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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 

publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 

days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 

necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 

clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 

comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 

to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 

completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 

comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 

than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 

period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 

appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 

may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 

objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 

will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 

by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 

with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 

Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 

substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 

30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 

public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 

receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 

comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 

inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 

certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 

process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 

provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 

objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 

consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 

Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 

emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 

regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 

law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 

days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 

operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 

unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 

more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 

months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 

Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 

procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 

agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 

Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 

regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 

180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 

chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 

prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

29:5 VA.R. 1075-1192 November 5, 2012, refers to Volume 29, Issue 

5, pages 1075 through 1192 of the Virginia Register issued on  

November 5, 2012. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

James M. LeMunyon, Vice Chair, Gregory D. Habeeb; Ryan T. 

McDougle; Pamela S. Baskervill; Robert L. Calhoun; Carlos L. 

Hopkins; E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; Christopher R. 

Nolen; Timothy Oksman; Charles S. Sharp; Robert L. Tavenner. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 

Karen Perrine, Assistant Registrar; Anne Bloomsburg, Regulations 
Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Operations 

Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

December 2015 through December 2016 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

32:9 December 9, 2015 December 28, 2015 

32:10 December 21, 2015 (Monday) January 11, 2016 

32:11 January 6, 2016 January 25, 2016 

32:12 January 20, 2016 February 8, 2016 

32:13 February 3, 2016 February 22, 2016 

32:14 February 17, 2016 March 7, 2016 

32:15 March 2, 2016 March 21, 2016 

32:16 March 16, 2016 April 4, 2016 

32:17 March 30, 2016 April 18, 2016 

32:18 April 13, 2016 May 2, 2016 

32:19 April 27, 2016 May 16, 2016 

32:20 May 11, 2016 May 30, 2016 

32:21 May 25, 2016 June 13, 2016 

32:22 June 8, 2016 June 27, 2016 

32:23 June 22, 2016 July 11, 2016 

32:24 July 6, 2016 July 25, 2016 

32:25 July 20, 2016 August 8, 2016 

32:26 August 3, 2016 August 22, 2016 

33:1 August 17, 2016 September 5, 2016 

33:2 August 31, 2016 September 19, 2016 

33:3 September 14, 2016 October 3, 2016 

33:4 September 28, 2016 October 17, 2016 

33:5 October 12, 2016 October 31, 2016 

33:6 October 26, 2016 November 14, 2016 

33:7 November 9, 2016 November 28, 2016 

33:8 November 22, 2016 (Tuesday) December 12, 2016 

33:9 December 7, 2016 December 26, 2016 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-110. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Licensed Acupuncturists. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Dr. Arthur Yin Fan. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request:  

1. Add word "herbs" after "food supplements."  

2. Add "basic examination prescription right" to acupuncture 

practice scope:  

"Basic examination prescription right" includes: X-ray, 

ultrasound, MRI, etc. image tests; Blood routine test (CBC, 

complete blood count), Urine routine test (Urine analysis), 

Stool routine test (Stool analysis), Blood Liver panel, Blood 

Kidney panel, etc. bio-chem tests.  

3. Require only a "recommendation" for diagnostic 

examination.  

Prior to performing acupuncture, a licensed acupuncturist 

shall recommend patient to obtain written documentation that 

the patient has received a diagnostic examination within the 

past six months by a licensed doctor of medicine, osteopathy, 

chiropractic, or podiatry acting within the scope of his 

practice or shall provide to the patient a written 

recommendation for such a diagnostic examination on a form 

specified by the board and signed by the patient. The original 

of the signed form shall be maintained in the patient's chart 

and a copy provided to the patient. In case patient declines, 

the licensed acupuncturist shall let patient sign the consent 

form, check the reason of decline, and perform the basic 

examinations, includes in basic bio-chem lab tests and image 

test. 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: The petition was 

considered on October 7, 2015, by the Advisory Board on 

Acupuncture, which recommended that the petition be denied 

and that no changes be made to the regulatory language. On 

October 22, 2015, the Board of Medicine concurred with the 

recommendation. The request to add "herbs" after "food 

supplements" was denied because herbs are considered food 

supplements by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration 

(FDA), and there was concern that any herbs that are not food 

supplements and outside the oversight of the FDA may 

present some risk to the public. The request to add "basic 

examination prescription right," was denied because it would 

expand the scope of practice for acupuncturists to include 

performance or ordering of tests, and such an expansion may 

be inconsistent with the statutory definition of the practice of 

acupuncture in § 54.1-2900 of the Code of Virginia. 

Additionally, ordering and interpreting tests is beyond the 

training received in most acupuncture education programs in 

the United States. The request to change the requirement for 

documentation of referral or a recommendation for referral 

was not considered because the regulatory language in 

18VAC85-110-100 is specifically found in § 54.1-2956.9 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Department of Health 

Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, Richmond, VA 23233, 

telephone (804) 367-4688, or email 

elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-38; Filed December 7, 2015, 10:25 a.m. 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Bill Irvin. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To allow a pharmacy 

providing services to a long-term care facility to provide 

prescription information of Schedule VI drugs to a "back-up" 

pharmacy located near the facility enabling the "back-up" 

pharmacy to provide the first dispensing of the prescription 

without the act constituting a transfer of the prescription. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: In accordance with 

Virginia law, the petition has been filed with the Register of 

Regulations and will be published on December 28, 2015. 

Comment on the petition may be sent by email or regular 

mail or posted on the Virginia Regulatory Townhall at 

www.townhall.virginia.gov; comment will be accepted until 

January 27, 2016. Following receipt of all comments on the 

petition to amend regulations, the board will decide whether 

to make any changes to the regulatory language in 

Regulations Governing the Practice of Pharmacy. This matter 

will be on the board's agenda for its meeting scheduled for 

March 29, 2016. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 27, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Department of Health 

Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, Richmond, VA 23233, 

telephone (804) 367-4688, or email 

elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-10; Filed December 9, 2015, 10:05 a.m. 
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BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC150-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Veterinary Medicine. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Laura Court. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: Prohibition against 

euthanizing a pet against a veterinarian's recommendation if 

the pet owner is trying to schedule it and the veterinarian is 

not recommending it. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: The petition will be 

published on December 28, 2015, in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations and also posted on the Virginia Regulatory 

Townhall at www.townhall.virginia.gov to receive public 

comment ending January 27, 2016. Following receipt of all 

comments on the petition to amend regulations, the board will 

decide whether to make any changes to the regulatory 

language. This matter will be on the board's agenda for its 

first meeting after the comment period, which is tentatively 

scheduled for February 10, 2016. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 27, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-

4688, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-09; Filed November 30, 2015, 12:10 p.m. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Safety and Health Codes Board 

intends to consider amending 16VAC25-60, Administrative 

Regulation for the Virginia Occupational Safety and 

Health Program, which contains rules and procedures under 

which the Commonwealth carries out its obligations, as 

prescribed by Title 40.1 of the Code of Virginia and the 

Virginia State Plan for Occupational Safety and Health, as 

approved by the U.S. Department of Labor. The proposed 

changes are intended to accommodate statutory changes to 

the Code of Virginia, strengthen anti-retaliation or 

"whistleblower" protections for both public and private sector 

employees, and specify the burden of proof threshold for 

Virginia Occupational Safety and Health (VOSH) Program 

cases that go to circuit court.  

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 40.1-6 and 40.1-22 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 27, 2016. 

Agency Contact: John J. Crisanti, Planning and Evaluation 

Manager, Department of Labor and Industry, Main Street 

Centre, 600 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-4300, FAX (804) 786-8418, or email 

crisanti.john@dol.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4561; Filed December 7, 2015, 11:26 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Pharmacy intends to 

consider amending 18VAC110-20, Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy. In compliance with the second 

enactment clause of Chapter 300 of the 2015 Acts of the 

Assembly, the purpose of the proposed action is to adopt 

regulations to implement the requirement of law that facilities 

engaged in the compounding of sterile drugs and registered 

with the U.S. Secretary of Health and Human Services as 

outsourcing facilities must hold a permit to compound or ship 

compounded drugs into Virginia. The proposed amendments 

include (i) setting fees for approval of applications and 

renewal of permits and registration; (ii) specifying 

requirements for pharmacies that are or are not applicable to 

outsourcing facilities; (iii) establishing requirements for 

pharmacist supervision, recordkeeping, and renewal; and (iv) 

specifying that if a compounding pharmacy shares physical 

space with an outsourcing facility, the more stringent 

standards of good manufacturing practices are applicable. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3307 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 27, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4416, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4528; Filed December 7, 2015, 11:23 a.m. 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Pharmacy intends to 

consider amending 18VAC110-30, Regulations for 

Practitioners of the Healing Arts to Sell Controlled 

Substances. In compliance with the second enactment clause 

of Chapter 117 of the 2015 Acts of the Assembly, the purpose 

of the proposed action is to adopt regulations to implement 

the requirement of law that practitioners of the healing arts 

must dispense controlled substances in permitted facilities. 

The proposed amendments include (i) setting fees for 

approval of applications, renewal of permits, and 

reinstatement of lapsed permits and (ii) associating 

requirements for inspections, physical standards for the 

facility, and notification to the board with the facility permit 

rather than the individual licensee. The only proposed change 

in physical requirements is specificity about the availability 

of hot and cold water, which must be within 20 feet of the 

selling and storage area and not located within an 

examination room or restroom. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3304.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 27, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 527-4416, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4532; Filed December 7, 2015, 11:22 a.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Code Commission is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4104 of the Code of Virginia, which 

exempts the actions of the commission relating to the 

adoption of regulations respecting the nature and content of 

the Virginia Administrative Code, making exceptions thereto, 

supplementing or limiting the duties of agencies thereunder, 

and otherwise carrying out the purposes of Chapter 41 (§ 2.2-

4100 et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Title of Regulation: 1VAC7-10. Regulations for Filing and 

Publishing Agency Regulations (adding 1VAC7-10-10 

through 1VAC7-10-220).  

Statutory Authority: § 2.2-4104 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Karen W. Perrine, Assistant Registrar of 

Regulations, 201 North Ninth Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-3591 ext. 261, or email 

varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

This regulatory action replaces existing regulations 

applicable to state agencies when filing and publishing 

state agency regulations and updates or establishes 

requirements to include (i) eliminating the filing of an 

entire regulation by description in lieu of filing any text; 

(ii) establishing a process when only a form associated 

with a regulation is being updated; (iii) addressing when 

an agency may incorporate one of its own documents by 

reference; (iv) adding several general rules of construction 

based on similar provisions for the Code of Virginia; (v) 

establishing a method for computation of time periods 

based on publication in the Virginia Register; (vi) 

clarifying that the PDF version of the Virginia Register is 

the official version; and (vii) making other updates to 

reflect statutory changes, current terminology, and current 

practices and technology. 

CHAPTER 10 

REGULATIONS FOR FILING AND PUBLISHING 

AGENCY REGULATIONS 

Part I 

General Provisions 

1VAC7-10-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Administrative Process Act" means Chapter 40 (§ 2.2-4000 

et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Adopt textual matter by reference" means to include text 

from a document or publication in the regulation as a 

requirement or provision of the regulation.  

"Agency" means any authority, instrumentality, officer, 

board, or other unit of the government of the Commonwealth 

empowered by the basic laws to adopt regulations or decide 

cases, except as exempted by the Virginia Register Act.  

"Commission" means the Virginia Code Commission. 

"File" means to submit to the registrar so that the registrar 

receives the regulation submission package, or required or 

requested information.  

"Registrar" means the Registrar of Regulations, or his 

designee, as provided in § 2.2-4102 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Regulation" means any statement of general application, 

having the force of law and affecting the rights or conduct of 

any person, promulgated by an agency in accordance with the 

authority conferred on it by applicable basic laws. 

"Regulation submission package" means the regulation text 

and other information required to be submitted by the 

Administrative Process Act or the Virginia Register Act.  

"Regulatory Information System" means the web-enabled 

application of the Office of the Registrar of Regulations that 

is used by an agency to file regulations, regulation submission 

packages, and related information and used by the Office of 

the Registrar to publish the Virginia Register of Regulations 

and update the Virginia Administrative Code. 

"Virginia Administrative Code" or "VAC" means the 

codified publication of regulations under the provisions of 

Chapter 15 (§ 30-145 et seq.) of Title 30 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"Virginia Register Act" means Chapter 41 (§ 2.2-4100 et 

seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+2.2-4000
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+2.2-4102
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+30-145
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+2.2-4100
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"Virginia Register of Regulations" or "Register" means the 

publication issued under the provisions of Article 6 (§ 2.2-

4031 et seq.) of the Administrative Process Act. 

1VAC7-10-20. Computation of time. 

When Article 2 (§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) or 6 (§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) 

of the Administrative Process Act or the Virginia Register 

Act prescribes a time period that is contingent upon 

publication in the Register, whether before, after, or upon 

publication, the day of publication shall not be counted as 

part of the required time period. This section shall not apply 

to the comment period designated in § 2.2-4007.06 of the 

Code of Virginia to begin on the date of publication of the 

notice in the Register. 

1VAC7-10-30. General rules of construction. 

This section shall be used in the construction of the Virginia 

Administrative Code. 

1. Catchlines of sections. The catchline or title of a section 

following the section number is intended as a description 

to indicate the content of the section and does not 

constitute part of the regulation.  

2. Gender. A word used in the masculine includes the 

feminine and neuter.  

3. Number. A word used in the singular includes the plural, 

and a word used in the plural includes the singular unless 

the context clearly indicates otherwise.  

4. The word "includes" means includes, but not limited to.  

5. The word "or" means any one or all of the items listed or 

any combination thereof. 

1VAC7-10-40. Form and style of regulations. 

A. The registrar shall develop a manual to advise agencies 

regarding the form and style of regulations and the 

codification of regulations.  

B. The registrar shall provide procedures stipulating how 

agencies shall prepare and file with the registrar's office (i) 

regulations, (ii) regulation submission packages and other 

information concerning regulatory actions, or (iii) other 

information requested by the registrar for publication in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations or the Virginia 

Administrative Code.  

C. Pursuant to § 30-150 of the Code of Virginia, the 

registrar may omit from publication in the Virginia Register 

of Regulations or inclusion in the Virginia Administrative 

Code (i) effective date clauses, (ii) severability clauses, (iii) 

purpose statements, and (iv) provisions that are nonregulatory 

in nature, such as a defined word, term, or phrase that is not 

used in the regulatory text. 

D. The registrar may accept any of the items or provisions 

listed in subsection C of this section if the agency establishes 

a need to the satisfaction of the registrar. 

1VAC7-10-50. Method of filing. 

An agency shall file regulations, regulation submissions 

packages, and requested information electronically through 

the Regulatory Information System, commonly known as 

"RIS," unless specifically approved by the registrar to file 

through other means. 

1VAC7-10-60. Internet address; contact information; 

consequential changes. 

A. If an agency includes an Internet address in the text of a 

regulation, the agency is responsible for maintaining the 

accuracy and currency of the Internet address.  

B. If an agency includes contact information in the text of a 

regulation, the agency is responsible for maintaining the 

accuracy and currency of the contact information. Contact 

information includes a title, mailing address, telephone 

number, email address, or similar information. 

C. The agency must (i) promptly notify the registrar's office 

when an Internet address or contact information changes and 

(ii) provide the correct Internet address or contact 

information. The agency shall file a request for amendment as 

directed by the registrar and provide the revised text of the 

regulation.  

D. The registrar may correct an Internet address or contact 

information upon request by an agency. In addition, the 

registrar may, in his discretion, make other consequential 

corrections pursuant to §§ 2.2-4102 and 30-150 of the Code 

of Virginia.  

E. The registrar will publish notice of the correction.  

1VAC7-10-70. Waiver by registrar. 

The registrar may waive a provision of this chapter, 

provided that the waiver is consistent with applicable state 

law.  

1VAC7-10-80. Agency regulatory coordinator. 

The head of each agency, or his designee, shall appoint or 

designate an individual as the agency regulatory coordinator 

who shall coordinate the regulatory activities of the agency 

with the Office of the Registrar of Regulations. 

Part II 

Filing Regulations and Regulation Submission Packages with 

the Registrar 

1VAC7-10-90. Filing regulations. 

A. An agency must file all regulations, including materials 

incorporated by reference and forms used in administering the 

regulation, with the registrar. The regulations shall be filed 

through the Regulatory Information System or as directed by 

the registrar. 

B. The agency shall file the full text of a regulation with the 

registrar, except text that is incorporated by reference 

pursuant to § 2.2-4103 of the Code of Virginia shall be filed 

in accordance with Part III (1VAC7-10-140 et seq.) of this 

chapter.  

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+2.2-4031
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C. No regulation, or amendment or repeal thereof, is 

effective until filed with the registrar pursuant to § 2.2-4103 

of the Code of Virginia. If the regulation, or amendment or 

repeal thereof, is incomplete, the registrar may decline to 

publish the regulation.  

1VAC7-10-100. Final agency action date; effective date; 

statutory authority. 

A. An agency shall provide the date of final agency action 

and the effective date of a regulation when filing a regulation 

submission package for a fast-track or final regulatory action, 

or other equivalent action.  

B. When Virginia law allows a regulation to be effective 

upon the filing of the regulation with the registrar, the agency 

ordinarily should select an effective date at least three 

business days after filing. This subsection does not apply to 

emergency regulations adopted pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

C. An agency shall provide the effective date and expiration 

date of an emergency regulation when filing the emergency 

regulation and accompanying regulation submission package. 

If the expiration date of the emergency regulation is extended, 

the agency shall notify the registrar within three business 

days of the Governor's approval of the extension.  

D. Pursuant to § 2.2-4012 D of the Code of Virginia, a 

regulation shall contain the statutory authority for the 

regulation. An agency shall include in the regulatory 

submission package the complete citation for each statute or 

regulation that serves as the statutory authority, as follows:  

1. For a codified Virginia statute, the citation shall be to 

the applicable section of the Code of Virginia. 

2. For an uncodified Virginia statute, the citation shall be 

to the applicable chapter of the designated Act of 

Assembly.  

3. When a regulation is required to conform with federal 

law or regulation, the agency shall provide a citation to the 

specific federal law or regulation to which conformity is 

required.  

1VAC7-10-110. Supplemental information; exemption 

from Administrative Process Act. 

A. Pursuant to § 2.2-4103 of the Code of Virginia, the 

registrar may request information in addition to the full text 

of a regulation for the purpose of publishing the Register and 

VAC.  

B. An agency shall respond to a request from the registrar 

within three business days of the request, unless a different 

response time is approved by the registrar. 

C. When claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act, an agency shall provide the specific statutory 

citation for the claimed exemption. Upon request of the 

registrar, an agency should provide confirmation from the 

Office of the Attorney General of the specific statute upon 

which the exemption is based.  

1VAC7-10-120. Withdrawal of a final regulation; 

publication. 

A. When an agency withdraws a final regulation pursuant to 

§ 2.2-4016 of the Code of Virginia, the agency shall file a 

written notice of withdrawal with the registrar prior to the 

effective date of the regulation being withdrawn. The notice 

shall include: 

1. The reason for the withdrawal of the regulation; 

2. Agency contact information; 

3. The publication information; and 

4. The date of agency action. 

B. The notice of withdrawal will be published in the 

Register.  

1VAC7-10-130. Omissions and errors. 

A. An agency shall notify the registrar of all omissions or 

errors that the agency becomes aware of in any of the 

information (i) submitted for publication or (ii) published in 

the Register or the Virginia Administrative Code. 

B. The notification shall be filed with the registrar within 

seven business days of the date that the agency becomes 

aware of the omission or error.  

Part III 

Adoption of Textual Matter by Incorporation by Reference 

1VAC7-10-140. Incorporation by reference permitted. 

A. A regulation may adopt textual matter by reference to all 

or any part of a publication or document. For the purposes of 

this part, a publication and a document are interchangeable. 

The material in the document becomes the text of the 

regulation and an enforceable part of the regulation.  

B. The agency must comply with the provisions of 1VAC7-

10-150 and 1VAC7-10-160 when incorporating a document 

by reference except as provided in 1VAC7-10-170. 

C. Effective January 1, 2016, an agency may not adopt 

prospective changes to an incorporated document by referring 

to a future edition or revision of the document or by using "as 

updated," "as may be amended," "future editions," or similar 

language. When a document that an agency has incorporated 

by reference subsequently is modified by the publisher, the 

agency may adopt the modification but shall do so through a 

regulatory action. However, when an agency incorporates by 

reference provisions of the Code of Virginia, the Virginia 

Acts of Assembly, or the Virginia Administrative Code into a 

regulation, future amendments to the incorporated provisions 

are included unless other intent is specifically stated in the 

regulation. 

D. Effective January 1, 2016, an agency may not incorporate 

one of its own documents by reference unless the agency 

establishes that the documents or circumstances are unique 

and highly unusual.  
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1VAC7-10-150. Filing requirements. 

A. When an agency adopts textual matter in a regulation by 

reference to a document, the agency shall file a copy of the 

referenced document with the regulation submission package. 

The document shall be filed in its entirety, unless the registrar 

has approved a request for the document to be filed by 

descriptive statement as provided in 1VAC7-10-170. The 

agency shall also provide information as to where copies of 

the incorporated publications may be procured. 

B. When an agency adopts textual matter by reference to 

Internet content, the agency shall file the Internet content with 

the registrar. The agency shall file a read-only electronic copy 

or a printed copy of the Internet content.  

1VAC7-10-160. Regulation text. 

When incorporating material by reference, an agency shall 

include in the regulatory text (i) a statement that the 

document is incorporated by reference; (ii) the complete 

name of the document; (iii) the effective, issue, revision, or 

publication date; (iv) the version or edition, if any; and (v) the 

publisher or entity that produced the document. 

1VAC7-10-170. Exemptions from filing of documents 

adopted or incorporated by reference; requirements. 

A. The requirements established in 1VAC7-10-150 and 

1VAC7-10-160 do not apply to incorporation of textual 

matter by reference to material published in the Federal 

Register or the Code of Federal Regulations, or by reference 

to regulations of other Virginia agencies. Where such 

references are made, the regulatory text must contain a 

citation sufficient for accurate identification of the referenced 

material. 

1. Where the material has been published in the Code of 

Federal Regulations, the agency must: 

a. Include in the regulatory text the title, part or section, 

and the date of publication. Example: 40 CFR Part 260 

(July 1, 2014 update) or 40 CFR §§ 260.1 through 260.11 

(July 1, 2014 update); or 

b. Include a section listing the applicability of the cited 

CFR text and stating that when a federal regulation is 

incorporated in the chapter, that regulation shall be as it 

exists and has been published on a certain date. 

2. Where the referenced material has not been published in 

the Code of Federal Regulations but appears in the Federal 

Register, the agency must include in the regulatory text the 

volume, page, and date of the Federal Register. Example: 

79 FR 264, January 2, 2014.  

B. The registrar may exempt an agency from the 

requirement of filing the incorporated document in its entirety 

if such filing would be impractical or cause an undue 

hardship on the agency. The document shall be filed as 

directed by the registrar.  

C. The agency shall request an exemption from this filing 

requirement by submitting a request to the registrar. The 

registrar will notify the agency whether the exemption is 

approved. 

D. Even if exempted under subsections A and B of this 

section, an agency must maintain on file and make available 

to the public the full text of all materials adopted by 

reference. 

Part IV  

Forms 

1VAC7-10-180. Filing requirements. 

A. An agency shall file any form that the agency intends to 

incorporate into or use in administering the regulation with 

the proposed or final, including fast-track, regulation 

submission package for publication in the Register pursuant 

to § 2.2-4031 A of the Code of Virginia. The agency shall 

include on the face of the form (i) the date of issuance or 

revision and (ii) a form number. 

B. A form is not a substitute for regulation text and may not 

contain requirements that are not in the Code of Virginia or 

VAC.  

1VAC7-10-190. Exemption from filing a form. 

A. An agency may request an exemption from filing a form 

if the form (i) may be completed only online or electronically 

or (ii) is not in a printable format.  

B. The agency shall make a request for an exemption from 

filing by submitting a request to the registrar. The registrar 

will notify the agency whether the exemption is approved. 

C. If an exemption is approved, the Internet address for the 

form will be included in VAC.  

D. The agency shall notify the registrar in writing if an 

Internet address for the form changes. Under the authority of 

§ 30-150 of the Code of Virginia, the registrar may correct 

the Internet address in the Virginia Administrative Code. 

E. The granting of an exemption under this section does not 

relieve an agency from maintaining the forms on file and 

making the forms available to the public.  

1VAC7-10-200. Modification of forms in the Virginia 

Administrative Code. 

A. The provisions of this section apply when a form for a 

regulation is added, amended, or removed, provided that (i) 

the regulatory text is not changing and (ii) the change to the 

form is not making a substantive change to the regulation.  

B. An agency shall file form changes as directed by the 

registrar.  

C. Notice of revised forms will be published in the Register, 

and forms will be updated in the Virginia Administrative 

Code online on the date of publication of the volume and 

issue of the Register in which it appears.  

1VAC7-10-210. Publication. 

A. For the purposes of § 2.2-4031 of the Code of Virginia, a 

form shall be considered to be published in the Virginia 

Register of Regulations if (i) the form is published in full, (ii) 
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a hyperlink to the form is published, or (iii) a notice 

identifying where the form may be obtained is published. 

B. The registrar shall determine how a form will be 

published.  

Part V 

Virginia Register of Regulations 

1VAC7-10-220. Availability and official version. 

As provided in § 2.2-4031 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Virginia Register of Regulations is published by posting the 

Register on the Virginia Code Commission's website. The 

portable document format (PDF) file is the official version of 

the Register. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4592; Filed December 9, 2015, 10:34 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL RESOURCES 

DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION AND RECREATION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of Conservation and Recreation is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 1 of the Code of Virginia, which excludes agency orders or 

regulations fixing rates or prices. The Department of Conservation and Recreation will receive, consider, and respond to 

petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC5-36. Standard Fees for Use of Department of Conservation and Recreation Facilities, 

Programs, and Services (amending 4VAC5-36-50, 4VAC5-36-60, 4VAC5-36-70, 4VAC5-36-90, 4VAC5-36-100, 4VAC5-

36-110, 4VAC5-36-120, 4VAC5-36-140 through 4VAC5-36-170, 4VAC5-36-200, 4VAC5-36-210).  

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-104 of the Code of Virginia.  

Effective Date: January 28, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Lisa McGee, Policy and Planning Director, Department of Conservation and Recreation, 600 East Main 

Street, 24th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-2291, FAX (804) 786-6141, or email 

lisa.mcgee@dcr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This regulatory action establishes, removes, or increases fees for use of the Department of Conservation and Recreation 

facilities, programs, and services as follows: parking and launch; admission; swimming; camping; cabin; picnic shelters 

and event tents; amphitheater and gazebo; interpretive canoe, boat, and paddleboat; interpretive and educational tour and 

program; outdoor skill program; hunting; miscellaneous rental; and conference center and meeting facility. 

The amendments to the State Park System standard rates and prices represent (i) revisions to maintain fair market value and 

demand for services; (ii) the addition of new facilities and offerings; (iii) updates to ensure consistency with the private 

sector; (iv) the deletion of fees that have become obsolete as there is no longer demand for a service; (v) revisions to reflect 

private concessionaires' new seasonal prices; and (vi) updates to ensure formatting consistency. 

4VAC5-36-50. Parking and launch fees.  

PARKING FEES (NONTAXABLE)  

 BASE RATE VIRGINIA RESIDENTS 

  WEEKDAYS WEEKENDS WEEKDAYS WEEKENDS 

Daily Parking for Passenger Vehicles: Applies to 

cars, trucks, vans (up to 8 passengers), and 

motorcycles.   

All parks unless listed below. $5.00 $6.00 $3.00 $4.00 

Chippokes, Douthat, Fairy Stone, Grayson 

Highlands, Kiptopeke, Mason Neck, New 

River Trail, Sky Meadows, Smith Mountain 

Lake 

$6.00 $7.00 $4.00 $5.00 
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All days excluding holidays and prime-season 

weekends: Claytor Lake, First Landing, Lake 

Anna, Leesylvania, Pocahontas, Raymond R. 

"Andy" Guest Jr. Shenandoah River, 

Westmoreland, Staunton River 

$6.00 $7.00 $4.00 $5.00 

Holidays and prime-season weekends only: 

Claytor Lake, First Landing, Lake Anna, 

Leesylvania, Pocahontas, Raymond R. "Andy" 

Guest Jr. Shenandoah River, Westmoreland, 

Staunton River 

$9.00 $9.00 $7.00 $7.00 

York River Croaker Landing/Pier Area (also 

requires boat launch fee for all vehicles) 

$5.00 $5.00 $3.00 $3.00 

Daily Parking for High-Occupancy Vehicles: 

Applies to cars, trucks, SUVs, and vans (with 9 or 

more passengers).   

All parks unless listed below. $10.00 $10.00 $8.00 $8.00 

Chippokes, Claytor Lake, Douthat, Fairy 

Stone, First Landing, Grayson Highlands, 

Kiptopeke, Lake Anna, Leesylvania, Mason 

Neck, New River Trail, Pocahontas, Raymond 

R. "Andy" Guest Jr. Shenandoah River, Sky 

Meadows, Smith Mountain Lake, 

Westmoreland, Staunton River 

$12.00 $12.00 $10.00 $10.00 

Horse Trailer Parking Fee covers up to two horses in 

the same trailer (also requires vehicle parking fee). 

All parks unless listed below. 

$3.00 per 

trailer 

$3.00 per 

trailer 

$3.00 per 

trailer 

$3.00 per 

trailer 

Lake Anna 
$4.00 per 

trailer 

$4.00 per 

trailer 

$4.00 per 

trailer 

$4.00 per 

trailer 

Surcharge for additional horse in same trailer 

beyond the first two horses. 

$2.00 per 

horse 

$2.00 per 

horse 

$2.00 per horse $2.00 per horse 

Other Trailer Parking Fee: Applies to other trailers 

not covered by camping, horse trailer, and boat 

launch fee. (Add to daily parking fee.) 

$2.00 per 

trailer 

$2.00 per 

trailer 

$2.00 per 

trailer 

$2.00 per 

trailer 

Daily Bus Parking: All Seasons. Applies to vehicles 

with 16 or more passenger capacity. 

    

All parks unless listed below. $10 $10 $10 $10 

Claytor Lake, Hungry Mother, Leesylvania, 

Mason Neck, New River Trail 

$12 $12 $12 $12 

First Landing, Kiptopeke, Lake Anna, 

Pocahontas, Westmoreland 

$15 $15 $15 $15 

Natural Area Preserve Parking Fees for any Vehicle: 

The department may charge these fees at any 

Natural Area Preserve. 

$2.00 $2.00 $2.00 $2.00 
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  BASE RATE VIRGINIA RESIDENTS 

Grayson Highlands Backpacker Parking. $12 up to 3 days $10 up to 3 days 

  WEEKDAYS WEEKENDS WEEKDAYS WEEKENDS 

Boat Launch Fees: Required to use park boat ramps 

on bodies of water where motorboats are permitted. 

Required for all vehicles using York River Croaker 

Landing/Pier Area. The fee is normally added to the 

parking fee to create a combined park/launch 

payment. When a vehicle is only dropping off or 

retrieving a nonmotorized boat or a boater and does 

not pay the parking fee, the $3.00 launch fee is 

required.  

    

Daily Launch Fees: All Seasons     

All parks unless listed below. $3.00 $3.00 $3.00 $3.00 

Claytor Lake $2.00 $2.00 $2.00 $2.00 

First Landing, Kiptopeke (with Marine 

Fishing License), Lake Anna 

$4.00 $4.00 $4.00 $4.00 

Kiptopeke (without Marine Fishing License), 

Leesylvania 

$8.00 $8.00 $8.00 $8.00 

Surcharge for second boat on same trailer: jet ski $2.00 $2.00 $2.00 $2.00 

Overnight parking at boat launch: where available $10 $10 $10 $10 

Camper's Boat Launch Fee Kiptopeke: Does not 

apply if camper parks trailer at campsite. 

$3.00 $3.00 $3.00 $3.00 

Boat Tournament Fee for Fishing Tournaments: 

Registration fee is based on the number of boats 

registered and is nonrefundable regardless of 

number that actually participates. This fee is in 

addition to the applicable daily launch fee. 

No charge $2.00 per 

boat 

No charge $2.00 per boat 

  

Annual and Lifetime Parking Fees:  FEE 

Lifetime Naturally Yours Passport Plus: Lifetime admission and parking pass to all 

state parks, plus 10% discount on individual campsites and horse stalls; all state park 

merchandise, except fuel sales; equipment rentals; and shelter rentals except where 

these services are provided by private concessionaires. 

  

Age up to 40 $333 

Age 41-45 $300 

Age 46-50 $266 

Age 51-55 $233 

Age 56−61 $200 

Senior Lifetime Naturally Yours Passport Plus (Age 62 or older): See Lifetime 

Naturally Yours Passport Plus above. 

$121 
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Naturally Yours Passport Plus: 12-month from date of purchase admission and 

parking pass to all state parks, plus 10% discount on camping, all state park 

merchandise, equipment rentals, and shelter rentals. 

$66 

Naturally Yours Parking Passport: 12-month from date of purchase admission and 

parking pass to park of purchase all state parks. 

$40 $66 

Senior Naturally Yours Passport Plus: See Naturally Yours Passport Plus above. $36 

Senior Naturally Yours Parking Passport: See Naturally Yours Parking Passport 

above. 

$24 $36 

Golden Disability Pass: Available to persons with disabilities as verified by U.S. 

Social Security Administration's (SSA) "Benefit Verification Letter." Pass remains 

in effect unless SSA withdraws eligibility. 

No Charge 

Disabled Veterans Passport 

Admission, parking, and launch pass to all state parks, plus 50% discount on 

camping fees, swimming fees, shelter rentals, and department equipment rentals 

when provided by the department. Where equipment rentals are provided by private 

concessionaires, this passport does not apply. 

The passport shall be issued upon request to a veteran of the armed forces of the 

United States with a letter from the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, or from the 

military service that discharged the veteran, certifying that such veteran has a 

service-connected disability rating of 100%. This passport coverage shall be valid 

for as long as that determination by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs remains 

in effect. 

No Charge 

    

Annual and Lifetime Park/Launch/Equestrian Fees:   

Lifetime Naturally Yours Passport Plus for Boaters and Equestrians: Lifetime 

admission, parking, and launch pass to all state parks, plus 10% discount on 

camping, all state park merchandise, equipment rentals, and shelter rentals. 

  

Age up to 40 $667 

Age 41-45 $600 

Age 46-50 $534 

Age 51-55 $466 

Age 56-61 $400 

Senior Lifetime Naturally Yours Passport Plus for Boaters and Equestrians (Age 62 

or older): See Lifetime Naturally Yours Passport Plus for Boaters and Equestrians 

above. 

$345 

Naturally Yours Passport Plus for Boaters and Equestrians: 12-month from date of 

purchase admission, parking, and launch pass to all state parks, plus 10% discount 

on camping, all state park merchandise, equipment rentals, and shelter rentals. 

$167 

Park/Launch/Equestrian Passport:   

12-month from date of purchase admission, parking, and launch pass to all state 

parks including Leesylvania. 

$141 

12-month from date of purchase admission, parking, and launch pass to First 

Landing, Kiptopeke, or Lake Anna. Good only at park of purchase. 

$107 
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12-month from date of purchase admission, parking, and launch pass to park of 

purchase other than Leesylvania, First Landing, Kiptopeke, or Lake Anna. 

$87 

Senior Naturally Yours Passport Plus for Boaters and Equestrians: Annual permit for 

all parks including Leesylvania. 

$133 

Senior Park/Launch/Equestrian Passport:   

12-month from date of purchase admission, parking, and launch pass to all state 

parks including Leesylvania. 

$120 

12-month from date of purchase admission, parking, and launch pass to First 

Landing, Kiptopeke, or Lake Anna. Good only at park of purchase. 

$87 

12-month from date of purchase admission, parking, and launch pass to park of 

purchase other than Leesylvania, First Landing, Kiptopeke, or Lake Anna. 

$73 

Buggs Island Lake Special Annual Park/Launch/Equestrian Pass: Good only at 

Occoneechee and Staunton River State Parks. 

$55 

Leesylvania Annual Overnight Boating/Parking Pass. $74 

Disabled Visitor Annual Boat Launch Pass (in addition to disabled tags). $48 

    

Special Event Fees: EVENT FEE 

Standard Special Event Parking Fee: Applies to all parks and events that utilize 

parking fees unless noted below. 

$10 per vehicle 

Community Event Fee: May be used by any park as a condition of a Special Use 

Permit for a community event provided by a nonprofit group or organization or 

government agency or entity. 

$1.00 per vehicle 

Sky Meadows: Strawberry Festival   

Advance payment $20 per vehicle 

Day of Event $25 per vehicle 

Sky Meadows: Extended Hours Special Event: for events that take place after park 

hours such as Astronomy Night, Candlelight Tours, etc. 

$5.00 per vehicle 

Grayson Highlands Fall Festival. Hungry Mother Arts and Crafts Festival $6.00 per vehicle 

Claytor Lake Arts and Crafts Festival $5.00 per vehicle with canned 

food donation on designated day 

$10 per vehicle 

Fairy Stone: Super Country B-99 Fun Day Event $1.99 per vehicle 

Kiptopeke: Eastern Shore Birding Festival Parking Fee waived to registered 

festival guests; otherwise 

standard fees apply 

Smith Mountain Lake: special park/launch rate for boaters participating in fishing 

tournaments if the tournament sponsor has also rented the Tournament Headquarters 

Building. 

$5.00 per vehicle/ boat 

combination 

Raymond R. "Andy" Guest Jr. Shenandoah River: Riverfest Event $8.00 per vehicle 
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Standard Special Event Per Person Entrance Fee: Applies to all parks and events that 

utilize per person admission fees unless noted below. 

$4.00 per adult 

$3.00 per child, 6 through 12 

years 

Children under 6 free 

Sailor's Creek Battlefield: Battle of Sailor's Creek Reenactment $10 maximum per vehicle 

$50 per bus (16 passenger +) 

Chippokes Plantation Steam and Gas Engine Show $5.00 per person  

Children under 12 free 

Chippokes Plantation Christmas $5.00 per person 

Chippokes Pork, Peanut & Pine Festival $5.00 per person 

Children under 13 free 

Grayson Highlands Wayne C. Henderson Music Festival $10 per person 

Children under 12 free 

Natural Tunnel Special Event Parking Fee $2.00 per person 

$6.00 per vehicle 

Occoneechee Pow Wow $5.00 per person (13 years and 

older) 

$3.00 per child, 3 through 12 

years 

$3.00 Seniors (62 and over)  

Children under 3 free 

Occoneechee Pow Wow School Groups $4.00 per student Teachers and 

Chaperones free 

Pocahontas: 500 attendees in increments of 500 people $500 

Notes on parking fees:  

1. Weekend rates apply on Memorial Day, Fourth of July, and Labor Day holidays.  

2. Except as otherwise noted, boat launching shall be free for up to one boat per vehicle (maximum of two vehicles) per 

campsite, cabin, lodge, camping cabin, travel trailer, or camping lodge.  

3. Parking fees are waived for any vehicle displaying disabled license plates or temporary disabled parking identification 

issued by any state or the federal government. However, the fee for any additional types of trailers, the boat launch fee or the 

portion of any combined parking-launching fee that applies to boat launching shall be collected from such vehicles. 

Additionally, the price for annual passes and lifetime passes that include boat launching for qualified disabled individuals 

shall be calculated by subtracting the applicable parking pass fee from the park/launch pass fee. 

4. Parking fees are waived for any vehicle occupied solely by students and/or teachers and/or assisting personnel 

participating in an official activity of a bona fide school, home school, or institution of higher learning. Parks may require 

that individuals in vehicles other than those marked as a school bus verify their official activity by letter from the school or 

approved field trip form, or in the case of home school groups, proof of home school status such as current ID card from a 

state or national home school organization (HEAV, HSLDA, etc.) or a copy of the letter from the school district that 

acknowledges "Notice of Intent" to home school for that school year.  

5. Parking fees are waived for official vehicles of federal, state, and local governments while on official business; vehicles 

making deliveries to the park; contractor and business vehicles performing work in the park; and emergency vehicles while 

conducting official business, including training.  

6. Parking fees are waived for park employees during time of employment, including family and household members of staff 

occupying staff residences, visitors to staff residences, and park volunteers entering the park to perform volunteer duties.  
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7. Parking fees may be waived for vehicles conducting research or collecting activities provided such waiver is included in 

the language of the Research and Collection Permit as required in 4VAC5-30-50. 

8. The period covered by a daily parking fee shall be midnight to midnight. Park guests utilizing overnight parking when and 

where available (e.g., backpackers, overnight fishermen, etc.) will be required to pay the applicable daily parking fee for 

each calendar day that their vehicle is in the parking lot (partial days included).  

9. Annual permits shall be valid for 12 months from the date of purchase, unless otherwise noted.  

10. Parking fees are waived for visitors entering the park for the sole purpose of dining at the park restaurant at Douthat and 

Hungry Mother State Parks.  

11. Parking fees are waived at state parks for participants in Walk for Parks, Fall River Renaissance, Envirothons, March for 

Parks, Operation Spruce-Up Day, Stewardship Virginia, National Trails Day, and other park-sanctioned public service 

events as approved by the director.  

12. Daily parking fees are reduced to $1.00 for vehicles occupied by participants in fund-raising events sponsored by 

nonprofit organizations (Walk-A-Thons, etc.) provided the sponsor has obtained a special use permit from the park that 

contains provisions for the identification of participants in the event.  

13. Parking fees shall be waived for persons using park roads to gain legal access to their private residence and guests to 

such residences and for vehicles passing through, but not stopping in, a park on a public roadway.  

14. Revenue collected from special event parking and/or admission fees may be divided between the park and the event 

sponsor if so designated and approved in the special event permit following a determination made by the director that the 

revenue split is in the benefit of the Commonwealth.  

15. Annual Park/Launch/Equestrian passes cover the park entrance or parking fee for up to two horses in the same horse 

trailer or other allowable trailers. Annual and Lifetime parking-only passes do not include trailers.  

16. Parking fees are waived for service vehicles such as tow trucks when entering the park to service a visitor vehicle.  

17. Parking fees are waived for visitors entering the park to attend a performance by a U.S. military band if this is a required 

condition for the band's performance.  

18. Parking fees are included in the rental fees for meeting facilities, up to the capacity of the facility and provided that this 

waiver of fee is included in the rental agreement for the facility.  

19. Parking fees are waived for a period of up to 15 minutes for persons entering the park to deposit materials in community 

recycling collection containers.  

20. Parking fees are waived for vehicles occupied entirely by persons attending fee interpretive programs.  

21. Annual parking passes that do not include boat launch require payment of daily launch fee if launching a boat at any park 

or for all vehicles using Croaker Landing/Pier Area at York River State Park.  

22. Annual parking pass holders are not guaranteed the parking privileges of the pass should parking places be unavailable.  

23. Parking fees are waived at Mason Neck during the park's annual Elizabeth Hartwell Eagle Festival. 

24. The payment of a parking fee at one park shall be applied to parking at any state park on the same day provided that the 

visitor supplies evidence of the paid parking fee. 

25. Annual passes are issued to the purchaser and members of the same household and may not be transferred. Improper 

transfer or use may result in revocation of the pass without refund. 

26. Parking fees are waived at all state parks for veterans on Veterans Day, November 11, of each year. 

27. Parking fees are waived at all state parks on January 1 of each year.  

28. Holidays are defined as Memorial Day, Fourth of July, and Labor Day, and prime season is the Saturday immediately 

prior to Memorial Day through the Sunday immediately prior to Labor Day. 

4VAC5-36-60. Admission fees.  

ADMISSION FEES (NONTAXABLE)  

  DAILY ADMISSION PER PERSON 

(Weekdays and Weekends unless otherwise 

noted.) 

ANNUAL PASS (Good for 12 

months from date of purchase.) 

Shot Tower Free NA 
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Southwest VA Museum $2.00 (Groups of 10 or more: age 6 through 

12) 

$4.00 (Groups of 10 or more: age 13 and up) 

NA 

$3.00 (Ages 6 through 12) $6.00 (age 6 through 12) per year 

$5.00 (Age 13 and up) $12 (age 13 and over) per year  

NA $20 (family: up to 2 adults and 2 

children) per year  

Kiptopeke Fishing Pier Fishing Fee $1.00 (Age 6 through 12) 

$3.00 (Age 13 and over) 

NA 

Kiptopeke Fishing Pier Fishing Fee: 

Coupon book good for 10 visits 

$20 per 10 Passes NA 

Annual Night Fishing: All parks 

where available (also requires 

parking fee) 

$15 per person per year   

Late Night Fishing: All parks where 

available (also requires parking fee) 

$3.00 per person per night   

  ADMISSION 

Natural Tunnel Chairlift:   

Children under age 6 Free 

Round trip per person $3.00 $4.00 

One-way per person $2.00 $3.00 

Group Rate Round Trip per person (10 or more)  $2.00 $3.00 

Season Pass $20 

Daily Pass (Good for unlimited trips on date of issue, good for one person only) $6.00 

Archery Range: All parks where available; per person user fee $2.00 per day (over 12) 

$1.00 per day (age 3 through 12) 

$15 per year (any age) 

Bear Creek Lake $5.00 per day (over 12) 

$3.00 per day (age 3 through 12) 

$45 per year (any age) 

$3.00 per person, per day group fee 

(minimum of 10 participants) 

Pocahontas and New River Trail Horse Show Admission $5.00 per person 

Children 12 and under free 

Park Sponsored Special Event Vendor Fees. All parks where available unless 

otherwise noted 

$125 per merchandise vendor 

$150 per food vendor 

Occoneechee Pow Wow $150 per merchandise vendor 

$175 per food vendor 

Mason Neck Fall Special Event $50 per vendor 

Caledon Art and Wine Festival $50 per artist vendor 

$100 per winery vendor 
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New River Trail $25 per merchandise vendor 

$25 per food vendor 

Notes on admission/entrance fees:  

1. Fees are waived at Natural Tunnel for use of the chairlift on one designated "Customer Appreciation Day" per year.  

2. Museum entrance fees are waived at the Southwest Virginia Museum during the "Festival of Trees" event for members of 

groups who submitted trees for the display.  

3. For park museums and historic features that charge an entrance fee, visitors participating in the Time Travelers program of 

the Virginia Association of Museums shall be charged the existing per person group rate for that facility.  

4. Entrance fees are waived at the Southwest Virginia Museum on Veteran's Day, November 11, of each year. 

4VAC5-36-70. Swimming fees.  

SWIMMING (NONTAXABLE)  

Daily Swimming Fees WEEKDAYS WEEKENDS 

All parks with fee swimming areas unless noted. Under age 3 Free 

$2.00 (Age 3 through 12) 

$3.00 (Age 13 and over) 

Under age 3 Free 

$3.00 (Age 3 through 12) 

$4.00 (Age 13 and over) 

Staunton River, Natural Tunnel, and Westmoreland Under age 3 Free 

$3.00 (Age 3 through 12) 

$4.00 (Age 13 and over) 

Under age 3 Free 

$4.00 (Age 3 through 12) 

$5.00 (Age 13 and over) 

Pocahontas Under age 3 Free 

$5.00 (Age 3 through 12) 

$6.00 (Age 13 and over) 

Under age 3 Free 

$7.00 (Age 3 through 12) 

$8.00 (Age 13 and over) 

Group campers utilizing primitive group camps. All 

parks where available unless otherwise noted. 

$1.00 (all ages) $1.00 (all ages) 

Pocahontas (Group Cabin Guests) $3.00 (all ages) $3.00 (all ages) 

Deposit on all locker keys: Refunded when key is returned. $2.00 each 

Swimming Coupon Book: (Age 3 and over). All parks 

where available unless otherwise noted. 

$23 per 10 coupons 

$44 per 20 coupons 

Staunton River, Natural Tunnel, and Westmoreland $31 per 10 coupons 

$58 per 20 coupons 

Pocahontas $50 per 10 coupons 

$95 $99 per 20 coupons 

  WEEKDAYS WEEKENDS 

Group Swimming: per person (10 persons or more). All 

parks where available unless otherwise noted. 

$1.50 (Age 3 through 12) 

$2.50 (Age 13 and over) 

$2.00 (Age 3 through 12) 

$3.00 (Age 13 and over) 

Staunton River, Natural Tunnel, and Westmoreland 

Group Swimming (20 persons or more). Five-day 

advanced registration required. 

$2.50 (all ages) $3.50 (all ages) 

Pocahontas Group Swimming (20 persons or more). 

Five-day Seven-day advanced registration required 

(Weekdays only). 

$4.00 (all ages) $5.00 (all ages) 

Season Swimming Permit: All parks where available unless 

otherwise noted. 

$44 (Age 3 through 12) 

$55 (Age 13 and over) 
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Staunton River, Natural Tunnel, and Westmoreland $55 (Age 3 through 12) 

$66 (Age 13 and over) 

Pocahontas $66 (Age 3 through 12) 

$77 (Age 13 and over) 

After-Hours Exclusive Use of Pool or Swimming Area: All 

parks where available. Requires prior reservation. Rental 

period of approximately 1-2 hours, depending upon 

operating schedule and amount of available daylight. 

Cancellation fee charged if reservation is canceled less than 

3 days before the date of event unless cancellation is for 

inclement weather or canceled by the park. 

$125 (up to 25 persons) 

$150 (26 to 50 persons) 

$200 (51 to 75 persons) 

$225 (76 to 100 persons) 

$35 to open food concessions with rental 

$50 cancellation fee 

Swimming lessons. All parks where available unless 

otherwise noted. 

Package of eight 45-minute lessons (includes parking) 

$30 per person 

$25 per person if two or more from same family 

Notes on swimming fees:  

1. Nonswimming adults in street clothes admitted to swimming areas free when supervising children age 12 and under.  

2. Rain check Policy for Swimming: All state parks will issue a rain check, good for a period of 12 months from the date of 

issue, to any paying customer (does not apply to free swimming vouchers) if the swimming area is forced to close for 40 

minutes or more due to inclement weather. Rain checks may be issued only to patrons present at the swimming area at the 

time of closure.  

3. A full refund is available for a group reservation only if the park or swimming area contractor is notified three days in 

advance of the time of the reservation. In the event that the group is unable to complete their reservation due to inclement 

weather, rain checks will be issued to the individual members of the group in the same manner as other park patrons.  

4. All Season Swimming Permits include parking during the swimming season only.  

5. Weekend rates apply on Memorial Day, Fourth of July, and Labor Day holidays. 

4VAC5-36-90. Camping fees.  

CAMPING FEES (TAXABLE, Price here does not include tax)  

 
BASE RATE 

VIRGINIA 

RESIDENTS 

Camping fees include free use of dump station and free swimming and boat 

launching for members of the camping party during their stay at the property, 

when and where available, except that at Kiptopeke State Park guest is subject 

to applicable launch fee unless the trailer is returned to the campsite 

immediately after launching. The number of campers per campsite is limited to 

six individuals except when all campers are members of the same household. 

ALL SEASONS 

(Per site fees) 

Standard Sites: No hookup; access to bathhouse and restrooms.   

All parks with standard sites unless noted below. $24 per night $20 per night 

Bear Creek and Occoneechee Waterfront Sites. $31 per night $26 per night 

Kiptopeke, First Landing, Lake Anna. $28 per night $24 per night 

Douthat. $31 per night $26 per night 

Water and Electric Sites: Access to water and electric hookups; access to 

bathhouse and restrooms.  

All parks where available unless noted below, including Chippokes 

Campground A. 
$35 per night $30 per night 
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Occoneechee Waterfront Sites and Chippokes Campground B. $39 per night $33 per night 

Kiptopeke, First Landing, Lake Anna, Shenandoah River. $41 per night $35 per night 

Water, Electric, and Sewage Sites: Access to water, electric, and sewage 

hookups; access to bathhouse and restrooms. 
  

Kiptopeke. $47 per night $40 per night 

Hungry Mother. $39 per night $33 per night 

Primitive Camping Sites: primitive restrooms; no showers.   

All parks where available unless noted below. $13 per night $11 per night 

James River. $15 per night $13 per night 

Grayson Highlands: Sites with electricity (November, March, and April 

when bathhouses are closed). 

$18 per night $15 per night 

Occoneechee (persons renting the entire equestrian campground will 

receive a 10% discount on the combined price for sites and stalls, including 

transaction fees). 

$18 per night $15 per night 

New River Trail primitive camping sites at Foster Falls and Cliffview, 

primitive sites at Sky Meadows. 

$18 per night $15 per night 

New River Trail Water Trail Camping (no potable water). $14 per night $12 per night 

Fairy Stone Equestrian Campsite. $24 per night $20 per night 

Horse Camping   

Horse Stall Fee. $7.00 per night 

(outside stalls) 

$9.00 per night 

(inside stall) 

$7.00 per night 

(outside stalls) 

$9.00 per night 

(inside stall) 

Standard Rates   

Primitive Group Camp Rental (camping in special primitive group areas). All 

parks where available. 
  

Up to 20 campers. $72 for entire area 

per night 

$61 for entire area 

per night 

Up to 30 campers. $107 for entire area 

per night 

$91 for entire area 

per night 

31 or more campers, up to maximum capacity of group camp area. $144 for entire area 

per night 

$122 for entire area 

per night 

Grayson Highlands: Primitive camping is available in the stable area 

November, March, and April. 

$18 per site per 

night 

$15 per site per 

night 

Special Group Camping Areas:   

Fairy Stone Group Campsites. 
$24 per night $20 per site per 

night 

Chippokes Plantation: All 4 Sites; Group Rate; 24 persons maximum. 

Natural Tunnel Group Area. 

Grayson Highlands Group Area. 

Shenandoah River Group Area. 

$79 per night (only 

available as entire 

group area) 

$67 per night (only 

available as entire 

group area) 
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Sky Meadows Group Area. 

Sky Meadows 6-Site Group Area. $118 per night $100 per night 

Westmoreland Group Area. $144 per night $122 per night 

Standard Buddy Sites: All parks where available unless noted below. $92 per night $78 per night 

Pocahontas Group Sites. 

Holliday Lake Group Camp. 

$114 per night $97 per night 

Sky Meadows Buddy Sites. $41 per night $35 per night 

Pocahontas Group Camp. $95 per night $81 per night 

James River Equestrian Group Area Campground (persons renting the 

entire equestrian campground will receive a 10% discount on the combined 

price for sites and stalls, including transaction fees). 

$254 per night $216 per night 

Camping – Other Fees   

Camping Site Transaction Fee: Applies to each purchase transaction of a 

camping visit to a campsite (i.e., one transaction fee per camping visit per 

site no matter how many nights). Applies to Internet, reservation center, 

and walk up visits.  

$5.00 

Site Specific Reservation Fee: Applies to a site designated as a "Reservable 

Site." 

$3.00 per night 

Dump Station Fee: Free to state park campers during stay. $10 per use 

Camping Reservation Cancellation Fee Individual Site. $10 per reservation 

Camping Reservation Cancellation Fee Group Sites. $30 per reservation 

Camping Reservation Transfer Fee. $5.00 per reservation 

Douthat: Whispering Pines and Beaverdam Reservation. $33 per night 

Hiker or noncamper Shower Fee at Virginia State Parks. $5.00 per person 

Sky Meadows: Wheelbarrow Rental Fee for hike-in campers. $10 per wheelbarrow rented 

Notes on camping:  

1. Check-out time is 3 p.m. and check-in time is 4 p.m.  

2. Camping Transfer/Cancellation/Early Departure Policy.  

a. Any fees to be refunded are calculated less the applicable cancellation fee(s) fee or fees.  

b. Fees paid to the reservation center by credit card will be refunded to the original credit card charged.  

c. Fees paid by check or money order to the reservation center, or by any method at the park, will be refunded by state 

check.  

d. A customer may move a camping reservation to another date or park, referred to as a transfer, through the reservation 

center only, and prior to 4 p.m. on the scheduled date of arrival. If the reservation center will not be open again prior to the 

start date of the reservation, transferring is not an option. There is a fee to transfer.  

e. A camping reservation may be canceled until 4 p.m. on the scheduled date of arrival but campers will be charged the 

cancellation fee. This cancellation fee applies to each separate reservation made.  

f. Once the 4 p.m. check-in time is reached on the scheduled day of arrival, any adjustment to a reservation is considered 

an early departure.  

g. After the check-in time is reached, the first night is considered used whether the site is occupied or not.  

h. There is a one-night penalty, deducted from any amount available for refund, for early departure.  
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3. Campers are allowed two vehicles per campsite per day without charge of a parking fee. Additional vehicles, beyond two, 

must pay the prevailing parking fee in effect at the park for each day that the vehicle(s) is vehicle or vehicles are parked in 

the park. The number of vehicles allowed to park on the campsite varies according to site design and size of other camping 

equipment. No vehicles shall park on a campsite in other than the designated area for this purpose. Camper vehicles that do 

not fit on the site, whether or not they require the special camper vehicle fee, must park in the designated overflow parking 

area.  

4. Each member of the camping party, except in primitive group areas, up to the maximum allowable per site, may receive an 

entrance pass to the park's swimming facility on the basis of one pass per night of camping. Passes are only issued during 

days and seasons of operation of the swimming facility and are only good during the member's registered stay.  

5. Damage to campsites, not considered normal wear and tear, will be billed to the person registered for the campsite on an 

itemized cost basis.  

6. At honor collection sites, the stated camping fees on this list shall be considered as having tax included. Honor collection 

is defined as the payment of the camping fee on-site at the park at a nonelectronic collection point at which the payment is 

placed in a box or safe provided for that purpose.  

7. Horse stalls may only be rented in conjunction with the rental of a campsite in the equestrian campground and a person 

must occupy the campsite. All horses brought to the park by overnight guests must be kept in rental stalls except in primitive 

equestrian areas at New River Trail and James River State Parks. 

4VAC5-36-100. Cabin fees.  

CABIN RENTALS (TAXABLE, Price here does not include tax)  

  
BASE RATE 

VIRGINIA 

RESIDENTS 

PRIME SEASON CABIN AND LODGE RATES 

Cabin/Lodge Type 
Per-Night 

Rental Fee 

Per-Week 

Rental Fee 

Per-

Night 

Rental 

Fee 

Per-Week 

Rental Fee 

Efficiency $98 $586 $83 $498 

One Bedroom, Standard $115 $688 $98 $585 

One Bedroom, Waterfront or Water View $127 $761 $108 $647 

One Bedroom, Chippokes Plantation $134 $800 $113 $680 

Two Bedroom, Standard, all parks where available unless noted 

below 

$133 $794 $112 $675 

Two Bedroom, Bear Creek Lake, James River, Occoneechee, Lake 

Anna, Shenandoah River, Natural Tunnel 

$139 $833 $119 $708 

Two Bedroom, Waterfront or Water View, all parks where available 

unless noted below 

$146 $874 $124 $743 

Two Bedroom, Waterfront or Water View, Bear Creek Lake, 

Occoneechee, Lake Anna 

$153 $915 $130 $778 

Two Bedroom, First Landing, Chippokes Plantation $154 $922 $131 $784 

Three Bedroom, Standard, all parks where available unless noted 

below 

$150 $900 $128 $765 

Three Bedroom, Chippokes Plantation, Bel Air Guest House $175 $1,048 $149 $891 
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Three Bedroom, Claytor Lake, Bear Creek Lake, James River, 

Occoneechee, Lake Anna, Southwest Virginia Museum Poplar Hill 

Cottage, Shenandoah River, Natural Tunnel, Douthat 

$173 $1,036 $147 $881 

Hill Lodge (Twin Lakes) $195 $1,169 $166 $994 

Fairy Stone Lodge (Fairy Stone), Creasy Lodge (Douthat), Bel Air 

Mansion (Belle Isle) 

$351 $2,104 $298 $1,788 

Douthat Lodge (Douthat), Hungry Mother Lodge (Hungry Mother), 

Potomac River Retreat (Westmoreland) 

$414 $2,479 $352 $2,107 

Six-Bedroom Lodge, Kiptopeke, James River, Claytor Lake, 

Occoneechee, Bear Creek Lake, Shenandoah River, Natural Tunnel, 

Douthat 

$434 $2,599 $369 $2,209 

MID-SEASON CABIN AND LODGE RATES 

Cabin/Lodge Type 
Per-Night 

Rental Fee 

Per-Week 

Rental Fee 

Per-

Night 

Rental 

Fee 

Per-Week 

Rental Fee 

Efficiency $88 $527 $75 $448 

One Bedroom, Standard $103 $619 $88 $526 

One Bedroom, Waterfront or Water View $115 $686 $98 $583 

One Bedroom, Chippokes Plantation $120 $720 $102 $612 

Two Bedroom, Standard, all parks where available unless noted 

below 

$119 $714 $102 $607 

Two Bedroom, Bear Creek Lake, James River, Occoneechee, Lake 

Anna, Shenandoah River, Natural Tunnel 

$125 $748 $106 $636 

Two Bedroom, Waterfront or Water View, all parks where available 

unless noted below 

$131 $787 $111 $669 

Two Bedroom, Waterfront or Water View, Bear Creek Lake, 

Occoneechee, Lake Anna  

$138 $824 $117 $700 

Two Bedroom, First Landing, Chippokes Plantation $139 $832 $118 $707 

Three Bedroom, Standard, all parks where available unless noted 

below 

$135 $811 $116 $689 

Three Bedroom, Chippokes Plantation, Bel Air Guest House $158 $943 $134 $802 

Three Bedroom, Claytor Lake, Bear Creek Lake, James River, 

Occoneechee, Lake Anna, Southwest Virginia Museum Poplar Hill 

Cottage, Shenandoah River, Natural Tunnel, Douthat 

$156 $933 $132 $793 

Hill Lodge (Twin Lakes) $176 $1,053 $149 $895 

Fairy Stone Lodge (Fairy Stone), Creasy Lodge (Douthat), Bel Air 

Mansion (Belle Isle) 

$316 $1,894 $269 $1,610 

Douthat Lodge (Douthat), Hungry Mother Lodge (Hungry Mother), 

Potomac River Retreat (Westmoreland) 

$373 $2,231 $317 $1,896 
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Six-Bedroom Lodge, Kiptopeke, James River, Claytor Lake, 

Occoneechee, Bear Creek Lake, Shenandoah River, Natural Tunnel, 

Douthat 

$391 $2,339 $332 $1,988 

OFF-SEASON CABIN AND LODGE RATES 

Cabin/Lodge Type 
Per-Night 

Rental Fee 

Per-Week 

Rental Fee 

Per-

Night 

Rental 

Fee 

Per-Week 

Rental Fee 

Efficiency $73 $440 $62 $374 

One Bedroom, Standard $86 $515 $74 $438 

One Bedroom, Waterfront or Water View $95 $571 $81 $485 

One Bedroom, Chippokes Plantation $100 $600 $85 $510 

Two Bedroom, Standard, all parks where available unless noted 

below 

$99 $595 $84 $506 

Two Bedroom, Bear Creek Lake, James River, Occoneechee, Lake 

Anna, Shenandoah River, Natural Tunnel 

$104 $624 $88 $530 

Two Bedroom, Waterfront or Water View, all parks where available 

unless noted below 

$110 $656 $93 $558 

Two Bedroom, Waterfront or Water View, Bear Creek Lake, 

Occoneechee, Lake Anna 

$115 $687 $98 $584 

Two Bedroom, First Landing, Chippokes Plantation $116 $693 $99 $589 

Three Bedroom, Standard, all parks where available unless noted 

below 

$113 $674 $96 $573 

Three Bedroom, Chippokes Plantation, Bel Air Guest House $131 $786 $111 $668 

Three Bedroom, Claytor Lake, Bear Creek Lake, James River, 

Occoneechee, Lake Anna, Southwest Virginia Museum Poplar Hill 

Cottage, Shenandoah River, Natural Tunnel, Douthat 

$130 $776 $110 $660 

Hill Lodge (Twin Lakes) $147 $878 $125 $746 

Fairy Stone Lodge (Fairy Stone), Creasy Lodge (Douthat), Bel Air 

Mansion (Belle Isle) 

$263 $1,578 $224 $1,341 

Douthat Lodge (Douthat), Hungry Mother Lodge (Hungry Mother), 

Potomac River Retreat (Westmoreland) 

$310 $1,859 $264 $1,580 

Six-Bedroom Lodge, Kiptopeke, James River, Claytor Lake, 

Occoneechee, Bear Creek Lake, Shenandoah River, Natural Tunnel, 

Douthat 

$326 $1,949 $276 $1,657 

CAMPING CABINS, CAMPING LODGES, YURTS, AND TRAVEL TRAILERS 

Camping cabins, camping lodges, yurts, and travel trailers located in 

campgrounds and operated in conjunction with the campground. Per-Night 

Rental Fee 

Per-Week 

Rental Fee 

Per-

Night 

Rental 

Fee 

Per-Week 

Rental Fee 

Camping Cabin rental rate: (2-night minimum rental required) $55 NA $47 NA 
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Yurt rental: Standard fee $120 $719 $101 $611 

Travel Trailers: 25-30' Standard fee $120 $719 $101 $611 

Camping Lodges: Standard fee $109 $653 $92 $555 

OTHER CABIN FEES AND CHARGES 

Additional Cabin Fees:  

Cabin Transaction Fee: Applies to each purchase transaction of a visit 

to a cabin (i.e., one transaction fee per cabin visit per site no matter 

how many nights). Applies to Internet, reservation center, and walk 

up visits. 

$5.00 

Additional Bed Rentals $3.00 per rental night 

Additional linens at all parks unless otherwise noted. One set of 

linens is 1 sheet set (1 fitted sheet, 1 flat sheet, and 1 pillowcase) or 1 

towel set (1 bath towel, 1 hand towel, and 1 washcloth or 2 bath 

towels and 1 washcloth) 

$2.00 per sheet set 

$2.00 per towel set 

Cabin Cancellation Fee: Applies to all lodging in this section except 

as described below in "Lodge Cancellation Fee" 

$30 per cancellation period: See notes on Cabin 

Transfer/Cancellation/Early Departure Policy 

Cabin Transfer Fee: Applies to all lodging in this section except as 

described below in "Lodge Transfer Fee" 

$20 per cancellation period: See notes on Cabin 

Transfer/Cancellation/Early Departure Policy 

Lodge Cancellation Fee: Applies to Fairy Stone Lodge, Douthat 

Lodge, Hungry Mother Lodge, Potomac River Retreat, and all 6-

bedroom park lodges 

$60 per cancellation period: See notes on Cabin 

Transfer/Cancellation/Early Departure Policy 

Lodge Transfer Fee: Applies to Fairy Stone Lodge, Douthat Lodge, 

Hungry Mother Lodge, Potomac River Retreat, and all 6-bedroom 

park lodges 

$50 per cancellation period: See notes on Cabin 

Transfer/Cancellation/Early Departure Policy 

Camping Cabin Cancellation Fee $10 per cancellation period 

Camping Cabin Transfer Fee $5.00 per cancellation period 

Pet Fee (this fee does not apply to service or hearing dogs identifiable 

in accordance with § 51.5-44 of the Code of Virginia). 
$10 per pet per night 

Pocahontas Group Cabins DAY WEEK 

Algonquian Ecology Camp Dining Hall: 8 a.m. to 10 p.m. for day 

use, 24-hour use when rented with cabins 

$236 $1,181 

Swift Creek Dining Hall: 8 a.m. to 10 p.m. for day use, 24-hour use 

when rented with cabins 

$275 $1,375 

Dining Hall: fee for partial day rental when associated with full day 

rental as noted above 

$140 NA 

Cabin Units: per unit, per night  $112 $560 

Complete Algonquian Ecology Camp (4 units: 112 capacity) with 

Dining Hall 

$460 $2,300 

Complete Swift Creek Camp (2 units: 56 capacity) with Dining Hall $375 $1,875 

Refundable security deposit charged for all reservations $100 per reservation 
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Notes on Pocahontas Group Cabins:  

Pocahontas Group Cabins: Reservations of $200 or more require a 25% prepayment, due within 14 days of making the 

reservation. Balance of fees is due 60 days prior to the reservation start date. Reservations of less than $200 require payment 

in full to confirm the reservation, due within 14 days of making the reservation. Cancellations made 30 days or more prior to 

the first day of the reservation shall receive a refund less a $30 per unit cancellation fee. Cancellations made less than 30 

days prior to the first date of the reservation receive no refund unless the units are subsequently rented, in which case the 

refund shall be full price minus $30 per unit.  

Notes on cabins and lodges:  

1. Seasonal cabin and lodge rates shall be in effect according to the following schedule, except for camping cabins, camping 

lodges, yurts, and travel trailers, which operate on the same schedule and season as the campground at that particular park. In 

the event that a weekly rental period includes two seasonal rates, the higher rate will apply for the entire weekly rental 

period.  

PARK PRIME SEASON MID-SEASON OFF-SEASON 

Bear Creek Lake  

Belle Isle 

Chippokes 

Plantation 

First Landing 

Kiptopeke  

Lake Anna  

Occoneechee  

Southwest Virginia 

Museum 

Staunton River 

Twin Lakes 

Westmoreland 

Friday night prior to Memorial 

Day through the Sunday night 

prior to Labor Day 

April 1 through the Thursday 

night prior to Memorial Day, and 

Labor Day through November 30 

December 1 through March 

31 

Claytor Lake 

Douthat 

Fairy Stone 

Hungry Mother 

James River  

Smith Mountain 

Lake 

Shenandoah River 

Natural Tunnel 

Friday night prior to Memorial 

Day through the Sunday night 

prior to Labor Day, and October 1 

through October 31 

April 1 through the Thursday 

night prior to Memorial Day, and 

Labor Day through September 30, 

and November 1 through 

November 30 

December 1 through March 

31 

2. All dates refer to the night of the stay; checkout time is 10 a.m. and check-in time is 3 p.m.  

3. The following holiday periods are charged prime season weekend rates: the Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, and Saturday 

period that includes Thanksgiving Day; Christmas Eve and Christmas Day; and New Year's Eve and New Year's Day.  

4. Cabins and lodges require a two-night minimum stay. 

5. Cabin guests are allowed two vehicles for a one or two bedroom cabin, and three vehicles for a three bedroom cabin per 

day without charge of parking fee. Additional vehicles must pay the prevailing parking fee for each day that the vehicle is 

parked in the park. The number of vehicles allowed to park at the cabin varies according to site design and other factors. All 

vehicles must park in designated parking areas, either at the cabin or in the designated overflow parking area.  

6. Six-bedroom lodge guests are allowed six vehicles per lodge per day without charge of parking fee. Additional vehicles 

must pay the prevailing vehicle parking fee for each day the vehicle is parked in the park. The number of vehicles allowed to 

park at the lodge varies according to site design and other factors. All vehicles must park in designated parking areas, either 

at the lodge or in the designated overflow parking area.  

7. Damage to cabins and other rental units under this section, not considered normal wear and tear, may be billed to the 

person registered for the cabin or rental unit on an itemized cost basis.  

8. Each member of the rental party, up to the maximum allowable for the rented unit, may receive an entrance pass to the 

park's swimming facility on the basis of one pass per night of rental. Passes are only issued during days and seasons of 

operation of the swimming facility and are only good during the member's registered stay.  



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 9 Virginia Register of Regulations December 28, 2015 

1543 

9. Employees of DCR and the members of committees and boards of DCR shall receive a discount of 50% on applicable 

cabin or lodge rates for any season, when the rental of such cabins or lodge is in connection with the official business of 

DCR or its committees or boards.  

Notes on cabin or lodge transfer/cancellation/early departure policy:  

1. Any fees to be refunded are calculated less the applicable cancellation fees listed in this section.  

2. Fees paid to the reservation center by credit card will be refunded to the original credit card charged.  

3. Fees paid by check or money order to the reservation center, or by any method at the park, will be refunded by state check.  

4. A customer may move a cabin or lodge reservation to another date or park, referred to as a transfer, through the 

reservation center only, and prior to 5 p.m. on the Monday before the scheduled date of arrival. There is an associated 

transfer fee. After 5 p.m. on the Monday before the scheduled date of arrival, cancellation is the only option (see note 5 

below) except that transfers to a different cabin or lodge for the same rental nights shall be allowed, subject to availability, 

up to the check-in time for the original reservation. 

5. Once the reservation is paid for, a customer may cancel in full with payment of the required cancellation fee if there are 

more than 30 days before the scheduled arrival date. As long as the reservation is not during the one-week minimum stay 

requirement period, the length of stay may be reduced without a fee as long as there are more than 30 days before the 

scheduled arrival. However, the length of stay cannot be less than two nights. During the 30 days prior to the scheduled 

arrival date, the cancellation fee is charged for each night canceled or reduced from the stay. Once the official check-in time 

on the scheduled arrival date is reached, the cancellation policy is no longer in effect and the early departure policy applies.  

6. Once the 3 p.m. check-in time is reached on the scheduled day of arrival, any adjustment to a reservation is considered an 

early departure. There is a two-night minimum charge associated with all cabin, lodge, camping cabin, travel trailer, and 

camping lodge stays. Reducing the total nights stayed will incur a $20 per night fee. If the original reservation was for a 

week, the weekly discount will no longer be valid and the fee will be adjusted to the nightly rate before any refunds are 

calculated.  

4VAC5-36-110. Picnic shelters and event tents fees.  

PICNIC SHELTERS AND EVENT TENTS (TAXABLE) 

The shelter rental periods shall be from park opening until park closing, unless otherwise 

specified. 

DAY 

Standard Small Picnic Shelter Rental Fee: Bear Creek Lake, Belle Isle, Caledon, Chippokes 

Plantation, Claytor Lake, Douthat, Holliday Lake, Hungry Mother (half shelter), Lake Anna, 

Natural Tunnel, New River Trail, Occoneechee, Pocahontas, Smith Mountain Lake, Twin Lakes, 

Westmoreland, York River, and all other small park picnic shelters. 

$60 

Standard Large Picnic Shelter Rental Fee: Belle Isle, Chippokes Plantation, Claytor Lake, 

Douthat Fairy Stone, First Landing, Grayson Highlands, Hungry Mother (full shelter), James 

River, Kiptopeke, Lake Anna, Natural Tunnel, Occoneechee, Pocahontas, Powhatan, 

Shenandoah River, Smith Mountain Lake (Pavilion), Staunton River, Staunton River Battlefield, 

Twin Lakes, Westmoreland, York River, and all other large park picnic shelters. 

$90 

Sky Meadows: Covered Group Picnic Area Shelter Rental (up to 60 people) $130 

Sky Meadows: Group Picnic Pad (up to 60 people) $64 

Leesylvania Shelter, Shenandoah River Large Group Shelter Rental $130 

Leesylvania: Lee's Landing Picnic Area Rental $64 

Leesylvania: Lee's Landing Picnic Shelter $400 

With 15 tables and 100 chairs $820 

Mason Neck Picnic Area Rental 

Area rental without tent shelter $64 
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Area activity fee (for use of picnic area for "special use" without tent shelter that requires 

special set-up or clean-up) 

$35 

Area rental with tent shelter (seasonably available) $130 

Chippokes Plantation Conference Shelter (with kitchen) $315 per function 

Chippokes Plantation Conference Shelter kitchen cleaning fee (only applicable is kitchen is used 

and not cleaned in accordance with rental agreement) 

$150 per function 

Mini-Shelter: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $21 

Event Tent Rental: Full day in-park rental only. Price includes set up and take down. 

Standard fee: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $0.45 $0.55 per square 

foot 

Chippokes Plantation, Douthat, Kiptopeke, Lake Anna, Pocahontas, Shenandoah River, 

Smith Mountain Lake, York River 

$0.55 per square foot 

False Cape, First Landing, Leesylvania, Mason Neck $0.60 per square foot 

Standard 10' x 10' event tent $25 per day 

Westmoreland, Caledon Natural Area: 20' x 40' tent with tables and chairs $400 per day 

Wilderness Road: 20' x 40' $350 per day 

White String Lights for Tent $0.80 per foot 

Side Panels for Tent $1.50 per foot 

Standard Shelter Cancellation Fee: Cancellation fee deducted from refund if refund is made 

more than 14 days prior to the reservation date. No refunds if cancellation made within 14 days 

prior to date.  

$10 

Standard Shelter Transfer Fee: Shelter reservation may be transferred if the change is made 

through the reservations center prior to scheduled use. 

$5.00 

4VAC5-36-120. Amphitheater and gazebo fees.  

AMPHITHEATERS AND GAZEBOS (TAXABLE, Price here does not include tax)  

Amphitheater or Gazebo Rental Fee: The amphitheater or gazebo rental periods shall be 

from park opening until park closing unless otherwise specified. 
DAY 

Leesylvania, Fairy Stone, Staunton River, Kiptopeke, and all other amphitheaters 

and gazebos unless noted below. 

$32 $50 

Hungry Mother, Occoneechee, Westmoreland, New River Trail $53 $60 

Smith Mountain Lake, James River $74 $80 

James River, Natural Tunnel Gazebo at Cove Ridge. $100 

Claytor Lake (gazebo) $96 

First Landing (gazebo at Chesapeake Bay Center): rental period is 3 hours $84 per 3 hours 

York River and Douthat Amphitheater. $105 

Shenandoah River Overlook Rental $16 per half-day 

$32 per full-day 

Natural Tunnel and First Landing Amphitheaters: Private group or company rate $315 
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Natural Tunnel and First Landing Amphitheaters: Educational group. $158 

Natural Tunnel Amphitheater Wedding Package: Three consecutive half-day 

rental periods. 

$420 per package 

First Landing: Courtyard at Chesapeake Bay Center; includes amphitheater and 

gazebo. 

$788 

First Landing: Additional hourly charge for hours beyond 10 p.m. for gazebo. $11 per hour 

First Landing: Additional hourly charge for hours beyond 10 p.m. for Courtyard. $53 per hour 

Fishing Tournament Staging. All parks where available. $26 

Pocahontas Amphitheater Area: Without Heritage Center. Includes Amphitheater, 

Exhibit Area, Restrooms and use of sound system. Up to 1,000 attendees. See 

special event fees for additional attendees. 

$630 $650 

Pocahontas Amphitheater Area Plus Heritage Center. $840 $850 

Parking Attendant (per attendant). $12 per hour 

Law Enforcement Officer (per officer). $28 per hour 

Natural Tunnel: Rental of Observation Deck at mouth of tunnel for dinner parties. 

Includes use of chairlift for transportation of guests and supplies and set-up/take-

down of tables and chairs. 

$300 per 4 hours 

Natural Tunnel Amphitheater Concession Building. $42 

Natural Tunnel: Sound System Rental. $32 

Natural Tunnel: Portable Dance Floor Rental. $100 

Standard Amphitheater/Gazebo Cancellation Fee: Cancellation fee deducted from 

refund if refund is made more than 14 days prior to the reservation date. No refunds if 

cancellation made within 14 days prior to date. 

$11 

All parks unless listed below. $11 

Pocahontas Amphitheater or First Landing Courtyard. $105 

Wilderness Road Amphitheater. $90 

4VAC5-36-140. Interpretive canoe, boat, and paddleboat fees.  

INTERPRETIVE CANOE, BOAT, AND PADDLEBOAT PROGRAMS (NONTAXABLE)  

Interpretive Canoe, Boat, and Paddleboat Tours: FEE 

Environmental Education Group Canoe Tour: Available only to bona fide educational 

groups. Requires previous reservation and arrangements. Minimum 10 persons. Mason 

Neck and all other parks where available unless otherwise noted. 

$3.00 per person 

Standard Canoe Interpretive Tour Fee for Individuals: Applies to canoe, rowboat, or 

paddleboat tours. Child riding as third passenger, where allowed, is free. 
  

Individuals at all parks unless noted below. $5.00 per person 

Individuals at Leesylvania, York River, Pocahontas, Kiptopeke, Chippokes. $9.00 per person 

Individuals at James River. $10 per person 

Individuals at Mason Neck. $15 per person 
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Individuals at Natural Tunnel. $15 per person 

Individuals at False Cape: Back Bay Interpretive Tour. $16 per person 

Family Groups at all parks unless noted below. Minimum 4 paying customers. $4.00 per person 

Family Groups at Leesylvania, Pocahontas, York River, Kiptopeke. Minimum 4 paying 

customers. 
$6.00 per person 

Family Groups at Mason Neck. $9.00 per person 

Group rate at Natural Tunnel (minimum 10 paying customers). $12 per person 

Sunset, Moonlight, Dawn, or Extended Canoe Interpretive Tour Fee for Individuals: Applies 

to canoe, rowboat, or paddleboat tours. 
  

All parks where offered unless noted below. $6.00 per person 

Sunset, Dawn, Extended Canoe Interpretive Tour Fee for Individuals: Leesylvania, York 

River, Chippokes, Kiptopeke. 

$11 per person 

Sunset, Dawn, Extended Canoe Interpretive Tour Fee for Individuals: 

New River Trail, Mason Neck. 

$15 per person 

Extended Canoe Interpretive Tour Fee for Individuals: 

Grayson Highlands, Hungry Mother, New River Trail, Natural Tunnel. 

$25 per person 

Moonlight/Night Canoe Interpretive Tour Fee for Individuals: 

Leesylvania, York River, Chippokes. 

$13 per person 

Moonlight/Night Canoe Interpretive Tour Fee for Individuals: 

Mason Neck. 

$20 per person 

Sunset, Moonlight, Dawn, or Extended Canoe Interpretive Tour Fee for Family Groups: 

Applies to canoe, rowboat, or paddleboat tours. Minimum 4 paying customers. 

  

All parks where offered unless otherwise noted. $5.00 per person 

Sunset, Dawn, or Extended Canoe Interpretive Tour Fee for Family Groups: 

Leesylvania, York River, Chippokes. Requires 4 or more paying customers. 

$7.00 per person 

Sunset, Dawn, or Extended Canoe Interpretive Tour Fee for Family Groups: New River 

Trail, Mason Neck. 

$11 per person 

Moonlight/Night Canoe Interpretive Tour Fee for Family Groups: 

Leesylvania, York River. Requires 4 or more paying customers. 

$8.00 per person 

Extended Canoe Interpretive Tour Fee for Family Groups: 

Grayson Highlands. 

$25 per person 

Bear Creek Lake: Willis River Interpretive Canoe Tour   

Short Trip. $8.00 per person 

Long Trip. $10 per person 

Natural Tunnel Clinch River:   

Half-Day Trip Group Rate. Requires 10 or more paying customers. $12 per person 

Full-Day Trip. Group Rate. Requires 10 or more paying customers. $20 per person 

Half-Day Trip. Individuals. $15 per person 

Full-Day Trip. Individuals. $25 per person 
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Overnight Trip. Individuals. $45 per person 

Short Trip. Clinchport to Copper Creek $7.00 per person 

False Cape: Day Kayak Paddle/Catered Lunch $60 per person 

False Cape: Back Bay by Water $45 per person 

Interpretive Kayak Tour, Solo Kayak: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $16 per person 

Interpretive Kayak Tour, Solo Kayak: Natural Tunnel  

Settlers Run $7.00 per person 

Boones Run $15 per person 

Long Hunters Run $25 per person 

Interpretive Kayak Tour, Solo Kayak: Westmoreland, Caledon  $19 per person 

Interpretive Kayak Tour, Solo Kayak: False Cape $20 per person 

Interpretive Kayak Tour, Tandem Kayak: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $22 per kayak 

Interpretive Kayak Tour, Tandem Kayak: Westmoreland, Caledon  $25 per kayak 

Tag-along Fee: Participant provides his own canoe or kayak. Not available at all sites. $10 per person 

Interpretive Stand-Up Paddle Board Tour: Westmoreland $25 per person 

Interpretive Pontoon Boat Tour: All parks where available. $2.00 (Age 3 through 12) 

$3.00 (Age 13 and over) 

Interpretive Tube Tour: all parks where available unless otherwise noted. $6.00 per person 

Lake Excursion and Ecology Tour   

Claytor Lake: 2-hour tour includes grilled dinner and swimming. (Friday and Saturday 

only) 

$20 (Age 13 and over) 

$12 (Age 3 through 12) 

Rental of Entire Boat (Exclusive Use): All parks where available $60 per tour 

Notes on interpretive canoe, boat, and paddleboat programs:  

1. Cancellation Policy for group reservations: Guest must cancel four days prior to the tour date in order to receive a refund. 

Any guest canceling less than four days before the start of the reservation will not be eligible for a refund. A one-time $10 

cancellation fee will apply per reservation regardless of number of boats reserved. In the event of inclement weather where 

the park must cancel, the guest will be offered either a complete refund or reservation transfer to another date.  

2. Additional costs for supplies and materials may apply. 

4VAC5-36-150. Interpretive and educational tours and program fees.  

INTERPRETIVE AND EDUCATIONAL TOURS AND PROGRAMS (NONTAXABLE)  

Interpretive and Educational Tours and Programs 

PARK PROGRAM FEE 

All parks unless 

otherwise noted: 

Standard Interpretive Program or Tour: such 

as typical staff led nature hikes or campfire 

programs. 

Free 
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Fee-based Interpretive Program or Tour: (Fee 

only applies to programs or tours that have 

unusual costs or require special equipment, 

personnel, marketing, or other special 

arrangements). 

$2.00 per person 

$6.00 per family 

Fee-based Night Hike or Evening Program or 

Evening Tour: (Fee only applies to programs 

or tours that have unusual costs or require 

special equipment, personnel, marketing, or 

other special arrangements). 

$3.00 per person 

$8.00 per family 

Standard Workshop Fee $5.00 per child (Age 12 and under) 

$15 per adult (Age 13 and over) 

Standard Wagon Ride Program $3.00 per person 

$8.00 per family 

$25 exclusive group 

Extended or Special Event Wagon Ride 

Program 

$4.00 per person 

$10 per family 

$75 exclusive group booking 

Park Outreach Program: Price per park staff 

member conducting program 

$10 for under 2 hours 

$25 for 2 to 3 hours 

$50 for 4 hours plus 

Standard Junior Ranger Program: 4-day 

program. All parks unless noted below. 

$10 full program 

$3.00 per day 

Haunted Hike $1.00 (Age 3 through 12) 

$3.00 (Age 13 and over) 

Geo Caching or Orienteering Interpretive 

Program 

$3.00 per person 

$8.00 per family 

$25 per group 

Nature-Themed Birthday Party: Includes a 

nature talk, hike, games, songs, and time in 

the Nature Center for gifts and cakes. At least 

one staff member is present to conduct 

activities. 

$96 per hour plus materials cost for 12 children 

$8.00 per additional child 

Standard Women's Wellness Weekend 

Program 

$149 per person 

Grayson Highlands Junior Ranger Program $5.00 per person per day 

Hayrides $2.00 per child 

$3.00 per adult 

Adventure Rangers Interpretive Program $10 per person per day 

Make a Birdhouse Program $5.00 per person 

Make Your Own Hiking Stick Program $3.00 per person 

2-Day Photography Class $35 per person 

Twin Lakes Haunted Hike $3.00 (Age 3 through 12) 

$5.00 (Age 13 and over) 
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Occoneechee, 

Caledon 

Individual interpretive program pass: (Allows 

admission for 1 person to 4 interpretive 

programs valued at $3.00 or less) 

$6.00 per pass 

Family interpretive program pass: (Allows 

admission for members of the same family to 

4 interpretive programs valued at $8.00 or 

less) 

$18 per pass 

Pocahontas Nature Camps $100 per child per program plus materials cost 

$30 per child plus materials cost for Jr. 

Assistant. The Jr. Assistant helps the park staff 

in conducting camp programs. 

Curious Kids $3.00 per program 

Nature and Discovery Programs 

(School/Groups Outreach) 

$4.00 per child 

$80 minimum 

$15 additional if program is outside of 

Chesterfield County 

Sky Meadows Nature and Discovery Programs 

(School/Groups Outreach) 

$2.00 per child 

$50 minimum 

$15 additional if program is outside of the 

following counties: Fauquier, Frederick, Clark, 

and Loudoun 

Smith Mountain Lake Nature and Discovery Programs 

(School/Groups Outreach) 

$10 per school visit 

What Bird Am I? $3.00 per person 

Who Is Coming to Dinner? (Owl Program) $3.00 per person 

Southwest Virginia 

Museum 

How Our Ancestors Lived  $5.00 per person  

Special Themed Interpretive Program $10 per person 

Music or Literary Event $5.00 per person 

Workshop (Adult) $10 per person 

Workshop (Children) $5.00 per person 

Nature and Discovery Programs 

(School/Groups Outreach) 

$25 for under 2 hours 

$50 from 2 hours to under 4 hours 

$75 for 4 or more hours 

Guided Tour or Activity School Groups: $1.50 per person 

Public Groups: $2.50 per person 

Step-On Tour Guide Service $7.00 per person 

Caledon Caledon Eagle Tours $6.00 per person 

$50 Flat Rate (minimum: 10; maximum: 20) 

All Group Programs up to 2 hours long $5.00 per person 

Haunted Hay Ride $5.00 per person (age 7 and over) 

Children under 7 free 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 9 Virginia Register of Regulations December 28, 2015 

1550 

Special Program Bus Fee: Programs involving 

transportation within the natural area. 

$3.00 per person 

Workshop (Adult) $15 per person 

Workshop (Children) $5.00 per person 

Natural Tunnel: Cove 

Ridge 

Guided Programs $25 per program (Maximum 30 participants) 

$25 facility fee (If applicable) 

Environmental Education (Children's 

Activities) 

$25 per program (Maximum 30 participants) 

$25 facility fee (If applicable) 

Environmental Education (Adult Facilitation) $15 per person 

Hungry Mother/ 

Hemlock Haven 

Junior Naturalist Program $4.00 per person per week 

$12 unlimited participation in interpretive 

season 

Kiptopeke Birding Program (Group Rates) $35 (Corporate) 

$25 (Nonprofit) 

York River Guided Adventure Programs $4.00 per person 

$40 per group (Minimum 12 persons) 

Junior Ranger Program $35 per person 

Westmoreland Guided Program Fee $25 per person 

Natural Tunnel Junior Ranger Program (Includes T-Shirt) $35 per person 

Wagon Ride Program $50 Exclusive Education Group Booking 

Hay Wagon and Hot Dog Roast $10 per person 

Bike Tours - 2 hours $10 per person 

Extended Bike Tours - 4 hours $15 per person 

Canoe and Bike Tour - 4 hours $20 per person 

Halloween Haunted House/Hay Wagon Ride $3.00 (Age 3 through 12) 

$5.00 (Age 13 and over) 

Mason Neck Junior Ranger Program $50 per person 

Holliday Lake Field Archaeology Workshop $25 per person 

Junior Ranger Program (3 half-day 

workshops) (Ages 6 to 13) 

$25 per child 

False Cape Wildlife Watch Tour – Per Person $8.00 per person 

Wilderness Survival Weekend (2-night stay) $200 per person 

Wilderness Survival Weekend (1-night stay) $100 per person 

Wilderness Survival Program $16 

Astronomy Program $16 per person 
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Wild Women Weekend $200 per person 

Summer Survival $120 per person 

Blue Berry Blues $20 per person 

Staunton River Interpretive Craft $2.00 per person 

First Landing Junior Ranger Program 

3 Hour Program 

6 Hour Program 

 

$25 per person 

$50 per person 

Bear Creek Lake Junior Ranger Program $20 per person 

Leesylvania Junior Ranger Program $50 per person 

Halloween Haunted Hike $2.00 per person 

$6.00 per group (4 person maximum) 

Interpretive Programs $2.00 per person 

Kids Fishing Tournament $2.00 per child 

Natural Tunnel Pannel Cave Tour $10 per person 

$7.00 per person (Family-Group; 8-person 

minimum) 

Bolling Cave Tours $15 per person 

$12 per person (Family-Group; 10-person 

minimum) 

Stock Creek Tunnel Tour/Snorkeling on the 

Clinch 

$5.00 per person 

Canorkle (Canoeing and Snorkeling guided 

tour) 

$15 per person 

Hike to the Tub $10 per person 

New River Trail New River Trail Seniors Van Tour Full Day $25 per person 

New River Trail Seniors Van Tour Half Day $15 per person 

Bertha Cave Tour $10 per person 

James River Haunted Wagon Ride $5.00 per person (Age 7 and over) 

Children 6 and under free 

Interpretive Archery Program $5.00 $8.00 per person 

Belle Isle Triple Treat Program: 

Hayride/Canoe/Campfire 

$10 per person 

Junior Ranger 3-day program $5.00 per class 

Bike Tour: visitors can supply their own bike 

or rent separately 

$2.00 per person 

$6.00 per family 

Notes on interpretive and educational tours and programs:  

Additional costs for supplies and materials may apply.  
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4VAC5-36-160. Outdoor skill program fees.  

OUTDOOR SKILL PROGRAMS (NONTAXABLE)  

Outdoor Skill Programs FEE 

Grayson Highlands Outdoor Survival Skills and Backpacking $95 per person 

Basic Map and Compass $25 per person 

Beginning Rock Climbing and Backpacking $95 per person 

Advanced Map and Compass Skills $25 per person 

Westmoreland, Douthat, Hungry 

Mother, False Cape 

Photography Workshop, with meals and lodging $325 per person 

Photography Workshop, with meals, no lodging $295 per person 

Photography Workshop, no meals, no lodging $225 per person 

Nonparticipant Lodging and Food $235 per person 

Nonparticipant Meals only $125 per person 

Lake Anna Prospecting for Gold Workshop $50 per person 

Kiptopeke Kayak Fishing Program $35 per person 

Hungry Mother Mountain Empire Fly Fishing School $225 per person 

Grayson Highlands Guided Fly Fishing Trip: Half-day 

Guided Fly Fishing Trip: Full-day 

$50 per person 

$75 per person 

James River Canoe Skills Course $70 per person 

Shenandoah River Zipline Canopy Tour $89 per person 

Sky Meadows Venture Realm Hiking Retreat $53 per person 

4VAC5-36-170. Hunting fees.  

HUNTING (NONTAXABLE)  

Hunting: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. (Does not 

apply to open hunting areas at Fairy Stone, Hungry Mother, Grayson 

Highlands, Occoneechee, and Pocahontas) FEE 

Standard Daily Hunting Fee for reservation-type managed hunts 

(No separate application fee required). 

$15 per hunter per day 

Standard Daily Hunting Fee for lottery-type managed hunts (Paid 

in addition to any applicable application fee). 

$10 per hunter per day 

Standard Daily Hunting Fee: James River $25 per hunter per day 

Lottery Hunt Application Fee $5.00 per application 

Chippokes Plantation: Southern Heritage Deer Hunt $325 per adult, or youth 16 through 17 with a 

separate stand 

$200 per youth ages 12 through 17, requires 

shared stand with a paying adult 

$50 per nonhunting companion 

Waterfowl Hunt at Crow's Nest Natural Area Preserve Permit 

(maximum of 3 per person per season) 

$100 each 
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Notes on hunting fees:  

At parks where there is a "standby" process, no additional daily fee for that hunting season shall be charged if the hunter has 

already paid at least one previous daily hunting fee for that park's hunting season.  

4VAC5-36-200. Miscellaneous rental fees.  

RENTALS (TAXABLE; Price here does not include tax)  

Bike Rentals (includes helmet) FEE 

All parks where available unless otherwise noted  $3.00 per hour 

$8.00 per half-day 

$15 per full-day 

New River Trail, James River, Mason Neck $5.00 per hour 

$12 per half-day 

$18 per day 

First Landing $5.00 per hour 

$16 per day 

Claytor Lake 

Adult Bicycles $10 per hour 

$15 per half-day 

$25 per day 

Children Bicycles $8.00 per hour 

$12 per half-day 

$20 per day 

Children Bicycle Trailer $8.00 per hour 

$12 per half-day 

$20 per day 

Bike Helmet without bike rental $1.00 

Child Cart for bike (unless otherwise noted) $5.00 

Personal Bike Repair Services $25 basic tune-up 

$60 standard tune-up 

$13.50 flat repairs 

$10 minor adjustments 

Boat Rentals   

Standard Paddleboat Rental:   

All parks where available unless otherwise noted  $4.00 per half-hour 

$6.00 per hour 

Fairy Stone, Hungry Mother  $5.00 per half-hour 

$8.00 per hour 

Smith Mountain Lake $25 per half-hour 

$35 per one hour 

Westmoreland $7.00 per half-hour 

$12 per hour 
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Standard Canoe Rental:   

All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $8.00 per hour 

$15 per half-day 

$25 per full-day 

$40 for 24 hours 

$100 per week 

Smith Mountain Lake $8.00 per half-hour 

$12 per one hour 

$60 for 24 hours 

$30 additional for each day after 

first day 

Claytor Lake $12 $12.50 per hour 

$35 per half-day 

$50 per day 

Leesylvania, Mason Neck $7.00 per half-hour 

$12 per hour 

$35 per half-day 

$50 per day 

James River $10 per hour (does not include 

shuttle) 

$40 per day (does not include 

shuttle) 

$120 per week (does not include 

shuttle) 

Standard Float Trips:   

James River   

Bent Creek to Canoe Landing:   

Canoe $45 $50 Max 3 people 

Single Kayak $35 $40 per kayak 

Canoe Landing to Dixon Landing:   

Tubes $12 per tube 

Group of four eight or more $10 per tube 

Canoe $15 $20 per canoe 

Single Kayak $15 $20 per kayak 

Bent Creek to Dixon Landing:   

Canoe $50 $60 per canoe 

Single Kayak $40 $45 per kayak 

Shuttle Service Only:   

Canoe Landing to Dixon Landing, canoe or single kayak, scheduled or 

unscheduled 

$2.00 $3.00 per person 

$5.00 per canoe/kayak 
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Bent Creek Shuttle (Scheduled) $5.00 $10 per boat 

(canoe/kayak) 

$5.00 per person 

Bent Creek Shuttle (Unscheduled) $15 per boat (canoe/kayak) 

$15 per person 

Tubes $5.00 per person/Bent Creek 

Shuttle 

$2.00 $5.00 between landings in 

park 

Late Rental Fee $15 per half hour past return 

time 

New River Trail $7.00 per hour 

$20 per half-day 

$30 per day 

$35 per half-day, includes canoe 

rental and shuttle 

$50 per full day, includes canoe 

rental and shuttle 

Canoe Rental (includes shuttle)   

Trip A: Austinville to Foster Falls $35 per canoe 

Trip B: Ivanhoe to Austinville $50 per canoe 

Trip C: Ivanhoe to Foster Falls $55 per canoe 

Trip D: Foster Falls to Allisonia $55 per canoe 

Kayak Rental (includes shuttle)   

Trip A: Austinville to Foster Falls $25 per kayak 

Trip B: Ivanhoe to Foster Falls $40 per kayak 

Trip C: Foster Falls to Allisonia $45 per kayak 

Standard Rowboat Rental, without motor:   

All parks where available unless otherwise noted $6.00 per hour 

$12 per half-day 

$22 per full-day 

$36 per 24 hours 

$80 per week 

Hungry Mother: Rowboats $4.00 per hour 

$15 per day 

$40 per week 

New River Trail: Rafts and flat-bottom boats $7.00 per hour 

$20 per half-day 

$30 per day 

Standard Rowboat Rental with electric motor and battery: All parks where available 

unless otherwise noted 

$10 per hour 

$20 per 4 hours 

$36 per day 

$100 per 4 days 

$150 per week 
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Hungry Mother: Standard Rowboat Rental with electric motor and battery $12 per hour 

$24 per 4 hours 

$45 per day 

$75 per 24 hours (limited to 

overnight guests) 

Standard Motorboat Rental, 16-foot console steering, 25-45 horsepower outboard. All 

parks where available. 

$18 per hour 

$90 per day 

Standard Fishing Boat Rental with gasoline motor and one tank of fuel: All parks where 

available. 

$10 per hour (2-hour minimum) 

$50 per day 

Pedal Craft Rental: (Hydro-Bike, Surf-Bike, etc.) All parks where available unless 

otherwise noted. 

  

One person. $8.00 per hour 

Two person. $10 per hour 

Hungry Mother: Hydro Bike $5.25 per half hour 

$8.00 per hour 

Smith Mountain Lake: Hydro Bike  $8.00 per half hour 

$12 per hour 

$4.00 additional per hour after 

first hour 

$60 per 24 hours 

$30 additional per day after first 

day 

Barracuda Boat. All parks where available $10 per hour 

Solo Kayak Rental:   

All parks where available unless otherwise noted  $8.00 per hour 

$20 per half-day 

$30 per day 

$40 for 24 hours 

$100 per week 

Westmoreland $12 per hour 

$17 per half-day 

Smith Mountain Lake $8.00 per half hour 

$12 per hour 

$60 per 24 hours 

$30 additional per day after first 

day 

Mason Neck $6.00 per half-hour 

$10 per hour 

$35 per half-day 

$50 per day 
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James River $7.00 per hour (does not include 

shuttle) 

$20 $40 per day (does not 

include shuttle) 

$80 $100 per week (does not 

include shuttle) 

$12 $15 per half hour past return 

time 

Claytor Lake $10 per hour 

$25 per half-day 

$40 per day 

Tandem Kayak Rental:   

All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $10 per hour 

$20 per half-day 

$30 per full-day 

$45 for 24 hours 

$120 per week 

Westmoreland $15 per hour 

$22 per half-day 

Smith Mountain Lake $10 per half-hour 

$15 per hour 

$80 for 24 hours 

$30 additional for each day after 

first day 

Mason Neck $8.00 per half-hour 

$15 per hour 

$45 per 4 hours 

$60 per day 

Smith Mountain Lake: 14-foot fishing boat with 5 hp (3 person capacity). Rental does 

not include fuel and oil. Damage deposit of $200 required. 

$50 for 3 hours 

$10 additional per hour after 

first 3 hours 

$150 for 24 hours 

$30 additional per day after first 

day 

Claytor Lake: 16-foot Bass Tracker with 60 hp motor. Damage deposit of 50% required. $30 per hour 

$75 $80 per half-day 

$115 $125 per day 

Claytor Lake: 21-foot pontoon boat (10 person capacity) with 75 hp motor and tow 

hook. Damage deposit of 50% required.  

$45 $55 per hour 

$125 $140 per half-day 

$195 $210 per day 

Claytor Lake: 24-foot pontoon boat with 75 hp motor. Damage deposit of 50% required. $50 $55 per hour 

$140 $150 per half-day 

$210 $225 per day 

Claytor Lake: 24-foot pontoon boat with 115 hp motor. Damage deposit of 50% 

required.  

$55 $60 per hour 

$150 $160 per half-day 

$225 $240 per day 
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Claytor Lake: 30-foot pontoon boat with 115 hp motor. Damage deposit of 50% 

required. 

$60 per hour 

$165 per half-day 

$250 per day 

Claytor Lake: 18-foot bowrider with 190 hp motor. Damage deposit of 50% required. $50 $55 per hour 

$130 $140 per half-day 

$200 $215 per day 

Claytor Lake: 30-foot pontoon boat with 60 hp motor. Damage deposit of 50% required. $350 $375 per day 

$175 $185 9 a.m. - noon 

$225 $250 1 p.m. - 5 p.m. 

Claytor Lake: 19-foot bowrider with 220 hp motor, Damage deposit of 50% required. $55 $60 per hour 

$150 $160 per half-day 

$225 $240 per day 

Occoneechee: 17-1/2-foot fishing boat. Rental includes 30 gallons of fuel. Damage 

deposit of $200 required. 

$85 $95 per hour 

$20 $25 additional per hour after 

first hour 

$175 $195 per 8 hours 

$875 $935 per 7 day week 

Occoneechee: 20-foot pontoon boat with motor (8 person capacity). Rental includes 30 

gallons of fuel. Damage deposit of $200 required. 

$85 $95 per hour 

$20 $25 additional per hour after 

first hour 

$175 $205 per 8 hours 

$875 $945 per 7 day week 

Occoneechee: 22-foot pontoon boat with motor (10 person capacity). Rental includes 30 

gallons of fuel. Damage deposit of $200 required. 

$95 $105 per hour 

$20 $25 additional per hour after 

first hour 

$185 $225 per 8 hours 

$925 $1,125 per 7 day week 

Occoneechee: 24-foot pontoon boat with motor (12 person capacity). Rental includes 30 

gallons of fuel. Damage deposit of $200 required. 

$120 per hour 

$25 additional per hour after 

first hour 

$250 per 8 hours 

$1,210 per 7 day week 

Occoneechee: 25-foot pontoon boat with motor (14 person capacity). Rental includes 30 

gallons of fuel. Damage deposit of $200 required. 

$110 $120 per hour 

$25 additional per hour after 

first hour 

$230 $270 per 8 hours 

$1,150 $1,300 per 7 day week 

Smith Mountain Lake: 18-20-foot Runabout with 190 hp (8 person capacity). Rental 

does not include fuel and oil. Damage deposit of $200 required. 

$165 for 3 hours 

$20 additional per hour after 

first 3 hours 

$255 per 8 hours 

$320 for 24 hours 

$100 additional per day after 

first day 

Claytor Lake: Jet ski/personal watercraft  $50 $55 per hour 

$140 per 4 hours 

$210 $215 per 8 hours 
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Smith Mountain Lake: 24-foot pontoon boat with 40 hp (10-12 person capacity). 

Damage deposit of $200 required. 

$90 for 3 hours 

$20 additional per hour after 

first 3 hours 

$165 per 8 hours 

$215 for 24 hours 

$80 additional each day after 

first day 

Smith Mountain Lake: Personal watercraft (Waverunner 700). Rental does not include 

fuel and oil. Damage deposit of $500 required. 

$180 for 3 hours 

$20 additional per hour after 

first 3 hours 

$270 per 8 hours 

$335 for 24 hours 

$130 additional per day after 

first day 

Belle Isle: Motorboat less than 25 horsepower (3 gallons of fuel included, 2 hour 

minimum) 

$15 per hour 

$60 per half-day 

$100 per day 

Belle Isle: Motorboat 25-49 horsepower (11 gallons of fuel included, 2 hour minimum) $22 per hour 

$70 per half-day 

$110 per day 

Standard Damage/Replacement Fees: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. 

Not required for damage due to normal wear and tear. 

  

Paddle $20 

Anchor/Rope $40 

Fuel Tank/Hose $60 

Fire Extinguisher $25 

Throw Cushion $10 

Propeller (small) $100 

Propeller (large) $135 

Personal Flotation Device (PFD): replacement fee for lost/damaged PFD $25 each 

Other Rentals:   

Personal Flotation Device (PFD): When separate from boat rental. $1.00 per day 

Smith Mountain Lake, James River: Personal Floatation Device, type II. $5.00 for first day 

$1.00 additional days 

Smith Mountain Lake: Personal Floatation Device, type III $7.00 for first day 

$2.00 additional days 

Canoe/Kayak Paddles: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $5.00 per day 

New River Trail: Float Tubes $5.00 per hour 

$12 per half-day 

$18 per day 

James River:   

Cooler Tubes $3.00 $5.00 per day 
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Tubes $8.00 per hour (does not include 

shuttle) 

$20 per day (does not include 

shuttle) 

$12 per half hour past return 

time 

Claytor Lake: 2-person tow tube and towrope (with rental of boat only) $20 per 2 hours 

$25 per half-day 

$30 per day 

Claytor Lake: Water skis and towrope (with rental of boat only) $20 per 2 hours 

$25 per half-day 

$30 per day 

Claytor Lake: Kneeboard and towrope (with rental of boat only) $15 per 2 hours 

$20 per half-day 

$25 per day 

Claytor Lake: Tubes/Skis (without boat rental) $25 per half-day 

$35 per day 

Occoneechee: Tubes and towrope $30 per day 

Smith Mountain Lake: Tow tube; Water Skis; Knee Board Kneeboard $15 per day with boat rental 

$5.00 per additional day 

$25 per day without boat rental 

Smith Mountain Lake: Wake Board $25 per day with boat rental 

$10 per additional day 

$30 per day without boat rental 

Mobile Pig Cooker: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $40 per day 

GPS Units $6.00 per unit per half-day 

$10 per unit per day 

Volleyball Net and Ball Rental: All parks where available. $10 

Binocular Rentals (2 hours): All parks where available. $2.00 

Beach Floats: All parks where available. $1.00 per hour 

$3.00 for 4-hours 

$5.00 for full-day 

Surf Lounge Floating Chair Rental. All parks where available. $2.00 per hour, single chair 

$5.00 per half-day, single chair 

$7.00 per full day, single chair 

$3.00 per hour, double chair 

$7.00 per half-day, double chair 

$10 per full day, double chair 

Body Board: First Landing $6.00 per day 

Standard Stand-Up Paddle Board: Westmoreland $15 per hour 

Beach Umbrella: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $3.00 per hour 

$8.00 for 4 hours 

$15 for full-day 

First Landing $6.00 per day 
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Beach Chair: All parks where available $5.00 per day 

First Landing $6.00 per day 

Fishing Rods: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $5.00 per half-day 

First Landing $6.00 per day 

$3.00 per rod per fishing 

program 

Tents with a group camp reservation. All parks where available.   

2-person tent  $12 per day 

3-person tent $20 per day 

4-person tent $25 per day 

5-person tent $30 per day 

Coleman Camp Stove Rental, includes fuel $10 per day 

Tabletop Propane Grill, includes fuel $15 per day 

Coin-Operated Washing Machine: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $1.25 per load, tax included 

First Landing $1.50 per load, tax included 

Coin Operated Dryer: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $1.25 per load, tax included 

First Landing $1.50 per load, tax included 

Pump Out: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $5.00 

Horse Rentals:   

All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $20 per one-hour ride 

$35 per two-hour ride 

$100 per full day ride 

Pony Rides: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $5.00 per 15 minutes 

Horseback Riding Lessons: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $25 per lesson on group basis 

$30 per lesson for individual 

Horseback Summer Day Camp: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $180 per person per week 

Horseshoe or Croquet Rental for Campers. All parks where available. $1.00 per hour 

$5.00 per day 

$20 deposit 

Grayson Highlands: 

Bouldering pad $5.00 per day 

Bouldering pad with chalk bag $8.00 per day 
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4VAC5-36-210. Conference center and meeting facility fees.  

CONFERENCE CENTERS (TAXABLE)  

Prices may be discounted and/or waived by the director when 

necessary to create competitive bids for group sales. FEE 

Hemlock Haven Conference Center at Hungry Mother   

Main Hall (Capacity: 240) $350 per day 

Upper Level Dogwood Room (Capacity: 50) $200 per day 

Lower Level Board Room: (Capacity: 16) $100 per day 

Ferrell Hall (Entire complex from 8 a.m. through 10 p.m.) $575 per day 

Day Use Recreational Package (Includes all outside recreational 

facilities) 

  

0 – 250 persons $300 per half-day 

$600 per full-day 

251 – 500 persons $425 per half-day 

$850 per full-day 

501 + persons $575 per half-day 

$1,200 per full-day 

Cedar Crest Conference Center at Twin Lakes   

Complex: Doswell Hall with deck, grounds, volleyball, 

horseshoes; Kitchen, Latham and Hurt Rooms NOT included. 

$229 per 4 hours 

$459 per day 

$53 each extra hour 

Doswell Meeting Room: Meeting Room only; no kitchen or 

dining room. 

$164 per room per 4 hours 

$328 per room per day 

$37 each extra hour 

Small breakout rooms with main room: Latham and Hurt. $65 per room per 4 hours 

$131 per room per day 

$21 each extra hour 

Small breakout rooms without main room. $98 per room per 4 hours 

$196 per room per day 

$37 each extra hour 

Picnic Shelter or Gazebo at Cedar Crest. $68 per 4 hours 

$131 per day 

$11 each extra hour 

Kitchen rental only available with complex rental. $105 per event 

Kitchen Cleaning Fee: Deposit. $150 per event 

Chippokes Plantation Meeting, Conference, and Special Use 

Facilities 

  

Mansion Conference Room. $26 per hour 

Mansion or Historic Area Grounds (Includes parking for party 

rental). 

$525 per 4 hours 

Mansion Board Room $105 per 4 hours 
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Chippokes Plantation Conference Shelter (Available on 

reservation basis only). 

$105 per 4 hours 

Wedding Package (includes historic area grounds, gardens, tent 

set up and take down, 10 60-inch round tables, 10 standard size 

rectangle tables, 100 folding chairs, Wedding Coordinator, 

changing room for bride and groom, Mansion kitchen area, 

boardroom, no fee for wedding rehearsal). 

$1,412 per 4 hours 

$2,073 per 8 hours 

$50 nonrefundable reservation fee 

Southwest Virginia Museum  DAY EVENING 

Victorian Parlor    

Up to 30 People (8 tables – 30 chairs) OR Up to 50 people (50 

chairs and head table) 

$42 $68 

Additional meeting rooms: Victorian Parlor must be rented in 

order to rent additional rooms.  

  

Hallway (downstairs) (Includes three existing tables with linens) $11 $11 

Additional Hours $10 per hour $10 per hour 

Exceeding approved hours $20 per hour $20 per hour 

Wedding Portraits $52 per 2 hours $78 per 2 hours 

Wedding Packages EVENT 

Wedding Package A: Accommodates 100 people. Use of 

arbor in Victorian Garden. Setup of 100 chairs. One parking 

attendant. Use of wedding space for previous night's 

rehearsal. Bride and groom dressing rooms. Free use of 

facilities for wedding portrait (must be scheduled). 

$500 

Wedding Package B: Accommodates 100 people. Use of a 

40x40 Tent. Small platform stage (4"H x 8'W x 8'L). Accent 

rope lighting. Setup of 100 chairs. One parking attendant. Use 

of wedding space for previous night's rehearsal. Bride and 

groom dressing rooms. Free use of facilities for wedding 

portrait (must be scheduled). 

$1,500 

Wedding Package C: Accommodates 200 people (this 

requires an off-site reception area). Use of a 40x60 tent. Small 

platform stage (4"H x 8'W x 8'L). Accent rope lighting. Setup 

of 200 chairs. Two parking attendants. Use of wedding space 

for previous night's rehearsal. Bride and groom dressing 

rooms. Free use of facilities for wedding portrait (must be 

scheduled). 

$2,500 

Reception Packages 

Casual Reception Package A: May be reserved with Wedding 

Package A or B. Use of Victorian Parlor or foyer; parlor set 

with serving tables and linens. Use of serving kitchen. 

$200 

Casual Reception Package B: May be reserved with Wedding 

Package A or B. Use of 20x30 tent; set with tables and linens. 

Use of serving kitchen. 

$300 
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Formal Reception Package C: May be reserved with Wedding 

Package A or B. Use of 40x60 tent; sit-down reception for 

100 to include tables, linens and chairs. Use of serving 

kitchen. 

$2,250 

Wedding and Reception Combination Package 

Wedding and Reception Combination Package: 

Accommodates 100 people. Both wedding and reception are 

held under the same tent. Use of a 40x60 tent. Small platform 

stage (4"H x 8'W x 8'L). Accent rope lighting. Setup of 100 

chairs. One parking attendant. Use of wedding space for 

previous night's rehearsal. Bride and groom dressing rooms. 

Free use of facilities for wedding portrait (must be 

scheduled). Back of tent set with serving tables and linens. 

Use of serving kitchen. 

$2,500 

Damage Fee: a minimal damage fee will be accessed assessed to the 

person(s) renting the property for damage to the site. 

$200  

Wilderness Road (Mansion and Ground Rental)   

Karlan Mansion and Grounds Rental $350 for first day 

$150 for each additional day 

Wilderness Road Visitor Center Theater $50 per 4 hours 

Cove Ridge Center at Natural Tunnel:  PRIVATE FEE EDUCATIONAL FEE 

Cove Ridge Center Annual Membership: Membership entitles 

organization to a 25% discount on facility rental fees and group 

rates on all programming offered through the center. 

$1,050 per year $525 per year 

Day Use: Exclusive use of the auditorium, meeting room, resource 

library, catering kitchen, great room with stone fireplace and deck 

for two consecutive half-day rental periods, and parking passes. 

$415 $210 

Overnight Use of one dorm: Includes Day Use Package plus one 

dorm rooms for one night and swimming (in season). 

$683 $498 

Overnight Use of both dorms: Includes Day Use Package plus two 

dorm rooms for one night and swimming (in season). 

$892 $656 

Wedding Package Day Use: Exclusive use of the auditorium, 

meeting room, resource library, catering kitchen, great room with 

stone fireplace and deck for three consecutive half-day rental 

periods, and parking passes. 

$525 NA 

Wedding Package Overnight: Includes Day Use Package plus one 

dorm for one night and swimming (in season). 

$919 NA 

Wedding Package Overnight: Includes Day Use Package plus both 

dorms for one night and swimming (in season). 

$1,102 NA 

Wedding Package with Amphitheater: Rental of the park 

amphitheater in conjunction with any of the above wedding 

packages. 

$236 for the rental 

period 

NA 

Additional seating on deck (only available with exclusive use of the 

center). 

$42 $0 
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Auditorium $150 per half day 

$250 per full day 

$99 per half day 

$183 per full day 

Classroom – Library (half-day) $63 $47 

One dorm: Overnight lodging for up to 30, includes swimming (in 

season) and parking passes. 

$420 per night 

April 1-October 31 

$378 per night 

November 1-March 

31 

$315 per night April 1-

October 31 

$283 per night November 

1-March 31 

Both Dorms: Overnight lodging for up to 60, includes swimming 

(in season) and parking passes. 

$630 per night April 

1-October 31 

$567 per night 

November 1-March 

31 

$472 per night April 1-

October 31 

$425 per night November 

1-March 31 

Per Person Student Rate for Overnight Dorm Use $13 per person $13 per person 

Kitchen Use (when not included in package) $50 per event $50 per event 

Pocahontas Heritage Center at Pocahontas: All reservations require 

50% down at time of reservation (Nonrefundable within 14 days of 

event) PRIVATE FEE EDUCATIONAL FEE 

Large Room (Capacity: seated at tables 50; reception style 125, 

auditorium 80: includes tables, chairs, and warming kitchen) 

$131 per 4 hours 

$236 per full-day 

$26 each extra hour 

$78 per 4 hours 

$141 per full-day 

$15 each extra hour 

Powhatan Dining Hall (when renting two-day and three-day 

packages, first day begins at 10:00 a.m. and each subsequent day 

starts at 8:00 a.m.) 

$325 per full day 

(10 a.m.-10 p.m.) 

$590 two-day 

package 

$900 three-day 

package 

 

Swift Creek Dining Hall $500 per full day 

(10 a.m.-10 p.m.) 

$800 two-day 

package 

$1,400 three-day 

package 

 

Grayson Highlands FEE 

Wedding Packages: 

0 – 100 persons 

101 – 150 persons 

151 – 200 persons 

  

$100 

$150 

$200 

Westmoreland FEE 

Tayloe and Helen Murphy Hall Meeting Facility: Includes Main 

Meeting Room, Kitchen, and Grounds 

$500 (8 a.m. to 10 p.m.) 

$350 additional rental days after first day 
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Wedding and Reception Package for Tayloe and Helen Murphy 

Hall: The hours accompanying this package are 10:00 a.m. to 

10:00 p.m. on Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. on Saturday, and 

9:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. on Sunday. 

$1,000 

Potomac Overlook Rental $55 per day 

Kitchen Clean Up Fee: (Waived if renter cleans facility) $250 per event 

Potomac River Retreat: Table and Chair Set-up $40 

Fairy Stone   

Fayerdale Hall Meeting Facility Weekend Rental. Includes 

Friday, Saturday, and Sunday 

  

One Day Rental $236 (8 a.m. to 10 p.m.) 

Two Consecutive Days Rental $315 

Three Consecutive Days Rental $366 

Fayerdale Hall Meeting Facility Weekday Rental. Includes 

Monday through Thursday only. 

  

One Day Rental $75 (8 a.m. to 10 p.m.) 

Two Consecutive Days Rental $125 

Three Consecutive Days Rental $174 

Four Consecutive Days Rental $225 

Douthat   

Restaurant (includes table set-up) $236 

Allegheny Room: Up to 30 persons. $158 per day 

Wedding Package: Conference room and amphitheater (see 

"amphitheater section") on day of wedding, plus an extra half-day 

amphitheater for rehearsal. 

$289 

First Landing   

Trail Center Conference Room and Meeting Facility  $280 per day 

Lake Anna   

Visitor Center $32 per half-day 

$53 per full day 

Concessions Building Rental $100 per day 

Bear Creek Lake   

Meeting facility $350 per day (Memorial Day weekend through 

October 31) 

$236 per day (November 1 up to Memorial Day 

weekend) 

$25 each extra hour 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 9 Virginia Register of Regulations December 28, 2015 

1567 

Wedding Package $400 per day (Memorial Day weekend through 

October 31) 

$315 per day (November 1 up to Memorial Day 

weekend) 

Claytor Lake   

Marina Meeting Facility: Includes facility, chairs, and tables. $633 per day, Friday – Sunday 

$275 per day, Monday – Thursday 

$1,203 per two days 

Wedding Package: Includes rental of facility, chairs, tables, 

gazebo, and special use permit ($10 permit fee is waived with 

package).  

$702 per day package 

$1,395 per two-day package 

Leesylvania Wedding/Function Package: Includes Rental of: Lee's 

Landing Picnic Shelter, 100 Chairs, 15 Tables, and Parking for up to 

50 vehicles. 

$840 per half-day 

$945 per full-day 

Mason Neck   

Small Wedding Package: Includes two 10 foot by 10 foot 

canopies, up to 50 chairs, and parking for up to 25 cars. 

$250 per event 

Wedding Package: Includes a 20 foot by 40 foot tent, up to 100 

chairs, and parking for up to 50 cars. 

$788 per event 

Parking Attendant $53 per 4 hours 

Smith Mountain Lake   

Meeting room at Visitor Center $158 per day 

Exceeding approved hours. All parks unless otherwise noted 

below. 

$25 per hour 

Sky Meadows   

Timberlake House Meeting Room 

Capacity 15 people 

$150 per day 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. 

$50 additional per day to extend rental to 8 p.m. 

Timberlake House Kitchen (in conjunction with rental of meeting 

room) 

$25 per day or part of day 

Equipment and Services Associated with Meetings and Rentals:   

Microphone/Podium Rental $15 per day 

Stage Section Rental: 4' x 4' $24 per event 

First Landing 

Trail Center Pergola $95 per 3 hours 

Chair Rentals 

White, padded $3.00 

White, plastic event chair $1.50 

Standard folding chair $1.00 
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Table Rentals 

Rectangular, 6' $7.50 

Rectangular, 8' $8.00 

Round, 4' $7.50 

Round, 5' $8.75 

Round, 6' $15 

Linen Rentals: All parks unless otherwise noted 

Table cloth only 

Place settings 

$3.00 per table 

$2.00 each 

Wilderness Road 

Table cloth  $7.00  

Twin Lakes 

Overlay $1.25 per table 

Napkins $0.40 per napkin 

Fax First 2 pages free 

$2.00 each extra page 

Copies Single copy free 

$0.15 each extra copy 

Lost Key Fee $10 

Easels $5.00 per day 

Overhead Projector $10 per day 

TV with VCR $10 

Second TV $10 

Overhead Projector with Screen $10 

Slide Projector with Screen $10 

Flip Chart $10 

Event Set-up and Clean Up Fees   

First Landing 

Table and Chair Set-up Fee $40 per event 

Park labor to clean up after special events and facility rentals if 

not done in accordance with rental agreement or use permit  

$50 per hour 

Notes on conference and meeting facilities fees:  

1. Conference and meeting facilities require a 30% prepayment due 10 days after making reservation, and payment of the full 

balance prior to or on the first day of the reservation. Cancellations made 14 or more days prior to the first day of the 

reservation shall be charged the lesser of 10% of the total fee or $100. Cancellations made less than 14 days prior to the first 

date of the reservation shall be charged 30% of the total fee.  
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2. Alcohol use during weddings at the Southwest Virginia Museum: Weddings held during public operating hours of the 

museum will not be allowed to serve alcohol. Weddings held after regular operating hours of the museum must comply with 

ABC permit laws and have alcohol in the designated reception areas. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4517; Filed December 7, 2015, 5:18 p.m.  

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-140. Pertaining to 

Identification of Crab Pots, Peeler Pots and Fish Pots 

(amending 4VAC20-140-10, 4VAC20-140-20; adding 

4VAC20-140-15).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-

2248 or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) require an eel pot fisherman to use his 

Marine Resources Commission identification number 

preceded by the letter "E" on each buoy or stake attached 

to each eel pot and (ii) require a fish pot fisherman to use 

his Marine Resources Commission identification number 

preceded by the letter "F" on each buoy or stake attached 

to each fish pot. 

CHAPTER 140  

PERTAINING TO IDENTIFICATION OF CRAB POTS, 

PEELER POTS AND, EEL POTS, AND FISH POTS  

4VAC20-140-10. Purpose.  

The purpose of this chapter is to describe the lawful methods 

an individual shall use to identify his licensed crab pots, 

peeler pots or, fish pots, or eel pots.  

4VAC20-140-15. Identification of eel pots. 

Any person owning or using an eel pot, for which a 

commercial license is prescribed by law, shall display his 

Marine Resources Commission identification number 

preceded by the letter "E" on each floating buoy or stake 

attached to each such eel pot, in a legible and visible manner. 

4VAC20-140-20. Identification of fish pots.  

Any person owning or using a fish pot, for which a license is 

prescribed by law, shall display and maintain his current 

identification number, assigned by the Marine Resources 

Commission, preceded by the letter "F" on each floating buoy 

or stake attached to each such fish pot, in a legible and visible 

manner.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4591; Filed December 9, 2015, 1:42 p.m.  

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-620. Pertaining to Summer 

Flounder (amending 4VAC20-620-40).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 28.201 and 28.210 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Dates: December 8, 2015, through January 7, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-

2248 or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

This emergency regulation increases to 7,500 pounds the 

landing limit in Virginia during the second 30-day period 

beginning December 1. 

4VAC20-620-40. Commercial vessel possession and 

landing limitations. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person harvesting Summer 

Flounder outside of Virginia's waters to do any of the 

following, except as described in subsections B, C, and D of 

this section: 

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 

of Summer Flounder in excess of 10% by weight of 

Atlantic croaker or the combined landings, on board a 

vessel, of black sea bass, scup, squid, scallops and Atlantic 

mackerel. 

2. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 

of Summer Flounder in excess of 1,500 pounds landed in 

combination with Atlantic croaker. 

3. Fail to sell the vessel's entire harvest of all species at the 

point of landing. 

B. From the second Wednesday in March through April 19, 

it shall be unlawful for any person harvesting Summer 

Flounder outside of Virginia waters to do any of the 

following: 

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 

of Summer Flounder in excess of the combined total of the 

Virginia landing limit described in subdivision 3 of this 

subsection and the amount of the legal North Carolina 

landing limit or trip limit.  

2. Land Summer Flounder in Virginia for commercial 

purposes more than twice during each consecutive 20-day 

period, with the first 20-day period beginning on the 

second Wednesday in March.  

3. Land in Virginia more than 7,500 pounds of Summer 

Flounder during each consecutive 20-day period, with the 

first 20-day period beginning on the second Wednesday in 

March. 
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4. Land in Virginia any amount of Summer Flounder more 

than once in any consecutive five-day period.  

C. From November 1 through December 31 of each year, or 

until it has been projected and announced that 85% of the 

allowable landings have been taken, it shall be unlawful for 

any person harvesting Summer Flounder outside of Virginia 

waters to do any of the following:  

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 

of Summer Flounder in excess of the combined total of the 

Virginia landing limit described in subdivisions 3 and 4 of 

this subsection and the amount of the legal North Carolina 

landing limit or trip limit.  

2. Land Summer Flounder in Virginia for commercial 

purposes more than twice during each consecutive 30-day 

period, with the first 30-day period beginning on 

November 1.  

3. Land in Virginia more than a total of 10,000 pounds of 

Summer Flounder during the first 30-day period, with the 

first 30-day period beginning on November 1.  

4. Land in Virginia more than a total of 5,000 7,500 

pounds of Summer Flounder during the second 30-day 

period with the second 30-day period beginning on 

December 1.  

5. Land in Virginia any amount of Summer Flounder more 

than once in any consecutive five-day period. 

D. From January 1 through December 31 of each year, any 

boat or vessel issued a valid federal Summer Flounder 

moratorium permit and owned and operated by a legal 

Virginia Commercial Hook-and-Line Licensee that possesses 

a Restricted Summer Flounder Endorsement shall be 

restricted to a possession and landing limit of 200 pounds of 

Summer Flounder, except as described in 4VAC20-620-30 F. 

E. Upon request by a marine police officer, the seafood 

buyer or processor shall offload and accurately determine the 

total weight of all Summer Flounder aboard any vessel 

landing Summer Flounder in Virginia. 

F. Any possession limit described in this section shall be 

determined by the weight in pounds of Summer Flounder as 

customarily packed, boxed and weighed by the seafood buyer 

or processor. The weight of any Summer Flounder in pounds 

found in excess of any possession limit described in this 

section shall be prima facie evidence of violation of this 

chapter. Persons in possession of Summer Flounder aboard 

any vessel in excess of the possession limit shall be in 

violation of this chapter unless that vessel has requested and 

been granted safe harbor. Any buyer or processor offloading 

or accepting any quantity of Summer Flounder from any 

vessel in excess of the possession limit shall be in violation of 

this chapter, except as described by subsection I of this 

section. A buyer or processor may accept or buy Summer 

Flounder from a vessel that has secured safe harbor, provided 

that vessel has satisfied the requirements described in 

subsection I of this section.  

G. If a person violates the possession limits described in this 

section, the entire amount of Summer Flounder in that 

person's possession shall be confiscated. Any confiscated 

Summer Flounder shall be considered as a removal from the 

appropriate commercial harvest or landings quota. Upon 

confiscation, the marine police officer shall inventory the 

confiscated Summer Flounder and, at a minimum, secure two 

bids for purchase of the confiscated Summer Flounder from 

approved and licensed seafood buyers. The confiscated fish 

will be sold to the highest bidder and all funds derived from 

such sale shall be deposited for the Commonwealth pending 

court resolution of the charge of violating the possession 

limits established by this chapter. All of the collected funds 

will be returned to the accused upon a finding of innocence or 

forfeited to the Commonwealth upon a finding of guilty.  

H. It shall be unlawful for a licensed seafood buyer or 

federally permitted seafood buyer to fail to contact the Marine 

Resources Commission Operation Station prior to a vessel 

offloading Summer Flounder harvested outside of Virginia. 

The buyer shall provide to the Marine Resources Commission 

the name of the vessel, its captain, an estimate of the amount 

in pounds of Summer Flounder on board that vessel, and the 

anticipated or approximate offloading time. Once offloading 

of any vessel is complete and the weight of the landed 

Summer Flounder has been determined, the buyer shall 

contact the Marine Resources Commission Operations Station 

and report the vessel name and corresponding weight of 

Summer Flounder landed. It shall be unlawful for any person 

to offload from a boat or vessel for commercial purposes any 

Summer Flounder during the period of 9 p.m. to 7 a.m.  

I. Any boat or vessel that has entered Virginia waters for 

safe harbor shall only offload Summer Flounder when the 

state that licenses that vessel requests to transfer quota to 

Virginia, in the amount that corresponds to that vessel's 

possession limit, and the commissioner agrees to accept that 

transfer of quota.  

J. After any commercial harvest or landing quota as 

described in 4VAC20-620-30 has been attained and 

announced as such, any boat or vessel possessing Summer 

Flounder on board may enter Virginia waters for safe harbor 

but shall contact the Marine Resources Commission 

Operation Center in advance of such entry into Virginia 

waters.  

K. It shall be unlawful for any person harvesting Summer 

Flounder outside of Virginia waters to possess aboard any 

vessel, in Virginia, any amount of Summer Flounder, once it 

has been projected and announced that 100% of the quota 

described in 4VAC20-620-30 A has been taken. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4589; Filed December 8, 2015, 3:54 p.m.  
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Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-720. Pertaining to 

Restrictions on Oyster Harvest (amending 4VAC20-720-

20, 4VAC20-720-70, 4VAC20-720-75, 4VAC20-720-80).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-

2248 or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) remove Public Ground 2 of Mathews 

County, known as Pultz Bar, from the definition of the 

Mobjack Bay Area, (ii) permit the use of hand tongs to 

harvest oysters from the seaside of the Eastern Shore with 

a valid oyster hand tong license, and (iii) establish a vessel 

limit for hand tonging on the seaside of the Eastern Shore. 

4VAC20-720-20. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Aid to navigation" means any public or private day beacon, 

lighted channel marker, channel buoy, lighted channel buoy, 

or lighthouse that may be at, or adjacent to, any latitude and 

longitude used in area descriptions. 

"Clean culled oyster" means any oyster taken from natural 

public beds, rocks, or shoals that is three inches or greater in 

shell length. 

"Coan River Area" means that area of the Coan River inside 

of Public Grounds 77 and 78 of Northumberland County. 

Public Ground 77 of Northumberland County is located 

near the mouth of the Coan River, beginning at a point 

approximately 2,300 feet northeast of Honest Point and 

1,300 feet southwest of Travis Point, said point being 

Corner 1, located at Latitude 37° 59.5257207' N., 

Longitude 76° 27.8810639' W.; thence southwesterly to 

Corner 2, Latitude 37° 59.3710259' N., Longitude 76° 

27.9962148' W.; thence southwesterly to Corner 3, 

Latitude 37° 59.2953830' N., Longitude 76° 28.0468953' 

W.; thence northwesterly to Corner 4, Latitude 37° 

59.3350863' N., Longitude 76° 28.0968837' W.; thence 

northeasterly to Corner 5, Latitude 37° 59.3965161' N., 

Longitude 76° 28.0287342' W.; thence northwesterly to 

Corner 6, Latitude 37° 59.4758507' N., Longitude 76° 

28.1112280' W.; thence north-northwesterly to Corner 7, 

Latitude 37° 59.5079401' N., Longitude 76° 28.1230058' 

W.; thence northeasterly to Corner 8, Latitude 37° 

59.5579153' N., Longitude 76° 27.9889429' W.; thence 

southeasterly to Corner 1, said corner being the point of 

beginning. 

Public Ground 78 of Northumberland County is located 

near the mouth of the Coan River, beginning at a point 

approximately 3,420 feet southeast of Travis Point and 

3,260 feet northwest of Great Point, said point being 

Corner 1, located at Latitude 37° 59.4822275' N., 

Longitude 76° 27.1878637' W.; thence southeasterly to 

Corner 2, Latitude 37° 59.3824046' N., Longitude 76° 

27.1088650' W.; thence southwesterly to Corner 3, 

Latitude 37° 59.2283287' N., Longitude 76° 27.8632901' 

W.; thence northeasterly to Corner 4, Latitude 37° 

59.4368502' N., Longitude 76° 27.6868001' W.; thence 

continuing northeasterly to Corner 5, Latitude 37° 

59.5949216' N., Longitude 76° 27.5399436' W.; thence 

southeasterly to Corner 1, said corner being the point of 

beginning. 

"Deep Rock Area" means all public grounds and unassigned 

grounds, in that area of the Chesapeake Bay near Gwynn 

Island, beginning at Cherry Point at the western-most point of 

the eastern headland of Kibble Pond located at Latitude 37° 

30.9802148' N., Longitude 76° 17.6764393' W.; thence 

northeasterly to the Piankatank River, Flashing Green 

Channel Light "3", Latitude 37° 32.3671325' N., Longitude 

76° 16.7038334' W.; thence east-southeasterly to the 

Rappahannock River Entrance Lighted Buoy G"1R", Latitude 

37° 32.2712833' N., Longitude 76° 11.4813666' W.; thence 

southwesterly to the southern-most point of Sandy Point, the 

northern headland of "The Hole in the Wall", Latitude 37° 

28.1475258' N., Longitude 76° 15.8185670' W.; thence 

northwesterly along the Chesapeake Bay mean low water line 

of the barrier islands of Milford Haven, connecting headland 

to headland at their eastern-most points, and of Gwynn Island 

to the western-most point of the eastern headland of Kibble 

Pond on Cherry Point, said point being the point of 

beginning. 

"Deep Water Shoal State Replenishment Seed Area" or 

"DWS" means that area in the James River near Mulberry 

Island, beginning at a point approximately 530 feet west of 

Deep Water Shoal Light, said point being Corner 1, located at 

Latitude 37° 08.9433287' N., Longitude 76° 38.3213007' W.; 

thence southeasterly to Corner 2, Latitude 37° 09.5734380' 

N., Longitude 76° 37.8300582' W.; thence southwesterly to 

Corner 3, Latitude 37° 08.9265524' N., Longitude 76° 

37.0574269' W.; thence westerly to Corner 4, Latitude 37° 

08.4466039 N., Longitude 76° 37.4523346' W.; thence 

northwesterly to Corner 5, Latitude 37° 08.4491489' N., 

Longitude 76° 38.0215553' W.; thence northeasterly to 

Corner 1, said corner being the point of beginning. 

"Great Wicomico River Area" means all public grounds and 

unassigned grounds, in that area of the Great Wicomico 

River, Ingram Bay, and the Chesapeake Bay, beginning at a 

point on Sandy Point, Latitude 37° 49.3269652' N., 
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Longitude 76° 18.3821766' W.; thence easterly to the 

southern-most point of Cockrell Point, Latitude 37° 

49.2664838' N., Longitude 76° 17.3454434' W.; thence 

easterly following the mean low water line of Cockrell Point 

to a point on the boundary of Public Ground 115 at Cash 

Point, Latitude 37° 49.2695619' N., Longitude 76° 

17.2804046' W.; thence southeasterly to the gazebo on the 

pierhead at Fleets Point, Latitude 37° 48.7855824' N., 

Longitude 76° 16.9609311' W.; thence southeasterly to the 

Great Wicomico Lighthouse; thence due south to a point due 

east of the southern-most point of Dameron Marsh, Latitude 

37° 46.6610003' N., Longitude 76° 16.0570007' W.; thence 

due west to the southern-most point of Dameron Marsh, 

Latitude 37° 46.6609070' N., Longitude 76° 17.2670707' W.; 

thence along the mean low water line of Dameron Marsh, 

north and west to Garden Point, Latitude 37° 47.2519872' N., 

Longitude 76° 18.4028142' W.; thence northwesterly to 

Windmill Point, Latitude 37° 47.5194547' N., Longitude 76° 

18.7132194' W.; thence northerly along the mean low water 

to the western headland of Harveys Creek, Latitude 37° 

47.7923573' N., Longitude 76° 18.6881450' W.; thence east-

southeasterly to the eastern headland of Harveys Creek, 

Latitude 37° 47.7826936' N., Longitude 76° 18.5469879' W.; 

thence northerly along the mean low water line, crossing the 

entrance to Towels Creek at the offshore ends of the jetties 

and continuing to Bussel Point, Latitude 37° 48.6879208' N., 

Longitude 76° 18.4670860' W.; thence northwesterly to the 

northern headland of Cranes Creek, Latitude 37° 48.8329168' 

N., Longitude 76° 18.7308073' W.; thence following the 

mean low water line northerly to a point on Sandy Point, said 

point being the point of beginning. 

"Hand scrape" means any device or instrument with a 

catching bar having an inside measurement of no more than 

22 inches, which is used or usable for the purpose of 

extracting or removing shellfish from a water bottom or the 

bed of a body of water.  

"Hand tong" or "ordinary tong" means any pincers, nippers, 

tongs, or similar device used in catching oysters, which 

consist of two shafts or handles attached to opposable and 

complementary pincers, baskets, or containers operated 

entirely by hand, from the surface of the water and has no 

external or internal power source. 

"James River Area" means those public grounds of the 

James River and Nansemond River west of the Monitor 

Merrimac Memorial Bridge Tunnel (Route I-664), northeast 

of the Mills E. Godwin, Jr. Bridge (U.S. Route 17) on the 

Nansemond River, and south of the James River Bridge (U.S. 

Route 17).  

"James River Seed Area" means all public grounds and 

unassigned grounds in that area of the James River and its 

tributaries with a southeastern boundary beginning at a point 

on the shore on the south side of the river at Rainbow Farm 

Point in Isle of Wight County located at Latitude 37° 

00.1965862' N., Longitude 76° 34.0712010' W.; thence north-

northeasterly to a VMRC Marker "STH", Latitude 37° 

00.9815328 N., Longitude 76° 33.5955842' W.; thence to a 

VMRC Marker "SMT", at Latitude 37° 01.3228160' N., 

Longitude 76° 33.3887351' W.; thence to the Flashing Green 

Channel Light #5, at Latitude 37° 02.3449949' N., Longitude 

76° 32.7689936' W.; thence northeasterly to a VMRC Marker 

"NMT", Latitude 37° 02.7740540' N., Longitude 76° 

32.0960864' W.; thence to a VMRC Marker "NTH" located at 

Latitude 37° 03.2030055' N., Longitude 76° 31.4231211' W.; 

thence to a point on the north shore of the river at Blunt 

(Blount) Point, in the City of Newport News, located at 

Latitude 37° 03.3805862' N., Longitude 76° 31.1444562' W.; 

the northern boundary, being a straight line, beginning at a 

point on the shore on the east side of the river in the City of 

Newport News, at Latitude 37° 08.4458787' N., Longitude 

76° 37.2855533' W.; thence westerly to the southeast corner 

of the Deep Water Shoal State Replenishment Seed Area, 

Latitude 37° 08.4466039' N., Longitude 76° 37.4523346' W.; 

thence westerly to the southwest corner of the Deep Water 

Shoal State Replenishment Seed Area, Latitude 37° 

08.4490472' N., Longitude 76° 38.0215554' W.; thence 

westerly to a point on the shore on the west side of the river at 

the mouth of Lawnes Creek in Isle of Wight County, Latitude 

37° 08.4582990' N., Longitude 76° 40.2816023' W. 

"Latitude and longitude" means values that are based upon a 

geodetic reference system of the North American Datum of 

1983 (NAD83). When latitude and longitude are used in any 

area description, in conjunction with any physical landmark, 

to include aids to navigation, the latitude and longitude value 

is the legal point defining the boundary. 

"Little Wicomico River" means that area of the Little 

Wicomico River inside of Public Ground 43 of 

Northumberland County, located in the Little Wicomico 

River near Bridge Creek, beginning at a point approximately 

150 feet north of Peachtree Point, said point being Corner 1, 

located at Latitude 37° 53.2910650' N., Longitude 76° 

16.7312926' W.; thence southwesterly to Corner 2, Latitude 

37° 53.2601877' N., Longitude 76° 16.8662408' W.; thence 

northwesterly to Corner 3, Latitude 37° 53.2678470' N., 

Longitude 76°16.8902408' W.; thence northeasterly to Corner 

4, Latitude 37° 53.3113148' N., Longitude 76° 16.8211543' 

W.; thence southeasterly to Corner 1, said corner being the 

point of beginning. 

"Milford Haven" means that area of Milford Haven inside of 

Public Ground 7 of Mathews County, beginning at a point 

approximately 1,380 feet east of Point Breeze, said point 

being Corner 1, located at Latitude 37° 28.3500000' N., 

Longitude 76° 16.5000000' W.; thence northeasterly to 

Corner 2, Latitude 37° 28.3700000' N., Longitude 76° 

16.4700000' W.; thence southeasterly to Corner 3, Latitude 

37° 28.3500000' N., Longitude 76° 16.4200000' W.; thence 

southwesterly to Corner 4, Latitude 37° 28.3200000' N., 

Longitude 76° 16.4500000' W.; thence northwesterly to 

Corner 1, said corner being the point of beginning. 
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"Mobjack Bay Area" means those areas that area of 

Mobjack Bay consisting of Public Ground 25 of Gloucester 

County (Tow Stake) and that portion of Public Ground 2 of 

Mathews County known as Pultz Bar described as: 

Public Ground 25 of Gloucester County, known as Tow 

Stake, is located in Mobjack Bay, near the mouth of the 

Severn River, beginning at a point approximately 2,880 

feet east-northeast of Tow Stake Point, said point being 

Corner 1, located at Latitude 37° 20.3883888' N., 

Longitude 76° 23.5883836' W.; thence northeasterly to 

Corner 2, Latitude 37° 30.5910482' N., Longitude 76° 

23.2372184' W.; thence southeasterly to Corner 3, Latitude 

37° 20.3786971' N., Longitude 76° 22.7241180' W.; thence 

southwesterly to Corner 4, Latitude 37° 19.8616759' N., 

Longitude 76° 23.5914937' W.; thence northwesterly to 

Corner 5, Latitude 37° 20.0284019' N., Longitude 76° 

23.7717423' W.; thence northeasterly to Corner 1, said 

corner being the point of beginning. 

Public Ground 2 of Mathews County, known as Pultz Bar, 

is located in Mobjack Bay, beginning at a point 

approximately 5,420 feet south of Minter Point, said point 

being Corner 1, located at Latitude 37° 21.2500000' N., 

Longitude 76° 21.3700000' W.; thence easterly to Corner 

2, Latitude 37° 21.2700000' N., Longitude 76° 20.9600000' 

W.; thence southerly to Corner 3, Latitude 37° 21.0200000' 

N., Longitude 76° 20.9400000' W.; thence westerly to 

Corner 4, Latitude 37° 21.0500000' N., Longitude 76° 

21.3300000' W.; thence northerly to Corner 1, said corner 

being the point of beginning. 

"Nomini Creek Area" means that area of Nomini Creek 

inside of Public Grounds 26 and 28 of Westmoreland County. 

Public Ground 26 of Westmoreland County is located in 

Nomini Creek, north of Beales Wharf and east of Barnes 

Point, beginning at a point approximately 1,400 feet north 

of Barnes Point, said point being Corner 1, located at 

Latitude 38° 07.2690219' N., Longitude 76° 42.6784210' 

W.; thence southeasterly to Corner 2, Latitude 38° 

07.0924060' N., Longitude 76° 42.4745767' W.; thence 

southwesterly to Corner 3, Latitude 38° 06.8394053' N., 

Longitude 76° 42.6704025, W.; thence northwesterly to 

Corner 4, Latitude 38° 06.8743004' N., Longitude 76° 

42.7552151' W.; thence northeasterly to Corner 5, Latitude 

38° 07.0569717' N., Longitude 76° 42.5603535' W.; thence 

northwesterly to Corner 1, said corner being the point of 

beginning. 

Public Ground 28 of Westmoreland County is located at 

the mouth of Nomini Creek, beginning at a point 

approximately 50 feet west of White Oak Point, said point 

being Corner 1, located at Latitude 38° 07.6429987' N., 

Longitude 76° 43.0337082' W.; thence south-southeasterly 

to Corner 2, Latitude 38° 07.2987193' N., Longitude 76° 

43.1101420' W.; thence northwesterly to Corner 3, 

Latitude 38° 07.7029267' N., Longitude 76° 43.3337762' 

W.; thence west to the mean low water line, Latitude 38° 

07.7031535' N., Longitude 76° 43.3378345' W.; thence 

northerly and westerly along the mean low water line of 

Nomini Creek to a point southwest of Cedar Island, 

Latitude 38° 07.8986449' N., Longitude 76° 43.6329097' 

W.; thence northeasterly to a point on the mean low water 

line at the southern-most point of Cedar Island, Latitude 

38° 07.8986449' N., Longitude 76° 43.6329097' W.; thence 

following the mean low water line of the southern and 

eastern sides of Cedar Island to a point, Latitude 38° 

08.0164430' N., Longitude 76° 43.4773169' W.; thence 

northeasterly to Corner 4, Latitude 38° 08.0712849' N., 

Longitude 76° 43.4416606' W.; thence northeasterly to a 

point on the northern headland of Nomini Creek at the 

mean low water line, said point being Corner 5, Latitude 

38° 08.2729626' N., Longitude 76° 43.3105315' W.; thence 

following the mean low water line of White Point to a 

point northwest of Snake Island, Corner 6, Latitude 38° 

08.4066960' N., Longitude 76° 42.9105565' W.; thence 

southeast, crossing the mouth of Buckner Creek, to a point 

on the mean low water line of Snake Island, Corner 7, 

Latitude 38° 08.3698254' N., Longitude 76° 42.8939656' 

W.; thence southeasterly following the mean low water 

line of Snake Island to Corner 8, Latitude 38° 08.2333798' 

N., Longitude 76° 42.7778877' W.; thence south-

southwesterly, crossing the mouth of Buckner Creek, to 

Corner 9, Latitude 38° 08.2134371' N., Longitude 76° 

42.7886409' W.; thence southeasterly to a point on the 

mean low water line of the southern headland of Buckner 

Creek, Corner 10, Latitude 38° 08.1956281' N., Longitude 

76° 42.7679625' W.; thence southwesterly following the 

mean low water line of Nomini Creek, crossing the mouth 

of an un-named cove at the narrowest point between the 

headlands and continuing to follow the mean low water 

line to a point on White Oak Point, Latitude 38° 

07.6428228' N., Longitude 76° 43.0233530' W.; thence 

west to Corner 1, said point being the point of beginning.  

"Oyster" means any shellfish of the species Crassostrea 

virginica. 

"Oyster dredge" means any device having a maximum 

weight of 150 pounds with attachments, maximum width of 

50 inches, and maximum tooth length of four inches.  

"Oyster patent tong" means any patent tong not exceeding 

100 pounds in gross weight, including any attachment other 

than rope and with the teeth not to exceed four inches in 

length. 

"Oyster resource user fee" means a fee that must be paid 

each calendar year by anyone who grows, harvests, shucks, 

packs, or ships oysters for commercial purposes. 

"Pocomoke Sound Area" means that area of Pocomoke 

Sound inside of Public Grounds 9 and 10 of Accomack 

County. 

Public Ground 9 of Accomack County is located in the 

Pocomoke Sound, beginning at a corner on the Maryland-

Virginia state line, located in the Pocomoke Sound 
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approximately 1.06 nautical miles north-northeast of the 

northern-most point of North End Point, said point being 

Corner 1, located at Latitude 37° 57.2711566' N., 

Longitude 75° 42.2870790' W. (NAD83); thence east-

northeasterly along the Maryland-Virginia state line to 

Corner 2, Latitude 37° 57.2896577' N., Longitude 75° 

41.9790727' W.; thence southerly to Corner 3, Latitude 37° 

57.2574850' N., Longitude 75° 41.9790730' W.; thence 

southwesterly to Corner 4, Latitude 37° 57.2288700' N., 

Longitude 75° 42.0077287' W.; thence west-southwesterly 

to Corner 5, Latitude 37° 57.2034533' N., Longitude 75° 

42.1511250' W.; thence south-southwesterly to Corner 6, 

Latitude 37° 57.0940590' N., Longitude 75° 42.1935214' 

W.; thence south-southeasterly to Corner 7, Latitude 37° 

57.0551726' N., Longitude 75° 42.1814457' W.; thence 

southwesterly to Corner 8, Latitude 37° 56.9408327' N., 

Longitude 75° 42.2957912' W.; thence south-southwesterly 

to Corner 9, Latitude 37° 56.6574947' N., Longitude 75° 

42.3790819' W.; thence southwesterly to Corner 10, 

Latitude 37° 56.5790952' N., Longitude 75° 42.5228752' 

W.; thence west-southwesterly to Corner 11, Latitude 37° 

56.5712564' N., Longitude 75° 42.5915437' W.; thence 

south-southeasterly to Corner 12, Latitude 37° 56.5441067' 

N., Longitude 75° 42.5869894' W.; thence southwesterly to 

Corner 13, Latitude 37° 56.4575045' N., Longitude 75° 

42.7458050' W.; thence west-southwesterly to Corner 14, 

Latitude 37° 56.2575123' N., Longitude 75° 43.3791097' 

W.; thence southwesterly to Corner 15, Latitude 37° 

55.7408688' N., Longitude 75° 43.7957804' W.; thence 

westerly to Corner 16, Latitude 37° 55.7575327' N., 

Longitude 75° 43.9458298' W.; thence northwesterly to 

Corner 17, Latitude 37° 55.8908661' N., Longitude 75° 

44.1291309' W.; thence north-northeasterly to Corner 18, 

Latitude 37° 55.9908639' N., Longitude 75° 44.0791266' 

W.; thence northeasterly to Corner 19, Latitude 37° 

56.1241858' N., Longitude 75° 43.8791328' W.; thence 

north-northeasterly to Corner 20, Latitude 37° 56.4075136' 

N., Longitude 75° 43.7291361' W.; thence northeasterly to 

Corner 21, Latitude 37° 56.8241664' N., Longitude 75° 

43.2624601' W.; thence north-northeasterly to Corner 22, 

Latitude 37° 57.0706006' N., Longitude 75° 43.1480402' 

W.; thence east-northeasterly along the Maryland-Virginia 

state line to Corner 1, said corner being the point of 

beginning. 

Public Ground 10 of Accomack County is located in the 

Pocomoke Sound, beginning at a corner on the Maryland-

Virginia state line, located in the Pocomoke Sound 

approximately 2.3 nautical miles westerly of the northern-

most point of North End Point, said point being Corner 1, 

located at Latitude 37° 56.4741881' N., Longitude 75° 

45.7051676' W. (NAD83); thence east-northeasterly along 

the Maryland-Virginia state line to Corner 2, Latitude 37° 

56.9261140' N., Longitude 75° 43.7679786' W.; thence 

south-southwesterly to Corner 3, Latitude 37° 56.1241948' 

N., Longitude 75° 44.3624962' W.; thence west-

southwesterly to Corner 4, Latitude 37° 56.0820561' N., 

Longitude 75° 44.5826292' W.; thence northerly to Corner 

5, Latitude 37° 56.1377309' N., Longitude 75° 44.5817745' 

W.; thence west-southwesterly to Corner 6, Latitude 37° 

56.1259751' N., Longitude 75° 44.6226859' W.; thence 

southwesterly to Corner 7, Latitude 37° 56.1039335' N., 

Longitude 75° 44.6692334' W.; thence southerly to Corner 

8, Latitude 37° 56.0643616' N., Longitude 75° 44.6750106' 

W.; thence west-southwesterly to Corner 9, Latitude 37° 

55.9742005' N., Longitude 75° 45.1458109' W.; thence 

west-northwesterly to Corner 10, Latitude 37° 56.0741973' 

N., Longitude 75° 45.8958329' W.; thence north-

northwesterly to Corner 11, Latitude 37° 56.2565760' N., 

Longitude 75° 46.0000557' W.; thence northeasterly along 

the Maryland-Virginia state line to Corner 1, said corner 

being the point of beginning. 

"Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds Management Area" or 

"PTSMA" means the area as defined in § 28.2-524 of the 

Code of Virginia.  

"Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds Rotation Area 1" means all 

public grounds and unassigned grounds, within an area of the 

PTSMA, in Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds, bounded by a 

line beginning at a point on the Maryland-Virginia state line, 

located at Latitude 37° 54.6136000' N., Longitude 75° 

53.9739600' W.; thence south to the house on Great Fox 

Island, Latitude 37° 53.6946500' N., Longitude 75° 

53.8898800' W.; thence westerly to a point, Latitude 37° 

53.3633500' N., Longitude 75° 56.5589600' W.; thence south 

to a point, Latitude 37° 48.4429100' N., Longitude 75° 

56.4883600' W.; thence easterly to the north end of Watts 

Island, Latitude 37° 48.7757800' N., Longitude 75° 

53.5994100' W.; thence northerly to the house on Great Fox 

Island, Latitude 37° 53.6946500' N., Longitude 75° 

53.8898800' W.; thence southeasterly to Pocomoke Sound 

Shoal Flashing Light Red "8", Latitude 37° 52.4583300' N., 

Longitude 75° 49.4000000' W.; thence southeasterly to 

Messongo Creek Entrance Buoy Green Can "1", Latitude 37° 

52.1000000' N., Longitude 75° 47.8083300' W.; thence 

southeast to Guilford Flats Junction Light Flashing 2+1 Red 

"GF", Latitude 37° 50.9533300' N., Longitude 75° 

46.6416700' W.; thence southerly to a point on a line from 

Guilford Flats Junction Light to the northern-most point of 

Russell Island, where said line intersects the PTSMA 

boundary, Latitude 37° 48.4715943' N., Longitude 75° 

46.9955932' W.; thence clockwise following the PTSMA 

boundary to a point on the Maryland-Virginia state line, said 

point being the point of beginning. 

"Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds Rotation Area 2" means all 

public grounds and unassigned grounds, within an area of the 

PTSMA, in Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds, bounded by a 

line beginning at the house on Great Fox Island, located at 

Latitude 37° 53.6946500' N., Longitude 75° 53.8898800' W.; 

thence southerly to the north end of Watts Island, Latitude 

37° 48.7757800' N., Longitude 75° 53.5994100' W.; thence 

westerly to a point, Latitude 37° 48.4429100' N., Longitude 
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75° 56.4883600' W.; thence northerly to a point, Latitude 37° 

53.3633500' N., Longitude 75° 56.5589600' W.; thence 

easterly to the house on Great Fox Island, said house being 

the point of beginning. Also, Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds 

Rotation Area 2 shall include all public grounds and 

unassigned grounds in the PTSMA in Pocomoke Sound 

bounded by a line beginning at a point on the Maryland-

Virginia state line, Latitude 37° 54.6136000' N., Longitude 

75° 53.9739600' W.; thence following the PTSMA boundary 

clockwise to a point on the line from the northern-most point 

of Russell Island to Guilford Flats Junction Light Flashing 

2+1 Red "GF", where said line intersects the PTSMA 

boundary, Latitude 37° 48.4715943' N., Longitude 75° 

46.9955932' W.; thence northerly to Guilford Flats Junction 

Light Flashing 2+1 Red "GF", Latitude 37° 50.9533300' N., 

Longitude 75° 46.6416700' W.; thence northwesterly to 

Messongo Creek Entrance Buoy Green Can "1", Latitude 37° 

52.1000000' N., Longitude 75° 47.8083300' W.; thence 

northwesterly to Pocomoke Sound Shoal Flashing Light Red 

"8", Latitude 37° 52.4583300' N., Longitude 75° 49.4000000' 

W.; thence northwesterly to the house on Great Fox Island, 

Latitude 37° 53.6946500' N., Longitude 75° 53.8898800' W.; 

thence northerly to a point on the Maryland-Virginia state 

line, said point being the point of beginning. 

"Public oyster ground" means all those grounds defined in § 

28.2-551 of the Code of Virginia or by any other acts of the 

General Assembly pertaining to those grounds, all those 

grounds set aside by court order, and all those grounds set 

aside by order of the Marine Resources Commission, and 

may be redefined by any of these legal authorities.  

"Rappahannock River Area 7" means all public grounds, in 

that area of the Rappahannock River, bounded downstream 

by a line from Rogue Point, located at Latitude 37° 

40.0400000' N., Longitude 76° 32.2530000' W.; thence west-

northwesterly to Flashing Red Buoy "8", Latitude 37° 

40.1580000' N., Longitude 76° 32.9390000' W.; thence 

southwesterly to Balls Point, Latitude 37° 39.3550000' N., 

Longitude 76° 34.4440000' W.; and bounded upstream by a 

line from Punchbowl Point, Latitude 37° 44.6750000' N., 

Longitude 76° 37.3250000' W.; thence southeasterly to 

Monaskon Point, Latitude 37° 44.0630000' N., Longitude 76° 

34.1080000' W. 

"Rappahannock River Area 8" means all public grounds, in 

that area of the Rappahannock River, bounded downstream 

by a line from Monaskon Point, located at Latitude 37° 

44.0630000' N., Longitude 76° 34.1080000' W.; thence 

northwesterly to Punchbowl Point, Latitude 37° 44.6750000' 

N., Longitude 76° 37.3250000' W.; and bounded upstream by 

a line from Jones Point, Latitude 37° 46.7860000' N., 

Longitude 76° 40.8350000' W.; thence north-northwesterly to 

Sharps Point, Latitude 37° 49.3640000' N., Longitude 76° 

42.0870000' W. 

"Rappahannock River Area 9" means all public grounds, in 

that area of the Rappahannock River, bounded downstream 

by a line from Sharps Point, located at Latitude 37° 

49.3640000' N., Longitude 76° 42.0870000' W.; thence 

south-southeasterly to Jones Point, Latitude 37° 46.7860000' 

N., Longitude 76° 40.8350000' W.; and bounded upstream by 

the Thomas J. Downing Bridge (U.S. Route 360). 

"Rappahannock River Rotation Area 1" means all public 

grounds, in that area of the Rappahannock River and 

Chesapeake Bay, bounded by a line offshore and across the 

mouth of the Rappahannock River from a point on the mean 

low water line of Windmill Point, located at Latitude 37° 

36.8200000' N., Longitude 76° 16.9460000' W.; thence 

southeast to Windmill Point Light, Latitude 37° 35.7930000' 

N., Longitude 76° 14.1800000' W.; thence southwesterly to 

Stingray Point Light, Latitude 37° 33.6730000' N., Longitude 

76° 16.3620000' W.; thence westerly to a point on the mean 

low water line of Stingray Point, Latitude 37° 33.6920000' 

N., Longitude 76° 17.9860000' W.; and bounded upstream by 

a line from the mean low water line west of Broad Creek, 

Latitude 37° 33.9520000' N., Longitude 76° 19.3090000' W.; 

thence northeasterly to a VMRC Buoy on the Baylor line, 

Latitude 37° 34.5310000' N., Longitude 76° 19.1430000' W.; 

thence northeasterly to a VMRC Buoy, Latitude 37° 

34.6830000' N., Longitude 76° 19.1000000' W.; thence 

northwesterly to a VMRC Buoy, Latitude 37° 35.0170000' 

N., Longitude 76° 19.4500000' W.; thence northwesterly to 

Sturgeon Bar Light "7R", Latitude 37° 35.1500000' N., 

Longitude 76° 19.7330000' W.; thence continuing 

northwesterly to Mosquito Point Light "8R", Latitude 37° 

36.1000000' N., Longitude 76° 21.3000000' W.; thence 

northwesterly to the southern-most corner of the house on 

Mosquito Point, Latitude 37° 36.5230000' N., Longitude 76° 

21.5950000' W. 

"Rappahannock River Rotation Area 2" means all public 

grounds, in that area of the Rappahannock River, bounded 

downstream by a line from the southern-most corner of the 

house on Mosquito Point, located at Latitude 37° 36.5230000' 

N., Longitude 76° 21.5950000' W.; thence southeast to 

Mosquito Point Light "8R", Latitude 37° 36.1000000' N., 

Longitude 76° 21.3000000' W.; thence continuing 

southeasterly to Sturgeon Bar Beacon "7R", Latitude 37° 

35.1500000' N., Longitude 76° 19.7330000' W.; thence west-

southwesterly to a VMRC Buoy, Latitude 37° 34.9330000' 

N., Longitude 76° 21.0500000' W.; thence southwesterly to a 

VMRC Buoy, Latitude 37° 34.8830000' N., Longitude 76° 

21.1000000' W.; thence southwesterly to a pier west of 

Hunting Creek at Grinels, Latitude 37° 34.4360000' N., 

Longitude 76° 26.2880000' W.; and bounded on the upstream 

by a line from Mill Creek Channel Marker "4", Latitude 37° 

35.0830000' N., Longitude 76° 26.9500000' W.; thence 

northeasterly to Mill Creek Channel Marker "2", Latitude 37° 

35.4830000' N., Longitude 76° 24.5670000' W.; thence 

northeasterly to the southern-most corner of the house on 

Mosquito Point, Latitude 37° 36.5230000' N., Longitude 76° 

21.5950000'0 W. 
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"Rappahannock River Rotation Area 3" means all public 

grounds, in that area of the Rappahannock River, beginning 

from the north channel fender at the Robert O. Norris, Jr. 

Bridge, located at Latitude 37° 37.4830000' N., Longitude 

76° 25.3450000' W.; thence southeast to the southern-most 

corner of the house on Mosquito Point, Latitude 37° 

36.5230000' N., Longitude 76° 21.5950000' W.; thence 

southwest to Mill Creek Channel Marker "2", Latitude 37° 

35.4830000' N., Longitude 76° 24.5670000' W.; thence 

southwesterly to Mill Creek Channel Marker "4", Latitude 

37° 35.0830000' N., Longitude 76° 24.9500000' W.; thence 

northeasterly to Parrotts Creek Channel Marker "1", Latitude 

37° 36.0330000' N., Longitude 76° 25.4170000' W.; thence 

northerly to VMRC Buoy, Latitude 37° 36.3330000' N., 

Longitude 76° 25.2000000' W.; thence northerly to the north 

channel fender of the Robert O. Norris, Jr. Bridge, said point 

being the point of beginning. 

"Rappahannock River Rotation Area 4" means all public 

grounds, in that area of the Rappahannock River, Corrotoman 

River and Carter Creek, beginning at the White Stone end of 

the Robert O. Norris, Jr. Bridge (State Route 3), located at 

Latitude 37° 38.1290000' N., Longitude 76° 24.7220000' W.; 

thence along said bridge to the north channel fender, Latitude 

37° 37.4830000' N., Longitude 76° 25.3450000' W.; thence 

westerly to the VMRC Buoy "5-4", Latitude 37° 38.0050000' 

N., Longitude 76° 30.0280000' W.; thence northerly to Old 

House Point, Latitude 37° 39.1390000' N., Longitude 76° 

29.6850000' W.; thence northeasterly to Ball Point, Latitude 

37° 41.6600000' N., Longitude 76° 28.6320000' W.; thence 

southeasterly to VMRC reef marker "Ferry Bar – North", 

Latitude 37° 40.3000000' N., Longitude 76° 28.5000000' W.; 

thence southwesterly to VMRC reef marker "Ferry Bar – 

South", Latitude 37° 40.1670000' N., Longitude 76° 

28.5830000' W.; thence southeasterly to a duck blind west of 

Corrotoman Point, Latitude 37° 39.8760000' N., Longitude 

76° 28.4200000' W.; thence southerly to VMRC Buoy "543", 

Latitude 37° 39.2670000' N., Longitude 76° 27.8500000' W.; 

thence southerly to VMRC Buoy "Drumming-West", Latitude 

37° 38.8830000' N., Longitude 76° 27.6830000' W.; thence 

southerly to VMRC Buoy "Drumming-East", Latitude 37° 

38.8330000' N., Longitude 76° 27.5670000' W.; thence 

northeasterly to Orchard Point, Latitude 37° 38.9240000' N., 

Longitude 76° 27.1260000' W. 

"Rappahannock River Rotation Area 5" means all public 

grounds, in that area of the Rappahannock River, beginning at 

the Greys Point end of the Robert O. Norris, Jr. Bridge (State 

Route 3), located at Latitude 37° 36.8330000' N., Longitude 

76° 25.9990000' W.; thence northeasterly along the bridge to 

the north channel fender, Latitude 37° 37.4830000' N., 

Longitude 76° 25.3450000' W.; thence west-northwesterly to 

VMRC Buoy "5-4", Latitude 37° 38.0050000' N., Longitude 

76° 30.0280000' W.; thence westerly to Buoy "R6", Latitude 

37° 38.0330000' N., Longitude 76° 30.2830000' W.; thence 

south to the eastern headland of Whiting Creek, Latitude 37° 

36.6580000' N., Longitude 76° 30.3120000' W. 

"Rappahannock River Rotation Area 6" means all public 

grounds, in that area of the Rappahannock River, beginning 

on the eastern headland of Whiting Creek, located at Latitude 

37° 36.6580000' N., Longitude 76° 30.3120000' W.; thence 

north to Buoy "R6", Latitude 37° 38.0330000' N., Longitude 

76° 30.2830000' W.; thence northwesterly to VMRC White 

House Sanctuary Buoy, Latitude 37° 38.1500000' N., 

Longitude 76° 30.5330000' W.; thence northwesterly to 

VMRC Towles Point Area Buoy, Latitude 37° 38.8330000' 

N., Longitude 76° 31.5360000' W.; thence northwesterly to 

Flashing Red Buoy "8" off Rogue Point, Latitude 37° 

40.1580000' N., Longitude 76° 32.9390000' W.; thence 

southwesterly to Balls Point, Latitude 37° 39.3550000' N., 

Longitude 76° 34.4440000' W. 

"Seed oyster" means any oyster taken by any person from 

natural beds, rocks, or shoals that is more than 30 days from 

harvest for human consumption. 

"Thomas Rock Area" means all public grounds and 

unassigned grounds, in that area of the James River, with an 

eastern boundary being the upstream side of the James River 

Bridge (U.S. Route 17), and a western boundary being a line 

drawn from the south side of the river at Rainbow Farm 

Point, a point on the shore, in line with VMRC Markers 

"STH" and "SMT", located at Latitude 37° 00.1965862' N., 

Longitude 76° 34.0712010' W.; thence north-northeasterly to 

a VMRC Marker "STH", Latitude 37° 00.9815328 N., 

Longitude 76° 33.5955842' W.; thence to a VMRC Marker 

"SMT", at Latitude 37° 01.3228160' N., Longitude 76° 

33.3887351' W.; thence to the Flashing Green Channel Light 

#5, at Latitude 37° 02.3449949' N., Longitude 76° 

32.7689936' W.; thence northeasterly to a VMRC Marker 

"NMT", Latitude 37° 02.7740540' N., Longitude 76° 

32.0960864' W.; thence to a VMRC Marker "NTH" located at 

Latitude 37° 03.2030055' N., Longitude 76° 31.4231211' W.; 

thence to a point on the north shore of the river at Blunt 

(Blount) Point, said point being in line with VMRC Markers 

"NMT" and "NTH" and located at Latitude 37° 03.3805862' 

N., Longitude 76° 31.1444562' W. 

"Unassigned ground" means all those grounds defined by 

any other acts of the General Assembly pertaining to those 

grounds, all those grounds set aside by court order, and all 

those grounds set aside by order of the Marine Resources 

Commission, and may be redefined by any of these legal 

authorities.  

"Upper Chesapeake Bay - Blackberry Hangs Area" means 

all public grounds and unassigned grounds, in that area of the 

Chesapeake Bay, bounded by a line, beginning at a point 

approximately 300 feet east of the mean low water line of the 

Chesapeake Bay and approximately 1,230 feet southwest of 

the end of the southern-most stone jetty at the mouth of the 

Little Wicomico River, said point being Corner 1, Latitude 

37° 53.1811193' N., Longitude 76° 14.1740146' W.; thence 

east-southeasterly to Corner 2, Latitude 37° 52.9050025' N., 

Longitude 76° 11.9357257' W.; thence easterly to Corner 3, 
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Latitude 37° 52.9076552' N., Longitude 76° 11.6098145' W.; 

thence southwesterly to Corner 4, Latitude 37° 52.8684955' 

N., Longitude 76° 11.6402444' W.; thence east-southeasterly 

to Corner 5, Latitude 37° 52.7924853' N., Longitude 76° 

11.0253352' W.; thence southwesterly to Corner 6, Latitude 

37° 49.4327736' N., Longitude 76° 13.2409959' W.; thence 

northwesterly to Corner 7, Latitude 37° 50.0560555' N., 

Longitude 76° 15.0023234' W.; thence north-northeasterly to 

Corner 8, Latitude 37° 50.5581183' N., Longitude 76° 

14.8772805' W.; thence north-northeasterly to Corner 9, 

Latitude 37° 52.0260950' N., Longitude 76° 14.5768550' W.; 

thence northeasterly to Corner 1, said corner being the point 

of beginning. 

"Yeocomico River Area" means that area of the North West 

Yeocomico River, inside Public Ground 8 of Westmoreland 

County and those areas of the South Yeocomico River inside 

Public Grounds 102, 104, and 107 of Northumberland 

County. 

Public Ground 8 of Westmoreland County is located in the 

North West Yeocomico River, beginning at a point 

approximately 1,455 feet northeast of Crow Bar and 1,850 

feet northwest of White Point, said point being Corner 1, 

located at Latitude 38° 02.7468214' N., Longitude 76° 

33.0775726' W.; thence southeasterly to Corner 2, Latitude 

38° 02.7397202' N., Longitude 76° 33.0186286' W.; thence 

southerly to Corner 3, Latitude 38° 02.6021644' N., 

Longitude 76° 33.0234175' W.; thence westerly to Corner 

4, Latitude 38° 02.6006669' N., Longitude 76° 33.0824799' 

W.; thence northerly to Corner 1, said corner being the 

point of beginning. 

Public Ground 102 of Northumberland County is located 

in the South Yeocomico River, beginning at a point 

approximately 630 feet south of Mundy Point and 1,745 

feet southwest of Tom Jones Point, said point being Corner 

1, located at Latitude 38° 01.2138059' N., Longitude 76° 

32.5577201' W.; thence east-northeasterly to Corner 2, 

Latitude 38° 01.2268644' N., Longitude 76° 32.4497849' 

W.; thence southwesterly to Corner 3, Latitude 38° 

01.1091209' N., Longitude 76° 32.5591101' W.; thence 

northerly to Corner 1, said corner being the point of 

beginning. 

Public Ground 104 of Northumberland County is located 

in the South Yeocomico River, beginning at a point 

approximately 670 feet north of Walker Point and 1,900 

feet northwest of Palmer Point, said point being Corner 1, 

located at Latitude 38° 00.8841841' N., Longitude 76° 

32.6106215' W.; thence southeasterly to Corner 2, Latitude 

38° 00.8609163' N., Longitude 76° 32.5296302' W.; thence 

southeasterly to Corner 3, Latitude 38° 00.6693092' N., 

Longitude 76° 32.4161866' W.; thence southwesterly to 

Corner 4, Latitude 38° 00.6418466' N., Longitude 76° 

32.5394849' W.; thence northwesterly to Corner 1, said 

corner being the point of beginning. 

Public Ground 107 of Northumberland County is located 

in the South Yeocomico River, beginning at a point 

approximately 1,000 feet southwest of Barn Point and 

1,300 feet northwest of Tom Jones Point, said point being 

Corner 1, located at Longitude 38° 01.1389367' N., 

Latitude 76° 32.3425617' W.; thence east-southeasterly to 

Corner 2, Latitude 38° 01.4106421' N., Longitude 76° 

32.1077962' W.; thence southwesterly to Corner 3, 

Latitude 38° 01.2717197' N., Longitude 76° 32.2917989' 

W.; thence north-northwesterly to Corner 1, said corner 

being the point of beginning. 

"York River Rotation Area 1" means all public grounds in 

the York River, within Gloucester County, between a line 

from Upper York River Flashing Red Channel Marker "8", 

Latitude 37° 17.8863666' N., Longitude 76° 34.6534166' W.; 

thence northeasterly to Red Day Marker "2" at the mouth of 

Cedar Bush Creek, Latitude 37° 18.6422166' N., Longitude 

76° 33.8216000' W.; upstream to a line from the Flashing 

Yellow VIMS Data Buoy "CB", Latitude 37° 20.4670000' N., 

Longitude 76° 37.4830000' W.; thence northeasterly to the 

inshore end of the wharf at Clay Bank.  

"York River Rotation Area 2" means all public grounds in 

the York River, within Gloucester County, from the George 

P. Coleman Memorial Bridge (U.S. Route 17), upstream to a 

line from Upper York River Flashing Red Channel Marker 

"8", Latitude 37° 17.8863666' N., Longitude 76° 34.6534166' 

W.; thence northeasterly to Red Day Marker "2" at the mouth 

of Cedar Bush Creek, Latitude 37° 18.6422166' N., Longitude 

76° 33.8216000' W. 

4VAC20-720-70. Gear restrictions.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest oysters in 

the James River Seed Area, including the Deep Water Shoal 

State Replenishment Seed Area, the Rappahannock River 

Area 9, Milford Haven, Little Wicomico River, Coan River, 

Nomini Creek and Yeocomico River, except by hand tong. It 

shall be unlawful for any person to have a hand scrape on 

board a boat that is harvesting or attempting to harvest oysters 

from public grounds by hand tong. 

B. It shall be unlawful to harvest oysters from the seaside of 

the Eastern Shore area by any gear, except by hand or hand 

tong. 

C. It shall be unlawful to harvest oysters in the 

Rappahannock River Rotation Areas 3 and 5, James River 

Area, Thomas Rock Area, Upper Chesapeake Bay Blackberry 

Hangs Area, Mobjack Bay Area, Great Wicomico River Area, 

and Pocomoke Sound Area - Public Ground 9 and 10, by any 

gear except by hand scrape.  

D. It shall be unlawful for any person to have more than one 

hand scrape on board any boat that is harvesting oysters or 

attempting to harvest oysters from public grounds. It shall be 

unlawful for any person to have a hand tong on board a boat 

that is harvesting or attempting to harvest oysters from public 

grounds by hand scrape. 
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E. It shall be unlawful to harvest oysters from the Pocomoke 

and Tangier Sounds Rotation Area 1, except by an oyster 

dredge. 

F. It shall be unlawful to harvest oysters from the Deep 

Rock Area, except by an oyster patent tong.  

4VAC20-720-75. Gear license.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest shellfish, 

from the hand scrape areas in the Rappahannock River, James 

River, Upper Chesapeake Bay, Mobjack Bay Area, Great 

Wicomico River, and Pocomoke Sound Area - Public Ground 

9 and 10, unless that person has first obtained a valid hand 

scrape license.  

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest shellfish 

with an oyster dredge from the public oyster grounds in the 

Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds Rotation Area 1, unless that 

person has first obtained a valid oyster dredge license.  

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest shellfish 

with a patent tong from the public oyster grounds in the Deep 

Rock Area, unless that person has first obtained a valid oyster 

patent tong license. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest shellfish 

with a hand tong from the public oyster grounds, as described 

in 4VAC20-720-70 A, unless that person has first obtained a 

valid hand tong license. 

E. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest shellfish by 

hand from the public oyster grounds on the Seaside seaside of 

the Eastern Shore, as described in 4VAC20-720-40 4VAC20-

720-70 B 18, unless that person has first obtained a valid 

oyster by hand license. It shall be unlawful for any person to 

harvest shellfish from the public oyster grounds on the 

seaside of the Eastern Shore by hand tong, as described in 

4VAC20-720-70 B, unless that person has first obtained a 

valid oyster hand tong license. 

4VAC20-720-80. Quotas and harvest limits. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person who does not possess 

a valid commercial fisherman's registration license and a 

valid gear license required by harvest area, as described in 

4VAC20-720-75, and has not paid the current year's oyster 

resource user fee to harvest or possess any oysters for 

commercial purposes. Any individual who possesses the valid 

licenses and has paid the oyster resource user fee as described 

in this subsection shall be limited to a maximum harvest of 

eight bushels per day. It shall be unlawful for any vessel to 

exceed a daily vessel limit of 24 bushels clean cull oysters 

harvested from the areas described in 4VAC20-720-40 B 8 

through 16. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any person who does not possess 

a valid commercial fisherman's registration license and a 

valid gear license required by harvest area, as described in 

4VAC20-720-75, and has not paid the current year's oyster 

resource user fee to harvest or possess any oysters for 

commercial purposes. Any individual who possesses the valid 

licenses and has paid the oyster resource user fee as described 

in this subsection shall be limited to a maximum harvest of 

eight bushels per day. It shall be unlawful for any vessel to 

exceed a daily vessel limit for clean cull oysters harvested 

from the areas described in 4VAC20-720-40 B 2 through 7 

and 17, whereby that vessel limit shall equal the number of 

registered commercial fisherman licensees on board the 

vessel who hold a valid gear license and who have paid the 

oyster resource user fee multiplied by eight. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any vessel to exceed a daily 

vessel limit for clean cull oysters harvested from the areas 

described in 4VAC20-720-40 B 1, whereby that vessel limit 

shall equal the number of registered commercial fisherman 

licensees on board the vessel who hold a valid gear license 

and who have paid the oyster resource user fee multiplied by 

12. It shall be unlawful for any person who does not possess a 

valid commercial fisherman's registration license and hold a 

valid gear license required by harvest area, as described in 

4VAC20-720-75, and has not paid the current year's oyster 

resource user fee to harvest or possess any oysters for 

commercial purposes. Any individual who possesses the valid 

licenses and has paid the oyster resource user fee as described 

in this subsection shall be limited to a maximum harvest of 12 

bushels per day. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any vessel to exceed a daily 

vessel limit for clean cull oysters harvested from the areas 

described in 4VAC20-720-40 B 18, whereby that vessel limit 

shall equal the number of registered commercial fisherman 

licensees on board the vessel who are licensed by a valid gear 

license and have paid the oyster resource user fee, multiplied 

by eight. It shall be unlawful for any person who does not 

possess a valid commercial fisherman's registration license 

and a valid gear license required by harvest area, as described 

in 4VAC20-720-75, and has not paid the current year's oyster 

resource user fee to harvest or possess any oysters for 

commercial purposes. Any individual who possesses the valid 

licenses and has paid the oyster resource user fee, as 

described in this subsection, shall be limited to a maximum 

harvest of eight bushels per day. 

D. E. In the Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds Rotation Area 1, 

no blue crab bycatch is allowed. It shall be unlawful to 

possess on board any vessel more than 250 hard clams. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4593; Filed December 9, 2015, 1:38 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-950. Pertaining to Black Sea 

Bass (amending 4VAC20-950-47).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2016.  
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Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-

2248 or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment increases the commercial black sea bass 

directed fishery quota to 502,000 pounds beginning 

January 1, 2016. 

4VAC20-950-47. Commercial harvest quotas.  

A. The annual commercial black sea bass directed fishery 

quota is 402,584 502,000 pounds. When it has been 

announced that the directed fishery quota has been projected 

as reached and the directed fishery has been closed, it shall be 

unlawful for any directed commercial black sea bass fishery 

permittee to possess aboard any vessel or land in Virginia any 

black sea bass.  

B. The annual commercial black sea bass bycatch fishery 

quota is 40,000 pounds. When it has been announced that the 

bycatch fishery quota has been projected as reached and the 

bycatch fishery has been closed, it shall be unlawful for any 

bycatch commercial black sea bass fishery permittee to 

possess aboard any vessel or land in Virginia any black sea 

bass. In the event the bycatch fishery quota is exceeded, the 

amount of the quota overage shall be deducted from the 

following year's bycatch fishing quota.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4590; Filed December 9, 2015, 1:44 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

BOARD OF JUVENILE JUSTICE 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 6VAC35-170. Minimum Standards for 

Research Involving Human Subjects or Records of the 

Department of Juvenile Justice (amending 6VAC35-170-

10, 6VAC35-170-30, 6VAC35-170-40, 6VAC35-170-50, 

6VAC35-170-80, 6VAC35-170-100, 6VAC35-170-140, 

6VAC35-170-170, 6VAC35-170-190, 6VAC35-170-200, 

6VAC35-170-220; adding 6VAC35-170-62, 6VAC35-170-

65, 6VAC35-170-185; repealing 6VAC35-170-120).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 66-10 and 66-10.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: February 28, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Janet P. Van Cuyk, Legislative and 

Research Manager, Department of Juvenile Justice, 600 East 

Main Street, 20th Floor, P.O. Box 1110, Richmond, VA 

23218, telephone (804) 588-3879, FAX (804) 371-6490, or 

email janet.vancuyk@djj.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 66-10.1 of the Code of Virginia directs the 

Department of Juvenile Justice's State Board of Juvenile 

Justice to promulgate regulations pursuant to the 

Administrative Process Act to effectuate the provisions of 

Chapter 5.1 (§ 32.1-162.16 et seq.) of Title 32.1 of the Code 

of Virginia for human research to be conducted or authorized 

by the department. Thus, the regulation is mandatory. 

The board is empowered with general authority to promulgate 

regulations by § 66-10 of the Code of Virginia that states the 

board may "promulgate such regulations as may be necessary 

to carry out the provisions of this title and other laws of the 

Commonwealth administered by the Director or the 

Department." 

Purpose: The Minimum Standards for Research Involving 

Human Subjects or Records of the Department of Juvenile 

Justice (6VAC35-170) establishes the regulatory 

requirements and minimum standards for research on human 

subjects who are under the care or supervision of department 

or other board regulated programs or facilities. The regulation 

became effective February 1, 2005, and is intended to protect 

the safety, rights, and confidentiality of human research 

subjects.  

The board approved the submission of a Notice of Intended 

Regulatory Action (NOIRA) for 6VAC35-170, Minimum 

Standards for Research Involving Human Subjects or Records 

of the Department of Juvenile Justice, on September 13, 

2013, and it was submitted on February 18, 2014. The 

Executive Branch review for this stage was completed on 

March 13, 2014. The NOIRA was published in the Virginia 

Register of Regulations on April 21, 2014. The public 

comment period ended on May 21, 2014. The board approved 

the proposed amendments to the regulatory language on 

November 12, 2014. 

The proposed amendments to the regulation provide the 

public information on the requirements and the decision 

process for research proposals involving only data requests. 

Additionally, the proposed amendments require researchers to 

report noncompliance with the conditions of the signed 

research agreements and authorize the department and Human 

Research Review Committee to prohibit further research or 

restrict the publication and use of the data research results. 

Substance: The proposed language describes how all external 

data requests and research proposals within the 

Commonwealth's juvenile justice system will be coordinated, 

reviewed, and approved or denied. The proposed language 

provides the process for the review and approval of two new 

types of external data requests. These are (1) external 

aggregate data requests (new section: 6VAC35-170-62) and 

(2) external case-specific data requests (new section: 

6VAC35-170-65). Proposed language also addresses 

researcher noncompliance (new section: 6VAC35-170-185). 

Additional revisions have been proposed to bring the current 

language in the regulation related to human research in line 

with the requirements of Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia. 
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Issues: The primary advantage of the proposed amendment to 

the public is providing the public with the requirements and 

decision process for research proposals involving only data 

requests. Additionally, language has been proposed requiring 

an additional layer of review to ensure juvenile information is 

adequately protected when providing de-identified data. The 

current timeline for the decision process for research 

proposals not involving human research is 40 days. The 

proposed timeline for the decision process for aggregate data 

requests has been shortened to 20 days. The primary 

advantage to the department and the Commonwealth is 

proposed language allowing the department the discretion to 

approve or deny research projects to ensure selected projects 

align with the current department needs and priorities. 

Finally, proposed language allows the department or the 

Human Research Review Committee to restrict or terminate 

the work of researchers who fail to comply with the approved 

conditions of a research proposal. There are no disadvantages 

to the public, the department, or the Commonwealth in 

adopting the proposed changes to the regulation. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Juvenile Justice proposes 1) to reduce the time 

allotted for decisions for aggregate data requests and 2) to 

require researchers to submit an annual progress report. 

Result of Analysis. There is insufficient data to accurately 

compare the magnitude of the benefits versus the costs. 

Estimated Economic Impact. These regulations establish 

procedures for coordination, review, approval, and denial of 

data requests and research proposals involving juveniles 

within the Commonwealth's juvenile justice system.  

One of the proposed changes will reduce the time to make 

decisions for aggregate data requests from 30 days to 20 days. 

With this change, researchers will be informed of a decision 

regarding their request sooner than it is currently. 

Another proposed change will require researchers to submit 

an annual progress report to the Department of Juvenile 

Justice (DJJ). DJJ reports that the majority of projects are 

completed within one year and expects to receive only 3-4 

annual reports from researchers. Furthermore, DJJ states that 

the type of information that will be included in the annual 

report is already required by the Institutional Review Boards 

and should require minimal to no extra work on the 

researchers part to comply. 

The remaining proposed changes are formatting and 

clarifying changes reflecting the practices currently followed 

and are not expected to create any significant economic 

impact other than improving the clarity of the regulations. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. These regulations primarily 

apply to researchers wishing to analyze data involving 

juveniles within the Commonwealth's juvenile justice system. 

In fiscal year 2014, DJJ received six research proposals and 

approved five of those proposals. In the same timeframe, the 

average daily population in three juvenile correctional centers 

was 599 and the average daily population in 25 juvenile 

detention centers was 735. There were also 1,366 placements 

in 19 juvenile group homes/shelter care facilities. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The regulations apply 

throughout the Commonwealth. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are not expected to significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments are not expected to affect the use and 

value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 

amendments are not expected to affect small businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments are not expected 

to adversely affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

are not expected to affect real estate development costs. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

responsible Virginia Board of Juvenile Justice agency 

representatives have reviewed the Department of Planning 

and Budget's (DPB) economic impact analysis of 6VAC35-

170, Minimum Standards for Research Involving Human 

Subjects or Records of the Department of Juvenile Justice. 

The agency is in agreement with DPB's analysis. 

Summary: 

The proposed action addresses how all external data 

requests and research proposals within the 

Commonwealth's juvenile justice system will be 

coordinated, reviewed, and approved or denied. The 

proposed amendments provide the process for the review 

and approval of (i) external aggregate data requests, (ii) 

external case specific data requests, and (iii) human 

research proposals. The proposed amendments also 

require researchers to report noncompliance with the 

conditions of the signed research agreements and authorize 

the Department of Juvenile Justice and the Human 

Research Review Committee to prohibit further research or 

restrict the publication and use of the data research results. 

CHAPTER 170  

REGULATION GOVERNING MINIMUM STANDARDS 

FOR JUVENILE INFORMATION REQUESTS FROM 

AND RESEARCH INVOLVING HUMAN SUBJECTS OR 

RECORDS OF WITHIN THE DEPARTMENT OF 

JUVENILE JUSTICE  

6VAC35-170-10. Definitions.  

Unless the context clearly indicates otherwise, the following 

words and terms when used in this regulation chapter shall 

have the following meanings, consistent with the definitions 

offered in § 32.1-162.16 of the Code of Virginia:  
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"Aggregate data" means statistics that relate to broad 

classes, groups, or categories so that it is not possible to 

distinguish the properties of individuals within those classes, 

groups, or categories.  

"Case-specific data" means nonaggregated data that 

provides information about individuals within a group. 

"Coordinator of external research" is the department 

employee designated by the director to receive research 

proposals from external entities and ensure that the proposals 

are reviewed in accordance with this regulation chapter and 

related department procedures.  

"De-identified data" means data with common identifiers, 

such as names, phone numbers, social security numbers, 

addresses, etc., removed in order to eliminate the ability of an 

individual viewing the data to determine the identity of an 

individual. 

"Department" means the Department of Juvenile Justice.  

"Director" means the Director of the Department of Juvenile 

Justice, or his designee.  

"Encrypted" means the transformation of data through the 

use of an algorithmic process into a form in which there is a 

low probability of assigning meaning without the use of a 

confidential process or key or the securing of the information 

by another method that renders the data elements unreadable 

or unusable. 

"External research" means research conducted at or using 

the resources of a facility, program, or organization that is 

owned, operated, or regulated by the department or the Board 

of Juvenile Justice by researchers who are not part of the 

department or under contract to the department, or who are 

not employees of another state agency conducting a study at 

the direction of the General Assembly. 

"Human subject" means any individual who is under the 

department's care, custody or supervision, or a member of the 

family of such an individual, who is or who is proposed to be 

a subject of human research.  

"Human research" means any systematic investigation using 

human subjects, that may expose those subjects to physical or 

psychological injury, and that departs from the application of 

established and accepted therapeutic methods appropriate to 

meet the subject's needs including research development, 

testing and evaluation, utilizing human subjects that is 

designed to develop or contribute to generalized knowledge. 

Human research shall not be deemed to include research 

exempt from federal research regulation pursuant to 45 CFR 

46.101(b).  

"Human Research Review Committee" means the 

committee established by the department to oversee human 

research proposals and activities in accordance with 

6VAC35-170-130 and § 32.1-162.19 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Human subject" means any individual who is under the 

department's care, custody, or supervision, or a member of the 

family of such an individual, who is, or who is proposed to 

be, a subject of human research.  

"Informed consent" means the knowing and voluntary 

agreement without undue inducement or any element of force, 

fraud, deceit, duress, or other form of constraint or coercion 

of a person who is capable of exercising free choice. The 

basic elements necessary for informed consent regarding 

human research include:  

1. A reasonable and comprehensible explanation to the 

person of the proposed procedures and protocols to be 

followed, their purposes, including descriptions of any 

attendant discomforts, and risks and benefits reasonably to 

be expected;  

2. A disclosure of any alternative procedures or therapies 

that might be helpful to the person;  

3. An instruction that the person may withdraw his consent 

and stop participating in the human research at any time 

without prejudice to him;  

4. An explanation of any costs or compensation that may 

accrue to the person and whether third party 

reimbursement is available for the proposed procedures or 

protocols; and  

5. An offer to answer, and answers to, any questions by the 

person about the procedures and protocols.  

"Legally authorized representative" means the parent or 

parents having custody of a prospective subject; the legal 

guardian of a prospective subject; or any person or judicial or 

other body authorized by law to consent on behalf of a 

prospective subject to such subject's participation in the 

particular human research, including an attorney in fact 

appointed under a durable power of attorney, provided the 

power grants the authority to make such a decision and the 

attorney in fact is not employed by the person, institution, or 

agency conducting the human research. No official or 

employee of the institution or agency conducting or 

authorizing the research shall act as a legally authorized 

representative.  

"Minimal risk" means that the risks of harm anticipated in 

the proposed research are not greater, considering probability 

and magnitude, than those ordinarily encountered in daily life 

or during the performance of routine physical or 

psychological examinations or tests.  

"Nontherapeutic research" means human research in which 

there is no reasonable expectation of direct benefit to the 

physical or mental condition of the human subject.  

"Organizational unit head" means the person in charge of a 

juvenile correctional center, halfway house, court service 

unit, regional office or other organizational unit of the 

department.  

"Principal researcher" means the individual who is 

responsible for the research design, the conduct of research, 

supervision of any research staff, and the research findings.  
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"Research" means the systematic development of knowledge 

essential to effective planning and rational decision-making. 

It involves the assessment of current knowledge on 

conceptual problems selected, statement of those problems in 

researchable format, design of methodologies appropriate to 

the problems, and the application of statistical techniques to 

organize and analyze data. Research findings should provide 

valuable information to management for policy options.  

"Researcher" means an individual conducting research.  

"Research project" means the systematic collection of 

information, analysis of the data, and the preparation of a 

report of findings. 

"Written" means the required information is communicated 

in writing. Such writing may be available in either hard copy 

or electronic form. 

6VAC35-170-30. Professional ethics.  

The All research shall conform to the standards of ethics of 

professional societies such as the American Correctional 

Association, the American Psychological Association, the 

American Sociological Association, the National Association 

of Social Workers, the American Evaluation Association, or 

their equivalent.  

6VAC35-170-40. Confidentiality requirements of all 

research.  

A. Research findings shall not identify individual subjects.  

B. All records and all information given by research subjects 

or employees of the department shall be kept confidential in 

accordance with § 16.1-300 of the Code of Virginia, and 

applicable rules and regulations regarding confidentiality of 

juvenile records.  

C. Persons who breach confidentiality shall be subject to 

sanctions in accordance with applicable laws, regulations, 

policies, and procedures.  

D. Confidentiality does not preclude reporting results in a 

consolidated form that protects the identity of individuals, 

utilizing de-identified data or giving raw data to the 

department for possible further analysis.  

6VAC35-170-50. Conditions for department approval of 

external research.  

The department will may approve research projects only 

when it determines, in its sole discretion, that the following 

conditions have been met:  

1. The department has sufficient financial resources and 

staff to support the research project, and that on balance 

the benefits of the research justify the department's 

involvement;  

2. The proposed research will not interfere significantly 

with department programs or operations, particularly those 

of the operating units that would participate in the 

proposed research; and  

3. The proposed research is compatible with the purposes 

and goals of the juvenile justice system and with the 

department's organization, operations, and resources; and  

4. The proposed research requests for aggregate data or de-

identified data, and the human research proposals, comply 

with all department procedures, which shall be posted on 

the department's website. 

6VAC35-170-62. Review and approval of aggregate data 

requests. 

A. Aggregate data requests shall be submitted to the 

department in accordance with procedures posted on the 

department's website. 

B. The coordinator of external research shall determine the 

following prior to approving the request:  

1. The request meets the conditions for department 

approval of research identified in 6VAC35-170-30 and 

6VAC35-170-50; 

2. The data requested is accessible;  

3. An estimate of the time required to process the data 

request; and  

4. Based on staff workload, if staff resources are available 

to process the data request.  

C. The coordinator of external research may approve and 

coordinate the provision of data.  

D. The principal researcher shall be notified in writing of the 

approval or denial of the data request within 20 business days 

of the department receiving the proposal.  

1. The department shall provide the principal researcher 

with documentation of the rationale for the denial of the 

request when applicable. 

2. The department shall provide the principal researcher 

with a written estimated timeline for receipt of the data 

when applicable.  

6VAC35-170-65. External case-specific data requests. 

A. External case-specific data requests shall be submitted to 

the department via the Research Proposal Form, the Research 

Agreement Form, and any attachment required by department 

procedures.  

B. The Research Agreement Form shall be signed by the 

principal researcher and the student researcher, if applicable, 

at the time of submission. 

C. The coordinator of external research shall determine the 

following within 10 business days of receiving the research 

proposal: 

1. The request meets the conditions for department 

approval of research identified in 6VAC35-170-30 and 

6VAC35-170-50; 

2. The proposal is not a human research proposal and is not 

required to be reviewed by the Human Research Review 

Committee;  
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3. The principal researcher has appropriate academic or 

professional standing or job-related experience in the area 

to be studied; 

4. The proposal is in the required format and includes all 

required information;  

5. The proposal complies with basic research standards and 

applicable laws; 

6. The data requested is accessible;  

7. Department staff and resources are available to process 

the data request; and  

8. An estimate of the time required to compile the data 

request.  

D. The following identifiers shall be removed from the data 

provided to researchers: 

1. Names; 

2. Dates (date of birth, date of admission, date of release, 

etc.); 

3. Postal address information, other than town or city, 

state, and zip code; 

4. Telephone numbers; 

5. Social security numbers; 

6. Medical record numbers; 

7. Account numbers (Juvenile Tracking System, Direct 

Care, etc.); 

8. Biometric identifiers, including finger and voice prints; 

and 

9. Full face photographic images and any comparable 

image. 

E. The director or his designee may on a case-by-case basis 

approve the dissemination of data containing a limited 

number of the identifiers listed in subsection D of this section 

for research benefiting the department. 

F. The human research review process shall be followed 

when the data requested by a researcher are such that a 

reasonable person could identify the research participants.  

G. Industry standard levels of encryption shall be required to 

protect all juvenile record information provided to 

researchers.  

H. Upon determining the requirements in subsection C of 

this section are met, the director or his designee shall 

designate a committee to meet within 20 business days of 

receiving the proposal. The committee shall:  

1. Review the data requested and determine if it is 

necessary to restrict the scope of the information provided. 

The scope of information may be restricted for any reason.  

2. Determine the research is beneficial to the department.  

3. Ensure juvenile confidential information will be 

adequately protected.  

4. Make a recommendation to the director or his designee 

to approve or disapprove the request.  

I. The director shall approve or deny the proposal within 10 

business days of receiving the recommendation. 

J. The department shall notify the researcher of the director's 

decision within five business days of the director making the 

decision.  

K. Notification of the denial of a proposal shall include a 

written rationale. 

L. Notification of the approval of a proposal shall include 

the research agreement. The research agreement shall outline 

the respective responsibilities of the parties and will specify: 

1. When progress reports shall be required. If the external 

research also involves human research, this schedule of 

progress reports shall be developed in consultation with the 

Human Research Review Committee; 

2. The department shall have unrestricted permission to use 

the research findings in accordance with professional 

standards of research; 

3. A final report shall be submitted electronically to the 

department; 

4. Unless waived by the director or designee, all external 

articles, reports, and presentations made from the data 

collected shall be submitted electronically to the 

department and shall include the statement, "The findings 

of this study are the responsibility of the researchers, and 

cooperation by the Virginia Department of Juvenile Justice 

in facilitating this research should not be construed as an 

endorsement of the conclusions drawn by the researchers."; 

and 

5. The research agreement is not effective until signed by 

both the principal researcher and the director or his 

designee. 

M. The department shall provide a final signed copy of the 

research agreement to the principal researcher by first class 

mail, electronic mail, or facsimile. 

6VAC35-170-80. Informed consent required for human 

research (see (§ 32.1-162.18 of the Code of Virginia).  

A. If a human subject is competent, informed consent shall 

be given in writing by the subject and witnessed.  

B. If a human subject is not competent, informed consent 

shall be given in writing by the subject's legally authorized 

representative and witnessed.  

C. If a human subject is a minor who is otherwise capable of 

giving informed consent, informed consent shall be given in 

writing by both the minor and his legally authorized 

representative.  

D. If two or more persons who qualify as legally authorized 

representatives with decision-making authority inform the 

researcher that they disagree as to participation of the 

prospective subject in human research, the subject shall not 

be enrolled in the human research that is the subject of the 

consent. 
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D. E. Notwithstanding consent by a legally authorized 

representative, no person who is otherwise capable of giving 

informed consent shall be forced to participate in any human 

research.  

E. F. A legally authorized representative may not consent to 

nontherapeutic research unless the Human Research Review 

Committee determines that such nontherapeutic research will 

present no more than a minimal risk to the human subject.  

F. G. No informed consent form shall include any language 

through which the human subject waives or appears to waive 

any legal rights right, including any release of any individual, 

institution, or agency or any agents agent thereof from 

liability for negligence (see § 32.1-162.18 of the Code of 

Virginia).  

6VAC35-170-100. Proposal for external research.  

A. If the research is proposed to take place in a particular 

organizational unit, the principal researcher shall present a 

preliminary research proposal to the head of that 

organizational unit and get the organizational unit head's 

endorsement of the proposal, in accordance with procedures 

established by the department.  

B. The principal researcher shall submit to the coordinator 

of external research a complete research proposal describing 

the research project, and containing:  

1. Name, address, telephone numbers, title and affiliation 

of the principal researcher;  

2. Name of the person who will immediately supervise the 

project, if different from the principal researcher;  

3. Funding source, if any;  

4. Date of the proposal's submission to the department;  

5. Title or descriptive name of the proposed research 

project;  

6. Statement of the specific purpose or purposes of the 

proposed research project with anticipated results, 

including benefit to the department;  

7. A concise description of the research design and 

techniques for data collection and analysis, and of the 

likely effects of the research methodology on existing 

programs and institutional operations;  

8. Time frames Timeframes indicating proposed beginning 

and ending dates for (i) data collection, (ii) analysis, (iii) 

preliminary report, and (iv) final report;  

9. A listing of any resources the researcher will require 

from the department or its units, such as staff, supplies, 

materials, equipment, work spaces, or access to clients and 

files;  

10. Endorsement A written endorsement from the head of 

the organizational unit where the research will be 

conducted, if applicable;  

11. For student research, endorsement from the researcher's 

academic advisor or other appropriate persons;  

12. For research involving records of juveniles at state and 

local court service units, a written endorsement from the 

appropriate juvenile and domestic relations judge or 

judges;  

13. For human research, a written endorsement from the 

institutional review board of the institution or organization 

with which the researcher is affiliated; and  

14. For all research projects, a signed and dated statement 

that the principal researcher and research staff have read, 

understand, and agree to abide by these regulations.  

6VAC35-170-120. Research proposals not involving 

human research. (Repealed.)  

Designated department staff shall review research proposals 

that do not involve human research and make a 

recommendation to the director within 20 days of receiving 

the proposal. The director shall approve or deny proposals 

within 10 days of receiving the staff recommendation.  

6VAC35-170-140. Timeline for review of human research 

proposals.  

A. The human research review committee Human Research 

Review Committee will review proposals involving human 

research within 30 business days of receiving a complete 

research proposal.  

B. At the request of the researcher, the committee Human 

Research Review Committee may conduct an expedited 

review when the proposed research involves no more than 

minimal risk to the human subjects and:  

1. The proposal has been reviewed and approved by 

another agency's human research review committee; or  

2. The review involves only minor changes to a research 

project that was previously approved.  

6VAC35-170-170. Recommendation to director and final 

action.  

A. The committee Human Research Review Committee shall 

make a recommendation to the director to deny, approve, or 

conditionally approve the proposed human research.  

B. The director shall approve or deny the proposal within 10 

business days of receiving the committee's recommendation.  

C. The research agreement shall become effective only after all 

reviews required by this regulation and department procedures 

are completed and the director signs the agreement on behalf of 

the department. The coordinator of external research must send a 

copy of the signed Research Agreement research agreement to 

the researcher before the project may begin.  

6VAC35-170-185. Researcher noncompliance. 

A. The researcher shall report noncompliance with the 

approved research proposal to the Human Research Review 

Committee and the institutional review board.  

B. Research activities identified by the department or the 

Human Research Review Committee as failing to comply 

with the approved proposal or in violation of the Code of 

Virginia or the Virginia Administrative Code may result in 
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the department restricting or terminating further research and 

the department may prohibit the researcher from presenting or 

publishing the research results.  

6VAC35-170-190. Committee reports required.  

A. In accordance with § 66-10.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

committee Human Research Review Committee shall submit 

to the Governor, the General Assembly, and the director at 

least annually a report on human research projects approved 

by the committee, and the status of such research, including 

any significant deviations deviation from the proposals as 

approved.  

B. The committee Human Research Review Committee 

shall also annually submit to the Board of Juvenile Justice the 

same report as required by subsection A of this section. The 

report to the board shall also include a summary of human 

research proposals that were not approved.  

6VAC35-170-200. Progress reports.  

A. The department may require periodic reports on the 

progress of any research project. The principal researcher 

shall be responsible for providing such reports, and any 

supplementary information requested by the department, in a 

timely manner.  

B. The researcher shall submit an annual progress report to 

coordinator of external research when the research is not 

completed within one year of approval. 

6VAC35-170-220. Final report.  

A. The department shall require that a formal final report be 

submitted to the coordinator of external research, and may 

require up to 10 copies of the report.  

B. The report shall, unless waived by the director or 

designee, contain the following statement:  

"The findings of this study are the responsibility of the 

researchers, and cooperation by the Virginia Department of 

Juvenile Justice in facilitating this research should not be 

construed as an endorsement of the conclusions drawn by 

the researchers."  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (6VAC35-170) 

Research Proposal Summary (undated; filed 12/2015) 

Research Agreement (undated; filed 12/2015) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3973; Filed December 7, 2015, 11:31 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 

exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The Virginia Waste Management 

Board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 

or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC20-60. Virginia Hazardous 

Waste Management Regulations (amending 9VAC20-60-

18, 9VAC20-60-260, 9VAC20-60-261, 9VAC20-60-1390, 

9VAC20-60-1420).  

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1402 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 6921; 40 CFR Parts 260 through 272. 

Effective Date: January 27, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Leslie A. Romanchik, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4129, FAX (804) 

698-4234, TTY (804) 698-4021, or email 

leslie.romanchik@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The Virginia Hazardous Waste Management Regulations, 

9VAC20-60, include citations and requirements in the form 

of incorporated federal regulatory text at Title 40 of the 

Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). This regulatory 

amendment will bring these citations up to date and 

incorporate the latest Title 40 of the CFR to the one as 

published in the July 1, 2015, update. 

As part of this regulatory action, the Virginia Waste 

Management Board is adopting the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency's Definition of Solid Waste (DSW) as 

promulgated on October 30, 2008, and subsequently 

updated by the Revisions to the Definition of Solid Waste 

Rule promulgated on January 13, 2015 (80 FR 1694). The 

purpose of the DSW rule is to ensure that the hazardous 

secondary materials recycling regulations, as 

implemented, encourage reclamation in a way that does 

not result in increased risk to human health and the 

environment from discarded hazardous secondary 

material. However, this regulatory action does not 

incorporate the conditional exclusion for hazardous 

secondary materials that are managed in land-based units. 

This regulatory action amends the definition of 

"contained" to add condition (5), which clarifies that land-

based units managing hazardous secondary materials will 

continue to be required to comply with the applicable 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a2cea003973~1&typ=40&actno=003973&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a9fca003973~2&typ=40&actno=003973&mime=application/pdf
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provisions of the Virginia Hazardous Waste Management 

Regulations for hazardous waste land-based units. 

9VAC20-60-18. Applicability of incorporated references 

based on the dates on which they became effective.  

Except as noted, when a regulation of the United States 

Environmental Protection Agency set forth in Title 40 of the 

Code of Federal Regulations is referenced and incorporated 

herein, that regulation shall be as it exists and has been 

published in the July 1, 2014, 2015 update. 

9VAC20-60-260. Adoption of 40 CFR Part 260 by 

reference.  

A. Except as otherwise provided, the regulations of the 

United States Environmental Protection Agency set forth in 

40 CFR Part 260 are hereby incorporated as part of the 

Virginia Hazardous Waste Management Regulations. Except 

as otherwise provided, all material definitions, reference 

materials and other ancillaries that are a part of 40 CFR Part 

260 are also hereby incorporated as part of the Virginia 

Hazardous Waste Management Regulations.  

B. In all locations in these regulations where 40 CFR Part 

260 is incorporated by reference, the following additions, 

modifications and exceptions shall amend the incorporated 

text for the purpose of its incorporation into these regulations:  

1. In 40 CFR 260.10, the term "Administrator" shall mean 

the administrator of the United States Environmental 

Protection Agency or his designee.  

2. In 40 CFR 260.10, the term "contained" shall be 

appended by adding the following: (5) Hazardous 

secondary materials managed under the exclusion provided 

in 40 CFR 261.4(a)(23) or (a)(24) shall not be managed in 

a land-based unit unless the land-based unit meets the 

applicable standards of 40 CFR Parts 260 through 270, as 

incorporated by reference, for management of hazardous 

waste. 

3. In 40 CFR 260.10, the term "EPA" shall mean the 

United States Environmental Protection Agency.  

3. 4. In 40 CFR 260.10 the term "new tank system" and 

"existing tank system," the reference to July 14, 1986, 

applies only to tank regulations promulgated pursuant to 

federal Hazardous and Solid Waste Amendment (HSWA) 

requirements. HSWA requirement categories include:  

a. Interim status and permitting requirements applicable 

to tank systems owned and operated by small quantity 

generators;  

b. Leak detection requirements for all underground tank 

systems for which construction commenced after July 14, 

1986; and  

c. Permitting standards for underground tanks that cannot 

be entered for inspection.  

For non-HSWA regulations, the reference date shall be 

January 1, 1998.  

4. 5. In 40 CFR 260.10, the term "Regional Administrator" 

shall mean the regional administrator of Region III of the 

United States Environmental Protection Agency or his 

designee.  

5. 6. In 40 CFR 260.10 definitions of the terms "Person," 

"State," and "United States," the term "state" shall have the 

meaning originally intended by the Code of Federal 

Regulations and not be supplanted by "Commonwealth of 

Virginia."  

6. 7. In 40 CFR 260.10 and wherever elsewhere in Title 40 

of the Code of Federal Regulations the term "universal 

waste" appears, it shall be amended by addition of the 

following sentence: "In addition to the hazardous wastes 

listed herein, the term "universal waste" shall include those 

hazardous wastes listed in Part XVI (9VAC20-60-1495 et 

seq.) of the Virginia Hazardous Waste Management 

Regulations as universal wastes, under such terms and 

requirements as shall therein be ascribed."  

7. 8. Throughout 40 CFR 260.11(a), the terms "EPA" and 

"U.S. Environmental Protection Agency" shall not be 

supplanted with the term "Commonwealth of Virginia."  

8. 9. In Part XIV (9VAC20-60-1370 et seq.), the Virginia 

Hazardous Waste Management Regulations contain 

provisions analogous to 40 CFR 260.30, 40 CFR 260.31, 

40 CFR 260.32, 40 CFR 260.33, 40 CFR 260.34, 40 CFR 

260.40, and 40 CFR 260.41. These sections of 40 CFR Part 

260 are not incorporated by reference and are not a part of 

the Virginia Hazardous Waste Management Regulations.  

9. 10. Sections 40 CFR 260.2, 40 CFR 260.20, 40 CFR 

260.21, 40 CFR 260.22, and 40 CFR 260.23 are not 

included in the incorporation of 40 CFR Part 260 by 

reference and are not a part of the Virginia Hazardous 

Waste Management Regulations.  

10. 11. Appendix I to 40 CFR Part 260 is not incorporated 

by reference and is not a part of the Virginia Hazardous 

Waste Management Regulations.  

11. Regardless of the provisions of 9VAC20-60-18, the 

revisions to 40 CFR Part 260 as promulgated by U.S. EPA 

on October 30, 2008, (73 FR 64757 - 64788) (definition of 

solid waste rule) are not adopted herein. 

9VAC20-60-261. Adoption of 40 CFR Part 261 by 

reference.  

A. Except as otherwise provided, the regulations of the 

United States Environmental Protection Agency set forth in 

40 CFR Part 261 are hereby incorporated as part of the 

Virginia Hazardous Waste Management Regulations. Except 

as otherwise provided, all material definitions, reference 

materials and other ancillaries that are a part of 40 CFR Part 

261 are also hereby incorporated as part of the Virginia 

Hazardous Waste Management Regulations.  

B. In all locations in these regulations where 40 CFR Part 

261 is incorporated by reference, the following additions, 
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modifications and exceptions shall amend the incorporated 

text for the purpose of its incorporation into these regulations:  

1. Any agreements required by 40 CFR 261.4(b)(11)(ii) 

shall be sent to the United States Environmental Protection 

Agency at the address shown and to the Department of 

Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, 

Virginia 23218.  

2. In 40 CFR 261.4(e)(3)(iii), the text "in the Region where 

the sample is collected" shall be deleted.  

3. In 40 CFR 261.4(f)(1), the term "Regional 

Administrator" shall mean the regional administrator of 

Region III of the United States Environmental Protection 

Agency or his designee.  

4. In 40 CFR 261.6(a)(2), recyclable materials shall be 

subject to the requirements of 9VAC20-60-270 and Part 

XII (9VAC20-60-1260 et seq.) of this chapter.  

5. No hazardous waste from a conditionally exempt small 

quantity generator shall be managed as described in 40 

CFR 261.5(g)(3)(iv) or 40 CFR 261.5(g)(3)(v) unless such 

waste management is in full compliance with all 

requirements of the Solid Waste Management Regulations 

(9VAC20-81).  

6. In 40 CFR 261.9 and wherever elsewhere in Title 40 of 

the Code of Federal Regulations there is a listing of 

universal wastes or a listing of hazardous wastes that are 

the subject of provisions set out in 40 CFR Part 273 as 

universal wastes, it shall be amended by addition of the 

following sentence: "In addition to the hazardous wastes 

listed herein, the term "universal waste" and all lists of 

universal waste or waste subject to provisions of 40 CFR 

Part 273 shall include those hazardous wastes listed in Part 

XVI (9VAC20-60-1495 et seq.) of the Virginia Hazardous 

Waste Management Regulations as universal wastes, under 

such terms and requirements as shall therein be ascribed."  

7. In Subparts B and D of 40 CFR Part 261, the term 

"Administrator" shall mean the administrator of the United 

States Environmental Protection Agency, and the term 

"Director" shall not supplant "Administrator" throughout 

Subparts B and D.  

8. Regardless of the provisions of 9VAC20-60-18, the 

revisions to 40 CFR Part 261 as promulgated by U.S. EPA 

on October 30, 2008, (73 FR 64757 - 64788) (definition of 

solid waste rule) are not adopted herein. 

9VAC20-60-1390. Changes in classifications as a solid 

waste.  

A. Variances.  

1. Applicability.  

a. A person who recycles waste that is managed entirely 

within the Commonwealth may petition the director to 

exclude the waste at a particular site from the 

classification as the solid waste (Parts I (9VAC20-60-12 

et seq.) and III (9VAC20-60-124 et seq.) of this chapter). 

The conditions under which a petition for a variance will 

be accepted are shown in subdivision 2 of this 

subsection. The wastes excluded under such petitions 

may still, however, remain classified as a solid waste for 

the purposes of other regulations issued by the Virginia 

Waste Management Board or other agencies of the 

Commonwealth.  

b. A person who generated generates wastes at a 

generating site in Virginia and whose waste is subject to 

federal jurisdiction (e.g., the waste is transported across 

state boundaries) shall first obtain a favorable decision 

from the administrator in accordance with Subpart C, 40 

CFR Part 260, before his waste may be considered for a 

variance by the director.  

c. A person who recycles materials from a generating site 

outside the Commonwealth and who causes them to be 

brought into the Commonwealth for recycling shall first 

obtain a favorable decision from the administrator in 

accordance with Subpart C, 40 CFR Part 260, before the 

waste may be considered for a variance by the director.  

d. A person who received a favorable decision from the 

administrator in the response to a petition for variance or 

nonwaste determination or a person whose wastes were 

delisted as a result of a successful petition to the 

administrator shall provide a notification to the 

department containing the following information: (i) the 

petitioner's name and address and (ii) a copy of the 

administrator's decision.  

2. Conditions for a variance. In accordance with the 

standards and criteria in subsection B of this section and 

the procedures in 9VAC20-60-1420 A B, the director may 

determine on a case-by-case basis that the following 

recycled materials are not solid wastes:  

a. Materials that are accumulated speculatively without 

sufficient amounts being recycled (as defined in Part I).  

b. Materials that are reclaimed and then reused within the 

original primary production process in which they were 

generated; and  

c. Materials that have been reclaimed but must be 

reclaimed further before the materials are completely 

recovered.  

d. Hazardous secondary materials that are reclaimed in a 

continuous industrial process. 

e. Hazardous secondary materials that are 

indistinguishable in all relevant aspects from a product or 

intermediate. 

f. Hazardous secondary materials that are transferred for 

reclamation under 40 CFR 261.4(a)(24) and are managed 

at a verified reclamation facility or intermediate facility 

where the management of the hazardous secondary 

materials is not addressed under an RCRA Part B permit 

or interim status standards. 
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B. Standards and criteria for variances.  

1. The director may grant requests for a variance from 

classifying as a solid waste those materials that are 

accumulated speculatively without sufficient amounts 

being recycled if the applicant demonstrates that sufficient 

amounts of the material will be recycled or transferred for 

recycling in the following year. If a variance is granted, it 

is valid only for the following year, but can be renewed on 

an annual basis by filing a new application. The director's 

decision will be based on the following criteria:  

a. The manner in which the material is expected to be 

recycled, and when the material is expected to be 

recycled, and whether this expected disposition is likely 

to occur (for example, because of past practice, market 

factors, the nature of the material, or contractual 

arrangement for recycling);  

b. The reason that the applicant has accumulated the 

material for one or more years without recycling 75% of 

the volume accumulated at the beginning of the year;  

c. The quantity of material already accumulated and the 

quantity expected to be generated and accumulated 

before the material is recycled;  

d. The extent to which the material is handled to 

minimize loss; and  

e. Other relevant factors.  

2. The director may grant requests for a variance from 

classifying as a solid waste those materials that are 

reclaimed and then reused as feedstock within the original 

production process in which the materials were generated 

if the reclamation operation is an essential part of the 

production process. This determination will be based on 

the following criteria:  

a. How economically viable the production process 

would be if it were to use virgin materials, rather than 

reclaimed materials;  

b. The prevalence of the practice on an industry-wide 

basis;  

c. The extent to which the material is handled before 

reclamation to minimize loss;  

d. The time periods between generating the material and 

its reclamation, and between reclamation and return to 

the original primary production process;  

e. The location of the reclamation operation in relation to 

the production process;  

f. Whether the reclaimed material is used for the purpose 

for which it was originally produced when it is returned 

to the original process, and whether it is returned to the 

process in substantially its original form;  

g. Whether the person who generates the material also 

reclaims it; and  

h. Other relevant factors.  

3. The director may grant requests for a variance from 

classifying as a solid waste those hazardous secondary 

materials that have been partially reclaimed but must be 

reclaimed further before recovery is completed if, after 

initial reclamation, the resulting material is the partial 

reclamation has produced a commodity-like (even though 

it is not yet a commercial product, and has to be reclaimed 

further). This determination will be based on the following 

factors: material. A determination that a partially reclaimed 

material for which the variance is sought is commodity-

like will be based on whether the hazardous secondary 

material is legitimately recycled as specified in 40 CFR 

260.43 and on whether all of the following decision criteria 

are satisfied: 

a. The degree of processing the material has undergone 

and the degree of further processing that is required;  

b. The value of the material after it has been reclaimed;  

c. The degree to which the reclaimed material is like an 

analogous raw material;  

d. The extent to which an end market for the reclaimed 

material is guaranteed;  

e. The extent to which the reclaimed material is handled 

to minimize loss; and  

f. Other relevant factors.  

a. Whether the degree of partial reclamation the material 

has undergone is substantial as demonstrated by using a 

partial reclamation process other than the process that 

generated the hazardous waste; 

b. Whether the partially reclaimed material has sufficient 

economic value that it will be purchased for further 

reclamation; 

c. Whether the partially reclaimed material is a viable 

substitute for a product or intermediate produced from 

virgin or raw materials that is used in subsequent 

production steps;  

d. Whether there is a market for the partially reclaimed 

material as demonstrated by known customer or 

customers who are further reclaiming the material (e.g., 

records of sales or contracts and evidence of subsequent 

use, such as bills of lading); and 

e. Whether the partially reclaimed material is handled to 

minimize loss. 

4. The director may grant requests for a variance from 

classifying as a solid waste those hazardous secondary 

materials that are transferred for reclamation under 40 CFR 

261.4(a)(24) and are managed at a verified reclamation 

facility or intermediate facility where the management of 

the hazardous secondary materials is not addressed under a 

RCRA Part B permit or interim status standards. The 

director's decision will be based on the following criteria: 

a. The reclamation facility or intermediate facility must 

demonstrate that the reclamation process for the 
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hazardous secondary materials is legitimate pursuant to 

40 CFR 260.43; 

b. The reclamation facility or intermediate facility must 

satisfy the financial assurance condition in 40 CFR 

261.4(a)(24)(vi)(F); 

c. The reclamation facility or intermediate facility must 

not be subject to a formal enforcement action in the 

previous three years and not be classified as a significant 

noncomplier under RCRA Subtitle C, or must provide 

credible evidence that the facility will manage the 

hazardous secondary materials properly. Credible 

evidence may include a demonstration that the facility 

has taken remedial steps to address the violations and 

prevent future violations, or that the violations are not 

relevant to the proper management of the hazardous 

secondary materials; 

d. The intermediate or reclamation facility must have the 

equipment and trained personnel needed to safely 

manage the hazardous secondary material and must meet 

emergency preparedness and response requirements 

under 40 CFR Part 261 Subpart M;  

e. If residuals are generated from the reclamation of the 

excluded hazardous secondary materials, the reclamation 

facility must have the permits required (if any) to manage 

the residuals, have a contract with an appropriately 

permitted facility to dispose of the residuals, or present 

credible evidence that the residuals will be managed in a 

manner that is protective of human health and the 

environment; and 

f. The intermediate or reclamation facility must address 

the potential for risk to proximate populations from 

unpermitted releases of the hazardous secondary material 

to the environment (i.e., releases that are not covered by 

a permit, such as a permit to discharge to water or air), 

which may include, but are not limited to, potential 

releases through surface transport by precipitation runoff, 

releases to soil and groundwater, wind-blown dust, 

fugitive air emissions, and catastrophic unit failures, and 

must include consideration of potential cumulative risks 

from other nearby potential stressors. 

5. An applicant may apply to the administrator for a formal 

determination that a hazardous secondary material is not 

discarded and therefore not a solid waste (i.e., nonwaste 

determination). The determinations will be based on the 

criteria contained in subdivision B 6 or B 7 of this section, 

as applicable. If an application is denied, the hazardous 

secondary material might still be eligible for a solid waste 

variance or exclusion (e.g., one of the solid waste variances 

under this section). Determinations may also be granted by 

the director if the state is either authorized for this 

provision or if the following conditions are met: 

a. The director determines the hazardous secondary 

material meets the criteria in subdivision B 6 or B 7 of 

this section, as applicable; 

b. The state requests that EPA review its determination; 

and 

c. EPA approves the state determination. 

6. The director may grant a nonwaste determination for 

hazardous secondary material that is reclaimed in a 

continuous industrial process if the applicant demonstrates 

that the hazardous secondary material is a part of the 

production process and is not discarded. The determination 

will be based on whether the hazardous secondary material 

is legitimately recycled as specified in 40 CFR 260.43 and 

on the following criteria: 

a. The extent that the management of the hazardous 

secondary material is part of the continuous primary 

production process and is not waste treatment;  

b. Whether the capacity of the production process would 

use the hazardous secondary material in a reasonable 

timeframe and ensure that the hazardous secondary 

material will not be abandoned (e.g., based on past 

practices, market factors, the nature of the hazardous 

secondary material, or any contractual arrangements); 

c. Whether the hazardous constituents in the hazardous 

secondary material are reclaimed rather than released to 

the air, water, or land at significantly higher levels from 

either a statistical or from a health and environmental 

risk perspective than would otherwise be released by the 

production process; and 

d. Other relevant factors that demonstrate the hazardous 

secondary material is not discarded, including why the 

hazardous secondary material cannot meet, or should not 

have to meet, the conditions of an exclusion under 40 

CFR 261.2 or 40 CFR 261.4. 

7. The director may grant a nonwaste determination for 

hazardous secondary material that is indistinguishable in 

all relevant aspects from a product or intermediate if the 

applicant demonstrates that the hazardous secondary 

material is comparable to a product or intermediate and is 

not discarded. The determination will be based on whether 

the hazardous secondary material is legitimately recycled 

as specified in 40 CFR 260.43 and on the following 

criteria: 

a. Whether market participants treat the hazardous 

secondary material as a product or intermediate rather 

than a waste (e.g., based on the current positive value of 

the hazardous secondary material, stability of demand, or 

any contractual arrangements); 

b. Whether the chemical and physical identity of the 

hazardous secondary material is comparable to 

commercial products or intermediates; 

c. Whether the capacity of the market would use the 

hazardous secondary material in a reasonable timeframe 

and ensure that the hazardous secondary material will not 

be abandoned (e.g., based on past practices, market 
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factors, the nature of the hazardous secondary material, 

or any contractual arrangements); 

d. Whether the hazardous constituents in the hazardous 

secondary material are reclaimed rather than released to 

the air, water, or land at significantly higher levels from 

either a statistical or from a health and environmental 

risk perspective than would otherwise be released by the 

production process; and 

e. Other relevant factors that demonstrate the hazardous 

secondary material is not discarded, including why the 

hazardous secondary material cannot meet, or should not 

have to meet, the conditions of an exclusion under 40 

CFR 261.2 or 40 CFR 261.4. 

9VAC20-60-1420. Administrative procedures.  

A. Procedures for variances to be classified as a boiler. The 

director will use the following procedures in evaluating 

applications for variances to classify particular enclosed 

controlled flame combustion devices as boilers:  

1. The applicant must apply to the department for the 

variance. The application must address the relevant criteria 

contained in 9VAC20-60-1400.  

2. The director will evaluate the application and issue a 

draft notice tentatively granting or denying the application. 

Notification of this tentative decision will be provided by 

newspaper advertisement or radio broadcast in the locality 

where the applicant is located. The director will accept 

comment on the tentative decision for 30 days, and may 

also hold a public hearing upon request or at his discretion. 

The director will issue a final decision after receipt of 

comments and after the hearing (if any).  

B. Variances. The director will use the following procedures 

in evaluating applications for variances submitted under 

9VAC20-60-1380 B, 9VAC20-60-1390, and 9VAC20-60-

1400.  

1. The applicant shall apply to the department. The 

application shall address the relevant criteria contained in 

9VAC20-60-1380 B, 9VAC20-60-1390, and 9VAC20-60-

1400.  

2. The director will evaluate the application and issue a 

draft notice tentatively granting or denying the application. 

Notification of this tentative decision will be provided by 

newspaper advertisement and radio broadcast in the 

locality where the applicant is located. The director will 

accept comment on the tentative decision for 30 days, and 

may also hold a public hearing upon request or at his 

discretion. The director will issue a final decision after 

receipt of comments and after the hearing (if any), and will 

publish it in the newspaper in the locality where the 

applicant is located.  

3. In the event of a change in circumstances that affect how 

a hazardous secondary material meets the relevant criteria 

contained in 9VAC20-60-1390 upon which a variance or 

nonwaste determination has been based, the applicant must 

send a description of the change in circumstances to the 

director. The director may issue a determination that the 

hazardous secondary material continues to meet the 

relevant criteria of the variance or nonwaste determination 

or may require the facility to reapply for the variance or 

nonwaste determination. 

4. Variances and nonwaste determinations shall be 

effective for a fixed term not to exceed 10 years. No later 

than six months prior to the end of this term, facilities must 

reapply for a variance or nonwaste determination. If a 

facility reapplies for a variance or nonwaste determination 

within six months, the facility may continue to operate 

under an expired variance or nonwaste determination until 

receiving a decision on their reapplication from the 

director. 

5. Facilities receiving a variance or nonwaste 

determination must provide notification as required by 40 

CFR 260.42 as incorporated by reference. 

C. Changes in management procedures.  

1. Recycling activities. In determining whether to regulate 

recycling activities in a manner differing from procedures 

described in 40 CFR 261.6(a)(2)(iii), the director will 

fulfill all the requirements of Article 3 (§ 2.2-4018 et seq.) 

of the Administrative Process Act. In addition to the 

process required by the APA, the director will:  

a. If a generator is accumulating the waste, issue a notice 

setting forth the factual basis for the decision and stating 

that the person shall comply with applicable 

requirements of 9VAC20-60-262. The notice will 

become final within 30 days, unless the person served 

requests a public hearing to challenge the decision. Upon 

receiving such a request, the director will hold a public 

hearing. The director will provide notice of the hearing to 

the public and allow public participation at the hearing. 

The director will issue a final order after the hearing 

stating whether or not compliance with 9VAC20-60-262 

is required. The order becomes effective in 30 days, 

unless the director specifies a later date or unless review 

under Article 5 (§ 2.2-4025 et seq.) of the Administrative 

Process Act is requested.  

b. If the person is accumulating the recyclable material at 

a storage facility, issue a notice stating that the person 

shall obtain a permit in accordance with all applicable 

provisions of Part III (9VAC20-60-124 et seq.), 

9VAC20-60-270, and Part XII (9VAC20-60-1260 et 

seq.) of this chapter. The owner or operator of the facility 

shall apply for a permit within no less than 60 days and 

no more than six months of notice, as specified in the 

notice. If the owner or operator of the facility wishes to 

challenge the director's decision, he may do so in his 

permit application, in a public hearing held on the draft 

permit, or in comments filed on the draft permit or on the 

notice of intent to deny the permit. The fact sheet 

accompanying the permit will specify the reasons for the 
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director's determination. The questions of whether the 

director's decision was proper will remain open for 

consideration during the public comment period 

discussed under 9VAC20-60-1210 40 CFR 124.11 and in 

any subsequent hearing.  

2. Variance from secondary containment. The following 

procedures shall be followed in order to request a variance 

from secondary containment:  

a. The department shall be notified in writing by the 

owner or operator that he intends to conduct and submit a 

demonstration for a variance from secondary 

containment as allowed in 40 CFR 265.193(g), (or 

40 CFR 264.195(g)), and 9VAC20-60-1410 B according 

to the following schedule:  

(1) For existing tank systems, at least 24 months prior to 

the date that secondary containment shall be provided in 

accordance with 40 CFR 265.193(a) or 40 CFR 

264.193(a); and  

(2) For new tank systems, at least 30 days prior to 

entering into a contract for installation of the tank 

system.  

b. As part of the notification, the owner or operator shall 

also submit to the department a description of the steps 

necessary to conduct the demonstration and a timetable 

for completing each of the steps. The demonstration shall 

address each of the factors listed in 9VAC20-60-1410 B 

4 or 9VAC20-60-1410 B 5.  

c. The demonstration for a variance shall be completed 

and submitted to the department within 180 days after 

notifying the department of intent to conduct the 

demonstration.  

d. In case of facilities regulated under 9VAC20-60-265:  

(1) The director will inform the public, through a 

newspaper notice, of the availability of the demonstration 

for a variance. The notice shall be placed in a daily or 

weekly major local newspaper of general circulation and 

shall provide at least 30 days from the date of the notice 

for the public to review and comment on the 

demonstration for a variance. The director also will hold 

a public hearing, in response to a request or at his own 

discretion, whenever such a hearing might clarify one or 

more issues concerning the demonstration for a variance. 

Public notice of the hearing will be given at least 30 days 

prior to the date of the hearing and may be given at the 

same time as notice of the opportunity for the public to 

review and comment on the demonstration. These two 

notices may be combined.  

(2) The director will approve or disapprove the request 

for a variance within 90 days of receipt of the 

demonstration from the owner or operator and will notify 

in writing the owner or operator and each person who 

submitted written comments or requested notice of the 

variance decision. If the demonstration for a variance is 

incomplete or does not include sufficient information, the 

90-day time period will begin when the department 

receives a complete demonstration, including all 

information necessary to make a final determination. If 

the public comment period in subdivision 2 d (1) of this 

subsection is extended, the 90-day time period will be 

similarly extended.  

e. In case of facilities regulated under 9VAC20-60-264, 

if a variance is granted to the permittee, the director will 

require the permittee to construct and operate the tank 

system in the manner that was demonstrated to meet the 

requirements for the variance.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4568; Filed December 7, 2015, 4:00 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 

exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The Virginia Waste Management 

Board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 

or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC20-81. Solid Waste Management 

Regulations (amending 9VAC20-81-10, 9VAC20-81-35, 

9VAC20-81-45, 9VAC20-81-90, 9VAC20-81-95, 9VAC20-

81-97, 9VAC20-81-110, 9VAC20-81-300, 9VAC20-81-310, 

9VAC20-81-370, 9VAC20-81-450, 9VAC20-81-460, 

9VAC20-81-470, 9VAC20-81-485, 9VAC20-81-550, 

9VAC20-81-600, 9VAC20-81-610, 9VAC20-81-700; 

adding 9VAC20-81-475, 9VAC20-81-800, 9VAC20-81-

810, 9VAC20-81-820).  

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1402 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 6941 et seq.; 40 CFR Parts 257 and 258. 

Effective Date: January 27, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Justin L. Williams, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4185, FAX (804) 

698-4234, TTY (804) 698-4021, or email 

justin.williams@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

On April 17, 2015, the U.S. Environmental Protection 

Agency published a final rule in the Federal Register titled 

"Disposal of Coal Combustion Residuals from Electric 

Utilities." The federal rule became effective October 19, 

2015. This regulatory action amends Virginia's Solid Waste 

Management Regulations to incorporate the recently 

adopted federal standards concerning coal combustion 

residuals. The federal rule establishes standards for the 

disposal of coal combustion residuals from electric utilities 

in landfills and surface impoundments. The rule contains 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 9 Virginia Register of Regulations December 28, 2015 

1592 

locational restrictions, design criteria, operating criteria, 

groundwater monitoring and corrective action 

requirements, closure and post-closure care requirements, 

and recordkeeping requirements. These requirements are 

being incorporated by reference into Virginia's Solid Waste 

Management Regulations. Solid waste permits will be 

issued for coal combustion residual landfills and surface 

impoundments operating in Virginia. 

The federal rule also modified 40 CFR 261.4(b), which 

identifies materials excluded from being hazardous waste. 

The Virginia Hazardous Waste Management Regulations 

incorporate 40 CFR 261.4 by reference. The Virginia 

Hazardous Waste Management Regulations will be 

updated as part of a separate rulemaking process to 

include the revisions made to 40 CFR 261.4(b)(4) (Bevill 

exclusion). 

Part I  

Definitions  

9VAC20-81-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Active life" means the period of operation beginning with 

the initial receipt of solid waste and ending at completion of 

closure activities required by this chapter.  

"Active portion" means that part of a facility or unit that has 

received or is receiving wastes and that has not been closed in 

accordance with this chapter.  

"Agricultural waste" means all solid waste produced from 

farming operations.  

"Airport" means, for the purpose of this chapter, a military 

airfield or a public-use airport open to the public without 

prior permission and without restrictions within the physical 

capacities of available facilities. 

"Aquifer" means a geologic formation, group of formations, 

or a portion of a formation capable of yielding significant 

quantities of groundwater to wells or springs. 

"Ash" means the fly ash or bottom ash residual waste 

material produced from incineration or burning of solid waste 

or from any fuel combustion.  

"Base flood" see "Hundred-year flood." 

"Bedrock" means the rock that underlies soil or other 

unconsolidated, superficial material at a site.  

"Benchmark" means a permanent monument constructed of 

concrete and set in the ground surface below the frostline 

with identifying information clearly affixed to it. Identifying 

information will include the designation of the benchmark as 

well as the elevation and coordinates on the local or Virginia 

state grid system.  

"Beneficial use" means a use that is of benefit as a substitute 

for natural or commercial products and does not contribute to 

adverse effects on health or environment.  

"Beneficial use of CCR" means the CCR meet all of the 

following conditions:  

1. The CCR must provide a functional benefit;  

2. The CCR must substitute for the use of a virgin material, 

conserving natural resources that would otherwise need to 

be obtained through practices, such as extraction;  

3. The use of the CCR must meet relevant product 

specifications, regulatory standards, or design standards 

when available, and when such standards are not available, 

the CCR is not used in excess quantities; and  

4. When unencapsulated use of CCR involving placement 

on the land of 12,400 tons or more in nonroadway 

applications, the user must demonstrate and keep records, 

and provide such documentation upon request, that 

environmental releases to groundwater, surface water, soil, 

and air are comparable to or lower than those from 

analogous products made without CCR, or that 

environmental releases to groundwater, surface water, soil, 

and air will be at or below relevant regulatory and health-

based benchmarks for human and ecological receptors 

during use. 

"Bioremediation" means remediation of contaminated media 

by the manipulation of biological organisms to enhance the 

degradation of contaminants.  

"Bird hazard" means an increase in the likelihood of 

bird/aircraft collisions that may cause damage to the aircraft 

or injury to its occupants.  

"Board" means the Virginia Waste Management Board.  

"Bottom ash" means ash or slag that has been discharged 

from the bottom of the combustion unit after combustion.  

"Capacity" means the maximum permitted volume of solid 

waste, inclusive of daily and intermediate cover, that can be 

disposed in a landfill. This volume is measured in cubic 

yards. 

"Captive industrial landfill" means an industrial landfill that 

is located on property owned or controlled by the generator of 

the waste disposed of in that landfill. 

"CCR landfill" means an area of land or an excavation that 

receives CCR and that is not a surface impoundment, an 

underground injection well, a salt dome formation, a salt bed 

formation, an underground or surface coal mine, or a cave. 

For purposes of this chapter, a CCR landfill also includes 

sand and gravel pits and quarries that receive CCR, CCR 

piles, and any practice that does not meet the definition of a 

beneficial use of CCR.  

"CCR surface impoundment" means a natural topographic 

depression, man-made excavation, or diked area that is 

designed to hold an accumulation of CCR and liquids, and the 

unit treats, stores, or disposes of CCR. 

"Clean wood" means solid waste consisting of untreated 

wood pieces and particles that do not contain paint, laminate, 
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bonding agents, or chemical preservatives or are otherwise 

unadulterated. 

"Closed facility" means a solid waste management facility 

that has been properly secured in accordance with the 

requirements of this chapter.  

"Closure" means that point in time when a permitted landfill 

has been capped, certified as properly closed by a 

professional engineer, inspected by the department, and 

closure notification is performed by the department in 

accordance with 9VAC20-81-160 D.  

"Coal combustion byproducts" or "CCB" means residuals, 

including fly ash, bottom ash, boiler slag, and flue gas 

emission control waste produced by burning coal. CCB 

includes both CCR and other non-CCR wastes identified in 

this definition. 

"Coal combustion residuals" or "CCR" means fly ash, 

bottom ash, boiler slag, and flue gas desulfurization materials 

generated from burning coal for the purpose of generating 

electricity by electric utilities and independent power 

producers. CCR is a specific type of CCB.  

"Combustion unit" means an incinerator, waste heat 

recovery unit, or boiler.  

"Commercial waste" means all solid waste generated by 

establishments engaged in business operations other than 

manufacturing or construction. This category includes, but is 

not limited to, solid waste resulting from the operation of 

stores, markets, office buildings, restaurants, and shopping 

centers.  

"Compliance schedule" means a time schedule for measures 

to be employed on a solid waste management facility that will 

ultimately upgrade it to conform to this chapter.  

"Compost" means a stabilized organic product produced by 

a controlled aerobic decomposition process in such a manner 

that the product can be handled, stored, and/or or applied to 

the land without adversely affecting public health or the 

environment.  

"Composting" means the manipulation of the natural process 

of decomposition of organic materials to increase the rate of 

decomposition.  

"Conditionally exempt small quantity generator" means a 

generator of hazardous waste who has been so defined in 40 

CFR 261.5, as amended. That section applies to the persons 

who generate in that calendar month no more than 100 

kilograms of hazardous waste or one kilogram of acutely 

hazardous waste.  

"Construction" means the initiation of permanent physical 

change at a property with the intent of establishing a solid 

waste management unit. This does not include land-clearing 

activities, excavation for borrow purposes, activities intended 

for infrastructure purposes, or activities necessary to obtain 

Part A siting approval (i.e., advancing of exploratory borings, 

digging of test pits, groundwater monitoring well installation, 

etc.). 

"Construction/demolition/debris landfill" or "CDD landfill" 

means a land burial facility engineered, constructed and 

operated to contain and isolate construction waste, demolition 

waste, debris waste, split tires, and white goods or 

combinations of the above solid wastes.  

"Construction waste" means solid waste that is produced or 

generated during construction, remodeling, or repair of 

pavements, houses, commercial buildings, and other 

structures. Construction wastes include, but are not limited to 

lumber, wire, sheetrock, broken brick, shingles, glass, pipes, 

concrete, paving materials, and metal and plastics if the metal 

or plastics are a part of the materials of construction or empty 

containers for such materials. Paints, coatings, solvents, 

asbestos, any liquid, compressed gases or semi-liquids and 

garbage are not construction wastes.  

"Contaminated soil" means, for the purposes of this chapter, 

a soil that, as a result of a release or human usage, has 

absorbed or adsorbed physical, chemical, or radiological 

substances at concentrations above those consistent with 

nearby undisturbed soil or natural earth materials.  

"Container" means any portable device in which a material 

is stored, transported, treated, or otherwise handled and 

includes transport vehicles that are containers themselves 

(e.g., tank trucks) and containers placed on or in a transport 

vehicle.  

"Containment structure" means a closed vessel such as a 

tank or cylinder.  

"Convenience center" means a collection point for the 

temporary storage of solid waste provided for individual solid 

waste generators who choose to transport solid waste 

generated on their own premises to an established centralized 

point, rather than directly to a disposal facility. To be 

classified as a convenience center, the collection point may 

not receive waste from collection vehicles that have collected 

waste from more than one real property owner. A 

convenience center shall be on a system of regularly 

scheduled collections. 

"Cover material" means compactable soil or other approved 

material that is used to blanket solid waste in a landfill. 

"Daily disposal limit" means the amount of solid waste that 

is permitted to be disposed at the facility and shall be 

computed on the amount of waste disposed during any 

operating day. 

"Debris waste" means wastes resulting from land-clearing 

operations. Debris wastes include, but are not limited to 

stumps, wood, brush, leaves, soil, and road spoils.  

"Decomposed vegetative waste" means a stabilized organic 

product produced from vegetative waste by a controlled 

natural decay process in such a manner that the product can 

be handled, stored, or applied to the land without adversely 

affecting public health or the environment. 
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"Demolition waste" means that solid waste that is produced 

by the destruction of structures and their foundations and 

includes the same materials as construction wastes.  

"Department" means the Virginia Department of 

Environmental Quality.  

"Director" means the Director of the Department of 

Environmental Quality. For purposes of submissions to the 

director as specified in the Waste Management Act, 

submissions may be made to the department.  

"Discard" means to abandon, dispose of, burn, incinerate, 

accumulate, store, or treat before or instead of being 

abandoned, disposed of, burned, or incinerated.  

"Discarded material" means a material that is:  

1. Abandoned by being:  

a. Disposed of;  

b. Burned or incinerated; or  

c. Accumulated, stored, or treated (but not used, reused, 

or reclaimed) before or in lieu of being abandoned by 

being disposed of, burned, or incinerated; or 

2. Recycled used, reused, or reclaimed material as defined 

in this part. 

"Disclosure statement" means a sworn statement or 

affirmation as required by § 10.1-1400 of the Code of 

Virginia. (see DEQ Form DISC-01 and 02 (Disclosure 

Statement)). 

"Displacement" means the relative movement of any two 

sides of a fault measured in any direction.  

"Disposal" means the discharge, deposit, injection, dumping, 

spilling, leaking, or placing of any solid waste into or on any 

land or water so that such solid waste or any constituent of it 

may enter the environment or be emitted into the air or 

discharged into any waters.  

"Disposal unit boundary" or "DUB" means the vertical plane 

located at the edge of the waste disposal unit. This vertical 

plane extends down into the uppermost aquifer. The DUB 

must be positioned within or coincident to the waste 

management boundary. 

"EPA" means the United States U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency.  

"Exempt management facility" means a site used for 

activities that are conditionally exempt from management as a 

solid waste under this chapter. The facility remains exempt 

from solid waste management requirements provided it 

complies with the applicable conditions set forth in Parts II 

(9VAC20-81-20 et seq.) and IV (9VAC20-81-300 et seq.) of 

this chapter. 

"Existing CCR landfill" means a CCR landfill that receives 

CCR both before and after October 19, 2015, or for which 

construction commenced prior to October 19, 2015, and 

receives CCR on or after October 19, 2015. A CCR landfill 

has commenced construction if the owner or operator has 

obtained the federal, state, and local approvals or permits 

necessary to begin physical construction and a continuous 

onsite, physical construction program had begun prior to 

October 19, 2015.  

"Existing CCR surface impoundment" means a CCR surface 

impoundment that receives CCR both before and after 

October 19, 2015, or for which construction commenced prior 

to October 19, 2015, and receives CCR on or after October 

19, 2015. A CCR surface impoundment has commenced 

construction if the owner or operator has obtained the federal, 

state, and local approvals or permits necessary to begin 

physical construction and a continuous onsite, physical 

construction program had begun prior to October 19, 2015.  

"Expansion" means a horizontal expansion of the waste 

management boundary as identified in the Part A application. 

If a facility's permit was issued prior to the establishment of 

the Part A process, an expansion is a horizontal expansion of 

the disposal unit boundary.  

"Facility" means solid waste management facility unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise.  

"Facility boundary" means the boundary of the solid waste 

management facility. For landfills, this boundary 

encompasses the waste management boundary and all 

ancillary activities including, but not limited to scales, 

groundwater monitoring wells, gas monitoring probes, and 

maintenance facilities as identified in the facility's permit 

application. For facilities with a permit-by-rule (PBR) the 

facility boundary is the boundary of the property where the 

permit-by-rule activity occurs. For unpermitted solid waste 

management facilities, the facility boundary is the boundary 

of the property line where the solid waste is located. 

"Facility structure" means any building, shed, or utility or 

drainage line on the facility.  

"Fault" means a fracture or a zone of fractures in any 

material along which strata on one side have been displaced 

with respect to that on the other side.  

"Floodplain" means the lowland and relatively flat areas 

adjoining inland and coastal waters, including low-lying areas 

of offshore islands where flooding occurs.  

"Fly ash" means ash particulate collected from air pollution 

attenuation devices on combustion units.  

"Food-chain crops" means crops grown for human 

consumption, tobacco, and crops grown for pasture and 

forage or feed for animals whose products are consumed by 

humans.  

"Fossil fuel combustion products" means coal combustion 

byproducts as defined in this regulation, coal combustion 

byproducts generated at facilities with fluidized bed 

combustion technology, petroleum coke combustion 

byproducts, byproducts from the combustion of oil, 

byproducts from the combustion of natural gas, and 

byproducts from the combustion of mixtures of coal and 

"other fuels" (i.e., co-burning of coal with "other fuels" where 
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coal is at least 50% of the total fuel). For purposes of this 

definition, "other fuels" means waste-derived fuel product, 

auto shredder fluff, wood wastes, coal mill rejects, peat, tall 

oil, tire-derived fuel, deionizer resins, and used oil.  

"Free liquids" means liquids that readily separate from the 

solid portion of a waste under ambient temperature and 

pressure as determined by the Paint Filter Liquids Test, 

Method 9095, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 

Publication SW-846.  

"Garbage" means readily putrescible discarded materials 

composed of animal, vegetable or other organic matter.  

"Gas condensate" means the liquid generated as a result of 

gas control or recovery processes at the solid waste 

management facility.  

"Governmental unit" means any department, institution, or 

commission of the Commonwealth and any public corporate 

instrumentality thereof, and any district, and shall include 

local governments. 

"Ground rubber" means material processed from waste tires 

that is no larger than 1/4 inch in any dimension. This includes 

crumb rubber that is measured in mesh sizes.  

"Groundwater" means water below the land surface in a 

zone of saturation.  

"Hazardous constituent" means a constituent of solid waste 

found listed in Appendix VIII of 9VAC20-60-261. 

"Hazardous waste" means a "hazardous waste" as described 

by the Virginia Hazardous Waste Management Regulations 

(9VAC20-60). 

"Holocene" means the most recent epoch of the Quaternary 

period, extending from the end of the Pleistocene Epoch to 

the present.  

"Home use" means the use of compost for growing plants 

that is produced and used on a privately owned residential 

site.  

"Host agreement" means any lease, contract, agreement, or 

land use permit entered into or issued by the locality in which 

the landfill is situated that includes terms or conditions 

governing the operation of the landfill.  

"Household hazardous waste" means any waste material 

derived from households (including single and multiple 

residences, hotels, motels, bunkhouses, ranger stations, crew 

quarters, campgrounds, picnic grounds, and day-use 

recreation areas) which, except for the fact that it is derived 

from a household, would otherwise be classified as a 

hazardous waste in accordance with 9VAC20-60. 

"Household waste" means any waste material, including 

garbage, trash, and refuse, derived from households. 

Households include single and multiple residences, hotels and 

motels, bunkhouses, ranger stations, crew quarters, 

campgrounds, picnic grounds, and day-use recreation areas. 

Household wastes do not include sanitary waste in septic 

tanks (septage) that is regulated by other state agencies.  

"Hundred-year flood" means a flood that has a 1.0% or 

greater chance of recurring in any given year or a flood of 

magnitude equaled or exceeded on the average only once in a 

hundred years on the average over a significantly long period.  

"Inactive CCR surface impoundment" means a CCR surface 

impoundment that no longer receives CCR on or after 

October 19, 2015, and still contains both CCR and liquids on 

or after October 19, 2015. 

"Incineration" means the controlled combustion of solid 

waste for disposal.  

"Incinerator" means a facility or device designed for the 

treatment of solid waste by combustion.  

"Industrial waste" means any solid waste generated by 

manufacturing or industrial process that is not a regulated 

hazardous waste. Such waste may include, but is not limited 

to, waste resulting from the following manufacturing 

processes: electric power generation; fertilizer/agricultural 

chemicals; food and related products/byproducts; inorganic 

chemicals; iron and steel manufacturing; leather and leather 

products; nonferrous metals manufacturing/foundries; organic 

chemicals; plastics and resins manufacturing; pulp and paper 

industry; rubber and miscellaneous plastic products; stone, 

glass, clay, and concrete products; textile manufacturing; 

transportation equipment; and water treatment. This term 

does not include mining waste or oil and gas waste.  

"Industrial waste landfill" means a solid waste landfill used 

primarily for the disposal of a specific industrial waste or a 

waste that is a byproduct of a production process.  

"Injection well" means, for the purposes of this chapter, a 

well or bore hole into which fluids are injected into selected 

geological horizons.  

"Institutional waste" means all solid waste emanating from 

institutions such as, but not limited to, hospitals, nursing 

homes, orphanages, and public or private schools. It can 

include regulated medical waste from health care facilities 

and research facilities that must be managed as a regulated 

medical waste.  

"Interim cover systems" means temporary cover systems 

applied to a landfill area when landfilling operations will be 

temporarily suspended for an extended period (typically, 

longer than one year). At the conclusion of the interim period, 

the interim cover system may be removed and landfilling 

operations resume or final cover is installed. 

"Karst topography" means areas where karst terrane, with its 

characteristic surface and subterranean features, is developed 

as the result of dissolution of limestone, dolomite, or other 

soluble rock. Characteristic physiographic features present in 

karst terranes include, but are not limited to, sinkholes, 

sinking streams, caves, large springs, and blind valleys.  

"Key personnel" means the applicant itself and any person 

employed by the applicant in a managerial capacity, or 

empowered to make discretionary decisions, with respect to 

the solid waste or hazardous waste operations of the applicant 
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in Virginia, but shall not include employees exclusively 

engaged in the physical or mechanical collection, 

transportation, treatment, storage, or disposal of solid or 

hazardous waste and such other employees as the director 

may designate by regulation. If the applicant has not 

previously conducted solid waste or hazardous waste 

operations in Virginia, the term also includes any officer, 

director, partner of the applicant, or any holder of 5.0% or 

more of the equity or debt of the applicant. If any holder of 

5.0% or more of the equity or debt of the applicant or of any 

key personnel is not a natural person, the term includes all 

key personnel of that entity, provided that where such entity 

is a chartered lending institution or a reporting company 

under the Federal Security and Exchange Act of 1934, the 

term does not include key personnel of such entity. Provided 

further that the term means the chief executive officer of any 

agency of the United States or of any agency or political 

subdivision of the Commonwealth, and all key personnel of 

any person, other than a natural person, that operates a 

landfill or other facility for the disposal, treatment, or storage 

of nonhazardous solid waste under contract with or for one of 

those governmental entities.  

"Lagoon" means a body of water or surface impoundment 

designed to manage or treat waste water.  

"Land-clearing activities" means the removal of flora from a 

parcel of land. 

"Land-clearing debris" means vegetative waste resulting 

from land-clearing activities.  

"Landfill" means a sanitary landfill, an industrial waste 

landfill, or a construction/demolition/debris landfill.  

"Landfill gas" means gas generated as a byproduct of the 

decomposition of organic materials in a landfill. Landfill gas 

consists primarily of methane and carbon dioxide.  

"Landfill mining" means the process of excavating solid 

waste from an existing landfill.  

"Leachate" means a liquid that has passed through or 

emerged from solid waste and contains soluble, suspended, or 

miscible materials from such waste. Leachate and any 

material with which it is mixed is solid waste; except that 

leachate that is pumped from a collection tank for 

transportation to disposal in an off-site offsite facility is 

regulated as septage, leachate discharged into a waste water 

collection system is regulated as industrial waste water and 

leachate that has contaminated groundwater is regulated as 

contaminated groundwater.  

"Lead acid battery" means, for the purposes of this chapter, 

any wet cell battery.  

"Lift" means the daily landfill layer of compacted solid 

waste plus the cover material.  

"Liquid waste" means any waste material that is determined 

to contain "free liquids" as defined by this chapter.  

"Lithified earth material" means all rock, including all 

naturally occurring and naturally formed aggregates or 

masses of minerals or small particles of older rock, that 

formed by crystallization of magma or by induration of loose 

sediments. This term does not include manmade man-made 

materials, such as fill, concrete, and asphalt, or 

unconsolidated earth materials, soil, or regolith lying at or 

near the earth's surface.  

"Litter" means, for purposes of this chapter, any solid waste 

that is discarded or scattered about a solid waste management 

facility outside the immediate working area.  

"Lower explosive limit" means the lowest concentration by 

volume of a mixture of explosive gases in air that will 

propagate a flame at 25°C and at atmospheric pressure.  

"Materials recovery facility" means a solid waste 

management facility for the collection, processing, and 

recovery of material such as metals from solid waste or for 

the production of a fuel from solid waste. This does not 

include the production of a waste-derived fuel product.  

"Maximum horizontal acceleration in lithified earth 

material" means the maximum expected horizontal 

acceleration depicted on a seismic hazard map, with a 90% or 

greater probability that the acceleration will not be exceeded 

in 250 years, or the maximum expected horizontal 

acceleration based on a site-specific seismic risk assessment.  

"Monitoring" means all methods, procedures, and 

techniques used to systematically analyze, inspect, and collect 

data on operational parameters of the facility or on the quality 

of air, groundwater, surface water, and soils.  

"Monitoring well" means a well point below the ground 

surface for the purpose of obtaining periodic water samples 

from groundwater for quantitative and qualitative analysis.  

"Mulch" means woody waste consisting of stumps, trees, 

limbs, branches, bark, leaves and other clean wood waste that 

has undergone size reduction by grinding, shredding, or 

chipping, and is distributed to the general public for 

landscaping purposes or other horticultural uses except 

composting as defined and regulated under this chapter.  

"Municipal solid waste" means that waste that is normally 

composed of residential, commercial, and institutional solid 

waste and residues derived from combustion of these wastes.  

"New CCR landfill" means a CCR landfill or lateral 

expansion of a CCR landfill that first receives CCR or 

commences construction after October 19, 2015. A new CCR 

landfill has commenced construction if the owner or operator 

has obtained the federal, state, and local approvals or permits 

necessary to begin physical construction and a continuous 

onsite, physical construction program had begun after 

October 19, 2015. Overfills are also considered new CCR 

landfills.  

"New CCR surface impoundment" means a CCR surface 

impoundment or lateral expansion of an existing or new CCR 

surface impoundment that first receives CCR or commences 

construction after October 19, 2015. A new CCR surface 

impoundment has commenced construction if the owner or 
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operator has obtained the federal, state, and local approvals or 

permits necessary to begin physical construction and a 

continuous onsite, physical construction program had begun 

after October 19, 2015. 

"New solid waste management facility" means a facility or a 

portion of a facility that was not included in a previous 

determination of site suitability (Part A approval).  

"Nuisance" means an activity that unreasonably interferes 

with an individual's or the public's comfort, convenience or 

enjoyment such that it interferes with the rights of others by 

causing damage, annoyance, or inconvenience.  

"Offsite" means any site that does not meet the definition of 

onsite as defined in this part.  

"Onsite" means the same or geographically contiguous 

property, which may be divided by public or private right-of-

way, provided the entrance and exit to the facility are 

controlled by the owner or the operator of the facility. 

Noncontiguous properties owned by the same person, but 

connected by a right-of-way that he controls and to which the 

public does not have access, are also considered onsite 

property.  

"Open burning" means the combustion of solid waste 

without: 

1. Control of combustion air to maintain adequate 

temperature for efficient combustion; 

2. Containment of the combustion reaction in an enclosed 

device to provide sufficient residence time and mixing for 

complete combustion; and 

3. Control of the combustion products' emission.  

"Open dump" means a site on which any solid waste is 

placed, discharged, deposited, injected, dumped, or spilled so 

as to present a threat of a release of harmful substances into 

the environment or present a hazard to human health. Such a 

site is subject to the Open Dump Criteria in 9VAC20-81-45. 

"Operating record" means records required to be maintained 

in accordance with the facility permit or this part (see 

9VAC20-81-530).  

"Operation" means all waste management activities at a 

solid waste management facility beginning with the initial 

receipt of solid waste for treatment, storage, disposal, or 

transfer and ceasing with the initiation of final closure 

activities at the solid waste management facility subsequent 

to the final receipt of waste. 

"Operator" means the person responsible for the overall 

operation and site management of a solid waste management 

facility.  

"Owner" means the person who owns a solid waste 

management facility or part of a solid waste management 

facility. 

"PCB" means any chemical substance that is limited to the 

biphenyl molecule that has been chlorinated to varying 

degrees or any combination of substances that contain such 

substance (see 40 CFR 761.3, as amended). 

"Perennial stream" means a well-defined channel that 

contains water year round during a year of normal rainfall. 

Generally, the water table is located above the streambed for 

most of the year and groundwater is the primary source for 

stream flow. A perennial stream exhibits the typical 

biological, hydrological, and physical characteristics 

commonly associated with the continuous conveyance of 

water. 

"Permit" means the written permission of the director to 

own, operate, or construct a solid waste management facility.  

"Person" means an individual, corporation, partnership, 

association, a governmental body, a municipal corporation, or 

any other legal entity.  

"Point source" means any discernible, confined, and discrete 

conveyance, including but not limited to any pipe, ditch, 

channel, tunnel, conduit, well, discrete fissure, container, 

rolling stock, vessel, or other floating craft, from which 

pollutants are or may be discharged. Return flows from 

irrigated agriculture are not included.  

"Pollutant" means any substance that causes or contributes 

to, or may cause or contribute to, environmental degradation 

when discharged into the environment.  

"Poor foundation conditions" means those areas where 

features exist that indicate that a natural or man-induced event 

may result in inadequate foundation support for the structural 

components of a solid waste management facility.  

"Postclosure" means the requirements placed upon solid 

waste disposal facilities after closure to ensure environmental 

and public health safety for a specified number of years after 

closure.  

"Process rate" means the maximum rate of waste acceptance 

that a solid waste management facility can process for 

treatment and/or and storage. This rate is limited by the 

capabilities of equipment, personnel, and infrastructure.  

"Processing" means preparation, treatment, or conversion of 

waste by a series of actions, changes, or functions that bring 

about a desired end result.  

"Professional engineer" means an engineer licensed to 

practice engineering in the Commonwealth as defined by the 

rules and regulations set forth by the Board of for Architects, 

Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, Certified Interior 

Designers and Landscape Architects (18VAC10-20). 

"Professional geologist" means a geologist licensed to 

practice geology in the Commonwealth as defined by the 

rules and regulations set forth by the Board for Geology 

(18VAC70-20) Professional Soil Scientists, Wetland 

Professionals, and Geologists (18VAC145-40). 

"Progressive cover" means cover material placed over the 

working face of a solid waste disposal facility advancing over 
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the deposited waste as new wastes are added keeping the 

exposed area to a minimum.  

"Putrescible waste" means solid waste that contains organic 

material capable of being decomposed by micro-organisms 

and cause odors.  

"Qualified groundwater scientist" means a scientist or 

engineer who has received a baccalaureate or postgraduate 

degree in the natural sciences or engineering and has 

sufficient training and experience in groundwater hydrology 

and related fields as may be demonstrated by professional 

certifications, or completion of accredited university 

programs that enable that individual to make sound 

professional judgments regarding groundwater monitoring, 

contaminant fate and transport, and corrective action.  

"RCRA" means the Solid Waste Disposal Act, as amended 

by the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act of 1976 (42 

USC § 6901 et seq.), the Hazardous and Solid Waste 

Amendments of 1984, and any other applicable amendments 

to these laws.  

"Reclaimed material" means a material that is processed or 

reprocessed to recover a usable product or is regenerated to a 

usable form.  

"Refuse" means all solid waste products having the 

character of solids rather than liquids and that are composed 

wholly or partially of materials such as garbage, trash, 

rubbish, litter, residues from clean up of spills or 

contamination, or other discarded materials.  

"Refuse-derived fuel (RDF)" means a type of municipal 

solid waste produced by processing municipal solid waste 

through shredding and size classification. This includes all 

classes of refuse-derived fuel including low-density fluff 

refuse-derived fuel through densified refuse-derived fuel and 

pelletized refuse-derived fuel. 

"Regulated hazardous waste" means a solid waste that is a 

hazardous waste, as defined in the Virginia Hazardous Waste 

Management Regulations (9VAC20-60), that is not excluded 

from those regulations as a hazardous waste.  

"Regulated medical waste" means solid wastes so defined by 

the Regulated Medical Waste Management Regulations 

(9VAC20-120) as promulgated by the Virginia Waste 

Management Board.  

"Release" means, for the purpose of this chapter, any 

spilling, leaking, pumping, pouring, emitting, emptying, 

discharging, injection, escaping, leaching, dumping, or 

disposing into the environment solid wastes or hazardous 

constituents of solid wastes (including the abandonment or 

discarding of barrels, containers, and other closed receptacles 

containing solid waste). This definition does not include any 

release that results in exposure to persons solely within a 

workplace; release of source, byproduct, or special nuclear 

material from a nuclear incident, as those terms are defined in 

the Atomic Energy Act of 1954 (68 Stat. 923); and the normal 

application of fertilizer. For the purpose of this chapter, 

release also means substantial threat of release.  

"Remediation waste" means all solid waste, including all 

media (groundwater, surface water, soils, and sediments) and 

debris, that are managed for the purpose of remediating a site 

in accordance with 9VAC20-81-45 or Part III (9VAC20-81-

100 et seq.) of this chapter or under the Voluntary 

Remediation Regulations (9VAC20-160) or other regulated 

remediation program under DEQ oversight. For a given 

facility, remediation wastes may originate only from within 

the boundary of that facility, and may include wastes 

managed as a result of remediation beyond the boundary of 

the facility. Hazardous wastes as defined in 9VAC20-60, as 

well as "new" or "as generated" wastes, are excluded from 

this definition.  

"Remediation waste management unit" or "RWMU" means 

an area within a facility that is designated by the director for 

the purpose of implementing remedial activities required 

under this chapter or otherwise approved by the director. An 

RWMU shall only be used for the management of 

remediation wastes pursuant to implementing such remedial 

activities at the facility.  

"Responsible official" means one of the following: 

1. For a business entity, such as a corporation, association, 

limited liability company, or cooperative: a duly authorized 

representative of such business entity if the representative 

is responsible for the overall operation of one or more 

operating facilities applying for or subject to a permit. The 

authority to sign documents must be assigned or delegated 

to such representative in accordance with procedures of the 

business entity; 

2. For a partnership or sole proprietorship: a general 

partner or the proprietor, respectively; or 

3. For a municipality, state, federal, or other public agency: 

a duly authorized representative of the locality if the 

representative is responsible for the overall operation of 

one or more operating facilities applying for or subject to a 

permit. The authority to sign documents must be assigned 

or delegated to such representative in accordance with 

procedures of the locality. 

"Rubbish" means combustible or slowly putrescible 

discarded materials that include but are not limited to trees, 

wood, leaves, trimmings from shrubs or trees, printed matter, 

plastic and paper products, grass, rags and other combustible 

or slowly putrescible materials not included under the term 

"garbage."  

"Runoff" means any rainwater, leachate, or other liquid that 

drains over land from any part of a solid waste management 

facility.  

"Run-on" means any rainwater, wastewater, leachate, or 

other liquid that drains over land onto any part of the solid 

waste management facility.  
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"Salvage" means the authorized, controlled removal of 

waste materials from a solid waste management facility.  

"Sanitary landfill" means an engineered land burial facility 

for the disposal of household waste that is so located, 

designed, constructed, and operated to contain and isolate the 

waste so that it does not pose a substantial present or potential 

hazard to human health or the environment. A sanitary 

landfill also may receive other types of solid wastes, such as 

commercial solid waste, nonhazardous sludge, hazardous 

waste from conditionally exempt small quantity generators, 

construction demolition debris, and nonhazardous industrial 

solid waste.  

"Saturated zone" means that part of the earth's crust in which 

all voids are filled with water.  

"Scavenging" means the unauthorized or uncontrolled 

removal of waste materials from a solid waste management 

facility.  

"Scrap metal" means metal parts such as bars, rods, wire, 

empty containers, or metal pieces that are discarded material 

and can be used, reused, or reclaimed.  

"Secondary containment" means an enclosure into which a 

container or tank is placed for the purpose of preventing 

discharge of wastes to the environment.  

"Seismic impact zone" means an area with a 10% or greater 

probability that the maximum horizontal acceleration in 

lithified earth material, expressed as a percentage of the 

earth's gravitational pull (g), will exceed 0.10g in 250 years.  

"Semiannual" means an interval corresponding to 

approximately 180 days. For the purposes of scheduling 

monitoring activities, sampling within 30 days of the 180-day 

interval will be considered semiannual.  

"Site" means all land and structures, other appurtenances, 

and improvements on them used for treating, storing, and 

disposing of solid waste. This term includes adjacent land 

within the facility boundary used for the utility systems such 

as repair, storage, shipping or processing areas, or other areas 

incident to the management of solid waste.  

"Sludge" means any solid, semi-solid or liquid waste 

generated from a municipal, commercial or industrial 

wastewater treatment plant, water supply treatment plant, or 

air pollution control facility exclusive of treated effluent from 

a wastewater treatment plant.  

"Small landfill" means a landfill that disposed of 100 

tons/day or less of solid waste during a representative period 

prior to October 9, 1993, and did not dispose of more than an 

average of 100 tons/day of solid waste each month between 

October 9, 1993, and April 9, 1994.  

"Solid waste" means any of those materials defined as "solid 

waste" in 9VAC20-81-95.  

"Solid waste disposal facility" means a solid waste 

management facility at which solid waste will remain after 

closure.  

"Solid waste management facility" or "SWMF" means a site 

used for planned treating, storing, or disposing of solid waste. 

A facility may consist of several treatment, storage, or 

disposal units.  

"Special wastes" means solid wastes that are difficult to 

handle, require special precautions because of hazardous 

properties, or the nature of the waste creates waste 

management problems in normal operations. (See Part VI 

(9VAC20-81-610 et seq.) of this chapter.)  

"Speculatively accumulated material" means any material 

that is accumulated before being used, reused, or reclaimed or 

in anticipation of potential use, reuse, or reclamation. 

Materials are not being accumulated speculatively when they 

can be used, reused, or reclaimed, have a feasible means of 

use, reuse, or reclamation available and 75% of the materials 

accumulated are being removed from the facility annually.  

"State waters" means all water, on the surface and under the 

ground, wholly or partially within, or bordering the 

Commonwealth, or within its jurisdiction.  

"Storage" means the holding of waste, at the end of which 

the waste is treated, disposed, or stored elsewhere.  

"Structural fill" means an engineered fill with a projected 

beneficial end use, constructed using soil or fossil fuel 

combustion products, when done in accordance with this 

chapter, spread and compacted with proper equipment, and 

covered with a vegetated soil cap.  

"Sudden event" means a one-time, single event such as a 

sudden collapse or a sudden, quick release of contaminants to 

the environment. An example would be the sudden loss of 

leachate from an impoundment into a surface stream caused 

by failure of a containment structure.  

"Surface impoundment" or "impoundment" means a facility 

or part of a facility that is a natural topographic depression, 

manmade man-made excavation, or diked area formed 

primarily of earthen materials (although it may be lined with 

manmade man-made materials), that is designed to hold an 

accumulation of liquid wastes or wastes containing free 

liquids and that is not an injection well.  

"Surface waters" means all state waters that are not 

groundwater as defined in § 62.1-255 of the Code of Virginia. 

"SW-846" means Test Methods for Evaluating Solid Waste, 

Physical/Chemical Methods, EPA Publication SW-846, 

Second Edition, 1982 as amended by Update I (April, 1984), 

and Update II (April, 1985) and the third edition, November, 

1986, as amended.  

"Tank" means a stationary device, designed to contain an 

accumulation of liquid or semi-liquid components of solid 

waste that is constructed primarily of nonearthen materials 

that provide structural support.  

"TEF" or "Toxicity Equivalency Factor" means a factor 

developed to account for different toxicities of structural 

isomers of polychlorinated dibenzodioxins and dibenzofurans 
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and to relate them to the toxicity of 2,3,7,8-tetrachloro 

dibenzo-p-dioxin.  

"Terminal" means the location of transportation facilities 

such as classification yards, docks, airports, management 

offices, storage sheds, and freight or passenger stations, 

where solid waste that is being transported may be loaded, 

unloaded, transferred, or temporarily stored.  

"Thermal treatment" means the treatment of solid waste in a 

device that uses elevated temperature as the primary means to 

change the chemical, physical, or biological character, or 

composition of the solid waste.  

"Tire chip" means a material processed from waste tires that 

is a nominal two square inches in size, and ranges from 1/4 

inch to four inches in any dimension. Tire chips contain no 

wire protruding more than 1/4 inch.  

"Tire shred" means a material processed from waste tires 

that is a nominal 40 square inches in size, and ranges from 4 

four inches to 10 inches in any dimension.  

"Transfer station" means any solid waste storage or 

collection facility at which solid waste is transferred from 

collection vehicles to haulage vehicles for transportation to a 

central solid waste management facility for disposal, 

incineration, or resource recovery.  

"Trash" means combustible and noncombustible discarded 

materials and is used interchangeably with the term rubbish.  

"Treatment" means, for the purpose of this chapter, any 

method, technique, or process, including but not limited to 

incineration, designed to change the physical, chemical, or 

biological character or composition of any waste to render it 

more stable, safer for transport, or more amenable to use, 

reuse, reclamation, recovery, or disposal.  

"Underground source of drinking water" means an aquifer or 

its portion: 

1. Which contains water suitable for human consumption; 

or 

2. In which the groundwater contains less than 10,000 

mg/liter total dissolved solids.  

"Unit" means a discrete area of land used for the disposal of 

solid waste.  

"Unstable area" means a location that is susceptible to 

natural or human-induced events or forces capable of 

impairing the integrity of some or all of the landfill structural 

components responsible for preventing releases from a 

landfill. Unstable areas can include poor foundation 

conditions, areas susceptible to mass movements, and karst 

terranes.  

"Uppermost aquifer" means the geologic formation nearest 

the natural ground surface that is an aquifer, as well as, lower 

aquifers that are hydraulically interconnected with this aquifer 

within the facility boundary.  

"Used or reused material" means a material that is either:  

1. Employed as an ingredient (including use as an 

intermediate) in a process to make a product, excepting 

those materials possessing distinct components that are 

recovered as separate end products; or  

2. Employed in a particular function or application as an 

effective substitute for a commercial product or natural 

resources.  

"Vector" means a living animal, insect, or other arthropod 

that transmits an infectious disease from one organism to 

another.  

"Vegetative waste" means decomposable materials 

generated by yard and lawn care or land-clearing activities 

and includes, but is not limited to, leaves, grass trimmings, 

woody wastes such as shrub and tree prunings, bark, limbs, 

roots, and stumps.  

"Vermicomposting" means the controlled and managed 

process by which live worms convert organic residues into 

fertile excrement. 

"Vertical design capacity" means the maximum design 

elevation specified in the facility's permit or if none is 

specified in the permit, the maximum elevation based on a 3:1 

slope from the waste disposal unit boundary.  

"VPDES" (Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination 

System) means the Virginia system for the issuance of 

permits pursuant to the Permit Regulation (9VAC25-31), the 

State Water Control Law (§ 62.1-44.2 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia), and § 402 of the Clean Water Act (33 USC § 1251 

et seq.).  

"Washout" means carrying away of solid waste by waters of 

the base flood.  

"Waste-derived fuel product" means a solid waste or 

combination of solid wastes that have been treated (altered 

physically, chemically, or biologically) to produce a fuel 

product with a minimum heating value of 5,000 BTU/lb. 

Solid wastes used to produce a waste-derived fuel product 

must have a heating value, or act as binders, and may not be 

added to the fuel for the purpose of disposal. Waste 

ingredients may not be listed or characteristic hazardous 

wastes. The fuel product must be stable at ambient 

temperature, and not degraded by exposure to the elements. 

This material may not be "refuse derived fuel (RDF)" as 

defined in 9VAC5-40-890.  

"Waste management boundary" means the vertical plane 

located at the boundary line of the area approved in the Part A 

application for the disposal of solid waste and storage of 

leachate. This vertical plane extends down into the uppermost 

aquifer and is within the facility boundary. 

"Waste pile" means any noncontainerized accumulation of 

nonflowing, solid waste that is used for treatment or storage.  

"Waste tire" means a tire that has been discarded because it 

is no longer suitable for its original intended purpose because 

of wear, damage or defect. (See 9VAC20-150 for other 

definitions dealing with the waste tire program.)  
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"Wastewaters" means, for the purpose of this chapter, 

wastes that contain less than 1.0% by weight total organic 

carbon (TOC) and less than 1.0% by weight total suspended 

solids (TSS).  

"Water pollution" means such alteration of the physical, 

chemical, or biological properties of any state water as will or 

is likely to create a nuisance or render such waters:  

1. Harmful or detrimental or injurious to the public health, 

safety, or welfare, or to the health of animals, fish, or 

aquatic life or plants;  

2. Unsuitable, with reasonable treatment, for use as present 

or possible future sources of public water supply; or 

3. Unsuitable for recreational, commercial, industrial, 

agricultural, or other reasonable uses, provided that: 

a. An alteration of the physical, chemical, or biological 

properties of state waters or a discharge or deposit of 

sewage, industrial wastes, or other wastes to state waters 

by any owner that by itself is not sufficient to cause 

pollution but which in combination with such alteration 

or discharge or deposit to state waters by other persons is 

sufficient to cause pollution; 

b. The discharge of untreated sewage by any person into 

state waters; and  

c. The contribution to the degradation of water quality 

standards duly established by the State Water Control 

Board, are "pollution" for the terms and purposes of this 

chapter.  

"Water table" means the upper surface of the zone of 

saturation in groundwaters in which the hydrostatic pressure 

is equal to the atmospheric pressure.  

"Waters of the United States" or "waters of the U.S." means: 

1. All waters that are currently used, were used in the past, 

or may be susceptible to use in interstate or foreign 

commerce, including all waters that are subject to the ebb 

and flow of the tide; 

2. All interstate waters, including interstate "wetlands"; 

3. All other waters such as intrastate lakes, rivers, streams 

(including intermittent streams), mud flats, sand flats, 

"wetlands," sloughs, prairie potholes, wet meadows, playa 

lakes, or natural ponds the use, degradation, or destruction 

of which would affect or could affect interstate or foreign 

commerce including: 

a. Any such waters that are or could be used by interstate 

or foreign travelers for recreational or other purposes; 

b. Any such waters from which fish or shellfish are or 

could be taken and sold in interstate or foreign 

commerce; 

c. Any such waters that are used or could be used for 

industrial purposes by industries in interstate commerce; 

d. All impoundments of waters otherwise defined as 

waters of the United States under this definition;  

e. Tributaries of waters identified in subdivisions 3 a 

through d of this definition; 

f. The territorial sea; and  

g. Wetlands adjacent to waters (other than waters that are 

themselves wetlands) identified in subdivisions 3 a 

through f of this definition.  

"Wetlands" means those areas that are defined by the federal 

regulations under 33 CFR Part 328, as amended.  

"White goods" means any stoves, washers, hot water 

heaters, and other large appliances.  

"Working face" means that area within a landfill that is 

actively receiving solid waste for compaction and cover.  

"Yard waste" means a subset of vegetative waste and means 

decomposable waste materials generated by yard and lawn 

care and includes leaves, grass trimmings, brush, wood chips, 

and shrub and tree trimmings. Yard waste shall not include 

roots or stumps that exceed 12 inches in diameter.  

9VAC20-81-35. Applicability of chapter. 

A. This chapter applies to all persons who treat, store, 

dispose, or otherwise manage solid wastes as defined in 

9VAC20-81-95.  

B. All facilities that were permitted prior to March 15, 1993, 

and upon which solid waste has been disposed of prior to 

October 9, 1993, may continue to receive solid waste until 

they have reached their vertical design capacity or until the 

closure date established pursuant to § 10.1-1413.2 of the 

Code of Virginia, in Table 2.1 provided:  

1. The facility is in compliance with the requirements for 

liners and leachate control in effect at the time of permit 

issuance.  

2. On or before October 9, 1993, the owner or operator of 

the solid waste management facility submitted to the 

director:  

a. An acknowledgment that the owner or operator is 

familiar with state and federal law and regulations 

pertaining to solid waste management facilities operating 

after October 9, 1993, including postclosure care, 

corrective action, and financial responsibility 

requirements;  

b. A statement signed by a professional engineer that he 

has reviewed the regulations established by the 

department for solid waste management facilities, 

including the open dump criteria contained therein, that 

he has inspected the facility and examined the monitoring 

data compiled for the facility in accordance with 

applicable regulations and that, on the basis of his 

inspection and review, he has concluded:  

(1) That the facility is not an open dump;  

(2) That the facility does not pose a substantial present or 

potential hazard to human health and the environment; 

and  
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(3) That the leachate or residues from the facility do not 

pose a threat of contamination or pollution of the air, 

surface water, or groundwater in a manner constituting 

an open dump or resulting in a substantial present or 

potential hazard to human health or the environment; and  

c. A statement signed by the owner or operator:  

(1) That the facility complies with applicable financial 

assurance regulations; and  

(2) Estimating when the facility will reach its vertical 

design capacity.  

3. Enlargement or closure of these facilities shall conform 

with the following subconditions: 

a. The facility may not be enlarged prematurely to avoid 

compliance with this chapter when such enlargement is 

not consistent with past operating practices, the permit, 

or modified operating practices to ensure good 

management. 

b. The facility shall not dispose of solid waste in any 

portion of a landfill disposal area that has received final 

cover or has not received waste for a period of one year, 

in accordance with 9VAC20-81-160 C. The facility shall 

notify the department, in writing, within 30 days, when 

an area has received final cover or has not received waste 

for a one-year period, in accordance with 9VAC20-81-

160 C. However, a facility may apply for a permit, and if 

approved, can construct and operate a new cell that 

overlays ("piggybacks") over a closed area in accordance 

with the permit requirements of this chapter. 

c. The facilities subject to the restrictions in this 

subsection are listed in Table 2.1. The closure dates were 

established in: Final Prioritization and Closure Schedule 

for HB 1205 Disposal Areas (DEQ, September 2001). 

The publication of these tables is for the convenience of 

the regulated community and does not change established 

dates. Any facility, including, but not limited to those 

listed in Table 2.1, must cease operation if that facility 

meets any of the open dump criteria listed in 9VAC20-

81-45 A 1. 

d. Those facilities assigned a closure date in accordance 

with § 10.1-1413.2 of the Code of Virginia shall 

designate on a map, plat, diagram, or other engineered 

drawing, areas in which waste will be disposed of in 

accordance with Table 2.1 until the latest cessation of 

waste acceptance date as listed in Table 2.1 is achieved. 

This map or plat shall be placed in the operating record 

and a copy shall be submitted upon request to the 

department in order to track the progress of closure of 

these facilities. If the facility already has provided this 

information under 9VAC20-81-160, then the facility may 

refer to that information. 

 

TABLE 2.1  

Final Prioritization and Closure Schedule For House Bill (HB) 1205 Disposal Areas  

Solid Waste Permit Number 

and Site Name 
Location 

Department Regional 

Office
1
 

Latest Cessation of Waste 

Acceptance Date
2
 

429 - Fluvanna County Sanitary 

Landfill 

Fluvanna County VRO 12/31/2007 

92 - Halifax County Sanitary 

Landfill
3
 

Halifax County BRRO 12/31/2007 

49 - Martinsville Landfill City of Martinsville BRRO 12/31/2007 

14 - Mecklenburg County 

Landfill 

Mecklenburg County BRRO 12/31/2007 

228 - Petersburg City Landfill
3
 City of Petersburg PRO 12/31/2007 

31 - South Boston Sanitary 

Landfill 

Town of South Boston BRRO 12/31/2007 

204 - Waynesboro City Landfill City of Waynesboro VRO 12/31/2007 

91 - Accomack County Landfill 

– Bobtown South 

Accomack County TRO 12/31/2012 

580 – Bethel Landfill
3 

 City of Hampton TRO 12/31/2012 

182 - Caroline County Landfill Caroline County NVRO 12/31/2012 

149 - Fauquier County Landfill Fauquier County NVRO 12/31/2012 
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405 - Greensville County 

Landfill 

Greensville County PRO 12/31/2012 

29 - Independent Hill Landfill
3
 Prince William County NVRO 12/31/2012 

1 - Loudoun County Sanitary 

Landfill 

Loudoun County NVRO 12/31/2012 

194 - Louisa County Sanitary 

Landfill 

Louisa County NVRO 12/31/2012 

227 - Lunenburg County 

Sanitary Landfill 

Lunenburg County BRRO 12/31/2012 

507 - Northampton County 

Landfill 

Northampton County TRO 12/31/2012 

90 - Orange County Landfill Orange County NVRO 12/31/2012 

75 - Rockbridge County 

Sanitary Landfill 

Rockbridge County VRO 12/31/2012 

23 - Scott County Landfill Scott County SWRO 12/31/2012 

587 - Shoosmith Sanitary 

Landfill
3
 

Chesterfield County PRO 12/31/2012 

417 - Southeastern Public 

Service Authority Landfill
3
  

City of Suffolk TRO 12/31/2012 

461 - Accomack County 

Landfill #2 

Accomack County TRO 12/31/2020 

86 - Appomattox County 

Sanitary Landfill 

Appomattox County BRRO 12/31/2020 

582 - Botetourt County 

Landfill
3
 

Botetourt County BRRO 12/31/2020 

498 - Bristol City Landfill City of Bristol SWRO 12/31/2020 

72 - Franklin County Landfill Franklin County BRRO 12/31/2020 

398 - Virginia Beach Landfill 

#2 – Mount Trashmore II
3
 

City of Virginia Beach TRO 12/31/2020 

Notes: 
1
Department of Environmental Quality Regional Offices: 

BRRO - Blue Ridge Regional Office 

NVRO - Northern Virginia Regional Office 

PRO - Piedmont Regional Office 

SWRO - Southwest Regional Office 

TRO - Tidewater Regional Office 

VRO - Valley Regional Office 
2
This date means the latest date that the disposal area must cease accepting waste. 

3
A portion of these facilities operated under HB 1205 and another portion currently is compliant with Subtitle D requirements. 

C. Facilities are authorized to expand beyond the waste 

boundaries existing on October 9, 1993, as follows:  

1. Existing captive industrial landfills.  

a. Existing nonhazardous industrial waste facilities that 

are located on property owned or controlled by the 

generator of the waste disposed of in the facility shall 

comply with all the provisions of this chapter except as 

shown in subdivision 1 of this subsection.  

b. Facility owners or operators shall not be required to 

modify their facility permit in order to expand a captive 

industrial landfill beyond the waste boundaries existing 
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on October 9, 1993. Liners and leachate collection 

systems constructed beyond the waste boundaries 

existing on October 9, 1993, shall be constructed in 

accordance with the requirements in effect at the time of 

permit issuance.  

c. Owners or operators of facilities that are authorized 

under subdivision 1 of this subsection to accept waste for 

disposal beyond the waste boundaries existing on 

October 9, 1993, shall ensure that such expanded 

disposal areas maintain setback distances applicable to 

such facilities in 9VAC20-81-120.  

d. Facilities authorized for expansion in accordance with 

subdivision 1 of this subsection are limited to expansion 

to the limits of the permitted disposal area existing on 

October 9, 1993, or the facility boundary existing on 

October 9, 1993, if no discrete disposal area is defined in 

the facility permit.  

2. Other existing industrial waste landfills.  

a. Existing nonhazardous industrial waste facilities that 

are not located on property owned or controlled by the 

generator of the waste disposed of in the facility shall 

comply with all the provisions of this chapter except as 

shown in subdivision 2 of this subsection.  

b. Facility owners or operators shall not be required to 

modify their facility permit in order to expand an 

industrial landfill beyond the waste boundaries existing 

on October 9, 1993. Liners and leachate collection 

systems constructed beyond the waste boundaries 

existing on October 9, 1993, shall be constructed in 

accordance with the requirements of 9VAC20-81-130.  

c. Prior to the expansion of any such facility, the owner 

or operator shall submit to the department a written 

notice of the proposed expansion at least 60 days prior to 

commencement of construction. The notice shall include 

recent groundwater monitoring data sufficient to 

determine that the facility does not pose a threat of 

contamination of groundwater in a manner constituting 

an open dump or creating a substantial present or 

potential hazard to human health or the environment (see 

9VAC20-81-45). The director shall evaluate the data 

included with the notification and may advise the owner 

or operator of any additional requirements that may be 

necessary to ensure compliance with applicable laws and 

prevent a substantial present or potential hazard to health 

or the environment.  

d. Owners or operators of facilities which are authorized 

under subdivision 2 of this subsection to accept waste for 

disposal beyond the waste boundaries existing on 

October 9, 1993, shall ensure that such expanded 

disposal areas maintain setback distances applicable to 

such facilities in 9VAC20-81-120 and 9VAC20-81-130. 

e. Facilities authorized for expansion in accordance with 

subdivision 2 of this subsection are limited to expansion 

to the limits of the permitted disposal area existing on 

October 9, 1993, or the facility boundary existing on 

October 9, 1993, if no discrete disposal area is defined in 

the facility permit.  

3. Existing construction/demolition/debris landfills.  

a. Existing facilities that accept only 

construction/demolition/debris waste shall comply with 

all the provisions of this chapter except as shown in 

subdivision 3 of this subsection. 

b. Facility owners or operators shall not be required to 

modify their facility permit in order to expand a 

construction/demolition/debris landfill beyond the waste 

boundaries existing on October 9, 1993. Liners and 

leachate collection systems constructed beyond the waste 

boundaries existing on October 9, 1993, shall be 

constructed in accordance with the requirements of 

9VAC20-81-130.  

c. Prior to the expansion of any such facility, the owner 

or operator shall submit to the department a written 

notice of the proposed expansion at least 60 days prior to 

commencement of construction. The notice shall include 

recent groundwater monitoring data sufficient to 

determine that the facility does not pose a threat of 

contamination of groundwater in a manner constituting 

an open dump or creating a substantial present or 

potential hazard to human health or the environment (see 

9VAC20-81-45). The director shall evaluate the data 

included with the notification and may advise the owner 

or operator of any additional requirements that may be 

necessary to ensure compliance with applicable laws and 

prevent a substantial present or potential hazard to health 

or the environment.  

d. Owners or operators of facilities which are authorized 

under subdivision 3 of this subsection to accept waste for 

disposal beyond the active portion of the landfill existing 

on October 9, 1993, shall ensure that such expanded 

disposal areas maintain setback distances applicable to 

such facilities in 9VAC20-81-120 and 9VAC20-81-130.  

e. Facilities, or portions thereof, which have reached their 

vertical design capacity shall be closed in compliance 

with 9VAC20-81-160.  

f. Facilities authorized for expansion in accordance with 

subdivision 3 of this subsection are limited to expansion 

to the permitted disposal area existing on October 9, 

1993, or the facility boundary existing on October 9, 

1993, if no discrete disposal area is defined in the facility 

permit.  

4. Facilities or units undergoing expansion in accordance 

with the partial exemptions created by subdivision 1 b, 2 b, 

or 3 b of this subsection may not receive hazardous wastes 

generated by the exempt small quantity generators, as 

defined by the Virginia Hazardous Waste Management 

Regulations (9VAC20-60), for disposal on the expanded 
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portions of the facility. Other wastes that require special 

handling in accordance with the requirements of Part VI 

(9VAC20-81-610 et seq.) of this chapter or that contain 

hazardous constituents that would pose a risk to health or 

environment, may only be accepted with specific approval 

by the director.  

5. Nothing in subdivisions 1 b, 2 b, and 3 b of this 

subsection shall alter any requirement for ground water 

groundwater monitoring, financial responsibility, operator 

certification, closure, postclosure care, operation, 

maintenance, or corrective action imposed under this 

chapter, or impair the powers of the director to revoke or 

modify a permit pursuant to § 10.1-1409 of the Virginia 

Waste Management Act or Part V (9VAC20-81-400 et 

seq.) of this chapter.  

D. An owner or operator of a previously unpermitted facility 

or unpermitted activity that managed materials previously 

exempt or excluded from this chapter shall submit a complete 

application for a solid waste management facility permit, 

permit by rule or a permit modification, as applicable, in 

accordance with Part V (9VAC20-81-430 (9VAC20-81-400 

et seq.) of this chapter within six months after these materials 

have been defined or identified as solid wastes. If the director 

finds that the application is complete, the owner or operator 

may continue to manage the newly defined or identified waste 

until a permit or permit modification decision has been 

rendered or until a date two years after the change in 

definition whichever occurs sooner, provided however, that in 

so doing he shall not operate or maintain an open dump, a 

hazard, or a nuisance.  

Owners or operators of solid waste management facilities in 

existence prior to September 24, 2003, shall now be in 

compliance with this chapter. Where conflicts exist between 

the existing facility permit and the new requirements of the 

regulations, the regulations shall supersede the permit except 

where the standards in the permit are more stringent than the 

regulation. Language in an existing permit shall not act as a 

shield to compliance with the regulation, unless a variance to 

the regulations has been approved by the director in 

accordance with the provisions of Part VII (9VAC20-81-700 

et seq.) of this chapter. Existing facility permits will not be 

required to be updated to eliminate requirements conflicting 

with the regulation, except at the request of the director or if a 

permit is modified for another reason. However, all sanitary 

landfills and incinerators that accept waste from jurisdictions 

outside of Virginia must have submitted the materials 

required under 9VAC20-81-100 E 4 by March 22, 2004.  

E. This chapter is not applicable to landfill units closed in 

accordance with regulations or permits in effect prior to 

December 21, 1988, unless releases from these closed 

landfills meet the open dump criteria found in 9VAC20-81-

45, or the closed landfills are found to be a hazard or a 

nuisance under subdivision 21 of § 10.1-1402 of the Code of 

Virginia, or a site where improper waste management has 

occurred under subdivision 19 of § 10.1-1402 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

F. Part VIII (9VAC20-81-800 et seq.) of this chapter applies 

to the following: 

1. Owners and operators of new and existing CCR landfills 

and CCR surface impoundments, including any lateral 

expansions of such units that dispose or otherwise engage 

in solid waste management of CCR generated from the 

combustion of coal at electric utilities and independent 

power producers;  

2. Disposal units located offsite of the electric utility or 

independent power producer. Part VIII of this chapter also 

applies to any practice that does not meet the definition of 

a beneficial use of CCR; and  

3. Inactive CCR surface impoundments at active electric 

utilities or independent power producers, regardless of the 

fuel currently used at the facility to produce electricity.  

G. Part VIII of this chapter is not applicable to the 

following: 

1. CCR landfills that have ceased receiving CCR prior to 

October 19, 2015;  

2. Electric utilities or independent power producers that 

have ceased producing electricity prior to October 19, 

2015;  

3. Wastes, including fly ash, bottom ash, boiler slag, and 

flue gas desulfurization materials generated at facilities 

that are not part of an electric utility or independent power 

producer, such as manufacturing facilities, universities, and 

hospitals;  

4. Fly ash, bottom ash, boiler slag, and flue gas 

desulfurization materials, generated primarily from the 

combustion of fuels (including other fossil fuels) other than 

coal, for the purpose of generating electricity unless the 

fuel burned consists of more than 50% coal on a total heat 

input or mass input basis, whichever results in the greater 

mass feed rate of coal;  

5. Practices that meet the definition of a beneficial use of 

CCR;  

6. CCR placement at active or abandoned underground or 

surface coal mines; or 

7. Municipal solid waste landfills that receive CCR. 

9VAC20-81-45. Open dumps. 

A. Prohibition. 

1. No person shall dispose of solid waste in open dumps, 

nor own, operate or allow to be operated on his property an 

open dump as defined in subsection B of this section or 

§ 10.1-1400 of the Code of Virginia. Both permitted and 

unpermitted sites or facilities may be classified as open 

dumps. 

2. Any person found to be in violation of this section shall 

be ordered to immediately cease treatment, storage, and 
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disposal of any additional solid waste and shall take 

measures to abate improper management of the solid waste 

and come into compliance with the requirements of this 

chapter. 

B. Criteria – Incorporation of 40 CFR 257.1 through 257.3-8 

by reference.  

1. Except as otherwise provided, the regulations of the 

United States Environmental Protection Agency set forth 

in 40 CFR 257.1 through 257.3-8 are adopted herein and 

incorporated by reference as part of the Virginia Solid 

Waste Management Regulations. Except as otherwise 

provided, all material definitions, reference materials and 

other ancillaries that are part of 40 CFR 257.1 through 

257.3-8 are also hereby incorporated as part of the Virginia 

Solid Waste Management Regulations. 

2. In all locations in these regulations where 40 CFR 257.1 

through 257.3-8 are incorporated by reference, the 

following additions, modifications, and exceptions shall 

amend the incorporated text for the purpose of its 

incorporation into these regulations: 

a. 40 CFR 257.1(b) and 40 CFR 257.3-5 are not included 

in the incorporation of 40 CFR 257.1 through 257.3-8 by 

reference and are not part of the Virginia Solid Waste 

Management Regulations.  

b. The following text shall be substituted for 40 CFR 

257.1(a): "Unless otherwise provided, the criteria in 

§§ 257.1 through 257.3-8 are adopted for determining 

which solid waste disposal facilities and practices are a 

nuisance and pose a reasonable probability of adverse 

effects on health or the environment under §§ 1008(a)(3) 

and 4004(a) of the Resource Conservation and Recovery 

Act, 42 USC § 6901 et seq. (1976) (RCRA) and the 

Virginia Waste Management Act, § 10.1-1400 of the 

Code of Virginia (Act). Unless otherwise provided, the 

criteria in §§ 257.50 through 257.107 are adopted for 

determining which CCR landfills and CCR surface 

impoundments pose a reasonable probability of adverse 

effects on human health or the environment under 

sections 1008(a)(3) and 4004(a) of the Resource 

Conservation and Recovery Act." 

c. The following text shall be substituted for 40 CFR 

257.1(a)(1): "Facilities failing to satisfy the criteria in 

§§ 257.1 through 257.3-8 or §§ 257.5 through 257.30 or 

§§ 257.50 through 257.107 are considered open dumps, 

which are prohibited under section 4005 of RCRA and 

§ 10.1-1408.1 of the Act." 

d. The following text shall be substituted for 40 CFR 

257.1(a)(2): "Practices failing to satisfy the criteria in 

§§ 257.1 through 257.3-8 or §§ 257.5 through 257.30 or 

§§ 257.50 through 257.107 constitute open dumping, 

which is prohibited under section 4005 of RCRA and 

§ 10.1-1408.1 of the Act." 

e. In addition to those exceptions found in 40 CFR 

257.1(c), the open dump criteria does not apply to sites 

actively enrolled in the Voluntary Remediation Program 

(9VAC20-160) or sites that have successfully completed 

the Voluntary Remediation Program in accordance with 

all conditions and requirements of their Certificates of 

Satisfactory Completion. 

f. In addition to those exceptions found in 40 CFR 

257.1(c), the open dump criteria shall not apply to sites 

that are undergoing remediation per the requirements of 

CERCLA or the RCRA Corrective Action Program and 

are doing so with the department's and/or or the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency's oversight.  

C. Site evaluation and remedial action. 

1. If a site is a potential or probable open dump, a site 

evaluation may be conducted. This site evaluation will be 

conducted by the department in order to determine if 

further action is required under this section. The site 

evaluation will include but is not limited to any records 

that can be obtained from the owner, operator, or other 

responsible party as well as all documented observations 

by department personnel regarding the following:  

a. The location of the site;  

b. The amount, type, and source of the waste at the site;  

c. The permit status for the activities taking place at the 

site; and  

d. A preliminary evaluation of the site with respect to the 

criteria outlined in subsection B of this section. 

2. Based on the criteria of subsection B of this section and 

the information gathered under the provisions of 

subdivision 1 of this subsection, the department will make 

a determination that the site is or is not an open dump.  

3. If the department determines that the site is an open 

dump then the department will make a recommendation for 

remedial action as follows: 

a. Remedial action is required; or 

b. Removal of the wastes from the site and disposal at a 

facility permitted to accept the wastes is required. The 

department may require submission of evidence of 

proper management of the removed waste and may 

require evidence, including confirmatory sampling, of the 

removal of solid waste and any hazardous constituents. A 

site inspection will be preformed performed by the 

department to confirm the removal of the waste 

materials. 

4. The site evaluation conducted under this subsection may 

be performed pursuant to an administrative or judicial 

order or other appropriate mechanism as chosen by the 

department. 

5. Pursuant to the recommendations made under 

subdivision 3 of this subsection, any required remedial 

action as deemed necessary by the department shall be 
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performed by the responsible party pursuant to an 

administrative or judicial order or other appropriate 

mechanism as chosen by the department. 

D. Process and appeal. 

1. Any case decision by the department based on the 

requirements of this section shall be subject to the process 

and appeal provisions of the Virginia Administrative 

Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

2. A final determination and an administrative order 

requiring remedial action may be obtained in the same 

hearing or proceeding subject to the Virginia 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code 

of Virginia).  

9VAC20-81-90. Relationship with other regulations 

promulgated by the Virginia Waste Management Board. 

A. Virginia Hazardous Waste Management Regulations 

(9VAC20-60).  

1. Solid wastes that have been declared hazardous or a 

universal waste by the generator in accordance with 40 

CFR 262.11, as amended, or that are regulated as 

hazardous wastes by the Commonwealth or another state, 

and will be treated, stored, or disposed of in Virginia shall 

be managed in accordance with the requirements of 

9VAC20-60 and not 9VAC20-81. 

2. Any material from a state other than Virginia that is 

classified as a hazardous waste in that state shall be 

managed in accordance with 9VAC20-60.  

3. Wastes generated by generators who are conditionally 

exempt pursuant to 40 CFR 261.5 may be managed in solid 

waste management facilities provided that:  

a. (i) A specific approval is obtained from the director for 

acceptance of the material at a facility with an approved 

liner and leachate collection system; or (ii) it is included 

in the facility permit; and  

b. Records are kept of the actual amount, type, and 

source of these wastes.  

B. Regulated Medical Waste Management Regulations 

(9VAC20-120). Solid wastes that are defined as regulated 

medical wastes by the Regulated Medical Waste Management 

Regulations shall be managed in accordance with those 

regulations. Regulated medical wastes that are excluded or 

exempt by 9VAC20-120 shall be regulated by this chapter.  

C. Financial Assurance Regulations for Solid Waste 

Disposal, Transfer, and Treatment Facilities (9VAC20-70). 

9VAC20-70 specifies the requirements for financial 

assurance and allowable financial assurance mechanisms. 

Solid waste management facilities shall provide financial 

assurance in accordance with 9VAC20-70.  

D. Solid Waste Management Facility Permit Action Fees 

and Annual Fees (9VAC20-90). All applicants for solid waste 

management facility permits are required to pay a fee in 

accordance with the schedule shown in 9VAC20-90. All solid 

waste management facilities shall pay annual fees in 

accordance with 9VAC20-90, as applicable.  

E. Solid Waste Planning and Recycling Regulations 

(9VAC20-130). 9VAC20-130 establishes a framework for 

local governments to plan for solid waste management needs 

and a mechanism for tracking recycling rates and solid waste 

management plan contents.  

F. Transportation of Solid and Medical Wastes on State 

Waters (9VAC20-170). 9VAC20-170 establishes the 

standards and procedures pertaining to the commercial 

transport, loading and offloading of solid wastes or regulated 

medical wastes upon the navigable waters of the 

Commonwealth.  

G. Voluntary Remediation Regulations (9VAC20-160). 

9VAC20-160 establishes standards and procedures for the 

Virginia Voluntary Remediation Program. 

H. Coal Combustion Byproduct Regulations (9VAC20-85). 

9VAC20-85 establishes standards for the use of fossil fuel 

combustion products, which are not subject to requirements 

of this chapter, and to establish establishes standards for 

siting, design, construction, operation, and administrative 

procedures pertaining to their use, reuse, or reclamation other 

than in a manner addressed by this chapter.  

9VAC20-81-95. Identification of solid waste. 

A. Wastes identified in this section are solid wastes that are 

subject to this chapter unless regulated pursuant to other 

applicable regulations issued by the department.  

B. Except as otherwise provided, the definition of solid 

waste per 40 CFR 261.2 as incorporated by 9VAC20-60-261, 

as amended, is also hereby incorporated as part of this 

chapter. Except as otherwise provided, all material 

definitions, reference materials and other ancillaries that are a 

part of 9VAC20-60-261, as amended, are also hereby 

incorporated as part of this chapter as well. 

C. Except as otherwise modified or excepted by 9VAC20-

60, the materials listed in the regulations of the United States 

Environmental Protection Agency set forth in 40 CFR 

261.4(a) are considered a solid waste for the purposes of this 

chapter. However, these materials are not regulated under the 

provisions of this chapter if all conditions specified therein 

are met. This list and all material definitions, reference 

materials and other ancillaries that are part of 40 CFR Part 

261.4(a), as incorporated, modified and/or or accepted by 

9VAC20-60 are incorporated as part of this chapter. In 

addition, the following materials are not solid wastes for the 

purpose of this chapter: 

1. Materials generated by any of the following, which are 

returned to the soil as fertilizers:  

a. The growing and harvesting of agricultural crops.  

b. The raising and husbanding of animals, including 

animal manures and used animal bedding.  

2. Mining overburden returned to the mine site.  
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3. Recyclable materials used in manner constituting 

disposal per 9VAC20-60-266.  

4. Wood wastes burned for energy recovery.  

5. Materials that are: 

a. Used or reused, or prepared for use or reuse, as an 

ingredient in an industrial process to make a product, or 

as effective substitutes for commercial products or 

natural resources provided the materials are not being 

reclaimed or accumulated speculatively; or  

b. Returned to the original process from which they are 

generated.  

6. Materials that are beneficially used as determined by the 

department under this subsection. The department may 

consider other waste materials and uses to be beneficial in 

accordance with the provisions of 9VAC20-81-97.  

7. The following materials and uses listed in this part are 

exempt from this chapter as long as they are managed so 

that they do not create an open dump, hazard, or public 

nuisance. These materials and the designated use are 

considered a beneficial use of waste materials:  

a. Clean wood, wood chips, or bark from land clearing, 

logging operations, utility line clearing and maintenance 

operations, pulp and paper production, and wood 

products manufacturing, when these materials are placed 

in commerce for service as mulch, landscaping, animal 

bedding, erosion control, habitat mitigation, wetlands 

restoration, or bulking agent at a compost facility 

operated in compliance with Part IV (9VAC20-81-300 et 

seq.) of this chapter; 

b. Clean wood combustion residues when used for pH 

adjustment in compost, liquid absorbent in compost, or as 

a soil amendment or fertilizer, provided the application 

rate of the wood ash is limited to the nutrient need of the 

crop grown on the land on which the wood combustion 

residues will be applied and provided that such 

application meets the requirements of the Virginia 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

(2VAC5-400 and 2VAC5-410);  

c. Compost that satisfies the applicable requirements of 

the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services (2VAC5-400 and 2VAC5-410);  

d. Nonhazardous, contaminated soil that has been 

excavated as part of a construction project and that is 

used as backfill for the same excavation or excavations 

containing similar contaminants at the same site, at 

concentrations at the same level or higher. Excess 

contaminated soil from these projects is subject to the 

requirements of this chapter;  

e. Nonhazardous petroleum contaminated soil that has 

been treated to the satisfaction of the department in 

accordance with 9VAC20-81-660;  

f. Nonhazardous petroleum contaminated soil when 

incorporated into asphalt pavement products;  

g. Solid wastes that are approved in advance of the 

placement, in writing, by the department or that are 

specifically mentioned in the facility permit for use as 

alternate daily cover material or other protective 

materials for landfill liner or final cover system 

components;  

h. Fossil fuel combustion products that are not CCR 

when used as a material in the manufacturing of another 

product (e.g., concrete, concrete products, lightweight 

aggregate, roofing materials, plastics, paint, flowable fill) 

or as a substitute for a product or material resource (e.g., 

blasting grit, roofing granules, filter cloth pre-coat for 

sludge dewatering, pipe bedding);  

i. Tire chips and tire shred when used as a sub base sub-

base fill for road base materials or asphalt pavements 

when approved by the Virginia Department of 

Transportation or by a local governing body;  

j. Tire chips, tire shred, and ground rubber used in the 

production of commercial products such as mats, 

pavement sealers, playground surfaces, brake pads, 

blasting mats, and other rubberized commercial products;  

k. Tire chips and tire shred when used as backfill in 

landfill gas or leachate collection pipes, recirculation 

lines, and drainage material in landfill liner and cover 

systems, and gas interception or remediation 

applications;  

l. Waste tires, tire chips or tire shred when burned for 

energy recovery or when used in pyrolysis, gasification, 

or similar treatment process to produce fuel;  

m. Waste-derived fuel product, as defined in 9VAC20-

81-10, derived from nonhazardous solid waste;  

n. Uncontaminated concrete and concrete products, 

asphalt pavement, brick, glass, soil, and rock placed in 

commerce for service as a substitute for conventional 

aggregate; and 

o. Clean, ground gypsum wallboard when used as a soil 

amendment or fertilizer, provided the following 

conditions are met: 

(1) No components of the gypsum wallboard have been 

glued, painted, or otherwise contaminated from 

manufacture or use (e.g., waterproof or fireproof drywall) 

unless otherwise processed to remove contaminants.  

(2) The gypsum wallboard shall be processed so that 

95% of the gypsum wallboard is less than 1/4 inch by 1/4 

inch in size, unless an alternate size is approved by the 

department. 

(3) The gypsum wallboard shall be applied only to 

agricultural, silvicultural, landscaped, or mined lands or 

roadway construction sites that need fertilization. 
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(4) The application rate for the ground gypsum wallboard 

shall not exceed the following rates. 

  Region Rate 

  Piedmont, Mountains, and 

Ridge and Valley 

250 lbs/1,000 ft
2
 

  Coastal Plain 50 lbs/1,000 ft
2
 

  Note: These weights are for dry ground gypsum 

wallboard. 

D. The following activities are conditionally exempt from 

this chapter provided no open dump, hazard, or public 

nuisance is created:  

1. Composting of sewage sludge at the sewage treatment 

plant of generation without addition of other types of solid 

wastes. 

2. Composting of household waste generated at a residence 

and composted at the site of generation.  

3. Composting activities performed for educational 

purposes as long as no more than 100 cubic yards of 

materials are on site onsite at any time. Greater quantities 

will be allowed with suitable justification presented to the 

department. For quantities greater than 100 cubic yards, 

approval from the department will be required prior to 

composting. 

4. Composting of animal carcasses onsite at the farm of 

generation. 

5. Composting of vegetative waste and/or or yard waste 

generated onsite by owners or operators of agricultural 

operations or owners of the real property or those 

authorized by the owners of the real property provided: 

a. All decomposed vegetative waste and compost 

produced is utilized on said property; 

b. No vegetative waste or other waste material generated 

from other sources other than said property is received; 

c. All applicable standards of local ordinances that 

govern or concern vegetative waste handling, 

composting, storage or disposal are satisfied; and  

d. They pose no nuisance or present no potential threat to 

human health or the environment.  

6. Composting of yard waste by owners or operators who 

accept yard waste generated offsite shall be exempt from 

all other provisions of this chapter as applied to the 

composting activities provided the requirements of 

9VAC20-81-397 B are met. 

7. Composting of preconsumer food waste and kitchen 

culls generated onsite and composted in containers 

designed to prohibit vector attraction and prevent nuisance 

odor generation.  

8. Vermicomposting, when used to process Category I, 

Category II, or Category III feedstocks in containers 

designed to prohibit vector attraction and prevent nuisance 

odor generation. If offsite feedstocks are received no more 

than 100 cubic yards of materials may be onsite at any one 

time. For quantities greater than 100 cubic yards, approval 

from the department will be required prior to composting. 

9. Composting of sewage sludge or combinations of 

sewage sludge with nonhazardous solid waste provided the 

composting facility is permitted under the requirements of 

a Virginia Pollution Abatement (VPA) or VPDES permit. 

10. Management of solid waste in appropriate containers at 

the site of its generation, provided that:  

a. Putrescible waste is not stored more than seven days 

between time of collection and time of removal for 

disposal;  

b. Nonputrescible wastes are not stored more than 90 

days between time of collection and time of removal for 

proper management; and 

c. Treatment of waste is conducted in accordance with 

the following: 

(1) In accordance with a waste analysis plan that: 

(a) Contains a detailed chemical and physical analysis of 

a representative sample of the waste being treated, and 

contains all records necessary to treat the waste in 

accordance with the requirements of this part, including 

the selected testing frequency; and 

(b) Is kept in the facility's onsite file and made available 

to the department upon request. 

(2) Notification is made to the receiving waste 

management facility that the waste has been treated. 

11. Using rocks, brick, block, dirt, broken concrete, 

crushed glass, porcelain, and road pavement as clean fill.  

12. Storage of less than 100 waste tires at the site of 

generation provided that no waste tires are accepted from 

offsite and that the storage will not present a hazard or a 

nuisance. 

13. Storage in piles of land-clearing debris including 

stumps and brush, clean wood wastes, log yard scrapings 

consisting of a mixture of soil and wood, cotton gin trash, 

peanut hulls, and similar organic wastes that do not readily 

decompose, are exempt from this chapter if they meet the 

following conditions at a minimum:  

a. The wastes are managed in the following manner:  

(1) They do not cause discharges of leachate, or attract 

vectors.  

(2) They cannot be dispersed by wind and rain.  

(3) Fire is prevented.  

(4) They do not become putrescent.  

b. Any facility storing waste materials under the 

provisions of this subsection shall obtain a storm water 

stormwater discharge permit if they are considered a 
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significant source under the provisions of 9VAC25-31-

120 A 1 c.  

c. No more than a total of 1/3 acre of waste material is 

stored onsite and the waste pile does not exceed 15 feet 

in height above base grade.  

d. Siting provisions.  

(1) All log yard scrapings consisting of a mixture of soil 

and wood, cotton gin trash, peanut hulls, and similar 

organic wastes that do not readily decompose are stored 

at the site of the industrial activity that produces them;  

(2) A 50-foot fire break is maintained between the waste 

pile and any structure or tree line;  

(3) The slope of the ground within the area of the pile 

and within 50 feet of the pile does not exceed 4:1;  

(4) No waste material may be stored closer than 50 feet 

to any regularly flowing surface water body or river, 

floodplain, or wetland; and 

(5) No stored waste materials shall extend closer than 50 

feet to any property line.  

e. If activities at the site cease, any waste stored at the 

site must be properly managed in accordance with these 

regulations within 90 days. The director can approve 

longer time frames timeframes with appropriate 

justification. Justification must be provided in writing no 

more than 30 days after ceasing activity at the site.  

f. Waste piles that do not meet these provisions are 

required to obtain a permit in accordance with the 

permitting provisions in Part V (9VAC20-81-400 et seq.) 

of this chapter and meet all of the applicable waste pile 

requirements in Part IV (9VAC20-81-300 et seq.) of this 

chapter. Facilities that do not comply with the provisions 

of this subsection and fail to obtain a permit are subject 

to the provisions of 9VAC20-81-40. 

14. Storage of nonhazardous solid wastes and hazardous 

wastes, or hazardous wastes from conditionally exempt 

small quantity generators as defined in Virginia Hazardous 

Waste Management Regulations (9VAC20-60) at a 

transportation terminal or transfer station in closed 

containers meeting the U.S. Department of Transportation 

specifications is exempt from this section and the 

permitting provisions of Part V (9VAC20-81-400 et seq.) 

of this chapter provided such wastes are removed to a 

permitted storage or disposal facility within 10 days from 

the initial receipt from the waste generator. To be eligible 

for this exemption, each shipment must be properly 

documented to show the name of the generator, the date of 

receipt by the transporter, and the date and location of the 

final destination of the shipment. The documentation shall 

be kept at the terminal or transfer station for at least three 

years after the shipment has been completed and shall be 

made available to the department upon request. All such 

activities shall comply with any local ordinances. 

15. Open burning of solid wastes as provided in the 

following: 

a. For forest management, agriculture practices, and 

highway construction and maintenance programs 

approved by the State Air Pollution Control Board. 

b. For training and instruction of government and public 

firefighters under the supervision of the designated 

official and industrial in-house firefighting personnel 

with clearance from the local firefighting authority. 

Buildings that have not been demolished may be burned 

under the provisions of this subdivision only. 

Additionally, burning rubber tires, asphaltic materials, 

crankcase oil, impregnated wood, or other rubber-based 

or petroleum-based wastes is permitted when conducting 

bona fide firefighting instruction. 

c. For the destruction of classified military documents 

under the supervision of the designated official. 

d. For campfires or other fires using clean wood or 

vegetative waste that are used solely for recreational 

purposes, for ceremonial occasions, for outdoor 

preparation of food, and for warming of outdoor workers. 

e. For the onsite destruction of vegetative waste located 

on the premises of private property, provided that no 

regularly scheduled collection service for such vegetative 

waste is available at the adjacent street or public road. 

f. For the onsite destruction of household waste by 

homeowners or tenants, provided that no regularly 

scheduled collection service for such household waste is 

available at the adjacent street or public road. 

g. For the onsite destruction of clean wood waste and 

debris waste resulting from property maintenance; from 

the development or modification of roads and highways, 

parking areas, railroad tracks, pipelines, power and 

communication lines, buildings or building areas, 

sanitary landfills; or from any other clearing operations. 

16. Open burning of vegetative waste is allowed at a closed 

landfill that has not been released from postclosure care. 

The activity shall be included in the text of the postclosure 

plan and conducted in accordance with § 10.1-1410.3 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

17. Placement of trees, brush, or other vegetation from land 

used for agricultural or silvicultural purposes on the same 

property or other property of the same landowner.  

18. Using fossil fuel combustion products that are not CCR 

in one or more of the following applications or when 

handled, processed, transported, or stockpiled for the 

following uses:  

a. As a base, sub-base or fill material under a paved road, 

the footprint of a structure, a paved parking lot, sidewalk, 

walkway or similar structure, or in the embankment of a 

road. In the case of roadway embankments, materials will 

be placed in accordance with VDOT Virginia 

Department of Transportation specifications, and 
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exposed slopes not directly under the surface of the 

pavement must have a minimum of 18 inches of soil 

cover over the fossil fuel combustion products, the top 

six inches of which must be capable of sustaining the 

growth of indigenous plant species or plant species 

adapted to the area. The use, reuse, or reclamation of 

unamended coal combustion byproduct shall not be 

placed in an area designated as a 100-year flood plain; 

b. Processed with a cementitious binder to produce a 

stabilized structural fill product that is spread and 

compacted with proper equipment for the construction of 

a project with a specified end use; or 

c. For the extraction or recovery of materials and 

compounds contained within the fossil fuel combustion 

products. 

E. The following solid wastes are exempt from this chapter 

provided that they are managed in accordance with the 

requirements promulgated by other applicable state or federal 

agencies:  

1. Management of wastes regulated by the State Board of 

Health, the State Water Control Board, the Air Pollution 

Control Board, the Department of Mines, Minerals and 

Energy, Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services, or any other state or federal agency with such 

authority. 

2. Drilling fluids, produced waters, and other wastes 

associated with the exploration, development, or 

production of crude oil, natural gas, or geothermal energy.  

3. Solid waste from the extraction, beneficiation, and 

processing of ores and minerals, including coal.  

4. Fossil fuel combustion products used for mine 

reclamation, mine subsidence, or mine refuse disposal on a 

mine site permitted by the Virginia Department of Mines, 

Minerals and Energy (DMME) when used in accordance 

with the standards. 

5. Solid waste management practices that involve only the 

onsite placing of solid waste from mineral mining activities 

at the site of those activities and in compliance with a 

permit issued by the DMME, that do not include any 

municipal solid waste, are accomplished in an 

environmentally sound manner, and do not create an open 

dump, hazard or public nuisance are exempt from all 

requirements of this chapter. 

6. Waste or byproduct derived from an industrial process 

that meets the definition of fertilizer, soil amendment, soil 

conditioner, or horticultural growing medium as defined in 

§ 3.2-3600 of the Code of Virginia, or whose intended 

purpose is to neutralize soil acidity (see § 3.2-3700 of the 

Code of Virginia), and that is regulated under the authority 

of the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services.  

7. Fossil fuel combustion products bottom ash or boiler 

slag used as a traction control material or road surface 

material if the use is consistent with Virginia Department 

of Transportation practices. This exemption does not apply 

to CCR used in this manner. 

8. Waste tires generated by and stored at salvage yards 

licensed by the Department of Motor Vehicles provided 

that such storage complies with requirements set forth in 

§ 10.1-1418.2 of the Code of Virginia and such storage 

does not pose a hazard or nuisance.  

9. Tire chips used as the drainage material in construction 

of septage drain fields regulated under the authority of the 

Virginia Department of Health. 

F. The following solid wastes are exempt from this chapter 

provided that they are reclaimed or temporarily stored 

incidentally to reclamation, are not accumulated 

speculatively, and are managed without creating an open 

dump, hazard, or a public nuisance:  

1. Paper and paper products;  

2. Clean wood waste that is to undergo size reduction in 

order to produce a saleable product, such as mulch; 

3. Cloth; 

4. Glass; 

5. Plastics; 

6. Tire chips, tire shred, ground rubber; and 

7. Mixtures of above materials only. Such mixtures may 

include scrap metals excluded from regulation in 

accordance with the provisions of subsection C of this 

section. 

9VAC20-81-97. Beneficial use demonstrations. 

A. The department may consider other waste materials and 

uses to be beneficial. The generator or proposed user of such 

materials may request that the department make a case-

specific determination that the solid waste may be 

beneficially used in a manufacturing process to make a 

product or as an effective substitute for a commercial product. 

In all such cases, the materials will be managed so they do not 

create an open dump, hazard, or public nuisance.  

1. The requestor shall provide the following information:  

a. A description of the solid waste under review and its 

proposed use;  

b. Chemical and physical characteristics of the solid 

waste under review and of each type of proposed 

product;  

c. A demonstration that there is a known or reasonably 

probable market for the intended use of the solid waste 

under review and of all proposed products by providing 

one or more of the following:  

(1) A description of how the proposed product will be 

used;  

(2) A demonstration that the proposed product complies 

with industry standards and specifications for that 

product if any; or  
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(3) Other documentation that a market for the proposed 

product or use exists; and  

d. A demonstration that the management of the solid 

waste under review will not adversely affect human 

health and safety, the environment, and natural resources 

by providing:  

(1) A solid waste control plan that describes the 

following:  

(a) The source of the solid waste under review;  

(b) Procedures for periodic testing of the solid waste 

under review and the proposed product to ensure that the 

proposed product's composition has not changed 

significantly;  

(c) The disposition of any solid waste that may result 

from the manufacture of the product into which the solid 

waste under review is intended to be incorporated;  

(d) A description of the type of storage (e.g., container, 

tank, or pile) and the maximum anticipated inventory of 

the solid waste under review (not to exceed 90 days) 

before being used;  

(e) Procedures for run-on and run-off control of the 

storage areas for the solid waste under review; and  

(f) A program and implementation schedule of best 

management practices designed to minimize uncontrolled 

dispersion of the solid waste under review before and 

during all aspects of its storage as inventory and/or and 

during beneficial use; and.  

2. Upon receipt of complete information required under 

subdivision 1 of this subsection, the department will 

determine in writing within 90 days, on a case-by-case 

basis, whether the proposal constitutes a beneficial use 

based on a showing that all of the following criteria have 

been met:  

a. The proposed use of the material constitutes a reuse 

rather than disposal;  

b. For a material that is proposed for incorporation into a 

manufacturing process, the material is not required to be 

decontaminated or otherwise specially handled or 

processed before such incorporation, in order to 

minimize loss of material or to provide adequate 

protection, as needed, of public health, safety, or welfare; 

the environment; or natural resources; and  

c. Other criteria as the department shall determine in its 

discretion to be appropriate. Conversely, the department 

may determine that owing to the nature of the use, reuse, 

or reclamation process, some of the informational 

materials required under subdivision 1 of this subsection 

may not be required to make the determination.  

3. The department will either approve the request, 

disapprove it, or allow the proposed use of the solid waste 

under review subject to such conditions as the department 

may impose. When granting a beneficial use 

determination, the department shall determine, on a case-

by-case basis, the precise point at which the solid waste 

under review ceases to be solid waste. Unless otherwise 

determined for the particular solid waste under review, that 

point occurs when it is used in a manufacturing process to 

make a product or used as an effective substitute for a 

commercial product or a fuel. As part of its request, the 

generator or the proposed user may request that such point 

occur elsewhere. In such a request, the proponent shall 

include a demonstration that there is little potential for 

improper disposal of the material or little potential for the 

handling, transportation, or storage of the solid waste under 

review to have an adverse impact upon the public health, 

safety, or welfare; the environment; or natural resources.  

4. The department may revoke any determination made if it 

finds that one or more of the items of information 

submitted serving as the basis for the department's 

determination was incorrect or is no longer valid, the 

department finds that there has been a violation of any 

condition that the department attached to such 

determination, or that the use, reuse, or reclamation 

process has become a public nuisance.  

B. Beneficial use determinations granted by the department 

before March 16, 2011, shall remain in effect, subject to all 

conditions contained therein, unless specifically addressed by 

subsequent department action.  

C. Beneficial use determinations involving coal combustion 

residuals must meet the requirements of beneficial use of 

CCR as defined in 40 CFR 257.53. Beneficial use 

determinations for CCR projects involving over 12,400 tons 

of CCR must provide the required demonstrations identified 

in the definition of "beneficial use of CCR" to the department 

for review and approval. 

9VAC20-81-110. Applicability. 

A. Sanitary landfills. Sanitary landfills may receive only 

nonhazardous solid waste unless there are other wastes 

specifically authorized by the landfill permit. 

B. Construction/demolition/debris (CDD) landfills. CDD 

landfills may only receive demolition waste, construction 

waste, debris waste, land-clearing debris, split tires, and white 

goods. No other wastes are authorized for the CDD landfill 

except industrial waste specifically authorized by the landfill 

permit.  

C. Industrial waste disposal facilities. Industrial waste 

disposal facilities may only receive nonhazardous industrial 

waste and are subject to design and operational requirements 

dependent on the volume and the physical, chemical, and 

biological nature of the waste. No other wastes are authorized 

for the industrial waste landfill except construction, 

demolition, and debris waste specifically authorized by the 

landfill permit. Coal combustion residual landfills are a 

specific type of industrial landfill and must meet the 

requirements in Part VIII (9VAC20-81-800 et seq.) of this 

chapter in addition to industrial landfill requirements found in 
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Part III (9VAC20-81-100 et seq.) and Part V (9VAC20-81-

400 et seq.) of this chapter.  

Part IV  

Other Solid Waste Management Facility Standards:  

Compost Facilities; Solid Waste Transfer Stations; 

Centralized Waste Treatment Facilities; Materials Recovery 

Facilities; Waste to Energy; Incineration Facilities; Surface 

Impoundments and Lagoons; Waste Piles; Remediation 

Waste Management Units; Landfill Mining; Miscellaneous 

Units; and Exempt Management Facilities 

9VAC20-81-300. General. 

A. Any person who designs, constructs, or operates any 

solid waste treatment or storage facility not otherwise exempt 

under 9VAC20-81-95 shall comply with the requirements of 

this part. In addition, this part sets forth conditions that yard 

waste composting facilities must meet to maintain their 

exempt status, where applicable, under 9VAC20-81-95 D 6. 

Further, all applications pursuant to these standards shall 

demonstrate specific means proposed for compliance with 

requirements set forth in this part. 

B. All facilities, except exempted facilities, shall be 

maintained and operated in accordance with the permit issued 

or permit-by-rule status pursuant to this regulation. All 

facilities shall be maintained and operated in accordance with 

the approved design and intended use of the facility.  

C. Hazardous wastes shall not be disposed or managed in 

facilities subject to this regulation unless specified in the 

permit or by specific approval of the executive director.  

D. Solid waste management facilities regulated under this 

part that place solid wastes or residues on site for disposal, or 

leave such wastes or residues in place after closure, are 

subject to the provisions of Part III (9VAC20-81-100 et seq.) 

and Part VIII (9VAC20-81-800 et seq.) of this chapter, as 

applicable, including: 

1. Groundwater monitoring requirements in 9VAC20-81-

250 or 9VAC20-81-800; 

2. Closure and postclosure care requirements in 9VAC20-

81-160 and 9VAC20-81-170, or 9VAC20-81-800; and 

3. Permitting requirements of Part V (9VAC20-81-400 et 

seq.) of this chapter. 

E. All other facilities shall close in accordance with the 

closure plan prepared per the requirements described in this 

part and 9VAC20-81-480, as applicable. 

F. Control program for unauthorized waste. Facilities 

managing solid waste per activities exempted under the 

provisions of 9VAC20-81-95 are not required to implement 

the control program for unauthorized waste as provided in 

this section. 

1. Solid waste treatment or storage facilities regulated 

under this part shall implement a control program for 

unauthorized waste in accordance with the following 

provisions. The owner or operator of the facility shall: 

a. Place a written description of the control program for 

unauthorized waste in the facility's operating manual;  

b. Institute a control program (including measures such 

as signs at all maintained access points indicating hours 

of operation and the types of solid waste accepted and 

not accepted, monitoring, alternate collection programs, 

passage of local laws, etc.) to assure that only solid waste 

authorized by the department to be managed at the solid 

waste management facility is being managed there; and 

c. Develop and implement a program to teach the solid 

waste management facility's staff to recognize, remove, 

and report receipt of solid waste not authorized by the 

department to be managed at the solid waste management 

facilities. 

2. If unauthorized waste is observed in the waste delivered 

to the facility prior to unloading, the owner or operator 

may refuse to accept the waste. If the unauthorized waste is 

observed in the waste delivered to the facility, the owner or 

operator shall segregate it, notify the generator, document 

the incident in the operating record, make necessary 

arrangements to have the material managed in accordance 

with applicable federal and state laws, and notify the 

department of the incident to include the means of proper 

handling. If the unauthorized waste is accepted, the owner 

or operator shall remove it, segregate it, and provide to the 

department a record identifying that waste and its final 

disposition. Any unauthorized waste accepted by the owner 

or operator shall be managed in accordance with applicable 

federal or state laws and regulations. Unauthorized waste 

that has been segregated shall be adequately secured and 

contained to prevent leakage or contamination to the 

environment. The solid waste management facility owner 

or operator shall have the unauthorized waste removed or 

properly managed as soon as practicable, but not to exceed 

90 days after discovery. Removal shall be by a person 

authorized to transport such waste to a waste management 

facility approved to receive it for treatment, disposal, or 

transfer. 

3. Owners or operators of waste to energy or incinerator 

facilities receiving waste generated outside of Virginia 

shall also comply with the increased random inspection 

provisions in 9VAC20-81-340 E 3. 

G. Solid waste management facilities regulated under this 

part that store waste tires shall also adhere to the requirements 

of 9VAC20-81-640 for the waste tire storage.  

9VAC20-81-310. Applicability. 

A. Solid waste compost facilities.  

1. The standards in this part shall apply to owners and 

operators of facilities producing compost from municipal 

solid waste/refuse or combinations of municipal solid 

waste/refuse with animal manures.  

a. Composting facilities that employ the enclosed vessel 

method are referred to as Type A (confined) compost 
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facilities. Facilities that employ the windrow or aerated 

static pile method are referred to as Type B compost 

facilities. The only composting processes that may be 

employed are those with prior operational performance in 

the United States. Any other proposed composting 

process shall conform to the standards contained in 

9VAC20-81-395 and will require an experimental solid 

waste management facility permit.  

b. Use of solid waste containing hazardous waste, 

regulated medical waste, or nonbiodegradable waste is 

prohibited.  

2. The standards contained in this part are not applicable to 

composting exempt under 9VAC20-81-95.  

3. The feedstocks for composting are classified on the basis 

of the type of waste used in the composting process. The 

categories of feedstocks are as follows:  

a. Category I - Plant or plant-derived preconsumer 

materials such as:  

(1) Agriculture crop residues including, but not limited 

to, harvesting residuals, straw, and cornstalks;  

(2) Livestock feed including, but not limited to, hay, 

grain, silage, cottonseed meal, soybean meal;  

(3) Nonfood agricultural processing waste including, but 

not limited to, cotton gin trash, wool carding residue, 

field corn cobs;  

(4) Source-separated preconsumer food wastes including 

but not limited to wholesale and retail market residuals 

(e.g., overripe, damaged, or otherwise rejected fruit or 

vegetables, food preparation wastes including prepared 

but unserved foods) and institutional kitchen culls;  

(5) Food processing wastes including culls, peelings, 

hulls, stems, pits, seed, pulp, shucks, nut shells, apple 

pomace, corn cobs, cranberry filter cake, olive husks, 

potato tops, cocoa shells, fruit and vegetable processing 

waste, rejected products, and bakery wastes; 

(6) Source-separated clean waste paper; 

(7) Vegetative waste; and 

(8) Yard waste. 

b. Category II - Animal-derived waste material such as:  

(1) Dairy processing wastes including but not limited to 

spoiled milk, cheese, curd, and yogurt.  

(2) Fish processing wastes including but not limited to 

eggs, fish gurry and racks, clam bellies, fish shells, fish 

processing sludge, fish breading crumbs, mussel, crab, 

lobster, and shrimp wastes. 

c. Category III - Animal and postconsumer food wastes 

with pathogen potential such as:  

(1) Source-separated wastes including but not limited to 

restaurant waste, institutional kitchen wastes, plate 

scrapings;  

(2) Animal manures including but not limited to spoiled 

stable straw bedding, livestock feedlot, holding pen and 

cage scrapings, dairy manure semi-solids, poultry litter 

and manure; and 

(3) Rendered animals.  

d. Category IV - Other wastes such as:  

(1) Nonrendered animal meat waste including but not 

limited to animal carcasses, slaughterhouse waste, 

paunch manure;  

(2) Mixed nonsource separated organic wastes including 

but not limited to municipal solid waste; and 

(3) Industrial sludge.  

B. Solid waste transfer stations. The standards in this part 

shall apply to owners and operators of solid waste transfer 

stations.  

C. Centralized waste treatment facilities. The standards in 

this part shall apply to owners and operators of solid waste 

management facilities who operate a treatment system to 

solidify nonhazardous solid waste to meet the disposal criteria 

of 9VAC20-81-140 where the waste is generated offsite, and 

such treatment system must have no discharge. The 

requirements of this section shall not apply to solidification 

operations at active landfills that are authorized in the 

landfill's solid waste permit.  

D. Materials recovery facilities.  

1. The standards in this part shall apply to owners and 

operators of solid waste management facilities that operate 

to reclaim solid waste. 

2. The regulations of this part do not apply to:  

a. The landfill gas recovery systems operated at active 

and closed solid waste disposal facilities that are 

regulated under 9VAC20-81-200; 

b. The storage and treatment facilities associated with the 

management of materials conditionally exempt from this 

chapter on the basis of 9VAC20-81-95 F;  

c. The facilities that use materials in a manner that 

constitutes disposal that are regulated under Part VI 

(9VAC20-81-610 et seq.) of this chapter; or 

d. The disposal of residues from the materials recovery 

facilities that is regulated under Part III (9VAC20-81-100 

et seq.) of this chapter.  

E. Waste to energy and incineration facilities.  

1. The standards in this part shall apply to owners and 

operators of solid waste and process residue storage and 

handling facilities associated with the energy recovery 

from or incineration of solid wastes.  

2. The regulations of this part do not apply to: 

a. The design and operation of the combustor units 

regulated by the Air Pollution Control Board; or  
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b. The disposal of residues from the waste to energy or 

incineration facilities that is regulated under Part III 

(9VAC20-81-100 et seq.) of this chapter.  

F. Surface impoundments and lagoons.  

1. Lagoons and surface impoundments are regulated under 

State Water Control Law. During the operating life of these 

facilities, this chapter does not apply. If the operator 

intends to close such a facility by burial of sludges and 

residue in place, this chapter shall not apply where the 

regulating agency establishes the closure requirements in 

accordance with water pollution control regulations. The 

standards in this section shall apply to owners and 

operators of lagoons and surface impoundments only if 

new wastes, not contained in the lagoon or impoundment, 

are proposed to be disposed with the residue. In those 

cases, the operation and closure of the facility constitutes 

construction and operation of a landfill and must be 

accomplished as specified in Part III (9VAC20-81-100 et 

seq.) of this chapter. 

2. Leachate lagoons are regulated under Part III (9VAC20-

81-100 et seq.) of this chapter and are subject to the 

requirements for liners in 9VAC20-81-210 C.  

3. Notwithstanding the provisions of subdivision 1 of this 

subsection, this chapter, in accordance with 9VAC20-81-

45, applies to CCR surface impoundments in addition to 

the requirements under the State Water Control Law. 

G. Waste piles.  

1. The standards in this part shall apply to owners and 

operators of facilities that store or treat nonputrescible 

solid waste in piles.  

2. Owners or operators of waste piles that will be closed 

with wastes left in place are subject to regulations 

contained in Part III (9VAC20-81-100 et seq.) of this 

chapter.  

3. This part does not apply if materials will be actively 

composted according to all the requirements for compost 

facilities in Part IV (9VAC20-81-300 et seq.) of this 

chapter.  

4. The regulations in this part do not apply to the 

management of industrial co-products in piles. A material 

shall be considered an industrial co-product if a 

demonstration can be made consistent with 9VAC20-81-95 

or 9VAC20-81-97 that the material is not a solid waste.  

5. The regulations in this part do not apply to active 

logging operations subject to regulation under the 

provisions of §§ 10.1-1181.1 through and 10.1-1181.2 of 

the Code of Virginia.  

9VAC20-81-370. Closure requirements for surface 

impoundments and lagoons. 

A. Closure. At closure, the owner or operator shall: 

1. Remove all waste residue, contaminated containment 

system components (liners, etc.), contaminated subsoils, 

and decontaminate structures and equipment contaminated 

with waste, and manage them as solid waste (or hazardous 

waste, if applicable) unless exempt under Part III 

(9VAC20-81-100 et seq.) of this chapter; or  

2. Close the impoundment and provide postclosure care for 

a landfill under Part III (9VAC20-81-100 et seq.) of this 

chapter, including the following:  

a. Eliminate free liquids by removing liquid waste and 

waste residue;  

b. Install a groundwater monitoring system and initiate 

groundwater monitoring in accordance with the 

requirements of 9VAC20-81-250;  

c. Stabilize remaining waste residues to a bearing 

capacity necessary to support the final cover; and  

d. Cover the surface impoundment with a final cover 

designed and constructed in accordance with the 

requirements of 9VAC20-81-160 D 2.  

3. Close inactive, new, and existing CCR surface 

impoundments in accordance with the requirements of Part 

VIII (9VAC20-81-800 et seq.) of this chapter or this 

subsection, whichever is more stringent. 

B. Inspection. The department shall inspect all solid waste 

management facilities at the time of closure to confirm that 

the closing is complete and adequate. It shall notify the owner 

of a closed facility, in writing, if the closure is satisfactory 

and shall require any necessary construction or such other 

steps as may be necessary to bring unsatisfactory sites into 

compliance with this chapter.  

9VAC20-81-450. Permit application procedures. 

A. Any person who proposes to establish a new solid waste 

management facility (SWMF) or modify an existing SWMF 

shall submit a permit application to the department, using the 

procedures set forth in this section and other pertinent 

sections of this part. 

B. Notice of intent.  

1. To initiate the permit application process, any person 

who proposes to establish a new solid waste management 

facility (SWMF) or modify an existing SWMF or to 

modify an existing permit shall file a notice of intent with 

the director stating the desired permit or permit 

modification, the precise location of the proposed facility, 

and the intended use of the facility. The notice shall be in 

letter form and be accompanied by an area map and a site 

location map.  

2. No application for a new solid waste management 

facility permit or application for a modification for a 

noncaptive industrial landfill to expand or increase 

capacity shall be deemed complete unless it is 

accompanied by DEQ Form DISC-01 and 02 (Disclosure 

Statement) for all key personnel.  

3. No application for a new solid waste management 

facility permit or application for a modification for a 
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noncaptive industrial landfill to expand or increase 

capacity shall be considered complete unless the notice of 

intent is accompanied by a certification from the governing 

body of the county, city, or town in which the facility is to 

be located stating that the location and operation of the 

facility are consistent with all applicable local ordinances, 

as well as with the local or regional solid waste 

management plan (SWMP) approved by the department or 

has initiated the process of amending the SWMP to include 

the new or expanded facility or an increase in capacity. No 

certification shall be required for the application for a 

modification of an existing permit (not including increase 

in capacity or expansion) other than for a noncaptive 

industrial landfill in this subdivision. DEQ Form SW-11-1 

(Request for Local Government Certification) is provided 

for the use of the regulated community. Permit and permit-

by-rule applicants shall comply with the statutory 

requirements for consistency with solid waste management 

plans as recorded in § 10.1-1408.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

4. If the applicant proposes to operate a new sanitary 

landfill or transfer station, the notice of intent shall include 

a statement describing the steps taken by the applicant to 

seek the comments of the residents of the area where the 

sanitary landfill or transfer station is proposed to be located 

regarding the siting and operation of the proposed sanitary 

landfill or transfer station. The public comment steps shall 

be taken prior to filing with the department the notice of 

intent.  

a. The public comment steps shall include publication of 

a public notice once a week for two consecutive weeks in 

a newspaper of general circulation serving the locality 

where the sanitary landfill or transfer station is proposed 

to be located and holding at least one public meeting 

within the locality at a time convenient to the public to 

identify issues of concern, to facilitate communication, 

and to establish a dialogue between the applicant and 

persons who may be affected by the issuance of a permit 

for the sanitary landfill or transfer station.  

b. At a minimum, the public notice shall include:  

(1) A statement of the applicant's intent to apply for a 

permit to operate the proposed sanitary landfill or 

transfer station;  

(2) The proposed sanitary landfill or transfer station site 

location;  

(3) The date, time, and location of the public meeting the 

applicant will hold; and  

(4) The name, address, and telephone number of a person 

employed by an applicant who can be contacted by 

interested persons to answer questions or receive 

comments on siting and operation of the proposed 

sanitary landfill or transfer station.  

c. The first publication of the public notice shall be at 

least 14 days prior to the public meeting date.  

d. In addition, the applicant shall adhere to the applicable 

requirements of § 10.1-1408.1 B of the Code of Virginia. 

5. Disposal capacity guarantee. If the applicant proposes to 

construct a new sanitary landfill or expand an existing 

sanitary landfill, a signed statement must be submitted by 

the applicant guaranteeing that sufficient disposal capacity 

will be available in the facility to enable localities within 

the Commonwealth to comply with their solid waste 

management plans developed pursuant to 9VAC20-130 

and certifying that such localities will be allowed to 

contract for and reserve disposal capacity in the facility. 

This provision does not apply to permit applications from 

one or more political subdivisions for new or expanded 

landfills that will only accept municipal solid waste 

generated within those jurisdictions or from other 

jurisdictions under an interjurisdictional agreement.  

6. Host agreement. If a host agreement is required, as noted 

in § 10.1-1408.1 B 7 of the Code of Virginia, it shall 

contain all the requirements specified in that section of the 

law.  

7. If the application is for a locality owned and operated 

sanitary landfill, or the expansion of such a landfill, the 

applicant shall provide information on:  

a. The daily travel routes and traffic volumes that 

correlate with the daily disposal limit;  

b. The daily disposal limit; and  

c. The service area of the facility.  

8. If the application is for a new solid waste management 

facility or a modification allowing a facility expansion or 

an increase in capacity, the director shall evaluate whether 

there is a need for the additional capacity in accordance 

with § 10.1-1408.1 D 1 of the Code of Virginia. The 

information in either subdivision 8 a or b of this subsection 

must be provided with the notice of intent to assist the 

director with the required investigation and analysis. Based 

on the information submitted, the owner or operator will 

demonstrate how the additional capacity will be utilized 

over the life of the facility.  

a. For any solid waste management facility including a 

sanitary landfill, information demonstrating that there is a 

need for the additional capacity. Such information shall 

include the following. If a certain item is not applicable 

for a facility, it may be indicated so with reasonable 

justifications.  

(1) The anticipated area to be served by the facility;  

(2) Similar or related solid waste management facilities 

that are in the same service area and could impact the 

proposed facility, and the capacity and service life of 

those facilities;  

(3) The present quantity of waste generated within the 

proposed service area;  
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(4) The waste disposal needs specified in the local solid 

waste plan;  

(5) The projected future waste generation rates for the 

anticipated area to be served during the proposed life of 

the facility;  

(6) The recycling, composting, or other waste 

management activities within the proposed service area;  

(7) The additional solid waste disposal capacity and 

anticipated site life that the facility would provide to the 

proposed area of service; 

(8) Information demonstrating that the capacity is needed 

to enable localities to comply with solid waste plans 

developed pursuant to § 10.1-1411 of the Code of 

Virginia; and 

(9) Any additional factors that provide justification for 

the additional capacity provided by the facility.  

b. As an alternative, for sanitary landfills, based on 

current or projected disposal rates, information 

demonstrating there is less than 10 years of capacity 

remaining in the facility and information demonstrating 

either of the following:  

(1) The available permitted disposal capacity for the state 

is less than 20 years based on the most current reports 

submitted pursuant to the Waste Information and 

Assessment Program in 9VAC20-81-80; or  

(2) The available permitted disposal capacity is less than 

20 years in either:  

(a) The planning region, or regions, immediately 

contiguous to the planning region of the host community; 

or  

(b) The facilities within a 75-mile radius of the proposed 

facility.  

9. If the location and operation of the facility is stated by 

the local governing body to be consistent with all its 

ordinances, without qualifications, conditions, or 

reservations, and the notice intent is complete, the 

applicant will be notified that he may submit his 

application for a SWMF permit. This application shall be 

submitted in two parts, identified as Part A and Part B.  

10. The applicant shall submit certification from the State 

Corporation Commission that the business entity pursuing 

the solid waste management permit is a valid entity, 

authorized to transact its business in Virginia. This 

requirement does not apply to those facilities owned solely 

by governmental units. 

11. If the application is for an existing CCR landfill or 

existing CCR surface impoundment, a complete permit 

application must be submitted no later than October 17, 

2017, to continue operation.  

C. Part A application. Part A application provides the 

information essential for assessment of the site suitability for 

the proposed facility. It contains information on the proposed 

facility to be able to determine site suitability for intended 

uses. It provides information on all siting criteria applicable 

to the proposed facility.  

1. The applicant shall complete, sign, and submit three 

copies of the Part A application containing required 

information and attachments as specified in 9VAC20-81-

460 to the department and shall submit to the department 

the applicable permit fee under the provisions of 9VAC20-

90. 

2. The Part A application will be reviewed for 

completeness. The applicant will be notified within 30 

days whether the application is administratively complete 

or incomplete. If complete information is not provided 

within 60 days after the applicant is notified, or an 

alternate timeframe approved by the department, the 

application will be returned to the applicant without further 

review. Subsequent resubmittals of the application, 

submitted after 18 months from the date of the 

department's response letter, shall be considered as a new 

application, unless an alternate timeline has been approved 

by the department. 

3. Upon receipt of a complete Part A application, the 

department shall conduct a technical review of the 

submittal. Additional information may be required or the 

site may be visited before the review is completed. The 

director shall notify the applicant in writing of approval or 

disapproval of the Part A application or provide conditions 

to be made a part of the approval.  

4. For sanitary landfills, the director's notification must 

indicate that the site on which the landfill will be located is 

suitable for the construction and operation of a landfill. In 

making this determination, the director will consider the 

information presented in the site hydrogeologic and 

geotechnical report (9VAC20-81-460 F), the landfill 

impact statement (9VAC20-81-460 H 1) and the adequacy 

of transportation facilities (9VAC20-81-460 G). The 

director may also consider other factors at his discretion.  

5. In case of the approval or conditional approval, the 

applicant may submit the Part B application provided the 

required conditions are addressed in the submission.  

D. Part B application. The Part B application involves the 

submission of the detailed engineering design and operating 

plans for the proposed facility.  

1. The applicant, after receiving Part A approval, may 

submit to the department a Part B application to include the 

required documentation for the specific solid waste 

management facility as provided for in 9VAC20-81-470 or 

9VAC20-81-480. The Part B application and supporting 

documentation shall be submitted in three copies and must 

include the  applicable permit fee under the provisions of 

9VAC20-90 and the financial assurance documentation as 

required by 9VAC20-70.  
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2. The Part B application shall be reviewed for 

administrative completeness before technical evaluation is 

initiated. The applicant shall be advised in writing within 

30 days whether the application is complete or what 

additional documentation is required. Subsequent 

resubmittals of the application, submitted after 18 months 

from the date of the department's response letter, shall be 

considered a new application, unless an alternate timeline 

has been approved by the department. The Part B 

application will not be evaluated until an administratively 

complete application is received.  

3. The administratively complete application will be 

coordinated with other state agencies according to the 

nature of the facility. The comments received shall be 

considered in the permit review by the department. The 

application will be evaluated for technical adequacy and 

regulatory compliance. In the course of this evaluation, the 

department may require the applicant to provide additional 

information. At the end of the evaluation, the department 

will notify the applicant that the application is technically 

adequate and in regulatory compliance, or that the 

department intends to deny the application. 

4. The procedures addressing the denial are contained in 

9VAC20-81-550.  

E. Permit issuance.  

1. If the application is found to be technically adequate and 

in full compliance with this chapter, a draft permit shall be 

developed by the department.  

2. Copies of the draft permit will be available for viewing 

at the applicant's place of business or at the regional office 

of the department, or both, upon request. A notice 

announcing the beginning of the public comment period 

and the availability of the draft permit shall be made in a 

newspaper with general circulation in the area of the 

facility. A copy of the notice of availability will be 

provided to the chief administrative officer of all cities and 

counties that are contiguous to the host community.  

3. If the application is for a new landfill or an increase in 

landfill capacity (includes expansion), then the department 

shall hold a public hearing and the notice in subdivision 2 

of this subsection will include such information. 

4. For any application (other than subdivision 3 of this 

subsection), the notice shall notify the public of the 30-day 

public comment period and include the opportunity to 

request a public hearing. The department shall hold a 

public hearing on the draft permit whenever the department 

finds, on the basis of requests, that: 

a. There is a significant public interest in the issuance, 

denial, modification, or revocation of the permit in 

question; 

b. There are substantial, disputed issues relevant to the 

issuance, denial, modification, or revocation of the 

permit in question; and 

c. The action requested is not, on its face, inconsistent 

with, or in violation of, these regulations, the Waste 

Management Act (§ 10.1-1400 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia), or federal law or regulations. 

5. The department also may hold a public hearing when it 

is believed that such a hearing might clarify one or more 

issues involved in a permit decision.  

6. If a public hearing is to be held, the department shall 

convene it 30 days or more after the notice is published in 

the local newspaper. The public hearing shall be conducted 

within the local government jurisdiction of the facility. A 

comment period shall extend for a 15-day period after the 

conclusion of the public hearing.  

7. A decision to permit, to deny a permit, or to modify the 

draft permit shall be rendered by the director within 90 

days of the close of the hearing comment period.  

8. The permit applicant and the persons who commented 

during the public participation period shall be notified in 

writing of the decision on the draft permit. That decision 

may include denial of the permit (see also 9VAC20-81-

550), issuance of the permit as drafted, or modification of 

the draft permit and issuance.  

9. No permit for a new solid waste management facility 

nor any modification to a permit allowing a facility 

expansion or an increase in capacity shall be issued until 

the director has made a written determination, after an 

investigation and analysis of the potential human health, 

environmental, transportation infrastructure, and 

transportation safety impacts and needs and an evaluation 

of comments by the host local government, other local 

governments and interested persons, that (i) the proposed 

facility, expansion, or increase protects present and future 

human health and safety and the environment; (ii) there is a 

need for the additional capacity; (iii) sufficient 

infrastructure will exist to safely handle the waste flow; 

(iv) the increase is consistent with locality imposed or 

state-imposed daily disposal limits; (v) the public interest 

will be served by the proposed facility's operation or the 

expansion or increase in capacity of a facility; and (vi) the 

proposed solid waste management facility, facility 

expansion, or additional capacity is consistent with 

regional and local solid waste management plans 

developed pursuant to § 10.1-1411 of the Code of Virginia. 

10. For nonhazardous industrial solid waste management 

facilities owned or operated by the generator of the waste 

managed at the facility, and that accept only waste 

generated by the facility owner or operator the following 

determination shall apply in lieu of subdivision 9 of this 

subsection. No new permit for a nonhazardous industrial 

solid waste management facility that is owned or operated 

by the generator of the waste managed at the facility, and 

that accepts only waste generated by the facility owner or 

operator, shall be issued until the director has determined, 

after investigation and evaluation of comments by the local 
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government, that the proposed facility poses no substantial 

present or potential danger to human health or the 

environment. The department shall hold a public hearing 

within the county, city, or town where the facility is to be 

located prior to the issuance of any such permit for the 

management of nonhazardous industrial solid waste. 

11. Where either subdivision 9 or 10 of this subsection 

apply, the director may request updated information during 

the review of the permit application if the information on 

which the director's determination is based is no longer 

current. If, based on the analysis of the materials presented 

in the permit application, the determination required in 

§ 10.1-1408.1 of the Code of Virginia cannot be made, the 

application will be denied in accordance with 9VAC20-81-

560 9VAC20-81-550 A 6. 

12. Any permit for a new sanitary landfill and any permit 

modification authorizing expansion of an existing sanitary 

landfill shall incorporate the conditions required for a 

disposal capacity guarantee in § 10.1-1408.1 of the Code 

of Virginia. This provision does not apply to permit 

applications from one or more political subdivisions that 

will only accept waste from within those political 

subdivisions' jurisdiction or municipal solid waste 

generated within other political subdivisions pursuant to an 

interjurisdictional agreement. 

9VAC20-81-460. Part A permit application. 

The following information shall be included in the Part A 

permit application for all solid waste management facilities 

unless otherwise specified in this section. All plans and 

drawings of the Part A application shall be certified by a 

professional engineer or professional geologist. 

A. The Part A permit application consists of a letter stating 

the type of the facility for which the permit application is 

made and the certification required in subsection I of this 

section. The applicant shall submit the completed DEQ Form 

SW PTA (Part A Permit Application Form) and all required 

information and attachments as detailed in this section.  

B. A key map of the Part A permit application, delineating 

the general location of the proposed facility, shall be prepared 

and attached as part of the application. The key map shall be 

plotted on a seven and one-half minute United States U.S. 

Geological Survey topographical quadrangle. The quadrangle 

shall be the most recent revision available, shall include the 

name of the quadrangle and shall delineate a minimum of one 

mile from the perimeter of the proposed facility boundaries. 

One or more maps may be utilized where necessary to insure 

clarity of the information submitted.  

C. A vicinity map shall be prepared and attached as part of 

the application. This vicinity map shall have a minimum scale 

of one inch equals 200 feet (1" = 200') and shall delineate an 

area of 500 feet from the perimeter of the property line of the 

proposed facility. A vicinity map may be prepared with a 

reduced scale if it does not fit in a sheet with the required 

minimum scale and multiple sheets may be used to meet the 

requirement of minimum scale. The vicinity maps may be an 

enlargement of a United States U.S. Geological Survey 

topographical quadrangle or a recent aerial photograph. Notes 

may be provided in the map if one or more of the following 

are not present within the delineated area. The vicinity map 

shall depict the following:  

1. All homes, buildings, or structures including the layout 

of the buildings that will compose the proposed facility;  

2. The surveyed boundaries for the property boundary, 

facility boundary, and waste management boundary, and 

the acreages within these boundaries;  

3. The limits of the actual disposal operations within the 

boundaries of the proposed facility;  

4. Lots and blocks taken from the tax map for the site of 

the proposed facility and all contiguous properties;  

5. The base floodplain, where it passes through the map 

area; or, otherwise, a note indicating the expected flood 

occurrence period for the area;  

6. Existing land uses and zoning classification;  

7. All water supply wells, springs or intakes, both public 

and private;  

8. All utility lines, pipelines or land-based facilities 

(including mines and wells); and  

9. All parks, recreation areas, surface water bodies, dams, 

historic areas, wetlands areas, monument areas, cemeteries, 

wildlife refuges, unique natural areas, or similar features.  

D. Any applicant must demonstrate legal control over the 

site for the permit life.  

E. For solid waste disposal facilities regulated under Part III 

(9VAC20-81-100 et seq.), site hydrogeologic and 

geotechnical reports by professional geologist or professional 

engineer.  

1. The site investigation for a proposed landfill facility 

shall provide information regarding the geotechnical and 

hydrogeologic conditions at the site to allow a reasonable 

determination of the usefulness of the site for development 

as a landfill. The geotechnical exploration efforts shall be 

designed to provide information regarding the availability 

and suitability of onsite soils for use in the various 

construction phases of the landfill including liner, cover, 

drainage material, and cap. The hydrogeologic information 

shall be sufficient to determine the characteristics of the 

uppermost aquifer underlying the facility. Subsurface 

investigation programs conducted shall meet the minimum 

specifications here.  

a. Borings shall be located to identify the uppermost 

aquifer within the proposed facility boundary, determine 

the ability to perform groundwater monitoring at the site, 

and provide data for the evaluation of the physical 

properties of soils and soil availability. Borings 

completed for the proposed facility shall be sufficient in 

number and depth to identify the thickness of the 
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uppermost aquifer and the presence of any significant 

underlying impermeable zone in the waste management 

boundary. Impermeable zone shall not be fully penetrated 

within the anticipated fill areas, whenever possible. The 

number of borings shall be at a minimum in accordance 

with Table 5.1 as follows:  

  Table 5.1 

  Waste Management 

Boundary Acreage 

Total Number of 

Borings 

  Less than 10 4 

  10 - 49 8 

  50 - 99 14 

  100 - 200 20 

  More than 200 24 + 1 boring for each 

additional 10 acres 

b. The department reserves the right to require additional 

borings in areas in which the number of borings required 

by Table 5.1 is not sufficient to describe the geologic 

formations and groundwater flow patterns below the 

proposed solid waste disposal facility.  

c. In highly uniform geological formations, the number 

of borings may be reduced, as approved by the 

department.  

d. The borings shall employ a grid pattern, wherever 

possible, such that there is, at a minimum, one boring in 

each major geomorphic feature. The borings pattern shall 

enable the development of detailed cross sections 

through the proposed landfill site.  

e. Subsurface data obtained by borings shall be collected 

by standard soil sampling techniques. Diamond bit 

coring, air rotary drilling, or other appropriate methods, 

or a combination of methods shall be used as appropriate 

to characterize competent bedrock. The borings shall be 

logged from the surface to the lowest elevation (base 

grade) or to bedrock, whichever is shallower, according 

to standard practices and procedures. In addition, the 

borings required by Table 5.1 shall be performed on a 

continuous basis for the first 20 feet below the lowest 

elevation of the solid waste disposal facility or to the bed 

rock. Additional samples as determined by the 

professional geologist or professional engineer shall be 

collected at five-foot intervals thereafter.  

f. Excavations, test pits, and geophysical methods may be 

employed to supplement the soil boring investigation.  

g. At a minimum, four of the borings shall be converted 

to water level observations wells, well nests, 

piezometers, or piezometer nests to allow determination 

of the rate and direction of groundwater flow across the 

site. All groundwater monitoring points or water level 

measurement points shall be designed to allow proper 

abandonment by backfilling with an impermeable 

material. The total number of wells or well nests shall be 

based on the complexity of the geology of the site.  

h. Field analyses shall be performed in representative 

borings to determine the in situ hydraulic conductivity of 

the uppermost aquifer.  

i. All borings not to be utilized as permanent monitoring 

wells, and wells within the active solid waste disposal 

area, shall be sealed and excavations and test pits shall be 

backfilled and properly compacted to prevent possible 

paths of leachate migration. Boring sealing procedures 

shall be documented in the hydrogeologic report.  

2. The geotechnical and hydrogeologic reports shall at least 

include the following principal sections:  

a. Field procedures. Boring records and analyses from 

properly spaced borings in the facility portion of the site. 

Final boring logs shall be submitted for each boring, 

recording soils or rock conditions encountered. Each log 

shall include the type of drilling and sampling 

equipment, date the boring was started, date the boring 

was finished, a soil or rock description in accordance 

with the United Soil Classification System or the Rock 

Quality Designation, the method of sampling, the depth 

of sample collection, the water levels encountered, and 

the Standard Penetration Test blow counts, if applicable. 

Boring locations and elevations shall be surveyed with a 

precision of 0.01 foot. At least one surveyed point shall 

be indelibly marked by the surveyor on each well. All 

depths of soil and rock as described within the boring log 

shall be corrected to National Geodetic Vertical Datum, 

if available.  

b. Geotechnical interpretations and report including 

complete engineering description of the soil units 

underlying the site.  

(1) Soil unit descriptions shall include estimates of soil 

unit thickness, continuity across the site, and genesis. 

Laboratory determination of the soil unit's physical 

properties shall be discussed.  

(2) Soil units that are proposed for use as a drainage 

layer, impermeable cap, or impermeable liner material 

shall be supported by laboratory determinations of the 

remolded permeability. Remolded hydraulic conductivity 

tests require a Proctor compaction test (ASTM D698) 

soil classification liquid limit, plastic limit, particle size 

distribution, specific gravity, percent compaction of the 

test sample, remolded density and remolded moisture 

content, and the percent saturation of the test sample. 

Proctor compaction test data and hydraulic conductivity 

test sample data shall be plotted on standard moisture-

density test graphs.  

(3) The geotechnical report shall provide an estimate of 

the available volume of materials suitable for use as liner, 
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cap, and drainage layer. It shall also discuss the 

anticipated uses of the onsite materials, if known.  

c. Hydrogeologic report.  

(1) The report shall include water table elevations, 

direction, and calculated rate of groundwater flow and 

similar information on the hydrogeology of the site. All 

raw data shall be submitted with calculations.  

(2) The report shall contain a discussion of field test 

procedures and results, laboratory determinations made 

on undisturbed samples, recharge areas, discharge areas, 

adjacent or areal usage, and typical radii of influence of 

pumping wells.  

(3) The report shall also contain a discussion of the 

regional geologic setting, the site geology, and a 

cataloging and description of the uppermost aquifer from 

the site investigation and from referenced literature. The 

geologic description shall include a discussion of the 

prevalence and orientation of fractures, faults, and other 

structural discontinuities, and presence of any other 

significant geologic features. The aquifer description 

shall address homogeneity, horizontal and vertical extent, 

isotropy, the potential for groundwater remediation, if 

required, and the factors influencing the proper 

placement of a groundwater monitoring network.  

(4) The report shall include a geologic map of the site 

prepared from one of the following sources as available, 

in order of preference:  

(a) Site specific mapping prepared from data collected 

during the site investigation;  

(b) Published geologic mapping at a scale of 1:24,000 or 

larger;  

(c) Published regional geologic mapping at a scale of 

1:250,000 or larger; or  

(d) Other published mapping.  

(5) At least two generally orthogonal, detailed site 

specific cross sections, which shall describe the geologic 

formations identified by the geologic maps prepared in 

accordance with subdivision 2 c (4) of this subsection at 

a scale that clearly illustrates the geologic formations, 

shall be included in the hydrogeologic report. Cross 

sections shall show the geologic units, approximate 

construction of existing landfill cells base grades, water 

table, surficial features, and bedrock along the line of the 

cross section. Cross section locations shall be shown on 

an overall facility map.  

(6) Potentiometric surface maps for the uppermost 

aquifer that define the groundwater conditions 

encountered below the proposed solid waste disposal 

facility area based upon stabilized groundwater 

elevations. Potentiometric surface maps shall be prepared 

for each set of groundwater elevation data available. The 

applicant shall include a discussion of the effects of site 

modifications, seasonal variations in precipitation, and 

existing and future land uses of the site on the 

potentiometric surface.  

(7) If a geological map or report from either the 

Department of Mines, Minerals, and Energy or the U.S. 

Geological Survey is published, it shall be included.  

F. For solid waste management facilities regulated under 

Part IV (9VAC20-81-300 et seq.) of this chapter:  

1. A cataloging and description of aquifers, geological 

features or any similar characteristic of the site that might 

affect the operation of the facility or be affected by that 

operation.  

2. If a geological map or report from either the Department 

of Mines, Minerals, and Energy or the U.S. Geological 

Survey is published, it shall be included.  

G. For a new sanitary landfill or for an increase in daily 

disposal limit, an adequacy report prepared by the Virginia 

Department of Transportation or other responsible agency. As 

required under § 10.1-1408.4 A 1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

report will address the adequacy of transportation facilities 

that will be available to serve the landfill, including daily 

travel routes and traffic volumes that correlate with the daily 

disposal limit, road congestion, and highway safety. The 

department may determine an adequacy report is not required 

for small increases in the daily disposal limit.  

H. For a new sanitary landfill or an expansion of an existing 

sanitary landfill or an increase in capacity by expanding an 

existing facility vertically upward, a Landfill Impact 

Statement (LIS).  

1. A report must be provided to the department that 

addresses the potential impact of the landfill on parks, 

recreational areas, wildlife management areas, critical 

habitat areas of endangered species as designated by 

applicable local, state, or federal agencies, public water 

supplies, marine resources, wetlands, historic sites, fish 

and wildlife, water quality, and tourism. This report shall 

comply with the statutory requirements for siting landfills 

in the vicinity of public water supplies or wetlands as set 

forth in §§ 10.1-1408.4 and 10.1-1408.5 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

2. The report will include a discussion of the landfill 

configuration and how the facility design addresses any 

impacts identified in the report required under subdivision 

1 of this subsection.  

3. The report will identify all of the areas identified under 

subdivision 1 of this subsection that are within five miles 

of the facility.  

I. For a new facility or an expansion of an existing facility, 

or an increase in capacity by expanding an existing facility 

vertically upward, a signed statement by the applicant that he 

has sent written notice to all adjacent property owners or 

occupants that he intends to develop a SWMF or expand 

laterally or vertically upward of an existing facility on the 
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site, a copy of the notice and the names and addresses of 

those to whom the notices were sent.  

J. The total capacity of the solid waste management facility. 

K. One or more of the following indicating that the public 

interest would be served by a new facility or a facility 

expansion, which includes:  

1. Cost effective waste management for the public within 

the service area comparing the costs of a new facility or 

facility expansion to waste transfer, or other disposal 

options;  

2. The facility provides protection of human health and 

safety and the environment;  

3. The facility provides alternatives to disposal including 

reuse or reclamation;  

4. The facility allows for the increased recycling 

opportunities for solid waste;  

5. The facility provides for energy recovery or the 

subsequent use of solid waste, or both, thereby reducing 

the quantity of solid waste disposed;  

6. The facility will support the waste management needs 

expressed by the host community; or 

7. Any additional factors that indicate that the public 

interest would be served by the facility.  

L. For CCR surface impoundments regulated under Part 

VIII (9VAC20-81-800 et seq.) of this chapter, site 

hydrogeologic and geotechnical reports by a professional 

geologist or professional engineer that meet the requirements 

of 9VAC20-81-800.  

9VAC20-81-470. Part B permit application for solid waste 

disposal facilities. 

Part B permit application requirements for all solid waste 

disposal facilities regulated under Part III (9VAC20-81-100 et 

seq.) are contained in this section. The Part B applications 

shall include the following requirements and documentation:  

A. Plans submitted as part of the Part B application shall 

include the following:  

1. Design plans. Design plans shall be certified by a 

professional engineer and shall consist of, at least, the 

following:  

a. A title sheet indicating the project title, who prepared 

the plans, the person for whom the plans were prepared, a 

table of contents, and a location map showing the 

location of the site and the area to be served.  

b. An existing site conditions plans sheet indicating site 

conditions prior to development.  

c. A base grade plan sheet indicating site base grades or 

the appearance of the site if it were excavated in its 

entirety to the base elevation, before installation of any 

engineering modifications or the beginning of any filing.  

d. An engineering modification plan sheet indicating the 

appearance of the site after installation of engineering 

modifications. More than one plan sheet may be required 

for complicated sites. This plan is required only for those 

sites with engineering modifications.  

e. A final site topography plan sheet indicating the 

appearance of the site, and final contours of the site at 

closing including the details necessary to prepare the site 

for long-term care.  

f. A series of phasing plan sheets showing the 

progression of site development through time. At a 

minimum, a separate plan shall be provided for initial site 

preparations and for each subsequent major phase or new 

area where substantial site preparation must be 

performed. Each such plan shall include a list of 

construction items and quantities necessary to prepare the 

phase indicated.  

g. A site monitoring plan showing the location of all 

devices for the monitoring of leachate production, 

groundwater quality, and gas production and venting. 

This plan shall include a table indicating the parameters 

to be monitored for the frequency of monitoring before 

and during site development. The groundwater 

monitoring plan shall include information as applicable 

under 9VAC20-81-250 or 9VAC20-81-260.  

h. A series of site cross-sections shall be drawn 

perpendicular and parallel to the site base line at a 

maximum distance of 500 feet between cross-sections 

and at points of grade break and important construction 

features. The location of the cross-sections shall be 

shown on the plan sheets and the section labeled using 

the site grid system. Where applicable, each cross-section 

shall show existing, proposed base and final grades; soil 

borings and monitoring wells that the section passes 

through or is adjacent to; soil types, bedrock and water 

table; leachate control, collection, and monitoring 

systems; limits of filling for each major waste type; 

drainage control structures; access roads and ramps on 

the site perimeter and within the active fill area; the 

filling sequence or phases; and other site features.  

i. Detailed drawings and typical sections for drainage 

control structures, access roads, fencing, leachate and gas 

control systems, and monitoring devices, buildings, 

signs, and other construction details.  

j. Plan sheets shall include:  

(1) A survey grid with base lines and bench marks to be 

used for field control.  

(2) Limits of filling for each major waste type or fill area.  

(3) All drainage patterns and surface water drainage 

control structures both within the actual fill area and at 

the site perimeter. Such structures may include berms, 

ditches, sedimentation basins, pumps, sumps, culverts, 

pipes, inlets, velocity breaks, sodding, erosion matting, or 

other methods of erosion control.  



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 9 Virginia Register of Regulations December 28, 2015 

1623 

(4) Ground surface contours at the time represented by 

the drawing. Spot elevations shall be indicated for key 

features.  

(5) Areas to be cleared and grubbed and stripped of 

topsoil.  

(6) Borrow areas for liner materials, gas venting 

materials, berms, roadway construction, daily cover, and 

final cover.  

(7) All soil stockpiles including daily and final cover, 

topsoil, liner materials, gas venting materials, and other 

excavation.  

(8) Access roads and traffic flow patterns to and within 

the active fill area.  

(9) All temporary and permanent fencing.  

(10) The methods of screening such as berms, vegetation, 

or special fencing.  

(11) Leachate collection, control, storage, and treatment 

systems that may include pipes, manholes, trenches, 

berms, collection sumps, storage units, pumps, risers, 

liners, and liner splices.  

(12) Gas, leachate, and groundwater monitoring devices 

and systems.  

(13) Severe weather solid waste disposal areas.  

(14) Support buildings, scale, utilities, gates, and signs.  

(15) Special waste handling areas.  

(16) Construction notes and references to details.  

(17) Other site features.  

2. Closure plan. A detailed closure plan shall be prepared 

and submitted. Such a plan shall be prepared in two parts, 

one reflecting those measures to be accomplished at the 

midpoint of the permit period, and the other when the 

useful life of the landfill is reached. The plan shall show 

how the facility will be closed to meet the requirements of 

9VAC20-81-160 and 9VAC20-81-170, or 9VAC20-81-

800. The plan shall include the procedures to be followed 

in closing the site, sequence of closure, time schedules, 

final plans of completion of closure to include final 

contours, and long-term care plan sheets showing the site 

at the completion of closing and indicating those items 

anticipated to be performed during the period of long-term 

care for the site. The plans shall include a table listing the 

items and the anticipated schedule for monitoring and 

maintenance. In many instances this information can be 

presented on the final site topography sheet.  

3. Postclosure plan. A postclosure care plan containing 

shall contain long-term care information including a 

discussion of the procedures to be utilized for the 

inspection and maintenance of: run-off control structures; 

settlement; erosion damage; gas and leachate control 

facilities; monitoring for gas, leachate, and groundwater; 

and other long-term care needs.  

B. A design report shall be submitted, which shall include 

supplemental discussions and design calculations, to facilitate 

department review and provide supplemental information 

including the following information:  

1. The design report shall identify the project title; 

engineering consultants; site owner, permittee and 

operator; proposed permitted acreage; hours of operation; 

wastes to be accepted; site life; design capacity; and the 

daily disposal limit. It shall also identify any variances 

desired by the applicant. 

2. A discussion of the basis for the design of the major 

features of the site, such as traffic routing, base grade and 

relationships to subsurface conditions, anticipated waste 

types and characteristics, phases development, liner design, 

leachate management system design, facility monitoring, 

and similar design features shall be provided. A list of the 

conditions of site development as stated in the department 

determination of site feasibility and the measures taken to 

meet the conditions shall be included. A discussion of all 

calculations, such as refuse-cover balance computations, 

stockpile sizing estimates, estimate of site life, and run-off 

and leachate volume estimates shall be included. The 

calculations shall be summarized with the detailed 

equations presented in an appendix. 

3. Specifications, including detailed instructions to the site 

operator for all aspects of site construction. 

a. Initial site preparations including specifications for 

clearing and grubbing, topsoil stripping, other 

excavations, berm construction, drainage control 

structures, leachate collection system, access roads and 

entrance, screening, fencing, groundwater monitoring, 

and other special design features. 

b. A plan for initial site preparation including a 

discussion of the field measurements, photographs to be 

taken, sampling and testing procedures to be utilized to 

verify that the in-field conditions encountered were the 

same as those defined in the feasibility report, and to 

document that the site was constructed according to the 

engineering plans and specifications submitted for 

department approval. 

C. Financial assurance documentation. When required by 

the Financial Assurance Regulations of Solid Waste Disposal, 

Transfer, and Treatment Facilities (9VAC20-70), the 

applicant shall provide the completed documentation to 

demonstrate compliance with those regulations; proof of 

financial responsibility must be for the entity identified in 

accordance with 9VAC20-81-450 B 10. 

D. DEQ Form SW PTB (Part B Permit Application Form). 

The applicant shall submit a completed DEQ Form SW PTB. 

9VAC20-81-475. Part B permit application requirements 

for CCR surface impoundments. 

A. Part B permit application requirements for CCR surface 

impoundments regulated under Part VIII (9VAC20-81-800 et 
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seq.) of this chapter are contained in this section. The Part B 

applications shall include the requirements and 

documentation described in this section. 

B. A detailed design plan shall be prepared and submitted 

that describes how the CCR surface impoundment meets the 

design criteria found in 40 CFR 257.71 (existing CCR surface 

impoundments), 40 CFR 257.72 (new or lateral expansions of 

CCR surface impoundments), 40 CFR 257.73 (existing CCR 

surface impoundments), 40 CFR 257.74 (new or lateral 

expansions of CCR surface impoundments), as applicable;  

C. An operating plan meeting the requirements of 40 CFR 

257.80, 40 CFR 257.82, and 40 CFR 257.83 shall be prepared 

and submitted;  

D. A site groundwater monitoring plan shall be prepared and 

submitted that meets the requirements of 40 CFR 257.90, 

40 CFR 257.91, 40 CFR 257.93, 40 CFR 257.94, 40 CFR 

257.95, 40 CFR 257.96, 40 CFR 257.97, and 40 CFR 257.98; 

and 

E. A detailed closure plan and post-closure plan meeting the 

requirements found in 40 CFR 257.101, 40 CFR 257.102, 

40 CFR 257.103, 40 CFR 257.104 shall be prepared and 

submitted. 

9VAC20-81-485. Operations manual requirements for 

solid waste management facilities. 

A. Solid waste disposal facilities. An operations manual 

shall be prepared and maintained in the operating record. The 

operations manual shall include a certification page signed by 

a responsible official. This signature shall certify the manual 

meets the requirements of this chapter. This manual shall be 

reviewed and recertified annually (by December 31 of each 

calendar year) to ensure consistency with current operations 

and regulatory requirements, and shall be made available for 

review by the department upon request. The operations 

manual for disposal facility operation shall contain at least the 

following plans:  

1. An operations plan that at a minimum includes: 

a. Explanation of how the design and construction plans 

will be implemented from the initial phase of operation 

until closure; 

b. Municipalities, industries, and collection and 

transportation agencies served;  

c. Waste types and quantities to be disposed;  

d. Detailed instructions to the site operator regarding all 

aspects of site operation in order to ensure that the 

operational requirements of Part III (9VAC20-81-100 et 

seq.) of this chapter are achieved. References to 

specifications on the plan sheet shall be pointed out as 

well as additional instructions included, where 

appropriate. At a minimum, the plan specifications shall 

include:  

(1) Daily operations including a discussion of the 

timetable for development, waste types accepted or 

excluded, inspection of incoming waste, typical waste 

handling techniques, hours of operation, traffic routing, 

drainage and erosion control, windy, wet and cold 

weather operations, fire protection equipment, 

manpower, methods for handling of any unusual waste 

types, methods for vector, dust and odor control, daily 

cleanup, direction of filling, salvaging, recordkeeping, 

parking for visitors and employees, monitoring, 

maintenance, closure of filled areas, gas and leachate 

control methods, backup equipment with names and 

telephone numbers where equipment may be obtained, 

and other special design features;  

(2) Development of subsequent phases; and  

(3) Site closing information consisting of a discussion of 

those actions necessary to prepare the site for long-term 

care and final use in the implementation of the closure 

plan.  

2. An inspection plan that at a minimum includes: 

a. A schedule for inspecting all applicable major aspects 

of facility operations necessary to ensure compliance 

with the requirements of Part III (9VAC20-81-100 et 

seq.) of this chapter.  

b. The frequency of inspection based on the rate of 

potential equipment deterioration or malfunction and the 

probability of an adverse incident occurring if the 

deterioration or malfunction goes undetected between 

inspections. The plan shall establish the minimum 

frequencies for inspections required in 9VAC20-81-140. 

This plan shall identify areas of the facility subject to 

spills such as loading and unloading areas and areas in 

which significant adverse environmental or health 

consequences may result if breakdown occurs.  

c. A schedule for inspecting monitoring, safety, and 

emergency equipment; security devices; and process 

operating and structural equipment.  

d. The types of potential problems that may be observed 

during the inspection and any maintenance activities 

required as a result of the inspection.  

3. A health and safety plan that includes description of 

measures to protect the facility and other personnel from 

injury and is consistent with the requirements of 29 CFR 

Part 1910. 

4. An unauthorized waste control plan that includes, at a 

minimum, the methods to be used by the operator to 

prevent unauthorized disposal of hazardous wastes, bulk 

liquids, or other wastes not authorized for management or 

disposal in the facility in order to meet the requirements of 

9VAC20-81-140. 

5. An emergency contingency plan that includes: 

a. Delineation of procedures for responding to fire, 

explosions, or any unplanned sudden or nonsudden 

releases of harmful constituents to the air, soil, or surface 

water; 
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b. Description of the actions facility personnel shall take 

in the event of various emergency situations;  

c. Description of arrangements made with the local 

police and fire department that allow for immediate entry 

into the facility by their authorized representatives should 

the need arise, such as in the case of personnel 

responding to an emergency situation; and 

d. A list of names, addresses, and phone numbers (office 

and home) of all persons qualified to act as emergency 

coordinator for the facility. This list shall be kept up to 

date. Where more than one person is listed, one shall be 

named as primary emergency coordinator and the others 

shall be listed in the order in which they will assume 

responsibility as alternates.  

6. A landscaping plan that shall: 

a. Delineate existing site vegetation to be retained; 

b. Discuss methods to be employed in order to ensure 

protection of vegetation to be retained during the 

clearing, grading and construction phases of the project 

and the supplemental vegetation to be planted; and  

c. Information Provide information relating to vegetation 

type, location and purpose, such as for buffer, screening 

or aesthetics, and schedules for planting, shall 

accompany the plan.  

B. Other solid waste management facilities. An operations 

manual shall be prepared and maintained in the operating 

record. The Operations Manual shall include a certification 

page signed by a responsible official. This signature shall 

certify the manual meets the requirements of this chapter. 

This manual shall be reviewed and re-certified annually (by 

December 31 of each calendar year) to ensure consistency 

with current operations and regulatory requirements and shall 

be made available to the department upon request. The 

manual for facility operation shall contain at least the 

following plans: 

1. An operations plan that at a minimum includes: 

a. An explanation of how the design and construction 

plans will be implemented from the initial phase of 

operation until closure. 

b. Detailed instructions to the site operator regarding all 

aspects of site operation in order to ensure that the 

applicable operational requirements of Part IV (9VAC20-

81-300 et seq.) are achieved. Daily operations including a 

discussion of the timetable for development, waste types 

accepted or excluded, typical waste handling techniques, 

hours of operation, traffic routing, drainage and erosion 

control, windy, wet and cold weather operations, fire 

protection equipment, manpower, methods for handling 

of any unusual waste types, methods for vector, dust and 

odor control, daily cleanup, salvaging, record keeping, 

parking for visitors and employees, monitoring, backup 

equipment with names and telephone numbers where 

equipment may be obtained, and other special design 

features. The daily operations section of the operations 

manual may be developed as a removable section to 

improve accessibility for the site operator.  

c. Development of subsequent phases of the facility, if 

applicable. 

d. Site closing information consisting of a discussion of 

those actions necessary to prepare the site for long-term 

care and final use in the implementation of the closure 

plan. 

2. An inspection plan that at a minimum includes: 

a. A schedule for inspecting all applicable major aspects 

of facility operations necessary to ensure compliance 

with the requirements of Part IV (9VAC20-81-300 et 

seq.) of this chapter.  

b. The frequency of inspection shall be based on the rate 

of potential equipment deterioration or malfunction and 

the probability of an adverse incident occurring if the 

deterioration or malfunction goes undetected between 

inspections. The plan shall establish the minimum 

frequencies for inspections required in 9VAC20-81-340. 

This plan shall identify areas of the facility subject to 

spills such as loading and unloading areas and areas in 

which significant adverse environmental or health 

consequences may result if breakdown occurs.  

c. A schedule for inspecting monitoring, safety, and 

emergency equipment; security devices; and process 

operating and structural equipment.  

d. The types of potential problems that may be observed 

during the inspection and any maintenance activities 

required as a result of the inspection.  

3. A health and safety plan that includes description of 

measures to protect the facility and other personnel from 

injury and is consistent with the requirements of 29 CFR 

Part 1910. 

4. An unauthorized waste control plan that includes, at a 

minimum, the methods to be used by the operator to 

prevent unauthorized disposal of hazardous wastes, bulk 

liquids, or other wastes not authorized for management or 

disposal in the facility in order to meet the applicable 

requirements of 9VAC20-81-340. 

5. An emergency contingency plan that includes: 

a. Delineation of procedures for responding to fire, 

explosions, or any unplanned sudden or nonsudden 

releases of harmful constituents to the air, soil, or surface 

water; 

b. Description of the actions facility personnel shall take 

in the event of various emergency situations;  

c. Description of arrangements made with the local 

police and fire department that allow for immediate entry 

into the facility by their authorized representatives should 

the need arise, such as in the case of personnel 

responding to an emergency situation; and 
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d. A list of names, addresses and phone numbers (office 

and home) of all persons qualified to act as emergency 

coordinator for the facility. This list shall be kept up to 

date. Where more than one person is listed, one shall be 

named as primary emergency coordinator and the others 

shall be listed in the order in which they will assume 

responsibility as alternates. 

C. CCR surface impoundments. Operating plans meeting the 

requirements of 9VAC20-81-800 shall be prepared, 

implemented, and placed in the facility's operating record. 

9VAC20-81-550. Permit denial. 

A. A permit shall be denied if:  

1. The applicant fails to provide complete information 

required for an application;  

2. The facility does not conform with the siting standards 

set forth for the facility in 9VAC20-81-120 or, 9VAC20-

81-320, or 9VAC20-81-800, unless an exemption or 

variance from the specific siting criteria has been granted;  

3. The facility design and construction plans or operating 

plans, or both, fail to comply with requirements specified 

for the proposed type of facility unless an exemption or 

variance from the specific requirement has been granted;  

4. The department finds that there is an adverse impact on 

the public health or the environment by the design, 

construction, or operation;  

5. The applicant is not able to fulfill the financial 

responsibility requirements as specified in 9VAC20-70; or  

6. Current information sufficient to make the determination 

required in § 10.1-1408.1 D of the Code of Virginia has 

not been provided. 

B. Reasons for the denial of any permit shall be provided to 

the applicant in writing by the director within 30 days of the 

decision to deny the permit. 

9VAC20-81-600. Modification of permits. 

A. Permits may be modified at the request of any interested 

person or upon the director's initiative. However, permits may 

only be modified for the reasons specified in subsections E 

and F of this section. All requests shall be in writing and shall 

contain facts or reasons supporting the request. Any permit 

modification authorizing expansion of an existing sanitary 

landfill shall incorporate the conditions required for a 

disposal capacity guarantee in § 10.1-1408.1 P of the Code of 

Virginia. This provision does not apply to permit applications 

from one or more political subdivisions that will only accept 

waste from within those political subdivisions' jurisdiction or 

municipal solid waste generated within other political 

subdivisions pursuant to an interjurisdictional agreement.  

B. If the director decides the request is not justified, he shall 

send the requester a response providing justification for the 

decision.  

C. If the director tentatively decides to modify, he shall 

prepare a draft permit incorporating the proposed changes. 

The director may request additional information and may 

require the submission of an updated permit application. In a 

permit modification under subsection E of this section, only 

those conditions to be modified shall be reopened when a new 

draft permit is prepared. All other aspects of the existing 

permit shall remain in effect. During any modification 

proceeding the permittee shall comply with all conditions of 

the existing permit until the modified permit is issued.  

D. When the director receives any information, he may 

determine whether or not one or more of the causes listed for 

modification exist. If cause exists, the director may modify 

the permit on his own initiative subject to the limitations of 

subsection E of this section and may request an updated 

application if necessary. If a permit modification satisfies the 

criteria in subsection F of this section for minor 

modifications, the permit may be modified without a draft 

permit or public review. Otherwise, a draft permit shall be 

prepared and other appropriate procedures followed.  

E. Causes for modification. The director may modify a 

permit upon his own initiative or at the request of a third 

party:  

1. When there are material and substantial alterations or 

additions to the permitted facility or activity that occurred 

after permit issuance that justify the application of permit 

conditions that are different or absent in the existing 

permit;  

2. When there is found to be a possibility of pollution 

causing significant adverse effects on the air, land, surface 

water, or groundwater;  

3. When an investigation has shown the need for additional 

equipment, construction, procedures and testing to ensure 

the protection of the public health and the environment 

from adverse effects;  

4. If the director has received information pertaining to 

circumstances or conditions existing at the time the permit 

was issued that was not included in the administrative 

record and would have justified the application of different 

permit conditions, the permit may be modified accordingly 

if in the judgment of the director such modification is 

necessary to prevent significant adverse effects on public 

health or the environment;  

5. When the standards or regulations on which the permit 

was based have been changed by promulgation of amended 

standards or regulations or by judicial decision after the 

permit was issued;  

6. When the director determines good cause exists for 

modification of a compliance schedule, such as an act of 

God, strike, flood, or material shortage or other events over 

which the permittee has little or no control and for which 

there is no reasonably available remedy;  

7. When a modification of a closure plan is required under 

9VAC20-81-160, or 9VAC20-81-360, or 9VAC20-81-800 
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and the permittee has failed to submit a permit 

modification request within the specified period;  

8. When the corrective action program specified in the 

permit under 9VAC20-81-260 or 9VAC20-81-800 has not 

brought the facility into compliance with the groundwater 

protection standard within a reasonable period of time; or  

9. When cause exists for revocation under 9VAC20-81-570 

and the director determines that a modification is more 

appropriate.  

F. Permit modification at the request of the permittee.  

TABLE 5.2 

PERMIT MODIFICATIONS 

MAJOR 

1. Implementation of a 

groundwater corrective action 

program as required by 9VAC20-

81-260 or 9VAC20-81-800 

2. Change in the remedy applied as 

part of the groundwater corrective 

action program 

3. Groundwater monitoring plan 

for an existing facility where no 

written plan has previously been 

provided 

4. Changes to the design of final 

closure cover 

5. Landfill mining 

6. Reduction in the postclosure 

care period 

7. Changes in postclosure use of 

the property with disturbance of 

cover 

8. All new or modifications of a 

leachate collection tank or a 

leachate collection surface 

impoundment 

9. Addition of new landfill units 

10. Expansion or increase in 

capacity 

11. Increase in daily disposal limit 

12. Addition or modification of a 

liner, leachate collection system, 

leachate detection system 

13. Incorporation or modification 

of a Research, Development, and 

Demonstration Plan  

MINOR 

Any change not specified as major 

modification (above) or a permittee 

change (below) 

PERMITTEE 

CHANGE 

1. Correction of typographical 

errors 

2. Equipment replacement or 

upgrade with functionally 

equivalent components 

3. Replacement of an existing 

leachate tank with a tank that 

meets the same design standards 

and has a capacity within +/-10% 

of the replaced tank 

4. Replacement with functionally 

equivalent, upgrade, or relocation 

of emergency equipment 

5. Changes in name, address, or 

phone number of contact personnel 

6. Replacement of an existing well 

that has been damaged or rendered 

nonoperable, without change to 

location, design, or depth of the 

well 

7. Changes to the expected year of 

final closure, where other permit 

conditions are not changed 

8. Changes in postclosure use of 

the property, without disturbance 

of the cover 

9. Modification of a leachate tank 

management practice 

1. Permittee change. Items listed under Permittee Change 

in Table 5.2 may be implemented without approval of the 

department. If a permittee changes such an item, the 

permittee shall:  

a. Notify the department of the change at least 14 

calendar days before the change is put into effect, 

indicating the affected permit conditions; and 

b. Notify the governing body of the county, city, or town 

in which the facility is located, within 90 calendar days 

after the change is put into effect. 

2. Minor modifications.  

a. Minor modifications apply to minor changes that keep 

the permit current with routine changes to the facility or 

its operation. These changes do not substantially alter the 

permit conditions or reduce the capacity of the facility to 

protect human health or the environment. 
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b. Minor modifications may be requested for changes 

that will result in a facility being more protective of 

human health and the environment or equivalent to the 

standards contained in this chapter, unless otherwise 

noted in Table 5.2. The request for such a minor permit 

modification will be accompanied by a description of the 

desired change and an explanation of the manner in 

which the health and environment will be protected in a 

greater degree than required by the chapter. 

c. Minor permit modifications may be made only with 

the prior written approval of the department. The 

permittee shall notify the department that a minor 

modification is being requested. Notification of the 

department shall be provided by certified mail or other 

means that establish proof of delivery. This notice shall 

specify the changes being made to permit conditions or 

supporting documents referenced by the permit and shall 

include an explanation of why they are necessary. Along 

with the notice, the permittee shall provide the applicable 

information required by 9VAC20-81-460 and 9VAC20-

81-470 or as required by 9VAC20-81-480. 

d. The permittee shall send a notice of the modification 

to the governing body of the county, city or town in 

which the facility is located. This notification shall be 

made within 90 days after the department approves the 

request.  

3. Major modifications.  

a. Major modifications substantially alter the facility or 

its operation. Major modifications are listed in Table 5.2.  

b. The permittee shall submit a modification request to 

the department that:  

(1) Describes the exact change to be made to the permit 

conditions and supporting documents referenced by the 

permit;  

(2) Identifies that the alteration is a major modification;  

(3) Contains an explanation of why the modification is 

needed; and 

(4) Provides the applicable information required by 

9VAC20-81-460 and 9VAC20-81-470, by 9VAC20-81-

460 and 9VAC20-81-475, or as required by 9VAC20-81-

480.  

c. No later than 90 days after receipt of the notification 

request, the director will determine whether the 

information submitted under subdivision 3 b (4) of this 

subsection is adequate to formulate a decision. If found 

to be inadequate, the permittee will be requested to 

furnish additional information within 30 days of the 

request by the director to complete the modification 

request record. The 30-day period may be extended at the 

request of the applicant. After the completion of the 

record, the director will either:  

(1) Approve the modification request, with or without 

changes, and draft a permit modification accordingly; 

(2) Deny the request; or  

(3) Approve the request, with or without changes, as a 

temporary authorization having a term of up to 180 days 

in accordance with subdivision 3 of this subsection.  

d. If the director proposes to approve the permit 

modification, he will proceed with the permit issuance in 

accordance with 9VAC20-81-450 E.  

e. The director may deny or change the terms of a major 

permit modification request under subdivision F 3 b of 

this section for the following reasons:  

(1) The modification request is incomplete;  

(2) The requested modification does not comply with the 

appropriate requirements of Part III (9VAC20-81-100 et 

seq.) or, Part IV (9VAC20-81-300 et seq.), or Part VIII 

(9VAC20-81-800 et seq.) of this chapter or other 

applicable requirements; or  

(3) The conditions of the modification fail to protect 

human health and the environment.  

4. Temporary authorizations.  

a. Upon request of the permittee, the director may, 

without prior public notice and comment, grant the 

permittee a temporary authorization in accordance with 

the requirements of subdivision 4 of this subsection. 

Temporary authorizations shall have a term of not more 

than 180 days.  

b. (1) The permittee may request a temporary 

authorization for any major modification that meets the 

criteria in subdivision 4 c (2) (a) or (b) of this subsection; 

or that meets the criteria in subdivision 4 c (2) (c) and (d) 

of this subsection and provides improved management or 

treatment of a solid waste already listed in the facility 

permit.  

(2) The temporary authorization request shall include:  

(a) A description of the activities to be conducted under 

the temporary authorization;  

(b) An explanation of why the temporary authorization is 

necessary; and  

(c) Sufficient information to ensure compliance with the 

standards of Part III (9VAC20-81-100 et seq.) or, Part IV 

(9VAC20-81-300 et seq.), or Part VIII (9VAC20-81-800 

et seq.) standards of this chapter.  

(3) The permittee shall send a notice about the temporary 

authorization request to all persons on the facility mailing 

list. This notification shall be made within seven days of 

submission of the authorization request.  

c. The director shall approve or deny the temporary 

authorization as quickly as practical. To issue a 

temporary authorization, the director shall find:  

(1) The authorized activities are in compliance with the 

standards of Part III (9VAC20-81-100 et seq.) or, Part IV 
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(9VAC20-81-300 et seq.), or Part VIII (9VAC20-81-800 

et seq.) of this chapter.  

(2) The temporary authorization is necessary to achieve 

one of the following objectives before action is likely to 

be taken on an modification request:  

(a) To facilitate timely implementation of closure or 

corrective action activities;  

(b) To prevent disruption of ongoing waste management 

activities;  

(c) To enable the permittee to respond to sudden changes 

in the types or quantities of the wastes managed under 

the facility permit; or  

(d) To facilitate other changes to protect human health 

and the environment.  

d. A temporary authorization may be reissued for one 

additional term of up to 180 days provided that the 

permittee has requested a major permit modification for 

the activity covered in the temporary authorization, and 

the director determines that the reissued temporary 

authorization involving a major permit modification 

request is warranted to allow the authorized activities to 

continue while the modification procedures of 

subdivision 3 of this subsection are conducted.  

5. The director's decision to grant or deny a permit 

modification request under subdivision of this subsection 

may be appealed under the case decision provisions of the 

Virginia Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of 

the Code of Virginia).  

6. Newly defined or identified wastes. The permitted 

facility is authorized to continue to manage wastes defined 

or identified as solid waste under 9VAC20-81-95 if:  

a. It was in existence as a solid waste management 

facility with respect to the newly defined or identified 

solid waste on the effective date of the final rule defining 

or identifying the waste; and  

b. It is in compliance with the standards of Part III 

(9VAC20-81-100 et seq.) or, Part IV (9VAC 20-81-300 

et seq.), or Part VIII (9VAC20-81-800 et seq.) of this 

chapter, as applicable, with respect to the new waste, 

submits a minor modification request on or before the 

date on which the waste becomes subject to the new 

requirements; or  

c. It is not in compliance with the standards of Part III 

(9VAC 20-81-100 et seq.) or, Part IV (9VAC 20-81-300 

et seq.), or Part VIII (9VAC20-81-800 et seq.) of this 

chapter, as applicable, with respect to the new waste, also 

submits a complete permit modification request within 

180 days after the effective date of the definition or 

identifying the waste.  

7. Research, development and demonstration plans. 

Research, development and demonstration (RDD) plans 

may be submitted for sanitary landfills that meet the 

applicability requirements. These plans shall be submitted 

as a major permit modification application for existing 

sanitary landfills or as a part of the Part B application for 

new sanitary landfills. 

a. Applicability. 

(1) RDD shall be restricted to permitted sanitary landfills 

designed with a composite liner system, as required by 

9VAC20-81-130 J 1. The effectiveness of the liner 

system and leachate collection system shall be 

demonstrated in the plan and shall be assessed at the end 

of the testing period in order to compare the effectiveness 

of the systems to the start of the RDD testing period. 

(2) Operating permitted sanitary landfills that have 

exceeded groundwater protection standards at 

statistically significant levels in accordance with 

9VAC20-81-250 B, from any waste unit on site shall 

have implemented a remedy in accordance with 

9VAC20-81-260 C prior to the RDD plan submittal. 

Operating permitted sanitary landfills that have an 

exceedance in the concentration of methane gas 

migrating from the landfill in accordance with 9VAC20-

81-200 shall have a gas control system in place per 

9VAC20-81-200 B prior to the RDD plan submittal.  

(3) An owner or operator of a sanitary landfill that 

disposes of 20 tons of municipal solid waste per day or 

less, based on annual average, may not apply for a 

modification to include a RDD plan. 

(4) The sanitary landfill shall have a leachate collection 

system designed and constructed to maintain less than a 

30 cm depth of leachate on the liner. 

b. Requirements. 

(1) RDD Plans may be submitted for activities such as: 

(a) The addition of liquids in addition to leachate and gas 

condensate from the same landfill for accelerated 

decomposition of the waste mass;  

(b) Allowing run-on water to flow into the landfill waste 

mass;  

(c) Allowing testing of the construction and infiltration 

performance of alternative final cover systems; and 

(d) For other measures to be taken to enhance 

stabilization of the waste mass. 

(2) No landfill owner or operator may continue to 

implement an RDD plan beyond any time limit placed in 

the initial plan approval or any renewal without issuance 

of written prior approval by the department. Justification 

for renewals shall be based upon information in annual 

and final reports as well as research and findings in 

technical literature. 

(3) RDD plans may not include changes to the approved 

design and construction of subgrade preparation, liner 

system, leachate collection and removal systems, final 

cover system, gas and leachate systems outside the limits 
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of waste, run-off controls, run-on controls, or 

environmental monitoring systems exterior to the waste 

mass. 

(4) Implementation of an approved RDD plan shall 

comply with the specific conditions of the RDD Plan as 

approved in the permit for the initial testing period and 

any renewal. 

(5) Structures and features exterior to the waste mass or 

waste final grades shall be removed at the end of the 

testing period, unless otherwise approved by the 

department in writing. 

(6) The RDD plan may propose an alternate final cover 

installation schedule. 

c. An RDD plan shall include the following details and 

specifications. Processes other than adding liquids to the 

waste mass and leachate recirculation may be practiced 

in conjunction with the RDD plan. 

(1) Initial applications for RDD plans shall be submitted 

for review and approval prior to the initiation of the 

process to be tested. These plans shall specify the process 

that will be tested, describe preparation and operation of 

the process, describe waste types and characteristics that 

the process will affect, describe desired changes and end 

points that the process is intended to achieve, define 

testing methods and observations of the process or waste 

mass that are necessary to assess effectiveness of the 

process, and include technical literature references and 

research that support use of the process. The plans shall 

specify the time period for which the process will be 

tested. The plans shall specify the additional information, 

operating experience, data generation, or technical 

developments that the process to be tested is expected to 

generate.  

(2) The test period for the initial application shall be 

limited to a maximum of three years. 

(3) Renewals of testing periods shall be limited to a 

maximum of three years each. The maximum number of 

renewals shall be limited to three. 

(4) Renewals shall require department review and 

approval of reports of performance and progress on 

achievement of goals specified in the RDD plan. 

(5) RDD Plans for addition of liquids, in addition to 

leachate and gas condensate from the same landfill, for 

accelerated decomposition of the waste mass and/or or 

for allowing run-on water to flow into the landfill waste 

mass shall demonstrate that there is no increased risk to 

human health and the environment. The following 

minimum performance criteria shall be demonstrated. 

(a) Risk of contamination to groundwater or surface 

water will not be greater than the risk without an 

approved RDD plan. 

(b) Stability analysis demonstrating the physical stability 

of the landfill. 

(c) Landfill gas collection and control in accordance with 

applicable Clean Air Act requirements (i.e., Title V, 

NSPS or EG rule, etc.). 

(d) For RDD plans that include the addition of offsite 

nonhazardous waste liquids to the landfill, the following 

information shall be submitted with the RDD plan:  

(i) Demonstration of adequate facility liquid storage 

volume to receive the offsite liquid; 

(ii) A list of proposed characteristics for screening the 

accepted liquids is developed; and 

(iii) The quantity and quality of the liquids are 

compatible with the RDD plan.  

If offsite nonhazardous liquids are certified by the offsite 

generator as stormwater uncontaminated by solid waste, 

screening is not required for this liquid. 

(6) RDD plans for testing of the construction and 

infiltration performance of alternative final cover systems 

shall demonstrate that there is no increased risk to human 

health and the environment. The proposed final cover 

system shall be as protective as the final cover system 

required by 9VAC20-81-160 D. The following minimum 

performance criteria shall be demonstrated: 

(a) No build up of excess liquid in the waste and on the 

landfill liner; 

(b) Stability analysis demonstrating the physical stability 

of the landfill;  

(c) No moisture will escape from the landfill to the 

surface water or groundwater; and 

(d) Sufficient reduction in infiltration so that there will be 

no leakage of leachate from the landfill. 

(7) RDD plans that evaluate introduction of liquids in 

addition to leachate or gas condensate from the same 

landfill shall propose measures to be integrated with any 

approved leachate recirculation plan and compliance with 

requirements for leachate recirculation. 

(8) RDD plans shall include a description of warning 

symptoms and failure thresholds that will be used to 

initiate investigation, stand-by, termination, and changes 

to the process and any other landfill systems that might 

be affected by the process, such as gas extraction and 

leachate recirculation. Warning symptoms shall result in 

a reduction or suspension of liquids addition, leachate 

recirculation, investigation, and changes to be 

implemented before resuming the process being tested. 

Failure thresholds shall result in termination of the 

process being tested, investigation, and changes that will 

be submitted to the department for review and approval 

in writing prior to resumption of the process being tested. 

(9) RDD plans shall include an assessment of the manner 

in which the process to be tested might alter the impact 

that the landfill may have on human health or 

environmental quality. The assessment shall include both 
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beneficial and deleterious effects that could result from 

the process. 

(10) RDD plans shall include a geotechnical stability 

analysis of the waste mass and an assessment of the 

changes that the implementation of the plan are expected 

to achieve. The geotechnical stability analysis and 

assessment shall be repeated at the end of testing period, 

with alteration as needed to include parameters and 

parameter values derived from field measurements. The 

plan shall define relevant parameters and techniques for 

field measurement. 

(11) RDD plans shall propose monitoring parameters, 

frequencies, test methods, instrumentation, 

recordkeeping and reporting to the department for 

purposes of tracking and verifying goals of the process 

selected for testing. 

(12) RDD plans shall propose monitoring techniques and 

instrumentation for potential movements of waste mass 

and settlement of waste mass, including proposed time 

intervals and instrumentation, pertinent to the process 

selected for testing.  

(13) RDD plans shall propose construction 

documentation, construction quality control and 

construction quality assurance measures, and 

recordkeeping for construction and equipment 

installation that is part of the process selected for testing.  

(14) RDD plans shall propose operating practices and 

controls, staffing, monitoring parameters, and equipment 

needed to support operations of the process selected for 

testing.  

(15) RDD plans that include aeration of the waste mass 

shall include a temperature monitoring plan, a fire drill 

and safety program, instructions for use of liquids for 

control of temperature and fires in the waste mass, and 

instructions for investigation and repair of damage to the 

liner and leachate collection system.  

(16) RDD plans may include an alternate interim cover 

system and final cover installation schedule. The interim 

cover system shall be designed to account for weather 

conditions, slope stability, and leachate and gas 

generation. The interim cover shall also control, at a 

minimum, disease vectors, fires, odors, blowing litter, 

and scavenging. 

d. Reporting. An annual report shall be prepared for each 

year of the RDD testing period, including any renewal 

periods, and a final report shall be prepared for the end of 

the testing period. These reports shall assess the 

attainment of goals proposed for the process selected for 

testing, recommend changes, recommend further work, 

and summarize problems and their resolution. Reports 

shall include a summary of all monitoring data, testing 

data and observations of process or effects and shall 

include recommendations for continuance or termination 

of the process selected for testing. Annual reports shall 

be submitted to the department within three months after 

the anniversary date of the approved permit or permit 

modification. Final reports shall be submitted at least 90 

days prior to the end of the testing period for evaluation 

by the department. The department shall review this 

report within 90 days. If the department's evaluation 

indicates that the goals of the project have been met, are 

reliable and predictable, the department will provide a 

minor permit modification to incorporate the continued 

operation of the project with the appropriate monitoring. 

e. Termination. The department may require 

modifications to or immediate termination of the RDD 

process being tested if any of the following conditions 

occur: 

(1) Significant and persistent odors; 

(2) Significant leachate seeps or surface exposure of 

leachate; 

(3) Significant leachate head on the liner; 

(4) Excessively acidic leachate chemistry or gas 

production rates or other monitoring data indicate poor 

waste decomposition conditions; 

(5) Instability in the waste mass; or  

(6) Other persistent and deleterious effects. 

The RDD program is an optional participation program, 

by accepting the modification or new permit, the 

applicant acknowledges that the program is optional; and 

that they are aware the department may provide 

suspension or termination of the RDD program for any 

reasonable cause, without a public hearing. Notice of 

suspension or termination will be by letter for a cause 

related to a technical problem, nuisance problem, or for 

protection of human health or the environment as 

determined by the department. 

 

G. Facility siting. The suitability of the facility location will 

not be considered at the time of permit modification unless 

new information or standards indicate that an endangerment 

to human health or the environment exists which was 

unknown at the time of permit issuance or the modification is 

for an expansion or increase in capacity.  

Part VI 

Special Wastes 

9VAC20-81-610. General. 

A. The requirements and standards contained in this part 

apply to solid waste that requires special handling and 

precautions and are in addition to the general requirements 

contained in Part III (9VAC20-81-100 et seq.) and, Part IV 

(9VAC20-81-300 et seq.), and Part VIII (9VAC20-81-800 et 

seq.) of this chapter, as applicable.  

1. Facilities may receive solid waste that requires special 

handling for processing or disposal only with specific 
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approval of the director or by specific provisions within the 

facility permit. The operator should contact the department 

for advice about new or unusual wastes and proper 

handling techniques. If it is not clear that a particular waste 

is within the authorized wastes that a permitted facility 

may receive, it is required that the operator receive a letter 

of clarification from the department before receiving the 

waste.  

2. Nothing in this part shall limit or affect the power of the 

director, by his order, to prohibit storage, treatment, or 

disposal of any waste or require special handling 

requirements he determines are necessary to protect the 

public health or the environment.  

B. The requirements and standards contained in this part 

also apply to specific materials that are used in a manner that 

constitutes disposal.  

Part VII 

Variance Application Procedures 

9VAC20-81-700. General. 

A. Any person affected by this chapter may apply to the 

department for a variance from any requirement of this 

chapter. Variance determinations shall be subject to the 

provisions of the Virginia Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-

4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).  

B. The department shall not accept any variance application 

relating to:  

1. Equivalent testing or analytical methods contained in 

EPA Publication SW-846;  

2. Definition of solid waste contained in 9VAC20-81-95;  

3. Criteria used for classification of solid waste disposal 

facilities contained in 40 CFR Parts 257 and 258, as 

amended; and  

4. A change in the regulatory requirements that the 

applicant is currently violating until such time as the 

violation has been resolved through the enforcement 

process; and 

5. Any of the requirements of Part VIII (9VAC20-81-800 

et seq.) of this chapter. 

Part VIII 

Requirements for the Management of Coal Combustion 

Residuals 

9VAC20-81-800. Adoption of 40 CFR Part 257 Subpart D 

by reference - Standards for the Disposal of Coal 

Combustion Residuals in Landfills and Surface 

Impoundments. 

A. Except as otherwise provided, those regulations of the 

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency set forth in Subpart D 

of 40 CFR Part 257, wherein they relate to standards for the 

disposal of coal combustion residuals in landfills and surface 

impoundments, are hereby incorporated as part of the 

Virginia Solid Waste Management Regulations, 9VAC20-81. 

Except as otherwise provided, all material definitions, 

reference materials, and other ancillaries that are a part of 

incorporated sections of 40 CFR Part 257 are also hereby 

incorporated as part of the Virginia Solid Waste Management 

Regulations. 

B. In all locations in this chapter where text from 40 CFR 

Part 257 is incorporated by reference, the following additions, 

modifications, and exceptions shall amend the incorporated 

text for the purpose of its incorporation into this chapter. The 

following terms, where they appear in the Code of Federal 

Regulations shall, for the purpose of this chapter, have the 

following meanings or interpretations:  

1. "Director" shall supplant the "State Director" wherever it 

appears.  

2. "Qualified professional engineer" or "engineer" means a 

"professional engineer" certified to practice in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia as defined in 9VAC20-81-10. 

C. Definitions in 40 CFR 257.53 are incorporated by 

reference into this part and are applicable to CCR landfills 

and CCR surface impoundments.  

9VAC20-81-810. Permits for CCR landfills and CCR 

surface impoundments. 

A. CCR landfills are a specific type of industrial landfill. 

Permit requirements for industrial landfills are outlined in 

Part III (9VAC20-81-100 et seq.) and Part V (9VAC20-81-

400 et seq.) of this chapter and must be complied with in 

addition to the requirements applicable to CCR landfills 

found in this part. Existing CCR landfills shall submit a 

complete permit application no later than October 17, 2017. 

Owners and operators of new CCR landfills are required to 

submit to the director a permit application for an industrial 

landfill that meets the requirements of this chapter and 

receive a permit for an industrial landfill prior to the initial 

receipt of CCR in the CCR unit. An application for a CCR 

landfill or lateral expansion of a CCR landfill shall include 

the following: 

1. Location restriction demonstrations required by 40 CFR 

257.60, 40 CFR 257.61, 40 CFR 257.62, 40 CFR 257.63, 

and 40 FR 257.64, as applicable;  

2. Description of the CCR landfill's design criteria required 

by 40 CFR 257.70 (new CCR landfill or lateral expansion 

of a CCR landfill);  

3. Description of how the CCR landfill's operating criteria 

required by 40 CFR 257.80, 40 CFR 257.81, and 40 CFR 

257.84 are met;  

4. Explanation of how groundwater monitoring and 

corrective action criteria required by 40 CFR 257.90, 

40 CFR 257.91, 40 CFR 257.93, 40 CFR 257.94, 40 CFR 

257.95, 40 CFR 257.96, 40 CFR 257.97, and 40 CFR 

257.98 are met; 

5. Explanation of how closure and post-closure care 

requirements found in 40 CFR 257.101, 40 CFR 257.102, 

40 CFR 257.103, and 40 CFR 257.104 will be met;  
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6. Website address for information required to be posted by 

40 CFR 257.105, 40 CFR 257.106, and 40 CFR 257.107; 

and 

7. Part III requirements concerning industrial landfills. If 

more than one standard is listed, the more stringent 

standard is to be complied with unless the director has 

granted a variance to a more stringent state specific 

standard. 

B. Existing CCR surface impoundments are required to 

submit to the director a permit application for a CCR surface 

impoundment permit that meets the requirements of this 

chapter before October 17, 2017. New CCR surface 

impoundments are required to submit to the director a permit 

application for a surface impoundment that meets the 

requirements of this chapter prior to the initial receipt of CCR 

in the CCR unit. An application for a CCR surface 

impoundment shall include the following: 

1. Location restriction demonstrations required by 40 CFR 

257.60, 40 CFR 257.61, 40 CFR 257.62, 40 CFR 257.63, 

and 40 FR 257.64;  

2. Description of the CCR surface impoundment's design 

criteria required by 40 CFR 257.71 (existing CCR surface 

impoundments), 40 CFR 257.72 (new CCR surface 

impoundments and lateral expansions), 40 CFR 257.73 

(existing CCR surface impoundments), and 40 CFR 257.74 

(new CCR surface impoundments and lateral expansions) 

as applicable;  

3. Description of how the CCR surface impoundment's 

operating criteria required by 40 CFR 257.80, 40 CFR 

257.82, and 40 CFR 257.83 are met;  

4. Explanation of how groundwater monitoring and 

corrective action criteria required by 40 CFR 257.90, 

40 CFR 257.91, 40 CFR 257.93, 40 CFR 257.94, 40 CFR 

257.95, 40 CFR 257.96, 40 CFR 257.97, and 40 CFR 

257.98 are met; 

5. Explanation of how closure and post-closure care 

requirements found in 40 CFR 257.101, 40 CFR 257.102, 

40 CFR 257.103, and 40 CFR 257.104 will be met; and  

6. Website address for information required to be posted by 

40 CFR 257.105, 40 CFR 257.106, and 40 CFR 257.107. 

C. CCR landfills and new and existing surface 

impoundments are required to comply with the applicable 

permitting provisions in Part V (9VAC20-81-400 et seq.) of 

this chapter, including Virginia public participation 

requirements. 

D. Inactive CCR surface impoundments were not subject to 

(i) this chapter during their operating life or (ii) a solid waste 

permit for operation. Inactive CCR surface impoundments are 

subject to a solid waste permit to address closure and post-

closure, as applicable, except where the applicable 

requirements are included in an existing solid waste permit or 

a permit issued under State Water Control Law. 

9VAC20-81-820. Inactive surface impoundments. 

A. No later than December 17, 2015, the owner or operator 

of an inactive surface impoundment must prepare and place in 

the facility's operating record a notification of intent to 

initiate closure of the CCR surface impoundment. 

B. An owner or operator of an inactive CCR surface 

impoundment shall complete closure of the CCR unit as 

specified in 40 CFR 257.100 no later than April 17, 2018, or 

submit a permit application for an existing CCR surface 

impoundment.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4272; Filed December 7, 2015, 4:01 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 

exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The Virginia Waste Management 

Board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 

or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC20-85. Coal Combustion 

Byproduct Regulations (amending 9VAC20-85-10, 

9VAC20-85-20, 9VAC20-85-40, 9VAC20-85-70, 9VAC20-

85-90).  

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1402 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 6941 et seq.; 40 CFR Part 257. 

Effective Date: January 27, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Justin Williams, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4185, FAX (804) 

698-4234, or email justin.williams@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

On April 17, 2015, the U.S. Environmental Protection 

Agency published a final rule in the Federal Register titled 

"Disposal of Coal Combustion Residuals from Electric 

Utilities." The federal rule became effective on October 19, 

2015. Virginia previously adopted regulations concerning 

the use of coal combustion byproducts (9VAC20-85), which 

need to be revised to be consistent with the new federal 

rule. Virginia's rule regulates the use of coal combustion 

byproducts (CCB) and the federal rule regulates coal 

combustion residuals (CCR). CCR are a specific type of 

CCB, and definitions, applicability, and a locational 

restriction are being revised to be consistent with the 

federal rule.  
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Part I  

Definitions  

9VAC20-85-10. Definitions as established in Solid Waste 

Management Regulations.  

The definitions set out in Part I of the Solid Waste 

Management Regulations, 9VAC20-81, are incorporated by 

reference.  

9VAC20-85-20. Definitions.  

In addition to the definitions incorporated by reference, the 

following words and terms shall have, for the purpose of this 

chapter, the following meanings:  

"ASTM" means the American Society for Testing and 

Materials.  

"CCB" means coal combustion byproducts.  

"Closure" means the act of securing a fossil fuel combustion 

products site pursuant to the requirements of this chapter.  

"Coal combustion byproducts" or "CCB" means residuals, 

including fly ash, bottom ash, boiler slag, and flue gas 

emission control waste produced by coal-fired electrical or 

steam generating units burning coal. CCB includes both CCR 

and non-CCR wastes identified by this definition. 

"Coal combustion residuals" or "CCR" means fly ash, 

bottom ash, boiler slag, and flue gas desulfurization materials 

generated from burning coal for the purpose of generating 

electricity by electric utilities and independent power 

producers. CCR is a specific type of CCB.  

"Department" means the Department of Environmental 

Quality.  

"Director" means the Director of the Department of 

Environmental Quality or the Director of the Department of 

Mines, Minerals and Energy depending on the context.  

"Fossil fuel combustion products" means coal combustion 

byproducts as defined in this regulation, coal combustion 

byproducts generated at facilities with fluidized bed 

combustion technology, petroleum coke combustion 

byproducts, byproducts from the combustion of oil, 

byproducts from the combustion of natural gas, and 

byproducts from the combustion of mixtures of coal and 

"other fuels" (i.e., co-burning of coal with "other fuels" where 

coal is at least 50% of the total fuel). For purposes of this 

definition, "other fuels" means waste-derived fuel product, 

auto shredder fluff, wood wastes, coal mill rejects, peat, tall 

oil, tire-derived fuel, deionizer resins, and used oil.  

"Fossil fuel combustion products site" means all land and 

structures, other appurtenances, and improvements on them 

used to manage fossil fuel combustion products by the 

methods included in either 9VAC20-85-40 A or B.  

"Perennial stream" means a stream or part of a stream that 

flows continuously during all of the calendar year as a result 

of groundwater discharge or surface runoff.  

"Speculatively accumulated material" means any material 

that is accumulated before being used, reused, or reclaimed or 

in anticipation of potential use, reuse, or reclamation. Fossil 

fuel combustion products are not being accumulated 

speculatively when they can be used, reused, or reclaimed, 

have a feasible means of use, reuse, or reclamation available 

and 75% of the accumulated fossil fuel combustion products 

are being removed from the storage annually.  

"TCLP" means a chemical analytical procedure described in 

the Virginia Hazardous Waste Management Regulations, 

9VAC20-60.  

"Waste derived fuel product" means a solid waste or 

combination of solid wastes that have been treated (altered 

physically, chemically, or biologically) to produce a fuel 

product with a minimum heating value of 5,000 BTU/lb. 

Solid wastes used to produce a waste derived fuel product 

must have a heating value, or act as binders, and may not be 

added to the fuel for the purpose of disposal. Waste 

ingredients may not be listed or characteristic hazardous 

wastes. The fuel product must be stable at ambient 

temperature, and not degraded by exposure to the elements. 

This material may not be "Refuse Derived Fuel "refuse 

derived fuel (RDF)" as defined in 9VAC5-40-890.  

9VAC20-85-40. Applicability.  

A. This chapter applies to all persons who use, reuse, or 

reclaim fossil fuel combustion products by applying them to 

or placing them on land in a manner other than addressed in 

9VAC20-81-95 of the Solid Waste Management Regulations. 

9VAC20-81-95 provides for the beneficial use of waste 

materials such as fossil fuel combustion products, and 

provides for conditional exemptions from regulation for fossil 

fuel combustion products. This chapter also applies to all 

persons who use, reuse, or reclaim 12,400 tons or less of 

unencapsulated CCR on the land in nonroadway applications.  

B. This chapter establishes minimum standards for the 

owners or operators of coal mining facilities that accept CCB 

for mine reclamation or mine refuse disposal on a mine site 

permitted by the Virginia Department of Mines, Minerals and 

Energy (DMME) unless otherwise exempt under 9VAC20-

81-95 D 18 of the Solid Waste Management Regulations. If 

the permit issued by the DMME in accordance with the 

Virginia Coal Surface Mining Reclamation Regulations, 

4VAC25-130-700.1 et seq., specifies the applicable 

conditions set forth in Parts III (9VAC20-85-70 et seq.) and 

IV (9VAC20-85-150 et seq.) of this chapter, the permittee is 

exempt from this chapter.  

C. Conditions of applicability are as follows:  

1. Persons using fossil fuel combustion products other than 

in a manner prescribed under this chapter, or managing 

fossil fuel combustion products containing any constituent 

at a level exceeding levels set forth in Table 1 in Part IV of 

this chapter, shall manage their waste in accordance with 

all applicable provisions of the Solid Waste Management 

Regulations, 9VAC20-81;  
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2. Materials which are accumulated speculatively, 

materials which are not utilized in a manner described in 

the operation plan required by 9VAC20-85-90 of this 

chapter, and off-specification materials which cannot be 

utilized or reprocessed to make them usable shall be 

managed in accordance with all appropriate provisions of 

the Solid Waste Management Regulations, 9VAC20-81; 

and  

3. Storage, stockpiling, and other processing or handling of 

fossil fuel combustion products, which may need to occur 

prior to their final placement or use, reuse, or reclamation, 

shall be in a manner necessary to protect human health and 

safety and the environment. For projects permitted by the 

DMME, the storage, stockpiling, or handling of CCB shall 

be managed in accordance with the Virginia Coal Surface 

Mining Reclamation Regulations, 4VAC25-130-700.1 et 

seq.  

4. Use, reuse, or reclamation of greater than 12,400 tons of 

unencapsulated CCR on the land in nonroadway 

applications shall be managed in accordance with all 

applicable provisions of the Solid Waste Management 

Regulations, 9VAC20-81. 

Part III  

Management Standards  

Article 1  

Locational Restrictions  

9VAC20-85-70. Locational restrictions.  

Fossil fuel combustion products used, reused, or reclaimed 

on or below ground shall not be placed:  

1. In areas subject to base floods unless it can be shown 

that fossil fuel combustion products can be protected from 

inundation or washout and that flow of water is not 

restricted, except for unamended coal combustion 

byproduct which shall not be placed in areas subject to 

base floods;  

2. With the vertical separation between the fossil fuel 

combustion products and the maximum seasonal water 

table less than five feet or bedrock less than two feet;  

3. Closer than:  

a. 100 feet of any perennial stream,  

b. 100 feet of any water well (other than a monitoring 

well) in existence at the onset of the project,  

c. 25 feet of a bedrock outcrop, unless the outcrop is 

properly treated to minimize infiltration into fractured 

zones,  

d. 100 feet of a sinkhole, or  

e. 25 feet from any property boundary or, in the case of 

projects permitted by the DMME, 25 feet from the permit 

boundary.  

(NOTE: All distances are to be measured in the 

horizontal plane.)  

4. In wetlands, unless applicable federal, state and local 

permits are obtained; and  

5. On the site of an active or inactive dump, unpermitted 

landfill, lagoon, or similar facility, even if such facility is 

closed.  

Article 3  

Operations  

9VAC20-85-90. Operations.  

The owner or operator of a fossil fuel combustion products 

site shall prepare an operation plan. At a minimum, the plan 

shall address the requirements contained in this section.  

1. Tracking of mud or fossil fuel combustion products onto 

public roads from the site shall be controlled at all times to 

minimize nuisances.  

2. The addition of any solid waste including but not limited 

to hazardous, infectious, construction, debris, demolition, 

industrial, petroleum-contaminated soil, or municipal solid 

waste to fossil fuel combustion products is prohibited. This 

prohibition does not apply to solid wastes from the 

extraction, beneficiation and processing of ores and 

minerals conditionally exempted under 9VAC20-81-95 E 3 

of the Solid Waste Management Regulations.  

3. Fugitive dust shall be controlled at the site so it does not 

constitute nuisances or hazards.  

4. After preparing the subbase, fossil fuel combustion 

products shall be placed uniformly and compacted to 

standards, including insitu density, compaction effort and 

relative density as specified by a registered professional 

engineer based on the intended use of the fossil fuel 

combustion products. The placement and compaction of 

CCB on coal mine sites shall be subject to the applicable 

requirements of the Coal Surface Mining Reclamation 

Regulations, 4VAC25-130-700.1 et seq.  

5. A surface run on and runoff control program shall be 

implemented to control and reduce the infiltration of 

surface water through the fossil fuel combustion products 

and to control the runoff from the placement area to other 

areas and to surface waters.  

6. Runoff shall not be permitted to drain or discharge into 

surface waters except when in accordance with 9VAC25-

10-10 et seq., of the State Water Control Board, or 

otherwise approved by the department.  

7. Fossil fuel combustion products site development shall 

be in accordance with the Virginia Erosion and Sediment 

Control Regulations, 4VAC50-30 9VAC25-840, or the 

Coal Surface Mining Reclamation Regulations, 4VAC25-

130-700.1 et seq., as applicable.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4371; Filed December 7, 2015, 4:02 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-90. Methods and Standards 

for Establishing Payment Rates for Long-Term Care 

(amending 12VAC30-90-10, 12VAC30-90-36, 12VAC30-

90-37, 12VAC30-90-41, 12VAC30-90-44, 12VAC30-90-55, 

12VAC30-90-60, 12VAC30-90-65, 12VAC30-90-170, 

12VAC30-90-180, 12VAC30-90-306; adding 12VAC30-90-

267; repealing 12VAC30-90-20).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: January 27, 2016. 

Effective Date: February 11, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Victoria Simmons, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 

Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

371-6043, FAX (804) 786-1680, TTY (800) 343-0634, or 

email victoria.simmons@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia grants to the 

Board of Medical Assistance Services the authority to 

administer and amend the Plan for Medical Assistance. 

Section 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

Director of the Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) to administer and amend the Plan for Medical 

Assistance according to the board's requirements. The 

Medicaid authority as established by § 1902(a) of the Social 

Security Act (42 USC § 1396a) provides governing authority 

for payments for services. DMAS is relying on this general 

authority to recommend the addition of the new text in 

12VAC30-90-267 concerning private room differential 

payments.  

Based on authority under Item 301 KKK of Chapter 2 of the 

2014 Acts of the Assembly, Special Session I, and Item 301 

KKK of Chapter 665 of the 2015 Acts of the Assembly, this 

action replaces the existing cost-based nursing facility 

payment methodology with a price-based methodology and 

adjusts the reimbursement for capital. This legislative 

mandate also directed DMAS to reimburse the price-based 

operating rate rather than the transition operating rate to any 

nursing facility whose licensed bed capacity decreased by at 

least 30 beds after 2011 and occupancy increased from less 

than 70% in 2011 to more than 80% in 2013. 

Purpose: The purpose of this action is to replace the current 

cost-based methodology with the recommended price-based 

methodology. This action does not directly affect the health, 

safety, and welfare of citizens of the Commonwealth. It does 

affect nursing facility providers who provide care to their 

residents. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: This regulatory 

action is being promulgated using the fast-track rulemaking 

process as the affected industry has agreed to the department 

using this part of the regulatory process. The nursing home 

industry has been actively consulted about these changes and 

its comments have been addressed in this proposal. 

Substance: The current cost-based payment methodology 

reimburses nursing facilities based on each facility's operating 

costs in the prior year inflated to the rate year subject to 

ceilings for defined peer groups. Other costs, including 

capital, nurse aide training, and administrative costs, are also 

reimbursed on a retrospective basis. Currently, there is no 

additional reimbursement provided when a nursing facility 

resident has a medical need to be placed in a private room. 

12VAC30-90-10, 12VAC30-90-41, 12VAC30-90-55, 

12VAC30-90-60, 12VAC30-90-65 are being amended and 

12VAC30-90-44 is being established to convert nursing 

facility reimbursement from cost-based reimbursement to a 

price-based payment methodology. The new price-based 

payment methodology creates prospective payment 

components for direct and indirect operating costs by peer 

group. The cost per day will be 105.000% of the direct 

operating day-weighted median for each direct peer group 

and 100.735% of the indirect operating day-weighted median 

for each indirect peer group. These price-based rates for the 

operating components will be calculated using nursing 

facility cost report data in a base year and rebased at least 

every three years. The price-based rates will also be adjusted 

by a spending floor to limit the potential gain of low cost 

facilities, thereby making it possible to implement higher 

adjustment factors for other facilities at less cost.  

The direct operating component will be adjusted by the 

Resource Utilization Group (RUG) weights as defined in 

12VAC30-90-306 case-mix index (CMI) to reflect the RUG 

for each nursing facility resident. DMAS shall transition from 

the RUG-III 34 Medicaid grouper in 12VAC30-90-306 to the 

RUG-IV 48 grouper in state fiscal year (SFY) 2018.  

DMAS will transition to the new methodology over the next 

four years in 25% increments. For the first transition period, 

the direct operating rates from July 1, 2014, through October 

31, 2014, shall be case-mix adjusted on a facility basis using 

the two most recent facility average quarterly CMI scores. 

Effective November 1, 2014, nursing facility claims will be 

reimbursed based on the RUG submitted on individual 

claims. The RUG weight will be applied to direct operating 

components to adjust the claim payment for the individual's 

CMI score.  

12VAC30-90-36 and 12VAC30-90-37 are being amended to 

convert the existing capital reimbursement to a fully 

prospective reimbursement using the same fair rental value 

(FRV) methodology. These sections are also being amended 

to reduce the FRV rental rate from 8.5% to 8.0%. The new 
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methodology also establishes a $3,000 per bed threshold for 

major renovation and a mid-year process for adjusting the 

FRV rate.  

12VAC30-90-170 is being amended to reimburse nurse aide 

training competency evaluation programs (NATCEPs) costs 

in a prospective manner. The NATCEPs per diem will be 

calculated by dividing costs by days and inflating to the rate 

year.  

12VAC30-90-180 is being amended to reimburse criminal 

records checks (CRC) costs in a prospective per diem. CRC 

costs will be calculated by dividing total costs by days and 

paid prospectively.  

The capital, NATCEPs, and CRC rate components shall be 

recalculated annually from one year more recent cost report 

data.  

The total per diem amount paid to nursing facilities will be 

the sum of the case-mix adjusted direct operating per diem, 

the indirect operating per diem, the capital per diem, the 

NATCEPs per diem, and the CRC per diem.  

The proposed changes were estimated to be budget neutral in 

the aggregate prior to the additional reductions in the rental 

rate floor. Individual facility payments may increase or 

decrease under the new methodology; however, the new 

payment methodology is not expected to increase or reduce 

annual payments for nursing facilities in aggregate.  

12VAC30-90-267 is established to authorize a private room 

differential for individuals when the accommodation is 

medically necessary. The additional payment amount shall be 

authorized based on medical necessity criteria established by 

DMAS. 

Issues: The actions identified in this action do not impact the 

public so there are no advantages or disadvantages for 

citizens. These actions change the reimbursement 

methodology for nursing facilities. The primary advantage to 

the agency and the Commonwealth is replacing an outdated 

cost-based methodology with more efficient and effective 

prospective reimbursement. There is no disadvantage to the 

agency or the Commonwealth. There are no other pertinent 

matters of interest to the regulated community, government 

officials, or the public. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Item 301 KKK of Chapter 2 of the 2014 Acts of 

the Assembly and Item 301 KKK of Chapter 665 of the 2015 

Acts of the Assembly, the proposed changes replace the 

existing cost-based nursing facility payment methodology 

with a price-based methodology and adjust the reimbursement 

for capital costs. The proposed changes have already been 

implemented between July 1, 2014, and November 1, 2014. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Prior to July 1, 2014, nursing 

facilities were reimbursed according to a cost-based payment 

methodology based on each facility's operating costs in the 

prior year inflated to the rate year subject to ceilings for 

defined peer groups. Other costs, including capital, nurse aide 

training, and administrative costs, were also reimbursed on a 

retrospective basis. Moreover, there was no additional 

reimbursement provided when a nursing facility resident had 

a medical need to be placed in a private room. 

Pursuant to Item 301 KKK of Chapter 2 of the 2014 Acts of 

the Assembly and Item 301 KKK of Chapter 665 of the 2015 

Acts of the Assembly, the proposed changes replace the 

existing cost-based nursing facility payment methodology 

with a price-based methodology and adjust the reimbursement 

for capital costs. The Department of Medical Assistance 

Services (DMAS) implemented the new methodology 

between July 1, 2014, and November 1, 2014. The proposed 

changes will update the regulations to reflect the new price-

based methodology. 

The new price-based payment methodology creates 

prospective payment components for direct and indirect 

operating nursing home costs by peer group. The cost per day 

will be 105.000 percent of the direct operating day-weighted 

median for each direct peer group and 100.735 percent of the 

indirect operating day-weighted median for each indirect peer 

group. These price-based rates for the operating components 

will be calculated using nursing facility cost report data in a 

base year and rebased at least every three years. The price-

based rates will also be adjusted by a spending floor to limit 

the potential gain of low cost facilities, thereby making it 

possible to implement higher adjustment factors for other 

facilities at less cost. 

The direct operating component will be adjusted by the 

Resource Utilization Group (RUG) weights to reflect the 

RUG for each nursing facility resident. RUG is a resident 

classification system that groups nursing facility residents 

according to resource utilization and assigns weights related 

to the resource utilization for each classification. DMAS will 

also transition from the RUG-III 34 Medicaid grouper to a 

newer RUG-IV 48 grouper in fiscal year (FY) 2018. 

Moreover, DMAS will transition to the new methodology 

over the next four years in 25 percent increments. For the first 

transition period, the direct operating rates from July 1, 2014, 

to October 31, 2014, will be case-mix adjusted on a facility 

basis using the two most recent facility average quarterly 

Case Mix Index (CMI) scores. The RUG weight will be 

applied to direct operating component to adjust the claim 

payment for the individual's CMI score. Effective November 

1, 2014, nursing facility claims have been reimbursed based 

on the RUG submitted on individual claims. 

The legislative mandate also directs DMAS to reimburse the 

price-based operating rate rather than the transition operating 

rate to any nursing facility whose licensed bed capacity 

decreased by at least 30 beds after 2011 and occupancy 
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increased from less than 70 percent in 2011 to more than 80 

percent in 2013. 

Additionally, the existing capital reimbursement methodology 

will be converted to a fully prospective reimbursement using 

the same Fair Rental Value (FRV) methodology. The capital 

reimbursement methodology is being amended to reduce the 

FRV rental rate from 8.5 percent to 8.0 percent. The new 

methodology also establishes a $3,000 per bed threshold for 

major renovation and a mid-year process for adjusting the 

FRV rate. 

The Nurse Aide Training Competency Evaluation Programs 

(NATCEPs) will also be reimbursed their costs in a 

prospective manner also. The NATCEPs per diem will be 

calculated by dividing costs by days and inflating to the rate 

year.  

Criminal Records Checks (CRC) costs will be reimbursed 

based on a prospective per diem rate. CRC costs will be 

calculated by dividing total costs by days and paid 

prospectively.  

The capital, NATCEPs, and CRC rate components will be 

recalculated annually from one year more recent cost report 

data.  

A private room differential for individuals when the 

accommodation is medically necessary will also be allowed. 

The additional payment amount will be allowed based on 

medical necessity criteria established by DMAS. 

In summary, the total per diem amount paid to nursing 

facilities will be the sum of the case-mix adjusted direct 

operating per diem, the indirect operating per diem, the 

capital per diem, the NATCEPs per diem, and the CRC per 

diem. 

This action will likely increase the efficiency of 

reimbursement for nursing home services to some extent. 

Under the new system, nursing homes will receive a fixed 

payment for a specific service for a period of three years 

between the rebasing. During the three-year rebasing period, 

payments will be adjusted periodically to account for 

inflation, for cost of living in certain geographical locations, 

etc., but will not accommodate individual nursing facilities. 

Each facility will receive the same base payment for the same 

service adjusted for geographic location regardless of facility 

specific costs. Since the base reimbursement rate is calculated 

using cost data from all nursing homes, inefficient facilities 

will receive less than what they receive under the cost-based 

methodology and efficient facilities will receive more than 

what they receive under the cost-based methodology. Thus, 

all nursing facilities will have an incentive to keep their costs 

as low as possible to maximize their profit. Lower costs, in 

turn, will lead to lower reimbursement rates when the rates 

are rebased every three years. Over time, inefficient nursing 

homes will be forced to improve their efficiency and reduce 

costs which in turn will push reimbursement rates down to a 

lower level on a continuing basis. 

The proposed changes were estimated to be budget neutral in 

the aggregate prior to the additional reductions in the rental 

rate floor. In FY 2015, the total Medicaid reimbursement to 

nursing homes was approximately $866 million. However, 

the reimbursements to individual nursing homes may increase 

or decrease under the new methodology. Based on FY 2015 

data and assuming full implementation, 90 nursing homes 

will receive $100,000 to $1.9 million less, 66 nursing homes 

will receive $0 to $99,999 less, 27 nursing homes will receive 

$1 to $99,999 more, and 83 nursing homes will receive 

$100,000 to $1.3 million more in their reimbursements 

compared to payments under the old methodology. 

To some extent, this action will also increase the 

predictability of reimbursement during the three-year 

rebasing period. Since fixed rates will be paid for services, 

the total reimbursement will be driven mainly by utilization 

and not by hospital specific cost factors. 

The new methodology is also expected to reduce DMAS's 

administrative costs associated with cost settlement of claims 

for about $500,000 per year after the second year of 

implementation. On the other hand, approximately $640,000 

in additional administrative costs on DMAS is expected to 

modify its information technology to incorporate this 

methodology. The impact on administrative costs of providers 

is expected to be minimal as they will continue to submit 

claims in the same manner. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed changes 

apply to approximately 266 nursing facilities. DMAS 

estimates that about 24 facilities may qualify as small 

businesses because they have less than 120 beds and are not 

part of a nursing home national chain, a hospital, or a 

continuing care retirement community. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The regulations apply 

throughout the Commonwealth. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The new methodology will 

reduce reimbursement for inefficient nursing homes while 

increasing reimbursement for efficient nursing homes. 

Inefficient facilities may reduce their demand for labor while 

efficient facilities may increase their demand for labor. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The new 

methodology will reduce reimbursement for 156 nursing 

homes while increasing reimbursement for 110 facilities. The 

asset values of the affected nursing homes would be affected 

depending on the impact on their revenues. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to significantly affect real estate development 

costs. 

Small Businesses
1
:  

Costs and Other Effects. About 24 nursing homes are 

estimated to be small businesses. The costs and other effects 

on them would the same as discussed above. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There is 

no known alternative that would minimize the adverse impact 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 9 Virginia Register of Regulations December 28, 2015 

1639 

on inefficient nursing facilities while accomplishing the same 

goals. 

Adverse Impacts:  

Businesses: Majority of nursing homes are not small 

businesses. The costs and other effects on them would the 

same as discussed above. 

Localities: The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities: The proposed amendments are expected to 

introduce approximately $640,000 in additional 

administrative costs on DMAS to modify its information 

technology to incorporate the new methodology. 

___________________________________________ 
1Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has 
gross annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency has reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared 

by the Department of Planning and Budget regarding Nursing 

Facility Price Based Reimbursement (12VAC30-90). The 

agency raises no issues with this analysis. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Item 301 KKK of Chapter 2 of the 2014 Acts of 

the Assembly, Special Session I, and Item 301 KKK of 

Chapter 665 of the 2015 Acts of the Assembly, the 

amendments replace the existing cost-based nursing 

facility payment methodology with a price-based 

methodology and adjust the reimbursement for capital 

costs. 

Part I  

Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates for 

Long-Term Care  

12VAC30-90-10. Methods and standards for establishing 

payment rates for long-term care.  

The policy and the method to be used in establishing 

payment rates for nursing facilities listed in § 1905(a) of the 

Social Security Act and included in this State Plan for 

Medical Assistance are described in the following paragraphs.  

1. Reimbursement and payment criteria will be established 

which are designed to enlist participation of a sufficient 

number of providers of services in the Program so that 

eligible persons can receive the medical care and services 

included in the Plan to the extent these are available to the 

general population.  

2. Participation in the Program will be limited to providers 

of services who accept, as payment in full, the amounts so 

paid.  

3. Payment for care of service will not exceed the amounts 

indicated to be reimbursed in accord with the policy and 

the methods described in the Plan and payments will not be 

made in excess of the upper limits described in 42 CFR 

447.253(b)(2). The state agency has continuing access to 

data identifying the maximum charges allowed. Such data 

will be made available to the Secretary of Health and 

Human Services upon request.  

4. Payments for services to nonstate-owned nursing 

facilities shall be on the basis of reasonable cost in 

accordance with the standards and principles set forth in 42 

CFR 447.252 as follows: based on methodologies set out 

in 12VAC30-90-44 of the Nursing Home Payment System 

(Part II (12VAC30-90-19 et seq.) of this chapter for 

nursing facilities and in Subpart XVII (12VAC30-90-264 

et seq.) of the Nursing Home Payment System for 

specialized care facilities. 

5. Facilities operated by the Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services and facilities operated 

by the Department of Veterans Services shall be 

reimbursed retrospectively based on cost. 

6. Reimbursement to Intermediate Care Facilities for 

Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities (ICF/IID) shall be 

retrospective on the basis of reasonable costs in accordance 

with Medicare principles of reimbursement. Nonstate 

facilities shall be limited to a ceiling based on the highest 

as filed rate paid to an ICF/IID institution in state fiscal 

year 2012 and annually adjusted thereafter with the 

application of the NF inflation factor, as set out in 

12VAC30-90-41 B. 

7. Except as specifically modified in this section, Medicare 

principles of reimbursement, as amended from time to 

time, shall be used to establish the allowable costs in the 

rate methodologies. Allowable costs shall be classified in 

accordance with the DMAS uniform chart of accounts (see 

12VAC30-90-270 through 12VAC30-90-276) and shall be 

identifiable and verifiable by contemporaneous 

documentation. All matters of reimbursement that are part 

of the DMAS reimbursement system shall supersede 

Medicare principles of reimbursement. Wherever the 

DMAS reimbursement system conflicts with Medicare 

principles of reimbursement, the DMAS reimbursement 

system shall take precedence. 

8. All nursing facilities and intermediate care facilities 

shall submit cost reports on the basis of reasonable cost in 

accordance with the standards and principles set forth in 42 

CFR 447.252 as follows: 

a. A uniform annual cost report which itemizes allowable 

cost will be required to be filed within 150 days of each 

provider's fiscal year end.  

b. The determination of allowable costs will be in 

accordance with Medicare principles as established in the 

Provider Reimbursement Manual (PRM-15) except 

where otherwise noted in this Plan.  

c. Field audits will be conducted on the cost data 

submitted by the provider to verify the accuracy and 

reasonableness of such data. Audits will be conducted for 
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each facility on a periodic basis as determined from 

internal desk audits and more often as required. Audit 

procedures are in conformance with SSA standards set 

forth in PRM-13-2. Internal desk audits are conducted 

annually within six months of receipt of a completed cost 

report from the provider.  

d. Reports of field audits are retained by the state agency 

for at least three years following submission of the 

report.  

e. Facilities are paid on a cost-related basis in accordance 

with the methodology described in the Plan.  

f. e. Modifications to the Plan for reimbursement will be 

submitted as Plan amendments.  

g. f. Covered cost will include such items as:  

(1) Cost of meeting certification standards.  

(2) Routine services, which include items expense 

providers normally incur in the provision of services.  

(3) The cost of such services provided by related 

organizations except as modified in the payment system 

at Part II (12VAC30-90-20 et seq.) Subpart 2 

(12VAC30-90-29 et seq.) of this chapter.  

h. g. Bad debts, charity and courtesy allowances shall be 

excluded from allowable cost.  

i. Effective for facility cost reporting periods beginning 

on or after October 1, 1978, the reimbursable amount 

will be determined prospectively on a facility by facility 

basis, except that facilities operated by the Department of 

Behavioral Health and Developmental Services and by 

the Department of Veterans Services shall be reimbursed 

retrospectively. The prospective rate will be based on the 

prior period's actual cost (as determined by an annual 

cost report and verified by audit as set forth in 

subdivision 4 c of this section) plus an inflation factor. h. 

Payments will be made to facilities no less than monthly 

based on claims submitted by the facility.  

j. The payment level calculated by the prospective rate 

will i. Payments shall be adequate to reimburse in full 

such actual allowable costs that an economically and 

efficiently operated facility must incur. In addition, an 

incentive plan will be established as described in the 

payment system at 12VAC30-90.  

k. Upper limits for payment within the prospective 

payment system shall be as follow:  

(1) Allowable cost shall be determined in accordance 

with Medicare principles as defined in PRM-15, except 

as may be modified in this plan.  

(2) Reimbursement for operating costs will be limited to 

regional ceilings.  

(3) Reimbursement, in no instance, will exceed the 

charges for private patients receiving the same services. 

In accordance with § 1903(a)(2)(B) of the Social Security 

Act, nursing facility costs incurred in relation to training 

and competency evaluation of nurse aides will be 

considered as State administrative expenses and, as such, 

shall be exempted from this provision.  

l. j. In accordance with 42 CFR 447.205, an opportunity 

for public comment was permitted before final 

implementation of rate setting processes.  

m. A detailed description of the prospective 

reimbursement formula is attached for supporting detail.  

n. Item 398D of the 1987 Appropriation Act (as 

amended), effective April 8, 1987, eliminated 

reimbursement of return k. Return on equity capital to 

proprietary providers shall not be an allowable expense.  

5. 9. Reimbursement of nonenrolled long term long-term 

care facilities.  

a. Nonenrolled providers of institutional long term long-

term care services shall be reimbursed based upon the 

average per diem cost, updated annually, reimbursed to 

enrolled nursing facility providers.  

b. Prior approval must be received from the DMAS for 

recipients to receive institutional services from 

nonenrolled long-term care facilities. Prior approval can 

only be granted:  

(1) When the nonenrolled long-term care facility with an 

available bed is closer to the recipient's Virginia 

residence than the closest facility located in Virginia with 

an available bed;  

(2) When long-term care special services, such as 

intensive rehabilitation services, are not available in 

Virginia; or  

(3) If there are no available beds in Virginia facilities.  

6. Specialized care services. The payment methodology for 

specialized care services is contained in Part XVII 

(12VAC30-90-350 et seq.) of the Nursing Home Payment 

System.  

12VAC30-90-20. Nursing home payment system; 

generally. (Repealed.) 

A. Effective July 1, 2001, the payment methodology for 

nursing facility (NF) reimbursement by the Virginia 

Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) is set 

forth in this part.  

B. Three separate cost components are used: plant or capital, 

as appropriate, cost; operating cost; and nurse aide training 

and competency evaluation program and competency 

evaluation program (NATCEPs) costs. The rates, which are 

determined on a facility-by-facility basis, shall be based on 

annual cost reports filed by each provider.  

C. Effective July 1, 2001, in determining the ceiling 

limitations, there shall be direct patient care medians 

established for nursing facilities in the Virginia portion of the 

Washington DC-MD-VA Metropolitan Statistical Area 

(MSA), the Richmond-Petersburg Metropolitan Statistical 

Area (MSA), and in the rest of the state. There shall be 
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indirect patient care medians established for nursing facilities 

in the Virginia portion of the Washington DC-MD-VA MSA, 

for NFs with less than 61 beds in the rest of the state, and for 

NFs with more than 60 beds in the rest of the state. The 

Washington DC-MD-VA MSA and the Richmond-Petersburg 

MSA shall include those cities and counties as listed and 

changed from time to time by the Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services (CMS). A nursing facility located in a 

jurisdiction which CMS adds to or removes from the 

Washington DC-MD-VA MSA or the Richmond-Petersburg 

MSA shall be placed in its new peer group, for purposes of 

reimbursement, at the beginning of its next fiscal year 

following the effective date of HCFA's final rule.  

D. Nursing facilities operated by the Department of 

Behavioral Health and Developmental Services (DBHDS) 

and the Department of Veterans Services (DVS) shall be 

exempt from the prospective payment system as defined in 

Articles 1 (12VAC30-90-29), 3 (12VAC30-90-35 et seq.), 4 

(12VAC30-90-40 et seq.), 6 (12VAC30-90-60 et seq.), and 8 

(12VAC30-90-80) of this subpart. All other sections of this 

payment system relating to reimbursable cost limitations shall 

apply. These facilities operated by DBHDS and DVS shall 

continue to be reimbursed retrospectively on the basis of 

reasonable costs in accordance with Medicare principles of 

reimbursement.  

E. Reimbursement to Intermediate Care Facilities for 

Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities (ICF/IID) shall be 

retrospective on the basis of reasonable costs in accordance 

with Medicare principles of reimbursement. Nonstate 

facilities shall be limited to a ceiling based on the highest as 

filed rate paid to an ICF/IID institution in state fiscal year 

2012 and annually adjusted thereafter with the application of 

the NF inflation factor, as set out in 12VAC30-90-41 B.  

F. Except as specifically modified in this section, Medicare 

principles of reimbursement, as amended from time to time, 

shall be used to establish the allowable costs in the rate 

calculations. Allowable costs must be classified in accordance 

with the DMAS uniform chart of accounts (see 12VAC30-90-

270 through 12VAC30-90-276) and must be identifiable and 

verifiable by contemporaneous documentation.  

All matters of reimbursement which are part of the DMAS 

reimbursement system shall supersede Medicare principles of 

reimbursement. Wherever the DMAS reimbursement system 

conflicts with Medicare principles of reimbursement, the 

DMAS reimbursement system shall take precedence. 

Appendices are a part of the DMAS reimbursement system.  

12VAC30-90-36. Nursing facility capital payment 

methodology.  

A. Applicability. The capital payment methodology 

described in this article shall be applicable to freestanding 

nursing facilities and specialized care facilities but not to 

hospital-based facilities. Hospital-based facilities shall 

continue to be reimbursed under the methodology contained 

in Article 2 (12VAC30-90-30 et seq.) of this subpart. For 

purposes of this provision, a hospital-based nursing facility 

shall be one for which a combined cost report is submitted on 

behalf of both the hospital and the nursing facility.  

B. Definitions. The following words and terms when used in 

this article shall have the following meaning unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Capital costs" means costs that include the cost elements of 

depreciation, interest, financing costs, rent and lease costs for 

property, building and equipment, property insurance and 

property taxes.  

"Date of acquisition" means the date legal title passed to the 

buyer. If a legal titling date is not determinable for a nursing 

facility building, date of acquisition shall be considered to be 

the date a certificate of occupancy was issued by the 

appropriate licensing or building inspection agency of the 

locality where the nursing facility is located.  

"Facility average age" means for a facility the weighted 

average of the ages of all capitalized assets of the facility, 

with the weights equal to the expenditures for those assets. 

The calculation of average age shall take into account land 

improvements, building and fixed equipment, and major 

movable equipment. The basis for the calculation of average 

age shall be the schedule of assets submitted annually to the 

department in accordance with the provisions of this section.  

"Facility imputed gross square feet" means a number that is 

determined by multiplying the facility's number of nursing 

facility licensed beds licensed by the Virginia Department of 

Health by the imputed number of gross square feet per bed. 

The imputed number of gross square feet per bed shall be 461 

for facilities of 90 or fewer beds, and 438 for facilities of 

more than 90 beds. The number of licensed nursing facility 

beds shall be the number on the last day of the provider's 

most recent fiscal year end for which a cost report has been 

filed.  

"Factor for land and soft costs" means a factor equaling 

1.429 that adjusts the construction cost amount to recognize 

land and capitalized costs associated with construction of a 

facility that are is not part of the R.S. Means construction cost 

amount.  

"Fixed capital replacement value" means an amount equal to 

the R.S. Means 75th percentile nursing home construction 

cost per square foot, times the applicable R.S. Means 

historical cost index factor, times the factor for land and soft 

costs, times the applicable R.S. Means location factor times 

facility imputed gross square feet.  

"FRV depreciation rate" means a depreciation rate equal to 

2.86% per year.  

"Hospital-based facility" means one for which a single 

combined Medicare cost report is filed that includes the costs 

of both the hospital and the nursing home.  

"Major renovation" means an increase in capital of $3,000 

per bed. 
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"Movable capital replacement value" means a value equal to 

$3,475 per bed in SFY 2001, and shall be increased each July 

1 by the same R.S. Means historical cost index factor that is 

used to calculate the fixed capital replacement value. Each 

year's updated movable capital replacement value shall be 

used in the calculation of each provider's rate for the provider 

year beginning on or after the date the new value becomes 

effective.  

"R.S. Means 75th percentile nursing construction cost per 

square foot" means the 75th percentile value published in the 

59th Annual Edition of the R.S. Means Building Construction 

Cost Data, 2001. In the 2000 edition of the R.S. Means 

publication this value is $110, which is reported as a January 

2000 value.  

"R.S. Means historical cost index factor" means the ratio of 

the two most recent R.S. Means Historical Cost Indexes 

published in the 59th Annual Edition of the R.S. Means 

Building Construction Cost Data, 2001. In the 2000 edition of 

this R.S. Means publication these two values are 117.6 (for 

1999) and 115.1 (for 1998). The ratio of these values, and 

therefore the factor to be used, would be 1.022. This factor 

would be used to adjust the January 2000 value for the one 

year of change from January 2000 to January 2001, the mid-

point of the prospective rate year (SFY 2001). The resulting 

cost value that would be used in SFY 2001 is $112.42. The 

indexes used in this calculation do not match the time period 

for which a factor is needed. They relate to 1998 and 1999, 

while 2000 and 2001 would be ideal. However, R.S. Means 

does not publish index forecasts, so the most recent available 

indexes shall be used.  

"R.S. Means location factors" means those published in the 

22nd Annual Edition of the R.S. Means Square Foot Costs, 

2001. The 2000 location factors are shown in the following 

Table 1. They will be updated annually and distributed to 

providers based upon the most recent available data.  

TABLE 1. 

R.S. MEANS COMMERCIAL CONSTRUCTION COST 

LOCATION FACTORS (2000). 

Zip Code Principal City Location Factor 

220-221 Fairfax 0.90 

222 Arlington 0.90 

223 Alexandria 0.91 

224-225 Fredericksburg 0.85 

226 Winchester 0.80 

227 Culpeper 0.80 

228 Harrisonburg 0.77 

229 Charlottesville 0.82 

230-232 Richmond 0.85 

233-235 Norfolk 0.82 

236 Newport News 0.82 

237 Portsmouth 0.81 

238 Petersburg 0.84 

239 Farmville 0.74 

240-241 Roanoke 0.77 

242 Bristol 0.75 

243 Pulaski 0.70 

244 Staunton 0.76 

245 Lynchburg 0.77 

246 Grundy 0.70 

"Rental rate" means for a prospective year a rate equal to 

two percentage points plus the yield on U.S. Treasury Bonds 

with maturity over 10 years, averaged over the most recent 

three calendar years for which data are available, as published 

by the Federal Reserve (Federal Reserve Statistical Release 

H.15 Selected Interest Rates 

(www.Federalreserve.gov/releases/)). The rate will be 

published and distributed to providers annually. Changes in 

the rental rate shall be effective for the providers' provider's 

fiscal year beginning on or after July 1. Rental rates may not 

fall below 9.0% or exceed 11% and will be updated annually 

on or about July 1 each year. Effective July 1, 2010, through 

September 30, 2010, the floor for the nursing facility rental 

rates may not fall below 8.75%. Effective October 1, 2010, 

through June 30, 2011, the floor for the nursing facility rental 

rates may not fall below 9.0%. Effective July 1, 2011, 

through June 30, 2012, the floor for the nursing facility rental 

rates may not fall below 8.0%. Effective July 1, 2012, 

through June 30, 2014, the floor for the nursing facility rental 

rates may not fall below 8.5%. Effective July 1, 2014, the 

floor for the nursing facility rental rates may not fall below 

8.0%. The rate will be published and distributed to providers 

annually. Changes in the rental rate shall be effective for the 

providers' provider's fiscal year beginning on or after July 1. 

Effective July 1, 2014, the rental rate shall be effective for the 

state fiscal year. 

"Required occupancy percentage" means the ratio of nursing 

facility total patient days to total potential patient days for all 

available licensed beds. The required occupancy percentage 

shall be 90% for dates of service on or before June 30, 2013. 

The required occupancy percentage for dates of service on or 

after July 1, 2013, shall be 88%.  

"SFY" means State Fiscal Year (July 1 through June 30).  

1. C. Fair Rental Value rental value (FRV) Payment 

payment for Capital capital.  



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 9 Virginia Register of Regulations December 28, 2015 

1643 

1. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2001, 

DMAS shall pay nursing facility capital related costs under 

a FRV methodology. The payment made under this 

methodology shall be the only payment for capital related 

costs, and no separate payment shall be made for 

depreciation or interest expense, lease costs, property 

taxes, insurance, or any other capital related cost, including 

home office capital costs. This payment is considered to 

cover costs related to land, buildings and fixed equipment, 

major movable equipment, and any other capital related 

item. This shall be the case regardless of whether the 

property is owned or leased by the operator. The 

department shall review the operation and performance of 

the FRV methodology every two years.  

2. FRV Rate Year rate year. The FRV payment rate shall 

be a per diem rate determined each year for each facility 

using the most recent available data from settled cost 

reports, or from other verified sources as specified herein. 

The per diem rate shall be determined prospectively and 

shall apply for the entire fiscal year. Each provider shall 

receive a new capital per diem rate each year effective at 

the start of the provider's fiscal year, except that the capital 

per diem rate shall be revised for the rental rate changes 

effective July 1, 2010, through June 30, 2012. Data 

elements that are provider specific shall be revised at that 

time and shall rely on the settled cost report and schedule 

of assets of the previous year. Data elements that are not 

provider specific, including those published by R.S. Means 

and the rental rate, shall be determined annually on or 

about July 1, and shall apply to provider fiscal years 

beginning on or after July 1. That is, each July 1 DMAS 

shall determine the R.S. Means values and the rental rate, 

and these shall apply to all provider fiscal years beginning 

on or after July 1. Effective July 1, 2014, the FRV rate year 

shall be the same as the state fiscal year. 

3. Mid-year FRV rate change. Facilities may apply for a 

mid-year FRV payment rate change for rate years on or 

after SFY 2015 if putting into service a major renovation 

or new beds. The nursing facility may submit complete pro 

forma documentation at least 60 days prior to the effective 

date and the new rate shall be effective at the beginning of 

the month following the end of the 60 days. If the initial 

mid-year FRV rate is not based on final documentation, the 

nursing facility shall submit final documentation within 60 

days of the new rate effective date and DMAS shall review 

final documentation and modify the rate if necessary 

effective 90 days after the implementation of the initial 

new rate. Only one mid-year FRV rate change will be 

made in any one fiscal year. Mid-year rate changes for an 

effective date after April 30 of the fiscal year shall be made 

effective the following July 1. 

4. The capital per diem rate for hospital-based nursing 

facilities shall be the last settled capital per diem.  

12VAC30-90-37. Calculation of FRV per diem rate for 

capital; calculation of FRV rental amount; change of 

ownership.  

A. Calculation of FRV per diem rate for capital.  

1. The facility FRV per diem rate shall be equal to the sum 

of the facility FRV rental amount and the facility's 

allowable property tax and insurance cost from the most 

recent settled cost report, divided by the greater of actual 

patient days or the required occupancy percentage of the 

potential patient days for all licensed beds throughout the 

cost reporting period. For facilities that also provide 

specialized care services, see subdivision 9 of 12VAC30-

90-264 for special procedures for computing the number of 

patient days required to meet the required occupancy 

percentage requirement. 

2. Effective July 1, 2014, facilities shall be required to 

submit a calendar year FRV report covering both NF and 

specialized care beds to be used to set a prospective FRV 

rate effective the following July 1
 
for

 
 both the NF and the 

specialized care facility. The calendar year FRV report 

shall be submitted by the end of February following the 

end of the calendar year. FRV reports shall be settled 

within 90 days of filing the FRV report. For late FRV 

reports, the prospective rate may be effective 90 days after 

the date of filing even if after July 1. No capital rate shall 

be paid between July 1 and the effective date of the 

prospective FRV rate for a late report.  

B. Calculation of FRV rental amount. The facility FRV 

rental amount shall be equal to the facility prospective year 

total value times the rental rate. Effective July 1, 2014, fair 

rental value per diem rates for the prospective state fiscal year 

shall be calculated for all freestanding nursing facilities based 

on the prior calendar year information aged to the state fiscal 

year and using R.S. Means factors and rental rates 

corresponding to the state fiscal year. There shall be no 

separate calculation for beds subject to or not subject to 

transition. 

1. The facility prospective year total value shall be equal to 

the facility prospective year replacement value minus FRV 

depreciation. FRV depreciation equals the prospective year 

replacement value multiplied by the product of facility 

average age and the depreciation rate. FRV depreciation 

cannot exceed 60% of the prospective year replacement 

value.  

2. The facility prospective year replacement value shall be 

equal to the fixed capital replacement value plus the 

movable equipment replacement value.  

C. Change of ownership. As provided in connection with 

schedule of assets reporting, the sale of nursing facility assets 

after June 30, 2000, shall not result in a change to the 

schedule of assets or to the calculation of average age for 

purposes of reimbursement under the FRV methodology. 

Therefore, any sale or transfer of assets after this date shall 

not affect the FRV per diem rate.  
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12VAC30-90-41. Nursing facility reimbursement formula. 

A. Effective on and after July 1, 2002, all NFs subject to the 

prospective payment system shall be reimbursed under "The 

Resource Utilization Group-III (RUG-III) System as defined 

in Appendix IV (12VAC30-90-305 through 12VAC30-90-

307)." RUG-III is a resident classification system that groups 

NF residents according to resource utilization. Case-mix 

indices (CMIs) are assigned to RUG-III groups and are used 

to adjust the NF's per diem rates to reflect the intensity of 

services required by a NF's resident mix. See 12VAC30-90-

305 through 12VAC30-90-307 for details on the Resource 

Utilization Groups. 

1. Any NF receiving Medicaid payments on or after 

October 1, 1990, shall satisfy all the requirements of 

§ 1919(b) through (d) of the Social Security Act as they 

relate to provision of services, residents' rights and 

administration and other matters. 

2. Direct and indirect group ceilings and rates. 

a. In accordance with 12VAC30-90-20 C, direct Direct 

patient care operating cost peer groups shall be 

established for the Virginia portion of the Washington 

DC-MD-VA MSA, the Richmond-Petersburg MSA, and 

the rest of the state. Direct patient care operating costs 

shall be as defined in 12VAC30-90-271. 

b. Indirect patient care operating cost peer groups shall 

be established for the Virginia portion of the Washington 

DC-MD-VA MSA, for the rest of the state for facilities 

with less than 61 licensed beds, and for the rest of the 

state for facilities with more than 60 licensed beds. 

3. Each facility's average case-mix index shall be 

calculated based upon data reported by that nursing facility 

to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) 

(formerly HCFA) Minimum Data Set (MDS) System. See 

12VAC30-90-306 for the case-mix index calculations. 

4. The normalized facility average Medicaid CMI shall be 

used to calculate the direct patient care operating cost 

prospective ceilings and direct patient care operating cost 

prospective rates for each semiannual period of a NFs 

subsequent fiscal year. See 12VAC30-90-306 D 2 for the 

calculation of the normalized facility average Medicaid 

CMI. 

a. A NFs NF's direct patient care operating cost 

prospective ceiling shall be the product of the NFs NF's 

peer group direct patient care ceiling and the NFs NF's 

normalized facility average Medicaid CMI. A NFs NF's 

direct patient care operating cost prospective ceiling will 

be calculated semiannually. 

b. A CMI rate adjustment for each semiannual period of 

a nursing facility's prospective fiscal year shall be 

applied by multiplying the nursing facility's normalized 

facility average Medicaid CMI applicable to each 

prospective semiannual period by the nursing facility's 

case-mix neutralized direct patient care operating cost 

base rate for the preceding cost reporting period (see 

12VAC30-90-307). 

c. See 12VAC30-90-307 for the applicability of case-mix 

indices. 

5. Direct and indirect ceiling calculations. 

a. Effective for services on and after July 1, 2006, the 

direct patient care operating ceiling shall be set at 117% 

of the respective peer group day-weighted median of the 

facilities' case-mix neutralized direct care operating costs 

per day. The calculation of the medians shall be based on 

cost reports from freestanding nursing homes for 

provider fiscal years ending in the most recent base year. 

The medians used to set the peer group direct patient care 

operating ceilings shall be revised and case-mix 

neutralized every two years using the most recent reliable 

calendar year cost settled cost reports for freestanding 

nursing facilities that have been completed as of 

September 1. 

b. The indirect patient care operating ceiling shall be set 

at 107% of the respective peer group day-weighted 

median of the facility's specific indirect operating cost 

per day. The calculation of the peer group medians shall 

be based on cost reports from freestanding nursing homes 

for provider fiscal years ending in the most recent base 

year. The medians used to set the peer group indirect 

operating ceilings shall be revised every two years using 

the most recent reliable calendar year cost settled cost 

reports for freestanding nursing facilities that have been 

completed as of September 1. 

6. Reimbursement for use of specialized treatment beds. 

Effective for services on and after July 1, 2005, nursing 

facilities shall be reimbursed an additional $10 per day for 

those recipients who require a specialized treatment bed 

due to their having at least one Stage IV pressure ulcer. 

Recipients must meet criteria as outlined in 12VAC30-60-

350, and the additional reimbursement must be 

preauthorized as provided in 12VAC30-60-40. Nursing 

facilities shall not be eligible to receive this reimbursement 

for individuals whose services are reimbursed under the 

specialized care methodology. Beginning July 1, 2005, this 

additional reimbursement shall be subject to adjustment for 

inflation in accordance with 12VAC30-90-41 B, except 

that the adjustment shall be made at the beginning of each 

state fiscal year, using the inflation factor that applies to 

provider years beginning at that time. This additional 

payment shall not be subject to direct or indirect ceilings 

and shall not be adjusted at year-end settlement. 

B. Adjustment of ceilings and costs for inflation. Effective 

for provider fiscal years starting on and after July 1, 2002, 

ceilings and rates shall be adjusted for inflation each year 

using the moving average of the percentage change of the 

Virginia-Specific Nursing Home Input Price Index, updated 

quarterly, published by Standard & Poor's DRI. For state 
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fiscal year 2003, peer group ceilings and rates for indirect 

costs will not be adjusted for inflation. 

1. For provider years beginning in each calendar year, the 

percentage used shall be the moving average for the second 

quarter of the year, taken from the table published for the 

fourth quarter of the previous year. For example, in setting 

prospective rates for all provider years beginning in 

January through December 2002, ceilings and costs would 

be inflated using the moving average for the second quarter 

of 2002, taken from the table published for the fourth 

quarter of 2001. 

2. Provider specific costs shall be adjusted for inflation 

each year from the cost reporting period to the prospective 

rate period using the moving average as specified in 

subdivision 1 of this subsection. If the cost reporting 

period or the prospective rate period is less than 12 months 

long, a fraction of the moving average shall be used that is 

equal to the fraction of a year from the midpoint of the cost 

reporting period to the midpoint of the prospective rate 

period. 

3. Ceilings shall be adjusted from the common point 

established in the most recent rebasing calculation. Base 

period costs shall be adjusted to this common point using 

moving averages from the DRI tables corresponding to the 

provider fiscal period, as specified in subdivision 1 of this 

subsection. Ceilings shall then be adjusted from the 

common point to the prospective rate period using the 

moving average(s) averages for each applicable second 

quarter, taken from the DRI table published for the fourth 

quarter of the year immediately preceding the calendar 

year in which the prospective rate years begin. Rebased 

ceilings shall be effective on July 1 of each rebasing year, 

so in their first application they shall be adjusted to the 

midpoint of the provider fiscal year then in progress or 

then beginning. Subsequently, they shall be adjusted each 

year from the common point established in rebasing to the 

midpoint of the appropriate provider fiscal year. For 

example, suppose the base year is made up of cost reports 

from years ending in calendar year 2000, the rebasing year 

is SFY2003, and the rebasing calculation establishes 

ceilings that are inflated to the common point of July 1, 

2002. Providers with years in progress on July 1, 2002, 

would receive a ceiling effective July 1, 2002, that would 

be adjusted to the midpoint of the provider year then in 

progress. In some cases this would mean the ceiling would 

be reduced from the July 1, 2002, ceiling level. The 

following table shows the application of these provisions 

for different provider fiscal periods. 

 

 

Table I  

Application of Inflation to Different Provider Fiscal Periods  

Provider 

FYE 

Effective 

Date of New 

Ceiling 

First PFYE 

After 

Rebasing Date 

Inflation Time Span 

from Ceiling Date to 

Midpoint of First PFY 

Second PFYE 

After Rebasing 

Date 

Inflation Time Span 

from Ceiling Date to 

Midpoint of Second 

PFY 

3/31 7/1/02 3/31/03 + 1/4 year 3/31/04 + 1-1/4 years 

6/30 7/1/02 6/30/03 + 1/2 year 6/30/04 + 1-1/2 years 

9/30 7/1/02 9/30/02 - 1/4 year 9/30/03 + 3/4 year 

12/31 7/1/02 12/31/02 -0- 12/31/03 + 1 year 

The following table shows the DRI tables that would provide the moving averages for adjusting ceilings for different 

prospective rate years. 

Table II  

Source Tables for DRI Moving Average Values  

Provider 

FYE 

Effective 

Date of New 

Ceiling 

First PFYE 

After 

Rebasing Date 

Source DRI Table for 

First PFY Ceiling 

Inflation 

Second PFYE 

After Rebasing 

Date 

Source DRI Table for 

Second PFY Ceiling 

Inflation 

3/31 7/1/02 3/31/03 Fourth Quarter 2001 3/31/04 Fourth Quarter 2002 

6/30 7/1/02 6/30/03 Fourth Quarter 2001 6/30/04 Fourth Quarter 2002 

9/30 7/1/02 9/30/02 Fourth Quarter 2000 9/30/03 Fourth Quarter 2001 

12/31 7/1/02 12/31/02 Fourth Quarter 2000 12/31/03 Fourth Quarter 2001 
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In this example, when ceilings are inflated for the second 

PFY after the rebasing date, the ceilings will be inflated 

from July 1, 2002, using moving averages from the DRI 

table specified for the second PFY. That is, the ceiling for 

years ending June 30, 2004, will be the June 30, 2002, base 

period ceiling, adjusted by 1/2 of the moving average for 

the second quarter of 2002, compounded with the moving 

average for the second quarter of 2003. Both these moving 

averages will be taken from the fourth quarter 2002 DRI 

table. 

C. The RUG-III Nursing Home Payment System shall 

require comparison of the prospective operating cost rates to 

the prospective operating ceilings. The provider shall be 

reimbursed the lower of the prospective operating cost rate or 

prospective operating ceiling. 

D. Nonoperating costs. Plant or capital, as appropriate, costs 

shall be reimbursed in accordance with Articles 1 (12VAC30-

90-29), 2 (12VAC30-90-30 et seq.), and 3 (12VAC30-90-35 

et seq.) of this subpart. Plant costs shall not include the 

component of cost related to making or producing a supply or 

service. 

NATCEPs cost shall be reimbursed in accordance with 

12VAC30-90-170. 

E. The prospective rate for each NF shall be based upon 

operating cost and plant/capital plant or capital cost 

components or charges, whichever is lower, plus NATCEPs 

costs. The disallowance of nonreimbursable operating costs in 

any current fiscal year shall be reflected in a subsequent 

year's prospective rate determination. Disallowances of 

nonreimbursable plant or capital, as appropriate, costs and 

NATCEPs costs shall be reflected in the year in which the 

nonreimbursable costs are included. 

F. Effective July 1, 2001, for those NFs whose indirect 

operating cost rates are below the ceilings, an incentive plan 

shall be established whereby a NF shall be paid, on a sliding 

scale, up to 25% of the difference between its allowable 

indirect operating cost rates and the indirect peer group 

ceilings. 

1. The following table presents four incentive examples: 

Peer 

Group 

Ceilings 

Allowable 

Cost Per 

Day 

Difference 
% of 

Ceiling 

Sliding 

Scale 

Scale % 

Difference 

$30.00 $27.00 $3.00 10% $0.30 10% 

30.00 22.50 7.50 25% 1.88 25% 

30.00 20.00 10.00 33% 2.50 25% 

30.00 30.00 0 0     

2. Efficiency incentives shall be calculated only for the 

indirect patient care operating ceilings and costs. Effective 

July 1, 2001, a direct care efficiency incentive shall no 

longer be paid. 

G. Quality of care requirement. A cost efficiency incentive 

shall not be paid for the number of days for which a facility is 

out of substantial compliance according to the Virginia 

Department of Health survey findings as based on federal 

regulations. 

H. Sale of facility. In the event of the sale of a NF, the 

prospective base operating cost rates for the new owner's first 

fiscal period shall be the seller's prospective base operating 

cost rates before the sale. 

I. Public notice. To comply with the requirements of § 

1902(a)(28)(c) of the Social Security Act, DMAS shall make 

available to the public the data and methodology used in 

establishing Medicaid payment rates for nursing facilities. 

Copies may be obtained by request under the existing 

procedures of the Virginia Freedom of Information Act. 

J. Effective July 1, 2005, the total per diem payment to each 

nursing home shall be increased by $3.00 per day. This 

increase in the total per diem payment shall cease effective 

July 1, 2006. Effective July 1, 2006, when cost data that 

include time periods before July 1, 2005, are used to set 

facility specific rates, a portion of the $3.00 per day amount 

identified above in this subsection, based on the percentage of 

patient days in the provider's cost reporting period that fall 

before July 1, 2005, adjusted for appropriate inflation and 

multiplied times the provider's Medicaid utilization rate, shall 

be allocated to the facility specific direct and indirect cost per 

day prior to comparison to the peer group ceilings. For 

purposes of this subsection, $1.68 of the $3.00 shall be 

considered direct costs and $1.32 of the $3.00 shall be 

considered indirect costs. 

K. Effective July 1, 2008, and ending after June 30, 2009, 

the operating rate for nursing facilities shall be reduced by 

1.329%. 

L. Effective July 1, 2009, through June 30, 2010, there will 

be no inflation adjustment for nursing facility operating rates 

and ceilings and specialized care operating rates and ceilings. 

Exempt from this are government-owned nursing facilities 

with Medicaid utilization of 85% or greater in provider fiscal 

year 2007. 

M. Effective July 1, 2010, through June 30, 2012, there shall 

be no inflation adjustment for nursing facility and specialized 

care operating rates. Nursing facility and specialized care 

ceilings shall freeze at the same level as the ceilings for 

nursing facilities with provider fiscal year ends of June 30, 

2010. 

N. Effective July 1, 2010, through September 30, 2010, the 

operating rate for nursing facilities shall be reduced 3.0% 

below the rates otherwise calculated.  

O. Effective July 1, 2012, through June 30, 2014, the 

inflation adjustment for nursing facility and specialized care 

operating rates shall be 2.2%. Nursing facility and specialized 

care ceilings in effect in SFY 2012 shall be increased 3.2% in 

SFY 2013 and 2.2% in SFY 2014. 
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P. The reimbursement methodology described in this section 

shall be utilized for dates of service through June 30, 2014. 

Effective July 1, 2014, nursing facilities shall be reimbursed 

the price-based methodology described in 12VAC30-90-44. 

The last cost report with a fiscal year end before June 30, 

2014, shall be used to establish the operating per diem rates 

for payment for the remainder of state fiscal year 2014. The 

last cost report with a fiscal year end on or after June 30, 

2014, shall be used to settle reimbursement for plant costs, 

NATCEPs, and criminal records check costs for periods in 

state fiscal year 2014. Reimbursement for these components 

shall be prorated based on the number of cost report months 

prior to July 1, 2014, as a percentage of total months in the 

cost report. Settlement for these components will be based on 

two months of run-out from the end of the provider's fiscal 

year. Claims for services paid after the cost report run-out 

period will not be settled.  

12VAC30-90-44. [Reserved.] Nursing facility price-based 

reimbursement methodology.  

A. Effective July 1, 2014, DMAS shall convert nursing 

facility operating rates in 12VAC30-90-41 to a price-based 

methodology. The department shall calculate prospective 

operating rates for direct and indirect costs in the following 

manner: 

1. The department shall calculate the cost per day in the 

base year for direct and indirect operating costs for each 

nursing facility. The department shall use existing 

definitions of direct and indirect costs. 

2. The initial base year for calculating the cost per day 

shall be cost reports ending in calendar year 2011. The 

department shall rebase prices in fiscal year 2018 and 

every three years thereafter using the most recent, reliable 

calendar year cost-settled cost reports for freestanding 

nursing facilities that have been completed as of September 

1. No adjustments will be made to the base year data for 

purposes of rate setting after that date. 

3. Each nursing facility's direct cost per day shall be 

neutralized by dividing the direct cost per day by the raw 

Medicaid facility case-mix that corresponds to the base 

year by facility. 

4. Costs per day shall be inflated to the midpoint of the 

fiscal year rate period using the moving average Virginia 

Nursing Home inflation index for the fourth quarter of 

each year (the midpoint of the fiscal year). Costs in the 

2011 base year shall be inflated from the midpoint of the 

cost report year to the midpoint of fiscal year 2012 by 

prorating fiscal year 2012 inflation and annual inflation 

after that. Annual inflation adjustments shall be based on 

the last available report prior to the beginning of the fiscal 

year and corrected for any revisions to prior year inflation. 

5. Prices will be established for the following peer groups 

using a combination of Medicare wage regions and 

Medicaid rural and bed size modifications based on similar 

costs. 

6. The following definitions shall apply to direct peer 

groups. The Northern Virginia peer group shall be defined 

as localities in the Washington DC-MD-VA MSA as 

published by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 

Services (CMS) for skilled nursing facility rates. The Other 

MSA peer group includes localities in any MSA defined by 

CMS other than the Northern Virginia MSA and non-MSA 

designations. The Rural peer groups are non-MSA areas of 

the state divided into Northern and Southern Rural peer 

groups based on drawing a line between the following 

points on the Commonwealth of Virginia map with the 

coordinates: 37.4203914 Latitude, -82.0201219 Longitude 

and 37.1223664 Latitude, --76.3457773 Longitude. Direct 

peer groups are: 

a. Northern Virginia,  

b. Other MSAs, 

c. Northern Rural, and 

d. Southern Rural. 

7. The following definitions shall apply to indirect peer 

groups. The indirect peer group for Northern Virginia is 

the same as the direct peer group for Northern Virginia. 

Rest of State peer groups shall be defined as any localities 

other than localities in the Northern Virginia peer group for 

nursing facilities with greater than 60 beds or 60 beds or 

less. Rest of State - Greater than 60 Beds shall be further 

subdivided into Other MSA, Northern Rural and Southern 

Rural peer groups using the locality definitions for direct 

peer groups. Indirect peer groups are:  

a. Northern Virginia MSA, 

b. Rest of State - Greater than 60 Beds, 

c. Other MSAs, 

d. Northern Rural, and 

e. Southern Rural. 

Rest of State - 60 Beds or Less. 

8. Any changes to peer group assignment based on changes 

in bed size or MSA will be implemented for 

reimbursement purposes the July 1 following the effective 

date of the change. 

9. The direct and indirect price for each peer group shall be 

based on the following adjustment factors: 

a. Direct adjustment factor - 105.000% of the peer group 

day-weighted median neutralized and inflated cost per 

day for freestanding nursing facilities. 

b. Indirect adjustment factor - 100.735% of the peer 

group day-weighted median inflated cost per day for 

freestanding nursing facilities. 

10. Facilities with costs projected to the rate year below 

95% of the price shall have an adjusted price equal to the 

price minus the difference between the facility's cost and 

95% of the unadjusted price. Adjusted prices will be 

established at each rebasing. New facilities after the base 
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year shall not have an adjusted price until the next 

rebasing.  

11. Individual claim payment for direct costs shall be based 

on each resident's Resource Utilization Group (RUG) 

during the service period times the facility direct price. 

12. Resource Utilization Group (RUG) is a resident 

classification system that groups nursing facility residents 

according to resource utilization and assigns weights 

related to the resource utilization for each classification. 

The department shall use RUGs to determine facility case-

mix for cost neutralization as defined in 12VAC30-90-306 

in determining the direct costs used in setting the price and 

for adjusting the claim payments for residents.  

a. The department shall neutralize direct costs per day in 

the base year using the most current RUG grouper 

applicable to the base year. 

b. The department shall utilize RUG-III, version 34 

groups and weights in fiscal years 2015 through 2017 for 

claim payments. 

c. Beginning in fiscal year 2018, the department shall 

implement RUG-IV, version 48 Medicaid groups and 

weights for claim payments. 

d. RUG-IV, version 48 weights used for claim payments 

will be normalized to RUG-III, version 34 weights as 

long as base year costs are neutralized by the RUG-III 34 

group. In that the weights are not the same under RUG-

IV as under RUG-III, normalization will ensure that total 

direct operating payments using the RUG-IV 48 weights 

will be the same as total direct operating payments using 

the RUG-III 34 grouper. 

B. Transition. The department shall transition to the price-

based methodology over a period of four years, blending the 

adjusted price-based rate with the facility-specific case-mix 

neutral cost-based rate calculated according to 12VAC30-90-

41 as if ceilings had been rebased for fiscal year 2015. The 

cost-based rates are calculated using the 2011 base year data, 

inflated to 2015 using the inflation methodology in 

12VAC30-90-41 and adjusted to state fiscal year 2015. In 

subsequent years of the transition, the cost-based rates shall 

be increased by inflation described in this section. 

1. Based on a four-year transition, the rate will be based on 

the following blend: 

a. Fiscal year 2015 - 25% of the adjusted price-based rate 

and 75% of the cost-based rate. 

b. Fiscal year 2016 - 50% of the adjusted price-based rate 

and 50% of the cost-based rate. 

c. Fiscal year 2017 - 75% of the adjusted price-based rate 

and 25% of the cost-based rate. 

d. Fiscal year 2018 - 100% of the adjusted price-based 

(fully implemented). 

2. During the first transition year for the period July 1, 

2014, through October 31, 2014, DMAS shall case-mix 

adjust each facility's direct cost component of the rates 

using the average facility case-mix from the two most 

recent finalized quarters (September and December 2013) 

instead of adjusting this component claim by claim. 

3. Cost-based rates to be used in the transition for facilities 

without cost data in the base year but placed in service 

prior to July 1, 2013, shall be determined based on the 

most recently settled cost data. If there is no settled cost 

report at the beginning of a fiscal year, then 100% of the 

price-based rate shall be used for that fiscal year. Facilities 

placed in service after June 30, 2013, shall be paid 100% 

of the price-based rate. 

C. Prospective capital rates shall be calculated in the 

following manner: 

1. Fair rental value per diem rates for the fiscal year shall 

be calculated for all freestanding nursing facilities based on 

the prior calendar year information aged to the fiscal year 

and using RS Means factors and rental rates corresponding 

to the fiscal year as prescribed in 12VAC30-90-36. There 

will be no separate calculation for beds subject to or not 

subject to transition. 

2. Nursing facilities that put into service a major 

renovation or new beds may request a mid-year fair rental 

value per diem rate change.  

a. A major renovation shall be defined as an increase in 

capital of $3,000 per bed. The nursing facility shall submit 

complete pro forma documentation at least 60 days prior to 

the effective date, and the new rate shall be effective at the 

beginning of the month following the end of the 60 days. 

b. The provider shall submit final documentation within 60 

days of the new rate effective date, and the department 

shall review final documentation and modify the rate if 

necessary effective 90 days after the implementation of the 

new rate. No mid-year rate changes shall be made for an 

effective date after April 30 of the fiscal year. 

3. These FRV changes shall also apply to specialized care 

facilities. 

4. The capital per diem rate for hospital-based nursing 

facilities shall be the last settled capital per diem. 

12VAC30-90-55. Provider payments.  

A. Limitations and effective for dates of service beginning 

July 1, 2001, through June 30, 2014:  

1. Payments to providers, shall not exceed charges for 

covered services except for (i) public providers furnishing 

services free of charge or at a nominal charge (ii) a 

nonpublic provider whose charges are 60% or less of the 

allowable reimbursement represented by the charges and 

that demonstrates its charges are less than allowable 

reimbursement because its customary practice is to charge 

patients based on their ability to pay. Nominal charge shall 

be defined as total charges that are 60% or less of the 

allowable reimbursement of services represented by these 
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charges. Providers qualifying in this section shall receive 

allowable reimbursement as determined in this Plan.  

2. Allowable reimbursement in excess of charges may be 

carried forward for payment in the two succeeding cost 

reporting periods. A new provider may carry forward 

unreimbursed allowable reimbursement in the five 

succeeding cost reporting periods.  

3. Providers may be reimbursed the carry forward to a 

succeeding cost reporting period (i) if total charges for the 

services provided in that subsequent period exceed the total 

allowable reimbursement in that period (ii) to the extent 

that the accumulation of the carry forward and the 

allowable reimbursement in that subsequent period do not 

exceed the providers' direct and indirect care operating 

ceilings plus allowable plant cost.  

B. Payment for service shall be based upon the rate in effect 

when the service was rendered.  

C. For cost reports filed on or after August 1, 1992, an and 

used for cost reimbursement or rate setting based on cost:  

1. An interim settlement shall be made by DMAS within 

180 days after receipt and review of the cost report. The 

word "review," for purposes of interim settlement, shall 

include verification that all financial and other data 

specifically requested by DMAS is submitted with the cost 

report. Review shall also mean examination of the cost 

report and other required submission for obvious errors, 

inconsistency, inclusion of past disallowed costs, 

unresolved prior year cost adjustments and a complete 

signed cost report that conforms to the current DMAS 

requirements herein.  

However, an 2. An interim settlement shall not be made 

when one of the following conditions exists:  

1. a. Cost report filed by a terminated provider;  

2. b. Insolvency of the provider at the time the cost report 

is submitted;  

3. c. Lack of a valid provider agreement and 

decertification;  

4. d. Moneys owed to DMAS;  

5. e. Errors or inconsistencies in the cost report; or  

6. f. Incomplete/nonacceptable cost report.  

Article 6  

New Nursing Facilities  

12VAC30-90-60. Interim rate.  

A. A new facility shall be defined as follows:  

1. A facility that is newly enrolled and new construction 

has taken place through the COPN process; or  

2. A facility that is newly enrolled that was previously 

denied payments for new admissions and was subsequently 

terminated from the program.  

B. The following provisions sunset effective July 1, 2015, 

when applied to indirect reimbursement but remain in effect 

when applied to capital reimbursement.  

1. Upon a showing of good cause, and approval of DMAS, 

an existing NF that expands its bed capacity by 50% or 

more shall have the option of retaining its prospective rate 

or being treated as a new NF.  

C. 2. A replacement facility or one that has changed 

location may not be considered a new facility if it serves 

the same inpatient population. An exception may be 

granted by DMAS if the provider can demonstrate that the 

occupancy substantially changed as a result of the facility 

being replaced or changing location. A decline in the 

replacement facility's total occupancy of 20 percentage 

points, in the replacement facility's first cost reporting 

period, shall be considered to indicate a substantial change 

when compared to the lower of the old facility's previous 

two prior cost reporting periods. The replacement facility 

shall receive the previous operator's operating rates if it 

does not qualify to be considered a new facility.  

D. 3. A change in either ownership or adverse financial 

conditions (e.g., bankruptcy), or both, of a provider does 

not change a nursing facility's status to be considered a 

new facility.  

E. 4. Effective July 1, 2001, for all new NFs the required 

occupancy percentage for indirect and capital costs shall be 

waived for establishing the first cost reporting period 

interim rate. The required occupancy percentage for dates 

of service on or before June 30, 2013, shall be 90%, and 

for dates of service on or after July 1, 2013, shall be 88%. 

This first cost reporting period shall not exceed 13 months 

from the date of the NF's certification.  

F. 5. The required occupancy percentage for indirect and 

capital costs shall be applied to the first and subsequent 

cost reporting periods' actual indirect and capital costs for 

establishing such NFs second and future cost reporting 

periods' prospective reimbursement rates. The required 

occupancy percentage shall be considered as having been 

satisfied if the new NF achieved the required occupancy 

percentage at any point in time during the first cost 

reporting period.  

1. a. The department may grant an exception to the 

minimum occupancy requirement for reimbursement 

purposes for beds taken out of service for the purpose of 

renovation. In this case, the occupancy requirement shall 

be calculated as the required occupancy percentage of 

available bed days for the period of the exception plus 

the required occupancy percentage of licensed bed days 

for the remainder of the cost report year. 

2. b. The provider shall notify DMAS and the Virginia 

Department of Health (VDH), Division of Long Term 

Care Services, Office of Licensure and Certification in 

advance and present a renovation plan including a 
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reasonable timetable for when the beds will be placed 

back into service. 

3. c. The provider shall keep the appropriate 

documentation of available beds and days during the 

renovation period, which will provide the evidence of the 

beds and days taken out of service for renovation 

purposes. This supporting documentation, along with a 

copy of the provider's notification letter to the VDH 

Division of Long Term Care Services, Office of 

Licensure and Certification shall be submitted with the 

filing of the provider's cost report, as applicable. The 

provider's notification letter shall account for the number 

of beds not in use for the defined period of time. 

G. 6. A new NF's interim rate for the first cost reporting 

period shall be determined based upon the lower of its 

anticipated allowable cost determined from a detailed 

budget (or pro forma cost report) prepared by the provider 

and accepted by DMAS, or the appropriate operating 

ceilings or charges.  

H. 7. Effective July 1, 2001, on the first day of its second 

cost reporting period, a new nursing facility's interim plant 

or capital, as appropriate, rate shall be converted to a per 

diem amount by dividing its allowable plant/capital plant 

or capital costs for its first cost reporting period by the 

required occupancy percentage of the potential number of 

patient days for all licensed beds during the first cost 

reporting period.  

I. 8. During its first semiannual period of operation, a 

newly constructed or newly enrolled NF shall have an 

assigned CMI based upon its peer group's normalized 

average Medicaid CMI for direct patient care. An 

expanded NF receiving new NF treatment shall receive the 

CMI calculated for its last semiannual period prior to 

obtaining new NF status.  

12VAC30-90-65. Final rate and effective for dates of 

services beginning July 1, 2001, through June 30, 2014.  

A. This section shall apply to dates of services beginning 

July 1, 2001, through June 30, 2014. 

B. DMAS shall reimburse the lower of the appropriate 

operating ceilings, charges or actual allowable cost for a new 

NF's first cost reporting period of operation, subject to the 

procedures outlined in subdivisions 4, 5, and 6 of 12VAC30-

90-60 E, F, and H.  

C. Upon determination of the actual allowable operating 

cost for direct patient care and indirect patient care the per 

diem amounts shall be used to determine if the provider is 

below the peer group ceiling used to set its interim rate. If 

indirect costs are below the ceiling, an efficiency incentive 

shall be paid at settlement of the first year cost report.  

D. This incentive will allow a NF to be paid up to 25% of 

the difference between its actual allowable indirect operating 

cost and the peer group ceiling used to set the interim rate. 

(Refer to 12VAC30-90-41 F.)  

Subpart VII  

Nurse Aide Training and Competency Evaluation Programs 

(NATCEPs)  

12VAC30-90-170. NATCEPs costs.  

A. The Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1989 (OBRA 

89) amended § 1903(a)(2)(B) of the Social Security Act to 

fund actual NATCEPs costs incurred by NFs separately from 

the NF's medical assistance services reimbursement rates.  

B. NATCEPs costs shall be as defined in Appendix I 

(12VAC30-90-270 through 12VAC30-90-276).  

C. To calculate the reimbursement rate, NATCEPs costs 

contained in the most recently filed cost report shall be 

converted to a per diem amount by dividing allowable 

NATCEPs costs by the actual number of NF's patient days.  

D. The NATCEPs interim reimbursement rate determined in 

subsection C of this section shall be added to the prospective 

operating cost and plant cost components or charges, 

whichever is lower, to determine the NF's prospective rate. 

The NATCEPs interim reimbursement rate shall not be 

adjusted for inflation.  

E. Reimbursement of NF costs for training and competency 

evaluation of nurse aides must take into account the NF's use 

of trained nurse aides in caring for Medicaid, Medicare and 

private pay patients. Medicaid shall not be charged for that 

portion of NATCEPs costs which are that is properly charged 

to Medicare or private pay services. The final retrospective 

reimbursement for NATCEPs costs shall be the 

reimbursement rate as calculated from the most recently filed 

cost report by the methodology in subsection C of this section 

times the Medicaid patient days from the DMAS MMR-240.  

F. Disallowance of nonreimbursable NATCEPs costs shall 

be reflected in the year in which the nonreimbursable costs 

were claimed.  

G. Payments to providers for allowable NATCEPs costs 

shall not be considered in the comparison of the lower 

allowable reimbursement or charges for covered services, as 

outlined in 12VAC30-90-55 A.  

H. Effective July 1, 2014, prospective NATCEPs per diem 

rates for each facility shall be the NATCEPs per diem rate in 

the base year inflated to the rate year based on inflation in 

12VAC30-90-44. To calculate the NATCEPs per diem rate, 

NATCEPs costs in the base year shall be converted to a per 

diem amount by dividing allowable NATCEPs costs by the 

actual number of NF's patient days. In non-rebasing years, the 

prospective rate calculation shall be revised annually using 

costs from the next available year. The NATCEPs 

reimbursement rate determined in this subsection shall be 

added to the prospective operating cost, criminal records 

checks, and plant cost components. 
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Subpart VIII  

Criminal Records Checks for Nursing Facility Employees  

12VAC30-90-180. Criminal records checks.  

A. This section implements the requirements of § 32.1-

126.01 of the Code of Virginia and Chapter 994 of the Acts 

of Assembly of 1993 (Item 313 T).  

B. A licensed nursing facility shall not hire for compensated 

employment persons who have been convicted of:  

1. Murder;  

2. Abduction for immoral purposes as set out in § 18.2-48 

of the Code of Virginia;  

3. Assaults and bodily woundings as set out in Article 4 

(§ 18.2-51 et seq.) of Chapter 4 of Title 18.2 of the Code of 

Virginia;  

4. Arson as set out in Article 1 (§ 18.2-77 et seq.) of 

Chapter 5 of Title 18.2 of the Code of Virginia;  

5. Pandering as set out in § 18.2-355 of the Code of 

Virginia;  

6. Crimes against nature involving children as set out in 

§ 18.2-361 of the Code of Virginia;  

7. Taking indecent liberties with children as set out in 

§§ 18.2-370 or 18.2-370.1 of the Code of Virginia;  

8. Abuse and neglect of children as set out in § 18.2-371.1 

of the Code of Virginia;  

9. Failure to secure medical attention for an injured child 

as set out in § 18.2-314 of the Code of Virginia;  

10. Obscenity offenses as set out in § 18.2-374.1 of the 

Code of Virginia; or  

11. Abuse or neglect of an incapacitated adult as set out in 

§ 18.2-369 of the Code of Virginia.  

C. The provider shall obtain a sworn statement or 

affirmation from every applicant disclosing any criminal 

convictions or pending criminal charges for any of the 

offenses specified in subsection B of this section regardless of 

whether the conviction or charges occurred in the 

Commonwealth.  

D. The provider shall obtain an original criminal record 

clearance or an original criminal record history from the 

Central Criminal Records Exchange for every person hired. 

This information shall be obtained within 30 days from the 

date of employment and maintained in the employees' files 

during the term of employment and for a minimum of five 

years after employment terminates for whatever reason.  

E. The provider may hire an applicant whose misdemeanor 

conviction is more than five years old and whose conviction 

did not involve abuse or neglect or moral turpitude.  

F. Reimbursement to the provider will be handled through 

the cost reporting form provided by the DMAS and will be 

limited to the actual charges made by the Central Criminal 

Records Exchange for the records requested. Such actual 

charges will be a pass-through cost which is not a part of the 

operating or plant cost components. 

G. Effective July 1, 2014, a prospective per diem rate shall 

be calculated. In a rebasing year, the calculation shall be 

based on the base year described in 12VAC30-90-44. In non-

rebasing years, the prospective rate calculation shall be 

revised annually using the next available year. No adjustment 

for inflation shall be made. The criminal records checks rate 

shall be added to the prospective operating rate, nurse aide 

training and competency evaluation programs (NATCEPs), 

and plant cost components. 

12VAC30-90-267. Private room differential. 

A. Payment shall be made for a private room or other 

accommodations more expensive than semi-private (two or 

more bed accommodations) only when such accommodations 

are medically necessary. Private rooms will be considered 

necessary when the resident's condition requires the resident 

to be isolated for his own health or that of others.  

B. Physician certification justifying the private room must 

be on file prior to the resident's discharge from the semi-

private room. The term "isolation" applies when treating a 

number of physical and mental conditions. These conditions 

include communicable diseases that require isolation of the 

resident for certain periods. Private room accommodations 

may also be necessary for residents whose symptoms or 

treatments are likely to alarm or disturb others in the same 

room.  

C. Reimbursement for private rooms will only be made 

when authorized by the Virginia Department of Medical 

Assistance Services. 

D. The Medicaid private room differential shall be 

calculated by applying the percentage difference between the 

facility's private and semi-private room charges to the total 

case-mix neutral Medicaid rate for the facility. 

12VAC30-90-306. Case-mix index (CMI).  

A. Effective for dates of service beginning July 1, 2001, 

through June 30, 2014, nursing facility case-mix indices shall 

be applied as described in this subsection. Each resident in a 

Virginia Medicaid certified nursing facility on the last day of 

the calendar quarter with an effective assessment date during 

the respective quarter shall be assigned to one of the RUG-III 

34 groups.  

B. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2014, 

nursing facility reimbursement described in 12VAC30-90-44 

shall be based on the case-mix or RUG weights as described 

in this subsection. Standard case-mix indices, developed by 

CMS for the Medicaid population (B01), shall be assigned to 

each of the RUG-III 34 groups as indicated in Table III.  
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Table III  

Case-Mix Indices (CMI)  

RUG 

Category 
RUG Description 

CMS 

"Standard" B01 

CMI Set 

RAD Rehabilitation All Levels / 

ADL 17-18 

1.66 

RAC Rehabilitation All Levels / 

ADL 14-16 

1.31 

RAB Rehabilitation All Levels / 

ADL 10-13 

1.24 

RAA Rehabilitation All Levels / 

ADL 4-9 

1.07 

SE3 Extensive Special Care 3 / 

ADL >6 

2.10 

SE2 Extensive Special Care 2 / 

ADL >6 

1.79 

SE1 Extensive Special Care 1 / 

ADL >6 

1.54 

SSC Special Care / ADL 17-18 1.44 

SSB Special Care / ADL 15-16 1.33 

SSA Special Care / ADL 4-14 1.28 

CC2 Clinically Complex with 

Depression / ADL 17-18 

1.42 

CC1 Clinically Complex / ADL 

17-18 

1.25 

CB2 Clinically Complex with 

Depression / ADL 12-16 

1.15 

CB1 Clinically Complex / ADL 

12-16 

1.07 

CA2 Clinically Complex with 

Depression / ADL 4-11 

1.06 

CA1 Clinically Complex / ADL 

4-11 

0.95 

IB2 Cognitive Impairment with 

Nursing Rehab / ADL 6-10 

0.88 

IB1 Cognitive Impairment / 

ADL 6-10 

0.85 

IA2 Cognitive Impairment with 

Nursing Rehab / ADL 4-5 

0.72 

IA1 Cognitive Impairment / 

ADL 4-5 

0.67 

BB2 Behavior Problem with 

Nursing Rehab / ADL 6-10 

0.86 

BB1 Behavior Problem / ADL 6-

10 

0.82 

BA2 Behavior Problem with 

Nursing Rehab / ADL 4-5 

0.71 

BA1 Behavior Problem / ADL 4-

5 

0.60 

PE2 Physical Function with 

Nursing Rehab / ADL 16-18 

1.00 

PE1 Physical Function / ADL 

16-18 

0.97 

PD2 Physical Function with 

Nursing Rehab / ADL 11-15 

0.91 

PD1 Physical Function / ADL 

11-15 

0.89 

PC2 Physical Function with 

Nursing Rehab / ADL 9-10 

0.83 

PC1 Physical Function / ADL 9-

10 

0.81 

PB2 Physical Function with 

Nursing Rehab / ADL 6-8 

0.65 

PB1 Physical Function / ADL 6-

8 

0.63 

PA2 Physical Function with 

Nursing Rehab / ADL 4-5 

0.62 

PA1 Physical Function / ADL 4-

5 

0.59 

C. There shall be four "picture dates" for each calendar year: 

March 31, June 30, September 30 and December 31. Each 

resident in each Medicaid-certified nursing facility on the 

picture date with a completed assessment that has an effective 

assessment date within the quarter shall be assigned a case-

mix index based on the resident's most recent assessment for 

the picture date as available in the DMAS MDS database.  

D. Using the individual Medicaid resident case-mix indices, 

a facility average Medicaid case-mix index shall be calculated 

four times per year for each facility. The facility average 

Medicaid case-mix indices shall be used for case-mix 

neutralization of resident care costs and for case-mix 

adjustment.  

1. During the time period beginning with the 

implementation of RUG-III up to the ceiling and rate 

setting effective July 1, 2004, the case-mix index 

calculations shall be based on assessments for residents for 

whom Medicaid is the principal payer. The statewide 
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average Medicaid case-mix index shall be a simple 

average, carried to four decimal places, of all case-mix 

indices for nursing facility residents in Virginia Medicaid 

certified nursing facilities for whom Medicaid is the 

principal payer on the last day of the calendar quarter. The 

facility average Medicaid case-mix index shall be a simple 

average, carried to four decimal places, of all case-mix 

indices for nursing facility residents in the Virginia 

Medicaid-certified nursing facility for whom Medicaid is 

the principal payer on the last day of the calendar quarter.  

2. The facility average Medicaid case-mix index shall be 

normalized across all of Virginia's Medicaid-certified nursing 

facilities for each picture date. To normalize the facility 

average Medicaid case-mix index, the facility average 

Medicaid case-mix index is divided by the statewide average 

Medicaid case-mix index for the same picture date.  

3. The department shall monitor the case-mix, including the 

case mix case-mix normalization and the neutralization 

processes, indices during the first two years following 

implementation of the RUG-III system. Effective July 1, 

2004, the statewide average case-mix index may be changed 

to recognize the fact that the costs of all residents are related 

to the case mix case-mix of all residents. The statewide 

average case-mix index of all residents, regardless of principal 

payer on the effective date of the assessment, in a Virginia 

Medicaid certified nursing facility may be used for case-mix 

neutralization. The use of the facility average Medicaid case-

mix index to adjust the prospective rate would not change.  

4. There shall be a correction period for Medicaid-certified 

nursing facilities to submit correction assessments to the 

CMS MDS database following each picture date. A report 

that details the picture date RUG category and CMI score 

for each resident in each nursing facility shall be mailed to 

the facility for review. The nursing facility shall have a 30-

day time period to submit any correction assessments to 

the MDS database or to contact the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services regarding other corrections. 

Corrections submitted in the 30-day timeframe shall be 

included in the final report of the CMI scores that shall be 

used in the calculation of the nursing facility ceilings and 

rates. Any corrections submitted after the 30-day 

timeframe shall not be included in the final report of the 

CMI scores that shall be used in the calculation of the 

nursing facility ceilings and rates.  

5. Assessments that cannot be classified to a RUG-III 

group due to errors shall be assigned the lowest case-mix 

index score.  

6. Assessments shall not be used for any out-of-state 

nursing facility provider that is enrolled in the Virginia 

Medical Assistance Program and is required to submit cost 

reports to the Medicaid program.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4185; Filed December 7, 2015, 11:17 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 14. INSURANCE 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 

2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any agency 

of the Supreme Court, and any agency that by the 

Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court 

of record. 

Title of Regulation: 14VAC5-130. Rules Governing the 

Filing of Rates for Individual and Certain Group 

Accident and Sickness Insurance Policy Forms (amending 

14VAC5-130-40 through 14VAC5-130-70, 14VAC5-130-

81).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 38.2-223 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Robert Grissom, Chief Insurance Market 

Examiner, Bureau of Insurance, Life and Health Division, 

State Corporation Commission, P.O. Box 1157, Richmond, 

VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-9152, FAX (804) 371-9944, 

or email bob.grissom@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments define and clarify the requirements 

applicable to the filing of rates for student health 

insurance coverage, including that rates (i) may be based 

on school-specific community rating and (ii) are not 

included in the Unified Rate Review Template.  

AT RICHMOND, DECEMBER 7, 2015 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. INS-2015-00174 

Ex Parte: In the matter of Amending 

Rules Governing the Filing of Rates for 

Individual and Certain Group Accident 

and Sickness Insurance Policy Forms 

ORDER ADOPTING REVISIONS TO RULES 

On October 16, 2015, the State Corporation Commission 

("Commission") issued an Order to Take Notice ("Order") to 

consider revisions to the Rules Governing the Filing of Rates 

for Individual and Certain Group Accident and Sickness 

Insurance Policy Forms set forth in Chapter 130 of Title 14 of 

the Virginia Administrative Code ("Rules").
1
 

These amendments were proposed by the Bureau of 

Insurance ("Bureau") to define and clarify the requirements 

applicable to the filing of rates for student health insurance 

coverage, which is a type of individual health insurance 

coverage. 
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The Order required that on or before November 30, 2015, 

any person requesting a hearing on the amendments to the 

Rules shall have filed such request for a hearing with the 

Clerk of the Commission ("Clerk").  No request for a hearing 

was filed with the Clerk. 

The Order also required any interested persons to file with 

the Clerk their comments in support of or in opposition to the 

amendments to the Rules on or before November 30, 

2015.  No comments were filed with the Clerk.  

The Bureau recommends that the amendments to the Rules 

be adopted as proposed. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, having considered this matter, 

is of the opinion that the Rules should be adopted as 

amended. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The amendments to the Rules Governing the Filing of 

Rates for Individual and Certain Group Accident and 

Sickness Insurance Policy Forms at Chapter 130 of Title 14 

of the Virginia Administrative Code, which amend the Rules 

at 14 VAC 5-130-40, 14 VAC 5-130-50, 14 VAC 5-130-60, 

14 VAC 5-130-65, 14 VAC 5-130-70, and 14 VAC 5-130-81, 

and which are attached hereto and made a part hereof, are 

hereby ADOPTED, to be effective January 1, 2016.   

(2) The Bureau forthwith shall give notice of the adoption of 

the amendments to the Rules by sending, by e-mail or U.S. 

mail, a copy of this Order, together with a copy of the 

adopted Rules, to all insurers, health maintenance 

organizations and health services plans licensed in Virginia to 

sell accident and sickness insurance, and to all interested 

persons. 

(3) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

forthwith shall cause a copy of this Order, together with the final 

amended Rules, to be forwarded to the Virginia Registrar of 

Regulations for appropriate publication in the Virginia Register 

of Regulations. 

(4) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall make available this Order and the attached amendments 

to the Rules on the Commission's website: 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(5) The Bureau shall file with the Clerk of the Commission 

an affidavit of compliance with the notice requirements in 

Ordering Paragraph (2) above. 

(6) This case is dismissed, and the papers herein shall be 

placed in the file for ended causes. 

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be sent by the Clerk of 

the Commission to the Commission's Office of General 

Counsel and the Bureau in care of Deputy Commissioner 

Althelia P. Battle. 

____________________________________ 
1 The Rules can be found at: 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title14/agency5/chapter130. 

14VAC5-130-40. Definitions.  

As used in this chapter:  

"Actuarial value" or "AV" means the anticipated covered 

medical spending for essential health benefits (EHB) 

coverage paid by a health plan for a standard population, 

computed in accordance with the plan's cost-sharing, divided 

by the total anticipated allowed charges for EHB coverage 

provided to a standard population, and expressed as a 

percentage. 

"Anticipated loss ratio" means the ratio of the present value 

of the future benefits to the present value of the future 

premiums of a policy form over the entire period for which 

rates are computed to provide coverage.  

"Grandfathered plan" means coverage provided by a health 

carrier in which an individual was enrolled on March 23, 

2010, for as long as such plan maintains that status in 

accordance with federal law. 

"Group health insurance coverage" means in connection 

with a group health plan, health insurance coverage offered in 

connection with such plan. 

"Group health plan" means an employee welfare benefit 

plan (as defined in § 3(1) of the Employee Retirement Income 

Security Act of 1974 (29 USC § 1002(1)), to the extent that 

the plan provides medical care and including items and 

services paid for as medical care to employees or their 

dependents (as defined under the terms of the plan) directly or 

through insurance, reimbursement, or otherwise. 

"Group Medicare supplement policy" means a group policy 

of accident and sickness insurance, or a group subscriber 

contract of hospital, medical or surgical plans, covering 

individuals who are entitled to have payment made under 

Medicare, which is designed primarily to supplement 

Medicare by providing benefits for payment of hospital, 

medical or surgical expenses, or is advertised, marketed or 

otherwise purported to be a supplement to Medicare. Such 

term does not include:  

1. A policy or contract of one or more employers or labor 

organizations, or of the trustees of a fund established by 

one or more employers or labor organizations, or 

combination thereof, for employees or former employees, 

or combination thereof, or for members or former 

members, or combination thereof, of the labor 

organizations; or  

2. A policy or contract of any professional, trade or 

occupational association for its members or former retired 

members, or combination thereof, if such association:  

a. Is composed of individuals all of whom are actively 

engaged in the same profession, trade, or occupation;  

b. Has been maintained in good faith for purposes other 

than obtaining insurance; and  
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c. Has been in existence for at least two years prior to the 

date of its initial offering of such policy or plan to its 

members. 

"Health benefit plan" means any accident and health 

insurance policy or certificate, health services plan contract, 

health maintenance organization subscriber contract, plan 

provided by a MEWA, or plan provided by another benefit 

arrangement. "Health benefit plan" does not mean accident 

only, credit, or disability insurance; coverage of Medicare 

services or federal employee health plans, pursuant to 

contracts with the United States government; Medicare 

supplement or long-term care insurance; Medicaid coverage; 

dental only or vision only insurance; specified disease 

insurance; hospital confinement indemnity coverage; limited 

benefit health coverage; coverage issued as a supplement to 

liability insurance; insurance arising out of a workers' 

compensation or similar law; automobile medical payment 

insurance; medical expense and loss of income benefits; or 

insurance under which benefits are payable with or without 

regard to fault and that is statutorily required to be contained 

in any liability insurance policy or equivalent self-insurance. 

"Health insurance coverage" means benefits consisting of 

medical care (provided directly, through insurance or 

reimbursement, or otherwise and including items and services 

paid for as medical care) under any hospital or medical 

service policy or certificate, hospital or medical service plan 

contract, or health maintenance organization contract offered 

by a health insurance issuer. 

"Health insurance issuer" means an insurance company, or 

insurance organization (including a health maintenance 

organization) that is licensed to engage in the business of 

insurance in this Commonwealth and that is subject to the 

laws of this Commonwealth that regulate insurance within the 

meaning of § 514(b)(2) of the Employee Retirement Income 

Security Act of 1974 (29 USC § 1144(b)(2)). Such term does 

not include a group health plan. 

"Health maintenance organization" means: 

1. A federally qualified health maintenance organization; 

2. An organization recognized under the laws of this 

Commonwealth as a health maintenance organization; or 

3. A similar organization regulated under the laws of this 

Commonwealth for solvency in the same manner and to 

the same extent as such a health maintenance organization. 

"Individual accident and sickness insurance" means 

insurance against loss resulting from sickness or from bodily 

injury or death by accident or accidental means or both when 

sold on an individual rather than group basis. 

"Individual health insurance coverage" means health 

insurance coverage offered to individuals in the individual 

market, that includes a health benefit plan provided to 

individuals through a trust arrangement, association, or other 

discretionary group that is not an employer plan, but does not 

include coverage defined as "excepted benefits" in § 38.2-

3431 of the Code of Virginia or short-term limited duration 

insurance. Student health insurance coverage shall be 

considered a type of individual health insurance coverage. 

"Individual market" means the market for health insurance 

coverage offered to individuals other than in connection with 

a group health plan. Coverage that would be regulated as 

individual market coverage if it were not sold through an 

association is individual market coverage.  

"Individual Medicare supplement policy" means an 

individual policy of accident and health insurance or a 

subscriber contract of hospital, medical or surgical plans, 

offered to individuals who are entitled to have payment made 

under Medicare, which is designed primarily to supplement 

Medicare by providing benefits for hospital, medical or 

surgical expenses, or is advertised, marketed or otherwise 

purported to be a supplement to Medicare. 

"Member" means an enrollee, member, subscriber, 

policyholder, certificate holder, or other individual who is 

participating in a health benefit plan or covered under health 

insurance. 

"Premium" means all moneys paid by an employer, eligible 

employee, or member as a condition of coverage from a 

health insurance issuer, including fees and other contributions 

associated with a health benefit plan.  

"Qualified [ Actuary" actuary" ] means a member of the 

American Academy of Actuaries, or other individual 

qualified as described in the American Academy of Actuaries' 

U.S. Qualification Standards and the Code of Professional 

Conduct to render statements of actuarial opinion in the 

applicable area of practice. 

"SERFF" means the National Association of Insurance 

Commissioner's (NAIC) System for Electronic Rate and 

Form Filing. 

"Small employer" means in connection with a group health 

plan or health insurance coverage with respect to a calendar 

year and a plan year, an employer who employed an average 

of at least one but not more than 50 employees on business 

days during the preceding calendar year and who employs at 

least one employee on the first day of the plan year. Effective 

January 1, 2016, "small employer" means in connection with 

a group health plan or health insurance coverage with respect 

to a calendar year and a plan year, an employer who 

employed an average of at least one but not more than 100 

employees on business days during the preceding calendar 

year and who employs at least one employee on the first day 

of the plan year. 

"Small group market" means the health insurance market 

under which individuals obtain health insurance coverage 

(directly or through any arrangement) on behalf of themselves 

(and their dependents) through a group health plan 

maintained by a small employer. Coverage that would be 

regulated as small group market coverage if it were not sold 

through an association is small group market coverage.  



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 9 Virginia Register of Regulations December 28, 2015 

1656 

"Student health insurance coverage" means a type of 

individual health insurance coverage offered in the individual 

market that is provided pursuant to a written agreement 

between an institution of higher education, as defined by the 

Higher Education Act of 1965 (Public Law No. 89-329), and 

a health carrier and provided to students enrolled in that 

institution of higher education and their dependents, and that 

does not make health insurance coverage available other than 

in connection with enrollment as a student or as a dependent 

of a student in the institution of higher education, and does 

not condition eligibility for health insurance coverage on any 

health status-related factor related to a student or a dependent 

of the student. 

14VAC5-130-50. General rules on rate filing; experience 

records and data.  

A. Every policy, rider or endorsement form affecting 

benefits which is submitted for approval shall be 

accompanied by a rate filing unless such rider or endorsement 

form does not require a change in the rate. Any subsequent 

addition to or change in rates applicable to such policy, rider 

or endorsement form shall also be filed.  

B. Each rate submission shall include an actuarial 

memorandum describing the basis on which rates were 

determined and shall indicate and describe the calculation of 

the anticipated loss ratio. Except for coverage issued in the 

small group market, interest at a rate consistent with that 

assumed in the original determination of premiums, shall be 

used in the calculation of this loss ratio. Each rate submission 

must also include a certification by a qualified actuary that to 

the best of the actuary's knowledge and judgment, the rate 

filing is in compliance with the applicable laws and 

regulations of this Commonwealth and that the benefits are 

reasonable in relation to the premiums.  

C. Health insurance issuers shall maintain records of earned 

premiums and incurred benefits for each calendar year for 

each policy form, including data for rider and endorsement 

forms which are used with the policy form, on the same basis, 

including all reserves, as required for the Accident and Health 

Policy Experience Exhibit. Separate data may be maintained 

for each rider or endorsement form to the extent appropriate. 

Experience under forms which provide substantially similar 

coverage may be combined. The data shall be for each 

calendar year of experience since the year the form was first 

issued.  

D. In determining the credibility and appropriateness of 

experience data, due consideration must be given to all 

relevant factors, such as:  

1. Statistical credibility of premiums and benefits, e.g., low 

exposure, low loss frequency.  

2. Experienced and projected trends relative to the kind of 

coverage, e.g., inflation in medical expenses, economic 

cycles affecting disability income experience.  

3. The concentration of experience at early policy 

durations where select morbidity and preliminary term 

reserves are applicable and where loss ratios are expected 

to be substantially lower than at later policy durations.  

4. The mix of business by risk classification. 

E. Rates for coverage issued in the individual or small group 

markets are required to meet the following: 

1. Premium rates with respect to a particular plan or 

coverage may only vary by: 

a. Whether the plan or coverage covers an individual or 

family; 

b. Rating area, as may be established by the commission; 

c. Age, consistent with the Uniform Age Rating Curve 

table below; and 

d. Tobacco use, except that the rate shall not vary by 

more than 1.5 to 1. Employees of a small employer may 

avoid this surcharge by participating in a wellness 

program that complies with § 2705(j) of the Public 

Health Service Act (42 USC § 300gg-4). 

Uniform Age Rating Curve 

AGE PREMIUM 

RATIO 

AGE PREMIUM 

RATIO 

AGE PREMIUM 

RATIO 

0-20 0.635 35 1.222 50 1.786 

21 1.000 36 1.230 51 1.865 

22 1.000 37 1.238 52 1.952 

23 1.000 38 1.246 53 2.040 

24 1.000 39 1.262 54 2.135 

25 1.004 40 1.278 55 2.230 

26 1.024 41 1.302 56 2.333 

27 1.048 42 1.325 57 2.437 
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28 1.087 43 1.357 58 2.548 

29 1.119 44 1.397 59 2.603 

30 1.135 45 1.444 60 2.714 

31 1.159 46 1.500 61 2.810 

32 1.183 47 1.563 62 2.873 

33 1.198 48 1.635 63 2.952 

34 1.214 49 1.706 64 and older 3.000 

2. A premium rate shall not vary by any other factor not 

described in this subsection. 

3. With respect to family coverage, the rating variations 

permitted in this subsection shall be applied based on the 

portion of the premium that is attributable to each family 

member covered under the plan. With respect to family 

members under age 21, the premiums for no more than the 

three oldest covered children shall be taken into account in 

determining the total family premium. 

4. The premium charged shall not be adjusted more 

frequently than annually, except that the premium rate may 

be changed to reflect changes to (i) the family composition 

of the member, (ii) the coverage requested by the member, 

or (iii) the geographic location of the member.  

5. Premium rates for student health insurance coverage 

may be based on school-specific community rating and are 

exempt from subdivisions 1 through 4 of this subsection. 

F. In the event of disapproval or withdrawal of approval by 

the commission of a rate submission, a health insurance issuer 

may proceed as indicated in § 38.2-1926 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

14VAC5-130-60. Filing of rates for a new policy form.  

A. Each rate submission shall include: (i) the applicable 

policy or certificate form, application and endorsements 

required by § 38.2-316 of the Code of Virginia, (ii) a rate 

sheet, (iii) an actuarial memorandum, and (iv) all information 

required in SERFF. For The Unified Rate Review Template 

shall also be filed for coverage issued in the individual or 

small group markets, the Unified Rate Review Template shall 

also be filed except for student health insurance coverage. 

B. The actuarial memorandum shall contain the following 

information:  

1. A description of the type of policy or coverage, 

including benefits, renewability, general marketing 

method, and issue age limits.  

2. A description of how rates were determined, including 

the general description and source of each assumption 

used.  

3. The estimated average annual premium per policy and 

per anticipated member.  

4. The anticipated loss ratio and a description of how it was 

calculated.  

5. The minimum anticipated loss ratio presumed 

reasonable in this chapter, as specified in 14VAC5-130-65.  

6. If the anticipated loss ratio in subdivision 4 of this 

subsection is less than the minimum loss ratio in 

subdivision 5 of this subsection, supporting documentation 

for the use of such premiums shall also be included.  

7. For coverage issued in the individual or small group 

market, a certification by a qualified actuary of the 

actuarial value of each plan of benefits included and the 

AV calculation summary. 

8. A certification by a qualified actuary that, to the best of 

the actuary's knowledge and judgment, the rate filing is in 

compliance with the applicable laws and regulations of this 

Commonwealth and the premiums are reasonable in 

relation to the benefits provided.  

14VAC5-130-65. Reasonableness of benefits in relation to 

initial premiums. 

A. Benefits shall be deemed reasonable in relation to 

premiums provided the anticipated loss ratio of the policy 

form, including riders and endorsements, is at least as great as 

specified below:  

1. If the expected average annual premium is at least $200 

but less than $1,000:  

Type of 

Coverage 

Renewal Clause 

OR CR GR NC Other 

Hospital 

Confinement 

Indemnity 

60% 55% 55% 50% 60% 

Disability 

Income 

Protection, 

Accident Only, 

Specified 

Disease and 

Other, whether 

paid on an 

expense 

incurred or 

indemnity basis 

60% 55% 50% 45% 60% 
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Definitions of renewal clause:  

OR - Optionally renewable: individual policy renewal is 

at the option of the insurance company.  

CR - Conditionally renewable: renewal can be declined 

by the insurance company only for stated reasons other 

than deterioration of health or renewal can be declined on 

a geographic territory basis.  

GR - Guaranteed renewable: renewal cannot be declined 

by the insurance company for any reason, but the 

insurance company can revise rates on a class basis.  

NC - Noncancellable: renewal cannot be declined nor can 

rates be revised by the insurance company.  

Other - Any other renewal or nonrenewal clauses (e.g., 

short term nonrenewable policies).  

2. If the expected average annual premium is $100 or more 

but less than $200, subtract five percentage points from the 

numbers in the table in subdivision 1 of this subsection.  

3. If the expected average annual premium is less than 

$100, subtract 10 percentage points from the numbers in 

the table in subdivision 1 of this subsection.  

4. If the expected average annual premium is $1,000 or 

more, add five percentage points to the numbers in the 

table in subdivision 1 of this subsection.  

5. Notwithstanding subdivision 1 of this subsection, group 

Medicare supplement policies, shall be expected to return 

to policyholders in the form of aggregate benefits under the 

policy at least 75% of the aggregate amount of premiums 

collected.  

6. Notwithstanding subdivisions 1 and 5 of this subsection, 

for Medicare supplement policies issued prior to July 30, 

1992, as a result of solicitation of individuals through the 

mails or by mass media advertising, which shall include 

both print and broadcast advertising, shall be expected to 

return to policyholders in the form of aggregate benefits 

under the policy at least 60% of the aggregate amount of 

premiums collected.  

7. Notwithstanding subdivision 1 of this subsection, for 

Medicare supplement policies issued prior to July 30, 

1992, sold on an individual rather than group basis shall be 

expected to return to policyholders in the form of 

aggregate benefits under the policy at least 60% of the 

aggregate amount of premiums collected.  

8. Notwithstanding subdivisions 1 through 4 of this 

subsection, all health insurance coverage issued in the 

individual market shall be originally priced to meet a 

minimum 75% loss ratio and, except for student health 

insurance coverage, such coverage shall be guaranteed 

renewable or noncancellable. 

9. Notwithstanding subdivisions 1 through 4 of this 

subsection, all health insurance coverage issued in the 

small group market shall be originally priced to meet a 

minimum 75% loss ratio and shall be guaranteed 

renewable or noncancellable.  

The above anticipated loss ratio standards do not apply to a 

type of coverage where such standards are in conflict with 

specific statutes or regulations.  

B. The average annual premium per policy and per member 

shall be computed by the health insurance issuer based on an 

anticipated distribution of business by all applicable criteria 

having a price difference, such as age, sex, amount, 

dependent status, rider frequency, etc., except assuming an 

annual mode for all policies (i.e., the fractional premium 

loading shall not affect the average annual premium or 

anticipated loss ratio calculation).  

14VAC5-130-70. Filing a rate revision.  

A. Each rate revision submission shall include: (i) a new rate 

sheet; (ii) an actuarial memorandum; and (iii) all information 

required in SERFF. For The Unified Rate Review Template 

shall be filed for coverage issued in the individual or small 

group markets, the Unified Rate Review Template shall also 

be filed except for student health insurance coverage. 

B. The actuarial memorandum shall contain the following 

information:  

1. A description of the type of policy, including benefits, 

renewability, issue age limits, and if applicable, whether 

the policy includes grandfathered or nongrandfathered 

plans or both.  

2. The scope and reason for the premium or rate revision.  

3. A comparison of the revised premiums with the current 

premium scale, including all percentage rate changes and 

any rating factor changes.  

4. A statement of whether the revision applies only to new 

business, only to in-force business, or to both.  

5. The estimated average annual premium per policy and 

per member, before and after the proposed rate revision. 

Where different changes by rating classification are being 

requested, the rate filing shall also include (i) the range of 

changes and (ii) the average overall change with a detailed 

explanation of how the change was determined. 

6. Except for coverage issued in the small group market, 

historical and projected experience, submitted on Form 130 

A, including: 

a. Virginia and national historical experience as specified 

in 14VAC5-130-50 C and projections for future 

experience; 

b. A statement indicating the basis for determining the 

rate revision (Virginia, national or blended); 

c. If the basis is blended, the credibility factor assigned to 

the national experience;  

d. Earned Premiums (EP), Incurred Benefits (IB), 

Increase in Reserves (IR), and Incurred Loss Ratio = (IB 

+ IR) ÷ (EP); and 
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e. Any other available data the health insurance issuer 

may wish to provide. The additional data may include, if 

available and appropriate, the ratios of actual claims to 

the claims expected according to the assumptions 

underlying the existing rates; substitution of actual claim 

run-offs for claim reserves and liabilities; accumulations 

of experience funds; substitution of net level policy 

reserves for preliminary term policy reserves; 

adjustments of premiums to an annual mode basis; or 

other adjustments or schedules suited to the form and to 

the records of the company. All additional data must be 

reconciled, as appropriate, to the required data.  

7. Details and dates of all past rate revisions, including the 

annual rate revisions members will experience as a result 

of this filing. For companies revising rates only annually, 

the rate revision should be identical to the current 

submission. For companies that have had more frequent 

rate revisions, the annual revision should reflect the 

compounding impact of all such revisions for the previous 

12 months.  

8. A description of how revised rates were determined, 

including the general description and source of each 

assumption on Form 130A. For claims, provide historical 

and projected claims by major service category for both 

cost and utilization on Form 130B.  

9. If the rate revision applies to new business, provide the 

anticipated loss ratio and a description of how it was 

calculated.  

10. If the rate revision applies to in-force business:  

a. The anticipated loss ratio and a description of how it 

was calculated; and 

b. The estimated cumulative loss ratio, historical and 

anticipated, and a description of how it was calculated.  

11. The loss ratio that was originally anticipated for the 

policy.  

12. If 9, 10a, or 10b is less than 11, supporting 

documentation for the use of such premiums or rates.  

13. The current number of Virginia and national members 

to which the revision applies for the most recent month for 

which such data is available, and either premiums in force, 

premiums earned, or premiums collected for such members 

in the year immediately prior to the filing of the rate 

revision.  

14. Certification by a qualified actuary that, to the best of 

the actuary's knowledge and judgment, the rate filing is in 

compliance with applicable laws and regulations of this 

Commonwealth and the premiums are reasonable in 

relation to the benefits provided. 

15. For coverage issued in the individual or small group 

markets, a certification by a qualified actuary of the 

actuarial value of each plan of benefits included and the 

AV calculation summary.  

14VAC5-130-81. Risk pools and index rate. 

A. A health insurance issuer shall consider the claims 

experience of all enrollees in all health benefit plans, other 

than grandfathered plans and student health insurance 

coverage, in the individual market to be members of a single 

risk pool. 

B. A health insurance issuer shall consider the claims 

experience of all enrollees in all health plans, other than 

grandfathered plans, in the small group market to be members 

of a single risk pool. 

C. Each plan year or policy year, as applicable, a health 

insurance issuer shall establish an index rate based on the 

total combined claims costs for providing essential health 

benefits within the single risk pool of the individual or small 

group market. The index rate may be adjusted on a market-

wide basis based on the total expected market-wide payments 

and charges under the risk adjustment and reinsurance 

programs in this Commonwealth and the health benefit 

exchange user fees. The premium rate for all of the health 

insurance issuer's plans shall use the applicable index rate, as 

adjusted in accordance with subsection D of this section. 

D. A health insurance issuer may vary premium rates for a 

particular plan from its index rate for a relevant state market 

based only on the following actuarially justified plan-specific 

factors: 

1. Cost-sharing design of the plan. 

2. The plan's provider network, delivery system 

characteristics, and utilization management practices. 

3. The benefits provided under the plan that are in addition 

to the essential health benefits. These additional benefits 

shall be pooled with similar benefits within a single risk 

pool and the claims experience from those benefits shall be 

utilized to determine rate variations for plans that offer 

those benefits in addition to essential health benefits. 

4. Administrative costs, excluding health benefit exchange 

user fees. 

5. With respect to catastrophic plans, the expected impact 

of the specific eligibility categories for those plans. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4264; Filed December 7, 2015, 3:10 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 

2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any agency 

of the Supreme Court, and any agency that by the 

Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court 

of record. 

Title of Regulation: 14VAC5-270. Rules Governing Annual 

Financial Reporting (amending 14VAC5-270-40, 

14VAC5-270-100, 14VAC5-270-110, 14VAC5-270-120, 

14VAC5-270-144, 14VAC5-270-174; adding 14VAC5-270-

145).  
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Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 38.2-223 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Raquel C. Pino, Principal Insurance 

Analyst, Bureau of Insurance, State Corporation Commission, 

P.O. Box 1157, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-

9499, FAX (804) 371-9511, or email 

raquel.pino@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments address revisions made to the National 

Association of Insurance Commissioners' Annual 

Financial Reporting Model Regulation pertaining to the 

State Corporation Commission's authority to require (i) all 

large insurers, that is those whose annual premiums 

exceed $500 million, and (ii) insurance groups, that is 

those whose annual premiums exceed $1 billion, to 

maintain an internal audit function that provides 

independent, objective, and reasonable assurance to the 

audit committee and insurer management regarding the 

insurer's governance, risk management, and internal 

controls. The audit function is required to be 

organizationally independent from management and to 

report at least annually to the audit committee on the 

results of internal audit activities.  

AT RICHMOND, DECEMBER 7, 2015 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel.  

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. INS-2015-00141 

Ex Parte: In the matter of 

Amending the Rules Governing 

Annual Financial Reporting 

ORDER ADOPTING RULES 

By Order to Take Notice ("Order") entered September 21, 

2015,
1
 all interested parties were ordered to take notice that 

subsequent to November 18, 2015, the State Corporation 

Commission ("Commission") would consider the entry of an 

order to adopt amendments to the rules set forth in Chapter 

270 of Title 14 of the Virginia Administrative Code, entitled 

Rules Governing Annual Financial Reporting, 14 VAC 5-

270-10 et seq. ("Rules"), which amend the Rules at 14 VAC 

5-270-40, 14 VAC 5-270-100, 14 VAC 5-270-110, 14 VAC 

5-270-120, 14 VAC 5-270-144, and 14 VAC 5-270-174, and 

add a new Rule at 14 VAC 5-270-145. 

The amendments to the Rules were proposed by the 

Commission's Bureau of Insurance ("Bureau") due to the 

National Association of Insurance Commissioners' adoption 

of the revisions to the Annual Financial Reporting Model 

Regulation. The proposed amendments provide the 

Commission with the authority to require all insurers with 

annual premiums exceeding $500 million and insurance 

groups with annual premiums exceeding $1 billion to 

maintain an internal audit function that provides independent, 

objective, and reasonable assurance to the audit committee 

and management regarding the insurer's governance, risk 

management, and internal controls.  The internal audit 

function is required to be organizationally independent from 

management and to report at least annually to the audit 

committee on the results of internal audit activities. 

The Order required that on or before November 18, 2015, 

any person requesting a hearing on the amendments to the 

Rules shall have filed such request for a hearing with the 

Clerk of the Commission ("Clerk"). No request for a hearing 

was filed with the Clerk. 

The Order also required all interested persons to file with the 

Clerk their comments in support of or in opposition to the 

amendments to the Rules on or before November 18, 

2015.  No comments were filed with the Clerk. 

The Bureau recommends that the amendments to the Rules 

be adopted as proposed. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, having considered this matter, 

is of the opinion that the Rules should be adopted as amended 

and revised. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposed amendments to Rules Governing 

Insurance Holding Companies, which amend the Rules at 14 

VAC 5-270-40, 14 VAC 5-270-100, 14 VAC 5-270-110, 14 

VAC 5-270-120, 14 VAC 5-270-144, and 14 VAC 5-270-

174, and add a new Rule at 14 VAC 5-270-145, which are 

attached hereto and made a part hereof, are hereby 

ADOPTED to be effective January 1, 2016.  

(2) The Bureau forthwith shall give further notice of the 

adopted Rules by mailing a copy of this Order to every entity 

that is licensed, approved, registered, or accredited in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia ("Virginia") under the provisions 

of Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia ("Code") and also 

subject to solvency regulation in Virginia pursuant to the 

provisions of Title 38.2 of the Code, as well as to all 

interested parties.  

(3) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

forthwith shall cause a copy of this Order, together with the 

attached adopted Rules, to be forwarded to the Virginia 

Registrar of Regulations for appropriate publication in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations.  

(4) This Order and the attached adopted Rules shall be 

posted on the Commission's website: 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case.  

(5) The Bureau shall file with the Clerk an affidavit of 

compliance with the notice requirements of Ordering 

Paragraph (2) above.  

(6) This matter hereby is dismissed, and the papers filed 

herein shall be placed in the file for ended causes. 

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be sent by the Clerk of 

the Commission to the Commission's Office of General 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case
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Counsel and the Bureau of Insurance in care of Deputy 

Commissioner Douglas C. Stolte. 

_____________________ 
1Doc. Con. Cen. No. 150940016. 

14VAC5-270-40. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Accountant" or "independent certified public accountant" 

means an independent certified public accountant or 

accounting firm in good standing with the American Institute 

of Certified Public Accountants ("AICPA") and in all states in 

which the accountant or firm is licensed to practice; for 

Canadian and British companies, it means a Canadian-

chartered or British-chartered accountant. 

"Affiliate" of a specific person or a person "affiliated" with a 

specific person means a person that directly or indirectly 

through one or more intermediaries, controls, is controlled by, 

or is under common control with the specific person. 

"Audit Committee" means a committee (or equivalent body) 

established by the board of directors of an entity for the 

purpose of overseeing the accounting and financial reporting 

processes of an insurer or group of insurers, the internal audit 

function of an insurer or group of insurers (if applicable), and 

external audits of financial statements of the insurer or group 

of insurers. The Audit Committee of an entity that controls a 

group of insurers may be deemed to be the Audit Committee 

for one or more of these controlled insurers solely for the 

purposes of this chapter at the election of the controlling 

person. If an Audit Committee is not designated by the 

insurer, the insurer's entire board of directors shall constitute 

the Audit Committee. 

"Audited Financial Report" means and includes those items 

specified in 14VAC5-270-60. 

"Commission" means the State Corporation Commission 

when acting pursuant to or in accordance with Title 38.2 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

"Due date" means (i) June 1 for all domestic insurers; (ii) 

June 30 for all foreign or alien companies domiciled or 

entered through a state in which similar law, regulation, or 

administrative practice provides for a June 30 filing date; and 

(iii) for all other insurers, the earlier of June 30 or the date 

established by the insurer's state of domicile or entry for filing 

similar audited financial reports. 

"Group of insurers" means those licensed insurers included 

in the reporting requirements of Article 5 (§ 38.2-1322 et 

seq.) of Chapter 13 of Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia, or a 

set of insurers as identified by an entity's management, for the 

purpose of assessing the effectiveness of internal control over 

financial reporting. 

"Indemnification" means an agreement of indemnity or a 

release from liability where the intent or effect is to shift or 

limit in any manner the potential liability of the person or 

firm for failure to adhere to applicable auditing or 

professional standards, whether or not resulting in part from 

knowing or other misrepresentations made by the insurer or 

its representatives.  

"Internal audit function" means a person or persons that 

provide independent, objective, and reasonable assurance 

designed to add value and improve an organization's 

operations and accomplish its objectives by bringing a 

systematic, disciplined approach to evaluate and improve the 

effectiveness of risk management, control and governance 

processes. 

"Internal control over financial reporting" means a process 

effected by an entity's board of directors, management, and 

other personnel designed to provide reasonable assurance 

regarding the reliability of the financial statements and 

includes those policies and procedures that: 

1. Pertain to the maintenance of records that in reasonable 

detail accurately and fairly reflect the transactions and 

dispositions of assets; 

2. Provide reasonable assurance that transactions are 

recorded as necessary to permit preparation of the financial 

statements and that receipts and expenditures are being 

made only in accordance with authorizations of 

management and directors; and 

3. Provide reasonable assurance regarding prevention or 

timely detection of unauthorized acquisition, use, or 

disposition of assets that could have a material effect on 

the financial statements. 

"NAIC" means the National Association of Insurance 

Commissioners. 

"RBC" means risk-based capital. 

"RBC Level" means a licensee's Company Action Level 

RBC, Regulatory Action Level RBC, Authorized Control 

Level RBC, or Mandatory Control Level RBC where:  

1. "Company Action Level RBC" means, with respect to 

any licensee, the product of 2.0 and its Authorized Control 

Level RBC;  

2. "Regulatory Action Level RBC" means the product of 

1.5 and its Authorized Control Level RBC;  

3. "Authorized Control Level RBC" means the number 

determined under the risk-based capital formula in 

accordance with the RBC Instructions; and 

4. "Mandatory Control Level RBC" means the product of 

0.70 and the Authorized Control Level RBC. 

"SEC" means the United States U.S. Securities and 

Exchange Commission. 

"Section 404" means Section 404 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act 

of 2002 (15 USC § 7201 et seq.) and the SEC's rules and 

regulations promulgated thereunder. 

"Section 404 report" means management's report on 

"internal control over financial reporting" as defined by the 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 9 Virginia Register of Regulations December 28, 2015 

1662 

SEC and the related attestation report of the independent 

certified public accountant. 

"SOX compliant entity" means an entity that either is 

required to be compliant with, or voluntarily is compliant 

with, all of the following provisions of the Sarbanes-Oxley 

Act of 2002 (15 USC § 7201 et seq.): (i) the preapproval 

requirements of Section 201 (Section 10A(i) of the Securities 

Exchange Act of 1934 (15 USC § 78a et seq.)); (ii) the Audit 

Committee independence requirements of Section 301 

(Section 10A(m)(3) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 

(15 USC § 78a et seq.)); and (iii) the internal control over 

financial reporting requirements of Section 404 (Item 308 of 

SEC Regulation S-K). 

"Workpapers" means the records kept by the accountant of 

the procedures followed, the tests performed, the information 

obtained, and the conclusions reached pertinent to the 

accountant's examination of the financial statements of an 

insurer. Workpapers, accordingly, may include work 

programs, analyses, memoranda, letters of confirmation and 

representation, abstracts of company documents, and 

schedules or commentaries prepared or obtained by the 

accountant in the course of the examination of the financial 

statements of an insurer and which support the accountant's 

opinion thereof.  

14VAC5-270-100. Scope of audit and report of 

independent certified public accountant.  

Financial statements furnished pursuant to 14VAC5-270-60 

shall be examined by an accountant. The audit of the insurer's 

financial statements shall be conducted in accordance with 

generally accepted auditing standards. In accordance with 

U.S. Auditing (AU) Standards - AICPA Clarified (AU-C) 

Section 319 315 of the AICPA Professional Standards, 

Consideration of Internal Control in a Financial Statement 

Audit Understanding the Entity and Its Environment and 

Assessing the Risks of Material Misstatement, the accountant 

shall obtain an understanding of internal control sufficient to 

plan the audit. To the extent required by AU AU-C Section 

319 315, for those insurers required to file a Management's 

Report of Internal Control over Financial Reporting pursuant 

to 14VAC5-270-148, the accountant should consider (as the 

term should consider is defined in Statements on Auditing 

Standards (SAS) No. 102 AU-C Section 200 of the AICPA 

Professional Standards, Defining Professional Requirements 

in Statements on Overall Objectives of the Independent 

Auditor and the Conduct of an Audit in Accordance with 

Generally Accepted Auditing Standards) the most recently 

available report in planning and performing the audit of the 

statutory financial statements. Consideration shall be given to 

the procedures illustrated in the Financial Condition 

Examiners Handbook promulgated by the NAIC as the 

accountant deems necessary.  

14VAC5-270-110. Notification of adverse financial 

condition.  

A. The insurer required to furnish the annual Audited 

Financial Report shall require the accountant to report in 

writing within five business days to the board of directors or 

its Audit Committee any determination by the accountant that 

the insurer has materially misstated its financial condition as 

reported to the commission as of the balance sheet date under 

examination or that the insurer does not meet its minimum 

statutory capital and surplus requirements as of that date 

pursuant to Virginia law. An insurer that has received a report 

pursuant to this subsection shall forward a copy of the report 

to the commission within five business days of receipt of the 

report and shall provide the accountant making the report 

with evidence of the report being furnished to the 

commission. If the accountant fails to receive the evidence 

within the required five-business-day period, the accountant 

shall furnish to the commission a copy of its report within the 

next five business days.  

B. No accountant shall be liable in any manner to any person 

for any statement made in connection with subsection A of 

this section if the statement is made in good faith in 

compliance with subsection A of this section.  

C. If the accountant, subsequent to the date of the Audited 

Financial Report filed pursuant to this chapter, becomes 

aware of facts which might have affected the report, the 

commission notes the obligation of the accountant to take 

action as prescribed in AU AU-C Section 561 560 of the 

AICPA Professional Standards, Subsequent Discovery of 

Events and Subsequently Discovered Facts Existing at the 

Date of the Auditor's Report.  

14VAC5-270-120. Communicating internal control 

related matters identified in an audit. 

A. In addition to the annual Audited Financial Report, each 

insurer shall furnish the commission with a written 

communication as to any unremediated material weaknesses 

in its internal controls over financial reporting identified 

during the audit. The communication shall be prepared by the 

accountant within 60 days after the filing of the annual 

Audited Financial Report, and shall contain a description of 

any unremediated material weakness (as the term material 

weakness is defined in SAS No. 112 AU-C Section 265 of the 

AICPA Professional Standards, Communicating Internal 

Control Related Matters Identified in an Audit) as of the 

immediately preceding December 31 (so as to coincide with 

the Audited Financial Report discussed in 14VAC5-270-50 

A) in the insurer's internal control over financial reporting 

identified by the accountant during the course of the audit of 

the financial statements. If no unremediated material 

weaknesses were identified, the communication should so 

state. 

B. The insurer is required to provide a description of 

remedial actions taken or proposed to correct unremediated 
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material weaknesses, if the actions are not described in the 

accountant's communication. 

C. The insurer is expected to maintain information about 

significant deficiencies communicated by the independent 

certified public accountant. The information should be made 

available to the examiner conducting a financial condition 

examination for review and kept in a manner as to remain 

confidential. 

14VAC5-270-144. Requirements for Audit Committees. 

A. This section shall not apply to foreign or alien insurers 

licensed in Virginia or an insurer that is a SOX compliant 

entity or a direct or indirect wholly-owned subsidiary of a 

SOX compliant entity. 

B. The Audit Committee shall be directly responsible for the 

appointment, compensation and oversight of the work of any 

accountant (including resolution of disagreements between 

management and the accountant regarding financial 

reporting) for the purpose of preparing or issuing the Audited 

Financial Report or related work pursuant to this chapter. 

Each accountant shall report directly to the Audit Committee. 

C. The Audit Committee of an insurer or group of insurers 

shall be responsible for overseeing the insurer's internal audit 

function and granting the person or persons performing the 

function suitable authority and resources to fulfill their 

responsibilities if required by 14VAC5-270-145. 

D. Each member of the Audit Committee shall be a member 

of the board of directors of the insurer or a member of the 

board of directors of an entity elected pursuant to subsection 

F G of this section. 

D. E. In order to be considered independent for purposes of 

this section, a member of the Audit Committee may not, other 

than in the capacity as a member of the Audit Committee, the 

board of directors, or any other board committee, accept any 

consulting, advisory, or other compensatory fee from the 

entity or be an affiliated person of the entity or subsidiary 

thereof. However, if Virginia law requires board participation 

by otherwise nonindependent members, that law shall prevail 

and such members may participate in the Audit Committee 

and be designated as independent for Audit Committee 

purposes, unless they are an officer or employee of the insurer 

or one of its affiliates. 

E. F. If a member of the Audit Committee ceases to be 

independent for reasons outside the member's reasonable 

control, that member, with notice by the responsible entity to 

the commission, may remain an Audit Committee member of 

the responsible entity until the earlier of the next annual 

meeting of the responsible entity or one year from the 

occurrence of the event that caused the member to be no 

longer independent. 

F. G. To exercise the election of the controlling person to 

designate the Audit Committee for purposes of this chapter, 

the ultimate controlling person shall provide written notice to 

the commission of the affected insurers. Notification shall be 

made timely prior to the issuance of the statutory audit report 

and include a description of the basis for the election. The 

election can be changed through notice to the commission by 

the insurer, which shall include a description of the basis for 

the change. The election shall remain in effect for perpetuity, 

unless rescinded. 

G. H. The Audit Committee shall require the accountant that 

conducts for an insurer any audit required by this chapter to 

timely report to the Audit Committee in accordance with the 

requirements of SAS No. 114 AU-C Section 260 of the 

AICPA Professional Standards, The Auditor's 

Communication with those Charged with Governance, 

including: 

1. All significant accounting policies and material 

permitted practices; 

2. All material alternative treatments of financial 

information within statutory accounting principles that 

have been discussed with management officials of the 

insurer, ramifications of the use of the alternative 

disclosures and treatments, and the treatment preferred by 

the accountant; and 

3. Other material written communications between the 

accountant and the management of the insurer, such as any 

management letter or schedule of unadjusted differences. 

If an insurer is a member of an insurance holding company 

system, the reports required by this subsection may be 

provided to the Audit Committee on an aggregate basis for 

insurers in the holding company system, provided that any 

substantial differences among insurers in the system are 

identified to the Audit Committee. 

H. I. The proportion of independent Audit Committee 

members shall meet or exceed the following criteria: 

Prior Calendar Year Direct Written and Assumed Premiums 

$0 - $300 

million 

Over $300 

million - $500 

million 

Over $500 

million 

No minimum 

requirements.  

See Notes A 

and B. 

Majority (50% 

or more) of 

members shall 

be independent.  

See Notes A and 

B. 

Supermajority of 

members (75% or 

more) shall be 

independent. 

See Note A. 

Note A: The commission has authority afforded by state law 

to require the entity's board to enact improvements to the 

independence of the Audit Committee membership if the 

insurer is in a RBC level event, meets one or more of the 

standards of an insurer deemed to be in hazardous financial 

condition, or otherwise exhibits qualities of a troubled 

insurer. 

Note B: All insurers with less than $500 million in prior year 

direct written and assumed premiums are encouraged to 
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structure their Audit Committees with at least a supermajority 

of independent Audit Committee members. 

Note C: Prior calendar year direct written and assumed 

premiums shall be the combined total of direct premiums and 

assumed premiums from nonaffiliates for the reporting 

entities. 

I. J. An insurer with direct written and assumed premiums, 

excluding premiums reinsured with the Federal Crop 

Insurance Corporation and Federal Flood Program, less than 

$500 million may make application to the commission for a 

waiver from the requirements of this section based upon 

hardship. The insurer shall file, with its annual statement 

filing, the commission's letter granting relief from this section 

with the states in which it is licensed or doing business and 

the NAIC. If the nondomestic state accepts electronic filing 

with the NAIC, the insurer shall file the letter granting relief 

in an electronic format acceptable to the NAIC. 

14VAC5-270-145. Internal audit function requirements. 

A. An insurer is exempt from the requirements of this 

section if:  

1. The insurer has annual direct written and unaffiliated 

assumed premium, including international direct and 

assumed premium but excluding premiums reinsured with 

the Federal Crop Insurance Corporation and Federal Flood 

Program, less than $500 million; and 

2. If the insurer is a member of a group of insurers, the 

group has annual direct written and unaffiliated assumed 

premium including international direct and assumed 

premium, but excluding premiums reinsured with the 

Federal Crop Insurance Corporation and Federal Flood 

Program, less than $1 billion. 

B. The insurer or group of insurers shall establish an internal 

audit function providing independent, objective, and 

reasonable assurance to the Audit Committee and insurer 

management regarding the insurer's governance, risk 

management, and internal controls. This assurance shall be 

provided by performing general and specific audits, reviews, 

and tests and by employing other techniques deemed 

necessary to protect assets, evaluate control effectiveness and 

efficiency, and evaluate compliance with policies and 

regulations. 

C. In order to ensure that internal auditors remain objective, 

the internal audit function must be organizationally 

independent. Specifically, the internal audit function will not 

defer ultimate judgment on audit matters to others and shall 

appoint an individual to head the internal audit function who 

will have direct and unrestricted access to the board of 

directors. Organizational independence does not preclude 

dual-reporting relationships. 

D. The head of the internal audit function shall report to the 

Audit Committee regularly, but no less often than annually, 

on the periodic audit plan, factors that may adversely impact 

the internal audit function's independence or effectiveness, 

material findings from completed audits, and the 

appropriateness of corrective actions implemented by 

management as a result of audit findings. 

E. If an insurer is a member of an insurance holding 

company system or included in a group of insurers, the 

insurer may satisfy the internal audit function requirements 

set forth in this section at the ultimate controlling parent 

level, an intermediate holding company level, or the 

individual legal entity level. 

14VAC5-270-174. Retention of independent certified 

public accountant on or after January 1, 2010, and other 

effective dates. 

A. Unless otherwise noted, the requirements of this chapter 

shall become effective for the reporting period ending 

December 31, 2010, and each year thereafter. An insurer or 

group of insurers not required to file a report because its total 

written premium is below the threshold that subsequently 

becomes subject to the reporting requirements shall have two 

years following the year the threshold is exceeded (but not 

earlier than December 31, 2010) to file a report. Likewise, an 

insurer acquired in a business combination shall have two 

calendar years following the date of acquisition or 

combination to comply with the reporting requirements. 

B. The requirements of 14VAC5-270-80 D shall become 

effective for audits of the year beginning January 1, 2010, and 

thereafter. 

C. The requirements of 14VAC5-270-144 shall become 

effective on January 1, 2010. An insurer or group of insurers 

that is not required to have independent Audit Committee 

members or only a majority of independent Audit Committee 

members (as opposed to a supermajority) because the total 

direct written and assumed premium is below the threshold 

and subsequently becomes subject to one of the independence 

requirements due to changes in premium shall have one year 

following the year the threshold is exceeded (but not earlier 

than January 1, 2010) to comply with the independence 

requirements. Likewise, an insurer that becomes subject to 

one of the independence requirements as a result of a business 

combination shall have one calendar year following the date 

of acquisition or combination to comply with the 

independence requirements. 

D. The requirements of 14VAC5-270-145 are to become 

effective January 1, 2016. If an insurer or group of insurers 

that is exempt from the 14VAC5-270-145 requirements no 

longer qualifies for that exemption, it shall have one year 

after the year the threshold is exceeded to comply with the 

requirements of this chapter. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 
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Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (14VAC5-270)  

Affidavit for Exemption From Filing Audited Financial 

Reports, SCCBOI-16.  

Audited Financial Statements Exemption Affidavit Year 

Ended December 31, 2014, R03 (eff. 10/2014) 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(14VAC5-270)  

AICPA Professional Standards, Volume 1, June 1, 2007, 

American Institute of Certified Public Accountants. 

AICPA Professional Standards, Volume 2, June 1, 2007, 

American Institute of Certified Public Accountants. 

AICPA Professional Standards, Volume 1, as of June 1, 

2015, American Institute of Certified Public Accountants, 

New York, New York 10036-8775, http://www.aicpa.org 

AICPA Professional Standards, Volume 2, as of June 1, 

2015, American Institute of Certified Public Accountants, 

New York, New York 10036-8775, http://www.aicpa.org 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4479; Filed December 8, 2015, 3:11 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Medicine is claiming 

an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative Process 

Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 6 of the Code of 

Virginia, which excludes regulations of the regulatory boards 

served by the Department of Health Professions pursuant to 

Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia that are limited to reducing 

fees charged to regulants and applicants. The Board of 

Medicine will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by 

any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC85-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Medicine, Osteopathic Medicine, Podiatry, 

and Chiropractic (amending 18VAC85-20-22). 

18VAC85-40. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Respiratory Therapists (amending 18VAC85-40-35). 

18VAC85-50. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Physician Assistants (amending 18VAC85-50-35). 

18VAC85-80. Regulations Governing the Licensure of 

Occupational Therapists (amending 18VAC85-80-26). 

18VAC85-101. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Radiologic Technology (amending 18VAC85-101-25). 

18VAC85-110. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Licensed Acupuncturists (amending 18VAC85-110-35). 

18VAC85-120. Regulations Governing the Licensure of 

Athletic Trainers (amending 18VAC85-120-35). 

18VAC85-130. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Licensed Midwives (amending 18VAC85-130-30). 

18VAC85-140. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Polysomnographic Technologists (amending 18VAC85-

140-40). 

18VAC85-150. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Behavior Analysis (amending 18VAC85-150-40). 

18VAC85-160. Regulations Governing the Registration of 

Surgical Assistants and Surgical Technologists (amending 

18VAC85-160-40).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 27, 2016.  

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 

Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4621, FAX 

(804) 527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments provide for a one-time fee reduction 

applicable to the next renewal cycle in 2016 or 2017 for 

licenses and registrations of professions regulated by the 

Board of Medicine. 

18VAC85-20-22. Required fees.  

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees established by the board 

shall not be refundable.  

B. All examination fees shall be determined by and made 

payable as designated by the board.  

C. The application fee for licensure in medicine, osteopathic 

medicine, and podiatry shall be $302, and the fee for 

licensure in chiropractic shall be $277.  

D. The fee for a temporary authorization to practice 

medicine pursuant to § 54.1-2927 B (i) and (ii) of the Code of 

Virginia shall be $25.  

E. The application fee for a limited professorial or fellow 

license issued pursuant to 18VAC85-20-210 shall be $55. 

The annual renewal fee shall be $35. For renewal of a limited 

professorial or fellow license in 2014 2016, the fee shall be 

$30. An additional fee for late renewal of licensure shall be 

$15.  

F. The application fee for a limited license to interns and 

residents pursuant to 18VAC85-20-220 shall be $55. The 

annual renewal fee shall be $35. For renewal of a limited 

license to interns and residents in 2014 2016, the fee shall be 

$30. An additional fee for late renewal of licensure shall be 

$15.  

G. The fee for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15; the 

fee for a duplicate license shall be $5 $5.00.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=adf63004479~1&typ=40&actno=004479&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=adf63004479~1&typ=40&actno=004479&mime=application/pdf
http://www.aicpa.org/
http://www.aicpa.org/
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H. The fee for biennial renewal shall be $337 for licensure 

in medicine, osteopathic medicine, and podiatry and $312 for 

licensure in chiropractic, due in each even-numbered year in 

the licensee's birth month. An additional fee for processing a 

late renewal application within one renewal cycle shall be 

$115 for licensure in medicine, osteopathic medicine, and 

podiatry and $105 for licensure in chiropractic. For renewal 

of licensure in 2014 2016, the fee shall be $293 $270 for 

licensure in medicine, osteopathic medicine, and podiatry and 

$271 $250 for licensure in chiropractic. 

I. The fee for requesting reinstatement of licensure or 

certification pursuant to § 54.1-2408.2 of the Code of 

Virginia or for requesting reinstatement after any petition to 

reinstate the certificate or license of any person has been 

denied shall be $2,000.  

J. The fee for reinstatement of a license issued by the Board 

of Medicine pursuant to § 54.1-2904 of the Code of Virginia 

that has expired for a period of two years or more shall be 

$497 for licensure in medicine, osteopathic medicine, and 

podiatry ($382 for reinstatement application in addition to the 

late fee of $115) and $472 for licensure in chiropractic ($367 

for reinstatement application in addition to the late fee of 

$105). The fee shall be submitted with an application for 

licensure reinstatement.  

K. The fee for a letter of verification of licensure shall be 

$10, and the fee for certification of grades to another 

jurisdiction by the board shall be $25. Fees shall be due and 

payable upon submitting a request for verification or 

certification to the board.  

L. The fee for biennial renewal of an inactive license shall 

be $168, due in the licensee's birth month. An additional fee 

for late renewal of licensure shall be $55 for each renewal 

cycle. For renewal of an inactive license in 2014 2016, the fee 

shall be $145 $135. 

M. The fee for an application or for the biennial renewal of a 

restricted volunteer license shall be $75, due in the licensee's 

birth month. An additional fee for late renewal of licensure 

shall be $25 for each renewal cycle. For renewal of a 

restricted volunteer license in 2014 2016, the fee shall be $65. 

N. The fee for a returned check shall be $35.  

18VAC85-40-35. Fees.  

The following fees are required:  

1. The application fee, payable at the time the application 

is filed, shall be $130.  

2. The biennial fee for renewal of active licensure shall be 

$135 and for renewal of inactive licensure shall be $70, 

payable in each odd-numbered year in the license holder's 

birth month. For 2015 2017, the fee for renewal of an 

active license shall be $115 $108, and the fee for renewal 

of an inactive license shall be $60 $54. 

3. The additional fee for late renewal of licensure within 

one renewal cycle shall be $50.  

4. The fee for reinstatement of a license issued by the 

Board of Medicine pursuant to § 54.1-2904 of the Code of 

Virginia, which has lapsed for a period of two years or 

more, shall be $180 and must be submitted with an 

application for licensure reinstatement.  

5. The fee for reinstatement of a license pursuant to § 54.1-

2408.2 of the Code of Virginia shall be $2,000.  

6. The fee for a duplicate license shall be $5 $5.00, and the 

fee for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15.  

7. The fee for a returned check shall be $35.  

8. The fee for a letter of good standing/verification to 

another jurisdiction shall be $10; the fee for certification of 

grades to another jurisdiction shall be $25.  

9. The fee for an application or for the biennial renewal of 

a restricted volunteer license shall be $35, due in the 

licensee's birth month. An additional fee for late renewal of 

licensure shall be $15 for each renewal cycle. 

18VAC85-50-35. Fees.  

Unless otherwise provided, the following fees shall not be 

refundable:  

1. The initial application fee for a license, payable at the 

time application is filed, shall be $130.  

2. The biennial fee for renewal of an active license shall be 

$135 and for renewal of an inactive license shall be $70, 

payable in each odd-numbered year in the birth month of 

the licensee. For 2015 2017, the fee for renewal of an 

active license shall be $115 $108, and the fee for renewal 

of an inactive license shall be $60 $54. 

3. The additional fee for late renewal of licensure within 

one renewal cycle shall be $50.  

4. A restricted volunteer license shall expire 12 months 

from the date of issuance and may be renewed without 

charge by receipt of a renewal application that verifies that 

the physician assistant continues to comply with provisions 

of § 54.1-2951.3 of the Code of Virginia.  

5. The fee for review and approval of a new protocol 

submitted following initial licensure shall be $15.  

6. The fee for reinstatement of a license pursuant to § 54.1-

2408.2 of the Code of Virginia shall be $2,000.  

7. The fee for a duplicate license shall be $5 $5.00, and the 

fee for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15.  

8. The fee for a returned check shall be $35.  

9. The fee for a letter of good standing/verification to 

another jurisdiction shall be $10.  

10. The fee for an application or for the biennial renewal of 

a restricted volunteer license shall be $35, due in the 

licensee's birth month. An additional fee for late renewal of 

licensure shall be $15 for each renewal cycle. 

18VAC85-80-26. Fees.  

A. The following fees have been established by the board:  
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1. The initial fee for the occupational therapist license shall 

be $130; for the occupational therapy assistant, it shall be 

$70.  

2. The fee for reinstatement of the occupational therapist 

license that has been lapsed for two years or more shall be 

$180; for the occupational therapy assistant, it shall be $90.  

3. The fee for active license renewal for an occupational 

therapist shall be $135; for an occupational therapy 

assistant, it shall be $70. The fees for inactive license 

renewal shall be $70 for an occupational therapist and $35 

for an occupational therapy assistant. Renewals shall be 

due in the birth month of the licensee in each even-

numbered year. For 2014 2016, the fee for renewal of an 

active license as an occupational therapist shall be $115 

$108; for an occupational therapy assistant, it shall be $60 

$54. For renewal of an inactive license in 2014 2016, the 

fees shall be $60 $54 for an occupational therapist and $30 

$28 for an occupational therapy assistant. 

4. The additional fee for processing a late renewal 

application within one renewal cycle shall be $50 for an 

occupational therapist and $30 for an occupational therapy 

assistant.  

5. The fee for a letter of good standing or verification to 

another state for a license shall be $10.  

6. The fee for reinstatement of licensure pursuant to § 54.1-

2408.2 of the Code of Virginia shall be $2,000.  

7. The fee for a returned check shall be $35.  

8. The fee for a duplicate license shall be $5 $5.00, and the 

fee for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15.  

9. The fee for an application or for the biennial renewal of 

a restricted volunteer license shall be $35, due in the 

licensee's birth month. An additional fee for late renewal of 

licensure shall be $15 for each renewal cycle.  

B. Unless otherwise provided, fees established by the board 

shall not be refundable.  

18VAC85-101-25. Fees. 

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall 

not be refundable. 

B. Initial licensure fees. 

1. The application fee for radiologic technologist or 

radiologist assistant licensure shall be $130. 

2. The application fee for the radiologic technologist-

limited licensure shall be $90. 

3. All examination fees shall be determined by and made 

payable as designated by the board. 

C. Licensure renewal and reinstatement for a radiologic 

technologist or a radiologist assistant. 

1. The fee for active license renewal for a radiologic 

technologist shall be $135, and the fee for inactive license 

renewal shall be $70. For 2015 2017, the fees for renewal 

shall be $115 $108 for an active license as a radiologic 

technologist and $60 $54 for an inactive license. If a 

radiologist assistant holds a current license as a radiologic 

technologist, the renewal fee shall be $50. If a radiologist 

assistant does not hold a current license as a radiologic 

technologist, the renewal fee shall be $150. For renewal of 

a radiologist assistant license in 2015 2017, the fee shall be 

$40 for a radiologist assistant with a current license as a 

radiologic technologist and $130 $120 for a radiologist 

assistant without a current license as a radiologic 

technologist. 

2. An additional fee of $50 to cover administrative costs 

for processing a late renewal application within one 

renewal cycle shall be imposed by the board. 

3. The fee for reinstatement of a radiologic technologist or 

a radiologist assistant license that has lapsed for a period of 

two years or more shall be $180 and shall be submitted 

with an application for licensure reinstatement. 

4. The fee for reinstatement of a license pursuant to § 54.1-

2408.2 of the Code of Virginia shall be $2,000. 

D. Licensure renewal and reinstatement for a radiologic 

technologist-limited. 

1. The fee for active license renewal shall be $70, and the 

fee for inactive license renewal shall be $35. For 2015 

2017, the fees for renewal shall be $60 $54 for an active 

license as a radiologic technologist and $30 $28 for an 

inactive license. 

2. An additional fee of $25 to cover administrative costs 

for processing a late renewal application within one 

renewal cycle shall be imposed by the board. 

3. The fee for reinstatement of a license that has lapsed for 

a period of two years or more shall be $120 and shall be 

submitted with an application for licensure reinstatement. 

4. The fee for reinstatement of a license pursuant to § 54.1-

2408.2 of the Code of Virginia shall be $2,000. 

E. Other fees. 

1. The application fee for a traineeship as a radiologic 

technologist or a radiologic technologist-limited shall be 

$25. 

2. The fee for a letter of good standing or verification to 

another state for licensure shall be $10; the fee for 

certification of scores to another jurisdiction shall be $25. 

3. The fee for a returned check shall be $35. 

4. The fee for a duplicate license shall be $5.00, and the fee 

for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15. 

18VAC85-110-35. Fees.  

Unless otherwise provided, the following fees shall not be 

refundable:  

1. The application fee for a license to practice as an 

acupuncturist shall be $130.  

2. The fee for biennial active license renewal shall be 

$135; the fee for biennial inactive license renewal shall be 
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$70. For 2015 2017, the fee for renewal of an active 

license shall be $115 $108, and the fee for renewal of an 

inactive license shall be $60 $54. 

3. The additional fee for processing a late renewal within 

one renewal cycle shall be $50.  

4. The fee for reinstatement of a license which has expired 

for two or more years shall be $180.  

5. The fee for a letter of good standing/verification of a 

license to another jurisdiction shall be $10.  

6. The fee for reinstatement of a license pursuant to § 54.1-

2408.2 of the Code of Virginia shall be $2,000.  

7. The fee for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15.  

8. The fee for a duplicate renewal license shall be $5 $5.00.  

9. The fee for a returned check shall be $35.  

10. The fee for an application or for the biennial renewal of 

a restricted volunteer license shall be $35, due in the 

licensee's birth month. An additional fee for late renewal of 

licensure shall be $15 for each renewal cycle.  

18VAC85-120-35. Fees. 

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall 

not be refundable.  

B. The following fees have been adopted by the board:  

1. The application fee shall be $130.  

2. The fee for renewal of licensure shall be $135 and shall 

be due in the licensee's birth month, in each odd-numbered 

year.  

3. A fee of $50 for processing a late renewal within one 

renewal cycle shall be paid in addition to the renewal fee.  

4. The fee for reinstatement of a license that has expired 

for two or more years shall be $180 and shall be submitted 

with an application for reinstatement.  

5. The fee for reinstatement of a license pursuant to § 54.1-

2408.2 of the Code of Virginia shall be $2,000.  

6. The fee for a duplicate renewal license shall be $5.00, 

and the fee for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15.  

7. The fee for a returned check shall be $35.  

8. The fee for a letter of verification to another jurisdiction 

shall be $10.  

9. The fee for an inactive license shall be $70, and the fee 

for a late renewal shall be $25.  

10. For 2015 2017, the fee for renewal of an active license 

shall be $115 $108, and the fee for renewal of an inactive 

license shall be $60 $54. 

18VAC85-130-30. Fees.  

Unless otherwise provided, the following fees shall not be 

refundable:  

1. The application fee for a license to practice as a midwife 

shall be $277.  

2. The fee for biennial active license renewal shall be 

$312; the additional fee for late renewal of an active 

license within one renewal cycle shall be $105.  

3. The fee for biennial inactive license renewal shall be 

$168; the additional fee for late renewal of an inactive 

license within one renewal cycle shall be $55.  

4. The fee for reinstatement of a license that has expired 

for a period of two years or more shall be $367 in addition 

to the late fee. The fee shall be submitted with an 

application for licensure reinstatement.  

5. The fee for a letter of good standing/verification of a 

license to another jurisdiction shall be $10.  

6. The fee for an application for reinstatement if a license 

has been revoked or if an application for reinstatement has 

been previously denied shall be $2,000.  

7. The fee for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15.  

8. The fee for a duplicate renewal license shall be $5 $5.00.  

9. The fee for a returned check shall be $35.  

10. For 2015 2017, the fee for renewal of an active license 

shall be $270 $250, and the fee for renewal of an inactive 

license shall be $140 $125. 

18VAC85-140-40. Fees. 

The following fees are required:  

1. The application fee, payable at the time the application 

is filed, shall be $130.  

2. The biennial fee for renewal of active licensure shall be 

$135 and for renewal of inactive licensure shall be $70, 

payable in each odd-numbered year in the license holder's 

birth month. For 2017, the renewal fee for an active license 

shall be $108, and the renewal fee for an inactive license 

shall be $54. 

3. The additional fee for late renewal of licensure within 

one renewal cycle shall be $50.  

4. The fee for reinstatement of a license that has lapsed for 

a period of two years or more shall be $180 and must be 

submitted with an application for licensure reinstatement.  

5. The fee for reinstatement of a license pursuant to § 54.1-

2408.2 of the Code of Virginia shall be $2,000.  

6. The fee for a duplicate license shall be $5.00, and the fee 

for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15.  

7. The fee for a returned check shall be $35.  

8. The fee for a letter of good standing or verification to 

another jurisdiction shall be $10. 

18VAC85-150-40. Fees. 

A. The following fees have been established by the board:  

1. The initial fee for the behavior analyst license shall be 

$130; for the assistant behavior analyst license, it shall be 

$70.  
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2. The fee for reinstatement of the behavior analyst license 

that has been lapsed for two years or more shall be $180; 

for the assistant behavior analyst license, it shall be $90.  

3. The fee for active license renewal for a behavior analyst 

shall be $135; for any an assistant behavior analyst, it shall 

be $70. The fees for inactive license renewal shall be $70 

for a behavior analyst and $35 for an assistant behavior 

analyst. Renewals shall be due in the birth month of the 

licensee in each odd-numbered year. For 2017, the renewal 

of an active license as a behavior analyst shall be $108, and 

the renewal fee for an inactive license shall be $54; the 

renewal fee for an active license as an assistant behavior 

analyst shall be $54, and the renewal fee for an inactive 

license shall be $28.  

4. The additional fee for processing a late renewal 

application within one renewal cycle shall be $50 for a 

behavior analyst and $30 for an assistant behavior analyst.  

5. The fee for a letter of good standing or verification to 

another state for a license shall be $10.  

6. The fee for reinstatement of licensure pursuant to § 54.1-

2408.2 of the Code of Virginia shall be $2,000.  

7. The fee for a returned check shall be $35.  

8. The fee for a duplicate license shall be $5.00, and the fee 

for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15.  

B. Unless otherwise provided, fees established by the board 

shall not be refundable. 

18VAC85-160-40. Fees. 

A. The following fees have been established by the board:  

1. The fee for registration as a surgical assistant or surgical 

technologist shall be $75.  

2. The fee for renewal of registration shall be $70. 

Renewals shall be due in the birth month of the registrant 

in each even-numbered year. For 2016, the renewal fee 

shall be $54. 

3. The additional fee for processing a late renewal 

application within one renewal cycle shall be $25. 

4. The fee for a returned check shall be $35.  

B. Unless otherwise provided, fees established by the board 

are not refundable. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4583; Filed December 8, 2015, 8:51 a.m.  

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 18VAC110-20-20, 

18VAC110-20-321; adding 18VAC110-20-215).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3307 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Dates: December 7, 2015, through June 6, 2017. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4416, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

In response to the meningitis outbreak resulting from 

contaminated compounded drugs from the New England 

Compounding Center in 2012, which sickened 751 people 

and killed 64 people, including five Virginians, Congress 

passed the Drug Quality and Security Act in the fall of 

2013. The Act creates the new licensing category under 

§ 503B of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act of 

outsourcing facilities. These entities are large-scale sterile 

compounding facilities that provide compounded drugs 

predominantly to hospitals, physician offices, or medical 

clinics for administration to patients. Due to the risk 

associated with compounding sterile drugs on a large 

scale, these facilities are required under federal law to 

compound in compliance with current good manufacturing 

practices, similar to a pharmaceutical manufacturer.  

The Board of Pharmacy sought legislative authority in 

2015 to facilitate the implementation of the Drug Quality 

and Security Act by creating a new licensing category of 

and oversight for outsourcing facilities and nonresident 

outsourcing facilities. As of July 1, 2015, state law 

recognizes "outsourcing facilities," but regulations are 

necessary to provide for permits and oversight. There are 

approximately 50 outsourcing facilities currently 

registered with the Federal Drug Administration and likely 

more will register in the next year. Without a provision for 

the Board of Pharmacy to license these facilities, these 

entities will likely not be able to ship into the 

Commonwealth. This has the potential to negatively impact 

access to critically needed compounded drugs. Unlike 

outsourcing facilities that may legally compound sterile 

drugs for office administration, pharmacies under federal 

law may only compound human drugs pursuant to patient-

specific prescriptions. Emergency regulations are 

promulgated to allow permitting of in-state facilities and 

registration of nonresident outsourcing facilities. 

Section 54.1-3307 of the Code of Virginia directs the 

Board of Pharmacy to regulate the practice of pharmacy 

and the manufacturing, dispensing, selling, distributing, 

processing, compounding, or disposal of drugs and 

devices. It further states the board shall also control the 

character and standard of all drugs, cosmetics, and 

devices within the Commonwealth; investigate all 

complaints as to the quality and strength of all drugs, 

cosmetics, and devices; and take such action as may be 

necessary to prevent the manufacturing, dispensing, 

selling, distributing, processing, compounding, and 

disposal of such drugs, cosmetics, and devices that do not 

conform to the requirements of law.  
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In compliance with the second enactment clause of 

Chapter 300 of the 2015 Acts of the Assembly, the Board of 

Pharmacy is promulgating emergency regulations to 

implement the requirement of law that facilities engaged in 

the compounding of sterile drugs and registered with the 

U.S. Secretary of Health and Human Services as 

outsourcing facilities must hold a permit to compound or 

ship compounded drugs into Virginia. The emergency 

regulations set fees for approval of applications and 

renewal of permits and registration. Requirements for 

pharmacies that are or are not applicable to outsourcing 

facilities are specified, and requirements for pharmacist 

supervision, recordkeeping, and renewal are also 

established. Finally, the regulations specify that if a 

compounding pharmacy shares physical space with an 

outsourcing facility, the more stringent standards of good 

manufacturing practices are applicable. Regulations 

promulgated by the board will ensure that outsourcing 

facilities located in the state or shipping drugs into 

Virginia have oversight that will protect public health and 

safety. 

18VAC110-20-20. Fees. 

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall 

not be refundable. 

B. Unless otherwise provided, any fees for taking required 

examinations shall be paid directly to the examination service 

as specified by the board. 

C. Initial application fees.  

1. Pharmacist license $180 

2. Pharmacy intern registration $15 

3. Pharmacy technician registration $25 

4. Pharmacy permit $270 

5. Permitted physician licensed to 

dispense drugs 

$270 

6. Medical equipment supplier permit $180 

7. Humane society permit $20 

8. Outsourcing facility permit $270 

8. 9. Nonresident pharmacy registration $270 

10. Nonresident outsourcing facility 

registration 

$270 

9. 11. Controlled substances registrations  $90 

10. 12. Innovative program approval. 

If the board determines that a technical 

consultant is required in order to make a 

decision on approval, any consultant fee, 

not to exceed the actual cost, shall also be 

paid by the applicant in addition to the 

application fee. 

$250 

11. 13. Approval of a pharmacy 

technician training program 

$150 

12. 14. Approval of a continuing 

education program 

$100 

13. 15. Approval of a repackaging 

training program 

$50 

D. Annual renewal fees.  

1. Pharmacist active license – due no 

later than December 31 

$90 

2. Pharmacist inactive license – due no 

later than December 31 

$45 

3. Pharmacy technician registration – due 

no later than December 31 

$25 

4. Pharmacy permit – due no later than 

April 30 

$270 

5. Physician permit to practice pharmacy 

– due no later than February 28 

$270 

6. Medical equipment supplier permit – 

due no later than February 28 

$180 

7. Humane society permit – due no later 

than February 28 

$20 

8. Outsourcing facility permit – due no 

later than April 30 

$270 

8. 9. Nonresident pharmacy registration – 

due no later than the date of initial 

registration 

$270 

10. Nonresident outsourcing facility 

registration – due no later than the date of 

initial registration 

$270 

9. 11. Controlled substances registrations 

– due no later than February 28 

$90 

10. 12. Innovative program continued 

approval based on board order not to 

exceed $200 per approval period. 

  

11. 13. Approval of a pharmacy 

technician training program 

$75 every 

two years 

12. 14. Approval of a repackaging 

training program 

$30 every 

two years 

E. Late fees. The following late fees shall be paid in addition 

to the current renewal fee to renew an expired license within 

one year of the expiration date or within two years in the case 

of a pharmacy technician training program. In addition, 

engaging in activities requiring a license, permit, or 

registration after the expiration date of such license, permit, 

or registration shall be grounds for disciplinary action by the 

board.  
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1. Pharmacist license $30 

2. Pharmacist inactive license $15 

3. Pharmacy technician registration $10 

4. Pharmacy permit $90 

5. Physician permit to practice pharmacy $90 

6. Medical equipment supplier permit $60 

7. Humane society permit $5 

8. Outsourcing facility permit $90 

8. 9. Nonresident pharmacy registration $90 

10. Nonresident outsourcing facility 

registration 

$90 

9. 11. Controlled substances registrations $30 

10. 12. Approval of a pharmacy 

technician training program 

$15 

11. 13. Approval of a repackaging training 

program 

$10 

F. Reinstatement fees. Any person or entity attempting to 

renew a license, permit, or registration more than one year 

after the expiration date, or more than two years after the 

expiration date in the case of a pharmacy technician training 

program, shall submit an application for reinstatement with 

any required fees. Reinstatement is at the discretion of the 

board and, except for reinstatement following license 

revocation or suspension, may be granted by the executive 

director of the board upon completion of an application and 

payment of any required fees.  

1. Pharmacist license $210 

2. Pharmacist license after revocation or 

suspension 

$500 

3. Pharmacy technician registration $35 

4. Pharmacy technician registration after 

revocation or suspension 

$125 

5. Facilities or entities that cease 

operation and wish to resume shall not 

be eligible for reinstatement but shall 

apply for a new permit or registration. 

Facilities or entities that failed to renew 

and continued to operate for more than 

one renewal cycle shall pay the current 

and all back renewal fees for the years in 

which they were operating plus the 

following reinstatement fees: 

  

a. Pharmacy permit $240 

b. Physician permit to practice 

pharmacy 

$240 

c. Medical equipment supplier permit $210 

d. Humane society permit $30 

e. Outsourcing facility permit $240 

e. f. Nonresident pharmacy $115 

g. Nonresident outsourcing facility 

registration 

$240 

f. h. Controlled substances registration $180 

g. i. Approval of a pharmacy technician 

training program 

$75 

h. j. Approval of a repackaging training 

program 

$50 

G. Application for change or inspection fees for facilities or 

other entities.  

1. Change of pharmacist-in-charge $50 

2. Change of ownership for any facility $50 

3. Inspection for remodeling or change 

of location for any facility 

$150 

4. Reinspection of any facility $150 

5. Board-required inspection for a 

robotic pharmacy system 

$150 

6. Board-required inspection of an 

innovative program location 

$150 

7. Change of pharmacist responsible for 

an approved innovative program 

$25 

H. Miscellaneous fees.  

1. Duplicate wall certificate $25 

2. Returned check $35 

3. Duplicate license or registration $10 

4. Verification of licensure or registration $25 

18VAC110-20-215. Outsourcing facilities. 

A. Any facility in the Commonwealth engaged in the sterile 

compounding of drugs or devices to be dispensed without a 

prescription for a specific patient shall obtain a permit as an 

outsourcing facility from the board in accordance with § 54.1-

3434.05 of the Code of Virginia. Any outsourcing facility 

located outside of the Commonwealth that delivers in any 

manner Schedule II through VI drugs or devices into the 

Commonwealth without a prescription for a specific patient 

shall be registered with the board in accordance with § 54.1-

3434.5 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. In order to obtain or renew a permit or registration, 

outsourcing facilities shall submit to the board (i) 

documentation that the facility is registered as an outsourcing 

facility under the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act and 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 9 Virginia Register of Regulations December 28, 2015 

1672 

(ii) a copy of a current inspection report consistent with 

§ 54.1-3434.05 or 54.1-3434.5 of the Code of Virginia. 

Outsourcing facilities that fail to demonstrate that the facility 

is registered as an outsourcing facility under the Federal 

Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act or submit a copy of a current 

inspection report consistent with § 54.1-3434.05 or 54.1-

3434.5 of the Code of Virginia shall not meet the 

requirements for an initial permit or registration or for 

renewal of a permit or registration. 

C. An outsourcing facility shall comply with all provisions 

of this chapter relating to a pharmacy in Parts IV 

(18VAC110-20-110 et seq.) and VI (18VAC110-20-240 et 

seq.), with the following exceptions: 

1. Subsections D and E of 18VAC110-20-190, relating to 

dispensed prescriptions. 

2. Subsection A of 18VAC110-20-200, relating to 

prescriptions awaiting delivery.  

3. Subsections B and C of 18VAC110-20-240, relating to 

prescriptions and chart orders. 

4. Section 18VAC110-20-250, relating to automated data 

processing prescription records. 

5. Subsections C, D, E, and F of 18VAC110-20-270, 

relating to preparation and dispensing of prescriptions. 

D. In addition to applicable requirements for pharmacies, 

outsourcing facilities shall comply with the following:  

1. Pharmacist supervision. At all times, such facilities shall 

be under the supervision of a PIC who routinely practices 

at the location designated on the permit application. A 

pharmacist shall be present at all times when the facility is 

open for business. 

2. Records.  

a. All records, including the receipt and disposition of 

drugs or devices, shall be maintained by the facility for a 

period of five years and shall be available to the board 

upon request. 

b. Compounding records shall include identification and 

strength of the drugs and shall provide the ingredients, 

expiration dates, and the source of such ingredients. 

Records shall also include the national drug code number 

of the source drug or bulk active ingredient, if available; 

the strength of the active ingredient per unit; the dosage 

form and route of administration; the package 

description; the number of individual units produced; the 

national drug code number of the final product, if 

assigned, or lot number; and an appropriately assigned 

expiration date or beyond-use date. 

c. Outsourcing facilities shall maintain quality control 

records to include stability and sterility testing for 

determining beyond-use dating. 

E. No outsourcing facility may distribute or dispense any 

drug to any person pursuant to a prescription unless it also 

maintains a current active pharmacy permit. The pharmacy 

shall comply with all state and federal laws, regulations, and 

requirements, except it shall compound in compliance with 

current good manufacturing practices under § 501(a)(2)(B) of 

the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act (21 USC 

§ 351(a)(2)(B)).  

Part VIII  

Labeling and Packaging Standards for Prescriptions  

18VAC110-20-321. Compounding. 

A. The compounding of both sterile and nonsterile drug 

products by a pharmacy that does not share the same physical 

space with an outsourcing facility shall be performed in 

accordance with USP-NF compounding standards and § 54.1-

3410.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. The compounding of sterile drug products by an 

outsourcing facility or by a pharmacy sharing the same 

physical space with an outsourcing facility shall be performed 

in accordance with current good manufacturing practices 

under § 501(a)(2)(B) of the Federal Food, Drug, and 

Cosmetic Act (21 USC § 351(a)(2)(B)). 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC110-20)  

Application for Registration as a Pharmacy Intern (rev. 

8/07)  

Affidavit of Practical Experience, Pharmacy Intern (rev. 

8/07)  

Application for Licensure as a Pharmacist by Examination 

(rev. 11/09)  

Instructions for Reinstating or Reactivating a Pharmacist 

License (rev. 3/11) 

Application for Approval of a Continuing Education 

Program (rev. 8/07)  

Application for Approval of ACPE Pharmacy School 

Course(s) for Continuing Education Credit (rev. 6/09) 

Application for License to Dispense Drugs (rev. 8/07) 

Application for a Pharmacy Permit (rev. 6/10) 

Application for a Nonresident Pharmacy Registration (rev. 

7/08) 

Application for a Pharmacy Permit (rev. 12/2015) 

Application for a Non-Resident Pharmacy Registration (rev. 

12/2015) 

Application for a Non-Resident Outsourcing Facility 

Registration (12/2015) 

Application for an Outsourcing Facility Permit (12/2015) 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4e738001606~2&typ=40&actno=001606&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4e738001606~2&typ=40&actno=001606&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a413b001606~3&typ=40&actno=001606&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a413b001606~3&typ=40&actno=001606&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=79585002615~1&typ=40&actno=002615&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=79585002615~1&typ=40&actno=002615&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=87657002946~1&typ=40&actno=002946&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=87657002946~1&typ=40&actno=002946&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=493e7001606~3&typ=40&actno=001606&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=493e7001606~3&typ=40&actno=001606&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=43b23002615~3&typ=40&actno=002615&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=43b23002615~3&typ=40&actno=002615&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f461e002615~4&typ=40&actno=002615&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9d90d004528~5&typ=40&actno=004528&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=462cb004528~6&typ=40&actno=004528&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=462cb004528~6&typ=40&actno=004528&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8376c004528~3&typ=40&actno=004528&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8376c004528~3&typ=40&actno=004528&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1a613004528~4&typ=40&actno=004528&mime=application/pdf
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Application for a Permit as a Medical Equipment Supplier 

(rev. 3/09) 

Application for a Controlled Substances Registration 

Certificate (rev. 4/09) 

Application for Registration as a Pharmacy Intern for 

Graduates of a Foreign College of Pharmacy (rev. 8/07). 

Closing of a Pharmacy (rev. 8/07) 

Application for Approval of an Innovative (Pilot) Program 

(rev. 8/07) 

Pharmacy Technician Registration Instructions and 

Application (rev. 3/09) 

Instructions for Reinstating a Pharmacy Technician 

Registration (rev. 3/11) 

Application for Approval of a Pharmacy Technician 

Training Program (rev. 8/07) 

Application for Registration for Volunteer Practice (rev. 

8/07) 

Sponsor Certification for Volunteer Registration (rev. 8/08) 

Application for Reinstatement of Registration as a Pharmacy 

Intern (eff. 9/07) 

Affidavit for Limited-Use Pharmacy Technician (rev. 8/07) 

Limited-Use Pharmacy Technician Registration Instructions 

and Application (rev. 7/08) 

Registration for a Pharmacy to be a Collection Site for 

Donated Drugs (eff. 4/09) 

Application for Approval of Repackaging Training Program 

(eff. 12/10) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4528; Filed December 7, 2015, 11:23 a.m.  

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-30. Regulations for 

Practitioners of the Healing Arts to Sell Controlled 

Substances (amending 18VAC110-30-15, 18VAC110-30-

20, 18VAC110-30-30, 18VAC110-30-50 through 

18VAC110-30-90; adding 18VAC110-30-21).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3304.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Effective Dates: December 7, 2015, through June 6, 2017. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 527-4416, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Section 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia states that 

agencies may adopt emergency regulations in situations in 

which Virginia statutory law requires that a regulation be 

effective in 280 days or less from its enactment. Chapter 

117 of the 2015 Acts of the Assembly, which requires 

practitioners of the healing arts to dispense controlled 

substances in permitted facilities, contains such a clause. 

The Board of Pharmacy currently licenses individual 

physicians to sell controlled substances to their own 

patients and already has regulations for security, 

recordkeeping, storage, and other requirements relating to 

the facility from which physicians licensed to sell drugs 

dispense. Oversight of physicians selling drugs was 

relatively simple when the number of physicians was 

approximately 100, but the total is now over 550 and 

continues to increase. The increase is due to an 

increasingly larger supply of drugs on the market 

repackaged specifically for physicians to sell, an increase 

in the number of urgent care centers that dispense drugs 

when treating patients, and an increase in drugs available 

to treat popular dermatological issues.   

The practice of physicians selling drugs is analogous to 

pharmacies dispensing drugs. In regulating the practice of 

pharmacy, the board licenses both pharmacists and 

pharmacies. This level of oversight for both the individuals 

and the facility works well, and this emergency action 

seeks to mirror this level of oversight for physicians selling 

drugs. With a facility permit, which is similar to a 

pharmacy permit, the board can hold the permit holder 

responsible and accountable for the stock of drugs. 

Clearer regulation and accountability will foster public 

protection in assuring the safety and integrity of 

prescription drugs. Additionally, during inspections of 

facilities where multiple licensed physicians sell drugs, it is 

reasonable to hold the facility responsible for possible 

violations and not an individual physician. This proposed 

process is also analogous to the inspection process 

currently used for pharmacies. 

This emergency regulation implements Chapter 117 and 

includes (i) setting fees for approval of applications, 

renewal of permits, and reinstatement of lapsed permits; 

(ii) establishing requirements for inspections and physical 

standards for the facility; and (iii) requiring notification to 

the board through the facility permit rather than the 

individual licensee. The only change in physical 

requirements is specificity about the availability of hot and 

cold water, which must be within 20 feet of the selling and 

storage area and not located within an examination room 

or restroom.   

18VAC110-30-15. Fees.  

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall 

not be refundable.  

B. Fee for initial license for a practitioner of the healing arts 

to sell controlled substances Initial application fees. 

1. The application fee for initial licensure shall be $240 

License for practitioner of the healing arts to sell controlled 

substance: $180. 

2. The application fee for reinstatement of a license that 

has been revoked or suspended indefinitely shall be $500 

Permit for facility in which practitioners of the healing arts 

sell controlled substance: $240. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0c792001606~5&typ=40&actno=001606&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0c792001606~5&typ=40&actno=001606&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e3bde001606~10&typ=40&actno=001606&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e3bde001606~10&typ=40&actno=001606&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=84bad001606~6&typ=40&actno=001606&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=84bad001606~6&typ=40&actno=001606&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fd044001606~7&typ=40&actno=001606&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ab5bf001606~9&typ=40&actno=001606&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ab5bf001606~9&typ=40&actno=001606&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ad5d1001606~11&typ=40&actno=001606&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ad5d1001606~11&typ=40&actno=001606&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=664a2002946~2&typ=40&actno=002946&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=664a2002946~2&typ=40&actno=002946&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5ca35001606~12&typ=40&actno=001606&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5ca35001606~12&typ=40&actno=001606&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=53974001606~13&typ=40&actno=001606&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=53974001606~13&typ=40&actno=001606&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b726f002615~7&typ=40&actno=002615&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9b9dd001606~14&typ=40&actno=001606&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9b9dd001606~14&typ=40&actno=001606&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2e404001606~15&typ=40&actno=001606&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=abff1001606~16&typ=40&actno=001606&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=abff1001606~16&typ=40&actno=001606&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9a167001606~17&typ=40&actno=001606&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9a167001606~17&typ=40&actno=001606&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=173ab002366~1&typ=40&actno=002366&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=173ab002366~1&typ=40&actno=002366&mime=application/msword
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C. Renewal of license for a practitioner of the healing arts to 

sell controlled substances Annual renewal fees. 

1. The annual fee for renewal of an active license shall be 

$90. For the annual renewal due on December 31, 2009, 

the fee shall be $50 License for practitioner of the healing 

arts to sell controlled substance: $90. 

2. The late fee for renewal of a license within one year 

after the expiration date is $30 in addition to the annual 

renewal fee Permit for facility in which practitioners of the 

healing arts sell controlled substance: $240. 

3. The fee for reinstatement of a license expired for more 

than one year shall be $210.  

D. Late fees. The following late fees shall be paid in 

addition to the current renewal fee to renew an expired 

license within one year of the expiration date. 

1. License for practitioner of the healing arts to sell 

controlled substance: $30. 

2. Permit for facility in which practitioners of the healing 

arts sell controlled substance: $40. 

E. Reinstatement fees. Any person or entity attempting to 

renew a license or permit more than one year after the 

expiration date shall submit an application for reinstatement 

with any required fees. 

1. License for practitioner of the healing arts to sell 

controlled substances: $150. 

2. Permit for facility in which practitioner of the healing 

arts to sell controlled substances: $240. 

3. Application fee for reinstatement of a license or permit 

that has been revoked or suspended indefinitely: $500. 

F. Facilities in which only one practitioner of the healing 

arts is licensed by the board to sell controlled substances shall 

be exempt from fees associated with obtaining and renewing 

a facility permit.  

D. G. The fee for reinspection of any facility shall be $150.  

E. H. The fee for a returned check shall be $35.  

Part II  

Licensure Requirements  

18VAC110-30-20. Application for licensure.  

A. Prior to engaging in the sale of controlled substances, a 

practitioner shall make application on a form provided by the 

board and be issued a license. After (insert six months from 

effective date of the regulation), the practitioner shall engage 

in such sale from a location that has been issued a facility 

permit. 

B. In order to be eligible for a license to sell controlled 

substances, a practitioner shall possess a current, active 

license to practice medicine, osteopathic medicine, or 

podiatry issued by the Virginia Board of Medicine. Any 

disciplinary action taken by the Board of Medicine against the 

practitioner's license to practice shall constitute grounds for 

the board to deny, restrict, or place terms on the license to 

sell.  

C. For good cause shown, the board may issue a limited-use 

license, when the scope, degree or type of services provided 

to the patient is of a limited nature. The license to be issued 

shall be based on conditions of use requested by the applicant 

or imposed by the board in cases where certain requirements 

of regulations may be waived. The following conditions shall 

apply:  

1. A policy and procedure manual detailing the type and 

volume of controlled substances to be sold and safeguards 

against diversion must accompany the application. The 

application shall list the regulatory requirements for which 

a waiver is requested and a brief explanation as to why 

each requirement should not apply to that practice; and  

2. The issuance and continuation of such license shall be 

subject to continuing compliance with the conditions set 

forth by the board.  

18VAC110-30-21. Application for facility permit. 

A. After (insert six months from effective date of the 

regulation), any location at which practitioners of the healing 

arts sell controlled substances shall have a permit issued by 

the board in accordance with § 54.1-3304.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. A licensed practitioner shall make application for 

the facility permit on a form provided by the board.  

B. For good cause shown, the board may issue a limited-use 

facility permit when the scope, degree, or type of services 

provided to the patient is of a limited nature. The permit to be 

issued shall be based on conditions of use requested by the 

applicant or imposed by the board in cases where certain 

requirements of this chapter may be waived.  

1. The limited-use facility permit application shall list the 

regulatory requirements for which a waiver is requested, if 

any, and a brief explanation as to why each requirement 

should not apply to that practice. 

2. A policy and procedure manual detailing the type and 

volume of controlled substances to be sold and safeguards 

against diversion shall accompany the application.  

3. The issuance and continuation of a limited-use facility 

permit shall be subject to continuing compliance with the 

conditions set forth by the board. 

C. The executive director may grant a waiver of the security 

system when storing and selling multiple strengths and 

formulations of no more than five different topical Schedule 

VI drugs intended for cosmetic use. 

18VAC110-30-30. Renewal of license or permit.  

A. A license or facility permit so issued shall be valid until 

December 31 of the year of issue. Renewal of the license 

shall be made on or before December 31 of each year.  

B. If a practitioner fails to renew his license or facility 

permit to sell within the Commonwealth by the renewal date, 

he must pay the renewal fee plus the late fee. He may renew 
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his license or facility permit by payment of these fees for one 

year from the date of expiration.  

C. Failure to renew the license or facility permit to sell 

within one year following expiration shall cause the license or 

permit to lapse. The selling of controlled substances with a 

lapsed license or permit shall be illegal and may subject the 

practitioner to disciplinary action by the board. To reinstate a 

lapsed license or permit, a practitioner shall submit an 

application for reinstatement and pay the reinstatement fee, 

plus the reinspection fee if a reinspection is required as set 

forth in subsection D of this section. Reinstatement is at the 

discretion of the board and may be granted by the executive 

director on the board's behalf provided no grounds exist to 

deny said reinstatement.  

D. Prior to reinstatement of a license facility permit that has 

been lapsed for more than one year, a reinspection of the 

storage and selling area shall be conducted unless another 

practitioner at the same location has held an active license to 

sell controlled substances during that period. A practitioner 

seeking reinstatement of a facility permit shall not stock 

drugs until approved by the board or its authorized agent.  

E. The selling of controlled substances without a current, 

active license or facility permit is unlawful and shall 

constitute grounds for disciplinary action by the board.  

18VAC110-30-50. Licensees ceasing to sell controlled 

substances; inventory required prior to disposal.  

A. Any licensee who intends to cease selling controlled 

substances shall notify the board 10 days prior to cessation 

and surrender his license, and his license will be placed on 

expired status. If no other practitioner of the healing arts 

licensed to sell controlled substances intends to sell controlled 

substances from the same location, the practitioner shall also 

surrender the facility permit, and the permit will be placed on 

expired status. 

B. Any Schedule II through V controlled substances shall be 

inventoried and may be disposed of by transferring the 

controlled substance stock to another licensee or other person 

authorized by law to possess such drugs or by destruction as 

set forth in this chapter.  

C. The licensee or other responsible person shall inform the 

board of the name and address of the licensee to whom the 

controlled substances are transferred.  

D. A licensee who has surrendered his license or facility 

permit pursuant to this section may request that it be made 

current again at any time within the same renewal year 

without having to pay an additional fee, provided the licensee 

is selling from the same location or from another location that 

has been inspected and approved by the board.  

Part III  

Inspection Requirements, Standards, and Security for Storage 

Areas; Disposal of Controlled Substances  

18VAC110-30-70. Maintenance of a common stock of 

controlled substances Practitioner in charge in a 

permitted facility.  

Any two or more licensees who elect to maintain a common 

stock of A facility with a permit for practitioners of the 

healing arts to sell controlled substances for dispensing shall:  

1. Designate a licensee practitioner with a license to sell 

controlled substances who shall be the primary person 

responsible for the stock, the required inventory, the 

records of receipt and destruction, safeguards against 

diversion and compliance with this chapter;  

2. Report to the board the name of the licensee and the 

location of the controlled substance stock on a form 

provided by the board;  

3. Upon a change in the licensee so designated, an 

inventory of all Schedule II through V controlled 

substances shall be conducted in the manner set forth in 

§ 54.1-3404 of the Drug Control Act of the Code of 

Virginia and such change shall immediately be reported to 

the board; and  

4. Nothing shall relieve the other individual licensees who 

sell controlled substances at the location of the 

responsibility for the requirements set forth in this chapter.  

18VAC110-30-80. Inspection and notice required.  

A. The area designated for the storage and selling of 

controlled substances shall be inspected by an agent of the 

board prior to the issuance of the first license to sell 

controlled substances from that site. Inspection prior to 

issuance of subsequent licenses at the same location shall be 

conducted at the discretion of the board.  

B. Applications for licenses which facility permits that 

indicate a requested inspection date, or requests which that 

are received after the application is filed, shall be honored 

provided a 14-day notice to the board is allowed prior to the 

requested inspection date.  

C. Requested inspection dates which that do not allow a 14-

day notice to the board may be adjusted by the board to 

provide 14 days for the scheduling of the inspection.  

D. At the time of the inspection, the controlled substance 

selling and storage area shall comply with 18VAC110-30-90, 

18VAC110-30-100, 18VAC110-30-110, 18VAC110-30-120, 

and 18VAC110-30-130.  

E. If an applicant substantially fails to meet the requirements 

for issuance of a license facility permit and a reinspection is 

required, or if the applicant is not ready for the inspection on 

the established date and fails to notify the inspector or the 

board at least 24 hours prior to the inspection, the applicant 

shall pay a reinspection fee as specified in 18VAC110-30-15 

prior to a reinspection being conducted.  
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F. No license facility permit shall be issued to sell controlled 

substances until adequate safeguards against diversion have 

been provided for the controlled substance storage and selling 

area and approved by the the inspector or board staff.  

G. The licensee shall notify the board of any substantive 

changes to the approved selling and storage area including 

moving the location of the area, making structural changes to 

the area, or making changes to the alarm system for the area 

prior to the changes being made and pay a reinspection fee. 

An inspection shall be conducted prior to approval of the new 

or altered selling and storage area.  

18VAC110-30-90. Physical standards.  

Physical standards for the controlled substance selling and 

storage area:  

1. The building in which the controlled substances selling 

and storage area is located shall be constructed of 

permanent and secure materials. Trailers and other 

movable facilities shall not be permitted;  

2. There shall be an enclosed area of not less than 40 

square feet that is designated as the controlled substances 

selling and storage area, which shall be used exclusively 

for storage, preparation, and dispensing. Records related to 

the sale of controlled substances may be maintained 

outside the selling and storage area with access limited to 

the licensee and those persons authorized to assist in the 

area. The work space used in preparation of the drugs shall 

be contained within the enclosed area. A controlled 

substance selling and storage area inspected and approved 

prior to November 3, 1993, shall not be required to meet 

the size requirement of this chapter;  

3. Controlled substances maintained for ultimate sale shall 

be maintained separately from any other controlled 

substances maintained for other purposes. Controlled 

substances maintained for other purposes such as 

administration or samples may be stored within the selling 

and storage area provided they are clearly separated from 

the stock maintained for sale;  

4. The selling and storage area, work counter space and 

equipment in the area shall be maintained in a clean and 

orderly manner;  

5. A sink with hot and cold running water shall be 

available within the immediate vicinity 20 feet of the 

selling and storage area and not located within an 

examination room or restroom; and  

6. The entire area described in this chapter shall be well 

lighted and ventilated; the proper storage temperature shall 

be maintained to meet official specifications for controlled 

substance storage.  

 

 

 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC110-30) 

Application for a License to Sell Controlled Substances by a 

Practitioner of the Healing Arts (rev. 8/07). 

Application for a License to Sell Controlled Substances by a 

Practitioner of the Healing Arts (rev. 12/2015) 

Application for a Facility Permit for Practitioner(s) of the 

Healing Arts to Sell Controlled Substances (rev. 12/2015) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4532; Filed December 7, 2015, 11:22 a.m.  

BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Psychology is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 6 of the Code of 

Virginia, which excludes regulations of the regulatory boards 

served by the Department of Health Professions pursuant to 

Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia that are limited to reducing 

fees charged to regulants and applicants. The Board of 

Psychology will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by 

any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC125-20. Regulations 

Governing the Practice of Psychology (amending 

18VAC125-20-30). 

18VAC125-30. Regulations Governing the Certification of 

Sex Offender Treatment Providers (amending 

18VAC125-30-20).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3605 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 27, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Psychology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 327-4435, or 

email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments provide for a one-time fee reduction 

applicable to the 2016 renewal cycle for clinical 

psychologist, applied psychologist, school psychologist, 

and school psychologist-limited licensees and sex offender 

treatment provider certificate holders. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=14ce8004532~1&typ=40&actno=004532&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=14ce8004532~1&typ=40&actno=004532&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=450fb004532~2&typ=40&actno=004532&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=450fb004532~2&typ=40&actno=004532&mime=application/pdf


Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 9 Virginia Register of Regulations December 28, 2015 

1677 

18VAC125-20-30. Fees required by the board.  

A. The board has established fees for the following:  

  Applied 

psychologists, 

Clinical 

psychologists, 

School 

psychologists 

School 

psychologists-

limited 

1. Registration of 

residency (per residency 

request) 

$50 - - 

2. Add or change 

supervisor 

$25 - - 

3. Application 

processing and initial 

licensure 

$200 $85 

4. Annual renewal of 

active license 

$140 $70 

5. Annual renewal of 

inactive license 

$70 $35 

6. Late renewal $50 $25 

7. Verification of 

license to another 

jurisdiction 

$25 $25 

8. Duplicate license $5 $5 

9. Additional or 

replacement wall 

certificate 

$15 $15 

10. Returned check $35 $35 

11. Reinstatement of a 

lapsed license 

$270 $125 

12. Reinstatement 

following revocation or 

suspension 

$500 $500 

B. Fees shall be made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia 

and forwarded to the board. All fees are nonrefundable. 

C. Between April 30, 2014 2016, and June 30, 2014 2016, 

the following renewal fees shall be in effect: 

1. For an active license as a clinical, applied, or school 

psychologist, it shall be $95 $84. For an inactive license as 

a clinical, applied, or school psychologist, it shall be $45 

$42. 

2. For an active license as a school psychologist-limited, it 

shall be $45 $42. For an inactive license as a school 

psychologist-limited, it shall be $23 $21.  

18VAC125-30-20. Fees required by the board.  

A. The board has established the following fees applicable 

to the certification of sex offender treatment providers:  

Registration of supervision  $50 

Add or change supervisor $25 

Application processing and initial 

certification fee 

$90 

Certification renewal $75 

Duplicate certificate $5 

Late renewal $25 

Reinstatement of an expired certificate $125 

Replacement of or additional wall 

certificate 

$15 

Returned check $35 

Reinstatement following revocation or 

suspension 

$500 

One-time reduction in fee for renewal 

on June 30, 2014 2016 

$52 $45 

B. Fees shall be paid by check or money order made payable 

to the Treasurer of Virginia and forwarded to the Board of 

Psychology. All fees are nonrefundable.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4553; Filed December 2, 2015, 9:37 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 20. PUBLIC UTILITIES AND 
TELECOMMUNICATIONS 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 

2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any agency 

of the Supreme Court, and any agency that by the 

Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court 

of record. 

Title of Regulation: 20VAC5-315. Regulations Governing 

Net Energy Metering (amending 20VAC5-315-20, 

20VAC5-315-30, 20VAC5-315-40, 20VAC5-315-70).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 56-594 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 28, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Armando J. deLeón, Utilities Engineer, 

Division of Energy Regulation, State Corporation 

Commission, P.O. Box 1197, Richmond, VA 23218, 
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telephone (804) 371-9392, FAX (804) 371-9350, or email 

armando.deleon@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 431 and 432 of the 2015 Acts of 

Assembly, § 56-594 of the Code of Virginia was amended 

to, among other things, increase the maximum generating 

capacity of an electrical generating facility owned or 

operated by an electric utility's nonresidential customer 

that may be eligible for participation in the utility's net 

energy metering program and specify that new net 

metering facilities may not exceed the customer's expected 

annual energy consumption based on 12 months of billing 

history. The amendments to the rules (i) increase the 

capacity limit for participation by nonresidential 

customers in the net energy metering program; (ii) 

eliminate the authorization for electric utilities to allow a 

higher capacity limit for nonresidential customers than 

that set forth in the statute; (iii) require that new net 

metering facilities may not exceed the customer's expected 

annual energy consumption based on 12 months of billing 

history; (iv) require any eligible customer-generator 

seeking to participate in net energy metering to notify its 

supplier and receive approval to interconnect prior to 

installation of an electrical generating facility; and (v) 

clarify requirements regarding the customer-generator's 

obligation to bear the costs of equipment required for the 

interconnection to the supplier's electric distribution 

system.  

Changes from the proposed regulation include new 

language to make clear that a customer seeking to add 

capacity to a generator must file a new application with 

the distribution company; a modification to the 

Interconnection Form to be provided by customer-

generators to their electric distribution company to 

properly align with the process set forth in the statute; and 

several changes to the rules to ensure consistency in 

language and verb tense.  

AT RICHMOND, NOVEMBER 24, 2015 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel.  

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. PUE-2015-00057 

Ex Parte: In the matter of amending regulations 

governing net energy metering 

ORDER ADOPTING REGULATIONS 

The Regulations Governing Net Energy Metering, 20 VAC 

5-315-10 et seq. ("Existing Rules"), adopted by the State 

Corporation Commission ("Commission") pursuant to § 56-

594 of the Code of Virginia, establish the requirements for 

participation by an eligible customer-generator in net energy 

metering in the Commonwealth of Virginia. The Net Energy 

Metering Rules include conditions for interconnection and 

metering, billing, and contract requirements between net 

metering customers, electric distribution companies, and 

energy service providers. 

On June 5, 2015, the Commission entered an Order 

Establishing Proceeding ("Order") to consider revisions to the 

Existing Rules to reflect statutory changes enacted by 

Chapters 431 and 432 of the 2015 Acts of Assembly, which 

amended § 56-594 of the Code of Virginia to: (1) increase the 

capacity limit for participation by nonresidential customers in 

the net energy metering program from 500 kilowatts to one 

megawatt, for facilities placed into service after July 1, 2015; 

(2) eliminate the authorization for electric utilities to allow a 

higher capacity limit for nonresidential customers than that 

set forth in the statute; (3) require that the capacity of any 

generating facility installed after July 1, 2015, shall not 

exceed the expected annual energy consumption based on the 

previous twelve months of billing history or an annualized 

calculation of billing history if twelve months of billing 

history is not available; (4) require any eligible customer-

generator seeking to participate in net energy metering to 

notify its supplier and receive approval to interconnect prior 

to installation of an electrical generating facility; and 

(5) clarify requirements regarding the customer-generator's 

obligation to bear the costs of equipment required for the 

interconnection to the supplier's electric distribution system. 

The Commission appended to its Order proposed 

amendments ("Proposed Rules") revising the Existing Rules, 

which were prepared by the Staff of the Commission to 

reflect the revisions mandated by Chapters 431 and 432. 

Notice of the proceeding and the Proposed Rules were 

published in the Virginia Register of Regulations on June 29, 

2015. Additionally, each Virginia electric distribution 

company was directed to serve a copy of the Order upon each 

of their respective net metering customers. Interested persons 

were directed to file any comments and requests for hearing 

on the Proposed Rules on or before July 31, 2015. 

Appalachian Power Company, Kentucky Utilities ("KU"), 

Virginia Electric and Power Company ("Virginia Power"), 

the Virginia Electric Cooperatives ("Cooperatives"),
1
 

Maryland DC Virginia Solar Energy Industries Association 

("MDV-SEIA"), Solar Services, Inc., the Sierra Club ("Sierra 

Club"), Joy Loving, Timothy Carr, Thomas Crockett, Joseph 

Schill, Carollyn Ogelsby, Charles Bier, Timothy Dolan, Mr. 

and Mrs. Edwin Craun, Mark Hanson, Mark Howard, Sue 

Krantz, Richard Good, William Marsh, Monica Rokicki, 

J. Daryl Byler, Jeanne Kirby, Walter Barry, Douglass 

McCallum, John M. Roberts, Odile Heisel, Brendan Breen, 

John Wray, Douglass Jones, Bryan Hantman and Mark Laity-

Snyder filed comments. No one requested a hearing on the 

Proposed Rules. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of this 

matter, is of the opinion and finds that the regulations 

attached hereto as Appendix A ("Revised Rules") should be 

adopted as final rules. To the extent parties have requested 

changes to the Proposed Rules that go beyond the scope of 
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the modifications required by Chapters 431 and 432, we will 

not expand the scope of this proceeding to consider issues 

beyond those required to implement the amendments to § 56-

594 of the Code of Virginia.  In addition, some commenters 

have objected to the requirements set forth in Chapters 431 

and 432 or the language used in the statute. These matters are 

beyond the Commission's jurisdiction to remedy and will not 

be addressed herein. 

Virginia Power notes that the Proposed Rules limit the 

capacity of a customer-owned generation facility, but do so in 

terms of kilowatt hours rather than kilowatts.  While we 

recognize the concern of Virginia Power, the Proposed Rules 

correspond with the express direction of the General 

Assembly in Chapters 431 and 432.  Similarly, we will 

decline to make the modification requested by Joy Loving, 

Timothy Carr, Thomas Crockett, and Joseph Schill, who note 

that the rated capacity of a generator is not necessarily the 

same as the output of the generator. The statute specifically 

directs the Commission to limit participation based on the 

capacity of the generator. 

KU requests additional clarification regarding the Proposed 

Rules' applicability to customers adding capacity to an 

existing generator.  We have revised the rules to make clear 

that a customer seeking to add capacity to a generator must 

file a new application with the distribution company. KU also 

requests that the rules require an additional application if the 

customer replaces a significant portion of the generator. If 

this replacement results in an increase in capacity, the rules 

will require a new application; if the capacity is not increased, 

no new application is required. 

Carollyn Ogelsby, Joy Loving, Timothy Carr, Thomas 

Crockett, Charles Bier, Timothy Dolan, Mr. and Mrs. Edwin 

Craun, Mark Hanson, and Mark Howard all request that the 

capacity calculated by the distribution company allow for 

accommodation of future needs or future conversion of non-

renewable customer-owned generation to renewable. Under 

the Revised Rules, any such conversion or modification 

would result in an increase in capacity, and thus a new 

application. 

The Sierra Club, MDV-SEIA, Joy Loving and Thomas 

Schill request additional clarification regarding calculation of 

capacity based on a customer's previous twelve months of 

usage. We do not believe that additional clarification is 

necessary. The statute describes the requirement discussed by 

the Sierra Club as "based on usage during the previous 12 

month period," which will be determined by the distribution 

company using existing methodologies for estimating usage. 

If a customer disagrees with the calculation, they can pursue 

an informal complaint with the Commission. 

Several commenters request changes in the approval process 

and application form to be submitted to the distribution 

company by the customer. The Cooperatives note that there is 

a problem in the order of approval in 20 VAC 5-315-30 

(A)(1) and (A)(2). There are two steps to the approval 

process, but only one form is provided in the rules. We agree 

that there are two steps in the process under the rules. First, 

the customer must notify the utility of the generation to be 

interconnected, including the proposed unit's generating 

capacity. Second, the customer must verify that all 

requirements for interconnection have been met. The Revised 

Rules modify the form to properly align with the process set 

forth in the statute. 

MDV-SEIA requests that the rules be modified to make 

clear that a distribution company may only reject the 

application if the customer fails to meet the requirements set 

forth in the statute. We do not believe this clarification is 

necessary. If a customer believes an application has been 

denied improperly, the customer may pursue an informal 

complaint with the Commission. 

We will deny additional requests for changes to the rules 

regarding notification and approval. The Revised Rules 

clearly define a two-step process for interconnection of new 

customer-owned generation, and clearly delineate the 

notification required by each party, all consistent with the 

requirements set forth in the statute. 

Virginia Power requests that the Commission eliminate the 

requirement in 20 VAC 5-315-40 for multiple signatures, 

requiring only one signature for certification and allowing the 

form to be automated electronically. We disagree with 

Virginia Power. The rules currently require multiple 

signatures for the safety of the customer and distribution 

company before the facility is interconnected. The 

Commission is unaware of any customer seeking a more 

streamlined process. Virginia Power also requests that the 

rules require that all equipment must meet Underwriters 

Laboratories and The Institute of Electrical and Electronics 

Engineers standards. This is already provided for in 20 VAC 

5-315-70, and thus no further modification of the rules is 

necessary. 

The Cooperatives and KU each request several changes to 

20 VAC 5-315-40 (A)(7) to ensure consistency in language 

and verb tense. We agree, and have modified the Revised 

Rules to address these concerns. 

Timothy Carr, Richard Good, and the Sierra Club each 

request additional clarification regarding the costs the 

generator must pay the utility for installation. We clarify that 

the costs in question are equipment and labor costs for work 

needed to interconnect with the distribution company. These 

costs are already addressed in the rules, and thus no 

modification is needed at this time. 

Virginia Power requests that the Commission modify 20 

VAC 5-315-70 to make clear that in addition to other costs 

noted in the rules, the customer-generator will be responsible 

for: (1) additional tests related to the interconnection; and (2) 

the costs of interconnection. We do not believe that additional 

clarification is necessary, as the costs to be paid by the 

customer are already defined by the rules.  
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Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The Regulations Governing Net Energy Metering, as 

shown in Appendix A to this Order, are hereby adopted and 

are effective as of December 28, 2015. 

(2) A copy of this Order with Appendix A including the 

Regulations Governing Net Energy Metering shall be 

forwarded to the Registrar of Regulations for publication in 

the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

(3) On or before January 12, 2016, each utility in the 

Commonwealth subject to Chapter 10 (§ 56-232 et seq.) of 

Title 56 of the Code of Virginia shall file with the Clerk of 

the Commission, in this docket, one (1) original document 

containing any revised tariff provisions necessary to 

implement the regulations adopted herein, and shall also file a 

copy of the document containing the revised tariff provisions 

with the Commission's Division of Energy Regulation. The 

Clerk of the Commission need not distribute copies but shall 

make such filings available for public inspection in the 

Clerk's Office and post them on the Commission's website 

at:  http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(4) This docket shall remain open to receive the filings from 

electric utilities pursuant to Ordering Paragraph (3). 

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be sent by the Clerk of 

the Commission to all electric distribution companies 

licensed in Virginia as shown on Appendix B, hereto; and a 

copy shall be sent to the Commission's Office of General 

Counsel and Division of Energy Regulation. 

________________________________________________ 
1 The filing entitled "Comments of the Virginia Electric Cooperatives" was 
submitted jointly on behalf of: A&N Electric Cooperative, BARC Electric 

Cooperative, Central Virginia Electric Cooperative, Community Electric 

Cooperative, Craig-Botetourt Electric Cooperative, Mecklenburg Electric 
Cooperative, Northern Neck Electric Cooperative, Northern Virginia Electric 

Cooperative, Powell Valley Electric Cooperative, Prince George Electric 

Cooperative, Rappahannock Electric Cooperative, Shenandoah Valley 
Electric Cooperative, and Southside Electric Cooperative, as well as the 

Virginia, Maryland & Delaware Association of Electric Cooperatives. 

20VAC5-315-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Agricultural business" means any sole proprietorship, 

corporation, partnership, electing small business (Subchapter 

S) corporation, or limited liability company engaged 

primarily in the production and sale of plants and animals, 

products collected from plants and animals, or plant and 

animal services that are useful to the public. 

"Agricultural net metering customer" means a customer that 

operates an electrical generating facility consisting of one or 

more agricultural renewable fuel generators having an 

aggregate generation capacity of not more than 500 kilowatts 

as part of an agricultural business under a net metering 

service arrangement. An agricultural net metering customer 

may be served by multiple meters of one utility that are 

located at separate but contiguous sites and that may be 

aggregated into one account. This account shall be served 

under the appropriate tariff. 

"Agricultural renewable fuel generator" or "agricultural 

renewable fuel generating facility" means one or more 

electrical generators that: 

1. Use as their sole energy source solar power, wind 

power, or aerobic or anaerobic digester gas; 

2. The agricultural net metering customer owns and 

operates, or has contracted with other persons to own or 

operate, or both; 

3. Are located on land owned or controlled by the 

agricultural business; 

4. Are connected to the agricultural net metering 

customer's wiring on the agricultural net metering 

customer's side of the agricultural net metering customer's 

interconnection with the distributor; 

5. Are interconnected and operated in parallel with an 

electric company's distribution facilities; and 

6. Are used primarily to provide energy to metered 

accounts of the agricultural business. 

"Billing period" means, as to a particular agricultural net 

metering customer or a net metering customer, the time 

period between the two meter readings upon which the 

electric distribution company and the energy service provider 

calculate the agricultural net metering customer's or net 

metering customer's bills. 

"Billing period credit" means, for a nontime-of-use 

agricultural net metering customer or a nontime-of-use net 

metering customer, the quantity of electricity generated and 

fed back into the electric grid by the agricultural net metering 

customer's agricultural renewable fuel generator or generators 

or by the net metering customer's renewable fuel generator or 

generators in excess of the electricity supplied to the customer 

over the billing period. For time-of-use agricultural net 

metering customers or time-of-use net metering customers, 

billing period credits are determined separately for each time-

of-use tier. 

"Contiguous sites" means a group of land parcels in which 

each parcel shares at least one boundary point with at least 

one other parcel in the group. Property whose surface is 

divided only by public right-of-way is considered contiguous. 

"Customer" means a net metering customer or an 

agricultural net metering customer. 

"Demand charge-based time-of-use tariff" means a retail 

tariff for electric supply service that has two or more time-of-

use tiers for energy-based charges and an electricity supply 

demand (kilowatt) charge. 

"Electric distribution company" means the entity that owns 

and/or operates the distribution facilities delivering electricity 

to the premises of an agricultural net metering customer or a 

net metering customer. 
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"Energy service provider (supplier)" means the entity 

providing electricity supply service, either tariffed or 

competitive service, to an agricultural net metering customer 

or a net metering customer. 

"Excess generation" means the amount of electrical energy 

generated in excess of the electrical energy consumed by the 

agricultural net metering customer or net metering customer 

over the course of the net metering period. For time-of-use 

agricultural net metering customers or net metering 

customers, excess generation is determined separately for 

each time-of-use tier. 

"Generator" or "generating facility" means an electrical 

generating facility consisting of one or more renewable fuel 

generators or one or more agricultural renewable fuel 

generators that meet the criteria under the definition of "net 

metering customer" and "agricultural net metering customer," 

respectively.  

"Net metering customer" means a customer owning and 

operating, or contracting with other persons to own or 

operate, or both, an electrical generating facility consisting of 

one or more renewable fuel generators having an aggregate 

generation capacity of not more than 20 kilowatts for 

residential customers and not more than 500 kilowatts one 

megawatt for nonresidential customers unless the electric 

distribution company has chosen a higher capacity limit for 

nonresidential customers in its net metering tariff. The 

generating facility shall be operated under a net metering 

service arrangement. 

"Net metering period" means each successive 12-month 

period beginning with the first meter reading date following 

the final interconnection of an agricultural net metering 

customer or a net metering customer's generating facility 

consisting of one or more agricultural renewable fuel 

generators or one or more renewable fuel generators, 

respectively, with the electric distribution company's 

distribution facilities. 

"Net metering service" means providing retail electric 

service to an agricultural net metering customer operating an 

agricultural renewable fuel generating facility or a net 

metering customer operating a renewable fuel generating 

facility and measuring the difference, over the net metering 

period, between the electricity supplied to the customer from 

the electric grid and the electricity generated and fed back to 

the electric grid by the customer. 

"Person" means any individual, sole proprietorship, 

corporation, limited liability company, partnership, 

association, company, business, trust, joint venture, or other 

private legal entity, the Commonwealth, or any city, county, 

town, authority, or other political subdivision of the 

Commonwealth. 

"Renewable Energy Certificate" or "REC" represents the 

renewable energy attributes associated with the production of 

one megawatt-hour (MWh) of electrical energy by a 

generator. 

"Renewable fuel generator" or "renewable fuel generating 

facility" means one or more electrical generators that: 

1. Use renewable energy, as defined by § 56-576 of the 

Code of Virginia, as their total fuel source; 

2. The net metering customer owns and operates, or has 

contracted with other persons to own or operate, or both; 

3. Are located on the net metering customer's premises and 

connected to the net metering customer's wiring on the net 

metering customer's side of its interconnection with the 

distributor; 

4. Are interconnected pursuant to a net metering 

arrangement and operated in parallel with the electric 

distribution company's distribution facilities; and 

5. Are intended primarily to offset all or part of the net 

metering customer's own electricity requirements. The 

capacity of any generating facility installed [ on or ] after 

July 1, 2015, shall not exceed the expected annual energy 

consumption based on the previous 12 months of billing 

history or an annualized calculation of billing history if 12 

months of billing history is not available. 

"Time-of-use customer" means an agricultural net metering 

customer or net metering customer receiving retail electricity 

supply service under a demand charge-based time-of-use 

tariff. 

"Time-of-use period" means an interval of time over which 

the energy (kilowatt-hour) rate charged to a time-of-use 

customer does not change. 

"Time-of-use tier" or "tier" means all time-of-use periods 

given the same name (e.g., on-peak, off-peak, critical peak, 

etc.) for the purpose of time-differentiating energy (kilowatt-

hour)-based charges. The rates associated with a particular 

tier may vary by day and by season. 

20VAC5-315-30. Company notification.  

A. A prospective agricultural net metering customer or a 

prospective net metering customer (hereinafter referred to as 

"customer") shall submit a completed commission-approved 

notification form to the electric distribution company and, if 

different from the electric distribution company, to the energy 

service provider, according to the time limits in this 

subsection. If the prospective customer has contracted with 

another person to own or operate, or both, the generator or 

generators, then the notice will include detailed, current, and 

accurate contract information for the owner or operator, or 

both, including without limitation, the name and title of one 

or more individuals responsible for the interconnection and 

operation of the generator or generators, a telephone number, 

a physical street address other than a post office box, a fax 

number, and an email address for each such person.  

1. A prospective residential customer proposing to install 

an electrical generating facility with an alternating current 

capacity of 25 kilowatts or less shall submit the 

notification form at least 30 days prior to the date the 

prospective customer intends to interconnect the generating 
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facility to the electric distribution company's distribution 

facilities. All equipment necessary to complete the 

interconnection of the generating facility shall have been 

installed prior to submitting the notification form shall 

notify its supplier and receive approval to interconnect 

prior to installation [ of or adding capacity to ] an electrical 

generating facility. The electric distribution company shall 

have 30 days from the date of notification to determine 

whether the requirements contained in 20VAC5-315-40 

have been met. The date of notification shall be considered 

to be the third day following the mailing of the notification 

form by the prospective customer.  

2. A prospective nonresidential customer proposing to 

install an electrical generating facility with an alternating 

current capacity greater than 25 kilowatts shall submit the 

notification form at least 60 days prior to the date the 

prospective customer intends to interconnect the generating 

facility to the electric distribution company's distribution 

facilities. All equipment necessary to complete the 

interconnection of the generating facility shall have been 

installed prior to submitting the notification form. The 

prospective customer should contact its electric distribution 

company prior to making financial commitments shall 

notify its supplier and receive approval to interconnect 

prior to installation [ of or adding capacity to ] an electrical 

generating facility. The electric distribution company shall 

have 60 days from the date of notification to determine 

whether the requirements contained in 20VAC5-315-40 

have been met. The date of notification shall be considered 

to be the third day following the mailing of the notification 

form by the prospective customer.  

B. Thirty-one days after the date of notification for a 

generating facility with an alternating current capacity of 25 

kilowatts or less residential customer, and 61 days after the 

date of notification for a generating facility with an 

alternating current capacity greater than 25 kilowatts 

nonresidential customer, the prospective customer may 

interconnect and begin operation of the generating facility 

unless the electric distribution company or the energy service 

provider requests a waiver of this requirement under the 

provisions of 20VAC5-315-80 prior to the 31st or 61st day, 

respectively. In cases where the electric distribution company 

or energy service provider requests a waiver, a copy of the 

request for waiver must be mailed simultaneously by the 

requesting party to the prospective customer and to the 

commission's Division of Energy Regulation.  

C. The electric distribution company shall file with the 

commission's Division of Energy Regulation a copy of each 

completed notification form within 30 days of final 

interconnection.  

20VAC5-315-40. Conditions of interconnection. 

A. A prospective customer may begin operation of the 

generating facility on an interconnected basis when: 

1. The customer has properly notified both the electric 

distribution company and energy service provider (in 

accordance with 20VAC5-315-30) of the customer's intent 

to interconnect. 

2. If required by the electric distribution company's tariff, 

the customer has installed a lockable, electric distribution 

company accessible, load breaking manual disconnect 

switch at each of the facility's generators. 

3. [ In cases where a The ] licensed electrician [ who ] 

installs the customer's generator or generators [ , the 

licensed electrician has certified certifies ], by signing the 

commission-approved notification form, that any required 

manual disconnect switch or switches [ have been are 

being ] installed properly and that the generator or 

generators have been installed in accordance with the 

manufacturer's specifications as well as all applicable 

provisions of the National Electrical Code. If the customer 

or licensed Virginia Class A or B general contractor 

installs the customer's generator or generators, the signed 

final electrical inspection can be used in lieu of the 

licensed electrician's certification. 

4. The vendor [ has certified certifies ], by signing the 

commission-approved notification form, that the generator 

or generators being installed are in compliance with the 

requirements established by Underwriters Laboratories or 

other national testing laboratories in accordance with IEEE 

Standard 1547, Standard for Interconnecting Distributed 

Resources with Electric Power Systems, July 2003. 

5. In the case of static inverter-connected generators with 

an alternating current capacity in excess of 10 kilowatts, 

the customer has had the inverter settings inspected by the 

electric distribution company. The electric distribution 

company may impose a fee on the customer of no more 

than $50 for each generator that requires this inspection. 

6. In the case of nonstatic inverter-connected generators, 

the customer has interconnected according to the electric 

distribution company's interconnection guidelines and the 

electric distribution company has inspected all protective 

equipment settings. The electric distribution company may 

impose a fee on the customer of no more than $50 for each 

generator that requires this inspection. 

7. In the case of a customer's electrical generating facility 

having an alternating current capacity greater than 25 

kilowatts, the The following requirements shall be met 

before interconnection may occur: 

a. Electric distribution facilities and customer impact 

limitations. A customer's generator shall not be permitted 

to interconnect to distribution facilities if the 

interconnection would reasonably lead to damage to any 

of the electric distribution company's facilities or would 

reasonably lead to voltage regulation or power quality 

problems at other customer revenue meters due to the 

incremental effect of the generator on the performance of 

the electric distribution system, unless the customer 
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reimburses the electric distribution company for its cost 

[ to modify any facilities needed ] to accommodate the 

interconnection, including [ any the ] reasonable [ costs 

cost ] of equipment required for the interconnection. 

b. Secondary, service, and service entrance limitations. 

The capacity of the generators at any one service location 

shall be less than the capacity of the electric distribution 

company-owned secondary, service, and service entrance 

cable connected to the point of interconnection, unless 

the customer reimburses the electric distribution 

company for its cost to modify any facilities needed [ all 

the ] reasonable [ costs cost ] of equipment required [ to 

accommodate for ] the interconnection. 

c. Transformer loading limitations. A customer's 

generator shall not have the ability to overload the 

electric distribution company's transformer, or any 

transformer winding, beyond manufacturer or nameplate 

ratings, unless the customer reimburses the electric 

distribution company for its cost to modify any facilities 

needed [ all the ] reasonable [ costs cost ] of equipment 

required [ to accommodate for ] the interconnection. 

d. Integration with electric distribution company facilities 

grounding. The grounding scheme of each generator shall 

comply with IEEE 1547, Standard for Interconnecting 

Distributed Resources with Electric Power Systems, July 

2003, and shall be consistent with the grounding scheme 

used by the electric distribution company. If requested by a 

prospective customer, the electric distribution company 

shall assist the prospective customer in selecting a 

grounding scheme that coordinates with its distribution 

system. 

e. Balance limitation. The generator or generators shall 

not create a voltage imbalance of more than 3.0% at any 

other customer's revenue meter if the electric distribution 

company transformer, with the secondary connected to 

the point of interconnection, is a three-phase transformer, 

unless the customer reimburses the electric distribution 

company for its cost to modify any facilities needed [ all 

the ] reasonable [ costs cost ] of equipment required [ to 

accommodate for ] the interconnection. 

B. A prospective customer shall not be allowed to 

interconnect a generator if doing so will cause the total rated 

generating alternating current capacity of all interconnected 

net metered generators, as defined in 20VAC5-315-20, within 

that customer's electric distribution company's Virginia 

service territory to exceed 1.0% of that company's Virginia 

peak-load forecast for the previous year. In any case where a 

prospective customer has submitted a notification form 

required by 20VAC5-315-30 and that customer's 

interconnection would cause the total rated generating 

alternating current capacity of all interconnected net metered 

generators, as defined in 20VAC5-315-20, within that electric 

distribution company's service territory to exceed 1.0% of 

that company's Virginia peak-load forecast for the previous 

year, the electric distribution company shall, at the time it 

becomes aware of the fact, send written notification to the 

prospective customer and to the commission's Division of 

Energy Regulation that the interconnection is not allowed. In 

addition, upon request from any customer, the electric 

distribution company shall provide to the customer the 

amount of capacity still available for interconnection pursuant 

to § 56-594 D of the Code of Virginia. 

C. Neither the electric distribution company nor the energy 

service provider shall impose any charges upon a customer 

for any interconnection requirements specified by this 

chapter, except as provided under subdivisions A 5, 6, and 7 

of this section, [ and ] 20VAC5-315-50 [ , and 20VAC5-315-

70 ] as related to additional metering. 

D. A customer shall immediately notify the electric 

distribution company of any changes in the ownership of, 

operational responsibility for, or contact information for any 

of the customer's generators. 

20VAC5-315-70. Additional controls and tests.  

Except as provided in 20VAC5-315-40 A 5 and 6 and 

20VAC5-315-50 as related to additional metering, no 

customer shall be required to pay for additional metering, 

testing or controls in order to interconnect with the electric 

distribution company or energy service provider. However, 

this chapter shall not preclude a customer, an electric 

distribution company or an energy service provider from 

installing additional controls or meters, or from conducting 

additional tests. The expenses associated with these additional 

meters, tests or equipment shall be borne by the party desiring 

the additional meters, tests or equipment. [ A net metering 

customer's An eligible customer-generator's ] electrical 

generating system, and each electrical generating system of 

an [ eligible ] agricultural [ net metering customer customer-

generator ], shall meet all applicable safety and performance 

standards established by the National Electrical Code, the 

Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, and 

accredited testing laboratories such as Underwriters 

Laboratories. Beyond the requirements set forth in this 

chapter, and to insure public safety, power quality, and 

reliability of the supplier's electric distribution system, [ a net 

metering customer an eligible customer-generator ] or 

[ eligible ] agricultural [ net metering customer customer-

generator ] whose electrical generating system meets those 

standards and rules shall bear all reasonable costs of 

equipment required for the interconnection to the supplier's 

electric distribution system, including costs, if any, to (i) 

install additional controls and (ii) perform additional tests. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 9 Virginia Register of Regulations December 28, 2015 

1684 

FORMS (20VAC5-315)  

Net Metering Interconnection Notification, Form NMIN 

(rev. 7/14) 

Agricultural Net Metering or Net Metering Interconnection 

Notification, Form NMIN (eff. 12/2015) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4412; Filed December 4, 2015, 4:31 p.m.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2b6f3004412~1&typ=40&actno=004412&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2b6f3004412~1&typ=40&actno=004412&mime=application/pdf
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

State Implementation Plan Revision - Revision B15 

Notice of action: The Department of Environmental Quality 

(DEQ) is announcing an opportunity for public comment on a 

proposed revision to the Commonwealth of Virginia State 

Implementation Plan (SIP). The SIP is a plan developed by 

the Commonwealth in order to fulfill its responsibilities under 

the federal Clean Air Act (Act) to attain and maintain the 

ambient air quality standards promulgated by the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) under the Act. The 

Commonwealth intends to submit the regulation to EPA as a 

revision to the SIP in accordance with the requirements of 

§ 110(a) of the federal Clean Air Act. 

Regulations affected: The regulation of the board affected by 

this action is Emission Standards for Stationary Sources 

Subject to Case-by-Case RACT Determinations, Article 51 of 

9VAC5-40 (Existing Stationary Sources), Revision B15. 

Purpose of notice: DEQ is seeking comment on the issue of 

whether the regulation amendments should be submitted as a 

revision to the SIP. 

Public comment period: 30-Day Comment Forum December 

28, 2015, to January 27, 2016. 

Public hearing: A public hearing may be conducted if a 

request is made in writing to the contact listed at the end of 

this notice. In order to be considered, the request must include 

the full name, address, and telephone number of the person 

requesting the hearing and be received by DEQ by the last 

day of the comment period. Notice of the date, time, and 

location of any requested public hearing will be announced in 

a separate notice, and another 30-day comment period will be 

conducted. 

Public comment stage: The regulation amendments are 

exempt from the state administrative procedures for adoption 

of regulations contained in Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act by the provisions of § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the 

Administrative Process Act because they are necessary to 

meet the requirements of the federal Clean Air Act and do not 

differ materially from the pertinent EPA regulations. Since 

the amendments have been adopted and are exempt from 

administrative procedures for the adoption of regulations, 

DEQ is accepting comment only on the issue cited above 

under "purpose of notice" and not on the content of the 

regulation amendments. 

Description of proposal: The proposed revision consists of 

adding new requirements for the case-by-case determination 

of reasonably available control technology (RACT) needed in 

order to meet the EPA 0.075 parts per million (ppm) National 

Ambient Air Quality Standard (NAAQS) for ozone. On 

March 6, 2015 (80 FR 12264), EPA amended subpart X to 40 

CFR Part 51, which covers the implementation of the 2008 

eight-hour ozone standard. The Northern Virginia Ozone 

Nonattainment Area, which corresponds to the Northern 

Virginia Volatile Organic Compound (VOC) and Nitrogen 

Oxides (NOX) Emissions Control Areas and which is part of 

the Ozone Transport Region (OTR), must meet the RACT 

requirements of 40 CFR 51.1116. This section of the EPA 

rule specifies dates by when RACT must be implemented in 

the OTR. The state regulations must be consistent with the 

federal regulations in order for the state to implement RACT. 

Federal information: This notice is being given to satisfy the 

public participation requirements of federal regulations (40 

CFR 51.102) and not any provision of state law. The proposal 

will be submitted as a revision to the Commonwealth of 

Virginia SIP under § 110(a) of the federal Clean Air Act in 

accordance with 40 CFR 51.104. It is planned to submit all 

provisions of the proposal as a revision to the SIP. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 

fax, and postal mail. In order to be considered, comments 

must include the full name, address, and telephone number of 

the person commenting and be received by DEQ by the last 

day of the comment period. All materials received are part of 

the public record. 

To review regulation documents: The proposal and 

supporting documents are available on the DEQ Air Public 

Notices for Plans website at 

http://www.deq.state.va.us/Programs/Air/PublicNotices/airpla

nsandprograms.aspx. The documents may also be obtained by 

contacting the DEQ representative named below. The public 

may review the documents between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. 

of each business day until the close of the public comment 

period at the following DEQ locations:  

1) Main Street Office, 8th Floor, 629 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA, telephone (804) 698-4070, and  

2) Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, 

Woodbridge, VA, telephone (703) 583-3800. 

Contact Information: Karen G. Sabasteanski, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4426, FAX (804) 

698-4510, or email karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov. 

BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board 

for Contractors conducted a small business impact review of 

18VAC50-22, Board for Contractors Regulations, and 

determined that this regulation should be retained in its 

current form. The Board for Contractors is publishing its 

report of findings dated December 1, 2015, to support this 

decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of 

Virginia. 

http://townhall.virginia.gov/l/comments.cfm?GeneralNoticeid=571
http://www.deq.state.va.us/Programs/Air/PublicNotices/airplansandprograms.aspx
http://www.deq.state.va.us/Programs/Air/PublicNotices/airplansandprograms.aspx
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Sections 54.1-201.5 and 54.1-1102 of the Code of Virginia 

mandate the Board for Contractors to promulgate regulations. 

The continued need for the regulation is established in statute. 

Repeal of the regulation would remove the current public 

protections provided by the regulation. The regulation does 

not have an adverse economic impact on small businesses. 

Rather, the regulation allows businesses that meet specific 

minimum competencies to become Virginia licensed 

contractors. No relevant complaints or comments were 

received. The regulation is clearly written and is easily 

understandable. The regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or 

conflict with federal or state law or regulation. The most 

recent evaluation occurred in 2011, which resulted in no 

changes to the current regulations. The board discussed the 

regulation and, for the reasons stated, determined that the 

regulation should not be amended or repealed but should be 

retained in its current form.  

Contact Information: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 

telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (866) 430-1033, or email 

contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 

FAIR HOUSING BOARD 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Fair 

Housing Board conducted a small business impact review of 

18VAC62-10, Public Participation Guidelines, and 

determined that this regulation should be retained in its 

current form. The Fair Housing Board is publishing its report 

of findings dated December 2, 2015, to support this decision 

in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

Section 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia mandates the 

agency to solicit the input of interested parties in the 

formation and development of its regulations. Therefore, the 

continued need for the regulation is established in statute. The 

regulation is necessary to protect public health, safety, and 

welfare by establishing public participation guidelines, which 

promote public involvement in the development, amendment, 

or repeal of an agency's regulation. By soliciting the input of 

interested parties, the agency is better equipped to effectively 

regulate the occupation or profession. Since no complaints or 

comments were received during the public comment period, 

there does not appear to be a reason to amend or repeal the 

regulation. The regulation is clearly written and easily 

understandable. The regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or 

contravene federal or state law or regulation. The most recent 

periodic review of the regulation occurred in 2012. On 

December 2, 2015, the board discussed the regulation and, for 

the reasons stated, determined that the regulation should not 

be amended or repealed but should be retained in its current 

form  

Contact Information: Christine Martine, Executive Director, 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 

telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (866) 826-8863, or email 

fairhousing@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Fair 

Housing Board conducted a small business impact review of 

18VAC62-20, Fair Housing Board Certification 

Regulations, and determined that this regulation should be 

retained in its current form. The Fair Housing Board is 

publishing its report of findings dated December 2, 2015, to 

support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Section 54.1-201.5 of the Code of Virginia mandates the Fair 

Housing Board to promulgate regulations. The continued 

need for the regulation is established in statute. Repeal of the 

regulation would remove the current public protections 

provided by the regulation. The Fair Housing Board provides 

protection to the safety and welfare of the citizens of the 

Commonwealth by ensuring that only those individuals who 

meet specific criteria set forth in the statutes and regulations 

are eligible to receive a fair housing certificate. The board is 

also tasked with ensuring that its regulants meet standards of 

practice that are set forth in the regulations. No comments or 

complaints were received during the public comment period. 

The regulation is clearly written, easily understandable, and 

does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with federal or state 

law or regulation. The most recent evaluation occurred in 

2012. The board discussed the regulation and, for the reasons 

stated, determined that the regulation should not be amended 

or repealed but should be retained in its current form.  

Contact Information: Christine Martine, Executive Director, 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 

telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (866) 826-8863, or email 

fairhousing@dpor.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 

January 2016 - Drinking Water State Revolving 
Funds 

The Virginia Department of Health (VDH) is pleased to 

announce several opportunities for funding drinking water 

infrastructure. All applications may be submitted year round; 

however, VDH will conduct one round of evaluations for 

requests submitted by the deadlines. Applications 

postmarked/received after the due date will be considered for 

funding in the following round.  Funding is made possible by 

the Drinking Water State Revolving Fund (DWSRF) Program 

and the Water Supply Assistance Grant Fund (WSAG) 

Program (if funds are available). The FY 2017 DWSRF 
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Intended Use Plan will be developed using input on these 

issues. 

(1) Public Comments and Set-Aside Suggestions Invited 

(Submission deadline April 1, 2016). To identify ways to 

improve the Program, VDH seeks meaningful input from 

the public, the waterworks industry, or other interested 

parties. Anyone may make comments or recommendations 

to support or revise the Program. Anyone has the 

opportunity to suggest new or continuing set-aside 

(nonconstruction) activities. Set-aside funds help VDH 

assist waterworks owners to prepare for future drinking 

water challenges and assure the sustainability of safe 

drinking water. VDH will consider all comments and 

suggestions submitted by April 1, 2016. 

(2) Construction and refinance fund requests (Application 

deadline April 1, 2016). Owners of community waterworks 

and nonprofit noncommunity waterworks are eligible to 

apply for construction funds. VDH makes selections based 

on criteria described in the DWSRF Program Design 

Manual, such as existing public health problems, 

noncompliance, affordability, regionalization, and the 

availability of matching funds.  Readiness to proceed with 

construction is a key element. An instruction packet and 

construction project schedule are included. VDH 

anticipates a funding level of $25 million. 

(3) 1452(k) Source Water Protection Initiatives 

(Application deadline April 1, 2016). This provision allows 

VDH to loan money for activities to protect important 

drinking water resources. Loan funds are available to 

community and nonprofit noncommunity waterworks to 

acquire land/conservation easements and to community 

waterworks, only to establish local voluntary incentive-

based protection measures. 

(4) Planning and Design Grants (Application deadlines 

April 1, 2016 and September 1, 2016). Private and public 

owners of community waterworks are eligible to apply for 

these grant funds.  Grants can be up to $50,000 per project 

for small, financially stressed, community waterworks 

serving fewer than 10,000 persons.  Eligible projects may 

include preliminary engineering planning, design of plans 

and specifications, performance of source water quality and 

quantity studies, drilling test wells to determine source 

feasibility, or other similar technical assistance projects.  

These funds could assist the waterworks owner in future 

submittals for construction funds.  There are two 

application deadlines for planning grant application 

submittals: April 1, 2016 and September 1, 2016. VDH 

intends to conduct two rounds of evaluations and offers. 

The VDH's DWSRF Program Design Manual describes the 

features of the above opportunities for funding. After 

receiving public input, VDH will develop a draft intended use 

plan (IUP) for public review and comment. When developed, 

the draft IUP will describe specific details for use of the 

funds. A public meeting is planned and written comments 

will be accepted before submittal of a final version to the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency for approval. 

Applications, set-aside suggestion forms, Program Design 

Manuals, and information materials are available on the VDH 

website at 

http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/odw/financial/dwfundingprogra

mdetails.htm. This information can also be obtained from and 

comments can be sent to Steven Pellei, PE, FCAP Director, 

by calling (804) 864-7500, faxing (804) 864-7521, or writing 

to Virginia Department of Health, Office of Drinking Water, 

109 Governor Street, 6th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219.  

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, General Assembly Building, 201 North 9th 

Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: Voice 

(804) 786-3591; Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

http://www.virginia.gov/connect/commonwealth-calendar. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 

ERRATA 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-290. Marking of Leased 

Oyster Planting Ground. 

Publication: 32:7 VA.R. 1138-1139 November 30, 2015. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 1138, 4VAC20-290-15, insert as the first sentence of the 

section before "Active work areas": 

http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/odw/financial/dwfundingprogramdetails.htm
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/odw/financial/dwfundingprogramdetails.htm
varegs@dls.virginia.gov
http://www.virginia.gov/connect/commonwealth-calendar
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
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"The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:" 

VA.R. Doc. No.R16-4515; Filed December 16, 2015, 9:36 a.m. 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-210. Permanency Services - 

Prevention, Foster Care, Adoption and Independent 

Living. 

Publication: 32:7 VA.R. 1293-1312 November 30, 2015. 

Correction to Proposed Regulation: 

Page 1302, 22VAC40-201-40, column 1, replace subsection 

E. F. with the following: 

E. F. When a child is to be placed in a home in the local 

department is considering placement of a child in a foster or 

adoptive home approved by another local department's 

jurisdiction department within Virginia, the local department 

intending to place the child shall notify the local department 

that approved the home that the home is being considered for 

the child's placement. The local department consult with the 

approving local department about the placement of the child 

and shall also verify that the home is still approved and shall 

consult with the approving local department about placement 

of the child. 

VA.R. Doc. No.R13-3751; Filed December 8, 2015, 2:25 p.m. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


