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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 

publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 

days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 

necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 

clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 

comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 

to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 

completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 

comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 

than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 

period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 

appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 

may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 

objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 

will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 

by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 

with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 

Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 

substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 

30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 

public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 

receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 

comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 

inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 

certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 

process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 

provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 

objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 

consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 

Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 

emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 

regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 

law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 

days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 

operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 

unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 

more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 

months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 

Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 

procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 

agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 

Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 

regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 

180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 

chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 

prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

29:5 VA.R. 1075-1192 November 5, 2012, refers to Volume 29, Issue 

5, pages 1075 through 1192 of the Virginia Register issued on  

November 5, 2012. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

James M. LeMunyon, Vice Chair, Gregory D. Habeeb; Ryan T. 

McDougle; Pamela S. Baskervill; Robert L. Calhoun; Carlos L. 

Hopkins; E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; Christopher R. 

Nolen; Timothy Oksman; Charles S. Sharp; Robert L. Tavenner. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 

Karen Perrine, Assistant Registrar; Anne Bloomsburg, Regulations 
Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Operations 

Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

October 2015 through October 2016 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

32:4 September 30, 2015 October 19, 2015 

32:5 October 14, 2015 November 2, 2015 

32:6 October 28, 2015 November 16, 2015 

32:7 November 10, 2015 (Tuesday) November 30, 2015 

32:8 November 24, 2015 (Tuesday) December 14, 2015 

32:9 December 9, 2015 December 28, 2015 

32:10 December 21, 2015 (Monday) January 11, 2016 

32:11 January 6, 2016 January 25, 2016 

32:12 January 20, 2016 February 8, 2016 

32:13 February 3, 2016 February 22, 2016 

32:14 February 17, 2016 March 7, 2016 

32:15 March 2, 2016 March 21, 2016 

32:16 March 16, 2016 April 4, 2016 

32:17 March 30, 2016 April 18, 2016 

32:18 April 13, 2016 May 2, 2016 

32:19 April 27, 2016 May 16, 2016 

32:20 May 11, 2016 May 30, 2016 

32:21 May 25, 2016 June 13, 2016 

32:22 June 8, 2016 June 27, 2016 

32:23 June 22, 2016 July 11, 2016 

32:24 July 6, 2016 July 25, 2016 

32:25 July 20, 2016 August 8, 2016 

32:26 August 3, 2016 August 22, 2016 

33:1 August 17, 2016 September 5, 2016 

33:2 August 31, 2016 September 19, 2016 

33:3 September 14, 2016 October 3, 2016 

33:4 September 28, 2016 October 17, 2016 

33:5 October 12, 2016 October 31, 2016 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC60-20. Regulations Governing 

Dental Practice.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Terry Dickinson. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend regulations for 

unprofessional conduct to adopt, by reference, the Principles 

of Ethics and Code of Professional Conduct of the American 

Dental Association (ADA). 

Agency's Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: At its meeting on 

September 18, 2015, the board voted to deny the petition. The 

board reviewed comments on the petition, a crosswalk 

between the ADA Code and Virginia law and regulation, and 

the ADA Code itself. Members were reminded that the board 

relied heavily on the ADA Code in the 2010 development of 

amended regulations, so most of the standards in the ADA 

Code are addressed in current or proposed regulations. 

Additionally, some of the standards in the ADA Code, such 

as participation in professional societies, are not appropriate 

to establish as grounds for disciplinary action. While the 

board appreciates the aspirational language of the ADA Code, 

it must rely on more objective standards on which to base a 

finding of unprofessional conduct and discipline a licensee. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, 

telephone (804) 367-4688, or email 

elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-35; Filed September 18, 2015, 2:11 p.m. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Criminal Justice Services Board 

intends to consider amending 6VAC20-100, Rules Relating 

to Compulsory Minimum Training Standards for 

Correctional Officers of the Department of Corrections, 

Division of Adult Institutions. The purpose of the proposed 

action is to revise the minimum entry-level training standards 

as well as the hours needed for corrections officers' 

compulsory minimum training standards. The proposed 

action will remove the performance objectives for the 

compulsory minimum training standards, and individuals will 

be directed to the Department of Criminal Justice Services 

website to view the objectives. Additionally, the proposed 

action will address the approval authority of the Criminal 

Justice Services Board and the Committee on Training and 

make other changes to update the regulation. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 18, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Barbara Peterson-Wilson, Law Enforcement 

Program Coordinator, Department of Criminal Justice Services, 

1100 Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-

4503, FAX (804) 225-3853, or email barbara.peterson-

wilson@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-2873; Filed September 18, 2015, 10:12 a.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Criminal Justice Services Board 

intends to consider promulgating 6VAC20-290, Rules 

Relating to Minimum Training Standards for Juvenile 

Corrections Officers. The purpose of the proposed action is 

to establish minimum training standards for juvenile 

corrections officers employed by the Department of Juvenile 

Justice pursuant to Chapter 159 of the 2012 Acts of 

Assembly. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 18, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Barbara Peterson-Wilson, Law Enforcement 

Program Coordinator, Department of Criminal Justice 

Services, 1100 Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 225-4503, FAX (804) 225-3853, or email 

barbara.peterson-wilson@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-3958; Filed September 17, 2015, 2:03 p.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 2VAC5-60. Rules and Regulations 

Governing the Operation of Livestock Markets (repealing 

2VAC5-60-10 through 2VAC5-60-90). 

2VAC5-61. Rules and Regulations Governing Livestock 

Dealers and Marketing Facilities for the Purpose of 

Controlling and Eradicating Infectious and Contagious 

Diseases of Livestock (adding 2VAC5-61-10 through 

2VAC5-61-80). 

2VAC5-120. Rules and Regulations Governing the 

Recordkeeping by Virginia Cattle Dealers for the Control 

or Eradication of Brucellosis of Cattle (repealing 2VAC5-

120-10 through 2VAC5-120-80).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 3.2-6001, 3.2-6002, and 3.2-6004 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 19, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Charles Broaddus, D.V.M., Program 

Manager, Office of Veterinary Services, Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services, 102 Governor Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-4560, FAX (804) 

371-2380, or email charles.broaddus@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This regulatory action repeals 2VAC5-60 and 2VAC5-120 and 

promulgates a new regulation, 2VAC5-61, Regulations 

Governing Livestock Dealers and Marketing Facilities for the 

Purpose of Controlling and Eradicating Infectious and 

Contagious Diseases. The regulation (i) provides for the 

operation of Virginia's livestock marketing facilities, 

including requirements for sanitation and official 

identification and recordkeeping, and (ii) removes the 

obsolete requirement that breeding cattle sold at livestock 

markets be tested for brucellosis. Changes since the proposed 

stage of the regulation include (i) removing camels, llamas, 

and alpacas from regulation provisions; (ii) allowing 48 

hours, instead of 24 hours, for removal of dead livestock from 

marketing facility premises; (iii) requiring livestock be 

individually identified before leaving a marketing facility and 

allowing the marketing facility to charge a fee for performing 

such identification; and (iv) prohibiting livestock to reside or 

be slaughtered at a marketing facility. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

CHAPTER 61 

REGULATIONS GOVERNING LIVESTOCK DEALERS 

AND MARKETING FACILITIES FOR THE PURPOSE OF 

CONTROLLING AND ERADICATING INFECTIOUS 

AND CONTAGIOUS DISEASES OF LIVESTOCK 

2VAC5-61-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Animal waste" means livestock or poultry excreta and 

associated feed losses, bedding, litter, or other materials. 

"Breeding cattle" means all sexually intact cattle 18 months 

of age or older as evidenced by the presence of one or more 

permanent incisor teeth, all female cattle that have produced a 

calf or are exhibiting signs of pregnancy, all sexually intact 

females of dairy type regardless of age, and any sexually 

intact bovine of any age that is purchased or sold with the 

intent that it be used for breeding purposes. 

"Cattle" means all domestic and wild members of the genera 

bos, bison, and bubalus to include domestic cattle, yak, bison, 

and water buffalo. 

"Certificate of veterinary inspection" means an official 

document, which may be in an electronic format, issued by a 

federal, state, tribal, or accredited veterinarian certifying the 

inspection of animals. 

"Dairy type" means all cattle of, or primarily of, a dairy or 

dual-purpose breed of cattle including but not limited to cattle 

of the Ayrshire, Brown Swiss, Guernsey, Holstein, Jersey, 

Milking Shorthorn, or similar breeds to include castrated 

males of such breeds. 

"Dealer" means any person who engages in or facilitates, 

including by electronic means, the business of buying, 

selling, auctioning, exchanging, or otherwise transferring 

ownership of livestock in the Commonwealth for his own 

account or that of another person. A person who only sells 

livestock of his own production or who buys livestock only 

for his own production purposes shall not be considered a 

dealer under this chapter.  

"Feeder cattle" means all cattle other than breeding cattle 

and slaughter cattle. 

"Livestock" means all cattle, sheep, swine, goats, horses, 

donkeys, [ and ] mules [ , camels, llamas, and alpacas ]. 

"Marketing facility" means a livestock market; stockyard; 

buying station; auction, consignment, or other sale venue; or 
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any other premises including those operating video, web-

based, telephone, or other types of electronic sales 

methods, where livestock from multiple owners are 

commingled and assembled for sale or exchange in the 

Commonwealth. 

"Official identification" means a unique identification 

number issued by a state or federal program, or other forms of 

identification approved by the State Veterinarian. 

"Premises" means all grounds, structures, and associated 

equipment used by the livestock facility including yards, 

docks, pens, paddocks, alleys, sale rings, chutes, scales, and 

means of conveyance. 

"Slaughter cattle" means those cattle that are purchased by 

or shipped without diversion to a state or federally inspected 

slaughter establishment for immediate slaughter. 

"State Veterinarian" means the State Veterinarian of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia or his designee. 

"State waters" means all waters of any river, creek, branch, 

lake, reservoir, pond, bay, roadstead, estuary, inlet, spring, or 

well and bodies of surface or underground water, natural or 

artificial, wholly or partially within or bordering the 

Commonwealth or within its jurisdiction. 

2VAC5-61-20. Registration. 

A. Each dealer in the Commonwealth shall be registered 

with the State Veterinarian by application to the State 

Veterinarian on forms that he provides. Each dealer shall 

renew his registration by no later than January 8 of each even-

numbered year thereafter. Anyone operating as a dealer who 

fails to register is guilty of a violation of this chapter. 

B. The State Veterinarian may, after due notice and 

opportunity for a hearing, deny, suspend, or cancel the 

registration of a dealer when the State Veterinarian has 

determined that the dealer has:  

1. Violated state or federal laws or regulations governing 

the interstate or intrastate movement, shipment, or 

transportation of livestock; 

2. Made false or misleading statements in the application 

for registration;  

3. Removed or altered the official identification of 

livestock; 

4. Failed to carry out the requirements of this chapter; or 

5. Made false or misleading entries in the records that are 

required by this chapter.  

2VAC5-61-30. Identification of livestock. 

A. All livestock, other than feeder cattle that are not of a 

dairy type, that are handled by or otherwise under the scope 

of business of each dealer and marketing facility shall be 

officially identified [ upon arrival at the marketing facility ]. 

[ Each For those livestock that are not identified upon arrival, 

each ] dealer and marketing facility shall cause official 

identification to be applied to any livestock handled by or 

otherwise under the scope of their business that is not already 

officially identified [ before leaving the marketing facility and 

may charge a fee for this service ]. 

B. Official identification. 

1. Official identification for cattle shall be an ear tag 

bearing a unique identification number issued by an 

official state or federal program or other form of 

identification approved by the State Veterinarian. For 

slaughter cattle only that are purchased by a registered 

dealer, a U.S. Department of Agriculture back tag shall 

also be considered official identification. 

2. Official identification for sheep and goats shall be any 

form of identification approved by the U.S. Department of 

Agriculture scrapie eradication program or other form of 

identification approved by the State Veterinarian.  

3. Official identification for swine shall be a unique and 

permanent group or individual identification number issued 

by an official state or federal program and applied to each 

animal or other forms of identification approved by the 

State Veterinarian.  

4. [ Official identification for alpacas, camels, and llamas 

shall be a microchip, scrapie serial tag, or other forms of 

identification approved by the State Veterinarian. 

5. ] Official identification for horses shall be a microchip, 

registration tattoo, brand, name, and complete physical 

description as listed or demonstrated by photographs on 

either a current certificate of veterinary inspection or 

Coggins test certificate, or other form of identification 

approved by the State Veterinarian. 

C. Official identification shall not be altered or removed.  

2VAC5-61-40. Records. 

A. Each dealer and marketing facility shall keep records of 

the following information, which shall be recorded in a timely 

fashion upon the completion of each transaction: 

1. Record of the official identification numbers of all 

livestock handled or otherwise under the scope of business 

other than feeder cattle that are not of a dairy type. 

2. The name and physical address of the person, firm, or 

agent from whom each animal was purchased and the date 

of such purchase.  

3. The name and physical address of the person, firm, or 

agent to whom each animal was sold and the date of such 

sale.  

B. Records required by this section shall be kept for at least 

five years. Every dealer or marketing facility, during all 

reasonable hours, shall permit the State Veterinarian to have 

access to and be able to copy any records made and retained 

as required by this section.  

C. The State Veterinarian may allow for the records required 

by this section to be submitted to him in an electronic format 

he prescribes.  Such records, properly submitted 

electronically to the State Veterinarian, are exempt from the 

requirement that they be retained for at least five years. 
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2VAC5-61-50. Inspection of marketing facilities. 

All marketing facilities shall be under the jurisdiction of the 

State Veterinarian and available for his inspection. The State 

Veterinarian shall assign a designee to each marketing facility 

for the following purposes:  

1. To be present before, during, or after the operation of the 

marketing facility as necessary for the purpose of ensuring 

compliance with this chapter.  

2. To ensure that livestock bear official identification and 

that proper record is made of each transaction as required 

by this chapter. 

3. To ensure that livestock are handled in accordance with 

the Virginia Comprehensive Animal Care laws (§ 3.2-6500 

et seq. of Title 3.2 of the Code of Virginia). 

4. To ensure proper disposition of all sick or diseased 

livestock offered for sale in accordance with this chapter or 

other orders of the State Veterinarian.  

5. To make a thorough inspection of the marketing facility 

to determine if the premises are maintained in a clean, 

sanitary, and orderly manner. 

2VAC5-61-60. Operation of marketing facilities. 

A. The premises shall be maintained in a state of good 

repair. The marketing facility shall contain appropriately 

constructed and well-lighted livestock handling chutes, pens, 

and alleys for the inspection, identification, vaccination, and 

testing of livestock. Electrical power shall be provided. 

B. The premises shall be maintained in a clean, sanitary, and 

orderly manner at all times and must be cleaned after each 

use. The sanitation process shall prevent contamination of 

state waters, production of noxious odors, and the breeding of 

insects or vermin. Run-off water shall be diverted from 

livestock holding areas.  

C. The marketing facility shall be sprayed with disinfectant 

on a monthly basis or as otherwise required by the State 

Veterinarian. All alleys, scales, docks, pens, and rings in 

which livestock have been housed since the previous 

application of disinfectant must be cleaned of all bedding and 

animal waste so that the base surfaces can be thoroughly 

sprayed. No area shall be sprayed that has not been properly 

cleaned. 

D. Isolation pens shall be provided that are clearly labeled, 

adequately drained, constructed of materials able to withstand 

frequent cleaning and disinfection, and cleaned and 

disinfected between each use. 

E. Condemned and diseased livestock shall be penned 

separately from other livestock and shall be removed from the 

premises within 24 hours of the sale. Such pens shall be 

plainly marked "For Slaughter Only." 

F. Dead animals shall be immediately moved to a designated 

area of the premises out of public view and removed from the 

premises within [ 24 48 ] hours. 

G. The marketing facility shall ensure that feed and water 

can be provided to livestock in an appropriate manner when 

needed or as directed by the State Veterinarian. 

[ H. Livestock may not be slaughtered or processed at the 

marketing facility. 

I. Livestock shall not reside at the marketing facility. ]  

2VAC5-61-70. Restriction of livestock movement. 

A. Shipment of livestock into other states shall be subject to 

all federal laws and regulations governing the interstate 

shipment of livestock and in conformity with the 

requirements of the state of destination. 

B. Whenever the State Veterinarian has reason to suspect or 

knowledge that a threat to the livestock industry or to public 

safety exists by the continued conduct of business by a 

marketing facility or dealer, he may restrict or prohibit the 

conduct of the marketing facility's or dealer's business for 

such time as the threat or condition exists. 

C. Whenever the sanitation of a marketing facility is not 

maintained as required in 2VAC5-61-60, the State 

Veterinarian may, at his discretion, (i) prohibit the use of 

certain areas of the marketing facility or (ii) limit the 

activities of such facility with regards to the type or to the 

destination of livestock sold in such facility. This restriction 

shall remain in effect until the State Veterinarian has 

determined that the marketing facility is in compliance. 

[ 2VAC5-61-80. Penalty. 

Any person who violates any of the provisions of this 

chapter is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. ]  

NOTICE: The following form used in administering the 

regulation was filed by the agency. The forms is not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of the form, 

which has a hyperlink, to access it. The form is also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (2VAC5-61) 

Application for Registration: Virginia Livestock/Poultry 

Dealers and Marketing Facilities, Form VDACS-03214 (eff. 

11/13) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3709; Filed September 18, 2015, 1:54 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 2VAC5-110. Rules and Regulations 

Pertaining to a Pound or Enclosure to Be Maintained by 

Each County or City (repealing 2VAC5-110-10 through 

2VAC5-110-110). 

2VAC5-111. Public and Private Animal Shelters (adding 

2VAC5-111-10 through 2VAC5-111-40).  

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-6501 of the Code of Virginia. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=35b3f003709~2&typ=40&actno=003709&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=35b3f003709~2&typ=40&actno=003709&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=35b3f003709~2&typ=40&actno=003709&mime=application/pdf
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Public Hearing Information: 

December 10, 2015 - 10:30 a.m. - Virginia State Capitol, 

Senate Room 3, 1000 Bank Street Richmond, VA 23219 

Public Comment Deadline: December 18, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Dr. Carolynn Bissett, Program Manager, 

Animal Care and Emergency Response, Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-2483, FAX (804) 

371-2380, TTY (800) 828-1120, or email 

carolynn.bissett@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 3.2-109 of the Code of Virginia establishes the 

Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services as a policy 

board and grants the board the authority to adopt regulations 

in accordance with the provisions of Title 3.2 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

This action is proposed pursuant to § 3.2-6501 of the Code of 

Virginia, which authorizes the board to adopt regulations 

consistent with the intent and objectives of the 

Comprehensive Animal Care Laws (Chapter 65 (§ 3.2-6500 

et seq.) of Title 3.2 of the Code of Virginia) pertaining to the 

care of animals. 

Specifically, this proposed action is consistent with the intent 

and objectives of §§ 3.2-6546 (concerning public animal 

shelters) and 3.2-6548 (concerning private animal shelters) of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: The Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

currently regulates public animal shelters under 2VAC5-110. 

This body of regulation, which has not been substantively 

amended since 1985, sets standards of facility construction 

and animal housing intended to ensure that companion 

animals held in the public interest are protected from injury or 

illness. These regulations apply to all animals housed in the 

facility, including those that have satisfied or are not subject 

to a stray or other holding period. Private animal shelters that 

confine companion animals subject to a holding period are 

currently unregulated. 

The proposed regulation is intended to ensure that a 

consistent standard of confinement and care is applied to all 

companion animals held in the public trust while removing 

redundant provisions and provisions that are burdensome to 

public animal shelters holding animals for the purpose of 

facilitating adoption. It also seeks to ensure proper oversight 

of the provision of veterinary treatment and requires that all 

animals be provided a resting platform, bedding, or a perch as 

appropriate. 

The confinement of animals in animal shelters is intended to 

protect citizens from potential public health and safety risks 

associated with free-roaming dogs. Additionally, the 

regulations requiring confinement of loose animals and a 

holding period are intended to protect the property rights of 

individuals, as companion animals are considered personal 

property under Virginia law. 

Substance: The board intends to repeal 2VAC5-110, the 

current regulation pertaining to public animal pounds, and 

replace it with the proposed regulation pertaining to both 

public and private animal shelters. The following points will 

be addressed in this proposed regulatory action: 

1. The current language concerning minimum animal 

housing standards and individual cage construction and 

size has been refined and applied to the housing of 

animals subject to a holding period in both public and 

private animal shelters. 

2. The current language concerning facility sanitation, 

ventilation, food preparation and storage, and drinking 

water devices has been refined and applied to both public 

and private animal shelters in the proposed regulation. 

3. The current language concerning water supply, waste 

disposal, and euthanasia has been eliminated. These 

topics are fully addressed in the Code of Virginia or 

elsewhere in the Virginia Administrative Code. 

New provisions have been put in place concerning the 

provision of veterinary treatment, control of contagious and 

infectious disease, the care of compromised animal 

populations, and the provision of a resting platform or 

bedding. 

Issues: This regulatory action offers advantages to the public 

and the Commonwealth. The currently regulated 

community—public animal shelters and the localities that 

operate them—have asked the Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services (VDACS) to provide them with greater 

flexibility in housing animals that are not subject to a holding 

period. This flexibility will allow localities to better serve the 

public. Clarification of expectations regarding veterinary 

treatment will help to better protect the public's interests in 

Virginia's companion animal populations. 

2VAC5-110 has not been substantively amended since 1985. 

In the past 30 years, the scope of activities of many public 

animal shelters throughout the Commonwealth has 

significantly increased. Such facilities are routinely housing 

companion animals beyond the statutory holding periods 

established for stray animals in order to promote the adoption 

or transfer of these animals. The current regulations can 

preclude the implementation of housing and enrichment 

practices that are considered industry standard for the long-

term housing of animals. Concurrently, private animal 

shelters are confining companion animals subject to holding 

periods on a routine basis without regulation. VDACS has 

determined that it is in the public interest to ensure that all 

companion animals in shelter facilities subject to a holding 

period be maintained in a manner that protects the animals 

from injury, illness, and theft for this short period while 

allowing public animal shelters greater freedom in their 

housing of animals that have satisfied holding period 

requirements.  

VDACS has also determined that greater direction concerning 

the provision of veterinary treatment is needed. The Code of 
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Virginia mandates that veterinary treatment be provided to all 

animals when needed. Public and private animal shelters need 

to allocate sufficient resources for this mandated treatment 

and to follow an appropriate protocol in making decisions as 

to when treatment is warranted.  

Finally, VDACS has determined that the provision of resting 

platforms or bedding to each animal housed in Virginia's 

animal shelters will offer substantive improvement in animal 

care in those few facilities that do not already provide such. 

VDACS does not foresee disadvantages to the public or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services (Board) 

proposes to repeal its regulation that governs public animal 

shelters and replace it with a regulation that will govern both 

public and private animal shelters. The Board also proposes 

to two substantive changes for the replacement regulation 

which will 1) require animal shelters to provide each animal 

with an appropriate resting platform, bedding or perch and 2) 

require each shelter to have protocols for the medical 

treatment of animals, the control of infectious disease and the 

management and care of neonatal and medically 

compromised animals that have been approved by a 

veterinarian. The replacement regulation will also newly 

require private animal shelters to have special housing for 

strays that are in a holding period window. 

Result of Analysis. There is insufficient information to 

ascertain whether benefits will outweigh costs for this 

regulatory proposal. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Currently, the Virginia 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (VDACS) 

is in charge of inspecting both public and private animal 

shelters. Public animal shelters are currently inspected for 

compliance with this Board regulation which was 

promulgated and became effective in 1985. Private animal 

shelters are currently inspected for compliance with relevant 

legislative requirements in Code of Virginia § 3.2-6548 and 

§ 3.2-6557. Legislative requirements for private animal 

shelters are substantively the same as those contained in 

current regulation except that private animal shelters do not 

currently have to have special housing for strays that are in a 

holding period window (five days for stray animals with no 

identifying tags or chips and 10 days for animals with 

identifying tags or chips). 

The Board now proposes to replace this current regulation 

with a new regulation that will apply to both public and 

private animal shelters. The regulations will be substantively 

the same except for new requirements that all animals be 

provided with a raised platform, bedding or perch and that all 

shelters have veterinarian approved protocols in place for 1) 

the medical treatment of animals, 2) the control of infectious 

disease and 3) the management and the care of neonatal and 

medically compromised animals. Additionally, private animal 

shelters will newly be required to have separate housing for 

strays during the holding period if they accept the care of 

stray animals after the replacement regulation is promulgated. 

Affected public and private animal shelters may incur costs 

for providing bedding for all animals in their care, if they do 

not already do so. If bedding must newly be acquired, animal 

shelters may incur no direct costs if bedding is donated. If 

they must purchase bedding, costs will likely range from a 

few dollars to $50 per bed. Affected public and private animal 

shelters will also incur time costs for time spent writing 

required protocols and may incur fees for a veterinarian's time 

to approve those protocols. Board staff reports that some 

shelters have a full time veterinarian on staff and so would 

not incur extra costs for approving protocols. Animal shelters 

who do not have a veterinarian on staff, will likely have to 

pay an hourly fee that may range up to $120 per hour for the 

time it takes to read and approve protocols. Board staff 

estimates that the approval process will take one to two hours.  

Private animal shelters that currently take in stray animals 

will either have to incur costs for purchasing holding period 

compliant housing or they will have to stop taking in strays. 

Board staff estimates that such housing will cost between 

$250 and $1,000 per cage but also reports that shelters may 

choose to buy a block of six regulation compliant cages of 

various sizes for approximately $2,500. The costs added for 

complying with new requirements may also cause shelters to 

be able to take in fewer animals. All costs associated with this 

proposed regulation must be weighed against any 

improvements that may accrue on account these new 

requirements. There is insufficient information to ascertain 

whether benefits will outweigh costs. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Board staff reports that 

approximately 94 public animal shelters maintained by 

localities, 15 public animal shelters that are maintained by 

private non-profit organizations and 43 private animal 

shelters will be affected by this proposed regulatory package. 

All of the affected private animal shelters are non-profit 

organizations so no businesses will be affected by this 

proposal. 

Localities Particularly Affected. Localities with public animal 

shelters will likely be disproportionately affected by this 

proposed regulatory change. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This regulatory action will 

likely have little impact on employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. Because 

this regulation will newly require private animal shelters to 

have special housing for strays that are in a holding period 

window, some private animal shelters may stop taking in 

strays. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No small 

businesses will be affected by this proposed regulatory 

package. 
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Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. No small businesses will be affected by this 

proposed regulatory package. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. 

General: The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has 

analyzed the economic impact of this proposed regulation in 

accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and 

Executive Order Number 17 (2014). Section 2.2-4007.04 

requires that such economic impact analyses determine the 

public benefits and costs of the proposed amendments. 

Further the report should include but not be limited to: 

• the projected number of businesses or other entities to 

whom the proposed regulation would apply, 

• the identity of any localities and types of businesses or 

other entities particularly affected, 

• the projected number of persons and employment 

positions to be affected,  

• the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and  

• the impact on the use and value of private property.  

Small Businesses: If the proposed regulation will have an 

adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires 

that such economic impact analyses include: 

• an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the proposed regulation, 

• the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other 

administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the proposed regulation, including the type 

of professional skills necessary for preparing required 

reports and other documents, 

• a statement of the probable effect of the proposed 

regulation on affected small businesses, and  

• a description of any less intrusive or less costly 

alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the 

proposed regulation.  

Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1, if there is a finding 

that a proposed regulation may have an adverse impact on 

small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative 

Rules is notified at the time the proposed regulation is 

submitted to the Virginia Register of Regulations for 

publication. This analysis shall represent DPBs best estimate 

for the purposes of public review and comment on the 

proposed regulation. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget concerning the proposed regulation, 

2VAC5-111, Rules and Regulations Pertaining to Public and 

Private Animal Shelters, but offers additional information 

regarding private animal shelters.  

Private animal shelters are not mandated to house stray or 

unowned animals that are subject to a holding period. 

Section 3.2-6546 of the Code of Virginia requires localities to 

maintain a public animal shelter to house stray or unowned 

animals that are subject to a holding period.  Thus, if a private 

animal shelter chooses to refer all animals subject to a 

holding period to the appropriate public animal shelter it will 

not incur any costs related to obtaining compliant housing. 

Alternatively, if a private animal shelter chooses to house 

stray or unowned animals that are subject to a holding period 

and the shelter does not already possess compliant housing, it 

could incur costs between $250 and $1,000 per cage 

depending on the cage size. The shelter may also choose to 

purchase a block of six compliant cages of various sizes for 

approximately $2,500.  

Summary: 

The Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services proposes 

to repeal its regulation that governs public animal shelters 

and replace it with a regulation that will govern both 

public and private animal shelters. The board also 

proposes substantive changes for the replacement 

regulation that will (i) require animal shelters to provide 

each animal with an appropriate resting platform, 

bedding, or perch; (ii) require each shelter to have 

protocols that have been approved by a veterinarian for 

the medical treatment of animals, the control of infectious 

disease, and the management and care of neonatal and 

medically compromised animals; and (iii) require private 

animal shelters to have special housing for strays that are 

subject to a holding period. 

CHAPTER 111 

PUBLIC AND PRIVATE ANIMAL SHELTERS 

2VAC5-111-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Animal" means any nonaquatic companion animal that is in 

the custody of a public or private animal shelter and that is 

confined in or on the premises of the animal shelter.  

"Enclosure" means a structure used to house or restrict 

animals from running at large such as a room, pen, cage, run, 

compartment, hutch, terrarium, or otherwise confined habitat.  

"Facility" means a public animal shelter or private animal 

shelter as defined in § 3.2-6500 of the Code of Virginia. 

2VAC5-111-20. General provisions. 

A. Each facility shall be kept in a clean, dry, and sanitary 

condition and shall provide enclosures that can safely house 

and allow for adequate separation of animals of different 

species, sexes, ages, and temperaments. Animals shall be 

maintained in a manner that protects them against theft, 

injury, escape, and exposure to harmful substances. 

B. Each facility shall ensure that all enclosures provide 

adequate shelter that is properly ventilated and that can be 
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maintained at a comfortable temperature for the animals 

confined therein. An enclosure shall not be cleaned when 

occupied by an animal unless the animal can be further 

confined in a portion of the enclosure that precludes exposure 

to any cleaning agent including water and shall be thoroughly 

dry before the enclosure is returned to use. A disinfectant or 

germicidal agent shall be used when cleaning an enclosure. 

C. Each facility shall reasonably endeavor to ensure that 

drinking water is available to each animal at all times unless 

otherwise ordered by a licensed veterinarian. Drinking water 

receptacles or bowls shall be secured to the enclosure in a 

fixed position or otherwise be of a design that cannot be 

tipped over by an animal and shall be maintained in sanitary 

condition. 

D. Each facility shall ensure that animals are adequately and 

appropriately fed according to their species and age and that 

feed is stored in a manner that prevents spoilage, infestation, 

and contamination. All feed delivery utensils and receptacles 

shall be properly cleaned between uses. 

E. Each facility shall ensure that each animal is provided 

access to a resting platform, bedding, or perch as appropriate 

to its species, age, and condition. All enclosures shall have 

solid floors.  

2VAC5-111-30. Provision of veterinary treatment. 

A. Each facility shall engage a licensed veterinarian to 

develop or ratify a protocol for determining if an ill, injured, 

or otherwise compromised animal requires treatment by a 

licensed veterinarian. Each facility shall adhere to this 

protocol and provide veterinary treatment when needed. 

B. Each facility shall engage a licensed veterinarian to 

develop or ratify a protocol for the control of infectious and 

contagious disease and shall adhere to such protocol. Each 

facility shall provide a marked isolation room for the 

confinement of animals suffering from a contagious or 

infectious disease. 

C. Each facility shall engage a licensed veterinarian to 

develop or ratify a protocol for the management of neonatal 

and medically compromised animals and shall adhere to such 

protocol. Enclosures shall be maintained that can properly 

and safely house such animals. 

2VAC5-111-40. Housing of animals subject to a holding 

period. 

A. An enclosure or portion thereof used to house an animal 

subject to a holding period shall be entirely constructed of 

materials that are durable, nonporous, impervious to moisture, 

and able to be thoroughly cleaned and disinfected.  

B. An enclosure or portion thereof used to house an animal 

subject to a holding period that is part of the structural 

integrity of the building shall have a surface material that is 

durable, nonporous, impervious to moisture, and able to be 

thoroughly cleaned and disinfected. 

C. All structures contained within an enclosure or portion 

thereof shall be constructed of materials that are durable, 

nonporous, impervious to moisture, and able to be thoroughly 

cleaned and disinfected unless discarded or laundered daily. 

D. An enclosure and all structures therein used to house an 

animal subject to a holding period shall be thoroughly 

cleaned and disinfected before use by a different animal.   

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (2VAC5-111) 

Animal Facility Inspection Report, VDACS AC-10 (rev. 

7/2015) 

Animal Facility Inspection Form - Shelter, VDACS AC-10-

A (rev. 7/2015) 

Animal Facility Inspection Form – Animal Care, VDACS 

AC-10-B (rev. 7/2015) 

Animal Facility Inspection Form – Operations, VDACS AC-

10-C (rev. 7/2015) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4009; Filed September 25, 2015, 9:12 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

DEPARTMENT OF FORESTRY 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC10-30. Virginia State Forests 

Regulations (amending 4VAC10-30-40, 4VAC10-30-120, 

4VAC10-30-200, 4VAC10-30-210).  

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1101 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 19, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Andres Alvarez, Chief of Administration, 

Department of Forestry, 900 Natural Resources Drive, Suite 

800, Charlottesville, VA 22903, telephone (434) 220-9022, 

FAX (434) 977-7749, or email 

andres.alvarez@dof.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

In accordance with Chapter 484 of the 2012 Acts of 

Assembly, the amendments require any person 16 years of 

age or older who hunts, fishes, traps, rides a bike, or rides 

a horse in a state forest to purchase an annual special use 

permit for a fee of $15. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f9465004407~7&typ=40&actno=004407&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f9465004407~7&typ=40&actno=004407&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ba6ab004009~5&typ=40&actno=004009&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ba6ab004009~5&typ=40&actno=004009&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=23661004407~7&typ=40&actno=004407&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=23661004407~7&typ=40&actno=004407&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=49a05004407~7&typ=40&actno=004407&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=49a05004407~7&typ=40&actno=004407&mime=application/pdf
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4VAC10-30-40. Permits.  

A permit to do any act shall authorize the same only insofar 

as it may be performed in strict accordance with the terms and 

conditions thereof. Any violation by its holder or his agents 

or employees of any term or condition thereof shall constitute 

grounds for its revocation by the department, or by its 

authorized representative. In case of revocation of any permit, 

all moneys paid for or on account thereof shall, at the option 

of the department, be forfeited to and be retained by it; and 

the holder of such permit, together with his agents and 

employees who violated such terms and conditions, shall be 

jointly and severally liable to the department for all damages 

and loss suffered by it in excess of money so forfeited and 

retained; but neither such forfeiture and retention by the 

department of the whole or any part of such moneys nor the 

recovery or collection thereby of such damages, or both, shall 

in any manner relieve such person or persons from liability to 

punishment for any violation of any provision of any Virginia 

State Forests Regulation. A state forest hunting special use 

permit will be required to hunt or, trap, fish, ride bikes, or 

ride horses on any state forest or portion thereof on which 

hunting and, trapping, fishing, riding bikes, or riding horses is 

permitted. 

4VAC10-30-120. Charges.  

No person 16 years of age or older shall make, use, or gain 

admittance to, or attempt to use or gain admittance to the 

facilities in any forest for the use of which a charge special 

use permit is made required by the department unless he shall 

pay the charge or price fixed by the department obtain a 

special use permit and pay an annual fee of $15. Any person 

under 16 years of age may hunt, trap, fish, ride bikes, or ride 

horses on any state forest and is not required to obtain a 

special use permit or pay an annual fee. 

4VAC10-30-200. Hunting and fishing.  

No person within the confines of any forest, shall hunt, trap, 

shoot, injure, kill or molest in any way any bird or animal, 

nor shall any person have in his possession any bird or 

animal, dead or alive, within the forest except any bird or 

animal designated as a game bird or animal by the Virginia 

Board of Game and Inland Fisheries, and the trapping of, 

hunting of, shooting at, or possession of any such bird or 

animal is prohibited except during the lawful hunting season 

set for the forest or portion thereof by the Virginia Board of 

Game and Inland Fisheries and only in those forests or 

portion thereof designated by the Forest Superintendent as 

lawful hunting areas. A state forest hunting special use permit 

will be required. All provisions of the Virginia Code 

concerning hunting must be complied with.  

4VAC10-30-210. Fishing.  

Fishing is permitted in designated areas in each forest, the 

only stipulation being that persons fishing must have a state 

fishing license, have a special use permit, and comply with 

the Virginia Game and Inland Fisheries rules and regulations.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3185; Filed September 18, 2015, 11:46 a.m.  

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-110. Pertaining to Lobsters 

(amending 4VAC20-110-60, 4VAC20-110-65).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 1, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-

2248 or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments establish a no-cost commercial lobster 

permit required for (i) any American lobster harvester 

using any gear or methods other than lobster traps in 

Virginia waters and (ii) any boat or vessel to possess or 

land American lobster in Virginia for commercial 

purposes. 

4VAC20-110-60. License required and permit 

requirements.  

A. In accordance with the provisions of § 28.2-201 of the 

Code of Virginia, the Marine Resources Commission does 

hereby establish a Lobster Boat License to be valid for one 

calendar year and does hereby require that each such vessel 

engaged in the fishing for or landing of lobster within or upon 

the waters within the jurisdiction of the Commonwealth 

procure and display such license provided that such vessel be 

not otherwise licensed for fishing by the Marine Resources 

Commission or engaged in the use of fishing gear that is not 

otherwise licensed by the Marine Resources Commission.  

B. In accordance with the provisions of § 28.2-201 of the 

Code of Virginia, the Marine Resources Commission 

establishes a no cost commercial lobster permit for any 

American lobster harvester using any gear or methods other 

than lobster traps in Virginia waters. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any boat or vessel to possess or 

land American lobster in Virginia for commercial purposes 

without first obtaining a Virginia lobster permit, as described 

in subsection B of this section, or a Federal Lobster Permit.  

4VAC20-110-65. Landing limit.  

Landings by fishermen using gear or methods other than 

lobster traps (nontrap fishermen) shall be limited to no more 

than 100 lobsters per day (based on a 24-hour period) up to a 

maximum of 500 lobsters per trip, for trips five days or 

longer. Possession by any nontrap fishermen aboard any 

vessel on Virginia waters or the landing by any nontrap 
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fishermen of quantities greater than those specified shall 

constitute a violation of this chapter.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4501; Filed September 24, 2015, 2:27 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-720. Pertaining to 

Restrictions on Oyster Harvest (amending 4VAC20-720-

40 through 4VAC20-720-80).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 1, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-

2248 or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments establish a hand scrape season for public 

oyster grounds in the Pocomoke Sound Area - Public 

Ground 10 from November 2, 2015, through November 13, 

2015, except as otherwise limited.  

4VAC20-720-40. Open oyster harvest season and areas.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest oysters 

from public and unassigned grounds outside of the seasons 

and areas set forth in this section. 

B. It shall be unlawful to harvest clean cull oysters from the 

public oyster grounds and unassigned grounds except during 

the lawful seasons and from the lawful areas as described in 

the following subdivisions of this subsection. 

1. James River Seed Area, including the Deep Water Shoal 

State Replenishment Seed Area: October 1, 2015, through 

April 30, 2016. 

2. Milford Haven: December 1, 2015, through February 29, 

2016. 

3. Rappahannock River Area 9: November 1, 2015, 

through December 31, 2015. 

4. Little Wicomico River: October 1, 2015, through 

December 31, 2015. 

5. Coan River: October 1, 2015, through December 31, 

2015. 

6. Yeocomico River: October 1, 2015, through December 

31, 2015. 

7. Nomini Creek: October 1, 2015, through December 31, 

2015. 

8. Mobjack Bay Area: January 1, 2016, through January 

31, 2016. 

9. Rappahannock River Rotation Area 5: October 1, 2015, 

through November 30, 2015. 

10. Rappahannock River Rotation Area 3: November 1, 

2015, through December 31, 2015. 

11. Great Wicomico River Area: December 1, 2015, 

through January 31, 2016. 

12. Upper Chesapeake Bay - Blackberry Hangs Area: 

December 1, 2015, through January 31, 2016. 

13. James River Area and the Thomas Rock Area (James 

River): November 1 2015, through December 31, 2015, 

and March 1, 2016, through March 31, 2016. 

14. Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds Rotation Area 1: 

December 1, 2015, through February 29, 2016. 

15. Pocomoke Sound Area - Public Ground 10: November 

2, 2015, through November 13, 2015. 

15. 16. Deep Rock Area: December 1, 2015, through 

February 29, 2016. 

16. 17. Seaside of the Eastern Shore (for clean cull oysters 

only): November 1, 2015, through March 31, 2016. 

C. It shall be unlawful to harvest seed oysters from the 

public oyster grounds or unassigned grounds, except during 

the lawful seasons. The harvest of seed oysters from the 

lawful areas is described in the following subdivisions of this 

subsection. 

1. James River Seed Area: October 1, 2015, through May 

31, 2016. 

2. Deep Water Shoal State Replenishment Seed Area: 

October 1, 2015, through May 31, 2016. 

4VAC20-720-60. Day and time limit. 

A. It shall be unlawful to take, catch, or possess oysters on 

Saturday and Sunday from the public oyster grounds or 

unassigned grounds in the waters of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia, for commercial purposes, except that this provision 

shall not apply to any person harvesting no more than one 

bushel per day by hand or ordinary tong for household use 

only during the season when the public oyster grounds or 

unassigned grounds are legally open for harvest.  

B. From October 1, 2015, through December 31, 2015, it 

shall be unlawful to take, catch, or possess oysters on any 

Friday from the public oyster grounds or unassigned grounds 

described in 4VAC20-720-40 B 9 through B 14 15. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest or attempt 

to harvest oysters prior to sunrise or after 2 p.m. from the 

areas described in 4VAC20-720-40 B 1 through B 15 16 and 

4VAC20-720-40 C. In addition, it shall be unlawful for any 

boat with an oyster dredge aboard to leave the dock until one 

hour before sunrise or return to the dock after sunset, and it 

shall be unlawful for any boat with a hand scrape aboard to 

leave the dock until one-half hour before sunrise or return to 

the dock after sunset. 

4VAC20-720-70. Gear restrictions.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest oysters in 

the James River Seed Area, including the Deep Water Shoal 
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State Replenishment Seed Area, the Rappahannock River 

Area 9, Milford Haven, Little Wicomico River, Coan River, 

Nomini Creek and Yeocomico River, except by hand tong. It 

shall be unlawful for any person to have a hand scrape on 

board a boat that is harvesting or attempting to harvest oysters 

from public grounds by hand tong. 

B. It shall be unlawful to harvest oysters from the seaside of 

the Eastern Shore area by any gear, except by hand. 

C. It shall be unlawful to harvest oysters in the 

Rappahannock River Rotation Areas 3 and 5, James River 

Area, Thomas Rock Area, Upper Chesapeake Bay Blackberry 

Hangs Area, Mobjack Bay Area, and Great Wicomico River 

Area, and Pocomoke Sound Area - Public Ground 10, by any 

gear except by hand scrape.  

D. It shall be unlawful for any person to have more than one 

hand scrape on board any boat that is harvesting oysters or 

attempting to harvest oysters from public grounds. It shall be 

unlawful for any person to have a hand tong on board a boat 

that is harvesting or attempting to harvest oysters from public 

grounds by hand scrape. 

E. It shall be unlawful to harvest oysters from the Pocomoke 

and Tangier Sounds Rotation Area 1, except by an oyster 

dredge. 

F. It shall be unlawful to harvest oysters from the Deep 

Rock Area, except by an oyster patent tong.  

4VAC20-720-75. Gear license.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest shellfish, 

from the hand scrape areas in the Rappahannock River, James 

River, Upper Chesapeake Bay, Mobjack Bay Area, and Great 

Wicomico River, and Pocomoke Sound Area - Public Ground 

10, unless that person has first obtained a valid hand scrape 

license.  

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest shellfish 

with an oyster dredge from the public oyster grounds in the 

Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds Rotation Area 1, unless that 

person has first obtained a valid oyster dredge license.  

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest shellfish 

with a patent tong from the public oyster grounds in the Deep 

Rock Area, unless that person has first obtained a valid oyster 

patent tong license. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest shellfish 

with a hand tong from the public oyster grounds, as described 

in 4VAC20-720-70 A, unless that person has first obtained a 

valid hand tong license. 

E. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest shellfish by 

hand from the public oyster grounds on the Seaside of the 

Eastern Shore, as described in 4VAC20-720-40 B 16 17, 

unless that person has first obtained a valid oyster by hand 

license. 

4VAC20-720-80. Quotas and harvest limits. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person who does not possess 

a valid commercial fisherman's registration license and a 

valid gear license required by harvest area, as described in 

4VAC20-720-75, and has not paid the current year's oyster 

resource user fee to harvest or possess more than eight 

bushels per day. It shall be unlawful for any vessel to exceed 

a daily vessel limit of 24 bushels clean cull oysters harvested 

from the areas described in 4VAC20-720-40 B 8 through 14 

15. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any person who does not possess 

a valid commercial fisherman's registration license and a 

valid gear license required by harvest area, as described in 

4VAC20-720-75, and has not paid the current year's oyster 

resource user fee to harvest or possess more than eight 

bushels per day. It shall be unlawful for any vessel to exceed 

a daily vessel limit for clean cull oysters harvested from the 

areas described in 4VAC20-720-40 B 2 through 7 and 15 16, 

whereby that vessel limit shall equal the number of registered 

commercial fisherman licensees on board the vessel who hold 

a valid gear license and who have paid the oyster resource 

user fee multiplied by eight. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any vessel to exceed a daily 

vessel limit for clean cull oysters harvested from the areas 

described in 4VAC20-720-40 B 1, whereby that vessel limit 

shall equal the number of registered commercial fisherman 

licensees on board the vessel who hold a valid gear license 

and who have paid the oyster resource user fee multiplied by 

12. It shall be unlawful for any person who does not possess a 

valid commercial fisherman's registration license and hold a 

valid gear license required by harvest area, as described in 

4VAC20-720-75, and has not paid the current year's oyster 

resource user fee to harvest or possess more than 12 bushels 

per day.  

D. In the Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds Rotation Area 1, no 

blue crab bycatch is allowed. It shall be unlawful to possess 

on board any vessel more than 250 hard clams. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4500; Filed September 24, 2015, 3:12 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Criminal Justice Services 

Board is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that 

are necessary to conform to changes in Virginia statutory law 

where no agency discretion is involved. The Criminal Justice 

Services Board will receive, consider, and respond to 

petitions from any interested person at any time with respect 

to reconsideration or revision. 
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Title of Regulation: 6VAC20-40. Rules Relating to 

Compulsory Minimum Training Standards for 

Undercover Investigative Officers (repealing 6VAC20-40-

10 through 6VAC20-40-60).  

Statutory Authority: § 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 19, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Barbara Peterson-Wilson, Law Enforcement 

Program Coordinator, Department of Criminal Justice 

Services, 1100 Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 225-4503, FAX (804) 225-3853, or email 

barbara.peterson-wilson@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Chapter 278 of the 2015 Acts of Assembly eliminates the 

requirement that the Department of Criminal Justice 

Services establish training courses for undercover 

investigation work that is designed to be conducted for 

law-enforcement officers who have not completed the 

compulsory law-enforcement officer minimum training 

standards. This action repeals the associated regulations 

as unnecessary. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4375; Filed September 18, 2015, 3:15 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 6VAC20-230. Regulations Relating to 

Special Conservator of the Peace (amending 6VAC20-230-

30, 6VAC20-230-90).  

Statutory Authority: § 9.1-150.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

October 21, 2015 - 10 a.m. - Washington Building, 1100 

Bank Street, Room B27, Richmond, VA 23219. (Note: 

Individuals wishing to attend the public hearing must present 

a photo ID at the security desk when entering the building.) 

Public Comment Deadline: December 18, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Barbara Peterson-Wilson, Director of Policy 

and Legislative Affairs, Department of Criminal Justice 

Services, 1100 Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 225-4503, FAX (804) 786-6344, or email 

barbara.peterson-wilson@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 19.2-13 of the Code of Virginia requires 

persons appointed as a special conservator of the peace to be 

covered by a policy of liability insurance or self-insurance in 

an amount and with coverage as fixed by the Criminal Justice 

Services Board. Pursuant to § 9.1-150.2 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Criminal Justice Services Board is statutorily 

authorized to establish the amount and type of insurance 

coverage required for special conservators of the peace. It 

also has the statutory authority to adopt regulations 

establishing the qualifications of applicants for registration 

and to administer the regulatory system promulgated by the 

board.  

Purpose: Special conservators of the peace (SCOPs) are 

unique actors in that they are typically citizens granted full 

arrest authority equivalent to law-enforcement officers. 

SCOPs can carry firearms and use lethal force when effecting 

arrests; they can use the seal of the Commonwealth and the 

word "police" on their badges and uniforms. SCOPs engage 

in similar activities as law enforcement, such as enforcing the 

laws of the Commonwealth, making arrests, and dealing with 

dangerous people and situations while on duty. Because their 

authority, responsibilities, and actions are similar to that of 

law-enforcement officers, SCOPs need to be adequately and 

similarly protected from potential claims of wrongdoing. 

Unlike governmental actors, who enjoy a certain degree of 

protection, coverage and in some cases, immunity, SCOPs 

employed by private corporations likely enjoy no immunity 

for their actions and therefore need adequate coverage when 

claims are made against them. For the same reasons, citizens 

interacting with SCOPs must also be afforded some degree of 

protection or ability to be made whole after suffering 

wrongdoing or misconduct by SCOPs. 

Currently an SCOP applicant is required to maintain either a 

$10,000 surety or cash bond or a $10,000 general liability 

insurance policy. The $10,000 bond amount is the minimum 

amount that the board can fix pursuant to § 19.2-13 of the 

Code of Virginia; this requirement will be removed from the 

Code of Virginia pursuant to Chapters 766 and 772 of the 

2015 Acts of Assembly. The Code of Virginia does not 

specify a minimum amount of insurance and provides the 

board with the authority to fix the amount and type of 

insurance coverage. The board evaluated the established 

minimum standards to determine whether it adequately 

protected individual SCOPs, employers of SCOPs, and 

private citizens interacting with SCOPs.  

To this end, the board sought additional information and input 

from the Department of Criminal Justice Services (DCJS) and 

the Private Security Services Advisory Board (PSSAB). An 

expert from the Virginia Municipal League (VML) and an 

expert from the Virginia Department of Taxation, Division of 

Risk Management (DRM) both presented information to the 

board about bonds and insurance as it relates to the coverage 

of individuals with arrest authority. VML is statutorily 

authorized to provide insurance whose members include local 

governments, towns, and counties. VML is the insurance 

company for 150 police departments in Virginia. The 

Division of Risk Management protects Virginia's state 

government, other public entities, and certain qualified 

individuals from financial loss caused by legal liability, loss 

to property, and other hazards. DRM protects a diverse range 

of exposures for state government, constitutional officers, 

local governments, and others throughout Virginia. 

The experts indicated that a cash bond is a bond paid in cash 

and is not secured by property or real estate. They further 

advised that cash and surety bonds merely protect an 

employer from dishonest acts of the employee (such as theft) 

and speculated that the bond requirement for special 

conservators was an antiquated method that was likely 

codified in § 19.2-13 prior to the emergence of insurance. 

Both experts advised that bonds do not act like insurance and 
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do nothing to protect the public from misconduct or injury 

inflicted by special conservators of the peace. Ideally, the 

SCOP would be covered by both a bond (to protect the 

employer) and liability insurance (to protect the SCOP and 

public). The expert from DRM advised that additional 

coverage of a $500,000 faithful performance bond exists for 

all state employees. 

The board was advised of the different types of insurance. 

General liability insurance covers situations resulting in 

injury or damage to another person or property. Self-

insurance of one's property or interests against possible loss is 

established through a special fund for that specific purpose, 

instead of seeking coverage with an underwriter. Self-

insurance is typically used by local and state governments. 

Law-enforcement liability insurance, a type of professional 

insurance, covers what general liability insurance does not, 

namely actions and misconduct arising out of arrests or the 

enforcement of criminal laws. Law-enforcement liability 

insurance covers errors of judgment (what the SCOP should 

have done), such as excessive use of force, wrongful 

detention, racial profiling, and infliction of mental anguish. 

Most law-enforcement claims are for errors of judgment and 

excessive use of force and, to a lesser degree, include claims 

for racial profiling and mental anguish. The main difference 

between general liability insurance and professional law-

enforcement liability is that professional law-enforcement 

liability covers specific actions arising out of law-

enforcement duties and actions. 

The experts also advised the board that the industry standard 

for coverage of individuals with arrest authority is $1 million 

in professional law-enforcement coverage. VML insures all 

of its member officers and special conservators of the peace 

for at least $1 million per occurrence, and many police 

departments pay for additional coverage. By statute, sheriffs 

are covered by a $1.5 million liability policy and a $500,000 

fidelity bond. The experts informed the board that there is a 

healthy, commercial market available for the purchase of 

professional law-enforcement liability.  

In summary, the experts advised that a $10,000 bond and a 

$10,000 general liability insurance plan was not adequate 

coverage to (i) provide recourse for an individual harmed by 

SCOP actions or misconduct or (ii) protect the SCOP from 

claims arising out of his law-enforcement activities.  

Prior to making a decision, the board also sought advice from 

the Private Security Services Advisory Board. The PSSAB 

recommended that the board increase the bond amount to 

$100,000 and to change the insurance amount and type to 

$500,000 in a general liability insurance plan. DCJS 

recommended increasing the bond amount to $100,000 and 

changing the insurance amount and type to $500,000 in 

professional law-enforcement liability insurance.  

After considering all information and recommendations from 

experts, DCJS, and PSSAB, and mindful of ensuring the 

health, safety, and welfare of citizens and special 

conservators of the peace arising out of the law-enforcement 

duties of SCOPs, the board decided at its June 2014 meeting 

that special conservators of the peace must maintain either a 

$100,000 surety or cash bond or $500,000 professional law-

enforcement liability in order to become eligible for 

registration and appointment. On May 7, 2015, the board 

decided to remove the proposal to increase the surety or cash 

bond and to strike the requirement from the regulations to 

conform to statutory language enacted by Chapters 766 and 

772 of the 2015 Acts of Assembly. 

Substance: The proposed changes reflect the board's statutory 

authority to amend the $10,000 general liability or self-

insurance to a minimum of $500,000 in professional law-

enforcement liability insurance. Further, the proposed 

changes reflect the removal of the cash or surety bond option 

to conform to the change in the Code of Virginia as enacted 

in Chapters 766 and 772 of the 2015 Acts of Assembly. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is ensuring an 

increased opportunity for recourse in the event that an 

individual is harmed as a result of interacting with an SCOP. 

Individual SCOPs are also provided with increased liability 

protection for actions arising out of their conduct. The current 

requirements do nothing to protect the individual SCOP from 

defending against actions arising out of their errors of 

judgment. There are no disadvantages to the agency or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Criminal Justice Services Board (Board) proposes to amend 

its regulation for special conservators of the peace (SCOP) to 

change the type of insurance that SCOPs must be covered 

under and to increase the amount of insurance required from 

$10,000 to $500,000. Pursuant to Chapter 772 of the 2015 

Acts of the Assembly, the Board also proposes to eliminate 

language that allowed SCOPs to carry a surety bond instead 

of insurance. 

Result of Analysis. There is insufficient information to 

ascertain whether benefits will outweigh costs for this 

proposed regulatory action. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Current regulation requires that 

special conservators of the peace (SCOP) have either a surety 

bond worth at least $10,000 or have at least $10,000 in 

comprehensive general insurance. In 2015, the General 

Assembly eliminated the choice for SCOPs to secure surety 

bonds; Board staff reports that the General Assembly made 

this change to SCOP legislation because surety bonds 

normally only provide coverage against economic losses 

caused by the covered employees theft and, so, would be an 

inappropriate instrument to cover SCOPs for claims made 

against them and to provide protection for the public from the 

misconduct of SCOPs.  

For this reason, the Board also proposes to change the type of 

insurance required for SCOPs from comprehensive general 
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insurance liability insurance to professional law-enforcement 

liability insurance which covers actions and misconduct that 

may arise during arrests or the enforcement of criminal laws. 

Upon consultation with the Private Security Services 

Advisory Board, the Virginia Municipal League and the 

Department of Taxation's Division of Risk Management, the 

Board also proposes to increase the amount of insurance 

coverage required from $10,000 to $500,000. Board staff 

reports that the proposed insurance coverage will likely cost 

individual SCOPs or their employers in the range of $2,500 to 

$25,000 per year. Board staff reports that rates will vary 

widely based on any number of factors including the 

revenues, operational risk and history of the employing 

business as well as the scope of practice of the SCOPs. 

Changing the type and amount of insurance required will 

better protect the public from harm caused by SCOP 

misconduct. There is insufficient information about the scope 

of misconduct experienced by citizens of the Commonwealth 

in a typical year to ascertain whether benefits will outweigh 

costs for these regulatory changes. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Board staff reports that 

there are 760 SCOPs registered with the Board. Board staff 

estimates that less than one percent of these SCOPs are 

individual proprietors that would qualify as small businesses 

and reports that all other SCOPs are in the employ of cities, 

counties, state agencies or large corporations. All of these 

entities and their employers will be affected by these 

regulatory changes.  

Localities Particularly Affected. Localities that employ 

SCOPs will be particularly affected by this proposed 

regulation. Localities that currently hold surety bonds on their 

SCOPs may see increased costs as they will have to obtain 

insurance for them instead. Board staff reports that five 

localities currently hold surety bonds on their SCOP 

employees. Board staff further reports that the other 30 

localities that employ SCOPs have law-enforcement 

insurance to cover them that is already greater than the limits 

set by the Board. These localities will likely not see increased 

costs. 

Projected Impact on Employment. Increasing insurance 

requirements in this regulatory action and the elimination of 

the surety bond alternative will likely increase costs for 

employing SCOPs and may, consequently, decrease the 

number of individuals who are employed in this field. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. To the 

extent that this regulatory action raises the cost of working as 

an SCOP, individual proprietor SCOPs will likely see 

decreased profits. Individual proprietor SCOPs whose costs 

increase to the point that their businesses are not profitable at 

all will likely close those businesses and find other 

employment.  

Large corporations that employ SCOPs may experience some 

decrease in profits or they may choose to employ fewer 

SCOPs as a result of increasing insurance requirements. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Individual 

proprietor SCOPs will have to pay likely much higher 

insurance premiums on account of this regulatory action. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. There are likely no alternative methods that 

would both meet the Board's goal and further reduce costs. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. 

General: The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has 

analyzed the economic impact of this proposed regulation in 

accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and 

Executive Order Number 17 (2014). Section 2.2-4007.04 

requires that such economic impact analyses determine the 

public benefits and costs of the proposed amendments. 

Further the report should include but not be limited to: 

• the projected number of businesses or other entities to 

whom the proposed regulation would apply, 

• the identity of any localities and types of businesses or 

other entities particularly affected, 

• the projected number of persons and employment 

positions to be affected,  

• the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and  

• the impact on the use and value of private property.  

Small Businesses: If the proposed regulation will have an 

adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires 

that such economic impact analyses include: 

• an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the proposed regulation, 

• the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other 

administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the proposed regulation, including the type 

of professional skills necessary for preparing required 

reports and other documents, 

• a statement of the probable effect of the proposed 

regulation on affected small businesses, and  

• a description of any less intrusive or less costly 

alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the 

proposed regulation.  

Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1, if there is a finding 

that a proposed regulation may have an adverse impact on 

small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative 

Rules is notified at the time the proposed regulation is 

submitted to the Virginia Register of Regulations for 

publication. This analysis shall represent DPB's best estimate 

for the purposes of public review and comment on the 

proposed regulation. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Criminal Justice Services concurs with the 
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economic impact analysis of the Department of Planning and 

Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) change the type of insurance 

under which special conservators of the peace must be 

covered; (ii) increase the amount of insurance required 

from $10,000 to $500,000; and (iii) pursuant to Chapters 

766 and 772 of the 2015 Acts of Assembly, eliminate 

language allowing a special conservator of the peace to 

carry a surety bond instead of insurance. 

6VAC20-230-30. Initial registration application.  

A. Individuals are required to be registered pursuant to 

§ 19.2-13 of the Code of Virginia in the category of special 

conservator of the peace. Prior to the issuance of a 

registration, the applicant shall meet or exceed the 

requirements of registration and application submittal to the 

department as set forth in this section. Individuals who carry 

or have access to a firearm while on duty must have a valid 

registration with firearms verification. The court may limit or 

prohibit the carrying of weapons by any special conservator 

of the peace as defined in § 19.2-13 F G of the Code of 

Virginia.  

B. Each person applying for registration shall meet the 

minimum requirements for eligibility as follows:  

1. Be a minimum of 18 years of age;  

2. Successfully complete all initial training requirements 

for special conservator of the peace, including firearms 

verification if applicable, requested pursuant to the entry-

level training standards in 6VAC20-230-160; and  

3. Be a United States citizen or legal resident alien of the 

United States.  

C. Each person applying for registration shall file with the 

department:  

1. A properly completed application provided by the 

department;  

2. His mailing address on the application;  

3. Fingerprint cards pursuant to 6VAC20-230-40;  

4. The applicable, nonrefundable application fee;  

5. A drug and alcohol test pursuant to 6VAC230-50 

6VAC20-230-50; and  

6. Pursuant to § 19.2-13 C D of the Code of Virginia, 

documentation verifying that the applicant has secured a 

surety bond or cash bond in the amount not to be less than 

$10,000 executed by a surety company authorized to do 

business in Virginia, or a certificate of insurance reflecting 

the department as a certificate holder, showing a policy of 

comprehensive general professional law-enforcement 

liability insurance with a minimum coverage of $10,000 

$500,000 issued by an insurance company authorized to do 

business in Virginia.  

D. Upon completion of the initial registration application 

requirements, the department may issue a temporary 

registration letter for not more than 120 days at a time while 

awaiting the results of the state and national fingerprint search 

provided the applicant has met the necessary conditions and 

requirements. This temporary registration letter shall be taken 

to the circuit court where seeking appointment for special 

conservator of the peace.  

E. Each registration shall be issued to the individual named 

on the application and shall be valid only for use by that 

individual. No registration shall be assigned or otherwise 

transferred to another individual.  

F. Each registered individual shall comply with all 

applicable administrative requirements and standards of 

conduct and shall not engage in any acts prohibited by 

applicable sections of the Code of Virginia and this chapter.  

G. Once the individual has met the requirements and 

received a temporary registration letter, he shall petition the 

circuit court for appointment in the jurisdiction where the 

individual will be employed.  

H. Meeting the requirements of registration allows an 

individual to be eligible for appointment. Registration does 

not guarantee appointment.  

I. Upon completion of an appointment by a circuit court, the 

individual shall file with the department a copy of the court 

order granting appointment as a special conservator of the 

peace. A final registration letter will be issued by the 

department. This registration letter shall be submitted to a 

specified entity for a state-issued photo identification card.  

6VAC20-230-90. Reinstatement.  

A. Individuals who do not renew their registration on or 

before the expiration date may not work as a special 

conservator of the peace until reinstatement requirements 

have been met. Pursuant to the Code of Virginia, all such 

persons must currently be registered with the department as a 

special conservator of the peace.  

B. A renewal application must be received by the 

department within 60 days following the expiration date of 

the registration in order to be reinstated by the department 

providing all renewal requirements have been met. The 

department shall not reinstate renewal applications received 

after the 60-day reinstatement period has expired. It is 

unlawful to operate without a valid registration during the 

reinstatement period. The department shall not reinstate a 

registration that has become null and void due to not 

maintaining required insurance or surety bond coverage. The 

department will notify the court when an individual has not 

met the registration renewal requirements with the 

department. Prior to reinstatement, the following shall be 

submitted to the department:  

1. The appropriate renewal application and completion of 

renewal requirements including required training pursuant 

to this chapter; and  
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2. The applicable, nonrefundable reinstatement fee.  

C. A registration shall be renewed or reinstated only when 

all renewal application requirements are received by the 

department. After the 60-day reinstatement period, an 

applicant shall meet all initial application requirements, 

including applicable training requirements.  

D. Following submittal of all reinstatement requirements, 

the department will process and may approve any application 

for reinstatement pursuant to the renewal process for the 

application.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4099; Filed September 18, 2015, 11:46 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 6VAC20-280. Rules Relating to 

Compulsory Minimum Training Standards for Law-

Enforcement Field Training Officers (adding 6VAC20-

280-10 through 6VAC20-280-90).  

Statutory Authority: § 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 18, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Barbara Peterson-Wilson, Law Enforcement 

Program Coordinator, Department of Criminal Justice 

Services, 1100 Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 225-4503, or email barbara.peterson-

wilson@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulation establishes minimum training standards 

and qualifications for the certification and recertification 

of law-enforcement officers serving as field training 

officers. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

CHAPTER 280 

RULES RELATING TO COMPULSORY MINIMUM 

TRAINING STANDARDS FOR LAW-ENFORCEMENT 

FIELD TRAINING OFFICERS 

6VAC20-280-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Academy director" means the chief administrative officer 

of a certified training academy. 

"Agency administrator" means any chief of police, sheriff, 

or agency head of a state or local law-enforcement agency. 

"Board" means the Criminal Justice Services Board. 

"Certified training academy" means a training facility in 

compliance with academy certification standards operated by 

the state or by local units of government for the purpose of 

providing instruction of compulsory minimum training 

standards. 

"Compulsory minimum training standards" means the 

performance outcomes and training criteria approved by the 

board's Committee on Training.  

"Department" means the Department of Criminal Justice 

Services. 

"Director" means the chief administrative officer of the 

department or his designee. 

"Field training officer" means a certified law-enforcement 

officer who provides training to newly employed law-

enforcement officers for the purposes of training and 

measuring entry-level officer performance.  

"Provisional field training officer" means a certified law-

enforcement officer who provides training to a newly 

employed law-enforcement officer for the purposes of 

training and measuring entry-level officer performance, but 

who has not met the standards as prescribed under 6VAC20-

280-20. A provisional field training officer is only allowed to 

act as a field training officer if no other field training officer 

is available for that department. 

6VAC20-280-20. Compulsory minimum training 

standards. 

Pursuant to the provisions of subdivision 3 of § 9.1-102 of 

the Code of Virginia, the department establishes these 

standards [ for as the ] compulsory minimum training 

standards for law-enforcement field training officers.  

1. The course shall include a minimum of 32 hours of 

training and must address each of the following subjects: 

a. Field training program and the field training officer. 

b. Field training program delivery and evaluation. 

c. Training liability. 

d. Characteristics of the adult learner. 

e. Methods of instruction. 

f. Fundamentals of communication. 

g. Written test. 

2. A field training officer recertification course shall 

include a minimum of two hours of training. The director 

of a certified training academy shall establish 

recertification criteria for that academy.  

6VAC20-280-30. Applicability. 

A. Every law-enforcement officer designated by the agency 

administrator to serve as a field training officer must meet the 

compulsory minimum training standards established in 

6VAC20-280-20 after December 31, [ 2013 2015 ]. 

B. The law-enforcement officer selected as a field training 

officer shall successfully complete a field training program 

designed by the certified criminal justice academy.  

C. All officers serving as field training officers after 

December 31, [ 2013 2015 ], shall be required to comply with 

this chapter other than for recertification.  

D. A provisional field training officer must be certified by 

the department. A provisional field training officer 

certification: 
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1. Requires a high school diploma or high school 

equivalency examination approved by the Board of 

Education; 

2. Requires that the field training officer has met the 

minimum training standards for the primary function for 

which he is employed by a criminal justice agency, if 

applicable; 

3. Does not authorize an individual to instruct or qualify 

others in mandated firearms, defensive tactics, driver 

training, or radar courses; and 

4. Is not valid for more than one year and is not renewable.  

Individuals may apply for field training officer certification 

upon meeting the requirements of this chapter. 

6VAC20-280-40. Time required for completion of 

training. 

Effective January 1, [ 2014 2016 ], each law-enforcement 

officer designated by the agency administrator to serve as a 

field training officer shall comply with field training officer 

training requirements in 6VAC20-280-20 prior to serving in 

the capacity of that position.  

6VAC20-280-50. Compliance with compulsory minimum 

training standards. 

A. The field training officer curriculum shall be maintained 

in accordance with the academy certification standards. The 

academy director shall maintain documentation of the type of 

training approved, means of attaining such training, and 

means of testing such programs.  

B. Training developed and conducted shall be subject to 

inspection and reviewed by the department. 

C. Agencies without a certified field training officer may 

complete the Category 10 requirements of 6VAC20-20-21 

with a certified field training officer from another Virginia 

criminal justice agency. 

6VAC20-280-60. Grading. 

A. All certified training academies shall utilize testing 

procedures for initial certification that indicate that the field 

training officer has satisfactorily completed the training 

standards of this chapter. 

B. Academy training records must be maintained in 

accordance with the provisions of this chapter and §§ 42.1-76 

through 42.1-90.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

6VAC20-280-70. Recertification. 

A field training officer's initial certification is valid for three 

years and may be renewed by attending a field training officer 

recertification course. The recertification course must contain 

at least two hours of training, and the director of a certified 

training academy shall establish recertification criteria for that 

academy. 

6VAC20-280-80. Failure to comply with rules and 

regulations. 

Any individual attending a certified training academy shall 

comply with the rules and regulations promulgated by the 

department. The academy director shall be responsible for 

enforcement of all rules and regulations established to govern 

the conduct of attendees. If the academy director considers a 

violation of the rules and regulations detrimental to the 

welfare of the academy, the academy director may expel the 

individual from the academy. Notification of such action shall 

immediately be reported in writing to the agency 

administrator of the individual in accordance with the rules 

and regulations within the authority of the certified training 

academy. 

6VAC20-280-90. Administrative requirements. 

Records of field training officer certification and 

recertification shall be maintained by the employing agency.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-2896; Filed September 17, 2015, 1:05 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC20-110. Regulations Governing 

the Transportation of Hazardous Materials (amending 

9VAC20-110-110).  

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1450 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: November 18, 2015. 

Effective Date: December 3, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Debra Harris, Department of Environmental 

Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, 

VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4209, FAX (804) 698-4346, 

or email debra.harris@deq.virginia.gov. 

Basis: This regulation is promulgated under the authorities of 

§ 10.1-1450 of the Code of Virginia, which requires the 

Virginia Waste Management Board to promulgate regulations 

designating the manner and method by which hazardous 

materials shall be loaded, unloaded, packed, identified, 

marked, placarded, stored, and transported. Additionally, the 

board's overall authority is provided in § 10.1-1402 of the 

Virginia Waste Management Act, Chapter 14 (§ 10.1-1400 et 

seq.) of Title 10.1 of the Code of Virginia, which authorizes 

the Virginia Waste Management Board to promulgate and 

enforce regulations necessary to carry out its powers and 

duties and the intent of the chapter and federal law.  

Purpose: The Virginia State Police is provided grant funds 

through the federal government's Motor Carrier Safety 

Assistance Program (MCSAP) for its hazardous materials 
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program. A program audit by the U.S. Department of 

Transportation's Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration 

noted that 9VAC20-110 did not include the requirements of 

Subpart F of 49 CFR Part 107, which is a condition for the 

grant. Therefore, an amendment to 9VAC20-110-110 to add 

Subpart F to the list of federal regulations incorporated by 

reference is necessary. This amendment will provide the 

Virginia State Police with the ability to ensure cargo tanks 

used to transport hazardous material are properly registered in 

accordance with federal requirements and will also meet the 

conditions for the MCSAP grant and will provide a beneficial 

impact for the public's safety. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: This amendment is 

not expected to be controversial as it is necessary to revise the 

regulation to meet the MCSAP grant conditions and provide 

the Virginia State Police with the ability to ensure hazardous 

material transport cargo tanks' registration, and records are in 

accordance with federal requirements. 

Substance: The changes to the regulations have been made to 

include the requirements of Subpart F of 49 CFR Part 107. 

Issues: There are no advantages or disadvantages to the 

public. The advantage to the Commonwealth is that this 

amendment will provide the Virginia State Police with the 

ability to ensure cargo tanks used to transport hazardous 

material are properly registered in accordance with federal 

requirements and will also meet the conditions for their 

MCSAP grant. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Virginia Waste Management Board (Board) proposes to 

amend its Regulations Governing the Transportation of 

Hazardous Materials to incorporate by reference 49 CFR 107 

Subpart F (which is a federal regulation that includes 

registration and recordkeeping requirements for people who 

manufacture, assemble, inspect or repair certain cargo tank 

motor vehicles).  

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for this 

proposed regulatory change. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The Board's Regulations 

Governing the Transportation of Hazardous Materials set 

rules for (and incorporate federal regulations that affect) the 

State Police's enforcement of safe hazardous materials 

transportation. The State Police are able to get grants to 

defray the cost of enforcement through the federal 

government's Motor Carrier Safety Assistance Program 

(MCSAP) so long as this regulation includes all applicable 

federal rules. A recent audit by the U.S. Department of 

Transportation, however, noted that the Board's Regulations 

did not include the requirements contained in 49 CFR 107 

Subpart F. In order for the State Police to continue to be 

eligible to apply for MCSAP grants, the Board now proposes 

to incorporate 49 CFR 107 Subpart F by reference. 

No affected entity is likely to incur any costs on account of 

this regulatory change because all regulated entities already 

have to follow all applicable federal laws and regulations. 

This proposed regulatory change will benefit regulated 

entities as it will give them a more complete picture of the 

rules that they must comply to. The State Police will also 

benefit from this change as it will allow them to continue 

getting federal grant money to defray the costs of this 

enforcement program. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. All individuals or entities 

that haul hazardous materials, as well as the State Police that 

enforce hazardous waste transportation laws and regulations, 

will be affected by this regulatory change. Board staff reports 

that approximately 33,000 cargo tank trucks hauling 

hazardous materials are inspected by the State Police each 

year. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action.  

Projected Impact on Employment. This proposed regulation is 

unlikely to affect employment in the Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 

proposed regulation is unlikely to affect the use or value of 

private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No small business 

is likely to incur any costs on account of the proposed 

regulation. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. No small business is likely to incur any costs 

on account of the proposed regulation. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This proposed regulation is 

unlikely to affect real estate development costs. 

Legal Mandate. 

General: The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has 

analyzed the economic impact of this proposed regulation in 

accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and 

Executive Order Number 17 (2014). Section 2.2-4007.04 

requires that such economic impact analyses determine the 

public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments.  Further the report should include but not be 

limited to: 

• the projected number of businesses or other entities to 

whom the proposed regulation would apply, 

• the identity of any localities and types of businesses or 

other entities particularly affected, 

• the projected number of persons and employment 

positions to be affected,  

• the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and  

• the impact on the use and value of private property.  

Small Businesses: If the proposed regulation will have an 

adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires 

that such economic impact analyses include: 
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• an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the proposed regulation, 

• the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other 

administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the proposed regulation, including the type 

of professional skills necessary for preparing required 

reports and other documents, 

• a statement of the probable effect of the proposed 

regulation on affected small businesses, and  

• a description of any less intrusive or less costly 

alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the 

proposed regulation.  

Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1, if there is a finding 

that a proposed regulation may have an adverse impact on 

small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative 

Rules is notified at the time the proposed regulation is 

submitted to the Virginia Register of Regulations for 

publication. This analysis shall represent DPB's best estimate 

for the purposes of public review and comment on the 

proposed regulation. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

department has reviewed the economic impact analysis 

prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget and has 

no comment. 

Summary: 

The amendments incorporate by reference 49 CFR Part 

107 Subpart F, a federal regulation that includes 

registration and recordkeeping requirements for people 

who manufacture, assemble, inspect, or repair certain 

cargo tank motor vehicles. 

Part III  

Compliance with Federal Regulations  

9VAC20-110-110. Compliance.  

Every person who transports or offers for transportation 

hazardous materials within or through the Commonwealth of 

Virginia shall comply with the federal regulations governing 

the transportation of hazardous materials promulgated by the 

United States Secretary of Transportation with amendments 

promulgated as of October 1, 2014, pursuant to the 

Hazardous Materials Transportation Act, and located at Title 

49 of the Code of Federal Regulations as set forth below and 

which are incorporated in these regulations by reference:  

1. Special Permits. 49 CFR Part 107, Subpart B.  

2. Registration of Cargo Tank and Cargo Tank Motor 

Vehicle Manufacturers, Assemblers, Repairers, Inspectors, 

Testers, and Design Certifying Engineers in 49 CFR Part 

107, Subpart F.  

2. 3. Registration of Persons Who Offer or Transport 

Hazardous Materials in 49 CFR Part 107, Subpart G.  

3. 4. Hazardous Materials Regulations in 49 CFR Parts 171 

through 177.  

4. 5. Specifications for Packagings in 49 CFR Part 178.  

5. 6. Specifications for Tank Cars in 49 CFR Part 179.  

6. 7. Continuing Qualification and Maintenance of 

Packagings in 49 CFR Part 180.  

7. 8. Motor Carrier Safety Regulations in 49 CFR Parts 

390 through 397.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-3970; Filed September 29, 2015, 2:51 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-130. Amount, Duration and 

Scope of Selected Services (amending 12VAC30-130-800, 

12VAC30-130-810, 12VAC30-130-820).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: November 18, 2015. 

Effective Date: December 3, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia grants to the 

Board of Medical Assistance Services the authority to 

administer and amend the Plan for Medical Assistance. 

Section 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

Director of the Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) to administer and amend the Plan for Medical 

Assistance according to the board's requirements. The 

Medicaid authority as established by § 1902(a) of the Social 

Security Act (42 USC § 1396a) provides governing authority 

for payments for services. 

42 CFR 431.54(e) permits state Medicaid agencies to have 

programs that restrict Medicaid individuals who have been 

found to be over-utilizing either physician or pharmacy 

services, or both. DMAS' Client Medical Management 

(CMM) Programs operate under the authority of a § 1915(b) 

(of the Social Security Act) waiver granted by the Centers for 

Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS). The waiver permits 

DMAS to deny the standard freedom of choice (42 CFR 

§ 431.51) to these identified recipients and restrict them to 

specified physicians or pharmacies, or both. 

Purpose: The purpose of this action is to promulgate 

permanent regulatory changes for the CMM Programs. Item 

301 RR of Chapter 2 of the 2014 Acts of the Assembly, 

Special Session I, directed DMAS to make programmatic 
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changes to this program to ensure appropriate utilization, 

prevent abuse, promote improved and cost efficient medical 

management of essential health care, and assist and educate 

beneficiaries in appropriately using medical and pharmacy 

services. These changes will further improve the health, 

safety, and welfare of individuals who are eligible for 

Medicaid and who also use higher than typical amounts of 

services from different physicians and pharmacies by 

assisting and educating these individuals in the appropriate 

use of medical and pharmacy services. 

These changes will not impact the health and safety of the 

Commonwealth citizens who do not receive Medicaid 

services. These changes will not affect Medicaid enrolled 

providers. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: DMAS believes that 

the fast-track rulemaking process is appropriate because these 

proposed changes are more liberal than the current policies. 

DMAS does not anticipate any objections to these changes. 

The CMM Programs are still DMAS' utilization control 

programs for fee-for-service individuals. DMAS did not 

receive any objections to the emergency regulations or 

comments during the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

public comment period. 

Substance: This action affects the Client Medical 

Management Programs (12VAC30-130-800, 12VAC30-130-

810, and 12VAC30-130-820). 

Currently, the regulations that provide for the administration 

of the CMM programs affect the fee-for-service Medicaid 

eligible population, which is only potentially 31% of the 

entire Medicaid population. These regulations do not affect 

those individuals who participate in the managed care model 

of service delivery. 

Medicaid's managed care program is now statewide and as of 

April 2014 cared for 69% of all Medicaid eligible individuals. 

12VAC30-120-370 sets out the reasons that individuals can 

be exempted from participating in the managed care program. 

Some of the reasons are (i) individuals are inpatients in state 

mental hospitals, nursing facilities, intermediate care facilities 

for individuals with intellectual disabilities, or hospice; (ii) 

individuals are affected by Medicaid spend-down policies; 

(iii) individuals are in either home or community-based 

waiver programs; (iv) individuals are eligible for Part C 

services through the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services; (v) individuals have an eligibility 

period less than three months in duration or have retroactive 

eligibility; or (vi) children are enrolled in the Virginia Birth-

Related Neurological Injury Compensation Program 

established pursuant to Chapter 50 (§ 38.2-5000 et seq.) of 

Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia. Only the individuals who 

fit any of these exemption reasons receive their medical care 

via the fee-for-service model and therefore can be affected by 

CMM. 

Pursuant to current CMM regulations and after patterns of 

inappropriate or excessive service use are identified, 

individuals are restricted to one pharmacy or physician for a 

minimum of 36 months. At the end of the restriction period, if 

the recipient continues to demonstrate inappropriate use of 

services, he is re-enrolled in the program for another 36 

months. DMAS tracks this inappropriate use with computer 

claim denial codes that result from providers' bills for 

services that may have been rendered. 

Even though the recidivism rate averages about 7.8%, DMAS 

believes changing the restriction period to 24 months initially 

and 12 months for re-enrollment to be appropriate. With the 

managed care statewide expansion, the CMM potential 

population has substantially decreased. This reduction in 

CMM restricted members along with the changes to the 

restrictions periods will allow staff to facilitate resolution of 

any early enrollment issues and also to be more proactive in 

assisting and educating Medicaid individuals in appropriately 

using medical and pharmacy services. DMAS staff will 

continue to work with members who are over-utilizing 

services, but also will more closely assess under-utilization 

that results in abusive practices. These changes may also 

contribute to cost avoidance.  

This action continues to provide for the medical care needs of 

individuals with multiple diagnoses and complex health care 

needs that require care from physicians and specialists in 

addition to their primary care physicians. Provision is also 

retained for individuals who have legitimate complex medical 

conditions that require high numbers of prescription 

medications. Provisions are being retained for such complex 

care recipients to appeal a restriction status and be exempted 

from restriction.  

Providers must require that Medicaid individuals present their 

Medicaid identification cards when they present for services. 

When providers input the unique identification number, they 

are advised that the individual's access to physician or 

pharmacy services, or both, is restricted. This action 

continues to provide that if the individual's restriction 

pharmacy does not have the required drug, or in emergency 

situations, the individual may receive the required medication 

from an alternative pharmacy. Such alternative pharmacies 

are paid for providing medications in such situations. 

Individuals demonstrating the following utilization patterns 

will be evaluated to determine if they warrant being restricted 

to designated physician or pharmacy providers, or both: 

• An individual receiving narcotic prescriptions from two 

or more prescribers without supporting diagnoses 

indicative of use.  

• An individual having two occurrences of filling 

prescriptions for the same drug two or more times on the 

same or the subsequent day.  

• An individual receiving more than 24 prescriptions in a 

three-month period.  

• An individual receiving more than 12 psychotropic 

prescriptions, more than 12 analgesic prescriptions, or 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+38.2-5000
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more than 12 prescriptions for controlled drugs that have 

the potential for abuse, in a three-month period. 

• An individual who uses emergency hospital services for 

three or more emergency room visits for nonemergency 

care during a three-month period to include cases of self 

referral, nonacute episodes of care, or solely for nonacute 

management of chronic diagnoses or symptoms.  

• Utilizing services from three or more prescribers and 

three or more dispensing pharmacies in a three-month 

period. 

• Exceeding the maximum therapeutic dosage of the 

same drug or multiple drugs in the same therapeutic 

class, which have been prescribed by two or more 

practitioners, for a period exceeding four weeks.  

• Receiving two or more drugs, duplicative in nature or 

potentially addictive (even within acceptable therapeutic 

levels), dispensed by more than one pharmacy or 

prescribed by more than one practitioner for a period 

exceeding four weeks. 

• Utilizing three or more different physicians of the same 

type or specialty in a three-month period for treatment of 

the same or similar condition or conditions.  

• Two or more occurrences of seeing two or more 

physicians of the same type or specialty on the same or 

subsequent day for the same or similar diagnosis.  

• Duplicative, excessive, or contraindicated utilization of 

medications, medical supplies, or appliances dispensed 

by or prescribed by more than one provider for the time 

period specified by DMAS.  

• One or more providers recommend restriction for 

medical management because the recipient has 

demonstrated inappropriate utilization practices.  

• A pattern of noncompliance that is inconsistent with 

sound fiscal or medical practices. For example, 

noncompliance may be characterized by (i) failure to 

disclose to a provider any treatment or services provided 

by another provider; (ii) failure to follow a drug regimen 

or other recommended treatment; (iii) requests for 

medical services or medications that are not medically 

necessary; (iv) use of hospital emergency services via 

self-referral for nonacute episodes of care, or solely for 

nonacute management of the medical condition; or (v) 

under-use or under-utilization of medically necessary 

services that result in higher costs for the management of 

the medical condition.  

• Any documented occurrences of use of the eligibility 

card to obtain drugs under false pretenses, which 

includes, but is not limited to the purchase or attempt to 

purchase drugs via a forged or altered prescription.  

• Any documented occurrences of card-sharing.  

• Any documented occurrences of alteration of the 

recipient eligibility card.  

Controls placed on individuals who may be abusing services 

will improve cost-efficiency of care and enable better 

monitoring and improved coordination of the health care 

needs toward the overall goal of improved health care 

outcomes. The following are examples of individuals whose 

use of Medicaid covered services warranted being included in 

a CMM program.  

CASE A: For an individual who receives medical 

services for multiple diagnoses, a utilization review 

process documents the use of seven physicians, three 

pharmacies, and nonemergency services. In some of 

these instances, DMAS has found such individuals 

refusing regular therapies and opting instead for 

treatment in emergency rooms and hospitals. During such 

an individual's CMM program enrollment, DMAS staff 

(Recipient Monitoring Unit (RMU) case manager) would 

make multiple contacts with the individual, providers, 

other DMAS units and resources in the individual's 

community to identify and facilitate coordination of care 

with one treatment center. After enrollment in a CMM 

program, such an individual would receive scheduled 

services at one treatment center and pharmaceutical 

services at one pharmacy, while nonemergency services 

are denied or paid at reduced rates. In this manner, the 

individual's health would be stabilized through 

appropriate use of available services.  

CASE B: For an individual, who is receiving medical 

services for multiple diagnoses (such as diabetes, 

depression, and chronic pain), a utilization review 

process documents the use of four physicians and one 

pharmacy with simultaneous prescriptions for narcotic 

analgesics and medicine for maintenance treatment of 

opioid dependence. Since enrollment in a CMM 

program, the individual's health care is coordinated by a 

primary care physician who has referred this individual 

to other health care providers that treat such diagnoses. 

Pharmaceutical services are received at one pharmacy. 

CASE C: For an individual who is receiving medical 

services for multiple diagnoses (such as back pain, 

bipolar disorder, diabetes, and asthma), a utilization 

review process documented the use of five physicians 

and 10 pharmacies with duplicate prescriptions from the 

several physicians. The individual also had the same 

day/subsequent day filling of syringe supplies. RMU 

staff discussed inappropriate utilization identified during 

the review process with the individual prior to enrollment 

in a CMM program. Since enrollment in a CMM 

program, the individual's pharmaceutical services are 

coordinated through one pharmacy and one primary care 

physician who is the primary prescriber of medications. 

During routine monitoring of services, there have been 

documented attempts by the individual to use 

nondesignated pharmacies for services. 
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Issues: The primary advantage to the general public and 

private citizens of proposed amendments is the decrease in 

the duplicative efforts of doctors and pharmacies by allowing 

them to provide the same level of care for all patients. The 

amendments also reduce an individual's access to excessive 

amounts of medications that have therapeutic properties that 

could cause harm to himself and other individuals in the 

community if they are re-sold to other persons. 

The primary advantage to the Commonwealth is the close 

monitoring of the fee-for-service Medicaid population's 

utilization patterns and the identifying of instances of over-

utilization and noncompliance that could result in 

misappropriations of state and federal funding. Restriction of 

individuals to one pharmacy or physician, or both, has 

resulted in reductions in Medicaid expenditures for 

individuals during Client Medical Management restriction 

periods. There are no disadvantages to the public or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) 

proposes to 1) reduce the time periods the individuals with 

excessive utilization patterns may be restricted to a single 

physician and/or a pharmacy from 36 to 24 months initially 

and from 36 to 12 months beyond the initial restriction 

period, and 2) add under-utilization among the factors that 

may cause an individual to be enrolled in the program. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The Client Medical 

Management program restricts access of individuals who 

have a history of utilizing high numbers of different 

physicians and/or pharmacies for their primary health care 

services to a single physician and/or pharmacy. 
1
 Restriction 

in the program is for a defined period of time and the 

individual is required to establish a medical home with a 

single primary care physician and/or pharmacy once enrolled 

in the program. The initial restriction period is currently 36 

months. If the high utilization patterns continue, the 

individual is required to stay in the program for an additional 

36 months. The proposed changes will reduce the initial 

restriction period to 24 months and the subsequent restriction 

period to 12 months. 

Currently, there are approximately 120 individuals enrolled in 

the program. DMAS estimates that the program provides 

approximately $800,000 savings in total funds (federal and 

state funds) per year by controlling over utilization of medical 

services. DMAS also reports a 7.8% recidivism rate in this 

program. However, DMAS believes that changing the 

restriction period to 24-months initially and 12 months for re-

enrollment is appropriate. DMAS believes that no significant 

change in savings will materialize because the proposed less 

restrictive time periods are not expected to increase the 

current recidivism rate. In addition, DMAS highlights that as 

the managed care has expanded over the years, the fee-for-

service population and consequently the CMM program 

enrollment has shrunk, allowing DMAS staff more time to 

focus on individual cases and improve the program's success 

by assisting and educating Medicaid individuals in the 

appropriate use of medical and pharmacy services. 

In addition, the proposed changes will allow enrollment of 

individuals who are underutilizing services in the program. 

According to DMAS, underutilization of medically necessary 

services is not medically responsible or fiscally sound and 

can result in the further deterioration of an otherwise 

manageable health condition. While this change may add to 

the savings that may be expected, given the small size of the 

program, DMAS does not expect such savings to be 

significant. 

This proposed action also includes numerous other changes; 

however, they reorganize or clarify the current language and 

therefore are not expected to have a significant economic 

impact. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 

primarily affect individuals enrolled in the Client Medical 

Management program and DMAS. Currently, there are 

approximately 120 individuals enrolled in the program. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The regulations apply 

throughout the Commonwealth.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments are unlikely to significantly affect the 

use and value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 

amendments are unlikely to significantly affect small 

businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments are unlikely to 

adversely affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to affect real estate development costs. 

Legal Mandate. 

General: The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has 

analyzed the economic impact of this proposed regulation in 

accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and 

Executive Order Number 17 (2014). Section 2.2-4007.04 

requires that such economic impact analyses determine the 

public benefits and costs of the proposed amendments. 

Further the report should include but not be limited to: 

• the projected number of businesses or other entities to 

whom the proposed regulation would apply, 

• the identity of any localities and types of businesses or 

other entities particularly affected, 
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• the projected number of persons and employment 

positions to be affected,  

• the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and  

• the impact on the use and value of private property.  

Small Businesses: If the proposed regulation will have an 

adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires 

that such economic impact analyses include: 

• an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the proposed regulation, 

• the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other 

administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the proposed regulation, including the type 

of professional skills necessary for preparing required 

reports and other documents, 

• a statement of the probable effect of the proposed 

regulation on affected small businesses, and  

• a description of any less intrusive or less costly 

alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the 

proposed regulation.  

Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1, if there is a finding 

that a proposed regulation may have an adverse impact on 

small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative 

Rules is notified at the time the proposed regulation is 

submitted to the Virginia Register of Regulations for 

publication. This analysis shall represent DPB's best estimate 

for the purposes of public review and comment on the 

proposed regulation. 

_________________________________________________ 
1 The individuals with legitimate needs for having multiple 

physicians/pharmacies are not enrolled in the program. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency has reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared 

by the Department of Planning and Budget and concurs with 

this analysis. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) reduce the time periods that 

individuals with excessive utilization patterns may be 

restricted to a single physician or a pharmacy to 24 

months initially and 12 months beyond the initial 

restriction period, (ii) add under-utilization among the 

factors that may cause an individual to be enrolled in the 

Client Medical Management Programs and (iii) add an 

educational component to the programs. The amendments 

are made pursuant to Item 301 RR of Chapter 2 of the 

2014 Acts of Assembly, Special Session I.  

Part XIII  

Client Medical Management Program Programs 

12VAC30-130-800. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this part shall 

have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"APA" means the Administrative Process Act established by 

Chapter 40 (§ 2.2-4000 et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

"Abuse by recipients" means practices by recipients that are 

inconsistent with sound fiscal or medical practices and result 

in unnecessary costs to the Virginia Medicaid Program. 

"Abuse by providers" means practices that are inconsistent 

with sound fiscal, business, or medical practices and result in 

unnecessary costs to the Virginia Medicaid Program or in 

reimbursement for a level of utilization or pattern of services 

that is not medically necessary.  

"Abuse" or "abusive activities" means practices by 

individuals or providers that are inconsistent with sound fiscal 

or medical practices and result in unnecessary costs to the 

Virginia Medicaid program. 

"Card-sharing" means (i) the intentional sharing of a 

recipient an individual's eligibility card for use by someone 

other than the recipient individual for whom it was issued, or 

a pattern of repeated (ii) unauthorized use of a recipient an 

individual's eligibility card by one or more persons other than 

the recipient individual for whom it was issued due to the 

failure of the recipient individual to safeguard the card. 

"Client Medical Management Program (CMM) for 

recipients individuals" or "CMM Program for individuals" 

means the recipients' individuals' utilization control program 

designed to prevent abuse and promote improved and cost 

efficient medical management of essential health care for 

noninstitutionalized recipients individuals through restriction 

to one primary care provider, or one pharmacy, and one 

transportation provider, or any combination of these three 

designated providers. Referrals may not be made to providers 

restricted through the Client Medical Management Program, 

nor may restricted providers serve as covering providers. 

"Client Medical Management Program (CMM) for 

providers"  or "CMM Program for providers" means the 

providers' utilization control program designed to 

complement the recipient individual abuse and utilization 

control program in promoting improved and cost efficient 

medical management of essential health care. Restricted 

providers may not serve as designated providers for restricted 

recipients. Restricted providers may not serve as referral or 

covering providers for restricted recipients. 

"Contraindicated medical care" means treatment that is 

medically improper or undesirable and which results in 

duplicative or excessive utilization of services.  

"Contraindicated use of drugs" means the concomitant use 

of two or more drugs whose combined pharmacologic action 

produces an undesirable therapeutic effect or induces an 

adverse effect by the extended use of a drug with a known 

potential to produce this effect.  

"Controlled substance" means a substance that has a 

potential for abuse because physical and psychic dependence 
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and tolerance may develop upon repeated administration and 

that is classified as a Schedules I through V drug. 

"Covering provider" means a provider designated by the 

primary provider to render health care services in the 

temporary absence of the primary provider.  

"DMAS" or "the department" means the Department of 

Medical Assistance Services.  

"Dental services" means covered dental services available to 

Medicaid or FAMIS eligible children as well as the limited, 

emergency services available to Medicaid eligible adults. 

"Designated provider physician or pharmacy" means the 

provider who agrees to be the designated primary physician, 

designated or pharmacy, or designated transportation provider 

from whom the restricted recipient individual must first 

attempt to seek health care medical or pharmaceutical 

services. Other providers may be established as designated 

physician or pharmacy providers with the approval of DMAS. 

"Diagnosis" means (i) the process of determining by 

examination the nature and circumstances of a diseased 

condition or injury and (ii) the decision reached from such 

examination. 

"Diagnostic category" means the broad classification of 

diseases and injuries found in the ICD as defined in 

12VAC30-95-5 International Classification of Diseases 

(ICD), which is commonly used by providers in billing for 

medical services. 

"Drug" means a substance or medication intended for use in 

the diagnosis, cure, mitigation, treatment or prevention of 

disease as defined by the Virginia Drug Control Act (§ 54.1-

3400 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

"Duplicative medical care" means two or more practitioners 

are concurrently treat treating the same or similar medical 

problems or conditions falling into the same diagnostic 

category, but excluding confirmation for diagnosis, 

evaluation, or assessment.  

"Duplicative medications" means more than one prescription 

of the same drug or more than one drug in the same 

therapeutic class.  

"Education" means providing individuals with information 

regarding DMAS' identification of inappropriate utilization 

and what is appropriate access to Medicaid covered services 

according to the policies and procedures of the CMM 

Program for individuals and the CMM Program for providers. 

Education shall not include providing a professional opinion 

regarding a individual's medical or mental health.  

"Eligibility card" means the document issued to each 

Medicaid individual listing the name and Medicaid number, 

either the identification or billing number, of the eligible 

individual, which may be in the form of a plastic card 

magnetically encoded, allowing electronic access to inquiries 

for eligibility status. 

"Emergency hospital services" means those hospital services 

that are necessary to treat a medical emergency. Hospital 

treatment of a medical emergency necessitates the use of the 

most accessible hospital available that is equipped to furnish 

the required services.  

"EPSDT" means the Early and Periodic Screening, 

Diagnosis, and Treatment Program which that is federally 

mandated for eligible individuals under younger than 21 years 

of age.  

"Essential medical services" means quality medical services, 

including but not limited to preventive care, emergency 

services, maternity care, hospital and physician services, and 

prescription drug services as set out in the State Plan for 

Medical Assistance. 

"Excessive medical care" means obtaining greater than 

necessary services such that health risks to the recipient 

individual or unnecessary costs to the Virginia Medicaid 

Program may ensue from the accumulation of services or 

obtaining duplicative services. 

"Excessive medications" means obtaining medication in 

greater than generally acceptable maximum therapeutic 

dosage regimens or obtaining duplicative medication from 

one or more than one practitioner practitioners. 

"Excessive transportation services" means obtaining or 

rendering greater than necessary transportation services such 

that unnecessary costs to the Virginia Medicaid Program may 

ensue from the accumulation of services.  

"FAMIS" means the Family Access to Medical Insurance 

Security program as created by Title XXI of the Social 

Security Act.  

"Fraud" means an intentional deception or misrepresentation 

made by a person with the knowledge that the deception 

could result in some unauthorized benefit to himself or some 

other person. It includes any act that constitutes fraud under 

applicable federal or state laws.  

"Health care" means any covered services service, including 

equipment, or supplies, or transportation services, provided 

by any individual person, organization, or entity that 

participates in the Virginia Medical Assistance Program.  

"Home and community-based services" means a range of 

community services approved by the Centers for Medicare 

and Medicaid Services (CMS) pursuant to § 1915(c) of the 

Social Security Act to be offered to individuals as an 

alternative to institutionalization. 

"Hospice services" means services, pursuant to § 1905(o) of 

the Act, that are reasonable and necessary for the palliation or 

management of a terminal illness if the terminal illness runs 

its normal course. 

"Immunization" means the creation of immunity against a 

particular disease using a vaccination. 
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"Individual" means the recipient of Medicaid-covered 

services that are provided under the authority of Titles XIX 

and XXI of the Social Security Act.  

"Java-Server Utilization Review System" or "JSURS" 

means a computer subsystem of the Virginia Medicaid 

Management Information System (VAMMIS) that collects 

claims data and computes statistical profiles of individual and 

provider activity and compares such profiles with the 

appropriate peer group. 

"Managed care organization" or "MCO" means an entity that 

meets the participation and solvency criteria defined in 

42 CFR Part 438 and has an executed agreement with the 

department to provide services covered under (i) the 

Medallion II programs, pursuant to 12VAC30-120-360 et 

seq., or any successor programs and (ii) the FAMIS 

programs, pursuant to 12VAC30-141, or any successor 

programs. 

"Medical emergency" means the sudden onset of a medical 

condition manifesting itself by acute symptoms of sufficient 

severity, including severe pain, that in the absence of 

immediate medical attention could reasonably be expected to 

result in (i) placing the client's individual's health in serious 

jeopardy, (ii) serious impairment of the individual's bodily 

functions, or (iii) serious dysfunction of any the individual's 

bodily organ or part organs or parts.  

"Medical management of essential health care" means a case 

management approach to health care in which the designated 

primary physician has responsibility for assessing the needs 

of the patient and making referrals to other physicians and 

clinics as needed. The designated pharmacy has responsibility 

for monitoring the drug regimen of the patient.  

"Medically necessary" means services that are reasonable 

and necessary for the diagnosis or treatment of an illness, 

condition, or injury, or to improve the function of a disability, 

consistent with community standards of medical practice and 

in accordance with Medicaid or FAMIS policies. 

"Noncompliance" means failing to follow Client Medical 

Management Program policies and procedures, or a pattern of 

utilization that is inconsistent with sound fiscal or medical 

practices. Noncompliance includes, but is not limited to, 

failure to follow a recommended treatment plan or drug 

regimen; failure to disclose to a provider any treatment or 

services provided by another provider; or requests for medical 

services or medications that are not medically necessary; or 

excessive use of transportation services.  

"Not medically necessary" means an item or service that is 

not consistent with the diagnosis or treatment of the patient's 

condition or an item or service that is duplicative, 

contraindicated, or excessive.  

"Pattern" means a combination of qualities, acts, or 

tendencies that result in duplication or frequent occurrence.  

"Practitioner" means a health care provider licensed, 

registered, or otherwise permitted by law to distribute, 

dispense, prescribe, and administer drugs or otherwise treat 

medical conditions.  

"Primary care provider" or "PCP" means the designated 

primary physician responsible for medical management of 

essential health care for the restricted recipient a physician or 

nurse practitioner practicing in accordance with state law who 

is responsible for supervising, coordinating, and providing 

initial and primary medical care to patients; for initiating 

written referrals for specialist care; and for maintaining the 

continuity of patient care.  

"Provider" means the individual, facility or other entity 

registered, licensed, or certified, as appropriate, and enrolled 

by DMAS to render services to Medicaid recipients eligible 

for services a person, organization, or institution with a 

current, valid license or certification, as applicable, and 

participation agreement with DMAS who or that will (i) 

render service to Medicaid individuals who are eligible for 

covered services, (ii) submit a claim or claims for the 

rendered services, and (iii) accept as payment in full the 

amount paid by the Virginia Medicaid or FAMIS program.  

"Psychotropic drugs" means drugs that alter the mental state 

activity, behavior, or perception. Such Examples of such 

drugs include, but are not limited to, morphine, barbiturates, 

hypnotics, antianxiety agents, antidepressants, and 

antipsychotics.  

"Recipient" means the individual who is eligible, under Title 

XIX of the Social Security Act, to receive Medicaid covered 

services.  

"Recipient eligibility card" means the document issued to 

each Medicaid enrollee; an individual document issued to 

each Medicaid recipient listing the name and Medicaid 

number (either the identification or billing number) of the 

eligible individual. This document may be in the form of a 

plastic card magnetically encoded, allowing electronic access 

to inquiries for eligibility status.  

"Renal dialysis services" means services that aid the process 

of diffusing blood across a semi-permeable membrane to 

remove substances that a normal kidney would eliminate, 

including poisons, drugs, urea, uric acid, and creatinine. 

Renal dialysis services help to restore electrolytes and correct 

acid-base imbalances. 

"Restriction" "Restrict" or "restriction" means an 

administrative action imposed on a recipient an individual 

that limits access to specific types of health care services 

through a designated primary provider or an administrative 

action imposed on a provider to prohibit participation as a 

designated primary provider, referral, or covering provider for 

restricted recipients individuals.  

"Social Security Act" or "the Act" means the Act statute, 

enacted by the 74th Congress on August 14, 1935, and as 

amended, that provides for the general welfare by establishing 

a system of federal old age benefits, and by enabling the 

states to make more adequate provisions for aged persons, 
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blind persons, dependent and crippled children who have 

disabilities, maternal and child welfare, public health, and the 

administration of their unemployment compensation laws. 

"State Plan for Medical Assistance" or "the Plan" means the 

document listing the covered groups, covered services and 

their limitations, and provider reimbursement methodologies 

as provided for under Title XIX of the Social Security Act 

comprehensive written statement submitted by the department 

to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) for 

approval describing the nature and scope of the Virginia 

Medicaid program and giving assurance that it will be 

administered in conformity with the requirements, standards, 

procedures, and conditions for obtaining federal financial 

participation. 

"Surveillance and Utilization Review Subsystem (SURS)" 

or "Automated Exception Analysis (AEA)" means a computer 

subsystem of the Medicaid Management Information System 

(MMIS) that collects claims data and computes statistical 

profiles of recipient and provider activity and compares them 

with that of their particular peer group.  

"Therapeutic class" means a group of drugs with similar 

pharmacologic actions and uses.  

"Under-use" or "under-utilization" means an occurrence 

where there is evidence that an individual did not receive a 

service or procedure whose benefits exceeded the risks. 

"Utilization control" means the control of covered health 

care services to assure the use of cost efficient, medically 

necessary or appropriate services.  

12VAC30-130-810. Client Medical Management Program 

for recipients individuals.  

A. Purpose. The Client Medical Management Program for 

individuals is a utilization control program designed to 

prevent abuse and promote improved and cost efficient 

medical management of essential health care designed to 

assist and educate Medicaid individuals in appropriately 

using essential medical and pharmacy services. Individuals 

who use these services excessively or inappropriately as 

determined by DMAS may be assigned to a single primary 

care provider or pharmacy, or both. The CMM Program for 

individuals also monitors individual compliance with 

program guidelines.  

B. Authority.  

1. Federal The Act and federal regulations at 42 CFR 456.3 

require the Medicaid agency to implement a statewide 

surveillance and utilization control program and 42 CFR 

455.1 through 455.16 require the Medicaid agency to 

conduct investigations of abuse by recipients that (i) 

safeguards against unnecessary or inappropriate use of 

Medicaid services and against excess payments, (ii) 

assesses the quality of those services, (iii) provides for the 

control of the utilization of all services provided under the 

Plan, and (iv) provides for the control of the utilization of 

inpatient services.  

2. Federal regulations at 42 CFR 431.54(e) allow states to 

restrict recipients individuals to designated providers when 

the recipients individuals have utilized services at a 

frequency or an amount that is not medically necessary in 

accordance with utilization guidelines established by the 

state. 42 CFR 455.16(c)(4) provides for imposition of 

sanctions for instances of abuse identified by the agency.  

C. Identification of Client Medical Management participants 

for inclusion in the CMM Program participants for 

individuals. DMAS shall identify recipients individuals for 

review from computerized reports such as but not limited to 

Recipient SURS or AEA individual Java-Server Utilization 

Review System (JSURS), VAMMIS, Oracle or by written 

referrals from agencies, health care professionals, or other 

individuals persons. Certain individuals who are reviewed 

may not be restricted when evidence indicates that the 

prescription or medical service utilization patterns, or both, 

are for appropriate therapy. Only individuals who are 

excluded, pursuant to 12VAC30-120-370 B , from receiving 

care from a managed care organization shall be reviewed and 

evaluated for restriction under the CCM Program for 

individuals. 

D. Recipient Individual evaluation for restriction.  

1. DMAS shall review recipients utilize data as indicated in 

subsection C of this section to conduct a review of 

individuals to determine if services are being utilized at a 

frequency or amount that results in a level of utilization or 

a pattern of services which is not medically necessary or 

which exceeds the thresholds are excessive medical 

services or excessive medications, or both, as established 

in these regulations by the department. Evaluation of 

utilization patterns can include but is not limited to review 

by the department staff of medical records or computerized 

reports, or both, generated by the department reflecting 

claims submitted for physician visits, drugs/prescriptions 

drugs or prescriptions, outpatient and emergency room 

visits, lab and or diagnostic procedures, or both, and 

hospital admissions, and referrals.  

2. Restricted individuals shall have reasonable access to all 

essential medical services. These restrictions shall not 

apply to hospital emergency services.  

2. 3. Abusive activities shall be investigated and, if 

appropriate, the recipient individual shall be reviewed for 

educational intervention or restriction, or both. Recipients 

demonstrating questionable patterns of utilization or 

exceeding reasonable levels of utilization shall be reviewed 

for restriction. 

a. If DMAS' review determines that an individual's data 

indicates (i) inappropriate use of Medicaid services, (ii) 

questionable patterns of utilization, or (iii) unreasonable 

levels of utilization, the department shall initiate the 

individual's restriction to either a physician or pharmacy, 

or both. 
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b. Once an individual is restricted, the restriction period 

shall last for 24 months from the enrollment date. During 

this restriction period, the individual shall be required to 

use the services of the designated physician or designated 

pharmacy, or both. 

c. The individual may visit physicians or specialists other 

than those who are designated only by a written referral 

from the designated PCP.  

d. The individual may obtain prescriptions from 

pharmacies other than the designated pharmacy only (i) 

in an emergency, (ii) when the designated pharmacy is 

closed, (iii) when the designated pharmacy does not 

stock the required medication, or (iv) when the 

designated pharmacy is not able to obtain the required 

medication in a timely manner.  

E. Determination of restriction. DMAS may restrict an 

individual if any of the following activities or patterns or 

levels of utilization are identified. These activities, patterns, 

or levels of utilization include, for example: 

3. DMAS may restrict recipients if any of the following 

activities or patterns or levels of utilization are identified. 

These activities or patterns or levels of utilization include 

but shall not be limited to:  

a. Exceeding 200% of the maximum therapeutic dosage 

of the same drug or multiple drugs in the same 

therapeutic class for a period exceeding four weeks.  

b. 1. Two occurrences of having prescriptions for the same 

drugs filled two or more times on the same or the 

subsequent day.  

c. 2. Utilizing services from three or more prescribers and 

three or more dispensing pharmacies in a three-month 

period.  

d. 3. Receiving more than 24 prescriptions in a three-

month period.  

e. 4. Receiving more than 12 psychotropic prescriptions or 

more than 12 analgesic prescriptions or more than 12 

prescriptions for controlled drugs with potential for abuse 

in a three-month period.  

f. 5. Exceeding the maximum therapeutic dosage of the 

same drug or multiple drugs in the same therapeutic class, 

which have been prescribed by two or more practitioners, 

for a period exceeding four weeks. In addition, such drugs 

must be prescribed by two or more practitioners.  

g. 6. Receiving two or more drugs, duplicative in nature or 

potentially addictive (even within acceptable therapeutic 

levels), dispensed by more than one pharmacy or 

prescribed by more than one practitioner for a period 

exceeding four weeks. 

7. Receiving narcotic prescriptions from two or more 

prescribers without supporting diagnoses indicative of use.  

h. 8. Utilizing three or more different physicians of the 

same type or specialty in a three-month period for 

treatment of the same or similar condition or conditions.  

i. 9. Two or more occurrences of seeing two or more 

physicians of the same type or specialty on the same or 

subsequent day for the same or similar diagnosis.  

j. 10. Duplicative, excessive, or contraindicated utilization 

of medications, medical supplies, or appliances dispensed 

by or prescribed by more than one provider for the time 

period specified by DMAS.  

k. Duplicative, excessive, or contraindicated utilization of 

medical visits, procedures, or diagnostic tests from more 

than one provider for the time period specified by DMAS.  

l. 11. Use of emergency hospital services for three or more 

emergency room visits for nonemergency care during a 

three-month period.  

m. 12. One or more providers recommends recommend 

restriction for medical management because the recipient 

has demonstrated inappropriate utilization practices.  

n. 13. A pattern of noncompliance which that is 

inconsistent with sound fiscal or medical practices. 

Noncompliance is For example, noncompliance may be 

characterized by, but not limited to:  

(1) a. Failure to disclose to a provider any treatment or 

services provided by another provider;  

(2) b. Failure to follow a drug regimen or other 

recommended treatment;  

(3) c. Requests for medical services or medications 

which that are not medically necessary;  

(4) Excessive use of transportation services; or  

(5) Use of transportation services with no corresponding 

medical services.  

d. Use of hospital emergency services via self-referral for 

nonacute episodes of care or solely for nonacute 

management of the medical condition; or 

e. Under-use or under-utilization of medically necessary 

services that results in higher costs for the management 

of the medical condition.  

o. One or more 14. Any documented occurrences of use of 

the eligibility card to obtain drugs under false pretenses, 

which includes, but is not limited to the purchase or 

attempt to purchase drugs via a forged or altered 

prescription.  

p. One or more 15. Any documented occurrences of card-

sharing.  

q. One or more 16. Any documented occurrences of 

alteration of the recipient eligibility card. 

17. One or more documented occurrences of paying cash 

for controlled substances, analgesic drugs, or psychotropic 

drugs in addition to the use of the eligibility card to obtain 

similar or duplicative controlled substances.  
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E. Recipient F. Individual restriction procedures.  

1. DMAS shall advise affected recipients individuals by 

written notice of the proposed restriction under the Client 

Medical Management CMM Program for individuals. 

Written notice shall include an explanation of restriction 

procedures and the recipient's individual's right to appeal 

the proposed action. 

2. The recipient individual shall have the opportunity to 

select a designated providers physician or pharmacy, or 

both. If a recipient an individual fails to respond by the 

date specified in the restriction notice, DMAS shall select a 

designated providers physician or pharmacy, or both.  

3. DMAS shall not implement restriction if a valid appeal, 

consistent with 12VAC30-110-210, is noted. (See 

subsection K of this section.)  

4. DMAS shall restrict recipients individuals to their 

designated providers physician or pharmacy, or both, for 

36 24 months.  

F. G. Designated providers.  

1. A designated primary physician or pharmacy, or both, 

must be a physician who provider that is enrolled as an 

individual practitioner in Virginia Medicaid and who that 

is unrestricted by DMAS. Providers who are restricted 

pursuant to 12VAC30-130-820 D and E shall not serve as 

designated providers for restricted individuals and shall not 

serve as referral or covering providers for restricted 

individuals. 

2. A designated pharmacy provider must be a pharmacy 

that is enrolled as a community pharmacy and that is 

unrestricted by DMAS. Physicians or pharmacy providers, 

or both, who are under the CMM Program for providers 

shall not serve as designated providers, shall not provide 

services through referral, and shall not serve as covering 

providers for restricted individuals. 

3. A designated transportation provider must be enrolled as 

a taxi, registered driver, or wheelchair van and be 

unrestricted by DMAS. Recipients shall be assigned to the 

type of provider who meets the appropriate level of 

transportation that is medically necessary.  

4. Providers restricted through the Client Medical 

Management Program may not serve as designated 

providers, may not provide services through referral, and 

may not serve as covering providers for restricted 

recipients.  

5. 3. Physicians with practices limited to the delivery of 

emergency room services may not serve as designated 

primary providers.  

6. Restricted recipients shall have reasonable access to all 

essential medical services. These restrictions shall not 

apply to emergency services.  

7. 4. Other provider types physicians or pharmacies, or 

both, may be established as designated providers as needed 

but only with the approval of DMAS.  

G. H. Provider reimbursement. 

1. DMAS shall reimburse for covered outpatient medical, 

or pharmaceutical services, or both, and physician services 

for restricted individuals only when they are provided by 

the designated providers, or by physicians seen on a 

written referral from the designated PCP, or in a medical 

emergency consistent with the methodologies established 

for such services in the State Plan for Medical Assistance. 

Prescriptions may be filled by a nondesignated pharmacy 

only in emergency situations when the designated 

pharmacy is closed, or when the designated pharmacy does 

not stock, or is unable to obtain the drug in a timely 

manner.  

2. DMAS shall require a written referral, in accordance 

with published procedures, from the designated PCP for 

payment of covered outpatient services by nondesignated 

practitioners unless there is a medical emergency requiring 

immediate hospital treatment. Services exempt from these 

written referral requirements include:  

a. Family planning services;  

b. Annual or routine vision examinations (under age 21) 

for individuals under the age of 21 years;  

c. Dental services (under age 21) for individuals under 

the age of 21 years;  

d. Emergency services;  

e. EPSDT well-child exams/screenings (under age 21) for 

individuals under the age of 21 years;  

f. Immunizations (under age 21) for individuals under the 

age of 21 years;  

g. Home- and community-based care waiver services 

such as private duty nursing or respite services;  

h. Renal dialysis services;  

i. Expanded prenatal services, including prenatal group 

education, nutrition services, and homemaker services for 

pregnant women and care coordination for high-risk 

pregnant women and infants up to age two years; and  

j. Hospice services.  

3. When a transportation restriction is implemented, 

DMAS shall reimburse for covered transportation services 

only when they are provided by the designated 

transportation provider, or on referral from the designated 

transportation provider, or in a medical emergency.  

4. 3. Designated primary care providers (PCPs) shall 

receive a monthly case management fee for each assigned 

recipient individual.  

H. Client medical management identification material. 

DMAS shall provide an individual recipient eligibility card 

listing the recipient's designated primary care providers or a 
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plastic card for each restricted recipient. DMAS shall provide 

correspondence to the recipient listing the name, address, and 

telephone number of each designated provider and the 

effective date of restriction to each provider.  

I. Changes in designated providers.  

1. DMAS must give prior authorization approval to all 

changes of designated providers.  

2. The recipient individual or the designated provider may 

initiate requests for change for the following reasons:  

a. Relocation of the recipient individual or provider.  

b. Inability of the provider to meet the routine health or 

pharmaceutical needs of the recipient individual.  

c. Breakdown of the recipient/provider 

individual/provider relationship.  

3. If the designated provider initiates the request and the 

recipient individual does not select a new provider 

physician or pharmacy, or both, by established deadlines, 

DMAS shall select a provider, subject to concurrence from 

the provider or providers.  

4. If DMAS denies the recipient's individual's request for a 

particular physician or pharmacy, or both, the recipient 

individual shall be notified in writing and given the right to 

appeal the decision. (See subsection K of this section.)  

J. Review of recipient individual restriction status.  

1. During the restriction period, DMAS shall monitor the 

recipient's an individual's utilization no less frequently than 

every 12 months and follow up with the recipient 

individual to promote appropriate utilization patterns.  

2. DMAS shall also review a recipient's an individual's 

utilization prior to the end of the restriction period to 

determine restriction termination or continuation. (See 

subsection D of this section.)  

a. DMAS shall extend utilization control restrictions for 

36 12 months if any one of the following conditions is 

identified:  

(1) The recipient's individual's utilization patterns include 

one or more conditions listed in subdivision D 3 

subsection E of this section.  

(2) The recipient individual has not complied with Client 

Medical Management Program procedures of the CMM 

Program for individuals resulting in services or 

medications received from one or more any 

nondesignated providers provider, as demonstrated by his 

submitted claims, without a written referral or in the 

absence of a medical emergency.  

(3) The recipient individual has not complied with Client 

Medical Management Program procedures of the CMM 

Program for individuals as demonstrated by a pattern of 

documented attempts to receive services or medications 

from one or more any nondesignated providers without a 

written referral or pharmacy (i) in the absence of a 

medical emergency, (ii) when the designated pharmacy is 

closed, (iii) when the designated pharmacy does not 

stock the required medication, or (iv) when the 

designated pharmacy is unable to obtain the required 

medication in a timely manner.  

(4) One or more of the designated providers recommends 

continued restriction status because the recipient 

individual has demonstrated noncompliant behavior 

which is being controlled by Client Medical Management 

restrictions within the CMM Program restrictions for 

individuals.  

(5) Any changes of designated provider have been made 

due to the breakdown of the recipient/provider 

individual/provider relationship as a result of the 

recipient's individual's noncompliance.  

b. DMAS shall notify the recipient individual and 

designated provider physician or pharmacy, or both, in 

writing of the review decision. If restrictions are 

continued, written notice shall include the recipient's 

individual's right to appeal the proposed action. (See 

subsection K of this section.)  

c. DMAS shall not implement the continued recipient 

individual restriction if a valid appeal is noted pending 

the completion of the appeal action. Should the outcome 

of the appeal action support implementation of the 

restriction, the restriction shall be promptly implemented. 

K. Recipient Individual appeals.  

1. Recipients Individuals shall have the right to appeal any 

adverse action, as defined in 42 CFR 431.201, that is taken 

by DMAS under these regulations this part.  

2. Recipient Individual appeals shall be held pursuant to 

the provisions of Part I (12VAC30-110-10 et seq.) of 

12VAC30 Chapter 110 Client 12VAC30-110, Eligibility 

and Appeals.  

12VAC30-130-820. Client Medical Management Program 

for providers.  

A. Purpose. The Client Medical Management CMM 

Program for providers is a utilization control program 

designed to promote improved and cost-efficient medical 

management of essential health care.  

B. Authority.  

1. Federal regulations at 42 CFR 456.3 require the 

Medicaid agency to implement a statewide surveillance 

and utilization control program and at 42 CFR 455.1 

through 455.16 require the Medicaid agency to conduct 

investigations of abuse by providers.  

2. Federal regulations at 42 CFR 431.54 (f) 431.54(f) allow 

states to restrict providers' participation in the Medicaid 

program if the agency finds that providers of items or 

services under the State Plan have provided items or 

services at a frequency or amount not medically necessary 

in accordance with utilization guidelines established by the 

state, or have provided items or services of a quality that 
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do not meet professionally recognized standards of health 

care.  

C. Identification of Client Medical Management participants 

for inclusion in the CMM Program participants for providers. 

DMAS shall identify providers for review through 

computerized reports such as but not limited to Provider 

SURS or AEA JSURS, Oracle, VAMMIS, or by written 

referrals from agencies, health care professionals, or other 

individuals.  

D. Provider evaluation for restriction.  

1. DMAS shall review providers to determine if health care 

services are being provided at a frequency or amount that 

is not medically necessary or that are not of a quality to 

meet professionally recognized standards of health care. 

Evaluation of utilization patterns can include but is not 

limited to review by the department staff of medical 

records or computerized reports generated by the 

department reflecting claims submitted for physician visits, 

drugs/prescriptions drugs or prescriptions, outpatient and 

emergency room visits, lab or diagnostic procedures, 

hospital admissions, and referrals.  

2. DMAS may restrict providers if any one or more of the 

following conditions is identified in a significant number 

or proportion of cases. These conditions include but shall 

not be limited to the following:  

a. Visits billed at a frequency or level exceeding that 

which is medically necessary;  

b. Diagnostic tests billed in excess of what is medically 

necessary;  

c. Diagnostic tests billed which are unrelated to the 

diagnosis;  

d. Medications prescribed or prescriptions dispensed in 

excess of recommended dosages;  

e. Medications prescribed or prescriptions dispensed 

unrelated to the diagnosis.; or  

f. The provider's license to practice in any state has been 

revoked or suspended.  

g. Excessive transportation services rendered such that 

unnecessary costs to the Virginia Medicaid Program 

ensue from the accumulation of services.  

E. Provider restriction procedures.  

1. DMAS shall advise affected providers by written notice 

of the proposed restriction under the Client Medical 

Management CMM Program for providers. Written notice 

shall include an explanation of the basis for the decision, 

request for additional documentation, if any, and 

notification of the provider's right to appeal the proposed 

action.  

2. DMAS shall restrict providers from being the designated 

provider, a referral provider, or a covering provider for 

recipients individuals in the Client Medical Management 

CMM Program for providers for 24 months.  

3. DMAS shall notify the Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services (CMS) and the general public of the 

restriction and its duration.  

4. DMAS shall not implement provider restriction if a valid 

appeal is noted.  

F. Review of provider restriction status.  

1. DMAS shall review a restricted provider's claims history 

record prior to the end of the restriction period to 

determine restriction termination or continuation (See 

subsection D of this section). DMAS shall extend provider 

restriction for 24 months in one or more of the following 

situations:  

a. Where abuse by the provider is identified.  

b. Where the practices which led to restriction continue.  

2. In cases where the provider has submitted an insufficient 

number of claims during the restriction period to enable 

DMAS to conduct a claims history review, DMAS shall 

continue restriction until a reviewable six-month claims 

history is available for evaluation.  

3. If DMAS continues restriction following the review, the 

provider shall be notified of the agency's proposed action, 

the basis for the action, and appeal rights. (See subsection 

E of this section).  

4. If the provider continues a pattern of inappropriate 

health care services, DMAS may make a referral to the 

appropriate peer review group or regulatory agency for 

recommendation and action as appropriate.  

G. Provider appeals.  

1. Providers shall have the right to appeal any adverse 

action taken by the department under these regulations this 

part pursuant to § 32.1-325.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

2. Provider appeals shall be held pursuant to the provisions 

of Article 3 (§ 2.2-4018 et seq.) of the Administrative 

Process Act.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-2290; Filed September 18, 2015, 10:59 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 14. INSURANCE 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 

2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any agency 

of the Supreme Court, and any agency that by the 

Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court 

of record. 
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Title of Regulation: 14VAC5-270. Rules Governing Annual 

Financial Reporting (amending 14VAC5-270-40, 

14VAC5-270-100, 14VAC5-270-110, 14VAC5-270-120, 

14VAC5-270-144, 14VAC5-270-174; adding 14VAC5-270-

145).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 38.2-223 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: A public hearing will be held 

upon request. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 18, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Raquel C. Pino, Principal Insurance 

Analyst, Bureau of Insurance, State Corporation Commission, 

P.O. Box 1157, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-

9499, FAX (804) 371-9511, or email 

raquel.pino@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments address revisions made to the 

National Association of Insurance Commissioners' Annual 

Financial Reporting Model Regulation pertaining to the 

State Corporation Commission's authority to require (i) all 

large insurers, that is those whose annual premiums 

exceed $500 million, and (ii) insurance groups, that is 

those whose annual premiums exceed $1 billion, to 

maintain an internal audit function that provides 

independent, objective, and reasonable assurance to the 

audit committee and insurer management regarding the 

insurer's governance, risk management, and internal 

controls. The audit function is required to be 

organizationally independent from management and to 

report at least annually to the audit committee on the 

results of internal audit activities.  

AT RICHMOND, 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel.  

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. INS-2015-00141 

Ex Parte: In the matter of 

Amending the Rules Governing 

Annual Financial Reporting 

ORDER TO TAKE NOTICE 

Section 12.1-13 of the Code of Virginia ("Code") provides 

that the State Corporation Commission ("Commission") shall 

have the power to promulgate rules and regulations in the 

enforcement and administration of all laws within its 

jurisdiction, and § 38.2-223 of the Code provides that the 

Commission may issue any rules and regulations necessary or 

appropriate for the administration and enforcement of Title 

38.2 of the Code.  

The rules and regulations issued by the Commission pursuant 

to § 38.2-223 of the Code are set forth in Title 14 of the 

Virginia Administrative Code. A copy may also be found at 

the Commission's website: 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/laws.aspx.  

The Bureau of Insurance ("Bureau") has submitted to the 

Commission proposed amendments to rules set forth in 

Chapter 270 of Title 14 of the Virginia Administrative Code, 

entitled, Rules Governing Annual Financial Reporting 

("Rules"), which amend the Rules at 14VAC5-270-40, 

14VAC5-270-100, 14VAC5-270-110, 14VAC5-270-120, 

14VAC5-270-144, and 14VAC5-270-174, and adds a new 

Rule at 14VAC5-270-145. 

The amendments to the Rules are being proposed due to the 

National Association of Insurance Commissioners' adoption 

of the revisions to the Annual Financial Reporting Model 

Regulation. The proposed amendments provide the 

Commission with the authority to require all insurers with 

annual premiums exceeding $500 million and insurance 

groups with annual premiums exceeding $1 billion to 

maintain an internal audit function that provides independent, 

objective, and reasonable assurance to the audit committee 

and management regarding the insurer's governance, risk 

management, and internal controls. The internal audit 

function is required to be organizationally independent from 

management and to report at least annually to the audit 

committee on the results of internal audit activities. 

NOW THE COMMISSION is of the opinion that the 

proposed amendments submitted by the Bureau to amend the 

Rules at 14VAC5-270-40, 14VAC5-270-100, 14VAC5-270-

110, 14VAC5-270-120, 14VAC5-270-144, and 14VAC5-

270-174, and add a new Rule at 14VAC5-270-145 should be 

considered for adoption.  

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposed amendments to Rules Governing 

Annual Financial Reporting, which amend the Rules at 

14VAC5-270-40, 14VAC5-270-100, 14VAC5-270-110, 

14VAC5-270-120, 14VAC5-270-144, and 14VAC5-270-

174, and add a new Rule at 14VAC5-270-145 are 

attached hereto and made a part hereof.  

(2) All interested persons who desire to comment in 

support or in opposition to, or request a hearing to 

oppose amending Chapter 270 of Title 14 of the Virginia 

Administrative Code, shall file such comments or hearing 

request on or before, November 18, 2015, with Joel H. 

Peck, Clerk, State Corporation Commission, c/o 

Document Control Center, P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, 

Virginia 23218. Interested persons desiring to submit 

comments electronically may do so by following the 

instructions at the Commission's website: 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case/PublicComments.aspx. 

All comments shall refer to Case No. INS-2015-00141.  

(3) If no written request for a hearing on the proposal to 

amend Chapter 270 of Title 14 of the Virginia 

Administrative Code is received on or before, November 

18, 2015, the Commission, upon consideration of any 

comments submitted in support or in opposition to the 

proposal, may amend the Rules.  
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(4) AN ATTESTED COPY hereof, together with a copy 

of the proposal to amend rules, shall be sent by the Clerk 

of the Commission to the Bureau in care of Deputy 

Commissioner Douglas C. Stolte, who forthwith shall 

give further notice of the proposal to amend rules by 

mailing a copy of this Order, together with the proposal, 

to all licensed insurers, burial societies, fraternal benefit 

societies, health service plans, health maintenance 

organizations, legal services plans, dental or optometric 

services plans, and dental plan organizations authorized 

by the Commission pursuant to the provisions of Title 

38.2 of the Code, as well as to all interested parties.  

(6) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

forthwith shall cause a copy of this Order, together with 

the proposal to amend rules, to be forwarded to the 

Virginia Registrar of Regulations for appropriate 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations.  

(7) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall make available this Order and the attached proposed 

amendments to the rules on the Commission's website: 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case.  

(8) The Bureau shall file with the Clerk of the 

Commission an affidavit of compliance with the notice 

requirements of Ordering Paragraph (4) above.  

(9) This matter is continued. 

14VAC5-270-40. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Accountant" or "independent certified public accountant" 

means an independent certified public accountant or 

accounting firm in good standing with the American Institute 

of Certified Public Accountants ("AICPA") and in all states in 

which the accountant or firm is licensed to practice; for 

Canadian and British companies, it means a Canadian-

chartered or British-chartered accountant. 

"Affiliate" of a specific person or a person "affiliated" with a 

specific person means a person that directly or indirectly 

through one or more intermediaries, controls, is controlled by, 

or is under common control with the specific person. 

"Audit Committee" means a committee (or equivalent body) 

established by the board of directors of an entity for the 

purpose of overseeing the accounting and financial reporting 

processes of an insurer or group of insurers, the internal audit 

function of an insurer or group of insurers (if applicable), and 

external audits of financial statements of the insurer or group 

of insurers. The Audit Committee of an entity that controls a 

group of insurers may be deemed to be the Audit Committee 

for one or more of these controlled insurers solely for the 

purposes of this chapter at the election of the controlling 

person. If an Audit Committee is not designated by the 

insurer, the insurer's entire board of directors shall constitute 

the Audit Committee. 

"Audited Financial Report" means and includes those items 

specified in 14VAC5-270-60. 

"Commission" means the State Corporation Commission 

when acting pursuant to or in accordance with Title 38.2 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

"Due date" means (i) June 1 for all domestic insurers; (ii) 

June 30 for all foreign or alien companies domiciled or 

entered through a state in which similar law, regulation, or 

administrative practice provides for a June 30 filing date; and 

(iii) for all other insurers, the earlier of June 30 or the date 

established by the insurer's state of domicile or entry for filing 

similar audited financial reports. 

"Group of insurers" means those licensed insurers included 

in the reporting requirements of Article 5 (§ 38.2-1322 et 

seq.) of Chapter 13 of Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia, or a 

set of insurers as identified by an entity's management, for the 

purpose of assessing the effectiveness of internal control over 

financial reporting. 

"Indemnification" means an agreement of indemnity or a 

release from liability where the intent or effect is to shift or 

limit in any manner the potential liability of the person or 

firm for failure to adhere to applicable auditing or 

professional standards, whether or not resulting in part from 

knowing or other misrepresentations made by the insurer or 

its representatives.  

"Internal audit function" means a person or persons that 

provide independent, objective, and reasonable assurance 

designed to add value and improve an organization's 

operations and accomplish its objectives by bringing a 

systematic, disciplined approach to evaluate and improve the 

effectiveness of risk management, control and governance 

processes. 

"Internal control over financial reporting" means a process 

effected by an entity's board of directors, management, and 

other personnel designed to provide reasonable assurance 

regarding the reliability of the financial statements and 

includes those policies and procedures that: 

1. Pertain to the maintenance of records that in reasonable 

detail accurately and fairly reflect the transactions and 

dispositions of assets; 

2. Provide reasonable assurance that transactions are 

recorded as necessary to permit preparation of the financial 

statements and that receipts and expenditures are being 

made only in accordance with authorizations of 

management and directors; and 

3. Provide reasonable assurance regarding prevention or 

timely detection of unauthorized acquisition, use, or 

disposition of assets that could have a material effect on 

the financial statements. 

"NAIC" means the National Association of Insurance 

Commissioners. 

"RBC" means risk-based capital. 
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"RBC Level" means a licensee's Company Action Level 

RBC, Regulatory Action Level RBC, Authorized Control 

Level RBC, or Mandatory Control Level RBC where:  

1. "Company Action Level RBC" means, with respect to 

any licensee, the product of 2.0 and its Authorized Control 

Level RBC;  

2. "Regulatory Action Level RBC" means the product of 

1.5 and its Authorized Control Level RBC;  

3. "Authorized Control Level RBC" means the number 

determined under the risk-based capital formula in 

accordance with the RBC Instructions; and 

4. "Mandatory Control Level RBC" means the product of 

0.70 and the Authorized Control Level RBC. 

"SEC" means the United States U.S. Securities and 

Exchange Commission. 

"Section 404" means Section 404 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act 

of 2002 (15 USC § 7201 et seq.) and the SEC's rules and 

regulations promulgated thereunder. 

"Section 404 report" means management's report on 

"internal control over financial reporting" as defined by the 

SEC and the related attestation report of the independent 

certified public accountant. 

"SOX compliant entity" means an entity that either is 

required to be compliant with, or voluntarily is compliant 

with, all of the following provisions of the Sarbanes-Oxley 

Act of 2002 (15 USC § 7201 et seq.): (i) the preapproval 

requirements of Section 201 (Section 10A(i) of the Securities 

Exchange Act of 1934 (15 USC § 78a et seq.)); (ii) the Audit 

Committee independence requirements of Section 301 

(Section 10A(m)(3) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 

(15 USC § 78a et seq.)); and (iii) the internal control over 

financial reporting requirements of Section 404 (Item 308 of 

SEC Regulation S-K). 

"Workpapers" means the records kept by the accountant of 

the procedures followed, the tests performed, the information 

obtained, and the conclusions reached pertinent to the 

accountant's examination of the financial statements of an 

insurer. Workpapers, accordingly, may include work 

programs, analyses, memoranda, letters of confirmation and 

representation, abstracts of company documents, and 

schedules or commentaries prepared or obtained by the 

accountant in the course of the examination of the financial 

statements of an insurer and which support the accountant's 

opinion thereof.  

14VAC5-270-100. Scope of audit and report of 

independent certified public accountant.  

Financial statements furnished pursuant to 14VAC5-270-60 

shall be examined by an accountant. The audit of the insurer's 

financial statements shall be conducted in accordance with 

generally accepted auditing standards. In accordance with 

U.S. Auditing (AU) Standards – AICPA Clarified (AU-C) 

Section 319 315 of the AICPA Professional Standards, 

Consideration of Internal Control in a Financial Statement 

Audit Understanding the Entity and Its Environment and 

Assessing the Risks of Material Misstatement, the accountant 

shall obtain an understanding of internal control sufficient to 

plan the audit.  To the extent required by AU AU-C Section 

319 315, for those insurers required to file a Management's 

Report of Internal Control over Financial Reporting pursuant 

to 14VAC5-270-148, the accountant should consider (as the 

term should consider is defined in Statements on Auditing 

Standards (SAS) No. 102 AU-C Section 200 of the AICPA 

Professional Standards, Defining Professional Requirements 

in Statements on Overall Objectives of the Independent 

Auditor and the Conduct of an Audit in Accordance with 

Generally Accepted Auditing Standards) the most recently 

available report in planning and performing the audit of the 

statutory financial statements. Consideration shall be given to 

the procedures illustrated in the Financial Condition 

Examiners Handbook promulgated by the NAIC as the 

accountant deems necessary.  

14VAC5-270-110. Notification of adverse financial 

condition.  

A. The insurer required to furnish the annual Audited 

Financial Report shall require the accountant to report in 

writing within five business days to the board of directors or 

its Audit Committee any determination by the accountant that 

the insurer has materially misstated its financial condition as 

reported to the commission as of the balance sheet date under 

examination or that the insurer does not meet its minimum 

statutory capital and surplus requirements as of that date 

pursuant to Virginia law. An insurer that has received a report 

pursuant to this subsection shall forward a copy of the report 

to the commission within five business days of receipt of the 

report and shall provide the accountant making the report 

with evidence of the report being furnished to the 

commission. If the accountant fails to receive the evidence 

within the required five-business-day period, the accountant 

shall furnish to the commission a copy of its report within the 

next five business days.  

B. No accountant shall be liable in any manner to any person 

for any statement made in connection with subsection A of 

this section if the statement is made in good faith in 

compliance with subsection A of this section.  

C. If the accountant, subsequent to the date of the Audited 

Financial Report filed pursuant to this chapter, becomes 

aware of facts which might have affected the report, the 

commission notes the obligation of the accountant to take 

action as prescribed in AU AU-C Section 561 560 of the 

AICPA Professional Standards, Subsequent Discovery of 

Events and Subsequently Discovered Facts Existing at the 

Date of the Auditor's Report.  

14VAC5-270-120. Communicating internal control 

related matters identified in an audit. 

A. In addition to the annual Audited Financial Report, each 

insurer shall furnish the commission with a written 

communication as to any unremediated material weaknesses 
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in its internal controls over financial reporting identified 

during the audit. The communication shall be prepared by the 

accountant within 60 days after the filing of the annual 

Audited Financial Report, and shall contain a description of 

any unremediated material weakness (as the term material 

weakness is defined in SAS No. 112 AU-C Section 265 of the 

AICPA Professional Standards, Communicating Internal 

Control Related Matters Identified in an Audit) as of the 

immediately preceding December 31 (so as to coincide with 

the Audited Financial Report discussed in 14VAC5-270-50 

A) in the insurer's internal control over financial reporting 

identified by the accountant during the course of the audit of 

the financial statements. If no unremediated material 

weaknesses were identified, the communication should so 

state. 

B. The insurer is required to provide a description of 

remedial actions taken or proposed to correct unremediated 

material weaknesses, if the actions are not described in the 

accountant's communication. 

C. The insurer is expected to maintain information about 

significant deficiencies communicated by the independent 

certified public accountant. The information should be made 

available to the examiner conducting a financial condition 

examination for review and kept in a manner as to remain 

confidential. 

14VAC5-270-144. Requirements for Audit Committees. 

A. This section shall not apply to foreign or alien insurers 

licensed in Virginia or an insurer that is a SOX compliant 

entity or a direct or indirect wholly-owned subsidiary of a 

SOX compliant entity. 

B. The Audit Committee shall be directly responsible for the 

appointment, compensation and oversight of the work of any 

accountant (including resolution of disagreements between 

management and the accountant regarding financial 

reporting) for the purpose of preparing or issuing the Audited 

Financial Report or related work pursuant to this chapter. 

Each accountant shall report directly to the Audit Committee. 

C. The Audit Committee of an insurer or group of insurers 

shall be responsible for overseeing the insurer's internal audit 

function and granting the person or persons performing the 

function suitable authority and resources to fulfill their 

responsibilities if required by 14VAC5-270-145. 

D. Each member of the Audit Committee shall be a member 

of the board of directors of the insurer or a member of the 

board of directors of an entity elected pursuant to subsection 

F G of this section. 

D. E. In order to be considered independent for purposes of 

this section, a member of the Audit Committee may not, other 

than in the capacity as a member of the Audit Committee, the 

board of directors, or any other board committee, accept any 

consulting, advisory, or other compensatory fee from the 

entity or be an affiliated person of the entity or subsidiary 

thereof. However, if Virginia law requires board participation 

by otherwise nonindependent members, that law shall prevail 

and such members may participate in the Audit Committee 

and be designated as independent for Audit Committee 

purposes, unless they are an officer or employee of the insurer 

or one of its affiliates. 

E. F. If a member of the Audit Committee ceases to be 

independent for reasons outside the member's reasonable 

control, that member, with notice by the responsible entity to 

the commission, may remain an Audit Committee member of 

the responsible entity until the earlier of the next annual 

meeting of the responsible entity or one year from the 

occurrence of the event that caused the member to be no 

longer independent. 

F. G. To exercise the election of the controlling person to 

designate the Audit Committee for purposes of this chapter, 

the ultimate controlling person shall provide written notice to 

the commission of the affected insurers. Notification shall be 

made timely prior to the issuance of the statutory audit report 

and include a description of the basis for the election. The 

election can be changed through notice to the commission by 

the insurer, which shall include a description of the basis for 

the change. The election shall remain in effect for perpetuity, 

unless rescinded. 

G. H. The Audit Committee shall require the accountant that 

conducts for an insurer any audit required by this chapter to 

timely report to the Audit Committee in accordance with the 

requirements of SAS No. 114 AU-C Section 260 of the 

AICPA Professional Standards, The Auditor's 

Communication with those Charged with Governance, 

including: 

1. All significant accounting policies and material 

permitted practices; 

2. All material alternative treatments of financial 

information within statutory accounting principles that 

have been discussed with management officials of the 

insurer, ramifications of the use of the alternative 

disclosures and treatments, and the treatment preferred by 

the accountant; and 

3. Other material written communications between the 

accountant and the management of the insurer, such as any 

management letter or schedule of unadjusted differences. 

If an insurer is a member of an insurance holding company 

system, the reports required by this subsection may be 

provided to the Audit Committee on an aggregate basis for 

insurers in the holding company system, provided that any 

substantial differences among insurers in the system are 

identified to the Audit Committee. 
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H. I. The proportion of independent Audit Committee 

members shall meet or exceed the following criteria: 

Prior Calendar Year Direct Written and Assumed Premiums 

$0 - $300 

million 

Over $300 

million - $500 

million 

Over $500 

million 

No minimum 

requirements.  

See Notes A 

and B. 

Majority (50% 

or more) of 

members shall 

be independent.  

See Notes A and 

B. 

Supermajority of 

members (75% or 

more) shall be 

independent. 

See Note A. 

Note A: The commission has authority afforded by state law 

to require the entity's board to enact improvements to the 

independence of the Audit Committee membership if the 

insurer is in a RBC level event, meets one or more of the 

standards of an insurer deemed to be in hazardous financial 

condition, or otherwise exhibits qualities of a troubled 

insurer. 

Note B: All insurers with less than $500 million in prior year 

direct written and assumed premiums are encouraged to 

structure their Audit Committees with at least a supermajority 

of independent Audit Committee members. 

Note C: Prior calendar year direct written and assumed 

premiums shall be the combined total of direct premiums and 

assumed premiums from nonaffiliates for the reporting 

entities. 

I. J. An insurer with direct written and assumed premiums, 

excluding premiums reinsured with the Federal Crop 

Insurance Corporation and Federal Flood Program, less than 

$500 million may make application to the commission for a 

waiver from the requirements of this section based upon 

hardship. The insurer shall file, with its annual statement 

filing, the commission's letter granting relief from this section 

with the states in which it is licensed or doing business and 

the NAIC. If the nondomestic state accepts electronic filing 

with the NAIC, the insurer shall file the letter granting relief 

in an electronic format acceptable to the NAIC. 

14VAC5-270-145. Internal audit function requirements. 

A. An insurer is exempt from the requirements of this 

section if:  

1. The insurer has annual direct written and unaffiliated 

assumed premium, including international direct and 

assumed premium but excluding premiums reinsured with 

the Federal Crop Insurance Corporation and Federal Flood 

Program, less than $500 million; and 

2. If the insurer is a member of a group of insurers, the 

group has annual direct written and unaffiliated assumed 

premium including international direct and assumed 

premium, but excluding premiums reinsured with the 

Federal Crop Insurance Corporation and Federal Flood 

Program, less than $1 billion. 

B. The insurer or group of insurers shall establish an internal 

audit function providing independent, objective, and 

reasonable assurance to the Audit Committee and insurer 

management regarding the insurer's governance, risk 

management, and internal controls. This assurance shall be 

provided by performing general and specific audits, reviews, 

and tests and by employing other techniques deemed 

necessary to protect assets, evaluate control effectiveness and 

efficiency, and evaluate compliance with policies and 

regulations. 

C. In order to ensure that internal auditors remain objective, 

the internal audit function must be organizationally 

independent. Specifically, the internal audit function will not 

defer ultimate judgment on audit matters to others and shall 

appoint an individual to head the internal audit function who 

will have direct and unrestricted access to the board of 

directors. Organizational independence does not preclude 

dual-reporting relationships. 

D. The head of the internal audit function shall report to the 

Audit Committee regularly, but no less often than annually, 

on the periodic audit plan, factors that may adversely impact 

the internal audit function's independence or effectiveness, 

material findings from completed audits, and the 

appropriateness of corrective actions implemented by 

management as a result of audit findings. 

E. If an insurer is a member of an insurance holding 

company system or included in a group of insurers, the 

insurer may satisfy the internal audit function requirements 

set forth in this section at the ultimate controlling parent 

level, an intermediate holding company level, or the 

individual legal entity level. 

14VAC5-270-174. Retention of independent certified 

public accountant on or after January 1, 2010, and other 

effective dates. 

A. Unless otherwise noted, the requirements of this chapter 

shall become effective for the reporting period ending 

December 31, 2010, and each year thereafter. An insurer or 

group of insurers not required to file a report because its total 

written premium is below the threshold that subsequently 

becomes subject to the reporting requirements shall have two 

years following the year the threshold is exceeded (but not 

earlier than December 31, 2010) to file a report. Likewise, an 

insurer acquired in a business combination shall have two 

calendar years following the date of acquisition or 

combination to comply with the reporting requirements. 

B. The requirements of 14VAC5-270-80 D shall become 

effective for audits of the year beginning January 1, 2010, and 

thereafter. 

C. The requirements of 14VAC5-270-144 shall become 

effective on January 1, 2010. An insurer or group of insurers 

that is not required to have independent Audit Committee 
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members or only a majority of independent Audit Committee 

members (as opposed to a supermajority) because the total 

direct written and assumed premium is below the threshold 

and subsequently becomes subject to one of the independence 

requirements due to changes in premium shall have one year 

following the year the threshold is exceeded (but not earlier 

than January 1, 2010) to comply with the independence 

requirements.  Likewise, an insurer that becomes subject to 

one of the independence requirements as a result of a business 

combination shall have one calendar year following the date 

of acquisition or combination to comply with the 

independence requirements. 

D. The requirements of 14VAC5-270-145 are to become 

effective January 1, 2016. If an insurer or group of insurers 

that is exempt from the 14VAC5-270-145 requirements no 

longer qualifies for that exemption, it shall have one year 

after the year the threshold is exceeded to comply with the 

requirements of this chapter. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (14VAC5-270)  

Affidavit for Exemption From Filing Audited Financial 

Reports, SCCBOI-16.  

Audited Financial Statements Exemption Affidavit Year 

Ended December 31, 2014, R03 (eff. 10/2014) 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(14VAC5-270)  

AICPA Professional Standards, Volume 1, June 1, 2007, 

American Institute of Certified Public Accountants. 

AICPA Professional Standards, Volume 2, June 1, 2007, 

American Institute of Certified Public Accountants. 

AICPA Professional Standards, Volume 1, as of June 1, 

2015, American Institute of Certified Public Accountants, 

New York, New York 10036-8775, http://www.aicpa.org 

AICPA Professional Standards, Volume 2, as of June 1, 

2015, American Institute of Certified Public Accountants, 

New York, New York 10036-8775, http://www.aicpa.org 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4479; Filed September 22, 2015, 10:00 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES BOARD 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 16VAC25-35. Regulation Concerning 

Certified Lead Contractors Notification, Lead Project 

Permits and Permit Fees (amending 16VAC25-35-30).  

Statutory Authority: § 40.1-22 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 19, 2015.  

Agency Contact: John J. Crisanti, Planning and Evaluation 

Manager, Department of Labor and Industry, Main Street 

Centre, 600 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-4300, FAX (804) 786-8418, TTY (804) 

786-2376, or email crisanti.john@dol.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment requires a lead contractor to file a written 

lead project notification with the Department of Labor and 

Industry for all lead projects, rather than only projects 

where the contract price is $2,000 or more. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

16VAC25-35-30. Notification and permit fee.  

A. Written notification of any lead project, the contract price 

of which is $2,000 or more, shall be made to the department 

on a department form. Such notification shall be sent by 

facsimile transmission as set out in subsection J of this 

section, by certified mail, or hand-delivered to the 

department. Notification shall be postmarked or made at least 

20 days before the beginning of any lead project.  

B. The department form shall include the following 

information:  

1. Name, address, telephone number, and the certification 

number of each person intending to engage in a lead 

project.  

2. Name, address, and telephone number of the owner or 

operator of the facility in which the lead project is to take 

place.  

3. Type of notification: amended, emergency, renovation 

or demolition.  

4. Description of facility in which the lead project is to take 

place, including address, size, and number of floors.  

5. Estimate of amount of lead and method of estimation.  

6. Amount of the lead project fee submitted.  

7. Scheduled setup date, removal date or dates, and 

completion date and times during which lead-related 

activity will take place.  

8. Name and license number of the supervisor on site.  

9. Name, address, telephone number, contact person, and 

landfill permit number of the waste disposal site or sites 

where the lead-containing material will be disposed.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=adf63004479~1&typ=40&actno=004479&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=adf63004479~1&typ=40&actno=004479&mime=application/pdf
http://www.aicpa.org/
http://www.aicpa.org/
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10. Detailed description of the methods to be used in 

performing the lead project.  

11. Procedures and equipment used to control the emission 

of lead-contaminated dust, to contain or encapsulate lead-

based paint, and to replace lead-painted surfaces or fixtures 

in order to protect public health during performance of the 

lead project.  

12. If a facsimile transmission is to be made pursuant to 

subsection J of this section, the credit card number, 

expiration date, and signature of cardholder.  

13. Any other information requested on the department 

form.  

C. A lead project permit fee shall be submitted with the 

completed project notification form. The fee shall be in 

accordance with the following schedule:  

1. The greater of $100 or 1.0% of the contract price, with a 

maximum of $500.  

2. If, at any time, the Commissioner of Labor and Industry 

determines that projected revenues from lead project 

permit fees may exceed projected administrative expenses 

related to the lead program by at least 10%, the 

commissioner may reduce the minimum and maximum 

fees and contract price percentage set forth in subdivision 1 

of this subsection.  

D. A blanket notification, valid for a period of one year, may 

be granted to a contractor who enters into a contract for a lead 

project on a specific site which is expected to last for one year 

or longer.  

1. The contractor shall submit the notification required in 

subsection A of this section to the department at least 20 

days prior to the start of the requested blanket notification 

period. The notification submitted shall contain the 

following additional information:  

a. The dates of work required by subdivision B 7 of this 

section shall be every work day during the blanket 

notification period, excluding weekends and state 

holidays.  

b. The estimate of lead to be removed required under 

subdivision B 5 of this section shall be signed by the 

owner and the owner's signature authenticated by a 

notary.  

c. A copy of the contract shall be submitted with the 

notification.  

2. The lead project permit fee for blanket notifications shall 

be as set forth in subsection C of this section.  

3. The contractor shall submit an amended notification at 

least one day prior to each time the contractor will not be 

present at the site. The fee for each amended notification 

will be $15.  

4. Cancellation of a blanket notification may be made at 

any time by submitting a notarized notice of cancellation 

signed by the owner. The notice of cancellation must 

include the actual amount of lead removed and the actual 

amount of payments made under the contract. The refund 

shall be the difference between the original lead permit fee 

paid and 1.0% of the actual amount of payments made 

under the contract.  

E. Notification of fewer than 20 days may be allowed in 

case of an emergency involving protection of life, health or 

property. In such cases, notification and the lead permit fee 

shall be submitted within five working days after the start of 

the emergency lead project. A description of the emergency 

situation shall be included when filing an emergency 

notification.  

F. A notification shall not be effective unless a complete 

form is submitted and the proper permit fee is enclosed with 

the completed form. A notification made by facsimile 

transmission pursuant to subsection J of this section shall not 

be effective if the accompanying credit card payment is not 

approved.  

G. On the basis of the information submitted in the lead 

notification, the department shall issue a permit to the 

contractor within seven working days of the receipt of a 

completed notification form and permit fee.  

1. The permit shall be effective for the dates entered on the 

notification.  

2. The permit or a copy of the permit shall be kept on site 

during work on the project.  

H. Amended notifications may be submitted for 

modifications of subdivisions B 3 through B 11 of this 

section. No amendments to subdivision B 1 or B 2 of this 

section shall be allowed. A copy of the original notification 

form with the amended items circled and the permit number 

entered shall be submitted at any time prior to the removal 

date on the original notification.  

1. No amended notification shall be effective if an 

incomplete form is submitted or if the proper permit 

amendment fee is not enclosed with the completed 

notification.  

2. A permit amendment fee shall be submitted with the 

amended notification form. The fee shall be in accordance 

with the following schedule:  

a. For modifications to subdivisions B 3, B 4, and B 6 

through B 10 of this section, $15.  

b. For modifications to subdivision B 5 of this section, 

the difference between the permit fee in subsection C of 

this section for the amended amount of lead and the 

original permit fee submitted, plus $15.  

3. Modifications to the completion date may be made at 

any time up to the completion date on the original 

notification.  

4. If the amended notification is complete and the required 

fee is included, the department will issue an amended 

permit if necessary.  
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I. The department must be notified prior to any cancellation. 

A copy of the original notification form marked "canceled" 

must be received no later than the scheduled removal date. 

Cancellation of a project may also be done by facsimile 

transmission. Refunds of the lead project permit fee will be 

made for timely cancellations when a notarized notice of 

cancellation signed by the owner is submitted.  

The following amounts will be deducted from the refund 

payment: $15 for processing of the original notification, $15 

for each amendment filed, and $15 for processing the refund 

payment.  

J. Notification for any lead project, emergency notification, 

or amendment to notification may be done by facsimile 

transmission if the required fees are paid by credit card.  

NOTICE: The following form used in administering the 

regulation was filed by the agency. The form is not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of the form, 

which has a hyperlink, to access it. The form is also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (16VAC25-35)  

Lead Permit Application and Notification for 

Demolition/Renovation  

Permit Application and Notification for Lead Abatement 

and Renovation (undated; filed 10/2015) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3269; Filed September 21, 2015, 3:41 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

AUCTIONEERS BOARD 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

following regulation have been filed by the Auctioneers 

Board. The forms are not being published; however, online 

users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may 

click on the name of a form to access it. The forms are also 

available from the agency contact or may be viewed at the 

Office of the Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly 

Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC25-21. Regulations of the 

Virginia Auctioneers Board. 

Agency Contact: Marian H. Brooks, Regulatory Board 

Administrator, Auctioneers Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8514, 

FAX (866) 465-6206, or email 

auctioneers@dpor.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC25-21) 

Auctioneer License By Examination Application, 

2907EXLIC (rev. 11/08). 

Auctioneer Surety Bond Form, 2905_07BOND (rev. 11/08). 

Auctioneer License by Examination Application, A429-

2907EXLIC-v4 (rev. 6/2015) 

Auctioneer Surety Bond Form, 2905_07BOND (rev. 4/2010) 

Auctioneer Firm License Application, 2908LIC (rev. 11/08) 

Auction Firm Surety Bond Form, 2906_08BOND (rev. 

11/08) 

States with Approved Reciprocal Agreements, 29RECLST 

(rev. 11/08). 

Virginia Approved Auctioneering Schools, 29SCHLST (rev. 

11/08). 

States with Approved Reciprocal Agreements, 29RECST 

(rev. 2/2012) 

Virginia Approved Auctioneering Schools, 29SCHLST (rev. 

9/2013) 

Auctioneering School Application for Course Approval, 

29CRS (rev. 11/08) 

Auctioneer License By Reciprocity Application, 

2907RECLIC (rev. 11/08) 

Auctioneer License Reinstatement Application, 2905_07REI 

(rev. 11/08) 

Application for Continuing Education Course Approval, 

29CECRS (rev. 11/08) 

Auctioneer Firm License Renewal Form, 2906_08REN (eff. 

11/08) 

Individual Auctioneer License Renewal Form, 2905_07REN 

(eff. 11/08) 

Continuing Education Medical Exemption Request, 

2905_07CEXMP (eff. 11/08) 

Criminal Conviction Reporting Form, A406-01CCR-v2 (rev. 

9/2015) 

Disciplinary Action Reporting Form, A406-01DAR-v1 

(5/2015) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4490; Filed September 30, 2015, 11:12 a.m.  

BOARD FOR BARBERS AND COSMETOLOGY 

Proposed Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC41-20. Barbering and 

Cosmetology Regulations (amending 18VAC41-20-10, 

18VAC41-20-20, 18VAC41-20-30, 18VAC41-20-50, 

18VAC41-20-60, 18VAC41-20-80, 18VAC41-20-90 

through 18VAC41-20-140, 18VAC41-20-160, 18VAC41-

20-180, 18VAC41-20-200, 18VAC41-20-210, 18VAC41-20-

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=17b51003269~3&typ=40&actno=003269&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=17b51003269~3&typ=40&actno=003269&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c586d004490~1&typ=40&actno=004490&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c586d004490~1&typ=40&actno=004490&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9d542004490~2&typ=40&actno=004490&mime=application/pdf
file://dpor-storage/shared/Applications/Applications%20&%20Forms_EAGLES/Auctioneers/2908LIC.pdf
file://dpor-storage/shared/Applications/Applications%20&%20Forms_EAGLES/Auctioneers/2906_08BOND.pdf
file://dpor-storage/shared/Applications/Applications%20&%20Forms_EAGLES/Auctioneers/2906_08BOND.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4e5b3004490~5&typ=40&actno=004490&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4e5b3004490~5&typ=40&actno=004490&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=beecb004490~6&typ=40&actno=004490&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=beecb004490~6&typ=40&actno=004490&mime=application/pdf
file://dpor-storage/shared/Applications/Applications%20&%20Forms_EAGLES/Auctioneers/29CRS.pdf
file://dpor-storage/shared/Applications/Applications%20&%20Forms_EAGLES/Auctioneers/29CRS.pdf
file://dpor-storage/shared/Applications/Applications%20&%20Forms_EAGLES/Auctioneers/2907RECLIC.pdf
file://dpor-storage/shared/Applications/Applications%20&%20Forms_EAGLES/Auctioneers/2907RECLIC.pdf
file://dpor-storage/shared/Applications/Applications%20&%20Forms_EAGLES/Auctioneers/2905_07REI.pdf
file://dpor-storage/shared/Applications/Applications%20&%20Forms_EAGLES/Auctioneers/2905_07REI.pdf
file://dpor-storage/shared/Applications/Applications%20&%20Forms_EAGLES/Auctioneers/29CECRS.pdf
file://dpor-storage/shared/Applications/Applications%20&%20Forms_EAGLES/Auctioneers/29CECRS.pdf
file://dpor-storage/shared/Applications/Applications%20&%20Forms_EAGLES/Auctioneers/2906_08REN.pdf
file://dpor-storage/shared/Applications/Applications%20&%20Forms_EAGLES/Auctioneers/2906_08REN.pdf
file://dpor-storage/shared/Applications/Applications%20&%20Forms_EAGLES/Auctioneers/2905_07REN.pdf
file://dpor-storage/shared/Applications/Applications%20&%20Forms_EAGLES/Auctioneers/2905_07REN.pdf
file://dpor-storage/shared/Applications/Applications%20&%20Forms_EAGLES/Auctioneers/2905_07CEXMP.pdf
file://dpor-storage/shared/Applications/Applications%20&%20Forms_EAGLES/Auctioneers/2905_07CEXMP.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=86dd6004490~5&typ=40&actno=004490&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=86dd6004490~5&typ=40&actno=004490&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bbfeb004490~6&typ=40&actno=004490&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bbfeb004490~6&typ=40&actno=004490&mime=application/pdf
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220, 18VAC41-20-240 through 18VAC41-20-280; 

repealing 18VAC41-20-190, 18VAC41-20-230). 

18VAC41-40. Wax Technician Regulations (repealing 

18VAC41-40-10 through 18VAC41-40-260).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

December 16, 2015 - 1 p.m. - Department of Professional 

and Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

200, Board Room 1, Richmond, Virginia 23233. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 18, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Demetrios J. Melis, Executive Director, 

Board for Barbers and Cosmetology, Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-

8590, FAX (804) 527-4295, or email 

barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia gives 

authority to the board to promulgate regulations. It states, in 

part, that the board has the power and duty "To promulgate 

regulations in accordance with the Administrative Process 

Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq.) necessary to assure continued 

competency, to prevent deceptive or misleading practices by 

practitioners and to effectively administer the regulatory 

system administered by the regulatory board." 

Purpose: The board seeks to amend its current regulations to 

ensure they are as least intrusive and burdensome as possible, 

in order to assist in providing an environment without 

unnecessary regulatory obstacles while still protecting the 

health, safety, and welfare of the public. Additionally, the 

board seeks to ensure regulations are clearly written and 

easily understandable and are representative of the current 

advancements and standards of the industries. Furthermore, 

the board seeks to strengthen some of its reporting 

requirements and prohibited acts to address areas of 

vulnerabilities for the perpetration of fraud by applicants and 

regulants. 

Substance: Throughout the regulations, all pertinent sections 

have been updated to incorporate the board's Wax Technician 

Regulations, 18VAC41-40, into the board's regulations. As 

such, 18VAC41-40 is being repealed. 

Following are the proposed amendments: 

18VAC41-20-10. Add new definitions of "business entity," 

"firm," "responsible management," "sole proprietor," and 

"post-secondary education level" to clarify terms used in the 

regulation.  

18VAC41-20-20. Require applicants to disclose all felony 

convictions during their lifetime and certain misdemeanors 

within the last three years and add that the board may deny 

licensure to any applicant having prior disciplinary violations 

for which the board deems the applicant unfit to engage in the 

profession. 

18VAC41-20-60. Add requirements that if an applicant does 

not apply for licensure within five years of passing both 

exams, he must reapply, and that the board will only retain 

examination records for nonapplicants for a maximum of five 

years. 

18VAC41-20-90. Add that the board may deny licensure to 

any applicant having prior disciplinary violations for which 

the board deems the applicant unfit to engage in the 

profession.  

18VAC41-20-100. Require applicants to (i) hold a current 

license in the field in which they wish to become an instructor 

and (ii) disclose all felony convictions during their lifetime, 

certain misdemeanors within the last three years, and any 

prior discipline by a licensing entity and allow for application 

denial where the board deems the applicant unfit or unsuited 

to engage in the profession. 

18VAC41-20-110. Provide that student instructor temporary 

permits shall only be issued once and shall not be issued 

where grounds may exist to deny a permit due to prior 

criminal convictions or disciplinary action. 

18VAC41-20-120. (i) Add the requirement that a shop or 

salon applicant's license be in good standing and require 

applicants and all members of responsible management to 

disclose all felony convictions during their lifetime, certain 

misdemeanors within the last three years, and any prior 

discipline by a licensing entity; (ii) add that the board may 

deny licensure to any applicant having prior disciplinary 

violations for which the board deems the applicant unfit to 

engage in the profession; (iii) require disclosure of the 

applicant's physical address, the firm's responsible 

management, and certification that the applicant has read 

applicable laws and regulations; (iv) add the requirement that 

voided licenses be returned to the board within 30 days and 

set forth what events void a license; (v) require any change in 

responsible management be reported to the board within 30 

days of the change; and (v) allow the board to inspect a shop 

or salon during reasonable hours and define reasonable hours. 

18VAC41-20-130. (i) Add the requirement that the school 

applicant's license be in good standing and require applicants 

and all members of responsible management to disclose all 

felony convictions during their lifetime, certain 

misdemeanors within the last three years, and any prior 

discipline by a licensing entity; (ii) add that the board may 

deny licensure to any applicant having prior disciplinary 

violations for which the board deems the applicant unfit to 

engage in the profession; (iii) require disclosure of the 

applicant's physical address, the firm's responsible 

management, and certification that the applicant has read 

applicable laws and regulations; (iv) add the requirement that 

voided licenses be returned to the board within 30 days and 

set forth what events void a license; (v) require any change in 

responsible management be reported to the board within 30 

days of the change; (vi) exempt schools under the Virginia 
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Department of Education; and (vii) allow the board to inspect 

a school during reasonable hours and define reasonable hours. 

18VAC41-20-160. Clarify and simplify the requirement that 

all licenses shall expire two years from the last day of the 

month in which issued. 

18VAC41-20-180. Add salons and shops to reinstatement 

requirements. 

18VAC41-20-190. Move the requirements of 18VAC41-20-

190 to 18VAC41-20-130. 

18VAC41-20-200. Add the requirement that schools either 

own or possess the necessary equipment and implements to 

teach the respective curriculum and require proof of access to 

equipment when the schools do not own the equipment.  

18VAC41-20-210. Add curriculum requirements for nail 

schools and waxing schools.  

18VAC41-20-230. Repeal this section, which is already 

contained within 18VAC41-20-130.  

18VAC41-20-240. Require schools provide certain 

documentation to the board within specified time periods. 

18VAC41-20-250. Require that schools provide student 

rosters to the board twice a year at specified intervals.  

18VAC41-20-270. (i) Clarify the disinfection process and add 

that scissors must be disinfected between clients; (ii) add 

language about disinfecting tubs and bowls used for nail care, 

upkeep of the immediate area around wax pots, and requiring 

client bathrooms; (iii) add regulations regarding sanitary 

storage of soiled and clean linens, sanitary containers, 

labeling, and disinfectant for nail care; and (iv) specify what 

should be included in the blood spill cleanup kit. 

18VAC41-20-280. (i) Provide grounds for discipline for 

failing to teach the approved curriculum, committing bribery, 

failing to respond or providing false or misleading 

information to the board or its agents, and refusing to allow 

inspection of any shop, salon, or school; (ii) clarify and refine 

grounds for discipline for certain criminal convictions and 

failing to report convictions within a certain time period; (iii) 

provide grounds for discipline for allowing unlicensed 

activity, failing to take sufficient measures to prevent 

transmission of communicable disease, and failing to comply 

with all procedures with regard to conduct at the examination. 

Issues: The primary advantage of the proposed amendments 

to the public is the board will continue to approve applicants 

and license professionals for which it has safeguards to ensure 

proper competency and standards of conduct. The addition of 

prohibited acts will reduce fraud and better ensure the 

regulant population is minimally competent. The clarification 

of requirements regarding sanitation and health safety will 

ensure that the health, safety, and welfare of the public are 

better served. Further, regulants and applicants within these 

professions will be able to read board requirements with 

greater clarity and understanding. The added clarity of the 

language in the proposed regulations will facilitate a quicker 

and more efficient process for applicants and regulants by 

enhancing their understanding of their individual 

requirements. Further, consumers in the public, as well as 

regulators from related agencies, will have a better 

understanding of board requirements, which will also allow 

them to conduct their business with greater efficiency.  

The primary advantage to the Commonwealth will be the 

continued successful regulation of barbers, cosmetologists, 

nail technicians, and wax technicians who meet the minimum 

entry standards. The proposed amendments strengthen the 

department's ability to investigate and discipline regulants 

who disregard the health, safety, and welfare of the public. 

No disadvantage has been identified. 

The incorporation of the previously adopted wax technician 

regulations will further simplify and enhance the regulated 

community's efforts to locate pertinent regulations. The 

clarification of the proposed language will facilitate greater 

understanding of board requirements for all involved. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. As a 

result of a periodic review, the Board for Barbers and 

Cosmetology (Board) proposes to make many substantive and 

clarifying changes to its regulations. Specifically, the Board 

proposes to: 

1) Add a definition for responsible management and 

specify that responsible management must be in good 

standing if already licensed in Virginia or any other 

political jurisdiction and must provide a physical address 

(rather than a post office box) to the Board, 

2) Change criminal background reporting requirements, 

3) Require that individuals apply for licensure within five 

years of taking their licensure exam, 

4) Allow the Board to decline to issue licenses, 

temporary permits and temporary instructor permits if 

grounds exist that would allow the Board to deny 

licensure (criminal activity, disciplinary action from this 

Board or any other, etc.), 

5) Require that voided licenses be returned to the Board 

within 30 days of them being voided, 

6) Require schools that are licensed by the Board have 

copies of any agreements that allow them to use 

necessary equipment that is owned by another entity, 

7) Require schools licensed by the Board to periodically 

provide student rosters, 

8) Require a 2x2 headshot of students attending any 

school licensed by the Board be attached to their student 

record files, and 

9) Require all shops, salons and schools licensed by the 

Board to have a bathroom with hot and cold running 

water in their facility. 

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely exceed costs for some 

proposed regulatory changes; for some changes, there is 
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insufficient information to ascertain whether benefits will 

outweigh costs. One proposed change as written is far more 

expensive than it need be. Costs likely outweigh benefits for 

at least one proposed change. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Current regulations are not 

written so that the Board receives information about criminal 

convictions or past Board disciplinary actions for individuals 

whose businesses are licensed as limited liability corporations 

(LLCs). This means that owners of a licensed business that is 

disciplined and loses its license can incorporate a new 

business and apply for a license and the Board would not 

know about past disciplinary actions against, essentially, the 

same entity. Because of situations such as this, the Board now 

proposes to add a definition for responsible management to 

include owners and officers of LLCs and also proposes to 

require that such entities be in good standing with this Board 

as well as any others where they might be licensed. This 

action will allow the Board to track owners of licensed 

businesses and deny licensure to businesses that have been 

disciplined and have lost their licenses in the past. This 

change is likely to benefit the public as it will keep businesses 

that have been disciplined in the past from opening up under a 

new name but likely with the same unsafe or unethical 

practices that lost them their license in the first place.  

Current regulations require that applicants for licensure 

disclose, and provide corroborating paperwork, to the Board 

for all misdemeanor and felony convictions. Board staff 

reports, however, that most misdemeanor convictions would 

normally not be considered grounds for denial of licensure. 

This means that currently applicants for licensure are 

spending time and money to gather paperwork from whatever 

jurisdictions they need to, including jurisdictions very far 

away from Virginia, and that the Board is spending time 

unnecessarily looking at paperwork for legal infractions that 

have no bearing on whether the applicant is likely to provide 

safe and ethical services to their clients. To address these 

issues, the Board now proposes to limit the scope of 

convictions that applicants must report to misdemeanors 

involving moral turpitude that occur within three years of 

application for licensure and all felony convictions regardless 

of when they occurred. Affected applicants for licensure will 

benefit from this as they will not have to incur expenses for 

gathering paperwork associated with older misdemeanors or 

misdemeanors that do not involve moral turpitude, which 

may only be available if they physically go to the courthouses 

where convictions occurred. The Board will also benefit from 

not being inundated with paperwork that is unlikely to affect 

the licensing decisions they make. 

Currently, individuals may apply for licensure any time after 

they complete training requirements and pass the licensure 

exam without time limits. The Board feels that practical 

methodology in fields licensed by the Board change enough 

over time that individuals who passed their licensure exam a 

long time before they actually apply for licensure may no 

longer be competent to practice. As a consequence, the Board 

proposes to specify that individuals must apply for licensure 

no longer than five years after they take the licensure exam. 

Any individuals applying for licensure past that timeframe 

will have to pay to take the licensure exam again (currently 

this costs $155). The benefits of this change will only 

outweigh the costs if changes within fields licensed by the 

Board are significant enough to render individuals 

incompetent to practice without refreshing their knowledge 

and retaking the exam. There is insufficient information to 

ascertain whether this would be the case. 

Board staff reports that currently the Board requires 

applicants for licensure to disclose past crimes and 

disciplinary actions but that current regulations do not allow 

the Board to deny licensure because of the information 

disclosed. The Board now proposes to add language to these 

regulations that will allow the Board to deny the issuance of 

licenses, temporary permits and temporary instructor permits 

if they believe that any information disclosed to the Board 

would deem the applicant unfit or unsuited to practice in 

fields that are licensed by the Board. This change will likely 

benefit the public as it will allow the Board to decline to 

license individuals that have, for instance, a past history of 

injury to clients in other jurisdictions. 

Current regulations require that the Board be notified within 

30 days if a Board issued business license is voided for any 

reason (the business has been sold, responsible management 

has changed, etc.) and also require that the voided license be 

returned to the Board but does not specify when. Because the 

Board is concerned that holders of these licenses will pass 

them to other entities that might fraudulently set up shop with 

them, the Board now proposes to require that voided licenses 

be returned to the Board within 30 days of the change that 

voided them. To the extent that it is complied with, this 

change will greatly benefit the public as it will stop the 

offering of services that would be performed fraudulently 

under a license that does not belong to the individual(s) 

offering those services.  

The Board proposes several other regulatory changes to 

prevent possible fraudulent activity at licensed schools. 

Specifically the Board proposes to require schools that do not 

own equipment necessary for teaching to have copies of 

agreements that allow them to access equipment owned by 

other entities for their students to use; schools will also be 

required to periodically provide the Board with student 

rosters. These changes will allow Board staff to verify that 

students will have access to the equipment needed to learn 

Board required skills and that schools are not making up 

student files only when they are inspected by the Board. 

Board staff reports that these changes will likely cost less 

than $25 per year in compliance costs. These costs are likely 

outweighed by the benefits that will likely accrue to students 

who will be more likely to be guaranteed to have access to 

equipment necessary for their education. 
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The Board also proposes to require that student files include a 

2x2 head and shoulder photo of the student. Board staff 

reports that this will be required to combat rampant testing 

fraud and will allow the identity of students taking licensure 

exams to be verified. While this change is likely to benefit the 

public, because fewer individuals would presumably be 

licensed without actually passing the licensure exam, the cost 

of compliance for this requirement as written will likely be 

far higher than it needs to be. 2x2 (passport size) photos cost 

between $8 and $12
1
 whereas larger, more conventionally 

sized photos, are far cheaper. A 4x6 photo print, for instance, 

can be printed for as little as $0.09 at Walmart. Compliance 

costs for this requirement could be very easily significantly 

reduced if the Board changed the proposed language to 

require a photo that was at least 2x2 rather than exactly 2x2.  

Finally, current regulations require that licensed shops, salons 

and schools have a fully functional bathroom in the same 

building with a working toilet and sink. Some enforcement 

agents have allowed salons in malls to count the mall 

bathrooms as meeting this requirement and some enforcement 

agents have said that mall bathrooms do not meet this 

requirement. Board staff reports that the Board is concerned 

that allowing mall bathrooms to meet regulatory requirements 

will have a client wandering far afield of licensed facilities 

possibly in the middle of chemical hair treatments of various 

kinds. Board staff reports that the Board feels it would be 

safer for clients if salons are required to have bathrooms 

within their shops. The Board now proposes to add language 

to these regulations that requires licensed facilities have 

bathrooms that are maintained exclusively for client use. 

Board staff estimates that there are approximately 15 to 30 

licensed shops that are located in malls and do not have 

bathroom facilities within the confines of their shops that 

would have to either move or build a bathroom in order to 

comply with this proposed regulatory change. Board staff 

further estimates that building a bathroom in shops that do not 

have them can cost between $2,000 and $10,000. Given the 

high cost of requiring shops to meet a stricter standard than is 

sometimes allowed now, costs for this proposed change likely 

outweigh the benefits of increased convenience for clients 

and possibly avoiding chemical burns if clients go to use the 

mall bathroom and stay away longer than they should or 

longer than is advised. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR) reports 

that the Board currently licenses 58,421 individuals and 7,349 

shops and schools in the Commonwealth. All of these 

entities, as well as future licensees, will be affected by these 

proposed changes. Most, if not all, shops and schools would 

likely qualify as small businesses.  

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action.  

Projected Impact on Employment. A new proposed 

requirement that individuals apply for licensure within five 

years of taking their licensure exam may increase costs for 

these individuals (as they would have to study for and retake 

their exam) and may slightly decrease the probability of them 

becoming licensed and working in fields licensed by the 

Board. Board staff believes from anecdotal evidence that such 

a situation would be extremely rare. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. Proposed 

changes such as requiring in-shop client bathrooms where 

shops currently are allowed to be in regulatory compliance by 

being in a large facility (such as a mall) that has bathroom 

accommodations are likely to greatly increase costs, and 

lower profits, for affected shops 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Proposed 

requirements that impact bathroom facilities will likely 

increase costs for affected small businesses. Several proposed 

requirements, such as having to periodically provide student 

rosters and have 2x2 headshots attached to student files, are 

likely to increase costs either for schools or for both schools 

and their students.  

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. The Board would likely be able to decrease 

costs for regulated entities by allowing photos that were 

larger than 2x2 for student files. The Board also may wish to 

revisit proposed bathroom requirements.  

Real Estate Development Costs. Proposed changes such as 

requiring in-shop client bathrooms where shops currently are 

allowed to be in regulatory compliance by being in a larger 

facility (such as a mall) that has bathroom accommodations 

are likely to increase the cost of building new malls that will 

have barber shops or salons as tenants. 

Legal Mandate.  

General: The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has 

analyzed the economic impact of this proposed regulation in 

accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and 

Executive Order Number 14 (2010). Section 2.2-4007.04 

requires that such economic impact analyses determine the 

public benefits and costs of the proposed amendments. 

Further the report should include but not be limited to: 

• the projected number of businesses or other entities to 

whom the proposed regulation would apply, 

• the identity of any localities and types of businesses or 

other entities particularly affected, 

• the projected number of persons and employment 

positions to be affected,  

• the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and  

• the impact on the use and value of private property.  

Small Businesses: If the proposed regulation will have an 

adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires 

that such economic impact analyses include: 

• an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the proposed regulation, 
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• the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other 

administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the proposed regulation, including the type 

of professional skills necessary for preparing required 

reports and other documents, 

• a statement of the probable effect of the proposed 

regulation on affected small businesses, and  

• a description of any less intrusive or less costly 

alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the 

proposed regulation.  

Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1, if there is a finding 

that a proposed regulation may have an adverse impact on 

small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative 

Rules is notified at the time the proposed regulation is 

submitted to the Virginia Register of Regulations for 

publication. This analysis shall represent DPB's best estimate 

for the purposes of public review and comment on the 

proposed regulation.  

_________________________________________________ 
1 An internet search revealed prices for passport photos ranging from $7.99 at 

Walmart to $11.99 at CVS.  

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The board 

concurs with the analysis for #1, 2, and 4 through 7 in the 

Summary of Proposed Amendments to Regulations. The 

board respectfully disagrees with #3, 8, and 9. 

Summary of Proposed Amendments to Regulations 

1. Summary Item #3: The proposed regulations would require 

that an applicant who does not apply for licensure within five 

years of passing the exam must retake the exam to be eligible 

for licensure.  

Economic Impact Analysis (EIA) position: "The benefits of 

this change will only outweigh the costs if changes within 

fields licensed by the Board are significant enough to render 

individuals incompetent to practice without refreshing their 

knowledge and retaking the exam." 

Agency Response: There are several fundamental reasons for 

implementing this change in the regulations, not just the 

single issue raised by the EIA. For someone who applies for 

their license more than five years after taking the exam, the 

full scope of problems includes: 

• The board cannot know whether they still possess the 

knowledge or skill to competently practice, 

• The board does not have access to testing records older than 

five years to confirm the applicant truly passed the exam, and 

• Changes in the industry may have made the applicant's 

knowledge obsolete. 

The EIA fails to take into consideration the broader range of 

issues in its analysis. Without adding this requirement, the 

board will face the dilemma of having to license individuals 

who may not be minimally competent, as well as experience 

increased costs for maintaining exam records in perpetuity. 

Explanation: The board is statutorily required to establish the 

qualifications of applicants for licensure. The board utilizes 

written and practical examinations to establish that applicants 

possess the competence to engage in the profession. 

There are several issues that affect competence when an 

applicant has not been engaged with the profession for many 

years. The EIA correctly identifies that changes in the 

industry may render an applicant's knowledge obsolete. 

However, the EIA fails to account for the other, more 

significant reason, which is that individuals who have not 

been engaged in the profession for five years are likely to 

have forgotten much of the knowledge and skill for engaging 

in the practice. The board has no way of knowing whether an 

individual who has not been engaged in the practice for six, 

10, or 20 years still has the practical skill or information base 

to practice safely. Since the board regulates professions which 

cut, use chemicals, and work closely on peoples bodies, it is 

particularly important that the board meet its statutory 

obligation to ensure it licenses minimally competent 

individuals. The board believes that it cannot accurately 

assess if an individual possesses the skill and knowledge 

qualifications for licensure if those skills and knowledge have 

not been measured in the previous five years. 

Further, the EIA does not identify that the proposed 

regulations add the requirement that records of examinations 

only be kept for five years. Currently, while the regulations 

allow an applicant to apply any time after they have taken the 

exam, the board's examination vendor only maintains exam 

records for five years. This discrepancy means that the board 

has no way to verify that an applicant claiming to have passed 

the exam more than five years ago has truly done so. To 

resolve this conflict without changing the regulation, the 

board will have to either require the exam vendor to maintain 

records in perpetuity or start maintaining these records itself. 

Either of these options will increase costs to the board, which 

in turn, will impact licensing fees. As such, the board believes 

that the five-year recordkeeping will result in maintaining a 

lower cost for licensure. 

2. Summary Item #8: The proposed regulations would require 

a 2x2 head and shoulder picture of the students attending any 

school licensed by the board be attached to their student 

record files.  

EIA Position: "[T]he cost of compliance for this requirement 

as written will likely be far higher than it needs to be. 2x2 

(passport size) photos cost between $8 and $12, whereas 

larger, conventionally sized photos, are far cheaper." 

Agency Response: The proposed regulation does not specify 

passport photos, and can be met by any type of photo, as long 

as the head and shoulder portion are 2x2. The EIA assumes 

that the cost of this requirement will be the cost of acquiring 

passport photos. However, the EIA's assumptions fail to take 

into account that: 

• This requirement is for the schools, not the students,  

• The regulation does not require passport photos, and 
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• Students are already required to provide this 2x2 photo 

during the application process.  

The EIA's incorrect assumption that only a passport photo 

would meet this requirement leads to a fundamental flaw in 

its analysis. Compliance costs would only be in the $8 to $12 

range if the school did not provide this service and if the 

student chose to utilize passport photos in addition to the 

photos already required during the application process. 

Further, the proposed regulation would provide the board 

with an important tool to combat rampant fraud in the 

prelicensure process. 

Explanation: The board is authorized to establish the 

qualifications of licensure and to promulgate regulations 

necessary to effectively administer the regulatory system. The 

authority currently in 18VAC41-20-20 of the board's 

regulations already requires that in order to be eligible to sit 

for examination, a student must have completed a board-

approved training program. 

The language contained in proposed 18VAC41-20-240 A, 

requiring schools maintain a 2x2 color head and shoulder 

photo, is a necessary piece of fraud detection for the board to 

corroborate that the individual sitting for the exam is, in fact, 

the student who completed the training program. This 

regulation is being proposed, along with several other 

recordkeeping measures, to address rampant fraud in the pre-

licensure process.  

The EIA does not take into account that the requirement is for 

the schools. The school would bear the requirement of 

maintaining the photo, and may utilize its own photograph 

equipment to comply with the regulation. It is likely that there 

will be variation in the market, with some schools generating 

the photo in-house, and others asking the students to provide 

the photo. As such, the cost of the regulation may be as little 

as the cost for the school in ink and printer paper. 

The EIA incorrectly assumes that this requirement is met only 

with a passport photo. While a school may utilize a passport 

photo, the regulation does not specify or require a passport 

photo. Schools may utilize whatever sized photo they wish, as 

long as the head and shoulder portion is 2x2. The EIAs 

recommendation of using a $0.09 4x6 photo is already 

acceptable under the proposed regulation, as long as the head 

and shoulder portion meets the 2x2 criteria. In fact, as will be 

explained below, the board currently accepts and utilizes 

these types of photos for the other 2x2 photo requirements. It 

is worth noting that even the U.S. Department of State does 

not require individuals to purchase passport photos and has a 

tool to allow passport applicants to take their own photo. 

The EIA incorrectly assumes that this requirement will create 

a new financial burden. As noted above, applicants already 

are required to provide a 2x2 head and shoulder color 

photograph when they apply for licensure. This photo must be 

submitted along with their application. The examination 

vendor utilizes this photo to ensure that the individual taking 

the exam is the same individual who applied for licensure. 

These photograph requirements have been essential to the 

board's ability to stop testing fraud. Contrary to the EIA's 

assumption that there will be a new requirement for the 

student to produce a 2x2 photo, applicants are already 

obtaining these photographs. The board frequently sees 4x6 

photos, whole or cut down to 2x2. The board also accepts 2x2 

photographs that have been printed on home printers if they 

meet the standard. This recordkeeping requirement for the 

schools, if the school defrays the cost to the student, only 

means the student would have to produce an additional copy 

of the 2x2. So even if a student chose to utilize the higher cost 

passport photo, since passport photos come in sets, ranging 

from two to 10 photos, there would likely be no additional 

cost for students utilizing passport photos. 

3. Summary Item #9: The proposed regulations would add to 

the existing requirement that shops, salons, schools, and 

facilities maintain working toilet and sink, an additional 

requirement that the bathroom be exclusively for client use 

and have hot and cold running water.  

EIA Position: "The EIA argues that, [g]iven the high cost of 

requiring shops to meet a stricter standard than is sometimes 

allowed now, costs for this proposed change likely outweigh 

the benefits" 

Agency Response: The proposed regulations address a very 

rare situation in which a salon or shop does not have an 

exclusive client bathroom with hot and cold water, usually 

because they are situated in a mall. Salons and shops are 

already required to utilize hot water for cleaning and 

sterilizing the facility and equipment. The board has 

encountered and foresees certain health and safety risks 

associated with not having this requirement, such as: 

• Loss of oversight of chemical treatments while clients have 

left the salon or shop, and 

• Unsanitary bathroom conditions that the salon or shop has 

no authority to address. 

Additionally, this requirement would add a level of 

convenience, as patrons would not have to travel across the 

mall to use the bathroom. The board believes these are 

substantial issues for the salons and shops that are affected. 

The EIA fails to adequately account for the health and safety 

risk this regulation is meant to address and fails to mention 

that the board may consider grandfathering existing 

businesses that would be noncompliant when this regulation 

takes effect. 

Explanation: As the EIA explains, this regulation partially 

stems out of a concern regarding salons and shops in malls. 

The board has expressed concern that if salons have to send 

their customers from one end of the mall to the other to use 

the bathroom, the salon is putting that client at risk. Salons 

and shops use chemicals (such as hair dyes, bleaches, etc.) 

which have the potential to cause injury to clients if not used 

correctly, or left on the client for too long. When a client 

under the treatment of these chemicals leaves the salon, the 

salon no longer has oversight of that client. The salon cannot 
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properly supervise the treatment or ensure that the chemicals 

are removed timely when the consumer is off site and subject 

to whatever delays they may encounter while at a shopping 

mall. This situation is a clear and foreseeable risk to the 

public which the board seeks to address.  

Further, the requirement that the bathroom be for client use 

only addresses a re-occurring problem of shared bathrooms. 

The board has encountered during inspections the situations 

of salons sharing bathrooms with other businesses, where the 

salon did not have control over the sanitation of the 

bathroom. This left the board in the dilemma of having to cite 

a business for unsanitary conditions it had no control over, or 

not citing a business that puts its clients in unsanitary 

conditions. 

The board is aware that there could be significant costs 

associated with renovating a facility to come into compliance 

with this proposed regulation. There are currently regulations 

in place that require salons and shops to sanitize using hot 

water. Salons and shops that cannot meet the new standard 

are likely unable to meet the current standard either, and thus 

are not properly sanitizing their implements. The requirement 

for hot and cold water is not necessarily adding a new 

requirement, but rather clarifying the need for hot water. 

Despite this, the board will consider implementing a 

grandfather clause for facilities that this regulation may 

adversely affect due to what could be very large costs to 

comply. It is estimated that there are very few salons or shops 

that would be adversely affected by this regulation. Even with 

a grandfather provision, the board believes that applying the 

proposed regulation to new shops and salons going forward 

will ensure a more sanitary and safer experience as the 

industry moves toward this standard.  

Summary: 

The proposed amendments are the result of a periodic 

review; repeal 18VAC41-40, Wax Technician Regulations, 

and incorporate wax technician regulations into 

18VAC41-20; and include clarifying changes to text to 

ensure consistency with other board regulations and state 

and federal laws and compliance with current industry 

standards. The proposed amendments (i) add new 

definitions; (ii) require disclosure of felonies, certain 

misdemeanors, and disciplinary actions; (iii) require 

individuals to apply for licensure within five years of 

taking the exam; (iv) allow the board to decline to issue 

licenses, temporary permits, and temporary instructor 

permits if grounds exist that would allow the board to deny 

licensure; (v) require voided licenses to be returned to the 

board within 30 days of the license being voided and 

clarify what circumstances may lead to voiding a license; 

(vi) allow for board inspection of shops, salons, and 

schools during reasonable hours; (vii) require schools to 

provide specific information to the board and within 

required time periods; (viii) provide grounds for discipline 

for several prohibited actions; and (ix) update sanitation 

requirements, including a requirement that businesses 

provide a bathroom with hot and cold running water for 

clients.  

Part I  

General  

18VAC41-20-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise. All terms defined in Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-

700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia are 

incorporated in this chapter.  

"Business entity" means a sole proprietorship, partnership, 

corporation, limited liability company, limited liability 

partnership, or any other form of organization permitted by 

law.  

"Direct supervision" means that a Virginia licensed barber, 

cosmetologist, or nail technician, or wax technician shall be 

present in the barbershop, cosmetology salon, or nail 

technician salon, or waxing salon at all times when services 

are being performed by a temporary permit holder or 

registered apprentice.  

"Endorsement" means a method of obtaining a license by a 

person who is currently licensed in another state.  

"Firm" means any business entity recognized under the laws 

of the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

"Licensee" means any person, partnership, association, 

limited liability company, or corporation sole proprietorship, 

partnership, corporation, limited liability company, limited 

liability partnership, or any other form of organization 

permitted by law holding a license issued by the Board for 

Barbers and Cosmetology, as defined in § 54.1-700 of the 

Code of Virginia.  

"Post-secondary educational level" means an accredited 

college or university that is approved or accredited by the 

Commission on Colleges or by an accrediting agency that is 

recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education.  

"Reciprocity" means a conditional agreement between two 

or more states that will recognize one another's regulations 

and laws for equal privileges for mutual benefit.  

"Reinstatement" means having a license or certificate 

restored to effectiveness after the expiration date has passed.  

"Renewal" means continuing the effectiveness of a license 

or certificate for another period of time.  

"Responsible management" means the following 

individuals: 

1. The sole proprietor of a sole proprietorship; 

2. The partners of a general partnership; 

3. The managing partners of a limited partnership; 

4. The officers of a corporation; 

5. The managers of a limited liability company; 

6. The officers or directors of an association or both; and 
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7. Individuals in other business entities recognized under 

the laws of the Commonwealth as having a fiduciary 

responsibility to the firm. 

"Sole proprietor" means any individual, not a corporation, 

who is trading under his own name, or under an assumed or 

fictitious name pursuant to the provisions of §§ 59.1-69 

through 59.1-76 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Virginia state institution" for the purposes of these 

regulations means any institution approved by the Virginia 

Department of Education or the Virginia Department of 

Corrections.  

Part II  

Entry  

18VAC41-20-20. General requirements for a barber, 

cosmetologist, or nail technician, or wax technician 

license.  

A. In order to receive a license as a barber, cosmetologist, or 

nail technician, an applicant must Any individual wishing to 

engage in barbering, cosmetology, nail care, or waxing shall 

obtain a license in compliance with § 54.1-703 of the Code of 

Virginia and shall meet the following qualifications:  

1. The applicant shall be in good standing as a licensed 

barber, cosmetologist, or nail technician, or wax technician 

in every jurisdiction Virginia and all other jurisdictions 

where licensed. The applicant shall disclose to the board at 

the time of application for licensure, any disciplinary 

action taken in another jurisdiction Virginia and all other 

jurisdictions in connection with the applicant's practice as a 

barber, cosmetologist, or nail technician, or wax 

technician. This includes but is not limited to monetary 

penalties, fines, suspensions, revocations, surrender of a 

license in connection with a disciplinary action, or 

voluntary termination of a license. The applicant shall 

disclose to the board at the time of application for licensure 

whether if he has been previously licensed in Virginia as a 

barber, cosmetologist, or nail technician, or wax 

technician.  

Upon review of the applicant's prior disciplinary action, the 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any 

applicant wherein the board deems the applicant is unfit or 

unsuited to engage in barbering, cosmetology, nail care, or 

waxing. The board will decide each case by taking into 

account the totality of the circumstances. Any plea of nolo 

contendere or comparable plea shall be considered a 

disciplinary action for the purposes of this section. The 

applicant shall provide a certified copy of a final order, 

decree, or case decision by a court, regulatory agency, or 

board with the lawful authority to issue such order, decree, 

or case decision, and such copy shall be admissible as 

prima facie evidence of such disciplinary action.  

2. The applicant shall disclose his physical address. A post 

office box is not acceptable.  

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a 

statement certifying that the applicant has read and 

understands the Virginia barber and cosmetology license 

laws and the regulations of the board this chapter.  

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

the each applicant shall not have been convicted in any 

jurisdiction of a misdemeanor or felony which directly 

relates to the profession of barbering, cosmetology, or nail 

care. The board shall have the authority to determine, 

based upon all the information available, including the 

applicant's record of prior convictions, if the applicant is 

unfit or unsuited to engage in the profession of barbering, 

cosmetology, or nail care. The board will decide each case 

by taking into account the totality of the circumstances. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for the purposes of this section. The applicant 

shall provide a certified copy of a final order, decree or 

case decision by a court or regulatory agency with the 

lawful authority to issue such order, decree or case 

decision, and such copy shall be admissible as prima facie 

evidence of such conviction. This record shall be 

forwarded by the applicant to the board within 10 days 

after all appeal rights have expired disclose the following 

information regarding criminal convictions in Virginia and 

all other jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution, or physical 

injury within three years of the date of the application; 

and 

b. All felony convictions during the applicant's lifetime.  

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for purposes of this subsection. The record of a 

conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 

facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any 

applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall provide evidence satisfactory to the 

board that the applicant has passed the board approved 

board-approved examination, administered either by the 

board or by independent examiners.  

B. Eligibility to sit for board-approved examination.  

1. Training in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Any person 

completing an approved barber, cosmetology, or nail 

technician, or wax technician training program in a 

Virginia licensed barber, cosmetology, or nail technician, 

or wax technician school, respectively, or a Virginia public 

school's barber, cosmetology, or nail technician, or wax 

technician program approved by the State Virginia 

Department of Education shall be eligible for examination.  

2. Training outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia, but 

within the United States and its territories.  
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a. Any person completing a barber or cosmetology 

training program that is substantially equivalent to the 

Virginia program but is outside of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia must submit to the board documentation of the 

successful completion of 1,500 hours of training to be 

eligible for examination. If less than 1,500 hours of 

barber or cosmetology training was completed, an 

applicant must submit a certificate, diploma, or other 

documentation acceptable to the board verifying the 

completion of a substantially equivalent barber or 

cosmetology course and documentation of six months of 

barber or cosmetology work experience in order to be 

eligible for examination.  

b. Any person completing a nail technician training 

program that is substantially equivalent to the Virginia 

program but is outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia 

must submit to the board documentation of the successful 

completion of 150 hours of training to be eligible for 

examination. If less than 150 hours of nail technician 

training was completed, an applicant must submit a 

certificate, diploma, or other documentation acceptable to 

the board verifying the completion of a substantially 

equivalent nail technician course and documentation of 

six months of nail technician work experience in order to 

be eligible for the nail technician examination.  

c. Any person completing a wax technician training 

program that is substantially equivalent to the Virginia 

program but is outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia 

must submit to the board documentation of the successful 

completion of 115 hours of training to be eligible for 

examination. If less than 115 hours of wax technician 

training was completed, an applicant must submit a 

certificate, diploma, or other documentation acceptable to 

the board verifying the completion of a substantially 

equivalent wax technician course and documentation of 

six months of wax technician work experience in order to 

be eligible for the wax technician examination.  

18VAC41-20-30. License by endorsement.  

Upon proper application to the board, any person currently 

licensed to practice as a barber, cosmetologist, or nail 

technician, or wax technician who is a barber, cosmetology 

or, nail technician, or wax technician instructor, or who is a 

licensed instructor in the respective profession in any other 

state or jurisdiction of the United States and who has 

completed both a training program and a written and practical 

examination that is substantially equivalent to that required 

by these regulations this chapter, may be issued a barber, 

cosmetology, or nail technician, or wax technician license or 

a barber, cosmetology or, nail technician, or wax technician 

instructor certificate, respectively, without an examination. 

The applicant must also meet the requirements set forth in 

18VAC41-20-20.  

18VAC41-20-50. Exceptions to training requirements.  

A. Virginia licensed cosmetologists with a minimum of two 

years of work experience shall be eligible for the barber 

examination; likewise, a Virginia licensed barber with a 

minimum of two years of work experience shall be eligible 

for the cosmetology examination.  

B. Virginia licensed barbers with less than two years of 

work experience and Virginia barber students enrolling in a 

Virginia cosmetology training school shall be given 

educational credit for the training received for the 

performances completed at a barber school; likewise, licensed 

Virginia cosmetologists with less than two years of work 

experience and Virginia cosmetology students enrolling in a 

Virginia barber training school shall be given educational 

credit for the training received for the performances 

completed at a cosmetology school.  

C. Any barber, cosmetologist, or nail technician, or wax 

technician applicant having been trained as a barber, 

cosmetologist, or nail technician, or wax technician in any 

Virginia state institution shall be eligible for the respective 

examination.  

D. Any barber, or cosmetologist, nail technician, or wax 

technician applicant having a minimum of two years 

experience in barbering, or cosmetology, nail care, or waxing 

in the United States armed forces and having provided 

documentation satisfactory to the board of that experience 

shall be eligible for the respective examination.  

18VAC41-20-60. Examination requirements and fees.  

A. Applicants for initial licensure shall pass both a practical 

examination and a written examination approved by the 

board. The examinations may be administered by the board or 

by a designated testing service.  

B. Any applicant who passes one part of the examination 

shall not be required to take that part again provided both 

parts are passed within one year of the initial examination 

date.  

C. Any candidate failing to appear as scheduled for 

examination shall forfeit the examination fee.  

D. The fee for examination or reexamination is subject to 

contracted charges to the board by an outside vendor. These 

contracts are competitively negotiated and bargained for in 

compliance with the Virginia Public Procurement Act (§ 2.2-

4300 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Fees may be adjusted 

and charged to the candidate in accordance with these 

contracts. The fee shall not exceed $225 per candidate.  

E. Any candidate failing to apply for initial licensure within 

five years of passing both a practical examination and a 

written examination shall be required to retake both portions. 

Records of examinations shall be maintained for a maximum 

of five years.  
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18VAC41-20-80. Examination administration.  

A. The examinations shall be administered by the board or 

the designated testing service. The practical examination shall 

be supervised by a chief examiner.  

B. Every barber, cosmetology, or nail technician, or wax 

technician examiner shall hold a current Virginia license in 

their respective professions, have three or more years of 

active experience as a licensed professional, and be currently 

practicing in that profession. Examiners shall attend training 

workshops sponsored by the board or by a testing service 

acting on behalf of the board.  

C. No certified barber, cosmetology, or nail technician, or 

wax technician instructor who is currently teaching, or is a 

school owner, or is an apprentice sponsor shall be an 

examiner.  

D. Each barber, cosmetology, and nail technician, and wax 

technician chief examiner shall hold a current Virginia license 

in his respective profession, have five or more years of active 

experience in that profession, have three years of active 

experience as an examiner, and be currently practicing in his 

respective profession. Chief examiners shall attend training 

workshops sponsored by the board or by a testing service 

acting on behalf of the board.  

E. The applicant shall follow all procedures established by 

the board with regard to conduct at the examination. Such 

procedures shall include any written instructions 

communicated prior to the examination date and any 

instructions communicated at the site, either written or oral, 

on the date of the examination. Failure to comply with all 

procedures established by the board and the testing service 

with regard to conduct at the examination may be grounds for 

denial of application.  

18VAC41-20-90. Barber, cosmetology, and nail 

technician, and wax technician temporary permits.  

A. A temporary permit to work under the supervision of a 

currently licensed barber, cosmetologist or, nail technician, or 

wax technician may be issued only to applicants for initial 

licensure that who the board finds eligible for examination. 

There shall be no fee for a temporary permit.  

B. The temporary permit shall remain in force for 45 days 

following the examination date. The examination date shall 

be the first test date after the applicant has successfully 

submitted an application to the board that an examination is 

offered to the applicant by the board.  

C. Any person continuing to practice barbering, 

cosmetology, or nail care services, or waxing services after a 

temporary permit has expired may be prosecuted and fined by 

the Commonwealth under §§ 54.1-111 A 1 and 54.1-202 of 

the Code of Virginia.  

D. No applicant for examination shall be issued more than 

one temporary permit.  

E. Temporary permits shall not be issued where grounds 

may exist to deny a license pursuant to § 54.1-204 of the 

Code of Virginia or 18VAC41-20-20.  

18VAC41-20-100. General requirements for a barber 

instructor certificate, cosmetology instructor certificate, 

or nail technician instructor certificate, or wax technician 

instructor certificate.  

A. Upon filing an application with the Board for Barbers 

and Cosmetology, any person meeting the qualifications set 

forth in this section shall be eligible for a barber, 

cosmetology, or nail technician instructor certificate, if the 

person: Any individual wishing to engage in barbering 

instruction, cosmetology instruction, nail care instruction, or 

waxing instruction shall meet the following qualifications: 

1. Holds a current Virginia barber, cosmetology, or nail 

technician license, respectively; and The applicant shall be 

in good standing as a licensed barber, cosmetologist, nail 

technician, or wax technician, and instructor, respectively, 

in Virginia and all other jurisdictions where licensed. The 

applicant shall disclose to the board at the time of 

application for licensure any disciplinary action taken in 

Virginia and all other jurisdictions in connection with the 

applicant's practice as a barber, cosmetologist, nail 

technician, or wax technician, or in the practice of teaching 

any of those professions. This includes but is not limited to 

monetary penalties, fines, suspensions, revocations, 

surrender of a license in connection with a disciplinary 

action, or voluntary termination of a license. The applicant 

shall disclose to the board at the time of application for 

licensure if the applicant has been previously licensed in 

Virginia as a barber instructor, cosmetology instructor, nail 

technician instructor, or wax technician instructor.  

Upon review of the applicant's prior disciplinary action, the 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any 

applicant wherein the board deems the applicant is unfit or 

unsuited to engage in the instruction of barbering, 

cosmetology, nail care, or waxing. The board will decide 

each case by taking into account the totality of the 

circumstances. Any plea of nolo contendere or comparable 

plea shall be considered a disciplinary action for the 

purposes of this section. The applicant shall provide a 

certified copy of a final order, decree, or case decision by a 

court, regulatory agency, or board with the lawful authority 

to issue such order, decree, or case decision, and such copy 

shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of such 

disciplinary action; 

2. The applicant shall hold a current Virginia barber, 

cosmetology, nail technician, or wax technician license, 

respectively; 

Passes 3. The applicant shall: 

a. Pass a course in teaching techniques at the post-

secondary educational level; or  
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3. Completes b. Complete an instructor training course 

approved by the Virginia Board for Barbers and 

Cosmetology under the supervision of a certified barber, 

cosmetologist, or nail technician, or wax technician 

instructor in a barber, cosmetology, or nail technician, or 

wax technician school, respectively; or  

4. Passes c. Pass an examination in barber, cosmetology 

or, nail technician, or wax technician instruction 

respectively, administered by the board or by a testing 

service acting on behalf of the board.; and 

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant shall disclose the following information 

regarding criminal convictions in Virginia and all other 

jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution, or physical 

injury within three years of the date of the application; 

and 

b. All felony convictions during the applicant's lifetime.  

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for purposes of this subsection. The record of a 

conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 

facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any 

applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

B. Applicants passing the examination for a barber, 

cosmetology or nail technician instructor certificate 

Instructors shall be required to maintain a barber, 

cosmetology, or nail technician, or wax technician license, 

respectively. 

18VAC41-20-110. Student instructor temporary permit.  

A. A licensed barber, cosmetologist, or nail technician, or 

wax technician may be granted a student instructor temporary 

permit to function under the direct supervision of a barber 

instructor, cosmetology instructor, or nail technician 

instructor, or wax technician instructor respectively. A 

licensed nail technician or wax technician may also be 

granted a student instructor permit to function under the direct 

supervision of a cosmetology instructor.  

B. The student instructor temporary permit shall remain in 

force for not more than 12 months after the date of issuance 

and shall be nontransferable and nonrenewable. 

C. No applicant for examination shall be issued more than 

one student instructor temporary permit.  

D. Failure to maintain a barber, cosmetology, or nail 

technician, or wax technician license shall disqualify an 

individual from holding a student instructor temporary 

permit.  

E. Temporary permits shall not be issued where grounds 

may exist to deny a license pursuant to § 54.1-204 of the 

Code of Virginia or 18VAC41-20-100.  

18VAC41-20-120. Shop General requirements for a shop 

or salon license.  

A. Any individual firm wishing to operate a barbershop, 

cosmetology or salon, nail salon, or waxing salon shall obtain 

a shop or salon license in compliance with § 54.1-704.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. and shall meet the following qualifications 

in order to receive a license:  

1. The applicant and all members of the responsible 

management shall be in good standing as a licensed shop 

or salon in Virginia and all other jurisdictions where 

licensed. The applicant shall disclose to the board at the 

time of application for licensure any disciplinary action 

taken in Virginia and all other jurisdictions in connection 

with the applicant's operation of any barbershop, 

cosmetology salon, nail salon, or waxing salon or practice 

of the profession. This includes but is not limited to 

monetary penalties, fines, suspensions, revocations, 

surrender of a license in connection with a disciplinary 

action, or voluntary termination of a license. The applicant 

shall disclose to the board at the time of application for 

licensure if the applicant has been previously licensed in 

Virginia as a barbershop, cosmetology salon, nail salon, or 

waxing salon.  

Upon review of the applicant's prior disciplinary action, the 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any 

applicant wherein it deems the applicant is unfit or 

unsuited to engage in the operation of a barbershop, 

cosmetology salon, nail salon, or waxing salon. The board 

will decide each case by taking into account the totality of 

the circumstances. Any plea of nolo contendere or 

comparable plea shall be considered a disciplinary action 

for the purposes of this section. The applicant shall provide 

a certified copy of a final order, decree, or case decision by 

a court, regulatory agency, or board with the lawful 

authority to issue such order, decree, or case decision, and 

such copy shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of 

such disciplinary action.  

2. The applicant shall disclose his physical address. A post 

office box is not acceptable. 

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a 

statement certifying that the applicant has read and 

understands the Virginia barber and cosmetology license 

laws and this chapter.  

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant shall disclose the following information 

about the firm and all members of the responsible 

management regarding criminal convictions in Virginia 

and all other jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions within three years of the 

date of the application; and 

b. All felony convictions. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for purposes of this subsection. The record of a 
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conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 

facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any 

applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall disclose the firm's responsible 

management.  

B. A barbershop, cosmetology, or nail salon license Shop or 

salon licenses are issued to firms as defined in this chapter 

and shall not be transferable and shall bear the same name 

and address of the business. Any changes in the name, or 

address, or ownership of the shop or salon shall be reported to 

the board in writing within 30 days of such changes. New 

owners shall be responsible for reporting such changes in 

writing to the board within 30 days of the changes. The board 

shall not be responsible for the licensee's, certificate holder's, 

or permit holder's failure to receive notices, communications, 

and correspondence caused by the licensee's, certificate 

holder's, or permit holder's failure to promptly notify the 

board in writing of any change of name or address or for any 

other reason beyond the control of the board. 

C. In the event of a closing of a barbershop or cosmetology 

or nail salon, the board must be notified by the owners in 

writing within 30 days of the closing, and the license must be 

returned by the owners to the board. Whenever the legal 

business entity holding the license is dissolved or altered to 

form a new business entity, the original license becomes void 

and shall be returned to the board within 30 days of the 

change. Additionally, the firm shall apply for a new license, 

within 30 days of the change in the business entity. Such 

changes include but are not limited to:  

1. Death of a sole proprietor; 

2. Death or withdrawal of a general partner in a general 

partnership or the managing partner in a limited 

partnership; and 

3. Conversion, formation, or dissolution of a corporation, a 

limited liability company, an association, or any other 

business entity recognized under the laws of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. 

D. Any change in the officers of a corporation, managers of 

a limited liability company, or officers or directors of an 

association shall be reported to the board in writing within 30 

days of the change. 

E. The board or any of its agents shall be allowed to inspect 

during reasonable hours any licensed shop or salon for 

compliance with provisions of Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) 

of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia or this chapter. For 

purposes of a board inspection, "reasonable hours" means the 

hours between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m.; however, if the licensee 

generally is not open to the public substantially during the 

same hours, "reasonable hours" shall mean the business hours 

when the licensee is open to the public. 

18VAC41-20-130. School General requirements for a 

school license.  

A. Any individual firm wishing to operate a barber, 

cosmetology, or nail technician, or wax technician school 

shall submit an application to the board at least 60 days prior 

to the date for which approval is sought, obtain a school 

license in compliance with § 54.1-704.2 of the Code of 

Virginia. All instruction and training of barbers, 

cosmetologists, or nail technicians shall be conducted under 

the direct supervision of a licensed barber, cosmetologist, or 

nail technician, respectively., and meet the following 

qualifications in order to receive a license:  

1. The applicant and all members of the responsible 

management shall be in good standing as a licensed school 

in Virginia and all other jurisdiction where licensed. The 

applicant shall disclose to the board at the time of 

application for licensure any disciplinary action taken in 

Virginia and all other jurisdictions in connection with the 

applicant's operation of any barbering, cosmetology, nail, 

or waxing school or practice of the profession. This 

includes but is not limited to monetary penalties, fines, 

suspensions, revocations, surrender of a license in 

connection with a disciplinary action, or voluntary 

termination of a license. The applicant shall disclose to the 

board at the time of application for licensure if the 

applicant has been previously licensed in Virginia as a 

barbering, cosmetology, nail, or waxing school. 

Upon review of the applicant's prior disciplinary action, the 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any 

applicant wherein the board deems the applicant is unfit or 

unsuited to engage in the operation of a barbering, 

cosmetology, nail, or waxing school. The board will decide 

each case by taking into account the totality of the 

circumstances. Any plea of nolo contendere or comparable 

plea shall be considered a disciplinary action for the 

purposes of this section. The applicant shall provide a 

certified copy of a final order, decree, or case decision by a 

court, regulatory agency, or board with the lawful authority 

to issue such order, decree, or case decision, and such copy 

shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of such 

disciplinary action.  

2. The applicant shall disclose the applicant's physical 

address. A post office box is not acceptable. 

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a 

statement certifying that the applicant has read and 

understands the Virginia barber and cosmetology license 

laws and this chapter.  

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant shall disclose the following information 

about the firm and all members of the responsible 

management regarding criminal convictions in Virginia 

and all other jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions within three years of the 

date of the application; and 
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b. All felony convictions.  

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for purposes of this subsection. The record of a 

conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 

facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any 

applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall disclose the firm's responsible 

management.  

B. A barber Barber, cosmetology, or nail technician, and 

wax technician school license licenses are issued to firms as 

defined in this chapter, shall not be transferable, and shall 

bear the same name and address as the school. Any changes 

in the name or the address of record or principal place of 

business of the school shall be reported to the board in 

writing within 30 days of such change. The board shall not be 

responsible for the licensee's, certificate holder's, or permit 

holder's failure to receive notices, communications, and 

correspondence caused by the licensee's, certificate holder's, 

or permit holder's failure to promptly notify the board in 

writing of any change of name or address or for any other 

reason beyond the control of the board. The name of the 

school must indicate that it is an educational institution. All 

signs, or other advertisements, must reflect the name as 

indicated on the license issued by the board and contain 

language indicating it is an educational institution.  

C. In the event of a change of ownership of a school, the 

new owners shall be responsible for reporting such changes in 

writing to the board within 30 days of the changes.  

D. In the event of a school closing, the board must be 

notified by the owners in writing within 30 days of the 

closing, and the license must be returned.  

C. Whenever the legal business entity holding the license is 

dissolved or altered to form a new business entity, the 

original license becomes void and shall be returned to the 

board within 30 days of the change. Additionally, the firm 

shall apply for a new license within 30 days of the change in 

business entity. Such changes include but are not limited to:  

1. Death of a sole proprietor; 

2. Death or withdrawal of a general partner in a general 

partnership or the managing partner in a limited 

partnership; and 

3. Conversion, formation, or dissolution of a corporation, a 

limited liability company, an association, or any other 

business entity recognized under the laws of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. 

D. Any change in the officers of a corporation, managers of 

a limited liability company, or officers or directors of an 

association shall be reported to the board in writing within 30 

days of the change. 

E. Barber schools, cosmetology schools, nail schools, or 

waxing schools under the Virginia Department of Education 

shall be exempted from licensure requirements.  

F. The board or any of its agents shall be allowed to inspect 

during reasonable hours any licensed school for compliance 

with provisions of Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 

of the Code of Virginia or this chapter. For purposes of a 

board inspection, "reasonable hours" means the hours 

between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m.; however, if the licensee generally 

is not open to the public substantially during the same hours, 

"reasonable hours" shall mean the business hours when the 

licensee is open to the public. 

Part III  

Fees  

18VAC41-20-140. Fees.  

The following fees apply:  

FEE TYPE AMOUNT 

DUE 

WHEN DUE 

Individuals: 

Application $105 With application 

License by 

Endorsement 

$105 With application 

Renewal: 

Barber $105 With renewal card 

prior to expiration 

date 

Cosmetologist $105 With renewal card 

prior to expiration 

date 

Nail technician 

Technician 

$105 With renewal card 

prior to expiration 

date 

Wax Technician $105 With renewal card 

prior to expiration 

date 

Reinstatement $210* 

*includes $105 

renewal fee and 

$105 

reinstatement 

fee 

With 

reinstatement 

application 

Instructors: 

Application $125 With application 

License by 

Endorsement 

$125 With application 
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Renewal $150 With renewal card 

prior to expiration 

date 

Reinstatement $300* 

*includes $150 

renewal fee and 

$150 

reinstatement 

fee 

With 

reinstatement 

application 

Facilities: 

Application $190 With application 

Renewal $190 With renewal card 

prior to expiration 

date 

Reinstatement $380* 

*includes $190 

renewal fee and 

$190 

reinstatement 

fee 

With 

reinstatement 

application 

Schools: 

Application $220 With application 

Add Program $100 With application 

Renewal $220 With renewal card 

prior to expiration 

date 

Reinstatement $440* 

*includes $220 

renewal fee and 

$220 

reinstatement 

fee 

With 

reinstatement 

application 

Part IV  

Renewal/Reinstatement  

18VAC41-20-160. License renewal required.  

A. All barber licenses, cosmetology licenses, nail technician 

licenses, barbershop licenses, cosmetology salon licenses, and 

nail technician salon licenses A license or certificate issued 

under this chapter shall expire two years from the last day of 

the month in which they were it was issued.  

B. All barber instructor certificates, cosmetology instructor 

certificates, and nail technician instructor certificates shall 

expire on the same date as the certificate holder's license 

expiration date.  

C. All school licenses shall expire on December 31 of each 

even-numbered year.  

18VAC41-20-180. Failure to renew.  

A. When a licensed or certified individual or business entity 

fails to renew its license or certificate within 30 days 

following its expiration date, the licensee or certificate holder 

shall apply for reinstatement of the license or certificate by 

submitting to the Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation a reinstatement application and 

renewal fee and reinstatement fee.  

B. When a barber, cosmetologist, or nail technician licensed 

or certified individual or business entity fails to renew his its 

license within two years following the expiration date, 

reinstatement is no longer possible. To resume practice, the 

former licensee or certificate holder shall apply for licensure 

or certification as a new applicant, and shall meet all current 

application requirements, shall pass the board's current 

examination and shall receive a new license. Individuals 

applying for licensure under this section shall be eligible to 

apply for a temporary permit from the board under 

18VAC41-20-90 entry requirements for each respective 

license or certificate.  

C. When a barber instructor, cosmetology instructor, or nail 

technician instructor fails to renew his certificate within two 

years following the expiration date, reinstatement is no longer 

possible. To resume practice, the former certificate holder 

shall apply as a new applicant, meet all current application 

requirements, and receive a new license or temporary permit 

from the board. Upon receiving the new license, the 

individual may apply for a new instructor's certificate.  

D. C. The application for reinstatement for a school shall 

provide (i) the reasons for failing to renew prior to the 

expiration date, and (ii) a notarized statement that all students 

currently enrolled or seeking to enroll at the school have been 

notified in writing that the school's license has expired. All of 

these materials shall be called the application package. 

Reinstatement will be considered by the board if the school 

consents to and satisfactorily passes an inspection of the 

school and if the school's records are maintained in 

accordance with 18VAC41-20-240 and 18VAC41-20-250 

and 18VAC41-20-260 by the Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation. Pursuant to 18VAC41-20-190 

18VAC41-20-130, upon receipt of the reinstatement fee, 

application package, and inspection results, the board may 

reinstate the school's license or require requalification or 

both. If the reinstatement application package and 

reinstatement fee are not received by the board within six 

months following the expiration date of the school's license, 

the board will notify the testing service that prospective 

graduates of the unlicensed school are not acceptable 

candidates for the examination. Such notification will be sent 

to the school and must be displayed in a conspicuous manner 

by the school in an area that is accessible to the public. No 

student shall be disqualified from taking the examination 

because the school was not licensed for a portion of the time 
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the student attended if the school license is reinstated by the 

board.  

E. D. The date a renewal fee is received by the Department 

of Professional and Occupational Regulation, or its agent, 

will be used to determine whether a penalty fee or the 

requirement for reinstatement of a license or certificate is 

applicable.  

F. E. When a license or certificate is reinstated, the licensee 

or certificate holder shall be assigned an expiration date two 

years from the date of the last day of the month of 

reinstatement except for school licenses that shall expire on 

December 31 of each even-numbered year.  

G. F. A licensee or certificate holder who that reinstates his 

its license or certificate shall be regarded as having been 

continuously licensed or certified without interruption. 

Therefore, a licensee or certificate holder shall be subject to 

the authority of the board for activities performed prior to 

reinstatement.  

H. G. A licensee or certificate holder who that fails to 

reinstate his its license or certificate shall be regarded as 

unlicensed or uncertified from the expiration date of the 

license or certificate forward. Nothing in these regulations 

this chapter shall divest the board of its authority to discipline 

a licensee or certificate holder for a violation of the law or 

regulations during the period of time for which the individual 

was licensed or certified.  

Part V  

Barber and, Cosmetology, Nail, and Waxing Schools  

18VAC41-20-190. Applicants for state approval. 

(Repealed.) 

A. Any person, firm, or corporation desiring to operate a 

barber, cosmetology, or nail school shall submit an 

application to the board at least 60 days prior to the date for 

which approval is sought.  

B. Barber schools, nail schools, or cosmetology schools 

under the Virginia Department of Education shall be 

exempted from licensure requirements.  

18VAC41-20-200. General requirements.  

A barber, cosmetology, or nail, or waxing school shall:  

1. Hold a school license for each and every location.  

2. Hold a salon license if the school receives compensation 

for services provided in its clinic.  

3. Employ a staff of licensed and certified barber, 

cosmetology, or nail technician, or wax technician 

instructors.  

4. Develop individuals for entry level competency in 

barbering, cosmetology, or nail care, or waxing.  

5. Submit its curricula for board approval.  

a. Barber curricula shall be based on a minimum of 1,500 

clock hours and shall include performances in 

accordance with 18VAC41-20-220.  

b. Cosmetology curricula shall be based on a minimum 

of 1,500 clock hours and shall include performances in 

accordance with 18VAC41-20-220.  

c. Nail technician curricula shall be based on a minimum 

of 150 clock hours and shall include performances in 

accordance with 18VAC41-20-220.  

d. Wax technician curricula shall be based on a minimum 

of 115 clock hours and shall include performances in 

accordance with 18VAC41-20-220. 

6. Inform the public that all services are performed by 

students if the school receives compensation for services 

provided in its clinic by posting a notice in the reception 

area of the shop or salon in plain view of the public.  

7. Classroom Conduct classroom instruction must be 

conducted in an area separate from the clinic area where 

practical instruction is conducted and services are 

provided.  

8. Possess the necessary equipment and implements to 

teach the respective curriculum. If any such equipment or 

implement is not owned by the school, then a copy of all 

agreements associated with the use of such property by the 

school the shall be provided to the board.  

18VAC41-20-210. Curriculum requirements.  

A. Each barber school shall submit with its application a 

curriculum including, but not limited to, a course syllabus, a 

detailed course content outline, a sample of five lesson plans, 

a sample of evaluation methods to be used, and a breakdown 

of hours and performances for all courses to be taught that 

will lead to licensure. The outline for barbering shall include, 

but not be limited to, the following:  

1. School policies;  

2. State law, regulations, and professional ethics;  

3. Business and shop management;  

4. Client consultation;  

5. Personal hygiene;  

6. Cutting the hair with a razor, clippers, and shears;  

7. Tapering the hair;  

8. Thinning the hair;  

9. Shampooing the hair;  

10. Styling the hair with a hand hair dryer;  

11. Thermal waving;  

12. Permanent waving with chemicals;  

13. Shaving;  

14. Trimming a moustache or beard;  

15. Applying hair color;  

16. Lightening or toning the hair;  

17. Analyzing skin or scalp conditions;  

18. Giving scalp treatments;  

19. Giving basic facial massage or treatment;  
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20. Sanitizing and maintaining implements and equipment; 

and  

21. Honing and stropping a razor.  

B. Each cosmetology school shall submit with its 

application a curriculum including, but not limited to, a 

course syllabus, a detailed course content outline, a sample of 

five lesson plans, a sample of evaluation methods to be used, 

and a breakdown of hours and performances for all courses to 

be taught that will lead to licensure. The outline for 

cosmetology shall include, but not be limited to, the 

following:  

1. Orientation:  

a. School policies;  

b. State law, regulations, and professional ethics;  

c. Personal hygiene; and  

d. Bacteriology, sterilization, and sanitation.  

2. Manicuring and pedicuring:  

a. Anatomy and physiology;  

b. Diseases and disorders;  

c. Procedures to include both natural and artificial 

application; and  

d. Sterilization.  

3. Shampooing and rinsing:  

a. Fundamentals;  

b. Safety rules;  

c. Procedures; and  

d. Chemistry, anatomy, and physiology.  

4. Scalp treatments:  

a. Analysis;  

b. Disorders and diseases;  

c. Manipulations; and  

d. Treatments.  

5. Hair styling:  

a. Anatomy and facial shapes;  

b. Finger waving, molding, and pin curling;  

c. Roller curling, combing, and brushing; and  

d. Heat curling, waving, braiding and pressing.  

6. Hair cutting:  

a. Anatomy and physiology;  

b. Fundamentals, materials, and equipment;  

c. Procedures; and  

d. Safety practices.  

7. Permanent waving-chemical relaxing:  

a. Analysis;  

b. Supplies and equipment;  

c. Procedures and practical application;  

d. Chemistry;  

e. Recordkeeping; and  

f. Safety.  

8. Hair coloring and bleaching:  

a. Analysis and basic color theory;  

b. Supplies and equipment;  

c. Procedures and practical application;  

d. Chemistry and classifications;  

e. Recordkeeping; and  

f. Safety.  

9. Skin care and make-up:  

a. Analysis;  

b. Anatomy;  

c. Health, safety, and sanitary rules;  

d. Procedures;  

e. Chemistry and light therapy;  

f. Temporary removal of hair; and  

g. Lash and brow tinting.  

10. Wigs, hair pieces, and related theory:  

a. Sanitation and sterilization;  

b. Types; and  

c. Procedures.  

11. Salon management:  

a. Business ethics; and  

b. Care of equipment.  

C. Each nail school shall submit with its application a 

curriculum including, but not limited to, a course syllabus, a 

detailed course content outline, a sample of five lesson plans, 

a sample of evaluation methods to be used, and a breakdown 

of hours and performances for all courses to be taught that 

will lead to licensure. The outline for nail care shall include, 

but not be limited to, the following:  

1. Orientation:  

a. School policies;  

b. State law, regulations, and professional ethics;  

2. Sterilization, sanitation, bacteriology, and safety;  

3. Anatomy and physiology;  

4. Diseases and disorders of the nail;  

5. Nail procedures (i.e., manicuring, pedicuring, and nail 

extensions); and 

6. Nail theory and nail structure and composition.  

D. Each waxing school shall submit with its application a 

curriculum including, but not limited to, a course syllabus, a 

detailed course content outline, a sample of five lesson plans, 

a sample of evaluation methods to be used, and a breakdown 

of hours and performances for all courses to be taught that 
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will lead to licensure. The outline for waxing shall include, 

but not be limited to, the following:  

1. Orientation:  

a. School policies;  

b. State law, regulations, and professional ethics; and 

c. Personal hygiene. 

2. Skin care and treatment:  

a. Analysis;  

b. Anatomy and physiology;  

c. Diseases and disorders of the skin;  

d. Health sterilization, sanitation, bacteriology, and safety 

including infectious disease control measures; and 

e. Temporary removal of hair.  

3. Skin theory, skin structure, and composition.  

4. Client consultation:  

a. Health conditions;  

b. Skin analysis;  

c. Treatments;  

d. Client expectations; and 

d. Health forms and questionnaires.  

5. Waxing procedures for brow, lip, facial, legs, arms, 

underarm, chest, back, and bikini areas:  

a. Fundamentals;  

b. Safety rules; and  

c. Procedures. 

6. Wax treatments:  

a. Analysis;  

b. Disorders and diseases;  

c. Manipulations; and  

d. Treatments.  

7. Salon management:  

a. Business ethics; and  

b. Care of equipment. 

18VAC41-20-220. Hours of instruction and performances.  

A. Curriculum and performance requirements shall be 

offered over a minimum of 1,500 clock hours for barbering 

and cosmetology, and 150 clock hours for nail care, and 115 

clock hours for waxing.  

B. The curriculum requirements for barbering must include 

the following minimum performances:  

  Hair and scalp treatments 10 

  Hair styling 320 

  Tinting 15 

  Bleaching and frosting 10 

  Temporary rinses 10 

  Semi-permanent color 10 

  Cold permanent waving or chemical 

relaxing 

25 

  Hair shaping 50 

  Wig care, styling, placing on model 5 

  Finger waving and thermal waving 30 

  Facials Basic facials and waxings 5 

  TOTAL 490 

C. The curriculum requirements for cosmetology must 

include the following minimum performances:  

  Hair and scalp treatments 10 

  Hair styling 320 

  Tinting 15 

  Bleaching and frosting 10 

  Temporary rinses 10 

  Semi-permanent color 10 

  Cold permanent waving or chemical 

relaxing 

25 

  Hair shaping 50 

  Wig care, styling, placing on model 5 

  Finger waving and thermal waving 30 

  Manicures/ and pedicures 15 

  Facials Basic facials and waxings 5 

  Sculptured nails/, nail tips/, and wraps 20 

  TOTAL 525 

D. The curriculum requirements for nail care must include 

the following minimum performances:  

  Manicures 30 

  Pedicures 15 

  Individual sculptured nails/ and nail tips 200 

  Individual removals 10 

  Individual nail wraps 20 

  TOTAL 275 

E. The curriculum requirements for waxing must include the 

following minimum performances:  

 Arms 4 

 Back 2 
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 Bikini area 6 

 Brows 12 

 Chest 1 

 Facial (i.e., face, chin, and cheek and lip) 6 

 Leg 3 

 Underarm 2 

 TOTAL 36 

18VAC41-20-230. School identification. (Repealed.) 

Each barber, cosmetology, or nail care school approved by 

the board shall identify itself to the public as a teaching 

institution.  

18VAC41-20-240. Records.  

A. Schools are required to keep upon graduation shall 

maintain on the premises of each school and available for 

inspection by the board or any of its agents the following 

records for the period of a student's enrollment through five 

years after the student's completion of the curriculum, 

termination, or withdrawal, written records of hours and 

performances showing what instruction a student has received 

for a period of five years after the student terminates or 

completes the curriculum of the school. These records shall 

be available for inspection by the department. All records 

must be kept on the premises of each school.:  

1. Enrollment application containing student's signature 

and a 2x2 color head and shoulders photograph; 

2. Daily record of attendance containing student's 

signature; 

3. Student clock hours containing student's signature and 

method of calculation; 

4. Practical performance completion sheets containing 

student's signature; 

5. Final transcript; and 

6. All other relevant documents that account for a student's 

accrued clock hours and practical applications. 

B. Schools shall produce to the board or any of its agents 

within 10 days of the request any document, book, or record 

concerning any student, or for which the licensee is required 

to maintain records, for inspection and copying by the board 

or its agents. The board may extend such time frame upon a 

showing of extenuating circumstances prohibiting delivery 

within such 10-day period. 

C. Schools shall, within 21 days upon receipt of a written 

request from a student, provide documentation of hours and 

performances completed by the student as required to be 

maintained by subsection A of this section. 

D. Prior to a school changing ownership or a school closing, 

the school is required to provide to current students 

documentation of hours and performances completed. 

E. For a period of one year after a school changes 

ownership, the school shall provide, within 21 days upon 

receipt of a written request from a student, documentation of 

hours and performances completed by a current student. 

18VAC41-20-250. Hours reported Reporting.  

A. Schools shall provide, in a manner, format, and 

frequency prescribed by the board, a roster of all current 

students and a roster of students who attended in the 

preceding six months prior to the reporting deadline. 

B. Within 30 days of the closing of a licensed barber school, 

cosmetology school, or nail care school, for any reason, 

ceasing to operate, whether through dissolution or alteration 

of the business entity, the school shall provide a written 

report to the board on performances and hours of each of its 

students who have not completed the program.  

Part VI  

Standards of Practice  

18VAC41-20-260. Display of license.  

A. Each shop owner, salon owner or school owner shall 

ensure that all current licenses, certificates or permits issued 

by the board shall be displayed in plain view of the public 

either in the reception area or at individual work stations of 

the shop, salon, or school in plain view of the public. 

Duplicate licenses, certificates, or permits shall be posted in a 

like manner in every shop, salon, or school location where the 

regulant provides services.  

B. Each shop owner, salon owner, or school owner shall 

ensure that no employee, licensee, student, or apprentice 

performs any service beyond the scope of practice for the 

applicable license.  

C. All licensees, certificate holders, and permit holders shall 

operate under the name in which the license, certificate, or 

permit is issued.  

D. Unless also licensed as a cosmetologist, a barber is 

required to hold a separate nail technician or wax technician 

license if he will be performing nail care or waxing manicures 

or pedicures or applying artificial nails.  

E. All apprenticeship cards issued by the Department of 

Labor and Industry (DOLI) shall be displayed in plain view 

of the public either in the reception area or at individual work 

stations of the shop or salon. The apprentice sponsor shall 

require each apprentice to wear a badge clearly indicating 

their status as a DOLI registered apprentice.  

18VAC41-20-270. Sanitation and safety standards for 

shops, salons, and schools.  

A. Sanitation and safety standards. Any shop, salon, school, 

or facility where barber, cosmetology, or nail services or 

waxing services are delivered to the public must be clean and 

sanitary at all times. Compliance with these rules does not 

confer compliance with other requirements set forth by 

federal, state, and local laws, codes, ordinances, and 

regulations as they apply to business operation, physical 
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construction and maintenance, safety, and public health. 

Licensees shall take sufficient measures to prevent the 

transmission of communicable and infectious diseases and 

comply with the sanitation standards identified in this section 

and shall insure that all employees likewise comply.  

B. Disinfection and storage of implements.  

1. A wet disinfection unit is a container large enough to 

hold a disinfectant solution in which the objects to be 

disinfected are completely immersed. A wet disinfection 

unit must have a cover to prevent contamination of the 

solution. The solution must be a hospital (grade) and 

tuberculocidal disinfectant solution registered with the 

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Disinfectant 

solutions shall be used according to manufacturer's 

directions. Disinfection is to be carried out in the following 

manner:  

2. Disinfection of multiuse items constructed of hard, 

nonporous materials such as metal, glass, or plastic that the 

manufacturer designed for use on more than one client, 

including but not limited to clippers, scissors, combs, and 

nippers is to be carried out in the following manner prior to 

servicing a client: 

a. Remove hair and all foreign matter from the object, 

utilizing a brush if needed. Drill bits are to be soaked in 

acetone and scrubbed with a wire brush to remove all 

foreign matter.  

b. Wash thoroughly with hot water and soap.  

c. Rinse thoroughly with clean water and dry thoroughly 

with a clean paper towel.  

d. Fully immerse instruments implements into solution 

for a minimum of 10 minutes, and  

e. After immersion, rinse articles, thoroughly dry with a 

clean paper towel, and store in a clean predisinfected and 

dry cabinet, drawer, or nonairtight covered container, or 

leave instruments in an EPA-registered 

disinfection/storage solution used according to 

manufacturer's directions.  

3. Single-use items designed by the manufacturer for use 

on no more than one client should be discarded 

immediately after use on each individual client, including 

but not limited to powder puffs, lip color, cheek color, 

sponges, styptic pencils, or nail care implements. The 

disinfection and reuse of these items is not permitted and 

the use of single-use items on more than one client is 

prohibited. 

2. 4. For the purpose of recharging, rechargeable clippers 

may be stored in an area other than in a closed cabinet or 

container. This area shall be clean and the cutting edges of 

any clippers are to be disinfected.  

3. 5. Electrical clipper blades shall be disinfected before 

and after each use. Disinfection is to be carried out in the 

following manner:  

a. Remove all hair and foreign matter;  

b. Remove blade and all hair and foreign matter under 

blade; and  

c. Completely immerse clipper blade into an EPA-

registered hospital (grade) and tuberculocidal disinfectant 

solution for not less than 10 minutes. Wipe the entire 

handle down with the solution.  

d. If the clipper blade cannot be removed, the use of a 

spray or foam used according to the manufacturer's 

instructions will be acceptable provided that the 

disinfectant is an EPA-registered hospital (grade) and 

tuberculocidal disinfectant solution, and that the entire 

handle is also disinfected by wiping with the disinfectant 

solution.  

4. All materials including cosmetic and nail brushes, 

sponges, chamois, spatulas and galvanic electrodes must be 

cleaned with warm water and soap or detergent to remove 

all foreign matter. Implements should then be rinsed, 

thoroughly dried with a clean paper towel, and completely 

immersed in an EPA-registered hospital (grade) and 

tuberculocidal disinfectant solution. Such implements shall 

be soaked for 10 minutes or more, removed, rinsed, dried 

thoroughly and stored in a predisinfected and dry drawer, 

cabinet or nonairtight covered container, or left in an EPA-

registered disinfection/storage solution used according to 

manufacturer's directions.  

5. 6. All wax pots will shall be cleaned and disinfected 

with an EPA-registered hospital (grade) and tuberculocidal 

disinfectant solution with no sticks left standing in the wax 

at any time. The area immediately surrounding the wax pot 

shall be clean and free of clutter, waste materials, spills, 

and any other items which may pose a hazard. 

6. 7. Each barber, cosmetologist, and nail technician, and 

wax technician must have a wet disinfection unit at his 

station.  

7. Nail brushes, nippers, finger bowls, disinfectable or 

washable files and buffers and other instruments must be 

washed in soap and water (files are to be scrubbed with a 

brush to remove all foreign matter), rinsed, thoroughly 

dried with a clean paper towel, and then completely 

immersed in an EPA-registered hospital (grade) and 

tuberculocidal disinfectant solution for 10 minutes after 

each use. After disinfection they must be rinsed, dried 

thoroughly with a clean paper towel, and placed in a dry, 

predisinfected, nonairtight covered receptacle, cabinet or 

drawer, or left in an EPA-registered disinfectant/storage 

system used according to manufacturer's directions.  

8. Drill bits are to be soaked in acetone and scrubbed with 

a wire brush to remove all foreign matter. All foreign 

matter must be removed. The drill bits must then be 

cleaned with warm water and soap or detergent and rinsed, 

dried thoroughly with a clean paper towel, and completely 

immersed in an EPA-registered hospital (grade) and 
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tuberculocidal disinfectant solution. Such implements shall 

be soaked for 10 minutes or more, removed, rinsed, dried 

thoroughly, and stored in a pre-disinfected and dry drawer, 

cabinet or nonairtight covered container, or left in an EPA-

registered disinfection/storage solution used according to 

manufacturer's directions.  

8. Sinks, bowls, tubs, whirlpool units, air-jetted basins, 

pipe-less units, and non-whirlpool basins used in the 

performance of nail care shall be maintained in accordance 

with manufacturer's recommendations. They shall be 

cleaned and disinfected immediately after each client in the 

following manner: 

a. Drain all water and remove all debris;  

b. Clean the surfaces and walls with soap or detergent to 

remove all visible debris, oils, and product residue and 

then rinse with water;  

c. Disinfect by spraying or wiping the surface with an 

appropriate disinfectant; and 

d. Wipe dry with a clean towel.  

C. General sanitation and safety requirements.  

1. All furniture, walls, floors, and windows shall be clean 

and in good repair. Wash basins and shampoo sinks shall 

be clean Service chairs, wash basins, shampoo sinks, 

workstations and workstands, and back bars shall be clean. 

2. The floor surface in the immediate all work area areas 

must be of a washable surface other than carpet. The floor 

must be kept clean, and free of hair, nail clippings, dropped 

articles, spills and, clutter, trash, electrical cords, other 

waste materials, and any other items which may pose a 

hazard;  

3. Walls All furniture, fixtures, walls, floors, windows, and 

ceilings in the immediate work area must be shall be clean 

and in good repair, and free of water seepage and dirt. Any 

mats shall be secured or shall lay flat;  

4. A fully functional bathroom in the same building with a 

working toilet and sink must be available for clients shall 

be maintained exclusively for client use. There must be hot 

and cold running water. Fixtures must be in good 

condition. The bathroom must be lighted and sufficiently 

ventilated. If there is a window, it must have a screen. 

There must be antibacterial soap and clean individual 

single-use towels or hand air-drying device for the client's 

use. Laundering of towels is allowed, space permitting. 

The bathroom must not be used as a work area or for the 

open storage of chemicals;  

5. General areas for client use must be neat and clean with 

a waste receptacle for common trash;  

6. Electrical cords shall be placed to prevent entanglement 

by the client or licensee; and 7. Electrical electrical outlets 

shall be covered by plates;  

7. All sharp tools, implements, and heat-producing 

appliances shall be in safe working order at all times, 

safely stored, and placed so as to prevent any accidental 

injury to the client or licensee;  

8. The salon area shall be sufficiently ventilated to exhaust 

hazardous or objectionable airborne chemicals, and to 

allow the free flow of air; and 

9. Adequate lighting shall be provided.  

D. Equipment sanitation.  

1. Service chairs, wash basins, shampoo sinks and 

workstations shall be clean. Floors shall be kept free of 

hair, nail product, and other waste materials. Combs, 

brushes, towels, razors, clippers, scissors, nippers, and 

other instruments shall be cleaned and sanitized after every 

use and stored free from contamination.  

2. The top of workstands or back bars shall be kept clean;  

3. The work area shall be free of clutter, trash, and any 

other items that may cause a hazard;  

4. Heat-producing appliances and equipment shall be 

placed so as to prevent any accidental injury to the client or 

licensee; and  

5. Electrical appliances and equipment shall be in safe 

working order at all times.  

E. D. Articles, tools, and products.  

1. Clean towels and, robes, or other linens shall be used for 

each patron. Clean towels, robes, or other linens shall be 

stored in a clean predisinfected and dry cabinet, drawer, or 

nonairtight covered container. Soiled towels and, robes, or 

smocks other linens shall be stored in an enclosed a 

container enclosed on all sides including the top, except if 

the towels are stored in a separate laundry rooms. room; 

2. Whenever a haircloth is used, a clean towel or neck strip 

shall be placed around the neck of the patron to prevent the 

haircloth from touching the skin.; 

3. Scissors, razors, clippers, nippers, and all sharp-edged 

cutting instruments shall be sanitized after each use with a 

disinfectant in accordance with the manufacturer's 

instructions.  

4. Hair brushes and combs shall be washed in soap and hot 

water and sanitized after each use. Cleaned instruments, 

such as combs, hair brushes, shears, towels, etc., shall be 

kept free from contamination.  

5. No alum or other astringent shall be used in stick form. 

Liquid or powder astringent must be used.  

6. Permanent wave rods shall be rinsed after each use. End 

papers shall not be reused and shall be destroyed after each 

use.  

7. 3. Soiled implements must be removed from the tops of 

work stations immediately after use;  

8. Clean spatulas, other clean tools, or clean disposable 

gloves shall be used to remove bulk substances from 

containers;  
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9. Powder puffs, lip color, cheek color, sponges, or styptic 

pencils that cannot be sanitized or sterilized are prohibited 

from being used on more than one client;  

10. 4. Lotions, ointments, creams, and powders shall be 

kept in closed containers. A clean spatula, other clean 

tools, or clean disposable gloves shall be used to remove 

bulk substances such as creams or ointments from jars. 

Sterile cotton or sponges shall be used to apply creams, 

lotions, and powders. Cosmetic containers shall be 

recovered covered after each use;  

11. 5. For nail care, if a sanitary container shall be is 

provided to each for a client. Emery boards shall be 

discarded after use on each individual client, the sanitary 

container shall be labeled and implements shall be used 

solely for that specific client. Disinfection shall be carried 

out in accordance with subdivisions B 1 and B 2 of this 

section; 

12. All sharp tools, implements, and heat-producing 

appliances shall be safely stored;  

13. Pre-sanitized tools and implements, linens and 

equipment shall be stored for use in a sanitary enclosed 

cabinet or covered receptacle;  

14. Soiled towels, linens and implements shall be 

deposited in a container made of cleanable materials and 

separate from those that are clean or pre-sanitized;  

15. 6. No substance other than a sterile styptic powder or 

sterile liquid astringent approved for homeostasis and 

applied with a sterile single-use applicator shall be used to 

check bleeding; and  

16. 7. Any disposable material making contact with blood 

or other body fluid shall be disposed of in a sealed plastic 

bag and removed from the shop, salon, school, or facility 

in accordance with the guidelines of the Department of 

Health.  

F. E. Chemical storage and emergency information.  

1. Shops, salons, schools, and facilities shall have in the 

immediate working area a binder with all Material Safety 

Data Sheets (MSDS) provided by manufacturers for any 

chemical products used;  

2. Shop, salons, schools, and facilities shall have a blood 

spill clean-up kit in the work area that contains at 

minimum latex gloves, two 12x12 towels, one disposable 

trash bag, bleach, one empty spray bottle, and one mask 

with face shield or any Occupational Safety and Health 

Administration (OSHA) approved blood spill clean-up kit;  

3. Flammable chemicals shall be stored in a nonflammable 

storage cabinet or a properly ventilated room; and  

4. Chemicals that could interact in a hazardous manner 

(oxidizers, catalysts and solvents) shall be separated in 

storage.  

G. F. Client health guidelines.  

1. All employees providing client services shall cleanse 

their hands with an antibacterial product prior to providing 

services to each client. Licensees shall require that clients 

for nail care services shall cleanse their hands immediately 

prior to the requested nail care service;  

2. An artificial nail shall only be applied to a healthy 

natural nail;  

3. A nail drill or motorized instrument shall be used only 

on the free edge of the nail;  

4. No shop, salon, school, or facility providing 

cosmetology or nail care services shall have on the 

premises cosmetic products containing hazardous 

substances that have been banned by the U.S. Food and 

Drug Administration (FDA) for use in cosmetic products.  

5. No product shall be used in a manner that is disapproved 

by the FDA; and  

6. All regulated services must be performed in a facility 

that is in compliance with current local building and 

zoning codes.  

H. G. In addition to any requirements set forth in this 

section, all licensees and temporary permit holders shall 

adhere to regulations and guidelines established by the 

Virginia Department of Health and the Occupational Safety 

and Health Compliance Division of the Virginia Department 

of Labor and Industry.  

I. H. All shops, salons, schools, and facilities shall 

immediately report the results of any inspection of the shop, 

salon, or school by the Virginia Department of Health as 

required by § 54.1-705 of the Code of Virginia.  

J. I. All shops, salons, schools, and facilities shall maintain a 

self-inspection form on file to be updated on an annual basis, 

and kept for five years, so that it may be requested and 

reviewed by the board at its discretion.  

18VAC41-20-280. Grounds for license revocation or 

suspension; denial of application, renewal or 

reinstatement; or imposition of a monetary penalty.  

A. The board may, in considering the totality of the 

circumstances, fine any licensee, certificate holder, or permit 

holder; suspend or revoke or refuse to renew or reinstate any 

license, certificate, or permit; or deny any application issued 

under the provisions of Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) of Title 

54.1 of the Code of Virginia and the regulations of the board 

this chapter if the board it finds that the licensee, certificate 

holder, permit holder, or applicant:  

1. The licensee, certificate holder, permit holder or 

applicant is Is incompetent, or negligent in practice, or 

incapable mentally or physically, as those terms are 

generally understood in the profession, to practice as a 

barber, cosmetologist, or nail technician, or wax 

technician, or to operate a barbershop, cosmetology salon, 

nail salon, or waxing salon;  
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2. The licensee, certificate holder, permit holder or 

applicant is Is convicted of fraud or deceit in the practice 

or teaching of barbering, cosmetology, or nail care, or 

waxing or fails to teach the curriculum as provided for in 

this chapter;  

3. The licensee, certificate holder, permit holder or 

applicant attempted Attempts to obtain, obtained, renewed 

or reinstated a license, certificate, or permit temporary 

license by false or fraudulent representation;  

4. The licensee, certificate holder, permit holder or 

applicant violates Violates or induces others to violate, or 

cooperates with others in violating, any of the provisions of 

these regulations this chapter or Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et 

seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia or any local 

ordinance or regulation governing standards of health and 

sanitation of the establishment in which any barber, 

cosmetologist, or nail technician, or wax technician may 

practice or offer to practice; 

5. Offers, gives, or promises anything of value or benefit to 

any federal, state, or local employee for the purpose of 

influencing that employee to circumvent, in the 

performance of his duties, any federal, state, or local law, 

regulation, or ordinance governing barbering, cosmetology, 

nail care, or waxing as defined in § 54.1-700 of the Code 

of Virginia; 

6. Fails to respond to the board or any of its agents or 

provides false, misleading, or incomplete information to an 

inquiry by the board or any of its agents; 

7. Fails or refuses to allow the board or any of its agents to 

inspect during reasonable hours any licensed shop, salon, 

or school for compliance with provisions of Chapter 7 (§ 

54.1-700 et seq.) or this chapter; 

5. The licensee, certificate holder, permit holder or 

applicant fails 8. Fails to produce, upon request or demand 

of the board or any of its agents, any document, book, 

record, or copy thereof in a licensee's or owner's 

possession or maintained in accordance with these 

regulations;  

6. A licensee, certificate holder, or permit holder fails 9. 

Fails to notify the board of a change of name or address in 

writing within 30 days of the change for each and every 

license, certificate, or permit. The board shall not be 

responsible for the licensee's, certificate holder's, or permit 

holder's failure to receive notices, communications and 

correspondence caused by the licensee's, certificate 

holder's, or permit holder's failure to promptly notify the 

board in writing of any change of name or address or for 

any other reason beyond the control of the board;  

7. The licensee, certificate holder, permit holder or 

applicant publishes  10. Makes any misrepresentation or 

publishes or causes to be published any advertisement that 

is false, deceptive, or misleading;  

8. The licensee, certificate holder, permit holder or 

applicant fails 11. Fails to notify the board in writing 

within 30 days of the suspension, revocation, or surrender 

of a license, certificate, or permit in connection with a 

disciplinary action in any other jurisdiction or of any 

license, certificate, or permit that has been the subject of 

disciplinary action in any other jurisdiction; or  

9. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

the licensee, certificate holder, permit holder or applicant 

has been convicted in any jurisdiction of a misdemeanor or 

felony that directly relates to the profession of barbering, 

cosmetology, or nail care. The board shall have the 

authority to determine, based upon all the information 

available, including the applicant's record of prior 

convictions, if the applicant is unfit or unsuited to engage 

in the profession of barbering, cosmetology, or nail care. 

The board will decide each case by taking into account the 

totality of the circumstances. Any plea of nolo contendere 

shall be considered a conviction for the purposes of this 

section. The applicant shall provide a certified copy of a 

final order, decree or case decision by a court or regulatory 

agency with the lawful authority to issue such order, decree 

or case decision, and such copy shall be admissible as 

prima facie evidence of such conviction. This record shall 

be forwarded by the applicant to the board within 10 days 

after all appeal rights have expired.  

12. Has been convicted or found guilty, regardless of the 

manner of adjudication in Virginia or any other jurisdiction 

of the United States, of a misdemeanor involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution, or physical 

injury or any felony, there being no appeal pending 

therefrom or the time for appeal having elapsed. Review of 

convictions shall be subject to the requirements of § 54.1-

204 of the Code of Virginia. Any plea of nolo contendere 

shall be considered a conviction for purposes of this 

subdivision. The record of a conviction certified or 

authenticated in such form as to be admissible in evidence 

under the laws of the jurisdiction where convicted shall be 

admissible as prima facie evidence of such conviction or 

guilt; 

13. Fails to inform the board in writing within 30 days of 

pleading guilty or nolo contendere or being convicted or 

found guilty regardless of adjudication of any convictions 

as stated in subdivision 12 of this section; 

14. Allows, as an owner or operator of a shop, salon, or 

school, a person who has not obtained a license or a 

temporary permit to practice as a barber, cosmetologist, 

nail technician, or wax technician unless the person is duly 

enrolled as a registered apprentice; 

15. Allows, as an owner or operator of a school, a person 

who has not obtained an instructor certificate or a 

temporary permit to practice as a barber, cosmetologist, 

nail technician, or wax technician instructor; 
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16. Fails to take sufficient measures to prevent 

transmission of communicable or infectious diseases or 

fails to comply with sanitary requirements provided for in 

this chapter or any local, state, or federal law or regulation 

governing the standards of health and sanitation for the 

practices of barbering, cosmetology, nail care, or waxing, 

or the operation of barbershops, cosmetology salons, nail 

salons, or waxing salons; or 

17. Fails to comply with all procedures established by the 

board and the testing service with regard to conduct at the 

examination. 

B. The board may, in considering the totality of the 

circumstances, revoke, suspend or refuse to renew or reinstate 

the license of any school or impose a fine as permitted by 

law, or both, if the board finds that:  

1. An instructor of the approved school fails to teach the 

curriculum as provided for in these regulations;  

2. The owner or director of the approved school permits or 

allows a person to teach in the school without a current 

instructor certificate; or  

3. The instructor, owner or director is guilty of fraud or 

deceit in the teaching of barbering, cosmetology or nail 

care.  

C. The board may, in considering the totality of the 

circumstances, revoke, suspend or refuse to renew or reinstate 

the license of any barbershop, cosmetology or nail salon or 

impose a fine as permitted by law, or both, if the board finds 

that: 

1. The owner or operator of the shop or salon fails to 

comply with the sanitary requirements of barbershops or 

cosmetology or nail salons provided for in these 

regulations or in any local ordinances; or  

2. The owner or operator allows a person who has not 

obtained a license or a temporary permit to practice as a 

barber, cosmetologist, or nail technician unless the person 

is duly enrolled as a registered apprentice.  

D. The board may, in considering the totality of the 

circumstances, revoke, suspend or refuse to renew or reinstate 

the license of any licensee or impose a fine as permitted by 

law, or both, if the board finds that the licensee fails to take 

sufficient measures to prevent transmission of communicable 

or infectious diseases or fails to comply with any local, state 

or federal law or regulation governing the standards of health 

and sanitation for the practices of barbering, cosmetology, or 

nail care.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC41-20)  

Barber – Barber Instructor Examination & Instructor 

Application, A425-1301_02EXLIC (eff. 9/11) 

Cosmetology – Cosmetology Instructor Examination & 

License Application, A425-1201_04EXLIC (eff. 9/11) 

Nail Technician – Nail Technician Instructor Examination & 

License Application, A425-1206_07EXLIC (eff. 9/11) 

Temporary Permit Application, A425-1213TP (eff. 9/11) 

License by Endorsement Application, A425-1213END (rev. 

2/14) 

Barber - Barber Instructor Examination & License 

Application, A450-1301_02EXLIC-v12 (rev. 7/2016) 

Cosmetology - Cosmetology Instructor Examination & 

License Application, A450-1201_04EXLIC-v15 (rev. 7/2016) 

Nail Technician - Nail Technician Instructor Examination & 

License Application, A450-1206_07EXLIC-v13 (rev. 7/2016) 

Wax Technician - Wax Technician Instructor Examination & 

License Application, A450-1214_15EXLIC-v12 (rev. 7/2016) 

Temporary Permit Application, A450-1213TEMP-v2 (rev. 

7/2016) 

License by Endorsement Application, A450-1213END-v8 

(rev. 7/2016) 

Training & Experience Verification Form, A425-

1213TREXP (eff. 9/11) 

Reinstatement Application, A425-1213REI (rev. 2/14) 

Salon, Shop, Spa & Parlor License Application A425-

1213BUS (rev. 2/14) 

Individuals - Reinstatement Application, A450-1213REI-v8 

(rev. 7/2016) 

Salon, Shop, Spa & Parlor License/Reinstatement Application 

A450-1213BUS-v8 (rev. 7/2016) 

Salon, Shop & Spa Self Inspection Form, A425-

1213_SSS_INSP (eff. 9/11) 

Instructor Certification Application, A425-1213INST (rev. 

2/14) 

School License Application, A425-1213SCH (rev. 2/14) 

Instructor Certification Application, A450-1213INST-v7 (rev. 

7/2016) 

Student Instructor - Temporary Permit Application A450-

1213ST_TEMP-v2 (rev. 7/2016) 

School License Application, A450-1213SCHL-v8 (rev. 

7/2016) 

School Self Inspection Form, A425-1213SCH_INSP (eff. 

9/11) 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b1e1d003107~5&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b1e1d003107~5&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=322d9003107~6&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=322d9003107~6&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9179f003107~7&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9179f003107~7&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9f3b6003107~3&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9f3b6003107~3&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b571b003107~9&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b571b003107~9&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=158e1003107~4&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=158e1003107~4&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0ac2f001831~12&typ=40&actno=001831&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0ac2f001831~12&typ=40&actno=001831&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=62707003107~12&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=62707003107~12&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ba619003107~10&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ba619003107~10&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=45d80001831~15&typ=40&actno=001831&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=45d80001831~15&typ=40&actno=001831&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5e478003107~1&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5e478003107~1&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b2744003107~11&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b2744003107~11&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8d726003107~8&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8d726003107~8&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8a072001831~18&typ=40&actno=001831&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8a072001831~18&typ=40&actno=001831&mime=application/pdf


Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 4 Virginia Register of Regulations October 19, 2015 

511 

Licensure Fee Notice, A425-1213FEE (rev. 2/14) 

Change of Responsible Management Application, A450-

1213CRM-v1 (rev. 7/2016) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3107; Filed September 25, 2015, 9:23 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC41-70. Esthetics Regulations 

(amending 18VAC41-70-10 through 18VAC41-70-40, 

18VAC41-70-60 through 18VAC41-70-110, 18VAC41-70-

160, 18VAC41-70-230, 18VAC41-70-240, 18VAC41-70-

260, 18VAC41-70-270, 18VAC41-70-280; adding 

18VAC41-70-35; repealing 18VAC41-70-170, 18VAC41-

70-220).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

December 16, 2015 - 1:15 p.m. - Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 200, Board Room 1, Richmond, 

VA 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: December 18, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Demetrios J. Melis, Executive Director, 

Board for Barbers and Cosmetology, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8590, 

FAX (804) 527-4295, or email 

barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-201 of Code of Virginia gives authority to 

the Board for Barbers and Cosmetology to promulgate 

regulations and states, in part, that the board has the power 

and duty "To promulgate regulations in accordance with the 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq.) necessary to 

assure continued competency, to prevent deceptive or 

misleading practices by practitioners and to effectively 

administer the regulatory system administered by the 

regulatory board." 

Purpose: The board seeks to amend its current regulations to 

ensure they are as least intrusive and burdensome as possible 

to provide an environment without unnecessary regulatory 

obstacles while still protecting the health, safety, and welfare 

of the public. Additionally, the board seeks to ensure 

regulations are clearly written and easily understandable and 

are representative of the current advancements and standards 

of the industries. Furthermore, the board seeks to strengthen 

some of its reporting requirements and prohibited acts to 

address areas of vulnerabilities for the perpetration of fraud 

by applicants and regulants. The board is also adding 

regulations to allow for esthetics apprenticeships. 

Substance: The proposed amendments: 

18VAC41-70-10. Add new definitions of the terms "business 

entity," "firm," "responsible management," "sole proprietor," 

and "post-secondary education level" and amend the term 

"licensee" to clarify usage in the chapter. 

18VAC41-70-20. Require applicants to disclose all felony 

convictions during their lifetime and certain misdemeanors 

within the last three years and allow that the board may deny 

licensure to any applicant having prior disciplinary violations 

for which the board deems the applicant unfit to engage in the 

profession. 

18VAC41-70-30. Clarify endorsement requirements and 

extend this avenue of licensure to master estheticians.  

18VAC41-70-35. Establish requirements for esthetics 

apprenticeships and allow exam eligibility upon successful 

completion of the apprenticeship by adding this new section. 

18VAC41-70-40. Add requirements that if an applicant does 

not apply for licensure within five years of passing both 

exams, he must reapply and clarify that the board will only 

retain examination records for nonapplicants for a maximum 

of five years. 

18VAC41-70-60. Clarify and standardize requirements for 

examiners and chief examiners and bring the esthetics 

regulations in line with other board regulations. 

18VAC41-70-70. Clarify that no fees will be charged for a 

temporary license and that the license will not be issued 

where grounds exist to deny the license. 

18VAC41-70-80. (i) Add the requirement that the applicant 

spa's license be in good standing and require applicants and 

all members of responsible management to disclose all felony 

convictions during their lifetime, certain misdemeanors 

within the last three years, and any prior discipline by a 

licensing entity and add that the board may deny licensure to 

any applicant having prior disciplinary violations for which 

the board deems the applicant unfit to engage in the 

profession; (ii) require disclosure of the applicant's physical 

address, the firm's responsible management, and certification 

that the applicant has read applicable laws and regulations; 

(iii) add the requirement that voided licenses be returned to 

the board within 30 days and set forth what events void a 

license; (iv) require any change in responsible management 

be reported to the board within 30 days of the change; and (v) 

allow the board to inspect a shop or salon during reasonable 

hours, and define reasonable hours. 

18VAC41-70-90. (i) Add the requirement that the applicant 

school's license be in good standing and require applicants 

and all members of responsible management to disclose all 

felony convictions during their lifetime, certain 

misdemeanors within the last three years, and any prior 

discipline by a licensing entity and add that the board may 

deny licensure to any applicant having prior disciplinary 

violations for which the board deems the applicant unfit to 

engage in the profession; (ii) require disclosure of the 

applicant's physical address, the firm's responsible 

management, and certification that the applicant has read 

applicable laws and regulations; (iii) incorporate 18VAC41-

70-170, add the requirement that voided licenses be returned 

to the board within 30 days, and set forth what events void a 

license; (iv) require any change in responsible management 

be reported to the board within 30 days of the change; (v) 

exempt schools under the Virginia Department of Education; 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ae988003917~8&typ=40&actno=003917&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=17b73003107~2&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=17b73003107~2&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
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and (vi) allow the board to inspect a school during reasonable 

hours, and define reasonable hours.  

18VAC41-70-100. Require esthetics instructor applicants to 

hold a current license in esthetics and to disclose all felony 

convictions during their lifetime, certain misdemeanors 

within the last three years, and any prior discipline by a 

licensing entity and allow for application denial where the 

board deems the applicant unfit or unsuited to engage in the 

profession. 

18VAC41-70-110. Require master esthetics instructor 

applicants to hold a current license in master esthetics and to 

disclose all felony convictions during their lifetime, certain 

misdemeanors within the last three years, and any prior 

discipline by a licensing entity and allow for application 

denial where the board deems the applicant unfit or unsuited 

to engage in the profession. 

18VAC41-70-160. Clarify and standardize the requirements 

for failing to renew licensure.  

18VAC41-70-170. Repeal this section, which is incorporated 

into 18VAC41-70-90. 

18VAC41-70-220. Repeal this section, which is already 

contained within 18VAC41-70-90. 

18VAC41-70-230. Add specific requirements for 

recordkeeping and add a requirement that schools provide 

certain documentation to the board within specified time 

periods. 

18VAC41-70-240. Add the requirement that schools provide 

student rosters to the board twice a year at specified intervals.  

18VAC41-70-260. Add certificate display requirements for 

apprentices. 

18VAC41-70-270. (i) Clarify the disinfection process 

between clients; (ii) add language about disinfecting tubs and 

bowls used for nail care, upkeep of the immediate area around 

wax pots, and requiring client bathrooms with hot and cold 

water; (iii) add regulations regarding sanitary storage of 

soiled and clean linens, sanitary containers, labeling, and 

disinfectant for nail care; and (iv) specify what should be 

included in the blood spill cleanup kit. 

18VAC41-70-280. (i) Provide grounds for discipline for 

failing to teach the approved curriculum, committing bribery, 

failing to respond to or providing false or misleading 

information to the board or its agents, and refusing to allow 

inspection of any shop, salon, or school; (ii) clarify and refine 

grounds for discipline for certain criminal convictions and 

failing to report convictions within a certain time period; (iii) 

provide grounds for discipline for allowing unlicensed 

activity, failing to take sufficient measures to prevent 

transmission of communicable disease, and failing to comply 

with all procedures with regard to conduct at the examination 

Issues: The primary advantage of the proposed amendments 

to the public is the addition of the apprenticeship program as 

a method of entry into the profession. Currently, the only 

avenue for entry is through training at proprietary schools, 

which may be financially burdensome for some who seek to 

enter the profession, potentially limiting the number of 

estheticians who enter the workforce, thus small businesses 

may have a reduced number of qualified employees to hire. 

The existence of the Department of Labor and Industry 

apprenticeship structure will facilitate an efficient and 

expeditious outcome to this change while providing an 

avenue to pursue training while being paid at least minimum 

wage as required by the apprenticeship program. 

Additionally, the board will continue to approve applicants 

and license professionals for which it has safeguards to ensure 

proper competency and standards of conduct as required by 

statute. The addition of prohibited acts will reduce fraud and 

better ensure the regulant population is minimally competent. 

The clarification of requirements regarding sanitation and 

health safety will ensure that the health, safety, and welfare of 

the public are better served. Further, regulants and applicants 

within these professions will be able to read the board's 

requirements with greater clarity and understanding. The 

added clarity of the language in the proposed regulations will 

facilitate a quicker and more efficient process for applicants 

and regulants by enhancing their understanding of their 

individual requirements. Further, consumers in the public, as 

well as regulators from related agencies, will have a better 

understanding of board requirements, which will also allow 

them to conduct their business with greater efficiency.  

The primary advantage to the Commonwealth will be the 

positive economic impact of an increase of eligible 

estheticians entering the workforce who go through the 

apprenticeship program and potentially contribute to an 

increase in small businesses, the strengthening of existing 

small businesses, and a segment of the population with higher 

earning potential. Additionally, the proposed regulations 

would provide an avenue to pursue training while being paid 

at least minimum wage as required by the apprenticeship 

program. Another advantage is the continued successful 

regulation of estheticians and master estheticians who meet 

the minimum entry standards as required by statute. The 

proposed amendments strengthen the department's ability to 

investigate and discipline regulants who disregard the health, 

safety, and welfare of the public. No disadvantage has been 

identified. 

The addition of apprenticeship as a method of entry will 

likely have a multifaceted positive economic impact. The 

clarification of the proposed language will facilitate greater 

understanding of board requirements for all involved. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. As a 

result of a periodic review, the Board for Barbers and 

Cosmetology (Board) proposes to make many substantive and 

clarifying changes to its regulations. Specifically, the Board 

proposes to: 
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1) Add a definition for "responsible management" and 

specify that responsible management must be in good 

standing if already licensed in Virginia or any other 

political jurisdiction and must provide a physical address 

(rather than a post office box) to the Board, 

2) Change criminal background reporting requirements, 

3) Require that individuals apply for licensure within five 

years of taking their licensure exam, 

4) Allow the Board to decline to issue licenses, 

temporary permits and temporary instructor permits if 

grounds exist that would allow the Board to deny 

licensure (criminal activity, disciplinary action from this 

Board or any other, etc.), 

5) Require that voided licenses be returned to the Board 

within 30 days of them being voided, 

6) Allow individuals to obtain required training in an 

apprenticeship program and to take the licensure 

examination after successful completion of that program, 

7) Require schools that are licensed by the Board have 

copies of any agreements that allow them to use 

necessary equipment that is owned by another entity, 

8) Require schools licensed by the Board to periodically 

provide student rosters, 

9) Require a 2x2 headshot of students attending any 

school licensed by the Board be attached to their student 

record files and 

10) Require all shops, salons and schools licensed by the 

Board to have a bathroom with hot and cold running 

water in their facility. 

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely exceed costs for some 

proposed regulatory changes; for some changes, there is 

insufficient information to ascertain whether benefits will 

outweigh costs. One proposed change as written is far more 

expensive than it need be. Costs likely outweigh benefits for 

at least one proposed change. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Current regulations are not 

written so that the Board receives information about criminal 

convictions or past Board disciplinary actions for individuals 

whose businesses are licensed as limited liability corporations 

(LLC). This means that owners of a licensed business that is 

disciplined and loses its license can incorporate a new 

business and apply for a license and the Board would not 

know about past disciplinary actions against, essentially, the 

same entity. Because of situations such as this, the Board now 

proposes to add a definition for "responsible management" to 

include owners and officers of an LLC and also proposes to 

require that such entities be in good standing with this Board 

as well as any others where they might be licensed. This 

action will allow the Board to track owners of licensed 

businesses and deny licensure to businesses that have been 

disciplined, and lost their licenses, in the past. This change is 

likely to benefit the public as it will keep businesses that have 

been disciplined in the past from opening up under a new 

name but likely with the same unsafe or unethical practices 

that lost them their license in the first place.  

Current regulations require that applicants for licensure 

disclose, and provide corroborating paperwork, to the Board 

for all misdemeanor and felony convictions. Board staff 

reports, however, that most misdemeanor convictions would 

normally not be considered grounds for denial of licensure. 

This means that currently applicants for licensure are 

spending time and money to gather paperwork from whatever 

jurisdictions they need to, including jurisdictions very far 

away from Virginia, and that the Board is spending time 

unnecessarily looking at paperwork for legal infractions that 

have no bearing on whether the applicant is likely to provide 

safe and ethical services to their clients. To address these 

issues, the Board now proposes to limit the scope of 

convictions that applicants must report to misdemeanors 

involving moral turpitude that occur within three years of 

application for licensure and all felony convictions regardless 

of when they occurred. Affected applicants for licensure will 

benefit from this as they will not have to incur expenses for 

gathering paperwork associated with older misdemeanors or 

misdemeanors that do not involve moral turpitude, which 

may only be available if they physically go to the courthouses 

where convictions occurred. The Board will also benefit from 

not being inundated with paperwork that is unlikely to affect 

the licensing decisions they make. 

Currently, individuals may apply for licensure any time after 

they complete training requirements and pass their licensure 

exams (written and practical) without time limits. The Board 

feels that practical methodology in fields licensed by the 

Board change enough over time that individuals who passed 

their licensure exams a long time before they actually apply 

for licensure may no longer be competent to practice. As a 

consequence, the Board proposes to specify that individuals 

must apply for licensure no longer than five years after they 

take the licensure exams. Any individuals applying for 

licensure past that timeframe will have to pay to take the 

licensure exams again (currently this costs $170 to take both). 

The benefits of this change will only outweigh the costs if 

changes within fields licensed by the Board are significant 

enough to render individuals incompetent to practice without 

refreshing their knowledge and retaking the exam. There is 

insufficient information to ascertain whether this would be 

the case. 

Board staff reports that currently the Board requires 

applicants for licensure to disclose past crimes and 

disciplinary actions but that current regulations do not allow 

the Board to deny licensure because of the information 

disclosed. The Board now proposes to add language to these 

regulations that will allow the Board to deny the issuance of 

licenses, temporary permits and temporary instructor permits 

if they believe that any information disclosed to the Board 

would deem the applicant unfit or unsuited to practice in 

fields that are licensed by the Board. This change will likely 

benefit the public as it will allow the Board to decline to 
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license individuals that have, for instance, a past history of 

injury to clients in other jurisdictions. 

Current regulations require that the Board be notified within 

30 days if a Board issued business license is voided for any 

reason (the business has been sold, responsible management 

has changed, etc.) and also require that the voided license be 

returned to the Board but does not specify when. Because the 

Board is concerned that holders of these licenses will pass 

them to other entities that might fraudulently set up shop with 

them, the Board now proposes to require that voided licenses 

be returned to the Board within 30 days of the change that 

voided them. To the extent that it is complied with, this 

change will greatly benefit the public as it will stop the 

offering of services that would be performed fraudulently 

under a license that does not belong to the individual(s) 

offering those services.  

Currently, individuals who wish to obtain an esthetician's or 

master esthetician's license must obtain required training at 

one of the 48 esthetics schools in the Commonwealth; 

attending one of these schools costs between $15,000 and 

$20,000. The Board now proposes to allow an alternate path 

to licensure by working with the Department of Labor and 

Industry to set up standards for an apprenticeship program in 

esthetics. After these standards are set, individually licensed 

estheticians and master estheticians as well as esthetics spas 

will be able to offer apprenticeships which will allow 

individuals to obtain on the job training that, when 

successfully completed, will qualify them to take the 

licensure exam and become licensed. This change will benefit 

individuals who wish to become estheticians as it will offer 

them a way to become licensed that does not cost thousands 

of dollars. This change will also likely benefit the public as it 

may lead to more people entering this professional field 

which may, in turn, lead to the costs of esthetics services 

dropping. Esthetics schools will likely not benefit from this 

change as they will not be getting tuition from individuals 

who currently must use their services in order to become 

licensed. 

The Board proposes several other regulatory changes to 

prevent possible fraudulent activity at licensed schools. 

Specifically the Board proposes to require schools that do not 

own equipment necessary for teaching to have copies of 

agreements that allow them to access equipment owned by 

other entities for their students to use; schools will also be 

required to periodically provide the Board with student 

rosters.  These changes will allow Board staff to verify that 

students will have access to the equipment needed to learn 

Board required skills and that schools are not making up 

student files only when they are inspected by the Board. 

Board staff reports that these changes will likely cost less 

than $25 per year in compliance costs. These costs are likely 

outweighed by the benefits that will likely accrue to students 

who will be more likely to be guaranteed to have access to 

equipment necessary for their education. 

The Board also proposes to require that student files include a 

2x2 head and shoulder photo of the student. Board staff 

reports that this will be required to combat rampant testing 

fraud and will allow the identity of students taking licensure 

exams to be verified. While this change is likely to benefit the 

public, because fewer individuals would presumably be 

licensed without actually passing the licensure exam, the cost 

of compliance for this requirement as written will likely be 

far higher than it needs to be. 2x2 (passport size) photos cost 

between $8 and $12
1
 whereas larger, more conventionally 

sized photos, are far cheaper. A 4x6 photo print, for instance, 

can be printed for as little as $0.09 at Walmart. Compliance 

costs for this requirement could be very easily significantly 

reduced if the Board changed the proposed language to 

require a photo that was at least 2x2 rather than exactly 2x2.  

Finally, current regulations require that licensed shops, spas 

and schools have "a fully functional bathroom in the same 

building with a working toilet and sink." Some enforcement 

agents have allowed licensed facilities in malls to count the 

mall bathrooms as meeting this requirement and some 

enforcement agents have said that mall bathrooms do not 

meet this requirement. Board staff reports that the Board is 

concerned that allowing mall bathrooms to meet regulatory 

requirements will have a client wandering far afield of 

licensed facilities, possibly in the middle of a chemical peel. 

Board staff reports that the Board feels it would be safer for 

clients if licensed facilities are required to have bathrooms 

within their shops. The Board now proposes to add language 

to these regulations that requires licensed facilities have 

bathrooms that are "maintained exclusively for client use." 

Board staff estimates that there are approximately 15 licensed 

facilities that are located in malls and do not have bathroom 

facilities within the confines of their shops that would have to 

either move or build a bathroom in order to comply with this 

proposed regulatory change. Board staff further estimates that 

building a bathroom in shops that do not have them can cost 

between $2,000 and $10,000. Given the high cost of requiring 

shops to meet a stricter standard than is sometimes allowed 

now, costs for this proposed change likely outweigh the 

benefits of increased convenience for clients and possibly 

avoiding chemical burns if clients go to use the mall 

bathroom and stay away longer than they should or longer 

than is advised. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR) reports 

that the Board currently licenses 2,851 estheticians, 550 

esthetics and 48 esthetics schools in the Commonwealth. All 

of these entities, as well as future licensees, will be affected 

by these proposed changes. Most, if not all, spas and schools 

would likely qualify as small businesses.  

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action.  

Projected Impact on Employment. A new proposed 

requirement that individuals apply for licensure within five 
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years of taking their licensure exam may increase costs for 

these individuals (as they would have to study for and retake 

their exam) and may slightly decrease the probability of them 

becoming licensed and working in fields licensed by the 

Board. Board staff believes from anecdotal evidence that such 

a situation would be extremely rare. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. Proposed 

changes such as requiring in-shop client bathrooms where 

shops currently are allowed to be in regulatory compliance by 

being in a large facility (such as a mall) that has bathroom 

accommodations are likely to greatly increase costs, and 

lower profits, for affected shops 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Proposed 

requirements that impact bathroom facilities will likely 

increase costs for affected small businesses. Several proposed 

requirements, such as having to periodically provide student 

rosters and have 2x2 headshots attached to student files, are 

likely to increase costs either for schools or for both schools 

and their students.  

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. The Board would likely be able to decrease 

costs for regulated entities by allowing photos that were 

larger than 2x2 for student files. The Board also may wish to 

revisit proposed bathroom requirements.  

Real Estate Development Costs. Proposed changes such as 

requiring in-shop client bathrooms where shops currently are 

allowed to be in regulatory compliance by being in a larger 

facility (such as a mall) that has bathroom accommodations 

are likely to increase the cost of building new malls that will 

have barber shops or salons as tenants. 

Legal Mandate. 

General: The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has 

analyzed the economic impact of this proposed regulation in 

accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and 

Executive Order Number 14 (2010). Section 2.2-4007.04 

requires that such economic impact analyses determine the 

public benefits and costs of the proposed amendments. 

Further the report should include but not be limited to: 

• the projected number of businesses or other entities to 

whom the proposed regulation would apply, 

• the identity of any localities and types of businesses or 

other entities particularly affected, 

• the projected number of persons and employment 

positions to be affected,  

• the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and  

• the impact on the use and value of private property.  

Small Businesses: If the proposed regulation will have an 

adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires 

that such economic impact analyses include: 

• an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the proposed regulation, 

• the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other 

administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the proposed regulation, including the type 

of professional skills necessary for preparing required 

reports and other documents, 

• a statement of the probable effect of the proposed 

regulation on affected small businesses, and  

• a description of any less intrusive or less costly 

alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the 

proposed regulation.  

Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1, if there is a finding 

that a proposed regulation may have an adverse impact on 

small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative 

Rules is notified at the time the proposed regulation is 

submitted to the Virginia Register of Regulations for 

publication. This analysis shall represent DPB's best estimate 

for the purposes of public review and comment on the 

proposed regulation. 

__________________________________________ 
1 An internet search revealed prices for passport photos ranging from $7.99 at 

Walmart to $11.99 at CVS.  

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The board 

concurs with the analysis for items #1, 2, and #4 through 8 in 

the Summary of Proposed Amendments to Regulations. The 

board respectfully disagrees with items #3, 9, and 10. 

Estimated Economic Impact: 

1. Summary Item #3: The proposed regulations would require 

that an applicant who does not apply for licensure within five 

years of passing the exam must retake the exam to be eligible 

for licensure.  

Economic Impact Analysis (EIA) Position: "The benefits of 

this change will only outweigh the costs if changes within 

fields licensed by the board are significant enough to render 

individuals incompetent to practice without refreshing their 

knowledge and retaking the exam."  

Agency Response: There are several fundamental reasons for 

implementing this change in the regulations, not just the 

single issue raised by the EIA. For someone who applies for 

their license more than five years after taking the exam, the 

full scope of problems includes: 

• The board cannot know whether they still possess the 

knowledge or skill to competently practice, 

• The board does not have access to testing records older than 

five years to confirm the applicant truly passed the exam, and 

• Changes in the industry may have made the applicant's 

knowledge obsolete. 

Without adding this requirement, the board will face the 

dilemma of having to license individuals who may not be 

minimally competent, as well as experience increased costs 

for maintaining exam records in perpetuity. 

Explanation: The board is statutorily required to establish the 

qualifications of applicants for licensure. The board utilizes 
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written and practical examinations to establish that applicants 

possess the competence to engage in the profession. 

There are several issues that affect competence when an 

applicant has not been engaged with the profession for many 

years. The EIA correctly identifies that changes in the 

industry may render an applicant's knowledge obsolete. 

However, the EIA fails to account for the other, more 

significant reason, which is that individuals who have not 

been engaged in the profession for five years are likely to 

have forgotten much of the knowledge and skill for engaging 

in the practice in a safe manner. The board has no way of 

knowing whether an individual who has not been engaged in 

the practice for six, 10, or 20 years still has the practical skill 

or information base to practice safely. Since the board 

regulates professions which use chemicals and must have 

current knowledge in preventing the transmission of 

communicable diseases, it is particularly important that the 

board meet its statutory obligation to ensure it licenses 

minimally competent individuals in order to protect the 

public. The board believes that is cannot accurately assess if 

an individual possesses the skill and knowledge qualifications 

for licensure if those skills and knowledge have not been 

measured in the previous five years. 

Further, the EIA does not identify that the proposed 

regulations add the requirement that records of examinations 

only be kept for five years. Currently, while the regulations 

allow an applicant to apply any time after they have taken the 

exam, the board's examination vendor only maintains exam 

records for five years. This discrepancy means that the board 

has no way to verify that an applicant claiming to have passed 

the exam more than five years ago has truly done so. To 

resolve this conflict without changing the regulation, the 

board will have to either require the exam vendor to maintain 

records in perpetuity, or start maintaining these records itself. 

Either of these options will increase costs either through 

higher examination fees for the candidate or if the board were 

to maintain the records, it would increase the board's 

expenses, and ultimately licensing fees. As such, the board 

believes that the five year recordkeeping will result in 

maintaining a lower cost for licensure, in addition to 

protecting the public's health, safety, and welfare. 

2. Summary Item #9: The proposed regulations would require 

a 2"x2" head and shoulder picture of the students attending 

any school licensed by the board be attached to their student 

record files. 

EIA Position: "[T]he cost of compliance for this requirement 

as written will likely be far higher than it needs to be. 2x2 

(passport size) photos cost between $8 and $12, whereas 

larger, conventionally sized photos, are far cheaper."  

Agency Response: The proposed regulation does not specify 

passport photos, and can be met by any type of photo, as long 

as the head and shoulder portion are 2x2. The EIA assumes 

that the cost of this requirement will be the cost of acquiring 

passport photos. However, the EIA's assumptions fail to take 

into account that: 

• This requirement is for the schools, not the students,  

• The regulation does not require passport photos, and 

• Students are already required to provide this 2x2 photo 

during the application process.  

The EIA incorrectly assumes that only a passport photo 

would meet this requirement. However, compliance costs 

would only be in the $8.00-$12.00 range if the school did not 

provide this service and if the student chose to utilize passport 

photos instead of a low cost or free alternatives identified 

below. Further, the proposed regulation provides the board 

with an important tool to combat rampant fraud in the pre-

licensure process. 

Explanation: The board is authorized to establish the 

qualifications of licensure and to promulgate regulations 

necessary to effectively administer the regulatory system. The 

authority currently in 18VAC41-70-20 of the board's 

regulations already requires that in order to be eligible to sit 

for examination, a student must have completed a board-

approved training program. 

The language contained in proposed 18VAC41-70-230.A, 

requiring schools maintain a 2x2 color head and shoulder 

photo, is a necessary piece of fraud detection for the board to 

corroborate that the individual sitting for the exam is, in fact, 

the student who completed the training program. This 

regulation is being proposed, along with several other 

recordkeeping measures, to address fraud in the pre-licensure 

process.  

The EIA does not take into account that the requirement is for 

the schools. The school would bear the requirement of 

maintaining the photo, and may utilize its own photograph 

equipment to comply with the regulation. It is likely that there 

will be variation in the market, with some schools generating 

the photo in-house, and others asking the students to provide 

the photo.  As such, the cost of the regulation may be as little 

as the cost for the school in ink and printer paper. 

The EIA incorrectly assumes that this requirement is met only 

with a passport photo. While a school may utilize a passport 

photo, the regulation does not specify or require a passport 

photo. Schools may utilize whatever sized photo they wish, as 

long as the head and shoulder portion is 2x2. The EIA's 

recommendation of using a $0.09 4x6 photo is already 

acceptable under the proposed regulation, as long as the head 

and shoulder portion meets the 2x2 criteria. In fact, as will be 

explained below, the board currently accepts and utilizes 

these types of photos for the other 2x2 photo requirements. It 

is worth noting that even the U.S. Department of State does 

not require individuals to purchase passport photos, and has a 

tool to allow passport applicants to take their own photo and 

convert it to the proper specifications for free. Schools would 

be able to utilize this free service to meet the board's 

requirements. 
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The EIA incorrectly assumes that this requirement will create 

a new financial burden. Applicants already are required to 

provide a 2x2 head and shoulder color photograph when they 

apply for licensure. This photo must be submitted along with 

their application. The examination vendor utilizes this photo 

to ensure that the individual taking the exam is the same 

individual who applied for licensure. These photograph 

requirements have been essential to the board's ability to stop 

testing fraud. Further, the board frequently sees 4x6 photos, 

whole or cut down to 2x2. The board also accepts 2x2 

photographs that have been printed on home printers if they 

meet the standard. This recordkeeping requirement for the 

schools, if the school defrays the cost to the student, only 

means the student would have to produce an additional copy 

of the 2x2 photo. So even if a student chose to utilize the 

higher cost passport photo, since passport photos come in 

sets, ranging from 2 to 10 photos, there would likely be no 

additional cost for students utilizing passport photos. 

3. Summary Item #10: The proposed regulations would add to 

the existing requirement that shops, salons, schools, and 

facilities maintain working toilet and sink, an additional 

requirement that the bathroom be exclusively for client use 

and have hot and cold running water.  

EIA Position: The EIA argues that, "[g]iven the high cost of 

requiring shops to meet a stricter standard than is sometimes 

allowed now, costs for this proposed change likely outweigh 

the benefits…"  

Agency Response: The proposed regulations address a very 

rare situation in which a spa does not have a bathroom 

exclusively for client use with hot and cold water, usually 

because they are situated in a mall. Spas are already required 

to have bathrooms, and this change is meant to clarify an 

ambiguity in the regulation that has caused confusion for staff 

and business owners.  The board has encountered and 

foresees certain health and safety risks associated with not 

having this requirement, such as: 

• Loss of oversight of chemical treatments while clients have 

left the spa, and 

• Unsanitary bathroom conditions that the spa has no 

authority to address. 

Additionally, this requirement would add a level of 

convenience, as patrons would not have to travel across the 

mall to use the bathroom. The board believes these are 

substantial issues for the spas that are affected. The EIA fails 

to adequately account for the health and safety risk this 

regulation is meant to address and fails to mention that the 

board may consider grandfathering existing businesses that 

would be non-compliant when this regulation takes effect. 

Explanation: As the EIA explains, this regulation partially 

stems out of a concern regarding spas in malls. Spas are 

already required to have bathrooms, but spas in mall have the 

unique problem of not having control over the common 

bathroom. This has led to some confusion on the part of staff 

and business owners regarding spa responsibility. So, for 

example, the mall may temporarily shut down the bathroom 

for maintenance or cleaning. This would put the spa in non-

compliance with the regulations, even though the spa does not 

have control of the situation. This lack of control over the 

bathroom may lead to other regulatory violations, since 

current regulations require the bathroom's fixtures to be in 

good repair, have adequate lighting, and sufficient ventilation. 

By specifying the bathroom must be exclusively for client 

use, this should help resolve this issue and reduce staff and 

business owner confusion. 

Also, the board has expressed concern that if salons have to 

send their customers from one end of the mall to the other to 

use the bathroom, the spa is putting that client at risk. Spas 

use chemicals (such as those used in chemical peels) which 

have the potential to cause injury to clients if not used 

correctly, or left on the client for too long. When a client 

under the treatment of these chemicals leaves the spa, the spa 

no longer has oversight of that client. The spa cannot properly 

supervise the treatment or ensure that the chemicals are 

removed timely when the consumer is off site and subject to 

whatever delays they may encounter while at a shopping 

mall. This situation is a clear and foreseeable risk to the 

public which the board seeks to address.  

Further, the requirement that the bathroom be for client use 

only addresses a re-occurring problem of shared bathrooms. 

The board has encountered during inspections the situations 

of spas sharing bathrooms with other businesses, where the 

spa did not have control over the sanitation of the bathroom. 

This left the board in the dilemma of having to cite a business 

for unsanitary conditions it had no control over, or not citing 

a business that puts its clients in unsanitary conditions. 

The board is aware that there could be significant costs 

associated with renovating a facility to come into compliance 

with this proposed regulation. There are currently regulations 

in place that require spas to sanitize using hot water. Spas that 

cannot meet the new standard are likely unable to meet the 

current standard either, and thus are not properly sanitizing 

their implements. The requirement for hot and cold water is 

not necessarily adding a new requirement, but rather 

clarifying the need for hot water. Despite this, the board will 

consider implementing a grandfather clause for facilities that 

this regulation may adversely affect due to what could be 

very large costs to comply. It is estimated that there are very 

few spas that would be adversely affected by this regulation. 

Even with a grandfather provision, the board believes that 

applying the proposed regulation to new spas going forward 

will ensure a more sanitary and safer experience as the 

industry moves toward this standard.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. 

EIA Position: "Proposed changes such as requiring in-shop 

client bathrooms where shops currently are allowed to be in 

regulatory compliance by being in a large facility (such as a 

mall) that has bathroom accommodations are likely to greatly 

increase costs, and lower profits, for affected shops." 
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Agency Response: The board believes that while the very few 

spas that would be affected by this change would incur a one-

time expense, the actual use and value of the property would 

increase. Adding a bathroom to a facility that does not 

currently have one makes the building more functional and 

desirable as a marketable space.  

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. 

EIA Position: "Proposed requirements that impact bathroom 

facilities will likely increase costs for affected small 

businesses. Several proposed requirements, such as having to 

periodically provide student rosters and have 2x2 headshots 

attached to student files, are likely to increase costs either for 

schools or for both schools and their students." 

Agency Response: As noted above, the board believes that 

there are very few spas, 15 or less, that would be affected by 

the requirement to have bathrooms exclusively for client use.  

The reporting requirements being added in this action, 

including the 2x2 headshot, are not anticipated to have 

significant costs associated with compliance. The board 

expects that compliance costs for all of the new reporting 

requirements should be less than $25 annually. For those that 

choose to utilize digital recordkeeping, there may not be any 

increased costs at all. It should be noted that the board 

currently is contracting with an exam vendor that allows 

schools to maintain almost all of the required records on the 

vendor's online servers, at no charge to the school. Since the 

board has access to these servers, schools that utilize this free 

service would essentially automatically be in compliance with 

the new regulations. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact: 

EIA Position: "The board would likely be able to decrease 

costs for regulated entities by allowing photos that were 

larger than 2x2 for student files. The board also may wish to 

revisit proposed bathroom requirements." 

Agency Response: As noted above, schools may be able to 

meet the 2x2 photograph requirement several ways for little 

or no cost. The requirement is that the head and shoulder 

portion of the photo be 2x2. This does not preclude the use of 

larger photos, only necessitates cropping the photo to meet 

the board's requirement. Additionally, the Department of 

State has a free program that converts digital photos to the 

standards required by the board. 

The board believes that the requirement for spas to have 

bathrooms available exclusively for client use is necessary to 

protect the health, safety, and welfare of the public.  

Summary: 

The proposed amendments are the result of a periodic 

review and include clarifying text to ensure consistency 

with other board regulations and state and federal laws 

and compliance with current industry standards. Changes 

include (i) adding new definitions; (ii) requiring disclosure 

of felonies, certain misdemeanors, and disciplinary 

actions; (iii) allowing individuals to obtain required 

training in esthetics apprenticeship programs and to take 

licensure exams after successful completion of such a 

program; (iv) requiring individuals to apply for licensure 

within five years of taking their exams; (v) clarifying that 

no fee is charged for a temporary license; (vi) requiring 

voided licenses to be returned to the board within 30 days 

and clarifying what circumstances may lead to a voided 

license; (vii) allowing for board inspection of shops, 

salons, and schools during reasonable hours; (viii) 

requiring schools to provide specific information to the 

board and within required time periods; (ix) providing 

grounds for discipline for several prohibited actions; and 

(x) updating sanitation requirements for salons, shops, and 

schools, including requiring salons and shops to provide a 

client bathroom. 

Part I  

General  

18VAC41-70-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise. All terms defined in Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-

700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia are 

incorporated in this chapter. 

"Business entity" means a sole proprietorship, partnership, 

corporation, limited liability company, limited liability 

partnership, or any other form of organization permitted by 

law.  

"Credit hour" means a combination of the number of hours 

in class each week and the number of hours per week in a 

laboratory by which a school may measure its course work. 

One unit of credit equals one hour of classroom study, two 

hours of laboratory experience or three hours of internship or 

practicum or a combination of the three times the number of 

weeks in the term. Emerging delivery methodologies may 

necessitate a unit of undergraduate credit to be measured in 

nontime base methods. These courses shall use the 

demonstration of competency, proficiency, or fulfillment of 

learning outcomes to ensure these courses are equivalent to 

traditionally delivered courses.  

"Direct supervision" means that a Virginia licensed 

esthetician or master esthetician shall be present in the 

esthetics spa or esthetics school at all times when services are 

being performed by a temporary license holder or student. 

"Endorsement" means a method of obtaining a license by a 

person who is currently licensed in another state or 

jurisdiction. 

"Firm" means any business entity recognized under the laws 

of the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

"Licensee" means any individual, sole proprietorship, 

partnership, association, corporation, limited liability 

company, or corporation limited liability partnership, or any 

other form of organization permitted by law holding a license 
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issued by the Board for Barbers and Cosmetology, as defined 

in § 54.1-700 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Post-secondary educational level" means an accredited 

college or university that is approved or accredited by the 

Commission on Colleges or by an accrediting agency that is 

recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education.  

"Reinstatement" means having a license restored to 

effectiveness after the expiration date has passed. 

"Renewal" means continuing the effectiveness of a license 

for another period of time. 

"Responsible management" means the following 

individuals: 

1. The sole proprietor of a sole proprietorship; 

2. The partners of a general partnership; 

3. The managing partners of a limited partnership; 

4. The officers of a corporation; 

5. The managers of a limited liability company; 

6. The officers or directors of an association or both; and 

7. Individuals in other business entities recognized under 

the laws of the Commonwealth as having a fiduciary 

responsibility to the firm. 

"Sole proprietor" means any individual, not a corporation, 

who is trading under his own name or under an assumed or 

fictitious name pursuant to the provisions of §§ 59.1-69 

through 59.1-76 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Virginia state institution" for the purposes of this chapter 

means any institution approved by the Virginia Department of 

Education. 

Part II  

Entry  

18VAC41-70-20. General requirements for an esthetician 

license or master esthetician license. 

A. In order to receive a license as an esthetician or master 

esthetician, an applicant must Any individual wishing to 

engage in esthetics or master esthetics shall obtain a license in 

compliance with § 54.1-703 of the Code of Virginia and meet 

the following qualifications: 

1. The applicant shall be in good standing as a licensed 

esthetician in every jurisdiction Virginia and all other 

jurisdictions where licensed. The applicant shall disclose to 

the board at the time of application for licensure any 

disciplinary action taken in another jurisdiction Virginia 

and all other jurisdictions in connection with the 

applicant's practice as an esthetician. This includes but is 

not limited to monetary penalties, fines, suspensions, 

revocations, surrender of a license in connection with a 

disciplinary action, or voluntary termination of a license. 

The applicant shall disclose to the board at the time of 

application for licensure whether he has been previously 

licensed in Virginia as an esthetician or master esthetician. 

Upon review of an applicant's prior disciplinary action, the 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any 

applicant wherein it deems the applicant is unfit or 

unsuited to engage in esthetics or master esthetics. The 

board will decide each case by taking into account the 

totality of the circumstances. Any plea of nolo contendere 

or comparable plea shall be considered a disciplinary 

action for the purposes of this section. The applicant shall 

provide a certified copy of a final order, decree, or case 

decision by a court, regulatory agency, or board with the 

lawful authority to issue such order, decree, or case 

decision, and such copy shall be admissible as prima facie 

evidence of such disciplinary action.  

2. The applicant shall disclose his physical address. A post 

office box is not acceptable. 

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a 

statement certifying that the applicant has read and 

understands the Virginia esthetics license laws and the 

board's esthetics regulations this chapter. 

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant shall disclose a conviction, in any 

jurisdiction, of any misdemeanor or felony. Any plea of 

nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for this 

purpose of this section. The record of a conviction certified 

or authenticated in such form as to be admissible in 

evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction where convicted 

shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of such guilt. 

The board, at its discretion, may deny licensure or 

certification to any applicant in accordance with § 54.1-

204 of the Code of Virginia the following information 

regarding criminal convictions in Virginia and all other 

jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution, or physical 

injury within three years of the date of the application; 

and 

b. All felony convictions during the applicant's lifetime. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for purposes of this subsection. The record of a 

conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 

facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any 

applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall provide evidence satisfactory to the 

board that the applicant has passed the board-approved 

examination requirement administered either by the board 

or by independent examiners. 

B. Eligibility to sit for board-approved examination. 

1. Training in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Any person 

completing an approved esthetics training program or a 

master esthetics training program in a Virginia licensed 
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esthetics school shall be eligible for the applicable 

examination. 

2. Training outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia. Any 

person completing esthetics training that is substantially 

equivalent to the Virginia program but is outside of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia must submit to the board 

documentation of the successful completion of training to 

be eligible for examination. If less than the required hours 

of esthetics training was completed, an applicant must 

submit a certificate, diploma, or other documentation 

acceptable to the board verifying the completion of a 

substantially equivalent esthetics course and 

documentation of six months of work experience as an 

esthetician in order to be eligible for the esthetician 

examination. 

18VAC41-70-30. License by endorsement. 

Upon proper application to the board, any person currently 

licensed to practice as an esthetician or master esthetician in 

any other state or jurisdiction of the United States and who 

has completed both a training program and a written 

examination and a practical examination requirement that is 

are substantially equivalent to that those required by this 

chapter may be issued an esthetician or master esthetician 

license without an examination. The applicant must also meet 

the requirements set forth in 18VAC41-70-20 A. 

18VAC41-70-35. Apprenticeship training.  

A. Licensed estheticians and master estheticians who train 

apprentices shall comply with the standards for 

apprenticeship training established by the Division of 

Registered Apprenticeship of the Virginia Department of 

Labor and Industry and the Virginia Board for Barbers and 

Cosmetology. Owners of esthetics spas who train apprentices 

shall comply with the standards for apprenticeship training 

established by the Division of Registered Apprenticeship of 

the Virginia Department of Labor and Industry.  

B. Any person completing the Virginia apprenticeship 

program in esthetics or master esthetics shall be eligible for 

examination. 

18VAC41-70-40. Examination requirements and fees. 

A. Applicants for initial licensure shall meet the pass both a 

written examination and a practical examination requirement 

approved by the board. The examinations may be 

administered by the board or by a designated testing service. 

The board maintains discretion in determining the license 

requirements.  

B. Any applicant who passes one part of the examination 

shall not be required to take that part again provided both 

parts are passed within one year of the initial examination 

date.  

B. C. Any candidate failing to appear as scheduled for 

examination shall forfeit the examination fee. 

C. D. The fee for examination or reexamination is subject to 

contracted charges to the board by an outside vendor. These 

contracts are competitively negotiated and bargained for in 

compliance with the Virginia Public Procurement Act (§ 2.2-

4300 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Fees may be adjusted 

and charged to the candidate in accordance with these 

contracts. The fee shall not exceed $225 per candidate. 

E. Any candidate failing to apply for initial licensure within 

five years of passing both a written examination and a 

practical examination shall be required to retake both 

portions. Records of examinations shall be maintained for a 

maximum of five years. 

18VAC41-70-60. Examination administration. 

A. The examination shall be administered by the board or 

the designated testing service. The practical examination shall 

be supervised by a chief examiner. 

B. Every esthetics or master esthetics examiner shall hold a 

current Virginia license in his respective profession, have 

three or more years of active experience as a licensed 

professional, and be currently practicing in that profession. 

Examiners shall attend training workshops sponsored by the 

board or by a testing service acting on behalf of the board.  

C. No certified esthetics or master esthetics instructor who 

(i) is currently teaching, (ii) is a school owner, or (iii) is an 

apprentice sponsor shall be an examiner.  

D. Each esthetics or master esthetics chief examiner shall (i) 

hold a current Virginia license in his respective profession, 

(ii) have five or more years of active experience in that 

profession, (iii) have three years of active experience as an 

examiner, and (iv) be currently practicing in his respective 

profession. Chief examiners shall attend training workshops 

sponsored by the board or by a testing service acting on 

behalf of the board.  

B. E. The applicant shall follow all procedures established 

by the board with regard to conduct at the examination. Such 

procedures shall include any written instructions 

communicated prior to the examination date and any 

instructions communicated at the site, either written or oral, 

on the date of the examination. Failure to comply with all 

procedures established by the board and the testing service 

with regard to conduct at the examination may be grounds for 

denial of application. 

18VAC41-70-70. Esthetician temporary license. 

A. A temporary license to work under the direct supervision 

of a currently licensed esthetician or master esthetician may 

be issued only to applicants for initial licensure that the board 

finds eligible for the applicable examination. There shall be 

no fee for a temporary license. 

B. The temporary license shall remain in force for 45 days 

following the examination date. The examination date shall 

be the first test date after the applicant has successfully 

submitted an application to the board. 

C. Any person continuing to practice esthetics services after 

a temporary license has expired may be prosecuted and fined 
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by the Commonwealth under § §§ 54.1-111 A 1 and 54.1-202 

of the Code of Virginia. 

D. No applicant for examination shall be issued more than 

one temporary license. 

E. Temporary permits shall not be issued where grounds 

may exist to deny a license pursuant to § 54.1-204 of the 

Code of Virginia or 18VAC41-70-20. 

18VAC41-70-80. Spa General requirements for a spa 

license. 

A. Any individual firm wishing to operate an esthetics spa 

shall obtain a spa license in compliance with § 54.1-704.1 of 

the Code of Virginia., and shall meet the following 

qualifications in order to receive a license:  

1. The applicant, and all members of the responsible 

management, shall be in good standing as a licensed spa in 

Virginia and all other jurisdictions where licensed. The 

applicant shall disclose to the board at the time of 

application for licensure, any disciplinary action taken in 

Virginia and all other jurisdictions in connection with the 

applicant's operation of any esthetics spa or practice of the 

profession. This includes but is not limited to monetary 

penalties, fines, suspensions, revocations, surrender of a 

license in connection with a disciplinary action, or 

voluntary termination of a license. The applicant shall 

disclose to the board at the time of application for licensure 

if the applicant has been previously licensed in Virginia as 

an esthetics spa.  

Upon review of the applicant's prior disciplinary action, the 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any 

applicant wherein it deems the applicant is unfit or 

unsuited to engage in the operation of an esthetics spa. The 

board will decide each case by taking into account the 

totality of the circumstances. Any plea of nolo contendere 

or comparable plea shall be considered a disciplinary 

action for the purposes of this section. The applicant shall 

provide a certified copy of a final order, decree, or case 

decision by a court, regulatory agency, or board with the 

lawful authority to issue such order, decree, or case 

decision, and such copy shall be admissible as prima facie 

evidence of such disciplinary action.  

2. The applicant shall disclose his physical address. A post 

office box is not acceptable. 

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a 

statement certifying that the applicant has read and 

understands the Virginia esthetics license laws and this 

chapter.  

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant shall disclose the following information 

about the firm and all members of the responsible 

management regarding criminal convictions in Virginia 

and all other jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions within three years of the 

date of the application; and 

b. All felony convictions. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for purposes of this subsection. The record of a 

conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 

facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any 

applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall disclose the firm's responsible 

management.  

B. An esthetics spa license Shop or salon licenses are issued 

to firms as defined in this chapter and shall not be transferable 

and shall bear the same name and address of the business. 

Any changes in the name, or address, or ownership of the spa 

shall be reported to the board in writing within 30 days of 

such changes. New owners shall be responsible for reporting 

such changes in writing to the board within 30 days of the 

changes. The board shall not be responsible for the licensee's, 

certificate holder's, or permit holder's failure to receive 

notices, communications, and correspondence caused by the 

licensee's, certificate holder's, or permit holder's failure to 

promptly notify the board in writing of any change of name 

or address or for any other reason beyond the control of the 

board. 

C. In the event of a closing of an esthetics spa, the owner 

must notify the board in writing within 30 days of the closing, 

and return the license to the board. Whenever the legal 

business entity holding the license is dissolved or altered to 

form a new business entity, the original license becomes void 

and shall be returned to the board within 30 days of the 

change. Additionally, the firm shall apply for a new license, 

within 30 days of the change in the business entity. Such 

changes include but are not limited to:  

1. Death of a sole proprietor; 

2. Death or withdrawal of a general partner in a general 

partnership or the managing partner in a limited 

partnership; and 

3. Conversion, formation, or dissolution of a corporation, a 

limited liability company, or association, or any other 

business entity recognized under the laws of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. 

D. Any change in the officers of a corporation, managers of 

a limited liability company, or officers or directors of an 

association shall be reported to the board in writing within 30 

days of the change. 

E. The board or any of its agents shall be allowed to inspect 

during reasonable hours any licensed shop or salon for 

compliance with provisions of Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) 

of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia or this chapter. For 

purposes of a board inspection, "reasonable hours" means the 

hours between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m.; however, if the licensee 

generally is not open to the public substantially during the 
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same hours, "reasonable hours" shall mean the business hours 

when the licensee is open to the public. 

18VAC41-70-90. School General requirements for a 

school license. 

A. Any individual firm wishing to operate an esthetics 

school shall submit an application to the board at least 60 

days prior to the date for which approval is sought, obtain a 

school license in compliance with § 54.1-704.2 of the Code of 

Virginia. All instruction and training of estheticians shall be 

conducted under the direct supervision of a certified esthetics 

instructor. All instruction and training of master estheticians 

shall be conducted under the direct supervision of a certified 

master esthetics instructor., and meet the following 

qualifications in order to receive a license:  

1. The applicant and all members of the responsible 

management shall be in good standing as a licensed school 

in Virginia and all other jurisdictions where licensed. The 

applicant shall disclose to the board at the time of 

application for licensure, any disciplinary action taken in 

Virginia and all other jurisdictions in connection with the 

applicant's operation of any esthetics school or practice of 

the profession. This includes but is not limited to monetary 

penalties, fines, suspensions, revocations, surrender of a 

license in connection with a disciplinary action, or 

voluntary termination of a license. The applicant shall 

disclose to the board at the time of application for licensure 

if the applicant has been previously licensed in Virginia as 

an esthetics school.  

Upon review of the applicant's prior disciplinary action, the 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any 

applicant wherein it deems the applicant is unfit or 

unsuited to engage in the operation of an esthetics school. 

The board will decide each case by taking into account the 

totality of the circumstances. Any plea of nolo contendere 

or comparable plea shall be considered a disciplinary 

action for the purposes of this section. The applicant shall 

provide a certified copy of a final order, decree, or case 

decision by a court, regulatory agency, or board with the 

lawful authority to issue such order, decree, or case 

decision, and such copy shall be admissible as prima facie 

evidence of such disciplinary action.  

2. The applicant shall disclose his physical address. A post 

office box is not acceptable. 

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a 

statement certifying that the applicant has read and 

understands the Virginia esthetics license laws and this 

chapter.  

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant shall disclose the following information 

about the firm and all members of the responsible 

management regarding criminal convictions in Virginia 

and all other jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions within three years of the 

date of the application; and 

b. All felony convictions. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for purposes of this subsection. The record of a 

conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 

facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any 

applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall disclose the firm's responsible 

management.  

B. An esthetics Esthetics school license licenses are issued 

to firms as defined in this chapter and shall not be transferable 

and shall bear the same name and address as the school. Any 

changes in the name or the address of record or principal 

place of business of the school shall be reported to the board 

in writing within 30 days of such change. The board shall not 

be responsible for the licensee's, certificate holder's, or permit 

holder's failure to receive notices, communications, and 

correspondence caused by the licensee's, certificate holder's, 

or permit holder's failure to promptly notify the board in 

writing of any change of name or address or for any other 

reason beyond the control of the board. The name of the 

school must indicate that it is an educational institution. All 

signs or other advertisements must reflect the name as 

indicated on the license issued by the board and contain 

language indicating it is an educational institution. 

C. In the event of a change of ownership of a school, the 

new owners shall be responsible for reporting such changes in 

writing to the board within 30 days of the changes and obtain 

a new license. 

D. In the event of a school closing, the owner must notify 

the board in writing within 30 days of the closing, and return 

the license to the board. 

C. Whenever the legal business entity holding the license is 

dissolved or altered to form a new business entity, the 

original license becomes void and shall be returned to the 

board within 30 days of the change. Additionally, the firm 

shall apply for a new license within 30 days of the change in 

business entity. Such changes include but are not limited to:  

1. Death of a sole proprietor; 

2. Death or withdrawal of a general partner in a general 

partnership or the managing partner in a limited 

partnership; and 

3. Conversion, formation, or dissolution of a corporation, a 

limited liability company, an association, or any other 

business entity recognized under the laws of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. 

D. Any change in the officers of a corporation, managers of 

a limited liability company, or officers or directors of an 

association shall be reported to the board in writing within 30 

days of the change. 
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E. Barber schools, cosmetology schools, nail schools, or 

waxing schools under the Virginia Department of Education 

shall be exempted from licensure requirements.  

F. The board or any of its agents shall be allowed to inspect 

during reasonable hours any licensed school for compliance 

with provisions of Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 

of the Code of Virginia or this chapter. For purposes of a 

board inspection, "reasonable hours" means the hours 

between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m.; however, if the licensee generally 

is not open to the public substantially during the same hours, 

"reasonable hours" shall mean the business hours when the 

licensee is open to the public. 

18VAC41-70-100. General requirements for an esthetics 

instructor certificate. 

A. Upon filing an application with the Board for Barbers 

and Cosmetology, any person meeting the qualifications set 

forth in this section shall be eligible for an esthetics instructor 

certificate if the person Any individual wishing to engage in 

esthetics instruction shall meet the following qualifications: 

1. Holds a current Virginian esthetician license; and The 

applicant shall be in good standing as a licensed esthetician 

in Virginia and all other jurisdictions where licensed. The 

applicant shall disclose to the board at the time of 

application for licensure any disciplinary action taken in 

Virginia and all other jurisdictions in connection with the 

applicant's practice as an esthetician. This includes but is 

not limited to monetary penalties, fines, suspensions, 

revocations, surrender of a license in connection with a 

disciplinary action, or voluntary termination of a license. 

The applicant shall disclose to the board at the time of 

application for licensure whether he has been previously 

licensed in Virginia as an esthetician or master esthetician. 

Upon review of the applicant's prior disciplinary action, the 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any 

applicant wherein it deems the applicant is unfit or 

unsuited to engage in esthetics. The board will decide each 

case by taking into account the totality of the 

circumstances. Any plea of nolo contendere or comparable 

plea shall be considered a disciplinary action for the 

purposes of this section. The applicant shall provide a 

certified copy of a final order, decree, or case decision by a 

court, regulatory agency, or board with the lawful authority 

to issue such order, decree, or case decision, and such copy 

shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of such 

disciplinary action.  

2. The applicant shall hold a current Virginia esthetics 

license; 

Completes 3. The applicant shall complete one of the 

following qualifications: 

a. Passes Pass a course in teaching techniques at the 

postsecondary educational level; or 

b. Completes Complete an instructor training course 

approved by the Virginia Board for Barbers and 

Cosmetology under the supervision of a certified 

esthetics instructor or master esthetics instructor in an 

esthetics school and passes pass an examination in 

esthetics instruction administered by the board or by a 

testing service acting on behalf of the board.; and 

3. Persons who (i) make application for licensure between 

September 20, 2007, and September 19, 2008, and (ii) have 

completed one year of documented work experience as an 

esthetics instructor are not required to complete 

subdivision 2 of this subsection. 

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant shall disclose the following information 

regarding criminal convictions in Virginia and all other 

jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution, or physical 

injury within three years of the date of the application; 

and 

b. All felony convictions during the applicant's lifetime. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for purposes of this subsection. The record of a 

conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 

facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any 

applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

B. Esthetics instructors Instructors shall be required to 

maintain a Virginia esthetician license. 

18VAC41-70-110. General requirements for a master 

esthetics instructor certificate. 

A. Upon filing an application with the Board for Barbers 

and Cosmetology, any person meeting the qualifications set 

forth in this section shall be eligible for a master esthetics 

instructor certificate if the person Any individual wishing to 

engage in master esthetics instruction shall meet the 

following qualifications: 

1. The applicant shall be in good standing as a licensed 

master esthetician in Virginia and all other jurisdictions 

where licensed. The applicant shall disclose to the board at 

the time of application for licensure any disciplinary action 

taken in Virginia and all other jurisdictions in connection 

with the applicant's practice as an master esthetician. This 

includes but is not limited to monetary penalties, fines, 

suspensions, revocations, surrender of a license in 

connection with a disciplinary action, or voluntary 

termination of a license. The applicant shall disclose to the 

board at the time of application for licensure if the 

applicant has been previously licensed in Virginia as an 

esthetician or master esthetician. 

Upon review of the applicant's prior disciplinary action, the 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any 

applicant wherein it deems the applicant is unfit or 

unsuited to engage in esthetics or master esthetics. The 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 4 Virginia Register of Regulations October 19, 2015 

524 

board will decide each case by taking into account the 

totality of the circumstances. Any plea of nolo contendere 

or comparable plea shall be considered a disciplinary 

action for the purposes of this section. The applicant shall 

provide a certified copy of a final order, decree, or case 

decision by a court, regulatory agency, or board with the 

lawful authority to issue such order, decree, or case 

decision, and such copy shall be admissible as prima facie 

evidence of such disciplinary action.  

1. Holds 2. The applicant shall hold a current Virginia 

master esthetician license; and 

2. Completes 3. The applicant shall complete one of the 

following qualifications: 

a. Passes Pass a course in teaching techniques at the 

postsecondary educational level; or 

b. Completes Complete an instructor training course 

approved by the Virginia Board for Barbers and 

Cosmetology under the supervision of a certified 

esthetics instructor or master esthetics instructor in an 

esthetics school and passes pass an examination in 

esthetics instruction administered by the board or by a 

testing service acting on behalf of the board. 3. Persons 

who (i) make application for licensure between 

September 20, 2007, and September 19, 2008, and (ii) 

have completed one year of documented work experience 

as a master esthetics instructor are not required to 

complete subdivision 2 of this subsection.; and 

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant shall disclose the following information 

regarding criminal convictions in Virginia and all other 

jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution, or physical 

injury within three years of the date of the application; 

and 

b. All felony convictions during the applicant's lifetime. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for purposes of this subsection. The record of a 

conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 

facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any 

applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

B. Master esthetics instructors Instructors shall be required 

to maintain a Virginia master esthetician license. 

18VAC41-70-160. Failure to renew. 

A. When a licensed individual or entity licensee fails to 

renew its license within 30 days following its expiration date, 

the licensee shall apply for reinstatement of the license by 

submitting to the Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation a reinstatement application and 

renewal fee and reinstatement fee. 

B. When an esthetician or master esthetician a licensee fails 

to renew his its license within two years following the 

expiration date, reinstatement is no longer possible. To 

resume practice, the former licensee shall apply for licensure 

as a new applicant and shall meet all current application entry 

requirements and shall pass the board's current examination 

for each respective license. Individuals applying for licensure 

under this section shall be eligible to apply for a temporary 

license from the board under 18VAC41-70-70. 

C. When an esthetics spa fails to renew its license within 

two years following the expiration date, reinstatement is no 

longer possible. To resume practice, the former licensee shall 

apply for licensure as a new applicant and shall meet all 

current application requirements. 

D. C. The application for reinstatement for a an esthetics 

school shall provide (i) the reasons for failing to renew prior 

to the expiration date and (ii) a notarized statement that all 

students currently enrolled or seeking to enroll at the school 

have been notified in writing that the school's license has 

expired. All of these materials shall be called the application 

package. Reinstatement will be considered by the board if the 

school consents to and satisfactorily passes an inspection of 

the school by the Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation and if the school's records are 

maintained in accordance with 18VAC41-70-230 and 

18VAC41-70-240. Upon receipt of the reinstatement fee, 

application package, and inspection results, the board may 

reinstate the school's license or require requalification or 

both. If the reinstatement application package and 

reinstatement fee are not received by the board within six 

months following the expiration date of the school's license, 

the board will notify the testing service that prospective 

graduates of the unlicensed school are not acceptable 

candidates for the examination. Such notification will be sent 

to the school and must be displayed in a conspicuous manner 

by the school in an area that is accessible to the public. No 

student shall be disqualified from taking the examination 

because the school was not licensed for a portion of the time 

the student attended if the school license is reinstated by the 

board. 

When an esthetics school fails to renew its license within 

two years following the expiration date, reinstatement is no 

longer possible. To resume practice the former licensee shall 

apply for licensure as a new applicant and shall meet all 

current application requirements. 

E. D. The date a renewal fee is received by the Department 

of Professional and Occupational Regulation or its agent will 

be used to determine whether the requirement for 

reinstatement of a license is applicable and an additional fee 

is required. 

F. E. When a license is reinstated, the licensee shall have the 

same license number and shall be assigned an expiration date 

two years from the previous expiration date of the license. 
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G. F. A licensee who that reinstates his its license shall be 

regarded as having been continuously licensed without 

interruption. Therefore, a licensee shall be subject to the 

authority of the board for activities performed prior to 

reinstatement. 

H. G. A licensee who that fails to reinstate his its license 

shall be regarded as unlicensed from the expiration date of the 

license forward. Nothing in this chapter shall divest the board 

of its authority to discipline a licensee for a violation of the 

law or regulations during the period of time for which the 

individual or business entity was licensed. 

Part V  

Esthetics Schools  

18VAC41-70-170. Applicants for school license. 

(Repealed.) 

Any person, firm, or corporation desiring to operate an 

esthetics school shall submit an application to the board at 

least 60 days prior to the date for which approval is sought. 

18VAC41-70-220. School identification. (Repealed.) 

Each esthetics school approved by the board shall identify 

itself to the public as a teaching institution. 

18VAC41-70-230. Records. 

A. Schools are required to keep all records of hours in 

accordance with 18VAC41-70-190, including transcripts, 

course descriptions and competency examinations used to 

award such credit for a period of five years after the student 

terminates or completes the curriculum of the school. shall 

maintain on the premises of each school and available for 

inspection by the board or any of its agents the following 

records for the period of a student's enrollment through five 

years after the student's completion of the curriculum, 

termination, or withdrawal:  

1. Enrollment application containing the student's signature 

and a 2x2 color head and shoulders photograph of the 

student, 

2. Daily record of attendance containing the student's 

signature, 

3. Student clock hours containing the student's signature 

and method of calculation, 

4. Practical performance completion sheets containing the 

student's signature, 

5. Final transcript, 

6. Competency examinations used to award credit,  

7. Course descriptions, and 

8. All other relevant documents that account for a student's 

accrued clock hours and practical applications  

B. Schools are required to keep upon graduation, 

termination or withdrawal written records of hours and 

performances showing what instruction a student has received 

for a period of five years after the student terminates or 

completes the curriculum of the school. These records shall 

be available for inspection by the department. All records 

must be kept on the premises of each school. 

C. For a period of five years after a student completes the 

curriculum, terminates or withdraws from the school, schools 

are required to provide documentation of hours and 

performances completed by a student upon receipt of a 

written request from the student. 

B. Schools shall produce to the board or any of its agents, 

within 10 days of the request, any document, book, or record 

concerning any student, or for which the licensee is required 

to maintain records, for inspection and copying by the board 

or its agents. The board may extend such time frame upon a 

showing of extenuating circumstances prohibiting delivery 

within such 10-day period. 

C. Schools shall, within 21 days upon receipt of a written 

request from a student, provide documentation of hours and 

performances completed by the student as required to be 

maintained by subsection A of this section. 

D. Prior to a school changing ownership or a school closing, 

the schools are school is required to provide to current 

students documentation of hours and performances 

completed. 

E. For a period of one year after a school changes 

ownership, schools are required to the school shall provide, 

within 21 days upon receipt of a written request from a 

student, documentation of hours and performances completed 

by a current student upon receipt of a written request from the 

student.  

18VAC41-70-240. Hours reported Reporting. 

A. Schools shall provide, in a manner, format, and 

frequency prescribed by the board, a roster of all current 

students and a roster of students who attended in the 

preceding six months prior to the reporting deadline. 

B. Within 30 days of the closing of a licensed esthetics 

school for any reason ceasing to operate, whether through 

dissolution or alteration of the business entity, the school 

shall provide a written report to the board on performances 

and hours of each of its students who have has not completed 

the program. 

18VAC41-70-260. Display of license. 

A. Each licensed spa or school shall ensure that all current 

licenses and temporary licenses issued by the board shall be 

displayed in plain view of the public either in the reception 

area or at individual work stations of the spa or school in 

plain view of the public. Duplicate licenses or temporary 

licenses shall be posted in a like manner in every spa or 

school location where the regulant licensee or temporary 

license holder provides services. 

B. All licensees and temporary license holders shall operate 

under the name in which the license or temporary license is 

issued. 
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C. All apprenticeship cards issued by the Department of 

Labor and Industry (DOLI) shall be displayed in plain view 

of the public either in the reception area or at individual work 

stations of the shop or salon. The apprentice sponsor shall 

require each apprentice to wear a badge clearly indicating his 

status as a DOLI registered apprentice.  

18VAC41-70-270. Sanitation and safety standards for 

spas and schools. 

A. Sanitation and safety standards. 

1. Any spa or school where esthetics services are delivered 

to the public must be clean and sanitary at all times. 

2. Compliance with these rules does not confer compliance 

with other requirements set forth by federal, state, and 

local laws, codes, ordinances, and regulations as they apply 

to business operation, physical construction and 

maintenance, safety, and public health.  

3. Licensees shall take sufficient measures to prevent the 

transmission of communicable and infectious diseases and 

comply with the sanitation standards identified in this 

section and shall ensure that all employees likewise 

comply. 

B. Disinfection and storage of implements.  

1. A wet disinfection unit is a container large enough to 

hold a disinfectant solution in which the objects to be 

disinfected are completely immersed. A wet disinfection 

unit must have a cover to prevent contamination of the 

solution. The solution must be a hospital grade and 

tuberculocidal disinfectant solution registered with the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Disinfectant 

solutions shall be used according to manufacturer's 

directions.  

2. Disinfection of multiuse items constructed of hard, 

nonporous materials such as metal, glass, or plastic, which 

the manufacturer designed for use on more than one client, 

is to be carried out in the following manner prior to 

servicing a client: 

a. Remove all foreign matter from the object, utilizing a 

brush if needed. Drill bits are to be soaked in acetone and 

scrubbed with a wire brush to remove all foreign matter;  

b. Wash thoroughly with hot water and soap;  

c. Rinse thoroughly with clean water and dry thoroughly 

with a clean paper towel;  

d. Fully immerse implements into solution for a 

minimum of 10 minutes; and  

e. After immersion, rinse articles, thoroughly dry with a 

clean paper towel, and store in a clean predisinfected and 

dry cabinet, drawer, or nonairtight covered container, or 

leave instruments in an EPA-registered disinfection 

storage solution used according to manufacturer's 

directions.  

3. Single-use items designed by the manufacturer for use 

on no more than one client should be discarded 

immediately after use on each individual client, including 

but not limited to powder puffs, lip color, cheek color, 

sponges, styptic pencils, or nail care implements. The 

disinfection and reuse of these items is not permitted and 

the use of single-use items on more than one client is 

prohibited. 

4. For the purpose of recharging, rechargeable tools or 

implements may be stored in an area other than in a closed 

cabinet or container. This area shall be clean.  

5. All materials including cosmetic and nail brushes, 

sponges, chamois, spatulas, and galvanic electrodes must 

be cleaned with warm water and soap or detergent to 

remove all foreign matter. Implements should then be 

rinsed, thoroughly dried with a clean paper towel, and 

completely immersed in an EPA-registered hospital grade 

and tuberculocidal disinfectant solution. Such implements 

shall be soaked for 10 minutes or more, removed, rinsed, 

dried thoroughly, and stored in a predisinfected and dry 

drawer, cabinet or nonairtight covered container, or left in 

an EPA-registered disinfection storage solution used 

according to manufacturer's directions.  

6. All wax pots shall be cleaned and disinfected with an 

EPA-registered hospital (grade) and tuberculocidal 

disinfectant solution with no sticks left standing in the wax 

at any time. The area immediately surrounding the wax pot 

shall be clean and free of clutter, waste materials, spills, 

and any other items that may pose a hazard. 

7. Each esthetician must have a wet disinfection unit at his 

station.  

8. Nail brushes; nippers; finger bowls; disinfectable or 

washable buffers; disinfectable or washable files, which 

must also be scrubbed with a brush to remove all foreign 

matter, and other instruments must be washed in soap and 

water, rinsed, thoroughly dried with a clean paper towel, 

and then completely immersed in an EPA-registered 

hospital grade and tuberculocidal disinfectant solution for 

10 minutes after each use. After disinfection they must be 

rinsed, dried thoroughly with a clean paper towel, and 

placed in a dry, predisinfected, nonairtight covered 

receptacle, cabinet, or drawer, or left in an EPA-registered 

disinfectant storage system used according to 

manufacturer's directions. 

9. Sinks, bowls, tubs, whirlpool units, air-jetted basins, 

pipe-less units, and non-whirlpool basins used in the 

performance of nail care shall be maintained in accordance 

with manufacturer's recommendations. They shall be 

cleaned and disinfected immediately after each client in the 

following manner: 

a. Drain all water and remove all debris;  

b. Clean the surfaces and walls with soap or detergent to 

remove all visible debris, oils, and product residues and 

then rinse with water;  
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c. Disinfect by spraying or wiping the surface with an 

appropriate disinfectant; and 

d. Wipe dry with a clean towel.  

C. General sanitation and safety requirements. 

1. All furniture, walls, floors, and windows Service chairs, 

workstations and workstands, and back bars shall be clean 

and in good repair; 

2. The floor surface in the immediate all work area areas 

must be of a washable surface other than carpet. The floor 

must be kept clean, and free of debris, nail clippings, 

dropped articles, spills, and clutter, trash, electrical cords, 

other waste materials, and other items that may pose a 

hazard; 

3. Walls All furniture, fixtures, walls, floors, windows, and 

ceilings in the immediate work area must shall be in good 

repair, and free of water seepage and dirt. All mats shall be 

secured or shall lay flat; 

4. A fully functional bathroom with a working toilet and 

sink must be available for clients shall be maintained 

exclusively for client use. There must be hot and cold 

running water. Fixtures must be in good condition. The 

bathroom must be lighted and sufficiently ventilated. There 

must be antibacterial soap and clean individual single-use 

towels or hand air-drying device for the client's use; 

5. General areas for client use must be neat and clean with 

a waste receptacle for common trash; 

6. Electrical cords shall be placed to prevent entanglement 

by the client or licensee; and electrical 7. Electrical outlets 

shall be covered by plates; 

7. All sharp tools, implements, and heat-producing 

appliances shall be in safe working order at all times, 

safely stored, and placed so as to prevent any accidental 

injury to the client or licensee;  

8. The spa area shall be sufficiently ventilated to exhaust 

hazardous or objectionable airborne chemicals, and to 

allow the free flow of air; and 

9. Adequate lighting shall be provided. 

C. Equipment sanitation. 

1. Service chairs, wash basins, sinks, showers, tubs, tables, 

and workstations shall be clean. Floors shall be kept free of 

waste materials. Instruments shall be cleaned and 

disinfected after every use and stored free from 

contamination; 

2. The top of workstands shall be kept clean; 

3. The work area shall be free of clutter, trash, and any 

other items that may cause a hazard; 

4. Equipment shall be placed so as to prevent any 

accidental injury to the client or licensee; and  

5. Electrical appliances and equipment shall be in safe 

working order at all times. 

D. Articles, tools, and products. 

1. Any multiuse article, tool, or product that cannot be 

cleansed or disinfected is prohibited from use; 

2. Soiled implements must be removed from the tops of 

work stations immediately after use; 

3. Clean spatulas, other clean tools, or clean disposable 

gloves shall be used to remove bulk substances from 

containers; 

4. Lotions, ointments, creams, and powders shall be kept in 

closed containers. A clean spatula shall be used to remove 

creams or other products from jars. Sterile cotton or 

sponges shall be used to apply creams, lotions, and 

powders. Cosmetic containers shall be recovered covered 

after each use; 

5. All appliances shall be safely stored; 

6. Presanitized tools and implements, linens, and 

equipment shall be stored for use in a sanitary enclosed 

cabinet or covered receptacle; 

7. Soiled Clean towels, robes, or other linens and 

implements shall be deposited in a container made of 

cleanable materials and separate from those that are clean 

used for each patron. Clean towels, robes, or other linens 

shall be stored in a clean predisinfected and dry cabinet, 

drawer, or nonairtight covered container. Soiled towels, 

robes, or other linens shall be stored in a container 

enclosed on all sides including the top, except if stored in a 

separate laundry room; 

8. No substance other than a sterile styptic powder or 

sterile liquid astringent approved for homeostasis and 

applied with a sterile single-use applicator shall be used to 

check bleeding; and 

9. Any disposable material making contact with blood or 

other body fluid shall be disposed of in a sealed plastic bag 

and removed from the spa or school in accordance with the 

guidelines of the Virginia Department of Health and 

OSHA (Occupational Safety and Health Administration). 

E. Chemical storage and emergency information. 

1. Spas and schools shall have in the immediate working 

area a binder with all Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) 

provided by manufacturers for any chemical products used; 

2. Spas and schools shall have a blood spill clean-up kit in 

the work area that contains at a minimum latex gloves, two 

12x12 towels, one disposable trash bag, bleach, one empty 

spray bottle, and one mask with face shield or any OSHA-

approved blood spill clean-up kit; 

3. Flammable chemicals shall be stored in a nonflammable 

storage cabinet or a properly ventilated room; and 

4. Chemicals that could interact in a hazardous manner 

(e.g., oxidizers, catalysts, and solvents) shall be separated 

in storage. 
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F. Client health guidelines. 

1. All employees providing client services shall cleanse 

their hands with an antibacterial product prior to providing 

services to each client; 

2. All employees providing client services shall wear 

gloves while providing services when exposure to 

bloodborne pathogens is possible; 

3. No spa or school providing esthetics services shall have 

on the premises esthetics products containing hazardous 

substances that have been banned by the U.S. Food and 

Drug Administration (FDA) for use in esthetics products; 

4. No product shall be used in a manner that is disapproved 

by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) FDA; 

and 

5. Esthetics spas must be in compliance with current 

building and zoning codes. 

G. In addition to any the requirements set forth in this 

section, all licensees and temporary license holders shall 

adhere to regulations and guidelines established by the 

Virginia Department of Health and the Occupational and 

Safety Division of the Virginia Department of Labor and 

Industry. 

H. All spas and schools shall immediately report the results 

of any inspection of the spa or school by the Virginia 

Department of Health as required by § 54.1-705 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

I. All spas and schools shall conduct a self-inspection on an 

annual basis and maintain a self-inspection form on file for 

five years so that it may be requested and reviewed by the 

board at its discretion. 

18VAC41-70-280. Grounds for license revocation, 

probation, or suspension; denial of application, renewal 

or reinstatement; or imposition of a monetary penalty. 

A. The board may, in considering the totality of the 

circumstances, fine any licensee, certificate holder, or 

temporary license holder, and suspend, place on probation, or 

revoke or refuse to renew or reinstate any license, certificate, 

or temporary license, or deny any application issued under the 

provisions of Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of 

the Code of Virginia and the regulations of the board this 

chapter if the board finds that the licensee, certificate holder, 

permit holder, or applicant: 

1. The licensee, certificate holder, temporary license holder 

or applicant is Is incompetent, or negligent in practice, or 

incapable mentally or physically, as those terms are 

generally understood in the profession, to practice as an 

esthetician;  

2. The licensee, certificate holder, or temporary license 

holder fails to teach in accordance with the board-approved 

curriculum or fails to comply with 18VAC41-70-190 D 

when making an assessment of credit hours awarded.  

3. The licensee, certificate holder, temporary license 

holder, or applicant is 2. Is convicted of fraud or deceit in 

the practice or teaching of esthetics, fails to teach in 

accordance with the board-approved curriculum, or fails to 

comply with 18VAC41-70-190 D when making an 

assessment of credit hours awarded;  

4. The licensee, certificate holder, temporary license 

holder, or applicant attempted 3. Attempts to obtain, 

obtained, renewed, or reinstated a license certificate or 

temporary license by false or fraudulent representation; 

5. The licensee, certificate holder, temporary license 

holder, or applicant violates 4. Violates or induces others 

to violate, or cooperates with others in violating, any of the 

provisions of this chapter or Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) 

of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia or any local ordinance 

or regulation governing standards of health and sanitation 

of the establishment in which any esthetician may practice 

or offer to practice; 

5. Offers, gives, or promises anything of value or benefit to 

any federal, state, or local employee for the purpose of 

influencing that employee to circumvent, in the 

performance of his duties, any federal, state, or local law, 

regulation, or ordinance governing esthetics or master 

esthetics; 

6. Fails to respond to the board or any of its agents or 

provides false, misleading, or incomplete information to an 

inquiry by the board or any of its agents; 

7. Fails or refuses to allow the board or any of its agents to 

inspect during reasonable hours any licensed shop, salon, 

or school for compliance with provisions of Chapter 7 

(§ 54.1-700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia or 

this chapter;  

6. The licensee, certificate holder, temporary license 

holder, or applicant fails 8. Fails to produce, upon request 

or demand of the board or any of its agents, any document, 

book, record, or copy thereof in a licensee's, certificate 

holder's, temporary license holder's, applicant's, or owner's 

possession or maintained in accordance with this chapter;  

7. A licensee, certificate holder, or temporary license 

holder fails 9. Fails to notify the board of a change of name 

or address in writing within 30 days of the change for each 

and every license, certificate, or temporary license. The 

board shall not be responsible for the licensee's, certificate 

holder's, or temporary license holder's failure to receive 

notices, communications and correspondence caused by 

the licensee's, certificate holder's, or temporary license 

holder's failure to promptly notify the board in writing of 

any change of name or address or for any other reason 

beyond the control of the board; 

8. The licensee, certificate holder, temporary license 

holder, or applicant publishes 10. Makes any 

misrepresentation or publishes or causes to be published 

any advertisement that is false, deceptive, or misleading;  
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9.The licensee, certificate holder, temporary license holder, 

or applicant fails 11. Fails to notify the board in writing 

within 30 days of the suspension, revocation, or surrender 

of a license or temporary license in connection with a 

disciplinary action in any other jurisdiction or of any 

license or temporary license that has been the subject of 

disciplinary action in any other jurisdiction; or 

10. The licensee, certificate holder, temporary license 

holder, or applicant has been convicted or found guilty in 

any jurisdiction of any misdemeanor or felony. Any plea or 

nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for the 

purpose of this section. The record of a conviction certified 

or authenticated in such form as to be admissible in 

evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction where convicted 

shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of such guilt; 

11. The licensee, certificate holder, temporary license 

holder, or applicant fails to notify the board in writing 

within 30 days that the licensee, certificate holder, 

temporary license holder, or applicant has pleaded guilty or 

nolo contendere or was convicted and found guilty of any 

misdemeanor or felony. 

12. Has been convicted or found guilty, regardless of the 

manner of adjudication, in Virginia or any other 

jurisdiction of the United States of a misdemeanor 

involving moral turpitude, sexual offense, drug 

distribution, or physical injury or any felony, there being 

no appeal pending therefrom or the time for appeal having 

elapsed. Review of convictions shall be subject to the 

requirements of § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. Any 

plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction 

for purposes of this subdivision. The record of a conviction 

certified or authenticated in such form as to be admissible 

in evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction where 

convicted shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of 

such conviction or guilt; 

13 Fails to inform the board in writing within 30 days of 

pleading guilty or nolo contendere or being convicted or 

found guilty regardless of adjudication of convictions as 

stated in subdivision 12 of this section; 

14. Allows, as an owner or operator of a spa or school, a 

person who has not obtained a license or a temporary 

permit to practice unless the person is duly enrolled as a 

registered apprentice; 

15. Allows, as an owner or operator of a school, a person 

who has not obtained an instructor certificate to practice as 

an esthetics or a master esthetics instructor; 

16. Fails to take sufficient measures to prevent 

transmission of communicable or infectious diseases or 

fails to comply with sanitary requirements provided for in 

this chapter or any local, state, or federal law or regulation 

governing the standards of health and sanitation for the 

practices of esthetics or master esthetics, or the operation 

of esthetics spas; or 

17. Fails to comply with all procedures established by the 

board and the testing service with regard to conduct at the 

examination. 

B. In addition to subsection A of this section, the board may, 

in considering the totality of the circumstances, revoke, 

suspend, place on probation, or refuse to renew or reinstate 

the license of any school or impose a fine as permitted by 

law, or both, if the board finds that: 

1. An instructor of the approved school fails to teach the 

curriculum as provided for in this chapter; 

2. The owner or director of the approved school permits or 

allows a person to teach in the school without an applicable 

current esthetics instructor certificate or master esthetics 

instructor certificate; or 

3. The instructor, owner or director is guilty of fraud or 

deceit in the teaching of esthetics. 

C. In addition to subsection A of this section, the board may, 

in considering the totality of the circumstances, revoke, 

suspend, place on probation, or refuse to renew or reinstate 

the license of any esthetics spa or impose a fine as permitted 

by law, or both, if the board finds that: 

1. The owner or operator of the spa fails to comply with 

the sanitary requirements of an esthetics spa provided for 

in this chapter or in any local ordinances; or 

2. The owner or operator allows a person who has not 

obtained a license or a temporary license to practice as an 

esthetician or master esthetician. 

D. In addition to subsection A of this section, the board may, 

in considering the totality of the circumstances, revoke, 

suspend, place on probation, or refuse to renew or reinstate 

the license of any licensee or impose a fine as permitted by 

law, or both, if the board finds that the licensee fails to take 

sufficient measures to prevent transmission of communicable 

or infectious diseases or fails to comply with any local, state 

or federal law or regulation governing the standards of health 

and sanitation for the practice of esthetics. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC41-70) 

Esthetician – Esthetics Instructor Examination & License 

Application, A425-1261_62EXLIC (eff. 9/11) 

Master Esthetician – Master Esthetics Instructor 

Examination & License Application, A425-1264_65EXLIC 

(eff. 9/11) 

Temporary Permit Application, A425-1213TP (eff. 9/11) 
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License by Endorsement Application, A425-1213END (rev. 

2/14) 

Esthetician - Esthetics Instructor Examination & License 

Application, A450-1261_62EXLIC-v12 (eff. 7/2016) 

Master Esthetician - Master Esthetics Instructor 

Examination & License Application, A450-1264_65EXLIC-

v13 (eff. 7/2016) 

Temporary Permit Application, A450-1213TEMP-v2 (eff. 

7/2016) 

License by Endorsement Application, A450-1213END-v8 

(eff. 7/2016) 

Training & Experience Verification Form, A425-

1213TREXP (eff. 9/11) 

Reinstatement Application, A425-1213REI (rev. 2/14) 

Salon, Shop, Spa & Parlor License Application A425-

1213BUS (rev. 2/14) 

Individuals - Reinstatement Application, A450-1213REI-v8 

(eff. 7/2016) 

Salon, Shop, Spa & Parlor License/Reinstatement 

Application A450-1213BUS-v8 (eff. 7/2016) 

Salon, Shop & Spa Self Inspection Form, A425-

1213_SSS_INSP (eff. 9/11) 

Instructor Certification Application, A425-1213INST (rev. 

2/14) 

School License Application, A425-1213SCHL (rev. 2/14) 

Instructor Certification Application, A450-1213INST-v7 

(eff. 7/2016) 

School License Application, A450-1213SCHL-v8 (eff. 

7/2016) 

School Self Inspection Form, A425-1213SCH_INSP (eff. 

9/11) 

Licensure Fee Notice, A425-1213FEE (rev. 2/14) 

Change of Responsible Management, A450-1213CRM-v1 

(eff. 7/2016) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3985; Filed September 25, 2015, 9:24 a.m.  

BOARD FOR HEARING AID SPECIALISTS AND 
OPTICIANS 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC80-20. Board for Hearing Aid 

Specialists Regulations (amending 18VAC80-20-70).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

December 16, 2015 - 1:45 p.m. - Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 200, Board Room 1, Richmond, 

VA 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: December 18, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Demetrios J. Melis, Executive Director, 

Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 

(804) 367-8590, FAX (804) 527-4295, or email 

hearingaidspec@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The proposed regulatory action is mandated by the 

following sections of the Code of Virginia. To comply with 

these statutes, the board (i) evaluates its current and projected 

financial position and (ii) determines the type of fees and 

amounts to be established for each fee that will provide 

revenue sufficient to cover its expenses. 

Section 54.1-113 (commonly known as the Callahan Act) 

states that following the close of any biennium, when the 

account for any regulatory board within the Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR) or the 

Department of Health Professions maintained under § 54.1-

308 or 54.1-2505 of the Code of Virginia shows expenses 

allocated to it for the past biennium to be more than 10% 

greater or less than moneys collected on behalf of the board, 

the board shall revise the fees levied by it for certification or 

licensure and renewal thereof so that the fees are sufficient 

but not excessive to cover expenses. 

Subdivision A 4 of § 54.1-201 describes each regulatory 

board's power and duty to "levy and collect fees for the 

certification or licensure and renewal that are sufficient to 

cover all expenses for the administration and operation of the 

regulatory board and a proportionate share of the expenses of 

the Department."  

Subdivision 3 of § 54.1-304 describes the power and duty of 

the Director of DPOR to "collect and account for all fees 

prescribed to be paid into each board and account for and 

deposit the moneys so collected into a special fund from 

which the expenses of the board, regulatory boards, and the 

department shall be paid."  

Section 54.1-308 provides for compensation of the director, 

employees, and board members to be paid out of the total 

funds collected. This section also requires the director to 

maintain a separate account for each board showing moneys 

collected on its behalf and expenses allocated to the board.  

The above sections of the Code of Virginia mandate that the 

board manage and periodically review and adjust fees. The 

referenced sections require the department to (i) pay expenses 

of each board and the department from revenues collected, 

(ii) establish fees adequate to provide sufficient revenue to 

pay expenses, (iii) account for the revenues collected and 

expenses charged to each board, and (iv) adjust fees as 

necessary to ensure that revenue is sufficient but not 

excessive to cover all expenses. 

To comply with these requirements, the department (i) 

distinctly accounts for the revenue collected for each board, 

(ii) accounts for direct board expenses for each board and 

allocates a proportionate share of agency operating expenses 

to each board, (iii) reviews the actual and projected financial 

position of each board biennially to determine whether 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4e705003985~1&typ=40&actno=003985&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4e705003985~1&typ=40&actno=003985&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=71060003985~2&typ=40&actno=003985&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=71060003985~2&typ=40&actno=003985&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=71060003985~2&typ=40&actno=003985&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1bbac003985~3&typ=40&actno=003985&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1bbac003985~3&typ=40&actno=003985&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=092c5003985~4&typ=40&actno=003985&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=092c5003985~4&typ=40&actno=003985&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3575c001837~11&typ=40&actno=001837&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3575c001837~11&typ=40&actno=001837&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=91d9b003985~5&typ=40&actno=003985&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=91d9b003985~5&typ=40&actno=003985&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7fcbf003985~6&typ=40&actno=003985&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7fcbf003985~6&typ=40&actno=003985&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=13275001837~14&typ=40&actno=001837&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=13275001837~14&typ=40&actno=001837&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b4e95003985~7&typ=40&actno=003985&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b4e95003985~7&typ=40&actno=003985&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fa314003985~8&typ=40&actno=003985&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fa314003985~8&typ=40&actno=003985&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=18751001837~17&typ=40&actno=001837&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=18751001837~17&typ=40&actno=001837&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=73f54003919~3&typ=40&actno=003919&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=be663003985~9&typ=40&actno=003985&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=be663003985~9&typ=40&actno=003985&mime=application/pdf
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revenues are adequate, but not excessive, to cover reasonable 

and authorized expenses for upcoming operating cycles, and 

(iv) recommends adjustments to fees to respond to changes 

and projections in revenue trends and operating expenses.  

If projected revenue collections are expected to be more than 

sufficient to cover expenses for upcoming operating cycles, 

decreases in fees are recommended. If projected revenue 

collections are expected to be inadequate to cover operating 

expenses for upcoming operating cycles, increases in fees are 

recommended. 

Fee adjustments are mandatory in accordance with these 

Code of Virginia sections. The board exercises discretion on 

how the fees are adjusted by determining the amount of 

adjustment for each type of fee. The board makes its 

determination based on the adequacy of the fees to provide 

sufficient revenue for upcoming operating cycles. 

Purpose: The intent of the proposed changes in the regulation 

is to increase licensing fees for applicants and regulants of the 

board. The board must establish fees adequate to support the 

costs of board operations and a proportionate share of the 

department's operations.  

The board provides protection for the health, safety, and 

welfare of the citizens of the Commonwealth by ensuring that 

only individuals who meet specific criteria set forth in statute 

and regulations receive licensure as hearing aid specialists, by 

ensuring its regulants meet standards of practice and conduct 

set forth in the regulation, and by imposing penalties for not 

complying with the governing statutes and regulations. 

Without adequate funding, complaints against regulants 

brought to the attention of the board by citizens cannot be 

investigated and processed in a timely manner. Ensuring that 

hearing aid specialists have at least the minimal competencies 

to perform work protects the health, safety, and welfare of 

Virginia citizens. 

The department receives no general fund money, instead it is 

funded almost entirely from revenue collected through 

applications for certification, licensure, renewals, 

examination fees, and other certification and licensing fees. 

The department is self-supporting and must collect adequate 

revenue to support its mandated and approved activities and 

operations. Fees must be established at amounts that will 

provide adequate revenue. Fee revenues collected on behalf 

of the boards fund the department's authorized special 

revenue appropriation. 

The board has no other source of revenue from which to 

funds its operations. 

Substance: The existing regulations are being amended to 

adjust the fees related to obtaining and maintaining licensure 

as a hearing aid specialist. 

1) The hearing aid specialist new applicant fee is 

adjusted from $30 to $85. 

2) The hearing aid specialist new applicant by reciprocity 

fee is adjusted from $30 to $85. 

3) The hearing aid specialist new applicant temporary 

permit is adjusted from $30 to $85. 

4) The hearing aid specialist licensure renewal fee is 

adjusted from $20 to $115. 

5) The hearing aid specialist licensure reinstatement fee 

is adjusted from $50 to $85. 

Issues: The Code of Virginia establishes the board as the state 

agency that oversees licensure of hearing aid specialists 

providing services in Virginia. The board's primary mission is 

to protect the citizens of the Commonwealth by prescribing 

requirements for minimal competencies; by prescribing 

standards of conduct and practice; and by imposing penalties 

for not complying with the regulations. Further, the Code of 

Virginia requires the department to comply with the Callahan 

Act. The proposed fee adjustments will ensure that the board 

has sufficient revenues to fund its operating expenses. 

There are no disadvantages to the public or the 

Commonwealth in raising the board's fees as proposed in this 

action. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians (Board) 

proposes to amend fees for hearing aid specialist licensure. 

Specifically, the Board proposes to increase fees for initial 

application, renewal of licensure, reinstatement of licensure 

and fees for temporary permits. The Board also proposes to 

decrease the fee for licensure by reciprocity. In a separate 

action (http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewStage.cfm? 

stageid=7102), the Board proposes to eliminate the 

examination fee from this regulation and instead inform 

regulated entities that this fee will be set according to 

requirements of the Virginia Public Procurement Act. This 

change will be discussed in depth in a separate economic 

impact analysis but it is worth noting that these two actions 

would need to be considered together in order to gauge the 

full effect of proposed fee changes for licensees.  

Result of Analysis. There is insufficient information to 

ascertain whether benefits will outweigh costs for these 

proposed changes.  

Estimated Economic Impact. Under current regulations, 

applicants for initial licensure as hearing aid specialists pay 

$30 plus a $110 examination fee; licensees pay a biennial 

renewal fee of $20 and, when necessary, a reinstatement fee 

of $50. Temporary permits for individuals who are 

completing training currently cost $30 for a one-year period 

and can be renewed at no cost for an additional six-month 

period. Currently, individuals who are seeking licensure by 

reciprocity must pay $140 that covers both the fee for 

application and the fee for taking the licensure examination. 

The Board now proposes to increase fees for initial licensure 

application, renewal and reinstatement of licensure and for 

temporary permits. The Board also proposes to amend the fee 

http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=7102
http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=7102
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for licensure by reciprocity in such a way that looks like a fee 

reduction but that will likely see individuals seeking such 

licensure paying more. While the fee for licensure by 

reciprocity will change from $140 to $85 in this proposed 

action, in the separate action linked above, the Board 

proposes to remove language that states the licensure by 

reciprocity fee includes the examination fee. This means that 

for any examination fee over $55 ($140-85), applicants for 

licensure by reciprocity will be paying more than they 

currently do to become licensed. The current examination fee 

is $110. 

Below is a comparison table for current and proposed fees: 

FEE TYPE 
CURRENT 

FEE 

PROPOSED 

FEE 

% INCREASE 

Initial 

Application 

for Licensure 

$30 $85 183% 

License 

Renewal 
$20  $85 325% 

License 

Reinstatement 
$50 $85 70% 

Temporary 

Permit 
$30 $85 183% 

Licensure by 

Reciprocity 

$140 

(includes 

the $110 

exam fee)   

$85 (will 

likely not 

include the 

to-be-

determined 

exam fee)  

Undeterminable 

at this time 

Board staff reports that, although revenues have fallen short 

of being able to pay for all expenditures in this and the last 

biennium, the Board had excess balances that covered budget 

shortfalls. Absent some fee increase, Board staff reports that 

the Board will run a deficit by the end of the 2016-18 

biennium. Even though historical revenue and expenditure 

numbers support that the Board would eventually have to 

increase fees, an assumption used to forecast a decrease in 

revenues seems dubious. Board staff reports that forecasted 

revenues for the current biennium and the next two biennia 

are less than revenues over the last two biennia because they 

assumed that renewals would follow historical patterns (in 

that approximately 92% of current licensees would choose to 

renew) but they also assumed that revenues for initial 

licensure applications would be lower than they have been 

historically over the last two biennia. In short, Board staff 

assumes that fewer new individuals will choose to be licensed 

over this or the next two biennia in order to forecast a 

decrease in revenues. While revenue increased from $288,840 

for the 2010-12 biennium to $289,704 for the 2012-14 

biennium, the Board is forecasting the revenue will fall to 

$276,485 for the current biennium and will be the same for 

the next two biennia (absent fee increases).  

An assumption used to forecast increased costs (that the 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 

(DPOR) will fill empty positions that the Board would then 

be responsible for partially covering the cost of) also may not 

happen and may not be in the best interests of current or 

future licensees if it does happen. Specifically, if neither 

licensee services nor investigations of complaints for this 

Board have suffered a significant lag on account of DPOR's 

lower staffing levels, neither licensees of this Board nor the 

public who uses their services are likely to experience a 

significant benefit on account of DPOR's anticipated hiring of 

additional staff. 

In addition to anticipated staffing increases at DPOR, Board 

staff also reports that they expect expenditures to increase 

because of rising cost of health insurance for DPOR staff. On 

a per employee basis these costs are entirely outside of the 

power of the Board (and DPOR) to control. To the extent that 

health care costs are anticipated to increase because DPOR 

plans to hire more staff, the analysis in the paragraph above 

would also apply here. 

Increasing fees will likely increase the cost of being licensed 

and, so, will likely slightly decrease the number of people 

who choose to become or remain licensed.  To the extent that 

the public benefits from the Board regulating these 

professional populations, they will also likely benefit from 

the Board's proposed action that will increase fees to support 

Board activities. There is insufficient information to ascertain 

whether benefits will outweigh costs. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. This proposed regulation 

will affect all current and future hearing aid specialist 

licensees. Board staff reports that there are currently 668 

hearing aid specialists who are licensed in the 

Commonwealth. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No localities will likely be 

disproportionately affected by this proposed regulatory 

change. 

Projected Impact on Employment. Increased licensure fees 

will likely lead to at least a marginal decrease in the number 

of individuals who are employed as hearing aid specialists. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. To the 

extent that professional licenses are private property of value 

to licensees, increasing the cost of licenses will 

commensurately decrease their value. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. To the extent that 

increasing licensure fees leads to a decrease in the number of 

individuals licensed as hearing aid specialists, the cost of 

hiring the services of the remaining, smaller pool of licensees 

may marginally increase for the small businesses that hire 

them. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. There are actions that the Board could take 

that might mitigate the necessity of raising fees at this time. If 

licensees and the public have not thus far been harmed by 
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decreased staffing levels, licensees would likely benefit from 

DPOR reconsidering its decision to hire more staff who 

would need to be funded through licensure fees. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. 

General: The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has 

analyzed the economic impact of this proposed regulation in 

accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and 

Executive Order Number 17 (2014). Section 2.2-4007.04 

requires that such economic impact analyses determine the 

public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments.  Further the report should include but not be 

limited to: 

• the projected number of businesses or other entities to 

whom the proposed regulation would apply, 

• the identity of any localities and types of businesses or 

other entities particularly affected, 

• the projected number of persons and employment 

positions to be affected,  

• the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and  

• the impact on the use and value of private property.  

Small Businesses: If the proposed regulation will have an 

adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires 

that such economic impact analyses include: 

• an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the proposed regulation, 

• the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other 

administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the proposed regulation, including the type 

of professional skills necessary for preparing required 

reports and other documents, 

• a statement of the probable effect of the proposed 

regulation on affected small businesses, and  

• a description of any less intrusive or less costly 

alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the 

proposed regulation.  

Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1, if there is a finding 

that a proposed regulation may have an adverse impact on 

small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative 

Rules is notified at the time the proposed regulation is 

submitted to the Virginia Register of Regulations for 

publication. This analysis shall represent DPB's best estimate 

for the purposes of public review and comment on the 

proposed regulation. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The board 

concurs with the approval. However, the board would like to 

correct an error in the summary and address certain 

statements regarding the board's projected revenues and 

expenditures. 

Summary Correction – "The board also proposes to decrease 

the fee for licensure by reciprocity." 

EIA Position: "Specifically, the Board proposes to increase 

fees for initial application, renewal of licensure, reinstatement 

of licensure and fees for temporary permits. The Board also 

proposes to decrease the fee for licensure by reciprocity. In a 

separate action 

(http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=7102 

), the Board proposes to eliminate the examination fee from 

this regulation and instead inform regulated entities that this 

fee will be set according to requirements of the Virginia 

Public Procurement Act."  

Agency Response: The board's proposed fee adjustment does 

not decrease the fee for licensure by reciprocity. The current 

regulations include a $30 application fee and a $110 

examination fee. For those applying for licensure by 

reciprocity, the regulations combine these fees into one fee, 

$140. This $140 fee explicitly states it includes the 

examination fee, which is set at $110 on the preceding line. 

The actual licensure by reciprocity application fee, excluding 

the exam fee, is $30. This is the same licensing fee for non-

reciprocity applicants. The application fee is being increased 

from $30 to $85, pursuant to the Callahan Act. The 

examination fee is not being changed in this action; however, 

its inclusion in the reciprocity license fee is being removed. 

This change creates consistency in the regulations. It should 

be noted that in a separate regulatory action, the application 

fee and reciprocity license fee are being consolidated into a 

single fee type, Initial application for licensure, simplifying 

the regulations even further.  

Estimated Economic Impact. 

1. EIA Position: "The Board also proposes to amend the fee 

for licensure by reciprocity in such a way that looks like a fee 

reduction but that will likely see individuals seeking such 

licensure paying more."  

Agency Response: The board disagrees with the EIA's 

characterization that the proposed amendment appears as a 

fee reduction. As noted above, the board is separating out the 

examination fee from the license by reciprocity fee by 

removing the language "includes examination fee" from the 

regulation. The application fee for licensure by reciprocity is 

currently $30, the same amount as the non-reciprocity 

application fee. The current text of the regulation states the 

initial application fee is $30, the exam fee is $110, and the 

licensure by reciprocity fee is $140, "includes[ing] 

examination fee." It is clear in the regulation that the $140 

reciprocity fee is the $110 examination fee and $30 

application fee. The proposed fee adjustment is a change to 

the application fee and should not mislead any potential 

reciprocity applicants about the nature of the change. It 

should be noted that the board has had only one applicant for 

reciprocity since 2009. 

2. EIA Position: "Absent some fee increase, Board staff 

reports that the Board will run a deficit by the 2016-18 
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biennium. Even though historical revenue and expenditure 

numbers support that the Board would eventually have to 

increase fees, an assumption used to forecast a decrease in 

revenues seems dubious."  

Agency Response: The board concurs with the EIA's 

conclusion that revenue and expenditure numbers support that 

the board must increase fees. The board disagrees with the 

EIA's characterization that its revenue forecast is dubious. 

Revenue projections for applicants are based on historical 

averages for the past eight years for opticians. This method 

has been proven successful when considering that the number 

of applicants vary from year to year. The projection 

methodology used for renewals has also shown to be 

historically fairly accurate, with a typical variance of less than 

5.0%. This revenue projection method has been reviewed by 

DPOR management, external budget analysts, and an external 

auditor; and the method is considered sound and reasonable. 

This revenue projection methodology is used across all 

professions under DPOR and has been in place for over a 

decade. These specific revenue projections are the same used 

for all budgeting purposes, including the annual executive 

branch six-year budget projections. It is of note that the board 

projects the cash deficit to occur in the first part of 2017 

under the current fee structure. 

3. EIA Position: "Specifically, if neither licensee services nor 

investigations of complaints for this Board have suffered a 

significant lag on account of DPOR's lower staffing levels, 

neither licensees of this Board nor the public who uses their 

services are likely to experience a significant benefit on 

account of DPOR's anticipated hiring of additional staff."  

Agency Response: DPOR utilizes a specific staffing model, 

honed over several decades, to keep costs at a minimum while 

maintaining its charge of protecting the health, safety, and 

welfare of the public by ensuring minimal competency of 

licensed professionals. boards are staffed with licensing 

professionals who are generalists in licensing and board-

specific functions. Functions that are not board specific, some 

of which include accounting, investigations, examinations, 

information services, and recordkeeping, are staffed by 

professionals in those fields who perform these functions for 

all of the boards at DPOR. So, for example, the DPOR 

finance section staffs accountants, who split their time 

performing accounting for each of the boards. The board is 

then charged a portion of the accountant's costs based on the 

percentage of the accountant's workload that was spent on the 

board's accounting. This model saves the board the expense 

of hiring a staff accountant to perform this function. The 

board simply does not have the funds to staff professionals to 

perform all of the incidental or specialized services performed 

by DPOR staff. Neither can the board afford the loss of 

productivity by having generalists attempt to perform these 

functions in addition to their other duties for the board. The 

board receives the benefits of economies of scale when 

sharing the cost of services provided by DPOR staff. When 

DPOR is adequately staffed, all of the boards, including this 

board, operate at minimal costs by receiving the benefits of 

specialization and economies of scale. 

Filling vacant positions is only one aspect of the projected 

increased expenditures. The increases in health insurance and 

retirement costs to DPOR that are already in effect as of 

Fiscal Year 2015 total nearly $2 million per biennium, with 

the board's allocated portion estimated at about $18,000 per 

biennium. 

Projected Impact on Employment. 

EIA Position: "Increased licensure fees will likely lead to at 

least a marginal decrease in the number of individuals who 

are employed as hearing aid specialists." 

Agency Response: In DPOR's experience, the number of 

licensees rarely decreases solely because of fee 

increases. Licensees rarely drop out of the profession due to 

fee increases. This is likely due to the cost of changing 

careers greatly exceeding that of the marginal fee adjustment. 

It is of note that even if this fee is increased, Virginia will still 

have one of the lowest hearing aid specialist licensing fees in 

the nation. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. 

EIA Position: "To the extent that professional licenses are 

private property of value to licensees, increasing the cost of 

licenses will commensurately decrease their value." 

Agency Response: Regardless of the EIA response's relation 

to a separate action, the board disagrees with the 

characterization of an occupational license as private 

property. The board, in consultation with the Attorney 

General's office, maintains that an occupational license is a 

legal status conferred by the state granting special privileges 

to the licensee, not private property.  

Further, it is not clear how increasing the cost of the license 

decreases its value. Changing the cost of the license does not 

affect its function, characteristics, or the usability of the 

license, factors that would normally determine its value. In 

this sense, it is not clear how a fee change alone can change 

the value of a license. The EIA takes the position that a fee 

increase will lead to a decrease in the number of licensees, 

making the license more scarce. A decrease in supply would 

likely result in increased value. So if the license is more 

scarce due to the fee increase, its value would increase, not 

decrease as the EIA indicates. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects.  

EIA Position: "To the extent that increasing licensure fees 

leads to a decrease in the number of individuals licensed as 

hearing aid specialists, the cost of hiring the services of the 

remaining, smaller pool of licensees may marginally increase 

for the small businesses that hire them." 

Agency Response: As noted above, in DPOR's experience, 

the number of licensees rarely decreases solely because of fee 

increases. Licensees rarely drop out of the profession due to 

fee increases, as the cost of changing careers usually greatly 

exceed that of the marginal fee adjustment. 
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Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact.  

EIA Position: "There are actions that the Board could take 

that might mitigate the necessity of raising fees at this time. If 

licensees and the public have not thus far been harmed by 

decreased staffing levels, licensees would likely benefit from 

DPOR reconsidering its decision to hire more staff that would 

need to be funded through licensure fees." 

Agency Response: As indicated above, licensees and the 

public benefit when DPOR maintains adequate staffing 

levels. DPOR utilizes a specific staffing model, honed over 

several decades, to keep costs at a minimum while 

maintaining its charge of protecting the health, safety, and 

welfare of the public by ensuring minimal competency of 

licensed professionals. Boards are staffed with licensing 

professionals who are generalists in licensing and board-

specific functions. Functions that are not board specific, some 

of which include accounting, investigations, examinations, 

information services, and recordkeeping, are staffed by 

professionals in those fields who perform these functions for 

all of the boards at DPOR. So, for example, the DPOR 

finance section staffs accountants, who split their time 

performing accounting for each of the boards. The board is 

then charged a portion of the accountant's costs based on the 

percentage of the accountant's workload that was spent on the 

board's accounting. This model saves the board the expense 

of hiring a staff accountant to perform this function. The 

board simply does not have the funds to staff professionals to 

perform all of the incidental or specialized services performed 

by DPOR staff. Neither can the board afford the loss of 

productivity by having generalists attempt to perform these 

functions in addition to their other duties for the board. The 

board receives the benefits of economies of scale when 

sharing the cost of services provided by DPOR staff. When 

DPOR is adequately staffed, all of the boards, including this 

board, operate at minimal costs by receiving the benefits of 

specialization and economies of scale. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments increase the fees for a new 

applicant, a new applicant by reciprocity, a new applicant 

temporary permit, licensure renewal, and licensure 

reinstatement for hearing aid specialists. 

18VAC80-20-70. Fees.  

A. All fees are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated. The 

date of receipt by the board or its agent is the date which that 

will be used to determine whether or not it is on time.  

B. Application and examination fees must be submitted with 

the application for licensure.  

C. In the event that a check, money draft, or similar 

instrument for payment of a fee required by statute or 

regulation is not honored by the bank or financial institution 

named, the applicant or regulant shall be required to remit 

fees sufficient to cover the original fee, plus the additional 

processing charge established by the department.  

The following fees apply:  

Application Fee $30 $85 to be paid by all 

applicants for initial 

licensure except 

reciprocal 

applicants 

Examination Fee $110   

Licensure Fee for 

Reciprocity 

$140 $85 includes exam fee 

Temporary Permit 

Fee 

$30 $85   

Re-examination 

Fee 

$95 per written or 

practical part  

Renewal $20 $115   

Reinstatement $50 $85   

Duplicate Wall 

Certificate 

$25   

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC80-20)  

License Application, 21LIC (rev. 10/03).  

Temporary Permit Application, 21TPER (eff. 10/03).  

Reinstatement Application, 21REI (rev. 10/03).  

Reexamination Application, 21REEX (rev. 12/00).  

Hearing Aid Specialist License Application, A440-

2101LIC-v3 (rev. 3/2016) 

Hearing Aid Specialist Temporary Permit Application, 

A440-2102TP_PKG-v4 (rev. 3/2016) 

Hearing Aid Specialist License Reinstatement Application, 

A440-2101REI-v3 (rev. 3/2016) 

Hearing Aid Specialist Re-examination Application, A440-

2101REEX-v2 (rev. 9/2013) 

Hearing Aid Specialist Training & Experience Form, A440-

21TREXP-v2 (eff. 9/2013) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4011; Filed September 25, 2015, 9:25 a.m.  

 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=07dec004011~1&typ=40&actno=004011&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=07dec004011~1&typ=40&actno=004011&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=88e04004011~3&typ=40&actno=004011&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=88e04004011~3&typ=40&actno=004011&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=af615004011~2&typ=40&actno=004011&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=af615004011~2&typ=40&actno=004011&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1bc98004011~4&typ=40&actno=004011&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1bc98004011~4&typ=40&actno=004011&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2e9de003984~1&typ=40&actno=003984&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2e9de003984~1&typ=40&actno=003984&mime=application/pdf
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Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC80-20. Board for Hearing Aid 

Specialists Regulations (amending 18VAC80-20-10, 

18VAC80-20-30, 18VAC80-20-40, 18VAC80-20-70, 

18VAC80-20-220, 18VAC80-20-230, 18VAC80-20-250, 

18VAC80-20-270; repealing 18VAC80-20-280).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

December 16, 2015 - 1:30 p.m. - Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 200, Board Room 1, Richmond, 

VA 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: December 18, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Demetrios J. Melis, Executive Director, 

Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 

(804) 367-8590, FAX (804) 527-4295, or email 

hearingaidspec@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 

the board to promulgate regulations. The section states, in 

part, that the board has the power and duty to promulgate 

regulations in accordance with the Administrative Process 

Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) necessary to 

assure continued competency, to prevent deceptive or 

misleading practices by practitioners, and to effectively 

administer the regulatory system administered by the board. 

Purpose: The board seeks to amend its current regulations to 

ensure they are as least intrusive and burdensome as possible, 

in order to assist in providing an environment without 

unnecessary regulatory obstacles while still protecting the 

health, safety, and welfare of the public. Additionally, the 

board seeks to ensure its regulations are clearly written, easily 

understandable, and representative of the current 

advancements and standards of the industries. 

Substance:  

18VAC80-20-10. Definitions: The definitions of hearing aid 

specialist and licensee have been modified to align them with 

the statutory definition found in § 54.1-1500 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

18VAC80-20-30. Basic qualifications for licensure: The 

proposed amendments modify the description of the practice 

to reflect the Code of Virginia and changes in 18VAC80-20-

10. 

18VAC80-20-40. Qualifications for a temporary permit: The 

proposed amendments modify the description of the practice 

to reflect the Code of Virginia and changes in 18VAC80-20-

10. The requirement that correspondence be sent to both the 

permit holder and sponsor is updated to expressly exempt 

correspondence protected by law. 

18VAC80-20-50. Fees: The proposed amendments replace 

specific examination fees with language authorizing 

examination fees to be set in accordance with the § 2.2-4300 

et seq. of the Code of Virginia (Virginia Procurement Act) 

and with subdivision A 4  of § 54.1-201 of the Code of 

Virginia. Fees for wall certificates are removed and the 

licensure fee for reciprocity is consolidated with the initial 

license fee. 

18VAC80-20-220. Purchase agreement: The proposed 

amendments require disclosure of nonrefundable fees in 

accordance with the Code of Virginia and prohibit the fees 

from being a percentage of the purchase price of the hearing 

aid. 

18VAC80-20-230. Fitting and sale of hearing aids for 

children: The proposed amendments modify the description 

of the practice to reflect the Code of Virginia and changes in 

18VAC80-20-10. 

18VAC80-20-250. Testing procedures: The proposed 

regulations expand the standard testing frequencies to include 

6000 – 8000 hertz. 

18VAC80-20-270. Grounds for discipline: The proposed 

amendments (i) expand the grounds for disciplinary action to 

include probation and refusal to renew and (ii) clarify that 

temporary permit holders are subject to discipline by the 

board. The proposed amendments also modify the description 

of the practice to reflect the Code of Virginia and changes in 

18VAC80-20-10. 

18VAC80-20-280. Accountability of licensee: The proposed 

amendments repeal this section. 

Issues: The primary advantage of the proposed amendments 

to the public is the board will continue to approve applicants 

and license professionals with safeguards in place to ensure 

proper competency and standards of conduct. The change of 

scope of prohibited acts to include permit holders will reduce 

fraud and better ensure the regulant population is minimally 

competent. Further, regulants and applicants within these 

professions will be able to read the board's requirements with 

greater clarity and understanding. The added clarity of the 

language in the proposed regulations will facilitate a quicker 

and more efficient process for applicants and regulants by 

enhancing their understanding of their individual 

requirements. Further, consumers in the public and regulators 

from related agencies will have a better understanding of the 

board's requirements that will allow them to conduct business 

with greater efficiency. 

The primary advantage to the Commonwealth will be the 

continued successful regulation of hearing aid specialists who 

meet the minimum entry standards. The proposed 

amendments strengthen the ability to investigate and 

discipline regulants who disregard the health, safety, and 

welfare of the public. No disadvantage has been identified. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians (Board) 

proposes to amend its Hearing Aid Specialists Regulations to: 
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1) make them conform to definitions and other language in 

the Code of Virginia, 2) add several frequencies to the 

standard air conduction test standard frequencies, 3) clarify 

that temporary permit holders are subject to Board discipline, 

4) consolidate the initial licensure and licensure by 

reciprocity fees and 5) remove the examination fee (and other 

language pertaining to that fee) from the schedule of fees and 

insert language that allows the examination fee to be set 

outside the regulation by agreement between the Department 

of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR) and the 

exam vendor so long as the vendor is chosen through rules set 

in the Virginia Public Procurement Act. 

Result of Analysis. Benefits will likely outweigh costs for 

several of these regulatory changes. For at least one 

regulatory change, costs will likely outweigh benefits.  

Estimated Economic Impact. Currently, this regulation 

contains definitions and other language that differs from the 

language contained in controlling legislation. The Board now 

proposes to amend the definitions for "licensee" and "hearing 

aid specialist" as well as add language requiring the 

disclosure of nonrefundable fees (which may not be a 

percentage of the purchase price of a hearing aid) so that 

regulatory language conforms to relevant language in the 

Code of Virginia (COV). Since the language in the COV is 

already legally controlling, no entity is likely to incur costs on 

account of these changes. To the extent that conforming 

regulatory language to the COV will eliminate the chance of 

confusion, interested parties will benefit from the added 

clarity these changes bring. 

Currently, this regulation specifies that licensees and 

temporary permit holders must conduct air conduction tests at 

standard frequencies of 500, 1,000, 2,000 and 4,000 Hertz. 

Board staff reports that technology has improved for hearing 

tests and so the Board now proposes to add 6,000 and 8,000 

Hertz to the list of required standard frequencies. Board staff 

also reports that this change reflects an already established 

and universally used standard in the hearing aid industry, so 

they do not expect any affected entity to have to buy any new 

equipment or incur any additional costs on account of this 

change. 

Current regulatory language does not allow the Board to 

discipline temporary permit holders for wrongdoing but 

would instead require the Board to wait until permit holders 

got their licenses in order to discipline them. The Board now 

proposes to add temporary permit holders to the list of entities 

who are subject to Board discipline. This change will likely 

benefit the public as it will better protect them from 

temporary permit holders who are providing poor or 

fraudulent services or who have committed a crime that 

would preclude them from being licensed in the 

Commonwealth.  

Currently, this regulation has a separate fee that individuals 

seeking licensure by reciprocity must pay. This fee is $140 

and includes the cost of taking the licensure examination 

($110). The Board proposes to eliminate the separate fee for 

licensure by reciprocity and require all applicants for initial 

licensure to pay the same fee. The fee for initial licensure is 

currently set at $30 and does not include the examination fee. 

Although on its face, this change is cost neutral for affected 

entities, the Board is seeking to increase the initial licensure 

fee to $85 in a separate action 

(http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=7104). 

The two actions analyzed together indicate that individuals 

seeking licensure by reciprocity will likely have to pay more 

than they currently do to become licensed. Assuming the 

higher initial licensure fee is promulgated, individuals 

seeking licensure by reciprocity will pay higher fees in all 

instances where the examination fee is greater than $55. 

Analysis of fee increases for this Board can be found at the 

link provided above. 

The Board also proposes to eliminate the explicit examination 

and re-examination fees from this regulation and instead set 

these fees administratively based on the cost of private 

examination services contracted under the rules of the 

Virginia Public Procurement Act. This change would give the 

Board greater flexibility to set and change fees without 

having to go through the regulatory process but the general 

public and licensees would be adversely impacted in that their 

ability to receive notice of fee increases (and their ability to 

make public comment to try to affect Board decisions) will be 

greatly reduced or even eliminated. This change will increase 

uncertainty for these groups and will also likely lead to higher 

costs for licensees which may then be passed on to members 

of the public who use hearing aid services.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. This proposed regulation 

will affect all current and future hearing aid specialist 

licensees. Board staff reports that there are currently 668 

hearing aid specialists who are licensed in the 

Commonwealth. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No localities will likely be 

disproportionately affected by this proposed regulatory 

change. 

Projected Impact on Employment. Likely increased licensure 

fees will likely lead to at least a marginal decrease in the 

number of individuals who are employed as hearing aid 

specialists. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. To the 

extent that professional licenses are private property of value 

to licensees, increasing the cost of licenses will 

commensurately decrease their value. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. To the extent that 

increasing licensure fees leads to a decrease in the number of 

individuals licensed as hearing aid specialists, the cost of 

hiring the services of the remaining, smaller pool of licensees 

may marginally increase for the small businesses that hire 

them. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. The Board could likely mitigate adverse 

http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=7104
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impacts for licensees and the public by leaving fees structured 

as they currently are. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. 

General: The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has 

analyzed the economic impact of this proposed regulation in 

accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and 

Executive Order Number 17 (2014). Section 2.2-4007.04 

requires that such economic impact analyses determine the 

public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments.  Further the report should include but not be 

limited to: 

• the projected number of businesses or other entities to 

whom the proposed regulation would apply, 

• the identity of any localities and types of businesses or 

other entities particularly affected, 

• the projected number of persons and employment 

positions to be affected,  

• the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and  

• the impact on the use and value of private property.  

Small Businesses: If the proposed regulation will have an 

adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires 

that such economic impact analyses include: 

• an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the proposed regulation, 

• the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other 

administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the proposed regulation, including the type 

of professional skills necessary for preparing required 

reports and other documents, 

• a statement of the probable effect of the proposed 

regulation on affected small businesses, and  

• a description of any less intrusive or less costly 

alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the 

proposed regulation.  

Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1, if there is a finding 

that a proposed regulation may have an adverse impact on 

small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative 

Rules is notified at the time the proposed regulation is 

submitted to the Virginia Register of Regulations for 

publication. This analysis shall represent DPB's best estimate 

for the purposes of public review and comment on the 

proposed regulation. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The board 

concurs with the analysis for #1, 2, and 3 in the Summary of 

Proposed Amendments to Regulations. The board 

respectfully disagrees with #4 and 5 of the Summary, the 

sections titled Projected Impact on Employment and Effects 

on the Use and Value of Private Property, and both Small 

Businesses sections. 

Summary. 

1. Summary Item #4: The proposed regulations would 

"consolidate the initial licensure and licensure by reciprocity 

fees."  

EIA position: "Although on its face, this change is cost 

neutral for affected entities, the Board is seeking to increase 

the initial licensure fee to $85 in a separate action 

(http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=7104)

. The two actions analyzed together indicate that individuals 

seeking licensure by reciprocity will likely have to pay more 

than the [sic] currently do to become licensed. Assuming the 

higher initial licensure fee is promulgated, individuals 

seeking licensure by reciprocity will pay higher fees in all 

instances where the examination fee is greater than $55."  

Agency Response: The benefit of consolidating the initial 

licensure fee and the licensure by reciprocity fee will be that 

the regulations will be clearer and more easily understood by 

the regulants and the general public. These two fees are the 

same amount and serve the same purpose, but listing them 

separately in the regulations causes confusion for applicants. 

This regulatory change is meant solely to simplify language 

in the fees sections by reducing two separate fee entries with 

the same content into one entry. Many of the board's under 

the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 

successfully utilize this model. 

The EIA states that this change is cost neutral, then proceeds 

to analyze a separate regulatory action, even linking to the 

other action. While the EIA does not explicitly state the costs 

outweigh the benefits of this action, it claims that individuals 

seeking licensure by reciprocity will likely pay higher fees. In 

actuality, this regulatory action does not change fees at all and 

uses simplified language to maintain the same fee for all 

applicants for licensure, whether applying by reciprocity or 

not. Further, the board believes this regulatory change will be 

beneficial to the regulants and public, independent of the 

separate action referenced by the EIA. In fact, this is the 

reason the board brought separate actions, because this 

simplification is necessary regardless of the actual amount of 

the fee. 

2. Summary Item #5: The proposed regulations would 

remove the examination fee (and other language pertaining to 

the fee) from the schedule of fees and insert language that 

allows the exam fee to be set by agreement between a vendor, 

so long as the vendor is chosen in compliance with the 

Virginia Public Procurement Act.  

EIA Position: "This change will increase uncertainty for these 

groups and will also likely lead to higher costs for licensees 

which may then be passed on to members of the public who 

use hearing aid services."  

Agency Response: The current regulations set the 

examination fee at $110. By setting the exam fee in the 
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regulations, the board is effectively unable to modernize its 

exam. When the exam fee is set in regulations, the process to 

update the exam, or change the exam, is extremely limited. 

Any desired change must go through the standardized 

regulatory review process. This also means that if the 

administration costs of the exam increase, whether through 

inflation, or other reasonable causes, and the board is unable 

to adjust the examination fee capped at $110, the board will 

have to absorb that cost, increasing its expenses and thus 

expedite the requirement for a fee increase action to maintain 

the budget balancing requirements of the Callahan Act. 

Removing the exam fee from the regulations frees the board 

from having to seek regulatory changes every time it needs to 

update the exam, or exam expenses change. Further, this 

change brings the regulation in line with most of the boards 

under the Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulations (DPOR), including the optician regulations. 

As noted in the NOIRA and Agency Background Document, 

the board's current written examination is a proprietary paper 

and pencil exam and is being phased out by the exam owner. 

The company that owns the exam has transitioned to a 

computer-based exam, and the board would like to be able to 

explore procuring a modernized exam, in compliance with the 

Virginia Public Procurement Act (PPA). By eliminating the 

reference to a specific fee and authorizing setting the fees 

based on an exam vendor negotiated in compliance with the 

PPA, the board will be able to adapt more quickly if it loses 

access to its current exam or if it is able to acquire a new, 

modernized exam. This allows the board to more ably fulfill 

its statutory mission to protect the health, safety, and welfare 

of the public through ensuring licensed professionals are 

minimally competent. 

The EIA's claim that this will likely lead to higher costs for 

the licensees is unsupported. While the board may need to 

seek a change in its exam in the future, the competitive 

bidding process implemented under the PPA may result in a 

lower or equivalent exam fee. 

Projected Impact on Employment.  

EIA Position: "Likely increased licensure fees will likely lead 

to at least a marginal decrease in the number of individuals 

who are employed as hearing aid specialists." 

Agency Response: This regulatory action does not propose a 

fee increase. The EIA position on the projected impact on 

employment appears to be directed at a separate regulatory 

action. The EIA does not identify how any of the proposed 

changes in this regulatory action would impact employment. 

The changes proposed in this regulatory action simplify and 

modernize the regulations and are not anticipated to have a 

negative impact on employment.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property.  

EIA Position: "To the extent that professional licenses are 

private property of value to licensees, increasing the cost of 

licenses will commensurately decrease their value." 

Agency Response: As noted above, this regulatory action 

does not propose a fee increase. The EIA position on the 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property appears to 

be directed at a separate regulatory action and does not 

reference any of the proposed changes in this regulatory 

action.  

Regardless of the EIA response's relation to a separate action, 

the board disagrees with the characterization of an 

occupational license as private property. The board, in 

consultation with the Attorney General's office, maintains that 

an occupational license is a legal status conferred by the state 

granting special privileges to the licensee, not private 

property. 

Further, it is not clear how increasing the cost of the license 

decreases its value. Changing the cost of the license does not 

affect its function, characteristics, or the usability of the 

license, factors that would normally determine its value. In 

this sense, it is not clear how a fee change alone can change 

the value of a license. The EIA takes the position that a fee 

increase leads to a decrease in the number licensees. If this is 

the case, then the license would be more scarce. A decrease in 

supply would likely result in increased value. So if the license 

is more scarce due to the fee increase, its value would 

increase, not decrease as the EIA indicates. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects.  

EIA Position: "To the extent that increasing licensure fees 

leads to a decrease in the number of individuals licensed as 

hearing aid specialists, the cost of hiring the services of the 

remaining, smaller pool of licensees may marginally increase 

for the small businesses that hire them." 

Agency Response: As noted above, this regulatory action 

does not propose a fee increase. The EIA position on the 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects appears to be 

directed at a separate regulatory action, and does not 

reference any of the proposed changes in this regulatory 

action.  

Further, the changes made by this regulatory action are not 

anticipated to have any negative effect on small business 

costs. The changes in this action are clarifying changes, 

updates to reflect current business practices, and a 

consolidation and simplification of the categories of 

application fees. This simplification should reduce the 

regulatory burden on licensees, including small businesses. In 

fact, the board takes the position that by streamlining and 

simplifying its regulations, small businesses will experience 

reduced costs, as owners and employees will have to spend 

less time and resources reading and understanding the 

regulations. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact.  

EIA Position: "The Board could likely mitigate adverse 

impacts for licensees and the public by leaving fees structured 

as they currently are." 
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Agency Response: These regulatory changes are clarifying 

and simplifying in nature and are meant to have a positive 

impact on the licensee population. Further, to the extent the 

EIA is referring to the fee increase as fee structure, this 

regulatory action does not propose a fee increase.  

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) modify the definitions of 

"hearing aid specialist" and "licensee" and other 

provisions to align them with statutory definitions found in 

§ 54.1-1500 of the Code of Virginia, (ii) exempt 

correspondence protected by law from the requirement 

that correspondence be sent to both the permit holder and 

sponsor, (iii) eliminate the examination fee cap and 

authorize examination fees to be set by agreement between 

the Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation and the examination vendor provided that the 

vendor is chosen in accordance with Virginia Procurement 

Act, (iv) eliminate fees for wall certificates and consolidate 

the licensure fee for reciprocity with the initial license fee, 

(v) require a hearing aid specialist to disclose 

nonrefundable fees and prohibit the fees from being a 

percentage of the purchase price of the hearing aid, (vi) 

expand the standard testing frequencies to include 6000 – 

8000 hertz, (vii) expand the grounds for disciplinary action 

to include probation and refusal to renew, (viii) clarify that 

temporary permit holders are subject to discipline by the 

board, and (ix) make other clarifying changes. 

CHAPTER 20  

BOARD FOR HEARING AID SPECIALISTS 

REGULATIONS  

Part I  

Definitions  

18VAC80-20-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Audiologist" means any person who engages in the practice 

of audiology as defined by § 54.1-2600 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

"Board" means Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and 

Opticians.  

"Department" means Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation.  

"Hearing aid specialist" means a person who engages in the 

practice of fitting and or dealing in hearing aids or who 

advertises or displays a sign or represents himself as a person 

who practices the fitting or and dealing of in hearing aids.  

"Licensed sponsor" means a licensed hearing aid specialist 

who is responsible for training one or more individuals 

holding a temporary permit.  

"Licensee" means any person holding a valid license issued 

by the Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians for 

the practice of fitting and or dealing in hearing aids, as 

defined in § 54.1-1500 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Otolaryngologist" means a licensed physician specializing 

in ear, nose, and throat disorders.  

"Reciprocity" means an agreement between two or more 

states to recognize and accept one another's regulations and 

laws.  

"Reinstatement" means having a license restored to 

effectiveness after the expiration date has passed.  

"Renewal" means continuing the effectiveness of a license 

for another period of time.  

"Temporary permit holder" means any person who holds a 

valid temporary permit under this chapter.  

Part II  

Entry Requirements  

18VAC80-20-30. Basic qualifications for licensure.  

A. Every applicant for a license shall provide information on 

his application establishing that:  

1. The applicant is at least 18 years of age.  

2. The applicant has successfully completed high school or 

a high school equivalency course.  

3. The applicant has training and experience that covers the 

following subjects as they pertain to hearing aid fitting and 

the sale of hearing aids, accessories, and services:  

a. Basic physics of sound;  

b. Basic maintenance and repair of hearing aids;  

c. The anatomy and physiology of the ear;  

d. Introduction to psychological aspects of hearing loss;  

e. The function of hearing aids and amplification;  

f. Visible disorders of the ear requiring medical referrals;  

g. Practical tests utilized for selection or modification of 

hearing aids;  

h. Pure tone audiometry, including air conduction, bone 

conduction, and related tests;  

i. Live voice or recorded voice speech audiometry, 

including speech reception threshold testing and speech 

discrimination testing;  

j. Masking when indicated;  

k. Recording and evaluating audiograms and speech 

audiometry to determine the proper selection and 

adaptation of hearing aids;  

l. Taking earmold impressions;  

m. Proper earmold selection;  

n. Adequate instruction in proper hearing aid orientation;  

o. Necessity of proper procedures in after-fitting 

checkup; and  

p. Availability of social service resources and other 

special resources for the hearing impaired.  
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4. The applicant has provided one of the following as 

verification of completion of training and experience as 

described in subdivision 3 of this subsection:  

a. A statement on a form provided by the board signed by 

the licensed sponsor certifying that the requirements have 

been met; or  

b. A certified true copy of a transcript of courses 

completed at an accredited college or university, or other 

notarized documentation of completion of the required 

experience and training.  

5. The applicant shall has not have been convicted or found 

guilty of any crime directly related to the practice of fitting 

and or dealing in hearing aids, regardless of the manner of 

adjudication, in any jurisdiction of the United States. 

Except for misdemeanor convictions that occurred five or 

more years prior to the date of application, with no 

subsequent convictions, all criminal convictions shall be 

considered as part of the totality of the circumstances of 

each applicant. The applicant review of prior convictions 

shall be subject to the requirements of § 54.1-204 of the 

Code of Virginia. Any plea of nolo contendere shall be 

considered a conviction for purposes of this subdivision. 

The record of a conviction authenticated in such form as to 

be admissible in evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction 

where convicted shall be admissible as prima facie 

evidence of such conviction or guilt.  

6. The applicant is in good standing as a licensed hearing 

aid specialist in every jurisdiction where licensed. The 

applicant must disclose if he has had a license as a hearing 

aid specialist that was suspended, revoked, or surrendered 

in connection with a disciplinary action or that has been the 

subject of discipline in any jurisdiction prior to applying 

for licensure in Virginia. At the time of application for 

licensure, the applicant must also disclose any disciplinary 

action taken in another jurisdiction in connection with the 

applicant's practice as a hearing aid specialist. The 

applicant must also disclose whether he has been 

previously licensed in Virginia as a hearing aid specialist.  

7. The applicant has disclosed his physical address. A post 

office box is not acceptable.  

8. The nonresident applicant for a license has filed and 

maintained with the department an irrevocable consent for 

the department to serve as service agent for all actions filed 

in any court in Virginia.  

9. The applicant has submitted the required application 

with the proper fee as referenced in 18VAC80-20-70 and 

signed, as part of the application, a statement that the 

applicant has read and understands Chapter 15 (§ 54.1-

1500 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia and the 

regulations of the board this chapter.  

B. The board may make further inquiries and investigations 

with respect to the qualifications of the applicant or require a 

personal interview or both. The board may refuse initial 

licensure due to the applicant's failure to comply with entry 

requirements. The licensee is entitled to a review of such 

action. Appeals from such actions shall be in accordance with 

the provisions of the Administrative Process Act, Chapter 40 

(§ 2.2-4000 et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

18VAC80-20-40. Qualifications for a temporary 

Temporary permit.  

A. Any individual may apply for a temporary permit, which 

is to be used solely for the purpose of gaining the training and 

experience required to become a licensed hearing aid 

specialist in Virginia. The licensed sponsor shall be identified 

on the application for a temporary permit and the licensed 

sponsor shall comply strictly with the provisions of 

subdivision 2 of this subsection B of this section.  

1. A temporary permit shall be issued for a period of 12 

months and may be extended once for not longer than six 

months. After a period of 18 months an extension is no 

longer possible and the former temporary permit holder 

shall sit for the examination in accordance with this 

section.  

2. The board may, at its discretion, extend the temporary 

permit for a temporary permit holder who suffers serious 

personal illness or injury, or death in his immediate family, 

or obligation of military service or service in the Peace 

Corps, or for other good cause of similar magnitude 

approved by the board. Documentation of these 

circumstances must be received by the board no later than 

12 months after the date of the expiration of the temporary 

permit or within six months of the completion of military 

or Peace Corps service, whichever is later.  

2. B. Every applicant for a temporary permit shall provide 

information on upon application establishing that:  

a. 1. The applicant for a temporary permit is at least 18 

years of age.  

b. 2. The applicant for a temporary permit has successfully 

completed high school or a high school equivalency 

course.  

3. The applicant shall has not have been convicted or found 

guilty of any crime directly related to the practice of fitting 

and or dealing in hearing aids, regardless of the manner of 

adjudication, in any jurisdiction of the United States. 

Except for misdemeanor convictions that occurred five or 

more years prior to the date of application, with no 

subsequent convictions, all criminal convictions shall be 

considered as part of the totality of the circumstances of 

each applicant. Review of prior convictions shall be 

subject to the requirements of § 54.1-204 of the Code of 

Virginia. Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for purposes of this subdivision. The record of a 

conviction authenticated in such form as to be admissible 

in evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction where 

convicted shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of 

such conviction or guilt.  
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4. The applicant for a temporary permit is in good standing 

as a licensed hearing aid specialist in every jurisdiction 

where licensed. The applicant for a temporary permit must 

disclose if he has had a license as a hearing aid specialist 

that was suspended, revoked, or surrendered in connection 

with a disciplinary action or that has been the subject of 

discipline in any jurisdiction prior to applying for licensure 

in Virginia. At the time of application, the applicant for a 

temporary permit must also disclose any disciplinary 

action taken in another jurisdiction in connection with the 

applicant's practice as a hearing aid specialist. The 

applicant for a temporary permit must also disclose 

whether he has been licensed previously in Virginia as a 

hearing aid specialist.  

5. The applicant for a temporary permit has disclosed his 

physical address. A post office box is not acceptable.  

6. The applicant for a temporary permit has submitted the 

required application with the proper fee referenced in 

18VAC80-20-70 and has signed, as part of the application, 

a statement that the applicant has read and understands 

Chapter 15 (§ 54.1-1500 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code 

of Virginia and the regulations of the board this chapter.  

B. C. The licensed hearing aid specialist who agrees to 

sponsor the applicant for a temporary permit shall certify on 

the application that as sponsor, he:  

1. Assumes full responsibility for the competence and 

proper conduct of the temporary permit holder with regard 

to all acts performed pursuant to the acquisition of training 

and experience in the fitting and or dealing of hearing aids;  

2. Will not assign the temporary permit holder to carry out 

independent field work without on-site direct supervision 

by the sponsor until the temporary permit holder is 

adequately trained for such activity;  

3. Will personally provide and make available 

documentation, upon request by the board or its 

representative, showing the number of hours that direct 

supervision has occurred throughout the period of the 

temporary permit; and  

4. Will return the temporary permit to the department 

should the training program be discontinued for any 

reason.  

C. D. The licensed sponsor shall provide training and shall 

ensure that the temporary permit holder under his supervision 

gains experience that covers the following subjects as they 

pertain to hearing aid fitting and the sale of hearing aids, 

accessories, and services:  

1. Basic physics of sound;  

2. Basic maintenance and repair of hearing aids;  

3. The anatomy and physiology of the ear;  

4. Introduction to psychological aspects of hearing loss;  

5. The function of hearing aids and amplification;  

6. Visible disorders of the ear requiring medical referrals;  

7. Practical tests utilized for selection or modification of 

hearing aids;  

8. Pure tone audiometry, including air conduction, bone 

conduction, and related tests;  

9. Live voice or recorded voice speech audiometry, 

including speech reception threshold testing and speech 

discrimination testing;  

10. Masking when indicated;  

11. Recording and evaluating audiograms and speech 

audiometry to determine the proper selection and 

adaptation of hearing aids;  

12. Taking earmold impressions;  

13. Proper earmold selection;  

14. Adequate instruction in proper hearing aid orientation;  

15. Necessity of proper procedures in after-fitting checkup; 

and  

16. Availability of social service resources and other 

special resources for the hearing impaired.  

D. E. The board may make further inquiries and 

investigations with respect to the qualifications of the 

applicant for a temporary permit or require a personal 

interview, or both.  

E. F. All correspondence from the board to the temporary 

permit holder not otherwise exempt from disclosure, shall be 

addressed to both the temporary permit holder and the 

licensed sponsor and shall be sent to the business address of 

the licensed sponsor.  

18VAC80-20-70. Fees.  

A. All fees are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated. The 

date of receipt by the board or its agent is the date which that 

be used to determine whether or not it is on time.  

B. Application and examination fees must be submitted with 

the application for licensure.  

C. In the event that a check, money draft, or similar 

instrument for payment of a fee required by statute or 

regulation is not honored by the bank or financial institution 

named, the applicant or regulant shall be required to remit 

fees sufficient to cover the original fee, plus the additional 

processing charge established by the department.  

The following fees apply:  

Application Fee $30 to be paid by all 

applicants for initial 

licensure except 

reciprocal applicants 

Examination Fee $110   

Licensure Fee for 

Reciprocity 

$140 includes exam fee 

Temporary Permit 

Fee 

$30   
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Re-examination 

Fee 

$95 per written or practical 

part  

Renewal $20   

Reinstatement $50   

Duplicate Wall 

Certificate 

$25   

D. The written examination fee shall be established in 

compliance with the Virginia Public Procurement Act (§ 2.2-

4300 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). The practical 

examination fee shall be established by the department that is 

sufficient to cover expenses for the administration of the 

examination in compliance with subdivision A 4 of § 54.1-

201 of the Code of Virginia.  

18VAC80-20-220. Purchase agreement.  

A. Each hearing aid shall be sold through a purchase 

agreement which that shall:  

1. Show the licensee's business address, license number 

and, business telephone number, and signature;  

2. Comply with federal and Virginia laws and regulations, 

United States U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) 

regulations, the Virginia Home Solicitation Sales Act 

(Chapter 2.1 (§ 59.1-21.1 et seq.) of Title 59.1 of the Code 

of Virginia), and the Virginia Consumer Protection Act 

(Chapter 17 (§ 59.1-196 et seq.) of Title 59.1 of the Code 

of Virginia);  

3. Clearly state, if the hearing aid is not new and is sold or 

rented, that it is "used" or "reconditioned," whichever is 

applicable, including the terms of warranty, if any. The 

hearing aid container shall be clearly marked with the same 

information contained in the purchase agreement.  

4. Identify the brand names and model of the hearing aid 

being sold, and the serial number of the hearing aid shall 

be provided, in writing, to the purchaser or prospective 

purchaser at the time of delivery of the hearing aid;  

5. Disclose the full purchase price;  

6. Disclose the down payment and periodic payment terms 

in cases where the purchase price is not paid in full at 

delivery;  

7. Disclose any nonrefundable fees established in 

accordance with § 54.1-1505 of the Code of Virginia. 

Nonrefundable fees shall not be a percentage of the 

purchase price of the hearing aid;  

8. Disclose any warranty;  

9. Explain the provisions of § 54.1-1505 of the Code of 

Virginia, which entitles the purchaser to return the hearing 

aid, in the 10-point bold face type that is bolder than the 

type in the remainder of the purchase agreement; and  

10. Disclose that the licensee or temporary permit holder is 

not a physician licensed to practice medicine in Virginia 

and that no examination or representation made shall be 

regarded as a medical examination, opinion or advice;. 

B. Subdivision A 10 of this section shall not apply to sales 

made by a licensed hearing aid specialist who is a physician 

licensed to practice medicine in Virginia.  

18VAC80-20-230. Fitting and or sale of hearing aids for 

children.  

1. Any person engaging in the fitting and or sale of hearing 

aids for a child under 18 years of age shall ascertain whether 

such child has been examined by an otolaryngologist or 

licensed physician within six months prior to fitting.  

2. No child under 18 years of age shall be initially fitted 

with a hearing aid or hearing aids unless the licensed hearing 

aid specialist has been presented with a written statement 

signed by an otolaryngologist stating the child's hearing loss 

has been medically evaluated and the child may be considered 

a candidate for a hearing aid. The medical evaluation must 

have taken place within the preceding six months.  

3. No child under 18 years of age shall be subsequently 

fitted with a hearing aid or hearing aids unless the licensed 

hearing aid specialist has been presented with a written 

statement signed by a licensed physician stating the child's 

hearing loss has been medically evaluated and the child may 

be considered a candidate for a hearing aid. The medical 

evaluation must have taken place within the preceding six 

months.  

18VAC80-20-250. Testing procedures.  

It shall be the duty of each licensee and holder of a 

temporary permit engaged in the fitting and sale of hearing 

aids to use appropriate testing procedures for each hearing aid 

fitting. All tests and case history information must be retained 

in the records of the specialist. The established requirements 

shall be:  

1. Air Conduction Tests A.N.S.I. standard frequencies of 

500-1000-2000-4000-6000-8000 Hertz. Intermediate 

frequencies shall be tested if the threshold difference 

between octaves exceeds 15dB. Appropriate masking must 

be used if the difference between the two ears is 40 dB or 

more at any one frequency.  

2. Bone Conduction Tests are to be made on every client--

A.N.S.I. standards at 500-1000-2000-4000 Hertz. Proper 

masking is to be applied if the air conduction and bone 

conduction readings for the test ear at any one frequency 

differ by 15 dB or if lateralization occurs.  

3. Speech testings shall be made before fittings and shall 

be recorded with type of test, method of presentation and 

the test results.  

4. The specialist shall check for the following conditions 

and, if they are found to exist, shall refer the client to a 

licensed physician unless the client can show that his 

present condition is under treatment or has been treated:  

a. Visible congenital or traumatic deformity of the ear.  
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b. History of active drainage from the ear within the 

previous 90 days.  

c. History of sudden or rapidly progressive hearing loss 

within the previous 90 days.  

d. Acute or chronic dizziness.  

e. Unilateral hearing loss.  

f. Audiometric air bone gap equal to or greater than 15 

dB at 500 Hertz, 1000 Hertz, and 2000 Hertz.  

g. Visible evidence or significant cerumen accumulation 

or a foreign body in the ear canal.  

h. Tinnitus as a primary symptom.  

i. Pain or discomfort in the ear.  

5. All tests shall have been conducted no more than six 

months prior to the fitting.  

6. Post-fitting testing shall be made and recorded with type 

of test, method of presentation and the test results.  

18VAC80-20-270. Grounds for discipline.  

The board may, in considering the totality of the 

circumstances, fine any temporary permit holder or licensee 

or, and suspend, place on probation, or revoke, or refuse to 

renew any temporary permit or license or deny any license 

application issued under the provisions of Chapter 15 (§ 54.1-

1500 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia and the 

regulations of the board this chapter. Disciplinary procedures 

are governed by the Administrative Process Act, Chapter 40 

(§ 2.2-4000 et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. In 

exercising its disciplinary function, the board will consider 

the totality of the circumstances of each case. Any licensee is 

subject to board discipline for any of the following:  

1. Improper conduct, including but not limited to:  

a. Obtaining or, renewing, or attempting to obtain a 

license by false or fraudulent representation;  

b. Obtaining any fee or making any sale by fraud or 

misrepresentation;  

c. Employing to fit and or sell hearing aids a person who 

does not hold a valid license or a temporary permit, or 

whose license or temporary permit is suspended;  

d. Using, causing, or promoting the use of any 

misleading, deceptive, or untruthful advertising matter, 

promotional literature, testimonial, guarantee, warranty, 

label, brand, insignia, or any other representation, 

whether disseminated orally or published;  

e. Advertising a particular model or type of hearing aid 

for sale when purchasers or prospective purchasers 

responding to the advertisement cannot purchase the 

advertised model or type;  

f. Representing that the service or advice of a person 

licensed to practice medicine or audiology will be used in 

the selection, fitting, adjustment, maintenance, or repair 

of hearing aids when that is not true;, or using the words 

"physician," "audiologist," "clinic," "hearing service," 

"hearing center," or similar description of the services 

and products provided when such use is not accurate;  

g. Directly or indirectly giving, or offering to give, 

favors, paid referrals, or anything of value to any person 

who in his professional capacity uses his position to 

influence third parties to purchase products offered for 

sale by a hearing aid specialist; or  

h. Failing to provide expedient, reliable and, or 

dependable services when requested by a client or client's 

guardian.  

2. Failure to include on the purchase agreement a statement 

regarding home solicitation when required by federal and 

state law.  

3. Incompetence or negligence, as those terms are 

generally understood in the profession, in fitting or selling 

hearing aids.  

4. Failure to provide required or appropriate training 

resulting in incompetence or negligence, as those terms are 

generally understood in the profession, by a temporary 

permit holder under the licensee's sponsorship.  

5. Violating or cooperating with others in violating any 

provisions of Chapters 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.), 2 (§ 54.1-200 

et seq.), 3 (§ 54.1-300 et seq.), and 15 (§ 54.1-1500 et seq.) 

of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia or any regulation of 

the board this chapter.  

6. The licensee, temporary permit holder, or applicant shall 

not have has been convicted or found guilty of any crime 

directly related to the practice of fitting and or dealing in 

hearing aids, regardless of the manner of adjudication, in 

any jurisdiction of the United States. Except for 

misdemeanor convictions that occurred five or more years 

prior to the date of application, with no subsequent 

convictions, all criminal convictions shall be considered as 

part of the totality of the circumstances of each applicant. 

Review of prior convictions shall be subject to the 

requirements of § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. Any 

pleas of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction 

for the purpose of this subdivision. The record of a 

conviction authenticated in such form as to be admissible 

in evidence of the law of the jurisdiction where convicted 

shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of such 

conviction or guilt.  

18VAC80-20-280. Accountability of licensee. (Repealed.) 

A licensee shall be responsible for the acts or omissions of 

his staff in the performance of the fitting and dispensing of 

hearing aid services.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 
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Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC80-20)  

License Application, 21LIC (rev. 10/03).  

Temporary Permit Application, 21TPER (eff. 10/03).  

Reinstatement Application, 21REI (rev. 10/03).  

Reexamination Application, 21REEX (rev. 12/00).  

Hearing Aid Specialist License Application, A440-

2101LIC-v3 (rev. 3/2016) 

Hearing Aid Specialist Temporary Permit Application, 

A440-2102TP_PKG-v4 (rev. 3/2016) 

Hearing Aid Specialist License Reinstatement Application, 

A440-2101REI-v3 (rev. 3/2016) 

Hearing Aid Specialist Re-examination Application, A440-

2101REEX-v2 (rev. 9/2013) 

Hearing Aid Specialist Training & Experience Form, A440-

21TREXP-v2 (eff. 9/2013) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3984; Filed September 25, 2015, 9:26 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC80-30. Opticians Regulations 

(amending 18VAC80-30-50).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

December 16, 2015 - 2 p.m. - Department of Professional 

and Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

200, Board Room 1, Richmond, VA 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: December 18, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Demetrios J. Melis, Executive Director, 

Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 

(804) 367-8590, FAX (804) 527-4295, or email 

hearingaidspec@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The proposed regulatory action is mandated by several 

sections of the Code of Virginia. To comply with these 

statutes, the board evaluates its current and projected financial 

position and determines the type of fees and amounts to be 

established for each fee that will provide revenue sufficient to 

cover its expenses. The sections are: 

§ 54.1-113 (commonly known as the Callahan Act), which 

states that following the close of any biennium, when the 

account for any regulatory board within the Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation or the Department 

of Health Professions maintained under § 54.1-308 or 54.1-

2505 of the Code of Virginia shows expenses allocated to it 

for the past biennium to be more than 10% greater or less 

than moneys collected on behalf of the board, it shall revise 

the fees levied by it for certification or licensure and renewal 

thereof so that the fees are sufficient but not excessive to 

cover expenses. 

§ 54.1-201.4, which describes each regulatory board's power 

and duty to "levy and collect fees for the certification or 

licensure and renewal that are sufficient to cover all expenses 

for the administration and operation of the regulatory board 

and a proportionate share of the expenses of the Department."  

§ 54.1-304.3, which describes the power and duty of the 

director to "collect and account for all fees prescribed to be 

paid into each board and account for and deposit the moneys 

so collected into a special fund from which the expenses of 

the board, regulatory boards, and the department shall be 

paid."  

§ 54.1-308, which provides for compensation of the director, 

employees, and board members to be paid out of the total 

funds collected. This section also requires the director to 

maintain a separate account for each board showing moneys 

collected on its behalf and expenses allocated to the board.  

The above sections of the Code of Virginia mandate that the 

board manage and periodically review and adjust fees. The 

referenced sections require the department to (i) pay expenses 

of each board and the department from revenues collected; 

(ii) establish fees adequate to provide sufficient revenue to 

pay expenses; (iii) account for the revenues collected and 

expenses charged to each board; and (iv) adjust fees as 

necessary to ensure that revenue is sufficient but not 

excessive to cover all expenses. 

To comply with these requirements, the department (i) 

distinctly accounts for the revenue collected for each board; 

(ii) accounts for direct board expenses for each board and 

allocates a proportionate share of agency operating expenses 

to each board; (iii) reviews the actual and projected financial 

position of each board biennially to determine whether 

revenues are adequate, but not excessive, to cover reasonable 

and authorized expenses for upcoming operating cycles; and 

(iv) recommends adjustments to fees to respond to changes 

and projections in revenue trends and operating expenses. If 

projected revenue collections are expected to be more than 

sufficient to cover expenses for upcoming operating cycles, 

decreases in fees are recommended. If projected revenue 

collections are expected to be inadequate to cover operating 

expenses for upcoming operating cycles, increases in fees are 

recommended. 

Fee adjustments are mandatory in accordance with the cited 

Code of Virginia sections. The board exercises discretion on 

how the fees are adjusted by determining the amount of 

adjustment for each type of fee. The board makes its 

determination based on the adequacy of the fees to provide 

sufficient revenue for upcoming operating cycles. 

Purpose: The intent of the proposed changes in the regulation 

is to increase licensing fees for applicants and regulants of the 

board. The board must establish fees adequate to support the 

costs of board operations and a proportionate share of the 

department's operations.  

The board provides protection for the health, safety, and 

welfare of the citizens of the Commonwealth by ensuring that 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=07dec004011~1&typ=40&actno=004011&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=07dec004011~1&typ=40&actno=004011&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=88e04004011~3&typ=40&actno=004011&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=88e04004011~3&typ=40&actno=004011&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=af615004011~2&typ=40&actno=004011&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=af615004011~2&typ=40&actno=004011&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bfda8003984~2&typ=40&actno=003984&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bfda8003984~2&typ=40&actno=003984&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2e9de003984~1&typ=40&actno=003984&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2e9de003984~1&typ=40&actno=003984&mime=application/pdf
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only individuals who meet specific criteria set forth in statute 

and regulations receive licensure as opticians, by ensuring its 

regulants meet standards of practice and conduct set forth in 

the regulation, and by imposing penalties for not complying 

with the governing statutes and regulations. Without adequate 

funding, complaints against regulants brought to the attention 

of the board by citizens cannot be investigated and processed 

in a timely manner. Ensuring that opticians have at least the 

minimal competencies to perform work protects the health, 

safety, and welfare of Virginia citizens. 

The department receives no general fund money, instead it is 

funded almost entirely from revenue collected through 

applications for certification, licensure, renewals, 

examination fees, and other certification and licensing fees. 

The department is self-supporting and must collect adequate 

revenue to support its mandated and approved activities and 

operations. Fees must be established at amounts that will 

provide adequate revenue. Fee revenues collected on behalf 

of the boards fund the department's authorized special 

revenue appropriation. 

The board has no other source of revenue from which to 

funds its operations.  

Substance: The existing regulations are being amended to 

adjust the fees related to obtaining and maintaining licensure 

as an optician in the following ways: 

1) The optician licensure new applicant fee is adjusted 

from $100 to $85. 

2) The optician licensure renewal fee is adjusted from 

$100 to $115. 

3) The optician licensure late renewal fee is adjusted 

from $25 to $35. 

4) The optician licensure reinstatement fee is adjusted 

from $100 to $85. 

Issues: The Code of Virginia establishes the board as the state 

agency that oversees licensure of opticians providing services 

in Virginia. The board's primary mission is to protect the 

citizens of the Commonwealth by prescribing requirements 

for minimal competencies, by prescribing standards of 

conduct and practice, and by imposing penalties for not 

complying with the regulations. Further, the Code of Virginia 

requires the department to comply with the Callahan Act. The 

proposed fee adjustments will ensure that the board has 

sufficient revenues to fund its operating expenses. 

There are no disadvantages to the public or the 

Commonwealth in raising the board's fees as proposed in this 

action. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians (Board) 

proposes to amend fees for optician licensure. Specifically, 

the Board proposes to decrease fees for initial application and 

for contact lens certification and to increase fees for license 

renewal (renewal with the 30-day grace period after license 

expiration), late renewal (between 30 and 60 days of license 

expiration) and reinstatement (more than 60 days after license 

expiration).  

Result of Analysis. There is insufficient information to 

ascertain whether benefits will outweigh costs for these 

proposed changes.  

Estimated Economic Impact. Under current regulations, 

applicants for initial licensure as optician pay $100 and pay 

an additional $100 for contact lens certification; licensees 

currently pay a biennial renewal fee of $100 and, when 

necessary, pay a late renewal fee of $125 or a reinstatement 

fee of $225 (depending on how late they are in renewing their 

licenses). The Board now proposes to decrease fees for initial 

licensure application and contact lens certification and to 

increase fees for license renewal, late renewal and 

reinstatement of licensure.  

Below is a comparison table for current and proposed fees: 

FEE TYPE 
CURRENT 

FEE 

PROPOSED 

FEE 

% 

change 

Initial 

Application 

for Licensure 

$100 $85 -15% 

Contact Lens 

Certification 
$100  $85 -15% 

License 

Renewal 
$100 $115 +15% 

License Late 

Renewal 
$125 $150 +20% 

License 

Reinstatement 
$225   $235 +4.44% 

Board staff reports that, although revenues have fallen short 

of being able to pay for all expenditures in this and the last 

biennium, the Board had excess balances that covered budget 

shortfalls. Absent some fee increase, Board staff reports that 

the Board will run a deficit by the end of the 2016-18 

biennium. Even though historical revenue and expenditure 

numbers support that the Board would eventually have to 

increase fees, an assumption used to forecast a decrease in 

revenues seems dubious. Board staff reports that forecasted 

revenues for the current biennium and the next two biennia 

are less than revenues over the last two biennia because they 

assumed that renewals would follow historical patterns (in 

that approximately 92% of current licensees would choose to 

renew) but they also assumed that revenues for initial 

licensure applications would be lower than they have been 

historically over the last two biennia. In short, Board staff 

assumes that fewer new individuals will choose to be licensed 

over this or the next two biennia in order to forecast a 

decrease in revenues. While revenue increased from $288,840 
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for the 2010-12 biennium to $289,704 for the 2012-14 

biennium, the Board is forecasting the revenue will fall to 

$276,485 for the current biennium and will be the same for 

the next two biennia (absent fee increases).  

An assumption used to forecast increased costs (that the 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 

(DPOR) will fill empty positions that the Board would then 

be responsible for partially covering the cost of) also may not 

happen and may not be in the best interests of current or 

future licensees if it does happen. Specifically, if neither 

licensee services nor investigations of complaints for this 

Board have suffered a significant lag on account of DPOR's 

lower staffing levels, neither licensees of this Board nor the 

public who uses their services are likely to experience a 

significant benefit on account of DPOR's anticipated hiring of 

additional staff.  

In addition to anticipated staffing increases at DPOR, Board 

staff also reports that they expect expenditures to increase 

because of rising cost of health insurance for DPOR staff. On 

a per employee basis these costs are entirely outside of the 

power of the Board (and DPOR) to control. To the extent that 

health care costs are anticipated to increase because DPOR 

plans to hire more staff, the analysis in the paragraph above 

would also apply here. 

Increasing fees will likely increase the cost of being licensed 

or registered and, so, will likely slightly decrease the number 

of people who choose to be remain in these jobs or 

businesses. To the extent that the public benefits from the 

Board regulating these professional populations, they will 

also likely benefit from the Board's proposed action that will 

increase fees to support Board activities. There is insufficient 

information to ascertain whether benefits will outweigh costs. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. This proposed regulation 

will affect all current and future optician licensees. Board 

staff reports that there are currently 1,965 opticians who are 

licensed in the Commonwealth. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No localities will likely be 

disproportionately affected by this proposed regulatory 

change. 

Projected Impact on Employment. Marginally decreased 

initial licensure fees may lead to a likely very marginal 

increase in the number of individuals seeking initial licensure 

as opticians. This effect will likely be partially or fully offset 

by a marginal decrease in the number individuals who choose 

to renew their licenses because renewal fees are higher. On 

the whole, this action will likely have little net effect on 

employment in the Commonwealth.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. To the 

extent that professional licenses are private property of value 

to licensees, Board proposed changes will marginally increase 

the initial value of an optician's license and will marginally 

decrease the value of licenses more than two years old. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Given that these 

proposed changes will have little to no net effect on 

employment in the Commonwealth, small businesses that 

employ opticians are unlikely to incur any additional costs. 

Opticians who own their own businesses will incur slightly 

higher renewal fees on account of these regulations. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. There are actions that the Board could take 

that might mitigate the necessity of raising fees at this time. If 

licensees and the public have not thus far been harmed by 

decreased staffing levels, licensees would likely benefit from 

DPOR reconsidering its decision to hire more staff who 

would need to be funded through licensure fees. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. 

General: The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has 

analyzed the economic impact of this proposed regulation in 

accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and 

Executive Order Number 17 (2014). Section 2.2-4007.04 

requires that such economic impact analyses determine the 

public benefits and costs of the proposed amendments. 

Further the report should include but not be limited to: 

• the projected number of businesses or other entities to 

whom the proposed regulation would apply, 

• the identity of any localities and types of businesses or 

other entities particularly affected, 

• the projected number of persons and employment 

positions to be affected,  

• the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and  

• the impact on the use and value of private property.  

Small Businesses: If the proposed regulation will have an 

adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires 

that such economic impact analyses include: 

• an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the proposed regulation, 

• the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other 

administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the proposed regulation, including the type 

of professional skills necessary for preparing required 

reports and other documents, 

• a statement of the probable effect of the proposed 

regulation on affected small businesses, and  

• a description of any less intrusive or less costly 

alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the 

proposed regulation.  

Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1, if there is a finding 

that a proposed regulation may have an adverse impact on 

small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative 

Rules is notified at the time the proposed regulation is 
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submitted to the Virginia Register of Regulations for 

publication. This analysis shall represent DPB's best estimate 

for the purposes of public review and comment on the 

proposed regulation. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians concurs with the 

approval. However, the board would like to address certain 

statements regarding the board's projected revenues and 

expenditures. 

Estimated Economic Impact.  

1. Economic Impact Analysis (EIA) position: "Absent some 

fee increase, Board staff reports that the Board will run a 

deficit by the 2016-18 biennium. Even though historical 

revenue and expenditure numbers support that the Board 

would eventually have to increase fees, an assumption used to 

forecast a decrease in revenues seems dubious."  

Agency Response: The board concurs with the EIA's 

conclusion that revenue and expenditure numbers support that 

the board must increase fees. The board disagrees with the 

EIA's characterization that its revenue forecast is dubious. 

Revenue projections for applicants are based on historical 

averages for the past eight years for opticians. This method 

has been proven successful when considering that the number 

of applicants vary from year to year. The projection 

methodology used for renewals has also shown to be 

historically fairly accurate, with a typical variance of less than 

5.0%. This revenue projection method has been reviewed by 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 

(DPOR) management, external budget analysts, and an 

external auditor; and the method is considered sound and 

reasonable. This revenue projection methodology is used 

across all professions under DPOR, and has been in place for 

over a decade. These specific revenue projections are the 

same used for all budgeting purposes, including the annual 

executive branch six year budget projections. It is of note that 

the board projects the cash deficit to occur in the first part of 

2017, under the current fee structure. 

2. EIA position: "Specifically, if neither licensee services nor 

investigations of complaints for this Board have suffered a 

significant lag on account of DPOR's lower staffing levels, 

neither licensees of this Board nor the public who uses their 

services are likely to experience a significant benefit on 

account of DPOR's anticipated hiring of additional staff."  

Agency Response: DPOR utilizes a specific staffing model, 

honed over several decades, to keep costs at a minimum while 

maintaining its charge of protecting the health, safety, and 

welfare of the public by ensuring minimal competency of 

licensed professionals. Boards are staffed with licensing 

professionals who are generalists in licensing and board-

specific functions. Functions that are not board specific, some 

of which include accounting, investigations, examinations, 

information services, and recordkeeping, are staffed by 

professionals in those fields who perform these functions for 

all of the boards at DPOR. So, for example, the DPOR 

finance section staffs accountants who split their time 

performing accounting for each of the boards. The board is 

then charged a portion of the accountant's costs based on the 

percentage of the accountant's workload that was spent on the 

board's accounting. This model saves the board the expense 

of hiring a staff accountant to perform this function. The 

board simply does not have the funds to staff professionals to 

perform all of the incidental or specialized services performed 

by DPOR staff. Neither can the board afford the loss of 

productivity by having generalists attempt to perform these 

functions in addition to their other duties for the board. The 

board receives the benefits of economies of scale when 

sharing the cost of services provided by DPOR staff. When 

DPOR is adequately staffed, all of the boards, including this 

board, operate at minimal costs by receiving the benefits of 

specialization and economies of scale. 

Filling vacant positions is only one aspect of the projected 

increased expenditures. The increases in health insurance and 

retirement costs to DPOR that are already in effect as of 

Fiscal Year 2015 total nearly $2 million per biennium, with 

the board's allocated portion estimated at about $18,000 per 

biennium. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. 

EIA position: "To the extent that professional licenses are 

private property of value to licensees, Board proposed 

changes will marginally increase the initial value of an 

optician's license and will marginally decrease the value of 

licenses more than two years old." 

Agency Response: Regardless of the EIA response's relation 

to a separate action, the board disagrees with the 

characterization of an occupational license as private 

property. The board, in consultation with the Attorney 

General's office, maintains that an occupational license is a 

legal status conferred by the state granting special privileges 

to the licensee, not private property. 

Further, it is not clear how increasing the cost of the license 

decreases its value. Changing the cost of the license does not 

affect its function, characteristics, or the usability of the 

license, factors that would normally determine its value. In 

this sense, it is not clear how a fee change alone can change 

the value of a license. The EIA takes the position that a fee 

increase will lead to a decrease in the number licensees 

making the license more scarce. A decrease in supply would 

likely result in increased value. So if the license is more 

scarce due to the fee increase, its value would increase, not 

decrease as the EIA indicates. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. 

EIA position: "There are actions that the Board could take 

that might mitigate the necessity of raising fees at this time. If 

licensees and the public have not thus far been harmed by 

decreased staffing levels, licensees would likely benefit from 

DPOR reconsidering its decision to hire more staff that would 

need to be funded through licensure fees." 
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Agency Response: As indicated above, licensees and the 

public benefit when DPOR maintains adequate staffing 

levels.  

DPOR utilizes a specific staffing model, honed over several 

decades, to keep costs at a minimum while maintaining its 

charge of protecting the health, safety, and welfare of the 

public by ensuring minimal competency of licensed 

professionals. Boards are staffed with licensing professionals 

who are generalists in licensing and board-specific functions. 

Functions that are not board specific, some of which include 

accounting, investigations, examinations, information 

services, and recordkeeping, are staffed by professionals in 

those fields who perform these functions for all of the boards 

at DPOR. So, for example, the DPOR finance section staffs 

accountants who split their time performing accounting for 

each of the boards. The board is then charged a portion of the 

accountant's costs based on the percentage of the accountant's 

workload that was spent on the board's accounting. This 

model saves the board the expense of hiring a staff accountant 

to perform this function. The board simply does not have the 

funds to staff professionals to perform all of the incidental or 

specialized services performed by DPOR staff. Neither can 

the board afford the loss of productivity by having generalists 

attempt to perform these functions in addition to their other 

duties for the board. The board receives the benefits of 

economies of scale when sharing the cost of services provided 

by DPOR staff. When DPOR is adequately staffed, all of the 

boards, including this board, operate at minimal costs by 

receiving the benefits of specialization and economies of 

scale. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) decrease the application fee 

for licensure and for contact lens endorsement and (ii) 

increase the license fees for renewal, late renewal, and 

reinstatement.  

18VAC80-30-50. Fees.  

A. The fee for examination or examinations shall consist of 

the combination of an administrative charge of $25 

(spectacle), $25 (contact lens), and the appropriate contract 

charges. Examination service contracts shall be established in 

compliance with the Virginia Public Procurement Act (§ 2.2-

4300 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). The total examination 

fee shall not exceed a cost of $1,000 to the applicant.  

B. All application fees for licenses are nonrefundable and 

the date of receipt by the board or its agent is the date which 

that will be used to determine whether it is on time.  

C. Application and examination fees must be submitted with 

the application for licensure.  

D. The following fees shall apply:  

  
FEE TYPE 

AMOUNT 

DUE 
WHEN DUE 

  Application for 

licensure 

$100 $85 With application 

  Application for 

contact lens 

certification 

endorsement 

$100 $85 With application 

  

Renewal 

$100 $115 Up to the 

expiration date 

on the license 

with a 30-day 

grace period 

  
Late renewal 

(includes 

renewal fee) 

$125 $150 Between 30 and 

60 days after the 

expiration date 

on the license 

  Reinstatement 

(includes 

renewal and late 

renewal fees) 

$225 $235 After 60 days 

following the 

expiration date 

on the license 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC80-30)  

License and Examination Application, 11LIC (rev. 2004).  

Contact Lens Endorsement Application, 11CLEND (rev. 

2004).  

Opticians Examination & License Application, A448-

11EXLIC-v6 (rev. 3/2016) 

Contact Lens Endorsement Application, A448-11CLEND-

v4 (rev. 3/2016) 

Reciprocity Application, 11REC (eff. 2004).  

Reinstatement Application, 11REI (rev. 2004).  

Opticians License Reinstatement Application, A448-11REI-

v3 (rev. 3/2016) 

Voluntary Practice Registration Application, 11VOLREG 

(eff. 7/03).  

Sponsor Certification for Voluntary Practice Registration, 

11VRSPCERT (eff. 7/03).  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3948; Filed September 25, 2015, 9:24 a.m.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9a522003948~2&typ=40&actno=003948&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9a522003948~2&typ=40&actno=003948&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8bce2003948~1&typ=40&actno=003948&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8bce2003948~1&typ=40&actno=003948&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=478fb003948~3&typ=40&actno=003948&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=478fb003948~3&typ=40&actno=003948&mime=application/pdf
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BOARD OF NURSING 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Nursing (amending 18VAC90-20-10, 

18VAC90-20-35, 18VAC90-20-40, 18VAC90-20-70, 

18VAC90-20-80, 18VAC90-20-90, 18VAC90-20-100 

through 18VAC90-20-170; adding 18VAC90-20-121, 

18VAC90-20-122, 18VAC90-20-131 through 18VAC90-

20-137, 18VAC90-20-161; repealing 18VAC90-20-50, 

18VAC90-20-60, 18VAC90-20-95, 18VAC90-20-96).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3005 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 18, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 

Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4515, FAX 

(804) 527-4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments reorganize provisions for approval of 

nursing education programs to clarify all criteria that must 

be met to obtain initial approval, full approval, and 

continued full approval. The amendments (i) incorporate 

current guidance on observational experiences and 

simulation into the regulation; (ii) provide processes and 

procedures for granting initial or full approval, for placing 

a program on conditional approval, and for denial or 

withdrawal of approval of a program; (iii) require entities 

that are applying for approval as nursing schools to submit 

the results of a community assessment or market analysis; 

and (iv) require 80% of clinical hours to be conducted in 

Virginia. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

Part I  

General Provisions  

18VAC90-20-10. Definitions. 

In addition to words and terms defined in § 54.1-3030 of the 

Code of Virginia, the following words and terms when used 

in this chapter shall have the following meanings unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Accreditation" means having been accredited by the 

Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing 

[ (ACEN) or by, ] the Commission on Collegiate Nursing 

Education (CCNE) [ , or a national nursing accrediting 

organization recognized by the board ]. 

"Active practice" means activities performed, whether or not 

for compensation, for which an active license to practice 

nursing is required. 

"Advisory committee" means a group of persons from a 

nursing education program and the health care community 

who [ meet meets ] regularly to advise the nursing education 

program on the quality of its graduates and the needs of the 

community. 

"Approval" means the process by which the board or a 

governmental agency in another state or foreign country 

evaluates and grants official recognition to nursing education 

programs that meet established standards not inconsistent 

with Virginia law. 

"Associate degree nursing program" means a nursing 

education program preparing for registered nurse licensure, 

offered by a Virginia college or other institution and designed 

to lead to an associate degree in nursing, provided that the 

institution is authorized to confer such degree by the State 

Council of Higher Education for Virginia. 

"Baccalaureate degree nursing program" or "prelicensure 

graduate degree program" means a nursing education 

program preparing for registered nurse licensure, offered by a 

Virginia college or university and designed to lead to a 

baccalaureate or a graduate degree with a major in nursing, 

provided that the institution is authorized to confer such 

degree by the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia. 

"Board" means the Board of Nursing. 

"CGFNS" means the Commission on Graduates of Foreign 

Nursing Schools. 

"Clinical setting" means any location in which the clinical 

practice of nursing occurs as specified in an agreement 

between the cooperating agency and the school of nursing. 

"Conditional approval" means a time-limited status which 

that results when an approved nursing education program has 

failed to maintain requirements as set forth in Article 2 

(18VAC90-20-70 et seq.) of Part II of this chapter. 

"Contact hour" means 50 minutes of continuing education 

coursework or activity. 

"Cooperating agency" means an agency or institution that 

enters into a written agreement to provide learning clinical or 

observational experiences for a nursing education program. 

"Diploma nursing program" means a nursing education 

program preparing for registered nurse licensure, offered by a 

hospital and designed to lead to a diploma in nursing, 

provided the hospital is licensed in this state. 

"FERPA" means the Family Educational Rights and Privacy 

Act (20 USC § 1232g). 

"Initial approval" means the status granted to a nursing 

education program that allows the admission of students. 

"NCLEX" means the National Council Licensure 

Examination. 

"NCSBN" means the National Council of State Boards of 

Nursing. 

"National certifying organization" means an organization 

that has as one of its purposes the certification of a specialty 

in nursing based on an examination attesting to the 

knowledge of the nurse for practice in the specialty area. 
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"Nursing education program" means an entity offering a 

basic course of study preparing persons for licensure as 

registered nurses or as licensed practical nurses. A basic 

course of study shall include all courses required for the 

degree, diploma or certificate. 

"Nursing faculty" means registered nurses who teach the 

practice of nursing in nursing education programs. 

"Practical nursing program" means a nursing education 

program preparing for practical nurse licensure that leads to a 

diploma or certificate in practical nursing, provided the 

school is authorized by the Virginia State Board Department 

of Education or the appropriate governmental credentialing 

agency by an accrediting agency recognized by the U.S. 

Department of Education. 

"Preceptor" means a licensed health care provider nurse who 

is employed in the clinical setting, serves as a resource person 

and role model, and is present with the nursing student in that 

setting providing clinical supervision. 

"Primary state of residence" means the state of a person's 

declared fixed permanent and principal home or domicile for 

legal purposes. 

"Program director" means a registered nurse who holds a 

current, unrestricted license in Virginia or a multistate 

licensure privilege and who has been designated by the 

controlling authority to administer the nursing education 

program. 

"Provisional approval" means the initial status granted to a 

nursing education program which shall continue until the first 

class has graduated and the board has taken final action on the 

application for approval. 

"Recommendation" means a guide to actions that will assist 

an institution to improve and develop its nursing education 

program. 

"Requirement" means a mandatory condition that a nursing 

education program must meet to be approved or maintain 

approval. 

"Site visit" means a focused on-site review of the nursing 

program by board staff, usually completed within one day for 

the purpose of evaluating program components such as the 

physical location (skills lab, classrooms, learning resources) 

for obtaining initial program approval, in response to a 

complaint, compliance with NCLEX plan of correction, 

change of location, or verification of noncompliance with this 

chapter. 

"Survey visit" means a comprehensive on-site review of the 

nursing program by board staff, usually completed within two 

days (depending on the number of programs or campuses 

being reviewed) for the purpose of obtaining and maintaining 

full program approval. The survey visit includes the 

program's completion of a self-evaluation report prior to the 

visit, as well as a board staff review of all program resources 

(including skills lab, classrooms, learning resources, and 

clinical facilities) and other components to ensure compliance 

with this chapter. Meetings with faculty, administration, 

students, and clinical facility staff will occur. 

18VAC90-20-35. Identification; accuracy of records. 

A. Any person regulated by this chapter who provides direct 

patient client care shall, while on duty, wear identification 

that is clearly visible and indicates the person's first and last 

name and the appropriate title for the license, certification, or 

registration issued to such person by the board, or student 

status under which he is practicing in that setting. Any person 

practicing in hospital emergency departments, psychiatric and 

mental health units and programs, or in health care facilities 

units offering treatment for patients clients in custody of state 

or local law-enforcement agencies may use identification 

badges of first name and first letter only of last name and 

appropriate title. 

B. A licensee who has changed his name shall submit as 

legal proof to the board a copy of the marriage certificate, a 

certificate of naturalization, or court order evidencing the 

change. A duplicate license shall be issued by the board upon 

receipt of such evidence and the required fee. 

C. Each licensee shall maintain an address of record with the 

board. Any change in the address of record or in the public 

address, if different from the address of record, shall be 

submitted by a licensee electronically or in writing to the 

board within 30 days of such change. All notices required by 

law and by this chapter to be mailed by the board to any 

licensee shall be validly given when mailed to the latest 

address of record on file with the board. 

Part II  

Nursing Education Programs  

Article 1  

Establishing Initial Approval of a Nursing Education Program  

18VAC90-20-40. Application for initial approval.  

A. An institution wishing to establish a nursing education 

program shall: 

1. Provide documentation of attendance by the program 

director at a board orientation on establishment of a 

nursing education program prior to submission of an 

application and fee. 

2. Submit to the board, at least 12 months in advance of 

expected opening date, a statement of intent an application 

to establish a nursing education program along with an a 

nonrefundable application fee as prescribed in 18VAC90-

20-30. 

a. The application shall be effective for 12 months from 

the date the application was received by the board. 

b. If the program does not meet the board's requirements 

for approval within 12 months, it shall file a new 

application and fee. 

3. Submit the following information on the organization 

and operation of a nursing education program: 
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a. A copy of a business license and zoning permit to 

operate a school in a Virginia location, a certificate of 

operation from the State Corporation Commission, 

evidence of approval from the Virginia Department of 

Education, and documentation of accreditation, if 

applicable; 

b. The organizational structure of the institution and its 

relationship to the nursing education program therein; 

c. The type of nursing program, as defined in 18VAC90-

20-10; 

d. An enrollment plan specifying the beginning dates and 

number of students for each class for a two-year period 

from the date of initial approval including (i) the planned 

number of students in the first class and in all subsequent 

classes and (ii) the planned frequency of admissions. Any 

increase in admissions that is not stated in the enrollment 

plan must be approved by the board. Also, transfer 

students are not authorized until full approval has been 

granted to the nursing education program; and 

e. A tentative time schedule for planning and initiating 

the program through graduation of the first class and the 

program's receipt of results of the NCLEX examination. 

2. 4. Submit to the board evidence documenting adequate 

resources for the projected number of students and the 

ability to provide a program that can meet the requirements 

of Article 2 (18VAC90-20-70 et seq.) of this part to 

include the following information: 

a. Organizational structure of the institution and 

relationship of nursing program therein The results of a 

community assessment or market analysis that 

demonstrates the need for the nursing education program 

in the geographic area for the proposed school. The 

assessment or analysis shall include employment 

opportunities of nurses in the community, the number of 

clinical facilities or employers available for the size of 

the community to support the number of graduates, and 

the number and types of other nursing education 

programs in the area; 

b. Purpose and type of program; 

c. Availability b. A projection of the availability of 

qualified faculty sufficient to provide classroom 

instruction and clinical supervision for the number of 

students specified by the program; 

d. c. Budgeted faculty positions sufficient in number to 

provide classroom instruction and clinical supervision; 

e. d. Availability of clinical training facilities for the 

program as evidenced by copies of contracts or letters of 

agreement specifying the responsibilities of the 

respective parties and indicating sufficient availability of 

clinical experiences for the number of students in the 

program, the number of students, and clinical hours 

permitted at each clinical site and on each nursing unit; 

e. Documentation that at least 80% of all clinical 

experiences are to be conducted in Virginia, unless an 

exception is granted by the board. There shall be 

documentation of written approval for any clinical 

experience conducted outside of Virginia by the agency 

that has authority to approve clinical placement of 

students in that state. The use of any clinical site in 

Virginia located 50 miles or more from the school shall 

require board approval; 

f. Availability A diagram or blueprint showing the 

availability of academic facilities for the program, 

including classrooms, skills laboratory, and library 

learning resource center. This information shall include 

the number of restrooms for the student and faculty 

population, classroom and skills laboratory space large 

enough to accommodate the number of the student body, 

and sufficient faculty office space that meets FERPA 

requirements; and 

g. Evidence of financial resources for the planning, 

implementation, and continuation of the program with 

line-item budget projections for the first three years; of 

operations beginning with the admission of students. 

h. Tentative time schedule for planning and initiating the 

program; and 

i. An enrollment plan specifying the beginning dates and 

number of students for each class for a two-year period 

from the date of initial approval. 

3. 5. Respond to the board's request for additional 

information within a time frame established by the board. 

B. A site visit may be conducted by a representative of the 

board. 

C. The Education Special Conference Committee (the 

"committee"), composed of not less than two members of the 

board, shall, in accordance with § 2.2-4019 of the Code of 

Virginia, receive and review applications and the report of the 

site visit and shall make recommendations to the board 

regarding the granting or denial of approval of the program 

application. 

1. If the board accepts the recommendation to approve the 

program application, the institution may apply for 

provisional approval of the nursing education program as 

set forth in this chapter. 

2. If the committee recommendation is to deny approval of 

the program application, no further action will be required 

of the board unless the program requests a hearing before 

the board or a panel thereof in accordance with § 2.2-4020 

and subdivision 9 of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC90-20-50. Provisional approval. (Repealed.)  

A. The application for provisional approval shall be 

complete when the following conditions are met:  
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1. A program director has been appointed, and there are 

sufficient faculty to initiate the program as required in 

18VAC90-20-90; and  

2. A written curriculum plan developed in accordance with 

18VAC90-20-120 has been submitted.  

B. The committee shall, in accordance with § 2.2-4019 of 

the Code of Virginia, make recommendations to the board to 

grant or deny provisional approval. 

1. If provisional approval is granted: 

a. The admission of students is authorized; and 

b. The program director shall submit quarterly progress 

reports to the board which shall include evidence of 

progress toward program approval and other information 

as required by the board. 

2. If the committee recommendation is to deny provisional 

approval, no further action will be required of the board 

unless the program requests a hearing before the board or a 

panel thereof in accordance with § 2.2-4020 and 

subdivision 9 of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC90-20-60. Program approval. (Repealed.)  

A. The application for approval shall be complete when: 

1. A self-evaluation report of compliance with Article 2 

(18VAC90-20-70 et seq.) of this part has been submitted 

along with the fee for a survey visit as required by 

18VAC90-20-30; 

2. The first graduating class has taken the licensure 

examination, and the cumulative passing rate for the 

program's first-time test takers taking the NCLEX over the 

first four quarters following graduation of the first class is 

not less than 80%; and 

3. A satisfactory survey visit and report has been made by 

a representative of the board verifying that the program is 

in compliance with all requirements for program approval. 

B. The committee shall, in accordance with § 2.2-4019 of 

the Code of Virginia, receive and review the self-evaluation, 

the NCLEX results and survey reports and shall make a 

recommendation to the board for the granting or denial of 

approval or for continuance of provisional approval. 

C. If the committee's recommendation is to deny approval, 

no further action will be required of the board unless the 

program requests a hearing before the board or a panel 

thereof in accordance with § 2.2-4020 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

Article 2  

Requirements for Initial and Continued Approval  

18VAC90-20-70. Organization and administration.  

A. The governing or parent institution offering Virginia 

nursing education programs shall be approved or accredited 

by the appropriate state agencies by the Virginia Department 

of Education or accredited by an accrediting agency 

recognized by the United States U.S. Department of 

Education.  

B. Any agency or institution used for clinical experience by 

a nursing education program shall be in good standing with 

its licensing body.  

C. The program director of the nursing education program 

shall hold an unencumbered: 

1. Hold a current license or multistate licensure privilege to 

practice as a registered nurse or a multistate licensure 

privilege to practice nursing in the Commonwealth, with 

the without any disciplinary action that currently restricts 

practice; 

2. Have additional education and experience necessary to 

administer, plan, implement, and evaluate the nursing 

education program.; 

3. Ensure that faculty are qualified by education and 

experience to teach in the program or to supervise the 

clinical practice of students in the program; 

4. Maintain a current faculty roster, a current clinical 

agency form, and current clinical contracts available for 

board review and subject to an audit; and 

5. Only serve as program director at one location or 

campus [ for the program ].  

D. The program shall provide evidence that the director has 

authority to: 

1. Implement the program and curriculum;  

2. Oversee the admission, academic progression and 

graduation of students; 

3. Hire and evaluate faculty; and 

4. Recommend and administer the program budget, 

consistent with established policies of the controlling 

agency. 

D. E. An organizational plan shall indicate the lines of 

authority and communication of the nursing education 

program to the controlling body; to other departments within 

the controlling institution; to the cooperating agencies; and to 

the advisory committee, if one exists for the nursing 

education program. 

E. F. There shall be evidence of financial support and 

resources sufficient to meet the goals of the nursing education 

program as evidenced by a copy of the current annual budget 

or a signed statement from administration specifically 

detailing its financial support and resources.  

18VAC90-20-80. Philosophy and objectives.  

Written statements of philosophy and objectives shall be the 

foundation of the curriculum and shall be:  

1. Formulated and accepted by the faculty and the program 

director;  

2. Descriptive of the practitioner to be prepared; and  

3. The basis for planning, implementing, and evaluating 

the total program through the implementation of a 
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systematic plan of evaluation that is documented in faculty 

or committee meeting minutes.  

18VAC90-20-90. Faculty.  

A. Qualifications for all faculty.  

1. Every member of the nursing faculty, including the 

program director, shall hold a current, unencumbered 

license as a registered nurse or a multistate licensure 

privilege to practice nursing in Virginia as a registered 

nurse without any disciplinary action that currently 

restricts practice and have had at least two years of direct 

client care experience as a registered nurse prior to 

employment by the program. Persons providing instruction 

in topics other than nursing shall not be required to hold a 

license as a registered nurse.  

2. Every member of a nursing faculty supervising the 

clinical practice of students shall meet the licensure 

requirements of the jurisdiction in which that practice 

occurs. Faculty shall provide evidence of education or 

experience in the specialty area in which they supervise 

students' clinical experience for quality and safety. Prior to 

supervision of students, the faculty providing supervision 

shall have completed a clinical orientation to the  [ unit 

site ]  in which supervision is being provided.  

3. The program director and each member of the nursing 

faculty shall maintain documentation of professional 

competence through such activities as nursing practice, 

continuing education programs, conferences, workshops, 

seminars, academic courses, research projects and 

professional writing. Documentation of annual professional 

development shall be maintained in employee files for the 

director and each faculty member until the next survey 

visit and shall be available for board review. 

4. For baccalaureate degree and prelicensure graduate 

degree programs:  

a. The program director shall hold a doctoral degree with 

a graduate degree in nursing.  

b. Every member of the nursing faculty shall hold a 

graduate degree; the majority of the faculty shall have a 

graduate degree in nursing. Faculty members with a 

graduate degree with a major other than in nursing shall 

have a baccalaureate degree with a major in nursing.  

5. For associate degree and diploma programs:  

a. The program director shall hold a graduate degree, 

preferably with a major in nursing.  

b. The majority of the members of the nursing faculty 

shall hold a graduate degree, preferably with a major in 

nursing.  

c. Other All members of the nursing faculty shall hold a 

baccalaureate or graduate degree, preferably with a major 

in nursing.  

6. For practical nursing programs:  

a. The program director shall hold a baccalaureate 

degree, preferably with a major in nursing.  

b. The majority of the members of the nursing faculty 

shall hold a baccalaureate degree, preferably with a 

major in nursing.  

7. Exceptions to provisions of subdivisions 4, 5, and 6 of 

this subsection shall be by board approval.  

a. Initial request for exception.  

(1) The program director shall submit a request for initial 

exception in writing for consideration prior to the 

academic year during which the nursing faculty member 

is scheduled to teach or whenever an unexpected vacancy 

has occurred. 

(2) A description of teaching assignment, a curriculum 

vitae, and a statement of intent from the prospective 

faculty member to pursue the required degree shall 

accompany each request. 

b. Request for continuing exception. 

(1) Continuing exception will be based on the progress of 

the nursing faculty member toward meeting the degree 

required by this chapter during each year for which the 

exception is requested. 

(2) The program director shall submit the request for 

continuing exception in writing prior to the next 

academic year during which the nursing faculty member 

is scheduled to teach. 

(3) A list of courses required for the degree being 

pursued and college transcripts showing successful 

completion of a minimum of two of the courses during 

the past academic year shall accompany each request. 

(4) Any request for continuing exception shall be 

considered by the committee, which shall make a 

recommendation to the board. 

c. The executive director of the board shall be authorized 

to make the initial decision on requests for exceptions. 

Any appeal of that decision shall be in accordance with 

the provisions of the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-

4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) 

B. Number of faculty.  

1. The number of faculty shall be sufficient to prepare the 

students to achieve the objectives of the educational 

program and to ensure safety for patients clients to whom 

students provide care.  

2. When students are giving direct care to patients clients, 

the ratio of students to faculty shall not exceed 10 students 

to one faculty member, and the faculty shall be on site 

solely to supervise students.  

3. When preceptors are utilized for specified learning 

experiences in clinical settings, the faculty member may 

supervise up to 15 students.  
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C. Functions. The principal functions of the faculty shall be 

to:  

1. Develop, implement and evaluate the philosophy and 

objectives of the nursing education program;  

2. Design, implement, teach, evaluate and revise the 

curriculum. Faculty shall provide evidence of education 

and experience necessary to indicate that they are 

competent to teach a given course;  

3. Develop and evaluate student admission, progression, 

retention and graduation policies within the framework of 

the controlling institution;  

4. Participate in academic advisement and counseling of 

students in accordance with FERPA requirements;  

5. Provide opportunities for and evidence of student and 

graduate evaluation of curriculum and teaching and 

program effectiveness; and  

6. Document actions taken in faculty and committee 

meetings using a systematic plan of evaluation for total 

program review.  

18VAC90-20-95. Preceptorships. (Repealed.) 

A. Clinical preceptors may be used to augment the faculty 

and enhance the clinical learning experience. The clinical 

preceptor shall be licensed at or above the level for which the 

student is preparing.  

B. When giving direct care to patients, students shall be 

supervised by faculty or preceptors as designated by faculty. 

In utilizing preceptors to supervise students, the ratio shall not 

exceed two students to one preceptor at any given time.  

C. Faculty shall be responsible for the designation of a 

preceptor for each student and shall communicate such 

assignment with the preceptor. A preceptor may not further 

delegate the duties of the preceptorship. 

D. Preceptorships shall include:  

1. Written objectives, methodology, and evaluation 

procedures for a specified period of time;  

2. An orientation program for faculty, preceptors, and 

students;  

3. The performance of skills for which the student has had 

faculty-supervised clinical and didactic preparation; and  

4. The overall coordination by faculty who assume 

ultimate responsibility for implementation, periodic 

monitoring, and evaluation.  

18VAC90-20-96. Clinical practice of students. (Repealed.) 

A. In accordance with § 54.1-3001 of the Code of Virginia, 

a nursing student, while enrolled in an approved nursing 

program, may perform tasks that would constitute the practice 

of nursing. The student shall be responsible and accountable 

for the safe performance of those direct patient care tasks to 

which he has been assigned. 

B. Faculty members or preceptors providing supervision in 

the clinical care of patients shall be responsible and 

accountable for the assignment of patients and tasks based on 

their assessment and evaluation of the student's clinical 

knowledge and skills. Supervisors shall also monitor clinical 

performance and intervene if necessary for the safety and 

protection of the patients.  

18VAC90-20-100. Admission, promotion and graduation 

of students.  

A. Requirements for admission to the a registered nursing 

education program shall not be less than the requirements of § 

54.1-3017 A 1 of the Code of Virginia that will permit the 

graduate to be admitted to the appropriate licensing 

examination. The equivalent of a four-year high school course 

of study as required pursuant to § 54.1-3017 shall be 

considered to be:  

1. A General Educational Development (GED) certificate 

for high school equivalence; or  

2. Satisfactory completion of the college courses required 

by the nursing education program.  

B. The equivalent of a four-year high school course of study 

is considered to be:  

1. A General Educational Development (GED) certificate 

for high school equivalence; or  

2. Satisfactory completion of the college courses required 

by the nursing education program.  

B. Requirements for admission to a practical nursing 

education program shall not be less than the requirements of 

[ subdivision 1 of ] § 54.1-3020 [ A 1 ] of the Code of 

Virginia that will permit the graduate to be admitted to the 

appropriate licensing examination. 

C. Requirements for admission, readmission, advanced 

standing, progression, retention, dismissal and graduation 

shall be available to the students in written form.  

D. A criminal background check shall be required for 

admission to a nursing education program [ with the 

exception of high school students ]. 

E. Transfer students may not be admitted until a nursing 

education program has received full approval from the board. 

18VAC90-20-110. School records; student records; school 

bulletin or catalogue Resources, facilities, publications, 

and services. 

A. A system of records shall be maintained and be made 

available to the board representative and shall include:  

1. Data relating to accreditation by any agency or body.  

2. Course outlines.  

3. Minutes of faculty and committee meetings.  

B. A file shall be maintained for each student. Each file shall 

be available to the board representative and shall include the 

student's:  

1. Application;  

2. High school transcript or copy of high school 

equivalence certificate; and  
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3. Current record of achievement.  

A final transcript shall be retained in the permanent file of 

the institution.  

Provision shall be made for the protection of student and 

graduate records against loss, destruction and unauthorized 

use.  

C. Current information about the nursing education program 

shall be published periodically and distributed to students, 

applicants for admission and the board. Such information 

shall include:  

1. Description of the program.  

2. Philosophy and objectives of the controlling institution 

and of the nursing program.  

3. Admission and graduation requirements.  

4. Fees.  

5. Expenses.  

6. Financial aid.  

7. Tuition refund policy.  

8. Education facilities.  

9. Student activities and services.  

10. Curriculum plan.  

11. Course descriptions.  

12. Faculty-staff roster.  

13. School calendar.  

14. Annual passage rates on NCLEX for the past five 

years. 

A. Classrooms, conference rooms, laboratories, clinical 

facilities, and offices shall be sufficient to meet the objectives 

of the nursing education program and the needs of the 

students, faculty, administration, and staff and shall include 

private areas for faculty-student conferences. The nursing 

education program shall provide facilities that meet federal 

and state requirements including:  

1. Comfortable temperatures;  

2. Clean and safe conditions;  

3. Adequate lighting;  

4. Adequate space to accommodate all students; and 

5. Instructional technology and equipment needed for 

simulating client care. 

B. The program shall have learning resources and 

technology that are current, pertinent, and accessible to 

students and faculty, and sufficient to meet the needs of the 

students and faculty.  

C. Current information about the nursing education program 

shall be published and distributed to applicants for admission 

and shall be made available to the board. Such information 

shall include:  

1. Description of the program [ to include whether the 

program is accredited by a nursing education accrediting 

body ];  

2. Philosophy and objectives of the controlling institution 

and of the nursing program;  

3. Admission and graduation requirements, including the 

policy on the use of a final comprehensive exam;  

4. Fees and expenses;  

5. Availability of financial aid;  

6. Tuition refund policy;  

7. Education facilities;  

8. Availability of student activities and services;  

9. Curriculum plan to include course progression from 

admission to graduation, the name of each course, theory 

hours, skills lab hours, simulation hours (if used in lieu of 

direct client care hours), and clinical hours;  

10. Course descriptions to include a complete overview of 

what is taught in each course;  

11. Faculty-staff roster;  

12. School calendar;  

13. Student grievance policy; and 

14. Information about implication of criminal convictions. 

D. Administrative support services shall be provided. 

E. There shall be written agreements with cooperating 

agencies that:  

1. Ensure full control of student education by the faculty of 

the nursing education program, including the selection and 

supervision of learning experiences to include the 

dismissal of students from the clinical site if client safety is 

or may be compromised by the acts of the student; 

2. Provide that faculty members or preceptors are present 

in the clinical setting when students are providing direct 

client care;  

3. Provide for cooperative planning with designated agency 

personnel to ensure safe client care;  

4. Provide that faculty be readily available to students and 

preceptors while students are involved in preceptorship 

experiences; and 

5. State the number of students allowed on each nursing 

unit from the nursing education program. 

F. Cooperating agencies shall be approved by the 

appropriate accreditation, evaluation, or licensing bodies, if 

such exist. 

18VAC90-20-120. Curriculum.  

A. Curriculum Both classroom and online curricula shall 

reflect the philosophy and objectives of the nursing education 

program and shall be consistent with the law governing the 

practice of nursing.  



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 4 Virginia Register of Regulations October 19, 2015 

557 

B. Nursing education programs preparing for nursing 

licensure as a registered or practical nurse shall include: 

1. Didactic Evidence-based didactic content and supervised 

clinical experience in nursing encompassing the attainment 

and maintenance of physical and mental health and the 

prevention of illness for individuals and groups throughout 

the life cycle and in a variety of acute, 

nonacute, [ community-based, ] and long-term care clinical 

settings and experiences to include adult medical/surgical 

nursing, geriatric nursing, maternal/infant (obstetrics, 

gynecology, neonatal) nursing, mental health/psychiatric 

nursing, nursing fundamentals, and pediatric nursing; 

2. Concepts of the nursing process that include conducting 

a focused nursing assessment of the client status that 

includes decision making about who and when to inform, 

identifying client needs, planning for episodic nursing care, 

implementing appropriate aspects of client care, and 

contributing to data collection and the evaluation of client 

outcomes, and the appropriate reporting and 

documentation of collected data and care rendered; 

3. Concepts of anatomy, physiology, chemistry, 

microbiology, and the behavioral sciences; 

4. Concepts of communication, growth and development, 

nurse-client interpersonal relations, and patient client 

education, including: 

a. Development of professional socialization that 

includes working in interdisciplinary teams; and 

b. Conflict resolution; 

5. Concepts of ethics and the vocational and legal aspects 

of nursing, including: 

a. Regulations and sections of the Code of Virginia 

related to nursing; 

b. Patient Client rights, privacy, and confidentiality;  

c. Prevention of patient client abuse, neglect, and 

abandonment throughout the life cycle, including 

instruction in the recognition, intervention, and reporting 

by the nurse of evidence of child or elder abuse;  

d. Professional responsibility to include the role of the 

practical and professional nurse; and 

e. Professional boundaries to include appropriate use of 

social media and electronic technology; and 

e. f. History and trends in nursing and health care; 

6. Concepts of pharmacology, dosage calculation, 

medication administration, nutrition, and diet therapy; 

7. Concepts of client-centered care, including: 

a. Respect for cultural differences, values, and 

preferences and expressed needs; 

b. Promotion of healthy life styles for clients and 

populations; 

c. Promotion of a safe client environment; and 

d. Prevention and appropriate response to situations of 

bioterrorism, natural and man-made disasters, and 

domestic intimate partner and family violence; and 

e. Use of critical thinking and clinical judgment in the 

implementation of safe client care; and 

f. Care of clients with multiple, chronic conditions; and 

8. Development of management and supervisory skills., 

including: 

a. The use of technology in medication administration 

and documentation of client care;  

b. Participation in quality improvement processes and 

systems to measure client outcomes and identify hazards 

and errors; and 

c. Supervision of certified nurse aides, registered 

medication aides and unlicensed assistive personnel. 

C. In addition to meeting curriculum requirements set forth 

in subsection B of this section, registered nursing education 

programs preparing for registered nurse licensure shall also 

include: 

1. Didactic Evidence-based didactic content and supervised 

clinical experiences in conducting a comprehensive 

nursing assessment that includes: 

a. Extensive data collection, both initial and ongoing, for 

individuals, families, groups, and communities 

addressing anticipated changes in client conditions as 

well as emerging changes in a client's health status;  

b. Recognition of alterations to previous client 

conditions;  

c. Synthesizing the biological, psychological and social 

aspects of the client's condition;  

d. Evaluation of the effectiveness and impact of nursing 

care;  

e. Planning for nursing interventions and evaluating the 

need for different interventions for individuals, groups 

and communities; 

f. Evaluation and implementation of the need to 

communicate and consult with other health team 

members; and  

g. Use of a broad and complete analysis to make 

independent decisions and nursing diagnoses; 

2. Didactic Evidence-based didactic content and supervised 

experiences in: 

a. Development of clinical judgment;  

b. Development of leadership skills and knowledge unit 

management; 

c. Knowledge of the rules and principles for delegation of 

nursing tasks to unlicensed persons; 

d. Supervision of licensed practical nurses; 

c. e. Involvement of clients in decision making and a plan 

of care; and 
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d. Participation in quality improvement processes to 

measure client outcomes and identify hazards and errors; 

3. f. Concepts of pathophysiology; and. 

4. Principles of delegation of nursing tasks to unlicensed 

persons.  

D. On and after July 1, 2007, all nursing education programs 

shall provide instruction in child abuse recognition and 

intervention. 

E. A nursing education program preparing for licensure as a 

practical nurse shall provide a minimum of 400 hours of 

direct client care supervised by qualified faculty. A nursing 

education program preparing for licensure as a registered 

nurse shall provide a minimum of 500 hours of direct client 

care supervised by qualified faculty.  

18VAC90-20-121. Curriculum for direct client care. 

A. A nursing education program preparing a student for 

licensure as a registered nurse shall provide a minimum of 

500 hours of direct client care supervised by qualified faculty. 

A nursing education program preparing a student for 

licensure as a practical nurse shall provide a minimum of 400 

hours of direct client care supervised by qualified faculty. 

Direct client care hours shall include experiences and settings 

as set forth in 18VAC90-20-120 B 1.  

B. Licensed practical nurses transitioning into prelicensure 

registered nursing programs may be awarded no more than 

150 clinical hours of the 400 clinical hours received in a 

practical nursing program. In a practical nursing to registered 

nursing transitional program, the remainder of the clinical 

hours shall include registered nursing clinical experience 

across the life cycle in adult medical/surgical nursing, 

maternal/infant (obstetrics, gynecology, neonatal) nursing, 

mental health/psychiatric nursing, and pediatric nursing. 

C. Any observational experiences shall be planned in 

cooperation with the agency involved to meet stated course 

objectives. Observational experiences shall not be accepted 

toward the 400 or 500 minimum clinical hours required. 

Observational objectives shall be available to students, the 

clinical unit, and the board. 

D. Simulation for direct client clinical hours. 

1. No more than [ 20% 25% ] of direct client contact hours 

may be simulation. For prelicensure registered nursing 

programs, the total of simulated client care hours cannot 

exceed [ 100 125 ] hours [ (20% (25% ] of the required 500 

hours). For prelicensure practical nursing programs, the 

total of simulated client care hours cannot exceed [ 80 

100 ] hours [ (20% (25% ] of the required 400 hours). 

2. No more than 50% of the total clinical hours for any 

course may be used as simulation. 

3. Skills acquisition and task training alone, as in the 

traditional use of a skills laboratory, do not qualify as 

simulated client care and therefore do not meet the 

requirements for direct client care hours. 

4. Clinical simulation must be led by faculty who meet the 

qualifications specified in 18VAC90-20-90.  

5. Documentation of the following shall be available for all 

simulated experiences:  

a. Course description and objectives;  

b. Type of simulation and location of simulated 

experience;  

c. Number of simulated hours; 

d. Faculty qualifications; and  

e. Methods of debriefing. 

18VAC90-20-122. Clinical practice of students. 

A. In accordance with § 54.1-3001 of the Code of Virginia, 

a nursing student, while enrolled in an approved nursing 

program, may perform tasks that would constitute the practice 

of nursing. The student shall be responsible and accountable 

for the safe performance of those direct client care tasks to 

which he has been assigned. 

B. Faculty shall be responsible for ensuring that students 

perform only skills or services in direct client care for which 

they have received instruction and have been found proficient 

by the instructor. Skills checklists shall be maintained for 

each student. 

C. Faculty members or preceptors providing on-site 

supervision in the clinical care of clients shall be responsible 

and accountable for the assignment of clients and tasks based 

on their assessment and evaluation of the student's clinical 

knowledge and skills. Supervisors shall also monitor clinical 

performance and intervene if necessary for the safety and 

protection of the clients.  

D. Clinical preceptors may be used to augment the faculty 

and enhance the clinical learning experience. Faculty shall be 

responsible for the designation of a preceptor for each student 

and shall communicate such assignment with the preceptor. A 

preceptor may not further delegate the duties of the 

preceptorship.  

E. Preceptors shall provide to the nursing education program 

evidence of competence to supervise students' clinical 

experience for quality and safety in each specialty area where 

they supervise students. The clinical preceptor shall be 

licensed as a nurse at or above the level for which the student 

is preparing.  

F. Supervision of students. 

1. When faculty are supervising direct client care by 

students, the ratio of students to faculty shall not exceed 10 

students to one faculty member. The faculty member shall 

be on site in the clinical setting solely to supervise 

students. 

2. When preceptors are utilized for specified learning 

experiences in clinical settings, the faculty member may 

supervise up to 15 students. In utilizing preceptors to 

supervise students in the clinical setting, the ratio shall not 

exceed two students to one preceptor at any given time. 
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During the period in which students are in the clinical 

setting with a preceptor, the faculty member shall be 

available for communication and consultation with the 

preceptor. 

G. Prior to beginning any preceptorship, the following shall 

be required: 

1. Written objectives, methodology, and evaluation 

procedures for a specified period of time to include the 

dates of each experience;  

2. An orientation program for faculty, preceptors, and 

students;  

3. A skills checklist detailing the performance of skills for 

which the student has had faculty-supervised clinical and 

didactic preparation; and  

4. The overall coordination by faculty who assume 

ultimate responsibility for implementation, periodic 

monitoring, and evaluation.  

18VAC90-20-130. Resources, facilities and services. 

Granting of initial program approval. 

A. Periodic evaluations of resources, facilities and services 

shall be conducted by the administration, faculty, students 

and graduates of the nursing education program.  

B. Secretarial and other support services shall be provided.  

C. Classrooms, conference rooms, laboratories, clinical 

facilities and offices shall be sufficient to meet the objectives 

of the nursing education program and the needs of the 

students, faculty, administration and staff.  

D. The program shall have learning resources that are 

current, pertinent and accessible to students and faculty, and 

sufficient to meet the needs of the students and faculty.  

E. Written agreements with cooperating agencies shall be 

developed, maintained and periodically reviewed. The 

agreement shall:  

1. Ensure full control of student education by the faculty of 

the nursing education program, including the selection and 

supervision of learning experiences.  

2. Provide that faculty members or preceptors be present in 

the clinical setting when students are assigned for direct 

patient care.  

3. Provide for cooperative planning with designated agency 

personnel to ensure safe patient care.  

4. Provide that faculty be available to students and 

preceptors while students are involved in preceptorship 

experiences.  

F. Any observational experiences shall be planned in 

cooperation with the agency involved to meet stated course 

objectives.  

G. Cooperating agencies shall be approved by the 

appropriate accreditation, evaluation or licensing bodies, if 

such exist.  

A. Initial approval may be granted when all documentation 

required in 18VAC90-20-40 has been submitted and is 

deemed satisfactory to the board and when the following 

conditions are met:  

1. There is evidence that the requirements for organization 

and administration and the philosophy and objectives of 

the program, as set forth in 18VAC90-20-70 and 

18VAC90-20-80, have been met; 

2. A program director who meets board requirements has 

been appointed, and there are sufficient faculty to initiate 

the program as required in 18VAC90-20-90;  

3. A written curriculum plan developed in accordance with 

18VAC90-20-120 has been submitted and approved by the 

board; 

4. A written systematic plan of evaluation has been 

developed and approved by the board; and 

5. The program is in compliance with requirements of 

18VAC90-20-110 for resources, facilities, publications, 

and services as verified by a satisfactory site visit 

conducted by a representative of the board. 

B. If initial approval is granted: 

1. The advertisement of the nursing program is authorized. 

2. The admission of students is authorized, except that 

transfer students are not authorized to be admitted until the 

program has received full program approval. 

3. The program director shall submit quarterly progress 

reports to the board that shall include evidence of progress 

toward full program approval and other information as 

required by the board. 

18VAC90-20-131. Denying or withdrawing initial 

program approval. 

A. Denial of initial program approval.  

1. Initial approval may be denied for causes enumerated in 

18VAC90-20-132. 

2. If the initial approval is denied: 

a. The program shall be given an option of correcting the 

deficiencies cited by the board during the time remaining 

in its initial 12-month period following receipt of the 

application.  

b. No further action regarding the application shall be 

required of the board unless the program requests, within 

30 days of the mailing of the decision, an informal 

conference pursuant to §§ 2.2-4019 and 54.1-109 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

3. If denial is recommended following the informal 

conference, the recommendation shall be presented to the 

board or a panel thereof for review and action. 

4. If the recommendation of the informal conference 

committee to deny initial approval is accepted by the board 

or a panel thereof, the decision shall be reflected in a board 

order and no further action by the board is required. The 
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program may request a formal hearing within 30 days from 

entry of the order, in accordance with § 2.2-4020 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

5. If the decision of the board or a panel thereof, following 

a formal hearing, is to deny initial approval, the program 

shall be advised of the right to appeal the decision to the 

appropriate circuit court in accordance with § 2.2-4026 [ of 

the Code of Virginia ] and Part 2A of the Rules of the 

Supreme Court of Virginia. 

B. Withdrawal of initial program approval. 

1. Initial approval shall be withdrawn and the program 

closed if: 

a. The program has not admitted students within six 

months of approval of its application; 

b. The program fails to submit evidence of progression 

toward full program approval; or  

c. For any of the causes enumerated in 18VAC90-20-

132. 

2. If a decision is made to withdraw initial approval, no 

further action shall be required by the board unless the 

program, within 30 days of the mailing of the decision, 

requests an informal conference pursuant to §§ 2.2-4019 

and 54.1-109 of the Code of Virginia.  

3. If withdrawal of initial approval is recommended 

following the informal conference, the recommendation 

shall be presented to the board or a panel thereof for 

review and action.  

4. If the recommendation of the informal conference 

committee to withdraw initial approval is accepted by the 

board or a panel thereof, the decision shall be reflected in a 

board order and no further action by the board is required 

unless the program requests a formal hearing within 30 

days from entry of the order, in accordance with § 2.2-

4020 of the Code of Virginia. 

5. If the decision of the board or a panel thereof following 

a formal hearing is to withdraw initial approval, the 

program shall be advised of the right to appeal the decision 

to the appropriate circuit court in accordance with § 2.2-

4026 of the Code of Virginia and Part 2A of the Rules of 

the Supreme Court of Virginia. 

18VAC90-20-132. Causes for denial or withdrawal of 

nursing education program approval. 

A. Denial or withdrawal of program approval may be based 

upon the following: 

1. Failing to demonstrate compliance with program 

requirements in Article 1 (18VAC90-20-40 et seq.), Article 

2 (18VAC90-20-133 et seq.), or Article 3 (18VAC90-20-

151 et seq.) of this part. 

2. Failing to comply with terms and conditions placed on a 

program by the board. 

3. Advertising for or admitting students without authority, 

board approval, or contrary to a board restriction. 

4. Failing to progress students through the program in 

accordance with an approved time frame.  

5. Failing to provide evidence of progression toward initial 

program approval within a time frame established by the 

board. 

6. Failing to provide evidence of progression toward full 

program approval within a time frame established by the 

board. 

7. Failing to respond to requests for information required 

from board representatives. 

8. Fraudulent submission of documents or statements to the 

board or its representatives. 

9. Having had past actions taken by the board, other states, 

or accrediting entities regarding the same nursing 

education program operating in another jurisdiction. 

10. Failing to maintain a pass rate of 80% on the NCLEX 

for graduates of the program as required by 18VAC90-20-

151.  

11. Failing to comply with an order of the board or with 

any terms and conditions placed upon it by the board for 

continued approval.  

12. Having the program director, owner, or operator of the 

program convicted of a felony or a misdemeanor involving 

moral turpitude or his professional license disciplined by a 

licensing body or regulatory authority.  

13. Failing to pay the required fee for a survey or site visit.  

B. Withdrawal of nursing education program approval may 

occur at any stage in the application or approval process 

pursuant to procedures enumerated in 18VAC90-20-131, 

18VAC90-20-134, and 18VAC90-20-161.  

C. Programs with approval denied or withdrawn may not 

accept or admit additional students into the program effective 

upon the date of entry of the board's final order to deny or 

withdraw approval. Further, the program shall submit 

quarterly reports until the program is closed, and the program 

shall comply with board requirements regarding closure of a 

program as stated in 18VAC90-20-170.  

Article 2 

Full Approval for a Nursing Education Program 

18VAC90-20-133. Granting full program approval. 

A. Full approval may be granted when: 

1. A self-evaluation report of compliance with Articles 1 

(18VAC90-20-40 et seq.) and 2 (18VAC90-20-133 et seq.) 

of this part and a survey visit fee as specified in 18VAC90-

20-30 have been submitted and received by the board;  

2. The program has achieved a passage rate of not less than 

80% for the program's first-time test takers taking the 

NCLEX based on at least 20 graduates within a two-year 

period; and 
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3. A satisfactory survey visit and report have been made by 

a representative of the board verifying that the program is 

in compliance with all requirements for program approval. 

B. If full approval is granted, the program shall continue to 

comply with all requirements in Articles 1, 2, and 3 

(18VAC90-20-151 et seq.) of this part, and admission of 

transfer students is authorized. 

18VAC90-20-134. Denying full program approval. 

A. Denial of full program approval may occur for causes 

enumerated in 18VAC90-20-132. 

B. If full program approval is denied, the board shall also be 

authorized to do one of the following: 

1. The board may continue the program on initial program 

approval with terms and conditions to be met within the 

time frame specified by the board; or 

2. The board may withdraw initial program approval. 

C. If the board takes one of the actions specified in 

subsection B of this section, the following shall apply: 

1. No further action will be required of the board unless the 

program, within 30 days of the mailing of the decision, 

requests an informal conference pursuant to §§ 2.2-4019 

and 54.1-109 of the Code of Virginia. 

2. If continued initial program approval with terms and 

conditions or withdrawal of initial approval is 

recommended following the informal conference, the 

recommendation shall be presented to the board or a panel 

thereof for review and action. 

3. If the recommendation of the informal conference 

committee is accepted by the board or a panel thereof, the 

decision shall be reflected in a board order and no further 

action by the board regarding the application is required. 

The program may request a formal hearing within 30 days 

from entry of the order, in accordance with § 2.2-4020 and 

subdivision 11 of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

4. If the decision of the board or a panel thereof following 

a formal hearing is to deny full and/or withdraw or 

continue on initial approval with terms or conditions, the 

program shall be advised of the right to appeal the decision 

to the appropriate circuit court in accordance with § 2.2-

4026 of the Code of Virginia and Part 2A of the Rules of 

the Supreme Court of Virginia. 

D. If a program is denied full approval and initial approval 

withdrawn, no additional students may be accepted into the 

program, effective upon the date of entry of the board's final 

order to deny or withdraw approval. Further, the program 

shall submit quarterly reports until the program is closed, and 

the program shall comply with board requirements regarding 

closure of a program as stated in 18VAC90-20-170. 

18VAC90-20-135. Requests for exceptions or 

requirements for faculty. 

After full approval has been granted, a program may request 

board approval for exceptions to requirements of 18VAC90-

20-90 for faculty as follows:  

1. Initial request for exception.  

a. The program director shall submit a request for initial 

exception in writing to the board for consideration prior 

to the academic year during which the nursing faculty 

member is scheduled to teach or whenever an unexpected 

vacancy has occurred. 

b. A description of teaching assignment, a curriculum 

vitae, and a statement of intent from the prospective 

faculty member to pursue the required degree shall 

accompany each request. 

c. The executive director of the board shall be authorized 

to make the initial decision on requests for exceptions. 

Any appeal of that decision shall be in accordance with 

the provisions of the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-

4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

2. Request for continuing exception. 

a. Continuing exception will be based on the progress of 

the nursing faculty member toward meeting the degree 

required by this chapter during each year for which the 

exception is requested. 

b. The program director shall submit the request for 

continuing exception in writing prior to the next 

academic year during which the nursing faculty member 

is scheduled to teach. 

c. A list of courses required for the degree being pursued 

and college transcripts showing successful completion of 

a minimum of two of the courses during the past 

academic year shall accompany each request. 

d. Any request for continuing exception shall be 

considered by the committee, which shall make a 

recommendation to the board. 

18VAC90-20-136. Records and provision of information. 

A. Requirements for admission, readmission, advanced 

standing, progression, retention, dismissal, and graduation 

shall be readily available to the students in written form. 

B. A system of records shall be maintained and be made 

available to the board representative and shall include:  

1. Data relating to accreditation by any agency or body.  

2. Course outlines.  

3. Minutes of faculty and committee meetings including 

documentation of the use of a systematic plan of evaluation 

for total program review and including those faculty 

members in attendance.  

4. Record of and disposition of complaints. 

C. A file shall be maintained for each student. Provision 

shall be made for the protection of student and graduate files 
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against loss, destruction, and unauthorized use. Each file shall 

be available to the board representative and shall include the 

student's:  

1. Application, including the date of its submission and the 

date of admission into the program;  

2. High school transcript or copy of high school 

equivalence certificate, and if the student is a foreign 

graduate, a transcript translated into English [ and the 

results of passage of an examination of English proficiency 

as determined by the board ]; 

3. Current record of achievement to include classroom 

grades, skills checklists, and clinical hours for each course; 

and  

4. A final transcript retained in the permanent file of the 

institution to include dates of admission and completion of 

coursework, graduation date, name and address of 

graduate, the dates of each semester or term, number of 

clinical hours for each clinical course, course grades, and 

authorized signature. 

D. Current information about the nursing education program 

shall be published and distributed to students and applicants 

for admission and shall be made available to the board. In 

addition to information specified in 18VAC90-20-110 C, the 

following information shall be included:  

1. Annual passage rates on NCLEX for the past five years; 

and 

2. Accreditation status. 

18VAC90-20-137. Evaluation of resources; written 

agreements with cooperating agencies. 

A. Periodic evaluations of resources, facilities, and services 

shall be conducted by the administration, faculty, students, 

and graduates of the nursing education program including an 

employer evaluation for graduates of the nursing education 

program. Such evaluation shall include assurance that at least 

80% of all clinical experiences are conducted in Virginia 

unless an exception has been granted by the board.  

B. Current written agreements with cooperating agencies 

shall be maintained and reviewed annually and shall be in 

accordance with of 18VAC90-20-110 E.  

C. Upon request, a program shall provide a clinical agency 

summary on a form provided by the board.  

D. Upon request and if applicable, the program shall provide 

(i) documentation of board approval for use of clinical sites 

located 50 or more miles from the school; and (ii) for use of 

clinical experiences conducted outside of Virginia, 

documented approval from the agency that has authority to 

approve clinical placement of students in that state. 

18VAC90-20-140. Program changes.  

A. The following shall be reported to the board within 10 

days of the change or receipt of a report from an accrediting 

body:  

1. Change in the program director, governing body, or 

parent institution;  

2. Adverse action taken by a licensing authority against the 

program director, governing body, or parent institution;  

3. Conviction of a felony or misdemeanor involving moral 

turpitude against the program director, owner, or operator 

of the program;  

2. 4. Change in accreditation status the physical location of 

the program;  

3. 5. Change in content of curriculum, faculty or method of 

delivery that affects 25% or more of the hours of 

instruction the availability of clinical sites; 

4. 6. Change in financial resources that could substantively 

affect the nursing education program;  

7. Change in content of curriculum, faculty, or method of 

delivery that affects 25% or more of the [ total ] hours of 

[ didactic and clinical ] instruction; 

5. 8. Change in the physical location of the program 

accreditation status; and 

6. 9. A final report with findings and recommendations 

from the accrediting body. 

B. Other curriculum or faculty changes shall be reported to 

the board with the annual report required in 18VAC90-20-

160 A.  

Article 3 

Continued Approval of Nursing Education Programs 

18VAC90-20-151. Passage rate on national examination. 

A. For the purpose of continued approval by the board, a 

nursing education program shall maintain a passage rate for 

first-time test takers on the NCLEX that is not less than 80%, 

calculated on the cumulative results of the past four quarters 

of all graduates in each calendar year regardless of where the 

graduate is seeking licensure. 

B. If an approved program falls below 80% for one year, it 

shall submit a plan of correction to the board. If a an 

approved program falls below 80% for two consecutive years, 

the board shall place the program on conditional approval 

with terms and conditions, require the program to submit a 

plan of correction, and conduct a site visit and place the 

program on conditional approval. Prior to the conduct of such 

a visit, the program shall submit the fee for a site visit 

pursuant to the NCLEX passage rate as required by 

18VAC90-20-30. If a program falls below 80% for three 

consecutive years, the board may withdraw program 

approval. 

C. For the purpose of program evaluation, the board may 

provide to the program the NCLEX examination results of its 

graduates. However, further release of such information by 

the program shall not be authorized without written 

authorization from the candidate. 
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Article 3  

Maintaining or Closing an Approved Nursing Education 

Program  

18VAC90-20-160. Maintaining an approved nursing 

education program.  

A. The program director of each nursing education program 

shall submit an annual report to the board.  

B. Each nursing education program shall be reevaluated as 

follows:  

1. A Every nursing education program that has not 

achieved accreditation as defined in 18VAC90-20-10 shall 

be reevaluated at least every eight five years for a practical 

nursing program and every six years for a registered 

nursing program by submission of a comprehensive self-

evaluation report based on Article Articles 1 (18VAC90-

20-40 et seq.) and 2 (18VAC90-20-70 (18VAC90-20-133 

et seq.) of this part, and a survey visit by a 

representative(s) representative or representatives of the 

board on dates mutually acceptable to the institution and 

the board. 

2. A program that has maintained accreditation as defined 

in 18VAC90-20-10 shall be reevaluated at least every 10 

years by submission of a comprehensive self-evaluation 

report as provided by the board. As evidence of 

compliance with specific requirements of this chapter, the 

board may accept the most recent study report, site visit 

report, and final decision letter from the accrediting body. 

The board may require additional information or a site visit 

to ensure compliance with requirements of this chapter. If 

accreditation has been withdrawn or a program has been 

placed on probation by the accrediting body, the board 

shall conduct an on-site may require a survey visit within 

one year of such action. If a program fails to submit the 

documentation required in this subdivision, the 

requirements of subdivision 1 of this subsection shall 

apply. 

C. The Education Special Conference Committee (the 

"committee"), composed of not less than two members of the 

board, shall, in accordance with § 2.2-4019 of the Code of 

Virginia, receive and review the self-evaluation and survey 

reports and shall make a recommendation to the board to 

grant continued approval, place the program on conditional 

approval or withdraw approval. 

1. A nursing education program shall continue to be 

approved provided the requirements set forth in Article 2 

of this part are attained and maintained. 

2. If the committee determines that a nursing education 

program is not maintaining the requirements of Article 2 of 

this part, the committee shall recommend to the board that 

the program be placed on conditional approval and the 

governing institution shall be given a reasonable period of 

time to correct the identified deficiencies. 

a. The committee shall receive and review reports of 

progress toward correcting identified deficiencies and, 

when a final report is received at the end of the specified 

time showing correction of deficiencies, make a 

recommendation to the board to grant continued 

approval, continue the program on conditional approval 

or withdraw approval. 

b. If the nursing education program fails to correct the 

identified deficiencies within the time specified by an 

order of the board, the board may withdraw the approval 

following a formal hearing. 

c. The governing institution may request a formal hearing 

before the board or a panel thereof pursuant to § 2.2-

4020 and subdivision 9 of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of 

Virginia if it objects to any action of the board relating to 

conditional approval. 

D. C. Interim site or survey visits shall be made to the 

institution by board representatives at any time within the 

initial approval period or full approval period either by 

request or as deemed necessary by the board. Prior to the 

conduct of such a visit, the program shall submit the fee for a 

survey visit as required by 18VAC90-20-30. 

E. D. Failure to submit the required fee for a survey or site 

visit may subject an education program to board action or 

withdrawal of board approval. 

18VAC90-20-161. Continuing and withdrawing full 

approval. 

A. The board shall receive and review the self-evaluation 

and survey reports pursuant to 18VAC90-20-160 B or 

complaints relating to program compliance. Following 

review, the board may continue the program on full approval 

so long as it remains in compliance with all requirements in 

Articles 1 (18VAC90-20-40 et seq.), 2 (18VAC90-20-133 et 

seq.) and 3 (18VAC90-20-151 et seq.) of this part. 

B. If the board determines that a program is not maintaining 

the requirements of Articles 1, 2, and 3, or for causes 

enumerated in 18VAC90-20-132, it may: 

1. Place the program on conditional approval with terms 

and conditions to be met within the time frame specified by 

the board; or  

2. Withdraw program approval. 

C. If the board either places a program on conditional 

approval with terms and conditions to be met within a time 

frame specified by the board or withdraws approval, the 

following shall apply: 

1. No further action will be required of the board unless the 

program requests an informal conference pursuant to §§ 

2.2-4019 and 54.1-109 of the Code of Virginia. 

2. If withdrawal or continued program approval with terms 

and conditions is recommended following the informal 

conference, the recommendation shall be presented to the 

board or a panel thereof for review and action. 
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3. If the recommendation of the informal conference 

committee is accepted by the board or a panel thereof, the 

decision shall be reflected in a board order and no further 

action by the board is required unless the program requests 

a formal hearing within 30 days from entry of the order in 

accordance with § 2.2-4020 of the Code of Virginia. 

4. If the decision of the board or a panel thereof following 

a formal hearing is to withdraw approval or continue on 

conditional approval with terms or conditions, the program 

shall be advised of the right to appeal the decision to the 

appropriate circuit court in accordance with § 2.2-4026 of 

the Code of Virginia and Part 2A of the Rules of the 

Supreme Court of Virginia. 

D. If a program approval is withdrawn, no additional 

students may be admitted into the program effective upon the 

date of entry of the board's final order to withdraw approval. 

Further, the program shall submit quarterly reports until the 

program is closed, and the program must comply with board 

requirements regarding closure of a program as stated in 

18VAC90-20-170. 

18VAC90-20-170. Closing of an approved nursing 

education program; custody of records.  

A. When the governing institution anticipates the closing of 

a nursing education program, it shall notify the board in 

writing, stating the reason, plan, and date of intended closing.  

The governing institution shall assist in the transfer of 

students to other approved programs with the following 

conditions:  

1. The program shall continue to meet the standards 

required for approval until all students are transferred and 

shall submit a quarterly report to the board regarding 

progress toward closure.  

2. A The program shall provide to the board a list of the 

names of students who have been transferred to approved 

programs, and the date on which the last student was 

transferred shall be submitted to the board by the 

governing institution.  

3. The date on which the last student was transferred shall 

be the closing date of the program.  

B. When the board denies or withdraws approval of a 

program, the governing institution shall comply with the 

following procedures:  

1. The program shall be closed according to a time frame 

established by the board.  

2. A The program shall provide to the board a list of the 

names of students who have transferred to approved 

programs and the date on which the last student was 

transferred shall be submitted to the board by the 

governing institution.  

3. The program shall provide quarterly reports to the board 

regarding progress toward closure. 

C. Provision shall be made for custody of records as 

follows:  

1. If the governing institution continues to function, it shall 

assume responsibility for the records of the students and 

the graduates. The institution shall inform the board of the 

arrangements made to safeguard the records.  

2. If the governing institution ceases to exist, the academic 

transcript of each student and graduate shall be transferred 

by the institution to the board for safekeeping.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2513; Filed September 18, 2015, 11:30 a.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC120-50. Regulations Governing 

Natural Gas Automobile Mechanics and Technicians 

(adding 18VAC120-50-10 through 18VAC120-50-230).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-2356 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

November 17, 2015 - 11 a.m. - Department of Professional 

and Occupational Regulations, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

400, 2nd Floor, Training Room 2, Richmond, Virginia 

23233. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 18, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 

telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (866) 430-1033, or email 

Cngmech@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Chapter 763 of the 2014 Acts of the General Assembly 

created Chapter 23.4 (§ 54.1-2355 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. Section 54.1-2356 of this newly created 

chapter, effective July 1, 2014, requires the Department of 

Professional and Occupation Regulation to promulgate 

regulations that create a certification program for certified 

natural gas automobile mechanics and technicians. 

Purpose: The department seeks to create initial regulations for 

this newly created regulatory program. The number of natural 

gas vehicles has continued to increase steadily since their 

inception in the late 1970s. The General Assembly has 

determined that this program is necessary to ensure that the 

public be protected against incompetent, unqualified, 

unscrupulous, or unfit persons engaging in the activities 

regulated by this newly created chapter. 

Substance: As these would be newly created regulations, 

there would be no changes to existing regulations. These new 

regulations would include provisions for an advisory board to 

provide technical guidance to the department with regards to 

the industry, initial certification requirements, renewal and 

reinstatement requirements, standards of conduct, and 

education provider requirements for training programs. 
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Issues: In creating these regulations, the department is 

complying with the provisions of legislation signed into the 

law this year establishing a program to certify natural gas 

automobile mechanics and technicians. After studying data 

relative to accident rates, inspection reports and the 

licensing/education requirements in other states, the General 

Assembly determined a need for this level of regulation in 

order to protect the public. The primary advantage of the 

program is to ensure that the work done on natural gas 

powered vehicles is performed by individuals who have 

received sufficient training and demonstrated enough 

experience to reasonably assume competency in the repairs, 

maintenance and conversions they will be completing. This is 

a voluntary certification and is not a required certification 

therefore there are no foreseen disadvantages to the public.  

This program is predicted to have a moderate impact on the 

department and its licensing staff. The initial licensing of 

approximately 100 certificate holders in the first year should 

not require significant staff training or modifications to 

existing software. The creation of the examination for 

certification may be challenging as there are only a few 

jurisdictions that currently regulate this type of work.  

The development of this program, through the legislative 

process, was supported by industry representatives, localities 

and other interested parties, all of whom were in the 

workgroup created by the department. Testimony provided 

and information gathered by the work group indicated that the 

majority of those individuals currently employed as natural 

gas automobile mechanics and technicians would welcome a 

certificate that would recognize the individuals performing 

this type of work meet industry standards for minimum 

competency. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 763 of the 2014 Acts of the Assembly, 

the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 

(DPOR) proposes to create a new certification program for 

individuals who convert vehicles so that they use natural gas 

for fuel or who repair or maintain such vehicles. This 

regulation will require that individuals seeking certification: 

1. Be at least 18 years old, 

2. Have attained one of the combinations of education 

and experience listed in this regulation, 

3. Disclose (and provide documentation for) any 

misdemeanor convictions within the three years 

immediately preceding application for certification and 

any felony convictions at any time, 

4. Pay for and take the certification exam written by or 

contracted for by DPOR, and  

5. Pay the applicable application fee. 

This proposed regulation also sets renewal, reinstatement and 

other fees, rules for certification by reciprocity or substantial 

equivalency and sets rules for vocational training programs 

and providers. This certification program is voluntary but, as 

mandated in Chapter 763, individuals will not be able to call 

themselves certified natural gas mechanics or technicians 

without obtaining DPOR certification even if they have 

obtained private certification in this field. 

Result of Analysis. There is insufficient information to 

ascertain whether the benefits of this certification program 

will outweigh its costs. Costs might be decreased for 

applicants if DPOR promulgates into regulation its offence 

matrix so that applicants would only have to provide 

documentation for convictions that have the potential to 

disqualify them from obtaining certification. 

Estimated Economic Impact. In 2014, the General assembly 

passed legislation that requires DPOR to set up a voluntary 

certification program for natural gas automobile mechanics 

and technicians and applies title protection which mandates 

that only individuals who are certified through DPOR use the 

title certified NG automobile mechanic or technician. DPOR 

now proposes this regulation to establish a certification 

program. 

DPOR proposes to require that individuals who are applying 

for certification to first either: 1) have one year of practical 

experience working on natural gas vehicles and have 

successfully completed a training program approved by the 

Director of DPOR, 2) have a current license as a professional 

engineer and one year of practical experience working on 

natural gas vehicles, 3) have successfully completed an 

approved apprenticeship program which includes at least one 

year of practical experience working on natural gas vehicles 

OR 4) have three years of practical experience working on 

natural gas vehicles. DPOR staff estimates that training 

required for option 1) above will cost between $1,000 and 

$1,500 depending on how much prior experience the trainee 

has in the field already.  

DPOR also proposes to require applicants for certification to 

disclose any misdemeanor convictions within the three years 

immediately preceding application for certification and any 

felony convictions at any time. In practice, DPOR staff 

reports that applicants will have to provide documentation for 

all offences that they are required to disclose. DPOR staff 

also reports, however, that many disclosed offences would 

not have any impact on whether an applicant is approved for 

certification and that DPOR has a matrix of crimes that would 

not be disqualifying. Applicants for certification would very 

likely benefit from that matrix being promulgated into this 

regulation because it will limit their documentation costs in 

cases where those costs would not be beneficial for DPOR's 

decision making process. Documentation costs for applicants 

can be considerable and can include per page copying costs 

imposed by courts and travel costs to get records that must be 

obtained from courthouses (including courthouses that may 

be in another state or country) in person.  
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In addition to costs for obtaining qualifications and disclosing 

convictions, DPOR proposes fees for this program. These 

fees include a fee for the licensure examination that is yet to 

be determined, a $150 fee for initial certification ($250 if 

expedited review
1
 is requested), a $100 for biennial certificate 

renewal and a $150 fee for reinstatement for individuals who 

seek certificate renewal after the certificate expires but within 

one year of the expiration date. DPOR also proposes a $190 

training provider fee and a $190 training course approval fee 

to be paid by training providers. Certificate holders will also 

be charged a $40 fee if they want a wall certificate and will be 

charged an increasing fee if they need to replace their 

certification pocket card. There will be no cost for the first 

replacement within a certification cycle (two years) but the 

second replacement card will cost $25 and the third 

replacement card will cost $50. 

All of these costs must be weighed against any increased 

safety that may be experienced by certificate holders and their 

customers on account of this certification program. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. This proposed regulation 

will affect all individuals who apply for natural gas 

automobile mechanics and technicians certification as well as 

entities that apply to provide vocational training required for 

certification. DPOR staff estimates that initially 100 or fewer 

individuals will apply for certification, and 10 or fewer 

entities will apply for vocational trainer approval, once this 

regulation is promulgated. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No localities will likely be 

disproportionately affected by this proposed regulatory 

change. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This regulatory action will 

likely have little initial impact on employment in the 

Commonwealth. If public or private action leads to 

certification being required to work as a natural gas mechanic 

or technician, either through further action of the General 

Assembly or by insurance companies requiring certification 

as a condition of insurance, the pool of individuals working in 

this field would likely become smaller and prices for their 

services may rise. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 

regulatory action will likely have no impact on the use or 

value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No small 

businesses are likely to incur costs on account of this 

proposed regulation. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. No small businesses are likely to incur costs 

on account of this proposed regulation. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. 

General:  The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has 

analyzed the economic impact of this proposed regulation in 

accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and 

Executive Order Number 17 (2014). Section 2.2-4007.04 

requires that such economic impact analyses determine the 

public benefits and costs of the proposed amendments. 

Further the report should include but not be limited to: 

• the projected number of businesses or other entities to 

whom the proposed regulation would apply, 

• the identity of any localities and types of businesses or 

other entities particularly affected, 

• the projected number of persons and employment 

positions to be affected,  

• the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and  

• the impact on the use and value of private property.  

Small Businesses:  If the proposed regulation will have an 

adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires 

that such economic impact analyses include: 

• an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the proposed regulation, 

• the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other 

administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the proposed regulation, including the type 

of professional skills necessary for preparing required 

reports and other documents, 

• a statement of the probable effect of the proposed 

regulation on affected small businesses, and  

• a description of any less intrusive or less costly 

alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the 

proposed regulation.  

Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1, if there is a finding 

that a proposed regulation may have an adverse impact on 

small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative 

Rules is notified at the time the proposed regulation is 

submitted to the Virginia Register of Regulations for 

publication. This analysis shall represent DPB's best estimate 

for the purposes of public review and comment on the 

proposed regulation. 

_______________________________________________ 
1Expedited review is performed within two business days of receipt of 

application 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulations 

concurs with the economic impact analysis provided by the 

Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed action establishes a regulatory program for 

the voluntary certification of natural gas automobile 

mechanics and technicians in accordance with Chapter 
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763 of the 2014 Acts of Assembly. The new chapter will 

include establishment of (i) certification, renewal, and 

reinstatement requirements; (ii) standards of practice and 

conduct; (iii) grounds for disciplinary actions; (iv) 

education provider requirements for training programs; 

(v) fees; and (vi) an advisory board. 

CHAPTER 50 

REGULATIONS GOVERNING NATURAL GAS 

AUTOMOBILE MECHANICS AND TECHNICIANS 

Part I 

Definitions 

18VAC120-50-10. Definitions. 

A. Section 54.1-2355 of the Code of Virginia provides 

definitions of other terms and phrases as used in this chapter. 

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Address of record" means the mailing address designated 

by the certificate holder to receive notices and 

correspondence from the board or the board's agent. 

"Advisory board" or "board" means the Natural Gas 

Automobile Mechanics and Technicians Advisory Board. 

"Applicant" means an individual seeking certification who 

has submitted a fully executed application. 

"Application" means a board prescribed form submitted with 

the appropriate fee and other required documentation, 

including, but not limited to, verification of formal vocational 

training, verification of experience, and documentation of 

other certifications and examinations. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation. 

"Director" means the Director of the Virginia Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation. 

"Formal vocational training" means courses in the trade 

administered at an accredited educational facility or formal 

training, approved by the director or his designee, conducted 

by trade associations, businesses, the military, 

correspondence schools, or other similar training 

organizations. 

"Reciprocity" means a mutual agreement between the 

director and any other regulating body that accepts one or 

more of the eligibility criteria from that regulating body as 

having met the requirements of this chapter. 

"Regulant" means a licensee, certificate holder, or registrant 

of any other regulatory programs in the Commonwealth of 

Virginia or any other jurisdiction. 

"Reinstatement" means the process and requirements 

through which an expired certificate can be restored to 

effectiveness after the expiration date has passed. 

"Renewal" means the process and requirement for 

periodically approving a certification for another period of 

time. 

18VAC120-50-20. Advisory board. 

A. The Natural Gas Automobile Mechanics and Technicians 

Advisory Board shall exercise the authority delegated by the 

director consistent with subsection A of § 2.2-2100 of the 

Code of Virginia and shall advise the department on any 

matters relating to the certification of natural gas automobile 

mechanics and technicians in the Commonwealth of Virginia.  

B. The advisory board shall consist of eight members 

appointed by the director as follows: two representatives of 

private businesses that utilize natural gas powered vehicles, 

one representative of a local government that utilizes natural 

gas vehicles, one representative of a municipal transit agency 

that uses natural gas vehicles, one certified natural gas 

automobile mechanic or technician, one representative of an 

approved natural gas automobile mechanic or technician 

training provider, and two citizen members. All members 

must be residents of the Commonwealth of Virginia. After the 

original appointments, all appointments shall be for terms of 

four years, except that appointments to fill vacancies shall be 

for the unexpired terms. 

C. Each member shall serve a four-year term. No member 

shall serve more than two consecutive four-year terms. 

D. The advisory board shall meet upon the call of the 

director, but at least once per year.  

Part II 

Application Procedures and Entry Requirements 

18VAC120-50-30. Application procedures. 

A. Every applicant seeking certification shall submit an 

application with the appropriate fee specified in 18VAC120-

50-80. Application shall be made on forms provided by the 

department and shall contain the following information and 

documentation: 

1. The full legal name of the applicant, a copy of a 

government-issued photo identification and verification 

that the applicant is at least 18 years old. 

2. The applicant shall disclose his social security number 

or a control number issued by the Virginia Department of 

Motor Vehicles in accordance with § 54.1-116 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

3. The physical address of the applicant and, if it is going 

to be used as the address of record, a mailing address. A 

post office box, private mail box, or other mail service may 

be used as a mailing address, but not as the address of 

record. 

4. Documentation of formal vocational training as required 

in 18VAC120-50-50 in a format approved by the director. 

5. Documentation of experience, as required in 

18VAC120-50-50 in a format approved by the director. 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 4 Virginia Register of Regulations October 19, 2015 

568 

6. Each applicant shall disclose the following convictions 

in any jurisdiction: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions within three years of the 

date of the application; and 

b. All felony convictions at any time. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for the purpose of this subdivision. Individuals 

convicted in the Commonwealth of Virginia shall include a 

copy of their Central Criminal Records Exchange report 

that is no more than 90 days old. Individuals convicted 

outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia shall include a 

copy of their Central Criminal Records Exchange report 

and documentation of their out-of-state convictions from a 

source approved by the department. 

7. Each applicant shall provide certified copies of all other 

licenses, certifications, or registrations held in any 

jurisdiction as a natural gas or alternative fuel vehicle 

mechanic or technician. Additionally, the applicant must 

provide documentation of any disciplinary action taken 

against any other license, certification, or registration. 

B. By signing the application or submitting it electronically 

to the department, the applicant certifies that he has read and 

understands the statutes and regulations that govern the 

program. 

C. The receipt of an application and the deposit of fees by 

the department does not indicate approval of the application. 

D. Applicants will be notified if their application is 

incomplete. Applicants who fail to complete the process 

within one year of the date the original application was 

received by the department must submit a new application 

and fee. 

18VAC120-50-40. General qualifications for certification. 

Every applicant for certification as a certified natural gas 

automobile mechanic or technician shall meet the 

requirements and have the qualifications provided in this 

section. 

1. The applicant shall be at least 18 years old. 

2. Unless otherwise exempted, the applicant shall meet the 

current educational requirements by passing all required 

courses prior to the time the applicant sits for the 

examination and applies for certification. 

3. Unless otherwise exempted, the applicant shall have 

passed the examination provided by department or by a 

testing organization acting on behalf of the department. 

4. The applicant shall meet the experience requirements in 

18VAC120-50-50. 

5. In those instances where the applicant is required to take 

the certification examination, the applicant shall follow all 

rules established by the department or testing organization 

with regard to conduct at the examination. Such rules shall 

include all written instructions communicated prior to the 

examination date and all instructions communicated at the 

site, either written or oral, on the date of the examination. 

Failure to comply with all rules established by the 

department or the testing organization with regard to 

conduct at the examination shall be grounds for denial of 

the application and may result in the voiding of the 

examination or scores or both. 

6. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a 

statement certifying that the applicant has read and 

understands Chapter 23.4 (§ 54.1-2355 et seq.) of Title 

54.1 of the Code of Virginia and this chapter. 

7. The department may make further inquiries or 

investigations or require a personal interview with the 

applicant with respect to the qualification of the applicant 

to verify information and documentation, or to clarify 

information supplied. 

8. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant shall disclose the following information: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions within three years of the 

date of the application; and 

b. All felony convictions during his lifetime. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for the purpose of this subdivision. The record 

of conviction received from a court shall be accepted as 

prima facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. 

The department, at its discretion, may deny certification to 

any applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

9. The applicant shall report all suspensions, revocations, 

or surrender of a certificate or license that is connected 

with a disciplinary action or that has been the subject of 

discipline in any jurisdiction prior to applying for 

certification in Virginia. The director, at his discretion, 

may deny certification to any applicant based on prior 

suspensions, revocations, or surrender of certifications or 

licenses connected with disciplinary action by any 

jurisdiction. 

18VAC120-50-50. Evidence of ability and proficiency. 

A natural gas automobile mechanic or technician certificate 

shall be issued to an applicant who fulfills the requirements of 

18VAC120-50-40 and one of the following: 

1. One year of practical experience in the performance of 

services relating to the repair, conversion, or maintenance 

of motor vehicles that use, in whole or in part, natural gas 

as a fuel and successful completion of a training program 

approved by the director;  

2. A current license as a professional engineer and one year 

of practical experience in the performance of services 

relating to the repair, conversion, or maintenance of motor 

vehicles that use, in whole or in part, natural gas as a fuel;  

3. Successful completion of an apprenticeship program 

approved by the Virginia Apprenticeship Council or the 

U.S. Department of Labor, with a Dictionary of 
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Occupational Title or Standard Industrial Classification 

identifier approved by the director, which includes a 

minimum of one year of practical experience in the 

performance of services relating to the repair, conversion, 

or maintenance of motor vehicles that use, in whole or in 

part, natural gas as a fuel; or 

4. Three years of practical experience in the repair, 

conversion, or maintenance of motor vehicles that use, in 

whole or in part, natural gas as a fuel. 

18VAC120-50-60. Qualifications for licensure by 

reciprocity or substantial equivalency. 

Individuals certified or licensed as natural gas automobile 

mechanics or technicians by governing bodies located outside 

the Commonwealth of Virginia shall be in compliance with 

this chapter if the director has determined the certifying or 

licensing requirements to be substantially equivalent to the 

requirements in Virginia. In addition to the requirements set 

forth in 18VAC120-50-40, these individuals must meet the 

following requirements: 

1. The applicant shall have received the natural gas 

automobile mechanic or technician certification by virtue 

of having passed in the jurisdiction of original certification 

or licensing a written or oral examination deemed to be 

substantially equivalent to the Virginia examination; and 

2. The applicant shall be in good standing as a certified or 

licensed natural gas automobile mechanic or technician in 

every jurisdiction where certified or licensed, and the 

applicant shall not have had a certificate or license that has 

been suspended, revoked, or surrendered in connection 

with a disciplinary action or that has been the subject of 

discipline in any jurisdiction prior to applying for 

certification in Virginia. 

18VAC120-50-70. Application denial. 

The director may refuse initial certification due to an 

applicant's failure to comply with entry requirements or for 

any of the reasons the director may discipline a certified 

natural gas automobile mechanic or technician. 

18VAC120-50-80. Application fees. 

A. All fees are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated. The 

date on which the fee is received by the department or its 

agent will determine whether the fee has been submitted 

within the time requirements of this chapter. Checks or 

money orders shall be made payable to the Treasurer of 

Virginia. 

B. Fees are as follows: 

Fee Type Fee Amount When Due 

Original 

certification 

application 

$150 Upon submission 

of the application 

Expedited 

application - 

application will be 

reviewed within 

two business days 

$250 plus 

application 

fee 

Upon submission 

of the application 

C. The fee for examination or re-examination is subject to 

contracted charges by an outside vendor. These contracts are 

competitively negotiated and bargained for in compliance 

with the Virginia Public Procurement Act (§ 2.2-4300 et seq. 

of the Code of Virginia). The board may adjust the fee 

charged to candidates in accordance with these contracts.  

18VAC120-50-90. Renewal and reinstatement fees. 

A. All fees are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated. The 

date on which the fee is received by the department or its 

agent will determine whether the fee has been submitted 

within the time requirements of this chapter. Checks or 

money orders shall be made payable to the Treasurer of 

Virginia. 

B. Fees are as follows: 

Fee Type Fee Amount When Due 

Certification 

renewal 

$100 Within 60 days of, 

but no later than, 

the expiration date 

of the certification 

Certification 

reinstatement 

$150 - 

includes 

renewal fee 

Within one year of 

the expiration date 

of the certification 

18VAC120-50-100. Certificate fees. 

A. All fees are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated. The 

date on which the fee is received by the department or its 

agent will determine whether the fee has been submitted 

within time requirements set forth in this chapter. Checks or 

money orders shall be made payable to the Treasurer of 

Virginia. 

B. Fees are as follows: 

Fee Type Fee Amount When Due 

Wall certificate $40 Upon 

submission of 

the request for a 

wall certificate 

Duplicate pocket 

certification card 

First request 

within same 

licensing period 

- $0 

Second request 

within same 

licensing period 

- $25 

Third or 

subsequent 

request within 

five years - $50 

Upon 

submission of 

the request for a 

duplicate 

pocket 

certification 

card 
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C. Third and subsequent requests for duplicate certification 

pocket cards or wall certificates may result in the director 

initiating an investigation to determine if a violation has 

occurred. 

Part III 

Renewal and Reinstatement 

18VAC120-50-110. Renewal. 

A. Certifications issued under this chapter shall expire two 

years from the last day of the month in which they were 

issued. 

B. The department will mail a renewal notice to the regulant 

at the last known mailing address of record. Failure to receive 

this notice shall not relieve the regulant of the obligation to 

renew. 

C. Regulants may renew their certifications up to 60 days 

prior to the expiration date by submitting the fee specified in 

18VAC120-50-90. If the regulant fails to receive the renewal 

notice, a copy of the certification pocket card or wall 

certification may be submitted with the required fee as an 

application for renewal. 

D. By renewing the certification the regulant is attesting 

continued compliance with Part IV (Standards of Conduct 

and Practice) of this chapter.  

E. The director may deny renewal of a certification card for 

the same reasons that he may refuse initial issuance or that he 

may discipline a regulant. The regulant has a right to appeal 

any such action by the director under the Administrative 

Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

F. Failure to timely pay any monetary penalty, 

reimbursement of cost, or other fee assessed by consent order 

or final order shall result in delaying or withholding services 

provided by the department, such as, but not limited to, 

renewal, reinstatement, processing of a new application, or 

examination administration.  

18VAC120-50-120. Reinstatement. 

A. Should the department fail to receive the renewal 

application or fees by the expiration date, the regulant will be 

required to apply for reinstatement of the certification.  

B. The date on which the reinstatement fee is received by 

the department or its agent will determine whether the 

certification is reinstated or a new application is required.  

C. In order to ensure that certification holders are qualified 

to practice as certified natural gas automobile mechanics and 

technicians, no reinstatement will be permitted once one year 

from the expiration date has passed. After that date, the 

applicant must apply for a new certification and meet the then 

current entry requirements, including the successful 

completion of the examination.  

D. Any person who holds himself out as a certified natural 

gas automobile mechanic or technician, without the 

appropriate certification, may be subject to prosecution under 

Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

E. The director may deny reinstatement of a certification for 

the same reasons that he may refuse initial issuance or that he 

may discipline a regulant. The regulant has a right to appeal 

any such action by the director under the Virginia 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia). 

F. Failure to timely pay any monetary penalty, 

reimbursement of cost, or other fee assessed by consent order 

or final order shall result in delaying or withholding services 

provided by the department, such as, but not limited to, 

renewal, reinstatement, processing of a new application, or 

examination administration. 

18VAC120-50-130. Status of regulant during the period 

prior to reinstatement. 

A. When a regulant is reinstated, the individual shall 

continue to have the same certificate number and shall be 

assigned an expiration date two years from the previous 

expiration date.  

B. A regulant who reinstates his certification shall be 

regarded as having been continuously certified without 

interruption. Therefore, the regulant shall remain under the 

disciplinary authority of the board during this entire period 

and may be held accountable for activities during this period. 

Nothing in this chapter shall divest the director of the 

authority to discipline a regulant for a violation of the law or 

regulations during the period of certification.  

Part IV 

Standards of Conduct and Practice 

18VAC120-50-140. Grounds for disciplinary action. 

The director may place a regulant on probation; impose a 

monetary penalty; or revoke, suspend, or refuse to renew a 

certification when the regulant has been found to have 

violated or cooperated with others in violating any provisions 

of this chapter or Chapter 23.4 (§ 54.1-2355 et seq.) of Title 

54.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

18VAC120-50-150. Maintenance of certification. 

A. Any change of address shall be reported within 30 days 

of the change on a form provided by the department. The 

department shall not be responsible for the regulant's failure 

to receive notices or correspondence due to the regulant's 

failure to report a change of address. A post office box, 

private mail box, or other mailing service address alone is not 

acceptable as an address of record. 

B. Any name change of the regulant shall be reported within 

30 days of the change on a form provided by the department. 

The department shall not be responsible for the regulant's 

failure to receive notices or correspondence due to the 

regulant's failure to report a name change.  

18VAC120-50-160. Transfer of certification prohibited. 

No certification issued by the director shall be assigned or 

otherwise transferred.  
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18VAC120-50-170. Prohibited acts. 

A. All complaints against certified natural gas automobile 

mechanics and technicians may be filed with the department 

at any time during business hours, pursuant to subdivision A 

8 of § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. The following acts are prohibited: 

1. Failing in any material way to comply with the 

provisions of Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.) or Chapter 

23.4 (§ 54.1-2355 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia or the regulations of the department; 

2. Furnishing substantially inaccurate or incomplete 

information to the department in obtaining, renewing, 

reinstating, or maintaining a certification; 

3. Negligence or incompetence in the practice of 

alternative fuel vehicle repair, conversion, or maintenance; 

4. Misconduct in the practice of alternative fuel vehicle 

repair, conversion, or maintenance; 

5. Failing to respond to an agent of the department or 

providing false, misleading, or incomplete information to 

an investigator seeking information in the investigation of 

a complaint filed with the department against the regulant 

or failing or refusing to claim certified mail sent to the 

regulant's address of record shall constitute a violation of 

this regulation; 

6. Making any misrepresentation or making a false promise 

that might influence, persuade, or induce; 

7. Assisting another to violate any provision of Chapter 1 

(§ 54.1-100 et seq.) or Chapter 23.4 (§ 54.1-2355 et seq.) 

of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia or this chapter; or 

combining or conspiring with or acting as agent, partner, or 

associate for another to do so; 

8. Allowing one's certification to be used by another; 

9. After initial certification, being convicted or found 

guilty, regardless of adjudication in any jurisdiction, of any 

felony or of any misdemeanor, there being no appeal 

pending therefrom or the time of appeal having elapsed. 

Any plea of guilty or nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for the purposes of this subdivision. The record 

of a conviction received from a court shall be accepted as 

prima facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt; 

10. Failing to inform the department in writing within 30 

days that the regulant has pleaded guilty or nolo 

contendere or was convicted and found guilty of any 

felony or of a misdemeanor; and 

11. Failing to ensure that all work performed on natural gas 

fuel vehicles is consistent with the requirements set forth 

by the department, the U.S. Environmental Protection 

Agency, the California Air Resources Board, the National 

Fire Protection Agency 52: Vehicular Gaseous Fuel 

Systems Code, or other applicable authority as determined 

by the director. 

Part V 

Education Providers and Training Requirements 

18VAC120-50-180. Requirements for formal vocational 

training providers, instructor qualifications, and course 

requirements. 

A. The director is responsible for reviewing applications 

from education providers seeking board approval. Provider 

and course applications must be submitted by the 

department's established deadlines. 

B. The course provider shall submit an application for 

course approval in a format approved by the director. The 

application shall include, but is not limited to: 

1. The name of the provider; 

2. Provider contact person, address, and telephone number; 

3. Contact hours for each course submitted for approval; 

4. Schedule of courses, if established, including dates, 

time, and locations; 

5. Instructor information, including name, certification 

number, if applicable, and a list of other appropriate trade 

designations; 

6. Course and material fees for each course offered; and 

7. A syllabus for each course submitted for approval. 

C. Each applicant for approval as an instructor for an 

approved formal vocational training provider shall have one 

of the following qualifications: 

1. A Natural Gas Automobile Mechanic or Technician 

Certification issued by the director, or a comparable 

certification as determined by the director, and two 

consecutive years of discipline-free experience 

immediately prior to application; or 

2. A minimum of three years of active experience in the 

subject matter being taught. Such applicants shall teach 

only in the area of their expertise and will be required to 

furnish proof of their expertise that is satisfactory to the 

director.  

D. Approval of formal vocation training courses shall expire 

three years from the year in which the approval was issued, as 

indicated on the approval document. At the end of the three 

years, the course provider shall submit a new application to 

be approved by the director. 

E. The course provider must establish and maintain a record 

for each student. The record shall include the student's name 

and address; social security number or a control number 

issued by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles; the 

course name and clock hours attended; and the course 

syllabus or outline, the name or names of the instructor, the 

date of successful completion, and the board's course code. 

Records shall be available for inspection during normal 

business hours by authorized representatives of the board. 

Providers must maintain all student and class records for a 

minimum of five years. 
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F. The course provider must provide each student with a 

certificate of course completion or other documentation that 

the student may use as proof of course completion. Such 

documentation shall contain the hours of credit completed. 

Fifty contact minutes shall equal one credit hour. No credit 

shall be awarded for partial credit hours or partial completion 

of the course. 

G. The course provider certifies that the laws, regulations, 

and industry practices that will be taught or utilized in the 

course are up-to-date and that subsequent changes in the laws, 

regulations, or industry practices will be incorporated into the 

course curriculum as they occur. 

18VAC120-50-190. Educational provider and course 

approval fees. 

A. All fees are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated. The 

date on which the fee is received by the department or its 

agent will determine whether the fee has been submitted 

within the time requirements of this chapter. Checks or 

money orders shall be made payable to the Treasurer of 

Virginia.  

B. Fees are as follows: 

  Fee Type Fee 

Amount 

When Due 

  Formal 

education 

provider 

approval initial 

application fee 

$190 Upon submission 

of the school 

application 

  Course approval 

application fee 

$190 Upon submission 

of the course 

application 

18VAC120-50-200. Posting formal education provider 

certificate of approval. 

Copies of formal education provider certificates of approval 

must be available at the location a course is taught. 

18VAC120-50-210. Termination of approval. 

The director may withdraw approval of any formal 

vocational provider or course for any of the following 

reasons: 

1. The provider, instructors, courses, or subjects no longer 

meet the standards established by the director. 

2. The provider or instructor solicits information from any 

person for the purpose of discovering past examination 

questions or questions that may be used in future 

examinations. 

3. The provider or instructor distributes to any person 

copies of examination questions or otherwise 

communicates to any person examination questions 

without receiving the prior written approval of the owner 

to distribute or communicate those questions. 

4. The provider, through an agent or otherwise, advertises 

its services in a fraudulent, deceptive, or misrepresentative 

manner. 

5. Officials, instructors, or designees of the provider sit for 

the natural gas automobile technician or mechanic 

certification examination for any purpose other than to 

obtain a certification.  

6. The provider or instructor fails to allow any agent of the 

board access to facilities or records to conduct a review or 

audit of the approved courses, student records, or course 

materials. 

7. The provider fails to submit an electronic roster of 

students completing a course within seven business days in 

a method and in a format approved by the department. 

18VAC120-50-220. Course content. 

A. The following shall be included in the course that shall 

not have less than 24 classroom hours, of which four hours 

are hands on training: 

1. Conversions, repairs, and maintenance. 

2. Safety. 

3. National Fire Protection Agency 52: Vehicular Gaseous 

Fuel System Code. 

4. Principles of natural gas. 

5. Natural gas fuel line safety and inspection. 

6. Natural gas fuel container mounting. 

7. Fundamentals of natural gas engines. 

8. Practical lab. 

B. Courses shall be taught in a classroom environment. No 

online courses or correspondence courses shall be approved. 

18VAC120-50-230. Reporting changes. 

Any change in the information provided in subsection B of 

18VAC120-50-180  must be reported to the director within 

30 days of the change with the exception of changes in the 

schedule of courses, which must be reported within 10 days 

of the change. Failure to report the changes as required may 

result in the withdrawal of approval of the course provider by 

the director.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC120-50) 

Natural Gas Automobile Mechanics or Technicians 

Certification Application, A505-2310CERT-v1 (rev. 2/2016) 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a5773004029~1&typ=40&actno=004029&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a5773004029~1&typ=40&actno=004029&mime=application/pdf
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Natural Gas Automobile Mechanics or Technicians 

Experience Verification Form, A505-2310EXP-v3 (rev. 

2/2015) 

Natural Gas Automobile Mechanics or Technicians Training 

Provider Approval Application, A505-2330SCHL-v1 (rev. 

2/2015) 

Natural Gas Automobile Mechanics or Technicians Course 

Approval Application, A505-2331CRS-v4 (rev. 2/2016) 

Address Change Form, A406-ACHG-v5 (rev. 6/2015) 

Name Change Form, A406-NAMECHG-v4 (rev. 6/2015) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4029; Filed September 16, 2015, 2:14 p.m.  

REAL ESTATE APPRAISER BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 

exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations, provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The Real Estate Appraiser Board 

will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 

or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC130-20. Real Estate Appraiser 

Board Rules and Regulations (amending 18VAC130-20-

10).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2013 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Christine Martine, Executive Director, Real 

Estate Appraiser Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (804) 

527-4298, or email reappraisers@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment updates the edition of the Uniform 

Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice incorporated 

by reference in the regulations to the 2016-2017 version 

effective from January 1, 2016, through December 31, 

2017. 

Part I  

General  

18VAC130-20-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter, 

unless a different meaning is provided or is plainly required 

by the context, shall have the following meanings:  

"Accredited colleges, universities, junior and community 

colleges" means those accredited institutions of higher 

learning approved by the Virginia State Council of Higher 

Education for Virginia or listed in the Transfer Credit 

Practices of Designated Educational Institutions, published by 

the American Association of Collegiate Registrars and 

Admissions Officers or a recognized international equivalent.  

"Adult distributive or marketing education programs" means 

those programs offered at schools approved by the Virginia 

Department of Education or any other local, state, or federal 

government agency, board or commission to teach adult 

education or marketing courses.  

"Analysis" means a study of real estate or real property other 

than the estimation of value.  

"Appraisal Foundation" means the foundation incorporated 

as an Illinois Not for Profit Corporation on November 30, 

1987, to establish and improve uniform appraisal standards 

by defining, issuing and promoting such standards.  

"Appraisal subcommittee" means the designees of the heads 

of the federal financial institutions regulatory agencies 

established by the Federal Financial Institutions Examination 

Council Act of 1978 (12 USC § 3301 et seq.), as amended.  

"Appraiser" means one an individual who is expected to 

perform valuation services competently and in a manner that 

is independent, impartial and objective.  

"Appraiser classification" means any category of appraiser 

which the board creates by designating criteria for 

qualification for such category and by designating the scope 

of practice permitted for such category.  

"Appraiser Qualifications Board" means the board created 

by the Appraisal Foundation to establish appropriate criteria 

for the certification and recertification of qualified appraisers 

by defining, issuing and promoting such qualification criteria; 

to disseminate such qualification criteria to states, 

governmental entities and others; and to develop or assist in 

the development of appropriate examinations for qualified 

appraisers.  

"Appraiser trainee" means an individual who is licensed as 

an appraiser trainee to appraise those properties which the 

supervising appraiser is permitted to appraise.  

"Business entity" means any corporation, partnership, 

association or other business entity under which appraisal 

services are performed.  

"Certified general real estate appraiser" means an individual 

who meets the requirements for licensure that relate to the 

appraisal of all types of real estate and real property and is 

licensed as a certified general real estate appraiser.  

"Certified instructor" means an individual holding an 

instructor certificate issued by the Real Estate Appraiser 

Board to act as an instructor.  

"Certified residential real estate appraiser" means an 

individual who meets the requirements for licensure for the 

appraisal of or the review appraisal of any residential real 

estate or real property of one to four residential units 

regardless of transaction value or complexity. Certified 

residential real estate appraisers may also appraise or provide 

a review appraisal of nonresidential properties with a 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e054d004029~2&typ=40&actno=004029&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e054d004029~2&typ=40&actno=004029&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e054d004029~2&typ=40&actno=004029&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=77d43004029~3&typ=40&actno=004029&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=77d43004029~3&typ=40&actno=004029&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=77d43004029~3&typ=40&actno=004029&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=89685004029~4&typ=40&actno=004029&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=89685004029~4&typ=40&actno=004029&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0608a004029~5&typ=40&actno=004029&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=feb94004029~6&typ=40&actno=004029&mime=application/pdf
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transaction value or market value as defined by the Uniform 

Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice up to $250,000, 

whichever is the lesser.  

"Classroom hour" means 50 minutes out of each 60-minute 

segment. The prescribed number of classroom hours includes 

time devoted to tests which are considered to be part of the 

course.  

"Distance education" means an educational process based on 

the geographical separation of provider and student (i.e., CD-

ROM, online learning, correspondence courses, etc.).  

"Experience" as used in this chapter includes but is not 

limited to experience gained in the performance of traditional 

appraisal assignments, or in the performance of the following: 

fee and staff appraisals, ad valorem tax appraisal, review 

appraisal, appraisal analysis, real estate consulting, highest 

and best use analysis, and feasibility analysis/study.  

For the purpose of this chapter, experience has been divided 

into four major categories: (i) fee and staff appraisal, (ii) ad 

valorem tax appraisal, (iii) review appraisal, and (iv) real 

estate consulting.  

1. "Fee/staff appraiser experience" means experience 

acquired as either a sole appraiser, as a cosigner, or 

through disclosure of assistance in the certification in 

accordance with the Uniform Standards of Professional 

Appraisal Practice.  

Sole appraiser experience is experience obtained by an 

individual who makes personal inspections of real estate, 

assembles and analyzes the relevant facts, and by the use 

of reason and the exercise of judgment, forms objective 

opinions and prepares reports as to the market value or 

other properly defined value of identified interests in said 

real estate.  

Cosigner appraiser experience is experience obtained by an 

individual who signs an appraisal report prepared by 

another, thereby accepting full responsibility for the 

content and conclusions of the appraisal.  

To qualify for fee/staff appraiser experience, an individual 

must have prepared written appraisal reports after January 

30, 1989, that comply with the Uniform Standards of 

Professional Appraisal Practice in the edition in effect at 

the time of the reports' preparation, including Standards 1 

and 2.  

2. "Ad valorem tax appraisal experience" means 

experience obtained by an individual who assembles and 

analyzes the relevant facts, and who correctly employs 

those recognized methods and techniques that are 

necessary to produce and communicate credible appraisals 

within the context of the real property tax laws. Ad 

valorem tax appraisal experience may be obtained either 

through individual property appraisals or through mass 

appraisals as long as applicants under this category of 

experience can demonstrate that they are using techniques 

to value real property similar to those being used by 

fee/staff appraisers and that they are effectively utilizing 

the appraisal process.  

To qualify for ad valorem tax appraisal experience for 

individual property appraisals, an individual must have 

prepared written appraisal reports after January 30, 1989, 

that comply with the Uniform Standards of Professional 

Appraisal Practice in the edition in effect at the time of the 

reports' preparation.  

To qualify for ad valorem tax appraisal experience for 

mass appraisals, an individual must have prepared mass 

appraisals or have documented mass appraisal reports after 

January 30, 1989, that comply with the Uniform Standards 

of Professional Appraisal Practice in the edition in effect at 

the time of the reports' preparation, including Standard 6.  

In addition to the preceding, to qualify for ad valorem tax 

appraisal experience, the applicant's experience log must 

be attested to by the applicant's supervisor.  

3. "Reviewer experience" means experience obtained by an 

individual who examines the reports of appraisers to 

determine whether their conclusions are consistent with the 

data reported and other generally known information. An 

individual acting in the capacity of a reviewer does not 

necessarily make personal inspection of real estate, but 

does review and analyze relevant facts assembled by 

fee/staff appraisers, and by the use of reason and exercise 

of judgment, forms objective conclusions as to the validity 

of fee/staff appraisers' opinions. Reviewer experience shall 

not constitute more than 1,000 hours of total experience 

claimed and at least 50% of the review experience claimed 

must be in field review wherein the individual has 

personally inspected the real property which is the subject 

of the review.  

To qualify for reviewer experience, an individual must 

have prepared written reports after January 30, 1989, 

recommending the acceptance, revision, or rejection of the 

fee/staff appraiser's opinions that comply with the Uniform 

Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice in the edition 

in effect at the time of the reports' preparation, including 

Standard 3.  

Signing as "Review Appraiser" on an appraisal report 

prepared by another will not qualify an individual for 

experience in the reviewer category. Experience gained in 

this capacity will be considered under the cosigner 

subcategory of fee/staff appraiser experience.  

4. "Real estate consulting experience" means experience 

obtained by an individual who assembles and analyzes the 

relevant facts and by the use of reason and the exercise of 

judgment, forms objective opinions concerning matters 

other than value estimates relating to real property. Real 

estate consulting experience includes, but is not necessarily 

limited to, the following:  

Absorption Study  

Ad Valorem Tax Study  
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Annexation Study  

Assemblage Study  

Assessment Study  

Condominium Conversion Study  

Cost-Benefit Study  

Cross Impact Study  

Depreciation/Cost Study  

Distressed Property Study  

Economic Base Analysis  

Economic Impact Study  

Economic Structure Analysis  

Eminent Domain Study  

Feasibility Study  

Highest and Best Use Study  

Impact Zone Study  

Investment Analysis Study  

Investment Strategy Study  

Land Development Study  

Land Suitability Study  

Land Use Study  

Location Analysis Study  

Market Analysis Study  

Market Strategy Study  

Market Turning Point Analysis  

Marketability Study  

Portfolio Study  

Rehabilitation Study  

Remodeling Study  

Rental Market Study  

Right of Way Study  

Site Analysis Study  

Utilization Study  

Urban Renewal Study  

Zoning Study  

To qualify for real estate consulting experience, an 

individual must have prepared written reports after January 

30, 1989, that comply with the Uniform Standards of 

Professional Appraisal Practice in the edition in effect at 

the time of the reports' preparation, including Standards 4 

and 5. Real estate consulting shall not constitute more than 

500 hours of experience for any type of appraisal license.  

"Inactive license" means a license that has been renewed 

without meeting the continuing education requirements 

specified in this chapter. Inactive licenses do not meet the 

requirements set forth in § 54.1-2011 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Licensed residential real estate appraiser" means an 

individual who meets the requirements for licensure for the 

appraisal of or the review appraisal of any noncomplex, 

residential real estate or real property of one to four 

residential units, including federally related transactions, 

where the transaction value or market value as defined by the 

Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice is less 

than $1 million. Licensed residential real estate appraisers 

may also appraise or provide a review appraisal of 

noncomplex, nonresidential properties with a transaction 

value or market value as defined by the Uniform Standards of 

Professional Appraisal Practice up to $250,000, whichever is 

the lesser.  

"Licensee" means any individual holding an active license 

issued by the Real Estate Appraiser Board to act as a certified 

general real estate appraiser, certified residential real estate 

appraiser, licensed residential real estate appraiser, or 

appraiser trainee as defined, respectively, in § 54.1-2009 of 

the Code of Virginia and in this chapter.  

"Local, state or federal government agency, board or 

commission" means an entity established by any local, federal 

or state government to protect or promote the health, safety 

and welfare of its citizens.  

"Proprietary school" means a privately owned school 

offering appraisal or appraisal related courses approved by 

the board.  

"Provider" means accredited colleges, universities, junior 

and community colleges; adult distributive or marketing 

education programs; local, state or federal government 

agencies, boards or commissions; proprietary schools; or real 

estate appraisal or real estate related organizations.  

"Real estate appraisal activity" means the act or process of 

valuation of real property or preparing an appraisal report.  

"Real estate appraisal" or "real estate related organization" 

means any appraisal or real estate related organization 

formulated on a national level, where its membership extends 

to more than one state or territory of the United States.  

"Reciprocity agreement" means a conditional agreement 

between two or more states that will recognize one another's 

regulations and laws for equal privileges for mutual benefit.  

"Registrant" means any corporation, partnership, association 

or other business entity which provides appraisal services and 

which is registered with the Real Estate Appraiser Board in 

accordance with § 54.1-2011 E of the Code of Virginia.  

"Reinstatement" means having a license or registration 

restored to effectiveness after the expiration date has passed.  

"Renewal" means continuing the effectiveness of a license 

or registration for another period of time.  

"Sole proprietor" means any individual, but not a 

corporation, partnership or association, who is trading under 

his own name, or under an assumed or fictitious name 

pursuant to the provisions of §§ 59.1-69 through 59.1-76 of 

the Code of Virginia.  

"Substantially equivalent" means any educational course or 

seminar, experience, or examination taken in this or another 

jurisdiction which is equivalent in classroom hours, course 

content and subject, and degree of difficulty, respectively, to 

those requirements outlined in this chapter and Chapter 20.1 

(§ 54.1-2009 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia for 

licensure and renewal.  

"Supervising appraiser" means any individual holding a 

license issued by the Real Estate Appraiser Board to act as a 
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certified general real estate appraiser or certified residential 

real estate appraiser who supervises any unlicensed person 

individual acting as a real estate appraiser or an appraiser 

trainee as specified in this chapter.  

"Transaction value" means the monetary amount of a 

transaction which may require the services of a certified or 

licensed appraiser for completion. The transaction value is not 

always equal to the market value of the real property interest 

involved. For loans or other extensions of credit, the 

transaction value equals the amount of the loan or other 

extensions of credit. For sales, leases, purchases and 

investments in or exchanges of real property, the transaction 

value is the market value of the real property interest 

involved. For the pooling of loans or interests in real property 

for resale or purchase, the transaction value is the amount of 

the loan or the market value of real property calculated with 

respect to each such loan or interest in real property.  

"Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice" 

means the 2014-2015 2016-2017 edition of those standards 

promulgated by the Appraisal Standards Board of the 

Appraisal Foundation for use by all appraisers in the 

preparation of appraisal reports.  

"Valuation" means an estimate or opinion of the value of 

real property.  

"Valuation assignment" means an engagement for which an 

appraiser is employed or retained to give an analysis, opinion 

or conclusion that results in an estimate or opinion of the 

value of an identified parcel of real property as of a specified 

date.  

"Waiver" means the voluntary, intentional relinquishment of 

a known right.  

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(18VAC130-20)  

Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice, 2014-

2015 Edition, Appraisal Standards Board, Appraisal 

Foundation  

Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice, 2016-

2017 Edition, Appraisal Standards Board, Appraisal 

Foundation 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4512; Filed September 17, 2015, 2:18 p.m.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ed5e7004512~1&typ=40&actno=004512&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ed5e7004512~1&typ=40&actno=004512&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ed5e7004512~1&typ=40&actno=004512&mime=application/pdf
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GOVERNOR 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 48 (2015) 

Declaration of a State of Emergency for the 
Commonwealth of Virginia Due to Severe Weather 

and the Threat of Hurricane Joaquin Impacting 
Virginia 

Importance of the Initiative 

On this date, September 30, 2015, I am declaring a state of 

emergency to exist for the Commonwealth of Virginia based 

on the severe weather that began the morning of September 

29, 2015, as well as forecasts by the National Hurricane 

Center and National Weather Service projecting impacts from 

Hurricane Joaquin and a coastal nor'easter. This severe 

weather pattern could produce damaging high winds, periods 

of heavy rainfall, massive power outages, and flooding 

throughout the Commonwealth with the potential to impact 

life safety and create significant transportation issues. 

The health and general welfare of the citizens require that 

state action be taken to help alleviate the conditions caused by 

this situation. The effects of this incident constitute a disaster 

wherein human life and public and private property are 

imperiled, as described in § 44-146.16 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Therefore, by virtue of the authority vested in me by § 44-

146.17 of the Code of Virginia, as Governor and as Director 

of Emergency Management, and by virtue of the authority 

vested in me by Article V, Section 7 of the Constitution of 

Virginia and by § 44-75.1 of the Code of Virginia, as 

Governor and Commander-in-Chief of the armed forces of 

the Commonwealth, and subject always to my continuing and 

ultimate authority and responsibility to act in such matters, I 

hereby confirm, ratify, and memorialize in writing my verbal 

orders issued on this date, September 30, 2015, whereby I am 

proclaiming that a state of emergency exists, and has existed 

since the morning of September 29, 2015, and I am directing 

that appropriate assistance be rendered by agencies of both 

state and local governments to prepare for potential impacts 

of the storm, alleviate any conditions resulting from the 

incident, and to implement recovery and mitigation 

operations and activities so as to return impacted areas to pre-

event conditions in so far as possible. Pursuant to § 44-

75.1(A)(3) and (A)(4) of the Code of Virginia, I am also 

directing that the Virginia National Guard and the Virginia 

Defense Force be called forth to state active duty to be 

prepared to assist in providing such aid. This shall include 

Virginia National Guard assistance to the Virginia 

Department of State Police to direct traffic, prevent looting, 

and perform such other law-enforcement functions as the 

Superintendent of State Police, in consultation with the State 

Coordinator of Emergency Management, the Adjutant 

General, and the Secretary of Public Safety and Homeland 

Security, may find necessary. 

In order to marshal all public resources and appropriate 

preparedness, response, and recovery measures to meet this 

threat and recover from its effects, and in accordance with my 

authority contained in § 44-146.17 of the Code of Virginia, I 

hereby order the following protective and restoration 

measures: 

A. Implementation by state agencies of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia Emergency Operations Plan (COVEOP), as 

amended, along with other appropriate state agency plans. 

B. Activation of the Virginia Emergency Operations Center 

(VEOC) and the Virginia Emergency Support Team (VEST) 

to coordinate the provision of assistance to local 

governments. I am directing that the VEOC and VEST 

coordinate state actions in support of affected localities, other 

mission assignments to agencies designated in the COVEOP, 

and others that may be identified by the State Coordinator of 

Emergency Management, in consultation with the Secretary 

of Public Safety and Homeland Security, which are needed to 

provide for the preservation of life, protection of property, 

and implementation of recovery activities. 

C. Authorization to assume control over the Commonwealth's 

state-operated telecommunications systems, as required by 

the State Coordinator of Emergency Management, in 

coordination with the Virginia Information Technologies 

Agency, and with the consultation of the Secretary of Public 

Safety and Homeland Security, making all systems assets 

available for use in providing adequate communications, 

intelligence, and warning capabilities for the incident, 

pursuant to § 44-146.18 of the Code of Virginia. 

D. The evacuation of areas threatened or stricken by effects of 

the severe weather or hurricane as appropriate. Following a 

declaration of a local emergency pursuant to § 44-146.21 of 

the Code of Virginia, if a local governing body determines 

that evacuation is deemed necessary for the preservation of 

life or other emergency mitigation, response, or recovery 

effort, pursuant to § 44-146.17(1) of the Code of Virginia, I 

direct the evacuation of all or part of the populace therein 

from such areas and upon such timetable as the local 

governing body, in coordination with the VEOC, acting on 

behalf of the State Coordinator of Emergency Management, 

shall determine. Notwithstanding the foregoing, I reserve the 

right to direct and compel evacuation from the same and 

different areas and determine a different timetable both where 

local governing bodies have made such a determination and 

where local governing bodies have not made such a 

determination. Also, in those localities that have declared a 

local emergency pursuant to § 44-146.21 of the Code of 

Virginia, if the local governing body determines that 

controlling movement of persons is deemed necessary for the 

preservation of life, public safety, or other emergency 

mitigation, response, or recovery effort, pursuant to § 44-

146.17(1) of the Code of Virginia, I authorize the control of 

ingress and egress at an emergency area, including the 
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movement of persons within the area and the occupancy of 

premises therein upon such timetable as the local governing 

body, in coordination with the State Coordinator of 

Emergency Management and the VEOC, shall determine. 

Violations of any order to citizens to evacuate shall constitute 

a violation of this Executive Order and are punishable as a 

Class 1 misdemeanor. 

E. The activation, implementation, and coordination of 

appropriate mutual aid agreements and compacts, including 

the Emergency Management Assistance Compact (EMAC), 

and the authorization of the State Coordinator of Emergency 

Management to enter into any other supplemental 

agreements, pursuant to § 44-146.17(5) and § 44-146.28:1 of 

the Code of Virginia, to provide for the evacuation and 

reception of injured and other persons and the exchange of 

medical, fire, police, National Guard personnel and 

equipment, public utility, reconnaissance, welfare, 

transportation, and communications personnel, equipment, 

and supplies. The State Coordinator of Emergency 

Management is hereby designated as Virginia's authorized 

representative within the meaning of the Emergency 

Management Assistance Compact, § 44-146.28:1 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

F. The authorization of the Departments of State Police, 

Transportation, and Motor Vehicles to grant temporary 

overweight, over width, registration, or license exemptions to 

all carriers transporting essential emergency relief supplies, 

livestock or poultry, feed or other critical supplies for 

livestock or poultry, heating oil, motor fuels, or propane, or 

providing restoration of utilities (electricity, gas, phone, 

water, wastewater, and cable) in and through any area of the 

Commonwealth in order to support the disaster response and 

recovery, regardless of their point of origin or destination. 

Such exemptions shall not be valid on posted structures for 

restricted weight. 

All over width loads, up to a maximum of 12 feet, and over 

height loads up to a maximum of 14 feet must follow Virginia 

Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) hauling permit and 

safety guidelines. 

In addition to described overweight/over width transportation 

privileges, carriers are also exempt from registration with the 

Department of Motor Vehicles. This includes vehicles 

enroute and returning to their home base. The above-cited 

agencies shall communicate this information to all staff 

responsible for permit issuance and truck legalization 

enforcement. 

Authorization of the State Coordinator of Emergency 

Management to grant limited exemption of hours of service 

by any carrier when transporting essential emergency relief 

supplies, passengers, property, livestock, poultry, equipment, 

food, feed for livestock or poultry, fuel, construction 

materials, and other critical supplies to or from any portion of 

the Commonwealth for purpose of providing direct relief or 

assistance as a result of this disaster, pursuant to § 52-8.4 of 

the Code of Virginia and Title 49 Code of Federal 

Regulations, Section 390.23 and Section 395.3. 

The foregoing overweight/over width transportation 

privileges as well as the regulatory exemption provided by 

§ 52-8.4(A) of the Code of Virginia, and implemented in 

19VAC30-20-40(B) of the "Motor Carrier Safety 

Regulations," shall remain in effect for 30 days from the 

onset of the disaster, or until emergency relief is no longer 

necessary, as determined by the Secretary of Public Safety 

and Homeland Security in consultation with the Secretary of 

Transportation, whichever is earlier. 

G. The discontinuance of provisions authorized in paragraph 

F above may be implemented and disseminated by 

publication of administrative notice to all affected and 

interested parties. I hereby delegate to the Secretary of Public 

Safety and Homeland Security, after consultation with other 

affected Cabinet Secretaries, the authority to implement this 

order as set forth in § 2.2-104 of the Code of Virginia. 

H. The authorization of a maximum of $2,630,000 in state 

sum sufficient funds for state and local governments mission 

assignments authorized and coordinated through the Virginia 

Department of Emergency Management that are allowable as 

defined by The Stafford Act. This funding is also available 

for state response and recovery operations and incident 

documentation. Out of this state disaster sum sufficient, 

$350,000, or more if available, is authorized for the 

Department of Military Affairs for the state's portion of the 

eligible disaster related costs incurred for salaries, travel, and 

meals during mission assignments authorized and coordinated 

through the Virginia Department of Emergency Management. 

I. The authorization of a maximum of $250,000 for matching 

funds for the Individuals and Household Program, authorized 

by The Stafford Act (when presidentially authorized), to be 

paid from state funds. 

J. The implementation by public agencies under my 

supervision and control of their emergency assignments as 

directed in the COVEOP without regard to normal procedures 

pertaining to performance of public work, entering into 

contracts, incurring of obligations or other logistical and 

support measures of the Emergency Services and Disaster 

Laws, as provided in § 44-146.28(b) of the Code of Virginia. 

§ 44-146.24 of the Code of Virginia also applies to the 

disaster activities of state agencies. 

K. Designation of members and personnel of volunteer, 

auxiliary, and reserve groups including Search and Rescue 

(SAR), Virginia Associations of Volunteer Rescue Squads 

(VAVRS), Civil Air Patrol (CAP), member organizations of 

the Voluntary Organizations Active in Disaster (VOAD), 

Radio Amateur Civil Emergency Services (RACES), 

volunteer fire fighters, Citizen Corps Programs such as 

Medical Reserve Corps (MRCs), Community Emergency 
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Response Teams (CERTs), and others identified and tasked 

by the State Coordinator of Emergency Management for 

specific disaster related mission assignments as 

representatives of the Commonwealth engaged in emergency 

services activities within the meaning of the immunity 

provisions of § 44-146.23 A and F of the Code of Virginia, in 

the performance of their specific disaster-related mission 

assignments. 

L. The authorization of appropriate oversight boards, 

commissions, and agencies to ease building code restrictions 

and to permit emergency demolition, hazardous waste 

disposal, debris removal, emergency landfill siting, and 

operations and other activities necessary to address immediate 

health and safety needs without regard to time-consuming 

procedures or formalities and without regard to application or 

permit fees or royalties. 

M. The activation of the statutory provisions in § 59.1-525 et 

seq. of the Code of Virginia related to price gouging. Price 

gouging at any time is unacceptable. Price gouging is even 

more reprehensible during a time of disaster after issuance of 

a state of emergency. I have directed all applicable executive 

branch agencies to take immediate action to address any 

verified reports of price gouging of necessary goods or 

services. I make the same request of the Office of the 

Attorney General and appropriate local officials. I further 

request that all appropriate executive branch agencies 

exercise their discretion to the extent allowed by law to 

address any pending deadlines or expirations affected by or 

attributable to this disaster event. 

N. The following conditions apply to the deployment of the 

Virginia National Guard and the Virginia Defense Force: 

1. The Adjutant General of Virginia, after consultation with 

the State Coordinator of Emergency Management, shall 

make available on state active duty such units and members 

of the Virginia National Guard and Virginia Defense Force 

and such equipment as may be necessary or desirable to 

assist in preparations for this incident and in alleviating the 

human suffering and damage to property. 

2. Pursuant to § 52-6 of the Code of Virginia, I authorize 

the Superintendent of the Department of State Police to 

appoint any and all such Virginia Army and Air National 

Guard personnel called to state active duty as additional 

police officers as deemed necessary. These police officers 

shall have the same powers and perform the same duties as 

the State Police officers appointed by the Superintendent. 

However, they shall nevertheless remain members of the 

Virginia National Guard, subject to military command as 

members of the State Militia. Any bonds and/or insurance 

required by § 52-7 of the Code of Virginia shall be 

provided for them at the expense of the Commonwealth. 

3. In all instances, members of the Virginia National Guard 

and Virginia Defense Force shall remain subject to military 

command as prescribed by § 44-78.1 of the Code of 

Virginia and are not subject to the civilian authorities of 

county or municipal governments. This shall not be deemed 

to prohibit working in close cooperation with members of 

the Virginia Departments of State Police or Emergency 

Management or local law enforcement or emergency 

management authorities or receiving guidance from them in 

the performance of their duties. 

4. Should service under this Executive Order result in the 

injury or death of any member of the Virginia National 

Guard, the following will be provided to the member and 

the member's dependents or survivors: 

a. Workers' Compensation benefits provided to 

members of the National Guard by the Virginia 

Workers' Compensation Act, subject to the 

requirements and limitations thereof; and, in addition,  

b. The same benefits, or their equivalent, for injury, 

disability, and/or death, as would be provided by the 

federal government if the member were serving on 

federal active duty at the time of the injury or death. 

Any such federal-type benefits due to a member and 

his or her dependents or survivors during any calendar 

month shall be reduced by any payments due under the 

Virginia Workers' Compensation Act during the same 

month. If and when the time period for payment of 

Workers' Compensation benefits has elapsed, the 

member and his or her dependents or survivors shall 

thereafter receive full federal-type benefits for as long 

as they would have received such benefits if the 

member had been serving on federal active duty at the 

time of injury or death. Any federal-type benefits due 

shall be computed on the basis of military pay grade E-

5 or the member's military grade at the time of injury 

or death, whichever produces the greater benefit 

amount. Pursuant to § 44-14 of the Code of Virginia, 

and subject to the availability of future appropriations 

which may be lawfully applied to this purpose, I now 

approve of future expenditures out of appropriations to 

the Department of Military Affairs for such federal-

type benefits as being manifestly for the benefit of the 

military service. 

5. The following conditions apply to service by the 

Virginia Defense Force: 

a. Compensation shall be at a daily rate that is 

equivalent of base pay only for a National Guard Unit 

Training Assembly, commensurate with the grade and 

years of service of the member, not to exceed 20 years 

of service; 

b. Lodging and meals shall be provided by the Adjutant 

General or reimbursed at standard state per diem rates; 

c. All privately owned equipment, including, but not 

limited to, vehicles, boats, and aircraft, will be 
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reimbursed for expense of fuel. Damage or loss of said 

equipment will be reimbursed, minus reimbursement 

from personal insurance, if said equipment was 

authorized for use by the Adjutant General in 

accordance with § 44-54.12 of the Code of Virginia; 

d. In the event of death or injury, benefits shall be 

provided in accordance with the Virginia Workers' 

Compensation Act, subject to the requirements and 

limitations thereof. 

Upon my approval, the costs incurred by state agencies and 

other agents in performing mission assignments through the 

VEOC of the Commonwealth as defined herein and in § 44-

146.28 of the Code of Virginia, other than costs defined in the 

paragraphs above pertaining to the Virginia National Guard 

and pertaining to the Virginia Defense Force, in performing 

these missions shall be paid from state funds. 

Effective Date of this Executive Order 

This Executive Order shall be effective September 29, 2015, 

and continuing unless sooner amended or rescinded by further 

executive order. Termination of the Executive Order is not 

intended to terminate any federal-type benefits granted or to 

be granted due to injury or death as a result of service under 

this Executive Order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia, this 30th day of September, 

2015. 

/s/ Terence R. McAuliffe 

Governor 
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services conducted 

a small business impact review of 2VAC5-510, Rules and 

Regulations Governing the Production, Processing, and 

Sale of Ice Cream, Frozen Desserts, and Similar Products, 

and determined that this regulation should be retained in its 

current form. The Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services is publishing its report of findings dated September 

8, 2015, to support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-

4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

The regulation should be retained in its current form as it 

provides sufficient safeguards to ensure the safe manufacture 

and distribution of ice cream and frozen desserts in the 

Commonwealth. The agency has not received any comments 

or complaints about the regulation from the public. The 

regulation is clearly written and allows for the safe 

manufacture of various forms of ice cream and frozen 

desserts. This regulation is adopted from the U.S. Department 

of Agriculture model regulations for the production of frozen 

desserts and ice cream. The regulation does not conflict with 

any state or federal regulation. This regulation has been 

reviewed periodically and was last amended in 2008 to 

incorporate recommendations from the Attorney General's 

Government and Regulatory Reform Task Force. Although 

certain portions of the industry have evolved, the regulation is 

still relevant and helps to ensure the safe production of ice 

cream and frozen desserts. This regulation is consistent with 

the stated objectives of § 3.2-5212 of the Code of Virginia. 

The regulation is not overly burdensome to the industry, 

including the small businesses within the industry, is clear 

and concise, and is necessary to ensure the safe production of 

ice cream and frozen desserts. 

Contact Information: Robert Trimmer, Dairy Services 

Program Supervisor, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-1452, FAX (804) 371-7792, or email 

robert.trimmer@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA BOARD FOR ASBESTOS, LEAD, AND 
HOME INSPECTORS 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Virginia Board for 

Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors is currently reviewing 

each of the regulations listed below to determine whether the 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. The review of each regulation will be guided by 

the principles in Executive Order 17 (2014). Public comment 

is sought on the review of any issue relating to each 

regulation, including whether the regulation (i) is necessary 

for the protection of public health, safety, and welfare or for 

the economical performance of important governmental 

functions; (ii) minimizes the economic impact on small 

businesses in a manner consistent with the stated objectives 

of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly written and easily 

understandable. 

18VAC15-11, Public Participation Guidelines 

18VAC15-20, Virginia Asbestos Licensing Regulations 

18VAC15-30, Virginia Lead-Based Paint Activities 

Regulations 

18VAC15-40, Virginia Certified Home Inspectors 

Regulations 

The comment period begins October 19, 2015, and ends 

November 9, 2015. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Town Hall, and a report of the small business 

impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

Contact Information: Trisha Henshaw, Executive Director, 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 

telephone (804) 367-8595, FAX (866) 350-5354, or email 

alhi@dpor.virginia.gov. 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Department of Criminal 

Justice Services and the Criminal Justice Services Board is 

conducting a periodic review and small business impact 

review of 6VAC20-70, Rules Relating to Compulsory 

Minimum Training Standards for Noncustodial 

Employees of the Department of Corrections. 

The review of this regulation will be guided by the principles 

in Executive Order 17 (2014).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 
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with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

The comment period begins October 19, 2015, and ends 

November 19, 2015. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall at 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 

may also be sent to Barbara Peterson-Wilson, Law 

Enforcement Program Coordinator, Washington Building, 

1100 Bank Street, 12th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 225-4503, FAX (804) 786-0410, or email 

barbara.peterson-wilson@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Town Hall and a report of the small business 

impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

FAIR HOUSING BOARD 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Fair Housing Board is 

currently reviewing each of the regulations listed below to 

determine whether the regulation should be repealed, 

amended, or retained in its current form. The review of each 

regulation will be guided by the principles in Executive Order 

17 (2014). Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to each regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

18VAC62-10, Public Participation Guidelines 

18VAC62-20, Fair Housing Certification Regulations 

The comment period begins October 19, 2015, and ends 

November 9, 2015. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Town Hall, and a report of the small business 

impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

Contact Information: Christine Martine, Executive Director, 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 

telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (866) 826-8863, or email 

fairhousing@dpor.virginia.gov. 

BOARD FOR HEARING AID SPECIALISTS AND 
OPTICIANS 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Board for Hearing Aid 

Specialists and Opticians is currently reviewing each of the 

regulations listed below to determine whether the regulation 

should be repealed, amended, or retained in its current form. 

The review of each regulation will be guided by the principles 

in Executive Order 17 (2014). Public comment is sought on 

the review of any issue relating to each regulation, including 

whether the regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of 

public health, safety, and welfare or for the economical 

performance of important governmental functions; (ii) 

minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 

manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable 

law; and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable. 

18VAC80-11, Public Participation Guidelines 

18VAC80-20, Board for Hearing Aid Specialists 

Regulations 

18VAC80-30, Opticians Regulations 

The comment period begins October 19, 2015, and ends 

November 9, 2015. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Town Hall, and a report of the small business 

impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

Contact Information: Demetrios J. Melis, Executive Director, 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 

telephone (804) 367-8590, FAX (804) 527-4295, or email 

hearingaidspec@dpor.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Department of Labor and Industry conducted a small business 

impact review of 16VAC15-40, Virginia Hours of Work for 

Minors, and determined that this regulation should be 

retained in its current form. The Department of Labor and 

Industry is publishing its report of findings dated September 
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21, 2015, to support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-

4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

This regulation should have minimal economic impact on 

small businesses. The regulation also offers clarity and 

guidance for small businesses that employ minors under 16 

years of age. The regulatory language is clear and avoids 

complexity. This regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or 

conflict with federal or state law or regulation. This 

regulation was last reviewed four years ago. There have not 

been significant changes in technology, economic conditions, 

or other factors in the area affected by the regulation since it 

became effective. The agency has determined that retaining 

the regulation without amendment is consistent with the 

stated objectives of applicable law and is the most effective 

way to minimize the economic impact of regulations on small 

businesses. 

Contact Information: Reba O'Connor, Regulatory 

Coordinator, Virginia Department of Labor and Industry, 600 

East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, email 

oconnor.reba@dol.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Department of Labor and Industry conducted a small business 

impact review of 16VAC15-50, Regulation Governing the 

Employment of Minors on Farms, in Gardens and in 

Orchards, and determined that this regulation should be 

retained in its current form. The Department of Labor and 

Industry is publishing its report of findings dated September 

21, 2015, to support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-

4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

This regulation should have minimal economic impact on 

small businesses. The regulation offers clarity and guidance 

for small businesses that employ minors to work on farms, in 

gardens, and in orchards. The regulatory language is clear and 

avoids complexity. This regulation does not overlap, 

duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law or regulation. 

This regulation was last reviewed four years ago. There have 

not been significant changes in technology, economic 

conditions, or other factors in the area affected by the 

regulation since it became effective. The agency has 

determined that retaining the regulation without amendment 

is consistent with the stated objectives of applicable law and 

is the most effective way to minimize the economic impact of 

regulations on small businesses.  

Contact Information: Reba O'Connor, Regulatory 

Coordinator, Virginia Department of Labor and Industry, 600 

East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, email 

oconnor.reba@dol.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Comment Period for Delivery System Reform 
Incentive Payment 

Virginia is accelerating transformation of its Medicaid 

delivery system to ensure that high-value care is the norm, 

and that even the most medically complex enrollees with 

significant behavioral, physical, sensory, and developmental 

disabilities can live safely and thrive in the community. To 

begin this process, the Virginia Department of Medical 

Assistance Services (DMAS) is seeking approval of a 

demonstration project under § 1115 of the Social Security Act 

(Act) to implement three strategic initiatives. Alignment of 

the following three initiatives creates a powerful opportunity 

to strengthen and integrate Virginia Medicaid's community 

delivery structure and accelerate a shift toward value-based 

payment. 

1. Medicaid Managed Long Term Services and Supports 

(MLTSS); 

2. Continuum of Care for Individuals with Substance Use 

Disorders (SUD); and 

3. Delivery System Reform Incentive Payment (DSRIP). 

DMAS recognizes that this approach is monumental, however 

the opportunity is great. To accomplish this, DMAS seeks to 

build on its current managed care delivery system and extend 

access to managed care through the MLTSS initiative. 

MLTSS will provide coordinated medical, behavioral health, 

and long-term care services and supports for over 100,000 

enrollees who are still receiving at least a portion of their care 

through fee-for-service. In addition, DMAS intends to take 

advantage of the newly proposed opportunity to strengthen 

the capability to identify substance use disorder (SUD) 

among Medicaid members, and redesign the benefits offered 

and community support structure for those who need access 

to these critical services. By aligning SUD with the 

implementation of MLTSS and DSRIP, Virginia can 

accelerate the transition to contracting for care and services 

based on value, not utilization. Further, enrollees will have a 

better care experience when DSRIP is used to invest in 

resources that offer an enhanced person-centered care model, 

access to integrated services and providers, and expanded 

availability of community supports and services. 

Current Request for Public Comment on DSRIP 

DMAS' ultimate approach will combine these three initiatives 

into one § 1115 waiver application with the Centers for 

Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS). Due to the 

importance and complexity of this effort, however, DMAS 

believes that soliciting input independently for each initiative 

will yield the most comprehensive, focused, and valuable 

input. DMAS has posted a concept paper on its website 
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(www.dmas.virginia.gov) that describes the design of the 

DSRIP portion of this waiver application. 

All public comments pertaining to DSRIP and the concept 

paper should be received by DMAS no later than 4 p.m. EST 

on Monday, October 19, 2015. All submissions shall be 

Microsoft Word documents, 12-point, Times New Roman 

font, and no more than five individual pages. 

Mail Submission - written comments shall be addressed to 

Ashley Hazelton, Department of Medical Assistance 

Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 

23219. 

Electronic Submission - for ease in compilation of comments, 

please ensure the submission is a Microsoft Word document, 

adhering to the instructions below. Please submit the 

electronic submission as an email attachment 

to: dsrip@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Due to the significant amount of stakeholder input expected, 

it is important that the department have a method to catalogue 

and consider all received information. Please adhere to the 

instructions in order to ensure that all valued comment and 

feedback is incorporated into the stakeholder review process. 

Please note, DMAS must adhere to the Freedom of 

Information Act (FOIA) standards. Therefore, once public 

comment is submitted, that information is in the public 

domain and may be made available on the DMAS website or 

to any entity that requests it. Please make every effort to 

refrain from including proprietary or protected health 

information in comments, as striking this information is 

cumbersome for DMAS staff. 

Specific Instructions 

The key components for DSRIP feedback include the four 

transformation steps that Virginia Medicaid must take 

through the support of DSRIP: 

1. Integrate service delivery; 

2. Build a data platform for integration and usability; 

3. Build community capacity; and, 

4. Redesign how DMAS pays for services. 

In addition to public comment regarding components found in 

the concept paper, please submit questions that will assist the 

Department in clarifying the role of DSRIP in Virginia. 

DMAS will compile these questions and provide responses 

within several weeks of the close of the public comment 

period. 

Any person who or entity that is considering participating in 

DSRIP should please include in public comment the 

following: (i) contact information and (ii) information 

pertaining to projected implementation needs and appropriate 

timelines to achieve readiness and successful engagement in 

the DSRIP demonstration. 

This is the initial opportunity to provide formal public 

comment to the waiver application process. However, DMAS 

intends to seek additional stakeholder input throughout the 

DSRIP process. Please visit the DMAS DSRIP webpage 

often to see the latest materials and progress on the DSRIP 

development Questions can be sent 

to dsrip@dmas.virginia.gov. DMAS thanks participants in 

advance for making Virginia successful in this important 

delivery system transformation initiative. 

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Policy and Planning 

Manager II, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 

East Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

371-4300. 

BOARD FOR PROFESSIONAL SOIL SCIENTISTS, 
WETLAND PROFESSIONALS, AND GEOLOGISTS 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Board for Professional 

Soil Scientists, Wetland Professionals, and Geologists is 

currently reviewing each of the regulations listed below to 

determine whether the regulation should be repealed, 

amended, or retained in its current form. The review of each 

regulation will be guided by the principles in Executive Order 

17 (2014). Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to each regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

18VAC145-11, Public Participation Guidelines 

18VAC145-20, Professional Soil Scientists Regulations 

18VAC145-30, Regulations Governing Certified 

Professional Wetland Delineators 

18VAC145-40, Regulations for the Geology Certification 

Program 

The comment period begins October 19, 2015, and ends 

November 9, 2015. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Town Hall, and a report of the small business 

impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

Contact Information: Kathleen R. Nosbisch, Executive 

Director, Department of Professional and Occupational 

http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/
mailto:dsrip@dmas.virginia.gov
mailto:DSRIP@dmas.virginia.gov
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Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA, 

23233, telephone (804) 367-8514, FAX (866) 465-6206, or 

email soilscientist@dpor.virginia.gov. 

REAL ESTATE APPRAISER BOARD 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Real Estate Appraiser 

Board is currently reviewing each of the regulations listed 

below to determine whether the regulation should be 

repealed, amended, or retained in its current form. The review 

of each regulation will be guided by the principles in 

Executive Order 17 (2014). Public comment is sought on the 

review of any issue relating to each regulation, including 

whether the regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of 

public health, safety, and welfare or for the economical 

performance of important governmental functions; (ii) 

minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 

manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable 

law; and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable. 

18VAC130-11, Public Participation Guidelines 

18VAC130-20, Real Estate Appraiser Board Rules and 

Regulations 

The comment period begins October 19, 2015, and ends 

November 9, 2015. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Town Hall, and a report of the small business 

impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

Contact Information: Christine Martine, Executive Director, 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 

telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (866) 826-8863, or email 

reappraisers@dpor.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Consent Order for Atlantic Waste 
Disposal, Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Atlantic Waste 

Disposal, Inc., for violations at the landfill located at 3474 

Atlantic Lane in Waverly, Virginia. The State Water Control 

Board proposes to issue a consent order to address 

noncompliance with its Virginia Water Protection Permit at 

the landfill. A description of the proposed action is available 

at the Department of Environmental Quality office named 

below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Frank Lupini will 

accept comments by email at frank.lupini@deq.virginia.gov, 

FAX at (804) 527-5106, or postal mail at Department of 

Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A 

Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, from October 19, 2015, 

through November 20, 2015. 

Proposed Consent Order for Whispering Winds, 
LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Whispering 

Winds, LLC for violations at the Whispering Winds Mobile 

Home Park and the Oak Shades Mobile Home Park. The 

action seeks to resolve the unpermitted withdrawal of 

groundwater in a groundwater management area. The consent 

order describes a settlement to resolve these violations. A 

description of the proposed action is available online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. Lee Crowell will accept comments by 

email at lee.crowell@deq.virginia.gov or by postal mail at 

Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23219, from October 19, 2015, through 

November 18, 2015. 

Total Maximum Daily Loads Development for Kerr 
River Tributaries for Bacteria 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) seeks 

written and oral comments from interested persons on the 

development of total maximum daily loads (TMDLs) for Kerr 

River Tributaries for bacteria in Charlotte, Mecklenburg, and 

Brunswick Counties. These streams are listed on the § 303(d) 

TMDL Priority List and Report as impaired due to violations 

of the state's water quality standards for recreation use due to 

elevated levels of bacteria. 

Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C 

of the State Water Control Law require DEQ to develop 

TMDLs for pollutants responsible for each impaired water 

contained in Virginia's § 303(d) TMDL Priority List and 

Report.  

Little Bluestone Creek (VAC-L77R_LNE01A98) is located 

in Mecklenburg County. It is 9.38 miles in length and begins 

at the fork upstream of Route 696 to Kerr Reservoir.  

Bluestone Creek (VAC-L77R_BST02A06) is located in 

Charlotte and Mecklenburg Counties. It is 8.25 miles in 

length and begins from its headwaters to Moddy Creek.  

Allen Creek, Unnamed Tributary (VAC-L78R_XUQ01A04) 

is located in Mecklenburg County. It is 1.24 miles in length 

and includes the entire tributary located just south of the 

intersection of Redlawn and Baskerville Roads.  

Allen Creek (VAC-L78R_ALN03A04) is located in 

Mecklenburg County. It is 8.97 miles in length and begins at 

Layton Creek downstream to Cox Creek.  

Allen Creek (VAC-L78R_ALN04A06) is located in 

Mecklenburg County. It is 15.28 miles in length and begins 

from its headwaters to Layton Creek.  
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Layton Creek (VAC-L78R_LYT01A06) is located in 

Mecklenburg County. It is 8.64 miles in length and begins 

from its headwaters to its confluence with Allen Creek.  

Cotton Creek (VAC-L78R_CTT01A08) is located in 

Mecklenburg County. It is 4.39 miles in length and begins 

from its headwaters to its mouth on the Roanoke River.  

Kettles Creek (VAC-L78R_KTT01A12) is located in 

Mecklenburg County. It is 5.48 miles in length and begins 

from its headwaters to the mouth.  

Smith Creek (VACL79R_SMI01A08) is located in 

Mecklenburg County. It is 1.89 miles in length and begins at 

the Virginia/North Carolina state line to its mouth on Kerr 

Reservoir.  

Lizard Creek (VAC-L81R_LIZ01A10) is located in 

Brunswick County. It is 2.73 miles in length and begins from 

its headwaters to Lake Gaston. 

The first public meeting on the development of the TMDL to 

address the primary contact use for these segments will be 

held on October 28, 2015, 6:30 p.m. until 8:30 p.m., 461 

Madison Street, Council Chambers, Boydton, VA 23917. In 

case of inclement weather, the alternate meeting date is 

October 29, 2015, 6:30 p.m. until 8:30 p.m., 461 Madison 

Street, Council Chambers, Boydton, VA 23917.  

The public comment period begins on October 29, 2015, and 

ends November 30, 2016.  

An advisory committee to assist in development of this 

TMDL will be established. Persons interested in assisting 

should notify the DEQ contact person by the end of the 

comment period and provide name, address, phone number, 

email address and the organization represented (if any). 

Notification of the composition of the panel will be sent to all 

applicants.  

A component of a TMDL is the wasteload allocation (WLA); 

therefore, this notice is provided pursuant § 2.2-4006 A 14 of 

the Administrative Process Act for any future adoption of the 

TMDL WLAs. 

Information on the development of the TMDLs for the 

impairments is available upon request. Questions or 

information requests should be addressed to the DEQ contact 

person listed below. Please note, all written comments should 

include the name, address, and telephone number of the 

person submitting the comments and should be sent to Paula 

Nash, Department of Environmental Quality, 7705 

Timberlake Road, Lynchburg, VA 24502, telephone (434) 

582-6216, or email paula.nash@deq.virginia.gov. 

Notice of Public Meeting and Public Comment for a 
Total Maximum Daily Load Implementation Plan for 
the Banister River, Winn Creek, and Terrible Creek 

Watersheds 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) seeks 

written and oral comments from interested persons on the 

development of a total maximum daily load (TMDL) 

implementation plan for the Banister River, Winn Creek, and 

Terrible Creek watersheds in Halifax County. The Banister 

River and Winn Creek were first listed as impaired on the 

Virginia's § 303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report due to 

violations of the state's water quality standard for bacteria in 

2008. Terrible Creek was first listed as impaired on the 

Virginia's § 303(D) TMDL Priority List and Report due to 

violations of the state's water quality standard for bacteria in 

2014. The streams have remained on the § 303(d) list for 

these impairments since then.  

The impaired segment of the Banister River extends 2.39 

miles from the confluence of Wolf Trap Creek to the mouth 

on the Dan River. The impaired segment of Winn Creek 

extends 6.94 miles from the headwaters to the mouth on the 

Banister River. The impaired segment of Terrible Creek 

extends 4.77 miles from the confluence of Little Terrible 

Creek to the mouth on the Banister River.  

Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C 

of the Code of Virginia require DEQ to develop TMDLs for 

pollutants responsible for each impaired water contained in 

Virginia's § 303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report. In 

addition, § 62.1-44.19:7 C of the Code of Virginia requires 

expeditious implementation of total maximum daily loads 

when appropriate. The implementation plan (IP) should 

provide measurable goals and the date of expected 

achievement of water quality objectives. The IP should also 

include the corrective actions needed and their associated 

costs, benefits, and environmental impacts. DEQ completed 

bacteria TMDLs for the Banister River and Winn Creek 

watershed in May 2013. The TMDLs were approved by the 

Environmental Protection Agency on July 2013. The TMDL 

report is available on the DEQ website at 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityIn

formationTMDLs/ 

TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/ApprovedTMDLReports.aspx. 

The final public meeting will be held to finalize the 

development of this TMDL implementation plan Tuesday, 

October 27, 2015, from 6:30 p.m. until 8:30 p.m. at the Mary 

Bethune Administration Building Board Room, 1030 

Cowford Road, Halifax, VA 24558. 

In case of inclement weather, the alternate meeting date is 

Thursday, October 29, 2015, from 6:30 p.m. until 8:30 p.m. at 

the Mary Bethune Administration Building Board Room, 

1030 Cowford Road, Halifax, VA 24558. 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLImplementation/TMDLImplementationPlans.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLImplementation/TMDLImplementationPlans.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLImplementation/TMDLImplementationPlans.aspx
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The public comment period begins on October 28, 2015, and 

ends on November 30, 2015. Written comments should 

include the name, address, and telephone number of the 

person submitting the comments and should be sent to Paula 

Nash, Department of Environmental Quality, 7705 

Timberlake Road, Lynchburg, VA 24502, telephone (434) 

582-6216, or email paula.nash@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, General Assembly Building, 201 North 9th 

Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: Voice 

(804) 786-3591; Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

http://www.virginia.gov/connect/commonwealth-calendar. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 

 

varegs@dls.virginia.gov
http://www.virginia.gov/connect/commonwealth-calendar
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
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