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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 
published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 
Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 
regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 
to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 
Register is a source of other information about state government, 
including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 
orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 
regulations. 
ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 
An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 
publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 
agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 
giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 
text of the proposed regulation. 
Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 
days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 
necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 
clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 
comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 
to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 
completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 
comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 
than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 
period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 
The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 
appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 
may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 
objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 
will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 
by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 
with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 
When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 
publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 
final publication in the Virginia Register. 
The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 
of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 
signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 
and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 
regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 
Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 
substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 
30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 
public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 
Virginia Register. 
The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 
receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 
comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 
inconsequential impact. 
A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 
agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 
period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 
provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 
for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 
Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 
regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 
earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 
A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 
any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 
Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 
certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 
regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 
process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 
provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 
become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 
objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 
consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 
Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 
emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 
regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 
law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 
days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 
operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 
unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 
more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 
months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 
Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 
During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 
procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 
agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 
Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 
regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 
180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 
chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 
prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 
The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 
(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 
examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 
The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 
29:5 VA.R. 1075-1192 November 5, 2012, refers to Volume 29, Issue 
5, pages 1075 through 1192 of the Virginia Register issued on  
November 5, 2012. 
The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 
(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  
Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 
James M. LeMunyon, Vice Chair, Gregory D. Habeeb; Ryan T. 
McDougle; Pamela S. Baskervill; Robert L. Calhoun; Carlos L. 
Hopkins; E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; Christopher R. 
Nolen; Timothy Oksman; Charles S. Sharp; Robert L. Tavenner. 
Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 
Karen Perrine, Assistant Registrar; Anne Bloomsburg, Regulations 
Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Operations 
Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

December 2015 through December 2016 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

32:8 November 24, 2015 (Tuesday) December 14, 2015 

32:9 December 9, 2015 December 28, 2015 

32:10 December 21, 2015 (Monday) January 11, 2016 

32:11 January 6, 2016 January 25, 2016 

32:12 January 20, 2016 February 8, 2016 

32:13 February 3, 2016 February 22, 2016 

32:14 February 17, 2016 March 7, 2016 

32:15 March 2, 2016 March 21, 2016 

32:16 March 16, 2016 April 4, 2016 

32:17 March 30, 2016 April 18, 2016 

32:18 April 13, 2016 May 2, 2016 

32:19 April 27, 2016 May 16, 2016 

32:20 May 11, 2016 May 30, 2016 

32:21 May 25, 2016 June 13, 2016 

32:22 June 8, 2016 June 27, 2016 

32:23 June 22, 2016 July 11, 2016 

32:24 July 6, 2016 July 25, 2016 

32:25 July 20, 2016 August 8, 2016 

32:26 August 3, 2016 August 22, 2016 

33:1 August 17, 2016 September 5, 2016 

33:2 August 31, 2016 September 19, 2016 

33:3 September 14, 2016 October 3, 2016 

33:4 September 28, 2016 October 17, 2016 

33:5 October 12, 2016 October 31, 2016 

33:6 October 26, 2016 November 14, 2016 

33:7 November 9, 2016 November 28, 2016 

33:8 November 22, 2016 (Tuesday) December 12, 2016 

33:9 December 7, 2016 December 26, 2016 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-550. Board of Health 
Regulations Governing Vital Records. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-249 through 32.1-
276 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: James Parrish, Equality Virginia; and 
Arli Christian, National Center for Transgender Equality 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: The petitioner requests that the 
vital records regulations be amended as follows: Virginia's birth 
certificate gender change regulation should not require surgery, 
based on a modern understanding of appropriate treatment for 
transgender people. Virginia's birth certificate gender change 
regulation should not require a court order, as courts are a costly 
and complicated barrier to many transgender people, and medical 
providers, rather than judges, have the professional expertise to 
request the appropriate gender marker on a birth certificate. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: In accordance with 
Virginia law, the petition has been filed with the Registrar of 
Regulations and will be published on December 14, 2014, and 
posted to the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall at 
www.townhall.virginia.gov. Comment on the petition will be 
accepted until January 4, 2016, and may be posted on the 
Townhall or sent to the board. Following receipt of all comment 
on the petition, and within 90 days of January 4, 2016, the matter 
will be considered by the State Health Commissioner, acting on 
behalf of the Board, in order to decide whether to grant the 
petition. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 4, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Janet Rainey, Director, Department of 
Health, Division of Vital Records, 2001 Maywill Street, Suite 
268, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 662-5245, or 
email janet.rainey@vdh.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-07; Filed November 13, 2015, 12:45 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 

OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

Initial Agency Notice 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC140-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Social Work. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Anjaulyeke Bryant-Covert. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend 18VAC140-20-70 
to allow persons who have failed the licensing examination to 
count their supervision hours beyond the two years currently 
prescribed. The amendment would grandfather those 
applicants who do not meet current requirements for 
registration of supervision. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: In accordance with 
Virginia law, the petition was filed with the Registrar of 
Regulations and will be published on December 14, 2015, with a 
request for comment to be received until January 13, 2016. The 
petition will also be posted for comment on the Virginia 
Regulatory Townhall at www.townhall.virginia.gov. At the next 
meeting held after the close of the comment period, scheduled 
for February 5, 2016, the board will consider the petition and any 
comment received to decide whether or not to initiate the 
rulemaking process. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 13, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 
Mayland Drive, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-
4688, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-08; Filed November 12, 2015, 10:50 a.m. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

DEPARTMENT OF GENERAL SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Department of General Services 
intends to consider adopting 1VAC30-105, Regulations 
Banning Concealed Firearms in Offices Owned or 
Occupied by Executive Branch Agencies. The purpose of 
this proposed action is to implement Executive Order 50 
(McAuliffe 2015), which bans firearms in executive branch 
agency offices. The proposed regulation will prohibit 
concealed firearms in offices and workplace facilities under 
the ownership, lease, or control of an executive branch 
agency and includes a requirement for posting signs to this 
effect.  
The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  
Statutory Authority: § 2.2-1102 of the Code of Virginia. 
Public Comment Deadline: January 27, 2016. 
Agency Contact: Rhonda Bishton, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of General Services, 1100 Bank Street, Suite 420, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-3311, FAX (804) 
371-8305, or email rhonda.bishton@dgs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4572; Filed December 3, 2015, 3:48 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 

CORRECTIONS 

STATE BOARD OF CORRECTIONS 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Corrections 
intends to consider repealing 6VAC15-80, Standards for 
Planning, Design, Construction and Reimbursement of 
Local Correctional Facilities and adopting 6VAC15-81, 
Standards for Planning, Design, Construction, and 
Reimbursement of Local Correctional Facilities. The 
purpose of the proposed action is to repeal the existing 
regulation, 6VAC15-80, and replace it with a new regulation, 
6VAC15-81. The new regulation will update the regulations 
to current Code of Virginia requirements and current fire 
code, building code, and audit standards for the construction 
of local correctional facilities.  
In addition, this regulation will undergo a periodic review 
pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and a small business 
impact review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 
Virginia to determine whether this regulation should be 
terminated, amended, or retained in its current form. Public 

comment is sought on the review of any issue relating to this 
regulation, including whether the regulation (i) is necessary 
for the protection of public health, safety, and welfare or for 
the economical performance of important governmental 
functions; (ii) minimizes the economic impact on small 
businesses in a manner consistent with the stated objectives 
of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly written and easily 
understandable. 
The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  
Statutory Authority: §§ 53.1-5, 53.1-80, 53.1-81, and 53.1-82 
of the Code of Virginia. 
Public Comment Deadline: January 14, 2016. 
Agency Contact: Jim Bruce, Agency Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Corrections, P.O. Box 26963, Richmond, VA 
23261-6963, telephone (804) 887-8215, or email 
james.bruce@vadoc.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4552; Filed November 13, 2015, 4:10 p.m.  

BOARD OF JUVENILE JUSTICE 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Juvenile Justice 
intends to consider amending 6VAC35-160, Regulations 
Governing Juvenile Record Information and the Virginia 
Juvenile Justice Information System. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to remove antiquated terms and 
requirements, provide clarifying language for processes that 
were previously vague, and ensure that the Commonwealth 
Information Technology Resource Management Standards are 
met. 
The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  
Statutory Authority: §§ 16.1-223 and 66-10 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
Public Comment Deadline: January 29, 2016. 
Agency Contact: Janet P. Van Cuyk, Legislative and 
Research Manager, Department of Juvenile Justice, 600 East 
Main Street, 20th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 588-3879, FAX (804) 371-6490, or email 
janet.vancuyk@djj.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4311; Filed November 20, 2015, 10:03 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Education has 
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WITHDRAWN the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action for 
8VAC20-22, Licensure Regulations for School Personnel, 
which was published in 29:6 VA.R. 1196 November 19, 
2012. The local eligibility license was eliminated through a 
separate regulatory action, and the requirements for teachers 
who teach online only are included in the board's 
comprehensive revision of the Licensure Regulations for 
School Personnel; therefore, this regulatory action is 
unnecessary. 
Agency Contact: Patty S. Pitts, Assistant Superintendent for 
Teacher Education and Licensure, Department of Education, 
P.O. Box 2120, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-
2522, or email patty.pitts@doe.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3427; Filed November 20, 2015, 2:21 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 11. GAMING 

CHARITABLE GAMING BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Charitable Gaming Board 
intends to consider amending 11VAC15-40, Charitable 
Gaming Regulations. The Charitable Gaming Regulations 
currently include provisions prescribing the number of 
standalone electronic pull-tab devices and handheld electronic 
pull-tab devices that may be used at qualifying sites. The 
planned regulatory action seeks to examine the limit on the 
number of electronic pull-tab devices that may be used at 
various qualified sites with the goal of increasing the number 
of devices allowed. These sites include (i) premises at which 
charitable gaming is conducted and (ii) private social 
quarters. Premises at which charitable gaming is conducted 
are open to the public during charitable gaming sessions. 
Private social quarters also conduct charitable gaming and are 
operated by qualified nonprofit organizations, but entrance to 
these premises is limited to members of the organization 
operating the social quarters and the members' guests.  
The type of premises determines the number of electronic 
pull-tab devices that may be present at the premises. Limits 
on the number of permitted devices are prescribed in 
11VAC15-40-300. Currently, this regulation allows a 
maximum of 10 standalone electronic pull-tab devices and 50 
handheld electronic pull-tab devices in premises that are open 
to the public, while private social quarters are limited to a 
total of five electronic pull-tab devices, regardless of type. 
These limits were based on an agreement reached between 
stakeholders during the drafting of the final text of the 
regulation, which became effective in 2012. 
This proposed regulatory action was initiated in response to a 
Petition for Rulemaking from a licensed manufacturer of 
electronic pull-tab systems requesting an increase in the 

number of electronic pull-tab devices allowed in private 
social quarters.  
The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  
Statutory Authority: § 18.2-340.15 of the Code of Virginia. 
Public Comment Deadline: January 13, 2016. 
Agency Contact: Michael Menefee, Program Manager, 
Charitable and Regulatory Programs, Department of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services, 102 Governor Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-3983, FAX (804) 
371-7479, or email michael.menefee@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-32; Filed November 13, 2015, 1:09 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Medical Assistance 
Services intends to consider amending 12VAC30-40, 
Eligibility Conditions and Requirements. The purpose of 
the proposed action is to comply with Item 307 T of Chapter 
665 of the 2015 Acts of the Assembly, which directed that 
payments made to compensate individuals who were 
involuntarily sterilized pursuant to the Virginia Eugenical 
Sterilization Act and who are living as of February 1, 2015, 
are disregarded for the purpose of Medicaid eligibility 
determinations.  
The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  
Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 
42 USC § 1396 et seq. 
Public Comment Deadline: January 13, 2016. 
Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 
Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 
600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4351; Filed November 23, 2015, 10:36 a.m.  

STATE BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Behavioral 
Health and Developmental Services intends to consider 
promulgating 12VAC35-240, Victims of Sterilization Fund 
Program. The purpose of the proposed action is to 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=3275
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=3275


Notices of Intended Regulatory Action 

Volume 32, Issue 8 Virginia Register of Regulations December 14, 2015 

1338 

implement Item 307 T of Chapter 665 of the 2015 Acts of 
Assembly, which establishes compensation for individuals 
who were involuntarily sterilized pursuant to the 1924 
Virginia Eugenical Sterilization Act and who are living as of 
February 1, 2015. The act enacts requirements for the 
compensation program, including funding limits on claims 
and a requirement that disbursements be based on the date at 
which sufficient documentation is provided, and authorizes 
the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 
Services to pay claims. 
The proposed regulation establishes (i) eligibility criteria, (ii) 
submission of claims, (iii) appropriate documentation for 
verification, (iv) compensation, and (v) an administrative 
process for handling claims 
The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  
Statutory Authority: § 37.2-203 of the Code of Virginia. 
Public Comment Deadline: January 13, 2016. 
Agency Contact: Ruth Anne Walker, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 
Services, Jefferson Building, 1220 Bank Street, 11th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-2252, FAX (804) 
786-8623, or email ruthanne.walker@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4471; Filed November 21, 2015, 8:54 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Social Services 
intends to consider repealing 22VAC40-60, Standards and 
Regulations for Licensed Adult Day Care Centers, and 
adopting 22VAC40-61, Regulations for Licensed Adult 
Day Care Centers. The purpose of the proposed action is to 
repeal the existing regulation for licensed adult day care 
centers, 22VAC40-60, and adopt a new regulation, 
22VAC40-61, to replace it. A comprehensive revision is 
needed to provide greater protection for adults in care, 
improve the organization of the regulation, increase clarity 
and consistency, incorporate changed practices and 
procedures, and eliminate unnecessarily burdensome or 
intrusive requirements. The revision will allow for changes 
based on improved practices, the latest research and improved 
technology, as well as meeting the increased needs of a 
population of elderly, infirm, or disabled persons that has 
become more vulnerable over the years. Current technology 
and medical practice have allowed individuals to stay in their 
own homes, or to live with family members longer, and as a 
result, there is an increased need for this level of care and 
socialization. 

As part of this comprehensive review, this regulation will 
undergo a periodic review pursuant to Executive Order 17 
(2014) and a small business impact review pursuant to § 2.2-
4007.1 of the Code of Virginia to determine whether this 
regulation should be terminated, amended, or retained in its 
current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 
issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 
regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 
safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 
important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 
economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 
with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 
written and easily understandable. 
The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  
Statutory Authority: § 63.2-1733 of the Code of Virginia. 
Public Comment Deadline: January 13, 2016. 
Agency Contact: Annette Kelley, Licensing Consultant, 
Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, Room 
1507, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7632, FAX 
(804) 726-7132, or email annette.kelley@dss.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4545; Filed November 16, 2015, 12:05 p.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Social Services 
intends to consider repealing 22VAC40-185, Standards for 
Licensed Child Day Centers, and adopting 22VAC40-186, 
Standards for Licensed Child Day Centers. This proposed 
regulatory action is a joint action to repeal the existing 
regulation, 22VAC40-185, and establish a new regulation, 
22VAC 40-186, for licensed child day centers to address 
health and safety issues. The action is essential to enhance the 
health, safety, and welfare of children in care. The purpose of 
the adoption of a new regulation is to support the agency's 
effort to expand and clarify health and safety requirements; to 
improve understanding and interpretation leading to enhanced 
compliance and enforcement by adjusting structure and 
format and simplifying language; and to incorporate updates 
to address ever-changing national health and safety guidelines 
and practices. In addition, it is the goal of the agency to 
ensure that parents have sufficient information to make 
informed decisions about placing their children in licensed 
child day centers while ensuring the safety of children 
receiving care in licensed child day centers.  
The current regulation has been amended seven times since 
its adoption in 1993 and its current terminology and format is 
burdensome and confusing for providers, parents, and 
Division of Licensing Programs (DOLP) staff to navigate. In 
fact, the current regulations are supplemented by a 67-page 
guidance document to assist providers, parents, and DOLP 
staff in interpreting and enforcing the current regulation. The 
goal of this proposed action is to present a clearly written 
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regulation that will eliminate or substantially decrease the 
need for such an elaborate technical assistance document.  
Repeal of the existing regulation and adoption of a new 
regulation was determined by the agency as the most efficient 
and effective way to make the necessary changes to achieve 
clarity, consistency, and to protect children. 
The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  
Statutory Authority: §§ 63.2-217 and 63.2-1734 of the Code 
of Virginia. 
Public Comment Deadline: January 13, 2016. 
Agency Contact: Tatanishia Armstrong, Licensing 
Consultant, Department of Social Services, 801 East Main 
Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7152 ext. 
7, FAX (804) 726-7132, or email 
tatanishia.armstrong@dss.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-3376; Filed November 10, 2015, 4:23 p.m. 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Social Services 
intends to consider adopting 22VAC40-920, Appeals of 
Financial Sanctions for Local Departments of Social 
Services. The purpose of the proposed action is to provide 
local departments of social services (LDSS) with an appeals 
process for enforcement actions taken against the LDSS by 
the state Department of Social Services.  
The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  
Statutory Authority: § 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia; 
45 CFR 92.43(a). 
Public Comment Deadline: January 13, 2016. 
Agency Contact: David Morrison, Department of Social 
Services, 801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 726-7266, or email 
david.morrison@dss.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4569; Filed November 10, 2015, 3:04 p.m.  



REGULATIONS 
For information concerning the different types of regulations, see the Information Page. 

Symbol Key 
Roman type indicates existing text of regulations. Underscored language indicates proposed new text. 

Language that has been stricken indicates proposed text for deletion.  Brackets are used in final regulations to indicate changes from the 
proposed regulation. 

Volume 32, Issue 8 Virginia Register of Regulations December 14, 2015 

1340 

REGULATIONS 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

DEPARTMENT OF GENERAL SERVICES 

Emergency Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 1VAC30-105. Regulations Banning 
Concealed Firearms in Offices Owned or Occupied by 
Executive Branch Agencies (adding 1VAC30-105-10 
through 1VAC30-105-80).  
Statutory Authority: § 2.2-1102 of the Code of Virginia. 
Effective Dates: December 3, 2015, through June 3, 2017. 
Agency Contact: Rhonda Bishton, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of General Services, 1100 Bank Street, Suite 420, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-3311, FAX (804) 
371-8305, or email rhonda.bishton@dgs.virginia.gov. 
Preamble: 

This regulation implements Executive Order 50 (McAuliffe 
2015), which bans firearms in executive branch agency 
offices. This regulation prohibits concealed firearms in 
offices and workplace facilities under the ownership, lease, 
or control of an executive branch agency, and includes a 
requirement for posting signs to this effect. The executive 
order (EO) directs the Department of General Services to 
propose regulations within 30 days of the EO. 
As stated in the EO, it is the Governor's desire to protect 
citizens and state employees from gun violence. The 
purpose of this regulation is to ban concealed firearms 
from offices owned, leased, or controlled by executive 
branch agencies. While state employees are already 
prohibited from carrying firearms through state personnel 
directives, this regulation will extend that prohibition to 
members of the public and other nonemployee individuals 
who may enter the premises.  
As stated in the EO, the Governor has determined there is 
a need to take every precaution to protect citizens and state 
employees from gun violence. Every day, over 60,000 
Virginians report to work in state government buildings 
across the Commonwealth to provide services to their 
fellow Virginians. Citizens rely on open access to these 
facilities to allow citizens to access government 
representatives and address personal and professional 
needs. Allowing the carrying of firearms exposes state 
employees and citizens to unnecessary risk. 

CHAPTER 105 
REGULATIONS BANNING CONCEALED FIREARMS IN 

OFFICES OWNED OR OCCUPIED BY EXECUTIVE 
BRANCH AGENCIES 

1VAC30-105-10. Purpose. 
The purpose of these regulations is to ban the carrying of 

concealed firearms in offices occupied by executive branch 
agencies, with certain exceptions as set forth herein.  
1VAC30-105-20. Applicability. 

A. This chapter applies to all buildings and workplace 
facilities owned, leased, or controlled in whole or in part, by 
or for an executive branch agency. These regulations are 
intended to be consistent with the Virginia Department of 
Human Resource Management Policy 1.80 – Workplace 
Violence, which prohibits state employees from possessing, 
brandishing, or using a weapon that is not required by the 
employee's position while on state premises or engaged in 
state business.  

B. This chapter applies to the concealed carrying of 
firearms; the Department of General Services has issued a 
guidance document elsewhere prohibiting the open carrying 
of firearms. 

C. The prohibition against carrying a concealed firearm does 
not apply to law-enforcement officers, authorized security 
personnel, or military personnel, when such individuals are 
authorized to carry a firearm in accordance with their duties, 
and when they are carrying the firearm within that authority. 
It also does not apply to state employees where the 
employee's position requires carrying a concealed firearm. 

D. These regulations do not apply to individuals who are on 
public hunting lands, are engaged in lawful hunting, and are 
in compliance with the Department of Game and Inland 
Fisheries' Hunting and Trapping regulations found in 
4VAC15, regarding allowable firearms and hunting license 
requirements. 
1VAC30-105-30. Definitions. 

"Authorized security personnel" means a natural person who 
performs the functions of observation, detection, reporting, or 
notification of appropriate authorities or designated agents 
regarding persons or property on the premises he or she is 
contracted to protect. 

"Concealed firearm" means a firearm hidden from common 
observation, including a firearm hidden when it is observable 
but is of such deceptive appearance as to disguise the 
firearm's true nature.  
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"Executive branch agency" means any administrative unit of 
state government in the executive branch, including any 
department, institution, commission, board, council, authority 
or other body, however designated. 

"Firearm" means any handgun, pistol, revolver, or other 
weapon designed or intended to propel a missile of any kind 
by action of an explosion of any combustible material. 

"Law-enforcement officer" shall have the same definition as 
in § 18.2-307.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

"State office" means any building or workplace facility 
owned, leased, or controlled by or for an executive branch 
agency, including buildings that support the workplace 
facility. This includes that portion of premises open to others 
and then used exclusively for functions or activities 
sponsored by an executive branch agency's tenant(s) while 
such functions are taking place.  
1VAC30-105-40. Possession of firearms prohibited. 

Possession or carrying of any concealed firearm by any 
person is prohibited in and on state offices. Entry upon a state 
office in violation of this prohibition is expressly forbidden. 
This prohibition does not apply to law-enforcement officers, 
authorized security personnel, or military personnel, when 
such individuals are authorized to carry a firearm in 
accordance with their duties, and when they are carrying the 
firearm within that authority. It also does not apply to state 
employees where the employee's position requires carrying a 
concealed firearm.  
1VAC30-105-50. Required lease terms for state offices. 

All leases entered into where an executive branch agency is 
the lessor shall contain a prohibition on concealed firearms so 
as to be binding upon all tenants. All leases entered into for 
the benefit of an executive branch agency shall contain this 
prohibition to indicate the lessor's acknowledgment. 
Exceptions may be allowed where approved in writing by the 
Governor or his designee. 
1VAC30-105-60. Posting of signs. 

A. Posting location. Signs shall be posted at all state offices 
indicating the prohibition against carrying concealed firearms. 
Where the entire premises are owned or occupied by an 
executive branch agency, signs shall be displayed at every 
entrance. Where only a portion of the premises are leased for 
an executive branch agency, the signs shall be displayed 
within the state office. If an executive branch agency is using 
an office open to others, temporary signs shall be displayed at 
or near the entry to the office during the time the office is 
being used exclusively for Commonwealth-sponsored 
functions or activities while such functions are taking place. 

B. Size and design. Signs shall be of a size and design 
approved by the Department of General Services. The 
occupying agency shall be responsible for obtaining signage 
from the department and for posting of the signs.  

1VAC30-105-70. Enforcement. 
The occupying agency shall be responsible for enforcing this 

regulation. 
1VAC30-105-80. Exemptions. 

A. A state institution of higher education is exempt from this 
regulation if the institution has implemented its own policies 
or regulations governing firearms. 

B. The Governor or his designee may otherwise grant 
exemptions from the requirements of this chapter. To qualify 
for an exemption, the applying executive branch agency must 
show that an alternative policy, consistent with the 
Commonwealth's policy against firearms in state offices, is 
appropriate.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4572; Filed December 3, 2015, 3:48 p.m.  

OFFICE OF THE STATE INSPECTOR GENERAL 

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 1VAC42-5. Public Partipation 
Guidelines (adding 1VAC42-5-10 through 1VAC42-5-
110).  
Statutory Authority: § 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled. 
Public Comment Deadline: January 14, 2016. 
Effective Date: January 29, 2016.  
Agency Contact: Julie C. Grimes, Communications 
Coordinator, Office of the State Inspector General, 101 North 
14th Street, 7th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
625-3276, FAX (804) 371-0165, or email 
julie.grimes@osig.virginia.gov. 
Basis: The legal basis for the Office of the State Inspector 
General (OSIG) to promulgate its initial public participation 
guidelines is § 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia. OSIG is 
required to promulgate regulations under § 2.2-3014 of the 
Code of Virginia for the proper administration of the Fraud 
and Abuse Whistle Blower Reward Fund. OSIG is also 
authorized to adopt, promulgate, amend, and rescind 
regulations related to carrying out its statutory duties by 
§§ 2.2-307 through 2.2-322 of the Code of Virginia. 
Purpose: The purpose of adopting and promulgating the 
initial public participation guidelines is to ensure the 
regulatory review process used by OSIG with regard to the 
regulations it adopts, promulgates, amends, or rescinds is 
generally consistent with the rulemaking process used by 
other Virginia rulemaking bodies. 
Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The promulgation of 
this regulation should be noncontroversial because OSIG is 
merely adopting the model public participation guidelines 
developed by the Virginia Department of Planning and 
Budget. 
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Substance: OSIG is adopting its initial public participation 
guidelines because it is responsible for promulgating 
regulations for the administration of the Fraud and Abuse 
Whistle Blower Reward Fund. The regulations may be 
subject to periodic regulatory review, thus necessitating the 
need to adopt initial public participation guidelines, which are 
based upon the model public participation guidelines issued 
by the Virginia Department of Planning and Budget. The 
public participation guidelines exist to promote public 
involvement in the development, amendment, or repeal of an 
agency's regulations. Under § 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of 
Virginia, rulemaking bodies are required to adopt public 
participation guidelines and to use these guidelines in the 
development of their regulations. Adoption of public 
participation guidelines will ensure OSIG's rulemaking 
process is consistent with the process used by other Virginia 
rulemaking bodies. There are no substantive provisions or 
changes to the model public participation guidelines offered 
to executive agencies by the Virginia Department of Planning 
and Budget. 
Issues: The primary advantage of this regulation is that OSIG 
will have in place public participation guidelines consistent 
with the Governor's executive agencies that will guide future 
regulatory action by OSIG. There are no disadvantages to 
taking this action. 
Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Office of the State Inspector General (OSIG) proposes to 
adopt model public participation guidelines as mandated in 
Chapter 321 of the 2008 Acts of Assembly. 
Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 
Estimated Economic Impact. Pursuant to Chapter 321 of the 
2008 Acts of Assembly, the Department of Planning and 
Budget, in consultation with the Office of the Attorney 
General, (i) developed model public participation guidelines 
(PPGs) and (ii) provided these model PPGs to each agency 
that has the authority to promulgate regulations. Chapter 321 
required that, by December 1, 2008, state agencies either (a) 
adopt these model public participation guidelines as an 
exempt action or (b) if significant additions or changes are 
proposed, promulgate the model public participation 
guidelines with the proposed changes as fast-track regulations 
pursuant to Code of Virginia section § 2.2-4012.1. Pursuant 
to Chapter 321, model PPGs promulgated by agencies after 
January 1, 2009, are subject to the normal requirements of the 
Administrative Process Act.  
Pursuant to 2011 Acts of Assembly, Chapter 871, effective 
July 1, 2012, OSIG is authorized to promulgate regulations 
regarding the performance of its statutory duties regarding the 
proper administration of the Fraud and Abuse Whistle Blower 
Reward Fund including eligibility requirements and 
procedures for filing a claim. Thus, OSIG now proposes to 

promulgate the model PPGs as a fast-track action for 
development of its future regulations. 
The purposes of the model PPG legislation are threefold: first, 
to ensure that each agency or board has a current set of PPGs 
in place.1 Second, to ensure that each agency's or board's 
PPGs incorporate the use of technology such as the Virginia 
Regulatory Town Hall, email to the extent possible, and the 
use of electronic mailing lists. Last, but perhaps most 
importantly, to have uniform guidelines in place to facilitate 
citizen participation in rulemaking and to make those 
guidelines consistent, to the extent possible, among all 
executive branch boards and agencies. For all of these 
reasons, citizens who are interested in participating in the 
OSIG's rulemaking process will benefit from the 
promulgation of these PPGs. 
Businesses and Entities Affected. While OSIG has a broad 
client base, these PPGs are proposed for development of 
Fraud and Abuse Whistle Blower Reward Fund regulations, 
the only regulations OSIG foresees at this time it will 
develop. Thus, citizens who are interested in participating in 
the OSIG's rulemaking process for the fund may be affected. 
Although there is no information on who may be interested in 
OSIG's rulemaking process, between July 1, 2012, and 
September 30, 2015, OSIG received 4,386 hotline calls, of 
which 1,971 were assigned for investigation. 
Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
do not disproportionately affect particular localities. 
Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
do not directly affect employment. 
Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendments do not directly affect the use and value 
of private property. 
Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
do not directly affect real estate development costs. 
Small Businesses:  
Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 
Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments do not 
directly affect small businesses. 
Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 
proposed amendments do not adversely affect small 
businesses. 
Adverse Impacts:  
Businesses: The proposed amendments do not adversely 
affect non-small businesses. 
Localities: The proposed amendments do not adversely affect 
localities. 
Other Entities: The proposed amendments do not adversely 
affect other entities. 
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__________________________ 
1Some agencies and boards have not updated their PPGs since the mid-late 
1980's. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Office 
of the State Inspector General concurs with the findings of the 
Department of Planning and Budget's economic impact 
analysis. 
Summary: 

The regulations are based on model public participation 
guidelines issued by the Department of Planning and 
Budget pursuant to Chapter 321 of the 2008 Acts of 
Assembly. Public participation guidelines exist to promote 
public involvement in the development, amendment, or 
repeal of an agency's regulations. The public participation 
guidelines include (i) providing for the establishment and 
maintenance of notification lists of interested persons and 
specifying the information to be sent to such persons; (ii) 
providing for public comments on regulatory actions; (iii) 
establishing the time period during which public comments 
shall be accepted; (iv) providing that the plan to hold a 
public meeting shall be indicated in any notice of intended 
regulatory action; (v) providing for the appointment, when 
necessary, of regulatory advisory panels to provide 
professional specialization or technical assistance and 
negotiated rulemaking panels if a regulatory action is 
expected to be controversial; and (vi) providing for the 
periodic review of regulations. 

CHAPTER 5 
PUBLIC PARTIPATION GUIDELINES 

Part I  
Purpose and Definitions  

1VAC42-5-10. Purpose. 
The purpose of this chapter is to promote public 

involvement in the development, amendment, or repeal of the 
regulations of the Office of the State Inspector General. This 
chapter does not apply to regulations, guidelines, or other 
documents exempted or excluded from the provisions of the 
Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia).  
1VAC42-5-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Administrative Process Act" means Chapter 40 (§ 2.2-4000 
et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Agency" means the Office of the State Inspector General, 
which is the unit of state government empowered by the 
agency's basic law to make regulations or decide cases. 
Actions specified in this chapter may be fulfilled by state 
employees as delegated by the agency. 

"Basic law" means provisions in the Code of Virginia that 
delineate the basic authority and responsibilities of an agency.  

"Commonwealth Calendar" means the electronic calendar 
for official government meetings open to the public as 
required by § 2.2-3707 C of the Freedom of Information Act 
(§ 2.2-3700 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

''Negotiated rulemaking panel'' or ''NRP'' means an ad hoc 
advisory panel of interested parties established by an agency 
to consider issues that are controversial with the assistance of 
a facilitator or mediator, for the purpose of reaching a 
consensus in the development of a proposed regulatory 
action. 

"Notification list" means a list used to notify persons 
pursuant to this chapter. Such a list may include an electronic 
list maintained through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall or 
other list maintained by the agency. 

"Open meeting" means any scheduled gathering of a unit of 
state government empowered by an agency's basic law to 
make regulations or decide cases, which is related to 
promulgating, amending, or repealing a regulation.  

"Person" means any individual, corporation, partnership, 
association, cooperative, limited liability company, trust, joint 
venture, government, political subdivision, or any other legal 
or commercial entity and any successor, representative, agent, 
agency, or instrumentality thereof. 

"Public hearing" means a scheduled time at which members 
or staff of the agency will meet for the purpose of receiving 
public comment on a regulatory action.  

"Regulation" means any statement of general application 
having the force of law, affecting the rights or conduct of any 
person, adopted by the agency in accordance with the 
authority conferred on it by applicable laws. 

"Regulatory action" means the promulgation, amendment, or 
repeal of a regulation by the agency. 

"Regulatory advisory panel" or "RAP" means a standing or 
ad hoc advisory panel of interested parties established by the 
agency for the purpose of assisting in regulatory actions. 

"Town Hall" means the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall, the 
website operated by the Virginia Department of Planning and 
Budget at www.townhall.virginia.gov that has online public 
comment forums and displays information about regulatory 
meetings and regulatory actions under consideration in 
Virginia and sends this information to registered public users.  

"Virginia Register" means the Virginia Register of 
Regulations, the publication that provides official legal notice 
of new, amended, and repealed regulations of state agencies, 
which is published under the provisions of Article 6 (§ 2.2-
4031 et seq.) of the Administrative Process Act. 

Part II  
Notification of Interested Persons 

1VAC42-5-30. Notification list. 
A. The agency shall maintain a list of persons who have 

requested to be notified of regulatory actions being pursued 
by the agency. 
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B. Any person may request to be placed on a notification list 
by registering as a public user on the Town Hall or by making 
a request to the agency. Any person who requests to be placed 
on a notification list shall elect to be notified either by 
electronic means or through a postal carrier.  

C. The agency may maintain additional lists for persons who 
have requested to be informed of specific regulatory issues, 
proposals, or actions. 

D. When electronic mail is returned as undeliverable on 
multiple occasions at least 24 hours apart, that person may be 
deleted from the list. A single undeliverable message is 
insufficient cause to delete the person from the list.  

E. When mail delivered by a postal carrier is returned as 
undeliverable on multiple occasions, that person may be 
deleted from the list.  

F. The agency may periodically request those persons on the 
notification list to indicate their desire to either continue to be 
notified electronically, receive documents through a postal 
carrier, or be deleted from the list. 
1VAC42-5-40. Information to be sent to persons on the 
notification list. 

A. To persons electing to receive electronic notification or 
notification through a postal carrier as described in 1VAC42-
5-30, the agency shall send the following information: 

1. A notice of intended regulatory action (NOIRA). 
2. A notice of the comment period on a proposed or a 
reproposed regulation and hyperlinks to, or instructions on 
how to obtain, a copy of the regulation and any supporting 
documents. 
3. A notice soliciting comment on a final regulation when 
the regulatory process has been extended pursuant to § 2.2-
4007.06 or 2.2-4013 C of the Code of Virginia. 

B. The failure of any person to receive any notice or copies 
of any documents shall not affect the validity of any 
regulation or regulatory action. 

Part III  
Public Participation Procedures  

1VAC42-5-50. Public comment. 
A. In considering any nonemergency, nonexempt regulatory 

action, the agency shall afford interested persons an 
opportunity to (i) submit data, views, and arguments, either 
orally or in writing, to the agency, and (ii) be accompanied by 
and represented by counsel or other representative. Such 
opportunity to comment shall include an online public 
comment forum on the Town Hall. 

1. To any requesting person, the agency shall provide 
copies of the statement of basis, purpose, substance, and 
issues; the economic impact analysis of the proposed or 
fast-track regulatory action; and the agency's response to 
public comments received.  

2. The agency may begin crafting a regulatory action prior 
to or during any opportunities it provides to the public to 
submit comments.  

B. The agency shall accept public comments in writing after 
the publication of a regulatory action in the Virginia Register 
as follows: 

1. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of the notice of intended regulatory action 
(NOIRA). 
2. For a minimum of 60 calendar days following the 
publication of a proposed regulation. 
3. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a reproposed regulation. 
4. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a final adopted regulation. 
5. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 
publication of a fast-track regulation. 
6. For a minimum of 21 calendar days following the 
publication of a notice of periodic review. 
7. Not later than 21 calendar days following the publication 
of a petition for rulemaking. 

C. The agency may determine if any of the comment periods 
listed in subsection B of this section shall be extended. 

D. If the Governor finds that one or more changes with 
substantial impact have been made to a proposed regulation, 
he may require the agency to provide an additional 30 
calendar days to solicit additional public comment on the 
changes in accordance with § 2.2-4013 C of the Code of 
Virginia.  

E. The agency shall send a draft of the agency's summary 
description of public comment to all public commenters on 
the proposed regulation at least five days before final 
adoption of the regulation pursuant to § 2.2-4012 E of the 
Code of Virginia.  
1VAC42-5-60. Petition for rulemaking. 

A. As provided in § 2.2-4007 of the Code of Virginia, any 
person may petition the agency to consider a regulatory 
action. 

B. A petition shall include but is not limited to the following 
information: 

1. The petitioner's name and contact information; 
2. The substance and purpose of the rulemaking that is 
requested, including reference to any applicable Virginia 
Administrative Code sections; and  
3. Reference to the legal authority of the agency to take the 
action requested. 

C. The agency shall receive, consider and respond to a 
petition pursuant to § 2.2-4007 and shall have the sole 
authority to dispose of the petition.  

D. The petition shall be posted on the Town Hall and 
published in the Virginia Register.  
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E. Nothing in this chapter shall prohibit the agency from 
receiving information or from proceeding on its own motion 
for rulemaking. 
1VAC42-5-70. Appointment of regulatory advisory panel. 

A. The agency may appoint a RAP to provide professional 
specialization or technical assistance when the agency 
determines that such expertise is necessary to address a 
specific regulatory issue or action or when individuals 
indicate an interest in working with the agency on a specific 
regulatory issue or action. 

B. Any person may request the appointment of a RAP and 
request to participate in its activities. The agency shall 
determine when a RAP shall be appointed and the 
composition of the RAP. 

C. A RAP may be dissolved by the agency if: 
1. The proposed text of the regulation is posted on the 
Town Hall, published in the Virginia Register, or such 
other time as the agency determines is appropriate; or 
2. The agency determines that the regulatory action is 
either exempt or excluded from the requirements of the 
Administrative Process Act. 

1VAC42-5-80. Appointment of negotiated rulemaking 
panel. 

A. The agency may appoint an NRP if a regulatory action is 
expected to be controversial. 

B. An NRP that has been appointed by the agency may be 
dissolved by the agency when: 

1. There is no longer controversy associated with the 
development of the regulation;  
2. The agency determines that the regulatory action is 
either exempt or excluded from the requirements of the 
Administrative Process Act; or 
3. The agency determines that resolution of a controversy 
is unlikely.  

1VAC42-5-90. Meetings. 
Notice of any open meeting, including meetings of a RAP or 

an NRP, shall be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town 
Hall and Commonwealth Calendar at least seven working 
days prior to the date of the meeting. The exception to this 
requirement is any meeting held in accordance with § 2.2-
3707 D of the Code of Virginia allowing for 
contemporaneous notice to be provided to participants and the 
public. 
1VAC42-5-100. Public hearings on regulations. 

A. The agency shall indicate in its notice of intended 
regulatory action whether it plans to hold a public hearing 
following the publication of the proposed stage of the 
regulatory action.  

B. The agency may conduct one or more public hearings 
during the comment period following the publication of a 
proposed regulatory action.  

C. An agency is required to hold a public hearing following 
the publication of the proposed regulatory action when:  

1. The agency's basic law requires the agency to hold a 
public hearing;  
2. The Governor directs the agency to hold a public 
hearing; or  
3. The agency receives requests for a public hearing from 
at least 25 persons during the public comment period 
following the publication of the notice of intended 
regulatory action.  

D. Notice of any public hearing shall be posted on the Town 
Hall and Commonwealth Calendar at least seven working 
days prior to the date of the hearing. The agency shall also 
notify those persons who requested a hearing under 
subdivision C 3 of this section.  
1VAC42-5-110. Periodic review of regulations. 

A. The agency shall conduct a periodic review of its 
regulations consistent with the following: 

1. An executive order issued by the Governor pursuant to 
§ 2.2-4017 of the Administrative Process Act to receive 
comment on all existing regulations as to their 
effectiveness, efficiency, necessity, clarity, and cost of 
compliance; and  
2. The requirements in § 2.2-4007.1 of the Administrative 
Process Act regarding regulatory flexibility for small 
businesses. 

B. A periodic review may be conducted separately or in 
conjunction with other regulatory actions. 

C. Notice of a periodic review shall be posted on the Town 
Hall and published in the Virginia Register. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4535; Filed November 13, 2015, 5:07 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 

CORRECTIONS 

BOARD OF JUVENILE JUSTICE 

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 6VAC35-71. Regulation Governing 
Juvenile Correctional Centers (amending 6VAC35-71-
350).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 66-10 and 66-13 of the Code of 
Virginia.  
Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  
Public Comment Deadline: January 13, 2016. 
Effective Date: January 30, 2016.  
Agency Contact: Janet Van Cuyk, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Juvenile Justice, 600 East Main Street, 20th 
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Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 588-3879, 
FAX (804) 371-6490, or email 
janet.vancuyk@djj.virginia.gov. 
Basis: Section 66-4 of the Code of Virginia creates the board, 
while § 66-10 of the Code of Virginia provides that the board 
shall have the power and duty to promulgate such regulations 
as may be necessary to carry out the provisions of Title 66 of 
the Code of Virginia and the other laws of the 
Commonwealth. Per § 66-24 D of the Code of Virginia, the 
board is required to promulgate regulations for licensure or 
certification of community group homes or other residential 
facilities that contract with or are rented for the care of 
juveniles in direct state care. The board's regulations shall 
address the services required to be provided in such facilities 
as it may deem appropriate to ensure the welfare and safety of 
the juveniles. In addition, the board's regulations "shall 
include, but need not be limited to, (i) specifications for the 
structure and accommodations of such facilities according to 
the needs of the juveniles to be placed in the home or facility; 
(ii) rules concerning allowable activities, local government- 
and group home- or residential care facility-imposed curfews, 
and study, recreational, and bedtime hours; and (iii) a 
requirement that each home or facility have a community 
liaison who shall be responsible for facilitating cooperative 
relationships with the neighbors, the school system, local law 
enforcement, local government officials, and the community 
at large." 
Purpose: During the drafting of Regulation Governing 
Juvenile Correctional Centers (6VAC35-71), an exemption 
for secure facilities was erroneously deleted that had been 
provided for in the previous regulation, Standards for Interim 
Regulation of Children's Residential Facilities (6VAC35-51-
460 D). This section stated: "There shall be one toilet, one 
hand basin, and one shower or tub for every four residents in 
any building constructed or structurally modified after July 1, 
1981, except secure custody facilities. Facilities licensed after 
December 28, 2007, shall comply with the one-to-four ratio." 
The previous regulations granted secure custody facilities 
built prior to December 28, 2007, an exception to the one-to-
four ratio because these facilities were built when the 
construction standard was one toilet, one hand basin, and one 
shower or tub for every eight residents. The Standards for 
Interim Regulation of Children's Residential Facilities 
6VAC35-51 were effective September 17, 2008, through 
December 31, 2013.  
The current regulation governing juvenile correctional centers 
became effective January 1, 2014, and does not include the 
exemption for secure facilities built prior to 2007. Without 
this exemption, secure custody facilities constructed after July 
1, 1981, are required to conform to the one-to-four ratio. 
However, the majority of secure facilities across the 
Commonwealth cannot meet this regulatory requirement 
since they were constructed using a one-to-eight ratio that 
was required by construction speculations in effect from July 
1, 1981, through December 27, 2007. It will be cost 

prohibitive for facilities to meet the requirements set forth in 
the current regulations.  
The fast-track rulemaking process is requested to amend the 
language in 6VAC35-71-350 to include the exemption 
language. The amended language, if approved, will be 
substantially similar to the original language drafted in 
6VAC35-51-460 that grandfathers in those facilities certified 
prior to December 28, 2007, that were constructed to conform 
to the one-to-eight ratio. All of other sections of the 
regulation remain unchanged. 
The amendments have no known no impact on the public 
health, safety, or welfare. 
Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: It is anticipated that 
the amendment to 6VAC35-71-350 will be noncontroversial 
as the proposed change reinserts language that was 
erroneously deleted in the regulatory action that superseded 
the regulatory provision with the exemption. The department 
and the board are of the understanding that this action is 
correcting a scrivener's error. There was no public comment 
in opposition to the proposed amendment. The juvenile 
correctional center facility administrators, the department's 
certification unit, the department's administration, and the 
board support the proposed amendment as noncontroversial. 
Concurrently, on January 7, 2014, the board granted all 
juvenile correctional centers built prior to December 28, 
2007, a variance to the one-to-four ratio required in 6VAC35-
71-350 until such time as the regulations were amended with 
the understanding that a similar regulatory action be pursued 
to reincorporate the exemption for juvenile correctional 
centers. 
Substance: The proposed amendment changes the date for 
which juvenile correctional centers are required to comply 
with the requirement to have one toilet, one hand basin, and 
one shower or tub for every four residents (one-to-four ratio) 
in any building constructed or structurally modified after July 
1, 1981, to require only those buildings constructed or 
structurally modified after December 28, 2007, to meet the 
aforementioned one-to-four ratio. 
Issues: The primary advantage of the proposed amendment is 
to correct a drafting error and to avoid a substantial financial 
burden and, thus, achieve a financial saving to the 
Commonwealth for the cost of labor and materials required to 
construct additional bathroom facilities in the four state-
operated juvenile correctional centers to meet the current 
regulatory requirements. In addition to the capital costs, there 
would likely be additional administrative costs associated 
with overtime hours for staff that would be required to 
monitor construction staff to comply with the regulatory 
requirement that staff monitor all situations in which outside 
personnel perform any kind of work in the immediate 
presence of residents. The bathroom facilities are located in 
the juvenile facility living area and construction in this space 
would be disruptive to the juvenile facility daily routines for 
the duration of the construction. There are no advantages or 
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disadvantages to the public and no disadvantages in adopting 
the proposed change to the Commonwealth. 
Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Juvenile Justice proposes to amend building 
standards in its regulation that governs juvenile correctional 
centers to insert an exemption to newer bathing facility 
standards. This exemption was in the regulation that was in 
effect until December 2013 and was unintentionally left out 
of the current superseding regulation.  
Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for this 
proposed regulatory change. 
Estimated Economic Impact. The former regulation for 
juvenile correctional centers contained an exemption for 
secure detention facilities to a general building rule that 
specified that all juvenile justice facilities built or modified 
after July 1, 1981, contain at least one full bathroom 
(containing a toilet, wash basin and tub or shower) for every 
four residents. The exemption only applied the 4/1 ratio 
standard to secure facilities built or modified after December 
28, 2007; facilities built or modified before December 28, 
2007, were subject to a standard that specified one full 
bathroom for every eight residents. This exemption was 
inadvertently left out when a superseding regulation was 
promulgated in 2013. The Board now proposes to insert the 
exemption back into regulation so that secure detention 
facilities are not required to conform to the more stringent 
and costly standard. 
There are currently 553 individuals housed in four state-run 
juvenile correctional centers. Any of these facilities that were 
built or modified between July 1, 1981, (when the new, more 
stringent standard went into general effect) and December 28, 
2007, (when the new, more stringent standard applied under 
the exemption) will save the cost that would be incurred if 
they had to approximately double the number of full 
bathrooms in their facilities. Total cost per facility absent this 
proposed regulatory change would likely be more than 
$10,0001 times the number of bathrooms that would need to 
be added. Given this estimate, the state's cost avoidance on 
account of reinserting the exemption into regulation will be 
considerable. 
Businesses and Entities Affected. There are currently four 
secure juvenile correctional centers in the Commonwealth. To 
the extent that any of these facilities were built or modified 
between July 1, 1981, and December 28, 2007, they will be 
affected by this proposed regulatory action.  
Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 
particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action.  
Projected Impact on Employment. This proposed regulation is 
unlikely to affect employment in the Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 
proposed regulation affects only public secure juvenile 
correctional centers. 
Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. This proposed 
regulation affects only public secure juvenile correctional 
centers. 
Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. This proposed regulation affects only public 
secure juvenile correctional centers. 
Real Estate Development Costs. This proposed regulatory 
action will allow the state to avoid likely large costs for 
having to modify existing secure juvenile correctional 
centers. 
______________________ 
1The Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation recently 
estimated that retrofitting a bathroom with just a toilet and a wash basin to a 
cosmetology establishment would cost approximately $10,000.  It is likely 
safe to assume that it would cost much more than $10,000 to add a full 
bathroom to a facility where security during construction would be an issue.  

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
responsible Virginia Board of Juvenile Justice agency 
representatives have reviewed the Department of Planning 
and Budget (DPB) economic impact analysis. The agency is 
in agreement with DPB's analysis. 
Summary: 

The amendment changes which juvenile correctional 
centers are required to comply with the requirement to 
have one toilet, one hand basin, and one shower or tub for 
every four residents from any building constructed or 
structurally modified after July 1, 1981, to only those 
buildings constructed or structurally modified after 
December 28, 2007. 

6VAC35-71-350. Toilet facilities. 
A. There shall be toilet facilities available for resident use in 

all sleeping areas for each JCC constructed after January 1, 
1998. 

B. There shall be at least one toilet, one hand basin, and one 
shower or tub for every eight residents for facilities certified 
before July 1, 1981 on or before December 27, 2007. There 
shall be one toilet, one hand basin, and one shower or tub for 
every four residents in any building constructed or 
structurally modified after July 1, 1981 on or after December 
28, 2007. 

C. There shall be at least one bathtub in each facility. 
D. The maximum number of employees on duty in the living 

unit shall be counted in determining the required number of 
toilets and hand basins when a separate bathroom is not 
provided for staff. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4034; Filed November 20, 2015, 1:26 p.m.  
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Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 6VAC35-101. Regulation Governing 
Juvenile Secure Detention Centers (amending 6VAC35-
101-420).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 16.1-322.7 and 66-10 of the Code of 
Virginia.  
Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  
Public Comment Deadline: January 13, 2016. 
Effective Date: January 30, 2016.  
Agency Contact: Janet Van Cuyk, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Juvenile Justice, 600 East Main Street, 20th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 588-3879, 
FAX (804) 371-6490, or email 
janet.vancuyk@djj.virginia.gov. 
Basis: Section 66-4 of the Code of Virginia creates the board, 
while § 66-10 of the Code of Virginia provides that the board 
shall have the power and duty to promulgate such regulations 
as may be necessary to carry out the provisions of Title 66 of 
the Code of Virginia and the other laws of the 
Commonwealth. Per § 66-24 D of the Code of Virginia, the 
board is required to promulgate regulations for licensure or 
certification of community group homes or other residential 
facilities that contract with or are rented for the care of 
juveniles in direct state care. The board's regulations shall 
address the services required to be provided in such facilities 
as it may deem appropriate to ensure the welfare and safety of 
the juveniles. In addition, the board's regulations "shall 
include, but need not be limited to (i) specifications for the 
structure and accommodations of such facilities according to 
the needs of the juveniles to be placed in the home or facility; 
(ii) rules concerning allowable activities, local government- 
and group home- or residential care facility-imposed curfews, 
and study, recreational, and bedtime hours; and (iii) a 
requirement that each home or facility have a community 
liaison who shall be responsible for facilitating cooperative 
relationships with the neighbors, the school system, local law 
enforcement, local government officials, and the community 
at large." 
Purpose: During the drafting of Regulation Governing 
Juvenile Secure Detention Centers (6VAC35-101) an 
exemption for secure facilities was erroneously deleted in the 
regulation that had been provided in the previous regulation 
Standards for Interim Regulation of Children's Residential 
Facilities (6VAC35-51-460 D). This section stated: "There 
shall be one toilet, one hand basin, and one shower or tub for 
every four residents in any building constructed or 
structurally modified after July 1, 1981, except secure 
custody facilities. Facilities licensed after December 28, 
2007, shall comply with the one-to-four ratio." The previous 
regulations granted secure custody facilities built prior to 
December 28, 2007, an exception to the one-to-four ratio 
because these facilities were built when the construction 

standard was one toilet, one hand basin, and one shower or 
tub for every eight residents. The Standards for Interim 
Regulation of Children's Residential Facilities 6VAC35-51 
were effective September 17, 2008, through December 31, 
2013. 
The current regulation governing juvenile secure detention 
centers became effective January 1, 2014, and does not 
include the exemption for secure facilities built prior to 2007. 
Without this exemption, secure custody facilities constructed 
after July 1, 1981, are required to conform to the one-to-four 
ratio. However, the majority of secure facilities across the 
Commonwealth cannot meet this regulatory requirement 
since they were constructed using a one-to-eight ratio that 
was required by construction speculations in effect from July 
1, 1981, through December 27, 2007. It will be cost 
prohibitive for facilities to meet the requirements set forth in 
the current regulations.  
The fast-track rulemaking process is requested to amend the 
language in 6VAC35-101-420 to include the exemption 
language. The amended language, if approved, will be 
substantially similar to the original language drafted in 
6VAC35-51-460 that grandfathers in those facilities certified 
prior to December 28, 2007, that were constructed to conform 
to the one-to-eight ratio. All of other sections of the 
regulation will remain unchanged. 
The amendments have no known no impact on the public 
health, safety, or welfare. 
Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: It is anticipated that 
the amendment to 6VAC35-101-420 will be noncontroversial 
as the proposed change reinserts language that was 
erroneously deleted in this regulatory action that superseded 
the regulatory provision with the exemption. The department 
and the board are of the understanding that this action is 
correcting a scrivener's error. There was no public comment 
in opposition to the proposed amendment. The juvenile 
secure detention center administrators, the department's 
certification unit, the department's administration, and the 
board support the proposed amendment as noncontroversial. 
Additionally, on January 7, 2014, the board granted all 
juvenile secure detention centers built prior to December 28, 
2007, a variance to the one-to-four ratio required in 6VAC35-
101-420 until such time as the regulations were amended, 
with the understanding that a similar regulatory action be 
pursued to reincorporate the exemption for juvenile secure 
detention centers. 
Substance: The proposed amendment changes the date for 
which juvenile secure detention centers are required to 
comply with the requirement to have one toilet, one hand 
basin, and one shower or tub for every four residents (one-to-
four ratio) in any building constructed or structurally 
modified after July 1, 1981, to require only those buildings 
constructed or structurally modified after December 28, 2007, 
to meet the aforementioned one-to-four ratio. 
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Issues: The primary advantage of the proposed amendment is 
to correct a drafting error and to avoid a substantial financial 
burden and, thus, achieve a financial saving to the local 
governments operating secure juvenile detention centers. The 
localities will not have to fund the cost of labor and materials 
required to construct additional bathroom facilities in the 24 
juvenile secure detention centers to meet the current 
regulatory requirements. In addition to the capital costs, there 
would likely be additional administrative costs associated 
with overtime hours for staff that would be required to 
monitor construction staff to comply with the regulatory 
requirement that staff monitor all situations in which outside 
personnel perform any kind of work in the immediate 
presence of residents. The bathroom facilities are located in 
the juvenile facility living area and construction in this space 
would be disruptive to the juvenile facility daily routines for 
the duration of the construction. There are no advantages or 
disadvantages to the public and no disadvantages in adopting 
the proposed change to the Commonwealth. 
Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Juvenile Justice proposes to amend building 
standards in its regulation that governs juvenile secure 
detention centers to insert an exemption to newer bathing 
facility standards. This exemption was in the regulation that 
was in effect until December 2013 and was unintentionally 
left out of the current superseding regulation.  
Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for this 
proposed regulatory change. 
Estimated Economic Impact. The former regulation for 
juvenile secure detention centers contained an exemption for 
secure detention facilities to a general building rule that 
specified that all juvenile justice facilities built or modified 
after July 1, 1981, contain at least one full bathroom 
(containing a toilet, wash basin and tub or shower) for every 
four residents. The exemption only applied the 4/1 ratio 
standard to secure facilities built or modified after December 
28, 2007; facilities built or modified before December 28, 
2007, were subject to a standard that specified one full 
bathroom for every eight residents. This exemption was 
inadvertently left out when a superseding regulation was 
promulgated in 2013. The Board now proposes to insert the 
exemption back into regulation so that secure detention 
facilities are not required to conform to the more stringent 
and costly standard. 
There are currently 778 individuals housed in 24 locality-run 
juvenile secure detention centers. Any of these facilities that 
were built or modified between July 1, 1981, (when the new, 
more stringent standard went into general effect) and 
December 28, 2007, (when the new, more stringent standard 
applied under the exemption) will save the cost that would be 
incurred if they had to approximately double the number of 
full bathrooms in their facilities. Total cost per facility absent 

this proposed regulatory change would likely be more than 
$10,0001 times the number of bathrooms that would need to 
be added. Given this estimate, affected localities' cost 
avoidance on account of reinserting the exemption into 
regulation will be considerable. 
Businesses and Entities Affected. There are currently 24 
locality-run juvenile secure detention centers in the 
Commonwealth. To the extent that any of these facilities were 
built or modified between July 1, 1981, and December 28, 
2007, they will be affected by this proposed regulatory action.  
Localities Particularly Affected. Localities that have juvenile 
secure detention facilities will be particularly affected by this 
proposed regulatory action.  
Projected Impact on Employment. This proposed regulation is 
unlikely to affect employment in the Commonwealth. 
Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 
proposed regulation affects only public juvenile secure 
detention centers. 
Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. This proposed 
regulation affects only public juvenile secure detention 
centers. 
Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. This proposed regulation affects only public 
juvenile secure detention centers. 
Real Estate Development Costs. This proposed regulatory 
action will allow affected Virginia localities to avoid likely 
large costs for having to modify existing juvenile secure 
detention centers. 
______________________ 
1The Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation recently 
estimated that retrofitting a bathroom with just a toilet and a wash basin to a 
cosmetology establishment would cost approximately $10,000. It is likely 
safe to assume that it would cost much more than $10,000 to add a full 
bathroom to a facility where security during construction would be an issue.  

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
responsible Virginia Board of Juvenile Justice agency 
representatives have reviewed the Department of Planning 
and Budget (DPB) economic impact analysis. The agency is 
in agreement with DPB's analysis. 
Summary: 

The amendment changes which juvenile secure detention 
centers are required to comply with the requirement to 
have one toilet, one hand basin, and one shower or tub for 
every four residents from any building constructed or 
structurally modified after July 1, 1981, to only those 
buildings constructed or structurally modified after 
December 28, 2007. 

6VAC35-101-420. Toilet facilities. 
A. There shall be toilet facilities available for resident use in 

all sleeping rooms for each detention center constructed after 
January 1, 1998. 

B. There shall be at least one toilet, one hand basin, and one 
shower or bathtub for every eight residents for detention 
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centers constructed before July 1, 1981 on or before 
December 27, 2007. There shall be one toilet, one hand basin, 
and one shower or tub for every four residents in any building 
constructed or structurally modified after July 1, 1981 on or 
after December 28, 2007. 

C. There shall be at least one bathtub in each facility. 
D. The maximum number of staff members on duty in the 

living unit shall be counted in determining the required 
number of toilets and hand basins when a separate bathroom 
is not provided for staff. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4035; Filed November 20, 2015, 1:23 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Final Regulation 
Titles of Regulations: 8VAC20-60. Regulations Governing 
the Approval of Correspondence Courses for Home 
Instruction (repealing 8VAC20-60-10 through 8VAC20-
60-100). 
8VAC20-340. Regulations Governing Driver Education 
(adding 8VAC20-340-5, 8VAC20-340-40).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 22.1-16 and 22.1-205 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
Effective Date: January 13, 2016.  
Agency Contact: Melissa Luchau, Director for Board 
Relations, Department of Education, P.O. Box 2120, 101 
North 14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 225-2924, FAX (804) 225-2524, or email 
melissa.luchau@doe.virginia.gov. 
Summary:  

The regulatory action repeals 8VAC20-60, Regulations 
Governing the Approval of Correspondence Courses for 
Home Instruction, and amends 8VAC20-340, Regulations 
Governing Driver Education. The amendments (i) 
incorporate the definition section from 8VAC20-60, with 
minor revisions, and add a definition for the term "parent"; 
(ii) require the applicant to submit as part of the 
application process an affidavit, a schedule of tuition and 
fees, a description of its refund policy, and copies of all 
application forms and enrollment agreements used by the 
applicant; (iii) expand the approval criteria by requiring 
that the content of each course meets the requirements of 
the Driver Education Standards of Learning and the 
Curriculum and Administrative Guide for Driver Education 
in Virginia, 2010 edition; (iv) address approval and denial 
of an application, and revocation of an approved 
application; and (v) permit reconsideration by the board 
when an application is denied or when approval is revoked.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 
public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  
8VAC20-340-5. Definitions. 

The following words or terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Education. 
"Correspondence school" means a school, organization, or 

other entity, no matter how titled, that teaches students by 
mailing them lessons and exercises that upon completion are 
returned to the school for grading. Such lessons or exercises 
also may be transmitted and graded by electronic means. 

"Course" means the presentation of an orderly sequence of 
material dealing with an individual subject area, such as 
driver education. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Education. 
"Home instruction" means the teaching of a child or children 

by a teaching parent in the home as an alternative to meeting 
the requirements of compulsory attendance as defined in 
§ 22.1-254 of the Code of Virginia and as a means of 
complying with § 22.1-254.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Parent" means any parent, guardian, legal guardian, or 
other person having control or charge of a child as specified 
in § 22.1-1 of the Code of Virginia.  

"School" means a correspondence school for driver 
education programs. 
8VAC20-340-40. Approval of correspondence courses for 
driver education. 

A. Required submissions. Schools seeking approval to offer 
the classroom portion of a driver education program to 
school-age children through a correspondence program or 
course in Virginia shall submit the following: 

1. A signed and completed copy of the department's 
affidavit form. 
2. A catalog or other documents containing the following 
information: 

a. A statement of ownership or control of the institution; 
b. Descriptions of the driver education courses offered by 
the institution; 
c. A description of the method used to evaluate the 
students' work;  
d. A schedule of tuition and fees, including the school's 
refund policies; and 
e. Copies of all application forms and enrollment 
agreements used by the school. 

3. Verification of approval or exemption from regular 
oversight from the appropriate state or local government 
agency in the school's state of domicile. 
4. Information regarding the school's accreditation status. 
5. The name and publisher of the textbook required. 
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6. An estimate of the minimum amount of time (in hours) 
required to complete the course. 
7. Such additional information as the board or department 
may deem necessary. 

B. All schools must evaluate the students' work at regular 
intervals specified by the department and maintain a 
permanent record of the work.  

C. Each school meeting the criteria listed in this section is 
required to submit the required materials for review every 
year concurrent with the renewal affidavit. 

D. Approval criteria. Driver education courses offered by 
schools submitting the materials required by this section shall 
be approved [ if when ] the following criteria have been met: 

1. The school is, in fact, a correspondence school as 
defined in 8VAC20-340-5; 
2. The courses offered are consistent with state or federal 
laws or regulations;  
3. The school evaluates the students' progress at regular 
intervals specified by the department and maintains a 
permanent record of that work; and 
4. The content of each course is accurate [ , and ] rigorous 
[ , ] and meets the requirements of the Curriculum and 
Administrative Guide for Driver Education in Virginia, 
2010 edition, which includes the Driver Education 
Standards of Learning. 

The school must provide evidence that at least two subject 
matter experts have reviewed and validated the accuracy of 
online content and textbook materials. 

E. [ The department will consider an application complete 
when it determines that An application shall be complete 
when ] all required information has been submitted in the 
form required by the department. If the department [ finds, on 
behalf of the board, determines ] the application [ to be ] 
incomplete, [ the department shall notify ] the applicant [ will 
be notified of the insufficiencies ] in writing within 45 days 
of receipt of the incomplete application. [ If the The ] 
applicant [ does not resubmit a complete application must 
submit the required items to complete the application, to be 
received by the department ] within 45 days from the 
notification [ ,. If the application is not completed within the 
45-day period, ] the case file for the request for approval as a 
provider will be closed. [ Prior At any time prior ] to closure, 
the applicant may withdraw the request for approval. The 
applicant may [ resubmit a complete submit a new ] 
application at [ a later any ] time. 

[ F. Approval process. After a review of the complete 
application, the department will notify the applicant of its 
decision regarding approval. If the application is approved, 
the department will issue a letter of approval with terms of the 
approval. If the department denies or revokes the approval for 
good cause, the department will issue a letter stating the 
reasons for revocation and denial, including information 
regarding the applicant's right to appeal this decision. 

G. Appeal process for denial or revocation.  
1. Fact-finding conference: notification, appearance, and 
conduct. 

a. Unless emergency circumstances exist that require 
immediate action, no application shall be denied, 
suspended, or revoked except upon notice stating the 
proposed basis for such action and the time and place for 
a fact-finding conference.  
b. If a basis exists for a refusal to approve or a 
suspension or a revocation of the department's approval, 
the department shall notify, via certified or hand-
delivered mail, the interested parties at the address of 
record maintained by the department. 
c. Notification shall include the basis for the proposed 
action and any information in the possession of the 
department that can be relied upon in making an adverse 
decision.  
d. The fact-finding conference shall afford the interested 
party the opportunity to present written and oral 
information to the department that may have a bearing on 
the proposed action at a fact-finding conference. Such 
information should include a brief, written statement of 
errors the party believes were made in the department's 
decision.  
e. If no withdrawal occurs, a fact-finding conference 
shall be scheduled at the earliest mutually agreeable date, 
but no later than 60 days from the date of the notification. 
A school wishing to waive its right to a conference to 
proceed directly to a formal hearing shall notify the 
department of such at least 14 days before the scheduled 
conference. 
f. The department may rely on public data, documents, or 
information in making its decision if all parties are given 
advance notice of the department's intent to rely on such 
data.  
g. If, after consideration of information presented during 
an informal fact-finding conference, a basis for adverse 
action still exists, the department shall send to the 
interested parties a report on the fact-finding conference 
within 90 days of the conference, via certified or hand-
delivered mail, that shall include the decision, a brief and 
general description of the factual or procedural basis for 
the decision, and the right to a formal hearing.  
h. Parties may enter into a consent agreement to settle the 
issues at any time prior to, during, or subsequent to an 
informal fact-finding conference. 

2. Hearing: notification, appearance, and conduct. 
a. If an interested party intends to request a formal 
hearing, it shall notify the department within 30 days of 
receipt of a report on the fact-finding conference.  
b. Parties shall be given reasonable notice of the (i) time, 
place, and nature of the hearing; (ii) basic law under 
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which the department contemplates its possible exercise 
of authority; and (iii) matters of fact and law asserted or 
questioned by the department.  
c. If an interested party or representative fails to appear at 
a hearing, the hearing officer may proceed in the party's 
or representative's absence and make a recommendation. 
d. Oral and written arguments may be submitted to and 
limited by the hearing officer. Oral arguments shall be 
recorded in an appropriate manner. 
e. The burden of proof at such hearings shall be on the 
party seeking to reverse the decision of the department.  

3. Hearing location. Hearings before a hearing officer shall 
be held, insofar as practical, in the county or city in which 
the school is located. Hearing officers may conduct 
hearings at locations convenient to the greatest number of 
persons or by telephone conference, videoconference, or 
similar technology in order to expedite the hearing process. 
No hearing shall be located outside of the Commonwealth 
of Virginia unless it is held by electronic means as 
specified in the Code of Virginia.  
4. Hearing decisions. 

a. Recommendations of the hearing officer shall be a part 
of the record and shall include a written statement of the 
hearing officer's findings of fact and recommendations as 
well as the reasons or basis for the recommendations. 
Recommendations shall be based upon all the material 
issues of fact, law, or discretion presented on the record. 
b. The Superintendent of Public Instruction shall review 
the recommendation of the hearing officer and render a 
decision on the recommendation within 30 days of 
receipt. The decision shall cite the appropriate rule, 
relief, or denial thereof as to each issue. 
c. The Superintendent of Public Instruction's decision 
regarding the school's approval shall be delivered to the 
concerned parties within five days of the decision and 
include a brief statement of the conclusions, the basis of 
the conclusions, the basic law upon which the department 
relies, and the recommendation of the hearing officer.  

5. Agency representation. The Superintendent of Public 
Instruction's designee may represent the department in an 
informal conference or at a hearing. 

F. Approval, denial, and revocation. 
1. The department, on behalf of the board, shall notify 
applicants in writing when an application is approved.  
2. Applications that do not meet the criteria required by 
subsections A, B, and D of this section shall be denied. The 
department shall notify applicants in writing of the denial, 
stating the reasons the application was denied and 
including the applicant's right to request the board to 
reconsider the application, pursuant to subsection G of this 
section. 

3. An approved application may be revoked for good 
cause, which includes, but is not limited to, the conviction 
of the applicant, or any employee thereof, of (i) any felony 
or (ii) any offense involving the sexual molestation, 
physical or sexual abuse, or rape of a child. 

G. Reconsideration by the Board of Education when an 
application is denied or when approval is revoked. A school 
whose application has been denied or whose approval has 
been revoked for good cause may request reconsideration by 
letter to the board. The letter of request shall include the 
reasons that the school believes the denial or revocation was 
inappropriate and shall document how it has corrected any 
insufficiency identified in the letter of denial or revocation. 
The board's decision on reconsideration shall be final on that 
application; however, a denial of reconsideration shall not 
prevent the school from submitting a new application at a 
later time. ]  

H. Determination of continued compliance. Approval of the 
academic courses shall be renewed annually on or before 
August 1, provided that the school verifies that it continues to 
meet the requirements of this section. Forms for this purpose 
shall be provided by the department. 

I. Disclaimer. The Board of Education's approval of a 
correspondence course is not an endorsement of the program 
as a substitute for public school programs nor is it an 
endorsement of the educational or operational philosophy of 
the school. Additionally, the approval of courses is not 
intended as an endorsement of the quality of the courses nor 
is it a conclusion that these courses meet the educational 
needs of the student or the assessment required by § 22.1-
254.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Parents who choose to educate their children at home 
through a driver education correspondence course are directly 
responsible for the educational progress of their children and 
the adequacy of instruction. The board assumes no liability 
for damages or financial loss to parents using any of the 
approved driver education correspondence courses.  

J. Restrictions. No school whose courses are approved as a 
driver education program shall advertise in any way that the 
courses have the endorsement, recommendation, 
accreditation, or recognition, or any other similar term, of the 
board, the department, or the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

K. Transmitting the affidavit, documents, and other 
materials. The affidavit, related letters, forms, and other 
required application materials must be submitted to the 
Division of Instruction at the Virginia Department of 
Education by email to the Driver Education Specialist, whose 
contact information may be found at 
http://www.doe.virginia.gov/directories/index.shtml#vdoe. 
NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 
regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 
published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations may click on the name to access a 
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form. The forms are also available from the agency contact or 
may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia 
23219. 
FORMS (8VAC20-340) 

Affidavit for Approval to Provide Driver Education 
Programs for Parents Approved to Home School [ undated 
(rev. 5/2013) ]  

Classroom Driver Education Program Approval/Renewal for 
Homeschool Students [ undated (rev. 5/2013) ] 
DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 
(8VAC20-340)  

[ Curriculum Guide of Driver Education in Virginia. ] 
Curriculum and Administrative Guide for Driver Education 

in Virginia, 2010 Edition (includes Driver Education 
Standards of Learning, revised January 2008), Virginia 
Department of Education 
[ (http://www.doe.virginia.gov/instruction/driver_education/c
urriculum_admin_guide/index.shtml). 

Program Administration 
Module One – Virginia Driver Responsibilities: Licensing 
Responsibilities 
Module Two – Virginia Driver Responsibilities: Preparing 
to Operate a Vehicle 
Module Three – Basic Maneuvering Tasks: Low Risk 
Environment 
Module Four – Basic Maneuvering Tasks: Moderate Risk 
Driving Environment 
Module Five – Information Processing: Moderate Risk 
Driving Environment 
Module Six – Information Processing: Complex Risk 
Environments 
Module Seven – Driver Performance: Personal Factors 
Module Eight – Driver Responsibilities: Adverse 
Conditions 
Module Eight – Driver Responsibilities: Adverse 
Conditions 
Module Nine – Driver Responsibilities: Vehicle Functions 
Module Ten – Driver Responsibilities: Making Informed 
Choices 
Module Eleven – Laboratory Instruction – Behind-the-
Wheel and In-Car Observation 
Resource List ] 

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2644; Filed November 10, 2015, 1:04 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 
claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 
Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 8 of the Code of 
Virginia, which exempts general permits issued by the State 
Water Control Board pursuant to the State Water Control Law 
(§ 62.1-44.2 et seq.), Chapter 24 (§ 62.1-242 et seq.) of Title 
62.1, and Chapter 25 (§ 62.1-254 et seq.) of Title 62.1 if the 
board (i) provides a Notice of Intended Regulatory Action in 
conformance with the provisions of § 2.2-4007.01; (ii) 
following the passage of 30 days from the publication of the 
Notice of Intended Regulatory Action forms a technical 
advisory committee composed of relevant stakeholders, 
including potentially affected citizens groups, to assist in the 
development of the general permit; (iii) provides notice and 
receives oral and written comment as provided in § 2.2-
4007.03; and (iv) conducts at least one public hearing on the 
proposed general permit. 
Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-820. General Virginia 
Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) 
Watershed Permit Regulation for Total Nitrogen and 
Total Phosphorus Discharges and Nutrient Trading in the 
Chesapeake Bay Watershed in Virginia (amending 
9VAC25-820-10 through 9VAC25-820-80; adding 
9VAC25-820-15).  
Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information: 

January 21, 2016 - 2 p.m. - Department of Environmental 
Quality, Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, 
Glen Allen, Virginia 23060 

Public Comment Deadline: February 12, 2016. 
Agency Contact: Allan Brockenbrough, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4147, FAX (804) 
698-4032, or email allan.brockenbrough@deq.virginia.gov. 
Announcement of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review: Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and 
§ 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the agency is 
conducting a periodic review and small business impact 
review of this regulation to determine whether this regulation 
should be terminated, amended, or retained in its current 
form. Public comment is sought on the review of any issue 
relating to this regulation, including whether the regulation (i) 
is necessary for the protection of public health, safety, and 
welfare or for the economical performance of important 
governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the economic impact 
on small businesses in a manner consistent with the stated 
objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly written and 
easily understandable. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a0762002644~4&typ=40&actno=002644&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a0762002644~4&typ=40&actno=002644&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a0762002644~4&typ=40&actno=002644&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=96c60002644~3&typ=40&actno=002644&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=96c60002644~3&typ=40&actno=002644&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1294e002644~3&typ=40&actno=002644&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f372d002644~4&typ=40&actno=002644&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f372d002644~4&typ=40&actno=002644&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1d4ab002644~5&typ=40&actno=002644&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1d4ab002644~5&typ=40&actno=002644&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=faa4d002644~6&typ=40&actno=002644&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=faa4d002644~6&typ=40&actno=002644&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=31484002644~7&typ=40&actno=002644&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=31484002644~7&typ=40&actno=002644&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fe6ee002644~8&typ=40&actno=002644&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fe6ee002644~8&typ=40&actno=002644&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fb2fe002644~9&typ=40&actno=002644&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fb2fe002644~9&typ=40&actno=002644&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d0be9002644~10&typ=40&actno=002644&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6a7f9002644~11&typ=40&actno=002644&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6a7f9002644~11&typ=40&actno=002644&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5934d002644~12&typ=40&actno=002644&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5934d002644~12&typ=40&actno=002644&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cea5d002644~13&typ=40&actno=002644&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=97e87002644~14&typ=40&actno=002644&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=97e87002644~14&typ=40&actno=002644&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=40fd3002644~15&typ=40&actno=002644&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=40fd3002644~15&typ=40&actno=002644&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=44176002644~16&typ=40&actno=002644&mime=application/pdf
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Summary: 

This action amends and reissues the general permit for 
total nitrogen (TN) and total phosphorus (TP) discharges 
and nutrient trading in the Chesapeake Bay watershed in 
Virginia. The regulation provides for the permitting of TN 
and TP discharges in the Chesapeake Bay watershed and 
allows for trading of nutrient credits to minimize costs to 
the regulated facilities and allow for future growth. The 
proposed amendments to the existing regulation update and 
clarify definitions, effective dates, monitoring frequencies 
and sample types, quantification level requirements, 
trading ratio provisions, and new wasteload allocations for 
some facilities as required by the December 29, 2010, 
Chesapeake Bay total maximum daily load (TMDL) with 
associated compliance schedule requirements and 
conditions applicable to all Virginia Pollutant Discharge 
Elimination System permits.  

The most significant proposed changes are (i) reduced 
nutrient wasteload allocations for the significant 
dischargers to the James River Basin, including reduced 
TN wasteload allocations for the Hampton Roads Sanitary 
District facilities and reduced TP wasteload allocations for 
all but two of the significant James River dischargers along 
with associated schedules of compliance; (ii) increased 
monitoring frequencies for facilities with design flows 
between 5.0 and 19.999 millions of gallons per day (MGD) 
and between 0.5 and 0.999 MGD; (iii) the addition of 
maximum quantification level requirements; (iv) the 
addition of a provision to allow a nonpoint source to point 
source trading ratio of less than 2:1 with an associated 
public notice requirement; (v) updated prices of TN and TP 
credit purchases from the Nutrient Offset Fund based on 
the cost of projects financed by the fund over the previous 
permit cycle; and (vi) updated TN and TP delivery factors. 

9VAC25-820-10. Definitions. 
Except as defined below, the words and terms used in this 

chapter shall have the meanings defined in the Virginia 
Pollution Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) 
Permit Regulation (9VAC25-31). 

"Annual mass load of total nitrogen" (expressed in pounds 
per year) means the sum of the total monthly loads for all of 
the months in one calendar year. See Part I E 4 of the general 
permit in 9VAC25-820-70 for calculating total monthly load. 

"Annual mass load of total phosphorus" (expressed in 
pounds per year) means the sum of the total monthly loads for 
all of the months in one calendar year. See Part I E 4 of the 
general permit in 9VAC25-820-70 for calculating total 
monthly load. 

"Association" means the Virginia Nutrient Credit Exchange 
Association authorized by § 62.1-44.19:17 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

"Attenuation" means the rate at which nutrients are reduced 
through natural processes during transport in water. 

"Board" means the Virginia State Water Control Board or 
State Water Control Board. 

"Delivered total nitrogen load" means the discharged mass 
load of total nitrogen from a point source that is adjusted by 
the delivery factor for that point source. 

"Delivered total phosphorus load" means the discharged 
mass load of total phosphorus from a point source that is 
adjusted by the delivery factor for that point source. 

"Delivery factor" means an estimate of the number of 
pounds of total nitrogen or total phosphorus delivered to tidal 
waters for every pound discharged from a permitted facility, 
as determined by the specific geographic location of the 
permitted facility, to account for attenuation that occurs 
during riverine transport between the permitted facility and 
tidal waters. Delivery factors shall be calculated using the 
Chesapeake Bay Program watershed model. For the purpose 
of this regulation, delivery factors with a value greater than 
1.00 in the Chesapeake Bay Program watershed model shall 
be considered to be equal to 1.00. 

"Department" or "DEQ" means the Department of 
Environmental Quality. 

"Director" means the director of the Department of 
Environmental Quality. 

"Eastern Shore trading ratio" means the number ratio of 
pounds of point source credits from another tributary that can 
be acquired and applied by the owner of a facility in the 
Eastern Coastal Shore Basin for every pound of point source 
total nitrogen or total phosphorus discharged from the Eastern 
Shore Basin facility. Trading ratios are expressed in the form 
"credits supplied: credits received." 

"Equivalent load" means: 
2,300 pounds per year of total nitrogen or 300 pounds per 
year of total phosphorus discharged by an industrial facility 
are considered equivalent to the load discharged from 
sewage treatment works with a design capacity of 0.04 
million gallons per day, 
5,700 pounds per year of total nitrogen or 760 pounds per 
year of total phosphorus discharged by an industrial facility 
are considered equivalent to the load discharged from 
sewage treatment works with a design capacity of 0.1 
million gallons per day, and 
28,500 pounds per year of total nitrogen or 3,800 pounds 
per year of total phosphorus discharged by an industrial 
facility are considered equivalent to the load discharged 
from sewage treatment works with a design capacity of 0.5 
million gallons per day. 

"Existing facility" means a facility holding (i) subject to a 
current individual VPDES permit that from which a discharge 
has either commenced discharge from, or for which its owner 
has received a Certificate to Construct (for sewage treatment 
works, or equivalent DEQ approval for discharges from 
industrial facilities) for the treatment works used to derive its 
waste load wasteload allocation on or before July 1, 2005, or 
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(ii) for which the owner has a waste load wasteload allocation 
listed in 9VAC25-720-50 C, 9VAC25-720-60 C, 9VAC25-
720-70 C, 9VAC25-720-110 C, and 9VAC25-720-120 C of 
the Water Quality Management Planning Regulation. 
Existing facility shall also mean and include any facility, 
without not subject to an individual VPDES permit, for which 
its owner holds a separate waste load wasteload allocation in 
9VAC25-720-120 C of the Water Quality Management 
Planning Regulation. 

"Expansion" or "expands" means (i) initiating construction 
at an existing treatment works after July 1, 2005, to increase 
design flow capacity, except that the term does not apply in 
those cases where a Certificate to Construct (for sewage 
treatment works, or equivalent DEQ approval for discharges 
from industrial facilities) was issued on or before July 1, 
2005, or (ii) industrial production process changes or the use 
of new treatment products at industrial facilities that increase 
the annual mass load of total nitrogen or total phosphorus 
above the waste load wasteload allocation. 

"Facility" means a point source discharging from which a 
discharge or proposing to proposed discharge of total nitrogen 
or total phosphorus to the Chesapeake Bay or its tributaries 
exists. This term does not include confined animal feeding 
operations, discharges of storm water, return flows from 
irrigated agriculture, or vessels. 

"General permit" means this general permit authorized by 
§ 62.1-44.19:14 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Industrial facility" means any facility (as defined above) 
other than sewage treatment works. 

"Local water quality-based limitations" means limitations 
intended to protect local water quality including applicable 
total maximum daily load (TMDL) allocations, applicable 
Virginia Pollution Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) 
permit limits, applicable limitations set forth in water quality 
standards established under § 62.1-44.15 (3a) of the Code of 
Virginia, or other limitations as established by the State 
Water Control Board.  

"New discharge" means any discharge from a facility that 
did not commence the discharge of pollutants prior to July 1, 
2005, except that the term does not apply in those cases 
where a Certificate to Construct (for sewage treatment works, 
or equivalent DEQ approval for discharges from industrial 
facilities) was issued to the facility on or before July 1, 2005. 

"Nonsignificant discharger" means (i) a sewage treatment 
works discharging to the Chesapeake Bay watershed 
downstream of the fall line with a design capacity of less than 
0.1 million gallons per day, or less than an equivalent load 
discharged from industrial facilities, or (ii) a sewage 
treatment works discharging to the Chesapeake Bay 
watershed upstream of the fall line with a design capacity of 
less than 0.5 million gallons per day, or less than an 
equivalent load discharged from industrial facilities. 

"Offset" means to acquire an annual waste load wasteload 
allocation of total nitrogen or total phosphorus by for a new 
or expanding facility to ensure that there is no net increase of 
nutrients into the affected tributary of the Chesapeake Bay. 

"Permitted design capacity" or "permitted capacity" means 
the allowable load (pounds per year) assigned to an existing 
facility that is a nonsignificant discharger, and that does not 
have a waste load wasteload allocation listed in 9VAC25-
720-50 C, 9VAC25-720-60 C, 9VAC25-720-70 C, 9VAC25-
720-110 C, and 9VAC25-720-120 C of the Water Quality 
Management Planning Regulation. The permitted design 
capacity is calculated based on the design flow and installed 
nutrient removal technology (for sewage treatment works, or 
equivalent discharge from industrial facilities) at a facility 
that has either commenced discharge, or for which an owner 
has received a Certificate to Construct (for sewage treatment 
works, or equivalent DEQ approval for discharges from 
industrial facilities) prior to July 1, 2005. This mass load is 
used for (i) determining whether the owner of the expanding 
facility must offset additional mass loading of nitrogen and 
phosphorus and (ii) determining whether the owner of the 
facility must acquire credits at the end of a calendar year. For 
the purpose of this regulation chapter, owners of facilities that 
have installed secondary wastewater treatment (intended to 
achieve BOD and TSS monthly average concentrations equal 
to or less than 30 milligrams per liter) are assumed to achieve 
an annual average total nitrogen effluent concentration of 
18.7 milligrams per liter and an annual average total 
phosphorus effluent concentration of 2.5 milligrams per liter. 
Permitted design capacities for facilities that, before July 1, 
2005, were required to comply with more stringent nutrient 
limits shall be calculated using the more stringent values. 

"Permitted facility" means a facility whose owner is 
authorized by this general permit to discharge total nitrogen 
or total phosphorus. For the sole purpose of generating point 
source nitrogen credits or point source phosphorus credits, 
"permitted facility" shall also mean the Blue Plains 
wastewater treatment facility operated by the District of 
Columbia Water and Sewer Authority. 

"Permittee" means a person authorized by this general 
permit to discharge total nitrogen or total phosphorus. 

"Point source nitrogen credit" means the difference between 
(i) the waste load wasteload allocation for a permitted facility 
specified as an annual mass load of total nitrogen and (ii) the 
monitored annual mass load of total nitrogen discharged by 
from that facility, where clause (ii) is less than clause (i), and 
where the difference is adjusted by the applicable delivery 
factor and expressed as pounds per year of delivered total 
nitrogen load. 

"Point source phosphorus credit" means the difference 
between (i) the waste load wasteload allocation for a 
permitted facility specified as an annual mass load of total 
phosphorus and (ii) the monitored annual mass load of total 
phosphorus discharged by from that facility, where clause (ii) 
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is less than clause (i), and where the difference is adjusted by 
the applicable delivery factor and expressed as pounds per 
year of delivered total phosphorus load.  

"Quantification level (QL)" or "QL" means the minimum 
levels, concentrations, or quantities of a target variable (e.g., 
target analyte) that can be reported with a specified degree of 
confidence in accordance with 1VAC30-45, Certification for 
Noncommercial Environmental Laboratories, or 1VAC30-46, 
Accreditation for Commercial Environmental Laboratories.  

"Registration list" means a list maintained by the department 
indicating all facilities that have are registered for coverage 
under this general permit, by tributary, including their waste 
load wasteload allocations, permitted design capacities, and 
delivery factors as appropriate. 

"Significant discharger" means the owner of (i) a sewage 
treatment works discharging to the Chesapeake Bay 
watershed upstream of the fall line with a design capacity of 
0.5 million gallons per day or greater, or an equivalent load 
discharged from industrial facilities; (ii) a sewage treatment 
works discharging to the Chesapeake Bay watershed 
downstream of the fall line with a design capacity of 0.1 
million gallons per day or greater, or an equivalent load 
discharged from industrial facilities; (iii) a planned or newly 
expanding sewage treatment works discharging to the 
Chesapeake Bay watershed upstream of the fall line that is 
was expected to be in operation by December 31, 2010, with 
a permitted design of 0.5 million gallons per day or greater, or 
an equivalent load to be discharged from industrial facilities; 
or (iv) a planned or newly expanding sewage treatment works 
discharging to the Chesapeake Bay watershed downstream of 
the fall line that is was expected to be in operation by 
December 31, 2010, with a design capacity of 0.1 million 
gallons per day or greater, or an equivalent load to be 
discharged from industrial facilities. 

"State-of-the-art nutrient removal technology" means (i) 
technology that will achieve an annual average total nitrogen 
effluent concentration of three milligrams per liter and an 
annual average total phosphorus effluent concentration of 0.3 
milligrams per liter or (ii) equivalent load reductions in total 
nitrogen and total phosphorus through recycle or reuse of 
wastewater as determined by the department. 

"Tributaries" means those river basins for which separate 
tributary strategies were prepared pursuant to § 2.2-218 of the 
Code of Virginia listed in the Chesapeake Bay TMDL and 
includes the Potomac, Rappahannock, York, and James River 
Basins, and the Eastern Coastal Shore Basin, which 
encompasses the creeks and rivers of the Eastern Shore of 
Virginia that are west of Route 13 and drain into the 
Chesapeake Bay. 

"VPDES" means Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination 
System. 

"Waste load "Wasteload allocation" means  the most 
limiting of (i) the water quality-based annual mass load of 
total nitrogen or annual mass load of total phosphorus 

allocated to individual facilities pursuant to 9VAC25-720-50 
C, 9VAC25-720-60 C, 9VAC25-720-70 C, 9VAC25-720-110 
C, and 9VAC25-720-120 C of the Water Quality 
Management Planning Regulation or its successor, or 
permitted capacity in the case of nonsignificant dischargers; 
(ii) the water quality-based annual mass load of total nitrogen 
or annual mass load of total phosphorus acquired pursuant to 
§ 62.1-44.19:15 of the Code of Virginia for new or expanded 
facilities; or (iii) applicable total nitrogen or total phosphorus 
waste load wasteload allocations under the Chesapeake Bay 
total maximum daily loads (TMDLs) to restore or protect the 
water quality and beneficial uses of the Chesapeake Bay or its 
tidal tributaries. 
9VAC25-820-15. Applicability of incorporated references 
based on the dates that they became effective. 

Except as noted, when a regulation of the U.S. 
Environmental Protection Agency set forth in Title 40 of the 
Code of Federal Regulations is referenced or adopted in this 
chapter and incorporated by reference that regulation shall be 
as it exists and has been published as of July 1, 2014. 
9VAC25-820-20. Purpose, applicability, delegation of 
authority. 

A. This regulation fulfills the statutory requirement for the 
General VPDES Watershed Permit for Total Nitrogen and 
Total Phosphorus discharges and nutrient trading in the 
Chesapeake Bay watershed issued by the board pursuant to 
the Clean Water Act (33 USC § 1251 et seq.) and § 62.1-
44.19:14 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. This general permit regulation governs owners of 
facilities holding individual VPDES permits or that otherwise 
meet meeting the definition of "existing facility" that 
discharge or propose to discharge total nitrogen or total 
phosphorus to the Chesapeake Bay or its tributaries. 

C. The director may perform any act of the board provided 
under this regulation, except as limited by § 62.1-44.14 of the 
Code of Virginia. 
9VAC25-820-30. Relation to existing VPDES permits 
issued in accordance with 9VAC25-31.  

A. This general permit shall control in lieu of conflicting or 
duplicative mass loading effluent limitations, monitoring or 
reporting requirements for total nitrogen and total phosphorus 
contained in individual VPDES permits for facilities covered 
by this general permit, where these requirements are based 
upon standards, criteria, waste load wasteload allocations, 
policy, or guidance established to restore or protect the water 
quality and beneficial uses of the Chesapeake Bay or its tidal 
tributaries.  

B. This general permit shall not control in lieu of more 
stringent water quality-based effluent limitations for total 
nitrogen or total phosphorus in individual permits where 
those limitations are necessary to protect local water quality, 
or more stringent technology-based effluent concentration 
limitations in the individual permit for any facility that has 
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installed technology for the control of nitrogen and 
phosphorus whether by new construction, expansion, or 
upgrade.  

C. The compliance schedule in this general permit shall 
control in lieu of conflicting or duplicative schedule 
requirements contained in individual VPDES permits for 
facilities covered by this general permit, where those 
requirements address mass loading of total nitrogen or total 
phosphorus and are based upon standards, criteria, waste load 
wasteload allocations, policy, or guidance established to 
restore or protect the water quality and beneficial uses of the 
Chesapeake Bay or its tidal tributaries.  
9VAC25-820-40. Compliance plans.  

A. By July 1, 2012 2017, every owner or operator of a 
facility subject to reduced individual total nitrogen or total 
phosphorus waste load allocations in the Chesapeake Bay 
Total Maximum Daily Load for Nitrogen, Phosphorus and 
Sediment dated December 29, 2010, (as identified in 
9VAC25-820-80) 9VAC25-820-80 and subject to a limit 
effective date after January 1, 2017, as defined in Part I C 1 of 
9VAC25-820-70 shall either individually or through the 
Virginia Nutrient Credit Exchange Association submit 
compliance plans to the department for approval. 

1. The compliance plans shall contain any capital projects 
and implementation schedules needed to achieve total 
nitrogen and phosphorus reductions sufficient to comply 
with the individual and combined waste load wasteload 
allocations of all the permittees in the tributary as soon as 
possible. Permittees submitting individual plans are not 
required to account for other facilities' activities.  
2. As part of the compliance plan development, permittees 
shall either: 

a. Demonstrate that the additional capital projects in 
anticipated by subdivision 1 of this subsection are 
necessary to ensure continued compliance with these 
allocations through by the applicable deadline for the 
tributary to which the facility discharges (Part I C of the 
permit), or  
b. Request that their individual waste load wasteload 
allocations become effective on January 1, 2012 2017.  

3. The compliance plans may rely on the exchange of point 
source credits in accordance with this general permit, but 
not the acquisition of credits through payments into the 
Water Quality Improvement Nutrient Offset Fund (§ 10.1-
2128 et seq. 10.1-2128.2 of the Code of Virginia), to 
achieve compliance with the individual and combined 
waste load wasteload allocations in each tributary.  

B. Every owner or operator of a facility required to submit a 
registration statement shall either individually or through the 
Virginia Nutrient Credit Exchange Association submit annual 
compliance plan updates to the department for approval as 
required by Part I D of this the general permit.  

9VAC25-820-50. Transfer of permit coverage.  
A. This Coverage under the general permit shall be 

transferred by the current permittee to a new owner or 
operator concurrently with the transfer of the individual 
permit(s) permit or permits in accordance with 9VAC25-31-
380. If the current permittee holds an aggregated waste load 
allocation for multiple facilities in accordance with Part I B 2 
of this the general permit, the current permittee shall submit a 
revised registration statement for any facilities retained and 
the new owner shall submit a registration statement for the 
facilities transferred.  

B. All conditions of this the general permit, including, but 
not limited to, the submittal of a registration statement, 
annual nutrient allocation compliance and reporting 
requirements, shall apply to the new owner or operator 
immediately upon the transfer date.  
9VAC25-820-60. Termination of permit coverage.  

The owner or operator shall terminate coverage under this 
general permit concurrently with any request for termination 
of the individual permit(s) permit or permits in accordance 
with 9VAC25-31-370.  
9VAC25-820-70. General permit. 

Any owner whose registration statement is accepted by the 
board will receive the following general permit and shall 
comply with the requirements therein of the general permit. 

General Permit No.: VAN000000  
Effective Date: January 1, 2012 2017 

Amended Effective Date: November 21, 2012 
Expiration Date: December 31, 2016 2021 

GENERAL PERMIT FOR TOTAL NITROGEN AND 
TOTAL PHOSPHORUS DISCHARGES AND NUTRIENT 

TRADING IN THE CHESAPEAKE WATERSHED IN 
VIRGINIA  

AUTHORIZATION TO DISCHARGE UNDER THE 
VIRGINIA POLLUTANT DISCHARGE ELIMINATION 

SYSTEM AND THE VIRGINIA STATE WATER 
CONTROL LAW  

In compliance with the provisions of the Clean Water Act, 
as amended, and pursuant to the State Water Control Law and 
regulations adopted pursuant thereto to it, owners of facilities 
holding a VPDES individual permit or owners of facilities 
that otherwise meet the definition of an existing facility, with 
total nitrogen and/or or total phosphorus discharges, or both 
to the Chesapeake Bay or its tributaries, are authorized to 
discharge to surface waters and exchange credits for total 
nitrogen and/or or total phosphorus, or both. 

The authorized discharge shall be in accordance with the 
registration statement filed with DEQ, this cover page, Part I-
Special Conditions Applicable to All Facilities, Part II-
Special Conditions Applicable to New and Expanded 
Facilities, and Part III-Conditions Applicable to All VPDES 
Permits, as set forth herein. 
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PART I  
SPECIAL CONDITIONS APPLICABLE TO ALL 

FACILITIES 
A. Authorized activities.  

1. Authorization to discharge for owners of facilities 
required to register. 

a. Every owner or operator of a facility required to 
submit a registration statement to the department by 
November 1, 2011 2016, and thereafter upon the 
reissuance of this general permit, shall be authorized to 
discharge total nitrogen and total phosphorus subject to 
the requirements of this general permit upon the 
department's approval of the registration statement.  
b. Any owner or operator of a facility required to submit 
a registration statement with the department at the time 
he makes application with the department for a new 
discharge or expansion that is subject to an offset or 
technology-based requirement in Part II of this general 
permit, shall be authorized to discharge total nitrogen and 
total phosphorus subject to the requirements of this 
general permit upon the department's approval of the 
registration statement.  
c. Upon the department's approval of the registration 
statement, a facility will be included in the registration 
list maintained by the department. 

2. Authorization to discharge for owners of facilities not 
required to register. Any owner of a facility authorized by 
a Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System VPDES 
permit and not required by this general permit to submit a 
registration statement shall be deemed to be authorized to 
discharge total nitrogen and total phosphorus under this 
general permit at the time it is issued. Owners or operators 
of facilities that are deemed to be permitted under this 
subsection shall have no obligation under this general 
permit prior to submitting a registration statement and 
securing coverage under this general permit based upon 
such registration statement. 
3. Continuation of permit coverage. 

a. Any owner authorized to discharge under this general 
permit and who submits a complete registration 
statement for the reissued general permit by November 1, 
2016 2021, in accordance with Part III A M or who is not 
required to register in accordance with Part I A 2 is 
authorized to continue to discharge under the terms of 
this general permit until such time as the board either: 
(1) Issues coverage to the owner under the reissued 
general permit, or 
(2) Notifies the owner that the discharge is not eligible 
for coverage under the reissued this general permit is 
denied.  
b. When the owner that was covered under the expiring 
or expired general permit has violated or is violating the 

conditions of that permit, the board may choose to do any 
or all of the following: 
(1) Initiate enforcement action based upon the 2012 
general permit that has been continued, 
(2) Issue a notice of intent to deny coverage under the 
amended reissued general permit if. If the general permit 
coverage is denied, the owner would then be required to 
cease the activities discharges authorized by the 
administratively continued coverage under the terms of 
the 2012 general permit or be subject to enforcement 
action for operating without a permit, or 
(3) Take other actions authorized by the State Water 
Control Law. 

B. Waste load Wasteload allocations. 
1. Waste load Wasteload allocations allocated to permitted 
facilities pursuant to 9VAC25-720-50 C, 9VAC25-720-60 
C, 9VAC25-720-70 C, 9VAC25-720-110 C, and 9VAC25-
720-120 C of the Water Quality Management Planning 
Regulation, or applicable total maximum daily loads 
TMDLs, or waste load wasteload allocations acquired by 
owners of new and expanding facilities to offset new or 
increased delivered total nitrogen and delivered total 
phosphorus loads from a new discharge or expansion under 
Part II B of this general permit, and existing loads 
calculated from the permitted design capacity of expanding 
facilities not previously covered by this general permit, 
shall be incorporated into the registration list maintained 
by the department. The waste load wasteload allocations 
contained in this list shall be enforceable as annual mass 
load limits in this general permit. Credits shall not be 
generated by facilities whose operations were previously 
authorized by a Virginia Pollution Abatement (VPA) 
permit that was issued before July 1, 2005. 
2. Except as described in subdivisions 2 c and 2 d of this 
subsection, an owner or operator of two or more facilities 
covered by this general permit and located in discharging 
to the same tributary may apply for and receive an 
aggregated mass load limit for delivered total nitrogen and 
an aggregated mass load limit for delivered total 
phosphorus reflecting the total of the water quality-based 
total nitrogen and total phosphorus waste load wasteload 
allocations or permitted design capacities established for 
such facilities individually. 

a. The permittee (and all of the individual facilities 
covered under a single registration) shall be deemed to be 
in compliance when the aggregate mass load discharged 
by the facilities is less than the aggregate load limit. 
b. The permittee will be eligible to generate credits only 
if the aggregate mass load discharged by the facilities is 
less than the total of the waste load wasteload allocations 
assigned to any of the affected facilities. 
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c. The aggregation of mass load limits shall not affect 
any requirement to comply with local water quality-
based limitations. 
d. Facilities whose operations were previously authorized 
by a Virginia Pollution Abatement (VPA) permit that 
was issued before July 1, 2005, cannot be aggregated 
with other facilities under common ownership or 
operation. 
e. Operation under an aggregated mass load limit in 
accordance with this section shall not be deemed credit 
acquisition as described in Part I J 2 of this general 
permit. 

3. An owner who that consolidates two or more facilities 
located in discharging to the same tributary into a single 
regional facility may apply for and receive an aggregated 
mass load limit for delivered total nitrogen and an 
aggregated mass load limit for delivered total phosphorus, 
subject to the following conditions: 

a. If all of the affected facilities have waste load 
wasteload allocations in 9VAC25-720-50 C, 9VAC25-
720-60 C, 9VAC25-720-70 C, 9VAC25-720-110 C, and 
9VAC25-720-120 C of the Water Quality Management 
Planning Regulation, the aggregate mass load limit shall 
be calculated by adding the waste load wasteload 
allocations of the affected facilities. The regional facility 
shall be eligible to generate credits. 
b. If any, but not all, of the affected facilities has a waste 
load wasteload allocation in 9VAC25-720-50 C, 
9VAC25-720-60 C, 9VAC25-720-70 C, 9VAC25-720-
110 C, and 9VAC25-720-120 C of the Water Quality 
Management Planning Regulation, the aggregate mass 
load limit shall be calculated by adding: 
(1) Waste load Wasteload allocations of those facilities 
that have waste load wasteload allocations in 9VAC25-
720-50 C, 9VAC25-720-60 C, 9VAC25-720-70 C, 
9VAC25-720-110 C, and 9VAC25-720-120 C of the 
Water Quality Management Planning Regulation; 
(2) Permitted design capacities assigned to affected 
industrial facilities; and 
(3) Loads from affected sewage treatment works that do 
not have a waste load wasteload allocation in 9VAC25-
720-50 C, 9VAC25-720-60 C, 9VAC25-720-70 C, 
9VAC25-720-110 C, and 9VAC25-720-120 C of the 
Water Quality Management Planning Regulation, defined 
as the lesser of a previously calculated permitted design 
capacity, or the values calculated by the following 
formulae: 
Nitrogen Load (lbs/day) = flow x 8.0 mg/l x 8.345 x 365 
days/year 
Phosphorus Load (lbs/day) = flow x 1.0 mg/l x 8.345 x 
365 days/year 

Flows used in the preceding formulae shall be the design 
flow of the treatment works from which the affected 
facility currently discharges. 
The regional facility shall be eligible to generate credits. 
c. If none of the affected facilities have a waste load 
wasteload allocation in 9VAC25-720-50 C, 9VAC25-
720-60 C, 9VAC25-720-70 C, 9VAC25-720-110 C, and 
9VAC25-720-120 C of the Water Quality Management 
Planning Regulation, the aggregate mass load limit shall 
be calculated by adding the respective permitted design 
capacities for the affected facilities. The regional facility 
shall not be eligible to generate credits. 
d. Facilities whose operations were previously authorized 
by a Virginia Pollution Abatement (VPA) permit that 
was issued before July 1, 2005, may be consolidated with 
other facilities under common ownership or operation, 
but their allocations cannot be transferred to the regional 
facility. 
e. Facilities whose operations were previously authorized 
by a VPA permit that was issued before July 1, 2005, can 
become regional facilities, but they cannot receive 
additional allocations beyond those permitted in Part II B 
1 d of this general permit. 

4. Unless otherwise noted, the nitrogen and phosphorus 
waste load wasteload allocations assigned to permitted 
facilities are considered total loads, including nutrients 
present in the intake water from the river, as applicable. On 
a case-by-case basis, an industrial discharger may 
demonstrate to the satisfaction of the board that a portion 
of the nutrient load originates in its intake water. This 
demonstration shall be consistent with the assumptions and 
methods used to derive the allocations through the 
Chesapeake Bay models. In these cases, the board may 
limit the permitted discharge to the net nutrient load 
portion of the assigned waste load wasteload allocation. 
5. Bioavailability. Unless otherwise noted, the entire 
nitrogen and phosphorus waste load wasteload allocations 
assigned to permitted facilities are considered to be 
bioavailable to organisms in the receiving stream. On a 
case-by-case basis, a discharger may demonstrate to the 
satisfaction of the board that a portion of the nutrient load 
is not bioavailable; this demonstration shall not be based 
on the ability of the nutrient to resist degradation at the 
wastewater treatment plant, but instead, on the ability of 
the nutrient to resist degradation within a natural 
environment for the amount of time that it is expected to 
remain in the bay watershed. This demonstration shall also 
be consistent with the assumptions and methods used to 
derive the allocations through the Chesapeake Bay models. 
In these cases, the board may limit the permitted discharge 
to the bioavailable portion of the assigned waste load 
wasteload allocation. 
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C. Schedule of compliance. 
1. The following schedule of compliance pertaining to the 
load allocations for total nitrogen and total phosphorus 
applies to the facilities listed in 9VAC25-820-80. 

a. Compliance shall be achieved as soon as possible, but 
no later than the following dates, subject to any 
compliance plan-based adjustment by the board pursuant 
to subdivision 1 b of this subsection, for each parameter 
upgrade phase:  

Tributary Parameter 

Final Effluent 
Limits Effective 

Date 

James River Nitrogen January 1, 2017 

York River Phosphorus January 1, 2016 

  

Upgrade Phase Limit Effective Date 

Phase I Total 
Nitrogen January 1, 2017 

Phase 2 Total 
Nitrogen January 1, 2022 

Phase 2 Total 
Phosphorus January 1, 2017 

b. Following submission of compliance plans and 
compliance plan updates required by 9VAC25-820-40, 
the board shall reevaluate the schedule of compliance in 
subdivision 1 a of this subsection, taking into account the 
information in the compliance plans and the factors in 
§ 62.1-44.19:14 C 2 of the Code of Virginia. When 
warranted based on such information and factors, the 
board shall adjust the schedule in subdivision 1 a of this 
subsection as appropriate by modification or reissuance 
of this general permit.  

2. The registration list shall contain individual dates for 
compliance (as defined in Part I J 1 a-b of this general 
permit) with wasteload allocations for dischargers, as 
follows:  

a. Facilities Owners of facilities listed in 9VAC25-820-
80 will have individual dates for compliance based on 
their respective compliance plans, that may be earlier 
than the basin upgrade phase schedule listed in 
subdivision 1 of this subsection. 
b. Facilities Owners of facilities listed in 9VAC25-820-
70 9VAC25-820-80 that waive their compliance 
schedules in accordance with 9VAC25-820-40 A 2 b 
shall have an individual compliance date of January 1, 
2012 2017. 
c. Upon completion of the projects contained in their 
compliance plans, owners of facilities listed in 9VAC25-
820-80 may receive a revised individual compliance date 

of January 1 for the calendar year immediately following 
the year in which a Certificate to Operate was issued for 
the capital projects, but not later than the basin upgrade 
phase schedule listed in subdivision 1 of this subsection. 
d. New Owners of new and expanded facilities will have 
individual dates for compliance corresponding to the date 
that coverage under this general permit was extended to 
discharges from the facility.  

3. The 39 significant dischargers in the James River Basin 
shall meet aggregate discharged waste load wasteload 
allocations of 8,968,864 lbs/yr TN and 545,558 lbs/yr TP 
by January 1, 2023. 

D. Annual update of compliance plan. Every owner or 
operator of a facility required to submit a registration 
statement shall either individually or through the Virginia 
Nutrient Credit Exchange Association submit updated 
compliance plans to the department no later than February 1 
of each year. The compliance plans shall contain sufficient 
information to document a plan for the facility to achieve and 
maintain compliance with applicable total nitrogen and total 
phosphorus individual waste load wasteload allocations on 
the registration list and aggregate waste load wasteload 
allocations in Part I C 3. Compliance plans for owners of 
facilities that were required to submit a registration statement 
with the department under Part I G 1 a may rely on the 
acquisition of point source credits in accordance with Part I J 
of this general permit, but not the acquisition of credits 
through payments into the Water Quality Improvement 
Nutrient Offset Fund, to achieve compliance with the 
individual and combined waste load wasteload allocations in 
each tributary. Compliance plans for expansions or new 
discharges for owners of facilities that are required to submit 
a registration statement with the department under Part I G 1 
b and c may rely on the acquisition of allocation in 
accordance with Part II B of this general permit to achieve 
compliance with the individual and combined waste load 
wasteload allocations in each tributary.  

E. Monitoring requirements.  
1. Discharges shall be monitored by the permittee during 
weekdays as specified below unless the department 
determines that weekday only sampling results in a non-
representative load. Weekend monitoring and/or or 
alternative monthly load calculations to address production 
schedules or seasonal flows shall be submitted to the 
department for review and approval on a case-by-case 
basis. Facilities that exhibit instantaneous discharge flows 
that vary from the daily average discharge flow by less 
than 10% may submit a proposal to the department to use 
an alternative sample type; such proposals shall be 
reviewed and approved by the department on a case-by-
case basis. 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 8 Virginia Register of Regulations December 14, 2015 

1361 

Parameter Sample Type and Collection Frequency 

STP design flow ≥20.0 MGD 

5.0 - 19.999 
MGD 1.0 - 19.999 

1.0 - 4.999 
MGD 

0.5 - 0.999 
MGD 

0.040 - 
0.999 0.040 

- 0.499 
MGD 

< 0.040 
MGD 

Effluent TN load 
limit for 
industrial 
facilities 

  

>350,000 
lb/yr >100,000 

100,000 - 
349,999 lb/yr 

50,000 - 
99,999 lb/yr 487 - 99,999 

487 - 49,999 
lb/yr 

< 487 lb/yr 

Effluent TP load 
limit for 
industrial 
facilities 

  

>35,000 
lb/yr >10,000 

10,000 - 
34,999 lb/yr 

5,000 - 9,999 
lb/yr 37 - 9,999 

37 - 4,999 
lb/yr 

< 37 lb/yr 

Flow Totalizing, Indicating, and Recording 

1/Day, see 
individual 
VPDES 

permit for 
sample type 

Nitrogen 
Compounds 
(Total Nitrogen = 
TKN + NO2- (as 
N) + NO3- (as 
N)) 

24 HC  
3 Days/Week 

24 HC 
2/Week* 

24 HC  
1/Week 

8 HC 
4/Month** 

8 HC  
2/Month, > 7 

days apart 

1/Month 
Grab 

Total Phosphorus  24 HC  
3 Days/Week 

24 HC 
2/Week* 

24 HC  
1/Week 

8 HC 
4/Month** 

8 HC  
2/Month, > 7 

days apart 

1/Month 
Grab 

*Two 24-hour flow composited samples taken in the same calendar week that are then composited by flow into a single 
weekly composite sample for analysis shall be considered to be in compliance with this requirement. 
**Two sets of two 8-hour flow composited samples taken at least one day apart but in the same calendar week that are 
then composited by flow into two weekly composite samples per month for analysis shall be considered to be in 
compliance with this requirement. 
2. Monitoring for compliance with effluent limitations 
shall be performed in a manner identical to that used to 
determine compliance with effluent limitations established 
in the individual VPDES permit unless specified otherwise 
in subdivisions 3, 4, and 5 of Part I E. Monitoring or 
sampling shall be conducted according to analytical 
laboratory methods approved under 40 CFR Part 136, 
unless other test or sample collection procedures have been 
requested by the permittee and approved by the department 
in writing. All analysis for compliance with effluent 
limitations shall be conducted in accordance with 
1VAC30-45, Certification for Noncommercial 
Environmental Laboratories, or 1VAC30-46, Accreditation 
for Commercial Environmental Laboratories. Monitoring 
may be performed by the permittee at frequencies more 
stringent than listed above in subdivision 1 of Part I E; 
however, the permittee shall report all results of such 
monitoring. 

3. Loading values greater than or equal to 10 pounds 
reported in accordance with Part I E and F of this general 
permit shall be calculated and reported to the nearest 
pound without regard to mathematical rules of precision. 
Loading values of less than 10 pounds reported in 
accordance with Part I E and F of this general permit shall 
be calculated and reported to at least two significant digits 
with the exception that all complete calendar year annual 
loads shall be reported to the nearest pound. 
4. Data shall be reported on a form provided by the 
department, by the same date each month as is required by 
the facility's owner's individual VPDES permit. The total 
monthly load shall be calculated in accordance with the 
following formula:  

 
where:  
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ML = total monthly load (lb/mo) = average daily load for 
the calendar month multiplied by the number of days of 
the calendar month on which a discharge occurred  
DL = daily load = daily concentration (expressed as mg/l 
to the nearest 0.01 mg/l) multiplied by the flow volume 
of effluent discharged during the 24-hour period 
(expressed as MGD to at least the nearest 0.01 MGD and 
in no case less than two significant digits), multiplied by 
8.345. Daily loads greater than or equal to 10 pounds 
may be rounded to the nearest whole number to convert 
to pounds per day (lbs/day). Daily loads less than or 
equal to 10 pounds may be rounded to no fewer than two 
significant fiqures.  
s = number of days in the calendar month in which a 
sample was collected and analyzed 
d = number of discharge days in the calendar month 

For total phosphorus, all daily concentration data below the 
quantification level (QL) for the analytical method used 
should shall be treated as half the QL. All daily 
concentration data equal to or above the QL for the 
analytical method used shall be treated as it is reported. If 
all data are below the QL, then the average shall be 
reported as half the QL. 
For total nitrogen (TN), if none of the daily concentration 
data for the respective species (i.e., TKN, nitrates/nitrites) 
are equal to or above the QL for the respective analytical 
methods used, the daily TN concentration value reported 
shall equal one half of the largest QL used for the 
respective species. If one of the data is equal to or above 
the QL, the daily TN concentration value shall be treated 
as that data point as reported. If more than one of the data 
is above the QL, the daily TN concentration value shall 
equal the sum of the data points as reported. 
The quantification levels shall be less than or equal to the 
following concentrations: 

Parameter Quantification Level 

TKN 0.50 mg/l 

Nitrite 0.10 mg/l 

Nitrate 0.20 mg/l 

Nitrite + Nitrate 0.20 mg/l 

Higher QLs may be approved on a case-by-case basis 
where a higher QL routinely results in reportable results of 
the species in question or is otherwise technically 
appropriate based on standard lab practices.  
The total year-to-date mass load shall be calculated in 
accordance with the following formula:  

 
where:  
AL-YTD = calendar year-to-date annual load (lb/yr)  

ML = total monthly load (lb/mo) 
The total annual mass load shall be calculated in 
accordance with the following formula: 

 
where: 
AL = calendar year annual load (lb/yr) 
ML = total monthly load (lb/mo) 

5. The department may authorize a chemical usage 
evaluation as an alternative means of determining nutrient 
loading for outfalls where the only source of nutrients is 
those that found in the surface water intake and chemical 
additives used by the facility. Such an evaluation shall be 
submitted to the department for review and approval on a 
case-by-case basis. Implementation of approved chemical 
usage evaluations shall satisfy the requirements specified 
under Part I E 1 and 2. 

F. Annual reporting.  
On or before February 1, annually, each permittee shall 
file a discharge monitoring report with the department 
identifying the annual mass load of total nitrogen and the 
annual mass load of total phosphorus discharged by the 
permitted facility during the previous calendar year.  

G. Requirement to register; exclusions.  
1. The following owners or operators are required to 
register for coverage under this general permit:  

a. Every owner or operator of an existing facility 
authorized by a Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination 
System VPDES permit to discharge 100,000 gallons or 
more per day from a sewage treatment work, or an 
equivalent load from an industrial facility, directly into 
tidal waters, or 500,000 gallons or more per day from a 
sewage treatment work works, or an equivalent load from 
an industrial facility, directly into nontidal waters, shall 
submit a registration statement to the department by 
November 1, 2011 2016, and thereafter upon the 
reissuance of this general permit in accordance with Part 
III B M. The conditions of this general permit will apply 
to such owner and operator upon approval of a 
registration statement.  
b. Any owner or operator of a facility authorized by a 
Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System permit 
to discharge 40,000 gallons or more per day from a 
sewage treatment work works, or an equivalent load from 
an industrial facility, directly into tidal or nontidal waters 
shall submit a registration statement with the department 
at the time he makes application for an individual permit 
with the department for a new discharge or expansion 
that is subject to an offset requirement in Part II of this 
general permit or to a technology-based requirement in 
9VAC25-40-70, and thereafter upon the reissuance of 
this general permit in accordance with Part III B M. The 
conditions of this general permit will apply to such 
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owner or operator beginning on the start January 1 of the 
calendar year immediately following approval of a 
registration statement and issuance or modification of the 
individual permit. 
c. Any owner or operator of a facility treating domestic 
sewage authorized by a Virginia Pollutant Discharge 
Elimination System VPDES permit with a discharge 
greater than 1,000 gallons per day up to and including 
39,999 gallons per day that has did not commenced 
commence the discharge of pollutants prior to January 1, 
2011, shall submit a registration statement with the 
department at the time he makes application for an 
individual permit with the department or prior to 
commencing a discharge, which ever whichever occurs 
first, and thereafter upon the reissuance of this general 
permit in accordance with Part III B M. 

2. All other categories of discharges are excluded from 
registration under this general permit.  

H. Registration statement.  
1. The registration statement shall contain the following 
information:  

a. Name, mailing address and telephone number, e-mail 
email address and fax number of the owner (and facility 
operator, if different from the owner) applying for permit 
coverage;  
b. Name (or other identifier), address, city or county, 
contact name, phone number, e-mail email address and 
fax number for the facility for which the registration 
statement is submitted;  
c. VPDES permit numbers for all permits assigned to the 
facility, or pursuant to which the discharge is authorized;  
d. If applying for an aggregated waste load wasteload 
allocation in accordance with Part I B 2 of this permit, a 
list of all affected facilities and the VPDES permit 
numbers assigned to these facilities;  
e. For new and expanded facilities, a plan to offset new 
or increased delivered total nitrogen and delivered total 
phosphorus loads, including the amount of waste load 
wasteload allocation acquired. Waste load Wasteload 
allocations or credits sufficient to offset projected 
nutrient loads must be provided for period of at least five 
years; and  
f. For existing facilities, the amount of a facility's waste 
load wasteload allocation transferred to or from another 
facility to offset new or increased delivered total nitrogen 
and delivered total phosphorus loads from a new 
discharge or expansion.  

2. The registration statement shall be submitted to the DEQ 
Central Office, Office of Water VPDES Permits and 
Compliance Assistance.  
3. An amended registration statement shall be submitted to 
DEQ immediately upon the acquisition or transfer of a 

facility's waste load wasteload allocation to offset new or 
increased delivered total nitrogen and delivered total 
phosphorus loads from a new discharge or expansion.  

I. Public notice for registration statements proposing 
modifications or incorporations of new waste load allocations 
or delivery factors.  

1. All public notices issued pursuant to a proposed 
modification or incorporation of a (i) new waste load 
wasteload allocation to offset new or increased delivered 
total nitrogen and delivered total phosphorus loads from a 
new discharge or expansion, or (ii) delivery factor, shall be 
published once a week for two consecutive weeks in a 
major local newspaper of general circulation serving the 
locality where the facility is located informing the public 
that the owner of the facility intends to apply for coverage 
under this general permit. At a minimum, the notice shall 
include:  

a. A statement of the owner owner's or operator's intent 
to register for coverage under this general permit;  
b. A brief description of the facility and its location;  
c. The amount of waste load wasteload allocation that 
will be acquired or transferred if applicable;  
d. The delivery factor for a new discharge or expansion;  
e. If applicable, any proposed nonpoint source to point 
source trading ratio less than 2:1 proposed under Part II 
B 1 b (1). 
e. f. A statement that the purpose of the public 
participation is to acquaint the public with the technical 
aspects of the facility and how the standards and the 
requirements of this chapter will be met, to identify 
issues of concern, to facilitate communication, and to 
establish a dialogue between the owner or operator and 
persons who may be affected by the discharge from the 
facility;  
f. g. An announcement of a 30-day comment period and 
the name, telephone number, and address of the owner's 
or operator's representative who can be contacted by the 
interested persons to answer questions;  
g. h. The name, telephone number, and address of the 
DEQ representative who can be contacted by the 
interested persons to answer questions, or where 
comments shall be sent; and  
h. i. The location where copies of the documentation to 
be submitted to the department in support of this general 
permit notification and any supporting documents can be 
viewed and copied.  

2. The owner or operator shall place a copy of the 
documentation and support documents in a location 
accessible to the public in the vicinity of the proposed 
facility.  
3. The public shall be provided 30 days to comment on the 
technical and the regulatory aspects of the proposal. The 
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comment period will begin on the date the notice is 
published in the local newspaper.  

J. Compliance with waste load wasteload allocations.  
1. Methods of compliance. The owner of the permitted 
facility shall comply with its waste load wasteload 
allocation contained in the registration list maintained by 
the department. The owner of the permitted facility shall be 
in compliance with its waste load wasteload allocation if:  

a. The annual mass load is less than or equal to the 
applicable waste load wasteload allocation assigned to 
the facility in this general permit (or permitted design 
capacity for expanded facilities without allocations);  
b. The owner of the permitted facility acquires sufficient 
point source nitrogen or phosphorus credits in 
accordance with subdivision 2 of this subsection; 
provided, however, that the acquisition of nitrogen or 
phosphorus credits pursuant to this section shall not alter 
or otherwise affect the individual waste load wasteload 
allocations for each permitted facility; or  
c. In the event it he is unable to meet the individual waste 
load wasteload allocation pursuant to subdivision 1 a or 1 
b of this subsection, the owner of the permitted facility 
acquires sufficient nitrogen or phosphorus credits 
through payments made into the Water Quality 
Improvement Nutrient Offset Fund pursuant to 
subdivision 3 of this subsection; provided, however, that 
the acquisition of nitrogen or phosphorus credits pursuant 
to this section shall not alter or otherwise affect the 
individual waste load wasteload allocations for each 
permitted facility.  

2. Credit acquisition from owners of permitted facilities. A 
permittee may acquire point source nitrogen credits or 
point source phosphorus credits from one or more owners 
of permitted facilities only if:  

a. The credits are generated and applied to a compliance 
obligation in the same calendar year;  
b. The credits are generated by one or more permitted 
facilities in the same tributary, except that owners of 
permitted facilities in the Eastern Coastal Shore Basin 
may also acquire credits from owners of permitted 
facilities in the Potomac and Rappahannock tributaries. 
Owners of Eastern Coastal Shore Basin facilities may 
acquire credits from the owners of Potomac tributary 
facilities at a trading ratio of 1:1. A trading ratio of 1.3:1 
shall apply to the acquisition of credits from the owners 
of a Rappahannock tributary facility by the owner of an 
Eastern Coastal Shore Basin facility;  
c. The exchange or acquisition of credits does not affect 
any requirement to comply with local water quality-
based limitations as determined by the board;  
d. The credits are acquired no later than June 1 
immediately following the calendar year in which the 
credits are applied;  

e. The credits are generated by a facility that has been 
constructed, and has discharged from treatment works 
whose design flow or equivalent industrial activity is the 
basis for the facility's waste load wasteload allocations 
(until a facility is constructed and has commenced 
operation, such credits are held, and may be sold, by the 
Water Quality Improvement Nutrient Offset Fund; and  
f. No later than June 1 immediately following the 
calendar year in which the credits are applied, the 
permittee certifies on a credit exchange notification form 
supplied by the department that he has acquired sufficient 
credits to satisfy his compliance obligations. The 
permittee shall comply with the terms and conditions 
contained in the credit exchange notification form 
submitted to the department.  

3. Credit acquisitions from the Water Quality Improvement 
Nutrient Offset Fund. Until such time as the board finds 
that no allocations are reasonably available in an individual 
tributary, permittees that cannot meet their total nitrogen or 
total phosphorus effluent limit may acquire nitrogen or 
phosphorus credits through payments made into the 
Virginia Water Quality Improvement Nutrient Offset Fund 
established in § 10.1-2128 10.1-2128.2 of the Code of 
Virginia only if, no later than June 1 immediately 
following the calendar year in which the credits are to be 
applied, the permittee certifies on a form supplied by the 
department that he has diligently sought, but has been 
unable to acquire, sufficient credits to satisfy his 
compliance obligations through the acquisition of point 
source nitrogen or phosphorus credits with other permitted 
facilities, and that he has acquired sufficient credits to 
satisfy his compliance obligations through one or more 
payments made in accordance with the terms of this 
general permit. Such certification may include, but not be 
limited to, providing a record of solicitation or 
demonstration that point source allocations are not 
available for sale in the tributary in which the permittee 
permittee's facility is located. Payments to the Water 
Quality Improvement Nutrient Offset Fund shall be in the 
amount of $6.04 $4.60 for each pound of nitrogen and 
$15.08 $10.10 for each pound of phosphorus and shall be 
subject to the following requirements:  

a. The credits are generated and applied to a compliance 
obligation in the same calendar year. 
b. The credits are generated in the same tributary, except 
that owners of permitted facilities in the Eastern Coastal 
Shore Basin may also acquire credits from the owners of 
facilities that discharge to the Potomac and 
Rappahannock tributaries. Owners of Eastern Coastal 
Shore Basin facilities may acquire credits from the 
owners of facilities that discharge to a Potomac tributary 
at a trading ratio of 1:1. A trading ratio of 1.3:1 shall 
apply to the acquisition of credits from the owners of 
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facilities that discharge to a Rappahannock tributary by 
the owners of an Eastern Coastal Shore Basin facility. 
c. The acquisition of credits does not affect any 
requirement to comply with local water quality-based 
limitations, as determined by the board.  

4. This general permit neither requires, nor prohibits a 
municipality or regional sewerage authority's development 
and implementation of trading programs among industrial 
users, which are consistent with the pretreatment 
regulatory requirements at 40 CFR Part 403 and the 
municipality's or authority's individual VPDES permit.  

PART II 
SPECIAL CONDITIONS APPLICABLE TO NEW AND 

EXPANDED FACILITIES  
A. Offsetting mass loads discharged by new and expanded 

facilities.  
1. An owner or operator of a new or expanded facility shall 
comply with the applicable requirements of this section as 
a condition of the facility's coverage under this general 
permit.  

a. An owner or operator of a facility authorized by a 
Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System VPDES 
permit first issued before July 1, 2005, that expands his 
the facility to discharge 40,000 gallons or more per day, 
or an equivalent load, shall demonstrate to the 
department that he has acquired waste load wasteload 
allocations sufficient to offset any increase in his 
delivered total nitrogen and delivered total phosphorus 
loads resulting from any expansion beyond his permitted 
capacity as of July 1, 2005.  
b. An owner or operator of a facility authorized by a 
Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System VPDES 
permit first issued on or after July 1, 2005, to discharge 
40,000 gallons or more per day, or an equivalent load, 
shall demonstrate to the department that he has acquired 
waste load wasteload allocations sufficient to offset his 
delivered total nitrogen and delivered total phosphorus 
loads.  
c. An owner or operator of a facility treating domestic 
sewage authorized by a Virginia Pollutant Discharge 
Elimination System VPDES permit with a discharge 
greater than 1,000 gallons per day up to and including 
39,999 gallons per day that has did not commenced 
commence the discharge of pollutants prior to January 1, 
2011, shall demonstrate to the department that he has 
acquired waste load wasteload allocations sufficient to 
offset his delivered total nitrogen and delivered 
phosphorus loads prior to commencing the discharge, 
except when the facility is for short-term temporary use 
only as determined by the department or when treatment 
of domestic sewage is not the primary purpose of the 
facility. 

2. Offset calculations shall address the proposed discharge 
that exceeds:  

a. The applicable waste load wasteload allocation 
assigned to discharges from the facility in this general 
permit, for expanding significant dischargers with a 
waste load wasteload allocation listed in 9VAC25-720-
50 C, 9VAC25-720-60 C, 9VAC25-720-70 C, 9VAC25-
720-110 C, and 9VAC25-720-120 C of the Water 
Quality Management Planning Regulation;  
b. The permitted design capacity, for all other expanding 
dischargers; and  
c. Zero, for facilities with a new discharge.  

3. An owner or operator of multiple facilities located in 
that discharge into the same tributary, and assigned an 
aggregate mass load limit in accordance with Part I B 2 of 
this general permit, that undertakes construction of new or 
expanded facilities, shall be required to acquire waste load 
wasteload allocations sufficient to offset any increase in 
delivered total nitrogen and delivered total phosphorus 
loads resulting from any expansion beyond the aggregate 
mass load limit assigned these facilities.  

B. Acquisition of waste load wasteload allocations. Waste 
load wasteload allocations required by this section to offset 
new or increased delivered total nitrogen and delivered total 
phosphorus loads shall be acquired in accordance with this 
section.  

1. Such allocations may be acquired from one or a 
combination of the following:  

a. Acquisition of all or a portion of the waste load 
wasteload allocations or point source nitrogen or point 
source phosphorus credits from the owners of one or 
more permitted facilities, based on delivered pounds by 
the respective trading parties as listed by the department;  
b. Acquisition of credits certified by the board pursuant 
to § 62.1-44.19:20 of the Code of Virginia or certified by 
the Soil and Water Conservation Board pursuant to § 
10.1-603.15:2 of the Code of Virginia. Credits used to 
offset new or increased nutrient loads under this 
subdivision shall be:  
(1) Subject to a trading ratio of two pounds reduced for 
every pound to be discharged if certified as a nonpoint 
source credit by the Soil and Water Conservation Board 
board pursuant to § 10.1-603.15:2 62.1-44.19:20 of the 
Code of Virginia;. On a case-by-case basis the board may 
approve nonpoint source to source trading ratios of less 
than 2:1 (but not less than 1:1) when the applicant 
demonstrates factors that ameliorate the presumed 2:1 
uncertainty ratio for credits generation by nonpoint 
sources such as: 
(a) When direct and representative monitoring of the 
pollutant loadings from a nonpoint source is performed in 
a manner and at a frequency similar to that performed at 
VPDES point sources and there is consistency in the 
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effectiveness of the operation of the nonpoint source best 
management practice (BMP) approaching that of a 
conventional point source. 
(b) When nonpoint source credits are generated from 
land conservation that ensures permanent protection 
through a conservation easement or other instrument 
attached to the deed and when load reductions can be 
reliably determined. 
(2) Calculated using best management practices 
efficiency rates and attenuation rates, as established by 
the latest science and relevant technical information, and 
approved by the board;  
(3) Based on appropriate delivery factors, as established 
by the latest science and relevant technical information, 
and approved by the board;  
(4) Demonstrated to have achieved reductions beyond 
those already required by or funded under federal or state 
law, or by Virginia's Chesapeake Bay TMDL Watershed 
Implementation Plan;  
(5) Included as Generated in accordance with conditions 
of the facility's individual Virginia Pollutant Discharge 
Elimination System VPDES permit; and 
(6) In the case of allocations credits generated by land 
use conversions and urban source reduction controls 
(BMPs), the credits shall represent nutrient reductions 
beyond those in place as of July 1, 2005; 
c. Until such time as the board finds that no allocations 
are reasonably available in an individual tributary, 
acquisition of allocations through payments made into 
the Virginia Water Quality Improvement Nutrient Offset 
Fund established in § 10.1-2128 10.1-2128.2 of the Code 
of Virginia; or  
d. Acquisition of allocations through such other means as 
may be approved by the department on a case-by-case 
basis. This includes allocations granted by the board to 
an owner or operator of a facility that is authorized by a 
VPA permit to land apply domestic sewage if: 
(1) The VPA permit was issued before July 1, 2005; 
(2) The allocation does not exceed the facility's permitted 
design capacity as of July 1, 2005; 
(3) The waste treated by the facility that is covered under 
the VPA permit will be treated and discharged pursuant 
to a VPDES permit for a new discharge; and 
(4) The owner or operator installs state-of-the-art nutrient 
removal technology at such a facility. 

2. Acquisition of allocations or point source nitrogen or 
point source phosphorus credits is subject to the following 
conditions:  

a. The allocations or credits shall be generated and 
applied to an offset obligation in the same calendar year 
in which the credit is generated;  

b. The allocations or credits shall be generated in the 
same tributary;  
c. Such acquisition does not affect any requirement to 
comply with local water quality-based limitations, as 
determined by the board;  
d. The allocations are authenticated (i.e., verified to have 
been generated) by the permittee as required by the 
facility's individual Virginia Pollutant Discharge 
Elimination VPDES permit, utilizing procedures 
approved by the board, no later than February 1 
immediately following the calendar year in which the 
allocations are applied; and 
e. If obtained from the owner of a permitted point source, 
the allocations shall be generated by a facility that has 
been constructed, and has discharged from treatment 
works whose design flow or equivalent industrial activity 
is the basis for the facility's waste load wasteload 
allocations. 
f. Such allocations or credits shall be provided secured 
for a period of five years with each registration under the 
general permit. 

3. Priority of options. The board shall give priority to 
allocations or credits acquired in accordance with 
subdivisions 1 a, b, and d of this subsection. The board 
shall approve allocations acquired in accordance with 
subdivision 1 c of this subsection only after the owner or 
operator has demonstrated that he has made a good faith 
effort to acquire sufficient allocations in accordance with 
subdivisions 1 a and 1 b of this subsection, and that such 
allocations are not reasonably available taking into account 
timing, cost and other relevant factors. Such demonstration 
may include, but not be limited to, providing a record of 
solicitation, or other demonstration that point source 
allocations or nonpoint source allocations are not available 
for sale in the tributary in which the permittee permittee's 
facility discharge is located.  
4. Annual allocation acquisitions from the Water Quality 
Improvement Nutrient Offset Fund. The cost for each 
pound of nitrogen and each pound of phosphorus shall be 
determined at the time payment is made to the WQIF 
Nutrient Offset Fund, based on the higher of (i) the 
estimated cost of achieving a reduction of one pound of 
nitrogen or phosphorus at the facility that is securing the 
allocation, or comparable facility, for each pound of 
allocation acquired; or (ii) the average cost, as determined 
by the Department of Conservation and Recreation 
department on an annual basis, of reducing two pounds of 
nitrogen or phosphorus from nonpoint sources in the same 
tributary for each pound of allocation acquired.  

PART III 
CONDITIONS APPLICABLE TO ALL VPDES PERMITS  
A. Duty to comply. The permittee must comply with all 

conditions of the permit. Any permit noncompliance 
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constitutes a violation of the law and the Clean Water Act, 
except that noncompliance with certain provisions of the 
permit may constitute a violation of the law but not the Clean 
Water Act. Permit noncompliance is grounds for enforcement 
action; for permit termination, revocation and reissuance, or 
modification; or denial of a permit renewal application. 

B. Duty to register for reissued general permit. If the 
permittee wishes to continue an activity regulated by the 
general permit after its expiration date, the permittee must 
register for coverage under the new general permit, when it is 
reissued by the department. 

C. Need to halt or reduce activity not a defense. It shall not 
be a defense for a permittee in an enforcement action that it 
would have been necessary to halt or reduce the permitted 
activity in order to maintain compliance with the conditions 
of the permit. 

D. Duty to mitigate. The permittee shall take all reasonable 
steps to minimize or prevent any discharge in violation of the 
permit that has a reasonable likelihood of adversely affecting 
human health or the environment. 

E. Proper operation and maintenance. The permittee shall at 
all times properly operate and maintain all facilities and 
systems of treatment and control (and related appurtenances) 
that are installed or used by the permittee to achieve 
compliance with the conditions of the permit. Proper 
operation and maintenance also includes adequate laboratory 
controls and appropriate quality assurance procedures. This 
provision requires the operation of back-up or auxiliary 
facilities or similar systems that are installed by a permittee 
only when the operation is necessary to achieve compliance 
with the conditions of the permit. 

F. Permit actions. Permits may be modified, revoked and 
reissued, or terminated for cause. The filing of a request by 
the permittee for a permit modification, revocation and 
reissuance, or termination, or a notification of planned 
changes or anticipated noncompliance does not stay any 
permit condition. 

G. Property rights. Permits do not convey any property 
rights of any sort, or any exclusive privilege. 

H. Duty to provide information. The permittee shall furnish 
to the department, within a reasonable time, any information 
that the board may request to determine whether cause exists 
for modifying, revoking and reissuing, or terminating the 
permit or to determine compliance with the permit. The board 
may require the permittee to furnish, upon request, such 
plans, specifications, and other pertinent information as may 
be necessary to determine the effect of the wastes from his 
discharge on the quality of state waters, or such other 
information as may be necessary to accomplish the purposes 
of the law. The permittee shall also furnish to the department 
upon request, copies of records required to be kept by the 
permit, pertaining to activities related to the permitted 
facility. 

I. Inspection and entry. The permittee shall allow the 
director, or an authorized representative (including an 
authorized contractor acting as a representative of the 
administrator), upon presentation of credentials and other 
documents as may be required by law, to: 

1. Enter upon the permittee's premises where a regulated 
facility or activity is located or conducted, or where 
records must be kept under the conditions of the permit; 
2. Have access to and copy, at reasonable times, any 
records that must be kept under the conditions of the 
permit; 
3. Inspect at reasonable times any facilities, equipment 
(including monitoring and control equipment), practices, or 
operations regulated or required under the permit; and 
4. Sample or monitor at reasonable times, for the purposes 
of assuring permit compliance or as otherwise authorized 
by the Clean Water Act and the law, any substances or 
parameters at any location. 

J. Monitoring and records. 
1. Samples and measurements taken for the purpose of 
monitoring shall be representative of the monitored 
activity. 
2. The permittee shall retain records of all monitoring 
information, including all calibration and maintenance 
records and all original strip chart recordings for 
continuous monitoring instrumentation, copies of all 
reports required by the permit, and records of all data used 
to complete the application for the permit, for a period of at 
least three years from the date of the sample, measurement, 
report or application. This period of retention shall be 
extended automatically during the course of any 
unresolved litigation regarding the regulated activity or 
regarding control standards applicable to the permittee, or 
as requested by the board.  
3. Records of monitoring information shall include: 

a. The date, exact place, and time of sampling or 
measurements; 
b. The individual(s) who performed the sampling or 
measurements; 
c. The date(s) analyses were performed; 
d. The individual(s) who performed the analyses; 
e. The analytical techniques or methods used; and 
f. The results of such analyses. 

4. Monitoring results must be conducted according to test 
procedures approved under 40 CFR Part 136 or alternative 
EPA-approved methods, unless other test procedures have 
been specified in the permit. 

K. Signatory requirements. All applications, reports, or 
information submitted to the department shall be signed and 
certified as required by 9VAC25-31-110. 

L. Reporting requirements. 
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1. The permittee shall give notice to the department as 
soon as possible of any planned physical alterations or 
additions to the permitted facility. Notice is required only 
when: 

a. The alteration or addition to a permitted facility may 
meet one of the criteria for determining whether a facility 
is a new source in 9VAC25-31-180 A; or 
b. The alteration or addition could significantly change 
the nature or increase the quantity of pollutants 
discharged. This notification applies to pollutants that are 
subject neither to effluent limitations in the permit, nor to 
notification requirements under 9VAC25-31-200 A 1. 

2. The permittee shall give advance notice to the 
department of any planned changes in the permitted facility 
or activity that may result in noncompliance with permit 
requirements. 
3. Permits are not transferable to any person except after 
notice to the department. The board may require 
modification or revocation and reissuance of permits to 
change the name of the permittee and incorporate such 
other requirements as may be necessary under the law or 
the Clean Water Act. 
4. Monitoring results shall be reported at the intervals 
specified in the permit. 

a. Monitoring results must be reported on a Discharge 
Monitoring Report (DMR). 
b. If the permittee monitors any pollutant specifically 
addressed by the permit more frequently than required by 
the permit using test procedures approved under 40 CFR 
Part 136, or as specified in the permit, the results of this 
monitoring shall be included in the calculation and 
reporting of the data submitted in the DMR specified by 
the department. 
c. Calculations for all limitations that require averaging 
of measurements shall utilize an arithmetic mean unless 
otherwise specified in the permit. 

5. Reports of compliance or noncompliance with, or any 
progress reports on, interim and final requirements 
contained in any compliance schedule of the permit shall 
be submitted no later than 14 days following each schedule 
date. 
6. If any unusual or extraordinary discharge including a 
bypass or upset should occur from a facility and such 
discharge enters or could be expected to enter state waters, 
the owner shall promptly notify, in no case later than 24 
hours, the department by telephone after the discovery of 
such discharge. This notification shall provide all available 
details of the incident, including any adverse affects on 
aquatic life and the known number of fish killed. The 
permittee shall reduce the report to writing and shall 
submit it to the department within five days of discovery of 
the discharge in accordance with subdivision 7 a of this 

subsection. Unusual and extraordinary discharges include 
but are not limited to any discharge resulting from: 

a. Unusual spillage of materials resulting directly or 
indirectly from processing operations; 
b. Breakdown of processing or accessory equipment; 
c. Failure or taking out of service of the treatment work 
or auxiliary facilities (such as sewer lines or wastewater 
pump stations); and 
d. Flooding or other acts of nature. 

7. Twenty-four-hour reporting. 
a. The permittee shall report any noncompliance that may 
endanger health or the environment. Any information 
shall be provided orally within 24 hours from the time 
the permittee becomes aware of the circumstances. A 
written submission shall also be provided within five 
days of the time the permittee becomes aware of the 
circumstances. The written submission shall contain a 
description of the noncompliance and its cause; the 
period of noncompliance, including exact dates and 
times, and if the noncompliance has not been corrected, 
the anticipated time it is expected to continue; and steps 
taken or planned to reduce, eliminate, and prevent 
reoccurrence of the noncompliance. 
b. The following shall be included as information that 
must be reported within 24 hours under this subdivision. 
(1) Any unanticipated bypass that exceeds any effluent 
limitation in the permit. 
(2) Any upset that exceeds any effluent limitation in the 
permit. 
(3) Violation of a maximum daily discharge limitation 
for any of the pollutants listed in the permit to be 
reported within 24 hours. 
c. The board may waive the written report on a case-by-
case basis for reports under this subdivision if the oral 
report has been received within 24 hours. 

8. The permittee shall report all instances of 
noncompliance not reported under subdivisions 4, 5, 6, and 
7 of this subsection, in writing at the time the next 
monitoring reports are submitted. The reports shall contain 
the information listed in subdivision 7 of this subsection. 
9. Where the permittee becomes aware that it failed to 
submit any relevant facts in a permit application, or 
submitted incorrect information in a permit application or 
in any report to the department, it shall promptly submit 
such facts or information. 

M. Bypass.  
1. The permittee may allow any bypass to occur that does 
not cause effluent limitations to be exceeded, but only if it 
also is for essential maintenance to assure efficient 
operation. These bypasses are not subject to the provisions 
of subdivisions 2 and 3 of this subsection. 
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2. Notice. 
a. Anticipated bypass. If the permittee knows in advance 
of the need for a bypass, it shall submit prior notice, if 
possible at least 10 days before the date of the bypass. 
b. Unanticipated bypass. The permittee shall submit 
notice of an unanticipated bypass as required in 
subdivision L 7 of this section (24-hour notice). 

3. Prohibition of bypass. 
a. Bypass is prohibited, and the board may take 
enforcement action against a permittee for bypass, 
unless:  
(1) Bypass was unavoidable to prevent loss of life, 
personal injury, or severe property damage; 
(2) There were no feasible alternatives to the bypass, 
such as the use of auxiliary treatment facilities, retention 
of untreated wastes, or maintenance during normal 
periods of equipment downtime. This condition is not 
satisfied if adequate back-up equipment should have 
been installed in the exercise of reasonable engineering 
judgment to prevent a bypass that occurred during 
normal periods of equipment downtime or preventive 
maintenance; and  
(3) The permittee submitted notices as required under 
subdivision 2 of this subsection. 
b. The board may approve an anticipated bypass, after 
considering its adverse effects, if the board determines 
that it will meet the three conditions listed above in 
subdivision 3 a of this subsection. 

N. Upset.  
1. An upset constitutes an affirmative defense to an action 
brought for noncompliance with such technology-based 
permit effluent limitations if the requirements of 
subdivision 2 of this subsection are met. No determination 
made during administrative review of claims that 
noncompliance was caused by upset, and before an action 
for noncompliance, is final administrative action subject to 
judicial review. 
2. A permittee who wishes to establish the affirmative 
defense of upset shall demonstrate, through properly 
signed, contemporaneous operating logs, or other relevant 
evidence that: 

a. An upset occurred and that the permittee can identify 
the cause(s) of the upset; 
b. The permitted facility was at the time being properly 
operated; 
c. The permittee submitted notice of the upset as required 
in subdivision L 7 b (2) of this section (24-hour notice); 
and 
d. The permittee complied with any remedial measures 
required under subsection D of this section. 

3. In any enforcement proceeding, the permittee seeking to 
establish the occurrence of an upset has the burden of 
proof. 

A. Monitoring.  
1. Samples and measurements taken as required by this 
permit shall be representative of the monitored activity.  
2. Monitoring shall be conducted according to procedures 
approved under 40 CFR Part 136 or alternative methods 
approved by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 
unless other procedures have been specified in this permit.  
3. The permittee shall periodically calibrate and perform 
maintenance procedures on all monitoring and analytical 
instrumentation at intervals that will ensure accuracy of 
measurements.  
4. Samples taken as required by this permit shall be 
analyzed in accordance with 1VAC30-45 (Certification for 
Noncommercial Environmental Laboratories) or 1VAC30-
46 (Accreditation for Commercial Environmental 
Laboratories). 

B. Records.  
1. Records of monitoring information shall include:  

a. The date, exact place, and time of sampling or 
measurements;  
b. The individuals who performed the sampling or 
measurements;  
c. The dates and times analyses were performed;  
d. The individuals who performed the analyses;  
e. The analytical techniques or methods used; and  
f. The results of such analyses.  

2. Except for records of monitoring information required 
by this permit related to the permittee's sewage sludge use 
and disposal activities, which shall be retained for a period 
of at least five years, the permittee shall retain records of 
all monitoring information, including all calibration and 
maintenance records and all original strip chart recordings 
for continuous monitoring instrumentation, copies of all 
reports required by this permit, and records of all data used 
to complete the registration statement for this permit, for a 
period of at least three years from the date of the sample, 
measurement, report, or request for coverage. This period 
of retention shall be extended automatically during the 
course of any unresolved litigation regarding the regulated 
activity or regarding control standards applicable to the 
permittee or as requested by the board.  

C. Reporting monitoring results. Monitoring results under 
this permit are not required to be submitted to the department. 
However, should the board request that the permittee submit 
monitoring results, the following subdivisions apply: 

1. The permittee shall submit the results of the monitoring 
required by this permit not later than the 10th day of the 
month after monitoring takes place, unless another 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 8 Virginia Register of Regulations December 14, 2015 

1370 

reporting schedule is specified elsewhere in this permit. 
Monitoring results shall be submitted to the department's 
regional office.  
2. Monitoring results shall be reported on a Discharge 
Monitoring Report (DMR) or on forms provided, 
approved, or specified by the department.  
3. If the permittee monitors any pollutant specifically 
addressed by this permit more frequently than required by 
this permit using test procedures approved under 40 CFR 
Part 136 or using other test procedures approved by the 
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency or using procedures 
specified in this permit, the results of this monitoring shall 
be included in the calculation and reporting of the data 
submitted on the DMR or reporting form specified by the 
department.  
4. Calculations for all limitations that require averaging of 
measurements shall utilize an arithmetic mean unless 
otherwise specified in this permit.  

D. Duty to provide information. The permittee shall furnish 
to the department, within a reasonable time, any information 
that the board may request to determine whether cause exists 
for modifying, revoking and reissuing, or terminating 
coverage under this permit or to determine compliance with 
this permit. The board may require the permittee to furnish, 
upon request, such plans, specifications, and other pertinent 
information as may be necessary to determine the effect of 
the wastes from the discharge on the quality of state waters or 
such other information as may be necessary to accomplish the 
purposes of the State Water Control Law. The permittee shall 
also furnish to the department, upon request, copies of records 
required to be kept by this permit.  

E. Compliance schedule reports. Reports of compliance or 
noncompliance with, or any progress reports on, interim and 
final requirements contained in any compliance schedule of 
this permit shall be submitted no later than 14 days following 
each schedule date.  

F. Unauthorized discharges. Except in compliance with this 
permit or another permit issued by the board, it shall be 
unlawful for any person to:  

1. Discharge into state waters sewage, industrial wastes, 
other wastes, or any noxious or deleterious substances; or  
2. Otherwise alter the physical, chemical, or biological 
properties of such state waters and make them detrimental 
to the public health, to animal or aquatic life, or to the use 
of such waters for domestic or industrial consumption, for 
recreation, or for other uses.  

G. Reports of unauthorized discharges. Any permittee that 
discharges or causes or allows a discharge of sewage, 
industrial waste, other wastes, or any noxious or deleterious 
substance into or upon state waters in violation of Part III F, 
or that discharges or causes or allows a discharge that may 
reasonably be expected to enter state waters in violation of 
Part III F, shall notify the department of the discharge 

immediately upon discovery of the discharge, but in no case 
later than 24 hours after said discovery. A written report of 
the unauthorized discharge shall be submitted to the 
department within five days of discovery of the discharge. 
The written report shall contain:  

1. A description of the nature and location of the discharge;  
2. The cause of the discharge;  
3. The date on which the discharge occurred;  
4. The length of time that the discharge continued;  
5. The volume of the discharge;  
6. If the discharge is continuing, how long it is expected to 
continue;  
7. If the discharge is continuing, what the expected total 
volume of the discharge will be; and  
8. Any steps planned or taken to reduce, eliminate, and 
prevent a recurrence of the present discharge or any future 
discharge not authorized by this permit.  

Discharges reportable to the department under the 
immediate reporting requirements of other regulations are 
exempted from this requirement.  

H. Reports of unusual or extraordinary discharges. If any 
unusual or extraordinary discharge including a bypass or 
upset should occur from a treatment works and the discharge 
enters or could be expected to enter state waters, the permittee 
shall promptly notify, in no case later than 24 hours, the 
department by telephone after the discovery of the discharge. 
This notification shall provide all available details of the 
incident, including any adverse effects on aquatic life and the 
known number of fish killed. The permittee shall reduce the 
report to writing and shall submit it to the department within 
five days of discovery of the discharge in accordance with 
Part III I 2. Unusual and extraordinary discharges include, but 
are not limited to, any discharge resulting from:  

1. Unusual spillage of materials resulting directly or 
indirectly from processing operations;  
2. Breakdown of processing or accessory equipment;  
3. Failure or taking out of service some or all of the 
treatment works; and  
4. Flooding or other acts of nature.  

I. Reports of noncompliance. The permittee shall report any 
noncompliance that may adversely affect state waters or may 
endanger public health.  

1. An oral report shall be provided within 24 hours from 
the time the permittee becomes aware of the 
circumstances. The following shall be included as 
information that shall be reported within 24 hours under 
this paragraph:  

a. Any unanticipated bypass; and  
b. Any upset that causes a discharge to surface waters.  

2. A written report shall be submitted within five days and 
shall contain:  
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a. A description of the noncompliance and its cause;  
b. The period of noncompliance, including exact dates 
and times, and if the noncompliance has not been 
corrected, the anticipated time it is expected to continue; 
and  
c. Steps taken or planned to reduce, eliminate, and 
prevent reoccurrence of the noncompliance.  

The board may waive the written report on a case-by-case 
basis for reports of noncompliance under Part III I if the 
oral report has been received within 24 hours and no 
adverse impact on state waters has been reported.  
3. The permittee shall report all instances of 
noncompliance not reported under Part III I 1 or 2, in 
writing, at the time the next monitoring reports are 
submitted. The reports shall contain the information listed 
in Part III I 2.  
NOTE: The immediate (within 24 hours) reports required 
in Part III G, H, and I may be made to the department's 
regional office. Reports may be made by telephone, FAX, 
or online at 
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/PollutionResponseP
reparedness/MakingaReport.aspx. For reports outside 
normal working hours, a message may be left and this shall 
fulfill the immediate reporting requirement. For 
emergencies, the Virginia Department of Emergency 
Management maintains a 24-hour telephone service at 1-
800-468-8892.  

J. Notice of planned changes.  
1. The permittee shall give notice to the department as 
soon as possible of any planned physical alterations or 
additions to the permitted facility. Notice is required only 
when:  

a. The permittee plans alteration or addition to any 
building, structure, facility, or installation from which 
there is or may be a discharge of pollutants, the 
construction of which commenced:  
(1) After promulgation of standards of performance 
under § 306 of the Clean Water Act (33 USC § 1251 et 
seq.) that are applicable to such source; or  
(2) After proposal of standards of performance in 
accordance with § 306 of the Clean Water Act that are 
applicable to such source, but only if the standards are 
promulgated in accordance with § 306 within 120 days of 
their proposal;  
b. The alteration or addition could significantly change 
the nature or increase the quantity of pollutants 
discharged. This notification applies to pollutants that are 
subject neither to effluent limitations nor to notification 
requirements specified elsewhere in this permit; or  
c. The alteration or addition results in a significant 
change in the permittee's sludge use or of disposal 
practices, and such alteration, addition, or change may 

justify the application of permit conditions that are 
different from or absent in the existing permit, including 
notification of additional use or of disposal sites not 
reported during the permit application process or not 
reported pursuant to an approved land application plan.  

2. The permittee shall give advance notice to the 
department of any planned changes in the permitted facility 
or activity that may result in noncompliance with permit 
requirements.  

K. Signatory requirements.  
1. Registration statement. All registration statements shall 
be signed as follows:  

a. For a corporation: by a responsible corporate officer. 
For the purpose of this section, a responsible corporate 
officer means (i) a president, secretary, treasurer, or vice-
president of the corporation in charge of a principal 
business function, or any other person who performs 
similar policy-making or decision-making functions for 
the corporation or (ii) the manager of one or more 
manufacturing, production, or operating facilities, 
provided the manager is authorized to make management 
decisions that govern the operation of the regulated 
facility including having the explicit or implicit duty of 
making major capital investment recommendations and 
initiating and directing other comprehensive measures to 
assure long term environmental compliance with 
environmental laws and regulations; the manager can 
ensure that the necessary systems are established or other 
actions taken to gather complete and accurate 
information for permit registration requirements; and 
where authority to sign documents has been assigned or 
delegated to the manager in accordance with corporate 
procedures;  
b. For a partnership or sole proprietorship: by a general 
partner or the proprietor, respectively; or  
c. For a municipality, state, federal, or other public 
agency: by either a principal executive officer or ranking 
elected official. For purposes of this section, a principal 
executive officer of a public agency includes (i) the chief 
executive officer of the agency or (ii) a senior executive 
officer having responsibility for the overall operations of 
a principal geographic unit of the agency.  

2. Reports, etc. All reports required by permits and other 
information requested by the board shall be signed by a 
person described in Part III K 1 or by a duly authorized 
representative of that person. A person is a duly authorized 
representative only if:  

a. The authorization is made in writing by a person 
described in Part III K 1;  
b. The authorization specifies either an individual or a 
position having responsibility for the overall operation of 
the regulated facility or activity such as the position of 
plant manager, operator of a well or a well field, 
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superintendent, position of equivalent responsibility, or 
an individual or position having overall responsibility for 
environmental matters for the company. A duly 
authorized representative may thus be either a named 
individual or any individual occupying a named position; 
and  
c. The written authorization is submitted to the 
department.  

3. Changes to authorization. If an authorization under Part 
III K 2 is no longer accurate because a different individual 
or position has responsibility for the overall operation of 
the facility, a new authorization satisfying the requirements 
of Part III K 2 shall be submitted to the department prior to 
or together with any reports, or information to be signed by 
an authorized representative.  
4. Certification. Any person signing a document under Part 
III K 1 or 2 shall make the following certification:  

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 
attachments were prepared under my direction or 
supervision in accordance with a system designed to 
assure that qualified personnel properly gather and 
evaluate the information submitted. Based on my inquiry 
of the person or persons who manage the system, or 
those persons directly responsible for gathering the 
information, the information submitted is, to the best of 
my knowledge and belief, true, accurate, and complete. I 
am aware that there are significant penalties for 
submitting false information, including the possibility of 
fine and imprisonment for knowing violations."  

L. Duty to comply. The permittee shall comply with all 
conditions of this permit. Any permit noncompliance 
constitutes a violation of the State Water Control Law and the 
Clean Water Act, except that noncompliance with certain 
provisions of this permit may constitute a violation of the 
State Water Control Law but not the Clean Water Act. Permit 
noncompliance is grounds for enforcement action; for permit 
termination, revocation and reissuance, or modification; or 
denial of a permit coverage renewal application.  

The permittee shall comply with effluent standards or 
prohibitions established under § 307(a) of the Clean Water 
Act for toxic pollutants and with standards for sewage sludge 
use or disposal established under § 405(d) of the Clean Water 
Act within the time provided in the regulations that establish 
these standards or prohibitions or standards for sewage sludge 
use or disposal, even if this permit has not yet been modified 
to incorporate the requirement.  

M. Duty to reapply. If the permittee wishes to continue an 
activity regulated by this permit after the expiration date of 
this permit, the permittee shall submit a new registration 
statement at least 60 days before the expiration date of the 
existing permit, unless permission for a later date has been 
granted by the board. The board shall not grant permission for 
registration statements to be submitted later than the 
expiration date of the existing permit.  

N. Effect of a permit. This permit does not convey any 
property rights in either real or personal property or any 
exclusive privileges, nor does it authorize any injury to 
private property or invasion of personal rights or any 
infringement of federal, state, or local law or regulations.  

O. State law. Nothing in this permit shall be construed to 
preclude the institution of any legal action under, or relieve 
the permittee from any responsibilities, liabilities, or penalties 
established pursuant to, any other state law or regulation or 
under authority preserved by § 510 of the Clean Water Act. 
Except as provided in permit conditions on "bypassing" (Part 
III U) and "upset" (Part III V), nothing in this permit shall be 
construed to relieve the permittee from civil and criminal 
penalties for noncompliance.  

P. Oil and hazardous substance liability. Nothing in this 
permit shall be construed to preclude the institution of any 
legal action or relieve the permittee from responsibilities, 
liabilities, or penalties to which the permittee is or may be 
subject under §§ 62.1-44.34:14 through 62.1-44.34:23 of the 
State Water Control Law.  

Q. Proper operation and maintenance. The permittee shall at 
all times properly operate and maintain all facilities and 
systems of treatment and control (and related appurtenances) 
that are installed or used by the permittee to achieve 
compliance with the conditions of this permit. Proper 
operation and maintenance also include effective plant 
performance, adequate funding, adequate staffing, and 
adequate laboratory and process controls, including 
appropriate quality assurance procedures. This provision 
requires the operation of back-up or auxiliary facilities or 
similar systems that are installed by the permittee only when 
the operation is necessary to achieve compliance with the 
conditions of this permit.  

R. Disposal of solids or sludges. Solids, sludges, or other 
pollutants removed in the course of treatment or management 
of pollutants shall be disposed of in a manner so as to prevent 
any pollutant from such materials from entering state waters.  

S. Duty to mitigate. The permittee shall take all reasonable 
steps to minimize or prevent any discharge or sludge use or 
disposal in violation of this permit that has a reasonable 
likelihood of adversely affecting human health or the 
environment.  

T. Need to halt or reduce activity not a defense. It shall not 
be a defense for a permittee in an enforcement action that it 
would have been necessary to halt or reduce the permitted 
activity in order to maintain compliance with the conditions 
of this permit.  

U. Bypass.  
1. "Bypass" means the intentional diversion of waste 
streams from any portion of a treatment facility. The 
permittee may allow any bypass to occur that does not 
cause effluent limitations to be exceeded, but only if it also 
is for essential maintenance to ensure efficient operation. 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/62.1-44.34:14/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/62.1-44.34:23/
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These bypasses are not subject to the provisions of Part III 
U 2 and 3.  
2. Notice.  

a. Anticipated bypass. If the permittee knows in advance 
of the need for a bypass, prior notice shall be submitted, 
if possible, at least 10 days before the date of the bypass.  
b. Unanticipated bypass. The permittee shall submit 
notice of an unanticipated bypass as required in Part III I.  

3. Prohibition of bypass.  
a. Bypass is prohibited, and the board may take 
enforcement action against a permittee for bypass, 
unless:  
(1) Bypass was unavoidable to prevent loss of life, 
personal injury, or severe property damage;  
(2) There were no feasible alternatives to the bypass, 
such as the use of auxiliary treatment facilities, retention 
of untreated wastes, or maintenance during normal 
periods of equipment downtime. This condition is not 
satisfied if adequate back-up equipment should have 
been installed in the exercise of reasonable engineering 
judgment to prevent a bypass that occurred during 
normal periods of equipment downtime or preventive 
maintenance; and  
(3) The permittee submitted notices as required under 
Part III U 2.  
b. The board may approve an anticipated bypass after 
considering its adverse effects if the board determines 
that it will meet the three conditions listed in Part III U 3 
a.  

V. Upset.  
1. An upset, defined in 9VAC25-31-10, constitutes an 
affirmative defense to an action brought for noncompliance 
with technology-based permit effluent limitations if the 
requirements of Part III V 2 are met. A determination made 
during administrative review of claims that noncompliance 
was caused by upset, and before an action for 
noncompliance, is not a final administrative action subject 
to judicial review.  
2. A permittee who wishes to establish the affirmative 
defense of upset shall demonstrate through properly 
signed, contemporaneous operating logs, or other relevant 
evidence that:  

a. An upset occurred and that the permittee can identify 
the cause or causes of the upset;  
b. The permitted facility was at the time being properly 
operated;  
c. The permittee submitted notice of the upset as required 
in Part III I; and  
d. The permittee complied with remedial measures 
required under Part III S.  

3. In any enforcement proceeding the permittee seeking to 
establish the occurrence of an upset has the burden of 
proof.  

W. Inspection and entry. The permittee shall allow the 
director, or an authorized representative, upon presentation of 
credentials and other documents as may be required by law, 
to:  

1. Enter upon the permittee's premises where a regulated 
facility or activity is located or conducted, or where 
records must be kept under the conditions of this permit;  
2. Have access to and copy, at reasonable times, any 
records that must be kept under the conditions of this 
permit;  
3. Inspect at reasonable times facilities, equipment 
(including monitoring and control equipment), practices, or 
operations regulated or required under this permit; and  
4. Sample or monitor at reasonable times, for the purposes 
of assuring permit compliance or as otherwise authorized 
by the Clean Water Act and the State Water Control Law, 
substances or parameters at any location.  

For purposes of this section, the time for inspection shall be 
deemed reasonable during regular business hours and 
whenever the facility is discharging. Nothing contained 
herein shall make an inspection unreasonable during an 
emergency.  

X. Permit actions. Permits may be modified, revoked and 
reissued, or terminated for cause. The filing of a request by 
the permittee for a permit modification, revocation and 
reissuance, termination, or notification of planned changes or 
anticipated noncompliance does not stay any permit 
condition.  

Y. Transfer of permits. Permits are not transferable to any 
person except after notice to the department. Coverage under 
this permit may be automatically transferred to a new 
permittee if:  

1. The current permittee notifies the department within 30 
days of the transfer of the title to the facility or property, 
unless permission for a later date has been granted by the 
board;  
2. The notice includes a written agreement between the 
existing and new permittees containing a specific date for 
transfer of permit responsibility, coverage, and liability 
between them; and  
3. The board does not notify the existing permittee and the 
proposed new permittee of its intent to deny the new 
permittee coverage under the permit. If this notice is not 
received, the transfer is effective on the date specified in 
the agreement described in Part III Y 2.  

Z. Severability. The provisions of this permit are severable, 
and if any provision of this permit or the application of any 
provision of this permit to any circumstance is held invalid, 
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the application of such provision to other circumstances, and 
the remainder of this permit, shall not be affected thereby. 

 

9VAC25-820-80. Facilities subject to reduced individual total nitrogen and total phosphorus waste load wasteload 
allocations. 

The facilities identified in this section are subject to reduced individual total nitrogen and total phosphorus waste load 
wasteload allocations as indicated. 

Facility Registration No. Basin Reduced Waste Load Allocation  

Caroline Co. Regional STP VAN030045 York 609 lbs/yr TP 

Gordonsville STP VAN030046 York 1,145 lbs/yr TP 

Hanover County Aggregate1  VAN030051 York 11,390 lbs/yr TP (delivered)  

White Birch Paper - Bear Island LLC Division VAN030133 York 10,233 lbs/yr TP 

Western Refinery - Yorktown  VAN030047 York 17,689 lbs/yr TP 

HRSD York River Aggregate2  VAN030052 York 19,315 lbs/yr TP (delivered)  

Parham Landing WWTP VAN030048 York 2,436 lbs/yr TP 

RockTenn CP LLC - West Point  VAN030049 York 56,038 lbs/yr TP 

HRSD James River Aggregate3  VAN040090 James  4,400,000 lbs/yr TN (delivered)  
1Hanover County Aggregate includes Ashland STP (VA0024899), Doswell WWTP (VA0029521), and Totopotomoy WWTP 
(VA0089915) 
2HRSD York River Aggregate includes York River STP (VA0081311), West Point STP (VA0075434), and King William STP 
(VA0028819). 

Facility VPDES No. 

Phase 1 
Total Nitrogen 

(lbs/yr) 

Phase 2 
Total Nitrogen 

(lbs/yr) 

Phase 2  
Total Phosphorus 

(lbs/yr) 

Buena Vista STP VA0020991 N/A N/A 2,778 

Covington STP VA0025542 N/A N/A 3,705 

GP Big Island LLC VA0003026 N/A N/A 40,273 

Mohawk Industries, Inc. VA0004677 N/A N/A 9,880 

Lexington - Rockbridge 
Regional WQCF VA0088161 N/A N/A 3,705 

Alleghany County - Low Moor 
STP VA0027979 N/A N/A 617 

Lower Jackson River STP VA0090671 N/A N/A 1,852 

Clifton Forge STP VA0022772 N/A N/A 2,470 

MeadWestvaco VA0003646 N/A N/A 96,771 

Amherst - Rutledge Creek 
WWTP VA0031321 N/A N/A 741 

BWX Technologies Inc. VA0003697 N/A N/A 1,235 

Greif Inc. VA0006408 N/A N/A 24,082 

Lake Monticello STP VA0024945 N/A N/A 1,229 

Lynchburg STP (DWF only) VA0024970 N/A N/A 27,169 
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RWSA - Moores Creek 
Regional STP VA0025518 N/A N/A 18,525 

Powhatan CC STP VA0020699 N/A N/A 581 

Crewe WWTP VA0020303 N/A N/A 617 

Farmville WWTP VA0083135 N/A N/A 2,964 

Richmond WWTP (DWF 
only) VA0063177 N/A N/A 55,574 

E. I. DuPont - Spruance  VA0004669 N/A N/A 6,339 

Chesterfield County - Falling 
Creek WWTP VA0024996 N/A N/A 12,473 

Chesterfield County - Proctors 
Creek WWTP VA0060194 N/A N/A 33,344 

Dominion - Chesterfield (Net) VA0004146 N/A N/A 170 

Henrico County WWTP VA0063690 N/A N/A 92,623 

The Sustainability Park LLC VA0002780 N/A N/A 1,556 

Philip Morris USA - Park 500 VA0026557 N/A N/A 2,149 

Honeywell - Hopewell VA0005291 N/A N/A 41,841 

Hopewell Regional WTF VA0066630 N/A N/A 61,749 

South Central WW Authority 
WWTF VA0025437 N/A N/A 28,404 

Tyson Foods - Glen Allen VA0004031 N/A N/A 409 

Chickahominy WWTP VA0088480 N/A N/A 123 

HRSD - Boat Harbor STP VA0081256 N/A N/A 43,177 

HRSD - James River STP VA0081272 N/A N/A 34,541 

HRSD - Williamsburg STP VA0081302 N/A N/A 38,859 

HRSD - Nansemond STP VA0081299 N/A N/A 51,812 

HRSD - Army Base STP VA0081230 N/A N/A 31,087 

HRSD - Virginia Initiative 
Plant WWTP VA0081281 N/A N/A 69,083 

HRSD - Chesapeake - 
Elizabeth STP VA0081264 N/A N/A 41,450 

HRSD Aggregate Nutrient 
Discharge* N/A 4,400,000 3,400,000 310,010 

JH Miles and Company VA0003263 N/A N/A 17,437 
3*HRSD James River Aggregate includes Boat Harbor STP (VA0081256), James River STP (VA0081272), Williamsburg 
STP (VA0081302), Nansemond STP (VA0081299), Army Base STP (VA0081230), Virginia Initiative STP (VA0081281), 
and Chesapeake - Elizabeth STP (VA0081264). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4273; Filed November 17, 2015, 1:11 p.m.  
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  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-20. Regulations for the 
Conduct of Human Research (amending 12VAC5-20-10, 
12VAC5-20-30 through 12VAC5-20-130).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-12.1 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
Effective Date: January 14, 2016.  
Agency Contact: Dev Nair, Director, Division of Policy and 
Evaluation, Office of Family Health, Department of Health, 
109 Governor Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
864-7662, or email dev.nair@vdh.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendments (i) revise the definitions of "human 
research," "informed consent," and "legally authorized 
representative" to be consistent with § 32.1-162.16 of the 
Code of Virginia and 45 CFR Part 46; (ii) provide 
additional clarity on committee review procedures; (iii) 
require that the research review committee ensure 
compliance with the Health Insurance Portability and 
Accountability Act and federal and state regulations 
regarding disclosure of personal health information and 
change committee membership from seven to five; (iv) 
clarify the informed consent requirements; and (v) revise 
the required reporting dates for the research review 
committee to report yearly activities and for the 
commissioner to report the listing of institutions that are 
subject to federal regulations regarding human subject 
research and are exempt from 12VAC5-20. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 
public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  
12VAC5-20-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, 
shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Affiliated with the institution" means employed by or 
contracting with the institution or directly or indirectly 
involved in the management thereof.  

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the 
Department of Health.  

"Committee" means human research committee assembled 
pursuant to 12VAC5-20-70 of this chapter by any institution 
defined herein.  

"Department" means the Department of Health.  
"Human research" means any systematic investigation 

utilizing human participants who may be exposed to physical 

or psychological injury as a consequence of participation and 
which departs from the application of established and 
accepted therapeutic methods appropriate to meet the 
participants' needs, including research development, testing, 
and evaluation, utilizing human subjects that is designed to 
develop or contribute to generalized knowledge. Human 
research shall not be deemed to include research exempt from 
federal research regulation pursuant to 45 CFR 46.101(b).  

"Informed consent" means the knowing and voluntary 
agreement, without undue inducement or any element of 
force, fraud, deceit, duress, or other form of constraint or 
coercion, of a person who is capable of exercising free power 
of choice. For the purposes of human research, the basic 
elements of information necessary to such consent shall 
include:  

1. A reasonable and comprehensible explanation to the 
person of the proposed procedures or protocols to be 
followed, their purposes, including descriptions of any 
attendant discomforts, and risks and benefits reasonably to 
be expected;  
2. A disclosure of any appropriate alternative procedures or 
therapies that might be advantageous for the individual;  
3. An instruction that the person may withdraw his consent 
and discontinue participation in the human research at any 
time without prejudice to him;  
4. An explanation of any costs or compensation which may 
accrue to the person and, if applicable, the availability of 
third party reimbursement for the proposed procedures or 
protocols; and  
5. An offer to answer any inquiries by any individual 
concerning the procedures and protocols.  

In addition to the required elements, the information 
provided to the individual should also include the following:  

1. A statement that the study involves research, and an 
explanation that includes identification of any procedures 
which are experimental; the expected duration of the 
individual's participation; and a statement describing the 
extent, if any, to which confidentiality of records 
identifying the participant will be maintained; and if any 
data from this study are published, the individual will not 
be identified without his written permission;  
2. A statement that there may be other risks not yet 
identified;  
3. A disclosure of any appropriate alternative procedures or 
therapies that might be advantageous for the individual;  
4. A statement that participation is voluntary, refusal to 
participate will involve no penalty or loss of benefits to 
which the individual is otherwise entitled, and the 
individual may discontinue participation at any time 
without penalty or loss of benefits to which he is otherwise 
entitled;  
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5. An explanation of whom to contact for answers to 
pertinent questions about the research and research 
participants' rights, and whom to contact in the event of a 
research-related injury; and  
6. For research involving more than minimal risk, an 
explanation as to whether any compensation or medical 
care is available if injury occurs and, if so, what is included 
or where further information may be obtained.  

Information should be provided in a manner that is 
understandable to the individual with regard to his 
educational level and language of greatest fluency.  

"Institution" or "agency" means any facility, program, or 
organization owned or operated by the Commonwealth, by 
any political subdivision, or by any person, firm, corporation, 
association, or other legal entity.  

"Legally authorized representative" means, in the following 
specified order of priority, (i) the parent or parents having 
custody of a prospective participant subject of human 
research who is a minor; (ii) the agent appointed under an 
advance directive as defined in § 54.1-2982 of the Code of 
Virginia, executed by the person who is the prospective 
subject of human research, provided the advance directive 
authorizes the agent to make decisions regarding the person's 
participation in human research; (iii) the legal guardian of a 
prospective participant subject of human research; (iv) the 
spouse of a prospective subject of human research, except 
where a suit for divorce has been filed and the divorce decree 
is not yet final; (v) an adult child of a prospective subject of 
human research; (vi) a parent of a prospective subject of 
human research when the individual is an adult; (vii) an adult 
brother or sister of a prospective subject of human research; 
or (viii) any person or judicial or other body authorized by 
law or regulation to consent on behalf of a prospective 
participant subject of human research to such person's 
participation in the particular human research. For the 
purposes of this chapter, any person authorized by law or 
regulation to consent on behalf of a prospective participant 
subject to his such subject's participation in the particular 
human research shall include an attorney-in-fact appointed 
under a durable power of attorney, to the extent the power 
grants the authority to make such a decision. The attorney-in-
fact shall not be employed by the person, institution or 
agency conducting the human research. No official or 
employee of the institution or agency conducting or 
authorizing the research shall be qualified to act as a legally 
authorized representative.  

"Minimal risk" means that the risks of harm or discomfort 
anticipated in the proposed research are not greater, 
considering probability and magnitude, than those ordinarily 
encountered in daily life or during the performance of routine 
physical or psychological examinations, or tests, or 
treatments.  

[ "Minor increase over minimal risk" means there is only 
slightly more than minimal risk; potential harms are transient 

and reversible with respect to any harm; and there is an 
extremely small probability that the subject will experience 
severe pain, discomfort, stress, or harm. ] 

"Nontherapeutic research" means human research in which 
there is no reasonable expectation of direct benefit to the 
physical or mental condition of the participant subject.  

"Protected health information" or "PHI" means individually 
identifiable health information that is created or received by 
or on behalf of the institution or agency that is maintained or 
transmitted in any medium, including electronic media. PHI 
excludes individually identifiable health information in: 

1. Education records covered by the Family Educational 
Rights and Privacy Act, as amended, 20 USC § 1232g; 
2. Records described at 20 USC § 1232g(a)(4)(B)(iv) 
(educational records not otherwise covered under the 
Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act in subdivision 
1 of this definition); or 
3. Employment records held by a covered entity in its role 
as an employer. 

"Subject" or "human subject" means a living person about 
whom an investigator (whether professional or student) 
conducting research obtains (i) data through intervention or 
interaction with the person or (ii) identifiable private 
information. 
12VAC5-20-30. Applicability.  

This chapter shall apply to the department, including any 
local health department and to any facility operated, funded 
or licensed by the department which that conducts or which 
proposes to conduct or authorize research which uses using 
human participants subjects.  
12VAC5-20-40. Policy.  

A. No human research may shall be conducted without 
informing the participant subject or his legally authorized 
representative of the procedures, risks, and discomforts of the 
research. The consent of the participant subject or his legally 
authorized representative to participate in the research shall 
be subscribed to in writing by the participant subject or his 
legally authorized representative and supported by the 
signature of a witness not involved in the conduct of the 
research, except as provided for in 12VAC5-20-100 F and H 
of this chapter. Special arrangements shall be made for those 
who need assistance in understanding the consequences of 
participating in the research.  

B. Each human research activity shall be reviewed and 
approved by a committee as set forth in 12VAC5-20-70 of 
this chapter composed of representatives of varied 
backgrounds who shall assure the competent, complete, and 
professional review of human research activities.  

C. Every person engaged in the conduct of human research 
or proposing to conduct human research shall associate 
himself with an institution or agency having a research review 
committee, and the human research which he conducts or 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 8 Virginia Register of Regulations December 14, 2015 

1378 

proposes to conduct shall be subject to review and approval 
by such committee in the manner set forth in these regulations 
this chapter.  

D. Nontherapeutic research using patients or residents 
within an institution as defined herein is forbidden unless it is 
determined by the research review committee that such 
nontherapeutic research will shall not present greater than 
minimal risk.  

E. The individual person, institution, or agency conducting 
the human research shall be required to notify all participants 
subjects of human research of the risks caused by the research 
which that are discovered after the research has concluded. If 
consent has been obtained by the signature of the legally 
authorized representative, the legally authorized 
representative shall also be notified.  

F.  No official or employee of the institution or agency 
conducting or authorizing the human research shall be 
qualified to act as a legally authorized representative for a 
subject of the particular human research. 
12VAC5-20-50. Review process for department.  

A. Prior to the initiation of a human research project by any 
component of the department, a description of the proposed 
human research project shall be submitted to a research 
review committee established by the department for review 
and approval. The description shall include a statement of the 
purpose of the proposed project and justification thereof, the 
criteria for inclusion of a participant as a subject in the 
research project, a description of what will be done to the 
participants subjects, and a copy of the informed consent 
statement.  

B. The committee shall report by January March 31 of each 
year to the commissioner on activities of the committee 
during the previous calendar year. Such reports shall include:  

1. A description of each human research project reviewed 
and whether it was approved or disapproved;  
2. Any significant deviations from proposals as approved;  
3. A list of committee members, their qualifications for 
service on the committee, and their institutional affiliation; 
and  
4. A copy of the minutes of any committee meetings 
conducted.  

C. The chairman chair of the committee shall report as soon 
as possible to the commissioner any violation of the research 
protocol which that led the committee to either suspend or 
terminate the research.  

D. The commissioner may inspect the records of the 
committee.  

E. The commissioner shall report at least annually to the 
Governor and General Assembly on the human research 
projects conducted by any component of the department as 
annually reported to the commissioner by the committee.  

12VAC5-20-60. Review process for institutions or 
agencies funded or licensed by the department.  

A. Prior to the initiation of a human research project by any 
institution or agency funded or licensed by the department, a 
description of the proposed human research project shall be 
submitted to a research review committee for review and 
approval. The description shall include a statement of the 
purpose of the proposed project and justification thereof, the 
criteria for inclusion of a participant subject in the research 
project, a description of what will be done to the participants 
subjects, and a copy of the informed consent statement.  

B. When more than one such institution or agency is 
involved in a research project, the cooperating entities may 
enter into joint review.  

C. Such institutions or agencies having a committee shall 
report by January March 31 of each year to the commissioner 
on activities of the committee during the previous calendar 
year. Such reports shall include:  

1. A description of each human research project reviewed 
and whether it was approved or disapproved;  
2. Any significant deviations from proposals as approved;  
3. A list of committee members, their qualifications for 
service on the committee, and their institutional affiliation; 
and  
4. A copy of the minutes of any committee meetings 
conducted.  

D. The chairman chair of the committee shall report as soon 
as possible to the head of such institution or agency and to the 
commissioner any violation of the research protocol which 
led the committee to either suspend or terminate the research.  

E. The commissioner may inspect the records of the 
committee.  

F. The commissioner shall report at least annually to the 
Governor and General Assembly on the human research 
projects conducted by such institutions or agencies as 
annually reported to the commissioner by the relevant 
research review committees.  
12VAC5-20-70. Composition of research review 
committee.  

A. Each committee shall have at least seven five members, 
appointed by the head of the institution, with varying 
backgrounds to provide complete and adequate review of 
activities commonly conducted by the institution. The 
committee shall be sufficiently qualified through the maturity, 
experience, and diversity of its members, including 
consideration of race, gender and cultural background, to 
promote respect for its advice and counsel in safeguarding the 
rights and welfare of participants subjects in human research. 
In addition to possessing the professional competence 
necessary to review specific activities, the committee shall be 
able to ascertain the acceptability of applications and 
proposals in terms of institutional commitments and 
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regulations, applicable law, standards of professional conduct 
and practice, and community attitudes. If a committee 
regularly reviews research that has an impact on patients or 
residents within an institution as defined herein or other 
vulnerable category of participants subjects, [ the committee 
shall have in its membership one or more individuals who are 
primarily concerned with the welfare of these participants ] 
subjects [ and who have appropriate experience to serve in 
that capacity such as children, prisoners, pregnant women, or 
handicapped or mentally disabled persons, consideration shall 
be given to the inclusion of one or more individuals who are 
knowledgeable about and experienced in working with these 
subjects ].  

B. No committee shall consist entirely of members of one 
profession, and at least one member must shall be an 
individual whose primary concerns are in nonscientific areas 
(e.g., lawyers, ethicists, members of the clergy).  

C. Each committee shall include at least one member who is 
not otherwise affiliated with the institution and who is not 
part of the immediate family of a person who is affiliated with 
the institution.  

D. No member of a committee shall participate in the 
committee's initial or continuing review of any project in 
which the member has a conflicting interest, except to 
provide information requested by the committee. The 
committee has responsibility for determining whether a 
member has a conflicting interest. The committee size shall 
be maintained at no fewer than seven five persons by 
appointment of a substitute representative for each member 
with a conflicting interest.  

E. A committee may, at its discretion, invite individuals with 
competence in special areas to assist in the review of complex 
issues which require expertise beyond or in addition to that 
available on the committee. These individuals may shall not 
vote with the committee.  

F. A quorum of the committee shall consist of a majority of 
its members including at least one member whose primary 
concerns are in nonscientific areas.  

G. The committee and the institution shall establish 
procedures and rules of operation necessary to fulfill the 
requirements of this chapter.  
12VAC5-20-80. Elements of committee review process.  

A. No human research shall be conducted or authorized by a 
person, institution, or agency unless a research review 
committee has reviewed and approved the proposed human 
research project giving consideration to:  

1. The adequacy of the description of the potential benefits 
and risks involved and the adequacy of the methodology of 
the human research; 
2. The degree of the risk and, if the human research is 
nontherapeutic, whether it presents greater than minimal 
risk; 

3. Whether the rights and welfare of the human subjects 
involved are adequately protected; 
4. Whether the risks to the human subjects are outweighed 
by the potential benefits to them; 
5. Whether the risks to subjects are minimized (i) by using 
procedures that are consistent with sound human research 
design and that do not unnecessarily expose subjects to risk 
and (ii) whenever appropriate, by using currently accepted 
procedures for diagnostic or treatment purposes; 
6. Whether additional safeguards have been included in the 
study to protect the rights and welfare of the subjects when 
some or all of the subjects are likely to be incapable of 
providing informed consent or are otherwise vulnerable to 
coercion or undue [ influence inducement ], such as 
children, prisoners, pregnant women, mentally disabled 
persons, or economically or educationally disadvantaged 
persons; 
7. Whether the informed consent is to be obtained by 
methods that are adequate and appropriate and whether the 
written consent form is adequate and appropriate in both 
content and language for the particular human research and 
for the particular subjects of the human research; 
8. Whether the persons proposing to supervise or conduct 
the particular human research are appropriately competent 
and qualified; 
9. Whether criteria for selection of subjects are equitable; 
and 
10. Whether the human research conforms with other 
requirements of the department, where applicable. 

A. B. The committee shall consider a research proposals 
proposal within 45 days after its submission to the committee. 
In order for the research proposal to be approved, it shall 
receive the approval of a majority of those the committee 
members present at a meeting in for which a quorum exists. A 
committee shall notify investigators and the institution in 
writing of its decision to approve or disapprove the proposed 
research activity, proposal or of modifications required to 
secure committee approval.  

B. C. During the committee review of research projects 
proposals, no personal identifiers of present or potential 
subjects shall be stated.  

C. D. The committee shall approve or develop a written 
description of the procedure to be followed when a subject 
has a complaint about a research project in which he is 
participating or has participated.  

D. E. Any subject who has a complaint about a research 
project in which he is participating or has participated shall be 
referred to the committee to determine if there has been a 
violation of the protocol.  

F. The committee shall have the authority to suspend or 
terminate approval of research that is not being conducted in 
accordance with the committee requirements or that has been 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 8 Virginia Register of Regulations December 14, 2015 

1380 

associated with unexpected serious harm to the subjects. Any 
suspension or termination of approval shall include a 
statement of the reasons for the committee's action and shall 
be reported promptly to the investigator, appropriate 
institutional officials, the department or agency head, and the 
commissioner. 

G. The chair of the committee shall provide a written report 
to the head of the institution of any violation of the human 
research protocol that led the committee to suspend or 
terminate the human research. 

E. H. The committee shall require reports from approved 
research projects at least annually to ensure conformity with 
the approved proposal. The frequency of such reports shall be 
consistent with the nature and degree of risk of each research 
project. The committee shall also require a report from the 
research project at the conclusion of the research project.  

I. The committee shall ensure compliance with the Health 
Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 
(42 USC § 1320d et seq.), if applicable, and federal and state 
regulations regarding the use and disclosure of PHI created 
for human research. In particular, authorization shall be 
obtained for the use and disclosure of PHI created for the 
purpose of human research, except as otherwise permitted by 
45 CFR 164.512(i). 

J. When cooperating institutions conduct some or all of the 
human research involving some or all of the subjects of the 
human research, each cooperating institution shall be 
responsible for safeguarding the rights and welfare of the 
subjects and for complying with this chapter, provided 
however, in complying with this chapter, institutions may 
enter into joint review, rely upon the review of another 
qualified committee, or come to similar agreements aimed at 
avoiding duplication of effort. Any such agreement shall be in 
writing and designate a lead institution, which shall be the 
institution responsible for reporting and handling any possible 
misconduct in the human research. Such agreements shall be 
entered into by the committee chair with the approval of a 
majority of the committee members. If an institution or 
agency does not have a research review committee, such 
agreements shall be approved and entered into by the chief 
executive officer of the institution or his designee. 
12VAC5-20-90. Expedited review of human research 
projects.  

A. The committee is authorized to conduct an expedited 
review of a human research project which that involves no 
more than minimal risk to the subjects if: and involves only 
research procedures listed in one or more categories 
established by the Secretary of Health and Human Services 
and published in the Federal Register pursuant to 45 CFR 
46.110.  

B. The committee also is authorized to conduct an expedited 
review of a human research project that involves no more 
than minimal risk to the subjects if: 

1. Another institution's or agency's human research review 
committee has reviewed and approved the project; or  
2. The review involves only minor changes in previously 
approved research and the changes occur during the 
approved project period.  

C. An expedited review may be carried out by the chair of 
the committee or by one or more experienced reviewers 
designated by the chair from among the committee members. 
In reviewing the research project, the reviewers may exercise 
all of the authorities of the committee except that the 
reviewers may not disapprove the research project. A research 
project may be disapproved only after review by the full 
committee in accordance to the procedures set forth in 
12VAC5-20-80. 

B. D. Each committee which that uses an expedited review 
procedure shall adopt a method for keeping all members 
advised of research proposals which projects that have been 
approved under the procedure.  
12VAC5-20-100. Informed consent.  

A. "Informed consent" means the knowing and voluntary 
agreement, without undue inducement or any element of 
force, fraud, deceit, duress, or other form of constraint or 
coercion, of a person who is capable of exercising free power 
of choice. For the purposes of human research, the basic 
elements of information necessary to determine the existence 
of such consent shall include the following:  

1. A reasonable and comprehensible explanation to the 
person of the proposed procedures or protocols to be 
followed, their purposes, including descriptions of any 
attendant discomforts, and risks and benefits reasonably to 
be expected, how the results of the human research are 
disseminated, and how the identity of the person is 
protected;  
2. A disclosure of any appropriate alternative procedures or 
therapies that might be advantageous for the individual 
person, together with their side effects, risks, and benefits;  
3. A description of any adverse consequences and risks to 
be expected and an indication of whether there may be 
other significant risks not yet identified; 
3. 4. An instruction that the person may withdraw his 
consent and discontinue participation in the human 
research at any time without prejudice to him or fear of 
reprisal;  
4. 5. An explanation of any costs or compensation that may 
accrue to the person and, if applicable, the availability of 
third party reimbursement for the proposed procedures or 
protocols or any medical care that may be available if an 
injury occurs;  
5. 6. An offer to answer any inquiries by any individual the 
person or, if applicable, his legally authorized 
representative concerning the procedures and protocols and 
a description of the ways in which concerns may be raised 
or questions asked;  
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6. 7. A statement that the study involves research, and an 
explanation that includes identification of any procedures 
that are experimental; the expected duration of the 
individual's person's participation; a statement describing 
the extent, if any, to which confidentiality of records 
identifying the participant will be maintained; and if any 
data from this study are published, the individual person 
will not be identified without his written permission;  
7. [ 8. A statement that there may be other risks not yet 
identified; ] 
[ 8. 9. ] A disclosure of any appropriate alternative 
procedures or therapies that might be advantageous for the 
individual person;  
[ 9. 10. ] A statement that participation is voluntary, refusal 
to participate will involve no penalty or loss of benefits to 
which the individual person is otherwise entitled, and the 
individual person may discontinue participation at any time 
without penalty or loss of benefits to which he is otherwise 
entitled;  
[ 10. 11. ] An explanation of whom to contact for answers 
to pertinent questions about the research and research 
participants' rights, and whom to contact in the event of a 
research-related injury; and  
[ 11. 12. ] For research involving more than minimal risk, 
an explanation as to whether any compensation or medical 
care is available if injury occurs and, if so, what is included 
or where further information may be obtained.  

Information shall be provided in a manner that is 
understandable to the individual person with regard to his 
educational level and language of greatest fluency.  

B. No human research shall be conducted in the absence of 
informed consent subscribed to in writing by the person or by 
the person's authorized representative except as provided for 
in subsection E of this section. If the person is capable of 
providing informed consent, written consent shall be provided 
by the person and witnessed. If the person is incapable of 
making an informed decision as defined in § 54.1-2982 of the 
Code of Virginia, at the time consent is required, written 
consent shall be provided by the person's legally authorized 
representative and witnessed. If the person is a minor 
otherwise capable of rendering informed consent, the consent 
shall be provided by both the minor and his legally authorized 
representative. An investigator shall seek such consent only 
under circumstances that provide the person who is the 
prospective subject or the representative sufficient 
opportunity to consider whether to participate and that 
minimize the possibility of coercion or undue influence. The 
information that is given to the person or, if applicable, the 
person's legally authorized representative shall be in language 
understandable to the person or representative. 

C. No person shall participate in human research unless the 
informed consent requirement in this section is met. No 
informed consent shall include any language through which 

the person waives or appears to waive any of his legal rights, 
including any release of any person, institution, or agency or 
any agents therof from liability for negligence. No person 
shall be forced to participate in any human research if the 
investigator conducting the human research knows that 
participation in the human research is protested by the person. 

D. No legally authorized representative shall consent to 
nontherapeutic human research unless it is determined by the 
research review committee that such nontherapeutic research 
will present no more than a minor increase over minimal risk 
to the subject [ and (i) the intervention or procedure presents 
experiences to subjects that are reasonably commensurate 
with those inherent in their actual or expected medical, dental, 
psychological, social, or educational situations; and (ii) the 
intervention or procedure is likely to yield generalizable 
knowledge about the subject's disorder or condition, which is 
of vital importance for the understanding or amelioration of 
the subject's disorder or condition ]. A legally authorized 
representative may not consent to participation in human 
research on behalf of a subject if the legally authorized 
representative knows, or upon reasonable inquiry ought to 
know, that any aspect of the human research protocol is 
contrary to the religious beliefs or basic values of the subject, 
whether expressed orally or in writing. 

E. The research review committee may approve a consent 
procedure that does not include or that alters some or all of 
the elements of informed consent set forth in this section, or 
that waives the requirements to obtain informed consent 
provided the committee finds and documents that:  

1. The human research involves no more than minimal risk 
to the subjects; 
2. The omission, waiver, or alteration will not adversely 
affect the rights and welfare of the subjects; 
3. The human research could not practicably be performed 
without the omission, waiver, or alterations; and 
4. After participation, the subjects shall be provided with 
additional pertinent information, whenever appropriate. 

B. F. Consent may take the form of either of the following:  
1. A written consent document that embodies the elements 
of informed consent required by this section. This form 
may be read to the subject or the subject's legally 
authorized representative, but, in any event, the 
investigator shall give either the subject or the 
representative adequate opportunity to read it before it is 
signed and witnessed; or  
2. A short form written consent document stating that the 
elements of informed consent required by this section have 
been presented orally to the subject or the subject's legally 
authorized representative. When this method is used, there 
shall be a witness to the oral presentation. Also, the 
committee shall approve a written summary of what is to 
be said to the subject or the representative. Only the short 
form itself written consent is to be signed by the subject or 
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the representative. However, the witness shall sign both the 
short form written consent and a copy of the summary, and 
the person actually obtaining consent shall sign a copy of 
the summary. A copy of the summary and a copy of the 
short form written consent shall be given to the subject or 
the representative.  

G. The research review committee may waive the 
requirement in subsection B of this section for the 
investigator to obtain a written informed consent form for 
some or all subjects if it finds that the only record linking the 
subject and the human research would be the consent 
document and the principal risk would be potential harm 
resulting from a breach of confidentiality. Each subject shall 
be asked whether the subject wants documentation linking the 
subject with the human research, and the subject's wishes 
shall govern. In cases where the documentation requirement 
is waived, the committee may require the investigator to 
provide subjects with a written statement explaining the 
human research. 
12VAC5-20-110. Categories of human research exempt 
from regulation.  

Research activities in which the only involvement of human 
participants will be subjects is in one or more of the following 
categories are exempt from this chapter:  

1. The surveillance and investigation by the department 
into all preventable diseases and epidemics in the 
Commonwealth and into the means for the prevention of 
such diseases and epidemics conducted pursuant to § 32.1-
39 of the Code of Virginia.  
2. Research designed to study on a large scale anonymous 
vital records and registry data collected pursuant to the 
Code of Virginia, Chapter 7 (§ 32.1-249 et seq.) of Title 
32.1 (Vital Records), § 32.1-64.1 (Virginia Hearing 
Impairment Identification and Monitoring System), § 32.1-
69.1 (Viginia (Virginia Congenital Anomalies Reporting 
and Education System), § 32.1-70 (Statewide Cancer 
Registry), § 32.1-71.l (Statewide Alzheimer's Disease and 
Related Disorders Registry), § 32.1-46.01 (Virginia 
Immunization Information System), and §§ § 32.116.1 and 
32.116.1:2 (Emergency Medical Services Patient Care 
Information System).  
3. Research or student learning outcomes assessment 
conducted in educational settings such as research 
involving:  

a. Regular or special education instructional strategies; 
[ or ]  
b. The effectiveness of or the comparison among 
instructional techniques, curricula, or classroom 
management methods; or  
c. The use of educational tests, whether cognitive, 
diagnostic, aptitude, or achievement, if the data from 
such tests are recorded in a manner so that participants 

subjects cannot be identified, directly or through 
identifiers linked to the participants subjects.  

4. Research involving survey or interview procedures 
unless responses are recorded in such a manner that the 
participants subjects can be identified, directly or through 
identifiers linked to the participants subjects, and either:  

a. The participant's subject's responses, if they became 
known outside the research, could reasonably place the 
participant at risk of criminal or civil liability or be 
damaging to his financial standing, employability, or 
reputation; or  
b. The research deals with sensitive aspects of the 
participant's subject's own behavior such as sexual 
behavior, drug or alcohol use, or illegal conduct.  

5. Research involving survey or interview procedures, 
when the respondents are elected or appointed public 
officials or candidates for public office.  
6. Research involving solely the observation of public 
behavior, including observation by participants, unless 
observations are recorded in such a manner that the 
participants subjects can be identified, directly or through 
identifiers linked to the participants subjects, and either:  

a. The observations recorded about the individual 
subject, if they became known outside the research, could 
reasonably place the participant subject at risk of 
criminal or civil liability or be damaging to his financial 
standing, employability, or reputation; or  
b. The research deals with sensitive aspects of the 
participant's subject's own behavior, such as sexual 
behavior, drug or alcohol use, or illegal conduct.  

7. Research involving the collection or study of existing 
data, documents, records, or pathological specimens, if 
these sources are publicly available or if the information is 
recorded by the investigator in a manner so that 
participants subjects cannot be identified, directly or 
through identifiers linked to the participants subjects.  

12VAC5-20-120. Committee records.  
A. Documentation of committee activities shall be prepared 

and maintained by each such committee and shall include the 
following:  

1. Copies of all research proposals reviewed, scientific 
evaluations that may accompany the proposals, approved 
sample consent documents, progress reports submitted by 
investigators, and reports of injuries to participants 
subjects;  
2. Minutes of committee meetings which shall be in 
sufficient detail to show attendance at the meetings; actions 
taken by the committee; the vote on these actions each 
action, including the number of members voting for, 
against, and abstaining; the basis for requiring changes in 
or disapproving research; and a written summary of the 
discussion of controversial issues and their resolution;  
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3. Records of continuing review activities;  
4. Copies of all correspondence between the committee 
and the investigators;  
5. A list of committee members;  
6. Written procedures for the committee; and  
7. Statements of significant new findings provided to 
participants subjects.  

B. The records required by this chapter shall be retained for 
at least three years, and records relating to research which that 
is conducted shall be retained for at least three years after 
completion of the research. All records shall be accessible for 
inspection and copying by authorized employees or agents of 
the department at reasonable times and in a reasonable 
manner.  

C. An Each research review committee of a state institution 
or agency shall ensure that an overview of approved human 
research projects and the results of such projects will be are 
made public on the department's such institution's or agency's 
website unless otherwise exempt from disclosure under the 
Virginia Freedom of Information Act (§ 2.2-3700 et seq. of 
the Code of Virginia). 
12VAC5-20-130. Applicability of federal policies.  

Human research at institutions which are that is subject to 
policies and regulations for the protection of human 
participants subjects promulgated by any agency of the 
federal government shall be exempt from this chapter. Such 
institutions Institutions where research is performed that is 
subject to federal policies and regulation shall notify the 
commissioner annually, by January March 31, of their 
compliance with the policies and regulations of federal 
agencies. The commissioner shall identify institutions exempt 
from this chapter as reported in accordance with this section 
in the annual report to the Governor and the General 
Assembly provided in accordance with 12VAC5-20-60 F.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3401; Filed November 13, 2015, 1:04 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 
Titles of Regulations: 12VAC5-71. Regulations Governing 
Virginia Newborn Screening Services (amending 
12VAC5-71-10, 12VAC5-71-30, 12VAC5-71-150; adding 
12VAC5-71-210 through 12VAC5-71-260). 
12VAC5-191. State Plan for the Children with Special 
Health Care Needs Program (amending 12VAC5-191-
260).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-67 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  
Public Comment Deadline: February 12, 2016. 
Agency Contact: Dev Nair, Director, Division of Policy and 
Evaluation, Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-7662, FAX (804) 
864-7647, or email dev.nair@vdh.virginia.gov. 
Basis: Section 32.1-12 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 
State Board of Health to make, adopt, promulgate, and 
enforce regulations. 
Section 32.1-65.1 of the Code of Virginia states that the 
Board of Health shall require every hospital in Virginia 
having a newborn nursery to screen infants for critical 
congenital heart disease. 
Section 32.1-67 of the Code of Virginia requires the Board of 
Health to promulgate regulations as may be necessaryto 
implement Newborn Screening Services and the Children 
with Special Health Care Needs Program. 
Chapters 4 and 175 of the 2014 Acts of Assembly required 
the Board of Health to promulgate emergency regulations for 
critical congenital heart disease (CCHD) screening. This 
regulatory action seeks to make those changes permanent. 
Purpose: Congenital heart defects are the most common birth 
defects in the United States, affecting about one in every 110 
babies. A few babies born with congenital heart defects have 
more serious forms of heart disease, which are referred to as 
critical congenital heart disease (CCHD), affecting 
approximately two of every 1,000 births. CCHDs are heart 
defects that result in abnormal blood flow and oxygen 
deprivation. These defects require intervention within the first 
year of life and delayed diagnosis can result in death. 
Screening newborns for CCHD using pulse oximetry has 
been recommended through the U.S. Department of Health 
and Human Services Recommended Uniform Screening 
Panel. The screening is simple, quick, and painless. A sensor 
wrapped around the baby's right hand or either foot measures 
the amount of oxygen in the baby's blood. 
The purpose of the proposed regulatory action is to ensure 
that all Virginia hospitals with newborn nurseries implement 
CCHD screening, and to ensure that newborns diagnosed 
with CCHD are reported to VDH so that they may be linked 
to care coordination services through the "Care Connections 
for Children" program. 
Substance: These proposed amendments to the newborn 
screening regulations require all hospitals with a newborn 
nursery to screen newborns for CCHD within 24 to 48 hours 
of birth. Specifically they add the following elements to the 
existing regulations: 

1. Hospitals are required to develop protocols for 
screening, timely evaluation, and timely referral of 
newborns with abnormal screening results. 
2. Requirements that a licensed practitioner perform the 
screening and setting forth when the screening is to 
occur. If screening is not indicated, documentation 
requirements are set forth for the medical record. 
Hospitals are required to develop screening protocols for 
specialty and subspecialty nurseries. 
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3. Requirements that all screening results must be entered 
into the medical record and the electronic birth certificate 
system. This section also requires health care providers 
to report abnormal screening results immediately and to 
evaluate the newborn in a timely manner. Newborns shall 
not be discharged unless a cause for the abnormal 
screening result has been determined or CCHD has been 
ruled out. Parents or guardians and the infant's primary 
care provider after discharge from the hospital shall be 
notified of any abnormal results and any diagnoses. 
4. Hospitals must report individuals diagnosed with 
CCHD to the Virginia Department of Health (VDH) so 
that the newborn's parent or guardian may be referred to 
care coordination services through the Care Connection 
for Children. 
5. A section specifying what documents shall be 
provided when requested by the VaCARES system at 
VDH, and specifying the confidentiality rules for these 
documents. 
6. A section that permits parents to refuse CCHD 
screening based upon religious practices or tenets, and to 
specify that the hospital must report the refusal to VDH. 

Issues: These proposed amendments will permanently add 
CCHD screening requirements to the regulations for newborn 
screening. The primary advantage to VDH, the public, and 
the Commonwealth is that the regulations will ensure that 
every infant born in a hospital with a newborn nursery will be 
screened for CCHD and that those who screen positive will 
have further evaluation and follow up as needed. The 
majority of hospitals that would be affected by these 
regulations already provide screening for CCHD voluntarily. 
These proposed amendments set minimum standards for this 
screening. There are no disadvantages to the public or the 
Commonwealth. 
Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 
Pursuant to Chapter 4 of the 2014 Acts of Assembly, the 
proposed regulations permanently require hospitals with a 
newborn nursery to screen all infants born in Virginia for 
critical congenital heart disease within 24 to 48 hours after 
birth using pulse-oximetry. 
Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 
Estimated Economic Impact. Pursuant to Chapter 4 of the 
2014 Acts of Assembly, the proposed regulations 
permanently require hospitals with a newborn nursery to 
screen all infants born in Virginia for critical congenital heart 
disease (CCHD) within 24 to 48 hours after birth using pulse-
oximetry. 
More specifically, the proposed changes require that hospitals 
develop protocols for the screening of all newborns for 
CCHD, and that they have protocols for the follow-up and 

referral for any infants that have positive screens. Newborns 
that have an abnormal screen will not be discharged from the 
hospital until the cause of the abnormal screen has been 
evaluated and an appropriate plan for care is in place. Any 
diagnosis resulting from an abnormal screen will be entered 
in the electronic birth certificate, and the attending physician 
will notify the parent and the primary care provider of the 
diagnosis. Infants who are diagnosed with CCHD will be 
referred to the Care Connections for Children program for 
care coordination services. A parent may refuse to have their 
child screened on the basis of religious practices or tenets. 
Such refusal must be documented in writing. These 
requirements were already implemented on December 24, 
2014 under emergency regulations. 
CCHD is a serious health condition affecting newborns that 
can result in death if not diagnosed and treated early. 
According to the Virginia Department of Health (VDH), 
congenital heart defects are the most common birth defects in 
the United States, affecting about one in every 110 babies. A 
few babies born with congenital heart defects have more 
serious forms of heart disease, which are referred to as critical 
congenital heart disease (affecting approximately 2 of every 
1,000 births). CCHDs are heart defects that result in abnormal 
blood flow and oxygen deprivation. These defects require 
intervention within the first year of life and delayed diagnosis 
can result in death. Screening newborns for CCHD using 
pulse oximetry has been recommended through the U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services Recommended 
Uniform Screening Panel. The screening is simple, quick, and 
painless. A sensor wrapped around the baby's right hand or 
either foot measures the amount of oxygen in the baby’s 
blood. 
The purpose of the proposed regulatory action is to ensure 
that all Virginia hospitals with newborn nurseries implement 
CCHD screening, and to ensure that newborns diagnosed 
with CCHD are reported to VDH so that they may be linked 
to care coordination services through the Care Connections 
for Children program. Increased CCHD detection at birth 
hospitals through screening may lead to decreased hospital 
costs and avoid some deaths during infancy.1 Initial actions to 
educate hospitals and develop a tracking and recording 
system for CCHD were supported by a $299,000 federal 
grant. 
Additional reporting of screening results and confirmed cases 
that are required by these regulations occurs through existing 
systems (electronic birth certificate and VaCARES); therefore 
additional costs to implement these regulations are projected 
to be minimal. Based on a recent study in New Jersey, the 
estimated screening time per newborn was just over nine 
minutes and the associated labor and equipment costs per 
newborn screened were $6.68 and $6.82, respectively, 
yielding a total estimate of $13.50 per newborn.2 Similarly, 
initial VDH estimates suggest CCHD screening time is 9 
minutes and 45 seconds on average and the average cost of 
CCHD screening is $13.28 in Virginia.3 
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Screening infants for CCHD is considered a best practice and 
was already adopted by 51 of the 55 hospitals prior to the 
requirements enacted by the 2014 General Assembly. Thus, 
most hospitals in Virginia are already voluntarily performing 
this screening. The proposed amendments would require the 
four additional hospitals to implement the screening. 
The administrative costs to VDH for referral to the Care 
Connections for Children program to obtain care coordination 
services are considered small and will be absorbed by 
agency's existing resources. 
Businesses and Entities Affected. These regulations apply to 
55 hospitals in Virginia of which 51 were already performing 
required screening voluntarily prior to emergency regulations. 
There were approximately 101,700 infants born in Virginia 
and approximately 142 newborns were diagnosed with 
CCHD in 2014. 
Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed changes apply 
throughout the Commonwealth. 
Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
are unlikely to significantly affect employment as most 
hospitals were already voluntarily performing the proposed 
screening. 
Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendments are unlikely to significantly affect the 
use and value of private property as most hospitals were 
already voluntarily performing the proposed screening. 
Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
are unlikely to affect real estate development costs. 
Small Businesses: 
Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 
Costs and Other Effects. Only a few of the 55 hospitals in 
Virginia may be considered as small businesses. None of the 
four hospitals that had not been voluntarily performing the 
CCHD screening is believed to be a small business. Thus, no 
significant effect on small businesses is expected. 
Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 
proposed screening is not expected to have an adverse impact 
on small businesses.  
Adverse Impacts: 
Businesses: Since all but four hospitals were already 
performing required screening, the prosed regulations impose 
some additional compliance costs on only four hospitals. 
Localities: The proposed amendments will not adversely 
affect localities. 
Other Entities: No significant impact on other entities is 
expected. Additional administrative costs of the required 
screening will be absorbed by VDH's existing resources. 

____________________________________ 
1 Peterson et al., Hospitalizations, Costs, and Mortality among Infants with 
Critical Congenital Heart Disease: How Important Is Timely Detection? Birth 
Defects Research, 2013, Oct, 97(10):664-72. 
2 Peterson et al., A public health economic assessment of hospitals' cost to 
screen newborns for critical congenital heart disease. Public Health Reports, 
2014, Jan-Feb, 129 (1):86-93. 
3 These estimates are preliminary and subject to change. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
Department of Health concurs with the findings of the 
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget. 
Summary: 

The proposed amendments require hospitals with a 
newborn nursery to screen all infants born in Virginia for 
critical congenital heart disease (CCHD) within 24 to 48 
hours after birth using pulse oximetry. The proposed 
amendments (i) require that hospitals develop protocols 
for screening, timely evaluation, and timely referral of 
newborns with abnormal screening results; (ii) require 
that a licensed practitioner perform the screening; (iii) 
establish when the screening is to occur, and if screening 
is not indicated, documentation requirements for the 
medical record; (iv) require hospitals to develop screening 
protocols for specialty and subspecialty nurseries; (v) 
require that all screening results are entered into the 
medical record and the electronic birth certificate system, 
and that health care providers report abnormal screening 
results immediately; (vi) prohibit the discharge of a 
newborn with an abnormal screen until the cause of the 
abnormal screen has been evaluated and an appropriate 
plan for care is in place; (vii) require that hospitals report 
individuals diagnosed with CCHD to the department for 
referral  to care coordination services through the Care 
Connection for Children; (viii) specify documents that 
must be provided in response to a request by the 
department's VaCARES system and the confidentiality 
rules for these documents; and (ix) permit parents to refuse 
CCHD screening based upon religious practices or tenets, 
and specify that the hospital must report the refusal to the 
department.  
This regulatory action also includes proposed amendments 
to the State Plan for the Children with Special Health Care 
Needs Program (12VAC5-191), so that those regulations 
remain consistent with 12VAC5-71. 

12VAC5-71-10. Definitions.  
The following words and terms when used in this regulation 

chapter shall have the following meanings unless the context 
clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Abnormal screening results" means, in 12VAC5-71-210 
through 12VAC5-71-250 only, all results that indicate the 
newborn has not passed the screening test. 

"Attending physician" means the physician in charge of the 
infant's care.  

"Board" means the State Board of Health.  
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"Business days" means Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. 
to 5 p.m., excluding federal and state holidays.  

"Care Connection for Children" means a statewide network 
of centers of excellence for children with special health care 
needs (CSHCN) that provides leadership in the enhancement 
of specialty medical services, care coordination, medical 
insurance benefits evaluation and coordination, management 
of the CSHCN pool of funds, information and referral to 
CSHCN resources, family-to-family support, and training and 
consultation with community providers on CSHCN issues.  

"Care coordination" means a process that links individuals 
and their families to services and resources in a coordinated 
effort to maximize their potential and provide them with 
optimal health care.  

"Certified nurse midwife" means a person licensed to 
practice as a nurse practitioner in the Commonwealth 
pursuant to § 54.1-2957 of the Code of Virginia and in 
accordance with Part II (18VAC90-30-60 et seq.) of 
18VAC90-30 and 18VAC90-30-121, subject to 18VAC90-
30-160.  

"Chief executive officer" means a job descriptive term used 
to identify the individual appointed by the governing body to 
act in its behalf in the overall management of the hospital. Job 
titles may include administrator, superintendent, director, 
executive director, president, vice-president, and executive 
vice-president.  

"Child" means a person less than 18 years of age and 
includes a biological or an adopted child, as well as a child 
placed for adoption or foster care unless otherwise treated as 
a separate unit for the purposes of determining eligibility and 
charges under these regulations.  

"Commissioner" means the State Health Commissioner, his 
duly designated officer, or agent.  

"Confirmatory testing" means a test or a panel of tests 
performed following a screened-abnormal result to verify a 
diagnosis.  

"Core panel conditions" means those heritable disorders and 
genetic diseases considered appropriate for newborn 
screening. The conditions in the core panel are similar in that 
they have (i) specific and sensitive screening tests, (iii) a 
sufficiently well understood natural history, and (iii) available 
and efficacious treatments.  

"Critical congenital heart disease" or "CCHD" means a 
congenital heart disease that places a newborn at significant 
risk of disability or death if not diagnosed and treated soon 
after birth. The disease may include, but is not limited to, 
hypoplastic left heart syndrome, pulmonary atresia (with 
intact septum), tetralogy of fallot, total anomalous pulmonary 
venous return, transposition of the great arteries, tricuspid 
atresia, and truncus arteriosus. 

"CCHD screening" means the application of screening 
technology to detect CCHD. 

"Department" means the state Department of Health.  

"Dried-blood-spot specimen" means a clinical blood sample 
collected from an infant by heel stick method and placed 
directly onto specially manufactured absorbent specimen 
collection (filter) paper.  

"Echocardiogram" means a test that uses an ultrasound to 
provide an image of the heart. 

"Guardian" means a parent-appointed, court-appointed, or 
clerk-appointed guardian of the person.  

"Healthcare provider" means a person who is licensed to 
provide health care as part of his job responsibilities and who 
has the authority to order newborn dried-blood-spot screening 
tests.  

"Heritable disorders and genetic diseases" means 
pathological conditions (i.e., interruption, cessation or 
disorder of body functions, systems, or organs) that are 
caused by an absent or defective gene or gene product, or by a 
chromosomal aberration.  

"Hospital" means any facility as defined in § 32.1-123 of the 
Code of Virginia.  

"Infant" means a child less than 12 months of age.  
"Licensed practitioner" means a licensed health care 

provider who is permitted, within the scope of his practice 
pursuant to Chapter 29 (§ 54.1-2900 et seq.) or Chapter 30 
(§ 54.1-3000 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, to 
provide care to a newborn. 

"Low protein modified foods" means foods that are (i) 
specially formulated to have less than one gram of protein per 
serving, (ii) intended to be used under the direction of a 
physician for the dietary treatment of an inherited metabolic 
disease, (iii) not natural foods that are naturally low in 
protein, and (iv) prescribed as medically necessary for the 
therapeutic treatment of inherited metabolic diseases.  

"Metabolic formula" means nutritional substances that are 
(i) prescribed by a health professional with appropriate 
prescriptive authority; (ii) specifically designed and 
formulated to be consumed or administered internally under 
the supervision of such health professional; (iii) specifically 
designed, processed, or formulated to be distinct in one or 
more nutrients that are present in natural food; and (iv) 
intended for the medical and nutritional management of 
patients with limited capacity to metabolize ordinary 
foodstuffs or limited capacity to metabolize certain nutrients 
contained in ordinary foodstuffs.  

"Metabolic supplements" means certain dietary or 
nutritional substances intended to be used under the direction 
of a physician for the nutritional management of inherited 
metabolic diseases.  

"Midwife" means a person licensed as a nurse practitioner in 
the category of certified nurse midwife by the Boards of 
Nursing and Medicine or licensed as a midwife by the Board 
of Medicine.  
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"Newborn" means an infant who is 28 days old or less who 
was born in Virginia.  

"Newborn nursery" means a general level, intermediate 
level, or specialty level newborn service as defined in 
12VAC5-410-443 B 1, B 2, and B 3. 

"Nurse" means a person holding a current license as a 
registered nurse or licensed practical nurse by the Virginia 
Board of Nursing or a current multistate licensure privilege to 
practice in Virginia as a registered nurse or licensed practical 
nurse.  

"Parent" means a biological parent, adoptive parent, or 
stepparent.  

"Pediatric Comprehensive Sickle Cell Clinic Network" 
means a statewide network of clinics that are located in major 
medical centers and provide comprehensive medical and 
support services for newborns and children living with sickle 
cell disease and other genetically related hemoglobinopathies.  

"Physician" means a person licensed to practice medicine or 
osteopathic medicine in the Commonwealth pursuant to 
Chapter 29 (§ 54.1-2900 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of 
Virginia and in accordance with applicable regulations.  

"Pool of funds" means funds designated for payment of 
direct health care services. Access to the pool is not an 
entitlement and is subject to availability of funds and 
guidelines that govern its eligibility and coverage of services. 
Pool of funds is a mix of federal Title V funds and state 
matching funds.  

"Population-based" means preventive interventions and 
personal health services developed and available for the entire 
infant and child health population of the Commonwealth 
rather than for individuals in a one-on-one situation.  

"Preterm infant" means an infant whose birth occurs by the 
end of the last day of the 36th week following the onset of the 
last menstrual period.  

"Repeat specimen" means an additional newborn dried-
blood-spot screening specimen submitted to the testing 
laboratory voluntarily or by request.  

"Resident" means an individual who resides within the 
geographical boundaries of the Commonwealth.  

"Satisfactory specimen" means a newborn dried-blood-spot 
screening specimen that has been determined to be acceptable 
for laboratory analyses by the testing laboratory.  

"Screened-abnormal" means a newborn dried-blood-spot 
screening test result that is outside the established normal 
range or normal value for that test method.  

"Screening technology" means pulse oximetry testing in the 
right hand and either foot. Screening technology shall also 
include alternate medically accepted tests that measure the 
percentage of blood oxygen saturation, follow medical 
guideline consensus and recommendations issued by the 
American Academy of Pediatrics, and are approved by the 
State Board of Health. 

"Specialty level nursery" means the same as defined in 
12VAC5-410-443 B 3 and as further defined as Level III by 
the Levels of Neonatal Care, written by the American 
Academy of Pediatrics Committee on Fetus and Newborn. 

 "Subspecialty level nursery" means the same as defined in 
12VAC5-410-443 B 4. 

"Testing laboratory" means the laboratory that has been 
selected by the department to perform newborn dried-blood-
spot screening tests services.  

"Total parenteral nutrition" or "TPN" means giving nutrients 
through a vein for babies who cannot be fed by mouth.  

"Treatment" means appropriate management including 
genetic counseling, medical consultation, and 
pharmacological and dietary management for infants 
diagnosed with a disease listed in 12VAC5-71-30 D.  

"Unsatisfactory specimen" means a newborn dried-blood-
spot screening specimen that is inadequate for performing an 
accurate analysis.  

"Virginia Genetics Advisory Committee" means a formal 
group that advises the department on issues pertaining to 
access to clinical genetics services across the Commonwealth 
and the provision of genetic awareness, quality services, and 
education for consumers and providers.  

"Virginia Newborn Screening System" means a coordinated 
and comprehensive group of services, including education, 
screening, follow up, diagnosis, treatment and management, 
and program evaluation, managed by the department's 
Virginia Newborn Screening Program and Virginia Early 
Hearing Detection and Intervention Program for safeguarding 
the health of children born in Virginia.  

"Virginia Sickle Cell Awareness Program" means a 
statewide program for the education and screening of 
individuals for the disease of sickle cell anemia or the sickle 
cell trait and for such other genetically related 
hemoglobinopathies.  
12VAC5-71-30. Core panel of heritable disorders and 
genetic diseases.  

A. The Virginia Newborn Screening System, which includes 
the Virginia Newborn Screening Program and, the Virginia 
Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Program, and 
Virginia critical congenital heart disease screening, shall 
ensure that the core panel of heritable disorders and genetic 
diseases for which newborn screening is conducted is 
consistent with but not necessarily identical to the U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services Secretary's 
Recommended Uniform Screening Panel. 

B. The department shall review, at least biennially, national 
recommendations and guidelines and may propose changes to 
the core panel of heritable disorders and genetic diseases for 
which newborn dried-blood-spot screening tests are 
conducted.  
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C. The Virginia Genetics Advisory Committee may be 
consulted and provide advice to the commissioner on 
proposed changes to the core panel of heritable disorders and 
genetic diseases for which newborn dried-blood-spot 
screening tests are conducted.  

D. Infants under six months of age who are born in Virginia 
shall be screened in accordance with the provisions set forth 
in this chapter for the following heritable disorders and 
genetic diseases, which are identified through newborn dried-
blood-spot screening tests:  

1. Argininosuccinic aciduria (ASA);  
2. Beta-Ketothiolase deficiency (BKT);  
3. Biotinidase deficiency (BIOT);  
4. Carnitine uptake defect (CUD);  
5. Classical galactosemia (galactose-1-phosphate 
uridyltransferase deficiency) (GALT);  
6. Citrullinemia type I (CIT-I);  
7. Congenital adrenal hyperplasia (CAH);  
8. Cystic fibrosis (CF);  
9. Glutaric acidemia type I (GA I);  
10. Hb S beta-thalassemia (Hb F,S,A);  
11. Hb SC-disease (Hb F,S,C);  
12. Hb SS-disease (sickle cell anemia) (Hb F, S); 
13. Homocystinuria (HCY);  
14. Isovaleric acidemia (IVA);  
15. Long chain L-3-Hydroxy acyl-CoA dehydrogenase 
deficiency (LCHAD);  
16. Maple syrup urine disease (MSUD);  
17. Medium-chain acyl-CoA dehydrogenase deficiency 
(MCAD);  
18. Methylmalonic acidemia (Methylmalonyl-CoA mutase 
deficiency) (MUT);  
19. Methylmalonic acidemia (Adenosylcobalamin 
synthesis deficiency) (CBL A, CBL B);  
20. Multiple carboxylase deficiency (MCD);  
21. Phenylketonuria (PKU);  
22. Primary congenital hypothyroidism (CH); 
23. Propionic acidemia (PROP);  
24. Severe combined immunodeficiency (SCID); 
25. Tyrosinemia type I (TYR I);  
26. Trifunctional protein deficiency (TFP);  
27. Very long-chain acyl-CoA dehydrogenase deficiency 
(VLCAD);  
28. 3-hydroxy 3-methyl glutaric aciduria (HMG); and  
29. 3-Methylcrotonyl-CoA carboxylase deficiency (3-
MCC).  

E. Infants born in Virginia shall be screened for hearing loss 
in accordance with provisions set forth in §§ 32.1-64.1 and 
32.1-64.2 of the Code of Virginia and as governed by 
12VAC5-80.  

F. Newborns born in Virginia shall be screened for critical 
congenital heart disease in accordance with provisions set 
forth in §§ 32.1-65.1 and 32.1-67 of the Code of Virginia and 
as governed by 12VAC5-71-210 through 12VAC5-71-260. 
12VAC5-71-150. Responsibilities of the Care Connection 
for Children network.  

A. The Care Connection for Children network shall provide 
the following services:  

1. Care coordination services for residents of the 
Commonwealth who are diagnosed with selected heritable 
disorders or, genetic diseases, or critical congenital heart 
disease and are referred to the network by the Virginia 
Newborn Screening Program.  
2. Other network services for eligible individuals in 
accordance with the § 32.1-77 of the Code of Virginia and 
applicable regulations.  

B. The Care Connection for Children network shall provide 
data as needed by the department's newborn screening 
program.  
12VAC5-71-210. Critical congenital heart disease 
screening protocols. 

A. Hospitals shall develop protocols for critical congenital 
heart disease screening in accordance with this section, 
12VAC5-71-220 through 12VAC5-71-260, and national 
recommendations from the American Academy of Pediatrics.  

B. Hospitals shall develop protocols for the physical 
evaluation by licensed practitioners of newborns with 
abnormal screening results. 

C. Hospitals shall develop protocols for the referral of 
newborns with abnormal screening results, if needed, after 
evaluation. 
12VAC5-71-220. Critical congenital heart disease 
screening. 

A. A licensed practitioner shall perform the CCHD 
screening. 

B. Except as specified in subsection C of this section and 
12VAC5-71-260, CCHD screening shall be performed on 
every newborn in the birth hospital between 24 and 48 hours 
of life, or if the newborn is discharged from the hospital 
before reaching 24 hours of life, the CCHD screening shall be 
performed as late as practical before discharge. 

C. If CCHD screening is not indicated, the reason shall be 
documented in the newborn's medical record. The reasons 
include but are not limited to: 

1. The newborn's current clinical evaluation has included 
an echocardiogram that ruled out CCHD; 
2. The newborn has confirmed CCHD; or 
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3. The newborn is under the care of a specialty level or 
subspecialty level nursery. 

D. Hospitals shall develop protocols for screening newborns 
in specialty level nurseries and subspecialty level nurseries.  
12VAC5-71-230. Critical congenital heart disease 
screening results. 

A. Recording results. 
1. All CCHD screening results shall be recorded in the 
newborn's medical record. 
2. All CCHD screening results shall be entered into the 
electronic birth certificate system with the following 
information: 

a. CCHD screening completed, CCHD pass or fail, and 
pulse oximetry values; or 
b. Not screened pursuant to 12VAC5-71-220 C. 

B. Abnormal screening results. 
1. Abnormal screening results shall be reported by the 
authorized health care provider who conducted the 
screening to the attending physician or his designee.  
2. A newborn shall be evaluated by an attending physician 
or his designee according to the timeframes within the 
hospital protocol developed in accordance with 12VAC5-
71-210. 
3. A newborn shall not be discharged from care until: 

a. A cause for the abnormal screening result has been 
determined and a plan is in place for immediate 
evaluation at another medical facility; or 
b. An echocardiogram has been performed and read, and 
an appropriate clinical plan has been developed. 

4. Any diagnosis arising from abnormal screening results 
shall be entered into the electronic birth certificate system. 
5. The attending physician or his designee shall provide 
notification of abnormal results and any diagnoses to the 
newborn's parent or guardian and to the primary care 
provider in charge of the newborn's care after the newborn 
leaves the hospital. 

12VAC5-71-240. Referral for care coordination. 
A. For any person diagnosed under 12VAC5-71-210 

through 12VAC5-71-250, the chief administrative officer of 
every hospital, as defined in § 32.1-123 of the Code of 
Virginia, shall make or cause to be made a report to the 
commissioner in accordance with § 32.1-69.1 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

B. Upon receiving the notification described in subsection A 
of this section, the Newborn Screening Program at the 
Virginia Department of Health shall refer the newborn's 
parent or guardian to the Care Connection for Children 
network for care coordination services. 

12VAC5-71-250. Congenital heart disease screening 
records. 

A. The screening of newborns pursuant to this chapter is a 
population-based public health surveillance program as 
defined by the Health Insurance Portability and 
Accountability Act of 1996 (Public Law 104-191; 110 Stat. 
2033). 

B. Upon request, a hospital shall make available to the 
Virginia Congenital Anomalies Reporting and Education 
System (VaCARES): 

1. Medical records; 
2. Records of laboratory tests; and 
3. Any other information that VaCARES considers 
necessary to: 

a. Determine final outcomes of abnormal CCHD 
screening results; or 
b. Evaluate CCHD screening activities in the 
Commonwealth, including performance of follow-up 
evaluations and diagnostic tests, initiation of treatment 
when necessary, and surveillance of the accuracy and 
efficacy of the screening. 

C. Information that the Virginia Department of Health 
receives under this section is confidential and may only be 
used or disclosed: 

1. For research and collective statistical purposes pursuant 
to § 32.1-67.1 of the Code of Virginia; 
2. For state or federally mandated statistical reports; 
3. To ensure that the information received by the Virginia 
Department of Health is accurate and reliable; or 
4. For reporting to the Virginia Congenital Anomalies 
Reporting and Education System pursuant to § 32.1-69.1 
of the Code of Virginia and 12VAC5-191-280. The 
Newborn Screening Program shall refer the newborn's 
parent or guardian to the Care Connection for Children 
network for care coordination services. 

D. The hospital administrator shall ensure that CCHD 
screening is included in the perinatal quality assurance 
program and provide the results of the quality improvement 
program to the Virginia Department of Health upon request.  
12VAC5-71-260. Parent or guardian refusal for screening. 

A. In the instance of parent or guardian refusal of the CCHD 
screening based on religious practices or tenets, the parent or 
guardian refusal shall be documented on a refusal form 
provided by the Virginia Department of Health and made a 
part of the newborn's medical record. 

B. The administrator of the hospital shall ensure that the 
Newborn Screening Program at the Virginia Department of 
Health is notified in writing of the parent or guardian refusal 
within five days of the newborn's birth.  
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NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 
regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 
published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 
a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 
agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 
Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 
Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 
FORMS (12VAC5-71) 

Notification of Parental Refusal of Dried-Blood-Spot and 
Critical Congenital Heart Disease Screening (undated) 
DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 
(12VAC5-71) 

Levels of Neonatal Care, Policy Statement from Committee 
on Fetus and Newborn, American Academy of Pediatrics, 
August 27, 2012 
12VAC5-191-260. Scope and content of the Virginia 
Newborn Screening System. 

A. The Virginia Newborn Screening System consists of two 
three components: (i) Virginia Newborn Screening Services 
and, (ii) Virginia Early Hearing Detection and Intervention 
Program, and (iii) Virginia critical congenital heart disease 
screening. 

B. Virginia Newborn Screening Services. 
1. Mission. The Virginia Newborn Screening Services 
prevents mental retardation intellectual disability, 
permanent disability, or death through early identification 
and treatment of infants who are affected by selected 
inherited disorders. 
2. Scope of services. The Virginia Newborn Screening 
Services provides a coordinated and comprehensive system 
of services to assure that all infants receive a screening test 
after birth for selected inherited metabolic, endocrine, and 
hematological disorders as defined in Regulations 
Governing the Virginia Newborn Screening and Treatment 
Program Services, 12VAC5-70 12VAC5-71. 
These population-based, direct, and enabling services are 
provided through: 

a. Biochemical dried bloodspot screening tests. 
b. Follow up of abnormal results. 
c. Diagnosis. 
d. Education to health professionals and families. 
e. Expert consultation on abnormal results, diagnostic 
testing, and medical and dietary management for health 
professionals. 

Medical and dietary management is provided for the 
diagnosed cases and includes assistance in accessing 
specialty medical services and referral to Care Connection 
for Children. 
The screening and management for specified diseases are 
governed by Regulations Governing the Virginia Newborn 

Screening and Treatment Program Services, 12VAC5-70 
12VAC5-71. 
3. Criteria to receive Virginia Newborn Screening 
Services. All infants born in the Commonwealth are 
eligible for the screening test for selected inherited 
disorders. 
4. Goal. The Title V national performance measures, as 
required by the federal Government Performance and 
Results Act (GPRA-Pub. L. (Public Law 103-62), are used 
to establish the program goals. The following goal shall 
change as needed to be consistent with the Title V national 
performance measures: 
All infants will receive appropriate newborn bloodspot 
screening, follow up testing, and referral to services. 

C. Virginia Early Hearing Detection and Intervention 
Program. 

1. Mission. The Virginia Early Hearing Detection and 
Intervention Program promotes early detection of and 
intervention for infants with congenital hearing loss to 
maximize linguistic and communicative competence and 
literacy development.  
2. Scope of services. The Virginia Early Hearing Detection 
and Intervention Program provides services to assure that 
all infants receive a hearing screening after birth, that 
infants needing further testing are referred to appropriate 
facilities, that families have the information that they need 
to make decisions for their children, and that infants and 
young children diagnosed with a hearing loss receive 
appropriate and timely intervention services. These 
population-based and enabling services are provided 
through: 

a. Technical assistance and education to new parents. 
b. Collaboration with physicians and primary care 
providers. 
c. Technical assistance and education to birthing facilities 
and those persons performing home births. 
d. Collaboration with audiologists. 
e. Education to health professionals and general public. 

Once diagnosed, the infants are referred to early 
intervention services. The screening and management for 
hearing loss are governed by the regulation, Regulations 
for Administration of the Virginia Hearing Impairment 
Identification and Monitoring System, 12VAC5-80. 
3. Criteria to receive services from the Virginia Early 
Hearing Detection and Intervention Program. 

a. All infants born in the Commonwealth are eligible for 
the hearing screening. 
b. All infants who are residents of the Commonwealth 
and their families are eligible for the Virginia Early 
Hearing Detection and Intervention Program. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ad215004176~1&typ=40&actno=004176&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ad215004176~1&typ=40&actno=004176&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5794e004176~2&typ=40&actno=004176&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5794e004176~2&typ=40&actno=004176&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5794e004176~2&typ=40&actno=004176&mime=application/pdf
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4. Goals. The Title V national performance measures, as 
required by the federal Government Performance and 
Results Act (GPRA-Pub. L. (Public Law 103-62), are used 
to establish the program goals. The following goals shall 
change as needed to be consistent with the Title V national 
performance measures: 
All infants will receive screening for hearing loss no later 
than one month of age, achieve identification of congenital 
hearing loss by three months of age, and enroll in 
appropriate intervention by six months of age. 

D. Virginia critical congenital heart disease screening. 
1. Mission. Virginia critical congenital heart disease 
screening promotes early detection of and intervention for 
newborns with critical congenital heart disease to 
maximize positive health outcomes and help prevent 
disability and death early in life.  
2. Scope of services. Newborns receive a critical 
congenital heart disease screening 24 to 48 hours after 
birth in a hospital with a newborn nursery, as provided in 
§§ 32.1-67 and 32.1-69.1 of the Code of Virginia and the 
regulations governing critical congenital heart disease 
screening (12VAC5-71-210 through 12VAC5-71-260). 
These population-based, direct, and enabling services are 
provided through: 

a. Critical congenital heart disease screening tests using 
pulse oximetry or other screening technology as defined 
in 12VAC5-71-10; 
b. Hospital reporting of test results pursuant to § 32.1-
69.1 of the Code of Virginia and 12VAC5-191-280; and 
c. Follow-up, referral processes, and services, as 
appropriate, through Care Connection for Children. 

3. The screening and management for newborn critical 
congenital heart disease are governed by the regulations 
governing critical congenital heart disease screening 
(12VAC5-71-210 through 12VAC5-71-260). 
4. Criteria to receive critical congenital heart disease 
screening. Except as specified in 12VAC5-71-220 C and 
12VAC5-71-260, all newborns born in the Commonwealth 
in a hospital with a newborn nursery shall receive the 
screening test for critical congenital heart disease 24 to 48 
hours after birth using pulse oximetry or other screening 
technology. 
5. Goal. Except as specified in 12VAC5-71-220 C and 
12VAC5-71-260, all newborns born in the Commonwealth 
in a hospital with a newborn nursery shall receive 
appropriate critical congenital heart disease screening 24 to 
48 hours after birth.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4176; Filed November 13, 2015, 2:11 p.m.  

 

 

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-217. Regulations of the 
Patient Level Data System (amending 12VAC5-217-10, 
12VAC5-217-20, 12VAC5-217-70; adding 12VAC5-217-
15; repealing 12VAC5-217-30, 12VAC5-217-80, 12VAC5-
217-90).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-276.6 of the Code 
of Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled. 
Public Comment Deadline: January 13, 2016. 
Effective Date: February 1, 2016.  
Agency Contact: Debbie Condrey, Chief Information Officer, 
Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 864-7118, or email 
debbie.condrey@vdh.virginia.gov. 
Basis: The regulation is promulgated under the authority of 
§ 32.1-12 and Chapter 7.2 (§ 32.1-276.2 et seq.) of Title 32.1 
of the Code of Virginia. Section 32.1-12 grants the board the 
legal authority "to make, adopt, promulgate, and enforce such 
regulations necessary to carry out the provisions" of Title 
32.1. Section 32.1-276.2 requires the board to administer the 
health care data reporting initiatives established by Chapter 
7.2 of Title 32.1. 
Purpose: To fulfill the statutory mandate to review 
regulations and to protect the citizens of the Commonwealth, 
the department conducted a periodic review of 12VAC5-217, 
Regulations of the Patient Level Data System, pursuant to 
Executive Order 14 (2010). As a result of this review, the 
department determined it was necessary to use the regulatory 
process to amend these regulations. The amendments are 
necessary to protect the health, safety, and welfare of citizens 
because they correct outdated citations and enhance the 
clarity of the regulations in order to achieve improvements 
that will be reasonable and prudent, and will not impose an 
unnecessary burden on the Virginia Department of Health or 
the public. 
Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: These amendments 
simply update the regulations to reflect current practice. The 
department does not expect that this regulatory action will be 
controversial. 
Substance:  
12VAC5-217-10. Definitions - Correct three definitions and 
remove an unnecessary definition.  
12VAC5-217-15. Requirements of processed, verified data - 
Create a new section. The substance of this section comes 
from the previous definition of "processed verified data." The 
definition had numerous substantive requirements that were 
not appropriate to be located in the definitions section.  
12VAC5-217-20. Reporting requirements for patient level 
data elements - Remove outdated citations; add language to 
ensure the section does not become outdated due to later 
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publications from the National Uniform Billing Committee; 
and add language clarifying that reporting requirements 
require a complete filing submitted in electronic format.  
12VAC5-217-30. Options for filing format - Repeal this 
section.  
12VAC5217-70. Establishment of annual fee - Amend this 
section to reflect current practice.  
12VAC5-217-80. Payment of fee to nonprofit organization - 
Repeal this section.  
12VAC5-217-90. Waiver or reduction of fee - Repeal this 
section. 
Issues: The purpose of the proposed regulatory action is to 
comply with the Code of Virginia and to remove outdated 
regulations that no longer reflect current practice. There are 
no known disadvantages to the public, the regulated entities, 
business entities, or the Commonwealth. The advantage is 
greater clarity of the regulations. 
Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings: This 
regulatory action serves as the report of the findings of the 
regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Health (Board) proposes to: 1) update definitions for 
consistency with the Code of Virginia, 2) repeal obsolete 
language, 3) move text for improved organization, 4) amend 
language for clarity, and 5) place in the regulation the current 
policy that inpatient hospitals that submit data pursuant to this 
regulation are not assessed fees if the data is processed, 
verified, and timely in accordance with standards established 
by the Board. 
Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 
Estimated Economic Impact. Updating definitions for 
consistency with the Code of Virginia, repealing obsolete 
language, improving organization of text, and amending 
language to improve clarity are all moderately beneficial in 
that they may reduce some potential confusion amongst the 
interested public. 
Inpatient hospitals are required to submit specified patient 
level data for each hospital inpatient, including a separate 
record for each infant, if applicable. Inpatient hospitals are 
defined as a hospital providing inpatient care and licensed 
pursuant to Article 1 (§ 32.1-123 et seq.) of Chapter 5 of Title 
32.1 of the Code of Virginia, a hospital licensed pursuant to 
Article 2 (§ 32.2-403 et seq.) of Chapter 4 of Title 37.2 of the 
Code of Virginia, a hospital operated by the Department of 
Behavioral Health and Developmental Services for the care 
and treatment of individuals with mental illness, or a hospital 
operated by the University of Virginia or Virginia 
Commonwealth University Health System Authority. 

It is current Board policy to not assess fees to inpatient 
hospitals who submit data that is processed, verified, and 
timely in accordance with standards established by the Board. 
Establishing this policy in regulation does not change what 
occurs in practice but does provide a modest benefit in that it 
provides clarity for interested parties. 
Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 
concern 105 licensed hospitals in the Commonwealth, as well 
as the nonprofit organization Virginia Health Information. 
Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
do not disproportionately affect particular localities.  
Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
will not significantly affect employment. 
Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendments will not significantly affect the use and 
value of private property.  
Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 
amendments will not significantly affect costs for small 
businesses. 
Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments will not 
adversely affect small businesses. 
Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
will not affect real estate development costs. 
Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
Virginia Department of Health concurs with the findings of 
the Department of Planning and Budget's economic impact 
analysis. 
Summary: 

The amendments clarify and simplify the regulation, 
update definitions, and eliminate three unnecessary 
sections. 

12VAC5-217-10. Definitions.  
The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, 

shall have the following meanings:  
"Board" means the Virginia Board of Health.  
"Complete filing" means that patient level data of at least 

99% of a hospital's inpatient discharges for a calendar year 
quarter are submitted.  

"Inpatient hospital" means a hospital providing inpatient 
care and licensed pursuant to Article 1 (§ 32.1-123 et seq.) of 
Chapter 5 of Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia, a hospital 
licensed pursuant to Chapter 8 (§ 37.1-179 et seq.) of Title 
37.1 Article 2 (§ 37.2-403 et seq.) of Chapter 4 of Title 37.2 
of the Code of Virginia, a hospital operated by the 
Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 
Services for the care and treatment of individuals with mental 
illness, or a hospital operated by the University of Virginia or 
Virginia Commonwealth University Health System 
Authority.  
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"Nonprofit organization" means a nonprofit, tax-exempt 
health data organization with the characteristics, expertise, 
and capacity to execute the powers and duties set forth for 
such entity in Chapter 7.2 (§ 32.1-276.2 et seq.) of Title 32.1 
of the Code of Virginia and with which the Commissioner of 
Health has entered into a contract as required by § 32.1-276.4 
of the Code of Virginia.  

"Processed, verified data" means data on inpatient records 
which have been subjected to edits that fulfill the 
requirements specified in 12VAC5-217-15. These edits shall 
be applied to data elements which are on the UB-92 Billing 
Form (or a successor Billing Form adopted by the Virginia 
Uniform Billing Committee for use by inpatient hospitals in 
Virginia). The edits shall have been agreed to by the board 
and the nonprofit organization. Inpatient records containing 
invalid UB-92 codes or all blank fields for any of the data 
elements subjected to edits shall be designated as error 
records. To be considered processed and verified, a complete 
filing of all records which are submitted by an inpatient 
hospital in aggregate per calendar year quarter and which are 
subjected to these edits must be free of error at a prescribed 
minimum rate. The prescribed minimum error rate shall be 
95% overall, with patient identifier separately calculated at 
95% or a minimum rate recommended by the board of 
directors of the nonprofit organization and approved by the 
Virginia Board of Health. The error rate shall be calculated on 
only those fields designated in 12VAC5-217-20 or as 
subsequently approved by the board through the process 
specified in 12VAC5-217-20.  

"System" means the Virginia Patient Level Data System.  
12VAC5-217-15. Requirements of processed, verified 
data. 

Inpatient hospitals shall submit only processed, verified data 
from inpatient records. To be considered processed and 
verified, a complete filing of all records that are submitted by 
an inpatient hospital in aggregate per calendar year quarter 
must be free of error at a prescribed minimum rate. The 
prescribed minimum accuracy rate shall be 95% overall, with 
patient identifier separately calculated at 95%. The accuracy 
rate shall be calculated on only those fields designated in 
12VAC5-217-20. Inpatient records containing invalid codes 
or blank fields for any of the data elements shall be 
designated as error records. 
12VAC5-217-20. Reporting requirements for patient level 
data elements.  

Every inpatient hospital shall submit a complete filing of 
each patient level data element listed below in the table in this 
section for each hospital inpatient, including a separate record 
for each infant, if applicable. Most of these data elements are 
currently collected from a UB-92 Uniform Billing Form 
located in the latest publication of the Uniform Billing 
Manual prepared by the National Uniform Billing Committee. 
The column for a "Form Locator" indicates where the data 
element is located on the UB-92. For elements collected on 

the UB-92, the column "Page Number" refers to the Uniform 
Billing Manual (UB-92), revised May, 1993. The Uniform 
Billing Form and the Uniform Billing Manual are located on 
the National Uniform Billing Committee's website at 
www.nubc.org. The Uniform Billing Manual UB-92, 
prepared for Virginia hospitals by the Virginia Uniform 
Billing Committee, provides a detailed field description and 
any special instructions instruction pertaining to that element. 
An asterisk (*) indicates when the required data element is 
either not on the UB-92 billing form or in the Uniform Billing 
Manual. The instructions provided under that particular data 
element should then be followed. If a successor billing form 
to the UB-92 form is adopted by the Virginia Uniform Billing 
Committee for use by inpatient hospitals in Virginia, 
information pertaining to the data elements listed below 
should be derived from that successor billing form. Inpatient 
hospitals that submit patient level data directly to the board or 
the nonprofit organization shall submit it in an electronic data 
format.  

Data Element Form 
Locator 

Page 
Number 

1. Hospital identifier.* 
Enter the six-digit Medicare 
provider number or a number 
assigned by the board or its 
designee. 

* * 

2. Attending physician 
identifier.  
Enter the nationally assigned 
physician identification 
number, either the Uniform 
Physician Identification 
Number (UPIN) or National 
Provider Identifier (NPI) as 
approved by the board for 
the physician assigned as the 
attending physician for an 
inpatient. 

82 82-1 and 
82-2 

3. Other physician identifier.  
Enter the nationally assigned 
physician identification 
number, either the Uniform 
Physician Identification 
Number (UPIN) or National 
Provider Identifier (NPI) as 
approved by the board for 
the physician identified as 
the operating physician for 
the principal procedure 
reported. 

83 A & B 83-1 and 
83-2 

4. Payor identifier. 50 A, B, C 50-1 
through 50-

http://www.nubc.org/
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5. Employer name identifier. 65 A 65-1 

6. Patient identifier.* 
Enter the nine-digit social 
security number of the 
patient. If a social security 
number has not been 
assigned, leave blank. The 
nine-digit social security 
number is not required for 
patients under four years of 
age. 

* * 

7a. Patient sex. 15 15-1 

7b. Race code.* 
If an inpatient hospital 
collects information 
regarding the choices listed 
below, the appropriate one-
digit code reflecting the race 
of the patient should be 
entered. If a hospital only 
collects information for 
categories 0, 1, or 2, then the 
appropriate code should be 
entered from those three 
selections. 

* * 

0 = White     

1 = Black     

2 = Other     

3 = Asian     

4 = American Indian     

5 = White Hispanic     

6 = Black Hispanic     

7c. Date of birth. 14 14-1 

7d. Zip Street address, city or 
county, and zip code.  

13 13-1 

7e. Patient relationship to 
insured. 

59 A, B, C 59-1 
through 59-
3 

7f. 7e. Employment status 
code. 

64 A, B, C 64-1 and 
64-2 

7g. 7f. Patient status (i.e., 
discharge). 
Inpatient codes only. 

22 22-1 and 
22-2 

7h. 7g. Birth weight (for 
infants)* 

* * 

Enter the birth weight of 
newborns in grams. 

8a. Admission type. 19 19-1 and 
19-2 

8b. Admission source. 20 20-1 
through 20-
3 

8c. Admission date. 17 17-1 

8d. Admission hour. 18 18-1 

8e. Admission diagnosis 
code. 

76 76-1 

9a. Discharge date.  
Only enter date of discharge. 

* * 

10. Principal diagnosis code. 
Enter secondary diagnoses 
(up to eight). 
In addition, include 
diagnoses recorded in the 
comments section for DX6-
DX9. 

67 
68-75 

67-1 and 
67-2 
68-1 

11. External cause of injury 
code (E-code). 
Record all external cause of 
injury codes in secondary 
diagnoses position after 
recording all treated 
secondary diagnoses. 

77 77-1 

12. Co-morbid conditions 
existing but not treated.  

  

12. 13. Principal procedure 
code and date. 
Enter other procedures and 
dates (up to five). In 
addition, include procedures 
recorded in the comments 
section for PX4-PX6. 

80 
81 A-E 

80-1 
81-1 

13. 14. Revenue code (up to 
23). 
Units of service (up to 23). 
Units of service charges (up 
to 23). 

42 
46 
47 

42-1 
through 42-
56 
46-1 
47-1 

14. 15. Total charges (by 
revenue code category or by 
HCPCS code). 
(R.C. Code 001 is for total 
charges. See page 47-1.) 

47 47-1 
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12VAC5-217-30. Options for filing format. (Repealed.)  
Inpatient hospitals of 100 beds or more that submit patient 

level data directly to the board or the nonprofit organization 
shall submit it in an electronic data format. Hospitals of less 
than 100 beds that submit patient level data directly to the 
board or the nonprofit organization may directly submit it in 
electronic data format or in hard copy. If hard copy is utilized 
the hospital shall submit, for each inpatient discharged, a 
copy of the UB-92 and an addendum sheet for those data 
elements not collected on the UB-92 or defined in the 
Uniform Billing Manual. These hospitals must submit all 
patient level data in electronic data format by January 1, 
1995.  

If a hospital submits processed, verified data directly to the 
nonprofit organization, it shall be in electronic format.  
12VAC5-217-70. Establishment of annual fee.  

The board shall not assess any fee against any health care 
provider that submits data under this chapter that is 
processed, verified, and timely in accordance with standards 
established by the board. The board shall prescribe a 
reasonable fee not to exceed $1.00 per discharge for each 
inpatient hospital submitting patient level data pursuant to 
this chapter that is not processed, verified, or timely to cover 
the cost of the reasonable expenses in processing and 
verifying such data. The fee shall be established and reviewed 
annually by the board. Payment of the fee by a hospital shall 
be at the time quarterly inpatient data is submitted.  
12VAC5-217-80. Payment of fee to nonprofit 
organization. (Repealed.)  

If an inpatient hospital chooses to submit its patient level 
data directly to the nonprofit organization, that hospital may 
pay the fee described in 12VAC5-217-70 to the nonprofit 
organization at the time it submits its quarterly data. If a 
hospital pays its fee directly to the nonprofit organization, the 
requirements of a fee to be paid to the board, as described in 
12VAC5-217-70, shall be waived by the board.  
12VAC5-217-90. Waiver or reduction of fee. (Repealed.)  

If a hospital submits processed, verified patient level data to 
the nonprofit organization, the nonprofit organization may, in 
its discretion, grant a waiver or reduction of the fee if it 
determines that the hospital has submitted properly processed, 
verified data.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-3632; Filed November 13, 2015, 2:44 p.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-407. Procedures for the 
Submission of Health Maintenance Organization Quality 
of Care Performance Information (amending 12VAC5-
407-10, 12VAC5-407-50 through 12VAC5-407-100; 
repealing 12VAC5-407-30, 12VAC5-407-40, 12VAC5-407-
120).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-276.5 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled. 
Public Comment Deadline: January 13, 2016. 
Effective Date: February 1, 2016.  
Agency Contact: Debbie Condrey, Chief Information Officer, 
Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 864-7118, FAX (804) 864-7156, or 
email debbie.condrey@vdh.virginia.gov. 
Basis: The regulation is promulgated under the authority of 
§§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-276.5 of the Code of Virginia. Section 
32.1-12 grants the board the legal authority "to make, adopt, 
promulgate, and enforce such regulations necessary to carry 
out the provisions" of Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia. 
Subsection B of § 32.1-276.5 requires health maintenance 
organizations (HMOs) to submit annually to the 
Commissioner of Health audited data consistent with the 
latest version of the Health Employer Data and Information 
Set (HEDIS) as collected by the National Committee for 
Quality Assurance (NCQA). Subsection B of § 32.1-276.5 
requires that the board promulgate regulations to implement 
this requirement.  
Purpose: To fulfill the statutory mandate to review 
regulations and to protect the citizens of the Commonwealth, 
the department conducted a periodic review of 12VAC5-407, 
"Procedures for the Submission of Health Maintenance 
Organization Quality of Care Performance Information" 
pursuant to Executive Order 14 (2010). As a result of this 
review, the department determined it was necessary to use the 
regulatory process to amend these regulations. The 
amendments are essential to protect the health, safety, and 
welfare of citizens because they enhance the clarity of the 
regulations in order to achieve improvements that will be 
reasonable and prudent and will not impose an unnecessary 
burden on the Virginia Department of Health or the public. 
Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: These amendments 
simply clarify confusing language, eliminate unnecessary 
sections within the existing regulations, and correct the 
statutory authority for the chapter. This regulatory action does 
not propose any substantive changes. These amendments 
have also been created with input from stakeholders. 
Therefore, the department does not expect that this regulatory 
action will be controversial. 
Substance:  
12VAC5-407-10. Definitions -- Remove the unnecessary 
definition of "Code." Correct the definitions of "HEDIS" and 
"Nonprofit Organization."  
12VAC5-407-30 Reporting requirements for HMO -- 
Remove an unnecessary section. 
12VAC5-407-40 Exceptions to HEDIS reporting -- Remove 
an unnecessary section. 
12VAC5-407-50 Reporting methods and exemption from 
reporting -- Restructure the section for improved clarity.  



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 8 Virginia Register of Regulations December 14, 2015 

1396 

12VAC5-407-60 Audited data required -- Change the section 
into active voice and remove unnecessary language from the 
section.  
12VAC5-407-70 Process for data submission -- Clarify 
language.  
12VAC-407-80 Fees -- Clarify language and update 
terminology.  
12VAC5-407-90 Late charge -- Change terminology for 
consistency across the regulations.  
12VAC5-407-100 Duties of the nonprofit organization -- 
Clarify language.  
12VAC5-407-120 Other duties of the board -- Remove an 
unnecessary section. 
Issues: The primary advantage to the agency, the 
Commonwealth, and the public of the proposed regulatory 
action will be clearer and less burdensome regulations. There 
are no known disadvantages to the agency, the 
Commonwealth, or the public. 
Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings:  This 
regulatory action serves as the report of the findings of the 
regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
State Board of Health (Board) proposes to: 1) update 
definitions, 2) amend language to improve clarity, and 3) 
remove obsolete language. 
Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 
Estimated Economic Impact. Code of Virginia § 32.1-276.5 
(B) requires health maintenance organizations (HMOs) to 
annually submit audited data to the State Health 
Commissioner and the Board to promulgate regulation to 
implement this requirement. The Regulations for the 
Submission of Health Maintenance Organization Quality of 
Care Performance Information are such regulation. 
None of the Board's proposed amendments change 
requirements in practice. Proposed language changes will 
enable readers of the regulation to more accurately 
understand requirements in practice. Thus the proposed 
amendments will likely produce a small net benefit. 
Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 
pertain to the 10 HMOs with active licenses to operate in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia. None of these firms are small 
businesses.1 
Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
do not disproportionately affect particular localities.  
Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
will not affect employment.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendments will not significantly affect the use and 
value of private property.  
Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 
amendments will not significantly affect small businesses.  
Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments will not 
significantly affect small businesses. 
Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
will not affect real estate development costs. 
_____________________________ 
1 Data source: Virginia Department of Health 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
Virginia Department of Health concurs with the findings of 
the economic impact analysis. 
Summary: 

The amendments clarify and simplify the regulation, 
update definitions and titles, and eliminate three 
unnecessary sections. 

Part I  
Definitions and General Information  

12VAC5-407-10. Definitions.  
The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Board" means State Board of Health.  
"Code" means the Code of Virginia.  
"Commissioner" means the State Health Commissioner.  
"Consumer" means any person (i) whose occupation is other 

than the administration of health activities or the provision of 
health services,; (ii) who has no fiduciary obligation to a 
health care institution or other health agency or to any 
organization, public or private, whose principal activity is an 
adjunct to the provision of health services,; or (iii) who has no 
material financial interest in the rendering of health services.  

"Department" means the State Virginia Department of 
Health.  

"Health maintenance organization" or "HMO" means any 
person who undertakes to provide or to arrange for one or 
more health care plans pursuant to Chapter 43 (§ 38.2-4300 et 
seq.) of Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

"HEDIS" means the Health Plan Employer Data and 
Information Set, also known as the Healthcare Effectiveness 
Data and Information Set, a set of standardized performance 
measures sponsored, supported collected and maintained by 
the National Committee for Quality Assurance.  

"NCQA" means the National Committee for Quality 
Assurance.  

"Nonprofit organization" means a nonprofit, tax-exempt 
health data organization with the characteristics, expertise, 
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and capacity to execute the powers and duties set forth for 
such entity in this chapter Chapter 7.2 (§ 32.1-276.2 et seq.) 
of Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia and that enters into a 
contract for the compilation, storage, analysis, and evaluation 
of data pursuant to Chapter 7.2 of Title 32.1. 

Part II  
Quality of Care Data Reporting  

12VAC5-407-30. Reporting requirements for HMO data. 
(Repealed.)  

A. Every HMO shall make available to the commissioner 
those HEDIS or any other quality of care or performance 
information set, or a subset thereof.  

B. The board may contract directly with NCQA to purchase 
the selected HEDIS measures on behalf of the HMOs.  
12VAC5-407-40. Exception to HEDIS reporting. 
(Repealed.)  

A. The board may approve and require quality of care data 
other than the HEDIS measures provided that reasonable 
notice is given to the HMOs in writing.  
12VAC5-407-50. Reporting methods and exemption from 
reporting.  

A. Every HMO with an active license in the Commonwealth 
shall be required to submit the HEDIS or any other quality of 
care or performance information set approved by the board 
unless granted a written exemption by the commissioner.  

B. The following methods shall be used for data submission:  
1. If the HMO submits data to NCQA, the commissioner 
may purchase HEDIS data or any other quality of care or 
performance information set from NCQA.  
2. If the HMO does not submit data to NCQA, or the 
commissioner elects not to purchase HEDIS data from the 
NCQA, then the HMO shall submit the performance 
information sets approved by the board to the nonprofit 
organization in accordance with the timeframes established 
in 12VAC5-407-70.  

B. C. An HMO may, in writing, petition the commissioner 
for an exemption. The commissioner, at his discretion, may 
grant a waiver from reporting the HEDIS or any other 
approved quality of care or performance information set. In 
considering a petition for waiver, the commissioner may give 
due consideration to the HMO's (i) sample size; (ii) number 
of covered lives; (iii) length of operating experience in 
Virginia; (iv) accreditation status with respect to NCQA or 
other national accrediting organizations; or (v) any other 
relevant factors he deems appropriate.  

C. D. An HMO that can demonstrate that it does not meet 
NCQA's minimum sample size requirements to collect 
statistically valid information on at least 50% of the HEDIS 
effectiveness of care measures or performance information 
sets approved by the board shall be exempt from reporting the 
HEDIS quality of care or performance sets during the 
reporting period. The HMO shall submit documentation to 

the commissioner each reporting period to demonstrate that it 
meets the criteria for obtaining an exemption from reporting.  

D. Options for data submission.  
1. The commissioner may purchase HEDIS data or any 
other quality of care or performance information set from 
NCQA that includes all HMOs operating in the 
Commonwealth that submit HEDIS data to NCQA.  
2. HMOs that do not submit data directly to NCQA must 
submit the performance information sets approved by the 
board to the nonprofit organization in accordance with the 
timeframes established in 12VAC5-407-70.  
3. If the budget pursuant to 12VAC5-407-100 E includes a 
cost benefit for direct submission of HEDIS data or any 
other quality of care or performance information set, the 
commissioner may thereafter require direct submission.  

12VAC5-407-60. Audited data required.  
A. Data submitted by HMOs is required to be shall submit 

HEDIS or other quality of care or performance information 
set approved by the board that has been verified by an 
independent auditing organization with no financial interest in 
or managerial association with the HMO. The HMO shall 
submit an audit report with the data.  

B. HMOs whose performance information set is audited by 
an NCQA-certified HEDIS compliance auditor will have a 
notice to that effect published with their HEDIS data.  

C. HMOs whose performance information set is not audited 
by NCQA-certified auditors will have a notice to that effect 
published with their HEDIS data.  
12VAC5-407-70. Process for data submission.  

A. Before January 1 of each year, the commissioner shall 
submit to each HMO in writing the process required for data 
submission, obtaining a waiver from reporting and the 
amount of the fee to be paid the fee associated with data 
submission, and the process for obtaining a waiver. HMOs 
providing HEDIS or any other quality of care or performance 
information set directly to the commissioner nonprofit 
organization shall submit the data by September 15 of each 
year.  

B. The nonprofit organization board shall direct the 
nonprofit organization to publish annually the quality 
information data before December 31.  
12VAC5-407-80. Fees.  

A. For each HMO required to provide information pursuant 
to this chapter, the board shall prescribe a reasonable fee to 
cover the cost of collecting and making available such data. 
The commissioner may purchase HEDIS data or other quality 
of care or performance information set on behalf of all the 
actively licensed HMOs in the Commonwealth that are 
participating in HEDIS and divide the cost among the HMOs. 
Each HMO shall pay an equal share of the cost to the board 
for purchase of the HEDIS data directly from NCQA. The 
remainder of the cost associated with making the data 
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available shall be divided among the participating HMOs in a 
tiered format based on the number of enrollees per HMO.  

B. Fees described in subsection A of this section shall not 
exceed $3,000 per HMO per year.  

C. The payment of such fees shall be on September 15 of 
each year or later if determined by an agreement between the 
board and the nonprofit organization. The nonprofit 
organization providing services pursuant to an agreement or 
contract as provided in § 32.1-276.4 of the Code of Virginia 
shall be authorized to charge and collect the fees prescribed 
by the board in subsection A of  this section when the data are 
provided directly to the nonprofit organization. Such fees 
shall not exceed the amount authorized by the board.  

D. The nonprofit organization providing services pursuant to 
an agreement or contract as provided in § 32.1-276.4 of the 
Code of Virginia shall be authorized to charge and collect 
reasonable fees approved by the board for making available to 
any individual or entity who requests the HEDIS data or other 
approved quality of care data; however, the commissioner, 
the State Corporation Commission, and the Commissioner of 
Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse 
Services Behavioral Health and Developmental Services shall 
be entitled to receive relevant and appropriate data from the 
nonprofit organization at no charge.  

E. HMOs shall be entitled to receive relevant and 
appropriate HMO data as defined by and from the nonprofit 
organization, with input from the HMO industry at no charge. 
The board shall direct the nonprofit organization to solicit 
input from the HMO industry to determine relevant and 
appropriate data that the industry shall receive at no charge. 
12VAC5-407-90. Late charge.  

A. A late charge of $25 per working day shall be paid to the 
board by an HMO that has not received an exemption from 
the commissioner as provided for in 12VAC5-407-50 and that 
has not paid the assessed fees by September 15 or later if 
determined by an agreement between the board and the 
nonprofit. The late fee charge may not be assessed until 
completion of a 30-day grace period for submitting the data.  

B. Late charges may be waived by the board, in its 
discretion, if an HMO can show that an extenuating 
circumstance exists. Examples of an extenuating 
circumstance may include, but are not limited to, the 
installation of a new computerized system, a bankruptcy 
proceeding, or change of ownership in the HMO.  

Part III  
Duties of the Board and the Nonprofit Organization  

12VAC5-407-100. Contract with Duties of the nonprofit 
organization.  

The contract entered into by the board and the nonprofit 
organization pursuant to Chapter 7.2 (§ 32.1-276.2 et seq.) of 
Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia shall provide:  

A. The commissioner shall negotiate and contract with a 
nonprofit organization pursuant to § 32.1-276.4 of the 

Code of Virginia for compiling, storing, and making 1. The 
nonprofit organization shall compile, store, and make 
available to consumers the data submitted by HMOs 
pursuant to 12VAC5-407-30 and 12VAC5-407-40.  
B. 2. The nonprofit organization shall assist the board in 
developing a summary plan and budget to collect and make 
available HMO HEDIS or any other quality of care 
performance information set results for consumers. The 
nonprofit organization shall present the summary plan and 
budget on a biennial basis to the board for approval. The 
commissioner, at his discretion, shall also review the 
summary plan on a periodic basis to determine its 
effectiveness.  
C. 3. The nonprofit organization shall collect the HEDIS 
data in the most cost-effective manner available.  
D. 4. The nonprofit organization will shall prepare a 
biennial summary plan in identifying the measures selected 
for reporting. The summary plan shall include:  

1. a. The rationale for selecting each measure to be made 
available to consumers;  
2. b. The goal of reporting each measure;  
3. c. The cost and benefit of collecting the measures and 
making them available to consumers; and  
4. d. The scope of dissemination of information in paper 
or electronic format and the target audience.  

E. 5. The nonprofit organization shall prepare a biennial 
budget that includes a cost-benefit analysis of purchasing 
HEDIS data from NCQA or obtaining the information 
performance sets directly from the HMOs.  
F. 6. The nonprofit organization will shall present the 
summary plan and budget to the board for review and 
approval on a biennial basis.  
G. 7. The nonprofit organization shall organize, present, 
and make available to consumers all data required by the 
board to be reported to the commissioner. This data shall 
also be available on the nonprofit's website. 

12VAC5-407-120. Other duties of the board. (Repealed.) 
The board shall (i) maintain records of its activities relating 

to the dissemination of data reported by HMOs and (ii) 
collect and account for all fees, as described in this chapter, 
and deposit the moneys so collected into a special fund from 
which the expenses attributed to this chapter shall be paid.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-3763; Filed November 13, 2015, 2:46 p.m.  
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DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Emergency Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-40. Eligibility Conditions 
and Requirements (amending 12VAC30-40-290; adding 
12VAC30-40-370).  
Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 
42 USC § 1396 et seq. 
Effective Dates: November 23, 2015, through May 22, 2017. 
Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 
Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 
600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 
Preamble: 

Section 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia states that 
agencies may adopt emergency regulations in situations in 
which Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act 
requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or less 
from its enactment, and the regulation is not exempt under 
the provisions of § 2.2-4006 A 4. Item 307 T of Chapter 
665 of the 2015 Acts of the Assembly included such an 
enactment clause and directed the agency to modify its 
Medicaid eligibility regulations to permit persons who 
were involuntarily sterilized to retain their compensation 
without the compensation affecting their eligibility.   
This emergency regulation requires that payments made to 
compensate individuals who were involuntarily sterilized 
pursuant to the Virginia Eugenical Sterilization Act and 
who are living as of February 1, 2015, (i) are disregarded 
for the purpose of Medicaid eligibility determinations and 
(ii) increase the basic personal needs allowance.  

12VAC30-40-290. More liberal methods of treating 
resources under § 1902(r)(2) of the Act: § 1902(f) states. 

A. Resources to meet burial expenses. Resources set aside to 
meet the burial expenses of an applicant/recipient or that 
individual's spouse are excluded from countable assets. In 
determining eligibility for benefits for individuals, 
disregarded from countable resources is an amount not in 
excess of $3,500 for the individual and an amount not in 
excess of $3,500 for his spouse when such resources have 
been set aside to meet the burial expenses of the individual or 
his spouse. The amount disregarded shall be reduced by: 

1. The face value of life insurance on the life of an 
individual owned by the individual or his spouse if the cash 
surrender value of such policies has been excluded from 
countable resources; and 
2. The amount of any other revocable or irrevocable trust, 
contract, or other arrangement specifically designated for 
the purpose of meeting the individual's or his spouse's 
burial expenses. 

B. Cemetery plots. Cemetery plots are not counted as 
resources regardless of the number owned. 

C. Life rights. Life rights to real property are not counted as 
a resource. The purchase of a life right in another individual's 
home is subject to transfer of asset rules. See 12VAC30-40-
300. 

D. Reasonable effort to sell. 
1. For purposes of this section, "current market value" is 
defined as the current tax assessed value. If the property is 
listed by a realtor, then the realtor may list it at an amount 
higher than the tax assessed value. In no event, however, 
shall the realtor's list price exceed 150% of the assessed 
value. 
2. A reasonable effort to sell is considered to have been 
made: 

a. As of the date the property becomes subject to a 
realtor's listing agreement if: 
(1) It is listed at a price at current market value; and 
(2) The listing realtor verifies that it is unlikely to sell 
within 90 days of listing given the particular 
circumstances involved (e.g., owner's fractional interest; 
zoning restrictions; poor topography; absence of road 
frontage or access; absence of improvements; clouds on 
title, right of way or easement; local market conditions); 
or 
b. When at least two realtors refuse to list the property. 
The reason for refusal must be that the property is 
unsaleable at current market value. Other reasons for 
refusal are not sufficient; or 
c. When the applicant has personally advertised his 
property at or below current market value for 90 days by 
use of a "Sale By Owner" sign located on the property 
and by other reasonable efforts, such as newspaper 
advertisements, or reasonable inquiries with all adjoining 
landowners or other potential interested purchasers. 

3. Notwithstanding the fact that the recipient made a 
reasonable effort to sell the property and failed to sell it, 
and although the recipient has become eligible, the 
recipient must make a continuing reasonable effort to sell 
by: 

a. Repeatedly renewing any initial listing agreement until 
the property is sold. If the list price was initially higher 
than the tax-assessed value, the listed sales price must be 
reduced after 12 months to no more than 100% of the 
tax-assessed value. 
b. In the case where at least two realtors have refused to 
list the property, the recipient must personally try to sell 
the property by efforts described in subdivision 2 c of 
this subsection for 12 months. 
c. In the case of a recipient who has personally advertised 
his property for a year without success (the newspaper 
advertisements and "for sale" sign do not have to be 
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continuous; these efforts must be done for at least 90 
days within a 12-month period), the recipient must then: 
(1) Subject his property to a realtor's listing agreement at 
price or below current market value; or 
(2) Meet the requirements of subdivision 2 b of this 
subsection which are that the recipient must try to list the 
property and at least two realtors refuse to list it because 
it is unsaleable at current market value; other reasons for 
refusal to list are not sufficient. 

4. If the recipient has made a continuing effort to sell the 
property for 12 months, then the recipient may sell the 
property between 75% and 100% of its tax assessed value 
and such sale shall not result in disqualification under the 
transfer of property rules. If the recipient requests to sell 
his property at less than 75% of assessed value, he must 
submit documentation from the listing realtor, or 
knowledgeable source if the property is not listed with a 
realtor, that the requested sale price is the best price the 
recipient can expect to receive for the property at this time. 
Sale at such a documented price shall not result in 
disqualification under the transfer of property rules. The 
proceeds of the sale will be counted as a resource in 
determining continuing eligibility. 
5. Once the applicant has demonstrated that his property is 
unsaleable by following the procedures in subdivision 2 of 
this subsection, the property is disregarded in determining 
eligibility starting the first day of the month in which the 
most recent application was filed, or up to three months 
prior to this month of application if retroactive coverage is 
requested and the applicant met all other eligibility 
requirements in the period. A recipient must continue his 
reasonable efforts to sell the property as required in 
subdivision 3 of this subsection. 

E. Automobiles. Ownership of one motor vehicle does not 
affect eligibility. If more than one vehicle is owned, the 
individual's equity in the least valuable vehicle or vehicles 
must be counted. The value of the vehicles is the wholesale 
value listed in the National Automobile Dealers Official Used 
Car Guide (NADA) Book, Eastern Edition (update monthly). 
In the event the vehicle is not listed, the value assessed by the 
locality for tax purposes may be used. The value of the 
additional motor vehicles is to be counted in relation to the 
amount of assets that could be liquidated that may be 
retained. 

F. Life, retirement, and other related types of insurance 
policies. Life, retirement, and other related types of insurance 
policies with face values totaling $1,500 or less on any one 
person 21 years old and over are not considered resources. 
When the face values of such policies of any one person 
exceeds $1,500, the cash surrender value of the policies is 
counted as a resource. 

G. Long-term care partnership insurance policy (partnership 
policy). Resources equal to the amount of benefits paid on the 
insured's behalf by the long-term care insurer through a 

Virginia issued long-term care partnership insurance policy 
shall be disregarded. A long-term care partnership insurance 
policy shall meet the following requirements: 

1. The policy is a qualified long-term care partnership 
insurance policy as defined in § 7702B(b) of the Internal 
Revenue Code of 1986. 
2. The policy meets the requirements of the National 
Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) Long-
Term Care Insurance Model Regulation and Long-Term 
Care Insurance Model Act as those requirements are set 
forth in § 1917(b)(5)(A) of the Social Security Act 
(42 USC § 1396p). 
3. The policy was issued no earlier than May 1, 2007. 
4. The insured individual was a resident of a partnership 
state when coverage first became effective under the 
policy. If the policy is later exchanged for a different long-
term care policy, the individual was a resident of a 
partnership state when coverage under the earliest policy 
became effective. 
5. The policy meets the inflation protection requirements 
set forth in § 1917(b)(1)(C)(iii)(IV) of the Social Security 
Act. 
6. The Insurance Commissioner requires the issuer of the 
partnership policy to make regular reports to the federal 
Secretary of Health and Human Services that include 
notification of the date benefits provided under the policy 
were paid and the amount paid, the date the policy 
terminates, and such other information as the secretary 
determines may be appropriate to the administration of 
such partnerships. Such information shall also be made 
available to the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services upon request.  
7. The state does not impose any requirement affecting the 
terms or benefits of a partnership policy that the state does 
not also impose on nonpartnership policies. 
8. The policy meets all the requirements of the Bureau of 
Insurance of the State Corporation Commission described 
in 14VAC5-200. 

H. Reserved. 
I. Resource exemption for Aid to Dependent Children 

categorically and medically needy (the Act 
§§ 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(III), (IV), (VI), (VII); 
§§ 1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(VIII), (IX); § 1902(a)(10)(C)(i)(III)). 
For ADC-related cases, both categorically and medically 
needy, any individual or family applying for or receiving 
assistance may have or establish one interest-bearing savings 
or investment account per assistance unit not to exceed 
$5,000 if the applicant, applicants, recipient or recipients 
designate that the account is reserved for purposes related to 
self-sufficiency. Any funds deposited in the account shall be 
exempt when determining eligibility for medical assistance 
for so long as the funds and interest remain on deposit in the 
account. Any amounts withdrawn and used for purposes 
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related to self-sufficiency shall be exempt. For purposes of 
this section, purposes related to self-sufficiency shall include, 
but are not limited to, (i) paying for tuition, books, and 
incidental expenses at any elementary, secondary, or 
vocational school, or any college or university; (ii) for 
making down payment on a primary residence; or (iii) for 
establishment of a commercial operation that is owned by a 
member of the medical assistance unit. 

J. Disregard of resources. The Commonwealth of Virginia 
will disregard all resources for qualified children covered 
under §§ 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(I), 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(III), 
1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(VIII), and 1905(n) of the Social Security 
Act. 

K. Household goods and personal effects. The 
Commonwealth of Virginia will disregard the value of 
household goods and personal effects. Household goods are 
items of personal property customarily found in the home and 
used in connection with the maintenance, use and occupancy 
of the premises as a home. Examples of household goods are 
furniture, appliances, televisions, carpets, cooking and eating 
utensils and dishes. Personal effects are items of personal 
property that are worn or carried by an individual or that have 
an intimate relation to the individual. Examples of personal 
property include clothing, jewelry, personal care items, 
prosthetic devices and educational or recreational items such 
as books, musical instruments, or hobby materials. 

L. Determining eligibility based on resources. When 
determining Medicaid eligibility, an individual shall be 
eligible in a month if his countable resources were at or below 
the resource standard on any day of such month. 

M. Working individuals with disabilities eligible for 
assistance under § 1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(XV) of the Act who 
wish to increase their personal resources while maintaining 
eligibility for Medicaid shall establish Work Incentive (WIN) 
accounts. The Commonwealth will disregard up to the current 
annual SSI (Social Security Act, § 1619(b)) threshold amount 
(as established for Virginia by the Social Security 
Administration) held in WIN accounts for workers with 
disabilities eligible for assistance under 
§ 1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(XV) of the Act. To be eligible for this 
resource disregard, WIN accounts are subject to the following 
provisions: 

1. Deposits to this account shall derive solely from the 
individual's income earned after electing to enroll in the 
Medicaid Buy-In (MBI) program. 
2. The balance of this account shall not exceed the current 
annual SSI (Social Security Act § 1619(b)) threshold 
amount (as established for Virginia by the Social Security 
Administration). 
3. This account will be held separate from nonexempt 
resources in accounts for which prior approval has been 
obtained from the department, and for which the owner 
authorizes regular monitoring and reporting including 
deposits, withdrawals, and other information deemed 

necessary by the department for the proper administration 
of this provision. 
4. A spouse's resources will not be deemed to the applicant 
when determining whether or not the individual meets the 
financial eligibility requirements for eligibility under this 
section. 
5. Resources accumulated in the Work Incentive account 
shall be disregarded in determining eligibility for aged, 
blind, and disabled Medicaid-covered groups for one year 
after the individual leaves the Medicaid Buy-In program. 
6. In addition, excluded from the resource and asset limit 
include amounts deposited in the following types of IRS-
approved accounts established as WIN accounts: 
retirement accounts, medical savings accounts, medical 
reimbursement accounts, education accounts and 
independence accounts. Assets retained in these WIN 
accounts shall be disregarded for all future Medicaid 
eligibility determinations for aged, blind, or disabled 
Medicaid-covered groups. 

N. For all aged, blind, or disabled individuals, both 
categorically needy and medically needy, the Commonwealth 
shall disregard as resources amounts received as payment for 
involuntary sterilization under the Virginia Eugenical 
Sterilization Act, beyond the allowable nine-month exclusion 
by the SSI program's resource methodologies.  
12VAC30-40-370. Variations from the basic personal 
needs allowance. 

For victims of Virginia's eugenical program, the 
Commonwealth shall, in addition to the basic personal needs 
allowance (PNA), increase the basic PNA by amounts 
received as payments for involuntary sterilization under the 
Virginia Eugenical Sterilization Act.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4351; Filed November 23, 2015, 10:36 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 
Titles of Regulations: 12VAC30-50. Amount, Duration, 
and Scope of Medical and Remedial Care Services 
(amending 12VAC30-50-190). 
12VAC30-141. Family Access to Medical Insurance 
Security Plan (amending 12VAC30-141-820).  
Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 
42 USC § 1396 et seq. 
Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  
Public Comment Deadline: February 12, 2016. 
Agency Contact: Victoria Simmons, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, Policy Division, 
600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-6043, FAX (804) 786-1680, TTY (800) 
343-0634, or email victoria.simmons@dmas.virginia.gov. 
Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia grants to the 
Board of Medical Assistance Services the authority to 
administer and amend the Plan for Medical Assistance. 
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Section 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 
Director of the Department of Medical Assistance Services 
(DMAS) to administer and amend the Plan for Medical 
Assistance according to the board's requirements. The 
Medicaid authority as established by § 1902(a) of the Social 
Security Act (42 USC § 1396a) provides governing authority 
for payments for services. 
In addition, Item 301 LLLL 2 of Chapter 665 of the 2015 
Acts of Assembly provides that "The Department of Medical 
Assistance Services is authorized to amend the State Plan 
under Title XIX of the Social Security Act to add coverage 
for comprehensive dental services to pregnant women 
receiving services under the Medicaid program to include: (i) 
diagnostic, (ii) preventive, (iii) restorative, (iv) endodontics, 
(v) periodontics, (vi) prosthodontics both removable and 
fixed, (vii) oral surgery, and (viii) adjunctive general 
services." An emergency regulation for this purpose is 
currently in effect. This proposed regulation would replace 
the emergency regulation. 
Purpose: Prior to this action, only those individuals covered 
through the Family Access to Medical Insurance Security 
Plan (FAMIS) or those younger than the age of 21 years who 
were covered through Medicaid were provided dental 
services. Dental emergency coverage for adults was also 
provided. Services are provided to individuals younger than 
21 years of age as long as they are routine diagnostic, 
preventive, or restorative procedures necessary for oral health 
provided by or under the direct supervision of a dentist in 
accordance with the State Dental Practice Act. 
Due to the need of pregnant women to receive dental care, the 
Governor approved emergency regulations to provide dental 
care for about 45,000 adult pregnant women enrolled in 
Medicaid and FAMIS MOMS who already receive publicly 
funded Medicaid/FAMIS MOMS health care services. This 
action seeks to utilize the authority granted by the Governor 
to make permanent the dental services regulation to allow the 
department to continue to carry out the Governor's directive. 
Substance: In the past, DMAS covered routine dental services 
through the Smiles for Children (SFC) program only for 
individuals younger than 21 years of age. Dental services are 
required by the FAMIS program (12VAC30-141-500 and 
12VAC30-141-830) and by the Early and Periodic Screening, 
Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) Program (42 CFR 
440.40(b) and 12VAC30-50-40 B). The covered services are 
diagnostic x-rays and exams; preventive cleanings; restorative 
fillings; endodontics (root canals); periodontics (gum-related 
treatments); prosthodontics, both removable and fixed 
(crowns, bridges, partials, and dentures); orthodontia; oral 
surgery (extractions and other oral surgeries); and adjunctive 
general services (all covered services that do not fall into 
specific professional categories). DMAS also covers 
emergency dental care, with the associated diagnostic tests, 
for adults.  

Control of dental disease during pregnancy has been shown to 
have positive effect on a pregnancy's outcome. Both the 
American Congress of Obstetricians and Gynecologists 
(ACOG) and the American Dental Association (ADA) have 
published position papers supporting the need for and safety 
of oral health care during pregnancy. 
In furtherance of the Governor's Healthy Virginia Plan, 
DMAS is working in concert with its dental benefits 
administrator, DentaQuest, to design an oral health program 
for adult pregnant women who are enrolled in Medicaid and 
FAMIS MOMS. The service categories are inclusive of those 
provided in Virginia's Smiles for Children (SFC) program 
and, in comparison, are similar in scope to dental services 
available through the Virginia Department of Human 
Resources dental benefits for state employees, with the 
exception of orthodontia services, which will not be covered.  
Services for adult pregnant women will include the following 
when deemed medically appropriate: diagnostic x-rays and 
exams; preventive cleanings; restorative fillings; endodontics 
(root canals); periodontics (gum-related treatment); 
prosthodontics, both removable and fixed (crowns, bridges, 
partials, and dentures); oral surgery (extractions and other 
oral surgeries); and adjunctive general services (all covered 
services that do not fall into specific professional categories). 
The appropriateness of particular services for an individual 
pregnant woman will be determined by the dental provider 
based on the term of the woman's pregnancy. 
DMAS estimates that approximately 45,000 adult pregnant 
women will be eligible for this service. Based on the average 
per individual expenditure for dental services, DMAS 
estimates that this new coverage may cost approximately 
$600,000 in state fiscal year (SFY) 2015 (beginning March 1, 
2015) and $3.2 million in SFY 2016. The funds for this 
service derive from the state general fund and federal 
matching funds claimed by DMAS. 
Issues: Control of dental disease during and after pregnancies 
may have a positive effect on the overall health of mothers 
and infants. The advantages to indigent pregnant women will 
be the availability of dental services. The advantage to the 
Commonwealth and citizens will be the improved health 
outcomes with the related cost savings. The disadvantage is a 
slight increase in Commonwealth expenditures. However, this 
cost is partially offset by the matching funds received from 
the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. 
Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 
Pursuant to the 2015 Acts of Assembly, Chapter 6651, Item 
301 LLLL(2), the Board of Medical Assistance Services 
(Board) proposes to add adult pregnant women to the 
individuals eligible to receive full dental services (excluding 
orthodontia) through Medicaid and FAMIS MOMS. An 
emergency regulation for this purpose is currently in effect. 
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This proposed regulation would replace the emergency 
regulation. 
Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 
Estimated Economic Impact. Prior to the legislation and 
emergency regulation, the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services (DMAS) only covered comprehensive dental 
services including orthodontia (12VAC30-50-190 and 
42 CFR 440.100) for individuals under the age of 19 who 
were covered through the Family Access to Medical 
Insurance Security (FAMIS) plan and for individuals up to 
the age of 21 as a required element of the Early and Periodic 
Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment program (12VAC30-50-
130(B) and 42 CFR 440.40(b)). Only emergency dental care 
with the associated diagnostic tests was covered for adults 
(ages 21 and older). The Board proposes to cover dental care, 
excluding orthodontia, for adult pregnant women enrolled in 
Medicaid and FAMIS MOMS. 
Peer-reviewed studies have found that improved oral health 
during pregnancy decreases transmission of potentially 
cariogenic bacteria to infants.2 Both the American Congress 
of Obstetricians and Gynecologists3 and the American Dental 
Association4 have published position papers supporting the 
need for and safety of oral health care during pregnancy. 
Thus, providing dental services through Medicaid for adult 
pregnant women will provide significant health benefits for 
both the women and their babies. 
DMAS calculates that approximately 45,000 adult women are 
pregnant and enrolled in Medicaid and FAMIS MOMS at any 
point within a year. The agency also estimates that the state 
share of the costs of this program would be approximately 
$1.6 million for fiscal year 2016.  
Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendment 
affects dental practices, the dental benefits administrator 
DentaQuest, and the approximate 45,000 women who are 
pregnant and enrolled in Medicaid and FAMIS MOMS at any 
point within a year. 
Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendment 
does not disproportionately affect particular localities.  
Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendment 
may moderately increase staffing needs for dental practices.  
Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendment will create additional business for 
dental practices. 
Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendment 
will not affect real estate development costs. 
Small Businesses: Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of 
the Code of Virginia, small business is defined as "a business 
entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 
and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time 
employees or has gross annual sales of less than $6 million." 
Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendment is unlikely 
to increase costs for small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 
proposed amendment will not adversely affect small 
businesses. 
Adverse Impacts: Businesses: The proposed amendment will 
not adversely affect businesses. 
Localities: The proposed amendment will not adversely affect 
localities. 
Other Entities: The proposed amendment will cost the 
Commonwealth (taxpayers) approximately $1.6 million 
annually. 
____________________________________________ 
1This is the 2015 Appropriation Act. 
2Meyer K, Geurtsen W, Gunay H. "An early oral health care program starting 
during pregnancy: results of a prospective clinical long-term study." Clin 
Oral Investig 2010;14:257–64. 
Gomez SS,Weber AA. "Effectiveness of a caries preventive program in 
pregnant women and new mothers on their offspring." Int J Paediatr Dent 
2001;11:117–22. 
Kohler B, Andreen I, Jonsson B. "The effect of caries-preventive measures in 
mothers on dental caries and the oral presence of the bacteria Streptococcus 
mutans and lactobacilli in their children." Arch Oral Biol 1984;29:879–83. 
3"Oral health care during pregnancy and through the lifespan." Committee 
Opinion No. 569. American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. 
Obstet Gynecol 2013;122:417–22. 
4"Pregnant dental patients: Health groups spread word that dental care is safe, 
necessary." American Dental Association. ADA News May 20, 2013. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
agency has reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared 
by the Department of Planning and Budget regarding the 
regulations concerning Dental Services for Pregnant Women. 
The agency raises no issues with this analysis.  
Summary: 

Pursuant to Item 301 LLLL 2 of Chapter 665 of the 2015 
Acts of Assembly, the proposed amendments add adult 
pregnant women to the individuals eligible to receive full 
dental services, excluding orthodontia, through Medicaid 
and FAMIS MOMS.  

12VAC30-50-190. Dental services.  
A. Dental services are limited to recipients under shall be 

covered for individuals younger than 21 years of age in 
fulfillment of the treatment requirements under the Early and 
Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) 
Program and defined as routine diagnostic, preventive, or 
restorative procedures necessary for oral health provided by 
or under the direct supervision of a dentist in accordance with 
the State Dental Practice Act.  

1. The state agency will provide any medically necessary 
dental service to individuals younger than 21 years of age. 
B. 2. Certain dental services, as described in the agency's 
Office Reference Manual (Smiles for Children, copyright 
2005) March 13, 2014), prepared by DMAS' dental 
benefits administrator, require preauthorization or 
prepayment review by the state agency or its designee.  
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3. Dental services for individuals younger than the age of 
21 years that do not require preauthorization or prepayment 
review are initial, periodic, and emergency examinations; 
required radiography necessary to develop a treatment 
plan; patient education; dental prophylaxis; fluoride 
treatments; routine amalgam and composite restorations; 
stainless steel crowns, prefabricated steel post and 
temporary (polycarbonate crowns) and stainless steel 
bands; crown recementation; pulpotomies; emergency 
endodontics for temporary relief of pain; pulp capping; 
sedative fillings; therapeutic apical closure; topical 
palliative treatment for dental pain; removal of foreign 
body; simple extractions; root recovery; incision and 
drainage of abscess; surgical exposure of the tooth to aid 
eruption; sequestrectomy for osteomyelitis; and oral antral 
fistula closure.  

C. B. Dental services determined by the dental provider to 
be medically appropriate for an adult woman during the term 
of her pregnancy and through the end of the month following 
the 60th day postpartum shall be provided to a Medicaid-
enrolled pregnant woman. The dental services that shall be 
covered are (i) diagnostic x-rays and exams; (ii) preventive 
cleanings; (iii) restorative fillings; (iv) endodontics (root 
canals); (v) periodontics (gum-related treatments); (vi) 
prosthodontics, both removable and fixed (crowns, bridges, 
partial plates, and dentures); (vii) oral surgery (tooth 
extractions and other oral surgeries); and (viii) adjunctive 
general services (all covered services that do not fall into 
specific professional categories). These services require 
prepayment review by the state agency or its designee. 

C. The For the dental services covered for Medicaid-
enrolled adult pregnant women, the state agency may place 
appropriate limits on a service based on medical necessity, for 
utilization control, or both. Examples of service limitations 
are: examinations, prophylaxis, fluoride treatment (once/six 
months); space maintenance appliances; bitewing x-ray—two 
films (once/12 months); routine amalgam and composite 
restorations (once/three years); dentures (once/five years); 
extractions, orthodontics, tooth guidance appliances, 
permanent crowns and bridges, endodontics, patient 
education and sealants (once).  

D. Limited oral surgery procedures, as defined and covered 
under Title XVIII (Medicare), are covered for all recipients, 
and require preauthorization or prepayment review by the 
state agency or its designee as described in the agency's 
Office Reference Manual located on the DMAS website at: 
(http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/downloads/pdfs/dental-
office_reference_manual_06-09-05.pdf) 
http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/Content_atchs/dnt/VA_SFC_O
RM_140313.pdf. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 
(12VAC30-50)  

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 
Fourth Edition DSM-IV-TR, copyright 2000, American 
Psychiatric Association 

Length of Stay by Diagnosis and Operation, Southern 
Region, 1996, HCIA, Inc. 

Guidelines for Perinatal Care, 4th Edition, August 1997, 
American Academy of Pediatrics and the American College 
of Obstetricians and Gynecologists 

Virginia Supplemental Drug Rebate Agreement Contract 
and Addenda 

Office Reference Manual (Smiles for Children), prepared by 
DMAS' Dental Benefits Administrator, copyright 2005 
(www.dmas.virginia.gov/downloads/pdfs/dental-
office_reference_manual_06-09-05.pdf).  

Office Reference Manual (Smiles for Children), prepared by 
DMAS' Dental Benefits Administrator, copyright 2010, dated 
March 13, 2014 
(http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/Content_atchs/dnt/VA_SFC_
ORM_140313.pdf) 

Patient Placement Criteria for the Treatment of Substance-
Related Disorders ASAM PPC-2R, Second Edition, copyright 
2001, American Society of Addiction Medicine 

Virginia Medicaid Durable Medical Equipment and Supplies 
Provider Manual, Appendix B (rev. 1/11), Department of 
Medical Assistance Services 

Human Services and Related Fields Approved 
Degrees/Experience, Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services (rev. 5/13) 
12VAC30-141-820. Benefit packages.  

Pregnant women covered through FAMIS MOMS may 
receive the same medical and dental services and are subject 
to the same limitations on services as pregnant women (see 
12VAC30-50-190) covered by the Medicaid program as 
defined in 12VAC30-10-140 and 12VAC30-50-10.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4215; Filed November 13, 2015, 12:28 p.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-80. Methods and Standards 
for Establishing Payment Rates; Other Types of Care 
(amending 12VAC30-80-30, 12VAC30-80-300).  
Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 
42 USC § 1396 et seq. 
Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled. 
Public Comment Deadline: January 13, 2016. 
Effective Date: January 29, 2016.  
Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 
Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/Content_atchs/dnt/VA_SFC_ORM_140313.pdf
http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/Content_atchs/dnt/VA_SFC_ORM_140313.pdf
http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/Content_atchs/dnt/VA_SFC_ORM_140313.pdf
http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/Content_atchs/dnt/VA_SFC_ORM_140313.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=265f3004215~2&typ=40&actno=004215&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=265f3004215~2&typ=40&actno=004215&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=265f3004215~2&typ=40&actno=004215&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=22f50002790~6&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=22f50002790~6&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=22f50002790~6&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
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371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 
Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia grants the 
Board of Medical Assistance Services the authority to 
administer and amend the State Plan for Medical Assistance. 
Section 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 
Director of the Department of Medical Assistance Services 
(DMAS) to administer and amend the State Plan for Medical 
Assistance according to the board's requirements. The 
Medicaid authority as established by § 1902(a) of the Social 
Security Act (42 USC § 1396a) provides governing authority 
for payments for services. 
In addition, Item 301 B 4 of Chapter 665 of the 2015 Acts of 
Assembly states that "the department shall have the authority 
to amend the State Plan for Medical Assistance to increase 
physician supplemental payments for physician practice plans 
affiliated with Type One hospitals up to the average 
commercial rates as demonstrated by University of Virginia 
Health System and Virginia Commonwealth University 
Health System..." 
Purpose: The purpose of this action is to revise the maximum 
reimbursement to 201% of the Medicare rate for Type I 
physicians, based on updated information on the average 
commercial rate furnished by state academic health systems. 
This regulatory action is essential to protect the health, safety, 
and welfare of citizens by maintaining funding for Medicaid 
and indigent care costs at state academic health centers, and 
thereby helping to ensure that these facilities remain open and 
continue to provide this care. 
Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: This proposed 
regulatory change is being promulgated through the fast-track 
rulemaking process because it is expected to be 
noncontroversial. DMAS consulted with the affected 
providers, who are satisfied with supplemental payment 
calculation and methodology. Therefore, no opposition is 
expected as a result of this fast-track regulatory action. 
Substance: Supplemental payments to Type I physicians are 
calculated as the difference between the maximum payment 
allowed, the average commercial rate (ACR), and the 
payment otherwise made for physician services. The ACR has 
increased over time, and regulatory language did not reflect 
such increases. 
The amendments state that effective April 8, 2014, the 
supplemental payment amount for Type I physicians shall be 
the difference between the Medicaid payments otherwise 
made for physician services and 201% of Medicare rates. 
Issues: There are no disadvantages to the public in this action. 
The advantage of these supplemental payments to these 
affected institutions is that such payments help fund Medicaid 
and indigent care costs at the state academic health centers. 
The advantage to the Commonwealth is that these 
supplemental payments may facilitate these affected 
institutions remaining in business across the state. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
proposed regulation revises the maximum reimbursement for 
Type One physicians to 201% of the Medicare rate. 
Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 
Estimated Economic Impact. Federal regulations allow 
Virginia Medicaid to make supplemental payments for Type 
One physicians. A Type One physician is a member of a 
practice group organized by or under the control of a state 
academic health system or an academic health system that 
operates under state authority. Type One physicians affected 
by this change are the physicians affiliated with the 
University of Virginia (UVA) and the Virginia 
Commonwealth University (VCU). 
Supplemental payments are calculated as the difference 
between the maximum payment allowed and regular 
payments. The maximum payment allowed by the Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid (CMS) is the average commercial 
rate (ACR). As the payments made by commercial providers 
change over time so does the ACR. The ACR has increased 
from 143% of the Medicare rate in 2002, to 181% in 2012, 
and to 197% of the Medicare rate in 2013. The current 
regulation reflects 181% of the Medicare rate. However, the 
ACR went up to 201% of the Medicare rate in 2014 and CMS 
approved the change to the 201% rate on January 27, 2015. 
Pursuant to the 2015 Acts of Assembly, Chapter 665, Item 
301 B 4, the new ACR has been retroactively applied to 
payments since April 8, 2014. The proposed change will 
incorporate the new ACR in the regulations. 
The proposed ACR equates to a $3.4 million increase that 
affected funds hospitals receive for Type One physicians. 
Since one-half of Virginia Medicaid is funded by federal 
matching funds, the state's share of this amount is $1.7 
million. However, the increase in the supplemental payments 
to Type One physicians is offset by an equivalent reduction in 
the need for the Disproportionate Share Hospital (DSH) 
payments Medicaid makes to the teaching hospitals. In other 
words, while the composition of the payments made to the 
Type One hospitals changes because of the new ACR, the 
overall total payment received by them from Medicaid 
remains the same absent any other changes. Thus, the 
proposed ACR does not cause an increase in overall payments 
to the teaching hospitals. 
Even though the new ACR does not increase the total 
payment to the teaching hospitals, the proposed regulation is 
beneficial in the sense that it more accurately reflects the 
components of the total payment Type One hospitals receive 
from Medicaid. 
Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed new ACR 
applies to two physician practice plans: one for UVA and one 
for VCU. 
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Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed changes apply 
to two teaching hospitals which are located in the City of 
Richmond and the City of Charlottesville. 
Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
do not affect employment. 
Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No impact 
on the use and value of private property is expected. 
Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 
development costs is expected. 
Small Businesses:  
Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 
Costs and Other Effects. The proposed regulation does not 
impose costs or other effects on small businesses. 
Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. No 
adverse impact on small businesses is expected. 
Adverse Impacts:  
Businesses: The proposed regulation does not have an impact 
on non-small businesses. 
Localities: The proposed regulation does not adversely affect 
localities. 
Other Entities: The proposed regulation does not adversely 
affect other entities. 
Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
agency has reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared 
by the Department of Planning and Budget. The agency raises 
no issues with this analysis. 
Summary: 

Pursuant to Item 301 B 4 of Chapter 665 of the 2015 Acts 
of Assembly, the amendments revise the maximum 
reimbursement rate for Type I physicians to 201% of the 
Medicare rate. 

12VAC30-80-30. Fee-for-service providers. 
A. Payment for the following services, except for physician 

services, shall be the lower of the state agency fee schedule 
(12VAC30-80-190 has information about the state agency fee 
schedule) or actual charge (charge to the general public): 

1. Physicians' services. Payment for physician services 
shall be the lower of the state agency fee schedule or actual 
charge (charge to the general public). The following 
limitations shall apply to emergency physician services. 

a. Definitions. The following words and terms, when 
used in this subdivision 1 shall have the following 
meanings when applied to emergency services unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise: 
"All-inclusive" means all emergency service and 
ancillary service charges claimed in association with the 

emergency department visit, with the exception of 
laboratory services. 
"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services consistent with Chapter 10 (§ 32.1-323 et seq.) 
of Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia. 
"Emergency physician services" means services that are 
necessary to prevent the death or serious impairment of 
the health of the recipient. The threat to the life or health 
of the recipient necessitates the use of the most 
accessible hospital available that is equipped to furnish 
the services. 
"Recent injury" means an injury that has occurred less 
than 72 hours prior to the emergency department visit. 
b. Scope. DMAS shall differentiate, as determined by the 
attending physician's diagnosis, the kinds of care 
routinely rendered in emergency departments and 
reimburse physicians for nonemergency care rendered in 
emergency departments at a reduced rate. 
(1) DMAS shall reimburse at a reduced and all-inclusive 
reimbursement rate for all physician services rendered in 
emergency departments that DMAS determines are 
nonemergency care. 
(2) Services determined by the attending physician to be 
emergencies shall be reimbursed under the existing 
methodologies and at the existing rates. 
(3) Services determined by the attending physician that 
may be emergencies shall be manually reviewed. If such 
services meet certain criteria, they shall be paid under the 
methodology in subdivision 1 b (2) of this subsection. 
Services not meeting certain criteria shall be paid under 
the methodology in subdivision 1 b (1) of this subsection. 
Such criteria shall include, but not be limited to: 
(a) The initial treatment following a recent obvious 
injury. 
(b) Treatment related to an injury sustained more than 72 
hours prior to the visit with the deterioration of the 
symptoms to the point of requiring medical treatment for 
stabilization. 
(c) The initial treatment for medical emergencies 
including indications of severe chest pain, dyspnea, 
gastrointestinal hemorrhage, spontaneous abortion, loss 
of consciousness, status epilepticus, or other conditions 
considered life threatening. 
(d) A visit in which the recipient's condition requires 
immediate hospital admission or the transfer to another 
facility for further treatment or a visit in which the 
recipient dies. 
(e) Services provided for acute vital sign changes as 
specified in the provider manual. 
(f) Services provided for severe pain when combined 
with one or more of the other guidelines. 
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(4) Payment shall be determined based on ICD diagnosis 
codes and necessary supporting documentation. As used 
here, the term "ICD" is defined in 12VAC30-95-5. 
(5) DMAS shall review on an ongoing basis the 
effectiveness of this program in achieving its objectives 
and for its effect on recipients, physicians, and hospitals. 
Program components may be revised subject to achieving 
program intent objectives, the accuracy and effectiveness 
of the ICD code designations, and the impact on 
recipients and providers. As used here, the term "ICD" is 
defined in 12VAC30-95-5. 

2. Dentists' services. 
3. Mental health services including: (i) community mental 
health services, (ii) services of a licensed clinical 
psychologist, or (iii) mental health services provided by a 
physician. 

a. Services provided by licensed clinical psychologists 
shall be reimbursed at 90% of the reimbursement rate for 
psychiatrists. 
b. Services provided by independently enrolled licensed 
clinical social workers, licensed professional counselors 
or licensed clinical nurse specialists-psychiatric shall be 
reimbursed at 75% of the reimbursement rate for licensed 
clinical psychologists. 

4. Podiatry. 
5. Nurse-midwife services. 
6. Durable medical equipment (DME) and supplies. 

Definitions. The following words and terms when used in 
this section shall have the following meanings unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise: 
"DMERC" means the Durable Medical Equipment 
Regional Carrier rate as published by the Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services at 
http://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Medicare-Fee-for-
Service-Payment/DMEPOSFeeSched/DMEPOS-Fee-
Schedule.html. 
"HCPCS" means the Healthcare Common Procedure 
Coding System, Medicare's National Level II Codes, 
HCPCS 2006 (Eighteenth edition), as published by 
Ingenix, as may be periodically updated. 
a. Obtaining prior authorization shall not guarantee 
Medicaid reimbursement for DME.  
b. The following shall be the reimbursement method used 
for DME services: 
(1) If the DME item has a DMERC rate, the 
reimbursement rate shall be the DMERC rate minus 
10%. For dates of service on or after July 1, 2014, DME 
items subject to the Medicare competitive bidding 
program shall be reimbursed the lower of: 
(a) The current DMERC rate minus 10% or  

(b) The average of the Medicare competitive bid rates in 
Virginia markets. 
(2) For DME items with no DMERC rate, the agency 
shall use the agency fee schedule amount. The 
reimbursement rates for DME and supplies shall be listed 
in the DMAS Medicaid Durable Medical Equipment 
(DME) and Supplies Listing and updated periodically. 
The agency fee schedule shall be available on the agency 
website at www.dmas.virginia.gov. 
(3) If a DME item has no DMERC rate or agency fee 
schedule rate, the reimbursement rate shall be the 
manufacturer's net charge to the provider, less shipping 
and handling, plus 30%. The manufacturer's net charge to 
the provider shall be the cost to the provider minus all 
available discounts to the provider. Additional 
information specific to how DME providers, including 
manufacturers who are enrolled as providers, establish 
and document their cost or costs for DME codes that do 
not have established rates can be found in the relevant 
agency guidance document.  
c. DMAS shall have the authority to amend the agency 
fee schedule as it deems appropriate and with notice to 
providers. DMAS shall have the authority to determine 
alternate pricing, based on agency research, for any code 
that does not have a rate. 
d. The reimbursement for incontinence supplies shall be 
by selective contract. Pursuant to § 1915(a)(1)(B) of the 
Social Security Act and 42 CFR 431.54(d), the 
Commonwealth assures that adequate services/devices 
shall be available under such arrangements. 
e. Certain durable medical equipment used for 
intravenous therapy and oxygen therapy shall be bundled 
under specified procedure codes and reimbursed as 
determined by the agency. Certain services/durable 
medical equipment such as service maintenance 
agreements shall be bundled under specified procedure 
codes and reimbursed as determined by the agency. 
(1) Intravenous therapies. The DME for a single therapy, 
administered in one day, shall be reimbursed at the 
established service day rate for the bundled durable 
medical equipment and the standard pharmacy payment, 
consistent with the ingredient cost as described in 
12VAC30-80-40, plus the pharmacy service day and 
dispensing fee. Multiple applications of the same therapy 
shall be included in one service day rate of 
reimbursement. Multiple applications of different 
therapies administered in one day shall be reimbursed for 
the bundled durable medical equipment service day rate 
as follows: the most expensive therapy shall be 
reimbursed at 100% of cost; the second and all 
subsequent most expensive therapies shall be reimbursed 
at 50% of cost. Multiple therapies administered in one 
day shall be reimbursed at the pharmacy service day rate 
plus 100% of every active therapeutic ingredient in the 

http://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Medicare-Fee-for-Service-Payment/DMEPOSFeeSched/DMEPOS-Fee-Schedule.html
http://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Medicare-Fee-for-Service-Payment/DMEPOSFeeSched/DMEPOS-Fee-Schedule.html
http://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Medicare-Fee-for-Service-Payment/DMEPOSFeeSched/DMEPOS-Fee-Schedule.html
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compound (at the lowest ingredient cost methodology) 
plus the appropriate pharmacy dispensing fee. 
(2) Respiratory therapies. The DME for oxygen therapy 
shall have supplies or components bundled under a 
service day rate based on oxygen liter flow rate or blood 
gas levels. Equipment associated with respiratory therapy 
may have ancillary components bundled with the main 
component for reimbursement. The reimbursement shall 
be a service day per diem rate for rental of equipment or 
a total amount of purchase for the purchase of equipment. 
Such respiratory equipment shall include, but not be 
limited to, oxygen tanks and tubing, ventilators, 
noncontinuous ventilators, and suction machines. 
Ventilators, noncontinuous ventilators, and suction 
machines may be purchased based on the individual 
patient's medical necessity and length of need. 
(3) Service maintenance agreements. Provision shall be 
made for a combination of services, routine maintenance, 
and supplies, to be known as agreements, under a single 
reimbursement code only for equipment that is recipient 
owned. Such bundled agreements shall be reimbursed 
either monthly or in units per year based on the 
individual agreement between the DME provider and 
DMAS. Such bundled agreements may apply to, but not 
necessarily be limited to, either respiratory equipment or 
apnea monitors. 

7. Local health services. 
8. Laboratory services (other than inpatient hospital). The 
agency's rates for clinical laboratory services were set as of 
July 1, 2014, and are effective for services on or after that 
date. 
9. Payments to physicians who handle laboratory 
specimens, but do not perform laboratory analysis (limited 
to payment for handling). 
10. X-ray services. 
11. Optometry services. 
12. Medical supplies and equipment. 
13. Home health services. Effective June 30, 1991, cost 
reimbursement for home health services is eliminated. A 
rate per visit by discipline shall be established as set forth 
by 12VAC30-80-180. 
14. Physical therapy; occupational therapy; and speech, 
hearing, language disorders services when rendered to 
noninstitutionalized recipients. 
15. Clinic services, as defined under 42 CFR 440.90. 
16. Supplemental payments for services provided by Type 
I physicians. 

a. In addition to payments for physician services 
specified elsewhere in this State Plan, DMAS provides 
supplemental payments to Type I physicians for 
furnished services provided on or after July 2, 2002. A 
Type I physician is a member of a practice group, 

organized by or under the control of a state academic 
health system or an academic health system that operates 
under a state authority and includes a hospital, who has 
entered into contractual agreements for the assignment of 
payments in accordance with 42 CFR 447.10. 
b. Effective July 2, 2002, the supplemental payment 
amount for Type I physician services shall be the 
difference between the Medicaid payments otherwise 
made for Type I physician services and Medicare rates. 
Effective August 13, 2002, the supplemental payment 
amount for Type I physician services shall be the 
difference between the Medicaid payments otherwise 
made for physician services and 143% of Medicare rates. 
Effective January 3, 2012, the supplemental payment 
amount for Type I physician services shall be the 
difference between the Medicaid payments otherwise 
made for physician services and 181% of Medicare rates. 
Effective January 1, 2013, the supplemental payment 
amount for Type I physician services shall be the 
difference between the Medicaid payments otherwise 
made for physician services and 197% of Medicare rates. 
Effective April 8, 2014, the supplemental payment 
amount for Type I physician services shall be the 
difference between the Medicaid payments otherwise 
made for physician services and 201% of Medicare rates. 
c. The methodology for determining the Medicare 
equivalent of the average commercial rate is described in 
12VAC30-80-300. 
c. d. Supplemental payments shall be made quarterly no 
later than 90 days after the end of the quarter. 

17. Supplemental payments for services provided by 
physicians at Virginia freestanding children's hospitals. 

a. In addition to payments for physician services 
specified elsewhere in this State Plan, DMAS provides 
supplemental payments to Virginia freestanding 
children's hospital physicians providing services at 
freestanding children's hospitals with greater than 50% 
Medicaid inpatient utilization in state fiscal year 2009 for 
furnished services provided on or after July 1, 2011. A 
freestanding children's hospital physician is a member of 
a practice group (i) organized by or under control of a 
qualifying Virginia freestanding children's hospital, or 
(ii) who has entered into contractual agreements for 
provision of physician services at the qualifying Virginia 
freestanding children's hospital and that is designated in 
writing by the Virginia freestanding children's hospital as 
a practice plan for the quarter for which the supplemental 
payment is made subject to DMAS approval. The 
freestanding children's hospital physicians also must 
have entered into contractual agreements with the 
practice plan for the assignment of payments in 
accordance with 42 CFR 447.10. 
b. Effective July 1, 2011, the supplemental payment 
amount for freestanding children's hospital physician 
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services shall be the difference between the Medicaid 
payments otherwise made for freestanding children's 
hospital physician services and 143% of Medicare rates 
as defined in the supplemental payment calculation for 
Type I physician services subject to the following 
reduction. Final payments shall be reduced on a prorated 
basis so that total payments for freestanding children's 
hospital physician services are $400,000 less annually 
than would be calculated based on the formula in the 
previous sentence. Payments shall be made on the same 
schedule as Type I physicians.  

18. Supplemental payments to nonstate government-owned 
or operated clinics.  

a. In addition to payments for clinic services specified 
elsewhere in the regulations, DMAS provides 
supplemental payments to qualifying nonstate 
government-owned or operated clinics for outpatient 
services provided to Medicaid patients on or after July 2, 
2002. Clinic means a facility that is not part of a hospital 
but is organized and operated to provide medical care to 
outpatients. Outpatient services include those furnished 
by or under the direction of a physician, dentist or other 
medical professional acting within the scope of his 
license to an eligible individual. Effective July 1, 2005, a 
qualifying clinic is a clinic operated by a community 
services board. The state share for supplemental clinic 
payments will be funded by general fund appropriations.  
b. The amount of the supplemental payment made to 
each qualifying nonstate government-owned or operated 
clinic is determined by:  
(1) Calculating for each clinic the annual difference 
between the upper payment limit attributed to each clinic 
according to subdivision 18 d of this subsection and the 
amount otherwise actually paid for the services by the 
Medicaid program;  
(2) Dividing the difference determined in subdivision 18 
b (1) of this subsection for each qualifying clinic by the 
aggregate difference for all such qualifying clinics; and  
(3) Multiplying the proportion determined in subdivision 
18 b (2) of this subsection by the aggregate upper 
payment limit amount for all such clinics as determined 
in accordance with 42 CFR 447.321 less all payments 
made to such clinics other than under this section.  
c. Payments for furnished services made under this 
section may be made in one or more installments at such 
times, within the fiscal year or thereafter, as is 
determined by DMAS.  
d. To determine the aggregate upper payment limit 
referred to in subdivision 18 b (3) of this subsection, 
Medicaid payments to nonstate government-owned or 
operated clinics will be divided by the "additional factor" 
whose calculation is described in Attachment 4.19-B, 
Supplement 4 (12VAC30-80-190 B 2) in regard to the 

state agency fee schedule for RBRVS Resource Based 
Relative Value Scale. Medicaid payments will be 
estimated using payments for dates of service from the 
prior fiscal year adjusted for expected claim payments. 
Additional adjustments will be made for any program 
changes in Medicare or Medicaid payments. 

19. Personal assistance services (PAS) for individuals 
enrolled in the Medicaid Buy-In program described in 
12VAC30-60-200. These services are reimbursed in 
accordance with the state agency fee schedule described in 
12VAC30-80-190. The state agency fee schedule is 
published on the DMAS website at 
http://www.dmas.virginia.gov.  

B. Hospice services payments must be no lower than the 
amounts using the same methodology used under Part A of 
Title XVIII, and take into account the room and board 
furnished by the facility, equal to at least 95% of the rate that 
would have been paid by the state under the plan for facility 
services in that facility for that individual. Hospice services 
shall be paid according to the location of the service delivery 
and not the location of the agency's home office. 
12VAC30-80-300. Medicare equivalent of average 
commercial rate. 

Physician supplemental payment amounts shall be 
calculated using the Medicare equivalent of the average 
commercial rate (ACR) methodology prescribed by CMS. 
The following methodology describes the calculation of the 
supplemental payment. To compute the ACR by commercial 
payers, calculate the average amount reimbursed for each 
procedure code (e.g., CPT or HCPCS) by the top five 
commercial payers for a specified base period. Data from 
Medicare, Workers' Compensation, and other noncommercial 
payers and codes not reimbursed by Medicaid are excluded.  

(Payer 1 + Payer 2 + Payer 3 + Payer 4 + Payer 5) / (5) 
= Average Commercial Reimbursement 

To compute the reimbursement ceiling, multiply the average 
reimbursement rate as determined by the number of claims 
recorded in Medicaid Management Information System 
(MMIS) for each procedure code that was rendered to 
Medicaid members by eligible physicians during the base 
period. Add the product for all procedure codes. This total 
represents the total reimbursement ceiling.  

(Average Commercial Reimbursement) X (Medicaid 
Count) = Total Reimbursement Ceiling for each 
Procedure Code 
Sum of Total Reimbursement Ceiling for each 
Procedure Code = Total Reimbursement Ceiling 

To determine the Medicare equivalent to the reimbursement 
ceiling, for each of the billing codes used to determine the 
reimbursement ceiling, multiply the Medicare rate by the 
number of claims recorded in MMIS for each procedure code 
that was rendered to Medicaid members during the base 
period. Add the product for all procedure codes. This sum 
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represents the total Medicare reimbursement that would have 
been received. Divide the reimbursement ceiling (commercial 
payment) by Medicare reimbursement. This ratio expresses 
the ACR as a percentage of Medicare. 

(Medicare Rate) X (Medicaid Count) = Total Medicare 
Reimbursement for each Procedure Code 
Sum of Total Medicare Reimbursement for each 
Procedure Code = Total Medicare Reimbursement 
(Total Reimbursement Ceiling) / (Total Medicare 
Reimbursement) = Medicare equivalent of the ACR  

This single ratio is applied to the Medicare rates for 
reimbursable Medicaid practitioner services to determine the 
total allowable Medicaid payment, including both the regular 
base payment and supplemental payment. 

(Medicare equivalent of the ACR) X (Medicare rate per 
CPT Code for all applicable CPT Codes) = Total 
Allowable Medicaid Payment 
Total Allowable Medicaid Payment – Medicaid Base 
Payment = Maximum Supplemental Payment 

The Medicare equivalent of the ACR demonstration shall be 
updated every three years. Only the professional component 
of radiology services and clinical laboratory services is 
included in the ACR calculation. Claims with a technical 
component are excluded from the demonstration.   

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4376; Filed November 13, 2015, 12:43 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-120. Waivered Services 
(amending 12VAC30-120-360 through 12VAC30-120-395, 
12VAC30-120-400, 12VAC30-120-410, 12VAC30-120-
420).  
Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 
42 USC § 1396. 
Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  
Public Comment Deadline: February 12, 2016. 
Agency Contact: Victoria Simmons, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, Division of 
Policy and Research, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-6043, FAX (804) 
786-1680, or email victoria.simmons@dmas.virginia.gov. 
Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia grants to the 
Board of Medical Assistance Services the authority to 
administer and amend the Plan for Medical Assistance. 
Section 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 
Director of the Department of Medical Assistance Services 
(DMAS) to administer and amend the Plan for Medical 
Assistance according to the board's requirements. The 
Medicaid authority as established by § 1902(a) of the Social 
Security Act (42 USC § 1396a) provides governing authority 
for payments for services. 

DMAS operates its managed care program under the 
authority of § 1915(b) of the Social Security Act, which 
permits the waiving of Medicaid individuals' freedom of 
choice of providers of health care to enable mandatory 
enrollment in managed care. DMAS sought federal approval 
of these changes to § 1915(b) of the Social Security Act 
waiver and received Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services approval dated July 14, 2014. This action amends 
the regulations to conform to the federally approved waiver 
changes. 
DMAS operates its home and community-based care waivers 
(such as the Elderly or Disabled with Consumer Direction 
waiver) under the authority of § 1915(c) of the Act that 
permits the waiving of the comparability rule (42 CFR 440. 
240), which requires that services covered for any eligible 
individual in a covered group must be covered for all 
individuals in that group. These waivers enable the coverage 
of specific services, such as personal care, respite care, adult 
day health care, etc., to enable individuals to avoid 
institutionalization and remain in their homes and 
communities. 
Purpose: The purpose of this regulation is to implement 
several mandates from various legislative actions to (i) 
require qualifying individuals in the Elderly or Disabled with 
Consumer Direction Waiver to also be enrolled in Medicaid 
contracted managed care organizations and (ii) require 
expedited enrollment for Medicaid individuals into Medicaid 
contracted managed care organizations, especially for 
pregnant women. These regulatory changes will improve the 
health and welfare of the affected Medicaid individuals by 
providing care coordination and well-person preventive 
services in addition to routine acute care. 
These regulations apply to managed care organizations 
(MCOs). Small business requirements do not apply to 
managed care organizations because managed care 
organizations do not meet the definition of small businesses. 
Substance: Medallion II, a mandatory managed care 
organization program, expanded throughout the 
Commonwealth the use of managed care for the delivery of 
health care to Medicaid recipients. Medallion II was created 
for the purposes of further improving access to care, 
promoting disease prevention, ensuring quality care, and 
reducing Medicaid expenditures. The program requires 
mandatory enrollment into a contracted MCO for certain 
specified groups of Medicaid individuals (12VAC30-120-370 
A). Also, certain specified groups of individuals are excluded 
from managed care enrollment (12VAC30-120-370 B). 
MCOs provide the Commonwealth with the most value per 
taxpayer dollar for the provision of high quality health care 
and provide an integrated, comprehensive delivery system to 
individuals enrolled in Medicaid. 
In 2007, the managed care health plans began providing acute 
care coverage for approximately 4,600 home and community-
based (HCB) waiver participants through the Acute and Long 
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Term Care (ALTC) Phase 1 program. This included 
individuals enrolled in the Elderly or Disabled with 
Consumer Direction (EDCD) Waiver, the Intellectual 
Disability (ID) Waiver, the Individuals and Family 
Developmental Disabilities Support (IFDDS) Waiver, the 
Day Support (DS) Waiver, and the Alzheimer's Assisted 
Living (AAL) Waiver. Under the Phase 1 program, if an 
MCO-enrolled Medicaid member subsequently becomes 
eligible for and enrolled into one of five HCB waivers, then 
he remains enrolled with the MCO for primary and acute care 
services while all long-term care waiver services, such as 
personal care, respite care, personal emergency response 
systems, and environmental modifications, are covered under 
the fee-for-service reimbursement system. 
Item 297 MMMM 1 of the 2011 appropriation act directed 
DMAS to seek federal authority through amendments to the 
State Plan under Title XIX of the Social Security Act, and 
any necessary waivers, to allow individuals enrolled in home 
and community-based care waivers to also be enrolled in 
contracted Medallion II managed care organizations for the 
purposes of receiving acute and medical care services 
On December 1, 2014, DMAS launched the Health and Acute 
Care Program (HAP). This initiative allows eligible EDCD 
Waiver individuals to receive their acute and primary medical 
care through one of the managed care health plans, and, 
concurrently, the individual's HCB care waiver services, 
including transportation to the waivered services, are paid for 
through the Medicaid fee-for-service system as a "carved out" 
service. These individuals participate concurrently in 
§ 1915(b) and § 1915(c) waivers. As part of the HAP 
initiative, approximately 2,700 individuals enrolled in the 
EDCD Waiver, who received acute medical services in the 
fee-for-service program and who were eligible for managed 
care (i.e., do not have any managed care exclusions), were 
transitioned into managed care in December 2014. The ALTC 
program was rebranded as HAP for approximately 7,300 
individuals enrolled in both the § 1915(b) and § 1915(c) 
waivers. 
Item 307 FFF of the 2012 appropriation act authorized 
DMAS to seek federal authority through amendments to the 
State Plans under Title XIX and Title XXI of the Social 
Security Act, and appropriate waivers to such, to develop and 
implement programmatic and system changes that allow 
expedited enrollment of Medicaid eligible recipients into 
Medicaid managed care, most importantly for pregnant 
women. 
In an effort to ensure that newly eligible Medicaid 
individuals, especially pregnant women, have quicker access 
to the managed care delivery system, DMAS shortened the 
period of time between an individual being identified as 
Medicaid eligible and that individual's enrollment into a 
managed care organization. This new process reduces 
disruptions to continuity of care by minimizing the movement 

of individuals between the fee-for-service and the managed 
care delivery systems. 
Issues: The primary advantage of this regulatory action is that 
the expedited enrollment component of this regulation will 
ensure that Medicaid individuals who are eligible for 
managed care get placed into an MCO sooner than the 
previous "pre-assignment" methodology allowed, resulting in 
less time waiting to enroll in an MCO. Both expedited 
enrollment and the additional population becoming eligible 
for managed care ensure access to care coordination and 
additional services offered by the MCOs that are not available 
under Medicaid fee-for-service. Another advantage is that this 
regulation is projected to create savings for DMAS and the 
Commonwealth. 
DMAS does not anticipate any disadvantages to the public or 
the Commonwealth. 
Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Medical Assistance Services (Board) proposes to 
amend its regulation for mandatory capitated managed care to 
make several clarifying changes and two substantive changes. 
The Board proposes substantive changes to shorten the time it 
takes to move people from fee-for-service Medicaid to 
managed care and to require individuals with Elderly or 
Disabled with Consumer Direction (EDCD) waivers who are 
not exempt to receive their acute and primary health care 
through managed care.  
Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for these 
proposed changes. 
Estimated Economic Impact. Current regulation contains 
many references to the Medallion II program of managed 
care, which has been replaced by Medallion III. The Board 
proposes to remove references to Medallion II, as they are 
now obsolete, and to add more generic language that 
references mandatory managed care. At the same time, the 
Board proposes to harmonize language that refers to 
individuals who receive health care under this program by 
referring to them as "members" in all instances. No entity is 
likely to incur costs on account of clarifying changes such as 
these. Interested parties are, however, likely to benefit as 
these changes are likely to make regulatory text easier to 
understand. 
Current regulation has rules for individuals who newly sign 
up for Medicaid that establish how they will be pre-assigned a 
mandatory managed care plan and how they can go about 
selecting a different plan. Board staff reports that the pre-
assignment process, and subsequent movement from fee-for-
service Medicaid to a managed care plan, currently takes 
approximately 45-60 days. The Department of Medical 
Assistance Services (DMAS) has received federal approval to 
shorten this process (by about 15 days) and the Board now 
proposes to amend this regulation to facilitate this change. 
Board staff reports that this change may lead to long term 
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costs saving for taxpayers but also reports that any savings 
are currently unquantifiable. Budget forecasts from DMAS 
completed in fiscal year 2015 did, however, include projected 
savings of $1,589,635 in fiscal year 2015 and $3,180,949 in 
fiscal year 2016. Board staff reports that pregnant women 
who are eligible for Medicaid will likely see a more 
immediate benefit from this change as it will allow them to 
have quicker access to DMAS's managed care delivery 
system, which may reduce disruptions to the continuity of 
their care. 
Currently, managed care eligible individuals who receive 
long-term care waivers from the Commonwealth, except for 
the subset of individuals who have EDCD waivers, are 
mandated to receive their primary and acute care through a 
managed care plan unless they fall into a group that is 
excluded from participating in mandatory managed care1. The 
Board proposes to extend this mandate in regulation to also 
cover individuals with EDCD waivers (who were actually 
transitioned into managed care programs in December of 
2014). Since these individuals are already covered by 
Medicaid, it is unlikely that moving them into managed care 
plans for their primary and acute care caused taxpayers to 
incur any additional costs. To the extent that costs savings 
may be expected for individuals who receive care from a 
managed care plan when compared to the cost of fee-for-
service plans, taxpayers may see some long term but as yet 
not quantifiable cost savings. 
Businesses and Entities Affected. Board staff reports that 
these changes will affect any individuals who are newly 
enrolled in Medicaid, as they will be able to move more 
quickly into a managed care program, and all 2,700 
individuals who have an EDCD waiver. 
Localities Particularly Affected. No locality in the 
Commonwealth will be particularly affected by these 
proposed changes.  
Projected Impact on Employment. These proposed changes 
are unlikely to impact employment in the Commonwealth. 
Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 
proposed changes will likely have no impact on the use or 
value of private property. 
Real Estate Development Costs. These proposed changes will 
likely not affect real estate development costs. 
Small Businesses:  
Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 
Costs and Other Effects. No small businesses will incur costs 
on account of these regulatory changes. 
Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. No small 
businesses will incur costs on account of these regulatory 
changes. 

Adverse Impacts:  
Businesses: No businesses will incur costs on account of 
these regulatory changes. 
Localities: These proposed changes are unlikely to adversely 
impact localities. 
Other Entities: These proposed changes are unlikely to 
adversely impact any other entity in the Commonwealth. 
_________________________________________________ 
1Individuals are excluded from participating in mandatory managed care if 1) 
they are receiving inpatient care in a state mental hospital; 2) they are 
approved by DMAS for receiving inpatient care in a long-term hospital, 
nursing facility or intermediate care facility for individuals with intellectual 
disabilities; 3) they are placed on spend-down; 4) they are participating in the 
family planning waiver or are in a federal waiver program for home-based 
and community-based Medicaid coverage prior to managed care enrollment; 
5) they are under age 21 and are approved for DMAS residential facility 
Level C programs as defined in 12VAC30-130-860; 6) they are pregnant 
women in the third trimester of pregnancy who request exclusion because 
their current obstetrical providers do not participate in the managed care 
organization to which the pregnant woman would be assigned; 7) they are 
individuals other than students who permanently live outside their area of 
residence for more than 60 consecutive days except individuals placed 
outside their area of residence for medically necessary services funded by the 
managed care plan to which they are assigned; 8) they are receiving hospice 
services in accordance with DMAS criteria; 9) they have other 
comprehensive group or individual health insurance coverage; 10) they 
request exclusion and are inpatient at a hospital (other than a state mental 
hospital, long-term care hospital, nursing facility or intermediate care facility 
for individuals with intellectual disabilities) at the scheduled time of 
managed care enrollment or they are scheduled for an inpatient hospital stay 
or surgery within 30 calendar days of the effective date of their managed care 
enrollment; 11) they request exclusion because they have been diagnosed 
with a terminal condition and have a life expectancy of six months of less; 
12) they are between the ages of birth and three years old, are certified by the 
Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services as eligible for 
services under the Disabilities Education Act and are granted an exception by 
DMAS; 13) they have an eligibility period of less than three months; 14) they 
are enrolled in the Commonwealth's Title XXI SCHIP program; 15) they 
have an eligibility period that is only retroactive or 16) they are children 
enrolled in the Virginia Birth-Related Neurological Injury Compensation 
Program. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
agency has reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared 
by the Department of Planning and Budget regarding the 
regulations concerning Mandatory Capitated Managed Care. 
The agency raises no issues with this analysis. 
Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) require individuals who are 
enrolled in the Elderly or Disabled with Consumer 
Direction Waiver and who are excluded from participating 
in mandatory managed care to be enrolled in Medicaid 
contracted managed care organizations and to receive all 
acute care services through the mandatory managed care 
delivery system and (ii) provide for expedited enrollment 
for Medicaid individuals into Medicaid contracted 
managed care organizations, especially for pregnant 
women.  
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Part VI  
Medallion II Mandatory Managed Care 

12VAC30-120-360. Definitions. 
The following words and terms when used in this part shall 

have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Action" means the denial or limited authorization of a 
requested service, including the type or level of service; the 
reduction, suspension, or termination of a previously 
authorized service; the denial, in whole or in part, of payment 
for a service; the failure to provide services in a timely 
manner, as defined by the state; or the failure of an MCO to 
act within the timeframes provided in 42 CFR 438.408(b).  

"Appeal" means a request for review of an action, as 
"action" is defined in this section.  

"Area of residence" means the individual's member's address 
in the Medicaid eligibility file.  

"Capitation payment" means a payment the department 
makes periodically to a contractor on behalf of each 
individual enrolled under a contract for the provision of 
medical services under the State Plan, regardless of whether 
the particular individual receives services during the period 
covered by the payment.  

"Covered services" means Medicaid services as defined in 
the State Plan for Medical Assistance.  

"Disenrollment" means the process of changing enrollment 
from one Medallion II Managed Care Organization (MCO) 
plan to another MCO, if applicable.  

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services.  

"Enrollee" or "enrollees" means people having current 
Medicaid eligibility who shall be in the process of being 
authorized by DMAS to be enrolled in Medallion II. 

"Early Intervention" means EPSDT Early Intervention 
services provided pursuant to Part C of the Individuals with 
Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) of 2004 as set forth in 
12VAC30-50-131. 

"Eligible person" means any person eligible for Virginia 
Medicaid in accordance with the State Plan for Medical 
Assistance under Title XIX of the Social Security Act.  

"Emergency medical condition" means a medical condition 
manifesting itself by acute symptoms of sufficient severity 
(including severe pain) that a prudent layperson, who 
possesses an average knowledge of health and medicine, 
could reasonably expect the absence of immediate medical 
attention to result in the following:  

1. Placing the health of the individual (or, with respect to a 
pregnant woman, the health of the woman or her unborn 
child) in serious jeopardy,  
2. Serious impairment to bodily functions, or  
3. Serious dysfunction of any bodily organ or part.  

"Emergency services" means covered inpatient and 
outpatient services that are furnished by a provider that is 
qualified to furnish these services and that are needed to 
evaluate or stabilize an emergency medical condition.  

"Enrollment broker" means an independent contractor that 
enrolls individuals in the contractor's plan and is responsible 
for the operation and documentation of a toll-free individual 
service helpline. The responsibilities of the enrollment broker 
include, but shall not be limited to, individual education and 
MCO enrollment, assistance with and tracking of individuals' 
complaints resolutions, and may include individual marketing 
and outreach.  

"Exclusion from Medallion II" "Exclude" means the 
removal of an enrollee a member from the Medallion II 
mandatory managed care program on a temporary or 
permanent basis.  

"External quality review organization" or "EQRO" means an 
organization that meets the competence and independence 
requirements set forth in 42 CFR 438.354 and performs 
external quality reviews, other external quality review related 
activities as set forth in 42 CFR 438.358, or both.  

"Grievance" means an expression of dissatisfaction about 
any matter other than an action, as "action" is defined in this 
section.  

"Health care plan" means any arrangement in which any 
managed care organization undertakes to provide, arrange for, 
pay for, or reimburse any part of the cost of any health care 
services.  

"Health care professional" means a provider as defined in 
42 CFR 438.2.  

"Individual" or "individuals" means people a person or 
persons who are eligible for Medicaid but, who are not yet 
undergoing enrollment nor for mandatory managed care, and 
who are not enrolled in a mandatory managed care 
organization. 

"Managed care organization" or "MCO" means an entity that 
meets the participation and solvency criteria defined in 42 
CFR Part 438 and has an executed contractual agreement with 
DMAS to provide services covered under the Medallion II 
mandatory managed care program. Covered services for 
Medallion II mandatory managed care program individuals 
must shall be as accessible (in terms of timeliness, amount, 
duration, and scope) as compared to other Medicaid 
individuals served within the geographic area.  

"Member" or "members" means people who have current 
Medicaid eligibility who are also enrolled in Medallion II 
mandatory managed care.  

"Network" means doctors, hospitals or other health care 
providers who participate or contract with an MCO contractor 
and, as a result, agree to accept a mutually-agreed mutually 
agreed upon sum or fee schedule as payment in full for 
covered services that are rendered to eligible participants.  
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"Newborn enrollment period" means the period from the 
child's date of birth plus the next two calendar months.  

"Nonparticipating provider" means a health care entity or 
health care professional not in the contractor's participating 
provider network.  

"Participant" or "participants" means an individual or 
individuals having current Medicaid eligibility who shall be 
authorized by DMAS to be a member or members of 
Medallion II. 

"PCP of record" means a primary care physician of record 
with whom the recipient has an established history and such 
history is documented in the individual's records. 

"Post-stabilization care services" means covered services 
related to an emergency medical condition that are provided 
after an enrollee is stabilized in order to maintain the 
stabilized condition or to improve or resolve the enrollee's 
condition.  

"Potential enrollee" means a Medicaid individual who is 
subject to mandatory enrollment or may voluntarily elect to 
enroll in a given managed care program, but is not yet an 
enrollee of a specific MCO.  

"Retractions" means the departure of an enrolled managed 
care organization from any one or more localities as provided 
for in 12VAC30-120-370. 

"Rural exception" means a rural area designated in the 
§ 1915(b) managed care waiver, pursuant to § 1932(a)(3)(B) 
of the Social Security Act and 42 CFR § 438.52(b) and 
recognized by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services, wherein qualifying Medallion II mandatory 
managed care members are mandated to enroll in the one 
available contracted MCO. 

"School health services" means those physical therapy, 
occupational therapy, speech therapy, nursing, psychiatric and 
psychological services rendered to children who qualify for 
these services under the federal Individuals with Disabilities 
Education Act (20 USC § 1471 et seq.) by (i) employees of 
the school divisions or (ii) providers that subcontract with 
school divisions, as described in 12VAC30-50-130.  

"Spend-down" means the process of reducing countable 
income by deducting incurred medical expenses for medically 
needy individuals, as determined in the State Plan for Medical 
Assistance.  
12VAC30-120-370. Medallion II enrollees Mandatory 
managed care members. 

A. DMAS shall determine enrollment in Medallion II 
mandatory managed care. Medicaid eligible persons not 
meeting the exclusion criteria set out in this section must shall 
participate in the Medallion II mandatory managed care 
program. Enrollment in Medallion II is mandatory managed 
care shall not be a guarantee of continuing eligibility for 
services and benefits under the Virginia Medical Assistance 
Services Program.  

1. DMAS reserves the right to exclude from participation 
in the Medallion II mandatory managed care program any 
member who has been consistently noncompliant with the 
policies and procedures of managed care or who is 
threatening to providers, MCOs, or DMAS. There must be 
sufficient documentation from various providers, the 
MCO, and DMAS of these noncompliance issues and any 
attempts at resolution. Members excluded from Medallion 
II mandatory managed care through this provision may 
appeal the decision to DMAS. 
2. Qualifying individuals enrolled in the Elderly or 
Disabled with Consumer Direction (EDCD) Waiver 
pursuant to Part IX (12VAC30-120-900 et seq.) of this 
chapter who do not meet any exclusions in subsection B of 
this section shall be required to enroll in managed care and 
shall receive all acute care services through the mandatory 
managed care delivery system. For these individuals, 
services provided under 12VAC30-120-380 A 2 shall 
continue to be provided through the DMAS fee-for-service 
system.  

B. The following individuals shall be excluded (as defined 
in 12VAC30-120-360) from participating in Medallion II 
mandatory managed care as defined in the § 1915(b) managed 
care waiver. Individuals excluded from Medallion II 
mandatory managed care shall include the following:  

1. Individuals who are inpatients in state mental hospitals; 
2. Individuals who are approved by DMAS as inpatients in 
long-stay hospitals, nursing facilities, or intermediate care 
facilities for individuals with intellectual disabilities; 
3. Individuals who are placed on spend-down; 
4. Individuals who are participating in the family planning 
waiver, or in federal waiver programs for home-based and 
community-based Medicaid coverage prior to managed 
care enrollment (except eligible EDCD members); 
5. Individuals under age 21 who are approved for DMAS 
residential facility Level C programs as defined in 
12VAC30-130-860; 
6. Newly eligible individuals who are in the third trimester 
of pregnancy and who request exclusion within a 
department-specified timeframe of the effective date of 
their MCO enrollment. Exclusion may be granted only if 
the member's obstetrical provider (e.g. (i.e., physician, 
hospital, or midwife) does not participate with the 
enrollee's member's assigned MCO. Exclusion requests 
made during the third trimester may be made by the 
member, MCO, or provider. DMAS shall determine if the 
request meets the criteria for exclusion. Following the end 
of the pregnancy, these individuals shall be required to 
enroll to the extent they remain eligible for Medicaid; 
7. Individuals, other than students, who permanently live 
outside their area of residence for greater than 60 
consecutive days except those individuals placed there for 
medically necessary services funded by the MCO; 
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8. Individuals who receive hospice services in accordance 
with DMAS criteria; 
9. Individuals with other comprehensive group or 
individual health insurance coverage, including Medicare, 
insurance provided to military dependents, and any other 
insurance purchased through the Health Insurance 
Premium Payment Program (HIPP); 
10. Individuals requesting exclusion who are inpatients in 
hospitals, other than those listed in subdivisions 1 and 2 of 
this subsection, at the scheduled time of MCO enrollment 
or who are scheduled for inpatient hospital stay or surgery 
within 30 calendar days of the MCO enrollment effective 
date. The exclusion shall remain effective until the first day 
of the month following discharge. This exclusion reason 
shall not apply to members admitted to the hospital while 
already enrolled in a department-contracted MCO;  
11. Individuals who request exclusion during 
preassignment assignment to an MCO or within a time set 
by DMAS from the effective date of their MCO 
enrollment, who have been diagnosed with a terminal 
condition and who have a life expectancy of six months or 
less. The client's individual's physician must certify the life 
expectancy; 
12. Certain individuals between birth and age three 
certified by the Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services as eligible for services pursuant to 
Part C of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act 
(20 USC § 1471 et seq.) who are granted an exception by 
DMAS to the mandatory Medallion II managed care 
enrollment; 
13. Individuals who have an eligibility period that is less 
than three months; 
14. Individuals who are enrolled in the Commonwealth's 
Title XXI SCHIP program; 
15. Individuals who have an eligibility period that is only 
retroactive; and 
16. Children enrolled in the Virginia Birth-Related 
Neurological Injury Compensation Program established 
pursuant to Chapter 50 (§ 38.2-5000 et seq.) of Title 38.2 
of the Code of Virginia. 

C. Members enrolled with a MCO who subsequently meet 
one or more of the criteria of subsections A and subsection B 
of this section during MCO enrollment shall be excluded 
from MCO participation as determined by DMAS, with the 
exception of those who subsequently become participants in 
the federal long-term care waiver programs, as otherwise 
defined elsewhere in this chapter, for home-based and 
community-based Medicaid coverage (AIDS, (IFDDS, 
MR/ID ID, EDCD, Day Support, or Alzheimer's, or as may 
be amended from time to time). These individuals members 
shall receive acute and primary medical services via the MCO 
and shall receive waiver services and related transportation to 
waiver services via the fee-for-service program. 

Individuals excluded from mandatory managed care 
enrollment shall receive Medicaid services under the current 
fee-for-service system. When individuals no longer meet the 
criteria for exclusion, they shall be required to enroll in the 
appropriate managed care program. 

D. Individuals who are enrolled in localities that qualify for 
the rural exception may meet exclusion criteria if their PCP of 
record, as defined in 12VAC30-120-360, cannot or will not 
participate with the one MCO in the locality. Individual 
requests to be excluded from MCO participation in localities 
meeting the qualification for the rural exception must be 
made to DMAS for consideration on a case-by-case basis. 
Recipients Members enrolled in MCO rural exception areas 
shall not have open enrollment periods and shall not be 
afforded the 90-day window after initial enrollment during 
which they may make a health plan or program change. 

Individuals excluded from mandatory managed care 
enrollment shall receive Medicaid services under the current 
fee-for-service system. When individuals no longer meet the 
criteria for exclusion, they shall be required to enroll in the 
appropriate managed care program.  

E. Medallion II Mandatory managed care plans shall be 
offered to individuals, and individuals shall be enrolled in 
those plans, exclusively through an independent enrollment 
broker under contract to DMAS. 

F. Clients Members shall be enrolled as follows: 
1. All eligible individuals, except those meeting one of the 
exclusions of subsection B of this section, shall be enrolled 
in Medallion II mandatory managed care. 
2. Individuals shall receive a Medicaid card from DMAS, 
and shall be provided authorized medical care in 
accordance with DMAS' procedures after Medicaid 
eligibility has been determined to exist. 
3. Once individuals are enrolled in Medicaid, they will 
receive a letter indicating that they may select one of the 
contracted MCOs. These letters shall indicate a 
preassigned an assigned MCO, determined as provided in 
subsection F of this section, in which the individual 
member will be enrolled if he does not make a selection 
within a period specified by DMAS of not less than 30 
days. Members who are enrolled in one mandatory MCO 
program who immediately become eligible for another 
mandatory MCO program are able to maintain consistent 
enrollment with their currently assigned MCO, if available. 
These members will receive a notification letter including 
information regarding their ability to change health plans 
under the new program. 
4. Any newborn whose mother is enrolled with an MCO at 
the time of birth shall be considered a member of that same 
MCO for the newborn enrollment period. 

a. This requirement does not preclude the member, once 
he is assigned a Medicaid identification number, from 
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disenrolling from one MCO to enrolling with another in 
accordance with subdivision H 1 of this section. 
b. The newborn's continued enrollment with the MCO is 
not contingent upon the mother's enrollment. 
Additionally, if the MCO's contract is terminated in 
whole or in part, the MCO shall continue newborn 
coverage if the child is born while the contract is active, 
until the newborn receives a Medicaid number or for the 
newborn enrollment period, whichever timeframe is 
earlier. Children who do not receive a Medicaid 
identification number prior to the end of the newborn 
enrollment period will be disenrolled. Newborns who 
remain eligible for participation in Medallion II 
mandatory managed care will be reenrolled in an MCO 
through the preassignment assignment process upon 
receiving a Medicaid identification number. 
c. Any newborn whose mother is enrolled in an MCO at 
the time of birth shall receive a Medicaid identification 
number prior to the end of the newborn enrollment 
period in order to maintain the newborn's enrollment in 
an MCO. 

5. Individuals who lose then regain eligibility for 
Medallion II mandatory managed care within 60 days will 
be reenrolled into their previous MCO without going 
through preassignment assignment and selection. 

G. Individuals who do not select an MCO as described in 
subdivision F 3 of this section shall be assigned to an MCO as 
follows: 

1. Individuals are assigned through a system algorithm 
based upon the client's member's history with a contracted 
MCO. 
2. Individuals not assigned pursuant to subdivision 1 of 
this subsection shall be assigned to the MCO of another 
family member, if applicable. 
3. Individuals who live in rural exception areas as defined 
in 12VAC30-120-360 must shall enroll with the one 
available MCO. These persons individuals shall receive a 
preassignment an assignment notification for enrollment 
into the MCO. Individuals in rural exception areas who are 
assigned to the one MCO may request exclusion from 
MCO participation if their PCP of record, as defined in 
12VAC30-120-360, cannot or will not participate with the 
one MCO in the locality. Individual requests to be 
excluded from MCO participation in rural exception 
localities must be made to DMAS for consideration on a 
case-by-case basis.  
4. All other individuals shall be assigned to an MCO on a 
basis of approximately equal number by MCO in each 
locality. 
5. All eligible members are automatically assigned to a 
contracted MCO in their localities. Members are allowed 
90 days after the effective date of new or initial enrollment 
to change to another MCO that participates in the 

geographic area where the member lives. Recipients 
Members residing in localities qualifying for a rural 
exception shall not be afforded the 90-day window after 
initial enrollment during which they may make a health 
plan or program change. 
6. DMAS shall have the discretion to utilize an alternate 
strategy for enrollment or transition of enrollment from the 
method described in this section for expansions, 
retractions, or changes to client member populations, 
geographical areas, procurements, or any or all of these; 
such alternate strategy shall comply with federal waiver 
requirements. 

H. Following their initial enrollment into an MCO, members 
shall be restricted to the MCO until the next open enrollment 
period, unless appropriately disenrolled or excluded by the 
department (as defined in 12VAC30-120-360). 

1. During the first 90 calendar days of enrollment in a new 
or initial MCO, a member may disenroll from that MCO to 
enroll into another MCO for any reason. Such 
disenrollment shall be effective no later than the first day 
of the second month after the month in which the member 
requests disenrollment. 
2. During the remainder of the enrollment period, the 
member may only disenroll from one MCO into another 
MCO upon determination by DMAS that good cause exists 
as determined under subsection I J of this section. 

I. The department shall conduct an annual open enrollment 
for all Medallion II mandatory managed care members with 
the exception of those clients members who live in a 
designated rural exception area. The open enrollment period 
shall be the 60 calendar days before the end of the enrollment 
period. Prior to the open enrollment period, DMAS will 
inform the member of the opportunity to remain with the 
current MCO or change to another MCO, without cause, for 
the following year. Enrollment selections will be effective on 
the first day of the next month following the open enrollment 
period. Members who do not make a choice during the open 
enrollment period will remain with their current MCO 
selection. 

J. Disenrollment for cause may be requested at any time. 
1. After the first 90 days of enrollment in an MCO, 
members must may request disenrollment from DMAS 
based on cause. The request may be made orally or in 
writing to DMAS and must shall cite the reason or reasons 
why the member wishes to disenroll. Cause for 
disenrollment shall include the following: 

a. A member's desire to seek services from a federally 
qualified health center that is not under contract with the 
member's current MCO, and the member requests a 
change to another MCO that subcontracts with the 
desired federally qualified health center; 
b. Performance or nonperformance of service to the 
member by an MCO or one or more of its providers that 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 8 Virginia Register of Regulations December 14, 2015 

1417 

is deemed by the department's external quality review 
organizations to be below the generally accepted 
community practice of health care. This may include 
poor quality care; 
c. Lack of access to a PCP or necessary specialty services 
covered under the State Plan or lack of access to 
providers experienced in dealing with the member's 
health care needs; 
d. A member has a combination of complex medical 
factors that, in the sole discretion of DMAS, would be 
better served under another contracted MCO; 
e. The member moves out of the MCO's service area; 
f. The MCO does not, because of moral or religious 
objections, cover the service the member seeks; 
g. The member needs related services to be performed at 
the same time; not all related services are available 
within the network, and the member's primary care 
provider or another provider determines that receiving 
the services separately would subject the member to 
unnecessary risk; or 
h. Other reasons as determined by DMAS through 
written policy directives. 

2. DMAS shall determine whether cause exists for 
disenrollment. Written responses shall be provided within a 
timeframe set by department policy; however, the effective 
date of an approved disenrollment shall be no later than the 
first day of the second month following the month in which 
the member files the request, in compliance with 42 CFR 
438.56. 
3. Cause for disenrollment shall be deemed to exist and the 
disenrollment shall be granted if DMAS fails to take final 
action on a valid request prior to the first day of the second 
month after the request. 
4. The DMAS determination concerning cause for 
disenrollment may be appealed by the member in 
accordance with the department's client appeals process at 
12VAC30-110-10 through 12VAC30-110-380 12VAC30-
110-370. 
5. The current MCO shall provide, within two working 
days of a request from DMAS, information necessary to 
determine cause. 
6. Members enrolled with a MCO who subsequently meet 
one or more of the exclusions in subsection B of this 
section during MCO enrollment shall be excluded as 
appropriate by DMAS, with the exception of those who 
subsequently become individuals participating in the 
IFDDS, ID, EDCD, Day Support, or Alzheimer's federal 
waiver programs for home-based and community-based 
Medicaid coverage. These members shall receive acute and 
primary medical services via the MCO and shall receive 
waiver services and related transportation to waiver 
services via the fee-for-service program. 

12VAC30-120-380. Medallion II MCO responsibilities. 
A. The MCO shall provide, at a minimum, all medically 

necessary covered services provided under the State Plan for 
Medical Assistance and further defined by written DMAS 
regulations, policies and instructions, except as otherwise 
modified or excluded in this part. 

1. Nonemergency services provided by hospital emergency 
departments shall be covered by MCOs in accordance with 
rates negotiated between the MCOs and the hospital 
emergency departments. 
2. Services that shall be provided outside the MCO 
network shall include, but are not limited to, those services 
identified and defined by the contract between DMAS and 
the MCO. Services reimbursed by DMAS include, but 
shall not be limited to, dental and orthodontic services for 
children up to age 21; for all others, dental services (as 
described in 12VAC30-50-190), school health services (as 
defined in 12VAC30-120-360), community mental health 
services (rehabilitative, targeted case management and the 
following substance abuse treatment services: emergency 
services (crisis); intensive outpatient services; day 
treatment services; substance abuse case management 
services; and opioid treatment services), as defined in 
12VAC30-50-228 and 12VAC30-50-491, EPSDT Early 
Intervention services provided pursuant to Part C of the 
Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) of 
2004 (as defined in 12VAC30-50-131 and 12VAC30-50-
415), and long-term care services provided under the § 
1915(c) home-based and community-based waivers 
including related transportation to such authorized waiver 
services. 
3. The MCOs shall pay for emergency services and family 
planning services and supplies whether they such services 
are provided inside or outside the MCO network. 

B. EPSDT services shall be covered by the MCO and 
defined by the contract between DMAS and the MCO. The 
MCO shall have the authority to determine the provider of 
service for EPSDT screenings. 

C. The MCOs shall report data to DMAS under the contract 
requirements, which may include data reports, report cards 
for clients members, and ad hoc quality studies performed by 
the MCO or third parties. 

D. Documentation requirements. 
1. The MCO shall maintain records as required by federal 
and state law and regulation and by DMAS policy. The 
MCO shall furnish such required information to DMAS, 
the Attorney General of Virginia or his authorized 
representatives, or the State Medicaid Fraud Control Unit 
on request and in the form requested. 
2. Each MCO shall have written policies regarding enrollee 
member rights and shall comply with any applicable 
federal and state laws that pertain to enrollee member 
rights and shall ensure that its staff and affiliated providers 
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take those rights into account when furnishing services to 
enrollees members in accordance with 42 CFR 438.100. 

E. The MCO shall ensure that the health care provided to its 
clients members meets all applicable federal and state 
mandates, community standards for quality, and standards 
developed pursuant to the DMAS managed care quality 
program. 

F. The MCOs shall promptly provide or arrange for the 
provision of all required services as specified in the contract 
between the state Commonwealth and the contractor MCO. 
Medical evaluations shall be available within 48 hours for 
urgent care and within 30 calendar days for routine care. On-
call clinicians shall be available 24 hours per day, seven days 
per week. 

G. The MCOs must shall meet standards specified by 
DMAS for sufficiency of provider networks as specified in 
the contract between the state Commonwealth and the 
contractor MCO. 

H. Each MCO and its subcontractors shall have in place, and 
follow, written policies and procedures for processing 
requests for initial and continuing authorizations of service. 
Each MCO and its subcontractors shall ensure that any 
decision to deny a service authorization request or to 
authorize a service in an amount, duration, or scope that is 
less than requested, be made by a health care professional 
who has appropriate clinical expertise in treating the 
enrollee's member's condition or disease. Each MCO and its 
subcontractors shall have in effect mechanisms to ensure 
consistent application of review criteria for authorization 
decisions and shall consult with the requesting provider when 
appropriate. 

I. In accordance with 42 CFR 447.50 through 42 CFR 
447.60, MCOs shall not impose any cost sharing obligations 
on enrollees members except as set forth in 12VAC30-20-150 
and 12VAC30-20-160. 

J. An MCO may not prohibit, or otherwise restrict, a health 
care professional acting within the lawful scope of practice, 
from advising or advocating on behalf of an enrollee a 
member who is his patient in accordance with 42 CFR 
438.102. 

K. An MCO that would otherwise be required to reimburse 
for or provide coverage of a counseling or referral service is 
not required to do so if the MCO objects to the service on 
moral or religious grounds and furnishes information about 
the service it does not cover in accordance with 42 CFR 
438.102. 
12VAC30-120-390. Payment rate for Medallion II MCOs.  

The payment rate to MCOs that participate in the mandatory 
managed care program shall be set by negotiated contracts 
and in accordance with 42 CFR 438.6 and other pertinent 
federal regulations.  

12VAC30-120-395. Payment rate for preauthorized or 
emergency care provided by out-of-network providers.  

The MCOs shall pay for preauthorized or emergency 
services when provided outside the MCO network. 
Preauthorized or emergency services provided to a Medallion 
II client managed care member by a provider or facility not 
participating in the MCO's network will be reimbursed 
according to the current Medicaid fee schedule. This 
reimbursement shall be considered payment in full to the 
provider or facility of emergency services.  
12VAC30-120-400. Quality control and utilization review.  

A. DMAS shall rigorously monitor the quality of care 
provided by the MCOs. DMAS may contract with one or 
more external quality review organizations to perform 
focused studies on the quality of care provided by the MCOs. 
The external organizations may utilize data or other tools to 
ensure contract compliance and quality improvement 
activities. Specifically, DMAS shall monitor to determine if 
the MCO:  

1. Fails substantially to provide the medically necessary 
items and services required under law or under the contract 
to be provided to an enrolled recipient and the failure has 
adversely affected (or has substantial likelihood of 
adversely affecting) the individual.  
2. Engages in any practice that discriminates against 
individuals on the basis of their health status or 
requirements for health care services, including expulsion 
or refusal to reenroll an individual, or any practice that 
could reasonably be expected to have the effect of denying 
or discouraging enrollment (except as permitted by 
§ 1903(m) of the Social Security Act (42 USC 
§ 1396b(m))) by eligible individuals whose medical 
conditions or histories indicate a need for substantial future 
medical services.  
3. Misrepresents or falsifies information that it furnishes, 
under § 1903(m) of the Social Security Act (42 USC 
§ 1396b(m)) to CMS, DMAS, an individual, or any other 
entity.  
4. Fails to comply with the requirements of 42 CFR 
417.479(d) through (g) relating to physician incentive 
plans, or fails to submit to DMAS its physician incentive 
plans as required or requested in 42 CFR 434.70.  
5. Imposes on enrollees members premiums or charges that 
are in excess of the premiums or charges permitted under 
the Medicaid program.  

B. DMAS shall ensure that data on performance and patient 
results are collected.  

C. DMAS shall ensure that quality outcomes information is 
provided to MCOs. DMAS shall ensure that changes which 
are determined to be needed as a result of quality control or 
utilization review are made.  
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12VAC30-120-410. Sanctions.  
A. If DMAS determines that an MCO is not in compliance 

with applicable state or federal laws, regulations (including 
but not limited to the requirements of or pursuant to 
12VAC30-120-380 E, or 42 CFR 438, Subpart I), or their 
Medallion II the MCO contract, DMAS may impose 
sanctions on the MCO. The sanctions may include, but are 
not limited to:  

1. Limiting enrollments in the MCO by freezing voluntary 
recipient member enrollments;  
2. Freezing DMAS assignment of recipients members to 
the MCO;  
3. Limiting MCO enrollment to specific areas;  
4. Denying, withholding, or retracting payments to the 
MCO;  
5. Terminating the MCO's Medallion II contract;  
6. Intermediate sanctions including, but not limited to, the 
maximum civil money penalties specified in 42 CFR Part 
438, Subpart I, for the violations set forth therein, or in 
accordance therewith; and  
7. Civil monetary penalties as specified in 42 CFR 
438.704.  

B. In the case of an MCO that has repeatedly failed to meet 
the requirements of §§ 1903(m) and 1932 of the Social 
Security Act, DMAS shall, regardless of what other sanctions 
are imposed, impose the following sanctions:  

1. Appoint a temporary manager to:  
a. Oversee the operation of the Medicaid managed care 
organization upon a finding by DMAS that there is 
continued egregious behavior by the organization or 
there is a substantial risk to the health of enrollees 
members; or  
b. Assure the health of the organization's enrollees 
members if there is a need for temporary management 
while (i) there is an orderly termination or reorganization 
of the organization or (ii) improvements are made to 
remedy the violations found under subsection A of this 
section. Temporary management under this subdivision 
may not be terminated until DMAS has determined that 
the MCO has the capability to ensure that the violations 
shall not recur.  

2. Permit individuals members who are enrolled with the 
MCO to disenroll without cause. If this sanction is 
imposed, DMAS shall be responsible for notifying such 
individuals members of the right to disenroll.  

C. Prior to terminating a contract as permitted under 
subdivision A 5 of this section, DMAS shall provide the 
MCO with a hearing. DMAS may shall not provide an MCO 
with a pretermination hearing before the appointment of a 
temporary manager under subdivision B 1 of this section.  

D. Prior to imposing any sanction other than termination of 
the MCO's contract, DMAS shall provide the MCO with 

notice, develop procedures with which the MCO must 
comply to eliminate specific sanctions, and provide such 
other due process protections as the Commonwealth may 
provide.  

E. In accordance with the terms of the contract, MCOs shall 
have the right to appeal any adverse action taken by DMAS. 
For appeal procedures not addressed by the contract, the 
MCO shall proceed in accordance with the appeals provisions 
of the Virginia Public Procurement Act (§ 2.2-4300 et seq. of 
the Code of Virginia). Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4364 and 2.2-4365 
of the Code of Virginia, DMAS shall establish an 
administrative appeals procedure through which the MCO 
may elect to appeal decisions on disputes arising during the 
performance of its contract. Pursuant to § 2.2-4365 of the 
Code of Virginia, such appeal shall be heard by a hearing 
officer; however, in no event shall the hearing officer be an 
employee of DMAS. In conducting the administrative appeal, 
the hearing officer shall follow the hearing procedure used in 
§ 2.2-4020 of the Code of Virginia.  

F. When DMAS determines that an MCO committed one of 
the violations specified in 12VAC30-120-400 A, DMAS shall 
implement the provisions of 42 CFR 434.67.  

1. Any sanction imposed pursuant to this subsection shall 
be binding upon the MCO.  
2. The MCO shall have the appeals rights for any sanction 
imposed pursuant to this subsection as specified in 42 CFR 
434.67.  

12VAC30-120-420. Client Member grievances and 
appeals.  

A. The MCOs shall, whenever an enrolled client's a 
member's request for covered services is reduced, denied or 
terminated, or payment for services is denied, provide a 
written notice in accordance with the notice provisions 
specified in 42 CFR 438.404 and 42 CFR 438.210(c), as 
defined by the contract between DMAS and the MCO, and 
any other statutory or regulatory requirements.  

B. MCOs shall, at the initiation of either new client member 
enrollment or new provider/subcontractor contracts, or at the 
request of the enrollee member, provide to every enrollee 
member the information described in 42 CFR 438.10(g) 
concerning grievance/appeal rights and procedures.  

C. Disputes between the MCO and the client member 
concerning any aspect of service delivery, including medical 
necessity and specialist referral, shall be resolved through a 
verbal or written grievance/appeals process operated by the 
MCO or through the DMAS appeals process. A provider who 
has the enrollee's member's written consent may act on behalf 
of an enrollee a member in the MCO grievance/appeals or the 
DMAS appeals process.  

1. The enrollee member, provider, or representative acting 
on behalf of the enrollee member with the enrollee's 
member's written consent may file an oral or written 
grievance or appeal with the MCO. The MCO must accept 
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grievances or appeals submitted within 30 days from the 
date of the notice of adverse action. Oral requests for 
appeals must be followed up in writing within 10 business 
days by the enrollee member, provider, or the 
representative acting on behalf of the enrollee member 
with the enrollee's member's consent, unless the request is 
for an expedited appeal. The enrollee member may also file 
a written request for a standard or expedited appeal with 
the DMAS Appeals Division within 30 days of the client's 
member's receipt of the notice of adverse action, in 
accordance with 42 CFR 431, Subpart E,; 42 CFR Part 
438, Subpart F,; and 12VAC30-110 12VAC30-110-10 
through 12VAC30-110-370.  
2. As specified in 12VAC30-110-100, pending the 
resolution of a grievance or appeal filed by a client 
member or his representative (including a provider acting 
on behalf of the client) member), coverage shall not be 
terminated or reduced for the client member for any reason 
which is the subject of the grievance or appeal.  
3. The MCO shall ensure that the individuals employees or 
agents who make decisions on MCO grievances and 
appeals were not involved in any previous level of review 
or decision making, and where the reason for the grievance 
or appeal involves clinical issues, relates to a denial or a 
request for an expedited appeal, or where the appeal is 
based on a lack of medical necessity, shall ensure that the 
decision makers are health care professionals with the 
appropriate clinical expertise in treating the enrollee's 
member's condition or disease.  

D. The MCO shall develop written materials describing the 
grievance/appeals system and its procedures and operation.  

E. The MCO shall maintain a recordkeeping and tracking 
system for complaints, grievances, and appeals that includes a 
copy of the original complaint, grievance, or appeal; the 
decision; and the nature of the decision. This system shall 
distinguish Medicaid from commercial enrollees members, if 
the MCO does not have a separate system for Medicaid 
enrollees members.  

F. At the time of enrollment and at the time of any adverse 
actions, the MCO shall notify the client member, in writing, 
that:  

1. Medical necessity, specialist referral or other service 
delivery issues may be resolved through a system of 
grievances and appeals, within the MCO or through the 
DMAS client appeals process;  
2. Clients Members have the right to appeal directly to 
DMAS; and  
3. The MCO shall promptly provide grievance or appeal 
forms, reasonable assistance and written procedures to 
clients members who wish to register written grievances or 
appeals.  

G. The MCO shall issue grievance/appeal decisions as 
defined by the contract between DMAS and the MCO. Oral 
grievance decisions are not required to be in writing.  

H. The MCO shall issue standard appeal decisions within 30 
days from the date of initial receipt of the appeal in 
accordance with 42 CFR 438.408 and as defined by the 
contract between DMAS and the MCO. The appeal decision 
shall be in writing and shall include, but shall not be limited 
to, the following:  

1. The decision reached, the results and the date of the 
decision reached by the MCO;  
2. The reasons for the decision;  
3. The policies or procedures that provide the basis for the 
decision;  
4. A clear explanation of further appeal rights and a 
timeframe for filing an appeal; and  
5. For appeals that involve the termination, suspension, or 
reduction of a previously authorized course of treatment, 
the right to continue to receive benefits in accordance with 
42 CFR 438.420 pending a hearing, and how to request 
continuation of benefits.  

I. An expedited appeal decision shall be issued as 
expeditiously as the enrollee's member's condition requires 
and within three business days in cases of medical 
emergencies in which delay could result in death or serious 
injury to a client member. Extensions to these timeframes 
shall be allowed in accordance with 42 CFR 438.408 and as 
defined by the contract between DMAS and the MCO. 
Written confirmation of the decision shall promptly follow 
the verbal notice of the expedited decision.  

J. Any appeal decision issued by the MCO may be appealed 
by the client member to DMAS in accordance with the 
department's Client Appeals regulations at 12VAC30-110-10 
through 12VAC30-110-380 12VAC30-110-370. DMAS shall 
conduct an evidentiary hearing in accordance with the Client 
Appeals regulations at 12VAC30-110-10 through 12VAC30-
110-380 12VAC30-110-370 and shall not base any appealed 
decision on the record established by any appeal decision of 
the MCO. The MCO shall comply with the DMAS appeal 
decision. The DMAS decision in these matters shall be final 
and shall not be subject to appeal by the MCO.  

K. The MCO shall provide information necessary for any 
DMAS appeal within timeframes established by DMAS.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4135; Filed November 13, 2015, 1:01 p.m.  
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STATE BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC35-115. Regulations to Assure 
the Rights of Individuals Receiving Services from 
Providers Licensed, Funded, or Operated by the 
Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 
Services (amending 12VAC35-115-10, 12VAC35-115-30, 
12VAC35-115-50, 12VAC35-115-60, 12VAC35-115-90, 
12VAC35-115-100, 12VAC35-115-110, 12VAC35-115-130, 
12VAC35-115-145, 12VAC35-115-150, 12VAC35-115-180, 
12VAC35-115-190, 12VAC35-115-200, 12VAC35-115-210, 
12VAC35-115-230; adding 12VAC35-115-105, 12VAC35-
115-175, 12VAC35-115-260, 12VAC35-115-270; repealing 
12VAC35-115-140, 12VAC35-115-170, 12VAC35-115-
250).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 37.2-203 and 37.2-400 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information: 

December 16, 2015 - 9 a.m. - Department of Behavioral 
Health and Developmental Services, 13th Floor, Large 
Conference Room, Jefferson Building, 1220 Bank Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219 

Public Comment Deadline: February 12, 2016. 
Agency Contact: Deb Lochart, Director, Office of Human 
Rights, Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 
Services, Jefferson Building, 1220 Bank Street, 13th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-0032, FAX (804) 
371-2308, or email deb.lochart@dbhds.virginia.gov. 
Basis: The State Board of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services has the authority to promulgate the 
amendments pursuant to §§ 37.2-203 and 37.2-400 of the 
Code of Virginia. Section 37.2-203 of the Code of Virginia 
authorizes the board to adopt regulations that may be 
necessary to carry out the provisions of Title 37.2 of the Code 
of Virginia and other laws of the Commonwealth 
administered by the commissioner or the department. Section 
37.2-400 of the Code of Virginia provides the board with 
authority to adopt regulations pertaining to rights of 
individuals receiving services in a hospital, training center, 
other facility, or program operated, funded or licensed by the 
department. 
Purpose: The purpose of the revisions to the human rights 
regulations is to streamline the human rights system from the 
current administrative model to a more efficient model, thus 
improving the ability of the Office of Human Rights to 
perform its mandated responsibilities of oversight and 
advocacy and maximize resources, in a manner that promotes 
the vision for individuals receiving services of recovery, self-
determination, empowerment, and community integration 
while protecting their health, safety, and welfare.  
The regulatory changes will reduce the number of local 
human rights committees (LHRCs) and fundamentally 

modify their role and function by shifting from a focus on 
provider administrative and support activities to review and 
approval of planned restrictions to the rights of individuals 
receiving services. The regulatory changes also reorganize 
and simplify the information regarding the complaint process 
to clarify expectations and underscore the individuals' due 
process rights. 
The proposed amendments are intended to: 
1. Increase the availability and flexibility of human rights 
advocates for direct involvement with individuals receiving 
services and other critical functions by clarifying (i) the 
administrative responsibilities of the Department of 
Behavioral Health and Developmental Services with regards 
to the operation of the human rights system, (ii) the role of 
the human rights advocate, (iii) the role of the local human 
rights committee (LHRC), and (iv) the role of the State 
Human Rights Committee (SHRC). 
2. Simplify the administrative processes regarding the dispute 
resolution process, the behavior treatment plan review, and 
substitute decision-making and eliminate redundant or 
duplicative activities. 
3. Enhance the user friendliness of the regulations by 
reorganizing and reducing the size of the regulation and 
simplifying the language of the regulation. 
Substance: The substantive proposed amendments include: 
1. Operational functions of the system have been removed 
from LHRCs, providers, and the SHRC and placed with the 
department. 
2. The department has an increased responsibility for the 
overall functioning of the human rights system by supporting 
LHRCs with resources, training, and consultation.  
3. The department, in consultation with the SHRC, will set 
the number of local human rights committees.  
4. LHRC duties will now focus on individual rights (e.g., 
complaints, behavior plans, and variances), and the LHRC 
duties will not include monitoring providers (e.g., review of 
policies, reporting requirements, attendance requirements, 
etc.). 
5. Expanded LHRC review of all restrictions lasting longer 
than seven days and any plans that proposed to restrict an 
individual's rights.  
6. Human rights advocates will have increased 
responsibilities to train all stakeholders on regulatory 
protections. 
7. Providers will no longer affiliate with an LHRC, rather 
providers will access the committee in their locality if there is 
an issue that requires review. Providers will no longer be 
required to attend LHRC meetings. 
8. Complaint processes are consolidated into one section. 
9. The use of prone restraints is prohibited. 
Issues: The primary advantage to the public is a streamlined, 
more efficient human rights system that shifts from the 
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current administrative model to one that more directly 
promotes and supports the individual receiving services. 
There are more than 70 local human rights committees 
(LHRCs) across the Commonwealth. The regulatory changes 
will reduce the number of LHRCs and fundamentally modify 
their role and function by shifting from a focus on provider 
administrative and support activities to review and approval 
of planned restrictions to the rights of individuals receiving 
services. The proposed amendments also reorganize and 
simplify the information regarding the complaint process to 
clarify expectations and underscore the individuals' due 
process rights. There is no known disadvantage to the public, 
the department, or the Commonwealth. 
Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings: This 
regulatory action serves as the report of the findings of the 
regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
State Board of Behavioral Health and Developmental 
Services (Board) proposes to amend its regulation that 
governs procedures for protecting the human rights of 
individuals who are receiving mental health services, 
developmental services or substance abuse services through 
providers that are licensed or operated by the Department of 
Behavioral Health and Developmental Services (DBHDS). 
The Board specifically proposes to update obsolete language 
in this regulation and consolidate all processes for human 
rights complaints into one place in the regulation. The Board 
also proposes to change the regulatory responsibilities of 
local human rights committees (LHRCs) so that they will no 
longer handle administrative tasks but will instead have more 
authority to oversee treatment plans that contain restrictions 
on human rights as defined by this regulation. 
Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for most of 
the Board's proposed regulatory changes. For at least one 
proposed change, there is insufficient information to ascertain 
whether benefits will likely outweigh costs.  
Estimated Economic Impact. Currently this regulation 
contains many obsolete references to terms no longer 
commonly used by DBHDS and has various rules for the 
rights and responsibilities of care providers and clients as 
well as complaint procedures scattered throughout various 
regulatory sections. The Board now proposes to update 
obsolete regulatory language and to gather all rules for the 
human right complaint process into one section of this 
regulation. No entity is likely to incur any costs on account of 
these changes. These changes will, however, benefit 
interested parties in that the regulatory language now reflects 
currently used terminology and all rules for the human rights 
complaint process will be more easily found because they will 
all be in one place. 

The current regulation also contains rules for providers and 
the 80 LHRCs in the Commonwealth to interact and 
cooperate. Included in these rules are the requirements that 
providers supply all monetary support needed by the LHRCs, 
attend LHRC meetings and get LHRC approval for any 
treatment plans that include physical restraint of clients. 
Board staff reports that, while all LHRCs receive support 
from their provider assignees, only about half of LHRCs 
(about 40) actually have an explicit dollar cost attached that 
providers had to pay. These costs range between $25 and 
$450 annually. Board staff reports that LHRCs currently 
handle many administrative and operational tasks that the 
Board believes could better be handled by DBHDS which 
would leave LHRCs more time to expand their oversight of 
more client treatment plans and to provide more client 
support during the complaint process.  
Accordingly, the Board proposes to reorganize and amend 
these regulations so that DBHDS is responsible for 
administrative and training tasks currently provided through 
provider funding. Board staff reports that the Board 
anticipates reducing the number of LHRCs from the current 
80 to fewer than 10. Under this proposed regulation, LHRCs 
will be responsible for approving treatment plans where 
human rights as defined by this regulation may be impacted 
in addition to approving any treatment plans that include 
plans for physical restraint. Providers that currently pay an 
explicit amount per year to support their affiliate LHRCs will 
see savings of between $25 and $450 per year. Providers that 
do not currently pay explicit dollar amounts but instead 
volunteer staff to provide administrative help and pay for 
other support like gas cards for LHRC members on an ad hoc 
basis will save the value of their staff's paid time spent on 
LHRC administration plus the costs of any other ad hoc 
support currently provided. These cost savings may be 
partially or completely offset by increased travel costs for 
providers to attend meetings with a drastically reduced 
number of LHRCs that presumably would be housed farther 
from at least some assigned providers. Provider savings may 
also be offset by increased travel and staff costs associated 
with gaining approval for treatment plans that may impact 
clients human rights to freedom of movement, freedom to 
communicate, associate and meet privately with anyone the 
client chooses, freedom to have and spend personal money or 
any of the other human rights listed in 12VAC35-115-100. 
Businesses and Entities Affected. This proposed regulation 
will affect all service providers licensed or operated by the 
Board as well as the clients they serve. Board staff estimates 
that approximately 900 providers will be affected and that all 
of these providers would qualify as small businesses. 
Additionally, Board staff reports that there are approximately 
55 public facilities that will be affected. 
Localities Particularly Affected. No localities will be 
particularly affected by this proposed regulatory change. 
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Projected Impact on Employment. This regulatory action will 
likely have little impact on employment in the 
Commonwealth. 
Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 
regulatory action will likely have no impact on the use or 
value of private property. 
Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Small business 
service providers may see some cost savings as they will no 
longer be responsible for fully funding the operations of the 
LHRCs to which they are assigned. However, any savings 
may be partially or completely offset by increased time and 
travel costs incurred if they have to travel greater distances to 
attend LHRC meetings that would likely be farther away once 
the number of LHRCs is drastically cut. 
Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. There are likely no alternative methods that 
would both satisfy the Board's aims and further reduce travel 
and time costs that either service providers or members of 
LHRCs will likely have to incur. 
Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 
likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 
Commonwealth. 
Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
agency concurs with the economic impact analysis prepared 
by the Department of Planning and Budget. 
Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) increase the availability and 
flexibility of human rights advocates for direct involvement 
with individuals receiving services and other critical 
functions by clarifying the administrative responsibilities 
of the department with regards to the operation of the 
human rights system and clarifying the roles of the human 
rights advocate, the local human rights committee (LHRC), 
and the State Human Rights Committee (SHRC); (ii) 
modify the regulatory responsibilities of LHRCs, which 
will no longer handle administrative tasks but will have 
more authority to oversee treatment plans that contain 
restrictions on human rights; (iii) simplify the 
administrative processes regarding the dispute resolution 
process, the behavior treatment plan review, and substitute 
decision-making and eliminate redundant or duplicative 
activities; (iv) consolidate complaint processes into one 
section of the regulation; (v) prohibit the use of prone 
restraints; and (vi) update and simplify language. 

Part I  
General Provisions  

12VAC35-115-10. Authority and applicability.  
A. The Code of Virginia authorizes these regulations to 

further define and protect the rights of individuals receiving 
services from providers of mental health, mental retardation 
developmental, or substance abuse services in Virginia. The 
regulations require This chapter requires providers of services 
to take specific actions to protect the rights of each individual. 

The regulations establish This chapter establishes remedies 
when rights are violated or are in dispute, and provide 
provides a structure for support of these rights. 

B. Providers subject to these regulations this chapter 
include: 

1. Facilities operated by the department under Chapters 3 
(§ 37.2-300 et seq.) and 7 (§ 37.2-700 et seq.) of Title 37.2 
of the Code of Virginia; 
2. Sexually violent predator programs established under 
§ 37.2-909 of the Code of Virginia; 
3. Community services boards that provide services under 
Chapter 5 (§ 37.2-500 et seq.) of Title 37.2 of the Code of 
Virginia; 
4. Behavioral health authorities that provide services under 
Chapter 6 (§ 37.2-600 et seq.) of Title 37.2 of the Code of 
Virginia; 
5. Public or private providers that operate programs or 
facilities licensed by the department under Article 2 
(§ 37.2-403 et seq.) of Chapter 4 of Title 37.2 of the Code 
of Virginia except those operated by the Department of 
Corrections; and 
6. Any other providers receiving funding from the 
department. Providers of services under Part C of the 
Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA), 
20 USC §§ 1431-1444, that are subject to these regulations 
this chapter solely by receipt of Part C funds from or 
through the department shall comply with all applicable 
IDEA regulations found in 34 CFR Part 303 in lieu of 
these regulations this chapter.  

C. Unless another law takes precedence otherwise provided 
by law, these regulations apply this chapter applies to all 
individuals who are receiving services from a public or 
private provider of services operated, licensed, or funded by 
the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 
Services, except those operated by the Department of 
Corrections. 

D. These regulations apply This chapter applies to 
individuals under forensic status and individuals committed 
to the custody of the department as sexually violent predators, 
except to the extent that the commissioner may determine 
these regulations are this chapter is not applicable to them. 
The exemption must shall be in writing and based solely on 
the need to protect individuals receiving services, employees, 
or the general public. The commissioner shall give the State 
Human Rights Committee (SHRC) chairperson prior notice 
of all exemptions and provide the written exemption to the 
SHRC for its information. These exemptions shall be time 
limited and services shall not be compromised. 
12VAC35-115-30. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 
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"Abuse" means any act or failure to act by an employee or 
other person responsible for the care of an individual in a 
facility or program operated, licensed, or funded by the 
department, excluding those operated by the Department of 
Corrections, that was performed or was failed to be 
performed knowingly, recklessly, or intentionally, and that 
caused or might have caused physical or psychological harm, 
injury, or death to a person receiving care or treatment for 
mental illness, mental retardation intellectual disability, or 
substance abuse. Examples of abuse include acts such as: 

1. Rape, sexual assault, or other criminal sexual behavior; 
2. Assault or battery; 
3. Use of language that demeans, threatens, intimidates, or 
humiliates the person; 
4. Misuse or misappropriation of the person's assets, goods, 
or property; 
5. Use of excessive force when placing a person in 
physical or mechanical restraint; 
6. Use of physical or mechanical restraints on a person that 
is not in compliance with federal and state laws, 
regulations, and policies,; professionally accepted 
standards of practice,; or the person's individualized 
services plan; and 
7. Use of more restrictive or intensive services or denial of 
services to punish the person or that is not consistent with 
his individualized services plan. See § 37.2-100 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

"Advance directive" means a document voluntarily executed 
in accordance with § 54.1-2983 of the Code of Virginia or the 
laws of another state where executed (§ 54.1-2993 of the 
Code of Virginia). This may include a wellness recovery 
action plan (WRAP) or similar document as long as it is 
executed in accordance with § 54.1-2983 of the Code of 
Virginia or the laws of another state. A WRAP or similar 
document may identify the health care agent who is 
authorized to act as the individual's substitute decision maker. 

"Authorization" means a document signed by the individual 
receiving services or that individual's authorized 
representative that authorizes the provider to disclose 
identifying information about the individual. An authorization 
must shall be voluntary. To be voluntary, the authorization 
must shall be given by the individual receiving services or his 
authorized representative freely and without undue 
inducement,; any element of force, fraud, deceit, or duress,; 
or any form of constraint or coercion. 

"Authorized representative" means a person permitted by 
law or these regulations this chapter to authorize the 
disclosure of information or to consent to treatment and 
services or participation in human research. The decision-
making authority of an authorized representative recognized 
or designated under these regulations this chapter is limited to 
decisions pertaining to the designating provider. Legal 
guardians, attorneys-in-fact, or health care agents appointed 

pursuant to § 54.1-2983 of the Code of Virginia may have 
decision-making authority beyond such provider. 

"Behavior intervention" means those principles and methods 
employed by a provider to help an individual to achieve a 
positive outcome and to address challenging behavior in a 
constructive and safe manner. Behavior management 
principles and methods must be employed in accordance with 
the individualized services plan and written policies and 
procedures governing service expectations, treatment goals, 
safety, and security. 

"Behavioral treatment plan," "functional plan," or 
"behavioral support plan" means any set of documented 
procedures that are an integral part of the individualized 
services plan and are developed on the basis of a systematic 
data collection, such as a functional assessment, for the 
purpose of assisting an individual to achieve the following: 

1. Improved behavioral functioning and effectiveness; 
2. Alleviation of symptoms of psychopathology; or 
3. Reduction of challenging behaviors. 

"Board" means the Board of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services. 

"Caregiver" means an employee or contractor who provides 
care and support services; medical services; or other 
treatment, rehabilitation, or habilitation services. 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the 
Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 
Services. 

"Community services board" or "CSB" means the public 
body established pursuant to § 37.2-501 of the Code of 
Virginia that provides mental health, mental retardation 
developmental, and substance abuse services to individuals 
within each city and county that established it. For the 
purpose of these regulations, community services board also 
includes a behavioral health authority established pursuant to 
§ 37.2-602 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Complaint" means an allegation of a violation of these 
regulations this chapter or a provider's policies and 
procedures related to these regulations this chapter.  

"Consent" means the voluntary agreement of an individual 
or that individual's authorized representative to specific 
services.  

Consent must shall be given freely and without undue 
inducement,; any element of force, fraud, deceit, or duress,; 
or any form of constraint or coercion. Consent may be 
expressed through any means appropriate for the individual, 
including verbally, through physical gestures or behaviors, in 
Braille or American Sign Language, in writing, or through 
other methods. 

"Department" means the Department of Behavioral Health 
and Developmental Services. 

"Director" means the chief executive officer of any provider 
delivering services. In organizations that also include services 
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not covered by these regulations this chapter, the director is 
the chief executive officer of the services or services licensed, 
funded, or operated by the department.  

"Discharge plan" means the written plan that establishes the 
criteria for an individual's discharge from a service and 
identifies and coordinates delivery of any services needed 
after discharge. 

"Disclosure" means the release by a provider of information 
identifying an individual. 

"Emergency" means a situation that requires a person to take 
immediate action to avoid harm, injury, or death to an 
individual or to others. 

"Exploitation" means the misuse or misappropriation of the 
individual's assets, goods, or property. Exploitation is a type 
of abuse. (See § 37.2-100 of the Code of Virginia.) 
Exploitation also includes the use of a position of authority to 
extract personal gain from an individual. Exploitation 
includes violations of 12VAC35-115-120 (Work) and 
12VAC35-115-130 (Research). Exploitation does not include 
the billing of an individual's third party payer for services. 
Exploitation also does not include instances of use or 
appropriation of an individual's assets, goods or property 
when permission is given by the individual or his authorized 
representative: 

1. With full knowledge of the consequences; 
2. With no inducements; and 
3. Without force, misrepresentation, fraud, deceit, duress of 
any form, constraint, or coercion. 

"Governing body of the provider" means the person or group 
of persons with final authority to establish policy. For the 
purpose of these regulations, the governing body of a CSB 
means the public body established according to Chapter 5 
(§ 37.2-500 et seq.) or Chapter 6 (§ 37.2-600 et seq.) of Title 
37.2 of the Code of Virginia, and shall include administrative 
policy community services boards, operating community 
services boards, local government departments with policy-
advisory boards, and the board of a behavioral health 
authority.  

"Habilitation" means the provision of individualized 
services conforming to current acceptable professional 
practice that enhance the strengths of, teach functional skills 
to, or reduce or eliminate challenging behaviors of an 
individual. These services occur in an environment that suits 
the individual's needs, responds to his preferences, and 
promotes social interaction and adaptive behaviors.  

"Health care operations" means any activities of the provider 
to the extent that the activities are related to its provision of 
health care services. Examples include: 

1. Conducting quality assessment and improvement 
activities, case management and care coordination, 
contacting of health care providers and patients with 
information about treatment alternatives, and related 
functions that do not include treatment; 

2. Reviewing the competence or qualifications of health 
care professionals, evaluating practitioner and provider 
performance, and training, licensing or credentialing 
activities; 
3. Conducting or arranging for medical review, legal 
services, and auditing functions, including fraud and abuse 
detection and compliance programs; and 
4. Other activities contained within the definition of health 
care operations in the Standards for Privacy of Individually 
Identifiable Health Information, 45 CFR 164.501. 

"Health plan" means an individual or group plan that 
provides or pays the cost of medical care, including any entity 
that meets the definition of "health plan" in the Standards for 
Privacy of Individually Identifiable Health Information, 45 
CFR 160.103. 

"Historical research" means the review of information that 
identifies individuals receiving services for the purpose of 
evaluating or otherwise collecting data of general historical 
significance. See 12VAC35-115-80 B (Confidentiality). 

"Human research" means any systematic investigation, 
including research development, testing, and evaluation, 
utilizing human subjects, that is designed to develop or 
contribute to generalized knowledge. Human research shall 
not include research exempt from federal research regulations 
pursuant to 45 CFR 46.101(b). 

"Human rights advocate" means a person employed by the 
commissioner upon recommendation of the State Human 
Rights Director to help individuals receiving services exercise 
their rights under this chapter. See 12VAC35-115-250 C. 

"Independent review committee" means a committee 
appointed or accessed by a provider to review and approve 
the clinical efficacy of the provider's behavioral treatment 
plans and associated data collection procedures. An 
independent review committee shall be composed of 
professionals with training and experience in applied 
behavioral analysis who are not involved in the development 
of the plan or directly providing services to the individual. 

"Individual" means a person who is receiving services. This 
term includes the terms "consumer," "patient," "resident," 
"recipient," and "client." 

"Individualized services plan" or "ISP" means a 
comprehensive and regularly updated written plan that 
describes the individual's needs, the measurable goals and 
objectives to address those needs, and strategies to reach the 
individual's goals. An ISP is person-centered, empowers the 
individual, and is designed to meet the needs and preferences 
of the individual. The ISP is developed through a partnership 
between the individual and the provider and includes an 
individual's treatment plan, habilitation plan, person-centered 
plan, or plan of care.  

"Informed consent" means the voluntary written agreement 
of an individual, or that individual's authorized representative 
to surgery, electroconvulsive treatment, use of psychotropic 
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medications, or any other treatment or service that poses a 
risk of harm greater than that ordinarily encountered in daily 
life or for participation in human research. To be voluntary, 
informed consent must be given freely and without undue 
inducement,; any element of force, fraud, deceit, or duress,; 
or any form of constraint or coercion. 

"Inspector general" means a person appointed by the 
Governor to provide oversight by inspecting, monitoring, and 
reviewing the quality of services that providers deliver. 

"Investigating authority" means any person or entity that is 
approved by the provider to conduct investigations of abuse 
and neglect. 

"Licensed professional" means a physician, licensed clinical 
psychologist, licensed professional counselor, licensed 
clinical social worker, licensed or certified substance abuse 
treatment practitioner, or certified psychiatric nurse specialist 
practitioner. 

"Local Human Rights Committee human rights committee" 
or "LHRC" means a group of at least five people appointed 
by the State Human Rights Committee. See 12VAC35-115-
250 D for membership and duties. 

"Neglect" means failure by a person, program, or facility 
operated, licensed, or funded by the department, excluding 
those operated by the Department of Corrections, responsible 
for providing services to do so, including nourishment, 
treatment, care, goods, or services necessary to the health, 
safety, or welfare of a person an individual receiving care or 
treatment for mental illness, mental retardation intellectual 
disability, or substance abuse. See § 37.2-100 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

"Next friend" means a person designated in accordance with 
12VAC35-115-146 B to serve as the authorized 
representative of an individual who has been determined to 
lack capacity to consent or authorize the disclosure of 
identifying information, when required under these 
regulations this chapter. 

"Peer-on-peer aggression" means a physical act, verbal 
threat, or demeaning expression by an individual against or to 
another individual that causes physical or emotional harm to 
that individual. Examples include hitting, kicking, scratching, 
and other threatening behavior. Such instances may constitute 
potential neglect. 

"Person centered" means focusing on the needs and 
preferences of the individual, empowering and supporting the 
individual in defining the direction for his life, and promoting 
self-determination, community involvement, and recovery.  

"Program rules" means the operational rules and 
expectations that providers establish to promote the general 
safety and well-being of all individuals in the program and to 
set standards for how individuals will interact with one 
another in the program. Program rules include any 
expectation that produces a consequence for the individual 

within the program. Program rules may be included in a 
handbook or policies and shall be available to the individual. 

"Protection and advocacy agency" means the state agency 
designated under the federal Protection and Advocacy for 
Individuals with Mental Illness Act (PAIMI) Act and the 
Developmental Disabilities Assistance and Bill of Rights Act 
(DD) Act. The protection and advocacy agency is the 
Virginia Office for Protection and Advocacy disAbility Law 
Center of Virginia (dLCV). 

"Provider" means any person, entity, or organization 
offering services that is licensed, funded, or operated by the 
department. 

"Psychotherapy notes" means comments, recorded in any 
medium by a health care provider who is a mental health 
professional, documenting and analyzing the contents of 
conversation during a private counseling session with an 
individual or a group, joint, or family counseling session that 
are separated from the rest of the individual's health record. 
"Psychotherapy notes" shall not include annotations relating 
to medication and prescription monitoring, counseling session 
start and stop times, treatment modalities and frequencies, 
clinical test results, or any summary of any symptoms, 
diagnosis, prognosis, functional status, treatment plan, or the 
individual's progress to date. 

"Research review committee" or "institutional review board" 
means a committee of professionals that provides complete 
and adequate review of research activities. The committee 
shall be sufficiently qualified through maturity, experience, 
and diversity of its members, including consideration of race, 
gender, and cultural background, to promote respect for its 
advice and counsel in safeguarding the rights and welfare of 
participants in human research. (See § 37.2-402 of the Code 
of Virginia and 12VAC35-180.) 

"Restraint" means the use of a mechanical device, 
medication, physical intervention, or hands-on hold to 
prevent an individual from moving his body to engage in a 
behavior that places him or others at imminent risk. There are 
three kinds of restraints: 

1. Mechanical restraint means the use of a mechanical 
device that cannot be removed by the individual to restrict 
the freedom of movement or functioning of a limb or a 
portion of an individual's body when that behavior places 
him or others at imminent risk. 
2. Pharmacological restraint means the use of a medication 
that is administered involuntarily for the emergency 
control of an individual's behavior when that individual's 
behavior places him or others at imminent risk and the 
administered medication is not a standard treatment for the 
individual's medical or psychiatric condition. 
3. Physical restraint, also referred to as manual hold, means 
the use of a physical intervention or hands-on hold to 
prevent an individual from moving his body when that 
individual's behavior places him or others at imminent risk. 
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"Restraints for behavioral purposes" means using a physical 
hold, medication, or a mechanical device to control behavior 
or involuntarily restrict the freedom of movement of an 
individual in an instance when all of the following conditions 
are met: (i) there is an emergency, (ii) nonphysical 
interventions are not viable, and (iii) safety issues require an 
immediate response. 

"Restraints for medical purposes" means using a physical 
hold, medication, or mechanical device to limit the mobility 
of an individual for medical, diagnostic, or surgical purposes, 
such as routine dental care or radiological procedures and 
related postprocedure care processes, when use of the 
restraint is not the accepted clinical practice for treating the 
individual's condition. 

"Restraints for protective purposes" means using a 
mechanical device to compensate for a physical or cognitive 
deficit when the individual does not have the option to 
remove the device. The device may limit an individual's 
movement, for example, bed rails or a gerichair, and prevent 
possible harm to the individual or it may create a passive 
barrier, such as a helmet to protect the individual.  

"Restriction" means anything that limits or prevents an 
individual from freely exercising his rights and privileges. 

"SCC" means a specially constituted committee serving an 
intermediate care facility as described in the Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) Conditions of 
Participation (42 CFR 483.440(f)(3)). 

"Seclusion" means the involuntary placement of an 
individual alone in an area secured by a door that is locked or 
held shut by a staff person, by physically blocking the door, 
or by any other physical or verbal means, so that the 
individual cannot leave it. 

"Serious injury" means any injury resulting in bodily hurt, 
damage, harm, or loss that requires medical attention by a 
licensed physician. 

"Services" means care, treatment, training, habilitation, 
interventions, or other supports, including medical care, 
delivered by a provider licensed, operated or funded by the 
department. 

"Services record" means all written and electronic 
information that a provider keeps about an individual who 
receives services. 

"State Human Rights Committee" or "SHRC" means a 
committee of nine members appointed by the board that is 
accountable for the duties prescribed in 12VAC35-115-250 E 
12VAC35-115-270. See 12VAC35-115-250 E 12VAC35-
115-270 C 8 for membership and duties. 

"State Human Rights Director human rights director" means 
the person employed by and reporting to the commissioner 
who is responsible for carrying out the functions prescribed in 
12VAC35-115-250 F 12VAC35-115-260 D . 

"Time out" means the involuntary removal of an individual 
by a staff person from a source of reinforcement to a 

different, open location for a specified period of time or until 
the problem behavior has subsided to discontinue or reduce 
the frequency of problematic behavior. 

"Treatment" means the individually planned, sound, and 
therapeutic interventions that are intended to improve or 
maintain functioning of an individual receiving services 
delivered by providers licensed, funded, or operated by the 
department. In order to be considered sound and therapeutic, 
the treatment must shall conform to current acceptable 
professional practice. 

Part III  
Explanation of Individual Rights and Provider Duties  

12VAC35-115-50. Dignity.  
A. Each individual has a right to exercise his legal, civil, and 

human rights, including constitutional rights, statutory rights, 
and the rights contained in these regulations this chapter, 
except as specifically limited herein in this chapter or 
otherwise by law. Each individual has a right to have services 
that he receives respond to his needs and preferences and be 
person-centered. Each individual also has the right to be 
protected, respected, and supported in exercising these rights. 
Providers shall not partially or totally take away or limit these 
rights solely because an individual has a mental illness, 
mental retardation, health or substance use disorder or an 
intellectual disability and is receiving services for these 
conditions or has any physical or sensory condition that may 
pose a barrier to communication or mobility. 

B. In receiving all services, each individual has the right to: 
1. Use his preferred or legal name. The use of an 
individual's preferred name may be limited when a 
licensed professional makes the determination that the use 
of the name will result in demonstrable harm or have 
significant negative impact on the program itself or the 
individual's treatment, progress, and recovery. The director 
or his designee shall discuss the issue with the individual 
and inform the human rights advocate of the reasons for 
any restriction prior to implementation and the reasons for 
the restriction shall be documented in the individual's 
services record. The need for the restriction shall be 
reviewed by the team every month and documented in the 
services record. 
2. Be protected from harm including abuse, neglect, and 
exploitation. 
3. Have help in learning about, applying for, and fully 
using any public service or benefit to which he may be 
entitled. These services and benefits include educational or 
vocational services, housing assistance, services or benefits 
under Titles II, XVI, XVIII, and XIX of the Social Security 
Act, United States Veterans Benefits, and services from 
legal and advocacy agencies. 
4. Have opportunities to communicate in private with 
lawyers, judges, legislators, clergy, licensed health care 
practitioners, authorized representatives, advocates, the 
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Office of the State Inspector General (§ 2.2-308 of the 
Code of Virginia), and employees of the protection and 
advocacy agency. 
5. Be provided with general information about program 
services, policies, and rules in writing and in the manner, 
format and language easily understood by the individual. 
6. Be afforded the opportunity to have an individual of his 
choice notified of his general condition, location, and 
transfer to another facility. 

C. In services provided in residential and inpatient settings, 
each individual has the right to: 

1. Have sufficient and suitable clothing for his exclusive 
use. 
2. Receive nutritionally adequate, varied, and appetizing 
meals that are prepared and served under sanitary 
conditions, are served at appropriate times and 
temperatures, and are consistent with any individualized 
diet program. 
3. Live in a humane, safe, sanitary environment that gives 
each individual, at a minimum: 

a. Reasonable privacy and private storage space; 
b. An adequate number of private, operating toilets, 
sinks, showers, and tubs that are designed to 
accommodate individuals' physical needs; 
c. Direct outside air provided by a window that opens or 
by an air conditioner; 
d. Windows or skylights in all major areas used by 
individuals; 
e. Clean air, free of bad odors; and 
f. Room temperatures that are comfortable year round 
and compatible with health requirements. 

4. Practice a religion and participate in religious services 
subject to their availability, provided that such services are 
not dangerous to the individual or others and do not 
infringe on the freedom of others. 

a. Religious services or practices that present a danger of 
bodily injury to any individual or interfere with another 
individual's religious beliefs or practices may be limited. 
The director or his designee shall discuss the issue with 
the individual and inform the human rights advocate of 
the reasons for any restriction prior to implementation. 
The reasons for the restriction shall be documented in the 
individual's services record.  
b. Participation in religious services or practices may be 
reasonably limited by the provider in accordance with 
other general rules limiting privileges or times or places 
of activities. 

5. Have paper, pencil and stamps provided free of charge 
for at least one letter every day upon request. However, if 
an individual has funds to buy paper, pencils, and stamps 

to send a letter every day, the provider does not have to 
pay for them. 
6. Communicate privately with any person by mail and 
have help in writing or reading mail as needed. 

a. An individual's access to mail may be limited only if 
the provider has reasonable cause to believe that the mail 
contains illegal material or anything dangerous. If so, the 
director or his designee may open the mail, but not read 
it, in the presence of the individual. 
b. An individual's ability to communicate by mail may be 
limited if, in the judgment of a licensed professional, the 
individual's communication with another person or 
persons will result in demonstrable harm to the 
individual's mental health. 
c. The director or his designee shall discuss the issue 
with the individual and inform the human rights advocate 
of the reasons for any restriction prior to implementation 
and the reasons for the restriction shall be documented in 
the individual's services record. The need for the 
restriction shall be reviewed by the team every month 
and documented in the services record. 

7. Communicate privately with any person by telephone 
and have help in doing so. Use of the telephone may be 
limited to certain times and places to make sure that other 
individuals have equal access to the telephone and that 
they can eat, sleep, or participate in an activity without 
being disturbed. 

a. An individual's access to the telephone may be limited 
only if, in the judgment of a licensed professional, 
communication with another person or persons will result 
in demonstrable harm to the individual or significantly 
affect his treatment. 
b. The director or his designee shall discuss the issue 
with the individual and inform the human rights advocate 
of the reasons for any restriction prior to implementation 
and the reasons for the restriction shall be documented in 
the individual's services record. The need for the 
restriction shall be reviewed by the team every month 
and documented in the individual's services record. 
c. Residential substance abuse services providers that are 
not inpatient hospital settings or crisis stabilization 
programs may develop policies and procedures that limit 
the use of the telephone during the initial phase of 
treatment when sound therapeutic practice requires 
restriction, subject to the following conditions: 
(1) Prior to implementation and when it proposes any 
changes or revisions, the provider shall submit policies 
and procedures, program handbooks, or program rules to 
the LHRC and the human rights advocate for review and 
approval. 
(2) When an individual applies for admission, the 
provider shall notify him of these restrictions. 

8. Have or refuse visitors. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-308
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a. An individual's access to visitors may be limited or 
supervised only when, in the judgment of a licensed 
professional, the visits result in demonstrable harm to the 
individual or significantly affect the individual's 
treatment or when the visitors are suspected of bringing 
contraband or threatening harm to the individual in any 
other way. 
b. The director or his designee shall discuss the issue 
with the individual and inform the human rights advocate 
of the reasons for any restriction prior to implementation 
and the restriction shall be documented in the individual's 
services record. The need for the restriction shall be 
reviewed by the team every month and documented in 
the individual's services record. 
c. Residential substance abuse service providers that are 
not inpatient hospital settings or crisis stabilization 
programs may develop policies and procedures that limit 
visitors during the initial phase of treatment when sound 
therapeutic practice requires the restriction, subject to the 
following conditions: 
(1) Prior to implementation and when proposing any 
changes or revisions, the provider shall submit policies 
and procedures, program handbooks, or program rules to 
the LHRC and the human rights advocate for review and 
approval. 
(2) The provider shall notify individuals who apply for 
admission of these restrictions. 

9. Nothing in these provisions shall prohibit a provider 
from stopping, reporting, or intervening to prevent any 
criminal act. 

D. The provider's duties. 
1. Providers shall recognize, respect, support, and protect 
the dignity rights of each individual at all times. In the case 
of a minor, providers shall take into consideration the 
expressed preferences of the minor and the parent or 
guardian. 
2. Providers shall develop, carry out, and regularly monitor 
policies and procedures that assure the protection of each 
individual's rights. 
3. Providers shall assure the following relative to abuse, 
neglect, and exploitation: 

a. Policies and procedures governing harm, abuse, 
neglect, and exploitation of individuals receiving their 
services shall require that, as a condition of employment 
or volunteering, any employee, volunteer, consultant, or 
student who knows of or has reason to believe that an 
individual may have been abused, neglected, or exploited 
at any location covered by these regulations, this chapter 
shall immediately report this information directly to the 
director. 
b. The director shall immediately take necessary steps to 
protect the individual until an investigation is complete. 
This may include the following actions: 

(1) Direct the employee or employees involved to have 
no further contact with the individual. In the case of 
incidents of peer-on-peer aggression, protect the 
individuals from the aggressor in accordance with sound 
therapeutic practice and these regulations this chapter. 
(2) Temporarily reassign or transfer the employee or 
employees involved to a position that has no direct 
contact with individuals receiving services. 
(3) Temporarily suspend the involved employee or 
employees pending completion of an investigation. 
c. The director shall immediately notify the human rights 
advocate and the individual's authorized representative. 
In no case shall notification be later than 24 hours after 
the receipt of the initial allegation of abuse, neglect, or 
exploitation. 
d. In no case shall the director punish or retaliate against 
an employee, volunteer, consultant, or student for 
reporting an allegation of abuse, neglect, or exploitation 
to an outside entity. 
e. The director shall initiate an impartial investigation 
within 24 hours of receiving a report of potential abuse or 
neglect. The investigation shall be conducted by a person 
trained to do investigations and who is not involved in 
the issues under investigation. 
(1) The investigator shall make a final report to the 
director or the investigating authority and to the human 
rights advocate within 10 working days of appointment. 
Exceptions to this time frame may be requested and 
approved by the department if submitted prior to the 
close of the sixth day. 
(2) The director or investigating authority shall, based on 
the investigator's report and any other available 
information, decide whether the abuse, neglect or 
exploitation occurred. Unless otherwise provided by law, 
the standard for deciding whether abuse, neglect, or 
exploitation has occurred is preponderance of the 
evidence. 
(3) If abuse, neglect or exploitation occurred, the director 
shall take any action required to protect the individual 
and other individuals. All actions must be documented 
and reported as required by 12VAC35-115-230. 
(4) In all cases, the director shall provide his written 
decision, including actions taken as a result of the 
investigation, within seven working days following the 
completion of the investigation to the individual or the 
individual's authorized representative, the human rights 
advocate, the investigating authority, and the involved 
employee or employees. The decision shall be in writing 
and in the manner, format, and language that is most 
easily understood by the individual.  
(5) If the individual affected by the alleged abuse, 
neglect, or exploitation or his authorized representative is 
not satisfied with the director's actions, he or his 
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authorized representative, or anyone acting on his behalf, 
may file a petition for an LHRC hearing under 
12VAC35-115-180. 
f. The director shall cooperate with any external 
investigation, including those conducted by the Office of 
the State Inspector General (§ 2.2-308 of the Code of 
Virginia), the protection and advocacy agency, or other 
regulatory or enforcement agencies. 
g. If at any time the director has reason to suspect that an 
individual may have been abused or neglected, the 
director shall immediately report this information to the 
appropriate local Department of Social Services (see §§ 
63.2-1509 and 63.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia) and 
cooperate fully with any investigation that results. 
h. If at any time the director has reason to suspect that the 
abusive, neglectful or exploitive act is a crime, the 
director or his designee shall immediately contact the 
appropriate law-enforcement authorities and cooperate 
fully with any investigation that results. 

4. Providers shall afford the individual the opportunity to 
have an individual of his choice notified of his general 
condition, location, and transfer to another facility. 

12VAC35-115-60. Services.  
A. Each individual receiving services shall receive those 

services according to law and sound therapeutic practice. 
B. The provider's duties. 

1. Providers shall develop, carry out, and regularly monitor 
policies and procedures prohibiting discrimination in the 
provision of services. Providers shall comply with all state 
and federal laws, including any applicable provisions of 
the Americans with Disabilities Act (42 USC § 12101 et 
seq.), that prohibit discrimination on the basis of race, 
color, religion, ethnicity, age, sex, disability, or ability to 
pay. These policies and procedures shall require, at a 
minimum, the following: 

a. An individual or anyone acting on his behalf may 
complain to the director if he believes that his services 
have been limited or denied due to discrimination. 
b. If an individual complains of discrimination, the 
director shall assure that an appropriate investigation is 
conducted immediately. The director shall make a 
decision, take action, and document the action within 10 
working days of receipt of the complaint. 
c. A written copy of the decision and the director's action 
shall be forwarded to the individual and his authorized 
representative, the human rights advocate, and any 
employee or employees involved. 
d. If the individual or his authorized representative is not 
satisfied with the director's decision or action, he may 
file a petition for an LHRC hearing under 12VAC35-
115-180. 

2. Providers shall ensure that all services, including 
medical services and treatment, are at all times delivered in 
accordance with sound therapeutic practice. Providers may 
deny or limit an individual's access to services if sound 
therapeutic practice requires limiting the service to 
individuals of the same sex or similar age, disability, or 
legal status. 
3. Providers shall develop and implement policies and 
procedures that address emergencies. These policies and 
procedures shall: 

a. Identify what caregivers may do to respond to an 
emergency; 
b. Identify qualified clinical staff who are accountable for 
assessing emergency conditions and determining the 
appropriate intervention; 
c. Require that the director immediately notify the 
individual's authorized representative and the advocate if 
an emergency results in harm or injury to any individual; 
and 
d. Require documentation in the individual's services 
record of all facts and circumstances surrounding the 
emergency. 

4. Providers shall assign a specific person or group of 
persons to carry out each of the following activities: 

a. Medical, mental health, and behavioral screenings and 
assessments, as applicable, upon admission and during 
the provision of services; 
b. Preparation, implementation, and appropriate changes 
modifications to an individual's services plan ISP based 
on the ongoing review of the medical, mental, and 
behavioral needs of the individual;  
c. Preparation and implementation of an individual's 
discharge plan; and 
d. Review of every use of seclusion or restraint by a 
qualified professional who is involved in providing 
services to the individual. 

5. Providers shall not deliver any service to an individual 
without a services plan an ISP that is tailored specifically 
to the needs and expressed preferences of the individual 
and, in the case of a minor, the minor and the minor's 
parent or guardian or other person authorized to consent to 
treatment pursuant to § 54.1-2969 A of the Code of 
Virginia. Services provided in response to emergencies or 
crises shall be deemed part of the services plan ISP and 
thereafter documented in the individual's services plan ISP. 
6. Providers shall write the services plan ISP and discharge 
plan in clear, understandable language. 
7. When preparing or changing an individual's services ISP 
or discharge plan, providers shall ensure that all services 
received by the individual are integrated. With the 
individual's or the individual's authorized representative's 
authorization, providers may involve family members in 
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services and discharge planning. When the individual or 
his authorized representative requests such involvement, 
the provider shall take all reasonable steps to do so. In the 
case of services to minors, the parent or guardian or other 
person authorized to consent to treatment pursuant to 
§ 54.1-2969 A of the Code of Virginia shall be involved in 
service and discharge planning. 
8. Providers shall ensure that the entries in an individual's 
services record are at all times authentic, accurate, 
complete, timely, and pertinent. 

12VAC35-115-90. Access to and amendment of services 
records.  

A. With respect to his own services record, each individual 
and his authorized representative has the right to: 

1. See, read, and get a copy of his own services record, 
except information that is privileged pursuant to § 8.01-
581.17 of the Code of Virginia, and information compiled 
by the provider in reasonable anticipation of or for use in a 
civil, criminal, or administrative action or proceeding; 
2. Let certain other people see, read, or get a copy of his 
own services record if the individual is restricted by law 
from seeing, reading, or receiving a copy; 
3. Challenge, request to amend, or receive an explanation 
of anything in his services record; and  
4. Let anyone who sees his record, regardless of whether 
amendments to the record have been made, know that the 
individual has tried to amend the record or explain his 
position and what happened as a result. 

B. Except in the following circumstances, With respect to 
the services records of minors must have their parent's or 
guardian's permission before they can access their services 
record: 

1. A minor must have the permission of a parent, guardian, 
or other person standing in loco parentis before he can 
access his services record. He may access his services 
record without the this permission of a parent only if the 
records pertain to treatment for sexually transmitted or 
reportable contagious diseases, family planning or 
pregnancy, outpatient care, treatment or rehabilitation for 
substance use disorders, mental illness or emotional 
disturbance, or inpatient psychiatric hospitalization when a 
minor is 14 years of age or older and has consented to the 
admission. 
2. A parent may access his minor child's services record 
unless prohibited by 42 CFR Part 2, parental rights have 
been terminated, a court order provides otherwise, or the 
minor's treating physician or clinical psychologist has 
determined, in the exercise of professional judgment, that 
the disclosure to the parent would be reasonably likely to 
cause substantial harm to the minor or another person. 

C. The provider's duties. 

1. Providers shall tell each individual and his authorized 
representative how he can access and request amendment 
of his own services record. 
2. Providers shall permit each individual to see his services 
record when he requests it and to request amendments if 
necessary. 

a. Access to all or a part of an individual's services record 
may be denied or limited only if a physician or a clinical 
psychologist involved in providing services to the 
individual talks to the individual, examines the services 
record as a result of the individual's request for access, 
and signs and puts in the services record permanently a 
written statement that he thinks access to the services 
record by the individual at this time would be reasonably 
likely to endanger the life or physical safety of the 
individual or another person or that the services record 
makes reference to a person other than a health care 
provider and the access requested would be reasonably 
likely to cause substantial harm to the referenced person. 
The physician or clinical psychologist must shall also tell 
the individual as much about his services record as he 
can without risking harm to the individual. 
b. If access is denied in whole or in part, the provider 
shall give the individual or his authorized representative 
a written statement that explains the basis for the denial, 
the individual's review rights, as set forth in the 
following subdivisions, how he may exercise them, and 
how the individual may file a complaint with the 
provider or the United States U.S. Department of Health 
and Human Services, if applicable. If restrictions or time 
limits are placed on access, the individual shall be 
notified of the restrictions and time limits and conditions 
for their removal. These time limits and conditions also 
shall be specified in the services record. 
(1) If the individual requests a review of denial of access, 
the provider shall designate a physician or clinical 
psychologist who was not directly involved in the denial 
to review the decision to deny access. The physician or 
clinical psychologist must shall determine within a 
reasonable period of time whether or not to deny the 
access requested in accordance with the standard in 
subdivision 2 a of this subsection. The provider must 
shall promptly provide the individual notice of the 
physician's or psychologist's determination and provide 
or deny access in accordance with that determination. 
(2) At the individual's option, the individual may 
designate at his own expense a reviewing physician or 
clinical psychologist who was not directly involved in the 
denial to review the decision to deny access in 
accordance with the standard in subdivision 2 a of this 
subsection. If the individual chooses this option, the 
provider is not required to designate a physician or 
clinical psychologist to review the decision.  
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c. If the provider limits or refuses to let an individual see 
his services record, the provider shall also notify the 
advocate and tell the individual that he can ask to have a 
lawyer or authorized insurer of his choice see his record. 
If the individual makes this request, the provider shall 
disclose the record to that lawyer or authorized insurer 
(§ 8.01-413 of the Code of Virginia). 

3. Providers shall, without charge, give individuals any 
help they may need to read and understand their services 
record and request amendments to it. 
4. If an individual asks to challenge, amend, or explain any 
information contained in his services record, the provider 
shall investigate and file in the services record a written 
report concerning the individual's request. 

a. If the report finds that the services record is 
incomplete, inaccurate, not pertinent, not timely, or not 
necessary, the provider shall: 
(1) Either mark that part of the services record clearly to 
say so, or else remove that part of the services record and 
file it separately with an appropriate cross reference to 
indicate that the information was removed; 
(2) Not disclose the original services record without 
separate specific authorization or legal authority (e.g., if 
compelled by subpoena or other court order); 
(3) Obtain the individual's identification of and 
agreement to have the provider notify the relevant 
persons of the amendment; and  
(4) Promptly notify in writing all persons who have 
received the incorrect information and all persons 
identified by the individual that the services record has 
been corrected. 
b. If a request to amend the services record is denied, the 
provider shall give the individual a written statement 
containing the basis for the denial and notify the 
individual of his right to submit a statement of 
disagreement and how to submit such a statement. The 
provider shall also give the individual (i) a statement that 
if a statement of disagreement is not submitted that the 
individual may request the provider to disclose the 
request for amendment and the denial with future 
disclosures of information and (ii) a description of how 
the individual may complain to the provider or the 
Secretary of Health and Human Services, if applicable. 
Upon request, the provider shall file in the services 
record the individual's statement explaining his position 
of disagreement. If needed, the provider shall help the 
individual to write this statement. If a statement is filed, 
the provider shall: 
(1) Give all persons who have copies of the record a copy 
of the individual's statement. 
(2) Clearly note in any later disclosure of the record that 
it is disputed and include a copy of the statement with the 
disputed record. 

12VAC35-115-100. Restrictions on freedoms of everyday 
life.  

A. From admission until discharge from a service, each 
individual is entitled to: 

1. Enjoy all the freedoms of everyday life that are 
consistent with his need for services, his protection, and 
the protection of others, and that do not interfere with his 
services or the services of others. These freedoms include: 

a. Freedom to move within the service setting, its 
grounds, and the community; 
b. Freedom to communicate, associate, and meet 
privately with anyone the individual chooses; 
c. Freedom to have and spend personal money; 
d. Freedom to see, hear, or receive television, radio, 
books, and newspapers, whether privately owned or in a 
library or public area of the service setting; 
e. Freedom to keep and use personal clothing and other 
personal items; 
f. Freedom to use recreational facilities and enjoy the 
outdoors; and 
g. Freedom to make purchases in canteens, vending 
machines, or stores selling a basic selection of food and 
clothing. 

2. Receive services in that setting and under those 
conditions that are least restrictive of his freedom. 

B. The provider's duties. 
1. Providers shall encourage each individual's participation 
in normal activities and conditions of everyday living and 
support each individual's freedoms. 
2. Providers shall not limit or restrict any individual's 
freedom more than is needed to achieve a therapeutic 
benefit, maintain a safe and orderly environment, or 
intervene in an emergency. 
3. Providers shall not impose any restriction on an 
individual unless the restriction is justified and carried out 
according to these regulations this chapter or otherwise 
required by law. If a provider imposes a restriction 
pursuant to this chapter, except as provided in 12VAC35-
115-50, the following conditions shall be met: 

a. A qualified professional involved in providing services 
has, in advance, assessed and documented all possible 
alternatives to the proposed restriction, taking into 
account the individual's medical and mental condition, 
behavior, preferences, nursing and medication needs, and 
ability to function independently. 
b. A qualified professional involved in providing services 
has, in advance, determined that the proposed restriction 
is necessary for effective treatment of the individual or to 
protect him or others from personal harm, injury, or 
death. 
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c. A qualified professional involved in providing services 
has, in advance, documented in the individual's services 
record the specific reason for the restriction. 
d. A qualified professional involved in providing services 
has explained, and provided written notice so that the 
individual can understand, the reason for the restriction, 
the criteria for removal, and the individual's right to a fair 
review of whether the restriction is permissible. 
e. A qualified professional regularly reviews the 
restriction and that the restriction is discontinued when 
the individual has met the criteria for removal. 

f. 4. If a court has ordered the provider to impose the 
restriction or if the provider is otherwise required by law to 
impose the restriction, the restriction shall be documented 
in the individual's services record. 
5. Providers shall obtain approval of the LHRC of any 
restriction imposed on an individual's rights under this 
subsection or 12VAC35-115-50 that lasts longer than 
seven days or is imposed multiple times during a 30-day 
time period. If the LHRC finds that the restriction is not 
being implemented in accordance with this chapter, the 
director shall be notified, and the LHRC shall provide 
recommendations. 
4. 6. Providers may develop and enforce written program 
rules, but only if the rules do not conflict with these 
regulations this chapter or any individual's services plan 
ISP and are needed to maintain a safe and orderly 
environment. 
5. 7. Providers shall, in the development of these program 
rules: 

a. Get as many suggestions as possible from all 
individuals who are expected to obey the rules; 
b. Apply these rules in the same way to each individual; 
c. Give the rules to and review them with each individual 
and his authorized representative in a way that the 
individual can understand them, including explaining 
possible consequences for violating them; 
d. Post the rules in summary form in all areas to which 
individuals and their families have regular access; 
e. Submit the rules to the LHRC for review and approval 
upon request of the advocate or LHRC; and 
f. Prohibit individuals from disciplining other 
individuals, except as part of an organized self-
government program conducted according to a written 
policy approved in advance by the LHRC. 

12VAC35-115-105. Behavioral treatment plans. 
A. A behavioral treatment plan is used to assist an individual 

to improve participation in normal activities and conditions of 
everyday living, reduce challenging behaviors, alleviate 
symptoms of psychopathology, and maintain a safe and 
orderly environment. 

B. Providers may use individualized restrictions such as 
restraint or time out in a behavioral treatment plan to address 
challenging behaviors that present an immediate danger to the 
individual or others, but only after a licensed professional has 
conducted a detailed and systematic assessment of the 
behavior and the situations in which the behavior occurs. 
Providers shall document in the individual's services record 
that the lack of success or probable success of less restrictive 
procedures attempted or considered, and the risks associated 
with not treating the behavior, are greater than any risks 
associated with the use of the proposed restrictions. 

C. Providers shall develop any behavioral treatment plan 
according to their policies and procedures, which ensure that: 

1. Behavioral treatment plans are initiated, developed, 
carried out, and monitored by professionals who are 
qualified by expertise, training, education, or credentials to 
do so; 
2. Behavioral treatment plans include nonrestrictive 
procedures and environmental modifications that address 
the targeted behavior; and 
3. Behavioral treatment plans are submitted to an 
independent review committee, prior to implementation, 
for review and approval of the technical adequacy of the 
plan and data collection procedures. 

D. Providers shall submit any behavioral treatment plan that 
involves the use of restraint or time out in an intermediate 
care facility, and its independent review committee approval, 
to the SCC under 42 CFR 483.440(f)(3) for the SCC's 
approval prior to implementation.  

E. Providers shall submit any behavioral treatment plan that 
does not require SCC approval, and its independent review 
committee approval, to the LHRC, which shall determine 
whether the plan is in accordance with this chapter prior to 
implementation.  

F. If either the LHRC or SCC finds that the behavioral 
treatment plan violates the rights of the individual or is not 
being implemented in accordance with this chapter, the 
LHRC or SCC shall notify the director and provide 
recommendations regarding the proposed plan. 

G. Behavioral treatment plans involving the use of restraint 
or time out shall be reviewed quarterly by the independent 
review committee and the LHRC or SCC to determine if the 
use of restraint has resulted in improvements in functioning 
of the individual. 

H. Providers shall not use seclusion in a behavioral 
treatment plan. 
12VAC35-115-110. Use of seclusion, restraint, and time 
out.  

A. Each individual is entitled to be completely free from any 
unnecessary use of seclusion, restraint, or time out. 

B. The voluntary use of mechanical supports to achieve 
proper body position, balance, or alignment so as to allow 
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greater freedom of movement or to improve normal body 
functioning in a way that would not be possible without the 
use of such a mechanical support, and the voluntary use of 
protective equipment are not considered restraints. 

C. The provider's duties. 
1. Providers shall meet with the individual or his 
authorized representative upon admission to the service to 
discuss and document in the individual's services record, 
his preferred interventions in the event his behaviors or 
symptoms become a danger to himself or others and under 
what circumstances, if any, the intervention may include 
seclusion, restraint, or time out. 
2. Providers shall document in the individual's services 
record all known contraindications to the use of seclusion, 
time out, or any form of physical or mechanical restraint, 
including medical contraindications and a history of 
trauma and shall flag the record to alert and communicate 
this information to staff. 
3. Only residential facilities for children that are licensed 
under the Regulations for Children's Residential Facilities 
(12VAC35-46) and inpatient hospitals may use seclusion 
and only in an emergency. 
4. Providers shall not use seclusion, restraint, or time out as 
a punishment or reprisal or for the convenience of staff. 
5. Providers shall not use seclusion or restraint solely 
because criminal charges are pending against the 
individual. 
6. Providers shall not use a restraint that places the 
individual's body in a prone (face down) position. 
6. 7. Providers shall not use seclusion or restraint for any 
behavioral, medical, or protective purpose unless other less 
restrictive techniques have been considered and 
documentation is placed in the individual's services plan 
ISP that these less restrictive techniques did not or would 
not succeed in reducing or eliminating behaviors that are 
self-injurious or dangerous to other people or that no less 
restrictive measure was possible in the event of a sudden 
emergency. 
7. 8. Providers that use seclusion, restraint, or time out 
shall develop written policies and procedures that comply 
with applicable federal and state laws and regulations, 
accreditation, and certification standards, third party payer 
requirements, and sound therapeutic practice. These 
policies and procedures shall include at least the following 
requirements: 

a. Individuals shall be given the opportunity for motion 
and exercise, to eat at normal meal times and take fluids, 
to use the restroom, and to bathe as needed. 
b. Trained, qualified staff shall monitor the individual's 
medical and mental condition continuously while the 
restriction is being used. 

c. Each use of seclusion, restraint, or time out shall end 
immediately when criteria for removal are met. 
d. Incidents of seclusion and restraint, including the 
rationale for and the type and duration of the restraint, 
are shall be reported to the department as provided in 
12VAC35-115-230 C. 

8. Providers shall submit all proposed seclusion, restraint, 
and time out policies and procedures to the LHRC for 
review and comment before implementing them, when 
proposing changes, or upon request of the human rights 
advocate, the LHRC, or the SHRC. 
9. Providers shall comply with all applicable state and 
federal laws and regulations, certification and accreditation 
standards, and third party requirements as they relate to 
seclusion and restraint. 

a. Whenever an inconsistency exists between these 
regulations this chapter and federal laws or regulations, 
accreditation or certification standards, or the 
requirements of third party payers, the provider shall 
comply with the higher standard. 
b. Providers shall notify the department whenever a 
regulatory, accreditation, or certification agency or third 
party payer identifies problems in the provider's 
compliance with any applicable seclusion and restraint 
standard. 

10. Providers shall ensure that only staff who have been 
trained in the proper and safe use of seclusion, restraint, 
and time out techniques may initiate, monitor, and 
discontinue their use. 
11. Providers shall ensure that a qualified professional who 
is involved in providing services to the individual reviews 
every use of physical restraint as soon as possible after it is 
carried out and documents the results of his review in the 
individual's services record. 
12. Providers shall ensure that review and approval by a 
qualified professional for the use or continuation of 
restraint for medical or protective purposes is documented 
in the individual's services record. Documentation 
includes: 

a. Justification for any restraint; 
b. Time-limited approval for the use or continuation of 
restraint; and  
c. Any physical or psychological conditions that would 
place the individual at greater risk during restraint. 

13. Providers may use seclusion or mechanical restraint for 
behavioral purposes in an emergency only if a qualified 
professional involved in providing services to the 
individual has, within one hour of the initiation of the 
procedure: 

a. Conducted a face-to-face assessment of the individual 
placed in seclusion or mechanical restraint and 
documented that alternatives to the proposed use of 
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seclusion or mechanical restraint have not been 
successful in changing the behavior or were not 
attempted, taking into account the individual's medical 
and mental condition, behavior, preferences, nursing and 
medication needs, and ability to function independently; 
b. Determined that the proposed seclusion or mechanical 
restraint is necessary to protect the individual or others 
from harm, injury, or death; 
c. Documented in the individual's services record the 
specific reason for the seclusion or mechanical restraint; 
d. Documented in the individual's services record the 
behavioral criteria that the individual must meet for 
release from seclusion or mechanical restraint; and 
e. Explained to the individual, in a way that he can 
understand, the reason for using mechanical restraint or 
seclusion, the criteria for its removal, and the individual's 
right to a fair review of whether the mechanical restraint 
or seclusion was permissible. 

14. Providers shall limit each approval for restraint for 
behavioral purposes or seclusion to four hours for 
individuals age 18 and older, two hours for children and 
adolescents ages nine through 17, and one hour for 
children under age nine. 
15. Providers shall not issue standing orders for the use of 
seclusion or restraint for behavioral purposes.  
16. Providers shall ensure that no individual is in time out 
for more than 30 minutes per episode. 
17. Providers shall monitor the use of restraint for 
behavioral purposes or seclusion through continuous face-
to-face observation, rather than by an electronic 
surveillance device. 
18. Providers may use restraint or time out in a behavioral 
treatment plan to address behaviors that present an 
immediate danger to the individual or others, but only after 
a qualified professional has conducted a detailed and 
systematic assessment of the behavior and the situations in 
which the behavior occurs. 

a. Providers shall develop any behavioral treatment plan 
involving the use of restraint or time out for behavioral 
purposes according to its policies and procedures, which 
ensure that: 
(1) Behavioral treatment plans are initiated, developed, 
carried out, and monitored by professionals who are 
qualified by expertise, training, education, or credentials 
to do so. 
(2) Behavioral treatment plans include nonrestrictive 
procedures and environmental modifications that address 
the targeted behavior. 
(3) Behavioral treatment plans are submitted to and 
approved by an independent review committee 
comprised of professionals with training and experience 
in applied behavior analysis who have assessed the 

technical adequacy of the plan and data collection 
procedures. 
b. Providers shall document in the individual's services 
record that the lack of success, or probable success, of 
less restrictive procedures attempted and the risks 
associated with not treating the behavior are greater than 
any risks associated with the use of restraint. 

c. Prior to the implementation of any behavioral treatment 
plan involving the use of restraint or time out, the provider 
shall obtain approval of the LHRC. If the LHRC finds that 
the plan violates or has the potential to violate the rights of 
the individual, the LHRC shall notify and make 
recommendations to the director.  
d. Behavioral treatment plans involving the use of restraint 
or time out shall be reviewed quarterly by the independent 
review committee and by, the LHRC to determine if the 
use of restraint has resulted in improvements in functioning 
of the individual. 
19.Providers may not use seclusion in a behavioral 
treatment plan. 

12VAC35-115-130. Research.  
A. Each individual has a right to choose to participate or not 

participate in human research. 
B. The provider's duties. 

1. Providers shall obtain prior, written, informed consent of 
the individual or his authorized representative before any 
individual begins to participate in human research unless 
the research is exempt under § 32.1-162.17 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
2. Providers shall comply with all other applicable state 
and federal laws and regulations regarding human research, 
including the provisions under Chapter 5.1 (§ 32.1-162.16 
et seq.) of Title 32.1 and § 37.2-402 of the Code of 
Virginia and the regulations adopted under § 37.2-402 of 
the Code of Virginia. 
3. Providers shall obtain review and approval from an 
institutional review board or research review committee 
prior to performing or participating in a human research 
protocol. Documentation of this review and approval shall 
be maintained and made available on request by the 
individual or his authorized representative.  
4. Prior to participation by individuals in any human 
research project, the provider shall inform and provide a 
copy of the institutional review board or research review 
committee approval to the LHRC. Once the research has 
been initiated, the provider shall update the LHRC 
periodically on the status of the individual's participation. 

12VAC35-115-140. Complaint and fair hearing. 
(Repealed.)  

A. Each individual has a right to: 
1. Complain that the provider has violated any of the rights 
assured under these regulations; 
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2. Have a timely and fair review of any complaint 
according to the procedures in Part V (12VAC35-115-150 
et seq.) of this chapter; 
3. Have someone file a complaint on his behalf; 
4. Use these and other complaint procedures; and 
5. Complain under any other applicable law, including 
complain to the protection and advocacy agency. 

B. The provider's duties. 
1. If an individual makes a complaint, the provider shall 
make every attempt to resolve the complaint at the earliest 
possible step. 
2. Providers shall not take, threaten to take, permit, or 
condone any action to retaliate against anyone filing a 
complaint or prevent anyone from filing a complaint or 
helping an individual to file a complaint. 
3. Providers shall assist the complainant in understanding 
the full complaint process, the options for resolution 
including the formal and informal processes, and the 
confidentiality elements involved. 

Part IV  
Substitute Decision Making 

12VAC35-115-145. Determination of capacity to give 
consent or authorization. 

If the capacity of an individual to consent to treatment, 
services, or research, or to authorize the disclosure of 
information is in doubt, the provider shall obtain an 
evaluation from conducted by or under the supervision of a 
licensed professional who is qualified by expertise, training, 
education, or credentials and not directly involved with the 
individual to determine whether the individual has capacity to 
consent or to authorize the disclosure of information. 

1. Capacity evaluations shall be obtained for all individuals 
who may lack capacity, even if they request that an 
authorized representative be designated or agree to submit 
to a recommended course of treatment. 
2. In conducting this evaluation, the professional may seek 
comments from representatives accompanying the 
individual pursuant to 12VAC35-115-70 A 4 about the 
individual's capacity to consent or to authorize disclosure. 
3. Providers shall determine the need for an evaluation of 
an individual's capacity to consent or authorize disclosure 
of information and the need for a substitute decision maker 
whenever the individual's condition warrants, the 
individual requests such a review, at least every six 
months, and at discharge, except for individuals receiving 
acute inpatient services. 

a. If the individual's record indicates that the individual is 
not expected to obtain or regain capacity, the provider 
shall document annually that it has reviewed the 
individual's capacity to make decisions and whether there 
has been any change in that capacity. 

b. Providers of acute inpatient services shall determine 
the need for an evaluation of an individual's capacity to 
consent or authorize disclosure of information whenever 
the individual's condition warrants or at least at every 
treatment team meeting. Results of such reviews shall be 
documented in the treatment team notes and 
communicated to the individual and his authorized 
representative. 

4. Capacity evaluations shall be conducted in accordance 
with accepted standards of professional practice and shall 
indicate the specific type of decision for which the 
individual's capacity is being evaluated (e.g., medical) and 
shall indicate what specific type of decision the individual 
has or does not have the capacity to make. Capacity 
evaluations shall address the type of supports that might be 
used to increase the individual's decision-making 
capabilities.  
5. If the individual or his family objects to the results of the 
qualified licensed professional's determination, the 
provider shall immediately inform the human rights 
advocate. 

a. If the individual or family member wishes to obtain an 
independent evaluation of the individual's capacity, he 
may do so at his own expense and within reasonable 
timeframes consistent with his circumstances. If the 
individual or family member cannot pay for an 
independent evaluation, the individual may request that 
the LHRC consider the need for an independent 
evaluation pursuant to 12VAC35-115-200 B. The 
provider shall take no action for which consent or 
authorization is required, except in an emergency, 
pending the results of the independent evaluation. The 
provider shall take no steps to designate an authorized 
representative until the independent evaluation is 
complete. 
b. If the independent evaluation is consistent with the 
provider's evaluation, the provider's evaluation is 
binding, and the provider shall implement it accordingly. 
c. If the independent evaluation is not consistent with the 
provider's evaluation, the matter shall be referred to the 
LHRC for review and decision under 12VAC35-115-200 
through 12VAC35-115-250 and 12VAC35-115-210. 

Part V  
Complaint Resolution, Hearing, and Appeal Procedures  

12VAC35-115-150. General provisions.  
A. Any action taken by the judicial system or administrative 

hearing bodies is not subject to review under the human rights 
complaint resolution process. 

A. B. The parties to any complaint are the individual and the 
director. Each party can also have anyone else represent him 
during resolution of the complaint. The director shall make 
every effort to resolve the complaint at the earliest possible 
stage.  
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B. C. Meetings, reviews, Reviews and hearings will 
generally be closed to other people unless the individual 
making the complaint requests that other people attend or if 
an open meeting is required by the Virginia Freedom of 
Information Act (§ 2.2-3700 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 
1. The LHRC and SHRC may conduct a closed hearing to 
protect the confidentiality of persons who are not a party to 
the complaint, but only if a closed meeting is otherwise 
allowed under the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (see 
§ 2.2-3711 of the Code of Virginia). 

2. If any person alleges that implementation of an LHRC 
recommendation would violate the individual's rights or 
those of other individuals, the person may file a petition for 
a hearing with the SHRC, according to 12VAC35-115-210. 

C. D. In no event shall a pending hearing, review, or appeal 
prevent a director from taking corrective action based on the 
advice of the provider's legal counsel that such action is 
required by law or he otherwise if the director thinks such 
action is correct and justified. 

D. E. The LHRC or SHRC, on the motion of any party or on 
its own motion, may, for good cause, extend any time periods 
before or after the expiration of that time period. No director 
may extend any time periods for any actions he is required to 
take under these procedures without prior approval of the 
LHRC or SHRC. 

E. F. Except in the case of emergency proceedings, if a time 
period in which action must be taken under this part is not 
extended by the LHRC or SHRC, the failure of a party to act 
within that time period shall waive that party's further rights 
under these procedures. 

F. G. In making their recommendations regarding complaint 
resolution, the LHRC and the SHRC shall identify any rights 
or regulations that the provider violated and any policies, 
practices, or conditions that contributed to the violations. 
They shall also recommend appropriate corrective actions, 
including changes in policies, practices, or conditions, to 
prevent further violations of the rights assured under these 
regulations this chapter. 

G. H. If it is impossible to carry out the recommendations of 
the LHRC or the SHRC within a specified time, the LHRC or 
the SHRC, as appropriate, shall recommend any necessary 
interim action that gives appropriate and possible immediate 
remedies. 

H. I. Any action plan submitted by the director or 
commissioner in the course of these proceedings shall fully 
address final and interim recommendations made by the 
LHRC or the SHRC and identify financial or other 
constraints, if any, that prevent efforts to fully remedy the 
violation. 

I. J. All communication with the individual during the 
complaint resolution process shall be in the manner, format, 
and language most easily understood by the individual.  

12VAC35-115-170. Complaint resolution process. 
(Repealed.)  

A. Anyone who believes that a provider has violated an 
individual's rights under these regulations may report it to the 
director or the human rights advocate for resolution. 

1. If the report is made only to the director, the director or 
his designee shall immediately notify the human rights 
advocate. If the report is made on a weekend or holiday, 
then the director or his designee shall notify the human 
rights advocate on the next business day. 
2. If the report is made only to the human rights advocate, 
the human rights advocate shall immediately notify the 
director. If the report is made on a weekend or holiday, 
then the human rights advocate shall notify the director on 
the next business day.  
3. The human rights advocate or the director or his 
designee shall discuss the report with the individual and 
notify the individual of his right to pursue a complaint 
through the process established in these regulations. The 
steps in the informal and formal complaint process 
established in these regulations shall be thoroughly 
explained to the individual. The human rights advocate or 
the director or his designee shall ask the individual if he 
understands the complaint process and the choice that he 
has before asking the individual how he wishes to pursue 
the complaint. The individual shall then be given the 
choice of pursuing the complaint through the informal or 
formal complaint process. If the individual does not make a 
choice, the complaint shall be managed through the 
informal process. 
4. The following steps apply if the complaint is pursued 
through the informal process: 
Step 1: The director or his designee shall attempt to resolve 
the complaint immediately. If the complaint is resolved, no 
further action is required. 
Step 2: If the complaint is not resolved within five working 
days, the director or his designee shall refer it for 
resolution under the formal process. The individual may 
extend the informal process five-day time frame for good 
cause. All such extensions shall be reported to the human 
rights advocate by the director or his designee. 
5. The following steps apply if the complaint is pursued 
through the formal process: 

Step 1: The director or his designee shall try to resolve 
the complaint by meeting with the individual, any 
representative the individual chooses, the human rights 
advocate, and others as appropriate within 24 hours of 
receipt of the complaint or the next business day if that 
day is a weekend or holiday. The director or his designee 
shall conduct an investigation of the complaint, if 
necessary. 
Step 2: The director or his designee shall give the 
individual and his chosen representative a written 
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preliminary decision and, where appropriate, an action 
plan for resolving the complaint within 10 working days 
of receiving the complaint. Along with the action plan, 
the director shall provide written notice to the individual 
about the time frame for the individual's response 
pursuant to Step 3 of this subdivision, information on 
how to contact the human rights advocate for assistance 
with the process, and a statement the complaint will be 
closed if the individual does not respond. 
Step 3: If the individual disagrees with the director's 
preliminary decision or action plan, he can respond to the 
director in writing within five working days after 
receiving the preliminary decision and action plan. If the 
individual has not responded within five working days, 
the complaint will be closed. 
Step 4: If the individual disagrees with the preliminary 
decision or action plan and reports his disagreement to 
the director in writing within five working days after 
receiving the decision or action plan, the director shall 
investigate further as appropriate and shall make a final 
decision regarding the complaint. The director shall 
forward a written copy of his final decision and action 
plan to the individual, his chosen representative, and the 
human rights advocate within five working days after the 
director receives the individual's written response. Along 
with the action plan, the director shall provide written 
notice to the individual about the time frame for the 
individual's response pursuant to Step 5 of this 
subdivision, information about how to contact the human 
rights advocate for assistance with the process, and a 
statement that if the individual does not respond that the 
complaint will be closed. 
Step 5: If the individual disagrees with the director's final 
decision or action plan, he may file a petition for a 
hearing by the LHRC using the procedures prescribed in 
12VAC35-115-180. If the individual has accepted the 
relief offered by the director, the matter is not subject to 
further review. 

B. If at any time during the formal complaint process the 
human rights advocate concludes that there is substantial risk 
that serious or irreparable harm will result if the complaint is 
not resolved immediately, the human rights advocate shall 
inform the director, the provider, the provider's governing 
body, and the LHRC. Steps 1 through 5 of subdivision A 5 of 
this section shall not be followed. Instead, the LHRC shall 
conduct a hearing according to the special procedures for 
emergency hearings in 12VAC35-115-180. 
12VAC35-115-175. Human rights complaint process. 

A. Each individual has a right to: 
1. Make a complaint that the provider has violated any of 
the rights assured under this chapter; 

2. Have a timely and fair review of any complaint in 
accordance with this chapter and the program's human 
rights complaint resolution policies and procedures; 
3. Have someone file a complaint on his behalf; 
4. Use these and other complaint procedures; and 
5. Make a complaint under any other applicable law, 
including to the protection and advocacy agency. 

B. The individual shall: 
1. Be contacted by the director or the director's designee 
regarding the complaint within 24 hours; 
2. Have access to a human rights advocate for assistance 
with the complaint; 
3. Be protected from retaliation and harm; 
4. Have the complaint reviewed, investigated, and resolved 
as soon as possible; 
5. Receive a report with the director's decision and action 
plan within 10 working days; and 
6. Be notified in writing of his right to and the process for 
appealing the director's decision and action plan to the 
LHRC. 

C. Upon receipt of a complaint, providers shall: 
1. Notify the department of the complaint as soon as 
possible, but no later than the next business day; 
2. Initiate an impartial investigation into, or resolution of, 
the complaint as soon as possible, but no later than the next 
business day; 
3. Take all steps necessary to ensure that individuals 
involved in the complaint are protected from retaliation 
and harm; 
4. Assist the individual making a complaint in 
understanding the human rights complaint process, the 
provider's complaint resolution policies and procedures, 
and the confidentiality of involved information;  
5. Ensure that all communications to the individual are in 
the manner, format, and language most easily understood 
by the individual; 
6. Adhere to the reporting requirements in 12VAC35-115-
230; and 
7. Report the director's decision and action plan within 10 
working days to the individual, authorized representative, 
if applicable, and human rights advocate. 

D. All providers shall have complaint resolution policies and 
procedures that address all of the requirements of subsection 
C of this section.  

E. Provider complaint resolution policies and procedures 
shall be in writing and approved by the department prior to 
implementation. The policies and procedures shall: 

1. Ensure that anyone who believes that a provider has 
violated an individual's rights under this chapter can report 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 8 Virginia Register of Regulations December 14, 2015 

1439 

it to the director or the human rights advocate for 
resolution; 
2. Ensure that employees shall not take, threaten to take, 
permit, or condone any action (i) to punish or retaliate 
against anyone filing a complaint or (ii) to prevent anyone 
from filing or helping an individual file a complaint either 
under this chapter or with an outside entity; 
3. Ensure that every attempt is made to resolve an 
individual's complaint as quickly as possible; 
4. Provide opportunities for timely negotiation and 
resolution for all complaints, including the additional 
requirements related to abuse, neglect, or exploitation in 
subsection F of this section; 
5. Establish a process for designating the director's 
responsibilities to ensure timely complaint reporting and 
resolution; 
6. Detail the program's complaint review or investigation 
process, including (i) specific actions the program will take 
to protect the individual and gather and document relevant 
information and (ii) how and when the individual and his 
authorized representative, if applicable, will receive 
updates on the progress of the review; 
7. Detail notification requirements and deadlines including 
procedures for providing: 

a. The program's complaint policies and procedures to all 
individuals and authorized representatives at admission 
to service; 
b. Written notification to the individual regarding his 
right to and the process to appeal the director's decision 
and action plan to the LHRC; and 

8. Detail staff training requirements regarding the 
program's complaint resolution process and requirements. 

F. Additional requirements for complaints involving abuse, 
neglect, or exploitation: 

1. The program director shall take immediate steps to 
protect the individual until the investigation is complete, 
including appropriate personnel actions. 
2. Any instance of seclusion or restraint that does not 
comply with this chapter or an approved variance, or that 
results in injury to an individual, shall be reported to the 
authorized representative, as applicable, and the 
department in accordance with the requirements for 
reporting allegations of abuse. 
3. The program director shall notify the department and 
authorized representative, if applicable, of an allegation of 
abuse or neglect within 24 hours of the receipt of the 
allegation. 
4. The program director shall ensure that the investigation 
is conducted by a person trained to do investigations and 
who is not involved in the issues under investigation. 
5. The investigator shall provide a written report of the 
results of the investigation of abuse or neglect to the 

director and to the human rights advocate within 10 
working days from the date the investigation began unless 
an extension has been granted. 
6. The program director shall decide, based on the 
investigator's report and any other available information, 
whether the abuse, neglect, or exploitation occurred. 
Unless otherwise provided by law, the standard for 
deciding whether abuse, neglect, or exploitation has 
occurred is preponderance of the evidence. 
7. The program director shall submit the final decision and 
action plan, if applicable, to the individual, authorized 
representative, if applicable, and human rights advocate 
within 10 working days of its completion. 

G. If the human rights advocate concludes that there is 
substantial risk that serious or irreparable harm will result if 
the complaint is not resolved immediately, the human rights 
advocate shall inform the director, the provider's governing 
body, and the LHRC. The LHRC shall conduct a hearing 
according to the special procedures for emergency hearings in 
12VAC35-115-190. 

H. The director shall cooperate fully with any abuse or 
neglect complaint investigation conducted by a local 
department of social services. 

I. If at any time the director has reason to suspect that the 
abusive, neglectful, or exploitive act is a crime and that it 
occurred on the program premises, the director or designee 
shall immediately contact the appropriate law-enforcement 
authorities and cooperate fully with any investigation that 
may result. 
12VAC35-115-180. Local Human Rights Committee 
human rights committee hearing and review procedures.  

A. Any individual or his authorized representative who does 
not accept the relief offered by the director or disagrees with 
(i) a director's final decision and action plan resulting from 
the complaint resolution; (ii) a director's final action 
following a report of abuse, neglect, or exploitation; or (iii) a 
director's final decision following a complaint of 
discrimination in the provision of services may request an 
LHRC hearing by following the steps provided in subsections 
B through I of this section. Any individual or his authorized 
representative who disagrees with a director's final decision 
or action plan resulting from any complaint resolution process 
under this chapter may request an LHRC hearing by 
following the process described in this section. 

B. Step 1: The individual or his authorized representative 
must shall file the petition for a hearing with the chairperson 
of the LHRC within 10 working days of from receipt of the 
director's action plan or final decision on the complaint. 

1. The petition for hearing must shall be in writing. It 
should shall contain all facts and arguments surrounding 
the complaint and reference any section of the regulations 
this chapter that the individual believes the provider 
violated. 
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2. The human rights advocate or any person the individual 
chooses may help the individual in filing the petition. If the 
individual chooses a person other than the human rights 
advocate to help him, he and his chosen representative may 
request the human rights advocate's assistance in filing the 
petition. 

C. Step 2: The LHRC chair shall forward a copy of the 
petition to the director and the human rights advocate as soon 
as he receives it. A copy of the petition shall also be 
forwarded to the provider's governing body. 

D. Step 3: Within five working days, the director shall 
submit to the LHRC: 

1. A written response to everything contained in the 
petition; and 
2. A copy of the entire written record of the complaint. 

E. Step 4: The LHRC shall hold a hearing within 20 working 
days of receiving the petition. hearing procedures: 

1. The LHRC shall hold a hearing within 20 working days 
of receiving the petition. 
2. The parties shall have at least five working days' notice 
of the hearing. 
2. 3. The director or his designee shall attend the hearing. 
3. 4. The individual or his authorized representative 
making the complaint shall attend the hearing. 
5. The hearing is an informal process and, as such, the 
rules of legal proceedings are not applicable. 
4. 6. At the hearing, the parties and chosen representatives 
and designees have the right to present witnesses and other 
evidence and the opportunity to be heard. 
7. The hearing shall be conducted in a nonadversarial 
manner. 

a. Each party shall be provided the opportunity to present 
its facts. 
b. Each party shall direct questions to the LHRC rather 
than to the other party. 
c. The LHRC shall ask questions, as appropriate, to each 
party. 

F. Step 5: Within 10 working days after the hearing ends, 
the LHRC shall give its written findings of fact and 
recommendations to the parties and their representatives. 
Whenever appropriate, the LHRC shall identify information 
that it believes the director shall take into account in making 
decisions concerning discipline or termination of personnel. 

G. Step 6: Within five working days of receiving the 
LHRC's findings and recommendations, the director shall 
give the individual, the individual's chosen representative, the 
human rights advocate, the governing body, and the LHRC a 
written action plan he intends to take implement to respond to 
the LHRC's findings and recommendations. Along with the 
action plan, the director shall provide written notice to the 
individual about the time frame timeframe for the individual's 

response pursuant to Step 7 (subsection H of this section) and 
a statement that if the individual does not respond that, then 
the complaint will be closed. The plan shall not be 
implemented for five working days after it is submitted, 
unless the individual agrees to its implementation sooner. 

H. Step 7: The individual, his chosen representative, the 
human rights advocate, or the LHRC may object to the action 
plan within five working days by stating the objection and 
what the director can do to resolve the objection. 

1. If an objection is made, the director may not implement 
the action plan, or until the objection is resolved. The 
provider may, however, implement only that any portion of 
the plan that to which the individual making the complaint 
agrees to, until he resolves the objection as requested or 
appeals to the SHRC for a decision under 12VAC35-115-
210. 
2. If no one objects to the action plan, the director shall 
begin to implement the plan on the sixth working day after 
he submitted it, or as otherwise provided in the plan. 

I. Step 8: If an objection to the action plan is made and the 
director does not resolve the objection to the action plan to 
the individual's satisfaction within two working days 
following its receipt by the director, the individual may 
appeal to the SHRC under 12VAC35-115-210. 
12VAC35-115-190. Special procedures for emergency 
hearings by the LHRC.  

A. If the human rights advocate informs the LHRC of a 
substantial risk that serious and irreparable harm will result if 
a complaint is not resolved immediately, the LHRC shall hold 
and conclude a preliminary hearing within 72 hours of 
receiving this information. 

1. The director or his designee and the human rights 
advocate shall attend the hearing. The individual and his 
authorized representative may attend the hearing. 
2. The hearing shall be conducted according to the 
procedures in 12VAC35-115-180, but it shall be concluded 
conducted on an expedited basis. 

B. At the end of the hearing, the LHRC shall make 
preliminary findings and, if a violation is found, shall make 
preliminary recommendations to the director, the provider, 
and the provider's governing body. 

C. The director shall formulate and carry out an action plan 
within 24 hours of receiving the LHRC's preliminary 
recommendations. A copy of the plan shall be sent to the 
human rights advocate, the individual, his authorized 
representative, and the governing body. 

D. If the individual or the human rights advocate objects 
within 24 hours to the LHRC findings or recommendations or 
to the director's action plan, the LHRC shall conduct a full 
hearing within five working days of the objection, following 
the procedures outlined in 12VAC35-115-180. This objection 
shall be made in writing to the LHRC chairperson, with a 
copy sent to the director. 
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E. Either party may appeal the LHRC's decision to the 
SHRC under 12VAC35-115-210. 
12VAC35-115-200. Special procedures for LHRC reviews 
involving consent and authorization.  

A. The individual, his authorized representative, or anyone 
acting on the individual's behalf may request in writing that 
the LHRC review the following situations and issue a 
decision: 

1. If an individual his authorized representative objects at 
any time to the appointment of a specific person as his 
authorized representative or any decision for which 
consent or authorization is required and has been given by 
his authorized representative, other than a legal guardian, 
he may ask the LHRC to decide whether his capacity was 
properly evaluated, the authorized representative was 
properly appointed, or his authorized representative's 
decision was made based on the individual's basic values 
and any preferences previously expressed by the individual 
to the extent that they are known, and if unknown or 
unclear in the individual's best interests. 

a. The provider shall take no action for which consent or 
authorization is required if the individual objects, except 
in an emergency or as otherwise permitted by law, 
pending the LHRC review. 
b. If the LHRC determines that the individual's capacity 
was properly evaluated, the authorized representative is 
properly designated, or the authorized representative's 
decision was made based on the individual's basic values 
and any preferences previously expressed by the 
individual to the extent that they are known, or if 
unknown or unclear in the individual's best interests, then 
the provider may proceed according to the decision of the 
authorized representative. 
c. If the LHRC determines that the individual's capacity 
was not properly evaluated or the authorized 
representative was not properly designated, then the 
provider shall take no action for which consent is 
required except in an emergency or as otherwise required 
or permitted by law, until the capacity review and 
authorized representative designation is are properly 
done. 
d. If the LHRC determines that the authorized 
representative's decision was not made based on the 
individual's basic values and any preferences preference 
previously expressed by the individual to the extent 
known, and if unknown or unclear, made in the 
individual's best interests, then the provider shall take 
steps to remove the authorized representative pursuant to 
12VAC35-115-146. 

2. If an individual or his family member has obtained an 
independent evaluation of the individual's capacity to 
consent to treatment or services or to participate in human 
research under 12VAC35-115-70, or to authorize the 

disclosure of information under 12VAC35-115-90 
12VAC35-115-80, and the opinion of that evaluator 
conflicts with the opinion of the provider's evaluator, the 
LHRC may be requested to decide which evaluation will 
control. 

a. If the LHRC agrees that the individual lacks the 
capacity to consent to treatment or services or authorize 
disclosure of information, the director may begin or 
continue treatment or research or disclose information, 
but only with the appropriate consent or authorization of 
the authorized representative. The LHRC shall advise the 
individual of his right to appeal this determination to the 
SHRC under 12VAC35-115-210. 
b. If the LHRC does not agree that the individual lacks 
the capacity to consent to treatment or services or 
authorize disclosure of information, the director shall not 
begin any treatment or research, or disclose information 
without the individual's consent or authorization, or shall 
take immediate steps to discontinue any actions begun 
without the consent or authorization of the individual. 
The director may appeal to the SHRC under 12VAC35-
115-210 but may not take any further action until the 
SHRC issues its opinion. 

3. If a director makes a decision that affects an individual 
and the individual believes that the decision requires his 
personal consent or authorization or that of his authorized 
representative, he may object and ask the LHRC to decide 
whether consent or authorization is required. 
Regardless of the individual's capacity to consent to 
treatment or services or to authorize disclosure of 
information, if the LHRC determines that a decision made 
by a director requires consent or authorization that was not 
obtained, the director shall immediately rescind the stop 
such action unless and until such consent or authorization 
is obtained. The director may appeal to the SHRC under 
12VAC35-115-210 but may not take any further action 
until the SHRC issues its opinion. 

B. Before making such a decision, the LHRC shall review 
the action proposed by the director, any determination of lack 
of capacity, the opinion of the independent evaluator if 
applicable, and the individual's or his authorized 
representative's reasons for objecting to that determination. 
To facilitate its review, the LHRC may ask that a physician or 
licensed clinical psychologist not employed by the provider 
evaluate the individual at the provider's expense and give an 
opinion about his capacity to consent to treatment or to 
authorize disclosure of information. 

The LHRC shall notify all parties and the human rights 
advocate of the decision within 10 working days of the initial 
request. 
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12VAC35-115-210. State Human Rights Committee 
appeals procedures.  

A. Any party may appeal to the SHRC if he is not satisfied 
disagrees with any of the following: 

1. An LHRC's final findings of fact, conclusions, and 
recommendations following a hearing; 
2. A director's final action plan following an LHRC 
hearing; 
3. An LHRC's final decision regarding the capacity of an 
individual to consent to treatment, services, or research or 
to authorize disclosure of information; or 
4. An LHRC's final decision concerning whether consent 
or authorization is needed for the director to take a certain 
action. 

The steps for filing an appeal are provided in subsections B 
through I D of this section. 

B. Step 1: Appeals shall be filed in writing with the SHRC 
by a party within 10 working days of receipt of the final 
decision or action plan. 

1. The appeal shall explain the reasons for disagreement 
with the final decision or action is not satisfactory plan. 
2. The human rights advocate or any other person may help 
in filing the appeal. If the individual chooses a person other 
than the human rights advocate to help him, he and his 
chosen representative may request the human rights 
advocate's help in filing the appeal. 
3. The party appealing must shall give a copy of the appeal 
to the other party, the human rights advocate, and the 
LHRC. 
4. If the director is the party appealing, he shall first 
request and get written permission to appeal from the 
commissioner or governing body of the provider, as 
appropriate. If the director does not get this written 
permission and note the appeal within 10 working days, his 
right to appeal is waived. 

C. Step 2: If the director is appealing, the individual may file 
a written statement with the SHRC within five working days 
after receiving a copy of the appeal. If the individual is 
appealing, the director shall file a written statement with the 
SHRC within five working days after receiving a copy of the 
appeal. 

D. Step 3: Within five working days of noting or being 
notified of an appeal, the director shall forward a complete 
record of the LHRC hearing to the SHRC. The record shall 
include, at a minimum: 

1. The original petition or information filed with the LHRC 
and any statement filed by the director in response; 
2. Parts of the individual's services record that the LHRC 
considered and any other parts of the services record 
submitted to, but not considered by, the LHRC that either 
party considers relevant; 

3. All written documents and materials presented to and 
considered by the LHRC, including any independent 
evaluations conducted; 
4. A tape or transcript of the LHRC proceedings, if 
available; 
5. The LHRC's findings of fact, conclusions, and 
recommendations; 
6. The director's action plan, if any; and 
7. Any written objections to the action plan or its 
implementation. 

E. Step 4: The SHRC shall hear the appeal at its next 
scheduled meeting after the chairperson receives the appeal. 

1. The SHRC shall give the parties at least 10 working 
days' notice of the appeal hearing. 
2. The following rules govern appeal hearings: 

a. The SHRC shall not hear any new evidence. 
b. The SHRC is bound by the LHRC's findings of fact 
subject to subdivision 3 of this subsection unless it makes 
a determination that those findings of fact are clearly 
wrong or that the hearing procedures of the LHRC were 
inadequate. 
c. The SHRC shall limit its review to whether the facts, 
as found by the LHRC, establish a violation of these 
regulations this chapter and a determination of whether 
the LHRC's recommendations or the action plan 
adequately address the alleged violation. 
d. All parties and their representatives shall have the 
opportunity to appear before the SHRC to present their 
positions and answer questions the SHRC may have. 
e. The SHRC shall notify the Office of the State 
Inspector General (§ 2.2-308 of the Code of Virginia) of 
the appeal. 

3. If the SHRC decides that the LHRC's findings of fact are 
clearly wrong or that the hearing procedures employed by 
the LHRC were inadequate, the SHRC may: 

a. Send the case back to the LHRC for another hearing to 
be completed within a time period specified by the 
SHRC; or 
b. Conduct its own fact-finding hearing. If the SHRC 
chooses to conduct its own fact-finding hearing, it may 
appoint a subcommittee of at least three of its members 
as fact finders. The fact-finding hearing shall be 
conducted within 30 working days of the SHRC's initial 
hearing. 

In either case, the parties shall have 15 working days' 
notice of the date of the hearing and the opportunity to be 
heard and to present witnesses and other evidence. 

F. Step 5: Within 20 working days after the SHRC appeal 
hearing, the SHRC shall submit a report, decision containing 
its findings of fact, if applicable, and its conclusions and 
recommendations to the commissioner and to the provider's 
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governing body, with copies to the parties, the LHRC, and the 
human rights advocate. 

G. Step 6: Within 10 working days after receiving the 
SHRC's report decision, in the case of appeals involving a 
state facility, the commissioner shall submit an outline of 
actions to be taken in response to the SHRC's 
recommendations. In the case of appeals involving CSBs and 
private providers, the commissioner and the provider's 
governing body director shall each outline in writing the 
action or actions they that will take be taken in response to 
the recommendations of the SHRC. They shall also explain 
any reasons for not carrying out any of the recommended 
actions. Copies of their responses shall be forwarded to the 
SHRC, the LHRC, the director, the human rights advocate, 
and the individual. 

H. Step 7: If the SHRC objects in writing to the 
commissioner's or governing body's director's proposed 
actions, or both, their actions shall be postponed. The 
commissioner or governing body, or both, director shall meet 
with the SHRC at its next regularly scheduled meeting to 
attempt to arrange a mutually agreeable resolution. 

I. Step 8: Final determination regarding the action plan shall 
be as follows: 

1. In the case of services provided directly by the 
department, the commissioner's action plan shall be final 
and binding on all parties. However, when the SHRC 
believes the commissioner's action plan is incompatible 
with the purpose of these regulations this chapter, it shall 
notify the board, the protection and advocacy agency, 
and the Office of the State Inspector General (§ 2.2-308 
of the Code of Virginia). 

2. In the case of services delivered by all other providers, 
the action plan of the provider's governing body director 
shall be reviewed by the commissioner. If the 
commissioner determines that the provider has failed to 
develop and carry out an acceptable action plan, the 
commissioner shall notify the protection and advocacy 
agency and shall inform the SHRC of the sanctions the 
department will impose against the provider. 

J. Step 9: Upon completion of the process outlined in 
subsections B through I of this section, the SHRC shall notify 
the parties and the human rights advocate of the final 
outcome of the complaint. 

Part VII  
Reporting Requirements  

12VAC35-115-230. Provider requirements for reporting 
to the department. 

A. Providers shall collect, maintain, and report the following 
information concerning abuse, neglect, and exploitation: 

1. The director of a facility operated by the department 
shall report allegations of abuse and neglect via the web-
based reporting application in accordance with all 

applicable operating instructions issued by the 
commissioner or his designee. 
2. The director of a service licensed or funded by the 
department shall report each allegation of abuse or neglect 
to the assigned human rights advocate via the web-based 
reporting application within 24 hours from the of receipt of 
the allegation (see 12VAC35-115-50) 12VAC35-115-175). 
3. The investigating authority shall provide a written report 
of the results of the investigation of abuse or neglect to the 
director and human rights advocate within 10 working days 
from the date the investigation began unless an exemption 
extension has been granted by the department (see 
12VAC35-115-50) 12VAC35-115-175). This report shall 
include: 

a. Whether abuse, neglect, or exploitation occurred; 
b. The type of abuse; and 
c. Whether the act resulted in physical or psychological 
injury. 

B. Providers shall collect, maintain, and report the following 
information concerning deaths and serious injuries: 

1. The director of a facility operated by the department 
shall report to the department deaths and serious injuries in 
accordance with all applicable operating instructions issued 
by the commissioner or his designee. 
2. The director of a service licensed or funded by the 
department shall report deaths and serious injuries in 
writing to the department within 24 hours of discovery and 
by telephone to the authorized representative within 24 
hours. 
3. All reports of death and serious injuries shall include: 

a. Date and place of the death or serious injury; 
b. Nature of the injuries and treatment required; and 
c. Circumstances of the death or serious injury. 

C. Providers shall collect, maintain and report the following 
information concerning seclusion and restraint: 

1. The director of a facility operated by the department 
shall report each instance of seclusion or restraint or both 
in accordance with all applicable operating instructions 
issued by the commissioner or his designee. 
2. The director of a service licensed or funded by the 
department shall submit an annual report of each instance 
of seclusion or restraint or both by the 15th of January each 
year, or more frequently if requested by the department. 
3. Each instance of seclusion or restraint or both shall be 
compiled on a monthly basis and the report shall include: 

a. Type(s) Type or types, to include: 
(1) Physical restraint (manual hold); 
(2) Mechanical restraint; 
(3) Pharmacological restraint; and or 
(4) Seclusion. 
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b. Rationale for the use of seclusion or restraint, to 
include: 
(1) Behavioral purpose; 
(2) Medical purpose; or 
(3) Protective purpose. 
c. Duration of the seclusion or restraint, as follows: 
(1) The duration of seclusion and restraint used for 
behavioral purposes is defined as the actual time the 
individual is in seclusion or restraint from the time of 
initiation of seclusion or restraint until the individual is 
released. 
(2) The duration of restraint for medical and protective 
purposes is defined as the length of the episode as 
indicated in the order. 

4. Any instance of seclusion or restraint that does not 
comply with these regulations this chapter or approved 
variances, or that results in injury to an individual, shall be 
reported to the authorized representative, as applicable, and 
the assigned human rights advocate to the department via 
the web-based reporting application within 24 hours. 

D. The director Providers shall provide report to the human 
rights advocate and the LHRC information on the type, 
resolution level, and findings of each complaint of a human 
rights violation, including a description and its conclusions, 
and report on implementation of variances, in accordance 
with the LHRC meeting schedule or as requested by the 
advocate. 

E. Reports required under this section shall be submitted to 
the department on forms or in an automated format or both 
developed by the department. 

F. The department shall compile all data reported under this 
section and make this data available to the public and the 
Office of the State Inspector General (§ 2.2-308 of the Code 
of Virginia) upon request. 

1. The department shall provide the compiled data in 
writing or by electronic means. 
2. The department shall remove all provider-identifying 
information and all information that could be used to 
identify a person as an individual receiving services. 

G. In the reporting, compiling, and releasing of information 
and statistical data provided under this section, the 
department and all providers shall take all measures necessary 
to ensure that any information identifying individuals is not 
released disclosed to the public, including encryption of data 
transferred by electronic means. 

H. Nothing in this section is to be construed as requiring the 
reporting of proceedings, minutes, records, or reports of any 
committee or nonprofit entity providing a centralized 
credentialing service which that are identified as privileged 
pursuant to § 8.01-581.17 of the Code of Virginia. 

I. Providers shall report to the Department of Health 
Professions, Enforcement Division, violations of these 

regulations this chapter that constitute reportable conditions 
under §§ 54.1-2400.4, 54.1-2400.6, and 54.1-2909 of the 
Code of Virginia state law. 

Part IX  
Responsibilities and Duties  

12VAC35-115-250. Offices, composition and duties. 
(Repealed.)  

A. Providers and their directors shall: 
1. Identify a person or persons accountable for helping 
individuals to exercise their rights and resolve complaints 
regarding services. 
2. Comply with all state laws governing the reporting of 
abuse and neglect and all procedures set forth in these 
regulations for reporting allegations of abuse, neglect, or 
exploitation. 
3. Require competency-based training on these regulations 
upon employment and at least annually thereafter. 
Documentation of such competency shall be maintained in 
the employee's personnel file. 
4. Take all steps necessary to assure compliance with these 
regulations in all services provided. 
5. Communicate information about the availability of a 
human rights advocate to individuals and authorized 
representatives. 
6. Assure one LHRC affiliation within the region as 
defined by the SHRC. The SHRC may require multi-site 
providers to have more than one LHRC affiliation within a 
region if the SHRC determines that additional affiliations 
are necessary to protect individuals' human rights. 
7. Assure that the appropriate staff attend LHRC meetings 
in accordance with the LHRC meeting schedule to report 
on human rights activities, to impart information to the 
LHRC at the request of the human rights advocate or 
LHRC, and discuss specific concerns or issues with the 
LHRC. 
8. Cooperate with the human rights advocate and the 
LHRC to investigate and correct conditions or practices 
interfering with the free exercise of individuals' human 
rights and make sure that all employees cooperate with the 
human rights advocate and the LHRC in carrying out their 
duties under these regulations. Notwithstanding the 
requirements for complaints pursuant to Part V 
(12VAC35-115-150 et seq.) of this chapter, the provider 
shall submit a written response indicating intended action 
to any written recommendation made by the human rights 
advocate or LHRC within 15 days of the receipt of such 
recommendation. 
9. Provide the advocate unrestricted access to individuals 
and individual services records whenever the human rights 
advocate deems access necessary to carry out rights 
protection, complaint resolution, and advocacy. 
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10. Submit to the human rights advocate for review and 
comment any proposed policies, procedures, or practices 
that may affect individual human rights. 
11. Comply with requests by the SHRC, LHRC, and 
human rights advocate for information, policies, 
procedures, and written reports regarding compliance with 
these regulations. 
12. Name a liaison to the LHRC, who shall give the LHRC 
suitable meeting accommodations, clerical support and 
equipment, and assure the availability of records and 
employee witnesses upon the request of the LHRC. 
Oversight and assistance with the LHRC's substantive 
implementation of these regulations shall be provided by 
the SHRC. See subsection E of this section. 
13. Submit applications for variances to these regulations 
only as a last resort. 
14. Post in program locations information about the 
existence and purpose of the human rights program. 
15. Not influence or attempt to influence the appointment 
of any person to an LHRC associated with the provider or 
director. 
16. Perform any other duties required under these 
regulations. 

B. Employees of the provider shall, as a condition of 
employment: 

1. Become familiar with these regulations, comply with 
them in all respects, and help individuals understand and 
assert their rights. 
2. Protect individuals from any form of abuse, neglect, or 
exploitation (i) by not abusing, neglecting or exploiting 
any individual; (ii) by not permitting or condoning anyone 
else abusing, neglecting, or exploiting any individual; and 
(iii) by reporting all suspected abuse, neglect, or 
exploitation to the director. Protecting individuals 
receiving services from abuse also includes using the 
minimum force necessary to restrain an individual. 
3. Cooperate with any investigation, meeting, hearing, or 
appeal held under these regulations. Cooperation includes 
giving statements or sworn testimony. 
4. Perform any other duties required under these 
regulations. 

C. The human rights advocate shall: 
1. Represent any individual making a complaint or, upon 
request, consult with and help any other representative the 
individual chooses. 
2. Monitor the implementation of an advocacy system for 
individuals receiving services from the provider or 
providers to which the advocate is assigned. 
3. Promote and monitor provider compliance with these 
and other applicable individual rights laws, regulations, 
and policies. 

4. Investigate and try to prevent or correct, informally or 
formally, any alleged rights violations by interviewing, 
mediating, negotiating, advising, and consulting with 
providers and their respective governing bodies, directors, 
and employees. 
5. Whenever necessary, file a written complaint with the 
LHRC for an individual or, where general conditions or 
practices interfere with individuals' rights, for a group of 
individuals. 
6. Investigate and examine all conditions or practices that 
may interfere with the free exercise of individuals' rights. 
7. Help the individual or the individual's chosen 
representative during any meeting, hearing, appeal, or 
other proceeding under these regulations unless the 
individual or his chosen representative chooses not to 
involve the human rights advocate. 
8. Provide orientation, training, and technical assistance to 
the LHRCs for which he is responsible. 
9. Tell the LHRC about any recommendations made to the 
director, the provider, the provider's governing body, the 
state human rights director, or the department for changes 
in policies, procedures, or practices that have the potential 
to adversely affect the rights of individuals. 
10. Make recommendations to the state human rights 
director concerning the employment and supervision of 
other advocates where appropriate. 
11. Submit regular reports to the state human rights 
director, the LHRC, and the SHRC about provider 
implementation of and compliance with these regulations. 
12. Provide consultation to individuals, providers and their 
governing bodies, directors, and employees regarding 
individuals' rights, providers' duties, and complaint 
resolution. 
13. Perform any other duties required under these 
regulations. 

D. The Local Human Rights Committee shall: 
1. Consist of five or more members appointed by the 
SHRC. 

a. Membership shall be broadly representative of 
professional and consumer interests. At least two 
members shall be individuals who are receiving or have 
received public or private mental health, mental 
retardation, or substance abuse treatment or habilitation 
services within five years of their initial appointment. At 
least one-third of the members shall be consumers or 
family members of consumers. Remaining appointments 
shall include persons with interest, knowledge, or 
training in the mental health, mental retardation, or 
substance abuse field. 
b. At least one member shall be a health care provider. 
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c. No current employee of the department or a provider 
shall serve as a member of any LHRC that serves an 
oversight function for the employing facility or provider. 
d. Initial appointments to an LHRC shall be staggered, 
with approximately one-third of the members appointed 
for a term of three years, approximately one-third for a 
term of two years, and the remainder for a term of one 
year. After that, all appointments shall be for a term of 
three years. 
e. A person may be appointed for no more than two 
consecutive three-year terms. A person appointed to fill a 
vacancy may serve out that term and then be eligible for 
two additional consecutive terms. 
f. Nominations for membership to LHRCs shall be 
submitted directly to the SHRC through the state human 
rights director at the department's Office of Human 
Rights. 

2. Permit affiliations of local providers in accordance with 
the recommendations from the human rights advocate. 
SHRC approval is required for the denial of an affiliation 
request. 
3. Receive complaints of alleged rights violations filed by 
or for individuals receiving services from providers with 
which the LHRC is affiliated and hold hearings according 
to the procedures set forth in Part V (12VAC35-115-150 et 
seq.) of this chapter. 
4. Conduct investigations as requested by the SHRC. 
5. Upon the request of the human rights advocate, provider, 
director, or an individual or individuals, or on its own 
initiative, an LHRC may review any existing or proposed 
policies, procedures, practices, or behavioral treatment 
plans that could jeopardize the rights of individuals 
receiving services from the provider with which the LHRC 
is affiliated. In conducting this review, the LHRC may 
consult with any human rights advocate, employee of the 
provider, or anyone else. After this review, the LHRC shall 
make recommendations to the director concerning changes 
in these plans, policies, procedures, and practices. 
6. Receive, review, and act on applications for variances to 
these regulations according to 12VAC35-115-220. 
7. Receive, review and comment on all behavioral 
treatment plans involving the use of restraint or time out 
and seclusion, restraint, or time out policies for affiliated 
providers. 
8. Adopt written bylaws that address procedures for 
conducting business, electing the chairperson, secretary, 
and other officers, designating standing committees, and 
setting the frequency of meetings. 
9. Elect from its own members a chairperson to coordinate 
the activities of the LHRC and to preside at regular 
committee meetings and any hearings held pursuant to 
these regulations. 

10. Conduct a meeting every quarter or more frequently as 
necessary to adhere to all time lines as set forth in these 
regulations. 
11. Require members to recuse themselves from all cases 
wherein they have a financial or other conflict of interest. 
12. The LHRC may delegate summary decision-making 
authority to a subcommittee when expedited decisions are 
required before the next scheduled LHRC meeting to avoid 
seriously compromising an individual's quality of care, 
habilitation, or quality of life. The decision of the 
subcommittee shall be reviewed by the full LHRC at its 
next meeting. 
13. Perform any other duties required under these 
regulations. 

E. The State Human Rights Committee shall: 
1. Consist of nine members appointed by the board. 

a. Members shall be broadly representative of 
professional and consumer interests and of geographic 
areas in the Commonwealth. At least two members shall 
be individuals who are receiving or have received public 
or private mental health, mental retardation, or substance 
abuse treatment or habilitation services within five years 
of their initial appointment. At least one-third of the 
members shall be consumers or family members of 
consumers. Remaining appointments shall include 
persons with interest, knowledge, or training in the 
mental health, mental retardation, or substance abuse 
field. 
b. At least one member shall be a health care 
professional. 
c. No member can be an employee or board member of 
the department or a CSB. 
d. If there is a vacancy, interim appointments may be 
made for the remainder of the unexpired term. 
e. A person may be appointed for no more than two 
consecutive three-year terms. A person appointed to fill a 
vacancy may serve out that term, and then be eligible for 
two additional consecutive terms. 

2. Elect a chairperson from its own members who shall: 
a. Coordinate the activities of the SHRC; 
b. Preside at regular meetings, hearings, and appeals; and 
c. Have direct access to the commissioner and the board 
in carrying out these duties. 

3. Upon request of the commissioner, human rights 
advocate, provider, director, or an individual or 
individuals, or on its own initiative, a SHRC may review 
any existing or proposed policies, procedures, or practices 
that could jeopardize the rights of individuals receiving 
services from any provider. In conducting this review, the 
SHRC may consult with any human rights advocate, 
employee of the director, or anyone else. After this review, 
the SHRC shall make recommendations to the director or 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 8 Virginia Register of Regulations December 14, 2015 

1447 

commissioner concerning changes in these policies, 
procedures, and practices. 
4. Determine the appropriate number and geographical 
boundaries of LHRCs and consolidate LHRCs serving only 
one provider into regional LHRCs whenever consolidation 
would assure greater protection of rights under these 
regulations. 
5. Appoint members of LHRCs with the advice of the 
respective LHRC, human rights advocate, and the state 
human rights director. 
6. Advise the commissioner about the employment of the 
state human rights director and human rights advocates. 
7. Conduct at least eight regular meetings per year. 
8. Review decisions of LHRCs and, if appropriate, hold 
hearings and make recommendations to the commissioner, 
the board, and providers' governing bodies regarding 
alleged violations of individuals' rights according to the 
procedures specified in these regulations. 
9. Provide oversight and assistance to LHRCs in the 
performance of their duties hereunder, including the 
development of guidance documents such as sample 
bylaws, affiliation agreements, and minutes to increase 
operational consistency among LHRCs. 
10. Review denials of LHRC affiliations. 
11. Notify the commissioner and the state human rights 
director whenever it determines that its recommendations 
in a particular case are of general interest and applicability 
to providers, human rights advocates, or LHRCs and assure 
the availability of the opinion or report to providers, human 
rights advocates, and LHRCs as appropriate. No document 
made available shall identify the name of individuals or 
employees in a particular case. 
12. Grant or deny variances according to the procedures 
specified in Part VI (12VAC35-115-220) of this chapter 
and review approved variances at least once every year. 
13. Make recommendations to the board concerning 
proposed revisions to these regulations. 
14. Make recommendations to the commissioner 
concerning revisions to any existing or proposed laws, 
regulations, policies, procedures, and practices to ensure 
the protection of individuals' rights. 
15. Review the scope and content of training programs 
designed by the department to promote responsible 
performance of the duties assigned under these regulations 
by providers, employees, human rights advocates, and 
LHRC members, and, where appropriate, make 
recommendations to the commissioner. 
16. Evaluate the implementation of these regulations and 
make any necessary and appropriate recommendations to 
the board, the commissioner, and the state human rights 
director concerning interpretation and enforcement of the 
regulations. 

17. Submit to the board and publish an annual report of its 
activities and the status of human rights in mental health, 
mental retardation, and substance abuse treatment and 
services in Virginia and make recommendations for 
improvement. 
18. Adopt written bylaws that address procedures for 
conducting business; making membership 
recommendations to the board; electing a chairperson, vice 
chairperson, secretary, and other officers; appointing 
members of LHRCs; designating standing committees and 
their responsibilities; establishing ad hoc committees; and 
setting the frequency of meetings. 
19. Review and approve the bylaws of LHRCs. 
20. Require members to recuse themselves from all cases 
where they have a financial or other conflict of interest. 
21. Perform any other duties required under these 
regulations. 

F. The state human rights director shall: 
1. Lead the implementation of the statewide human rights 
program and make ongoing recommendations to the 
commissioner, the SHRC, and LHRCs for continuous 
improvements in the program. 
2. Advise the commissioner concerning the employment 
and retention of human rights advocates. 
3. Advise providers, directors, advocates, LHRCs, the 
SHRC, and the commissioner concerning their 
responsibilities under these regulations and other 
applicable laws, regulations, policies, and departmental 
instructions that protect individuals' rights. 
4. Organize, coordinate, and oversee training programs 
designed to promote responsible performance of the duties 
assigned under these regulations. 
5. Periodically visit service settings to monitor the free 
exercise of rights enumerated in these regulations. 
6. Supervise human rights advocates in the performance of 
their duties under these regulations. 
7. Support the SHRC and LHRCs in carrying out their 
duties under these regulations. 
8. Review LHRC decisions and recommendations for 
general applicability and provide suggestions for training 
to appropriate entities. 
9. Monitor implementation of corrective action plans 
approved by the SHRC. 
10. Perform any other duties required under these 
regulations. 

G. The commissioner shall: 
1. Employ the state human rights director after consultation 
with the SHRC. 
2. Employ advocates following consultation with the state 
human rights director. 
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3. Provide or arrange for assistance and training necessary 
to carry out and enforce these regulations. 
4. Cooperate with the SHRC and the state human rights 
director to investigate providers and correct conditions or 
practices that interfere with the free exercise of individuals' 
rights. 
5. Advise and consult with the SHRC and the state human 
rights director concerning the appointment of members of 
LHRCs. 
6. Maintain current and regularly updated data and perform 
regular trend analyses to identify the need for corrective 
action in the areas of abuse, neglect, and exploitation; 
seclusion and restraint; complaints; deaths and serious 
injuries; and variance applications. 
7. Assure regular monitoring and enforcement of these 
regulations, including authorizing unannounced 
compliance reviews at any time. 
8. Perform any other duties required under these 
regulations. 

H. The board shall: 
1. Adopt regulations that further define the rights of 
individuals receiving services from providers covered by 
these regulations. 
2. Appoint members of the SHRC. 
3. Review and approve the bylaws of the SHRC. 
4. Perform any other duties required under these 
regulations. 

12VAC35-115-260. Provider and department 
responsibilities. 

A. Providers, through their directors, shall: 
1. Designate a person or persons responsible for helping 
individuals exercise their rights and resolve complaints 
regarding services; 
2. Take all steps necessary to perform duties required by, 
and ensure compliance with, this chapter in all services 
provided; 
3. Post information in program locations about the 
existence and purpose of the human rights program; 
4. Communicate information about the availability of a 
human rights advocate to individuals and authorized 
representatives, in accordance with 12VAC35-115-40 B 1 
and B 2; 
5. Ensure access, as needed, to the LHRC for all 
individuals receiving services; 
6. Provide the human rights advocate unrestricted access to 
an individual and his services records whenever the 
advocate deems access is necessary to carry out rights 
protection, complaint resolution, and advocacy on behalf 
of the individual; 
7. Require competency-based training of employees on this 
chapter upon employment and at least annually thereafter. 

Documentation of such competency shall be maintained in 
the employee's personnel file; 
8. Comply with all state laws governing the reporting of 
abuse and neglect and all procedures set forth in this 
chapter for reporting allegations of abuse, neglect, or 
exploitation; 
9. Submit to the human rights advocate for review and 
comment proposed policies, procedures, or practices that 
may affect individual human rights; 
10. Ensure appointment of a designated liaison to, and 
appropriate staff participation with, the LHRC, as required; 
11. Cooperate with the human rights advocate and the 
LHRC to investigate and correct conditions or practices 
interfering with the free exercise of individuals' human 
rights and make sure that all employees cooperate with the 
human rights advocate, the LHRC, and the SHRC in 
carrying out their duties under this chapter; 
12. Comply with requests by the SHRC, LHRC, or human 
rights advocate for information, policies, procedures, and 
written reports regarding compliance with this chapter; 
13. Ensure the availability of records and employee 
witnesses upon the request of the LHRC or SHRC; 
14. Submit applications for variances to this chapter only 
as a last resort; and 
15. Not influence or attempt to influence the appointment 
of any person to an LHRC affiliated with the provider or 
director. 

B. Employees of the provider shall, as a condition of 
employment: 

1. Become familiar with this chapter, comply with it in all 
respects, and help individuals understand and assert their 
rights; 
2. Protect individuals from any form of abuse, neglect, or 
exploitation by:  

a. Not abusing, neglecting, or exploiting any individual;  
b. Using the minimum force necessary to restrain an 
individual; 
c. Not permitting or condoning anyone else abusing, 
neglecting, or exploiting any individual; and 
d. Reporting all suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation 
to the director; and 

3. Cooperate with any investigation, meeting, hearing, or 
appeal held under this chapter. Cooperation includes giving 
statements or sworn testimony. 

C. Department human rights advocates shall:  
1. Represent any individual making a complaint or, upon 
request, consult with and help any other representative the 
individual chooses; 
2. Provide training to individuals, family members, and 
providers on this chapter; 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 8 Virginia Register of Regulations December 14, 2015 

1449 

3. Investigate and try to prevent or correct any alleged 
rights violation by interviewing, mediating, negotiating, 
advising, or consulting with providers and their respective 
governing bodies, directors, and employees; 
4. Provide orientation, training, and technical assistance to 
the LHRCs for which he is responsible; and 
5 Investigate and examine all conditions or practices that 
may interfere with the free exercise of individuals' rights. 

D. The department shall: 
1. Employ the state human rights director to lead statewide 
implementation of the human rights program; 
2. Determine, in consultation with the SHRC, the 
appropriate number and geographical boundaries of 
LHRCs; 
3. Develop information, assistance, training tools, and 
other resources for individuals and constituents on this 
chapter; 
4. Provide for regular monitoring and enforcement of this 
chapter, including conducting unannounced compliance 
reviews at any time; 
5. Cooperate with and provide support to the SHRC and 
LHRCs, including: 

a. Training SHRC and LHRC members on their 
responsibilities, roles, and functions under this chapter; 
b. Providing access to topic area consultants as needed to 
support their fulfilling of their duties under this chapter; 
and 
c. Providing necessary support for SHRC and LHRC 
investigations, meetings, and hearings; and 

6. Maintain current and regularly updated data and perform 
regular trend analyses to identify the need for corrective 
action in the areas of abuse, neglect, and exploitation; 
seclusion and restraint; complaints; deaths and serious 
injuries; and variance applications. 

12VAC35-115-270. State Human Rights Committee and 
local human rights committees responsibilities. 

A. Local human rights committees shall: 
1. Review any restriction on the rights of any individual 
imposed pursuant to 12VAC35-115-50 or 12VAC35-115-
100 that lasts longer than seven days or is imposed 
multiple times during a 30-day period for providers within 
the LHRC's jurisdiction in accordance with 12VAC35-
115-100 B 5; 
2. Review next friend designations in accordance with 
12VAC35-115-146 B 2; 
3. Hold hearings according to the procedures set forth in 
Part V (12VAC35-115-150 et seq.) of this chapter for any 
individual served by a provider under the LHRC's 
jurisdiction; 
4. Review behavioral treatment plans in accordance with 
12VAC35-115-105; 

5. Receive, review, and act on applications for variances to 
this chapter in accordance with 12VAC35-115-220; 
6. Consist of five or more members appointed by the 
SHRC. 

a. Membership shall be broadly representative of 
professional and consumer interests as required in § 37.2-
204 of the Code of Virginia. 
b. At least one member shall be a health care provider. 
c. No current employee of the department or a provider 
shall serve as a member of any LHRC that serves an 
oversight function for the employing facility or provider. 
d. Members shall recuse themselves from all cases in 
which they have a financial or other conflict of interest. 
e. Initial appointments to an LHRC shall be staggered, 
with approximately one-third of the members appointed 
for terms of three years, approximately one-third for 
terms of two years, and the remainder for a term or terms 
of one year. After that, all appointments shall be for 
terms of three years. 
f. A person may be appointed for no more than two 
consecutive three-year terms. A person appointed to fill a 
vacancy may serve out that term and then be eligible for 
two additional consecutive terms. 
g. Nominations for membership to LHRCs shall be 
submitted directly to the SHRC through the state human 
rights director at the department's Office of Human 
Rights; 

7. Elect a chairperson from its own members who shall: 
a. Coordinate the activities of the LHRC; and 
b. Preside at regular meetings and hearings held pursuant 
to this chapter; 

8. Meet every quarter or more frequently as necessary to 
adhere to all timelines as set forth in this chapter; and 
9. Adopt written bylaws that address procedures for 
conducting business; electing the chairperson, secretary, 
and other officers; designating standing committees; and 
setting the frequency of meetings. 

B. Local human rights committees may delegate authority to 
a subcommittee when expedited decisions are required before 
the next scheduled LHRC meeting to avoid seriously 
compromising an individual's quality of care, habilitation, or 
quality of life. The decision of the subcommittee shall be 
reviewed by the full LHRC at its next meeting. 

C. The State Human Rights Committee shall: 
1. Perform the following responsibilities with respect to the 
operation of LHRCs: 

a. Appoint LHRC members with the advice of the 
respective LHRC, human rights advocate, and the state 
human rights director; 
b. Review and approve the bylaws of LHRCs; and 
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c. Provide oversight to and assist LHRCs in the 
performance of their duties under this chapter, including 
the development of guidance documents; 

2. Review LHRC decisions when required by this chapter 
and, if appropriate, hold hearings and make 
recommendations to the commissioner, the board, and 
providers' governing bodies regarding alleged violations of 
individuals' rights according to the procedures specified in 
this chapter; 
3. Notify the commissioner and the state human rights 
director whenever it determines that its recommendations 
in a particular case are of general interest and applicability 
to providers, human rights advocates, or LHRCs and 
ensure that: 

a. Its recommendations are communicated to providers, 
human rights advocates, and LHRCs as appropriate; and 
b. The communication of its recommendations does not 
identify the name of individuals or employees in a 
particular case; 

4. Grant or deny variances according to the procedures 
specified in Part VI (12VAC35-115-220) of this chapter 
and review approved variances at least once every year; 
5. Submit to the board and publish an annual report of its 
activities and the status of human rights in services 
licensed, funded, or operated by the department and make 
recommendations for improvement; 
6. Evaluate the implementation of this chapter and make 
necessary and appropriate recommendations to the board, 
the commissioner, and the state human rights director 
concerning its interpretation and enforcement; 
7. Review and make recommendations to the department 
and board, as appropriate, concerning: 

a. The scope and content of training programs designed 
by the department to promote responsible performance of 
the duties assigned under this chapter; 
b. Existing or proposed policies, procedures, or practices 
that could jeopardize the rights of individuals receiving 
services from any provider; 
c. Proposed revisions to this chapter; and 
d. Revisions to existing or proposed laws, regulations, 
policies, procedures, and practices that are needed to 
ensure the protection of individuals' rights; 

8. Consist of nine members appointed by the board. 
a. Members shall be broadly representative of 
professional and consumer interests as required in § 37.2-
204 of the Code of Virginia; 
b. Members shall recuse themselves from all cases in 
which they have a financial or other conflict of interest; 
c. If there is a vacancy, interim appointments may be 
made by the board for the remainder of the unexpired 
term; 

d. A person may be appointed for no more than two 
consecutive three-year terms. A person appointed to fill a 
vacancy may serve out that term and then be eligible for 
two additional consecutive terms; and 
e. No current employee of the department, a CSB, or a 
behavioral health authority may serve as a member of the 
SHRC; 

9. Elect a chairperson from its own members who shall: 
a. Coordinate the activities of the SHRC; 
b. Preside at regular meetings, hearings, and appeals; and 
c. Have direct access to the commissioner and the board 
in carrying out these duties; 

10. Conduct at least eight regular meetings per year; and 
11. Adopt written bylaws that address procedures for 
conducting business; making membership 
recommendations to the board; electing a chairperson, vice 
chairperson, secretary, and other officers; appointing 
members of LHRCs; designating standing committees and 
their responsibilities; establishing ad hoc committees; and 
setting the frequency of meetings. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3502; Filed November 17, 2015, 11:53 a.m.  

Emergency Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC35-240. Victims of Sterilization 
Fund Administration (adding 12VAC35-240-10 through 
12VAC35-240-70).  
Statutory Authority: § 37.2-203 of the Code of Virginia. 
Effective Dates: November 21, 2015, through May 20, 2017. 
Agency Contact: Ruth Anne Walker, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 
Services, Jefferson Building, 1220 Bank Street, 11th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-2252, FAX (804) 
786-8623, or email ruthanne.walker@dbhds.virginia.gov. 
Preamble: 

Item 307 T of Chapter 665 of the 2015 Acts of Assembly 
establishes compensation for individuals who were 
involuntarily sterilized pursuant to the 1924 Virginia 
Eugenical Sterilization Act and who are living as of 
February 1, 2015. The act enacts requirements for the 
compensation program, including funding limits on claims 
and a requirement that disbursements be based on the date 
at which sufficient documentation is provided, authorizes 
the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 
Services (DBHDS) to pay claims, and requires DBHDS to 
adopt emergency regulations to implement the act. 
The emergency regulation establishes (i) eligibility 
criteria, (ii) submission of claims, (iii) compensation, (iv) 
appropriate documentation for verification, and (v) an 
administrative process for handling claims. 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 8 Virginia Register of Regulations December 14, 2015 

1451 

CHAPTER 240 
VICTIMS OF STERILIZATION FUND PROGRAM 

12VAC35-240-10. Definitions. 
"Act" means Chapter 394 of the 1924 Acts of Assembly 

passed by the Virginia General Assembly on March 20, 1924, 
known as the Virginia Eugenical Sterilization Act, which 
provided for the sexual sterilization of individuals admitted to 
state institutions in certain cases. 

"Application" means the Application Form for Filing a 
Claim for Compensation for Victims of the 1924 Eugenical 
Sterilization Act made available by the Department of 
Behavioral Health and Developmental Services. 

"Claimant" means any person claiming eligibility who 
applies for compensation pursuant to this chapter.  

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the Virginia 
Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 
Services. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Behavioral 
Health and Developmental Services. 

"Lawfully authorized representative" means (i) a person who 
is permitted by law or regulation to act on behalf of an 
individual or (ii) a personal representative of an estate, as 
defined in § 64.2-100 of the Code of Virginia, of an 
individual who died on or after February 1, 2015. 

"Review panel" means a minimum of three department staff 
members who are appointed by the commissioner to make 
final determinations on applications for claims that have been 
deemed complete pursuant to this chapter. 

"Sterilization" means a medical procedure or form of birth 
control that leaves a male or female unable to reproduce or 
conceive children and was done pursuant to the Act.  
12VAC35-240-20. Eligibility criteria. 

An individual or his lawfully authorized representative is 
eligible to request compensation under this chapter if the 
individual was: 

1. Involuntarily sterilized pursuant to the Act; 
2. Sterilized while a patient at Eastern State Hospital; 
Western State Hospital; Central State Hospital; 
Southwestern Virginia Mental Health Institute, formerly 
known as Southwestern State Hospital; or the Central 
Virginia Training Center, formerly known as the State 
Colony for Epileptics and Feeble-Minded; and 
3. Living as of February 1, 2015.  

12VAC35-240-30. Claims for compensation. 
A. Any individual who meets the eligibility criteria, or his 

lawfully authorized representative, if applicable, may submit 
a claim for compensation. 

B. Claimants shall submit applications with proof of identity 
and proof that the eligibility criteria are met. When an 
application is submitted for an individual who died on or after 

February 1, 2015, the application shall include a certified 
copy of a state issued death certificate. 

C. To establish the claimant's proof of identity, a copy of 
one or more of the following documents bearing a 
photographic image of the claimant's face and signature shall 
be submitted with the application form: 

1. A state issued driver's license. 
2. A state issued identification card. 
3. A United States passport. 
4. A foreign passport with Visa, I-94 or I-94W. 
5. A United States military card, active or retired member. 

D. To establish proof of involuntary sterilization pursuant to 
the Act, a copy of one or more of the following shall be 
submitted with the application: 

1. Letter notifying a parent, guardian, or a lawfully 
authorized representative that the involuntary sterilization 
procedure was performed on the claimant. 
2. Progress notes from the claimant's hospital record 
documenting that the involuntary sterilization procedure 
was performed on the claimant. 
3. Case summary from the claimant's hospital record 
documenting that the involuntary sterilization procedure 
was performed on the claimant. 
4. Physician's order for involuntary sterilization from the 
claimant's hospital record. 
5. Operative record of involuntary sterilization from the 
claimant's hospital record. 
6. Involuntary sterilization record summary from the 
claimant's hospital record. 
7. Nurses' notes documenting post-operative care was 
provided to the individual claimant after involuntary 
sterilization of the claimant. 
8. Other documents that show that the involuntary 
sterilization procedure was performed on the claimant 
pursuant to the Act. 

E. Any person submitting a claim on behalf of a claimant 
shall provide documentation that he is the claimant's lawfully 
authorized representative. 

F. All applications shall be notarized by a notary public. 
G. The department shall not accept more than one 

application in a single mailing. 
H. Applications shall be submitted to the department 

through the United States Postal Service. The department 
shall not accept any application that is submitted in any other 
manner including by any shipping company, electronically, 
delivered by courier service, or in person. 

I. The department shall send a notice that the application 
was received to the claimant or his lawfully authorized 
representative in writing within seven calendar days of receipt 
of the application. 
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12VAC35-240-40. Screening. 
A. The department shall screen the application and 

accompanying documentation for completeness.  
B. If the department determines an application to be 

incomplete, it shall notify the claimant or his lawfully 
authorized representative that the application is not complete 
in writing by certified mail no later than seven calendar days 
following the screening of the application. The notification 
shall specify the additional documentation required to 
complete the application. 

C. If the application is incomplete, the claimant shall have 
60 calendar days from the receipt of the notification to submit 
the required documentation. If the required documentation is 
not received within 60 calendar days, the application will be 
closed, and the claimant will be required to submit a new 
application.  

D. No application shall be considered by the review panel or 
otherwise acted on until the department determines it to be 
complete with all required documentation. Completed 
applications shall be submitted to the review panel for 
consideration. 
12VAC35-240-50. Review panel. 

A. The commissioner shall appoint a review panel to 
consider applications and make final determinations of 
eligibility for compensation pursuant to this chapter. 

B. The review panel shall consider completed applications 
in the order in which the applications are determined to be 
complete according to date and time of receipt of all required 
documentation. 

C. The claimant or his lawfully authorized representative 
shall be notified of the decision of the review panel in writing 
by certified mail within seven calendar days of the decision. 
12VAC35-240-60. Requests for reconsideration. 

A. Any claimant, or his lawfully authorized representative, 
who disagrees with the determination of the department may 
submit a written request for reconsideration to the 
commissioner, or his designee, within 30 calendar days of the 
date of the written notice of denial of a claim pursuant to this 
chapter. 

B. The commissioner, or his designee, shall provide an 
opportunity for the claimant, or his lawfully authorized 
representative, to submit for review any additional 
information or reasons why his claim should be approved as 
requested.  

C. The commissioner, or his designee, after reviewing all 
submitted materials shall render a written decision on the 
request for reconsideration within 30 calendar days of the 
receipt of the request and shall notify the claimant or his 
lawfully authorized representative in writing. The 
commissioner's decision shall be binding. 

D. Claimants may obtain further review of the decision in 
accordance with the Virginia Administrative Process Act 
(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 
12VAC35-240-70. Compensation. 

A. Compensation per verified claim shall be $25,000 and 
shall be contingent on the availability of funding. All eligible 
claims shall be compensated in the order in which they are 
determined by the review panel to be verified and eligible for 
compensation. 

B. Should funding be exhausted prior to the payment of all 
verified claims, the department shall continue to accept and 
review applications. Claims determined to be verified after 
funding has been exhausted shall be maintained by the 
department according to the date and time the review panel 
determines a claim is verified and eligible for compensation. 
Any such claim shall not be denied but the claimant shall be 
notified in writing that his claim has been determined eligible 
for compensation, that funding has been exhausted, and that 
his application will be maintained by the department. 

C. Should additional program funding become available, the 
department shall first compensate claims with verified 
applications in the order in which they were verified and 
maintained by the department pursuant to subsection B of this 
section. 
NOTICE: The following form used in administering the 
regulation was filed by the agency. The form is not being 
published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations may click on the name of the form to 
access it. The form is also available from the agency contact 
or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of 
Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, 
Richmond, Virginia 23219. 
FORMS (12VAC35-240) 

Application for Filing a Claim for Compensation for 
Victims of the 1924 Virginia Eugenical Sterilization Act, 
VESC Form 1004 (undated, filed 11/2015) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4471; Filed November 21, 2015, 8:54 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 

OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

Fast-Track Regulation 
Titles of Regulations: 18VAC60-21. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Dentistry (amending 18VAC60-21-200). 
18VAC60-25. Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Dental Hygiene (amending 18VAC60-25-10, 18VAC60-25-
130, 18VAC60-25-140, 18VAC60-25-150).  
Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=36ed8004471~3&typ=40&actno=004471&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=36ed8004471~3&typ=40&actno=004471&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=36ed8004471~3&typ=40&actno=004471&mime=application/pdf
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Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  
Public Comment Deadline: January 13, 2016. 
Effective Date: January 28, 2016.  
Agency Contact: Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 
Dentistry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 
23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4538, FAX (804) 527-
4428, or email sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 
Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia provides the 
Board of Dentistry the authority to promulgate regulations to 
administer the regulatory system. 
The statutory authority for the board to promulgate 
regulations to determine the qualifications for initial licensure 
is found in Chapter 27 (§ 54.1-2700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of 
the Code of Virginia. 
Purpose: In commenting on the petition for rulemaking that 
led to this regulatory action, the Commission on Dental 
Accreditation (CODA) noted that the two commissions agree 
that the educational programs are equivalent and that no 
further education is required for eligibility for licensure. The 
commissioners and staff regularly attend meetings of each 
commission and participate annually in at least one site visit 
conducted by the other agency to ensure that accreditation 
processes in each country continue to be equivalent. With the 
assurances of equivalency by CODA, the board is confident 
that graduates of educational programs accredited by the 
Commission on Dental Accreditation of Canada are as 
prepared to practice with safety and competency as the 
graduates of programs in the United States. 
Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: Since the 
Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental 
Association has a longstanding reciprocal agreement with the 
Commission on Dental Accreditation of Canada, the board 
does not believe this proposal will be controversial. It is using 
the fast-track rulemaking process to facilitate licensure for 
any applicant who was educated in Canada and may want to 
locate his practice in the Commonwealth. 
Substance: As requested by a petitioner, the board has 
amended its regulations to recognize accreditation by the 
Commission on Dental Accreditation of Canada in addition to 
the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American 
Dental Association for licensure by examination as a dentist 
or a dental hygienist and for licensure by credentials for 
dentist. 
Issues: The primary advantage to the public is the potential 
for an increased supply of dentists and dental hygienists to 
meet the dental care needs of the citizens of the 
Commonwealth. There are no disadvantages; the two 
commissions have had reciprocal recognition of educational 
programs for several decades. There are no advantages or 
disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth. 
Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 
Pursuant to a petition for rulemaking, the Board of Dentistry 
(Board) proposes to recognize dental and dental hygiene 
programs accredited by the Commission on Dental 
Accreditation of Canada as meeting the education 
requirements for licensure in Virginia.  
Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for 
this proposed change. 
Estimated Economic Impact. Currently, this regulation 
requires that applicants for licensure hold a diploma or 
certificate from a dental program accredited by the 
Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental 
Association (ADA). The Board proposes to also recognize 
diplomas and certifications from dental and dental hygiene 
programs accredited by the Commission on Dental 
Accreditation of Canada as their accreditation requirements 
(and education programs they approve) are essentially 
equivalent to those approved by the ADA. Recognition of 
Canadian dental programs will benefit future applicants for 
licensure as this will add to the number of approved programs 
that aspiring dental professionals may choose from. This 
change will also allow individuals who have already gotten 
degrees or certifications from programs accredited by the 
Commission on Dental Accreditation of Canada to gain 
licensure and work in Virginia without having to complete 
additional costly education. No entities are likely to incur 
additional costs on account of this regulatory change. 
Businesses and Entities Affected. This proposed change will 
affect all individuals who have received, or will receive, their 
dental or dental hygiene education from a program accredited 
by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of Canada and 
who want to be licensed in Virginia.  
Localities Particularly Affected. This proposed change will 
not particularly affect any locality in the Commonwealth.  
Projected Impact on Employment. This proposed change may 
increase the number or dentists and dental hygienists who 
meet the requirements for licensure in the Commonwealth. 
Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 
proposed change will likely have no impact on the use or 
value of private property. 
Real Estate Development Costs. This proposed change will 
likely not affect real estate development costs. 
Small Businesses:  
Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 
Costs and Other Effects. No small businesses will incur costs 
on account of this regulatory change. 
Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. No small 
businesses will incur costs on account of this regulatory 
change. 
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Adverse Impacts: 
Businesses: This proposed change is unlikely to adversely 
impact any business in the Commonwealth. 
Localities: This proposed change is unlikely to adversely 
impact localities. 
Other Entities: This proposed change is unlikely to adversely 
impact any other entities in the Commonwealth. 
Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 
of Dentistry concurs with the analysis of the Department of 
Planning and Budget for the proposed amendments relating to 
the addition of the Commission on Dental Accreditation of 
Canada. 
Summary: 

The amendments recognize dental and dental hygiene 
programs accredited by the Commission on Dental 
Accreditation of Canada as meeting the education 
requirements for licensure in Virginia. 

18VAC60-21-200. Education. 
An applicant for unrestricted dental licensure shall be a 

graduate of and a holder of a diploma or a certificate from a 
dental program accredited by the Commission on Dental 
Accreditation of the American Dental Association or the 
Commission on Dental Accreditation of Canada, which 
consists of either a pre-doctoral dental education program or 
at least a 12-month post-doctoral advanced general dentistry 
program or a post-doctoral dental program of at least 24 
months in any other specialty that includes a clinical 
component. 

Part I 
General Provisions 

18VAC60-25-10. Definitions. 
A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the meanings ascribed to them in § 54.1-2700 of 
the Code of Virginia:  

"Board" 
"Dental hygiene" 
"Dental hygienist" 
"Dentist" 
"Dentistry" 
"License" 

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Active practice" means clinical practice as a dental 
hygienist for at least 600 hours per year. 

"ADA" means the American Dental Association.  
"Analgesia" means the diminution or elimination of pain in 

the conscious patient.  
"CDAC" means the Commission on Dental Accreditation of 

Canada. 

"CODA" means the Commission on Dental Accreditation of 
the American Dental Association. 

"Code" means the Code of Virginia. 
"Dental assistant I" means any unlicensed person under the 

direction of a dentist or a dental hygienist who renders 
assistance for services provided to the patient as authorized 
under this chapter but shall not include an individual serving 
in purely an administrative, secretarial, or clerical capacity.  

"Dental assistant II" means a person under the direction and 
direct supervision of a dentist who is registered to perform 
reversible, intraoral procedures as specified in 18VAC60-21-
150 and 18VAC60-21-160.  

"Direction" means the level of supervision (i.e., direct, 
indirect, or general) that a dentist is required to exercise with 
a dental hygienist or that a dental hygienist is required to 
exercise with a dental assistant to direct and oversee the 
delivery of treatment and related services. 

"General supervision" means that a dentist completes a 
periodic comprehensive examination of the patient and issues 
a written order for hygiene treatment that states the specific 
services to be provided by a dental hygienist during one or 
more subsequent appointments when the dentist may or may 
not be present. Issuance of the order authorizes the dental 
hygienist to supervise a dental assistant performing duties 
delegable to dental assistants I. 

"Indirect supervision" means the dentist examines the 
patient at some point during the appointment and is 
continuously present in the office to advise and assist a dental 
hygienist or a dental assistant who is (i) delivering hygiene 
treatment, (ii) preparing the patient for examination or 
treatment by the dentist, or (iii) preparing the patient for 
dismissal following treatment. 

"Inhalation" means a technique of administration in which a 
gaseous or volatile agent, including nitrous oxide, is 
introduced into the pulmonary tree and whose primary effect 
is due to absorption through the pulmonary bed.  

"Inhalation analgesia" means the inhalation of nitrous oxide 
and oxygen to produce a state of reduced sensibility to pain 
without the loss of consciousness.  

"Local anesthesia" means the elimination of sensation, 
especially pain, in one part of the body by the topical 
application or regional injection of a drug. 

"Monitoring" means to observe, interpret, assess, and record 
appropriate physiologic functions of the body during sedative 
procedures and general anesthesia appropriate to the level of 
sedation as provided in Part VI (18VAC60-21-260 et seq.) of 
Regulations Governing the Practice of Dentistry. 

"Nonsurgical laser" means a laser that is not capable of 
cutting or removing hard tissue, soft tissue, or tooth structure.  

"Parenteral" means a technique of administration in which 
the drug bypasses the gastrointestinal tract (i.e., 
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intramuscular, intravenous, intranasal, submucosal, 
subcutaneous, or intraocular). 

"Topical oral anesthetic" means any drug, available in 
creams, ointments, aerosols, sprays, lotions, or jellies, that 
can be used orally for the purpose of rendering the oral cavity 
insensitive to pain without affecting consciousness. 

Part IV 
Requirements for Licensure 

18VAC60-25-130. General application requirements. 
A. All applications for licensure by examination or 

credentials, temporary permits, or faculty licenses shall 
include:  

1. Verification of completion of a dental hygiene degree or 
certificate from a CODA or CDAC accredited program;  
2. An original grade card from the National Board Dental 
Hygiene Examination issued by the Joint Commission on 
National Dental Examinations;  
3. A current report from the U.S. Department of Health and 
Human Services National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB); 
and 
4. Attestation of having read and understood the laws and 
the regulations governing the practice of dentistry and 
dental hygiene in Virginia and of the applicant's intent to 
remain current with such laws and regulations. 

B. If documentation required for licensure cannot be 
produced by the entity from which it is required, the board, in 
its discretion, may accept other evidence of qualification for 
licensure. 
18VAC60-25-140. Licensure by examination. 

A. An applicant for licensure by examination shall have: 
1. Graduated from or have been issued a certificate by a 
CODA or CDAC accredited program of dental hygiene; 
2. Successfully completed the National Board Dental 
Hygiene Examination given by the Joint Commission on 
National Dental Examinations; and 
3. Successfully completed a board-approved clinical 
competency examination in dental hygiene. 

B. If the candidate has failed any section of a board-
approved examination three times, the candidate shall 
complete a minimum of seven hours of additional clinical 
training in each section of the examination to be retested in 
order to be approved by the board to sit for the examination a 
fourth time. 

C. Applicants who successfully completed a board-approved 
examination five or more years prior to the date of receipt of 
their applications for licensure by the board may be required 
to retake a board-approved examination or take board-
approved continuing education that meets the requirements of 
18VAC60-25-190, unless they demonstrate that they have 
maintained clinical, unrestricted, and active practice in a 
jurisdiction of the United States for 48 of the past 60 months 

immediately prior to submission of an application for 
licensure.  
18VAC60-25-150. Licensure by credentials. 

An applicant for dental hygiene licensure by credentials 
shall: 

1. Have graduated from or have been issued a certificate by 
a CODA or CDAC accredited program of dental hygiene; 
2. Be currently licensed to practice dental hygiene in 
another jurisdiction of the United States and have clinical, 
ethical, and active practice for 24 of the past 48 months 
immediately preceding application for licensure; 
3. Be certified to be in good standing from each state in 
which he is currently licensed or has ever held a license; 
4. Have successfully completed a clinical competency 
examination substantially equivalent to that required for 
licensure by examination; 
5. Not have committed any act that would constitute a 
violation of § 54.1-2706 of the Code; and 
6. Have successfully completed the dental hygiene 
examination of the Joint Commission on National Dental 
Examinations prior to making application to the board. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-31; Filed October 23, 2015, 4:08 p.m.  

BOARD FOR WATERWORKS AND WASTEWATER 
WORKS OPERATORS AND ONSITE SEWAGE 

SYSTEM PROFESSIONALS 

Proposed Regulation 
Titles of Regulations: 18VAC160-20. Board for 
Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators and 
Onsite Sewage System Professionals Regulations 
(repealing 18VAC160-20-10 through 18VAC160-20-150). 
18VAC160-30. Waterworks and Wastewater Works 
Operators Licensing Regulations (adding 18VAC160-30-
10 through 18VAC160-30-370). 
18VAC160-40. Onsite Sewage System Professionals 
Licensing Regulations (adding 18VAC160-40-10 through 
18VAC160-40-510). 
Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-2301 of the Code 
of Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information: 

January 28, 2016 - 10 a.m. - Department of Professional 
and Occupational Regulation, Perimeter Center, 9960 
Mayland Drive, Suite 200, Board Room 2, Richmond, 
Virginia 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: February 12, 2016. 
Agency Contact: Trisha Henshaw, Executive Director, Board 
for Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators and Onsite 
Sewage System Professionals, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 
400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8595, FAX 
(866) 350-5354, or email waterwasteoper@dpor.virginia.gov. 
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Basis: Subdivision 5 of § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia 
states that the board has the power and duty "To promulgate 
regulations in accordance with the Administrative Process 
Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq.) necessary to assure continued 
competency, to prevent deceptive or misleading practices by 
practitioners and to effectively administer the regulatory 
system administered by the regulatory board." 
Section 54.1-2301 of the Code of Virginia provides the 
authority for the board to promulgate regulations for the 
licensure of onsite sewage system professionals, waterworks 
operators, and wastewater works operators. The content of the 
regulations is pursuant to the board's discretion, but shall not 
be in conflict with the purposes of the statutory authority. 
Section 54.1-2301 D of the Code of Virginia states that, "The 
Board, in consultation with the Board of Health, shall adopt 
regulations for the licensure of (i) onsite soil evaluators; (ii) 
installers of alternative onsite sewage systems, as defined in 
§ 32.1-163; and (iii) operators of alternative onsite sewage 
systems, as defined in § 32.1-163. Such regulations shall 
include requirements for (a) minimum education and training, 
including approved training courses; (b) relevant work 
experience; (c) demonstrated knowledge and skill; (d) 
application fees to cover the costs of the program, renewal 
fees, and schedules; (e) the division of onsite soil evaluators 
into classes, one of which shall be restricted to the design of 
conventional onsite sewage systems; (f) the division of 
sewage system installers into classes, one of which shall be 
restricted to the installation of conventional onsite sewage 
systems; and (g) other criteria the Board deems necessary." 
Purpose: The regulations have not undergone a thorough and 
complete review since the inclusion of the onsite sewage 
system professional regulations in 2009. A thorough review 
was necessary to ensure that the regulation complements the 
current standards and practices of the profession and ancillary 
agencies involved in the regulation of waterworks, 
wastewater works, and onsite sewage systems; provides 
minimal burdens on regulants while still protecting the 
public's health and safety; and reflect current procedures and 
policies of the department. The regulations were developed to 
achieve their intended objective in the most efficient, cost-
effective manner, and are clearly written and understandable. 
Substance:  
1. Repeal the board's current regulations. 
2. Add new regulations that govern the practice of 
waterworks and wastewater works operators to ensure 
minimally qualified individuals meet requirements for 
licensure that are more aligned with current true-to-life 
education and experience of new and renewing applicants and 
update certain standards of practice as they relate to the 
industry. 
3. Add new regulations that govern the practice of onsite 
sewage system operators, onsite sewage system installers, and 
onsite soil evaluators to ensure minimally qualified 
individuals meet requirements for licensure that are more 

aligned with current true-to-life education and experience of 
new and renewing applicants and update certain standards of 
practice as they relate to the industry. 
Issues: The primary advantage to the public is that the 
revisions will improve the clarity of the regulations and 
ensure consistency with current board practices, legal 
requirements, and standards of practice in the industry all to 
better protect the health, safety, and welfare of citizens of the 
Commonwealth. 
The primary advantage to the Commonwealth is that the 
revisions to the regulations reflect the importance that 
Virginia places on ensuring the regulations are the least 
burdensome but also provide protection to the citizens of the 
Commonwealth. No disadvantages to the Commonwealth 
could be identified. 
Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board for Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators and 
Onsite Sewage System Professionals Regulations 
(18VAC160-20) includes rules for licensing waterworks and 
wastewater works operators and onsite sewage system 
professionals. The Board for Waterworks and Wastewater 
Works Operators and Onsite Sewage System Professionals 
(Board) proposes to repeal this regulation and promulgate two 
new regulations: 1) Waterworks and Wastewater Works 
Operators Licensing Requirements (18VAC160-30) for the 
licensing of waterworks and wastewater works operators, and 
2) Onsite Sewage System Professionals Licensing 
Regulations (18VAC160-40) for the licensing of onsite 
sewage system professionals. As part of this action the Board 
proposes several changes concerning licensure. In particular, 
the Board proposes to introduce new master and journeyman 
categories for onsite sewage system professional licensees. 
Result of Analysis. There is insufficient data to accurately 
compare the magnitude of the benefits versus the costs. 
Detailed analysis of the benefits and costs can be found in the 
next section. 
Estimated Economic Impact.1 The current regulation includes 
the following licenses for onsite sewage system professionals: 
conventional onsite soil evaluator, alternative onsite soil 
evaluator, conventional onsite sewage system installer, 
alternative onsite sewage system installer, conventional onsite 
sewage system operator, and alternative onsite sewage 
operator. According to the Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, a major contention in the onsite 
sewage system industry – especially among those who have 
been in the industry for many years (decades or more) – has 
been the examination requirement for licensure. There are 
apparently individuals who have learned to perform certain 
skills in the field competently, but are not able to pass written 
tests. Due to the presence of these long-standing individuals 
the Board adopted policies in 2009 for installers, 2010/2011 
for operators, and 2011 for onsite soil evaluators that have 
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allowed unlicensed individuals to work without a licensee 
present; this has presented numerous complaints and 
challenges in ensuring that people performing the regulated 
work are minimally competent.2 To balance the concerns 
regarding the examination with the Board's duty to the public 
of ensuring minimum competency of those engaging in the 
profession to protect the health, safety, and welfare of the 
public, the Board's proposed Onsite Sewage System 
Professionals Licensing Regulations (18VAC160-40) include 
separate master and journeyman categories for each license 
listed above.3 
The "Master" is defined as "an individual who possesses the 
minimum skills and competency to install or maintain onsite 
sewage systems or evaluate soil sites as suitable for 
conventional and alternative onsite sewage systems, and to 
design conventional and alternative onsite sewage systems." 
The master licensure categories are essentially equivalent to 
the licenses in the current regulation, with the exception that 
masters will have supervisory responsibility of journeymen. 
Currently licensed individuals would become masters once 
the proposed Onsite Sewage System Professionals Licensing 
Regulations become effective. "Journeyman" is defined as 
"an individual who possesses the minimum skills and 
competency to assist with the installation or maintenance of 
onsite sewage systems or assisting in the evaluation of soil 
sites as suitable for conventional and alternative onsite 
sewage systems, and to design conventional onsite sewage 
systems under the direct supervision of a master licensee." 
Unlike masters, journeymen are not required to pass an exam. 
Code of Virginia § 54.1-2302 states that "No person shall 
operate a waterworks or wastewater works, perform the duties 
of an onsite soil evaluator, or install or operate an alternative 
onsite sewage system, without a valid license." Enforcing the 
Code of Virginia and requiring individuals to become 
licensed as a journeyman in order to assist with the 
installation or maintenance of onsite sewage systems or 
assisting in the evaluation of soil sites as suitable for 
conventional and alternative onsite sewage systems, and to 
design conventional onsite sewage systems under the direct 
supervision of a master licensee will in practice cost these 
individuals $50 per annum ($100 for two-year license) plus 
the time and dollar cost of continuing professional education. 
Improper maintenance, installation, or design of onsite 
sewage systems can potentially contaminate groundwater and 
otherwise become a public health hazard. Licensing and 
regulating journeyman may reduce the health risk for the 
public. The extent to which this would reduce public health 
risk is not currently known. 
Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 
affect the 4,472 licensed waterworks and wastewater works 
operators and 1,182 licensed onsite sewage system 
professionals in the Commonwealth, individuals who have 
been permitted to work on onsite sewage systems without a 
licensee present, the firms and public entities that employ 
them, as well as future licensure applicants. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
do not disproportionately affect particular localities.  
Projected Impact on Employment. The proposal to require 
journeyman licensure for individuals who assist with the 
installation or maintenance of onsite sewage systems or assist 
in the evaluation of soil sites as suitable for conventional and 
alternative onsite sewage systems, and to design conventional 
onsite sewage systems, may dissuade a small number of 
individuals from working in the industry. 
Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendments are unlikely to significantly affect the 
use and value of private property. 
Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
are unlikely to significantly affect real estate development 
costs. 
Small Businesses:  
Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 
Costs and Other Effects. The proposal to require journeyman 
licensure will moderately increase costs for those onsite 
sewage system workers, and perhaps the small firms that 
employ them if they reimburse their licensure fees and 
continuing professional education costs. 
Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 
proposed amendments will not adversely affect small 
businesses. 
Adverse Impacts:  
Businesses: The proposal to require journeyman licensure 
will moderately increase costs for those onsite sewage system 
workers, and perhaps the firms that employ them if they 
reimburse their licensure fees and continuing professional 
education costs. 
Localities: The proposed amendments are unlikely to 
adversely affect localities. 
Other Entities: The proposed amendments are unlikely to 
adversely affect other entities. 
_____________________________________ 
1 In a separate action (Action 4141) that was initiated prior to this action 
(Action 4226), the Board proposed to increase the two-year licensure renewal 
fee from $80 to $100 for all waterworks and wastewater works operators and 
onsite sewage system professionals. This proposed action (4226) includes the 
higher renewal fees ($100); in other words, for the purposes of this analysis it 
is assumed that Action 4141 will go into effect with the fee increase prior to 
this action. If 4226 were to go into effect first, it would effectively increase 
renewal fees for licensees by $20 per two-year licensure period. 
2 Source: Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 
3 This concept is present in similarly regulated professions, including trades 
(master/journeyman), water well service providers 
(trainee/master/journeyman), and professional engineers and land surveyors 
(in-training). 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 8 Virginia Register of Regulations December 14, 2015 

1458 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
agency concurs with the analysis with approval. 
Regarding the development of master and journeyman license 
categories and the concern of an adverse impact, the board 
considered alternative methods of regulation to achieve the 
board's responsibility to protect the health, safety, and welfare 
of the public through the license mandate codified in § 54.1-
2302 of the Code of Virginia1, and reiterated in the 
18VAC160-20-74 C2 effective July 1, 2009. As referenced in 
the economic impact analysis, the board adopted policies 
during the early implementation of the program to allow 
many in the industry to continue working without a license 
while under the supervision of a license-holder. 
From July 1, 2009, (the effective date of the initial onsite 
sewage system professional licensing regulations) until June 
30, 2010, individuals were able to apply for a four-year, 
nonrenewable interim license based on experience and 
training alone. Once the interim licenses ended, many in the 
industry found that they would have to take a licensing 
examination in order to obtain a new license and continue 
working in the profession. A number of constituents sought 
legislative remedies3 due to concerns with the examination. 
Concerns that were voiced included illiteracy, the 
applicability of exam content areas, difficulty with passing an 
examination after so many years, etc. An exam review of all 
content areas was held, with subject matter experts from the 
applicable professions, to review all exam questions, 
references, and applicability to the profession in late 2014. 
Also in 2014, an extension (SB 657) to the interim license for 
alternative onsite sewage system installers passed to allow 
such individuals additional time to take and pass the 
examination. 
When the board was conducting a general review of its 
regulations, among other important items, the board carefully 
considered the current license requirements along with its 
statutory responsibility to protect the public. One alternative 
the board considered was to require all individuals 
performing the duties identified in the statute as requiring a 
license4, to meet the current license requirements for the 
applicable classification and category of license, which 
requires an examination for all license types. This would 
result in an increased cost5 to all individuals requiring 
licensure through application fees, examination fees, and, for 
some, the cost of study classes and/or materials. 
Alternatively, the board decided to utilize a license system 
currently in place for other, similar programs6. This would 
allow those who are performing the work described in § 54.1-
2302 of the Code of Virginia, which mandates a license, but 
are not in a supervisory or responsible charge capacity, to 
continue performing such work after having demonstrated 
minimum competency to the board for a license. This also 
allows the board to take disciplinary action, if necessary, 
against the licensee actually performing the regulated activity 
as, currently, the board cannot take disciplinary action against 
an individual who is performing the work but is not a licensee 

of the board. As noted in the economic impact analysis for 
this action, "Licensing and regulating journeyman may reduce 
the health risk to the public." 
Through this revision to the regulations, the board also 
provided additional options to qualify for licensure, including 
the acceptance of more degree options and opportunities to 
qualify for licensure with experience and training and, in 
some cases, no examination. 
_________________________________________ 
1 "No person shall operate a waterworks or wastewater works, perform the 
duties of an onsite soil evaluator, or install or operate an alternative onsite 
sewage system, without a valid license." 
2 "No individual shall act as a conventional onsite soil evaluator, alternative 
onsite soil evaluator, conventional onsite sewage system installer, alternative 
onsite sewage system installer, conventional onsite sewage system operator, 
or alternative onsite sewage system operator without possessing a valid 
license issued by the board. Issuance of an alternative license shall void the 
previously issued conventional license and shall authorize the alternative 
licensee to perform duties on both conventional and alternative onsite sewage 
systems consistent with the license category. The board shall issue a license 
only after an individual has met all experience and examination requirements 
as set forth in this chapter." 
3 SB 662 (2012), HB 1482 (2013), HB 253 (2014), SB 657 (2014) 
4 "No person shall . . . perform the duties of an onsite soil evaluator, or install 
or operate an alternative onsite sewage system, without a valid license."  "No 
individual shall act as a conventional onsite soil evaluator, alternative onsite 
soil evaluator, conventional onsite sewage system installer, alternative onsite 
sewage system installer, conventional onsite sewage system operator, or 
alternative onsite sewage system operator without possessing a valid license 
issued by the board." 
5 Currently $100 application fee, $85 examination fee, plus cost of renewal 
and continuing education to maintain the license. Licenses are renewed every 
two years, which requires submittal of the renewal fee and certification of 
compliance with CPE. 
6 This concept is present in similarly regulated professions, including trades 
(master/journeyman), water well service providers 
(trainee/master/journeyman), and professional engineers and land surveyors 
(in-training). 

Summary: 
The proposed amendments repeal the existing regulations 
and create two new chapters: 18VAC160-30 (regulations 
for the licensing of waterworks and wastewater works 
operators) and 18VAC160-40 (regulations for the 
licensing of onsite sewage system professionals). 
The proposed regulations include (i) definitions; (ii) fees; 
(iii) standards of practice and conduct; (iv) qualifications 
for licensure; (v) requirements for application, 
examination, continuing education, and renewal and 
reinstatement of licenses; and (vi) approval and 
maintenance of training courses. This proposal introduces 
new master and journeyman categories for onsite sewage 
system professional licensees. 
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CHAPTER 30 
WATERWORKS AND WASTEWATER WORKS 

OPERATORS LICENSING REGULATIONS 
Part I 

Definitions 
18VAC160-30-10. Definitions. 

A. Section 54.1-2300 of the Code of Virginia provides 
definitions of the following terms and phrases as used in this 
chapter: 

"Board" 
"Onsite sewage system" 
"Operator" 
"Owner" 
"Wastewater works  
"Waterworks" 

B. The following words, terms, and phrases when used in 
this chapter shall have the following meanings unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Applicant" means an individual who submits an application 
with the appropriate fee and other required documentation. 

"Application" means a completed, board-prescribed form 
submitted with the appropriate fee and other required 
documentation.  

"Category" means a profession under the board's purview, 
which includes waterworks and wastewater works as 
applicable to the licensure of waterworks and wastewater 
works operators. 

"Classification" means the division within each category of 
license as it relates to the classified facility. Class 1 represents 
the highest classification for each category of license.  

"Contact hour" means 50 minutes of participation in a 
structured training activity.  

"Department" means the Virginia Department of 
Professional and Occupational Regulation.  

"DEQ" means the Virginia Department of Environmental 
Quality.  

"Direct supervision" means being immediately available and 
fully responsible for the provision of waterworks and 
wastewater works operation regulated pursuant to Chapter 23 
(§ 54.1-2300 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia and 
this chapter.  

"Direct supervisor" means a licensed waterworks or 
wastewater works operator who assumes the responsibility of 
direct supervision. 

"Licensee" means an individual holding a valid license 
issued by the board.  

"Licensure" means a method of regulation whereby the 
Commonwealth, through the issuance of a license, authorizes 
a person possessing the character and minimum skills to 

engage in the practice of a profession or occupation that 
without such license is unlawful to practice.  

"Maintenance" or "maintain" means performing adjustments 
to equipment and controls and in-kind replacement of normal 
wear and tear parts such as light bulbs, fuses, filters, pumps, 
motors, or other like components. Maintenance includes 
pumping the tanks or cleaning the building sewer on a 
periodic basis. Maintenance shall not include replacement of 
tanks, drainfield piping, or distribution boxes or work 
requiring a construction permit and a licensed onsite sewage 
system installer.  

"Operate" means the act of (i) placing into or taking out of 
service a unit process or unit processes or (ii) making or 
causing adjustments in the operation of a unit process at a 
treatment works.  

"Renewal" means the process and requirements for 
periodically approving the continuance of a license. 

"Training credit" means a unit of board-approved training or 
formal education completed by an individual that may be 
used to substitute for experience when applying for a license.  

"Treatment works" means any device or system used in the 
storage, treatment, disposal, or reclamation of sewage or 
combinations of sewage and industrial wastes including, but 
not limited to, pumping power and other equipment and 
appurtenances, septic tanks, and any works, including land, 
that are or will be (i) an integral part of the treatment 
processes or (ii) used for ultimate disposal or residues or 
effluent resulting from such treatment.  

"VDH" means the Virginia Department of Health.  
Part II 
Entry 

18VAC160-30-20. Application procedures. 
A. All applicants seeking licensure shall submit an 

application with the appropriate fee specified in 18VAC160-
30-40. Application shall be made on forms provided by the 
board or its agent. 

By submitting the application to the department, the 
applicant certifies that the applicant has read and understands 
the applicable statutes and the board's regulations. 

The receipt of an application and the deposit of fees by the 
board does not indicate approval of the application by the 
board. 

B. The board may make further inquiries and investigations 
with respect to the applicant's qualifications to confirm or 
amplify information supplied. All applications shall be 
completed in accordance with the instructions contained 
herein and on the application. Applications will not be 
considered complete until all required documents are received 
by the board. An applicant will not be permitted to sit for the 
applicable board-approved examination until the application 
is complete and approved. 
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C. The applicant will be notified within 30 days of the 
board's receipt of an initial application if the application is 
incomplete. An individual who fails to complete the 
application process within 12 months of receipt of the 
application in the board's office must submit a new 
application. An applicant has 12 months from approval of the 
application to pass the board-approved examination. Failure 
to pass the board-approved examination within 12 months of 
approval will result in the applicant being required to submit 
a new application to be considered for licensure. 

D. The applicant shall immediately report all changes in 
information supplied with the application, if applicable, prior 
to issuance of the license or expiration of the application or 
examination period.  
18VAC160-30-30. General fee requirements. 

All fees are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated. The 
date on which the fee is received by the department or its 
agent will determine whether the fee is on time. Checks or 
money orders shall be made payable to the Treasurer of 
Virginia.  
18VAC160-30-40. Fee schedule. 

Fee Type Fee Amount When Due 

Initial application 
(for each 
profession, class, 
and category of 
license) 

$100 With application 

Renewal (for each 
profession, class, 
and category of 
license) 

$100 With renewal 
application 

Reinstatement 
(for each 
profession, class, 
and category of 
license) 

$125 (renewal 
fee + $25 

reinstatement 
fee) 

With 
reinstatement 
application 

18VAC160-30-50. Examination fee. 
The fee for examination or reexamination is subject to 

charges to the department by an outside vendor based on a 
contract entered into in compliance with Virginia Public 
Procurement Act (§ 2.2-4300 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 
Fees may be adjusted and charged to the candidate in 
accordance with this contract.  
18VAC160-30-60. General requirements for licensure. 

A. In addition to the specific qualifications for each category 
and classification of licensure, each applicant for licensure 
shall meet the requirements provided in this section.  

1. The applicant shall be at least 18 years old.  

2. The applicant shall disclose his mailing address. A post 
office box is only acceptable as a mailing address when a 
physical address is also provided. 
3. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 
each applicant shall disclose the following information.  

a. All felony convictions. 
b. All misdemeanor convictions in any jurisdiction that 
occurred within three years of the date of application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere or finding of guilt regardless 
of adjudication or deferred adjudication shall be considered 
a conviction for the purposes of this section. The record of 
conviction certified or authenticated in such form as to be 
admissible in evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction 
where convicted shall be admissible as prima facie 
evidence of such guilt.  

B. The board, at its discretion, may deny licensure to any 
applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

C. The applicant shall report suspensions, revocations, or 
surrendering of a license, certification, or registration in 
connection with a disciplinary action or that has been the 
subject of discipline in any jurisdiction prior to applying for 
licensure. The board, at its discretion, may deny licensure to 
any applicant based on prior suspensions, revocations, or 
surrender of licenses based on disciplinary action by any 
jurisdiction.  
18VAC160-30-70. Examination procedures and conduct. 

A. Upon approval of the application, the board will notify 
the applicant of his eligibility to take the applicable 
examination. The license will not be issued prior to receipt of 
a passing score for the applicable examination.  

B. An applicant who does not receive a passing score within 
one year after the date of approval of the application by the 
board to sit for the examination, must submit a new 
application and meet the entry requirement in effect at the 
time of submittal of the new application.  

C. The applicant shall follow all rules established by the 
board with regard to conduct at the examination. Such rules 
shall include all written instructions communicated prior to 
the examination date and all instructions communicated at the 
site, either written or oral, on the date of examination. Failure 
to comply with all rules established by the board and the 
testing organization with regard to conduct at the examination 
may be grounds for denial of the application, voiding of 
examination scores, or any combination thereof.  
18VAC160-30-80. Individuals certified or licensed in 
another jurisdiction. 

Any applicant holding a valid license or certificate in 
another jurisdiction who meets the requirements of this 
chapter, including having equivalent experience and 
education, shall pass the appropriate Virginia examination to 
become licensed.  
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18VAC160-30-90. License required. 
A. No individual shall serve as an operator of a waterworks 

or wastewater works without possessing a valid category of 
license issued by the board in a classification equal to or 
greater than the classification of the waterworks or 
wastewater works to be operated.  

B. An individual cannot simultaneously hold two licenses of 
different classifications in the same category.  

C. Experience used to qualify for licensure must be obtained 
under the direct supervision of an operator holding a valid 
license of the same category and of a classification equal to or 
higher than the classification of the waterworks or wastewater 
works at which the experience was gained.  

D. Except as provided in subsection E of this section, 
experience limited solely to the operation and maintenance of 
wastewater collection systems and water distribution systems, 
laboratory work, plant maintenance, and other nonoperating 
duties shall not be counted as experience as an operator or an 
operator-in-training.  

E. Experience operating and maintaining water distribution 
systems shall only be considered for Class 5 or Class 6 
waterworks operator license applicants.  

F. Provisional licensure alone shall not authorize an 
individual to serve as the operator of a classified waterworks 
or wastewater works facility.  
18VAC160-30-100. Full-time experience or equivalent. 

For the purposes of this part, experience requirements are 
expressed in terms of calendar periods of full-time 
employment as an operator or as an operator-in-training at a 
waterworks or wastewater works in the same category for 
which licensure is sought. 

1. A year of full-time employment is defined as a 
minimum of 1,760 hours during a 12-month period or a 
minimum of 220 workdays in a 12-month period. A 
workday is defined as attendance at a waterworks or 
wastewater works to the extent required for proper 
operation. More than 1,760 hours or 220 workdays during 
a 12-month period will not be considered as more than one 
year of full-time employment. 
2. Partial credit may be given for actual hours of work or 
workdays experience if the applicant works as an operator 
or as an operator-in-training less than full time. 

 

18VAC160-30-110. Qualifications for examination approval. 
A. An applicant for licensure as a waterworks or wastewater works operator shall furnish acceptable documentation that one 

of the following qualifications has been met. 

TABLE 1 
Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operator Experience and Education 

Classes Education 
Required 

Current 
License 

Minimum 
Experience Facility Type Experience with 

Substitutions 

Class 6 
(Waterworks 

Operator 
Only) 

High 
school 

diploma or 
GED 

N/A Six 
months Class 6 or higher facility N/A 

No high 
school 

diploma or 
GED 

N/A One year Class 6 or higher facility N/A 

  

Class 5 
(Waterworks 

Operator 
Only) 

High 
school 

diploma or 
GED 

N/A Six 
months Class 5 or higher facility N/A 

No high 
school 

diploma or 
GED 

N/A One year Class 5 or higher facility N/A 
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Class 4 

High 
school 

diploma or 
GED 

N/A Six 
months Class 4 or higher facility N/A 

No high 
school 

diploma or 
GED 

N/A One year Class 4 or higher facility N/A 

  

Class 3 

Bachelor's 
or master's 

degree 
N/A Six 

months Class 4 or higher facility N/A 

Associate's 
degree N/A Nine 

months Class 4 or higher facility Six months 

High 
school 

diploma or 
GED 

N/A One year Class 4 or higher facility Six months 

No high 
school 

diploma or 
GED 

Class 4 
license 

Three 
years Class 3 or higher facility One and one-half years 

  

Class 2 

Bachelor's 
or master's 

degree 
N/A One year Class 3 or higher facility Six months 

Associate's 
degree N/A 18 months Class 3 or higher facility Nine months 

High 
school 

diploma or 
GED 

N/A Two years Class 3 or higher facility One year 

No High 
school 

diploma or 
GED 

Class 3 
license Five years Class 2 or higher facility Three and one-half years 

  

Class 1 

Bachelor's 
or master's 

degree 

Class 2 
license Two years Class 2 or higher facility One year 

Associate's 
degree 

Class 2 
license 

Three 
years Class 2 or higher facility One and one-half years 

High 
school 

diploma or 
GED 

Class 2 
license Four years Class 2 or higher facility Two years 

No high Class 2 Nine years Class 2 or higher facility Four and one-half years 
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school 
diploma or 

GED 

license 

Where applicable, the current license held, minimum experience, and the facility type must coincide with the category of 
license for which the application is being submitted. 
B. The direct supervisor shall certify the experience on the 

application form as accurate and relevant to the classification 
and category of license for which is being submitted. In the 
event that a licensed operator is not available to certify the 
experience of the applicant, the experience may be certified 
by a representative of the facility owner with first-hand 
knowledge of the applicant's experience.  
18VAC160-30-120. Provisional licensure for nonclassified 
facility operation. 

An applicant for licensure as a provisional waterworks or 
wastewater works operator shall furnish acceptable 
documentation of having met all of the requirements of 
18VAC160-30-110 except that the experience requirement 
may be met through experience gained as an operator or 
operator-in-training of a nonclassified facility. Such 
experience must be gained under the following conditions: 

1. The experience is obtained at a nonclassified facility that 
is comparable in size and in treatment process as described 
in 18VAC160-30-360 and 18VAC160-30-370, as 
applicable.  
2. The experience is obtained while performing 
nonclassified facility operation duties that provide 
experience comparable to that obtained at a classified 
facility. Experience limited solely to the operation and 
maintenance of wastewater collection systems and water 
distribution systems, laboratory work, plant maintenance, 
and other nonoperating duties shall not be counted as 
qualifying experience for Class 1, Class 2, Class 3, or 
Class 4 provisional licenses but may be counted for a 
provisional Class 5 or Class 6 license. 
3. Any individual holding a provisional license may apply 
for licensure by submitting evidence of having met 50% of 
the experience required by 18VAC160-30-110 and 
submitting the appropriate application.  

18VAC160-30-130. Experience substitutions. 
A. Experience obtained as a master alternative onsite 

sewage system operator may be substituted for the Class 4 
wastewater works operator in training experience 
requirements.  

B. 18VAC160-30-110 A provides the maximum experience 
substitutions that may be applied for each applicable class of 
license.  

1. Experience gained in either waterworks or wastewater 
works operations may be substituted for up to one-half of 
the required experience in the alternate category so long as 
the experience was gained in an equivalent or higher class 
of facility.  

2. Education may be substituted for part of the required 
experience in the category of license applied for at a rate of 
one month of experience credit for each semester hour of 
college credit. Coursework must be relevant to the 
category and classification of the license being sought. The 
college credit must be from an accredited college or 
university that is approved or accredited by the 
Commission of Colleges, a regional or national 
accreditation association, or by an accreditation agency 
that is recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education.  
3. Board-approved waterworks or wastewater works 
operator training may be substituted for experience at a 
rate of one month experience for each training credit 
approved by the board.  

C. Substitutions shall not exceed 50% of the total experience 
required for licensure.  
18VAC160-30-140. Education. 

A. Applicants seeking to qualify for licensure based on 
completion of an associate's, bachelor's, or master's degree 
shall submit an official transcript from the school where the 
applicable degree was obtained. Only degrees from an 
accredited college or university that is approved or accredited 
by the Commission on Colleges, a regional or national 
accreditation association, or by an accrediting agency that is 
recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education will be 
considered. Formal education used to meet a specific 
education requirement for license entry cannot also be used as 
a training credit for experience substitution. 

B. The following degrees shall be considered to qualify in 
accordance with 18VAC160-30-110: 

1. Bachelor's or master's degree in engineering or 
engineering technology in a related physical, biological, 
environmental, or chemical science; 
2. Bachelor's degree in a related physical, biological, 
environmental, or chemical science that includes a 
minimum 40 semester credit hours in any combination of 
science and math; 
3. Master's degree in a related physical, biological, 
environmental, or chemical science, and a bachelor's 
degree in any major such that the combined degrees 
include a minimum 40 semester credit hours in any 
combination of science and math; or 
4. Associate's degree in waterworks, in wastewater works, 
or in a related physical, biological, environmental, or 
chemical science that includes a minimum of 20 credit 
hours in any combination of science and math. 
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Part III 
Renewal and Reinstatement 

18VAC160-30-150. Expiration and renewal. 
A. Licenses for waterworks operators shall expire on the last 

day of February of each odd-numbered year. Licenses for 
wastewater works operators shall expire on the last day of 
February of each even-numbered year. 

B. Prior to the expiration date shown on the license, the 
board shall mail a renewal notice to the licensee's address of 
record. The licensee shall return to the board a renewal notice 
and the applicable renewal fee. Failure to receive a renewal 
notice from the board does not relieve the licensee of the 
obligation to renew. If the licensee fails to receive the renewal 
notice, a copy of the license may be submitted with the 
required fee as an application for renewal.  

C. By submitting the renewal or reinstatement fee, the 
licensee is certifying his continued compliance with the 
Standards of Practice and Conduct (Part VI (18VAC160-30-
290 et seq.) of this chapter), as established by the board. In 
addition, by submitting the renewal or reinstatement fee, 
licensees are certifying compliance with the continuing 
professional education requirements of this chapter.  
18VAC160-30-160. Reinstatement. 

A. If all of the requirements for renewal of the license as 
specified in 18VAC160-30-150 are not completed within 30 
days of the license expiration date, a reinstatement fee shall 
be required as established in 18VAC160-30-40. 

B. A license may be reinstated for up to one year following 
the expiration date of the license. Any licensee who fails to 
reinstate the license within 12 months after the expiration date 
shall apply for a new license and meet entry requirements in 
effect at the time of the submittal of the new application. 
Such individual shall be deemed to be eligible to sit for the 
examination for the same category and classification of 
license as the expired license.  

C. Any regulated activity conducted subsequent to the 
license expiration date may constitute unlicensed activity and 
be subject to the prosecution under Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-100 et 
seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.  
18VAC160-30-170. Status of license during period prior to 
reinstatement. 

A licensee who applies for reinstatement of the license shall 
be subject to all laws and regulations as if the licensee had 
been continuously licensed. The licensee shall remain under 
and be subject to the disciplinary authority of the board 
during this entire period.  
18VAC160-30-180. Board discretion to deny renewal or 
reinstatement. 

The board may deny renewal or reinstatement of a license 
for the same reasons as the board may refuse initial licensure 
or discipline a licensee.  

The board may deny renewal or reinstatement of a license if 
the licensee has been subject to a disciplinary proceeding and 
has not met the terms of an agreement for licensure, has not 
satisfied all sanctions, or has not fully paid monetary 
penalties and costs, imposed by the board. 

Part IV 
Continuing Professional Education 

18VAC160-30-190. Continuing professional education. 
A. Each licensee shall have completed the following number 

of continuing professional education (CPE) contact hours 
during each renewal cycle. CPE provisions do not apply for 
the renewal of licenses that were held for less than two years 
on the date of expiration 

1. Class 1, Class 2, and Class 3 waterworks and wastewater 
works operators shall obtain a minimum of 20 contact 
hours. 
2. Class 4 waterworks and wastewater works operators 
shall obtain a minimum of 16 contact hours. 
3. Class 5 waterworks operators shall obtain a minimum of 
eight contact hours. 
4. Class 6 operators shall obtain a minimum of four contact 
hours.  

B. CPE contact hours completed during the license period 
immediately prior to the expiration date of the license shall be 
acceptable in order to renew the license. CPE contact hours 
completed during a licensing renewal cycle to satisfy the CPE 
requirements of the preceding licensing renewal cycle shall 
be valid only for that preceding license renewal cycle and 
shall not be accepted for any subsequent renewal cycles.  

C. The licensee will not receive CPE credit for completing 
the same continuing education course with the same content 
more than once during a license period. 

D. A licensee may receive CPE credit for teaching a course 
that otherwise meets the requirements of this chapter; 
however, additional credit shall not be given for subsequent 
offerings of a course or activity with the same content within 
the same licensing cycle. In addition, a licensee may receive 
two hours of CPE no more than once during a single licensing 
cycle for the initial development or substantial updating of the 
CPE course. 

E. Safety subjects shall not count for more than one half of 
the total required CPE hours. 
18VAC160-30-200. CPE subject matter for waterworks 
operators. 

A. The following course topics will be accepted for CPE 
credit for waterworks operators: 

1. Waterworks operations; 
2. Monitoring, evaluating, and adjusting treatment 
processes and systems; 
3. Operating and maintaining equipment; 
4. Security and safety procedures; 
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5. General science and mathematical principles; 
6. Administrative processes and procedures applicable to 
licensure; and 
7. Laws and regulations applicable to the profession. 

B. Of the total 20 hours required, a minimum of five content 
hours pertaining to utility management is required of Class 1 
and Class 2 waterworks operators.  
18VAC160-30-210. CPE subject matter for wastewater 
works operators. 

A. The following course topics will be accepted for CPE 
credit for wastewater works operators: 

1. Wastewater works operations; 
2. Monitoring, evaluating, and adjusting treatment 
processes and systems; 
3. Operating and maintaining equipment; 
4. Security and safety procedures; 
5. General science and mathematical principles; 
6. Administrative processes and procedures applicable to 
licensure; and 
7. Laws and regulations applicable to the profession. 

B. Of the total 20 hours required, a minimum of five content 
hours pertaining to utility management is required of Class 1 
and Class 2 wastewater works operators.  
18VAC160-30-220. Use of training credits and formal 
education for CPE credit. 

Any course approved by the board for substitution as 
training credits or formal education semester hours, as 
provided for in Part V (18VAC160-30-240 et seq.) of this 
chapter, shall also be acceptable on an hour-for-hour basis for 
CPE contact hours. One semester hour of college credit shall 
equal 15 CPE contact hours, and one-quarter hour of college 
credit shall equal 10 CPE credit hours. 
18VAC160-30-230. Maintenance of CPE. 

A. For a period of at least two years following the end of the 
license renewal cycle for which the CPE was taken, the 
following evidence shall be maintained to document 
completion of the required hours of CPE: 

1. Evidence of completion of a structured training activity, 
which shall consist of the name, address, and telephone 
number of the sponsor; 
2. The dates the licensee participated in the training; 
3. Description of the subject matter presented; and 
4. A statement from the sponsor verifying the number of 
hours completed.  

B. The board may conduct an audit of its licensees to ensure 
compliance with the applicable CPE requirements. Licensees 
who are selected for audit shall provide the necessary 
documentation stipulated in this section. 

Part V 
Training Course Approval 

18VAC160-30-240. Approval of training courses. 
A. Training courses may be substituted for experience 

pursuant to the provisions of Part II (18VAC160-30-20 et 
seq.) of this chapter. With the exception of training courses 
provided pursuant to 18VAC160-30-280, training courses 
that may be substituted for required experience must be 
approved by the board prior to commencing. 

B. Each training provider seeking course approval shall 
submit an application for approval on a form provided by the 
board. Training courses for which experience credit may be 
granted must be conducted in general conformance with the 
guidelines of the International Association for Continuing 
Education and Training (association). The board reserves the 
right to waive any of the requirements of the association's 
guidelines on a case-by-case basis. Only classroom, 
laboratory, and field trip contact time will be used to compute 
training credits. No credit will be given for breaks, meals, or 
receptions.  

1. Organization. The board will only approve training 
offered by a sponsor that is an identifiable organization 
with a mission statement outlining its functions, structure, 
process, and philosophy and that has a staff of one or more 
persons with the authority to administer and coordinate a 
training course.  
2. Training course records. The board will only approve 
training offered by a sponsor that maintains training course 
records for all participants for a minimum of seven years 
and that has a written policy on retention and release of 
training course records.  
3. Instructors. The board will only approve training 
conducted by personnel who have demonstrated 
competence in the subject being taught, an understanding 
of the learning objective, and knowledge of the learning 
process to be used.  
4. Objectives. The board will only approve courses that 
have a series of stated objectives that are pertinent to the 
tasks performed by a licensee. The training course content 
must be consistent with those objectives.  
5. Course completion requirements. For successful 
completion of a training course, participants must attend 
90% or more of the class contact time and must 
demonstrate their learning through written examinations, 
completion of a project, oral examination, or other similar 
assessment technique. 

18VAC160-30-250. Application for training course 
approval. 

A.  The board shall consider the following information, to be 
submitted by the course sponsor or instructor on forms 
provided by the board:  

1. Course information.  
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a. Course title;  
b. Planned audience;  
c. Name of sponsor;  
d. Name, physical address, email address, and phone 
number of contact person;  
e. Scheduled presentation dates;  
f. Detailed course schedule, hour-by-hour, including start 
and ending times; 
g. List of planned breaks;  
h. Scheduled presentation location; and  
i. Identification of the category and classification of 
license to which the course is applicable and relevancy to 
the identified license type.  

2. Instructor qualifications.  
a. Name of instructor;  
b. Title; 
c. Employer;  
d. Board license number or numbers, if applicable; and  
e. Summary of qualifications to teach the course.  

3. Training materials.  
a. Course objectives. A listing of the course objectives 
stated in terms of the skills and knowledge the participant 
will be able to demonstrate as a result of the training.  
b. Course outline. A detailed outline showing the planned 
activities that will occur during the training course, 
including major topics, planned presentation sequence, 
laboratory and field activities, audiovisual presentation, 
and other major activities.  
c. Course reference materials. A list of the name, 
publisher, and publication date for commercially 
available publications. For reference materials developed 
by the course sponsor or available exclusively through 
the course, a copy of the reference.  
d. Audiovisual support materials. A listing of any 
commercially available audiovisual support material that 
will be used in the program. A brief description of any 
sponsor or instructor generated audiovisual material that 
will be used.  
e. Handouts. Identification of all commercially available 
handout materials that will be used, as well as copies of 
all other planned handouts.  

4. Determination of successful completion. A description 
of the means that will be used to assess the learning of each 
participant to determine successful completion of the 
training program, such as examinations, projects, personal 
evaluations by the instructor, or other recognized 
evaluation techniques. Correspondence and other distance 
learning courses must include appropriate testing 
procedures to verify completion of the course. 

B. Recurring training programs. If there are plans to present 
the same course of instruction routinely at multiple locations 
with only minor modifications and changes, the board may 
approve the overall program rather than individual 
presentations if so requested by the sponsor.  

1. The board shall consider all of the information listed in 
subsection A of this section except those items related to 
specific offerings of the course. 
2. Board approval will apply only to those specific 
offerings certified by the sponsoring organization as 
having been conducted by instructors meeting the 
established criteria and in accordance with the board-
approved course outlines and objectives. 

18VAC160-30-260. Maintenance of training approval. 
A. At times established by the board, the board may require 

that course providers that have previously obtained course 
approval provide the board with evidence, in a form set forth 
by the board, that the provider continues to comply with the 
requirements of this chapter. Failure to continue to comply 
with the board's requirements or respond to such a request 
may result in the board withdrawing its approval.  

B. Substantial modifications or changes to the information 
provided in 18VAC160-30-240 and 18VAC160-30-250 must 
be reported to the board within 30 days of the change. Failure 
to report the changes as required may result in the withdrawal 
of approval by the board. 

C. Any change of the address of the training provider shall 
be reported in writing within 30 days of the change. 

D. The board may conduct an audit of the training provider 
to ensure compliance with this chapter. 
18VAC160-30-270. Withdrawal of approval. 

The board may withdraw approval of any provider for the 
following reasons:  

1. The courses being offered no longer meet the standards 
established by the board.  
2. The provider, through an agent or otherwise, advertises 
its services in a fraudulent or deceptive way.  
3. The provider, instructor, or designee of the provider 
falsifies any information relating to the application for 
approval, course information, and student records. 
4. The provider fails to respond to the board or any of its 
agents. 

18VAC160-30-280. Training courses offered by certain 
entities; board approval not required. 

A. Training courses provided by (i) federal, state, or local 
government agencies; (ii) accredited colleges or universities 
approved or accredited by the Commission on Colleges; (iii) 
a regional or national accreditation association; or (iv) an 
accrediting agency that is recognized by the U.S. Secretary of 
Education do not require board approval to be used for 
experience substitution, provided the training course 
information submitted to the board includes the following: 
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1. The course must include the continuing education units 
awarded by the entity. 
2. The course must be related to the license category and 
classification, if applicable, for which experience 
substitution is sought. 

B. The board may request additional information from the 
provider as necessary to ensure compliance with this section. 
If such assurance cannot be made by the board, the training 
course may not be used for experience substitution, or the 
provider may pursue board approval pursuant to this chapter. 

Part VI 
Standards of Practice and Conduct 

18VAC160-30-290. Grounds for disciplinary action. 
The board may place a licensee on probation; impose a 

monetary penalty in accordance with § 54.1-202 A of the 
Code of Virginia; or revoke, suspend, or refuse to renew any 
license when the licensee has been found to have violated or 
cooperated with others in violating any provision of the 
regulations of the board or Chapter 23 (§ 54.1-2300 et seq.) 
of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 
18VAC160-30-300. Maintenance of license. 

A. No license issued by the board shall be assigned or 
otherwise transferred.  

B. A licensee shall report, in writing, all changes of address 
and name to the board within 30 days of the change and shall 
return the license to the board. In addition to the address of 
record, a physical address is required for each license. If the 
licensee holds more than one license, the licensee shall 
inform the board of all licenses, certificates, and registrations 
affected by the address change. The board shall not be 
responsible for the licensee's failure to receive notices or 
correspondence due to the licensee's failure to report a change 
of address. 

C. Any change in any of the requirements and qualifications 
for licensure found in Part II (18VAC160-30-20 et seq.) or 
Part III (18VAC160-30-150 et seq.) of this chapter shall be 
reported to the board within 30 days of the change. 
18VAC160-30-310. Notice of adverse action. 

A. Licensees shall notify the board of the following actions 
against the licensee:  

1. Any disciplinary action taken by any jurisdiction, board, 
or administrative body of competent jurisdiction, including 
but not limited to any reprimand, license or certificate 
revocation, suspension or denial, monetary penalty, 
requirement for remedial education, or other corrective 
action.  
2. Any voluntary surrendering of a related license, 
certificate, or registration done in connection with a 
disciplinary action in another jurisdiction. 
3. Any conviction, finding of guilt, or plea of guilty, 
regardless of adjudication or deferred adjudication, in any 
jurisdiction of the United States of any misdemeanor 

involving lying, cheating, stealing, sexual offense, drug 
distribution, or physical injury or relating to the practice of 
the profession, or of any felony, there being no appeal 
pending therefrom or the time for appeal having lapsed. 
Review of convictions shall be subject to the requirements 
of § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. Any plea of nolo 
contendere shall be considered a conviction for the purpose 
of this section. 

B. The notice must be made to the board in writing within 
30 days of the action. A copy of the order or other supporting 
documentation must accompany the notice. The record of 
conviction, finding, or case decision shall be considered 
prima facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. 
18VAC160-30-320. Prohibited acts. 

The following acts are prohibited and any violation may 
result in disciplinary action by the board: 

1. Violating, inducing another to violate, cooperating with 
another to violate, or combining or conspiring with or 
acting as agent, partner, or associate for another to violate 
any of the provisions of Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.), 2 
(§ 54.1-200 et seq.), or 23 (§ 54.1-2300 et seq.) of Title 
54.1 of the Code of Virginia, or any of the regulations of 
the board.  
2. Allowing a license issued by the board to be used by 
another. 
3. Obtaining or attempting to obtain a license by false or 
fraudulent representation, or maintaining or renewing a 
license by false or fraudulent representation. 
4. A licensee having been convicted, found guilty, or 
disciplined in any jurisdiction of any offense or violation 
enumerated in 18VAC160-30-310. Review of convictions 
shall be subject to the requirements of § 54.1-204 of the 
Code of Virginia. 
5. Failing to inform the board in writing within 30 days 
that the licensee was convicted, found guilty, or disciplined 
in any jurisdiction of any offense or violation enumerated 
in 18VAC160-30-310. 
6. Not demonstrating reasonable care, judgment, or 
application of the required knowledge, skill, and ability in 
the performance of the licensee's duties.  
7. Having undertaken to perform or performed a 
professional assignment that the licensee is not qualified to 
perform by education, experience, training, or any 
combination thereof. 
8. Failing to report a change as required by 18VAC160-30-
300. 
9. Negligence, misconduct, or incompetence in the practice 
of the profession. 
10. Making any misrepresentation or engaging in acts of 
fraud or deceit in providing professional services.  
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11. Failing to adequately supervise and review work 
performed by licensed or unlicensed employees under 
direct supervision of the licensee. 
12. Submitting or recording or assisting another in the 
submission or recording of false or misleading operational 
information relating to the performance and monitoring 
requirements of a waterworks or wastewater works. 
13. Failing to act in providing waterworks and wastewater 
works operator services in a manner that safeguards the 
interests of the public. 

18VAC160-30-330. Conflicts of interest. 
The licensee shall:  

1. Promptly and fully inform an employer or client of any 
business association, interest, or circumstance that may 
influence the licensee's judgment or the quality of service. 
2. Not accept compensation, financial or otherwise, from 
more than one party for services on or pertaining to the 
same project, unless the circumstances are fully disclosed 
to and agreed to by all interested parties in writing. 
3. Neither solicit nor accept financial or other valuable 
consideration from material or equipment suppliers for 
specifying their products or services. 
4. Not solicit or accept gratuities, directly or indirectly, 
from contractors or their agents or other parties dealing 
with a client or employer in connection with work for 
which the licensee is responsible.  

18VAC160-30-340. Licensee responsibility. 
A. The primary obligation of the licensee is to the public. If 

the licensee's judgment is overruled and not adhered to when 
advising appropriate parties of circumstances of a substantial 
threat to the public health, safety, or welfare, the licensee 
shall inform the employer or client, as applicable, of the 
possible consequences and notify appropriate authorities.  

B. The licensee shall not knowingly associate in a business 
venture with, or permit the use of the licensee's name by, any 
person where there is reason to believe that person is 
engaging in activity of a fraudulent or dishonest nature or is 
violating any law or regulation of the board.  

C. A licensee who has direct knowledge that another 
individual may be violating any of the provisions of this 
chapter or the provisions of Chapter 23 (§ 54.1-2300 et seq.) 
of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia shall immediately 
inform the board in writing and shall cooperate in furnishing 
any further information or assistance that may be required.  
18VAC160-30-350. Response to inquiry and provision of 
records. 

A. A licensee must respond within 10 days to a request by 
the board or any of its agents regarding any complaint filed 
with the department. 

B. Unless otherwise specified by the board, a licensee of the 
board shall produce to the board or any of its agents within 10 
days of the request any document, book, or record concerning 

any transaction pertaining to a complaint filed in which the 
licensee was involved, or for which the licensee is required to 
maintain records. The board may extend such timeframe upon 
a showing of extenuating circumstances prohibiting delivery 
within such 10-day period.  

C. A licensee shall not provide a false, misleading, or 
incomplete response to the board or any of its agents seeking 
information in the investigation of a complaint filed with the 
board. 

D. With the exception of the requirements of subsections A 
and B of this section, a licensee must respond to an inquiry by 
the board or its agent within 21 days. 
18VAC160-30-360. Wastewater works. 

A. A Class 4 wastewater works licensee may operate any 
wastewater works as follows: 

1. A wastewater works employing biological mechanical 
methods (i.e., mechanical treatment process defined as 
those containing aerated and mixed flows using electrical 
or outside energy sources) with a design hydraulic capacity 
greater than 1,000 gallons per day but equal to or less than 
.04 MGD;  
2. A wastewater works employing natural treatment 
methods (referenced in 9VAC25-790-870 as land treatment 
utilizing a secondary process for pretreatment followed by 
irrigation, overland flow infiltration-percolation, or 
combination thereof or aquatic ponds or constructed 
wetlands) with a design hydraulic capacity greater than 
1,000 gallons per day but equal to or less than 1.0 MGD; or 
3. Any other wastewater works classified by DEQ or VDH 
as a Class 4 wastewater works.  

B. A Class 3 wastewater works licensee may operate any 
wastewater works as follows: 

1. A wastewater works using biological treatment methods 
consisting of but not limited to (i) suspended growth 
reactors, (ii) aerated lagoons, (iii) constructed wetlands, 
(iv) filters or other attached growth contractors, (v) 
processes utilizing biological nutrient control, or (vi) 
processes utilizing land treatment having a design 
hydraulic capacity greater than 0.04 MGD, but equal to or 
less than 0.5 MGD; 
2. A wastewater works using natural treatment methods 
(referenced in 9VAC25-790-870 as land treatment utilizing 
a secondary process for pretreatment followed by 
irrigation, overland flow infiltration-percolation, or 
combination thereof or aquatic ponds or constructed 
wetlands) with a design hydraulic capacity greater than 1.0 
MGD; 
3. A wastewater works using advanced waste treatment 
methods consisting of but not limited to (i) ammonia 
stripping, (ii) breakpoint chlorination, (iii) carbon 
adsorption, (iv) chemical coagulation, (v) flocculation, (vi) 
precipitation, (vii) filtration, or (viii) demineralization (i.e., 
ion exchange, reverse osmosis, or electrodialysis) having a 
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design hydraulic capacity greater than 1,000 gallons per 
day but equal to or less than 0.1 MGD; or 
4. A wastewater works classified by DEQ or VDH as a 
Class 3 or Class 4 wastewater works facility.  

C. A Class 2 wastewater works licensee may operate any 
wastewater works as follows: 

1. A wastewater works using biological treatment methods 
consisting of but not limited to (i) suspended growth 
reactors, (ii) aerated lagoons or constructed wetlands, (iii) 
filters or other attached growth contactors, (iv) processes 
utilizing biological nutrient control, or (v) processes 
utilizing land application having a design hydraulic 
capacity greater than 0.5 MGD but equal to or less than 5.0 
MGD; 
2. A wastewater works using advanced waste treatment 
methods consisting of but not limited to (i) ammonia 
stripping, (ii) breakpoint chlorination, (iii) carbon 
adsorption, (iv) chemical coagulation, (v) flocculation, (vi) 
precipitation, (vii) filtration, (viii) demineralization (i.e., 
ion exchange, reverse osmosis, or electrodialysis) and 
having a hydraulic capacity greater than 0.1 MGD but 
equal to or less than 2.5 MGD; or 
3. A wastewater works classified by DEQ or VDH as a 
Class 2, Class 3, or Class 4 wastewater works.  

D. A Class 1 wastewater works licensee may operate any 
wastewater works as follows: 

1. A wastewater works using biological treatment methods 
consisting of but not limited to (i) suspended growth 
reactors, (ii) aerated lagoons or constructed wetlands, (iii) 
filters or other attached growth contactors, (iv) processes 
utilizing biological nutrient control, (v) processes utilizing 
land treatment and having a hydraulic capacity greater than 
5.0 MGD; 
2. A wastewater works using advanced waste treatment 
methods consisting of but not limited to (i) ammonia 
stripping, (ii) breaking chlorination, (iii) carbon adsorption, 
(iv) chemical coagulation, (v) flocculation, (vi) 
precipitation, (vii) filtration, (viii) demineralization (i.e., 
ion exchange, reverse osmosis, or electrodialysis) and 
having a design capacity greater than 2.5 MGD; 
3. A wastewater works classified by DEQ or VDH as a 
Class 1, Class 2, Class 3, or Class 4 wastewater works. 

18VAC160-30-370. Waterworks. 
A. A Class 6 waterworks licensee may operate any 

waterworks as follows: 
1. A waterworks serving fewer than 400 persons that 
provides no treatment or employs one or more of the 
following treatment processes: (i) hypochlorination for 
disinfection, (ii) corrosion control with calcite or 
magnesium oxide contactors or solution feed except with 
caustic, or (iii) sequestration by solution feed; or 

2. A waterworks classified by VDH as a Class 6 
waterworks. 

B. A Class 5 waterworks licensee may operate any 
waterworks as follows: 

1. A waterworks serving 400 or more persons that provides 
no treatment or employs one or more of the following 
treatment processes: (i) hypochlorination for disinfection, 
(ii) corrosion control with calcite or magnesium oxide 
contactors or solution feed except with caustic, or (iii) 
sequestration by solution feed; or 
2. A waterworks classified by VDH as a Class 5 
waterworks. 

C. A Class 4 waterworks licensee may operate any 
waterworks as follows: 

1. A waterworks or treatment facility serving fewer than 
5,000 persons or having a treatment facility capacity of less 
than 0.5 MGD and employing one or more of the 
following: (i) disinfection other than with 
hypochlorination, (ii) caustic soda feed, (iii) iron and 
manganese removal, (iv) ion exchange, (v) slow sand 
filtration, (vi) aeration, (vii) rechlorination other than with 
hypochlorination, (viii) activated carbon contactors, (ix) 
membrane or other filtration technologies without chemical 
coagulation, or (x) fluoridation with a saturator; or 
2. A waterworks classified by VDH as a Class 4 
waterworks.  

D. A Class 3 waterworks licensee may operate any 
waterworks as follows: 

1. A waterworks or treatment facility serving fewer than 
5,000 persons or having a treatment facility capacity less 
than 0.5 MGD, whichever is greater, and employing 
conventional filtration or chemical coagulation in 
combination with membrane filtration; 
2. A waterworks or treatment facility serving 5,000 or 
more persons or having a treatment facility capacity of 0.5 
MGD or more, whichever is greater, and employing one or 
more of the following: (i) disinfection other than with 
hypochlorination, (ii) caustic soda feed, (iii) iron and 
manganese removal, (iv) ion exchange, (v) slow sand 
filtration, (vi) aeration, (vii) rechlorination other than with 
hypochlorination, (viii) activated carbon contactors, (ix) 
membrane or other filtration technologies without chemical 
coagulation, or (x) fluoridation with a saturator or acid 
feed; 
3. A waterworks or treatment facility employing 
fluoridation with other than a saturator not considered a 
Class 1 or Class 2 waterworks; or 
4. A waterworks classified by VDH as a Class 3 
waterworks.  
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E. A Class 2 waterworks licensee may operate any 
waterworks as follows: 

1. A waterworks or treatment facility serving 5,000 or 
more persons but fewer than 50,000 persons or having a 
treatment facility capacity of 0.5 MGD or more but less 
than 5.0 MGD, whichever range applies, and employing 
rapid rate conventional filtration chemical coagulation in 
combination with membrane filtration; 
2. A waterworks or treatment facility serving fewer than 
50,000 persons or having a treatment facility capacity of 
less than 5.0 MGD employing high rate 
conventional  filtration; or 
3. A waterworks classified by the VDH as a Class 2 
waterworks. 

F. A Class 1 waterworks licensee may operate any 
waterworks as follows: 

1. A waterworks or treatment facility serving 50,000 or 
more persons or having a treatment facility capacity of 5.0 
MGD or more and employing conventional filtration or 
chemical coagulation in combination with membrane 
filtration; or 
2. A waterworks classified by VDH as a Class 1 
waterworks. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 
regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 
published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 
a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 
agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 
Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 
Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 
FORMS (18VAC160-30) 

Waterworks Operator License Application, A436-1955LIC-
v3 (eff. 7/2016) 

Provisional Waterworks Operator License Application, 
A436-1955PLIC-v2 (eff. 7/2016) 

Wastewater Works Operator License Application, A436-
1965LIC-v2 (eff. 7/2016) 

Provisional Wastewater Works Operator License 
Application, A436-1965PLIC-v2 (eff. 7/2016) 

Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operator - Upgrade 
Provisional License Application, A436-1955_65UPG-v3 (eff. 
7/2016) 

Out-of-State Facility Description and Experience 
Verification Application, A436-19STATE_EXP-v3 (eff. 
4/2015) 

Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operator Experience 
Verification Application, A436-19WWEXP-v3 (eff. 1/2014) 

Provisional Description and Experience Verification 
Application, A436-1955_65PEXP-v3 (eff. 12/2014) 

Continuing Professional Education (CPE) Application - 
Certificate of Completion, A436-19CPE-v3 (eff. 10/2015) 

Training Course Approval Application, A465-19CRS-v2 
(eff. 5/2013) 

Education and Training Substitution Form, A436-19EDTR-
v3 (eff. 1/2014) 

CHAPTER 40 
ONSITE SEWAGE SYSTEM PROFESSIONALS 

LICENSING REGULATIONS 
Part I 

Definitions 
18VAC160-40-10. Definitions. 

A. Section 54.1-2300 of the Code of Virginia provides 
definitions of the following terms and phrases as used in this 
chapter: 

"Board" 
"Onsite sewage system" 
"Operator" 
"Wastewater works" 

B. The following words, terms, and phrases when used in 
this chapter shall have the following meaning unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Alternative onsite sewage system" means a treatment works 
that is not a conventional onsite sewage system and does not 
result in a point source discharge. 

"Alternative onsite sewage system installer" means an 
individual licensed by the board to construct, install, and 
repair conventional and alternative onsite sewage systems.  

"Alternative onsite sewage system operator" means an 
individual licensed by the board to operate and maintain 
conventional and alternative onsite sewage systems.  

"Alternative onsite soil evaluator" means an individual 
licensed by the board to evaluate soils and soil properties in 
relationship to the effect of these properties on the use and 
management of these soils and the locations for conventional 
and alternative onsite sewage systems, to certify in 
accordance with applicable state regulations and local 
ordinances that sites are suitable for conventional and 
alternative onsite sewage systems, and to design conventional 
and alternative onsite sewage systems suitable for the soils.  

"Applicant" means an individual who submits an application 
with the appropriate fee and other required documentation. 

"Application" means a completed, board-prescribed form 
submitted with the appropriate fee and other required 
documentation.  

"Authorized onsite soil evaluator" means an individual 
holding an authorized onsite soil evaluator certification issued 
by the Virginia Department of Health that was valid on June 
30, 2009.  

"Category" means journeyman or master as applicable to the 
professionals under the board's purview.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a6b00004114~1&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a6b00004114~1&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e5437004114~2&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e5437004114~2&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8c3fd004114~3&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8c3fd004114~3&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d0129004114~4&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d0129004114~4&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=169f6004114~5&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=169f6004114~5&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=169f6004114~5&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d6dbd004114~6&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d6dbd004114~6&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d6dbd004114~6&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=95200004114~7&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=95200004114~7&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=693a8004114~8&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=693a8004114~8&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=be56c004114~9&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=be56c004114~9&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=18a81004114~21&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=18a81004114~21&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=54d23004114~11&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=54d23004114~11&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
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"Class" means conventional or alternative as applicable to 
the professionals under the board's purview.  

"Contact hour" means 50 minutes of participation in a 
structured training activity.  

"Conventional onsite sewage system" means a treatment 
works consisting of one or more septic tanks with gravity, 
pumped, or siphoned conveyance to a gravity distributed 
subsurface drainfield.  

"Conventional onsite sewage system installer" means an 
individual licensed by the board to construct, install, and 
repair conventional onsite sewage systems.  

"Conventional onsite sewage system operator" means an 
individual licensed by the board to operate and maintain a 
conventional onsite sewage system. 

"Conventional onsite soil evaluator" means an individual 
licensed by the board to evaluate soils and soil properties in 
relationship to the effects of these properties on the use and 
management of these soils as the locations for conventional 
and alternative onsite sewage systems, to certify in 
accordance with applicable state regulations and local 
ordinances that sites are suitable for conventional and 
alternative onsite sewage systems, and to design conventional 
onsite sewage systems suitable for the soils.  

"Department" means the Virginia Department of 
Professional and Occupational Regulation.  

"Direct supervision" means being immediately available and 
fully responsible for the provision of onsite sewage system 
services regulated pursuant to Chapter 23 (§ 54.1-2300 et 
seq.) of Title 54.1 and this chapter.  

"Interim license" refers to the initial issuance of professional 
licenses during the implementation of the onsite sewage 
system professional licensure program. Such licenses were 
limited to four years and not renewable.  

"Journeyman" means an individual who possesses the 
minimum skills and competency to assist with the installation 
or maintenance of onsite sewage systems or assist in the 
evaluation of soil sites as suitable for conventional and 
alternative onsite sewage systems and to design conventional 
onsite sewage systems under the direct supervision of a 
master licensee. 

"Licensee" means an individual holding a valid license 
issued by the board.  

"Licensure" means a method of regulation whereby the 
Commonwealth, through the issuance of a license, authorizes 
a person possessing the character and minimum skills to 
engage in the practice of a profession or occupation that 
without such license is unlawful to practice.  

"Maintenance" or "maintain" means performing adjustments 
to equipment and controls and in-kind replacement of normal 
wear and tear parts such as light bulbs, fuses, filters, pumps, 
motors, or other like components. Maintenance includes 
pumping the tanks or cleaning the building sewer on a 

periodic basis. Maintenance shall not include replacement of 
tanks, drainfield piping, or distribution boxes or work 
requiring a construction permit and a licensed onsite sewage 
system installer.  

"Master" means an individual who possess the minimum 
skills and competency to install or maintain onsite sewage 
system or evaluate soil sites as suitable for conventional and 
alternative onsite sewage systems and to design conventional 
and alternative onsite sewage systems.  

"Operate" means the act of (i) placing into or taking out of 
service a unit process or unit processes or (ii) making or 
causing adjustments in the operation of a unit process at a 
treatment works.  

"Profession" means the practice of onsite soil evaluation, 
onsite sewage system installation, and onsite sewage system 
operation.  

"Professional" means an onsite sewage system installer, 
onsite sewage system operator, or onsite soil evaluator who is 
licensed pursuant to the provisions of this chapter and is in 
good standing with the board to practice his profession in this 
Commonwealth.  

"Renewal" means the process and requirements for 
periodically approving the continuance of a license. 

"Sewage" means water-carried and nonwater-carried human 
excrement or kitchen, laundry, shower, bath, or lavatory 
wastes separately or together with such underground, surface, 
storm, or other water and liquid industrial wastes as may be 
present from residences, buildings, vehicles, industrial 
establishments, or other places.  

"Training credit" means a unit of board-approved training or 
formal education completed by an individual that may be 
used to substitute for experience when applying for a license.  

"Treatment works" means any device or system used in the 
storage, treatment, disposal, or reclamation of sewage or 
combinations of sewage and industrial wastes including, but 
not limited to, pumping power and other equipment and 
appurtenances, septic tanks and any works, including land, 
that are or will be (i) an integral part of the treatment 
processes or (ii) used for ultimate disposal or residues or 
effluent resulting from such treatment.  

"VDH" means the Virginia Department of Health.  
Part II 
Entry 

18VAC160-40-20. Application procedures. 
A. All applicants seeking licensure shall submit an 

application with the appropriate fee in 18VAC160-40-40. 
Applications shall be made on forms provided by the board.  

By submitting the application to the department, the 
applicant certified that the applicant has read and understands 
the applicable statutes and the board's regulations.  
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The receipt of an application and the deposit of fees by the 
board does not indicate approval of the application by the 
board.  

B. The board may make further inquiries and investigations 
with respect to the applicant's qualifications to confirm or 
amplify information supplied. All applications shall be 
completed in accordance with the instructions contained 
herein and on the application. Applications will not be 
considered complete until all required documents are received 
by the board. If an examination is required for licensure, the 
applicant will not be permitted to sit for the applicable board-
approved examination until the application is complete and 
approved.  

C. The applicant will be notified within 30 days of the 
board's receipt of an initial application if the application is 
incomplete. An individual who fails to complete the process 
within 12 months of receipt of the application in the board's 
office must submit a new application. If applicable, the 
applicant has 12 months from approval of the application to 
pass the board-approved examination. Failure to pass the 
board-approved examination within 12 months of approval 
will result in the applicant being required to submit a new 
application to be considered for licensure.  

D. The applicant shall immediately report all changes in 
information supplied with the application, if applicable, prior 
to the issuance of the license or expiration of the application 
or examination period.  
18VAC160-40-30. General fee requirements. 

All fees are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated. The 
date on which the fee is received by the department or its 
agent will determine whether the fee is on time. Checks or 
money orders shall be made payable to the Treasurer of 
Virginia.  
18VAC160-40-40. Fee schedule. 

Fee Type Fee Amount When Due 

Initial application 
(for each 
profession, class, 
and category of 
license) 

$100 With 
application 

Renewal (for each 
profession, class, 
and category of 
license) 

$100 With renewal 
application 

Reinstatement 
(for each 
profession, class, 
and category of 
license) 

$125 (renewal 
fee + $25 

reinstatement 
fee) 

With 
reinstatement 
application 

18VAC160-40-50. Examination fee. 
The fee for examination or reexamination is subject to 

charges to the department by an outside vendor based on a 
contract entered into in compliance with the Virginia Public 
Procurement Act (§ 2.2-4300 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 
Fees may be adjusted and charged to the candidate in 
accordance with this contract.  
18VAC160-40-60. General requirements for licensure. 

A. In addition to the specific qualifications for each 
profession, class, and category of licensure, each applicant for 
licensure shall meet the requirements provided in this section: 

1. The applicant shall be at least 18 years old.  
2. The applicant shall disclose his mailing address. A post 
office box is only acceptable as a mailing address when a 
physical address is provided.  
3. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 
each applicant shall disclose the following information: 

a. All felony convictions. 
b. All misdemeanor convictions that occurred within 
three years of the date of application.  

Any plea of nolo contendere or finding of guilt regardless 
of adjudication or deferred adjudication shall be considered 
a conviction for the purposes of this section. The record of 
conviction certified or authenticated in such form as to be 
admissible in evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction 
where convicted shall be admissible as prima facie 
evidence of such guilt.  

B. The board, at its discretion, may deny licensure to any 
applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

C. The applicant shall report suspensions, revocations, or 
surrendering of a license, certification, or registration in 
connection with a disciplinary action or that has been subject 
of discipline in any jurisdiction prior to applying for 
licensure. The board at its discretion may deny licensure to 
any applicant based on prior suspensions, revocations, or 
surrender or licenses based on disciplinary action by any 
jurisdiction.  
18VAC160-40-70. Education and training for experience. 

A. Each individual applying for a license may receive credit 
for up to half of the required experience for: 

1. Satisfactory completion of postsecondary courses in 
wastewater, biology, chemistry, geology, hydraulics, 
hydrogeology, or soil science at the rate of one month per 
semester hour or two-thirds of a month per quarter hour; or 
2. Satisfactory completion of board-approved onsite 
sewage system installer or operator or onsite soil 
evaluation training courses, as applicable to the license 
sought, at the rate of one month for each training credit 
earned. Up to one training credit is awarded for each 10 
hours of classroom contact time or for each 20 hours of 
laboratory exercises and field trip contact time. Training 
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credit is not earned for breaks, meals, receptions, and time 
other than classroom, laboratory, and field trip contact 
time.  

B. Education used to meet the education requirements to 
qualify for licensure may not be substituted for experience.  
18VAC160-40-80. Examination procedures and conduct. 

A. Upon approval of the application, the board will notify 
the applicant of his eligibility to take the applicable 
examination. The license will not be issued prior to the 
receipt of a passing score for the applicable examination.  

B. An applicant who does not receive a passing score within 
one year after the date of approval of the application by the 
board to sit for the examination must submit a new 
application and meet entry requirements in effect at the time 
of the submittal of the new application.  

C. In those instances where the applicant is required to take 
an examination for licensure, the applicant shall follow all 
rules established by the board with regard to conduct at the 
examination. Such rules shall include written instructions 
communicated prior to the examination date and instructions 
communicated at the site, either written or oral, on the date of 
the examination. Failure to comply with all rules established 
by the board and the testing organization with regard to 
conduct at the examination shall be grounds for denial of the 
application, voiding of examination scores, or any 
combination thereof. 
18VAC160-40-90. Individuals certified or licensed in 
another jurisdiction. 

Any applicant holding a valid license or certificate in 
another jurisdiction shall meet the requirements of this 
chapter, including having equivalent experience and 
education. The applicant shall pass the appropriate Virginia 
examination in those instances where an examination for 
licensure is required.  
18VAC160-40-100. Full-time experience or equivalent. 

For the purpose of this part, experience requirements are 
expressed in terms of calendar periods of full-time 
employment as an operator, installer, or onsite soil evaluator 
in the same class for which licensure is sought.  

1. A year of full-time employment is defined as a 
minimum of 1,760 hours during a 12-month period or a 
minimum of 220 workdays in a 12-month period. A 
workday is defined as performing or assisting in the duties 
of an installer, operator, or onsite soil evaluator to the 
extent required for the proper installation or maintenance 
of onsite sewage systems or the evaluation of soil and soil 
properties for suitability as locations for onsite sewage 
systems. More than 1,760 hours or 220 workdays during a 
12-month period will not be considered as more than one 
year of full-time employment.  
2. Partial credit may be given for actual hours of work or 
workdays experience if the applicant works less than full 
time.  

Part III 
Onsite Sewage System Installers 

18VAC160-40-110. License required. 
A. No individual shall install a conventional or alternative 

onsite sewage system without a valid master onsite sewage 
system installer license issued by the board.  

B. An individual cannot simultaneously hold valid master 
and journeyman onsite sewage system installer licenses in the 
same class. Issuance of a master onsite sewage system 
installer license in a specific class shall void the journeyman 
onsite sewage system installer license in the same class.  

C. An individual cannot simultaneously hold valid 
conventional and alternative master onsite sewage system 
installer licenses or convention and alternative journeyman 
licenses. Issuance of a master alternative onsite sewage 
system installer license shall void the conventional onsite 
sewage system installer license.  

D. A journeyman onsite sewage system installer must work 
under the direct supervision of a licensed master onsite 
sewage system installer. A master onsite sewage system 
installer is responsible for supervising the provision of onsite 
sewage system installations by any journeyman onsite sewage 
system installers under his direct supervision. 

E. Experience used to qualify for licensure cannot be 
verified by a journeyman onsite sewage system installer.  
 

18VAC160-40-120. Qualifications for journeyman conventional onsite sewage system installer licenses. 
An applicant for licensure as a journeyman conventional onsite sewage system installer shall furnish acceptable 

documentation that one of the following qualifications has been met: 

 Prerequisites Exam 
Required 

Education 
Required Documented Qualifying Experience 

1. Employee, owner, director, or officer 
of a properly licensed contractor with a 
sewage disposal system (SDS) 
specialty issued by the Virginia Board 
for Contractors 

No No Six months of full-time experience assisting with 
the installation of conventional or alternative 
onsite sewage systems verified by one or more of 
the following: an onsite soil evaluator, an onsite 
sewage system installer, a professional engineer, 
or an authorized onsite soil evaluator certified by 
VDH before July 1, 2009  
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2. None No No One year of full-time experience assisting 
with the installation of conventional or 
alternative onsite sewage systems verified 
by one or more of the following: an onsite 
soil evaluator, an onsite sewage system 
installer, a professional engineer, or an 
authorized onsite soil evaluator certified by 
VDH before July 1, 2009 

18VAC160-40-130. Qualifications for master conventional onsite sewage system installer licenses. 
An applicant for licensure as a master conventional onsite sewage system installer shall furnish acceptable documentation that 

one of the following qualifications has been met: 

 Prerequisites Exam 
Required 

Education 
Required Documented Qualifying Experience 

1. Employee, owner, 
director, or officer of a 
properly licensed 
contractor with a sewage 
disposal system (SDS) 
specialty issued by the 
Virginia Board for 
Contractors  

Yes 20 hours of 
training approved 
by the board 
covering basic 
installation of 
conventional or 
alternative onsite 
sewage systems 

One year of full-time experience installing 
conventional or alternative onsite sewage 
systems verified by one or more of the 
following: an onsite soil evaluator, an onsite 
sewage system installer, a professional 
engineer, or an authorized onsite soil evaluator 
certified by VDH before July 1, 2009 

2.  Employee, owner, 
director, or officer of a 
properly licensed 
contractor with a sewage 
disposal system (SDS) 
specialty issued by the 
Virginia Board for 
Contractors 

Yes No Two years of full-time experience installing 
conventional or alternative onsite sewage 
systems verified by one or more of the 
following: an onsite soil evaluator, an onsite 
sewage system installer, a professional 
engineer, or an authorized onsite soil evaluator 
certified by VDH before July 1, 2009 

3. Interim installer or 
journeyman license 

Yes 20 hours of 
training approved 
by the board 
covering basic 
installation of 
conventional or 
alternative onsite 
sewage systems 

Two years of full-time experience installing 
conventional or alternative onsite sewage 
systems verified by one or more of the 
following: an onsite soil evaluator, an onsite 
sewage system installer, a professional 
engineer, or an authorized onsite soil evaluator 
certified by VDH before July 1, 2009 

4. Interim installer or 
journeyman installer 
license 

Yes No Three years of full-time experience installing 
conventional or alternative onsite sewage 
systems verified by one or more of the 
following: an onsite soil evaluator, an onsite 
sewage system installer, a professional 
engineer, or an authorized onsite soil evaluator 
certified by VDH before July 1, 2009 

18VAC160-40-140. Qualification for exemption from examination for master conventional onsite sewage system 
installer applicants. 

Applicants seeking licensure as a conventional onsite sewage system installer may be exempt from the examination, provided 
the board receives the applicable application before July 1, 2016, and the applicant: 

1. Is able to satisfactorily demonstrate that he has been actively engaged in performing the duties of a conventional onsite 
sewage system installer for at least eight years within the 12-year period immediately preceding the date of the application. 
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Documentation of qualifying experience may be verified by a conventional or alternative onsite soil evaluator, a 
conventional or alternative onsite sewage system installer, a professional engineer, or an authorized onsite soil evaluator 
certified by VDH before July 1, 2009; and 
2. Meets the requirements of 18VAC160-40-60. 

18VAC160-40-150. Qualifications for journeyman alternative onsite sewage system installer licenses. 
An applicant for licensure as an alternative onsite sewage system installer shall furnish acceptable documentation that one of 

the following qualifications has been met: 

 Prerequisites Exam Required Education 
Required Documented Qualifying Experience 

1. Employee, owner, director, or 
officer of a properly licensed 
contractor with a sewage 
disposal system (SDS) 
specialty issued by the Virginia 
Board for Contractors  

No No One year of full-time experience 
assisting with the installation of 
alternative onsite sewage systems 
verified by one or more of the 
following: an alternative onsite soil 
evaluator, an alternative onsite sewage 
system installer, a professional engineer, 
or an authorized onsite soil evaluator 
certified by VDH before July 1, 2009 

2. None No No Two years of full-time experience 
assisting with the installation of 
alternative onsite sewage systems 
verified by one or more of the 
following: an alternative onsite soil 
evaluator, an alternative onsite sewage 
system installer, a professional engineer, 
or an authorized onsite soil evaluator 
certified by VDH before July 1, 2009 

18VAC160-40-160. Qualifications for master alternative onsite sewage system installer licenses. 
An applicant for licensure as a master alternative onsite sewage system installer shall furnish acceptable documentation that 

one of the following qualifications has been met: 

 Prerequisites Exam 
Required Education Required Documented Qualifying Experience 

1. Employee, owner, director, or 
officer of a properly licensed 
contractor with a sewage 
disposal system (SDS) specialty 
issued by the Virginia Board for 
Contractors 

Yes No Two years of full-time experience installing 
alternative onsite sewage systems verified by 
one or more of the following: an alternative 
onsite soil evaluator, an alternative onsite 
sewage system installer, a professional 
engineer, or an authorized onsite soil 
evaluator certified by VDH before July 1, 
2009 

2. No Yes 20 hours of training 
approved by the 
board covering 
basic installation of 
alternative onsite 
sewage systems 

Three years of full-time experience installing 
alternative onsite sewage systems verified by 
one or more of the following: an alternative 
onsite soil evaluator, an alternative onsite 
sewage system installer, a professional 
engineer, or an authorized onsite soil 
evaluator certified by VDH before July 1, 
2009 
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3. Interim alternative onsite sewage 
system installer or conventional 
onsite sewage system installer 
license 

Yes No 18 months of full-time experience installing 
alternative onsite sewage systems verified by 
one or more of the following: an alternative 
onsite soil evaluator, an alternative onsite 
sewage system installer, a professional 
engineer, or an authorized onsite soil 
evaluator certified by VDH before July 1, 
2009 

4. No Yes 20 hours of training 
approved by the 
board covering the 
basic installation of 
alternative onsite 
sewage systems 

18 months of full-time experience installing 
alternative onsite sewage systems verified by 
one or more of the following: an alternative 
onsite soil evaluator, an alternative onsite 
sewage system installer, a professional 
engineer, or an authorized onsite soil 
evaluator certified by VDH before July 1, 
2009 

Part IV 
Onsite Sewage System Operators 

18VAC160-40-170. License required. 
A. No individual shall operate a conventional or alternative onsite sewage system without a valid master onsite sewage system 

operator license issued by the board.  
B. An individual cannot simultaneously hold valid master and onsite sewage system operator licenses in the same class. 

Issuance of a master onsite sewage system operator license in a specific class shall void the journeyman onsite sewage system 
operator license in the same class.  

C. An individual cannot simultaneously hold valid conventional and alternative onsite sewage system operator licenses or 
conventional and alternative journeyman onsite sewage system operator licenses. Issuance of a master alternative onsite sewage 
system operator license shall void the conventional onsite sewage system operator license.  

D. A journeyman onsite sewage system operator must work under the direct supervision of a licensed master onsite sewage 
system operator. An onsite sewage system operator is responsible for supervising the operation of the onsite sewage system by 
any journeyman onsite sewage system operator under his responsibility.  

E. Experience used to qualify for licensure cannot be verified by a journeyman onsite sewage system operator.  
18VAC160-40-180. Qualifications for journeyman conventional onsite sewage system operator licenses. 

An applicant for licensure as a journeyman conventional onsite sewage system operator shall furnish acceptable 
documentation that the following qualification has been met: 

Prerequisites Exam Required Education 
Required Documented Qualifying Experience 

None No No Six months of full-time experience assisting with the 
operation and maintenance of conventional or 
alternative onsite sewage systems verified by one or 
more of the following: an onsite soil evaluator, an onsite 
sewage system operator, a professional engineer, or an 
authorized onsite soil evaluator certified by VDH before 
July 1, 2009  

18VAC160-40-190. Qualifications for master conventional onsite sewage system operator licenses. 
An applicant for licensure as a master conventional onsite sewage system operator shall furnish acceptable documentation that 

one of the following qualifications has been met: 

 Prerequisites Exam 
Required 

Education 
Required Documented Qualifying Experience 

1. Wastewater works 
operator license 

Yes No None 
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2. No Yes 10 hours of 
education 
approved by the 
board covering 
the basics of 
operation and 
maintenance of 
conventional 
onsite sewage 
systems 

Six months of full-time experience in the operation 
and maintenance of conventional or alternative 
onsite sewage systems verified by one or more of the 
following: an onsite soil evaluator, an onsite sewage 
system operator, a professional engineer, or an 
authorized onsite soil evaluator certified by VDH 
before July 1, 2009  

3.  No Yes No One year of full-time experience in the operation and 
maintenance of conventional or alternative onsite 
sewage systems verified by one or more of the 
following: an onsite soil evaluator, an onsite sewage 
system operator, a professional engineer, or an 
authorized onsite soil evaluator certified by VDH 
before July 1, 2009 

18VAC160-40-200. Qualification for exemption from examination for master conventional onsite sewage system 
operator applicants. 

Applicants seeking licensure as a master conventional onsite sewage system operator may be exempt from the examination 
provided the applicant: 

1. Is able to satisfactorily demonstrate that he has been actively engaged in performing the duties of a conventional onsite 
sewage system operator for at least four years. Documentation of qualifying experience may be verified by a conventional or 
alternative soil evaluation, a conventional or alternative onsite sewage system operator, a professional engineer, or an 
authorized onsite soil evaluator certified by VDH before July 1, 2009; and  
2. Meets the requirements of 18VAC160-40-60. 

18VAC160-40-210. Qualifications for journeyman alternative onsite sewage system operator licenses. 
An applicant for licensure as a journeyman alternative onsite sewage operator shall furnish acceptable documentation that one 

of the following qualifications has been met: 

 Prerequisites Exam Required Education Required Documented Qualifying Experience 

1. None No 20 hours of education 
approved by the board 
covering the basics of 
operation and 
maintenance of 
alternative onsite 
sewage systems 

One year of full-time experience assisting 
with the operation and maintenance of 
alternative onsite sewage systems verified by 
one or more of the following: an alternative 
onsite soil evaluator, an alternative sewage 
system operator, a professional engineer, or 
an authorized onsite soil evaluator certified by 
VDH before July 1, 2009  

2. None No None Two years of full-time experience assisting 
with the operation and maintenance of 
alternative onsite sewage systems verified by 
one or more of the following: an alternative 
onsite soil evaluator, an alternative sewage 
system operator, a professional engineer, or 
an authorized onsite soil evaluator certified by 
VDH before July 1, 2009 

18VAC160-40-220. Qualifications for master alternative onsite sewage system operator licenses. 
An applicant for licensure as a master alternative onsite sewage system operator shall furnish acceptable documentation that 

one of the following has been met: 
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 Prerequisites Exam Required Education Required Documented Qualifying 
Experience 

1. Held or holds a 
conventional onsite 
sewage system operator 
license 

Yes 10 hours of training 
approved by the board 
covering the basics of 
operation and 
maintenance of 
alternative onsite sewage 
systems 

One year of full-time experience 
in the operation and maintenance 
of onsite sewage systems verified 
by one or more of the following: 
an alternative onsite soil 
evaluator, an alternative onsite 
sewage system operator, a 
professional engineer, or an 
authorized onsite soil evaluator 
certified by VDH before July 1, 
2009  

2. Held or holds a 
conventional onsite 
sewage system operator 
license 

Yes No One year of full-time experience 
in the operation and maintenance 
of onsite sewage systems verified 
by one or more of the following: 
an alternative onsite soil 
evaluator, an alternative onsite 
sewage system operator, a 
professional engineer, or an 
authorized onsite soil evaluator 
certified by VDH before July 1, 
2009 

3. None Yes 20 hours of training 
approved by the board 
covering the basics of 
operation and 
maintenance of 
alternative onsite sewage 
systems 

Two years of full-time 
experience in the operation and 
maintenance of onsite sewage 
systems verified by one or more 
of the following: an alternative 
onsite soil evaluator, an 
alternative onsite sewage system 
operator, a professional engineer, 
or an authorized onsite soil 
evaluator certified by VDH 
before July 1, 2009 

4. Wastewater works 
operator license 

Yes No Six months of full-time 
experience in the operation and 
maintenance of onsite sewage 
systems verified by one or more 
of the following: an alternative 
onsite soil evaluator, an 
alternative onsite sewage system 
operator, a professional engineer, 
or an authorized onsite soil 
evaluator certified by VDH 
before July 1, 2009 

5. Wastewater works 
operator license 

Yes 20 hours of training 
approved by the board in 
basics of operation and 
maintenance of 
alternative onsite sewage 
systems 

No 
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Part V 
Onsite Soil Evaluator 

18VAC160-40-230. License required. 
A. Notwithstanding the provisions of Chapter 4 (§ 54.1-400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, no individual shall 

evaluate soils and soil properties for suitability as locations for or design conventional or alternative onsite sewage systems 
without possessing a valid license issued by the board.  

B. An individual cannot simultaneously hold master and journeyman onsite soil evaluator licenses in the same class. Issuance 
of a master onsite soil evaluator license in a specific class shall void the journeyman onsite soil evaluator license in the same 
class.  

C. An individual cannot simultaneously hold valid conventional and alternative onsite soil evaluator licenses or conventional 
and alternative journeyman onsite soil evaluator licenses. Issuance of an alternative master onsite soil evaluator license shall 
void the conventional onsite soil evaluator license.  

D. A journeyman onsite soil evaluator must work under the direct supervision of a master onsite soil evaluator. A master 
onsite soil evaluator of an equal or greater class is responsible for supervising the provision of onsite soil evaluations and 
designs by any journeyman onsite soil evaluator under his responsibility.  

E. Experience to qualify for licensure cannot be verified by a journeyman onsite soil evaluator.  
18VAC160-40-240. Qualifications for journeyman conventional onsite soil evaluator licenses. 

An applicant for licensure as a journeyman conventional onsite soil evaluator shall furnish acceptable documentation that one 
of the following has been met: 

 Prerequisites Exam 
Required 

Education 
Required Documented Qualifying Experience 

1. Virginia professional soil 
scientist license 

No No No 

2. No No No One and one-half years of full-time experience 
assisting in the evaluation of site and soil 
conditions and design of conventional onsite 
sewage systems verified by one or more of the 
following: an authorized soil evaluator certified by 
VDH before July 1, 2009, a professional engineer, 
or an onsite soil evaluator  

3. No No VDH onsite 
system 
training 

One year of full-time experience assisting in the 
evaluation of site and soil conditions and design of 
conventional onsite sewage systems verified by 
one or more of the following: an authorized soil 
evaluator certified by VDH before July 1, 2009, a 
professional engineer, or an onsite soil evaluator 

18VAC160-40-250. Qualifications for master conventional onsite soil evaluator licenses. 
An applicant for licensure as a master conventional onsite soil evaluator shall furnish acceptable documentation that one of the 

following qualifications has been met: 

  Prerequisites Exam 
Required Education Required Documented Qualifying Experience 

1. No Yes Master's or bachelor's 
degree 

One and one-half years of full-time experience 
evaluating site and soil conditions and designing 
conventional onsite sewage systems verified by one 
or more of the following: an authorized onsite soil 
evaluator certified by VDH before July 1, 2009, a 
professional engineer, or an onsite soil evaluator  
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2. No Yes Associate's degree Three years of full-time experience evaluating site 
and soil conditions and designing conventional 
onsite sewage systems verified by one or more of the 
following: an authorized onsite soil evaluator 
certified by VDH before July 1, 2009, a professional 
engineer, or an onsite soil evaluator 

3. No Yes VDH onsite sewage 
system program 

Two years of full-time experience evaluating site 
and soil conditions and designing conventional 
onsite sewage systems verified by one or more of the 
following: an authorized onsite soil evaluator 
certified by VDH before July 1, 2009, a professional 
engineer, or an onsite soil evaluator 

4. Journeyman or 
interim 
conventional 
onsite soil 
evaluator 

Yes No Three years of full-time experience evaluating site 
and soil conditions and designing conventional 
onsite sewage systems verified by one or more of the 
following: an authorized onsite soil evaluator 
certified by VDH before July 1, 2009, a professional 
engineer, or an onsite soil evaluator 

18VAC160-40-260. Qualifications for journeyman alternative onsite soil evaluator licenses. 
An applicant for licensure as a journeyman alternative onsite soil evaluator shall furnish acceptable documentation that one of 

the following qualifications has been meet: 

 Prerequisites Exam Required Education 
Required Documented Qualifying Experience 

1. Virginia professional soil 
scientist license 

No No One year of full-time experience assisting in 
the evaluation of site and soil conditions and 
design of alternative onsite sewage systems 
verified by one or more of the following: an 
authorized onsite soil evaluator certified by 
VDH before July 1, 2009, a professional 
engineer, or an alternative soil evaluator  

2. Possess or held either a valid 
interim alternative onsite soil 
evaluator license or a 
conventional onsite soil 
evaluator license 

No No One year of full-time experience assisting in the 
evaluation of site and soil conditions and design 
of alternative onsite sewage systems verified by 
one or more of the following: an authorized 
onsite soil evaluator certified by VDH before 
July 1, 2009, a professional engineer, or an 
alternative soil evaluator 

3. An authorized onsite soil 
evaluator certified by VDH 
before July 1, 2009 

No No One year of full-time experience assisting in the 
evaluation of site and soil conditions and design 
of alternative onsite sewage systems verified by 
one or more of the following: an authorized 
onsite soil evaluator certified by VDH before 
July 1, 2009, a professional engineer, or an 
alternative soil evaluator 

4. No No No Two years of full-time experience assisting in 
the evaluation of site and soil conditions and 
design of alternative onsite sewage systems 
verified by one or more of the following: an 
authorized onsite soil evaluator certified by 
VDH before July 1, 2009, a professional 
engineer, or an alternative soil evaluator 
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18VAC160-40-270. Qualifications for master alternative onsite soil evaluator licenses. 
An applicant for licensure as a master alternative onsite soil evaluator shall furnish acceptable documentation that one of the 

following qualifications has been met:  

  Prerequisites Exam Required Education Required Documented Qualifying Experience 

1. No Yes Master's or bachelor's 
degree 

One and one-half years of full-time 
experience evaluating site and soil conditions 
and designing alternative onsite sewage 
systems verified by one or more of the 
following: an authorized onsite soil evaluator 
certified by VDH before July 1, 2009, a 
professional engineer, or an alternative onsite 
soil evaluator  

2. No Yes Associate's degree Three years of full-time experience 
evaluating site and soil conditions and 
designing alternative onsite sewage systems 
verified by one or more of the following: an 
authorized onsite soil evaluator certified by 
VDH before July 1, 2009, a professional 
engineer, or an alternative onsite soil 
evaluator 

3. Held or holds a 
conventional 
onsite soil 
evaluator license 

Yes No Two years of full-time experience evaluating 
site and soil conditions and designing 
alternative onsite sewage systems verified by 
one or more of the following: an authorized 
onsite soil evaluator certified by VDH before 
July 1, 2009, a professional engineer, or an 
alternative onsite soil evaluator 

4. No Yes No Three years of full-time experience 
evaluating site and soil conditions and 
designing alternative onsite sewage systems 
verified by one or more of the following: an 
authorized onsite soil evaluator certified by 
VDH before July 1, 2009, a professional 
engineer, or an alternative onsite soil 
evaluator 

5. An authorized 
onsite soil 
evaluator 
certified by VDH 
before July 1, 
2009 

Yes No Two years of full-time experience evaluating 
site and soil conditions and designing 
alternative onsite sewage systems verified by 
one or more of the following: an authorized 
onsite soil evaluator certified by VDH before 
July 1, 2009, a professional engineer, or an 
alternative onsite soil evaluator 

18VAC160-40-280. Acceptable degree programs and 
verification procedures. 

A. Applicants seeking to qualify for licensure based on 
completion of an associate's, bachelor's, or master's degree 
shall submit an official transcript form the school where the 
applicable degree was obtained. Only degrees from an 
accredited college or university that is approved or accredited 
by the Commission on Colleges, a regional or national 
accreditation association, or by an accrediting agency that is 

recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education will be 
considered. The following degrees shall be considered to 
qualify in accordance with 18VAC160-40-250 and 
18VAC160-40-270: 

1. Bachelor's or master's degree in soil science, biology, 
chemistry, engineering, environmental science, geology, 
agronomy, earth science, or environmental health. 
2. Associate's degree in wastewater works, environmental 
science, or engineering technology. 
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3. Bachelor's degree in a related physical, biological, 
environmental, or chemical science that includes a 
minimum of 40 semester credit hours in any combination 
of science and math. 

B. Any applicant who has earned a degree from an 
institution outside of the United States shall have the degree 
authenticated and evaluated by an education credential 
evaluation services. The board reserves the right to reject any 
evaluation submitted by the applicant.  

Part VI 
Renewal and Reinstatement 

18VAC160-40-290. Expiration and renewal. 
A. A license shall expire two years from the last day of the 

month in which it was issued.  
B. Prior to the expiration date shown on the license, the 

board shall mail a renewal notice to the licensee's address of 
record. The licensee shall return a renewal notice and the 
applicable renewal fee. Failure to receive a renewal notice 
from the board does not relieve the licensee of the obligation 
to renew. If the licensee fails to receive the renewal notice, a 
copy of the license may be submitted with the required fee as 
an application for renewal.  

C. By submitting the renewal fee, the licensee is certifying 
his continued compliance with the Standards of Practice and 
Conduct (Part VI (18VAC160-40-440 et seq.) of this chapter) 
as established by the board. In addition, by submitting the 
renewal fee, licensees are certifying compliance with the 
continuing professional education requirements of this 
chapter.  
18VAC160-40-300. Reinstatement. 

A. If all the requirements for renewal of the license as 
specified in 18VAC160-40-290 are not completed within 30 
days of the license expiration date, a reinstatement fee shall 
be required as established in 18VAC160-40-40. 

B. A license may be reinstated for up to one year following 
the expiration date of the license. Any licensee who fails to 
reinstate the license within 12 months after the expiration date 
shall apply for a new license and meet entry requirements in 
effect at the time of submittal of the new application. The 
individual shall be deemed to be eligible to sit for the 
examination for the same profession, class, and category of 
license as the expired license, if an examination is applicable.  

C. By submitting the reinstatement fee, the licensee is 
certifying his continued compliance with the Standards of 
Practice and Conduct (Part VI (18VAC160-40-440 et seq.) of 
this chapter) as established by the board. In addition, by 
submitting the reinstatement fee, licensees are certifying 
compliance with the continued professional education 
requirements of this chapter.  

D. Any regulated activity conducted subsequent to the 
license expiration date may constitute unlicensed activity and 
be subject to prosecution under Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-100 et eq.) 
of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

18VAC160-40-310. Status of license during period prior to 
reinstatement. 

A licensee who applies for reinstatement of the license shall 
be subject to all laws and regulations as if the regulant had 
been continuously licensed. The licensee shall remain under 
and be subject to the disciplinary authority of the board 
during the entire period.  
18VAC160-40-320. Board discretion to deny renewal or 
reinstatement. 

A. The board may deny renewal or reinstatement of license 
for the same reasons as the board may refuse initial licensure 
or discipline a licensee.  

B. The board may deny renewal or reinstatement of a 
licensee if the licensee has been subject to a disciplinary 
proceeding and has not met the terms of an agreement for 
licensure, has not satisfied all sanctions, or has not fully paid 
monetary penalties and costs imposed by the board.  

Part VII 
Continuing Professional Education 

18VAC160-40-330. Continuing professional education. 
A. Each licensee shall have completed the following number 

of continuing professional education (CPE) contact hours 
during each renewal cycle. CPE provisions do not apply to 
licenses that were held for less than two years on the date of 
expiration.  

1. Master alternative and conventional onsite soil 
evaluators, onsite sewage system installers, and onsite 
sewage system operators shall obtain a minimum of 20 
contact hours. 
2. Journeyman alternative and conventional onsite soil 
evaluators, onsite sewage system installers, and onsite 
sewage system operators shall obtain a minimum of 10 
contact hours.  

B. CPE courses completed during the license period 
immediately prior to the expiration date of the license shall be 
acceptable in order to renew the license. CPE courses 
completed during a license renewal cycle to satisfy the CPE 
requirements of the preceding licensing renewal cycle shall 
be valid only for that preceding license renewal cycle and 
shall not be accepted for subsequent renewal cycles.  

C. The licensee will not receive credit for completing the 
same CPE course with the same content more than once 
during a license period.  

D. A licensee may receive CPE credit for teaching a course 
that otherwise meets the requirements of this chapter; 
however, additional credit shall not be given for subsequent 
offering of a course or activity with the same content within 
the same licensing cycle. In addition a licensee may receive 
two hours of CPE no more than once during a single licensing 
cycle for the initial development or substantial updating of a 
CPE course.  
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E. For all licenses, safety subjects shall not count for more 
than one half of the total required CPE hours.  
18VAC160-40-340. CPE subject matter for onsite sewage 
system installers. 

The following course topics will be accepted for CPE credit 
for onsite sewage installers: 

1. Sewage system installation; 
2. Operating and maintaining equipment; 
3. Security and safety procedures; 
4. General science and mathematical principles; 
5. Administrative knowledge and procedures applicable to 
the profession; 
6. Laws and regulations applicable to the profession; 
7. Monitoring, evaluating and adjusting treatment 
processes (alternative onsite sewage system installers 
only); and 
8. Management and supervision principles (master onsite 
sewage system installer only, maximum of five credit 
hours). 

18VAC160-40-350. CPE subject matter for onsite sewage 
system operators. 

The following course topics will be accepted for credit for 
onsite sewage system operators: 

1. Onsite system operations; 
2. Monitoring, evaluating, and adjusting treatment 
processes; 
3. Operating and maintaining equipment; 
4. Security and safety procedures; 
5. General science and mathematical principles; 
6. Administrative knowledge applicable to the profession; 
7. Laws and regulations applicable to the profession; and 
8. Management and supervision principles (applicable to 
master onsite sewage system operations only, maximum of 
five credit hours). 

18VAC160-40-360. CPE subject matter for onsite soil 
evaluators. 

The following course topics will be accepted for credit for 
onsite soil evaluators: 

1. Site and soil evaluations; 
2. Security and safety procedures; 
3. System design; 
4. Inspections; 
5. General science and mathematical principles; 
6. Administrative knowledge and procedures applicable to 
the profession; 
7. Laws and regulations applicable to the profession; and 

8. Management and supervision principles (applicable to 
master onsite soil evaluators only, maximum of five 
contact hours). 

18VAC160-40-370. Use of training credits and formal 
education for CPE credit. 

Any course approved by the board for substitution as 
training credits or formal education semester hours, as 
provided for in 18VAC160-40-70 or 18VAC160-40-280, 
shall also be acceptable on an hour-for-hour basis for CPE 
contact hours. One semester hour of college credit shall equal 
15 CPE contact hours, and one-quarter hour of college credit 
shall equal 10 CPE hours. The training credits or formal 
education must be applicable to the license for which CPE 
credit is sought.  
18VAC160-40-380. Maintenance of CPE. 

A. For a period of at least two years following the end of the 
license renewal cycle for which the CPE was taken, the 
following evidence shall be maintained to document 
completion of the required CPE. 

1. Evidence of completion of a structured training activity, 
which shall consist of the name, address, and telephone 
number of the sponsor; 
2. The dates the licensee participated in the training; 
3. Description of the subject matter presented; and  
4. A statement from the sponsor verifying the number of 
hours completed. 

B. The board may conduct an audit of its licensees to ensure 
compliance with the applicable CPE requirements. Licensees 
who are selected for audit shall provide the necessary 
documentation stipulated in this section.  

Part VIII 
Training Course Approval 

18VAC160-40-390. Approval of training courses. 
A. Training courses may be substituted for experience 

pursuant to the provisions of 18VAC160-40-70. With the 
exception of training courses provided pursuant to 
18VAC160-40-330, training courses that may be substituted 
for required experience must be approved by the board prior 
to commencing in accordance with the provisions of this 
section. 

B. Each training provider seeking course approval shall 
submit an application for approval on a form provided by the 
board. Training courses for which experience credit may be 
granted must be conducted in general conformance with the 
guidelines of the International Association for Continued 
Education and Training (association). The board reserves the 
right to waive any of the requirements of the association's 
guidelines on a case-by-case basis. Only classroom, 
laboratory, and field trip contact time will be used to compute 
training credits. No credit will be given for breaks, meals, or 
receptions.  
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1. Organization. The board will only approve training 
offered by a sponsor that is an identifiable organization 
with a mission statement outlining its functions structure, 
process, and philosophy and that has a staff of one or more 
persons with the authority to administer and coordinate the 
training course.  
2. Training course records. The board will only approve 
training offered by a sponsor that maintains records for all 
participants for a minimum of seven years and that has a 
written policy on retention and release of records.  
3. Instructors. The board will only approve training 
conducted by personnel who have demonstrated 
competency in the subject being taught, an understanding 
of the learning objective, and knowledge of the learning 
process to be used.  
4. Objectives. The board will only approve courses that 
have a series of stated objectives that are pertinent to the 
tasks performed by the licensee. The training course 
content must be consistent with those objectives.  
5. Course completion requirements. For successful 
completion of a training course, participants must attend 
90% or more of the class contact time and must 
demonstrate their learning through written examinations, 
completion of a project, oral examination, or other similar 
assessment techniques.  

18VAC160-40-400. Application for training course 
approval. 

A. The board shall consider the following information, to be 
submitted by the course sponsor or instructor on forms 
provided by the board: 

1. Course information. 
a. Course title; 
b. Planned audience; 
c. Name of sponsor; 
d. Name, physical address, email address, and phone 
number of contact person; 
e. Scheduled presentation dates; 
f. Detailed course schedule, hour-by-hour including 
begin and end times; 
g. List of planned breaks; 
h. Scheduled presentation location; and 
i. Identification of the profession, category, and class of 
license to which the course is applicable and relevancy to 
the identified license type. 

2. Instructor qualifications. 
a. Name of instructor; 
b. Title; 
c. Employer; 
d. Board license number or numbers, if applicable; and 
e. Summary of qualifications to teach the course. 

3. Training materials. 
a. Course objectives. A listing of the course objectives 
stated in terms of the skills and knowledge the participant 
will be able to demonstrate as a result of the training.  
b. Course outline. A detailed outline showing the planned 
activities that will occur during the training course, 
including major topics, planned presentation sequence, 
laboratory and field activities, audiovisual presentations, 
and other major activities.  
c. Course reference materials. A list of the name, 
publisher, and publication date for commercially 
available publications. For reference materials developed 
by the course sponsor or available exclusively through 
the course, a copy of the reference.  
d. Audiovisual support materials. A listing of any 
commercially available audiovisual support material that 
will be used in the program. A brief description of any 
sponsor or instructor generated audiovisual material that 
will be used.  
e. Handouts. Identification of all commercially available 
handout materials that will be used, as well as copies 
other planned handouts.  

4. Determination of successful completion. A description 
of the means that will be used to assess the learning of each 
participant to determine successful completion of training 
program, such as examinations, projects, personal 
evaluations by the instructor, or other recognized 
evaluation techniques. Correspondence and other distance 
learning courses must include appropriate testing 
procedures to verify completion of the course.  

B. Recurring training programs. If there are plans to present 
the same course of instruction routinely at multiple locations 
with only minor modifications and changes, the board may 
approve the overall program rather than individual 
presentations if so required by the sponsor.  

1. The board shall consider all of the information listed in 
subsection A of this section except those items related to 
specific offerings of the course. 
2. Board approval will apply only to those specific 
offerings certified by the sponsoring organization as 
having been conducted by instructors meeting the 
established criteria and in accordance with the board-
approved course outlines and objectives.  

18VAC160-40-410. Maintenance of training course 
approval. 

A. At times established by the board, the board may require 
that course providers that have previously obtained course 
approval provide the board with evidence, in a form set forth 
by the board, that the provider continues to comply with the 
requirements of this chapter. Failure to continue to comply 
with the board's requirements or respond to such a request 
may result in the board withdrawing its approval.  
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B. Substantial modifications or changes to the information 
provided in 18VAC160-40-390 and 18VAC160-40-400 must 
be reported to the board within 30 days of the change. Failure 
to report the changes as required may result in the withdrawal 
of approval by the board.  

C. Any change of address of the training provider shall be 
reported in writing within 30 days of the change.  

D. The board may conduct an audit of the training provider 
to ensure continued compliance with this chapter.  
18VAC160-40-420. Withdrawal of approval. 

The board may withdraw approval of any provider for the 
following reasons: 

1. The course or courses being offered no longer meet the 
standards established by the board.  
2. The provider, through an agent or otherwise, advertises 
its services in a fraudulent or deceptive way. 
3. The provider, instructor, or designee of the provider 
falsifies any information relating to the application for 
approval, course information, or student records.  
4. The provider fails to respond to the board or any of its 
agents. 

18VAC160-40-430. Training course offered by certain 
entities, board approval not required. 

A. Training courses provided by (i) federal, state, or local 
government agencies; (ii) accredited colleges or universities 
approved or accredited by the Commission on Colleges; (iii) 
a regional or national accreditation association; or (iv) an 
accrediting agency that is recognized by the U.S. Secretary of 
Education do not require board approval to be used for 
experience substitution, provided the training course 
information submitted to the board includes the following: 

1. The course must include the continuing education hours 
awarded by the entity. 
2. The course must be related to the profession, category, 
or class, if applicable, for which experience substitution is 
sought. 

B. The board may require additional information from the 
provider as necessary to ensure compliance with this section. 
If such assurance cannot be made by the board, the training 
course may not be used for experience substitution, or the 
provider may pursue board approval pursuant to this chapter.  

Part IX 
Standards of Practice and Conduct 

18VAC160-40-440. Grounds for disciplinary action. 
The board may place a licensee on probation; impose a 

monetary penalty in accordance in § 54.1-202 A of the Code 
of Virginia; or revoke, suspend, or refuse to renew any 
license when the licensee has been found to have violated or 
cooperated with others in violating any provision of the 
regulations of the board or Chapter 23 (§ 54.1-2300 et.seq.) 
of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

18VAC160-40-450. Maintenance of license. 
A. No license issued by the board shall be assigned or 

otherwise transferred.  
B. A licensee shall report, in writing, all changes of the 

address of record and name to the board within 30 days of the 
change and shall return the license to the board. In addition to 
the address of record, a physical address is required for each 
license. If the licensee holds more than one license, the 
licensee shall inform the board of all licenses, certificates, and 
registrations affected by the name or address change. The 
board shall not be responsible for the licensee's failure to 
receive notices or correspondence due to the licensee's failure 
to report a change of name or address. 

C. Any change in any of the requirements and qualifications 
for licensure found in Part II (18VAC160-40-20 et seq.), III 
(18VAC160-40-110 et seq.), or IV (18VAC160-40-170 et 
seq.) of this chapter shall be reported to the board within 30 
days of the change.  
18VAC160-40-460. Notice of adverse action. 

A. Licensees shall notify the board of the following actions 
against the licensee.  

1. Any disciplinary action taken by any jurisdiction, board, 
or administrative body of competent jurisdiction, including 
but not limited to any reprimand, license or certificate 
revocation, suspension or denial, monetary penalty, 
requirement for remedial education, or other corrective 
action.  
2. Any voluntary surrendering of a related license, 
certificate, or registration done in connection with a 
disciplinary action in another jurisdiction.  
3. Any conviction, finding of guilt, or plea of guilty, 
regardless of adjudication or deferred adjudication, in any 
jurisdiction of the United States of any misdemeanor 
involving lying, cheating, stealing, sexual offense, drug 
distribution, physical injury, or relating to the practice of 
the profession or of any felony, there being no appeal 
pending therefrom or the time for appeal having lapsed. 
Review of convictions shall be subject to the requirements 
of § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. Any plea of nolo 
contendere shall be considered a conviction for the purpose 
of this section.  

B. Notices to the board must be made in writing within 30 
days of the action. A copy of the order or other supporting 
documentation must accompany the notice. The record of 
conviction finding or case decision shall be considered prima 
facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. 
18VAC160-40-470. Prohibited acts. 

The following acts are prohibited and any violation may 
result in disciplinary action by the board: 

1. Violating, inducing another to violate, cooperating with 
another to violate, or combining or conspiring with or 
acting as agent, partner, or associate for another to violate 
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any of the provisions of Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.), 2 
(§ 54.1-200 et seq.), or 23 (§ 54.1-2300 et seq.) of Title 
54.1 of the Code of Virginia, or any of the regulations of 
the board.  
2. Allowing a license issued by the board to be used by 
another.  
3. Obtaining or attempting to obtain a license by false or 
fraudulent representation, or maintaining or renewing a 
license by false or fraudulent representation.  
4. A licensee having been convicted, found guilty, or 
disciplined in any jurisdiction of any offense or violation 
enumerated in 18VAC160-40-460. Review of convictions 
shall be subject to the requirements of § 54.1-204 of the 
Code of Virginia.  
5. Failing to inform the board in writing within 30 days 
that the licensee was convicted or found guilty or 
disciplined in any jurisdiction of any offense or violation 
enumerated in 18VAC160-40-460.  
6. Not demonstrating reasonable care, judgment, or 
application of the required knowledge, skill, and ability in 
the performance of the licensee's duties.  
7. Having undertaken to perform or performed a 
professional assignment that the licensee is not qualified to 
perform by education, experience, training, or any 
combination thereof.  
8. Failing to report a change as required by 18VAC160-40-
450. 
9. Negligence, misconduct, or incompetence in the practice 
of the profession.  
10. Making any misrepresentation or engaging in acts of 
fraud or deceit in advertising, soliciting, or in providing 
professional services.  
11. Failing to adequately supervise and review work 
performed by unlicensed employees or journeyman 
licensees under the direct supervision of the master 
licensee.  
12. Failure to obtain any permit, approval, or other 
document required by VDH related to the design, 
installation, repair, or operation of an onsite sewage 
system.  
13. Knowingly signing plans, drawings, reports, 
specifications, maps, or other documents related to an 
onsite sewage system not prepared or reviewed and 
approved by the licensee.  
14. Knowingly misrepresenting factual information in 
expressing a professional opinion.  
15. Failing to act in providing professional services in a 
manner that safeguards the interests of the public.  

18VAC160-40-480. Conflicts of interest. 
The licensee shall: 

1. Promptly and fully inform an employer or client of any 
business association, interest, or circumstance that may 
influence the licensee's judgment of the quality of service. 
2. Not accept compensation, financial or otherwise, from 
more than one party for services on or pertaining to the 
same project, unless the circumstances are fully disclosed 
to and agreed to by all interested parties in writing.  
3. Neither solicit nor accept financial or other valuable 
consideration from material or equipment suppliers for 
specifying their products or services.  
4. Not solicit or accept gratuities, directly or indirectly, 
from contractors or their agents or other parties dealing 
with a client or employer in connection with work for 
which the licensee is responsible. 

18VAC160-40-490. Licensee responsibility. 
A. The primary obligation of the licensee is to the public. If 

the licensee's judgment is overruled and not adhered to when 
advising appropriate parties of circumstances of a substantial 
threat to the public health, safety, or welfare, the licensee 
shall inform the employer and client, as applicable, of the 
possible consequences and notify appropriate authorities.  

B. The licensee shall not knowingly associate in a business 
venture with, or permit the use of the licensee's name by, any 
person or firm where there is reason to believe that person or 
firm is engaging in activity of a fraudulent or dishonest nature 
or is violating any law or regulation of the board.  

C. A licensee who has direct knowledge that another 
individual or firm may be violating any of the provisions of 
this chapter or the provisions of Chapter 23 (§ 54.1-2300 et 
seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia shall immediately 
inform the board in writing and shall cooperate in furnishing 
any further information or assistance that may be required. 

D. Except as provided in subsection E of this section, a 
licensee shall not utilize the evaluations, design, drawings, or 
work of another licensee without the knowledge and written 
consent of the licensee or organization of ownership that 
originated the design, drawings, or work.  

E. A licensee who relies on information in VDH files or has 
received permission to modify or otherwise utilize the 
evaluation, design, drawings, or work of another licensee 
pursuant to subsection D or E of this section may certify that 
work only after a thorough review of the evaluation, design, 
drawings or work and after he determines that he is willing to 
assume full responsibility for all design, drawings, or work on 
which he relies for his opinion.  
18VAC160-40-500. Response to inquiry and provision of 
records. 

A. A licensee must respond within 10 days to a request by 
the board or any of its agents regarding any complaint filed 
with the department.  

B. Unless otherwise specified by the board, a licensee of the 
board shall produce to the board or any of its agents within 10 
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days of the request any document, book, or record concerning 
any transaction pertaining to a complaint filed in which the 
licensee was involved, or for which the licensee is required to 
maintain records. The board may extend such timeframe upon 
a showing of extenuating circumstances prohibiting delivery 
within such 10-day period. 

C. A licensee shall not provide a false, misleading, or 
incomplete response to the board or any of its agents seeking 
information in the investigation of a complaint filed with the 
board.  

D. With the exception of the requirements of subsection A 
or B of this section, a licensee must respond to an inquiry by 
the board or its agent within 21 days.  
18VAC160-40-510. Master licensee's professional 
responsibilities. 

A. Any work performed by a journeyman regulated pursuant 
to Chapter 23 (§ 54.1-2300 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code 
of Virginia and this chapter shall be under the direct 
supervision of the master. Such master and journeyman shall 
have an employment or written contractual relationship.  

B. Each master shall maintain documentation of the 
employment or contractual relationship with each journeyman 
under the master's direct supervision. Such documentation 
shall be kept for a minimum of five years and shall include, at 
a minimum, the beginning and ending dates of the 
employment or contractual relationship.  
NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 
regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 
published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 
a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 
agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 
Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 
Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 
FORMS (18VAC160-40) 

Onsite Soil Evaluator - License Application, A465-
1940LIC-v2 (eff. 7/2016) 

Onsite Sewage System Operator License Application, A465-
1942LIC-v2 (eff. 7/2016) 

Waiver of Examination - Master Conventional Onsite 
Sewage System Operator License Application, A436-
1942WAIV-v2 (eff. 7/2016) 

Onsite Sewage System Installer License Application, A465-
1944LIC-v3 (eff. 7/2016) 

Onsite Sewage System Applicant Experience Verification 
Application, A436-19OSSPEXP-v4 (eff. 7/2016) 

Continuing Professional Education (CPE) Application - 
Certificate of Completion, A436-19CPE-v3 (eff. 10/2015) 

Training Course Approval Application, A465-19CRS-v2 
(eff. 5/2013) 

Education and Training Substitution Form, A436-19EDTR-
v3 (eff. 1/2014) 

Suspension of Examination - License Application 
Conventional Onsite Sewage System Installer, A436-
1944WAIVE-v4 (eff. 8/2015) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4114; Filed November 13, 2015, 11:50 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Proposed Regulation 
Titles of Regulations: 22VAC40-700. Child Protective 
Services Central Registry Information (repealing 
22VAC40-700-10, 22VAC40-700-20, 22VAC40-700-30). 
22VAC40-705. Child Protective Services (amending 
22VAC40-705-10, 22VAC40-705-30 through 22VAC40-
705-80, 22VAC40-705-110 through 22VAC40-705-140, 
22VAC40-705-160, 22VAC40-705-180). 
22VAC40-720. Child Protective Services Release of 
Information to Family Advocacy Representatives of the 
United States Armed Forces (repealing 22VAC40-720-10, 
22VAC40-720-20).  
Statutory Authority: § 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  
Public Comment Deadline: February 12, 2016. 
Agency Contact: Mary Walter, Child Protective Services 
Consultant, Department of Social Services, 801 East Main 
Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7569, 
FAX (804) 726-7499, or email 
mary.walter@dss.virginia.gov. 
Basis: Section § 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia gives the 
State Board of Social Services the responsibility to make 
rules and regulations to carry out the purposes of social 
services. Chapter 15 (§ 63.2-1500 et seq.) of Title 63.2 of the 
Code of Virginia provides the authority for the Child 
Protective Services (CPS) program. 
Purpose: This regulatory action is essential to protect the 
health, safety, and welfare of children at risk for child abuse 
or neglect. The goal of this regulatory action is to conduct a 
review of 22VAC40-705, amend existing CPS requirements 
and add new requirements to make the CPS regulation 
consistent with the Code of Virginia, clarify and strengthen 
the CPS program while balancing the rights of alleged 
abusers with protecting children and families, and reduce the 
number of regulations the public may have to review to find 
CPS information. 
Substance: The provisions of the repealed regulations 
(22VAC40-700 and 22VAC40-720) will be incorporated into 
22VAC40-705. The two repealed regulations include 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=74eba004114~12&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=74eba004114~12&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5df79004114~13&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5df79004114~13&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=065e5004114~14&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=065e5004114~14&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=065e5004114~14&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=57636004114~15&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=57636004114~15&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=07a2c004114~16&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=07a2c004114~16&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c62a7004114~17&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c62a7004114~17&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c505a004114~18&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c505a004114~18&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=824b1004114~19&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=824b1004114~19&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a8cdc004114~20&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a8cdc004114~20&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a8cdc004114~20&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
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requirements for reporting to the Military Family Advocacy 
Program and retention time of names of abusers and victims 
involved in founded investigations within the CPS central 
registry. This action will reduce the total number of 
regulations for the CPS program from four to two. A separate 
regulation, 22VAC40-730, provides requirements specific to 
conducting investigations of child abuse and neglect in an 
out-of-family setting by a nonfamilial caretaker.  
Statutory changes made in 2013 necessitate additions and 
amendments to the regulation. These include provisions for 
(i) suspending sexual abuse and child death investigations if 
reports generated outside the local agency are necessary to 
make a disposition and (ii) notification to local school boards 
for all founded investigations that involve any school 
employee.  
Substantive proposed changes include adding:  

• Definitions for "near fatality" and "response time"; 
• The requirement for reports to be acted upon and the 
victim child to be interviewed within the determined 
response time;  
• The federal requirement to notify relatives within 30 
days of removal;  
• A requirement for a risk assessment to be completed for 
all investigations;  
• Provision for suspending certain investigations;  
• Retention requirements for serious sexual abuse 
records;  
• A requirement to notify school boards for all employees 
in founded investigations and notify the individual of this 
action; and  
• Training requirements for all CPS staff.  

Substantive proposed changes include removing: 
• A requirement to invalidate reports for substance 
exposed infant if mother sought counseling; 
• Directive for not rendering founded dispositions for 
substance exposed infants; and 
• Reference to exact timeframes for emergency removals. 

Proposed amendments clarify the definition of mental abuse 
or neglect, responsibilities for mandated reporting of 
substance abuse exposure for newborns, release of 
information to the Military Family Advocacy, release of 
information when there is a legitimate interest, and release of 
information while there is a pending criminal investigation. 
General proposed changes (i) improve the consistency of 
terminology used within this regulation, such as the use of the 
term "electronic recording" versus "audio taping"; (ii) adjust 
numbering, order, and format to improve the organization and 
flow of requirements; and (iii) correct statutory references to 
ensure the most current and accurate citation. 
Issues: One of the primary advantages to the public and 
individual private citizens will be a clearer understanding of 

the processes involved when making a report to CPS and the 
actions that are taken by CPS. The public will benefit from 
having CPS staff receiving current, best practice training 
annually. Local departments of social services (LDSS) will 
benefit from amendments to the regulation that provide 
clarity and enhance existing requirements. The public, the 
Commonwealth, and LDSS will benefit from having fewer 
regulations. There are no disadvantages to the 
Commonwealth. LDSS will need to support the training of 
local staff when the revised regulation is finalized. 
Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
State Board of Social Services (Board) proposes to repeal 
22VAC40-700 and 22VAC40-720 and consolidate the rules 
contained in these regulations into 22VAC40-705 so that all 
rules relating to child protective services are in one 
regulation. The Board also proposes to make many clarifying 
changes, as well as several substantive changes, to current 
language contained in 22VAC40-705. The substantive 
changes proposed by the Board include:  

1) Removing language that requires child protective 
services workers to have some indication of abuse or 
neglect other than prenatal drug or alcohol exposure to 
make a finding that a newborn has been abused or 
neglected and  
2) Requiring child protective services (CPS) workers and 
supervisors to complete a minimum of 24 hours of 
continuing education annually. 

Result of Analysis. Benefits outweigh costs for most 
proposed regulatory changes. For two regulatory changes, 
there is insufficient information to ascertain whether benefits 
will outweigh costs. 
Estimated Economic Impact. The Board proposes to make 
many clarifying changes to this regulation. None of these 
clarifying changes impose new restrictions or requirements on 
any entity but instead are aimed at making regulatory text 
more understandable. Consequently, no entity is likely to 
incur any costs on account of these changes; to the extent that 
CPS rules are made less opaque, affected entities will likely 
benefit from them. 
Currently, regulations require child protective services 
workers to have some indication of abuse or neglect other 
than prenatal drug or alcohol exposure to make a finding that 
a newborn has been abused or neglected. The Board proposes 
to remove this requirement from regulation while leaving it in 
DSS policy at the behest of the Attorney General's Office. In 
general, language that is part of the Virginia Administrative 
Code is more protective of the public than language that is in 
agency policy because it is normally legally binding and 
because regulatory language can normally only be changed 
through a process that provides public notice and 
opportunities for the public to affect the proposed changes, 
but agencies do not necessarily follow a similar process when 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 8 Virginia Register of Regulations December 14, 2015 

1489 

policy is changed. Because of this, parents of drug exposed 
infants and members of the general public who might want an 
opportunity to become involved when there is a shift in the 
rules Local Department of Social Services (LDSS) work 
under will likely be worse off if this language is removed 
from the regulation. There is insufficient information to gauge 
whether benefits that might accrue on account of this change 
would outweigh the costs for these individuals.  
Current regulations do not require CPS workers to complete 
any continuing education. The Board now proposes to require 
all CPS workers and supervisors to complete 24 hours of 
continuing education annually. Board staff reports that local 
LDSS do not normally have to pay for continuing education 
classes because there are many class options available at no 
additional cost to them. They can, for instance have CPS staff 
take online classes available through the Commonwealth's 
online Knowledge Center, or staff can participate in online 
and face-to-face classes and seminars offered through the 
State Department of Social Services as well as other state and 
federal agencies. Board staff reports that CPS workers and 
supervisors will be paid for time spent completing required 
continuing education. This means that LDSS will incur 
implicit costs for time that workers and supervisors spend 
meeting this proposed requirement instead of completing 
their normal job tasks. The value of that time can be 
calculated by multiplying the number of CPS workers and 
supervisors by their hourly wages then by the 24 hours of 
newly required continuing education. Exact numbers of CPS 
workers and supervisors are not available but would be a 
subset of the total number of equivalent Family Service 
Specialists that are in the employ of LDSS (2,245).1 These 
workers have an average salary of roughly $48,000 per year 
(or roughly $23 per hour).2 Using these numbers, implicit cost 
of LDSS time spent in annual training for each affected CPS 
worker and supervisor would be roughly $552. To the extent 
that continuing education helps CPS workers complete their 
job tasks more efficiently or improves outcomes for CPS 
programs, LDSSs will benefit from this requirement. There is 
insufficient information to ascertain whether any such benefit 
will outweigh the costs listed above.  
Businesses and Entities Affected. These proposed regulatory 
changes will affect all 120 LDSSs and their CPS workers and 
supervisors, as well as families who are the subject of abuse 
or neglect investigations and other individuals who might be 
interested in the rules that govern child protective services. 
Localities Particularly Affected. These proposed regulatory 
changes will affect all 120 LDSS. 
Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
are unlikely to significantly affect employment. 
Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 
proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use and 
value of private property. 
Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. These proposed 
regulatory changes affect LDSSs and members of the public 

but are unlikely to directly affect any small business in the 
Commonwealth. 
Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. These proposed regulatory changes affect 
LDSSs and members of the public but are unlikely to directly 
affect any small business in the Commonwealth. 
Real Estate Development Costs. These proposed regulatory 
changes are unlikely to affect real estate development costs. 
___________________ 
1Information provided by the State Department of Social Services. 
2$48,000 divided by 2080 which is assumed to be the number of hours 
normally worked in a year. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
Department of Social Services concurs with the economic 
impact analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and 
Budget. 
Summary: 

Proposed amendments include adding (i) definitions for 
"near fatality" and "response time," (ii) a requirement for 
reports to be acted upon and the victim child to be 
interviewed within a determined response time, (iii) a 
federal requirement to notify relatives within 30 days of 
removal, (iv) a requirement for a risk assessment to be 
completed for all investigations, (v) provisions for 
suspending certain investigations, (vi) retention 
requirements for serious sexual abuse records, (vii) a 
requirement to notify school boards for all employees in 
founded investigations and to notify the individual of this 
action, (viii) and training requirements for all Child 
Protective Services staff.  
Proposed amendments include removing (i) a requirement 
to invalidate reports for substance exposed infant if the 
mother sought counseling, (ii) the directive for not 
rendering founded dispositions for substance exposed 
infants, and (iii) a reference to exact timeframes for 
emergency removals. 
Proposed amendments generally (i) clarify the definition of 
"mental abuse or neglect," the responsibilities for 
mandated reporting of substance abuse exposure for 
newborns, the release of information to the Military 
Family Advocacy, the release of information when there is 
a legitimate interest, and the release of information while 
there is a pending criminal investigation; (ii) reorganize 
and renumber sections for clarity; and (iii) update 
references to the Code of Virginia. 

22VAC40-705-10. Definitions. 
The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise.  

"Abuser or neglector" means any person who is found to 
have committed the abuse and/or neglect of a child pursuant 
to Chapter 15 (§ 63.2-1500 et seq.) of Title 63.2 of the Code 
of Virginia. 
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"Administrative appeal rights" means the child protective 
services appeals procedures for a local level informal 
conference and a state level hearing pursuant to § 63.2-1526 
of the Code of Virginia, under which an individual who is 
found to have committed abuse and/or neglect may request 
that the local department's records be amended. 

"Alternative treatment options" means treatments used to 
prevent or treat illnesses or promote health and well-being 
outside the realm of modern conventional medicine. 

"Appellant" means anyone who has been found to be an 
abuser and/or neglector and appeals the founded disposition 
to the director of the local department of social services, an 
administrative hearing officer, or to circuit court.  

"Assessment" means the process by which child protective 
services workers determine a child's and family's needs.  

"Caretaker" means any individual having the responsibility 
of providing care for a child and includes the following: (i) 
parent or other person legally responsible for the child's care; 
(ii) any other person who has assumed caretaking 
responsibility by virtue of an agreement with the legally 
responsible person; (iii) persons responsible by virtue of their 
positions of conferred authority; and (iv) adult persons 
residing in the home with the child.  

"Case record" means a collection of information maintained 
by a local department, including written material, letters, 
documents, tapes, photographs, film or other materials 
regardless of physical form about a specific child protective 
services investigation, family or individual.  

"Central Registry" means a subset of the child abuse and 
neglect information system and is the name index with 
identifying information of individuals named as an abuser 
and/or neglector in founded child abuse and/or neglect 
complaints or reports not currently under administrative 
appeal, maintained by the department.  

"Certified substance abuse counselor" means a person 
certified to provide substance abuse counseling in a state-
approved public or private substance abuse program or 
facility.  

"Child abuse and neglect information system" means the 
computer system which that collects and maintains 
information regarding incidents of child abuse and neglect 
involving parents or other caretakers. The computer system is 
composed of three parts: the statistical information system 
with nonidentifying information, the Central Registry of 
founded complaints not on appeal, and a database that can be 
accessed only by the department and local departments that 
contains all nonpurged CPS reports. This system is the 
official state automated system.  

"Child protective services" means the identification, receipt 
and immediate response to complaints and reports of alleged 
child abuse and/or neglect for children under 18 years of age. 
It also includes assessment, and arranging for and providing 
necessary protective and rehabilitative services for a child and 

his family when the child has been found to have been abused 
or neglected or is at risk of being abused or neglected.  

"Child protective services worker" means one who is 
qualified by virtue of education, training and supervision and 
is employed by the local department to respond to child 
protective services complaints and reports of alleged child 
abuse and/or neglect.  

"Chronically and irreversibly comatose" means a condition 
caused by injury, disease or illness in which a patient has 
suffered a loss of consciousness with no behavioral evidence 
of self-awareness or awareness of surroundings in a learned 
manner other than reflexive activity of muscles and nerves for 
low-level conditioned response and from which to a 
reasonable degree of medical probability there can be no 
recovery.  

"Collateral" means a person whose personal or professional 
knowledge may help confirm or rebut the allegations of child 
abuse and/or neglect or whose involvement may help ensure 
the safety of the child.  

"Complaint" means any information or allegation of child 
abuse and/or neglect made orally or in writing pursuant to 
§ 63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Consultation" means the process by which the alleged 
abuser and/or neglector may request an informal meeting to 
discuss the investigative findings with the local department 
prior to the local department rendering a founded disposition 
of abuse and/or neglect against that person pursuant to § 63.2-
1526 A of the Code of Virginia.  

"Controlled substance" means a drug, substance or 
marijuana as defined in § 18.2-247 of the Code of Virginia 
including those terms as they are used or defined in the Drug 
Control Act, Chapter 34 (§ 54.1-3400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of 
the Code of Virginia. The term does not include alcoholic 
beverages or tobacco as those terms are defined or used in 
Title 3.1 or Title 4.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Social 
Services.  

"Differential response system" means that local departments 
of social services may respond to valid reports or complaints 
of child abuse or neglect by conducting either a family 
assessment or an investigation.  

"Disposition" means the determination of whether or not 
child abuse and/or neglect has occurred.  

"Documentation" means information and materials, written 
or otherwise, concerning allegations, facts and evidence.  

"Family Advocacy Program representative" means the 
professional employed by the United States Armed Forces 
who has responsibility for the program designed to address 
prevention, identification, evaluation, treatment, 
rehabilitation, follow-up and reporting of family violence, 
pursuant to 22VAC40-720-20 22VAC40-705-140.  
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"Family assessment" means the collection of information 
necessary to determine:  

1. The immediate safety needs of the child;  
2. The protective and rehabilitative services needs of the 
child and family that will deter abuse or neglect;  
3. Risk of future harm to the child; and  
4. Alternative plans for the child's safety if protective and 
rehabilitative services are indicated and the family is 
unable or unwilling to participate in services. These 
arrangements may be made in consultation with the 
caretaker(s) of the child.  

"First source" means any direct evidence establishing or 
helping to establish the existence or nonexistence of a fact. 
Indirect evidence and anonymous complaints do no constitute 
first source evidence.  

"Founded" means that a review of the facts shows by a 
preponderance of the evidence that child abuse and/or neglect 
has occurred. A determination that a case is founded shall be 
based primarily on first source evidence; in no instance shall 
a determination that a case is founded be based solely on 
indirect evidence or an anonymous complaint.  

"He" means he or she. 
"His" means his or her. 
"Identifying information" means name, social security 

number, address, race, sex, and date of birth. 
"Indirect evidence" means any statement made outside the 

presence of the child protective services worker and relayed 
to the child protective services worker as proof of the 
contents of the statement. 

"Informed opinion" means that the child has been informed 
and understands the benefits and risks, to the extent known, 
of the treatment recommended by conventional medical 
providers for his condition and the alternative treatment being 
considered as well as the basis of efficacy for each, or lack 
thereof. 

"Investigation" means the collection of information to 
determine: 

1. The immediate safety needs of the child; 
2. The protective and rehabilitative services needs of the 
child and family that will deter abuse or neglect; 
3. Risk of future harm to the child; 
4. Alternative plans for the child's safety if protective and 
rehabilitative services are indicated and the family is 
unable or unwilling to participate in services; 
5. Whether or not abuse or neglect has occurred; 
6. If abuse or neglect has occurred, who abused or 
neglected the child; and 
7. A finding of either founded or unfounded based on the 
facts collected during the investigation. 

"Investigative narrative" means the written account of the 
investigation contained in the child protective services case 
record. 

"Legitimate interest" means a lawful, demonstrated privilege 
to access the information as defined in § 63.2-104 63.2-105 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

"Licensed substance abuse treatment practitioner" means a 
person who (i) is trained in and engages in the practice of 
substance abuse treatment with individuals or groups of 
individuals suffering from the effects of substance abuse or 
dependence, and in the prevention of substance abuse or 
dependence and (ii) is licensed to provide advanced substance 
abuse treatment and independent, direct and unsupervised 
treatment to such individuals or groups of individuals, and to 
plan, evaluate, supervise, and direct substance abuse 
treatment provided by others. 

"Life-threatening condition" means a condition that if left 
untreated more likely than not will result in death and for 
which the recommended medical treatments carry a probable 
chance of impairing the health of the individual or a risk of 
terminating the life of the individual. 

"Local department" means the city or county local agency of 
social services or department of public welfare in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia responsible for conducting 
investigations or family assessments of child abuse and/or 
neglect complaints or reports pursuant to § 63.2-1503 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

"Local department of jurisdiction" means the local 
department in the city or county in Virginia where the alleged 
victim child resides or in which the alleged abuse and/or 
neglect is believed to have occurred. If neither of these is 
known, then the local department of jurisdiction shall be the 
local department in the county or city where the abuse and/or 
neglect was discovered. 

"Mandated reporters" means those persons who are required 
to report suspicions of child abuse and/or neglect pursuant to 
§ 63.2-1509 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Monitoring" means contacts with the child, family and 
collaterals which provide information about the child's safety 
and the family's compliance with the service plan. 

"Multidisciplinary teams" means any organized group of 
individuals representing, but not limited to, medical, mental 
health, social work, education, legal and law enforcement, 
which will assist local departments in the protection and 
prevention of child abuse and neglect pursuant to § 63.2-1503 
K of the Code of Virginia. Citizen representatives may also 
be included. 

"Near fatality" means an act that, as certified by a physician, 
places the child in serious or critical condition. Serious or 
critical condition is a life-threatening condition or injury.  

"Notification" means informing designated and appropriate 
individuals of the local department's actions and the 
individual's rights. 
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"Particular medical treatment" means a process or procedure 
that is recommended by conventional medical providers and 
accepted by the conventional medical community. 

"Preponderance of evidence" means the evidence as a whole 
shows that the facts are more probable and credible than not. 
It is evidence which is of greater weight or more convincing 
than the evidence offered in opposition.  

"Purge" means to delete or destroy any reference data and 
materials specific to subject identification contained in 
records maintained by the department and the local 
department pursuant to §§ 63.2-1513 and 63.2-1514 of the 
Code of Virginia.  

"Reasonable diligence" means the exercise of justifiable and 
appropriate persistent effort.  

"Report" means either a complaint as defined in this section 
or an official document on which information is given 
concerning abuse and neglect. A Pursuant to § 63.2-1509 of 
the Code of Virginia, a report is required to be made by 
persons designated herein and by local departments in those 
situations in which a response to a complaint from the general 
public reveals suspected child abuse and/or neglect pursuant 
to subdivision 5 of the definition of abused or neglected child 
in § 63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Response time" means the urgency in which a valid report 
of suspected child abuse or neglect is initiated by the local 
department based on the child's immediate safety or other 
factors. 

"Safety plan" means an immediate course of action designed 
to protect a child from abuse or neglect. 

"Service plan" means a plan of action to address the service 
needs of a child and/or his family in order to protect a child 
and his siblings, to prevent future abuse and neglect, and to 
preserve the family life of the parents and children whenever 
possible. 

"State automated system" means the "child abuse and 
neglect information system" as previously defined. 

"Substance abuse counseling or treatment services" are 
services provided to individuals for the prevention, diagnosis, 
treatment, or palliation of chemical dependency, which may 
include attendant medical and psychiatric complications of 
chemical dependency. 

"Sufficiently mature" is determined on a case-by-case basis 
and means that a child has no impairment of his cognitive 
ability and is of a maturity level capable of having intelligent 
views on the subject of his health condition and medical care. 

"Terminal condition" means a condition caused by injury, 
disease or illness from which to a reasonable degree of 
medical probability a patient cannot recover and (i) the 
patient's death is imminent or (ii) the patient is chronically 
and irreversibly comatose.  

"Unfounded" means that a review of the facts does not show 
by a preponderance of the evidence that child abuse or 
neglect occurred.  

"Valid report or complaint" means the local department of 
social services has evaluated the information and allegations 
of the report or complaint and determined that the local 
department shall conduct an investigation or family 
assessment because the following elements are present:  

1. The alleged victim child or children are under the age of 
18 at the time of the complaint or report;  
2. The alleged abuser is the alleged victim child's parent or 
other caretaker;  
3. The local department receiving the complaint or report is 
a local department of jurisdiction; and  
4. The circumstances described allege suspected child 
abuse or neglect.  

"Withholding of medically indicated treatment" means the 
failure to respond to the infant's life-threatening condition by 
providing treatment (including appropriate nutrition, 
hydration, and medication) which in the treating physician's 
or physicians' reasonable medical judgment will most likely 
be effective in ameliorating or correcting all such conditions.  
22VAC40-705-30. Types of abuse and neglect. 

A. Physical abuse occurs when a caretaker creates or 
inflicts, threatens to create or inflict, or allows to be created or 
inflicted upon a child a physical injury by other than 
accidental means or creates a substantial risk of death, 
disfigurement, or impairment of bodily functions, including, 
but not limited to, a child who is with his parent or other 
person responsible for his care either (i) during the 
manufacture or attempted manufacture of a Schedule I or II 
controlled substance or (ii) during the unlawful sale of such 
substance by that child's parents or other person responsible 
for his care, where such manufacture, or attempted 
manufacture or unlawful sale would constitute a felony 
violation of § 18.2-248 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. Physical neglect occurs when there is the failure to 
provide food, clothing, shelter, necessary medical treatment, 
or supervision for a child to the extent that the child's health 
or safety is endangered. This also includes abandonment and 
situations where the parent's or caretaker's own incapacitating 
behavior or absence prevents or severely limits the 
performing of child caring tasks pursuant to § 63.2-100 of the 
Code of Virginia. This also includes a child under the age of 
18 years whose parent or other person responsible for his care 
knowingly leaves the child alone in the same dwelling as a 
person, not related by blood or marriage, who has been 
convicted of an offense against a minor for which registration 
is required as a violent sexual offender pursuant to § 9.1-902 
of the Code of Virginia. In situations where the neglect is the 
result of family poverty and there are no outside resources 
available to the family, the parent or caretaker shall not be 
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determined to have neglected the child; however, the local 
department may provide appropriate services to the family.  

1. Physical neglect may include multiple occurrences or a 
one-time critical or severe event that results in a threat to 
health or safety.  
2. Physical neglect may include failure to thrive.  

a. Failure to thrive occurs as a syndrome of infancy and 
early childhood which that is characterized by growth 
failure, signs of severe malnutrition, and variable degrees 
of developmental retardation.  
b. Failure to thrive can only be diagnosed by a physician 
and is caused by nonorganic factors.  

3. Physical neglect may include medical neglect. 
C. a. Medical neglect occurs when there is the failure by 
the caretaker to obtain or follow through with a complete 
regimen of medical, mental, or dental care for a condition 
which that if untreated could result in illness or 
developmental delays pursuant to § 63.2-100 of the Code 
of Virginia. However, a decision by parents or other 
persons legally responsible for the child to refuse a 
particular medical treatment for a child with a life-
threatening condition shall not be deemed a refusal to 
provide necessary care if (i) such decision is made jointly 
by the parents or other person legally responsible for the 
child and the child; (ii) the child has reached 14 years of 
age and sufficiently mature to have an informed opinion 
on the subject of his medical treatment; (iii) the parents 
or other person legally responsible for the child and the 
child have considered alternative treatment options; and 
(iv) the parents or other person legally responsible for the 
child and the child believe in good faith that such 
decision is in the child's best interest.  
b. Medical neglect also includes withholding of 
medically indicated treatment. 
1. (1) A child who, in good faith, is under treatment 
solely by spiritual means through prayer in accordance 
with the tenets and practices of a recognized church or 
religious denomination pursuant to § 63.2-100 of the 
Code of Virginia shall not for that reason alone be 
considered a neglected child in accordance with § 63.2-
100 of the Code of Virginia. 
2. (2) For the purposes of this regulation chapter, 
"withholding of medically indicated treatment" does not 
include the failure to provide treatment (other than 
appropriate nutrition, hydration, or medication) to an 
infant when in the treating physician's or physicians' 
reasonable medical judgment: 
a. (a) The infant is chronically and irreversibly comatose; 
b. (b) The infant has a terminal condition and the 
provision of such treatment would: (1) Merely (i) merely 
prolong dying; (2) Not (ii) not be effective in 
ameliorating or correcting all of the infant's life-
threatening conditions; (3) Otherwise (iii) otherwise be 

futile in terms of the survival of the infant; or (4) Be (iv) 
be virtually futile in terms of the survival of the infant 
and the treatment itself under such circumstances would 
be inhumane. 

D. C. Mental abuse or neglect occurs when a caretaker 
creates or inflicts, threatens to create or inflict, or allows to be 
created or inflicted upon a child a mental injury by other than 
accidental means or creates a substantial risk of impairment 
of mental functions. 

1. Mental abuse or neglect includes acts of omission by the 
caretaker resulting in harm to a child's psychological or 
emotional health or development.  
2. Professional documentation supporting a nexus between 
the actions or inactions of the caretaker and the mental 
dysfunction or threat of dysfunction demonstrated by the 
child is required in order to make a founded disposition.  
3. Mental abuse or neglect may include failure to thrive. 

1. a. Failure to thrive occurs as a syndrome of infancy 
and early childhood which that is characterized by 
growth failure, signs of severe malnutrition, and variable 
degrees of developmental retardation. 
2. b. Failure to thrive can only be diagnosed by a 
physician and is caused by nonorganic factors. 

E. D. Sexual abuse occurs when there is the child's parents 
or other persons responsible for the care commits or allows to 
be committed any act of sexual exploitation or any sexual act 
upon a child in violation of the law which is committed or 
allowed to be committed by the child's parents or other 
persons responsible for the care of the child pursuant to 
§ 63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia. 
22VAC40-705-40. Complaints and reports of suspected 
child abuse and/or neglect. 

A. Persons who are mandated to report are those individuals 
defined in § 63.2-1509 of the Code of Virginia. 

1. Mandated reporters shall report immediately any 
suspected abuse or neglect that they learn of in their 
professional capacity. No person shall be required to make 
a report pursuant to § 63.2-1509 of the Code of Virginia if 
unless the person has actual knowledge that the same 
matter has already been reported to the local department or 
the department's toll-free child abuse and neglect hotline. 
2. Pursuant to § 63.2-1509 of the Code of Virginia, if 
information is received by a teacher, staff member, 
resident, intern, or nurse in the course of his professional 
services mandated reporters in a hospital, school, or other 
similar institution, such person may in place of said report, 
immediately notify make reports of suspected abuse or 
neglect immediately to the person in charge of the 
institution or department, or his designee, who shall then 
make such report forthwith If the initial report of suspected 
abuse or neglect is made to the person in charge of the 
institution or department, or his designee, such person shall 
(i) notify the teacher, staff member, resident, intern, or 
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nurse who made the initial report when the report of 
suspected child abuse or neglect is made to the local 
department or to the department's toll-free child abuse and 
neglect hotline; (ii) provide the name of the individual 
receiving the report; and (iii) forward any communication 
resulting from the report, including any information about 
any actions taken regarding the report, to the person who 
made the initial report. on the mandated reporters' behalf. 
This person shall notify the mandated reporter when and to 
whom he made the report, as well as forward any other 
communication resulting from the report, including any 
action taken, to the mandated reporter. 
3. Mandated reporters shall disclose all information that is 
the basis for the suspicion of child abuse or neglect and 
shall make available, upon request, to the local department 
any records and reports that document the basis for the 
complaint and/or report. 
4. A Pursuant to § 63.2-1509 D of the Code of Virginia, a 
mandated reporter's failure to report as soon as possible, 
but no longer than 24 hours after having reason to suspect 
a reportable offense of child abuse or neglect, shall result 
in a fine. In cases evidencing acts of rape, sodomy, or 
object sexual penetration as defined in Article 7 (§ 18.2-61 
et seq.) of Chapter 4 of Title 18.2 of the Code of Virginia, 
a person who knowingly and intentionally fails to make the 
report required pursuant to § 63.2-1509 of the Code of 
Virginia shall be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. 
5. A person who knowingly and intentionally fails to make 
a report in cases of rape, sodomy, or object sexual 
penetration shall be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. 
5. 6. Pursuant to § 63.2-1509 B of the Code of Virginia, a 
"reason certain specified facts indicating that a newborn 
may have been exposed to a controlled substance prior to 
birth are sufficient to suspect that a child is abused or 
neglected". This shall include (i) a finding made by a 
health care provider within six weeks of the birth of a child 
that the results of toxicology studies of the child indicate 
the presence of a controlled substance that was not 
prescribed for the mother by a physician; (ii) a finding 
made by a health care provider within six weeks of the 
birth of a child that the child was born dependent on a 
controlled substance that was not prescribed by a physician 
for the mother and has demonstrated withdrawal 
symptoms; (iii) a diagnosis made by a health care provider 
at any time following a child's birth that the child has an 
illness, disease, or condition which, to a reasonable degree 
of medical certainty, is attributable to in utero exposure to 
a controlled substance that was not prescribed by a 
physician for the mother or the child; or (iv) a diagnosis 
made by a health care provider at any time following a 
child's birth that the child has a fetal alcohol spectrum 
disorder attributable to in utero exposure to alcohol. When 
"reason to suspect" is based upon this subsection, such fact 
shall be included in the report along with the facts relied 

upon by the person making the report. Any report made 
pursuant to § 63.2-1509 A of the Code of Virginia 
constitutes a valid report of abuse or neglect and requires a 
child protective services investigation or family 
assessment, unless the mother sought treatment or 
counseling as required in this section and pursuant to § 
63.2-1505 B of the Code of Virginia. 

a. Pursuant to § 63.2-1509 of the Code of Virginia, 
whenever a health care provider makes a finding 
pursuant to § 63.2-1509 A of the Code of Virginia, then 
the health care provider or his designee must make a 
report to child protective services immediately. Pursuant 
to § 63.2-1509 D of the Code of Virginia, a health care 
provider who fails to make a report pursuant to § 63.2-
1509 A of the Code of Virginia is subject to a fine.  
b. When a report or complaint alleging abuse or neglect 
is made pursuant to § 63.2-1509 A B of the Code of 
Virginia, then the local department must immediately 
assess the infant's circumstances and any threat to the 
infant's health and safety. Pursuant to 22VAC40-705-110 
A, the local department must conduct an initial safety 
assessment.  
c. When a report or complaint alleging abuse or neglect 
is made pursuant to § 63.2-1509 A B of the Code of 
Virginia, then the local department must immediately 
determine whether to petition a juvenile and domestic 
relations district court for any necessary services or court 
orders needed to ensure the safety and health of the 
infant.  
d. Within five days of receipt of a report made pursuant 
to § 63.2-1509 A of the Code of Virginia, the local 
department shall invalidate the complaint if the following 
two conditions are met: (i) the mother of the infant 
sought substance abuse counseling or treatment during 
her pregnancy prior to the infant's birth and (ii) there is 
no evidence of child abuse and/or neglect by the mother 
after the infant's birth.  
(1) The local department must notify the mother 
immediately upon receipt of a complaint made pursuant 
to § 63.2-1509 A of the Code of Virginia. This 
notification must include a statement informing the 
mother that, if the mother fails to present evidence within 
five days of receipt of the complaint that she sought 
substance abuse counseling/treatment during the 
pregnancy, the report will be accepted as valid and an 
investigation or family assessment initiated. 
(2) If the mother sought counseling or treatment but did 
not receive such services, then the local department must 
determine whether the mother made a substantive effort 
to receive substance abuse treatment before the child's 
birth. If the mother made a substantive effort to receive 
treatment or counseling prior to the child's birth, but did 
not receive such services due to no fault of her own, then 
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the local department should invalidate the complaint or 
report.  
(3) d. If the mother sought or received substance abuse 
counseling or treatment, but there is evidence, other than 
exposure to a controlled substance, that the child may be 
abused or neglected, then the local department may 
initiate the shall conduct an investigation or family 
assessment.  
e. Substance abuse counseling or treatment includes, but 
is not limited to, education about the impact of alcohol, 
controlled substances and other drugs on the fetus and on 
the maternal relationship; education about relapse 
prevention to recognize personal and environmental cues 
which that may trigger a return to the use of alcohol or 
other drugs.  
f. The substance abuse counseling or treatment should 
attempt to serve the purposes of improving the pregnancy 
outcome, treating the substance abuse disorder, 
strengthening the maternal relationship with existing 
children and the infant, and achieving and maintaining a 
sober and drug-free lifestyle.  
g. The substance abuse counseling or treatment services 
must be provided by a professional. Professional 
substance abuse treatment or counseling may be provided 
by a certified substance abuse counselor or a licensed 
substance abuse treatment practitioner.  
h. Facts indicating that the infant may have been exposed 
to controlled substances prior to birth are not sufficient, 
in and of themselves, to render a founded disposition of 
abuse or neglect. The local department must establish, by 
a preponderance of the evidence, that the infant was 
abused or neglected according to the statutory and 
regulatory definitions of abuse and neglect.  
i. h. The local department may provide assistance to the 
mother in locating and receiving substance abuse 
counseling or treatment.  

B. Persons who may report child abuse and/or neglect 
include any individual who suspects that a child is being 
abused and/or neglected pursuant to § 63.2-1510 of the Code 
of Virginia.  

C. Complaints and reports of child abuse and/or neglect may 
be made anonymously. An anonymous complaint, standing 
alone, shall not meet the preponderance of evidence standard 
necessary to support a founded determination. 

D. Any person making a complaint and/or report of child 
abuse and/or neglect shall be immune from any civil or 
criminal liability in connection therewith, unless the court 
decides it is proven that such person acted in bad faith or with 
malicious intent pursuant to § 63.2-1512 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

E. When the identity of the reporter is known to the 
department or local department, these agencies shall make 
every effort to protect not disclose the reporter's identity. 

Upon request, the local department shall advise the person 
who was the subject of an unfounded investigation if the 
complaint or report was made anonymously. 

F. If a person suspects that he is the subject of a report or 
complaint of child abuse and/or neglect made in bad faith or 
with malicious intent, that person may petition the court for 
access to the record including the identity of the reporter or 
complainant pursuant to § 63.2-1514 of the Code of Virginia. 

G. Any person age 14 years or older who makes or causes to 
be made a knowingly false complaint or report of child abuse 
and/or neglect and is convicted shall be guilty of a Class 1 
misdemeanor for a first offense pursuant to § 63.2-1513 of 
the Code of Virginia.  

1. A subsequent conviction results in a Class 6 felony.  
2. Upon receipt of notification of such conviction, the 
department will retain a list of convicted reporters.  
3. The subject of the records may have the records purged 
upon presentation of proof a certified copy of such 
conviction.  

H. To make a complaint or report of child abuse and/or 
neglect, a person may telephone the department's toll-free 
child abuse and neglect hotline or contact a local department 
of jurisdiction pursuant to § 63.2-1510 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

1. The local department of jurisdiction that first receives a 
complaint or report of child abuse and/or neglect shall 
assume responsibility to ensure that a family assessment or 
an investigation is conducted.  
2. A local department may ask another local department 
that is a local department of jurisdiction to assist in 
conducting the family assessment or investigation. If 
assistance is requested, the local department shall comply.  
3. A local department may ask another local department 
through a cooperative agreement to assist in conducting the 
family assessment or investigation.  
4. If a local department employee is suspected of abusing 
and/or neglecting a child, the complaint or report of child 
abuse and/or neglect shall be made to the juvenile and 
domestic relations district court of the county or city where 
the alleged abuse and/or neglect was discovered. The judge 
shall assign the report to a local department that is not the 
employer of the subject of the report, or, if the judge 
believes that no local department in a reasonable 
geographic distance can be impartial in responding to the 
reported case, the judge shall assign the report to the court 
service unit of his court for evaluation pursuant to §§ 63.2-
1509 and 63.2-1510 of the Code of Virginia. The judge 
may consult with the department in selecting a local 
department to respond.  
5. In cases where an employee at a private or state-
operated hospital, institution, or other facility or an 
employee of a school board is suspected of abusing or 
neglecting a child in such hospital, institution, or other 
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facility or public school, the local department shall request 
the department and the relevant private or state-operated 
hospital, institution, or other facility or school board to 
assist in conducting a joint investigation in accordance 
with regulations adopted by the board, in consultation with 
the Departments of Education, Health, Medical Assistance 
Services, Behavioral Health and Developmental Services, 
Juvenile Justice, and Corrections. 

22VAC40-705-50. Actions to be taken upon receipt of a 
complaint or report.  

A. All complaints and reports of suspected child abuse 
and/or neglect shall be recorded in the child abuse and neglect 
information system and either screened out or determined to 
be valid within five days of upon receipt and if valid, acted on 
within the determined response time. A record of all reports 
and complaints made to a local department or to the 
department, regardless of whether the report or complaint was 
found to be a valid complaint of abuse and/or neglect, shall be 
retained for one year from the date of the complaint unless a 
subsequent report is made.  

B. In all valid complaints or reports of child abuse and/or 
neglect the local department of social services shall determine 
whether to conduct an investigation or a family assessment. A 
valid complaint or report is one in which: 

1. The alleged victim child or children are under the age of 
18 years at the time of the complaint and/or report; 
2. The alleged abuser is the alleged victim child's parent or 
other caretaker; 
3. The local department receiving the complaint or report is 
a local department of jurisdiction; and 
4. The circumstances described allege suspected child 
abuse and/or neglect as defined in § 63.2-100 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

C. The local department shall not conduct a family 
assessment or investigate complaints or reports of child abuse 
and/or neglect that fail to meet all of the criteria in subsection 
B of this section. 

D. The local department shall report certain cases of 
suspected child abuse or neglect to the local attorney for the 
Commonwealth and the local law-enforcement agency 
pursuant to § 63.2-1503 D of the Code of Virginia. 

E. Pursuant to § 63.2-1503 J D of the Code of Virginia, the 
local departments department shall develop, where practical, 
a memoranda of understanding for responding to reports of 
child abuse and neglect with local law enforcement and the 
local office of the commonwealth's attorney. 

F. The local department shall report to the following when 
the death of a child is involved: 

1. When abuse and/or neglect is suspected in any case 
involving the death of a child, the local department shall 
report the case immediately to the regional medical 

examiner and the local law-enforcement agency pursuant 
to § 63.2-1503 E of the Code of Virginia. 
2. When abuse and/or neglect is suspected in any case 
involving the death of a child, the local department shall 
report the case immediately to the attorney for the 
Commonwealth and the local law-enforcement agency 
pursuant to § 63.2-1503 D of the Code of Virginia. 
3. The local department shall contact the department 
immediately upon receiving a complaint involving the 
death of a child and at the conclusion of the investigation. 
4. The department shall immediately, upon receipt of 
information, report on all child fatalities to the state board 
in a manner consistent with department policy and 
procedures approved by the board. At a minimum, the 
report shall contain information regarding any prior 
statewide child protective services involvement of the 
family, alleged perpetrator, or victim. 

G. Valid complaints or reports shall be screened for high 
priority based on the following: 

1. The immediate danger to the child; 
2. The severity of the type of abuse or neglect alleged; 
3. The age of the child; 
4. The circumstances surrounding the alleged abuse or 
neglect;  
5. The physical and mental condition of the child; and  
6. Reports made by mandated reporters.  

H. The local department shall initiate an immediate response 
but not later than within the determined response time. The 
response shall be a family assessment or an investigation. 
Any valid report may be investigated, but in accordance with 
§ 63.2-1506 C of the Code of Virginia, those cases shall be 
investigated that involve: (i) sexual abuse, (ii) a child fatality, 
(iii) abuse or neglect resulting in a serious injury as defined in 
§ 18.2-371.1 of the Code of Virginia, (iv) a child having been 
taken into the custody of the local department of social 
services, or (v) a caretaker at a state-licensed child day care 
center, religiously exempt child day center, regulated family 
day home, private or public school, or hospital or any 
institution.  

1. The purpose of an investigation is to collect the 
information necessary to determine or assess the following:  

a. Immediate safety needs of the child;  
b. Whether or not abuse or neglect has occurred;  
c. Who abused or neglected the child;  
d. To what extent the child is at risk of future harm, 
either immediate or longer term;  
e. What types of services can meet the needs of this child 
or family; and  
f. If services are indicated and the family appears to be 
unable or unwilling to participate in services, what 
alternate plans will provide for the child's safety. 
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2. The purpose of a family assessment is to engage the 
family in a process to collect the information necessary to 
determine or assess the following: 

a. Immediate safety needs of the child; 
b. The extent to which the child is at risk of future harm, 
either immediate or longer term; 
c. The types of services that can meet the needs of this 
child or family; and 
d. If services are indicated and the family appears to be 
unable or unwilling to participate in services, the plans 
that will be developed in consultation with the family to 
provide for the child's safety. These arrangements may be 
made in consultation with the caretaker(s) of the child. 

3. The local department shall use reasonable diligence to 
locate any child for whom a report or complaint of 
suspected child abuse and/or neglect has been received and 
determined valid or and persons who are the subject of a 
valid report if the whereabouts of such persons are 
unknown to the local department pursuant to § 63.2-1503 F 
of the Code of Virginia. 
4. The local department shall document its attempts to 
locate the child and family. 
5. In the event the alleged victim child or children cannot 
be found, the time the child cannot be found shall not be 
computed as part of the 45-60-day time frame to complete 
the investigation, pursuant to subdivision B 5 of § 63.2-
1505 of the Code of Virginia. 

22VAC40-705-60. Authorities of local departments.  
When responding to valid complaints or reports, local 

departments have the following authorities:  
1. To talk to any child suspected of being abused and/or 
neglected, or child's siblings, without the consent of and 
outside the presence of the parent or other caretaker, as set 
forth by § 63.2-1518 of the Code of Virginia.  
2. To take or arrange for photographs and x-rays of a child 
who is the subject of a complaint without the consent of 
and outside the presence of the parent or other caretaker, as 
set forth in § 63.2-1520 of the Code of Virginia.  
3. To take a child into custody on an emergency removal 
for up to 72-96 hours under such circumstances as set forth 
in § 63.2-1517 of the Code of Virginia.  

a. A child protective services (CPS) worker planning to 
take a child into 72-96-hour emergency custody shall 
first consult with a supervisor. However, this requirement 
shall not delay action on the CPS child protective 
services worker's part if a supervisor cannot be contacted 
and the situation requires immediate action.  
b. When circumstances warrant that a child be taken into 
emergency custody during a family assessment, the 
report shall be reassigned immediately to an 
investigation.  

c. Any person who takes a child into custody pursuant to 
§ 63.2-1517 of the Code of Virginia shall be immune 
from any civil or criminal liability in connection 
therewith, unless it is proven that such person acted in 
bad faith or with malicious intent.  
d. The local department shall have the authority to have a 
complete medical examination made of the child 
including a written medical report and, when appropriate, 
photographs and x-rays pursuant to § 63.2-1520 of the 
Code of Virginia.  
e. When a child in 72-96-hour emergency custody is in 
need of immediate medical or surgical treatment, the 
local director of social services or his designee(s) 
designee may consent to such treatment when the parent 
does not provide consent and a court order is not 
immediately obtainable.  
f. When a child is not in the local department's custody, 
the local department cannot consent to medical or 
surgical treatment of the child.  
g. When a child is removed, every effort must be made to 
obtain an emergency removal order within four hours. 
Reasons for not doing so shall be stated in the petition for 
an emergency removal order.  
h. Every effort shall be made to provide notice of the 
removal in person to the parent or guardian as soon as 
practicable.  
i. Within 30 days of removing a child from the custody of 
the parents or legal guardians, the local department shall 
exercise due diligence to identify and notify in writing all 
maternal and paternal grandparents and other adult 
relatives of the child and explain the options they have to 
participate in the care and placement of the child, unless 
the local department determines such notification is not 
in the best interest of the child. These notifications shall 
be documented in the state automated system. When 
notification to any of these relatives is not made, the 
child protective services worker shall document the 
reasons in the state automated system. 

22VAC40-705-70. Collection of information. 
A. When conducting an investigation the local department 

shall seek first-source information about the allegation of 
child abuse and/or neglect. When applicable, the local 
department shall include in the case record: police reports; 
depositions; photographs; physical, medical and 
psychological reports; and any electronic recordings of 
interviews. 

B. When completing a family assessment, the local 
department shall gather all relevant information in 
collaboration with the family, to the degree possible, in order 
to determine the child and family services needs related to 
current safety or future risk of harm to the child. 

C. All information collected for a family assessment or an 
investigation must be entered in the state automated system 
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and maintained according to § 63.2-1514 for unfounded 
investigations or family assessments or according to 
22VAC40-700-30 22VAC40-705-130 for founded 
investigations. The automated record entered in the statewide 
automation state automated system is the official record. 
When documentation is not available in electronic form, it 
must be maintained in the hard copy portion of the record. 
Any hard copy information, including photographs and 
recordings, shall be noted as an addendum to the official 
record. 
22VAC40-705-80. Family assessment and investigation 
contacts. 

A. During the course of the family assessment, the child 
protective services (CPS) worker shall make and record 
document in writing in the state automated system the 
following contacts and observations. When any of these 
contacts or observations is not made, the child protective 
services worker shall document in writing why the specific 
contact or observation was not made. 

1. The child protective services worker shall conduct a 
face-to-face interview with and observe the alleged victim 
child and siblings within the determined response time. 
2. The child protective services worker shall conduct a 
face-to-face interview with and observe all minor siblings 
residing in the home. 
2. 3. The child protective services worker shall conduct a 
face-to-face interview with the alleged victim child's 
parents or guardians and/or any caretaker named in the 
report. 
3. 4. The child protective services worker shall observe the 
family environment, contact pertinent collaterals, and 
review pertinent records in consultation with the family. 

B. During the course of the investigation, the child 
protective services (CPS) worker shall make and record 
document in writing in the state automated system the 
following contacts and observations. When any of these 
contacts or observations is not made, the CPS child protective 
services worker shall record document in writing why the 
specific contact or observation was not made. 

1. The child protective services worker shall conduct a 
face-to-face interview with and observation of the alleged 
victim child and siblings within the determined response 
time. All interviews with alleged victim children must be 
electronically recorded except when the child protective 
services worker determines that: 

a. The child's safety may be endangered by electronically 
recording his statement; 
b. The age and/or developmental capacity of the child 
makes electronic recording impractical; 
c. A child refuses to participate in the interview if 
electronic recording occurs; or 

d. In the context of a team investigation with law-
enforcement personnel, the team or team leader 
determines that audio taping electronic recording is not 
appropriate.  
e. The victim provided new information as part of a 
family assessment and it would be detrimental to 
reinterview the victim and the child protective services 
worker provides a detailed narrative of the interview in 
the investigation record. 

In the case of an interview conducted with a nonverbal 
child where none of the above exceptions apply, it is 
appropriate to electronically record the questions being 
asked by the child protective services worker and to 
describe, either verbally or in writing, the child's responses. 
A child protective services worker shall document in detail 
in the record and discuss with supervisory personnel the 
basis for a decision not to electronically record an 
interview with the alleged victim child. 
A child protective services finding may be based on the 
written narrative of the child protective services worker in 
cases where an electronic recording is unavailable due to 
equipment failure or the above exceptions. 
2. The child protective services worker shall conduct a 
face-to-face interview and observe all minor siblings 
residing in the home. 
2. 3. The child protective services (CPS) worker shall 
conduct a face-to-face interview with the alleged abuser 
and/or neglector. 

a. The CPS child protective services worker shall inform 
the alleged abuser and/or neglector of his right to tape 
electronically record any communication pursuant to § 
63.2-1516 of the Code of Virginia. 
b. If requested by the alleged abuser and/or neglector, the 
local department shall provide the necessary equipment 
in order to electronically record the interview and retain a 
copy of the electronic recording. 

3. 4. The child protective services worker shall conduct a 
face-to-face interview with the alleged victim child's 
parents or guardians. 
4. 5. The child protective services worker shall observe the 
environment where the alleged victim child lives. This 
requirement may be waived in complaints of child abuse 
and neglect involving caretakers in state licensed and 
religiously exempted child care centers, regulated and 
unregulated family day care homes, private and public 
schools, group residential facilities, hospitals or 
institutions. 
5. 6. The child protective services worker shall observe the 
site where the alleged incident took place. 
6. 7. The child protective services worker shall conduct 
interviews with collaterals who have pertinent information 
relevant to the investigation and the safety of the child. 
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7. 8. Pursuant to § 63.2-1505 of the Code of Virginia, local 
departments may obtain and consider statewide criminal 
history record information from the Central Criminal 
Records Exchange on any individual who is the subject of 
a child abuse and neglect investigation where there is 
evidence of child abuse or neglect and the local department 
is evaluating the safety of the home and whether removal is 
necessary to ensure the child's safety. The local department 
may also obtain a criminal record check on all adult 
household members residing in the home of the alleged 
abuser and/or neglector and where the child visits. 
Pursuant to § 19.2-389 of the Code of Virginia, local 
departments are authorized to receive criminal history 
information on the person who is the subject of the 
investigation as well as other adult members of the 
household for the purposes in § 63.2-1505 of the Code of 
Virginia. The results of the criminal record history search 
may be admitted into evidence if a child abuse or neglect 
petition is filed in connection with the child's removal. 
Local departments are prohibited from dissemination of 
this information excepted as authorized by the Code of 
Virginia. 

22VAC40-705-110. Assessments in family assessments and 
investigations.  

A. In both family assessments and investigations the child 
protective services worker shall conduct an initial safety 
assessment of the child's circumstances and threat of danger 
or harm, and where appropriate shall make a safety plan to 
provide for the protection of the child.  

B. In all founded cases and in completed family assessments 
and investigations, the child protective services worker shall 
make conduct a risk assessment to determine whether or not 
the child is in jeopardy of future abuse and/or neglect and 
whether or not intervention is necessary to protect the child.  

C. In investigations, the child protective services worker 
shall make a dispositional assessment after collecting and 
synthesizing assessing information about the alleged abuse or 
neglect.  

D. In all investigations with a founded disposition, the child 
protective services worker shall assess the severity of the 
abuse or neglect and shall assign a level. The three levels of 
founded dispositions are: 

1. Level 1. This level includes those injuries or conditions, 
real or threatened, that result in or were likely to have 
resulted in serious harm to a child.  
2. Level 2. This level includes injuries or conditions, real 
or threatened, that result in or were likely to have resulted 
in moderate harm to a child.  
3. Level 3. This level includes injuries or conditions, real 
or threatened, that result in or were likely to have resulted 
in minimal harm to a child. 

22VAC40-705-120. Complete the family assessment or 
investigation Extensions; suspensions; track changes; 
local conferences. 

A. The local department shall promptly notify the alleged 
abuser and/or neglector and the alleged victim's parents or 
guardians of any extension of the deadline for the completion 
of the family assessment or investigation pursuant to § 63.2-
1506 B 3 or subdivision 5 of § 63.2-1505 B 5 or § 63.2-1506 
B 3 of the Code of Virginia. The child protective services 
worker shall document the notifications and the reason for the 
need for additional time in the case record. 

B. At the completion of the family assessment, the subject of 
the report shall be notified orally and in writing of the results 
of the assessment. Pursuant to § 63.2-1505 B 5 of the Code of 
Virginia, in an investigation involving the death of a child or 
alleged sexual abuse of a child while waiting for records that 
are necessary to make a finding and the records are not 
available to the local department due to circumstances beyond 
the local department's control, the time during which the 
records are unavailable shall not be computed as part of the 
determination deadlines set out in § 63.2-1505 B 5 of the 
Code of Virginia. When such unavailability of records occurs, 
the local department shall promptly notify the alleged abuser 
or neglector and the alleged victim's parents or guardians that 
the records are unavailable and the effect of the unavailability 
on the completion of the investigation. The child protective 
services worker shall document the notifications and the 
reason for the suspension in the case record. Upon receipt of 
the records necessary to make a finding, the local department 
shall complete the investigation.  

C. The subject of the report shall be notified immediately if 
during the course of completing the family assessment the 
situation is reassessed and determined to meet the 
requirements, as specified in § 63.2-1506 B 7 of the Code of 
Virginia, to be investigated. 

D. The subject of the report or complaint may consult with 
the local department to hear and refute evidence collected 
during the investigation. Whenever a criminal charge is also 
filed against the alleged abuser for the same conduct 
involving the same victim child as investigated by the local 
department, sharing the evidence prior to the court hearing is 
prohibited. No information gathered during a joint 
investigation with law enforcement shall be released by the 
local department unless authorized by the investigating law-
enforcement agency or the local attorney for the 
Commonwealth pursuant to § 63.2-1516.1 B of the Code of 
Virginia. 

E. Local conference. 
1. If the alleged abuser and/or neglector is found to have 
committed abuse or neglect, that alleged abuser and/or 
neglector may, within 30 days of being notified of that 
determination, submit a written request for an amendment 
of the determination and the local department's related 
records pursuant to § 63.2-1526 A of the Code of Virginia. 
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The local department shall conduct an informal conference 
in an effort to examine the local department's disposition 
and reasons for it and consider additional information 
about the investigation and disposition presented by the 
alleged abuser and/or neglector. 
2. The local conference shall be conducted in accordance 
with 22VAC40-705-190.  

22VAC40-705-130. Report family assessment or 
investigation conclusions.  

A. Unfounded investigation.  
A. 1. Pursuant to § 63.2-1514 of the Code of Virginia, the 
local department shall report all unfounded case 
dispositions to the child abuse and neglect information 
system when disposition is made.  
1. 2. The department shall retain unfounded complaints or 
reports with an unfounded disposition in the child abuse 
and neglect information system to provide local 
departments with information regarding prior 
investigations.  
2. 3. This record shall be kept separate from the Central 
Registry and accessible only to the department and to local 
departments.  
3. 4. The record of the unfounded case investigation with 
an unfounded disposition shall be purged one year after the 
date of the complaint or report if there are no subsequent 
founded or unfounded complaints and/or reports regarding 
the individual against whom allegations of abuse and/or 
neglect were made or regarding the same child in that one 
year.  
4. The record of the family assessment shall be purged 
three years after the date of the complaint or report if there 
are no subsequent complaints and/or reports regarding the 
individual against whom allegations of abuse and/or 
neglect were made or regarding the same child in those 
three years.  
5. If the individual against whom allegations of abuse 
and/or neglect were made or if the same child is involved 
in subsequent complaints and/or reports, the information 
from all complaints and/or reports shall be maintained until 
the last purge date has been reached.  
6. 5. The individual against whom an unfounded 
disposition for allegations of abuse and/or neglect were 
was made may request in writing that the local department 
retain the record for an additional period of up to two 
years.  
7. 6. The individual against whom allegations of abuse 
and/or neglect were made may request in writing that both 
the local department and the department shall immediately 
purge the record after a court rules upon presentation of a 
certified copy of a court order that there has been a civil 
action that determined that the complaint or report was 
made in bad faith or with malicious intent pursuant to 
§ 63.2-1514 of the Code of Virginia.  

B. Founded investigation. 
B. 1. The local department shall report all founded case 
dispositions to the child abuse and neglect information 
system for inclusion in the Central Registry pursuant to 
subdivision 5 of § 63.2-1505 § 63.2-1515 of the Code of 
Virginia and 22VAC40-700-30.  
2. Identifying information about the abuser and/or 
neglector and the victim child or children reported include 
demographic information, type of abuse or neglect, and 
date of the complaint.  
3. The identifying information shall be retained based on 
the determined level of severity of the abuse or neglect 
pursuant to the regulation dealing with retention in the 
Central Registry, 22VAC40-700-30 22VAC40-705-110: 

a. Eighteen years past the date of the complaint for all 
complaints determined by the local department to be 
founded as Level 1.  
b. Seven years past the date of the complaint for all 
complaints determined by the local department to be 
founded as Level 2.  
c. Three years past the date of the complaint for all 
complaints determined by the local department to be 
founded as Level 3.  

4. Pursuant to § 63.2-1514 A of the Code of Virginia, all 
records related to founded, Level 1 dispositions of sexual 
abuse shall be maintained by the local department for a 
period of 25 years from the date of the complaint. This 
applies to all investigations with founded dispositions on 
or after July 1, 2010. This retention timeframe will not be 
reflected in the Central Registry past the purge dates set 
out in this subsection.  

C. Family assessments. 
1. The record of the family assessment shall be purged 
three years after the date of the complaint or report if there 
are no subsequent complaints or reports regarding the 
individual against whom allegations of abuse or neglect 
were made or regarding the same child in those three years. 
2. The individual against whom allegations of abuse or 
neglect were made may request in writing that both the 
local department and the department shall immediately 
purge the record upon presentation of a certified copy of a 
court order that there has been a civil action that 
determined that the complaint or report was made in bad 
faith or with malicious intent pursuant to § 63.2-1514 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

D. In all family assessments or investigations, if the 
individual against whom the allegations of abuse or neglect is 
involved in any subsequent complaint or report, the 
information from all complaints or reports shall be 
maintained until the last purge date has been reached.  
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22VAC40-705-140. Notification of findings. 
A. Upon completion of the investigation or family 

assessment the local child protective services worker shall 
make notifications as provided in this section. 

B. Individual against whom allegations of abuse and/or 
neglect were made. 

1. When the disposition is unfounded, the child protective 
services worker shall inform the individual against whom 
allegations of abuse and/or neglect were made of this 
finding. This notification shall be in writing with a copy to 
be maintained in the case record. The individual against 
whom allegations of abuse and/or neglect were made shall 
be informed that he may have access to the case record and 
that the case record shall be retained by the local 
department for one year unless requested in writing by 
such individual that the local department retain the record 
for up to an additional two years. 

a. If the individual against whom allegations of abuse 
and/or neglect were made or the subject child is involved 
in subsequent complaints, the information from all 
complaints shall be retained until the last purge date has 
been reached. 
b. The local worker shall notify the individual against 
whom allegations of abuse and/or neglect were made of 
the procedures set forth in § 63.2-1514 of the Code of 
Virginia regarding reports or complaints alleged to be 
made in bad faith or with malicious intent. 
c. When In accordance with § 32.1-283.1 D of the Code 
of Virginia when an unfounded disposition is made in an 
investigation that involves a child death, the child 
protective services worker shall inform the individual 
against whom allegations of abuse and/or neglect were 
made that the case record will be retained for the longer 
of 12 months or until the State Child Fatality Review 
Team has completed its review of the case pursuant to § 
32.1-283.1 D of the Code of Virginia. 

2. When the abuser and/or neglector in a founded 
complaint disposition is a foster parent of the victim child, 
the local department shall place a copy of this notification 
letter in the child's foster care record and in the foster home 
provider record.  
3. When the abuser or neglector in a founded disposition is 
a full-time, part-time, permanent, or temporary employee 
of a school division, the local department shall notify the 
relevant school board of the founded complaint pursuant to 
§ 63.2-1505 B 7 of the Code of Virginia. 
4. The local department shall notify the Superintendent of 
Public Instruction when an individual holding a license 
issued by the Board of Education is the subject of a 
founded complaint of child abuse or neglect and shall 
transmit identifying information regarding such individual 
if the local department knows the person holds a license 
issued by the Board of Education and after all rights to any 

appeal provided by § 63.2-1526 of the Code of Virginia 
have been exhausted. 
3. 5. No disposition of founded or unfounded shall be made 
in a family assessment. At the completion of the family 
assessment the subject of the report shall be notified orally 
and in writing of the results of the assessment. The child 
protective services worker shall notify the individual 
against whom allegations of abuse or neglect were made of 
the procedures set forth in § 63.2-1514 of the Code of 
Virginia regarding reports or complaints alleged to be 
made in bad faith or with malicious intent. 

C. Subject child's parents or guardian. 
1. When the disposition is unfounded, the child protective 
services worker shall inform the parents or guardian of the 
subject child in writing, when they are not the individuals 
against whom allegations of child abuse and/or neglect 
were made, that the complaint investigation involving their 
child was determined to be resulted in an unfounded 
disposition and the length of time the child's name and 
information about the case will be maintained. The child 
protective services worker shall file a copy in the case 
record. 
2. When the disposition is founded, the child protective 
services worker shall inform the parents or guardian of the 
child in writing, when they are not the abuser and/or 
neglector, that the complaint involving their child was 
determined to be founded and the length of time the child's 
name and information about the case will be retained in the 
Central Registry. The child protective services worker shall 
file a copy in the case record. 
3. When the founded case disposition of abuse or neglect 
does not name the parents or guardians of the child as the 
abuser or neglector and when the abuse or neglect occurred 
in a licensed or unlicensed day care center, a regulated 
family day home, a private or public school, a child-caring 
institution or a residential facility for juveniles, the parent 
or guardian must be consulted and must give permission 
for the child's name to be entered into the central registry 
pursuant to § 63.2-1515 of the Code of Virginia. 

D. Complainant.  
1. When an unfounded disposition is made, the child 
protective services worker shall notify the complainant, 
when known, in writing that the complaint was 
investigated and determined to be unfounded. The worker 
shall file a copy in the case record. 
2. When a founded disposition is made, the child protective 
services worker shall notify the complainant, when known, 
in writing that the complaint was investigated and 
necessary action was taken. The local worker shall file a 
copy in the case record. 
3. When a family assessment is completed, the child 
protective services worker shall notify the complainant, 
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when known, that the complaint was assessed and 
necessary action taken. 

E. Family Advocacy Program.  
When a founded disposition is made, the child protective 
services worker shall notify the Family Advocacy Program 
representative in writing as set forth in 22VAC40-720-20. 
When a family assessment is conducted and the family is 
determined to be in need of services, the child protective 
services worker may notify the Family Advocacy Program 
representative in writing as set forth in 22VAC40-720-20.  
1. Pursuant to § 63.2-1503 N of the Code of Virginia, in all 
investigations with a founded disposition or family 
assessment that involve an active duty member of the 
United States Armed Forces or members of his household, 
information regarding the disposition, type of abuse or 
neglect, and the identity of the abuser or neglector shall be 
provided to the appropriate Family Advocacy Program 
representative. This notification shall be made in writing 
within 30 days after the administrative appeal rights of the 
abuser or neglector have been exhausted or forfeited. 
2. The military member shall be advised that this 
information regarding the founded disposition or family 
assessment is being provided to the Family Advocacy 
Program representative and shall be given a copy of the 
written notification sent to the Family Advocacy Program 
representative.  
3. Pursuant to § 63.2-105 of the Code of Virginia, when an 
active duty member of the United States Armed Forces or a 
member of his household is involved in an investigation, 
family assessment, or provision of services case, any 
information regarding child protective services reports, 
complaints, investigations, family assessments, and follow 
up may be shared with the appropriate Family Advocacy 
Program representative of the United States Armed Forces 
when the local department determines such release to be in 
the best interest of the child. In these situations, 
coordination between child protective services and the 
Family Advocacy Program is intended to facilitate 
identification, treatment, and service provision to the 
military family.  
4. When needed by the Family Advocacy Program 
representative to facilitate treatment and service provision 
to the military family, any other additional information not 
prohibited from being released by state or federal law or 
regulation shall also be provided to the Family Advocacy 
Program representative when the local department 
determines such release to be in the best interest of the 
child.  

22VAC40-705-160. Releasing information.  
A. In the following instances of mandatory disclosure the 

local department shall release child protective services 
information. The local department may do so without any 
written release.  

1. Report to attorney for the Commonwealth and law 
enforcement pursuant to § 63.2-1503 D of the Code of 
Virginia.  
2. Report to the regional medical examiner's office 
pursuant to §§ 32.1-283.1 C and § 63.2-1503 E F of the 
Code of Virginia.  
3. If a court mandates disclosure of information from a 
child abuse and neglect case record, the local department 
must comply with the request. The local department may 
challenge a court action for the disclosure of the case 
record or any contents thereof. Upon exhausting legal 
recourse, the local department shall comply with the court 
order.  
4. When a family assessment or investigation is completed, 
the child protective services worker shall notify the 
complainant/reporter that either a complaint/report is 
unfounded or that necessary action is being taken.  
5. 3. Any individual, including an individual against whom 
allegations of child abuse and/or neglect were made, may 
exercise his Privacy Protection Act Government Data 
Collection and Dissemination Practices Act (§ 2.2-3800 et 
seq. of the Code of Virginia) rights to access personal 
information related to himself which that is contained in 
the case record including, with the individual's notarized 
consent, a search of the Central Registry pursuant to § 2.2-
3704 of the Code of Virginia.  
6. 4. When the material requested includes personal 
information about other individuals, the local department 
shall be afforded a reasonable time in which to redact those 
parts of the record relating to other individuals.  
7. 5. Pursuant to the Child Abuse Prevention and 
Treatment Act, as amended (42 USC § 5101 et seq.), and 
federal regulations (45 CFR Part 1340), the local 
department shall provide case-specific information about 
child abuse and neglect reports and investigations to citizen 
review panels when requested.  
8. 6. Pursuant to the Child Abuse Prevention and 
Treatment Act, as amended (42 USC § 5101 et seq.), the 
department shall develop guidelines to allow for public 
disclosure in instances of child fatality or near fatality.  
9. 7. An individual's right to access information under the 
Privacy Protection Act Government Data Collection and 
Dissemination Practices Act is stayed during criminal 
prosecution pursuant to § 2.2-3802 63.2-1526 C of the 
Code of Virginia.  
10. 8. The local department shall disclose and release to the 
United States Armed Forces Family Advocacy Program 
child protective services information as required pursuant 
to 22VAC40-720-20 22VAC40-705-140.  
11. 9. Child protective services shall, on request by the 
Division of Child Support Enforcement, supply 
information pursuant to § 63.2-103 of the Code of 
Virginia.  
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12. 10. The local department shall release child protective 
services information to a court appointed special advocate 
pursuant to § 9.1-156 A of the Code of Virginia.  
13. 11. The local department shall release child protective 
services information to a court-appointed guardian ad litem 
pursuant to § 16.1-266 E G of the Code of Virginia.  

B. The local department may use discretion in disclosing or 
releasing child protective services case record information, 
investigative and on-going services to parties having a 
legitimate interest when the local department deems 
disclosure to be in the best interest of the child. The local 
department may disclose such information without a court 
order and without a written release pursuant to § 63.2-105 of 
the Code of Virginia.  

C. The local department shall not release the identity of 
persons reporting incidents of child abuse or neglect, unless 
court ordered, in accordance with § 63.2-1526 of the Code of 
Virginia, 42 USC § 5101 et seq., and federal regulations (45 
CFR Part 1340).  

D. C. Prior to disclosing information to any individuals or 
organizations, and to be consistent with § 63.2-104 63.2-105 
of the Code of Virginia, pursuant to § 63.2-1500 of the Code 
of Virginia, the local department must be satisfied that 
consider the factors described in subdivisions 1, 2, and 3 of 
this subsection as some of the factors necessary to determine 
whether a person has a legitimate interest and the disclosure 
of information is in the best interest of the child:  

1. The information will be used only for the purpose for 
which it is made available;  
2. Such purpose shall be related to the goal of child 
protective or rehabilitative services; and  
3. The confidential character of the information will be 
preserved to the greatest extent possible.  

D. In the following instances, the local department shall not 
release child protective services information: 

1. The local department shall not release the identity of 
persons reporting incidents of child abuse or neglect, 
unless court ordered, in accordance with § 63.2-1526 of the 
Code of Virginia, 42 USC § 5101 et seq., and federal 
regulations (45 CFR Part 1340). 
2. In all complaints or reports that are being investigated 
jointly with law enforcement, no information shall be 
released by the local department unless authorized by the 
law-enforcement officer or his supervisor or the attorney 
for the Commonwealth pursuant to § 63.2-1516.1 B of the 
Code of Virginia.  

22VAC40-705-180. Training. 
A. The department shall implement a uniform training plan 

for child protective services workers and supervisors. The 
plan shall establish minimum standards for all child 
protective services workers and supervisors in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia. 

B. Workers and supervisors shall complete skills and policy 
training specific to child abuse and neglect investigations and 
family assessments within the first two years of their 
employment. 

C. All child protective services workers and supervisors 
shall complete a minimum of 24 contact hours of continuing 
education or training annually. This requirement begins after 
completion of initial training mandates and no later than three 
years from the date of hire. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3636; Filed November 12, 2015, 8:49 a.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-780. Elimination of 
Financial Eligibility Criteria for Direct Social Services 
(amending 22VAC40-780-60).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 63.2-217 and 63.2-614 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled. 
Public Comment Deadline: January 13, 2016. 
Effective Date: February 1, 2016.  
Agency Contact: Phyl Parrish, Policy, Legislation and 
Regulatory Manager, Department of Social Services, 801 East 
Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-
7926, FAX (804) 726-7499, or email 
phyl.parrish@dss.virginia.gov. 
Basis: Section 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia provides the 
authority for the State Board of Social Services to adopt 
regulations to carry out the purpose of Title 63.2. Section 
63.2-319 of the Code of Virginia requires local departments 
of social services (LDSS) to provide child welfare and other 
services. Section 63.2-407 of the Code of Virginia provides 
that counties and cities may provide public assistance and 
social services as authorized by the State Board of Social 
Services. 
Purpose: The purpose of the regulatory action is to change the 
title of the regulation to make it more accurately reflect the 
regulation's content and purpose. It is also to remove 
unnecessary language that may cause individuals to think the 
regulation addresses services delivered as part of public 
assistance programs. This regulation is essential in that it 
provides authority for LDSS to provide direct services 
impacting the safety of children and the welfare of children 
and their families. 
Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The fast-track 
rulemaking process is appropriate for the promulgation of this 
regulatory action because the two changes being made are 
simple and intended to clarify, and it is unlikely anyone 
would comment on them. In the past two periodic reviews of 
this regulation, including the most recent one ending June 8, 
2015, no comments were received. 
Substance: The title of the regulation is being changed from 
"Elimination of Financial Eligibility for Direct Social 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 8 Virginia Register of Regulations December 14, 2015 

1504 

Services" to "Eligibility for Direct Social Services." In 
22VAC40-780-60, a sentence stating that all persons needing 
social services may be served on a universal access basis, 
except for services delivered as part of an employment 
services program, is being changed to remove the reference to 
employment services programs. 
Issues: The regulation is being changed to clarify the title and 
remove unnecessary language. More clarity in the regulation 
is an advantage to the public and to the LDSS that use this 
regulation for authority for their provision of direct social 
services. There are no disadvantages to the public or the 
Commonwealth. 
Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings: This 
regulatory action serves as the report of the findings of the 
regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Social Services (Board) proposes to change this 
regulation's title and eliminate language that is unrelated to 
the purposes of this regulation.  
Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for these 
proposed changes. 
Estimated Economic Impact. This regulation's current title is 
"Elimination of Financial Eligibility Criteria for Direct Social 
Services" and the regulation currently contains a part of a 
sentence that refers to employment services programs, which 
fall under public assistance programs not direct social 
services. The Board proposes to change the title of this 
regulation to "Eligibility for Direct Social Services" and to 
remove the reference to employment services programs from 
the regulatory text. No entities are likely to incur costs on 
account of either of these changes. Both changes will likely 
increase the clarity of the regulation as they remove language 
that might cause confusion. 
Businesses and Entities Affected. Board staff reports that 
these changes will affect all 120 local Departments of Social 
Services and any of their clients who qualify for direct social 
services. 
Localities Particularly Affected. No locality in the 
Commonwealth will be particularly affected by these 
proposed changes.  
Projected Impact on Employment. These proposed changes 
are unlikely to impact employment in the Commonwealth. 
Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 
proposed changes will likely have no impact on the use or 
value of private property. 
Real Estate Development Costs. These proposed changes will 
likely not affect real estate development costs. 
Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 
employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual 
sales of less than $6 million." 
Costs and Other Effects. No small businesses will incur costs on 
account of these regulatory changes. 
Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. No small 
businesses will incur costs on account of these regulatory 
changes. 
Adverse Impacts: 
Businesses: No businesses will incur costs on account of 
these regulatory changes. 
Localities: These proposed changes are unlikely to adversely 
impact localities. 
Other Entities: These proposed changes are unlikely to 
adversely impact any other entity in the Commonwealth. 
Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
Department of Social Services concurs with the economic 
impact analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and 
Budget. 
Summary: 

The amendments (i) change the title of the regulation and 
(ii) remove unnecessary language in 22VAC40-780-60 
referring to employment services programs, which are 
benefit or public assistance programs rather than social 
services programs. 

CHAPTER 780  
ELIMINATION OF FINANCIAL ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA 

FOR DIRECT SOCIAL SERVICES  
22VAC40-780-60. Universal access.  

Local departments of social services may choose one of two 
options in providing direct services on a universal access 
basis:  

1. All persons needing direct services may be served on a 
universal access basis except for services delivered as a 
part of employment services programs; or  
2. Only persons needing the following services may be 
served on a universal access basis:  

a. Intake services;  
b. Family services (services provided to prevent child 
abuse and neglect, independent adoptions, and court 
activities);  
c. Adult protective services;  
d. Child protective services;  
e. Foster care or adoption services; or 
f. Adult services (services provided to elderly and 
incapacitated adults at risk of abuse, neglect, or 
exploitation).  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4436; Filed November 12, 2015, 8:57 a.m.  
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

VIRGINIA BOARD FOR ASBESTOS, LEAD, AND 
HOME INSPECTORS 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Virginia 
Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors conducted a 
small business impact review of 18VAC15-11, Public 
Participation Guidelines, and determined that this regulation 
should be retained in its current form. The Virginia Board for 
Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors is publishing its report 
of findings dated November 24, 2015, to support this decision 
in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

Section 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia mandates the 
agency to solicit the input of interested parties in the 
formation and development of its regulations. Therefore, the 
continued need for the regulation is established in statute. The 
regulation is necessary to protect public health, safety, and 
welfare by establishing public participation guidelines that 
promote public involvement in the development, amendment, 
or repeal of an agency's regulation. By soliciting the input of 
interested parties, the agency is better equipped to effectively 
regulate the occupation or profession. Since no complaints or 
comments were received during the public comment period, 
there does not appear to be a reason to amend or repeal the 
regulation. The regulation is clearly written and easily 
understandable. The regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or 
contravene federal or state law or regulation. The most recent 
periodic review of the regulation occurred in 2011. On 
November 19, 2015, the board discussed the regulation and, 
for the reasons stated in this paragraph, determined that the 
regulation should not be amended or repealed but should be 
retained in its current form. 

Contact Information: Trisha Henshaw, Executive Director, 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 
telephone (804) 367-8595, FAX (866) 350-5354, or email 
alhi@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Virginia 
Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors conducted a 
small business impact review of 18VAC15-20, Virginia 
Asbestos Licensing Regulations, and determined that this 
regulation should be retained in its current form. The Virginia 
Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors is publishing 
its report of findings dated November 24, 2015, to support 
this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Section 54.1-201.5 of the Code of Virginia mandates the 
board to promulgate regulations. The continued need for the 
regulation is established in statute. Repeal of the regulation 
would remove the current public protections provided by the 
regulation. The board protects the safety and welfare of the 

citizens of the Commonwealth by ensuring that only those 
individuals and firms that meet specific criteria set forth in 
the statutes and regulations are eligible to receive a license or 
training program accreditation. The board is also tasked with 
ensuring that its regulants meet standards of practice that are 
set forth in the regulations. No comments or complaints were 
received during the public comment period. The regulation is 
clearly written, is easily understandable, and does not overlap, 
duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law or regulation. 
The most recent periodic review of the regulation occurred in 
2011. On November 19, 2015, the board discussed the 
regulation and, for the reasons stated in this paragraph, 
determined that the regulation should not be amended or 
repealed but should be retained in its current form. 

Contact Information: Trisha Henshaw, Executive Director, 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 
telephone (804) 367-8595, FAX (866) 350-5354, or email 
alhi@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Virginia 
Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors conducted a 
small business impact review of 18VAC15-30, Virginia 
Lead-Based Paint Activities Regulations, and determined 
that this regulation should be retained in its current form. The 
Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors is 
publishing its report of findings dated November 24, 2015, to 
support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Section 54.1-201.5 of the Code of Virginia mandates the 
board to promulgate regulations. The continued need for the 
regulation is established in statute. Repeal of the regulation 
would remove the current public protections provided by the 
regulation. The board protects the safety and welfare of the 
citizens of the Commonwealth by ensuring that only those 
individuals and firms that meet specific criteria set forth in 
the statutes and regulations are eligible to receive a license or 
training program accreditation. The board is also tasked with 
ensuring that its regulants meet standards of practice that are 
set forth in the regulations. No comments or complaints were 
received during the public comment period. The regulation is 
clearly written, is easily understandable, and does not overlap, 
duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law or regulation. 
The most recent periodic review of the regulation occurred in 
2011. On November 19, 2015, the board discussed the 
regulation and, for the reasons stated in this paragraph, 
determined that the regulation should not be amended or 
repealed but should be retained in its current form. 

Contact Information: Trisha Henshaw, Executive Director, 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 
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telephone (804) 367-8595, FAX (866) 350-5354, or email 
alhi@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Virginia 
Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors conducted a 
small business impact review of 18VAC15-40, Virginia 
Certified Home Inspectors Regulations, and determined 
that this regulation should be retained in its current form. The 
Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors is 
publishing its report of findings dated November 24, 2015, to 
support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Section 54.1-201.5 of the Code of Virginia mandates the board to 
promulgate regulations. The continued need for the regulation is 
established in statute. Repeal of the regulation would remove the 
current public protections provided by the regulation. The board 
protects the safety and welfare of the citizens of the 
Commonwealth by ensuring that only those individuals who 
meet specific criteria set forth in the statutes and regulations are 
eligible to receive a certificate. The board is also tasked with 
ensuring that its regulants meet standards of practice that are set 
forth in the regulations. No comments or complaints were 
received during the public comment period. The regulation is 
clearly written, is easily understandable, and does not overlap, 
duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law or regulation. The 
most recent periodic review of the regulation occurred in 2011. 
On November 19, 2015, the board discussed the regulation and, 
for the reasons stated in this paragraph, determined that the 
regulation should not be amended or repealed but should be 
retained in its current form. 

Contact Information: Trisha Henshaw, Executive Director, 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 9960 
Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 
(804) 367-8595, FAX (866) 350-5354, or email 
alhi@dpor.virginia.gov. 

AUCTIONEERS BOARD 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 
2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Auctioneers Board is 
currently reviewing each of the regulations listed below to 
determine whether the regulation should be repealed, 
amended, or retained in its current form. The review of each 
regulation will be guided by the principles in Executive Order 
17 (2014). Public comment is sought on the review of any 
issue relating to each regulation, including whether the 
regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 
safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 
important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 
economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 
with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 
written and easily understandable. 

18VAC25-11, Public Participation Guidelines 

18VAC25-21, Regulations of the Virginia Auctioneers 
Board 

The comment period begins December 14, 2015, and ends 
January 4, 2016. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 
(physical or email) information in order to receive a response to 
the comment from the agency. Following the close of the public 
comment period, a report of both reviews will be posted on the 
Town Hall, and a report of the small business impact review will 
be published in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Marian H. Brooks, Regulatory Board 
Administrator, Department of Professional and Occupational 
Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 
23233, telephone (804) 367-8514, FAX (866) 465-6206, or 
email auctioneers@dpor.virginia.gov. 

BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board for 
Contractors conducted a small business impact review of 
18VAC50-11, Public Participation Guidelines, and determined 
that this regulation should be retained in its current form. The 
Board for Contractors is publishing its report of findings dated 
November 24, 2015, to support this decision in accordance with 
§ 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

Section 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia mandates the 
agency to solicit the input of interested parties in the 
formation and development of its regulations. Therefore, the 
continued need for the regulation is established in statute. The 
regulation is necessary to protect public health, safety, and 
welfare by establishing public participation guidelines that 
promote public involvement in the development, amendment, 
or repeal of an agency's regulation. By soliciting the input of 
interested parties, the agency is better equipped to effectively 
regulate the occupation or profession. Since no relevant 
complaints or comments were received during the public 
comment period, there does not appear to be a reason to 
amend or repeal the regulation. The regulation is clearly 
written and easily understandable. The regulation does not 
overlap, duplicate, or contravene federal or state law or 
regulation. This is the first periodic review of the regulation 
since becoming effective in 2008. On October 20, 2015, the 
Board for Contractors reviewed the regulation and, for the 
reasons stated in this paragraph, determined that the 
regulation should not be amended or repealed but should be 
retained in its current form. 

Contact Information: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 
telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (866) 430-1033, or email 
contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 
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DEPARTMENT OF FORENSIC SCIENCE 

Approval of Field Tests for Detection of Drugs 
In accordance with 6VAC40-30, the Regulations for the Approval of Field Tests for Detection of Drugs, and under the 
authority of the Code of Virginia, the following field tests for detection of drugs are approved field tests:  

ODV INCORPORATED 
13386 INTERNATIONAL PARKWAY 
JACKSONVILLE, FL 32218-2383 

 

ODV NarcoPouch  

Drug or Drug Type: Manufacturer's Field Test: 

Heroin 902 – Marquis Reagent 
Amphetamine 902 – Marquis Reagent 
Methamphetamine 902 – Marquis Reagent 
3,4–Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) 902 – Marquis Reagent 
Cocaine Hydrochloride 904 or 904B – Cocaine HCl and Base Reagent 
Cocaine Base  904 or 904B – Cocaine HCl and Base Reagent 
Barbiturates 905 – Dille-Koppanyi Reagent 
Lysergic Acid Diethylamide (LSD) 907 – Ehrlich's (Modified) Reagent 
Marijuana 908 – Duquenois – Levine Reagent 
Hashish Oil 908 – Duquenois – Levine Reagent 
Marijuana 909 – K N Reagent 
Hashish Oil 909 – K N Reagent 
Phencyclidine (PCP) 914 – PCP Methaqualone Reagent 
Heroin 922 – Opiates Reagent 
Methamphetamine 923 – Methamphetamine/Ecstasy Reagent 
3,4–Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) 923 – Methamphetamine/Ecstasy Reagent 
Heroin 924 – Mecke's (Modified) Reagent 
Diazepam 925 – Valium/Ketamine Reagent 
Ketamine 925 – Valium/Ketamine Reagent 
Ephedrine 927 – Ephedrine Reagent 
gamma – Hydroxybutyrate (GHB) 928 – GHB Reagent 

ODV NarcoTest  

Drug or Drug Type: Manufacturer's Field Test: 

Heroin  7602 – Marquis Reagent 
Amphetamine 7602 – Marquis Reagent 
Methamphetamine 7602 – Marquis Reagent 
3,4–Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) 7602 – Marquis Reagent 
Barbiturates 7605 – Dille-Koppanyi Reagent 
Lysergic Acid Diethylamide (LSD) 7607 – Ehrlich's (Modified) Reagent 
Marijuana 7608 – Duquenois Reagent 
Hashish Oil 7608 – Duquenois Reagent 
Marijuana 7609 – K N Reagent 
Hashish Oil 7609 – K N Reagent 
Cocaine Hydrochloride 7613 – Scott (Modified) Reagent 
Cocaine Base 7613 – Scott (Modified) Reagent 
Phencyclidine (PCP) 7614 – PCP Methaqualone Reagent 
Heroin 7622 – Opiates Reagent 
Methamphetamine 7623– Methamphetamine/Ecstasy Reagent 
3,4–Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) 7623– Methamphetamine/Ecstasy Reagent 
Heroin 7624 – Mecke's Reagent 
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Diazepam 7625 – Valium/Ketamine Reagent 
Ketamine 7625 – Valium/Ketamine Reagent 
Ephedrine 7627 – Chen's Reagent Ephedrine 
gamma – Hydroxybutyrate (GHB) 7628 – GHB Reagent 

SIRCHIE FINGERPRINT LABORATORIES 
100 HUNTER PLACE 
YOUNGSVILLE, NC 27596 

 

NARK  

Drug or Drug Type Manufacturer's Field Test: 

Narcotic Alkaloids 1 – Mayer's Reagent 
Heroin 1 – Mayer's Reagent 
Morphine 1 – Mayer's Reagent 
Amphetamine 1 – Mayer's Reagent 
Methamphetamine 1 – Mayer's Reagent 
Opium Alkaloids 2 – Marquis Reagent 
Heroin 2 – Marquis Reagent 
Morphine 2 – Marquis Reagent 
Amphetamine 2 – Marquis Reagent 
Methamphetamine 2 – Marquis Reagent 
3,4–Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) 2 – Marquis Reagent 
Meperidine (Demerol) (Pethidine) 2 – Marquis Reagent 
Heroin 3 – Nitric Acid 
Morphine  3 – Nitric Acid 
Cocaine Hydrochloride 4 – Cobalt Thiocyanate Reagent 
Cocaine Base 4 – Cobalt Thiocyanate Reagent 
Procaine 4 – Cobalt Thiocyanate Reagent 
Tetracaine 4 – Cobalt Thiocyanate Reagent 
Barbiturates 5 – Dille-Koppanyi Reagent 
Heroin 6 – Mandelin Reagent 
Morphine 6 – Mandelin Reagent 
Amphetamine 6 – Mandelin Reagent 
Methamphetamine 6 – Mandelin Reagent 
Lysergic Acid Diethylamide (LSD) 7 – Ehrlich's Reagent 
Marijuana 8 – Duquenois Reagent 
Hashish 8 – Duquenois Reagent 
Hashish Oil 8 – Duquenois Reagent 
Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) 8 – Duquenois Reagent 
Marijuana 9 – NDB (Fast Blue B Salt) Reagent 
Hashish 9 – NDB (Fast Blue B Salt) Reagent 
Hashish Oil 9 – NDB (Fast Blue B Salt) Reagent 
Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) 9 – NDB (Fast Blue B Salt) Reagent 
Cocaine Base 13 – Cobalt Thiocyanate/Crack Test 

NARK II  

Drug or Drug Type: Manufacturer's Field Test:  

Narcotic Alkaloids 01 – Marquis Reagent 
Heroin 01 – Marquis Reagent 
Morphine 01 – Marquis Reagent 
Amphetamine 01 – Marquis Reagent 
Methamphetamine 01 – Marquis Reagent 
3,4–Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) 01 – Marquis Reagent 
Morphine 02 – Nitric Acid 
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Heroin 02 – Nitric Acid 
Barbiturates 03 – Dille-Koppanyi Reagent 
Lysergic Acid Diethylamide (LSD) 04 – Ehrlich's Reagent 
Marijuana 05 – Duquenois – Levine Reagent 
Hashish 05 – Duquenois – Levine Reagent 
Hashish Oil 05 – Duquenois – Levine Reagent 
Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) 05 – Duquenois – Levine Reagent 
Cocaine Hydrochloride 07 – Scott's (Modified) Reagent 
Cocaine Base 07 – Scott's (Modified) Reagent 
Phencyclidine (PCP) 09 – Phencyclidine Reagent  
Opiates 10 – Opiates Reagent 
Heroin 10 – Opiates Reagent 
Morphine 10 – Opiates Reagent 
Buprenorphine 10 – Special Opiates Reagent 
Heroin 11 – Mecke's Reagent 
3,4–Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) 11 – Mecke's Reagent 
Pentazocine 12 – Talwin/Pentazocine Reagent 
Ephedrine 13 – Ephedrine Reagent 
Diazepam 14 – Valium Reagent 
Methamphetamine 15 – Methamphetamine (Secondary Amines Reagent) 
Narcotic Alkaloids 19 – Mayer's Reagent 
Heroin 19 – Mayer's Reagent 
Morphine 19 – Mayer's Reagent 
Amphetamine 19 – Mayer's Reagent 
Methamphetamine 19 – Mayer's Reagent 
3,4-Methylenedioxypyrovalerone (MDPV) 24 – MDPV (Bath Salts) Reagent 
Beta-keto-N-methyl-3,4-benzodioxyolybutanamine (other 
name: butylone) 

24 – MDPV Synthetic Cathinones Reagent 

3,4-Methylenedioxyethcathinone (other name: ethylone) 24 – MDPV Synthetic Cathinones Reagent 
3,4-Methylenedioxymethcathinone (other name: methylone) 24 – MDPV Synthetic Cathinones Reagent 
Naphthylpyrovalerone (other name: naphyrone) 24 – MDPV Synthetic Cathinones Reagent 
Beta-keto-methylbenzodioxolylpentanamine (other name: 
pentylone) 

24 – MDPV Synthetic Cathinones Reagent 

4-Methylmethcathinone (Mephedrone) 25 – Mephedrone (Bath Salts) Reagent 
Alpha-pyrrolidinovalerophenone (other name: alpha-PVP) 26 – A-PVP (Synthetic Stimulant) Reagent 
4-Bromo-2,5-dimethoxyphenethylamine (other name: 2C-B) 29 - 2C Reagent 
2-(4-Chloro-2,5-dimethoxyphenyl)ethanamine (other name: 
2C-C) 

29 – 2C Reagent 

4-Ethyl-2,5-dimethoxyphenethylamine (other name: 2C-E) 29 – 2C Reagent 
4-Iodo-2,5-dimethoxyphenethylamine (other name: 2C-I) 29 – 2C Reagent 
2-(2,5-Dimethoxy-4-nitro-phenyl)ethanamine (other name: 
2C-N) 

29 – 2C Reagent 

2,5-dimethoxy-4-(n)-propylthiophenethylamine (other name: 
2C-T-7) 

29 – 2C Reagent 

Psilocybin 30 – Psilocybin/Psilocin Reagent 
Methamphetamine 31 – Liebermann Reagent 
Morphine 31 – Liebermann Reagent 

ARMOR HOLDINGS, INCORPORATED 
13386 INTERNATIONAL PARKWAY 
JACKSONVILLE, FL 32218-2383 

 

NIK  

Drug or Drug Type: Manufacturer's Field Test:  

Heroin Test A 6071 – Marquis Reagent 
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Amphetamine Test A 6071 – Marquis Reagent 
Methamphetamine Test A 6071 – Marquis Reagent 
3,4–Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) Test A 6071 – Marquis Reagent 
Morphine Test B 6072 – Nitric Acid Reagent 
Barbiturates Test C 6073 – Dille-Koppanyi Reagent 
Lysergic Acid Diethylamide (LSD) Test D 6074 – LSD Reagent System 
Marijuana Test E 6075 – Duquenois – Levine Reagent 
Hashish Oil Test E 6075 – Duquenois – Levine Reagent 
Tetrahydrocannabinol Test E 6075 – Duquenois – Levine Reagent 
Cocaine Hydrochloride Test G 6077 – Scott (Modified) Reagent 
Cocaine Base Test G 6077 – Scott (Modified) Reagent 
Cocaine Hydrochloride 6500 or 6501 – Cocaine ID Swab 
Cocaine Base 6500 or 6501 – Cocaine ID Swab 
Phencyclidine (PCP) Test J 6079 – PCP Reagent System 
Heroin Test K 6080 – Opiates Reagent 
Heroin Test L 6081 – Brown Heroin Reagent System 
gamma – Hydroxybutyrate (GHB) Test O 6090 – GHB Reagent 
Ephedrine Test Q 6085 – Ephedrine Reagent 
Pseudoephedrine Test Q 6085 – Ephedrine Reagent 
Diazepam Test R 6085 – Valium Reagent 
Methamphetamine Test U 6087 – Methamphetamine Reagent 
3,4–Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) Test U 6087 – Methamphetamine Reagent 
Methadone Test W 6088 – Mandelin Reagent System 

MISTRAL SECURITY INCORPORATED 
7910 WOODMONT AVENUE SUITE 820 
BETHESDA, MD 20814 

 

Drug or Drug Type: Manufacturer's Field Test:  

Heroin Detect 4 Drugs Aerosol 
Amphetamine Detect 4 Drugs Aerosol 
Methamphetamine Detect 4 Drugs Aerosol 
Marijuana Detect 4 Drugs Aerosol 
Hashish Oil Detect 4 Drugs Aerosol 
Methamphetamine Meth 1 and 2 Aerosol 
Heroin Herosol Aerosol 
Marijuana Cannabispray 1 and 2 Aerosol 
Hashish Oil Cannabispray 1 and 2 Aerosol 
Cocaine Hydrochloride Coca-Test Aerosol 
Cocaine Base Coca-Test Aerosol 
Marijuana Pen Test – D4D 
Phencyclidine Pen Test – D4D 
Amphetamine Pen Test – D4D 
Ketamine Pen Test – D4D 
Methamphetamine Pen Test – D4D 
Ephedrine Pen Test – D4D 
Heroin Pen Test – D4D 
Methadone Pen Test – D4D 
Buprenorphine  Pen Test – D4D 
Opium Pen Test – D4D 
Phenobarbital Pen Test – Barbitusol 
Marijuana Pen Test – Cannabis Test 
Phencyclidine Pen Test – Coca Test 
Cocaine Hydrochloride Pen Test – Coca Test 
Cocaine Base Pen Test – Coca Test 
Buprenorphine Pen Test – C&H Test 
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Cocaine Hydrochloride Pen Test – C&H Test 
Cocaine Base Pen Test – C&H Test 
Ephedrine Pen Test – C&H Test 
Ketamine Pen Test – C&H Test 
Heroin Pen Test – C&H Test 
Lysergic Acid Diethylamide (LSD) Pen Test – C&H Test 
Methadone Pen Test – C&H Test 
Methamphetamine Pen Test – C&H Test 
Heroin Pen Test – Herosol 
Methadone Pen Test – Herosol 
Lysergic Acid Diethylamide Pen Test – LSD Test 
Methamphetamine Pen Test – Meth/X Test 
3,4-Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) Pen Test – Meth/X Test 
Morphine Pen Test – Opiatest 
Opium Pen Test – Opiatest 
Diazepam Pen Test – BZO 
Ephedrine Pen Test – Ephedrine 
Pseudoephedrine Pen Test – Ephedrine 
Amphetamine 101 PDT Marquis Reagent 
Heroin 101 PDT Marquis Reagent 
3,4-Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) 101 PDT Marquis Reagent 
Phenobarbital 107 PDT Dille-Koppanyi Reagent 
Lysergic Acid Diethylamide 110 PDT Modified Ehrlich Reagent 
Marijuana 119 PDT KN Reagent 
Cocaine Hydrochloride 122 PDT Modified Scott Reagent 
Cocaine Base 122 PDT Modified Scott Reagent 
Methaqualone 143 PDT Methaqualone/PCP Reagent 
Phencyclidine 143 PDT Methaqualone/PCP Reagent 
Heroin 140 PDT Modified Mecke's Reagent 
gamma-Hydroxybutyrate (GHB) 149 PDT GHB Reagent 
Ephedrine 155 PDT Chen's Reagent 
Diazepam 158 PDT Valium/Rohypnol Reagent 
Flunitrazepam 158 PDT Valium/Rohypnol Reagent 
Ketamine 161 PDT Morris Reagent 
Methamphetamine 164 PDT Methamphetamine (MDMA/Ecstasy) Reagent 
3,4-Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) 164 PDT Methamphetamine (MDMA/Ecstasy) Reagent 
Psilocybin 167 PDT Psilocybin Reagent 
3,4-Methylenedioxypyrovalerone (MDPV) 170 PDT Bath Salts: MDPV Reagent 
4-Methylmethcathinone (Mephedrone) 173 PDT Bath Salts: Mephedrone Reagent 
Morphine 137 PDT Opiates Reagent 

JANT PHARMACAL CORPORATION 
16255 VENTURA BLVD., #505 
ENCINO, CA 91436 

 

Formerly available through: 
MILLENNIUM SECURITY GROUP 

 

Accutest IDenta  

Drug or Drug Type: Manufacturer's Field Test:  

Marijuana ACS3000 Marijuana/Hashish (Duquenois-Levine Reagent) 
Hashish Oil ACS3000 Marijuana/Hashish (Duquenois-Levine Reagent) 
Heroin Heroin Step 1 and Step 2 
Cocaine Hydrochloride Cocaine/Crack Step 1 and Step 2 
Cocaine Base Cocaine/Crack Step 1 and Step 2 
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3,4–Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) MDMA Step 1 and Step 2 
Methamphetamine Methamphetamine Step 1 and Step 2 

COZART PLC 
92 MILTON PARK 
ABINGDON, OXFORDSHIRE ENGLAND OX14 4RY 

 

Drug or Drug Type: Manufacturer's Field Test:  

Cocaine Cocaine Solid Field Test 

LYNN PEAVEY COMPANY 
10749 WEST 84TH TERRACE 
LEXEXA, KS 66214 

 

QuickCheck  

Drug or Drug Type: Manufacturer's Field Test:  

Marijuana Marijuana (Duquenois-Levine Reagent) – 10120 
Marijuana Marijuana – 10121 
Hashish Oil Marijuana (Duquenois-Levine Reagent) – 10120 
Hashish Oil Marijuana – 10121 
Heroin Marquis – 10123 
Heroin Heroin - 10125  
Cocaine Hydrochloride Cocaine – 10124 
Cocaine Base Cocaine – 10124 
Methamphetamine Meth/Ecstasy – 10122 
Methamphetamine Marquis – 10123 
MDMA Meth/Ecstasy – 10122 
MDMA Marquis - 10123 

M.M.C. INTERNATIONAL B.V. 
FRANKENTHALERSTRAAT 16-18 
4816 KA BREDA 
THE NETHERLANDS 

 

Drug or Drug Type: Manufacturer's Field Test:  

Heroin Opiates/Amphetamine Test (Ampoule) 
Morphine Opiates/Amphetamine Test (Ampoule) 
Amphetamine Opiates/Amphetamine Test (Ampoule) 
Methamphetamine Opiates/Amphetamine Test (Ampoule) 
Codeine Opiates/Amphetamine Test (Ampoule) 
Marijuana Cannabis Test (Ampoule) 
Hashish Oil Cannabis Test (Ampoule) 
Cocaine Hydrochloride Cocaine/Crack Test (Ampoule) 
Cocaine Base Cocaine/Crack Test (Ampoule) 
Heroin Heroin Test (Ampoule) 
Ketamine Ketamine Test (Ampoule) 
Methadone Methadone Test (Ampoule) 
Methamphetamine Crystal Meth/XTC Test (Ampoule) 
3,4-Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) Crystal Meth/XTC Test (Ampoule) 
Morphine M&H Test (Ampoule) 
Heroin M&H Test (Ampoule) 
Ephedrine Ephedrine HCL Test (Ampoule) 
Pseudoephedrine Ephedrine HCL Test (Ampoule) 
Pentazocine Pentazocine Test (Ampoule) 
Buprenorphine Buprenorphine HCL Test (Ampoule) 
Gamma Butyrolactone (GBL) GBL Test (Ampoule) 
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Gamma Hydroxybutyric acid (GHB)   GHB Test (Ampoule) 
Oxycodone Oxycodone Test (Ampoule) 
Oxymetholone Steroids Test B (Ampoule) 
Testosterone Steroids Test B (Ampoule) 
Methandrostenolone Steroids Test B (Ampoule) 
Phenylacetone PMK/BMK(BMK) Test (Ampoule) 
Lysergic Acid Diethylamide (LSD) LSD Test (Ampoule) 
Phencyclidine (PCP) PCP Test (Ampoule) 
Methaqualone Methaqualone Test (Ampoule) 
Amobarbital Barbiturates Test (Ampoule) 
Pentobarbital Barbiturates Test (Ampoule) 
Phenobarbital Barbiturates Test (Ampoule) 
Secobarbital Barbiturates Test (Ampoule) 
Propoxyphene Propoxyphene Test (Ampoule) 
Diazepam V&R Test (Ampoule) 
Cocaine Hydrochloride Cocaine/Crack Test (Spray) 
Cocaine Base Cocaine/Crack Test (Spray) 
Cocaine Hydrochloride Cocaine Trace Wipes 
Cocaine Base Cocaine Trace Wipes 
Morphine Opiate Cassette 
Heroin Opiate Cassette 
3,4-Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) MDMA/Ecstasy Cassette 
Methamphetamine Methamphetamine Cassette 
Amphetamine Amphetamine Cassette 
Cocaine Hydrochloride Cocaine/Crack NarcoSpray® 
Phencyclidine (PCP) Cocaine/Crack NarcoSpray® 
Methaqualone Cocaine/Crack NarcoSpray® 
gamma-Butyrolactone (GBL) Cocaine/Crack NarcoSpray® 
3,4-Methylenedioxypyrovalerone (MDPV) Cocaine/Crack NarcoSpray® 
Cocaine Base Cocaine/Crack NarcoSpray® 
Ketamine General Screening NarcoSpray® 
Heroin General Screening NarcoSpray® 
Marijuana General Screening NarcoSpray® 
Methamphetamine General Screening NarcoSpray® 
3,4-Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) General Screening NarcoSpray® 
Phencyclidine (PCP) General Screening NarcoSpray® 

REDXDEFENSE 
7642 STANDISH PLACE 
ROCKVILLE, MD 20855 

 

XCAT  

Drug or Drug Type: Manufacturer's Field Test: 

Cocaine Hydrochloride COC-210 Card 
Cocaine base COC-210 Card 
Phencyclidine COC-210 Card 
Heroin HER-110 Card 
Amphetamine AMP-500 Card 
Methamphetamine AMP-500 Card 
3,4-Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) AMP-500 Card 
Butylone AMP-500 Card 
Methedrone AMP-500 Card 
Methylone AMP-500 Card 
Mephedrone AMP-500 Card 
N-Benzylpiperazine (N-BZP) AMP-500 Card 
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Mescaline AMP-500 Card 
2C-I AMP-500 Card 

DETECTACHEM LLC 
4100 GREENBRIAR DR 
SUITE 180 
STAFFORD, TX 77477 

 

SEEKERe  

Drug or Drug Type: Manufacturer's Field Test: 

Codeine SEEKERe / Opiates Test Card 
Morphine SEEKERe / Opiates Test Card 
Heroin SEEKERe / Opiates Test Card 
Cocaine Hydrochloride SEEKERe / Cocaine Test Card 
Cocaine Base SEEKERe / Cocaine Test Card 
Methamphetamine SEEKERe / Meth/MDMA Test Card 
3,4-Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) SEEKERe / Meth/MDMA Test Card 
Marijuana SEEKERe / Marijuana/THC Test Card 
JWH-018 SEEKERe / Synthetic Cannabinoids Test Card 
  

VIRGINIA LOTTERY 

Director's Orders 

The following Director's Orders of the Virginia Lottery were 
filed with the Virginia Registrar of Regulations on November 
24, 2015. The orders may be viewed at the Virginia Lottery, 
900 East Main Street, Richmond, VA, or at the office of the 
Registrar of Regulations, 201 North 9th Street, 2nd Floor, 
Richmond, VA. 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Twenty (15) 

Virginia Lottery's "New Year's Millionaire Raffle Promotion" 
Final Rules for Operation (effective November 3, 2015) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Forty-Six (15) 

Virginia's Computer-Generated Lottery Game Powerball® 
Final Rules for Game Operation (This Director's Order 
becomes effective on October 10, 2015, fully replaces any 
and all prior Virginia Lottery "Powerball" game rules, and 
shall remain in full force and effect unless amended or 
rescinded by further Director's Order) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Fifty-One (15) 

Virginia's Computer-Generated Lottery Game Cash4Life® 
Final Rules for Game Operation (This Director's Order 
becomes effective on November 19, 2015, fully replaces any 
and all prior Virginia Lottery Cash4Life® Virginia-specific 
game rules, and shall remain in full force and effect unless 
amended or rescinded by further Director's Order) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Fifty-Two (15) 
Virginia's Computer-Generated Lottery Game Mega Millions 
Final Rules for Game Operation (This Director's Order 
becomes effective on November 19, 2015, fully replaces any 

and all prior Virginia Lottery "Mega Millions" game rules, 
and shall remain in full force and effect unless amended or 
rescinded by further Director's Order) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Sixty (15) 

Virginia's Lottery's "Bank A Million Coupon" Final Rules for 
Operation (effective October 27, 2015) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Sixty-One (15) 

"Holiday Games Llama Sign" Virginia Lottery Retailer 
Incentive Program (This Director's Order becomes effective 
on December 1, 2015, and shall remain in full force and effect 
until ninety (90) days after the conclusion of the incentive 
program, unless otherwise extended by the Director) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Sixty-Two (15) 

Virginia's Lottery's "Food Lion MVP Kiosk Coupon 
Promotion" Final Rules for Operation (effective November 4, 
2015) 

BOARD OF NURSING 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 
2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Board of Nursing is 
conducting a periodic review and small business impact 
review of 18VAC90-50, Regulations Governing the 
Certification of Massage Therapists. The review of this 
regulation will be guided by the principles in Executive Order 
17 (2014).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 
regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 
current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 
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issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 
regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 
safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 
important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 
economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 
with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 
written and easily understandable. 

The comment period begins December 14, 2015, and ends 
January 13, 2016. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 
Regulatory Town Hall at 
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 
may also be sent to Elaine J. Yeatts, Regulatory Coordinator, 
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, 
telephone (804) 367-4688, or email 
elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 
(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 
to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 
public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 
posted on the Town Hall and a report of the small business 
impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations. 

DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 
conducted a small business impact review of 18VAC120-30, 
Regulations Governing Polygraph Examiners, and 
determined that this regulation should be retained in its 
current form. The Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation is publishing its report of findings 
dated November 24, 2015, to support this decision in 
accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

1) Sections 54.1-201.5 and 54.1-1802 of the Code of Virginia 
mandate the Director of the Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation to promulgate regulations. The 
continued need for the regulation is established in statute. 
Repeal of the regulation would remove the current public 
protections provided by the regulation. The regulation does 
not have an adverse economic impact on small businesses or 
on individual licensure or registration. Rather, the regulation 
allows individuals who meet specific minimum competencies 
to become licensed or obtain intern registration in Virginia.  

2) No complaints or comments were received.  

3) The regulation is clearly written and is easily 
understandable.  

4) The regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with 
federal or state law or regulation.  

5) The most recent evaluation occurred in 2011. No changes, 
including changes in technology and economic conditions, 
have been identified that would affect licensed individuals 
seeking registration as a polygraph examiner intern or 
licensure as a polygraph examiner. The director, for the 
reasons stated above, determined that the regulation should 
not be amended or repealed but should be retained in its 
current form. 

Contact Information: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 
telephone (804) 367-7226, FAX (866) 430-1033, or email 
polygraph@dpor.virginia.gov. 

REAL ESTATE APPRAISER BOARD 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Real 
Estate Appraiser Board conducted a small business impact 
review of 18VAC130-11, Public Participation Guidelines, 
and determined that this regulation should be retained in its 
current form. The Real Estate Appraiser Board is publishing 
its report of findings dated November 18, 2015, to support 
this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Section 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia mandates the 
agency to solicit the input of interested parties in the 
formation and development of its regulations. Therefore, the 
continued need for the regulation is established in statute. The 
regulation is necessary to protect public health, safety, and 
welfare by establishing public participation guidelines that 
promote public involvement in the development, amendment, 
or repeal of an agency's regulation. By soliciting the input of 
interested parties, the agency is better equipped to effectively 
regulate the occupation or profession. Since no complaints or 
comments were received during the public comment period, 
there does not appear to be a reason to amend or repeal the 
regulation. The regulation is clearly written and easily 
understandable. The regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or 
contravene federal or state law or regulation. The most recent 
periodic review of the regulation occurred in 2012. On 
November 17, 2015, the board discussed the regulation and, 
for the reasons stated above, determined that the regulation 
should not be amended or repealed but should be retained in 
its current form. 

Contact Information: Christine Martine, Executive Director, 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 
telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (866) 826-8863, or email 
reappraisers@dpor.virginia.gov. 



General Notices/Errata 

Volume 32, Issue 8 Virginia Register of Regulations December 14, 2015 

1516 

REAL ESTATE APPRAISER BOARD 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Real 
Estate Appraiser Board conducted a small business impact 
review of 18VAC130-20, Real Estate Appraiser Board 
Rules and Regulations, and determined that this regulation 
should be retained in its current form. The Real Estate 
Appraiser Board is publishing its report of findings dated 
November 18, 2015, to support this decision in accordance 
with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

Section 54.1-201.5 of the Code of Virginia mandates the 
board to promulgate regulations. The continued need for the 
regulation is established in statute. Repeal of the regulation 
would remove the current public protections provided by the 
regulation. The board protects the safety and welfare of the 
citizens of the Commonwealth by ensuring that only those 
individuals who meet specific criteria set forth in the statutes 
and regulations are eligible to receive a real estate appraiser 
license and business registration. The board is also tasked 
with ensuring that its regulants meet standards of practice that 
are set forth in the regulations. No comments or complaints 
were received during the public comment period. The 
regulation is clearly written, is easily understandable, and 
does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with federal or state 
law or regulation. The most recent evaluation occurred in 
2012. The board discussed the regulation and, for the reasons 
stated in this paragraph, determined that the regulation should 
not be amended or repealed but should be retained in its 
current form. 

Contact Information: Christine Martine, Executive Director, 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 
telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (866) 826-8863, or email 
reappraisers@dpor.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Consent Order for Neff Lumber Mills, Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Neff Lumber 
Mills, Inc. for violations at the Neff Lumber Mills, Inc. 
facility in Broadway, Virginia. The State Water Control 
Board proposes to issue a consent order to Neff Lumber 
Mills, Inc., to address noncompliance with State Water 
Control Law. A description of the proposed action is 
available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 
named below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Karen 
Hensley will accept comments by email at 
karen.hensley@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (540) 574-7878, or 
postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, Valley 
Regional Office, P.O. Box 3000, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, 
from December 14, 2015, to January 13, 2016. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 
Commission, General Assembly Building, 201 North 9th 
Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: Voice 
(804) 786-3591; Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 
requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 
websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 
http://www.virginia.gov/connect/commonwealth-calendar. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 
Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 
regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 
repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 
regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 
the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 
available at 
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 
System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 
publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 
Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 
Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 
Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 
complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 
regulatory information. 
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