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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 

publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 

days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 

necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 

clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 

comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 

to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 

completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 

comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 

than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 

period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 

appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 

may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 

objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 

will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 

by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 

with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 

Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 

substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 

30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 

public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 

receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 

comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 

inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 

certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 

process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 

provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 

objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 

consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 

Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 

emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 

regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 

law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 

days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 

operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 

unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 

more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 

months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 

Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 

procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 

agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 

Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 

regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 

180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 

chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 

prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

29:5 VA.R. 1075-1192 November 5, 2012, refers to Volume 29, Issue 

5, pages 1075 through 1192 of the Virginia Register issued on  

November 5, 2012. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

James M. LeMunyon, Vice Chair, Gregory D. Habeeb; Ryan T. 

McDougle; Pamela S. Baskervill; Robert L. Calhoun; Carlos L. 

Hopkins; E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; Christopher R. 

Nolen; Timothy Oksman; Charles S. Sharp; Robert L. Tavenner. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 

Karen Perrine, Assistant Registrar; Anne Bloomsburg, Regulations 
Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Operations 

Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011


PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 
This schedule is available on the Register's Internet home page (http://register.dls.virginia.gov). 

Volume 32, Issue 7 Virginia Register of Regulations November 30, 2015 

1134 

PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

November 2015 through December 2016 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

32:7 November 10, 2015 (Tuesday) November 30, 2015 

32:8 November 24, 2015 (Tuesday) December 14, 2015 

32:9 December 9, 2015 December 28, 2015 

32:10 December 21, 2015 (Monday) January 11, 2016 

32:11 January 6, 2016 January 25, 2016 

32:12 January 20, 2016 February 8, 2016 

32:13 February 3, 2016 February 22, 2016 

32:14 February 17, 2016 March 7, 2016 

32:15 March 2, 2016 March 21, 2016 

32:16 March 16, 2016 April 4, 2016 

32:17 March 30, 2016 April 18, 2016 

32:18 April 13, 2016 May 2, 2016 

32:19 April 27, 2016 May 16, 2016 

32:20 May 11, 2016 May 30, 2016 

32:21 May 25, 2016 June 13, 2016 

32:22 June 8, 2016 June 27, 2016 

32:23 June 22, 2016 July 11, 2016 

32:24 July 6, 2016 July 25, 2016 

32:25 July 20, 2016 August 8, 2016 

32:26 August 3, 2016 August 22, 2016 

33:1 August 17, 2016 September 5, 2016 

33:2 August 31, 2016 September 19, 2016 

33:3 September 14, 2016 October 3, 2016 

33:4 September 28, 2016 October 17, 2016 

33:5 October 12, 2016 October 31, 2016 

33:6 October 26, 2016 November 14, 2016 

33:7 November 9, 2016 November 28, 2016 

33:8 November 22, 2016 (Tuesday) December 12, 2016 

33:9 December 7, 2016 December 26, 2016 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services has WITHDRAWN the Notice of 

Intended Regulatory Action (NOIRA) for 12VAC30-130, 

Amount, Duration and Scope of Selected Services, which 

was published in 30:10 VA.R.1286 January 13, 2014. The 

NOIRA is unnecessary as the agency is proceeding with this 

regulatory action through the fast-track rulemaking process 

under § 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia. The fast-track 

rulemaking action was published in 32:4 VA.R. 468-479 

October 19, 2015. 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-2290; Filed November 6, 2015, 8:14 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Safety and Health Codes Board 

intends to consider promulgating 16VAC25-200, Virginia 

Voluntary Protection Program. The purpose of the 

proposed action is to adopt definitions, rules, and standards 

required by § 40.1-49.13 of the Code of Virginia that are 

needed to operate the Virginia Voluntary Protection Program 

(VPP). The VPP is designed to recognize and promote 

exceptional safety and health management programs. In VPP, 

the Department of Labor and Industry's Occupational Safety 

and Health Program, management, and labor establish a 

cooperative relationship at a general industry or public sector 

workplace that has implemented a strong safety and health 

program.  

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 40.1-49.13 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 31, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Regina P. Cobb, Agency Management 

Analyst Senior, Department of Labor and Industry, Main 

Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, Suite 207, Richmond, 

VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-0610, FAX (804) 786-8418, 

or email cobb.regina@dol.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4468; Filed November 2, 2015, 9:12 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

COMMON INTEREST COMMUNITY BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Common Interest Community 

Board intends to consider amending 18VAC48-70, Common 

Interest Community Ombudsman Regulations. The 

purpose of the proposed action is to consider amending the 

regulation pertaining to the timeframe for establishing the 

complaint process as well as to consider other revisions 

necessary to ensure that the regulations complement the 

current law, provide minimal burdens on regulants while still 

protecting the public, and reflect current procedures and 

policies of the Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2349 and 55-530 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 30, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Trisha Henshaw, Executive Director, 

Common Interest Community Board, Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-

8510, FAX (866) 490-2723, or email cic@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4523; Filed November 2, 2015, 3:11 p.m.  

BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board for Contractors intends to 

consider amending 18VAC50-30, Individual License and 

Certification Regulations. The purpose of the proposed 

action is to amend the current requirements for the approval 

of vocational training and continuing education providers, 

courses, and instructors. During the past two years the Board 

for Contractors has reviewed its education requirements for 

vocational training and continuing education providers. As 

part of a workgroup organized by the board for the purpose of 

reviewing the education standards, several recommendations 

were made that included the regular review of course content, 

audit requirements, security enhancements to ensure the 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=4257
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=5207
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=5207


Notices of Intended Regulatory Action 

Volume 32, Issue 7 Virginia Register of Regulations November 30, 2015 

1136 

identity of individuals taking the courses, standardized 

application procedures, and other changes that would enhance 

the effectiveness of the requirements. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 30, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, Board for 

Contractors, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (866) 430-1033, or 

email contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4354; Filed November 9, 2015, 8:37 a.m.  

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Dentistry intends to 

consider amending 18VAC60-20, Regulations Governing 

Dental Practice. The purpose of the proposed action is to 

require that a dentist who administers conscious/moderate 

sedation or deep sedation/general anesthesia maintain a 

capnograph/end tidal CO2 monitor in working order and 

immediately available to areas where patients will be sedated 

and recover from sedation. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2709.5 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 30, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 

Dentistry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4538, FAX (804) 527-

4428, or email sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4438; Filed October 30, 2015, 2:39 p.m.  

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Medicine intends to 

consider amending 18VAC85-150, Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Behavior Analysis. The purpose of the 

proposed action is to amend renewal requirements to match 

the continuing education required by the Behavior Analysis 

Certification Board. The amendments would change 

continuing education requirements from 24 hours for the 

biennial renewal to 32 hours for behavior analysts and from 

16 to 20 hours for assistant behavior analysts. Four of those 

hours must be in ethics relating to professional practice. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2957.16 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 30, 2015. 

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 

Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4558, FAX (804) 

527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4296; Filed November 9, 2015, 8:53 a.m.  

BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Optometry intends to 

consider amending 18VAC105-20, Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Optometry. The purpose of the proposed 

action is to require continuing education that improves the 

knowledge and skills of optometrists in managing patient care 

and their practices. The proposed action is intended to (i) 

allow optometrists to carry over up to 50% of the hours 

earned in excess of the 16 hours required for annual renewal 

to the next renewal year; (ii) require that at least 50% of the 

hours be taken in live or real-time interactive courses; (iii) 

allow one hour per year of practice management; (iv) require 

therapeutic pharmaceutical agent-certified optometrists to 

have 50% of their hours in coursework relating to ocular and 

general pharmacology, diagnostics and therapeutics, or 

advanced clinical procedures; and (v) allow passage of the 

Continued Professional Development Examination in 

Optometry count for a portion of the annual continuing 

education requirement. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 30, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 

Board of Optometry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4508, FAX (804) 

527-4471, or email leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4466; Filed November 9, 2015, 8:54 a.m.  

BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Physical Therapy 

intends to consider amending 18VAC112-20, Regulations 

Governing the Practice of Physical Therapy. The purpose 

of the proposed action is to incorporate into regulation the 

guidance on dry needling currently found in the board's 

Guidance Document 112-9, including the additional hours of 

training, the requirement for a medical referral, and the 

disclosure to patients on the difference between acupuncture 

and dry needling. 
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The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 30, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Lisa R. Hahn, Executive Director, Board of 

Physical Therapy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4674, FAX (804) 

527-4413, or email ptboard@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4433; Filed November 9, 2015, 8:55 a.m.  

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Counseling intends to 

consider amending the following regulations:  

18VAC115-20, Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Professional Counseling 

18VAC115-30, Regulations Governing the Certification of 

Substance Abuse Counselors and Substance Abuse 

Counseling 

18VAC115-40, Regulations Governing the Certification of 

Rehabilitation Providers 

18VAC115-50, Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Marriage and Family Therapy 

18VAC115-60, Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Licensed Substance Abuse Treatment Professionals.  

The purpose of the proposed action is to address the need of 

the Board of Counseling to increase fees to cover expenses 

for essential functions of review of applications, licensing, 

investigation of complaints against licensees, and 

adjudication and monitoring of disciplinary cases required for 

public health and safety in the Commonwealth. Since the fees 

from licensees will no longer generate sufficient funds to pay 

operating expenses for the board, consideration of a fee 

increase is essential. In order to have sufficient funding for 

the operation of the board by fiscal year 2018, it is necessary 

to begin the process of promulgating amendments to 

regulations.  

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 30, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 527-4435, or 

email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4525; Filed November 9, 2015, 8:46 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services intends to consider amending 

22VAC30-80, Auxiliary Grants Program. The purpose of 

the proposed action is to allow for the implementation of 

third-party payments to auxiliary grant participants residing 

in assisted living facilities or adult foster care homes. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 51.5-131 and 51.5-160 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 30, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Tishaun Harris-Ugworji, Program 

Consultant, Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 

Services, 8004 Franklin Farms Drive, Richmond, VA, VA 

23229, telephone (804) 662-7531, or email 

tishaun.harrisugworji@dars.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4472; Filed November 5, 2015, 2:21 p.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-290. Marking of Leased 

Oyster Planting Ground (amending 4VAC20-290-20, 

4VAC20-290-30, 4VAC20-290-40, 4VAC20-290-50; 

adding 4VAC20-290-15, 4VAC20-290-45).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-

2248 or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) add applicable definitions for marking 

oyster grounds; (ii) stipulate that proper marking shall be 

done to actively plant or harvest on grounds; (iii) update 

requirements for the markers and the manner in which 

markers shall be set, addressing active work areas as well 

as corner markers and boundary lines; and (iv) include 

maintenance and removal requirements and a provision 

for exceptions. 

4VAC20-290-15. Definitions. 

"Active work areas" means those areas inside a lease where 

active planting or active harvesting is being conducted, or in 

areas where aquaculture structures are placed within a lease. 

"Aquaculture structures" means devices, such as cages, 

trays, and nets, used to contain or protect shellfish. 

"Lease boundary lines" means the projected lines between 

lease corners. 

"Lease corners" means boundary lease corners as depicted 

on the plat of record for the lease. 

4VAC20-290-20. General.  

Leased oyster planting ground shall can be marked by the 

lessee if the oyster planting ground is being worked at any 

time and shall be marked if the oyster planting ground is 

being actively planted or harvested or when aquaculture 

structures are present on the lease. No harvesting or planting 

of leased oyster planting ground shall occur unless the lessee 

first has properly designated and marked the lease in 

accordance with the provisions of this chapter. No active 

planting upon or harvesting from the lease shall be authorized 

unless the lease has first been properly marked and the lease 

corners identified in accordance with the marking provisions 

of this chapter. If aquaculture structures are deployed on 

leased oyster planting ground, the lessee must properly mark 

and identify the lease boundary or the active work areas 

where aquaculture structures are placed in accordance with 

the marking provisions of this chapter. 

4VAC20-290-30. Method and manner of marking.  

A. Marking requirements. When leased oyster planting 

ground is marked, it shall be marked with stakes or buoys so 

as to delineate accurately the boundary lines of the lease and 

prevent the corners and boundary lines or the active works 

areas within the lease shall be marked with markers or buoys 

and shall be marked in a manner that does not create any 

unnecessary restriction to navigation.  

1. Corner markers. The corner of leased oyster planting 

ground shall be marked and multiple markers may be used 

in these corners Corners that are marked shall have a 

maximum of three markers per corner. 

2. Boundary line markers. Under normal circumstances 

Individual line markers shall be set at intervals no more 

than 600 feet apart and may be placed at intervals no 

smaller less than 150 feet apart. 

3. Active work area markers. Areas where aquaculture 

structures are being used shall be marked in conformance 

with subsection B of this section and as required in 

4VAC20-335. 

4. Marking of the corners, boundary lines, or active work 

areas within the lease shall constitute valid marking for 

enforcement purposes. 

B. Description of markers.  

1. Stakes shall be no longer than two inches in diameter at 

the mean low water line and shall extend at least four feet 

above the mean high water line. The stake shall be of such 

materials not so rigid as to harm a boat if accidentally 

struck. Bamboo, white oak, cedar, or gum saplings are 

commonly used, but not required. If polyvinyl chloride 

(PVC) pipe is used, and driven into the bottom, the 

diameter of the PVC pipe shall be two inches or less. When 

stakes are used for lease corner markers, lease boundary 

line markers, or active work area markers within a lease 

they shall have a diameter of no greater than two inches if 
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solid and an inside diameter no greater than two inches if 

hollow, at and above the mean low water line, and shall 

extend at least four feet above the mean high water line, 

but no more than six feet above mean high water. The 

marker shall be made of such materials not so rigid as to 

harm a boat if accidently struck, such as PVC pipe, 

bamboo, white oak, cedar, or gum saplings. Metal pipe 

markers are prohibited.  

2. Buoys shall be constructed of wood, PVC, or other 

suitable material, shall be no larger than six inches in 

diameter, and shall be anchored with sufficient weight to 

prevent their moving during adverse weather conditions. 

Buoys shall be constructed and anchored so as to extend at 

least four feet above the water line at all times. When can 

buoys are used they shall be constructed of suitable 

material, shall be no larger than six inches in diameter, and 

shall be anchored to the bottom with sufficient weight to 

prevent their moving during adverse weather conditions. 

Can buoys shall be constructed and anchored so as to 

extend at least four feet above, but not more than six feet 

above the water line at all times. When ball buoys are used 

they shall be constructed of suitable material, shall be no 

smaller than 45 inches in circumference, and shall be 

anchored to the bottom with sufficient weight to prevent 

their moving in adverse weather conditions. 

3. Leased oyster grounds on which active shellfish 

propagation is occurring shall have a minimum of two 

placards constructed of durable material along at least two 

sides of the lease or active work area, and each placard 

shall be at least four feet above the mean high water line, 

depicting the initials of the leaseholder and shall conform 

to the dimensions established by the commissioner. No 

person shall dredge or scrape his oyster planting ground 

unless he is in conformance with § 28.2-517 of the Code of 

Virginia to include the marking requirements contained in 

that section. Oyster ground lease corner markers, boundary 

line markers, and active work area markers may be marked 

with two-inch white reflective tape, white reflective paint, 

or white fluorescent paint. If the lease is bisected or 

borders along a Virginia Department of Health, Division of 

Shellfish Sanitation shellfish area condemnation line, such 

line markers shall be marked with two-inch yellow 

reflective tape, yellow reflective paint, or yellow 

fluorescent paint. 

4VAC20-290-40. Maintenance.  

When oyster planting ground is marked, suitable stakes or 

markers shall be kept by the lessee in their proper places at all 

times so as to conform accurately to the original boundary 

survey any condemnation line within the lease, or to 

accurately mark the active work areas within the lease. 

Should such stakes or makers be removed, knocked down, or 

be carried away, the lessee shall replace them promptly have 

them replaced in their proper location and in conformance 

with the method and manner of marking contained within this 

chapter.  

4VAC20-290-45. Removal of markers. 

It shall be unlawful for any person to intentionally or 

knowingly injure, remove, or displace any boundary oyster 

stake, range monument, signal beacon, post, or buoy, or any 

part thereof, erected to designate, locate, survey, or map 

shellfish grounds other than the leaseholder, his agent, his 

employee, or commission staff. 

4VAC20-290-50. Exception.  

The Marine Resources Commission may require its chief 

engineer to describe a plan for the proper marking The chief 

engineer may approve an alternative plan for the proper 

marking of any designated oyster planting ground boundary 

or active work area upon request by the lessee when it he 

finds exceptional circumstances exist. In such a case the chief 

engineer shall direct the leaseholder where to place the 

appropriate markers.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4515; Filed October 30, 2015, 9:41 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-335. Pertaining to On-Bottom 

Shellfish Aquaculture Activities (amending 4VAC20-335-

20, 4VAC20-335-30; adding 4VAC20-335-40).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-

2248, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) add the definition of "aquaculture 

structure," (i) provide marking requirements for the 

leaseholder of leased aquaculture grounds, and (iii) 

include the penalty for any violation of the chapter. 

4VAC20-335-20. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Aquaculture structure" means devices, such as cages, trays, 

and nets, used to contain or protect shellfish. 

"Commission" means the Marine Resources Commission.  

"Shellfish" means native molluscan species or molluscan 

species imported in accordance with § 28.2-825 of the Code 

of Virginia.  
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4VAC20-335-30. Requirements and conditions.  

A. The activity must be conducted on planting ground leased 

in accordance with Chapter 6 (§ 28.2-600 et seq.) of Title 

28.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

B. Leased planting ground must be properly marked in 

accordance with § 28.2-607 of the Code of Virginia and 

subsequent regulations (4VAC20-290-10 et seq.) 4VAC20-

290.  

C. In addition to the required marking of the boundary of the 

lease, the boundary of the area containing the structures 

Aquaculture structures shall be identified delineated with 

markers meeting the description for markers identified in 

4VAC20-290-30 while structures are located on the bottom. 

The leaseholder shall also place a minimum of two placards, 

attached to boundary or corner markers, stating "aquaculture 

structures." Such placards shall be a minimum of 12 inches 

by 12 inches, constructed of a durable material, facing 

outward from the aquaculture structures, and shall be at least 

four feet above the mean high water line. The chief engineer 

may approve an alternate plan for marking aquaculture 

structures. In such a case the chief engineer shall direct or 

approve the appropriate markers. 

D. Any structures placed on the bottom must be nontoxic 

and shall not be known to leach any materials which that 

would violate any water quality standards set by the 

Department of Environmental Quality.  

E. Structures shall not extend higher than 12 inches above 

the bottom substrate.  

F. No new structures shall be placed on existing stands of 

submerged aquatic vegetation.  

G. No structures may cause more than a minimal adverse 

effect on navigation.  

H. Shellfish must be harvested in accordance with all 

applicable laws and regulations.  

I. The commission may direct removal of any structures 

which that fail to meet the requirements and conditions of this 

chapter.  

4VAC20-335-40. Penalty. 

As set forth in § 28.2-903 of the Code of Virginia, any 

person violating any provision of this chapter shall be guilty 

of a Class 3 misdemeanor, and a second or subsequent 

violation of any provision of this chapter committed by the 

same person within 12 months of a prior violation is a Class 1 

misdemeanor. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4516; Filed October 30, 2015, 9:17 a.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF MINES, MINERALS AND ENERGY 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC25-35. Certification 

Requirements for Mineral Miners (amending 4VAC25-

35-120).  

Statutory Authority: § 45.1-161.292:19 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 30, 2015. 

Effective Date: January 15, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Michael Skiffington, Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, 

1100 Bank Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219-3402, 

telephone (804) 692-3212, FAX (804) 692-3237, TTY (800) 

828-1120, or email mike.skiffington@dmme.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 45.1-161.292:19 of the Code of Virginia 

allows the Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy 

(DMME) to require certification of persons who work in 

mineral mines and to promulgate regulations necessary to the 

certification process. 

Purpose: The purpose of this regulation is to allow coal 

miners to easily transition to other areas of the mining 

industry. Promoting economic development is one of the core 

functions of DMME, and increasing the number of certified 

mineral miners could help grow the mineral mine industry. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: This rulemaking is 

noncontroversial because it removes unnecessary and 

duplicative barriers to certification. The training needed to 

safely work on a surface coal mine is virtually identical to the 

training needed to safely work on a mineral mine site. This 

regulatory action would give coal miners the opportunity to 

seamlessly obtain general mineral miner certification. 

Substance: The only substantive change in this regulation 

allows for miners with a valid general coal miner surface 

certification to obtain general mineral miner certification 

without going through training they have already received. 

Issues: The primary advantages to the Commonwealth are 

removing unnecessary and duplicative barriers to certification 

and allowing for employees in a depressed industry to more 

smoothly transition to another industry. There are no known 

disadvantages. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy (DMME) 

proposes to amend this regulation to allow individuals who 

already possess a valid General Coal Miner Surface 

certification to obtain General Mineral Miner certification 

without having to receive additional training.  
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Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The current Certification 

Requirements for Mineral Miners require that applicants for 

General Mineral Miner certification "complete certification 

training in first aid and mineral mining regulations and law, 

which is conducted by a training instructor approved by the 

division, a certified MSHA
1
 instructor, or a certified mine 

foreman." According to DMME, the training needed to safely 

work on a surface coal mine is virtually identical to the 

training needed to safely work on a mineral mine site. 

Individuals who already possess a valid General Coal Miner 

Surface certification would have had such training. 

Consequently DMME's proposal to specify that individuals 

who already have valid General Coal Miner Surface 

certification be deemed to have met the safety training 

requirements for General Mineral Miner certification will 

create a net benefit in that it will reduce the cost for surface 

coal miners to become certified general mineral miners 

without increasing safety risk. Specifically, the proposed 

amendment eliminates the need to spend approximately one 

work day on duplicative training. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendment 

potentially affects the 441 mineral mine operators in the 

Commonwealth as it reduces the cost for surface coal miners 

to become certified mineral miners. There are currently 

22,537 people with General Coal Miner Surface certification. 

Approximately 150 of the 441 existing mineral mine permits 

are held by small businesses.
2
  

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendment 

will potentially affect all localities in the Commonwealth that 

have mineral mines. According to DMME, 91% of Virginia's 

counties have mineral mines governed by state regulation.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendment 

will reduce the cost for certified surface coal miners to 

become certified mineral miners. This may moderately 

increase the number of experienced coal miners who gain 

employment at mineral mines. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendment will moderately reduce training costs 

for mineral mine operators if they hire former surface coal 

miners. This may increase the likelihood that they hire former 

surface coal miners; and by having moderately lower costs for 

working mineral mines, the value of the property may 

moderately increase.  

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendment 

may moderately reduce mineral mine development costs in 

that it will reduce training costs for some potential mineral 

miners. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendment reduces 

the cost for small mineral mine operators to hire certified 

surface coal miners. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendment does not adversely affect small 

businesses. 

Adverse Impacts:  

Businesses: The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect businesses. 

Localities: The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities: The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect other entities. 

_____________________________________________ 
1MSHA refers to the federal Mine Safety and Health Administration. 
2Data Source: Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy concurs with the 

economic impact analysis conducted by the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendment allows an individual who possesses a valid 

general coal miner surface certification to obtain general 

mineral miner certification without having to receive 

additional training. 

4VAC25-35-120. General mineral miner.  

A. As set forth in § 45.1-161.292:28 of the Code of Virginia, 

miners commencing work after January 1, 1997, shall have a 

general mineral miner certification. Persons excluded from 

the general mineral miner certification are those involved in 

delivery, office work, maintenance, service and construction 

work, other than the extraction and processing of minerals, 

who are contracted by the mine operator. Hazard training as 

required by 30 CFR Part 46 or 30 CFR Part 48 shall be 

provided to these persons.  

B. Applicants shall complete certification training in first aid 

and mineral mining regulations and law, which is conducted 

by a training instructor approved by the division, a certified 

MSHA instructor, or a certified mine foreman. Training shall 

include the following topics, subtopics and practical 

applications:  

1. First aid training shall convey knowledge of first aid 

practices including identification of trauma symptoms, 

recognition and treatment of external and internal bleeding, 

shock, fractures, and exposure to extreme heat or cold. 

Training shall include a demonstration of skills or passing 

an examination, as evidenced by the instructor certification 

submitted in a form acceptable to the division. 
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2. Law and regulation training shall convey highlights of 

the mineral mine safety laws of Virginia and the safety and 

health regulations of Virginia. Specifically, information 

shall be provided on miner responsibilities and 

accountability, certification requirements, violations, 

penalties, appeals and reporting violations to the division. 

Training shall include a demonstration of skills or passing 

an examination, as evidenced by the instructor certification 

submitted in a form acceptable to the division.  

C. The trainer will certify to the department that the training 

and demonstrations required by § 45.1-161.292:28 B of the 

Code of Virginia and this section have occurred.  

D. Applicants who hold a valid first aid certificate as noted 

in 4VAC25-35-10 shall be considered to have met the first 

aid requirements.  

E. Applicants who have completed training may commence 

work and shall be considered provisionally certified for up to 

60 days from the date the instructor completes the training.  

F. The instructor shall submit verification of certification in 

a form acceptable to the division and the $10 fee for each 

applicant who completes the training, together with a class 

roster of all persons who complete the training, within 30 

days of the training date.  

G. The mine operator shall maintain the following records 

for those miners required to obtain a general mineral miner 

certification and those who qualify for exemption, starting 

January 1, 1997:  

1. The employee name, address, and phone number.  

2. The job title, employment date and general mineral 

miner number if applicable.  

3. The date training was completed and the instructor 

providing it for nonexempt employees.  

4. If the employee is exempt from the requirements, the 

date they began working in the mineral mining industry in 

Virginia. 

H. Applicants who already possess a valid general coal 

miner surface certification pursuant to 4VAC25-20 shall be 

deemed to have met the requirements of this section. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4448; Filed October 30, 2015, 2:13 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 8VAC20-90. Procedure for Adjusting 

Grievances (amending 8VAC20-90-10 through 8VAC20-

90-40, 8VAC20-90-60, 8VAC20-90-70). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 22.1-16 and 22.1-308 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

January 28, 2016 - 11 a.m. - James Monroe Building, 

101 North 14th Street, 22nd Floor Conference Room, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. The public hearing will begin 

immediately following adjournment of the Board of 

Education business meeting. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 31, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Patty Pitts, Department of Education, 

P.O. Box 2120, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-

2522, or email patty.pitts@doe.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 4 of Article VIII of the Constitution of 

Virginia grants the Board of Education authority for the 

general supervision of the public school system, and § 22.1-

16 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the board to promulgate 

such regulations as may be necessary to carry out its powers 

and duties and the provisions of Title 22.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Additional applicable sections of the Code of Virginia are 

§§ 2.2-507, 22.1-79, 22.1-253.13:5, 22.1-293, 22.1-294, 22.1-

295, 22.1-298.1, 22.1-299, 22.1-302, 22.1-303, 22.1-304, 

22.1-305, 22.1-305.1, 22.1-306, 22.1-307, 22.1-308, 22.1-

309, 22.1-311, 22.1-313, and 22.1-314. These sections were 

amended by Chapters 588 and 650 of the 2013 Acts of 

Assembly.  

Chapters 13 and 103 of the 2014 Acts of Assembly extended 

from five business days to 10 business days the deadline for a 

teacher to request a hearing after receiving written notice of 

dismissal. This new change became effective July 1, 2014, 

and notations of the revisions to the proposed 8VAC20-90-70 

A 1 and 8VAC20-90-70 A 2 have been made. 

Purpose: The Procedure for Adjusting Grievances is essential 

to protect the health, safety, or welfare of citizens as the 

regulations provide (i) an orderly procedure for resolving 

disputes concerning the application, interpretation, or 

violation of any of the provisions of local school board 

policies, rules, and regulations as they affect the work of 

teachers, other than dismissals or probation and (ii) an orderly 

procedure for the expeditious resolution of disputes involving 

the dismissal of any teacher. 

Substance: The Procedure for Adjusting Grievances was last 

amended effective May 2, 2005. The 2013 General Assembly 

approved legislation resulting in the need to make revisions to 

the regulations. Other than changing the Procedure for 

Adjusting Grievances to comport with the 2013 and 2014 

legislation, no additional substantive revisions were made. 

The major revisions to the regulations are (i) changing the 

grievance procedure for teachers by giving local school 

boards the option to assign a grievance hearing to be heard by 

an impartial hearing officer designated by the local school 

board, (ii) removing the option for a grievance to be heard 

before a fact-finding panel, (iii) removing "placing on 

probation" from the definition of "grievance," (iv) revising 

the Board of Education forms prescribed by the Code of 
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Virginia, and (v) extending the time in which a teacher who 

received a Notice of Dismissal to request a hearing from five 

days to 10 days after receipt of the notice.  

Issues: The regulations do not pose any major disadvantages 

to the public or the Commonwealth. The primary advantages 

of the proposed action are to align the regulations with the 

Code of Virginia, reducing confusion for teachers and the 

public about the procedure for adjusting grievances, and to 

provide flexibility in hearing the grievance at the local school 

division level. Proposed revisions to the regulations may 

reduce the cost of the procedure and allow for more efficient 

resolution. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 588 of the 2013 Acts of Assembly and 

Chapter 103 of the 2014 Acts of Assembly, the Board of 

Education (Board) proposes to amend this regulation to 

reflect statutory changes. In particular, the proposed 

regulation will reflect: 1) the removal of teachers' option to 

have their grievance heard before a fact-finding panel,
1
 2) 

local school boards' new option to designate an impartial 

hearing officer from outside the school division to hear a 

teacher's grievance, 3) the elimination of probation as a form 

of discipline, and 4) the reduction of time in which a teacher 

who received a Notice of Dismissal has to request a hearing 

from 15 days to 10 days. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes to the regulation.
2
 

Estimated Economic Impact. The proposed amendments to 

this regulation will make the regulation consistent with 

statutes and will not change effective law. Amending the 

regulation to reflect the law in effect will be beneficial in that 

it will reduce the likelihood that readers of the regulation 

(who do not also read the relevant statutes) will be misled as 

toward the actual law in effect.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 

potentially affect the 132 public school divisions and boards 

in the Commonwealth, as well as the 152,301 individuals 

who hold an active Virginia teaching license.
3
  

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

do not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. Amending this regulation 

to reflect statutory change does not significantly affect 

employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. Amending 

this regulation to reflect statutory change does not 

significantly affect the use and value of private property.  

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Amending this 

regulation to reflect statutory change does not affect small 

businesses.  

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. Amending this regulation to reflect statutory 

change does not adversely affect small businesses.  

Real Estate Development Costs. Amending this regulation to 

reflect statutory change does not affect real estate 

development costs. 

_______________________________________________ 
1The local school board formerly could also request a fact-finding panel. 
2The analysis does not address the legislation. 
3Data source: Department of Education 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency concurs with the economic impact analysis completed 

by the Department of Planning and Budget. The agency will 

continue to examine the economic and administrative impact 

of the regulations as they progress through the regulatory 

process. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments conform the regulation to 

changes in the Code of Virginia enacted by Chapters 588 

and 650 of the 2013 Acts of Assembly and Chapters 13 and 

103 of the 2014 Acts of Assembly and make other technical 

and clarifying changes. The proposed amendments (i) 

remove a teacher's option to have a grievance heard 

before a fact-finding panel, (ii) permit a local school board 

to designate an impartial hearing officer from outside the 

school division to hear a teacher's grievance, (iii) 

eliminate probation as a form of discipline, and (iv) reduce 

the time in which a teacher who received a notice of 

dismissal has to request a hearing to 10 days. 

Part I  

Definitions  

8VAC20-90-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise.  

"Business day" means, in accordance with § 22.1-312 of the 

Code of Virginia, any day that the relevant school board 

office is open.  

"Days" means calendar days unless a different meaning is 

clearly expressed in this procedure. Whenever any period of 

time fixed by this procedure shall expire the last day for 

performing an act required by this procedure falls on a 

Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the period of time for 

taking action under this procedure shall be extended to the act 

may be performed on the next day if it that is not a Saturday, 

Sunday, or legal holiday.  

"Dismissal" means the dismissal of any teacher within the 

term of such teacher's contract and the nonrenewal of a 

contract of a teacher on a continuing contract.  

"Grievance" means, for the purpose of Part II (8VAC20-90-

20 et seq.), a complaint or a dispute by a teacher relating to 

his employment, including but not necessarily limited to the 
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application or interpretation of personnel policies, rules and 

regulations, ordinances, and statutes; acts of reprisal as a 

result against a teacher for filing or processing a grievance, or 

participating as a witness in any step, meeting, or hearing 

related to a grievance; or complaints of discrimination on the 

basis of race, color, creed, political affiliation, handicap, age, 

national origin, or sex. "Grievance" means, for the purposes 

of Part III (8VAC20-90-60 et seq.), a complaint or a dispute 

involving a teacher relating to his employment involving 

dismissal or placing on probation. The term "grievance" shall 

not include a complaint or dispute by a teacher relating to the 

establishment and revision of wages or salaries, position 

classifications or general benefits; suspension of a teacher or 

nonrenewal of the contract of a teacher who has not achieved 

continuing contract status; the establishment or contents of 

ordinances, statutes or personnel policies, procedures, rules 

and regulations; failure to promote; or discharge, layoff, or 

suspension from duties because of decrease in enrollment, 

decrease in a particular subject, enrollment in or abolition of a 

particular subject, or insufficient funding; hiring, transfer, 

assignment and retention of teachers within the school 

division; suspension from duties in emergencies; or the 

methods, means and personnel by which the school division's 

operations are to be carried on; or coaching or extracurricular 

activity sponsorship. While these management rights are 

reserved to the school board, failure to apply, where 

applicable, these rules, regulations, policies, or procedures as 

written or established by the school board is grievable.  

"Hearing officer" means an impartial hearing officer from 

outside the school division who possesses some knowledge 

and expertise in public education and education law and who 

is capable of presiding over an administrative hearing. 

"Personnel file" means, for the purposes of Part III 

(8VAC20-90-60 et seq.), any and all memoranda, entries or 

other documents included in the teacher's file as maintained 

in the central school administration office or in any file 

regarding the teacher maintained within a school in which the 

teacher serves.  

"Probation" means a period not to exceed one year during 

which time it shall be the duty of the teacher to remedy those 

deficiencies which give rise to the probationary status.  

"Teacher" or "teachers" means, for the purposes of Part II 

(8VAC20-90-20 et seq.), all employees of the school division 

involved in classroom instruction and all other full-time 

employees of the school division except those employees 

classified as supervising employees. "Teacher" means, for the 

purposes of Part III (8VAC20-90-60 et seq.), all regularly 

certified licensed professional public school personnel 

employed by any school division under a written contract as 

provided by § 22.1-302 of the Code of Virginia, by any 

school division as a teacher or as an assistant principal, 

principal, or supervisor of classroom teachers but excluding 

all superintendents as provided by § 22.1-294 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

"Shall file," "shall respond in writing," or "shall serve 

written notice" means the document is either delivered 

personally to the grievant or office of the proper school board 

representative or is mailed by registered or certified mail, 

return receipt requested, and postmarked within the time 

limits prescribed by this procedure to the grievant or office of 

the proper school board representative.  

"Supervisory employee" means any person having authority 

in the interest of the board (i) to hire, transfer, suspend, 

layoff, recall, promote, discharge, assign, reward, or 

discipline other employees; and (ii) to direct other employees; 

or (iii) to adjust the grievance of other employees; or (iv) to 

recommend any action set forth in clause (i), (ii), or (iii) 

above; provided that the authority to act as set forth in clause 

(i), (ii), (iii), or (iv) requires the exercise of independent 

judgment and is not merely routine and clerical in nature.  

"Written grievance appeal" means a written or typed 

statement describing the event or action complained of, or the 

date of the event or action complained of, and a concise 

description of those policies, procedures rules, regulations, 

ordinances or statutes upon which the teacher bases his claim. 

The grievant shall specify what he expects to obtain through 

use of the grievance procedure. A statement written grievance 

appeal shall be written upon on forms prescribed by the 

Board of Education and supplied by the local school board.  

Part II  

Grievance Procedure  

8VAC20-90-20. Purpose of Part II of this grievance 

procedure.  

The purpose of Part II of the Procedure for Adjusting 

Grievances is to provide an orderly procedure for resolving 

disputes concerning the application, interpretation, or 

violation of any of the provisions of local school board 

policies, rules and regulations as they affect the work of 

teachers, other than dismissals or probation. An equitable 

solution of grievances should be secured at the most 

immediate administrative level. The procedure should not be 

construed as limiting the right of any teacher to discuss any 

matter of concern with any member of the school 

administration, nor should the procedure be construed to 

restrict any teacher's right to seek, or the school division 

administration's right to provide, review of complaints that 

are not included within the definition of a grievance. Nothing 

in this procedure shall be interpreted to limit a school board's 

exclusive final authority over the management and operation 

of the school division.  

8VAC20-90-30. Grievance procedure.  

Recognizing that grievances should be begun begin and 

should be settled promptly, a grievance must be initiated 

within 15 business days following either the event giving rise 

to the grievance, or within 15 business days following the 

time when the employee knew or reasonably should have 

known of its occurrence. Grievances shall be processed as 

follows:  
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1. Step 1 -- Informal. The first step shall be an informal 

conference between the teacher and his immediate 

supervisor (which may be the principal). The teacher shall 

state the nature of the grievance, and the immediate 

supervisor shall attempt to adjust the grievance. It is 

mandatory that the teacher present the grievance 

informally prior to proceeding to Step 2.  

2. Step 2 -- Principal. If for any reason the grievance is not 

resolved informally in Step 1 to the satisfaction of the 

teacher, the teacher must perfect his grievance by filing 

said grievance in writing a written grievance appeal on the 

required form within 15 business days following the event 

giving rise to the grievance, or within 15 business days 

following the time when the employee knew or reasonably 

should have known of its occurrence, specifying on the 

form the specific relief expected. Regardless of the 

outcome of Step 1, if a written grievance appeal is not, 

without just cause, filed within the specified time, the 

grievance will be barred.  

A meeting shall be held between the principal (or his 

designee or both) and the teacher (or his designee or both) 

within five business days of the receipt by the principal of 

the written grievance. At such meeting the teacher or other 

party involved, or both, shall be entitled to present 

appropriate witnesses and to be accompanied by a 

representative other than an attorney. The principal (or his 

designee or both) shall respond in writing within five 

business days following such meeting.  

The principal may forward to the teacher within five days 

from the receipt of the written grievance a written request 

for more specific information regarding the grievance. The 

teacher shall file an answer thereto within 10 business 

days, and the meeting must then be held within five 

business days thereafter.  

3. Step 3 -- Superintendent. If the grievance is not settled 

to the teacher's satisfaction in Step 2, the teacher can 

proceed to Step 3 by filing a written notice of appeal with 

the superintendent, accompanied by the original written 

grievance appeal form within five business days after 

receipt of the Step 2 answer (or the due date of such 

answer). A meeting shall then be held between the 

superintendent (or his designee or both) and the teacher (or 

his designee or both) at a mutually agreeable time within 

five business days. The superintendent or designee may 

make a written request for more specific information from 

the teacher, but only if such information was not requested 

in Step 2. The teacher shall file an answer to such request 

within 10 business days, and the meeting shall be held 

within five business days of the date on which the answer 

was received. At such meeting both the superintendent and 

the teacher shall be entitled to present witnesses and to be 

accompanied by a representative who may be an attorney. 

A representative may examine, cross-examine, question, 

and present evidence on behalf of a grievant or the 

superintendent without violating the provisions of § 54.1- 

3904 of the Code of Virginia. If no settlement can be 

reached in said meeting, the superintendent (or his 

designee) shall respond in writing within five business 

days following such meeting. The superintendent or 

designee may make a written request for more specific 

information from the teacher, but only if such was not 

requested in Step 2. Such request shall be answered within 

10 business days, and the meeting shall be held within five 

business days of the date on which the answer was 

received. If the grievance is not resolved to the satisfaction 

of the teacher in Step 3, the teacher may elect to have a 

hearing by a fact-finding panel, as provided in Step 4, or 

after giving proper notice may request a decision by the 

school board pursuant to Step 5 4.  

4. Step 4 -- Fact-finding panel. In the event the grievance is 

not settled upon completion of Step 3, either the teacher or 

the school board may elect to have a hearing by a fact-

finding panel prior to a decision by the school board, as 

provided in Step 4. If the teacher elects to proceed to Step 

4, he must notify the superintendent in writing of the 

intention to request a fact-finding panel and enclose a copy 

of the original grievance form within five business days 

after receipt of a Step 3 answer (or the due date of such 

answer). If the school board elects to proceed to a fact-

finding panel, the superintendent must serve written notice 

of the board's intention upon the grievant within 15 

business days after the answer provided by Step 3.  

a. Panel. Within five business days after the receipt by 

the division superintendent of the request for a fact-

finding panel, the teacher and the division superintendent 

shall each select one panel member from among the 

employees of the school division other than an individual 

involved in any previous phase of the grievance 

procedure as a supervisor, witness, or representative. The 

two panel members so selected shall within five business 

days of their selection select a third impartial panel 

member.  

b. Selection of impartial third member. In the event that 

both panel members are unable to agree upon a third 

panel member within five business days, both members 

of the panel shall request the chief judge of the circuit 

court having jurisdiction of the school division to furnish 

a list of five qualified and impartial individuals from 

which one individual shall be selected by the two 

members of the panel to serve as the third member. The 

individuals named by the chief judge may reside either 

within or outside the jurisdiction of the circuit court, be 

residents of the Commonwealth of Virginia, and in all 

cases shall possess some knowledge and expertise in 

public education and education law and shall be deemed 

by the judge capable of presiding over an administrative 

hearing. Within five business days after receipt by the 

two panel members of the list of fact finders nominated 

by the chief judge, the panel members shall meet to 
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select the third panel member. Selection shall be made by 

alternately deleting names from the list until only one 

remains. The panel member selected by the teacher shall 

make the first deletion. The third impartial panel member 

shall chair the panel. No elected official shall serve as a 

panel member. Panel members shall not be parties to, or 

witnesses to, the matter grieved. With the agreement of 

the teacher's and division superintendent's panel 

members, the impartial panel member shall have the 

authority to conduct the hearing and make 

recommendations as set forth herein while acting as a 

hearing officer.  

The Attorney General shall represent personally or 

through one of his assistants any third impartial panel 

member who shall be made a defendant in any civil 

action arising out of any matter connected with his duties 

as a panel member. If, in the opinion of the Attorney 

General, it is impracticable or uneconomical for such 

legal representation to be rendered by him or one of his 

assistants, he may employ special counsel for this 

purpose, whose compensation shall be fixed by the 

Attorney General and be paid out of the funds 

appropriated for the administration of the Department of 

Education.  

c. Holding of hearing. The hearing shall be held by the 

panel within 30 business days from the date of the 

selection of the final panel member. The panel shall set 

the date, place, and time for the hearing and shall so 

notify the division superintendent and the teacher. The 

teacher and the division superintendent each may have 

present at the hearing and be represented at all stages by 

a representative or legal counsel.  

d. Procedure for fact-finding panel.  

(1) The panel shall determine the propriety of attendance 

at the hearing of persons not having a direct interest in 

the hearing, provided that, at the request of the teacher, 

the hearing shall be private.  

(2) The panel may ask, at the beginning of the hearing, 

for statements from the division superintendent and the 

teacher clarifying the issues involved.  

(3) The parties shall then present their claims and 

evidence. Witnesses may be questioned by the panel 

members, the teacher and the division superintendent. 

The panel may, at its discretion, vary this procedure, but 

shall afford full and equal opportunity to all parties to 

present any material or relevant evidence and shall afford 

the parties the right of cross-examination.  

(4) The parties shall produce such additional evidence as 

the panel may deem necessary to an understanding and 

determination of the dispute. The panel shall be the judge 

of the relevancy and materiality of the evidence offered. 

All evidence shall be taken in the presence of the panel 

and of the parties.  

(5) Exhibits offered by the teacher of the division 

superintendent may be received in evidence by the panel 

and, when so received, shall be marked and made a part 

of the record.  

(6) The facts found and recommendations made by the 

panel shall be arrived at by a majority vote of the panel 

members.  

(7) The hearing may be reopened by the panel, on its own 

motion or upon application of the teacher or the division 

superintendent, for good cause shown, to hear after-

discovered evidence at any time before the panel's report 

is made.  

(8) The panel shall make a written report which shall 

include its findings of fact and recommendations, and 

shall file it with the members of the school board, the 

division superintendent, and the teacher, not later than 30 

business days after the completion of the hearing.  

(9) A stenographic record or tape recording of the 

proceedings shall be taken. However, in proceedings 

concerning grievances not related to dismissal or 

probation, the recording may be dispensed with entirely 

by mutual consent of the parties. In such proceedings, if 

the recording is not dispensed with the two parties shall 

share equally the cost of the recording. If either party 

requests a transcript, that party shall bear the expense of 

its preparation.  

In cases of dismissal or probation, a record or recording 

of the proceedings shall be made and preserved for a 

period of six months. If either the teacher or the school 

board requests that a transcript of the record or recording 

be made at any time prior to expiration of the six-month 

period, it shall be made and copies shall be furnished to 

both parties. The school board shall bear the expense of 

the recording and the transcription.  

(10) The recommendations and findings of fact of the 

panel submitted to the school board shall be based 

exclusively upon the evidence presented to the panel at 

the hearing. No panel member shall conduct an 

independent investigation involving the matter grieved.  

e. Expenses.  

(1) The teacher shall bear his own expenses. The school 

board shall bear the expenses of the division 

superintendent. The expenses of the panel shall be borne 

one half by the school board and one half by the teacher.  

(2) The parties shall set the per diem rate of the panel. If 

the parties are unable to agree on the per diem, it shall be 

fixed by the chief judge of the circuit court. No employee 

of the school division shall receive such per diem for 

service on a panel during his normal business hours if he 

receives his normal salary for the period of such service.  

(3) Witnesses who are employees of the school board 

shall be granted release time if the hearing is held during 
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the school day. The hearing shall be held at the school in 

which most witnesses work, if feasible.  

f. Right to further hearings. Following a hearing by a 

fact-finding panel, the teacher shall not have the right to 

a further hearing by the school board as provided in 

subdivision 5 c of this section. The school board shall 

have the right to require a further hearing in any 

grievance proceeding as provided in subdivision 5 c of 

this section.  

5. 4. Step 5 4 -- Decision by the school board.  

a. If a teacher elects to proceed directly to a 

determination before request a decision by the school 

board as provided for in Step 5 3, he must notify the 

superintendent in writing of the intention to appeal 

directly to make the request of the board, of the 

grievance alleged, and the relief sought within five 

business days after receipt of the answer as required in 

Step 3 or the due date thereof. Upon receipt of such 

notice, the school board may elect to have a hearing 

before a fact-finding panel, as indicated in Step 4, by 

filing a written notice of such intention with the teacher 

within 10 business days of the deadline for the teacher's 

request for a determination by the school board the board 

may hold a hearing on the grievance, may elect to have 

the hearing conducted by a hearing officer appointed by 

the school board consistent with the procedures in § 22.1-

311 of the Code of Virginia, or may make its 

determination on the basis of the written evidence 

presented by the teacher and the recommendation of the 

superintendent.  

b. In the case of a hearing before a fact-finding panel, the 

school board shall give the grievant its written decision 

within 30 days after the school board receives both the 

transcript of such hearing, if any, and the panel's finding 

of fact and recommendations unless the school board 

proceeds to a hearing under subdivision 5 c of this 

section. The decision of the school board shall be reached 

after considering the transcript, if any; the findings of 

fact and recommendations of the panel; and such further 

evidence as the school board may receive at any further 

hearing which the school board elects to conduct.  

c. In any case in which a hearing before a fact-finding 

panel is held in accordance with Step 4, the local school 

board may conduct a further hearing before such school 

board.  

(1) The local school board shall initiate such hearing by 

sending written notice of its intention to the teacher and 

the division superintendent within 10 days after receipt 

by the board of the findings of fact and recommendations 

of the fact-finding panel and any transcript of the panel 

hearing. Such notice shall be provided upon forms to be 

prescribed by the Board of Education and shall specify 

each matter to be inquired into by the school board.  

(2) In any case where such further hearing is held by a 

school board after a hearing before the fact-finding panel, 

the school board shall consider at such further hearing 

the transcript, if any; the findings and recommendations 

of the fact-finding panel; and such further evidence 

including, but not limited to, the testimony of those 

witnesses who have previously testified before the fact-

finding panel as the school board deems may be 

appropriate or as may be offered on behalf of the grievant 

or the administration.  

(3) The further hearing before the school board shall be 

set within 30 days of the initiation of such hearing, and 

the teacher must be given at least 15 days written notice 

of the date, place, and time of the hearing.  

b. In any case in which the school board elects to hold a 

hearing or elects to have a hearing officer conduct the 

hearing, the hearing shall be set within 30 days of the 

school board's receipt of the notice required by 

subdivision 4 a of this section (Step 4a), and the teacher 

must be given at least 15 days' written notice of the date, 

time, and place of the hearing. 

The teacher and the division superintendent may be 

represented by legal counsel or other representatives. The 

hearing before the school board shall be private, unless 

the teacher requests a public hearing. The school board or 

the hearing officer, as the case may be, shall establish the 

rules for the conduct of any the hearing before it. Such 

rules shall include the opportunity for the teacher and the 

division superintendent to make an opening statement 

and to present all material or relevant evidence, including 

the testimony of witnesses and the right of all parties or 

their representatives to cross-examine the witnesses. 

Witnesses may be questioned by the school board or the 

hearing officer.  

The In the case of a hearing conducted by the school 

board, the school board's attorney, assistants, or 

representative, if he, or they, represented a participant in 

the prior proceedings, the grievant, the grievant's 

attorney, or representative and, notwithstanding the 

provisions of § 22.1-69 of the Code of Virginia, the 

superintendent shall be excluded from any executive 

session of the school board which that has as its purpose 

reaching a decision on the grievance. However, 

immediately after a decision has been made and publicly 

announced, as in favor of or not in favor of the grievant, 

the school board's attorney or representative, and the 

superintendent, may join the school board in executive 

session to assist in the writing of the decision.  

A stenographic record or tape recording of the 

proceedings hearing shall be taken. However, in 

proceedings concerning grievances not related to 

dismissal or probation, the recording may be dispensed 

with entirely by mutual consent of the parties. In such 

proceedings, if If the recording is not dispensed with, the 
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two parties shall share the cost of the recording equally, 

and if either party requests a transcript, that party shall 

bear the expense of its preparation.  

In the case of dismissal or probation, a record or 

recording of the proceedings shall be made and preserved 

for a period of six months. If either the teacher or the 

school board requests that a transcript of the record or 

recording be made at any time prior to the expiration of 

the six-month period, it shall be made and copies shall be 

furnished to both parties. The school board shall bear the 

expense of the recording and the transcription.  

c. In the event of a hearing conducted by a hearing 

officer, the recommendation of the hearing officer shall 

be based exclusively upon the evidence presented at the 

hearing. Upon the hearing officer's own motion or upon 

application by either party to the grievance, the hearing 

officer may reopen the hearing for the purpose of hearing 

after-discovered evidence upon a finding of good cause 

by the hearing officer at any time before his 

recommendation is due. The hearing officer shall 

transmit his written recommendation and a record or 

recording of the hearing to the school board as soon as 

practicable and no more than 10 business days after the 

hearing. 

d. In the event of a hearing by a hearing officer, the 

school board may make its decision upon the record or 

recording of such hearing or the school board may elect 

to conduct a further hearing to receive additional 

evidence. The school board must hold such further 

hearing as soon as practicable and must give written 

notice of the time and place of such further hearing to the 

division superintendent and the teacher within 10 

business days after the board received the record or 

recording of the initial hearing. The notice must specify 

each matter to be inquired into by the school board. The 

school board shall determine the procedure to be 

followed at such further hearing. 

e. In the event of a hearing before the school board, the 

school board shall give the teacher its written decision as 

soon as practicable and no more than 30 days after the 

hearing. The decision of the school board shall be 

reached after considering the evidence and information 

presented at the school board hearing.  

f. In the event of a hearing before a hearing officer 

followed by a further hearing by the school board, the 

school board shall give the teacher its written decision as 

soon as practicable and no more than 30 days after such 

further hearing. The decision of the school board shall be 

reached after considering the record or recording of the 

initial hearing, the recommendations of the hearing 

officer, and the evidence and information presented at the 

further hearing before the school board.  

g. In the event of a hearing before a hearing officer in 

cases in which no further hearing is conducted by the 

school board, the school board shall give the teacher its 

written decision as soon as practicable and no more than 

30 days after receiving the record or recording of the 

hearing. The decision of the school board shall be 

reached after considering the record or recording of the 

hearing and the recommendations of the hearing officer. 

(4) The decision of the school board shall be based solely 

on the transcript, if any; the findings of fact and 

recommendations of the fact-finding panel; and any 

evidence relevant to the issues of the original grievance 

procedure at the school board hearing in the presence of 

each party. The school board shall give the grievant its 

written decision within 30 days after the completion of 

the hearing before the school board. In the event the 

school board's decision is at variance with the 

recommendations of the fact-finding panel, the school 

board's written decision shall include the rationale for the 

decision.  

d. In any case where a hearing before a fact-finding panel 

is not held, the board may hold a separate hearing or may 

make its determination on the basis of the written 

evidence presented by the teacher and the 

recommendation of the superintendent.  

e. h. The school board shall retain its exclusive final 

authority over matters concerning employment and the 

supervision of its personnel.  

8VAC20-90-40. Grievability.  

A. Initial determination of grievability. Decisions regarding 

whether a matter is grievable shall be made by the school 

board at the request of the division superintendent 

administration or grievant and such decision shall be made 

within 10 business days of such request. The school board 

shall reach its decision only after allowing the division 

superintendent administration and the grievant opportunity to 

present written or oral arguments regarding grievability. The 

decision as to whether the arguments shall be written or oral 

shall be at the discretion of the school board. Decisions shall 

be made within 10 business days of such request. Such 

determination of grievability shall be made subsequent to the 

reduction of the grievance to writing but prior to any panel or 

board hearing by the board or a hearing officer, or the right to 

such determination shall be deemed to have been waived. 

Failure of the school board to make such a determination 

within such a prescribed 10-business-day period shall entitle 

the grievant to advance to the next step as if the matter were 

grievable.  

B. Appeal of determination on grievability.  

1. Decisions of the school board may be appealed to the 

circuit court having jurisdiction in the school division for a 

hearing on the issue of grievability.  

a. Proceedings for a review of the decision of the school 

board shall be instituted by filing a notice of appeal with 
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the school board within 10 business days after the date of 

the decision and giving a copy thereof to all other parties.  

b. Within 10 business days thereafter, the school board 

shall transmit to the clerk of the court to which the appeal 

is taken, a copy of its decision, a copy of the notice of 

appeal, and the exhibits. The failure of the school board 

to transmit the record within the time allowed shall not 

prejudice the rights of the grievant. The court may, on 

motion of the grievant, issue a writ of certiorari requiring 

the school board to transmit the records on or before a 

certain date.  

c. Within 10 business days of receipt by the clerk of such 

record, the court, sitting without a jury, shall hear the 

appeal on the record transmitted by the school board and 

such additional evidence as may be necessary to resolve 

any controversy as to the correctness of the record. The 

court may, in its discretion, receive such other evidence 

as the ends of justice require.  

d. The court may affirm the decision of the school board 

or may reverse or modify the decision. The decision of 

the court shall be rendered not later than 15 days from 

the date of the conclusion of the court's hearing.  

Part III  

Procedure for Dismissals or Placing on Probation  

8VAC20-90-60. Dispute resolution.  

This Part III of the Procedure for Adjusting Grievances 

adopted by the Board of Education in accordance with the 

statutory mandate of Article 3 (§ 22.1-306 et seq.) of Chapter 

15 of Title 22.1 of the Code of Virginia and the Standards of 

Quality for school divisions, Chapter 13.1 (§ 22.1-253.13:1 et 

seq.) of Title 22.1 of the Code of Virginia, is to provide an 

orderly procedure for the expeditious resolution of disputes 

involving the dismissal or placing on probation of any 

teacher.  

8VAC20-90-70. Procedure for dismissals or placing on 

probation.  

A. Notice to teacher of recommendation for dismissal or 

placing on probation.  

1. In the event a division superintendent determines to 

recommend dismissal of any teacher, or the placing on 

probation of a teacher on continuing contract, written 

notice shall be sent to the teacher on forms to be prescribed 

by the Board of Education notifying him of the proposed 

dismissal, or placing on probation, and informing the 

teacher that within 15 10 business days after receiving the 

notice, the teacher may request a hearing before the school 

board, or before a fact-finding panel as hereinafter set forth 

or, at the option of the school board, a hearing officer 

appointed by the school board, as provided in § 22.1-311 

of the Code of Virginia.  

2. During such 15-day 10-business-day period and 

thereafter until a hearing is held in accordance with the 

provisions herein, if one is requested by the teacher, the 

merits of the recommendation of the division 

superintendent shall not be considered, discussed, or acted 

upon by the school board except as provided for herein.  

3. At the request of the teacher, the superintendent shall 

provide the reasons for the recommendation in writing or, 

if the teacher prefers, in a personal interview. In the event a 

teacher requests a hearing pursuant to § 22.1-311 or § 22.1-

312 of the Code of Virginia, the division superintendent 

shall provide, within 10 days of the request, the teacher, or 

his representative, with the opportunity to inspect and copy 

his personnel file and all other documents relied upon in 

reaching the decision to recommend dismissal or 

probation. Within 10 days of the request of the division 

superintendent, the teacher, or his representative, shall 

provide the division superintendent with the opportunity to 

inspect and copy the documents to be offered in rebuttal to 

the decision to recommend dismissal or probation. The 

division superintendent and the teacher or his 

representative shall be under a continuing duty to disclose 

and produce any additional documents identified later that 

may be used in the respective parties' cases-in-chief. The 

cost of copying such documents shall be paid by the 

requesting party.  

4. Upon a timely request for a hearing, the school board or, 

at the school board's option, a hearing officer appointed by 

the school board shall set a hearing within 15 days of the 

request and the teacher shall be given at least five days' 

written notice of the time and the place of the hearing. 

B. Fact-finding panel. Within 15 days after the teacher 

receives the notice referred to in subdivision A 1 of this 

section, either the teacher, or the school board, by written 

notice to the other party upon a form to be prescribed by the 

Board of Education, may elect to have a hearing before a fact-

finding panel prior to any decision by the school board.  

1. Panel. Within five business days after the receipt by the 

division superintendent of the request for a fact-finding 

panel, the teacher and the division superintendent shall 

each select one panel member from among the employees 

of the school division other than an individual involved in 

the recommendation of dismissal or placing on probation 

as a supervisor, witness, or representative. The two panel 

members so selected shall within five business days of 

their selection select a third impartial panel member.  

2. Selection of impartial third member. In the event that 

both panel members are unable to agree upon a third panel 

member within five business days, both members of the 

panel shall request the chief judge of the circuit court 

having jurisdiction of the school division to furnish a list of 

five qualified and impartial individuals from which list one 

individual shall be selected by the two members of the 

panel as the third member. The individuals named by the 

chief judge may reside either within or without the 

jurisdiction of the circuit court, be residents of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia, and in all cases shall possess 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 7 Virginia Register of Regulations November 30, 2015 

1150 

some knowledge and expertise in public education and 

education law, and shall be deemed by the judge capable of 

presiding over an administrative hearing. Within five 

business days after receipt by the two panel members of 

the list of fact finders nominated by the chief judge, the 

panel members shall meet to select the third panel member. 

Selection shall be made by the panel members alternately 

deleting names from the list until only one remains with 

the panel member selected by the teacher to make the first 

deletion. The third impartial panel member shall chair the 

panel. No elected official shall serve as a panel member. 

Panel members shall not be parties to, or witnesses to, the 

matter grieved. With the agreement of the teacher's and 

division superintendent's panel members, the impartial 

panel member shall have the authority to conduct the 

hearing and make recommendations as set forth herein 

while acting as a hearing officer.  

The Attorney General shall represent personally or through 

one of his assistants any third impartial panel member who 

shall be made a defendant in any civil action arising out of 

any matter connected with his duties as a panel member. If, 

in the opinion of the Attorney General, it is impracticable 

or uneconomical for such legal representation to be 

rendered by him or one of his assistants, he may employ 

special counsel for this purpose, whose compensation shall 

be fixed by the Attorney General and be paid out of the 

funds appropriated for the administration of the 

Department of Education.  

3. Holding of hearing. The hearing shall be held by the 

panel within 30 calendar days from the date of the 

selection of the final panel member. The panel shall set the 

date, place, and time for the hearing and shall so notify the 

division superintendent and the teacher. The teacher and 

the division superintendent each may have present at the 

hearing and be represented at all stages by legal counsel or 

another representative.  

4. Procedure for fact-finding panel.  

a. The panel shall determine the propriety of attendance 

at the hearing of persons not having a direct interest in 

the hearing, provided that, at the request of the teacher, 

the hearing shall be private.  

b. The panel may ask, at the beginning of the hearing, for 

statements from the division superintendent and the 

teacher (or their representative) clarifying the issues 

involved.  

c. The parties shall then present their claims and 

evidence. Witnesses may be questioned by the panel 

members, the teacher and the division superintendent,. 

However, the panel may, at its discretion, vary this 

procedure but shall afford full and equal opportunity to 

all parties for presentation of any material or relevant 

evidence and shall afford the parties the right of cross-

examination.  

B. Procedure for hearing. 

1. The hearing shall be conducted by the school board or, 

at the school board's option, a hearing officer appointed by 

the school board. The teacher and the division 

superintendent may be represented by legal counsel or 

other representatives. The hearing shall be private, unless 

the teacher requests a public hearing. The school board or 

hearing officer, as the case may be, shall establish the rules 

for the conduct of the hearing, and such rules shall include 

the opportunity for the teacher and the division 

superintendent to make an opening statement and to 

present all material or relevant evidence, including the 

testimony of witnesses, and the right of all parties to cross-

examine the witnesses. Witnesses may be questioned by 

the school board or hearing officer.  

d. 2. The parties shall produce such additional evidence as 

the panel school board or hearing officer may deem 

necessary to an understanding and determination of the 

dispute. The panel school board or hearing officer shall be 

determine the judge of relevancy and materiality of the 

evidence offered. All evidence shall be taken in the 

presence of the panel school board or hearing officer and 

of the parties.  

e. 3. Exhibits offered by the teacher or the division 

superintendent may be received in evidence by the panel 

school board or hearing officer and, when so received, 

shall be marked and made a part of the record.  

f. The facts found and recommendations made by the 

panel shall be arrived at by a majority vote of the panel 

members.  

g. The recommendations and findings of fact of the panel 

shall be based exclusively upon the evidence presented to 

the panel at the hearing. No panel member shall conduct 

an independent investigation involving the matter 

grieved.  

h. The hearing may be reopened by the panel at any time 

before the panel's report is made upon its own motion or 

upon application of the teacher or the division 

superintendent for good cause shown to hear after-

discovered evidence.  

i. The panel shall make a written report which shall 

include its findings of fact and recommendations and 

shall file it with the members of the school board, the 

division superintendent and the teacher, not later than 30 

days after the completion of the hearing.  

j. A stenographic record or tape recording of the 

proceedings shall be taken. However, in proceedings 

concerning grievances not related to dismissal or 

probation, the recording may be dispensed with entirely 

by mutual consent of the parties. In such proceedings, if 

the recording is not dispensed with, the two parties shall 

share the cost of the recording equally; if either party 
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requests a transcript, that party shall bear the expense of 

its preparation.  

In cases of dismissal or probation, a record or recording 

of the proceedings shall be made and preserved for a 

period of six months. If either the teacher or the school 

board requests that a transcript of the record or recording 

be made at any time prior to expiration of the six-month 

period, it shall be made and copies shall be furnished to 

both parties. The school board shall bear the expense of 

the recording and the transcription.  

5. Expenses.  

a. The teacher shall bear his own expenses. The school 

board shall bear the expenses of the division 

superintendent. The expenses of the panel shall be borne 

one half by the school board and one half by the teacher.  

b. The parties shall set the per diem rate of the panel. If 

the parties are unable to agree on the per diem, it shall be 

fixed by the chief judge of the circuit court. No employee 

of the school division shall receive such per diem for 

service on a panel during his normal business hours if he 

receives his normal salary for the period of such service.  

6. Right to further hearing. If the school board elects to 

have a hearing by a fact-finding panel on the dismissal or 

placing on probation of a teacher, the teacher shall have the 

right to a further hearing by the school board as provided 

in subsection C of this section. The school board shall have 

the right to require a further hearing as provided in 

subsection C also.  

7. Witnesses. Witnesses who are employees of the school 

board shall be granted release time if the hearing is held 

during the school day. The hearing shall be held at the 

school in which most witnesses work, if feasible.  

C. Hearing by school board.  

1. After receipt of the notice of pending dismissal or 

placing on probation described in subdivision A 1 of this 

section, the teacher may request a hearing before the 

school board by delivering written notice to the division 

superintendent within 15 days from the receipt of notice 

from the superintendent. Subsequent to the hearing by a 

fact-finding panel under subsection B of this section, the 

teacher, as permitted by subdivision B 6 of this section, or 

the school board may request a school board hearing by 

written notice to the opposing party and the division 

superintendent within 10 business days after the receipt by 

the party initiating such hearing of the findings of fact and 

recommendations made by the fact-finding panel and the 

transcript of the panel hearing. Such notice shall be 

provided upon a form to be prescribed by the Board of 

Education and shall specify each matter to be inquired into 

by the school board.  

2. In any case in which a further hearing is held by a school 

board after a hearing before the fact-finding panel, the 

school board shall consider at such further hearing the 

record, or transcript, if any, the findings of fact and 

recommendations made by the fact-finding panel and such 

further evidence, including, but not limited to, the 

testimony of those witnesses who have previously testified 

before the fact-finding panel as the school board deems 

may be appropriate or as may be offered on behalf of the 

teacher or the superintendent.  

3. The school board hearing shall be set and conducted 

within 30 days of the receipt of the teacher's notice or the 

giving by the school board of its notice. The teacher shall 

be given at least 15 days written notice of the date, place, 

and time of the hearing and such notice shall also be 

provided to the division superintendent.  

4. The teacher and the division superintendent may be 

represented by legal counsel or other representatives. The 

hearing before the school board shall be private, unless the 

teacher requests a public hearing. The school board shall 

establish the rules for the conduct of any hearing before it, 

and such rules shall include the opportunity for the teacher 

and the division superintendent to make an opening 

statement and to present all material or relevant evidence 

including the testimony of witnesses and the right of all 

parties to cross-examine the witnesses. Witnesses may be 

questioned by the school board. The school board may hear 

a recommendation for dismissal and make a determination 

whether to make a recommendation to the Board of 

Education regarding the teacher's license at the same 

hearing or hold a separate hearing for each action.  

5. A record or recording of the proceedings shall be made 

and preserved for a period of six months. If either the 

teacher or the school board requests that a transcript of the 

record or recording be made at any time prior to expiration 

of the six-month period, it shall be made and copies shall 

be furnished to both parties. The board shall bear the 

expense of the recording and the transcription.  

6. The school board shall give the teacher its written 

decision within 30 days after the completion of the hearing 

before the school board.  

7. The decision by the school board shall be based on the 

transcript, the findings of the fact and recommendations 

made by the fact-finding panel, and any evidence relevant 

to the issues of the original grievance produced at the 

school board hearing in the presence of each party.  

The school board's attorney, assistants, or representative, if 

he or they represented a participant in the prior 

proceedings, the grievant, the grievant's attorney, or 

representative and, notwithstanding the provisions of § 

22.1-69 of the Code of Virginia, the superintendent shall 

be excluded from any executive session of the school 

board which has as its purpose reaching a decision on a 

grievance. However, immediately after a decision has been 

made and publicly announced, as in favor of or not in favor 

of the grievant, the school board's attorney or 

representative and the superintendent may join the school 
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board in executive session to assist in the writing of the 

decision.  

4. A stenographic record or tape recording of the 

proceedings shall be taken. The two parties shall share the 

cost of the recording equally. The record or recording of 

the proceedings shall be preserved for a period of six 

months. If the school board requests that a transcript of the 

record or recording be made at any time prior to expiration 

of the six-month period, it shall be made and copies shall 

be furnished to both parties. The school board shall bear 

the expense of the transcription.  

5. The teacher shall bear his own expenses. The school 

board shall bear the expenses of the division 

superintendent and the hearing officer.  

6. Witnesses who are employees of the school board shall 

be granted release time if the hearing is held during the 

school day. The hearing shall be held at the school in 

which most witnesses work, if feasible. 

7. In the event of a hearing conducted by a hearing officer, 

the recommendation of the hearing officer shall be based 

exclusively upon the evidence presented at the hearing. 

Upon the hearing officer's own motion or upon application 

by the teacher or the division superintendent, the hearing 

officer may reopen the hearing for the purpose of hearing 

after-discovered evidence upon a finding of good cause by 

the hearing officer at any time before his recommendation 

is due. The hearing officer shall transmit his written 

recommendation and a record or recording of the hearing 

to the school board as soon as practicable and no more than 

10 business days after the hearing. 

8. In the event of a hearing by a hearing officer, the school 

board may make its decision upon the record or recording 

of such hearing or the school board may elect to conduct a 

further hearing to receive additional evidence. The school 

board must hold such further hearing as soon as practicable 

and must give written notice of the time and place of such 

further hearing to the division superintendent and the 

teacher within 10 business days after the board received 

the record or recording of the initial hearing. The notice 

must specify each matter to be inquired into by the school 

board. The school board shall determine the procedure to 

be followed at such further hearing.  

D. C. School board determination.  

1. In any case in which a hearing is held before a fact-

finding panel but no further hearing before the school 

board is requested by either party, the school board shall 

give the teacher its written decision within 30 days after 

the school board receives both the transcript of such 

hearing and the panel's findings of the fact and 

recommendation. The decision of the school board shall be 

reached after considering the transcript, the findings of 

fact, and the recommendations made by the panel. In the 

event of a hearing before the school board, the school 

board shall give the teacher its written decision as soon as 

practicable and no more than 30 days after the hearing. The 

decision of the school board shall be reached after 

considering the evidence and information presented at the 

school board hearing.  

2. In the event of a hearing before a hearing officer 

followed by a further hearing by the school board pursuant 

to subdivision B 8 of this section, the school board shall 

give the teacher its written decision as soon as practicable 

and no more than 30 days after such further hearing. The 

decision of the school board shall be reached after 

considering the record or recording of the initial hearing, 

the recommendations of the hearing officer, and the 

evidence and information presented at the further hearing 

before the school board.  

3. In the event of a hearing before a hearing officer in cases 

in which no further hearing is conducted by the school 

board, the school board shall give the teacher its written 

decision as soon as practicable and no more than 30 days 

after receiving the record or recording of the hearing. The 

decision of the school board shall be reached after 

considering the record or recording of the hearing and the 

recommendations of the hearing officer.  

2. 4. The school board may dismiss, or suspend, or place 

on probation a teacher upon a majority vote of a quorum of 

the school board. In the event the school board's decision is 

at variance with the recommendation of the fact-finding 

panel, the school board shall be required to conduct an 

additional hearing, which shall be public unless the teacher 

requests a private one. However, if the fact-finding hearing 

was held in private, the additional hearing shall be held in 

private. The hearing shall be conducted by the school 

board pursuant to subdivisions C 1 and 2 of this section, 

except that the grievant and the division superintendent 

shall be allowed to appear, to be represented, and to give 

testimony. However, the additional hearing shall not 

include examination and cross-examination of any other 

witnesses. The school board's written decision shall 

include the rationale for the decision. The school board's 

attorney, assistants, or representative, if he or they 

represented a participant in the prior proceedings; the 

grievant; the grievant's attorney or representative; and, 

notwithstanding the provisions of § 22.1-69 of the Code of 

Virginia, the superintendent shall be excluded from any 

executive session of the school board that has as its 

purpose reaching a decision on a grievance. However, 

immediately after a decision has been made and publicly 

announced, as in favor of or not in favor of the grievant, 

the school board's attorney or representative and the 

superintendent may join the school board in executive 

session to assist in the writing of the decision.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 
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a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (8VAC20-90)  

Statement of Grievance, eff. 2/05  

Principal's Decision, eff. 2/05  

Superintendent's Level, eff. 2/05 

Request for Hearing (Decision to be Presented to Grievant), 

eff. 2/05  

Notice of Proposed Dismissal or Proposed Placing on 

Probation, eff. 2/05  

Request for Hearing (to be submitted to Superintendent), eff. 

2/05.  

Statement of Grievance (undated, filed 11/2015) 

Principal's Decision (undated, filed 11/2015) 

Superintendent's Decision (undated, filed 11/2015) 

Request for Hearing (undated, filed 11/2015) 

Notice of Proposed Dismissal (undated, filed 11/2015) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3790; Filed November 9, 2015, 10:47 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Final Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 9VAC5-20. General Provisions 

(Rev. E09) (amending 9VAC5-20-21). 

9VAC5-40. Existing Stationary Sources (Rev. E09) 

(amending 9VAC5-40-4760; adding 9VAC5-40-8810 

through 9VAC5-40-8950).  

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia; 

§§ 110, 111, 123, 129, 171, 172, and 182 of the federal Clean 

Air Act (40 CFR Parts 51 and 60). 

Effective Date: February 1, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4423, FAX (804) 

698-4510, or email mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulation requires owners to limit emissions of air 

pollution from miscellaneous metal and plastic parts 

coating operations to the level necessary for the protection 

of public health and welfare and the attainment and 

maintenance of the air quality standards. The regulation 

applies to sources within the Northern Virginia Volatile 

Organic Compound Emissions Control Area and 

establishes standards, control techniques, and provisions 

for determining compliance. The regulation also includes 

provisions for visible emissions, fugitive dust, odor, toxic 

pollutants, compliance, test methods and procedures, 

monitoring, notification, registration, malfunctions, and 

permits.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

9VAC5-20-21. Documents incorporated by reference.  

A. The Administrative Process Act and Virginia Register 

Act provide that state regulations may incorporate documents 

by reference. Throughout these regulations, documents of the 

types specified below have been incorporated by reference. 

1. United States Code. 

2. Code of Virginia. 

3. Code of Federal Regulations. 

4. Federal Register. 

5. Technical and scientific reference documents. 

Additional information on key federal regulations and 

nonstatutory documents incorporated by reference and their 

availability may be found in subsection E of this section. 

B. Any reference in these regulations to any provision of the 

Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) shall be considered as the 

adoption by reference of that provision. The specific version 

of the provision adopted by reference shall be that contained 

in the CFR (2014) in effect July 1, 2014. In making reference 

to the Code of Federal Regulations, 40 CFR Part 35 means 

Part 35 of Title 40 of the Code of Federal Regulations; 

40 CFR 35.20 means § 35.20 in Part 35 of Title 40 of the 

Code of Federal Regulations. 

C. Failure to include in this section any document referenced 

in the regulations shall not invalidate the applicability of the 

referenced document. 

D. Copies of materials incorporated by reference in this 

section may be examined by the public at the central office of 

the Department of Environmental Quality, Eighth Floor, 

629 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia, between 8:30 a.m. 

and 4:30 p.m. of each business day. 

E. Information on federal regulations and nonstatutory 

documents incorporated by reference and their availability 

may be found below in this subsection. 

1. Code of Federal Regulations. 

a. The provisions specified below from the Code of 

Federal Regulations (CFR) are incorporated herein by 

reference. 

(1) 40 CFR Part 50 -- National Primary and Secondary 

Ambient Air Quality Standards. 

(a) Appendix A-1 -- Reference Measurement Principle 

and Calibration Procedure for the Measurement of Sulfur 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=86d34003790~1&typ=40&actno=003790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5ae45003790~2&typ=40&actno=003790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=37fa8003790~3&typ=40&actno=003790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=71c76003790~4&typ=40&actno=003790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=93786003790~5&typ=40&actno=003790&mime=application/pdf
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Dioxide in the Atmosphere (Ultraviolet Fluorescence 

Method). 

(b) Appendix A-2 -- Reference Method for the 

Determination of Sulfur Dioxide in the Atmosphere 

(Pararosaniline Method). 

(c) Appendix B -- Reference Method for the 

Determination of Suspended Particulate Matter in the 

Atmosphere (High-Volume Method). 

(d) Appendix C -- Measurement Principle and 

Calibration Procedure for the Continuous Measurement 

of Carbon Monoxide in the Atmosphere (Non-Dispersive 

Infrared Photometry). 

(e) Appendix D -- Measurement Principle and 

Calibration Procedure for the Measurement of Ozone in 

the Atmosphere. 

(f) Appendix E -- Reserved. 

(g) Appendix F -- Measurement Principle and Calibration 

Procedure for the Measurement of Nitrogen Dioxide in 

the Atmosphere (Gas Phase Chemiluminescence). 

(h) Appendix G -- Reference Method for the 

Determination of Lead in Suspended Particulate Matter 

Collected from Ambient Air. 

(i) Appendix H -- Interpretation of the National Ambient 

Air Quality Standards for Ozone. 

(j) Appendix I -- Interpretation of the 8-Hour Primary 

and Secondary National Ambient Air Quality Standards 

for Ozone. 

(k) Appendix J -- Reference Method for the 

Determination of Particulate Matter as PM10 in the 

Atmosphere. 

(l) Appendix K -- Interpretation of the National Ambient 

Air Quality Standards for Particulate Matter. 

(m) Appendix L -- Reference Method for the 

Determination of Fine Particulate Matter as PM2.5 in the 

Atmosphere. 

(n) Appendix M -- Reserved. 

(o) Appendix N -- Interpretation of the National Ambient 

Air Quality Standards for PM2.5. 

(p) Appendix O -- Reference Method for the 

Determination of Coarse Particulate Matter as PM in the 

Atmosphere. 

(q) Appendix P -- Interpretation of the Primary and 

Secondary National Ambient Air Quality Standards for 

Ozone. 

(r) Appendix Q -- Reference Method for the 

Determination of Lead in Suspended Particulate Matter 

as PM10 Collected from Ambient Air. 

(s) Appendix R -- Interpretation of the National Ambient 

Air Quality Standards for Lead. 

(t) Appendix S -- Interpretation of the Primary National 

Ambient Air Quality Standards for Oxides of Nitrogen 

(Nitrogen Dioxide). 

(u) Appendix T -- Interpretation of the Primary National 

Ambient Air Quality Standards for Oxides of Sulfur 

(Sulfur Dioxide). 

(2) 40 CFR Part 51 -- Requirements for Preparation, 

Adoption, and Submittal of Implementation Plans. 

(a) Appendix M -- Recommended Test Methods for State 

Implementation Plans. 

(b) Appendix S -- Emission Offset Interpretive Ruling. 

(c) Appendix W -- Guideline on Air Quality Models 

(Revised). 

(d) Appendix Y -- Guidelines for BART Determinations 

Under the Regional Haze Rule. 

(3) 40 CFR Part 55 -- Outer Continental Shelf Air 

Regulations. 

(4) 40 CFR Part 58 -- Ambient Air Quality Surveillance. 

Appendix A -- Quality Assurance Requirements for 

SLAMS, SPMs and PSD Air Monitoring. 

(5) 40 CFR Part 59 -- National Volatile Organic 

Compound Emission Standards for Consumer and 

Commercial Products. 

(a) Subpart C -- National Volatile Organic Compound 

Emission Standards for Consumer Products. 

(b) Subpart D -- National Volatile Organic Compound 

Emission Standards for Architectural Coatings, Appendix 

A -- Determination of Volatile Matter Content of 

Methacrylate Multicomponent Coatings Used as Traffic 

Marking Coatings. 

(6) 40 CFR Part 60 -- Standards of Performance for New 

Stationary Sources. 

The specific provisions of 40 CFR Part 60 incorporated 

by reference are found in Article 5 (9VAC5-50-400 et 

seq.) of Part II of 9VAC5-50 (New and Modified 

Sources). 

(7) 40 CFR Part 61 -- National Emission Standards for 

Hazardous Air Pollutants. 

The specific provisions of 40 CFR Part 61 incorporated 

by reference are found in Article 1 (9VAC5-60-60 et 

seq.) of Part II of 9VAC5-60 (Hazardous Air Pollutant 

Sources). 

(8) 40 CFR Part 63 -- National Emission Standards for 

Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source Categories. 

The specific provisions of 40 CFR Part 63 incorporated 

by reference are found in Article 2 (9VAC5-60-90 et 

seq.) of Part II of 9VAC5-60 (Hazardous Air Pollutant 

Sources). 

(9) 40 CFR Part 64 -- Compliance Assurance 

Monitoring. 
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(10) 40 CFR Part 72 -- Permits Regulation. 

(11) 40 CFR Part 73 -- Sulfur Dioxide Allowance 

System. 

(12) 40 CFR Part 74 -- Sulfur Dioxide Opt-Ins. 

(13) 40 CFR Part 75 -- Continuous Emission Monitoring. 

(14) 40 CFR Part 76 -- Acid Rain Nitrogen Oxides 

Emission Reduction Program. 

(15) 40 CFR Part 77 -- Excess Emissions. 

(16) 40 CFR Part 78 -- Appeal Procedures for Acid Rain 

Program. 

(17) 40 CFR Part 152 Subpart I -- Classification of 

Pesticides. 

(18) 49 CFR Part 172 -- Hazardous Materials Table. 

Special Provisions, Hazardous Materials 

Communications, Emergency Response Information, and 

Training Requirements, Subpart E, Labeling. 

(19) 29 CFR Part 1926 Subpart F -- Fire Protection and 

Prevention. 

b. Copies may be obtained from: Superintendent of 

Documents, P.O. Box 371954, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 

15250-7954; phone (202) 783-3238. 

2. U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. 

a. The following documents from the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency are incorporated herein by reference: 

(1) Reich Test, Atmospheric Emissions from Sulfuric 

Acid Manufacturing Processes, Public Health Service 

Publication No. PB82250721, 1980. 

(2) Compilation of Air Pollutant Emission Factors (AP-

42). Volume I: Stationary and Area Sources, stock 

number 055-000-00500-1, 1995; Supplement A, stock 

number 055-000-00551-6, 1996; Supplement B, stock 

number 055-000-00565, 1997; Supplement C, stock 

number 055-000-00587-7, 1997; Supplement D, 1998; 

Supplement E, 1999. 

(3) "Guidelines for Determining Capture Efficiency" 

(GD-35), Emissions Monitoring and Analysis Division, 

Office of Air Quality Planning and Standards, January 9, 

1995. 

b. Copies of the document identified in subdivision E 2 a 

(1) of this [ subdivision section ], and Volume I and 

Supplements A through C of the document identified in 

subdivision E 2 a (2) of this [ subdivision section ], may 

be obtained from: U.S. Department of Commerce, 

National Technical Information Service, 5285 Port Royal 

Road, Springfield, Virginia 22161; phone 1-800-553-

6847. Copies of Supplements D and E of the document 

identified in subdivision E 2 a (2) of this [ subdivision 

section ] may be obtained online from EPA's Technology 

Transfer Network at http://www.epa.gov/ttn/index.html. 

Copies of the document identified in subdivision E 2 a 

(3) of this [ subdivision section ] are only available 

online from EPA's Technology Transfer Network at 

http://www.epa.gov/ttn/emc/guidlnd.html. 

3. U.S. government. 

a. The following document from the U.S. government is 

incorporated herein by reference: Standard Industrial 

Classification Manual, 1987 (U.S. Government Printing 

Office stock number 041-001-00-314-2). 

b. Copies may be obtained from: Superintendent of 

Documents, P.O. Box 371954, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 

15250-7954; phone (202) 512-1800. 

4. American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM). 

a. The documents specified below from the American 

Society for Testing and Materials are incorporated herein 

by reference. 

(1) D323-99a, "Standard Test Method for Vapor Pressure 

of Petroleum Products (Reid Method)." 

(2) D97-96a, "Standard Test Method for Pour Point of 

Petroleum Products." 

(3) D129-00, "Standard Test Method for Sulfur in 

Petroleum Products (General Bomb Method)." 

(4) D388-99, "Standard Classification of Coals by Rank." 

(5) D396-98, "Standard Specification for Fuel Oils." 

(6) D975-98b, "Standard Specification for Diesel Fuel 

Oils." 

(7) D1072-90(1999), "Standard Test Method for Total 

Sulfur in Fuel Gases." 

(8) D1265-97, "Standard Practice for Sampling Liquefied 

Petroleum (LP) Gases (Manual Method)." 

(9) D2622-98, "Standard Test Method for Sulfur in 

Petroleum Products by Wavelength Dispersive X-Ray 

Fluorescence Spectrometry." 

(10) D4057-95(2000), "Standard Practice for Manual 

Sampling of Petroleum and Petroleum Products." 

(11) D4294-98, "Standard Test Method for Sulfur in 

Petroleum and Petroleum Products by Energy-Dispersive 

X-Ray Fluorescence Spectroscopy." 

(12) D523-89, "Standard Test Method for Specular 

Gloss" (1999). 

(13) D1613-02, "Standard Test Method for Acidity in 

Volatile Solvents and Chemical Intermediates Used in 

Paint, Varnish, Lacquer and Related Products" (2002). 

(14) D1640-95, "Standard Test Methods for Drying, 

Curing, or Film Formation of Organic Coatings at Room 

Temperature" (1999). 

(15) E119-00a, "Standard Test Methods for Fire Tests of 

Building Construction Materials" (2000). 

(16) E84-01, "Standard Test Method for Surface Burning 

Characteristics of Building Construction Materials" 

(2001). 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 7 Virginia Register of Regulations November 30, 2015 

1156 

(17) D4214-98, "Standard Test Methods for Evaluating 

the Degree of Chalking of Exterior Paint Films" (1998). 

(18) D86-04b, "Standard Test Method for Distillation of 

Petroleum Products at Atmospheric Pressure" (2004). 

(19) D4359-90, "Standard Test Method for Determining 

Whether a Material is a Liquid or a Solid" (reapproved 

2000). 

(20) E260-96, "Standard Practice for Packed Column 

Gas Chromatography" (reapproved 2001). 

(21) D3912-95, "Standard Test Method for Chemical 

Resistance of Coatings Used in Light-Water Nuclear 

Power Plants" (reapproved 2001). 

(22) D4082-02, "Standard Test Method for Effects of 

Gamma Radiation on Coatings for Use in Light-Water 

Nuclear Power Plants." 

(23) F852-99, "Standard Specification for Portable 

Gasoline Containers for Consumer Use" (reapproved 

2006). 

(24) F976-02, "Standard Specification for Portable 

Kerosine and Diesel Containers for Consumer Use." 

(25) D4457-02, "Standard Test Method for 

Determination of Dichloromethane and 1,1,1-

Trichloroethane in Paints and Coatings by Direct 

Injection into a Gas Chromatograph" (reapproved 2008). 

(26) D3792-05, "Standard Test Method for Water 

Content of Coatings by Direct Injection Into a Gas 

Chromatograph." 

(27) D2879-97, "Standard Test Method for Vapor 

Pressure-Temperature Relationship and Initial 

Decomposition Temperature of Liquids by Isoteniscope" 

(reapproved 2007). 

b. Copies may be obtained from: American Society for 

Testing Materials, 100 Barr Harbor Drive, West 

Conshohocken, Pennsylvania 19428-2959; phone (610) 

832-9585. 

5. American Petroleum Institute (API). 

a. The following document from the American Petroleum 

Institute is incorporated herein by reference: Evaporative 

Loss from Floating Roof Tanks, API MPMS Chapter 19, 

April 1, 1997. 

b. Copies may be obtained from: American Petroleum 

Institute, 1220 L Street, Northwest, Washington, D.C. 

20005; phone (202) 682-8000. 

6. American Conference of Governmental Industrial 

Hygienists (ACGIH). 

a. The following document from the ACGIH is 

incorporated herein by reference: 1991-1992 Threshold 

Limit Values for Chemical Substances and Physical 

Agents and Biological Exposure Indices (ACGIH 

Handbook). 

b. Copies may be obtained from: ACGIH, 1330 Kemper 

Meadow Drive, Suite 600, Cincinnati, Ohio 45240; 

phone (513) 742-2020. 

7. National Fire Prevention Association (NFPA). 

a. The documents specified below from the National Fire 

Prevention Association are incorporated herein by 

reference. 

(1) NFPA 385, Standard for Tank Vehicles for 

Flammable and Combustible Liquids, 2000 Edition. 

(2) NFPA 30, Flammable and Combustible Liquids 

Code, 2000 Edition. 

(3) NFPA 30A, Code for Motor Fuel Dispensing 

Facilities and Repair Garages, 2000 Edition. 

b. Copies may be obtained from the National Fire 

Prevention Association, One Batterymarch Park, P.O. 

Box 9101, Quincy, Massachusetts 02269-9101; phone 

(617) 770-3000. 

8. American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME). 

a. The documents specified below from the American 

Society of Mechanical Engineers are incorporated herein 

by reference. 

(1) ASME Power Test Codes: Test Code for Steam 

Generating Units, Power Test Code 4.1-1964 (R1991). 

(2) ASME Interim Supplement 19.5 on Instruments and 

Apparatus: Application, Part II of Fluid Meters, 6th 

edition (1971). 

(3) Standard for the Qualification and Certification of 

Resource Recovery Facility Operators, ASME QRO-1-

1994. 

b. Copies may be obtained from the American Society of 

Mechanical Engineers, Three Park Avenue, New York, 

New York 10016; phone (800) 843-2763. 

9. American Hospital Association (AHA). 

a. The following document from the American Hospital 

Association is incorporated herein by reference: An 

Ounce of Prevention: Waste Reduction Strategies for 

Health Care Facilities, AHA Catalog no. W5-057007, 

1993. 

b. Copies may be obtained from: American Hospital 

Association, One North Franklin, Chicago, IL 60606; 

phone (800) 242-2626. 

10. Bay Area Air Quality Management District 

(BAAQMD). 

a. The following documents from the Bay Area Air 

Quality Management District are incorporated herein by 

reference: 

(1) Method 41, "Determination of Volatile Organic 

Compounds in Solvent-Based Coatings and Related 

Materials Containing Parachlorobenzotrifluoride" 

(December 20, 1995). 
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(2) Method 43, "Determination of Volatile 

Methylsiloxanes in Solvent-Based Coatings, Inks, and 

Related Materials" (November 6, 1996). 

b. Copies may be obtained from: Bay Area Air Quality 

Management District, 939 Ellis Street, San Francisco, 

CA 94109, phone (415) 771-6000. 

11. South Coast Air Quality Management District 

(SCAQMD). 

a. The following documents from the South Coast Air 

Quality Management District are incorporated herein by 

reference: 

(1) Method 303-91, "Determination of Exempt 

Compounds," in Manual SSMLLABM, "Laboratory 

Methods of Analysis for Enforcement Samples" (1996). 

(2) Method 318-95, "Determination of Weight Percent 

Elemental Metal in Coatings by X-Ray Diffraction," in 

Manual SSMLLABM, "Laboratory Methods of Analysis 

for Enforcement Samples" (1996). 

(3) Rule 1174 Ignition Method Compliance Certification 

Protocol (February 28, 1991). 

(4) Method 304-91, "Determination of Volatile Organic 

Compounds (VOC) in Various Materials," in Manual 

SSMLLABM, "Laboratory Methods of Analysis for 

Enforcement Samples" (1996). 

(5) Method 316A-92, "Determination of Volatile Organic 

Compounds (VOC) in Materials Used for Pipes and 

Fittings" in Manual SSMLLABM, "Laboratory Methods 

of Analysis for Enforcement Samples" (1996). 

(6) "General Test Method for Determining Solvent 

Losses from Spray Gun Cleaning Systems," October 3, 

1989. 

b. Copies may be obtained from: South Coast Air Quality 

Management District, 21865 E. Copley Drive, Diamond 

Bar, CA 91765, phone (909) 396-2000. 

12. California Air Resources Board (CARB). 

a. The following documents from the California Air 

Resources Board are incorporated herein by reference: 

(1) Test Method 510, "Automatic Shut-Off Test 

Procedure for Spill-Proof Systems and Spill-Proof 

Spouts" (July 6, 2000). 

(2) Test Method 511, "Automatic Closure Test Procedure 

for Spill-Proof Systems and Spill-Proof Spouts" (July 6, 

2000). 

(3) Method 100, "Procedures for Continuous Gaseous 

Emission Stack Sampling" (July 28, 1997). 

(4) Test Method 513, "Determination of Permeation Rate 

for Spill-Proof Systems" (July 6, 2000). 

(5) Method 310, "Determination of Volatile Organic 

Compounds (VOC) in Consumer Products and Reactive 

Organic Compounds in Aerosol Coating Products 

(Including Appendices A and B)" (May 5, 2005). 

(6) California Code of Regulations, Title 17, Division 3, 

Chapter 1, Subchapter 8.5, Article 1, § 94503.5 (2003). 

(7) California Code of Regulations, Title 17, Division 3, 

Chapter 1, Subchapter 8.5, Article 2, §§ 94509 and 

94511 (2003). 

(8) California Code of Regulations, Title 17, Division 3, 

Chapter 1, Subchapter 8.5, Article 4, §§ 94540-94555 

(2003). 

(9) "Certification Procedure 501 for Portable Fuel 

Containers and Spill-Proof Spouts, CP-501" (July 26, 

2006). 

(10) "Test Procedure for Determining Integrity of Spill-

Proof Spouts and Spill-Proof Systems, TP-501" (July 26, 

2006). 

(11) "Test Procedure for Determining Diurnal Emissions 

from Portable Fuel Containers, TP-502" (July 26, 2006). 

b. Copies may be obtained from: California Air 

Resources Board, P.O. Box 2815, Sacramento, CA 

95812, phone (906) 322-3260 or (906) 322-2990. 

13. American Architectural Manufacturers Association. 

a. The following documents from the American 

Architectural Manufacturers Association are incorporated 

herein by reference: 

(1) Voluntary Specification 2604-02, "Performance 

Requirements and Test Procedures for High Performance 

Organic Coatings on Aluminum Extrusions and Panels" 

(2002). 

(2) Voluntary Specification 2605-02, "Performance 

Requirements and Test Procedures for Superior 

Performing Organic Coatings on Aluminum Extrusions 

and Panels" (2002). 

b. Copies may be obtained from: American Architectural 

Manufacturers Association, 1827 Walden Office Square, 

Suite 550, Schaumburg, IL 60173, phone (847) 303-

5664. 

14. American Furniture Manufacturers Association. 

a. The following document from the American Furniture 

Manufacturers Association is incorporated herein by 

reference: Joint Industry Fabrics Standards Committee, 

Woven and Knit Residential Upholstery Fabric Standards 

and Guidelines (January 2001). 

b. Copies may be obtained from: American Furniture 

Manufacturers Association, P.O. Box HP-7, High Point, 

NC 27261; phone (336) 884-5000.  

15. American Architectural Manufacturers Association 

[ (AAMA) ]. 

a. The following documents from the American 

Architectural Manufacturers Association are incorporated 

herein by reference:  

(1) Voluntary Specification, Performance Requirements 

and Test Procedures for High Performance Organic 
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Coatings on Aluminum Extrusions and Panels, 

publication number AAMA 2604-05. 

(2) Voluntary Specification, Performance Requirements 

and Test Procedures for Superior Performing Organic 

Coatings on Aluminum Extrusions and Panels, 

publication number AAMA 2605-05. 

b. Copies may be obtained from: American Architectural 

Manufacturers Association, 1827 Walden Office Square, 

Suite 550, Schaumburg, IL 60173-4268; phone 847-303-

5774.  

Article 34  

Emission Standards for Miscellaneous Metal Parts and 

Products Coating Application Systems (Rule 4-34)  

9VAC5-40-4760. Applicability and designation of affected 

facility.  

A. Except as provided in subsections C and D of this 

section, the affected facility to which the provisions of this 

article apply is each miscellaneous metal parts and products 

coating application system.  

B. The provisions of this article apply only to sources of 

volatile organic compounds in volatile organic compound 

emissions control areas designated in 9VAC5-20-206. [ After 

(insert date one year from effective date of this article) they 

do On and after February 1, 2017, this article does not apply 

to sources in the Northern Virginia Volatile Organic 

Compound Emissions Control Area designated in 9VAC5-20-

206. These sources are subject to Article 59 (9VAC5-40-8810 

et seq.) of this part. 

C. Exempted from the provisions of this article are coating 

plants whose emissions of volatile organic compounds are not 

more than 2.7 tons per year, 15 pounds per day and three 

pounds per hour, based on the actual emission rate. All 

volatile organic compound emissions from purging or 

washing solvents shall be considered in applying the 

exemption levels specified in this subsection.  

D. The provisions of this article do not apply to the 

following:  

1. Coating application systems used exclusively for 

determination of product quality and commercial 

acceptance provided:  

a. The operation is not an integral part of the production 

process;  

b. The emissions from all product quality coating 

application systems do not exceed 400 pounds in any 30 

day period; and  

c. The exemption is approved by the board.  

2. Vehicle refinishing operations.  

3. Vehicle customized coating operations, if production is 

less than 20 vehicles per day.  

4. Fully assembled aircraft and marine vessel exterior 

coating operations.  

Article 59 

Emission Standards for Miscellaneous Metal Parts and 

Products Coating Application Systems in the Northern 

Virginia Volatile Organic Compound Emissions Control 

Area, 8-hour Ozone Standard (Rule 4-59) 

9VAC5-40-8810. Applicability and designation of affected 

facility. 

A. Except as provided in subsections C [ and D through H ] 

of this section, the affected facility to which the provisions of 

this article apply is each miscellaneous metal product and 

plastic parts surface coating operation at a facility where the 

total actual emissions of volatile organic compounds (VOCs) 

from all miscellaneous metal product and plastic parts surface 

coating operations, including related cleaning activities, at 

that facility are equal to or exceed 6.8 kilograms per day (15 

pounds per day), or an equivalent level of 2.7 tons per 12-

month rolling period, before consideration of controls. 

B. The provisions of this article apply only to affected 

facilities located in the Northern Virginia VOC Emissions 

Control Area designated in subdivision 1 a of 9VAC5-20-

206. 

C. Facilities that coat bodies or body parts for new heavier 

vehicles (including all vehicles that meet the definition of the 

term "other motor vehicles" as defined in 40 CFR 63.3176 of 

the National Emission Standards for Surface Coating of 

Automobile and Light-Duty Trucks) may, in lieu of 

complying with the provisions of this article, opt to comply 

with Article 28 (Emission Standards for Automobile [ And 

and ] Light Duty Truck Coating Application Systems, 

9VAC5-40-3860 et seq.) of 9VAC5-40 (Existing Stationary 

Sources). 

D. The provisions of this article do not apply to the 

following: 

1. Miscellaneous metal product and plastic parts surface 

coating operations subject to Article 26 ([ Emissions 

Standards for ] Large Appliance [ Coatings Coating 

Application Systems ], 9VAC5-40-3560 et seq.), Article 27 

(Emission Standards for Magnet Wire Coating Application 

Systems, 9VAC5-40-3710 et seq.), Article 29 (Emission 

Standards for Can Coating Application Systems, 9VAC5-

40-4010 et seq.), Article 30 (Emission Standards for Metal 

Coil Coating Application Systems, 9VAC5-40-4160), 

Article 31 (Emission Standards for Paper and Fabric 

Coating Application Systems, 9VAC5-40-4310), Article 

33 ([ Emissions Standards for ] Metal Furniture Coating 

Application Systems, 9VAC5-40-4610 et seq.), and Article 

48 (Emission Standards for Mobile Equipment Repair and 

Refinishing Operations, 9VAC5-40-6970 et seq.) of 

9VAC5-40 (Existing Stationary Sources); and Article 5 

(Emission Standards for Architectural and Industrial 

Maintenance Coatings, 9VAC5-45-520 et seq.) of 9VAC5-

45 (Consumer and Commercial Products). 

2. Coating application systems used exclusively for 

determination of product quality and coatings that are 
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applied to test panels and coupons as part of research and 

development, quality control, or performance testing 

activities at paint research or manufacturing facilities. 

3. Coatings applied using a handheld, pressurized, 

nonrefillable container that expels coatings from the 

container in a finely divided spray when a valve on the 

container is depressed. 

4. Miscellaneous metal product and plastic parts surface 

coating operations associated with the following product 

categories or processes: aerospace coatings; wood furniture 

coatings; fiberglass boat manufacturing materials; and 

paper, film, and foil coatings not otherwise regulated under 

Article 31 (Emission Standards [ For for ] Paper and Fabric 

Coating Application Systems, 9VAC5-40-4310) of 

9VAC5-40 (Existing Stationary Sources).  

[ 5. Recommended VOC limits and application methods do 

not apply to aerosol coating products or powder coatings. 

E. For metal coatings: 

1. Recommended work practices still apply; however, the 

VOC limits and application methods for provisions of this 

article do not apply to the following: 

a. Stencil coatings;  

b. Safety-indicating coatings;  

c Solid-film lubricants;  

d. Electric-insulating and thermal conducting coatings; 

e. Magnetic data storage disk coatings; and 

f. Plastic extruded onto metal parts to form a coating. 

2. Recommended VOC limits and work practices still 

apply to these coatings and coating operations; however, 

the application methods for provisions of this article do not 

apply to the following: 

a. Touch-up coatings; 

b. Repair coatings; and 

c. Textured finishes.  

F. For plastic coatings: 

1. Recommended application and work practices still apply 

to these coatings and coating operations; however, the 

VOC limits for provisions of this article do not apply to the 

following: 

a. Touch-up and repair coatings; 

b. Stencil coatings applied on clear or transparent 

substrates; 

c. Clear or translucent coatings; 

d. Coatings applied at a paint manufacturing facility 

while conducting performance tests on the coatings; 

e. Any individual coating category used in volumes less 

than 50 gallons in any one year, if substitute complaint 

coatings are not available, provided that the total usage of 

all such coatings does not exceed 200 gallons per year, 

per facility; 

f. Reflective coating applied to highway cones; 

g. Mask coatings that are less than 0.5 millimeter thick 

(dried) and the area coated is less than 25 square inches; 

h. EMI/RF shielding coatings; and  

i. Heparin-benzalkonium chloride (HBAC)-contained 

coatings applied to medical devices, provided that the 

total usage of all such coatings does not exceed 100 

gallons per year, per facility. 

2. The application methods for provisions of this article do 

not apply to airbrush methods using five gallons or less per 

year of coating; however, VOC limits and work practices 

do apply. 

G. For automotive/transportation and business machine 

plastic part coatings: 

1. The VOC limits for provisions of this article do not 

apply to the following: 

a. Texture coatings; 

b. Vacuum metalizing coatings; 

c. Gloss reducers; 

d. Texture topcoats; 

e. Adhesion primers; 

f. Electrostatic preparation coatings; 

g. Resist coatings; and  

h. Stencil coatings. 

2. Recommended application and work practices still apply 

to these coatings and coating operations. 

H. For pleasure craft surface coating operations, VOC limits 

and work practices do apply to extreme high gloss coatings; 

however, recommended application methods do not apply. ]  

9VAC5-40-8820. Definitions. 

A. For the purpose of this article and subsequent 

amendments or any orders issued by the board, the words or 

terms shall have the meaning given them in subsection C of 

this section. 

B. As used in this article, all terms not defined here shall 

have the meaning given them in 9VAC5-10 (General 

Definitions), unless otherwise required by context. 

C. Terms defined. 

"Aerospace coatings" means materials that are applied to 

the surface of an aerospace vehicle or component to form a 

decorative, protective, or functional solid film, or the solid 

film itself at a facility that produces, reworks, or repairs in 

any amount any commercial, civil, or military aerospace 

vehicle or component. 

"Air-dried coating" means: 

1. For general use, a coating that is cured at a 

temperature below 90°C (194°F). 
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2. For automotive/transportation and business machine 

use, a coating that is dried by the use of air or forced 

warm air at temperatures up to 90°C (194°F). 

"Antifoulant coating" means any coating applied to the 

underwater portion of a pleasure craft to prevent or reduce 

the attachment of biological organisms, and registered with 

the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) as a 

pesticide under the Federal Insecticide, Fungicide, and 

Rodenticide Act (7 USC § 136). 

[ "Antifouling sealer/tie coat" means any coating applied 

over biocidal antifouling coating for the purpose of 

preventing release of biocides into the environment or to 

promote adhesion between an antifouling and a primer or 

other antifoulings. ]  

"Baked coating" means a coating that is cured at a 

temperature at or above 90°C (194°F). 

[ "Biocide" means a chemical substance or microorganism 

that can deter, render harmless, or exert a controlling effect 

on any harmful organism by chemical or biological 

means. ]  

"Black automotive coating" means a coating that meets 

both of the following criteria: (i) maximum lightness of 23 

units and (ii) saturation of less than 2.8, where saturation 

equals the square root of A² + B². These criteria are based 

on Cielab color space, 0/45 geometry. For spherical 

geometry, specular included, maximum lightness is 33 

units. 

"Business machine" means a device that uses electronic or 

mechanical methods to process information, perform 

calculations, print or copy information, or convert sound 

into electrical impulses for transmission, including devices 

listed in [ Standard Industrial Classification numbers 3572, 

3573, 3574, 3579, and 3661 and photocopy machines, a 

subcategory of Standard Industrial Classification number 

3861 National American Industry Classification System 

(NAICS) codes 333318, 334111, 339940, 334112, 334118, 

334210, 334418, 334519, 334613, and photocopying 

equipment in 333316 ]. 

"Camouflage coating" means a coating used, principally by 

the military, to conceal equipment from detection. 

"Clear coating" means: 

1. For general use, a colorless coating that contains 

binders, but no pigment, and is formulated to form a 

transparent film. 

2. For automotive/transportation and business machine 

use, a coating that lacks color and opacity or is 

transparent and that uses the undercoat as a reflectant 

base or undertone color. 

"Coating unit" means a series of one or more coating 

applicators and any associated drying area or oven wherein 

a coating is applied, dried, or cured. A coating unit ends at 

the point where the coating is dried or cured, or prior to 

any subsequent application of a different coating. It is not 

necessary for a coating unit to have an oven or flash-off 

area.  

"Drum" means any cylindrical metal shipping container 

larger than 12 gallons capacity but no larger than 110 

gallons capacity. 

"Electric dissipating coating" means a coating that rapidly 

dissipates a high-voltage electric charge. 

"Electric-insulating varnish" means a nonconvertible-type 

coating applied to electric motors, components of electric 

motors, or power transformers to provide electrical, 

mechanical, and environmental protection or resistance. 

[ "EMF/RFI shielding" means a coating used on electrical 

or electronic equipment to provide shielding against 

electromagnetic interference, radio frequency interference, 

or static discharge. ]  

"Etching filler" means a coating that contains less than 

23% solids by weight and at least 0.5% acid by weight and 

is used instead of applying a pretreatment coating followed 

by a primer. 

"Extreme high-gloss coating" means: 

1. For general use, a coating that when tested by the 

American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) 

Standard Test Method for Specular Gloss (see 9VAC5-

20-21) shows a reflectance of 75 or more on a 60° meter. 

2. For pleasure craft surface coating, any coating that 

achieves at least 95% reflectance on a 60° meter when 

tested by ASTM Standard Test Method for Specular 

Gloss (see 9VAC5-20-21). 

"Extreme performance coating" means a coating used on a 

metal or plastic surface where the coated surface is, in its 

intended use, subject to the following: 

1. Chronic exposure to corrosive, caustic, or acidic 

agents, chemicals, chemical fumes, chemical mixtures, or 

solutions; 

2. Repeated exposure to temperatures in excess of 250°F; 

or 

3. Repeated heavy abrasion, including mechanical wear 

and repeated scrubbing with industrial grade solvents, 

cleansers, or scouring agents.  

Extreme performance coatings include, but are not limited 

to, coatings applied to locomotives, railroad cars, farm 

machinery, and heavy duty trucks. 

"Fiberglass boat manufacturing materials" means materials 

utilized at facilities that manufacture hulls or decks of 

boats from fiberglass or build molds to make fiberglass 

boat hulls or decks. Fiberglass boat manufacturing 

materials are not materials used at facilities that 

manufacture solely parts of boats (i.e., hatches, seats, or 

lockers) or boat trailers, but do not (i) manufacture hulls or 

decks of boats from fiberglass or (ii) build molds to make 

fiberglass boat hulls or decks. 
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"Finish primer/surfacer" means a coating applied with a 

wet film thickness of less than 10 mils prior to the 

application of a topcoat for purposes of providing 

corrosion resistance, adhesion of subsequent coatings, a 

moisture barrier, or promotion of a uniform surface 

necessary for filling in surface imperfections. 

"Flexible coating" means any coating that is required to 

comply with engineering specifications for impact 

resistance, mandrel bend, or elongation as defined by the 

original equipment manufacturer. 

"Fog coat" means a coating that is applied to a plastic part 

for the purpose of color matching without masking a 

molded-in texture. A fog coat shall not be applied at a 

thickness of more than 0.5 mils of coating solids. 

"Heat-resistant coating" means a coating that must 

withstand a temperature of at least 400°F during normal 

use. 

"High bake coating" means a coating that is designed to 

cure only at temperatures of more than 90°C (194°F). 

"High build primer/surfacer" means a coating applied with 

a wet film thickness of 10 mils or more prior to the 

application of a topcoat for purposes of providing 

corrosion resistance, adhesion of subsequent coatings, or a 

moisture barrier, or promoting a uniform surface necessary 

for filling in surface imperfections. 

"High gloss" means any coating that achieves at least 85% 

reflectance on a 60° meter when tested by ASTM Standard 

Test Method for Specular Gloss (see 9VAC5-20-21). 

"High performance architectural coating" means a coating 

used to protect architectural subsections and that meets the 

requirements of the Architectural Aluminum Manufacturer 

Association's publication number AAMA 2604-05 

(Voluntary Specification, Performance Requirements and 

Test Procedures for High Performance Organic Coatings 

on Aluminum Extrusions and Panels) or 2605-05 

(Voluntary Specification, Performance Requirements and 

Test Procedures for Superior Performing Organic Coatings 

on Aluminum Extrusions and Panels). 

"High temperature coating" means a coating that is 

certified to withstand a temperature of 1000°F for 24 

hours. 

"Metallic coating" means a coating that contains more than 

[ 5 five ] grams of metal particles per liter of coating as 

applied. "Metal particles" are pieces of a pure elemental 

metal or a combination of elemental metals. 

"Military specification coating" means a coating that has a 

formulation approved by a United States military agency 

for use on military equipment. 

"Miscellaneous metal parts and products" means a varied 

range of metal and plastic parts and products that are 

constructed either entirely or partially from metal or 

plastic. These miscellaneous metal products and plastic 

parts include, but are not limited to, metal and plastic 

components of the following types of products as well as 

the products themselves: fabricated metal products, molded 

plastic parts, small and large farm machinery, commercial 

and industrial machinery and equipment, automotive or 

transportation equipment, interior or exterior automotive 

parts, construction equipment, motor vehicle accessories, 

bicycles and sporting goods, toys, recreational vehicles, 

pleasure craft (recreational boats), extruded aluminum 

structural components, railroad cars, heavier vehicles (as 

defined in 40 CFR 63.3176), lawn and garden equipment, 

business machines, laboratory and medical equipment, 

electronic equipment, steel drums, metal pipes, and 

numerous other industrial and household products. 

"Miscellaneous metal product and plastic parts coating" 

means coatings that include paints, sealants, caulks, inks, 

and maskants (decorative, protective, or functional 

materials that consist only of protective oils for metal, 

acids, bases, or any combination of these substances are 

not considered miscellaneous metal or plastic part 

coatings). The paints include several categories of primers, 

topcoats, and specialty coatings, typically defined by the 

coating's function. The types of coating technologies used 

by miscellaneous metal product and plastic part surface 

coating facilities include higher solids, waterborne, and 

powder coatings, as well as conventional solvent-borne 

coatings. Decorative, protective, or functional materials 

that consist only of protective oils for metal, acids, bases, 

or any combination of these substances are not considered 

miscellaneous metal or plastic part coatings. 

"Miscellaneous metal product and plastic parts surface 

coating operation" means the application of surface 

coatings by the manufacturer of miscellaneous metal and 

plastic parts to the parts it produces, and by facilities that 

perform surface coating of miscellaneous metal and plastic 

parts on a contract basis. 

"Mold seal coating" means the initial coating applied to a 

new mold or a repaired mold to provide a smooth surface 

that, when coated with a mold release coating, prevents 

products from sticking to the mold. 

"Motor vehicle bedliner" means a multi-component 

coating, used at a facility that is not an automobile or light-

duty truck assembly coating facility, applied to a cargo bed 

after the application of topcoat to provide additional 

durability and chip resistance. 

"Motor vehicle cavity wax" means a coating, used at a 

facility that is not an automobile or light-duty truck 

assembly coating facility, applied into the cavities of the 

vehicle primarily for the purpose of enhancing corrosion 

protection. 

"Motor vehicle deadener" means a coating, used at a 

facility that is not an automobile or light-duty truck 

assembly coating facility, applied to selected vehicle 

surfaces primarily for the purpose of reducing the sound of 

road noise in the passenger compartment. 
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"Motor vehicle gasket/sealing material" means a fluid, 

used at a facility that is not an automobile or light-duty 

truck assembly coating facility, applied to coat a gasket or 

replace and perform the same function as a gasket. 

Automobile and light-duty truck gasket/gasket sealing 

material includes room temperature vulcanization (RTV) 

seal material. 

"Motor vehicle lubricating wax/compound" means a 

protective lubricating material, used at a facility that is not 

an automobile or light-duty truck assembly coating facility, 

applied to vehicle hubs and hinges. 

"Motor vehicle sealer" means a high viscosity material, 

used at a facility that is not an automobile or light-duty 

truck assembly coating facility, generally, but not always, 

applied in the paint shop after the body has received an 

electrodeposition primer coating and before the application 

of subsequent coatings (e.g., primer-surfacer). The primary 

purpose of automobile and light-duty truck sealer is to fill 

body joints completely so that there is no intrusion of 

water, gases or corrosive materials into the passenger area 

of the body compartment. Such materials are also referred 

to as sealant, sealant primer, or caulk. 

"Motor vehicle trunk interior coating" means a coating, 

used at a facility that is not an automobile or light-duty 

truck assembly coating facility, applied to the trunk interior 

to provide chip protection. 

"Motor vehicle underbody coating" means a coating, used 

at a facility that is not an automobile or light-duty truck 

assembly coating facility, applied to the undercarriage or 

firewall to prevent corrosion [ and/or or ] provide chip 

protection. 

"Multi-colored coating" means a coating that exhibits more 

than one color when applied, and which is packaged in a 

single container and applied in a single coat. 

"Multi-component coating" means a coating requiring the 

addition of a separate reactive resin, commonly known as a 

catalyst or hardener, before application to form an 

acceptable dry film. 

"One-component coating" means a coating that is ready for 

application as it comes out of its container to form an 

acceptable dry film. A thinner, necessary to reduce the 

viscosity, is not considered a component. 

"Optical coating" means a coating applied to an optical 

lens. 

"Pan-backing coating" means a coating applied to the 

surface of pots, pans, or other cooking implements that are 

exposed directly to a flame or other heating elements. 

"Paper, film, and foil coating" means coating that is 

applied to paper, film, or foil surfaces in the manufacturing 

of several major product types for the following industry 

sectors: pressure sensitive tape and labels (including fabric 

coated for use in pressure sensitive tapes and labels); 

photographic film; industrial and decorative laminates; 

abrasive products (including fabric coated for use in 

abrasive products); and flexible packaging (including 

coating of nonwoven polymer substrates for use in flexible 

packaging). Paper and film coating also includes coatings 

applied during miscellaneous coating operations for several 

products including: corrugated and solid fiber boxes; die-

cut paper paperboard, and cardboard; converted paper and 

paperboard not elsewhere classified; folding paperboard 

boxes, including sanitary boxes; manifold business forms 

and related products; plastic aseptic packaging; and carbon 

paper and inked ribbons. 

"Pleasure craft" means vessels that are manufactured or 

operated primarily for recreational purposes, or leased, 

rented, or chartered to a person or business for recreational 

purposes. The owner of such vessels shall be responsible 

for certifying that the intended use is for recreational 

purposes. 

"Pleasure craft coating" means any marine coating, except 

unsaturated polyester resin (fiberglass) coatings, applied by 

brush, spray, roller, or other means to a pleasure craft. 

"Prefabricated architectural component coatings" means 

coatings applied to metal parts and products that are to be 

used as an architectural structure. 

"Pretreatment coating" means a coating that contains no 

more than 12% solids by weight, and at least 0.5% acid, by 

weight, is used to provide surface etching, and is applied 

directly to metal surfaces to provide corrosion resistance, 

adhesion, and ease of stripping. 

"Pretreatment wash primer" means a coating that contains 

no more than 12% solids, by weight, and at least 0.5% 

acids, by weight; is used to provide surface etching; and is 

applied directly to fiberglass and metal surfaces to provide 

corrosion resistance and adhesion of subsequent coatings. 

"Red automotive coating" means a coating that meets all of 

the following criteria:  

1. Yellow limit: the hue of hostaperm scarlet. 

2. Blue limit: the hue of monastral red-violet. 

3. Lightness limit for metallics: 35% aluminum flake. 

4. Lightness limit for solids: 50% titanium dioxide white.  

5. Solid reds: hue angle of -11 to 38 degrees and 

maximum lightness of 23 to 45 units. 

6. Metallic reds: hue angle of -16 to 35 degrees and 

maximum lightness of 28 to 45 units. 

These criteria are based on Cielab color space, 0/45 

geometry. For spherical geometry, specular included, the 

upper limit is 49 units. The maximum lightness varies as 

the hue moves from violet to orange. This is a natural 

consequence of the strength of the colorants, and real 

colors show this effect. 

"Repair coating" means a coating used to re-coat portions 

of a previously coated product that has sustained 
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mechanical damage to the coating following normal 

coating operations. 

"Shock-free coating" means a coating applied to electrical 

components to protect the user from electric shock. The 

coating has characteristics of being of low capacitance and 

high resistance, and having resistance to breaking down 

under high voltage. 

"Silicone release coating" means any coating that contains 

silicone resin and is intended to prevent food from sticking 

to metal surfaces such as baking pans. 

"Solar-absorbent coating" means a coating that has as its 

prime purpose the absorption of solar radiation. 

"Texture coating" means a coating that is applied to a 

plastic part that, in its finished form, consists of discrete 

raised spots of the coating. 

"Topcoat" means any final coating applied to the interior 

or exterior of a pleasure craft. 

"Touchup coating" means a coating used to cover minor 

coating imperfections appearing after the main coating 

operation. 

"Vacuum-metalizing coating" means: 

1. For general use, the undercoat applied to the substrate 

on which the metal is deposited or the overcoat applied 

directly to the metal film. Vacuum metalizing/physical 

vapor deposition (PVD) is the process whereby metal is 

vaporized and deposited on a substrate in a vacuum 

chamber. 

2. For automotive/transportation and business machine 

use, topcoats and basecoats that are used in the vacuum-

metalizing process. 

"VOC" means volatile organic compound. 

"Wood furniture coatings" means protective, decorative, or 

functional films applied in thin layers to a surface used in 

the manufacture of wood furniture or wood furniture 

components. Such coatings include, but are not limited to, 

paints, topcoats, varnishes, sealers, stains, washcoats, 

basecoats, enamels, inks, and temporary protective 

coatings. 

9VAC5-40-8830. Standard for volatile organic 

compounds. 

A. No owner or other person shall cause or permit the 

discharge into the atmosphere from a coating application 

system any volatile organic compound in excess of the limits 

contained in Tables 4-59A through 4-59E. The VOC content 

limits are mass VOC per gallon of coating less water and 

exempt solvents and are based on low-VOC coatings. If more 

than one emission limitation in this subsection applies to a 

specific coating, then the least-stringent emission limitation 

shall be applied. 

TABLE 4-59A. 

METAL PARTS AND PRODUCTS VOC CONTENT LIMITS 

Coating Category 
Air-dried Coating Baked Coating 

kg VOC/l coating  lb VOC/gal coating kg VOC/l coating lb VOC/gal coating 

General one 

component 

0.34 2.8 0.28 2.3 

General multi-

component 

0.34 2.8 0.28 2.3 

Camouflage 0.42 3.5 0.42 3.5 

Electric-insulating 

[ harnish varnish ]  

0.42 3.5 0.42 3.5 

Etching filler 0.42 3.5 0.42 3.5 

Extreme high-gloss 0.42 3.5 0.36 3.0 

Extreme performance 0.42 3.5 0.36 3.0 

Heat-resistant 0.42 3.5 0.36 3.0 

High performance 

architectural 

[ 0.42 0.74 ] [ 3.5 6.2 ]  [ 0.42 0.74 ]  [ 3.5 6.2 ] 

High temperature 0.42 3.5 0.42 3.5 

Metallic 0.42 3.5 0.42 3.5 

Military specification 0.34 2.8 0.28 2.3 
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Mold seal 0.42 3.5 0.42 3.5 

Pan-backing 0.42 3.5 0.42 3.5 

Prefabricated 

architectural multi-

component 

0.42 3.5 0.28 2.3 

Prefabricated 

architectural one-

component 

0.42 3.5 0.28 2.3 

Pretreatment coatings 0.42 3.5 0.42 3.5 

Repair and touch-up 0.42 3.5 0.36 3.0 

Silicone release 0.42 3.5 0.42 3.5 

Solar-absorbent 0.42 3.5 0.36 3.0 

Vacuum-metalizing 0.42 3.5 0.42 3.5 

Drum coating, new, 

exterior 

0.34 2.8 0.34 2.8 

Drum coating, new, 

interior 

0.42 3.5 0.42 3.5 

Drum coating, 

reconditioned, exterior 

0.42 3.5 0.42 3.5 

Drum coating, 

reconditioned, interior 

0.50 4.2 0.50 4.2 

  

TABLE 4-59B. PLASTIC PARTS AND PRODUCTS VOC CONTENT LIMITS 

Coating Category kg VOC/liter coating lbs VOC/gal coating 

General one component 0.28 2.3 

General multi-component 0.42 3.5 

Electric dissipating and shock-free 0.80 6.7 

Extreme performance 0.42 (2-pack coatings/multi-component) 3.5 (2-pack coatings/multi-component) 

Metallic 0.42 3.5 

Military specification 0.34 (1 pack/1 component) 

0.42 (2 pack/multi-component) 

2.8 (1 pack/1 component) 

3.5 (2 pack/multi-component) 

Mold seal 0.76 6.3 

Multi-colored 0.68 5.7 

Optical 0.80 6.7 

Vacuum-metalizing 0.80 6.7 
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TABLE 4-59C. AUTOMOTIVE/TRANSPORTATION AND BUSINESS MACHINE PLASTIC PARTS VOC CONTENT 

LIMITS 

Coating Category kg VOC/liter coating lbs VOC/gal coating 

Automotive/Transportation Coatings (For red, yellow, and black automotive coatings, except touch up and repair coatings, 

the recommended limit is determined by multiplying the appropriate limit in this table by 1.15.) 

I. High Bake Coatings - Interior and Exterior Parts 

Flexible 0.54 4.5 

Nonflexible 0.42 3.5 

Base coating 0.52 4.3 

Clear coating 0.48 4.0 

Non-basecoat/clear coat 0.52 4.3 

II. Low Bake/Air-dried Coatings - Exterior Parts 

Primers 0.58 4.8 

Base coating 0.60 5.0 

Clear [ coatings: coating ] 0.54 4.5 

Non-basecoat/clear coat 0.60 5.0 

III. Low Bake/Air-dried Coatings 

- Interior Parts 

0.60 5.0 

IV. Touchup and Repair Coatings 0.62 5.2 

Business Machine Coatings 

I. Primers 0.35 2.9 

II. Topcoat 0.35 2.9 

III. Texture Coat 0.35 2.9 

IV. Fog Coat 0.26 2.2 

V. Touchup and Repair 0.35 2.9 

  

TABLE 4-59D. PLEASURE CRAFT SURFACE COATING VOC CONTENT LIMITS 

Coating Category kg VOC/liter coating lbs VOC/gal coating 

Extreme high-gloss topcoat [ 0.49 0.60 ]  [ 4.1 5.0]  

High gloss topcoat 0.42 3.5 

Pretreatment wash primers 0.78 6.5 

Finish primer/surfacer 0.42 3.5 

High build primer/surfacer 0.34 2.8 

Aluminum substrate antifoulant 

coating 

0.56 4.7 

[ Antifouling sealer/tie coat ]  [ 0.42 ]  [ 3.5 ]  
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Other substrate antifoulant coating 0.33 2.8 

All other pleasure craft surface 

coatings for metal or plastic  

0.42 3.5 

  

TABLE 4-59E. MOTOR VEHICLE MATERIALS VOC CONTENT LIMITS 

Coating Category kg VOC/liter coating lbs VOC/gal coating 

Motor vehicle cavity wax 0.65 5.4 

Motor vehicle sealer 0.65 5.4 

Motor vehicle deadener 0.65 5.4 

Motor vehicle gasket/gasket sealing 

material 

0.20 1.7 

Motor vehicle underbody coating 0.65 5.4 

Motor vehicle trunk interior coating 0.65 5.4 

Motor vehicle bedliner 0.20 1.7 

Motor vehicle lubricating 

wax/compound 

0.70 5.8 

B. No owner or other person shall cause or permit the discharge into the atmosphere from a coating application system any 

volatile organic compound in excess of the limits contained in Tables 4-59F through 4-59I. The emission rate limits are based 

on low-VOC coatings and add-on controls on a VOC per volume solids basis. If more than one emission limitation in this 

subsection applies to a specific coating, then the least stringent emission limitation shall be applied. 

  

TABLE 4-59F. 

METAL PARTS AND PRODUCTS VOC EMISSION RATE LIMITS 

(VOC PER VOLUME SOLIDS) 

Coating Category 
Air-dried Baked 

kg VOC/l solids lb VOC/gal solids Kg VOC/l solids lb VOC/gal solids 

General one component 0.54 4.52 0.40 3.35 

General multi-component 0.54 4.52 0.40 3.35 

Camouflage 0.80 6.67 0.80 6.67 

Electric-insulating varnish 0.80  6.67  0.80  6.67  

Etching filler 0.80 6.67 0.80 6.67 

Extreme high-gloss 0.80 6.67 0.61 5.06 

Extreme performance 0.80 6.67 0.61 5.06 

Heat-resistant 0.80 6.67 0.61 5.06 

High performance architectural [ 0.80 4.56 ]  [ 6.67 38.0 ]  [ 0.80 4.56 ]  [ 6.67 38.0 ]  

High temperature 0.80 6.67 0.80 6.67 

Metallic 0.80 6.67 0.80 6.67 

Military specification 0.54 4.52 0.40 3.35 
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Mold-seal 0.80 6.67 0.80 6.67 

Pan-backing 0.80 6.67 0.80 6.67 

Prefabricated architectural 

multi-component 

0.80 6.67 0.40 3.35 

Prefabricated architectural one-

component 

0.80 6.67 0.40 3.35 

Pretreatment coatings 0.80 6.67 0.80 6.67 

Silicone release 0.80 0.80 6.67 0.80 6.67 

Solar-absorbent 0.80 6.67 0.61 5.06 

Vacuum-metalizing 0.80 6.67 0.80 6.67 

Drum coating, new, exterior 0.54 4.52 0.54 4.52 

Drum coating, new, interior 0.80 6.67 0.80 6.67 

Drum coating, reconditioned, 

exterior 

0.80 6.67 0.80 6.67 

Drum coating, reconditioned, 

interior 

1.17 9.78 1.17 9.78 

  

TABLE 4-59G. 

PLASTIC PARTS AND PRODUCTS VOC EMISSION RATE LIMITS 

(VOC PER VOLUME SOLIDS) 

Coating Category kg VOC/liter solids lbs VOC/gal solids 

General one component 0.40 3.35 

General multi-component 0.80 6.67 

Electric dissipating coatings and 

shock-free 

8.96 74.7 

Extreme performance 0.80 

(2-pack coatings/multi-component) 

6.67 

(2-pack coatings/multi-component) 

Metallic 0.80 6.67 

Military specification 0.54 (1 pack/1 component) 

0.80 (2 pack/multi-component 

4.52 (1 pack/1 component) 

6.67 (2 pack/multi-component) 

Mold seal 5.24 43.7 

Multi-colored 3.04 25.3 

Optical 8.96 74.7 

Vacuum-metalizing 8.96 74.7 
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TABLE 4-59H. 

AUTOMOTIVE/TRANSPORTATION AND BUSINESS MACHINE PLASTIC PARTS VOC EMISSION RATE LIMITS 

(VOC PER VOLUME SOLIDS) 

Coating Category kg VOC/liter solids lbs VOC/gal solids 

Automotive/Transportation Coatings (For red, yellow, and black automotive coatings, except touch up and repair coatings, 

the recommended limit is determined by multiplying the appropriate limit in this table by 1.15.) 

I. High Bake Coatings - Interior and Exterior Parts 

Flexible primer 1.39 11.58 

Nonflexible primer 0.80 6.67 

Base coats 1.24 10.34 

Clear coat 1.05 8.76 

Non-basecoat/clear coat 1.24 10.34 

II. Low Bake/Air-dried Coatings - Exterior Parts 

Primers  1.66 13.80 

Basecoat  1.87 15.59 

[ Clearcoats Clear coat ]  1.39 11.58 

[ Non-basecoat/clearcoat Non-

basecoat/clear coat ]  

1.87 15.59 

III. Low Bake/Air-dried Coatings - 

Interior Parts 

1.87 15.59 

IV. Touchup and Repair Coatings 2.13 17.72 

Business Machine Coatings 

I. Primers 0.57 4.80 

II. Topcoat 0.57 4.80 

III. Texture Coat 0.57 4.80 

IV. Fog Coat 0.38 3.14 

V. Touchup and Repair 0.57 4.80 

  

TABLE 4-59I. 

PLEASURE CRAFT SURFACE COATING VOC EMISSION RATE LIMITS 

(VOC PER VOLUME SOLIDS) 

Coating Category kg VOC/liter solids lbs VOC/gal solids 

Extreme high-gloss topcoat [ 1.10 1.88 ]  [ 9.2 15.6 ]  

High gloss topcoat 0.80 6.7 

Pretreatment wash primer 6.67 55.6 

Finish primer/surfacer 0.80 6.7 

High build primer surfacer 0.55 4.6 
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Aluminum substrate antifoulant coating 1.53 12.8 

[ Antifouling sealer/tie coat 0.8  6.7 ]  

Other substrate antifoulant coating 0.53 4.4 

All other pleasure craft surface coatings for 

metal or plastic 

0.80 6.7 

C. Should product performance requirements or other needs 

dictate the use of higher-VOC materials than those that would 

meet the emission limits of subsections A and B of this 

section, an affected facility may opt to use add-on control 

equipment with an overall control efficiency of 90% in lieu of 

using low-VOC coatings and required application methods in 

subsection E of this section. Add-on devices include but are 

not limited to oxidizers, adsorbers, absorbers, and 

concentrators. Add-on devices coupled with capture systems 

to collect the VOC being released at the affected facilities 

shall achieve an overall control efficiency of no less than 

90%. 

D. In addition to the emissions limitations described in 

subsections A [ through, B, and ] C of this section, the 

following work practices for storage, mixing operations, and 

handling operations for coatings, thinners, and coating-related 

waste materials shall be utilized: 

1. All VOC-containing coatings, thinners, and coating-

related waste materials shall be stored in closed containers. 

2. Mixing and storage containers used for VOC-containing 

coatings, thinners, and coating-related waste materials shall 

be kept closed at all times except when depositing or 

removing these materials. 

3. Spills of VOC-containing coatings, thinners, and 

coating-related waste materials shall be minimized. 

4. VOC-containing coatings, thinners, and coating-related 

waste materials shall be conveyed from one location to 

another in closed containers or pipes. 

E. In addition to the work practices described in subsection 

D of this section, the following work practices for cleaning 

materials, used to clean surfaces before coating (surface 

preparation) and to clean application equipment between 

coating jobs, shall be utilized: 

1. All VOC-containing cleaning materials and used shop 

towels shall be stored in closed containers. 

2. Storage containers used for VOC-containing cleaning 

materials shall be kept closed at all times except when 

depositing or removing these materials. 

3. Spills of VOC-containing cleaning materials shall be 

minimized. 

4. VOC-containing cleaning materials shall be conveyed 

from one location to another in closed containers or pipes 

5. VOC emissions from cleaning of application, storage, 

mixing, and conveying equipment shall be minimized by 

ensuring that equipment cleaning is performed without 

atomizing the cleaning solvent and all spent solvent is 

captured in closed containers. 

F. One or more of the following application techniques shall 

be used to apply any finish material listed in Tables 4-59A 

through 4-59I: 

1. Flow/curtain coating; 

2. Dip coating; 

3. Roller coating; 

4. Brush coating; 

5. Electrodeposition coating; 

6. High volume low pressure (HVLP) spraying; 

7. Electrostatic spray; 

8. Airless spray; 

9. Air-assisted airless spray; or 

10. Other coating application methods that achieve 

emission reductions equivalent to or greater than those 

achieved by HVLP or electrostatic spray application 

methods. 

9VAC5-40-8840. Standard for visible emissions. 

The provisions of Article 1 (9VAC5-40-60 et seq.) of this 

chapter (Emission Standards for Visible Emissions and 

Fugitive Dust/Emissions, Rule 4-1) apply. 

9VAC5-40-8850. Standard for fugitive dust/emissions. 

The provisions of Article 1 (9VAC5-40-60 et seq.) of this 

chapter (Emission Standards for Visible Emissions and 

Fugitive Dust/Emissions, Rule 4-1) apply. 

9VAC5-40-8860. Standard for odor. 

The provisions of Article 2 (9VAC5-40-130 et seq.) of this 

chapter (Emission Standards for Odor, Rule 4-2) apply. 

9VAC5-40-8870. Standard for toxic pollutants. 

The provisions of Article 4 [ (9VAC5-60-200 et seq.) ] of 

9VAC5-60 (Hazardous Air Pollutant Sources) apply. 

9VAC5-40-8880. Compliance. 

A. The provisions of 9VAC5-40-20 (Compliance) apply. 

B. Compliance may be demonstrated (i) on a mass VOC per 

gallon of coating less water and exempt solvents basis under 

9VAC5-40-8830 A, (ii) on a mass VOC per volume of solids 

basis under 9VAC5-40-8830 B, or (iii) the overall control 

basis [ of ] under 9VAC5-40-8830 C. 

C. The emission standards in 9VAC5-40-8830 A and 

9VAC5-40-8830 B apply coating by coating or to the volume 

weighted average of coatings where the coatings are used on 
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a single coating application system and the coatings are the 

same type or perform the same function. Such averaging shall 

not exceed 24 hours. 

D. Compliance determinations for control technologies not 

based on compliant coatings (i.e., coating formulation alone) 

shall be based on the applicable emission standards in 

9VAC5-40-8830 B and the procedures of 9VAC5-20-121. 

9VAC5-40-8890. Compliance schedule. 

The owner shall comply with the provisions of this article as 

expeditiously as possible but in no case later than [ (one year 

after the effective date of this article) February 1, 2017 ]. 

9VAC5-40-8900. Test methods and procedures. 

The provisions of 9VAC5-40-30 (Emission Testing) apply.  

9VAC5-40-8910. Monitoring. 

The provisions of 9VAC5-40-40 (Monitoring) apply.  

9VAC5-40-8920. Notification, records, and reporting. 

The provisions of 9VAC5-40-50 (Notification, Records and 

Reporting) apply.  

9VAC5-40-8930. Registration. 

The provisions of 9VAC5-20-160 (Registration) apply.  

9VAC5-40-8940. Facility and control equipment 

maintenance or malfunction. 

The provisions of 9VAC5-20-180 (Facility and Control 

Equipment Maintenance or Malfunction) apply.  

9VAC5-40-8950. Permits. 

A permit may be required prior to beginning any of the 

activities specified [ below in this section ] and the provisions 

of 9VAC5-50 (New and Modified Stationary Sources) and 

9VAC5-80 (Permits for Stationary Sources) may apply. 

Owners contemplating such action should contact the 

appropriate regional office for guidance. 

1. Construction of a facility. 

2. Reconstruction (replacement of more than half) of a 

facility. 

3. Modification (any physical change to equipment) of a 

facility. 

4. Relocation of a facility. 

5. Reactivation (re-startup) of a facility. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2125; Filed October 29, 2015, 11:49 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC5-40. Existing Stationary 

Sources (Rev. C09) (amending 9VAC5-40-7800; adding 

9VAC5-40-8380 through 9VAC5-40-8480).  

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia; 

§§ 110, 111, 123, 129, 171, 172, and 182 of the federal Clean 

Air Act (40 CFR Parts 51 and 60). 

Effective Date: February 1, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Gary Graham, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4103, FAX (804) 

698-4510, or email gary.graham@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulation requires owners to limit emissions from 

offset lithographic printing operations and letterpress 

printing operations to the level necessary for the protection 

of public health and welfare and the attainment and 

maintenance of the air quality standards. The regulation 

applies to sources within the Northern Virginia Volatile 

Organic Compound Emissions Control Area and 

establishes standards, control techniques, and provisions 

for determining compliance. The regulation also includes 

provisions for visible emissions, fugitive dust, odor, toxic 

pollutants, compliance, test methods and procedures, 

monitoring, notification, registration, malfunctions, and 

permits. 

Changes since publication of the proposed regulation 

include revising the conditions under which performance 

testing would be conducted, adding default retention 

factors and capture efficiencies, adding a provision to 

allow an exemption of a certain amount of cleaning 

materials, and correcting definitions and standards to 

conform to the new control techniques guidelines. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

Article 53  

Emission Standards for Lithographic Printing Processes (Rule 

4-53)  

9VAC5-40-7800. Applicability and designation of affected 

facility.  

A. Except as provided in subsections C, D, and E of this 

section, the affected facility to which the provisions of this 

article apply is each lithographic printing process which that 

uses a substrate other than a textile.  

B. The provisions of this article apply only to sources of 

volatile organic compounds in volatile organic compound 

emissions control areas designated in 9VAC5-20-206.  

C. Exempted from the provisions of this article are facilities 

offset lithographic printing operations in the Northern 

Virginia Volatile Organic Compound Emissions Control Area 

whose potential to emit is less than 10 tons per year of 

volatile organic compounds, provided the emission rates are 

determined in a manner acceptable to the board. All volatile 

organic compound emissions from printing inks, coatings, 

cleaning solutions, and fountain solutions shall be considered 

in applying the exemption levels specified in this subsection. 

Provisions applicable to offset lithographic printing 

operations in the Northern Virginia Volatile Organic 

Compound Emissions Control Area are provided in Article 

56.1 [ of this part ] (9VAC5-40-8420 et seq.) [ of this part ]. 
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D. Exempted from the provisions of this article are facilities 

in all volatile organic compound emissions control areas, 

other than the Northern Virginia Volatile Organic Compound 

Emissions Control Area, whose potential to emit is less than 

100 tons per year of volatile organic compounds, provided the 

emission rates are determined in a manner acceptable to the 

board. All volatile organic compound emissions from printing 

inks, coatings, cleaning solutions, and fountain solutions shall 

be considered in applying the exemption levels specified in 

this subsection.  

E. The provisions of this article do not apply to the 

following:  

1. Printing processes used exclusively for determination of 

product quality and commercial acceptance provided:  

a. The operation is not an integral part of the production 

process;  

b. The emissions from all product quality printing 

processes do not exceed 400 pounds in any 30-day 

period; and  

c. The exemption is approved by the board.  

2. Photoprocessing, typesetting, or imagesetting equipment 

using water-based chemistry to develop silver halide 

images.  

3. Platemaking equipment using water-based chemistry to 

remove unhardened image-producing material from an 

exposed plate.  

4. Equipment used to make blueprints.  

5. Any sheet-fed offset lithographic press with a cylinder 

width of 26 inches or less.  

Article 56 

Emission Standards for Letterpress Printing Operations in the 

Northern Virginia Volatile Organic Compound Emissions 

Control Area, 8-hour Ozone Standard (Rule 4-56) 

9VAC5-40-8380. Applicability and designation of affected 

facility. 

A. The affected facility to which the provisions of this 

article apply is any letterpress printing operation at a 

stationary source where the actual emissions of volatile 

organic compounds (VOCs) from all aspects of letterpress 

printing operations, including related cleaning activities, 

before the consideration of controls, are equal to or exceed 

3.0 tons per 12-month rolling period.  

B. The provisions of this article apply only to sources of 

VOCs located in the Northern Virginia VOC Emissions 

Control Area designated in subdivision 1 a of 9VAC5-20-

206.  

9VAC5-40-8382. Definitions. 

A. For the purpose of applying this article in the context of 

the regulations for the control and abatement of air pollution 

and related uses, the words or terms shall have the meanings 

given them in subsection C of this section. 

B. Unless otherwise required by context, all terms not 

defined in this section shall have the meanings given them in 

9VAC5-170 (Regulation for General Administration), 

9VAC5-10 (General Definitions), or commonly ascribed to 

them by recognized authorities, in that order of priority. 

C. Terms defined. 

"Cleaning materials" means any washes, cleaners, solvents, 

or rejuvenators that are used to remove excess printing 

inks, oils, and residual paper from a press, press 

equipment, or press parts, or used to remove dried ink from 

areas around a press. Cleaning materials include solvents 

and cleaners used for manual cleaning, and cleaning 

solutions used by automatic cleaning systems such as roller 

wash and type wash. Cleaning materials do not include 

cleaners used for cleaning electronic components of a 

press, pre-press cleaning operations (e.g., platemaking), 

post-press cleaning operations (e.g., binding), cleaning 

supplies such as detergents used to clean the floor (other 

than to remove dried ink from areas around a press), and 

cleaning performed in parts washers and cold cleaners 

subject to Article 47 (9VAC5-40-6820 et seq.) of Part II of 

9VAC5-40 (Existing Stationary Sources). 

"Composite partial vapor pressure" means the sum of the 

partial pressures of the compounds defined as volatile 

organic compounds.  Composite partial vapor pressure is 

calculated as follows: 

 

where: 

Wi = Weight of the "i"th VOC compound, 

in grams. 

Ww = Weight of water, in grams. 

We = Weight of exempt compound, in 

grams. 

MWi = Molecular weight of the "i"th VOC 

compound, in grams/gram-mole. 

MWw = Molecular weight of water, in 

grams/gram-mole. 

MWe = Molecular weight of exempt 

compound, in grams/gram-mole. 

PPc = VOC composite partial pressure at 

20°C, in millimeters of mercury 

(mm Hg). 

VPi = Vapor pressure of the "i"th VOC 

compound at 20°C, in mm Hg. 

"First installation date" means the date that a control 

device is first installed for the purpose of controlling 
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emissions. The first installation date does not change if the 

control device is later moved to a new location or installed 

on a different press. 

"Heatset" means a printing process in which heat from a 

dryer is used to evaporate ink oils from the substrate. 

"Letterpress printing" means a printing process in which 

the image area is raised relative to the nonimage area and 

paste ink is transferred to the substrate directly from the 

image surface. 

"Letterpress printing operation" means one or more 

[ letterpress ] printing processes employing letterpress 

printing on [ letterpress ] printing presses and the related 

processes necessary to directly support the operation of 

those presses including, but not limited to, cleaning, pre-

press, and post-press operations.  

"Non-heatset" means a printing process in which the 

printing inks are set and dried by absorption or oxidation 

rather than heat.  For the purposes of this article, UV-cured 

and electron beam-cured inks are considered non-heatset. 

"Press" means a printing production assembly composed of 

one or more units to produce a printed substrate (sheet or 

web). 

"Printing" means a photomechanical process in which a 

transfer of text, designs, and images occurs through contact 

of an image carrier with a substrate. 

"Printing process" means any operation or system wherein 

printing ink or a combination of printing ink and surface 

coating is applied, dried, or cured and that is subject to the 

same emission standard. A printing process may include 

any equipment that applies, conveys, dries, or cures inks or 

surface coatings, including, but not limited to, flow coaters, 

flashoff areas, [ air presses, digital output devices, 

heaters, ] dryers, drying areas, and ovens. 

"Sheet-fed" means a printing process in which individual 

sheets of substrate are fed into the press sequentially. 

"Theoretical potential to emit" means for the purposes of 

this article the maximum capacity of a letterpress printing 

process to emit VOC and shall be based on emissions at 

design capacity or maximum production and maximum 

operating hours (8,760 hours/year) before add-on controls, 

unless the [ heatset web offset lithographic letterpress ] 

printing process is subject to state and federally 

enforceable permit conditions that limit production rates or 

hours of operation. 

"12-month rolling period" means a period that is 

determined monthly and consists of the previous 12 

consecutive calendar months. 

"Unit" means [ , for the purposes of this article, ] the 

smallest complete printing component, composed of an 

inking [ and dampening ] system, of a [ letterpress ] 

printing press. 

"VOC" means volatile organic compound. 

"Web" means a continuous roll of printing substrate.  

9VAC5-40-8384. Standard for volatile organic 

compounds. 

A. No owner or other person shall use or permit the use of 

any letterpress printing press, letterpress printing process, or 

other letterpress printing operation that is subject to this 

article unless that press, process, or operation meets the 

requirements of this section. 

B. The following provisions apply to each dryer on each 

heatset web letterpress printing process, except that these 

provisions do not apply to (i) any heatset web letterpress 

printing process with a theoretical potential to emit less than 

25 tons per year of VOC [ (petroleum ink oil) ] from the 

dryer, prior to controls; (ii) any heatset web letterpress 

printing process used exclusively for book printing; or (iii) 

any heatset web letterpress printing process with a maximum 

web width of 22 inches or less. These provisions also do not 

apply to non-heatset web letterpress printing processes or to 

sheet-fed letterpress printing processes. 

1. VOC emissions from the heatset web letterpress printing 

process dryer shall be controlled as follows: 

a. The dryer shall operate at a lower air pressure than the 

pressroom air pressure at all times when the printing 

process is operating; 

b. Exhaust air from the dryer shall be collected and sent 

to a control device that operates at all times when the 

printing process is operating. 

c. For a control device whose first installation date is 

prior to [ (insert effective date of this article) February 1, 

2016 ], the control device shall reduce VOC emissions in 

the dryer air exhaust by at least 90%. 

d. For a control device whose first installation date is on 

or after [ (insert effective date of this article) February 1, 

2016 ], the control device shall reduce VOC emissions in 

the dryer air exhaust by at least 95%.  

2. Where the heatset web letterpress printing process 

control device inlet VOC concentration is too low to 

achieve the control device efficiency requirements 

specified in subdivisions 1 c and 1 d of this subsection or 

there is no identifiable measurable inlet, the control device 

shall reduce the VOC concentration of the heatset web 

letterpress printing process dryer exhaust air to 20 parts per 

million volume (ppmv) or less, as hexane on a dry basis. 

3. Federally enforceable limitations on (i) the VOC 

[ (petroleum ink oil) ] content of inks and coatings applied 

[ prior to the dryer ], (ii) the total amounts of inks and 

coatings applied, (iii) the press application rates of inks and 

coatings, or (iv) the hours of press operation may be used 

to meet the 25 ton per year exception to this subsection. 

C. Cleaning materials used at each letterpress printing 

operation shall meet one of the following limits, as applied [ , 

except that 110 gallons of cleaning materials that meet neither 

limit may be used per 12-month rolling period ]: 
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1. A VOC content of 70% by weight; or 

2. A composite vapor pressure of 10 mm Hg at 20°C. 

[ The use of cleaning materials not meeting the limits in 

subdivision 1 or 2 of this subsection is permitted provided 

that the quantity of cleaning material used does not exceed 

110 gallons over any 12-month rolling period. ]  

D. The following work practices shall be implemented: 

1. Cleaning materials, inks, and coatings containing VOCs 

shall be kept in closed containers at all times unless filling, 

draining, or performing cleaning operations. 

2. Shop towels, sponges, and other manual cleaning aids (i) 

that have been used for picking up excess ink and other 

coatings containing VOCs or (ii) that have been used with 

cleaning materials containing VOCs shall be kept in closed 

containers. 

3. Spills of cleaning materials, fountain solution, inks, 

varnishes, and other coatings containing VOCs shall be 

minimized and shall be cleaned up promptly.  

9VAC5-40-8386. Standard for visible emissions. 

The provisions of Article 1 (9VAC5-40-60 et seq.) of Part II 

of 9VAC5-40 (Existing Stationary Sources) apply.  

9VAC5-40-8388. Standard for fugitive dust/emissions. 

The provisions of Article 1 (9VAC5-40-60 et seq.) of Part II 

of 9VAC5-40 (Existing Stationary Sources) apply.  

9VAC5-40-8390. Standard for odor. 

The provisions of Article 2 (9VAC5-40-130 et seq.) of Part 

II of 9VAC5-40 (Existing Stationary Sources) apply.  

9VAC5-40-8394. Standard for toxic pollutants. 

The provisions of Article 4 (9VAC5-60-200 et seq.) of Part 

II of 9VAC5-60 (Hazardous Air Pollutant Sources) apply.  

9VAC5-40-8396. Compliance. 

A. The provisions of 9VAC5-40-20 (Compliance) apply. 

B. [ An If requested by the board, an ] emission test of the 

control device installed on a heatset web letterpress printing 

process dryer shall be performed to demonstrate compliance 

with the provisions of 9VAC5-40-8384 B [ and 9VAC5-40-

8398 ]. The negative dryer pressure shall be established 

during the initial test using an airflow direction indicator, 

such as a smoke stick or aluminum ribbons, or a differential 

pressure gauge. [ The board may accept the results of an 

emission test conducted prior to February 1, 2016, if the 

owner or operator provides information and data that 

demonstrate that the test demonstrated compliance with the 

provisions of 9VAC5-40-8384 B. ]  

C. [ Once initial compliance has been demonstrated with the 

heatset web letterpress printing process dryer control 

requirements of 9VAC5-40-8384 B through performance 

testing of an catalytic or thermal oxidation control device, 

continuing Continuing ] compliance with the heatset web 

letterpress printing process dryer control requirements in 

9VAC5-40-8384 B shall be demonstrated for the catalytic or 

thermal oxidation control device by monitoring the control 

device in accordance with 9VAC5-40-8410 B. The owner 

shall maintain the [ 3-hour three-hour ] average of the 

monitored temperature at a temperature no less than 50°F 

below the [ 3-hour three-hour ] average temperature that was 

recorded during the most recent performance test during 

which compliance was demonstrated. [ In the absence of 

performance test results acceptable to the board that provide 

dryer control device temperatures that demonstrate continuing 

compliance with the requirements in 9VAC5-40-8384 B, 

control device temperatures that demonstrate compliance with 

manufacturer recommendations may be considered by the 

board to demonstrate compliance with heatset web offset 

letterpress printing process dryer control requirements in 

9VAC5-40-8384 B.  

D. A portion of the volatile organic compounds contained in 

inks and cleaning solution is retained in the printed web and 

in the shop towels used for cleaning. When applicable, the 

following retention factors may be used in determining 

volatile organic compounds emissions from letterpress 

printing operations: 

1. A 20% volatile organic compound retention factor may 

be used for petroleum ink oils contained in heatset inks that 

are printed on absorptive substrates, meaning that 80% of 

the VOC (petroleum ink oil) in the ink is emitted during 

the printing process and is available for capture and control 

by an add-on pollution control device. 

2. A 100% volatile organic compound retention factor may 

be used for vegetable ink oils contained in heatset inks that 

are printed on absorptive substrates, meaning that none of 

the VOC (vegetable ink oil) in the ink is emitted during the 

printing process and available for capture and control by an 

add-on pollution control device. 

3. A 95% volatile organic compound retention factor may 

be used for petroleum ink oils contained in sheet-fed and 

non-heatset web inks printed on absorptive substrates, 

meaning that 5.0% of the VOC (petroleum ink oil) in the 

ink is emitted during the printing process. 

4. A 100% volatile organic compound retention factor may 

be used for vegetable ink oils contained in sheet-fed and 

non-heatset web inks printed on absorptive substrates, 

meaning that none of the VOC (vegetable ink oil) in the 

ink is emitted during the printing process. 

5. A 50% volatile organic compound retention factor may 

be used for cleaning solution VOC in shop towels for those 

cleaning solutions with a volatile organic compounds 

composite vapor pressure of no more than 10 millimeters 

of mercury (Hg) at 20°C (68°F) provided that the cleaning 

materials and used shop towels are kept in closed 

containers.  

E. A portion of the volatile organic compounds contained in 

inks is captured for control by add-on air pollution control 

equipment. When applicable, the following capture 
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efficiencies may be used in determining volatile organic 

compounds emissions from letterpress printing operations: 

1. A 100% volatile organic compound capture efficiency 

may be used for VOC (petroleum ink oils) from oil-based 

paste inks and oil-based paste varnishes (coatings) when 

the dryer is demonstrated to be operating at negative 

pressure relative to the surrounding pressroom. 

2. Conventional letterpress inks and varnishes are paste-

type materials. If other types of inks or coating materials 

are used on a letterpress press (e.g., fluid inks or coatings), 

capture efficiency testing shall be conducted for the VOC 

from these other materials if the printer wants to take into 

account the effect that the dryer controls have on VOC 

emissions from these other types of inks or coatings. ]  

9VAC5-40-8398. Compliance schedule. 

The owner shall comply with the provisions of this article as 

expeditiously as possible but in no case later than [ (insert a 

date corresponding to the first day of the 12th month after the 

effective date of this article) February 1, 2017 ].  

9VAC5-40-8400. Test methods and procedures. 

A. The provisions of 9VAC5-40-30 (Emission testing) 

apply. 

B. The following EPA test methods shall be used to 

demonstrate compliance with the heatset web letterpress 

printing process dryer control device control requirements in 

9VAC5-40-8384 B.  

1. Reference Method 1 or 1A, as appropriate, shall be used 

to select the sampling sites.  

2. Reference Method 2, 2A, 2C, or 2D, as appropriate, 

shall be used to determine the velocity and volumetric flow 

rate of the exhaust stream. 

3. Reference Method 3 or 3A, as appropriate, shall be used 

to determine the concentration of O2 and CO2. 

4. Reference Method 4 shall be used to determine moisture 

content. 

5. Reference Methods 18, 25, or 25A shall be used to 

determine the VOC concentration of the dryer exhaust 

stream entering and exiting the control device, unless the 

alternate limit in 9VAC5-40-8384 B 2 is being met, in 

which case only the VOC concentration of the dryer 

exhaust control device outlet shall be determined. 

6. Reference Method 25A shall be used to determine the 

dryer exhaust control device inlet and outlet VOC 

concentrations when the control device outlet 

concentration is less than 50 [ ppmv parts per million 

volume (ppmv) ] VOC as carbon. 

7. If the control device is an oxidizer, the combustion 

chamber temperature or catalyst bed inlet temperature 

corresponding to destruction efficiencies that meet the 

requirements of 9VAC5-40-8384 B shall be recorded. 

C. The VOC content of as-applied inks, coatings, and 

cleaning materials shall be determined using Reference 

Method 24. 

1. The analysis of as-supplied materials may be performed 

by the manufacturer or the supplier. Formulation 

information from the manufacturer may be used in lieu of 

Reference Method 24 analysis unless the board or the 

owner has reason to believe that the formulation 

information provided by the manufacturer is inaccurate. 

2. The owner may use VOC content information provided 

by the manufacturer or supplier, such as the container 

label, the product data sheet, or the [ MSDS sheet Safety 

Data Sheet (SDS) ] to document the VOC content of the 

as-supplied material. 

3. If cleaning materials are diluted by the owner prior to 

use, a calculation that combines the as-supplied VOC 

content information provided by the manufacturer or 

supplier, the VOC content of the diluent, and the 

proportions in which they are mixed may be used to make 

a determination of VOC content of the as-applied cleaning 

material in lieu of Reference Method 24. 

4. The owner shall conduct Reference Method 24 testing of 

any as-applied cleaning material used for letterpress 

printing operations at any time at the board's request. The 

owner shall be prepared to sample as-applied fountain 

solution or cleaning materials at all times. 

D. The VOC composite partial vapor pressure of cleaning 

solutions shall be determined using the formula provided in 

9VAC5-40-8382 C or by an appropriate test method approved 

by the board. 

1. The determination VOC composite partial vapor 

pressure for as-supplied cleaning solutions may be 

performed by the manufacturer or the supplier. The 

determination of as-applied composite vapor pressure 

based upon the manufacturer's instructions for dilution may 

be performed by the manufacturer or supplier. 

2. The owner may use VOC composite partial vapor 

pressure information provided by the manufacturer or 

supplier, such as the container label, the product data sheet, 

or the [ Material Safety Data Sheet (MSDS) Safety Data 

Sheet (SDS) ] to document the VOC composite partial 

vapor pressure of the as-supplied or as-applied cleaning 

materials. 

3. The following provisions apply to the determination of 

VOC composite partial vapor pressure for cleaning 

materials that are diluted by the owner prior to use: 

a. If the dilution is made according to the manufacturer's 

instructions, the VOC composite partial vapor pressure 

for the as-applied cleaning material provided by the 

manufacturer or supplier may be used. 

b. If a dilution is made and an as-applied VOC composite 

partial vapor pressure has not been provided by the 

manufacturer or supplier, or if the dilution is not made 
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according to the manufacturer's instructions, then the 

owner shall determine the VOC composite partial vapor 

pressure using the calculation method provided in 

9VAC5-40-8382 C or by an appropriate test method 

approved by the board. 

4. The owner shall conduct testing of any as-applied 

cleaning materials used for letterpress printing operations 

at any time at the board's request. The owner shall be 

prepared to sample as-applied cleaning materials at all 

times.  

9VAC5-40-8410. Monitoring. 

A. The provisions of 9VAC5-40-40 (Monitoring) apply. 

B. Periodic monitoring of letterpress printing operations 

shall be conducted as follows: 

1. The temperature of a catalytic or thermal oxidation 

control device shall be monitored at least once every 15 

minutes while the printing process is operating, and that 

temperature shall be recorded by an analog or digital 

recording device. 

a. For a catalytic oxidizer, the dryer exhaust temperature 

upstream of the catalyst bed shall be monitored and 

recorded. 

b. For a thermal oxidizer, the combustion chamber 

temperature of the oxidizer shall be monitored and 

recorded. 

2. Catalyst bed material in a catalytic oxidation control 

device shall be inspected annually for general catalyst 

condition and any signs of potential catalyst depletion. 

Sampling and evaluation of the catalyst bed material shall 

be conducted whenever the results of the inspection 

indicate signs of potential catalyst depletion or poor 

catalyst condition based on manufacturer's 

recommendations, but not less than once per year. 

3. If a heatset web letterpress printing process is 

interlocked to ensure that the control device is operating 

and airflow is present when the printing process is 

operating, then periodic monitoring of dryer air flow is not 

required. If no interlock is present, then the printing 

process dryer air flow shall be verified and recorded once 

per operating day.  

9VAC5-40-8412. Notification, records, and reporting. 

The provisions of 9VAC5-40-50 (Notification, records and 

reporting) apply.  

9VAC5-40-8414. Registration. 

The provisions of 9VAC5-20-160 (Registration) apply. 

9VAC5-40-8416. Facility and control equipment 

maintenance or malfunction. 

The provisions of 9VAC5-20-180 (Facility and control 

equipment maintenance or malfunction) apply. 

9VAC5-40-8418. Permits. 

A permit may be required prior to beginning any of the 

activities specified [ below in this section ] if the provisions 

of 9VAC5-50 (New and Modified Stationary Sources) and 

9VAC5-80 (Permits for Stationary Sources) apply. Owners 

contemplating such action should review those provisions and 

contact the appropriate regional office for guidance on 

whether those provisions apply. 

1. Construction of a facility. 

2. Reconstruction (replacement of more than half) of a 

facility. 

3. Modification (any physical change to equipment) of a 

facility. 

4. Relocation of a facility. 

5. Reactivation (re-startup) of a facility. 

6. Operation of a facility.  

Article 56.1 

Emission Standards for Offset Lithographic Printing 

Operations in the Northern Virginia Volatile Organic 

Compound Emissions Control Area, 8-hour Ozone Standard 

(Rule 4-56.1) 

9VAC5-40-8420. Applicability and designation of affected 

facility. 

A. The affected facility to which the provisions of this 

article apply is any offset lithographic printing operation at a 

stationary source where the actual emissions of volatile 

organic compounds (VOCs) from all aspects of offset 

lithographic printing operations, including related cleaning 

activities, before the consideration of controls are equal to or 

exceed 3.0 tons per 12-month rolling period. 

B. The provisions of this article apply only to sources of 

VOCs located in the Northern Virginia VOC Emissions 

Control Area designated in subdivision 1 a of 9VAC5-20-

206. 

9VAC5-40-8422. Definitions. 

A. For the purpose of applying this article in the context of 

the regulations for the control and abatement of air pollution 

and related uses, the words or terms shall have the meanings 

given them in subsection C of this section. 

B. Unless otherwise required by context, all terms not 

defined in this section shall have the meanings given them in 

9VAC5-170 (Regulation for General Administration), 

9VAC5-10 (General Definitions), or commonly ascribed to 

them by recognized authorities, in that order of priority. 

C. Terms defined. 

"Alcohol" means any of the following compounds when 

used as a fountain solution additive: ethanol, n-propanol, 

and isopropanol. 

"Alcohol substitute" means any nonalcohol additive that 

contains volatile organic compounds and is used in the 

fountain solution. 
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"Batch" means a supply of fountain solution [ or cleaning 

solution ] that is prepared and used without alteration until 

completely used or removed from the printing process. 

"Cleaning materials" means any washes, cleaners, solvents, 

or rejuvenators that are used to remove (i) excess printing 

inks, oils, and residual paper from a press, press 

equipment, or press parts or (ii) dried ink from areas 

around a press. Cleaning materials include solvents and 

cleaners used for manual cleaning and cleaning solutions 

used by automatic cleaning systems such as blanket wash, 

plate cleaner, metering roller cleaner, impression cylinder 

washes, rubber rejuvenators, and roller wash. Cleaning 

materials do not include cleaners used for cleaning 

electronic components of a press, pre-press cleaning 

operations (e.g., platemaking), post-press cleaning 

operations (e.g., binding), cleaning supplies such as 

detergents used to clean the floor (other than to remove 

dried ink from areas around a press), and cleaning 

performed in parts washers and cold cleaners subject to 

Article 47 (9VAC5-40-6820 et seq.) of Part II of 9VAC5-

40 (Existing Stationary Sources).  

"Composite partial vapor pressure" means the sum of the 

partial pressures of the compounds defined as volatile 

organic compounds.  Composite partial vapor pressure is 

calculated as follows: 

 

where: 

Wi = Weight of the "i"th VOC compound, 

in grams. 

Ww = Weight of water, in grams. 

We = Weight of exempt compound, in 

grams. 

MWi = Molecular weight of the "i"th VOC 

compound, in grams/gram-mole. 

MWw = Molecular weight of water, in 

grams/gram-mole. 

MWe = Molecular weight of exempt 

compound, in grams/gram-mole. 

PPc = VOC composite partial pressure at 

20°C, in millimeters of mercury 

(mm Hg). 

VPi = Vapor pressure of the "i"th VOC 

compound at 20°C, in mm Hg. 

"First installation date" means the date that a control 

device is first installed for the purpose of controlling 

emissions. The first installation date does not change if the 

control device is later moved to a new location or installed 

on a different press.  

"Fountain solution" means any mixture of water, volatile 

and nonvolatile chemicals, and additives applied to a 

lithographic plate to repel ink from the nonimage area on 

the plate. 

"Heatset" means a printing process in which heat from a 

dryer is used to evaporate ink oils from the substrate. 

"Heatset web offset lithographic printing dryer" means the 

dryer or dryers installed as part of a heatset web offset 

lithographic printing process that dries [ or cures ] inks or 

surface coatings. 

"Lithographic printing" means a planographic printing 

process in which the image and nonimage areas are 

chemically differentiated with the image area being oil 

receptive and the nonimage area being water receptive. 

This process differs from other printing processes, where 

the image is a raised or recessed surface. 

"Non-heatset" means a printing process in which the 

printing inks are set and dried by absorption or oxidation 

rather than heat. For the purposes of this article, UV-cured 

and electron beam-cured inks are considered non-heatset. 

"Offset lithographic printing" means a printing process that 

transfers the ink film from the lithographic plate to an 

intermediary surface (blanket), which, in turn, transfers the 

ink film to the substrate. 

"Offset lithographic printing operation" means one or more 

printing processes employing offset lithographic printing 

on [ offset lithographic ] printing presses and includes the 

related processes necessary to directly support the 

operation of those offset lithographic printing processes 

including, but not limited to, pre-press and post-press 

operations. Varnishes, glues, and other coatings that are 

applied by an offset lithographic printing process are part 

of offset lithographic printing operations and are not 

considered as a separate process (e.g., paper coating).  

"Press" means a printing production assembly composed of 

one or more units to produce a printed substrate (sheet or 

web). 

"Printing" means a photomechanical process in which a 

transfer of text, designs, and images occurs through contact 

of an image carrier with a substrate. 

"Printing process" means any operation or system wherein 

printing ink or a combination of printing ink and surface 

coating is applied, dried, or cured and that is subject to the 

same emission standard. A printing process may include 

any equipment that applies, conveys, dries, or cures inks or 

surface coatings, including, but not limited to, flow coaters, 

flashoff areas, [ air presses, digital output devices, fountain 

solutions, heaters, ] dryers, drying areas, and ovens. 

"Sheet-fed" means a printing process in which individual 

sheets of substrate are fed into the press sequentially. 
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"Theoretical potential to emit" means for the purposes of 

this article the maximum capacity of a heatset web offset 

lithographic printing process to emit VOC and shall be 

based on emissions at design capacity or maximum 

production and maximum operating hours (8,760 

hours/year) before add-on controls, unless the heatset web 

offset lithographic printing process is subject to state and 

federally enforceable permit conditions that limit 

production rates or hours of operation. 

"12-month rolling period" means a period that is 

determined monthly and consists of the previous 12 

consecutive calendar months. 

"Unit" means the smallest complete printing component, 

composed of an inking [ and dampening ] system, of a 

printing press. 

"VOC" means volatile organic compound. 

"Web" means a continuous roll of printing substrate.  

9VAC5-40-8424. Standard for volatile organic 

compounds. 

A. No owner or other person shall use or permit the use of 

any offset lithographic printing press, offset lithographic 

printing process, or other offset lithographic printing 

operation that is subject to this article unless that press, 

process, or operation meets the requirements of this section. 

B. Except as provided in subdivision 3 of this subsection, 

the following provisions apply to each heatset offset 

lithographic printing process at a facility whose potential to 

emit is greater than or equal to 10 tons per year of VOC, 

provided that the emission rates are determined in a manner 

acceptable to the board. All VOC emissions from printing 

inks, coatings, cleaning solutions, and fountain solutions shall 

be considered in determining the potential to emit for this 

subsection. 

1. VOC emissions from the heatset web offset lithographic 

printing process dryer shall be controlled as follows: 

a. The dryer shall operate at a lower air pressure than the 

pressroom air pressure at all times when the printing 

process is operating. 

b. Exhaust air from the dryer shall be collected and sent 

to a control device that operates at all times when the 

printing process is operating. 

c. The control device shall reduce VOC emissions in the 

dryer air exhaust by at least 90%. 

2. Where the heatset web offset lithographic printing 

process control device inlet VOC concentration is too low 

to achieve the control device efficiency requirements 

specified in [ subdivisions subdivision ] 1 c of this 

subsection or there is no identifiable measurable inlet, the 

control device shall reduce the VOC concentration of the 

heatset web offset lithographic printing process dryer 

exhaust air to 50 parts per million volume (ppmv) or less, 

as carbon (minus methane and ethane). 

3. The provisions in subdivisions 1 and 2 of this subsection 

do not apply to the following: 

a. Any heatset web offset lithographic printing process 

with a theoretical potential to emit of 25 tons per year of 

VOC [ (petroleum ink oil) ] or more from the heatset web 

offset lithographic printing dryer. VOC standards for 

heatset web offset lithographic printing process with a 

theoretical potential to emit of 25 tons per year of VOC 

[ (petroleum ink oil) ] or more are provided in subsection 

C of this section.  

b. Printing processes used exclusively for determination 

of product quality and commercial acceptance provided: 

(1) The operation is not an integral part of the production 

process; 

(2) The emissions from all product quality printing 

processes do not exceed 400 pounds in any 30-day 

period; and 

(3) The exemption is approved by the board. 

c. Photoprocessing, typesetting, or imagesetting 

equipment using water-based chemistry to develop silver 

halide images. 

d. Platemaking equipment using water-based chemistry 

to remove unhardened image-producing material from an 

exposed plate. 

e. Equipment used to make blueprints. 

f. Any sheet-fed offset lithographic press with a cylinder 

width of 26 inches or less. 

C. Except as provided in subdivisions [ 3, ] 4 [ , ] and 5 of 

this subsection, the following provisions apply to each heatset 

web offset lithographic printing process with a theoretical 

potential to emit of 25 tons per year of VOC [ (petroleum ink 

oil) ] or more from the dryer. These provisions do not apply 

to non-heatset web offset lithographic printing processes or to 

sheet-fed offset lithographic printing processes. 

1. VOC emissions from the heatset web offset lithographic 

printing process dryer shall be controlled as follows: 

a. The dryer shall operate at a lower air pressure than the 

pressroom air pressure at all times when the printing 

process is operating. 

b. Exhaust air from the dryer shall be collected and sent 

to a control device that operates at all times when the 

printing process is operating. 

c. For a control device whose first installation date is 

prior to [ (insert effective date of this article) February 1, 

2016 ], the control device shall reduce VOC emissions in 

the dryer air exhaust by at least 90%. 

d. For a control device whose first installation date is on 

or after [ (insert effective date of this article) February 1, 

2016 ], the control device shall reduce VOC emissions in 

the dryer air exhaust by at least 95%. 
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2. Where the heatset web offset lithographic printing 

process control device inlet VOC concentration is too low 

to achieve the control device efficiency requirements 

specified in subdivisions 1 c and 1 d of this subsection or 

there is no identifiable measurable inlet, the control device 

shall reduce the VOC concentration of the heatset web 

offset lithographic printing process dryer exhaust air to 20 

parts per million volume (ppmv) or less, as hexane on a dry 

basis. 

3. Federally enforceable limitations on (i) the VOC 

[ (petroleum ink oil) ] content of inks, varnishes, and other 

coatings applied [ prior to the dryer ]; (ii) the total amounts 

of inks, varnishes, and other coatings applied; (iii) the 

press application rates of inks, varnishes, and other 

coatings; or (iv) the hours of press operation may be used 

to meet the 25 ton per year exception to this subsection. 

4. The provisions of subdivisions 1 and 2 of this subsection 

do not apply to (i) any heatset web offset lithographic 

printing process constructed on or after [ (insert effective 

date of this article) February 1, 2016, ] and used 

exclusively for book printing or (ii) any heatset web offset 

lithographic printing process constructed on or after 

[ (insert effective date of this article) February 1, 2016, ] 

with a maximum web width of 22 inches or less.  

5. The heatset web offset lithographic printing process 

dryer control device provisions of subdivision 1 d of this 

subsection do not apply to (i) any heatset web offset 

lithographic printing process used exclusively for book 

printing; or (ii) any heatset web offset lithographic printing 

process with a maximum web width of 22 inches or less. 

D. The following provisions shall apply to fountain solution 

applied to each offset lithographic printing press, except that 

these provisions shall not apply to (i) sheet-fed offset 

lithographic printing processes with a sheet size of 11 inches 

by 17 inches or smaller or (ii) sheet-fed offset lithographic 

printing processes with a total fountain solution reservoir of 

less than one gallon. 

1. For each heatset web press: 

a. When the fountain solution contains alcohol: 

(1) The fountain solution, as applied, shall contain no 

more than 1.6% volatile organic compounds by weight; 

or 

(2) The temperature of the fountain solution shall be 

maintained at or below 60°F and the fountain solution, as 

applied, shall contain no more than 3.0% VOCs by 

weight; or 

b. When the fountain solution contains no alcohol, the 

fountain solution, as applied, shall contain no more than 

5.0% VOCs by weight. 

2. For each non-heatset web press, the fountain solution, as 

applied, shall contain no alcohol and shall contain no more 

than 5.0% VOCs by weight. 

3. For each sheet-fed press: 

a. The fountain solution, as applied, shall contain no 

more than 5.0% VOCs by weight; or 

b. The temperature of the fountain solution shall be 

maintained at or below 60°F and the fountain solution, as 

applied, shall contain no more than 8.5% VOCs by 

weight. 

E. Cleaning materials used at each offset lithographic 

printing operation shall meet one of the following limits, as 

applied: 

1. A VOC content of 30% by weight; or 

2. A composite vapor pressure of 10 mm Hg at 20°C 

(68°F). 

[ The use of cleaning materials not meeting the limits in 

subdivision 1 or 2 of this subsection is permitted provided 

that the quantity of cleaning material used does not exceed 

110 gallons over any 12-month rolling period. ]  

F. The following work practices shall be implemented. 

1. Cleaning materials, fountain solution, inks, varnishes, 

and coatings containing VOCs shall be kept in closed 

containers at all times unless filling, draining, or 

performing cleaning operations. 

2. Shop towels, sponges, and other manual cleaning aids 

that (i) have been used for picking up excess ink, fountain 

solution, varnishes, and other coatings containing VOCs or 

(ii) have been used with cleaning materials containing 

VOCs shall be kept in closed containers. 

3. Spills of cleaning materials, fountain solution, inks, 

varnishes, and other coatings containing VOCs shall be 

minimized and shall be cleaned up promptly. 

9VAC5-40-8426. Standard for visible emissions. 

The provisions of Article 1 (9VAC5-40-60 et seq.) of Part II 

of 9VAC5-40 (Existing Stationary Sources) apply.  

9VAC5-40-8428. Standard for fugitive dust/emissions. 

The provisions of Article 1 (9VAC5-40-60 et seq.) of Part II 

of 9VAC5-40 (Existing Stationary Sources) apply.  

9VAC5-40-8430. Standard for odor. 

The provisions of Article 2 (9VAC5-40-130 et seq.) of Part 

II of 9VAC5-40 (Existing Stationary Sources) apply.  

9VAC5-40-8432. Standard for toxic pollutants. 

The provisions of Article 4 (9VAC5-60-200 et seq.) of Part 

II of 9VAC5-60 (Hazardous Air Pollutant Sources) apply.  

9VAC5-40-8434. Compliance. 

A. The provisions of 9VAC5-40-20 (Compliance) apply. 

B. [ An If requested by the board, an ] emission test of the 

control device installed on a heatset web offset lithographic 

printing process dryer shall be performed to demonstrate 

compliance with the provisions of 9VAC5-40-8424 B and C 

[ and 9VAC5-40-8436 ]. The negative dryer pressure shall be 

established during the initial test using an airflow direction 

indicator, such as a smoke stick or aluminum ribbons, or a 
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differential pressure gauge. [ The board may accept the 

results of an emission test conducted prior to the compliance 

date specified in 9VAC5-40-8436 if the owner or operator 

provides information and data that demonstrate that the test 

demonstrated compliance with the provisions of 9VAC5-40-

8424 B and C. ]  

C. [ Once initial compliance has been demonstrated with the 

heatset web offset lithographic printing process dryer control 

requirements of 9VAC5-40-8424 B and C through 

performance testing of an catalytic or thermal oxidation 

control device, continuing Continuing ] compliance with the 

heatset web offset lithographic printing process dryer control 

requirements in 9VAC5-40-8424 B and C shall be 

demonstrated for the catalytic or thermal oxidation control 

device by monitoring the control device in accordance with 

9VAC5-40-8440 B 3, B 4, and B 5. The owner shall maintain 

the [ 3-hour three-hour ] average of the monitored 

temperature at a temperature no less than 50°F below the [ 3-

hour three-hour ] average temperature that was recorded 

during the most recent performance test during which 

compliance was demonstrated. [ In the absence of 

performance test results acceptable to the board that provide 

dryer control device temperatures that demonstrate continuing 

compliance with the requirements in 9VAC5-40-8424 B and 

C, control device temperatures that demonstrate compliance 

with manufacturer recommendations may be considered by 

the board to demonstrate compliance with heatset web offset 

lithographic printing process dryer control requirements in 

9VAC5-40-8424 B and C.  

D. A portion of the volatile organic compounds contained in 

inks and cleaning solution is retained in the printed web and 

in the shop towels used for cleaning. When applicable, the 

following retention factors may be used in determining 

volatile organic compounds emissions from offset 

lithographic printing operations: 

1. A 20% volatile organic compound retention factor may 

be used for petroleum ink oils contained in heatset inks that 

are printed on absorptive substrates, meaning that 80% of 

the VOC (petroleum ink oil) in the ink is emitted during 

the printing process and is available for capture and control 

by an add-on pollution control device. 

2. A 100% volatile organic compound retention factor may 

be used for vegetable ink oils contained in heatset inks that 

are printed on absorptive substrates, meaning that none of 

the VOC (vegetable ink oil) in the ink is emitted during the 

printing process and available for capture and control by an 

add-on pollution control device. 

3. A 95% volatile organic compound retention factor may 

be used for petroleum ink oils contained in sheet-fed and 

non-heatset web inks printed on absorptive substrates, 

meaning that 5.0% of the VOC (petroleum ink oil) in the 

ink is emitted during the printing process. 

4. A 100% volatile organic compound retention factor may 

be used for vegetable ink oils contained in sheet-fed and 

non-heatset web inks printed on absorptive substrates, 

meaning that none of the VOC (vegetable ink oil) in the 

ink is emitted during the printing process. 

5. A 50% volatile organic compound retention factor may 

be used for cleaning solution VOC in shop towels for those 

cleaning solutions with a volatile organic compounds 

composite vapor pressure of no more than 10 millimeters 

of mercury (Hg) at 20°C (68°F) provided that the cleaning 

materials and used shop towels are kept in closed 

containers.  

E. A portion of the volatile organic compounds contained in 

inks, fountain solutions, and automatic blanket washes is 

captured for control by add-on air pollution control 

equipment. When applicable, the following capture 

efficiencies may be used in determining volatile organic 

compounds emissions from offset lithographic printing 

operations: 

1. A 40% volatile organic compound capture efficiency 

may be used for automatic blanket washing when the VOC 

composite vapor pressure of the cleaning material is less 

than 10 millimeters of mercury (Hg). 

2. A 70% volatile organic compound capture efficiency 

may be used for alcohol substitutes in fountain solutions. 

3. A 100% volatile organic compound capture efficiency 

may be used for VOC (petroleum ink oils) from oil-based 

paste inks and oil-based paste varnishes (coatings) when 

the dryer is demonstrated to be operating at negative 

pressure relative to the surrounding pressroom. 

4. Conventional heatset lithographic inks and varnishes are 

paste-type materials. If other types of inks or coating 

materials are used on a heatset lithographic press (e.g., 

fluid inks or coatings), capture efficiency testing shall be 

conducted for the VOC from these other materials if the 

printer wants to take into account the effect that the dryer 

controls have on VOC emissions from these other types of 

inks or coatings. ]  

9VAC5-40-8436. Compliance schedule. 

The owner shall comply with the provisions of this article as 

expeditiously as possible but in no case later than [ (insert a 

date corresponding to the first day of the 12th month after the 

effective date of this article) February 1, 2017 ]. 

9VAC5-40-8438. Test methods and procedures. 

A. The provisions of 9VAC5-40-30 (Emission testing) 

apply. 

B. The following EPA test methods shall be used to 

demonstrate compliance with the heatset web offset 

lithographic printing process dryer control device control 

requirements in 9VAC5-40-8424 B and C. 

1. Reference Method 1 or 1A, as appropriate, shall be used 

to select the sampling sites.  
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2. Reference Method 2, 2A, 2C, or 2D, as appropriate, 

shall be used to determine the velocity and volumetric flow 

rate of the exhaust stream. 

3. Reference Method 3 or 3A, as appropriate, shall be used 

to determine the concentration of O2 and CO2. 

4. Reference Method 4 shall be used to determine moisture 

content. 

5. Reference Methods 18, 25, or 25A shall be used to 

determine the VOC concentration of the dryer exhaust 

stream entering and exiting the control device, unless the 

alternate limit in 9VAC5-40-8424 B 2 or C 2 is being met, 

in which case only the VOC concentration of the dryer 

exhaust control device outlet shall be determined. 

6. Reference Method 25A shall be used to determine the 

dryer exhaust control device inlet and outlet VOC 

concentrations when the control device outlet 

concentration is less than 50 [ ppmv parts per million 

volume (ppmv) ] VOC as carbon. 

7. If the control device is an oxidizer, the combustion 

chamber temperature or catalyst bed inlet temperature 

corresponding to destruction efficiencies that meet the 

requirements of 9VAC5-40-8424 B or C, as appropriate, 

shall be recorded. 

C. The VOC content of as-applied inks, varnishes and other 

coatings, fountain solutions, and cleaning materials shall be 

determined using Reference Method 24. 

1. The analysis of as-supplied materials may be performed 

by the manufacturer or the supplier. Formulation 

information from the manufacturer may be used in lieu of 

Reference Method 24 analysis unless the board or the 

owner has reason to believe that the formulation 

information provided by the manufacturer is inaccurate. 

2. The owner may use VOC content information provided 

by the manufacturer or supplier, such as the container 

label, the product data sheet, or the [ MSDS sheet Safety 

Data Sheet (SDS) ] to document the VOC content of the 

as-supplied material. 

3. If fountain solution or cleaning materials are diluted by 

the owner prior to use, a calculation that combines the as-

supplied VOC content information provided by the 

manufacturer or supplier, the VOC content of the diluent, 

and the proportions in which they are mixed may be used 

to make a determination of VOC content of the as-applied 

fountain solution or cleaning material in lieu of Reference 

Method 24. 

4. The owner shall conduct Reference Method 24 testing of 

any as-applied fountain solution or cleaning material used 

for offset lithographic printing operations at any time at the 

board's request. The owner shall be prepared to sample as-

applied fountain solution or cleaning materials at all times. 

D. A thermometer or other temperature detection device 

capable of reading the temperature of the fountain solution to 

within 0.5°F shall be used to determine compliance with 

fountain solution temperature requirements in 9VAC5-40-

8424 D. 

E. The VOC composite partial vapor pressure of cleaning 

solutions shall be determined using the formula provided in 

9VAC5-40-8422 C or by an appropriate test method approved 

by the board. 

1. The determination VOC composite partial vapor 

pressure for as-supplied cleaning solutions may be 

performed by the manufacturer or the supplier. The 

determination of as-applied composite vapor pressure 

based upon the manufacturer's instructions for dilution may 

be performed by the manufacturer or supplier. 

2. The owner may use VOC composite partial vapor 

pressure information provided by the manufacturer or 

supplier, such as the container label, the product data sheet, 

or the [ Material Safety Data Sheet (MSDS) Safety Data 

Sheet (SDS) ], to document the VOC composite partial 

vapor pressure of the as-supplied or as-applied cleaning 

materials. 

3. The following provisions apply to the determination of 

VOC composite partial vapor pressure for cleaning 

materials that are diluted by the owner prior to use: 

a. If the dilution is made according to the manufacturer's 

instructions, the VOC composite partial vapor pressure 

for the as-applied cleaning material provided by the 

manufacturer or supplier may be used. 

b. If a dilution is made and an as-applied VOC composite 

partial vapor pressure has not been provided by the 

manufacturer or supplier, or if the dilution is not made 

according to the manufacturer's instructions, then the 

owner shall determine the VOC composite partial vapor 

pressure using the calculation method provided in 

9VAC5-40-8422 C. 

4. The owner shall conduct testing of any as-applied 

cleaning materials used for offset lithographic printing 

operations at any time at the board's request. The owner 

shall be prepared to sample as-applied cleaning materials at 

all times. 

9VAC5-40-8440. Monitoring. 

A. The provisions of 9VAC5-40-40 (Monitoring) apply. 

B. Periodic monitoring of offset lithographic printing 

operations shall be conducted as follows: 

1. The alcohol concentration of offset lithographic printing 

process fountain solution shall be monitored with a 

hydrometer, equipped with temperature correction or with 

readings adjusted for temperature, and recorded at least 

once per shift or once per batch, whichever is longer. A 

standard solution shall be used to calibrate the hydrometer 

for the type of alcohol used in the fountain. 

2. The temperature of refrigerated fountain solution shall 

be measured at the recirculating tank at least once per 

operating day. 
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3. The temperature of a catalytic or thermal oxidation 

control device shall be monitored at least once every 15 

minutes while the printing process is operating, and that 

temperature shall be recorded by an analog or digital 

recording device. 

a. For a catalytic oxidizer, the dryer exhaust temperature 

upstream of the catalyst bed shall be monitored and 

recorded. 

b. For a thermal oxidizer, the combustion chamber 

temperature of the oxidizer shall be monitored and 

recorded. 

4. Catalyst bed material in a catalytic oxidation control device 

shall be inspected annually for general catalyst condition and 

any signs of potential catalyst depletion. Sampling and 

evaluation of the catalyst bed material shall be conducted 

whenever the results of the inspection indicate signs of 

potential catalyst depletion or poor catalyst condition based on 

manufacturer's recommendations, but not less than once per 

year. 

5. If a heatset web offset lithographic printing process is 

interlocked to ensure that the control device is operating 

and airflow is present when the printing process is 

operating, then periodic monitoring of dryer air flow is not 

required. If no interlock is present, then the printing 

process dryer air flow shall be verified and recorded once 

per operating day. 

9VAC5-40-8450. Notification, records, and reporting. 

The provisions of 9VAC5-40-50 (Notification, records, and 

reporting) apply. 

9VAC5-40-8460. Registration. 

The provisions of 9VAC5-20-160 (Registration) apply. 

9VAC5-40-8470. Facility and control equipment 

maintenance or malfunction. 

The provisions of 9VAC5-20-180 (Facility and control 

equipment maintenance or malfunction) apply. 

9VAC5-40-8480. Permits. 

A permit may be required prior to beginning any of the 

activities specified [ below in this section ] if the provisions of 

9VAC5-50 (New and Modified Stationary Sources) and 9VAC5-

80 (Permits for Stationary Sources) apply. Owners contemplating 

such action should review those provisions and contact the 

appropriate regional office for guidance on whether those 

provisions apply. 

1. Construction of a facility. 

2. Reconstruction (replacement of more than half) of a 

facility. 

3. Modification (any physical change to equipment) of a 

facility. 

4. Relocation of a facility. 

5. Reactivation (re-startup) of a facility. 

6. Operation of a facility.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2126; Filed October 29, 2015, 11:50 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC5-40. Existing Stationary 

Sources (Rev. D09) (adding 9VAC5-40-8510 through 

9VAC5-40-8800).  

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia; 

§§ 110, 111, 123, 129, 171, 172, and 182 of the federal Clean 

Air Act (40 CFR Parts 51 and 60). 

Effective Date: February 1, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Karen G. Sabasteanski, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4426, FAX (804) 

698-4510, or email karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulation requires owners to limit emissions of air 

pollution from industrial solvent cleaning operations and 

miscellaneous industrial adhesive application processes to 

the level necessary for the protection of public health and 

welfare and the attainment and maintenance of the air 

quality standards. The regulation applies to sources within 

the Northern Virginia Volatile Organic Compound 

Emissions Control Area and establishes standards, control 

techniques, and provisions for determining compliance. 

The regulation includes provisions for visible emissions, 

fugitive dust, odor, toxic pollutants, compliance, test 

methods and procedures, monitoring, notification, 

registration, malfunctions, and permits. The final 

amendments add an alternative work practices procedure 

and an alternative standard for coatings, inks, adhesives, 

and resin manufacturing operations. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

Article 57 

Emission Standards for Industrial Solvent Cleaning 

Operations in the Northern Virginia Volatile Organic 

Compound Emissions Control Area, 8-hour Ozone Standard 

(Rule 4-57) 

9VAC5-40-8510. Applicability and designation of affected 

facility. 

A. Except as provided in subsections C and D of this 

section, the affected facility to which the provisions of this 

article apply is each facility that uses organic solvent for 

cleaning unit operations such as mixing vessels (tanks), spray 

booths, and parts cleaners and that emits, before consideration 

of controls, at least 6.8 kilograms per day (15 pounds per day) 

of volatile organic compounds (VOCs). Such operations 

include, but are not limited to, spray gun cleaning, spray 

booth cleaning, large manufactured components cleaning, 

parts cleaning, equipment cleaning, line cleaning, floor 

cleaning, tank cleaning, and small manufactured components 

cleaning. 
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B. The provisions of this article apply only to affected 

facilities located in the Northern Virginia VOC Emissions 

Control Area designated in subdivision 1 a of 9VAC5-20-

206. 

C. Exempted from the provisions of this article are solvent 

cleaning operations (i) for cleaning of electrical and 

electronic components; (ii) for cleaning of high precision 

optics and cleaning of cotton swabs to remove cottonseed oil 

before cleaning of high precision optics; (iii) for cleaning of 

numismatic dies; (iv) for cleaning of resin, coating, ink, and 

adhesive mixing, molding, and application equipment; (v) in 

research and development laboratories; (vi) in manufacturing 

medical devices or pharmaceutical products; (vii) related to 

performance or quality assurance testing of coatings, inks, or 

adhesives. 

D. The provisions of this article do not apply to the 

following: 

1. Surface preparation and solvent cleaning operations 

associated with the surface coating, application of 

adhesive, sealants and their primers or printing operations 

subject to Article 26 (Large Appliance Coatings, 9VAC5-

40-3560 et seq.), Article 28 (Automobile and Light Duty 

Truck Coating Applications, 9VAC5-40-3860 et seq.), 

Article 33 (Metal Furniture Coating Application Systems, 

9VAC5-40-4610 et seq.), Article 34 (Miscellaneous Metal 

Parts/Products Coating Application, 9VAC5-40-4760), 

Article 35 (Flatwood Paneling Coating Application 

Systems, 9VAC5-40-4910 et seq.), Article 53 

(Lithographic Printing Processes, 9VAC5-40-7800 et seq.), 

Article 56 (Letterpress Printing Operations, 9VAC5-40-

8380 et seq.), Article 56.1 (Lithographic Printing 

Operations, 9VAC5-40-8420 et seq.), Article 58 

(Miscellaneous Industrial Adhesive Application Processes, 

9VAC5-40-8660 et seq.), and Article 59 (Miscellaneous 

Metal Parts and Products Coating Application Systems, 

9VAC5-40-8810 et seq.) of 9VAC5-40 (Existing 

Stationary Sources). 

2. The use of janitorial supplies used for cleaning offices, 

bathrooms, or other similar areas. 

3. Stripping of cured inks, coatings, and adhesives. 

4. Surface preparation and solvent cleaning operations 

associated with the surface coating, application of 

adhesive, sealants and their primers, or printing operations 

of the following product categories or processes: aerospace 

coatings, wood furniture coatings, shipbuilding and repair 

coatings, flexible packaging printing materials, paper film 

and foil coating, plastic parts coating, and fiberglass boat 

manufacturing materials. 

5. Solvent metal cleaning operations subject to Article 47 

(Emission Standards for Solvent Metal Cleaning 

Operations in the Northern Virginia Volatile Organic 

Compound Emissions Control Area, 9VAC5-40-6820 et 

seq.) of 9VAC5-40 (Existing Stationary Sources).  

[ 6. The use of cleaning solvent in a digital printing 

operation in which an electronic output device transfers 

variable data, in the form of an image, from a computer to 

a substrate. ] 

9VAC5-40-8520. Definitions. 

A. For the purpose of applying this article in the context of 

the regulations for the control and abatement of air pollution 

and related uses, the words or terms shall have the meanings 

given them in subsection C of this section. 

B. Unless otherwise required by context, all terms not 

defined in this section shall have the meanings given them in 

9VAC5-170 (Regulation for General Administration), 

9VAC5-10 (General Definitions), or commonly ascribed to 

them by recognized authorities, in that order of priority. 

C. Terms defined. 

"Aerospace coatings" means materials that are applied to 

the surface of an aerospace vehicle or component to form a 

decorative, protective, or functional solid film, or the solid 

film itself at a facility that produces, reworks, or repairs in 

any amount any commercial, civil, or military aerospace 

vehicle or component. 

"Electrical and electronic components" means components 

and assemblies of components that generate, convert, 

transmit, or modify electrical energy. Electrical and 

electronic components include, but are not limited to, 

wires, windings, stators, rotors, magnets, contacts, relays, 

printed circuit boards, printed wire assemblies, wiring 

boards, integrated circuits, resistors, capacitors, and 

transistors but does not include the cabinets in which 

electrical and electronic components are housed. 

"Fiberglass boat manufacturing materials" means materials 

utilized at facilities that manufacture hulls or decks of 

boats from fiberglass or build molds to make fiberglass 

boat hulls or decks. Fiberglass boat manufacturing 

materials are not materials used at facilities that 

manufacture solely parts of boats (such as hatches, seats, or 

lockers) or boat trailers, but do not (i) manufacture hulls or 

decks of boats from fiberglass or (ii) build molds to make 

fiberglass boat hulls or decks. 

"Flexible packaging printing materials" means materials 

used in the manufacture of any package or part of a 

package the shape of which can be readily changed. 

Flexible packaging includes, but is not limited to, bags, 

pouches, liners, and wraps utilizing paper, plastic, film, 

aluminum foil, metalized or coated paper or film, or any 

combination of these materials. 

"High precision optics" means an optical element used in 

an electro-optical device and is designed to sense, detect, 

or transmit light energy, including specific wavelengths of 

light energy and changes in light energy levels. 

"Industrial cleaning solvents" means products used to 

remove contaminants such as adhesives, inks, paint, dirt, 

soil, oil, and grease from parts, products, tools, machinery, 
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equipment, vessels, floors, walls, and other work 

production related work areas for reasons such as safety, 

operability, and to avoid product contamination. The 

cleaning solvents used in these operations may be 

generally available bulk solvents that are used for a 

multitude of applications in addition to cleaning, such as 

for paint thinner, or as an ingredient used in the 

manufacture of a coating, such as paint. 

"Medical device" means an instrument, apparatus, 

implement, machine, contrivance, implant, in vitro reagent, 

or other similar article, including any component or 

accessory that is (i) intended for use in the diagnosis of 

disease or other conditions, or in the cure, mitigation, 

treatment, or prevention of diseases; or (ii) intended to 

affect the structure or any function of the body. 

"Paper, film, and foil coating" means coating that is 

applied to paper, film, or foil surfaces in the manufacturing 

of several major product types for the following industry 

sectors: pressure sensitive tape and labels (including fabric 

coated for use in pressure sensitive tapes and labels); 

photographic film; industrial and decorative laminates; 

abrasive products (including fabric coated for use in 

abrasive products); and flexible packaging (including 

coating of nonwoven polymer substrates for use in flexible 

packaging). Paper and film coating also includes coatings 

applied during miscellaneous coating operations for several 

products including: corrugated and solid fiber boxes; die-

cut paper paperboard, and cardboard; converted paper and 

paperboard not elsewhere classified; folding paperboard 

boxes, including sanitary boxes; manifold business forms 

and related products; plastic aseptic packaging; and carbon 

paper and inked ribbons. 

"Pharmaceutical product" means a preparation or 

compound, which includes any drug, analgesic, 

decongestant, antihistamine, cough suppressant, vitamin, 

mineral or herb supplement intended for human or animal 

consumption and used to cure, mitigate or treat disease or 

improve or enhance health. 

"Plastic parts coating" means a coating that is applied to 

the surfaces of a varied range of plastic parts and products. 

Such parts or products are constructed either entirely or 

partially from metal or plastic. These parts include, but are 

not limited to, metal and plastic components of the 

following types of products as well as the products 

themselves: fabricated metal products, molded plastic 

parts, small and large farm machinery, commercial and 

industrial machinery and equipment, automotive or 

transportation equipment, interior or exterior automotive 

parts, construction equipment, motor vehicle accessories, 

bicycles and sporting goods, toys, recreational vehicles, 

pleasure craft (recreational boats), extruded aluminum 

structural components, railroad cars, heavier vehicles, lawn 

and garden equipment, business machines, laboratory and 

medical equipment, electronic equipment, steel drums, 

metal pipes, and numerous other industrial and household 

products. 

"Shipbuilding and repair coating" means material that can 

be applied as a thin layer to a substrate and which cures to 

form a continuous solid film, and is used in the building, 

repair, repainting, converting, or alteration of ships. 

"Solvent cleaning operation" means the employment of 

industrial cleaning solvents to remove loosely held uncured 

adhesives, uncured inks, uncured coatings, and 

contaminants [ , ] which include, but are not limited to, 

dirt, soil, and grease [ , ] from parts, products, tools, 

machinery, equipment, and general work areas and 

includes but is not limited to activities such as wipe 

cleaning, solvent flushing, or spraying [ and each. Each ] 

distinct method of cleaning in a cleaning process, which 

consists of a series of cleaning methods, [ shall ] constitute 

a separate solvent cleaning operation. 

"Solvent flushing" means the use of a solvent to remove 

uncured adhesives, uncured inks, uncured coatings, or 

contaminants from the internal surfaces and passages of the 

equipment by flushing solvent through the equipment. 

"Surface preparation" means the cleaning of surfaces prior 

to coating, further treatment, sale, or intended use. 

"VOC" means volatile organic compound. 

"Wipe cleaning" means the method of cleaning a surface 

by physically rubbing it with a material such as a rag, 

paper, sponge, or a cotton swab moistened with a solvent. 

"Wood furniture coatings" means protective, decorative, or 

functional films applied in thin layers to a surface used in 

the manufacture of wood furniture or wood furniture 

components. Such coatings include, but are not limited to, 

paints, topcoats, varnishes, sealers, stains, washcoats, 

basecoats, enamels, inks, and temporary protective 

coatings.  

9VAC5-40-8530. Standard for volatile organic 

compounds. 

A. No owner or other person shall cause or permit to be 

discharged into the atmosphere any VOC emissions from any 

solvent cleaning operation employing industrial cleaning 

solvents in excess of both of the following limits:  

1. A VOC content limit of 50 grams per liter (0.42 pounds 

per gallon) of industrial cleaning solvent shall apply unless 

emissions are controlled by an emission control system 

with an overall control efficiency of at least 85%; and  

2. A composite vapor pressure limit of [ 8 eight ] 

millimeters of mercury at 20°C. 

B. VOC emissions from the use, handling, storage, and 

disposal of industrial cleaning solvents and shop towels shall 

be controlled by the following work practices: 

1. Open containers and used applicators shall be covered. 

2. Air circulation around cleaning operations shall be 

minimized. 
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3. Used solvent and shop towels shall be disposed of 

properly. 

4. Equipment practices that minimize emissions (including 

but not limited to keeping arts cleaners covered and 

maintaining cleaning equipment to repair solvent leaks) 

shall be implemented.  

[ C. In lieu of complying with the requirements of 

subsections A and B of this section, a manufacturer of 

coatings, inks, resin, or adhesives may comply with the 

following requirements: 

1. Clean portable or stationary mixing vats, high dispersion 

mills, grinding mills, tote tanks, and roller mills by one or 

more of the following methods: 

a. Use a cleaning solvent that either contains less than 

1.67 pounds per gallon of VOC or has a composite vapor 

pressure no more than eight mmHg at 20°C; 

b. Comply with the following work practices: 

(1) Equipment being cleaned shall be maintained leak 

free; 

(2) VOC-containing cleaning materials shall be drained 

from the cleaned equipment upon completion of 

cleaning; 

(3) VOC-containing cleaning materials, including waste 

solvent, shall not be stored or disposed of in such a 

manner that will cause or allow evaporation into the 

atmosphere; and 

(4) All VOC-containing cleaning materials shall be 

stored in closed containers. 

c. Collect and vent the emissions from equipment 

cleaning to a VOC emission control system that has an 

overall capture and control efficiency of at least 80%, by 

weight, for the VOC emissions. Where such reduction is 

achieved by incineration, at least 90% of the organic 

carbon shall be oxidized to carbon dioxide. 

d. Use organic solvents other than those allowed in 

subdivision 1 a of this subsection provided no more than 

60 gallons of fresh solvent shall be used per month. 

Organic solvent that is reused or recycled (either on site 

or off site) for further use in equipment cleaning or the 

manufacture of coating, ink, or adhesive shall not be 

included in this limit. All VOC-containing cleaning 

materials shall be stored in closed containers. 

2. When using solvent for wipe cleaning, the owner shall 

not (i) use open containers for the storage or disposal of 

cloth or paper impregnated with organic compounds that is 

used for cleanup, or coating, ink, or adhesive removal and 

(ii) store spent or fresh organic compounds to be used for 

cleanup or coating, ink, resin, or adhesive removal in open 

containers. 

3. Any manufacturer of coatings, inks, resin, or adhesives 

that complies with subdivision 1 d of this subsection shall 

record the following information each month for each 

cleaning material and shall maintain the information at the 

facility for a period of five years: (i) the total volume of 

fresh cleaning solvent material used for equipment 

cleaning and (ii) the total volume of cleaning solvent 

material recovered for either on-site or off-site recycling. 

D. The control requirements for screen printing shall be 

either use of solvent technology at 4.2 pounds of VOC per 

gallon, or the use of a product with a vapor pressure of eight 

mm Hg. ]  

9VAC5-40-8540. Standard for visible emissions. 

The provisions of Article 1 (9VAC5-40-60 et seq.) of Part II 

of 9VAC5-40 (Existing Stationary Sources) apply. 

9VAC5-40-8550. Standard for fugitive dust/emissions. 

The provisions of Article 1 (9VAC5-40-60 et seq.) of Part II 

of 9VAC5-40 (Existing Stationary Sources) apply.  

9VAC5-40-8560. Standard for odor. 

The provisions of Article 2 (9VAC5-40-130 et seq.) of Part 

II of 9VAC-40 (Existing Stationary Sources) apply. 

9VAC5-40-8570. Standard for toxic pollutants. 

The provisions of Article 4 (9VAC5-60-200 et seq.) of Part 

II of 9VAC5-60 (Hazardous Air Pollutant Sources) apply. 

9VAC5-40-8580. Compliance. 

The provisions of 9VAC5-40-20 (Compliance) apply. 

9VAC5-40-8590. Compliance schedule. 

The owner shall comply with the provisions of this article as 

expeditiously as possible but in no case later than [ (insert 

date one year after the effective date of this article) February 

1, 2017 ]. 

9VAC5-40-8600. Test methods and procedures. 

A. The provisions of 9VAC5-40-30 (Emission testing) 

apply. 

B. The composite vapor pressure of organic compounds in 

cleaning materials shall be determined by quantifying the 

amount of each compound in the blend using ASTM 

"Standard Practice for Packed Column Gas Chromatography" 

for organics and ASTM "Standard Test Method for Water 

Content of Coatings by Direct Injection Into a Gas 

Chromatograph" for water content (see 9VAC5-20-21), as 

applicable, and the following equation: 

 

where: 

Ppc = VOC composite partial pressure at 20ºC, in mm Hg. 

Wi = Weight of the "i"th VOC compound, in grams, as 

determined by 
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ASTM "Standard Practice for Packed Column Gas 

Chromatography" (see 9VAC5-20- 

21). 

Ww = Weight of water, in grams as determined by ASTM 

"Standard Test 

Method for Water Content of Coatings by Direct Injection 

Into a Gas Chromatograph" 

(see 9VAC5-20-21). 

We = Weight of the "i"th exempt compound, in grams, as 

determined by 

ASTM "Standard Practice for Packed Column Gas 

Chromatography" (see 9VAC5-20-21). 

Mwi = Molecular weight of the "i"th VOC compound, in 

grams per g-mole, 

as given in chemical reference literature. 

Mww = Molecular weight of water, 18 grams per g-mole. 

Mwe = Molecular weight of the "i"th exempt compound, in 

grams per g-mole, 

as given in chemical reference literature. 

VPi = Vapor pressure of the "i"th VOC compound at 20ºC, 

in mm Hg, as determined by subsection C of this section. 

C. The vapor pressure of each single component compound 

may be determined from ASTM "Standard Test Method for 

Vapor Pressure-Temperature Relationship and Initial 

Decomposition Temperature of Liquids by Isoteniscope" (see 

9VAC5-20-21), from chemical reference literature, or from 

additional sources acceptable to the board. 

9VAC5-40-8610. Monitoring. 

The provisions of 9VAC5-40-40 (Monitoring) apply.  

9VAC5-40-8620. Notification, records, and reporting. 

The provisions of 9VAC5-40-50 (Notification, records and 

reporting) apply.  

9VAC5-40-8630. Registration. 

The provisions of 9VAC5-20-160 (Registration) apply. 

9VAC5-40-8640. Facility and control equipment 

maintenance or malfunction. 

The provisions of 9VAC5-20-180 (Facility and control 

equipment maintenance or malfunction) apply.  

9VAC5-40-8650. Permits. 

A permit may be required prior to beginning any of the 

activities specified below if the provisions of 9VAC5-50 

(New and Modified Stationary Sources) and 9VAC5-80 

(Permits for Stationary Sources) apply. Owners 

contemplating such action should review those provisions and 

contact the appropriate regional office for guidance on 

whether those provisions apply. 

1. Construction of a facility. 

2. Reconstruction (replacement of more than half) of a 

facility. 

3. Modification (any physical change to equipment) of a 

facility. 

4. Relocation of a facility. 

5. Reactivation (re-startup) of a facility. 

6. Operation of a facility. 

Article 58 

Emission Standards for Miscellaneous Industrial Adhesive 

Application Processes in the Northern Virginia Volatile 

Organic Compound Emissions Control Area, 8-hour Ozone 

Standard (Rule 4-58) 

9VAC5-40-8660. Applicability and designation of affected 

facility. 

A. Except as provided in subsection C of this section, the 

affected facility to which the provisions of this article apply is 

each miscellaneous industrial adhesive application process at 

a facility where the total actual volatile organic compound 

(VOC) emissions from all miscellaneous industrial adhesive 

application processes, including related cleaning activities 

and related application of adhesive primers, are, before 

consideration of controls, either (i) equal to or exceed 6.8 

kilograms per day (15 pounds per day) or (ii) [ 3 three ] tons 

per 12-month rolling period. 

B. The provisions of this article apply only to sources of 

VOCs located in the Northern Virginia VOC Emissions 

Control Area designated in 9VAC5-20-206 1 a. 

C. The provisions of this article do not apply to the 

following. 

1. Miscellaneous industrial adhesive application process 

operations subject to Article 6 (Rubber Tire Manufacturing 

Operations, 9VAC5-40-5810 et seq.), Article 26 (Large 

Appliance Coatings, 9VAC5-40-3560 et seq.), Article 28 

(Automobile and Light Duty Truck Coating Applications, 

9VAC5-40-3860 et seq.), Article 30 (Metal Coil Coating 

Application Systems, 9VAC5-40-4160 et seq.), Article 31 

(Paper and Fabric Coating Application Systems, 9VAC5-

40-4310 et seq.) Article 33 (Metal Furniture Coating 

Application Systems, 9VAC5-40-4610 et seq.), Article 35 

(Flatwood Paneling Coating Application Systems, 9VAC5-

40-4910 et seq.), Article 53 (Lithographic Printing 

Processes, 9VAC5-40-7800 et seq.), Article 56 

(Letterpress Printing Operations, 9VAC5-40-8380 et seq.), 

Article 56.1 (Lithographic Printing Operations, 9VAC5-

40-8420 et seq.), and Article 57 (Industrial Solvent 

Cleaning Operations, 9VAC5-40-8510 et seq.) of 9VAC5-

40 (Existing Stationary Sources). 

2. Miscellaneous industrial adhesive application process 

operations associated with the following product categories 

or processes: aerospace coatings, flexible packaging 

printing materials, paper film and foil coating, and 

fiberglass boat manufacturing materials. 

D. The provisions of Article 6 (Emission Standards for 

Adhesives and Sealants, 9VAC5-45-620 et seq.) of 9VAC5-

45 (Consumer and Commercial Products) may apply. In the 
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case of a conflict between these articles, the more restrictive 

provisions shall apply.  

9VAC5-40-8670. Definitions. 

A. For the purpose of applying this article in the context of 

the regulations for the control and abatement of air pollution 

and related uses, the words or terms shall have the meanings 

given them in subsection C of this section. 

B. Unless otherwise required by context, all terms not 

defined in this section shall have the meanings given them in 

9VAC5-170 (Regulation for General Administration), 

9VAC5-10 (General Definitions), or commonly ascribed to 

them by recognized authorities, in that order of priority. 

C. Terms defined. 

"ABS welding" means any process to weld acrylonitrile-

butadiene-styrene pipe. 

"Adhesive" means any chemical substance that is applied 

for the purpose of bonding two surfaces together other than 

by mechanical means. 

"Adhesive primer" means any product intended by the 

manufacturer for application to a substrate, prior to the 

application of an adhesive, to provide a bonding surface. 

"Aerosol adhesive or adhesive primer" means an adhesive 

or adhesive primer packaged as an aerosol product in 

which the spray mechanism is permanently housed in a 

nonrefillable can designed for handheld application 

without the need for ancillary hoses or spray equipment. 

"Aerospace coatings" means materials that are applied to 

the surface of an aerospace vehicle or component to form a 

decorative, protective, or functional solid film, or the solid 

film itself at a facility that produces, reworks, or repairs in 

any amount any commercial, civil, or military aerospace 

vehicle or component. 

"Application process" means a series of one or more 

adhesive applicators and any associated drying area or 

oven in which an adhesive is applied, dried, or cured. An 

application process ends at the point where the adhesive is 

dried or cured, or prior to any subsequent application of a 

different adhesive. It is not necessary for an application 

process to have an oven or flash-off area. 

"Ceramic tile installation adhesive" means any adhesive 

intended by the manufacturer for use in the installation of 

ceramic tiles. 

"Chlorinated polyvinyl chloride plastic" or "CPVC plastic 

welding" means a polymer of the vinyl chloride monomer 

that contains 67% chlorine and is normally identified with 

a CPVC marking. 

"Chlorinated polyvinyl chloride welding" or "CPVC 

welding" means an adhesive labeled for welding of 

chlorinated polyvinyl chloride plastic. 

"Cleaning activities" means activities other than surface 

preparation and priming that use cleaning materials to 

remove adhesive residue or other unwanted materials from 

equipment related to application operations, as well as the 

cleaning of spray guns, transfer lines (such as tubing or 

piping), tanks, and the interior of spray booths. 

"Contact adhesive" means an adhesive that (i) is designed 

for application to both surfaces to be bonded together, (ii) 

is allowed to dry before the two surfaces are placed in 

contact with each other, (iii) forms an immediate bond that 

is impossible, or difficult, to reposition after both adhesive-

coated surfaces are placed in contact with each other, and 

(iv) does not need sustained pressure or clamping of 

surfaces after the adhesive-coated surfaces have been 

brought together using sufficient momentary pressure to 

establish full contact between both surfaces. Contact 

adhesive does not include rubber cements that are 

primarily intended for use on paper substrates or 

vulcanizing fluids that are designed and labeled for tire 

repair only. 

"Cove base" means a flooring trim unit, generally made of 

vinyl or rubber, having a concave radius on one edge and a 

convex radius on the opposite edge that is used in forming 

a junction between the bottom wall course and the floor or 

to form an inside corner. 

"Cove base installation adhesive" means any adhesive 

intended by the manufacturer to be used for the installation 

of cove base or wall base on a wall or vertical surface at 

floor level. 

"Cyanoacrylate adhesive" means any adhesive with a 

cyanoacrylate content of at least 95% by weight. 

"Fiberglass boat manufacturing facility" means a facility 

that manufactures hulls or decks of boats from fiberglass or 

builds molds to make fiberglass boat hulls or decks and 

does not include a facility that solely manufactures parts of 

boats (such as hatches, seats, or lockers) or boat trailers, 

that is, which does not also manufacture hulls or decks of 

boats from fiberglass or builds molds to make fiberglass 

boat hulls or decks. 

"Fiberglass boat manufacturing materials" means materials 

utilized at fiberglass boat manufacturing facilities to 

manufacture hulls or decks of boats from fiberglass, and 

parts of boats (such as hatches, seats, or lockers), or to 

build molds to make fiberglass boat hulls or decks. 

"Flexible packaging printing materials" means materials 

used in the manufacture of any package or part of a 

package the shape of which can be readily changed. 

Flexible packaging includes, but is not limited to, bags, 

pouches, liners, and wraps utilizing paper, plastic, film, 

aluminum foil, metalized or coated paper or film, or any 

combination of these materials. 

"Flexible vinyl" means nonrigid polyvinyl chloride plastic 

with a 5.0% by weight plasticizer content. 

"Indoor floor covering installation adhesive" means any 

adhesive intended by the manufacturer for use in the 

installation of wood flooring, carpet, resilient tile, vinyl 
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tile, vinyl backed carpet, resilient sheet and roll, or 

artificial grass. Adhesives used to install ceramic tile and 

perimeter bonded sheet flooring with vinyl backing onto a 

nonporous substrate, such as flexible vinyl, are excluded 

from this category. 

"Industrial adhesives" means adhesives used for joining 

surfaces in assembly and construction of a large variety of 

products. Adhesives may be generally classified as 

solution/waterborne, solvent-borne, solventless or solid 

(such as hot melt adhesives), pressure sensitive, hot-melt, 

or reactive (such as epoxy adhesives and ultraviolet-

curable adhesives). Adhesives may also be generally 

classified according to whether they are structural or 

nonstructural. Structural adhesives are commonly used in 

industrial assembly processes and are designed to maintain 

product structural integrity. 

"Medical equipment manufacturing" means the 

manufacture of medical devices, such as, but not limited to, 

catheters, heart valves, blood cardioplegia machines, 

tracheostomy tubes, blood oxygenators, and cardiatory 

reservoirs. 

"Metal to urethane/rubber molding or casting adhesive" 

means any adhesive intended by the manufacturer to bond 

metal to high density or elastomeric urethane or molded 

rubber materials, in heater molding or casting processes, to 

fabricate products such as rollers for computer printers or 

other paper handling equipment. 

"Motor vehicle adhesive" means an adhesive, including 

glass bonding adhesive, used at a facility that is not an 

automobile or light-duty truck assembly coating facility, 

applied for the purpose of bonding two vehicle surfaces 

together without regard to the substrates involved. 

"Motor vehicle glass bonding primer" means a primer, 

used at a facility that is not an automobile or light-duty 

truck assembly coating facility, applied to windshield or 

other glass, or to body openings, to prepare the glass or 

body opening for the application of glass bonding 

adhesives or the installation of adhesive bonded glass. 

Motor vehicle glass bonding primer includes glass 

bonding/cleaning primers that perform both functions 

(cleaning and priming of the windshield or other glass, or 

body openings) prior to the application of adhesive or the 

installation of adhesive bonded glass. 

"Motor vehicle weatherstrip adhesive" means an adhesive, 

used at a facility that is not an automobile or light-duty 

truck assembly coating facility, applied to weatherstripping 

materials for the purpose of bonding the weatherstrip 

material to the surface of the vehicle. 

"Multipurpose construction adhesive" means any adhesive 

intended by the manufacturer for use in the installation or 

repair of various construction materials, including but not 

limited to drywall, subfloor, panel, fiberglass reinforced 

plastic (FRP), ceiling tile, and acoustical tile. 

"Outdoor floor covering installation adhesive" means any 

adhesive intended by the manufacturer for use in the 

installation of floor covering that is not in an enclosure and 

that is exposed to ambient weather conditions during 

normal use. 

"Paper, film, and foil coating" means coating that is 

applied to paper, film, or foil surfaces in the manufacturing 

of several major product types for the following industry 

sectors: pressure sensitive tape and labels (including fabric 

coated for use in pressure sensitive tapes and labels); 

photographic film; industrial and decorative laminates; 

abrasive products (including fabric coated for use in 

abrasive products); and flexible packaging (including 

coating of nonwoven polymer substrates for use in flexible 

packaging). Paper and film coating also includes coatings 

applied during miscellaneous coating operations for several 

products including: corrugated and solid fiber boxes; die-

cut paper paperboard, and cardboard; converted paper and 

paperboard not elsewhere classified; folding paperboard 

boxes, including sanitary boxes; manifold business forms 

and related products; plastic aseptic packaging; and carbon 

paper and inked ribbons. 

"Perimeter bonded sheet flooring installation" means the 

installation of sheet flooring with vinyl backing onto a 

nonporous substrate using an adhesive designed to be 

applied only to a strip of up to four inches wide around the 

perimeter of the sheet flooring. 

"Plastic" means a synthetic material chemically formed by 

the polymerization of organic (carbon-based) substances. 

Plastics are usually compounded with modifiers, extenders, 

and/or reinforcers and are capable of being molded, 

extruded, cast into various shapes and films or drawn into 

filaments.  

"Plastic solvent welding adhesive" means any adhesive 

intended by the manufacturer for use to dissolve the 

surface of plastic to form a bond between mating surfaces. 

"Plastic solvent welding adhesive primer" means any 

primer intended by the manufacturer for use to prepare 

plastic substrates prior to bonding or welding. 

"Polyvinyl chloride plastic" or "PVC" means a polymer of 

the chlorinated vinyl monomer that contains 57% chlorine. 

"Polyvinyl chloride welding adhesive" or "PVC welding 

adhesive" means any adhesive intended by the 

manufacturer for use in the welding of PVC plastic pipe. 

"Porous material" means a substance that has tiny 

openings, often microscopic, in which fluids may be 

absorbed or discharged, including, but not limited to, paper 

and corrugated paperboard. For the purposes of this article, 

porous material does not include wood. 

"Reactive adhesive" means adhesive systems composed, in 

part, of volatile monomers that react during the adhesive 

curing reaction, and, as a result, do not evolve from the 

film during use. These volatile components instead become 
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integral parts of the adhesive through chemical reaction. At 

least 70% of the liquid components of the system, 

excluding water, react during the process. 

"Reinforced plastic composite" means a composite 

material consisting of plastic reinforced with fibers. 

"Rubber" means any natural or manufactured rubber 

substrate, including but not limited to, styrene-butadiene 

rubber, polychloroprene (neoprene), butyl rubber, nitrile 

rubber, chlorosulfonated polyethylene, and ethylene 

propylene diene terpolymer. 

"Sheet rubber lining installation" means the process of 

applying sheet rubber liners by hand to metal or plastic 

substrates to protect the underlying substrate from 

corrosion or abrasion. These operations also include 

laminating sheet rubber to fabric by hand. 

"Single-ply roof membrane" means a prefabricated single 

sheet of rubber, normally ethylene-propylenediene 

terpolymer, that is field-applied to a building roof using 

one layer of membrane material. For the purposes of this 

article, single-ply roof membrane does not include 

membranes prefabricated from ethylene-propylenediene 

monomer (EPDM). 

"Single-ply roof membrane adhesive primer" means any 

primer labeled for use to clean and promote adhesion of the 

single-ply roof membrane seams or splices prior to 

bonding. 

"Single-ply roof membrane installation and repair 

adhesive" means any adhesive labeled for use in the 

installation or repair of single-ply roof membrane. 

Installation includes, as a minimum, attaching the edge of 

the membrane to the edge of the roof and applying 

flashings to vents, pipes, and ducts that protrude through 

the membrane. Repair includes gluing the edges of torn 

membrane together, attaching a patch over a hole and 

reapplying flashings to vents, pipes, or ducts installed 

through the membrane. 

"Structural glazing" means a process that includes the 

application of adhesive to bond glass, ceramic, metal, 

stone, or composite panels to exterior building frames. 

"Thin metal laminating adhesive" means any adhesive 

intended by the manufacturer for use in bonding multiple 

layers of metal to metal or metal to plastic in the 

production of electronic or magnetic components in which 

the thickness of the bond line or lines is less than 0.25 

mils. 

"Tire repair" means a process that includes expanding a 

hole, tear, fissure, or blemish in a tire casing by grinding, 

gouging, or applying adhesive and filling the hole or 

crevice with rubber. 

"Undersea-based weapons systems components" means the 

fabrication of parts, assembly of parts or completed units 

of any portion of a missile launching system used on 

undersea ships. 

"VOC" means volatile organic compound. 

"Waterproof resorcinol glue" means a two-part resorcinol-

resin-based adhesive designed for applications where the 

bond line must be resistant to conditions of continuous 

immersion in fresh or salt water. 

9VAC5-40-8680. Standard for volatile organic 

compounds. 

A. No owner or other person shall perform miscellaneous 

industrial adhesive application processes in excess of the 

following limits. 

1. Facilities opting to meet specific emissions limits in lieu 

of the control efficiency in subdivision 2 of this subsection 

shall meet the applicable emissions limits in Table 4-58A. 

TABLE 4-58A. VOC EMISSION LIMITS FOR 

GENERAL AND SPECIALTY ADHESIVE 

APPLICATION PROCESSES 

General Adhesive 

Application Processes 

VOC Emission Limit 

grams per 

liter (g/l) 

pounds per 

gallon 

(lb/gal) 

Reinforced plastic 

composite 

200 1.7 

Flexible vinyl 250 2.1 

Metal 30 0.3 

Porous material (except 

wood) 

120 1.0 

Rubber 250 2.1 

Wood 30 0.3 

Other substrates 250 2.1 

    

Specialty Adhesive 

Application Processes 

VOC Emission Limit 

(g/l) (lb/gal) 

Ceramic tile installation 

adhesive 

130 1.1 

Contact adhesive 250 2.1 

Cove base installation 

adhesive 

150 1.3 

Indoor floor covering 

installation adhesive 

150 1.3 

Outdoor floor covering 

installation adhesive 

250 2.1 
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Perimeter bonded sheet 

floor covering installation 

660 5.5 

Metal to urethane/rubber 

molding or casting 

adhesive 

850 7.1 

Motor vehicle adhesive 250 2.1 

Motor vehicle 

weatherstrip adhesive 

750 6.3 

Multipurpose 

construction 

200 1.7 

ABS welding adhesive 400 3.3 

Plastic solvent welding 

(except ABS) adhesive 

500 4.2 

Sheet rubber lining 

installation 

850 7.1 

Single-ply roof 

membrane installation 

and repair adhesive 

(except EPDM) 250 2.1 

Structural glazing 100 0.8 

Thin metal laminating 

adhesive 

780 6.5 

Tire repair 100 0.8 

Waterproof resorcinol 

glue 

170 1.4 

    

Adhesive Primer Application 

Processes 

VOC Emission Limit 

(g/l) (lb/gal) 

Motor vehicle glass 

bonding primer 

900 7.5 

Plastic solvent welding 

adhesive primer 

650 5.4 

Single-ply roof 

membrane adhesive 

primer 

250 2.1 

Other adhesive primer 250 2.1 

For the purposes of this table, emission limits are mass of 

VOC per volume of adhesive or adhesive primer excluding 

water and exempt compounds, as applied. 

a. The VOC content limits in Table 4-58A for adhesives 

applied to particular substrates shall apply as follows: 

(1) If an owner or other person uses an adhesive or 

sealant subject to a specific VOC content limit for such 

adhesive or sealant in Table 4-58A, such specific limit is 

applicable rather than an adhesive-to-substrate limit. 

(2) If an adhesive is used to bond dissimilar substrates 

together, the applicable substrate category with the 

highest VOC content shall be the limit for such use. 

b. The emission limits in Table 4-58A shall be met by 

averaging the VOC content of materials used on a single 

application process unit for each day (i.e., daily within-

application process unit averaging).  Cross-application 

process unit averaging (i.e., averaging across multiple 

application units) shall not be used to determine these 

emission limits. 

c. VOC content shall be determined as follows: 

(1) For adhesives that are not reactive adhesives, VOC 

content shall be determined using Reference Method 24. 

(2) For reactive adhesives, VOC content shall be 

determined using the procedure for reactive adhesives in 

Appendix A of subpart PPPP of 40 CFR Part 63. 

(3) As an alternative to the methods in subdivisions (1) 

and (2) of this subdivision A 1 c, the manufacturer's 

formulation data may be used. If there is a disagreement 

between manufacturer's formulation data and the results 

of a subsequent test, the test method results shall be used 

unless the facility can demonstrate to the board's 

satisfaction that the manufacturer's formulation data are 

correct. 

2. Facilities opting to meet a control efficiency in lieu of 

the specific emission limits in subdivision 1 of this 

subsection shall meet an overall control efficiency of 85%. 

3. The following materials shall not be subject to the limits 

and controls found in subdivisions 1 and 2 of this 

subsection but shall be subject to the work practices found 

in subdivision B 3 of this section: 

a. Adhesives or adhesive primers being tested or 

evaluated in any research and development, quality 

assurance, or analytical laboratory. 

b. Adhesives or adhesive primers used in the assembly, 

repair, or manufacture of aerospace or undersea-based 

weapon systems. 

c. Adhesives or adhesive primers used in medical 

equipment manufacturing operations. 

d. Cyanoacrylate adhesive application processes. 

e. Application of aerosol adhesives and adhesive primers 

applied with a handheld, disposable can that is pressured 

and that dispenses an adhesive or adhesive primer by 

means of a propellant. Aerosol adhesives are regulated 

by VOC Emission Standards for Consumer Products, 

subpart C of 40 CFR Part 59. Aerosol adhesive primers 

are regulated as "primers" under VOC Emission 
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Standards for Aerosol Coatings, subpart E of 40 CFR 

Part 59. 

f. Processes using polyester bonding putties to assemble 

fiberglass parts at fiberglass boat manufacturing facilities 

and at other reinforced plastic composite manufacturing 

facilities. 

g. Processes using adhesives and adhesive primers that 

are supplied by the manufacturer in containers with a net 

volume of 16 ounces or less, or a net weight of one 

pound or less. 

h. Cleaning materials. 

B. The owner of a facility subject to this article shall 

implement the following control options as applicable: 

1. A facility using low-VOC adhesives or adhesive primers 

shall use one of the following application methods: 

a. Electrostatic spray; 

b. HVLP spray; 

c. Flow coat; 

d. Roll coat or hand application, including nonspray 

application methods similar to hand or mechanically 

powered caulking gun, brush, or direct hand application;  

e. Dip coat, including electrodeposition; 

f. Airless spray;  

g. Air-assisted airless spray; or 

h. Other adhesive application method capable of 

achieving a transfer efficiency equivalent to or better 

than that achieved by HVLP spraying. 

2. A facility with product performance requirements or 

other needs that dictate the use of higher-VOC materials 

than those that would meet the emission limits in Table 4-

58A shall either (i) use add-on control equipment with an 

overall control efficiency of 85% or (ii) use a combination 

of adhesives and add-on control equipment on an 

application process unit to meet the emission limits in 

Table 4-58A. Add-on devices may include oxidizers, 

adsorbers, absorbers, and concentrators. 

3. The following work practices for the application of 

adhesives, adhesive primers, and process-related waste 

materials, shall be used: 

a. All VOC-containing adhesives, adhesive primers, and 

process-related waste materials shall be stored in closed 

containers. 

b. Mixing and storage containers used for VOC-

containing adhesives, adhesive primers, and process-

related waste materials shall be kept closed at all times 

except when these materials are being deposited or 

removed. 

c. Spills of VOC-containing adhesives, adhesive primers, 

and process-related waste materials shall be minimized.  

d. VOC-containing adhesives, adhesive primers, and 

process-related waste materials shall be conveyed from 

one location to another in closed containers or pipes. 

4. The following work practices for cleaning activities 

shall be used: 

a. All VOC-containing cleaning materials and used shop 

towels shall be stored in closed containers. 

b. Storage containers used for VOC-containing cleaning 

materials shall be kept closed at all times except when 

these materials are deposited or removed. 

c. Spills of VOC-containing cleaning materials shall be 

minimized. 

d. VOC-containing cleaning materials shall be conveyed 

from one location to another in closed containers or 

pipes.  

e. VOC emissions from cleaning of application, storage, 

mixing, and conveying equipment shall be minimized by 

performing equipment cleaning without atomizing the 

cleaning solvent and by capturing all spent solvent in 

closed containers. 

5. The application of adhesives and adhesive primers 

applied with a handheld, disposable can that is pressured 

and that dispenses an adhesive or adhesive primer by 

means of a propellant shall not be subject to the application 

method limits and controls found in subdivisions 1, 2, and 

4 of this subsection but shall be subject to the work 

practices found in subdivisions 3 and 4 of this subsection. 

9VAC5-40-8690. Standard for visible emissions. 

The provisions of Article 1 (9VAC5-40-60 et seq.) of Part II 

of 9VAC5-40 (Existing Stationary Sources) apply.  

9VAC5-40-8700. Standard for fugitive dust/emissions. 

The provisions of Article 1 (9VAC5-40-60 et seq.)  of Part 

II of 9VAC5-40 (Existing Stationary Sources) apply.  

9VAC5-40-8710. Standard for odor. 

The provisions of Article 2 (9VAC5-40-130 et seq.) of Part 

II of 9VAC-40  (Existing Stationary Sources) apply.  

9VAC5-40-8720. Standard for toxic pollutants. 

The provisions of Article 4 (9VAC5-60-200 et seq.) of Part 

II of 9VAC5-60 (Hazardous Air Pollutant Sources) apply. 

9VAC5-40-8730. Compliance. 

A. The provisions of 9VAC5-40-20 (Compliance) apply. 

B. The emission standards in 9VAC5-40-4330 apply to 

coating by coating or to the volume weighted average of 

coatings where the coatings are used on a single coating 

application system and the coatings are the same type or 

perform the same function. Such averaging shall not exceed 

24 hours. 

C. Compliance determinations for control technologies not 

based on compliant coatings (i.e., coating formulation alone) 

shall be based on the applicable standard in terms of pounds 

of VOCs per gallon solids or pounds of VOCs per gallon 
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solids applied according to the applicable procedure in 

9VAC5-20-121. Compliance may also be based on transfer 

efficiency greater than the baseline transfer efficiency of 

9VAC5-40-8680 B if demonstrated by methods acceptable to 

the board according to the applicable procedure in 9VAC5-

20-121. 

9VAC5-40-8740. Compliance schedule. 

The owner shall comply with the provisions of this article as 

expeditiously as possible but in no case later than [ (insert 

date one year after the effective date of this article) February 

1, 2017]. 

9VAC5-40-8750. Test methods and procedures. 

The provisions of 9VAC5-40-30 (Emission testing) apply.  

9VAC5-40-8760. Monitoring. 

The provisions of 9VAC5-40-40 (Monitoring) apply. 

9VAC5-40-8770. Notification, records, and reporting. 

The provisions of 9VAC5-40-50 (Notification, records and 

reporting) apply. 

9VAC5-40-8780. Registration. 

The provisions of 9VAC5-20-160 (Registration) apply. 

9VAC5-40-8790. Facility and control equipment 

maintenance or malfunction. 

The provisions of 9VAC5-20-180 (Facility and control 

equipment maintenance or malfunction) apply. 

9VAC5-40-8800. Permits. 

A permit may be required prior to beginning any of the 

activities specified in this section if the provisions of 9VAC5-

50 (New and Modified Stationary Sources) and 9VAC5-80 

(Permits for Stationary Sources) apply. Owners 

contemplating such action should review those provisions and 

contact the appropriate regional office for guidance on 

whether those provisions apply. 

1. Construction of a facility. 

2. Reconstruction (replacement of more than half) of a 

facility. 

3. Modification (any physical change to equipment) of a 

facility. 

4. Relocation of a facility. 

5. Reactivation (re-startup) of a facility. 

6. Operation of a facility. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2124; Filed October 29, 2015, 11:48 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-110. Regulations for the 

Immunization of School Children (amending 12VAC5-

110-10, 12VAC5-110-70, 12VAC5-110-80, 12VAC5-110-

90).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 22.1-271.2, 32.1-12, and 32.1-46 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: December 30, 2015. 

Effective Date: January 14, 2016.  

Agency Contact: James Farrell, Director, Division of 

Immunization, Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-8055, or email 

james.farrell@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Sections 22.1-271.2 and 32.1-46 of the Code of 

Virginia provide the State Board of Health with the authority 

to promulgate regulations regarding immunization of school 

children. 

Purpose: Regulations are necessary to ensure children are 

protected to the extent possible from vaccine-preventable 

diseases and to protect indirectly the health of all Virginians. 

Recent periodic review of existing regulations identified 

language that is unclear or should be modified to address 

technological changes. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: While some changes 

are the result of comments received during the periodic 

review process, additional changes are suggested to clarify 

issues that have been identified since the most recent 

amendments were enacted. None of the suggested changes 

will change any currently required immunizations or result in 

significant changes to current practice. 

Substance: Amendments to the current regulations (i) update 

and clarify definitions; (ii) remove references to outdated 

versions of forms and ACIP schedules; (iii) clarify that a 

printout of an electronic record can be accepted without the 

signature of a nurse or physician; (iv) clarify that 

pneumococcal conjugate vaccine is not required for children 

enrolling in kindergarten; (v) clarify how long after the fourth 

birthday is allowable for those vaccines that are required to be 

administered on or after the fourth birthday; (vi) add mumps 

to the list of diseases for which demonstration of immunity is 

acceptable; (vii) clarify that the certificate of religious 

exemption must be notarized; and (viii) update 

responsibilities of admitting officials. 

Issues: The primary advantages to the agency and the public 

are that current regulations ensure that children are 

appropriately protected to the extent possible from vaccine-

preventable diseases. This also indirectly protects the health 
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of all citizens of Virginia. Proposed changes should help 

clarify and simplify processes for providing and documenting 

immunizations required for school attendance. No 

disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth are 

anticipated. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

State Board of Health (Board) proposes to:  

• Add mumps to the list of diseases for which 

demonstration of immunity is acceptable in lieu of a 

vaccine shot; 

• Reduce from 30 days to 10 days the time that the 

admitting official from the school that a student has left 

must send immunization records and academic records to 

the student's new school; 

• Update and clarify definitions; 

• Remove references to outdated versions of forms and 

U.S. Center for Disease Control and Prevention Advisory 

Committee on Immunization Practices (CDC-ACIP) 

schedules; 

• Clarify that a printout of an electronic record can be 

accepted without the signature of a nurse or physician;  

• Clarify that pneumococcal conjugate vaccine is not 

required for children enrolling in kindergarten; 

• Clarify how long after the fourth birthday is allowable 

for those vaccines that are required to be administered on 

or after the fourth birthday; and 

• Clarify that the certificate of religious exemption must 

be notarized. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The proposed updating of 

definitions and the various proposed language amendments to 

clarify current requirements will enable readers of the 

regulation to more accurately understand requirements in 

practice. Thus these proposed amendments will likely 

produce a small net benefit. 

The CDC-ACIP has found that children who have 

demonstrated existing immunity to mumps are safe to be 

considered adequately immunized for the disease. 

Consequently the Board proposes to exempt students who 

have documentation of antibodies against mumps from the 

requirement for the mumps immunization shot. In order to 

prove immunity the child would need to have blood drawn. 

So for those families who choose to prove immunity rather 

than have the mumps shot, it will not likely significantly 

affect cost in time or dollars but does provide an additional 

option for those who wish to avoid additional vaccines. Thus, 

this proposed amendment will create a net benefit. 

Under the current regulations, the admitting official of the 

school from which a student is transferring must send the 

student's immunization records or a copy thereof, along with 

his permanent academic or scholastic records, to the 

admitting official of the school to which the student is 

transferring within 30 days of the transfer to the new school. 

The Board proposes to shorten the required time within which 

to send the records to 10 days. The proposed reduction in 

time is intended to help reduce the potential for delays in 

enrollment for transferring students.
1
 

There are no official requirements concerning notifying the 

old school when a student seeks to enroll in a new school.
2
 

Nevertheless, according to the Department of Education the 

admitting officials of the schools from which students transfer 

have been notified in sufficient time in practice. The 30-day 

deadline has been consistently met, but taking upwards of 30 

days to send immunization records has in some cases delayed 

students' enrollment in their new school. To the extent that 

reducing from 30 days to 10 days the time that the admitting 

official from the school that a student has left must send 

immunization records and academic records to the student's 

new school would reduce enrollment delays, the proposed 

amendment has the potential to produce significant benefit.  

In order for the proposed amendment to make a significant 

difference in practice, the admitting officials of the old 

schools will need to be notified of the student's attempt at 

new enrollment quickly. There are no explicit penalties for 

failure to meet either the 30-day or 10-day deadline; 

presumably admitting officials will seek to meet the deadline 

in effect in order to help the student in question. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed regulations 

pertain to approximately 4200 private health care providers,
3
 

135 public health clinics,
4
 admitting officials at schools 

within the Commonwealth's 132 school districts, and 

students. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

do not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

will not significantly affect employment.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments will not significantly affect the use and 

value of private property.  

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 

amendments will not significantly affect costs for small 

businesses.  

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments will not 

adversely affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

will not affect real estate development costs. 

_______________________________ 
1 Source: Virginia Department of Education 
2 Ibid 
3 Data source: Virginia Department of Health 
4 Ibid 
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Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Health concurs with the Department of 

Planning and Budget's economic impact analysis of 12VAC5-

110. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) update and clarify definitions; (ii) 

update the version of the U.S. Center for Disease Control 

and Prevention Advisory Committee on Immunization 

Practices schedules that is incorporated by reference; (iii) 

clarify that a printout of an electronic record can be 

accepted without the signature of a nurse or physician; (iv) 

clarify that pneumococcal conjugate vaccine is not 

required for children enrolling in kindergarten; (v) clarify 

how long after the fourth birthday is allowable for those 

vaccines that are required to be administered on or after 

the fourth birthday; (vi) add mumps to the list of diseases 

for which demonstration of immunity is acceptable; (vii) 

clarify that the certificate of religious exemption must be 

notarized; and (viii) update responsibilities of admitting 

officials. 

Part I  

Definitions  

12VAC5-110-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Adequate immunization" means the immunization 

requirements prescribed under 12VAC5-110-70.  

"Admit" or "admission" means the official enrollment or 

reenrollment for attendance at any grade level, whether full-

time or part-time, of any student by any school.  

"Admitting official" means the school principal or his 

designated representative if a public school; if a nonpublic 

school or child care center, the principal, headmaster or 

director of the school or center.  

"Board" means the State Board of Health.  

"Commissioner" means the State Health Commissioner.  

"Compliance" means the completion of the immunization 

requirements prescribed under 12VAC5-110-70.  

"Conditional enrollment" means the enrollment of a student 

for a period of 90 days contingent upon the student having 

received at least one dose of each of the required vaccines and 

the student possessing a plan, from a physician or local health 

department, for completing his immunization requirements 

within the ensuing 90 calendar days. If the student requires 

more than two doses of hepatitis B vaccine, the conditional 

enrollment period, for hepatitis B vaccine only, shall be 180 

calendar days. 

"Documentary proof" means an appropriately completed 

copy of the most current version of Form MCH 213F 213G 

signed by a physician or his designee, registered nurse, or an 

official of a local health department. A copy of the 

immunization record signed or stamped by a physician or his 

designee, registered nurse, or an official of a local health 

department indicating the dates of administration including 

month, day, and year of the required vaccines, shall be 

acceptable in lieu of recording these dates on Form MCH 

213F 213G, as long as the record is attached to Form MCH 

213F 213G and the remainder of Form MCH 213F 213G has 

been appropriately completed. A printout of an immunization 

record from the provider's electronic health record can be 

accepted without a signature or stamp. For a new student 

transferring from an out-of-state school, any immunization 

record, which contains the exact date (month/day/year) of 

administration of each of the required doses of vaccines, is 

signed by a physician or his designee or registered nurse, and 

complies fully with the requirements prescribed under 

12VAC5-110-70 shall be acceptable.  

"Immunization" means the administration of a product 

licensed by the FDA to confer protection against one or more 

specific pathogens.  

"Immunization schedule" schedules" means the schedule 

2015 Recommended Immunization Schedules for Persons 

Aged 0 through 18 Years developed and published by the 

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the 

Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP), the 

American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP), and the American 

Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP). 

"Physician" means any person licensed to practice medicine 

in any of the 50 states or the District of Columbia.  

"School" means:  

1. Any public school from kindergarten through grade 12 

operated under the authority of any locality within this 

Commonwealth;  

2. Any private or religious school that offers instruction at 

any level or grade from kindergarten through grade 12;  

3. Any private or religious nursery school or preschool, or 

any private or religious child care center required to be 

licensed by this Commonwealth;  

4. Any preschool classes or Head Start classes operated by 

the school divisions within this Commonwealth; and  

5. Any family day home or developmental center.  

"Student" means any person who seeks admission to a 

school, or for whom admission to a school is sought by a 

parent or guardian, and who will not have attained the age of 

20 years by the start of the school term for which admission is 

sought. 

"Twelve months of age" means the 365th day following the 

date of birth. For the purpose of evaluating records, vaccines 

administered up to four days prior to the first birthday (361 

days following the date of birth) will be considered valid. 
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Part III  

Immunization Requirements  

12VAC5-110-70. Immunization requirements. 

Every student enrolling in a school shall provide 

documentary proof of adequate immunization with the 

prescribed number of doses of each of the vaccines and 

toxoids listed in the following subdivisions, as appropriate for 

his age according to the immunization schedule schedules. 

Spacing, minimum ages, and minimum intervals shall be in 

accordance with the immunization schedule schedules. A 

copy of every student's immunization record shall be on file 

in his school record. 

1. Diphtheria Toxoid. A minimum of four properly spaced 

doses of diphtheria toxoid. One dose shall be administered 

on or after the fourth birthday and prior to entering 

kindergarten.  

2. Tetanus Toxoid. A minimum of four properly spaced 

doses of tetanus toxoid. One dose shall be administered on 

or after the fourth birthday and prior to entering 

kindergarten.  

3. Acellular Pertussis Vaccine. A minimum of four 

properly spaced doses of acellular pertussis vaccine. One 

dose shall be administered on or after the fourth birthday. 

A booster dose shall be administered prior to entering the 

sixth grade. 

4. Poliomyelitis Vaccine. A minimum of four doses of 

poliomyelitis vaccine with one dose administered on or 

after the fourth birthday and prior to entering kindergarten. 

5. Measles (Rubeola) Vaccine. One dose of live measles 

vaccine administered at age 12 months or older, and a 

second dose administered prior to entering kindergarten.  

6. Rubella Vaccine. A minimum of one dose of rubella 

virus vaccine administered at age 12 months or older.  

7. Mumps Vaccine. One dose of mumps virus vaccine 

administered at age 12 months or older and a second dose 

administered prior to entering kindergarten.  

8. Haemophilus Influenzae Type b (Hib) Vaccine. A 

complete series of Hib vaccine (i.e., up to a maximum of 

four doses of vaccine as appropriate for the age of the child 

and the age at which the immunization series was 

initiated). The number of doses administered shall be in 

accordance with current immunization schedule 

recommendations. Attestation by the physician or his 

designee, registered nurse, or an official of a local health 

department on that portion of Form MCH 213G pertaining 

to Hib vaccine shall mean that the child has satisfied the 

requirements of this section. This section shall not apply to 

children older than 60 months of age or for admission to 

any grade level, kindergarten through grade 12.  

9. Hepatitis B Vaccine. A minimum of three doses of 

hepatitis B vaccine for all children. The FDA has approved 

a two-dose schedule only for adolescents 11 through 15 

years of age and only when the Merck brand 

(RECOMBIVAX HB) Adult Formulation Hepatitis B 

vaccine is used. The two RECOMBIVAX HB adult doses 

must be separated by a minimum of four months. The two 

dose schedule using the adult formulation must be clearly 

documented in the Hepatitis B section on Form MCH 

213G.  

10. Varicella (Chickenpox) Vaccine. All children born on 

and after January 1, 1997, shall be required to have one 

dose of chickenpox vaccine on or after 12 months of age 

and a second dose administered prior to entering 

kindergarten. 

11. Pneumococcal Conjugate Vaccine (PCV). A complete 

series of PCV (i.e., up to a maximum of four doses of 

vaccine as appropriate for the age of the child and the age 

at which the immunization series was initiated). The 

number of doses administered shall be in accordance with 

current immunization schedule recommendations. 

Attestation by the physician or his designee, registered 

nurse, or an official of a local health department on that 

portion of Form MCH 213G pertaining to PCV vaccine 

shall mean that the child has satisfied the requirements of 

this section. This section shall not apply to children older 

than 60 months of age or for admission to any grade level, 

kindergarten through grade 12. 

12. Human Papillomavirus (HPV) Vaccine. Three doses of 

properly spaced HPV vaccine for females, effective 

October 1, 2008. The first dose shall be administered 

before the child enters the sixth grade. 

12VAC5-110-80. Exemptions from immunization 

requirements. 

A. Religious and medical exemptions. No certificate of 

immunization shall be required of any student for admission 

to school if:  

1. The student or his parent or guardian submits a notarized 

Certificate of Religious Exemption (Form CRE 1), to the 

admitting official of the school to which the student is 

seeking admission. Form CRE 1 is an affidavit stating that 

the administration of immunizing agents conflicts with the 

student's religious tenets or practices. The form is available 

on the Division of Immunization website at 

http://www.vdh.virginia.gov//Epidemiology/Immunization/

requirements.htm; or  

2. The school has written certification on either of the 

documents specified under "documentary proof" in 

12VAC5-110-10 from a physician, registered nurse, or a 

local health department that one or more of the required 

immunizations may be detrimental to the student's health. 

Such certification of medical exemption shall specify the 

nature and probable duration of the medical condition or 

circumstance that contraindicates immunization.  

3. Upon the identification of an outbreak, potential 

epidemic, or epidemic of a vaccine-preventable disease in 

a public or private school, the commissioner has the 
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authority to require the exclusion from such school of all 

children who are not immunized against that disease. 

B. Demonstration of existing immunity. The demonstration 

in a student of antibodies against rubeola mumps, measles, 

rubella, or varicella in sufficient quantity to ensure protection 

of that student against that disease, shall render that student 

exempt from the immunization requirements contained in 

12VAC5-110-70 for the disease in question. Such protection 

should be demonstrated by means of a serological testing 

method appropriate for measuring protective antibodies 

against rubeola mumps, measles, rubella, or varicella 

respectively. Reliable history of chickenpox disease 

diagnosed or verified by a health care provider shall render 

students exempt from varicella requirements. 

C. HPV vaccine. Because the human papillomavirus is not 

communicable in a school setting, a parent or guardian, at the 

parent's or guardian's sole discretion, may elect for the 

parent's or guardian's child not to receive the HPV vaccine, 

after having reviewed materials describing the link between 

the human papillomavirus and cervical cancer approved for 

such use by the board. 

Part IV  

Procedures and Responsibilities  

12VAC5-110-90. Responsibilities of admitting officials. 

A. Procedures for determining the immunization status of 

students. Each admitting official or his designee shall review, 

before the first day of each school year, the school medical 

record of every new student seeking admission to his school, 

and that of every student enrolling in grade six for 

compliance with the requirements prescribed in 12VAC5-

110-70. Such review shall determine into which one of the 

following categories each student falls:  

1. Students whose immunizations are adequately 

documented and complete in conformance with 12VAC5-

110-70. Students with documentation of existing immunity 

to mumps, measles, rubella, or varicella as defined in 

12VAC5-110-80 B shall be considered to be adequately 

immunized for such disease.  

2. Students who are exempt from the immunization 

requirements of 12VAC5-110-70 because of medical 

contraindications or religious beliefs provided for by 

12VAC5-110-80.  

3. Students whose immunizations are inadequate according 

to the requirements of 12VAC5-110-70.  

4. Students without any documentation of having been 

adequately immunized.  

B. Notification of deficiencies. Upon identification of the 

students described in subdivisions A 3 and 4 of this section, 

the admitting official shall notify the parent or guardian of the 

student: 

1. That there is no, or insufficient, documentary proof of 

adequate immunization in the student's school records.  

2. That the student cannot be admitted to school unless he 

has documentary proof that he is exempted from 

immunization requirements pursuant to 12VAC5-110-70. 

3. That the student may be immunized and receive 

certification by a licensed physician, registered nurse, or an 

official of a local health department. 

4. How to contact the local health department to receive 

the necessary immunizations. 

C. Conditional enrollment. Any student whose 

immunizations are incomplete may be admitted conditionally 

if that student provides documentary proof at the time of 

enrollment of having received at least one dose of the 

required immunizations accompanied by a schedule for 

completion of the required doses within 90 calendar days, 

during which time that student shall complete the 

immunizations required under 12VAC5-110-70. If the student 

requires more than two doses of hepatitis B vaccine, the 

conditional enrollment period, for hepatitis B vaccine only, 

shall be 180 calendar days. If a student is a homeless child or 

youth and does not have documentary proof of necessary 

immunizations or has incomplete immunizations and is not 

exempted from immunization as described in 12VAC5-110-

80, the school administrator shall immediately admit such 

student and shall immediately refer the student to the local 

school division liaison, who shall assist in obtaining the 

documentary proof of, or completing, immunizations. The 

admitting official should examine the records of any 

conditionally enrolled student at regular intervals to ensure 

that such a student remains on schedule with his plan of 

completion. 

D. Exclusion. The admitting official shall, at the end of the 

conditional enrollment period, exclude any student who is not 

in compliance with the immunization requirements under 

12VAC5-110-70 and who has not been granted an exemption 

under 12VAC5-110-80 until that student provides 

documentary proof that his immunization schedule has been 

completed, unless documentary proof that a medical 

contraindication developed during the conditional enrollment 

period is submitted. 

E. Transfer of records. The admitting official of every 

school shall be responsible for sending a student's 

immunization records or a copy thereof, along with his 

permanent academic or scholastic records, to the admitting 

official of the school to which a student is transferring within 

30 10 days of his transfer to the new school. 

F. Report of student immunization status. Each admitting 

official shall, within 30 days of the beginning of each school 

year or entrance of a student, or by October 15 of each school 

year, file with the State Health Department through the health 

department for his locality, a report summarizing the 

immunization status of the students in his school as of the 

first day of school. This report shall be filed using the web-

enabled reporting system or on the most current version of 

Form SIS 1, the Student Immunization Status Report, and 
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shall contain the number of students admitted to that school 

with documentary proof of immunization, the number of 

students who have been admitted with a medical or religious 

exemption and the number of students who have been 

conditionally admitted. The report for students entering the 

sixth grade shall include the number with a booster dose of 

tetanus, diphtheria, or pertussis containing vaccine within the 

last five years. 

G. Each admitting official shall ensure that the parent or 

guardian of a female to be enrolled in the sixth grade receives 

educational materials describing the link between the human 

papillomavirus and cervical cancer. Materials shall be 

approved by the board and provided to the parent or guardian 

prior to the child's enrollment in the sixth grade. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (12VAC5-110) 

Certificate of Religious Exemption, CRE-1 (rev. 00/1992)  

School Entrance Health Form, Health Information 

Form/Comprehensive Physical Examination 

Report/Certification of Immunization, MCH 213G (rev. 

3/2014) 

Student Immunization Status Report, Form SIS 3 (School) 

(rev. 5/2009) 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(12VAC5-110) 

2010 Recommended Immunization Schedule for Persons 

Aged 0 through 6 Years, U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Services. 

2010 Recommended Immunization Schedule for Persons 

Aged 7 through 18 Years, U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Services. 

2015 Recommended Immunization Schedules for Persons 

Aged 0 through 18 Years, Centers for Disease Control and 

Prevention, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 

effective January 1, 2015 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4210; Filed October 28, 2015, 12:06 p.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-410. Regulations for the 

Licensure of Hospitals in Virginia (amending 12VAC5-

410-260).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-127 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: December 30, 2015. 

Effective Date: January 14, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Susan Puglisi, Policy Analyst, Department 

of Health, 9960 Mayland Drive, Richmond, VA 23233, 

telephone (804) 367-2157, FAX (804) 527-4502, or email 

susan.puglisi@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The regulation is promulgated under the authority of 

§§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-127 of the Code of Virginia. Section 

32.1-12 grants the board the legal authority "to make, adopt, 

promulgate, and enforce such regulations necessary to carry 

out the provisions of Title 32.1 of the Code." Section 32.1-

127 of the Code of Virginia directs the board to promulgate 

regulations with minimum standards for the construction and 

maintenance of hospitals, the operation, staffing and 

equipping of hospitals, qualifications and training of staff of 

hospitals, conditions under which a hospital may provide 

medical and nursing services to patients in their places of 

residence, and policies related to infection prevention, 

disaster preparedness, and facility security. 

Purpose: The federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 

Services (CMS) issued a final rule on May 12, 2014, that 

enables a qualified dietitian or qualified nutrition professional 

to become privileged to independently order both standard 

and therapeutic diets within the hospital and critical access 

hospital settings. According to the CMS rule, hospitals will 

have the flexibility to either (i) appoint registered dieticians to 

the medical staff and grant them specific nutritional ordering 

privileges or (ii) authorize ordering privileges without 

appointment to the medical staff through the hospital’s 

appropriate medical staff rules, regulations, and bylaws. This 

rule change became effective on July 11, 2014. 12VAC5-410-

260 is currently written in a manner that is more restrictive 

than the federal regulations because it only allows registered 

dietitians to write independent nutrition orders in hospitals if 

they are appointed to the medical staff. This regulatory action 

will amend the regulations to remove restrictions that are 

more stringent than federal law. This regulatory action will 

protect the health and welfare of Virginians by ensuring that 

patients within a hospital setting are able to obtain the proper 

standard and therapeutic diets within the Commonwealth. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: These amendments 

simply ensure that the Commonwealth's regulations are not 

more restrictive than federal regulations. These amendments 

have also been prepared with input from the Virginia 

Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics. Therefore, the 

department does not expect that this regulatory action will be 

controversial. 

Substance: Amendments to 12VAC5-410-260 remove the 

requirement that all patient diets be ordered in writing by a 

member of the medical staff; allow practitioners responsible 

for the care of the patient, or dietitians authorized by the 

medical staff, to order patient diets; and allow a hospital or 

medical staff to privilege qualified dietitians to prescribe diets 

and order tests to determine appropriate diets for the patient 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=51623004031~1&typ=40&actno=004031&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ad4a0004031~2&typ=40&actno=004031&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ad4a0004031~2&typ=40&actno=004031&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ad4a0004031~2&typ=40&actno=004031&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ad4a0004031~2&typ=40&actno=004031&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=76216004210~2&typ=40&actno=004210&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=76216004210~2&typ=40&actno=004210&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=268d1004210~1&typ=40&actno=004210&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=268d1004210~1&typ=40&actno=004210&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=268d1004210~1&typ=40&actno=004210&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=268d1004210~1&typ=40&actno=004210&mime=application/pdf
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and specify that therapeutic diets include the provision of 

enteral and parenteral nutrition. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the agency, the 

Commonwealth, and the public of the proposed regulatory 

action will be less burdensome regulations. The proposed 

regulatory action will also lead to greater access to well-

rounded patient care. There are no known disadvantages to 

the agency, the Commonwealth, or the public. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) 

issued a final rule on May 12, 2014, which enables a qualified 

dietitian or qualified nutrition professional to become 

privileged to independently order both standard and 

therapeutic diets within the hospital and critical access 

hospital settings. This rule change became effective on July 

11, 2014. The State Board of Health (Board) proposes to 

amend this regulation to reflect this change. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The current regulation requires 

that all patient diets be ordered in writing by a member of the 

medical staff. The Board proposes to amend this requirement 

to state that all patient diets be ordered in writing by a 

practitioner responsible for the care of the patient or by a 

dietitian as authorized by the medical staff. The proposed new 

language will permit medical staff to use their time more 

efficiently. Permitting a qualified dietician authorized by the 

medical staff to do the ordering will enable the medical staff 

to spend the time they otherwise would have spent on the 

ordering of diets on other productive health care tasks such as 

diagnosing and treating patients, etc. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 

affect qualified dietitians, the 106 licensed hospitals and 

critical access hospitals within the Commonwealth, and 

patients served by hospitals throughout Virginia. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

do not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposal to permit 

authorized dieticians not on the medical staff to order both 

standard and therapeutic diets within the hospital may 

encourage hospitals to employ more dieticians for this 

purpose.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments are unlikely to significantly affect the 

use and value of private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

do not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments are 

unlikely to significantly affect small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendments will not adversely affect small 

businesses. 

Adverse Impacts:  

Businesses: The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect businesses. 

Localities: The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities: The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect other entities. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Health concurs with the Department of 

Planning and Budget's economic impact analysis. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) remove the requirement that all 

patient diets be ordered in writing by a member of the 

medical staff; (ii) add language allowing practitioners 

responsible for the care of the patient, or dietitians 

authorized by the medical staff, to order patient diets; and 

(iii) allow a hospital or medical staff to privilege qualified 

dietitians to prescribe diets and order tests to determine 

appropriate diets for the patient and specify that 

therapeutic diets include the provision of enteral and 

parenteral nutrition. 

12VAC5-410-260. Dietary service.  

A. Each hospital shall maintain a dietary service directed by 

a full-time person, qualified as allowed in 12VAC5-421.  

B. Each hospital shall have at least one dietitian, meeting the 

criteria of § 54.1-2731 of the Code of Virginia, employed on 

either a full-time, part-time or on a consultative basis, to 

direct nutritional aspects of patient care and to advise on food 

preparation and service.  

C. Space, equipment and supplies shall be provided for the 

efficient, safe and sanitary receiving, storage, refrigeration, 

preparation and serving of food.  

D. The hospital food service operation shall comply with 

applicable standards in 12VAC5-421.  

E. A diet manual, approved by the medical staff shall be 

maintained by the dietary service. Diets served to patients 

shall comply with the principles set forth in the diet manual.  

F. All patient diets shall be ordered in writing by a member 

of the medical staff, including therapeutic diets, shall be 

ordered in writing by a practitioner, or by a dietitian as 

authorized by the medical staff, responsible for the care of the 

patient.  
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1. Hospitals and their medical staffs may grant privileges 

to dietitians meeting the criteria of § 54.1-2731 of the Code 

of Virginia to order patient diets, including therapeutic 

diets, and to order laboratory tests to help determine 

appropriate diets for the patient.  

2. Therapeutic diets include the provision of enteral and 

parenteral nutrition. 

G. Pertinent observations and information relative to the 

special diets and to dietetic treatment shall be recorded in the 

patient's medical record.  

H. A hospital contracting for food service shall require, as 

part of the contract, that the contractor comply with the 

provisions of this section.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4180; Filed October 28, 2015, 12:17 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-540. Rules and Regulations 

for the Identification of Medically Underserved Areas in 

Virginia (amending 12VAC5-540-10, 12VAC5-540-20, 

12VAC5-540-30, 12VAC5-540-40).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-122.5 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 30, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Kenneth Studer, Department of Health, 109 

Governor Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-

7428, or email ken.studer@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) automatically designate the state 

facilities operated by the Departments of Corrections, 

Juvenile Justice, and Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services as Virginia medically underserved 

areas; and (ii) remove outdated information regarding 

scholarship programs that are affected by the designation. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

Part I  

General Information  

12VAC5-540-10. Authority.  

In accordance with the provisions of § 32.1-122.5 of the 

Code of Virginia, the State Board of Health is required to 

establish criteria for determining medically underserved areas 

within the Commonwealth and include in these criteria the 

need for medical care services in the state facilities operated 

by the Departments of Corrections, Juvenile Justice, and 

Behavioral Health and Developmental Services. The criteria 

are required to be quantifiable measures, sensitive to the 

unique characteristics of urban and rural jurisdictions.  

12VAC5-540-20. Purpose.  

The purpose of identifying medically underserved areas 

within the Commonwealth is to establish geographic areas in 

need of additional primary health care services. These areas 

may be selected by trained primary care physicians and other 

health professionals as practice sites in fulfillment of 

obligations that the physicians and other health professionals 

accepted in return for medical training and scholarship grant 

assistance. Each year of practice in a medically underserved 

area satisfies the repayment requirement of a year of 

scholarship support from the Virginia Medical Scholarship 

Program. Additionally, these medically underserved areas 

will be eligible locations for practicing primary care 

physicians and other health professionals participating in the 

state or federal physician loan repayment programs. Further, 

these medically underserved areas may become eligible for 

assistance, state or federal, to establish primary care medical 

centers.  

Part II  

Designating Medically Underserved Areas  

12VAC5-540-30. Criteria for determining medically 

underserved areas.  

EDITOR'S NOTE: The proposed amendments to this section 

were not adopted in the final regulations; therefore, no 

changes are made to this section. 

The following [ five ] criteria, as available, and as indicated, 

shall be used to evaluate and identify medically underserved 

areas throughout the Commonwealth of Virginia [ and the 

criteria shall be applied at a minimum five-year interval using 

the most recent data available to update the designations ]:  

1. Percentage of population with income at or below 100% 

of the federal poverty level. The source for these data shall 

be the most recent available publication of the Bureau of 

the Census of the U.S. Department of Commerce [ or 

appropriate intercensorial estimates of poverty accepted by 

the Health Resources and Services Administration 

Shortage Designation Branch for federal health 

professional shortage area and medically underserved area 

designations ]. 

2. Percentage of population that is 65 years of age or older. 

The source for these data shall be the [ Bureau of the 

Census of the U.S. Department of Commerce, or the latest 

estimates from the Weldon Cooper Center for Public 

Service at the University of Virginia, or the ] Economic 

Services Division of the Virginia Employment 

Commission.  

3. The primary care physician to population ratio. The 

source for these data shall be the [ Department of Family 

Practice of the Medical College of Virginia of Virginia 

Commonwealth University Virginia Department of Health 

Professions, or Board of Medicine physician profile 

database. Primary care physicians are defined as board 

certified or self-designated generalist practitioners who 

practice family medicine, pediatrics, internal medicine, or 

obstetrics/gynecology ]. 

4. The four-year aggregate infant mortality rate. The source 

for these data shall be the [ Center most recent four-year 

infant mortality data for each jurisdiction from the 
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Division ] of Health Statistics of the Virginia Department 

of Health.  

5. The most recent [ annual seasonally adjusted quarterly ] 

civilian unemployment rate [ for each jurisdiction ]. The 

source for these data shall be [ the ] Information Services 

Division of the Virginia Employment Commission.  

[ 6. Medical care services in state facilities operated by the 

Departments of Corrections, Juvenile Justice, and 

Behavioral Health and Developmental Services shall be 

deemed Virginia medically underserved areas. ]  

12VAC5-540-40. Application of the criteria.  

A. Determining medically underserved cities and counties. 

The criteria enumerated in 12VAC5-540-30 shall be used to 

construct a numerical index by which the relative degree of 

medical underservice shall be calculated for each city and 

county within the Commonwealth. Observations for each of 

the five criteria will be listed for each Virginia city and 

county. An interval scale will be used to assign a particular 

value to each observation. This will be done for each of the 

five criteria. Each interval scale will consist of four ranges or 

outcomes of observations. The ranges will be numerically 

equal. The four ranges will be labeled as Level 1, Level 2, 

Level 3, and Level 4. The numerical difference between the 

ranges will be established beginning with the Level 2 range.  

The Level 2 range shall have the statewide average for each 

respective criterion, except the population to primary care 

physician ratio, as its upper limit. The Level 2 upper limit for 

the primary care physician to population ratio is established 

by dividing the difference between the Level 4 upper limit for 

this criterion and the Level 1 upper limit by two. Each 

observation which is equal to or less than the Level 2 upper 

limit, but greater than the Level 1 upper limit, will be 

assigned a numerical value of two.  

The Level 1 range shall have an upper limit which is the 

quotient of the statewide average divided by two. For the ratio 

of population to primary care physician criterion, the upper 

limit of Level 1 shall be the ratio 2500:1 as recommended by 

the American Academy of Family Physicians. Each 

observation that is equal to or less than the Level 1 upper 

limit will be assigned a numerical value of one.  

The Level 3 range shall have an upper limit that is equal to 

the sum of the upper limit of the Level 1 range and the upper 

limit of the Level 2 range. For the ratio of population to 

primary care physician criterion, the upper limit of level 3 

shall be established at 3500:1, the federal standard for 

designating health manpower shortage areas. Each 

observation that is equal to or less than the Level 3 upper 

limit will be assigned a numerical value of three.  

The Level 4 range will include any observation greater than 

the upper limit of Level 3 range. Each observation in the 

Level 4 range will be assigned a numerical value of four.  

The values for each of the ranges of the five criteria will be 

summed for each Virginia city and county. Each Virginia city 

and county will have an assigned value of five or greater, to a 

maximum of 20. A statewide average value will be 

determined by summing the total city and county values and 

dividing by the number of cities and counties. Any city or 

county assigned a value that is greater than the statewide 

average value shall be considered medically underserved. The 

application of criteria for determining medically underserved 

cities and counties shall be performed annually and published 

by the board.  

B. Determining medically underserved areas within cities 

and counties. Geographic subsections of cities or counties 

may be designated as medically underserved areas when the 

entire city or county is not eligible if the subsection has: (i) a 

population to primary care physician ratio equal to or greater 

than 3500:1; and (ii) a population whose rate of poverty is 

greater than the statewide average poverty rate; and (iii) a 

minimum population of 3,500 persons residing in a 

contiguous, identifiable, geographic area. The board shall 

from time to time, on petition of any person, or as a result of 

its own decision, apply criteria for determining medically 

underserved subareas of cities and counties. Once determined 

to be medically underserved, any subarea of a city or county 

shall appear on the next list of medically underserved areas 

published by the board. Areas which qualify as medically 

underserved areas under 12VAC5-540-40 A and that are 

within Standard Metropolitan Areas as defined by the U.S. 

Department of Commerce, must also qualify under this 

section for purposes of placement of health professionals.  

[ C. Medical care services in state facilities operated by the 

Departments of Corrections, Juvenile Justice, and Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services will be deemed Virginia 

medically underserved areas. ] 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2199; Filed November 6, 2015, 5:46 p.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-120. Waivered Services 

(adding 12VAC30-120-927).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396. 

Effective Date: December 30, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Melissa Fritzman, Project Manager, 

Division of Long Term Care Services, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-4206, FAX (804) 

612-0040, or email melissa.fritzman@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This regulatory action adopts a new section to establish 

criteria for approval of personal care service hours that 

exceed the maximum allowed limit of 56 hours per week. 

This action is required by Item 297 CCCCC of Chapter 
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890 of the 2011 Acts of Assembly and only affects the 

Elderly or Disabled with Consumer Direction Waiver. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

12VAC30-120-927. Exception criteria for personal care 

services. 

DMAS shall apply the following criteria to individuals who 

request approval of personal care hours in excess of the 

maximum allowed 56 hours per week. [ The In order to 

qualify for personal care hours in excess of 56 hours per 

week, the ] waiver individual shall: 

1. Presently have a minimum level of care of B (the waiver 

individual has a composite activities of daily living (ADL) 

score between seven and 12 and has a medical nursing 

need) or C (the waiver individual has a composite ADL 

score of nine or higher and has a skilled medical nursing 

need). 

2. In addition to meeting the requirements set out in 

subdivision 1 of this [ subsection section ], the individual 

shall have [ at least ] one [ or more ] of the following:  

a. Documentation of dependencies in all of the following 

activities of daily living: bathing, dressing, transferring, 

toileting, and eating/feeding, as defined by the current 

preadmission screening criteria (submitted to the service 

authorization contractor via DMAS-99);  

b. Documentation of dependencies in both behavior and 

orientation as defined by the current preadmission 

screening criteria (submitted to the service authorization 

contractor via DMAS-99); or  

c. Documentation from the local department of social 

services that the individual has an open case (as 

described in subdivisions c (1) and c (2) of this 

subdivision [ 2 ] ) with either Adult Protective Services 

(APS) or Child Protective Services (CPS) and is 

[ therefore ] in need of additional services beyond the 

maximum allowed 56 hours per week. Documentation 

can be in the form of a phone log contact or any other 

documentation supplied (submitted to the service 

authorization contractor via attestation). 

(1) For APS an open case is defined as a substantiated 

APS case with a disposition of needs protective services 

and the adult accepts the needed services. 

(2) For CPS an open case is defined as being open to 

CPS investigation if it is both founded by the 

investigation and the completed family assessment 

documents the case with moderate or high risk. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-2812; Filed November 6, 2015, 2:19 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-141. Family Access to 

Medical Insurance Security Plan (amending 12VAC30-

141-100, 12VAC30-141-120).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-325 and 32.1-351 of the Code of 

Virginia; 42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: January 29, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Victoria Simmons, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 

Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

371-6043, FAX (804) 786-1680, TTY (800) 343-0634, or 

email victoria.simmons@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia grants to the 

Board of Medical Assistance Services the authority to 

administer and amend the State Plan for Medical Assistance 

and directs that such plan include a provision for the Family 

Access to Medical Insurance Security (FAMIS) program. 

Section 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

Director of the Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) to administer and amend the State Plan for Medical 

Assistance when the board is not in session, subject to such 

rules and regulations as may be prescribed by the board. 

Section 32.1-351 of the Code of Virginia authorizes DMAS 

or the director, as the case may be, to develop and submit to 

the federal Secretary of Health and Human Services an 

amended Title XXI plan for the Family Access to Medical 

Insurance Security Plan, and revise such plan and promulgate 

regulations as may be necessary. 

Section 2105 of the Social Security Act (42 USC § 1397ee) 

provides governing authority for payments for services. The 

Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (PPACA) (2010) 

permits states to extend eligibility in the Children's Health 

Insurance Program (CHIP) to children of state employees 

who are otherwise eligible under the state child health plan, 

known in Virginia as FAMIS. A critical issue reported to the 

Governor by the agency's director is the denial of access for 

the children of Virginia state employees to the FAMIS 

program. Virginia's workforce includes a significant number 

of lower income employees. Last year, more than 9,600 full-

time state employees qualified for the Earned Income Tax 

Credit, a federal tax subsidy for lower-income working 

families. Full-time state employees may cover their 

dependent children through their employee health insurance, 

but for many families this is not an affordable option. 

Employees who choose this option face an increase in their 

insurance premium contributions of approximately $100 to 

$200 per month. Even with the most comprehensive 

coverage, employees must also pay co-pays of up to $40 for 

doctor visits. These health care premiums and cost sharing 

represent a significant reduction in take home pay for many 

state workers. Some may be forced to opt for employee-only 

coverage, thereby leaving their children with no health 

insurance; others may struggle to pay for rent or other 

necessities because of the additional cost for their children's 

insurance. This reduced access to covered medical services 
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creates increased health risks for the children of Virginia state 

workers.  

Current DMAS regulations exclude state employees from 

FAMIS eligibility. DMAS now seeks to remove this barrier to 

the FAMIS program and open up low-cost comprehensive 

health care coverage for the dependent children of Virginia 

state employees. This rule change will only affect state 

employees who are qualified for employer-sponsored health 

insurance; wage employees are not eligible to receive a state 

contribution toward the cost of their health coverage.  

Purpose: The proposed regulatory action is intended to 

remove a barrier (i.e., high out-of-pocket costs) to access to 

health care services for more lower-income families.  

At this time, a child who is a member of a family that is 

eligible for subsidized coverage under any Virginia state 

employee health insurance plan is not eligible for FAMIS. 

This policy was originally enacted to be compliant with 

§ 2110(b)(2)(B) of the Social Security Act, which 

categorically excluded dependents of state employees in the 

definition of a "targeted low-income child." 

Virginia's state employee health benefit policies do not allow 

adding or dropping dependents to coverage outside of the 

open enrollment period for the new plan year beginning 

annually July 1, except in the case of certain qualifying 

events. Eligibility for Medicaid has been such a qualifying 

event. Children in very low-income families (at or less than 

143% federal poverty level (FPL)) are already eligible for 

Medicaid; those who are dependents of state employees can, 

under current rules, be dropped from state-subsidized 

coverage and enroll in Medicaid. The new rules will allow 

children in families with income between 144% and 200% 

FPL to move from state-subsidized coverage and enroll in 

FAMIS. 

The children of working families who cannot afford insurance 

due to out-of-pocket costs suffer from lack of access to health 

care. While state employees may cover their dependent 

children through their employee health insurance, for many 

low-income families this is not an affordable option due to 

premium contributions, copayments, and deductibles that can 

add up to a substantial proportion of earned income. This 

regulatory action will allow children of state employees who 

are otherwise eligible (e.g., by virtue of family income, 

residency) to be enrolled for health coverage under the 

FAMIS Plan. The action will remove the current exclusion of 

such children from enrollment. This will allow employees of 

the Commonwealth to be treated the same as other families 

with access to employer-sponsored health insurance who by 

current policy may apply for coverage under FAMIS. 

As a result of this regulatory action, more lower-income 

families will be able to obtain insurance coverage for 

preventive services and necessary medical care for their 

children. This regulatory action is essential to protect the 

health, safety, and welfare of these affected individuals by 

providing an opportunity to access high quality health care 

services that they may otherwise not be able to afford. 

Substance: The intent of this action is to align Virginia policy 

with changes in federal laws and in doing so to offer more 

options for health care coverage to more children in lower-

income families. 

The proposed regulatory action allows state employees to 

enroll their otherwise-eligible dependent children in the 

FAMIS plan by removing the language that prohibits such 

enrollment. Since emergency regulations went into effect in 

January 2015, state employees who do not currently cover 

their dependent children on their health benefits have been 

able to enroll their dependent children in FAMIS if all 

eligibility standards are met. DMAS and the Department of 

Human Resources Management (DHRM) are implementing 

communication strategies to include agency website postings 

of a fact sheet, electronic newsletters to state benefit 

administrators, inclusion in the annual notice to all state 

employees about premium assistance, and the state employee 

open enrollment newsletter for 2015. It is estimated that 5.0% 

of the eligible state workforce will be impacted by this 

change, with a resulting 5,000 children enrolled in FAMIS 

Issues: The primary advantage of this proposed action to the 

public is that more low-income working families will have 

access to the FAMIS program, with significantly reduced out-

of-pocket expenses for health care. This will result in more 

disposable income for such families to cover their basic 

necessities or other discretionary expenses. Businesses that 

offer health insurance to their employees may see a reduction 

in their health insurance costs if any of their employees have 

a spouse employed by the state and their eligible children can 

be enrolled in FAMIS. The primary disadvantage for families 

is the administrative process of dropping a child from state-

sponsored insurance during the open enrollment period (if 

already covered) and having to apply for FAMIS. 

The primary advantage to the Commonwealth is cost savings 

associated with the state employee health benefit plan. Those 

employees who currently cover their children on the state 

health plan could reduce their benefit option to that of an 

employee only, or employee plus spouse, thus reducing the 

state's share of premium for family coverage. Since the state 

employee health plan is self-insured, the actual costs of 

claims incurred for children covered under the plan would 

generate additional savings if those children were enrolled in 

FAMIS. According to DHRM staff, the state health plan's 

actuary estimates that the reduced cost to the state employee 

health plan for each child up to age 19 years (i.e., the FAMIS 

age limit) who leaves the plan averages $2,877. The 

employer's average share (both general and nongeneral funds) 

of this amount is $2,418.  

Therefore, if 100 children leave the state plan for FAMIS 

coverage, the savings to the plan is projected to be $287,700, 

and the employer's share is estimated to be $241,800. DHRM 

notes that it has no reliable way to predict how many children 
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will leave the health plan for FAMIS coverage. DHRM also 

cannot predict the specific health status or age of the children 

who leave, so actual savings may vary from this estimate. 

Another advantage to the Commonwealth is reduction of the 

social and economic costs associated with reducing the 

number of uninsured children. It is estimated that about 

100,000 children remain uninsured in Virginia. This 

regulatory action aims to reduce that number by 5.0%. 

DMAS does not anticipate any disadvantages to the public, 

the agency, or the Commonwealth. The proposed regulatory 

action fulfills the intent of Governor McAuliffe's A Healthy 

Virginia Plan to allow FAMIS coverage for children of state 

employees. It also has the potential to be considered a 

positive benefit for many state employees that may aid in 

workforce satisfaction and retention. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

proposed changes remove the current exclusion in regulations 

and allow low-income state employees, whose children are 

otherwise eligible for Family Access to Medical Insurance 

Security Plan, to be enrolled in the program. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. These regulations establish rules 

for implementation and oversight of the state's Children's 

Health Insurance Program (CHIP), known in Virginia as the 

Family Access to Medical Insurance Security (FAMIS) plan. 

In the past, the federal government prohibited eligibility of 

children of state employees for FAMIS under section 

2110(b)(2)(B) of the Social Security Act which categorically 

excluded dependents of state employees in the definition of a 

"targeted low-income child." However, the federal Patient 

Protection and Affordable Care Act (PPACA) enacted in 

2010 permitted states to extend eligibility in CHIP to children 

of state employees who are otherwise eligible under FAMIS. 

The proposed changes remove the current exclusion in 

regulations and allow low-income state employees, whose 

children are otherwise eligible for FAMIS, to be enrolled in 

the program.  

According to the Department of Human Resource 

Management (DHRM), last year, more than 9,600 full-time 

state employees qualified for the Earned Income Tax Credit, a 

federal tax subsidy for lower-income working families. Full-

time state employees may cover their dependent children 

through their employee health insurance, but for many 

families this is not an affordable option. Employees who 

choose this option face an increase in their insurance 

premium contributions of approximately $100 to $200 per 

month. Even with the most comprehensive coverage, 

employees must also pay co-pays of up to $40 for doctor 

visits and must pay deductibles. These health care premiums 

and cost sharing represent a significant reduction in take 

home pay for many state workers. Some are forced to opt for 

employee-only coverage, thereby leaving their children with 

no health insurance; others may struggle to pay for rent or 

other necessities because of the additional cost for their 

children's insurance. This reduced access to covered medical 

services creates increased health risks for the children of 

Virginia state workers.  

In light of this situation, the Governor charged the Secretary 

of Health and Human Resources to create a plan to provide 

Virginians with greater access to health care for uninsured 

citizens. As a result, the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services (DMAS) developed and promulgated emergency 

regulations that became effective on January 1, 2015. The 

proposed changes will permanently implement the emergency 

regulations currently in effect. 

The new rules allow children in families with income 

between 144% and 200% federal poverty level who are 

currently not covered under their parent's state-subsidized 

plan to enroll in FAMIS.
1
 Similarly, if the children are 

currently covered under their parent's state-subsidized plan, 

they are allowed to drop their current coverage and enroll in 

FAMIS. This change allows employees of the 

Commonwealth to be treated the same as other families with 

access to employer-sponsored health insurance who by 

current policy may apply for coverage under FAMIS. It is 

estimated that five percent of the state workforce eligible for 

insurance will be impacted by this change, with a resulting 

5,000 children enrolled in FAMIS. 

The economic effects of the proposed changes are different 

depending on whether the affected children are currently 

covered under their parent's policy or not. For state 

employees currently covering their children, a reduction in 

out-of-pocket expenses for health care is expected. This will 

result in more disposable income for such families to cover 

their basic necessities or other discretionary expenses. 

According to DMAS, most of the new enrollment in FAMIS 

is expected to be in this category (i.e., children dropping their 

existing coverage). For state employees who are not currently 

covering their children, some reduction in out-of-pocket 

expenses may also be expected. Such families may be paying 

out of pocket expenses for emergency or nonemergency 

services for their uninsured children. A reduction in out of 

pocket expenses will also result in more disposable income 

for such families to cover their basic necessities or other 

discretionary expenses. The primary disadvantage for affected 

families is the administrative process of having to apply for 

FAMIS and/or dropping their child from state sponsored 

insurance during the open enrollment period. 

In addition to the savings to the employees, the primary 

advantage to the Commonwealth is cost savings associated 

with the state employee health benefit plan. Employees who 

currently cover their children on the state health plan could 

reduce their benefit option to that of an employee only, or 

employee plus spouse, thus reducing the state's share of 

premium for family coverage. Since the state employee health 
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plan is self-insured, the actual costs of claims incurred for 

children covered under the plan would generate additional 

savings if those children were enrolled in FAMIS instead. 

According to DHRM, the state health plan's actuary estimates 

that the reduced cost to the state employee health plan for 

each child up to age 19 (i.e., the FAMIS age limit) who 

leaves the plan averages $2,877 per year. The employer's 

average share (both general and nongeneral funds) of this 

amount is $2,418 per year. Similarly, the Commonwealth 

may also experience a reduction in uncompensated health 

care costs for currently uninsured children of state employees. 

Similar to the benefits to the Commonwealth, businesses that 

offer health insurance to their employees also stand to see a 

reduction in their health insurance costs if any of their 

employees have a spouse employed by the state and can 

enroll their eligible children in FAMIS.  

The proposed changes may also affect health care providers. 

Currently, state health plan and FAMIS utilizes several 

provider networks. If coverage under the state health plan is 

dropped, affected children may start receiving services from a 

different provider participating in FAMIS. However, there is 

significant overlap between providers in state health plan 

networks and providers in FAMIS networks. Thus, affected 

children may be able to continue to receive their health care 

from the same providers. Likewise, a reduction in uninsured 

children of state employees would also reduce utilization of 

uncompensated health care services provided and increase 

utilization of providers in FAMIS. 

While the Commonwealth will experience savings due to 

reduced employer contributions toward family coverage on 

the state health plan or reduced uncompensated care costs, 

some of these savings will be offset due to the state's share of 

FAMIS costs for additional children. Based on 250 new 

children expected to be enrolled in FAMIS in fiscal year (FY) 

2015 and 5,000 new children expected in FY 2016 and 

thereafter, DMAS estimates $255,687 increase in total 

FAMIS expenditures ($89,490 in general funds, $166,196 in 

federal funds) in FY 2015, $12.9 million increase in total 

FAMIS expenditures ($2.3 million in general funds, $10.6 

million in federal funds) in FY 2016, and $13.6 million 

increase in total FAMIS expenditures ($1.6 million in general 

funds, $12 million in federal funds) in FY 2017. 

The average cost per FAMIS child is estimated to be $2,454 

in FY 2015 ($859 in general funds due to 65% federal match 

and $1,595 in federal funds), is estimated to be $2,580 in FY 

2016 ($458 in general funds due to 82.25% federal match and 

$2,122 in federal funds), and is estimated to be $2,724 in FY 

2017 ($327 in general funds due to 88% federal match and 

$2,397 in federal funds). Given that the Commonwealth is 

expected to save $2,418 per child whose family drops their 

coverage under the state employee health plan, significant net 

savings to the Commonwealth are expected.  

In general, most of the Commonwealth's net savings will be 

replaced by federal funds and consequently increase inflow of 

federal funds coming into Virginia. An increase in federal 

funds would contribute to the Commonwealth's overall 

economy. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Under the proposed 

changes, approximately 250 new children are expected to be 

enrolled in FAMIS in FY 2015 and 5,000 new children are 

expected in FY 2016 and thereafter. Most of the new 

enrollment in FAMIS is expected to be from children 

dropping their existing coverage.  

The proposed changes are also expected to shift utilization of 

services from providers in state health plan or from providers 

of other health plans offered to the children of state 

employees to the providers participating in FAMIS. 

The primary affected entity is the Commonwealth of Virginia 

as it will see a significant reduction in its contributions to the 

state employee health plan and a relatively small increase in 

expenditures in FAMIS due to significant federal funding, 

therefore experiencing significant net savings. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendment 

does not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

may reduce demand for labor by providers in the state health 

plan or by providers of other health plans offered to the 

children of state employees and increase the demand for labor 

by the providers participating in FAMIS. However, DMAS 

indicates that there is a significant overlap between the 

providers in the state health plan and in FAMIS. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments are unlikely to significantly affect the 

use and value of private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to significantly affect real estate development 

costs. 

Small Businesses.
2
  

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments may 

affect health care providers who are currently providing 

services to affected children and who will be providing 

services through FAMIS as discussed above. The majority of 

these providers are believed to be small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There is 

no known alternative method that would minimize the 

potential adverse impact on providers who are currently 

providing services to affected children while accomplishing 

the same goals. 

Adverse Impacts:  

Businesses: The proposed amendments may have an adverse 

impact on health care networks currently utilized by the state 

health plan which are not believed to be small businesses. 

However, some of these networks also participate in FAMIS 

and may continue to provide services to majority of the same 

children affected by the proposed changes. 
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Localities: The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities: The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect other entities. 

____________________________________ 
1 Children in very low-income families (at or less than 143% federal poverty 
level) are already eligible for Medicaid; those who are dependents of state 

employees can, under the current rules, be dropped from state-subsidized 

coverage and enroll in Medicaid. 
2 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has 

gross annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency has reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared 

by the Department of Planning and Budget regarding the 

regulations concerning FAMIS Eligibility for Children of 

State Employees. The agency raises no issues with this 

analysis. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments remove the exclusion of 

otherwise eligible, by income and residency, state 

employees, who have access to subsidized health insurance 

coverage, from enrolling their dependent children in the 

Family Access to Medical Insurance Security (FAMIS) 

Plan and allow low-income state employees, whose 

children are eligible for the FAMIS Plan, to be enrolled in 

the program.  

Part III  

Eligibility Determination and Application Requirements  

12VAC30-141-100. Eligibility requirements.  

A. This section shall be used to determine eligibility of 

children for FAMIS.  

B. FAMIS shall be in effect statewide.  

C. Eligible children must:  

1. Be determined ineligible for Medicaid by a local 

department of social services or be screened by the FAMIS 

central processing unit and determined not Medicaid 

likely;  

2. Be under 19 years of age;  

3. Be residents of the Commonwealth;  

4. Be either U.S. citizens, U.S. nationals or qualified 

noncitizens;  

5. Be uninsured, that is, not have comprehensive health 

insurance coverage; and  

6. Not be a member of a family eligible for subsidized 

dependent coverage, as defined in 42 CFR 

457.310(c)(1)(ii) under any Virginia state employee health 

insurance plan on the basis of the family member's 

employment with a state agency; and 

7. 6. Not be an inpatient in an institution for mental 

diseases (IMD), or an inmate in a public institution that is 

not a medical facility.  

D. Income.  

1. Screening. All child health insurance applications 

received at the FAMIS central processing unit must be 

screened to identify applicants who are potentially eligible 

for Medicaid. Children screened and found potentially 

eligible for Medicaid cannot be enrolled in FAMIS until 

there has been a finding of ineligibility for Medicaid. 

Children who do not appear to be eligible for Medicaid 

shall have their eligibility for FAMIS determined. Children 

determined to be eligible for FAMIS will be enrolled in the 

FAMIS program. Child health insurance applications 

received at a local department of social services shall have 

a full Medicaid eligibility determination completed. 

Children determined to be ineligible for Medicaid due to 

excess income will have their eligibility for FAMIS 

determined. If a child is found to be eligible for FAMIS, 

the local department of social services will enroll the child 

in the FAMIS program.  

2. Standards. Income standards for FAMIS are based on a 

comparison of countable income to 200% of the federal 

poverty level for the family size, as defined in the State 

Plan for Title XXI as approved by the Centers for 

Medicare & Medicaid Services. Children who have income 

at or below 200% of the federal poverty level, but are 

ineligible for Medicaid due to excess income, will be 

income eligible to participate in FAMIS.  

3. Grandfathered CMSIP children. Children who were 

enrolled in the Children's Medical Security Insurance Plan 

at the time of conversion from CMSIP to FAMIS and 

whose eligibility determination was based on the 

requirements of CMSIP shall continue to have their income 

eligibility determined using the CMSIP income 

methodology. If their income exceeds the FAMIS standard, 

income eligibility will be based on countable income using 

the same income methodologies applied under the Virginia 

State Plan for Medical Assistance for children as set forth 

in 12VAC30-40-90. Income that would be excluded when 

determining Medicaid eligibility will be excluded when 

determining countable income for the former CMSIP 

children. Use of the Medicaid income methodologies shall 

only be applied in determining the financial eligibility of 

former CMSIP children for FAMIS and for only as long as 

the children meet the income eligibility requirements for 

CMSIP. When a former CMSIP child is determined to be 

ineligible for FAMIS, these former CMSIP income 

methodologies shall no longer apply and income eligibility 

will be based on the FAMIS income standards.  

4. Spenddown. Deduction of incurred medical expenses 

from countable income (spenddown) shall not apply in 

FAMIS. If the family income exceeds the income limits 

described in this section, the individual shall be ineligible 
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for FAMIS regardless of the amount of any incurred 

medical expenses.  

E. Residency. The requirements for residency, as set forth in 

42 CFR 435.403, will be used when determining whether a 

child is a resident of Virginia for purposes of eligibility for 

FAMIS. A child who is not emancipated and is temporarily 

living away from home is considered living with his parents, 

adult relative caretaker, legal guardian, or person having legal 

custody if the absence is temporary and the child intends to 

return to the home when the purpose of the absence (such as 

education, medical care, rehabilitation, vacation, visit) is 

completed.  

F. U.S. citizen or nationality. Upon signing the declaration 

of citizenship or nationality required by § 1137(d) of the 

Social Security Act, the applicant or recipient is required 

under § 2105(c)(9) to furnish satisfactory documentary 

evidence of U.S. citizenship or nationality and documentation 

of personal identity unless citizenship or nationality has been 

verified by the Commissioner of Social Security or unless 

otherwise exempt.  

G. Qualified noncitizen. The requirements for qualified 

aliens set out in Public Law 104-193, as amended, and the 

requirements for noncitizens set out in subdivisions 3 b, c, 

and e of 12VAC30-40-10 will be used when determining 

whether a child is a qualified noncitizen for purposes of 

FAMIS eligibility.  

H. Coverage under other health plans.  

1. Any child covered under a group health plan or under 

health insurance coverage, as defined in § 2791 of the 

Public Health Services Act (42 USC § 300gg-91(a) and 

(b)(1)), shall not be eligible for FAMIS.  

2. No substitution for private insurance.  

a. Only uninsured children shall be eligible for FAMIS. 

A child is not considered to be insured if the health 

insurance plan covering the child does not have a 

network of providers in the area where the child resides. 

Each application for child health insurance shall include 

an inquiry about health insurance. Each redetermination 

of eligibility shall also document inquiry about current 

health insurance.  

b. Health insurance does not include Medicare, Medicaid, 

FAMIS, or insurance for which DMAS paid premiums 

under Title XIX through the Health Insurance Premium 

Payment (HIPP) Program or under Title XXI through the 

SCHIP premium assistance program.  

I. Eligibility of newborns. If a child otherwise eligible for 

FAMIS is born within the three months prior to the month in 

which a signed application is received, the eligibility for 

coverage is effective retroactive to the child's date of birth if 

the child would have met all eligibility criteria during that 

time. A child born to a mother who is enrolled in FAMIS, 

under either the XXI Plan or a related waiver (such as FAMIS 

MOMS), on the date of the child's birth shall be deemed 

eligible for FAMIS for one year from birth unless the child is 

otherwise eligible for Medicaid. 

12VAC30-141-120. Children ineligible for FAMIS.  

A. If a child is:  

1. Eligible for Medicaid, or would be eligible if he applied 

for Medicaid, he shall be ineligible for coverage under 

FAMIS. A child found through the screening process to be 

potentially eligible for Medicaid but who fails to complete 

the Medicaid application process for any reason, cannot be 

enrolled in FAMIS;  

2. A member of a family eligible for coverage under any 

Virginia state employee health insurance plan, he shall be 

ineligible for FAMIS;  

3. 2. An inmate of a public institution as defined in 42 CFR 

435.1009, he shall be ineligible for FAMIS; or  

4. 3. An inpatient in an institution for mental disease 

(IMD) as defined in 42 CFR 435.1010, he shall be 

ineligible for FAMIS.  

B. If a child's parent or other authorized representative does 

not meet the requirements of assignment of rights to benefits 

or requirements of cooperation with the agency in identifying 

and providing information to assist the Commonwealth in 

pursuing any liable third party, the child shall be ineligible for 

FAMIS.  

C. If a child, if age 18, or if under age 18, a parent, adult 

relative caretaker, guardian, or legal custodian obtained 

benefits for a child or children who would otherwise be 

ineligible by willfully misrepresenting material facts on the 

application or failing to report changes, the child or children 

for whom the application is made shall be ineligible for 

FAMIS. The child, if age 18, or if under age 18, the parent, 

adult relative caretaker, guardian, or legal custodian who 

signed the application shall be liable for repayment of the cost 

of all benefits issued as the result of the misrepresentation.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4206; Filed October 30, 2015, 2:06 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 14. INSURANCE 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 

2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any agency 

of the Supreme Court, and any agency that by the 

Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court 

of record. 

Title of Regulation: 14VAC5-216. Rules Governing 

Internal Appeal and External Review (amending 
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14VAC5-216-10, 14VAC5-216-20, 14VAC5-216-40, 

14VAC5-216-50; adding 14VAC5-216-65).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 38.2-223 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: A public hearing will be held 

upon request. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 18, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Tom Bridenstine, Bureau of Insurance 

Manager, Life and Health Division, Bureau of Insurance, 

State Corporation Commission, P.O. Box 1157, Richmond, 

VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-9746, FAX (804) 371-9944, 

or email tom.bridenstine@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) define an "exception 

request" for an enrollee to obtain a prescription drug that 

is not on a health carrier's closed formulary; (ii) describe 

the requirements for the exception request process, which 

enhances and further clarifies the process identified in 

subdivisions B 2 and B 3 of § 38.2-3407.9:01 of the Code 

of Virginia and is in accordance with 45 CFR 156.122(c); 

and (iii) provide further clarification to an existing 

provision in the urgent care appeals section. 

AT RICHMOND, NOVEMBER 9, 2015 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. INS-2015-00184 

Ex Parte: In the matter of Amending Rules  

Governing Internal Appeal and External Review 

ORDER TO TAKE NOTICE 

Section 12.1-13 of the Code of Virginia ("Code") provides 

that the State Corporation Commission ("Commission") shall 

have the power to promulgate rules and regulations in the 

enforcement and administration of all laws within its 

jurisdiction, and § 38.2-223 of the Code provides that the 

Commission may issue any rules and regulations necessary or 

appropriate for the administration and enforcement of Title 

38.2 of the Code. 

The rules and regulations issued by the Commission 

pursuant to § 38.2-223 of the Code are set forth in Title 14 of 

the Virginia Administrative Code.  A copy may also be found 

at the Commission's website: 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/laws.aspx.  

The Bureau of Insurance ("Bureau") has submitted to the 

Commission a proposal to amend certain sections found in 

Chapter 216 of Title 14 of the Virginia Administrative Code 

entitled "Rules Governing Internal Appeal and External 

Review" ("Rules"), which are set out at 14 VAC 5-216-10, 

14 VAC 5-216-20, 14 VAC 5-216-40, and 14 VAC 5-216-50, 

and establish a new section at 14 VAC 5-216-65. 

The amendments and the new section are necessary to 

define an "exception request" for an enrollee to obtain a 

prescription drug that is not on a health carrier's closed 

formulary and to describe the requirements for the exception 

request process that will enhance and further clarify the 

process identified in § 38.2-3407.9:01 B 2 and 3 of the 

Code.  The amendments also provide further clarification to 

the urgent care appeals section.  

NOW THE COMMISSION is of the opinion that the 

proposed amendments to 14 VAC 5-216-10, 14 VAC 5-216-

20, 14 VAC 5-216-40, and 14 VAC 5-216-50 and the new 

section at 14 VAC 5-216-65, as submitted by the Bureau, 

should be considered for adoption.  

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposed amendments to the "Rules Governing 

Internal Appeal and External Review," which amend the 

Rules at 14 VAC 5-216-10, 14 VAC 5-216-20, 14 VAC 5-

216-40, and 14 VAC 5-216-50 and establish a new section at 

14 VAC 5-216-65, are attached hereto and made a part 

hereof. 

(2) All interested persons who desire to comment in support 

of or in opposition to, or request a hearing to consider the 

proposed amendments and new section, shall file such 

comments or hearing request on or before December 18, 

2015, with Joel H. Peck, Clerk, State Corporation 

Commission, c/o Document Control Center, P.O. Box 2118, 

Richmond, Virginia 23218. Interested persons desiring to 

submit comments electronically may do so by following the 

instructions at the Commission's website: 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. All comments shall refer to 

Case No. INS-2015-00184. 

(3) If no written request for a hearing on the proposal to 

amend and establish new Rules as outlined in this Order is 

received on or before December 18, 2015, the Commission, 

upon consideration of any comments submitted in support of 

or in opposition to the proposal, may adopt the Rules as 

submitted by the Bureau. 

(4) The Bureau forthwith shall provide notice of the 

proposal to amend and establish new Rules by sending, by e-

mail or U.S. mail, a copy of this Order, together with the 

proposal, to all insurers, health maintenance organizations 

and health services plans licensed in Virginia to sell accident 

and sickness insurance, and to all interested persons.  

(5) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

forthwith shall cause a copy of this Order, together with the 

proposal to amend and establish new Rules, to be forwarded 

to the Virginia Registrar of Regulations for appropriate 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

(6) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall make available this Order and the attached proposal on 

the Commission's website: http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case.  

(7) The Bureau shall file with the Clerk of the Commission 

an affidavit of compliance with the notice requirements of 

Ordering Paragraph (4). 

(8) This matter is continued.  
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AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be sent by the Clerk of 

the Commission to: Kiva B. Pierce, Assistant Attorney 

General, Division of Consumer Counsel, Office of the 

Attorney General, 900 East Main Street, Second Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219; and a copy hereof shall be 

delivered to the Commission's Office of General Counsel and 

the Bureau of Insurance in care of Deputy Commissioner 

Althelia P. Battle. 

Part I 

General 

14VAC5-216-10. Scope and purpose. 

A. This chapter shall apply to all health carriers, except that 

the provisions of this chapter shall not apply to a policy or 

certificate that provides coverage only for a specified disease, 

specified accident or accident-only coverage; credit; disability 

income; hospital indemnity; long-term care; dental, vision 

care, or any other limited supplemental benefit or to a 

Medicare supplement policy of insurance; coverage under a 

plan through Medicare, Medicaid, or the federal employees 

health benefits program; self-insured plans except that a self-

insured employee welfare benefit plan may elect to use the 

state external review process; any coverage issued under 

Chapter 55 of Title 10 of the U.S. Code (TRICARE), and any 

coverage issued as supplemental to that coverage; any 

coverage issued as supplemental to liability insurance, 

workers' compensation or similar insurance; and automobile 

medical payment insurance or any insurance under which 

benefits are payable with or without regard to fault, whether 

written on a group or individual basis.  

B. The purpose of this chapter is to set forth rules to carry 

out the provisions of Chapter 35.1 (§ 38.2-3556 et seq.) of 

Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia as well as federal law to 

provide a health carrier with guidelines to assist with 

establishing a procedure for an internal appeals process under 

which there will be a full and fair review of any adverse 

benefit determination. This chapter also sets forth 

requirements for the external review process. 

C. This chapter shall apply to any adverse benefit 

determination made on or after July 1, 2011, by any health 

carrier for a grandfathered or non-grandfathered health 

benefit plan, as defined by the PPACA. 

D. This chapter also sets forth requirements for an exception 

request for plan years beginning on or after January 1, 2016. 

14VAC5-216-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Adverse benefit determination" in the context of the 

internal appeals process means (i) a determination by a health 

carrier or its designee utilization review entity that, based on 

the information provided, a request for, a benefit under the 

health carrier's health benefit plan upon application of any 

utilization review technique does not meet the health carrier's 

requirements for medical necessity, appropriateness, health 

care setting, level of care, or effectiveness or is determined to 

be experimental or investigational and the requested benefit is 

therefore denied, reduced, or terminated or payment is not 

provided or made, in whole or in part, for the requested 

benefit; (ii) the denial, reduction, or termination of, or failure 

to provide or make payment in whole or in part for, a benefit 

based on a determination by a health carrier or its designee 

utilization review entity of a covered person's eligibility to 

participate in the health carrier's health benefit plan; (iii) any 

review determination that denies, reduces, or terminates or 

fails to provide or make payment, in whole or in part, for a 

benefit; (iv) a rescission of coverage determination as defined 

in § 38.2-3438 of the Code of Virginia; or (v) any decision to 

deny individual coverage in an initial eligibility 

determination.  

"Adverse determination" in the context of external review 

means a determination by a health carrier or its designee 

utilization review entity that an admission, availability of 

care, continued stay, or other health care service that is a 

covered benefit has been reviewed and, based upon the 

information provided, does not meet the health carrier's 

requirements for medical necessity, appropriateness, health 

care setting, level of care, or effectiveness or is determined to 

be experimental or investigational and the requested service 

or payment for the service is therefore denied, reduced, or 

terminated. 

"Authorized representative" means (i) a person to whom a 

covered person has given express written consent to represent 

the covered person; (ii) a person authorized by law to provide 

substituted consent for a covered person; (iii) a family 

member of a covered person or the covered person's treating 

health care professional when the covered person is unable to 

provide consent; (iv) a health care professional when the 

covered person's health benefit plan requires that a request for 

a benefit under the plan be initiated by the health care 

professional; or (v) in the case of an urgent care internal 

appeal, a health care professional with knowledge of the 

covered person's medical condition. 

"Clinical peer reviewer" means a practicing health care 

professional who holds a nonrestricted license in a state, 

district, or territory of the United States and in the same or 

similar specialty as typically manages the medical condition, 

procedure, or treatment under appeal.  

"Commission" means the State Corporation Commission. 

"Concurrent review" means utilization review conducted 

during a patient's stay or course of treatment in a facility, the 

office of a health care professional, or other inpatient or 

outpatient health care setting. 

"Covered person" means a policyholder, subscriber, 

enrollee, or other individual participating in a health benefit 

plan. For purposes of this chapter with respect to the 

administration of appeals, references to a covered person 

include a covered person's authorized representative, if any.  
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"Emergency services" means those health care services that 

are rendered after the sudden onset of a medical condition 

that manifests itself by symptoms of sufficient severity, 

including severe pain, that the absence of immediate medical 

attention could reasonably be expected by a prudent 

layperson who possesses an average knowledge of health and 

medicine to result in (i) serious jeopardy to the mental or 

physical health of the individual, (ii) danger of serious 

impairment of the individual's bodily functions, (iii) serious 

dysfunction of any of the individual's bodily organs, or (iv) in 

the case of a pregnant woman, serious jeopardy to the health 

of the fetus. 

"Exception request" means a process that allows a covered 

person, authorized representative, or prescribing physician (or 

other prescriber, as appropriate) to request and gain access to 

clinically appropriate drugs not otherwise covered by a health 

benefit plan. 

"Final adverse determination" means an adverse 

determination involving a covered benefit that has been 

upheld by a health carrier, or its designee utilization review 

entity, at the completion of the health carrier's internal appeal 

process.  

"Group health plan" means an employee welfare benefit 

plan (as defined in the Employee Retirement Income Security 

Act of 1974 (29 USC § 1002(1)), to the extent that the plan 

provides medical care and including items and services paid 

for as medical care to employees or their dependents (as 

defined under the terms of the plan) directly or through 

insurance, reimbursement, or otherwise.  

"Health benefit plan" means a policy, contract, certificate, or 

agreement offered or issued by a health carrier to provide, 

deliver, arrange for, pay for, or reimburse any of the costs of 

health care services. "Health benefit plan" does not include 

accident only, credit, or disability insurance; coverage of 

Medicare services or federal employee health plans pursuant 

to contracts with the United States government; Medicare 

supplement or long-term care insurance; Medicaid coverage; 

dental only or vision only insurance; specified disease 

insurance; hospital indemnity coverage; limited benefit health 

coverage; coverage issued as a supplement to liability 

insurance; insurance arising out of a workers' compensation 

or similar law; automobile medical payment insurance; 

medical expense and loss of income benefits; or insurance 

under which benefits are payable with or without regard to 

fault and that is statutorily required to be contained in any 

liability insurance policy or equivalent self-insurance.  

"Health care professional" means a physician or other health 

care practitioner licensed, accredited, or certified to perform 

specified health care services consistent with the laws of the 

Commonwealth.  

"Health carrier" means an entity, subject to the insurance 

laws and regulations of the Commonwealth or subject to the 

jurisdiction of the commission, that contracts or offers to 

contract to provide, deliver, arrange for, pay for, or reimburse 

any of the costs of health care services, including an accident 

and sickness insurance company, a health maintenance 

organization, a nonprofit hospital and health service 

corporation, or a nonstock corporation offering or 

administering a health services plan, a hospital services plan, 

or a medical or surgical services plan, or any other entity 

providing a plan of health insurance, health benefits, or health 

care services except as excluded under § 38.2-3557 of the 

Code of Virginia.  

"Independent review organization" means an entity that 

conducts independent external reviews of adverse 

determinations and final adverse determinations, as well as 

alleged violations of 14VAC5-216-30 through 14VAC5-216-

70 pertaining to internal appeal. 

"PPACA" means the Patient Protection and Affordable Care 

Act (P.L. 111-148), as amended by the Health Care and 

Education Reconciliation Act of 2010 (P.L. 111-152). 

"Pre-service claim" means a claim for a benefit under a 

health benefit plan that requires approval of the benefit in 

whole or in part, in advance of obtaining the service or 

treatment. 

"Post-service claim" means a claim for a benefit under a 

health benefit plan that is not a pre-service claim, or the 

service or treatment has been provided to the covered person. 

"Self-insured plan" means an "employee welfare benefit 

plan" that has the meaning set forth in the Employee 

Retirement Income Security Act of 1974, 29 USC § 1002(1). 

"Urgent care appeal" means an appeal for medical care or 

treatment with respect to which the application of the time 

periods for making non-urgent care determinations (i) could 

seriously jeopardize the life or health of the covered person or 

the ability of the covered person to regain maximum function; 

or (ii) in the opinion of the treating health care professional 

with knowledge of the covered person's medical condition, 

would subject the covered person to severe pain that cannot 

be adequately managed without the care or treatment that is 

the subject of the appeal. An urgent care appeal shall not be 

available for any post-service claim or retrospective adverse 

benefit determination. 

"Utilization review" means a set of formal techniques 

designed to monitor the use of or evaluate the clinical 

necessity, appropriateness, efficacy, or efficiency of health 

care services, procedures or settings. Techniques may include 

ambulatory review, prospective review, second opinion, 

certification, concurrent review, case management, discharge 

planning, or retrospective review.  

14VAC5-216-40. Minimum appeal requirements. 

A. Each covered person shall be entitled to a full and fair 

review of an adverse benefit determination. Within 180 days 

after the date of receipt of a notice of an adverse benefit 

determination, a covered person may file an appeal with the 

health carrier. A health carrier may designate a utilization 

review entity to coordinate the review. For purposes of this 
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chapter, "health carrier" may also mean its designated 

utilization review entity. 

B. The health carrier shall conduct the appeal in a manner to 

ensure the independence and impartiality of the individuals 

involved in reviewing the appeal. In ensuring the 

independence and impartiality of such individuals, the health 

carrier shall not make decisions regarding hiring, 

compensation, termination, promotion, or other similar 

matters based upon the likelihood that an individual will 

support the denial of benefits. 

C. 1. In deciding an appeal of any adverse benefit 

determination that is based in whole or in part on a medical 

judgment, including determinations with regard to whether a 

particular treatment, drug, or other service is experimental, 

investigational, or not medically necessary or appropriate, the 

health carrier shall designate a clinical peer reviewer to 

review the appeal. The clinical peer reviewer shall not have 

been involved in any previous adverse benefit determination 

with respect to the claim.  

2. A reviewer of any other type of adverse benefit 

determination shall be an appropriate person designated by 

the health carrier. The reviewer of the appeal shall not be 

the individual who made any previous adverse benefit 

determination of the subject appeal nor the subordinate of 

such individual and shall not defer to any prior adverse 

benefit determination. 

D. A full and fair review shall also provide for: 

1. The covered person to have an opportunity to submit 

written comments, documents, records, and other 

information relating to the appeal for the reviewer or 

reviewers to consider when reviewing the appeal. 

2. Upon request to the health carrier, the covered person to 

have reasonable access to and free of charge copies of all 

documents, records, and other information relevant to the 

covered person's request for benefits. This information 

shall be provided to the covered person as soon as 

practicable. 

3. An appeal process that takes into account all comments, 

documents, records, and other information submitted by 

the covered person relating to the appeal, without regard to 

whether such information was submitted or considered in 

the initial benefit determination.  

4. The identification of medical or vocational experts 

whose advice was obtained on behalf of the health benefit 

plan carrier in connection with a covered person's adverse 

benefit determination, without regard to whether the advice 

was relied upon in making the benefit determination.  

5. An urgent care appeal process. 

6. Prior to issuing a final adverse benefit determination, the 

health carrier to provide free of charge to the covered 

person any new or additional evidence relied upon or 

generated by the health carrier or at the direction of the 

health carrier, in connection with the internal appeal 

sufficiently in advance of the date the determination is 

required to be provided to permit the covered person a 

reasonable opportunity to respond prior to that date. 

E. A health carrier shall notify the covered person of the 

final benefit determination within a reasonable period of time 

appropriate to the medical circumstances, but not later than 

the timeframes established in subdivisions 1 and 2 of this 

subsection. 

1. If an internal appeal involves a pre-service claim review 

request, the health carrier shall notify the covered person of 

its decision within 30 days after receipt of the appeal. A 

health carrier may provide a second level of internal appeal 

for group health plans only, provided that a maximum of 

15 days is allowed for a benefit determination and 

notification from each level of the appeal. 

2. If an internal appeal involves a post-service claim 

review request, the health carrier shall notify the covered 

person of its decision within 60 days after receipt of the 

appeal. A health carrier may provide a second level of 

internal appeal for group health plans only, provided that a 

maximum of 30 days is allowed for a benefit determination 

and notification from each level of the appeal. 

14VAC5-216-50. Urgent care appeals. 

A. The health carrier shall notify the covered person of its 

initial benefit determination as soon as possible taking into 

account medical exigencies, but not later than 72 hours after 

receipt of the request, unless the covered person fails to 

provide sufficient information to determine whether, or to 

what extent, benefits are covered or payable under the health 

benefit plan. In the case of such failure, the health carrier 

shall notify the covered person as soon as possible, but not 

later than 24 hours after receipt of the request, of the specific 

information necessary to complete the claim. The covered 

person shall be afforded a reasonable amount of time, taking 

into account the circumstances, but not less than 48 hours to 

provide the specified information. The health carrier shall 

notify the covered person of its benefit determination not later 

than 48 hours after the earlier of (i) its receipt of the specified 

information or (ii) the end of the period afforded to the 

covered person to provide the specified additional 

information. 

B. The notification of an urgent care adverse benefit 

determination that is based on a medical necessity, 

appropriateness, health care setting, level of care, 

effectiveness, experimental or investigational service or 

treatment, or similar exclusion or limit, shall include a 

description of the health carrier's urgent care appeal process 

including any time limits applicable to those procedures and 

the availability of and procedures for an expedited external 

review. 

C. Upon receipt of an adverse benefit determination, a 

covered person may submit a request for an urgent care 

appeal either orally or in writing to the health carrier. Any 

appeal request made under this section by a treating health 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 7 Virginia Register of Regulations November 30, 2015 

1210 

care professional shall be handled as an urgent care appeal. If 

such request is made by the covered person and not the 

treating health care professional, an individual acting on 

behalf of the health carrier shall apply the judgment of a 

prudent layperson who possesses an average knowledge of 

health and medicine to determine whether the appeal meets 

urgent care requirements. 

D. All necessary information, including the benefit 

determination on appeal, shall be transmitted between the 

health carrier and the covered person by telephone, facsimile, 

or the most expeditious method available. 

E. The health carrier shall notify the covered person and the 

treating health care professional of its benefit determination 

as soon as possible, taking into account the medical 

exigencies, but not later than 72 hours after receipt of an 

urgent care appeal. 

14VAC5-216-65. Exception request for prescription 

drugs. 

A. For plan years beginning on or after January 1, 2016, 

notwithstanding any other provision of this chapter, a health 

carrier shall have a process in place that allows for a covered 

person or his prescribing physician (or other prescriber) to 

request and gain access to clinically appropriate drugs not 

otherwise covered by the health benefit plan, known as an 

exception request, in accordance with the requirements of 

45 CFR §156.122 (c). 

1. A standard exception request shall be reviewed and a 

coverage determination provided to the covered person and 

prescribing physician no later than the earlier of one 

business day or 72 hours following receipt of the request. 

2. An expedited exception request may be made when 

exigent circumstances exist. Exigent circumstances exist 

when the covered person is suffering from a health 

condition that may seriously jeopardize the covered 

person's life, health, or ability to regain maximum function 

or when the covered person is undergoing a current course 

of treatment using a nonformulary drug. An expedited 

exception request shall be reviewed and a coverage 

determination provided to the covered person and 

prescribing physician no later than 24 hours following 

receipt of the request. 

3. If a health carrier denies coverage as a result of a 

standard exception request or an expedited exception 

request, the covered person or prescribing physician may 

submit an external exception request to the health carrier, 

requiring that the original exception request and 

subsequent denial be reviewed by an independent review 

organization. Such request shall be reviewed and a 

coverage determination provided to the covered person and 

prescribing physician no later than 72 hours following 

receipt of the request if the original request was a standard 

exception request, or 24 hours following receipt of the 

request if the original request was an expedited exception 

request. 

B. The health carrier shall provide the nonformulary drug or 

drugs for the duration of the prescription (including refills) if 

coverage is granted under a standard exception request, or for 

the duration of the exigency if coverage is granted under an 

expedited exception request, including those granted through 

an external exception request. Coverage for each drug 

approved by an exception request shall be applied as if the 

drug was part of the prescription formulary. 

C. A health carrier shall contract with at least one accredited 

independent review organization to conduct reviews in 

accordance with the requirements of subdivision A 3 of this 

section. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4534; Filed November 9, 2015, 11:39 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 

2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any agency 

of the Supreme Court, and any agency that by the 

Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court 

of record. 

Title of Regulation: 14VAC5-395. Rules Governing 

Settlement Agents (amending 14VAC5-395-10, 14VAC5-

395-20, 14VAC5-395-30 through 14VAC5-395-80; adding 

14VAC5-395-75, 14VAC5-395-100; repealing 14VAC5-

395-25).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 55-525.28 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: A public hearing will be 

scheduled upon request. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 31, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Chuck F. Myers, Supervisor of RESA 

Investigation Unit, Bureau of Insurance, State Corporation 

Commission, P.O. Box 1157, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 371-9619, FAX (804) 371-5661, or email 

chuck.myers@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) define various terms, 

including "designated licensed producer," "escrow, 

closing, or settlement services," and "settlement agent"; 

(ii) add reporting requirements for settlement agents; (iii) 

clarify registration, appointments, and the use of title 

insurance agent independent contractors; (iv) add 

requirements regarding escrow accounts; (v) require that 

settlement agents and former settlement agents maintain 

contact information with the Bureau of Insurance; and (vi) 

make various other technical and clarifying amendments.  
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AT RICHMOND, NOVEMBER 9, 2015 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. INS-2015-00170 

Ex Parte: In re: Rules Governing Settlement Agents 

ORDER TO TAKE NOTICE 

Section 55-525.28 of the Code of Virginia provides that the 

State Corporation Commission ("Commission") may adopt 

such regulations as it deems appropriate to effect the purposes 

of Chapter 27.3 (§ 55-525.16 et seq.) of Title 55 of the Code 

of Virginia. The Commission's regulations governing title 

insurance agents, title insurance agencies and title insurance 

companies providing escrow, closing or settlement services 

involving real property located in Virginia ("settlement 

agents") are set forth in Chapter 395 of Title 14 of the 

Virginia Administrative Code ("Chapter 395"). 

The Bureau of Insurance ("Bureau") has submitted to the 

Commission proposed amendments to Chapter 395. The 

amendments to the regulations are being proposed to address 

changes in business practices, technology, and federal law, 

and include various technical and other clarifying changes. A 

copy of the regulations may also be found at the 

Commission's website: 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/laws.aspx. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, based on the information 

supplied by the Bureau, is of the opinion and finds that the 

proposed regulations should be considered for adoption with 

a proposed effective date of February 1, 2016. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposed regulations are appended hereto and made 

a part of the record herein. 

(2) Comments or requests for a hearing on the proposed 

regulations must be submitted in writing to Joel H. Peck, 

Clerk, State Corporation Commission, c/o Document Control 

Center, P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, Virginia 23218, on or 

before December 31, 2015. Requests for a hearing shall state 

why a hearing is necessary and why the issues cannot be 

adequately addressed in written comments.  All 

correspondence shall contain a reference to Case No. INS-

2015-00170. Interested persons desiring to submit comments 

or request a hearing electronically may do so by following the 

instructions available at the Commission's website: 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(3) This Order and the attached proposed regulations shall 

be posted on the Commission's website at 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(4) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall provide a copy of this Order, including a copy of the 

attached proposed regulations, to the Virginia Registrar of 

Regulations for publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

(5) The Bureau shall forthwith send by e-mail or U.S. mail a 

copy of this Order, together with a copy of the proposed 

regulations, to all licensed and registered title insurance 

agents, title insurance agencies and title insurance companies 

providing escrow, closing or settlement services involving 

real property located in Virginia, and such other interested 

parties as the Bureau may designate. 

(6) The Bureau shall file with the Clerk of the Commission 

an affidavit of compliance 

with the notice requirements of Ordering Paragraph (5). 

(7) This matter is continued. 

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be sent by the Clerk of 

the Commission to: Kiva B. Pierce, Assistant Attorney 

General, Division of Consumer Counsel, Office of the 

Attorney General, 900 East Main Street, Second Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219; and a copy hereof shall be 

delivered to the Commission's Office of General Counsel and 

the Bureau of Insurance in care of Deputy Commissioner 

Brian P. Gaudiose. 

14VAC5-395-10. Purpose Applicability.  

A. The purpose of this This chapter is to implement 

implements Chapter 27.3 (§ 55-525.16 et seq.) of Title 55 of 

the Code of Virginia B. This chapter and applies to all title 

insurance agents, title insurance agencies, and title insurance 

companies providing escrow, closing, or settlement services 

involving the purchase of or lending on the security of any 

real estate containing not more than four residential dwelling 

units property in the Commonwealth of Virginia.  

C. The Bureau of Insurance shall issue the necessary forms 

to carry out the provisions of Chapter 27.3 (§ 55-525.16 et 

seq.) of Title 55 of the Code of Virginia and this chapter.  

14VAC5-395-20. Definitions.  

Unless otherwise defined herein, all The following words 

and terms when used in this chapter shall have the meaning as 

set forth in Chapter 27.3 (§ 55-525.16 et seq.) of Title 55 of 

the Code of Virginia following meanings unless the context 

clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Agent" or "insurance agent" shall have the same meaning 

as set forth in § 38.2-1800 of the Code of Virginia means an 

individual or business entity that sells, solicits, or negotiates 

contracts of insurance or annuity in the Commonwealth.  

"Bureau" means the State Corporation Commission Bureau 

of Insurance.  

"Business entity" means a partnership, limited partnership, 

limited liability company, corporation, or other legal entity 

other than a sole proprietorship. 

"Designated licensed producer" means an individual who (i) 

possesses a valid Virginia title license to sell, solicit, or 

negotiate contracts of insurance or annuity in the 

Commonwealth; (ii) is appointed; (iii) is an employee of the 

business entity; and (iv) is responsible for the business 
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entity's compliance with the insurance laws, rules, and 

regulations of this Commonwealth. 

"Employee" means an individual (i) whose manner and 

means of performance of work are subject to the right of 

control of, or are controlled by, a business entity and (ii) 

whose compensation for federal income tax purposes is 

reported, or required to be reported, on a W-2 form issued by 

the controlling business entity. 

"Escrow, closing, or settlement services" means the 

administrative and clerical services required to carry out the 

terms of contracts affecting real estate. These services include 

(i) placing orders for title insurance; (ii) receiving and issuing 

receipts for money received from the parties; (iii) ordering 

loan checks and payoffs; (iv) ordering surveys and 

inspections; (v) preparing settlement statements or Closing 

Disclosure forms; (vi) determining that all closing documents 

conform to the parties' contract requirements; (vii) setting the 

closing appointment; (viii) following up with the parties to 

ensure that the transaction progresses to closing; (ix) 

ascertaining that the lenders' instructions have been satisfied; 

(x) conducting a closing conference at which the documents 

are executed; (xi) receiving and disbursing funds; (xii) 

completing form documents and instruments selected by and 

in accordance with instructions of the parties to the 

transaction; (xiii) handling or arranging for the recording of 

documents; (xiv) sending recorded documents to the lender; 

(xv) sending the recorded deed and the title policy to the 

buyer; and (xvi) reporting federal income tax information for 

the real estate sale to the Internal Revenue Service. 

"Lay real estate settlement agent" means a person who (i) is 

not licensed as an attorney under Chapter 39 (§ 54.1-3900 et 

seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, (ii) is not a party 

to the real estate transaction, (iii) provides escrow, closing or 

settlement services in connection with a transaction related to 

any real estate in this Commonwealth, and (iv) is listed as the 

settlement agent on the settlement statement or Closing 

Disclosure for such the transaction.  

"Settlement agent" shall have the same meaning as set forth 

in § 55-525.16 of the Code of Virginia means any title 

insurance agent, title insurance agency, title insurance 

company, or person, other than a party to the real estate 

transaction, who provides escrow, closing, or settlement 

services in connection with a transaction related to real estate 

in the Commonwealth and who is listed as the settlement 

agent on the settlement statement or Closing Disclosure for 

the transaction. Any person, other than a party to the 

transaction, who conducts the settlement conference and 

receives or handles money shall be deemed a "settlement 

agent" subject to the applicable requirements of Chapter 27.3 

(§ 55-525.16 et seq.) of the Code of Virginia and this chapter.  

"Title insurance agency" means a business entity licensed in 

this Commonwealth as a title insurance agent.  

"Title insurance agent" shall have the same meaning as set 

forth in § 38.2-1800 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Title insurance agency" or "title insurance agent" means 

any individual or business entity licensed in the 

Commonwealth, pursuant to Chapter 18 (§ 38.2-1800 et seq.) 

of Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia, as a title insurance agent 

and appointed by a title insurance company licensed in the 

Commonwealth who shall perform all of the following 

services (for which liability arises) relevant to the issuance of 

title insurance policies, subject to the underwriting directives 

and guidelines of the agent's title insurance company. These 

services shall include (i) the evaluation of the title search to 

determine the insurability of the title; (ii) a determination of 

whether or not underwriting objections have been cleared; 

(iii) the actual issuance of a title commitment or binder and 

endorsements; and (iv) the actual issuance of the policy or 

policies and endorsements on behalf of the title insurance 

company. A title insurance agent holding funds in escrow 

shall promptly deposit the funds in a trust account in a 

financial institution authorized to do business in this 

Commonwealth. This trust account shall be separate from all 

other accounts held by the agent. 

"Title insurance company" means any company licensed to 

transact, or transacting, title insurance in this Commonwealth.  

14VAC5-395-25. Lay real estate settlement agents. 

(Repealed.) 

Notwithstanding any provision of this chapter to the 

contrary, and pursuant to § 55-525.18 of the Code of 

Virginia, a lay real estate settlement agent shall be required to 

comply with the provisions of this chapter, except as 

specifically set forth in 14VAC5-395-60.  

14VAC5-395-30. Registration.  

A. Every title insurance agent, title insurance agency and 

title insurance company that acts as a settlement agent shall 

be required to be registered register with the bureau in 

accordance with the provisions of § 55-525.30 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

B. At the time of application for registration, a settlement 

agent shall provide to the bureau (i) its certificate of 

authorization or charter of a domestic limited liability 

company or corporation, or certificate of registration or 

certificate of authority of a foreign limited liability company 

or corporation, as applicable; (ii) an original surety bond; and 

(iii) a designated licensed producer.   

C. Within 30 days of registration a settlement agent shall 

furnish to the bureau: 

1. Legal name; 

2. Any fictitious names; 

3. Principal place of business address; 

4. Addresses of all other business locations; 

5. Telephone numbers; 

6. Escrow account numbers and financial institution 

addresses; 

7. Employee and independent contractor list; 
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8. Website or websites;  

9. Affiliated entities; and 

10. Such other information as the bureau may require.  

14VAC5-395-40. Insurance and bonding requirements. 

A. At the time of registration, every title insurance agent and 

title insurance agency acting as a settlement agent shall file a 

certification on a form prescribed by the bureau, that the 

settlement agent has, and thereafter shall keep in force for as 

long as they are acting as a settlement agent, the following:  

1. An errors and omissions insurance policy providing 

limits of at least $250,000 per occurrence or per claim and 

issued by an insurer authorized to do business in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. A deductible is permitted but 

shall not hinder or delay the payment of a claim. 

2. A blanket fidelity bond or employee dishonesty 

insurance policy covering persons employed by the 

settlement agent providing limits of at least $100,000 per 

occurrence or per claim and issued by an insurer 

authorized to do business in the Commonwealth of 

Virginia. Settlement agents that have no employees except 

the owners, partners, shareholders, or members may 

request apply for a waiver of this requirement on their 

certification form. 

B. Every title insurance agent and title insurance agency that 

acts as a settlement agent in the Commonwealth of Virginia 

shall file an original surety bond in an amount not less than 

$200,000 on a form prescribed by the bureau at the time of 

application for registration and, if such bond is canceled, at 

the time a replacement bond is issued. 

14VAC5-395-50. Audits.  

A. Every title insurance agent and title insurance agency that 

acts as a settlement agent in the Commonwealth of Virginia 

shall, at its expense, have an audit of its escrow accounts 

conducted by an independent certified public accountant at 

least once each consecutive 12-month period. The audit 

month shall be prescribed by the bureau. Such audit shall 

conform with the standards established by the American 

Institute of Certified Public Accountants, Statement on 

Auditing AICPA Professional Standards, Volume 1, as of 

June 1, 2015, Special Reports Considerations - Audits of 

Single Financial Statements and Specific Elements, Accounts, 

or Items of a Financial Statement, and shall be filed by the 

settlement agent with the bureau no later than 60 days after 

the date on which the audit is completed. A title insurance 

company shall be subject to the requirements of this 

subsection unless such company's financial statements are 

audited annually by an independent certified public 

accountant.  

B. Every title insurance agent or title insurance agency 

acting as a settlement agent shall file a copy of its audit report 

with each title insurance company it represents.  

C. In lieu of an audit conducted by a certified public 

accountant, a title insurance agent or title insurance agency 

acting as a settlement agent shall allow each title insurance 

company for which it has an appointment to conduct an 

analysis of its escrow accounts at least once each consecutive 

12-month period. The form of such the analysis and the 

analysis month shall be prescribed by the bureau. The title 

insurance company shall submit a copy of its analysis to the 

bureau no later than 60 days after the date on which the 

analysis is completed. With the consent of the title insurance 

agent or agency, a title insurance company may share the 

results of its analysis with other title insurance companies that 

will accept the same in lieu of conducting a separate analysis.  

D. Every settlement agent shall (i) make a good faith effort 

to disburse funds in its possession and return the funds to the 

rightful owner; (ii) escheat unclaimed funds yearly to the 

Virginia Department of the Treasury; and (iii) comply with 

The Uniform Disposition of Unclaimed Property Act (§ 55-

210.1 et seq.) of Title 55 of the Code of Virginia. 

E. A settlement agent shall complete and file a close-out 

audit with the bureau in conformance with this chapter and 

the bureau's instructions within 180 days from the date the 

settlement agent ceases conducting settlements. 

14VAC5-395-60. Separate fiduciary trust account.  

A. Every title insurance agent, title insurance agency and 

title insurance company that acts as a settlement agent in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia shall maintain a separate 

fiduciary trust account for the purpose of handling funds 

received in connection with escrow, closing, or settlement 

services involving real estate located only in this 

Commonwealth. No other funds may be included in this 

escrow account except funds deposited to guarantee the 

adequacy of the account. Such trust account shall be with a 

financial institution authorized to do business in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia.  

B. If the agent, agency, or company acting as a lay real 

estate settlement agent provides escrow, closing, or settlement 

services in transactions involving multiple parcels or tracts of 

real estate and any one of those tracts or parcels is located 

wholly or partially outside of this Commonwealth, that the 

settlement agent, agency, or company shall maintain another 

separate fiduciary trust account for the purpose of handling 

funds received in connection with such transactions.  

C. A settlement agent may utilize a general escrow account 

for the purpose of receiving funds in connection with an 

escrow, closing, or settlement involving real estate located in 

the Commonwealth, provided that the settlement agent (i) 

handles the funds in a fiduciary capacity and (ii) deposits the 

funds in a separate fiduciary trust account in compliance with 

subsection A of this section no later than the close of the 

second business day after receipt of the funds. 

14VAC5-395-70. Access to records Reporting 

requirements.  

A. Every title insurance agent, title insurance agency and 

title insurance company that acts as a settlement agent in the 
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Commonwealth of Virginia shall make all escrow, closing, or 

settlement records available promptly upon request for 

examination by the bureau without notice during normal 

business hours.  

B. A settlement agent shall maintain documentation that 

supports all entries on the settlement statement or Closing 

Disclosure.  

C. A settlement agent shall promptly respond to a bureau 

request for books, records, documentation, or other 

information in connection with the bureau's investigation, 

enforcement, or examination of the settlement agent's 

compliance with applicable laws and regulations. If no time 

period is specified by the bureau, a written response as well 

as any requested books, records, documentation, or 

information shall be delivered by the settlement agent to the 

bureau not later than 30 days from the date of such request.  

D. Within 30 days following the occurrence of any of the 

following events, a settlement agent shall report to the bureau 

if:  

1. Any bankruptcy, reorganization, or receivership 

proceedings are filed by or against the settlement agent.  

2. Any local, state, or federal governmental authority 

institutes revocation, suspension, or other formal 

administrative, regulatory, or enforcement proceedings 

against the settlement agent. 

3. Any local, state, or federal governmental authority (i) 

revokes or suspends the settlement agent's registration, 

license, or other license for a similar business; (ii) takes 

formal administrative, regulatory, or enforcement action 

against the settlement agent relating to its business; or (iii) 

takes any other action against the settlement agent relating 

to its business where the total amount of restitution or other 

payment from the settlement agent exceeds $2,500. 

4. Based on allegations by any local, state, or federal 

governmental authority that the settlement agent violated 

any law or regulation applicable to the conduct of its 

licensed business, the settlement agent enters into, or 

otherwise agrees to the entry of, a settlement or consent 

order, decree, or agreement with or by such governmental 

authority. 

5. The settlement agent surrenders its license in another 

state in lieu of threatened or pending license revocation; 

license suspension; or other administrative, regulatory, or 

enforcement action. 

6. The settlement agent is denied a license in another state. 

7. The settlement agent or any of its members, partners, 

directors, officers, principals, employees, or independent 

contractors is indicted or convicted of a felony. 

8. Any funds held by the settlement agent are (i) seized by 

or on behalf of any court or governmental instrumentality 

or (ii) forfeited to or on behalf of any court or 

governmental instrumentality. 

E. A settlement agent shall immediately notify the bureau 

following the loss of (i) a designated licensed producer, (ii) 

required insurance coverage, or (iii) required bond coverage. 

F. A settlement agent or former settlement agent shall 

provide the following information to the bureau within 10 

days after such person's license is surrendered, terminated, 

suspended, or revoked or has lapsed by operation of law, or 

the licensed and registered business is otherwise closed: (i) 

the names, addresses, telephone numbers, fax numbers, and 

email addresses of a designated contact person; (ii) the 

location of the settlement agent's or former settlement agent's 

records; and (iii) any additional information that the bureau 

may reasonably require.  A settlement agent or former 

settlement agent shall maintain current information with the 

bureau until all escrow funds are disbursed and all title 

policies are issued. 

G. Sixty days prior to ceasing business, a settlement agent 

shall provide notice to the bureau of its intent to cease 

conducting settlements and the anticipated date of business 

termination.  

H. The reports required by this section shall be in the format 

and contain such additional information as the bureau may 

reasonably require. The bureau may also require additional 

reports that it deems necessary. 

14VAC5-395-75. Operating requirements. 

A settlement agent shall comply with the following 

requirements:  

1. A settlement agent shall continuously maintain the 

requirements and standards for licensure and registration. 

2. A settlement agent shall reconcile its escrow accounts 

monthly. 

3. A settlement agent shall not provide any information to 

the bureau or a consumer that is false, misleading, or 

deceptive. 

4. A settlement agent shall not charge duplicative or 

inflated fees for escrow, closing, or settlement services.  

5. A settlement agent shall not engage in any activity that 

directly or indirectly results in an evasion of the provisions 

of Chapter 27.3 (§ 55-525.16 et seq.) of the Code of 

Virginia or this chapter. 

6. Any person, other than a party to the transaction, who 

conducts the settlement conference and receives or handles 

money, including possessing wire transfer authority, shall 

be properly licensed and shall be deemed a "settlement 

agent" subject to the applicable requirements of Chapter 

27.3 and this chapter.  

7. A designated licensed producer shall be appointed by the 

same title insurance company as its employer settlement 

agent. 

8. A settlement agent may not use or accept the services of 

a title insurance agent independent contractor unless the 

title insurance agent independent contractor (i) holds a title 
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insurance license, (ii) is appointed, (iii) is registered, and 

(iv) maintains the insurance or bond coverages required by 

Chapter 27.3 and this chapter.  

9. A settlement agent that uses the services of a title 

insurance agent independent contractor shall be (i) the 

legal principal of the title insurance agent independent 

contractor and (ii) liable for all actions of the title 

insurance agent independent contractor, including 

unintentional conduct, that occurs during the period 

services are utilized.  

10. A former settlement agent shall remain subject to the 

provisions of Chapter 27.3 and this chapter in connection 

with all settlements that the settlement agent performed 

while licensed and registered, notwithstanding the 

occurrence of any of the following events: 

a. The settlement agent's license is surrendered, 

terminated, suspended, or revoked or has lapsed by 

operation of law; or 

b. The settlement agent ceases conducting settlements. 

11. If a settlement agent or former settlement agent 

disposes of records containing a consumer's personal 

financial information or copies of a consumer's 

identification documents, such records and copies shall be 

disposed of in a secure manner.  

14VAC5-395-80. Violations Enforcement.  

Any violation of Failure to comply with any provision of 

Chapter 27.3 (§ 55-525.16 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) or 

this chapter shall be punished as provided for in Chapter 27.3 

(§ 55-525.16 et seq.) of Title 55 of the Code of Virginia may 

result in penalties, license revocation or suspension, the entry 

of a cease and desist order, restitution, or other enforcement 

action.  

14VAC5-395-100. Commission authority. 

The commission may, at its discretion, waive or grant 

exceptions to any provision of this chapter for good cause 

shown. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (14VAC5-395) 

Settlement Agent Official Registration Form for a Title 

Agent (eff. 3/2012) 

Settlement Agent Official Registration Form for Licensed 

Title Insurance Company or Agency (eff. 3/2012) 

Title Settlement Agency/Agency Financial Responsibility 

Certification (undated, filed 11/2015) 

Waiver of Blanket Fidelity Bond or Employee Dishonesty 

Insurance Policy for Title Insurance Settlement Agents 

(undated, filed 11/2015) 

Bond for Title Insurance Settlement Agent (undated, filed 

11/2015) 

Standard Report of Escrow Accounts Maintained by Title 

Insurance Agents (eff. 10/2010) 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(14VAC5-395) 

Statement on Auditing Standards, Special Reports, July 1, 

1989, American Institute of Certified Public Accountants.  

AICPA Professional Standards, Volume 1, as of June 1, 

2015, American Institute of Certified Public Accountants, 

New York, New York 10036-8775, http://www.aicpa.org 

AICPA Professional Standards, Volume 2, as of June 1, 

2015, American Institute of Certified Public Accountants, 

New York, New York 10036-8775, http://www.aicpa.org 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4541; Filed November 9, 2015, 2:36 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 

exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The Safety and Health Codes Board 

will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 

or revision. 

Titles of Regulations: 16VAC25-140. Virginia Confined 

Space Standard for the Construction Industry (repealing 

16VAC25-140-10 through 16VAC25-140-90, Appendix A, 

Appendix B).  

16VAC25-150. Underground Construction, Construction 

Industry (repealing 16VAC25-150-10).  

16VAC25-170. Virginia Excavation Standard, 

Construction Industry (29 CFR 1926.650 - 1926.652) 

(repealing 16VAC25-170-10, 16VAC25-170-20, 16VAC25-

170-30).  

16VAC25-175. Federal Identical Construction Industry 

Standards (amending 16VAC25-175-1926.953, 16VAC25-

175-1926.968, 16VAC25-175-1926.1200 through 

16VAC25-175-1926.1213; adding 16VAC25-175-1926.650, 

16VAC25-175-1926.651, 16VAC25-175-1926.652, 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=62fc8004541~1&typ=40&actno=004541&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=62fc8004541~1&typ=40&actno=004541&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=60d22004541~2&typ=40&actno=004541&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=60d22004541~2&typ=40&actno=004541&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=df98d004541~3&typ=40&actno=004541&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=df98d004541~3&typ=40&actno=004541&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=eedae004541~4&typ=40&actno=004541&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=eedae004541~4&typ=40&actno=004541&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=eedae004541~4&typ=40&actno=004541&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=28da5004541~5&typ=40&actno=004541&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=28da5004541~5&typ=40&actno=004541&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ce52e004541~6&typ=40&actno=004541&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ce52e004541~6&typ=40&actno=004541&mime=application/pdf
http://www.aicpa.org/
http://www.aicpa.org/
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16VAC25-175-1926.800; repealing 16VAC25-175-

1926.21). 

Statutory Authority: § 40.1-22 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2016.  

Agency Contact: John Crisanti, Policy and Planning 

Manager, Department of Labor and Industry, Main Street 

Centre, 600 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-4300, or email crisanti.john@dol.gov. 

Summary: 

In a final rule, federal Occupational Safety & Health 

Administration (OSHA) adopted a new construction 

standard on confined spaces in construction, Subpart AA 

(29 CFR 1926.1200 through 29 CFR 1926.1213), and 

revisions to related provisions (29 CFR 1926.21, 29 CFR 

1926.953, and 29 CFR 1926.968). Subpart AA replaces 

OSHA's current one training requirement for confined 

space work with a comprehensive standard that includes a 

permit program designed to protect employees from 

exposure to many hazards associated with work in 

confined spaces, including atmospheric and physical 

hazards. The final rule is similar in content and 

organization to the general industry confined space 

standard, but also incorporates several provisions from the 

proposed rule to address construction-specific hazards, 

accounts for advancements in technology, and improves 

enforceability of the requirements. This action 

incorporates these changes into the Virginia standard. The 

new OSHA final rule provides comprehensive and uniform 

levels of worker protection across industries that 

previously were lacking in the federal regulations but had 

been addressed in 16VAC25-140, Virginia Confined Space 

Standard for the Construction Industry, a Virginia unique 

regulation. Since 16VAC25-140 is no longer necessary, the 

board is repealing it as part of this regulatory action. 

The OSHA final rule does not apply to excavation or 

underground construction, which are covered by existing 

federal regulations. Therefore, the board adopted the 

existing federal identical regulations for the Excavation 

Standard (29 CFR 1926.650, 1926.651, and 1926.652) and 

the Underground Construction Standard (29 CFR 

1926.800) and repealed the Virginia unique standards 

16VAC25-150, Underground Construction, Construction 

Industry, and 16VAC25-170, Virginia Excavation 

Standard, Construction Industry.  

Note on Incorporation by Reference: Pursuant to § 2.2-4103 

of the Code of Virginia, 29 CFR Part 1926 (Construction 

Industry Standards) is declared a document generally 

available to the public and appropriate for incorporation by 

reference. For this reason this document will not be printed in 

the Virginia Register of Regulations. A copy of this document 

is available for inspection at the Department of Labor and 

Industry, Main Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219, and in the office of the Registrar 

of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad 

Streets, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Statement of Final Agency Action: On October 29, 2015, the 

Safety and Health Codes Board adopted federal OSHA's Final 

Rule for Confined Spaces in Construction, as published in 80 

FR 25365 through 80 FR 25526 on May 4, 2015, with an 

effective date of August 3, 2015. 

Federal Terms and State Equivalents: When the regulations as 

set forth in the revised final rule for the Construction Industry 

Standards are applied to the Commissioner of the Department 

of Labor and Industry or to Virginia employers, the following 

federal terms shall be considered to read as follows: 

Federal Terms  VOSH Equivalent 

29 CFR  VOSH Standard 

Assistant Secretary  Commissioner of Labor and 

Industry 

Agency  Department 

August 3, 2015  January 1, 2016 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4562; Filed November 10, 2015, 11:26 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF AUDIOLOGY AND SPEECH-LANGUAGE 
PATHOLOGY 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC30-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Audiology and Speech-Language 

Pathology (amending 18VAC30-20-10; adding 18VAC30-

20-241).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

December 11, 2015 - 8:45 a.m. - Department of Health 

Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Conference Center, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 

Public Comment Deadline: January 29, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 

Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, 

telephone (804) 367-4630, FAX (804) 527-4413, or email 

leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations Governing the Practice of Audiology and 

Speech-Language Pathology (18VAC30-20) are promulgated 

under the general authority of subdivision 6 of § 54.1-2400 of 

the Code of Virginia, which provides the Board of Audiology 

and Speech-Language Pathology the authority to promulgate 

regulations to administer the regulatory system. 
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Authority for the board to adopt regulations for limited 

cerumen management in the practice of audiology is pursuant 

to Chapter 327 of the 2014 Acts of Assembly. 

Purpose: Since cerumen management is a more advanced 

skill in the practice of audiology, requiring additional 

knowledge and training, regulations specify the education and 

specific training necessary to perform it on patients. 

Additionally, audiologists must know the contraindications 

for performance by an audiologist and the conditions that 

require referral to a medical doctor. The goal of the amended 

regulation is to provide a framework for safe practice in an 

advanced procedure that prior to 2014 was not recognized in 

Virginia as being within the scope of practice of an 

audiologist. By the change in law and regulation, the practice 

is expanded to include limited cerumen management, but the 

qualifications for such practice and the limitations of practice 

by an audiologist are essential to protect patients. 

If an audiologist does not have the clinical knowledge and 

skills or if he attempts to perform cerumen management on a 

patient beyond his scope of practice or in spite of 

contraindications, he can do serious damage to a patient's ear. 

If an audiologist is adequately trained and practices according 

to the standard of care and the board's regulation, the public's 

health and safety should be protected. 

Substance: 18VAC30-20-10 is amended to include a 

definition for "limited cerumen management."  

18VAC30-20-241 is a new section, in which subsection A 

sets out the basic educational qualification for performance of 

cerumen management, subsection B sets out the training an 

audiologist must satisfactorily complete to perform cerumen 

management and specifies that documentation of such 

training must be maintained, subsection C sets out the 

contraindications for performance of cerumen management, 

and subsection D provides that an audiologist performing 

cerumen management shall obtain informed written consent 

of the patient or legally responsible adult and maintain 

documentation of such consent and the procedure performed 

in the patient record. It also specifies that the audiologist shall 

refer patients to a physician if they exhibit contraindications 

or experience any complication, such as dizziness, during the 

procedure. 

Issues: There are no disadvantages to the public. With the 

passage of Chapter 327 of the 2014 Acts of Assembly, it is 

clear that cerumen management of a limited nature is within 

the scope of practice of audiologists who have been specially 

trained in the procedure. Proposed regulations protect patients 

by specifying the necessary training and the medical 

conditions and situations in which it is not appropriate for a 

patient to have cerumen removed by an audiologist. There are 

no particular advantages or disadvantages to the agency or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

proposed regulation provides a regulatory framework for 

practice in cerumen management, which was not recognized 

in Virginia as being within the scope of practice of an 

audiologist before 2014. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Prior to 2014, Virginia law and 

regulations did not address cerumen (commonly known as ear 

wax) management within the scope of practice of an 

audiologist though various forms of it were practiced by some 

audiologists to various extents. Cerumen management 

involves identification and removal of cerumen from the ear 

canal. According to the Board of Audiology and Speech-

Language Pathology (Board), if an audiologist does not have 

the clinical knowledge and skills or if he attempts to perform 

cerumen management on a patient beyond his or her scope of 

practice or in spite of contraindications, he or she can do 

serious damage to a patient's ear. 

In order to address potential health and safety concerns, 

Chapter 327 of the 2014 Acts of the Assembly (HB500) 

added "limited cerumen management" to the scope of 

audiology practice and directed the Board to establish criteria 

for its practice. Pursuant to the legislative mandate, the Board 

promulgated emergency regulations, which became effective 

on December 29, 2014. The proposed regulation will replace 

the emergency regulation permanently.  

With this action, the Board proposes to define "limited 

cerumen management" as the identification and removal of 

cerumen from the cartilaginous outer one-third portion of the 

external auditory canal. The Board also proposes to allow the 

practice of limited cerumen management by only those 

audiologists i) who are a graduate of an accredited doctoral 

program in audiology that included didactic education and 

supervised clinical experience in cerumen management, or ii) 

who completed an approved course or workshop in cerumen 

management. Furthermore, the Board sets out the 

contraindications to identify cases when the procedure shall 

not be performed, but the patient be referred to a physician; 

requires audiologists to obtain written consent of the patient 

or legally responsible adult; and maintain documentation. The 

proposed rules do not require audiologists to submit evidence 

of training and education, or consent documents to the Board, 

but instead require the evidence be available when and if the 

Department of Health Professions investigates a complaint. 

The proposed training and education could occur within a 

practice under direct supervision. Training courses are also 

being developed by the state and national professional 

associations specifically for cerumen management. Parts of 

the training may be done online, but certain parts of the 

training must be done in-person with an audiologist who is 

already qualified or with a physician. The cost of the training 
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and education may vary. The Speech-Language Hearing 

Association of Virginia is currently offering a one-day 

training in September 2015 at a cost of $230 for members and 

$300 for non-members. However, since the proposed 

regulation applies only if an audiologist wishes to perform 

limited cerumen management and if an audiologist chooses to 

obtain education and training to perform it, we can reliably 

infer that the anticipated benefits likely exceed compliance 

costs to him or her in terms of time, travel, and training fees. 

Other benefits of the proposed regulation include: explicitly 

allowing qualified audiologists to perform cerumen 

management on a limited basis and possibly avoiding an extra 

visit to a physician’s office for limited cerumen management, 

establishing what the allowed scope of cerumen management 

by an audiologist is, establishing under what circumstances it 

may or may not be performed, and consequently providing a 

greater degree of patient health and safety compared to its 

practice without any standards.  

While the proposed regulation is expected to be beneficial, 

the magnitude of benefits may be relatively small. As 

mentioned above, prior to 2014, various forms of cerumen 

management had been performed by some audiologist to 

various extents. The Board is unaware of any complaints or 

investigations related to practice of cerumen management 

when there was no regulatory framework on cerumen 

management by audiologists. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed rules affect 

audiologists who want to include limited cerumen 

management in their practice. Currently, there are 517 

licensed audiologists in Virginia, but the Board does not 

know how many of them are currently practicing cerumen 

management and how many may choose to perform this 

procedure in the future. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed changes apply 

throughout the Commonwealth.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed rules are not anticipated to affect the use and value 

of private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed rules introduce 

compliance costs to audiologists in terms of time, travel, and 

course fees to obtain training and education only if the 

audiologist does not have the appropriate training and 

education and he or she chooses to perform limited cerumen 

management and he or she would have performed it without 

obtaining the appropriate training and education if there were 

no regulations. However, it is highly unlikely that an 

audiologist would have performed a procedure that he or she 

is not trained and educated in for liability reasons. Thus, the 

compliance costs are likely negligible. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

adverse impact on audiologists is likely negligible as 

discussed above. 

Adverse Impacts:  

Businesses: The proposed regulation is not anticipated to 

adversely impact non-small businesses. 

Localities: The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities: No other entities are anticipated to be 

adversely affected. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology concurs with 

the economic impact analysis of the Department of Planning 

and Budget. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 327 of the 2014 Acts of Assembly, the 

proposed action provides a framework for safe practice of 

limited cerumen management by an audiologist including 

(i) a definition of "limited cerumen management," (ii) the 

education and specific training necessary to perform 

limited cerumen management on patients, (iii) the 

contraindications for performance by an audiologist of 

limited cerumen management on patients, and (iv) the 

conditions that require referral to a medical doctor. 

Part I  

General Provisions  

18VAC30-20-10. Definitions.  

A. The words and terms "audiologist," "board," "practice of 

audiology," "practice of speech-language pathology," 

"speech-language disorders," and "speech-language 

pathologist" when used in this chapter shall have the 

meanings ascribed to them in § 54.1-2600 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

B. The following words when used in this chapter shall have 

the following meanings unless the context clearly indicates 

otherwise:  

"Contact hour" means 60 minutes of time spent in 

continuing learning activities.  

"Limited cerumen management" means the identification 

and removal of cerumen from the cartilaginous outer one-

third portion of the external auditory canal in accordance with 

minimum standards and procedures set forth in this chapter. 

"School speech-language pathologist" means a person 

licensed pursuant to § 54.1-2603 of the Code of Virginia to 

provide speech-language pathology services solely in public 

school divisions.  
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"Supervision" means that the audiologist or speech-language 

pathologist is responsible for the entire service being rendered 

or activity being performed, is available for consultation, and 

is providing regular monitoring and documentation of clinical 

activities and competencies of the person being supervised.  

"Type 1" means continuing learning activities that must be 

offered by an accredited sponsor or organization as specified 

in 18VAC30-20-300.  

"Type 2" means continuing learning activities that may or 

may not be approved by an accredited sponsor or organization 

but shall be activities considered by the learner to be 

beneficial to practice or to continuing learning. In Type 2 

activities, licensees document their own participation on the 

Continued Competency Activity and Assessment Form and 

are considered self-learning activities.  

18VAC30-20-241. Limited cerumen management. 

A. In order for an audiologist to perform limited cerumen 

management, he shall: 

1. Be a graduate of a doctoral program in audiology that is 

accredited by the Council on Academic Accreditation of 

the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association or 

other accrediting body recognized by the board and that 

included didactic education and supervised clinical 

experience in cerumen management as specified in 

subsection B of this section; or 

2. Complete a course or workshop in cerumen management 

that provides training as specified in subsection B of this 

section and that is approved by the American Speech-

Language Hearing Association or the American Academy 

of Audiology. 

B. An audiologist shall maintain documentation evidencing 

satisfactory completion of training in cerumen management to 

include the following: 

1. Recognizing the presence of preexisting 

contraindications that necessitate referral to a physician;  

2. Recognizing patient distress and appropriate action to 

take if complications are encountered; 

3. Use of infection control precautions; 

4. Procedures for removal of cerumen, including cerumen 

loop, gentle water irrigation, suction, and the use of 

material for softening; 

5. Observation of each type of cerumen management 

procedure performed by a qualified audiologist or 

physician; and 

6. Successful performance, under direct supervision by an 

audiologist qualified to perform cerumen management or a 

physician, of each type of cerumen management 

procedure. 

C. An audiologist shall not perform cerumen management 

on a patient who has any of the following preexisting 

contraindications: 

1. A perforated tympanic membrane; 

2. Inflammation, tenderness, drainage, or open wounds or 

traces of blood in the external ear canal; 

3. History of ear surgery that results in distortion of the 

external ear canal; 

4. HIV infection or bleeding disorders; 

5. Actual or suspected foreign body in the ear, excluding 

hearing aid components that are located in the lateral one-

third portion of the ear canal; 

6. Stenosis or bony exostosis of the ear canal; or 

7. Cerumen impaction that totally occludes the 

visualization of the tympanic membrane. 

D. An audiologist performing cerumen management shall:  

1. Obtain informed written consent of the patient or legally 

responsible adult and maintain documentation of such 

consent and the procedure performed in the patient record. 

2. Refer patients to a physician if they exhibit 

contraindications or experience any complication, such as 

dizziness, during the procedure. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4115; Filed November 9, 2015,  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC30-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Audiology and Speech-Language 

Pathology (amending 18VAC30-20-240).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

December 11, 2015 - 8:40 a.m. - Department of Health 

Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Conference Center, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 

Public Comment Deadline: January 29, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 

Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, 

telephone (804) 367-4630, FAX (804) 527-4413, or email 

leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia provides the 

Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology the 

authority to promulgate regulations that are reasonable and 

necessary to administer effectively the regulatory system. 

Authority for the board to adopt regulations for a person 

practicing as an assistant speech-language pathologist (SLPA) 

is found in the amendment to § 54.1-2600 of the Code of 

Virginia in Chapter 661 of the 2014 Acts of the Assembly. 

Purpose: Chapter 661 of the 2014 Acts of Assembly 

authorizes a person "who has met the qualifications 

prescribed by the Board" to practice as an assistant speech-

language pathologist under the supervision of a licensed 

speech-language pathologist. The purpose of the proposed 

regulatory action is to set out the qualifications for such a 

person, the scope of his practice, and the responsibilities of 

the licensed supervisor. 
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The practice of speech-language pathology includes 

"facilitating development and maintenance of human 

communication through programs of screening, identifying, 

assessing and interpreting, diagnosing, habilitating and 

rehabilitating speech-language disorders" (§ 54.1-2600 of the 

Code of Virginia). Unlicensed assistants may be utilized to 

extend but not replace the practice of a licensed SLP. The 

American Speech-Language-Hearing Association white paper 

on the scope of practice for assistants states: "The decision to 

shift responsibility for implementation of the more repetitive, 

mechanical, or routine clinical activities to SLPA's should be 

made only by qualified professionals and only when the 

quality of care and level of professionalism will not be 

compromised." The proposed regulatory action for the 

establishment of assistant competency and scope of practice 

is essential to ensure the quality and continuity of care under 

the legal and professional responsibility of a licensed SLP to 

protect the health and safety of clients receiving speech-

language services. 

Substance: Current regulations in 18VAC30-20-240 specify 

that a licensed speech-language pathologist shall provide 

documented supervision to unlicensed assistants, shall be held 

fully responsible for his performance and activities, and shall 

ensure that he performs only those activities that do not 

constitute the practice of speech-language pathology and that 

are commensurate with his level of training. Further, 

regulations provide that the identity of the unlicensed 

assistant shall be disclosed to the client prior to treatment and 

shall be made a part of the client's file. 

Amendments to set out the qualifications of an assistant 

speech-language pathologist to include a bachelor's degree or 

associate's degree and specific training as necessary to be 

determined by the supervising SLP. Minimal competency in 

performance must be documented before the supervising SLP 

can assign tasks to the assistant. After demonstration of 

competency, the assistant may perform duties planned, 

designed, and supervised by a licensed SLP. Regulations 

specify which duties are appropriate to the practice of an 

assistant and which would constitute licensed practice of an 

SLP and therefore are not to be performed by an unlicensed 

assistant. Generally speaking, activities that require 

assessment and professional judgment in speech-language 

pathology are not appropriate for delegation to an assistant. 

Finally, regulations specify the supervisory responsibilities of 

the licensed SLP for the activities of the assistant, the number 

of assistants who may be supervised, the frequency with 

which there must be on-site supervision of assistants, and the 

frequency with which the licensed SLP must personally see 

and evaluate the client.  Ultimate responsibility for the client 

and the outcomes of his care and treatment remains with the 

licensed SLP. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is minimal 

qualifications for unlicensed assistants who are providing 

direct services to clients and clearer specifications about the 

appropriate role of an assistant and responsibility of a 

supervisor. There are no disadvantages as persons receiving 

services are better protected by proposed regulations. 

There are no real advantages and disadvantages to the agency 

or the Commonwealth, except greater clarity and 

specification in regulation to reduce ambiguity for licensees. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 661 of the 2014 Acts of the Assembly, 

the Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology 

proposes to amend its regulation to clarify rules for 

supervising unlicensed assistants and to set education and/or 

experience requirements that assistants must have in order for 

licensed speech-language pathologists to be able to hire or 

supervise them. 

Result of Analysis. Benefits may outweigh costs for some of 

these proposed regulatory changes. For one regulatory 

change, there is insufficient information to ascertain whether 

benefits will outweigh costs. For one regulatory change, costs 

likely outweigh benefits. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Current regulation requires 

licensed audiologists and licensed speech-language 

pathologists to provide documented supervision to their 

unlicensed assistants. Licensed audiologists and licensed 

speech-language pathologists are currently responsible for 

ensuring that assistants do not perform tasks that would 

constitute the practice of audiology or speech-language 

pathology
1
 and must also ensure that assistants only perform 

tasks for which they have been trained. 

In 2014, the General Assembly passed legislation, which 

reads "A person who has met the qualifications prescribed by 

the Board may practice as an assistant speech-language 

pathologist and may perform duties not otherwise restricted to 

the practice of a speech-language pathologist under the 

supervision of a speech-language pathologist."  

Pursuant to this legislation, the Board now proposes to amend 

its regulation 1) so that rules for audiologists and speech-

language pathologists are separate (with rules for audiologist 

supervision of assistants remaining unchanged), 2) to clarify 

the rules for supervision of assistants, 3) to specify which 

duties a speech-language pathologist assistant can perform 

and which would constitute the practice of speech-language 

pathology and 4) to set education requirements for those 

assistants. Most of the amendments that will clarify the rules 

for supervision and the duties that assistants may perform are 

not new but instead will formally delineate current practice in 

this regulation. Board staff reports, for instance, that the 

requirement for speech-language pathologists to provide on-

site supervision of at least two assistant lead client sessions 

every 30 days and to directly provide at least one client 

session every 30 days is reported to be current practice in the 

field and is also required for CMS (Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services) reimbursement for services. Clarifying 

changes such as these are unlikely to increase costs for any 
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affected entity but will provide the benefit of greater 

understanding for the rules of supervision and provision of 

client services. Benefits will outweigh costs for these 

clarifying changes.  

The Board newly proposes to limit the number of assistants 

that a speech-language pathologist may supervise at any time 

to two. Board staff reports that this limit is being imposed at 

the request of the Virginia Department of Education (VDOE) 

and of the speech-language pathologists that provided 

comment on the proposed regulation. To the extent that some 

speech-language pathologists may be currently supervising 

more than two assistants without compromising patient care, 

this change will likely adversely affect them as it will limit 

the number of clients they may serve. There is insufficient 

information available, however, to ascertain whether any 

benefits to clients that may accrue on account of speech-

language pathologists being limited to two assistants will 

outweigh any adverse impacts to the speech-language 

pathologists themselves.  

Board staff reports that the Board convened a Regulatory 

Advisory Panel (RAP) committee to provide subject matter 

expertise in developing the proposed regulation. This 

committee agreed that the responsibility for the training of 

assistants and for their practice belongs to the supervising 

speech-language pathologist. Board staff reports that the 

committee considered just requiring that assistants complete 

documented training with a licensed speech-language 

pathologist in topics that would allow them to complete 

assigned duties competently. By count, 7 of the 15 comments 

received at the NOIRA stage of this action suggested that 

assistants be required to have a bachelor's degree (one 

suggested that they be required to complete education specific 

to speech-language disorders). With that feedback the Board 

now proposes to require that assistants who are supervised by 

speech-language pathologists either 1) have been employed as 

an assistant in a U.S. jurisdiction at some time in the five 

years preceding the effective date of this proposed regulation 

or 2) have a bachelor's or associate's degree in any field and 

documented training by a speech-language pathologist. Board 

staff reports that the Board is not proposing formal education 

specifically in speech-language pathology because there are 

no associate's or bachelor's level programs in speech language 

pathology in the Commonwealth. Board staff further reports 

that there are several bachelors' programs in communication 

sciences and disorders in the Commonwealth: at Longwood 

University, the University of Virginia, James Madison 

University (JMU), Radford University, Old Dominion 

University (ODU), Hampton University and Norfolk State 

University. 

These education requirements will likely cost new assistant 

speech-language pathologists entering the field after this 

proposed regulation becomes effective at least $20,000 for a 

two year associate's degree to many more tens of thousands of 

dollars for a bachelor's degree at a traditional four year 

university. The bachelors' programs in communications 

sciences and disorders reported by Board staff, and for which 

DPB could find cost information, would cost between 

$48,384 at ODU to $98,000 at JMU for a four year degree. 

These greatly increased costs to enter the field will likely 

limit the number of individuals able to work as assistant 

speech-language pathologists. This, in turn, will likely 

increase costs for local school districts and health care 

institutions that hire the majority of speech-language 

pathologists that will be competing to hire from a smaller 

pool of approved assistants. Speech language pathologists 

who work in private practice will also see increased costs, or 

a decreased client capacity with fewer assistants. These 

education requirements will also put future assistants at a 

competitive disadvantage when compared to assistants now 

working as they will have paid much more to enter the field 

which will not be as remunerative for them once they account 

for the financial outlay of required formal education. It is also 

likely hard to justify this education requirement when 1) there 

is likely little nexus between requiring just any degree and 

competent practice as an assistant and 2) there is no 

suggestion that current assistants are practicing incompetently 

with training from their supervising speech-language 

pathologist. Without some evidence that current assistant 

practice is suffering from issues that formal education would 

specifically address, all affected entities, including clients, 

would likely benefit from amending the proposed regulation 

to eliminate the requirement for formal higher education. 

Costs likely outweigh benefits for this proposed change. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Board staff reports that this 

proposed regulation will affect all speech-language 

pathologists in the Commonwealth as well as any assistants 

that they supervise. The Board currently licenses 3,662 

speech-language pathologists but Board staff does not know 

how many individuals are employed as speech-language 

pathologist assistants. According to the Department of Health 

Profession's Healthcare Workforce Data Center, as of 2013 

approximately 14% of speech-language pathologists worked 

in private practice and so would likely qualify as small 

businesses. All other speech-language pathologists work for 

either large health care institutions or school systems. 

Localities Particularly Affected. New education requirements 

for speech-language pathologist assistants will require a 

bachelor's or associate's degree of assistants hired for the first 

time to do this job after the effective date of this proposed 

regulation. Local school systems that have not been requiring 

this level of education in the assistants that they hire will 

likely have a smaller pool of individuals to hire from and may 

have to pay more to secure the services of these individuals. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This regulatory action will 

likely decrease the number of individuals who may be hired 

as speech-language pathologists. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. To the 

extent that this regulatory action raises the cost of hiring 

speech-language pathology assistants, private practice 
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speech-language pathologists as well as large health 

institutions may either choose to hire fewer assistants (thus 

somewhat limiting the number of clients they may serve) or 

may have to cover increased salary costs. Both of these 

responses to increased costs would tend to slightly decrease 

profits. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Private practice 

speech-language pathologists may experience increased 

employment costs for hiring assistants once assistants are 

required to have a bachelor's or associate's degree. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. Absent some evidence that current speech-

language pathologist assistants are practicing in ways that 

would raise competency issues that are best addressed by the 

formal education requirements in this proposed regulation, 

speech-language pathologists, their assistants and their clients 

will likely benefit from eliminating those requirements and 

allowing speech-language pathologists to provide training in 

the specific tasks that they plan to assign their assistants. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

______________________________________________ 
1 Assistants may not 1) hold themselves out as being an audiologist or 

speech-language pathologist, 2) perform any tests or evaluations, 3) perform 

procedures that require professional clinical skills, 4) interpret results of tests 
or evaluations or provide interpretive information on client status or services, 

5) participate in conferences or meetings without the presence of their 

supervisor or 6) write, develop or modify client treatment plans. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology does not 

concur with the analysis of the Department of Planning and 

Budget (DPB) on 18VAC30-20, Regulations Governing the 

Practice of Audiology and Speech-Language, relating to its 

assertions about the unnecessary burden of requiring an 

associate's degree or bachelor's degree for persons working as 

speech-language pathology assistants. 

At its meeting on June 11, 2015, the board considered the 

economic impact analysis prepared by DPB and chose to 

retain its original proposal for the following reasons: 

1) While an assistant will perform activities as directed and 

supervised by a licensed speech-language pathologist (SLP), 

he will be providing significant services to clients, often with 

children or the elderly. The assistant must have the 

knowledge and skills to assist with screenings, assist with 

assessments, follow a treatment plan and document results, 

assist with programming devices and in training the client on 

such devices, and document performance and report to the 

SLP. Members concurred that a post-secondary level of 

education was essential for the core knowledge and skills to 

train an assistant for safe, competent practice. Much in the 

same way a basic baccalaureate degree is necessary to secure 

admission in graduate programs, the board believes an 

associate's or bachelor's degree should be the foundational 

educational level for an assistant who will then receive 

special training in speech-language pathology duties. 

2) By setting the qualification at the associate or bachelor 

level, the regulation may open opportunities for persons who 

hold those degrees but do not have specialized training and 

experience that qualifies them for employment. 

3) It is not accurate to state that there are no bachelor's level 

programs in speech-language pathology or communication 

disorders. The agency background document has been revised 

to clarify that such programs and degrees are available and do 

graduate several hundred persons each year.  

4) Current capacity for hiring bachelor's degree persons 

should be more than adequate to meet demand. A master's 

degree is required for licensure as an SLP. Recent 

information from masters-level programs in speech-language 

pathology or communication-speech disorders in Virginia 

indicates that there are significantly more applicants with 

bachelor's degrees than slots in graduate programs. At James 

Madison University, there were 249 applications for the 

online program, and 20 were admitted; there were 349 

applications for the on-campus program; 22 were admitted. 

At Longwood University, there were 240 applications, 50 

were admitted with intent of securing a class of 22. At the 

University of Virginia, there were 300 applicants for 25 

available seats. It is apparent that there are several hundred 

graduates who have an interest in speech-language disorders 

who do not qualify for licensure but would benefit from the 

opportunity to be hired as an assistant and gain valuable 

knowledge and experience to possibly help secure a position 

in a graduate program. 

5) According to the Speech-Language Hearing Association of 

Virginia and the members of the Ad Hoc Committee and the 

board, speech-language pathologists who work in private 

practices do not currently hire persons as SLP assistants who 

have less than a bachelor's degree, so it is not accurate to state 

there they will see increased costs or a decreased client 

capacity. 

6) The economic impact analysis stated that the Assistant 

Attorney General advised the board that it must include a 

requirement for "formal education." In fact, the Assistant 

Attorney General advised that the law specified that the board 

must set "qualifications" for an assistant speech-language 

pathologist and that allowing them to be trained on the job 

was not necessarily a qualification for practice. 

7) Finally, there were six persons who commented on the 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action that a bachelor's degree 

in speech-language or communication disorders should be the 

minimum qualification for an assistant SLP; two others stated 

that the minimum qualification should be a bachelor of arts 

degree or a bachelor of sciences degree. 

Summary: 

The proposed regulations for the supervision of unlicensed 

assistants include the (i) responsibility of the licensed 
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speech-language pathologist for the training and 

assignment of duties of an assistant, (ii) qualifications of 

an assistant, (iii) duties that may be performed by an 

assistant, (iv) scope of practice of a speech-language 

pathologist that may not be delegated to an assistant, (v) 

the level and limitation on supervision of assistants, and 

(vi) the obligation of the licensee to provide the necessary 

level of supervision to ensure quality of care, including on-

site observation of at least two client sessions for each 

assistant every 30 days and direct delivery of service to 

each client at least every 30 days.  

18VAC30-20-240. Supervisory responsibilities; 

supervision of unlicensed assistants.  

A. Responsibility of a licensee. 

1. A licensed audiologist and speech-language pathologist 

shall provide documented supervision to who supervises 

unlicensed assistants shall document such supervision, 

shall be held fully responsible for their performance and 

activities, and shall ensure that they perform only those 

activities which that do not constitute the practice of 

audiology or speech-language pathology and which that 

are commensurate with their level of training.  

2. A licensed speech-language pathologist who supervises 

unlicensed assistants shall document such supervision, 

shall be held fully responsible for their performance and 

activities, and shall ensure that they perform only those 

activities that do not constitute the practice of speech-

language pathology and that are commensurate with their 

level of training.  

a. A speech-language pathologist shall not supervise an 

assistant without the speech-language pathologist's 

knowledge and consent by the assistant and the licensee 

documented prior to assumption of supervisory 

responsibilities. 

b. The frequency in which the speech-language 

pathologist personally delivers treatment or services to a 

client who is receiving some services from an assistant 

shall be up to the professional judgment of the speech-

language pathologist and shall be determined by the 

treatment needs of the client, the type of services being 

provided, and the setting in which the client is being 

served, but shall occur at least every 30 days.  

B. 3. The identity of the unlicensed assistant shall be 

disclosed to the client prior to treatment and shall be made 

a part of the client's file.  

B. Qualifications of a speech-language pathologist assistant. 

1. A person acting as a speech-language pathologist 

assistant shall have: 

a. A bachelor's degree or associate's degree and 

documented training by a licensed speech-language 

pathologist in topics related to the client population to be 

served; or 

b. Employment as a speech-language pathologist 

assistant in a United States jurisdiction within the last 

five years preceding (the effective date of the 

regulations). 

2. A speech-language pathologist supervising an assistant 

shall be responsible for determining that the knowledge, 

skills, and clinical experience of the assistant are sufficient 

to ensure competency to perform all tasks to which the 

assistant is assigned. The speech-language pathologist shall 

document competency after training and direct observation 

of the assistant's performance of such tasks, and a record of 

skills and competencies shall be maintained. 

C. Scope of practice of a speech-language pathologist 

assistant. After demonstration and documentation of 

competency for the duties to be assigned, an assistant shall 

only engage in those duties planned, designed, and supervised 

by a licensed speech-language pathologist, to include the 

following: 

1. Assist with speech, language, and hearing screenings 

without clinical interpretation of results. 

2. Assist during assessment of a client exclusive of 

administration or interpretation. 

3. Perform activities for each session that are routine and 

do not require professional judgment, in accordance with a 

plan developed and directed by the speech-language 

pathologist who retains the professional responsibility for 

the client. 

4. Document a client's performance and report information 

to the supervising speech-language pathologist. 

5. Assist with programming augmentative and alternative 

communication devices and assist the client in repetitive 

use of such devices.  

6. Sign or initial informal treatment notes and, upon 

request, co-sign formal documents with the supervising 

speech-language pathologist. 

7. Engage in the following activities: 

a. Preparing materials; 

b. Scheduling appointments and activities; 

c. Preparing charts, records, or graphs and performing 

other clerical duties; 

d. Performing checks and maintenance of equipment; and 

e. Assisting a client with transitioning to and from 

therapy sessions.  

8. Perform duties not otherwise restricted to the practice of 

speech-language pathology. 

D. A speech-language pathologist assistant shall not engage 

in the practice of speech-language pathology, including the 

following:  

1. Represent himself as a speech-language pathologist. 

2. Perform standardized or nonstandardized diagnostic 

tests or formal or informal evaluations. 
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3. Perform procedures that require a professional level of 

clinical acumen and technical skill. 

4. Tabulate or interpret results and observations of feeding 

and swallowing evaluations or screenings performed by a 

speech-language pathologist. 

5. Participate in formal conferences or meetings without 

the presence of the supervising speech-language 

pathologist. 

6. Provide interpretative information to the client, the 

family of the client, or others regarding the client's status 

or service. 

7. Write, develop, or modify a client's treatment plan. 

8. Assist in or provide services as specified in subsection C 

of this section unless directed by the supervising speech-

language pathologist. 

9. Sign any formal documents in lieu of the supervising 

speech-language pathologist. 

10. Select a client for service or discharge a client from 

service. 

11. Make a decision on the need for additional services or 

make referrals for service. 

12. Disclose clinical or confidential information either 

orally or in writing to anyone other than the supervising 

speech-language pathologist, unless mandated by law or 

authorized by the supervising speech-language pathologist. 

13. Develop or determine the swallowing or feeding 

strategies or precautions for a client or provide feeding or 

swallowing treatment. 

E. Supervision of an assistant in speech-language pathology. 

1. The practice of an assistant shall only be supervised by a 

speech-language pathologist who retains full legal and 

ethical responsibility for the client. A speech-language 

pathologist shall only supervise the equivalent of two full-

time assistants. 

2. The speech-language pathologist shall provide the level 

of supervision to the speech-language pathologist assistant 

necessary to ensure quality of care to include on-site 

supervision of at least two client sessions for each assistant 

being supervised every 30 days to directly observe and 

evaluate the performance of the assistant. The speech-

language pathologist shall document such on-site 

observation and evaluation in the client record for each 

session. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4179; Filed November 9, 2015, 9:58 a.m.  

 

 

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Medicine, Osteopathic Medicine, Podiatry, 

and Chiropractic (amending 18VAC85-20-320, 18VAC85-

20-340, 18VAC85-20-350, 18VAC85-20-370, 18VAC85-20-

380).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2912.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

December 4, 2015 - 8:30 a.m. - Perimeter Center, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 201, Richmond, VA 23233-1463 

Public Comment Deadline: January 29, 2016. 

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 

Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4558, FAX 

(804) 527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia provides the 

Board of Medicine the authority to promulgate regulations to 

administer the regulatory system. Specific authority for 

regulation of office-based anesthesia is found in § 54.1-

2912.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: A Notice of Intended Regulatory Action was 

approved by the Board of Medicine on October 16, 2014, in 

response to a petition for rulemaking from the Medical 

Society of Virginia. The intent of the board is to address the 

need for additional public protection in the administration of 

office-based anesthesia. As more medical and surgical 

procedures are being performed in office-based settings, there 

is a greater need for standards in the administration of 

anesthesia to address possible consequences that could result 

in an emergency transport to a hospital and even in the death 

of a patient. Therefore, changes are recommended in the 

applicability of requirements for office-based anesthesia, 

documentation of complications, duration of such a 

procedure, informed consent by patient of the anesthesia plan, 

discharge planning, and emergency transfer protocols. The 

board adopted regulatory changes as necessary to protect the 

health and safety of patients who undergo procedures in 

office-based settings. 

Substance: Amendments to the requirements for office-based 

anesthesia are adopted to (i) include the administration of 300 

milligrams or more of lidocaine under the applicability of the 

requirements; (ii) ensure that the patient has adequate 

information in giving informed consent, including knowledge 

about whether the physician is board certified or board 

eligible; (iii) require documentation of complications during 

surgery or recovery; (iv) set a time limit on procedures that 

may be performed in an office; (v) specify the availability of 

a hospital to which a patient may be transferred; and (vi) 

specify that the anesthesia provider or the doctor supervising 

the anesthesia must give the order for discharge. 
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Issues: The primary advantage to the public is greater 

protection for office-based procedures requiring moderate 

sedation or anesthesia and more information about the 

physician, the plan for anesthesia and expectations for 

discharge. There are no disadvantages to the public. There are 

no advantages or disadvantages to the agency or the 

Commonwealth. This proposal was carefully negotiated with 

specialty groups of physicians to ensure that the central issue 

remained public protection but qualified providers were not 

excluded. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. In 

response to a petition for rulemaking from the Medical 

Society of Virginia, the Board of Medicine (Board) proposes 

to amend its requirements for office-based anesthesia to: 1) 

define the administration of 300 milligrams or more of 

lidocaine (or equivalent doses of local anesthetics) as 

moderate sedation that is subject to the requirements of this 

regulation, 2) limit the duration of a procedure that include 

sedation that falls under the requirements of this regulation to 

last no longer than four hours if the anesthesia is not 

administered by an anesthesiologist or a certified registered 

nurse anesthetist or eight hours if anesthesia is administered 

by one of these entities and 3) define "reasonable proximity" 

for the safe transfer of patients to a hospital in case of an 

emergency as "accessible within 30 minutes of the office." 

The Board also proposes several clarifying changes that will 

likely not affect costs. 

Result of Analysis. There is insufficient information to 

ascertain whether benefits will outweigh costs for one 

proposed substantive change. Benefits likely outweigh costs 

for all proposed clarifying changes and the two other 

proposed substantive changes.  

Estimated Economic Impact. Current regulation applies to 

"the administration of moderate sedation/conscience sedation, 

deep sedation, general anesthesia or regional anesthesia 

consisting of a major conductive block" in an office setting. 

On the recommendation of the Medical Society of Virginia, 

and particularly plastic surgeons that are part of that group, 

the Board proposes to also require that any procedure that 

involves the administration of 300 milligrams or more of 

lidocaine (or equivalent doses of local anesthesia) be subject 

to this regulation. This would mean that doctors who choose 

to use lidocaine or other local anesthetics in the described 

dosages as a part of an office surgery or procedure would 

newly have to follow all the requirements laid out in this 

regulation including: ensuring a pre-anesthetic check-up is 

performed, developing an anesthesia plan and having written 

protocols for office-based anesthesia, procedure selection and 

patient evaluation. Doctors' offices where such procedures are 

performed would also newly be required to be within 

reasonable proximity of a licensed general hospital capable of 

providing necessary emergency services (within 30 minutes' 

drive, according to the proposed regulation).  

This new requirement will likely increase costs (or decrease 

revenue) for doctors who perform office-based procedures or 

surgeries under lidocaine or other local anesthetics; these 

doctors will either incur additional bookkeeping and other 

time costs for any procedure that requires these local 

anesthetics, have to stop performing those procedures if they 

know or suspect that the patient will require 300 milligrams 

or more of lidocaine (or equivalent for other local anesthetics) 

or will have to switch to other, presumably less optimal, 

forms of anesthesia. Specifically, doctors will definitely incur 

additional costs that accrue on a per patient basis (such as 

time spent either performing pre-anesthesia checkups or 

ensuring that such checkups have been performed) but will 

only incur time and other costs for writing and keeping 

required protocols if they only perform in-office surgeries 

that are currently exempt from this regulation but will not be 

exempt under the proposed regulation. Doctors who now only 

perform surgery and procedures requiring minor, local or 

topical anesthesia and whose offices are more than 30 

minutes from a hospital would either have to move offices, 

switch to using other, presumably less optimal, anesthesia or 

stop performing the surgeries they now offer altogether. 

Affected patients will likely also incur costs on account of 

pre-anesthesia checkup requirements as well as other 

requirements that would extend the time and doctor resources 

required to care for them.  

Research indicates that lidocaine is given in doses that vary 

according to the weight of the patient. Specifically, 

Drugs.com
1
 reports that the usual adult dose for lidocaine 

used as a local anesthetic "varies with procedure, degree of 

anesthesia needed, vascularity of tissue, duration of 

anesthesia required and physical condition of (the) patient" 

but can go up to a maximum dosage of 4.5 milligrams per 

kilogram of weight not more than every two hours. The 

website for the University of Iowa Healthcare System
2
 reports 

that the maximum safe dosage of lidocaine without 

epinephrine for pediatric patients is 4 milligrams per kilogram 

of weight. This means that for adults, any procedure 

involving administration of the maximum safe dosage of 

lidocaine for patients weighing more than approximately 147 

lbs.
3
 would automatically fall under the more stringent rules 

for moderate or deep sedation or general anesthesia even if 

that patient is in excellent general health and would otherwise 

not need the heightened scrutiny and care plans required 

under this regulation.  

In addition to disproportionately affecting patients that weigh 

more than 147 pounds, this requirement may have a 

disproportionate adverse impact on patients that live in rural 

parts of Virginia that do not have a local hospital within 30 

minutes. Patients that now can have minor procedures or 

surgeries involving lidocaine (300 milligrams of more) in a 

local doctor's office would, under the proposed requirement, 

have to incur travel expenses, and possibly higher medical 
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costs to have that procedure or surgery done either at a 

hospital or at a non-local doctor's office that is close enough 

to a hospital to meet the requirements of this regulation. All 

of these potential costs would have to be measured against the 

possible benefits to patients of limiting the absolute amount 

of lidocaine that can be used in a procedure without enhanced 

requirements kicking in. There is currently insufficient 

information on the magnitude of potential benefits that may 

accrue on account of this change to ascertain whether benefits 

will outweigh costs.  

Current regulation does not set a limit on the duration of in-

office surgeries using moderate sedation/conscience sedation, 

deep sedation, general anesthesia or regional anesthesia 

consisting of a major conductive blocks but only requires that 

such surgeries be "of a duration and degree of complexity that 

will permit the patient to recover and be discharged from the 

facility in less than 24 hours." The Board now proposes to 

specify that surgeries occurring under the auspices of this 

regulation may last no longer than four hours if the anesthesia 

is not administered by an anesthesiologist or a certified 

registered nurse anesthetist or eight hours if anesthesia is 

administered by one of these entities. Because research 

indicates
4
 that the odds of a whole host of potential side 

effects and adverse outcomes increase as the length of time 

spent under anesthesia increases, patients will likely benefit 

from this restriction. Patient benefits will likely outweigh any 

costs doctors incur for not being able to perform surgeries 

over four (or eight) hours in their offices. 

Current regulation requires that doctors who perform in-office 

surgery using moderate sedation/conscience sedation, deep 

sedation, general anesthesia or regional anesthesia consisting 

of a major conductive blocks be able to transfer their patients 

to a hospital in "reasonable proximity" to their office. The 

Board now proposes to specify that reasonable proximity is 

within 30 minutes of the doctor's office. Although the actual 

specified time is new, it is likely that the Board already 

enforced this provision using the same or similar time limits. 

In any case, all affected entities in both the regulated and 

regulating community will likely benefit from the additional 

certainty that this change will bring.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. Board staff reports that 

these changes will potentially affect all Board licensed 

doctors of medicine, osteopathy and podiatry that perform 

surgeries in their offices as well as all of these doctors' 

patients. 

Localities Particularly Affected. Rural communities that are 

not in close proximity to a hospital will be disproportionately 

affected by these proposed changes.  

Projected Impact on Employment. These proposed changes 

may moderately decrease employment in doctors' offices that 

currently are not subject to these regulations but will become 

subject to them on account of the proposed changes. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The value 

of some medical, osteopathic or podiatric practices may 

decrease if they incur costs on account of these proposed 

changes. 

Real Estate Development Costs. These proposed changes will 

likely not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. Small business doctors will likely 

incur additional costs that accrue on a per patient basis (such 

as time spent either performing pre-anesthesia checkups or 

ensuring that such checkups have been performed) but will 

only incur time and other costs for writing and keeping 

required protocols if they only perform in-office surgeries 

that are currently exempt from this regulation but will not be 

exempt under the proposed regulation. Doctors who now only 

perform surgery and procedures requiring minor, local or 

topical anesthesia and whose offices are more than 30 

minutes from a hospital would either have to move offices, 

switch to using other, presumably less optimal, anesthesia or 

stop performing the surgeries they now offer altogether. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. Doctors 

and their patients would incur fewer costs if lidocaine 

standards were written so that any imposed limit on the 

amount of lidocaine is evidence based and varies directly with 

the weight of the patient as that appears to be the way 

lidocaine is administered. 

Adverse Impacts:  

Businesses: Doctors who own their practices will likely incur 

additional costs that accrue on a per patient basis (such as 

time spent either performing pre-anesthesia checkups or 

ensuring that such checkups have been performed) but will 

only incur time and other costs for writing and keeping 

required protocols if they only perform in-office surgeries 

that are currently exempt from this regulation but will not be 

exempt under the proposed regulation. Doctors who now only 

perform surgery and procedures requiring minor, local or 

topical anesthesia and whose offices are more than 30 

minutes from a hospital would either have to move offices, 

switch to using other, presumably less optimal, anesthesia or 

stop performing the surgeries they now offer altogether. 

Localities: Rural localities that currently do not have a 

hospital in close proximity (as defined by this proposed 

regulation) may see a disproportionate adverse impact on the 

availability of minor out-patient surgical services offered. 

Other Entities: The proposed changing categorization of 

lidocaine in doses at or over 300 milligrams (or like amounts 

of other local anesthetics) may have a disproportionate 

adverse impact on patients that live in rural parts of Virginia 

who do not have a local hospital within 30 minutes. Patients 

who now can have minor procedures or surgeries involving 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 7 Virginia Register of Regulations November 30, 2015 

1227 

lidocaine (300 milligrams of more) in a local doctor's office 

would, under the proposed requirement, have to incur travel 

expenses and possibly higher medical costs to have that 

procedure or surgery done either at a hospital or at a non-local 

doctor's office that is close enough to a hospital to meet the 

requirements of this regulation. 

_____________________________________________ 
1http://www.drugs.com/dosage/lidocaine.html  
2https://wiki.uiowa.edu/display/protocols/Maximum+Recommended+Doses+

and+Duration+of+Local+Anesthetics 
3300/4.5= 66.6666666667 kilograms which is just shy of 147 pounds. 
4See, for instance, "Duration of General Anesthesia and Surgical Outcome": 

Yoho, Robert, et al. (http://www.dryoho.com/dr-
yoho/clinical/duration_anesthesia.pdf). This study notes that research found 

the odds of patient death, post-operative nausea and vomiting, venous 

thromboemboli, post-operative surgical site S. aureus infection, post-
operative core hypothermia and cardiopulmonary complication increased 

either as time under anesthesia increased or in surgeries over a certain 

duration (in this study, either two or three hours). 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Medicine submits the following response to the analysis of 

the Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) of 

amendments to 18VAC85-20, Regulations Governing the 

Practice of Medicine, Osteopathic Medicine, Podiatry and 

Chiropractic, relating to rules for office-based anesthesia.  

As the petitioner for the proposed regulations, the Medical 

Society of Virginia (MSV) was asked to comment on the 

DPB analysis. The board concurs with the comments listed 

below: 

MSV agrees with the DBP analysis that "Benefits likely 

outweigh costs for all proposed clarifying changes and two 

other proposed substantive changes. 

As to DPB's analysis of what we presume they are referring 

to as "one proposed substantive change," we do concur that 

the ability to accurately quantify whether or not the benefits 

exceed the costs is not a precise calculation. However, several 

of the items noted by the DPB analysis as potentially 

increasing costs may indeed already be part of a physician's 

routine standard of care. For example, a pre-anesthetic check-

up, an anesthesia plan, and written protocols for office-based 

anesthesia, procedure selection, and patient evaluation are 

accepted, specialty developed standards of care for physicians 

routinely performing these procedures. Though the proposed 

regulations may increase costs for those physicians not 

currently following these standards, we believe that number 

to be relatively limited, that some may elect to do this 

voluntarily, but that for those who choose not to follow 

accepted quality and safety standards, appropriate regulations 

may create the added incentive needed for proper patient care. 

The analysis also suggests that "Doctors who now only 

perform surgery and procedures requiring minor, local or 

topical anesthesia, and whose offices are more than 30 

minutes from a hospital would either have to move offices, 

switch to using other, presumably less optimal anesthesia or 

stop performing the surgeries they now offer altogether" and 

therefore would incur higher costs or less revenue. It is the 

MSV's understanding that doctors only performing surgery 

that involves the administration of topical anesthesia, local 

anesthesia, minor conductive blocks, or minimal 

sedation/anxiolysis that do not result in alteration of 

consciousness beyond minimal pre-operative tranquilization 

are not subject to these regulations. (See 18VAC85-20-320 A 

1 - Applicability of requirements for office-based anesthesia). 

Therefore, additional costs would not be incurred. 

In addition, the DPB analysis discusses the application of the 

300 milligrams or more of lidocaine as the base threshold for 

complying with these regulations and the extent to which it 

would apply based upon a dosage to weight ratio. The MSV 

work group that developed these proposed regulations 

consisted of board certified physicians from several 

specialties, including family practice, plastic surgery, 

orthopedics, and pediatrics. The 300 milligrams dosage was 

chosen for these proposed regulations in order to provide for 

an amount that was easily understood, measurable, applicable 

across the board, and recognized by other states with 

comparable regulations on office-based anesthesia. Further, 

the use of 300 mg or more of lidocaine for certain prolonged 

invasive procedures when it is not used primarily as a local 

anesthetic is not always the best practice and will signal to the 

physician that an alternative, more appropriate anesthetic 

agent should be used. Guidelines and trigger warnings like 

these can be readily captured in written protocols for office-

based anesthesia, leading to better and safer quality of care. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) define the administration of 

300 milligrams or more of lidocaine as moderate sedation, 

(ii) address informed consent by patients, including 

knowledge about whether the physician is board certified 

or board eligible, (iii) require documentation of 

complications during surgery or recovery, (iv) establish a 

time limit on procedures that may be performed in an 

office, (v) address proximity to a hospital to which a 

patient may be transferred, and (vi) specify that the 

anesthesia provider or the doctor supervising the 

anesthesia must give the order for discharge. 

18VAC85-20-320. General provisions.  

A. Applicability of requirements for office-based anesthesia.  

1. The administration of topical anesthesia, local 

anesthesia, minor conductive blocks, or minimal 

sedation/anxiolysis, not involving a drug-induced alteration 

of consciousness other than minimal preoperative 

tranquilization, is not subject to the requirements for 

office-based anesthesia in this part. A health care 

practitioner administering such agents shall adhere to an 

accepted standard of care as appropriate to the level of 

anesthesia or sedation, including evaluation, drug 

selection, administration, and management of 

complications.  

http://www.drugs.com/dosage/lidocaine.html
https://wiki.uiowa.edu/display/protocols/Maximum+Recommended+Doses+and+Duration+of+Local+Anesthetics
https://wiki.uiowa.edu/display/protocols/Maximum+Recommended+Doses+and+Duration+of+Local+Anesthetics
http://www.dryoho.com/dr-yoho/clinical/duration_anesthesia.pdf
http://www.dryoho.com/dr-yoho/clinical/duration_anesthesia.pdf
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2. The administration of moderate sedation/conscious 

sedation, deep sedation, general anesthesia, or regional 

anesthesia consisting of a major conductive block are 

subject to these requirements for office-based anesthesia in 

this part. The administration of 300 milligrams or more of 

lidocaine or equivalent doses of local anesthetics shall be 

deemed to be subject to these requirements for office-based 

anesthesia in this part. 

3. Levels of anesthesia or sedation referred to in this 

chapter shall relate to the level of anesthesia or sedation 

intended and documented by the practitioner in the 

preoperative anesthesia plan.  

B. A doctor of medicine, osteopathic medicine, or podiatry 

administering office-based anesthesia or supervising such 

administration shall:  

1. Perform a preanesthetic evaluation and examination or 

ensure that it has been performed;  

2. Develop the anesthesia plan or ensure that it has been 

developed;  

3. Ensure that the anesthesia plan has been discussed with 

the patient or responsible party preoperatively and 

informed consent has been obtained;  

4. Ensure patient assessment and monitoring through the 

pre-, peri- preprocedure, periprocedure, and post-procedure 

phases, addressing not only physical and functional status, 

but also physiological and cognitive status;  

5. Ensure provision of indicated post-anesthesia care; and  

6. Remain physically present or immediately available, as 

appropriate, to manage complications and emergencies 

until discharge criteria have been met; and 

7. Document any complications occurring during surgery 

or during recovery in the medical record. 

C. All written policies, procedures, and protocols required 

for office-based anesthesia shall be maintained and available 

for inspection at the facility.  

18VAC85-20-340. Procedure/anesthesia selection and 

patient evaluation.  

A. A written protocol shall be developed and followed for 

procedure selection to include but not be limited to:  

1. The doctor providing or supervising the anesthesia shall 

ensure that the procedure to be undertaken is within the 

scope of practice of the health care practitioners and the 

capabilities of the facility.  

2. The procedure or combined procedures shall be of a 

duration and degree of complexity that shall not exceed 

four hours and that will permit the patient to recover and 

be discharged from the facility in less than 24 hours. The 

procedure or combined procedures may be extended for up 

to eight hours if the anesthesia is provided by an 

anesthesiologist or a certified registered nurse anesthesist. 

3. The level of anesthesia used shall be appropriate for the 

patient, the surgical procedure, the clinical setting, the 

education and training of the personnel, and the equipment 

available. The choice of specific anesthesia agents and 

techniques shall focus on providing an anesthetic that will 

be effective, and appropriate and will address the specific 

needs of patients while also ensuring rapid recovery to 

normal function with maximum efforts to control post-

operative pain, nausea, or other side effects.  

B. A written protocol shall be developed for patient 

evaluation to include but not be limited to:  

1. The preoperative anesthesia evaluation of a patient shall 

be performed by the health care practitioner administering 

the anesthesia or supervising the administration of 

anesthesia. It shall consist of performing an appropriate 

history and physical examination, determining the patient's 

physical status classification, developing a plan of 

anesthesia care, acquainting the patient or the responsible 

individual with the proposed plan, and discussing the risks 

and benefits.  

2. The condition of the patient, specific morbidities that 

complicate anesthetic management, the specific intrinsic 

risks involved, and the nature of the planned procedure 

shall be considered in evaluating a patient for office-based 

anesthesia.  

3. Patients who have pre-existing medical or other 

conditions that may be of particular risk for complications 

shall be referred to a facility appropriate for the procedure 

and administration of anesthesia. Nothing relieves the 

licensed health care practitioner of the responsibility to 

make a medical determination of the appropriate surgical 

facility or setting.  

C. Office-based anesthesia shall only be provided for 

patients in physical status classifications for Classes I, II and 

III. Patients in Classes IV and V shall not be provided 

anesthesia in an office-based setting.  

18VAC85-20-350. Informed consent.  

A. Prior to administration, the anesthesia plan shall be 

discussed with the patient or responsible party by the health 

care practitioner administering the anesthesia or supervising 

the administration of anesthesia. Informed consent for the 

nature and objectives of the anesthesia planned shall be in 

writing and obtained from the patient or responsible party 

before the procedure is performed. Such consent shall include 

a discussion of discharge planning and what care or assistance 

the patient is expected to require after discharge.  Informed 

consent shall only be obtained after a discussion of the risks, 

benefits, and alternatives, contain the name of the anesthesia 

provider, and be documented in the medical record.  

B. The surgical consent forms shall be executed by the 

patient or the responsible party and shall contain a statement 

that the doctor performing the surgery is board certified or 

board eligible by one of the American Board of Medical 

Specialties boards, the Bureau of Osteopathic Specialists of 

the American Osteopathic Association, or the American 
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Board of Foot and Ankle Surgery. The forms shall either list 

which board or contain a statement that doctor performing the 

surgery is not board certified or board eligible. 

C. The surgical consent forms shall indicate whether the 

surgery is elective or medically necessary. If a consent is 

obtained in an emergency, the surgical consent form shall 

indicate the nature of the emergency. 

18VAC85-20-370. Emergency and transfer protocols.  

A. There shall be written protocols for handling emergency 

situations, including medical emergencies and internal and 

external disasters. All personnel shall be appropriately trained 

in and regularly review the protocols and the equipment and 

procedures for handing handling emergencies.  

B. There shall be written protocols for the timely and safe 

transfer of patients to a prespecified hospital or hospitals 

within a reasonable proximity. For purposes of this section, 

"reasonable proximity" shall mean that a licensed general 

hospital capable of providing necessary services is normally 

accessible within 30 minutes of the office. There shall be a 

written or electronic transfer agreement with such hospital or 

hospitals. 

18VAC85-20-380. Discharge policies and procedures.  

A. There shall be written policies and procedures outlining 

discharge criteria. Such criteria shall include stable vital 

signs, responsiveness and orientation, ability to move 

voluntarily, controlled pain, and minimal nausea and 

vomiting.  

B. Discharge from anesthesia care is the responsibility of the 

health care practitioner providing or the doctor supervising 

the anesthesia care and shall only occur when patients have: 

1. The patient has met specific physician-defined criteria; 

and 

2. The health care practitioner providing or the doctor 

supervising the anesthetic care has given the order for 

discharge.  

C. Written instructions and an emergency phone number 

shall be provided to the patient. Patients shall be discharged 

with a responsible individual who has been instructed with 

regard to the patient's care.  

D. At least one person trained in advanced resuscitative 

techniques shall be immediately available until all patients are 

discharged.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-01; Filed November 9, 2015, 8:49 a.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-50. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Physician Assistants (amending 18VAC85-

50-160).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2952.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 30, 2015. 

Effective Date: January 15, 2016.  

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 

Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4558, FAX (804) 

527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia provides the 

Board of Medicine the authority to promulgate regulations 

that are reasonable and necessary to administer effectively the 

regulatory system. Section 54.1-2952.1 of the Code of 

Virginia authorizes the Board of Medicine, in consultation 

with the Board of Pharmacy, to promulgate regulations 

governing the prescriptive authority of physician assistants.  

Purpose: The purpose of the amendment is to modify a 

regulation that is considered burdensome by physician 

assistants. Facilitating prescribing practice by physician 

assistants, under the supervision of a physician, will enhance 

efficiency and access to patient care. Since disclosures about 

the supervising physician and the licensure of the physician 

assistant remain in regulation, the amendment to the 

regulation will not lessen protection for the health and safety 

of the patient. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: There is no 

controversy in the adoption of this amendment; it is 

recommended by physician assistants and the supervising 

physicians with whom they work. 

Substance: The amended regulation will eliminate the 

requirement for the name of the supervising physician on a 

prescription written by a physician assistant if the assistant is 

writing a prescription for a Schedule VI drug. The physician's 

name on the prescription will continue to be required if the 

assistant is writing a prescription for Schedule II through V 

drugs. Amendments also will clarify how the physician 

assistant can comply with the disclosure requirement 

specified in § 54.1-2952.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is facilitation of 

prescribing by physician assistants for greater efficiency and 

access. There are no disadvantages to the public. There are no 

advantages or disadvantages to the agency or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. As a 

result of a recommendation from the Advisory Board on 

Physician Assistants, the Board of Medicine (Board) proposes 

to eliminate the requirement for the signature of a supervising 

physician or podiatrist on prescriptions for Schedule VI drugs 

written by physician assistants.  

Result of Analysis. There is insufficient information to 

ascertain if benefits will outweigh costs for this regulatory 

action. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Current law requires that 

physician assistants practice under a written supervisory 
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agreement with a licensed physician or podiatrist "which 

provides for the direction and supervision by the licensee of 

the prescriptive practices of the assistant. Such agreement 

must contain the controlled substances that the physician 

assistant is or is not authorized to prescribe and may restrict 

such prescriptive authority as deemed appropriate by the 

physician or podiatrist providing direction and supervision." 

As part of that supervision, physician assistants are required 

to have their supervising physician's or podiatrist's name on 

all prescriptions that they write whatever the Schedule the 

prescribed drugs might be in. In February of 2015, the Board 

considered a recommendation from the Advisory Board on 

Physician Assistants to eliminate the requirement that a 

supervising physician's or podiatrist's name be on 

prescriptions for all Schedule drugs (Schedules II through VI) 

written by physician assistants as this requirement was seen 

as unnecessarily burdensome. The Board decided at its 

meeting on June 18, 2015, to eliminate the requirement for 

the signature of a supervising physician or podiatrist on 

prescriptions for Schedule VI drugs but to retain that 

requirement for prescriptions of Schedule II through V drugs.  

Board staff reports that the Board chose to amend this 

regulation in the way they did because the current system for 

electronic prescriptions used in the Commonwealth only has a 

place for two names (the prescribing physician assistant and 

the supervising physician or podiatrist) on prescriptions for 

Schedule II through V drugs that fall under the federal 

Controlled Substances Act. Board staff reports that this 

change will make it easier for physician assistants to write 

electronic prescriptions for Schedule VI drugs which are not 

controlled under federal law but are controlled under Virginia 

Code. To the extent that physician assistants currently write 

paper prescriptions for Schedule VI drugs when an electronic 

prescription sent directly to the pharmacy would allow the 

patient to avoid spending time and gas to physically pick up 

their prescription, this change will likely benefit both 

physician assistants and patients. 

Schedule VI drugs include topical anesthetics, and topical and 

oral anti-allergy drugs (including antihistamines and mast cell 

stabilizers), anti-fungals, anti-glaucoma drugs, anti-infective 

drugs (including antibiotics and antivirals) and anti-

inflammatory drugs (including steroids like prednisone and 

Solu-Medrol). While these drugs are not addictive or as 

potentially dangerous as drugs in Schedules II through V, 

they can still be dangerous if prescribed incorrectly or for too 

long. Steroids, for instance, can induce Cushing's Syndrome 

in individuals who take them long term. Although Board staff 

reports that physician assistants have other requirements to 

disclose the name of their supervising physician that will 

likely protect patient health, removing the supervising 

physician's or podiatrist's name from Schedule VI drug 

prescriptions may decrease the ability of outside entities like 

pharmacists, who are not privy to information about the 

physician assistant's supervisor outside of the information 

explicitly contained on a prescription,  to report potential 

contra-indications and problematic prescriptive practices 

directly to that supervisor. Without knowing either the 

magnitude of time savings for physician assistants and 

patients due to easier electronic prescribing or the potential 

magnitude of any possible harm that may arise from this 

change, it is not possible to say if benefits will outweigh costs 

for this regulatory change. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. This regulatory change will 

affect all physician assistants as well as the patients who see 

them. Board staff reports that there are currently 3,058 

individuals who are licensed as physician assistants in the 

Commonwealth.  

Localities Particularly Affected. This proposed change will 

not particularly affect any locality in the Commonwealth.  

Projected Impact on Employment. This proposed change is 

unlikely to impact employment in the Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 

proposed change will likely have no impact on the use or 

value of private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This proposed change will 

likely not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. No small businesses will incur costs 

on account of this regulatory change. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. No small 

businesses will incur costs on account of this regulatory 

change. 

Adverse Impacts:  

Businesses: This proposed change is unlikely to adversely 

impact any business in the Commonwealth. 

Localities: This proposed change is unlikely to adversely 

impact localities. 

Other Entities: This proposed change may adversely affect 

patients prescribed Schedule VI drugs if pharmacists are less 

likely or able to contact supervising physicians when 

problems with those prescriptions arise and contacting the 

prescribing physician assistant does not yield corrective 

action. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: In the 

adoption of a fast-track regulation, the Board of Medicine 

does not concur with the statement of the Department of 

Planning and Budget that "removing the supervising 

physician's or podiatrist's name from Schedule VI drug 

prescriptions may decrease the ability of outside entities like 

pharmacists, who are not privy to information about the 

physician assistant's supervisor outside of the information 

explicitly contained on a prescription, to report potential 
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contra-indications and problematic prescriptive practices 

directly to that supervisor." Pharmacists will have access to 

that information through the national provider number on 

each prescription. Additionally, nurse practitioners are not 

required to list the physician with whom they have a practice 

agreement on any prescription in Schedules II through VI. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) eliminate the requirement for the 

supervising physician's name to appear on a prescription 

written by a physician assistant for a Schedule VI drug and 

(ii) and clarify how a physician assistant may comply with 

the requirement to disclose to a patient that he is a 

licensed physician assistant.  

18VAC85-50-160. Disclosure.  

A. Each prescription for a Schedule II through V drug shall 

bear the name of the supervising physician and of the 

physician assistant.  

B. The physician assistant shall disclose to the patient that 

he is a licensed physician assistant, and also the name, 

address and telephone number of the supervising physician. 

Such disclosure may shall either be included on the 

prescription pad or may be given in writing to the patient.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4276; Filed November 9, 2015, 1:32 p.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-120. Regulations Governing 

the Licensure of Athletic Trainers (amending 18VAC85-

120-10).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2957.4 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 30, 2015. 

Effective Date: January 15, 2016.  

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 

Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4558, FAX (804) 

527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia provides the 

Board of Medicine the authority to promulgate regulations 

that are reasonable and necessary to administer effectively the 

regulatory system. 

The specific legal authority to promulgate regulations for 

licensure is found in § 54.1-2957.4 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: The purpose of the amended regulation is to define a 

"student athletic trainer" so there is no confusion between the 

activities of a person enrolled in an athletic training 

educational program at the bachelor's or master's degree level 

and a person who is a high school student who is acting as an 

aide to the athletic director or a coach. The student athletic 

trainer is permitted to perform tasks within the scope of a 

licensee provided he is appropriately trained and supervised 

in accordance with the provisions of 18VAC85-120-130 B. 

However, using a high school aide who does not have the 

educational background and skills to perform such tasks is 

potentially dangerous to the health and safety of student 

athletes. Therefore, it is necessary to define the term "student 

athletic trainer" to ensure that there is no confusion about the 

application of the regulation. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: There is no 

controversy in the adoption of this amendment; it is clarifying 

in nature and may prevent a misunderstanding of the 

regulations. 

Substance: The amended regulation will define a "student 

athletic trainer" as a person enrolled in an accredited 

bachelor's or master's level educational program in athletic 

training. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is clarity in the 

regulation so that a high school student is not allowed to 

practice as a "student athletic trainer" in the performance of 

tasks that should be reserved for persons enrolled in an 

athletic training program on the college or university level. 

There are no disadvantages to the public.  

There are no advantages or disadvantages to the agency or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Medicine (Board) proposes to add a definition for 

student athletic trainer to its regulation that sets rules for the 

licensing of athletic trainers.  

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for 

this proposed regulation. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Currently, this regulation 

contains rules for student athletic trainers but does not contain 

a definition of what a student athletic trainer is. The Board 

now proposes to define a student athletic trainer as "a person 

enrolled in an accredited bachelor's or master's level 

educational program in athletic training." No entities are 

likely to incur costs on account of this change. To the extent 

that adding this definition clarifies the Board's rules, 

individuals who are seeking to understand these rules will 

benefit. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. This proposed change will 

affect all student athletic trainers as well as any other 

individuals who might read this regulation.  

Localities Particularly Affected. This proposed change will 

not particularly affect any locality in the Commonwealth.  

Projected Impact on Employment. This proposed change will 

likely not affect employment in the Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 

proposed change will likely have no impact on the use or 

value of private property. 
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Real Estate Development Costs. This proposed change will 

likely not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. No small businesses will incur costs 

on account of this regulatory change. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. No small 

businesses will incur costs on account of this regulatory 

change. 

Adverse Impacts:  

Businesses: This proposed change is unlikely to adversely 

impact any business in the Commonwealth. 

Localities: This proposed change is unlikely to adversely 

impact localities. 

Other Entities: This proposed change is unlikely to adversely 

impact any other entities in the Commonwealth. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Medicine concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendment clarifies that the term "student athletic 

trainer" as used in the regulation means a person enrolled 

in an accredited bachelor's or master's level education 

program in athletic training. 

Part I  

General Provisions  

18VAC85-120-10. Definitions. 

In addition to words and terms defined in § 54.1-2900 of the 

Code of Virginia, the following words and terms when used 

in this chapter shall have the following meanings, unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Advisory board" means the Advisory Board on Athletic 

Training to the board as specified in § 54.1-2957.5 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

"Athletic trainer" means a person licensed by the Virginia 

Board of Medicine to engage in the practice of athletic 

training as defined in § 54.1-2900 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Medicine. 

"NATABOC" means the National Athletic Trainers' 

Association Board of Certification. 

"Student athletic trainer" means a person enrolled in an 

accredited bachelor's or master's level educational program in 

athletic training. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4277; Filed November 9, 2015, 8:52 a.m.  

BOARDS OF NURSING AND MEDICINE 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-30. Regulations Governing 

the Licensure of Nurse Practitioners (amending 

18VAC90-30-70).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2957 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 30, 2015. 

Effective Date: January 15, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 

Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4515, FAX 

(804) 527-4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia provides the 

Boards of Nursing and Medicine the authority to promulgate 

regulations to administer the regulatory system. The specific 

mandate to promulgate regulations for the practice of nurse 

practitioners is found in § 54.1-2957 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: To be licensed as a nurse practitioner in Virginia, 

one must have certification from one of the national certifying 

bodies that examine the competency of applicants in certain 

specialties. While nurse practitioners are allowed to renew 

their national certification and their Virginia license in 

specialty categories that are revised or eliminated, categories 

and titles are revised to reflect changes in the practice 

environment and to be more focused on patient populations. 

The public will benefit from nurse practitioners who have 

specialty education and training that prepares them to protect 

the health and safety of patients. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The fast-track action 

is appropriate because the amendments align licensure 

categories with current professional certification from 

national certifying bodies. The amendment follows the 

pattern of allowing a nurse practitioner to retain a specialty 

category that was amended or eliminated or to be issued a 

new specialty if he meets the criteria for certification. 

Substance: Amendments to the regulation conform the 

categories of nurse practitioner specialties to the changes in 

national certification categories. Nurse practitioners who hold 

a title in a specialty category that is amended will be allowed 

to retain the specialty category in which they were initially 

licensed or, if qualified, be issued a license in a new specialty 

category. 

Issues: There are no advantages or disadvantages to the public 

as there are no changes in scope of practice or qualification 

for licensure. There are no advantages or disadvantages to the 

agency or the Commonwealth. 
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Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. Under 

the Regulations Governing the Licensure of Nurse 

Practitioners, the Boards of Nursing and Medicine (Boards) 

issue nurse practitioner licenses by specialty category. The 

Boards propose to conform the categories of nurse 

practitioner specialties in the regulation to the current 

categories for which national certifications are available. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Nurse practitioners may only 

work within the specialty category for which they are 

licensed. In order to renew a license biennially, the nurse 

practitioner shall hold current professional certification
1
 in the 

area of specialty practice from one of the national certifying 

agencies.
2
 According to the Department of Health 

Professions, the national certifying agencies permit 

certification renewal of eliminated categories. Similarly, the 

Boards permit renewal of licenses in categories no longer 

specified in this regulation, as long as the national 

certification remains current.
3
  

Thus, the Boards' proposal to eliminate, add, and amend 

specialty category names in order to conform the categories to 

those currently offered by the national certifying agencies 

will have no impact on current licensees. The proposal is 

beneficial in that it will make clear to potential new licensees 

the categories in which they may gain licensure.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 

particularly affect individuals seeking nurse practitioner 

licensure. The 8371 individuals currently licensed as nurse 

practitioners are not significantly affected. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

do not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments do not significantly affect the use and 

value of private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

do not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments do not 

significantly affect small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendments do not adversely affect small 

businesses. 

Adverse Impacts:  

Businesses: The proposed amendments do not adversely 

affect businesses. 

Localities: The proposed amendments do not adversely affect 

localities. 

Other Entities: The proposed amendments do not adversely 

affect other entities. 

________________________________________ 
1If the nurse practitioner was initially licensed prior to May 8, 2002, he may 

alternatively complete at least 40 hours of continuing education in the area of 
specialty practice.  
2Specifically the Board accepts certification from the following: American 

Midwifery Certification Board, American Nurses Credentialing Center, 
National Board of Certification and Recertification for Nurse Anesthetists, 

Pediatric Nursing Certification Board, National Certification Corporation, 

American Academy of Nurse Practitioners, and American Association of 
Critical-Care Nurses Certification Corporation. 
3Source: Department of Health Professions 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Boards of Nursing and Medicine concur with the analysis of 

the Department of Planning and Budget on proposed 

amended regulations for 18VAC90-30, relating to the 

specialty categories for licensure of nurse practitioners. 

Summary: 

The amendments conform the categories of nurse 

practitioner specialties to the current categories for which 

national certification is available.  

18VAC90-30-70. Categories of licensed nurse 

practitioners.  

A. The boards shall license nurse practitioners consistent 

with their specialty education and certification in the 

following categories (a two-digit suffix appears on licenses to 

designate category):  

1. Adult/geriatric acute care nurse practitioner (01);  

2. Family nurse practitioner (02);  

3. Pediatric/primary care nurse practitioner (03);  

4. Geriatric Adult/geriatric primary care nurse practitioner 

(07);  

5. Certified registered nurse anesthetist (08);  

6. Certified nurse midwife (09);  

7. Neonatal nurse practitioner (13);  

8. Women's health nurse practitioner (14);  

9. Acute care nurse practitioner (16); and  

10. 9. Psychiatric nurse/mental health practitioner (17); and 

10. Pediatric/acute care nurse practitioner (18).  

B. Other categories of licensed nurse practitioners shall be 

licensed if the Committee of the Joint Boards of Nursing and 

Medicine determines that the category meets the requirements 

of this chapter.  

C. Nurse practitioners licensed prior to March 9, 2005 

January 15, 2016, may retain:  
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1. Retain the specialty category in which they were initially 

licensed,; or, if 

2. If the specialty category has been subsequently deleted 

and if qualified by certification, be reissued issued a 

license in a specialty category listed in subsection A of this 

section that is consistent with such certification.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4457; Filed November 9, 2015, 8:54 a.m.  

BOARD OF NURSING 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Nursing is claiming an 

exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, which 

excludes regulations that are necessary to conform to changes in 

Virginia statutory law where no agency discretion is involved. 

The Board of Nursing will receive, consider, and respond to 

petitions from any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-30. Regulations Governing 

the Licensure of Nurse Practitioners (amending 

18VAC90-30-60).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 30, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 

Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4515, FAX 

(804) 527-4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 522 of the 2015 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendment includes the statutory authorization to issue a 

restricted volunteer license for nurse practitioners. 

Part II  

Licensure  

18VAC90-30-60. Licensure, general.  

A. No person shall perform services as a nurse practitioner 

in the Commonwealth of Virginia except as prescribed in this 

chapter and when licensed by the Boards of Nursing and 

Medicine.  

B. The boards shall license applicants who meet the 

qualifications for licensure as set forth in 18VAC90-30-80 or 

18VAC90-30-85.  

C. The boards may issue a restricted volunteer license for 

practice in accordance with provisions of § 54.1-2957.001 of 

the Code of Virginia.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with a 

hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of 

Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC90-30)  

Instructions for Licensure -- Nurse Practitioner (rev. 2/2009) 

Application for Licensure as a Nurse Practitioner (rev. 

6/2011) 

Application for Reinstatement of License as a Nurse 

Practitioner (rev. 6/2011) 

License Verification Form (rev. 7/2007) 

Application for Restricted Volunteer License (eff. 7/2015) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4543; Filed November 2, 2015, 10:29 a.m.  

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 18VAC110-20-110).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3307 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

December 1, 2015 - 9 a.m. - Perimeter Center, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 201, Board Room 2, Richmond, VA 

23233 

Public Comment Deadline: January 29, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4416, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general 

authority of Chapter 24 (§ 54.1-2400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of 

the Code of Virginia. Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of 

Virginia provides the Board of Pharmacy the authority to 

promulgate regulations that are reasonable and necessary to 

administer effectively the regulatory system. Such regulations 

shall not conflict with the purposes and intent of Chapter 24 

or of Chapter 1 (§ 54.1- 100 et seq.) and Chapter 25 (§ 54.1-

2500 et seq.) of Title 54.1. The specific statutory authority for 

the Board of Pharmacy to regulate the practice of pharmacy 

including regulations pertaining to the safety and integrity of 

drugs is found in § 54.1-3307 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: While the board is not aware of studies documenting 

the error rate for pharmacists working extensive hours 

continuously, every pharmacist who spoke to the board and 

members of the board are aware that fatigue and lack of 

concentration can and do lead to errors in filling, reviewing 

for drug interactions, and dispensing prescription drugs. For 

other professions who rely on mental acuity, such as airline 

pilots, there is a limitation on continuous hours of work. 

Therefore, the board believes it is essential for public health 

and safety that some reasonable limitation be instituted on 

continuous hours of work without any breaks for pharmacists 

in Virginia.  

Regulation is necessary to prevent, to the extent possible, 

prescription errors due to fatigue and lack of concentration by 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=85cfe003068~10&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bbe67003068~52&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bbe67003068~52&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=caddc003068~11&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=caddc003068~11&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=09d38003068~49&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b0dfe004543~1&typ=40&actno=004543&mime=application/pdf
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pharmacists in the important task of assuring the accuracy and 

integrity of controlled substances. 

Substance: The proposed regulation provides that, except in 

an emergency, a pharmacy cannot require a pharmacist to 

work longer than 12 continuous hours in any work day 

without being allowed at least six hours of off-time between 

consecutive shifts. A pharmacist working longer than six 

continuous hours must be allowed to take a 30-minute break. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public would be greater 

assurance of safety in prescription medications dispensed by 

pharmacists who are not overly-fatigued from excessive hours 

of work without any break. Pharmacists would have the 

option of continuing with a patient beyond the prescribed 

hours or remaining on duty if a replacement pharmacist is not 

available, so patients would not be neglected. There are no 

disadvantages to the public. 

There are no advantages or disadvantages to the agency or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Pharmacy (Board) proposes to provide in these 

regulations that, except in an emergency, a pharmacy cannot 

require a pharmacist to work longer than 12 continuous hours 

in any work day without being allowed at least six hours of 

off-time between consecutive shifts. A pharmacist working 

longer than six continuous hours must be allowed to take a 

30-minute break. 

Result of Analysis. The proposed amendments are beneficial 

for some entities and are costly for others.  

Estimated Economic Impact. The proposal was initially 

brought forth through a petition for rulemaking by a 

practicing Virginia pharmacist. According to the petitioner, 

there are hundreds of retail pharmacists in Virginia who are 

required to work more than 12 continuous hours (often up to 

14 hours) per day, and a large percentage of them are not 

allowed to leave the pharmacy for at least a 30 minute meal 

break. Under the proposed language a pharmacist can agree to 

work longer than 12 continuous hours in a work day without 

at least six hours of off-time between consecutive shifts or 

work longer than six continuous hours without taking a break, 

but cannot be required to do so. Thus, the proposed 

amendments will be beneficial for pharmacists who object to 

such work requirements. 

Also, the peer reviewed literature does indicate that fatigue 

contributes to pharmacist dispensing errors.
1
 Working 

numerous hours without a break and working long shifts with 

little time off in between surely does contribute to fatigue. 

Thus, the proposed amendments have the potential to reduce 

dispensing errors. Of note, the peer-reviewed literature 

appears to imply that high workload per hour is an even 

greater source of pharmacist dispensing error than a high 

quantity of consecutive hours worked.
2
 

As demonstrated by the petition for rulemaking, there are 

pharmacists who are currently required to work longer than 

12 continuous hours in a work day without at least six hours 

of offtime between consecutive shifts or work longer than six 

continuous hours without taking a break. Thus, the proposed 

prohibition on requiring such work hours will likely cause 

some pharmacies to increase staffing or redeploy existing 

staff in a less profit-maximizing manner. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 

potentially affect the 12,011 pharmacists and 1,776 

pharmacies currently licensed in the Commonwealth. 

According to the Department of Health Professions, most of 

the licensed pharmacies are owned by national chain drug 

stores and would not be considered small businesses. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

do not disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The net effect of the 

proposed amendments on total employment is uncertain. On 

the one hand, the proposed limitation on requiring certain 

work hours may cause some pharmacies to increase staffing 

to cover all hours of operation. On the other hand, the 

prohibition will increase costs for affected pharmacies. Such 

pharmacies may choose to operate for fewer hours in 

response and effectively employ fewer hours of pharmacist 

labor. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments will likely cause some pharmacies to 

increase staffing or redeploy existing staff in a less profit-

maximizing manner. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Most of the 

affected businesses are part of large chain pharmacies. Those 

small pharmacies which are currently requiring staff 

pharmacists to work longer than 12 continuous hours in a 

work day without at least six hours of off-time between 

consecutive shifts or work longer than six continuous hours 

without taking a break may incur higher staffing costs or be 

forced to be open fewer hours due to the proposed 

amendments if their staff do not voluntarily agree to work 

such hours. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. There is not an apparent alternative method 

that achieves the same policy goal at a lower cost. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

do not affect real estate development costs. 

_________________________________________________ 
1Schaheutle EI, Seston EM, Hassell K. "Factors influencing pharmacist 
performance: A review of the peerreviewed literature." Health Policy: 102 

(2011) 178-192. 
2Ibid 

Agency's Response to the Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Board of Pharmacy concurs with the analysis of the 

Department of Planning and Budget. 
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Summary: 

The proposed amendments establish that (i) except in an 

emergency, a pharmacy cannot require a pharmacist to 

work longer than 12 continuous hours in any work day 

without being allowed at least six hours of off-time between 

consecutive shifts and (ii) a pharmacist working longer 

than six continuous hours is allowed to take a 30-minute 

break. 

Part IV  

Pharmacies  

18VAC110-20-110. Pharmacy permits generally.  

A. A pharmacy permit shall not be issued to a pharmacist to 

be simultaneously in charge of more than two pharmacies.  

B. Except in an emergency, a permit holder shall not require 

a pharmacist to work longer than 12 continuous hours in any 

work day without being allowed at least six hours of off-time 

between consecutive shifts. A pharmacist working longer 

than six continuous hours shall be allowed to take a 30-

minute break. 

B. C. The pharmacist-in-charge (PIC) or the pharmacist on 

duty shall control all aspects of the practice of pharmacy. Any 

decision overriding such control of the PIC or other 

pharmacist on duty shall be deemed the practice of pharmacy 

and may be grounds for disciplinary action against the 

pharmacy permit.  

C. D. When the PIC ceases practice at a pharmacy or no 

longer wishes to be designated as PIC, he shall immediately 

return the pharmacy permit to the board indicating the 

effective date on which he ceased to be the PIC.  

D. E. Although not required by law or regulation, an 

outgoing PIC shall have the opportunity to take a complete 

and accurate inventory of all Schedule II through V controlled 

substances on hand on the date he ceases to be the PIC, unless 

the owner submits written notice to the board showing good 

cause as to why this opportunity should not be allowed.  

E. F. A PIC who is absent from practice for more than 30 

consecutive days shall be deemed to no longer be the PIC. 

Pharmacists-in-charge having knowledge of upcoming 

absences for longer than 30 days shall be responsible for 

notifying the board and returning the permit. For 

unanticipated absences by the PIC, which exceed 15 days 

with no known return date within the next 15 days, the owner 

shall immediately notify the board and shall obtain a new 

PIC.  

F. G. An application for a permit designating the new PIC 

shall be filed with the required fee within 14 days of the 

original date of resignation or termination of the PIC on a 

form provided by the board. It shall be unlawful for a 

pharmacy to operate without a new permit past the 14-day 

deadline unless the board receives a request for an extension 

prior to the deadline. The executive director for the board 

may grant an extension for up to an additional 14 days for 

good cause shown.  

G. H. Only one pharmacy permit shall be issued to conduct 

a pharmacy occupying the same designated prescription 

department space. A pharmacy shall not engage in any other 

activity requiring a license or permit from the board, such as 

manufacturing or wholesale-distributing, out of the same 

designated prescription department space. 

H. I. Before any permit is issued, the applicant shall attest to 

compliance with all federal, state and local laws and 

ordinances. A pharmacy permit shall not be issued to any 

person to operate from a private dwelling or residence after 

September 2, 2009. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-19; Filed November 9, 2015, 1:10 p.m.  

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Proposed Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC115-20. Regulations 

Governing the Practice of Professional Counseling 

(amending 18VAC115-20-10, 18VAC115-20-40 through 

18VAC115-20-70, 18VAC115-20-130). 

18VAC115-50. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Marriage and Family Therapy (amending 18VAC115-50-

10, 18VAC115-50-20, 18VAC115-50-30 through 

18VAC115-50-96, 18VAC115-50-100, 18VAC115-50-110, 

18VAC115-50-120). 

18VAC115-60. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Licensed Substance Abuse Treatment Practitioners 

(amending 18VAC115-60-10, 18VAC115-60-20, 

18VAC115-60-40 through 18VAC115-60-90, 18VAC115-

60-110, 18VAC115-60-115, 18VAC115-60-116, 

18VAC115-60-120, 18VAC115-60-130, 18VAC115-60-140; 

repealing 18VAC115-60-55).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

December 8, 2015 - 9 a.m. - Department of Health 

Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Conference Center, 2nd Floor, Hearing Room 5, 

Richmond, VA 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: January 29, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 527-4435, or 

email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia provides the 

Board of Counseling the authority to promulgate regulations 

to administer the regulatory system. The specific authority for 

the promulgation of regulations for counseling-related 

professions is found in § 54.1-3505 of the Code of Virginia.  

Purpose: In 2011, the board began a comprehensive review of 

current regulations governing the practice of professional 

counseling, marriage and family therapy, and licensed 

substance abuse practitioners. It determined that it is essential 

to continue the regulation of these licensed professions as 
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mandated by the Code of Virginia, but that there are 

modifications necessary to clarify and update requirements. 

Subsequently, the board amended 18VAC115-20 in response 

to the Governor's Regulatory Reform Project, but did not 

complete its review of 18VAC115-50 and 18VAC115-60 

until recently. The board's intent is to amend all three 

chapters in this action for consistency in requirements for 

licensed professionals.  

Since the board's primary responsibility is to license persons 

with competency adequate to safely treat the public, certain 

amendments to definitions, coursework, and requirements for 

supervised experience are being proposed. The intent of the 

amendments is to ensure that applicants have essential 

courses and experiences to prepare them for independent 

practice as licensed practitioners. Without minimal 

competency in the provision of clinical services, a licensee 

could provide inadequate or harmful care to a person with 

mental health issues. The goal of the action is to ensure 

accountability and competency for residents, supervisors, and 

licensees who provide clinical services to individuals and 

families in need of counseling. Failure to provide competent 

mental health services can have a detrimental effect on the 

individual being served and his or her family and community. 

Substance: In addition to editing and deleting outdated 

language in the regulations, the board proposes to adopt 

changes that will make general requirements for each 

profession consistent. In summary, the substance of the 

changes are as follows:  

Definitions: 

• Delete terms that are no longer defined in the Code of 

Virginia or used in the regulation and to update certain 

definitions, such as the term "internship." 

• Add definitions for terms that require some clarification, 

such as "face-to-face," or have been added to the 

regulation, such as "ancillary services." 

Fees: Delete outdated language on one-time fee reduction and 

payment to a contractor. 

Licensure by examination: 

• Update language relating to submission of transcripts to 

allow electronic transfer of documents directly from the 

educational program to the board. 

• Clarify that the board requires verification of a "mental 

health or health" professional license held in another 

jurisdiction and that there must be no unresolved 

disciplinary action on that license or certificate. 

• Clarify that passage of the licensing examination is 

required. 

• Require a report from the National Practitioner Data 

Bank (NPDB). 

Licensure by endorsement: 

• Add a requirement for a current report from NPDB to 

check on discipline in other states and malpractice history. 

• Add a requirement for an affidavit that the applicant has 

read and understood the laws and regulations governing 

the profession and the board. 

• Modify the clinical experience required for applicants 

who do not meet Virginia's education and residency 

requirements to allow licensure for those who have 

clinical practice for 24 out of the last 60 months, rather 

than five out of the last six years. (Change already made in 

18VAC115-20 in regulatory reform project). 

Degree program requirements: The sections will be amended 

to acknowledge that an educational program credentialed by 

the applicable profession meets the board's requirement for 

the program specifications of this section. 18VAC115-20 will 

be amended to add back a previous recognition of Council for 

Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational 

Programs and Council on Rehabilitation Education approval. 

Course work requirements: 

• In marriage and family regulations, three course work 

topics will be added to the required courses for 

consistency with other counseling licenses. 

• Add language deleted from the residency section 

specifying that the internship must include 20 hours of 

individual on-site supervision and 20 hours of individual 

or group off-site supervision and that internship hours 

cannot begin until completion of 30 semester hours toward 

the graduate degree. 

• For marriage and family and substance abuse treatment 

practice, add language to specify the acceptance of certain 

coursework taken in the process of obtaining licensure in 

another mental health profession. 

Residency: 

• Reduce the total number of hours in a supervised 

residency to account for the minimum of 600 hours in an 

internship which is a prerequisite for beginning a 

residency and is currently counted towards the total of 

4,000 hours. 

• Clarify that the residency must be spent in provision of 

clinical counseling services and that case management and 

recordkeeping are considered ancillary services and are 

limited to 1,000 of the 2,000 hours of client contact in a 

residency. 

• Add a requirement that the residency be completed in no 

less than 18 months or more than four years. An applicant 

who needs more time in the residency may submit 

evidence of why he or she should be allowed to continue 

practicing under supervision. 

• Amend the requirement for 200 hours of face-to-face 

supervision in a residency to include the use of real-time, 

visual contact technology. 

• Delete other professions over which the board has no 

regulatory or disciplinary authority, including 

psychologists, social workers, and physicians, as qualified 
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to serve as supervisors for residents in counseling, 

marriage and family therapy, or substance abuse 

treatment. 

General examination requirements: 

• Amend to require an applicant to pass the examination 

within two years rather than take the examination within 

two years (consistent with social work). Change is 

necessary to avoid licensure of applicant many years after 

completion of education and supervised experience. 

• Delete requirements for additional education or training 

for applicants who fail the examination twice, as the board 

has oversight for the deficiency of the applicant on the 

examination. 

• Specify that applicants who are waiting to take or retake 

the examination must remain under supervision if they are 

going to continue practicing. 

Renewal of licensure: 

• Clarify that practice with a lapsed or expired license is 

prohibited. 

Continuing competency activity criteria. 

• Add local government agencies in the groups that can 

offer continuing education to include local community 

service boards and others and update the names of other 

organizations. 

Late renewal; reinstatement: Specify that the hours of 

continuing competency activities or courses required for 

reactivation or reinstatement must be obtained within the four 

years immediately preceding application in Virginia. 

Standards of practice: 

• Strengthen prohibition on dual relationships to add 

"romantic relationship" to "sexual intimacies." Add 

"students" to the prohibition on relationship with a 

"supervisee." 

Grounds for disciplinary action: 

• Add "registration" as a category that may be disciplined 

to include persons registered with the board in a residency. 

• Specify that commission of fraud or misrepresentation in 

the submission of supervisory forms is grounds for 

disciplinary action to address recent problems with 

supervision. 

• Add a general provision that provides grounds for 

discipline for "performance of an act likely to deceive, 

defraud, or harm the public." 

Issues:  

There are no disadvantages to the public. A clearer standard 

on sexual relationships will provide greater protection for 

clients who are vulnerable to abuse in the practitioner/client 

relationship or the supervisor/supervisee or supervisor/student 

relationship. Some applicants for licensure by endorsement 

who do not qualify under the current practice requirement 

will be eligible under the proposed regulations, which could 

result in a very modest increase in the numbers of licensees 

available to provide mental health services in the 

Commonwealth.  

There are no particular advantages or disadvantages to the 

agency or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. As a 

result of a 2011 periodic review, the Board of Counseling 

(Board) proposes to amend three sets of regulations under its 

purview. The Board proposes many clarifying changes and 

several substantive changes including: 

• Re-including the Council for Accreditation of Counseling 

and Related Educational Programs and the Council on 

Rehabilitation Education as groups that can approve 

educational programs under the professional counselor 

licensure program, 

• Not requiring a transcript to be included when applying for 

licensure if one was already submitted for approval of 

residency, 

• Modifying experience requirements in 18VAC115-50 and 

18VAC115-60 for individuals seeking licensure by 

endorsement so that they only have to have clinical practice 

24 of the 60 months immediately before licensure application 

(rather than the now required five of the last six years), 

• Allowing the use of real time visual contact technology 

(Skype or other like services) to meet face-to-face supervision 

requirements during residency,  

• Allowing 20 hours of supervision obtained during an 

internship to count toward the 200 hours of face-to-face 

supervision required during residency (so long as the 

internship supervision was under a licensed professional 

counselor or, in the case of interns working toward licensure 

as a marriage and family therapist, a licensed professional 

counselor or a licensed marriage and family therapist), 

• Requiring that  residencies be completed in not less than 18 

months and not more than four years, 

• Adding local governments to the groups whose continuing 

education programs are approved by the Board to count 

toward continuing education requirements, 

• Disallowing certain professionals from providing 

supervision for residencies because the Board does not have 

disciplinary or regulatory authority over these groups and 

• Requiring applicants for licensure to provide a current 

report from the U.S. Department of Health and Human 

Services National Practitioner Data Bank, which contains 

disciplinary and malpractice history. 

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for most 

proposed regulatory changes. For several regulatory changes, 

there is insufficient information to ascertain whether benefits 

will outweigh costs. 
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Estimated Economic Impact. According to Board staff, the 

Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related 

Educational Programs (CACREP) and the Council on 

Rehabilitation Education (CORE) used to be listed in 

18VAC115-20 as groups that could approve educational 

programs but that they were removed at some point. The 

Board now proposes to add these groups back into the 

regulation. This change will allow students more flexibility in 

choosing education that will allow them to eventually be 

licensed. This may allow them to choose cheaper educational 

opportunities if there is a cost differential between programs 

that are currently approved and ones that will be approved 

once CACREP and CORE are added as approving bodies. 

Students may also benefit if increasing educational 

opportunities allow them to choose programs that are more 

convenient to where they live. 

Currently, the Board requires that a transcript of coursework 

completed be submitted with an application for licensure. 

Since transcripts must also be submitted for approval of 

residency, some individuals have ended up submitting the 

same transcript twice. To fix this situation, the Board 

proposes to only require that new transcripts be submitted 

during application for licensure if additional course work has 

been done since they were submitted for approval of 

residency. This change will benefit applicants because they 

would normally only have to obtain and submit transcripts 

once rather than twice. This will save them time and, when 

they are getting and mailing paper copies of transcripts also 

save them copy fees and mailing costs. 

Current regulations for marriage and family therapists and 

drug abuse treatment practitioners require that applicants for 

licensure by endorsement show that they have actively 

practiced their craft for five of the six years immediately 

preceding application for licensure. The Board proposes to 

amend this requirement so that applicants will only have to 

show active practice for 24 of the 60 months immediately 

preceding. This change will likely benefit licensees in other 

states who may wish to move to Virginia as they will have to 

show a shorter period of active practice before they can apply 

for licensure to ensure their ability to practice in Virginia. 

This change will also harmonize these regulations with those 

for professional therapists. 

Current regulations require residents to complete 200 hours of 

face-to-face (in person) supervision. The Board proposes to 

allow 20 hours of face-to-face supervision completed during 

an internship to count toward those 200 hours. The Board 

also proposes to allow supervisors to use Skype or other real 

time visual contact technology to meet with their supervisees. 

Both of these changes will likely benefit residents because 

they normally have to pay by the hour for supervision. These 

changes will allow them to pay for 20 fewer hours of 

supervision and will also allow them to meet with their 

supervisors using technology. This will likely require less 

travel on the part of the supervisor or the resident or both 

which may lower the per hour cost of supervision. 

Currently there is no time limit on residencies for these 

licensure programs. The Board proposes to require that 

residencies be completed in not less than 18 months and not 

more than four years (individuals who are in the midst of 

completing their residencies when these proposed regulations 

become effective will have four years from the regulations' 

effective date to finish). Individuals who cannot finish their 

residencies in four years will be able to explain the delay to 

the Board and ask for a time extension. Board staff reports 

that residents must complete 3,400 hours during their 

residency (plus 600 hours that are normally credited from 

their supervised internship) so it would be very hard, if not 

impossible, to complete these hours in fewer than 18 months. 

Individuals would be working slightly over 44 hours per 

week to complete 3,400 hours in 18 months. Board staff 

reports that most programs already would not allow 

individuals to complete their residencies in fewer than 18 

months and that the Board has never had an issue with any 

applicant for licensure having a residency that would breach 

this new rule. Some individuals in the future may incur some 

time costs for applying for a time variance if they need more 

than four years to complete their residency. 

For licensees with continuing education requirements, the 

Board has listed in these regulations education criteria and 

groups that may offer continuing education that the Board 

will accept. The Board proposes to add local governments to 

the list of groups whose educational opportunities are 

acceptable to the Board. This will benefit licensees as they 

will have additional continuing education possibilities with 

local community service boards. This may allow licensees to 

complete continuing education at lower cost or at more 

convenient times or places. 

Current regulations allow residencies for those seeking 

licensure as professional counselors to be supervised by a 

licensed professional counselor, a licensed marriage and 

family therapist, a licensed substance abuse treatment 

practitioner, a school psychologist, a clinical psychologist, a 

clinical social worker or a psychiatrist. Residencies for those 

seeking licensure as marriage and family therapists can be 

supervised by a licensed professional counselor, a licensed 

marriage and family therapist, a clinical psychologist, a 

clinical social worker or a psychiatrist. Residencies for those 

seeking licensure as a substance abuse treatment practitioner 

can be supervised by a licensed professional counselor, a 

licensed marriage and family therapist, a licensed substance 

abuse treatment practitioner, a school psychologist, a clinical 

psychologist, a clinical social worker, a clinical nurse 

specialist or a psychiatrist.  

The Board proposes to eliminate all non-Board licensees from 

the lists of approved supervisors and to remove licensed 

substance abuse treatment practitioners from the list of 

licensees who may supervise professional counseling 

residents. Under the proposed regulations professional 

counseling residents and marriage and family therapy 

residents may only be supervised by licensed professional 
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counselors and licensed marriage and family therapists, and 

substance abuse treatment practitioner residents may be 

supervised by licensed professional counselors, licensed 

marriage and family therapists, and licensed substance abuse 

treatment practitioners. This change will eliminate issues that 

may arise with the Board being unable to discipline or set 

rules for individuals who they do not license. To the extent 

that this change limits the pool of available supervisors, costs 

for supervision may increase, and it may take longer for 

residents to obtain supervision and complete their residencies. 

The Board also proposes to add the requirement that all 

individuals applying for licensure provide a current report 

from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services 

National Practitioner Data Bank. This will allow the Board to 

check if applicants have any disciplinary or malpractice 

history in another state. Applicants will have to pay a $5 fee 

to obtain this report. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Board staff reports that 

these proposed regulations will affect all applicants for 

licensure as professional counselors, marriage and family 

therapists and substance abuse treatment practitioners. Board 

staff further reports that the Board has, in the last year, 

received 1,387 applications for licensure as professional 

counselors, 118 applications for licensure as marriage and 

family therapists and 11 applications for licensure as 

substance abuse treatment practitioners. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by this regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This regulatory action will 

likely have little impact on employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 

regulatory action will likely not affect the use or value of 

private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No small 

businesses will be affected by this proposed regulatory 

package. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. No small businesses will be affected by this 

proposed regulatory package. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Counseling concurs with the Analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget.  

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) add the Council for 

Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational 

Programs and the Council on Rehabilitation Education as 

groups that can approve educational programs under the 

professional counselor licensure program; (ii) eliminate 

the requirement that a transcript be included when 

applying for licensure if one was already submitted for 

approval of residency; (iii) modify experience 

requirements in 18VAC115-50 and 18VAC115-60 for 

individuals seeking licensure by endorsement so that they 

only have to have clinical practice 24 of the 60 months 

immediately before licensure application, instead of five of 

the last six years as currently required; (iv) allow the use 

of real-time visual contact technology (e.g., Skype or other 

like services) to meet face-to-face supervision requirements 

during residency; (v) allow 20 hours of supervision 

obtained during an internship to count toward the 200 

hours of face-to-face supervision required during 

residency so long as the internship supervision was under 

a licensed professional counselor or, in the case of interns 

working toward licensure as a marriage and family 

therapist, a licensed professional counselor or a licensed 

marriage and family therapist; (vi) require that residencies 

be completed in not less than 18 months and not more than 

four years; (vii) add local governments to the groups 

whose continuing education programs are approved by the 

board to count toward continuing education requirements; 

(viii) disallow certain professionals from providing 

supervision for residencies because the board does not 

have disciplinary or regulatory authority over these 

groups; and (ix) require applicants for licensure to provide 

a current report from the U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Services National Practitioner Data Bank, which 

contains disciplinary and malpractice history. 

Part I  

General Provisions  

18VAC115-20-10. Definitions. 

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the meaning ascribed to them in § 54.1-3500 of the 

Code of Virginia:  

"Appraisal activities"  

"Board"  

"Counseling"  

"Counseling treatment intervention"  

"Professional counselor"  

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Ancillary counseling services" means activities such as 

case management, recordkeeping, referral, and coordination 

of services. 

"Applicant" means any individual who has submitted an 

official application and paid the application fee for licensure 

as a professional counselor.  

"CACREP" means the Council for Accreditation of 

Counseling and Related Educational Programs.  

"Candidate for licensure" means a person who has 

satisfactorily completed all educational and experience 
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requirements for licensure and has been deemed eligible by 

the board to sit for its examinations.  

“Clinical counseling services” means activities such as 

assessment, diagnosis, treatment planning, and treatment 

implementation. 

"Competency area" means an area in which a person 

possesses knowledge and skill and the ability to apply them in 

the clinical setting.  

"CORE" means Council on Rehabilitation Education. 

"Exempt setting" means an agency or institution in which 

licensure is not required to engage in the practice of 

counseling according to the conditions set forth in § 54.1-

3501 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Face-to-face" means the in-person delivery of clinical 

counseling services for a client. 

"Group supervision" means the process of clinical 

supervision of no more than six persons in a group setting 

provided by a qualified supervisor.  

"Internship" means a formal academic course from a 

regionally accredited college or university in which 

supervised, practical experience is obtained in a clinical 

setting in the application of counseling principles, methods, 

and techniques.  

"Jurisdiction" means a state, territory, district, province, or 

country that has granted a professional certificate or license to 

practice a profession, use a professional title, or hold oneself 

out as a practitioner of that profession.  

"Nonexempt setting" means a setting that does not meet the 

conditions of exemption from the requirements of licensure to 

engage in the practice of counseling as set forth in § 54.1-

3501 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Regional accrediting agency" means one of the regional 

accreditation agencies recognized by the United States U.S. 

Secretary of Education responsible for accrediting senior 

postsecondary institutions.  

"Residency" means a post-graduate postgraduate, 

supervised, clinical experience registered with the board.  

"Resident" means an individual who has submitted a 

supervisory contract and has received board approval to 

provide clinical services in professional counseling under 

supervision.  

"Supervision" means the ongoing process performed by a 

supervisor who monitors the performance of the person 

supervised and provides regular, documented individual or 

group consultation, guidance, and instruction that is specific 

to the clinical counseling services being performed with 

respect to the clinical skills and competencies of the person 

supervised.  

Part II  

Requirements for Licensure  

18VAC115-20-40. Prerequisites for licensure by 

examination.  

Every applicant for licensure examination by the board 

shall:  

1. Meet the degree program requirements prescribed in 

18VAC115-20-49, the course work requirements 

prescribed in 18VAC115-20-51, and the experience 

requirements prescribed in 18VAC115-20-52; and  

2. Pass the licensure examination specified by the board; 

3. Submit the following to the board:  

a. A completed application;  

b. Official transcripts documenting the applicant's 

completion of the degree program and coursework 

requirements prescribed in 18VAC115-20-49 and 

18VAC115-20-51. Transcripts previously submitted for 

registration of supervision do not have to be resubmitted 

unless additional coursework was subsequently obtained;  

c. Verification of Supervision forms documenting 

fulfillment of the residency requirements of 18VAC115-

20-52 and copies of all required evaluation forms, 

including verification of current licensure of the 

supervisor if any portion of the residency occurred in 

another jurisdiction;  

d. Verification of any other mental health or health 

professional license or certificate ever held in another 

jurisdiction; and  

e. The application processing and initial licensure fee as 

prescribed in 18VAC115-20-20.; and 

f. A current report from the U.S. Department of Health 

and Human Services National Practitioner Data Bank 

(NPDB); and  

3. 4. Have no unresolved disciplinary action against a 

mental health or health professional license or certificate 

held in Virginia or in another jurisdiction. The board will 

consider history of disciplinary action on a case-by-case 

basis.  

18VAC115-20-45. Prerequisites for licensure by 

endorsement. 

A. Every applicant for licensure by endorsement shall hold 

or have held a professional counselor license in another 

jurisdiction of the United States and shall submit the 

following: 

1. A completed application; 

2. The application processing fee and initial licensure fee 

as prescribed in 18VAC115-20-20; 

3. Verification of all mental health or health professional 

licenses or certificates ever held in any other jurisdiction. 

In order to qualify for endorsement the applicant shall have 

no unresolved action against a license or certificate. The 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 7 Virginia Register of Regulations November 30, 2015 

1242 

board will consider history of disciplinary action on a case-

by-case basis; 

4. Documentation of having completed education and 

experience requirements as specified in subsection B of 

this section; 

5. Verification of a passing score on an examination 

required for counseling licensure in the jurisdiction in 

which licensure was obtained; and 

6. A current report from the U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Services National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB); 

and 

6. 7. An affidavit of having read and understood the 

regulations and laws governing the practice of professional 

counseling in Virginia.  

B. Every applicant for licensure by endorsement shall meet 

one of the following: 

1. Educational requirements consistent with those specified 

in 18VAC115-20-49 and 18VAC115-20-51 and experience 

requirements consistent with those specified in 

18VAC115-20-52; or  

2. If an applicant does not have educational and experience 

credentials consistent with those required by this chapter, 

he shall provide: 

a. Documentation of education and supervised 

experience that met the requirements of the jurisdiction 

in which he was initially licensed as verified by an 

official transcript and a certified copy of the original 

application materials; and  

b. Evidence of post-licensure clinical practice in 

counseling, as defined in § 54.1-3500 of the Code of 

Virginia, for 24 of the last 60 months immediately 

preceding his licensure application in Virginia. Clinical 

practice shall mean the rendering of direct clinical 

counseling services or clinical supervision of counseling 

services.; or 

3. In lieu of transcripts verifying education and 

documentation verifying supervised experience, the board 

may accept verification from the credentials registry of the 

American Association of State Counseling Boards or any 

other board-recognized entity. 

18VAC115-20-49. Degree program requirements.  

A. The applicant shall have completed a graduate degree 

from a program that prepares individuals to practice 

counseling and counseling treatment intervention, as defined 

in § 54.1-3500 of the Code of Virginia, which is offered by a 

college or university accredited by a regional accrediting 

agency and which meets the following criteria:  

1. There must be a sequence of academic study with the 

expressed intent to prepare counselors as documented by 

the institution;  

2. There must be an identifiable counselor training faculty 

and an identifiable body of students who complete that 

sequence of academic study; and  

3. The academic unit must have clear authority and 

primary responsibility for the core and specialty areas.  

B. Programs that are approved by CACREP or CORE are 

recognized as meeting the requirements of subsection A of 

this section.  

18VAC115-20-51. Coursework requirements.  

A. The applicant shall have successfully completed 60 

semester hours or 90 quarter hours of graduate study in the 

following core coursework with a minimum of three semester 

hours or 4.0 quarter hours in each of subdivisions 1 through 

12 of this subsection:  

1. Professional counseling identity, function, and ethics;  

2. Theories of counseling and psychotherapy;  

3. Counseling and psychotherapy techniques;  

4. Human growth and development;  

5. Group counseling and psychotherapy theories and 

techniques;  

6. Career counseling and development theories and 

techniques;  

7. Appraisal, evaluation, and diagnostic procedures;  

8. Abnormal behavior and psychopathology;  

9. Multicultural counseling theories and techniques;  

10. Research;  

11. Diagnosis and treatment of addictive disorders;  

12. Marriage and family systems theory; and  

13. Supervised internship of at least 600 hours to include 

240 hours of face-to-face client contact. Internship hours 

shall not begin until completion of 30 semester hours 

toward the graduate degree.  

B. If 60 graduate hours in counseling were completed prior 

to April 12, 2000, the board may accept those hours if they 

meet the regulations in effect at the time the 60 hours were 

completed.  

18VAC115-20-52. Residency requirements.  

A. Registration. Applicants who render counseling services 

shall:  

1. With their supervisor, register their supervisory contract 

on the appropriate forms for board approval before starting 

to practice under supervision;  

2. Have submitted an official transcript documenting a 

graduate degree as specified in 18VAC115-20-49 to 

include completion of the coursework and internship 

requirement specified in 18VAC115-20-51; and  

3. Pay the registration fee.  
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B. Residency requirements.  

1. The applicant for licensure shall have completed a 

3,400-hour supervised residency in the role of a 

professional counselor working with various populations, 

clinical problems, and theoretical approaches in the 

following areas:  

a. Assessment and diagnosis using psychotherapy 

techniques;  

b. Appraisal, evaluation, and diagnostic procedures;  

c. Treatment planning and implementation;  

d. Case management and recordkeeping;  

e. Professional counselor identity and function; and  

f. Professional ethics and standards of practice.  

2. The residency shall include a minimum of 200 hours of 

face-to-face in-person supervision between supervisor and 

resident in the consultation and review of clinical 

counseling services provided by the resident. Supervision 

shall occur at a minimum of one hour and a maximum of 

four hours per 40 hours of work experience during the 

period of the residency. For the purpose of meeting the 

200-hour supervision requirement, face-to-face in-person 

may include the use of secured technology that maintains 

client confidentiality and provides real-time, visual contact 

between the supervisor and the resident. Up to 20 hours of 

the supervision received during the supervised internship 

may be counted towards the 200 hours of in-person 

supervision if the supervision was provided by a licensed 

professional counselor. 

3. No more than half of the 200 hours may be satisfied 

with group supervision. One hour of group supervision will 

be deemed equivalent to one hour of individual 

supervision.  

4. Supervision that is not concurrent with a residency will 

not be accepted, nor will residency hours be accrued in the 

absence of approved supervision.  

5. The residency shall include at least 2,000 hours of face-

to-face client contact in providing clinical counseling 

services. The remaining hours may be spent in the 

performance of ancillary counseling services.  

6. A graduate-level internship in excess of 600 hours, 

which was completed in a program that meets the 

requirements set forth in 18VAC115-20-49, may count for 

up to an additional 300 hours towards the requirements of a 

residency.  

7. The residency shall be completed in not less than 18 

months or more than four years. Residents who began a 

residency before (insert effective date of the regulation) 

shall complete the residency by (insert four years after the 

effective date). An individual who does not complete the 

residency after four years shall submit evidence to the 

board showing why the supervised experience should be 

allowed to continue. 

8. The board may consider special requests in the event 

that the regulations create an undue burden in regard to 

geography or disability that limits the resident's access to 

qualified supervision.  

8. 9. Residents may not call themselves professional 

counselors, directly bill for services rendered, or in any 

way represent themselves as independent, autonomous 

practitioners or professional counselors. During the 

residency, residents shall use their names and the initials of 

their degree, and the title "Resident in Counseling" in all 

written communications. Clients shall be informed in 

writing of the resident's status and the supervisor's name, 

professional address, and phone number.  

9. 10. Residents shall not engage in practice under 

supervision in any areas for which they have not had 

appropriate education.  

11. Residency hours approved by the licensing board in 

another U.S. jurisdiction that meet the requirements of this 

section shall be accepted. 

C. Supervisory qualifications. A person who provides 

supervision for a resident in professional counseling shall: 

1. Document two years of post-licensure clinical 

experience;  

2. Have received professional training in supervision, 

consisting of three credit hours or 4.0 quarter hours in 

graduate-level coursework in supervision or at least 20 

hours of continuing education in supervision offered by a 

provider approved under 18VAC115-20-106; and  

3. Shall hold an active, unrestricted license as a 

professional counselor, or a marriage and family therapist, 

substance abuse treatment practitioner, school 

psychologist, clinical psychologist, clinical social worker, 

or psychiatrist in the jurisdiction where the supervision is 

being provided. At least 100 hours of the supervision shall 

be rendered by a licensed professional counselor.  

D. Supervisory responsibilities. 

1. Supervision by any individual whose relationship to the 

resident compromises the objectivity of the supervisor is 

prohibited.  

2. The supervisor of a resident shall assume full 

responsibility for the clinical activities of that resident 

specified within the supervisory contract for the duration of 

the residency.  

3. The supervisor shall complete evaluation forms to be 

given to the resident at the end of each three-month period.  

4. The supervisor shall report the total hours of residency 

and shall evaluate the applicant's competency in the six 

areas stated in subdivision B 1 of this section.  

5. The supervisor shall provide supervision as defined in 

18VAC115-20-10. 
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Part III  

Examinations  

18VAC115-20-70. General examination requirements; 

schedules; time limits.  

A. Every applicant for initial licensure by examination by 

the board as a professional counselor shall pass a written 

examination as prescribed by the board.  

B. Every applicant for licensure by endorsement shall have 

passed a licensure examination in the jurisdiction in which 

licensure was obtained.  

C. A candidate approved to sit for the examination shall take 

pass the examination within two years from the date of such 

initial approval. If the candidate has not taken passed the 

examination by the end of the two-year period here 

prescribed:  

1. The initial approval to sit for the examination shall then 

become invalid; and  

2. In order to be considered for the examination later, the 

The applicant shall file a new application with the board, 

meet the requirements in effect at that time, and provide 

evidence of why the board should approve the 

reapplication for examination. If approved by the board, 

the applicant shall pass the examination within two years 

of such approval. If the examination is not passed within 

the additional two-year period, a new application will not 

be accepted.   

D. The board shall establish a passing score on the written 

examination.  

E. A candidate for examination or an applicant shall not 

provide clinical counseling services unless he is under 

supervision approved by the board. 

Part V  

Standards of Practice; Unprofessional Conduct; Disciplinary 

Actions; Reinstatement  

18VAC115-20-130. Standards of practice. 

A. The protection of the public health, safety, and welfare 

and the best interest of the public shall be the primary guide 

in determining the appropriate professional conduct of all 

persons whose activities are regulated by the board. 

Regardless of the delivery method, whether in person, by 

phone, or electronically, these standards shall apply to the 

practice of counseling. 

B. Persons licensed or registered by the board shall: 

1. Practice in a manner that is in the best interest of the 

public and does not endanger the public health, safety, or 

welfare; 

2. Practice only within the boundaries of their competence, 

based on their education, training, supervised experience, 

and appropriate professional experience and represent their 

education, training, and experience accurately to clients; 

3. Stay abreast of new counseling information, concepts, 

applications, and practices that are necessary to providing 

appropriate, effective professional services; 

4. Be able to justify all services rendered to clients as 

necessary and appropriate for diagnostic or therapeutic 

purposes; 

5. Document the need for and steps taken to terminate a 

counseling relationship when it becomes clear that the 

client is not benefiting from the relationship. Document the 

assistance provided in making appropriate arrangements 

for the continuation of treatment for clients, when 

necessary, following termination of a counseling 

relationship; 

6. Make appropriate arrangements for continuation of 

services, when necessary, during interruptions such as 

vacations, unavailability, relocation, illness, and disability; 

7. Disclose to clients all experimental methods of treatment 

and inform clients of the risks and benefits of any such 

treatment. Ensure that the welfare of the clients is in no 

way compromised in any experimentation or research 

involving those clients; 

8. Neither accept nor give commissions, rebates, or other 

forms of remuneration for referral of clients for 

professional services; 

9. Inform clients of the purposes, goals, techniques, 

procedures, limitations, potential risks, and benefits of 

services to be performed; the limitations of confidentiality; 

and other pertinent information when counseling is 

initiated and throughout the counseling process as 

necessary. Provide clients with accurate information 

regarding the implications of diagnosis, the intended use of 

tests and reports, fees, and billing arrangements; 

10. Select tests for use with clients that are valid, reliable, 

and appropriate and carefully interpret the performance of 

individuals not represented in standardized norms; 

11. Determine whether a client is receiving services from 

another mental health service provider, and if so, refrain 

from providing services to the client without having an 

informed consent discussion with the client and having 

been granted communication privileges with the other 

professional; 

12. Use only in connection with one's practice as a mental 

health professional those educational and professional 

degrees or titles that have been earned at a college or 

university accredited by an accrediting agency recognized 

by the United States U.S. Department of Education, or 

credentials granted by a national certifying agency, and 

that are counseling in nature; and 

13. Advertise professional services fairly and accurately in 

a manner that is not false, misleading, or deceptive. 
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C. In regard to patient records, persons licensed by the board 

shall: 

1. Maintain written or electronic clinical records for each 

client to include treatment dates and identifying 

information to substantiate diagnosis and treatment plan, 

client progress, and termination; 

2. Maintain client records securely, inform all employees 

of the requirements of confidentiality, and provide for the 

destruction of records that are no longer useful in a manner 

that ensures client confidentiality; 

3. Disclose or release records to others only with the 

client's expressed written consent or that of the client's 

legally authorized representative in accordance with 

§ 32.1-127.1:03 of the Code of Virginia; 

4. Ensure confidentiality in the usage of client records and 

clinical materials by obtaining informed consent from the 

client or the client's legally authorized representative 

before (i) videotaping, (ii) audio recording, (iii) permitting 

third party observation, or (iv) using identifiable client 

records and clinical materials in teaching, writing, or 

public presentations; and 

5. Maintain client records for a minimum of five years or 

as otherwise required by law from the date of termination 

of the counseling relationship with the following 

exceptions: 

a. At minimum, records of a minor child shall be 

maintained for five years after attaining the age of 

majority (18 years) or 10 years following termination, 

whichever comes later; 

b. Records that are required by contractual obligation or 

federal law to be maintained for a longer period of time; 

or 

c. Records that have been transferred to another mental 

health service provider or given to the client or his 

legally authorized representative. 

D. In regard to dual relationships, persons licensed by the 

board shall: 

1. Avoid dual relationships with clients that could impair 

professional judgment or increase the risk of harm to 

clients. Examples of such relationships include, but are not 

limited to, familial, social, financial, business, bartering, or 

close personal relationships with clients. Counselors shall 

take appropriate professional precautions when a dual 

relationship cannot be avoided, such as informed consent, 

consultation, supervision, and documentation to ensure that 

judgment is not impaired and no exploitation occurs; 

2. Not engage in any type of romantic relationships or 

sexual intimacies with clients or those included in a 

collateral relationship with the client and not counsel 

persons with whom they have had a romantic relationship 

or sexual intimacy. Counselors shall not engage in 

romantic relationships or sexual intimacies with former 

clients within a minimum of five years after terminating 

the counseling relationship. Counselors who engage in 

such relationship or intimacy after five years following 

termination shall have the responsibility to examine and 

document thoroughly that such relations do not have an 

exploitive nature, based on factors such as duration of 

counseling, amount of time since counseling, termination 

circumstances, client's personal history and mental status, 

or adverse impact on the client. A client's consent to, 

initiation of, or participation in sexual behavior or 

involvement with a counselor does not change the nature 

of the conduct nor lift the regulatory prohibition; 

3. Not engage in any romantic relationship or sexual 

intimacy or establish a counseling or psychotherapeutic 

relationship with a supervisee or student. Counselors shall 

avoid any nonsexual dual relationship with a supervisee or 

student in which there is a risk of exploitation or potential 

harm to the supervisee or student or the potential for 

interference with the supervisor's professional judgment; 

and 

4. Recognize conflicts of interest and inform all parties of 

the nature and directions of loyalties and responsibilities 

involved. 

E. Persons licensed by this board shall report to the board 

known or suspected violations of the laws and regulations 

governing the practice of professional counseling. 

F. Persons licensed by the board shall advise their clients of 

their right to report to the Department of Health Professions 

any information of which the licensee may become aware in 

his professional capacity indicating that there is a reasonable 

probability that a person licensed or certified as a mental 

health service provider, as defined in § 54.1-2400.1 of the 

Code of Virginia, may have engaged in unethical, fraudulent, 

or unprofessional conduct as defined by the pertinent 

licensing statutes and regulations.  

18VAC115-50-10. Definitions.  

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the meaning ascribed to them in § 54.1-3500 of the 

Code of Virginia: (i) "board," (ii) "marriage and family 

therapy," (iii) "marriage and family therapist," and (iv) 

"practice of marriage and family therapy."  

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Ancillary counseling services" means activities such as 

case management, recordkeeping, referral, and coordination 

of services. 

"CACREP" means the Council for Accreditation of 

Counseling and Related Education Educational Programs.  

"COAMFTE" means the Commission on Accreditation for 

Marriage and Family Therapy Education.  

"Clinical marriage and family services" means activities 

such as assessment, diagnosis, and treatment planning and 

treatment implementation for couples and families. 
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"Face-to-face" means the in-person delivery of clinical 

marriage and family services for a client. 

"Internship" means a supervised, planned, practical, 

advanced experience obtained in the clinical setting, 

observing and applying the principles, methods and 

techniques learned in training or educational settings formal 

academic course from a regionally accredited university in 

which supervised practical experience is obtained in a clinical 

setting in the application of counseling principles, methods, 

and techniques. 

"Regional accrediting agency" means one of the regional 

accreditation agencies recognized by the United States U.S. 

Secretary of Education as responsible for accrediting senior 

post-secondary institutions and training programs.  

"Residency" means a post-internship postgraduate, 

supervised clinical experience registered with the board.  

"Resident" means an individual who has submitted a 

supervisory contract to the board and has received board 

approval to provide clinical services in marriage and family 

therapy under supervision.  

"Supervision" means an ongoing process performed by a 

supervisor who monitors the performance of the person 

supervised and provides regular, documented, individual or 

group consultation, guidance and instruction with respect to 

the clinical skills and competencies of the person or persons 

being supervised.  

18VAC115-50-20. Fees.  

A. The board has established fees for the following:  

  Registration of supervision  $50 

  Add or change supervisor  $25 

  Initial licensure by examination: 

Processing and initial licensure 

$140 

  Initial licensure by endorsement: 

Processing and initial licensure  

$140 

  Active annual license renewal  $105 

  Inactive annual license renewal $55 

  Penalty for late renewal  $35 

  Reinstatement of a lapsed license  $165 

  Verification of license to another 

jurisdiction  

$25 

  Additional or replacement licenses  $5 

  Additional or replacement wall 

certificates  

$15 

  Returned check  $35 

  Reinstatement following revocation or 

suspension  

$500 

  One-time reduction for renewal of an 

active license due on June 30, 2010 

$52 

  One-time reduction for renewal of an 

inactive license due on June 30, 2010 

$27 

B. Fees shall be paid to the board or its contractor or both in 

appropriate amounts as specified in the application 

instructions. All fees are nonrefundable.  

C. Examination fees shall be determined and made payable 

as determined by the board.  

18VAC115-50-30. Application for licensure by 

examination.  

Every applicant for examination for licensure by 

examination by the board shall:  

1. Meet the education and experience requirements 

prescribed in 18VAC115-50-50, 18VAC115-50-55 and 

18VAC115-50-60.; 

2. Meet the examination requirements prescribed in 

18VAC115-50-70;  

2. 3. Submit to the board office the following items:  

a. A completed application;  

b. The application processing and initial licensure fee 

prescribed in 18VAC115-50-20;  

c. Documentation, on the appropriate forms, of the 

successful completion of the residency requirements of 

18VAC115-50-60 along with documentation of the 

supervisor's out-of-state license where applicable;  

d. Official transcript or transcripts in the original sealed 

envelope with the registrar's signature across the sealed 

envelope flap submitted from the appropriate institutions 

of higher education directly to the applicant, verifying 

satisfactory completion of the education requirements set 

forth in 18VAC115-50-50 and 18VAC115-50-55. 

Previously submitted transcripts for registration of 

supervision do not have to be resubmitted unless 

additional coursework was subsequently obtained; and  

e. Verification on a board-approved form that any of any 

mental health or health out-of-state license, certification, 

or registration is in good standing. ever held in another 

jurisdiction; and  

f. A current report from the U.S. Department of Health 

and Human Services National Practitioner Data Bank 

(NPDB); and  

4. Have no unresolved disciplinary action against a mental 

health or health professional license or certificate held in 

Virginia or in another jurisdiction. The board will consider 

history of disciplinary action on a case-by-case basis.  
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18VAC115-50-40. Application for licensure by 

endorsement.  

A. Every applicant for licensure by endorsement shall hold 

or have held a marriage and family license in another 

jurisdiction in the United States and shall submit:  

1. A completed application;  

2. The application processing and initial licensure fee 

prescribed in 18VAC115-50-20; and  

3. Documentation of licensure as follows:  

a. Verification of all mental health or health professional 

licenses or certificates ever held in any other jurisdiction. 

In order to qualify for endorsement, the applicant shall 

have no unresolved action against a license or certificate. 

The board will consider history of disciplinary action on 

a case-by-case basis; and 

b. Documentation of a marriage and family therapy 

license obtained by standards specified in subsection B of 

this section.;  

4. Verification of a passing score on a marriage and family 

therapy licensure examination in the jurisdiction in which 

licensure was obtained; 

5. An affidavit of having read and understood the 

regulations and laws governing the practice of marriage 

and family therapy in Virginia; and 

6. A current report from the U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Services National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB).  

B. Every applicant for licensure by endorsement shall meet 

one of the following: 

1. Educational requirements consistent with those specified 

in 18VAC115-50-50 and 18VAC115-50-55 and experience 

requirements consistent with those specified in 

18VAC115-50-60; or  

2. If an applicant does not have educational and experience 

credentials consistent with those required by this chapter, 

he shall provide: 

a. Documentation of education and supervised 

experience that met the requirements of the jurisdiction 

in which he was initially licensed as verified by an 

official transcript and a certified copy of the original 

application materials; and  

b. Evidence of post-licensure clinical practice as a 

marriage and family therapist for five 24 of the last six 

years 60 months immediately preceding his licensure 

application in Virginia. Clinical practice shall mean the 

rendering of direct clinical services in marriage and 

family therapy or clinical supervision of marriage and 

family services; or 

3. In lieu of transcripts verifying education and 

documentation verifying supervised experience, the board 

may accept verification from the credentials registry of the 

American Association of State Counseling Boards or any 

other board-recognized entity. 

18VAC115-50-50. Degree program requirements.  

A. The applicant shall have completed a graduate degree 

from a program that prepares individuals to practice marriage 

and family therapy or a discipline related to the practice of 

marriage and family therapy as defined in § 54.1-3500 of the 

Code of Virginia from a college or university which is 

accredited by a regional accrediting agency and which meets 

the following criteria:  

1. There must be a sequence of academic study with the 

expressed intent to prepare students to practice marriage 

and family therapy as documented by the institution;  

2. There must be an identifiable marriage and family 

therapy training faculty and an identifiable body of 

students who complete that sequence of academic study; 

and  

3. The academic unit must have clear authority and 

primary responsibility for the core and specialty areas.  

B. Programs that are approved by CACREP as programs in 

marriage and family counseling/therapy or by COAMFTE are 

recognized as meeting the definition of a graduate degree 

program that prepares individuals to practice marriage and 

family therapy or a discipline related to the practice of 

marriage and family therapy as defined in § 54.1-3500 of the 

Code of Virginia requirements of subsection A of this section. 

18VAC115-50-55. Course work Coursework 

requirements.  

A. The applicant shall have successfully completed 60 

semester hours or 90 quarter hours of graduate study in the 

following core areas coursework with a minimum of six 

semester hours or nine quarter hours completed in each of the 

core areas identified in subdivisions 1 and 2 of this 

subsection, and three semester hours or 4.0 quarter hours in 

each of the core areas identified in subdivisions 3 through 6 9 

of this subsection (suggested courses are listed in parentheses 

after each core area):  

1. Marriage and family studies (marital and family 

development; family systems theory);  

2. Marriage and family therapy (systemic therapeutic 

interventions and application of major theoretical 

approaches);  

3. Human growth and development (theories of counseling; 

psychotherapy techniques with individuals; human growth 

and lifespan development; personality theory; 

psychopathology; human sexuality; multicultural issues) 

across the lifespan;  

4. Abnormal behaviors; 

5. Diagnosis and treatment of addictive behaviors; 

6. Multicultural counseling; 

4. 7. Professional studies (professional identity and 

function; ethical and legal issues) ethics;  

5. 8. Research (research methods; quantitative methods; 

statistics);  
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6. 9. Assessment and treatment (appraisal, assessment and 

diagnostic procedures); and  

7. 10. Supervised internship of at least 600 hours to include 

240 hours of direct client contact. Three hundred of the 

internship hours and 120 of the direct client contact, of 

which 200 hours shall be with couples and families. 

Internship hours shall not begin until completion of 30 

semester hours toward the graduate degree. 

B. If the graduate hours in marriage and family therapy were 

begun prior to January 19, 2000, the board may accept those 

hours if they meet the requirements which were in effect on 

July 9, 1997. If the applicant holds a current, unrestricted 

license as a professional counselor, clinical psychologist, or 

clinical social worker, the board may accept evidence of 

successful completion of 60 semester hours or 90 quarter 

hours of graduate study, including a minimum of six semester 

hours or nine quarter hours completed in marriage and family 

studies (marital and family development; family systems 

theory) and six semester hours or nine quarter hours 

completed in marriage and family therapy (systemic 

therapeutic interventions and application of major theoretical 

approaches).  

18VAC115-50-60. Residency requirements. 

A. Registration. 1. Applicants who render counseling 

marriage and family therapy services shall:  

a. 1. With their supervisor, register their supervisory 

contract on the appropriate forms for board approval before 

starting to practice under supervision;  

b. 2. Have submitted an official transcript documenting a 

graduate degree as specified in 18VAC115-50-50 to 

include completion of the coursework and internship 

requirement specified in 18VAC115-50-55; and  

c. 3. Pay the registration fee.  

2. After September 3, 2008, applicants who are beginning 

their residencies in exempt settings shall register 

supervision with the board to assure acceptability at the 

time of application.  

B. Residency requirements.  

1. The applicant shall have completed at least two years of 

supervised post-graduate degree experience, representing 

no fewer than 4,000 3,400 hours of supervised work 

experience residency in the role of a marriage and family 

therapist, to include 200 hours of in-person supervision 

with the supervisor in the practice of marriage and family 

therapy consultation and review of marriage and family 

services provided by the resident. For the purpose of 

meeting the 200 hours of supervision required for a 

residency, in-person may also include the use of 

technology that maintains client confidentiality and 

provides real-time, visual contact between the supervisor 

and the resident. At least one-half of the 200 hours of 

supervision shall be rendered by a licensed marriage and 

family therapist. 

a. Residents shall receive a minimum of one hour and a 

maximum of four hours of supervision for every 40 hours 

of supervised work experience.  

b. No more than 100 hours of the supervision may be 

acquired through group supervision, with the group 

consisting of no more than six residents. One hour of 

group supervision will be deemed equivalent to one hour 

of individual supervision.  

c. Up to 20 hours of the supervision received during the 

supervised internship may be counted towards the 200 

hours of in-person supervision if the supervision was 

provided by a licensed marriage and family therapist or a 

licensed professional counselor.  

2. Of the 4,000 hours stipulated, The residency shall 

include documentation of at least 2,000 hours must be 

acquired in direct client contact of which 1,000 hours shall 

be clinical marriage and family services of which 1,000 

hours shall be face-to-face client contact with couples or 

families or both. The remaining hours may be spent in the 

performance of ancillary counseling services. For 

applicants who hold current, unrestricted licensure as a 

professional counselor, clinical psychologist, or clinical 

social worker, the remaining hours may be waived. 

3. The residency shall consist of practice in the core areas 

set forth in 18VAC115-50-55.  

4. The residency shall begin after the completion of a 

master's degree in marriage and family therapy or a related 

discipline as set forth in 18VAC115-50-50.  

5. A graduate-level internship in excess of 600 hours, 

which was completed in a program that meets the 

requirements set forth in 18VAC115-50-50, may count for 

no more than 600 of the required 4,000 hours of 

experience. The internship shall include 20 hours of 

individual on-site supervision, and 20 hours of individual 

or group off-site supervision. Internship hours shall not 

begin until completion of 30 semester hours toward the 

graduate degree up to an additional 300 hours towards the 

requirements of a residency.  

6. A graduate-level degree internship completed in a 

COAMFTE-approved program or a CACREP-approved 

program in marriage and family counseling/therapy may 

count for no more than 900 of the required 4,000 hours of 

experience. The board may consider special requests in the 

event that the regulations create an undue burden in regard 

to geography or disability which limits the resident's access 

to qualified supervision.  

7. In order for a graduate level internship to be counted 

toward a residency, either the clinical or faculty supervisor 

shall be licensed as set forth in subsection C of this section.  

8. 7. Residents shall not call themselves marriage and 

family therapists, solicit clients, directly bill for services 

rendered, or in any way represent themselves as marriage 

and family therapists. During the residency, they may use 
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their names, the initials of their degree and the title 

"Resident in Marriage and Family Therapy." Clients shall 

be informed in writing of the resident's status, along with 

the name, address and telephone number of the resident's 

supervisor.  

9. 8. Residents shall not engage in practice under 

supervision in any areas for which they do not have 

appropriate education.  

10. Residents who do not become candidates for licensure 

after five years of supervised training shall submit an 

explanation to the board stating reasons the residency 

should be allowed to continue. 9. The residency shall be 

completed in not less than 18 months or more than four 

years. Residents who began a residency before (insert 

effective date of the regulation) shall complete the 

residency by (insert four years after the effective date). An 

individual who does not complete the residency after four 

years shall submit evidence to the board showing why the 

supervised experience should be allowed to continue. 

10. Residency hours that are approved by the licensing 

board in another U.S. jurisdiction and that meet the 

requirements of this section shall be accepted. 

C. Supervisory qualifications. A person who provides 

supervision for a resident in marriage and family therapy 

shall: 

1. Hold an active, unrestricted license as a marriage and 

family therapist, or professional counselor, clinical 

psychologist, clinical social worker or psychiatrist in the 

jurisdiction where the supervision is being provided; 

2. Document two years post-licensure marriage and family 

therapy experience; and 

3. Have received professional training in supervision, 

consisting of three credit hours or 4.0 quarter hours in 

graduate-level coursework in supervision or at least 20 

hours of continuing education in supervision offered by a 

provider approved under 18VAC115-50-96. Persons who 

have provided supervision for a residency prior to 

September 3, 2008 shall complete such coursework or 

continuing education by September 3, 2010. At least one-

half of the 200 hours of supervision shall be rendered by a 

licensed marriage and family therapist. 

D. Supervisory responsibilities. 

1. The supervisor shall complete evaluation forms to be 

given to the resident at the end of each three-month period. 

The supervisor shall report the total hours of residency and 

evaluate the applicant's competency to the board.  

2. Supervision by an individual whose relationship to the 

resident is deemed by the board to compromise the 

objectivity of the supervisor is prohibited.  

3. The supervisor shall provide supervision as defined in 

18VAC115-50-10 and shall assume full responsibility for 

the clinical activities of residents as specified within the 

supervisory contract, for the duration of the residency. 

18VAC115-50-70. General examination requirements.  

A. All applicants for initial licensure shall pass an 

examination, with a passing score as determined by the board. 

The examination is waived for an applicant who holds a 

current and unrestricted license as a professional counselor 

issued by the board. 

B. The examination shall concentrate on the core areas of 

marriage and family therapy set forth in subsection A of 

18VAC115-50-55.  

C. Approved applicants shall A candidate approved to sit for 

the examination shall pass the examination within two years 

from the initial notification date of approval. Failure to do so 

will result in the revocation of approval and obligate the 

applicant to file a new application for examination. If the 

candidate has not passed the examination within two years 

from the date of initial approval: 

1. The initial approval to sit for the examination shall then 

become invalid; and  

2. The applicant shall file a new application with the board, 

meet the requirements in effect at that time, and provide 

evidence of why the board should approve the 

reapplication for examination. If approved by the board, 

the candidate shall pass the examination within two years 

of such approval.  If the examination is not passed within 

the additional two-year period, a new application will not 

be accepted.  

D. Applicants who fail the examination twice in succession 

shall document completion of 45 clock hours of additional 

education or training acceptable to the board addressing the 

areas of deficiency as reported in the examination results 

prior to obtaining board approval for reexamination. 

Applicants or candidates for examination shall not provide 

marriage and family services unless they are under 

supervision approved by the board.  

18VAC115-50-90. Annual renewal of license.  

A. All licensees shall renew licenses on or before June 30 of 

each year.  

B. All licensees who intend to continue an active practice 

shall submit to the board on or before June 30 of each year:  

1. A completed form for renewal of the license on which 

the licensee attests to compliance with the continuing 

competency requirements prescribed in this chapter; and  

2. The renewal fee prescribed in 18VAC115-50-20.  

C. A licensee who wishes to place his license in an inactive 

status may do so upon payment of the inactive renewal fee as 

established in 18VAC115-50-20. No person shall practice 

marriage and family therapy in Virginia unless he holds a 

current active license. A licensee who has placed himself in 

inactive status may become active by fulfilling the 

reactivation requirements set forth in 18VAC115-50-100 C.  

D. Licensees shall notify the board of a change in the 

address of record or the public address, if different from the 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 7 Virginia Register of Regulations November 30, 2015 

1250 

address of record within 60 days. Failure to receive a renewal 

notice from the board shall not relieve the license holder from 

the renewal requirement.  

E. After the renewal date, the license is expired; practice 

with an expired license is prohibited and may constitute 

grounds for disciplinary action. 

18VAC115-50-95. Continued competency requirements 

for renewal of a license.  

A. After July 1, 2004, marriage Marriage and family 

therapists shall be required to have completed a minimum of 

20 hours of continuing competency for each annual licensure 

renewal. A minimum of two of these hours shall be in courses 

that emphasize the ethics, standards of practice or laws 

governing behavioral science professions in Virginia.  

B. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up to 

one year for the completion of continuing competency 

requirements upon written request from the licensee prior to 

the renewal date. Such extension shall not relieve the licensee 

of the continuing competency requirement.  

C. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

continuing competency requirements due to circumstances 

beyond the control of the licensee such as temporary 

disability, mandatory military service, or officially declared 

disasters.  

D. Those individuals dually licensed by this board will not 

be required to obtain continuing competency for each license. 

Dually licensed individual will only be required to provide 

the hours set out in subsection A of this section or subsection 

A of 18VAC115-20-105 in the Regulations Governing the 

Practice of Professional Counseling, or subsection A of 

18VAC115-60-115 in the Regulations Governing the Practice 

of Licensed Substance Abuse Treatment Practitioners.  

18VAC115-50-96. Continuing competency activity 

criteria.  

A. Continuing competency activities must focus on 

increasing knowledge or skills in one or more of the 

following areas:  

1. Ethics, standards of practice or laws governing 

behavioral science professions;  

2. Counseling theory;  

3. Human growth and development;  

4. Social and cultural foundations;  

5. The helping relationship;  

6. Group dynamics, processing and counseling;  

7. Lifestyle and career development;  

8. Appraisal of individuals;  

9. Research and evaluation;  

10. Professional orientation;  

11. Clinical supervision;  

12. Marriage and family therapy; or  

13. Addictions.  

B. Approved hours of continuing competency activity shall 

be one of the following types:  

1. Formally organized learning activities or home study. 

Activities may be counted at their full hour value. Hours 

shall be obtained from one or a combination of the 

following board-approved, mental health-related activities:  

a. Regionally accredited university or college level 

academic courses in a behavioral health discipline.  

b. Continuing education programs offered by universities 

or colleges.  

c. Workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses in the 

behavioral health field offered by federal, state, or local 

governmental agencies or licensed health facilities and 

licensed hospitals.  

d. Workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses in the 

behavioral health field offered by an individual or 

organization that has been certified or approved by one 

of the following:  

(1) The American International Association of Marriage 

and Family Counselors and its state affiliates.  

(2) The American Association of for Marriage and 

Family Therapists Therapy and its state affiliates.  

(3) The American Association of State Counseling 

Boards.  

(4) The American Counseling Association and its state 

and local affiliates.  

(5) The American Psychological Association and its state 

affiliates.  

(6) The Commission on Rehabilitation Counselor 

Certification.  

(7) NAADAC, The Association for Addiction 

Professionals. and its state and local affiliates.  

(8) National Association of Social Workers.  

(9) National Board for Certified Counselors.  

(10) A national behavioral health organization or 

certification body.  

(11) Individuals or organizations that have been 

approved as continuing competency sponsors by the 

American Association of State Counseling Boards or a 

counseling board in another state.  

(12) The American Association of Pastoral Counselors. 

2. Individual professional activities.  

a. Publication/presentation/new program development.  

(1) Publication of articles. Activity will count for a 

maximum of eight hours. Publication activities are 

limited to articles in refereed journals or a chapter in an 

edited book.  

(2) Publication of books. Activity will count for a 

maximum of 18 hours.  
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(3) Presentations. Activity will count for a maximum of 

eight hours. The same presentations may be used only 

once in a two-year period. Only actual presentation time 

may be counted.  

(4) New program development activity will count for a 

maximum of eight hours. New program development 

includes a new course, seminar, or workshop. New 

courses shall be graduate or undergraduate level college 

or university courses.  

b. Dissertation. Activity will count for a maximum of 18 

hours. Dissertation credit may only be counted once.  

c. Clinical supervision/consultation. Activity will count 

for a maximum of ten hours. Continuing competency can 

only be granted for clinical supervision/consultation 

received on a regular basis with a set agenda. Continuing 

competency cannot be granted for supervision that you 

provide to others.  

d. Leadership. Activity will count for a maximum of 

eight hours. The following leadership positions are 

acceptable for continuing competency credit: officers of 

state or national counseling organization; editor and/or 

reviewer of professional counseling journals; member of 

state counseling licensure/certification board; member of 

a national counselor certification board; member of a 

national ethics disciplinary review committee rendering 

licenses; active member of a counseling committee 

producing a substantial written product; chair of a major 

counseling conference or convention; other leadership 

positions with justifiable professional learning 

experiences. The leadership positions must take place for 

a minimum of one year after the date of first licensure.  

e. Practice related programs. Activity will count up to a 

maximum of eight hours. The board may allow up to 

eight contact hours of continuing competency as long as 

the regulant submits proof of attendance plus a written 

justification of how the activity assists him in his direct 

service of his clients. Examples include language 

courses, software training, medical topics, etc.  

18VAC115-50-100. Late renewal, reinstatement.  

A. A person whose license has expired may renew it within 

one year after its expiration date by paying the penalty late 

fee prescribed in 18VAC115-50-20 as well as the license fee 

prescribed for the period the license was not renewed and 

providing evidence of having met all applicable continuing 

competency requirements.  

B. A person seeking reinstatement of a license one year or 

more after its expiration date must apply:  

1. Apply for reinstatement, and pay the reinstatement fee, 

submit; 

2. Submit documentation of any mental health license he 

holds or has held in another jurisdiction, if applicable;  

3. Submit evidence regarding the continued ability to 

perform the functions within the scope of practice of the 

license, if required by the board to demonstrate 

competency; and provide 

4. Provide evidence of having met all applicable 

continuing competency requirements not to exceed a 

maximum of 80 hours obtained within the four years 

immediately preceding application for reinstatement.  

C. A person wishing to reactivate an inactive license shall 

submit (i) the renewal fee for active licensure minus any fee 

already paid for inactive licensure renewal and (ii) 

documentation of continued competency hours equal to the 

number of years the license has been inactive, not to exceed a 

maximum of 80 hours, obtained within the four years 

immediately preceding application for reinstatement. The 

board may require additional evidence regarding the person's 

continued ability to perform the functions within the scope of 

practice of the license.  

18VAC115-50-110. Standards of practice.  

A. The protection of the public's health, safety and welfare 

and the best interest of the public shall be the primary guide 

in determining the appropriate professional conduct of all 

persons whose activities are regulated by the board. 

Regardless of the delivery method, whether in person, by 

phone or electronically, these standards shall apply to the 

practice of marriage and family therapy. 

B. Persons licensed or registered by the board shall: 

1. Practice in a manner that is in the best interest of the 

public and does not endanger the public health, safety, or 

welfare; 

2. Practice only within the boundaries of their competence, 

based on their education, training, supervised experience 

and appropriate professional experience and represent their 

education, training, and experience accurately to clients; 

3. Stay abreast of new marriage and family therapy 

information, concepts, applications and practices that are 

necessary to providing appropriate, effective professional 

services; 

4. Be able to justify all services rendered to clients as 

necessary and appropriate for diagnostic or therapeutic 

purposes; 

5. Document the need for and steps taken to terminate a 

counseling relationship when it becomes clear that the 

client is not benefiting from the relationship. Document the 

assistance provided in making appropriate arrangements 

for the continuation of treatment for clients, when 

necessary, following termination of a counseling 

relationship; 

6. Make appropriate arrangements for continuation of 

services, when necessary, during interruptions such as 

vacations, unavailability, relocation, illness, and disability; 

7. Disclose to clients all experimental methods of treatment 

and inform client of the risks and benefits of any such 

treatment. Ensure that the welfare of the client is not 
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compromised in any experimentation or research involving 

those clients; 

8. Neither accept nor give commissions, rebates or other 

forms of remuneration for referral of clients for 

professional services; 

9. Inform clients of the purposes, goals, techniques, 

procedures, limitations, potential risks, and benefits of 

services to be performed; the limitations of confidentiality; 

and other pertinent information when counseling is 

initiated and throughout the counseling process as 

necessary. Provide clients with accurate information 

regarding the implications of diagnosis, the intended use of 

tests and reports, fees, and billing arrangements; 

10. Select tests for use with clients that are valid, reliable 

and appropriate and carefully interpret the performance of 

individuals not represented in standardized norms; 

11. Determine whether a client is receiving services from 

another mental health service provider, and if so, refrain 

from providing services to the client without having an 

informed consent discussion with the client and having 

been granted communication privileges with the other 

professional; 

12. Use only in connection with one's practice as a mental 

health professional those educational and professional 

degrees or titles that have been earned at a college or 

university accredited by an accrediting agency recognized 

by the United States U.S. Department of Education, or 

credentials granted by a national certifying agency, and 

that are counseling in nature; and 

13. Advertise professional services fairly and accurately in 

a manner that is not false, misleading or deceptive. 

C. In regard to patient records, persons licensed by the board 

shall: 

1. Maintain written or electronic clinical records for each 

client to include treatment dates and identifying 

information to substantiate diagnosis and treatment plan, 

client progress, and termination; 

2. Maintain client records securely, inform all employees 

of the requirements of confidentiality and provide for the 

destruction of records that are no longer useful in a manner 

that ensures client confidentiality; 

3. Disclose or release client records to others only with 

clients' expressed written consent or that of their legally 

authorized representative in accordance with § 32.1-

127.1:03 of the Code of Virginia; 

4. Ensure confidentiality in the usage of client records and 

clinical materials by obtaining informed consent from 

clients or their legally authorized representative before (i) 

videotaping, (ii) audio recording, (iii) permitting third 

party observation, or (iv) using identifiable client records 

and clinical materials in teaching, writing, or public 

presentations; and 

5. Maintain client records for a minimum of five years or 

as otherwise required by law from the date of termination 

of the counseling relationship with the following 

exceptions: 

a. At minimum, records of a minor child shall be 

maintained for five years after attaining the age of 

majority (18 years) or 10 years following termination, 

whichever comes later; 

b. Records that are required by contractual obligation or 

federal law to be maintained for a longer period of time; 

or 

c. Records that have transferred to another mental health 

service provider or given to the client or his legally 

authorized representative. 

D. In regard to dual relationships, persons licensed by the 

board shall: 

1. Avoid dual relationships with clients that could impair 

professional judgment or increase the risk of harm to 

clients. Examples of such relationships include, but are not 

limited to, familial, social, financial, business, bartering, or 

close personal relationships with clients. Counselors 

Marriage and family therapists shall take appropriate 

professional precautions when a dual relationship cannot 

be avoided, such as informed consent, consultation, 

supervision, and documentation to ensure that judgment is 

not impaired and no exploitation occurs; 

2. Not engage in any type of romantic relationships or 

sexual intimacies with clients or those included in a 

collateral relationship with the client and also not counsel 

persons with whom they have had a sexual intimacy or 

romantic relationship. Marriage and family therapists shall 

not engage in romantic relationships or sexual intimacies 

with former clients within a minimum of five years after 

terminating the counseling relationship. Marriage and 

family therapists who engage in such relationship or 

intimacy after five years following termination shall have 

the responsibility to examine and document thoroughly 

that such relations do not have an exploitive nature, based 

on factors such as duration of counseling, amount of time 

since counseling, termination circumstances, client's 

personal history and mental status, or adverse impact on 

the client. A client's consent to, initiation of or 

participation in sexual behavior or involvement with a 

marriage and family therapist does not change the nature of 

the conduct nor lift the regulatory prohibition; 

3. Not engage in any romantic relationships or sexual 

relationship or establish a counseling or psychotherapeutic 

relationship with a supervisee or student. Marriage and 

family therapists shall avoid any nonsexual dual 

relationship with a supervisee or student in which there is a 

risk of exploitation or potential harm to the supervisee or 

student or the potential for interference with the 

supervisor's professional judgment; and 
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4. Recognize conflicts of interest and inform all parties of 

the nature and directions of loyalties and responsibilities 

involved. 

E. Persons licensed by this board shall report to the board 

known or suspected violations of the laws and regulations 

governing the practice of marriage and family therapy.  

F. Persons licensed by the board shall advise their clients of 

their right to report to the Department of Health Professions 

any information of which the licensee may become aware in 

his professional capacity indicating that there is a reasonable 

probability that a person licensed or certified as a mental 

health service provider, as defined in § 54.1-2400.1 of the 

Code of Virginia, may have engaged in unethical, fraudulent 

or unprofessional conduct as defined by the pertinent 

licensing statutes and regulations. 

18VAC115-50-120. Disciplinary action.  

A. Action by the board to revoke, suspend, deny issuance or 

removal of a license, or take other disciplinary action may be 

taken in accordance with the following:  

1. Conviction of a felony, or of a misdemeanor involving 

moral turpitude, or violation of or aid to another in 

violating any provision of Chapter 35 (§ 54.1-3500 et seq.) 

of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, any other statute 

applicable to the practice of marriage and family therapy, 

or any provision of this chapter;  

2. Procurement of a license, including submission of an 

application or supervisory forms, by fraud or 

misrepresentation;  

3. Conducting one's practice in such a manner as to make it 

a danger to the health and welfare of one's clients or the 

general public or if one is unable to practice marriage and 

family therapy with reasonable skill and safety to clients 

by reason of illness, abusive use of alcohol, drugs, 

narcotics, chemicals, or other type of material or result of 

any mental or physical condition;  

4. Intentional or negligent conduct that causes or is likely 

to cause injury to a client or clients;  

5. Performance of functions outside the demonstrable areas 

of competency;  

6. Violating or abetting another person in the violation of 

any provision of any statute applicable to the practice of 

marriage and family therapy, or any part or portion of this 

chapter; or  

7. Failure to comply with the continued competency 

requirements set forth in this chapter; or 

8. Performance of an act likely to deceive, defraud, or 

harm the public.  

B. Following the revocation or suspension of a license, the 

licensee may petition the board for reinstatement upon good 

cause shown or as a result of substantial new evidence having 

been obtained that would alter the determination reached.   

Part I  

General Provisions  

18VAC115-60-10. Definitions.  

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the meaning ascribed to them in § 54.1-3500 of the 

Code of Virginia:  

"Board"  

"Licensed substance abuse treatment practitioner"  

"Substance abuse"  

"Substance abuse treatment"  

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Ancillary services" means activities such as case 

management, recordkeeping, referral, and coordination of 

services. 

"Applicant" means any individual who has submitted an 

official application and paid the application fee for licensure 

as a substance abuse treatment practitioner.  

"CACREP" means the Council for Accreditation of 

Counseling and Related Education Educational Programs.  

"Candidate for licensure" means a person who has 

satisfactorily completed all educational and experience 

requirements for licensure and has been deemed eligible by 

the board to sit for its examinations.  

"Clinical substance abuse treatment services" means 

activities such as assessment, diagnosis, treatment planning, 

and treatment implementation. 

"COAMFTE" means the Commission on Accreditation for 

Marriage and Family Therapy Education.  

"Competency area" means an area in which a person 

possesses knowledge and skill and the ability to apply them in 

the clinical setting.  

"Exempt setting" means an agency or institution in which 

licensure is not required to engage in the practice of substance 

abuse treatment according to the conditions set forth in 

§ 54.1-3501 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Face-to-face" means the in-person delivery of clinical 

substance abuse treatment services for a client. 

"Group supervision" means the process of clinical 

supervision of no more than six persons in a group setting 

provided by a qualified supervisor. 

"Internship" means supervised, planned, practical, advanced 

experience obtained in the clinical setting, observing and 

applying the principles, methods and techniques learned in 

training or educational settings a formal academic course 

from a regionally accredited university in which supervised, 

practical experience is obtained in a clinical setting in the 

application of counseling principles, methods and techniques. 

"Jurisdiction" means a state, territory, district, province or 

country which has granted a professional certificate or license 
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to practice a profession, use a professional title, or hold 

oneself out as a practitioner of that profession.  

"Nonexempt setting" means a setting which does not meet 

the conditions of exemption from the requirements of 

licensure to engage in the practice of substance abuse 

treatment as set forth in § 54.1-3501 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Regional accrediting agency" means one of the regional 

accreditation agencies recognized by the United States U.S. 

Secretary of Education responsible for accrediting senior 

postsecondary institutions.  

"Residency" means a post-internship postgraduate, 

supervised, clinical experience registered with the board.  

"Resident" means an individual who has submitted a 

supervisory contract and has received board approval to 

provide clinical services in substance abuse treatment under 

supervision.  

18VAC115-60-20. Fees required by the board.  

A. The board has established the following fees applicable 

to licensure as a substance abuse treatment practitioner:  

  Registration of supervision (initial)  $50 

  Add/change supervisor  $25 

  Initial licensure by examination: 

Processing and initial licensure  

$140 

  Initial licensure by endorsement: 

Processing and initial licensure  

$140 

  Active annual license renewal  $105 

  Inactive annual license renewal $55 

  Duplicate license  $5 

  Verification of license to another 

jurisdiction  

$25 

  Late renewal  $35 

  Reinstatement of a lapsed license  $165 

  Replacement of or additional wall 

certificate  

$15 

  Returned check  $35 

  Reinstatement following revocation or 

suspension  

$500 

  One-time reduction for renewal of an 

active license due on June 30, 2010 

$52 

  One-time reduction for renewal of an 

inactive license due on June 30, 2010 

$27 

B. Fees shall be paid directly to the board or its contractor, 

or both, in appropriate amounts as specified in the application 

instructions. All fees are nonrefundable.  

C. Examination fees shall be determined and made payable 

as determined by the board.  

Part II  

Requirements for Licensure  

18VAC115-60-40. Application for licensure by 

examination.  

Every applicant for examination for licensure by 

examination by the board shall:  

1. Meet the degree program, course work coursework, and 

experience requirements prescribed in 18VAC115-60-60, 

18VAC115-60-70, and 18VAC115-60-80; and 

2. Pass the examination required for initial licensure as 

prescribed in 18VAC115-60-90;  

3. Submit the following items to the board:  

a. A completed application;  

b. Official transcripts documenting the applicant's 

completion of the degree program and course work 

requirements prescribed in 18VAC115-60-60 and 

18VAC115-60-70. Transcripts previously submitted for 

registration of supervision do not have to be resubmitted 

unless additional coursework was subsequently obtained;  

c. Verification of supervision forms documenting 

fulfillment of the experience residency requirements of 

18VAC115-60-80 and copies of all required evaluation 

forms, including verification of current licensure of the 

supervisor of any portion of the residency occurred in 

another jurisdiction;  

d. Documentation of any other mental health or health 

professional license or certificate ever held in another 

jurisdiction; and  

e. The application processing and initial licensure fee. as 

prescribed in 18VAC115-60-20; and 

f. A current report from the U.S. Department of Health 

and Human Services National Practitioner Data Bank 

(NPDB); and  

4. Have no unresolved disciplinary action against a mental 

health or health professional license or certificate held in 

Virginia or in another jurisdiction. The board will consider 

history of disciplinary action on a case-by-case basis.  

18VAC115-60-50. Prerequisites for licensure by 

endorsement.  

A. Every applicant for licensure by endorsement shall 

submit:  

1. A completed application;  

2. The application processing and initial licensure fee as 

prescribed in 18VAC115-60-20;  

3. Verification of all mental health or health professional 

licenses or certificates ever held in any other jurisdiction. 

In order to qualify for endorsement, the applicant shall 

have no unresolved disciplinary action against a license or 
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certificate. The board will consider history of disciplinary 

action on a case-by-case basis;  

4. Further documentation of one of the following:  

a. A current substance abuse treatment license in good 

standing in another jurisdiction obtained by meeting 

requirements substantially equivalent to those set forth in 

this chapter; or  

b. A mental health license in good standing in a category 

acceptable to the board which required completion of a 

master's degree in mental health to include 60 graduate 

semester hours in mental health; and  

(1) Board-recognized national certification in substance 

abuse treatment;  

(2) If the master's degree was in substance abuse 

treatment, two years of post-licensure experience in 

providing substance abuse treatment;  

(3) If the master's degree was not in substance abuse 

treatment, five years of post-licensure experience in 

substance abuse treatment plus 12 credit hours of didactic 

training in the substance abuse treatment competencies 

set forth in 18VAC115-60-70 C; or  

(4) Current substance abuse counselor certification in 

Virginia in good standing or a Virginia substance abuse 

treatment specialty licensure designation with two years 

of post-licensure or certification substance abuse 

treatment experience;  

c. Documentation of education and supervised 

experience that met the requirements of the jurisdiction 

in which he was initially licensed as verified by an 

official transcript and a certified copy of the original 

application materials and evidence of post-licensure 

clinical practice for five 24 of the last six years 60 

months immediately preceding his licensure application 

in Virginia. Clinical practice shall mean the rendering of 

direct clinical substance abuse treatment services or 

clinical supervision of such services. 

5. Verification of a passing score on a substance abuse 

licensure examination as established by the jurisdiction in 

which licensure was obtained. The examination is waived 

for an applicant who holds a current and unrestricted 

license as a professional counselor within the 

Commonwealth of Virginia;  

6. Official transcripts documenting the applicant's 

completion of the education requirements prescribed in 

18VAC115-60-60 and 18VAC115-60-70; and  

7. An affidavit of having read and understood the 

regulations and laws governing the practice of substance 

abuse treatment in Virginia; and 

8. A current report from the U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Services National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB). 

B. In lieu of transcripts verifying education and 

documentation verifying supervised experience, the board 

may accept verification from the credentials registry of the 

American Association of State Counseling Boards or any 

other board-recognized entity.  

18VAC115-60-55. Time-limited waiver of certain 

licensure requirements. (Repealed.) 

Until February 26, 2004, individuals who do not meet the 

licensure requirements set forth in 18VAC115-60-50 and 

18VAC115-60-60 through 18VAC115-60-90 may be eligible 

for licensure if they submit a completed application and 

processing fee and provide evidence that they meet the 

following criteria:  

1. A passing score on a board-approved examination;  

2. A minimum of three comprehensive reports from:  

a. At least two licensed mental health professionals, one 

of whom must be licensed in Virginia, that affirm 

competence in all areas outlined in 18VAC115-60-80 C 1 

and attest to the applicant's ability to practice 

autonomously; and  

b. One or more clinical supervisors who have provided 

supervision, as defined in 18VAC115-60-10, of the 

applicant for a total of one year within the applicant's 

most recent five years of practice. If supervision was 

provided in an exempt setting, the report may be 

submitted by an unlicensed mental health professional; 

and  

3. One of the following:  

a. Five years full-time experience in substance abuse 

treatment plus a master's degree in a mental health field 

from a regionally accredited institution of higher learning 

with a total of 36 graduate hours covering mental health 

content to include three graduate semester hours or 4.5 

graduate quarter hours in each area of the following:  

(1) Counseling and psychotherapy techniques;  

(2) Appraisal, evaluation and diagnostic procedures;  

(3) Abnormal behavior and psychopathology:  

(4) Group counseling and psychotherapy, theories and 

techniques; and  

(5) Research.  

The remaining graduate semester hours shall include 

content in the following areas:  

(1) Assessment, appraisal, evaluation and diagnosis 

specific to substance abuse;  

(2) Treatment planning models, client case management, 

interventions and treatments to include relapse 

prevention, referral process, step models and 

documentation process;  

(3) Understanding addictions: The biochemical, socio-

cultural and psychological factors of substance use and 

abuse;  
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(4) Addictions and special populations, including, but not 

limited to, adolescents, women, ethnic groups and the 

elderly; and  

(5) Client and community education; or  

b. Ten years full-time experience in substance abuse 

treatment plus a bachelor's degree from a regionally 

accredited institution of higher learning, plus 30 graduate 

hours covering mental health content to include three 

graduate semester hours or 4.5 graduate quarter hours in 

each area of the following:  

(1) Counseling and psychotherapy techniques;  

(2) Appraisal, evaluation and diagnostic procedures;  

(3) Abnormal behavior and psychopathology;  

(4) Group counseling and psychotherapy, theories and 

techniques; and  

(5) Research.  

The remaining graduate hours shall include content in the 

following areas:  

(1) Assessment, appraisal, evaluation and diagnosis 

specific to substance abuse;  

(2) Treatment planning models, client case management, 

interventions and treatments to include relapse 

prevention, referral process, step models and 

documentation process;  

(3) Understanding addictions: the biochemical, socio-

cultural and psychological factors of substance use and 

abuse;  

(4) Addictions and special populations, including, but not 

limited to, adolescents, women, ethnic groups and the 

elderly; and  

(5) Client and community education.  

18VAC115-60-60. Degree program requirements.  

A. The applicant shall have completed a graduate degree 

from a program that prepares individuals to practice 

substance abuse treatment or a related counseling discipline 

as defined in § 54.1-3500 of the Code of Virginia from a 

college or university accredited by a regional accrediting 

agency that meets the following criteria:  

1. There must be a sequence of academic study with the 

expressed intent to prepare counselors as documented by 

the institution;  

2. There must be an identifiable counselor training 

faculty and an identifiable body of students who 

complete that sequence of academic study; and  

3. The academic unit must have clear authority and 

primary responsibility for the core and specialty areas.  

B. Education that does not come from a degree program 

meeting the requirements set forth in this section shall not be 

acceptable for licensure. Programs that are approved by 

CACREP as programs in addictions counseling are 

recognized as meeting the requirements of subsection A of 

this section. 

18VAC115-60-70. Course work Coursework 

requirements.  

A. The applicant shall have successfully completed 60 

semester hours or 90 quarter hours of graduate study.  

B. The applicant shall have completed a general core 

curriculum containing a minimum of three semester hours or 

4.0 quarter hours in each of the areas identified in this 

section:  

1. Professional identity, function and ethics;  

2. Theories of counseling and psychotherapy;  

3. Counseling and psychotherapy techniques;  

4. Group counseling and psychotherapy, theories and 

techniques;  

5. Appraisal, evaluation and diagnostic procedures;  

6. Abnormal behavior and psychopathology;  

7. Multicultural counseling, theories and techniques;  

8. Research; and  

9. Marriage and family systems theory.  

C. The applicant shall also have completed 12 graduate 

semester credit hours or 18 graduate quarter hours in the 

following substance abuse treatment competencies.  

1. Assessment, appraisal, evaluation and diagnosis specific 

to substance abuse;  

2. Treatment planning models, client case management, 

interventions and treatments to include relapse prevention, 

referral process, step models and documentation process;  

3. Understanding addictions: The biochemical, 

sociocultural and psychological factors of substance use 

and abuse;  

4. Addictions and special populations including, but not 

limited to, adolescents, women, ethnic groups and the 

elderly; and  

5. Client and community education.  

D. The applicant shall have completed a supervised 

internship of 600 hours to include 240 hours of direct client 

contact. At least 450 of the internship hours and, of which 

200 of the direct client contact hours shall be in treating 

substance abuse-specific treatment problems. Internship hours 

shall not begin until completion of 30 semester hours toward 

the graduate degree. 

E. One course may satisfy study in more than one content 

area set forth in subsections B and C of this section.  

F. If the applicant holds a current, unrestricted license as a 

professional counselor, clinical psychologist, or clinical social 

worker, the board may accept evidence of successful 

completion of 60 semester hours or 90 quarter hours of 

graduate study, including the hours specified in subsection C 

of this section.  
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18VAC115-60-80. Residency requirements. 

A. Registration. Applicants who render substance abuse 

treatment services shall: 

1. With their supervisor, register their supervisory contract 

on the appropriate forms for board approval before starting 

to practice under supervision; 

2. Have submitted an official transcript documenting a 

graduate degree as specified in 18VAC115-60-60 to 

include completion of the coursework and internship 

requirement specified in 18VAC115-60-70; and 

3. Pay the registration fee. 

B. After September 3, 2008, applicants Applicants who are 

beginning their residencies in exempt settings shall register 

supervision with the board to assure acceptability at the time 

of application. 

C. Residency requirements. 

1. The applicant for licensure shall have completed a 4,000 

hour no fewer than 3,400 hours in a supervised residency 

in substance abuse treatment with various populations, 

clinical problems and theoretical approaches in the 

following areas:  

a. Clinical evaluation; 

b. Treatment planning, documentation and 

implementation; 

c. Referral and service coordination; 

d. Individual and group counseling and case 

management; 

e. Client family and community education; and 

f. Professional and ethical responsibility. 

2. The residency shall include a minimum of 200 hours of 

in-person supervision between supervisor and resident 

occurring at a minimum of one hour and a maximum of 

four hours per 40 hours of work experience during the 

period of the residency.  

a. No more than half of these hours may be satisfied with 

group supervision.  

b. One hour of group supervision will be deemed 

equivalent to one hour of individual supervision.  

c. Supervision that is not concurrent with a residency will 

not be accepted, nor will residency hours be accrued in 

the absence of approved supervision. 

d. For the purpose of meeting the 200-hour supervision 

requirement, in-person supervision may include the use 

of technology that maintains client confidentiality and 

provides real-time, visual contact between the supervisor 

and the resident.  

e. Up to 20 hours of the supervision received during the 

supervised internship may be counted towards the 200 

hours of in-person supervision if the supervision was 

provided by a licensed professional counselor. 

3. The residency shall include at least 2,000 hours of face-

to-face client contact in providing clinical substance abuse 

treatment services with individuals, families, or groups of 

individuals suffering from the effects of substance abuse or 

dependence. The remaining hours may be spent in the 

performance of ancillary services. 

4. A graduate level degree internship in excess of 600 

hours, which is completed in a program that meets the 

requirements set forth in 18VAC115-60-70, may count for 

no more than 600 hours of the required 4,000 hours of 

experience. The internship shall include 20 hours of 

individual on-site supervision, and 20 hours of individual 

or group off-site supervision. Internship hours shall not 

begin until completion of 30 semester hours toward the 

graduate degree up to an additional 300 hours towards the 

requirements of a residency.  

5. A graduate-level degree internship completed in a 

COAMFTE- or CACREP-approved program may count 

for no more than 900 of the required 4,000 hours of 

experience. The residency shall be completed in not less 

than 18 months or more than four years. Residents who 

began a residency before (insert effective date of the 

regulation) shall complete the residency by (insert four 

years after the effective date). An individual who does not 

complete the residency after four years shall submit 

evidence to the board showing why the supervised 

experience should be allowed to continue. 

6. In order for a graduate level internship to be counted 

toward a residency, either the clinical or faculty supervisor 

shall be licensed as set forth in subsection D of this section.  

7. 6. The board may consider special requests in the event 

that the regulations create an undue burden in regard to 

geography or disability which limits the resident's access to 

qualified supervision.  

8. 7. Residents may not call themselves substance abuse 

treatment practitioners, directly bill for services rendered, 

or in any way represent themselves as independent, 

autonomous practitioners or substance abuse treatment 

practitioners. During the residency, residents shall use their 

names and the initials of their degree, and the title 

"Resident in Substance Abuse Treatment" in all written 

communications. Clients shall be informed in writing of 

the resident's status, the supervisor's name, professional 

address, and telephone number.  

9. 8. Residents shall not engage in practice under 

supervision in any areas for which they have not had 

appropriate education.  

9. Residency hours that are approved by the licensing 

board in another U.S. jurisdiction and that meet the 

requirements of this section shall be accepted. 

D. Supervisory qualifications.  

1. A person who provides supervision for a resident in 

substance abuse treatment shall hold an active, unrestricted 
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license as a professional counselor, marriage and family 

therapist, or substance abuse treatment practitioner, school 

psychologist, clinical psychologist, clinical social worker, 

clinical nurse specialist or psychiatrist in the jurisdiction 

where the supervision is being provided.  

2. All supervisors shall document two years post-licensure 

substance abuse treatment experience, and at least 100 

hours of didactic instruction in substance abuse treatment, 

and training or experience in supervision. Within three 

years of January 19, 2000, supervisors Supervisors must 

document a three-credit-hour course in supervision, a 4.0-

quarter-hour course in supervision, or at least 20 hours of 

continuing education in supervision offered by a provider 

approved under 18VAC115-60-116.  

E. Supervisory responsibilities. 

1. Supervision by any individual whose relationship to the 

resident compromises the objectivity of the supervisor is 

prohibited.  

2. The supervisor of a resident shall assume full 

responsibility for the clinical activities of that resident 

specified within the supervisory contract for the duration of 

the residency.  

3. The supervisor shall complete evaluation forms to be 

given to the resident at the end of each three-month period.  

4. The supervisor shall report the total hours of residency 

and shall evaluate the applicant's competency in the six 

areas stated in subdivision C 1 of this section.  

F. Documentation of supervision. Applicants shall document 

successful completion of their residency on the Verification 

of Supervision form at the time of application. Applicants 

must receive a satisfactory competency evaluation on each 

item on the evaluation sheet. Supervised experience obtained 

prior to January 19, 2000, may be accepted towards licensure 

if this supervised experience met the board's requirements 

which were in effect at the time the supervision was rendered. 

Part III  

Examinations  

18VAC115-60-90. General examination requirements; 

schedules; time limits.  

A. Every applicant for initial licensure as a substance abuse 

treatment practitioner by examination shall pass a written 

examination as prescribed by the board.  

B. Every applicant for licensure as a substance abuse 

treatment practitioner by endorsement shall have passed an a 

substance abuse examination deemed by the board to be 

substantially equivalent to the Virginia examination.  

C. The examination is waived for an applicant who holds a 

current and unrestricted license as a professional counselor 

issued by the board. 

D. A candidate approved by the board to sit for the 

examination shall take pass the examination within two years 

from the date of such initial board approval. If the candidate 

has not taken passed the examination by the end of the two-

year period prescribed in this subsection within two years 

from the date of initial approval:  

1. The initial board approval to sit for the examination 

shall then become invalid; and  

2. In order to be considered for the examination later, the 

The applicant shall file a complete new application with 

the board, meet the requirements in effect at that time, and 

provide evidence of why the board should approve the 

reapplication for examination. If approved by the board, 

the applicant shall pass the examination within two years 

of such approval. If the examination is not passed within 

the additional two-year period, a new application will not 

be accepted.  

D. Applicants who fail the examination twice in succession 

shall document completion of 45 clock hours of additional 

education or training acceptable to the board, addressing the 

areas of deficiency as reported in the examination results 

prior to obtaining board approval for reexamination.  

E. The board shall establish a passing score on the written 

examination.  

F. A candidate for examination or an applicant shall not 

provide clinical services unless he is under supervision 

approved by the board.  

Part IV  

Licensure Renewal; Reinstatement  

18VAC115-60-110. Renewal of licensure.  

A. All licensees shall renew licenses on or before June 30 of 

each year.  

B. Every license holder who intends to continue an active 

practice shall submit to the board on or before June 30 of 

each year:  

1. A completed form for renewal of the license on which 

the licensee attests to compliance with the continuing 

competency requirements prescribed in this chapter; and  

2. The renewal fee prescribed in 18VAC115-60-20.  

C. A licensee who wishes to place his license in an inactive 

status may do so upon payment of the inactive renewal fee as 

established in 18VAC115-60-20. No person shall practice 

substance abuse treatment in Virginia unless he holds a 

current active license. A licensee who has placed himself in 

inactive status may become active by fulfilling the 

reactivation requirements set forth in 18VAC115-60-120 C.  

D. Licensees shall notify the board of a change in the 

address of record or the public address, if different from the 

address of record within 60 days. Failure to receive a renewal 

notice from the board shall not relieve the license holder from 

the renewal requirement.  

E. After the renewal date, the license is expired; practice 

with an expired license is prohibited and may constitute 

grounds for disciplinary action. 
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18VAC115-60-115. Continued competency requirements 

for renewal of a license.  

A. After July 1, 2004, licensed Licensed substance abuse 

treatment practitioners shall be required to have completed a 

minimum of 20 hours of continuing competency for each 

annual licensure renewal. A minimum of two of these hours 

shall be in courses that emphasize the ethics, standard of 

practice or laws governing behavioral science professions in 

Virginia.  

B. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up to 

one year for the completion of continuing competency 

requirements upon written request from the licensee prior to 

the renewal date. Such extension shall not relieve the licensee 

of the continuing competency requirement.  

C. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

continuing competency requirements due to circumstances 

beyond the control of the licensee, such as temporary 

disability, mandatory military service, or officially declared 

disasters.  

D. Those individuals dually licensed by this board will not 

be required to obtain continuing competency for each license. 

Dually licensed individuals will only be required to provide 

the hours set out in subsection A of this section or subsection 

A of 18VAC115-50-95 in the Regulations Governing the 

Practice of Marriage and Family Therapy, or subsection A of 

18VAC115-20-105 in the Regulations Governing the Practice 

of Professional Counseling.  

18VAC115-60-116. Continuing competency activity 

criteria.  

A. Continuing competency activities must focus on 

increasing knowledge or skills in one or more of the 

following areas:  

1. Ethics, standards of practice or laws governing 

behavioral science professions;  

2. Counseling theory;  

3. Human growth and development;  

4. Social and cultural foundations;  

5. The helping relationship;  

6. Group dynamics, processing and counseling;  

7. Lifestyle and career development;  

8. Appraisal of individuals;  

9. Research and evaluation;  

10. Professional orientation;  

11. Clinical supervision;  

12. Marriage and family therapy; or  

13. Addictions.  

B. Approved hours of continuing competency activity shall 

be one of the following types:  

1. Formally organized learning activities or home study. 

Activities may be counted at their full hour value. Hours 

shall be obtained from one or a combination of the 

following board-approved, mental health-related activities:  

a. Regionally accredited university-or college-level 

academic courses in a behavioral health discipline.  

b. Continuing education programs offered by universities 

or colleges.  

c. Workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses in the 

behavioral health field offered by federal, state, or local 

governmental agencies or licensed health facilities and 

licensed hospitals.  

d. Workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses in the 

behavioral health field offered by an individual or 

organization that has been certified or approved by one 

of the following:  

(1) The American International Association of Marriage 

and Family Counselors and its state affiliates.  

(2) The American Association of for Marriage and 

Family Therapists Therapy and its state affiliates.  

(3) The American Association of State Counseling 

Boards.  

(4) The American Counseling Association and its state 

and local affiliates.  

(5) The American Psychological Association and its state 

affiliates.  

(6) The Commission on Rehabilitation Counselor 

Certification.  

(7) NAADAC, The Association for Addiction 

Professionals, and its state and local affiliates.  

(8) National Association of Social Workers.  

(9) The National Board for Certified Counselors.  

(10) A national behavioral health organization or 

certification body.  

(11) Individuals or organizations that have been 

approved as continuing competency sponsors by the 

American Association of State Counseling Boards or a 

counseling board in another state.  

2. Individual professional activities.  

a. Publication/presentation/new program development.  

(1) Publication of articles. Activity will count for a 

maximum of eight hours. Publication activities are 

limited to articles in refereed journals or a chapter in an 

edited book.  

(2) Publication of books. Activity will count for a 

maximum of 18 hours.  

(3) Presentations. Activity will count for a maximum of 

eight hours. The same presentations may be used only 

once in a two-year period. Only actual presentation time 

may be counted.  

(4) New program development. Activity will count for a 

maximum of eight hours. New program development 
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includes a new course, seminar, or workshop. New 

courses shall be graduate or undergraduate level college 

or university courses.  

b. Dissertation. Activity will count for a maximum of 18 

hours. Dissertation credit may only be counted once.  

c. Clinical supervision/consultation. Activity will count 

for a maximum of 10 hours. Continuing competency can 

only be granted for clinical supervision/consultation 

received on a regular basis with a set agenda. Continuing 

competency cannot be granted for supervision that you 

provide to others.  

d. Leadership. Activity will count for a maximum of 

eight hours. The following leadership positions are 

acceptable for continuing competency credit: officers of 

state or national counseling organization; editor and/or 

reviewer of professional counseling journals; member of 

state counseling licensure/certification board; member of 

a national counselor certification board; member of a 

national ethics disciplinary review committee rendering 

licenses; active member of a counseling committee 

producing a substantial written product; chair of a major 

counseling conference or convention; other leadership 

positions with justifiable professional learning 

experiences. The leadership positions must take place for 

a minimum of one year after the date of first licensure.  

e. Practice related programs. Activity will count up to a 

maximum of eight hours. The board may allow up to 

eight contact hours of continuing competency as long as 

the regulant submits proof of attendance plus a written 

justification of how the activity assists him in his direct 

service of his clients. Examples include language 

courses, software training, medical topics, etc. 

18VAC115-60-120. Late renewal; reinstatement.  

A. A person whose license has expired may renew it within 

one year after its expiration date by paying the late renewal 

fee prescribed in 18VAC115-60-20, as well as the license fee 

prescribed for the year the license was not renewed and 

providing evidence of having met all applicable continuing 

competency requirements.  

B. A person who fails to renew a license after one year or 

more and wishes to resume practice shall apply for 

reinstatement, pay the reinstatement fee for a lapsed license, 

submit evidence regarding the continued ability to perform 

the functions within the scope of practice of the license 

verification of any mental health license he holds or has held 

in another jurisdiction, if applicable, and provide evidence of 

having met all applicable continuing competency 

requirements not to exceed a maximum of 80 hours obtained 

within the four years immediately preceding application for 

reinstatement. The board may require the applicant for 

reinstatement to submit evidence regarding the continued 

ability to perform the functions within the scope of practice of 

the license. 

C. A person wishing to reactivate an inactive license shall 

submit (i) the renewal fee for active licensure minus any fee 

already paid for inactive licensure renewal and; (ii) 

documentation of continued competency hours equal to the 

number of years the license has been inactive not to exceed a 

maximum of 80 hours obtained within the four years 

immediately preceding application for reactivation; and (iii) 

verification of any mental health license he holds or has held 

in another jurisdiction, if applicable. The board may require 

the applicant for reactivation to submit evidence regarding the 

continued ability to perform the functions within the scope of 

practice of the license.  

Part V  

Standards of Practice; Unprofessional Conduct; Disciplinary 

Actions; Reinstatement  

18VAC115-60-130. Standards of practice.  

A. The protection of the public health, safety, and welfare 

and the best interest of the public shall be the primary guide 

in determining the appropriate professional conduct of all 

persons whose activities are regulated by the board. 

Regardless of the delivery method, whether in person, by 

phone or electronically, these standards shall apply to the 

practice of substance abuse treatment. 

B. Persons licensed or registered by the board shall: 

1. Practice in a manner that is in the best interest of the 

public and does not endanger the public health, safety, or 

welfare; 

2. Practice only within the boundaries of their competence, 

based on their education, training, supervised experience 

and appropriate professional experience and represent their 

education, training and experience accurately to clients; 

3. Stay abreast of new substance abuse treatment 

information, concepts, application and practices that are 

necessary to providing appropriate, effective professional 

services; 

4. Be able to justify all services rendered to clients as 

necessary and appropriate for diagnostic or therapeutic 

purposes; 

5. Document the need for and steps taken to terminate a 

counseling relationship when it becomes clear that the 

client is not benefiting from the relationship. Document the 

assistance provided in making appropriate arrangements 

for the continuation of treatment for clients, when 

necessary, following termination of a counseling 

relationship; 

6. Make appropriate arrangements for continuation of 

services, when necessary, during interruptions such as 

vacations, unavailability, relocation, illness, and disability; 

7. Disclose to clients all experimental methods of treatment 

and inform clients of the risks and benefits of any such 

treatment. Ensure that the welfare of the clients is in no 

way compromised in any experimentation or research 

involving those clients; 
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8. Neither accept nor give commissions, rebates, or other 

forms of remuneration for referral of clients for 

professional services; 

9. Inform clients of the purposes, goals, techniques, 

procedures, limitations, potential risks, and benefits of 

services to be performed; the limitations of confidentiality; 

and other pertinent information when counseling is 

initiated and throughout the counseling process as 

necessary. Provide clients with accurate information 

regarding the implications of diagnosis, the intended use of 

tests and reports, fees, and billing arrangements; 

10. Select tests for use with clients that are valid, reliable 

and appropriate and carefully interpret the performance of 

individuals not represented in standardized norms; 

11. Determine whether a client is receiving services from 

another mental health service provider, and if so, refrain 

from providing services to the client without having an 

informed consent discussion with the client and having 

been granted communication privileges with the other 

professional; 

12. Use only in connection with one's practice as a mental 

health professional those educational and professional 

degrees or titles that have been earned at a college or 

university accredited by an accrediting agency recognized 

by the United States U.S. Department of Education, or 

credentials granted by a national certifying agency, and 

that are counseling in nature; and 

13. Advertise professional services fairly and accurately in 

a manner that is not false, misleading or deceptive. 

C. In regard to patient records, persons licensed by the board 

shall: 

1. Maintain written or electronic clinical records for each 

client to include treatment dates and identifying 

information to substantiate diagnosis and treatment plan, 

client progress, and termination; 

2. Maintain client records securely, inform all employees 

of the requirements of confidentiality and provide for the 

destruction of records that are no longer useful in a manner 

that ensures client confidentiality; 

3. Disclose or release records to others only with clients' 

expressed written consent or that of their legally authorized 

representative in accordance with § 32.1-127.1:03 of the 

Code of Virginia; 

4. Maintain client records for a minimum of five years or 

as otherwise required by law from the date of termination 

of the substance abuse treatment relationship with the 

following exceptions: 

a. At minimum, records of a minor child shall be 

maintained for five years after attaining the age of 

majority (18 years) or 10 years following termination, 

whichever comes later; 

b. Records that are required by contractual obligation or 

federal law to be maintained for a longer period of time; 

or 

c. Records that have been transferred to another mental 

health service provider or given to the client; and 

5. Ensure confidentiality in the usage of client records and 

clinical materials by obtaining informed consent from 

clients or their legally authorized representative before (i) 

videotaping, (ii) audio recording, (iii) permitting third 

party observation, or (iv) using identifiable client records 

and clinical materials in teaching, writing or public 

presentations. 

D. In regard to dual relationships, persons licensed by the 

board shall: 

1. Avoid dual relationships with clients that could impair 

professional judgment or increase the risk of harm to 

clients. Examples of such relationships include, but are not 

limited to, familial, social, financial, business, bartering, or 

close personal relationships with clients. Counselors shall 

take appropriate professional precautions when a dual 

relationship cannot be avoided, such as informed consent, 

consultation, supervision, and documentation to ensure that 

judgment is not impaired and no exploitation occurs; 

2. Not engage in any type of romantic relationships or 

sexual intimacies with clients or those included in a 

collateral relationship with the client and not counsel 

persons with whom they have had a sexual romantic 

relationship or sexual intimacy. Licensed substance abuse 

treatment practitioners shall not engage in romantic 

relationships or sexual intimacies with former clients 

within a minimum of five years after terminating the 

counseling relationship. Licensed substance abuse 

treatment practitioners who engage in such relationship or 

intimacy after five years following termination shall have 

the responsibility to examine and document thoroughly 

that such relations do not have an exploitive nature, based 

on factors such as duration of counseling, amount of time 

since counseling, termination circumstances, client's 

personal history and mental status, or adverse impact on 

the client. A client's consent to, initiation of or 

participation in sexual behavior or involvement with a 

licensed substance abuse treatment practitioner does not 

change the nature of the conduct nor lift the regulatory 

prohibition; 

3. Not engage in any sexual intimacy or romantic 

relationship or establish a counseling or psychotherapeutic 

relationship with a supervisee or student. Licensed 

substance abuse treatment practitioners shall avoid any 

nonsexual dual relationship with a supervisee or student in 

which there is a risk of exploitation or potential harm to the 

supervisee or the potential for interference with the 

supervisor's professional judgment; and 
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4. Recognize conflicts of interest and inform all parties of 

the nature and directions of loyalties and responsibilities 

involved. 

E. Persons licensed by this board shall report to the board 

known or suspected violations of the laws and regulations 

governing the practice of substance abuse treatment.  

F. Persons licensed by the board shall advise their clients of 

their right to report to the Department of Health Professions 

any information of which the licensee may become aware in 

his professional capacity indicating that there is a reasonable 

probability that a person licensed or certified as a mental 

health service provider, as defined in § 54.1-2400.1 of the 

Code of Virginia, may have engaged in unethical, fraudulent 

or unprofessional conduct as defined by the pertinent 

licensing statutes and regulations. 

18VAC115-60-140. Grounds for revocation, suspension, 

probation, reprimand, censure, or denial of renewal of 

license.  

A. Action by the board to revoke, suspend, deny issuance or 

renewal of a license, or take other disciplinary action may be 

taken in accord with the following:  

1. Conviction of a felony, or of a misdemeanor involving 

moral turpitude, or violation of or aid to another in 

violating any provision of Chapter 35 (§ 54.1-3500 et seq.) 

of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, any other statute 

applicable to the practice of substance abuse treatment, or 

any provision of this chapter;  

2. Procurement of a license, including submission of an 

application or supervisory forms, by fraud or 

misrepresentation.;  

3. Conducting one's practice in such a manner as to make it 

a danger to the health and welfare of one's clients or to the 

public, or if one is unable to practice substance abuse 

treatment with reasonable skill and safety to clients by 

reason of illness, abusive use of alcohol, drugs, narcotics, 

chemicals, or other type of material or result of any mental 

or physical condition;  

4. Intentional or negligent conduct that causes or is likely 

to cause injury to a client;  

5. Performance of functions outside the demonstrable areas 

of competency;  

6. Failure to comply with the continued competency 

requirements set forth in this chapter; or  

7. Violating or abetting another person in the violation of 

any provision of any statute applicable to the practice of 

licensed substance abuse therapy, or any part or portion of 

this chapter; or 

8. Performance of an act likely to deceive, defraud, or 

harm the public.  

B. Following the revocation or suspension of a license the 

licensee may petition the board for reinstatement upon good 

cause shown or as a result of substantial new evidence having 

been obtained that would alter the determination reached.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4067; Filed November 9, 2015, 1:03 p.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC115-30. Regulations 

Governing the Certification of Substance Abuse 

Counselors and Substance Abuse Counseling (amending 

18VAC115-30-30, 18VAC115-30-40, 18VAC115-30-45, 

18VAC115-30-60). 

18VAC115-40. Regulations Governing the Certification of 

Rehabilitation Providers (amending 18VAC115-40-20, 

18VAC115-40-25, 18VAC115-40-28).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3505 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 30, 2015. 

Effective Date: January 15, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 527-4435, or 

email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia provides the 

Board of Counseling the authority to promulgate regulations 

to administer the regulatory system. The specific authority for 

the promulgation of regulations for counseling-related 

professions is found in § 54.1-3505 of the Code of Virginia.  

Purpose: The purpose of the regulatory action is to fulfill the 

requirement for a periodic review of regulations to ensure that 

they are clearly written and necessary to protect the public. 

The addition of a requirement for submission of a National 

Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) report as part of the 

application process is intended to ensure that the board has 

sufficient information about any disciplinary history and 

criminal activity in order to make a decision on certification 

that will protect the health, safety, and welfare of persons 

receiving substance abuse or rehabilitation services by 

certificate holders in Virginia. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The action is 

clarifying in nature and has unanimous approval of the Board 

of Counseling. The board does not expect it to be 

controversial. 

Substance: Other than the submission of an NPDB report by 

applicants for certification, there are no substantive changes 

in this action. 

Issues: There are no disadvantages to the public. Inclusion of 

a requirement for applicants to submit a report from the 

NPDB may provide additional protection for persons who are 

receiving substance abuse or rehabilitation services in the 

Commonwealth. There are no particular advantages or 

disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth. 
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Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings: This 

regulatory action serves as the report of the findings of the 

regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Counseling (Board) proposes to require applicants 

for substance abuse counselor or rehabilitation provider 

certification submit a current report from the U.S. Department 

of Health and Human Services National Practitioner Data 

Bank (NPDB). The Board also proposes to remove obsolete 

provisions and amend language for improved clarity.  

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The NPDB is an electronic 

information repository created by Congress. It contains 

information on medical malpractice payments and certain 

adverse actions related to health care practitioners, entities, 

providers, and suppliers.
1
 Section 150 of the Regulations 

Governing the Certification of Substance Abuse Counselors 

and Substance Abuse Counseling Assistants and Section 50 

of the Regulations Governing the Certification of 

Rehabilitation Providers list the grounds on which to deny 

certification, including various actions that would endanger 

persons receiving services from substance abuse counselors 

or rehabilitation providers. The NDPB includes findings of 

past activities that may have endangered the health, safety, or 

welfare of patients. Thus the proposal to require that 

applicants submit a current report of the NPDB has potential 

significant benefit. According to the Virginia Department of 

Health Professions (DHP) the cost for applicants to have the 

report sent from the U.S. Department of Health and Human 

Services to DHP is only $3. Thus the benefit of the proposal 

likely exceeds the cost. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 

affect applicants for substance abuse counselor or 

rehabilitation provider certification. Approximately 100 to 

125 individuals apply for substance abuse counselor 

certification and less than 5 people apply for rehabilitation 

provider certification annually.
2
 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

do not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments are unlikely to significantly affect the 

use and value of private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

do not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments will not 

significantly affect small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendments will not significantly affect small 

businesses. 

Adverse Impacts:  

Businesses: The proposed amendments will not significantly 

affect businesses. 

Localities: The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities: The proposed amendments will not 

significantly affect other entities. 

______________________________________ 
1 Source: U.S. Department of Health & Human Services 
2 Source: Virginia Department of Health Professions 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Counseling concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments require applicants for substance abuse 

counselor or rehabilitation provider certification to submit 

a current report from the U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Services National Practitioner Data Bank, remove 

obsolete provisions, and amend language for improved 

clarity.  

18VAC115-30-30. Fees required by the board.  

A. The board has established the following fees applicable 

to the certification of substance abuse counselors and 

substance abuse counseling assistants:  

Substance abuse counselor annual 

certification renewal 

$55 

Substance abuse counseling assistant annual 

certification renewal 

$40 

Substance abuse counselor initial 

certification by examination: Application 

processing and initial certification 

$90 

Substance abuse counseling assistant initial 

certification by examination: Application 

processing and initial certification 

$90 

Initial certification by endorsement of 

substance abuse counselors: Application 

processing and initial certification 

$90 

Registration of supervision $50 

Add or change supervisor $25 

Duplicate certificate $5 
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Late renewal $20 

Reinstatement of a lapsed certificate $100 

Replacement of or additional wall certificate $15 

Returned check $35 

Reinstatement following revocation or 

suspension 

$500 

One-time fee reduction for renewal of 

certification as a substance abuse counselor 

due on June 30, 2010 

$27 

One-time fee reduction for renewal of 

certification as a substance abuse counseling 

assistant due on June 30, 2010 

$20 

B. All fees are nonrefundable.  

Part II  

Requirements for Certification  

18VAC115-30-40. Prerequisites for certification by 

examination for substance abuse counselors.  

A. A candidate for certification as a substance abuse 

counselor shall meet all the requirements of this section and 

shall pass the examination prescribed in 18VAC115-30-90.  

B. Every applicant for examination for certification by the 

board shall:  

1. Meet the educational and experience requirements 

prescribed in 18VAC115-30-50 and 18VAC115-30-60;  

2. Submit the following to the board:  

a. A completed application form;  

b. Official transcript documenting attainment of a 

bachelor's degree;  

c. Official transcripts or certificates verifying completion 

of the didactic training requirement set forth in 

subsection B of 18VAC115-30-50;  

d. Verification of supervisor's education and experience 

as required under 18VAC115-30-60;  

e. Verification of supervision forms documenting 

fulfillment of the experience requirements of 

18VAC115-30-60;  

f. Documentation of any other professional health or 

mental health license or certificate ever held in another 

jurisdiction;  

g. A current report from the U.S. Department of Health 

and Human Services National Practitioner Data Bank 

(NPDB); and  

g. h. The application processing and initial certification 

fee.  

18VAC115-30-45. Prerequisites for certification by 

endorsement for substance abuse counselors.  

Every applicant for certification by endorsement shall 

submit:  

1. A completed application;  

2. The application processing fee;  

3. Verification of all professional health or mental health 

licenses or certificates ever held in any other jurisdiction. 

In order to qualify for endorsement, the applicant shall 

have no unresolved action against a license or certificate. 

The board will consider history of disciplinary action on a 

case-by-case basis. The board will also determine whether 

any or all other professional licenses or certificates held in 

another jurisdiction are substantially equivalent to those 

sought in Virginia;  

4. A current report from the U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Services National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB);  

4. 5. Affidavit of having read and understood the 

regulations and laws governing the practice of substance 

abuse counseling in Virginia; and  

5. 6. Further documentation of one of the following:  

a. Licensure or certification as a substance abuse 

counselor in another jurisdiction in good standing 

obtained by standards substantially equivalent to the 

education and experience requirements set forth in this 

chapter as verified by a certified copy of the original 

application submitted directly from the out-of-state 

licensing agency, or a copy of the regulations in effect at 

the time of initial licensure or certification and 

verification of a passing score on a licensure examination 

in the jurisdiction in which licensure or certification was 

obtained, and that is deemed substantially equivalent by 

the board; or  

b. Verification of a current certification in good standing 

issued by NAADAC or other board-recognized national 

certification in substance abuse counseling obtained by 

educational and experience standards substantially 

equivalent to those set forth in this chapter.  

18VAC115-30-60. Experience requirements for substance 

abuse counselors.  

A. Registration. Supervision obtained without prior board 

approval will not be accepted if it does not meet the 

requirements set forth in subsections B and C of this section. 

Individuals who wish to To register supervision for board 

approval prior to obtaining the supervised experience, an 

applicant shall submit in one package:  

1. A supervisory contract;  

2. Verification of the supervisor's education and experience 

as required under subsection C of this section; and 

3. The registration fee.  
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B. Experience requirements.  

1. An applicant for certification as a substance abuse 

counselor shall have had 2,000 hours of supervised 

experience in the delivery of clinical substance abuse 

counseling services.  

2. The supervised experience shall include a minimum of 

one hour and a maximum of four hours per week of 

supervision between the supervisor and the applicant to 

total 100 hours within the required experience. No more 

than half of these hours may be satisfied with group 

supervision. One hour of group supervision will be deemed 

equivalent to one hour of individual supervision.  

3. Applicants must document successful completion of 

their supervised experience on the Verification of 

Supervision Form at the time of application.  

C. Supervisor qualifications. A board-approved clinical 

supervisor shall be:  

1. A licensed substance abuse treatment practitioner;  

2. A licensed professional counselor, licensed clinical 

psychologist, licensed clinical social worker, licensed 

marriage and family therapist, medical doctor, or registered 

nurse, and possess either a board-recognized national 

certification in substance abuse counseling obtained by 

standards substantially equivalent to those set forth in this 

chapter, or a minimum of one year experience in substance 

abuse counseling and at least 100 hours of didactic training 

covering the areas outlined in 18VAC115-30-50 B 1 a 

through h; or  

3. A substance abuse counselor certified by the Virginia 

Board of Counseling who has:  

a. Board-recognized national certification in substance 

abuse counseling obtained by standards substantially 

equivalent to those set forth in this chapter; or  

b. Two years experience as a Virginia board-certified 

substance abuse counselor.  

D. Supervisory responsibilities.  

1. Supervisors shall assume responsibility for the 

professional activities of the prospective applicants under 

their supervision.  

2. Supervisors shall not provide supervision for activities 

for which prospective applicants have not had appropriate 

education.  

3. Supervisors shall provide supervision only for those 

substance abuse counseling services that they are qualified 

to render.  

4. At the time of formal application for certification, the 

board-approved supervisor shall document the applicant's 

total hours of supervision, length of work experience, 

competence in substance abuse counseling and any needs 

for additional supervision or training.  

5. Supervision by any individual whose relationship to the 

supervisee compromises the objectivity of the supervisor is 

prohibited.  

18VAC115-40-20. Fees required by the board.  

A. The board has established the following fees applicable 

to the certification of rehabilitation providers:  

Initial certification by examination: 

Processing and initial certification  

$90 

Initial certification by endorsement: 

Processing and initial certification  

$90 

Certification renewal $55 

Duplicate certificate $5 

Late renewal $20 

Reinstatement of a lapsed certificate $100 

Replacement of or additional wall 

certificate  

$15 

Returned check $35 

Reinstatement following revocation or 

suspension  

$500 

One-time fee reduction for renewal of 

certification as a rehabilitation provider 

due on June 30, 2010 

$27 

B. Fees shall be paid to the board or its contractor or both in 

appropriate amounts as specified in the application 

instructions. All fees are nonrefundable.  

C. Examination fees shall be determined and made payable 

as determined by the board.  

18VAC115-40-25. Application process.  

The applicant shall submit to the board:  

1. A completed application form;  

2. The official transcript or transcripts submitted from the 

appropriate institutions of higher education;  

3. Documentation, on the appropriate forms, of the 

successful completion of the supervised experience 

requirement of 18VAC115-40-26. Documentation of 

supervision obtained outside of Virginia must include 

verification of the supervisor's out-of-state license or 

certificate;  

4. A current report from the U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Services National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB); 

and  

4. 5. Documentation of the applicant's national or out-of-

state license or certificate in good standing where 

applicable.  
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Part III  

Examinations  

18VAC115-40-28. General examination requirements.  

A. Every applicant for certification as a rehabilitation 

provider shall take a written examination approved by the 

board and achieve a passing score as determined by the board.  

B. The written examination will be given at least once each 

year. The board may schedule such additional examinations 

as it deems necessary.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4394; Filed November 9, 2015, 8:48 a.m.  

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC140-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Social Work (amending 18VAC140-20-30, 

18VAC140-20-100, 18VAC140-20-105, 18VAC140-20-106, 

18VAC140-20-110, 18VAC140-20-130).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 30, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Acting Executive Director, 

Board of Social Work, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX 

(804) 527-4435, or email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) increase fees for initial application, 

renewal, late renewal for licensed social workers and 

licensed clinical social workers, and reinstatement after 

disciplinary action; (ii) increase certain administrative 

fees; (iii) establish a fee for an addition to or change in 

registration of supervision; and (iv) change the license 

renewal cycle from biennial to annual.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

18VAC140-20-30. Fees.  

A. The board has established fees for the following:  

1. Registration of supervision $25 $50 

2. Addition to or change in registration of 

supervision 

$25 

2. 3. Application processing  $100 

a. Licensed clinical social worker $165 

b. Licensed social worker $115 

3. Biennial 4. Annual license renewal    

a. Registered social worker $35 $25 

b. Associate social worker  $35 $25 

c. Licensed social worker $110 $65 

d. Licensed clinical social worker  $125 $90 

4. 5. Penalty for late renewal  $10 

a. Registered social worker $10 

b. Associate social worker  $10 

c. Licensed social worker $20 

d. Licensed clinical social worker  $30 

5. 6. Verification of license to another 

jurisdiction  

$10 $25 

6. 7. Additional or replacement licenses $10 $15 

7. 8. Additional or replacement wall 

certificates  

$15 $25 

8. 9. Returned check $35 

9. 10. Reinstatement following 

disciplinary action  

$200 

$500 

B. Fees shall be paid by check or money order made payable 

to the Treasurer of Virginia and forwarded to the board. All 

fees are nonrefundable.  

C. Examination fees shall be paid directly to the 

examination service according to its requirements.  

18VAC140-20-100. Licensure renewal.  

A. All Beginning with the [ 2013 2017 ] renewal, licensees 

shall renew their licenses on or before June 30 of each odd-

numbered year and pay the renewal fee prescribed by the 

board.  

B. Licensees who wish to maintain an active license shall 

pay the appropriate fee and document on the renewal form 

compliance with the continued competency requirements 

prescribed in 18VAC140-20-105. Newly licensed individuals 

are not required to document continuing education on the first 

renewal date following initial licensure.  

C. A licensee who wishes to place his license in inactive 

status may do so upon payment of a fee equal to one-half of 

the biennial annual license renewal fee as indicated on the 

renewal form. No person shall practice social work or clinical 

social work in Virginia unless he holds a current active 

license. A licensee who has placed himself in inactive status 

may become active by fulfilling the reactivation requirements 

set forth in 18VAC140-20-110.  

D. Each licensee shall furnish the board his current address 

of record. All notices required by law or by this chapter to be 

mailed by the board to any such licensee shall be validly 

given when mailed to the latest address of record given by the 

licensee. Any change in the address of record or the public 

address, if different from the address of record, shall be 

furnished to the board within 30 days of such change.  
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18VAC140-20-105. Continued competency requirements 

for renewal of an active license.  

A. Licensed clinical social workers shall be required to have 

completed a minimum of 30 contact hours of continuing 

education and licensed social workers shall be required to 

have completed a minimum of 15 contact hours of continuing 

education for each biennial prior to licensure renewal in even 

years. Courses or activities shall be directly related to the 

practice of social work or another behavioral health field. A 

minimum of two of those hours must pertain to ethics or the 

standards of practice for the behavioral health professions or 

to laws governing the practice of social work in Virginia. 

1. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up 

to one year for the completion of continuing education 

requirements upon written request from the licensee prior 

to the renewal date. Such extension shall not relieve the 

licensee of the continuing education requirement. 

2. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

continuing education requirements due to circumstances 

beyond the control of the licensee such as temporary 

disability, mandatory military service, or officially 

declared disasters upon written request from the licensee 

prior to the renewal date. 

B. Hours may be obtained from a combination of board-

approved activities in the following two categories:  

1. Category I. Formally Organized Learning Activities. A 

minimum of 20 hours for licensed clinical social workers 

or 10 hours for licensed social workers shall be 

documented in this category, which shall include one or 

more of the following: 

a. Regionally accredited university or college academic 

courses in a behavioral health discipline. A maximum of 

15 hours will be accepted for each academic course. 

b. Continuing education programs offered by universities 

or colleges accredited by the Council on Social Work 

Education. 

c. Workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses in the 

behavioral health field offered by federal, state or local 

social service agencies, public school systems or licensed 

health facilities and licensed hospitals. 

d. Workshops, seminars, conferences or courses in the 

behavioral health field offered by an individual or 

organization that has been certified or approved by one 

of the following: 

(1) The Child Welfare League of America and its state 

and local affiliates. 

(2) The National Association of Social Workers and its 

state and local affiliates. 

(3) The National Association of Black Social Workers 

and its state and local affiliates. 

(4) The Family Service Association of America and its 

state and local affiliates. 

(5) The Clinical Social Work Association and its state 

and local affiliates. 

(6) The Association of Social Work Boards. 

(7) Any state social work board. 

2. Category II. Individual Professional Activities. A 

maximum of 10 of the required 30 hours for licensed 

clinical social workers or a maximum of five of the 

required 15 hours for licensed social workers may be 

earned in this category, which shall include one or more of 

the following: 

a. Participation in an Association of Social Work Boards 

item writing workshop. (Activity will count for a 

maximum of two hours.)  

b. Publication of a professional social work-related book 

or initial preparation/presentation of a social work-related 

course. (Activity will count for a maximum of 10 hours.) 

c. Publication of a professional social work-related article 

or chapter of a book, or initial preparation/presentation of 

a social work-related in-service training, seminar, or 

workshop. (Activity will count for a maximum of five 

hours.) 

d. Provision of a continuing education program 

sponsored or approved by an organization listed under 

Category I. (Activity will count for a maximum of two 

hours and will only be accepted one time for any specific 

program.) 

e. Field instruction of graduate students in a Council on 

Social Work Education-accredited school. (Activity will 

count for a maximum of two hours.) 

f. Serving as an officer or committee member of one of 

the national professional social work associations listed 

under subdivision B 1 d of this section or as a member of 

a state social work licensing board. (Activity will count 

for a maximum of two hours.) 

g. Attendance at formal staffings at federal, state, or local 

social service agencies, public school systems, or 

licensed health facilities and licensed hospitals. (Activity 

will count for a maximum of five hours.) 

h. Individual or group study including listening to audio 

tapes, viewing video tapes, reading, professional books 

or articles. (Activity will count for a maximum of five 

hours.) 

18VAC140-20-106. Documenting compliance with 

continuing education requirements.  

A. All licensees in active status are required to maintain 

original documentation for a period of five three years 

following renewal.  

B. After the end of each renewal period, the The board shall 

may conduct a random an audit of licensees to verify 

compliance with the requirement for that a renewal period.  
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C. Upon request, a licensee shall provide documentation as 

follows:  

1. Documentation of Category I activities by submission 

of:  

a. Official transcripts showing credit hours earned; or  

b. Certificates of participation.  

2. Attestation of completion of Category II activities.  

D. Continuing education hours required by disciplinary 

order shall not be used to satisfy renewal requirements.  

18VAC140-20-110. Late renewal; reinstatement; 

reactivation.  

A. A social worker or clinical social worker whose license 

has expired may renew that license within four years one year 

after its expiration date by:  

1. Providing evidence of having met all applicable 

continuing education requirements.  

2. Paying the penalty for late renewal and the biennial 

license renewal fee for each biennium as prescribed in 

18VAC140-20-30.  

B. A social worker or clinical social worker who fails to 

renew the license for four years or more after one year and 

who wishes to resume practice shall apply for reinstatement, 

and pay the reinstatement fee and, which shall consist of the 

application processing fee and the penalty fee for late 

renewal, as set forth in 18VAC140-20-30. An applicant for 

reinstatement shall also provide documentation of having 

completed all applicable continued competency hours equal 

to the number of years the license has lapsed, not to exceed 

four years. An applicant for reinstatement shall also provide 

evidence of competency to practice by documenting: 

1. Active practice in another U.S. jurisdiction for at least 

three of the past five years immediately preceding 

application; 

2. Active practice in an exempt setting for at least three of 

the past five years immediately preceding application; or 

3. Practice as a supervisee under supervision for at least 

360 hours in the 12 months immediately preceding 

licensure in Virginia. 

C. A social worker or clinical social worker wishing to 

reactivate an inactive license shall submit the renewal fee for 

active licensure minus any fee already paid for inactive 

licensure renewal, and document completion of continued 

competency hours equal to the number of years the license 

has been inactive, not to exceed four years. An applicant for 

reactivation shall also provide evidence of competency to 

practice by documenting: 

1. Active practice in another U.S. jurisdiction for at least 

three of the past five years immediately preceding 

application; 

2. Active practice in an exempt setting for at least three of 

the past five years immediately preceding application; or 

3. Practice as a supervisee under supervision for at least 

360 hours in the 12 months immediately preceding 

licensure in Virginia. 

18VAC140-20-130. Renewal of registration for associate 

social workers and registered social workers.  

The registration of every associate social worker and 

registered social worker with the former Virginia Board of 

Registration of Social Workers under former § 54-775.4 of 

the Code of Virginia shall expire on June 30 of each odd-

numbered year.  

1. Each registrant shall return the completed application 

before the expiration date, accompanied by the payment of 

the renewal fee prescribed by the board.  

2. Failure to receive the renewal notice shall not relieve the 

registrant from the renewal requirement.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2391; Filed November 9, 2015, 8:56 a.m.  

BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC150-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Veterinary Medicine (amending 

18VAC150-20-70).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3805.2 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

December 2, 2015 - 9 a.m. - Department of Health 

Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, 2nd 

Floor Conference Center, Hearing Room 1, Henrico, VA 

Public Comment Deadline: January 29, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 

Board of Veterinary Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4468, FAX 

(804) 527-4471, or email leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia establishes 

the general powers and duties of the Board of Veterinary 

Medicine, including the responsibility to promulgate 

regulations in accordance with the Administrative Process 

Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) that are 

reasonable and necessary to administer effectively the 

regulatory system.  

The specific authority of the board relating to continuing 

education is in § 54.1-3805.2 of the Code of Virginia, which 

states that the board shall adopt regulations that provide for 

continuing education requirements for relicensure and 

licensure by endorsement of veterinarians and veterinary 

technicians.  

Purpose: Veterinary technicians believe it is essential to 

elevate their expertise and skill level to keep up with the 

complexities of veterinary care and more adequately protect 

the health and safety of companion and herd animals in 

Virginia. 
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Substance: The amendment will increase the number of 

continuing education hours required for renewal of a license 

as a veterinary technician from six to eight hours per year. 

The change is in response to a petition for rulemaking. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is greater 

assurance for continued competency for veterinary 

technicians who provide much of the essential care to animals 

in veterinary care. There are no disadvantages to the public. 

There are no advantages and disadvantages to the agency or 

the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. As a 

result of a petition for rulemaking from a veterinary 

technician, the Board of Veterinary Medicine (Board) 

proposes to increase the number of continuing education 

hours that veterinary technicians must complete annually. 

Result of Analysis. There is insufficient information to 

ascertain if benefits will outweigh costs for this regulatory 

action. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Current regulation requires 

veterinary technicians to complete six hours of continuing 

education per year. Pursuant to a petition for rulemaking from 

a veterinary technician, the Board now proposes to increase 

the continuing education hours required of veterinary 

technicians to eight per year. Board staff reports that this 

action is being taken as a response to the petition for 

rulemaking and not because of any concerns raised by 

complaints about the general competency of veterinary 

technicians in the state. Board staff further reports that the 

Board believes that "additional hours can be obtained at no 

cost by taking advantage of online hours, those offered by 

vendors, specialty practices or local veterinary associations." 

To the extent that additional hours of continuing education 

may increase the competency of veterinary technicians, 

veterinary patients and their owners may benefit from this 

change. Any benefit that may accrue must be weighed against 

costs that veterinary technicians will likely incur. If additional 

hours of training can be completed at no costs as the Board 

believes, veterinary technicians will only incur costs for their 

time spent in training, possible travel costs if training cannot 

be completed online and possible loss of salary for those two 

additional hours if paid time off to complete training is not 

part of their compensation package. If free training options 

are not readily available, convenient or varied enough, 

veterinary technicians may also incur class or seminar fees for 

the additional hours of training the Board is proposing. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Board staff reports there are 

currently 1,925 veterinary technicians licensed in the 

Commonwealth; all of these individuals, as well as any 

individuals who become licensed veterinary technicians in the 

future, will be affected by this proposed regulatory change.  

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality in the 

Commonwealth will be particularly affected by this 

regulatory change. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This proposed change is 

unlikely to impact employment in the Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 

proposed change will likely have no impact on the use or 

value of private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This proposed change will 

likely not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses: 

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. Small business veterinarians may 

incur costs only if they pay for their veterinary technicians' 

continuing education training. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. Small 

business veterinarians who pay for their veterinary 

technicians' annual training would benefit if additional 

training were only required if it were necessary to insure 

competency by addressing identified deficiencies. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses: Veterinarians may incur costs only if they pay for 

their veterinary technicians' continuing education training. 

Localities: This proposed change is unlikely to adversely 

impact localities. 

Other Entities: This proposed change may adversely impact 

veterinary technicians who will likely incur costs for 

completing additional continuing education hours even if 

training options that do not include fees are available. 

Agency's Response to the Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Board of Veterinary Medicine concurs with the analysis of 

the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendment increases the number of 

continuing education hours required for renewal of a 

veterinary technician license to eight hours per year. 

18VAC150-20-70. Licensure renewal requirements. 

A. Every person licensed by the board shall, by January 1 of 

every year, submit to the board a completed renewal 

application and pay to the board a renewal fee as prescribed 

in 18VAC150-20-100. Failure to renew shall cause the 

license to lapse and become invalid, and practice with a 

lapsed license may subject the licensees to disciplinary action 

by the board. Failure to receive a renewal notice does not 

relieve the licensee of his responsibility to renew and 

maintain a current license. 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 7 Virginia Register of Regulations November 30, 2015 

1270 

B. Veterinarians shall be required to have completed a 

minimum of 15 hours, and veterinary technicians shall be 

required to have completed a minimum of six eight hours, of 

approved continuing education for each annual renewal of 

licensure. Continuing education credits or hours may not be 

transferred or credited to another year. 

1. Approved continuing education credit shall be given for 

courses or programs related to the treatment and care of 

patients and shall be clinical courses in veterinary medicine 

or veterinary technology or courses that enhance patient 

safety, such as medical recordkeeping or compliance with 

requirements of the Occupational Health and Safety 

Administration (OSHA). 

2. An approved continuing education course or program 

shall be sponsored by one of the following:  

a. The AVMA or its constituent and component/branch 

associations, specialty organizations, and board certified 

specialists in good standing within their specialty board;  

b. Colleges of veterinary medicine approved by the 

AVMA Council on Education;  

c. International, national, or regional conferences of 

veterinary medicine;  

d. Academies or species specific interest groups of 

veterinary medicine;  

e. State associations of veterinary technicians;  

f. North American Veterinary Technicians Association;  

g. Community colleges with an approved program in 

veterinary technology;  

h. State or federal government agencies;  

i. American Animal Hospital Association (AAHA) or its 

constituent and component/branch associations;  

j. Journals or veterinary information networks recognized 

by the board as providing education in veterinary 

medicine or veterinary technology; or  

k. An organization or entity approved by the Registry of 

Approved Continuing Education of the American 

Association of Veterinary State Boards.  

3. A licensee is exempt from completing continuing 

education requirements and considered in compliance on 

the first renewal date following his initial licensure by 

examination.  

4. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

continuing education requirements due to circumstances 

beyond the control of the licensee, such as temporary 

disability, mandatory military service, or officially 

declared disasters.  

5. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up 

to one year for the completion of continuing education 

requirements upon written request from the licensee prior 

to the renewal date. Such an extension shall not relieve the 

licensee of the continuing education requirement.  

6. Licensees are required to attest to compliance with 

continuing education requirements on their annual license 

renewal and are required to maintain original documents 

verifying the date and subject of the program or course, the 

number of continuing education hours or credits, and 

certification from an approved sponsor. Original 

documents must be maintained for a period of two years 

following renewal. The board shall periodically conduct a 

random audit to determine compliance. Practitioners 

selected for the audit shall provide all supporting 

documentation within 10 days of receiving notification of 

the audit.  

7. Continuing education hours required by disciplinary 

order shall not be used to satisfy renewal requirements.  

C. A licensee who has requested that his license be placed 

on inactive status is not authorized to perform acts that are 

considered the practice of veterinary medicine or veterinary 

technology and, therefore, shall not be required to have 

continuing education for annual renewal. To reactivate a 

license, the licensee is required to submit evidence of 

completion of continuing education hours as required by 

§ 54.1-3805.2 of the Code of Virginia equal to the number of 

years in which the license has not been active for a maximum 

of two years.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-18; Filed November 9, 2015, 9:09 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC150-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Veterinary Medicine (amending 

18VAC150-20-130; adding 18VAC150-20-173).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

December 2, 2015 - 9 a.m. - Department of Health 

Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, 2nd 

Floor Conference Center, Hearing Room 1, Henrico, VA 

Public Comment Deadline: January 29, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 

Board of Veterinary Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4468, FAX 

(804) 527-4471, or email leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 

the Board of Veterinary Medicine to promulgate regulations 

in accordance with the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-

4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) that are reasonable and 

necessary to administer effectively the regulatory system.  

The specific authority of the board relating to practical 

training for students of veterinary medicine is found in 

§ 54.1-3804 of the Code of Virginia, which authorizes the 

board to establish essential requirements and standards for 

approval of veterinary programs and  to establish and monitor 

programs for the practical training of qualified students of 

veterinary medicine or veterinary technology in college or 
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university programs of veterinary medicine or veterinary 

technology.  

Purpose: The purpose of the regulatory action is to eliminate 

a burdensome restriction on the preceptorships for veterinary 

students in which they gain practical experience under the 

direct supervision of a licensed veterinarian. Currently, 

students are not allowed to be engaged in a preceptorship 

until their final year in veterinary college. Therefore, they do 

not have the opportunity to practice what they are learning in 

the first three years and believe that they are less skillful and 

competent as practitioners when they graduate. Since 

preceptees are restricted to perform only those tasks for which 

they have been adequately instructed and must practice under 

the on-premises supervision of a licensed veterinarian, the 

board believes supervised practical experience through the 

course of veterinary college will be beneficial to patients and 

will adequately protect the health and safety of the public. 

Informed consent for surgery and disclosure about preceptee 

practice offers further protection and assurances for owners.  

Substance: The amendment to 18VAC150-20-130 requested 

by the petition for rulemaking was as follows: A veterinary 

student who is duly enrolled and in good standing in a 

veterinary college or school accredited or approved by the 

American Veterinary Medical Association and in the final 

year of his training or after completion of an equivalent 

number of hours as approved by the board may be engaged in 

a preceptorship or externship. 

In addition to the requested change, the board added 

provisions to reassure consumers that the veterinarian remains 

responsible for the animal, that the supervising veterinarian 

will be in the operatory with the preceptee whenever surgery 

is being performed, and that owners will be informed about a 

preceptee practicing in an establishment in order to have the 

right to specify who may treat the animal.  

Also, the board has added a new section on informed consent 

for surgery, so owners will have information about risks, 

benefits, and alternatives, regardless of who is performing the 

surgery. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is veterinary 

students will have more hands-on experience with animals 

when they receive their veterinary degree and a full license to 

practice. With the additional disclosures and informed 

consent, the board believes consumers will know whether 

there is a preceptor working in a veterinary practice and 

whether that preceptor will be involved with surgery on their 

animals. Consumers will have the option of refusing to have a 

preceptor doing any procedure on an animal; consequently, 

there should be no disadvantages to the public. There are no 

advantages and disadvantages to the agency or the 

Commonwealth.  

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Currently, veterinary students are not permitted to be engaged 

in a preceptorship or externship until their final year in 

veterinary college. A preceptorship is where veterinary 

students gain practical experience working under the direct 

supervision of a licensed veterinarian. The Board of 

Veterinary Medicine (Board) proposes to amend this 

regulation so that veterinary students may gain practical 

experience through a preceptorship or externship prior to the 

final year. Also, the Board proposes to require that: 1) the 

supervising veterinarian disclose to animal owners that there 

is a preceptee or extern practicing in the establishment, 2) 

before surgery is performed, informed consent shall be 

obtained from the owner and documented in the patient 

record, and 3) whenever a veterinary preceptee or extern is 

performing surgery on a patient, the supervising veterinarian 

must be in the operatory during the procedure.  

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes.  

Estimated Economic Impact. The proposal to permit 

veterinary students to obtain practical training prior to their 

final year in veterinary college will enable them to learn more 

and be better prepared to practice independently after 

graduation. Since preceptees are restricted to perform only 

those tasks for which they have been adequately instructed 

and must practice under the on-premises supervision of a 

licensed veterinarian, the practical experience through the 

course of veterinary college will be beneficial to patients and 

will adequately protect the health and safety of the public. 

The Virginia/Maryland Regional College of Veterinary 

Medicine strongly supports this change.
1
  

The proposal to require disclosure to animal owners of there 

being a veterinary student training at the establishment will 

enable any owners who potentially may object to 

veterinarians in-training performing services for their animal 

to make an informed decision as to whether to use the 

services of that establishment or go elsewhere. The owner 

could also request that only the licensed veterinarian treat 

their animal. Disclosure must be by signage clearly visible to 

the public or by inclusion on an informed consent form. Since 

the signage could be paper from an ordinary printer, the 

required cost would be minimal. The proposed required 

informed consent for surgery includes informing the owner of 

the risks, benefits, and alternatives of the recommended 

surgery that a reasonably prudent practitioner in similar 

practice in Virginia would tell an owner, and if applicable, 

that a veterinary student is to perform the surgery. The 

language is patterned after Board of Medicine regulations. 

The informed consent may be written or verbal.  

The proposed informed consent for surgery will take a small 

amount of time; but the time cost is likely outweighed by the 

benefit received from the owner by being better-informed and 

more able to make well-informed care decisions.  

The proposed language includes an exception whereby 

consent is not required prior to surgery in an emergency 

situation when a delay in obtaining consent would likely 
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result in imminent harm to the patient. The proposed 

exception is net beneficial in that the benefit of obtaining 

informed consent for surgery would in most if not all cases be 

outweighed by the benefit of preventing imminent harm to 

the patient.  

The proposed requirement that the supervising veterinarian be 

in the operatory whenever a veterinary preceptee or extern is 

performing surgery would likely reduce the risk of mistakes 

being made in surgery. Thus this proposed requirement may 

reduce health risk for some veterinary patients. It would 

reduce use of time flexibility for supervising veterinarians, 

but the benefit likely exceeds the cost.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 

affect veterinary students, the Virginia/Maryland Regional 

College of Veterinary Medicine, the 4214 licensed 

veterinarians and 1089 licensed veterinary establishments in 

the Commonwealth, and Virginia animal owners.
2
 Most and 

perhaps all of the veterinary establishments would qualify as 

small businesses.  

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

do not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not significantly affect employment.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments will not significantly affect the use and 

value of private property.  

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

do not affect real estate development costs.  

Small Businesses: Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of 

the Code of Virginia, small business is defined as "a business 

entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time 

employees or has gross annual sales of less than $6 million."  

Costs and Other Effects The proposed amendments do not 

significantly increase costs for small businesses.  

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendments do not significantly adversely affect 

small businesses.  

Adverse Impacts:  

Businesses: The proposed amendments do not significantly 

adversely affect businesses.  

Localities: The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect localities.  

Other Entities: The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect other entities.  

_________________________________________________ 
1Source: Department of Health Professions 
2Source: Department of Health Professions' website accessed on September 

17, 2015 (https://dhp.virginiainteractive.org/Lookup/Index). 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Veterinary Medicine concurs with the analysis of the 

Department of Planning and Budget for the proposed 

amendment to 18VAC150-20, Regulations Governing the 

Practice of Veterinary Medicine. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) remove the requirement that 

a veterinary college student be in the final year of training 

to engage in a preceptorship or externship; (ii) requires 

that whenever a veterinary preceptee or extern is 

performing surgery, the supervising veterinarian shall be 

in the operatory; and (iii) requires disclosure whenever a 

veterinary preceptee or extern is practicing in the 

veterinary establishment. 

18VAC150-20-130. Requirements for practical training in 

a preceptorship or externship. 

A. The practical training and employment of qualified 

students of veterinary medicine or veterinary technology shall 

be governed and controlled as follows: 

1. A veterinary student who is duly enrolled and in good 

standing in a veterinary college or school accredited or 

approved by the AVMA and in the final year of his 

training or after completion of an equivalent number of 

hours as approved by the board may be engaged in a 

preceptorship or externship. A veterinary preceptee or 

extern may perform duties that constitute the practice of 

veterinary medicine for which he has received adequate 

instruction by the college or school and only under the on-

premises supervision of a licensed veterinarian. 

2. A veterinary technician student who is duly enrolled and 

in good standing in a veterinary technology program 

accredited or approved by the AVMA may be engaged in a 

preceptorship or externship. A veterinary technician 

preceptee or extern may perform duties that constitute the 

practice of veterinary technology for which he has received 

adequate instruction by the program and only under the on-

premises supervision of a licensed veterinarian or licensed 

veterinary technician. 

B. Whenever a veterinary preceptee or extern is performing 

surgery on a patient, either assisted or unassisted, the 

supervising veterinarian shall be in the operatory during the 

procedure. Prior to allowing a preceptee or extern in 

veterinary medicine to perform surgery on a patient 

unassisted by a licensed veterinarian, a licensed veterinarian 

shall receive written approval from the client owner.  

C. When there is a preceptee or extern practicing in the 

establishment, the supervising veterinarian shall disclose such 

practice to owners.  The disclosure shall be by signage clearly 

visible to the public or by inclusion on an informed consent 

form. 

D. A veterinarian or veterinary technician who supervises a 

preceptee or extern remains responsible for the care and 

treatment of the patient. 

18VAC150-20-173. Informed consent for surgery. 

A. Before surgery is performed, informed consent shall be 

obtained from the owner and documented in the patient 
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record. Veterinarians shall inform an owner of the risks, 

benefits, and alternatives of the recommended surgery that a 

reasonably prudent practitioner in similar practice in Virginia 

would tell an owner.  

B. An exception to the requirement for consent prior to 

performance of surgery may be made in an emergency 

situation when a delay in obtaining consent would likely 

result in imminent harm to the patient. 

C. If a veterinary student is to perform the surgery, the 

informed consent shall include that information. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-14; Filed November 9, 2015, 9:09 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC150-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Veterinary Medicine (amending 

18VAC150-20-10, 18VAC150-20-140).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

December 2, 2015 - 9 a.m. - Department of Health 

Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, 2nd 

Floor Conference Center, Hearing Room 1, Henrico, VA 

Public Comment Deadline: January 29, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 

Board of Veterinary Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4468, FAX 

(804) 527-4471, or email leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Subdivision 6 of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia 

establishes the general powers and duties of health regulatory 

boards, including the Board of Veterinary Medicine, and 

includes the responsibility to promulgate regulations. 

Subdivision 5 of § 54.1-3807 of the Code of Virginia grants 

the board authority to take disciplinary action based on a 

finding of unprofessional conduct as defined by regulation. 

Purpose: This proposed regulatory action is in response to a 

petition for rulemaking. The purpose of the amendments is to 

prevent misrepresentation to the public in the use of the term 

"specialist" or "specialty" for an individual licensee or in the 

name of an establishment. The proposed action will protect 

consumers who may choose veterinary care based on a claim 

by the veterinarian or the establishment of being a "specialist" 

or having a "specialty" when in fact there is no justification 

for such a claim. By defining the term "specialist," the board 

can assure that those who advertise or represent themselves as 

such have met the requirements of the American Board of 

Veterinary Specialties of the American Veterinary Medical 

Association for board certification. Misrepresentation or 

fraudulent advertising is already a cause for a finding of 

unprofessional conduct; this proposed regulation expands on 

the intent of the current regulation, which is to protect the 

health, welfare, and safety of animals that come under the 

care of a veterinarian or veterinary establishment. 

Substance: The amendments (i) define a specialist as a 

veterinarian who has completed the requirements to become a 

diplomate of a specialty organization recognized by the 

American Board of Veterinary Specialties of the American 

Veterinary Medical Association, or any other organization 

approved by the board, and (ii) provide that representing 

oneself as a "specialist" without meeting that definition or 

representing a practice as a "specialty" practice without 

having a "specialist" on staff is unprofessional conduct. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is assurance that 

specialty care by a veterinarian is being provided by someone 

who has obtained such designation by a recognized specialty 

board or organization. This is public protection for the 

consumer. There are no disadvantages to the public. There are 

no advantages or disadvantages to the agency or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Veterinary Medicine (Board) proposes to: 1) define 

"specialist" as "a veterinarian who has completed the 

requirements to become a diplomate of a specialty 

organization recognized by the American Board of Veterinary 

Specialties of the American Veterinary Medical Association, 

or any other organization approved by the board," and 2) add 

to the list of acts constituting unprofessional conduct: 

"representing oneself as a 'specialist' without meeting the 

above definition, or using the words 'specialist' or 'specialty' 

in the name of a veterinary establishment without a 

veterinarian on staff who meets the above definition."  

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The Board's proposal to restrict 

the use of the term "specialist" is similar to the existing rules 

for human medicine and dentistry. The proposal does not alter 

the work that may be performed by veterinarians. It helps 

inform the public as to which veterinarians have obtained 

expertise in the specialty in question as judged by the 

American Board of Veterinary Specialties of the American 

Veterinary Medical Association.
1
 Thus the proposal would 

produce a net benefit in that animal owners would be able to 

objectively make better-informed decisions concerning 

choosing specific veterinarians and veterinary practices for 

specific veterinary services, while not changing what services 

veterinarians may offer. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 

apply to and potentially affect the 4214 licensed veterinarians 

and 1089 licensed veterinary establishments in the 

Commonwealth.
2
 Most and perhaps all of the veterinary 

establishments would qualify as small businesses. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

do not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not significantly affect employment. 
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Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments may affect which veterinary practices 

some owners choose for their animals. In that respect, the 

quantity of business and consequently practice value may rise 

for some veterinary establishments with specialty diplomates 

and may decline for some veterinary establishments without 

specialty diplomates. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

do not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments do not 

increase costs for small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. In 

aggregate, the proposed amendments do not adversely affect 

small businesses. 

Adverse Impacts:  

Businesses: In aggregate, the proposed amendments do not 

adversely affect businesses. 

Localities: The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities: The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect other entities. 

__________________________________ 
1Or by an equivalent organization as determined by the Board of Veterinary 
Medicine 
2Source: Department of Health Professions' website accessed on September 

17, 2015 (https://dhp.virginiainteractive.org/Lookup/Index) 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Veterinary Medicine concurs with the economic impact 

analysis of the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) define a specialist as a 

veterinarian who has completed the requirements to 

become a diplomate of a specialty organization recognized 

by the American Board of Veterinary Specialties of the 

American Veterinary Medical Association, or any other 

organization approved by the board, and (ii) provide that 

representing oneself as a specialist without meeting that 

definition or representing a practice as a specialty practice 

without having a specialist on staff is unprofessional 

conduct. 

Part I  

General Provisions  

18VAC150-20-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Animal shelter" means a facility, other than a private 

residential dwelling and its surrounding grounds, that is used 

to house or contain animals and that is owned, operated, or 

maintained by a nongovernmental entity including, but not 

limited to, a humane society, animal welfare organization, 

society for the prevention of cruelty to animals, or any other 

organization operating for the purpose of finding permanent 

adoptive homes for animals. 

"Automatic emergency lighting" is lighting that is powered 

by battery, generator, or alternate power source other than 

electrical power, is activated automatically by electrical 

power failure, and provides sufficient light to complete 

surgery or to stabilize the animal until surgery can be 

continued or the animal moved to another establishment. 

"AVMA" means the American Veterinary Medical 

Association. 

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Veterinary Medicine. 

"Companion animal" means any dog, cat, horse, nonhuman 

primate, guinea pig, hamster, rabbit not raised for human food 

or fiber, exotic or native animal, reptile, exotic or native bird, 

or any feral animal or animal under the care, custody or 

ownership of a person or any animal that is bought, sold, 

traded, or bartered by any person. Agricultural animals, game 

species, or any animals regulated under federal law as 

research animals shall not be considered companion animals 

for the purposes of this chapter. 

"CVMA" means the Canadian Veterinary Medical 

Association. 

"Full-service establishment" means a stationary or 

ambulatory facility that provides surgery and encompasses all 

aspects of health care for small or large animals, or both. 

"Immediate and direct supervision" means that the licensed 

veterinarian is immediately available to the licensed 

veterinary technician or assistant, either electronically or in 

person, and provides a specific order based on observation 

and diagnosis of the patient within the last 36 hours. 

"Owner" means any person who (i) has a right of property in 

an animal; (ii) keeps or harbors an animal; (iii) has an animal 

in his care; or (iv) acts as a custodian of an animal. 

"Pound" means a facility operated by the state or a locality 

for the purpose of impounding or harboring seized, stray, 

homeless, abandoned, or unwanted animals; or a facility 

operated for the same purpose under a contract with a locality 

or an incorporated society for the prevention of cruelty to 

animals.  

"Preceptorship or externship" means a formal arrangement 

between an AVMA accredited college of veterinary medicine 

or an AVMA accredited veterinary technology program and a 

veterinarian who is licensed by the board and responsible for 

the practice of the preceptee. A preceptorship or externship 

shall be overseen by faculty of the college or program. 
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"Professional judgment" includes any decision or conduct in 

the practice of veterinary medicine, as defined by § 54.1-3800 

of the Code of Virginia. 

"Restricted service establishment" means a stationary or 

ambulatory facility which does not meet the requirements of a 

full-service establishment. 

"Specialist" means a veterinarian who has completed the 

requirements to become a diplomate of a specialty 

organization recognized by the American Board of Veterinary 

Specialties of the American Veterinary Medical Association, 

or any other organization approved by the board. 

"Surgery" means treatment through revision, destruction, 

incision or other structural alteration of animal tissue. Surgery 

does not include dental extractions of single-rooted teeth or 

skin closures performed by a licensed veterinary technician 

upon a diagnosis and pursuant to direct orders from a 

veterinarian. 

"Veterinarian in charge" means a veterinarian who holds an 

active license in Virginia and who is responsible for 

maintaining a veterinary establishment within the standards 

set by this chapter, for complying with federal and state laws 

and regulations, and for notifying the board of the 

establishment's closure. 

"Veterinary establishment" means any fixed or mobile 

practice, veterinary hospital, animal hospital or premises 

wherein or out of which veterinary medicine is being 

conducted. 

Part III  

Unprofessional Conduct  

18VAC150-20-140. Unprofessional conduct. 

Unprofessional conduct as referenced in subdivision 5 of 

§ 54.1-3807(5) of the Code of Virginia shall include the 

following:  

1. Representing conflicting interests except by express 

consent of all concerned given after a full disclosure of the 

facts. Acceptance of a fee from both the buyer and the 

seller is prima facie evidence of a conflict of interest. 

2. Practicing veterinary medicine or equine dentistry where 

an unlicensed person has the authority to control the 

professional judgment of the licensed veterinarian or the 

equine dental technician. 

3. Issuing a certificate of health unless he shall know of his 

own knowledge by actual inspection and appropriate tests 

of the animals that the animals meet the requirements for 

the issuance of such certificate on the day issued. 

4. Revealing confidences gained in the course of providing 

veterinary services to a client, unless required by law or 

necessary to protect the health, safety or welfare of other 

persons or animals. 

5. Advertising in a manner which is false, deceptive, or 

misleading or which makes subjective claims of 

superiority. 

6. Violating any state law, federal law, or board regulation 

pertaining to the practice of veterinary medicine, veterinary 

technology or equine dentistry. 

7. Practicing veterinary medicine or as an equine dental 

technician in such a manner as to endanger the health and 

welfare of his patients or the public, or being unable to 

practice veterinary medicine or as an equine dental 

technician with reasonable skill and safety. 

8. Performing surgery on animals in an unregistered 

veterinary establishment or not in accordance with the 

establishment permit or with accepted standards of 

practice. 

9. Refusing the board or its agent the right to inspect an 

establishment at reasonable hours. 

10. Allowing unlicensed persons to perform acts restricted 

to the practice of veterinary medicine, veterinary 

technology or an equine dental technician including any 

invasive procedure on a patient or delegation of tasks to 

persons who are not properly trained or authorized to 

perform such tasks. 

11. Failing to provide immediate and direct supervision to 

a licensed veterinary technician or an assistant in his 

employ. 

12. Refusing to release a copy of a valid prescription upon 

request from a client. 

13. Misrepresenting or falsifying information on an 

application or renewal form. 

14. Failing to report suspected animal cruelty to the 

appropriate authorities. 

15. Failing to release patient records when requested by the 

owner; a law-enforcement entity; or a federal, state, or 

local health regulatory agency. 

16. Committing an act constituting fraud, deceit, or 

misrepresentation in dealing with the board or in the 

veterinarian-client-patient relationship. 

17. Representing oneself as a "specialist" without meeting 

the definition set forth in 18VAC150-20-10 or using the 

words "specialist" or "specialty" in the name of a 

veterinary establishment unless there is a veterinarian on 

staff who meets the definition of a "specialist." 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-16; Filed November 9, 2015, 9:09 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC30-50. Policies and Procedures 

for Administering the Commonwealth Neurotrauma 

Initiative Trust Fund (amending 22VAC30-50-10, 

22VAC30-50-20, 22VAC30-50-30, 22VAC30-50-50 

through 22VAC30-50-120).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 51.5-131 and 51.5-181 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: January 29, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Vanessa S. Rakestraw, Ph.D., CRC, Policy 

Analyst, Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, 

8004 Franklin Farms Drive, Richmond, VA 23229, telephone 

(804) 662-7612, FAX (804) 662-7663, TTY (800) 464-9950, 

or email vanessa.rakestraw@dars.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 51.5-181 of the Code of Virginia states (i) 

"The Commissioner shall promulgate regulations establishing 

procedures and policies for soliciting and receiving grant 

applications and criteria for reviewing and ranking such 

applications, including, but not limited to, goals, timelines, 

forms, eligibility, and mechanisms to ensure avoidance of any 

conflicts of interest or appearances thereof" and (ii) "The 

Commissioner shall receive the recommendations of the 

Commonwealth Neurotrauma Initiative Advisory Board prior 

to promulgating or revising any such regulations." 

Purpose: The purpose of the proposed amendment to the 

Commonwealth Neurotrauma Initiative (CNI) trust fund 

regulation is to conserve moneys in the fund and distribute 

the moneys equitably for their intended purpose. The 

proposed amendment emphasizes that requests for 

applications for moneys from the fund shall be issued by the 

advisory board only when the board determines that funds are 

available. The proposed amendment allows grantees to use 

the fund for evaluating existing programs as well as 

expanding, developing, and improving programs. This 

proposed amendment emphasizes original Code of Virginia 

language that grant funds are to be used for initiating research 

projects or community-based rehabilitative programs. They 

are not to be used for long-term funding of projects. To 

ensure that applicants understand and plan for this, 

applications must contain a plan for sustaining the project 

upon termination of grant funds. In an effort to conserve 

funds, applicants are required to demonstrate that the 

proposed project does not duplicate existing programs. In the 

event of a decline in moneys in the fund, the board shall 

attempt to distribute moneys in a manner as fair and equitable 

as possible. These regulations are necessary to administer the 

CNI Trust Fund, which protects the public health, safety, and 

welfare by providing funding for research and improving the 

treatment and care of neurotrauma. 

Substance: The changes provide clarification to the existing 

regulation in the following ways: (i) a statement is added that 

requests for applications for grant moneys from the CNI Trust 

Fund shall be issued at the discretion of the advisory board 

and shall depend upon the availability of funds to clarify the 

conditions under which requests for applications will be made 

and inform the public that requests are not made on a 

regularly scheduled basis; (ii) a statement that applicants can 

now apply for grants to evaluate systems of services for 

people with traumatic brain injuries or traumatic spinal cord 

injuries is added, which allows applicants to apply for 

funding to conduct targeted evaluations of service systems or 

to determine the need for the development, expansion, or 

improvement of services; (iii) text is reworded to stress to 

applicants that grants are to be used to initiate research and 

programs but not to be used to maintain long-term funding; 

this is also emphasized by the addition of a statement that the 

advisory board shall accept applications that provide a plan 

for sustaining the proposed project following termination of a 

grant award, and that applicants for grant funds must (a) 

include a description of efforts taken to ensure that the 

proposed project does not duplicate existing programs or 

services for persons with neurotrauma already available in the 

community and (b) demonstrate a commitment to community 

planning with consumer groups, service providers, 

employers, relevant state and local agencies, and other 

funding sources which may be available; and (iv) in the event 

of a decline in moneys in the CNI Trust Fund, the advisory 

board shall attempt to distribute moneys in a manner that is 

fair and equitable as possible to all projects, which in the past, 

only applied to projects with an anticipated duration greater 

than one year. 

Issues: The proposed regulatory action poses no 

disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth. The 

action's primary advantage is that it clarifies the existing 

regulation. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

proposed changes will 1) require the Commonwealth 

Neurotrauma Initiative Trust Fund Advisory Board to 

distribute moneys in a manner that is as fair and equitable as 

possible to all projects in the event of a decline in moneys in 

the fund and 2) clarify existing language, policy, and 

procedures followed in practice. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. These regulations establish policies 

and procedures for administering the Commonwealth 

Neurotrauma Initiative Trust Fund (the fund). The purpose of the 

fund is to promote medical research into traumatic brain and 

spinal cord injuries and to improve treatment and care through 
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the provision of community-based services for individuals who 

have sustained such injuries. Although the fund accepts grants, 

donations, and bequests from public or private sources, the main 

source of revenue is the $25 reinstatement fee collected by the 

Department of Motor Vehicles to restore the driving privileges of 

a person whose license has been revoked or suspended for 

specific driving offenses (e.g., DUI-related offenses, hit-and-run, 

reckless driving, habitual offender, etc.). In the last three years, 

the revenues were about $1 million per year.
 1
  

Once the fund accumulates enough revenues, the fund's Advisory 

Board disburses moneys through a grant application process for 

research studies and community-based rehabilitation services. 

The fund issued 7 grants totaling $1.6 million in 2012, 5 grants 

totaling $931,000 in 2013, and 2 grants totaling $214,657 in 

2014.
2
 All of the grant recipients were affiliated with medical 

colleges in Virginia. 

One of the proposed changes will require the Advisory Board to 

distribute moneys in a manner that is as fair and equitable as 

possible to all projects in the event of a decline in moneys in the 

fund. Currently, the regulation requires that long-term projects be 

funded first in the event of a decline in the moneys. The 

proposed change will allow distribution of moneys when there is 

a decline in the fund, among all projects regardless of their 

duration. Thus, short-term projects will not lose all funding when 

the moneys in the fund decline. This proposed change is not 

likely to have an economic impact in the foreseeable future since 

the fund currently has a healthy balance. 

The remaining proposed changes are clarifications of existing 

language, policy, and procedures followed in practice and are 

not anticipated to have any significant economic impact other 

than improving the clarity of the regulations. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 

will affect grant recipients when and if the moneys in the fund 

decline. The fund issued 7 grants in 2012, 5 grants in 2013, 

and 2 grants in 2014. Currently, there are only two active 

grants. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The regulations apply 

throughout the Commonwealth.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments will not affect the use and value of 

private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 

amendments will not affect small businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments will not have an 

adverse impact on small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

will not affect real estate development costs. 

__________________________________ 
1 Source: The fund's triennial report for fiscal years 2012, 2013, and 2014 to 

the Governor and the General Assembly. 
2 Ibid 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services agrees that 

the information provided by the Department of Planning and 

Budget (DPB) in the February 3, 2015, economic impact 

analysis of the proposed amendments to 22VAC30-50, 

Policies and Procedures for Administering the 

Commonwealth Neurotrauma Initiative Trust Fund, was 

correct at the time of completion. There is a statement in the 

DPB analysis that all grant recipients were affiliated with 

medical colleges in Virginia. This is now inaccurate as some 

grants have gone to programs that are not affiliated with 

medical colleges in Virginia. However, this should not have a 

substantial impact on the economic impact analysis 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) clarify that requests for 

proposals shall be issued at the discretion of the 

Commonwealth Neurotrauma Initiative Advisory Board 

and shall depend upon the availability of funds; (ii) 

emphasize that grants provided by the fund are not to be 

used for long-term funding of research or community 

based rehabilitative programs; (iii) require that applicants 

for grants under this fund provide a plan for sustaining the 

proposed project following the termination of the grant 

award; and (iv) make technical corrections, update 

statutory references, and make other necessary changes. 

Part I  

Definitions and General Information  

22VAC30-50-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meaning meanings unless the context 

clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Advisory board" means the Commonwealth Neurotrauma 

Initiative Advisory Board. 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services. 

"Department" means the Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services. 

"Fund" means the Commonwealth Neurotrauma Initiative 

Trust Fund. 

"Neurotrauma" means an injury to the central nervous 

system, i.e. (i.e., a traumatic spinal cord or brain injury, which 

injury) that results in loss of physical functions, cognitive 

functions, or both. 

"RFP" or "request" means a request for proposals issued by 

the advisory board seeking applications for grant moneys in 

the fund. 

22VAC30-50-20. Statement of general policy. 

The Commonwealth of Virginia has recognized the need to 

prevent traumatic spinal cord and brain injuries and is 

committed to improving the treatment and care of Virginians 

with traumatic spinal cord and brain injuries. By creating the 

fund and authorizing the advisory board to administer the 
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fund, the Commonwealth of Virginia makes grant funds 

available to Virginia-based organizations, institutions, and 

researchers to address these needs. The advisory board 

administers the fund to carry out the intent of the law in 

accordance with its authority.  

22VAC30-50-30. Disbursement of funds. 

A. This chapter serves to (i) establish policies and 

procedures for soliciting and receiving applications for grants 

from the fund, (ii) establish criteria for reviewing and ranking 

such applications, and (iii) establish procedures for 

distributing moneys in the fund, which shall be used solely to 

provide grants to Virginia-based organizations, institutions, 

and researchers. 

B. Forty-seven and one-half percent of the moneys in the 

fund distributed under this chapter shall be allocated for 

research on the mechanisms and treatment of neurotrauma; 

47-1/2% of the moneys shall be allocated for rehabilitative 

services, i.e. (i.e., the development of innovative, model 

community-based rehabilitative programs and services for 

individuals with neurotrauma); and 5.0% of the moneys shall 

be allocated for the Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 

Services' department's costs for administering and staffing the 

Commonwealth Neurotrauma Initiative Trust Fund fund and 

advisory board.  

22VAC30-50-50. Application of exemption to the Virginia 

Freedom of Information Act. 

Pursuant to a provision subdivision 12 of § 2.2-3705.5 of the 

Virginia Freedom of Information Act, Chapter 37 (§ 2.2-3700 

et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia, records submitted 

to the advisory board as a grant application, or accompanying 

a grant application, pursuant to the law Chapter 14 (§ 51.5-

178 et seq.) of Title 51.5 of the Code of Virginia and this 

chapter are excluded from the requirement of open inspection 

to the extent that they contain medical or mental health 

records or other data identifying individual patients, or 

proprietary business or research-related information produced 

or collected by an applicant in the conduct of or as a result of 

study or research on medical, rehabilitative, scientific, 

technical, or scholarly issues. This exemption shall apply 

when such the information has not been publicly released, 

published, copyrighted, or patented, if the disclosure of such 

the information would be harmful to the competitive position 

of the applicant. The advisory board intends to rely upon this 

exemption in order to encourage the submission of 

applications. 

Part II  

Soliciting and Reviewing Applications  

22VAC30-50-60. Requests for proposals.  

The advisory board will shall solicit applications for grants 

of moneys from the fund by issuing requests for proposals 

RFPs from time to time. These RFPs shall be issued at the 

discretion of the advisory board and shall depend upon the 

availability of moneys in the fund. Each application for a 

grant must be received submitted in response to an actual 

request for a proposal RFP and received by a deadline 

specified in the request RFP.  

22VAC30-50-70. Grant reviewers and technical advisors.  

The advisory board may choose, at any time, to appoint 

grant reviewers or other technical advisors, or both, to assist 

in reviewing and ranking applications. Such reviewers and 

advisors may represent medical researchers, medical 

practitioners, community-based service providers, consumers, 

advocates for consumers, or others deemed appropriate by the 

advisory board for this purpose. Reviewers and advisors shall 

be appointed so as to provide equal representation from 

Virginia's three medical schools. Reviewers and advisors 

shall be selected so as to avoid any conflict of interests or the 

appearance thereof, and the advisory board may choose 

reviewers and advisors residing or working outside Virginia 

to ensure impartiality. Whenever reviewers or advisors sit as 

a committee, the chairman chair of the advisory board or his 

designee shall serve as chairman chair of the committee but 

shall not vote on individual applications. 

22VAC30-50-80. Specification of Option A or B. 

Each application shall clearly state a purpose to seek funds 

for projects to conduct research on the mechanisms and 

treatment of neurotrauma, which shall be referred to as 

"Option A," or to develop innovative, model community-

based rehabilitative programs and services for individuals 

with neurotrauma, which shall be referred to as "Option B." 

Option A applications shall state and demonstrate a clear 

intention of researching the mechanisms of neurotrauma or 

the treatment of neurotrauma, or both. Option B applications 

shall state and demonstrate a clear intention to provide 

innovative, model community-based rehabilitative services by 

developing, expanding, evaluating, or improving community-

based programs and services for people with traumatic brain 

injury or traumatic spinal cord injury, or both, and expanding 

opportunities for such these individuals to become as 

independent and physically and functionally capable as 

possible. Neither Option A nor Option B grants are intended 

shall be used for long-term funding of research projects or 

service community-based rehabilitative programs and 

services. 

22VAC30-50-90. Submission of applications. 

In reviewing applications submitted for grant awards, 

whether Option A or Option B, the advisory board will shall 

accept applications that:  

1. Present a clear and convincing and persuasive discussion 

of how the proposed project will shall carry out its 

intention as specified in accordance with 22VAC30-50-80, 

and describe in as much detail as possible its anticipated 

effectiveness in carrying out its intention;  

2. Comply fully with informational and administrative 

requirements stated in the specific RFP to which applicants 

are responding; and 
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3. In the case of an Option A application:  

a. Discuss the relevance of the proposed project to an 

identified field of medical or rehabilitative inquiry;  

b. Demonstrate the anticipated benefit of the proposed 

project in terms of expanding knowledge and 

understanding of neurotrauma;  

c. Discuss any innovation or breakthrough the project 

seeks to promote, specifying outcome measures where 

possible for each of the preceding enumerated items in 

this subdivision; and  

d. Describe efforts to ensure that the proposed project 

does not duplicate previous or ongoing research; or and 

e. Provide a plan for sustaining the proposed project 

following termination of a grant award as relevant to the 

intention of the proposed project; or 

4. In the case of an Option B application:  

a. Discuss the relevance of the proposed project to an 

identified need for innovative, model community-based 

rehabilitative programs and services in terms of the 

absence of alternative programs, services, and resources 

available to the intended individuals and community; 

b. Describe efforts to ensure that the proposed project 

does not duplicate existing programs, services, or 

resources already available to targeted individuals and 

communities; and  

c. State and emphasize Demonstrate a commitment to 

collaborative community planning involving consumer 

groups, service providers, employers, relevant state and 

local agencies, and other funding sources, as available or 

anticipated to become available. and appropriate; and 

d. Provide a plan for sustaining the proposed project 

following termination of a grant award as relevant to the 

intention of the proposed project. 

Part III  

Specific Project Consideration and Application Criteria, 

Selection of Successful Applications and Amount and 

Announcement of Awards  

22VAC30-50-100. Reviewing and ranking grant 

applications. 

A. The advisory board will shall distinguish the class of 

Option A applications from the class of Option B applications 

when soliciting, reviewing, and ranking grant applications. 

Applications will shall be considered and ranked only among 

other applications submitted under the same stated option, 

either Option A or Option B. Applications initially deemed 

effective in meeting to meet the purpose of a solicitation and 

to have substantially addressed the general considerations 

stated in Part II (22VAC30-50-60 et seq.) of this chapter 

22VAC30-50-60 through 22VAC30-50-90, as applicable, 

will shall be subsequently reviewed and ranked according to 

the following criteria:  

1. The purpose and significance of the project; 

2. The objectives and expected benefits of the project; 

3. The design of the project to include (i) methods, 

activities, and a timeline for achieving project goals and 

objectives, and (ii) a system for measuring outcomes and 

documenting project impact, effectiveness, and any 

anticipated long-term effects; 

4. A detailed budget that is reasonable and appropriate for 

the scope of the project; 

5. The identification of potential sources of funds and 

fundraising strategies to be used in sustaining the proposed 

project following termination of a grant award as relevant 

to the intention of the proposed project; 

6. Demonstrated or anticipated capability of the existing or 

planned organizational structure; 

7. The means for consumer involvement in the design, 

implementation, and evaluation of the project as feasible 

and relevant to the intention of the proposed project; and  

8. A commitment to include the participation of small, 

women-owned and minority businesses, as such are 

available and capable of participation. 

B. When initially reviewing applications or subsequently 

reviewing and ranking applications, the advisory board may 

ask applicants an applicant to provide required information 

that is missing from the application or additional clarifying 

information relating to their applications the application and 

proposed projects project. Failure to provide missing 

information or failure to provide additional information that is 

material and relevant may result in the rejection or lowered 

ranking of an application.  

22VAC30-50-110. Amount of grant awards; duration and 

availability of funding. 

A. After reviewing all applications, duly received accepted, 

for either Option A or Option B, the advisory board will shall 

determine which the proposed projects will that shall be 

offered funding. The selection of successful applications will 

shall be made based on (i) availability of moneys in the fund, 

(ii) the review and ranking of the applications according to 

the criteria listed in this chapter 22VAC30-50-100 A, (iii) 

information from grant reviewers or technical advisors who 

appointed by the board may appoint to assist in evaluating 

applications, and (iv) the advisory board's assessment of those 

the applications, as to which further the intentions and the 

purpose of the fund. Discussions and negotiations may be 

conducted between the advisory board and grant applicants in 

order to clarify any remaining issues relating to the proposed 

project.  

B. In considering and determining the amount of a grant 

award and the duration of funding for a particular project, the 

advisory board will shall consider the requested amount, the 

project design, and justification. Actual grant Grant awards 

will be made in amounts ranging shall range in amount from 

$5,000 to $150,000 per year for an anticipated funding period 

of one to three years as described in the proposal RFP. The 
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award and duration of funding of a project anticipated to 

exceed one year will shall be contingent upon (i) the 

availability of moneys in the fund, whether so stated at the 

time of the award or not, and (ii) the grantee's successful 

completion of timelines and of interim objectives and 

milestones as proposed and approved in the grant application, 

grant award, and contract documents.  

C. In the event any timelines and interim objectives and 

milestones pertaining to a project are not completed to the 

satisfaction of the advisory board, the advisory board may act 

to withhold moneys not yet disbursed for such a the project. 

In the event of a substantial decline in moneys in the fund, the 

advisory board will shall attempt to distribute moneys to 

projects of an anticipated duration greater than one year in a 

manner as fair and equitable as possible.  

D. The award of grants to successful applicants will shall be 

made public within 60 days of the advisory board's decision 

regarding all applications submitted in response to a request 

for proposals an RFP. 

22VAC30-50-120. Unexpended funds. 

Notwithstanding any other law to the contrary, the 

Commissioner of the Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services commissioner may reallocate up to 

$500,000 from unexpended balances in the Commonwealth 

Neurotrauma Initiative Trust Fund to fund for new grant 

awards for research on traumatic brain and spinal cord 

injuries. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3419; Filed November 5, 2015, 4:16 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC30-70. The Virginia Public 

Guardian and Conservator Program (amending 

22VAC30-70-30).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 51.5-131 and 51.5-150 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: January 29, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Vanessa S. Rakestraw, Ph.D., CRC, Policy 

Analyst, Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, 

8004 Franklin Farms Drive, Richmond, VA 23229, telephone 

(804) 662-7612, FAX (804) 662-7663, TTY (800) 464-9950, 

or email vanessa.rakestraw@dars.virginia.gov. 

Basis: This regulatory action of the Department for Aging 

and Rehabilitative Services (DARS) will conform regulations 

to changes to the Code of Virginia due to Chapter 322 of the 

2012 Acts of Assembly. The Commissioner of DARS has 

authority to promulgate regulations pursuant to § 51.5-131 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: The 2011 General Assembly passed Senate Joint 

Resolution 397, which requested the Secretary of Health and 

Human Resources and human services agencies to adopt and 

implement person-centered practices in providing services to 

citizens. This resolution noted that every individual is unique 

and no two individuals have the exact same preferences and 

needs. Person-centered planning supports individuals in 

making choices and decisions about the supports that best 

meet their preferences and needs. DARS adopts these 

statutorily mandated person-centered regulations for its 

Public Guardian and Conservator Program to implement 

person-centered planning procedures for the public guardian 

program serving the Commonwealth's most vulnerable 

citizens, protecting their safety and welfare. 

Substance: The regulation requires, to the maximum extent 

feasible, the person-centered planning process to (i) include 

people chosen by the individual; (ii) provide necessary 

information and support to enable the individual to direct the 

process and to make informed choices and decisions; (iii) be 

timely and occur at times and locations convenient for the 

individual; (iv) reflect the individual's cultural values; (v) 

offer choices to the individual regarding the services the 

individual receives and from whom the individual receives 

them; (vi) include documentation of the processes employed 

in and the outcome of person-centered planning. 

Issues: The regulation demonstrates that DARS and the 

Commonwealth are committed to building a strong 

community infrastructure of person-centered long-term 

community supports and services. The local and regional 

public guardian programs, public and private service 

providers, and community stakeholders, including the Public 

Guardian and Conservator Advisory Board, likewise share the 

commitment to person-centered planning. The amended 

regulations pose no known disadvantage to the public or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Regulation. As mandated by 

Chapter 322 of the 2012 Acts of the Assembly, the 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services (DARS) 

proposes to amend regulations that govern the Virginia 

Guardianship and Conservator Program to allow individuals 

served under this program more input into how and by whom 

services are provided. 

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely exceed costs for all 

proposed regulatory changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. In 2011, the General Assembly 

passed a joint resolution that requested human services 

agencies to adopt and implement "person-centered practices" 

that supported individuals receiving services in expressing 

preferences and making choices about who provided their 

services and how those services are provided. In 2012, the 

General Assembly passed a law mandating such person-

centered practices. DARS now proposes to conform these 

regulations to that mandate by adding language requiring 

guardians and conservators, to the extent feasible, to be 

guided by principles that: 1) focus on the expressed 

preferences, personal values and needs of individuals that are 
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under guardianship, 2) allow individuals to have a say in the 

planning of their lives and 3) provide individuals with 

information and support to help them in making plans.  

No guardian program in the Commonwealth is likely to incur 

costs on account of these proposed regulations because they 

do not mandate any additional actions or paperwork; instead 

they just require that guardians consider, and when possible 

support, the preferences of their clients. Individuals who are 

subject to guardianship will likely benefit from policies that 

allow them more control over how decisions affecting them 

are made. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. DARS staff reports that 

there are 14 public programs that hold guardianship of 

approximately 600 individuals in the Commonwealth. All of 

these programs and individuals will be affected by these 

proposed changes. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by these proposed regulations. 

Projected Impact on Employment. These proposed 

regulations are unlikely to have any impact on employment in 

the Commonwealth.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

proposed regulations are unlikely to have any effect on the 

use and value of any private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No small 

businesses will be affected by these proposed regulations. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. No small businesses will be affected by 

these proposed regulations. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services agrees that 

the information provided by the Department of Planning and 

Budget in the December 18, 2013, economic impact analysis 

of the proposed amendments to 22VAC30-70, The Virginia 

Guardianship and Conservator Program was accurate at the 

time the analysis was completed. Businesses and entities 

affected have fluctuated slightly on an annual basis since this 

analysis was initially submitted; however, this should not 

have a substantial impact on the economic impact analysis. 

Summary: 

As mandated by Chapter 322 of the 2012 Acts of the 

Assembly, the proposed amendments to the Virginia 

Guardianship and Conservator Program require person-

centered planning, which (i) focuses on the preferences, 

personal values, and needs of the individual receiving 

public guardianship services and (ii) directs public 

guardianship services to empower and support the 

individual receiving services in defining the direction for 

his life and promoting self-determination and community 

involvement. 

22VAC30-70-30. Public guardian programs. 

A. Designation. The department shall select public guardian 

programs in accordance with the requirements of the Virginia 

Public Procurement Act. Only those programs that contract 

with the department will shall be designated as public 

guardian programs. Funding for public guardian programs is 

provided by the appropriation of general funds. 

B. Authority. A public guardian program appointed as a 

guardian, a conservator, or both as a guardian and 

conservator, shall have all the powers and duties specified in 

Article 1 (§ 37.2-1000 et seq.) of Chapter 10 of Title 37.2 

Chapter 20 (§ 64.2-2000 et seq.) of Title 64.2 of the Code of 

Virginia, except as otherwise specifically limited by a court. 

C. Structure. 

1. Each public guardian program shall have a program 

director who supervises and is responsible for providing 

guardianship services to any incapacitated persons 

assigned by the court and to provide overall administration 

for the public guardian program. The program director 

must shall be a full-time employee of the program and 

have experience as a service provider or administrator in 

one or more of the following areas: social work, case 

management, mental health, nursing or other human 

service programs. The program director must shall also 

demonstrate, by objective criteria, a knowledge and 

understanding of Virginia's guardianship laws, alternatives 

to guardianship, and surrogate decision making activities. 

The program director shall attend all training and activities 

required by the department. 

2. Each public guardian program shall establish a 

multidisciplinary panel to (i) screen cases for the purpose 

of ensuring that appointment of a guardian or conservator 

is appropriate under the circumstances and is the least 

restrictive alternative available to assist the incapacitated 

person. This screening shall include a duty to recommend 

the most appropriate limitations on the power of the 

guardian or conservator, if any, to ensure that the powers 

and duties assigned are the least restrictive, and (ii) 

annually review cases being handled by the program to 

ensure that a guardian or conservator appointment remains 

appropriate. Composition of a multidisciplinary panel 

should include representatives from various human 

services agencies serving the city, county, or region where 

the public guardian program accepts referrals. If serving a 

region, the multidisciplinary panel shall have at least one 

representative from each local jurisdiction within the 

region. To the extent appropriate disciplines are available, 

this panel should include but is not limited to 

representation from: 

a. Local departments of social services, adult protective 

services; 

b. Community services boards or behavioral health 

authorities; 
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c. An attorney Attorneys licensed by the Virginia State 

Bar; 

d. Area agencies on aging; 

e. Local health departments;  

f. Nursing home, assisted living, and group home 

administrators; and 

g. Physicians and community representatives. 

D. Client ratio to paid staff. 

1. Each public guardian program shall maintain a direct 

service ratio of clients to paid staff that does not exceed the 

department's established ideal ratio of 20 incapacitated 

persons to every one paid full-time staff person 20:1.  

2. Each public guardian program shall have in place a plan 

to immediately provide notice to the circuit court(s) court 

or courts in its jurisdiction and to the department when the 

program determines that it may exceed its ideal ratio of 

clients to paid staff. 

3. In an emergency or unusual circumstance, each 

program, in its discretion, may exceed the department's 

established ideal ratio by no more than five additional 

incapacitated persons. Each program shall have in place a 

policy to immediately provide notice to the department 

when such an emergency or unusual circumstance occurs 

and when the emergency or unusual circumstance ends and 

the ideal ratio has returned to 20:1. The notice to the 

department shall comply with policy established by the 

department. Other than an emergency or unusual 

circumstance as described in the preceding sentence, a 

waiver must be requested to exceed the department's 

established ideal ratio. The department, in consultation 

with the advisory board, shall establish written procedures 

for public guardian programs to obtain appropriate waivers 

regarding deviations in the ideal ratio of clients to paid 

staff. Procedures shall comply with §§ 51.5-150 and 51.5-

151 of the Code of Virginia. The department shall report 

waiver requests and status of granted waivers to the 

advisory board at its regularly scheduled meetings. The 

department shall review such waivers every six months to 

ensure that there is no immediate threat to the person or 

property of any incapacitated person nor that exceeding the 

department's established ideal ratio is having or will have a 

material and adverse effect on the ability of the program to 

properly serve all of the incapacitated persons it has been 

designated to serve. 

E. Appointments. 

1. Prior to the public guardian program accepting an 

individual for services, the multidisciplinary panel 

described in 22VAC30-70-30 subdivision C 2 of this 

section shall screen referrals to ensure that: 

a. The public guardian program is appointed as guardian, 

or conservator, or both only in those cases where 

guardianship or conservatorship is the least restrictive 

alternative available to assist the individual; 

b. The appointment is consistent with serving the type of 

client identified by the established priorities of the public 

guardian program; 

c. The individual cannot adequately care for himself; 

d. The individual is indigent; and  

e. There is no other proper or suitable person or entity to 

serve as guardian. 

f. In the case of an individual who receives case 

management services from a community services board 

(CSB) or behavioral health authority (BHA), the 

multidisciplinary panel may also request the results of the 

"determination of capacity" as authorized by 12VAC35-

115-145 (Determination of capacity to give consent or 

authorization) and verification that no other person is 

available or willing to serve as guardian pursuant to 

12VAC35-115-146 E (Authorized representatives).  

2. Appointments by a circuit court shall name the public 

guardian program, rather than an individual person, as the 

guardian, the conservator or both guardian and 

conservator. 

3. A public guardian program shall only accept 

appointments as guardian, conservator, or both guardian 

and conservator that generate no fee or that generate a 

minimal fee.  

F. Services. 

1. A public guardian program shall have a continuing duty 

to seek a proper and suitable person who is willing and 

able to serve as guardian, conservator, or both guardian 

and conservator for the incapacitated person.  

2. The guardian or conservator shall encourage the 

incapacitated person to participate in decisions, to act on 

his own behalf, and to develop or regain the capacity to 

manage his personal affairs to the extent feasible.  

3. The guardian or conservator shall be guided by person-

centered planning that: 

a. Focuses on the expressed preferences, personal values, 

and needs of the individual receiving public guardian 

program services; and 

b. Empowers and supports the individual receiving public 

guardian program services, to the extent feasible, in 

defining the direction for his life and promoting self-

determination and community involvement.  

4. To the maximum extent feasible, the person-centered 

planning process shall: 

a. Include people chosen by the individual; 

b. Provide necessary information and support to enable 

the individual to direct the process and to make informed 

choices and decisions; 

c. Be timely and occur at times and locations convenient 

for the individual; 

d. Reflect the individual's cultural values; 
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e. Offer choices to the individual regarding the services 

the individual receives and from whom the individual 

receives those services; and 

f. Include documentation of processes employed in and 

the outcomes of person-centered planning.  

3. 5. The multidisciplinary panel described in 22VAC30-

70-30 subdivision C 2 of this section shall review active 

cases at least once every 12 months to determine that: 

a. The client continues to be incapacitated; 

b. The client continues to be indigent; and 

c. There is no other proper or suitable person or entity to 

serve as guardian, conservator, or both guardian and 

conservator.  

4. 6. Each public guardian program shall set priorities with 

regard to services to be provided to incapacitated persons 

in accordance with its contract with the department. 

5. 7. Each public guardian program shall develop written 

procedures and standards to make end-of-life decisions or 

other health-related interventions in accordance with the 

expressed desires and personal values of the incapacitated 

person to the extent known. If expressed desires or 

personal values are unknown, then written procedures, 

including an ethical decision-making process, shall be used 

to ensure that the guardian or conservator acts in the 

incapacitated person's best interest and exercises 

reasonable care, diligence and prudence on behalf of the 

client. 

6. 8. The public guardian program shall avoid even the 

appearance of a conflict of interest or impropriety when 

dealing with the needs of the incapacitated person. 

Impropriety or conflict of interest arises where the public 

guardian program has some personal or agency interest that 

might be perceived as self-serving or adverse to the 

position or the best interest of the incapacitated person. 

Examples include, but are not limited to, situations where 

the public guardian program provides services such as 

housing, hospice or medical care directly to the client. The 

department reserves the right to monitor all administrative, 

programmatic, and financial activities related to the public 

guardian program to ensure compliance with the terms of 

the contract between the department and the public 

guardian program. 

7. 9. Each public guardian program and its employees are 

required to report any suspected abuse, neglect, or 

exploitation in accordance with § 63.2-1606 of the Code of 

Virginia, that which provides for the protection of aged or 

incapacitated adults, mandates reporting, and provides for 

a penalty for failure to report. 

8. 10. Each public guardian program shall submit data and 

reports as required by the department and maintain 

compliance with the department's program guidelines. The 

department shall periodically monitor administrative, 

programmatic, and financial activities related to the public 

guardian program, including person-centered planning 

utilization and documentation, to ensure compliance with 

the terms of the contract between the public guardian 

program and the department. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3565; Filed November 5, 2015, 2:10 p.m.  

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-72. Standards for Licensed 

Assisted Living Facilities (amending 22VAC40-72-10, 

22VAC40-72-60, 22VAC40-72-390).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 63.2-217 and 63.2-1732 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: January 29, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Judith McGreal, Program Consultant, 

Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7157, or email 

judith.mcgreal@dss.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia provides the 

board the general authority for the development of regulations 

to carry out the purposes of Title 63.2 of the Code of 

Virginia. Section 63.2-1732 of the Code of Virginia gives the 

board the authority to adopt regulations to carry out 

provisions related to licensed assisted living facilities (ALFs) 

and to protect the health, safety, and welfare of residents. This 

regulatory action will implement amendments made by the 

2013 Acts of Assembly related to liability insurance 

disclosure in §§ 63.2-1805 and 63.2-1808 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Purpose: The purpose of this action is to implement Chapter 

320 of the 2013 Acts of Assembly, which amended §§ 63.2-

1805 and 63.2-1808 of the Code of Virginia relating to ALF 

liability insurance disclosure. The regulatory action 

establishes the minimum amount of liability insurance 

coverage to be maintained by an ALF for purposes of 

disclosure. The action also includes changes to the regulations 

to require an ALF to disclose to any resident, prospective 

resident, and his legal representative, if any, whether it 

maintains the minimum amount of liability insurance 

coverage. Knowing whether a facility maintains at least the 

minimum amount of coverage will allow potential residents 

and residents to make more informed decisions regarding 

residence in assisted living facilities and possible 

compensation for injuries and losses from negligent acts of a 

facility. 

Substance: Proposed changes to the regulations add an item 

to the disclosure statement and the resident agreement that 

requires an ALF to state whether it maintains at least the 

minimum amount of liability insurance coverage established 

by the State Board of Social Services to compensate residents 

or others for injuries and losses from negligent acts of the 
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facility. The proposed minimum amount is $500,000 per 

occurrence and $500,000 aggregate. An additional change 

ensures that the information regarding liability insurance 

coverage is kept current. 

Issues: The advantage of the proposed regulatory action to the 

public and to the agency is that it makes the requirements of 

the regulation consistent with the requirements of state law 

and establishes a minimum amount of liability insurance 

coverage for purposes of disclosure. Disclosure of the 

information to a prospective resident of an ALF allows the 

person to make a more informed decision regarding residence 

in the facility. Disclosure of the information to ALF residents 

or appropriate legal representatives helps keep them aware of 

whether or not the facility has insurance in case possible 

compensation for injury or losses becomes a matter of 

concern. There are no disadvantages to the public, the agency, 

or the Commonwealth. 

An issue that has been identified in the past by some people 

in the insurance industry and others is that the minimum 

amount of liability insurance for disclosure purposes in this 

proposal is inadequate. These people vary in the amounts 

recommended to compensate for injuries and losses from 

negligent acts of an ALF, but the least amount recommended 

for disclosure purposes is $1 million per occurrence and $2 

million aggregate. The $500,000 amount is supported by 

several ALF provider associations. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Regulation. As mandated by 

Chapter 320 of the 2013 Acts of the Assembly, the State 

Board of Social Services (Board) proposes to amend its 

Standards for Assisted living Facilities to stipulate insurance 

amounts for which assisted living facilities will be required to 

provide disclosure. 

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely exceed costs for all 

proposed regulatory changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. In 2013, the General Assembly 

passed legislation that directed the Board to promulgate 

regulations, "9. Requiring that each assisted living facility 

prepare and provide a statement, in a format prescribed by the 

Board, to any resident or prospective resident and his legal 

representative, if any, and upon request, that discloses 

whether the assisted living facility maintains liability 

insurance in force to compensate residents or other 

individuals for injuries and losses from the negligent acts of 

the facility, provided that no facility shall state that liability 

insurance is in place unless such insurance provides a 

minimum amount of coverage as established by the Board; 

and 10. Establishing the minimum amount of liability 

insurance coverage to be maintained by an assisted living 

facility for purposes of disclosure in accordance with 

subdivision 9." 

The Board now proposes to amend its regulation for assisted 

living facilities to implement these requirements. Specifically 

the Board proposes to disclose to prospective residents 

whether they have insurance that will pay up to $500,000 per 

occurrence and $500,000 aggregate to compensate residents 

or other individuals for injuries or losses suffered due to the 

negligence of the facility. The Board also proposes to require 

that the same insurance disclosure be contained in resident 

agreements signed by residents (or their legal representative) 

at the time of, or prior to, admission. The Department of 

Planning and Budget suggested that the board create a 

separate section of the regulatory text that specifically lists 

the required liability amounts, rather than just including it in 

the text of the disclosure section and in the section describing 

the resident agreement with the facility. The Department of 

Social Services agreed to consider presenting this idea to the 

Board at the final stage for this proposed regulation.  

Assisted living facilities are not required by the Standards for 

Assisted Living Facilities to actually have liability insurance. 

Disclosure requirements likely will, however, encourage 

facilities to have at least $500,000 in insurance since not 

having such insurance, and having to disclose that fact to 

potential residents, would put them at a competitive 

disadvantage to similarly priced assisted living facilities that 

do have such insurance. Board staff reports that the cost for 

insurance with $500,000 per occurrence/$500,000 aggregate 

coverage would likely average $125-$250 per facility bed. 

Facilities with poorer quality of care, more regulatory 

complaints, an older physical plant or residents who are 

generally in poorer health (amongst other risk factors) may 

pay the higher side of that average; facilities that rate as better 

risks would likely pay on the lower side of that average. 

Residents and their families will benefit from these proposed 

regulatory changes as they will allow a more informed choice 

of facilities where residents will be compensated for any 

losses incurred on account of negligence on the part or 

facility owners or staff. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Board staff reports that the 

Board regulates 544 assisted living facilities in the 

Commonwealth. All of these facilities will be affected by the 

proposed regulatory changes. Board staff further reports that 

most of these facilities would qualify as small businesses. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by this proposed regulation.  

Projected Impact on Employment. This proposed regulation is 

unlikely to have any impact on employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. Assisted 

living facilities are not required by the Standards for Assisted 

Living Facilities to actually have liability insurance. 

Disclosure requirements likely will, however, encourage 

facilities to have at least $500,000 in insurance since not 

having such insurance, and having to disclose that fact to 

potential residents, would put them at a competitive 

disadvantage to similarly priced assisted living facilities that 

do have such insurance. To the extent that purchasing 
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insurance lowers the profits of assisted living facilities, the 

value of those facilities will also be lowered. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. This regulatory 

action does not directly impose any costs but the likely very 

minimal staff cost for revising disclosure documents. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. There are likely no alternative methods of 

regulation that would both meet the aims of the legislature 

and the Board and be less costly. 

Agency's Response to the Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Social Services reviewed the economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget 

and has no comment. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 320 of the 2013 Acts of Assembly, the 

proposed amendments establish for purposes of disclosure 

a minimum amount of liability insurance coverage of 

$500,000 per occurrence and $500,000 aggregate to be 

maintained by an assisted living facility (ALF). It does not 

require an ALF to maintain coverage, but rather to 

disclose to residents, prospective residents, and legal 

representatives, if any, whether the facility has the 

minimum required amount as established by the State 

Board of Social Services. The amendments also include 

changes to the disclosure statement and the resident 

agreement to include whether the ALF maintains at least 

$500,000 per occurrence and $500,000 aggregate of 

liability insurance coverage. 

Part I  

General Provisions  

22VAC40-72-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Activities of daily living (ADLs)" or "ADLs" means 

bathing, dressing, toileting, transferring, bowel control, 

bladder control and eating/feeding. A person's degree of 

independence in performing these activities is a part of 

determining appropriate level of care and services.  

"Administer medication" means to open a container of 

medicine or to remove the ordered dosage and to give it to the 

resident for whom it is ordered.  

"Administrator" means the licensee or a person designated 

by the licensee who is responsible for the general 

administration and management of an assisted living facility 

and who oversees the day-to-day operation of the facility, 

including compliance with all regulations for licensed 

assisted living facilities.  

"Advance directive" means, as defined in § 54.1-2982 of the 

Code of Virginia, (i) a witnessed written document, 

voluntarily executed by the declarant in accordance with the 

requirements of § 54.1-2983 of the Code of Virginia or (ii) a 

witnessed oral statement, made by the declarant subsequent to 

the time he is diagnosed as suffering from a terminal 

condition and in accordance with the provisions of § 54.1-

2983 of the Code of Virginia. The individual or his legal 

representative can rescind the document at any time.  

"Ambulatory" means the condition of a resident who is 

physically and mentally capable of self-preservation by 

evacuating in response to an emergency to a refuge area as 

defined by 13VAC5-63, the Virginia Uniform Statewide 

Building Code, without the assistance of another person, or 

from the structure itself without the assistance of another 

person if there is no such refuge area within the structure, 

even if such resident may require the assistance of a 

wheelchair, walker, cane, prosthetic device, or a single verbal 

command to evacuate.  

"Assisted living care" means a level of service provided by 

an assisted living facility for adults who may have physical or 

mental impairments and require at least moderate assistance 

with the activities of daily living. Included in this level of 

service are individuals who are dependent in behavior pattern 

(i.e., abusive, aggressive, disruptive) as documented on the 

uniform assessment instrument.  

"Assisted living facility" means, as defined in § 63.2-100 of 

the Code of Virginia, any congregate residential setting that 

provides or coordinates personal and health care services, 24-

hour supervision, and assistance (scheduled and unscheduled) 

for the maintenance or care of four or more adults who are 

aged, infirm or disabled and who are cared for in a primarily 

residential setting, except (i) a facility or portion of a facility 

licensed by the State Board of Health or the Department of 

Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse 

Behavioral Health and Developmental Services, but including 

any portion of such facility not so licensed; (ii) the home or 

residence of an individual who cares for or maintains only 

persons related to him by blood or marriage; (iii) a facility or 

portion of a facility serving infirm or disabled persons 

between the ages of 18 and 21, or 22 if enrolled in an 

educational program for the handicapped pursuant to § 22.1-

214 of the Code of Virginia, when such facility is licensed by 

the department as a children's residential facility under 

Chapter 17 (§ 63.2-1700 et seq.) of Title 63.2 of the Code of 

Virginia, but including any portion of the facility not so 

licensed; and (iv) any housing project for persons 62 years of 

age or older or the disabled that provides no more than basic 

coordination of care services and is funded by the U.S. 

Department of Housing and Urban Development, by the U.S. 

Department of Agriculture, or by the Virginia Housing 

Development Authority. Included in this definition are any 

two or more places, establishments or institutions owned or 

operated by a single entity and providing maintenance or care 

to a combined total of four or more aged, infirm or disabled 

adults. Maintenance or care means the protection, general 

supervision and oversight of the physical and mental well-

being of an aged, infirm, or disabled individual.  
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Assuming responsibility for the well-being of residents, 

either directly or through contracted agents, is considered 

"general supervision and oversight."  

"Behavioral health authority" means the organization, 

appointed by and accountable to the governing body of the 

city or county that established it, that provides mental health, 

mental retardation, and substance abuse services through its 

own staff or through contracts with other organizations and 

providers.  

"Board" means the State Board of Social Services. 

"Building" means a structure with exterior walls under one 

roof.  

"Cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR)" or "CPR" means an 

emergency procedure consisting of external cardiac massage 

and artificial respiration; the first treatment for a person who 

has collapsed and has no pulse and has stopped breathing; and 

attempts to restore circulation of the blood and prevent death 

or brain damage due to lack of oxygen.  

"Case management" means multiple functions designed to 

link clients to appropriate services. Case management may 

include a variety of common components such as initial 

screening of needs, comprehensive assessment of needs, 

development and implementation of a plan of care, service 

monitoring, and client follow-up.  

"Case manager" means an employee of a public human 

services agency who is qualified and designated to develop 

and coordinate plans of care.  

"Chemical restraint" means a psychopharmacologic drug 

that is used for discipline or convenience and not required to 

treat the resident's medical symptoms or symptoms from 

mental illness or mental retardation, that prohibits an 

individual from reaching his highest level of functioning.  

"Commissioner" means the commissioner of the department, 

his designee or authorized representative.  

"Community services board" or "CSB" means a citizens' 

board established pursuant to § 37.2-501 of the Code of 

Virginia that provides mental health, mental retardation and 

substance abuse programs and services within the political 

subdivision or political subdivisions participating on the 

board.  

"Conservator" means a person appointed by the court who is 

responsible for managing the estate and financial affairs of an 

incapacitated person and, where the context plainly indicates, 

includes a "limited conservator" or a "temporary 

conservator." The term includes a local or regional program 

designated by the Department for the Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services as a public conservator pursuant to 

Article 2 (§ 2.2-711 et seq.) of Chapter 7 of Title 2.2 Article 6 

(§ 51.5-149 et seq.) of Chapter 14 of Title 51.5 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

"Continuous licensed nursing care" means around-the-clock 

observation, assessment, monitoring, supervision, or 

provision of medical treatments provided by a licensed nurse. 

Residents requiring continuous licensed nursing care may 

include:  

1. Individuals who have a medical instability due to 

complexities created by multiple, interrelated medical 

conditions; or  

2. Individuals with a health care condition with a high 

potential for medical instability.  

"Department" means the State Department of Social 

Services.  

"Department's representative" means an employee or 

designee of the State Department of Social Services, acting as 

an authorized agent of the Commissioner of Social Services.  

"Dietary supplement" means a product intended for 

ingestion that supplements the diet, is labeled as a dietary 

supplement, is not represented as a sole item of a meal or diet, 

and contains a dietary ingredient(s) ingredient or ingredients, 

(i.e., vitamins, minerals, amino acid, herbs or other 

botanicals, dietary substances (such as enzymes), and 

concentrates, metabolites, constituents, extracts, or 

combinations of the preceding types of ingredients). Dietary 

supplements may be found in many forms, such as tablets, 

capsules, liquids, or bars.  

"Direct care staff" means supervisors, assistants, aides, or 

other employees of a facility who assist residents in the 

performance of personal care or daily living activities. 

Examples are likely to include nursing staff, activity staff, 

geriatric or personal care assistants, medication aides, and 

mental health workers but are not likely to include waiters, 

chauffeurs, cooks, and dedicated housekeeping, maintenance 

and laundry personnel.  

"Discharge" means the movement of a resident out of the 

assisted living facility.  

"Emergency" means, as it applies to restraints, a situation 

that may require the use of a restraint where the resident's 

behavior is unmanageable to the degree an immediate and 

serious danger is presented to the health and safety of the 

resident or others.  

"Emergency placement" means the temporary status of an 

individual in an assisted living facility when the person's 

health and safety would be jeopardized by denying entry into 

the facility until the requirements for admission have been 

met.  

"Good character and reputation" means findings have been 

established and knowledgeable, reasonable, and objective 

people agree that the individual (i) maintains business or 

professional, family, and community relationships that are 

characterized by honesty, fairness, truthfulness, and 

dependability; and (ii) has a history and pattern of behavior 

that demonstrates the individual is suitable and able to 

administer a program for the care, supervision, and protection 

of adults. Relatives by blood or marriage and persons who are 

not knowledgeable of the individual, such as recent 

acquaintances, may not act as references.  
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"Guardian" means a person who has been legally invested 

with the authority and charged with the duty of taking care of 

the person, managing his property and protecting the rights of 

the person who has been declared by the circuit court to be 

incapacitated and incapable of administering his own affairs. 

The powers and duties of the guardian are defined by the 

court and are limited to matters within the areas where the 

person in need of a guardian has been determined to be 

incapacitated.  

"Habilitative service" means activities to advance a normal 

sequence of motor skills, movement, and self-care abilities or 

to prevent avoidable additional deformity or dysfunction.  

"Health care provider" means a person, corporation, facility 

or institution licensed by this Commonwealth to provide 

health care or professional services such as a physician or 

hospital, dentist, pharmacist, registered or licensed practical 

nurse, optometrist, podiatrist, chiropractor, physical therapist, 

physical therapy assistant, clinical psychologist, or health 

maintenance organization. This list is not all inclusive.  

"Household member" means any person domiciled in an 

assisted living facility other than residents or staff.  

"Imminent physical threat or danger" means clear and 

present risk of sustaining or inflicting serious or life 

threatening injuries.  

"Independent clinical psychologist" means a clinical 

psychologist who is chosen by the resident of the assisted 

living facility and who has no financial interest in the assisted 

living facility, directly or indirectly, as an owner, officer or 

employee or as an independent contractor with the facility.  

"Independent living environment" means one in which the 

resident or residents perform all activities of daily living and 

instrumental activities of daily living for themselves without 

requiring the assistance of another person and take 

medication without requiring the assistance of another person.  

"Independent living status" means that the resident is 

assessed as capable of performing all activities of daily living 

and instrumental activities of daily living for himself without 

requiring the assistance of another person and is assessed as 

capable of taking medications without the assistance of 

another person. (If the policy of a facility dictates that 

medications are administered or distributed centrally without 

regard for the residents' capacity, this policy shall not be 

considered in determining independent status.)  

"Independent physician" means a physician who is chosen 

by the resident of the assisted living facility and who has no 

financial interest in the assisted living facility, directly or 

indirectly, as an owner, officer, or employee or as an 

independent contractor with the facility.  

"Individualized service plan (ISP)" or "ISP" means the 

written description of actions to be taken by the licensee, 

including coordination with other services providers, to meet 

the assessed needs of the resident.  

"Instrumental activities of daily living (IADLs)" or IADLs" 

means meal preparation, housekeeping, laundry, and 

managing money. A person's degree of independence in 

performing these activities is a part of determining 

appropriate level of care and services.  

"Intermittent intravenous therapy" means therapy provided 

by a licensed health care professional at medically predictable 

intervals for a limited period of time on a daily or periodic 

basis.  

"Legal representative" means a person legally responsible 

for representing or standing in the place of the resident for the 

conduct of his affairs. This may include a guardian, 

conservator, attorney-in-fact under durable power of attorney, 

trustee, or other person expressly named by a court of 

competent jurisdiction or the resident as his agent in a legal 

document that specifies the scope of the representative's 

authority to act. A legal representative may only represent or 

stand in the place of a resident for the function or functions 

for which he has legal authority to act.  

A resident is presumed competent and is responsible for 

making all health care, personal care, financial, and other 

personal decisions that affect his life unless a representative 

with legal authority has been appointed by a court of 

competent jurisdiction or has been appointed by the resident 

in a properly executed and signed document. A resident may 

have different legal representatives for different functions.  

For any given standard, the term legal representative applies 

solely to the legal representative with the authority to act in 

regard to the function or functions relevant to that particular 

standard.  

"Licensed health care professional" means any health care 

professional currently licensed by the Commonwealth of 

Virginia to practice within the scope of his profession, such 

as a nurse practitioner, registered nurse, licensed practical 

nurse, (nurses may be licensed or hold multistate licensure 

pursuant to § 54.1-3000 of the Code of Virginia), clinical 

social worker, dentist, occupational therapist, pharmacist, 

physical therapist, physician, physician assistant, 

psychologist, and speech-language pathologist.  

Responsibilities of physicians referenced in this chapter may 

be implemented by nurse practitioners or physician assistants 

in accordance with their protocols or practice agreements 

with their supervising physicians and in accordance with the 

law.  

"Licensee" means any person, association, partnership, 

corporation, company or public agency to whom the license is 

issued.  

"Manager" means a designated person who serves as a 

manager pursuant to 22VAC40-72-220 and 22VAC40-72-

230.  

"Mandated reporter" means the following persons acting in 

their professional capacity who have reason to suspect abuse, 

neglect or exploitation of an adult:  
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1. Any person licensed, certified, or registered by health 

regulatory boards listed in § 54.1-2503 of the Code of 

Virginia, with the exception of persons licensed by the 

Board of Veterinary Medicine;  

2. Any mental health services provider as defined in 

§ 54.1-2400.1 of the Code of Virginia;  

3. Any emergency medical services personnel certified by 

the State Board of Health pursuant to § 32.1-111.5 of the 

Code of Virginia;  

4. Any guardian or conservator of an adult;  

5. Any person employed by or contracted with a public or 

private agency or facility and working with adults in an 

administrative, supportive or direct care capacity;  

6. Any person providing full, intermittent or occasional 

care to an adult for compensation, including but not limited 

to companion, chore, homemaker, and personal care 

workers; and  

7. Any law-enforcement officer.  

This is pursuant to § 63.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Maximum physical assistance" means that an individual 

has a rating of total dependence in four or more of the seven 

activities of daily living as documented on the uniform 

assessment instrument.  

An individual who can participate in any way with 

performance of the activity is not considered to be totally 

dependent.  

"Medication aide" means a staff person who has current 

registration with the Virginia Board of Nursing to administer 

drugs that would otherwise be self-administered to residents 

in an assisted living facility in accordance with the 

Regulations Governing the Registration of Medication Aides 

(18VAC90-60). This definition also includes a staff person 

who is an applicant for registration as a medication aide as 

provided in 22VAC40-72-660. 

"Mental impairment" means a disability that reduces an 

individual's ability to reason logically, make appropriate 

decisions, or engage in purposeful behavior.  

"Mental illness" means a disorder of thought, mood, 

emotion, perception, or orientation that significantly impairs 

judgment, behavior, capacity to recognize reality, or ability to 

address basic life necessities and requires care and treatment 

for the health, safety, or recovery of the individual or for the 

safety of others.  

"Mental retardation" means disability, originating before the 

age of 18 years, characterized concurrently by (i) significantly 

subaverage intellectual functioning as demonstrated by 

performance on a standardized measure of intellectual 

functioning, administered in conformity with accepted 

professional practice, that is at least two standard deviations 

below the mean and (ii) significant limitations in adaptive 

behavior as expressed in conceptual, social, and practical 

adaptive skills.  

"Minimal assistance" means dependency in only one activity 

of daily living or dependency in one or more of the 

instrumental activities of daily living as documented on the 

uniform assessment instrument.  

"Moderate assistance" means dependency in two or more of 

the activities of daily living as documented on the uniform 

assessment instrument.  

"Nonambulatory" means the condition of a resident who by 

reason of physical or mental impairment is not capable of 

self-preservation without the assistance of another person.  

"Nonemergency" means, as it applies to restraints, 

circumstances that may require the use of a restraint for the 

purpose of providing support to a physically weakened 

resident.  

"Physical impairment" means a condition of a bodily or 

sensory nature that reduces an individual's ability to function 

or to perform activities.  

"Physical restraint" means any manual method or physical 

or mechanical device, material, or equipment attached or 

adjacent to the resident's body that the resident cannot remove 

easily, which restricts freedom of movement or access to his 

body.  

"Physician" means an individual licensed to practice 

medicine or osteopathic medicine in any of the 50 states or 

the District of Columbia.  

"Prescriber" means a practitioner who is authorized pursuant 

to §§ 54.1-3303 and 54.1-3408 of the Code of Virginia to 

issue a prescription.  

"Private pay" means that a resident of an assisted living 

facility is not eligible for benefits under the Auxiliary Grants 

Program.  

"Psychopharmacologic drug" means any drug prescribed or 

administered with the intent of controlling mood, mental 

status or behavior. Psychopharmacologic drugs include not 

only the obvious drug classes, such as antipsychotic, 

antidepressants, and the antianxiety/hypnotic class, but any 

drug that is prescribed or administered with the intent of 

controlling mood, mental status, or behavior, regardless of the 

manner in which it is marketed by the manufacturers and 

regardless of labeling or other approvals by the United States 

U.S. Food and Drug Administration.  

"Public pay" means that a resident of an assisted living 

facility is eligible for benefits under the Auxiliary Grants 

Program.  

"Qualified" means having appropriate training and 

experience commensurate with assigned responsibilities; or if 

referring to a professional, possessing an appropriate degree 

or having documented equivalent education, training or 

experience. There are specific definitions for "qualified 

assessor" and "qualified mental health professional" below.  

"Qualified assessor" means an individual who is authorized 

to perform an assessment, reassessment, or change in level of 
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care for an applicant to or resident of an assisted living 

facility. For public pay individuals, a qualified assessor is an 

employee of a public human services agency trained in the 

completion of the uniform assessment instrument (UAI). For 

private pay individuals, a qualified assessor is an employee of 

the assisted living facility trained in the completion of the 

UAI or an independent private physician or a qualified 

assessor for public pay individuals.  

"Qualified mental health professional" means a behavioral 

health professional who is trained and experienced in 

providing psychiatric or mental health services to individuals 

who have a psychiatric diagnosis, including and limited to (i) 

a physician licensed in Virginia; (ii) a psychologist: an 

individual with a master's degree in psychology from a 

college or university accredited by an association recognized 

by the U.S. Secretary of Education, with at least one year of 

clinical experience; (iii) a social worker: an individual with at 

least a master's degree in human services or related field 

(social work, psychology, psychiatric rehabilitation, 

sociology, counseling, vocational rehabilitation, or human 

services counseling) from a college or university accredited 

by an association recognized by the U.S. Secretary of 

Education, with at least one year of clinical experience 

providing direct services to persons with a diagnosis of 

mental illness; (iv) a Registered Psychiatric Rehabilitation 

Provider (RPRP) registered with the International Association 

of Psychosocial Rehabilitation Services (IAPSRS); (v) a 

clinical nurse specialist or psychiatric nurse practitioner 

licensed in the Commonwealth of Virginia with at least one 

year of clinical experience working in a mental health 

treatment facility or agency; (vi) any other licensed mental 

health professional; or (viii) any other person deemed by the 

Department of Mental Health, Mental Retardation and 

Substance Abuse Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services as having qualifications equivalent to those 

described in this definition. Any unlicensed person who 

meets the requirements contained in this definition shall 

either be under the supervision of a licensed mental health 

professional or employed by an agency or organization 

licensed by the Department of Mental Health, Mental 

Retardation and Substance Abuse Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services.  

"Rehabilitative services" means activities that are ordered by 

a physician or other qualified health care professional that are 

provided by a rehabilitative therapist (physical therapist, 

occupational therapist or speech-language pathologist). These 

activities may be necessary when a resident has demonstrated 

a change in his capabilities and are provided to restore or 

improve his level of functioning.  

"Resident" means any adult residing in an assisted living 

facility for the purpose of receiving maintenance or care.  

"Residential living care" means a level of service provided 

by an assisted living facility for adults who may have 

physical or mental impairments and require only minimal 

assistance with the activities of daily living. Included in this 

level of service are individuals who are dependent in 

medication administration as documented on the uniform 

assessment instrument. This definition includes the services 

provided by the facility to individuals who are assessed as 

capable of maintaining themselves in an independent living 

status.  

"Respite care" means services provided for maintenance and 

care of aged, infirm or disabled adults for temporary periods 

of time, regularly or intermittently. Facilities offering this 

type of care are subject to this chapter.  

"Restorative care" means activities designed to assist the 

resident in reaching or maintaining his level of potential. 

These activities are not required to be provided by a 

rehabilitative therapist and may include activities such as 

range of motion, assistance with ambulation, positioning, 

assistance and instruction in the activities of daily living, 

psychosocial skills training, and reorientation and reality 

orientation.  

"Safe, secure environment" means a self-contained special 

care unit for individuals with serious cognitive impairments 

due to a primary psychiatric diagnosis of dementia who 

cannot recognize danger or protect their own safety and 

welfare. Means of egress that lead to unprotected areas must 

be monitored or secured through devices that conform to 

applicable building and fire safety standards, including but 

not limited to door alarms, cameras, constant staff oversight, 

security bracelets that are part of an alarm system, pressure 

pads at doorways, delayed egress mechanisms, locking 

devices or perimeter fence gates. There may be one or more 

self-contained special care units in a facility or the whole 

facility may be a special care unit. Nothing in this definition 

limits or contravenes the privacy protections set forth in § 

63.2-1808 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Sanitizing" means treating in such a way to remove bacteria 

and viruses through using a disinfectant solution (e.g., bleach 

solution or commercial chemical disinfectant) or physical 

agent (e.g., heat).  

"Serious cognitive impairment" means severe deficit in 

mental capability of a chronic, enduring or long-term nature 

that affects areas such as thought processes, problem-solving, 

judgment, memory, and comprehension and that interferes 

with such things as reality orientation, ability to care for self, 

ability to recognize danger to self or others, and impulse 

control. Such cognitive impairment is not due to acute or 

episodic conditions, nor conditions arising from treatable 

metabolic or chemical imbalances or caused by reactions to 

medication or toxic substances.  

"Significant change" means a change in a resident's 

condition that is expected to last longer than 30 days. It does 

not include short-term changes that resolve with or without 

intervention, a short-term acute illness or episodic event, or a 

well-established, predictive, cyclic pattern of clinical signs 

and symptoms associated with a previously diagnosed 
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condition where an appropriate course of treatment is in 

progress.  

"Skilled nursing treatment" means a service ordered by a 

physician or other prescriber that is provided by and within 

the scope and practice of a licensed nurse.  

"Skills training" means systematic skill building through 

curriculum-based psychoeducational and cognitive-behavioral 

interventions. These interventions break down complex 

objectives for role performance into simpler components, 

including basic cognitive skills such as attention, to facilitate 

learning and competency.  

"Staff" or "staff person" means personnel working at a 

facility who are compensated or have a financial interest in 

the facility, regardless of role, service, age, function or 

duration of employment at the facility. Staff or staff person 

also includes those individuals hired through a contract to 

provide services for the facility.  

"Substance abuse" means the use, without compelling 

medical reason, of alcohol or other legal or illegal drugs that 

results in psychological or physiological dependency or 

danger to self or others as a function of continued use in such 

a manner as to induce mental, emotional or physical 

impairment and cause socially dysfunctional or socially 

disordering behavior.  

"Systems review" means a physical examination of the body 

to determine if the person is experiencing problems or 

distress, including cardiovascular system, respiratory system, 

gastrointestinal system, urinary system, endocrine system, 

musculoskeletal system, nervous system, sensory system and 

the skin.  

"Transfer" means movement of a resident to a different 

assigned living area within the same licensed facility.  

"Uniform assessment instrument (UAI)" or "UAI" means the 

department designated assessment form. There is an alternate 

version of the form that may be used for private pay residents. 

Social and financial information that is not relevant because 

of the resident's payment status is not included on the private 

pay version of the form.  

22VAC40-72-60. Disclosure.  

A. The assisted living facility shall prepare and provide a 

statement to the prospective resident and his legal 

representative, if any, that discloses information about the 

facility. The statement shall be on a form developed by the 

department and shall:  

1. Disclose information fully and accurately in plain 

language;  

2. Be provided to the prospective resident and his legal 

representative at least five days in advance of the planned 

admission date, and prior to signing an admission 

agreement or contract;  

EXCEPTION: If circumstances are such that resident 

admission to a facility prevents disclosure of the 

information at least five days in advance, then the 

information shall be disclosed at the earliest possible time 

prior to signing an admission agreement or contract. The 

circumstances causing the delay shall be documented.  

3. Be provided to a resident or his legal representative 

upon request; and  

4. Disclose the following information, which shall be kept 

current:  

a. Name of the facility;  

b. Name of the licensee;  

c. Names of any other assisted living facilities for which 

the licensee has a current license issued by the 

Commonwealth of Virginia;  

d. Ownership structure of the facility, (i.e., individual, 

partnership, corporation, limited liability company, 

unincorporated association or public agency);  

e. Name of management company that operates the 

facility, if other than the licensee;  

f. Licensed capacity of the facility and description of the 

characteristics of the resident population;  

g. Description of all accommodations, services, and care 

that the facility offers;  

h. Fees charged for accommodations, services, and care, 

including clear information about what is included in the 

base fee and any fees for additional accommodations, 

services, and care;  

i. Policy regarding increases in charges and length of 

time for advance notice of intent to increase charges;  

j. Amount of an advance or deposit payment and refund 

policy for such payment;  

k. Criteria for admission to the facility and any 

restrictions on admission;  

l. Criteria for transfer to a different living area within the 

same facility, including transfer to another level, 

gradation, or type of care within the same facility or 

complex;  

m. Criteria for discharge, including the actions, 

circumstances, or conditions that would result or may 

result in the resident's discharge from the facility;  

n. Requirements or rules regarding resident conduct and 

other restrictions and special conditions;  

o. Range, categories, frequency, and number of activities 

provided for residents;  

p. General number, functions, and qualifications of staff 

on each shift;  

q. Whether the facility maintains liability insurance that 

provides at least a minimum amount of coverage 

established by the board, for disclosure purposes, of 

$500,000 per occurrence and $500,000 aggregate to 

compensate residents or other individuals for injuries and 

losses from negligent acts of the facility; 
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q. r. Notification that names of contractors providing 

essential services to residents are available upon request:; 

and  

r. s. Address of the website of the department, with a note 

that additional information about the facility may be 

obtained from the website, including type of license, 

special services, and compliance history that includes 

information after July 1, 2003.  

B. If a prospective resident is admitted to the facility, written 

acknowledgement acknowledgment of the receipt of the 

disclosure by the resident or his legal representative shall be 

retained in his record.  

C. The information required in this section shall also be 

available to the general public.  

22VAC40-72-390. Resident agreement with facility.  

A. At or prior to the time of admission, there shall be a 

written agreement/acknowledgment of notification dated and 

signed by the resident/applicant for admission or the 

appropriate legal representative, and by the licensee or 

administrator. This document shall include the following:  

1. Financial arrangement for accommodations, services and 

care that specifies:  

a. Listing of specific charges for accommodations, 

services, and care to be made to the individual resident 

signing the agreement, the frequency of payment, and 

any rules relating to nonpayment;  

b. Description of all accommodations, services, and care 

that the facility offers and any related charges;  

c. The amount and purpose of an advance payment or 

deposit payment and the refund policy for such payment;  

d. The policy with respect to increases in charges and 

length of time for advance notice of intent to increase 

charges;  

e. If the ownership of any personal property, real estate, 

money or financial investments is to be transferred to the 

facility at the time of admission or at some future date, it 

shall be stipulated in the agreement; and  

f. The refund policy to apply when transfer of ownership, 

closing of facility, or resident transfer or discharge 

occurs.  

2. Statement that specifies whether the facility maintains 

liability insurance that provides at least a minimum amount 

of coverage established by the board, for disclosure 

purposes, of $500,000 per occurrence and $500,000 

aggregate to compensate residents or other individuals for 

injuries and losses from negligent acts of the facility.  

2. 3. Requirements or rules to be imposed regarding 

resident conduct and other restrictions or special conditions 

and signed acknowledgment that they have been reviewed 

by the resident or his legal representative.  

3. 4. Acknowledgment that the resident or his legal 

representative has been informed of the policy regarding 

the amount of notice required when a resident wishes to 

move from the facility.  

4. 5. Acknowledgment that the resident has been informed 

of the policy required by 22VAC40-72-840 J regarding 

weapons.  

5. 6. Those actions, circumstances, or conditions that 

would result or might result in the resident's discharge 

from the facility.  

6. 7. Acknowledgment that the resident or his legal 

representative or responsible individual as stipulated in 

22VAC40-72-550 G has reviewed a copy of § 63.2-1808 

of the Code of Virginia, Rights and Responsibilities of 

Residents of Assisted Living Facilities, and that the 

provisions of this statute have been explained to him.  

7. 8. Acknowledgment that the resident or his legal 

representative or responsible individual as stipulated in 

22VAC40-72-550 G has reviewed and had explained to 

him the facility's policies and procedures for implementing 

§ 63.2-1808 of the Code of Virginia, including the 

grievance policy and the transfer/discharge policy.  

8. 9. Acknowledgment that the resident has been informed 

that interested residents may establish and maintain a 

resident council, that the facility is responsible for 

providing assistance with the formation and maintenance 

of the council, whether or not such a council currently 

exists in the facility, and the general purpose of a resident 

council. (See 22VAC40-72-810.)  

9. 10. Acknowledgment that the resident has been 

informed of the bed hold policy in case of temporary 

transfer or movement from the facility, if the facility has 

such a policy.  

10. 11. Acknowledgment that the resident has been 

informed of the rules and restrictions regarding smoking on 

the premises of the facility, including but not limited to 

that which is required by 22VAC40-72-800.  

11. 12. Acknowledgment that the resident has been 

informed of the policy regarding the administration and 

storage of medications and dietary supplements.  

12. 13. Acknowledgment that the resident has received 

written assurance that the facility has the appropriate 

license to meet his care needs at the time of admission, as 

required by 22VAC40-72-340 D.  

B. Copies of the signed agreement/acknowledgment of 

notification shall be provided to the resident and as 

appropriate, his legal representative and shall be retained in 

the resident's record.  

C. The original agreement shall be updated whenever there 

are changes in financial arrangements, accommodations, 

services, care provided by the facility, or requirements 

governing the resident's conduct, or liability insurance 

statement, and signed by the licensee or administrator and the 

resident or his legal representative. If the original agreement 
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provides for specific changes in any of these items, this 

standard does not apply to those changes.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3906; Filed November 2, 2015, 11:15 a.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-100. Minimum Standards 

for Licensed Child Caring Institutions (amending 

22VAC40-100-10, 22VAC40-100-340).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 63.2-217 and 63.2-1734 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 30, 2015. 

Effective Date: January 15, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Sharon Lindsay, Program Consultant, 

Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7167, FAX (804) 

726-7132, or email sharon.lindsay@dss.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia provides the 

State Board of Social Services the general authority for the 

development of regulations to carry out the purposes of Title 

63.2 of the Code of Virginia. Sections 63.2-1701, 63.2-1817, 

63.2-1734, 16.1-278.2, 16.1-278.4, and 16.1-278.8 of the 

Code of Virginia mandate licensure of child welfare agencies, 

except those that meet the exemptions contained in §§ 63.2-

1715 through 63.2-1718. Child caring institutions are defined 

as children's residential facilities, and children's residential 

facilities fall under the definition of child welfare agencies. 

Those child caring institutions established prior to January 1, 

1987, that receive no public funds are licensed under the 

Minimum Standards for Licensed Child Caring Institutions. 

Child caring institutions established on or after January 1, 

1987, are licensed under the regulation established for 

children's residential facilities. 

Purpose: The amendments are necessary to remove references 

to repealed Code of Virginia sections and add the correct 

citations in the regulation. This regulatory action protects the 

health, welfare, and safety of children in care in child caring 

institutions by clarifying the Code of Virginia references used 

in the regulation. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: Executive Order 17 

(2014) allows state agencies to use a fast-track rulemaking 

process to expedite regulatory changes that are expected to be 

noncontroversial. As part of the periodic review process, the 

Office of the Attorney General advised the use of the fast-

track rulemaking process to make minor amendments to Code 

of Virginia references, as these actions are not expected to be 

controversial. 

Substance: The regulation is amended to remove references to 

repealed Code of Virginia sections in the regulation and 

replace them with the correct references. 

Issues: The primary advantage of this regulatory action to the 

agency and to the public is that it clarifies Code of Virginia 

citations for easier reference. There are no disadvantages to 

the public or the Commonwealth. 

Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings: This 

regulatory action serves as the report of the findings of the 

regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

State Board of Social Services (Board) proposes to amend its 

regulations that govern licensed child caring institutions so 

that it is clear the statutory authority for this licensure 

program emanates from § 63.1 of the Code of Virginia as it 

existed on January 1, 1987. 

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for all 

proposed changes.  

Estimated Economic Impact. Current regulations list the Code 

of Virginia Title which defined child caring institutions and 

gave the Board authority to license them. Since this Code 

section has since been repealed, and is no longer in the Code 

of Virginia, the current regulations can be confusing for 

individuals that use the code citations listed to try and find the 

authorizing legislation. To make these regulations more clear, 

the Board proposes to specify the version of the Code of 

Virginia that is being referenced. Although this addition will 

not make it any easier for interested individuals to find the 

statutory authorization for this licensure program in the Code 

of Virginia, it will make it clearer why that Code section is so 

hard to track down. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Board staff reports there are 

currently seven licensed child caring institutions in the 

Commonwealth.  

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This proposed regulatory 

action is unlikely to have any effect on employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use or 

value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No small business 

is likely to incur any costs on account of this regulatory 

action. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. No small business is likely to incur any costs 

on account of this regulatory action.  

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 
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Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Social Services reviewed the economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget 

and concurs. 

Summary: 

The amendments remove references to repealed Code of 

Virginia sections in the regulation and add the correct 

references. 

Part I  

General  

22VAC40-100-10. Definitions.  

A. A child caring institution, as defined in Chapter 10 

(§ 63.1-195 et seq.) of Title 63.1 of the Code of Virginia as 

provided for in subsection C of § 63.2-1737 of the Code of 

Virginia, is any facility, other than an institution operated by 

the State state, a county, or a city, and maintained for the 

purpose of receiving children for full-time care, maintenance, 

protection, and guidance separated from their parents or 

guardians except:  

1. A bona fide educational institution (or or boarding 

school) school whose pupils, in the ordinary course of 

events, return annually to the home of their parents or 

guardians for not less than two months of summer 

vacation;  

2. An establishment required to be licensed as a summer 

camp; and  

3. A bona fide hospital legally maintained as such.  

B. A group home is a child caring institution operated by an 

individual other than in his private family home or by a 

corporation which does not exceed 12 children, including the 

group parents' own children.  

C. An independent foster home is a private individual foster 

home in which any child, other than a child by birth or 

adoption of such person, resides as a member of the 

household and has been placed therein independently of a 

child placing agency except (i) a home in which are received 

only children related by birth or adoption of the person who 

maintains such home and legitimate children of personal 

friends of such person and (ii) a home in which are received a 

child or children committed under the provisions of 

subdivisions A 3, C 5 or E 9 of § 16.1-279 of the Code of 

Virginia, subdivision A 4 of § 16.1-278.2, subdivision 6 of 

§ 16.1-278.4, or subdivision A 13 of § 16.1-278.8 of the Code 

of Virginia.  

Any facility caring for more than 12 such children shall not 

be deemed an independent foster home.  

An independent foster home is subject to a different set of 

standards.  

22VAC40-100-340. Confidentiality.  

The child caring institution shall share only that information 

relative to the needs of others working with the child or to 

those having a legal right to that information in conformity 

with § 63.1-209, Code of Virginia, which provides the 

following:  

(a) "1. Confidential records. The records of all child 

welfare agencies and representatives of the Commissioner 

commissioner regarding licensing and persons received or 

placed out by them and the facts learned by them 

concerning such persons and their parents or relatives shall 

be confidential information, provided that the 

Commissioner commissioner, the State Board board, and 

their agents shall have access to such information, that it 

shall be disclosed upon proper order of any court, and that 

it may be disclosed to any person having a legitimate 

interest in the placement of any such person. It shall be 

unlawful for any officer, agent, or employee of any child 

welfare agency, for the Commissioner commissioner, the 

State Board board, or their agents or employees, and for 

any person who has held any such position, and for any 

other person to whom any such information is disclosed as 

herein above provided, to disclose, directly or indirectly, 

any such confidential information, except as herein 

provided. Every violation of this section shall constitute a 

misdemeanor and be punishable as such.  

(b) 2. Any person who has attained his majority, and who 

has not been legally adopted in accordance with the 

provisions of former Chapter 11 (§ 63.1-220 et seq.) of this 

title Title 63.1 of the Code of Virginia, and who believes 

that he has been placed out by a child placing agency, shall 

have the right to demand and receive from the 

Commissioner commissioner, the State Board board, or 

any such agency, such information as any of them may 

have concerning his own parents or relatives."  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-3582; Filed November 3, 2015, 10:17 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-201. Permanency Services - 

Prevention, Foster Care, Adoption and Independent 

Living (amending 22VAC40-201-10 through 22VAC40-

201-150, 22VAC40-201-170, 22VAC40-201-200; adding 

22VAC40-201-35, 22VAC40-201-161; repealing 

22VAC40-201-160).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 63.2-217, 63.2-319, and 63.2-900 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: January 29, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Em Parente, Program Manager, Department 

of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 726-7538, FAX (804) 726-7895, or 

email em.parente@dss.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The legal basis for this action is § 63.2-217 of the 

Code of Virginia, which provides the authority for the State 

Board of Social Services to adopt regulations as may be 

necessary to carry out the mandated purposes of the 

Department of Social Services. Throughout Title 63.2, there 
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are requirements for regulations to be developed to 

implement permanency services. This regulatory action will 

provide a comprehensive and accurate structure for the 

provision of these services. 

Purpose: 22VAC40-201 encompasses the full range of 

services for prevention, foster care, adoption, and 

independent living services. The regulation provides local 

departments of social services with rules for the provision of 

child welfare services consistent with the Code of Virginia 

and federal law. The regulation is necessary for protecting the 

welfare of children in foster care because it addresses issues 

such as service planning, notification of relatives, factors to 

consider in placement, adoption assistance, and many other 

provisions intended to ensure the well-being of the child. The 

goal of the proposed amendments are to make the regulation 

consistent with the Code of Virginia and federal laws and to 

make other changes deemed necessary to ensure the accuracy 

and clarity of the regulation. 

Substance: Substantive provisions and amendments to this 

regulation include adding language in both the definitions 

section and the independent living section making youth older 

than 18 years, released from the Department of Juvenile 

Justice (DJJ) and in foster care immediately prior to their 

commitment to DJJ, eligible to receive independent living 

services. The regulation also requires, consistent with the 

Code of Virginia, that local department of social services 

(LDSS) "shall" provide independent living services to youth 

between the ages of 14 to 18 years and for youth 18 to 21 

years who are eligible. A provision is added to limit when a 

foster child in a kinship foster placement can be removed 

from the relative. Language is added on the timing of medical 

and dental visits for youth in foster care, language listing 

independent living as a goal for all except a specific group of 

youth is removed, and language requiring the service plan for 

a child be approved by the court within 60 days from the 

child's entry into foster care is added. In addition, language 

reflecting recent Code of Virginia changes that will allow, 

under specific circumstances, the restoration of the parental 

rights of a youth in foster care is added. Language was added 

to clarify that adult relatives of a child "likely to be removed" 

be notified, in addition to the requirement that adult relatives 

be notified after removal. The process for collaborating with 

the foster care child's school to determine whether the child 

should continue at the home school or be moved to a new 

school, consistent with federal requirements, is provided. 

Changes are made in 22VAC40-201-70 clarifying the 

responsibility for the LDSS relative to establishing 

permanency for a child in foster care include the clarification 

that the LDSS shall continue to search for relatives and to try 

to establish permanency for a child until such time as it is 

achieved or not in the child's best interest even when the goal 

of permanent foster care, another planned permanent living 

arrangement, or independent living has been established. 

Changes to the regulation also require that the LDSS engage 

in concurrent permanency planning in order to achieve timely 

permanence for the child. Throughout the regulation, 

language regarding "resource families" has been changed to 

"foster" and "adoptive" families because the Code of Virginia 

does not address "resource families." The approval standards 

for adoptive parents differ from those for foster parents only 

in the parent having a desire to adopt. Use of the term 

"resource parent" to mean a family who is approved both to 

foster and adopt in the regulation goes beyond what is 

contained in the Code of Virginia. 

22VAC40-201-160, addressing adoption assistance, is 

repealed and replaced with 22VAC40-201-161 because 

changes and necessary reorganization would render this 

section of the proposed regulation very difficult to read. 

Language is added to that section about the use of department 

staff for the negotiation of adoption assistance agreements 

and addendums. Clarification is provided referencing the 

submission of the annual affidavit. Language is added 

regarding the responsibility of the LDSS to notify adoptive 

families of their right to appeal. Also included are conditions 

for continuation of adoption assistance beyond the youth's 

18th birthday and termination of adoption assistance prior to 

the youth's 18th birthday. 22VAC40-201-161 also includes 

language that provides clarity regarding eligibility for 

adoption assistance after finalization. Finally, in the section 

addressing nonagency adoptions, an incomplete list of 

exceptions to the prohibition against the exchange of money 

or other things of value in the placement or adoption of a 

child was deleted and reference was made to the Code of 

Virginia for more detailed information. 

Issues: This action poses no disadvantages to the public or the 

Commonwealth. This regulatory action amends the 

permanency regulation, which provides for the safety of 

children who come into the child welfare system and for 

children in the Commonwealth who are adopted. In particular 

this action addresses recent changes to the Code of Virginia 

to improve service delivery for older youth and medical and 

dental services for foster care youth and clarifies the process 

for determining adoption assistance eligibility and payment. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation: The 

State Board of Social Services (Board) proposes to make 

several substantive changes, and many clarifying changes, to 

its permanency regulation. Substantively, the Board proposes 

to: 1) As required by state and federal law, allow independent 

living services to be extended to youths over the age of 18 

who are being released from Department of Juvenile Justice 

(DJJ) custody, so long as those youths were in foster care 

before they were incarcerated; and remove the permanency 

goal of independent living except for juvenile refugees, 

youths leaving foster care who are at least 18 years old and or 

youths at least 18 years of age who are leaving Juvenile 

Correctional Center custody, 2) Limit when a foster child can 

be removed from kinship foster care without the consent of 
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the relative foster parent, 3) Pursuant to 2014 legislative 

changes, allow the restoration of parental rights for the 

parents of older foster care children whose rights had been 

terminated, 4) Mandate that the state Department of Social 

Services negotiate adoption assistance subsidies, 5) Set the 

process by which named parties will decide which school 

district a foster child will attend school in, and 6) Reduce the 

time frame for submitting a foster care plan to the courts and 

the time frame for the courts to approve that plan.  

Result of Analysis: Benefits will likely outweigh costs for 

most proposed changes. For several proposed changes, there 

is insufficient information to ascertain whether benefits will 

outweigh costs.  

Estimated Economic Impact: Most of the changes that the 

Board is proposing for this regulation either make explicit 

existing rules that local Departments of Social Services 

(LDSS) currently follow or modify language to eliminate 

confusion about what the rules are. For instance, LDSS staff 

are currently responsible for verifying that foster children 

placed through private placing agencies are in approved 

placements. The Board proposes to add language to this 

regulation that explicitly lays out LDSS responsibility on this 

matter but does not propose to change the parameters of 

responsibility for verifying home approval in any substantive 

way. Affected entities are very unlikely to incur extra costs on 

account of changes such as these, but will benefit from the 

increased clarity of the regulatory text. Currently, this 

regulation allows a permanency goal of independent living 

even though federal law does not. The Board proposes to 

amend this regulation so that no children under the age of 18 

except refugees are allowed this goal. The Board also 

proposes to conform this regulation to state law changes that 

allow independent living services to be extended to young 

adults who are being released from Department of Juvenile 

Justice (DJJ) custody so long as those young adults were in 

foster care before they were incarcerated. Board staff reports 

that LDSSs will likely incur some costs on account of 

extending independent living services to young adults leaving 

DJJ but that a member amendment to last year's budget 

allocated $19,000 to cover those costs. Removing 

independent living as a permanency goal for older teenagers 

will require DSS staff to continue trying to find a biological 

family member or an adoptive placement for those youths but 

may also limit the youth's ability to affect their own living 

arrangements. That is, older teens who may not want to form 

ties with biological family members that DSS may find or 

who may prefer to focus on living independently as part of 

their own life goals rather than being adopted may have their 

preferences minimized or ignored because LDSSs are now 

mandated to continue trying to place these teenagers in a 

home that meets the criteria for permanency goals. Current 

regulation allows kinship foster care but does not give that 

foster care placement precedence over approved permanency 

goals, like adoption, that are theoretically considered to be 

more beneficial to the child in care. Because of a legislative 

change, the Board now proposes to specify that children who 

have been under the care of a relative in kinship foster care 

for six months continuously may not be removed from that 

placement without the consent of the relative caregiver unless 

a court orders removal. This change may benefit the children 

in such care as they will be allowed to stay in a placement 

that provides both safety and continuing family ties. Parents 

of children in foster care may not benefit, however, from this 

proposed change as they would need either the consent of the 

family member who has care of their child or children or 

would need court intervention to be reunited if it takes longer 

than six months for them to complete all actions that a 

reunion is conditioned upon. Current regulation does not have 

provision for parental rights to be restored once they are 

severed because reuniting the family is no longer a realistic 

goal for a child who has been taken into foster care. Pursuant 

to a 2014 change in state law, the Board proposes to allow 

restoration of parental rights of parents who have had their 

rights severed at least two years previous to the restoration 

petition and whose children are either over the age of 14, or 

are younger siblings of a child over the age of 14 who is the 

subject to a restoration petition if the child's permanency goal 

was not achieved or sustained. This change will benefit 

children who are not thriving in foster care and whose parents 

may have belatedly gotten their lives together enough to 

finally care for those children. Until recently, LDSS staff had 

the responsibility for both placing children into adoptive 

homes and negotiating the size of adoption assistance 

subsidies with adoptive parents (and sometimes adoptive 

parents' lawyers). To minimize this conflict of interest, the 

Board has moved the responsibility of negotiating these 

subsidies using standardized criteria to the state Department 

of Social Services. Board staff reports that this change will 

likely save the state some money although the magnitude of 

cost savings is not yet known. Some adoptive parents who 

will negotiate subsidies in the future may not benefit from 

this change as their adoption subsidies will be lower under 

new rules than they would have been under local negotiation 

rules. Current regulation requires LDSS staff to collaborate 

with local educational agencies to decide if a child entering 

foster care will stay in the school district their family lives in 

or be moved to the school district that contains their foster 

care home (if the two are different). The Board proposes 

going forward to require LDSSs to consult not only with the 

involved school divisions but also the child's prior custodians 

(likely their parent or parents), foster care providers, and 

other involved adults before deciding where the child in foster 

care will go to school. This change may increase 

transportation costs incurred by LDSSs if more decisions are 

made that keep children in schools that do not provide bus 

service to those children's foster homes. Currently, LDSSs 

have 60 days after a child is taken into foster care to submit a 

foster care plan to the court, and the court has 75 days after a 

child is taken into foster care to approve that plan (15 days 

beyond the LDSSs window). Pursuant to a 2013 legislative 

change, the Board now proposes to change these timelines so 
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that LDSSs have 45 days to submit a foster care plan to the 

court and the court has only 15 days beyond that 45-day 

window to approve that plan. This change will benefit foster 

children as they will have a plan in place to guide their care at 

least 15 days sooner than they currently do. Board staff 

reports that LDSSs will not incur any additional costs for 

complying with these shortened timelines.  

Businesses and Entities Affected: This proposed regulation 

will affect all LDSSs, the children in their care or placed 

through them, and the parents and other involved relatives.  

Localities Particularly Affected: No localities will be 

particularly or affected by these regulatory changes.  

Projected Impact on Employment: This proposed regulation 

will likely not affect employment in the Commonwealth.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property: This 

proposed regulation will likely not affect the use or value of 

private property in the Commonwealth.  

Real Estate Development Costs: The proposed changes will 

likely not affect real estate development costs.  

Small Businesses. Definition: Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of 

the Code of Virginia, small business is defined as "a business 

entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time 

employees or has gross annual sales of less than $6 million."  

Costs and Other Effects: No small businesses will incur costs 

on account of these proposed regulatory changes. All affected 

entities are either public governmental agencies or private 

individuals.  

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact: No 

small businesses will incur costs on account of these 

proposed regulatory changes. All affected entities are either 

public governmental agencies or private individuals.  

Adverse Impacts. Businesses: The proposed changes are 

unlikely to adversely impact any business in the 

Commonwealth.  

Localities: LDSSs will likely incur some additional court 

related costs on account of with rule changes that allow 

restoration of parental rights for parents of foster kids at least 

14 years old and rule changes that make it harder to remove 

children from a kinship foster care placement after six 

months. LDSSs may also incur additional costs for funding 

independent living services for youths over the age of 18 who 

were in foster care before being committed to DJJ and for 

additional transportation costs associated with transporting 

foster children to school.  

Other Entities: The proposed change to kinship foster care 

rules may adversely affect parents whose children are in long-

term kinship foster care as it may decrease the chance they 

will be reunited with their children if the relative the children 

live with objects. The proposed change that limits older 

teenage foster kids from having a permanency goal of 

independent living may decrease the control that those 

teenagers have over where, and with whom, they end up 

living.  

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Social Services concurs with the economic 

impact analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and 

Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) as required by state and 

federal law, allow independent living services to be 

extended to youths older than 18 years of age who are 

being released from Department of Juvenile Justice 

custody, so long as those youths were in foster care before 

they were incarcerated and remove the permanency goal of 

independent living except for juvenile refugees, youths 

leaving foster care who are at least 18 years old, and 

youths at least 18 years of age who are leaving Juvenile 

Correctional Center custody; (ii) limit when a foster child 

can be removed from kinship foster care without the 

consent of the relative foster parent; (iii) allow the 

restoration of parental rights for the parents, whose rights 

had been terminated, of older foster care children; (iv) 

mandate that the state Department of Social Services 

negotiate adoption assistance subsidies; (v) set the process 

by which named parties will decide which school district a 

foster child will attend; and (vi) reduce the timeframe for 

submitting a foster care plan to the courts and the 

timeframe for the courts to approve that plan. 

22VAC40-201-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this regulation 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Administrative panel review" means a review of a child in 

foster care that the local board conducts on a planned basis, 

and that is open to the participation of the birth parents or 

prior custodians and other individuals significant to the child 

and family, pursuant to § 63.2-907 of the Code of Virginia to 

evaluate the current status and effectiveness of the objectives 

in the service plan and the services being provided for the 

immediate care of the child and the plan to achieve a 

permanent home for the child. The administrative review may 

be attended by the birth parents or prior custodians and other 

interested individuals significant to the child and family, as 

appropriate.  

"Adoption" means a legal process that entitles the person 

being adopted to all of the rights and privileges, and subjects 

the person to all of the obligations of a birth child. 

"Adoption assistance" means a money payment or services 

provided to adoptive parents or other persons on behalf of a 

child with special needs who meets federal or state 

requirements to receive such payments.  

"Adoption assistance agreement" means a written agreement 

between the child-placing agency local board and the 

adoptive parents of a child with special needs, to provide for 
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the unmet financial and service needs of or in cases in which 

the child is in the custody of a licensed child-placing agency, 

an agreement between the local board, the licensed child-

placing agency, and the adoptive parents that sets out the 

payments and services that will be provided to benefit the 

child in accordance with Chapter 13 (§ 63.2-1300 et seq.) of 

Title 63.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Adoption Manual" means Volume VII, Section III, Chapter 

C - Adoption/Agency Placement of the Service Program 

Manual of the Virginia Department of Social Services dated 

October 2009/March 2010.  

"Adoption Progress Report" means a report filed with the 

juvenile court on the progress being made to place the child in 

an adoptive home. Section 16.1-283 of the Code of Virginia 

requires that an Adoption Progress Report be submitted to the 

juvenile court every six months following termination of 

parental rights until the adoption is final. 

"Adoption search" means interviews and written or 

telephone inquiries made by a local department to locate and 

advise the biological parents or siblings of an adult adoptee's 

request, by Application for Disclosure or petition to the court, 

for identifying information from a closed adoption record. 

"Adoptive home" means any family home selected and 

approved by a parent, local board or a licensed child-placing 

agency for the placement of a child with the intent of 

adoption.  

"Adoptive home study" means an assessment of a family 

completed by a child-placing agency to determine the family's 

suitability for adoption. The adoptive home study is included 

in the dual approval process. 

"Adoptive parent" means any provider selected and 

approved by a parent or a child-placing agency for the 

placement of a child with the intent of adoption. 

"Adoptive placement" means arranging for the care of a 

child who is in the custody of a child-placing agency in an 

approved home for the purpose of adoption.  

"Adult adoption" means the adoption of any person 18 years 

of age or older, carried out in accordance with § 63.2-1243 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

"Agency placement adoption" means an adoption in which a 

child is placed in an adoptive home by a child-placing agency 

that has custody of the child.  

"AREVA" means the Adoption Resource Exchange of 

Virginia that maintains a registry and photo-listing of children 

waiting for adoption and families seeking to adopt.  

"Assessment" means an evaluation of the situation of the 

child and family to identify strengths and services needed. 

"Birth family" means the child's biological family.  

"Birth parent" means the child's biological parent and for 

purposes of adoptive placement means a parent by previous 

adoption.  

"Birth sibling" means the child's biological sibling. 

"Board" means the State Board of Social Services.  

"Child" means any natural person under 18 years of age.  

"Child-placing agency" means any person who places 

children in foster homes, adoptive homes, or independent 

living arrangements pursuant to § 63.2-1819 of the Code of 

Virginia or a local board that places children in foster homes 

or adoptive homes pursuant to §§ 63.2-900, 63.2-903, and 

63.2-1221 of the Code of Virginia. Officers, employees, or 

agents of the Commonwealth, or any locality acting within 

the scope of their authority as such, who serve as or maintain 

a child-placing agency, shall not be required to be licensed. 

"Child with special needs" as it relates to adoption assistance 

means a child who meets the definition of a child with special 

needs set forth in §§ 63.2-1300 and 63.2-1301 B of the Code 

of Virginia. 

"Close relative" means a grandparent, great-grandparent, 

adult nephew or niece, adult brother or sister, adult uncle or 

aunt, or adult great uncle or great aunt.  

"Commissioner" means the commissioner of the department, 

his designee, or his authorized representative. 

"Community Policy and Management Team (CPMT)" or 

"CPMT" means a team appointed by the local governing body 

to receive funds pursuant to Chapter 52 (§ 2.2-5200 et seq.) 

of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. The powers and duties of 

the CPMT are set out in § 2.2-5206 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Comprehensive Services Act for At-Risk Youth and 

Families (CSA)" or "CSA" means a collaborative system of 

services and funding that is child centered, family focused, 

and community based when addressing the strengths and 

needs of troubled and at-risk youth and their families in the 

Commonwealth. 

"Concurrent permanency planning" means a sequential, 

structured approach to case management which requires 

working towards a permanency goal (usually reunification) 

while at the same time establishing and working towards an 

alternative permanency plan utilizing a structured case 

management approach in which reasonable efforts are made 

to achieve a permanency goal, usually reunification with the 

family, simultaneously with an established alternative 

permanent plan for the child. 

"Custody investigation" means a method to gather 

information related to the parents and a child whose custody, 

visitation, or support is in controversy or requires 

determination. 

"Department" means the State state Department of Social 

Services.  

"Dual approval process" "Dually approved" means a process 

that includes a home study, mutual selection, interviews, 

training, and background checks to be completed on all 

applicants being considered for approval have met the 

required standards to be approved as a resource, foster or and 

adoptive family home provider.  
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"Entrustment agreement" means an agreement that the local 

board enters into with the parent, parents, or guardian to place 

the child in foster care either to terminate parental rights or 

for the temporary care and placement of the child. The 

agreement specifies the conditions for care of the child. 

"Family Assessment and Planning Team (FAPT)" or 

"FAPT" means the local team created by the CPMT (i) to 

assess the strengths and needs of troubled youths and families 

who are approved for referral to the team and (ii) to identify 

and determine the complement of services required to meet 

their unique needs. The powers and duties of the FAPT are 

set out in § 2.2-5208 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Foster care" means 24-hour substitute care for children in 

the custody of the local board or who remain in the custody of 

their parents, but are placed away from their parents or 

guardians and for whom the local board has placement and 

care responsibility through a noncustodial agreement. Foster 

care also includes children under the placement and care of 

the local board who have not been removed from their home.  

"Foster care maintenance payments" means payments to 

cover federally allowable those expenses made on behalf of a 

child in foster care including the cost of, and the cost of 

providing, food, clothing, shelter, daily supervision, school 

supplies, a child's incidentals, reasonable travel for the child 

to visit relatives to the child's home for visitation, and 

reasonable travel to remain in his previous in the school in 

which the child is enrolled at the time of the placement, and 

other allowable expenses in accordance with guidance 

developed by the department. The term also includes costs for 

children in institutional care and costs related to the child of a 

child in foster care as set out in 42 USC § 675. 

"Foster Care Manual" means Chapter E - Foster Care of the 

Child and Family Services Manual of the Virginia 

Department of Social Services dated July 2011.  

"Foster care placement" means placement of a child through 

(i) an agreement between the parents or guardians and the 

local board or the public agency designated by the CPMT 

where legal custody remains with the parents or guardians, or 

(ii) an entrustment or commitment of the child to the local 

board or licensed child-placing agency. 

"Foster care plan" means a written document filed with the 

court in accordance with § 16.1-281 of the Code of Virginia 

that describes the programs, care, services, and other support 

that will be offered to the child and his parents and other prior 

custodians. The foster care plan defined in this definition is 

the case plan referenced in 42 USC § 675. 

"Foster care prevention" means the provision of services to a 

child and family to prevent the need for foster care placement. 

"Foster care services" means the provision of a full range of 

prevention, placement casework, treatment, and community 

services, including but not limited to independent living 

services, for a planned period of time to a child meeting the 

requirements as set forth in § 63.2-905 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"Foster child" means a child for whom the local board has 

assumed placement and care responsibilities through a 

noncustodial foster care agreement, entrustment, or court 

commitment before 18 years of age.  

"Foster home" means the place of residence of any natural 

person in which any child, other than a child by birth or 

adoption of such person, resides as a member of the 

household.  

"Foster parent" means an approved provider who gives 24-

hour substitute family care, room and board, and services for 

children or youth committed or entrusted to a child-placing 

agency. 

"Independent living arrangement" means placement of a 

child at least 16 years of age who is in the custody of a local 

board or licensed child-placing agency and has been placed 

by the local board or licensed child-placing agency in a living 

arrangement in which he does not have daily substitute 

parental supervision.  

"Independent living services" means services and activities 

provided to a child in foster care 14 years of age or older who 

was committed or entrusted to a local board of social services, 

child welfare agency, or private child-placing agency. 

Independent living services may also mean services and 

activities provided to a person who (i) was in foster care on 

his 18th birthday and has not yet reached the age of 21 years 

or (ii) is at least 18 years of age and who, immediately prior 

to his commitment to the Department of Juvenile Justice, was 

in the custody of a local department of social services. Such 

services shall include counseling, education, housing, 

employment, and money management skills development, 

access to essential documents, and other appropriate services 

to help children or persons prepare for self-sufficiency.  

"Individual Family Service Plan (IFSP)" or "IFSP" means 

the plan for services developed by the FAPT in accordance 

with § 2.2-5208 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Intercountry placement" means the arrangement for the 

care of a child in an adoptive home or foster care placement 

into or out of the Commonwealth by a licensed child-placing 

agency, court, or other entity authorized to make such 

placements in accordance with the laws of the foreign country 

under which it operates.  

"Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children (ICPC)" 

or "ICPC" means a uniform law that has been enacted by all 

50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. 

Virgin Islands which establishes orderly procedures for the 

interstate placement of children and sets responsibility for 

those involved in placing those children.  

"Interstate placement" means the arrangement for the care of 

a child in an adoptive home, foster care placement, or in the 

home of the child's parent or with a relative or nonagency 

guardian, into or out of the Commonwealth, by a child-
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placing agency or court when the full legal right of the child's 

parent or nonagency guardian to plan for the child has been 

voluntarily terminated or limited or severed by the action of 

any court.  

"Investigation" means the process by which the local 

department child-placing agency obtains information required 

by § 63.2-1208 of the Code of Virginia about the placement 

and the suitability of the adoption. The findings of the 

investigation are compiled into a written report for the circuit 

court containing a recommendation on the action to be taken 

by the court. 

"Local department" means the local department of social 

services of any county or city in the Commonwealth. 

"Nonagency placement adoption" means an adoption in 

which the child is not in the custody of a child-placing agency 

and is placed in the adoptive home directly by the birth parent 

or legal guardian.  

"Noncustodial foster care agreement" means an agreement 

that the local department enters into with the parent or 

guardian of a child to place the child in foster care when the 

parent or guardian retains custody of the child. The agreement 

specifies the conditions for placement and care of the child. 

"Nonrecurring expenses" means expenses of adoptive 

parents directly related to the adoption of a child with special 

needs including, but not limited to, attorney or other fees 

directly related to the finalization of the adoption; 

transportation; court costs; and reasonable and necessary fees 

of licensed child-placing agencies as set out in § 63.2-1301 D 

of the Code of Virginia.  

"Parental placement" means locating or effecting the 

placement of a child or the placing of a child in a family 

home by the child's parent or legal guardian for the purpose 

of foster care or adoption.  

"Permanency" means establishing family connections and 

placement options for a child to provide a lifetime of 

commitment, continuity of care, a sense of belonging, and a 

legal and social status that go beyond a child's temporary 

foster care placements. 

"Permanency planning" means a social work practice 

philosophy that promotes establishing a permanent living 

situation for every child with an adult with whom the child 

has a continuous, reciprocal relationship within a minimum 

amount of time after the child enters the foster care system. 

"Permanency planning indicator (PPI)" means a tool used in 

concurrent permanency planning to assess the likelihood of 

reunification. This tool assists the worker in determining if a 

child should be placed with a resource family and if a 

concurrent goal should be established. 

"Prior custodian" means the person who had custody of the 

child and with whom the child resided, other than the birth 

parent, before custody was transferred to or placement made 

with the child-placing agency when that person had custody 

of the child. 

"Putative Father Registry" means a confidential database 

designed to protect the rights of a putative father who wants 

to be notified in the event of a proceeding related to 

termination of parental rights or adoption for a child he may 

have fathered.  

"Residential placement" means a placement in a licensed 

publicly or privately owned facility, other than a private 

family home, where 24-hour care is provided to children 

separated from their families. A residential placement 

includes placements in children's residential facilities as 

defined in § 63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Resource parent" means a provider who has completed the 

dual approval process and has been approved as both a foster 

and adoptive family home provider. 

"Reunification" means the return of the child to his home 

after removal for reasons of child abuse and neglect, 

abandonment, child in need of services, parental request for 

relief of custody, noncustodial agreement, entrustment, or any 

other court-ordered removal. 

"Service plan" means a written document that describes the 

programs, care, services, and other support which will be 

offered to the child and his parents and other prior custodians 

pursuant to § 16.1-281 of the Code of Virginia, 

"Service worker" means a worker responsible for case 

management or service coordination for prevention, foster 

care, or adoption cases. 

"SSI" means Supplemental Security Income.  

"State pool fund funds" means the pooled state and local 

funds administered by CSA and used to pay for services 

authorized by the CPMT. 

"Step-parent adoption" means the adoption of a child by a 

spouse; of a birth or adoptive parent or the adoption of a child 

by a former spouse of the birth or adoptive parent in 

accordance with § 63.2-1201.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Title IV-E" means the title of the Social Security Act that 

authorizes federal funds for foster care and adoption 

assistance. 

"Visitation and report" means the visitation visits conducted 

pursuant to § 63.2-1212 of the Code of Virginia subsequent to 

the entry of an interlocutory order of adoption and the written 

report compiling of the findings made in the course of the 

visitation which. The report is filed in the circuit court in 

accordance with § 63.2-1212 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Wrap around services" means an individually designed set 

of services and supports provided to a child and his family 

that includes treatment services, personal support services or 

any other supports necessary to achieve the desired outcome. 

Wrap around services are developed through a team 

approach. 

"Youth" means any child in foster care between 16 and 18 

years of age or any person 18 to 21 years of age transitioning 

out of foster care and receiving independent living services 
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pursuant to § 63.2-905.1 of the Code of Virginia. "Youth" 

may also mean an individual older than the age of 16 years 

who is the subject of an adoption assistance agreement. 

22VAC40-201-20. Foster care prevention services. 

A. The local department shall first make reasonable efforts 

to keep the child in his home. 

B. The local department shall make diligent efforts to locate 

and assess relatives or other alternative caregivers to support 

the child remaining in his home or as placement options if the 

child cannot safely remain in his home.  

C. Foster care services, The local department shall provide 

services pursuant to § 63.2-905 of the Code of Virginia, shall 

be available to the child and birth parents or custodians to 

prevent the need for foster care placement when the child is 

abused and neglected as defined in § 63.2-100 of the Code of 

Virginia or has been found to be a child in need of services as 

defined in § 16.1-228 of the Code of Virginia or as 

determined by the family assessment and planning team.  

D. Any services available to a child in foster care shall also 

be available to a child and his birth parents or custodians to 

prevent foster care placement and shall be based on an 

assessment of the child's and birth parents' or custodians' 

needs.  

E. Any service Appropriate services shall be provided to 

prevent foster care placement or to stabilize the family 

situation provided the need for the service is documented in 

the local department's service written plan or in the IFSP used 

in conjunction with accessing CSA funds. 

F. Children at imminent risk of entry into foster care shall be 

evaluated by the local department as reasonable candidates 

for foster care based on federal and state guidelines 

regulations, 45 CFR 1356.60(c). 

G. The local department shall consider a develop a written 

plan for the implementation of wrap around plan of care 

services prior to removing a child from his home and. As long 

as the risk of removal from the home continues, services shall 

be provided to address identified needs. In the event that the 

child can no longer be safely maintained in the home, the 

local department shall document why the support and services 

considered and the reasons such support and services 

provided were not sufficient to maintain the child in his 

home. 

H. Within 30 days after Prior to removing the child from the 

custody of his parents, the local department shall make 

diligent efforts, in accordance with the Foster Care Manual to 

notify in writing all adult relatives that the child is being 

removed or has been removed or is likely to be removed and 

explain the options to relatives to participate in the care and 

placement of the child including eligibility as a kinship foster 

parent and the services and supports that may be available for 

children placed in such a home.  

22VAC40-201-30. Entering foster care. 

A. A child enters foster care through a court commitment, 

entrustment agreement, or noncustodial foster care 

agreement. Foster care children who have been committed to 

the Department of Juvenile Justice (DJJ) shall re-enter foster 

care at the completion of the DJJ commitment if under the 

age of 18.  

B. The entrustment agreement shall specify the rights and 

obligations of the child, the birth parent or custodian, and the 

child-placing agency local department. Entrustments shall not 

be used for educational purposes, to make the child eligible 

for Medicaid, or to obtain mental health treatment.  

1. Temporary entrustment Entrustment agreements that are 

not for the termination of parental rights may be revoked 

by the birth parent or custodian or child-placing agency 

local board prior to the court's approval of the agreement. 

2. Permanent entrustment Entrustment agreements that 

terminate parental rights shall only be entered into when 

the birth parent and the child-placing agency local board, 

after counseling about alternatives to permanent 

relinquishment, agree that voluntary relinquishment of 

parental rights and placement of the child for adoption are 

in the child's best interests. When a child-placing agency 

local board enters into a permanent entrustment agreement, 

the child-placing agency shall make diligent efforts to 

ensure the timely finalization of the adoption. 

3. Local departments shall submit Submission of a petition 

for approval of the entrustment agreement to the juvenile 

and domestic relations court pursuant to § 63.2-903 shall 

be in accordance with § 16.1-277.01 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

C. A child may be placed in foster care by a birth parent or 

custodian entering into a noncustodial foster care agreement 

with the local department where the birth parent or custodian 

retains legal custody and the local department assumes 

placement and care of the child. 

1. A noncustodial foster care agreement shall be signed by 

the local department and the birth parent or custodian and 

shall address (i) the conditions for care and control of the 

child; and (ii) the rights and obligations of the child, birth 

parent or custodian, and the local department. Local 

departments shall enter into a noncustodial foster care 

agreement at the request of the birth parent or custodian 

when such an agreement is in the best interest of the child. 

When a noncustodial foster care agreement is executed, the 

permanency goal shall be reunification and continuation of 

the agreement is subject to the cooperation of the birth 

parent or custodian and child.  

2. The plan for foster care placement through a 

noncustodial foster care agreement shall be submitted to 

the court for approval within 60 45 days of the child's entry 

into foster care. Submission of a petition for approval of a 

noncustodial agreement to the juvenile and domestic 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 7 Virginia Register of Regulations November 30, 2015 

1301 

relations court shall be made in accordance with § 16.1-

281 of the Code of Virginia. 

3. When a child is placed in foster care through a 

noncustodial foster care agreement, all foster care 

requirements shall be met. 

22VAC40-201-35. Reentry into foster care from 

commitment. 

A. In the event the youth was in the custody of the local 

board immediately prior to his commitment to the 

Department of Juvenile Justice (DJJ) and has not attained the 

age of 18 years, the local board shall resume custody upon the 

youth's release from commitment, unless an alternative 

arrangement for the custody of the youth has been made and 

communicated in writing to DJJ. At least 90 days prior to the 

youth's release from commitment on parole supervision the 

local department shall consult with the court service unit on 

the youth's return to the locality and collaborate to develop a 

foster care plan that prepares the youth for successful 

transition back to the custody of the local department or to an 

alternative custody arrangement, if applicable. The plan shall 

identify services necessary for the transition and how the 

services are to be provided.  

B. The foster care plan shall be submitted to the court for 

approval within 45 days of the youth's reentry into foster care. 

Submission of a petition for approval of the foster care plan 

to the juvenile and domestic relations district court shall be 

made in accordance with § 16.1-281 of the Code of Virginia. 

22VAC40-201-40. Foster care placements. 

A. Within 30 days of the child being placed in the custody 

of the local board, the local department shall exercise due 

diligence to notify in writing all adult relatives that the child 

has been removed and explain the options to relatives to 

participate in the care and placement of the child including 

eligibility as a kinship foster parent and the services and 

supports that may be available for children placed in such a 

home.  

B. The local department shall ensure a child in foster care is 

placed in a licensed or an approved home or licensed facility 

that complies with all applicable federal and state 

requirements for safety. Placements shall be made subject to 

the requirements of § 63.2-901.1 of the Code of Virginia. The 

following requirements shall be met when placing a child in a 

licensed or an approved home or licensed facility: 

1. The local department shall make diligent efforts exercise 

due diligence to locate and assess relatives as a foster home 

placement for the child, including in emergency situations.  

2. The local department shall place the child in the least 

restrictive, most family like setting consistent with the best 

interests and needs of the child. 

3. The local department shall attempt to place the child in 

as close proximity as possible to the birth parent's or prior 

custodian's home to facilitate visitation, provide continuity 

of connections, and provide educational stability for the 

child. 

4. The local department shall make diligent efforts take 

reasonable steps to place the child with siblings unless 

such a joint placement would be contrary to the safety or 

well-being of the child or siblings. 

5. The local department shall, when appropriate, consider 

placement with a resource parent in a dually approved 

home so that if reunification fails, the placement is the best 

available placement to provide permanency through 

adoption for the child. 

6. The local department shall not delay or deny placement 

of a child into a foster family placement on the basis of 

race, color, or national origin of the foster or resource 

parent or child.  

7. When a child being placed in foster care is of native 

American, Alaskan Eskimo, or Aleut heritage and is a 

member of a nationally recognized tribe, the local 

department shall follow all federal laws, regulations, and 

policies regarding the referral of a the child of native 

American heritage. The local department may contact the 

Virginia Council on Indians Department of Historic 

Resources for information on contacting Virginia tribes 

and shall consider tribal culture and connections in the 

placement and care of a child of Virginia Indian heritage. 

8. If a child is placed in a kinship foster placement 

pursuant to § 63.2-900.1 of the Code of Virginia, the child 

shall not be removed from the physical custody of the 

kinship foster parent, provided the child has been living 

with the kinship foster parent for six consecutive months 

and the placement continues to meet approval standards for 

foster care, unless (i) the kinship foster parent consents to 

the removal; (ii) removal is agreed upon at a family 

partnership meeting; (iii) removal is ordered by a court of 

competent jurisdiction; or (iv) removal is warranted 

pursuant to § 63.2-1517 of the Code of Virginia.  

B. C. A service worker shall make a preplacement visit to 

any out-of-home placement to observe the environment where 

the child will be living and ensure that the placement is safe 

and capable of meeting the needs of the child. The 

preplacement visit shall precede the placement date except in 

cases of emergency. In cases of emergency, the visit shall 

occur on the same day as the placement.  

C. D. Foster, or adoptive, or resource family homes shall 

meet standards established by the board and shall be approved 

by child-placing agencies. Group homes and residential 

facilities shall be licensed by the appropriate licensing 

agency. Local departments shall verify the licensure status of 

the facility prior to placement of the child Prior to the 

placement of a child in a licensed child-placing agency 

(LCPA) foster home, the local department shall verify that the 

LCPA approved the foster home. Prior to the placement of a 

child in a children's residential facility, the local department 
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shall verify that the facility is licensed to operate by the 

appropriate state regulatory authority.  

D. E. Local departments shall receive notice of the approval 

by the receiving state from the department's office of the 

ICPC prior to placing a child out of state. 

E. F. When a child is to be placed in a home in the local 

department is considering placement of a child in a foster or 

adoptive home approved by another local department's 

jurisdiction department within Virginia, the local department 

intending to place the child shall notify the local department 

that approved the home that the home is being considered for 

the child's placement. The local department shall also verify 

that the home is still approved and shall consult with the 

approving local department about placement of the child.  

F. G. When a child is moving with a foster, or adoptive, or 

resource family is moving from one jurisdiction to another, 

the local department holding custody shall notify the local 

department in the jurisdiction to which the foster, or adoptive, 

or resource family is moving. 

G. H. When a child moves with a foster, or adoptive, or 

resource family from one jurisdiction to another in Virginia, 

the local department holding custody shall continue 

supervision of the child unless supervision is transferred to 

the other local department. 

H. I. A local department may petition the court to transfer 

custody of a child to another local department when the birth 

parent or prior custodian has moved to that locality.  

I. J. In planned placement changes or relocation of foster 

parents, birth parents with residual parental rights or prior 

custodians and all other relevant parties shall be notified that 

a placement change or move is being considered if such 

notification is in the best interest of the child. The birth parent 

or prior custodian shall be involved in the decision-making 

process regarding the placement change prior to a final 

decision being made. 1. The service worker shall consider the 

child's best interest and safety needs when involving the birth 

parent or prior custodian and all other relevant parties in the 

decision-making process regarding placement change or 

notification of the new placement.  

2. K. In the case of an where an emergency situation 

requires an immediate placement change, the birth parent 

with residual parental rights or prior custodian and all other 

relevant parties shall be notified immediately of the 

placement change. The child-placing agency local department 

shall inform the birth parent or prior custodian why the 

placement change occurred and why the birth parent or prior 

custodian and all other relevant parties could not be involved 

in the decision-making process.  

22VAC40-201-50. Initial foster care placement activities. 

A. Information on every child in foster care shall be entered 

into the department's automated child welfare system in 

accordance with guidance in the initial placement activities 

section of the Foster Care Manual. 

B. The local department shall assess the child for Title IV-E 

eligibility. The local department shall also refer the child for 

all financial benefits to which the child may be eligible, 

including but not limited to Child Support, Title IV-E, SSI, 

other governmental benefits, and private resources. 

C. The service worker shall ensure that the child receives a 

medical examination no later than 30 days after initial 

placement. The child shall be provided a medical evaluation 

within 72 hours of initial placement if conditions indicate 

such an evaluation is necessary. Dental appointments shall be 

scheduled every six months as age appropriate, and physicals 

shall be scheduled at regular intervals.  

D. The In accordance with § 22.1-3.4 of the Code of 

Virginia, the local department shall collaborate with the 

appropriate local educational agencies school division to 

ensure that the child remains in his previous school placement 

when it is a joint determination that it is in the best interests 

of the child. If remaining in the same school is not in the best 

interests of the child, the service worker shall enroll the child 

in an appropriate new school as soon as possible but no more 

than 72 hours after placement.  

1. The child's desire to remain in his previous school 

setting shall be considered in making the decision about 

which school the child shall attend..  

2. The service worker, in cooperation with the birth parents 

or prior custodians, foster care providers, and other 

involved adults, shall coordinate the school placement.  

3. If remaining in the same school is jointly determined to 

be in the best interests of the child, the local department 

shall arrange for transportation for the child to remain in 

that school unless the child requires specialized 

transportation documented in the Individualized Education 

Program (IEP) for the child, which is funded by the 

responsible school division. 

4. The local department shall document in writing the joint 

determination with the local school division of the child's 

best interest for school placement. 

5. If the joint determination process cannot be completed 

prior to the placement in the new residence, the child will 

remain in the same school until the best interest 

determination is completed. 

E. Within 72 hours of placing a school age child in a foster 

care placement, the local department making the placement 

shall give written notification to the principal of the school in 

which the child is to be enrolled and the superintendent of the 

relevant school division of the placement and notify the 

principal of the status of parental rights. 

22VAC40-201-60. Assessment. 

A. Assessments shall be conducted in a manner that 

respectfully involves children and birth parents or prior 

custodians to give them a say in what happens to them an 

opportunity for shared decision making. Decision making 

shall include input from children, youth, birth parents or prior 
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custodians, and other interested individuals. Assessments 

shall be used both in the establishment of foster care goals 

and also to inform service plans. 

B. The initial foster care assessment shall result in the 

selection of a specific permanency goal. In accordance with 

guidance in the assessment section of the Foster Care Manual, 

the local department shall complete the PPI during the initial 

foster care assessment to assist in determining if a concurrent 

goal should be selected. 

C. B. The initial foster care assessment shall be completed 

within time frames developed by the department but shall not 

exceed 30 calendar days after acceptance of the child in a 

foster care placement. 

1. C. When a child has been removed from his home as a 

result of abuse or neglect, the initial foster care assessment 

shall include a summary of the Child Protective Services' 

safety and risk assessments.  

2. D. The history and circumstances of the child, the birth 

parents or prior custodians, or other interested individuals 

shall be assessed at the time of the initial foster care 

assessment to determine their service needs. The initial foster 

care assessment shall: 

a. 1. Include a comprehensive social history; 

b. 2. Utilize assessment tools designated by the 

department;  

c. 3. Be entered into the department's automated child 

welfare system; and 

d. 4. Include a description of how the child, youth, birth 

parents or prior custodians, and other interested individuals 

were involved in the decision making process. 

D. The service worker shall refer the child; birth parents or 

prior custodians; and foster, adoptive or resource parents for 

appropriate services identified through the assessment. The 

assessment shall include an assessment of financial resources.  

E. Assessments of Assessment shall be ongoing and 

evaluate the effectiveness of services to the child;, birth 

parents or prior custodians;, and foster, or adoptive, or 

resource parents and the need for additional services shall 

occur at least every three months as long as the goal is to 

return home. For all other goals, assessments of the 

effectiveness and need for additional services shall occur at 

least every six months after placement for as long as the child 

remains in foster care. The assessments shall be completed in 

accordance with guidance in the assessment section of the 

Foster Care Manual. 

F. The service worker shall refer the child, birth parents or 

prior custodians, and foster or adoptive parents for 

appropriate services identified through the assessment. The 

assessment shall include an assessment of financial resources. 

22VAC40-201-70. Foster care goals. 

A. Foster care goals are established to assure permanency 

planning is achieved for the child. Priority shall be given to 

the goals listed in subdivisions 1, 2, and 3 of this subsection, 

which are recognized in federal legislation as providing 

children with permanency. The selection of goals other than 

those in subdivisions 1, 2, and 3 of this subsection must 

include documentation as to why each of these first three 

goals were not selected. Foster Permissible foster care goals 

are: 

1. Return Transfer custody to a parent or a prior custodian.; 

2. Transfer of custody of the child to a relative other than 

his prior family.; 

3. Adoption. Finalize adoption; 

4. Permanent Place the child in permanent foster care.; 

5. Independent Transition to independent living. if the 

child is admitted to the United States as a refugee or 

asylee; or 

6. Another Place the child in another planned permanent 

living arrangement in accordance with § 16.1-282.1 A 2 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

B. When the permanency goal is changed to adoption, the 

local department shall file petitions with the court 30 days 

prior to the hearing to:  

1. Approve the foster care service plan seeking to change 

the permanency goal to adoption; and  

2. Terminate parental rights. 

Upon termination of parental rights, the local department 

shall provide an array of adoption services to support 

obtaining a finalized adoption.  

C. The goal of permanent foster care shall only be 

considered for children age 14 and older in accordance with 

guidance in the section on choosing a goal in the Foster Care 

Manual. The local department shall engage in concurrent 

permanency planning in order to achieve timely permanency 

for the child. Permanency goals shall be considered and 

addressed from the beginning of placement and continuously 

evaluated. 

D. When the goal for the youth is to transition to 

independent living, the local department shall provide 

services pursuant to guidance in the section on choosing a 

goal in the Foster Care Manual.  

E. D. The goal of another planned permanent living 

arrangement may be chosen when the court has found that 

none of the alternative permanency goals are appropriate and 

the court has found the child to: 

1. Have The child has a severe and chronic emotional, 

physical, or neurological disabling condition; and 

2. Require The child requires long-term residential care for 

the condition.; and 

3. None of the alternatives listed in clauses (i) through (v) 

of § 16.1-282.1 A of the Code of Virginia is achievable for 

the child at the time placement in another planned 
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permanent living arrangement is approved as the 

permanent goal for the child.  

F. These permanency goals shall be considered and 

addressed from the beginning of placement and continuously 

evaluated. Although one goal may appear to be the primary 

goal, other goals shall be continuously explored and planned 

for as appropriate.  

E. If either the goal of permanent foster care or another 

planned permanent living arrangement is selected, the local 

department shall continue to search for relatives and 

significant individuals as permanent families throughout the 

child's involvement with the child welfare system. The local 

department shall continue to evaluate the best interest of the 

child and the changing circumstances of the child and 

extended family. 

F. The goal of independent living services shall only be 

selected for those children admitted to the United States as a 

refugee or asylee or those youth age 18 years leaving foster 

care and meeting the requirements to receive independent 

living services. For those youth with this goal, the service 

worker shall continue diligent efforts to search for a relative 

or other interested adult who will provide a permanent long-

term family relationship for the youth. 

22VAC40-201-80. Service Foster care plans. 

A. Every child in foster care longer than 45 days shall have 

a current service written foster care plan approved by the 

court within 60 days of entry into foster care. The service 

foster care plan shall specify the assessed permanency goal 

and when appropriate the concurrent permanency goal, and 

shall meet all requirements set forth in federal or state law. 

The In the development of the service foster care plan, the 

local department shall occur through shared decision-making 

between the local department; consider input from the child;, 

the birth parents or prior custodians;, the foster, or adoptive, 

or resource parents;, and any other interested individuals, who 

may include service providers. All of these partners persons 

shall be involved in sharing information for the purposes of 

well-informed decisions and planning for the child with a 

focus on safety and permanence. 

B. A service The foster care plan shall be written after the 

completion of a thorough the assessment. Service Foster care 

plans shall directly reference how the strengths identified in 

the foster care assessment will support the plan and the needs 

to be met to achieve the permanency goal, including the 

identified concurrent permanency goal, in a timely manner. 

C. A plan for visitation with the birth parents or prior 

custodians, and siblings, grandparents, or other interested 

individuals for all children in foster care shall be developed 

and presented to the court as part of the service foster care 

plan in accordance with § 63.2-900.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

A plan shall not be required if such visitation is not in the best 

interest of the child.  

22VAC40-201-90. Service delivery. 

A. Permanency planning services Services shall be provided 

to support the safety and well-being of the child. Services to 

children and birth parents or prior custodians shall be 

delivered as part of a total system with cooperation, 

coordination, and collaboration occurring among children and 

youth, birth parents or prior custodians, service providers, the 

legal community and other interested individuals continue 

until evidence indicates the services are either not effective to 

reach the child's goal or no longer necessary because the goal 

has been achieved, or the birth parent or prior custodian has 

refused services.  

B. Permanency planning for children and birth parents or 

prior custodians shall be an inclusive process providing 

timely notifications and full disclosure to the birth parents or 

prior custodians of the establishment of a concurrent 

permanency goal when indicated and the implications of 

concurrent permanency planning for the child and birth 

parents or prior custodians. Child-placing agencies Local 

departments shall also make timely notifications notify the 

birth parents or prior custodians concerning placement 

changes, hearings and meetings regarding the child, and 

assessments of needs and case progress, and responsiveness 

shall be responsive to the requests of the child and birth 

parents or prior custodians. 

C. Services to children and birth parents or prior custodians 

shall continue until an assessment indicates the services are 

no longer necessary. Services to achieve concurrent 

permanency goals shall be provided to support achievement 

of both permanency goals. 

D. C. In order to meet the child's permanency goals ensure 

that permanency is achieved for the child, services may be 

provided to extended family relatives or other interested 

individuals who are assessed to be potential permanency 

options for the child and may continue until an assessment 

indicates the services are no longer necessary. 

D. Developmental and medical examinations shall be 

provided for the child in foster care in accordance with the 

Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services' Early 

Periodic Screening Diagnosis and Treatment (EPSDT) 

schedule in the Virginia EPSDT Periodicity Chart. Dental 

examinations shall be provided for the child in accordance 

with the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry's 

Periodicity and Anticipatory Guidance Recommendations 

(Dental Health Guidelines-Ages 0-18 Years, 

Recommendations for Preventive Pediatric Dental Care 

(AAPD Reference Manual 2002-2003)) as determined by the 

Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services. As 

indicated through assessment, appropriate health care services 

shall include trauma, developmental, mental health, 

psychosocial, and substance abuse services and treatments. 

Local departments shall follow the protocols for appropriate 

and effective use of psychotropic medications for children in 

foster care disseminated by the department. 
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E. All children in foster care shall have a face-to-face 

contact with an approved case service worker at least once 

per calendar month regardless of the child's permanency goal 

or placement and in accordance with guidance in the service 

delivery section of the Foster Care Manual and the Adoption 

Manual. The majority More than 50% of each child's visits 

shall be in his place of residency. 

1. The purpose of the visits shall be to assess the child's 

progress, needs, adjustment to placement, and other 

significant information related to the health, safety, and 

well-being of the child.  

2. The visits shall be made by individuals who meet the 

department's requirements consistent with 42 USC 

§ 622(b).  

F. Supportive services to foster, adoptive, and resource 

parents shall be provided. 1. The local department shall enter 

into a placement agreement developed by the department with 

the foster, or adoptive, or resource parents. The As required 

by § 63.2-900 of the Code of Virginia, the placement 

agreement shall include, at a minimum, a code of ethics and 

mutual responsibilities for all parties to the agreement as 

required by § 63.2-900 of the Code of Virginia. 

1. Services to prevent placement disruptions shall be 

provided to the foster and adoptive parents. 

2. Foster, and adoptive, and resource parents who have 

children placed with them shall be contacted by a service 

worker as often as needed in accordance with 22VAC211-

100 22VAC40-211-100 to assess service needs and 

progress.  

3. Foster, and adoptive, and resource parents shall be given 

full factual information about the child, including but not 

limited to, circumstances that led to the child's removal, 

and complete educational, medical, and behavioral 

information. All information shall be kept confidential by 

the foster and adoptive parents.  

4. Foster, and adoptive, and resource parents shall be given 

appropriate sections of the foster care service plan. 

Information in the service plan that is prohibited from 

being released shall not be provided to the foster parent, in 

accordance with § 16.1-281 B and C of the Code of 

Virginia. 

5. If needed, services to stabilize the placement shall be 

provided.  

6. 5. Respite care for foster, and adoptive, and resource 

parents may be provided on an emergency or planned basis 

in accordance with criteria developed by the department.  

7. 6. The department shall make a contingency fund funds 

available to provide reimbursement to local departments' 

foster and resource parents for damages pursuant to § 63.2-

911 of the Code of Virginia and according to department 

guidance to property caused by children placed in the 

home. Provision of reimbursement is contingent upon the 

availability of funds.  

22VAC40-201-100. Providing independent living services. 

A. Independent living services shall be identified by the 

youth; foster, or adoptive or resource family; local 

department; service providers; legal community; and other 

interested individuals and shall be included in the service 

plan. Input from the youth in assembling these individuals 

and developing the services is required.  

B. Independent living services may shall be provided to all 

youth ages 14 to 18 years and may shall be provided until the 

youth reaches age 21 offered to any person between 18 and 

21 years of age who is in the process of transitioning from 

foster care to self-sufficiency. 

C. The child-placing agency local department may offer a 

program of independent living services that meets the youth's 

needs such as education, vocational training, employment, 

mental and physical health services, transportation, housing, 

financial support, daily living skills, counseling, and 

development of permanent connections with adults.  

D. Child-placing agencies Local departments shall assess the 

youth's independent living skills and needs in accordance 

with guidance in the service delivery section of the Foster 

Care Manual and incorporate the assessment results into the 

youth's service plan.  

E. A youth placed in foster care before the age of 18 years 

may continue to receive independent living services from the 

child-placing agency local department between the ages of 18 

and 21 years if: 

1. The youth is making progress in an educational or 

vocational program, has employment, or is in a treatment 

or training program; and 

2. The youth agrees to participate with the local department 

in (i) developing a service agreement and (ii) signing the 

service agreement. The service agreement shall require, at 

a minimum, that the youth's living arrangement shall be 

approved by the local department and that the youth shall 

cooperate with all services; or 

3. The youth is in permanent foster care and is making 

progress in an educational or vocational program, has 

employment, or is in a treatment or training program.  

F. A youth age 16 years and older is eligible to live in an 

independent living arrangement provided the child-placing 

agency local department utilizes the independent living 

arrangement placement criteria developed by the department 

to determine that such an arrangement is in the youth's best 

interest. An eligible youth may receive an independent living 

stipend to assist him with the costs of maintenance. The 

eligibility criteria for receiving an independent living stipend 

will be developed by the department. 

G. Any person who was committed or entrusted to a child-

placing agency local department and chooses to discontinue 

receiving independent living services after age 18 but prior to 

his 21st birthday years may request a resumption of 

independent living services in accordance with § 63.2-905.1 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 7 Virginia Register of Regulations November 30, 2015 

1306 

of the Code of Virginia provided that (i) the person has not 

yet reached 21 years of age and (ii) the person has entered 

into a written agreement, less than 60 days after independent 

living services have been discontinued, with the local board 

regarding the terms and conditions of his receipt of 

independent living services. Local departments shall provide 

any person who chooses to leave foster care or terminate 

independent living services before his 21st birthday written 

notice of his right to request restoration of independent living 

services in accordance with § 63.2-905.1 of the Code of 

Virginia by including such written notice in the person's 

transition plan. 

H. Child-placing agencies Local departments shall assist 

eligible youth in applying for educational and vocational 

financial assistance. Educational and vocational specific 

funding sources shall be used prior to using other sources. 

I. Local departments shall provide independent living 

services to any person between 18 and 21 years of age who: 

1. Was in the custody of the local board immediately prior 

to his commitment to the Department of Juvenile Justice; 

2. Is in the process of transitioning from a commitment to 

the Department of Juvenile Justice to self-sufficiency; and 

3. Provides written notice of his intent to receive 

independent living services and enters into a written 

agreement which sets forth the terms and conditions for the 

provision of independent living services with the local 

board within 60 days of his release from commitment. 

I. J. Every six months a supervisory review of service plans 

for youth receiving independent living services after age 18 

shall be conducted to assure the effectiveness of service 

provision.  

22VAC40-201-110. Court hearings and case reviews. 

A. For all court hearings, local departments shall:  

1. File petitions in accordance with the requirements for 

the type of hearing.  

2. Obtain and consider the child's input as to who should 

be included in the court hearing. If persons identified by 

the child will not be included in the court hearing, the 

child-placing agency service worker shall explain the 

reasons to the child for such a decision consistent with the 

child's developmental and psychological status. 

3. Inform the court of reasonable efforts made to achieve 

concurrent permanency goals in those cases where a 

concurrent goal has been identified. 

B. An administrative panel review shall be held six months 

after a permanency planning hearing when the goals goal of 

adoption, permanent foster care, or independent living have 

has been approved by the court unless the court requires more 

frequent hearings. A foster care review hearing will be held 

annually. The child will continue to have Administrative 

Panel Reviews administrative panel reviews or review 

hearings every six months until a final order of adoption is 

issued or the child reaches age 18 years. 

C. The local department shall invite the child; the birth 

parents or prior custodians when appropriate; and the child's 

foster, or adoptive, or resource parents;, placement providers;, 

guardian ad litem;, court appointed special advocate 

(CASA);, relatives; and other interested individuals service 

providers to participate in the administrative panel reviews. 

D. The local department shall consider all recommendations 

made during the administrative panel review in planning 

services for the child and birth parents or prior custodians and 

document the recommendations on the department approved 

form. All interested individuals Individuals who were invited, 

including those not in attendance, shall be given a copy of the 

results of the administrative panel review as documented on 

the department approved form. 

E. A supervisory review is required every six months for 

youth ages 18 to 21.  

F. When In accordance with § 16.1-242.1 of the Code of 

Virginia, when a case is on appeal for termination of parental 

rights, the juvenile and domestic relations district court 

retains jurisdiction on all matters not on appeal. The circuit 

court appeal hearing may substitute for a review hearing if the 

circuit court addresses the future status of the child.  

G. An adoption progress report shall be prepared every six 

months after a permanency planning hearing when the goal of 

adoption has been approved by the court. The adoption 

progress report shall be entered into the automated child 

welfare data system. The child will continue to have annual 

review hearings in addition to adoption progress reports until 

a final order of adoption is issued or the child reaches age 18 

years. 

H. If a child is in the custody of the local department and a 

preadoptive family has not been identified and approved for 

the child, the child's guardian ad litem or the local board of 

social services may file a petition to restore the previously 

terminated parental rights of the child’s parent in accordance 

with § 16.1-283.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

22VAC40-201-120. Funding. 

A. The local department is responsible for establishing a 

foster child's eligibility for federal, state, or other funding 

sources and making required payments from such sources. 

State pool funds shall be used Local departments shall seek 

state pool funds for a child's maintenance and service needs 

when other funding sources are not available. 

B. The assessment and provision of services to the child and 

birth parents or prior custodians shall be made without regard 

to the funding source.  

C. Local departments shall reimburse foster or resource 

parents for expenses paid by them on behalf of the foster 

child when the expenses are preauthorized or for expenses 

paid without preauthorization when the local department 

deems the expenses are appropriate. 
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D. C. The child's eligibility for Title IV-E funding shall be 

redetermined upon a change in situation and in accordance 

with federal Title IV-E eligibility requirements, the Title IV-E 

Eligibility Manual, October 2005, and the Adoption Manual. 

E. The service worker is responsible for providing the 

eligibility worker information required for the annual 

redetermination of Medicaid eligibility and information 

related to changes in the child's situation.  

22VAC40-201-130. Closing the foster care case. 

A. Foster care cases are closed or transferred to another 

service category under the following circumstances: 

1. When the foster care child turns 18 years of age;  

2. When the court releases the child from the local 

department's custody prior to the age of 18 years;  

3. When a voluntary placement agreement temporary 

entrustment or noncustodial agreement has expired, been 

revoked, or been terminated by the court; 

4. When the foster care child is committed to DJJ the 

Department of Juvenile Justice; or 

5. When the final order of adoption is issued.  

B. When the foster care case is closed for services, the case 

record shall be maintained according to the record retention 

schedules of established by the Library of Virginia.  

C. Any foster care youth who has reached age 18 years has 

the right to request information from his records in 

accordance with state law. 

22VAC40-201-140. Other foster care requirements. 

A. The director of a local department or his designee may 

grant approval for a child to travel out-of-state and out-of-

country. The approval must be in writing and maintained in 

the child's file. 

B. Pursuant to § 63.2-908 of the Code of Virginia, a foster 

or resource parent may consent to a marriage or entry into the 

military if the child has been placed with him through a 

permanent foster care agreement which that has been 

approved by the court. 

C. An employee of a local department, including a relative, 

cannot serve as a foster, adoptive, or resource licensed child-

placing agency parent for a child in the custody of that local 

department. The employee can be a foster, adoptive, or 

resource parent for another local department or licensed 

child-placing agency or In the event it is in the child's best 

interest that a local employee be the foster parent, the child's 

custody may be transferred to another local department. 

D. The child of a foster child remains the responsibility of 

his parent, unless custody has been removed by the court.  

1. The child is not subject to requirements for service 

foster care plans, reviews, or hearings. However, the needs 

and safety of the child shall be considered and documented 

in the service foster care plan for the foster child (parent).  

2. The child is eligible for maintenance payments, services, 

in accordance with 42 USC § 675(4)(B) and Medicaid, and 

child support services based on federal law and in 

accordance with guidance in the Foster Care Manual and 

the Adoption Manual in accordance with 42 USC § 672(h).  

E. When a child in foster care is committed to the 

Department of Juvenile Justice (DJJ), the local department no 

longer has custody or placement and care responsibility for 

the child. As long as the discharge or release plan for the 

child is to return to the local department prior to reaching age 

18 years, the local department shall maintain a connection 

with the child in accordance with guidance developed by the 

department.  

F. At least 90 days prior to a youth's release from 

commitment to the Department of Juvenile Justice, the local 

department shall: 

1. Consult with the court services unit concerning the 

youth's return to the locality; and 

2. Work collaboratively with the court services unit to 

develop a plan for the youth's successful transition back to 

the community, which will identify the services necessary 

to facilitate the transition and will describe how the 

services will be provided. 

22VAC40-201-150. Adoption Resource Exchange of 

Virginia. 

A. The Adoption Resource Exchange of Virginia (AREVA) 

is a service offered by the department that connects families 

with children who are available for adoption within the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. AREVA is one tool used to help 

local departments reach the federal goal of permanency 

within 24 months specified in § 471 of the Title IV-E of the 

Social Security Act (42 USC § 671) and the requirement of § 

16.1-283 F of the Code of Virginia to file reports to the court 

on progress towards adoption. The purpose of AREVA is to 

increase opportunities for children waiting to be adopted by 

providing services to child-placing agencies having custody 

of these children. The services provided by AREVA include, 

but are not limited to: 

1. Maintaining a registry of children awaiting adoption and 

a registry of approved parents waiting to adopt; 

2. Preparing and posting an electronic photo-listing of 

children with special needs awaiting adoption and a photo-

listing of parents awaiting placement of a child with 

special needs;  

3. Providing information and referral services for children 

who have special needs to link child-placing agencies with 

other adoption resources;  

4. Providing ongoing targeted and child-specific 

recruitment efforts for waiting children;  

5. Providing consultation and technical assistance on child-

specific recruitment to child-placing agencies for waiting 

children; and  
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6. Monitoring local departments' compliance with legal 

requirements, guidance, and policy on registering children 

and parents.  

B. For a child in foster care that has the foster care plan goal 

of adoption as specified in § 63.2-906 of the Code of Virginia 

and whose parental rights have been terminated, the child-

placing agency shall register the child with AREVA within 

60 days of termination of parental rights.  

C. Child-placing agencies shall comply with all of the 

AREVA requirements according to guidance in the Adoption 

Manual.  

22VAC40-201-160. Adoption assistance. (Repealed.) 

A. An adoption assistance agreement shall be executed by 

the child-placing agency for a child who has been determined 

eligible for adoption assistance. Local departments shall use 

the adoption assistance agreement form developed by the 

department.  

B. For a child to be eligible for adoption assistance he must 

have been determined to be a child with special needs as 

defined in 22VAC40-201-10 and meet the following criteria: 

1. Be under 18 years of age and meet the requirements set 

forth in § 473 of Title IV-E of the Social Security Act (42 

USC § 673); or  

2. Be under 18 years of age and in the placement and care 

of a child-placing agency at the time the petition for 

adoption is filed and be placed by the child-placing agency 

with the prospective adoptive parents for the purpose of 

adoption, except for those situations in which the child has 

resided for 18 months with the foster or resource parents 

who file a petition for adoption under § 63.2-1229 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

C. The types of adoption assistance for which a child may be 

eligible are:  

1. Title IV-E adoption assistance if the child meets federal 

eligibility requirements.  

2. State adoption assistance when the child's foster care 

expenses were paid from state pool funds or when the child 

has a conditional agreement and payments are not needed 

at the time of placement into an adoptive home but may be 

needed later and the child's foster care expenses were paid 

from state pool funds. A conditional adoption assistance 

agreement allows the adoptive parents to apply for state 

adoption assistance after the final order of adoption. A 

conditional  adoption assistance agreement shall not 

require annual certification. 

D. Adoption assistance payments shall be negotiated with 

the adoptive parents taking into consideration the needs of the 

child and the circumstances of the family. In considering the 

family's circumstances, income shall not be the sole factor. 

Family and community resources shall be explored to help 

defray the costs of adoption assistance  

E. Three types of payments may be made on behalf of a 

child who is eligible for adoption assistance:  

1. The adoptive parent shall be reimbursed, upon request, 

for the nonrecurring expenses of adopting a child with 

special needs. 

a. The total amount of reimbursement is based on actual 

costs and shall not exceed $2,000 per child per 

placement. 

b. Payment of nonrecurring expenses may begin as soon 

as the child is placed in the adoptive home and the 

adoption assistance agreement has been signed.  

c. Nonrecurring expenses include:  

(1) Attorney fees directly related to the finalization of the 

adoption; 

(2) Transportation and other expenses incurred by 

adoptive parents related to the placement of the child. 

Expenses may be paid for more than one visit;  

(3) Court costs related to filing an adoption petition;  

(4) Reasonable and necessary fees related to adoption 

charged by licensed child-placing agencies; and 

(5) Other expenses directly related to the finalization of 

the adoption.   

2. A maintenance payment shall be approved for a child 

who is eligible for adoption assistance unless the adoptive 

parent indicates or it is determined through negotiation that 

the payment is not needed. In these cases a conditional 

adoption assistance agreement may be entered into. The 

amount of maintenance payments made shall not exceed 

the foster care maintenance payment that would have been 

paid during the period if the child had been in a foster 

family home.  

a. The amount of the payment shall be negotiated with 

the adoptive parents taking into consideration the needs 

of the child and circumstances of the adoptive parents.  

b. The maintenance payments shall not be reduced below 

the amount specified in the adoption assistance 

agreement without the concurrence of the adoptive 

parents or a reduction mandated by the appropriation act.  

c. Increases in the amount of the maintenance payment 

shall be made when the child is receiving the maximum 

allowable foster care maintenance rate and:  

(1) The child reaches a higher age grouping, as specified 

in guidance for foster care maintenance rates; or 

(2) Statewide increases are approved for foster care 

maintenance rates.  

3. A special service payment is used to help meet the 

child's physical, mental, emotional, or nonroutine dental 

needs. The special service payment shall be directly related 

to the child's special needs. Special service payments shall 

be time limited based on the needs of the child.  
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a. Types of expenses that are appropriate to be paid are 

included in the Adoption Manual.  

b. A special service payment may be used for a child 

eligible for Medicaid to supplement expenses not 

covered by Medicaid.  

c. Payments for special services are negotiated with the 

adoptive parents taking into consideration:  

(1) The special needs of the child;  

(2) Alternative resources available to fully or partially 

defray the cost of meeting the child's special needs; and  

(3) The circumstances of the adoptive family. In 

considering the family's circumstances, income shall not 

be the sole factor.  

d. The rate of payment shall not exceed the prevailing 

community rate.  

e. The special services adoption assistance agreement 

shall be separate and distinct from the adoption 

assistance agreement for maintenance payments and 

nonrecurring expenses. 

F. When a child is determined eligible for adoption 

assistance prior to the adoption being finalized, the adoption 

assistance agreement:  

1. Shall be executed within 90 days of receipt of the 

application for adoption assistance;  

2. Shall be signed before entry of the final order of 

adoption;  

3. Shall specify the amount of payment and the services to 

be provided, including Medicaid; and 

4. Shall remain in effect regardless of the state to which the 

adoptive parents may relocate.  

G. Procedures for the child whose eligibility for adoption 

assistance is established after finalization shall be the same as 

for the child whose eligibility is established before 

finalization except the application shall be submitted within 

one year of diagnosis of the condition that establishes the 

child as a child with special needs and the child otherwise 

meets the eligibility requirements of subsection B of this 

section for adoption assistance payments. Application for 

adoption assistance after finalization shall be for state 

adoption assistance.  

H. The adoptive parents shall annually submit an adoption 

assistance affidavit to the local department in accordance with 

guidance in the Adoption Manual.  

I. The local department is responsible for: 

1. Payments and services identified in the adoption 

assistance agreement, regardless of where the family 

resides; and 

2. Notifying adoptive parents who are receiving adoption 

assistance that the annual affidavit is due.  

J. Adoption assistance shall be terminated when the child 

reaches the age of 18 unless the child has a physical or mental 

disability or an educational delay resulting from the child's 

disability which warrants continuation of the adoption 

assistance. If a child has one of these conditions the adoption 

assistance may continue until the child reaches the age of 21.  

K. Adoption assistance shall not be terminated before the 

child's 18th birthday without the consent of the adoptive 

parents unless:  

1. The child is no longer receiving financial support from 

the adoptive parents; or  

2. The adoptive parents are no longer legally responsible 

for the child.  

L. Child-placing agencies are responsible for informing 

adoptive parents in writing that they have the right to appeal 

decisions relating to the child's eligibility for adoption 

assistance and decisions relating to payments and services to 

be provided within 30 days of receiving written notice of such 

decisions. Applicants for adoption assistance shall have the 

right to appeal adoption assistance decisions related to: 

1. Failure of the child-placing agency to provide full 

factual information known by the child-placing agency 

regarding the child prior to adoption finalization;  

2. Failure of the child-placing agency to inform the 

adoptive parents of the child's eligibility for adoption 

assistance; and 

3. Decisions made by the child-placing agency related to 

the child's eligibility for adoption assistance, adoption 

assistance payments, services, and changing or terminating 

adoption assistance.  

22VAC40-201-161. Adoption assistance. 

A. The purpose of adoption assistance is to facilitate 

adoptive placements and ensure permanency for children with 

special needs.  

B. For a child to be eligible for adoption assistance he must 

have been determined to be a child with special needs in 

accordance with §§ 63.2-1300 and 63.2-1301 of the Code of 

Virginia and meet the following criteria: 

1. Be younger than 18 years of age and meet the 

requirements set forth in § 473 of Title IV-E of the Social 

Security Act (42 USC § 673); or  

2. Be younger than 18 years of age and in the placement 

and care of a child-placing agency at the time the petition 

for adoption is filed and be placed by the child-placing 

agency with the prospective adoptive parents for the 

purpose of adoption, except for those situations in which 

the foster parents have filed a petition for adoption under 

§ 63.2-1229 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. Adoption assistance may include the following payments 

or services where appropriate:  

1. Title IV-E maintenance payments if the child meets 

federal eligibility requirements.  

2. State-funded maintenance payments when the local 

department determines that (i) the child does not meet the 
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requirements in § 473 of Title IV-E of the Social Security 

Act (42 USC § 673); (ii) the child is a child with special 

needs; (iii) the child's foster care expenses were paid from 

state pool funds or Title IV-E; and (iv) an adoption 

assistance payment is necessary to facilitate an adoption. 

3. A state-funded special service payment is used to help 

meet the child's physical, mental, emotional, or dental 

needs. Special service payments when the child is in the 

custody of the local board or in the custody of a licensed 

child-placing agency and placed for adoption, when the 

child meets the criteria of a child with special needs set out 

in § 63.2-1300 of the Code of Virginia, and when the 

adoptive parents are capable of providing permanent 

family relationships needed by the child in all respects 

except financial. 

4. Nonrecurring expense payments when an adoption 

assistance agreement is entered into prior to the finalization 

of the adoption. 

D. For the child who meets the requirements in § 473 of 

Title IV-E of the Social Security Act (42 USC § 673) or who 

is receiving state-funded maintenance payments and has a 

special medical need as specified in § 32.1-325 of the Code of 

Virginia and in the Virginia DSS Medicaid Eligibility 

manual, M0310.102 2b, the adoption assistance agreement 

shall include a statement indicating the child's Medicaid 

eligibility status.  

E. Additional criteria for the payments and services 

specified in subsection C of this section are as follows: 

1. A maintenance payment shall be approved for a child 

who is eligible for adoption assistance unless the adoptive 

parent indicates, or it is determined through negotiation, 

that the payment is not needed. The amount of 

maintenance payments made shall not exceed the foster 

care maintenance payment that would have been paid 

during the period if the child had been in a foster family 

home.  

a. The amount of the payment shall be negotiated by a 

representative of the department with the adoptive 

parents, taking into consideration the needs of the child 

and circumstances of the adoptive parents.  

b. The maintenance payments shall not be reduced below 

the amount specified in the adoption assistance 

agreement without the concurrence of the adoptive 

parents or a reduction mandated by the appropriation act.  

c. Increases in the amount of the maintenance payment 

shall be made when the child is receiving the maximum 

allowable foster care maintenance rate and (i) the child 

reaches a higher age grouping, as specified in guidance 

for foster care maintenance rates or (ii) statewide 

increases are approved for foster care maintenance rates.  

2. The special service payment shall be directly related to 

the child's special needs listed on the adoption assistance 

agreement. Special service payments shall be time limited 

based on the needs of the child and can be modified 

beyond the original provision of the agreement when the 

local department and the adoptive parents agree to the 

modification in a signed and dated addendum. Subsection 

K of this section addresses addendums to an existing 

agreement.  

a. Types of payments that are appropriate are included in 

the Chapter F, Section 2 of the VDSS Child and Family 

Services Manual. 

b. A special service payment may be used for a child 

eligible for Medicaid to supplement payments not 

covered by Medicaid.  

c. Payments for special services are negotiated by a 

representative of the department with the adoptive 

parents, taking into consideration:  

(1) The special needs of the child;  

(2) Alternative resources available to fully or partially 

defray the cost of meeting the child's special needs; and  

(3) The circumstances of the adoptive family. In 

considering the family's circumstances, income shall not 

be the sole factor.  

d. The rate of payment shall not exceed the prevailing 

community rate.  

e. The special services adoption assistance payments 

shall be separate and distinct from the maintenance 

payments and nonrecurring expenses on the adoption 

assistance form. 

3. The adoptive parent shall be reimbursed, upon request, 

for the nonrecurring expenses of adopting a child with 

special needs. 

a. The total amount of reimbursement is based on actual 

costs and shall not exceed $2,000 per child per 

placement. 

b. Payment of nonrecurring expenses may begin as soon 

as the child is placed in the adoptive home and the 

adoption assistance agreement has been signed. 

c. Nonrecurring expenses include those items set out in 

§ 63.2-1301 D of the Code of Virginia. 

4. When the adoptive parents decline a specific payment or 

agree to a reduced payment amount and their family 

circumstances or the child's needs change, the adoptive 

parents may request a change to the agreement and an 

addendum to the adoption assistance agreement can be 

negotiated. The requirements for addendums to an existing 

adoption assistance agreement are in subsection K of this 

section. 

F. All adoption assistance payments, services, and 

agreements shall be negotiated with the adoptive parents by a 

representative of the department, taking into consideration the 

needs of the child, the circumstances of the family, and the 

limitations specified in subsections B, C, and E of this 

section. Documentation supporting the requests for payments 
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and services shall be provided by the adoptive parents and for 

consideration in the negotiation of the adoption assistance 

agreement. Income shall not be the sole factor in considering 

the family's circumstances during the negotiations. Available 

family and community resources shall be explored as an 

alternative or supplement to the adoption assistance payment. 

G. An adoption assistance agreement shall be executed by 

the local board for a child who has been determined eligible 

for adoption assistance and when an adoption assistance 

agreement is necessary to facilitate the adoption. Local 

departments shall use the adoption assistance agreement form 

developed by the department. The agreement shall be entered 

into by the local board and the adoptive parents, or in cases in 

which the child is in the custody of a licensed child-placing 

agency, the agreement shall be entered into by the local 

board, the licensed child-placing agency, and the adoptive 

parents.  

H. When a child is determined eligible for adoption 

assistance prior to the adoption being finalized, the adoption 

assistance agreement shall:  

1. Be executed within 90 days of receipt of the application 

for adoption assistance;  

2. Be signed before entry of the final order of adoption;  

3. Specify the payment types, monthly amounts, special 

services to be provided; and 

4. Remain in effect regardless of the state to which the 

adoptive parents may relocate.  

I. Application for adoption assistance after finalization of 

the adoption shall be for state adoption assistance as set out in 

§ 63.2-1301 B of the Code of Virginia. The application for 

adoption assistance shall be submitted within one year of 

diagnosis of the condition that establishes the child as a child 

with special needs. 

J. The adoptive parents shall annually submit a signed 

adoption assistance affidavit to the local department by the 

end of the month in which the adoption assistance agreement 

was effective.  

K. Adoption assistance agreements may be modified beyond 

the original provisions of the agreement to the extent 

provided by law when the local department and the adoptive 

parents agree in writing to the extension, new special services 

or provisions in an addendum signed and dated by the local 

department and the adoptive parents. The local departments 

shall use the addendum form provided by the department and 

the changes to the agreement shall be negotiated by a 

representative of the department. The provisions of the 

special services and payments specified on the addendum 

shall still meet the requirements specified in subsections C 

and D of this section. 

L. The local department is responsible for: 

1. Maintaining payments and services identified in the 

adoption assistance agreement and any addendum in effect, 

regardless of where the family resides;  

2. Notifying adoptive parents who are receiving adoption 

assistance that the annual affidavit is due; 

3. Discussing with the adoptive parents the child's unique 

needs and their ability to manage the needs of the child; 

4. Assisting the adoptive parents in coordinating services 

to meet the child's special needs related to adoption 

assistance upon request; 

5. Providing services to prevent disruption of the 

placement and strengthen family well-being, when 

requested by the adoptive parents; and 

6. Providing training, when requested, to the adoptive 

parents as part of an already established local department 

curriculum. If the local department does not provide the 

necessary training when requested, the local department 

shall identify potential training sources and assist the 

adoptive parent in accessing the training. 

M. Adoption assistance shall be terminated when the child 

reaches the age of 18 years unless the child has a physical or 

mental disability or an educational delay resulting from the 

child's disability that warrants continuation of the adoption 

assistance. If a child has a physical or mental disability that 

warrants continuation of the adoption assistance, the adoption 

assistance payments may continue until the child reaches the 

age of 21 years if the local department and adoptive parents 

sign an addendum to the agreement to extend the agreement 

to the specified age. If the sole reason for continuing the 

agreement beyond the age of 18 years is educational delay, 

then state-funded adoption assistance may continue until the 

youth graduates from high school or until the youth's 21st 

birthday, whichever is earlier, if the local department and the 

adoptive parents sign an addendum to the agreement to 

extend the agreement to the end of the month of high school 

graduation or until the youth's 21st birthday, whichever is 

earlier.  

N. Adoption assistance shall not be terminated before the 

child's 18th birthday without the consent of the adoptive 

parents unless:  

1. The child is no longer receiving financial support from 

the adoptive parents; or  

2. The adoptive parents are no longer legally responsible 

for the support of the child.  

O. Local boards of social services are responsible for 

informing adoptive parents in writing of their right to appeal 

decisions relating to the child's eligibility for adoption 

assistance and decisions relating to payments and services to 

be provided within 30 days of receiving written notice of such 

decisions. In accordance with § 63.2-1304 of the Code of 

Virginia applicants for, and recipients of, adoption assistance 

shall have the right to appeal adoption assistance decisions by 

a local board or licensed child-placing agency in granting, 

denying, changing, or discontinuing adoption assistance. 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 7 Virginia Register of Regulations November 30, 2015 

1312 

22VAC40-201-170. Child placing agency's responsibilities 

for consent in non-agency nonagency adoptive 

placements. 

A. At the request of the juvenile court, the child-placing 

agency shall: 

1. Conduct a home study of the prospective adoptive home 

that shall include the elements in §§ 63.2-1231 and 63.2-

1205.1 of the Code of Virginia and department guidance in 

Volume VII, Section III, Chapter D - Adoption/Non-

Agency Placement and Other Court Services of the Service 

Program Manual of the Virginia Department of Social 

Services, October 2009 taking into consideration that the 

manner in which a family receives a child for adoption 

shall have no bearing on how the family is to be assessed 

for purposes of adoptive placement; and 

2. Provide the court with a written report of the home 

study. 

B. The child-placing agency shall make a recommendation 

to the court regarding the suitability of the individual to 

adopt.  

C. If As provided in §§ 63.2-1218 and 63.2-1219 of the 

Code of Virginia, if the child-placing agency suspects an 

exchange of property, money, services, or any other thing of 

value has occurred in violation of law in the placement or 

adoption of the child, it shall report such findings to the 

commissioner for investigation. The following exceptions 

apply:  

1. Reasonable and customary services provided by a 

licensed or duly authorized child-placing agency, and fees 

paid for such services;  

2. Payment or reimbursement for medical expenses directly 

related to the birth mother's pregnancy and hospitalization 

for the birth of the child who is the subject of the adoption 

proceedings and for expenses incurred for medical care for 

the child;  

3. Payment or reimbursement to birth parents for 

transportation necessary to execute consent to the 

adoption;  

4. Usual and customary fees for legal services in adoption 

proceedings; and  

5. Payment or reimbursement of reasonable expenses 

incurred by the adoptive parents for transportation in inter-

country placements and as necessary for compliance with 

state and federal law in such placements.  

22VAC40-201-200. Training. 

A. Local department foster care and adoption service 

workers and supervisory staff shall attend and complete initial 

in-service training in accordance with guidance in the Foster 

Care Manual and the Adoption Manual §§ 63.2-913 and 63.2-

1200.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. Local department foster care and adoption workers and 

supervisory staff shall complete an individual training needs 

assessment using a method developed by the department. 

C. B. Local department foster care and adoption service 

workers and supervisory staff shall attend and complete 

annual in-service training in accordance with guidance 

developed by the department. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (22VAC40-201) 

Virginia Application for Adoption Assistance, 032-04-0093-

00-eng (eff. 3/2012) 

Virginia Adoption Assistance Agreement, 032-04-0090-00-

eng (eff. 7/2014) 

Addendum to Adoption Assistance Agreement, 032-04-

0086-00-eng (eff. 3/2012) 

Adoptee Application for Disclosure (and Guidelines 

Regarding the Application), 032-02-0018-03-eng (eff. 

8/2013) 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

Child & and Family Services Manual, Chapter E - Foster 

Care, July 2011, Virginia Department of Social Services 

Service Program Manual, Volume VII, Section III, Chapter 

C - Adoption/Agency Placement, October 2009/March 2010, 

Virginia Department of Social Services 

Service Program Manual, Volume VII, Section III, Chapter 

D - Adoption/Agency Placement, October 2009, Virginia 

Department of Social Services 

Title IV-E Eligibility Manual (E. Foster Care), January 

2012, Virginia Department of Social Services  

Medicaid Eligibility Manual, M0310, Non-IV-E Adoption 

Assistance, Virginia Department of Social Services 

Virginia EPSDT Periodicity Chart, Virginia Department of 

Medical Assistance Services 

Periodicity and Anticipatory Guidance Recommendations, 

AAPD/ADA/AAP Guidelines, Dental Health Guidelines - 

Ages 0 - 18 Years, Recommendations for Preventive Pediatric 

Dental Care (AAPD Reference Manual 2002-2003) 

Child and Family Services Manual, Chapter E Foster Care, 

Section 17.1.3 Rates, July 2014, Virginia Department of 

Social Services 

Child and Family Services Manual, Chapter F Adoption, 

July 2014, Virginia Department of Social Services 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3751; Filed November 2, 2015, 4:27 p.m.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=051ab003751~22&typ=40&actno=003751&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=051ab003751~22&typ=40&actno=003751&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ce38f003751~23&typ=40&actno=003751&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ce38f003751~23&typ=40&actno=003751&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8f33e003751~24&typ=40&actno=003751&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8f33e003751~24&typ=40&actno=003751&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=df1b8003751~25&typ=40&actno=003751&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=df1b8003751~25&typ=40&actno=003751&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=df1b8003751~25&typ=40&actno=003751&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=14ef4003751~23&typ=40&actno=003751&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=14ef4003751~23&typ=40&actno=003751&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f8da0003751~24&typ=40&actno=003751&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f8da0003751~24&typ=40&actno=003751&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=74d43003751~25&typ=40&actno=003751&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=74d43003751~25&typ=40&actno=003751&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=74d43003751~25&typ=40&actno=003751&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=74d43003751~25&typ=40&actno=003751&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=398db003751~26&typ=40&actno=003751&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=398db003751~26&typ=40&actno=003751&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=398db003751~26&typ=40&actno=003751&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ec9e7003751~27&typ=40&actno=003751&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ec9e7003751~27&typ=40&actno=003751&mime=application/pdf
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Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-661. Child Care Program 

(amending 22VAC40-661-10, 22VAC40-661-30 through 

22VAC40-661-80; adding 22VAC40-661-100).  

Statutory Authority: § 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia; 

45 CFR 98.11. 

Effective Date: February 1, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Mary Ward, Subsidy Program Manager, 

Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7638, FAX (804) 

726-7655, or email mary.ward@dss.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments modify the current child care subsidy 

program to facilitate the development and implementation 

of a statewide child care automation system and to 

expedite the automation process by ensuring uniform 

statewide child care guidance.  

The amendments include (i) new requirements for vendors; 

(ii) a limitation on fees and rates paid by the program; (iii) 

a requirement for applicants to be at least 18 years of age; 

(iv) a requirement for both applicants and recipients to 

cooperate with the Division of Child Support Enforcement 

as a condition of eligibility; (v) a requirement that 

appellants refund the cost of services paid during the 

appeals process when the local department's decision is 

upheld; (vi) a decrease in the time allowed for processing 

applications; (vii) the use of the administrative 

disqualification hearing process to hear certain cases of 

alleged recipient fraud; (viii) the establishment of a time 

limitation for receipt of benefits in the fee program; and 

(ix) a change to require that overpayments caused as a 

result of a local department error be repaid to the state 

Department of Social Services with local funds. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

22VAC40-661-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context 

indicates otherwise:  

"ADH" means an administrative disqualification hearing, an 

impartial review by a state hearing officer of [ an individual's 

a recipient's ] actions involving an alleged intentional 

program violation for the purpose of determining if the 

individual did or did not commit an intentional program 

violation. 

"Applicant" means a person who has applied for child care 

services and the disposition of the application has not yet 

been determined.  

"Background checks" means a sworn statement or 

affirmation as may be required by the Code of Virginia, the 

Criminal History Record Check, the Sex Offender and 

Crimes Against Minors Registry Check, and the Central 

Registry Child Protective Services check.  

"Child care services" means those activities that assist 

eligible families in the arrangement for or purchase of child 

care for children for care that is less than a 24-hour day. It 

also means activities that promote parental choice, consumer 

education to help parents make informed choices about child 

care, activities to enhance health and safety standards 

established by the state, and activities that increase and 

enhance child care and early childhood development 

resources in the community.  

"Child protective services" means the identification, receipt 

and immediate response to complaints and reports of alleged 

child abuse or neglect for children under 18 years of age. It 

also includes assessment, and arranging for and providing 

necessary protective and rehabilitative services for a child and 

his family when the child has been found to have been abused 

or neglected or is at risk of being abused or neglected.  

"Child support services" means any civil, criminal or 

administrative action taken by the Division of Child Support 

Enforcement to locate parents, establish paternity, and 

establish, modify, enforce, or collect, and disburse child 

support, or child and spousal support.  

"Children with special needs" means children with 

documented developmental disabilities, [ mental retardation 

intellectual disability ], emotional disturbance, sensory or 

motor impairment, or significant chronic illness who require 

special health surveillance or specialized programs, 

interventions, technologies, or facilities. 

"Cooperate with the Division of Child Support 

Enforcement" means that an applicant or recipient of child 

care subsidy services must provide the information required 

by the Division of Child Support Enforcement to locate an 

absent parent, establish paternity, or establish a support order, 

unless a basis for good cause for noncooperation is 

determined by the program.  

"Copayment" means a specific fee that is a portion of a 

household's income that is contributed toward the cost of 

child care.  

"DCSE" means the Division of Child Support Enforcement, 

the division of the Department of Social Services responsible 

for locating absent parents; establishing paternity; and 

establishing, modifying, enforcing, collecting, and disbursing 

child support, or child and spousal support. 

"Department" means the State Department of Social 

Services.  

"Family" means any individual, adult, or adults and/or 

children related by blood, marriage, adoption, or an 

expression of kinship who function as a family unit.  

"Federal poverty guidelines" means the income levels by 

family size, determined by the federal Department of Health 
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and Human Services, used as guidelines in determining at 

what level families in the country are living in poverty.  

"Fee" means a charge for a service and may include, but is 

not limited to, copayments, charges above the maximum 

reimbursable rate, or charges for registration, activities or 

transportation.  

"Fee program" means a category in the child care subsidy 

program that assists low income, non-TANF families with 

child care services. 

"Fraud" means the knowing employment of deception or 

suppression of truth in order to receive [ benefits or ] services 

one is not entitled to receive.  

"FSET" means Virginia's Food Stamp Employment and 

Training Program, a multi-component employment and 

training program that provides Job Search, Job Search 

Training, Education, Training, and Work Experience to 

certain Food Stamp recipients.  

"Good cause" means a valid reason why a parent in a two-

parent household, or any other person under Virginia law 

responsible for the support of the children cannot provide the 

needed child care, or a valid reason why a parent will not be 

required to register with the Division of Child Support 

Enforcement.  

"Head Start" means the comprehensive federal child 

development programs that serve children from birth through 

age five, pregnant women, and their families (as established 

by the Head Start Act (42 USC § 9840)).  

"Income eligible" means that eligibility for subsidy is based 

on income and family size.  

"In-home" means child care provided in the home of the 

child and parent when all the children in care reside in the 

home and the provider does not live in the home.  

[ "In loco parentis" means an adult with whom the child is 

living who has assumed responsibility for the day-to-day care 

and supervision of the child. ]  

"Intentional program violation" means fraudulent action by a 

[ client recipient ] for the purpose of establishing or 

maintaining the family's eligibility for child care subsidy, 

increasing or preventing a reduction in the amount of the 

subsidy, or causing an improper payment to be made by 

intentionally giving false or misleading information. 

[ "Level one provider" means a child care provider that is 

unlicensed or unregulated. ]  

"Level two provider" means a child care provider [ who 

that ] is licensed by the Department of Social Services, 

[ approved by the Department of Education, ] approved by a 

licensed family day system, approved under local ordinance 

according to § 15.2-914 of the Code of Virginia, or federally 

approved. 

"Local department" means the local department of social 

services of any county or city in this Commonwealth.  

"Maximum reimbursable rate" means the maximum rate 

paid for child care services through the subsidy program that 

is established by the department and set out in the [ state ] 

Child Care and Development Fund [ plan Plan for Virginia, 

FFY 2014-2015, effective October 1, 2013, ] filed with the 

United States U.S. Department of Health and Human 

Services.  

"Noncooperation with DCSE" means failure of an applicant 

or recipient to provide the local department or the Division of 

Child Support Enforcement with information required to 

establish paternity or an order for child support, without good 

cause. 

"Nonfraud overpayment" means an overpayment that was 

caused by the local department, or by an inadvertent 

household or provider error.  

"Parent" means the [ primary ] adult [ or emancipated minor 

(as defined in § 16.1-334 of the Code of Virginia who acts as 

the primary ] caretaker or guardian of a child.  

"Provider" means a person, entity, or organization providing 

child care services. 

"Resource and referral" means services that provide 

information to parents to assist them in choosing child care, 

and may include assessment of the family's child care needs, 

collection and maintenance of information about child care 

needs in the community, and efforts to improve the quality 

and increase the supply of child care.  

"Service plan" means the written, mutually agreed upon 

activities and responsibilities between the local department 

and the parent in the provision of child care services.  

"SNAP" means the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance 

Program, a program administered by the [ United States 

U.S. ] Department of Agriculture to reduce hunger and 

increase food security. 

"SNAPET" means Supplemental Nutrition Assistance 

Program Employment and Training, which provides job 

search, job search training, education, training, and work 

experience to nonpublic assistance SNAP recipients. 

"Subsidy programs" program" means the department 

programs program that assist assists low income eligible 

families with the cost of child care, including the TANF child 

care program and the income eligible child care programs.  

"TANF assistance unit" means a household composed of an 

individual or individuals who meet all categorical 

requirements and conditions of eligibility for TANF.  

"TANF capped child" means a child who the TANF worker 

has determined ineligible for inclusion in the TANF 

assistance unit because the child was born more than 10 full 

months after the mother's initial TANF payment was issued.  

"Temporary assistance for needy families" or "TANF" 

means the program administered by the department through 

which a relative can receive monthly cash assistance for the 

support of his eligible children.  
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"Transitional child care" means the program that provides 

child care subsidy to eligible former TANF recipients after 

the TANF case closes.  

22VAC40-661-30. Child care programs.  

Child care subsidy, to the extent of available funding, is 

provided through the following programs:  

1. TANF Child Care Program. Child care subsidy and 

services are made available to recipients of TANF. TANF 

child care includes needed care for the TANF capped child. 

These services are also provided to:  

a. A child who receives Supplemental Security Income 

(SSI), if the parent is on the TANF grant and if the child 

would have been in the TANF assistance unit were it not 

for the receipt of SSI, or  

b. Children who are not in the TANF assistance unit but 

who are financially dependent upon the parent who is in 

the TANF assistance unit.  

2. Income eligible child care programs.  

a. Transitional child care. Child care subsidy and services 

are made available to eligible children of former TANF 

recipients to support parental employment if the TANF 

case is closed, and they are found income eligible.  

b. Head Start child care. Head Start child care subsidy 

and services are made available to eligible Head Start 

enrolled children. The program is for extended day and 

extended year child care beyond times covered by 

federally funded Head Start core hours.  

c. Fee child care. Fee child care subsidy and services are 

made available to children in eligible low income 

families who are not receiving TANF, not in the Head 

Start Program, and who meet the eligibility criteria for 

child care, to the extent of available funding is available.  

3. Food Stamp SNAP child care. Child care subsidy and 

services are made available to children of parents in 

Virginia's FSET SNAPET program to allow participation 

in an approved activity.  

22VAC40-661-40. State income eligible scale and 

copayments.  

A. State income eligible scale. The department establishes 

the scale for determining financial eligibility for the income 

eligible child care programs. Income eligibility is determined 

by measuring the family's income and size against the 

percentage of the federal poverty guidelines for their locality 

not to exceed 85% of the state median income. Income to be 

counted in determining income eligibility includes all earned 

and unearned income received by the family except certain 

disregarded income [ : Supplemental Security Income; TANF 

benefits, including TANF match payments; transitional 

payments of $50 per month to former VIEW participants; 

diversionary assistance payments; general relief; food stamp 

benefits; SNAP benefits; value of USDA donated food; 

benefits received under Title VII, Nutrition Program for the 

Elderly of the Older Americans Act of 1965; value of 

supplemental food assistance under the Child Nutrition Act of 

1996 and lunches provided under National School Lunch Act; 

child support paid to another household; earnings of a child 

under the age of 18 years; garnished wages; earned income 

tax credit; lump sum child support payments; and, 

scholarships, loans, or grants for education except any portion 

specified for child care; basic allowance for housing for 

military personnel living on base; clothing maintenance 

allowance for military personnel; payment to AmeriCorps 

volunteers; tax refunds; lump sum insurance payments; 

monetary gifts for one-time occasions or normal annual 

occasions; payments made by nonfinancially responsible third 

parties for household obligations, unless payment is made in 

lieu of wages; loans or money borrowed; money received 

from sale of property, earnings less than $25 a month; capital 

gains; withdrawals of bank deposits; GI Bill benefits; 

reimbursement, such as for mileage; foreign government 

restitution payments to Holocaust survivors; payments from 

the Agent Orange Settlement Fund or any other fund 

established for settlement of agent orange product liability 

litigation; and monetary benefits provided to the children of 

Vietnam Veterans as described in 38 USC § 1823(c) ]. 

[ Unless a local alternate scale is approved, the income 

eligibility scale established by the department must be used 

for the transitional, Head Start and fee programs. Proposed 

alternate sliding scales must be approved by the department 

prior to submission to the local board of social services. ]  

B. Copayments. Copayments are established by the 

department. All families receiving child care subsidy have a 

copayment responsibility ranging from 5.0% to 10% of the 

family's income, taking family size and income into account, 

except that families whose gross monthly income is at or 

below the federal poverty guidelines who are recipients of 

TANF, participants in the FSET SNAPET program, or 

families in the Head Start program will have no copayment. 

The family's copayment will be calculated using the 

following chart:  

EDITOR'S NOTE: The Monthly Income Levels by Percent of 

Poverty and Household Size table in this subsection is not 

amended in this regulatory action; therefore, the table is not 

set out. 

C. Five-year limit. Localities may limit receipt of fee child 

care program subsidies to a maximum of 60 months (five 

years). Receipt of transitional child care does not count 

toward the five years.  

D. Waiting list. Local departments must have a waiting list 

policy for the fee child care program. Prior receipt of TANF 

must not be a reason for preferential placement on a waiting 

list. Proposed policy for a waiting list must be approved by 

the department prior to submission to the local board of social 

services. A waiting list policy must assure that decisions are 

made uniformly.  
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22VAC40-661-57. Provider requirements.  

A. Providers who participate in the subsidy program must be 

at least 18 years of age, obtain background checks as required 

by the regulations for their type of child care, and participate 

in annual training. Providers and other individuals required to 

have background checks according to § 63.2-1725 of the 

Code of Virginia who are not otherwise governed by another 

state regulation requiring background checks shall obtain 

background checks as defined in this regulation.  

B. Background checks for regulated child care providers and 

local department approved child care providers remain valid 

according to the provisions of the regulations for their type of 

child care. Background checks for employees of certified 

preschools or nursery schools and unregulated family day 

home providers that participate in the child care subsidy 

program will remain valid for three years as long as the 

provider provides continuous services under the child care 

subsidy program. For any other individual who is required to 

have background checks according to § 63.2-1725 of the 

Code of Virginia, the background checks will remain valid 

for three years as long as the individual maintains continuous 

employment, residence or volunteer status with that provider.  

C. Training requirements will consist of current certification 

in first aid and cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) as 

appropriate for the age for the children in care, the cost of 

which will be borne by the provider. Four hours of skills 

training will also be required annually. Skills training is 

available through the department at for a cost of less than $20 

per participant nominal fee.  

D. All providers who participate in the subsidy program 

must sign a department-approved agreement that will be 

based on the level of regulation of the provider. The 

provider's signature confirms his agreement to comply with 

the terms of the agreement, including payment processes, 

absences, and attendance tracking. 

E. All providers who participate in the subsidy program 

must have a working telephone at each site at which child 

care is provided, as required by the department-approved 

agreement. 

[ F. Disputes between the provider and the department 

regarding the payment for services rendered, including 

decisions made pursuant to the department-approved 

agreement, or the finding of fraud committed by the provider, 

may be appealed by the provider pursuant to the Virginia 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia). This shall be the sole remedy for such disputes. ]  

22VAC40-661-60. Determining payment amount.  

A. Maximum reimbursable rates.  

1. The department will establish maximum reimbursable 

rates for child care subsidies for all localities in the state by 

type of care.  

2. For children with special needs, payment over the 

maximum reimbursable rate is allowed when this is 

appropriate as determined by the local department. The 

maximum reimbursable rate for children with special needs 

may not exceed twice the reimbursable rate for care of 

children who do not have special needs. 

3. Providers will be paid for the amount of care approved 

up to the maximum reimbursable rate of the jurisdiction in 

which the provider is located. Local departments must The 

department will pay the rates and fees providers charge the 

general public, up to the maximum reimbursable rate, or a 

negotiated rate that is lower. [ Level two providers will be 

paid a higher maximum reimbursable rate established by 

the department. ] 

4. For out-of-state providers, the local department 

maximum reimbursable rate of the locality in which the 

local department is located is used.  

5. Parents who choose to place a child in a facility with a 

rate above the maximum reimbursable rate are responsible 

for payment of any additional amount, unless the local 

department elects to pay the additional amount out of local 

funds.  

B. In-home care. For in-home child care, payment must be 

at least minimum wage, but not more than the maximum 

reimbursable rate for the number of children in care.  

C. Registration fee. A single annual registration fee, if 

charged, will be paid to level two providers [ only ]. The 

registration fee may not exceed $100. Transportation fees are 

paid only when the transportation services are provided by the 

provider. The total cost of care, excluding the single annual 

registration fee, but including special programs, other fees 

and transportation, must not exceed the maximum 

reimbursable rate and must be identified as one child care 

cost.  

[ D. Up to 10 holidays identified in subsection 7.6 of the 

department-approved provider agreement will be paid to level 

two providers. Level one certified preschools, religious 

exempt, and voluntary registered providers may be paid for 

holidays, according to provisions in the department-approved 

vendor agreement. All other level one providers will not 

receive payment for holidays unless services are provided on 

that day. ]  

22VAC40-661-70. Case management.  

A. Application and assessment. Parents who are not 

receiving TANF and who are at least 18 years of age and who 

wish to request child care services are required to sign an 

application and cooperate with an assessment by the local 

department. Consumer education, including the selection and 

monitoring of child care, must be provided to parents to assist 

them in gaining needed information about child care services 

and availability of providers. As a condition of eligibility, all 

applicants and recipients must cooperate with the Division of 

Child Support Enforcement unless the subsidy program 

determines that good cause exists for their failure to do so. 
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B. Service planning. Child care workers must complete a 

written service plan for each child care case. The service plan 

outlines the mutually agreed upon activities and 

responsibilities between the local department and the parent 

in the provision of child care services.  

C. Due process. Applicants and recipients will be afforded 

due process through timely written notices of any action 

deciding or affecting his eligibility for services or copayment 

amount. Such written notice shall include the reason for the 

action and the notice of appeal rights and procedures, 

including the right to a fair hearing if the applicant or 

recipient is aggrieved by the local department's action or 

failure to act on an application. If a [ client recipient ] 

requests an appeal within 10 days of the effective date of the 

notice of action, child care services will continue until a 

decision is rendered by a hearing officer. If the decision of the 

local department is upheld by the hearing officer, the [ client 

recipient ] must repay the amount of services paid during the 

appeal process.  

D. Reassessment. Local departments will make regular 

contacts with a member of the case household or the provider. 

The purpose of these contacts is to evaluate whether the child 

care services authorized are meeting the needs of the child 

and the parent.  

E. Beginning date of service payment.  

1. The beginning date of service payment is the date the 

signed application is received in the local department if the 

family is determined eligible within 45 30 days.  

2. If the determination is made more than 45 30 days after 

the signed application is received, services may begin only 

on the date eligibility is actually determined, except in the 

case of administrative delay.  

3. Administrative delay is when either the parent or 

provider does not provide needed information for 

eligibility purposes to the local department within the 45 

30 days due to circumstances beyond their control.  

4. Payment cannot be made to licensed providers prior to 

the effective dates of their initial licenses.  

F. Parental responsibilities.  

1. Parents must be informed of their responsibility to report 

changes that could affect their eligibility. These changes 

must be reported to the local department within 10 

calendar days. Parents must be informed that failure to 

report required changes may result in case closure, 

repayment of child care costs, or prosecution for fraud.  

2. Parents must be informed of their responsibility to pay 

all fees owed. Parental failure to pay fees may result in 

case closure.  

G. Termination. Local department termination of child care 

services must be planned jointly with the parent and provider. 

Adequate documentation supporting the reasons for 

termination must be filed in the case record. Eligibility in the 

fee program is limited to a total of 72 months per family. 

Receipt of assistance in any other category does not count 

toward the 72-month limitation. 

H. Waiting list. When sufficient funds are not available [ in 

the fee program ], local departments of social services must 

screen applicants for potential eligibility and place them on 

the department's waiting list if the family chooses. 

22VAC40-661-80. Fraud.  

A. Fraud.  

1. When it is suspected that there has been a deliberate 

misrepresentation of facts in order to receive [ benefits, ] 

services [ , or payments ], the local department must 

determine whether or not fraud was committed. There must 

be clear and convincing evidence that demonstrates that the 

household or provider committed or intended to commit 

fraud. Suspected instances of child care fraud shall be 

referred to the fraud staff for investigation. If there is clear 

and convincing evidence that fraud has occurred [ with 

either the provider or the household ], the case will be 

referred to the attorney for the Commonwealth to 

determine if the case will be prosecuted. If the 

[ household's ] case does not meet the criteria for 

prosecution as established by the attorney for the 

Commonwealth, the case will be referred for an 

administrative disqualification hearing. 

2. Disqualification.  

a. Parents will be disqualified from participating in the 

child care subsidy program for three months upon the 

first finding of child care fraud or an intentional program 

violation, 12 months upon the second finding, and 

permanently upon the third finding.  

b. Providers will be permanently disqualified from 

participating in the child care subsidy program upon the 

first finding of child care fraud.  

B. Repayment. In addition to any criminal punishment, 

anyone who causes the local department to make an improper 

vendor provider payment by withholding required 

information or by providing false information will be required 

to repay the amount of the improper payment.  

C. Nonfraud overpayment. In cases of nonfraud 

overpayment, neither the parent nor provider will be 

disqualified from participating in the subsidy program, as 

long as a repayment schedule is entered into with the local 

department and payments are made according to that 

schedule. If an overpayment was made as result of an error by 

the local department, the local department will not seek to 

recoup those funds from the parent or the provider.  

22VAC40-661-100. Administration. 

A. Nonfraud overpayment. In cases of nonfraud 

overpayment, neither the parent nor provider will be 

disqualified from participating in the subsidy program as long 

as a repayment schedule is entered into with the local 

department and payments are made according to that 

schedule. 
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B. [ Local department error. If an overpayment was made as 

a result of an error by the local department, the local 

department will not seek to recoup those funds from the 

parent or the provider. Any overpayments made as a result of 

a local department error must be refunded to the Department 

of Social Services with local-only funds. Overpayments. Any 

overpayment must be refunded to the department by the 

locality. ]  

[ FORMS (22VAC40-661) 

60 Month Lifetime Limit Letter (undated) 

Absent Parent/Paternity Information (undated) 

Attesting to the Lack of Information Form (undated) 

Good Cause Communication Form, Child Care Subsidy 

Program (undated) 

Notice of Cooperation and Good Cause (undated) 

Administrative Disqualification Hearing Decision (undated)  

Notice of Disqualification for Intentional Program Violation 

(undated) 

Notice of Intentional Program Violation and Penalties ]  

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(22VAC40-661)  

Child Care and Development Fund Plan for FFY 2004-2005, 

Department of Social Services, effective October 1, 2003.  

Child Care and Development Fund Plan for FFY 2014-2015, 

Department of Social Services, effective October 1, 2013 

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2776; Filed November 10, 2015, 10:26 a.m.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0a236002776~9&typ=40&actno=002776&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0a236002776~9&typ=40&actno=002776&mime=application/pdf
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services conducted 

a small business impact review of 2VAC5-11, Public 

Participation Guidelines, and determined that this regulation 

should be retained in its current form. The Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services is publishing its report of 

findings dated October 22, 2015, to support this decision in 

accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

The agency determined this regulation continues to be 

necessary as it is required by § 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of 

Virginia and establishes the mechanisms by which the agency 

will advise the public of the agency's regulatory actions. The 

agency has not received any comments or complaints 

regarding this regulation. The regulation is not complex and 

is easily understood. The regulation does not overlap, 

duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law or regulation. 

The regulation was promulgated in 2008 using the model 

public participation guidelines issued by the Department of 

Planning and Budget. This periodic review is the first 

evaluation of this regulation subsequent to its adoption in 

2008. No factors have changed since 2008 that necessitate 

amending this regulation. This regulation places no economic 

burden on any small business. 

Contact Information: Erin Williams, Senior Policy Analyst, 

P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-

7157, FAX (804) 371-7679, or email 

erin.williams@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services conducted 

a small business impact review of 2VAC5-80, Requirements 

Governing the Branding of Cattle in Virginia, and 

determined that this regulation should be retained in its 

current form. The Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services is publishing its report of findings dated October 19, 

2015, to support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-

4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

The agency has determined that there is a continued need for 

this regulation. Many farms that have cattle are small 

businesses, and this regulation facilitates the tracing and 

identification of cattle and protects farmers against theft and 

unlawful dealing in cattle. There have been no comments or 

complaints received from the public for this regulation. The 

regulation is not complex and does not overlap, duplicate, or 

conflict with federal or state law or regulation. The regulation 

was last evaluated during a periodic review conducted in 

2011. In the period since this regulation was last evaluated, 

there have been no significant changes in technology, 

economic conditions, or other factors. 

Contact Information: Dr. Charles Broaddus, Program 

Manager, Office of Veterinary Services, P.O. Box 1163, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-4560, FAX (804) 

371-2380, or email charles.broaddus@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services conducted 

a small business impact review of 2VAC5-190, Rules and 

Regulations Establishing a Monitoring Program for Avian 

Influenza and Other Poultry Diseases, and determined that 

this regulation should be retained in its current form. The 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services is 

publishing its report of findings dated October 19, 2015, to 

support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the 

Code of Virginia. 

The agency has determined that there is a continued need for 

this regulation in order to protect the poultry industry in 

Virginia. Many farms that have poultry are small businesses, 

and this regulation decreases the potential for the spread of 

disease among poultry populations. There have been no 

comments or complaints received from the public for this 

regulation. The regulation is not complex and does not 

overlap, duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law or 

regulation. The regulation was last evaluated during a 

periodic review in 2009. In the period since this regulation 

was last evaluated, there have been no significant changes in 

technology, economic conditions, or other factors. 

Contact Information: Dr. Charles Broaddus, Program 

Manager, Office of Veterinary Services, P.O. Box 1163, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-4560, FAX (804) 

371-2380, or email charles.broaddus@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services conducted 

a small business impact review of 2VAC5-240, Rules and 

Regulations for Enforcement of the Grain Handlers Law, 

and determined that this regulation should be retained in its 

current form. The Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services is publishing its report of findings dated September 

1, 2015, to support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-

4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

The agency has determined that this regulation is effective in 

achieving its goals of protecting Virginia buyers and sellers 

of grain. Because the selling of grain in Virginia is 

tremendously important to its economy, there is a continued 

need for this regulation. The agency has not received any 

complaints or comments concerning this regulation. This 

regulation is not complex and is easily understood by 

industry. The regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or 
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conflict with state or federal law. The regulation was last 

evaluated during a periodic review conducted in 2011. In the 

period since this regulation was last evaluated, there have 

been no significant changes in technology, economic 

conditions, or other factors that would necessitate a change to 

this regulation. This regulation assists in ensuring the fair 

marketing of grain, and the agency does not believe the 

regulation places any undue burden on small businesses in the 

grain industry. 

Contact Information: Randy Sanford, Grain Law Supervisor; 

P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-

3939, FAX (804) 371-7785, or email 

randy.sanford@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services conducted 

a small business impact review of 2VAC5-270, Virginia 

Grade Standards for Breeder Swine, and determined that 

this regulation should be retained in its current form. The 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services is 

publishing its report of findings dated October 22, 2015, to 

support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the 

Code of Virginia. 

The regulation continues to be needed to provide a fair and 

equitable grading standard for evaluation of breeder swine. 

With the ongoing trend of small farms (i.e., small businesses) 

providing local food, having a regulation in place to evaluate 

breeding stock for these entities is very beneficial. There have 

been no comments or complaints received from the public 

regarding this regulation. This regulation is not complex and 

does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with federal or state 

law or regulation. The last periodic review of the regulation 

was in 2011. There have been no changes to technology, 

economic conditions, or other factors that necessitate 

amending this regulation. 

Contact Information: Michael Carpenter, Program Manager, 

Livestock Marketing Services; P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, 

VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-0577, FAX (804) 371-0247, 

or email mike.carpenter@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services conducted 

a small business impact review of 2VAC5-350, Rules and 

Regulations for the Enforcement of the Virginia 

Commission Merchant Law, and determined that this 

regulation should be retained in its current form. The 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services is 

publishing its report of findings dated October 19, 2015, to 

support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the 

Code of Virginia. 

The agency has determined that there is a continued need for 

this regulation. Tobacco auction warehouses that serve as 

agents for tobacco farmers on the basis of a fee or 

commission are required to obtain a license under the 

Commission Merchant Law (§ 3.2-4709 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia). Many farms that grow tobacco are small businesses 

and the licensing and bonding of commission merchants and 

the requirements of this regulation, by which commission 

merchants must abide, provide protection to tobacco farmers 

by assuring prompt and accurate payment for their tobacco. 

There have been no complaints or comments received from 

the public regarding this regulation. The regulation is not 

complex and does not include any unnecessary or overly 

burdensome requirements with which small businesses must 

comply. This regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or 

conflict with federal or state law or regulation. No significant 

changes to technology, economic conditions, or other factors 

have occurred since the previous periodic review of this 

regulation in 2011 that would necessitate modifications to this 

regulation. The agency recommends that the regulation stay 

in effect without change. 

Contact Information: Larry Nichols, Director, Division of 

Consumer Protection; P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-3523, FAX (804) 371-7479, or email 

larry.nichols@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services conducted 

a small business impact review of 2VAC5-360, Regulations 

for the Enforcement of the Virginia Commercial Feed 

Act, and determined that this regulation should be retained in 

its current form. The Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services is publishing its report of findings dated 

October 22, 2015, to support this decision in accordance with 

§ 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

This regulation establishes labeling requirements with which 

commercial feed manufacturers must comply. Many 

commercial feed purchasers are farmers who operate small 

businesses, and this regulation ensures that commercial feed 

available for purchase is properly formulated and labeled. The 

labeling requirements established in this regulation also assist 

commercial feed purchasers in determining whether a given 

feed will satisfy the nutritional needs of their animals. There 

have been no complaints or comments received from the 

public for this regulation. The regulation is not complex and 

does not include any unnecessary or overly burdensome 

requirements with which small businesses must comply. The 

regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with federal 

or state law or regulation. No significant changes to 

technology, economic conditions, or other factors have 

occurred that would necessitate modifications to this 

regulation since the previous periodic review of this 



General Notices/Errata 

Volume 32, Issue 7 Virginia Register of Regulations November 30, 2015 

1321 

regulation in 2011. The agency recommends that the 

regulation stay in effect without change. 

Contact Information: Larry Nichols, Director, Division of 

Consumer Protection; P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-3523, FAX (804) 371-7479, or email 

larry.nichols@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

BOARD FOR BARBERS AND COSMETOLOGY 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board 

for Barbers and Cosmetology conducted a small business 

impact review of 18VAC41-11, Public Participation 

Guidelines, and determined that this regulation should be 

retained in its current form. The Board for Barbers and 

Cosmetology is publishing its report of findings dated 

November 6, 2015, to support this decision in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

Section 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia mandates the 

Board for Barbers and Cosmetology solicit the input of 

interested parties in the formation and development of its 

regulations. Therefore, the continued need for the regulation 

is established in statute. The regulation is necessary to protect 

public health, safety, and welfare by establishing public 

participation guidelines, which promote public involvement 

in the development, amendment, or repeal of an agency's 

regulation. By soliciting the input of interested parties, the 

board is better equipped to effectively regulate the occupation 

or profession. Since no complaints or comments were 

received during the public comment period, there does not 

appear to be a reason to amend or repeal the regulation. The 

regulation is clearly written and easily understandable. The 

regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or contravene federal 

or state law or regulation. This is the first periodic review of 

the regulation since becoming effective in 2008. On 

November 2, 2015, the board reviewed the regulation and for 

the reasons stated determined that the regulation should not 

be amended or repealed but should be retained in its current 

form. 

Contact Information: Demetrios J. Melis, Executive Director, 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 

telephone (804) 367-8590, FAX (804) 527-4295, or email 

barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board 

for Barbers and Cosmetology conducted a small business 

impact review of 18VAC41-20, Barbering and 

Cosmetology Regulations, and determined that this 

regulation should be retained in its current form. The Board 

for Barbers and Cosmetology is publishing its report of 

findings dated November 6, 2015, to support this decision in 

accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

Section 54.1-201.5 of the Code of Virginia mandates the 

Board for Barbers and Cosmetology to promulgate 

regulations. The continued need for the regulation is 

established in statute. Repeal of the regulation would remove 

the current public protections provided by the regulation. The 

Board for Barbers and Cosmetology provides protection to 

the safety and welfare of the citizens of the Commonwealth 

by ensuring that only those individuals who meet specific 

criteria set forth in the statutes and regulations are eligible to 

receive a barber, cosmetology, or nail technician, instructor, 

salon, or school license, or temporary permit. The board is 

also tasked with ensuring that its regulants meet standards of 

practice that are set forth in the regulations.  

The sole comment received during the public comment period 

supported the regulations and suggested a fee reduction. The 

regulation is clearly written, easily understandable, and does 

not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law or 

regulation. There is an ongoing general review of these 

regulations, started in response to the 2011 periodic review, 

currently in the proposed stage. On November 2, 2015, the 

board reviewed the regulation and for the reasons stated 

determined that the regulation should not be amended or 

repealed but should be retained in its current form. 

Contact Information: Demetrios J. Melis, Executive Director, 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 

telephone (804) 367-8590, FAX (804) 527-4295, or email 

barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board 

for Barbers and Cosmetology conducted a small business 

impact review of 18VAC41-40, Wax Technician 

Regulations, and determined that this regulation should be 

retained in its current form. The Board for Barbers and 

Cosmetology is publishing its report of findings dated 

November 6, 2015, to support this decision in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

Section 54.1-201.5 of the Code of Virginia mandates the 

Board for Barbers and Cosmetology to promulgate 

regulations. The continued need for the regulation is 

established in statute. Repeal of the regulation would remove 

the current public protections provided by the regulation. The 

Board for Barbers and Cosmetology provides protection to 

the safety and welfare of the citizens of the Commonwealth 

by ensuring that only those individuals who meet specific 

criteria set forth in the statutes and regulations are eligible to 

receive a wax technician, instructor, salon, or school license, 

or temporary permit. The board is also tasked with ensuring 

that its regulants meet standards of practice that are set forth 

in the regulations. 

Since no complaints or comments were received during the 

public comment period, there does not appear to be a reason 
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to amend or repeal the regulation. The regulation is clearly 

written, easily understandable, and does not overlap, 

duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law or regulation. 

There is an ongoing general review of these regulations 

currently in the proposed stage. On November 2, 2015, the 

board reviewed the regulation and for the reasons stated 

determined that the regulation should not be amended or 

repealed but should be retained in its current form. 

Contact Information: Demetrios J. Melis, Executive Director, 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 

telephone (804) 367-8590, FAX (804) 527-4295, or email 

barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board 

for Barbers and Cosmetology conducted a small business 

impact review of 18VAC41-50, Tattooing Regulations, and 

determined that this regulation should be retained in its 

current form. The Board for Barbers and Cosmetology is 

publishing its report of findings dated November 6, 2015, to 

support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Section 54.1-201.5 of the Code of Virginia mandates the 

Board for Barbers and Cosmetology to promulgate 

regulations. The continued need for the regulation is 

established in statute. Repeal of the regulation would remove 

the current public protections provided by the regulation. The 

Board for Barbers and Cosmetology provides protection to 

the safety and welfare of the citizens of the Commonwealth 

by ensuring that only those individuals who meet specific 

criteria set forth in the statutes and regulations are eligible to 

receive a tattooer, instructor, salon, or school license, or 

apprentice permit. The board is also tasked with ensuring that 

its regulants meet standards of practice that are set forth in the 

regulations.  

Comments received during the public comment period 

revolved around a select few points, mainly the perceived 

lack of enforcement of unlicensed practice of tattooing and 

the differentiation of permanent cosmetic tattooing from 

tattooing. The regulation is clearly written, easily 

understandable, and does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict 

with federal or state law or regulation. The most recent 

evaluation occurred in 2011. On November 2, 2015, the board 

reviewed the regulation and for the reasons stated determined 

that the regulation should not be amended or repealed but 

should be retained in its current form. 

Contact Information: Demetrios J. Melis, Executive Director, 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 

telephone (804) 367-8590, FAX (804) 527-4295, or email 

barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board 

for Barbers and Cosmetology conducted a small business 

impact review of 18VAC41-60, Body-Piercing Regulations, 

and determined that this regulation should be retained in its 

current form. The Board for Barbers and Cosmetology is 

publishing its report of findings dated November 5, 2015, to 

support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Section 54.1-201.5 of the Code of Virginia mandates the 

Board for Barbers and Cosmetology to promulgate 

regulations. The continued need for the regulation is 

established in statute. Repeal of the regulation would remove 

the current public protections provided by the regulation. The 

Board for Barbers and Cosmetology provides protection to 

the safety and welfare of the citizens of the Commonwealth 

by ensuring that only those individuals who meet specific 

criteria set forth in the statutes and regulations are eligible to 

receive a body-piercing and salon license or an apprenticeship 

permit. The board is also tasked with ensuring that its 

regulants meet standards of practice that are set forth in the 

regulations.  

Since no complaints or comments were received during the 

public comment period, there does not appear to be a reason 

to amend or repeal the regulation. The regulation is clearly 

written, easily understandable, and does not overlap, 

duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law or regulation. 

The most recent evaluation occurred in 2011. On November 

2, 2015, the board reviewed the regulation and for the reasons 

stated determined that the regulation should not be amended 

or repealed but should be retained in its current form. 

Contact Information: Demetrios J. Melis, Executive Director, 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 

telephone (804) 367-8590, FAX (804) 527-4295, or email 

barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board 

for Barbers and Cosmetology conducted a small business 

impact review of 18VAC41-70, Esthetics Regulations, and 

determined that this regulation should be retained in its 

current form. The Board for Barbers and Cosmetology is 

publishing its report of findings dated November 6, 2015, to 

support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Section 54.1-201.5 of the Code of Virginia mandates the 

Board for Barbers and Cosmetology to promulgate 

regulations. The continued need for the regulation is 

established in statute. Repeal of the regulation would remove 

the current public protections provided by the regulation. The 

Board for Barbers and Cosmetology provides protection to 

the safety and welfare of the citizens of the Commonwealth 
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by ensuring that only those individuals who meet specific 

criteria set forth in the statutes and regulations are eligible to 

receive an esthetics, master esthetics, instructor, spa, or 

school license, or temporary permit. The board is also tasked 

with ensuring that its regulants meet standards of practice that 

are set forth in the regulations.  

The sole comment received during the public comment period 

supported the regulations and suggested a fee reduction. The 

regulation is clearly written, easily understandable, and does 

not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law or 

regulation. There is an ongoing general review of these 

regulations currently in the proposed stage. On November 2, 

2015, the board reviewed the regulation and for the reasons 

determined that the regulation should not be amended or 

repealed but should be retained in its current form. 

Contact Information: Demetrios J. Melis, Executive Director, 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 

telephone (804) 367-8590, FAX (804) 527-4295, or email 

barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Renewal of Existing Variances to Regulations to 
Assure the Rights of Individuals Receiving Services 

from Providers Licensed, Funded, or Operated by 
the Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services (12VAC35-115) 

Nature of Action: The Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services sought comment on the applications 

submitted by five private providers for renewal of existing 

variances to the Regulations to Assure the Rights of 

Individuals Receiving Services from Providers Licensed, 

Funded, or Operated by the Department of Behavioral Health 

and Developmental Services (12VAC35-115). 

Agency Decision: The State Human Rights Committee voted 

on October 23, 2015, to approve the applications for 

variances from certain requirements of the Regulations to 

Assure the Rights of Individuals Receiving Services from 

Providers Licensed, Funded, or Operated by the Department 

of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services 

(12VAC35-115), as listed below.   

Variance to Procedures to Ensure Dignity: 

12VAC35-115-50 C 7 and C 8:  

In order to maintain the safety and security of residents 

(youth) the programs restrict communication via telephone 

and visitation to only those placed on a list generated at 

admission by the parent/legal guardian and the resident. 

1. Newport News Behavioral Health Center: The visitation 

list is generated by the Admissions Coordinator. 

2. James Barry Robinson Center. 

3. Kempsville Center for Behavioral Health: The Clinical 

Treatment Team is also involved in the creation of the list. 

12VAC35-115-50 C 7 and C 8:  

4. Virginia Beach Department of Human Services 

Residential Crisis Stabilization Program - The Recovery 

Center: Through the first phase of the program, individuals 

are limited from visits with family and friends, and phone 

calls are limited to five minutes per shift. There is no 

limitation on private communication with attorneys, judges, 

legislators, clergy, licensed health care practitioners, 

authorized representatives, advocates, the inspector 

general, or employees of the protection and advocacy 

agency. 

Variance to Procedures for Restrictions on Freedoms of 

Everyday Life: 

12VAC35-115-100 A 1 a and A 1 g: In order to utilize a point 

level system (Behavior Management Model) affecting 

movement of an individual within the service setting 

(grounds, community, purchases in program store). 

1. Harbor Point Behavioral Health Center. 

2. Kempsville Center for Behavioral Health: Requiring an 

individual earn points through a level system in order to 

access the store. 

Variance to Procedures for Use of Seclusion, Restraint, and 

Time Out 

12VAC35-115-110 C 16: In order to utilize Time Out as part 

of the Unit Restriction policy. 

1. Kempsville Center for Behavioral Health: At times 

deemed necessary due to unsafe behaviors, to provide 

additional safety and security measures by preventing 

movement by an individual from their assigned unit for 

periods longer than 30 minutes. 

Variances to these regulations by the providers listed above 

are reviewed by the State Human Rights Committee (SHRC) 

at least annually, with reports to the SHRC regarding the 

variances as requested. 

Contact Information: Deborah Lochart, Director, Office of 

Human Rights, Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services, 1220 East Bank Street, P.O. Box 

1797, Richmond, VA 23218-1797, telephone (804) 786-0032, 

FAX (804) 804-371-2308, or email 

deb.lochart@dbhds.virginia.gov. 
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Proposed Renewal of Variances to Rules and 
Regulations to Assure the Rights of Individuals 
Receiving Services from Providers Licensed, 

Funded, or Operated by the Department of 
Behavioral Health and Developmental Services 

(12VAC35-115) 

Notice of action: The Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services (DBHDS), in accordance with Part 

VI, Variances (12VAC35-115-220 et seq.), of the Regulations 

to Assure the Rights of Individuals Receiving Services from 

Providers of Licensed, Funded, or Operated by the 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services (12VAC35-115), hereafter referred to as the "Human 

Rights Regulations," is announcing an opportunity for public 

comment on the applications for proposed renewal of existing 

variances to the Human Rights Regulations. The purpose of 

the regulations is to ensure and protect the legal and human 

rights of individuals receiving services in facilities or 

programs operated, licensed, or funded by DBHDS.  

Each variance application references the specific part of these 

regulations to which a variance is needed, the proposed 

wording of the substitute rule or procedure, and the 

justification for a variance. Such application also describes 

time limits and other conditions for duration and the 

circumstances that will end the applicability of the variance. 

After considering all available information including 

comments, DBHDS intends to submit a written decision 

deferring, disapproving, modifying, or approving each 

variance renewal application. All variances shall be approved 

for a specific time period. The decision and reasons for 

variance will be published in a later issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations. 

Purpose of notice: DBHDS is seeking comment on the 

application for proposed new variances to the Human Rights 

Regulations for the maximum security forensic unit at 

DBHDS' Central State Hospital (CSH). Rather than the Local 

Human Rights Committee (LHRC), the formal complaint 

resolution process would be the responsibility of the 

Maximum Security Appeals Committee. The population in 

the maximum security unit typically has a shorter length of 

stay, and most of them are admitted from and discharged to 

the criminal justice system. The individuals are better 

protected by a complaint process that moves at a more rapid 

pace than the process provided in the Human Rights 

Regulations. The procedures for addressing patient 

complaints within the unit would be maintained in CSH 

Policy RTS-01C.  For these reasons, variances are proposed 

to the regulations listed below would not be applicable to the 

hospital maximum security forensic unit.  

Variance to Procedures to Ensure Dignity: 

12VAC35-115-50 D 3 e (5): Abuse, Neglect, and 

Exploitation 

"If the individual affected by the alleged abuse, neglect, or 

exploitation or his authorized representative is not satisfied 

with the director's actions, he or his authorized representative, 

or anyone acting on his behalf, may file an appeal to the 

Central State Hospital Maximum Security Appeals 

Committee."  

Explanation: This proposed language would direct the 

individual or authorized representative to the Maximum 

Security Appeals Committee rather than the Local Human 

Rights Committee. The individuals are better protected by a 

complaint process that moves at a more rapid pace than the 

process provided in the Human Rights Regulations. 

Variance to Procedures to Ensure Access to Appropriate 

Services: 

12VAC35-115-60 B 1 d: 

"If the individual or his authorized representative is not 

satisfied with the director's decision or action, he may file an 

appeal to the Central State Hospital Maximum Security 

Appeals Committee." 

Explanation: This proposed language would direct the 

individual or authorized representative to the Maximum 

Security Appeals Committee rather than the Local Human 

Rights Committee. 

Variance to Procedures to Ensure a Fair Hearing of 

Complaints: 

12VAC35-115-140 A 2 and A 4: 

"2. Have a timely and fair review of any complaint according 

to the procedures in CSH Policy RTS-01C Patient and Family 

Complaint Resolution." 

"4. Use this and other complaint procedures; and" 

Explanation: This proposed language would direct patients, 

treatment teams, and authorized representatives to CSH 

policy describing the Maximum Security Appeals Committee, 

as opposed to the LHRC as outlined in the state human rights 

regulations. 

Variances to Procedures for Complaint Resolution, Hearing, 

and Appeals 

12VAC35-115-150: General Provisions 

"A resident who has followed the procedures of CSH RTS-

01C Patient and Family Complaint Resolution, and is not 

satisfied with the CSH Director's response may appeal the 

decision to the CSH Maximum Security Appeals Committee. 

The CSH Maximum Security Appeals Committee shall 

review the appeal and provide a written response within 21 

days. If the complaint is determined by the Appeals 

Committee to be a founded complaint, the response, which 

includes recommendations outlining how the complaint 

should be resolved, shall be forwarded to the director for 
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resolution.  A copy shall be sent to the human rights 

advocate.  This is the final level of appeal." 

Explanation: This proposed language explains the function of 

the Maximum Security Appeals Committee and the time for 

turnaround of responses. It also makes clear there is no 

additional level of appeal. 

12VAC35-115-170: Formal Complaint Process 

"A. Anyone who believes that the provider has violated an 

individual's rights under these regulations may report it to the 

director or the human rights advocate for resolution. 

1. If the report is made only to the director, the director or 

his designee shall immediately notify the human rights 

advocate. If the report is made on a weekend or holiday, 

then the director or his designee shall notify the human 

rights advocate on the next business day. 

2. If the report is made to the human rights advocate, the 

human rights advocate shall immediately notify the 

director. If the report is made on a weekend or holiday, the 

human rights advocate shall notify the director on the next 

business day. 

3. The human rights advocate or the director or his 

designee shall discuss the report with the individual and 

notify the individual of his right to pursue a complaint 

through the process established for individuals.  The steps 

established shall be thoroughly explained to the individual. 

The human rights advocate or the director or his designee 

shall ask the individual if he understands the complaint 

process and the choice that he has before asking the 

individual how he wishes to purse the complaint. The 

individual shall then be given the choice of pursuing the 

complaint through the established complaint process.  

4. The procedures outlined in CSH Policy RTS-01C, 

Patient and Family Complaint Resolution, shall be 

followed if a complaint is pursued. 

B. If at any time during the complaint process the human 

rights advocate concludes there is substantial risk that serious 

or irreparable harm will result if the complaint is not resolved 

immediately, the human rights advocate shall inform the 

director and the CSH Maximum Security Appeals Committee 

by informing the director and the DBHDS Director of Human 

Rights. The CSH Maximum Security Appeals Committee 

shall review the issue within 72 hours of receiving this 

information." 

Explanation: These proposed language changes are necessary 

to direct the reader to CSH policy rather than the human 

rights regulations as regards the complaint process for 

individuals in maximum security. They also make clear the 

amount of time the Maximum Security Appeals Committee 

has to review the information. 

12VAC35-115-180: Local Human Rights Committee Hearing 

and Review Procedures 

"A. Any individual or his authorized representative who does 

not accept the relief offered by the director or disagrees with 

(i) a director's final decision and action plan resulting from 

the complaint resolution; (ii) a director's final action 

following a report of abuse, neglect, or exploitation; or (iii) a 

director's final decision following a complaint of 

discrimination in the provision of services may request a 

review by the CSH Maximum Security Appeals Committee. 

B. The individual or his authorized representative must file 

the request for review by the CSH Maximum Security 

Appeals Committee within ten days of the director's action or 

final decision on the complaint. 

1. The appeal request must be in writing on the form 

designated by CSH Policy RTS-01C Patient and Family 

Complaint Resolution. It should contain all facts and 

arguments surrounding the complaint and reference any 

section of the regulations that the individual believes the 

provider violated. 

2. The human rights advocate and any individual other than 

another resident of CSH may help the individual in filing 

the appeal. If the individual chooses a person other than the 

human rights advocate to help him, he and his chosen 

representative may request the human rights advocate's 

assistance in filing the appeal. 

C. The CSH Maximum Security Appeals Committee shall 

review the appeal and provide a written response within 

21days. If the complaint is determined by the Appeals 

Committee to be a founded complaint, the response, which 

includes recommendations outlining how the complaint 

should be resolved, shall be forwarded to the director for 

resolution. A copy shall be sent to the human rights advocate. 

This is the final level of appeal." 

Explanation: These proposed changes outline the exact 

procedures an individual in maximum security would follow 

to appeal a director's decision, and the timeline on which it 

must happen. 

12VAC35-115-190: Special Procedures for Emergency 

Hearing by LHRC 

"A. If the human rights advocate informs the CSH Maximum 

Security Appeals Committee of a substantial risk that serious 

and irreparable harm will result if a complaint is not resolved 

immediately, the CSH Maximum Security Appeals 

Committee shall review the issue within 72 hours of receiving 

the information.  

1. The director or his designee and the human rights 

advocate shall be available to discuss the issue with the 

CSH Maximum Security Appeals Committee. 

2. The review shall be concluded on an expedited basis. 
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B. At the end of the review, the CSH Maximum Security 

Appeals Committee shall make preliminary findings, and if a 

violation is found, shall make preliminary recommendations 

to the director. 

C. The director shall formulate and carry out an action plan 

within 24 hours of receiving the CSH Maximum Security 

Appeal Committee's recommendations. A copy of the plan 

shall be sent to the human rights advocate, the individual, and 

his authorized representative." 

Explanation: These proposed changes make available an 

avenue for emergency consideration by the Maximum 

Security Appeals Committee in the event a human rights 

advocate has cause to believe there is risk of serious and 

irreparable harm if a complaint is not resolved immediately. 

12VAC35-115-200: Involving Consent and Authorization 

"A. The individual, his authorized representative, or anyone 

acting on the individual's behalf may request in writing that 

the CSH Maximum Security Appeals Committee review the 

following situations and issue a decision: 

1. If an individual or his authorized representative objects 

at any time to the appointment of a specific person as 

authorized representative or any decision for which consent 

or authorization is required and has been given by his 

authorized representative, other than a legal guardian, he 

may ask the Appeals Committee to decide whether his 

capacity was properly evaluated, the authorized 

representative was properly appointed, or his authorized 

representative's decision was made based on the 

individual's basic values and any preferences previously 

expressed by the individual to the extent that they are 

known, and if unknown or unclear in the individual's best 

interests. 

i. The provider shall take no action for which consent 

or authorization is required if the individual objects, 

except in an emergency or as otherwise permitted by 

law, pending the Appeals Committee review. 

ii. If the Appeals Committee determines that the 

individual's capacity was properly evaluated, the 

authorized representative is properly designated, or the 

authorized representative's decision was made based 

on the individual's basic values and any preferences 

previously expressed by the individual to the extent 

that they are known, or if unknown or unclear in the 

individual's best interests, then the provider may 

proceed according to the decision of the authorized 

representative. 

iii. If the Appeals Committee determines that the 

individual's capacity was not properly evaluated or the 

authorized representative was not properly designated, 

then the provider shall take no action for which 

consent is required except in an emergency or as 

otherwise required or permitted by law, until the 

capacity review and authorized representative 

designation is properly done. 

iv. If the Appeals Committee determines that the 

authorized representative's decision was not made 

based on the individual's basic values and any 

preferences previously expressed by the individual to 

the extent known, and if unknown or unclear, in the 

individual's best interests, then the provider shall take 

steps to remove the authorized representative pursuant 

to 12VAC35-115-146. 

2. If an individual or his family member has obtained an 

independent evaluation of the individual's capacity to 

consent to treatment or services or to participate in human 

research under 12VAC35-115-70, or authorize the 

disclosure of information under 12VAC35-115-90, and the 

opinion of that evaluator conflicts with the opinion of the 

provider's evaluator, the Appeals Committee may be 

requested to decide which evaluation will control. 

i. If the Appeals Committee agrees that the individual 

lacks the capacity to consent to treatment or services or 

authorize disclosure of information, the director may 

begin or continue treatment or research or disclose 

information, but only with the appropriate consent or 

authorization of the authorized representative.   

ii. If the Appeals Committee does not agree that the 

individual lacks the capacity to consent to treatment or 

services or authorize disclosure of information, the 

director shall not begin any treatment or research, or 

disclose information without the individual's consent 

or authorization, or shall take immediate steps to 

discontinue any actions begun without the consent or 

authorization of the individual.  

3. If the director makes a decision that affects an individual 

and the individual believes that the decision requires his 

personal consent or authorization or that of his authorized 

representative, he may object and ask the Appeals 

Committee to decide whether consent or authorization is 

required. Regardless of the individual's capacity to consent 

to treatment or services or authorize disclosure of 

information, if the Appeals Committee determines that a 

decision made by a director requires consent or 

authorization that was not obtained, the director shall 

immediately rescind the action unless and until such 

consent or authorization is obtained.  

B. Before making such a decision, the Appeals Committee 

shall review the action proposed by the director, any 

determination of lack of capacity, the opinion of the 

independent evaluator if applicable, and the individual's or his 

authorized representative's reasons for objecting to that 

determination. To facilitate its review, the Appeals 

Committee may ask that a physician or licensed clinical 
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psychologist not employed by the provider evaluate the 

individual at the provider's expense and give an opinion about 

his capacity to consent to treatment or authorize information. 

The Appeals Committee shall notify all parties and the human 

rights advocate of the decision within 10 working days of the 

initial request." 

Explanation: These proposed changes substitute the 

Maximum Security Appeals Committee for the Local Human 

Rights Committee as the review body regarding issues of 

informed consent and substitute decision-making. 

12VAC35-115-210: State Human Rights Committee Appeals 

Procedure 

"Decisions of the CSH Maximum Security Appeals 

Committee may not be appealed." 

Explanation: The CSH Maximum Security Appeals 

Committee is the full deciding body. 

Variances to these regulations by the providers listed above 

are reviewed by the SHRC at least annually, with reports to 

the SHRC regarding the variances as requested.  

Public comment period: November 30, 2015, through 

December 30, 2015. 

Description of proposal: The proposed variance applications 

for renewal must comply with the general requirements of 

Part VI, Variances (12VAC35-115-220 et seq.), of the 

Human Rights Regulations. 

How to comment: DBHDS accepts written comments by 

email, fax, and postal mail. In order to be considered, 

comments must include the full name, address, and telephone 

number of the person commenting and be received by 

DBHDS by the last day of the comment period. All 

information received is part of the public record. 

To review a proposal: Variance applications and any 

supporting documentation may be obtained by contacting the 

DBHDS representative named below.  

Contact Information: Deborah Lochart, Director, Office of 

Human Rights, Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services, 1220 East Bank Street, P.O. Box 

1797, Richmond, VA 23218-1797, telephone (804) 786-0032, 

FAX (804) 804-371-2308, or email 

deb.lochart@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

CHARITABLE GAMING BOARD 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Charitable Gaming Board conducted a small business impact 

review of 11VAC15-13, Public Participation Guidelines, 

and determined that this regulation should be retained in its 

current form. The Charitable Gaming Board is publishing its 

report of findings dated October 19, 2015, to support this 

decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of 

Virginia. 

The regulation is necessary in order to execute the purpose of 

the Charitable Gaming Regulations (11VAC15-40). The 

board routinely reviews its regulations and adopts 

amendments as necessary. The public, including small 

businesses, needs to be informed of the various stages of the 

regulatory process and their statutory right to participate. 

There have been no complaints or comments received from 

the public concerning this regulation. The regulation is not 

particularly complex, and it does not overlap, duplicate, or 

conflict with federal or state law or regulation. Since this 

regulation's adoption in 2008, there have not been significant 

changes in technology, economic conditions, or other factors 

that would necessitate amending this regulation. 

Contact Information: Michael Menefee, Program Manager, 

Office of Charitable and Regulatory Programs, P.O. Box 

1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-3983, FAX 

(804) 371-7479, or email 

michael.menefee@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy is 

conducting a periodic review and small business impact 

review of 18VAC110-20, Regulations Governing the 

Practice of Pharmacy, and 18VAC110-50, Regulations 

Governing Wholesale Distributors, Manufacturers, and 

Warehousers. 

The review of each regulation will be guided by the principles 

in Executive Order 17 (2014). The purpose of this review is 

to determine whether each regulation should be repealed, 

amended, or retained in its current form. Public comment is 

sought on the review of any issue relating to each regulation, 

including whether the regulation (i) is necessary for the 

protection of public health, safety, and welfare or for the 

economical performance of important governmental 

functions; (ii) minimizes the economic impact on small 

businesses in a manner consistent with the stated objectives 

of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly written and easily 

understandable. 

The comment period begins November 30, 2015, and ends 

December 30, 2015. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall at 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 

may also be sent to Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, FAX (804) 

527-4434, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 
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Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Town Hall and a report of the small business 

impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

REAL ESTATE BOARD 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Real Estate Board is 

currently reviewing each of the regulations listed below to 

determine whether the regulation should be repealed, 

amended, or retained in its current form. The review of each 

regulation will be guided by the principles in Executive Order 

17 (2014). Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to each regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

18VAC135-11, Public Participation Guidelines 

18VAC135-20, Virginia Real Estate Board Licensing 

Regulations 

18VAC135-50, Fair Housing Regulations 

The comment period begins November 30, 2015, and ends 

December 21, 2015. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Town Hall, and a report of the small business 

impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

Contact Information: Christine Martine, Executive Director, 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 

telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (866) 826-8863, or email 

reboard@dpor.virginia.gov. 

SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES BOARD 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Safety 

and Health Codes Board conducted a small business impact 

review of 16VAC25-55, Financial Requirements for Boiler 

and Pressure Vessel Contract Fee Inspectors, and 

determined that this regulation should be retained in its 

current form. The Safety and Health Codes Board is 

publishing its report of findings dated October 30, 2015, to 

support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the 

Code of Virginia. 

In its review of this regulation, the agency has determined 

that there is a continued need for the regulation because it 

ensures a minimum level of indemnification in cases 

involving bodily injury and property damage resulting from, 

or directly relating to, a contract fee inspector's negligent 

inspection or recommendation for certification of a boiler or 

pressure vessel. The regulatory language is clear and avoids 

complexity. This regulation, which became effective in 2007, 

does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with federal or state 

law or regulation. The current review follows the first 

periodic review of regulation, which was conducted four 

years ago. There have not been significant changes in 

technology, economic conditions, or other factors in the area 

affected by the regulation since it became effective. The 

agency has determined that retaining the regulation without 

amendment is consistent with the stated objectives of 

applicable law and is the most effective way to minimize the 

economic impact of regulations on small businesses. 

Contact Information: Reba O'Connor, Regulatory 

Coordinator, Virginia Department of Labor and Industry, 600 

East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, or email 

oconnor.reba@dol.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Safety 

and Health Codes Board conducted a small business impact 

review of 16VAC25-73, Regulation Applicable to Tree 

Trimming Operations, and determined that this regulation 

should be retained in its current form. The Safety and Health 

Codes Board is publishing its report of findings dated 

October 30, 2015, to support this decision in accordance with 

§ 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

In its review of this regulation, the agency has determined 

that there is a continued need for the regulation because it is 

an enforcement tool that has been designed specifically for 

the tree trimming operations that are conducted by the 

arborist industry and because spokespersons within that 

industry specifically requested that the department 

promulgate a regulation to specifically cover tree trimming 

operations. No comments or complaints were received from 

the public during the public comment period. The regulatory 

language is clear and avoids complexity. This regulation, 

which became effective in 2011, does not overlap, duplicate, 

or conflict with federal or state law or regulation. The current 

review is the first periodic review to evaluate the regulation. 

There have not been significant changes in technology, 

economic conditions, or other factors in the area affected by 

the regulation since it became effective. The agency has 

determined that retaining the regulation without amendment 
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is consistent with the stated objectives of applicable law and 

is the most effective way to minimize the economic impact of 

regulations on small businesses. 

Contact Information: Reba O'Connor, Regulatory 

Coordinator, Virginia Department of Labor and Industry, 600 

East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, or email 

oconnor.reba@dol.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Safety 

and Health Codes Board conducted a small business impact 

review of 16VAC25-75, General Industry Standard for 

Telecommunications, General, Approach Distances, and 

determined that this regulation should be retained in its 

current form. The Safety and Health Codes Board is 

publishing its report of findings dated October 30, 2015, to 

support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the 

Code of Virginia. 

There is a continued need for this regulation because the 

establishment of less stringent compliance requirements in 

the past directly resulted in fatal electrocution hazards for 

employees. The regulation is not unnecessarily complex. It 

ensures uniformity of the regulations for general industry, 

construction, and telecommunication workers performing the 

same type of electrical transmission work. The regulation 

does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with federal or state 

law or regulation. The current review follows the first 

periodic review of the regulation, which occurred four years 

ago. There have not been significant changes in technology, 

economic conditions, or other factors in the area affected by 

the regulation since it became effective. The agency has 

determined that retaining the regulation without amendment 

is consistent with the stated objectives of applicable law and 

is the most effective way to minimize the economic impact of 

regulations on small businesses.  

Prior to the promulgation of this regulation, employers were 

already required to train telecommunication electrical 

transmission workers on methods of de-energizing, isolating, 

or insulating themselves from live electrical parts by using 

blankets or other protective measures listed in 16VAC25-90-

1910.268. This regulation simplified compliance by making 

telecommunications requirements identical to 16VAC25-90-

1910.269(l)(2)(i), General Industry Standard for Electric 

Power Generation Transmission and Distribution, and by 

providing safety protections for telecommunications workers 

equal to those afforded general industry electrical 

transmission workers and construction industry workers (see 

16VAC25-155). In compliance with federal law, the 

regulation does not exempt small businesses from all or any 

part of these requirements. However, the language of the 

regulation was drafted in such a way as to minimize costs for 

regulated employers while still ensuring equivalent safety 

levels of electrical shock protection for telecommunications 

workers. 

Contact Information: Reba O'Connor, Regulatory 

Coordinator, Virginia Department of Labor and Industry, 600 

East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, or email 

oconnor.reba@dol.gov. 

STATE MILK COMMISSION 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the State 

Milk Commission conducted a small business impact review 

of 2VAC15-12, Public Participation Guidelines, and 

determined that this regulation should be retained in its 

current form. The State Milk Commission is publishing its 

report of findings dated October 28, 2015, to support this 

decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of 

Virginia. 

The agency determined this regulation continues to be 

necessary as it is required by § 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of 

Virginia and establishes the mechanisms by which the agency 

will advise the public of the agency's regulatory actions. The 

agency has not received any comments or complaints 

regarding this regulation. The regulation is not complex and 

is easily understood. The regulation does not overlap, 

duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law or regulation. 

The regulation was promulgated in 2008 using the model 

public participation guidelines issued by the Department of 

Planning and Budget. This periodic review is the first 

evaluation of this regulation subsequent to its adoption in 

2008. No factors have changed since 2008 that necessitate 

amending this regulation. This regulation places no economic 

burden on any small business.  

Contact Information: Crafton Wilkes, Administrator, State 

Milk Commission, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-2013, FAX (804) 371-8700, or email 

crafton.wilkes@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Buchanan County 
PSA 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the Buchanan 

County PSA for violations of the State Water Control Law at 

the Conaway Wastewater Treatment Plant in Buchanan 

County. A description of the proposed action is available at 

the Department of Environmental Quality office named below 

or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Ralph T. Hilt will accept 

comments by email at ralph.hilt@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at 

(276) 676-4899, or postal mail at Department of 

Environmental Quality, Southwest Regional Office, 355-A 

Deadmore Street, Abingdon, VA 24210, from December 1, 

2015, to December 31, 2015. 
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Proposed Enforcement Action for Town of Pound 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the Town of 

Pound for violations of the State Water Control Law at the 

Pound Wastewater Treatment Plant in Wise County. A 

description of the proposed action is available at the 

Department of Environmental Quality office named below or 

online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Ralph T. Hilt will accept 

comments by email at ralph.hilt@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at 

(276) 676-4899, or postal mail at Department of 

Environmental Quality, Southwest Regional Office, 355-A 

Deadmore Street, Abingdon, VA 24210, from December 1, 

2015, to December 31, 2015. 

BOARD FOR WATERWORKS AND WASTEWATER 
WORKS OPERATORS AND ONSITE SEWAGE 

SYSTEM PROFESSIONALS 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Board for Waterworks 

and Wastewater Works Operators and Onsite Sewage System 

Professionals is currently reviewing each of the regulations 

listed below to determine whether the regulation should be 

repealed, amended, or retained in its current form. The review 

of each regulation will be guided by the principles in 

Executive Order 17 (2014). Public comment is sought on the 

review of any issue relating to each regulation, including 

whether the regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of 

public health, safety, and welfare or for the economical 

performance of important governmental functions; (ii) 

minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 

manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable 

law; and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable. 

18VAC160-11, Public Participation Guidelines 

18VAC160-20, Board for Waterworks and Wastewater 

Works Operators and Onsite Sewage System 

Professionals Regulations 

The comment period begins November 30, 2015, and ends 

December 21, 2015. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Town Hall, and a report of the small business 

impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

Contact Information: Trisha Henshaw, Executive Director, 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 

telephone (804) 367-8595, FAX (866) 350-5354, or email 

waterwasteoper@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, General Assembly Building, 201 North 9th 

Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: Voice 

(804) 786-3591; Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

http://www.virginia.gov/connect/commonwealth-calendar. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 

ERRATA 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Title of Regulation: 14VAC5-270. Rules Governing Annual 

Financial Reporting. 

Publication: 32:4 VA.R. 479-485 October 19, 2015. 

Correction to Proposed Regulation: 

Beginning on page 480, column 1, replace the Order to Take 

Notice with the following order: 

AT RICHMOND, SEPTEMBER 21, 2015 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel.  

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. INS-2015-00141 

Ex Parte: In the matter of 

Amending the Rules Governing 

Annual Financial Reporting 

ORDER TO TAKE NOTICE 

Section 12.1-13 of the Code of Virginia ("Code") provides 

that the State Corporation Commission ("Commission") shall 

varegs@dls.virginia.gov
http://www.virginia.gov/connect/commonwealth-calendar
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
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have the power to promulgate rules and regulations in the 

enforcement and administration of all laws within its 

jurisdiction, and § 38.2-223 of the Code provides that the 

Commission may issue any rules and regulations necessary or 

appropriate for the administration and enforcement of Title 

38.2 of the Code.  

The rules and regulations issued by the Commission 

pursuant to § 38.2-223 of the Code are set forth in Title 14 of 

the Virginia Administrative Code.  A copy may also be found 

at the Commission's website: 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/laws.aspx.  

The Bureau of Insurance ("Bureau") has submitted to the 

Commission proposed amendments to rules set forth in 

Chapter 270 of Title 14 of the Virginia Administrative Code 

entitled Rules Governing Annual Financial Reporting 

("Rules"), which amend the Rules at 14 VAC 5-270-40, 

14 VAC 5-270-100, 14 VAC 5-270-110, 14 VAC 5-270-120, 

14 VAC 5-270-144, and 14 VAC 5-270-174, and adds a new 

Rule at 14 VAC 5-270-145. 

The amendments to the Rules are being proposed due to the 

National Association of Insurance Commissioners' adoption of 

the revisions to the Annual Financial Reporting Model 

Regulation. The proposed amendments provide the Commission 

with the authority to require all insurers with annual premiums 

exceeding $500 million and insurance groups with annual 

premiums exceeding $1 billion to maintain an internal audit 

function that provides independent, objective, and reasonable 

assurance to the audit committee and management regarding the 

insurer's governance, risk management, and internal controls.  

The internal audit function is required to be organizationally 

independent from management and to report at least annually to 

the audit committee on the results of internal audit activities. 

NOW THE COMMISSION is of the opinion that the 

proposed amendments submitted by the Bureau to amend the 

Rules at 14 VAC 5-270-40, 14 VAC 5-270-100, 14 VAC 5-

270-110, 14 VAC 5-270-120, 14 VAC 5-270-144, and 

14 VAC 5-270-174, and add a new Rule at 14 VAC 5-270-

145 should be considered for adoption.  

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposed amendments to Rules Governing Annual 

Financial Reporting, which amend the Rules at 14 VAC 5-

270-40, 14 VAC 5-270-100, 14 VAC 5-270-110, 14 VAC 5-

270-120, 14 VAC 5-270-144, and 14 VAC 5-270-174, and 

add a new Rule at 14 VAC 5-270-145 are attached hereto and 

made a part hereof.  

(2) All interested persons who desire to comment in support 

of or in opposition to, or request a hearing to oppose 

amending Chapter 270 of Title 14 of the Virginia 

Administrative Code, shall file such comments or hearing 

request on or before November 18, 2015, with Joel H. Peck, 

Clerk, State Corporation Commission, c/o Document Control 

Center, P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, Virginia 23218. Interested 

persons desiring to submit comments electronically may do 

so by following the instructions at the Commission's website: 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case/PublicComments.aspx. All 

comments shall refer to Case No. INS-2015-00141.  

(3) If no written request for a hearing on the proposal to 

amend Chapter 270 of Title 14 of the Virginia Administrative 

Code is received on or before November 18, 2015, the 

Commission, upon consideration of any comments submitted 

in support of or in opposition to the proposal, may amend the 

Rules.  

(4) The Bureau forthwith shall give further notice of the 

proposal to amend rules by mailing a copy of this Order, together 

with the proposal, to all licensed insurers, burial societies, 

fraternal benefit societies, health service plans, health 

maintenance organizations, legal services plans, dental or 

optometric services plans, and dental plan organizations 

authorized by the Commission pursuant to the provisions of Title 

38.2 of the Code, as well as to all interested parties.  To be made 

part of this list, call (804) 371-9826. 

(5) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

forthwith shall cause a copy of this Order, together with the 

proposal to amend rules, to be forwarded to the Virginia 

Registrar of Regulations for appropriate publication in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations.  

(6) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall make available this Order and the attached proposed 

amendments to the rules on the Commission's website: 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case.  

(7) The Bureau shall file with the Clerk of the Commission 

an affidavit of compliance with the notice requirements of 

Ordering Paragraph (4) above.  

(8) This matter is continued.  

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be sent by the Clerk of 

the Commission to: Kiva Bland Pierce, Assistant Attorney 

General, Division of Consumer Counsel, Office of the 

Attorney General, 900 East Main Street, Second Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219; and a copy hereof shall be 

delivered to the Commission's Office of General Counsel and 

the Bureau of Insurance in care of Deputy Commissioner 

Douglas C. Stolte.  

VA.R. Doc. No.R16-4479; Filed October 30, 2015, 10:25 a.m. 

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC60-21. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Dentistry. 

Publication: 32:5 VA.R. 706-742 November 2, 2015. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 533, 18VAC60-21-190 A 1, line 2, delete ", dental 

hygiene degree or certificate," 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2362; Filed November 9, 2015, 2:39 p.m.  

 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/laws.aspx
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case/PublicComments.aspx
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case
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