in which dairy products are not 

manufactured or packaged or where utensils are not 

washed with at least five foot-candles of light intensity 

when measured at a distance of 30 inches from the floor;  

(4) Protect from breakage each light bulb, fluorescent 

tube, fixture, skylight, or other glass suspended over each 

product area where contamination of product by broken 

glass is possible;  

(5) Provide adequate heating, ventilation, or air 

conditioning for each room and compartment to permit 

maintenance of sanitary conditions;  

(6) Provide exhaust or inlet fans, vents, hoods, or 

temperature and humidity control facilities where and 

when needed, to minimize or eliminate undesirable room 

temperatures, objectionable odors, moisture 

condensation, or mold;  

(7) Provide each inlet fan with an adequate air filtering 

device to eliminate dirt and dust from incoming air;  

(8) Clean each ventilation system periodically as needed 

and maintain each ventilation system in good repair; and  

(9) Screen or provide each exhaust outlet with self-

closing louvers to prevent the entrance of insects when 

not in use.;  

n. Rooms and compartments. Each person who holds a 

permit to manufacture dairy products shall:  

(1) Design, construct, and maintain each room and 

compartment in which any raw material, packaging, 

ingredient supplies, or dairy products are handled, 

manufactured, packaged, or stored to ensure desirable 

room temperatures and clean and orderly operating 

conditions free from objectionable odors and vapors;  

(2) Separate each enclosed bulk milk receiving room 

from any of the processing rooms by a partition;  

(3) Separate each room for receiving can milk from any 

of the processing rooms by a partition (partial or 

complete), by arrangement of equipment, or by allowing 

enough distance between receiving and processing 

operations to prevent contamination of milk or dairy 

products during manufacturing and handling;  

(4) Maintain each processing room free from equipment 

and materials not regularly used;  

(5) Coolers and freezers. Each person who holds a permit 

to manufacture dairy products shall:  

(a) Maintain each cooler and freezer where dairy 

products are stored to be clean, reasonably dry, and 

maintained at the proper uniform temperature and 

humidity to protect the dairy products and minimize the 

growth of mold;  
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(b) Maintain adequate circulation of air at all times in 

each cooler and freezer where dairy products are stored;  

(c) Maintain each cooler and freezer where dairy 

products are stored to be free from rodents, insects, and 

animals;  

(d) Maintain each shelf in each cooler or freezer to be 

clean and dry; and  

(e) Install refrigeration units with provisions for 

collecting and disposing of condensate.;  

(6) Supply room. Each person who holds a permit to 

manufacture dairy products shall:  

(a) Maintain each supply room used for storing 

packaging materials, containers, and miscellaneous 

ingredients to be clean, dry, orderly, free from insects, 

rodents, and mold, and in good repair;  

(b) Store each item in the store room so it is protected 

from dust, dirt, or other extraneous matter and so 

arranged off the floor on racks, shelves, or pallets to 

permit access to the supplies and cleaning and inspection 

of the room; and  

(c) Ensure that insecticides, rodenticides, cleaning 

compounds, and other nonfood products are properly 

labeled and segregated and stored in a separate room or 

cabinet away from any milk, dairy products, ingredients, 

or packaging supplies.;  

(7) Boiler and tool rooms. Each person who holds a 

permit to manufacture dairy products shall:  

(a) Construct and provide each boiler and tool room to be 

separate from any room where milk or dairy products are 

processed, manufactured, packaged, handled, or stored; 

and  

(b) Keep boiler and tool rooms orderly and reasonably 

free from dust and dirt.;  

(8) Toilet and dressing rooms. Each person who holds a 

permit to manufacture dairy products shall:  

(a) Provide adequate toilet and dressing room facilities 

that are conveniently located;  

(b) Ensure that each toilet room does not open directly 

into any room in which milk or dairy products are 

processed, manufactured, packaged, or stored;  

(c) Provide self-closing doors for each toilet room;  

(d) Provide each toilet room with a mechanical means of 

ventilation or screened openings to the outside air;  

(e) Maintain each toilet room fixture so that it is clean 

and in good repair;  

(f) Furnish each employee with a locker or other suitable 

facility and shall keep clean and orderly each locker and 

dressing room;  

(g) Provide adequate hand-washing facilities with hot 

and cold running water and mix valve in each toilet and 

dressing room; and  

(h) Post legible signs conspicuously in each toilet and 

dressing room directing employees to wash their hands 

before returning to work.;  

(9) Laboratory. Each person who holds a permit to 

manufacture dairy products shall provide and maintain an 

adequately equipped laboratory properly staffed with 

qualified and trained personnel for quality control and 

analytical testing consistent with the size and type of 

plant and the volume of dairy products manufactured. A 

central laboratory serving more than one plant may be 

acceptable if conveniently located to the dairy plants and 

if samples and results can be transmitted without undue 

delay; and 

(10) Starter facilities. Each person who holds a permit to 

manufacture dairy products shall provide adequate 

sanitary facilities for the handling of starter cultures.;  

o. Water supply. Each person who holds a permit to 

manufacture dairy products shall:  

(1) Provide an ample supply of both hot and cold water 

of safe and sanitary quality, with adequate facilities for 

its proper distribution throughout the plant, and 

protection against contamination and pollution.;  

(2) Separate with an air gap all waterlines carrying the 

sanitary water supply from water to feed a boiler or 

condenser, and ensure the boiler or condenser equipment 

is so constructed and controlled to preclude 

contamination of product contact surfaces;  

(3) Ensure that there is no cross connection between the 

potable water supply and any unsafe or questionable 

water supply, or any other source of pollution, through 

which contamination of the potable water supply is 

possible;  

(4) Perform a bacteriological examination of the sanitary 

water supply at least twice a year and more often when 

follow-up sampling is needed after nonconforming 

results are reported to determine purity and suitability for 

use in manufacturing dairy products. Each 

bacteriological examination of the sanitary water supply 

shall be performed in a commercial, industry, federal, or 

state laboratory certified by the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency for water testing;  

(5) Keep on file the results of all water tests at the plant 

for which the test was performed;  

(6) Comply with the regulations of the Virginia 

Department of Health on the water supply's location, 

construction, and operation;  

(7) Provide water from any well for dairy plant 

operations from a water supply properly located, 

protected, and operated. The water supply shall be easily 

accessible, adequate, and of a safe, sanitary quality, and 

meet the construction standards of Appendix D of the 

"Grade "A" Pasteurized Milk Ordinance, 2013 Revision";  



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 3 Virginia Register of Regulations October 5, 2015 

339 

(8) Assure that any well casing which is part of a water 

supply that provides water for any dairy plant operation 

is not located closer to any source of contamination 

which may contaminate the water supply than is 

specified as follows:  

(a) No permit holder may locate a well casing closer than 

10 feet to a pit;  

(b) No permit holder may locate a well casing closer than 

10 feet to any sewer pipe, floor drain, or other pipe which 

may back up;  

(c) No permit holder may locate a well casing closer than 

50 feet to any above-ground gas, oil, petroleum, or 

chemical storage tank;  

(d) No permit holder may locate a well casing closer than 

50 feet to any accumulated animal manure;  

(e) No permit holder may locate a well casing closer than 

50 feet to any area to which livestock have access; or 

animal-holding area, feedlot, or loafing area on dirt;  

(f) No permit holder may locate a well casing closer than 

50 feet to any pit not drained to the surface of the ground;  

(g) No permit holder may locate a well casing closer than 

100 feet to any pit privy;  

(h) No permit holder may locate a well casing closer than 

100 feet to any animal-manure disposal area;  

(i) No permit holder may locate a well casing closer than 

100 feet to any cess pool;  

(j) No permit holder may locate a well casing closer than 

100 feet to any dry well;  

(k) No permit holder may locate a well casing closer than 

100 feet to any structure which stores animal manure;  

(l) No permit holder may locate a well casing closer than 

100 feet to any septic tank or drain field; and  

(m) No permit holder may locate a well casing closer 

than 100 feet to any underground or partially-buried gas, 

oil, petroleum, or chemical storage tank;  

(9) Construct the water supply so that the well casing 

terminates at least two feet above the highest-known 

flood level in the flood plane for the location in which 

the water supply is located;  

(10) Construct the water supply so that no potable water 

supply pipe attached to the water supply is located closer 

than 10 feet measured horizontally to any sewer pipe, soil 

pipe, or drain.  

(8) Construct the water supply so that no cross 

connections between a safe water supply and any unsafe 

or questionable water supply or other source of pollution 

exists; and  

(9) Construct the water supply so that no submerged 

inlets exist through which a safe water supply may be 

contaminated;  

p. Drinking water facilities. Each person who holds a 

permit to manufacture dairy products shall provide 

conveniently located drinking water facilities of a 

sanitary type in the plant;  

q. Hand-washing facilities. Each person who holds a 

permit to manufacture dairy products shall:  

(1) Provide convenient hand-washing facilities, including 

hot and cold running water, mix valve, soap or other 

detergents, and sanitary single-service towels or air 

dryers in each room where any dairy product is handled, 

processed, packaged or stored;  

(2) Provide convenient hand-washing facilities located in 

or adjacent to each toilet and dressing room and also at 

each other place in the plant as may be essential to the 

cleanliness of all personnel handling milk or dairy 

products;  

(3) Not allow employees to use vats for washing 

equipment or utensils as handwashing facilities; and 

(4) Provide self-closing metal or plastic containers for 

used towels and other wastes;  

r. Steam. Each person who holds a permit to manufacture 

dairy products shall:  

(1) Supply steam in sufficient volume and pressure for 

satisfactory operation of each applicable piece of 

equipment;  

(2) Ensure that culinary steam used in direct contact with 

milk or dairy products is free from harmful substances or 

extraneous material and only nontoxic boiler compounds 

are used, or a secondary steam generator shall be used in 

which soft water is converted to steam and no boiler 

compounds are used;  

(3) Use steam traps, strainers, and condensate traps 

wherever applicable to ensure a satisfactory and safe 

steam supply; and  

(4) Use culinary steam that complies with 3-A Accepted 

Practices for a Method of Producing Steam of Culinary 

Quality;  

s. Air under pressure. Each person who holds a permit to 

manufacture dairy products shall:  

(1) Comply with the requirements contained in the 3-A 

Accepted Practices for Supplying Air Under Pressure in 

Contact with Milk, Milk Products, and Product Contact 

Surfaces; and  

(2) Ensure that the air used at the point of application is 

free from volatile substances, volatiles which may impart 

any flavor or odor to the products, and extraneous or 

harmful substances; and 

t. Disposal of waste. Each person who holds a permit to 

manufacture dairy products shall:  

(1) Properly dispose of all dairy wastes from the plant 

and premises;  
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(2) Construct the sewer system with sufficient slope and 

capacity to readily remove all wastes from the various 

processing operations;  

(3) Utilize a public sewer where available, to properly 

dispose of all liquid wastes and effluent;  

(4) Where a public sewer is not available, properly 

dispose of all wastes so as not to contaminate any milk 

equipment or to create a nuisance or public health 

hazard;  

(5) Provide containers used for the collection and holding 

of wastes constructed of metal, plastic, or other equally 

impervious material and keep covered with tight-fitting 

lids and place outside the plant on a concrete slab or on a 

rack raised at least 12 inches. Alternatively, waste 

containers may be kept inside a suitably enclosed, clean 

and fly-proof room;  

(6) Dispose of solid wastes regularly and clean all waste 

containers thoroughly before reuse;  

(7) Ensure the accumulation of dry wastepaper and 

cardboard is kept to a minimum; and 

(8) Ensure that any accumulation of dry wastepaper and 

cardboard is burned at the plant in a properly constructed 

incinerator, or compressed or bagged and hauled away;. 

3. Equipment and utensils. Each person who holds a permit 

to manufacture dairy products shall:  

a. Use only equipment and utensils made for the 

processing of milk and manufacture of dairy products 

that are constructed to be readily de-mountable where 

necessary for cleaning and sanitizing;  

b. Use only utensils and equipment such as holding 

tanks, pasteurizers, coolers, vats, agitators, pumps, 

sanitary piping, and fittings or any specialized equipment 

the product contact surfaces of which are constructed of 

stainless steel, or other equally corrosion-resistant 

material;  

c. Use only nonmetallic parts, other than glass, having 

product contact surfaces that meet 3-A Sanitary 

Standards for Multiple-Use Rubber and Rubber-Like 

Materials Used as Product Contact Surfaces in Dairy 

Equipment;  

d. Design and install all equipment and piping to be 

easily accessible for cleaning, and shall keep all 

equipment and piping in good repair, free from cracks 

and corroded surfaces;  

e. Install any new equipment or rearrange any existing 

equipment to be set away from any wall or spaced in 

such a manner to facilitate proper cleaning and to 

maintain good housekeeping;  

f. Ensure that all parts or interior surfaces of equipment, 

pipes (except certain piping cleaned in place) or fittings, 

including valves and connections, are accessible for 

inspection;  

g. Use only milk and dairy product pumps that are of a 

sanitary type and easily dismantled for cleaning or are 

designed and constructed to allow effective cleaning in 

place;  

h. Install only C-I-P systems that comply with the 3-A 

Sanitary Practices for Permanently Installed Sanitary 

Product and Solution Pipelines and Cleaning Systems 

Used in Milk Product Processing Plants;  

i. Use only weigh cans and receiving tanks that meet all 

applicable 3-A Sanitary Standards and are easily 

accessible for cleaning both inside and outside and are 

elevated above the floor and protected sufficiently with 

the necessary covers or baffles to prevent contamination 

from splash, condensate, and drippage. Where necessary, 

to provide easy access for cleaning of floors and adjacent 

wall areas, the receiving tank shall be equipped with 

wheels or casters to allow easy removal;  

j. Use only can washers that have sufficient capacity and 

ability to discharge a clean, dry can and cover, and use 

only cans and covers that are kept tinned in accordance 

with the instructions of the manufacturer;  

k. Install water and steam lines supplying the can washer 

that maintain a reasonably uniform pressure and, if 

necessary, are equipped with pressure regulating valves;  

l. Use only storage tanks or vats that are fully enclosed or 

tightly covered, well insulated, and that comply with the 

following:  

(1) The entire interior surface, agitator, and all 

appurtenances shall be accessible for thorough cleaning 

and inspection;  

(2) Any opening at the top of the tank or vat including 

the entrance of the shaft shall be suitably protected 

against the entrance of dust, moisture, insects, oil, or 

grease;  

(3) The sight glasses, if used, shall be sound, clean, and 

in good repair;  

(4) Vats which have hinged covers shall be so designed 

that moisture or dust on the surface cannot enter the vat 

when the covers are raised;  

(5) If the storage tanks or vats are equipped with air 

agitation, the system shall be an approved type and 

installed in accordance with the 3-A Accepted Practices 

for Supplying Air Under Pressure in Contact with Milk, 

Milk Products, and Product Contact Surfaces;  

(6) Storage tanks or vats intended to hold product for 

longer than eight hours shall be equipped with adequate 

refrigeration or have adequate insulation, or both;  

(7) Each storage tank or vat shall meet the appropriate 3-

A Sanitary Standards and shall be equipped with a 

thermometer in good operating order;  

m. Use only separators, the product contact surfaces of 

which are free from rust and pits, and insofar as 
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practicable, are constructed of stainless steel or other 

equally noncorrosive metal;  

n. Install and use only noncoil type batch pasteurizers 

that comply with all requirements contained in 3-A 

Sanitary Standards for NonCoil Type Batch Pasteurizers 

for Milk and Milk Products;  

o. Install and use only high-temperature, short-time 

pasteurizers that comply with the following:  

(1) When pasteurization is intended or required, an 

approved timing pump or device recorder-controller, 

automatic flow diversion valve and holding tube or its 

equivalent, if not a part of the existing equipment, shall 

be installed on all High-Temperature Short-Time high-

temperature short-time (HTST) equipment used for 

pasteurization to ensure complete pasteurization;  

(2) The entire facility shall meet the 3-A Accepted 

Practices for the Sanitary Construction, Installation, 

Testing, and Operation of High-Temperature Short-Time 

and Higher-Heat Shorter-Time Pasteurizer Systems;  

(3) After the HTST unit has been tested according to the 

3-A Accepted Practices, the timing pump or device and 

the recorder controller shall be sealed at the correct 

setting to ensure pasteurization;  

(4) Sealing of the HTST unit shall be performed only by 

a representative of the Virginia Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services or a person accepted 

by the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services as properly trained and experienced to be able to 

seal HTST units;  

(5) The HTST pasteurizer shall be tested by the 

department or by a person certified by the department to 

perform pasteurizer tests initially upon installation and 

whenever any alteration or replacement is made which 

affects the proper operation of the instrument or device;  

(6) When direct steam pasteurizers are used, the steam, 

prior to entering the milk or dairy product, shall be 

conducted through a steam strainer and a steam purifier 

equipped with a steam trap and only steam meeting all 

the requirements contained in 3-A Accepted Practices 

Method of Producing Steam of Culinary Quality, shall be 

used;  

p. Install and use thermometers and recorders that 

comply with the following:  

(1) Indicating thermometers. Long-stem indicating 

thermometers which that are accurate within 0.5°F, plus 

or minus, for the applicable temperature range shall be 

provided for checking the temperature of pasteurization 

and cooling of products in vats and checking the 

accuracy of recording thermometers;  

(2) Short-stem indicating thermometers, which that are 

accurate within 0.5°F, plus or minus, for the applicable 

temperature range, shall be installed in the proper 

stationary position in all HTST and dome-type 

pasteurizers;  

(3) Storage tanks where temperature readings are 

required shall have thermometers which that are accurate 

within 2.0°F, plus or minus;  

(4) Air-space indicating thermometers, where applicable, 

which that are accurate within 1.0°F, plus or minus, for 

the proper temperature range, shall also be installed 

above the surface of the products pasteurized in vats, to 

make certain that the temperature of the foam and air 

above the products pasteurized also received the required 

minimum temperature treatment;  

(5) HTST recording thermometers that are accurate 

within 1.0°F, plus or minus, for the applicable 

temperature range, shall be used on each heat treating, 

pasteurizing, or sterilizing unit to record the heating 

process;  

(6) Additional use of recording thermometers accurate 

within 2.0°F, plus or minus, may be required at the 

discretion of the Virginia Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services where a record of temperature or 

time of cooling and holding is necessary to establish 

compliance with the requirements of this chapter or to 

ensure the safety of a milk or dairy product;  

q. Install and use only surface coolers that comply with 

the following:  

(1) Surface coolers shall be equipped with hinged or 

removable covers for the protection of the product;  

(2) The edges of the fins on all surface coolers shall be so 

designed to divert condensate on nonproduct contact 

surfaces away from product contact surfaces;  

(3) All gaskets or swivel connections on surface coolers 

shall be leak proof;  

r. Install and use only plate-type heat exchangers that 

comply with the following:  

(1) Plate-type heat exchangers shall meet the 3-A 

Sanitary Standards for Plate-Type Heat Exchangers for 

Milk and Milk Products;  

(2) All gaskets on plate-type heat exchangers shall be 

tight and kept in good operating order;  

(3) Plates on plate-type heat exchangers shall be opened 

for inspection by the permit holder at least once each six 

months to determine if the equipment is clean and in 

satisfactory condition and at the direction of the Virginia 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services;  

(4) A cleaning regimen for each plate-type heat 

exchanger shall be posted to ensure proper cleaning 

procedures between inspections;  

s. Install and use only internal return tubular heat 

exchangers that comply with the 3-A Sanitary Standards 

for Tubular Heart Exchangers for Milk and Milk 

Products;  
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t. Install and use only pumps used for milk and dairy 

products that comply with the following:  

(1) All pumps used for milk and dairy products shall be 

of the sanitary type and constructed to meet 3-A Sanitary 

Standards for Centrifugal and Positive Rotary Pumps for 

Milk and Milk Products;  

(2) Unless pumps used for milk and dairy products are 

specifically designed for effective cleaning in place, they 

shall be disassembled and thoroughly cleaned after each 

use;  

u. Install and use only homogenizers and high pressure 

pumps of the plunger type that comply with the 3-A 

Sanitary Standards for Homogenizers and Reciprocating 

Pumps;  

v. Install and use only equipment and replacements, 

including all plastic parts and rubber and rubber-like 

materials for parts and gaskets having product contact 

surfaces, that comply with 3-A Sanitary Standards. If 3-A 

Sanitary Standards have not been developed for the 

equipment, such equipment and replacements shall meet 

the general requirements of this subsection;  

w. Install and use only a vacuum chamber for flavor 

control which complies with the following:  

(1) Each vacuum chamber shall be made of stainless 

steel;  

(2) Each vacuum chamber shall be constructed to 

facilitate cleaning and all product contact surfaces shall 

be accessible for inspection;  

(3) Each vacuum chamber shall be equipped with a 

vacuum breaker and a check valve at the product 

discharge line;  

(4) Only steam which meets the requirements for 

culinary steam shall be used in the vacuum chamber;  

(5) The incoming steam supply for each vacuum chamber 

shall be regulated by an automatic solenoid valve which 

will cut off the steam supply in the event the flow 

diversion valve of the HTST pasteurizer is not in the 

forward flow position;  

(6) Condensers when used with a vacuum chamber shall 

be equipped with a water level control and an automatic 

safety shutoff valve;. 

4. Personnel cleanliness. Each person who holds a permit 

to manufacture dairy products shall provide training and 

ensure that each plant employee complies with the 

following:  

a. Each employee shall wash his hands before beginning 

work and immediately before returning to work after 

using toilet facilities, eating, smoking, or otherwise 

soiling his hands;  

b. Each employee shall keep his hands clean and follow 

good hygienic practices while on duty;  

c. Each employee shall be prohibited from expectorating 

or using tobacco in any form in each room or 

compartment where any milk, dairy product, or supplies 

are prepared, stored, or otherwise handled;  

d. Each employee engaged in receiving, testing, 

processing, manufacturing, packaging, or handling dairy 

products shall wear clean white or light-colored washable 

outer garments and caps (paper caps or hair nets are 

acceptable);.  

5. Personnel health. Each person who holds a permit to 

manufacture dairy products shall ensure that each 

employee complies with the following:  

a. No person afflicted with a communicable disease shall 

be permitted in any room or compartment where milk or 

dairy products are prepared, manufactured, or otherwise 

handled;  

b. No person who has a discharging or infected wound, 

sore, or lesion on hands, arms, or other exposed portion 

of the body shall work in any dairy processing rooms or 

in any capacity resulting in contact with milk or dairy 

products;  

c. Each employee whose work brings him in contact with 

the processing or handling of dairy products, containers, 

or equipment shall have a medical and physical 

examination by a Virginia licensed physician or by the 

local department of health at the time of employment and 

medical certificates attesting the fact that the employee 

when examined was free from communicable disease 

shall be kept on file at the plant office;  

d. Each employee returning to work following illness 

from a communicable disease shall have a certificate 

from the attending physician establishing proof of 

complete recovery, and medical certificates attesting the 

fact that the employee when last examined was free from 

communicable disease shall be kept on file at the plant 

office;.  

6. Protection and transport of raw milk and cream. Each 

person who holds a permit to manufacture dairy products 

shall ensure that each employee protects and transports all 

raw milk and cream in compliance with the following;  

a. Milk cans used in transporting milk from each dairy 

farm to the dairy plant shall be of seamless construction 

with umbrella lids, constructed to be easily cleaned, and 

shall be inspected, repaired, and replaced as necessary to 

exclude the use of cans and lids with open seams, cracks, 

rust, milkstone, or other unsanitary condition;  

b. Each vehicle used for the transportation of can milk or 

cream shall be of the enclosed type, constructed and 

operated to protect the product from extreme 

temperature, dust, or other adverse conditions, and it 

shall be kept clean. Decking boards or racks shall be 

provided where more than one tier of cans is are carried. 

Cans or bulk tanks on vehicles used for the transportation 
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of milk from the farm to the plant shall not be used for 

any other purpose;  

c. The exterior shell of each transport tank shall be clean 

and free from open seams or cracks which would permit 

liquid to enter the jacket. The interior shell shall be 

stainless steel and so constructed that it will not buckle, 

sag, or prevent complete drainage. All product contact 

surfaces shall be smooth, easily cleaned, and maintained 

in good repair. Each pump and hose cabinet shall be fully 

enclosed with tight fitting tight-fitting doors and the inlet 

and outlet shall be provided with dust covers to give 

adequate protection from road dust. Each transport tank 

shall meet 3-A Sanitary Standards for Stainless Steel 

Automotive Milk and Milk Product Transportation Tanks 

for Bulk Delivery and/or Farm Pick-Up Service;  

d. Enclosed or covered facilities shall be available for 

washing and sanitizing of transport tanks, piping, and 

accessories at all plants that receive or ship milk or dairy 

products in transport tanks;  

e. Milk shall be transferred under sanitary conditions 

from farm bulk tanks through stainless steel piping or 

tubing approved by the Virginia Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services. The sanitary piping 

and tubing shall be capped when not in use;. 

7. Raw product storage. Each person who holds a permit to 

manufacture dairy products shall hold and process all milk 

in compliance with the following:  

a. All milk shall be held and processed under conditions 

and at temperatures that will avoid contamination and 

rapid deterioration;  

b. Drip milk from can washers or any other source may 

not be used for the manufacture of dairy products;  

c. Bulk milk in storage tanks within the dairy plant shall 

be handled in such a manner to minimize bacterial 

increase and shall be maintained at 45°F or lower until 

processing begins;  

d. All bulk milk in storage tanks within the dairy plant 

shall be handled in such a manner to minimize bacterial 

increase and shall be maintained at 45°F or lower until 

processing begins. This does not preclude holding milk at 

higher temperatures for a period of time, where 

applicable to particular manufacturing or processing 

practices;.  

8. Pasteurization or sterilization. Each person who holds a 

permit to manufacture dairy products shall pasteurize or 

sterilize all milk and dairy products in compliance with the 

following:  

a. When pasteurization or sterilization is intended or 

required, or when a product is designated "pasteurized" 

or "sterilized" every particle of the product shall be 

subjected to such temperatures and holding periods as 

will ensure proper pasteurization or sterilization of the 

product;  

b. The heat treatment by either process shall be sufficient 

to ensure public health safety and to ensure adequate 

keeping quality, yet retain the most desirable flavor and 

body characteristics of the finished product;  

c. The phenol value of test samples of pasteurized 

finished product shall be no greater than the maximum 

specified for the particular product as determined and 

specified by (i) the phosphatase test method prescribed in 

Official Methods of Analysis of AOAC International, 

17th 19th Edition, Revision 1 (2002) (2012); (ii) the 

Fluorometer test method; (iii) the Charm ALP test 

method; or (iv) other equivalent method as determined by 

the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services;.  

9. Composition and wholesomeness. Each person who 

holds a permit to manufacture dairy products shall ensure 

the composition and wholesomeness of all of their milk 

and dairy products by complying with the following 

requirements:  

a. Each permit holder shall take all necessary precautions 

to prevent contamination or adulteration of the milk or 

dairy products during manufacturing;  

b. Each permit holder shall allow the inspection of all 

substances and ingredients used in the processing or 

manufacturing of any dairy product, and all substances 

and ingredients used in the processing or manufacturing 

of any dairy product shall be wholesome and practically 

free from impurities;  

c. Each permit holder's finished product shall comply 

with the requirements of the Federal Food, Drug, and 

Cosmetic Act regarding their composition and 

wholesomeness;.  

10. Cleaning and sanitizing treatment. Each person who 

holds a permit to manufacture dairy products shall ensure 

that their cleaning and sanitizing treatments are effective 

by complying with the following requirements:  

a. Equipment and utensils. The equipment, sanitary 

piping, and utensils used in receiving and processing of 

the milk and manufacturing and handling of the product 

shall be maintained in a sanitary condition. Sanitary seal 

assemblies shall be removable on all agitators, pumps, 

and vats, and shall be inspected at regular intervals and 

kept clean. Unless other provisions are recommended in 

the following supplemental subsections, all equipment 

not designed for C-I-P cleaning shall be disassembled 

after each day's use for thorough cleaning. Dairy 

cleaners, detergents, wetting agents, sanitizing agents, or 

other similar materials which will not contaminate or 

adversely affect the milk or dairy products may be used. 

Steel wool or metal sponges may not be used in the 

cleaning of any dairy equipment or utensils. All product 

contact surfaces shall be subjected to an effective 

sanitizing treatment immediately prior to use, except 

where dry cleaning is permitted as determined by the 
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department. Utensils and portable equipment used in 

processing and manufacturing operations shall be stored 

above the floor in clean, dry locations and in a self-

draining position on racks constructed of impervious, 

corrosion-resistant material;  

b. C-I-P cleaning, including spray-ball systems, shall be 

used only on equipment and pipeline systems which have 

been designed and engineered for that purpose. When 

such cleaning is used, careful attention shall be given to 

the proper procedures to ensure satisfactory cleaning. All 

C-I-P installations and cleaning procedures shall be in 

accordance with 3-A Accepted Practices for Permanently 

Installed Product and Solution Pipelines and Cleaning 

Systems Used in Milk and Milk Product Processing 

Plants. The established cleaning procedure shall be 

posted and followed. Following the circulation of the 

cleaning solution the equipment and lines shall be 

thoroughly rinsed with lukewarm water and checked for 

effectiveness of cleaning. All caps, plugs, special fittings, 

valve seats, cross ends, pumps, plates, and tee ends shall 

be opened or removed and brushed clean. Immediately 

prior to starting the product flow, the product contact 

surfaces shall be given bactericidal treatment;  

c. Milk cans and can washers. Milk cans and lids shall be 

cleaned, sanitized, and dried before returning to 

producers. Inspection and repair or replacement of cans 

and lids shall be adequate to exclude from use cans and 

lids showing open seams, cracks, rust condition, 

milkstone, or any unsanitary condition;  

d. Washers shall be maintained in a clean and satisfactory 

operating condition and kept free from accumulation of 

scale or debris which will adversely affect the efficiency 

of the washer;  

e. Milk transport tanks. A covered or enclosed wash dock 

and cleaning and sanitizing facilities shall be available to 

each plant that receives or ships any milk in tanks. Milk 

transport tanks, sanitary piping, fittings, and pumps shall 

be cleaned and sanitized at least once each day, after 

use:, provided that if they are not to be used immediately 

after emptying a load of milk, they shall be washed 

promptly after use and given sanitizing treatment 

immediately before use. After being washed and 

sanitized, each tank shall be identified by a tag attached 

to the outlet valve bearing the following information: 

plant and specific location where cleaned, date and time 

of day of washing and sanitizing, and name of person 

who washed and name of person who sanitized the tank. 

The tag shall not be removed until the tank is again 

washed and sanitized;  

f. Building. Each window, glass, partition, and skylight 

shall be washed as often as necessary to keep them clean. 

Cracked or broken glass shall be replaced promptly. The 

walls, ceilings, and doors shall be kept free from soil and 

unsightly conditions. The shelves and ledges shall be 

keep free from dust and debris. The material picked up 

by the vacuum cleaners shall be disposed of by burning 

or other proper methods to destroy any insects that might 

be present;.  

11. Insect and rodent control program. Each person who 

holds a permit to manufacture dairy products shall initiate 

and maintain an insect and rodent control program that 

complies with the following requirements:  

a. In addition to any commercial pest control service, if 

one is utilized, a specially designated employee shall be 

made responsible for the performance of a regularly 

scheduled insect and rodent control program;  

b. Poisonous substances, insecticides, and rodenticides 

shall be properly labeled, and shall be handled, stored, 

and used in such a manner as not to create a public health 

hazard.  

12. Plant records. Each person who holds a permit to 

manufacture dairy products shall create, record, and 

maintain plant records in compliance with the following 

requirements:  

a. Adequate plant records shall be maintained of all 

required tests on all raw milk receipts;  

b. All records shall be available for examination by the 

inspector at all reasonable times;  

c. The following are the records which shall be 

maintained for examination at the plant or receiving 

station where performed:  

(1) Pasteurization recorder charts: retain for 12 months;  

(2) Water supply test certificate: retain current copy for 

six months; and  

(3) Employee health certificate: retain most recent copy 

until employee is no longer employed by plant;  

d. Any milk or dairy product shall be deemed to have not 

been pasteurized if records of the pasteurization process 

are absent or incomplete;  

e. Any milk or dairy product which has not been 

pasteurized and pasteurization was intended by the 

permit holder or required by this chapter shall be deemed 

a public health hazard and may not be offered for sale, 

sold, or provided to any person for human consumption;.  

13. Packaging and general identification. Each person who 

holds a permit to manufacture dairy products shall package 

and identify all products in compliance with the following 

requirements:  

a. Containers. The size, style, and type of packaging used 

for dairy products shall be commercially acceptable 

containers and packaging materials which will 

satisfactorily cover and protect the quality of the contents 

during handling, shipping, and storage in regular 

channels of trade and under normal conditions of 

handling. The weights and shape within each size or style 

shall be as nearly uniform as is practical;  
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b. Packaging materials for dairy products shall be 

selected which will provide sufficiently low permeability 

to air and vapor to prevent the formation of mold growth 

and surface oxidation. In addition, the wrapper shall be 

resistant to puncturing, tearing, cracking, or breaking 

under normal conditions of handling, shipping, and 

storage. When special-type packaging is used, the 

instructions of the manufacturer shall be closely followed 

regarding its application and method of closure;  

c. Packaging and repackaging. Packaging dairy products 

or cutting and repackaging all styles of dairy products 

shall be conducted under rigid sanitary conditions. The 

atmosphere of the packaging rooms, the equipment, and 

packaging material shall be practically free from mold 

and bacterial contamination. Methods for checking the 

level of contamination shall be as prescribed by the 

sixteenth edition of Standard Methods For The for the 

Examination of Dairy Products, 17th Edition, 2004, 

published by the American Public Health Association;  

d. General identification. All commercial bulk packages 

containing dairy products manufactured under the 

provisions of this subsection shall be legibly marked with 

the name of the product, net weight, name and address of 

processor or manufacturer or other assigned plant 

identification, lot number, and meet the requirements of 

2VAC5-531-60. Dairy products in final package form 

intended for distribution to the final consumer shall be 

legibly marked with the name of the product, net weight, 

plant identification number if one has been assigned, 

name and address of packer, manufacturer, or distributor, 

and the requirements of 2VAC5-531-60;.  

14. Storage of finished dairy products. Each person who 

holds a permit to manufacture dairy products shall store 

finished dairy products in compliance with the following 

requirements:  

a. Dry storage. The dairy product shall be stored off of 

the floor at least 18 inches from the wall in aisles, rows, 

or subsections and lots, in such a manner to be orderly 

and easily accessible for inspection. Each room shall be 

kept clean. Care shall be taken in the storage of any other 

product foreign to dairy products in the same room, in 

order to prevent impairment or damage to the dairy 

product from mold, absorbed odors, rodents, vermin, or 

insect infestation. Control of humidity and temperature 

shall be maintained at all times, consistent with good 

manufacturing practices, to prevent conditions 

detrimental to the product and container;  

b. Refrigerated storage. The finished dairy product shall 

be placed on shelves, dunnage, or pallets and properly 

identified. It shall be stored under temperatures that will 

best maintain the quality of the dairy product. The dairy 

product may not be exposed to anything from which it 

might absorb any foreign odors or become 

contaminated;. 

D. Each person who holds a dairy plant permit for 

manufacturing, processing and packaging instant nonfat dry 

milk, nonfat dry milk, dry whole milk, dry buttermilk, dry 

whey, or other dry dairy products shall comply with all of the 

following requirements:  

1. Rooms and compartments for dry storage of dairy 

product. Storage rooms for the dry storage of product shall 

be adequate in size,; kept clean, and orderly,; free from 

rodents, insects, and mold,; and maintained in good repair. 

They shall be adequately lighted and ventilated. The 

ceilings, walls, beams, and floors shall be free from 

structural defects and inaccessible false areas which may 

harbor insects;  

2. Packaging room for bulk products. A separate room or 

area shall be provided for filling bulk bins, drums, bags, or 

other bulk containers and shall be constructed in 

accordance with subdivisions C 2 a through n of this 

section. The number of control panels and switchboxes in 

this area shall be kept to a minimum. Control panels shall 

be mounted a sufficient distance from the walls to facilitate 

cleaning or shall be mounted in the wall and provided with 

tight-fitting removable doors to facilitate cleaning. An 

adequate exhaust system shall be provided to minimize the 

accumulation of dry dairy product dust within the 

packaging room and, where needed, a dust collector shall 

be provided and properly maintained to keep roofs and 

outside areas free of dry dairy product. Only the quantity 

of packaging materials that are used within one day's 

operation may be kept in the packaging area. These 

materials shall be kept on metal racks or tables at least six 

inches off the floor. Unnecessary fixtures, equipment, or 

false areas which may collect dust and harbor insects, shall 

not be allowed in the packaging room;  

3. Hopper or dump room. A separate room shall be 

provided for the transfer of bulk dry dairy products from 

bags or drums to the hoppers and conveyors which lead to 

the fillers. This room shall be constructed in accordance 

with subdivisions C 2 a through n of this section. Areas 

and facilities provided for the transfer of dry dairy products 

from portable bulk bins will be acceptable if gasketed 

surfaces or direct connections are used that appreciably 

eliminate the escape of product into the area;  

4. Repackaging room. A separate room shall be provided 

for the filling of small packages and shall be constructed in 

accordance with subdivisions C 2 a through n of this 

section;  

5. Equipment and utensils. General construction, repair, 

and installation. All equipment and utensils necessary to 

the manufacture of dry dairy products, including 

pasteurizer, timing pump or timing device, flow diversion 

valve and recorder controller, shall meet the general 

requirements as outlined in subdivision C 3 of this section. 

In addition, for certain other equipment the following 

requirements shall be met:  
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a. Preheaters. Each preheater shall be of stainless steel or 

other equally corrosion-resistant material, easily 

cleanable, accessible for inspection, and shall be 

equipped with suitable automatic temperature controls;  

b. Hotwells. Each hotwell shall be enclosed or covered 

and equipped with indicating thermometers either in the 

hotwell or in the hot milk inlet line to the hotwell and, if 

used for holding high heat products, they shall also have 

recorders;  

c. Evaporators or vacuum pans. Each open-type 

evaporator and each vacuum pan shall be equipped with 

an automatic condenser water level control, barometric 

leg, or constructed to prevent water from entering the 

product, and shall meet all applicable 3-A Sanitary 

Standards. When enclosed-type condensers are used, no 

special controls are needed to prevent water from 

entering the product;  

d. Surge tanks. If surge tanks are used for hot milk and 

temperatures of product including foam being held in the 

surge tank during processing are not maintained at a 

minimum of 150°F, then two or more surge tanks shall 

be installed with cross connections to permit flushing and 

cleaning during operation. Covers easily removable for 

cleaning shall be provided and used at all times.  

e. High pressure pumps and lines. High pressure lines 

may be cleaned in place and shall be of such construction 

that deadends, valves, and the high pressure pumps can 

be disassembled for hand cleaning. Each high pressure 

pump shall comply with 3-A Sanitary Standards for 

Homogenizers and Reciprocating Pumps;  

f. Dryers. Spray dryers. Each spray dryer shall be of a 

continuous discharge type and all product contact 

surfaces shall be of stainless steel or other equally 

corrosion-resistant material. Each joint and seam in the 

product contact surface shall be welded and ground 

smooth. Each dryer shall be constructed to facilitate ease 

in cleaning and inspection. Sight glasses or ports of 

sufficient size shall be located at strategic positions. Each 

dryer shall be equipped with suitable air intake filters and 

with air intake and exhaust recording thermometers. The 

filter system shall consist of filtering media or devices 

that will effectively, and in accordance with good 

manufacturing practices, prevent the entrance of foreign 

substances into the drying chamber. The filtering system 

shall be cleaned or component parts replaced as often as 

necessary to maintain a clean and adequate air supply. In 

each gas-fired dryer, precautions shall be taken to ensure 

complete combustion. Air shall be drawn into the dryer 

from sources free from odors, smoke, dust, or dirt;  

g. Roller dryers. The drums of each roller dryer shall be 

smooth, readily cleanable, and free of pits and rusts. The 

knives shall be maintained in such condition so as not to 

cause scoring of the drums. The end boards shall have an 

impervious surface and be readily cleanable. They shall 

be provided with a means of adjustment to prevent 

leakage and accumulation of milk solids. The stack, 

hood, the drip pan inside of the hood and related shields 

shall be constructed of stainless steel and be readily 

cleanable. The lower edge of the hood shall be 

constructed to prevent condensate from entering the 

product zone. The hood shall be properly located and the 

stack of adequate capacity to remove the vapors. The 

stack shall be closed when the dryer is not in operation. 

The augers shall be of stainless steel or properly plated 

and readily cleanable. The auger troughs and related 

shields shall be of stainless steel and be readily cleanable. 

All air entering the dryer room shall be filtered to 

eliminate dust and dirt. The filter system shall consist of 

filtering media or a device that will effectively, and in 

accordance with good manufacturing practices, prevent 

the entrance of foreign substances into the drying room. 

The filtering system shall be cleaned or component parts 

replaced as often as necessary to maintain a clean and 

adequate air supply. All dryer adjustments shall be made 

and the dryer operating normally before food grade 

powder can be collected from the dryer;  

h. Collectors and conveyors. Each collector shall be 

made of stainless steel or equally noncorrosive material 

and constructed to facilitate cleaning and inspection. 

Each filter sack collector, if used, shall be in good 

condition and the system shall be of such construction 

that all parts are accessible for cleaning and inspection. 

Each conveyor shall be of stainless steel or equally 

corrosion-resistant material and shall be constructed to 

facilitate thorough cleaning and inspection;  

i. Dry dairy product cooling equipment. Cooling 

equipment shall be provided with sufficient capacity to 

cool the dry dairy product to 110°F or lower immediately 

after removal from the dryer and prior to packaging. If 

bulk bins are used, the dry dairy product shall be cooled 

to approximately 90°F but shall be not more than 110°F. 

A dry air supply with effective filtering shall be provided 

where air cooling and conveying is used;  

j. Special treatment equipment. All special equipment 

such as instant systems, flakers, pulverizers, or hammer 

mills used to further process dry dairy products shall be 

of sanitary construction, and all parts shall be accessible 

for cleaning and inspection;  

k. Sifters. Each sifter used for dry milk and dry dairy 

products shall meet all the requirements contained in 3-A 

Sanitary Standards for Sifters for Dry Milk and Dry Milk 

Products. The mesh size of sifter screen used for various 

dry dairy products shall be those recommended in the 

appendix of the 3-A Sanitary Standards for Sifters for 

Dry Milk and Dry Milk Products;  

l. Portable and stationary bulk bins. Each bulk bin shall 

be constructed of stainless steel, aluminum, or other 

equally corrosion resistant materials, free from cracks 
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and seams, and must have an interior surface that is 

relatively smooth and easily cleanable. All product 

contact surfaces shall be easily accessible for cleaning;  

m. Automatic sampling device. If automatic sampling 

devices are used, they shall be constructed in such a 

manner to prevent contamination of the product, and all 

parts must be readily accessible for cleaning;  

n. Dump hoppers, screens, mixers, and conveyors. The 

product contact surfaces of dump hoppers, screens, 

mixers, and conveyors which are used in the process of 

transferring dry products from bulk containers to fillers 

for small packages or containers, shall be of stainless 

steel or equally corrosion-resistant material and designed 

to prevent contamination. All parts shall be accessible for 

cleaning. Each dump hopper shall be of such height 

above floor level to prevent foreign material or spilled 

product from entering the hopper;  

o. Filler and packaging equipment. All filling and 

packaging equipment shall be of sanitary construction 

and all parts, including valves and filler heads, accessible 

for cleaning;  

p. Heavy-duty vacuum cleaners. Each plant handling dry 

dairy products shall be equipped with a heavy-duty 

industrial vacuum cleaner. Regular scheduling shall be 

established for its use in vacuuming applicable areas;  

6. Clothing and shoe covers. Clean clothing and shoe 

covers shall be provided exclusively for the purpose of 

cleaning the interior of the drier when it is necessary to 

enter the drier to perform the cleaning operation;  

7. Operations and operating procedures.  

a. Pasteurization.  

(1) All milk, buttermilk, and whey used in the 

manufacture of dry dairy products shall be pasteurized at 

the plant where dried, except that condensed whey and 

acidified buttermilk containing 40% or more solids may 

be transported to another plant for drying without 

repasteurization. Milk or skim milk to be used in the 

manufacture of nonfat dry milk shall be heated prior to 

condensing to at least the minimum pasteurization 

temperature of 161°F for at least 15 seconds or its 

equivalent in bacterial destruction. Condensed skim milk 

made from pasteurized skim milk may be transported to a 

drying plant, provided that it shall be effectively 

repasteurized at the drying plant, prior to drying, at not 

less than 175°F for 25 seconds or its equivalent in 

bacterial destruction;  

(2) All buttermilk or cream from which it is derived shall 

be pasteurized prior to condensing at a temperature of 

185°F for 15 seconds or its equivalent in bacterial 

destruction;  

(3) All cheese whey or milk from which it is derived 

shall be pasteurized prior to condensing at a temperature 

of 161°F for 15 seconds or its equivalent in bacterial 

destruction;  

b. Condensed surge supply. Each surge tank or balance 

tank used between the evaporator and dryer shall be used 

to hold only the minimum amount of condensed product 

necessary for a uniform flow to the dryer. Such tanks 

holding product at temperatures below 150°F shall be 

completely emptied and washed after each four hours of 

operation or less. Alternate tanks shall be provided to 

permit continuous operation during washing of tanks;  

c. Condensed storage tanks.  

(1) Excess production of condensed dairy product over 

that which the dryer will take continuously from the pans 

shall be bypassed through a cooler into a storage tank at 

50°F or lower and held at this temperature until used;  

(2) Dairy product cut-off points shall be made at least 

every 24 hours and the tank completely emptied, washed, 

and sanitized before reuse;  

d. Drying. Each dryer should be operated at not more 

than the manufacturer's rated capacity for the highest-

quality dry product consistent with the most efficient 

operation. This does not preclude the remodeling or 

redesigning of dryers after installation when properly 

engineered and designed. The dry products shall be 

removed from the drying chamber continuously during 

the drying process;  

e. Cooling dry products. Prior to packaging and 

immediately following removal from the drying chamber 

the dry product shall be cooled to a temperature not 

exceeding 110°F;  

f. Packaging, repackaging and storage.  

(1) Containers. Packages or containers used for the 

packaging of nonfat dry milk or other dry dairy products 

shall be any clean, sound, commercially accepted 

container or packaging material which will satisfactorily 

protect the contents through the regular channels of trade, 

without significant impairment of quality with respect to 

flavor, wholesomeness, or moisture content under normal 

conditions of handling. In no instance will containers 

which have previously been used for nonfood items or 

food which would be deleterious to the dairy product be 

allowed to be used for the bulk handling of dairy 

products;  

(2) Filling. Empty containers shall be protected at all 

times from possible contamination, and containers which 

are to be lined shall not be prepared more than one hour 

in advance of filling. Every precaution shall be taken 

during the filling operation to minimize product dust and 

spillage. When necessary a mechanical shaker shall be 

provided; the tapping or pounding of containers shall be 

prohibited. The containers shall be closed immediately 

after filling, and the exteriors shall be vacuumed or 

brushed when necessary to render them practically free 
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of product remnants before being transferred from the 

filling room to the palleting or dry storage areas.; 

(3) Repackaging. The entire repackaging operation shall 

be conducted in a sanitary manner with all precautions 

taken to prevent contamination and to minimize dust. All 

exterior surfaces of individual containers shall be 

practically free of product before over-wrapping or 

packing in shipping containers. The flow shall be kept 

free of dust accumulation, waste, cartons, liners, or other 

refuse. Conveyors, packaging and carton-making 

equipment shall be vacuumed frequently during the 

operating day to prevent the accumulation of dust. No 

bottles or glass materials of any kind shall be permitted 

in the repackaging or hopper room. The inlet openings of 

all hoppers and bins shall be of minimum size, screened, 

and placed well above the floor level. The room and all 

packaging equipment shall be cleaned as often as 

necessary to maintain a sanitary operation. Close 

attention shall be given to cleaning points of equipment 

where residues of the dry product may accumulate. A 

thorough cleanup, including windows, doors, walls, light 

fixtures, and ledges, shall be performed as frequently as 

is necessary to maintain a high standard of cleanliness 

and sanitation. All waste dry dairy products including 

dribble product at the fillers shall be identified as not for 

human consumption and destroyed or used as animal 

feed;  

(4) Storage.  

(a) Product. All packaged dry dairy product shall be 

stored or so arranged in aisles, rows, or subsections and 

lots at least 18 inches from any wall and in such a 

manner to be orderly, easily accessible for inspection and 

for cleaning of the room. All bags and small containers 

of product shall be placed on pallets elevated 

approximately six inches from the floor. The storage 

room shall be kept clean and dry and all openings 

protected against entrance of insects and rodents;  

(b) Supplies. All supplies shall be placed on dunnage or 

pallets and arranged in an orderly manner for 

accessibility and cleaning of the room. Supplies shall be 

kept enclosed in their original wrapping material until 

used. After removal of supplies from their original 

containers, they shall be kept in an enclosed metal 

cabinet, bin, or on shelving and if supplies are not 

enclosed they shall be protected from powder and dust or 

other contamination. The room shall be vacuumed and 

kept clean and orderly;  

(5) Product adulteration. All necessary precautions shall 

be taken throughout the entire operation to prevent the 

adulteration of one product with another. The 

commingling of one type of liquid or dry product with 

another shall be considered an adulteration of that 

product. This does not prohibit the normal 

standardization of like products in accordance with good 

manufacturing practices or the production of specific 

products for special uses, provided applicable labeling 

requirements are met;  

(6) Checking quality. All milk, dairy products, and dry 

dairy products shall be subject to inspection and analysis 

by the dairy plant for quality and condition throughout 

each processing operation. Line samples shall be taken 

periodically as an aid to quality control in addition to the 

regular routine analysis made on the finished products;  

(7) Requirements for instant nonfat dry milk; sampling 

and testing. All instant nonfat dry milk offered for sale 

shall be sampled and tested by the regulatory agency at 

least once each month to ensure that the product meets 

the requirements of subdivision D 7 f (8) of this section. 

In addition, the dry milk plant shall have each sub-lot of 

approximately 4,000 pounds tested and analyzed prior to 

being packaged or offered for sale. Instant nonfat dry 

milk not meeting the requirements of subdivision D 7 f 

(8) of this section shall not be offered as Extra Grade;  

(8) Requirements for Extra Grade instant nonfat dry 

milk:  

(a) Flavor and odor. The flavor and odor shall be sweet, 

pleasing, and desirable but may possess the following 

flavors to a slight degree: Chalky chalky, cooked, feed, 

flat;  

(b) Physical appearance. The physical appearance shall 

possess a uniform white color to light cream color; shall 

be reasonably free flowing and free from lumps except 

those that readily break up with very slight pressure;  

(c) Bacterial estimate. The standard plate count shall not 

be more than 10,000 per gram;  

(d) Coliform count. The coliform count shall not be more 

than 10 per gram;  

(e) Milkfat content. The milkfat shall not be more than 

1.25%;  

(f) Moisture count. The moisture shall not be more than 

4.5%;  

(g) Scorched particle content. Scorched particles shall not 

be more than 15 mg;  

(h) Solubility index. The solubility index shall not be 

more than 1 ml;  

(i) Titratable acidity. The titratable acidity shall not be 

more than 0.15%;  

(j) Dispersibility. The dispersibility shall not be less than 

85% by the Modified Moats-Dabbah Method;  

(k) Direct microscopic clump count. The direct 

microscopic clump count shall not be more than 75 

million per gram;  

(9) Cleaning of dryers, conveyors, sifters, and storage 

bins. Each dryer, conveyor, sifter, and storage bin shall 

be cleaned as often as is necessary to maintain the 

equipment in a clean and sanitary condition. The kind of 
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cleaning procedure either wet or dry and the frequency of 

cleaning shall be based upon observation of actual 

operating results and conditions;  

(10) Insect and rodent control program. In addition to any 

commercial pest control service, if one is utilized, a 

specially designated employee shall be made responsible 

for the performance of an effective insect and rodent 

control program, The insect and rodent control program 

shall be considered effective only if evidence of insects 

and rodents is absent on inspection of plant premises and 

facilities;. 

E. Each person who holds a permit to manufacturer dairy 

products and who manufactures, processes, or packages butter 

and related products shall comply with the following 

requirements:  

1. Rooms and compartments.  

a. Coolers and freezers. The coolers and freezers shall be 

equipped with facilities for maintaining proper 

temperature and humidity conditions, consistent with 

good manufacturing practices for the applicable product, 

to protect the quality and condition of the products 

during storage or during tempering prior to further 

processing. Coolers and freezers shall be kept clean, 

orderly, free from insects, rodents, and mold, and 

maintained in good repair. They shall be adequately 

lighted and proper circulation of air shall be maintained 

at all times. The floors, walls, and ceilings shall be of 

such construction to permit thorough cleaning;  

b. Churn rooms. Churn rooms in addition to proper 

construction and sanitation shall be so equipped that the 

air is kept free from odors and vapors and extreme 

temperatures by means of adequate ventilation and 

exhaust systems or air conditioning and heating facilities;  

c. Print and bulk packaging rooms. Rooms used for 

packaging print or bulk butter and related products shall, 

in addition to proper construction and sanitation, provide 

an atmosphere relatively free from mold (no more than 

10 mold colonies per cubic foot of air), dust, or other 

airborne contamination and be maintained at a reasonable 

room temperature;  

d. 2. Equipment and utensils.  

(1) a. General construction, repair, and installation. All 

equipment and utensils necessary to the manufacture of 

butter and related products shall meet the general 

requirements specified in subdivision C 3 of this section. 

In addition, for certain other equipment, the requirements 

of subdivisions (2) E 2 b through (8) (h) of this 

subdivision 1 d section shall be met;  

(2) b. Continuous churn. All product contact surfaces 

shall be of noncorrosive material. All nonmetallic 

product contact surfaces shall comply with 3-A 

Standards for Multiple-Use Rubber and Rubber-Like 

Materials Used as Product Contact Surfaces in Dairy 

Equipment and 3-A Standards for Multiple-Use Plastic 

Materials Used as Product Contact Surfaces for Dairy 

Equipment. All product contact surfaces shall be readily 

accessible for cleaning and inspection;  

(3) c. Conventional churn. Churns shall be constructed of 

aluminum, stainless steel, or other equally corrosion-

resistant metal, free from cracks, and in good repair. All 

gasket material shall be fat resistant, nontoxic, and 

reasonably durable. Seals around the doors shall be tight;  

(4) d. Bulk butter trucks, boats, and packers. Bulk butter 

trucks, boats, and packers shall be constructed of 

aluminum, stainless steel, or other equally corrosion-

resistant metal, free from cracks and seams and must 

have a surface that is relatively smooth and easily 

cleanable;  

(5) e. Butter, or frozen or plastic cream melting machine. 

Shavers, shredders, or melting machines used for rapid 

melting of butter, or frozen or plastic cream shall be of 

stainless steel or other equally corrosion-resistant metal, 

sanitary construction, and readily cleanable;  

(6) f. Printing equipment. All printing equipment shall be 

designed to be readily de-mountable for cleaning of 

product contact surfaces. All product contact surfaces 

shall be aluminum, stainless steel, or other equally 

corrosion-resistant metal, or plastic, rubber, and rubber 

like material which meet 3-A Sanitary Standards, except 

that conveyors may be constructed of material which can 

be cleaned and maintained in good repair;  

(7) g. Brine tanks. Brine tanks used for the treating of 

parchment liners shall be constructed of noncorrosive 

material and have a safe and adequate means of heating 

the salt solution to a temperature sufficient to bring the 

salt solution to a boil and to maintain the boiling salt 

solution continuously thereafter for the treatment of the 

parchment liners. The brine tank shall be provided with a 

drainage outlet;  

(8) h. Starter vats. Bulk starter vats shall be of stainless 

steel or equally corrosion-resistant metal and constructed 

according to applicable 3-A Sanitary Standards. The vats 

shall be in good repair, equipped with tight-fitting lids, 

and have effective temperature controls;  

e. 3. Operations and operating procedures.  

(1) a. Pasteurization. The milk or cream shall be 

pasteurized at the plant where the milk or cream is 

processed into the finished product.  

(2) b. Cream for butter making.  

(a) (1) The cream for butter-making shall be pasteurized 

at a temperature of not less than 165°F and held 

continuously in a vat at such temperature for not less than 

30 minutes; or , shall be pasteurized by the HTST 

method at a minimum temperature of not less than 185°F 

for not less than 15 seconds;, or shall be pasteurized by 

any other equivalent time and temperature combination. 
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Additional heat treatment above the minimum 

pasteurization requirement is advisable to ensure 

improved keeping-quality characteristics;  

(b) (2) Adequate pasteurization control shall be used and 

the diversion valve shall be set to divert at no less than 

185°F with a 15-second holding time or its equivalent in 

time and temperature to assure pasteurization. If the vat 

or holding method of pasteurization is used, vat covers 

shall be closed prior to the holding period to ensure 

temperature of air space reaching the minimum 

temperature before holding time starts. Covers shall also 

be kept closed during the holding and cooling period;  

(3) c. Cream for plastic or frozen cream. The 

pasteurization of cream for plastic or frozen cream shall 

be accomplished in the same manner as in subdivision E 

1 (e) (2) (a) 3 b 1 of this section, except, that the 

temperature for the vat method shall be not less than 

170°F for not less than 30 minutes, or pasteurized by the 

HTST method at a minimum temperature of not less than 

190°F for not less than 15 seconds;  

(4) d. Composition and wholesomeness. All ingredients 

used in the manufacture of butter and related products 

shall be subject to inspection and shall be wholesome and 

practically free from impurities. Chlorinating facilities 

shall be provided for butter wash water and all other 

necessary precautions shall be taken to prevent 

contamination of products. All finished products shall 

comply with the requirements of the Federal Food, Drug, 

and Cosmetic Act regarding their composition and 

wholesomeness;  

(5) e. Containers. Containers used for the packaging of 

butter and related products shall be commercially 

acceptable containers or packaging material that will 

satisfactorily protect the quality of the contents in regular 

channels of trade. Caps or covers which extend over the 

lip of the container shall be used on all cups or tubs 

containing two pounds or less, to protect the product 

from contamination during subsequent handling;  

(6) f. Liners and wrappers.  

(a) (1) Supplies of parchment liners, wrappers, and other 

packaging material shall be protected against dust, mold, 

and other possible contamination;  

(b) (2) Prior to use, parchment liners for bulk butter 

packages shall be completely immersed in a boiling salt 

solution in a suitable container constructed of stainless 

steel or other equally noncorrosive material. The liners 

shall be maintained in the solution for not less than 30 

minutes. The solution should consist of at least 15 

pounds of salt for every 85 pounds of water and shall be 

strengthened or changed as frequently as necessary to 

keep the solution full strength and in good condition;  

(c) (3) Other liners such as polyethylene shall be treated 

or handled in such a manner to prevent contamination of 

the liner prior to filling;  

(7) g. Filling bulk butter containers. The lined butter 

containers shall be protected from possible contamination 

prior to filling;  

(8) h. Printing and packaging. Printing and packaging of 

consumer size containers of butter shall be conducted 

under sanitary conditions;  

(9) i. General identification. Commercial bulk shipping 

containers shall be legibly marked with the name of the 

product, net weight, name and address of manufacturer, 

processor, or distributor or other assigned plant 

identification (manufacturer's lot number, churn number, 

etc.) and any other identification that may be required. 

Packages of plastic or frozen cream shall be marked with 

the percentage of milkfat;  

(10) j. Storage of finished product in coolers. All 

products shall be kept under refrigeration at temperatures 

of 45°F or lower after packaging and until ready for 

distribution or shipment. The products shall not be placed 

directly on floors or exposed to foreign odors or 

conditions, such as drippage due to condensation, which 

might cause package or product damage;  

(11) k. Storage of finished product in freezer.  

(a) (1) Sharp freezers. Plastic cream or frozen cream 

intended for storage shall be placed in quick freezer 

rooms immediately after packaging for rapid and 

complete freezing within 24 hours. The packages shall be 

piled or spaced in such a manner that air can freely 

circulate between and around the packages. The rooms 

shall be maintained at -10°F or lower and shall be 

equipped to provide sufficient high-velocity air 

circulation for rapid freezing. After the products have 

been completely frozen, they may be transferred to a 

freezer storage room for continued storage;  

(b) (2) Freezer storage. The room shall be maintained at a 

temperature of 0°F or lower. Adequate air circulation is 

desirable. Butter intended to be held for more than 30 

days shall be placed in a freezer room within one hour 

after packaging. If not frozen, before being placed in the 

freezer, the packages shall be spaced in a manner to 

permit rapid freezing and re-piled, if necessary, at a later 

time.  

F. Each person who holds a permit to manufacture dairy 

products and manufactures or packages any cheese shall 

comply with the following requirements:  

1. Rooms and compartments.  

a. Starter room. If starter cultures are propagated in the 

dairy plant separate and dedicated starter rooms or areas 

shall be provided that are properly equipped and 

maintained for the propagation and handling of starter 

cultures. All necessary precautions shall be taken to 
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prevent contamination of the starter, room, equipment, 

and the air therein;  

b. Make room. A separate room in which the cheese is 

manufactured shall be provided in each dairy plant that is 

of adequate size with the cheese vats adequately spaced 

to permit movement around the cheese vats and presses 

for proper cleaning and satisfactory working conditions. 

Ventilation sufficient to prevent condensation shall be 

provided;  

c. Drying room. If cheese is to be paraffined, a separate 

drying room of adequate size shall be provided in the 

dairy plant to accommodate the maximum possible 

production of cheese on any given day for the specific 

dairy plant. Adequate shelving and air circulation shall 

be provided for proper drying. Suitable temperature and 

humidity control facilities shall be provided;  

d. Paraffining room. For rind cheese, a separate room or 

compartment in the dairy plant shall be provided for 

paraffining and boxing the cheese. The room or 

compartment shall be of adequate size to accommodate 

the maximum possible amount of cheese needing to be 

paraffined on any given day for the specific dairy plant 

and the temperature of the paraffining room shall be 

maintained within 5.0°F, plus or minus of the 

temperature of the drying room to avoid sweating of the 

cheese prior to paraffining;  

e. Rindless block wrapping area. For rindless blocks of 

cheese a separate room shall be provided in the dairy 

plant for wrapping and boxing of the cheese. The room 

shall be free from dust, condensation, mold, or other 

conditions which may contaminate the surface of the 

cheese or contribute to an unsatisfactory packaging of the 

cheese;  

f. Coolers or curing rooms. Separate curing rooms or 

coolers shall be provided in each dairy plant where 

cheese is held for curing or storage. Each cooler and 

curing room shall be clean and maintained at the proper 

uniform temperature and humidity to adequately protect 

the cheese. Proper circulation of air shall be maintained 

at all times. The rooms shall be free from rodents, 

insects, and pests. The shelves shall be kept clean and 

dry;  

g. Cutting and packaging rooms. When packages of 

cheese are cut and wrapped, separate rooms shall be 

provided in the dairy plant: (i) for the cleaning and 

preparation of the bulk cheese; and (ii) for the cutting and 

wrapping operation. The rooms shall be well lighted, 

ventilated, and provided with filtered air. Air movement 

shall be outward to minimize the entrance of unfiltered 

air into the cutting and packaging room;  

2. Equipment and utensils.  

a. General construction, repair, and installation. All 

equipment and utensils necessary to the manufacture of 

cheese and related products shall meet the same general 

requirements as outlined in subdivision C 3 of this 

section. In addition, for certain other equipment the 

requirements of subdivisions F 2 b through i of this 

subdivision 2 section shall be met;  

b. Starter vats. Bulk starter vats shall be of stainless steel 

or equally corrosion-resistant metal and shall be in good 

repair, equipped with tight-fitting lids and have adequate 

temperature controls such as valves and indicating or 

recording thermometers, or both. All starter vats shall be 

constructed according to the applicable 3-A Sanitary 

Standards;  

c. Cheese vats.  

(1) The outer jacket of vats used for making cheese shall 

be of metal construction, smooth, corrosion-resistant, and 

easily cleanable with adequate jacket capacity for 

uniform heating. The inner liner shall be minimum 16-

gage 16-gauge stainless steel or other equally corrosion-

resistant metal, properly pitched from side to center and 

from rear to front for adequate drainage. The inner liner 

shall be smooth, free from excessive dents or creases and 

shall extend over the edge of the outer jacket. The outer 

jacket shall be constructed of stainless steel or other 

metal which can be kept clean and sanitary. The junction 

of the liner and outer jackets shall be constructed to 

prevent milk or cheese from entering the inner jacket.;  

(2) The vat shall be equipped with a sanitary outlet valve. 

Adjustable valves shall be provided and properly 

maintained to control the application of heat to the vat;  

d. Mechanical agitators. The mechanical agitators shall 

be of sanitary construction. The carriage and track shall 

be constructed to prevent the dropping of dirt or grease 

into the vat. Metal blades, forks, or stirrers shall be 

constructed of stainless steel or of material approved in 

the 3-A Sanitary Standards for Multiple-Use Rubber and 

Rubber-Like Materials Used as Product Contact Surfaces 

in Dairy Equipment or 3-A Sanitary Standards for 

Multiple-Use Plastic Materials Used as Product Contact 

Surfaces for Dairy Equipment and shall be free from 

rough or sharp edges which might scratch the equipment 

or remove metal particles;  

e. Curd mill and miscellaneous equipment. Knives, hand 

rakes, shovels, paddles, strainers, and miscellaneous 

equipment shall be stainless steel or of material approved 

in the 3-A Sanitary Standards for Multiple-Use Rubber 

and Rubber-Like Materials Used as Product Contact 

Surfaces in Dairy Equipment or 3-A Sanitary Standards 

for Multiple-Use Plastic Materials Used as Product 

Contact Surfaces for Dairy Equipment. The product 

contact surfaces of the curd mill shall be of stainless 

steel. All pieces of equipment shall be constructed so that 

they can be kept clean. The wires in the curd knives shall 

be stainless steel, kept tight, and kept in good repair;  
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f. Hoops, forms, and followers. The hoops, forms, and 

followers shall be constructed of stainless steel or heavy 

tinned steel. If tinned, they shall be kept tinned and free 

from rust. All hoops, forms, and followers shall be kept 

in good repair. Drums or other special forms used to 

press and store cheese shall be clean and sanitary;  

g. Press. The cheese press shall be constructed of 

stainless steel and all joints welded and all surfaces, 

seams, and openings readily cleanable. The pressure 

device shall be the continuous type. Press cloths shall be 

maintained in good repair and in a sanitary condition. 

Single-service press cloths shall be used only once;  

h. Rindless cheese press. The press used to heat seal the 

wrapper applied to rindless cheese shall have square 

interior corners, a reasonably smooth interior surface, 

and have controls that shall provide uniform pressure and 

heat to all surfaces;  

i. Paraffin tanks. The metal tank shall be adequate in size, 

have wood rather than metal racks to support the cheese, 

have heat controls, and have an indicating thermometer. 

The cheese wax shall be kept clean;  

3. Operations and operating procedures.  

a. Cheese from pasteurized milk.  

(1) If the cheese is labeled as pasteurized, the milk from 

which it is made shall be pasteurized by subjecting every 

particle of milk to a minimum temperature of 161°F for 

not less than 15 seconds in HTST Equipment equipment 

or the milk shall be pasteurized by subjecting every 

particle of milk to a minimum temperature of 145°F for 

not less than 30 minutes in vat pasteurization equipment;  

(2) HTST pasteurization units shall be equipped with the 

proper controls and equipment to assure pasteurization. If 

the milk is held for more than two hours between time of 

receipt or heat treatment and setting, it shall be cooled to 

45°F or lower until time of setting;  

(3) b. Cheese from unpasteurized milk. If the cheese is 

labeled as "heat treated," "unpasteurized," "raw milk," or 

"for manufacturing," the milk may be raw or heated at 

temperatures below pasteurization. If the milk is held for 

more than two hours between time of receipt or heat 

treatment and setting, it shall be cooled to 45°F or lower 

until time of setting;  

(4) c. Whey disposal.  

(a) (1) Adequate sanitary facilities shall be provided for 

the disposal of whey. If outside, necessary precautions 

shall be taken to minimize flies, insects, and development 

of objectionable odors;  

(b) (2)Whey or whey products intended for human food 

shall at all times be handled in a sanitary manner in 

accordance with the procedures of this chapter for 

handling of milk and dairy products;  

(5) d. Packaging and repackaging. Packaging rindless 

cheese or cutting and repackaging all styles of bulk 

cheese shall be conducted under sanitary conditions. The 

atmosphere of the packaging rooms, the equipment, and 

the packaging material shall be practically free from 

mold and bacterial contamination;  

(6) e. General identification. Each bulk cheese shall be 

legibly marked with the name of the product, code or 

date of manufacture, vat number, and officially 

designated code number or name and address of 

manufacturer. Each consumer sized container shall be 

plainly marked with the name and address of the 

manufacturer, packer, or distributor, net weight of the 

contents, name of product, and code or date of 

manufacture;  

(7) f. Required records for the aging of cheese.  

(a) (1) Adequate records shall be maintained for the 

aging of all cheese to demonstrate that each and every 

unit and lot of the cheese has been held at or above 35°F 

for a minimum of 60 days or for the number of days 

specified in the standards of identity for the particular 

variety of cheese;  

(b) (2) Each and every unit and lot of cheese shall be 

identified or coded in a way to allow the traceback of the 

cheese from the final consumer to the dairy processor 

and provide a direct means of determining the conditions 

under which it was aged;  

(c) (3) The following records shall be maintained to 

document the aging of each batch or lot or unit of cheese 

produced:  

(i) (a) The date and time each lot of cheese is produced;  

(ii) (b) The number and size or weight of each unit of 

cheese made from each lot;  

(iii) (c) The production code or identification assigned 

for each specific lot of cheese;  

(iv) (d) The date and time for each unit and lot of cheese 

that the aging process was started;  

(v) (e) The date and time for each unit and lot of cheese 

that the aging process was ended;  

(vi) (f) The signature of the person recording each entry 

in the records;  

(vii) (g) The aging temperature for each cheese;  

(viii) (h) A daily log for each aging room or aging area 

which records the date, time, and actual temperature of 

the aging room or aging area a minimum of once each 

day;  

(d) (4) The absence of complete records documenting 

that the aging of any unit or lot of cheese was 

continuously in compliance with the time and 

temperature requirements for aging of the cheese shall 

deem the cheese to not have been properly aged;  
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(e) (5) Any cheese which has not been properly aged 

shall be deemed a public health hazard and may not be 

offered for sale, sold, or provided to any person for 

human consumption.  

G. Each person who holds a permit to manufacture dairy 

products and manufactures, processes or packages pasteurized 

process cheese and related products shall comply with the 

following requirements:  

1. Equipment and utensils.  

a. General construction, repair, and installation. The 

equipment and utensils used for the handling and 

processing of cheese products shall be as specified in 

subdivision C 3 of this section. In addition, for certain 

other equipment the requirements of subdivisions G 1 b 

through e of this subdivision 1 section shall be met;  

b. Conveyors. Conveyors shall be constructed of material 

which can be properly cleaned, will not rust, or otherwise 

contaminate the cheese and shall be maintained in good 

repair;  

c. Grinders or shredders. The grinders or shredders used 

in the preparation of the trimmed and cleaned natural 

cheese for the cookers shall be adequate in size. Product 

contact surfaces shall be of corrosion-resistant material 

and constructed to prevent contamination of the cheese 

and to allow thorough cleaning of all parts and product 

contact surfaces;  

d. Cookers. The cookers shall be the steam jacketed or 

direct steam type. They shall be constructed of stainless 

steel or other equally corrosion-resistant material. All 

product contact surfaces shall be readily accessible for 

cleaning. Each cooker shall be equipped with an 

indicating thermometer and a temperature recording 

device. The recording thermometer stem may be placed 

in the cooker if satisfactory time charts are used; if 

satisfactory time charts are not used, the stem shall be 

placed in the hotwell or filler hopper. Steam check valves 

on direct steam type cookers shall be mounted flush with 

the cooker wall, constructed of stainless steel, and 

designed to prevent the backup of product into the steam 

line, or the steam line shall be constructed of stainless 

steel pipes and fittings which can be readily cleaned. If 

direct steam is applied to the product, only culinary 

steam shall be used;  

e. Fillers. The hoppers of each filler shall be covered but 

the cover may have sight ports. If necessary, the hopper 

may have an agitator to prevent buildup on side walls. 

The filler valves and head shall be kept in good repair 

and capable of accurate measurements;  

2. Operations and operating procedures.  

a. Trimming and cleaning. The natural cheese shall be 

cleaned free of all nonedible portions. Paraffin and 

bandages, as well as, rind surface, mold, unclean areas, 

or any other part which is unwholesome or unappetizing 

shall be removed;  

b. Cooking the batch. Each batch of cheese within the 

cooker, including the optional ingredients, shall be 

thoroughly commingled and the contents pasteurized at a 

temperature of at least 158°F and held at that temperature 

for not less than 30 seconds. All necessary precautions 

shall be taken to prevent the entrance of cheese particles 

or ingredients after the cooker batch of cheese has 

reached the final heating temperature. After holding the 

temperature for the required period of time, the hot 

cheese shall be emptied from the cooker as quickly as 

possible;  

c. Forming containers. Containers either lined or unlined 

shall be assembled and stored in a sanitary manner to 

prevent contamination. The handling of containers by 

filler crews shall be done with extreme care and 

observance of personal cleanliness. Pre-forming and 

assembling of pouch liners and containers shall be kept 

to a minimum and the supply rotated to limit the length 

of time exposed to possible contamination prior to filling;  

d. Filling containers. Hot fluid cheese from the cookers 

shall be held in hot wells or hoppers to assure a constant 

and even supply of processed cheese to the filler or slice 

former. Filler valves shall effectively measure the desired 

amount of product into the pouch or containers in a 

sanitary manner and shall cut off sharply without drip or 

drag of cheese across the opening. An effective system 

shall be used to maintain accurate and precise weight 

control. Damaged or unsatisfactory packages shall be 

removed from production, and the cheese may be 

salvaged into sanitary containers and added back to 

cookers, destroyed or sold as animal feed;. 

H. Each person who holds a permit to manufacturer dairy 

products and manufactures, processes, or packages 

evaporated, condensed, or sterilized dairy products shall 

comply with the following requirements:  

1. Equipment and utensils.  

a. General construction, repair, and installation. The 

equipment and utensils used for processing and 

packaging evaporated, condensed, or sterilized dairy 

products shall be as specified in subdivision C 3 of this 

section. In addition, for certain other equipment, the 

requirements of subdivisions H 1 b through e of this 

subdivision 1 section shall be met;  

b. Evaporators and vacuum pans. All equipment used in 

the removal of moisture from milk or dairy products for 

the purpose of concentrating the solids shall meet the 

requirements of 3-A Sanitary Standards for Milk and 

Milk Products Evaporators and Vacuum Pans. All new or 

used replacements for this type of equipment shall meet 

the appropriate 3-A Sanitary Standards;  
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c. Fillers. Both gravity and vacuum-type fillers shall be 

of sanitary design, and all product contact surfaces, if 

metal, shall be made of stainless steel or other equally 

corrosion-resistant material; except that certain 

evaporated milk fillers having brass parts may be 

approved if free from corroded surfaces and kept in good 

repair. Nonmetallic product contact surfaces shall meet 

the requirements for 3-A Sanitary Standards for Rubber 

and Rubberlike Materials or for 3-A Sanitary Standards 

for Multiple-Use Plastic Materials. Fillers shall be 

designed so that they will not contaminate or detract 

from the quality of the product being packaged;  

d. Batch or continuous in-container sterilizers. Each 

batch or continuous in-container sterilizer shall be 

equipped with accurate temperature controls and 

effective valves for regulating the sterilization process. 

The equipment shall be maintained in such a manner to 

ensure control of the length of time of processing and to 

minimize the number of damaged containers;  

e. Homogenizers. Homogenizers where applicable shall 

be used to reduce the size of the fat particles and to 

evenly disperse them in the product. Homogenizers shall 

meet all the applicable 3-A Sanitary Standards;  

2. Operations and operating procedures.  

a. Preheat, pasteurization. When pasteurization is 

intended or required by either the vat method, HTST 

method, or by the Ultra High Temperature (UHT) ultra 

high temperature method it shall be accomplished by 

systems and equipment meeting the requirements 

outlined in subdivision C 3 of this section;  

b. Sterilization. The complete destruction of all living 

organisms shall be performed in one of the following 

methods: (i) the complete in-container method, by 

heating the container and contents to a range of 212°F to 

280°F for a sufficient time to sterilize the dairy product; 

(ii) by a continuous flow Ultra High Temperature Short 

Time ultra high temperature short time (UHTST) process 

at temperatures of 280°F and above for a sufficient time 

to sterilize the dairy product, then packaged aseptically; 

or (iii) the product is first sterilized according to UHTST 

methods as in clause 2 b (ii) of this subsection, then 

packaged and given further heat treatment to complete 

the sterilization process;  

3. Filling containers.  

a. The filling of small containers with product shall be 

done in a sanitary manner. The containers shall not 

contaminate or detract from the quality of the product in 

any way. After filling, the container shall be hermetically 

sealed;  

b. Bulk containers for unsterilized product shall be 

suitable and adequate to protect the product in storage or 

transit. The bulk container (including bulk tankers) shall 

be cleaned and sanitized before filling and filled and 

closed in a sanitary manner;  

4. Aseptic filling. A previously sterilized dairy product 

shall be filled under conditions which prevent 

contamination of the product by living organisms or 

spores. The container, prior to being filled, shall be 

sterilized and maintained in a sterile condition. The 

container shall be sealed in a manner that prevents 

contamination of the product; and  

5. Storage. Proper facilities shall be provided for the 

storage and handling of finished product.  

2VAC5-531-90. Animal health.  

No person may produce, provide, manufacture, sell, offer for 

sale, store in the Commonwealth of Virginia, or, bring, send, 

or receive into the Commonwealth of Virginia any milk for 

manufacturing purposes unless the person complies with the 

following requirements:  

1. Milk for manufacturing purposes shall be from animals 

that are maintained in a healthy condition and which are 

properly fed and kept;  

2. Cow, goat, bison, and water buffalo milk for 

manufacturing purposes and all cows, goats, bison, or 

water buffalo added to each herd the milk from which is 

intended to be used for manufacturing purposes shall be 

from a herd that complies with the Uniform Methods and 

Rules; Bovine Tuberculosis Eradication-effective January 

22, 1999 1, 2005, 9 CFR Part 77, and each herd shall be 

located in a Modified Accredited Tuberculosis Area or an 

Area Accredited Free of Bovine Tuberculosis as defined in 

Uniform Methods and Rules; Tuberculosis Eradication-

effective January 22, 1999 1, 2005, and certified by the 

U.S. Department of Agriculture or shall have passed an 

annual tuberculosis test;  

3. Sheep milk and the milk from other mammals for 

manufacturing purposes shall be from a flock or group of 

animals that have all been individually tested and have 

passed an annual tuberculosis test;  

4. Cow, bison, and water buffalo milk for manufacturing 

purposes and each cow, bison, or water buffalo added to 

each herd the milk from which is intended to be used for 

manufacturing purposes shall be from a herd that complies 

with Uniform Methods and Rules; Brucellosis Eradication-

effective February 1, 1998 October 1, 2003, 9 CFR Part 

78; and the following:  

a. Each herd shall be located in a Certified Brucellosis-

Free Area or a Modified Certified Brucellosis Area as 

defined in Uniform Methods and Rules; Brucellosis 

Eradication-effective February 1, 1998 October 1, 2003, 

and certified by the United States U.S. Department of 

Agriculture and enrolled in a testing program for the 

Certified Brucellosis-Free Area or the Modified Certified 

Brucellosis Area; or  
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b. Each herd shall meet the requirements for an 

individually certified herd as defined in Uniform 

Methods and Rules; Brucellosis Eradication-effective 

February 1, 1998 October 1, 2003; or  

c. Each herd shall participate in a milk ring testing 

program meeting the requirements specified in Uniform 

Methods and Rules; Brucellosis Eradication-effective 

February 1, 1998 October 1, 2003, in a state that 

conducts a milk ring testing program at least twice per 

year at approximately equal intervals, and any herd with 

a positive milk ring test result shall be blood tested 

within 30 days after the date of the positive milk ring 

test; or  

d. Each cow, bison, and water buffalo in the herd shall be 

individually tested by an "official" blood test as defined 

in Uniform Methods and Rules; Brucellosis Eradication 

for the detection of brucellosis annually;  

5. Goat's milk, sheep's milk, and the milk from other 

mammals for manufacturing purposes shall:  

a. Be from a herd or flock which has passed an annual 

whole-herd or whole-flock brucellosis test; or  

b. Be from a herd or flock that participates in a milk ring 

testing program meeting the requirements specified by 

the United States U.S. Department of Agriculture for 

goats, sheep, or the milk from other mammals in a state 

that conducts a milk ring testing program at least two 

times per year at approximately equal intervals, and any 

herd or flock with a positive milk ring test result shall be 

blood tested within 30 days after the date of the positive 

milk ring tests; and  

6. For diseases of cows, sheep, goats, bison, water buffalo, 

or other mammals which might affect human health, other 

than brucellosis and tuberculosis, the Virginia Department 

of Agriculture and Consumer Services may require 

physical, chemical, or bacteriological examinations or 

other tests as may be deemed necessary by a licensed 

veterinarian or a veterinarian employed by the Virginia 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services to 

diagnose the disease. Each permit holder shall dispose of 

any diseased animals disclosed by testing in a manner 

which prevents the spread of the disease to other animals 

or humans.  

2VAC5-531-110. Dairy products which may be sold.  

From and after January 26, 2005, no No person may 

produce, provide, manufacture, sell, offer for sale, expose for 

sale, or store in the Commonwealth of Virginia, or bring, 

send, or receive into the Commonwealth of Virginia any 

manufactured dairy product in final package form for direct 

human consumption unless (i) the product has been 

pasteurized in accordance with the requirements of this 

chapter; (ii) the product is made from dairy ingredients (milk, 

milk products, or dairy products) that have all been 

pasteurized in accordance with the requirements of this 

chapter; or (iii) in the case of cheese, the cheese complies 

with a standard of identity under 21 CFR Part 133 that allows 

for the cheese to be aged above 35° for a minimum of 60 days 

or the minimum number of days specified under the standard 

of identity for that variety of cheese.  

2VAC5-531-140. Interpretation and enforcement. 

A. This chapter is based on the USDA Milk for 

Manufacturing Purposes and its Production and Processing-

Recommended Requirements, effective November 12, 1996 

July 21, 2011. Except as otherwise provided in this chapter, 

the provisions of this chapter shall be interpreted in a manner 

consistent with interpretations accorded the USDA Milk for 

Manufacturing Purposes and its Production and Processing-

Recommended Requirements, effective November 12, 1996 

July 21, 2011.  

B. The administrative procedures used to conduct case 

decisions under this chapter shall conform to the provisions 

of the Virginia Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. 

of the Code of Virginia). 

C. The Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services shall comply with the following administrative 

procedures when summarily suspending a permit as specified 

in 2VAC5-531-50 D:  

1. The Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services shall serve upon the permit holder a written notice 

of suspension. The written notice of suspension shall 

specify the violations in question and inform the permit 

holder of the right to appear before the Virginia 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services in 

person, by counsel, or by other qualified representative at 

an informal fact-finding conference pursuant to § 2.2-4019 

of the Code of Virginia for the informal presentation of 

factual data, arguments, and proof to appeal this 

determination of violation;  

2. Upon receipt of written application from any person 

whose permit has been summarily suspended (within 30 

days after the effective date of the summary suspension), 

the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services shall within seven days after the date of receipt of 

a written application from any person whose permit has 

been summarily suspended, proceed to hold an informal 

fact-finding conference pursuant to § 2.2-4019 of the Code 

of Virginia to ascertain the facts of the violations in 

question, and upon evidence presented at the informal fact-

finding conference, shall affirm, modify, or rescind the 

summary suspension; 

3. The Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services shall, unless the parties consent, ascertain the fact 

basis for their decisions of cases through informal fact-

finding conferences pursuant to § 2.2-4019 of the Code of 

Virginia. Such conference proceedings include the rights of 

parties to the case to have reasonable notice thereof, to 

appear in person or by counsel or other qualified 

representative before the Virginia Department of 
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Agriculture and Consumer Services for the informal 

presentation of factual data, argument, or proof in 

connection with any case, to have notice of any contrary 

fact basis or information in the possession of the 

department which can be relied upon in making an adverse 

decision, to receive a prompt decision of any application 

for license, benefit, or renewal thereof, and to be informed, 

briefly and generally in writing, of the factual or 

procedural basis for an adverse decision in any case; 

4. No person whose permit has been summarily suspended 

may be granted an informal fact-finding conference by the 

Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services unless the Virginia Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services receives the person's written 

application within 30 days after the effective date of the 

summary suspension; 

5. From any adverse decision of an informal fact-finding 

conference, the permit holder may request a formal hearing 

under § 2.2-4020 of the Code of Virginia by writing the 

Program Manager of the Office of Dairy and Foods within 

30 days stating the request and providing the Virginia 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services with a 

statement of the issues in dispute. If the request for a 

formal hearing is denied, the Virginia Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services shall notify the permit 

holder in writing and further may affirm or modify the 

decision of the informal fact-finding conference; and  

6. If a formal hearing is denied, the Virginia Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services shall notify the permit 

holder of the right to file an appeal in the circuit court.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (2VAC5-531) 

Application for a Dairy Farm Permit, ODF-DS-100 (rev. 

6/2012) 

Application for a Permit to Receive, Process, and Handle 

Milk for Manufacturing Purposes, ODF-DS-101 (rev. 5/2009) 

Dairy Farm Inspection Report, ODF-DS-102 (rev. 2/2006) 

Dairy Manufacturing Plant Inspection Report, ODF-DS-103 

(rev. 1/2005) 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(2VAC5-531) 

Official Methods of Analysis of AOAC International, 17th 

Edition, Revision 1 (2002), Association of Analytical 

Chemists International. 

3-A Sanitary Standards, 3-A Accepted Practices & E-3-A 

Sanitary Standards, effective as of November 20, 2001, 3-A 

Sanitary Standards, Incorporated. 

Standard Methods for the Examination of Dairy Products, 

16th Edition, 1992, American Public Health Association.  

Evaluation of Milk Laboratories, 1995 Revision, U.S. 

Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health 

Service, Food and Drug Administration.  

Beta lactam Test Methods for Use Under Appendix N and 

Section 6 of the Pasteurized Milk Ordinance (PMO), M-a-85 

(Revision #9), December 21, 2001, Food and Drug 

Administration.  

Drug Residue Test Methods for Confirmation of 

Presumptive Positive Results and Initial Producer Trace 

Back, M-I-96-10 (Revision #4), December 21, 2001, Food 

and Drug Administration.  

IMS List - Sanitation Compliance and Enforcement Ratings 

of Interstate Milk Shippers, July 1, 2002, Food and Drug 

Administration 

Bovine Tuberculosis Eradication - Uniform Methods and 

Rules, Effective January 22, 1999, U.S. Department of 

Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service. 

Brucellosis Eradication - Uniform Methods and Rules, 

Effective February 1, 1998, U.S. Department of Agriculture, 

Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service.  

3-A Sanitary Standards and 3-A Accepted Practices, 

effective as of August 15, 2013, 3-A Sanitary Standards, 

Incorporated, 6888 Elm Street, Suite 2D, McLean Virginia 

22101, www.3-a.org  

Beta Lactam and Other Test Methods for Use Under 

Appendix N and Section 6 of the Grade "A" Pasteurized Milk 

Ordinance (PMO), M-a-85 (Revision #14), March 22, 2012, 

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public 

Health Service, Food and Drug Administration, Dairy and 

Egg Branch (HFS 316), 5100 Paint Branch Parkway, College 

Park, Maryland 20740-3835  

Bovine Tuberculosis Eradication - Uniform Methods and 

Rules, APHIS 91-45-011, effective January 1, 2005, U.S. 

Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health 

Inspection Service, Federal Center Building, Hyattsville, 

Maryland 20782 or Assistant District Director, 

USDA/APHIS-VS, Virginia Area Office, 7th Floor, Federal 

Building, 400 North 8th Street, Richmond, Virginia 23240 

Brucellosis Eradication - Uniform Methods and Rules, 

APHIS 91-45-013, effective October 1, 2003, U.S. 

Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health 

Inspection Service, Federal Center Building, Hyattsville, 

Maryland 20782 or Assistant District Director, 

USDA/APHIS-VS, Virginia Area Office, 7th Floor, Federal 

Building, 400 North 8th Street, Richmond, Virginia 23240 

Drug Residue Test Methods for Confirmation of 

Presumptive Positive Results and Initial Producer Trace 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e0910004194~12&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e0910004194~12&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=321f5004194~14&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=321f5004194~14&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=08ce1004194~15&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4a6c7004194~15&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4a6c7004194~15&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a493e004194~14&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a493e004194~14&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a493e004194~14&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a493e004194~14&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://www.3-a.org/
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ee4e2004194~6&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ee4e2004194~6&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ee4e2004194~6&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ee4e2004194~6&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ee4e2004194~6&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ee4e2004194~6&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ee4e2004194~6&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5d37e004194~8&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5d37e004194~8&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5d37e004194~8&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5d37e004194~8&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5d37e004194~8&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5d37e004194~8&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5d37e004194~8&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c09f6004194~9&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c09f6004194~9&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c09f6004194~9&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c09f6004194~9&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c09f6004194~9&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c09f6004194~9&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c09f6004194~9&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=993ec004194~7&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=993ec004194~7&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
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Back, M-I-96-10 (Revision #8), March 22, 2012, U.S. 

Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health 

Service, Food and Drug Administration, Dairy and Egg 

Branch (HFS 316), 5100 Paint Branch Parkway, College 

Park, Maryland 20740-3835  

Evaluation of Milk Laboratories, 2011 Revision, U.S. 

Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health 

Service, Food and Drug Administration and the National 

Conference on Interstate Milk Shipments, HFH-450, 6502 

South Archer Road, Bedford Park, Illinois 60501  

Grade "A" Pasteurized Milk Ordinance, 2013 Revision, 

(HFS-626), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 

Public Health Service, Food and Drug Administration, 5100 

Paint Branch Parkway, College Park, Maryland 20740-3835 

Milk for Manufacturing Purposes and its Production and 

Processing, effective July 21, 2011, U.S. Department of 

Agriculture, Agricultural Marketing Service, Dairy Programs, 

Stop 0225, Room 2968 – South, 1400 Independence Avenue 

SW, Washington, D.C. 20250-0225 

Official Methods of Analysis of AOAC International, 19th 

Edition, 2012, AOAC International, 481 North Frederick 

Avenue, Suite 500, Gaithersburg, Maryland 20877-2417, 

www.aoac.org  

Standard Methods for the Examination of Dairy Products, 

17th Edition, 2004, American Public Health Association, 800 

I Street, NW, Washington, D.C. 20001, http://www.apha.org  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4194; Filed September 15, 2015, 1:54 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-610. Rules Governing the 

Solicitation of Contributions (amending 2VAC5-610-10 

through 2VAC5-610-80; adding 2VAC5-610-35).  

Statutory Authority: § 57-66 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 5, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Michael Menefee, Program Manager, 

Charitable and Regulatory Programs, Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-3983, FAX (804) 

371-7479, TTY (800) 828-1120, or email 

michael.menefee@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) update references to the names of state 

agencies, (ii) update language to reflect current Internal 

Revenue Service filing requirements, (iii) remove obsolete 

references to the Office of Consumer Affairs, and (iv) 

remove the requirement that charitable organization 

registration applications be notarized. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

Part I  

Definitions  

2VAC5-610-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Agents" means one or more persons who transact some 

business or manage some affair for another, by the authority 

and on account of the latter, and who render an account of 

such business or affair to that other. The term "agents" shall 

include the term "subcontractors."  

"Bona fide salaried officer or employee" means a person 

who is in an employer-employee relationship with a 

charitable organization and who is compensated exclusively 

by a fixed annual salary or hourly wage.  

"Budget" means a financial plan of action that itemizes 

expected sources and amounts of income and expenses and 

that is ratified by the organization's Board board of Directors 

directors.  

"Certified audited financial statements" means financial 

statements prepared by an independent certified public 

accountant with an opinion rendered in accordance with 

generally accepted accounting principles (GAAP). [ (See 

§ 57-53 of the Code of Virginia, ] Records to be kept by 

charitable organizations, [ and 2VAC5-610-80 B ] , Financial 

standards [ .) ]  

"Certified treasurer's report" means an income and expense 

statement and a balance sheet for the past fiscal year that have 

been prepared and signed by the organization's treasurer 

verifying that the report is accurate and true. 

"Code" means Code of Virginia (1950), as amended.  

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services or a 

member of his staff to whom he may delegate his duties 

[ under Chapter 5 (§ 57-48 et seq.) of Title 57 of the Code of 

Virginia ] , including, but not limited to, staff of the Office of 

Consumer Affairs.  

"Department" means the Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services. 

"File with the commissioner" and [ or "receipt by the 

commissioner" ] means depositing the [ original originals ] of 

the [ document documents ] required to be filed, along with 

payment of the appropriate fee and all supporting 

documentation, with the Office of Consumer Affairs, 

Washington Building, 1100 Bank Street, Richmond, Virginia 

23219 department. Such [ The department shall deem such 

documents ] shall [ to be ] effective [ filed or received if 

complete (i) on the date ] deposited by hand at the stated 

address during regular business hours [ received by the 

department ], [ or (ii) if sent by mail, on the date 

postmarked ], if sent by mail [ , provided ] such [ the 

document is ] actually [ received by the ] Office of Consumer 

Affairs [ department subsequent to the mailing. ] 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=993ec004194~7&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=993ec004194~7&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=993ec004194~7&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=993ec004194~7&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=993ec004194~7&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=874d1004194~5&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=874d1004194~5&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=874d1004194~5&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=874d1004194~5&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=874d1004194~5&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c8a70004194~10&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c8a70004194~10&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c8a70004194~10&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c8a70004194~10&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=82fea004194~11&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=82fea004194~11&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=82fea004194~11&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=82fea004194~11&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=82fea004194~11&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=74800004194~17&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=74800004194~17&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=74800004194~17&typ=40&actno=004194&mime=application/pdf
http://www.aoac.org/
http://www.apha.org/
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"Foundation," as referenced in subdivision A 1 of § 57-60 of 

the Code of Virginia [ (Exemptions) ], means a secondary 

organization established to provide financial or program 

support for a primary organization with which it has an 

established identity.  

"Gross contributions" means the total contributions received 

by the organization from all sources, regardless of geographic 

location, excluding government grants.  

"Having an established identity with" means a relationship 

between two organizations such that if the primary 

organization ceased to exist, the secondary organization 

would also cease to exist.  

"Health care institution" means any medical facility that is 

tax exempt under the Internal Revenue Code § 501(c)(3) and 

at least one of the following:  

1. Licensed by the State Department of Health or by the 

State Department of Mental Health, Mental Retardation 

and Substance Abuse Services Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services;  

2. Designated by the [ Health Care Financing 

Administration (HCFA) Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services (CMS) ] as a federally qualified health 

center;  

3. Certified by [ HCFA CMS ] as a rural health clinic; or  

4. Wholly organized for the delivery of health care services 

without charge, including the delivery of dental, medical, 

or other health services where a reasonable minimum fee is 

charged to cover administrative costs.  

"IRS" means the U.S. Department of the Treasury [ , ] 

Internal Revenue Service.  

"Local civic league or association" means a not-for-profit 

organization operated to further the common good of the city, 

town, or county that it is organized to serve.  

"Local service club" means a not-for-profit organization that 

is organized for the purpose of providing educational 

services, recreational services, charitable services, or social 

welfare services to the city, town, or county in which such 

organization operates.  

"Past fiscal year" means the most recently completed fiscal 

year.  

"Primary address" means the bona fide physical street 

address of the organization or sole proprietor.  

"Primary name" means the name under which an 

organization is incorporated, if incorporated [ , or,; ] if [ not 

incorporated unincorporated ], has been issued a certificate, 

by the Virginia State Corporation Commission, to transact 

business in Virginia, if so certified [ , or,; ] if neither 

incorporated nor certified to transact business in Virginia, the 

name by which the organization is commonly known or 

referred to, except that such name shall not be an assumed 

name, or a deceptive name, as described in subsection A of 

2VAC5-610-80.  

"Report," "register," and "submit" mean "file with the 

commissioner" as that phrase is defined in this section.  

"Subcontractor" means any agent, (but not an employee), of 

a professional solicitor who solicits under a contract or 

agreement on behalf of the professional solicitor for the 

benefit of any charitable or civic organization with which the 

professional solicitor has a contract or agreement.  

"Trade association" means an association of business 

organizations having similar issues and engaged in similar 

fields formed for mutual protection, exchange of ideas and 

statistics, and for maintenance of standards within their 

industry.  

"Treasurer's report" means an income and expense statement 

and a balance sheet for the past fiscal year, which has been 

prepared by the organization's treasurer and verified by him 

as being accurate and true.  

"Unified Registration Statement" means the [ standardized ] 

form created [ by a committee organized ] by the National 

Association of Attorneys General and the National 

Association of State Charity Officials to consolidate the 

information and data requirements of all states requiring 

registration.  

Part II  

Rules Governing Charitable and Civic Organizations  

2VAC5-610-20. Initial registration.  

A. Documentation required [ for registration ]. Except as 

provided in subsection B of this section, every charitable 

organization subject to registration, pursuant to § 57-49 of the 

Code of Virginia (Registration of charitable organizations), 

shall file [ with the commissioner ] an initial registration 

statement [ with on a form prescribed by ] the commissioner 

[ or the Unified Registration Statement, with all questions 

answered, with two signatures, and with all attachments 

required by Chapter 5 (§ 57-48 et seq.) of Title 57 of the 

Code of Virginia ]. [ Such The completed ] registration 

[ statement ] shall [ not be considered complete unless 

accompanied by all supporting documentation as follows 

include the following attachments ]:  

1. FEE: Fee. The appropriate fee specified on Form 102, 

"Virginia Registration Statement for a Charitable 

Organization," in the amount prescribed in subsection E of 

§ 57-49 of the Code of Virginia, made payable to 

"Treasurer of Virginia";  

[ 2. ] FORM: [ Form. The completed Form 102, ] "Virginia 

[ "Registration Statement for a Charitable Organization," 

or the completed Unified Registration Statement, with all 

questions answered, with two ] notarized [ signatures on 

the form, as specified on the form, and with all required 

attachments; 

3. 2. ] FINANCIAL REPORT: Financial report. A copy of 

one of the following:  

a. For all organizations with prior financial history:  
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(1) The signed and completed IRS Form 990, 990-PF, or 

990-EZ, for the past fiscal year, with Schedule A (Form 

990) all schedules, as required by the IRS, except 

Schedule B, and with all attachments, as filed with the 

IRS. The form must be signed or, if the form is filed 

electronically with the IRS, the organization must submit 

a copy of the IRS [ receipt of filing e-file signature 

authorization ];  

(2) Certified audited financial statements for the past 

fiscal year; or  

(3) If the annual income of the organization is less than 

$25,000 qualifies the organization to file Form 990-N 

with the IRS, a certified treasurer's report for the past 

fiscal year.  

b. For a newly organized charitable organization that has 

no financial history, a budget for the current fiscal year 

shall be filed;  

[ 4. 3. ] KEY PERSONNEL: Key personnel. A listing for 

the current fiscal year of the officers, directors, trustees, 

and principal salaried executive staff officer, including 

their names and, addresses, and titles within the 

organization;  

[ 5. 4. ] CONTRACTS: Contracts. A signed copy of [ any 

and ] all current contracts with any professional fund-

raising counsel and any professional solicitor, as required 

in § 57-54 of the Code of Virginia (Contracts between 

charitable or civic organizations and professional fund-

raising counsel or professional solicitors);  

[ 6. 5. ] GOVERNING DOCUMENTS: Governing 

documents. If the organization is incorporated, a copy of 

the certificate of incorporation, articles of incorporation, 

and any subsequent amendments to those documents, 

[  or,; ] if unincorporated, any [ other ] governing 

documents;  

[ 7. 6. ] BYLAWS: Bylaws. A copy of the organization's 

bylaws and any subsequent amendments to that document; 

and  

[ 8. 7. ] TAX EXEMPTION: Tax exemption. If the 

charitable organization is listed with the IRS as tax exempt, 

a copy of the IRS determination letter and any subsequent 

notifications of modification [ , or,; ] if exempt status is 

pending, a copy of the completed IRS application form as 

filed with the IRS.  

B. Consolidated or "joint" registration. A statewide or 

national charitable or civic organization may file a 

consolidated, or "joint," registration with the commissioner, 

as described in subsection B of § 57-49 B of the Code of 

Virginia (Registration of charitable organizations), on behalf 

of its local chapters, which shall not be considered complete 

unless accompanied by all supporting documentation 

specified in subsection A of this section, if:  

1. The parent organization shares a group IRS exemption 

status with its chapters and all financial reporting is 

consolidated in the parent organization's IRS Form 990, 

Form 990-PF, or Form 990-EZ, or in its certified audited 

financial statements [ , or ] , [ ; ] if the organization's 

annual income is under $25,000 qualifies the organization 

to file Form 990-N with the IRS, in its certified treasurer's 

report; or  

2. Each chapter has its own separate IRS exemption status, 

but the organization's articles of incorporation or bylaws 

state that all financial matters are managed by the parent 

organization and all financial reporting is consolidated in 

the parent organization's IRS Form 990, Form 990-PF, or 

Form 990-EZ, or in its certified audited financial 

statements [ , or ] , [ ; ] if its annual income is under 

$25,000 qualifies the organization to file Form 990-N with 

the IRS, in its certified treasurer's report.  

C. Standard of reporting contributions. [ Any person 

required to report contributions Every charitable organization 

subject to registration ], pursuant to § 57-49 of the Code of 

Virginia (Registration of charitable organizations) [ , shall ]:  

1. [ Shall report Report ] the gross contributions when the 

solicitation does not include goods or services;  

2. [ Shall report Report ] as gross contributions the 

valuation of any goods or services solicited for resale. Such 

valuation shall be determined as prescribed in the 

American Institute of Certified Public Accountants 

[ (AICPA) ] standards for reporting donated goods and 

services;  

3. [ Shall report Report ] the gross contributions when the 

solicitation includes the sale or donation of tickets for use 

by third parties, or when the goods or services sold are of 

nominal value; and  

4. [ Shall report Report ] contributions, which may be for 

net contributions only, when received from special events 

including, but not limited to, dinners, dances, carnivals, 

raffles, and bingo games, when the goods or services 

offered are of more than nominal value in return for a 

payment higher than the direct cost of the goods or services 

provided.  

2VAC5-610-30. Annual registration.  

A. Documentation required [ for registration ]. Except as 

provided in subsection B of this section, every charitable 

organization subject to registration, pursuant to § 57-49 of the 

Code of Virginia (Registration of charitable organizations), 

shall file [ with the commissioner ] an annual registration 

renewal [ with on a form prescribed by ] the commissioner 

[ or the Unified Registration Statement, with all questions 

answered, with two signatures, and with all attachments 

required by Chapter 5 (§ 57-48 et seq.) of Title 57 of the 

Code of Virginia, ] on or before the 15th day of the fifth 

calendar month following the end of the organization's fiscal 

year. [ Such The completed ] registration [ statement ] shall 

[ not be considered complete unless accompanied by all 
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supporting documentation, as follows include the following 

attachments ]:  

1. FEE: Fee. The appropriate annual fee, specified on Form 

102, "Virginia Registration Statement for a Charitable 

Organization," in the amount prescribed in subsection E of 

§ 57-49 of the Code of Virginia, made payable to 

"Treasurer of Virginia";  

[ 2. ] FORM: [ Form. The completed Form 102, ] "Virginia 

[ "Registration Statement for a Charitable Organization," 

or the completed Unified Registration Statement, with all 

questions answered, with two ] notarized [ signatures on 

the form, as specified on the form, and with all required 

attachments;  

3. 2. ] FINANCIAL REPORT: Financial report. A copy of 

one of the following:  

a. The signed and completed IRS Form 990, Form 990-

PF, or Form 990-EZ, for the past fiscal year, with 

Schedule A (Form 990) all schedules, as required by the 

IRS, except Schedule B, and with all attachments, as 

filed with the IRS. The form must be signed [ , ] or [ , ] if 

the form is filed electronically with the IRS, the 

organization must submit a copy of the IRS [ receipt of 

filing e-file signature authorization ];  

b. Certified audited financial statements for the past 

fiscal year; or  

c. If the annual income of the organization is less than 

$25,000 qualifies the organization to file Form 990-N 

with the IRS, a certified treasurer's report for the past 

fiscal year;  

[ 4. 3. ] KEY PERSONNEL: Key personnel. A listing for 

the current fiscal year of the officers, directors, trustees, 

and principal salaried executive staff officer, including 

their names and, addresses, and titles within the 

organization;  

[ 5. 4. ] CONTRACTS: Contracts. A signed copy of [ any 

and ] all current contracts with any professional fund-

raising counsel and any professional solicitor, as required 

by § 57-54 of the Code of Virginia (Contracts between 

charitable or civic organizations and professional fund-

raising counsel or professional solicitors);  

[ 6. 5. ] GOVERNING DOCUMENTS: Governing 

documents. If the organization is incorporated, a copy of 

any certificate of incorporation, any articles of 

incorporation, or amendments to these documents [ , ] not 

previously filed with the commissioner, [  or ] , [ ; ] if 

unincorporated, any amendments to the governing 

documents not previously filed with the commissioner;  

[ 7. 6. ] BYLAWS: Bylaws. A copy of any bylaws [ , ] or 

amendments to that document [ , ] not previously filed with 

the commissioner; and  

[ 8. 7. ] TAX EXEMPTION: Tax exemption. If the 

organization is listed with the IRS as tax exempt, a copy of 

any IRS determination letter or subsequent notifications of 

modification [ , ] not previously filed with the 

commissioner.  

B. Consolidated, or "joint," registration. A statewide or 

national charitable or civic organization may file a 

consolidated, or "joint," registration with the commissioner, 

as described in subsection B of § 57-49 B of the Code of 

Virginia (Registration of charitable organizations), on behalf 

of its local chapters, which shall not be considered complete 

unless accompanied by all supporting documentation 

specified in subsection A of this section, if:  

1. The parent organization shares a group IRS exemption 

status with its chapters and all financial reporting is 

consolidated in the parent organization's IRS Form 990, 

Form 990-PF, or Form 990-EZ, or in its certified audited 

financial statements [ , or ] , [ ; ] if the organization's 

annual income is under $25,000 qualifies the organization 

to file Form 990-N with the IRS, in its certified treasurer's 

report; or  

2. Each chapter has its own separate IRS exemption status, 

but the organization's articles of incorporation or bylaws 

state that all financial matters are managed by the parent 

organization and all financial reporting is consolidated in 

the parent organization's IRS Form 990, Form 990-PF, or 

Form 990-EZ, or in its certified audited financial 

statements [ , or ] , [ ; ] if its annual income is under 

$25,000 qualifies the organization to file Form 990-N with 

the IRS, in its certified treasurer's report.  

C. Standard of reporting contributions. [ Any person 

required to report contributions, Every charitable organization 

subject to registration, ] pursuant to § 57-49 of the Code of 

Virginia (Registration of charitable organizations) [ , shall ]:  

1. [ Shall report Report ] the gross contributions when the 

solicitation does not include goods or services;  

2. [ Shall report Report ] as gross contributions the 

valuation of any goods or services solicited for resale. Such 

valuation shall be determined as prescribed in the 

American Institute of Certified Public Accountants 

[ (AICPA) ] standards for reporting donated goods and 

services;  

3. [ Shall report Report ] the gross contributions when the 

solicitation includes the sale or donation of tickets for use 

by third parties, or when the goods or services sold are of 

nominal value; and  

4. [ Shall report Report ] contributions, which may be 

reported as the net contributions only, when received from 

special events including, but not limited to, dinners, 

dances, carnivals, raffles, and bingo games, when the 

goods or services offered are of more than nominal value 

in return for a payment higher than the direct cost of the 

goods or services provided.  

D. Extension of time to file [ with the commissioner ]. Any 

charitable organization that cannot complete its registration 

renewal on or before the 15th day of the fifth calendar month 
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following the end of the organization's fiscal year, may 

request in writing, as provided in subsection E of § 57-49 of 

the Code of Virginia (Registration of charitable 

organizations), an extension of time to file [ with the 

commissioner ]. Payment of fees is not required with such a 

request. Fees are due when the registration is filed. A 

charitable organization may request an extension of time to 

file [ with the commissioner ], and an extension may be 

granted under the following conditions:  

1. The charitable organization shall send a letter written 

request to the commissioner [ , ] stating that the 

organization is requesting an extension of time to file 

[ with the commissioner ] its registration renewal. If the 

organization has requested [ , ] from the IRS [ , ] an 

extension of time to file its IRS Form 990, Form 990-PF, 

or Form 990-EZ, the organization may send to the 

commissioner a copy of the IRS extension request [ , ] in 

lieu of the letter written request.  

2. If no time period is specified in the written request for 

extension of time to file, the commissioner shall grant an 

extension of time to file of 90 days.  

3. If the charitable organization is unable to complete its 

registration renewal within the time period granted by the 

commissioner in the extension of time to file, the charitable 

organization may request an additional extension of time to 

file.  

4. In any case, the extension or total of all extensions 

requested from and granted by the commissioner shall be 

for no longer than six months after the 15th day of the fifth 

calendar month following the end of the organization's 

fiscal year.  

5. The organization's registration shall lapse if the annual 

renewal is not filed by the 15th day of the fifth calendar 

month following the end of the organization's fiscal year 

and no extension of time to file is requested from and 

granted by the commissioner, or if the annual renewal is 

not filed by the end of the extension period granted. If the 

organization's registration lapses, the organization shall file 

an initial registration [ (and and ] pay the initial registration 

fee in addition to the annual registration [ fee) fee ], as 

prescribed by 2VAC5-610-20.  

2VAC5-610-35. Disclosures required of charitable or civic 

organizations. 

A. Primary name. The charitable or civic organization shall 

include in all solicitations the primary name under which it is 

registered with the commissioner.  

B. Use of another charitable or civic organization's name in 

an appeal by a charitable or civic organization. Pursuant to 

subsection C of § 57-57 of the Code of Virginia, if the 

charitable or civic organization uses the name of another 

charitable or civic organization in its own solicitation, it shall 

submit [ Form 121, "Consent to Solicit," a consent to solicit 

form, prescribed by the commissioner, ] for each charitable or 

civic organization named in its own solicitation.  

C. Preprinted return addresses. Pursuant to subsection L of 

§ 57-57 of the Code of Virginia, the preprinted address on 

any return envelope, prepared under the direction of the 

charitable or civic organization and provided to a potential 

donor [ , ] that is not addressed to the charitable or civic 

organization's own primary address [ , ] shall include the 

name of the business located at the address on the return 

envelope in the following format:  

ABC Charity 

c/o XYZ Company  

111 Main Street (#) 

City, ST Zip Code 

The name on line two may be the name of the professional 

fund-raising counsel or solicitor, a third party caging 

company or bank, a commercial [  mail receiving mail-

receiving ] agency, or other receiver, but [ , ] in any case [ , ] 

must be the name of the company that actually resides at the 

preprinted address on the return envelope. This requirement 

does not apply to mail addressed to a United States Post 

Office box [ , ] rented from the U.S. Postal Service. 

2VAC5-610-40. Exemption from annual registration.  

A. Documentation required [ for exemption application ]. 

Any charitable or civic organization claiming exemption from 

annual registration, pursuant to § 57-60 of the Code of 

Virginia (Exemptions), shall file with the commissioner [ on a 

form prescribed by the commissioner, ] an application for 

exemption from annual registration [ on Form 100, "Virginia 

Exemption Application for a Charitable or Civic 

Organization," ] indicating the category of the exemption 

claimed [ , with all questions answered, with required 

signatures, and with all attachments required by Chapter 5 

(§ 57-48 et seq.) of Title 57 of the Code of Virginia ]. [ Such 

filing The completed exemption application ] shall [ not be 

considered complete unless accompanied by all supporting 

documentation, as follows include the following 

attachments ]:  

1. FEE: A check for $10, Fee. A fee in the amount 

prescribed in subsection C of § 57-60 of the Code of 

Virginia, made payable to "Treasurer of Virginia";  

[ 2. ] FORM: [ Form. The completed Form 100, "Virginia 

Exemption Application for a Charitable or Civic 

Organization" and applicable attachments, with all 

questions answered, and with an officer's ] notarized 

[ signature on the form;  

3. 2. ] FINANCIAL REPORT: Financial report. A copy of 

one of the following:  

a. For all organizations with prior financial history:  

(1) The signed and completed IRS Form 990, 990-PF, or 

990-EZ, for the past fiscal year, with Schedule A (Form 

990) all schedules, as required by the IRS, except 

Schedule B, and with all attachments, as filed with the 
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IRS. The form must be signed [ , ] or [ , ] if the form is 

filed electronically with the IRS, the organization must 

submit a copy of the IRS [ receipt of filing e-file 

signature authorization ];  

(2) Certified audited financial statements for the past 

fiscal year; or  

(3) If the organization's annual income is less than 

$25,000 qualifies the organization to file Form 990-N 

with the IRS, a certified treasurer's report for the past 

fiscal year;  

b. For a newly organized charitable or civic organization 

that has no financial history, a budget for the current 

fiscal year shall be filed;  

[ 4. 3. ] KEY PERSONNEL: Key personnel. A listing for 

the current fiscal year of the officers, directors, trustees, 

and principal salaried executive staff officer, including 

their names and, addresses, and titles within the 

organization;  

[ 5. 4. ] CONTRACTS: Contracts. A signed copy of all 

current contracts with any professional fund-raising 

counsel and any professional solicitor, as required in § 57-

54 of the Code of Virginia (Contracts between charitable 

or civic organizations and professional fund-raising 

counsel or professional solicitors);  

[ 6. 5. ] GOVERNING DOCUMENTS: Governing 

documents. Except as provided in subdivision B 2 of this 

section, if the organization is incorporated, a copy of the 

certificate of incorporation, articles of incorporation, and 

any subsequent amendments to those documents, [ or,; ] if 

unincorporated, any [ other ] governing documents;  

[ 7. 6. ] BYLAWS: Bylaws. Except as provided in 

subdivision B 2 of this section, a copy of the organization's 

bylaws and any subsequent amendments to that document; 

and  

[ 8. 7. ] TAX EXEMPTION: Tax exemption. If the 

organization is listed with the IRS as tax exempt, a copy of 

the IRS determination letter and any subsequent 

notifications of modification [ , or ] , [ ; ] if tax exempt 

status is pending, a copy of the completed IRS application 

form, as filed with the IRS.  

B. Additional documentation required for specific categories 

of exemption. In addition to the documentation required in 

subsection A of this section, the organization shall submit the 

following documentation for the specific exemption 

application category named below:  

1. Category A, Educational Institutions:  

a. Educational institutions that do not confine 

solicitations to their student body, alumni, faculty, 

trustees, and their families, shall provide a copy of their 

accreditation certificate, as proof of qualification for this 

exemption.  

b. Any foundation having an established identity with 

any accredited educational institution shall provide a 

copy of the institution's accreditation certificate, and a 

letter, written by the principal, dean, or the head of the 

institution by whatever name known, which states that 

the institution recognizes and corroborates the 

established identity.  

2. Category B, Solicitation for a Named Individual: In the 

absence of articles of incorporation and bylaws, the 

charitable organization shall file a copy of the trust 

agreement or similar document that includes the following 

information:  

a. The names of the persons who control the funds and 

the fund account;  

b. The number of signatures required to extract funds 

from the fund account;  

c. A statement that all contributions collected, without 

any deductions whatsoever, shall be turned over to the 

named beneficiary for his use; and  

d. A statement [ , ] in the event the named beneficiary 

dies [ , ] naming those persons to whom any funds 

remaining will be distributed upon dissolution of the fund 

account.  

3. Category C, Solicitations not to Exceed $5,000: A copy 

of the organization's budget for the current calendar year, 

and copies of the certified treasurer's reports for the three 

previous calendar years, or for the calendar years of the 

organization's existence, if less than three years.  

4. Category D, Membership Solicitation Only:  

a. The charitable organization shall submit 

documentation of the dues structure for each class of 

members; and  

b. The charitable organization shall submit copies of any 

membership recruitment correspondence, for the past two 

mailings.  

5. Category E, Solicitations by a Nonresident Charitable 

Organization: A complete description of all solicitations to 

be conducted in Virginia by the organization.  

6. Category F, Solicitations Confined to Five or Fewer 

Contiguous Cities and Counties:  

a. The organization applying for this exemption 

(applicant organization) shall submit a copy of each local 

solicitation permit with the application for exemption.  

b. If the organization applying for this exemption 

(applicant organization) grants money to another 

charitable organization (grantee) that lies within the area 

covered by this exemption, but pays the grantee's money 

to the grantee's parent organization that lies outside the 

area covered by the exemption, then the applicant 

organization shall keep on file for three years a statement 

[ , ] prepared by the parent organization [ , ] that the grant 

funds are disbursed to the grantee.  
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7. Category G, Civic Organization: No additional 

documentation is required.  

8. Category H, Health Care Institutions: The charitable 

organization shall submit a copy of one of the following in 

support of the category of application:  

a. The license issued by the State Department of Health 

or by the State Department of Mental Health, Mental 

Retardation and Substance Abuse Services Department 

of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services;  

b. Documentation to show that the health [ care ] 

institution has been designated by the [ Health Care 

Financing Administration (HCFA) Centers for Medicare 

and Medicaid Services (CMS) ] as a federally qualified 

health center;  

c. A copy of the [ HCFA-issued CMS-issued ] rural 

health clinic certificate;  

d. A copy of the free clinic's purpose as stated in its 

governing documents; or  

e. If applying as a supporting organization, a copy of the 

health care institution's documentation (as specified in 

subdivision 8 a, b, c, or d of this subsection) and a letter 

from the health care institution's president, or head by 

whatever name known, acknowledging that the 

supporting organization exists solely to support the 

health care institution. If more than one health care 

institution is supported, supply this documentation for 

each health care institution.  

For any year in which a [ federally qualified ] health 

[ center care institution ] fails to qualify for [ such ] 

designation [ as a federally qualified health center ], that 

health [ center care institution ] shall [ register on Form 

102, "Virginia Registration Statement for a Charitable 

Organization," file with the commissioner a registration 

statement for a charitable organization, on a form 

prescribed by the commissioner ] in accordance with § 57-

49 of the Code of Virginia (Registration of charitable 

organization) and 2VAC5-610-20, or submit any other 

applicable exemption application, in accordance with § 57-

60 of the Code of Virginia (Exemptions) and [ 2VAC5-

610-40 this section ].  

9. Category I, Nonprofit Debt Counseling Agencies: A 

copy of the nonprofit debt counseling license issued by the 

Virginia State Corporation Commission, pursuant to § 6.1-

363.1 6.2-2001 of the Code of Virginia.  

10. Category J, Area Agencies on Aging: A copy of the 

agreement between the charitable organization and the 

Virginia Department for the Aging and Rehabilitative 

Services, pursuant to subdivision A 6 of § 2.2-703 A 6 

51.5-135 of the Code of Virginia, which designates the 

organization as an area agency on aging.  

11. Category K, Trade Associations: No additional 

documentation required.  

12. Category L, Labor Unions, Labor Associations, and 

Labor Organizations: No additional documentation 

required.  

13. Category M, Virginia Area Health Education Centers: 

Copy of the consortium letter issued by the program.  

14. Category N, Regional Emergency Medical Services 

Councils: Copy of the designation letter issued by the 

Commissioner of Health. 

15. Category O, Nonprofit that Solicits Only through Grant 

Proposals: Copy of the IRS determination letter 

recognizing the organization as a § 501(c)(3) charitable 

organization. 

C. Consolidated, or "joint," exemptions. A consolidated, or 

"joint," exemption from annual registration, as described in 

subsection C of § 57-60 C of the Code of Virginia 

(Exemptions), will apply to those local chapters, branches, or 

affiliates which that belong to a network membership. In this 

instance, the parent membership organization shall submit the 

consolidated application on behalf of its local chapters, 

branches, or affiliates, and, if exempted, shall submit a 

membership roster annually to the commissioner. If the 

exemption category is of a local nature, such as for civic 

organizations, the exemption shall apply to the local chapters, 

but not to the parent organization, if the parent organization, 

in this instance, is soliciting contributions statewide. In this 

instance, the parent organization shall file its own application 

for exemption under § 57-60 of the Code of Virginia 

(Exemptions), if applicable, or its own annual registration 

under § 57-49 of the Code of Virginia (Registration of 

charitable organizations).  

D. Primary name. The charitable or civic organization shall 

include in all solicitations the primary name under which it is 

registered with the commissioner.  

E. Use of another charitable or civic organization's name in 

an appeal by a charitable or civic organization. Pursuant to 

§ 57-57 C of the Code of Virginia (Prohibited acts), if the 

charitable or civic organization uses the name of another 

charitable or civic organization in its own solicitation, it shall 

submit Form 121, "Consent to Solicit," for each charitable or 

civic organization named in its own solicitation.  

F. Preprinted return addresses. Pursuant to § 57-57 L of the 

Code of Virginia (Prohibited acts), the preprinted address on 

any return envelope, prepared under the direction of the 

charitable or civic organization and provided to a potential 

donor, that is not addressed to the charitable or civic 

organization's own primary address shall include the name of 

the business located at the address on the return envelope in 

the following format:  

ABC Charity 

c/o XYZ Company  

111 Main Street (#) 

City, ST Zip Code 
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The name on line two may be the name of the professional 

fund-raising counsel or solicitor, a third party caging 

company or bank, a commercial mail receiving agency, or 

other receiver, but in any case must be the name of the 

company that actually resides at the preprinted address on the 

return envelope. This requirement does not apply to mail 

addressed to a United States Post Office box, rented from the 

U.S. Postal Service.  

2VAC5-610-50. Discontinuance of solicitations in 

Virginia.  

A. Ceasing solicitations. If a charitable or civic organization 

ceases to solicit contributions in Virginia, the charitable or 

civic organization shall notify the commissioner on or before 

the 15th day of the fifth month following the end of the 

organization's fiscal year, and shall submit a copy of the 

signed and completed IRS Form 990, 990-PF, or 990-EZ [ , ] 

for the past fiscal year [ , ] with Schedule A (Form 990) all 

schedules, as required by the IRS, except Schedule B, and 

[ with ] all attachments, as filed with the IRS, or [ with ] 

certified audited financial statements for the past fiscal year, 

or, if the organization's annual income is less than $25,000 

qualifies the organization to file Form 990-N with the IRS, a 

certified treasurer's report for the past fiscal year. If the 

organization submits the IRS Form 990, 990-PF, or 990 EZ, 

the form must be signed [ , ] or [ , ] if the form is filed 

electronically [ with the IRS ], the organization must submit a 

copy of the IRS [ receipt of filing e-file signature 

authorization ].  

B. Dissolution of a charitable or civic organization. Upon a 

charitable or civic organization's dissolution, the organization 

shall submit a copy of its certificate of dissolution and a 

statement showing the distribution of its funds. Such 

statement shall be a copy of the IRS Form 990, Form 990-PF, 

or Form 990-EZ, with Schedule A (Form 990) all schedules, 

as required by the IRS, except Schedule B, and with all 

attachments, as filed with the IRS upon dissolution, or 

certified audited financial statements, or, if annual income is 

less than $25,000 qualifies the organization to file Form 990-

N with the IRS, a certified treasurer's report, showing the 

distribution of its funds. If the organization submits the IRS 

Form 990, 990-PF, or 990 EZ, the form must be signed [ , ] or 

[ , ] if the form is filed electronically [ with the IRS ], the 

organization must submit a copy of the IRS [ receipt of filing 

e-file signature authorization ]. 

Part III  

Rules Governing a Professional Fund-Raising Counsel  

2VAC5-610-60. Registration of a professional fund-raising 

counsel.  

A. Documentation required for registration. Any 

professional fund-raising counsel subject to registration, 

pursuant to § 57-61 of the Code of Virginia (Registration of 

professional fund-raising counsels and solicitors), shall file 

[ with the commissioner ] a registration statement [ with on a 

form prescribed by ] the commissioner [ , with all questions 

answered and with an officer's notarized signature ]. [ Such 

The completed ] registration [ statement ] shall [ not be 

considered complete, unless accompanied by all supporting 

documentation, as follows include the following 

attachments ]:  

1. FEE: Annual fee of $100, Fee. An annual fee in the 

amount prescribed in subsection A of § 57-61 of the Code 

of Virginia, made payable to "Treasurer of Virginia"; 

[ and ] 

[ 2. ] FORM: [ Form. The completed Form 103, ] "Virginia 

[ "Registration Statement for a Professional ] Fund-raising 

[ Fundraising Counsel," with all questions answered, and 

with an officer's notarized signature on the form; and  

3. 2. ] CONTRACTS: Contracts. A signed copy of [ any 

and ] all current contracts with charitable or civic 

organizations soliciting in Virginia, as required by § 57-54 

of the Code of Virginia (Contracts between charitable or 

civic organizations and professional fund-raising counsel 

or professional solicitors).  

B. Preprinted return addresses. Pursuant to subsection L of 

§ 57-57 L of the Code of Virginia (Prohibited acts), the 

preprinted address on any return envelope, prepared under the 

direction of the professional fund-raising counsel and 

provided to a potential donor [ , ] that is not addressed to the 

charitable or civic organization's own primary address [ , ] 

shall include the name of the business located at the address 

on the return envelope in the following format:  

ABC Charity 

c/o XYZ Company  

111 Main Street (#) 

City, ST Zip Code 

The name on line two may be the name of the professional 

fund-raising counsel, a third party caging company or bank, a 

commercial mail-receiving agency, or other receiver, but [ , ] 

in any case [ , ] must be the name of the company that 

actually resides at the preprinted address on the return 

envelope. This requirement does not apply to mail addressed 

to a United States Post Office box [ , ] rented from the U.S. 

Postal Service.  

Part IV  

Rules Governing a Professional Solicitor  

2VAC5-610-70. Rules governing a professional solicitor.  

A. Documentation required for registration. Any 

professional solicitor subject to registration, pursuant to § 57-

61 of the Code of Virginia (Registration of professional fund-

raising counsel and solicitors), shall file [ with the 

commissioner ] a registration statement [ with on a form 

prescribed by ] the commissioner [ , with all questions 

answered and with an officer's notarized signature ]. In 

accordance with subsection A of § 57-61 A of the Code of 

Virginia (Registration of professional fund-raising counsels 

and solicitors), a professional solicitor may register for and 

pay a single fee on behalf of all its members, officers, agents 
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(including any subcontractors), and employees. For any 

specific campaign, any agent or subcontractor not directly 

under contract or agreement to the registered professional 

solicitor must file [ with the commissioner ] its own 

registration. [ Such The completed ] registration [ statement ] 

shall [ not be considered complete unless accompanied by all 

supporting documentation as follows include the following 

attachments ]:  

1. FEE: Annual fee of $500, and late filing fee of $250, if 

applicable, Fee. An annual fee and late filing fee, if 

applicable, in the amount prescribed in subsection A of 

§ 57-61 of the Code of Virginia, made payable to 

"Treasurer of Virginia"; 

 [ 2. ] FORM: [ Form. The completed Form 104, ] 

"Virginia [ "Registration Statement for a Professional 

Solicitor," with all questions answered, and with an 

officer's notarized signature on the form;  

3. 2. ] BOND: Bond. The completed [ Form 105, 

"Professional Solicitor's Bond," in the sum professional 

solicitor's bond form prescribed by the commissioner as ] 

of $20,000 [ prescribed required ] in subsection B of § 57-

61 of the Code of Virginia [ , ] with corporate surety 

authorized by the [ Virginia ] State Corporation 

Commission to act as a surety within the Commonwealth;  

[ 4. 3. ] GOVERNING DOCUMENTS: Governing 

documents. A copy of the certificate and articles of 

incorporation [ , ] if the solicitor is incorporated, and [ , ] if 

a nonresident (foreign) partnership or corporation, the 

certificate to do of authority to transact business in 

Virginia, as required by the Virginia State Corporation 

Commission; and  

[ 5. 4. ] CONTRACTS: Contracts. A signed copy of [ any 

and ] all current contracts with charitable or civic 

organizations soliciting in Virginia, as required by § 57-54 

of the Code of Virginia (Contracts between charitable or 

civic organizations and professional fund-raising counsel 

or professional solicitors), and all current contracts with 

any agents or subcontractors hired to fulfill the terms of the 

contracts with those charitable or civic organizations.  

B. Written authorization from charitable organizations. No 

professional solicitor or subcontractor shall solicit in the 

name of, or on behalf of, any charitable or civic organization 

unless such solicitor has filed with the commissioner one 

copy of a written authorization from two officers of such 

organization, as required in subsection F of § 57-57 of the 

Code of Virginia (Prohibited acts). Such written authorization 

shall be submitted [ on Form 121, "Consent to Solicit," or 

Form 120, "Solicitation Notice." Form 121, "Consent to 

Solicit," as a solicitation notice or consent to solicit on a form 

prescribed by the commissioner. The consent to solicit ] shall 

be submitted by the professional solicitor for each agent or 

subcontractor authorized by the charitable or civic 

organization to conduct the fund-raising campaign. [ Form 

121, "Consent to Solicit," The consent to solicit ] shall be 

submitted by the professional solicitor for each charitable or 

civic organization named in a fund-raising campaign, in 

addition to the charitable or civic organization with which the 

professional solicitor has a contract or agreement.  

C. Disclosures.  

1. Pursuant to § 57-55.2 of the Code of Virginia 

(Charitable solicitation disclosure), each professional 

solicitor shall, in the course of an oral solicitation:  

a. Identify himself by:  

(1) Disclosing his own real first name and surname;  

(2) Stating affirmatively that he is a "paid solicitor"; and  

(3) Disclosing the primary name under which the 

professional solicitor is registered with the commissioner 

or [ , ] if he is employed by a subcontractor, disclosing 

the primary name of the subcontractor as identified on 

[ Form 121, "Consent to Solicit" the consent to solicit 

form prescribed by the commissioner ]; and  

b. Identify his employing charitable or civic organization 

by disclosing the primary name, as registered with the 

commissioner, of the charitable or civic organization for 

which the solicitation is being made.  

An example of the disclosure for a professional solicitor 

would be: "This is John Doe, a paid solicitor of XYZ 

Company. I'm calling on behalf of DEF Charity."  

An example of the disclosure for a subcontractor would 

be: "This is John Doe, a paid solicitor of XYZ Company. 

I'm calling on behalf of DEF Charity."  

An example of the disclosure for an employee of a 

subcontractor would be: "This is John Doe, a paid 

solicitor of ABC subcontractor. I'm calling on behalf of 

DEF Charity."  

2. Pursuant to clause (iii) of § 57-55.2 of the Code of 

Virginia (Charitable solicitation disclosure), each 

professional solicitor shall, in the course of a written 

solicitation, include the following statement: "The 

professional solicitor conducting this campaign, (primary 

name of professional solicitor), files a financial report for 

each campaign it conducts. Copies of these financial 

reports are available from the Virginia Office of Consumer 

Affairs Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, 

P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218." This statement 

shall be in bold typeface no smaller than 10-point with 

grammatically correct capitalization and [ lower case 

lowercase ] letters. The statement shall appear on the front 

side of the document on a portion that is retained by the 

potential donor.  

3. Pursuant to subsection L of § 57-57 L of the Code of 

Virginia (Prohibited acts), the preprinted address on any 

return envelope, prepared under the direction of the 

professional solicitor and provided to a potential donor, 

that is not addressed to the charitable or civic 

organization's own primary address [ , ] shall include the 
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name of the business located at the address on the return 

envelope in the following format:  

ABC Charity 

c/o XYZ Company  

111 Main Street (#) 

City, ST Zip Code 

The name on line two may be the name of the professional 

solicitor, a third party caging company or bank, a 

commercial mail-receiving agency, or other receiver, but 

[ , ] in any case [ , ] must be the name of the company that 

actually resides at the preprinted address on the return 

envelope. This requirement does not apply to mail 

addressed to a United States Post Office box, rented from 

the U.S. Postal Service.  

D. Contribution collection devices.  

1. Pursuant to subsections A and D and clause (i) of 

subsection F of § 57-61 of the Code of Virginia 

(Registration of professional fund-raising counsel and 

solicitors), for a solicitation campaign employing 

collection devices including, but not limited to, vending 

machines or canisters, the professional solicitor shall 

maintain a record listing each establishment in which a 

collection device is placed including:  

a. The name of the establishment;  

b. The primary address of the establishment;  

c. The name of the person in the establishment who 

granted permission to place the collection device there;  

d. The date the collection device was placed in the 

establishment; and  

e. The date on which the collection device was removed.  

2. The professional solicitor employing contribution 

collection devices shall comply with the disclosure 

provisions of subsection C of this section, and with the 

campaign documents provisions of subsection E of this 

section.  

E. Fund-raising campaign forms.  

1. The professional solicitor shall submit [ Form 120, 

"Solicitation Notice," and Form 130, "Final Accounting 

Report," the solicitation notice and final accounting report, 

on forms prescribed by the commissioner, ] as required in 

subsections A and D of § 57-61 of the Code of Virginia 

(Registration of professional fund-raising counsel and 

solicitors), and such forms shall not be considered as filed 

unless all questions are answered and contain original 

signatures of all required parties.  

2. The professional solicitor shall submit the completed 

[ Form 120, "Solicitation Notice" solicitation notice on a 

form prescribed by the commissioner ]:  

a. Prior to any fund-raising campaign; and  

b. Annually, on or before the anniversary of the contract 

date, for any continuous fund-raising campaign.  

3. The professional solicitor shall submit an amended 

[ Form 120, "Solicitation Notice," solicitation notice on a 

form prescribed by the commissioner ] within seven days 

of any changes to information previously submitted.  

4. The professional solicitor shall submit, upon 

cancellation of a fund-raising campaign prior to any 

solicitations, a copy of the completed [ Form 120, 

"Solicitation Notice," solicitation notice form ] previously 

filed, with a statement indicating that the campaign has 

been canceled. If a campaign is canceled after solicitations 

have begun, the professional solicitor shall notify the 

commissioner of the cancellation within seven days of the 

cancellation and submit [ Form 130, "Final Accounting 

Report," the final accounting report on a form prescribed 

by the commissioner ] in accordance with subsection E of 

§ 57-61 E of the Code of Virginia (Registration of 

professional fund-raising counsels and solicitors) and this 

section.  

5. The professional solicitor shall submit [ Form 130, 

"Final Accounting Report" the final accounting report on a 

form prescribed by the commissioner ]:  

a. Not later than 90 days after the completion date of the 

solicitation campaign, or in accordance with extensions 

granted pursuant to subsection E of § 57-61 E of the 

Code of Virginia (Registration of professional fund-

raising counsels and solicitors), and any subsequent 

changes in the information submitted shall be reported 

every 90 days thereafter, for a fund-raising campaign of 

finite duration; and  

b. On an annual basis, not later than 90 days after the 

anniversary of the contract date, or in accordance with 

extensions granted pursuant to subsection E of § 57-61 E 

of the Code of Virginia (Registration of professional 

fund-raising counsels and solicitors), for a continuous 

fund-raising campaign.  

[ Form 130, "Final Accounting Report," 6. The final 

accounting report required by subdivision E 5 of this 

section ] shall not be considered as filed if the completed 

form does not contain original signatures or if any blanks 

are not filled in or attachments are missing. Any applicable 

late filing fees, pursuant to subsection E of § 57-61 E of 

the Code of Virginia (Registration of professional fund-

raising counsels and solicitors), will continue to accrue 

until a completed [ Form 130, "Final Accounting Report," 

final accounting report ] is filed.  

[ 6. 7. ] The professional solicitor shall maintain during the 

solicitation, and for a period of three years thereafter, 

[ written commitments, on Form 132, "Commitment for 

Receipt of Donated Tickets," of acknowledgment of 

receipt of donated tickets on a form prescribed by the 

commissioner from ] each person or charitable or civic 

organization to accept tickets and specifying the number of 

persons on whose behalf tickets were to be accepted. Such 

completed forms shall be submitted after notice from the 
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commissioner to produce such, pursuant to subsection M 

of § 57-57 of the Code of Virginia (Prohibited acts).  

F. Subcontractors.  

1. Filing requirements.  

a. Any subcontractor operating under a contract or 

agreement with a registered professional solicitor shall be 

treated as an agent of that professional solicitor and is not 

required to register.  

b. Any agent (but not an employee) of a subcontractor 

operating under a contract or agreement with that 

subcontractor to solicit shall register separately.  

2. Authorizations to solicit.  

a. Subcontractors shall operate under a written contract 

and such contract shall be filed with the Commissioner 

commissioner, pursuant to subdivision A [ 5 4 ] of this 

section.  

b. Subcontractors shall have written authorization from 

two officers of the charitable or civic organization to 

solicit on their behalf. Such authorization may be filed on 

[ Form 121, "Consent to Solicit." a consent to solicit 

form prescribed by the commissioner. ]  

3. Subcontractors shall keep records in accordance with 

subsection F of § 57-61 F of the Code of Virginia 

(Registration of professional fundraising counsels and 

solicitors) and shall furnish either the originals or copies to 

the registered professional solicitor.  

Part V  

General Provisions  

2VAC5-610-80. General provisions.  

A. Deceptive names. No charitable or civic organization, 

professional solicitor, or other person shall solicit 

contributions using a word, name, symbol or device, or any 

combination thereof, or identifying itself or its client with a 

word, name, symbol or device, or any combination thereof, 

that is likely to cause confusion, or to cause mistake, or to 

deceive the public by:  

1. Using a name that may cause an entity to be confused 

with or mistaken for another previously registered or 

exempt entity; or  

2. Using a name that may cause a professional solicitor to 

be confused with or mistaken for a charitable or civic 

organization, or mistaken for having the status of a 

charitable or civic organization.  

B. Financial standards. Fiscal records shall be kept in 

accordance with the standards and practices as specified in 

§ 57-53 of the Code of Virginia (Records to be kept by 

charitable organizations), or generally accepted accounting 

principles and reporting practices of the organization's 

particular field as recognized by the American Institute of 

Certified Public Accountants.  

C. Disclosure by for-profit organizations. Every professional 

solicitor that solicits contributions for a for-profit 

organization and every for-profit organization required to 

issue a written statement for contributions received shall 

include in the disclosure required by § 57-55.2:1 of the Code 

of Virginia (Solicitations by for-profit organizations) a 

statement that the contributors' donations are not tax-

deductible on the contributors' income tax returns.  

[ D. Receipt. The department shall deem completed 

documents to be filed or received (i) on the date received by 

the department or (ii) if sent by mail, on the date postmarked 

provided the document is received by the department 

subsequent to the mailing. 

D. E. ] Filing on a holiday. When the date for the annual 

renewal of registration of a charitable organization, 

professional fund-raising counsel, or professional solicitor 

falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or a state or federal holiday, 

filing shall be due on the next day that is not a Saturday, 

Sunday, or a state or federal holiday.  

[ E. F. ] Change in information filed. Except as otherwise 

provided by the Code of Virginia or by this chapter, every 

registered charitable organization, professional fund-raising 

counsel, and professional solicitor shall report to the 

commissioner, in writing, any change in information 

previously filed with the commissioner, within seven days 

after the change occurs.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (2VAC5-610)  

Request for Exemption from Annual Registration, OCA-100 

(eff. 3/01).  

Registration Statement for a Charitable Organization, OCA-

102 (rev. 3/01). 

Registration Statement for a Professional Fund-raising 

Counsel, OCA-103 (rev. 3/01).  

Registration Statement for a Professional Solicitor, OCA-

104 (rev. 3/01).  

Professional Solicitor's Bond, OCA-105 (rev. 3/01).  

Solicitation Notice, OCA-120 (rev. 3/01).  

Consent to Solicit, OCA-121 (rev. 3/01).  

Final Accounting Report, OCA-130 (rev. 3/01).  

Schedule A, Accounting for All Ticketing Sales, Including 

Solicitation for Donated Tickets, OCA-131 Schedule A (eff. 

3/01).  

Commitment for Receipt of Donated Tickets, OCA-132 

(rev. 3/01).  
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[ Remittance Form and Virginia Exemption Application for 

a Charitable or Civic Organization, OCRP-100 (rev. 10/13)  

Remittance Form and Registration Statement for a 

Charitable Organization, Form 102, OCRP-102 (rev. 10/13) 

Remittance Form - Virginia Exemption Application for a 

Charitable or Civic Organization, Form 100, OCRP-100 (rev. 

11/2013)  

Remittance Form - Charitable Organization, Form 102, 

OCRP-102 (rev. 6/2015) ]  

Request for Extension of Time to File Annual Registration 

Renewal, OCRP-102-X (eff. 10/13) 

[ Remittance Form and Registration Statement for a 

Professional Fundraising Counsel, Form 103, OCRP-103 

(rev. 10/12) 

Remittance Form and Registration Statement for a 

Professional Solicitor, Form 104, OCRP-104 (rev. 10/12) 

Remittance Form - Professional Fundraising Counsel, Form 

103, OCRP-103 (rev. 6/2015)  

Remittance Form - Professional Solicitor, Form 104, OCRP-

104 (rev. 6/2015) ]  

Professional Solicitor's Bond, OCRP-105 (rev. 10/12) 

Solicitation Notice, Form 120, OCRP-120 (rev. 8/13) 

Consent to Solicit, Form 121, OCRP-121 (rev. 11/12) 

[ Remittance Form - Professional Solicitor's Final 

Accounting Report Late Fees and Final Accounting Report, 

Form 130, OCRP-130 (rev. 11/12)  

Remittance Form - Professional Solicitor's Final Accounting 

Report Late Fees, Form 130, OCRP-130 (rev. 11/2013) ]  

Schedule A - Accounting for All Ticket Sales, Including 

Solicitation for Donated Tickets, Form 131, OCRP-131 (rev. 

11/12) 

Commitment for Receipt of Donated Tickets, Form 132, 

OCRP-132 (rev. 11/12) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3701; Filed September 8, 2015, 12:17 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-720. Pertaining to 

Restrictions on Oyster Harvest (amending 4VAC20-720-

15, 4VAC20-720-80).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 28.2-201 and 28.2-210 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Dates: September 23, 2015, through October 22, 

2015. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-

2248 or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

This emergency action amends 4VAC20-720-15 to remove 

effort control measures, including the 20 days of harvest 

requirements to purchase the upcoming oyster hand scrape 

and dredge license, and amends 4VAC20-720-80 to 

preclude anyone from harvesting any oysters for 

commercial purposes unless that person obtains the 

required licenses and pays the oyster resource user fee. 

4VAC20-720-15. Control date, effort control, and agents. 

A. The commission hereby establishes July 1, 2014, as the 

control date for management of all public oyster fisheries in 

Virginia. Participation by any individual in any public oyster 

fishery after the control date will not be considered in the 

calculation or distribution of oyster fishing rights should entry 

limitations be established. Any individual entering the public 

oyster fishery after the control date will forfeit any right to 

future participation in the public oyster fishery should further 

entry limitations be established by the commission. 

B. The sale of oyster hand scrape and oyster dredge licenses 

to individuals who have not previously held these licenses 

shall be suspended until the commission reinstates the sale of 

those licenses. The sale of oyster patent tong licenses to 

individuals who had not purchased that license during the 

period from July 1, 2013, through August 25, 2015, shall be 

suspended until the commission reinstates the sale of those 

licenses. 

C. For any lawful open public oyster harvest season, 

commercial licenses for oyster hand scrape and oyster dredge 

shall only be sold to those registered commercial fishermen 

who have been determined by the commission to be eligible 

to purchase either of these licenses as of December 1, 2015, 

for license year 2016, except as described in subsection D of 

this section. 

D. After November 30, 2015, it shall be unlawful for any 

registered commercial fisherman who paid an oyster resource 

user fee for using one or more gear types from July 1, 2013, 

through June 30, 2015, but during that same time period 

reported less than 20 days of harvest for either the oyster hand 

scrape or oyster dredge, in one season or averaged over two 

seasons, to purchase the gear license associated with less than 

20 harvest days. 

E. Any registered commercial fisherman with an oyster 

harvest status, as described in subsection D of this section, 

may appeal his license ineligibility to the commission if that 

person can document that a medical hardship, active military 

duty, or a substantial error in his mandatory harvest reporting 

records prevented him from reporting at least 20 days of 

oyster harvest from using oyster dredge or oyster hand scrape 

gear. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=263f4003701~22&typ=40&actno=003701&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=263f4003701~22&typ=40&actno=003701&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=263f4003701~22&typ=40&actno=003701&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=87924003701~23&typ=40&actno=003701&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=87924003701~23&typ=40&actno=003701&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fe5d4003701~14&typ=40&actno=003701&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fe5d4003701~14&typ=40&actno=003701&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7dd69003701~19&typ=40&actno=003701&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7dd69003701~19&typ=40&actno=003701&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c2b63003701~18&typ=40&actno=003701&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c2b63003701~18&typ=40&actno=003701&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=33ca6003701~17&typ=40&actno=003701&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4a0ad003701~7&typ=40&actno=003701&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7eb65003701~19&typ=40&actno=003701&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=06c45003701~19&typ=40&actno=003701&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=06c45003701~19&typ=40&actno=003701&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=29043003701~21&typ=40&actno=003701&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=29043003701~21&typ=40&actno=003701&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=29043003701~21&typ=40&actno=003701&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ae791003701~22&typ=40&actno=003701&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ae791003701~22&typ=40&actno=003701&mime=application/pdf


Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 3 Virginia Register of Regulations October 5, 2015 

369 

F. Beginning January 1, 2016, valid oyster hand scrape and 

oyster dredge for commercial licenses may be transferred to 

an immediate family member of the licensee. In cases of 

death or incapacitation of a licensee, these same licenses may 

be transferred to a registered commercial fisherman who paid 

a current oyster resource user fee for one or more gear types. 

A registered commercial fisherman who holds a current 

oyster resource user fee for one or more gear types and is a 

current oyster hand scrape or oyster dredge licensee may 

transfer that oyster hand scrape or oyster dredge license. All 

such transfers shall be documented by the commission and 

shall be subject to the approval of the commission. 

G. B. No person shall serve as an agent for any public oyster 

gear licensee. 

4VAC20-720-80. Quotas and harvest limits. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person who does not possess 

a valid commercial fisherman's registration license and a 

valid gear license required by harvest area, as described in 

4VAC20-720-75, and has not paid the current year's oyster 

resource user fee to harvest or possess more than eight 

bushels per day any oysters for commercial purposes. Any 

individual who possesses the valid licenses and paid the 

oyster resource user fee as described in this subsection shall 

be limited to a maximum harvest of eight bushels per day. It 

shall be unlawful for any vessel to exceed a daily vessel limit 

of 24 bushels clean cull oysters harvested from the areas 

described in 4VAC20-720-40 B 8 through 14. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any person who does not possess 

a valid commercial fisherman's registration license and a 

valid gear license required by harvest area, as described in 

4VAC20-720-75, and has not paid the current year's oyster 

resource user fee to harvest or possess more than eight 

bushels per day any oysters for commercial purposes. Any 

individual who possesses the valid licenses and paid the 

oyster resource user fee as described in this subsection shall 

be limited to a maximum harvest of eight bushels per day. It 

shall be unlawful for any vessel to exceed a daily vessel limit 

for clean cull oysters harvested from the areas described in 

4VAC20-720-40 B 2 through 7 and 15, whereby that vessel 

limit shall equal the number of registered commercial 

fisherman licensees on board the vessel who hold a valid gear 

license and who have paid the oyster resource user fee 

multiplied by eight. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any vessel to exceed a daily 

vessel limit for clean cull oysters harvested from the areas 

described in 4VAC20-720-40 B 1, whereby that vessel limit 

shall equal the number of registered commercial fisherman 

licensees on board the vessel who hold a valid gear license 

and who have paid the oyster resource user fee multiplied by 

12. It shall be unlawful for any person who does not possess a 

valid commercial fisherman's registration license and hold a 

valid gear license required by harvest area, as described in 

4VAC20-720-75, and has not paid the current year's oyster 

resource user fee to harvest or possess more than 12 bushels 

per day any oysters for commercial purposes. Any individual 

who possesses the valid licenses and paid the oyster resource 

user fee as described in this subsection shall be limited to a 

maximum harvest of 12 bushels per day. 

D. In the Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds Rotation Area 1, no 

blue crab bycatch is allowed. It shall be unlawful to possess 

on board any vessel more than 250 hard clams. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4520; Filed September 23, 2015, 12:29 p.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF MINES, MINERALS AND ENERGY 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC25-150. Virginia Gas and Oil 

Regulation (amending 4VAC25-150-10, 4VAC25-150-30, 

4VAC25-150-80, 4VAC25-150-100, 4VAC25-150-110, 

4VAC25-150-160, 4VAC25-150-280, 4VAC25-150-300, 

4VAC25-150-340, 4VAC25-150-360, 4VAC25-150-610; 

adding 4VAC25-150-95, 4VAC25-150-365, 4VAC25-150-

535, 4VAC25-150-615).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 45.1-161.3, 45.1-361.4, and 45.1-

361.27 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

October 20, 2015 - 2 p.m. - Conference Center, Russell 

County Office Building, 139 Highland Drive, Lebanon, 

VA 24266 

November 2, 2015 - 2 p.m. - University of Mary 

Washington, Dahlgren Campus, 4224 University Drive, 

King George, VA 22485 

November 3, 2015 - 2 p.m. - Virginia State Capitol, 

House Room 3, 1000 Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23219 

Public Comment Deadline: December 4, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Michael Skiffington, Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, 

1100 Bank Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219-3402, 

telephone (804) 692-3212, FAX (804) 692-3237, TTY (800) 

828-1120, or email mike.skiffington@dmme.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 45.1-161.3 of the Code of Virginia grants the 

Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy (DMME) the 

authority to promulgate regulations necessary or incidental to 

the performance of duties or execution of powers conferred 

under Title 45.1 of the Code of Virginia. Section 45.1-361.4 

of the Code of Virginia grants the Director of DMME the 

authority to regulate gas, oil, or geophysical operations in the 

Commonwealth. 

Purpose: Though hydraulic fracturing has been used safely in 

Virginia since the 1960s, DMME believes that expanding 

disclosure of ingredients used in gas well stimulation and 

completion is an appropriate and necessary safeguard for the 

citizens of the Commonwealth. The proposed regulations also 

appropriately reflect industry best practices such as baseline 

groundwater testing and monitoring, submission of 

emergency response plans, and measures to enhance well 
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integrity. These measures help ensure protection of the 

environment and public health and safety. 

Substance: Permit application requirements are updated to 

include disclosure of all ingredients anticipated to be used in 

hydraulic fracturing operations, a plan to conduct 

groundwater baseline sampling and analysis, and the 

submission of an emergency response plan. These additions 

support environmental protection and public health and 

safety. 

The proposed regulations require well operators to use the 

FracFocus website (http://fracfocus.org) to disclose the 

chemicals used in hydraulic fracturing operations. 

Approximately 20 states already utilize FracFocus. Requiring 

chemical disclosure promotes transparency and 

environmental protection when combined with groundwater 

sampling and monitoring protocols. The proposed regulations 

also contain provisions that protect trade secrets from public 

dissemination. However, this information will be made 

available to first responders and local officials in the event of 

an emergency.  

The proposed regulations establish a groundwater sampling, 

analysis, and monitoring program. Baseline sampling data 

within one-quarter-mile radius from the proposed well will be 

submitted with the permit application. After the well is 

completed, additional sampling is required. If that sampling 

demonstrates exceedances of applicable standards, DMME 

has the authority to order follow-up testing in addition to 

existing enforcement authority. 

Well integrity is another area of emphasis in the proposed 

regulations. Language was added to strengthen casing and 

pressure testing requirements for well casings used in 

conventional and coalbed methane gas wells. This language 

will ensure the steel casings used in the drilling process are 

sufficiently strong to protect the surrounding formation. 

Language was also added related to the use of centralizers in 

the water protection string of casing. This will ensure the 

casing is centered in the hole while the well is drilled. 

Ensuring well integrity protects the environment and public 

health and safety. 

With respect to potential drilling in Tidewater Virginia, the 

regulations require a pre-application meeting with DMME 

and the Department of Environmental Quality to ensure 

potential permit applicants understand the requirements of the 

environmental impact assessment required pursuant to § 62.1-

195.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Issues: The proposed regulation requires disclosure of the 

ingredients used in hydraulic fracturing operations to the 

public while also protecting industry trade secrets except in 

case of an emergency. These requirements strike the 

appropriate balance between environmental protection and 

economic development required by the Virginia Gas and Oil 

Act, Chapter 22.1 (§ 45.1-361.1 et seq.) of Title 45.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. Maintaining that balance is the primary 

advantage of the proposed regulation. The balance is further 

maintained by the added requirements to ensure current 

industry best practices are utilized. There are no 

disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy proposes to 1) 

require disclosure of all ingredients anticipated to be used in 

hydraulic fracturing operations at the application stage as well 

as ingredients actually used at the well completion stage; 2) 

require operators to submit a groundwater sampling and a 

monitoring plan at the application stage and an emergency 

response plan; require groundwater sampling before and after 

well construction as well as follow-up testing if needed; and 

expand the required groundwater sampling area; 3) 

incorporate industry best practices with respect to the use of 

centralizers, standards for casing, and pressure testing 

requirements; 4) require a pre-application meeting for 

operators wishing to drill for gas or oil in the Tidewater area; 

and 5) require certification from operators that the proposed 

operation complies with local land use ordinances. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact.  These regulations establish 

rules for the gas and oil industry in Virginia. Currently, all 

drilling activity in the Commonwealth occurs in seven 

counties in far Southwest Virginia. Approximately 85,000 

acres of land have been leased for potential future drilling 

activity in five counties in Tidewater area. However, DMME 

has not yet received any applications for a permit in this area. 

There are approximately 8,000 existing wells and 

approximately 150 applications are received for new wells 

each year. Operators pump approximately 300 - 400 thousand 

gallons of water with about 1% chemical content into an 

average size well. 

DMME proposes to update permit application and well 

completion report requirements. The proposed changes will 

require disclosure of all ingredients anticipated to be used in 

hydraulic fracturing operations at the application stage and 

disclosure of ingredients actually used in fracturing 

operations when the well is completed to DMME and on 

FracFocus.
1
 

FracFocus is available to oil and gas operators who 

voluntarily disclose the chemicals they use and to those who 

are required to disclose such information. Approximately 20 

states already require disclosure on FracFocus. Some states 

require full disclosure including ingredients in the mix, their 

proportions, trade secrets, etc. while some others require only 

partial disclosure. Since disclosure of trade secrets may result 

in an operator losing its competitive advantage, DMME 

proposes that trade secrets not be required on FracFocus, but 

be submitted to the agency with the well application and the 

completion reports. However, in case of an emergency, 

http://fracfocus.org/
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DMME will have the authority to disclose the trade secret 

information to emergency responders.  

The proposed disclosure requirements will help improve 

transparency in the hydraulic fracking operations which has 

been used safely in Virginia since the 1960s and address 

concerns associated with environmental effects. However, 

they will also safeguard trade secrets and allow operators to 

maintain the competitive advantage they may have. While the 

proposed disclosure requirements may introduce some 

additional reporting costs on operators, DMME indicates that 

some of the oil and gas operators already use FracFocus 

voluntarily and that it is a free service. Thus, additional 

reporting costs on regulated operators are expected to be 

small. 

The proposed changes will also require operators to submit a 

groundwater sampling and monitoring plan at the application 

stage. DMME will also require submission of an emergency 

response plan. Additionally, groundwater sampling before 

and after well construction as well as follow-up testing if the 

sampling demonstrates exceedances of applicable standards 

will be required. While these requirements are not currently 

in the regulations explicitly, DMME indicates that all 

providers already comply with these requirements. However, 

DMME proposes to expand the sampling area which is used 

to establish the groundwater quality before and after drilling a 

well from 500 feet radius to one-quarter mile radius. DMME 

believes that the cost of groundwater sampling for the 

currently required area is in the range of $1,000 to $2,000 and 

that the increase in the cost of sampling due to a larger area 

will be less than double the current costs. In addition, 

sampling from a larger area will allow more accurate 

comparison of before and after groundwater quality reducing 

the operators' liability somewhat compared to their liability 

that may result from statistically less reliable comparison. 

The proposed changes will also amend the regulation to 

reflect industry best practices with respect to use of 

centralizers, standards for casing, and pressure testing 

requirements that enhance well integrity. For example these 

changes include a requirement for using steel casings in the 

drilling process to be sufficiently strong to protect the 

surrounding formation; and a requirement to use centralizers 

in the water protection string of casing to make sure the 

casing is centered in the hole while the well is drilled. DMME 

states that all operators already maintain high standards to 

ensure well integrity and are in compliance with the proposed 

changes. Thus, no additional costs are expected from this 

change other than clarification of the well integrity standards 

in the regulation. 

The proposed changes also require a pre-application meeting 

jointly conducted by DMME and the Department of 

Environmental Quality (DEQ) for operators wishing to drill 

for gas or oil in Tidewater, Virginia. This area of the 

Commonwealth requires special consideration due to its 

potential impact on the Chesapeake Bay's sensitive 

environmental balance and the lack of information on the 

potential impact of drilling on this balance since any gas or 

oil drilling has yet to be performed in this area. The pre-

application meeting will give a chance to DMME and DEQ to 

address the requirements of the environmental impact 

assessment required pursuant to Code of Virginia Section 

62.1-195.1 and 9VAC15-20 and help prevent any potential 

unintended consequences. 

Finally, the proposed changes will require certification that 

the proposed operation complies with local land use 

ordinances to ensure compliance with them. 

In summary, the proposed changes are expected to introduce 

small administrative costs due to the proposed disclosure 

requirements, additional reports and plans, additional 

meetings, and less than two thousand dollars for groundwater 

testing of an enlarged area. Additional administrative costs 

are anticipated to be minimal as the proposed application and 

reporting requirements are contained within the existing 

electronic permitting and reporting systems. DMME expects 

to incur negligible, one-time costs to update its electronic 

permitting system to reflect the changes in the proposed 

regulation. On the other hand, the main benefits of the 

proposed changes include enhancement of the groundwater 

protection as well as of the public health and safety. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. There are about 20 

operators and approximately 200 contractors and 

subcontractors in the Commonwealth's gas and oil industry 

with a heavy focus on natural gas. Majority of the drilling is 

conducted by a few very large operators. Remaining 

operators, all of the contractors and subcontractors are 

believed to be small businesses. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed changes 

particularly affect Lee, Wise, Dickenson, Buchanan, Scott, 

Russell, and Tazewell counties as all of the current drilling 

activity occurs in these counties. The proposed changes may 

also affect Essex, Caroline, King and Queen, Westmoreland, 

and King George counties as gas and oil drilling activity may 

start there in the future. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are anticipated to increase the demand for labor from 

operators and DMME in terms of filing of additional reports, 

plans, attending meetings, but are unlikely to significantly 

affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments are unlikely to significantly affect the 

use and value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 

amendments are anticipated to introduce additional small 

administrative and sampling costs for the gas and oil 

operators. Though there are only a few large operators, they 

perform the majority of the drilling in the Commonwealth. 

The costs and other effects on small business operators are 

the same as discussed above. 
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Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. There is no known alternative method that 

would have a smaller impact and accomplish the same goals 

as the proposed changes. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to affect real estate development costs. 

Legal Mandate.  

General: The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has 

analyzed the economic impact of this proposed regulation in 

accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and 

Executive Order Number 17 (2014). Section 2.2-4007.04 

requires that such economic impact analyses determine the 

public benefits and costs of the proposed amendments. 

Further the report should include but not be limited to: 

• the projected number of businesses or other entities to 

whom the proposed regulation would apply, 

• the identity of any localities and types of businesses or 

other entities particularly affected, 

• the projected number of persons and employment positions 

to be affected,  

• the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and  

• the impact on the use and value of private property.  

Small Businesses: If the proposed regulation will have an 

adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires 

that such economic impact analyses include: 

• an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the proposed regulation, 

• the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other 

administrative costs required for small businesses to comply 

with the proposed regulation, including the type of 

professional skills necessary for preparing required reports 

and other documents, 

• a statement of the probable effect of the proposed 

regulation on affected small businesses, and  

• a description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative 

methods of achieving the purpose of the proposed 

regulation.  

Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1, if there is a finding 

that a proposed regulation may have an adverse impact on 

small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative 

Rules is notified at the time the proposed regulation is 

submitted to the Virginia Register of Regulations for 

publication. This analysis shall represent DPB's best estimate 

for the purposes of public review and comment on the 

proposed regulation. 

_________________________________________________ 
1 FracFocus is a chemical disclosure registry maintained by the Ground 
Water Protection Council and the Interstate Oil & Gas Compact Commission. 

The registry offers its disclosure services free of charge to oil and natural gas 

industry. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy concurs with the 

economic impact analysis conducted by the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy (DMME) 

proposes to (i) amend permit application requirements to 

include disclosure of all ingredients anticipated to be used 

in hydraulic fracturing operations, certification that the 

proposed operation complies with local land use 

ordinances, inclusion of a groundwater sampling and 

monitoring plan, and submission of an emergency 

response plan; (ii) require a pre-application meeting 

jointly conducted by the DMME and the Department of 

Environmental Quality before an operator drills for gas or 

oil in Tidewater Virginia; (iii) require well operators to 

use FracFocus, the national hydraulic fracturing chemical 

registry website, to disclose the chemicals used in 

hydraulic fracturing operations; (iv) establish a 

groundwater sampling, analysis, and monitoring program 

before and after well construction; (v) add language 

related to the use of centralizers in the water protection 

string of the casing; (vi) strengthen casing and pressure 

testing requirements for well casings used in conventional 

and coalbed methane gas wells; and (vii) provide 

protection for trade secrets from public dissemination 

while allowing this information to be made available to 

first responders and local officials in the event of an 

emergency. 

Part I  

Standards of General Applicability  

Article 1  

General Information  

4VAC25-150-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meaning unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Act" means the Virginia Gas and Oil Act of 1990, Chapter 

22.1 (§ 45.1-361.1 et seq.) of Title 45.1 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

"Adequate channel" means a watercourse that will convey 

the designated frequency storm event without overtopping its 

banks or causing erosive damage to the bed, banks and 

overbank sections.  

"Applicant" means any person or business who files an 

application with the Division of Gas and Oil. 

"Approved" means accepted as suitable for its intended 

purpose when included in a permit issued by the director or 

determined to be suitable in writing by the director. 

"Berm" means a ridge of soil or other material constructed 

along an active earthen fill to divert runoff away from the 

unprotected slope of the fill to a stabilized outlet or sediment 

trapping facility.  

"Board" means the Virginia Gas and Oil Board. 
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"Bridge plug" means an obstruction intentionally placed in a 

well at a specified depth.  

"CAS number" means the unique number identifier for a 

chemical substance assigned by the Chemical Abstracts 

Service. 

"Cased completion" means a technique used to make a well 

capable of production in which production casing is set 

through the productive zones.  

"Cased/open hole completion" means a technique used to 

make a well capable of production in which at least one zone 

is completed through casing and at least one zone is 

completed open hole.  

"Casing" means all pipe set in wells except conductor pipe 

and tubing.  

"Causeway" means a temporary structural span constructed 

across a flowing watercourse or wetland to allow construction 

traffic to access the area without causing erosion damage.  

"Cement" means hydraulic cement properly mixed with 

water. 

"Cement bond log" means an acoustic survey or sonic-

logging method that records the quality or hardness of the 

cement used in the annulus to bond the casing and the 

formation. 

"Centralizer" means a device secured around the casing at 

regular intervals to center it in the hole.  

"Channel" means a natural stream or man-made waterway.  

"Chemical Disclosure Registry" means the chemical registry 

website known as FracFocus.org developed by the Ground 

Water Protection Council and the Interstate Oil and Gas 

Compact Commission. 

"Chief" means the Chief of the Division of Mines of the 

Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy.  

"Coal-protection string" means a casing designed to protect 

a coal seam by excluding all fluids, oil, gas, or gas pressure 

from the seam, except such as may be found in the coal seam 

itself.  

"Cofferdam" means a temporary structure in a river, lake, or 

other waterway for keeping the water from an enclosed area 

that has been pumped dry so that bridge foundations, 

pipelines, etc., may be constructed.  

"Completion" means the process which that results in a well 

being capable of producing gas or oil.  

"Conductor pipe" means the short, large diameter string used 

primarily to control caving and washing out of 

unconsolidated surface formations.  

"Corehole" means any hole drilled solely for the purpose of 

obtaining rock samples or other information to be used in the 

exploration for coal, gas, or oil. The term shall not include a 

borehole used solely for the placement of an explosive charge 

or other energy source for generating seismic waves.  

"Days" means calendar days.  

"Denuded area" means land that has been cleared of 

vegetative cover.  

"Department" means the Department of Mines, Minerals and 

Energy.  

"Detention basin" means a stormwater management facility 

which temporarily impounds and discharges runoff through 

an outlet to a downstream channel. Infiltration is negligible 

when compared to the outlet structure discharge rates. The 

facility is normally dry during periods of no rainfall.  

"Dike" means an earthen embankment constructed to 

confine or control fluids.  

"Directional survey" means a well survey that measures the 

degree of deviation of a hole from true vertical, and the 

distance and direction of points in the hole from vertical. 

"Director" means the Director of the Department of Mines, 

Minerals and Energy or his authorized agent.  

"Diversion" means a channel constructed for the purpose of 

intercepting surface runoff.  

"Diverter" or "diverter system" means an assembly of valves 

and piping attached to a gas or oil well's casing for 

controlling flow and pressure from a well.  

"Division" means the Division of Gas and Oil of the 

Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy. 

"Emergency response plan" means the document that details 

the steps to prevent, control, and provide adequate 

countermeasures for a petroleum product discharge not 

covered by the spill prevention, control, and countermeasures 

plan or for a non-petroleum product discharge. 

"Erosion and sediment control plan" means a document 

containing a description of materials and methods to be used 

for the conservation of soil and the protection of water 

resources in or on a unit or group of units of land. It may 

include appropriate maps, an appropriate soil and water plan 

inventory and management information with needed 

interpretations, and a record of decisions contributing to 

conservation treatment. The plan shall contain a record of all 

major conservation decisions to ensure that the entire unit or 

units of land will be so treated to achieve the conservation 

objectives.  

"Expanding cement" means any cement approved by the 

director which that expands during the hardening process, 

including but not limited to regular oil field cements with the 

proper additives.  

"Firewall" means an earthen dike or fire resistant structure 

built around a tank or tank battery to contain the oil in the 

event a tank ruptures or catches fire.  

"Flume" means a constructed device lined with erosion-

resistant materials intended to convey water on steep grades.  

"Flyrock" means any material propelled by a blast that 

would be actually or potentially hazardous to persons or 

property.  
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"Form prescribed by the director" means a form issued by 

the division, or an equivalent facsimile, for use in meeting the 

requirements of the Act or this chapter. 

"Gas well" means any well which produces or appears 

capable of producing a ratio of 6,000 cubic feet (6 Mcf) of 

gas or more to each barrel of oil, on the basis of a gas-oil ratio 

test.  

"Gob well" means a coalbed methane gas well which that is 

capable of producing coalbed methane gas from the de-

stressed zone associated with any full-seam extraction of coal 

that extends above and below the mined-out coal seam.  

"Groundwater" means all water under the ground, wholly or 

partially within or bordering the Commonwealth or within its 

jurisdiction, which has the potential for being used for 

domestic, industrial, commercial, or agricultural use or 

otherwise affects the public welfare.  

"Highway" means any public street, public alley, or public 

road. 

"Hydraulic fracturing" means the treatment of a well by the 

application of hydraulic fracturing fluid under pressure for the 

express purpose of initiating or propagating fractures in a 

target geologic formation to enhance production of oil or 

natural gas. 

"Hydraulic fracturing fluid" means the fluid, including the 

applicable base fluid and all additives, used to perform 

hydraulic fracturing treatment. 

"Inclination survey" means a survey taken inside a wellbore 

that measures the degree of deviation of the point of the 

survey from true vertical.  

"Inhabited building" means a building, regularly occupied in 

whole or in part by human beings, including, but not limited 

to, a private residence, church, school, store, public building 

or other structure where people are accustomed to assemble 

except for a building being used on a temporary basis, on a 

permitted site, for gas, oil, or geophysical operations.  

"Intermediate string" means a string of casing that prevents 

caving, shuts off connate water in strata below the water-

protection string, and protects strata from exposure to lower 

zone pressures.  

"Live watercourse" means a definite channel with bed and 

banks within which water flows continuously.  

"Mcf" means, when used with reference to natural gas, 

1,000 cubic feet of gas at a pressure base of 14.73 pounds per 

square inch gauge and a temperature base of 60°F.  

"Mud" means a mixture of materials that creates a weighted 

fluid to be circulated downhole during drilling operations for 

the purpose of lubricating and cooling the bit, removing 

cuttings, and controlling formation pressures and fluid.  

"Natural channel" or "natural stream" means nontidal 

waterways that are part of the natural topography. They 

usually maintain a continuous or seasonal flow during the 

year, and are characterized as being irregular in cross section 

with a meandering course.  

"Nonerodible" means a material such as riprap, concrete, or 

plastic that will not experience surface wear due to natural 

forces.  

"Oil well" means any well which that produces or appears 

capable of producing a ratio of less than 6,000 cubic feet (6 

Mcf) of gas to each barrel of oil, on the basis of a gas-oil ratio 

test.  

"Open hole completion" means a technique used to make a 

well capable of production in which no production casing is 

set through the productive zones.  

"Person" means any individual, corporation, partnership, 

association, company, business, trust, joint venture, or other 

legal entity.  

"Plug" means the sealing of, or a device or material used for 

the sealing of, a gas or oil wellbore or casing to prevent the 

migration of water, gas, or oil from one stratum to another.  

"Pre-development" means the land use and site conditions 

that exist at the time that the operations plan is submitted to 

the division.  

"Produced waters" means water or fluids produced from a 

gas well, oil well, coalbed methane gas well, or gob well as a 

byproduct of producing gas, oil, or coalbed methane gas.  

"Producer" means a permittee operating a well in Virginia 

that is producing or is capable of producing gas or oil.  

"Production string" means a string of casing or tubing 

through which the well is completed and may be produced 

and controlled.  

"Red shales" means the undifferentiated shaley portion of 

the Bluestone formation normally found above the Pride 

Shale Member of the formation, and extending upward to the 

base of the Pennsylvanian strata, which red shales are 

predominantly red and green in color but may occasionally be 

gray, grayish green, and grayish red.  

"Red zone" is a zone in or contiguous to a permitted area 

that could have potential hazards to workers or to the public. 

"Retention basin" means a stormwater management facility 

which that, similar to a detention basin, temporarily impounds 

runoff and discharges its outflow through an outlet to a 

downstream channel. A retention basin is a permanent 

impoundment.  

"Sediment basin" means a depression formed from the 

construction of a barrier or dam built to retain sediment and 

debris.  

"Sheet flow," also called or "overland flow," means shallow, 

unconcentrated and irregular flow down a slope. The length 

of strip for sheet flow usually does not exceed 200 feet under 

natural conditions.  

"Slope drain" means tubing or conduit made of nonerosive 

material extending from the top to the bottom of a cut or fill 

slope.  
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"Special diligence" means the activity and skill exercised by 

a good businessperson in a particular specialty, which must 

be commensurate with the duty to be performed and the 

individual circumstances of the case;, not merely the 

diligence of an ordinary person or nonspecialist. 

"Spill prevention, control, and countermeasure plan" or 

"SPCC plan" means the document that details the steps to 

prevent, control, and provide adequate countermeasures to 

certain petroleum product discharges. 

"Stabilized" means able to withstand normal exposure to air 

and water flows without incurring erosion damage.  

"Stemming" means the inert material placed in a borehole 

after an explosive charge for the purpose of confining the 

explosion gases in the borehole or the inert material used to 

separate the explosive charges (decks) in decked holes.  

"Stimulate" means any action taken by a gas or oil operator 

to increase the inherent productivity of a gas or oil well, 

including, but not limited to, fracturing, shooting, or 

acidizing, but excluding (i) cleaning out, bailing, or workover 

operations and (ii) the use of surface-tension reducing agents, 

emulsion breakers, paraffin solvents, and other agents that 

affect the gas or oil being produced, as distinguished from the 

producing formation. 

"Storm sewer inlet" means any structure through which 

stormwater is introduced into an underground conveyance 

system.  

"Stormwater management facility" means a device that 

controls stormwater runoff and changes the characteristics of 

that runoff, including but not limited to, the quantity, quality, 

the period of release, or the velocity of flow.  

"String of pipe" or "string" means the total footage of pipe 

of uniform size set in a well. The term embraces conductor 

pipe, casing, and tubing. When the casing consists of 

segments of different size, each segment constitutes a 

separate string. A string may serve more than one purpose.  

"Sulfide stress cracking" means embrittlement of the steel 

grain structure to reduce ductility and cause extreme 

brittleness or cracking by hydrogen sulfide.  

"Surface mine" means an area containing an open pit 

excavation, surface operations incident to an underground 

mine, or associated activities adjacent to the excavation or 

surface operations, from which coal or other minerals are 

produced for sale, exchange, or commercial use; and includes 

all buildings and equipment above the surface of the ground 

used in connection with such mining.  

"Target formation" means the geologic gas or oil formation 

identified by the well operator in his application for a gas, oil 

or geophysical drilling permit.  

"Temporary stream crossing" means a temporary span 

installed across a flowing watercourse for use by construction 

traffic. Structures may include bridges, round pipes or pipe 

arches constructed on or through nonerodible material.  

"Ten-year storm" means a storm that is capable of producing 

rainfall expected to be equaled or exceeded on the average of 

once in 10 years. It may also be expressed as an exceedance 

probability with a 10% chance of being equaled or exceeded 

in any given year.  

"Tidewater Virginia" means the region defined in § 62.1-

44.15:68 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Trade secret" means the term defined in § 59.1-336 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

"Tubing" means the small diameter string set after the well 

has been drilled from the surface to the total depth and 

through which the gas or oil or other substance is produced or 

injected.  

"Two-year storm" means a storm that is capable of 

producing rainfall expected to be equaled or exceeded on the 

average of once in two years. It may also be expressed as an 

exceedance probability with a 50% chance of being equaled 

or exceeded in any given year.  

"Vertical ventilation hole" means any hole drilled from the 

surface to the coal seam used only for the safety purpose of 

removing gas from the underlying coal seam and the adjacent 

strata, thus, removing the gas that would normally be in the 

mine ventilation system.  

"Water bar" means a small obstruction constructed across 

the surface of a road, pipeline right-of-way, or other area of 

ground disturbance in order to interrupt and divert the flow of 

water on a grade for the purpose of controlling erosion and 

sediment migration.  

"Water-protection string" means a string of casing designed 

to protect groundwater-bearing strata.  

4VAC25-150-30. Other laws and, regulations, and 

ordinances.  

Nothing in this chapter shall relieve a permittee of the duty 

to comply with other laws and, regulations, and local land use 

ordinances.  

Article 2  

Permitting  

4VAC25-150-80. Application for a permit. 

A. Applicability.  

1. Persons required in § 45.1-361.29 of the Code of 

Virginia to obtain a permit or permit modification shall 

apply to the division on the forms prescribed by the 

director. All lands on which gas, oil, or geophysical 

operations are to be conducted shall be included in a permit 

application.  

2. In addition to specific requirements for variances in 

other sections of this chapter, any applicant for a variance 

shall, in writing, document the need for the variance and 

describe the alternate measures or practices to be used. 

3. Prior to accepting an application for a permit to drill for 

gas or oil in Tidewater Virginia, the department shall 

convene a pre-application meeting within the locality 
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where the operation is proposed. The pre-application 

meeting shall ensure those who desire to submit an 

application are aware of the requirements established in 

§ 62.1-195.1 of the Code of Virginia and 9VAC15-20. The 

department, in conjunction with the Department of 

Environmental Quality, shall conduct the meeting. The 

meeting shall be open to the public and the department 

shall notify the locality in which the meeting is to take 

place. No application for a permit to drill for gas or oil in 

Tidewater Virginia shall be accepted until the meeting is 

completed.  

B. The application for a permit shall, as applicable, be 

accompanied by the fee in accordance with § 45.1-361.29 of 

the Code of Virginia, the bond in accordance with § 45.1-

361.31 of the Code of Virginia, and the fee for the Orphaned 

Well Fund in accordance with § 45.1-361.40 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

C. Each application for a permit shall include information on 

all activities, including those involving associated facilities, 

to be conducted on the permitted site. This shall include the 

following:  

1. The name and address of:  

a. The gas, oil, or geophysical applicant;  

b. The agent required to be designated under § 45.1-

361.37 of the Code of Virginia; and  

c. Each person whom the applicant must notify under 

§ 45.1-361.30 of the Code of Virginia;  

2. The certifications required in § 45.1-361.29 E of the 

Code of Virginia; 

3. Certification from the applicant that the proposed 

operation complies with all local land use ordinances;  

3. 4. The proof of notice to affected parties required in 

§ 45.1-361.29 E of the Code of Virginia, which shall be:  

a. A copy of a signed receipt or electronic return receipt 

of delivery of notice by certified mail;  

b. A copy of a signed receipt acknowledging delivery of 

notice by hand; or  

c. If all copies of receipt of delivery of notice by certified 

mail have not been signed and returned within 15 days of 

mailing, a copy of the mailing log or other proof of the 

date the notice was sent by certified mail, return receipt 

requested;  

4. 5. If the application is for a permit modification, proof of 

notice to affected parties, as specified in subdivision C 3 4 

of this section; 

5. 6. Identification of the type of well or other gas, oil, or 

geophysical operation being proposed; 

7. A list of ingredients anticipated to be used in any 

hydraulic fracturing operations; 

8. The groundwater baseline sampling, analysis, and 

monitoring plan in accordance with 4VAC25-150-95;  

6. 9. The plat in accordance with 4VAC25-150-90;  

7. 10. The operations plan in accordance with 4VAC25-

150-100;  

8. 11. The information required for operations involving 

hydrogen sulfide in accordance with 4VAC25-150-350;  

9. 12. The location where the Spill Prevention Control and 

Countermeasure spill prevention, control, and 

countermeasure (SPCC) plan is available, if one is 

required; 

13. The emergency response plan;  

10. 14. The Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, 

Division of Mined Land Reclamation's permit number for 

any area included in a Division of Mined Land 

Reclamation permit on which a proposed gas, oil, or 

geophysical operation is to be located;  

11. 15. For an application for a conventional well, the 

information required in 4VAC25-150-500;  

12. 16. For an application for a coalbed methane gas well, 

the information required in 4VAC25-150-560;  

13. 17. For an application for a geophysical operation, the 

information required in 4VAC25-150-670; and  

14. 18. For an application for a permit to drill for gas or oil 

in Tidewater Virginia, the environmental impact 

assessment meeting the requirements of § 62.1-195.1 B of 

the Code of Virginia and 9VAC15-20.  

D. After July 1, 2009, all All permit applications and plats 

submitted to the division shall be in electronic form or a 

format prescribed by the director. 

4VAC25-150-95. Groundwater baseline sampling, 

analysis, and monitoring plan. 

A. Each application for a permit shall include a groundwater 

baseline sampling, analysis, and monitoring plan. The 

groundwater monitoring program will consist of initial 

baseline groundwater sampling and testing followed by 

subsequent sampling and testing after setting the production 

casing or liner.  

B. If four or fewer available groundwater sources are present 

within a one-quarter-mile radius of the location of a proposed 

oil or gas well, or department-approved monitoring well, the 

operator shall collect a sample from each available 

groundwater source. 

C. If more than four available groundwater sources are 

present within the one-quarter-mile radius, the operator shall 

submit a plan for approval to the director for selecting the 

available groundwater sources based on all of the following 

criteria: 

1. Available groundwater sources closest to the location of 

the (i) proposed oil or gas well, (ii) department-approved 

monitoring well, or (iii) multi-well pad are preferred.  

2. Sample locations shall be chosen in a radial pattern 

around the permitted location.  
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3. Where available groundwater sources are present in 

different aquifers, a sample shall be collected from each 

aquifer. Where multiple available groundwater sources are 

present in a single aquifer, an operator shall give adequate 

consideration to vertical separation and aquifer zones in 

selecting available groundwater sources for sampling.  

4. If groundwater flow direction is known or reasonably 

can be inferred, samples from both upgradient and 

downgradient available groundwater sources are required, 

if available. 

D. The initial sampling and testing shall be conducted within 

the 12-month period prior to drilling the well or the first well 

on a multi-well pad. Subsequent sampling and testing shall be 

conducted between six and 12 months after setting the 

production casing or liner. An operator shall make a 

reasonable attempt to conduct all sampling during the same 

month of the year. An operator may request in writing 

approval from the director to deviate from these sampling and 

testing timeframes in its permit application based on site 

specific geologic and hydrologic conditions (e.g., flow rate 

and direction). Previously sampled groundwater sources, 

including samples obtained by other operators, may be used if 

collection of the sample or samples meets all of the 

requirements of this section and are approved by the director.  

E. All samples collected pursuant to this section shall be 

analyzed and tested by a laboratory certified or accredited 

under the Virginia Environmental Laboratory Accreditation 

Program established in 1VAC30-45 and 1VAC30-46.  

F. Copies of all final laboratory analytical results and spatial 

coordinates of the available water source shall be provided by 

the operator or its representative to the department and water 

source owner within three months of sample collection. All 

analytical results and spatial coordinates of the available 

water source shall be made available to the public by the 

department.  

G. The initial and subsequent sampling and testing described 

in this section shall, at a minimum, include the following 

items:  

1. Chlorides;  

2. Total dissolved solids;  

3. Dissolved gases (methane, ethane, propane); 

4. Hardness;  

5. Iron;  

6. Manganese;  

7. pH;  

8. Sodium; and  

9. Sulfate.  

Field observations such as odor, water color, sediment, 

bubbles, and effervescence shall also be documented. 

Handheld detection devices shall be sufficient for testing for 

methane.  

H. If free gas or a dissolved methane concentration greater 

than 10.0 milligrams per liter (mg/L) is detected in a water 

sample, gas compositional analysis and stable isotope 

analysis of the methane (carbon and hydrogen – 12C, 13C, 

1H, and 2H) shall be performed to determine gas type. 

I. The operator shall provide verbal and written notification 

to the director and groundwater source owner within 24 hours 

if test results indicate:  

1. The presence of thermogenic or a mixture of 

thermogenic and biogenic gas;  

2. The methane concentration increases by more than 5.0 

mg/L between sampling periods; 

3. The methane concentration is detected at or above 10.0 

mg/L; or  

4. Exceedances of the parameters listed in 9VAC25-280-

70.  

J. Upon receiving notification pursuant to this subsection, 

the director shall have the authority to order an additional 

sampling test to be completed within six months of the test 

that resulted in the notification. This authority is in addition 

to enforcement actions the director may utilize pursuant to 

4VAC25-150-170. 

4VAC25-150-100. Operations plans. 

A. Each application for a permit or permit modification shall 

include an operations plan, in a format approved by or on a 

form prescribed by the director. The operations plan and 

accompanying maps or drawings shall become part of the 

terms and conditions of any permit which is issued. 

B. The operations plan shall describe the specifications for 

the use of centralizers to ensure casing is centered in the hole. 

The specifications shall include, at a minimum, one 

centralizer within 50 feet of the water protection string seat 

and then in intervals no greater than every 150 feet above the 

first centralizer and are subject to the approval of the director. 

B. C. The applicant shall indicate how risks to the public 

safety or to the site and adjacent lands are to be managed, 

consistent with the requirements of § 45.1-361.27 B of the 

Code of Virginia, and shall provide a short narrative, if 

pertinent. The operations plan shall identify red zone areas. 

4VAC25-150-110. Permit supplements and permit 

modifications. 

A. Permit supplements.  

1. Standard permit supplements. A permittee shall be 

allowed to submit a permit supplement when work being 

performed:  

a. Does not change the disturbance area as described in 

the original permit; and 

b. Involves activities previously permitted.  

The permittee shall submit written documentation of the 

changes made to the permitted area no later than 30 days 

after completing the change. All other changes to the 
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permit shall require a permit modification in accordance 

with § 45.1-361.29 of the Code of Virginia.  

2. Permit supplements for disclosure of ingredients used in 

hydraulic fracturing. Prior to completion of a well, the 

permittee shall submit a permit supplement when the 

ingredients used or expected to be used in the hydraulic 

fracturing process differ in any way from that which was 

submitted pursuant to subdivision C 7 of 4VAC25-150-80. 

2. 3. Emergency permit supplements. If a change must be 

implemented immediately for an area off the disturbance 

area as described in the original permit, or for an activity 

not previously permitted due to actual or threatened 

imminent danger to the public safety or to the environment, 

the permittee shall:  

a. Take immediate action to minimize the danger to the 

public or to the environment;  

b. Notify the director as soon as possible of actions taken 

to minimize the danger and, if the director determines an 

emergency still exists and grants oral approval, 

commence additional changes if necessary; and  

c. Submit a supplement to the permit within seven 

working days of notifying the director with a written 

description of the emergency and action taken. An 

incident report may also be required as provided for in 

4VAC25-150-380. 

Any changes to the permit are to be temporary and 

restricted to those that are absolutely necessary to 

minimize danger. Any permanent changes to the permit 

shall require a permit modification as provided for in 

subsection B of this section. 

B. Permit modifications.  

1. Applicability. All changes to the permit which do not fit 

the description contained in subsection A of this section 

shall require a permit modification in accordance with 

§ 45.1-361.29 of the Code of Virginia.  

2. Notice and fees. Notice of a permit modification shall be 

given in accordance with § 45.1-361.30 of the Code of 

Virginia. The application for a permit modification shall be 

accompanied, as applicable, by the fee in accordance with 

§ 45.1-361.29 of the Code of Virginia and the bond in 

accordance with § 45.1-361.31 of the Code of Virginia.  

3. Waiver of right to object. Upon receipt of notice, any 

person may, on a form approved by the director, waive the 

time requirements and their right to object to a proposed 

permit modification. The department shall be entitled to 

rely upon the waiver to approve the permit modification.  

4. Permit modification. The permittee shall submit a 

written application for a permit modification on a form 

prescribed by the director. The permittee may not 

undertake the proposed work until the permit modification 

has been issued. As appropriate, the application shall 

include, but not be limited to:  

a. The name and address of:  

(1) The permittee; and  

(2) Each person whom the applicant must notify under 

§ 45.1-361.30 of the Code of Virginia;  

b. The certifications required in § 45.1-361.29 E of the 

Code of Virginia;  

c. The proof of notice required in § 45.1-361.29 E of the 

Code of Virginia, as provided for in 4VAC25-150-80 C 3 

4;  

d. Identification of the type of work for which a permit 

modification is requested;  

e. The plat in accordance with 4VAC25-150-90;  

f. All data, maps, plats and plans in accordance with 

4VAC25-150-100 necessary to describe the activity 

proposed to be undertaken;  

g. When the permit modification includes abandoning a 

gas or oil well as a water well, a description of the 

plugging to be completed up to the water-bearing 

formation and a copy of the permit issued for the water 

well by the Virginia Department of Health;  

h. The information required for operations involving 

hydrogen sulfide in accordance with 4VAC25-150-350 if 

applicable to the proposed operations;  

i. The location where the Spill Prevention Control and 

Countermeasure spill prevention, control, and 

countermeasure (SPCC) plan is available, if one has been 

developed for the site of the proposed operations, or the 

emergency response plan;  

j. The Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, 

Division of Mined Land Reclamation's permit number 

for any area included in a Division of Mined Land 

Reclamation permit; and  

k. The information, as appropriate, required in 4VAC25-

150-500, 4VAC25-150-560, 4VAC25-150-670, or 

4VAC25-150-720.  

5. Upon receipt of an application for a permit modification 

for a well in Tidewater Virginia, the director may require 

additional documentation to supplement information 

submitted to the department pursuant to subsection B of § 

62.1-195.1 of the Code of Virginia. If additional 

documentation is required, the operator shall submit that 

documentation to the director and the Department of 

Environmental Quality. 

4VAC25-150-160. Approval of permits and permit 

modifications.  

A. Permits, permit modifications, permit renewals, and 

transfer of permit rights shall be granted in writing by the 

director.  

B. The director may not issue a permit, permit renewal, or 

permit modification prior to the end of the time period for 

filing objections pursuant to § 45.1-361.35 of the Code of 
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Virginia unless, upon receipt of notice, any person may, on a 

form approved by the director, waive the time requirements 

and their right to object to a proposed permit application or 

permit modification application. The director shall be entitled 

to rely upon the waiver to approve the permit application or 

permit modification.  

C. The director may not issue a permit to drill for gas or oil 

or approve a permit modification for a well where additional 

documentation is required pursuant to subdivision B 5 of 

4VAC25-150-110 in Tidewater Virginia until he has 

considered the findings and recommendations of the 

collaborated with the Department of Environmental Quality, 

as provided for in § 62.1-195.1 of the Code of Virginia and, 

where appropriate, has required changes in the permitted 

activity based on to ensure permit conditions accurately 

reflect the results from the Department of Environmental 

Quality's recommendations coordinated review of the 

environmental impact assessment required pursuant to § 62.1-

195.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

D. The provisions of any order of the Virginia Gas and Oil 

Board that govern a gas or oil well permitted by the director 

shall become conditions of the permit.  

4VAC25-150-280. Logs and surveys.  

A. Each permittee drilling a well or corehole shall complete 

a driller's log, a gamma ray log, or other log showing the top 

and bottom points of geologic formations and any other log 

required under this section. The driller's log shall state, at a 

minimum, the character, depth, and thickness of geological 

formations encountered, including groundwater-bearing 

strata, coal seams, mineral beds, and gas-bearing or oil-

bearing formations.  

B. When a permittee or the director identifies that a well or 

corehole is to be drilled or deepened in an area of the 

Commonwealth which that is known to be underlain by coal 

seams, the following shall be required:  

1. The vertical location of coal seams in the well or 

corehole shall be determined and shown in the driller's log 

and gamma ray log or other log.  

2. The horizontal location of the well or corehole in coal 

seams shall be determined through an inclination survey 

from the surface to the lowest known coal seam. Each 

inclination survey shall be conducted as follows:  

a. The first survey point shall be taken at a depth not 

greater than the most shallow coal seam; and  

b. Thereafter shot points shall be taken at each coal seam 

or at intervals of 200 feet, whichever is less, to the lowest 

known coal seam.  

3. Prior to drilling any well or corehole within 500 feet of a 

coal seam in which there are active workings, the permittee 

shall conduct an inclination survey to determine whether 

the deviation of the well or corehole exceeds one degree 

from true vertical. If the well or corehole is found to 

exceed one degree from vertical, then the permittee shall: 

a. Immediately cease operations;  

b. Immediately notify the coal owner and the division;  

c. Conduct a directional survey to drilled depth to 

determine both horizontal and vertical location of the 

well or corehole; and  

d. Unless granted a variance by the director, correct the 

well or corehole to within one degree of true vertical.  

4. Except as provided for in subdivision B 3 of this section, 

if the deviation of the well or corehole exceeds one degree 

from true vertical at any point between the surface and the 

lowest known coal seam, then the permittee shall:  

a. Correct the well or corehole to within one degree of 

true vertical; or  

b. Conduct a directional survey to the lowest known coal 

seam and notify the coal owner of the actual well or 

corehole location.  

5. The director may grant a variance to the requirements of 

subdivisions B 3 and B 4 of this section only after the 

permittee and coal owners have jointly submitted a written 

request for a variance stating that a directional survey or 

correction to the well or corehole is not needed to protect 

the safety of any person engaged in active coal mining or 

to the environment.  

6. If the director finds that the lack of assurance of the 

horizontal location of the well or corehole to a known coal 

seam poses a danger to persons engaged in active coal 

mining or the lack of assurance poses a risk to the public 

safety or the environment, the director may, until 30 days 

after a permittee has filed the completion report required in 

4VAC25-150-360, require that a directional survey be 

conducted by the permittee.  

7. The driller's log shall be updated on a daily basis. The 

driller's log and results of any other required survey shall 

be kept at the site until drilling and casing or plugging a 

dry hole or corehole are completed. 

C. Each permittee completing a well shall complete a 

cement bond log for the water protection string.  

4VAC25-150-300. Pits.  

A. General requirements.  

1. Pits are to be temporary in nature and are to be 

reclaimed when the operations using the pit are complete. 

All pits shall be reclaimed within 180 days unless a 

variance is requested and granted by the field inspector. 

2. Pits may not be used as erosion and sediment control 

structures or stormwater management structures, and 

surface drainage may not be directed into a pit.  

3. Pits shall have a properly installed and maintained liner 

or liners made of 10 mil or thicker high-density 

polyethylene or its equivalent.  

4. Pits shall be constructed of sufficient size and shape to 

contain all fluids and maintain a two-foot freeboard.  
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5. Pits shall be enclosed by adequate fencing to secure the 

site from access by the public and wildlife. 

B. Operational requirements.  

1. The integrity of lined pits must and their enclosures shall 

be maintained until the pits are reclaimed or otherwise 

closed. Upon failure of the lining or pit, the operation shall 

be shut down until the liner and pit are repaired or rebuilt. 

The permittee shall notify the division, by the quickest 

available means, of any pit leak.  

2. Motor oil and, to the extent practicable, crude oil shall 

be kept out of the pit. Oil shall be collected and disposed of 

properly. Litter and other solid waste shall be collected and 

disposed of properly and not thrown into the pit.  

3. At the conclusion of drilling and completion operations 

or after a dry hole, well, or corehole has been plugged, the 

pit shall be drained in a controlled manner and the fluids 

disposed of in accordance with 4VAC25-150-420. If the 

pit is to be used for disposal of solids, then the standards of 

4VAC25-150-430 shall be met.  

4VAC25-150-340. Drilling fluids.  

A. Operations plan requirements. Applicants for a permit 

shall provide, prior to commencing drilling, documentation 

that the water meets the requirements of subsection B of this 

section, and a general description of the additives and muds to 

be used in all stages of drilling. Providing that the 

requirement in 4VAC25-150-340 subsection C of this section 

is met, variations necessary because of field conditions may 

be made with prior approval of the director and shall be 

documented in the driller's log.  

B. Water quality in drilling.  

1. Before the water-protection string is set, permittees shall 

use one of the following sources of water in drilling:  

a. Water that is from a water well or spring located on the 

drilling site; or  

b. Conduct an analysis of groundwater within 500 feet a 

one-quarter-mile radius of the drilling location, and use:  

(1) Water which is of equal or better quality than the 

groundwater; or  

(2) Water which can be treated to be of equal or better 

quality than the groundwater. A treatment plan must be 

included with the application if water is to be treated.  

(3) If, after a diligent search, a groundwater source (such 

as a well or spring) cannot be found within 500 feet a 

one-quarter-mile radius of the drilling location, the 

applicant may use water meeting the parameters listed in 

the Department of Environmental Quality's "Ground 

water criteria," 9VAC25-280-70. The analysis shall 

include, but is not limited to, the following items:  

(1) (a) Chlorides;  

(2) (b) Total dissolved solids;  

(3) (c) Hardness;  

(4) (d) Iron;  

(5) (e) Manganese;  

(6) (f) PH;  

(7) (g)Sodium; and  

(8) (h) Sulfate.  

(4) Drilling water analysis shall be taken within a one-

year period preceding the drilling application. 

2. After the water-protection string is set, permittees may 

use waters that do not meet the standards of subdivision B 

1 of this section.  

C. Drilling muds. No permittee may use an oil-based drilling 

fluid or other fluid which has the potential to cause acute or 

chronic adverse health effects on living organisms unless a 

variance has been approved by the director. Permittees must 

explain the need to use such materials and provide the 

material data safety sheets. In reviewing the request for the 

variance, the director shall consider the concentration of the 

material, the measures to be taken to control the risks, and the 

need to use the material. Permittees shall also identify what 

actions will be taken to ensure use of the additives will not 

cause a lessening of groundwater quality.  

4VAC25-150-360. Drilling, completion, and other reports.  

A. Each permittee conducting drilling shall file, 

electronically or on a form prescribed by the director, a 

drilling report within 90 days after a well reaches total depth.  

B. Each permittee drilling a well shall file, electronically or 

on a form prescribed by the director, a completion report 

within 90 days after the well is completed. All completion 

reports shall include the cement bond log required in 

subsection C of 4VAC25-150-280. Subject to the approval of 

the director, permittees may submit alternative documentation 

that demonstrates effective bond between the casing and the 

formation. 

C. The permittee shall file the driller's log, the results of any 

other log or survey required to be run in accordance with this 

chapter or by the director, and the plat showing the actual 

location of the well with the drilling report, unless they have 

been filed earlier.  

D. The permittee shall, within 90 days of reaching total 

depth, file with the division the results of any gamma ray, 

density, neutron and, induction, and cement bond logs, or 

their equivalent, that have been conducted on the wellbore in 

the normal course of activities that have not previously been 

required to be filed.  

4VAC25-150-365. Disclosure of well stimulation fluids. 

A. In addition to other requirements that may be prescribed 

by the director, each completion report required in 4VAC25-

150-360 shall also contain the following disclosures: 

The operator of the well shall complete the Chemical 

Disclosure Registry form and upload the form on the 

Chemical Disclosure Registry, including: 
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a. The operator name; 

b. The date of completion of the hydraulic fracturing 

treatment or treatments; 

c. The county in which the well is located; 

d. The American Petroleum Institute (API) number for 

the well; 

e. The well name and number; 

f. The longitude and latitude of the wellhead; 

g. The total vertical depth of the well; 

h. The total volume of water used in the hydraulic 

fracturing treatment or treatments of the well or the type 

and total volume of the base fluid used in the hydraulic 

fracturing treatment or treatments, if something other 

than water; 

i. Each additive used in the hydraulic fracturing 

treatments and the trade name, supplier, and a brief 

description of the intended use or function of each 

additive in the hydraulic fracturing treatment or 

treatments; 

j. Each chemical ingredient used in the hydraulic 

fracturing treatment or treatments of the well that is 

subject to the requirements of 29 CFR 1910.1200(g)(2), 

as provided by the chemical supplier or service company 

or by the operator, if the operator provides its own 

chemical ingredients; 

k. The actual or maximum concentration of each 

chemical ingredient listed under subdivision j of this 

subsection in percent by mass; 

l. The CAS number for each chemical ingredient listed, if 

applicable; and 

m. A supplemental list of all chemicals, their respective 

CAS numbers, and the proportions thereof not subject to 

the requirements of 29 CFR 1910.1200(g)(2), that were 

intentionally included in and used for the purpose of 

creating the hydraulic fracturing treatments for the well. 

B. If the Chemical Disclosure Registry is temporarily 

inoperable, the operator of a well on which hydraulic 

fracturing treatment or treatments were performed shall 

supply the department with the required information and 

upload the information on the registry when it is again 

operable. The information required shall also be filed as an 

attachment to the completion report for the well, which shall 

be posted, along with all attachments, on the department's 

website, except that information determined to be subject to 

trade secret protection shall not be posted. 

C. All information related to the specific identity or CAS 

number or amount of any additive or chemical ingredient 

used in hydraulic fracturing shall be submitted to the 

department and shall be available to the public unless the 

department determines that information supplied by the 

operator and claimed to be a trade secret is entitled to such 

protection. All information claimed as a trade secret shall be 

identified as such at the time of submission of the appropriate 

report. The department shall treat as confidential in 

accordance with law, information that meets the criteria 

specified in law for a trade secret and is contained on such 

forms and filings as is required under this chapter. Should the 

department determine that information is protected as a trade 

secret, the operator of the well shall indicate on the Chemical 

Disclosure Registry or the supplemental list that the additive 

or chemical ingredient or their amounts are entitled to trade 

secret protection. If a chemical ingredient name or CAS 

number is entitled to trade secret protection, the chemical 

family or other similar description associated with such 

chemical ingredient shall be provided. The operator of the 

well on which hydraulic fracturing was performed shall 

provide the contact information, including the name, 

authorized representative, mailing address, and phone number 

of the business organization for which trade secret protection 

exists. Unless the information is entitled to protection as a 

trade secret, information submitted to the department or 

uploaded on the Chemical Disclosure Registry is public 

information. 

D. The operator understands that the director may disclose 

information regarding the specific identity of a chemical, the 

concentration of a chemical, or both the specific identity and 

concentration of a chemical claimed to be a trade secret to 

additional department staff to the extent that such disclosure 

is necessary to assist the department in responding to an 

emergency resulting in an order pursuant to subsection D of 

§ 45.1-361.27 of the Code of Virginia provided that such 

individuals shall not disseminate the information further. In 

addition, the director may disclose such information to any 

relevant state or local government official to assist in 

responding to the emergency. Any information so disclosed 

shall at all times be considered confidential and shall not be 

construed as publicly available.  

E. An operator may not withhold information related to 

chemical ingredients used in hydraulic fracturing, including 

information identified as a trade secret, from any health 

professional or emergency responder who needs the 

information for diagnostic, treatment, or other emergency 

response purposes subject to procedures set forth in 29 CFR 

1910.1200(i). An operator shall provide directly to a health 

professional or emergency responder, all information in the 

person's possession that is required by the health professional 

or emergency responder, whether or not the information may 

qualify for trade secret protection under this section. The 

person disclosing information to a health professional or 

emergency responder shall include with the disclosure, as 

soon as circumstances permit, a statement of the health 

professional's confidentiality obligation. In an emergency 

situation, the operator shall provide the information 

immediately upon request to the person who determines that 

the information is necessary for emergency response or 

treatment. The disclosures required by this subsection shall be 

made in accordance with the procedures in 29 CFR 1910 with 
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respect to a written statement of need and confidentiality 

agreements, as applicable. 

4VAC25-150-535. Pressure testing requirements for 

production casing in conventional gas or oil wells. 

A. The operator shall install casing that can withstand the 

effects of tension and can prevent leaks, burst, and collapse 

during (i) the casing's installation and cementing and (ii) 

subsequent drilling and producing operations. 

B. Except as provided in subsection C of this section, all 

casing must be a string of new pipe with an internal pressure 

rating that is at least 20% greater than the anticipated 

maximum pressure to which the casing will be exposed. 

C. Used casing may be approved for use as surface, 

intermediate, or production casing but shall be pressure tested 

after cementing and before completion. A passing pressure 

test is holding the anticipated maximum pressure to which it 

will be exposed for 30 minutes with not more than a 10% 

decrease in pressure. 

D. New or used plain end casing, except when being used as 

conductor pipe, that is welded together for use must meet the 

following requirements: 

1. The casing must pass a pressure test by holding the 

anticipated maximum pressure to which the casing will be 

exposed for 30 minutes with not more than a 10% decrease 

in pressure. The operator shall notify the department at 

least 24 hours before conducting the test. The test results 

shall be entered on the drilling report. 

2. The casing shall be welded using at least three passes 

with the joint cleaned between each pass. 

4VAC25-150-610. Casing requirements for coalbed 

methane gas wells.  

A. Water protection string.  

1. Except as provided in subdivision A 5 of this section, 

the permittee shall set a water-protection string set to a 

point at least 300 feet below the surface or 50 feet below 

the deepest known groundwater horizon, whichever is 

deeper, circulated and cemented to the surface. If cement 

does not return to the surface, every reasonable effort shall 

be made to fill the annular space by introducing cement 

from the surface.  

2. The operator shall test or require the cementing 

company to test the cement mixing water for pH and 

temperature prior to mixing the cement and to record the 

results on the cementing ticket.  

3. After the cement is placed, the operator shall wait a 

minimum of eight hours and allow the cement to achieve a 

calculated compressive strength of 500 psi before drilling, 

unless the director approves a shorter period of time. The 

wait-on-cement (WOC) time shall be recorded within the 

records kept at the drilling rig while drilling is taking 

place.  

4. When requested by the director, the operator shall 

submit copies of cement tickets or other documents that 

indicate the above specifications have been followed.  

5. A coal-protection string may also serve as a water 

protection string only for gob wells.  

B. Coal protection strings.  

1. When any well penetrates coal seams that have not been 

mined out, the permittee shall, except as provided in 

subdivisions B 2 and B 3 of this section, set a coal-

protection string. The coal-protection string shall exclude 

all fluids, oil, gas, and gas pressure, except that which is 

naturally present in each coal seam. The coal-protection 

string shall also exclude all injected material or disposed 

waste from the coal seams or the wellbore. The string of 

casing shall be set to a point at least 50 feet below the 

lowest coal seam, or as provided in subdivision B 3 of this 

section, and shall be circulated and cemented from that 

point to the surface, or to a point not less than 50 feet into 

the water-protection string or strings which are cemented 

to the surface.  

2. For good cause shown, either before or after the permit 

is issued, when the procedure specified in subdivision B 1 

of this section is demonstrated by the permittee as not 

practical, the director may approve a casing program 

involving:  

a. The cementing of a coal-protection string in multiple 

stages;  

b. The cementing of two or more coal-protection strings; 

or  

c. The use of other alternative casing procedures.  

3. The director may approve the program, provided he is 

satisfied that the result will be operationally equivalent to 

compliance with the provisions of subdivision B 1 of this 

section for the purpose of permitting the subsequent safe 

mining through the well or otherwise protecting the coal 

seams as required by this section. In the use of multiple 

coal-protection strings, each string below the topmost 

string shall be cemented at least 50 feet into the next higher 

string or strings that are cemented to the surface and be 

verified by a cement top log.  

4. Depth of coal-protection strings.  

a. A coal-protection string shall be set to the top of the 

red shales in any area underlain by them unless, on a 

showing by the permittee in the permit application, the 

director has approved the casing point of the coal-

protection string at some depth less than the top of the 

red shales. In such event, the permittee shall conduct a 

gamma-ray/density log survey on an expanded scale to 

verify whether the well penetrates any coal seam in the 

uncased interval between the bottom of the coal-

protection string as approved and the top of the red 

shales.  
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b. If an unanticipated coal seam or seams are discovered 

in the uncased interval, the permittee shall report the 

discovery in writing to the director. The permittee shall 

cement the next string of casing, whether a part of the 

intermediate string or the production string, in the 

applicable manner provided in this section for coal-

protection strings, from a point at least 50 feet below the 

lowest coal seam so discovered to a point at least 50 feet 

above the highest coal seam so discovered.  

c. The gamma-ray/density log survey shall be filed with 

the director at the same time the driller's log is filed 

under 4VAC25-150-360.  

d. When the director believes, after reviewing 

documentation submitted by the permittee, that the total 

drilling in any particular area has verified the deepest 

coal seam higher than the red shales, so that further 

gamma-ray/density logs on an expanded scale are 

superfluous for the area, he may waive the constructing 

of a coal-protection string or the conducting of such 

surveys deeper than 100 feet below the verified depth of 

the deepest coal seam.  

C. Coal-protection strings of wells drilled prior to July 1, 

1982. In the case of wells drilled prior to July 1, 1982, 

through coal seams without coal-protection strings as 

prescribed in subsection B of this section, the permittee shall 

retain such coal-protection strings as were set. During the life 

of the well, the permittee shall, consistent with a plan 

approved by the director, keep the annular spaces between the 

various strings of casing adjacent to coal seams open to the 

extent possible, and the top ends of all such strings shall be 

provided with casing heads, or such other approved devices 

as will permit the free passage of gas or oil and prevent filling 

of the annular spaces with dirt or debris.  

D. Producing from more than one stratum. The casing 

program for any well designed or completed to produce from 

more than one stratum shall be designed in accordance with 

the appropriate standard practices of the industry.  

E. Casing through voids.  

1. When a well is drilled through a void, the hole shall be 

drilled at least 30 feet below the void. The annular space 

shall be cemented from the base of the casing up to the 

void, and every reasonable attempt shall be made to fill up 

the annular space from the top of the void to the surface; or 

it shall be cemented at least 50 feet into the next higher 

string or strings of casing that are cemented to the surface, 

and shall be verified by a cement top log.  

2. For good cause shown, the director may approve 

alternate casing procedures proposed by the permittee, 

provided that the director is satisfied that the alternative 

casing procedures are operationally equivalent to the 

requirements imposed by subdivision E 1 of this section.  

3. For good cause shown, the director may impose special 

requirements on the permittee to prevent communication 

between two or more voids.  

F. A well penetrating a mine other than a coal mine. In the 

event that a permittee has requested to drill a well in such a 

location that it would penetrate any active mine other than a 

coal mine, the director shall approve the safety precautions to 

be followed by the permittee prior to the commencement of 

activity.  

G. Production casing.  

1. Unless otherwise granted in a variance from the director:  

a. For coalbed methane gas wells with cased completions 

and cased/open hole completions, production casing shall 

be set and cemented from the bottom of the casing to the 

surface or to a point not less than 50 feet into the lowest 

coal-protection or water-protection string or strings 

which are cemented to the surface.  

b. For coalbed methane gas wells with open hole 

completions, the base of the casing shall be set to not 

more than 100 feet above the uppermost coalbed which is 

to be completed open hole. The casing shall be cemented 

from the bottom of the casing to the surface or to a point 

not less than 50 feet into the lowest coal-protection or 

water-protection string or strings which are cemented to 

the surface.  

2. A coal-protection string may also serve as production 

casing.  

H. Reporting of lost circulation zones. The permittee shall 

report to the director as soon as possible when an 

unanticipated void or groundwater horizon is encountered that 

results in lost circulation during drilling. The permittee shall 

take every necessary action to protect the lost circulation 

zone.  

4VAC25-150-615. Pressure testing requirements for 

production casing in coalbed methane gas wells. 

A. The operator shall install casing that can withstand the 

effects of tension and can prevent leaks, burst, and collapse 

during (i) the casing's installation and cementing and (ii) 

subsequent drilling and producing operations. 

B. Except as provided in subsection C of this section, all 

casing must be a string of new pipe with an internal pressure 

rating that is at least 20% greater than the anticipated 

maximum pressure to which the casing will be exposed. 

C. Used casing may be approved for use as surface, 

intermediate, or production casing but shall be pressure tested 

after cementing and before completion. A passing pressure 

test is holding the anticipated maximum pressure to which it 

will be exposed for 30 minutes with not more than a 10% 

decrease in pressure. 

D. New or used plain end casing, except when being used as 

conductor pipe, that is welded together for use must meet the 

following requirements: 
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1. The casing must pass a pressure test by holding the 

anticipated maximum pressure to which the casing will be 

exposed for 30 minutes with not more than a 10% decrease 

in pressure. The operator shall notify the department at 

least 24 hours before conducting the test. The test results 

shall be entered on the drilling report. 

2. The casing shall be welded using at least three passes 

with the joint cleaned between each pass. 

E. The provisions of this section shall not apply to gob 

wells. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3940; Filed September 14, 2015, 8:51 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 6VAC20-80. Rules Relating to 

Certification of Criminal Justice Instructors (amending 

6VAC20-80-20).  

Statutory Authority: § 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 4, 2015. 

Effective Date: December 1, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Barbara Peterson-Wilson, Law Enforcement 

Program Coordinator, Department of Criminal Justice 

Services, 1100 Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 225-4503, FAX (804) 786-0410, or email 

barbara.peterson-wilson@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Subdivision 5 of § 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia 

instructs the Department of Criminal Justice Services to 

"establish compulsory minimum qualifications of certification 

and recertification for instructors in criminal justice training 

schools." Subdivision 5 of § 9.1-102 also instructs the 

department to "(i) establish compulsory minimum training 

standards for law-enforcement officers who utilize radar or an 

electrical or microcomputer device to measure the speed of 

motor vehicles as provided in § 46.2-882." The Criminal 

Justice Services Board approved these recommendations on 

September 18, 2014. 

Purpose: The purpose of this intended regulatory action is to 

revise and update the currently regulations governing speed 

measurement instructor certification officers. The requested 

revisions are essential to protect the safety and welfare of 

citizens to ensure that law-enforcement instructors are 

receiving the correct training and correct information, as the 

regulation is out of date.  

The goal of this proposal is to bring the training current by 

removing the word "radar" and replacing that with "speed 

measurement" so that it will include both radar and lidar 

speed measurements. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The rationale for 

using the fast-track rulemaking process is due to the necessity 

of the change and the lack of controversy surrounding the 

change. Overall, contacts were eager for the change to be 

implemented. 

Substance: The suggested revisions will amend the 

regulations relating to the certification of criminal justice 

instructors to replace the term "radar" with "speed 

measurement" to include both lidar and radar operations. 

Issues: The primary advantage of the public and the 

Commonwealth will be a standard level of speed 

measurement training for those serving as criminal justice 

instructors. This will increase the professionalism of the field 

by ensuring that all officers are receiving viable up-to-date 

training. There are no disadvantages to the public or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Criminal Justice Services Board (Board) proposes to amend 

its Rules Relating to Certification of Criminal Justice 

Instructors to reflect that law-enforcement entities in the 

Commonwealth now may use either Radio Detecting and 

Ranging (radar) or Light Detection And Ranging (lidar) for 

speed measurement. Specifically, the Board proposes to 

change three instances of the phrase "radar detection" to 

"speed measurement" to make section 20 of this regulation 

consistent with the rest of the regulation that was amended in 

2008 (see http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewAction.cfm? 

actionid=1813 for details of this action). 

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for these 

proposed changes.  

Estimated Economic Impact. Currently section 20 of this 

regulation requires that individuals who will provide speed 

measurement instruction have two years experience in radar 

operation and also requires that they complete radar instructor 

school. The rest of this regulation was amended in 2008 to 

change phrases referencing radar and radar detection to the 

more general term speed measurement to reflect the advent of 

new lidar detection technology that was being used by police 

departments. The Board now proposes to change the 

remaining references to radar to speed measurement not only 

to make section 20 consistent with language in the rest of the 

regulation but also to remove any confusion that the current 

language might cause (since individuals must be trained in, 

and show competency with, all speed measurement 

technologies in which they provide instruction). No entities 

are likely to incur costs on account of these regulatory 

changes. To the extent that these changes make requirements 

more clear, affected entities will benefit. 
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Businesses and Entities Affected. This proposed regulation 

will affect all speed measurement instructors in the 

Commonwealth as well as any individuals who may want to 

provide speed measurement instruction in the future. All of 

these entities are likely to be employed by public law-

enforcement agencies. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No localities will likely be 

disproportionately affected by this proposed regulatory 

change. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This regulatory action will 

likely have little impact on employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 

regulatory action will likely have no impact on the use or 

value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No small 

businesses are likely to be affected by this proposed 

regulation. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. No small businesses are likely to be affected 

by this proposed regulation. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. 

General: The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has 

analyzed the economic impact of this proposed regulation in 

accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and 

Executive Order Number 17 (2014). Section 2.2-4007.04 

requires that such economic impact analyses determine the 

public benefits and costs of the proposed amendments. 

Further the report should include but not be limited to: 

• the projected number of businesses or other entities to 

whom the proposed regulation would apply, 

• the identity of any localities and types of businesses or 

other entities particularly affected, 

• the projected number of persons and employment 

positions to be affected,  

• the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and  

• the impact on the use and value of private property.  

Small Businesses: If the proposed regulation will have an 

adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires 

that such economic impact analyses include: 

• an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the proposed regulation, 

• the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other 

administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the proposed regulation, including the type 

of professional skills necessary for preparing required 

reports and other documents, 

• a statement of the probable effect of the proposed 

regulation on affected small businesses, and  

• a description of any less intrusive or less costly 

alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the 

proposed regulation.  

Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1, if there is a finding 

that a proposed regulation may have an adverse impact on 

small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative 

Rules is notified at the time the proposed regulation is 

submitted to the Virginia Register of Regulations for 

publication. This analysis shall represent DPB's best estimate 

for the purposes of public review and comment on the 

proposed regulation. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Criminal Justice Services concurs generally 

with the economic impact analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments update the regulation by changing 

"radar" to "speed measurement" so that both radio 

detecting and ranging (radar) and light detection and 

ranging (lidar) are included.  

6VAC20-80-20. Compulsory minimum standards for 

instructors. 

Individuals instructing mandated training shall possess one 

of the following certifications authorized by the department, 

excluding those enumerated in 6VAC20-80-50: 

A. Provisional instructor certification. For the individual 

who has not previously met the requirements for instructor 

certification, this certification: 

1. Requires a high school diploma or high school 

equivalency certificate (GED); 

2. Requires that the individual has met the compulsory 

minimum training standards for the primary function for 

which employed by a criminal justice agency, if 

applicable; 

3. Does not authorize an individual to instruct or qualify 

others in mandated firearms, defensive tactics, driver 

training, or radar speed measurement courses; and 

4. Is valid for not more than two years and is not 

renewable. An individual may apply for instructor 

certification upon meeting the requirements of 6VAC20-

80-20 this section and 6VAC20-80-60. 

B. General instructor certification. For individuals who have 

professional or proficiency skills in a field directly related to 

criminal justice, this certification: 

1. Requires a high school diploma or high school 

equivalency certificate (GED); 

2. Requires the applicant to be a sworn officer or an 

employee of a Virginia criminal justice agency, academy 

instructional staff, or an academy director. Nonsworn 

employees may apply for a general instructor certification 
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provided that they only conduct training in their particular 

areas of expertise; 

3. Requires a minimum of two years' experience in a 

criminal justice agency or two years of experience in the 

subject area the individual will instruct; 

4. Requires the applicant to have successfully completed 

an instructor development course which that meets or 

exceeds the standards of the instructor development course 

enumerated in 6VAC20-80-30; 

5. Is valid for not more than three years, but may be 

renewed; 

6. Requires the applicant to serve an apprenticeship, as 

specified in 6VAC20-80-40, with a certified instructor 

until the applicant can demonstrate the ability to 

successfully instruct without supervision. The certified 

instructor shall document this successful completion of the 

apprenticeship. This documentation shall be maintained at 

the certified academy at which certification is obtained; 

7. Does not authorize an individual to instruct or qualify 

others in mandated firearms, defensive tactics, driver 

training, or radar speed measurement operator courses; and 

8. Certification becomes null and void when the certified 

instructor is not employed by an agency that comes under 

the purview of the department. 

C. Firearms instructor certification. For the individual who 

has had extensive firearms training and experience, this 

certification: 

1. Requires a high school diploma or high school 

equivalency certificate (GED); 

2. Requires the applicant to be a sworn officer or an 

employee of a Virginia criminal justice agency, academy 

instructional staff, or an academy director. Nonsworn 

employees may apply for general instructor certification 

provided that they only conduct training in their particular 

area of expertise; 

3. Requires a minimum of two years' experience in a 

criminal justice agency; 

4. Requires the applicant to have attended and successfully 

completed an instructor development course which that 

meets or exceeds the standards of the instructor 

development course enumerated in 6VAC20-80-30; 

5. Requires the applicant also to have successfully 

completed a firearms instructors course which that meets 

or exceeds the standards of the firearms instructors course 

approved by the department; 

6. Is valid for not more than three years, but may be 

renewed; 

7. Requires prequalification on a department "Modified 

Double Action Course or Virginia Tactical Qualification 

Course" with a minimum score of 90%; 

8. Requires the applicant to serve an apprenticeship, as 

specified in 6VAC20-80-40, with a certified instructor 

until the applicant can demonstrate the ability to 

successfully instruct without supervision. The certified 

instructor shall document this successful completion of the 

apprenticeship. This documentation shall be maintained at 

the certified academy at which certification is obtained; 

9. Authorizes an individual to instruct mandated firearms 

training courses and to conduct annual firearms 

qualifications only; and 

10. Certification becomes null and void when the certified 

instructor is not employed by an agency that comes under 

the purview of the department. 

D. Defensive tactics certification. For the individual who has 

had extensive training and experience in the area of defensive 

tactics, this certification: 

1. Requires a high school diploma or a high school 

equivalency certificate (GED); 

2. Requires the applicant to be a sworn officer or an 

employee of a Virginia criminal justice agency, academy 

instructional staff, or an academy director. Nonsworn 

employees may apply for general instructor certification 

provided that they only conduct training in their particular 

area of expertise; 

3. Requires a minimum of two years experience in a 

criminal justice agency; 

4. Requires the applicant to have attended and successfully 

completed an instructor development course which that 

meets or exceeds the standards of the instructor 

development course enumerated in 6VAC20-80-30. 

5. Requires the applicant also to have successfully 

completed a defensive tactics instructors course which that 

meets or exceeds the standards of the defensive tactics 

instructors course approved by the department; 

6. Is valid for not more than three years, but may be 

renewed; 

7. Requires the applicant to serve an apprenticeship, as 

specified in 6VAC20-80-40, with a certified instructor 

until the applicant can demonstrate the ability to 

successfully instruct without supervision. The certified 

instructor shall document this successful completion of the 

apprenticeship. This documentation shall be maintained at 

the certified academy at which certification is obtained; 

8. Authorizes the individual to instruct defensive tactics 

subjects only; and 

9. Certification becomes null and void when the certified 

instructor is not employed by an agency that comes under 

the purview of the department. 

E. Driver training instructor certification. For the individual 

who has had extensive training and experience in the area of 

driver training, this certification: 

1. Requires a high school diploma or a high school 

equivalency certificate (GED); 
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2. Requires the applicant to be a sworn officer or an 

employee of a Virginia criminal justice agency, academy 

instructional staff, or an academy director. Nonsworn 

employees may apply for general instructor certification 

provided that they only conduct training in their areas of 

expertise; 

3. Requires a minimum of two years experience in a 

criminal justice agency; 

4. Requires the applicant to have attended and successfully 

completed an instructor development course which that 

meets or exceeds the standards of the instructor 

development course enumerated in 6VAC20-80-30; 

5. Requires the applicant also to have successfully 

completed a driver training instructors course which that 

meets or exceeds the standards of the driver training 

instructors course approved by the department; 

6. Is valid for not more than three years, but may be 

renewed; 

7. Requires the applicant to serve an apprenticeship, as 

specified in 6VAC20-80-40, with a certified instructor 

until they can demonstrate the ability to successfully 

instruct without supervision. The certified instructor shall 

document this successful completion of the apprenticeship. 

This documentation shall be maintained at the certified 

academy at which certification is obtained; 

8. Authorizes the individual to instruct driver training 

subjects only; and 

9. Certification becomes null and void when the certified 

instructor is not employed by an agency that comes under 

the purview of the department. 

F. Speed measurement instructor certification. This 

certification: 

1. Requires a high school diploma or high school 

equivalency certificate (GED); 

2. Requires the applicant to be a sworn officer or an 

employee of a Virginia criminal justice agency, academy 

instructional staff, or an academy director. Nonsworn 

employees may apply for general instructor certification 

provided that they only conduct training in their particular 

area of expertise; 

3. Requires a minimum of two years experience in a 

criminal justice agency, including two years experience in 

radar operation speed measurement; 

4. Requires the applicant to have attended and successfully 

completed an instructor development course which that 

meets or exceeds the standards of the instructor 

development course enumerated in 6VAC20-80-30; 

5. Requires the applicant to have attended and successfully 

completed a radar speed measurement instructor school 

which that meets or exceeds the standards established by 

the department; 

6. This provision applies to all new personnel employed 

after July 1, 2007;  

7. Is valid for not more than three years, but may be 

renewed; 

8. Requires the applicant to serve an apprenticeship, as 

specified in 6VAC20-80-40, with a certified instructor 

until the applicant can demonstrate the ability to 

successfully instruct without supervision. The certified 

instructor shall document this successful completion of the 

apprenticeship. This documentation shall be maintained at 

the certified academy at which certification is obtained; 

9. Authorizes an individual to instruct radar speed 

measurement subjects only; and 

10. Certification becomes null and void when the certified 

instructor is no longer employed by an agency that comes 

under the purview of the department. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4164; Filed September 15, 2015, 4:14 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 6VAC20-120. Regulations Relating to 

Criminal History Record Information Use and Security 

(amending 6VAC20-120-20 through, 6VAC20-120-80, 

6VAC20-120-100 through 6VAC20-120-140, 6VAC20-

120-160; repealing 6VAC20-120-10).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 9.1-102 and 9.1-131 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

October 21, 2015 - 10 a.m. - Washington Building, 1100 

Bank Street, Room B27, Richmond, VA 23219. Note: 

Individuals wishing to attend must present a photo ID at 

the security desk when entering the building. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 4, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Barbara Peterson-Wilson, Law Enforcement 

Program Coordinator, Department of Criminal Justice 

Services, 1100 Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 225-4503, FAX (804) 225-3853, or email 

barbara.peterson-wilson@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Subdivision 24 of § 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia 

instructs the Department of Criminal Justice Services to 

"adopt regulations establishing guidelines and standards for 

the collection, storage, and dissemination of criminal history 

record information and correctional status information, and 

the privacy, confidentiality, and security thereof necessary to 

implement state and federal statutes, regulations, and court 

orders." Section 9.1-131 instructs that "the Board shall ensure 

that annual audits are conducted of a representative sample of 

state and local criminal justice agencies to ensure compliance 

with this article and Board regulations. The Board shall adopt 

such regulations as may be necessary for the conduct of 

audits, the retention of records to facilitate such audits, the 

determination of necessary corrective actions, and the 

reporting of corrective actions taken." The Criminal Justice 
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Services Board approved these recommendations December 

12, 2013. 

Purpose: The board and department are required by § 9.1-102 

of the Code of Virginia to establish regulations regarding the 

use and security of criminal history record information and by 

§ 9.1-131 of the Code of Virginia to conduct annual audits. 

The proposed revisions to these regulations address the 

security and dissemination of criminal history record 

information. These revisions are intended to protect the public 

safety and welfare by protecting citizens from the unlawful 

dissemination of their criminal history record information. 

These regulations have not been revised since 1997. 

Substance:  

6VAC20-120-20 – Definitions. Definitions have been added 

to define terms used within the document and amended based 

on terminology related to criminal history record information 

use and security.  

6VAC20-120-30 – Applicability. The amendments to this 

section came from an official opinion from the Office of the 

Attorney General. 

6VAC20-120-40 – Collection. The amendments reflect the 

current practices according to Central Criminal Records 

Exchange requirements and current practices of state, local, 

and criminal justice agencies in the Commonwealth with 

access to criminal history record information. 

6VAC20-120-50 - Dissemination. The amendments reflect 

the requirements of the Central Criminal Records Exchange 

in reference to the query and dissemination of criminal 

history record information. Additional changes relating to 

"noncriminal justice agencies" were removed due to an 

official opinion from the Office of the Attorney General.  

6VAC20-120-60 - Access and review. The amendments 

reflect the current practices according to the Central Criminal 

Records Exchange and the Virginia Criminal Information 

Network. 

6VAC20-120-70 – Challenge. The amendments reflect the 

current procedures in accordance with the Central Criminal 

Records Exchange.  

6VAC20-120-80 – Expungement and sealing. The 

amendments reflect the current requirements in accordance 

with § 19.2-392.1 of the Code of Virginia in relation to 

expunged records, as well as current court requirements when 

using imaged case records. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public and the 

Commonwealth will be a standard regulatory process for how 

personal criminal history record information is handled 

amongst state and local law enforcement agencies within the 

Commonwealth. There are no disadvantages to the public or 

the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Criminal Justice Services Board proposes to clarify 

regulations relating to criminal history records. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The proposed changes will 

clarify the current language relating to criminal history 

records. Clarification of existing language is expected to 

benefit all affected entities. However, there is no change in 

the regulatory requirements. Thus, no significant economic 

impact is expected as a result of this proposed action. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. These regulations apply to 

state and local criminal justice agencies which include the 

Commonwealth's Attorneys, courts, corrections, emergency 

operators, fire marshals, local agencies, magistrates, police 

departments, state agencies, sheriff’s offices, state police, and 

federal agencies. According to the Department of Criminal 

Justice Services, there are approximately 650 such entities in 

Virginia. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulations 

apply throughout the Commonwealth.  

Projected Impact on Employment. No impact on employment 

is expected. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No impact 

on the use and value of private property is expected. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 

regulations do not impose costs and other effects on small 

businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. The proposed regulations do not have 

adverse impact on small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Legal Mandate. 

General: The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has 

analyzed the economic impact of this proposed regulation in 

accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and 

Executive Order Number 17 (2014). Section 2.2-4007.04 

requires that such economic impact analyses determine the 

public benefits and costs of the proposed amendments. 

Further the report should include but not be limited to: 

• the projected number of businesses or other entities to 

whom the proposed regulation would apply, 

• the identity of any localities and types of businesses or 

other entities particularly affected, 

• the projected number of persons and employment 

positions to be affected,  

• the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and  



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 3 Virginia Register of Regulations October 5, 2015 

389 

• the impact on the use and value of private property.  

Small Businesses: If the proposed regulation will have an 

adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires 

that such economic impact analyses include: 

• an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the proposed regulation, 

• the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other 

administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the proposed regulation, including the type 

of professional skills necessary for preparing required 

reports and other documents, 

• a statement of the probable effect of the proposed 

regulation on affected small businesses, and  

• a description of any less intrusive or less costly 

alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the 

proposed regulation.  

Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1, if there is a finding 

that a proposed regulation may have an adverse impact on 

small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative 

Rules is notified at the time the proposed regulation is 

submitted to the Virginia Register of Regulations for 

publication. This analysis shall represent DPB's best estimate 

for the purposes of public review and comment on the 

proposed regulation. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Criminal Justice Services concurs generally 

with the economic impact analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) update definitions, (ii) 

clarify that the department does not have the authority to 

audit noncriminal justice agencies or individuals, (iii) 

update provisions relating to the Central Criminal Records 

Exchange (CCRE), (iv) clarify that agencies are not 

authorized to query CCRE at the request of an individual, 

(iv) reflect statutory provisions relating to expunged 

records and court requirements when using imaged case 

records, and (v) make technical or corrective changes. 

Part I  

General  

6VAC20-120-10. Purpose. (Repealed.)  

Pursuant to the provisions of §§ 9-170 1, 9-170 15, 9-170 

16, 9-170 17, 9-170 21 and §§ 9-184 through 9-196 of the 

Code of Virginia, the Criminal Justice Services Board hereby 

promulgates the following regulations relating to Criminal 

History Record Information Use and Security.  

The purpose of these regulations is to assure that state and 

local criminal justice agencies maintaining criminal history 

record information establish required record keeping 

procedures to ensure that criminal history record information 

is accurate, complete, timely, electronically and physically 

secure, and disseminated only in accordance with federal and 

state legislation and regulations. Agencies may implement 

specific procedures appropriate to their particular systems, 

but at a minimum shall abide by the requirements outlined 

herein.  

Part I 

General 

6VAC20-120-20. Definitions.  

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise.  

"Access" means the ability to obtain, directly or through an 

intermediary, criminal history record information contained in 

manual or automated files.  

"Board" means the Criminal Justice Services Board, as 

defined in § 9-168 9.1-108 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Central Criminal Records Exchange (CCRE)" or "CCRE" 

means the repository in this Commonwealth which that 

receives, identifies, maintains, and disseminates individual 

criminal history records, in accordance with § 9-170 22 

Chapter 23 (§ 19.2-387 et seq.) of Title 19.2 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

"Challenge" means an individual's objection to his criminal 

history record information. 

"Conviction data" means information in the custody of any 

criminal justice agency relating to a judgement judgment of 

conviction, and the consequences arising therefrom, in any 

court.  

"Correctional status information" means records and data 

concerning each condition of a convicted person's custodial 

status, including probation, confinement, work release, study 

release, escape, or termination of custody through expiration 

of sentence, parole, pardon, or court decision.  

"Criminal history record information" means records and 

data collected by criminal justice agencies on adult 

individuals consisting of identifiable descriptions and 

notations of arrests, detentions, indictments, informations 

information, or other formal charges and any disposition 

arising therefrom. The term shall not include juvenile record 

information which is controlled by Chapter 11 (§ 16.1-226 et 

seq.), of Title 16.1 §§ 16.1-299 and 19.2-389.1 of the Code of 

Virginia, criminal justice investigative information, or 

correctional status information.  

"Criminal history record information area" means any 

office, room, or space in which criminal history record 

information is regularly collected, processed, stored, or 

disseminated to an authorized user. This area includes 

computer rooms, computer terminal workstations, file rooms, 

and any other rooms or space in which the above those 

activities are carried out.  

"Criminal intelligence information" means information on 

identifiable individuals compiled in an effort to anticipate, 

prevent or monitor possible data that has been evaluated and 
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determined to be relevant to the identification and criminal 

activity of individuals or organizations that are reasonably 

suspected of involvement in criminal activity. Criminal 

intelligence information shall not include criminal 

investigative files.  

"Criminal investigative information" means information on 

identifiable individuals compiled in the course of the 

investigation of specific criminal acts.  

"Criminal justice agency" means a court or any other 

governmental agency or subunit thereof which that as its 

principal function performs the administration of criminal 

justice and any other agency or subunit thereof which that 

performs criminal justice activities.  

"Criminal justice information system" means a system, 

including the equipment, facilities, procedures, agreements, 

and organizations thereof, which that is used for the 

collection, processing, preservation, or dissemination of 

criminal history record information. The operations of the 

system may be performed manually or by using electronic 

computers or other automated data processing equipment.  

"Department" means the Department of Criminal Justice 

Services.  

"Destroy" means to totally eliminate and eradicate by 

various methods, including, but not limited to, shredding, 

incinerating, or pulping.  

"Director" means the chief administrative officer of the 

department.  

"Dissemination" means any transfer of information, whether 

orally, in writing, or by electronic means. The term does not 

include access to the information by officers or employees of 

a criminal justice agency maintaining the information who 

have both a need and a right to know the information.  

"Expunge" means to remove, in accordance with a court 

order, a criminal history record, or a portion of a record, from 

public inspection or normal access.  

"Modify" means to add or delete information from a record 

to accurately reflect the reported facts of an individual's 

criminal history record. (See § 9-192(C) 9.1-132 of the Code 

of Virginia.) This includes eradicating, supplementing, 

updating, and correcting inaccurate and erroneous 

information.  

"Noncriminal justice agencies or individuals" means those 

agencies or individuals authorized to receive limited criminal 

history record information pursuant to a specific agreement 

with a criminal justice agency under the provisions of 

subsection A of § 19.2-389 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Originating agency identifier" or "ORI" means a unique 

nine-character designation used to identify the agency that 

places records in the Virginia Criminal Information Network 

(VCIN).  

"Seal" means to physically prevent access to a criminal 

history record, or portion of a criminal history record. 

"Superintendent" means the chief administrative officer of 

the Virginia Department of State Police.  

Part II  

Criminal History Record Information Use  

6VAC20-120-30. Applicability.  

These regulations govern A. This chapter governs originals 

and copies of manual or automated criminal history record 

information which that are used, collected, stored, or 

disseminated by a state or local criminal justice agencies or 

other agencies receiving criminal history record information 

in the Commonwealth. The regulations This chapter also set 

sets forth the required procedures that ensure the proper 

processing of the expungement of criminal history record 

information. The provisions of this chapter apply to the 

following groups, agencies, and individuals:  

1. State and local criminal justice agencies and subunits of 

these agencies in the Commonwealth; and 

2. The United States Government or the government of 

another state or its political subdivisions which that 

exchange such information with criminal justice agencies 

in the Commonwealth, but only to the extent of that 

exchange;.  

3. Noncriminal justice agencies or individuals who are 

eligible under the provisions of § 19.2-389 of the Code of 

Virginia to receive limited criminal history record 

information.  

B. The provisions of this chapter do not apply to: (i) original 

or copied records of entry, such as police blotters maintained 

by a criminal justice agency on a chronological basis and 

permitted to be made public, but only if such records are not 

indexed or accessible by name; (ii) offense and dispatch 

records maintained by a criminal justice agency on a 

chronological basis and permitted to be made public, if such 

records are not indexed or accessible by name or do not 

contain criminal history record information; (iii) court records 

of public criminal proceedings, including opinions and 

published compilations thereof; (iv) records of traffic offenses 

disseminated to or maintained by the Department of Motor 

Vehicles for the purpose of regulating the issuance, 

suspension, revocation, or renewal of drivers' or other 

operators' licenses; (v) statistical or analytical records or 

reports in which individuals are not identified and from which 

their identities are not ascertainable; (vi) announcements of 

executive clemency; (vii) posters, announcements, or lists for 

identifying or apprehending fugitives or wanted persons; and 

(viii) criminal justice intelligence information; or criminal 

justice investigative information.  

C. Nothing in this chapter shall be construed as prohibiting a 

criminal justice agency from disclosing to the public factual 

information concerning the status of an investigation,; the 

apprehension, arrest, release or prosecution of an individual,; 

the adjudication of charges,; or the correctional status of an 
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individual, which is related to the offense for which the 

individual is currently within the criminal justice system.  

6VAC20-120-40. Collection.  

A. Responsibility. Responsibility for collecting and updating 

criminal history record information rests with:  

1. State officials and criminal justice agencies having the 

power to arrest, detain, or hold convicted persons in 

correctional facilities;  

2. Sheriffs of cities or counties;  

3. Police officials of cities, counties, and towns;  

4. Other local law-enforcement officers or conservators of 

the peace who have the power to arrest for a felony (see 

§ 19.2-390 of the Code of Virginia);  

5. Clerks of court and court agencies or officers of the 

court; and  

6. Other criminal justice agencies or agencies having 

criminal justice responsibilities which generate criminal 

history record information.  

B. Reportable offenses. The above officials listed in 

subsection A of this section and their representatives are 

required to submit to the Central Criminal Records Exchange, 

on forms provided by the Central Criminal Records 

Exchange, a report on every arrest they complete for:  

1. Treason;  

2. Felonies or offenses punishable as a misdemeanor under 

Title 54.1 18.2 of the Code of Virginia;  

3. Class 1 and 2 misdemeanors under Title 18.2 except an 

arrest for a violation of Article 2 (§ 18.2-266 et seq.) of 

Chapter 7 of Title 18.2; a violation of Article 2 (§ 18.2-415 

et seq.) of Chapter 9 of Title 18.2, or § 18.2-119; or a 

violation of any similar ordinance of a county, city or 

town.  

In addition to those offenses enumerated above in this 

subsection, the Central Criminal Records Exchange may 

receive, classify, and file any other fingerprints and records of 

arrest or confinement submitted to it by any law-enforcement 

agency or correctional institution.  

The chief of police, sheriff, or criminal justice agency head 

is responsible for establishing a system to ensure that arrest 

forms are completed and submitted in a timely and accurate 

fashion.  

C. Timelines of submission.  

1. Arrests. Arrest reports for all offenses noted above in 

subsection B of this section, except as provided in this 

section, and a fingerprint card for the arrested individual 

shall be forwarded to the Central Criminal Records 

Exchange in accordance with the time limits specified by 

the Department of State Police. A copy of the Central 

Criminal Records Exchange arrest form shall also be sent 

to the local court (a copy of the form is provided for the 

courts) at the same time.  

The link between the arrest report and the fingerprint card 

shall be established according to Central Criminal Records 

Exchange requirements. Arrests that occur simultaneously 

for multiple offenses need only be accompanied by one 

fingerprint card.  

2. Nonconvictions. For arrests except as noted in 

subdivision 3a below, the clerk of each circuit and district 

court shall notify the Central Criminal Records Exchange 

of the final action on a case. This notification must always 

be made no more than 30 days from the date the order is 

entered by the presiding judge.  

3. 2. Convictions. a. For persons arrested and released on 

summonses under § 19.2-74 of the Code of Virginia, the 

chief law-enforcement officer or his designee, who may be 

the arresting officer, shall furnish a fingerprint cards card 

and a completed copy of the Central Criminal Records 

Exchange form to the Central Criminal Records Exchange. 

The form shall be completed immediately upon conviction 

unless an appeal is noted. In the case of an appeal, officials 

responsible for reporting the disposition of charges shall 

report the conviction within 30 days after final action of 

the case.  

b. For arrests except as noted in subdivision 3 a above, 

the clerk of each circuit and district court shall notify the 

Central Criminal Records Exchange of the final action on 

a case. This notification must always be made no more 

than 30 days after occurrence of the disposition.  

4. 3. Final disposition. State correctional officials shall 

submit to the Central Criminal Records Exchange the 

release status of an inmate of the state correctional system 

within 20 days of the release.  

D. Updating and accuracy.  

1. Arresting officers and court clerks noted above in 

subsection A of this section are responsible for notifying 

the Central Criminal Records Exchange in a timely fashion 

manner, and always within 30 days, of changes or errors 

and necessary corrections in arrests, convictions, or other 

dispositions, concerning arrests and dispositions that the 

criminal justice agency originated. In the case of 

correctional status or release information, correctional 

officials are responsible for notifying the Central Criminal 

Records Exchange within the same time limits of updates 

or changes in correctional status information. Forms for 

updating and correcting information are provided by the 

Central Criminal Records Exchange.  

2. Each criminal justice agency is required to supply timely 

corrections of criminal history record information the 

agency has provided to a criminal justice or a noncriminal 

justice agency for a period of two years after the date of 

dissemination.  

E. Locally maintained and nonreportable offenses. Criminal 

history record information generated by a criminal justice 

agency and maintained in a locally used and maintained file, 
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including criminal history record information on offenses not 

required to be reported to the Central Criminal Records 

Exchange but maintained in local files, as well as criminal 

history record information maintained by the Central 

Criminal Records Exchange, shall adhere to the standards of 

collection, timeliness, updating, and accuracy as required by 

these regulations this chapter. Arrests shall be noted and 

convictions or adjudications recorded within 30 days of court 

action or the elapse of time to appeal.  

F. Except as provided in §§ 15.2-1722, 16.1-299, and 19.2-

390 of the Code of Virginia, nothing contained in this article 

shall be construed as requiring any criminal justice agency to 

collect, maintain, or update criminal history record 

information, as defined in § 9.1-101 of the Code of Virginia, 

when such information is already available and readily 

accessible from another criminal justice agency. 

6VAC20-120-50. Dissemination.  

A. Authorization.  

1. No criminal justice agency or individual shall confirm or 

deny the existence or nonexistence of a criminal history 

record to persons or agencies that would not be eligible to 

receive the information. No dissemination of a criminal 

history record is to be made to a noncriminal justice 

agency or individual if an interval of one year has elapsed 

from the date of arrest and no disposition of the charge has 

been recorded and no active prosecution of the charge is 

pending.  

2. Criminal history record information or portions of an 

individual's record both maintained and used by criminal 

justice agencies and eligible recipients, maintained either at 

the Central Criminal Records Exchange, or by the 

originating criminal justice agency, or both, shall only be 

disseminated as provided by § 19.2-389 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

3. Upon receipt of a request for criminal history record 

information, by personal contact, mail, or electronic means 

from an agency or individual claiming to be authorized to 

obtain such information, the person responding to the 

request shall determine whether the requesting agency or 

individual is authorized to receive criminal history record 

information.  

4. Criminal justice agencies shall determine what positions 

in their agency require regular access to criminal history 

record information as part of their the position's job 

responsibilities. These positions will be exempt from the 

dissemination rules below provisions of subsection B of 

this section. Use of criminal history record information by 

a member of a criminal justice agency not occupying a 

position authorized to receive criminal history record 

information, or for a purpose or activity other than one for 

which the person is authorized to receive criminal history 

record information, will be considered a dissemination and 

shall meet the provisions of this section. If the user of 

criminal history record information does not meet the 

procedures in subsection B of this section, the use of the 

information will be considered an unauthorized 

dissemination.  

5. The release of criminal history record information to an 

individual or entity not included in § 19.2-389 of the Code 

of Virginia is unlawful and unauthorized. An individual or 

criminal justice agency that releases criminal history 

record information to a party which does not clearly belong 

to one of the categories of agencies and individuals 

authorized to receive the information as outlined in § 19.2-

389 of the Code is subject to being denied access to state 

and national criminal history record information on a 

temporary or permanent basis and to the administrative 

sanctions described in 6VAC20-120-100. Unlawful 

dissemination contrary to the provisions of this chapter is 

also a Class 2 misdemeanor (see § 9-195 9.1-136 of the 

Code of Virginia).  

B. Procedures for responding to requests. A criminal justice 

agency disseminating criminal history record information 

shall adhere to the following regulations provisions:  

1. Allowable responses to requests. Local and regional 

criminal justice agencies may respond to requests for 

criminal history record information in two ways:  

a. For offenses required to be reported to the Central 

Criminal Records Exchange (CCRE), they may shall 

refer the requester to the Central Criminal Records 

Exchange, which will directly provide the requester with 

the information, or shall themselves query the Central 

Criminal Records Exchange to obtain the most accurate 

and complete information available and provide the 

information to the requester. (See § 19.2-389 of the Code 

of Virginia.)  

It should be noted that the Code of Virginia provides an 

exception to the above mentioned procedure for 

responding to information requests. The local law-

enforcement agency may directly provide criminal 

history record information to the requester without 

making an inquiry to the Central Criminal Records 

Exchange or referring the requester to the Central 

Criminal Records Exchange if the time is of the essence 

and the normal response time of the exchange would 

exceed the necessary time period. (See § 19.2-389 of the 

Code of Virginia.) Under circumstances where When an 

inquiry to the exchange is not made, the record provided 

by the local law-enforcement agency should be 

accompanied by an appropriate disclaimer indicating that 

the record may not be complete.  

b. For nonreportable offenses (i.e., those offenses not 

reported to the Central Criminal Records Exchange), the 

law-enforcement agency shall provide the information 

requested, following the dissemination procedures as 

required by the regulations below subdivisions 2 through 

8 of this subsection.  
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2. Prior to dissemination. Prior to disseminating criminal 

history record information a criminal justice agency shall:  

a. Verify requester identity.  

(1) Individual requester. For an individual requesting his 

own record and not known to the person responding to 

the request, the individual shall provide proper 

identification, to include at least two of the following, 

one of which must be a photo identification: (i) a valid 

passport, (ii) drivers' license with photo, (iii) social 

security card, (iv) birth certificate, or (v) military 

identification, or (vi) state issued identification card with 

photo, if there is more than one name match. Fingerprints 

or other additional information shall be required if the 

disseminating criminal justice agency deems it 

appropriate or necessary to ensure a match of the record 

and the requesting subject.  

(2) Criminal justice agencies. For personnel of criminal 

justice agencies requesting a record, the requester shall 

provide valid agency identification unless the 

disseminator recognizes the requesting individual as 

having previously been authorized to receive the 

information for the same purpose.  

(3) Noncriminal justice agencies or individuals. For an 

individual requesting the record of another, as in the case 

of an attorney requesting the record of his client, the 

individual shall provide a sworn written request from the 

record subject naming the requester as a recipient, as 

provided in subsection A of § 19.2-389A 19.2-389 of the 

Code of Virginia. The written request shall include the 

full name, date of birth, race, and sex of the record 

subject. Identification of the attorney or individual shall 

also be required unless the attorney or individual is 

known to the official responding to the request.  

b. Verify record subject identity. Because serious harm 

could come from the matching of criminal history record 

information to the wrong individual, verification 

procedures shall be carefully managed, particularly when 

dissemination will be to noncriminal justice recipients. 

The following verification methods are the only 

acceptable methods information shall be reviewed to 

verify the record subject's identity:  

(1) Individual requesters. The verification requirements 

for individuals requesting their own records and for 

individual requesters with sworn requests from the 

subject of the information shall be the same as the 

requirements for noncriminal justice agencies as 

described below. The full name, date of birth, race, and 

sex of the record subject. Fingerprint identification may 

be required prior to dissemination if there is any doubt as 

to the match. If a criminal justice agency does not have 

the capability to classify fingerprints, it may submit them 

by mail to the Central Criminal Records Exchange. Only 

when the information supplied and the information in the 

Central Criminal Records Exchange or local files 

satisfactorily match shall information be disseminated.  

(2) Criminal justice agencies. Criminal history record 

information which reasonably corresponds to the name, 

aliases, and physical identity of the subject can be 

disseminated to a legitimate requester when time is of the 

essence or if criminal justice interests will be best served 

by the dissemination. This includes the dissemination of 

records with similar but not identical name spellings, 

similar physical characteristics, and similar but not 

identical aliases. When criminal history record 

information is obtained in this manner and results in an 

apparent match between the identity of the subject and 

the record, the criminal history record should be verified 

using fingerprint identification prior to prosecution, 

adjudication or sentencing of the record subject. If a 

criminal justice agency does not have the capability to 

classify fingerprints, it may submit them by mail to the 

Central Criminal Records Exchange.  

(3) Noncriminal justice agencies. Full name, date of 

birth, race, and sex of the record subject must be 

provided by the requester for a criminal history record to 

be disseminated. Fingerprint identification may be 

required prior to dissemination if there is any doubt as to 

the match. If a criminal justice agency does not have the 

capability to classify fingerprints, it may submit them by 

mail to the Central Criminal Records Exchange. 

Information supplied by the requester and available 

through the Central Criminal Records Exchange (or in 

the local files where the request is for criminal history 

record information maintained only locally) must match 

to the satisfaction of the disseminator, or the 

dissemination shall not be made.  

c. Notify requester of costs and restrictions. The official 

responsible for aiding the requester shall notify the 

requester of the costs involved and of restrictions 

generally imposed on use of the data, or be reasonably 

assured that the requester is familiar with the costs and 

restrictions, prior to beginning the search for the 

requested criminal history record information, and shall 

obtain the consent of the requester to pay any charges 

associated with the dissemination.  

3. Locating and disseminating information requested. Once 

a request for a criminal history record has been made, and 

the responsible official is satisfied as to the legitimacy of 

the request and the identity of the subject and has informed 

the requester of costs and restrictions, the responsible 

official conducting the search for the record shall supply 

the information after querying the Central Criminal 

Records Exchange. However, if time is of the essence, or 

the offenses in a criminal history record are not required to 

be reported to Central Criminal Records Exchange, the 

responsible official may directly supply the information 

contained in the local files on offenses not required to be 
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reported to the Central Criminal records Exchange (see 

§ 19.2-389 of the Code of Virginia).  

4. Instructions regarding dissemination to requesters. The 

disseminated record must be accompanied by one of the 

three following messages message "UNAUTHORIZED 

DISSEMINATION WILL SUBJECT THE 

DISSEMINATOR TO CRIMINAL AND CIVIL 

PENALTIES" in printed form, whichever matches the 

category of the requester for the following requesters:  

a. Record subjects. Record subjects have a right to 

receive and disseminate their own criminal history record 

information, subject to these regulations this chapter and 

subdivision 11 of § 19.2-389(11) 19.2-389 of the Code of 

Virginia. If a record subject or his attorney complies with 

the requirements of these sections this section, he shall be 

given the requested criminal history record information. 

However, if an agency or individual receives a record 

from the record subject, that agency or individual shall 

not further disseminate the record. The following printed 

message shall accompany the criminal history record 

information disseminated to a record subject:  

"UNAUTHORIZED DISSEMINATION WILL 

SUBJECT THE DISSEMINATOR TO CRIMINAL 

AND CIVIL PENALTIES."  

b. Criminal justice agencies. The following printed 

message shall accompany the criminal history record 

information disseminated to a criminal justice agency:  

"UNAUTHORIZED DISSEMINATION WILL 

SUBJECT THE DISSEMINATOR TO CRIMINAL 

AND CIVIL PENALTIES."  

c. Noncriminal justice agencies and individuals other 

than record subjects. Even with the sworn consent of the 

record subject, only criminal history record information 

that is conviction data shall be disseminated to a 

noncriminal justice agency or an individual in 

compliance with the existing laws and shall not be 

disseminated further. The following printed message 

shall accompany the criminal history record information 

disseminated to an individual or a noncriminal justice 

agency receiving criminal history record information:  

"UNAUTHORIZED DISSEMINATION WILL 

SUBJECT THE DISSEMINATOR TO CRIMINAL 

AND CIVIL PENALTIES."  

5. Maintaining a dissemination log. A record of any 

dissemination all secondary disseminations shall be 

maintained at the disseminating criminal justice agency or 

shall be accessible electronically for a period of at least 

two years from the date of the dissemination.  

The dissemination log must list all requests for criminal 

history record information. The log may be automated or 

manual.  

Records will include the following information on each 

dissemination:  

a. Date of inquiry;  

b. Requesting agency name and address or the agency 

ORI;  

c. Identifying name and number (either FBI or state 

identification number of record subject, or notification of 

"no record found");  

d. Name of requester within the agency requesting 

criminal history record information; and  

e. Name of disseminator (officer or civilian who provides 

the criminal history record information to the requester).  

6. Reporting unauthorized disseminations. While 

individual criminal justice agencies are not expected to 

audit agencies who that receive criminal history record 

information that they provide, in order to identify 

unauthorized releases, they individual criminal justice 

agencies shall notify the department of any violations 

observed of the above dissemination regulations this 

section. The department will investigate and respond to the 

violation in a manner deemed appropriate by the 

department.  

A criminal justice agency which that knowingly fails to 

report a violation may be subject to immediate audit of its 

entire dissemination log to ensure that disseminations are 

being appropriately managed.  

7. Interstate dissemination. Interstate dissemination of 

criminal history record information shall be subject to the 

procedures described herein in this section. Dissemination 

to an agency outside of the Commonwealth shall be carried 

out in compliance with Virginia law and this chapter, as if 

the agency were within the jurisdiction of the 

Commonwealth.  

8. Fees. Criminal justice agencies may charge a reasonable 

fee for search and copying time expended when 

dissemination of criminal history record information is 

requested by a noncriminal justice agency or an individual. 

The criminal justice agency shall post the schedule of fees 

to be charged, and shall obtain approval from the requester 

to pay such costs prior to initiating the search.  

C. Limitations on use. Use of criminal history record 

information disseminated to noncriminal justice agencies 

shall be limited to the purposes for which the information was 

given and may not be disseminated further. 

6VAC20-120-60. Access and review.  

A. Who can review. An individual or his attorney, upon 

providing proper identification and in the case of an attorney 

representing a client, with a sworn written request from the 

record subject, shall have the right to inspect criminal history 

record information being maintained on that individual by the 

Central Criminal Records Exchange or other criminal justice 

agencies. Completing a request form may shall be required by 

the Central Criminal Records Exchange or the local criminal 

justice agency.  
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B. Review at local law-enforcement agency or central 

criminal records exchange.  

1. An individual or his attorney may review the 

individual's criminal history record information arising 

from arrests for felonies and Class 1 and 2 misdemeanors 

maintained in the Central Criminal Records Exchange by 

applying at any law-enforcement agency with terminal 

capabilities on through a request to the Virginia Criminal 

Information Network or to the Central Criminal Records 

Exchange of the Virginia Department of State Police, 

during normal working hours. An individual or his attorney 

may review the individual's criminal history record 

regarding offenses not required to be reported to the 

Central Criminal Records Exchange at the arresting law-

enforcement agency.  

2. The law-enforcement agency to which the request is 

directed shall inform the individual or his attorney of the 

procedures associated with the review.  

3. Individuals shall be provided, at cost, one copy of their 

record. If no record can be found, a statement shall be 

furnished to this effect.  

C. Timeliness and completeness.  

1. An individual requesting his own record shall be advised 

when the record will be available. In no case shall the time 

between request and availability of the record exceed one 

week, except where fingerprint identification is required; 

then it shall not exceed 30 days. Criminal justice agencies 

should seek to provide the record as soon as reasonably 

possible unless there are questions of identification.  

2. The criminal justice agency locating an individual's 

criminal history record information shall examine its own 

files and shall contact the Central Criminal Records 

Exchange for the most up-to-date criminal history record 

information, and supply both the criminal history record 

information to the requester.  

D. Assistance.  

1. The criminal justice agency to which the request is 

directed shall provide reasonable assistance to the 

individual or his attorney to help understand the record.  

2. The official releasing the record shall also inform the 

individual of his right to challenge the record.  

6VAC20-120-70. Challenge.  

A. Individuals who desire to challenge their own criminal 

history record information must complete documentation 

provided by the criminal justice agency maintaining the 

record and forward it to the Central Criminal Records 

Exchange or the criminal justice agency maintaining the 

record. A duplicate copy of the form and the challenged 

record may be maintained by the individual initiating the 

challenge or review. The individual's record concerning 

arrests for felonies and Class 1 and 2 misdemeanors may be 

challenged at the Central Criminal Records Exchange or the 

criminal justice agency maintaining the record of the 

Department of the State Police. For offenses not required to 

be reported to the Central Criminal Records Exchange, the 

challenge shall be made at the arresting law-enforcement 

agency or the criminal justice agency maintaining the records.  

A challenge will be processed as described below.  

A. Record B. A challenge to a record maintained by the 

Central Criminal Records Exchange. will be processed as 

follows:  

1. Message flags. If the challenge is made of a record 

maintained by the Central Criminal Records Exchange, 

both the manual and the automated record shall be flagged 

with the message "CHALLENGED RECORD." A 

challenged record shall carry this message when 

disseminated while under challenge.  

2. Review at exchange. The Central Criminal Records 

Exchange shall compare the information contained in the 

repository files as reviewed by the individual with the 

original arrest or disposition form. If no error is located, 

the Central Criminal Records Exchange (i) shall forward a 

copy of the challenge form, a copy of the Central Criminal 

Records Exchange record, and other relevant information 

to the criminal justice agency or agencies which the 

Central Criminal Records Exchange records indicate as 

having originated the information under challenge, and (ii) 

shall request them to examine the relevant files to 

determine the validity of the challenge.  

3. Examination. The criminal justice agency or agencies 

responsible for originating the challenged record shall 

conduct an examination of their source data, the contents 

of the challenge, and information supplied by the Central 

Criminal Records Exchange for any discrepancies or 

errors, and shall advise the Central Criminal Records 

Exchange of the results of the examination.  

4. Correction. If any modification of a Central Criminal 

Records Exchange record is required, the Central Criminal 

Records Exchange shall modify the record and shall then 

notify the criminal justice agency in which the record was 

originally reviewed of its action, and supply it and other 

agencies involved in the review with a copy of the 

corrected record.  

5. Notification by Central Criminal Records Exchange. 

The Central Criminal Records Exchange shall also provide 

notification of the correction to all recipients of the record 

within the last 24 months.  

6. Notification by other criminal justice agencies. Criminal 

justice agencies which that have disseminated an erroneous 

or incomplete record shall in turn notify agencies which 

that have received the disseminated record or portion of the 

record in the last two years from the date of the Central 

Criminal Records Exchange modifications of the records. 

Notification shall consist of sending a copy of the original 

record, and corrections made, to the recipients of the 

erroneous record noted in the dissemination log for the 
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two-year period prior to the date of correction by the 

Central Criminal Records Exchange. (See § 9- 192 C 9.1-

132 of the Code of Virginia.) The criminal justice agency 

in which the review and challenge occurred shall notify the 

individual or his attorney of the action of Central Criminal 

Records Exchange.  

7. Appeal. The record subject or his attorney, upon being 

told of the results of his record review, shall also be 

informed of his right to review and appeal those results.  

B. Record C. A challenge to a record maintained by a 

criminal justice agency other than the central Criminal 

Records Exchange. will be processed as follows:  

1. Message flags. If a challenge is made of a record 

maintained by a criminal justice agency, both the manual 

and the automated record shall be flagged with the 

message "CHALLENGED RECORD." A disseminated 

record shall contain this message while under challenge.  

2. Examination and correction agency. If the challenged 

record pertains to the criminal justice agency's arrest 

information, the arresting agency shall examine the 

relevant files to determine the vailidity validity of the 

challenge. If the review demonstrates that modification is 

in order, the modification shall be completed and the 

erroneous information destroyed. If the challenged record 

pertains to the disposition information, the arresting agency 

shall compare contents of the challenge with information 

originally supplied by the clerk of the court.  

3. Review by Clerk clerk of Court court. If no error is 

found in the criminal justice agency's records, the arresting 

agency shall forward the challenge to the clerk of the court 

that who submitted the original disposition. The clerk of 

the court shall examine the court records pursuant to the 

challenge and shall, in turn, notify the arresting agency of 

its findings. The arresting agency shall then proceed as 

described in subsection B C 2 of this section.  

4. Notification. The criminal justice agency in which the 

challenge occurred shall notify the individual or his 

attorney of the action taken, and shall notify the Central 

Criminal Records Exchange and other criminal justice 

agencies receiving the erroneous information of the 

necessary corrections if required, as well as the 

noncriminal justice agencies to which it has distributed the 

information in the last 24 months, as noted in its 

dissemination log.  

5. Correction. The Central Criminal Records Exchange 

will correct its records, and notify agencies that received 

erroneous information within the past 24 months. The 

agencies will be requested to correct their files and to 

notify agencies which that have the disseminated 

information, as provided in subsection A B 6 of this 

section.  

6. Appeal. The record subject or his attorney, upon 

receiving the results of the record review, shall be 

informed of the right to review and appeal.  

C. D. Administrative review of challenge results.  

1. Review by criminal justice agency head. After the 

aforementioned review and challenge, in accordance with 

this section, concerning a record either in the Central 

Criminal Records Exchange or another criminal justice 

agency, the individual or his attorney may, within 30 days, 

request in writing that the head of the criminal justice 

agency in which the challenge was made, review the 

challenge if the individual is not satisfied with the results 

of the review and challenge.  

2. Thirty-day review. The criminal justice agency head or 

his designated official shall review the challenge by 

reviewing the action taken by the agency, the Central 

Criminal Records Exchange, and other criminal justice 

agencies, and shall notify the individual or his attorney in 

writing of the decision within 30 days of the receipt of the 

written request to review the challenge. The criminal 

justice agency head shall also notify the individual of the 

option to request an administrative appeal through the 

department within 30 days of the postmarked date of the 

notification of the decision. This notification of the appeal 

shall include the address of the Department of Criminal 

Justice Services.  

3. Correction and notification. If required, correction and 

notification shall follow the procedures outlined in 

subsections A B and B C of this section.  

4. Notification of the department. A copy of the notice 

required in subsection C subdivision D 2 of this section 

shall be forwarded to the department by the criminal 

justice agency at the same time it is provided to the 

individual.  

D. E. Administrative appeal.  

1. Departmental assessment. The individual or his attorney 

challenging his record, within 30 days of the postmark of 

his notification of the decision of the administrative 

review, may request that the Director of the Department of 

Criminal Justice Services review the challenge and conduct 

an informal hearing. The director may designate a hearing 

officer for this purpose.  

2. Determination of merits of case. The director of or his 

designee shall contact the criminal justice agencies 

involved and request any and all information needed. 

Criminal justice agencies shall supply the information 

requested in a timely manner, to allow the department to 

respond to the individual within 30 days. The director will 

then rule on the merits of a hearing and notify the 

individual or his attorney that such hearing will or will not 

be held.  

3. Hearing. The hearing, if held, shall be conducted within 

30 days of the receipt of the request, and the decision of 
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the hearing officer communicated to the individual or his 

attorney within 30 days of the hearing.  

4. Finding. If the director or the hearing officer determines 

that correction and modification of the records are 

required, correction of the record and notification of all 

involved parties shall proceed according to the procedures 

outlined in subsections A B and B C of this section.  

5. Removal of a challenge designation. When records and 

relevant action taken by the criminal justice agencies 

involved are deemed to be correct, the department shall 

notify the affected criminal justice agencies to remove the 

challenge designation from their files.  

E. F. Department notification following corrections. For 

audit purposes, the Central Criminal Records Exchange shall 

annually forward the names and addresses of the agencies 

which that originated erroneous record information or 

received erroneous information from the exchange in that 

year to the Department of Criminal Justice Services.  

6VAC20-120-80. Expungement and sealing.  

A. Responsibility of the Superintendent of the Virginia 

Department of State Police. The expungement of a criminal 

history record or portion thereof is only permitted on the basis 

of a court order. Upon receipt of a court order, petition, and 

other supporting documents for the expungement of a 

criminal history record, the superintendent, pursuant to § 

19.2-392.2 of the Code of Virginia, shall by letter with an 

enclosed copy of the order, direct the Central Criminal 

Records Exchange and those agencies and individuals known 

to maintain or to have obtained such a record, to remove the 

electronic or manual record or portion thereof from its 

repository and place it in a physically sealed, separate file. 

The file shall be properly indexed to allow for later retrieval 

of the record if required by court order, and the record shall 

be labeled with the following designation: "EXPUNGED 

RECORD TO BE UNSEALED ONLY BY COURT 

ORDER."  

B. Responsibility of agencies with a record to be expunged. 

The record named in the Virginia Department of State 

Police's letter shall be removed from normal access. The 

expunged information shall be sealed but remain available, as 

the courts may call for its reopening at a later date. (See 

§ 19.2-392.3 of the Code of Virginia.) Access to the record 

shall be possible only through a name index of expunged 

records maintained either with the expunged records or in a 

manner that will allow subsequent retrieval of the expunged 

record as may be required by the court or as part of the 

department's audit procedures. Should the name index make 

reference to the expunged record, it shall be apart from 

normally accessed files.  

C. Procedure for expungement and sealing of electronic and 

hard copy records.  

1. The expungement and sealing of hard copy original 

records of entry (arrest forms) is accomplished by 

physically removing them from a file, and filing them in a 

physically secure location elsewhere, apart from normally 

accessed files. This file should be used only for expunged 

records and should be accessible only to the manager of 

records.  

2. If the information to be expunged is included among 

other information that has not been expunged on the same 

form or piece of paper, the expunged information shall be 

obliterated on the original or the original shall be retyped 

eliminating the expunged information. The expunged 

information shall then be placed in the file for expunged 

records, in its original or copied form, and shall be 

accessible only to the manager of records.  

3. If the expunged information is located on a criminal 

history record provided by the Central Criminal Records 

Exchange (i.e., "RAP sheet"), the criminal history record 

information shall be destroyed, and a new copy, not 

containing the expunged data, shall be obtained when 

necessary.  

D. Procedure for expunging automated records. Should the 

record to be expunged be maintained in an automated system, 

the Central Criminal Record Exchange or the agency known 

to possess such a record shall copy the automated record onto 

an off-line medium such as tape, disk, or hard copy printouts. 

The expunged record, regardless of the type of medium on 

which it is maintained, shall then be kept in a file used for 

expunged records and sealed from normal use, accessible 

only to the manager of records. No notification that expunged 

data exists shall be left in the normally accessed files.  

Notwithstanding any other provisions of this section, any 

imaged case records maintained in any circuit court, general 

district court, or juvenile and domestic relations district court 

case imaging system operated by the Office of the Executive 

Secretary for the Supreme Court of Virginia that are to be 

expunged may be transferred to a confidential and secure area 

inaccessible from normal use within the case imaging system 

and shall be considered sealed. Access to the expunged, 

imaged case records shall be limited to the manager of 

records for the court with the exception of designated staff 

within the Office of the Executive Secretary who are 

responsible for the operation of such case imaging systems 

and have access to the confidential and secure area for the 

discrete purpose of providing the manager of the records 

access to the secure area. No notification that expunged data 

exists shall be left in the normally accessed case imaging 

system. Any related records that are maintained in an 

electronic order book shall also be deleted.  

E. Department to be notified following expungement. Upon 

receipt of a request from the Virginia Department of State 

Police to expunge and seal a record, the affected agency or 

agencies shall perform the steps above of this section, and 

notify the Virginia Department of State Police of their action 

in writing within 120 60 days of their receipt of the request.  



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 3 Virginia Register of Regulations October 5, 2015 

398 

F. Expungement order not received by department. Should a 

court ordered expungement be directed to a criminal justice 

agency other than the Virginia Department of State Police, 

the directed criminal justice agency shall comply as outlined 

herein in this section and advise the superintendent without 

delay of such order. The superintendent shall, upon receipt of 

such notification, obtain a copy of the order from the 

appropriate circuit court.  

6VAC20-120-100. Administrative sanctions.  

Discovery of violations or failure to comply with this 

chapter in whole or in part will occasion the following 

sanctions. Additional criminal penalties and other sanctions 

may be invoked as provided in 6VAC20-120-50 should the 

violation involve an unauthorized dissemination.  

A. 1. Law-enforcement agencies.  

1. a. Should a law-enforcement agency fail to comply 

with this chapter, a letter will be forwarded by the 

Department department to either the chief of police or 

sheriff, citing the problem and notifying the police 

department or the sheriff's department that the matter will 

be referred to the chief official of the locality or local 

commonwealth's attorney, respectively, if a satisfactory 

result is not forthcoming. The criminal justice agency 

shall have 10 working business days to respond with a 

letter describing how the situation was remedied or 

explaining why there is no need to do so.  

2. b. Should there be no satisfactory response after the 10 

working business day period, the matter will be referred 

to the offices of the city, county, or town manager or the 

local commonwealth's attorney requesting resolution of 

the matter within 30 days.  

3. c. If 30 days have passed and the matter fails to be 

resolved to the satisfaction of the department, the matter 

will be referred to the Criminal Justice Services Board 

and the Office of the Attorney General for action.  

B. 2. Courts.  

1. a. Should a court or officer of the court fail to comply 

with these regulations this chapter, a letter will be 

forwarded by the department to the court, citing the 

problem and notifying the court clerk that the matter will 

be referred to the chief judge of the locality and the local 

commonwealth's attorney if a satisfactory result is not 

forthcoming. The court shall have 10 working business 

days to respond with a letter describing how the situation 

was remedied or explaining why there is no need to do 

so.  

2. b. Should there be no satisfactory response after the 10 

working business day period, the matter will be referred 

to the chief judge requesting resolution of the matter 

within 30 days. The Executive Secretary of the Supreme 

Court of Virginia will also be notified.  

3. c. If 30 days have passed and the matter fails to be 

resolved to the satisfaction of the department, the matter 

will be referred to the Criminal Justice Services Board 

and the Chief Justice of Virginia.  

Part III  

Criminal History Record Information Security  

6VAC20-120-110. Applicability.  

These regulations are A. This chapter is applicable to 

criminal justice information systems operated within the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. These regulations on security are 

not applicable to court records or other records expressly 

excluded by § 9-184, B 9.1-126 of the Code of Virginia.  

These regulations establish B. This part establishes a 

minimum set of security standards which that shall apply to 

any manual or automated recordkeeping system which that 

collects, stores, processes, or disseminates criminal history 

record information.  

C. Where individuals or noncriminal justice agencies are 

authorized to have direct access to criminal history record 

information pursuant to a specific agreement with a criminal 

justice agency to provide service required for the 

administration of criminal justice, the service support 

agreement will embody the restrictions on dissemination and 

the security requirements contained in these regulations this 

chapter and the Code of Virginia.  

6VAC20-120-120. Responsibilities.  

A. In addition to those responsibilities mandated by state 

and federal laws, the Department of State Police shall have 

the responsibility for the implementation of these regulations 

this chapter in regard to the operation of the Central Criminal 

Records Exchange.  

B. The implementation of these regulations this chapter, 

except as set forth in the above paragraph subsection A of this 

section, shall be the responsibility of the criminal justice 

agency as designated and authorized by the county or 

municipality in cases of political subdivisions. Nothing in 

these regulations this chapter shall be deemed to affect in any 

way the exercise of responsibility conferred on counties and 

municipalities of the state under Title 15.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. The determination of the suitability of the actual 

procedures instituted by the criminal justice agency will be 

the subject of study in any audit by the department, mandated 

by § 9-186 9.1-131 of the Code of Virginia.  

6VAC20-120-130. Physical access.  

A. Access to areas in which criminal history record 

information is collected, stored, processed, or disseminated 

shall be limited to authorized persons. Control of access shall 

be ensured through the use of locks, guards, or other 

appropriate means. Authorized personnel shall be clearly 

indentified.  

B. Procedures shall be established to detect an unauthorized 

attempt or access. Furthermore, a procedure shall be 

established to be followed in those cases in which an attempt 

or unauthorized access is detected. Such procedures shall 

become part of the orientation of employees working in 
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criminal history record information area(s) area or areas and 

shall be reviewed periodically to ensure their effectiveness.  

C. Criminal justice agencies shall provide direct access to 

criminal history record information only to authorized 

officers or employees of a criminal justice agency and, as 

necessary, other authorized personnel essential to the proper 

operation of the criminal history record information system.  

D. Criminal justice agencies shall institute, where computer 

processing is not utilized, procedures to ensure that an 

individual or agency authorized to have direct access is 

responsible for: (i) the physical security of criminal history 

record information under its control or in its custody, and (ii) 

the protection of such information from unauthorized access, 

disclosure, or dissemination.  

E. Procedures shall be instituted to protect any central 

repository of criminal history record information from 

unauthorized access, theft, sabotage, fire, flood, wind, or 

other natural or man-made disasters.  

F. For criminal justice agencies that have their criminal 

history files automated, it is highly recommended that 

"backup" copies of criminal history information be 

maintained, preferably off-site. Further, for larger criminal 

justice agencies having automated systems, it is 

recommended that the criminal justice agencies develop a 

disaster recovery plan. The plan should be available for 

inspection and review by the department.  

G. System specifications and documentation shall be 

carefully controlled to prevent unauthorized access and 

dissemination.  

6VAC20-120-140. Personnel.  

In accordance with applicable law, ordinances, and 

regulations, the criminal justice agency shall:  

A. 1. Screen and have the right to reject for employment, 

based on good cause, personnel to be authorized to have 

direct access to criminal history record information;  

B. 2. Have the right to initiate or cause to be initiated 

administrative action leading to the transfer or removal of 

personnel authorized to have direct access to this 

information where these personnel violate the provisions of 

these regulations this chapter or other security 

requirements established for the collection, storage, or 

dissemination of criminal history record information; and  

C. 3. Ensure that all employees working with or having 

access to criminal history record information shall be made 

familiar with the substance and intent of these regulations 

this chapter. Designated employees shall be briefed on 

their roles and responsibilities in protecting the information 

resources in the criminal justice agency. Special 

procedures connected with security shall be reviewed 

periodically to ensure their relevance and continuing 

effectiveness.  

6VAC20-120-160. Computer operations.  

A. Where computerized data processing is employed, 

effective and technologically advanced software and 

hardware design shall be instituted to prevent unauthorized 

access to this information.  

B. Computer operations, whether dedicated or shared, which 

that support criminal justice information systems shall 

operate in accordance with procedures developed or approved 

by the participating criminal justice agencies.  

C. Criminal history record information shall be stored by the 

computer in such a manner that it cannot be modified, 

destroyed, accessed, changed, purged, or overlaid in any 

fashion by noncriminal justice terminals.  

D. Operational programs shall be used that will prohibit 

inquiry, record updates, or destruction of records, from 

terminals other than criminal justice system terminals which 

that are so designated.  

E. The destruction of record shall be limited to designated 

terminals under the direct control of the criminal justice 

agency responsible for creating or storing the criminal history 

record information.  

F. Operational programs shall be used to detect and log all 

unauthorized attempts to penetrate criminal history record 

information systems, programs, or files.  

G. Programs designed (i) for the purpose of prohibiting 

unauthorized inquiries, unauthorized record updates, or 

unauthorized destruction of records, or (ii) for the detection 

and logging of unauthorized attempts to penetrate criminal 

history record information systems shall be known only to the 

criminal justice agency employees responsible for criminal 

history record information system control or individuals and 

agencies pursuant to a specific agreement with the criminal 

justice agency to provide such security programs. The 

program(s) program or programs shall be kept under 

maximum security conditions.  

H. Criminal justice agencies having automated criminal 

history record files should shall designate a system 

administrator to maintain and control authorized user 

accounts, system management, and the implementation of 

security measures.  

I. The criminal justice agency shall have the right to audit, 

monitor, and inspect procedures established pursuant to these 

rules and regulations this chapter.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3370; Filed September 16, 2015, 8:42 a.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 6VAC20-240. Regulations Relating to 

School Security Officers (amending 6VAC20-240-10, 

6VAC20-240-20, 6VAC20-240-60).  

Statutory Authority: § 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 4, 2015. 
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Effective Date: December 1, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Barbara Peterson-Wilson, Law Enforcement 

Program Coordinator, Department of Criminal Justice 

Services, 1100 Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 225-4503, FAX (804) 225-3853, or email 

barbara.peterson-wilson@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Subdivision 44 of § 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia 

authorizes the Department of Criminal Justice Services, under 

the direction of the Criminal Justice Services Board, to 

establish, in consultation with the Department of Education 

and the Virginia State Crime Commission, compulsory 

minimum standards for employment and job-entry and in-

service training curricula and certification requirements for 

school security officers, which training and certification shall 

be administered by the Virginia Center for School and 

Campus Safety pursuant to § 9.1-184 of the Code of Virginia. 

Subdivision 49 of § 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia 

authorizes the department, under the direction of the board, to 

establish minimum standards for (i) employment, (ii) job-

entry and in-service training curricula, and (iii) certification 

requirements for campus security officers. 

Purpose: The purpose of this intended regulatory action is to 

revise and update the currently regulations governing school 

security officers. These regulations establish a certification 

process for school security officers. The requested revisions 

are essential to protect the safety and welfare of citizens to 

ensure that school security officers are receiving the correct 

training and correct information as the regulation is out of 

date. The goal of this proposal is to bring the training current 

with standard business practices as sought by constituents and 

to update the outdated language within the regulation. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The rationale for 

using the fast-track rulemaking process is due to the necessity 

of the change and the lack of controversy surrounding the 

change. Upon consultation of the advisory committee, which 

is comprised of school security points of contacts, the 

department received only positive feedback regarding the 

proposed change. Overall, contacts were eager for the change 

to be implemented as it easily facilitates their duties and 

allows employees to begin hands-on job training sooner. 

Substance: Subdivision 44 of § 9.1-102 of the Code of 

Virginia instructs the Department of Criminal Justice 

Services to establish compulsory minimum standards for 

employment and job-entry and in-service training curricula 

and certification requirements for school security officers, 

which training and certification shall be administered by the 

Virginia Center for School Safety pursuant to § 9.1-184 of the 

Code of Virginia. Such training standards shall include the 

role and responsibility of school security officers, relevant 

state and federal laws, school and personal liability issues, 

security awareness in the school environment, mediation and 

conflict resolution, disaster and emergency response, and 

student behavioral dynamics. 

The substantive amendment allows the department to 

establish the number of hours for training instead of 

specifying the number of training hours in regulation. Other 

amendments are clarifying and technical in nature. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public and the 

Commonwealth will be a standard level of training for 

officers serving as school security officers. This will increase 

the professionalism of the field by ensuring that all officers 

are receiving viable up-to-date training. There are no 

disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth. 

Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings: This 

regulatory action serves as the report of the findings of the 

regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Criminal Justice Services (Board) proposes to 

remove the requirement that school security officer training 

must be minimum 32 hours and clarify language in two other 

places. 

Result of Analysis. There is insufficient data to accurately 

compare the magnitude of the benefits versus the costs. A 

different design would likely yield the same benefits at lower 

cost for at least one proposed change. 

Estimated Economic Impact. This regulation establishes a 

certification process for school security officers. Certification 

requires training on the role and responsibility of school 

security officers; relevant state and federal laws; school and 

personal liability issues; security awareness in the school 

environment; mediation and conflict resolution; disaster and 

emergency response; and student behavioral dynamics. 

Currently, the training to cover these subject areas is required 

to be at least 32 hours.  

The Department of Criminal Justice Services (DCJS) reports 

that the 32 hours is more than what is needed to cover the 

curriculum. Since the training has to be 32 hours, training 

under current regulation is usually stretched out 

superfluously. The proposed change will remove the 32-hour 

minimum requirement, but will require that the training 

course be approved by DCJS. With the proposed change, it 

appears that the training will be covered in fewer hours. A 

shorter training will reduce the number of hours the instructor 

and the trainees spend in classroom and free up their time and 

the classroom itself for other purposes.  

According to DCJS, all but one school division hire, train or 

find training for their security officers. Only one school 

division uses an outside company to contract their security. 

DCJS indicates that school security officers usually get paid 

by their employers for their time in training. Similarly, DCJS 

or local school divisions pay for the instructor's time. Thus, a 

reduction in the number of training hours will likely provide 

some cost savings to the employers of school security officers 
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(most of which are school divisions and only one is an 

outside company) as well as the employers of the instructors. 

However, DJCS does not have data to estimate the magnitude 

of such savings.  

On the other hand, providing DCJS the authority to approve 

the number of hours for the curriculum without having to 

change the regulation will have the unintended consequence 

of preventing the regulated entities participating in 

determining what the appropriate number of hours for 

training is. If the minimum number of hours is retained in the 

regulation, regulated entities will have a chance to participate 

in the rule making process if there is a proposed change to the 

standard and also be given adequate notice of any such 

change. However in this case, DCJS is proposing to strike the 

specific number of minimum hours (i.e., 32) required for 

training under this regulation. In doing so, this number would 

be determined as a matter of policy by the agency and the 

agency could change this number at any time without notice 

and without an opportunity for public comment.  

The proposed changes will also clarify that "Director" means 

the chief administrative officer of DCJS or his designee and 

that the director may grant exemptions from the training 

standards established in the regulations. These changes are 

clarifications of the existing language and are not expected to 

create any significant economic effects other than improving 

the clarity of the definition of the director and his or her 

authority to grant exemptions.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed changes 

primarily affect DJCS, school divisions that employ security 

officers, companies that contract out school security officers 

to school divisions, companies that provide the training, and 

the individuals taking the training. According to DCJS, there 

are 30 school divisions that employ security officers, one 

company that contracts out school security officers to school 

divisions, one training company, and approximately 200-250 

individuals newly certified as school security officers per year 

in the Commonwealth. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulations 

apply throughout the Commonwealth. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed changes are 

anticipated to reduce the amount of time instructors and 

trainees spend in classroom. Thus, a reduction in demand for 

their services and time may be expected. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. A reduction 

in training hours may reduce revenues of training providers 

and have a negative impact on their asset values. On the other 

hand, a reduction in training costs may improve profitability 

of companies that contract out school security officers to 

school divisions and have a positive impact on their asset 

values. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The provider of 

school security training and the company that contracts out 

school security officers are believed to be small businesses. 

The cost and other effects discussed above apply to them. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. There is no known alternative to minimize 

the potential adverse impact on training providers due to 

reduced training hours while accomplishing the same goals. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to affect real estate development costs. 

Legal Mandate. General: The Department of Planning and 

Budget (DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this 

proposed regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Code of Virginia and Executive Order Number 17 (2014). 

Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the 

proposed amendments. Further the report should include but 

not be limited to: 

• the projected number of businesses or other entities to 

whom the proposed regulation would apply, 

• the identity of any localities and types of businesses or 

other entities particularly affected, 

• the projected number of persons and employment 

positions to be affected,  

• the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and  

• the impact on the use and value of private property.  

Small Businesses: If the proposed regulation will have an 

adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires 

that such economic impact analyses include: 

• an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the proposed regulation, 

• the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other 

administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the proposed regulation, including the type 

of professional skills necessary for preparing required 

reports and other documents, 

• a statement of the probable effect of the proposed 

regulation on affected small businesses, and  

• a description of any less intrusive or less costly 

alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the 

proposed regulation.  

Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1, if there is a finding 

that a proposed regulation may have an adverse impact on 

small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative 

Rules is notified at the time the proposed regulation is 

submitted to the Virginia Register of Regulations for 

publication. This analysis shall represent DPB's best estimate 

for the purposes of public review and comment on the 

proposed regulation.  

Agency Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Criminal Justice Services concurs generally 

with the economic impact analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget on the proposed Regulations Relating to 

School Security Officers. 
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Summary: 

The amendments (i) remove the 32-hour school security 

officer training course requirement thereby allowing the 

Department of Criminal Justice Services to set the number 

of training hours and (ii) clarify that the director of the 

department may grant an exemption from the compulsory 

minimum training standards. 

6VAC20-240-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Approved instructor" means a person who has been 

approved by the department to instruct in the school security 

officer training course.  

"Approved training" means training approved by the 

department to meet compulsory minimum training standards.  

"Approved training session" means a training session that is 

approved by the department for the specific purpose of 

training school security officers.  

"Board" means the Criminal Justice Services Board or any 

successor board or agency.  

"Certification" means a method of regulation indicating that 

qualified persons have met the minimum requirements as 

school security officers.  

"Compulsory minimum training standards" means the 

performance outcomes and minimum hours approved by the 

board.  

"Date of hire" means the date any employee of a school 

board or system is hired to provide security services for a 

school and whom the department must regulate.  

"Department" means the Department of Criminal Justice 

Services or any successor agency.  

"Director" means the chief administrative officer of the 

department or his designee.  

"In-service training requirement" means the compulsory in-

service training standards adopted by the board for school 

security officers.  

"School security officer" means an individual who is 

employed by the local school board for the singular purpose 

of maintaining order and discipline, preventing crime, 

investigating violations of school board policies, and 

detaining students violating the law or school board policies 

on school property or at school-sponsored events and who is 

responsible solely for ensuring the safety, security, and 

welfare of all students, faculty, staff, and visitors in the 

assigned school.  

"This chapter" means the Regulations Relating to School 

Security Officers (6VAC20-240).  

"Training certification" means verification of the successful 

completion of any training requirement established by this 

chapter.  

"Training requirement" means any entry-level or in-service 

training or retraining standard established by this chapter.  

6VAC20-240-20. Initial certification and training 

requirements for school security officers.  

A. In addition to meeting all the hiring requirements of the 

employing school board, all school security officers who 

enter upon the duties of such office on or after September 1, 

2004, are required to meet the following minimum 

certification and training requirements. Such person shall:  

1. Undergo a background investigation to include 

fingerprint-based criminal history record inquiry of both 

the Central Criminal Records Exchange (CCRE) and the 

Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI). Results of such 

inquiries shall be examined by the employing school 

division within 30 days of date of hire;  

2. Have a high school diploma, have passed the General 

Educational Development exam, or have passed the 

National External Diploma program Program;  

3. Be a minimum of 21 years of age;  

4. Possess a valid driver's license if required by the duties 

of office to operate a motor vehicle;  

5. Successfully complete basic first aid training. The level 

and substance of such training shall be at the discretion of 

the employing school division;  

6. Comply with compulsory minimum entry-level training 

requirements approved by the board:  

a. Every school security officer hired on or after 

September 1, 2004, is required to comply with the 

compulsory minimum training standards within 60 days 

of the date of hire as a school security officer.  

b. The compulsory minimum training shall consist of a 

32-hour school Department of Criminal Justice Services-

approved security officer training course developed and 

approved by the department. Such training shall include 

but not be limited to:  

(1) The role and responsibility of school security officers;  

(2) Relevant state and federal laws;  

(3) School and personal liability issues;  

(4) Security awareness in the school environment;  

(5) Mediation and conflict resolution;  

(6) Disaster and emergency response; and  

(7) Student behavioral dynamics.  

c. The compulsory minimum training shall include a test 

for each module approved and provided by the 

department with a minimum passing grade of 80% on 

each module; and  

7. Submit to the department a properly completed and 

signed application for certification from the localities in a 

format provided by the department.  
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B. All costs associated with the background investigation, 

submission of fingerprints for criminal history record 

inquiries, and basic first aid training to meet the hiring 

requirements are the responsibility of that locality.  

C. The department may grant an extension of the time limit 

for completion of the compulsory minimum training 

standards under the following documented conditions:  

1. Illness or injury;  

2. Military service;  

3. Special duty required and performed in the public interest;  

4. Administrative leave, full-time educational leave or 

suspension pending investigation or adjudication of a crime; 

or  

5. Any other reasonable situation documented by the 

employing school division superintendent or designee.  

D. The director may grant an exemption or partial 

exemption from the compulsory minimum training standards 

set forth in this chapter to a law-enforcement officer of the 

Commonwealth who has had previous experience and 

training as provided in § 9.1-114 of the Code of Virginia. 

6VAC20-240-60. Decertification and appeal procedure.  

A. The department may decertify for any of the following 

reasons. The school security officer has:  

1. Been convicted of or pled guilty or no contest to a felony or 

any offense that would be a felony if committed in Virginia;  

2. Failed to comply with or maintain compliance with 

compulsory minimum training requirements;  

3. Refused to submit to a drug screening or has produced a 

positive result on a drug screening reported to the employing 

school board where the positive result cannot be explained to 

the school board's satisfaction;  

4. Violated any standard of conduct set forth in 6VAC20-240-

40;  

5. Violated any other school board policy; or  

6. Been terminated by the employing school division.  

B. Such school security officer shall not have the right to 

serve as a school security officer within this Commonwealth 

until the department has reinstated the certification.  

C. The findings and the decision of the department may be 

appealed to the board provided that written notification is 

given to the attention of the Director, Department of Criminal 

Justice Services, 202 North Ninth Street 1100 Bank Street, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219, within 30 days following the date 

notification of the decision was served, or the date it was 

mailed to the respondent, whichever occurred first. In the 

event the hearing decision is served by mail, three days shall 

be added to that period. (Rule 2A:2 of Rules of the Virginia 

Supreme Court.)  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-3927; Filed September 15, 2015, 4:27 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE COUNCIL OF HIGHER EDUCATION FOR 
VIRGINIA 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Council of Higher 

Education for Virginia is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 

B 4 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts regulations 

relating to grants of state or federal funds or property. 

Title of Regulation: 8VAC40-90. Virginia Graduate and 

Undergraduate Assistance Program Regulations 

(repealing 8VAC40-90-10 through 8VAC40-90-60).  

Statutory Authority: § 23-38.19:1 (Repealed) of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 5, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Lee Ann Rung, Manager, Executive and 

Council Affairs, State Council of Higher Education for 

Virginia, James Monroe Building, 101 North 14th Street, 9th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-2602, 

FAX (804) 371-7911, or email leeannrung@schev.edu. 

Summary: 

This action repeals the Virginia Graduate and 

Undergraduate Assistance Program Regulations as 

unnecessary due to the repeal of the statutory authority for 

the program by Chapter 484 of the 2014 Acts of Assembly. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4481; Filed September 16, 2015, 8:33 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

following regulation have been filed by the State Water 

Control Board. The forms are not being published; however, 

online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations may click on the name of a form to access it. The 

forms are also available from the agency contact or may be 

viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, General 

Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-32. Virginia Pollution 

Abatement (VPA) Permit Regulation. 

Agency Contact: Christina Wood, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4263, or email 

christina.wood@deq.virginia.gov. 
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FORMS (9VAC25-32) 

Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit Application, General 

Instructions (rev. 5/2014) 

Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit Application, Form A, 

All Applicants (rev. 6/2014) 

Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit Application, Form B, 

Animal Waste (rev. 10/1995) 

Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit Application, Form C, 

Industrial Waste (rev. 10/1995) 

Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit Application, Form D, 

Municipal Effluent and Biosolids Cover Page (rev. 6/2013): 

Part D-I: Land Application of Municipal Effluent (rev. 

4/2009) 

Part D-II: Land Application of Biosolids (rev. 10/2013) 

Part D-III: Effluent Characterization Form (rev. 4/2009) 

Part D-IV: Biosolids Characterization Form (rev. 6/2013) 

Part D-V: Non-Hazardous Waste Declaration (rev. 6/2013) 

Part D-VI: Land Application Agreement - Biosolids and 

Industrial Residuals (rev. 9/2012) 

Part D-VII: Request for Extended Setback from Biosolids 

Land Application Field (rev. 10/11)  

Application for Land Application Supervisor Certification 

(rev. 2/2011) 

Application for Renewal of Land Application Supervisor 

Certification (rev. 2/2011) 

Request for Extended Setback from Biosolids Land 

Application Field (8/2015) 

Sludge Disposal Site Dedication Form, Form A-1 (rev. 

11/2009) 

Liability Requirements for Transport, Storage, and Land 

Application of Biosolids, Form I, Insurance Liability 

Endorsement (rev. 10/2013) 

Liability Requirements for Transport, Storage, and Land 

Application of Biosolids, Form II, Certificate of Liability 

Insurance (rev. 10/2013) 

Liability Requirements for Transport, Storage, and Land 

Application of Biosolids, Form III, Corporate Letter (rev. 

11/2009) 

Liability Requirements for Transport, Storage, and Land 

Application of Biosolids, Form IV, Corporate Guarantee (rev. 

11/2009) 

Liability Requirements for Transport, Storage, and Land 

Application of Biosolids, Form V, Letter of Credit (rev. 

11/2009) 

Liability Requirements for Transport, Storage, and Land 

Application of Biosolids, Form VI, Trust Agreement (rev. 

11/2009) 

Liability Requirements for Transport, Storage, and Land 

Application of Biosolids, Form VII, Local Government 

Financial Test (rev. 10/2013) 

Liability Requirements for Transport, Storage, and Land 

Application of Biosolids, Form VIII, Local Government 

Guarantee (rev. 10/2013) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4503; Filed September 4, 2015, 8:30 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 11. GAMING 

VIRGINIA LOTTERY BOARD 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 11VAC5-31. Licensing Regulations 

(amending 11VAC5-31-10, 11VAC5-31-160). 

11VAC5-41. Lottery Game Regulations (amending 

11VAC5-41-10, 11VAC5-41-60, 11VAC5-41-80, 11VAC5-

41-100, 11VAC5-41-130, 11VAC5-41-320).  

Statutory Authority: § 58.1-4007 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: November 4, 2015. 

Effective Date: December 21, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Amy Roper, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Virginia Lottery, 900 East Main Street, 9th Floor, Richmond, 

VA 23219, telephone (804) 692-7133, FAX (804) 692-7325, 

or email aroper@valottery.com. 

Basis: Section 58.1-4007 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 

the Virginia Lottery Board to adopt regulations governing the 

establishment and operation of a lottery, after consultation 

with the Director of the Virginia Lottery. 

Purpose: The purpose of the regulatory action is to amend 

terminology or definitions in an effort to ensure terminology 

synchronicity between regulations, Lottery game or 

promotion rules, and the agency website. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The proposed 

changes are only amendments, do not contain new 

regulations, are nonsubstantive, do not require any change in 

the actions of lottery retailers or players, and are 

noncontroversial in nature. 

Substance: The amendments update terminology or 

definitions. 

Issues: The amendments provide (i) for all matters necessary 

or desirable for the efficient, honest, and economical 

operation and administration of the lottery and (ii) for the 

convenience of the purchasers of tickets or shares and the 

holders of winning tickets or shares. There are no 

disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Virginia Lottery Board proposes to update regulatory 

terminology to be consistent with the terminology used in 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5851c004131~3&typ=40&actno=004131&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5851c004131~3&typ=40&actno=004131&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d2e50004131~4&typ=40&actno=004131&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d2e50004131~4&typ=40&actno=004131&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b4db8001248~10&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b4db8001248~10&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=38646001248~11&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=38646001248~11&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a8424001248~11&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a8424001248~11&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2aaa2001248~30&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2aaa2001248~30&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=82045003896~6&typ=40&actno=003896&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6a73d001248~27&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=af85b001248~15&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
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practice and in the game rules, promotions, and the agency 

website. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The Virginia Lottery Board 

proposes to update regulatory terminology to be consistent 

with the terminology used in practice and in the game rules, 

promotions, and the agency website. According to Virginia 

Lottery, none of the proposed terminology changes will have 

substantive effect in practice. Thus, no significant economic 

effect is expected from the proposed changes other than 

improving the consistency among the game rules, 

promotions, and the agency website. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. These regulations apply to 

5,100 licensed retailers. Additionally, there are approximately 

2.1 million adults who play lottery in a given month. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulations 

apply throughout the Commonwealth.  

Projected Impact on Employment. No effect on employment 

is expected. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No effect 

on the use and value of private property is expected. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 

amendments do not create cost and other effects on small 

businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments do not create 

adverse impact on small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No effect on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Legal Mandate. 

General: The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has 

analyzed the economic impact of this proposed regulation in 

accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and 

Executive Order Number 17 (2014). Section 2.2-4007.04 

requires that such economic impact analyses determine the 

public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments.  Further the report should include but not be 

limited to: 

• the projected number of businesses or other entities to 

whom the proposed regulation would apply, 

• the identity of any localities and types of businesses or 

other entities particularly affected, 

• the projected number of persons and employment 

positions to be affected,  

• the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and  

• the impact on the use and value of private property.  

Small Businesses: If the proposed regulation will have an 

adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires 

that such economic impact analyses include: 

• an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the proposed regulation, 

• the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other 

administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the proposed regulation, including the type 

of professional skills necessary for preparing required 

reports and other documents, 

• a statement of the probable effect of the proposed 

regulation on affected small businesses, and  

• a description of any less intrusive or less costly 

alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the 

proposed regulation.  

Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1, if there is a finding 

that a proposed regulation may have an adverse impact on 

small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative 

Rules is notified at the time the proposed regulation is 

submitted to the Virginia Register of Regulations for 

publication.  This analysis shall represent DPB's best estimate 

for the purposes of public review and comment on the 

proposed regulation. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Virginia Lottery has reviewed the economic impact analysis 

prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget. The 

Lottery is satisfied with the analysis and has no additional 

comments. 

Summary: 

The amendments update terminology and definitions for 

consistency with the lottery game and promotion rules.  

11VAC5-31-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in any of the 

agency's regulations shall have the same meanings as defined 

in this chapter unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Agency" means the Virginia Lottery created by the 

Virginia Lottery Law (Chapter 40 (§ 58.1-4000 et seq.) of 

Title 58.1 of the Code of Virginia). 

"Board" means the Virginia Lottery Board established by 

the Virginia Lottery Law (Chapter 40 (§ 58.1-4000 et seq.) of 

Title 58.1 of the Code of Virginia). 

"Director" means the Executive Director of the Virginia 

Lottery or his designee. 

"Enterprise Series MultiMedia (ESMM) display" means a 

player display unit that, when connected to the lottery 

terminal, displays messages to the customer pertaining to 

lottery products, drawing messages, and other lottery-related 

messages. 

"License" means the certificate issued by the agency to a 

retailer who has met the requirements established by the 

agency to sell lottery products.  

"Lottery retailer," "lottery sales agent" or "retailer" means a 

person licensed by the director to sell and dispense lottery 

tickets or products and act as the agency's representative to 
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collect, preserve, and account for Commonwealth of Virginia 

trust funds. 

"Person," for purposes of licensing, means an individual, 

association, partnership, corporation, club, trust, estate, 

society, company, joint stock company, receiver, trustee, 

assignee, referee, or any other person acting in a fiduciary or 

representative capacity, whether appointed by a court or 

otherwise, and any combination of individuals, as well as all 

departments, commissions, agencies and instrumentalities of 

the Commonwealth, including its counties, cities, 

municipalities, political subdivisions, agencies and 

instrumentalities thereof.  

"Vacuum fluorescent display" means a player display unit 

that, when connected to the lottery terminal, presents 

messages to the customer, such as customer transaction totals, 

validation and cancellation amounts, and jackpot drawing 

messages.  

11VAC5-31-160. Denial, suspension, revocation, or 

noncontinuation of license.  

A. The director may refuse to issue a license to a person if 

the person does not meet the eligibility criteria and standards 

for licensing as set out in § 58.1-4009 of the Code of 

Virginia, these regulations this chapter, and in the agency's 

licensing procedures, or if:  

1. The person's place of business caters to or is frequented 

predominantly by persons under 18 years of age, but 

excluding family-oriented businesses;  

2. The nature of the person's business constitutes a threat to 

the health or safety of prospective lottery patrons;  

3. The nature of the person's business is not consonant with 

the probity of the Commonwealth;  

4. The person has committed any act of fraud, deceit, 

misrepresentation, moral turpitude, or illegal gambling or 

engaged in conduct prejudicial to public confidence in the 

state lottery;  

5. The person falsifies or misrepresents a material fact on 

any application, form, document, or data submitted during 

the licensure process; 

6. The person has an unsatisfactory prior history, record, or 

performance with the lottery; 

7. The person's place of business represents a substantial 

risk for the collection, deposit, preservation, accounting, or 

safeguarding of Commonwealth of Virginia Trust Funds, 

irrespective of the bond or surety provided by the person;  

8. The person has been suspended permanently from a 

federal or state licensing or authorization program and that 

person has exhausted all administrative remedies pursuant 

to the respective agency's regulations or procedures; or 

9. The proposed retailer's licensed location or locations 

does do not comply with the requirements of the 

department's Retailer Accessibility Guidelines effective 

January 1, 2011, as applicable. 

B. The director may suspend, revoke, or refuse to continue a 

license for any of the reasons enumerated in § 58.1-4012 of 

the Code of Virginia, in subsection A of this section, in the 

agency's procedures, or for any of the following reasons:  

1. Failure to maintain the required lottery trust account;  

2. Failure to comply with lottery game rules;  

3. Failure to properly care for, or prevent the abuse of, the 

agency's equipment, or failure to properly position and 

display the vacuum fluorescent display or LED device 

Enterprise Series MultiMedia (ESMM) display;  

4. Failure to meet minimum point-of-sale standards;  

5. Failure to continue to meet the eligibility criteria and 

standards for licensing; or 

6. Failure to comply with (i) any applicable law or statute, 

rule, policy, or procedure of the agency; (ii) license terms 

and conditions; (iii) specific rules for all applicable agency 

games; (iv) directives and instructions that may be issued 

by the director; and (v) licensing and equipment 

agreements and contracts signed by the retailer. 

C. Any person refused a license under subsections 

subsection A or B of this section may appeal the director's 

decision in the manner provided by 11VAC5-20-150.  

D. Before taking action under subsection A or B of this 

section, the director will notify the retailer in writing of his 

intent to suspend, revoke, or deny continuation of the license. 

The notification will include the reason or reasons for the 

proposed action and will provide the retailer with the 

procedures for requesting a conference. Such notice shall be 

given to the retailer in accordance with the provisions of the 

agency's regulations.  

E. If the director deems it necessary in order to serve the 

public interest and maintain public trust in the lottery, he may 

temporarily suspend a license without first notifying the 

retailer. Such suspension will be in effect until any 

prosecution, hearing, or investigation into alleged violations 

is concluded.  

F. A retailer shall surrender his license to the director by the 

date specified in the notice of revocation or suspension. The 

retailer shall also surrender the lottery property in his 

possession and give a final lottery accounting of his lottery 

activities by the date specified by the director.  

11VAC5-41-10. Definitions for lottery games.  

The following words and terms when used in any of the 

agency's regulations shall have the same meanings as defined 

in this chapter unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Agency" means the Virginia Lottery created by Virginia 

Lottery Law (Chapter 40 (§ 58.1-4000 et seq.) of Title 58.1 of 

the Code of Virginia). 

"Altered ticket" means a lottery ticket that has been forged, 

counterfeited, or tampered with in any manner.  



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 3 Virginia Register of Regulations October 5, 2015 

407 

"Board" means the Virginia Lottery Board established by 

the Virginia Lottery Law (Chapter 40 (§ 58.1-4000 et seq.) of 

Title 58.1 of the Code of Virginia). 

"Breakage" means the money accumulated from the 

rounding down of the pari-mutuel prize levels to the next 

lowest whole dollar amount.  

"Cashing retailer" means an agency licensed retailer that 

sells lottery products and is authorized to pay prizes. 

"Computer gaming system" means any computer system 

owned, operated, or contracted by the agency that supports 

the sale, redemption, or validation of lottery tickets or wagers. 

"Computer-generated game" means a game that is dependent 

upon the use of a terminal in direct communication with a 

game mainframe computer. 

"Computer-generated ticket" means an electronically-

produced ticket issued through the computer gaming system 

by a retailer to a player as a receipt for the number, numbers, 

or items or combination of numbers or items, the player has 

selected.  

"Coupon" is a device (electronic or, whether paper, or 

otherwise), that is approved by the agency for redemption. 

"Director" means the Executive Director of the Virginia 

Lottery or his designee. 

"Drawing" means a formal process of randomly selecting 

numbers, names, or items in accordance with the specific 

game or promotion rules for games or promotions requiring 

the random selection of numbers, names, or items.  

"Entry" means a method, whether in electronic or paper 

form, by which a person enters a drawing or promotion. 

"Game" means any individual or particular type of lottery 

authorized by the board.  

"Instant game" means a game that, when played, reveals or 

informs the player immediately whether he has won a prize, 

entry into a prize drawing, prize points, or any or all of the 

aforementioned as specified in game rules. 

"Misprinted ticket" means a lottery ticket or play that 

contains a manufacturing, programming, or printing defect 

that causes the game to no longer play as defined in game 

rules or does not properly validate against the game's 

validation files. 

"Natural person" means a human being, and not a 

corporation, company, partnership, association, trust, or other 

entity.  

"Play" means one wager for a chance to win a prize. There 

may be multiple plays on a single ticket. 

"Prize" means any cash or noncash award to a holder of a 

winning entry or play. 

"Prize structure" means the number, value, and odds of 

winning prizes for a game and the prize tiers within a game 

and the chances of winning a prize in each tier in an 

individual game as determined by the agency and as specified 

in the game rules. 

"Probability game" means a game in which all of the tickets 

sold are potentially winning tickets and the outcome of the 

game depends entirely upon the player's choice or choices 

during game play. 

"Promotion" means an "added value" offer to consumers or 

licensed retailers sanctioned by the director or approved by 

the board when required. 

"Roll stock" or "ticket stock" means the paper roll issued or 

approved for use by the agency from which a unique lottery 

ticket is generated displaying the selected items or numbers.  

"Scratch ticket "Scratcher" means a printed instant win 

ticket with a covering coating over the play area that, when 

scratched off, reveals a specific result instant game play 

results. 

"Scratch game" means a game that, when played, reveals or 

informs the player immediately whether he has won (i) a 

prize, (ii) entry into a prize drawing, (iii)  prize points, or (iv) 

any combination thereof as specified in game rules.  

"Share" means a percentage of ownership in a winning 

ticket, play, or subscription plan. 

"Terminal" means a device that is authorized by the agency 

to function in an interactive mode with the agency's computer 

gaming system or systems for the purpose of issuing tickets, 

plays, or an electronic facsimile thereof, and entering, 

receiving, and processing game-related transactions. 

"Terminal ticket" means a computer-generated or 

electronically-produced ticket issued through the computer 

gaming system by a retailer to a player as a receipt for the 

number, numbers, or items or combination of numbers or 

items the player has selected.  

"Ticket number" means the preassigned unique number or 

combination of letters and numbers or barcode that identifies 

that particular ticket as one within a particular game or 

drawing. 

"Validation" means the process of reviewing and certifying 

a lottery ticket to determine whether it is a winning ticket.  

"Validation barcode" means the unique number or number-

and-letter code or barcode used to determine whether a lottery 

ticket is a winning ticket. 

"Winning ticket," "winning wager," or "winning play" 

means the ticket, wager, or play that meets the criteria and 

specific rules for winning prizes as published for each game 

by the director. 

11VAC5-41-60. Drawing and selling times.  

A. Drawings shall be conducted at times and places 

designated by the director and publicly announced by the 

agency.  

B. Retailers may sell tickets from new instant scratch games 

upon receipt of the tickets from the agency, but shall not sell 
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tickets for an instant a scratch game after the announced end 

of that game.  

C. Retailers may sell terminal computer-generated tickets up 

to a designated time prior to the drawing as specified in the 

terminal computer-generated game rules. That time will be 

designated by the director.  

11VAC5-41-80. Scratch ticket Scratcher returns.  

A. Ticket sales to retailers are final. The agency will not 

accept returned, unsold tickets for credit except as specifically 

authorized by and provided for in the agency's procedures. 

B. Once tickets are accepted by a retailer, the agency: 

1. May hold the retailer financially responsible for the 

replacement of mutilated, damaged, or otherwise 

unaccounted for tickets. 

2. Will not be responsible for lost, stolen, destroyed, or 

otherwise unaccounted for tickets, unless specifically 

authorized and provided for in the agency's procedures. 

11VAC5-41-100. Validation requirements.  

To receive payment for Prior to awarding a prize, a Virginia 

lottery game ticket or play the retailer or agency shall be 

validated by the retailer or the agency validate the ticket or 

play as set out in this chapter and in any other manner that the 

director may prescribe in the specific rules for the lottery 

game, which shall include but not be limited to the following:  

1. If the game's game rules specify that the physical ticket 

must be presented for validation then: 

a. The original ticket must be presented for validation;  

b. The ticket shall not be mutilated, altered, or tampered 

with in any manner. If a ticket is partially mutilated or if 

the ticket is not intact and cannot be validated through 

normal procedures but can still be validated by other 

validation tests, the director may pay the prize for that 

ticket;  

c. The ticket may not be misregistered or defectively 

printed to an extent that it cannot be processed by the 

department;  

d. The ticket shall pass all other confidential security 

checks of the agency; 

e. The ticket validation number shall be present in its 

entirety; and 

f. The ticket shall not be counterfeited, forged, 

fraudulently made, or a duplicate of another winning 

ticket.  

2. Where a winning ticket or play has been issued by a 

terminal: 

a. The ticket or play shall have been issued by the agency 

or by a licensed lottery retailer in an authorized manner;  

b. The terminal ticket or play shall not have been 

canceled or previously paid;  

c. The terminal ticket or play shall be validated in 

accordance with procedures for claiming and paying 

prizes as set out in the game rules; and 

d. The terminal ticket or play data shall have been 

recorded in the computer gaming system before the 

drawing or the instant game ticket sale, and the ticket 

data shall match this computer record in every respect. 

3. If the games game rules specify that a physical ticket, 

play, or record of play is not required for validation there 

may be other lottery requirements, as defined by the 

director, for winners to collect prizes. 

11VAC5-41-130. Terminal-generated Computer-

generated winning tickets.  

A. When more than one ticket containing the winning 

numbers is issued for the same drawing of the same game, the 

holder of each ticket is entitled only to his share of the prize, 

regardless of whether the other holders of tickets with the 

winning numbers actually claim their share of the prize.  

B. The agency shall not redeem prizes for tickets that would 

have been winning tickets but for the fact that they have been 

canceled by the retailer unless specifically authorized by the 

director. 

C. When the agency's internal controls indicate that a 

winning ticket was issued but no claim is made for the prize, 

there shall be a rebuttable presumption that such ticket was in 

fact issued and the prize shall be paid in accordance with the 

provisions of § 58.1-4020 of the Code of Virginia and 

regulations of the agency.  

11VAC5-41-320. Unclaimed prizes.  

A. Except for a free ticket prize, a claim for a lottery game 

winning ticket must be mailed in an envelope bearing a 

postmark of the United States Postal Service or another 

sovereign nation or received for payment as prescribed in this 

chapter within either 180 days after the date of the drawing 

for which the ticket was purchased, or of the event that 

caused the ticket to be a winning entry, or, in the case of an 

instant game ticket a scratcher, within 180 days after the 

announced end of the game. In the event that the 180th day 

falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the winning 

ticket will be accepted for validation on the next business day 

only at a lottery office.  

B. Any lottery cash prize that remains unclaimed after either 

180 days following the drawing that determined the prize or 

180 days after the announced end of the instant scratch game 

shall revert to the State Virginia's Literary Fund. Cash prizes 

do not include free ticket prizes or other noncash prizes such 

as merchandise, vacations, admission to events and the like.  

C. All claims for terminal computer-generated game 

winning tickets for which the prize is a free ticket must be 

mailed in an envelope bearing a postmark of the United States 

Postal Service or another sovereign nation or received for 

redemption as prescribed in this chapter within 180 days after 

the date of the drawing for which the ticket was purchased. In 
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the event the 180th day falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal 

holiday, a claimant may only redeem his winning ticket for a 

free ticket at a cashing retailer on or before the 180th day.  

Except for claims for free ticket prizes mailed to lottery 

headquarters and postmarked on or before the 180th day, 

claims for such prizes will not be accepted at any lottery 

office after the 60th day. This section does not apply to the 

redemption of free tickets awarded through the subscription 

program.  

D. Any instant scratch game winning ticket of $25 or less 

that has been purchased, but that is not claimed within 180 

days after the announced end of the instant scratch game, 

shall revert to the Virginia Lottery Fund.  

E. In case of a prize payable over time, if such prize is 

shared by two or more winning tickets, one or more of which 

is not presented to the agency for payment within the prize 

redemption period as established by the game rules, the 

agency will transfer that portion of the prize to the State 

Virginia's Literary Fund in accordance with procedures 

approved by the State Treasurer.  

F. In accordance with the provisions of the Servicemembers 

Civil Relief Act of 1940 (50 USC App § 526), any person 

while in active military service may claim exemption from 

the 180-day ticket redemption requirement. Such person, 

however, must claim his winning ticket or share as soon as 

practicable, and in no event later than 180 days after 

discharge from active military service.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4278; Filed September 14, 2015, 12:48 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The form used in administering the 

following regulation has been filed by the State Board of 

Health. The form is not being published; however, online 

users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may 

click on the name of the form to access it. The form is also 

available from the agency contact or may be viewed at the 

Office of the Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly 

Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-105. Rabies Regulations. 

Contact Information: Julia M. Murphy, DVM, MS, 

DACVPM, State Public Health Veterinarian, Virginia 

Department of Health, Office of Epidemiology, 109 Governor 

Street, Madison Building, 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 864-8113.  

FORMS (12VAC5-105) 

Request for Rabies Vaccination Exemption for Licensing 

and Inspection Purposes (eff. 3/12) 

Request for Rabies Vaccination Exemption for Licensing 

and Inspection Purposes (eff. 9/2015) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4511; Filed September 15, 2015, 1:11 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 17. LIBRARIES AND CULTURAL 
RESOURCES 

BOARD OF HISTORIC RESOURCES 

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 17VAC5-30. Evaluation Criteria and 

Procedures for Designations by the Board of Historic 

Resources (amending 17VAC5-30-100, 17VAC5-30-110, 

17VAC5-30-120, 17VAC5-30-160).  

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-2205 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Dates: September 14, 2015, through March 14, 

2017. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Pullen, Executive Assistant, 

Department of Historic Resources, 2801 Kensington Avenue, 

Richmond, VA 23221, telephone (804) 482-6085, FAX (804) 

367-2391, or email jennifer.pullen@dhr.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

The purpose of the emergency amendments is to address 

the owner objection process to properties nominated for 

designation by the Board of Historic Resources for 

inclusion in the Virginia Landmarks Register. An 

emergency exists because the process for property owners 

objecting to a designation to the Virginia Landmarks 

Register is unclear. Confusion has resulted from the 

current regulations about the time frames in which to 

operate and the amount of detail and formality necessary 

in owner objection letters. This confusion has negatively 

affected both the ability of Department of Historic 

Resources staff to perform their duties and the ability of 

property owners to exercise their rights. Staff should have 

clear rules, regulations, and processes to state to property 

owners; likewise, property owners should have a firm and 

detailed set of guidelines and procedures to follow in order 

to exercise their rights as property owners. 

In current regulations, there is no time restriction or 

deadline on the director receiving formal letters of 

objection to a property being considered for designation 

on the Virginia Landmarks Register. Also, property owners 

are not required to state the subject property address or 

parcel number in a formal objection letter nor is it 

required that the letter be attested. Current regulations do 

not require a copy of the recorded deed evidencing 

transfer of ownership to the objecting party. Lastly, in the 

current regulations, there is neither a time restriction nor 

a deadline for the director to receive letters for 

reconsideration. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4dd8b004511~1&typ=40&actno=004511&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4dd8b004511~1&typ=40&actno=004511&mime=application/pdf
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The amendments to the existing regulations add clarifying 

language that written notification of the nomination and 

written notification of the public hearing will be sent to 

property owners as shown on "current" real estate tax 

assessments books. In addition, property owners who wish 

to object to a designation must submit their formal 

objection seven business days prior to the board meeting. 

The amendments also add that in addition to the letter 

being notarized, it must be attested and reference the 

property by address or parcel number, or both. Also, in 

order to be counted by the director as a property owner, if 

the objecting party was not listed on the real estate tax 

assessment list, then a copy of the recorded deed 

evidencing transfer of ownership must be submitted along 

with the attested and notarized statement. Lastly, formal 

designations may be reconsidered at a subsequent board 

meeting if the director receives, at least 30 days prior to 

the next scheduled board meeting, written, attested, and 

notarized statements stating that there is no longer an 

objection. 

Part IV  

Public Notice and Public Hearings  

17VAC5-30-100. Written notice of proposed nominations.  

In any county, city, or town where the board proposes to 

designate property for inclusion in the Virginia Landmarks 

Register, the department shall give written notice of the 

proposal to the governing body and to the owner, owners, or 

the owner's agent (i) of property proposed to be designated as 

a historic landmark building, structure, object, or site, or to be 

included in a historic district, and to the owners, or their 

agents, (ii) of all abutting property and property immediately 

across the street or road or across any railroad or waterway 

less than 300 feet wide. The list of such owners shall be 

obtained from either the official land recordation records or 

tax records, whichever is more appropriate, within 90 days 

prior to the notification of the proposal. 

17VAC5-30-110. Public hearing for historic district; 

notice of hearing.  

Prior to the designation by the board of a historic district, the 

department shall hold a public hearing at the seat of 

government of the county, city, or town in which the 

proposed historic district is located or within the proposed 

historic district. The public hearing shall be for the purpose of 

supplying additional information to the board. The time and 

place of such hearing shall be determined in consultation with 

a duly authorized representative of the local governing body, 

and shall be scheduled at a time and place that will reasonably 

allow for the attendance of the affected property owners. The 

department shall publish notice of the public hearing once a 

week for two successive weeks in a newspaper published or 

having general circulation in the county, city, or town. Such 

notice shall specify the time and place of the public hearing at 

which persons affected may appear and present their views, 

not less than six days or more than 21 days after the second 

publication of the notice in such newspaper. In addition to 

publishing the notice, the department shall give written notice 

of the public hearing at least five days before such hearing to 

the owner, owners, or the owner's agent of (i) each parcel of 

real property to be included in the proposed historic district, 

and to the owners, or their agents, of (ii) all abutting property 

and property immediately across the street or road or across 

any railroad or waterway less than 300 feet wide pursuant to 

17VAC5-30-100. Notice required to be given to owners by 

this section may be given concurrently with the notice 

required to be given to the owners by 17VAC5-30-100. A 

complete copy of the nomination report and a map of the 

historic district showing the boundaries shall be sent to the 

local jurisdiction for public inspection at the time of notice. 

The notice shall include a synopsis of why the district is 

significant. The department shall make and maintain an 

appropriate record of all public hearings held pursuant to this 

section.  

17VAC5-30-120. Mailings and affidavits; concurrent state 

and federal notice.  

The department shall send the required notices by first class 

mail to the last known address of each person entitled to 

notice, as shown on the current real estate tax assessment 

books pursuant to 17VAC5-30-100. A representative of the 

department shall make an affidavit that the required mailings 

have been made. In the case where property is also proposed 

for inclusion in the National Register of Historic Places 

pursuant to nomination by the director, the department may 

provide concurrent notice of and hold a single public hearing 

on the proposed state designation and the proposed 

nomination to the National Register.  

17VAC5-30-160. Owner objections.  

Upon receiving the notification required by 17VAC5-30-

100, any owner or owners of property proposed for 

designation by the board shall have the opportunity to concur 

in or object to that designation. Property owners who wish to 

object to designation shall submit to the director a at least 

seven business days prior to the meeting of the board at 

which the property is considered for designation a written, 

attested, and notarized statement referencing the subject 

property by address, parcel number, or both and certifying 

that the objecting party is the sole or partial owner of the 

property, as appropriate, and objects to the designation. If an 

owner Any objecting party whose name did not appear on the 

current real estate tax assessment list official land recordation 

records or tax records used by the director pursuant to 

17VAC5-30-120 certifies in a must submit with such written, 

attested, and notarized statement that an attested and 

notarized copy of the party is the sole or partial owner of a 

nominated property, such owner recorded deed evidencing 

transfer of ownership to such objecting party. Only upon such 

submission shall such objecting owner be counted by the 

director in determining whether a majority of the owners has 

objected. Such statement must be received by the director at 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 3 Virginia Register of Regulations October 5, 2015 

411 

least seven business days prior to the meeting of the board at 

which the property is considered for nomination. The board 

shall take no formal action to designate the property or 

district for inclusion in the Virginia Landmarks Register if the 

owner of a property, or the majority of owners of a single 

property with multiple owners, or a majority of the owners in 

a district, have has objected to the designation. These 

objections must be received prior to the meeting of the board 

at which the property is considered for designation. Where 

formal designation at a board meeting has been prevented by 

owner objection, the board may reconsider the property for 

designation at a subsequent board meeting upon presentation 

to the director, at least 30 days prior to the next scheduled 

meeting of the board, of written, attested, and notarized 

statements sufficient to indicate that the owner or majority of 

owners no longer object objects to the designation. In the case 

of a proposed reconsideration, the notification procedures set 

out in Part IV (17VAC5-30-100 et seq.) shall apply.  

Each owner of property in a district has one vote regardless 

of how many properties or what part of one property that 

party owns and regardless of whether the property contributes 

to the significance of the district.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4259; Filed September 14, 2015, 12:52 p.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF HISTORIC RESOURCES 

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 17VAC10-20. Evaluation Criteria and 

Procedures for Nominations of Property to the National 

Register or for Designation as a National Historic 

Landmark (amending 17VAC10-20-130, 17VAC10-20-

140, 17VAC10-20-150, 17VAC10-20-200).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 10.1-2202 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Dates: September 14, 2015, through March 14, 

2017. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Pullen, Executive Assistant, 

Department of Historic Resources, 2801 Kensington Avenue, 

Richmond, VA 23221, telephone (804) 482-6085, or email 

jennifer.pullen@dhr.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

The purpose of the emergency amendments is to address 

the owner objection process to properties nominated for 

designation by the State Review Board for inclusion in the 

National Register of Historic Places or designation as a 

National Historic Landmark. An emergency exists because 

the process for property owners objecting to a designation 

to the National Register of Historic Places or a 

designation as a National Historic Landmark is unclear. 

Confusion has resulted from the current regulations about 

the time frames in which to operate and the amount of 

detail and formality necessary in owner objection letters. 

This confusion has negatively affected both the ability of 

Department of Historic Resources staff to perform their 

duties and the ability of property owners to exercise their 

rights. Staff should have clear rules, regulations, and 

processes to state to property owners; likewise, property 

owners should have a firm and detailed set of guidelines 

and procedures to follow in order to exercise their rights 

as property owners. 

In current regulations, there is neither a time restriction 

nor a deadline for the director to receive the formal 

objections. In current regulations, it is not required to state 

the subject property address or parcel number in a formal 

objection letter nor is it required that the letter be attested. 

Lastly, current regulations do not require a copy of the 

recorded deed evidencing transfer of ownership to the 

objecting party.  

The amendments to the existing regulations add clarifying 

language that written notification of the nomination and 

written notification of the public hearing will be sent to 

property owners as shown on "current" real estate tax 

assessments books. In addition, property owners who wish 

to object to a designation must submit their formal 

objection seven business days prior to the board meeting. 

The amendments also add that in addition to the letter 

being notarized, it must be attested and reference the 

property by address or parcel number, or both. Also, in 

order to be counted by the director as a property owner, if 

the objecting party was not listed on the real estate tax 

assessment list, then a copy of the recorded deed 

evidencing transfer of ownership must be submitted along 

with the attested and notarized statement.  

Part IV  

Public Notice and Public Hearings  

17VAC10-20-130. Written notice of proposed 

nominations.  

In any county, city, or town where the director proposes to 

nominate property to the National Park Service for inclusion 

in the National Register of Historic Places or for designation 

as a National Historic Landmark, the department shall give 

written notice of the proposal to the governing body and to 

the owner, owners, or the owner's agent of (i) property 

proposed to be nominated as a historic landmark building, 

structure, object, or site, or to be included in a historic 

district, and to the owners, or their agents, of (ii) all abutting 

property and property immediately across the street or road or 

across any railroad or waterway less than 300 feet wide. The 

list of such owners shall be obtained from either the official 

land recordation records or tax records, whichever is more 

appropriate, within 90 days prior to the notification of the 

proposal. The department shall send this written notice at 

least 30 but not more than 75 days before the State Review 

Board meeting at which the nomination will be considered.  

17VAC10-20-140. Public hearing for historic district; 

notice of hearing.  

Prior to the nomination of a historic district, the department 

shall hold a public hearing at the seat of government of the 

county, city, or town in which the proposed historic district is 
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located or within the proposed historic district. The public 

hearing shall be for the purpose of supplying additional 

information to the director. The time and place of such 

hearing shall be determined in consultation with a duly 

authorized representative of the local governing body, and 

shall be scheduled at a time and place that will reasonably 

allow for the attendance of the affected property owners. The 

department shall publish notice of the public hearing once a 

week for two successive weeks in a newspaper published or 

having general circulation in the county, city, or town. Such 

notice shall specify the time and place of the public hearing at 

which persons affected may appear and present their views, 

not less than six days or more than 21 days after the second 

publication of the notice in such newspaper. In addition to 

publishing the notice, the department shall give written notice 

of the public hearing at least five days before such hearing to 

the owner, owners, or the owner's agent of (i) each parcel of 

real property to be included in the proposed historic district, 

and to the owners, or their agents, of (ii) all abutting property, 

and property immediately across the street or road, or across 

any railroad or waterway less than 300 feet wide pursuant to 

17VAC10-20-130. Notice required to be given to owners by 

this section may be given concurrently with the notice 

required to be given to the owners by 17VAC10-20-130. A 

complete copy of the nomination report and a map of the 

historic district showing the boundaries shall be sent to the 

local jurisdiction for public inspection at the time of notice. 

The notice shall include a synopsis of why the district is 

significant. The department shall make and maintain an 

appropriate record of all public hearings held pursuant to this 

section.  

17VAC10-20-150. Mailings and affidavits; concurrent 

state and federal notice.  

The department shall send the required notices by first class 

mail to the last known address of each person entitled to 

notice, as shown on the current real estate tax assessment 

books pursuant to 17VAC10-20-130. A representative of the 

department shall make an affidavit that the required mailings 

have been made. In the case where property is also proposed 

for inclusion in the Virginia Landmarks Register pursuant to 

designation by the Virginia Board of Historic Resources, the 

department may provide concurrent notice of the proposed 

state designation and the proposed nomination to the National 

Register.  

17VAC10-20-200. Owner objections.  

Upon receiving the notification required by 17VAC10-20-

130, the owners of property proposed for nomination shall 

have the opportunity to concur in or object to the nomination. 

Any owner or owners of a private property who wish to 

object shall submit to the director a at least seven business 

days prior to the meeting of the board at which the property is 

considered for nomination a written, attested, and notarized 

statement of objection referencing the subject property by 

address, parcel number, or both and certifying that the 

objecting party is the sole or partial owner of the private 

property, as appropriate, and objects to the listing. If an owner 

objecting party whose name did not appear on the current real 

estate tax assessment list official land recordation records or 

tax records used by the director pursuant to 17VAC10-20-150 

certifies in a written, attested, and notarized statement that the 

party is the sole or partial owner of a nominated private 

property, such owner shall be counted by the director in 

determining whether a majority of the owners has objected. 

Such statement must be received by the director at least seven 

business days prior to the meeting of the board at which the 

property is considered for nomination. If the owner of a 

private property, or the majority of the owners of a single 

private property with multiple owners, or the majority of the 

owners in a district, have has objected to the nomination prior 

to the submittal of a nomination, the director shall submit the 

nomination to the keeper only for a determination of 

eligibility for the National Register. In accordance with the 

National Historic Preservation Act, the keeper shall determine 

whether the property meets the National Register criteria for 

evaluation, but shall not add the property to the National 

Register.  

Each owner of private property in a district has one vote 

regardless of how many properties or what part of one 

property that party owns and regardless of whether the 

property contributes to the significance of the district.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4260; Filed September 14, 2015, 12:54 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

CEMETERY BOARD 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC47-20. Cemetery Board Rules 

and Regulations (amending 18VAC47-20-220).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-2313 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 4, 2015. 

Effective Date: December 1, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Christine Martine, Executive Director, 

Cemetery Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, 

VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (804) 527-4299, 

or email cemetery@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2313 D of the Code of Virginia states: "In 

addition to the general powers and duties conferred in this 

subtitle, the Board shall have the power and duty to (i) 

regulate preneed burial contracts and perpetual care trust fund 

accounts as prescribed by this chapter, including, but not 
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limited to, the authority to prescribe preneed contract forms, 

disclosure requirements and disclosure forms and to require 

reasonable bonds to insure performance of preneed contracts, 

(ii) regulate and register sales personnel employed by a 

cemetery company, and (iii) regulate and establish 

qualifications and standards of conduct for compliance agents 

employed by a cemetery company to assure compliance of the 

cemetery with the provisions of this chapter." 

Section 54.1-201 A 1 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

regulatory boards to establish the qualifications of applicants 

for certification or licensure by any such board, provided that 

all qualifications shall be necessary to ensure either 

competence or integrity to engage in such profession or 

occupation. Section 54.1-201 A 5 of the Code of Virginia 

provides the authority for regulatory boards to promulgate 

regulations in accordance with the Administrative Process 

Act necessary to assure continued competency, to prevent 

deceptive or misleading practices by practitioners and to 

effectively administer the regulatory system administered by 

the regulatory board. 

Purpose: The purpose of the planned regulatory action is to 

make changes to incorporate language as necessary to 

implement the requirements of Chapter 251 of the 2013 Acts 

of Assembly for developing a process whereby a consumer 

will be provided a current general price list and itemized 

statement of charges for burial services. The amendment is 

intended to provide protection to both consumers and 

cemetery companies from claims the consumer did not 

receive the general price list and itemized statement prior to 

contract execution. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The fast-track 

process is being used to implement this amendment as 

quickly as possible to provide better protection to both 

consumers and cemetery companies from claims the 

consumer did not receive the general price list and itemized 

statement prior to contract execution. This action is 

noncontroversial since it helps both the consumer and the 

cemetery company by providing a mechanism to ensure the 

parties received the required information. 

Substance: The amendments add language to the section 

dealing with itemized statement and general price list of 

burial fees to implement the provisions of Chapter 251 of the 

2013 Acts of Assembly. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is that the 

revisions will improve clarity of the regulations and ensure 

consistency with current legal requirements all to better 

protect the health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of the 

Commonwealth. 

The primary advantage to the Commonwealth is that the 

revisions to the regulations reflect the importance Virginia 

places on ensuring the regulations are the least burdensome 

but also provide protection to the citizens of the 

Commonwealth. No disadvantages could be identified.  

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Cemetery Board (Board) proposes to amend its regulation to 

require cemetery companies to provide a general price list and 

an itemized statement of charges for burial services to 

customers before contract execution. The Board also proposes 

to require cemetery companies to get a signed 

acknowledgment of receipt from the customer. 

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for these 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Currently, cemetery companies 

are required to offer a general price list and itemized 

statement of charges for burial services to customers. The 

Board now proposes to require cemetery companies to 

provide these lists to customers and get them to sign an 

acknowledgment that they have received them.  

Cemetery companies will incur very minimal costs for adding 

the required acknowledgment to contract paperwork that 

customers already sign and receive. Cemetery companies also 

may incur copying costs for customers who may refuse 

copies of the lists currently but would get them automatically 

under the proposed regulatory changes. Board staff reports 

that the number of customers affected in this way is likely 

very small and that the expected extra costs incurred by 

cemetery companies would also be very small. Cemetery 

companies would likely benefit from having the signed 

acknowledgment of receipt signed by customers should a 

contract dispute arise and customers will likely benefit from 

automatically receiving pricing information prior to signing a 

contract with a cemetery company. These benefits will likely 

outweigh the minimal costs that may be incurred on account 

of this regulatory action. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Board staff reports that 

there are 93 cemetery companies in the Commonwealth that 

employ 1,788 sales people. Board staff also reports that 90 of 

the 93 cemetery companies would qualify as small 

businesses. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by this proposed regulation. 

Projected Impact on Employment. These proposed regulatory 

changes are unlikely to have any impact on employment in 

the Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to have any impact 

on the use or value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Small business 

cemetery companies may incur minimal copying costs 

because they will be required to provide price lists and 

itemized cost statements to the likely small number of 

customers who are currently offered those lists but refuse 

them. 
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Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. There are likely no alternative methods that 

would both meet the Board's goal and further reduce costs. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. 

General: The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has 

analyzed the economic impact of this proposed regulation in 

accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and 

Executive Order Number 17 (2014). Section 2.2-4007.04 

requires that such economic impact analyses determine the 

public benefits and costs of the proposed amendments. 

Further the report should include but not be limited to: 

• the projected number of businesses or other entities to 

whom the proposed regulation would apply, 

• the identity of any localities and types of businesses or 

other entities particularly affected, 

• the projected number of persons and employment 

positions to be affected,  

• the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and  

• the impact on the use and value of private property.  

Small Businesses: If the proposed regulation will have an 

adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires 

that such economic impact analyses include: 

• an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the proposed regulation, 

• the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other 

administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the proposed regulation, including the type 

of professional skills necessary for preparing required 

reports and other documents, 

• a statement of the probable effect of the proposed 

regulation on affected small businesses, and  

• a description of any less intrusive or less costly 

alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the 

proposed regulation.  

Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1, if there is a finding 

that a proposed regulation may have an adverse impact on 

small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative 

Rules is notified at the time the proposed regulation is 

submitted to the Virginia Register of Regulations for 

publication. This analysis shall represent DPB's best estimate 

for the purposes of public review and comment on the 

proposed regulation.  

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Cemetery Board concurs with the economic impact analysis 

conducted by the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 251 of the 2013 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendments require cemetery companies to provide a 

general price list and an itemized statement of charges for 

burial services to customers before contract execution and 

to obtain a signed acknowledgment of receipt from the 

customer.  

18VAC47-20-220. Itemized statement and general price 

list of burial fees to be furnished.  

Cemetery companies shall furnish a written general price list 

and a written itemized statement of goods and services they 

provide. This itemized statement shall include, but is not 

limited to, burial vaults and other burial receptacles, other 

merchandise, facilities used, and other professional services. 

Prices for merchandise may be stated as a range of values. 

Prices for services must be specific for each type of service, 

including any difference in prices based on the day or time 

the service is provided. This list shall be set forth in a clear 

and conspicuous manner.  

The list shall be available to individuals inquiring in person 

about burial arrangements or the prices of property or 

services. In addition, upon beginning a discussion of burial 

arrangements or the selection of any property or services, the 

general price list shall be offered by the cemetery property.  

Prior to execution of any contract, cemetery companies shall 

provide the general price list and itemized statement of goods 

and services to the individual or individuals entering the 

contract. The contract shall include an acknowledgment 

signed by the individual or individuals and the cemetery sales 

personnel stating the cemetery company provided the general 

price list and itemized statement of goods and services to the 

individual or individuals prior to the execution of the 

contract. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4366; Filed September 9, 2015, 2:36 p.m.  

BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC50-22. Board for Contractors 

Regulations (amending 18VAC50-22-20, 18VAC50-22-30).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-1102 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, Board for 

Contractors, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (866) 430-1033, or 

email contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 116 of the 2013 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendments (i) add the classification of commercial 

building contractor and outline the scope of practice this 

classification is permitted to perform, (ii) change the 

current definition of building contractor to residential 
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building contractor and amend the definition so that it only 

references residential work, and (iii) change the definition 

of any specialty that requires a reference to the new 

commercial building contractor classification. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

18VAC50-22-20. Definitions of license classifications.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

unless a different meaning is provided or is plainly required 

by the context shall have the following meanings:  

"Building contractors" (Abbr: BLD) means those individuals 

whose contracts include construction on real property owned, 

controlled or leased by another person of commercial, 

industrial, institutional, governmental, residential (single-

family, two-family or multifamily) and accessory use 

buildings or structures. This classification also provides for 

remodeling, repair, improvement or demolition of these 

buildings and structures.  

If the BLD contractor performs specialty services other than 

those listed below, all required specialty designations shall be 

obtained. The BLD contractor may act as a prime contractor 

and contract with subcontractors to perform work not 

permitted by the BLD license. The building classification 

includes but is not limited to the functions carried out by the 

following specialties:  

Billboard/sign contracting  

Commercial improvement contracting  

Concrete contracting 

Farm improvement contracting  

Home improvement contracting 

Industrialized building contracting  

Landscape service contracting  

Marine facility contracting  

Masonry contracting 

Recreational facility contracting  

Roofing contracting 

"Commercial building contractors" (Abbr: CBC) means 

those individuals whose contracts include construction, 

remodeling, repair, improvement, removal, or demolition on 

real property owned, controlled, or leased by another person 

of commercial, industrial, institutional, governmental, and 

accessory use buildings or structures. The CBC classification 

does not provide for electrical, plumbing, HVAC, or gas 

fitting services and does not allow construction, [ removal, ] 

repair, [ or ] improvement, [ or demolition ] of dwellings and 

townhouses [ as defined in the USBC ].  

If the CBC performs specialty services other than those 

listed in this definition, all required specialty designations 

shall be obtained. The CBC may act as a prime contractor and 

contract with subcontractors to perform work not permitted 

by the CBC license. The commercial building classification 

includes but is not limited to the functions carried out by the 

following specialties for contracts of commercial, 

institutional, governmental, and accessory use buildings or 

structures, including multi-family housing:  

Billboard/sign contracting  

Commercial improvement contracting  

Concrete contracting 

Farm improvement contracting  

Industrialized building contracting  

Landscape service contracting  

Marine facility contracting  

Masonry contracting 

Painting and wallcovering contracting 

Recreational facility contracting  

Roofing contracting 

Swimming pool contracting 

"Electrical contractors" (Abbr: ELE) means those 

individuals whose contracts include the construction, repair, 

maintenance, alteration, or removal of electrical systems. This 

classification provides for all work covered by the electrical 

provisions of the USBC including electronic/communication 

service contracting (ESC) and fire alarm systems contracting 

(FAS) specialties. A firm holding an ELE license is 

responsible for meeting all applicable individual license and 

certification regulations.  

"Highway/heavy contractors" (Abbr: H/H) means those 

individuals whose contracts include construction, repair, 

improvement, or demolition of the following:  

Bridges  

Dams  

Drainage systems  

Foundations  

Parking lots  

Public transit systems  

Rail roads  

Roads  

Runways  

Streets  

Structural signs & and lights  

Tanks  

The functions carried out by these contractors include but 

are not limited to the following:  

Building demolition  

Clearing  

Concrete work  



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 3 Virginia Register of Regulations October 5, 2015 

416 

Excavating  

Grading  

Nonwater well drilling  

Paving  

Pile driving  

Road marking  

Steel erection  

These contractors also install, maintain, or dismantle the 

following:  

1. Power systems for the generation and primary and 

secondary distribution of electric current ahead of the 

customer's meter;  

2. Pumping stations and treatment plants;  

3. Telephone, telegraph, or signal systems for public 

utilities; and  

4. Water, gas, and sewer connections to residential, 

commercial, and industrial sites, subject to local 

ordinances.  

This classification may also install backflow prevention 

devices incidental to work in this classification when the 

installer has received formal vocational training approved by 

the board that included instruction in the installation of 

backflow prevention devices.  

"HVAC contractors" (Abbr: HVA) means those individuals 

whose work includes the installation, alteration, repair, or 

maintenance of heating systems, ventilating systems, cooling 

systems, steam and hot water heaters, heating systems, 

boilers, process piping, and mechanical refrigeration systems, 

including tanks incidental to the system. This classification 

does not provide for fire suppression installations, sprinkler 

system installations, or gas piping. A firm holding a HVAC 

license is responsible for meeting all applicable individual 

license and certification regulations. This classification may 

install backflow prevention devices incidental to work in this 

classification.  

"Plumbing contractors" (Abbr: PLB) means those 

individuals whose contracts include the installation, 

maintenance, extension, or alteration, or removal of all 

piping, fixtures, appliances, and appurtenances in connection 

with any of the following:  

Backflow prevention devices  

Boilers  

Hot water baseboard heating systems  

Hot water heaters  

Hydronic systems  

[ Limited area sprinklers (as defined by the USBC) ] 

Process piping  

Public/private water supply systems within or adjacent to 

any building, structure, or conveyance  

Sanitary or storm drainage facilities  

Steam heating systems  

Storage tanks incidental to the installation of related 

systems  

Venting systems related to plumbing  

These contractors also install, maintain, extend, or alter the 

following:  

Liquid waste systems  

Sewerage systems  

Storm water systems  

Water supply systems  

This classification does not provide for (i) gas piping or (ii) 

the function of fire sprinkler contracting as noted above 

except for [ limited area ] sprinklers [ as defined by the USBC 

that are tied into the domestic water supply ]. A firm holding 

a PLB license is responsible for meeting all applicable 

individual license and certification regulations. The 

classification may install sprinkler systems permitted to be 

designed in accordance with the plumbing provisions of the 

USBC when the installer has received formal vocational 

training approved by the board that included instruction of 

installation of sprinkler systems. 

"Residential building contractors" (Abbr: RBC) means those 

individuals whose contracts include construction, remodeling, 

repair, improvement, removal, or demolition on real property 

owned, controlled, or leased by another person of dwellings 

and townhouses, [ as defined in the USBC, ] including 

accessory buildings or structures on such property. The RBC 

classification does not provide for electrical, plumbing, 

HVAC, or gas fitting services and does not allow 

construction, removal, repair, or improvement to commercial, 

industrial, institutional, or governmental use structures 

outside of dwellings and townhouses, [ except for the repair 

or improvement to dwelling units within commercial 

buildings as defined by the USBC ]. 

The residential building classification includes but is not 

limited to the functions carried out by the following 

specialties for contracts of dwellings and townhouses [ , as 

defined by the USBC, ] and related accessory use buildings or 

structures:  

Concrete contracting 

Home improvement contracting 

Industrialized building contracting  

Landscape service contracting  

Masonry contracting 

Painting and wallcovering contracting 

Roofing contracting 

Swimming pool contracting 

"Specialty contractors" means those individuals whose 

contracts are for specialty services which that do not 

generally fall within the scope of any other classification 

within this chapter.  
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18VAC50-22-30. Definitions of specialty services.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

unless a different meaning is provided or is plainly required 

by the context shall have the following meanings:  

"Accessibility services contracting" (Abbr: ASC) means the 

service that provides for all work in connection with the 

constructing, installing, altering, servicing, repairing, testing, 

or maintenance of wheelchair lifts, incline chairlifts, 

dumbwaiters with a capacity limit of 300 pounds, and private 

residence elevators in accordance with the Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63). The EEC specialty 

may also perform this work. This specialty does not include 

work on limited use-limited application (LULA) elevators. 

"Accessibility services contracting – LULA" (Abbr: ASL) 

means the service that provides for all work in connection 

with the constructing, installing, altering, servicing, repairing, 

testing, or maintenance of wheelchair lifts, incline chairlifts, 

dumbwaiters with a capacity limit of 300 pounds, private 

residence elevators, and limited use-limited application 

(LULA) elevators in accordance with the Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63). The EEC specialty 

may also perform this work.  

"Alternative energy system contracting" (Abbr: AES) means 

the service that provides for the installation, repair or 

improvement, from the customer's meter, of alternative 

energy generation systems, supplemental energy systems and 

associated equipment annexed to real property. This service 

does not include the installation of emergency generators 

powered by fossil fuels. No other classification or specialty 

service provides this function. This specialty does not provide 

for electrical, plumbing, gas fitting, or HVAC functions.  

"Asbestos contracting" (Abbr: ASB) means the service that 

provides for the installation, removal, or encapsulation of 

asbestos containing materials annexed to real property. No 

other classification or specialty service provides for this 

function.  

"Asphalt paving and sealcoating contracting" (Abbr: PAV) 

means the service that provides for the installation of asphalt 

paving or sealcoating, or both, on subdivision streets and 

adjacent intersections, driveways, parking lots, tennis courts, 

running tracks, and play areas, using materials and 

accessories common to the industry. This includes height 

adjustment of existing sewer manholes, storm drains, water 

valves, sewer cleanouts and drain grates, and all necessary 

excavation and grading. The H/H classification also provides 

for this function.  

"Billboard/sign contracting" (Abbr: BSC) means the service 

that provides for the installation, repair, improvement, or 

dismantling of any billboard or structural sign permanently 

annexed to real property. H/H and BLD CBC are the only 

other classifications that can perform this work except that a 

contractor in this specialty may connect or disconnect signs to 

existing electrical circuits. No trade related plumbing, 

electrical, or HVAC work is included in this function.  

"Blast/explosive contracting" (Abbr: BEC) means the 

service that provides for the use of explosive charges for the 

repair, improvement, alteration, or demolition of any real 

property or any structure annexed to real property.  

"Commercial improvement contracting" (Abbr: CIC) means 

the service that provides for repair or improvement to 

nonresidential property and multifamily property, as defined 

structures not defined as dwellings and townhouses [ in the ] 

in the [ Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code 

(13VAC5-63) USBC ]. The BLD CBC classification also 

provides for this function. The CIC classification does not 

provide for the construction of new buildings, accessory 

buildings, electrical, plumbing, HVAC, or gas work.  

"Concrete contracting" (Abbr: CEM) means the service that 

provides for all work in connection with the processing, 

proportioning, batching, mixing, conveying, and placing of 

concrete composed of materials common to the concrete 

industry. This includes but is not limited to finishing, 

coloring, curing, repairing, testing, sawing, grinding, 

grouting, placing of film barriers, sealing, and waterproofing. 

Construction and assembling of forms, molds, slipforms, 

pans, centering, and the use of rebar is also included. The 

BLD CBC, RBC, and H/H classifications also provide for this 

function.  

"Electronic/communication service contracting" (Abbr: 

ESC) means the service that provides for the installation, 

repair, improvement, or removal of electronic or 

communications systems annexed to real property including 

telephone wiring, computer cabling, sound systems, data 

links, data and network installation, television and cable TV 

wiring, antenna wiring, and fiber optics installation, all of 

which operate at 50 volts or less. A firm holding an ESC 

license is responsible for meeting all applicable tradesman 

licensure standards. The ELE classification also provides for 

this function.  

"Elevator/escalator contracting" (Abbr: EEC) means the 

service that provides for the installation, repair, improvement, 

or removal of elevators or escalators permanently annexed to 

real property. A firm holding an EEC license is responsible 

for meeting all applicable individual license and certification 

regulations. No other classification or specialty service 

provides for this function.  

"Environmental monitoring well contracting" (Abbr: EMW) 

means the service that provides for the construction of a well 

to monitor hazardous substances in the ground.  

"Environmental specialties contracting" (Abbr: ENV) means 

the service that provides for installation, repair, removal, or 

improvement of pollution control and remediation devices. 

No other specialty provides for this function. This specialty 

does not provide for electrical, plumbing, gas fitting, or 

HVAC functions.  

"Equipment/machinery contracting" (Abbr: EMC) means the 

service that provides for the installation or removal of 

equipment or machinery including but not limited to 
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conveyors or heavy machinery. Boilers exempted by the 

Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63) but 

regulated by the Department of Labor and Industry are also 

included in this specialty. This specialty does not provide for 

any electrical, plumbing, process piping, or HVAC functions.  

"Farm improvement contracting" (Abbr: FIC) means the 

service that provides for the installation, repair, or 

improvement of a nonresidential farm building or structure, or 

nonresidential farm accessory-use structure, or additions 

thereto. The BLD CBC classification also provides for this 

function. The FIC specialty does not provide for any 

electrical, plumbing, HVAC, or gas fitting functions.  

"Fire alarm systems contracting" (Abbr: FAS) means the 

service that provides for the installation, repair, or 

improvement of fire alarm systems which that operate at 50 

volts or less. The ELE classification also provides for this 

function. A firm with an FAS license is responsible for 

meeting all applicable tradesman licensure standards.  

"Fire sprinkler contracting" (Abbr: SPR) means the service 

that provides for the installation, repair, alteration, addition, 

testing, maintenance, inspection, improvement, or removal of 

sprinkler systems using water as a means of fire suppression 

when annexed to real property. This specialty does not 

provide for the installation, repair, or maintenance of other 

types of fire suppression systems. The PLB classification 

allows for the installation of systems permitted to be designed 

in accordance with the plumbing provisions of the USBC. 

This specialty may engage in the installation of backflow 

prevention devices in the fire sprinkler supply main and 

incidental to the sprinkler system installation when the 

installer has received formal vocational training approved by 

the board that included instruction in the installation of 

backflow prevention devices.  

"Fire suppression contracting" (Abbr: FSP) means the 

service that provides for the installation, repair, improvement, 

or removal of fire suppression systems including but not 

limited to halon and other gas systems;, dry chemical 

systems;, and carbon dioxide systems annexed to real 

property. No other classification provides for this function. 

The FSP specialty does not provide for the installation, repair, 

or maintenance of water sprinkler systems.  

"Gas fitting contracting" (Abbr: GFC) means the service that 

provides for the installation, repair, improvement, or removal 

of gas piping and appliances annexed to real property. A firm 

holding a GFC license is responsible for meeting all 

applicable individual (tradesman) licensure regulations.  

"Home improvement contracting" (Abbr: HIC) means the 

service that provides for repairs or improvements to one-

family and two-family residential buildings dwellings and 

townhouses as defined in the [ Virginia Uniform Statewide 

Building Code (13VAC5-63) USBC ] or structures annexed 

to real property those dwellings or townhouses [ and 

improvements to dwelling units within commercial buildings 

as defined in the USBC ]. The BLD RBC classification also 

provides for this function. The HIC specialty does not provide 

for electrical, plumbing, HVAC, or gas fitting functions. It 

does not include high rise buildings, buildings with more than 

two dwelling units, or new construction functions beyond the 

existing building structure other than decks, patios, 

driveways, and utility out buildings [ of 200 square feet or 

less that do not require a permit per the USBC ].  

"Industrialized building contracting" (Abbr: IBC) means the 

service that provides for the installation or removal of an 

industrialized building as defined in the Virginia 

Industrialized Building Safety Regulations (13VAC5-91). 

This classification covers foundation work in accordance with 

the provisions of the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building 

Code (13VAC5-63) and allows the licensee to complete 

internal tie-ins of plumbing, gas, electrical, and HVAC 

systems. It does not allow for installing additional plumbing, 

gas, electrical, or HVAC work such as installing the service 

meter, or installing the outside compressor for the HVAC 

system. The BLD classification CBC and RBC classifications 

also provides provide for this function.  

"Landscape irrigation contracting" (Abbr: ISC) means the 

service that provides for the installation, repair, improvement, 

or removal of irrigation sprinkler systems or outdoor sprinkler 

systems. The PLB and H/H classifications also provide for 

this function. This specialty may install backflow prevention 

devices incidental to work in this specialty when the installer 

has received formal vocational training approved by the board 

that included instruction in the installation of backflow 

prevention devices.  

"Landscape service contracting" (Abbr: LSC) means the 

service that provides for the alteration or improvement of a 

land area not related to any other classification or service 

activity by means of excavation, clearing, grading, 

construction of retaining walls for landscaping purposes, or 

placement of landscaping timbers. This specialty may remove 

stumps and roots below grade. The BLD CBC, RBC, and 

H/H classifications also provide for this function.  

"Lead abatement contracting" (Abbr: LAC) means the 

service that provides for the removal or encapsulation of lead-

containing materials annexed to real property. No other 

classification or specialty service provides for this function, 

except that the PLB and HVA classifications may provide 

this service incidental to work in those classifications.  

"Liquefied petroleum gas contracting" (Abbr: LPG) means 

the service that includes the installation, maintenance, 

extension, alteration, or removal of all piping, fixtures, 

appliances, and appurtenances used in transporting, storing, 

or utilizing liquefied petroleum gas. This excludes hot water 

heaters, boilers, and central heating systems that require an 

HVA or PLB license. The GFC specialty also provides for 

this function. A firm holding an LPG license is responsible 

for meeting all applicable individual license and certification 

regulations. 
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"Manufactured home contracting" (Abbr: MHC) means the 

service that provides for the installation or removal of a 

manufactured home as defined in the Virginia Manufactured 

Home Safety Regulations (13VAC5-95). This classification 

does not cover foundation work; however, it does allow 

installation of piers covered under HUD regulations. It does 

allow a licensee to do internal tie-ins of plumbing, gas, 

electrical, or HVAC equipment. It does not allow for 

installing additional plumbing, gas, electrical, or HVAC work 

such as installing the service meter, or installing the outside 

compressor for the HVAC system. No other specialty 

provides for this function. 

"Marine facility contracting" (Abbr: MCC) means the 

service that provides for the construction, repair, 

improvement, or removal of any structure the purpose of 

which is to provide access to, impede, or alter a body of 

surface water. The BLD CBC and H/H classifications also 

provide for this function. The MCC specialty does not 

provide for the construction of accessory structures or 

electrical, HVAC, or plumbing functions.  

"Masonry contracting" (Abbr: BRK) means the service that 

includes the installation of brick, concrete block, stone, 

marble, slate, or other units and products common to the 

masonry industry, including mortarless type masonry 

products. This includes installation of grout, caulking, tuck 

pointing, sand blasting, mortar washing, parging, and 

cleaning and welding of reinforcement steel related to 

masonry construction. The BLD classification CBC and RBC 

classifications and the HIC and CIC specialties also provide 

for this function.  

"Natural gas fitting provider contracting" (Abbr: NGF) 

means the service that provides for the incidental repair, 

testing, or removal of natural gas piping or fitting annexed to 

real property. This does not include new installation of gas 

piping for hot water heaters, boilers, central heating systems, 

or other natural gas equipment which that requires an HVA or 

PLB license. The GFC specialty also provides for this 

function. A firm holding an NGF license is responsible for 

meeting all applicable individual license and certification 

regulations. 

"Painting and wallcovering contracting" (Abbr: PTC) means 

the service that provides for the application of materials 

common to the painting and decorating industry for protective 

or decorative purposes, the installation of surface coverings 

such as vinyls, wall papers, and cloth fabrics. This includes 

surface preparation, caulking, sanding, and cleaning 

preparatory to painting or coverings and includes both interior 

and exterior surfaces. The BLD classification CBC and RBC 

classifications and the HIC and CIC specialties also provide 

for this function. 

"Radon mitigation contracting" (Abbr: RMC) means the 

service that provides for additions, repairs or improvements 

to buildings or structures, for the purpose of mitigating or 

preventing the effects of radon gas. This function can only be 

performed by a firm holding the BLD classification or CIC 

(for other than one-family and two-family dwellings), FIC 

(for nonresidential farm buildings) or HIC (for one-family 

and two-family dwellings) specialty services CBC and RBC 

classifications or the CIC, FIC, or HIC specialties. No 

electrical, plumbing, gas fitting, or HVAC functions are 

provided by this specialty.  

"Recreational facility contracting" (Abbr: RFC) means the 

service that provides for the construction, repair, or 

improvement of any recreational facility, excluding paving 

and the construction of buildings, plumbing, electrical, and 

HVAC functions. The BLD CBC classification also provides 

for this function.  

"Refrigeration contracting" (Abbr: REF) means the service 

that provides for installation, repair, or removal of any 

refrigeration equipment (excluding HVAC equipment). No 

electrical, plumbing, gas fitting, or HVAC functions are 

provided by this specialty. This specialty is intended for those 

contractors who repair or install coolers, refrigerated 

casework, ice-making machines, drinking fountains, cold 

room equipment, and similar hermetic refrigeration 

equipment. The HVAC classification also provides for this 

function.  

"Roofing contracting" (Abbr: ROC) means the service that 

provides for the installation, repair, removal, or improvement 

of materials common to the industry that form a watertight, 

weather resistant surface for roofs and decks. This includes 

roofing system components when installed in conjunction 

with a roofing project, application of dampproofing or 

waterproofing, and installation of roof insulation panels and 

other roof insulation systems above roof deck. The BLD 

classification CBC and RBC classifications and the HIC and 

CIC specialties also provide for this function.  

"Sewage disposal systems contracting" (Abbr: SDS) means 

the service that provides for the installation, repair, 

improvement, or removal of septic tanks, septic systems, and 

other on-site onsite sewage disposal systems annexed to real 

property.  

"Swimming pool construction contracting" (Abbr: POL) 

means the service that provides for the construction, repair, 

improvement, or removal of in-ground swimming pools. The 

BLD classification CBC and RBC classifications and the 

RFC specialty also provide for this function. No trade related 

plumbing, electrical, backflow, or HVAC work is included in 

this specialty.  

"Vessel construction contracting" (Abbr: VCC) means the 

service that provides for the construction, repair, 

improvement, or removal of nonresidential vessels, tanks, or 

piping that hold or convey fluids other than sanitary, storm, 

waste, or potable water supplies. The H/H classification also 

provides for this function.  

"Water well/pump contracting" (Abbr: WWP) means the 

service that provides for the installation of a water well 

system, including geothermal wells, which includes 
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construction of a water well to reach groundwater, as defined 

in § 62.1-255 of the Code of Virginia, and the installation of 

the well pump and tank, including pipe and wire, up to and 

including the point of connection to the plumbing and 

electrical systems. No other classification or specialty service 

provides for construction of water wells. This regulation shall 

not exclude PLB, ELE, or HVAC from installation of pumps 

and tanks.  

Note: Specialty contractors engaging in construction that 

involves the following activities or items or similar activities 

or items may fall under the CIC, HIC, [ and/or and ] FIC 

specialty services, or they may fall under the BLD 

classification CBC [ and/or or ] RBC classifications.  

Appliances  Fireplaces  Rubber linings 

Awnings  Fireproofing  Sandblasting 

Blinds Fixtures  Scaffolding 

Bulkheads Floor coverings  Screens 

Cabinetry Flooring Sheet metal 

Carpentry  Floors  Shutters 

Carpeting  Glass  Siding 

Casework  Glazing  Skylights 

Ceilings  Grouting  Storage bins and 

lockers 

Chimneys  Grubbing Stucco 

Chutes  Guttering Temperature 

controls 

Conduit 

rodding  

Insulation  Terrazzo 

Curtains  Interior 

decorating 

Tile 

Curtain walls  Lubrication  Vaults 

Decks Metal work  Vinyl flooring 

Doors  Millwrighting  Wall panels 

Drapes  Mirrors  Wall tile 

Drywall  Miscellaneous 

iron 

Waterproofing 

Epoxy  Ornamental iron  Weatherstripping 

Exterior 

decoration 

Partitions  Welding 

Facings Protective 

coatings 

Windows 

Fences  Railings  Wood floors 

Fiberglass Rigging   

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

[ FORMS (18VAC50-22) 

Contractor Licensing Information, A503-27INTRO v-3 (rev. 

12/2012) 

Requirements for Qualified Individuals, A501-27EXINFO-

v2 (rev. 12/2012) 

Contractor's License Application, A501-27LIC-v5 (rev. 

12/2012) 

Expedited Class A License Application, A503-

2705A_ELIC-v5 (rev. 12/2012) 

Additional Specialty Designation Application, A503-

27ADDSP-v5 (rev. 12/2012) 

Contractor Licensing Information, A501-27INTRO v-4 (rev. 

1/2016) 

Requirements for Qualified Individuals, A501-27EXINFO-

v5 (rev. 1/2016) 

Contractor's License Application, A501-27LIC-v7 (rev. 

1/2016) 

Additional Specialty Designation Application, A501-

27ADDSP-v7 (rev. 1/2016) 

Adverse Financial History Reporting Form, A406-01AFIN-

v1 (eff. 2/2015) 

Change in Qualified Individual and Designated Employee 

Application, A501-27CH_QIDE-v5 (rev. 7/2013) 

Change of Responsible Management Application, A501-

27CHRM-v4 (rev. 12/2012) 

Certificate of License Termination, A501-27TERM-v3 (rev. 

12/2012) 

Criminal Conviction Reporting Form, A406-01CCR-v1 (eff. 

5/2015) 

Disciplinary Action Reporting Form, A406-01DAR-v1 (eff. 

5/2015) 

Education Provider Registration/Course Approval 

Application, A501-27EDREG-v5 (rev. 12/2012) 

Education Provider Listing Application, A501-27EDLIST-

v3 (rev. 12/2012) 

Financial Statement, A501-27FINST-v4 (rev. 12/2012) 

Change in License Class Application, A501-27CHLIC-v5 

(rev. 12/2012) 

Change in License Class Application, A501-27CHLIC-v7 

(rev. 1/2016) 

Firm – Residential Building Energy Analyst Application, 

A501-2707LIC-v2 (rev. 7/2013)  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=16e16003648~5&typ=40&actno=003648&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=16e16003648~5&typ=40&actno=003648&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5d4a9003648~4&typ=40&actno=003648&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5d4a9003648~4&typ=40&actno=003648&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8cf31003648~6&typ=40&actno=003648&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8cf31003648~6&typ=40&actno=003648&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=050db003648~2&typ=40&actno=003648&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=050db003648~2&typ=40&actno=003648&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d3128003648~2&typ=40&actno=003648&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d3128003648~2&typ=40&actno=003648&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=86540002636~31&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=86540002636~31&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7c08a002636~32&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7c08a002636~32&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e5cd9002636~33&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e5cd9002636~33&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ee08b003648~8&typ=40&actno=003648&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ee08b003648~8&typ=40&actno=003648&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a09c3003648~7&typ=40&actno=003648&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a09c3003648~7&typ=40&actno=003648&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=34b93002636~34&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=34b93002636~34&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b99f6002636~35&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b99f6002636~35&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9f5d2002636~38&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=59f42003648~3&typ=40&actno=003648&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=59f42003648~3&typ=40&actno=003648&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6dba9002636~37&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6dba9002636~37&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
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Statement of Consumer Protections, RBC-9.1 (rev. 

12/2014) ]  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3648; Filed September 14, 2015, 11:13 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC50-22. Board for Contractors 

Regulations (amending 18VAC50-22-40, 18VAC50-22-50, 

18VAC50-22-60, 18VAC50-22-170).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-1102 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, Board for 

Contractors, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (866) 430-1033, or 

email contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) remove the past adverse financial 

history reporting requirement for the qualified individual 

for all three classes of contractor license and (ii) extend 

the reinstatement period for a license from one year to two 

years after expiration. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

Part II  

Entry  

18VAC50-22-40. Requirements for a Class C license.  

A. A firm applying for a Class C license must meet the 

requirements of this section. 

B. For every classification or specialty in which the firm 

seeks to be licensed, the firm shall name a qualified 

individual who meets the following requirements: 

1. Is at least 18 years old; 

2. Has a minimum of two years experience in the 

classification or specialty for which he is the qualifier; 

3. Is a full-time employee of the firm as defined in this 

chapter or is a member of the responsible management of 

the firm; and 

4. a. Has obtained the appropriate certification for the 

following specialties: 

Blast/explosive contracting (Department of Fire 

Programs explosive use certification) 

Fire sprinkler (NICET Sprinkler III certification) 

Radon mitigation (EPA or DEQ accepted radon 

certification) 

b. Has obtained, pursuant to the Individual Licensing and 

Certification Regulations, a master license for Plumbing, 

HVAC, Electrical, Gas Fitting, Natural Gas Fitting 

Provider, and Liquefied Petroleum Gas Contracting. 

c. Has obtained, pursuant to the Individual Licensing and 

Certification Regulations, certification as an Elevator 

Mechanic for Elevator Escalator Contracting and 

certification as a Water Well Systems Provider for Water 

Well/Pump Contracting. 

d. Has completed a board-approved examination for all 

other classifications and specialties that do not require 

other certification or licensure. 

C. The firm shall provide information for the past five years 

prior to application on any outstanding, past-due debts and 

judgments; outstanding tax obligations; defaults on bonds; or 

pending or past bankruptcies. The firm, its qualified 

individual or individuals, and all members of the responsible 

management of the firm shall submit information on any past-

due debts and judgments or defaults on bonds directly related 

to the practice of contracting as defined in Chapter 11 

(§ 54.1-1100 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

D. The firm, the qualified individual, and all members of the 

responsible management of the firm shall disclose at the time 

of application any current or previous contractor licenses held 

in Virginia or in other jurisdictions and any disciplinary 

actions taken on these licenses. This includes but is not 

limited to any monetary penalties, fines, suspensions, 

revocations, surrender of a license in connection with a 

disciplinary action, or voluntary termination of a license in 

Virginia or in any other jurisdiction. 

E. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant shall disclose the following information about 

the firm, all members of the responsible management, and the 

qualified individual or individuals for the firm: 

1. All misdemeanor convictions within three years of the 

date of application; and 

2. All felony convictions during their lifetime. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for purposes of this subsection. The record of a 

conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 

facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, 

in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in 

accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

F. A member of responsible management shall have 

successfully completed a board-approved basic business 

course. 

18VAC50-22-50. Requirements for a Class B license.  

A. A firm applying for a Class B license must meet the 

requirements of this section. 

B. A firm shall name a designated employee who meets the 

following requirements: 

1. Is at least 18 years old; 

2. Is a full-time employee of the firm as defined in this 

chapter, or is a member of responsible management as 

defined in this chapter; 

3. Has passed a board-approved examination as required 

by § 54.1-1108 of the Code of Virginia or has been 

exempted from the exam requirement in accordance with 

§ 54.1-1108.1 of the Code of Virginia; and 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f978b004456~1&typ=40&actno=004456&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f978b004456~1&typ=40&actno=004456&mime=application/pdf
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4. Has followed all rules established by the board or by the 

testing service acting on behalf of the board with regard to 

conduct at the examination. Such rules shall include any 

written instructions communicated prior to the examination 

date and any oral or written instructions given at the site on 

the date of the exam. 

C. For every classification or specialty in which the firm 

seeks to be licensed, the firm shall name a qualified 

individual who meets the following requirements: 

1. Is at least 18 years old; 

2. Has a minimum of three years experience in the 

classification or specialty for which he is the qualifier; 

3. Is a full-time employee of the firm as defined in this 

chapter or is a member of the responsible management of 

the firm; 

4. a. Has obtained the appropriate certification for the 

following specialties: 

Blast/explosive contracting (Department of Fire 

Programs explosive use certification) 

Fire sprinkler (NICET Sprinkler III certification) 

Radon mitigation (EPA or DEQ accepted radon 

certification) 

b. Has obtained, pursuant to the Individual Licensing and 

Certification Regulations, a master license for Plumbing, 

HVAC, Electrical, Gas Fitting, Natural Gas Fitting 

Provider, and Liquefied Petroleum Gas Contracting. 

c. Has obtained, pursuant to the Individual Licensing and 

Certification Regulations, certification as an Elevator 

Mechanic for Elevator Escalator Contracting and 

certification as a Water Well Systems Provider for Water 

Well/Pump Contracting. 

d. Has completed a board-approved examination for all 

other classifications and specialties that do not require 

other certification or licensure. 

D. Each firm shall submit information on its financial 

position. Excluding any property owned as tenants by the 

entirety, the firm shall state a net worth or equity of $15,000 

or more. 

E. Each firm shall provide information for the five years 

prior to application on any outstanding, past-due debts and 

judgments; outstanding tax obligations; defaults on bonds; or 

pending or past bankruptcies. The firm, its designated 

employee, qualified individual or individuals, and all 

members of the responsible management of the firm shall 

submit information on any past-due debts and judgments or 

defaults on bonds directly related to the practice of 

contracting as defined in Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-1100 et seq.) of 

Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

F. The firm, the designated employee, the qualified 

individual, and all members of the responsible management 

of the firm shall disclose at the time of application any current 

or previous substantial identities of interest with any 

contractor licenses issued in Virginia or in other jurisdictions 

and any disciplinary actions taken on these licenses. This 

includes but is not limited to any monetary penalties, fines, 

suspension, revocation, or surrender of a license in 

connection with a disciplinary action. The board, in its 

discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant when any of 

the parties listed above have had a substantial identity of 

interest (as deemed in § 54.1-1110 of the Code of Virginia) 

with any firm that has had a license suspended, revoked, 

voluntarily terminated or surrendered in connection with a 

disciplinary action in Virginia or any other jurisdiction. 

G. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant shall disclose the following information about 

the firm, designated employee, all members of the responsible 

management, and the qualified individual or individuals for 

the firm: 

1. All misdemeanor convictions within three years of the 

date of application; and 

2. All felony convictions during their lifetime. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for purposes of this subsection. The record of a 

conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 

facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, 

in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in 

accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

H. The designated employee or a member of responsible 

management shall have successfully completed a board-

approved basic business course. 

18VAC50-22-60. Requirements for a Class A license.  

A. A firm applying for a Class A license shall meet all of the 

requirements of this section.  

B. A firm shall name a designated employee who meets the 

following requirements:  

1. Is at least 18 years old;  

2. Is a full-time employee of the firm as defined in this 

chapter or is a member of the responsible management of 

the firm as defined in this chapter;  

3. Has passed a board-approved examination as required 

by § 54.1-1106 of the Code of Virginia or has been 

exempted from the exam requirement in accordance with 

§ 54.1-1108.1 of the Code of Virginia; and  

4. Has followed all rules established by the board or by the 

testing service acting on behalf of the board with regard to 

conduct at the examination. Such rules shall include any 

written instructions communicated prior to the examination 

date and any oral or written instructions given at the site on 

the day of the exam.  

C. For every classification or specialty in which the firm 

seeks to be licensed, the firm shall name a qualified 

individual who meets the following requirements:  

1. Is at least 18 years old;  
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2. Has a minimum of five years of experience in the 

classification or specialty for which he is the qualifier;  

3. Is a full-time employee of the firm as defined in this 

chapter or is a member of the firm as defined in this 

chapter or is a member of the responsible management of 

the firm;  

4. a. Has obtained the appropriate certification for the 

following specialties: 

Blast/explosive contracting (DHCD explosive use 

certification)  

Fire sprinkler (NICET Sprinkler III certification) 

Radon mitigation (EPA or DEQ accepted radon 

certification) 

b. Has obtained, pursuant to the Individual Licensing and 

Certification Regulations, a master license for Plumbing, 

HVAC, Electrical, Gas Fitting, Natural Gas Fitting 

Provider, and Liquefied Petroleum Gas Contracting. 

c. Has obtained, pursuant to the Individual Licensing and 

Certification Regulations, certification as an Elevator 

Mechanic for Elevator Escalator Contracting and 

certification as a Water Well Systems Provider for Water 

Well/Pump Contracting. 

d. Has completed a board-approved examination for all 

other classifications and specialties that do not require 

other certification or licensure. 

D. Each firm shall submit information on its financial 

position. Excluding any property owned as tenants by the 

entirety, the firm shall state a net worth or equity of $45,000.  

E. The firm shall provide information for the five years prior 

to application on any outstanding, past-due debts and 

judgments; outstanding tax obligations; defaults on bonds; or 

pending or past bankruptcies. The firm, its designated 

employee, qualified individual or individuals, and all 

members of the responsible management of the firm shall 

submit information on any past-due debts and judgments or 

defaults on bonds directly related to the practice of 

contracting as defined in Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-1100 et seq.) of 

Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

F. The firm, the designated employee, the qualified 

individual, and all members of the responsible management 

of the firm shall disclose at the time of application any current 

or previous substantial identities of interest with any 

contractor licenses issued in Virginia or in other jurisdictions 

and any disciplinary actions taken on these licenses. This 

includes but is not limited to, any monetary penalties, fines, 

suspensions, revocations, or surrender of a license in 

connection with a disciplinary action. The board, in its 

discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant when any of 

the parties listed above have had a substantial identity of 

interest (as deemed in § 54.1-1110 of the Code of Virginia) 

with any firm that has had a license suspended, revoked, 

voluntarily terminated, or surrendered in connection with a 

disciplinary action in Virginia or in any other jurisdiction.  

G. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant shall disclose the following information about 

the firm, all members of the responsible management, the 

designated employee and the qualified individual or 

individuals for the firm:  

1. All misdemeanor convictions within three years of the 

date of application; and  

2. All felony convictions during their lifetime.  

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for purposes of this subsection. The record of a 

conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 

facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, 

in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in 

accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia.  

H. The designated employee or a member of responsible 

management shall have successfully completed a board-

approved basic business course. 

18VAC50-22-170. Reinstatement fees.  

Each check or money order should be made payable to the 

Treasurer of Virginia. All fees required by the board are 

nonrefundable. In the event that a check, money draft, or 

similar instrument for payment of a fee required by statute or 

regulation is not honored by the bank or financial institution 

named, the applicant or regulant shall be required to remit 

fees sufficient to cover the original fee, plus an additional 

processing charge set by the department:  

Fee Type When Due Amount Due 

Class C 

reinstatement 

with 

reinstatement 

application 

$405*  

Class B 

reinstatement 

with 

reinstatement 

application 

$460*  

Class A 

reinstatement 

with 

reinstatement 

application 

$490*  

*Includes renewal fee listed in 18VAC50-22-140. 

The date on which the reinstatement fee is received by the 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation or 

its agent shall determine whether the licensee is eligible for 

reinstatement or must apply for a new license and meet the 

entry requirements in place at the time of that application. In 

order to ensure that licensees are qualified to practice as 

contractors, no reinstatement will be permitted once one year 

two years from the expiration date of the license has passed.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3533; Filed September 10, 2015, 3:19 p.m.  
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Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC50-22. Board for Contractors 

Regulations (amending 18VAC50-22-10, 18VAC50-22-

100, 18VAC50-22-130, 18VAC50-22-140, 18VAC50-22-

160, 18VAC50-22-170, 18VAC50-22-180, 18VAC50-22-

260; adding 18VAC50-22-62).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201, 54.1-1102, and 54.1-1146 

of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, Board for 

Contractors, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (866) 430-1033, or 

email contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments create the residential building energy 

analyst firm license to comport with Chapter 865 of the 

2011 Acts of Assembly. The amendments add a definition 

of residential building energy analyst firm, establish 

licensure eligibility criteria, list the fees associated with 

the license, add prohibited acts for such a license, and 

identify other administrative requirements. The final 

regulations replace emergency regulations that have been 

in effect since July 1, 2013.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

Part I  

Definitions 

18VAC50-22-10. General definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter, 

unless a different meaning is provided or is plainly required 

by the context, shall have the following meanings:  

"Address of record" means the mailing address designated 

by the licensee to receive notices and correspondence from 

the board. 

"Affidavit" means a written statement of facts, made 

voluntarily, and confirmed by the oath or affirmation of the 

party making it, taken before a notary or other person having 

the authority to administer such oath or affirmation.  

"Business entity" means a sole proprietorship, partnership, 

corporation, limited liability company, limited liability 

partnership, or any other form of organization permitted by 

law.  

"Change order" means any modification to the original 

contract including, but not limited to, the time to complete the 

work, change in materials, change in cost, and change in the 

scope of work. 

"Controlling financial interest" means the direct or indirect 

ownership or control of more than 50% ownership of a firm.  

"Firm" means any business entity recognized under the laws 

of the Commonwealth of Virginia.  

"Formal vocational training" means courses in the trade 

administered at an accredited educational facility; or formal 

training, approved by the department, conducted by trade 

associations, businesses, military, correspondence schools or 

other similar training organizations.  

"Full-time employee" means an employee who spends a 

minimum of 30 hours a week carrying out the work of the 

licensed contracting business.  

"Helper" or "laborer" means a person who assists a licensed 

tradesman and who is not an apprentice as defined in 

18VAC50-30-10.  

"Licensee" means a firm holding a license issued by the 

Board for Contractors to act as a contractor, as defined in 

§ 54.1-1100 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Net worth" means assets minus liabilities. For purposes of 

this chapter, assets shall not include any property owned as 

tenants by the entirety.  

"Prime contractor" means a licensed contractor that 

performs, supervises, or manages the construction, removal, 

repair, or improvement of real property pursuant to the terms 

of a primary contract with the property owner/lessee. The 

prime contractor may use its own employees to perform the 

work or use the services of other properly licensed 

contractors. 

"Principal place of business" means the location where the 

licensee principally conducts business with the public. 

"Reciprocity" means an arrangement by which the licensees 

of two states are allowed to practice within each other's 

boundaries by mutual agreement.  

"Reinstatement" means having a license restored to 

effectiveness after the expiration date has passed.  

"Renewal" means continuing the effectiveness of a license 

for another period of time.  

"Residential building energy analyst firm" means any 

business entity wherein a residential building energy analysis, 

as defined in § 54.1-1144 of the Code of Virginia, is offered 

or practiced. 

"Responsible management" means the following 

individuals:  

1. The sole proprietor of a sole proprietorship;  

2. The partners of a general partnership;  

3. The managing partners of a limited partnership;  

4. The officers of a corporation;  

5. The managers of a limited liability company;  

6. The officers or directors of an association or both; and  

7. Individuals in other business entities recognized under 

the laws of the Commonwealth as having a fiduciary 

responsibility to the firm.  

"Sole proprietor" means any individual, not a corporation, 

who is trading under his own name, or under an assumed or 
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fictitious name pursuant to the provisions of §§ 59.1-69 

through 59.1-76 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Supervision" means providing guidance or direction of a 

delegated task or procedure by a tradesman licensed in 

accordance with Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-1100 et seq.) of Title 

54.1 of the Code of Virginia, being accessible to the helper or 

laborer, and periodically observing and evaluating the 

performance of the task or procedure.  

"Supervisor" means the licensed master or journeyman 

tradesman who has the responsibility to ensure that the 

installation is in accordance with the applicable provisions of 

the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code and provides 

supervision to helpers and laborers as defined in this chapter.  

"Temporary license" means a license issued by the board 

pursuant to § 54.1-201.1 of the Code of Virginia that 

authorizes a person to engage in the practice of contracting 

until such time as the license is issued or 45 days from the 

date of issuance of the temporary license, whichever occurs 

first. 

"Tenants by the entirety" means a tenancy which is created 

between a husband and wife and by which together they hold 

title to the whole with right of survivorship so that, upon 

death of either, the other takes whole to exclusion of the 

deceased's remaining heirs.  

"Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code" or "USBC" 

means building regulations comprised of those promulgated 

by the Virginia Board of Housing and Community 

Development in accordance with § 36-98 of the Code of 

Virginia, including any model codes and standards that are 

incorporated by reference and that regulate construction, 

reconstruction, alteration, conversion, repair, maintenance or 

use of structures, and building and installation of equipment 

therein. 

18VAC50-22-62. Requirements for residential building 

energy analyst firm. 

A. An applicant for a residential building energy analyst 

firm license must meet the requirements of this section. 

B. The firm shall name a qualified individual who meets all 

of the following requirements: 

1. Is at least 18 years old; 

2. Holds a current individual residential building energy 

analyst license issued by the board; and 

3. Is a full-time employee of the firm as defined in this 

chapter or is a member of the responsible management of 

the firm. 

C. The applicant shall provide documentation, acceptable to 

the board, that the firm currently carries a minimum of 

$500,000 of general liability insurance from a company 

authorized to provide such insurance in the Commonwealth 

of Virginia. 

D. The firm, the qualified individual, and all members of the 

responsible management of the firm shall disclose at the time 

of application (i) any current or previous energy analyst or 

home inspection licenses held in Virginia or in other 

jurisdictions and (ii) any disciplinary actions taken on these 

licenses. This includes, but is not limited to, any monetary 

penalties, fines, suspensions, revocations, surrender of a 

license in connection with a disciplinary action, or voluntary 

termination of a license in Virginia or in any other 

jurisdiction. 

E. The firm shall provide information for the past five years 

prior to application on any outstanding past-due debts, 

outstanding judgments, outstanding tax obligations, defaults 

on bonds, or pending or past bankruptcies. The firm, its 

qualified individual, and all members of the responsible 

management of the firm shall submit information on any past-

due debts and judgments or defaults on bonds directly related 

to the practice of residential building energy analysis as 

defined in § 54.1-1144 of the Code of Virginia. 

F. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant shall disclose the following information about 

the firm, all members of the responsible management, and the 

qualified individual for the firm: 

1. All misdemeanor convictions within three years of the 

date of application; and 

2. All felony convictions during their lifetime. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for purposes of this subsection. The record of a 

conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 

facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, 

in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in 

accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC50-22-100. Fees. 

Each check or money order shall be made payable to the 

Treasurer of Virginia. All fees required by the board are 

nonrefundable. In the event that a check, money draft or 

similar instrument for payment of a fee required by statute or 

regulation is not honored by the bank or financial institution 

named, the applicant or regulant shall be required to remit 

fees sufficient to cover the original fee, plus an additional 

processing charge set by the department: 

Fee Type When Due Amount Due 

Class C Initial 

License 

with license 

application 
$210  

Class B Initial 

License 

with license 

application 
$345  

Class A Initial 

License 

with license 

application 
$360  

Temporary 

License 

with license 

application and 

applicable initial 

license fee 

$50 
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Residential 

Building Energy 

Analyst Firm 

License 

with license 

application 
$210 

Qualified 

Individual Exam 

Fee 

with exam 

application 
$20 

Class B Exam 

Fee 

with exam 

application ($20 

per section) 

$40 

Class A Exam 

Fee 

with exam 

application ($20 

per section) 

$60 

Note: A $25 Recovery Fund assessment is also required 

with each initial license application, except for the residential 

building energy analyst firm license. If the applicant does not 

meet all requirements and does not become licensed, this 

assessment will be refunded. The examination fees approved 

by the board but administered by another governmental 

agency or organization shall be determined by that agency or 

organization. 

18VAC50-22-130. Qualifications for renewal.  

A. The license holder's completed renewal form and 

appropriate fees must be received within 30 days of the 

license expiration date in order to renew the license. 

Applications and fees received after the 30-day period will be 

processed in accordance with Part IV (18VAC50-22-160 et 

seq.) of this chapter.  

B. Applicants for renewal of a Class C license shall continue 

to meet all of the qualifications for licensure set forth in 

18VAC50-22-40. Applicants for renewal of a Class B license 

shall continue to meet all of the qualifications for licensure 

set forth in 18VAC50-22-50. Applicants for renewal of a 

Class A license shall continue to meet all of the qualifications 

for licensure set forth in 18VAC50-22-60.  

C. Applicants for renewal of a residential building energy 

analyst firm license shall continue to meet all of the 

qualifications for licensure set forth in 18VAC50-22-62 and 

shall submit proof of insurance as required in 18VAC50-22-

62 C. 

18VAC50-22-140. Renewal fees. 

Each check or money order should be made payable to the 

Treasurer of Virginia. All fees required by the board are 

nonrefundable. 

In the event that a check, money draft, or similar instrument 

for payment of a fee required by statute or regulation is not 

honored by the bank or financial institution named, the 

applicant or regulant shall be required to remit fees sufficient 

to cover the original fee, plus an additional processing charge 

set by the department:  

Fee Type When Due Amount Due 

Class C renewal 
with renewal 

application 
$195  

Class B renewal 
with renewal 

application 
$225  

Class A renewal 
with renewal 

application 
$240 

Residential 

Building Energy 

Analyst Firm 

renewal 

with renewal 

application 
$195  

The date on which the renewal fee is received by the 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation or 

its agent shall determine whether the licensee is eligible for 

renewal or must apply for reinstatement. 

For renewal fees received on or before August 31, 2017, the 

fees shall be $100 for a Class C renewal, $125 for a Class B 

renewal, and $150 for a Class A renewal.  

Part IV  

Reinstatement  

18VAC50-22-160. Reinstatement required.  

Should the Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation fail to receive a license holder's renewal form and 

appropriate fees within 30 days of the license expiration date, 

the licensee shall be required to reinstate the license. 

Applicants for reinstatement of a Class C license shall meet 

the requirements of 18VAC50-22-130. Applicants for 

reinstatement of a Class B license shall continue to meet the 

qualifications for licensure set forth in 18VAC50-22-50. 

Applicants for reinstatement of a Class A license shall 

continue to meet all the qualifications for licensure set forth 

in 18VAC50-22-60. Applicants for reinstatement of a 

residential building energy analyst firm license shall continue 

to meet all of the qualifications for licensure set forth in 

18VAC50-22-62 and shall submit proof of insurance as 

required in 18VAC50-22-62 C. 

18VAC50-22-170. Reinstatement fees.  

Each check or money order should be made payable to the 

Treasurer of Virginia. All fees required by the board are 

nonrefundable. In the event that a check, money draft, or 

similar instrument for payment of a fee required by statute or 

regulation is not honored by the bank or financial institution 

named, the applicant or regulant shall be required to remit 

fees sufficient to cover the original fee, plus an additional 

processing charge set by the department:  
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Fee Type When Due Amount Due 

Class C 

reinstatement 

with 

reinstatement 

application 

$405*  

Class B 

reinstatement 

with 

reinstatement 

application 

$460*  

Class A 

reinstatement 

with 

reinstatement 

application 

$490*  

Residential 

Building Energy 

Analyst Firm 

reinstatement 

with 

reinstatement 

application 

$405* 

*Includes renewal fee listed in 18VAC50-22-140. 

The date on which the reinstatement fee is received by the 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation or 

its agent shall determine whether the licensee is eligible for 

reinstatement or must apply for a new license and meet the 

entry requirements in place at the time of that application. In 

order to ensure that licensees are qualified to practice as 

contractors, no reinstatement will be permitted once one year 

from the expiration date of the license has passed.  

For reinstatement fees received on or before August 31, 

2017, the fees shall be $200 for Class C reinstatement, $250 

for Class B reinstatement, and $300 for Class A 

reinstatement. These fees include the renewal fee listed in 

18VAC50-22-140. 

18VAC50-22-180. Status of licensee during the period 

prior to reinstatement.  

A. When a license is reinstated, the licensee shall continue 

to have the same license number and shall be assigned an 

expiration date two years from the previous expiration date of 

the license.  

B. A contractor who reinstates his license shall be regarded 

as having been continuously licensed without interruption. 

Therefore:  

1. The contractor shall remain under the disciplinary 

authority of the board during this entire period and may be 

held accountable for his activities during this period.  

2. A consumer who contracts with a contractor during the 

period between the expiration of the license and the 

reinstatement of the license shall not be prohibited from 

making a claim on the Virginia Contractor Transaction 

Recovery Fund. 

A contractor who fails to reinstate his license shall be 

regarded as unlicensed from the expiration date of the license 

forward.  

Nothing in this chapter shall divest the board of its authority 

to discipline a contractor for a violation of the law or 

regulations during the period of time for which the contractor 

was licensed. 

C. A residential building energy analyst firm that reinstates 

its license shall be regarded as having been continuously 

licensed without interruption and shall remain under the 

disciplinary authority of the board during this entire period 

and may be held accountable for its activities during this 

period. 

18VAC50-22-260. Filing of charges; prohibited acts.  

A. All complaints against contractors and residential 

building energy analyst firms may be filed with the 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation at 

any time during business hours, pursuant to § 54.1-1114 of 

the Code of Virginia.  

B. The following are prohibited acts:  

1. Failure in any material way to comply with provisions of 

Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.) or Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-1100 

et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia or the 

regulations of the board.  

2. Furnishing substantially inaccurate or incomplete 

information to the board in obtaining, renewing, 

reinstating, or maintaining a license.  

3. Failure of the responsible management, designated 

employee, or qualified individual to report to the board, in 

writing, the suspension or revocation of a contractor 

license by another state or conviction in a court of 

competent jurisdiction of a building code violation.  

4. Publishing or causing to be published any advertisement 

relating to contracting which contains an assertion, 

representation, or statement of fact that is false, deceptive, 

or misleading.  

5. Negligence and/or incompetence in the practice of 

contracting or residential building energy analyses.  

6. Misconduct in the practice of contracting or residential 

building energy analyses.  

7. A finding of improper or dishonest conduct in the 

practice of contracting by a court of competent jurisdiction 

or by the board.  

8. Failure of all those who engage in residential 

contracting, excluding subcontractors to the contracting 

parties and those who engage in routine maintenance or 

service contracts, to make use of a legible written contract 

clearly specifying the terms and conditions of the work to 

be performed. For the purposes of this chapter, residential 

contracting means construction, removal, repair, or 

improvements to single-family or multiple-family 

residential buildings, including accessory-use structures as 

defined in § 54.1-1100 of the Code of Virginia. Prior to 

commencement of work or acceptance of payments, the 

contract shall be signed by both the consumer and the 

licensee or his agent.  
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9. Failure of those engaged in residential contracting as 

defined in this chapter to comply with the terms of a 

written contract which contains the following minimum 

requirements:  

a. When work is to begin and the estimated completion 

date;  

b. A statement of the total cost of the contract and the 

amounts and schedule for progress payments including a 

specific statement on the amount of the down payment;  

c. A listing of specified materials and work to be 

performed, which is specifically requested by the 

consumer;  

d. A "plain-language" exculpatory clause concerning 

events beyond the control of the contractor and a 

statement explaining that delays caused by such events 

do not constitute abandonment and are not included in 

calculating time frames for payment or performance;  

e. A statement of assurance that the contractor will 

comply with all local requirements for building permits, 

inspections, and zoning;  

f. Disclosure of the cancellation rights of the parties;  

g. For contracts resulting from a door-to-door 

solicitation, a signed acknowledgment by the consumer 

that he has been provided with and read the Department 

of Professional and Occupational Regulation statement of 

protection available to him through the Board for 

Contractors;  

h. Contractor's name, address, license number, class of 

license, and classifications or specialty services;  

i. A statement providing that any modification to the 

contract, which changes the cost, materials, work to be 

performed, or estimated completion date, must be in 

writing and signed by all parties; and 

j. Effective with all new contracts entered into after July 

1, 2015, a statement notifying consumers of the existence 

of the Virginia Contractor Transaction Recovery Fund 

that includes information on how to contact the board for 

claim information.  

10. Failure to make prompt delivery to the consumer 

before commencement of work of a fully executed copy of 

the contract as described in subdivisions 8 and 9 of this 

subsection for construction or contracting work.  

11. Failure of the contractor to maintain for a period of five 

years from the date of contract a complete and legible copy 

of all documents relating to that contract, including, but not 

limited to, the contract and any addenda or change orders.  

12. Refusing or failing, upon request, to produce to the 

board, or any of its agents, any document, book, record, or 

copy of it in the licensee's possession concerning a 

transaction covered by this chapter or for which the 

licensee is required to maintain records.  

13. Failing to respond to an agent of the board or providing 

false, misleading or incomplete information to an 

investigator seeking information in the investigation of a 

complaint filed with the board against the contractor. 

Failing or refusing to claim certified mail sent to the 

licensee's address of record shall constitute a violation of 

this regulation. 

14. Abandonment defined as the unjustified cessation of 

work under the contract for a period of 30 days or more.  

15. The intentional and unjustified failure to complete 

work contracted for and/or to comply with the terms in the 

contract.  

16. The retention or misapplication of funds paid, for 

which work is either not performed or performed only in 

part.  

17. Making any misrepresentation or making a false 

promise that might influence, persuade, or induce.  

18. Assisting another to violate any provision of Chapter 1 

(§ 54.1-100 et seq.) or Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-1100 et seq.) of 

Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, or this chapter; or 

combining or conspiring with or acting as agent, partner, or 

associate for another.  

19. Allowing a firm's license to be used by another.  

20. Acting as or being an ostensible licensee for 

undisclosed persons who do or will control or direct, 

directly or indirectly, the operations of the licensee's 

business.  

21. Action by the firm, responsible management as defined 

in this chapter, designated employee or qualified individual 

to offer, give, or promise anything of value or benefit to 

any federal, state, or local employee for the purpose of 

influencing that employee to circumvent, in the 

performance of his duties, any federal, state, or local law, 

regulation, or ordinance governing the construction 

industry.  

22. Where the firm, responsible management as defined in 

this chapter, designated employee or qualified individual 

has been convicted or found guilty, after initial licensure, 

regardless of adjudication, in any jurisdiction, of any 

felony or of any misdemeanor, there being no appeal 

pending therefrom or the time of appeal having elapsed. 

Any plea of guilty or nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for the purposes of this subdivision. The record 

of a conviction received from a court shall be accepted as 

prima facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt.  

23. Failure to inform the board in writing, within 30 days, 

that the firm, a member of responsible management as 

defined in this chapter, its designated employee, or its 

qualified individual has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere 

or was convicted and found guilty of any felony or of a 

Class 1 misdemeanor or any misdemeanor conviction for 

activities carried out while engaged in the practice of 

contracting.  
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24. Having been disciplined by any county, city, town, or 

any state or federal governing body including action by the 

Virginia Department of Health, which action shall be 

reviewed by the board before it takes any disciplinary 

action of its own.  

25. Failure to abate a violation of the Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code, as amended.  

26. Failure of a contractor to comply with the notification 

requirements of the Virginia Underground Utility 

Prevention Act, Chapter 10.3 (§ 56-265.14 et seq.) of Title 

56 of the Code of Virginia (Miss Utility).  

27. Practicing in a classification, specialty service, or class 

of license for which the contractor is not licensed.  

28. Failure to satisfy any judgments.  

29. Contracting with an unlicensed or improperly licensed 

contractor or subcontractor in the delivery of contracting 

services.  

30. Failure to honor the terms and conditions of a warranty.  

31. Failure to obtain written change orders, which are 

signed by both the consumer and the licensee or his agent, 

to an already existing contract.  

32. Failure to ensure that supervision, as defined in this 

chapter, is provided to all helpers and laborers assisting 

licensed tradesman.  

33. Failure to obtain a building permit or applicable 

inspection, where required. 

34. Failure of a residential building energy analyst firm to 

ensure that residential building energy analyses conducted 

by the firm are consistent with the requirements set forth 

by the board, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 

the U.S. Department of Energy, or the "Energy Star" 

Program. 

35. Failure of a residential building energy analyst firm to 

maintain the general liability insurance required in 

18VAC50-22-62 C at any time while licensed by the 

board. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-2849; Filed September 9, 2015, 2:25 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

EDITOR'S NOTE: As a result of public comment, the Board 

for Contractors did not adopt the proposed amendments that 

would eliminate the requirement that tradesmen complete 

continuing education as a prerequisite for renewal or 

reinstatement (see 29:26 VA.R. 3821-3826 August 26, 2013, 

for proposed changes). Since the amendments were not 

adopted, 18VAC50-30-10, 18VAC50-30-120, and 18VAC50-

30-220 are not being changed and 18VAC50-30-73 and 

18VAC50-30-75 are not being repealed. These sections have 

been removed from the final regulation published below. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC50-30. Individual License and 

Certification Regulations (amending 18VAC50-30-130).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-1102 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, Board for 

Contractors, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (866) 430-1033, or 

email contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment extends the license reinstatement period 

for tradesman from one year to two years following the 

expiration date. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

18VAC50-30-130. Reinstatement. 

A. Should the Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation fail to receive the renewal application or fees 

within 30 days of the expiration date, the regulant will be 

required to apply for reinstatement of the license or 

certification card. 

B. Reinstatement fees are as follows: 

Tradesman license $140* 

Liquefied petroleum gas fitter license $140* 

Natural gas fitter provider license $140* 

Backflow prevention device worker 

certification 

$140* 

Elevator mechanic certification $140* 

Certified accessibility mechanic $140* 

Water well systems provider certification $140* 

*Includes renewal fee listed in 18VAC50-30-120. 

All fees required by the board are nonrefundable and shall 

not be prorated. 

For reinstatement fees received on or before August 31, 

2017, the fee shall be $100. This fee includes the renewal fee 

listed in 18VAC50-30-120. 

C. Applicants for reinstatement shall meet the requirements 

of 18VAC50-30-30. 

D. The date on which the reinstatement fee is received by 

the department or its agent will determine whether the license 

or certification card is reinstated or a new application is 

required.  

E. In order to ensure that license or certification card holders 

are qualified to practice as tradesmen, liquefied petroleum gas 

fitters, natural gas fitter providers, backflow prevention 

device workers, elevator mechanics, or water well systems 

providers, no reinstatement will be permitted once one year 

two years from the expiration date has passed. After that date 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol29/iss26/v29i26.pdf
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the applicant must apply for a new license or certification 

card and meet the then current entry requirements.  

F. Any tradesman, liquefied petroleum gas fitter, or natural 

gas fitter provider activity conducted subsequent to the 

expiration of the license may constitute unlicensed activity 

and may be subject to prosecution under Title 54.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. Further, any person who holds himself out 

as a certified backflow prevention device worker, as defined 

in § 54.1-1128 of the Code of Virginia, or as a certified 

elevator mechanic or certified accessibility mechanic, as 

defined in § 54.1-1140 of the Code of Virginia, or as a water 

well systems provider as defined in § 54.1-1129.1 of the Code 

of Virginia, without the appropriate certification, may be 

subject to prosecution under Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. Any activity related to the operating integrity of an 

elevator, escalator, or related conveyance, conducted 

subsequent to the expiration of an elevator mechanic 

certification may constitute illegal activity and may be subject 

to prosecution under Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

G. The board may deny reinstatement of a license or 

certification card for the same reasons as it may refuse initial 

issuance or to discipline a regulant. The regulant has a right to 

appeal any such action by the board under the Virginia 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia). 

H. Failure to timely pay any monetary penalty, 

reimbursement of cost, or other fee assessed by consent order 

or final order shall result in delaying or withholding services 

provided by the department, such as, but not limited to, 

renewal, reinstatement, processing of a new application, or 

exam administration. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3534; Filed September 10, 2015, 3:20 p.m.  

BOARD OF LONG-TERM CARE ADMINISTRATORS 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC95-30. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Assisted Living Facility Administrators 

(amending 18VAC95-30-130, 18VAC95-30-150, 

18VAC95-30-180, 18VAC95-30-190; adding 18VAC95-30-

201).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 4, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Lisa Russell Hahn, Executive Director, 

Board of Long-Term Care Administrators, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone 

(804) 367-4595, FAX (804) 527-4413, or email 

ltc@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments require (i) identification to the public that 

the acting administrator of an assisted living facility is an 

administrator-in-training, (ii) that the preceptor 

responsible for appropriate oversight of the acting 

administrator be present in the facility for training on a 

regular basis (at least two hours per week), and (iii) that 

survey visit reports for the facility become part of the 

administrator-in-training reports. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

18VAC95-30-130. Application package. 

A. An application for licensure shall be submitted after the 

applicant completes the qualifications for licensure.  

B. An individual seeking licensure as an assisted living 

facility administrator or registration as a preceptor shall 

submit:  

1. A completed application as provided by the board;  

2. Additional documentation as may be required by the 

board to determine eligibility of the applicant, to include 

the most recent survey report if the applicant has been 

serving as an acting administrator of a facility;  

3. The applicable fee;  

4. An attestation that he has read and understands and will 

remain current with the applicable Virginia laws and the 

regulations relating to assisted living facilities; and 

5. A current report from the U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Services National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB). 

C. With the exception of school transcripts, examination 

scores, the NPDB report, and verifications from other state 

boards, all parts of the application package shall be submitted 

at the same time. An incomplete package shall be retained by 

the board for one year, after which time the application shall 

be destroyed and a new application and fee shall be required. 

18VAC95-30-150. Required hours of training. 

A. The ALF AIT program shall consist of hours of 

continuous training as specified in 18VAC95-30-100 A 1 in a 

facility as prescribed in 18VAC95-30-170 to be completed 

within 24 months, except a person in an ALF AIT program 

who has been approved by the board and is serving as an 

acting administrator shall complete the program within 150 

days. An extension may be granted by the board on an 

individual case basis. The board may reduce the required 

hours for applicants with certain qualifications as prescribed 

in subsection B of this section. 

B. An ALF AIT applicant with prior health care work 

experience may request approval to receive hours of credit 

toward the total hours as follows:  

1. An applicant who has been employed full time for one 

of the past four years immediately prior to application as 

an assistant administrator in a licensed assisted living 

facility or nursing home or as a hospital administrator shall 

complete 320 hours in an ALF AIT;  

2. An applicant who holds a license or a multistate 

licensure privilege as a registered nurse and who has held 

an administrative level supervisory position in nursing for 

at least one of the past four consecutive years in a licensed 
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assisted living facility or nursing home shall complete 320 

hours in an ALF AIT; or  

3. An applicant who holds a license or a multistate 

licensure privilege as a licensed practical nurse and who 

has held an administrative level supervisory position in 

nursing for at least one of the past four consecutive years 

in a licensed assisted living facility or nursing home shall 

complete 480 hours in an ALF AIT.  

18VAC95-30-180. Preceptors. 

A. Training in an ALF AIT program shall be under the 

supervision of a preceptor who is registered or recognized by 

Virginia or a similar licensing board in another jurisdiction.  

B. To be registered by the board as a preceptor, a person 

shall:  

1. Hold a current, unrestricted Virginia assisted living 

facility administrator or nursing home administrator 

license;  

2. Be employed full-time as an administrator in a training 

facility or facilities for a minimum of one of the past four 

years immediately prior to registration or be a regional 

administrator with on-site supervisory responsibilities for a 

training facility or facilities; and  

3. Submit an application and fee as prescribed in 

18VAC95-30-40. The board may waive such application 

and fee for a person who is already approved as a preceptor 

for nursing home licensure. 

C. A preceptor shall:  

1. Provide direct instruction, planning, and evaluation;  

2. Be routinely present with the trainee in the training 

facility; and  

3. Continually evaluate the development and experience of 

the trainee to determine specific areas needed for 

concentration.  

D. A preceptor may supervise no more than two trainees at 

any one time.  

E. A preceptor for a person who is serving as an acting 

administrator while in an ALF AIT program shall be present 

in the training facility for face-to-face instruction and review 

of the trainee's performance for a minimum of two hours per 

week. 

18VAC95-30-190. Reporting requirements. 

A. The preceptor shall maintain progress reports on forms 

prescribed by the board for each month of training. For a 

person who is serving as an acting administrator while in an 

ALF AIT program, the preceptor shall include in the progress 

report evidence of face-to-face instruction and review for a 

minimum of two hours per week. 

B. The trainee's certificate of completion plus the 

accumulated original monthly reports shall be submitted by 

the preceptor to the board within 30 days following the 

completion of the program.  

18VAC95-30-201. Administrator-in-training program for 

acting administrators. 

A. A person who is in an ALF AIT program while serving 

as an acting administrator pursuant to § 54.1-3103.1 of the 

Code of Virginia shall be identified on his nametag as an 

acting administrator-in-training. 

B. The facility shall post the certificate issued by the board 

for the acting administrator and a copy of the license of the 

preceptor in a place conspicuous to the public. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-2920; Filed September 8, 2015, 7:52 a.m.  

BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Physical Therapy is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

Board of Physical Therapy will receive, consider, and 

respond to petitions by any interested person at any time with 

respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC112-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Physical Therapy (amending 18VAC112-

20-27, 18VAC112-20-81, 18VAC112-20-130, 18VAC112-

20-131).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia 

(18VAC112-20-27, 18VAC112-20-130, 18VAC112-20-131). 

§§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3482.1 of the Code of Virginia 

(18VAC112-20-81). 

Effective Date: November 4, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Lisa R. Hahn, Executive Director, Board of 

Physical Therapy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4674, FAX (804) 

527-4413, or email ptboard@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 724 and 746 of the 2015 Acts of 

Assembly, the board is amending the requirements for a 

direct access certification to see patients for physical 

therapy without a referral. The amendments (i) eliminate 

the qualification of a doctorate in physical therapy because 

a practitioner with that degree no longer has to obtain 

direct access certification, (ii) delete the requirement for 

continuing education relating to carrying out direct access 

duties, and (iii) delete the requirement for renewal of 

direct access certification and the fee for renewal. 

18VAC112-20-27. Fees. 

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall 

not be refundable.  

B. Licensure by examination.  
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1. The application fee shall be $140 for a physical therapist 

and $100 for a physical therapist assistant.  

2. The fees for taking all required examinations shall be 

paid directly to the examination services.  

C. Licensure by endorsement. The fee for licensure by 

endorsement shall be $140 for a physical therapist and $100 

for a physical therapist assistant.  

D. Licensure renewal and reinstatement.  

1. The fee for active license renewal for a physical 

therapist shall be $135 and for a physical therapist assistant 

shall be $70 and shall be due by December 31 in each 

even-numbered year. 

2. The fee for an inactive license renewal for a physical 

therapist shall be $70 and for a physical therapist assistant 

shall be $35 and shall be due by December 31 in each 

even-numbered year. 

3. A fee of $50 for a physical therapist and $25 for a 

physical therapist assistant for processing a late renewal 

within one renewal cycle shall be paid in addition to the 

renewal fee.  

4. The fee for reinstatement of a license that has expired 

for two or more years shall be $180 for a physical therapist 

and $120 for a physical therapist assistant and shall be 

submitted with an application for licensure reinstatement.  

E. Other fees.  

1. The fee for an application for reinstatement of a license 

that has been revoked shall be $1,000; the fee for an 

application for reinstatement of a license that has been 

suspended shall be $500.  

2. The fee for a duplicate license shall be $5, and the fee 

for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15.  

3. The fee for a returned check shall be $35.  

4. The fee for a letter of good standing/verification to 

another jurisdiction shall be $10.  

F. Direct access certification fees. 

1. 5. The application fee for direct access certification shall 

be $75 for a physical therapist to obtain certification to 

provide services without a referral. 

2. The fee for renewal on a direct access certification shall 

be $35 and shall be due by December 31 in each even-

numbered year. 

3. A fee of $15 for processing a late renewal of 

certification within one renewal cycle shall be paid in 

addition to the renewal fee. 

18VAC112-20-81. Requirements for direct access 

certification. 

A. An applicant for certification to provide services to 

patients without a referral as specified in § 54.1-3482.1 of the 

Code of Virginia shall hold an active, unrestricted license as a 

physical therapist in Virginia and shall submit evidence 

satisfactory to the board that he has one of the following 

qualifications: 

1. Completion of a doctor of physical therapy program 

approved by the American Physical Therapy Association; 

2. 1. Completion of a transitional program in physical 

therapy as recognized by the board; or 

3. 2. At least three years of postlicensure, active practice 

with evidence of 15 contact hours of continuing education 

in medical screening or differential diagnosis, including 

passage of a postcourse examination. The required 

continuing education shall be offered by a provider or 

sponsor listed as approved by the board in 18VAC112-20-

131 and may be face-to-face or online education courses. 

B. In addition to the evidence of qualification for 

certification required in subsection A of this section, an 

applicant seeking direct access certification shall submit to 

the board: 

1. A completed application as provided by the board; 

2. Any additional documentation as may be required by the 

board to determine eligibility of the applicant; and 

3. The application fee as specified in 18VAC112-20-27. 

18VAC112-20-130. Biennial renewal of license and 

certification. 

A. A physical therapist and physical therapist assistant who 

intends to continue practice shall renew his license biennially 

by December 31 in each even-numbered year and pay to the 

board the renewal fee prescribed in 18VAC112-20-27. 

B. A licensee whose licensure has not been renewed by the 

first day of the month following the month in which renewal 

is required shall pay a late fee as prescribed in 18VAC112-

20-27. 

C. In order to renew an active license, a licensee shall be 

required to: 

1. Complete a minimum of 160 hours of active practice in 

the preceding two years; and 

2. Comply with continuing competency requirements set 

forth in 18VAC112-20-131. 

D. In order to renew a direct access certification, a licensee 

shall be required to: 

1. Hold an active, unrestricted license as a physical 

therapist; and 

2. Comply with continuing education requirements set 

forth in 18VAC112-20-131 I. 

18VAC112-20-131. Continued competency requirements 

for renewal of an active license.  

A. In order to renew an active license biennially, a physical 

therapist or a physical therapist assistant shall complete at 

least 30 contact hours of continuing learning activities within 

the two years immediately preceding renewal. In choosing 

continuing learning activities or courses, the licensee shall 

consider the following: (i) the need to promote ethical 
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practice, (ii) an appropriate standard of care, (iii) patient 

safety, (iv) application of new medical technology, (v) 

appropriate communication with patients, and (vi) knowledge 

of the changing health care system.  

B. To document the required hours, the licensee shall 

maintain the Continued Competency Activity and Assessment 

Form that is provided by the board and that shall indicate 

completion of the following:  

1. A minimum of 20 of the contact hours required for 

physical therapists and 15 of the contact hours required for 

physical therapist assistants shall be in Type 1 courses. For 

the purpose of this section, "course" means an organized 

program of study, classroom experience or similar 

educational experience that is directly related to the clinical 

practice of physical therapy and approved or provided by 

one of the following organizations or any of its 

components:  

a. The Virginia Physical Therapy Association;  

b. The American Physical Therapy Association;  

c. Local, state or federal government agencies;  

d. Regionally accredited colleges and universities;  

e. Health care organizations accredited by a national 

accrediting organization granted authority by the Centers 

for Medicare and Medicaid Services to assure 

compliance with Medicare conditions of participation;  

f. The American Medical Association - Category I 

Continuing Medical Education course; and  

g. The National Athletic Trainers Association.  

2. No more than 10 of the contact hours required for 

physical therapists and 15 of the contact hours required for 

physical therapist assistants may be Type 2 activities or 

courses, which may or may not be offered by an approved 

organization but which shall be related to the clinical 

practice of physical therapy. Type 2 activities may include 

but not be limited to consultation with colleagues, 

independent study, and research or writing on subjects 

related to practice.  

3. Documentation of specialty certification by the 

American Physical Therapy Association may be provided 

as evidence of completion of continuing competency 

requirements for the biennium in which initial certification 

or recertification occurs.  

4. Documentation of graduation from a transitional doctor 

of physical therapy program may be provided as evidence 

of completion of continuing competency requirements for 

the biennium in which the physical therapist was awarded 

the degree. 

5. A physical therapist who can document that he has taken 

the PRT may receive 10 hours of Type 1 credit for the 

biennium in which the assessment tool was taken. A 

physical therapist who can document that he has met the 

standard of the PRT may receive 20 hours of Type 1 credit 

for the biennium in which the assessment tool was taken. 

C. A licensee shall be exempt from the continuing 

competency requirements for the first biennial renewal 

following the date of initial licensure by examination in 

Virginia.  

D. The licensee shall retain his records on the completed 

form with all supporting documentation for a period of four 

years following the renewal of an active license.  

E. The licensees selected in a random audit conducted by the 

board shall provide the completed Continued Competency 

Activity and Assessment Form and all supporting 

documentation within 30 days of receiving notification of the 

audit.  

F. Failure to comply with these requirements may subject 

the licensee to disciplinary action by the board.  

G. The board may grant an extension of the deadline for 

continuing competency requirements for up to one year for 

good cause shown upon a written request from the licensee 

prior to the renewal date.  

H. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

requirements for circumstances beyond the control of the 

licensee, such as temporary disability, mandatory military 

service, or officially declared disasters.  

I. Physical therapists holding certification to provide direct 

access without a referral shall include four contact hours as 

part of the required 30 contact hours of continuing education 

in courses related to clinical practice in a direct access setting. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4314; Filed September 8, 2015, 3:15 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Notice of Extension of Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-201. Permanency Services - 

Prevention, Foster Care, Adoption and Independent 

Living (amending 22VAC40-201-10; adding 22VAC40-

201-115).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 63.2-217, 63.2-900, and 63.2-915 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Expiration Date Extended Through: June 24, 2016. 

The Governor has approved the State Board of Social 

Services' request to extend the expiration date of the above-

referenced emergency regulation for six months as provided 

for in § 2.2-4011 D of the Code of Virginia. Therefore, the 

emergency regulation will continue in effect through June 24, 

2016. The emergency regulation was published in 

30:23 VA.R. 2572-2577 July 14, 2014. 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol30/iss23/v30i23.pdf
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Agency Contact: Phyl Parrish, Department of Social Services, 

Division of Family Services, 801 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219-2901, telephone (804) 726-7926, FAX 

(804) 726-7895, TTY (800) 828-1849, or email 

phyl.parrish@dss.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc No. R14-3687; Filed September 4, 2015, 1:04 p.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-201. Permanency Services - 

Prevention, Foster Care, Adoption and Independent 

Living (amending 22VAC40-201-10; adding 22VAC40-

201-115). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 63.2-217, 63.2-900, and 63.2-915 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: December 4, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Phyl Parrish, Department of Social Services, 

Division of Family Services, 801 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219-2901, telephone (804) 726-7926, FAX 

(804) 726-7895, TTY (800) 828-1849, or email 

phyl.parrish@dss.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Sections 63.2-217 and 63.2-915 of the Code of 

Virginia provide state authority for this action. Federal 

authority is found at 45 CFR 1355.30 (k), 45 CFR 205.10, 

and 45 CFR 1392.11. This regulation replaces an emergency 

regulation that became effective on June 25, 2014. 

Purpose: This regulatory action establishes a hearing process 

for individuals who may receive a payment or service that is 

intended to benefit a child in foster care. This action provides 

that those individuals may appeal to the Commissioner of the 

Department of Social Services when they believe a benefit 

has been denied or unreasonably delayed. Appropriate 

benefits help to protect the health and welfare of children in 

foster care.  

Substance: Key provisions of the regulation include (i) who 

has a right to appeal to the Commissioner of Social Services, 

(ii) what decisions or benefits may not be appealed, (iii) who 

shall be notified of the right to an appeal and what is included 

in the notice, (iv) the ability of the commissioner to delegate 

the duty and authority to duly qualified officers, (v) 

information about the decision, and (vi) the appellant's right 

to judicial review. The only change to this regulation from the 

emergency regulation is the deletion of the first sentence in 

22VAC-40-201-115 C, which was determined to be overly 

broad and subject to differing interpretations. 

Issues: The advantage of this regulation is that it provides a 

process for individuals to appeal to the commissioner when 

they believe a benefit related to a foster care case has been 

denied or unreasonably delayed. This action poses no 

disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Social Services (Board) proposes to amend its 

permanency regulation to include a process under which 

individuals who can claim benefits
1
 can appeal a decision by 

a local Department of Social Services to deny, or not 

expeditiously act upon, requests for benefits or services. 

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for these 

proposed changes.  

Estimated Economic Impact. Board staff reports that foster 

care payment decisions are technically appealable right now 

and that guidance for such appeals has been developed but 

has not yet been posted to the State Department of Social 

Services (DSS) website. The Board amended its permanency 

regulation to include a new section that covers the appeal 

rights of individuals who can claim benefits in an emergency 

action that became effective on June 25, 2014. The Board 

now proposes to make those amendments permanent through 

this regulatory action. Board staff reports that they have no 

way of knowing right now how many appeals will be filed 

each year going forward but they estimate that about 3% of 

foster care cases would be the subject of some sort of appeal 

each year. There are currently 7,728 children who receive 

services in the foster care system. Using that number, DSS's 

appeals office would likely process approximately 230 

appeals per year.  

DSS's appeals office will likely incur greater costs for 

conducting hearings on account of this proposed regulation 

and the legislation that mandated this appeals process.
2
 Two 

additional staff positions have been added to the appeals 

office to handle these anticipated cases. Individuals who can 

claim foster care benefits will likely benefit from this action 

as it will clarify their rights in the appeals process and make it 

easier to eventually receive benefits they may be due under 

the law. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. This proposed regulation 

will affect all individuals who can claim foster care benefits. 

The number of affected individuals is unknown but would be 

larger than the number of children who receive foster care 

services in the Commonwealth (7,728). 

Localities Particularly Affected. No localities will likely be 

disproportionately affected by this proposed regulatory 

change. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This regulatory action will 

result in two additional staff people being hired by DSS's 

appeals office. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 

regulatory action will likely have no impact on the use or 

value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No small 

businesses are likely to be affected by this proposed 

regulation. 
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Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. No small businesses are likely to be affected 

by this proposed regulation. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. 

General: The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has 

analyzed the economic impact of this proposed regulation in 

accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and 

Executive Order Number 17 (2014). Section 2.2-4007.04 

requires that such economic impact analyses determine the 

public benefits and costs of the proposed amendments. 

Further the report should include but not be limited to: 

• the projected number of businesses or other entities to 

whom the proposed regulation would apply, 

• the identity of any localities and types of businesses or 

other entities particularly affected, 

• the projected number of persons and employment 

positions to be affected,  

• the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and  

• the impact on the use and value of private property.  

Small Businesses: If the proposed regulation will have an 

adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires 

that such economic impact analyses include: 

• an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the proposed regulation, 

• the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other 

administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the proposed regulation, including the type 

of professional skills necessary for preparing required 

reports and other documents, 

• a statement of the probable effect of the proposed 

regulation on affected small businesses, and  

• a description of any less intrusive or less costly 

alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the 

proposed regulation.  

Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1, if there is a finding 

that a proposed regulation may have an adverse impact on 

small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative 

Rules is notified at the time the proposed regulation is 

submitted to the Virginia Register of Regulations for 

publication. This analysis shall represent DPB's best estimate 

for the purposes of public review and comment on the 

proposed regulation. 

_________________________________________________ 
1These individuals may be foster parents, other representatives of foster 

children such as Guardians Ad Litem, parents of a child in foster care or 

foster children who are living independently or who qualify to live 
independently. 
2House Bill 2045 passed the General Assembly in 2013. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Social Services reviewed the economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget 

and concurs. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 437 of the 2013 Acts of Assembly, this 

regulatory action proposes to establish a hearing process 

for individuals eligible for benefits under the foster care 

program and to provide that those individuals may appeal 

to the Commissioner of Social Services when they believe a 

benefit has been denied or unreasonably delayed. The key 

provisions of the proposed regulation address (i) who has 

a right to appeal to the commissioner, (ii) what decisions 

or benefits may not be appealed, (iii) who is notified of the 

right to an appeal and what is included in the notice, (iv) 

the ability of the commissioner to delegate the duty and 

authority to duly qualified officers, (v) information about 

the decision, and (vi) the appellant's right to judicial 

review.  

22VAC40-201-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this regulation 

chapter shall have the following meanings unless the context 

clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Administrative panel review" means a review of a child in 

foster care that the local board conducts on a planned basis, 

and that is open to the participation of the birth parents or 

prior custodians and other individuals significant to the child 

and family, to evaluate the current status and effectiveness of 

the objectives in the service plan and the services being 

provided for the immediate care of the child and the plan to 

achieve a permanent home for the child.  

"Adoption" means a legal process that entitles the person 

being adopted to all of the rights and privileges, and subjects 

the person to all of the obligations of a birth child. 

"Adoption assistance" means a money payment or services 

provided to adoptive parents on behalf of a child with special 

needs.  

"Adoption assistance agreement" means a written agreement 

between the child-placing agency and the adoptive parents of 

a child with special needs to provide for the unmet financial 

and service needs of the child.  

"Adoption Manual" means Volume VII, Section III, Chapter 

C - Adoption/Agency Placement of the Service Program 

Manual of the Virginia Department of Social Services dated 

October 2009/March 2010.  

"Adoption Progress Report" means a report filed with the 

juvenile court on the progress being made to place the child in 

an adoptive home. Section 16.1-283 of the Code of Virginia 

requires that an Adoption Progress Report be submitted to the 

juvenile court every six months following termination of 

parental rights until the adoption is final. 

"Adoption search" means interviews and written or 

telephone inquiries made by a local department to locate and 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 3 Virginia Register of Regulations October 5, 2015 

436 

advise the biological parents or siblings of an adult adoptee's 

request, by Application for Disclosure or petition to the court, 

for identifying information from a closed adoption record. 

"Adoptive home" means any family home selected and 

approved by a parent, local board or a licensed child-placing 

agency for the placement of a child with the intent of 

adoption.  

"Adoptive home study" means an assessment of a family 

completed by a child-placing agency to determine the family's 

suitability for adoption. The adoptive home study is included 

in the dual approval process. 

"Adoptive parent" means any provider selected and 

approved by a parent or a child-placing agency for the 

placement of a child with the intent of adoption. 

"Adoptive placement" means arranging for the care of a 

child who is in the custody of a child-placing agency in an 

approved home for the purpose of adoption.  

"Adult adoption" means the adoption of any person 18 years 

of age or older, carried out in accordance with § 63.2-1243 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

"Agency placement adoption" means an adoption in which a 

child is placed in an adoptive home by a child-placing agency 

that has custody of the child.  

"AREVA" means the Adoption Resource Exchange of 

Virginia that maintains a registry and photo-listing of children 

waiting for adoption and families seeking to adopt.  

"Assessment" means an evaluation of the situation of the 

child and family to identify strengths and services needed. 

"Birth family" means the child's biological family.  

"Birth parent" means the child's biological parent and for 

purposes of adoptive placement means a parent by previous 

adoption.  

"Birth sibling" means the child's biological sibling. 

"Board" means the State Board of Social Services.  

"Child" means any natural person under 18 years of age.  

"Child-placing agency" means any person who places 

children in foster homes, adoptive homes, or independent 

living arrangements pursuant to § 63.2-1819 of the Code of 

Virginia or a local board that places children in foster homes 

or adoptive homes pursuant to §§ 63.2-900, 63.2-903, and 

63.2-1221 of the Code of Virginia. Officers, employees, or 

agents of the Commonwealth, or any locality acting within 

the scope of their authority as such, who serve as or maintain 

a child-placing agency, shall not be required to be licensed. 

"Child with special needs" as it relates to adoption assistance 

means a child who meets the definition of a child with special 

needs set forth in §§ 63.2-1300 and 63.2-1301 B of the Code 

of Virginia. 

"Children's Services Act" or "CSA" means a collaborative 

system of services and funding that is child centered, family 

focused, and community based when addressing the strengths 

and needs of troubled and at-risk youth and their families in 

the Commonwealth. 

"Claim for benefits," as used in § 63.2-915 of the Code of 

Virginia and 22VAC40-201-115, means (i) foster care 

maintenance, including enhanced maintenance; (ii) the 

services set forth in a court approved foster care service plan, 

the foster care services identified in an individual family 

service plan developed by a family assessment and planning 

team or other multi-disciplinary team pursuant to the 

Children's Services Act (§ 2.2-5200 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia), or a transitional living plan for independent living 

services; (iii) the placement of a child through an agreement 

with the child's parents or guardians, where legal custody 

remains with the parents or guardians; (iv) foster care 

prevention services as set out in a prevention service plan; or 

(v) placement of a child for adoption when an approved 

family is outside the locality with the legal custody of the 

child, in accordance with 42 USC § 671(a)(23). 

"Close relative" means a grandparent, great-grandparent, 

adult nephew or niece, adult brother or sister, adult uncle or 

aunt, or adult great uncle or great aunt.  

"Commissioner" means the commissioner of the department, 

his designee, or his authorized representative. 

"Community Policy and Management Team (CPMT)" or 

"CPMT" means a team appointed by the local governing body 

to receive funds pursuant to Chapter 52 (§ 2.2-5200 et seq.) 

of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. The powers and duties of 

the CPMT are set out in § 2.2-5206 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Comprehensive Services Act for At-Risk Youth and 

Families (CSA)" means a collaborative system of services 

and funding that is child centered, family focused, and 

community based when addressing the strengths and needs of 

troubled and at-risk youth and their families in the 

Commonwealth. 

"Concurrent permanency planning" means a sequential, 

structured approach to case management which requires 

working towards a permanency goal (usually reunification) 

while at the same time establishing and working towards an 

alternative permanency plan. 

"Custody investigation" means a method to gather 

information related to the parents and a child whose custody, 

visitation, or support is in controversy or requires 

determination. 

"Department" means the State Department of Social 

Services.  

"Denied," as used in § 63.2-915 of the Code of Virginia and 

22VAC40-201-115, means the refusal to provide a claim for 

benefits.  

"Dual approval process" means a process that includes a 

home study, mutual selection, interviews, training, and 

background checks to be completed on all applicants being 

considered for approval as a resource, foster or adoptive 

family home provider.  
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"Family Assessment and Planning Team (FAPT)" "Family 

assessment and planning team" or "FAPT" means the local 

team created by the CPMT (i) to assess the strengths and 

needs of troubled youths and families who are approved for 

referral to the team and (ii) to identify and determine the 

complement of services required to meet their unique needs. 

The powers and duties of the FAPT are set out in § 2.2-5208 

of the Code of Virginia. 

"Foster care" means 24-hour substitute care for children 

placed away from their parents or guardians and for whom 

the local board has placement and care responsibility. Foster 

care also includes children under the placement and care of 

the local board who have not been removed from their home.  

"Foster care maintenance payments" means payments to 

cover federally allowable expenses made on behalf of a child 

in foster care including the cost of food, clothing, shelter, 

daily supervision, reasonable travel for the child to visit 

relatives and to remain in his previous school placement, and 

other allowable expenses in accordance with guidance 

developed by the department.  

"Foster Care Manual" means Chapter E - Foster Care of the 

Child and Family Services Manual of the Virginia 

Department of Social Services dated July 2011.  

"Foster care placement" means placement of a child through 

(i) an agreement between the parents or guardians and the 

local board or the public agency designated by the CPMT 

where legal custody remains with the parents or guardians, or 

(ii) an entrustment or commitment of the child to the local 

board or licensed child-placing agency. 

"Foster care prevention" means the provision of services to a 

child and family to prevent the need for foster care placement. 

"Foster care services" means the provision of a full range of 

prevention, placement, treatment, and community services, 

including but not limited to independent living services, for a 

planned period of time as set forth in § 63.2-905 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

"Foster child" means a child for whom the local board has 

assumed placement and care responsibilities through a 

noncustodial foster care agreement, entrustment, or court 

commitment before 18 years of age.  

"Foster home" means the place of residence of any natural 

person in which any child, other than a child by birth or 

adoption of such person, resides as a member of the 

household.  

"Foster parent" means an approved provider who gives 24-

hour substitute family care, room and board, and services for 

children or youth committed or entrusted to a child-placing 

agency. 

"Independent living arrangement" means placement of a 

child at least 16 years of age who is in the custody of a local 

board or licensed child-placing agency and has been placed 

by the local board or licensed child-placing agency in a living 

arrangement in which he does not have daily substitute 

parental supervision.  

"Independent living services" means services and activities 

provided to a child in foster care 14 years of age or older who 

was committed or entrusted to a local board of social services, 

child welfare agency, or private child-placing agency. 

Independent living services may also mean services and 

activities provided to a person who was in foster care on his 

18th birthday and has not yet reached the age of 21 years. 

Such services shall include counseling, education, housing, 

employment, and money management skills development, 

access to essential documents, and other appropriate services 

to help children or persons prepare for self-sufficiency.  

"Individual Family Service Plan (IFSP)" "Individual family 

service plan" or "IFSP" means the plan for services developed 

by the FAPT in accordance with § 2.2-5208 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"Intercountry placement" means the arrangement for the 

care of a child in an adoptive home or foster care placement 

into or out of the Commonwealth by a licensed child-placing 

agency, court, or other entity authorized to make such 

placements in accordance with the laws of the foreign country 

under which it operates.  

"Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children (ICPC)" 

or "ICPC" means a uniform law that has been enacted by all 

50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. 

Virgin Islands which establishes orderly procedures for the 

interstate placement of children and sets responsibility for 

those involved in placing those children.  

"Interstate placement" means the arrangement for the care of 

a child in an adoptive home, foster care placement, or in the 

home of the child's parent or with a relative or nonagency 

guardian, into or out of the Commonwealth, by a child-

placing agency or court when the full legal right of the child's 

parent or nonagency guardian to plan for the child has been 

voluntarily terminated or limited or severed by the action of 

any court.  

"Investigation" means the process by which the local 

department obtains information required by § 63.2-1208 of 

the Code of Virginia about the placement and the suitability 

of the adoption. The findings of the investigation are 

compiled into a written report for the circuit court containing 

a recommendation on the action to be taken by the court. 

"Local department" means the local department of social 

services of any county or city in the Commonwealth. 

"Nonagency placement adoption" means an adoption in 

which the child is not in the custody of a child-placing agency 

and is placed in the adoptive home directly by the birth parent 

or legal guardian.  

"Noncustodial foster care agreement" means an agreement 

that the local department enters into with the parent or 

guardian of a child to place the child in foster care when the 
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parent or guardian retains custody of the child. The agreement 

specifies the conditions for placement and care of the child. 

"Nonrecurring expenses" means expenses of adoptive 

parents directly related to the adoption of a child with special 

needs including, but not limited to, attorney or other fees 

directly related to the finalization of the adoption;, 

transportation;, court costs;, and reasonable and necessary 

fees of licensed child-placing agencies.  

"Parental placement" means locating or effecting the 

placement of a child or the placing of a child in a family 

home by the child's parent or legal guardian for the purpose 

of foster care or adoption.  

"Permanency" means establishing family connections and 

placement options for a child to provide a lifetime of 

commitment, continuity of care, a sense of belonging, and a 

legal and social status that go beyond a child's temporary 

foster care placements. 

"Permanency planning" means a social work practice 

philosophy that promotes establishing a permanent living 

situation for every child with an adult with whom the child 

has a continuous, reciprocal relationship within a minimum 

amount of time after the child enters the foster care system. 

"Permanency planning indicator (PPI)" or "PPI" means a 

tool used in concurrent permanency planning to assess the 

likelihood of reunification. This tool assists the worker in 

determining if a child should be placed with a resource family 

and if a concurrent goal should be established. 

"Prior custodian" means the person who had custody of the 

child and with whom the child resided, other than the birth 

parent, before custody was transferred to or placement made 

with the child-placing agency when that person had custody 

of the child. 

"Putative Father Registry" means a confidential database 

designed to protect the rights of a putative father who wants 

to be notified in the event of a proceeding related to 

termination of parental rights or adoption for a child he may 

have fathered.  

"Residential placement" means a placement in a licensed 

publicly or privately owned facility, other than a private 

family home, where 24-hour care is provided to children 

separated from their families. A residential placement 

includes children's residential facilities as defined in § 63.2-

100 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Resource parent" means a provider who has completed the 

dual approval process and has been approved as both a foster 

and adoptive family home provider. 

"Reunification" means the return of the child to his home 

after removal for reasons of child abuse and neglect, 

abandonment, child in need of services, parental request for 

relief of custody, noncustodial agreement, entrustment, or any 

other court-ordered removal. 

"Service plan" means a written document that describes the 

programs, care, services, and other support which will be 

offered to the child and his parents and other prior custodians 

pursuant to § 16.1-281 of the Code of Virginia, 

"Service worker" means a worker responsible for case 

management or service coordination for prevention, foster 

care, or adoption cases. 

"SSI" means Supplemental Security Income.  

"State pool fund" means the pooled state and local funds 

administered by CSA and used to pay for services authorized 

by the CPMT. 

"Step-parent adoption" means the adoption of a child by a 

spouse;, or the adoption of a child by a former spouse of the 

birth or adoptive parent in accordance with § 63.2-1201.1 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

"Title IV-E" means the title of the Social Security Act that 

authorizes federal funds for foster care and adoption 

assistance. 

"Visitation and report" means the visitation conducted 

pursuant to § 63.2-1212 of the Code of Virginia subsequent to 

the entry of an interlocutory order of adoption and the written 

report compiling the findings of the visitation which is filed 

in the circuit court. 

"Wrap around services" means an individually designed set 

of services and supports provided to a child and his family 

that includes treatment services, personal support services or 

any other supports necessary to achieve the desired outcome. 

Wrap around services are developed through a team 

approach. 

"Youth" means any child in foster care between 16 and 18 

years of age or any person 18 to 21 years of age transitioning 

out of foster care and receiving independent living services 

pursuant to § 63.2-905.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

22VAC40-201-115. Foster care appeal process. 

A. Any individual whose claim for benefits available 

pursuant to 42 USC § 670 et seq. or whose claim for benefits 

pursuant to § 63.2-905 of the Code of Virginia is denied or is 

not acted upon by the local department with reasonable 

promptness shall have a right to appeal to the commissioner. 

B. A hearing need not be granted when either state or federal 

law requires automatic maintenance payment adjustments for 

classes of recipients unless the reason for an individual appeal 

is incorrect maintenance amount computation.  

C. Placement decisions of local boards are final when in 

accordance with the relevant provisions of Title 16.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. However, in accordance with 42 USC 

§ 671(a)(23), a hearing shall be granted for the denial or delay 

in placement of a child for adoption when an approved family 

is outside the locality with the legal custody of the child. 

D. The hearing shall be face-to-face or, at the option of the 

commissioner or his designee, a hearing by telephone may be 

held if the individual agrees. The individual shall be afforded 

all rights as specified in this section, whether the hearing is 

face-to-face or by telephone.  
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E. The local department or, in those cases where the local 

department is not involved, the licensed child-placing agency, 

the family assessment and planning team, or other multi-

disciplinary team shall inform an individual in writing of the 

right to appeal the denial of a benefit or the delay of a 

decision regarding a benefit under this section at the time the 

applicable plan is written and at the time of any action 

affecting claim for benefit. This shall include a written notice 

to the birth parents or caretaker at the time a child comes into 

foster care, a written notice to the guardian ad litem, and 

written notice to foster parents at the time the foster care 

agreement is signed. The notice shall include:  

1. The right to a hearing; 

2. The method by which the individual may obtain a 

hearing; and 

3. That the individual may be represented by an authorized 

representative, such as legal counsel, relative, friend, or 

other spokesman, or he may represent himself. 

F. The local department or, in those cases where the local 

department is not involved, the licensed child-placing agency, 

the family assessment and planning team, or other multi-

disciplinary team shall provide timely notice of a decision to 

discontinue, terminate, suspend, or change a benefit for the 

child. Timely notice means the notice is mailed at least 10 

days before the date the action becomes effective. If the 

individual requests a hearing within the timely notice period, 

the benefit shall not be suspended, reduced, discontinued, or 

terminated, but is subject to recovery if the action is 

sustained, until a decision is rendered after a hearing unless: 

1. A determination is made at the hearing that the sole 

issue is one of state or federal law or policy or a change in 

state or federal law and not one of incorrect benefit 

computation; 

2. A change affecting the individual's benefit occurs while 

the hearing decision is pending and the individual fails to 

request a hearing after notice of the change; or 

3. The individual specifically requests that he not receive 

continued benefits pending a hearing decision. 

G. An individual shall be allowed to request a hearing for up 

to 30 days after the denial of a claim for benefit. Reasonable 

notice of the hearing shall be provided to the individual. 

Within 90 days of the request for a hearing, the hearing shall 

be conducted, a decision reached, and the individual notified 

of the decision.  

H. The commissioner may provide that a hearing request 

made after the date of action, but during a period not in 

excess of 10 days following such date, shall result in 

reinstatement of the benefit to be continued until the hearing 

decision unless (i) the individual specifically requests that 

continued benefit not be paid pending the hearing decision or 

(ii) at the hearing it is determined that the sole issue is one of 

state or federal law or policy. In any case where action was 

taken without timely notice, if the individual requests a 

hearing within 10 days of the mailing of the notice of the 

action and the commissioner determines that the action 

resulted from other than the application of state or federal law 

or policy or a change in state or federal law, the benefit shall 

be reinstated and continued until a decision is rendered after 

the hearing unless the individual specifically requests that he 

not receive continued benefits pending the hearing decision. 

I. Pursuant to § 63.2-915 of the Code of Virginia, the 

commissioner may delegate the duty and authority to consider 

and make determinations on any appeal filed in accordance 

with this section to duly qualified officers.  

J. The commissioner or designated hearing officer may deny 

or dismiss a request for a hearing where it has been 

withdrawn by the individual in writing or where it is 

abandoned. Abandonment may be deemed to have occurred if 

the individual without good cause fails to appear by himself 

or by authorized representative at the hearing scheduled for 

such individual. 

K. The hearing shall include consideration of the denial of a 

claim for benefits or the local department's failure to act with 

reasonable promptness on a request for a benefit for the 

individual.  

L. The individual requesting the hearing or his 

representative shall have adequate opportunity to: 

1. Examine information relied upon by the local 

department, licensed child-placing agency, family 

assessment and planning team, or other multi-disciplinary 

team in considering the request for a benefit to the extent 

that the information does not violate confidentiality 

requirements;  

2. Bring witnesses; 

3. Establish all pertinent facts and circumstances; 

4. Advance arguments without undue interference; 

5. Question or refute testimony or evidence; and  

6. Confront and cross-examine witnesses.  

M. Decisions of the commissioner or designated hearing 

officer shall be based exclusively on evidence and other 

material introduced at the hearing. The transcript or recording 

of testimony and exhibits, or an official report containing the 

substance of what transpired at the hearing, together with all 

the papers and requests filed in the proceeding and the 

decision of the commissioner or hearing officer shall 

constitute the exclusive record and shall be available to the 

individual at a place accessible to him or his representative at 

a reasonable time.  

N. Decisions by the commissioner or hearing officer shall 

consist of a memorandum decision summarizing the facts and 

identifying the regulations and policy supporting the decision.  

O. The individual shall be notified of the decision in writing.  

P. When the hearing decision is favorable to the individual, 

the local department, licensed child-placing agency, family 

assessment and planning team, or other multi-disciplinary 
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team shall promptly begin the process to provide the 

requested service or, in the case of foster care maintenance, 

make corrective payments retroactively to the date the 

incorrect action was taken, unless foster care maintenance 

payments were continued during the pendency of the hearing 

decision.  

Q. The decision of the commissioner shall be binding and 

considered a final agency action for purposes of judicial 

review. The hearing decision shall be a memorandum 

decision summarizing the facts and identifying the statutes 

and regulations supporting the decision. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3687; Filed September 14, 2015, 12:51 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR 
VEHICLES 

MOTOR VEHICLE DEALER BOARD 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 24VAC22-30. Motor Vehicle Dealer 

Advertising Practices and Enforcement Regulations 

(amending 24VAC22-30-20, 24VAC22-30-30, 24VAC22-

30-40; repealing 24VAC22-30-10, 24VAC22-30-50).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 46.2-1506 and 46.2-1582 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 1, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Bruce Gould, Executive Director, Motor 

Vehicle Dealer Board, 2201 West Broad Street, Suite 104, 

Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 367-1100, FAX (804) 

367-1053, or email bruce.gould@mvdb.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) eliminate the requirement that motor 

vehicle dealers maintain copies of their advertisements in 

newspapers and on the Internet for 60 days from the 

expiration of the advertisement, (ii) make clarifying 

changes in language, and (iii) repeal language that is 

repetitious of the Code of Virginia. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

Part I  

General Provisions  

24VAC22-30-10. Intent. (Repealed.) 

In the 1989 Acts of the Virginia General Assembly it was 

found that it is in the interest of the consuming public and 

legitimate motor vehicle dealers to ensure that the advertising 

of motor vehicles is honest, fair, and clear and that deceptive 

or misleading advertising of the retail sales of motor vehicles 

as described in Motor Vehicle Dealer Advertising, Article 9 

(§ 46.2-1580 et seq.) of Chapter 15 of Title 46.2 of the Code 

of Virginia should be prohibited. In the 1995 Acts of the 

Virginia General Assembly it was found that it is in the 

interest of the consuming public and legitimate motor vehicle 

dealers for dealers to be regulated by a board of their peers, 

resulting in the formation of the Virginia Motor Vehicle 

Dealer Board. Therefore, the following regulations are 

promulgated by the board to administer the administrative 

and civil penalties necessary for enforcement of prohibited 

advertising practices.  

Part I 

General Provisions 

24VAC22-30-20. Definitions.  

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Act" means Chapter 15 (§ 46.2-1500 et seq.) of Title 46.2 

of the Code of Virginia.  

"Administrative penalties" means the denial, suspension or 

revocation of a license as allowed in § 46.2-1576 of the Act 

and based on one or more of the grounds specified in § 46.2-

1575 of the Act.  

"Advertisement" means an oral, written, graphic or pictorial 

statement made in the course of soliciting business, including, 

without limitation, a statement or representation made in a 

newspaper, magazine, or other publication, or contained in a 

notice, sign, poster, display, circular, pamphlet, or letter, or 

on radio, the Internet, or via an on-line online computer 

service, or on television. The term does not include an in-

person oral communication by a dealer's employee with a 

prospective customer.  

"Advertiser" means same as licensee.  

"Board" means the Motor Vehicle Dealer Board of this 

Commonwealth.  

"Civil penalty" means the monetary assessment imposed by 

the board or the executive director against a licensee not to 

exceed $1,000 for any single violation of § 46.2-1581 of the 

Code of Virginia.  

"Disclaimer" means those words or phrases used to provide 

a clear understanding or limitation to an advertised statement 

but not used to contradict or change the meaning of the 

statement.  

"Disclosure" means a statement in clear terms of the dollar 

amounts, time frames, down payments and other terms which 

may be needed to provide a full understanding of credit terms, 

periodic payment, interest rates, time payment plans, etc.  

"Executive director" means the Executive Director of the 

Motor Vehicle Dealer Board of this Commonwealth.  

"Internet" means the international network of computer 

systems commonly known as the "Internet".  

"License" means the document issued to a Virginia motor 

vehicle dealer and which permits such dealer to engage in the 
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business of buying and selling new and used motor vehicles 

or used motor vehicles only.  

"Licensee" means any person, partnership, association, 

corporation or entity which is required to be licensed as a 

motor vehicle dealer in this Commonwealth.  

"Line-make marketing group" means an association of 

motor vehicle dealers franchised to sell and advertise the 

same line-make of new motor vehicles.  

"Manufacturer's factory invoice" or "distributor's invoice" 

means that document supplied by the manufacturer or the 

distributor listing the manufacturer's or distributor's charge to 

the dealer before any deduction for items such as holdback, 

group advertising, factory incentives or rebates, or any 

governmental charges. 

"New motor vehicle" means a vehicle which meets all of the 

following criteria. The new motor vehicle has: the same as 

defined in § 46.2-1500 of the Code of Virginia. 

1. Had limited use necessary in moving or road testing the 

vehicle prior to delivery to a customer;  

2. Been transferred by a manufacturer's or distributor's 

certificate of origin which is the document provided by the 

manufacturer of a new motor vehicle, or its distributor to 

its franchised motor vehicle dealer;  

3. The manufacturer's or distributor's certification that it 

conforms to all applicable federal motor vehicle safety and 

emission standards;  

4. Not been previously sold by a dealer except for the 

purpose of resale and when the exchange is between 

franchised dealers of the same line-make;  

5. Not been used as a rental, driver education, or 

demonstration motor vehicle; and  

6. Not been used for the personal and business 

transportation of the manufacturer, distributor or dealer or 

any of their employees.  

"On-line "Online service" means any information service, 

system, or access software provider that enables computer 

access by multiple users to a computer server, including 

specifically a service or system that provides accesses to the 

Internet.  

"Repossessed vehicle" means a vehicle which meets all of 

the following criteria. It has:  

1. Been sold, titled, registered, and taken back from a 

purchaser for nonpayment; and  

2. Not yet been resold to an ultimate user.  

"Sale" means there is a significant reduction from the 

advertiser's usual and customary price of a motor vehicle and 

the offer is for a limited period of time.  

"Used motor vehicle" means any vehicle other than a new 

motor vehicle as defined in this chapter the same as defined in 

§ 46.2-1500 of the Code of Virginia.  

Part II  

Regulated Advertising Practices  

24VAC22-30-30. Practices.  

For purposes of this chapter, a violation of the following 

regulated advertising practices shall be an unfair, deceptive, 

or misleading act or practice.  

A. New motor vehicle. A motor vehicle shall not be 

advertised as new, either by word or implication, unless it is 

one which conforms to the definition of a "new motor 

vehicle" as defined in 24VAC22-30-20.  

B. Used motor vehicle.  

1. The fact that a motor vehicle is used should be clearly 

and unequivocally expressed by the term "used" or by such 

other term as is commonly understood to mean that the 

vehicle is used. For example, "special purchase" or 

"program cars" by itself is not a satisfactory disclosure; 

however, such terms as "demonstrator" "pre-owned" or 

"former leased and/or rental vehicles" used alone clearly 

express that they meet the definition of a used vehicle for 

advertising purposes. When in doubt, the dealer should 

provide more information or simply say "used."  

2. Once a certificate of origin as defined in § 46.2-1500 has 

been assigned to a purchaser, the motor vehicle becomes a 

used vehicle and must be advertised as such.  

C. Finance charges or interest rates advertisements. 1. 

Advertisements of finance charges or other interest rates 

"below market" (or words to that effect) shall not be used 

unless it is manufacturer or distributor sponsored or 

substantiated by a written agreement with the finance source.  

2. Advertisement of finance charges or other interest rates 

shall not be used when there is a cost to buy-down said 

charge or rate which is passed on, in whole or in part, to 

the purchaser.  

D. Terms, conditions, and disclaimers.  

1. When terms, conditions or disclaimers are used, they 

shall always be stated clearly and conspicuously. An 

asterisk or other reference symbol may be used to point to 

a disclaimer or other information; but, the disclaimer shall 

not be used as a means of contradicting or changing the 

meaning of an advertised statement. In addition, they must 

meet the Federal Trade Commission Truth in Lending Act 

Requirements 15 USC §§ 1601 et seq., 12 CFR Part 226 

(Regulation Z) or the Federal Trade Commission Truth in 

Leasing Act Requirements, as applicable.  

2. In all printed media, where terms, conditions or 

disclaimers are used, they shall be clearly and 

conspicuously visible and printed in not less than 8-point 

type print or printed in 6-point upper case type print. If a 

processing fee or freight charges or destination charges, or 

both, are not included in the advertised price, the amount 

of any such processing fee and freight charge or 

destination charge, or both, must be clearly and 

conspicuously disclosed in [ not less than 8-point ] 
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boldface type or [ that is ] not smaller than [ 8-point, unless 

the advertisement is in less than 8-point type in which case 

not smaller than ] the largest typeface within the 

advertisement. If the a processing fee is not included in the 

advertised price, the amount of the processing fee must be 

clearly and conspicuously disclosed in not less than 8-point 

boldface type or not smaller than the largest typeface 

within the advertisement; however the amount of the 

processing fee may be omitted from any advertisement in 

which the largest type size is less than 8-point typeface, so 

long as the dealer participates in a media-provided listing 

of processing fees and the dealer's advertisement includes 

an asterisk or other such notation to refer the reader to the 

listing of the fees. When billboards, portable signs, posters, 

etc., are used, all terms, conditions or disclaimers need to 

be displayed and phrased in a manner which is clear and 

conspicuous.  

3. In radio advertisements, where all terms, conditions, or 

disclaimers are used, they shall, and required disclosures 

must be clearly announced during the advertisement. They 

must be explained clearly and at an understandable speed 

and volume level.  

4. In television advertisements, where all terms, conditions, 

or disclaimers are used, they shall, and required disclosures 

must be clearly and conspicuously displayed or announced, 

or both, during the advertisement. They shall be at an 

understandable speed or understandable volume level, or 

both.  

5. In Internet advertisements all terms, conditions, 

disclaimers, and required disclosures must be clearly and 

conspicuously displayed. 

E. Sale or sales. The expiration date of an advertised "sale" 

shall be clearly and conspicuously disclosed. If the sale 

exceeds 30 days, the advertiser should be prepared to 

substantiate that the offering is indeed a valid reduction and 

has not become his regular price.  

F. "List price," "sticker price," "suggested retail price." 

These terms and similar terms shall be used only as follows:  

1. In reference to the manufacturer's or distributor's 

suggested retail price for new vehicles; or  

2. The dealer's own usual and customary price for used 

vehicles.  

G. "Cost" and "invoice price" terms.  

1. "At cost," "below cost," "$ off cost" shall not be used in 

advertisements because of the difficulty in determining a 

dealer's actual net cost at the time of sale.  

2. "Invoice price," "$ over invoice," may be used, provided 

that the invoice referred to is the manufacturer's factory 

invoice, distributor's invoice, or a bona fide bill of sale, as 

applicable, and that it is available for customer inspection.  

3. "Manufacturer's factory invoice" or "distributor's 

invoice" means that document supplied by the 

manufacturer or the distributor listing the manufacturer's or 

distributor's charge to the dealer before any deduction for 

items such as holdback, group advertising, factory 

incentives or rebates, or any governmental charges.  

H. Price or credit terms of advertised vehicles. When the 

price or credit terms of a vehicle are advertised in print, or on 

radio or television, the vehicle should be fully identified as to 

year, make, and model. In addition, in all advertisements 

placed by individual dealers and not marketing groups, the 

advertised price or credit terms shall include all charges 

which the buyer must pay to the seller including "freight" or 

"destination charges." If there are deferred payments on credit 

sales where accrued finance charges are ultimately charged to 

the consumer for any part of the deferred period, then these 

charges must be clearly stated. State and local fees and taxes 

and buyer-selected options need not be included in the 

advertised price. If the buyer will be required to pay to the 

seller charges which increase the advertised price, the charges 

must be disclosed as set-out in subsection D of this section 

and priced in the advertisement.  

I. Matching or bettering competitor's price advertisements. 

Advertisements which that set out a policy matching or 

bettering a competitor's price shall not be used unless the 

terms of the offer are specific, verifiable, and reasonable. All 

terms of the offer shall be included in the disclosure and 

disclaimer area and may not say such things as "rules or terms 

available in showroom" or "available before delivery." Any 

material or significant conditions which that must be met or 

the evidence the consumer must present to take advantage of 

the offer must be fully disclosed as a part of the 

advertisement.  

J. Advertisements of dealer rebates shall not be used. Offers 

to match down payments or guarantee minimum trade-in 

allowances or offers of cash or money back are forms of 

dealer rebates.  

K. "Free," "at no extra cost" terms. No equipment, 

accessory, other merchandise or service shall be described 

using any term that implies that such equipment, accessory, 

other merchandise or service is free if a purchase is required 

in order to receive the "free" offer. Examples of prohibited 

terms include:  

1. Free.  

2. Complimentary.  

3. At no extra cost.  

4. At no extra charge.  

5. At no extra fee.  

6. At no extra price.  

7. At no additional cost.  

8. At no additional charge.  

9. At no additional fee.  

10. At no additional price.  

11. Present.  
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12. Gift.  

13. On the house.  

14. Gratis.  

15. Courtesy.  

L. "Bait advertising" shall not be used.  

1. The purpose of this section is to ensure that customers 

will be informed the vehicle is in limited quantity or 

availability. If a specific vehicle is advertised, the seller 

shall be in possession of a reasonable supply of said 

vehicles and they shall be available at the advertised price. 

If the advertised vehicle is available only in limited 

numbers or only by order, that shall be stated in the 

advertisement. The listing of vehicles by stock numbers or 

vehicle identification numbers is permissible and is one 

means of satisfactorily disclosing a limitation of 

availability, provided a separate number is used for each 

vehicle. For new vehicles, if the offer is limited, you the 

dealer will be able to say such things as "in stock" or "will 

order" provided you the dealer can order the vehicle just as 

advertised and delivery can be assured as soon as the 

manufacturer or distributor can confirm the order and 

deliver it to your the dealer's dealership. If you the dealer 

cannot get an order confirmation within 30 days, you the 

dealer must refund all moneys collected from the buyer at 

his request. If the vehicle is available only by order then it 

must be clearly and conspicuously disclosed in the 

advertisement.  

2. Advertising a vehicle at a certain price (including "as 

low as" statements), but having available for sale only 

vehicles equipped with dealer added cost "options" which 

increase the selling price above the advertised price, may 

also be considered "bait advertising."  

3. If a lease payment is advertised, the fact that it is a lease 

arrangement shall be disclosed.  

M. The term "repossessed vehicle" shall not be used unless 

the full criteria of the definition in 24VAC22-30-20 is met. 

Advertisers offering such vehicles for sale shall provide proof 

of repossession upon request.  

N. "Finance" or "loan." Words such as "finance" or "loan" 

shall not be used in a motor vehicle dealer advertiser's firm 

name or trade name unless that person is actually engaged in 

the financing of motor vehicles.  

O. "Special arrangement or relationship" advertisements. 

Statements such as "big volume buying power," 

"manufacturer's outlet," "factory authorized outlet," and 

"factory wholesale outlet," shall not be used. Any term that 

gives the consumer the impression the dealer has a special 

arrangement with the manufacturer or distributor as compared 

to similarly situated dealers, is misleading and shall not be 

used.  

P. Records retention. Advertisers Licensees shall maintain 

for a period of 60 days from the expiration date of the 

advertisement and make available to the board and the board 

staff, if requested, the original or a clear facsimile copy 

copies of all radio and television advertisements in a manner 

that permits systematic retrieval for a period of 60 days 

subsequent to the expiration date of the advertisement.  

Part III  

Enforcement  

24VAC22-30-40. Administrative and civil penalties.  

A. Violations of any regulated advertising practice may, in 

the discretion of the board or executive director, be addressed 

by a verbal or written warning to the licensee as an initial step 

in the enforcement process.  

B. Any single violation of a regulated advertising practice 

may also, after an informal fact finding proceeding as 

provided in the Administrative Process Act, § 9-6.14:1 et seq. 

of the Code of Virginia, result in an assessment of a civil 

penalty up to $1,000.  

C. Subsequent, same or similar violations may, after an 

informal fact finding proceeding as provided in the 

Administrative Process Act, § 9-6.14:1 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia, result in an assessment of a civil penalty up to the 

$1,000 and may also be grounds for denying, suspending or 

revoking a license subject to the hearing requirements 

pursuant to § 46.2-1576 of the Act, either or both.  

24VAC22-30-50. Appeals. (Repealed.) 

The action of the board in suspending, revoking or refusing 

any license or in imposing a monetary civil penalty against 

the licensee shall be subject to judicial review as provided in 

§§ 46.2-1577 and 46.2-1578 of the Act.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3540; Filed September 7, 2015, 11:02 a.m.  
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF MINES, MINERALS AND ENERGY 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy conducted a small 

business impact review of 4VAC25-11, Public Participation 

Guidelines, and determined that this regulation should be 

retained in its current form. The Department of Mines, 

Minerals and Energy is publishing its report of findings dated 

September 8, 2015, to support this decision in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

This regulation is mandated by statute. The department has 

determined this regulation is effective as currently written and 

does not burden small businesses.  

Contact Information: Michael A. Skiffington, Program 

Support Manager, 1100 Bank Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, 

VA 23219, telephone (804) 692-3212, FAX (804) 692-3237, 

or email mike.skiffington@dmme.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy conducted a small 

business impact review of the following regulations and 

determined that these regulations should be retained in their 

current forms. The Department of Mines, Minerals and 

Energy (DMME) is publishing its report of findings dated 

September 8, 2015, to support this decision in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

4VAC25-60, Rules and Regulations Governing the 

Installation and Use of Automated Temporary Roof 

Support Systems 

4VAC25-70, Regulations Governing Disruption of 

Communications in Mines 

4VAC25-101, Regulations Governing Vertical Ventilation 

Holes and Mining Near Gas and Oil Wells 

4VAC25-110, Regulations Governing Blasting in Surface 

Mining Operations 

4VAC25-120, Requirements for Installation and Use of 

Cabs and Canopies 

These regulations are mandated by statute. In conjunction 

with the Virginia Coal Mine Safety Board, the Chief of 

DMME's Division of Mines has determined these regulations 

are effective as currently written and do not burden small 

businesses. 

Contact Information: Michael A. Skiffington, Program 

Support Manager, 1100 Bank Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, 

VA 23219, telephone (804) 692-3212, FAX (804) 692-3237, 

or email mike.skiffington@dmme.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Heaven Scent, 
Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Heaven Scent, 

Inc. for alleged violations of the State Water Control Law in 

Parksley, Virginia. A description of the proposed action is 

available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 

named below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Mr. Robin 

Schuhmann will accept comments by email at 

robin.schuhmann@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (757) 518-2009, 

or postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Boulevard, 

Virginia Beach, VA 23462, from October 5, 2015, through 

November 4, 2015. 

Proposed Consent Order for Mr. B.G. Locher, Jr. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Mr. B.G. 

Locher, Jr. for violations in Rockbridge County, Virginia. 

The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent 

order to Mr. Locher to address noncompliance with State 

Water Control Law. A description of the proposed action is 

available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 

named below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Tiffany 

Severs will accept comments by email at 

tiffany.severs@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (540) 574-7878, or 

postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, Valley 

Regional Office, 4411 Early Road, P.O. Box 3000, 

Harrisonburg, VA 22801, from October 5, 2015, through 

November 5, 2015. 

Total Maximum Daily Load Studies for Little 
Mosquito Creek and Assawoman Creek, Accomack 

County, Virginia 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) 

will host a public meeting on water quality studies for Little 

Mosquito Creek and Assawoman Creek in Accomack 

County, on Thursday, October 15, 2015. 

The meeting will start at 6 p.m. in the Chincoteague Bay 

Field Station, Classroom 200 located at 34001 Mill Dam 

Road, Wallops Island, VA 23337. The purpose of the meeting 

is to provide information and discuss the study with 

community members and local government. 

Little Mosquito Creek and Assawoman Creek were identified 

in Virginia's 2014 Water Quality Assessment and Integrated 

Report as impaired due to violations of the state's water 

quality standards for dissolved oxygen and do not support the 

designated use for aquatic life. 

Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C 

of the Code of Virginia require DEQ to develop total 

maximum daily limits (TMDLs) for pollutants responsible for 

each impaired water contained in Virginia's § 303(d) TMDL 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:Robin.Schuhmann@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:tiffany.severs@deq.virginia.gov
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Priority List and Report and subsequent water quality 

assessment reports. 

During the study, DEQ will develop a TMDL for the 

impaired waters. A TMDL is the total amount of a pollutant a 

water body can contain and still meet water quality standards. 

To restore water quality, pollutant levels have to be reduced 

to the TMDL amount. The Department of Environmental 

Quality and other agencies are working to identify the sources 

of pollution in the watersheds of these streams. 

The public comment period on materials presented at this 

meeting will extend from October 16, 2015, to November 16, 

2015. For additional information or to submit comments, 

contact Jennifer Howell, Department of Environmental 

Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern 

Boulevard, Virginia Beach, VA 23462, telephone (757) 518-

2111, or email jennifer.howell@deq.virginia.gov. 

Additional information is also available on the DEQ website 

at www.deq.virginia.gov/tmdl.  

Total Maximum Daily Load Study for Nassawadox 
Creek and Tributaries,  

Northampton County, Virginia 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) will host a 

public meeting on water quality studies for Nassawadox 

Creek and tributaries in Northampton County, on Thursday, 

October 22, 2015.  

The meeting will start at 6:30 p.m. in the Exmore Town Hall, 

3305 Main Street, Exmore, VA 23350. The purpose of the 

meeting is to provide information and discuss the study with 

community members and local government.  

Nassawadox Creek and several tributaries have been 

identified in Virginia's 2014 Water Quality Assessment and 

Integrated Report as impaired due to violations of the state's 

water quality standards for shellfish and recreation uses due 

to elevated levels of bacteria.  

Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C 

of the Code of Virginia require DEQ to develop total 

maximum daily loads (TMDLs) for pollutants responsible for 

each impaired water contained in Virginia's § 303(d) TMDL 

Priority List and Report and subsequent water quality 

assessment reports.  

During the study, DEQ will develop a total maximum daily 

load for the impaired waters. A TMDL is the total amount of 

a pollutant a water body can contain and still meet water 

quality standards. To restore water quality, pollutant levels 

have to be reduced to the TMDL amount. The Department of 

Environmental Quality and other agencies are working to 

identify the sources of pollution in the watersheds of these 

streams.  

The public comment period on materials presented at this 

meeting will extend from October 23, 2015, to November 23, 

2015. For additional information or to submit comments, 

contact Jennifer Howell, Department of Environmental 

Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern 

Boulevard, Virginia Beach, VA 23462, telephone (757) 518-

2111, or email jennifer.howell@deq.virginia.gov.  

Additional information is also available on the DEQ website 

at www.deq.virginia.gov/tmdl. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, General Assembly Building, 201 North 9th 

Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: Voice 

(804) 786-3591; Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

http://www.virginia.gov/connect/commonwealth-calendar. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 

ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF GENERAL SERVICES 

Title of Regulation: 1VAC30-45. Certification for 

Noncommercial Environmental Laboratories. 

Publication: 32:1 VA.R. 6-62 September 7, 2015. 

Correction to Proposed Regulation: 

Page 23, 1VAC30-45-95 B 1, line 2, after "Article" delete "2 

(1VAC30-45-300 et seq.)" and insert "3 (1VAC30-45-500 et 

seq.)" 

Page 23, 1VAC30-45-95 B 2, line 2, after "Article" delete "2 

(1VAC30-45-300 et seq.)" and insert "3 (1VAC30-45-500 et 

seq.)" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3334; Filed September 11, 2015, 9:38 a.m.  

varegs@dls.virginia.gov
http://www.virginia.gov/connect/commonwealth-calendar
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
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Title of Regulation: 1VAC30-46. Accreditation for 

Commercial Environmental Laboratories. 

Publication: 32:1 VA.R. 62-84 September 7, 2015. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 63, 1VAC30-46-30 D, line 5, strike "1VAC30-40" and 

insert "1VAC30-41" 

Page 63, 1VAC30-46-40 B, last paragraph, line 1, after 

"Accreditation body" delete "of" and insert "or"  

Page 72, column 1, 1VAC30-46-70 K 4, line 2, delete "TNI-

accreditation" and insert "TNI accreditation" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3067; Filed September 9, 2015, 10:29 a.m.  

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-720. Pertaining to 

Restrictions on Oyster Harvest. 

Publication: 32:1 VA.R. 84-93 September 7, 2015. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 85, column 1, 4VAC20-720-15 D: 

Line 1, after "D." delete "It" and insert "After November 30, 

2015, it"  

Line 5, after "harvest" delete "by" and insert "for either the"  

Line 5, after "dredge" insert ", in one season or averaged over 

two seasons," 

Line 6, delete "either of those" and insert "the" 

Line 6, after "gear" delete "licenses after November 30, 2015" 

and insert "license associated with less than 20 harvest days" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4483; Filed September 17, 2015, 12:55 p.m.  

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-73. Standards for Licensed 

Assisted Living Facilities. 

Publication: 32:1 VA.R. 174-233 September 7, 2015. 

Correction to Proposed Regulation: 

Page 187, 22VAC40-73-40 B 7, line 6, after "Article 1" 

delete "(§ 64.1-2000" and insert "(§ 64.2-2000" 

Page 188, 22VAC40-73-60 A, line 3, delete ", §§ 59.1-479 

through 59.1-501 of the Code of Virginia" and insert 

"(§ 59.1-479 et seq. of the Code of Virginia)" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3227; Filed September 11, 2015,  4:41 p.m.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


