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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 

publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 

days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 

necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 

clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 

comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 

to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 

completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 

comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 

than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 

period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 

appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 

may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 

objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 

will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 

by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 

with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 

Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 

substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 

30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 

public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 

receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 

comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 

inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 

certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 

process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 

provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 

objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 

consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 

Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 

emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 

regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 

law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 

days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 

operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 

unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 

more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 

months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 

Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 

procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 

agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 

Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 

regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 

180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 

chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 

prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

29:5 VA.R. 1075-1192 November 5, 2012, refers to Volume 29, Issue 

5, pages 1075 through 1192 of the Virginia Register issued on  

November 5, 2012. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

James M. LeMunyon, Vice Chair, Gregory D. Habeeb; Ryan T. 

McDougle; Pamela S. Baskervill; Robert L. Calhoun; Carlos L. 

Hopkins; E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; Christopher R. 

Nolen; Timothy Oksman; Charles S. Sharp; Robert L. Tavenner. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 

Karen Perrine, Assistant Registrar; Anne Bloomsburg, Regulations 
Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Operations 

Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

January 2016 through December 2016 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

32:10 December 21, 2015 (Monday) January 11, 2016 

32:11 January 6, 2016 January 25, 2016 

32:12 January 20, 2016 February 8, 2016 

32:13 February 3, 2016 February 22, 2016 

32:14 February 17, 2016 March 7, 2016 

32:15 March 2, 2016 March 21, 2016 

32:16 March 16, 2016 April 4, 2016 

32:17 March 30, 2016 April 18, 2016 

32:18 April 13, 2016 May 2, 2016 

32:19 April 27, 2016 May 16, 2016 

32:20 May 11, 2016 May 30, 2016 

32:21 May 25, 2016 June 13, 2016 

32:22 June 8, 2016 June 27, 2016 

32:23 June 22, 2016 July 11, 2016 

32:24 July 6, 2016 July 25, 2016 

32:25 July 20, 2016 August 8, 2016 

32:26 August 3, 2016 August 22, 2016 

33:1 August 17, 2016 September 5, 2016 

33:2 August 31, 2016 September 19, 2016 

33:3 September 14, 2016 October 3, 2016 

33:4 September 28, 2016 October 17, 2016 

33:5 October 12, 2016 October 31, 2016 

33:6 October 26, 2016 November 14, 2016 

33:7 November 9, 2016 November 28, 2016 

33:8 November 22, 2016 (Tuesday) December 12, 2016 

33:9 December 7, 2016 December 26, 2016 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

DEPARTMENT OF CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Criminal Justice Services Board 

intends to consider amending 6VAC20-172, Regulations 

Relating to Private Security Services Businesses, and 

6VAC20-174, Regulations Relating to Private Security 

Services Registered Personnel. The purpose of the proposed 

action is to amend the regulations to allow for licensed 

private security services businesses licensed by the 

Department of Criminal Justice Services (DCJS) to 

independently contract with private investigators and personal 

protection specialists registered with DCJS. Additionally, the 

proposed amendments will require that every registered 

personal protection specialist and private investigator hired as 

an independent contractor maintain comprehensive general 

liability insurance in the amount to be determined by DCJS 

and provide evidence of such insurance to the business with 

which they are contracting. The changes will address the 

requirements of Chapter 202 of the 2015 Acts of Assembly, 

which became effective July 1, 2015. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 9.1-102 and 9.1-141 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

Public Comment Deadline: February 10, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Barbara Peterson-Wilson, Law Enforcement 

Program Coordinator, Department of Criminal Justice 

Services, 1100 Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 225-4503, FAX (804) 786-0410, or email 

barbara.peterson-wilson@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4548; Filed December 10, 2015, 4:19 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Medical Assistance 

Services intends to consider amending 12VAC30-60, 

Standards Established and Methods Used to Assure High 

Quality Care, and 12VAC30-141, Family Access to 

Medical Insurance Security Plan. The purpose of the 

proposed action is to consider standardizing (i) the utilization 

review process for all provider types, including the deadlines 

for providers to submit documentation, (ii) documentation 

deadlines for the cost settlement process, and (iii) the audit 

process, including what letters are sent to providers, what 

documentation may be submitted and when it may be 

submitted, and what deadlines apply. The proposed action is 

intended to conform the Medicaid and Family Access to 

Medical Insurance Security Plan utilization review 

regulations to decisions of the Virginia Court of Appeals in 

1st Stop Health Services, Inc. vs. DMAS, 63 Va. App. 266, 

756 S.E.2d 183 (2014) and DMAS v. Ablix Corporation, 

2015 Va. App. LEXIS 82 (March 17, 2015).  

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 10, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4492; Filed December 11, 2015, 12:32 p.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Medical Assistance 

Services intends to consider amending 12VAC30-120, 

Waivered Services, and 12VAC30-50, Amount, Duration, 

and Scope of Medical and Remedial Care and Services. 

The purpose of the proposed action is to consider 

standardizing the requirements for qualifications, education, 

and training for consumer-directed service facilitators across 

the waivers that require service facilitators (SFs) to ensure the 

health, safety, and welfare of Medicaid home and 

community-based waiver enrollees. The proposed 

amendments include the following: (i) SFs who are not 

licensed nurses are required to advise, with the permission of 

the waiver individuals, the primary health care provider that 

services are being provided; (ii) SFs are required to have 

sufficient knowledge, skills, and abilities to perform the 

activities that are required of them; (iii) SFs must have a 

satisfactory work record and submit to a criminal background 

check; (iv) SFs must submit to a check of the Department of 

Social Services Child Protective Services Central Registry; 

(v) SFs must not be debarred, suspended, other otherwise 

excluded from participating in this federal health care 

program; (vi) new SFs, must have, at a minimum, an 

associate's degree in a health or human services field or be a 

registered nurse currently licensed in the Commonwealth and 

possess a minimum of two years of satisfactory direct care 

experience or hold a bachelor's degree or higher in a non-

health or human services field and have at least three years of 

satisfactory direct care experience; (vii) SFs must complete 

the DMAS-approved consumer-directed services facilitator 
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training and pass the corresponding competency assessment 

with at least a score of 80%; and (viii) SFs must have access 

to a computer with secure Internet access. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 10, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-3805; Filed December 17, 2015, 3:05 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

VIRGINIA WORKERS' COMPENSATION 
COMMISSION 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Virginia Workers' 

Compensation Commission intends to consider amending 

16VAC30-50, Rules of the Virginia Workers' 

Compensation Commission. The purpose of the proposed 

action is to reduce the number of communities for the 

purposes of determining the liability of employers and 

insurers for the cost of medical services rendered to injured 

workers pursuant to § 65.2-605 of the Code of Virginia from 

15 communities based on Planning District Commission 

Districts to five communities based on Health Planning 

Districts and geographic contiguity. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 65.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 10, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Jim Szablewicz, Chief Deputy 

Commissioner, Virginia Workers' Compensation 

Commission, 1000 DMV Drive, Richmond, VA 23030, 

telephone (804) 367-8664, or email 

james.szablewicz@workcomp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4565; Filed December 11, 2015, 4:15 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Social Work intends to 

consider amending 18VAC140-20, Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Social Work. The purpose of the proposed 

action is to (i) require submission of an application for 

licensure within two years of completion of supervised 

experience; (ii) require registration of supervision whenever 

there is a change in the supervisor, the supervised practice, or 

clinical services or location; and (iii) add romantic 

relationships with clients as grounds for unprofessional 

conduct. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 10, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Social Work, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 527-

4435, or email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4574; Filed December 11, 2015, 12:59 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Social Services 

has WITHDRAWN the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

regarding the repeal of 22VAC40-80, General Procedures 

and Information for Licensure, and the promulgation of a 

comprehensive new regulation 22VAC40-81, General 

Information and Procedures for Licensure, which was 

published in 31:22 VA.R. 1896 June 29, 2015. The need for 

additional review and revision of the proposed regulation was 

identified. The board intends to initiate a new action at a 

future time. 

Agency Contact: Janice Sigler, Program Consultant, 

Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7901, FAX (804) 

726-7132, or email jan.sigler@dss.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4418; Filed December 11, 2015, 11:49 a.m.  

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=5018
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Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Social Services 

has WITHDRAWN the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

for 22VAC40-295, Temporary Assistance for Needy 

Families (TANF), which was published in 30:21 VA.R. 2501 

June 16, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Bridget Shelmet, Program Consultant, 

Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7144, FAX (804) 

726-7357, or email bridget.shelmet@dss.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4065; Filed December 11, 2015, 11:46 a.m.  

 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=4470
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=4470
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

BOARD OF GAME AND INLAND FISHERIES 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-20. Definitions and 

Miscellaneous: In General (amending 4VAC15-20-130).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

January 21, 2016 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and 

Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, 

Henrico, VA 23228. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 08, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-

8341, or email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) update the date reference to 

the federal list of endangered and threatened wildlife 

species; (ii) update the Virginia List of Endangered and 

Threatened Species to add the little brown bat and the tri-

colored bat as endangered species and remove the state-

threatened upland sandpiper and Dismal Swamp 

southeastern shrew to reflect their status in Virginia more 

accurately; and (iii) describe certain activities in which 

incidental take of the little brown bat and the tri-colored 

bat may occur that may be conducted without a permit 

from the department, provided that the activities are 

performed in certain manners. 

4VAC15-20-130. Endangered and threatened species; 

adoption of federal list; additional species enumerated.  

A. The board hereby adopts the Federal Endangered and 

Threatened Species List, Endangered Species Act of 

December 28, 1973 (16 USC §§ 1531-1543), as amended as 

of May 20, 2014 October 2, 2015, and declares all species 

listed thereon to be endangered or threatened species in the 

Commonwealth. Pursuant to § 29.1-103.12 of the Code of 

Virginia, the director of the department is hereby delegated 

authority to propose adoption of modifications and 

amendments to the Federal Endangered and Threatened 

Species List in accordance with the procedures of §§ 29.1-

501 and 29.1-502 of the Code of Virginia.  

B. In addition to the provisions of subsection A of this 

section, the following species are declared endangered or 

threatened in this Commonwealth, and are afforded the 

protection provided by Article 6 (§ 29.1-563 et seq.) of 

Chapter 5 of Title 29.1 of the Code of Virginia:  

1. Fish: 

Endangered:  

  Dace, Tennessee Phoxinus tennesseensis 

  Darter, sharphead Etheostoma acuticeps 

  Darter, variegate Etheostoma variatum 

  Sunfish, 

blackbanded  

Enneacanthus chaetodon 

Threatened: 

  Darter, Carolina Etheostoma collis 

  Darter, golden Etheostoma denoncourti 

  Darter, greenfin  Etheostoma 

chlorobranchium 

  Darter, sickle Percina willliamsi 

  Darter, western 

sand 

Ammocrypta clara 

  Madtom, orangefin Noturus gilberti 

  Paddlefish Polyodon spathula 

  Shiner, emerald Notropis atherinoides 

  Shiner, steelcolor Cyprinella whipplei 

  Shiner, 

whitemouth 

Notropis alborus 

2. Amphibians: 

Endangered: 

  Salamander, 

eastern tiger 

Ambystoma tigrinum  
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Threatened: 

  Salamander, 

Mabee's 

Ambystoma mabeei 

  Treefrog, barking Hyla gratiosa 

3. Reptiles: 

Endangered: 

  Rattlesnake, 

canebrake (Coastal 

Plain population of 

timber rattlesnake) 

Crotalus horridus 

  Turtle, bog Glyptemys muhlenbergii 

  Turtle, eastern 

chicken 

Deirochelys reticularia 

reticularia 

Threatened: 

  Lizard, eastern 

glass 

Ophisaurus ventralis 

  Turtle, wood Glyptemys insculpta 

4. Birds: 

Endangered: 

  Plover, Wilson's Charadrius wilsonia 

 Rail, black Laterallus jamaicensis 

  Wren, Bewick's Thryomanes bewickii 

bewickii 

Threatened: 

  Falcon, peregrine Falco peregrinus 

  Sandpiper, upland Bartramia longicauda 

  Shrike, loggerhead Lanius ludovicianus 

  Sparrow, 

Bachman's 

Aimophila aestivalis 

  Sparrow, 

Henslow's  

Ammodramus henslowii 

  Tern, gull-billed  Sterna nilotica 

5. Mammals: 

Endangered: 

  Bat, Rafinesque's 

eastern big-eared  

Corynorhinus rafinesquii 

macrotis 

  Bat, little brown Myotis lucifugus 

  Bat, tri-colored Perimyotis subflavus 

  Hare, snowshoe Lepus americanus 

  Shrew, American 

water 

Sorex palustris 

  Vole, rock Microtus chrotorrhinus 

Threatened: 

  Shrew, Dismal 

Swamp 

southeastern 

Sorex longirostris fisheri 

6. Molluscs: 

Endangered: 

  Ghostsnail, 

thankless 

Holsingeria unthanksensis 

  Coil, rubble  Helicodiscus lirellus 

  Coil, shaggy Helicodiscus diadema 

  Deertoe Truncilla truncata 

  Elephantear Elliptio crassidens 

  Elimia, spider Elimia arachnoidea 

  Floater, brook  Alasmidonta varicosa 

  Heelsplitter, 

Tennessee 

Lasmigona holstonia 

  Lilliput, purple Toxolasma lividus 

  Mussel, 

slippershell  

Alasmidonta viridis 

  Pigtoe, Ohio  Pleurobema cordatum 

  Pigtoe, pyramid Pleurobema rubrum 

  Springsnail, 

Appalachian 

Fontigens bottimeri 

  Springsnail (no 

common name) 

Fontigens morrisoni 

  Supercoil, spirit  Paravitrea hera 

Threatened: 

  Floater, green Lasmigona subviridis 

  Papershell, fragile Leptodea fragilis 

  Pigtoe, Atlantic  Fusconaiamasoni 

  Pimpleback  Quadrula pustulosa 

pustulosa 
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  Pistolgrip Tritogonia verrucosa 

  Riversnail, spiny  Iofluvialis 

  Sandshell, black Ligumia recta 

  Supercoil, brown Paravitrea septadens 

7. Arthropods: 

Threatened: 

  Amphipod, Madison 

Cave 

Stygobromus stegerorum 

  Pseudotremia, Ellett 

Valley 

Pseudotremia cavernarum 

  Xystodesmid, Laurel 

Creek 

Sigmoria whiteheadi 

8. Crustaceans: 

Endangered: 

  Crayfish, Big 

Sandy 

Cambarus veteranus 

C. It shall be unlawful to take, transport, process, sell, or offer for sale within the Commonwealth any threatened or 

endangered species of fish or wildlife except as authorized by law. 

D. The incidental take of certain species may occur in certain circumstances and with the implementation of certain 

conservation practices as described in this subsection: 

Species Location 
Allowable 

Circumstances 

Required Conservation 

Measures 

Expected Incidental 

Take 

Little brown bat 

Tri-colored bat 

Statewide Human health risk – 

need for removal of 

individual animals 

from human-habited 

structures.  

Between May 15 and August 

31, no exclusion of bats from 

maternity colonies, except for 

human health concerns. 

DGIF-permitted nuisance 

wildlife control operator with 

DGIF-recognized certification 

in techniques associated with 

removal of bats. 

Use of exclusion devices that 

allow individual animals to 

escape. 

Manual collection of individual 

animals incapable of sustaining 

themselves; transport to a 

willing and appropriately 

permitted wildlife rehabilitator. 

Little to no direct lethal 

taking expected. 

Public safety or 

property damage 

risk – need for tree 

removal, 

application of 

prescribed fire, or 

other land 

management 

actions affecting 

known roosts; 

removal of animals 

from known roosts. 

Hibernacula: no tree removal, 

use of prescribed fire, or other 

land management action 

within buffer area from 

September 1 through April 

30, if possible. Otherwise, 

document the need (public 

safety, property damage risk) 

for tree removal during this 

period and verify that no 

known roost trees exist in the 

buffer area. 

Known roost trees: no tree 

removal, use of prescribed 

fire, or other land 

management action within 

buffer area from May 1 

through August 31, if 

Little to no direct lethal 

taking expected. 
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possible. Otherwise, 

document public safety or 

property damage risk. 

DGIF-permitted nuisance 

wildlife control operator with 

DGIF-recognized certification 

in techniques associated with 

removal of bats. 

Use of exclusion devices that 

allow individual animals to 

escape. 

Manual collection of 

individual animals incapable 

of sustaining themselves; 

transport to a willing and 

appropriately permitted 

wildlife rehabilitator. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(4VAC15-20) 

List of Native and Naturalized Fauna of Virginia, March 

2012, Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries 

Federal Endangered and Threatened Species List, amended 

as of October 2, 2015, U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4615; Filed December 21, 2015, 10:29 a.m.  

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-720. Pertaining to 

Restrictions on Oyster Harvest (amending 4VAC20-720-

40).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 28.2-201 and 28.2-210 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Dates: January 1, 2016, through January 30, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-

2248, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

The emergency amendment changes the dates of part of the 

open oyster harvest season for the James River Area and 

the Thomas Rock Area (James River) from March 1, 2016, 

through March 31, 2016, to January 1, 2016, through 

January 31, 2016. 

4VAC20-720-40. Open oyster harvest season and areas.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest oysters 

from public and unassigned grounds outside of the seasons 

and areas set forth in this section. 

B. It shall be unlawful to harvest clean cull oysters from the 

public oyster grounds and unassigned grounds except during 

the lawful seasons and from the lawful areas as described in 

the following subdivisions of this subsection. 

1. James River Seed Area, including the Deep Water Shoal 

State Replenishment Seed Area: October 1, 2015, through 

April 30, 2016. 

2. Milford Haven: December 1, 2015, through February 29, 

2016. 

3. Rappahannock River Area 9: November 1, 2015, 

through December 31, 2015. 

4. Little Wicomico River: October 1, 2015, through 

December 31, 2015. 

5. Coan River: October 1, 2015, through December 31, 

2015. 

6. Yeocomico River: October 1, 2015, through December 

31, 2015. 

7. Nomini Creek: October 1, 2015, through December 31, 

2015. 

8. Mobjack Bay Area: January 1, 2016, through January 

31, 2016. 

9. Rappahannock River Rotation Area 5: October 1, 2015, 

through November 30, 2015. 

10. Rappahannock River Rotation Area 3: November 1, 

2015, through December 31, 2015. 

11. Great Wicomico River Area: December 1, 2015, 

through January 31, 2016. 

12. Upper Chesapeake Bay - Blackberry Hangs Area: 

December 1, 2015, through January 31, 2016. 

13. James River Area and the Thomas Rock Area (James 

River): November 1 2015, through December 31, 2015, 

and March January 1, 2016, through March January 31, 

2016.  

14. Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds Rotation Area 1: 

December 1, 2015, through February 29, 2016. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3a153003325~1&typ=40&actno=003325&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3a153003325~1&typ=40&actno=003325&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=99ba8004615~1&typ=40&actno=004615&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=99ba8004615~1&typ=40&actno=004615&mime=application/pdf
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15. Pocomoke Sound Area - Public Ground 10: November 

2, 2015, through November 13, 2015. 

16. Pocomoke Sound Area - Public Ground 9: November 

16, 2015, through November 27, 2015. 

17. Deep Rock Area: December 1, 2015, through February 

29, 2016. 

18. Seaside of the Eastern Shore (for clean cull oysters 

only): November 1, 2015, through March 31, 2016. 

C. It shall be unlawful to harvest seed oysters from the 

public oyster grounds or unassigned grounds, except during 

the lawful seasons. The harvest of seed oysters from the 

lawful areas is described in the following subdivisions of this 

subsection. 

1. James River Seed Area: October 1, 2015, through May 

31, 2016. 

2. Deep Water Shoal State Replenishment Seed Area: 

October 1, 2015, through May 31, 2016. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4613; Filed December 22, 2015, 8:43 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 6VAC20-30. Rules Relating to 

Compulsory In-Service Training Standards for Law-

Enforcement Officers, Jailors or Custodial Officers, 

Courtroom Security Officers, Process Service Officers 

and Officers of the Department of Corrections, Division of 

Operations (amending 6VAC20-30-20, 6VAC20-30-30, 

6VAC20-30-80; repealing 6VAC20-30-110, 6VAC20-30-

120, 6VAC20-30-130).  

Statutory Authority: § 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: March 11, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Barbara Peterson-Wilson, Law Enforcement 

Program Coordinator, Department of Criminal Justice 

Services, 1100 Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 225-4503, FAX (804) 786-0410, or email 

barbara.peterson-wilson@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The Department of Criminal Justice Services, under 

direction of the Criminal Justice Services Board, has the 

authority to review, amend, or revise regulations relating to 

in-service training standards as found in § 9.1-102 of the 

Code of Virginia. The Criminal Justice Services Board 

approved recommendations for 6VAC20-30-80 A on June 12, 

2014, and approved recommendations relating to 6VAC20-

30-30 and 6VAC20-30-80 B specific to corrections officers 

employed by the Department of Corrections on December 11, 

2014. 

Purpose: The amended regulation will add an additional three 

courses of fire for criminal justice academies to choose from 

when offering annual firearms in-service qualification. This 

action will also remove the firearms courses and replace them 

with the web address of the document where the firearms 

courses can be located. There is a forum for public comment 

and oversight through the Criminal Justice Service Board's 

committees. Any changes to the training requirements are 

first reviewed and vetted by a Curriculum Review Committee 

(CRC). The CRC then makes a recommendation to the 

Committee on Training (COT), which is the policymaking 

body responsible to the board for approving revisions to the 

training standards. Prior to approving changes to training 

requirements the COT must hold a public hearing, and 60 

days prior to the public hearing, the proposed changes shall 

be distributed to all affected parties for the opportunity to 

comment.  

The amended regulation will reflect the compulsory in-

service training standards for corrections officers approved by 

the Criminal Justice Services Board. This action will also 

remove outdated compulsory in-service standards for 

corrections officers.  

The proposed amendments are essential to protect the safety 

and welfare of citizens, and officers themselves, by ensuring 

criminal justice officers are receiving the most up-to-date 

training and to ensure corrections officers receive the training 

necessary to protect the health, safety, and welfare of inmates 

housed in Virginia Correctional Institutions, as well as that of 

the corrections officers. 

Substance: Amendments to 6VAC20-30-80 A and B remove 

the courses of fire and instead direct constituents to the 

document where the firearms courses can be located on the 

department's website. 

Amendments to 6VAC20-30-30 A and D remove outdated 

hours previously required for corrections officers by adding 

them to subsection A to reflect the same hours required by 

law enforcement. 

Issues: There are no disadvantages to the public with 

implementing the amended provisions to the regulation. The 

primary advantages to the public of implementing the 

amended regulation for compulsory minimum in-service 

training standards will be that of having public safety officers 

trained in order to provide protection for the public, as well as 

the officers themselves. 

There are no disadvantages to the agency or the 

Commonwealth with implementing the amended provision to 

the regulation. The primary advantages to the agency or the 

Commonwealth is assuring the most up-to-date training is 

being regulated in order to hold the public safety officers 

within the Commonwealth to the highest standards of training 

for public and officer safety. 
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Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Criminal Justice Services Board (Board) proposes to increase 

the number of annual training hours that correctional officers 

and sergeants employed in the state prison system must 

complete from 24 hours to 40 hours. The Board also proposes 

to remove the lists of firearms qualification courses from this 

regulation and, instead, direct interested parties to the 

Department of Criminal Justice Services website to find 

them. 

Result of Analysis. There is insufficient information to 

ascertain whether benefits will outweigh costs for these 

proposed regulatory changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Currently, correctional officers 

(prison guards) and sergeants in the correctional system must 

complete 24 hours of in-service training per year. This 

training currently includes two hours of cultural diversity 

training, four hours of legal training and 18 hours of career 

development/elective training. Board staff reports that they 

have been working with the Department of Corrections 

(DOC) to modify these training requirements because DOC 

believes they are inadequate. The Board now proposes to 

require correctional officers and sergeants to complete 40 

hours of in-service training each year which will bring them 

in line with the training requirements for law enforcement 

officers and officers in the correctional system with ranks 

higher than sergeant (lieutenants through wardens). All of the 

additional 16 hours of annual training that the Board proposes 

to require would fall under the category of career 

development/elective training. Board staff reports that the 

choice of classes lies with DOC rather than the individual 

correctional officers/sergeants; presumably, this will allow 

DOC to tailor classes to address training deficits in their staff.  

DOC will incur costs on account of this change because they 

will have to pay the correctional officers/sergeants for the two 

additional days each year that they are attending training in 

addition to paying the salary for other correctional 

officers/sergeants to cover the shifts that would be missed on 

account of training. As this change will affect over 6,000 

correctional officers and sergeants, the costs to DOC will be 

considerable. Board staff reports, however, that DOC will not 

have to hire additional staff to provide current levels of 

coverage once the proposed requirement becomes effective. 

Without more information on the problems that DOC hopes 

to forestall with more training and the efficacy of that 

training, the Department of Planning and Budget is unable to 

ascertain whether the benefits for this training will outweigh 

all costs incurred. 

Current regulation includes two lists of firearms training 

courses that regulated entities may use to complete their 

firearms qualification; one list is for law enforcement officers, 

jailors or custodial officers, courtroom security officers and 

process service officers and the other list is for officers of 

DOC's Division of Operations. The Board proposes to 

remove both of these lists from the regulation and substitute 

notices that a list of the qualification courses can be found on 

Department of Criminal Justice Services (DCJS) website. 

Board staff reports that these changes are being proposed to 

allow the Board to change qualification courses when 

necessary without going through the regulatory process. 

Entities that are regulated under these rules, as well as 

members of the public who might be interested in learning 

what firearms training may be used by officers to qualify to 

carry a firearm as a part of their job, will incur search costs 

and possible confusion because they will not have all 

information provided in the regulation but will have to go and 

search DCJS website instead. The Board might partially 

alleviate any confusion caused by providing a link in this 

regulation to the actual documents in question rather than to 

the DCJS website home page. In any case, there is 

insufficient information to know whether the benefits that 

may accrue to the Board and the public from being able to 

quickly change these courses will outweigh the costs incurred 

by affected regulated entities and the public because they will 

have to search for information that is currently provided in 

the regulation.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. Board staff reports that 38 

prisons, and the approximately 6,000 correctional officers and 

sergeants that they employ, will be affected by the proposed 

increase in compulsory annual training. All entities that must 

complete firearms training under this regulation, as well as 

interested members of the public, will likely be affected by 

the firearms qualification courses being removed from the 

regulatory text and listed instead in a document on the 

Department of Criminal Justice Services website. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by this proposed regulation. 

Projected Impact on Employment. Board staff reports that 

DOC will not have to hire additional staff to implement 

training requirements that will likely add over 100,000 

training hours for correctional officers and sergeants. 

Assuming this, these proposed regulatory changes are 

unlikely to have any impact on employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to have any impact 

on the use or value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No small 

businesses will likely be affected by this proposed regulation. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. No small businesses will likely be affected 

by this proposed regulation. 

Real Estate Development Costs. Real estate development 

costs are unlikely to be affected by this proposed regulation.  

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Rules 

Relating to Compulsory In-Service Training Standards for 
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Law-Enforcement Officers, Jailors or Custodial Officers, 

Courtroom Security Officers, Process Service Officers and 

Officers of the Department of Corrections, Division of 

Operations as currently drafted requires Department of 

Corrections (DOC) employees to participate in a given 

number of hours of in-service training based on rank. 

Correctional officers and sergeants are required to complete 

24 hours of in-service training while officers with a rank of 

lieutenant through the warden are required to complete 40 

hours of in-service training. All correctional officers, 

regardless of rank, are responsible for the care and custody of 

inmates and the safety and security of the facility. The 

proposed revisions to the regulation standardizes the required 

training hours to ensure all correctional officers receive a 

sufficient number of hours of in-service training to maintain 

and enhance their skills. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) increase the number of 

annual training hours that correctional officers and 

sergeants employed in the state prison system must 

complete from 24 hours to 40 hours and (ii) remove the 

lists of firearms qualification courses from the regulation 

and, instead, direct interested parties to a document of 

approved courses on the Department of Criminal Justice 

Services website. 

6VAC20-30-20. Applicability.  

A. Every person employed as a law-enforcement officer, as 

defined by § 9.1-101 of the Code of Virginia, shall meet 

compulsory in-service training standards as set forth in 

6VAC20-30-30 A.  

B. Every person employed as a jailor or custodial officer 

under the provisions of Title 53.1 of the Code of Virginia 

shall meet compulsory in-service training standards as set 

forth in 6VAC20-30-30 B.  

C. Every person employed as a courtroom security or 

process service officer under the provisions of Title 53.1 of 

the Code of Virginia shall meet compulsory in-service 

training standards as set forth in 6VAC20-30-30 C.  

D. Every person employed as an officer of the Department 

of Corrections, Division of Operations as defined herein shall 

meet compulsory in-service training standards as set forth in 

6VAC20-30-30 D A.  

6VAC20-30-30. Compulsory in-service training standards.  

Pursuant to the provisions of subdivisions (1), (3), (5), (6) 

and (7) 1, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, and 9 of § 9.1-102 of the Code of 

Virginia, the board establishes the following as the 

compulsory in-service training standards for law-enforcement 

officers, jailors or custodial officers, courtroom security 

officers, process service officers and officers of the 

Department of Corrections, Division of Operations.  

A. Law-enforcement officers and corrections officers... 

TOTAL 40 Hours  

1. Cultural diversity training... 2 Hours  

2. Legal training... 4 Hours  

Subjects to be provided are at the discretion of the 

academy director of a certified training academy and shall 

be designated as legal training.  

3. Career development/elective training... 34 Hours  

(May include subjects provided in subsections B and C of 

this section.)  

a. Subjects to be provided are at the discretion of the 

academy director of a certified training academy. No 

more than eight hours of firearms training shall be 

approved as elective subjects. Firearms training shall be 

applied as follows:  

(1) b. No more than four hours may be applied to 

firearms qualification as provided in 6VAC20-30-80; 

and.  

(2) Remaining hours eligible for situational or decision-

making training.  

B. Jailors or custodial officers... TOTAL 24 Hours  

1. Cultural diversity training... 2 Hours  

2. Legal training... 4 Hours  

Subjects to be provided are at the discretion of the 

academy director of a certified training academy and shall 

be designated as legal training.  

3. Career development/elective training... 18 Hours  

(May include subjects provided in subsections A and C of 

this section.)  

a. Subjects to be provided are at the discretion of the 

academy director of a certified training academy. No 

more than eight hours of firearms training shall be 

approved as elective subjects. Firearms training shall be 

applied as follows:  

(1) b. No more than four hours may be applied to 

firearms qualification as provided in 6VAC20-30-80; 

and.  

(2) Remaining hours eligible for situational or decision-

making training.  

C. Courtroom security officers and process service officers... 

TOTAL 16 Hours  

1. Cultural diversity training... 2 Hours  

2. Legal training... 4 Hours  

Subjects to be provided are at the discretion of the 

academy director of a certified training academy and shall 

be designated as legal training.  

3. Career development/elective training... 10 Hours  

(May include subjects provided in subsections A and B of 

this section.)  

a. Subjects to be provided are at the discretion of the 

academy director of a certified training academy. No 

more than eight hours of firearms training shall be 
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approved as elective subjects. Firearms training shall be 

applied as follows:  

(1) b. No more than four hours may be applied to 

firearms qualification as provided in 6VAC20-30-80; 

and.  

(2) Remaining hours eligible for situational and/or 

decision making training.  

D. Officers of the Department of Corrections, Division of 

Operations.  

Total Hours for Correctional Officers and Sergeants... 24 

Hours  

Total Hours for Lieutenants through Wardens... 40 Hours  

1. Cultural diversity training... 2 Hours  

2. Legal training... 4 Hours  

The subjects to be provided are at the discretion of the 

Director of the Department of Corrections or his designee 

and shall be designated as legal training.  

3. Career development/elective training.  

Correctional officers and sergeants... 18 Hours  

Lieutenants through wardens... 34 Hours  

a. Subjects to be provided are at the discretion of the 

Director of the Department of Corrections, or his 

designee. No more than eight hours of firearms training 

shall be approved as elective subjects. Firearms training 

shall be applied as follows:  

(1) No more than four hours applied to firearms 

qualification as provided in 6VAC20-30-80; and  

(2) Remaining hours eligible for situational or decision 

making training.  

6VAC20-30-80. Firearms training.  

A. Every criminal justice officer required to carry a firearm 

in the performance of duty shall qualify annually using the 

applicable firearms course approved by the Committee on 

Training of the board. The list of approved courses is 

identified under the performance outcomes for weapons and 

firearms training in the Virginia Criminal Justice Services 

Training Manual and Compulsory Minimum Training 

Standards available on the Department of Criminal Justice 

Services' website at http://www.dcjs.virginia.gov/cple/. 

Annual range qualification shall include a review of 

issues/policy relating to weapons safety, nomenclature, 

maintenance and use of force. With prior approval of the 

director, a reasonable modification of the firearms course may 

be approved to accommodate qualification on indoor ranges. 

No minimum number of hours is required.  

A. 1. Law-enforcement officers, jailors or custodial 

officers, courtroom security officers, and process service 

officers shall qualify annually with a minimum passing 

score of 70% on one of the following applicable firearms 

courses required by subsection A of this section.  

1. Virginia Modified Double Action Course for Semi-

Automatic Pistols and Revolvers. 

2. Virginia Modified Combat Course I.  

3. Virginia Modified Combat Course II.  

4. Virginia Qualification Course I. 

5. Virginia Qualification Course II.  

6. Virginia Tactical Qualification Course I.  

7. Virginia Tactical Qualification Course II.  

B. 2. Officers of the Department of Corrections, Division 

of Operations shall qualify annually with a minimum 

passing score of 70% on one of the applicable firearms 

courses required by subsection A of this section.  

Handgun.  

Department of Corrections Virginia Modified Double 

Action Combat Course.  

C. Law-enforcement B. Possession of or immediate 

availability of special weapons by law-enforcement officers, 

jailors or custodial officers, courtroom security officers, civil 

process officers and officers of the Department of 

Corrections, Division of Operations.  

Special weapons.  

a. 1. All agencies whose personnel possess, or have 

available for immediate use, shotguns or other similar 

special weapons, shall design an appropriate qualification 

weapons program and require all applicable personnel to 

complete annually.  

b. 2. The course, number of rounds to be fired and 

qualification score shall be determined by the agency or 

approved training school. Documentation of such 

qualification programs shall be available for inspection by 

the director or staff.  

6VAC20-30-110. Effective date. (Repealed.)  

These rules shall be effective on and after July 1, 1992, and 

until amended or repealed.  

6VAC20-30-120. Adopted. (Repealed.)  

This chapter was adopted July 11, 1974.  

6VAC20-30-130. Amended. (Repealed.)  

This chapter was amended:  

January 1, 1988  

May 3, 1989  

April 1, 1992  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4108; Filed December 10, 2015, 3:47 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Final Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 8VAC20-30. Regulations Governing 

Adult High School Programs (amending 8VAC20-30-20). 

8VAC20-680. Regulations Governing the General 

Achievement Diploma (repealing 8VAC20-680-10, 

8VAC20-680-20).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 22.1-224 and 22.1-253.13:4 Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 10, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Dr. Susan Clair, Director, Adult Education 

and Literacy, Department of Education, P.O. Box 2120, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-3347, or email 

susan.clair@doe.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Chapters 454 and 642 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly 

eliminate the general achievement diploma by folding it 

into the adult high school diploma, which is renamed the 

general achievement adult high school diploma. The 

amendments (i) provide that only students who are not 

subject to the compulsory attendance requirements of 

§ 22.1-254 of the Code of Virginia may be enrolled in an 

adult high school program and awarded a general 

achievement adult high school diploma and (ii) set forth 

the education, training, and other requirements to be 

completed for the general achievement adult high school 

diploma.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

8VAC20-30-20. Minimum requirements for adult high 

school programs.  

Adult high school programs are not part of the 9 through 12 

high school program and shall meet the following minimum 

requirements:  

1. Age. An adult student shall be at least 18 years of age. 

Under circumstances which local school authorities 

consider justifiable, students of school age may enroll in 

courses offered by the adult high school. Only in 

exceptional circumstances should school officials permit a 

school-aged individual enrolled in grades 9 through 12 to 

earn credits toward high school graduation in adult classes. 

All educational alternatives must have been considered 

prior to placing an enrolled student in an adult class. Such 

students would be able to earn a diploma, as provided in 

8VAC20-131-50, but would not be eligible to earn an adult 

high school diploma. Only those students [ who are ] not 

subject to the compulsory attendance requirements of 

§ 22.1-254 of the Code of Virginia shall be enrolled in an 

adult high school program. 

2. Credit.  

a. Satisfactory completion of 108 hours of classroom 

instruction in a subject shall constitute sufficient 

evidence for one unit of credit toward a high school 

diploma.  

b. When, in the judgment of the principal or the 

superintendent, an adult not regularly enrolled in the 

grades 9 through 12 high school program is able to 

demonstrate by examination or other objective evidence, 

satisfactory completion of the work, he may receive 

credit in accordance with policies adopted by the local 

school board. It is the responsibility of the school issuing 

the credit to document the types of examinations 

employed or other objective evidence used, the testing or 

assessment procedures, and the extent of progress in each 

case.  

c. Credits earned in adult high school programs shall be 

transferable as prescribed in the Regulations Establishing 

Standards for Accrediting Public Schools in Virginia 

within the sponsoring school division and shall be 

transferable to public secondary schools outside of the 

sponsoring school division.  

3. Diplomas.  

a. A diploma, as provided in 8VAC20-131-50, shall be 

awarded to an adult student who completes all 

requirements of the diploma regulated by the Board of 

Education, with the exception of health and physical 

education requirements, in effect at the time he will 

graduate.  

b. An adult high school diploma shall be awarded to an 

adult student who completes the course credit 

requirements in effect for any Board of Education 

diploma, with the exception of health and physical 

education course requirements, at the time he first 

entered the ninth grade. The requirement for specific 

assessments may be waived if the assessments are no 

longer administered to students in Virginia public 

schools.  

c. An adult high school diploma shall be awarded to an 

adult student who demonstrates through applied 

performance assessment full mastery of the National 

External Diploma Program Generalized Competencies 

Correlated with CASAS Competencies, 1996, version 

5.0, January 2013, a CASAS program, as promulgated by 

the American Council on Education and validated and 

endorsed by the United States U.S. Department of 

Education.  

d. A General Achievement Diploma, as provided in 

8VAC20-680, shall be awarded to an adult student who 

completes all requirements of the diploma. A general 

achievement adult high school diploma shall be awarded 

to a student who is not subject to the compulsory 

attendance requirements of § 22.1-254 of the Code of 

Virginia and who: 
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(1) Successfully completes [ the general educational 

development (GED) program that meets the requirements 

of the Board of Education's Regulations Governing 

General Educational Development Certificates 

(8VAC20-360) and earns a GED certificate a high school 

equivalency examination approved by the Board of 

Education ]; 

(2) Earns a Board of Education-approved career and 

technical education credential, such as the successful 

completion of an industry certification, a state licensure 

examination, a national occupational competency 

assessment, or the Virginia Workplace Readiness Skills 

Assessment; and 

(3) Successfully completes the following courses that 

incorporate or exceed the applicable Standards of 

Learning: 

  
Discipline Area 

Standard Units of Credit 

Required 

  English 4 

  Mathematics 3 

  Science 2 

  History and Social 

Sciences 
2 

  Electives 9 

  TOTAL 20 

Courses completed to satisfy the requirements in 

mathematics and science shall include content in courses 

that incorporate or exceed the content of courses 

approved by the Board of Education to satisfy any other 

board-recognized diploma.  

Courses completed to satisfy the history and social 

sciences requirements shall include one unit of credit in 

Virginia and U.S. history and one unit of credit in 

Virginia and U.S. government in courses that incorporate 

or exceed the content of courses approved by the Board 

of Education to satisfy any other board-recognized 

diploma.  

Courses completed to satisfy the electives requirement 

shall include at least two sequential electives in an area 

of concentration or specialization, which may include 

career and technical education and training. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(8VAC20-30)  

National External Diploma Program Generalized 

Competencies Correlated with CASAS Competencies, 

Comprehensive Adult Student Assessment System 

EDP/CASAS, 1996.  

National External Diploma Program Competencies, version 

5.0, January 2013, a CASAS program, as promulgated by the 

American Council on Education and validated and endorsed 

by the U.S. Department of Education 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3303; Filed December 18, 2015, 9:52 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 

exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations, provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The State Air Pollution Control 

Board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 

or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC5-60. Hazardous Air Pollutant 

Sources (amending 9VAC5-60-60, 9VAC5-60-90).  

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia; 

§ 112 of the Clean Air Act; 40 CFR Parts 61 and 63. 

Effective Date: February 10, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Karen G. Sabasteanski, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4426, FAX (804) 

698-4510, or email karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments update state regulations that incorporate 

by reference certain U.S. Environmental Protection 

Agency regulations to reflect the Code of Federal 

Regulations as published on July 1, 2015.  No new 

NESHAPs or MACTs are being incorporated. The date of 

the Code of Federal Regulations book being incorporated 

by reference is being updated to the latest version. 

Part II  

Emission Standards  

Article 1  

Environmental Protection Agency National Emission 

Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants (Rule 6-1)  

9VAC5-60-60. General.  

The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Regulations 

on National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants 

(NESHAP), as promulgated in 40 CFR Part 61 and 

designated in 9VAC5-60-70 are, unless indicated otherwise, 

incorporated by reference into the regulations of the board as 

amended by the word or phrase substitutions given in 

9VAC5-60-80. The complete text of the subparts in 9VAC5-

60-70 incorporated herein by reference is contained in 
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40 CFR Part 61. The 40 CFR section numbers appearing 

under each subpart in 9VAC5-60-70 identify the specific 

provisions of the subpart incorporated by reference. The 

specific version of the provision adopted by reference shall be 

that contained in the CFR (2014) (2015) in effect July 1, 2014 

2015. In making reference to the Code of Federal 

Regulations, 40 CFR Part 61 means Part 61 of Title 40 of the 

Code of Federal Regulations; 40 CFR 61.01 means 61.01 in 

Part 61 of Title 40 of the Code of Federal Regulations.  

Article 2  

Environmental Protection Agency National Emission 

Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source Categories 

(Rule 6-2)  

9VAC5-60-90. General.  

The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) National 

Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source 

Categories (Maximum Achievable Control Technologies, or 

MACTs) as promulgated in 40 CFR Part 63 and designated in 

9VAC5-60-100 are, unless indicated otherwise, incorporated 

by reference into the regulations of the board as amended by 

the word or phrase substitutions given in 9VAC5-60-110. The 

complete text of the subparts in 9VAC5-60-100 incorporated 

herein by reference is contained in 40 CFR Part 63. The 

40 CFR section numbers appearing under each subpart in 

9VAC5-60-100 identify the specific provisions of the subpart 

incorporated by reference. The specific version of the 

provision adopted by reference shall be that contained in the 

CFR (2014) (2015) in effect July 1, 2014 2015. In making 

reference to the Code of Federal Regulations, 40 CFR Part 63 

means Part 63 of Title 40 of the Code of Federal Regulations; 

40 CFR 63.1 means 63.1 in Part 63 of Title 40 of the Code of 

Federal Regulations.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4494; Filed December 11, 2015, 1:51 p.m.  

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-220. Surface Water 

Management Area Regulation (amending 9VAC25-220-

10, 9VAC25-220-40, 9VAC25-220-60, 9VAC25-220-70, 

9VAC25-220-80).  

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-249 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 10, 2016. 

Effective Date: February 25, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Melissa Porterfield, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4238, FAX (804) 

698-4019, or email melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The State Water Control Board is authorized by 

§ 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia to adopt regulations to 

enforce the general water quality management programs of 

the Commonwealth. Chapter 24 (§ 62.1-242 et seq.) of Title 

62.1 of the Code of Virginia provides details concerning 

requirements for surface water management areas. 

Purpose: Citations within the regulation are being updated to 

reflect current state statute. Updating the citations reduces 

confusion concerning the requirements that are to be met. 

Changes are also being made to the regulation to make it 

consistent with state statute. Reflecting current state statute is 

necessary for the regulation to appropriately provide a 

mechanism to protect beneficial uses of the Commonwealth's 

water resources during periods of drought thereby protecting 

the health, safety, or welfare of citizens. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: This rulemaking is 

expected to be noncontroversial since the only changes being 

proposed are ones that update outdated citations with current 

statutory citations or make the regulation consistent with state 

statute. 

Substance: Citations referencing sections of state statute are 

being updated with current citations. The regulation is also 

being revised to be consistent with state statute. 

Issues: The primary advantages to the public, agency, and 

Commonwealth will be that the regulation will reference 

current versions of state statute and will be consistent with 

state statute. This will avoid confusion concerning the 

requirements the regulated community should comply with. 

There are no disadvantages to the public, agency, or 

Commonwealth associated with these regulatory revisions. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

State Water Control Board (Board) proposes to update 

statutory references contained within the regulation and to 

amend language for consistency with the Code of Virginia. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The proposed updating of 

statutory references has no impact on the law, but will 

provide a small benefit in that it will aid the reader in finding 

the current applicable law. The proposed amending of 

language for consistency with the Code of Virginia has no 

impact on applicable law since when there is any conflict 

between regulation and statute, the statute applies. This 

proposed change will provide a small benefit in that it will 

reduce potential confusion concerning the applicable law for 

the reader.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 

provide the small benefit of improved clarity of the law for 

interested parties. Any person or entity could potentially be 

interested. Environmental groups and firms and other entities 

that may be required to get surface water withdrawal permits 

or surface water withdrawal certificates would likely be 

among the interested parties. 
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Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

do not disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments do not affect the use and value of 

private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

do not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments do not 

significantly affect small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendments do not adversely affect small 

businesses. 

Adverse Impacts:  

Businesses: The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect businesses. 

Localities: The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities: The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect other entities. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

department has reviewed the economic impact analysis 

prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget and has 

no comment. 

Summary: 

The amendments update statutory references contained 

within the regulation and update language for consistency 

with the Code of Virginia. 

Part I  

General  

9VAC25-220-10. Definitions.  

Unless a different meaning is required by the context, the 

following terms, as used in this chapter, shall have the 

following meanings:  

"Beneficial use" means both instream and offstream uses. 

Instream beneficial uses include but are not limited to 

protection of fish and wildlife habitat, maintenance of waste 

assimilation, recreation, navigation, and cultural and aesthetic 

values. Offstream beneficial uses include but are not limited 

to domestic (including public water supply), agricultural, 

electric power generation, commercial, and industrial uses. 

Domestic and other existing beneficial uses shall be 

considered the highest priority beneficial uses.  

"Board" means the State Water Control Board.  

"Existing beneficial consumptive user" means a person who 

is currently withdrawing water from a stream for a beneficial 

use and not returning that water to the stream near the point 

from which it was taken.  

"Investor-owned water company" means a water supplier 

owned by private investors which operates independently of 

the local government and is regulated by the Department of 

Health.  

"Nonconsumptive use" means the use of water withdrawn 

from a stream in such a manner that it is returned to the 

stream without substantial diminution in quantity at or near 

the point from which it was taken and would not result in or 

exacerbate low flow conditions.  

"Public hearing" means a fact-finding proceeding held to 

afford interested persons an opportunity to submit factual 

data, views, and arguments to the board.  

"Serious harm" means man induced reduction to the flow of 

a surface water resource that results in impairment of one or 

more beneficial uses.  

"Surface water" means any water in the Commonwealth, 

except groundwater as defined in § 62.1-255 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"Surface water management area" means a geographically 

defined surface water area in which the board deemed the 

levels or supply of surface water to be potentially adverse to 

public welfare, health, and safety.  

"Surface Water Withdrawal Certificate" water withdrawal 

certificate" means a document issued by the board as found in 

subsection D of § 62.1-243 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Surface water withdrawal permit" means a document issued 

by the board evidencing the right to withdraw surface water.  

"Surface water management area" means a geographically 

defined surface water area in which the board deemed the 

levels or supply of surface water to be potentially adverse to 

public welfare, health and safety.  

"Surface water" means any water in the Commonwealth, 

except groundwater as defined in § 62.1-44.85 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

"Water conservation program" means a program 

incorporating measures or practices which will result in the 

alteration of water uses resulting in reduction of water losses 

as contemplated by subsection B of § 62.1-243 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

"Water management program" means a program 

incorporating measures or practices which will result in the 

alteration of water uses resulting in reduction of water losses 

as contemplated by subsection C of § 62.1-243 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

9VAC25-220-40. Initiate surface water management area 

proceeding.  

A. The board upon its own motion or, in its discretion, upon 

receipt of a petition by any county, city or town within the 
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surface water management area in question, or any state 

agency, may initiate a surface water management area 

proceeding whenever in its judgment there is evidence to 

indicate that:  

1. A stream has substantial instream values as indicated by 

evidence of fishery, recreation, habitat, cultural or aesthetic 

properties;  

2. Historical records or current conditions indicate that a 

low flow condition could occur which would threaten 

important instream uses; and  

3. Current or potential offstream uses contribute to or are 

likely to exacerbate natural low flow conditions to the 

detriment of instream values.  

B. If the board finds that the conditions required in 

subsection A of 9VAC25-220-40 this section exist and further 

finds that the public welfare, health and safety require that 

regulatory efforts be initiated, the board shall, by regulation, 

declare the area in question to be a surface water management 

area.  

C. In its proceeding to declare an area to be a surface water 

management area, the board shall, by regulation, determine 

when the level of flow is such that permit conditions in a 

surface water management area are in force. This flow level 

will be determined for each regulation establishing a surface 

water management area and included in it.  

D. The board shall include in its decision a definition of the 

boundaries of the surface water management area.  

E. The regulations may provide that the board, or the board 

executive director may by order, declare that the level of flow 

is such that permit conditions are applicable for all or part of 

a surface water management area.  

F. The board shall follow its Public Participation Guidelines 

(9VAC25-10-10 et seq.) (9VAC25-11) for all hearings 

contemplated under this section. If after a public hearing held 

pursuant to § 9-6.14:7.1 2.2-4007.01 of the Virginia 

Administrative Process Act, or at the request of an affected 

person or on the board motion, a hearing shall be held under 

§ 9-6.14:8 2.2-4009 of the Virginia Administrative Process 

Act.  

9VAC25-220-60. Agreements.  

A. The board shall encourage, promote and recognize 

voluntary agreements among persons withdrawing surface 

water in the same surface water management area.  

B. When the board finds that any such agreement, executed 

in writing and filed with the board, is consistent with the 

intent, purposes and requirements of this chapter, the board 

shall approve the agreement following a public hearing.  

C. The board shall provide at least 60 days' notice of the 

public hearing to the public in general and individually to 

those persons withdrawing surface water in the surface water 

management area who are not parties to the agreement, and 

shall make a good faith effort to so notify recreational user 

groups, conservation organizations and fisheries management 

agencies. The board shall be a party to the agreement.  

D. The agreement, until terminated, shall control in lieu of a 

formal order, rule, regulation, or permit issued by the board 

under the provisions of this chapter, and shall be deemed to 

be a case decision under the Administrative Process Act (§ 9-

6.14:1 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Permits 

issued in accordance with this chapter shall incorporate the 

terms of this agreement.  

E. Any agreement shall specify the amount of water affected 

by it.  

F. Any agreement approved by the board may include 

conditions which that can result in its amendment or 

termination by the board, following a public hearing if the 

board finds that it or its effect is inconsistent with the intent, 

purposes and requirements of this chapter. Such conditions 

include the following:  

1. A determination by the board that the agreement 

originally approved by the board will not further the 

purposes of this chapter;  

2. A determination by the board that circumstances have 

changed such that the agreement originally approved by 

the board will no longer further the purposes of this 

chapter; or  

3. One or more parties to the agreement is not fulfilling its 

commitments under the agreement.  

The board shall provide at least 60 days' notice of the public 

hearing to the public and individually to those persons 

withdrawing surface water in the surface water management 

area who are not parties to the agreement, and shall make a 

good faith effort to so notify recreational user groups, 

conservation organizations and fisheries management 

agencies.  

Part II  

Permit Requirements, Application and Issuance  

9VAC25-220-70. Application for a permit.  

A. Duty to apply. Any person who withdraws surface water 

or proposes to withdraw surface water in a surface water 

management area must have a surface water withdrawal 

permit, except persons excluded under subsection B of this 

section or exempted under subsection C of this section, or 

withdrawals made pursuant to a voluntary agreement 

approved by the board pursuant to 9VAC25-220-60. A 

complete application shall be submitted to the board in 

accordance with this section.  

B. Exclusions. The following do not require a surface water 

withdrawal permit but may require other permits under state 

and federal law:  

1. Any nonconsumptive use;  

2. Any water withdrawal of less than 300,000 gallons in 

any single month;  
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3. Any water withdrawal from a farm pond collecting 

diffuse surface water and not situated on a perennial stream 

as defined in the United States Geological Survey 7.5-

minute series topographic maps; 

4. Any withdrawal in any area which has not been declared 

a surface water management area; and  

4. 5. Any withdrawal from a wastewater treatment system 

permitted by the State Water Control Board or the 

Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy.  

C. Exemptions. The following do not require a surface water 

withdrawal permit but may require other permits under state 

and federal law. However, the following do require a surface 

water withdrawal certificate containing details of a board 

approved water conservation or management plan as found in 

subdivision 2 of 9VAC25-220-100 and Part V (9VAC25-220-

250 et seq.) of this chapter. It is not the intent or purpose of 

this certification program to affect the withdrawal of water 

approved by the board.  

1. No political subdivision or investor-owned water 

company permitted by the Department of Health shall be 

required to obtain a surface water withdrawal permit for:  

a. Any withdrawal in existence on July 1, 1989; however, 

a permit shall be required in a declared surface water 

management area before the daily rate of any such 

existing withdrawal is increased beyond the maximum 

daily withdrawal made before July 1, 1989.  

b. Any withdrawal not in existence on July 1, 1989, if the 

person proposing to make the withdrawal has received, 

by that date, a § 401 certification from the State Water 

Control Board pursuant to the requirements of the Clean 

Water Act to install any necessary withdrawal structures 

and make such withdrawal; however, a permit shall be 

required in any surface water management area before 

any such withdrawal is increased beyond the amount 

authorized by the said certification.  

c. Any withdrawal in existence on July 1, 1989, from an 

instream impoundment of water used for public water 

supply purposes; however, during periods when permit 

conditions in a water management area are in force 

pursuant to subsection G of 9VAC25-220-80 and 

9VAC25-220-190, and when the rate of flow of natural 

surface water into the impoundment is equal to or less 

than the average flow of natural surface water at that 

location, the board may require release of water from the 

impoundment at a rate not exceeding the existing rate of 

flow of natural surface water into the impoundment. 

Withdrawals by a political subdivision or investor-owned 

water company permitted by the Department of Health 

shall be affected by this subdivision only at the option of 

that political subdivision or investor-owned water 

company.  

2. No existing beneficial consumptive user shall be 

required to obtain a surface water withdrawal permit for:  

a. Any withdrawal in existence on July 1, 1989; however, 

a permit shall be required in a declared surface water 

management area before the daily rate of any such 

existing withdrawal is increased beyond the maximum 

daily withdrawal made before July 1, 1989; and  

b. Any withdrawal not in existence on July 1, 1989, if the 

person proposing to make the withdrawal has received, 

by that date, a § 401 certification from the State Water 

Control Board pursuant to the requirements of the Clean 

Water Act to install any necessary withdrawal structures 

and make such withdrawals; however, a permit shall be 

required in any surface water management area before 

any such withdrawal is increased beyond the amount 

authorized by the said certification.  

D. Duty to reapply.  

1. Any permittee with an effective permit shall submit a 

new permit application at least 180 days before the 

expiration date of an effective permit unless permission for 

a later date has been granted by the board.  

2. Owners or persons who have effective permits shall 

submit a new application 180 days prior to any proposed 

modification to their activity which will:  

a. Result in a significantly new or substantially increased 

water withdrawal; or  

b. Violate or lead to the violation of the terms and 

conditions of the permit.  

E. Complete application required.  

1. Any person proposing to withdraw water shall submit a 

complete application and secure a permit prior to the date 

planned for commencement of the activity resulting in the 

withdrawal. There shall be no water withdrawal prior to the 

issuance of a permit.  

2. Any person reapplying to withdraw water shall submit a 

complete application.  

3. A complete surface water withdrawal permit application 

to the State Water Control Board shall, as a minimum, 

consist of the following:  

a. The location of the water withdrawal, including the 

name of the waterbody from which the withdrawal is 

being made;  

b. The average daily withdrawal, the maximum proposed 

withdrawal, and any variations of the withdrawal by 

season including amounts and times of the day or year 

during which withdrawals may occur;  

c. The use for the withdrawal, including the importance 

of the need for this use;  

d. Any alternative water supplies or water storage; and  

e. If it is determined that special studies are needed to 

develop a proper instream flow requirement, then 

additional information may be necessary.  
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4. Where an application is considered incomplete, the 

board may require the submission of additional 

information after an application has been filed, and may 

suspend processing of any application until such time as 

the applicant has supplied missing or deficient information 

and the board considers the application complete. Further, 

where the applicant becomes aware that he omitted one or 

more relevant facts from a permit application, or submitted 

incorrect information in a permit application or in any 

report to the board, he shall immediately submit such facts 

or the correct information.  

5. Any person proposing to withdraw water shall submit an 

application for a permit 180 days prior to the date planned 

for commencement of the activity resulting in the 

withdrawal. There shall be no water withdrawal prior to the 

issuance of a permit.  

6. Any person with an existing unpermitted water 

withdrawal operation shall submit an application 

immediately upon discovery by the owner or within 30 

days upon being requested to by the board whichever 

comes first.  

F. Informational requirements. All applicants for a surface 

water withdrawal permit shall provide all such information 

consistent with this chapter as the board deems necessary. All 

applicants for a permit must submit a complete permit 

application in accordance with subsection A of this section.  

9VAC25-220-80. Conditions applicable to all permits.  

A. Duty to comply. The permittee shall comply with all 

conditions of the permit. Nothing in this chapter shall be 

construed to relieve the surface water withdrawal permit 

holder of the duty to comply with all applicable federal and 

state statutes, regulations, standards and prohibitions. Any 

permit noncompliance is a violation of the law, and is 

grounds for enforcement action, permit suspension, 

cancellation, revocation, modification or denial of a permit 

renewal application.  

B. Duty to mitigate. The permittee shall take all reasonable 

steps to (i) avoid all adverse environmental impact which 

could result from the activity, (ii) where avoidance is 

impractical, minimize the adverse environmental impact, and 

(iii) where impacts cannot be avoided, provide mitigation of 

the adverse impact on an in-kind basis.  

C. Permit action.  

1. A permit may be modified, revoked, suspended, 

cancelled, reissued, or terminated as set forth in this 

chapter.  

2. If a permittee files a request for permit modification, 

suspension or cancellation, or files a notification of 

planned changes, or anticipated noncompliance, the permit 

terms and conditions shall remain effective until the 

request is acted upon by the board. This provision shall not 

be used to extend the expiration date of the effective 

permit.  

3. Permits may be modified, revoked and reissued or 

terminated upon the request of the permittee, or upon board 

initiative to reflect the requirements of any changes in the 

statutes or regulations.  

D. Inspection and entry. Upon presentation of credentials 

and upon consent of the owner or custodian, any duly 

authorized agent of the board may, at reasonable times and 

under reasonable circumstances:  

1. Enter upon any permittee's property, public or private, 

and have access to, inspect and copy any records that must 

be kept as part of the permit conditions;  

2. Inspect any facilities, operations or practices including 

monitoring and control equipment regulated or required 

under the permit.  

E. Duty to provide information. The permittee shall furnish 

to the board, within a reasonable time, any information which 

the board may request to determine whether cause exists for 

modifying, reissuing, suspending and cancelling the permit, 

or to determine compliance with the permit. The permittee 

shall also furnish to the board, upon request, copies of records 

required to be kept by the permittee. This information shall be 

furnished to the board pursuant to § 62.1-244 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

F. Monitoring and records requirements.  

1. Monitoring shall be conducted according to approved 

methods as specified in the permit or as approved by the 

board.  

2. Measurements taken for the purpose of monitoring shall 

be representative of the monitored activity.  

3. The permittee shall retain records of all monitoring 

information, including all calibration and maintenance 

records and all original strip chart or electronic recordings 

for continuous monitoring instrumentation, copies of all 

reports required by the permit, and records of all data used 

to complete the application for the permit, for a period of at 

least three years from the date of the expiration of a 

granted permit. This period may be extended by request of 

the board at any time.  

4. Records of monitoring information shall include:  

a. The date, exact place and time of measurements;  

b. The name of the individuals who performed the 

measurements;  

c. The date the measurements were compiled;  

d. The name of the individuals who compiled the 

measurements;  

e. The techniques or methods supporting the information 

such as observations, readings, calculations and bench 

data used; and  

f. The results of such techniques or methods.  
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G. Permit conditions become applicable.  

1. Permit conditions become applicable in a surface water 

management area upon notice by the board to each 

permittee by mail, by electronic or postal delivery, or cause 

notice of that to be published in a newspaper of general 

circulation throughout the area.  

2. The board shall notify each permittee by mail or cause 

notice of that to be published in a newspaper of general 

circulation throughout the surface water management area 

when the declaration of water shortage is rescinded.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4218; Filed December 17, 2015, 11:26 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-510. Guidelines for General 

Assembly Nursing Scholarships (amending 12VAC5-510-

20, 12VAC5-510-30, 12VAC5-510-40, 12VAC5-510-50, 

12VAC5-510-60; adding 12VAC5-510-5, 12VAC5-510-15, 

12VAC5-510-80, 12VAC5-510-85, 12VAC5-510-90, 

12VAC5-510-100, 12VAC5-510-110; repealing 12VAC5-

510-10, 12VAC5-510-70).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-122.6:01 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 12, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Karen Reed, Office of Minority Health and 

Health Equity, Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-7427, FAX (804) 

864-7440, or email karen.reed@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) set the conditions for granting a 

scholarship, including that for each $2,000 of scholarship 

money received, the nursing program scholarship recipient 

shall (a) agree to engage in the equivalent of one year of 

full-time nursing practice in a region with a critical 

shortage of nurses and (b) notify the department, within 

180 days of being awarded a nursing degree, of the type of 

nursing practice to be performed and the employer's 

contact information and (ii) set the terms of repayment if 

conditions are not met. In addition, the amendments add 

elements of the contract signed by the scholarship recipient 

and change the definition of full-time employment from 40 

hours per week to 32 or more hours per week to be 

consistent with industry standards.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

CHAPTER 510  

[ GUIDELINES REGULATIONS ] FOR GENERAL 

ASSEMBLY NURSING SCHOLARSHIPS 

This chapter has been prepared to familiarize scholarship 

applicants, Deans/Directors of nursing programs, and 

Financial Aid Officers with the General Assembly Nursing 

Scholarship Program. The legislative authority for the 

scholarships in addition to the actual steps involved in the 

application process are reviewed.  

Do not hesitate to contact the Office of Public Health 

Nursing, Virginia State Health Department, 1500 East Main 

Street, Suite 227, Richmond, VA 23219, with any questions 

relating to the scholarship program. The phone number at the 

Bureau office is (804) 371- 4090.  

ALL SCHOLARSHIPS ARE AWARDED WITHOUT 

REGARD TO RACE, COLOR, RELIGION, SEX OR 

NATIONAL ORIGIN. 

[ 12VAC5-510-5. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Approved nurse education program" means an approved 

educational program pursuant to Chapter 30 (§ 54.1-3000 et 

seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Board" or "Board of Health" means the State Board of 

Health. 

"Commissioner" means the State Health Commissioner. 

"Continuous" means no breaks in service greater than a 

period of six weeks. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Health.  

"Full-time" means at least 32 hours per week for 45 weeks 

per year.  

"Interest" means the legal rate of interest pursuant to § 6.2-

302 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Licensed practical nurse" or "LPN" means a person who is 

licensed or holds a multistate licensure privilege under the 

provisions of Chapter 30 (§ 54.1-3000 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of 

the Code of Virginia to practice practical nursing, as defined 

in § 54.1-3000 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Penalty" means twice the amount of all monetary payments 

to the scholarship participant, less any service obligation 

completed.  

"Recipient" or "participant" means an eligible LPN or RN of 

an approved nurse education program who enters into a 

contract with the commissioner and participates in the 

scholarship program.  

"Registered nurse" or "RN" means a person who is licensed 

or holds a multistate licensure privilege under the provisions 

Chapter 30 (§ 54.1-3000 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia to practice professional nursing, as defined in § 54.1-

3000 of the Code of Virginia. ]  
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12VAC5-510-10. [ Legislative authority. (Repealed.) 

Section 32.1-122.6:01 of the Code of Virginia provides the 

Board of Health the authority to award certain nursing 

scholarships and loan repayment funds. Fee requirements are 

specified in § 54.1-3011.1 of the Code of Virginia. Section 

54.1-3011.2 of the Code of Virginia establishes the nursing 

scholarship and loan repayment fund. 

Sections 23-35.9 through 23-35.13 of the Code of Virginia 

authorize annual nursing scholarships for students enrolled in 

undergraduate and graduate nursing programs. Undergraduate 

nursing programs are defined as those leading to an associate 

degree, diploma, or baccalaureate degree in nursing. Graduate 

nursing programs are those offering masters and doctoral 

degrees. ]  

Under the law, all [ All scholarship awards are made by an 

Advisory Committee appointed by the State Board of Health. 

The Advisory Committee consists of eight members: four 

deans or directors of schools of nursing or their designees, 

two former scholarship recipients, and two members with 

experience in the administration of student financial aid 

programs. Committee appointments are for two-year terms 

and members may not serve for more than two successive 

terms in addition to the portion of any unexpired term for 

which such a member was appointed. The State Board of 

Health shall schedule appointments to the Advisory 

Committee in such a manner that at least two persons who 

have not served during the previous two years are appointed 

to the Committee.  

The ] Office of Public Health Nursing of the State Health 

[ Department of Health serves as the staff element to the 

Advisory Committee and plays no role in the determination 

of scholarship recipients.  

The ] basis for determining scholarship recipients is 

established by the [ Advisory Committee shall make the 

awards with due regard given to scholastic attainment, 

financial need, character, and adaptability to the nursing 

profession. With due consideration of the number of 

applications and the qualifications of all such applicants, the 

Advisory Committee will, so far as practical, award an equal 

number of scholarships among the various congressional 

districts within the Commonwealth. ]   

12VAC5-510-15. [ Definitions. Advisory Committee. ] 

[ The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Board" or "Board of Health" means the State Board of 

Health. 

"Commissioner" means the State Health Commissioner. 

"Continuous" means that there are no breaks in service 

greater than a period of six weeks. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Health.  

"Full-time" means the equivalent of 32 or more hours per 

week for at least 45 weeks per year.  

"Interest" means the legal rate of interest pursuant to the 

Code of Virginia. 

"Licensed Practical Nurse" or "LPN" means a nurse who has 

successfully completed a state-approved practical nursing 

program, passed a licensing examination known as the 

NCLEX-PN, and is licensed by the Commonwealth of 

Virginia to provide routine care under the supervision of a 

licensed medical practitioner, a professional registered nurse, 

or other licensed health professional authorized by regulations 

of the Board of Nursing.  

"Penalty" means the amount of money equal to twice the 

amount of all monetary payments to the scholarship recipient, 

less any service obligation completed.  

"Practice" means the provision of direct patient care as an 

LPN or RN in a region of the Commonwealth of Virginia 

with a critical shortage of nurses.  

"Recipient" means a student in an LPN or RN program who 

enters into a contract with the Board of Health and 

participates in the scholarship program.  

"Registered Nurse" or "RN" means a nurse who has 

graduated from an approved nursing program, passed the 

national licensing examination known as the NCLEX-RN, 

and has been licensed to practice as a registered nurse by the 

Board of Nursing in the Commonwealth of Virginia.  

All scholarship awards shall be made by an Advisory 

Committee appointed pursuant to § 23-35.9 of the Code of 

Virginia. ]  

12VAC5-510-20. Eligibility.  

In order to be considered for a General Assembly Nursing 

Scholarship, [ applicants must meet the following criteria an 

applicant shall ]:  

1. [ Be a United States citizen, a United States national, or 

a qualified alien pursuant to 8 USC § 1621;  

2. ] Be a resident of the State of Virginia for at least one 

year [ eligible for in-state tuition pursuant to § 23-7.4 of 

the Code of Virginia at the time a scholarship is awarded. 

[ a bona fide resident of Virginia by being domiciled in the 

Commonwealth for at least one year as defined by § 23-7.4 

of the Code of Virginia; ] 

[ 2. 3. ] Be accepted [ for enrollment ] or enrolled in [ a 

school of nursing an approved nurse education program ] 

in the State Commonwealth of Virginia [ which is 

approved by the ] State [ Board of Nursing. ] The only 

exception is for students pursuing graduate degrees not 

offered in the Commonwealth. [ preparing him for 

examination for licensure as a practical nurse or a 

registered nurse; ] 

[ 3. 4. ] If already enrolled in [ a nursing an approved nurse 

education ] program [ in the Commonwealth of Virginia ], 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/23-7.4/
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the applicant must demonstrate a cumulative grade point 

average of at least 2.5 [ . in core nursing classes; ] 

[ 4. 5. ]  Submit a completed application form and 

appropriate grade transcript [ to the ] Office of Public 

Health Nursing [ department ] prior to the 

[ established published ] deadline dates [ .; ] 

[ 5. 6. ]  Demonstrate financial need [ , ] which is verified 

by the [ Financial Aid Officer/authorized person school's 

financial aid officer or authorized person as part of the 

application process; and 

7. Not have an active military obligation. ]  

FAILURE TO COMPLY WITH ALL OF THESE 

CRITERIA WILL CAUSE THE APPLICANT TO BE 

INELIGIBLE FOR A SCHOLARSHIP.  

[ Failure to comply with all of these criteria will cause the 

applicant to An applicant who fails to meet all of these 

requirements shall ] be ineligible for a scholarship. 

12VAC5-510-30. Conditions of scholarships.  

It is important that all applicants fully understand the 

conditions of acceptance of a General Assembly Nursing 

Scholarship. These awards are not outright gifts. For each 

$100 of scholarship money received, the [ The scholarship 

recipient agrees to engage in a term of service involving 

continuous full-time ] (40 hours per week) [ nursing practice 

in a region of the Commonwealth ] for one month [ with a 

critical shortage of nurses. ] Therefore, if a student receives 

$500 in scholarship awards, they must repay that amount by 

working continuously for 5 months. Full-time employment 

[ The maximum award amounts and terms of service are 

determined as per §§ 23-35.9 and 23-35.11 of the Code of 

Virginia. Employment must begin within ] 60 [ 180 days of 

the recipient's graduation date. Time spent in an "on-call" 

status shall not be counted toward the number of hours 

worked per week. Voluntary military service, even if 

stationed in Virginia, cannot be used to repay ] scholarship 

awards [ the service obligation. If the recipient begins 

employment at a practice site, but that employment is later 

terminated, the recipient must transfer to another approved 

practice site in the Commonwealth within 90 days of 

termination. ]  

If a scholarship recipient fails to complete their studies, or 

engage in full-time nursing practice in Virginia, the full 

amount of money represented in the scholarship(s) received, 

plus an annual interest charge, must be refunded.  

If a recipient leaves the State, or ceases to engage in full-

time nursing practice before all employment conditions of the 

scholarship award are fulfilled, the recipient must repay the 

balance on his/her account plus an annual interest charge.  

All refund checks should be made payable to the 

Commonwealth of Virginia and mailed to:  

Office of Public Health Nursing  

State Health Department  

1500 East Main Street  

Suite 227  

Richmond, Virginia 23219  

Before any scholarship is awarded, the applicant must sign a 

written contract agreeing to the terms established by law and 

the Advisory Committee.  

[ A. Prior to becoming a participant in the General 

Assembly Nursing Scholarship program, the applicant shall 

enter into a contract with the commissioner agreeing to the 

terms and conditions upon which the scholarship is granted.  

B. For each $2,000 of scholarship money received, the 

participant agrees to engage in the equivalent of one year of 

full-time nursing practice in a region with a critical shortage 

of nurses in the Commonwealth. The recipient shall notify the 

department, within 180 days of being awarded a nursing 

diploma or degree, of the type of nursing practice to be 

performed and give the name and address of the employer for 

approval. Voluntary military service, even if stationed in 

Virginia, cannot be used to repay the service obligation 

required when a scholarship is awarded.  

The participant may request approval of a change of practice 

site. Such requests shall be made in writing. The department 

in its discretion may approve such a request.  

C. If a participant fails to complete his studies, the full 

amount of the scholarships or scholarships received, plus the 

applicable interest charge, shall be repaid. A recipient may 

terminate a contract while enrolled in school after notice to 

the board and upon repayment within 90 days of the entire 

amount of the scholarship plus interest.  

D. If upon graduation a participant leaves the 

Commonwealth or fails to engage or ceases to engage in 

nursing practice in a region with a critical shortage of nurses 

in the Commonwealth before all employment conditions of 

the scholarship award are fulfilled, the participant shall repay 

the award amount reduced by the proportion of obligated 

years served plus the applicable interest and penalty.  

E. All default payments shall be made payable to the 

Commonwealth of Virginia.  ]  

12VAC5-510-40. Number of applications per student.  

Scholarships [ are shall be ] awarded for single academic 

years. However, the same student may, after demonstrating 

satisfactory progress in his/her his studies, [ which is 

demonstrated by a cumulative grade point average of 2.5 in 

core nursing classes, ] apply for and receive scholarship 

awards for [ any a ] succeeding academic year or years. No 

student [ may shall  ] receive scholarships for more than a 

total of five four years.  

12VAC5-510-50. Amounts of scholarships.  

The [ amount number ] of [ each scholarship award is 

scholarships awarded shall be ] dependent upon the amount of 

money appropriated by the General Assembly [ , the amount 

of the funds available within the Nursing Scholarship and 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/23-35.9/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/23-35.11/
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Loan Repayment Fund administered by the Board of Nursing 

pursuant to § 54.1-3011.2 of the Code of Virginia, ] and the 

number of qualified applicants. [ No Each ] recipient will 

shall receive an award [ for of ] less than one hundred and 

fifty dollars [ $150 $2,000 per year ]. [ Graduate nursing 

scholarships may not exceed four thousand dollars annually. ] 

12VAC5-510-60. How to apply.  

[ Applications and ] Guidelines are available from the 

Dean/Director of your school or from the Financial Aid 

Office [ guidelines are made available to all prospective 

students online through the department's website ].  

If a student is pursuing a graduate degree not available in 

Virginia, applications may be obtained directly from the 

Office of Public Health Nursing, State Health Department, 

1500 East Main Street, Suite 227, Richmond, VA 23219. 

[ Eligible applicants shall submit a complete application made 

available by the department on the department's website. A 

complete application shall include documentation of all 

eligibility requirements. The deadline for submission of the 

application shall be announced by the department on the 

department's website. ] 

12VAC5-510-70. [ Deadline dates. (Repealed.) ]  

[ Applications will not be accepted ] in the Office of Public 

Health Nursing more than 6 months in advance of the 

following deadline dates: [ by the department outside of the 

application cycle. ]  

March 15 - for students already enrolled in schools of 

nursing.  

June 15 - for new students entering nursing programs.  

APPLICATIONS AND/OR TRANSCRIPTS RECEIVED 

AFTER 5:00 PM ON THE ABOVE DATES WILL NOT BE 

CONSIDERED FOR SCHOLARSHIP AWARDS.  

[ Applications and transcripts received after the published 

deadline date and time for the application cycle will not be 

considered for scholarship awards. ]  

FLOW CHART OF RESPONSIBILITIES  

D - Dean or Director  

FAO - Financial Aid Officer  

S-R - Student-Recipient  

RESPONSIBILITY D FAO S-R 

Distribute applications & 

Guidelines to those students who 

otherwise could not provide 

sufficient funds for themselves 

while in school. 

X X   

Maintain supply of current 

scholarship applications and 

guidelines. Notify the Office of 

Public Health Nursing when 

applications are needed. 

X     

Make certain all parts of the 

application are completed, 

including the Financial Aid 

Officer/Authorized Person and 

Dean/Director signatures. 

    X 

Be certain that a current 

transcript of grades (high school, 

or college if now attending) is 

sent to the Office of Public 

Health Nursing when applying 

for a scholarship (original and 

repeat requests) before deadline 

dates. 

    X 

Review entire Section V 

Financial Data of application. 

Review whatever school records 

are accessible to determine the 

individual applicant's assets and 

expenditures. 

  X   

Recommend amount of 

scholarship to be awarded. 

Should there be a conflict 

between the student's request 

and the Financial Aid 

Officer's/Authorized Person's 

opinion of the amount that is 

needed, an explanation should be 

included. 

  X   

Review the completed 

application form before affixing 

the signature thereby indicating: 

X     

  A. The applicant has 

properly completed the 

application form. 

      

  B. The Financial Aid 

Officer has verified proof 

of need. 

      

  C. The applicant's entrance 

and graduation dates are 

correct. 

      

  D. The school of nursing is 

recommending the 

applicant for a scholarship 

based upon potential 

nursing ability. 

      

Furnish whatever pertinent data 

that would be helpful to the 

scholarship committee when 

making the awards. 

X X X 
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Forward the completed and 

signed application to the Office 

of Public Health Nursing before 

deadline dates. 

    X 

Submit a transcript of grades to 

the Office of Public Health 

Nursing at the end of each 

grading period during 

scholarship year. 

    X 

Notify the Office of Public 

Health Nursing when student-

recipient fails, transfers or 

withdraws from the school. 

X   X 

Notify the Office of Public 

Health Nursing when student-

recipient graduation date is 

changed. 

X   X 

Notify the Office of Public 

Health Nursing when there is a 

change in recipient's name 

and/or address 

    X 

Upon graduation, notify the 

Office of Public Health Nursing 

of plans for employment and 

beginning date of employment. 

    X 

Submit verification of 

employment to Office of Public 

Health Nursing at least every 6 

months until work obligation is 

fulfilled. 

    X 

12VAC5-510-80. Scholarship contract. 

Applicants selected to receive scholarship awards by the 

Advisory Committee [ must shall ] sign and return a written 

contract to the department by the specified deadline date. 

Failure to return the contract by the specified deadline date 

may result in the award being rescinded. At minimum, the 

scholarship contract shall include the following elements:  

1. [ Agreement with the The ] total amount of the award 

and the award period [ .; ] 

2. Agreement to pursue an LPN or RN degree in nursing at 

a school of nursing in the Commonwealth of Virginia that 

is approved by the Board of Nursing [ .; ]  

3. Agreement to begin continuous full-time employment 

[ in a region with a critical shortage of nurses in the 

Commonwealth ] within 180 days of the recipient's 

graduation [ .; ] 

4. Agreement to comply with all reporting requirements 

[ .; ] 

5. Agreement [ with to ] the terms of service requiring 

continuous full-time nursing practice in the 

Commonwealth for a specified period of time and the 

terms and conditions associated with a breach of contract 

[ .; 

6. Signature of the applicant; 

7. Signature of the commissioner or his designee; and  

8. Other provisions as the commissioner may deem 

appropriate. ]  

[ A recipient may terminate a contract while enrolled in 

school after notice to the board and upon repayment within 90 

days of the entire amount of the scholarship plus interest. ]  

[ 12VAC5-510-85. Practice site selection. 

Each recipient shall perform his service obligation in a 

region of the Commonwealth with a critical shortage of 

nurses. A recipient shall perform his service obligation at a 

practice site in either a health professional shortage area or a 

medically underserved area. Maps of health professional 

shortage areas and medically underserved areas shall be 

available on the department's website. ]  

12VAC5-510-90. Reporting requirements. 

[ Monitoring of the service obligation of recipients shall be 

conducted on an ongoing basis by the department.  

The recipient shall permit the nursing school to provide 

information regarding enrollment status and progress in the 

program. 

The recipient shall notify the department, within 180 days of 

being awarded a nursing diploma or degree, of the type of 

nursing practice to be performed and give the name and 

address of the employer for approval.  

The recipient shall submit to the department verification of 

employment documentation every four months until the 

contract obligation has been completely fulfilled.  

The recipient shall maintain practice records in a manner 

that will allow the department to readily determine 

compliance with the terms and conditions of the contract. 

Each participant shall provide information as required by the 

department to verify compliance with all requirements of the 

nursing scholarship program (e.g., verification of 

employment by submitting a verification of employment form 

once every six months). ]  

The recipient shall notify the department in writing within 

30 days [ of if ] any of the following events occur: 

1. Recipient changes name; 

2. Recipient changes address; 

3. Recipient changes nursing program; 

4. Recipient changes practice site [ (a recipient is required 

to request in writing and obtain prior approval of changes 

in practice site) ]; 

5. Recipient no longer intends [ or is unable ] to fulfill 

service obligation as a nurse in the Commonwealth; [ or ]  
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6. Recipient ceases to practice as an RN or LPN [ ; or  

7. Recipient ceases or no longer intends to complete his 

nursing program ].  

12VAC5-510-100. Breach of contract. 

The following [ are the conditions that may ] constitute a 

breach of contract:  

1. The recipient fails to complete his nursing studies [ .; ]  

2. The recipient fails to begin or complete the term of 

obligated service [ within under ] the [ time frames as 

specified in terms and conditions of ] the scholarship 

contract [ .; ] 

3. The recipient falsifies or misrepresents information on 

the program application, the verification of employment 

forms, or other required documents [ .; or  

4. The recipient's employment is terminated for good cause 

as determined by the employer and confirmed by the 

department. If employment is terminated for reasons 

beyond the participant's control (e.g., closure of site), the 

participant shall transfer to another site approved by the 

board in the Commonwealth within six months of 

termination. Failure of the participant to transfer to another 

site shall be deemed to be a breach of the contract. ]  

In the event of a breach of contract [ where the recipient 

fails to begin or complete the term of obligated service within 

the time frames as specified in the scholarship contract, the 

recipient shall reimburse the Commonwealth of Virginia for 

the total amount of the scholarship, plus penalty and interest 

and in accordance with the terms of the contract, the recipient 

shall make default payments as described in 12VAC5-510-

30 ]. In the event of a breach of contract where the recipient 

has partially fulfilled [ their his ] obligation, the total amount 

of reimbursement shall be prorated by the proportion of 

obligation completed. 

12VAC5-510-110. Deferment and waivers. 

[ A. ] The requirement for continuous engagement in full-

time nursing practice may be deferred by the board if the 

scholarship recipient requests a deferment to pursue [ a more 

advanced degree in nursing or a nursing-related field an 

undergraduate or graduate degree in nursing or related to 

nursing activities ]. This deferment, if granted, shall not 

relieve the recipient of the responsibility to complete the 

remaining portion of the obligation upon completion of the 

[ advanced nursing ] degree. 

[ B. ] If the [ recipient participant ] is in default due to death 

or permanent disability [ , the obligation to reimburse the 

Commonwealth of Virginia for the total amount of the 

scholarship award plus interest may be partially or completely 

waived by the board upon application of the recipient or the 

recipient's estate to the board so as not to be able to engage in 

nursing practice in a region with a critical shortage of nurses 

in the Commonwealth, the participant or his personal 

representative may be relieved of his obligation under the 

contract to engage in nursing practice upon repayment of the 

total amount of scholarship received plus applicable interest. 

For participants completing part of the nursing obligation 

prior to becoming permanently disabled or in the event of 

death, the total amount of scholarship funds owed shall be 

reduced by the proportion of obligated years served. The 

obligation to make restitution may be waived by the board 

upon application of the participant or the participant's 

personal representative to the board ].  

[ Other individual situations involving severe hardship may 

be considered by the board for deferment of the service 

obligation or partial or total waiver of the repayment 

obligation. Deferment and waiver requests will not be 

permitted as a matter of course, but may be allowed in the 

most compelling cases. 

C. Individual cases may be considered by the board for a 

variance of payment or service, pursuant to § 32.1-12 of the 

Code of Virginia, if the board finds compliance with the 

applicable service requirements or default repayment would 

pose an undue hardship on the recipient.  

D. ] All requests for deferments, waivers, or variances 

[ must shall ] be submitted in writing to the department for 

consideration and final disposition by the [ Advisory 

Committee or the ] board. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with a 

hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of 

Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (12VAC5-510) 

Verification of Employment for Mary Marshall Nursing 

Scholarship Program & Virginia Nurse Educator Scholarship 

Program (rev. 6/2015) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2804; Filed December 17, 2015, 5:45 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-620. Regulations Governing 

Application Fees for Construction Permits for Onsite 

Sewage Disposal Systems and Private Wells (amending 

12VAC5-620-10, 12VAC5-620-30, 12VAC5-620-40, 

12VAC5-620-50, 12VAC5-620-70, 12VAC5-620-80, 

12VAC5-620-90, 12VAC5-620-100; adding 12VAC5-620-

75; repealing 12VAC5-620-20).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12, 32.1-164, and 32.1-176.4 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 12, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Jim Bowles, Department of Health, 109 

Governor Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-

7475, or email jim.bowles@vdh.virginia.gov. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=793ea002804~1&typ=40&actno=002804&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=793ea002804~1&typ=40&actno=002804&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=793ea002804~1&typ=40&actno=002804&mime=application/pdf
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Summary: 

The amendments (i) clarify that an application fee is 

required for an alternative discharging sewage system; (ii) 

clarify that an application fee is required for a letter 

certifying that a site is suitable for installation of an onsite 

sewage disposal system; (iii) clarify the application fee for 

closed-loop geothermal well systems; (iv) establish fees for 

various applications; (v) provide authority to waive the 

application fee where beneficial to public health and 

safety; and (vi) clarify that an applicant may not receive a 

refund for denial of an application if the applicant is 

actively pursuing an administrative appeal of the denial. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

CHAPTER 620  

REGULATIONS GOVERNING APPLICATION FEES FOR 

CONSTRUCTION PERMITS FOR ONSITE SEWAGE 

DISPOSAL SYSTEMS, ALTERNATIVE DISCHARGE 

SYSTEMS, AND PRIVATE WELLS  

Part I  

Definitions  

12VAC5-620-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Agent" means a legally authorized representative of the 

owner.  

"Alternative discharging system" means any device or 

system that results in a point source discharge of treated 

sewage for which the board may issue a permit authorizing 

construction and operation when the system is regulated by 

the State Water Control Board pursuant to a general Virginia 

Pollutant Discharge Elimination System permit for an 

individual single family dwelling with flows less than or 

equal to 1,000 gallons per day. 

"Board" means the State Board of Health.  

"Certification letter" means a letter issued by the 

commissioner in lieu of a construction permit, which 

identifies a specific site and recognizes the appropriateness of 

the site for an onsite wastewater disposal system. 

"Commissioner" means the State Health Commissioner.  

"Construction of private wells" means acts necessary to 

construct private wells, including the location of private 

wells, the boring, digging, drilling, or otherwise excavating a 

well hole and installing casing with or without well screens, 

or well curbing.  

[ "Decommission" means to permanently seal an existing 

private well in accordance with the requirements of the 

Private Well Regulations (12VAC5-630). ]  

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Health.  

"Dewatering well" means a driven well constructed for the 

sole purpose of lowering the water table and kept in operation 

for a period of 60 days or less. Dewatering wells are used to 

allow construction in areas where a high water table hinders 

or prohibits construction and are always temporary in nature.  

"Family" means the economic unit which shall include the 

owner, the spouse of the owner, and any other person actually 

and properly dependent upon or contributing to the family's 

income for subsistence. A husband and wife who have been 

separated and are not living together, and who are not 

dependent on each other for support, shall be considered 

separate family units. The family unit, which is based on 

cohabitation, is considered to be a separate family unit for 

determining if an application fee is waiverable may be 

waived. The cohabitating cohabiting partners and any 

children shall be considered a family unit.  

"Fee schedule" means a listing by item of the fees to be 

charged by the department for processing applications and for 

other services rendered by the department. 

"Income" means total cash receipts of the family before 

taxes from all sources. These include money wages and 

salaries before any deductions, but do not include food or rent 

in lieu of wages. These receipts include net receipts from 

nonfarm or farm self-employment (e.g., receipts from the 

family's own business or farm after deductions for business or 

farm expenses.) They include regular payments from public 

assistance (including Supplemental Security Income), social 

security or railroad retirement, unemployment and worker's 

compensation, strike benefits from union funds, veterans' 

benefits, training stipends, alimony, child support, and 

military family allotments or other regular support from an 

absent family member or someone not living in the 

household; private pensions, government employee pensions, 

and regular insurance or annuity payment; and income from 

dividends, interest, rents, royalties, or periodic receipts from 

estates or trusts. These receipts further include funds obtained 

through college work study programs, scholarships, and 

grants to the extent said funds are used for current living 

costs. Income does not include the value of food stamps, WIC 

checks, fuel assistance, money borrowed, tax refunds, gifts, 

lump sum settlements, inheritances or insurance payments, 

withdrawal of bank deposits, earnings of minor children, 

money received from the sale of property. Income also does 

not include funds derived from college work study programs, 

scholarships, loans, or grants to the extent such funds are not 

used for current living costs.  

"Minor modification of an existing sewage disposal system" 

means an alteration that is not a repair [ , voluntary upgrade, ] 

or routine maintenance, does not result in an increase in 

treatment level or volume of the system, and does not require 

evaluation of the soil conditions prior to issuance of a permit. 

Minor modifications include but are not limited to relocation 

of a system component or an additional plumbing connection 
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to the system that does not increase the actual or estimated 

flow of the system. 

"Onsite sewage disposal system" means a sewerage system 

or treatment works designed not to result in a point source 

discharge.  

"Owner" means any person who owns, leases, or proposes to 

own or lease a private well or, an onsite sewage disposal 

system, or both an alternative discharging system.  

"Person" means the Commonwealth or any of its political 

subdivisions, including sanitary districts, sanitation district 

commissions and authorities, any individual, any group of 

individuals acting individually or as a group, or any public or 

private institution, corporation, company, partnership, firm or 

association which owns or proposes to own a sewerage 

system, treatment works or private well.  

"Principal place of residence" means the dwelling unit, 

single family dwelling, or mobile home where the owner 

lives.  

"Private well" means any water well constructed for a 

person on land which is owned or leased by that person and is 

usually intended for household, groundwater source heat 

pump, agricultural use, industrial use, use as an observation 

or monitoring well, or other nonpublic water well. A 

dewatering well, for the purposes of this chapter, is not a 

private well.  

"Repair of a failing onsite sewage disposal system" means 

the construction of an onsite sewage disposal system or parts 

thereof to correct an existing and failing sewage disposal 

system for an occupied structure with indoor plumbing.  

"Repair" means the construction or replacement of all or 

parts of a sewage disposal system or private well to correct a 

failing, damaged, or improperly functioning system or well 

when such construction or replacement is required by the 

board's regulations. 

"Replacement of a private well" means the construction of a 

private well to be used in lieu of an existing private well.  

"Review Board" means the State Sewage Handling and 

Disposal Appeals Review Board. 

"Sewage" means water-carried and nonwater-carried human 

excrement, kitchen, laundry, shower, bath or lavatory wastes 

separately or together with such underground, surface, storm 

and other water and liquid industrial wastes as may be present 

from residences, buildings, vehicles, industrial establishments 

or other places.  

"Sewerage system" means pipelines or conduits, pumping 

stations and force mains and all other construction, devices 

and appliances appurtenant thereto, used for the collection 

and conveyance of sewage to a treatment works or point of 

ultimate disposal.  

"Treatment works" means any device or system used in the 

storage, treatment, disposal or reclamation of sewage or 

combinations of sewage and industrial wastes, including but 

not limited to pumping, power and other equipment and 

appurtenances, septic tanks and any works, including land, 

that are or will be (i) an integral part of the treatment process 

or (ii) used for ultimate disposal of residues or effluents 

resulting from such treatment.  

"Voluntary upgrade" means [ a change to or replacement of 

an existing nonfailing onsite or alternative discharging 

sewage disposal system, without an increase in the permitted 

volume or strength of the sewage, in accordance with the 

regulations for repairing failing systems an improvement to 

an existing onsite sewage disposal system or alternative 

discharging system that (i) is not required for compliance 

with any law or regulation and (ii) results in no net increase in 

the permitted volume or strength of sewage dispersed by the 

system ].  

"Well" means any artificial opening or artificially altered 

natural opening, however made, by which groundwater is 

sought or through which groundwater flows under natural 

pressure or is intended to be artificially drawn; provided this 

definition shall not include wells drilled for the purpose of 

exploration or production of oil or gas, for building 

foundation investigation and construction, elevator shafts, 

grounding of electrical apparatus, or the modification or 

development of springs.  

[ Part II  

General Information ]  

12VAC5-620-20. Authority for regulations. (Repealed.) 

Sections 32.1-164#C and 32.1-176.4#B of the Code of 

Virginia provide that the State Board of Health has the power 

to prescribe a reasonable fee to be charged for filing an 

application for an onsite sewage disposal system permit and a 

reasonable fee to be charged for filing an application for a 

private well construction permit.  

[ Part II  

General Information ]  

12VAC5-620-30. Purpose of regulations.  

The board has promulgated these regulations to:  

1. Establish a fee for filing an application for a permit to 

construct an onsite sewage disposal system or for the 

construction of a private well; and Establish a procedure 

for determining the fees for services provided by the 

department for onsite sewage systems, alternative 

discharge systems, and private wells; 

2. Establish a procedure for the waiver of fees for an owner 

whose income of his family is at or below the federal 

poverty guidelines established by the United States 

Department of Health and Human Services, or when the 

application is for a pit privy, the replacement of a private 

well, or the repair of a failing onsite sewage disposal 

system.  

2. Establish procedures for the refund of fees; and 

3. Establish procedures for the waiver of fees. 
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12VAC5-620-40. Compliance with the Administrative 

Process Act.  

The provisions of the Virginia Administrative Process Act 

(§ 9-6.14:l 2.2-4000 et. seq. of the Code of Virginia) shall 

govern the promulgation and administration of these 

regulations and shall be applicable to the appeal of any case 

decision based upon govern the decisions of cases under this 

chapter.  

12VAC5-620-50. Powers and procedures of regulations 

not exclusive.  

The Commissioner commissioner may enforce these 

regulations through any means lawfully available.  

Part III  

Fees  

12VAC5-620-70. Application Establishing fees.  

A. A fee of $50 shall be charged to the owner for filing an 

application for an onsite sewage disposal system permit with 

the department. The fee shall be paid to the Virginia 

Department of Health by the owner or his agent at the time of 

filing the application and the application shall not be 

processed until the fee has been collected. Applications shall 

be limited to one site specific proposal. When site conditions 

change, or the needs of an applicant change, or the applicant 

proposes and requests another site be evaluated, and a new 

site evaluation is conducted, a new application and fee is 

required.  

B. A fee of $25 shall be charged to the owner for filing an 

application for the construction of a private well with the 

department. The fee shall be paid to the Virginia Department 

of Health by the owner or his agent at the time of filing the 

application and the application shall not be processed until the 

fee has been collected. Applications shall be limited to one 

site specific proposal. When site conditions change, or the 

needs of an applicant change or the applicant proposes and 

requests another site be evaluated, and a new site evaluation 

is conducted, a new application and fee is required.  

C. A person seeking revalidation of a construction permit for 

an onsite sewage disposal system shall file a completed 

application and shall pay a fee of $50.  

D. A person seeking revalidation of a permit for the 

construction of a private well shall file a completed 

application and shall pay a fee of $25.  

A. The commissioner shall establish a schedule of fees to be 

charged by the department for services related to 

construction, maintenance, and repair or replacement of 

onsite sewage disposal systems, alternative discharge 

systems, and private wells and for appeals before the Review 

Board. 

B. In establishing fees, the commissioner shall consider the 

actual or estimated average cost to the agency of delivering 

each service included in the schedule of fees. 

[ C. The fees shall be the maximum allowable fees as 

established by the Code of Virginia or the appropriation act 

except that the fee for an application for a permit to make 

minor modifications of existing systems shall be 50% of the 

application fee for an onsite sewage disposal system 

construction permit. The following fee schedule is hereby 

established: 

SCHEDULE OF FEES   

Application or Service Fee 

Certification letter, no onsite soil 

evaluator/professional engineer (OSE/PE) 

documentation (no charge for well) 

$350 

Certification letter with OSE/PE 

documentation, ≤1,000 gpd 

$320 

Certification letter with OSE/PE 

documentation, >1,000 gpd 

$1,400 

Construction permit for treatment works only, 

no OSE/PE documentation 

$425 

Combined well and treatment works 

construction permit, no OSE/PE documentation  

$725 

Combined well and treatment works 

construction permit with OSE/PE documentation, 

≤1,000 gpd 

$525 

Construction permit for treatment works only 

with OSE/PE documentation, ≤1,000 gpd 

$225 

Construction permit for treatment works only 

with OSE/PE documentation, >1,000 gpd 

$1,400 

Combined well and treatment works 

construction permit with OSE/PE documentation, 

>1,000 gpd 

$1,700 

Private well construction or abandonment 

permit, with or without OSE/PE documentation 

$300 

Closed-loop geothermal well system (one fee 

per well system) 

$300 

Alternative discharge system inspection fee $75 

Minor modification to an existing system $100 

Appeal before the Review Board $135 ]  

[ D. The fee for filing an application for an administrative 

hearing before the Review Board shall be $135. ]  

12VAC5-620-75. Fee remittance; application 

completeness. 

A. Each applicant shall remit any required application fee to 

the department at the time of making application. In any case 

where an application fee is required, including requests for 

hearings before the Review Board, the application will be 
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deemed to be incomplete and will not be accepted or 

processed until the fee is paid. 

[ B. The owner of a newly installed alternative discharge 

system shall pay the installation inspection fee prior to the 

required department inspection. 

C. B. ] The owner of an alternative discharge system shall 

pay the monitoring fee to the department for monitoring 

inspections conducted by the department that are mandated 

by 12VAC5-640. The department shall waive the monitoring 

fee when it conducts a monitoring inspection that is not 

mandated by 12VAC5-640. 

12VAC5-620-80. Waiver of fees.  

A. An owner whose income of his family income is at or 

below the 1988 2013 Poverty Income Guidelines For All for 

the 48 Contiguous States (Except Alaska and Hawaii) and 

The the District of Columbia established by the Department 

of Health and Human Services, 53 FR 4213 (1988) 78 FR 

5182 (January 24, 2013), or any successor guidelines, shall 

not be charged a fee for filing an application for an onsite 

sewage disposal system permit or a private well construction 

permit pursuant to this chapter. 

B. Any person applying for a permit to construct a pit privy 

shall not be charged a fee for filing the application.  

C. Any person applying for a permit to construct an onsite 

sewage disposal system to repair a failing an onsite sewage 

disposal system or alternative discharging system shall not be 

charged a fee for filing the application.  

D. Any person applying for a construction permit for the 

replacement of a private well shall not may be charged a fee 

for filing the application. Any application fee paid for a 

construction permit for a replacement well shall be refunded 

in full upon receipt by the department of a Uniform Water 

Well Completion Report, pursuant to 12VAC5-630-310, 

indicating that the well that was replaced has been 

permanently and properly abandoned or decommissioned. 

E. Any person applying for a permit to properly and 

permanently abandon or decommission an existing well on 

property that is his [ principle principal ] place of residence 

shall not be charged a fee for filing the application. 

F. Any person who applies to renew a construction permit 

for an onsite sewage disposal system, alternative discharge 

system, or private well shall not be charged a fee for filing the 

application, provided that: 

1. The site and soil conditions upon which the permit was 

issued have not changed; 

2. The legal ownership of the property has not changed; 

3. A building permit for the facility to be served by the 

sewage system or well has been obtained or construction of 

the facility has commenced; 

4. No previous renewal of the permit has been granted; 

[ and ]  

5. The expiration date of the renewed permit shall be the 

date 18 months following the expiration date of the 

original permit [ ; and  

6. Where the construction permit is for an alternative 

discharging system, the permit must comply with 

9VAC25-110, Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination 

System (VPDES) General Permit for Domestic Sewage 

Discharges of Less Than or Equal to 1,000 Gallons per 

Day, issued by the State Water Control Board ].  

G. Any person whose application for a [ certification letter 

or for a ] permit to construct an onsite sewage disposal 

system, alternative discharging system, or private well is 

denied may file one subsequent application for the same site-

specific construction permit for which the application fee 

shall be waived, provided that: 

1. The subsequent application is filed within 90 days of 

receiving the notice of denial for the first application;  

2. The denial is not currently under appeal; and 

3. The application fee for the first application has not been 

refunded. 

12VAC5-620-90. Refunds of application fee.  

An application fee shall be refunded to the owner (or agent, 

if applicable) if the department denies a permit on his land on 

which the owner seeks to construct his principal place of 

residence. Such fee shall not be refunded by the department 

until final resolution of any appeals made by the owner from 

the denial.  

A. An applicant for a construction permit or certification 

letter whose application is denied may apply for a refund of 

the application fee. The application fee shall be refunded to 

the owner or agent, if applicable, if the department denies an 

application for the land upon which the owner intends to 

build his principal place of residence. When the application 

was made for both a sewage disposal system and a private 

well, both fees may be refunded at the owner's request. [ Any 

such request shall be considered a withdrawal of the 

application. ]  

B. An applicant for a construction permit or a certification 

letter may request a refund of the application fee if the 

applicant voluntarily withdraws his application before the 

department issues the requested permit. The application fee 

will be refunded if the application is withdrawn before the 

department makes a site visit for the purpose of evaluating the 

application. 

C. An applicant who has paid an application fee for a 

replacement well shall be refunded the application fee in full 

upon receipt by the department of a Uniform Water Well 

Completion Report, pursuant to 12VAC5-630-310, showing 

that the well that was replaced has been properly and 

permanently abandoned or decommissioned. 

D. All applications for refunds must be made to the 

department no later than 12 months following the date upon 

which the applicant receives notification that his application 
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for a construction permit or certification letter has been 

denied, within 12 months following the date upon which his 

application was withdrawn, or within 12 months following 

the date upon which any appeals of the denial of the 

application have been concluded. 

E. All applications for refunds shall be made in writing in a 

form approved by the department. 

F. [ Denials of applications may be appealed only when the 

applicant has a currently active application before the 

department, including payment of any required application 

fee. Applications that have been withdrawn are not subject to 

appeal. ]  

12VAC5-620-100. Determining eligibility for waiver based 

on family income. 

A. An owner seeking a waiver of an application fee shall 

request the waiver on the application form. The department 

will require information as to income, family size, financial 

status and other related data. The department shall not process 

the application until final resolution of the eligibility 

determination for waiver.  

B. It is the owner's responsibility to furnish the department 

with the correct financial data in order to be appropriately 

classified according to income level and to determine 

eligibility for a waiver of an application fee. The owner shall 

be required to provide written verification of [ any 

employment or nonemployment ] income such as check 

stubs, written letter from an employer, W-2 forms, [ etc., or 

other documentation acceptable to the department ] in order 

to provide documentation for the application.  

C. The proof of income must reflect current income which 

that is expected to be available during the next 12-month 

period. Proof of income must include: Name [ , where 

applicable, ] name of employer, amount of gross earnings, 

and pay period for stated earnings. If no pay stub is 

submitted, a written statement must include the name, 

address, telephone number, and title of person certifying the 

income.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2718; Filed December 17, 2015, 5:43 p.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Notice of Extension of Emergency Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 12VAC30-50. Amount, Duration, 

and Scope of Medical and Remedial Care Services 

(amending 12VAC30-50-130). 

12VAC30-60. Standards Established and Methods Used to 

Assure High Quality Care (amending 12VAC30-60-25). 

12VAC30-70. Methods and Standards for Establishing 

Payment Rates - Inpatient Hospital Services (amending 

12VAC30-70-201, 12VAC30-70-321; adding 12VAC30-70-

415, 12VAC30-70-417). 

12VAC30-80. Methods and Standards for Establishing 

Payment Rates; Other Types of Care (amending 

12VAC30-80-21). 

12VAC30-130. Amount, Duration and Scope of Selected 

Services (amending 12VAC30-130-850, 12VAC30-130-

890).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Expiration Date Extended Through: July 1, 2016. 

The Governor has approved the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services' request to extend the expiration date of 

the above-referenced emergency regulations for six months as 

provided for in § 2.2-4011 D of the Code of Virginia. 

Therefore, the emergency regulations will continue in effect 

through July 1, 2016. The emergency regulations relate to 

reimbursement of residential treatment centers and 

freestanding psychiatric hopsitals separately from the normal 

per-diem rate for "services provided under arrangement" 

(including professional, pharmacy, and other services) 

furnished to Medicaid members and were published in 

30:20 VA.R. 2470-2481 June 2, 2014. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 

Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3714; Filed December 17, 2015, 5:32 p.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-70. Methods and Standards 

for Establishing Payment Rates - Inpatient Hospital 

Services (amending 12VAC30-70-221, 12VAC30-70-251, 

12VAC30-70-420).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 10, 2016. 

Effective Date: February 25, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia grants to the 

Board of Medical Assistance Services the authority to 

administer and amend the Plan for Medical Assistance. 

Section 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

Director of the Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) to administer and amend the Plan for Medical 

Assistance according to the board's requirements. The 

Medicaid authority as established by § 1902(a) of the Social 

Security Act (42 USC § 1396a) provides governing authority 

for payments for services. DMAS is relying on the general 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol30/iss20/v30i20.pdf
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authority of § 32.1-325 for the authority to remove the 1,000-

day threshold to exempt hospitals from filing cost reports. 

Purpose: The purpose of this action is to replace the existing 

diagnosis-related group (DRG) classification system for 

inpatient hospital services. The current methodology is 

unsustainable given the implementation of the International 

Classification of Disease (ICD), version 10, effective October 

1, 2015. The purpose is also to improve the accuracy of 

pricing and reimbursement by capturing differences in 

severity of illness among patients receiving inpatient hospital 

services.  

This action also updates reimbursement for non-cost-

reporting hospitals removing the 1,000 days threshold as a 

requirement to exempt non-cost-reporting hospitals from 

filing cost reports. 

The amendments do not impact the public or citizens of the 

Commonwealth. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: This regulatory 

change is being promulgated through the fast-track 

rulemaking process because it is expected to be 

noncontroversial. DMAS consulted with the Virginia 

Hospital and Healthcare Association (VHHA) and the 

affected providers and considered the advice of the Hospital 

Payment Policy Advisory Committee. VHHA actively 

participated in the development of the new methodology and 

indicated that it would not object to the new methodology. 

The affected providers are satisfied with the new DRG 

classification system; therefore, no opposition is expected as a 

result of this fast-track regulatory action. 

Removing the 1,000-day threshold for determining whether a 

hospital is required to file a cost report is expected to be well 

received by providers, so no objections are expected.  

Substance: Based on authority under Item 301 VVV of 

Chapter 2 of the 2014 Acts of the Assembly, Special Session 

I, the inpatient hospital operating reimbursement 

methodology is being amended to replace the all patient 

diagnosis-related group (AP-DRG) with a more refined 

grouper stratifying the severity of illness. This change was 

originally scheduled for July 1, 2014, but was delayed due to 

the budget uncertainty. 

The AP-DRG methodology in effect prior to October 1, 2014, 

assigned DRGs based on the diagnosis and procedure codes 

submitted on inpatient hospital claims excluding inpatient 

acute psychiatric and rehabilitation hospital services. With the 

implementation of International Classification of Diseases, 

edition 10 (ICD-10), the current AP-DRG classification 

system will no longer be supported by software vendors. 

DMAS implemented a new inpatient hospital claim 

classification system capable of processing ICD-10 claims 

effective October 1, 2014. The APR-DRG Classification 

System developed by 3M uses discharge information to 

classify patients into clinically meaningful groups; the 

patients grouped into each DRG are similar in terms of both 

clinical characteristics and the hospital resources they 

consume. Being a more refined grouper, APR-DRG uses four 

severity of illness (SOI) levels to create more specific 

groupings.  

The 3M APR-DRG software improves the accuracy of 

pricing and reimbursement by capturing differences in 

severity of illness among patients. While the primary goal of 

transitioning to APR-DRG is to improve the accuracy of 

pricing and reimbursement, the current AP-DRG software 

will not be updated for ICD-10 diagnosis codes while the 

APR-DRG software will be. By implementing now, providers 

will have a year of experience with APR-DRG using ICD-9 

diagnoses before the transition to ICD-10 diagnoses effective 

for dates of discharge on or after October 1, 2015.  

DMAS is transitioning to APR-DRG by blending AP-DRG 

and APR-DRG weights over a three-year period. Operating 

rates were developed based on the blend of the current AP-

DRG weights and the new APR-DRG weights. Using a three-

year transition period, the weights will be based on the 

following blend of AP-DRG and APR-DRG weights: 

• SFY 2015 – 50% APR-DRG and 50% AP-DRG 

• SFY 2016 – 75% APR-DRG and 25% AP-DRG 

• SFY 2017 – 100% APR-DRG (Full Implementation) 

This action is estimated to be budget neutral in the aggregate. 

Individual facility payments may increase or decrease under 

the new methodology; however, the new payment 

methodology is not expected to increase inpatient hospital 

operating payments for hospitals in the aggregate. 

DMAS is removing the 1,000-day threshold for exempting 

non-cost-reporting hospitals from filing cost reports. Non-

cost-reporting hospitals will be reimbursed the in-state 

average DRG rates.  

Issues: These actions change the reimbursement methodology 

for inpatient hospital services. The primary advantage for 

hospitals is the availability of commercial software to support 

implementation of the ICD-10 as federally required. There are 

no disadvantages to the hospitals by this change of the APR-

DRG methodology. There are also no disadvantages to non-

cost-reporting hospitals of the removal of threshold for filing 

cost reports. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to the 2014 Special Session I Acts of the Assembly, 

Chapter 2, Item 301 VVV, the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services (DMAS) proposes to replace the All 

Patient Diagnosis-Related Group classification system with 

the All Patient Refined Diagnosis-Related Group system for 

inpatient hospital operating reimbursement. The proposed 

payment methodology has been in effect since October 1, 

2014. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 
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Estimated Economic Impact. Prior to October 1, 2014, 

Virginia's Medicaid reimbursement methodology for inpatient 

hospital operating costs was based on the All Patient 

Diagnosis-Related Group classification system. The 

Diagnosis Related Groups (DRGs) are a patient classification 

scheme which provides a means of relating the type of 

patients a hospital treats (i.e., its case mix) to the costs 

incurred by the hospital. There are currently three major 

versions of the DRGs in use in the United States: basic 

DRGs, All Patient DRGs, and All Patient Refined DRGs. The 

basic DRGs are used by the Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services (CMS) for hospital payment for Medicare 

beneficiaries. The All Patient DRGs (AP-DRGs) are an 

expansion of the basic DRGs to be more representative of 

non-Medicare populations such as Medicaid or pediatric 

patients. The All Patient Refined DRGs (APR-DRG) system 

expands the AP-DRG structure by adding four levels of 

severity-of-illness and risk of mortality to create more refined 

and specific groupings. 

The AP-DRG system utilized by Virginia Medicaid prior to 

October 1, 2014, assigned DRGs to submitted inpatient 

hospital claims (excluding inpatient acute psychiatric and 

rehabilitation hospital services) based on the diagnostic and 

procedure codes defined by the federal International 

Classification of Disease (ICD) version 9 classification 

system. However, CMS will implement an updated 

classification system, ICD-10, on October 1, 2015. With the 

implementation of the ICD-10 system, the current AP-DRG 

classification system will no longer be supported by existing 

software and will not be sustainable. As a result, pursuant to 

the 2014 Acts of the Assembly, Chapter 2, Item 301 VVV, 

DMAS implemented the APR-DRG system on October 1, 

2014. 

According to DMAS, the APR-DRG classification system is 

compatible with ICD-10 codes which will be implemented in 

October 2015 as well as ICD-9 codes currently in effect. 

Thus, the providers are not affected by the proposed new 

methodology as they will continue to submit the ICD-9 

claims until ICD-10 claims go in effect in October 2015. 

While they will have to purchase new software to process 

ICD-10 claims in October 2015, those costs will be due to 

federal changes and cannot be attributed to these proposed 

changes. 

The proposed methodology is beneficial in that it improves 

the accuracy of pricing and reimbursement by capturing 

differences in severity of illness and risk of mortality among 

patients and is compatible with either ICD-9 or ICD-10 

claims. 

The impact on aggregate reimbursement to all hospitals is 

estimated to be budget-neutral. In FY 2014, the total 

Medicaid reimbursement for inpatient hospital operating costs 

was approximately $401 million. However, the 

reimbursements to individual hospitals may increase or 

decrease under the new methodology. Based on FY 2014 data 

and assuming full implementation, 23 hospitals will receive 

$100,000 to $530,000 less, 34 hospitals will receive $0 to 

$99,999 less, 14 hospitals will receive $1 to $99,999 more, 

and 19 hospitals will receive $100,000 to $2.8 million more 

in their operating payments compared to payments under the 

old methodology. Pursuant to legislative mandate, DMAS is 

transitioning to APR-DRG by blending AP-DRG and APR-

DRG weights over a three year period. Using a three-year 

transition period, the weights will be based on the following 

blend of AP-DRG and APR-DRG weights: 50% APR-DRG 

and 50% AP-DRG in FY 2015, 75% APR-DRG and 25% 

AP-DRG in FY 2016, 100% APR-DRG in FY 2017. 

Additionally, APR-DRG specific administrative 

implementation costs for DMAS are estimated to be $92,000. 

No significant administrative costs are expected on providers 

as no billing changes are required for the implementation of 

the new methodology. 

Finally, DMAS also proposes to remove the 1,000 day 

threshold for exempting non-cost-reporting hospitals from 

filing cost reports. This change reflects the current DMAS 

policy and is not expected to have any significant economic 

impact other than clarifying the current regulations. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed new 

methodology affects approximately 90 in-state and out-of-

state hospitals currently. A few of the affected hospitals may 

be small and qualify as small businesses. While some of the 7 

managed care organizations in Virginia may also change their 

provider reimbursement methodology for inpatient services 

following this change, this regulation does not require them to 

do so. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed changes apply 

throughout the Commonwealth.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The new 

methodology will reduce reimbursement for 57 hospitals 

while increasing reimbursement for 33 hospitals. The asset 

values of the affected hospitals would be affected depending 

on the impact on their revenues. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to significantly affect real estate development 

costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition: Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. Only a few of the 90 affected 

hospitals may be considered as small businesses. The costs 

and other effects on them would be the same as discussed 

above. 
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Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There is 

no known alternative that would minimize the adverse impact 

while accomplishing the same goals. 

Adverse Impacts:  

Businesses: The proposed new payment methodology for 

inpatient hospital operating costs will reduce reimbursement 

for 57 hospitals. 

Localities: The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities: The implementation of the proposed new 

methodology is expected to create an additional $92,000 in 

DMAS's administrative costs. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency has reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared 

by the Department of Planning and Budget. The agency raises 

no issues with this analysis. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) replace the all patient diagnosis-

related group (AP-DRG) classification system with the all 

patient refined diagnosis-related group (APR-DRG) system 

for inpatient hospital services in accordance with Item 301 

VVV of Chapter 2 of the 2014 Acts of the Assembly, Special 

Session I, and (ii) update reimbursement for non-cost-

reporting hospitals by removing the 1,000 days threshold 

to qualify for an exemption to filing cost reports. 

Article 2  

Prospective (DRG-Based) Payment Methodology  

12VAC30-70-221. General.  

A. Effective July 1, 2000, the prospective (DRG-based) 

payment system described in this article shall apply to 

inpatient hospital services provided in enrolled general acute 

care hospitals, rehabilitation hospitals, and freestanding 

psychiatric facilities licensed as hospitals, unless otherwise 

noted.  

B. The following methodologies shall apply under the 

prospective payment system:  

1. As stipulated in 12VAC30-70-231, operating payments 

for DRG cases that are not transfer cases shall be 

determined on the basis of a hospital specific operating rate 

per case times relative weight of the DRG to which the 

case is assigned.  

2. As stipulated in 12VAC30-70-241, operating payments 

for per diem cases shall be determined on the basis of a 

hospital specific operating rate per day times the covered 

days for the case with the exception of payments for per 

diem cases in freestanding psychiatric facilities. Payments 

for per diem cases in freestanding psychiatric facilities 

licensed as hospitals shall be determined on the basis of a 

hospital specific rate per day that represents an all-

inclusive payment for operating and capital costs.  

3. As stipulated in 12VAC30-70-251, operating payments 

for transfer cases shall be determined as follows: (i) the 

transferring hospital shall receive an operating per diem 

payment, not to exceed the DRG operating payment that 

would have otherwise been made and (ii) the final 

discharging hospital shall receive the full DRG operating 

payment.  

4. As stipulated in 12VAC30-70-261, additional operating 

payments shall be made for outlier cases. These additional 

payments shall be added to the operating payments 

determined in subdivisions 1 and 3 of this subsection.  

5. As stipulated in 12VAC30-70-271, payments for capital 

costs shall be made on an allowable cost basis.  

6. As stipulated in 12VAC30-70-281, payments for direct 

medical education costs of nursing schools and 

paramedical programs shall be made on an allowable cost 

basis. For Type Two hospitals, payment for direct graduate 

medical education (GME) costs for interns and residents 

shall be made quarterly on a prospective basis, subject to 

cost settlement based on the number of full time equivalent 

(FTE) interns and residents as reported on the cost report. 

Effective April 1, 2012, payment for direct GME for 

interns and residents for Type One hospitals shall be 100% 

of allowable costs. 

7. As stipulated in 12VAC30-70-291, payments for 

indirect medical education costs shall be made quarterly on 

a prospective basis.  

8. As stipulated in 12VAC30-70-301, payments to 

hospitals that qualify as disproportionate share hospitals 

shall be made quarterly on a prospective basis.  

C. The terms used in this article shall be defined as provided 

in this subsection:  

"AP-DRG" means all patient diagnosis related groups.  

"APR-DRG" means all patient refined diagnosis related 

groups. 

"Base year" means the state fiscal year for which data is 

used to establish the DRG relative weights, the hospital case-

mix indices, the base year standardized operating costs per 

case, and the base year standardized operating costs per day. 

The base year will change when the DRG payment system is 

rebased and recalibrated. In subsequent rebasings, the 

Commonwealth shall notify affected providers of the base 

year to be used in this calculation.  

"Base year standardized costs per case" means the statewide 

average hospital costs per discharge for DRG cases in the 

base year. The standardization process removes the effects of 

case-mix and regional variations in wages from the claims 

data and places all hospitals on a comparable basis.  

"Base year standardized costs per day" means the statewide 

average hospital costs per day for per diem cases in the base 

year. The standardization process removes the effects of 

regional variations in wages from the claims data and places 

all hospitals on a comparable basis. Base year standardized 

costs per day were calculated separately, but using the same 

calculation methodology, for the different types of per diem 
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cases identified in this subsection under the definition of "per 

diem cases."  

"Cost" means allowable cost as defined in Supplement 3 

(12VAC30-70-10 through 12VAC30-70-130) and by 

Medicare principles of reimbursement.  

"Disproportionate share hospital" means a hospital that 

meets the following criteria:  

1. A Medicaid utilization rate in excess of 14%, or a low-

income patient utilization rate exceeding 25% (as defined 

in the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1987 and as 

amended by the Medicare Catastrophic Coverage Act of 

1988); and  

2. At least two obstetricians with staff privileges at the 

hospital who have agreed to provide obstetric services to 

individuals entitled to such services under a state Medicaid 

plan. In the case of a hospital located in a rural area (that 

is, an area outside of a Metropolitan Statistical Area as 

defined by the Executive Office of Management and 

Budget), the term "obstetrician" includes any physician 

with staff privileges at the hospital to perform 

nonemergency obstetric procedures.  

3. Subdivision 2 of this definition does not apply to a 

hospital:  

a. At which the inpatients are predominantly individuals 

under 18 years of age; or  

b. Which does not offer nonemergency obstetric services 

as of December 21, 1987.  

"DRG" means diagnosis related groups.  

"DRG cases" means medical/surgical cases subject to 

payment on the basis of DRGs. DRG cases do not include per 

diem cases.  

"DRG relative weight" means the average standardized costs 

for cases assigned to that DRG divided by the average 

standardized costs for cases assigned to all DRGs.  

"Groupable cases" means DRG cases having coding data of 

sufficient quality to support DRG assignment.  

"Hospital case-mix index" means the weighted average 

DRG relative weight for all cases occurring at that hospital.  

"Medicaid utilization percentage" is equal to the hospital's 

total Medicaid inpatient days divided by the hospital's total 

inpatient days for a given hospital fiscal year. The Medicaid 

utilization percentage includes days associated with inpatient 

hospital services provided to Medicaid patients but 

reimbursed by capitated managed care providers. This 

definition includes all paid Medicaid days (from DMAS MR 

reports for fee-for-service days and managed care 

organization or hospital reports for HMO days) and 

nonpaid/denied Medicaid days to include medically 

unnecessary days, inappropriate level of care service days, 

and days that exceed any maximum day limits (with 

appropriate documentation). The definition of Medicaid days 

does not include any general assistance, Family Access to 

Medical Insurance Security (FAMIS), State and Local 

Hospitalization (SLH), charity care, low-income, indigent 

care, uncompensated care, bad debt, or Medicare dually 

eligible days. It does not include days for newborns not 

enrolled in Medicaid during the fiscal year even though the 

mother was Medicaid eligible during the birth. 

"Medicare wage index" and the "Medicare geographic 

adjustment factor" are published annually in the Federal 

Register by the Health Care Financing Administration. The 

indices and factors used in this article shall be those in effect 

in the base year.  

"Operating cost-to-charge ratio" equals the hospital's total 

operating costs, less any applicable operating costs for a 

psychiatric distinct part unit (DPU), divided by the hospital's 

total charges, less any applicable charges for a psychiatric 

DPU. The operating cost-to-charge ratio shall be calculated 

using data from cost reports from hospital fiscal years ending 

in the state fiscal year used as the base year.  

"Outlier adjustment factor" means a fixed factor published 

annually in the Federal Register by the Health Care Financing 

Administration. The factor used in this article shall be the one 

in effect in the base year.  

"Outlier cases" means those DRG cases, including transfer 

cases, in which the hospital's adjusted operating cost for the 

case exceeds the hospital's operating outlier threshold for the 

case.  

"Outlier operating fixed loss threshold" means a fixed dollar 

amount applicable to all hospitals that shall be calculated in 

the base year so as to result in an expenditure for outliers 

operating payments equal to 5.1% of total operating payments 

for DRG cases. The threshold shall be updated in subsequent 

years using the same inflation values applied to hospital rates.  

"Per diem cases" means cases subject to per diem payment 

and includes (i) covered psychiatric cases in general acute 

care hospitals and distinct part units (DPUs) of general acute 

care hospitals (hereinafter "acute care psychiatric cases"), (ii) 

covered psychiatric cases in freestanding psychiatric facilities 

licensed as hospitals (hereinafter "freestanding psychiatric 

cases"), and (iii) rehabilitation cases in general acute care 

hospitals and rehabilitation hospitals (hereinafter 

"rehabilitation cases").  

"Psychiatric cases" means cases with a principal diagnosis 

that is a mental disorder as specified in the ICD, as defined in 

12VAC30-95-5. Not all mental disorders are covered. For 

coverage information, see Amount, Duration, and Scope of 

Services, Supplement 1 to Attachment 3.1 A & B (12VAC30-

50-95 through 12VAC30-50-310). The limit of coverage of 

21 days in a 60-day period for the same or similar diagnosis 

shall continue to apply to adult psychiatric cases.  

"Psychiatric operating cost-to-charge ratio" for the 

psychiatric DPU of a general acute care hospital means the 

hospital's operating costs for a psychiatric DPU divided by 

the hospital's charges for a psychiatric DPU. In the base year, 
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this ratio shall be calculated as described in the definition of 

"operating cost-to-charge ratio" in this subsection, using data 

from psychiatric DPUs.  

"Readmissions" means when patients are readmitted to the 

same hospital for the same or a similar diagnosis within five 

days of discharge. Such cases shall be considered a 

continuation of the same stay and shall not be treated as new 

cases. Similar diagnoses shall be defined as ICD diagnosis 

codes possessing the same first three digits. As used here, the 

term "ICD" is defined in 12VAC30-95-5.  

"Rehabilitation operating cost-to-charge ratio" for a 

rehabilitation unit or hospital means the provider's operating 

costs divided by the provider's charges. In the base year, this 

ratio shall be calculated as described in the definition of 

"operating cost-to-charge ratio" in this subsection, using data 

from rehabilitation units or hospitals.  

"Statewide average labor portion of operating costs" means 

a fixed percentage applicable to all hospitals. The percentage 

shall be periodically revised using the most recent reliable 

data from the Virginia Health Information (VHI), or its 

successor.  

"Transfer cases" means DRG cases involving patients (i) 

who are transferred from one general acute care hospital to 

another for related care or (ii) who are discharged from one 

general acute care hospital and admitted to another for the 

same or a similar diagnosis within five days of that discharge. 

Similar diagnoses shall be defined as ICD diagnosis codes 

possessing the same first three digits. As used here, the term 

"ICD" is defined in 12VAC30-95-5. 

"Type One hospitals" means those hospitals that were state-

owned teaching hospitals on January 1, 1996.  

"Type Two hospitals" means all other hospitals.  

"Ungroupable cases" means cases assigned to DRG 469 

(principal diagnosis invalid as discharge diagnosis) and DRG 

470 (ungroupable) as determined by the AP-DRG Grouper. 

Effective October 1, 2014, "ungroupable cases" means cases 

assigned to DRG 955 (ungroupable) and DRG 956 

(ungroupable) as determined by the APR-DRG grouper. 

D. The All Patient Diagnosis Related Groups (AP-DRG) 

Grouper grouper shall be used in the DRG payment system. 

Until notification of a change is given, Version 14.0 of this 

grouper shall be used. Effective October 1, 2014, DMAS 

shall replace the AP-DRG grouper with the All Patient 

Refined Diagnosis Related Groups (APR-DRG) grouper for 

hospital inpatient reimbursement. The APR-DRG Grouper 

will produce a DRG as well as a severity level ranging from 1 

to 4. DMAS shall phase in the APR-DRG weights by 

blending in 50% of the full APR-DRG weights with 50% of 

fiscal year (FY) 2014 AP-DRG weights for each APR-DRG 

group and severity level in the first year. In the second year, 

the blend will be 75% of full APR-DRG weights and 25% of 

the FY 2014 AP-DRG weights. Full APR-DRG weights shall 

be used in the third year and succeeding years for each APR-

DRG group and severity. DMAS shall notify hospitals when 

updating the system to later grouper versions.  

E. The primary data sources used in the development of the 

DRG payment methodology were the department's hospital 

computerized claims history file and the cost report file. The 

claims history file captures available claims data from all 

enrolled, cost-reporting general acute care hospitals, 

including Type One hospitals. The cost report file captures 

audited cost and charge data from all enrolled general acute 

care hospitals, including Type One hospitals. The following 

table identifies key data elements that were used to develop 

the DRG payment methodology and that will be used when 

the system is recalibrated and rebased.  

Data Elements for DRG Payment Methodology 

Data Elements Source 

Total charges for each groupable case Claims history file 

Number of groupable cases in each 

DRG Claims history file 

Total number of groupable cases Claims history file 

Total charges for each DRG case Claims history file 

Total number of DRG cases Claims history file 

Total charges for each acute care 

psychiatric case Claims history file 

Total number of acute care psychiatric 

days for each acute care hospital Claims history file 

Total charges for each freestanding 

psychiatric case 

Medicare cost 

reports 

Total number of psychiatric days for 

each freestanding psychiatric hospital 

Medicare cost 

reports 

Total charges for each rehabilitation 

case Claims history file 

Total number of rehabilitation days for 

each acute care and freestanding 

rehabilitation hospital Claims history file 

Operating cost-to-charge ratio for each 

hospital Cost report file 

Operating cost-to-charge ratio for each 

freestanding psychiatric facility 

licensed as a hospital 

Medicare cost 

reports 

Psychiatric operating cost-to-charge 

ratio for the psychiatric DPU of each 

general acute care hospital Cost report file 

Rehabilitation cost-to-charge ratio for 

each rehabilitation unit or hospital Cost report file 

Statewide average labor portion of 

operating costs VHI 
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Medicare wage index for each hospital Federal Register 

Medicare geographic adjustment factor 

for each hospital Federal Register 

Outlier operating fixed loss threshold Claims history file 

Outlier adjustment factor Federal Register 

12VAC30-70-251. Operating payment for transfer cases.  

A. The operating payment for transfer cases shall be 

determined as follows:  

1. A transferring hospital shall receive the lesser of (i) a per 

diem payment equal to the hospital's DRG operating 

payment for the case, as determined in 12VAC30-70-231, 

divided by the arithmetic mean length of stay for the DRG 

into which the case falls times the length of stay for the 

case at the transferring hospital or (ii) the hospital's full 

DRG operating payment for the case, as determined in 

12VAC30-70-231. The transferring hospital shall be 

eligible for an outlier operating payment, as specified in 

12VAC30-70-261, if applicable criteria are satisfied.  

2. The final discharging hospital shall receive the hospital's 

full DRG operating payment, as determined in 12VAC30-

70-231. The final discharging hospital shall be eligible for 

an outlier operating payment, as specified in 12VAC30-70-

261, if applicable criteria are satisfied.  

B. Exceptions.  

1. Cases falling into DRG 456, 639, or 640 shall not be 

treated as transfer cases. Effective October 1, 2014, cases 

falling into DRG 580 and 581 shall not be treated as 

transfer cases. Both the transferring hospital and the final 

discharging hospital shall receive the full DRG operating 

payment.  

2. Cases transferred to or from a psychiatric or 

rehabilitation DPU of a general acute care hospital, a 

freestanding psychiatric facility licensed as a hospital, or a 

rehabilitation hospital shall not be treated as transfer cases.  

12VAC30-70-420. Reimbursement of noncost-reporting 

general acute care hospital providers.  

A. Effective July 1, 2000, noncost-reporting (general acute 

care hospitals that are not required to file cost reports) 

hospitals shall be paid based on the in-state average DRG 

rates unadjusted for geographic variation increased by the 

average capital percentage among hospitals filing cost reports 

in a recent year. General acute care hospitals shall not file 

cost reports if they have less than 1,000 days per year (in the 

most recent provider fiscal year) of inpatient utilization by 

Virginia Medicaid recipients, inclusive of patients in 

managed care capitation programs.  

B. Effective July 1, 2011, out-of-state hospitals shall be 

reimbursed the lesser of the amount reimbursed by the 

Medicaid program in the facility's home state or the rate 

defined in the subsection A of this section. 

C. Prior approval must be received from DMAS when a 

referral has been made for treatment to be received from a 

nonparticipating acute care facility (in-state or out-of-state). 

Prior approval will be granted for inpatient hospital services 

provided out of state to a Medicaid recipient who is a resident 

of the Commonwealth of Virginia under any one of the 

following conditions. It shall be the responsibility of the 

nonparticipating hospital, when requesting prior authorization 

for the admission of the Virginia resident, to demonstrate that 

one of the following conditions exists in order to obtain 

authorization. Services provided out of state for 

circumstances other than these specified reasons shall not be 

covered.  

1. The medical services must be needed because of a 

medical emergency;  

2. Medical services must be needed and the recipient's 

health would be endangered if he were required to travel to 

his state of residence;  

3. The state determines, on the basis of medical advice, 

that the needed medical services, or necessary 

supplementary resources, are more readily available in the 

other state;  

4. It is general practice for recipients in a particular locality 

to use medical resources in another state.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4280; Filed December 11, 2015, 12:15 p.m.  

Emergency Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 12VAC30-50. Amount, Duration, 

and Scope of Medical and Remedial Care Services 

(amending 12VAC30-50-130). 

12VAC30-120. Waivered Services (amending 12VAC30-

120-700, 12VAC30-120-770, 12VAC30-120-900, 

12VAC30-120-935, 12VAC30-120-1020, 12VAC30-120-

1060).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Effective Dates: January 11, 2016, through July 10, 2017. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Section 2.2-4011 A of the Code of Virginia states that 

"[r]egulations that an agency finds are necessitated by an 

emergency situation may be adopted upon consultation 

with the Attorney General, which approval shall be 

granted only after the agency has submitted a request 

stating in writing the nature of the emergency, and the 

necessity for such action shall be at the sole discretion of 

the Governor."  

The Department of Medical Assistance Services certifies 

an emergency exists to the health, safety, and welfare of 
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Medicaid individuals who are electing to use the 

consumer-directed model of service delivery but who may 

not be adequately or appropriately supported by services 

facilitators. The result is that individuals are not receiving 

services as ordered in their plans of care; individuals are 

suffering lapses in necessary services, which places them 

at risk for abuse, neglect, or exploitation; attendants' hours 

are not being paid in a timely manner, so they are refusing 

to show up for work; and persons lacking sufficient 

training are performing inadequate care. This is affecting 

individuals in several home and community-based waivers 

(EDCD, ID, and IFDDS) as well as children receiving 

personal care services through the EPSDT program.  

The emergency amendments will affect the Individual and 

Family Developmental Disabilities Services (DD), 

Intellectual Disabilities (ID), and Elderly or Disabled with 

Consumer Direction (EDCD) waivers as well as personal 

care services covered under the authority of the Early and 

Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment (EPSDT) 

program for persons 21 years of age and younger. These 

changes require services facilitators (SFs) for all persons 

in the EDCD waiver and require the same qualifications, 

education, and training for SFs across all three of these 

waivers. The documented knowledge, skills, and abilities 

set out in the regulations are the same as are currently 

required in these waivers' regulations. This regulatory 

action makes these requirements consistent across all of 

the waivers that offer consumer-directed personal care 

services. 

The General Assembly also recognized the need to 

strengthen the qualifications and responsibilities of 

consumer-directed services facilitators in Item 301 FFF of 

Chapter 665 of the 2015 Acts of the Assembly. 

Current Policy: Individuals enrolled in certain home and 

community-based waivers or who receive personal care 

through EPSDT may choose between receiving services 

through a Medicaid enrolled provider agency or by using 

the consumer-directed model. Individuals who prefer to 

receive their personal care services through an agency are 

the beneficiaries of a number of administrative type 

functions, the most important of which is the preparation 

of an individualized service plan (ISP) and the monitoring 

of those services to ensure quality and appropriateness. 

This ISP sets out all the services (types, frequency, amount, 

duration) that the individual requires and that his 

physician has ordered. 

The consumer-directed (CD) model differs from agency-

directed services by allowing the Medicaid-enrolled 

individual to develop his own service plan and self-monitor 

the quality of those services. To receive CD services, the 

individual or another designated individual must act as the 

employer of record (EOR). The EOR hires, trains, and 

supervises the attendants. A minor child (younger than age 

18) is required to have an EOR. Services facilitation is a 

service that assists the individual (and the individual's 

family or caregiver, as appropriate) in arranging for, 

directing, and managing services provided through the 

consumer-directed model.  

Issues: Currently, there is no process to verify that 

potential or enrolled services facilitators are qualified to 

perform, or possess the knowledge, skills, and abilities 

related to, the duties they must fulfill as outlined in current 

regulations. Consumer-directed services facilitators are 

not licensed by any governing body, nor do they have any 

degree or training requirements established in regulation. 

Other types of Virginia Medicaid-enrolled providers are 

required by the Commonwealth to have degrees, meet 

licensing requirements, or demonstrate certifications as 

precursors to being Medicaid-enrolled providers. 

Recommendations: The amendments to the regulations are 

needed to provide the basis for the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services to ensure qualified services facilitators 

are enrolled as service providers and receive 

reimbursement under the Medicaid waiver programs and 

through EPSDT. These amendments to the regulations are 

also needed to ensure that enrolled services facilitator 

providers employ staff who also meet these qualifications 

and will ensure that services facilitators have the training 

and expertise to effectively address the needs of those 

individuals who are enrolled in home and community-

based waivers who direct their own care. Services 

facilitators are essential to the health, safety, and welfare 

of this vulnerable population. As part of the process, the 

department used the participatory approach and has 

obtained input from stakeholders into the design of the 

amendments to the regulations.  

The regulations are intended to positively impact those 

choosing to direct their own care under the home and 

community-based waiver and through EPSDT by ensuring 

the services facilitators are qualified and can be 

responsive to the needs of the population. 

These changes are intended to be applied across all 

Medicaid HCBS waivers (IFDDS, EDCD, and ID) and 

EPSDT in which there is consumer direction of services 

and the concurrent services facilitation is permitted. The 

emergency amendments are as follows: 

1. If a services facilitator is not a registered nurse, then the 

services facilitator is required to contact the individual's 

primary care physician and request consultation; 

2. The services facilitator is required to have sufficient 

knowledge, skills, and abilities (KSAs) to perform his 

duties (the KSAs are set out in 12VAC30-120-935); 

3. The services facilitator is required to have either a 

college degree or be a registered nurse and have 

designated amounts of experience supporting individuals 

with disabilities or older adults; 
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4. The services facilitator is being required to pass the 

DMAS-approved training course with a score of at least 

80%;  

5. The services facilitator is required to have a satisfactory 

work record. The services facilitator cannot have a prior 

conviction in his record of having committed barrier 

crimes as set out in the Code of Virginia, cannot have a 

founded complaint in the Department of Social Services 

Central Registry, and cannot be excluded from 

participating in Medicaid;  

6. If the services facilitator fails to conduct his duties, as 

shown in patient records, then the department will recover 

expenditures;  

7. The services facilitator is being required to have access 

to a computer with secure Internet access; 

8. Functions and tasks that must be performed by the 

services facilitator are set out; and 

9. Required documentation in patients' records is set out. 

12VAC30-50-130. Skilled nursing facility services, 

EPSDT, school health services, and family planning. 

A. Skilled nursing facility services (other than services in an 

institution for mental diseases) for individuals 21 years of age 

or older. 

Service must be ordered or prescribed and directed or 

performed within the scope of a license of the practitioner of 

the healing arts. 

B. Early and periodic screening and diagnosis of individuals 

under 21 years of age, and treatment of conditions found. 

1. Payment of medical assistance services shall be made on 

behalf of individuals under 21 years of age, who are 

Medicaid eligible, for medically necessary stays in acute 

care facilities, and the accompanying attendant physician 

care, in excess of 21 days per admission when such 

services are rendered for the purpose of diagnosis and 

treatment of health conditions identified through a physical 

examination. 

2. Routine physicals and immunizations (except as 

provided through EPSDT) are not covered except that 

well-child examinations in a private physician's office are 

covered for foster children of the local social services 

departments on specific referral from those departments. 

3. Orthoptics services shall only be reimbursed if 

medically necessary to correct a visual defect identified by 

an EPSDT examination or evaluation. The department 

shall place appropriate utilization controls upon this 

service. 

4. Consistent with the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act 

of 1989 § 6403, early and periodic screening, diagnostic, 

and treatment services means the following services: 

screening services, vision services, dental services, hearing 

services, and such other necessary health care, diagnostic 

services, treatment, and other measures described in Social 

Security Act § 1905(a) to correct or ameliorate defects and 

physical and mental illnesses and conditions discovered by 

the screening services and which are medically necessary, 

whether or not such services are covered under the State 

Plan and notwithstanding the limitations, applicable to 

recipients ages 21 and over, provided for by the Act 

§ 1905(a). 

5. Community mental health services. These services in 

order to be covered (i) shall meet medical necessity criteria 

based upon diagnoses made by LMHPs who are practicing 

within the scope of their licenses and (ii) are reflected in 

provider records and on providers' claims for services by 

recognized diagnosis codes that support and are consistent 

with the requested professional services.  

a. Definitions. The following words and terms when used 

in this section shall have the following meanings unless 

the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Activities of daily living" means personal care activities 

and includes bathing, dressing, transferring, toileting, 

feeding, and eating. 

"Adolescent or child" means the individual receiving the 

services described in this section. For the purpose of the 

use of these terms, adolescent means an individual 12-20 

years of age; a child means an individual from birth up to 

12 years of age.  

"Behavioral health services administrator" or "BHSA" 

means an entity that manages or directs a behavioral 

health benefits program under contract with DMAS.  

"Care coordination" means collaboration and sharing of 

information among health care providers, who are 

involved with an individual's health care, to improve the 

care.  

"Certified prescreener" means an employee of the local 

community services board or behavioral health authority, 

or its designee, who is skilled in the assessment and 

treatment of mental illness and has completed a 

certification program approved by the Department of 

Behavioral Health and Developmental Services. 

"Clinical experience" means providing direct behavioral 

health services on a full-time basis or equivalent hours of 

part-time work to children and adolescents who have 

diagnoses of mental illness and includes supervised 

internships, supervised practicums, and supervised field 

experience for the purpose of Medicaid reimbursement of 

(i) intensive in-home services, (ii) day treatment for 

children and adolescents, (iii) community-based 

residential services for children and adolescents who are 

younger than 21 years of age (Level A), or (iv) 

therapeutic behavioral services (Level B). Experience 

shall not include unsupervised internships, unsupervised 

practicums, and unsupervised field experience. The 

equivalency of part-time hours to full-time hours for the 

purpose of this requirement shall be as established by 
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DBHDS in the document entitled Human Services and 

Related Fields Approved Degrees/Experience, issued 

March 12, 2013, revised May 3, 2013.  

"DBHDS" means the Department of Behavioral Health 

and Developmental Services. 

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services and its contractor or contractors. 

"Human services field" means the same as the term is 

defined by DBHDS in the document entitled Human 

Services and Related Fields Approved 

Degrees/Experience, issued March 12, 2013, revised 

May 3, 2013. 

"Individual service plan" or "ISP" means the same as the 

term is defined in 12VAC30-50-226.  

"Licensed mental health professional" or "LMHP" means 

a licensed physician, licensed clinical psychologist, 

licensed professional counselor, licensed clinical social 

worker, licensed substance abuse treatment practitioner, 

licensed marriage and family therapist, or certified 

psychiatric clinical nurse specialist.  

"LMHP-resident" or "LMHP-R" means the same as 

"resident" as defined in (i) 18VAC115-20-10 for licensed 

professional counselors; (ii) 18VAC115-50-10 for 

licensed marriage and family therapists; or (iii) 

18VAC115-60-10 for licensed substance abuse treatment 

practitioners. An LMHP-resident shall be in continuous 

compliance with the regulatory requirements of the 

applicable counseling profession for supervised practice 

and shall not perform the functions of the LMHP-R or be 

considered a "resident" until the supervision for specific 

clinical duties at a specific site has been preapproved in 

writing by the Virginia Board of Counseling. For 

purposes of Medicaid reimbursement to their supervisors 

for services provided by such residents, they shall use the 

title "Resident" in connection with the applicable 

profession after their signatures to indicate such status. 

"LMHP-resident in psychology" or "LMHP-RP" means 

the same as an individual in a residency, as that term is 

defined in 18VAC125-20-10, program for clinical 

psychologists. An LMHP-resident in psychology shall be 

in continuous compliance with the regulatory 

requirements for supervised experience as found in 

18VAC125-20-65 and shall not perform the functions of 

the LMHP-RP or be considered a "resident" until the 

supervision for specific clinical duties at a specific site 

has been preapproved in writing by the Virginia Board of 

Psychology. For purposes of Medicaid reimbursement by 

supervisors for services provided by such residents, they 

shall use the title "Resident in Psychology" after their 

signatures to indicate such status. 

"LMHP-supervisee in social work," "LMHP-supervisee," 

or "LMHP-S" means the same as "supervisee" as defined 

in 18VAC140-20-10 for licensed clinical social workers. 

An LMHP-supervisee in social work shall be in 

continuous compliance with the regulatory requirements 

for supervised practice as found in 18VAC140-20-50 and 

shall not perform the functions of the LMHP-S or be 

considered a "supervisee" until the supervision for 

specific clinical duties at a specific site is preapproved in 

writing by the Virginia Board of Social Work. For 

purposes of Medicaid reimbursement to their supervisors 

for services provided by supervisees, these persons shall 

use the title "Supervisee in Social Work" after their 

signatures to indicate such status.  

"Progress notes" means individual-specific 

documentation that contains the unique differences 

particular to the individual's circumstances, treatment, 

and progress that is also signed and contemporaneously 

dated by the provider's professional staff who have 

prepared the notes. Individualized and member-specific 

progress notes are part of the minimum documentation 

requirements and shall convey the individual's status, 

staff interventions, and, as appropriate, the individual's 

progress, or lack of progress, toward goals and objectives 

in the ISP. The progress notes shall also include, at a 

minimum, the name of the service rendered, the date of 

the service rendered, the signature and credentials of the 

person who rendered the service, the setting in which the 

service was rendered, and the amount of time or 

units/hours required to deliver the service. The content of 

each progress note shall corroborate the time/units billed. 

Progress notes shall be documented for each service that 

is billed. 

"Psychoeducation" means (i) a specific form of education 

aimed at helping individuals who have mental illness and 

their family members or caregivers to access clear and 

concise information about mental illness and (ii) a way of 

accessing and learning strategies to deal with mental 

illness and its effects in order to design effective 

treatment plans and strategies.  

"Psychoeducational activities" means systematic 

interventions based on supportive and cognitive behavior 

therapy that emphasizes an individual's and his family's 

needs and focuses on increasing the individual's and 

family's knowledge about mental disorders, adjusting to 

mental illness, communicating and facilitating problem 

solving and increasing coping skills. 

"Qualified mental health professional-child" or "QMHP-

C" means the same as the term is defined in 12VAC35-

105-20.  

"Qualified mental health professional-eligible" or 

"QMHP-E" means the same as the term is defined in 

12VAC35-105-20 and consistent with the requirements 

of 12VAC35-105-590.  

"Qualified paraprofessional in mental health" or 

"QPPMH" means the same as the term is defined in 
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12VAC35-105-20 and consistent with the requirements 

of 12VAC35-105-1370. 

"Service-specific provider intake" means the face-to-face 

interaction in which the provider obtains information 

from the child or adolescent, and parent or other family 

member or members, as appropriate, about the child's or 

adolescent's mental health status. It includes documented 

history of the severity, intensity, and duration of mental 

health care problems and issues and shall contain all of 

the following elements: (i) the presenting issue/reason for 

referral, (ii) mental health history/hospitalizations, (iii) 

previous interventions by providers and timeframes and 

response to treatment, (iv) medical profile, (v) 

developmental history including history of abuse, if 

appropriate, (vi) educational/vocational status, (vii) 

current living situation and family history and 

relationships, (viii) legal status, (ix) drug and alcohol 

profile, (x) resources and strengths, (xi) mental status 

exam and profile, (xii) diagnosis, (xiii) professional 

summary and clinical formulation, (xiv) recommended 

care and treatment goals, and (xv) the dated signature of 

the LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, or 

LMHP-RP.  

b. Intensive in-home services (IIH) to children and 

adolescents under age 21 shall be time-limited 

interventions provided in the individual's residence and 

when clinically necessary in community settings. All 

interventions and the settings of the intervention shall be 

defined in the Individual Service Plan. All IIH services 

shall be designed to specifically improve family 

dynamics, provide modeling, and the clinically necessary 

interventions that increase functional and therapeutic 

interpersonal relations between family members in the 

home. IIH services are designed to promote 

psychoeducational benefits in the home setting of an 

individual who is at risk of being moved into an out-of-

home placement or who is being transitioned to home 

from an out-of-home placement due to a documented 

medical need of the individual. These services provide 

crisis treatment; individual and family counseling; 

communication skills (e.g., counseling to assist the 

individual and his parents or guardians, as appropriate, to 

understand and practice appropriate problem solving, 

anger management, and interpersonal interaction, etc.); 

care coordination with other required services; and 24-

hour emergency response.  

(1) These services shall be limited annually to 26 weeks. 

Service authorization shall be required for Medicaid 

reimbursement prior to the onset of services. Services 

rendered before the date of authorization shall not be 

reimbursed. 

(2) Service authorization shall be required for services to 

continue beyond the initial 26 weeks. 

(3) Service-specific provider intakes shall be required at 

the onset of services and ISPs shall be required during 

the entire duration of services. Services based upon 

incomplete, missing, or outdated service-specific 

provider intakes or ISPs shall be denied reimbursement. 

Requirements for service-specific provider intakes and 

ISPs are set out in this section. 

(4) These services may only be rendered by an LMHP, 

LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, a 

QMHP-C, or a QMHP-E. 

c. Therapeutic day treatment (TDT) shall be provided 

two or more hours per day in order to provide therapeutic 

interventions. Day treatment programs, limited annually 

to 780 units, provide evaluation; medication education 

and management; opportunities to learn and use daily 

living skills and to enhance social and interpersonal skills 

(e.g., problem solving, anger management, community 

responsibility, increased impulse control, and appropriate 

peer relations, etc.); and individual, group and family 

counseling.  

(1) Service authorization shall be required for Medicaid 

reimbursement. 

(2) Service-specific provider intakes shall be required at 

the onset of services and ISPs shall be required during 

the entire duration of services. Services based upon 

incomplete, missing, or outdated service-specific 

provider intakes or ISPs shall be denied reimbursement. 

Requirements for service-specific provider intakes and 

ISPs are set out in this section. 

(3) These services may be rendered only by an LMHP, 

LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, a 

QMHP-C, or a QMHP-E. 

d. Community-based services for children and 

adolescents under 21 years of age (Level A). 

(1) Such services shall be a combination of therapeutic 

services rendered in a residential setting. The residential 

services will provide structure for daily activities, 

psychoeducation, therapeutic supervision, care 

coordination, and psychiatric treatment to ensure the 

attainment of therapeutic mental health goals as 

identified in the individual service plan (plan of care). 

Individuals qualifying for this service must demonstrate 

medical necessity for the service arising from a condition 

due to mental, behavioral or emotional illness that results 

in significant functional impairments in major life 

activities in the home, school, at work, or in the 

community. The service must reasonably be expected to 

improve the child's condition or prevent regression so 

that the services will no longer be needed. The 

application of a national standardized set of medical 

necessity criteria in use in the industry, such as 

McKesson InterQual
®

 Criteria or an equivalent standard 

authorized in advance by DMAS, shall be required for 

this service. 
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(2) In addition to the residential services, the child must 

receive, at least weekly, individual psychotherapy that is 

provided by an LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-

resident, or LMHP-RP. 

(3) Individuals shall be discharged from this service 

when other less intensive services may achieve 

stabilization. 

(4) Authorization shall be required for Medicaid 

reimbursement. Services that were rendered before the 

date of service authorization shall not be reimbursed.  

(5) Room and board costs shall not be reimbursed. 

DMAS shall reimburse only for services provided in 

facilities or programs with no more than 16 beds. 

(6) These residential providers must be licensed by the 

Department of Social Services, Department of Juvenile 

Justice, or Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services under the Standards for 

Licensed Children's Residential Facilities (22VAC40-

151), Standards for Interim Regulation of Children's 

Residential Facilities (6VAC35-51), or Regulations for 

Children's Residential Facilities (12VAC35-46). 

(7) Daily progress notes shall document a minimum of 

seven psychoeducational activities per week. 

Psychoeducational programming must include, but is not 

limited to, development or maintenance of daily living 

skills, anger management, social skills, family living 

skills, communication skills, stress management, and any 

care coordination activities.  

(8) The facility/group home must coordinate services 

with other providers. Such care coordination shall be 

documented in the individual's medical record. The 

documentation shall include who was contacted, when 

the contact occurred, and what information was 

transmitted. 

(9) Service-specific provider intakes shall be required at 

the onset of services and ISPs shall be required during 

the entire duration of services. Services based upon 

incomplete, missing, or outdated service-specific 

provider intakes or ISPs shall be denied reimbursement. 

Requirements for intakes and ISPs are set out in 

12VAC30-60-61. 

(10) These services may only be rendered by an LMHP, 

LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, a 

QMHP-C, a QMHP-E, or a QPPMH. 

e. Therapeutic behavioral services (Level B). 

(1) Such services must be therapeutic services rendered 

in a residential setting that provides structure for daily 

activities, psychoeducation, therapeutic supervision, care 

coordination, and psychiatric treatment to ensure the 

attainment of therapeutic mental health goals as 

identified in the individual service plan (plan of care). 

Individuals qualifying for this service must demonstrate 

medical necessity for the service arising from a condition 

due to mental, behavioral or emotional illness that results 

in significant functional impairments in major life 

activities in the home, school, at work, or in the 

community. The service must reasonably be expected to 

improve the child's condition or prevent regression so 

that the services will no longer be needed. The 

application of a national standardized set of medical 

necessity criteria in use in the industry, such as 

McKesson InterQual
®
 Criteria, or an equivalent standard 

authorized in advance by DMAS shall be required for 

this service. 

(2) Authorization is required for Medicaid 

reimbursement. Services that are rendered before the date 

of service authorization shall not be reimbursed. 

(3) Room and board costs shall not be reimbursed. 

Facilities that only provide independent living services 

are not reimbursed. DMAS shall reimburse only for 

services provided in facilities or programs with no more 

than 16 beds.  

(4) These residential providers must be licensed by the 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services (DBHDS) under the Regulations for Children's 

Residential Facilities (12VAC35-46). 

(5) Daily progress notes shall document that a minimum 

of seven psychoeducational activities per week occurs. 

Psychoeducational programming must include, but is not 

limited to, development or maintenance of daily living 

skills, anger management, social skills, family living 

skills, communication skills, and stress management. 

This service may be provided in a program setting or a 

community-based group home.  

(6) The individual must receive, at least weekly, 

individual psychotherapy and, at least weekly, group 

psychotherapy that is provided as part of the program.  

(7) Individuals shall be discharged from this service 

when other less intensive services may achieve 

stabilization. 

(8) Service-specific provider intakes shall be required at 

the onset of services and ISPs shall be required during 

the entire duration of services. Services that are based 

upon incomplete, missing, or outdated service-specific 

provider intakes or ISPs shall be denied reimbursement. 

Requirements for intakes and ISPs are set out in 

12VAC30-60-61. 

(9) These services may only be rendered by an LMHP, 

LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, a 

QMHP-C, a QMHP-E, or a QPPMH. 

(10) The facility/group home shall coordinate necessary 

services with other providers. Documentation of this care 

coordination shall be maintained by the facility/group 

home in the individual's record. The documentation shall 

include who was contacted, when the contact occurred, 

and what information was transmitted. 
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6. Inpatient psychiatric services shall be covered for 

individuals younger than age 21 for medically necessary 

stays for the purpose of diagnosis and treatment of mental 

health and behavioral disorders identified under EPSDT 

when such services are rendered by: 

a. A psychiatric hospital or an inpatient psychiatric 

program in a hospital accredited by the Joint Commission 

on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations; or a 

psychiatric facility that is accredited by the Joint 

Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare 

Organizations, the Commission on Accreditation of 

Rehabilitation Facilities, the Council on Accreditation of 

Services for Families and Children or the Council on 

Quality and Leadership. 

b. Inpatient psychiatric hospital admissions at general 

acute care hospitals and freestanding psychiatric 

hospitals shall also be subject to the requirements of 

12VAC30-50-100, 12VAC30-50-105, and 12VAC30-60-

25. Inpatient psychiatric admissions to residential 

treatment facilities shall also be subject to the 

requirements of Part XIV (12VAC30-130-850 et seq.) of 

Amount, Duration and Scope of Selected Services. 

c. Inpatient psychiatric services are reimbursable only 

when the treatment program is fully in compliance with 

42 CFR Part 441 Subpart D, as contained in 42 CFR 

441.151 (a) and (b) and 441.152 through 441.156. Each 

admission must be preauthorized and the treatment must 

meet DMAS requirements for clinical necessity. 

7. Hearing aids shall be reimbursed for individuals younger 

than 21 years of age according to medical necessity when 

provided by practitioners licensed to engage in the practice 

of fitting or dealing in hearing aids under the Code of 

Virginia. 

8. Services facilitators shall be required for all consumer-

directed personal care services consistent with the 

requirements set out in 12VAC30-120-935. 

C. School health services. 

1. School health assistant services are repealed effective 

July 1, 2006. 

2. School divisions may provide routine well-child 

screening services under the State Plan. Diagnostic and 

treatment services that are otherwise covered under early 

and periodic screening, diagnosis and treatment services, 

shall not be covered for school divisions. School divisions 

to receive reimbursement for the screenings shall be 

enrolled with DMAS as clinic providers. 

a. Children enrolled in managed care organizations shall 

receive screenings from those organizations. School 

divisions shall not receive reimbursement for screenings 

from DMAS for these children. 

b. School-based services are listed in a recipient's 

individualized education program (IEP) and covered 

under one or more of the service categories described in 

§ 1905(a) of the Social Security Act. These services are 

necessary to correct or ameliorate defects of physical or 

mental illnesses or conditions. 

3. Service providers shall be licensed under the applicable 

state practice act or comparable licensing criteria by the 

Virginia Department of Education, and shall meet 

applicable qualifications under 42 CFR Part 440. 

Identification of defects, illnesses or conditions and 

services necessary to correct or ameliorate them shall be 

performed by practitioners qualified to make those 

determinations within their licensed scope of practice, 

either as a member of the IEP team or by a qualified 

practitioner outside the IEP team. 

a. Service providers shall be employed by the school 

division or under contract to the school division.  

b. Supervision of services by providers recognized in 

subdivision 4 of this subsection shall occur as allowed 

under federal regulations and consistent with Virginia 

law, regulations, and DMAS provider manuals.  

c. The services described in subdivision 4 of this 

subsection shall be delivered by school providers, but 

may also be available in the community from other 

providers. 

d. Services in this subsection are subject to utilization 

control as provided under 42 CFR Parts 455 and 456.  

e. The IEP shall determine whether or not the services 

described in subdivision 4 of this subsection are 

medically necessary and that the treatment prescribed is 

in accordance with standards of medical practice. 

Medical necessity is defined as services ordered by IEP 

providers. The IEP providers are qualified Medicaid 

providers to make the medical necessity determination in 

accordance with their scope of practice. The services 

must be described as to the amount, duration and scope.  

4. Covered services include: 

a. Physical therapy, occupational therapy and services for 

individuals with speech, hearing, and language disorders, 

performed by, or under the direction of, providers who 

meet the qualifications set forth at 42 CFR 440.110. This 

coverage includes audiology services. 

b. Skilled nursing services are covered under 42 CFR 

440.60. These services are to be rendered in accordance 

to the licensing standards and criteria of the Virginia 

Board of Nursing. Nursing services are to be provided by 

licensed registered nurses or licensed practical nurses but 

may be delegated by licensed registered nurses in 

accordance with the regulations of the Virginia Board of 

Nursing, especially the section on delegation of nursing 

tasks and procedures. The licensed practical nurse is 

under the supervision of a registered nurse.  

(1) The coverage of skilled nursing services shall be of a 

level of complexity and sophistication (based on 

assessment, planning, implementation and evaluation) 
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that is consistent with skilled nursing services when 

performed by a licensed registered nurse or a licensed 

practical nurse. These skilled nursing services shall 

include, but not necessarily be limited to dressing 

changes, maintaining patent airways, medication 

administration/monitoring and urinary catheterizations.  

(2) Skilled nursing services shall be directly and 

specifically related to an active, written plan of care 

developed by a registered nurse that is based on a written 

order from a physician, physician assistant or nurse 

practitioner for skilled nursing services. This order shall 

be recertified on an annual basis.  

c. Psychiatric and psychological services performed by 

licensed practitioners within the scope of practice are 

defined under state law or regulations and covered as 

physicians' services under 42 CFR 440.50 or medical or 

other remedial care under 42 CFR 440.60. These 

outpatient services include individual medical 

psychotherapy, group medical psychotherapy coverage, 

and family medical psychotherapy. Psychological and 

neuropsychological testing are allowed when done for 

purposes other than educational diagnosis, school 

admission, evaluation of an individual with intellectual 

disability prior to admission to a nursing facility, or any 

placement issue. These services are covered in the 

nonschool settings also. School providers who may 

render these services when licensed by the state include 

psychiatrists, licensed clinical psychologists, school 

psychologists, licensed clinical social workers, 

professional counselors, psychiatric clinical nurse 

specialist, marriage and family therapists, and school 

social workers. 

d. Personal care services are covered under 42 CFR 

440.167 and performed by persons qualified under this 

subsection. The personal care assistant is supervised by a 

DMAS recognized school-based health professional who 

is acting within the scope of licensure. This practitioner 

develops a written plan for meeting the needs of the 

child, which is implemented by the assistant. The 

assistant must have qualifications comparable to those 

for other personal care aides recognized by the Virginia 

Department of Medical Assistance Services. The 

assistant performs services such as assisting with 

toileting, ambulation, and eating. The assistant may serve 

as an aide on a specially adapted school vehicle that 

enables transportation to or from the school or school 

contracted provider on days when the student is receiving 

a Medicaid-covered service under the IEP. Children 

requiring an aide during transportation on a specially 

adapted vehicle shall have this stated in the IEP. 

e. Medical evaluation services are covered as physicians' 

services under 42 CFR 440.50 or as medical or other 

remedial care under 42 CFR 440.60. Persons performing 

these services shall be licensed physicians, physician 

assistants, or nurse practitioners. These practitioners shall 

identify the nature or extent of a child's medical or other 

health related condition.  

f. Transportation is covered as allowed under 42 CFR 

431.53 and described at State Plan Attachment 3.1-D. 

Transportation shall be rendered only by school division 

personnel or contractors. Transportation is covered for a 

child who requires transportation on a specially adapted 

school vehicle that enables transportation to or from the 

school or school contracted provider on days when the 

student is receiving a Medicaid-covered service under the 

IEP. Transportation shall be listed in the child's IEP. 

Children requiring an aide during transportation on a 

specially adapted vehicle shall have this stated in the IEP.  

g. Assessments are covered as necessary to assess or 

reassess the need for medical services in a child's IEP 

and shall be performed by any of the above licensed 

practitioners within the scope of practice. Assessments 

and reassessments not tied to medical needs of the child 

shall not be covered. 

5. DMAS will ensure through quality management review 

that duplication of services will be monitored. School 

divisions have a responsibility to ensure that if a child is 

receiving additional therapy outside of the school, that 

there will be coordination of services to avoid duplication 

of service.  

D. Family planning services and supplies for individuals of 

child-bearing age. 

1. Service must be ordered or prescribed and directed or 

performed within the scope of the license of a practitioner 

of the healing arts. 

2. Family planning services shall be defined as those 

services that delay or prevent pregnancy. Coverage of such 

services shall not include services to treat infertility nor 

services to promote fertility. 

Part VIII 

Individual and Family Developmental Disabilities Support 

Waiver 

Article 1 

General Requirements 

12VAC30-120-700. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this part shall 

have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Activities of daily living" or "ADL" means personal care 

tasks, e.g., bathing, dressing, toileting, transferring, and 

eating/feeding. An individual's degree of independence in 

performing these activities is a part of determining 

appropriate level of care and services. 

"Appeal" means the process used to challenge adverse 

actions regarding services, benefits, and reimbursement 

provided by Medicaid pursuant to 12VAC30-110, Eligibility 
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and Appeals, and 12VAC30-20-500 through 12VAC30-20-

560. 

"Assistive technology" means specialized medical 

equipment and supplies including those devices, controls, or 

appliances specified in the plan of care but not available 

under the State Plan for Medical Assistance that enable 

individuals to increase their abilities to perform activities of 

daily living, or to perceive, control, or communicate with the 

environment in which they live, or that are necessary to the 

proper functioning of the specialized equipment. 

"Behavioral health authority" or "BHA" means the local 

agency, established by a city or county or a combination of 

counties or cities or cities and counties under Chapter 6 

(§ 37.2-600 et seq.) of Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia, that 

plans, provides, and evaluates mental health, intellectual 

disability, and substance abuse services in the jurisdiction or 

jurisdictions it serves. 

"Case management" means services as defined in 

12VAC30-50-490. 

"Case manager" means the provider of case management 

services as defined in 12VAC30-50-490. 

"Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services" or "CMS" 

means the unit of the federal Department of Health and 

Human Services that administers the Medicare and Medicaid 

programs. 

"Community-based waiver services" or "waiver services" 

means a variety of home and community-based services paid 

for by DMAS as authorized under a § 1915(c) waiver 

designed to offer individuals an alternative to 

institutionalization. Individuals may be preauthorized to 

receive one or more of these services either solely or in 

combination, based on the documented need for the service or 

services to avoid ICF/IID placement. 

"Community services board" or "CSB" means the local 

agency, established by a city or county or combination of 

counties or cities, or cities and counties, under Chapter 5 

(§ 37.2-500 et seq.) of Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia, that 

plans, provides, and evaluates mental health, intellectual 

disability, and substance abuse services in the jurisdiction or 

jurisdictions it serves. 

"Companion" means, for the purpose of these regulations, a 

person who provides companion services. 

"Companion services" means nonmedical care, supervision, 

and socialization provided to an adult (age 18 years or older). 

The provision of companion services does not entail hands-on 

care. It is provided in accordance with a therapeutic goal in 

the plan of care and is not purely diversional in nature. 

"Consumer-directed attendant" or "CD attendant" means a 

person who provides, via the consumer-directed model of 

services, personal care, companion services, or respite care, 

or any combination of these three services, who is also 

exempt from workers' compensation. 

"Consumer-directed employee" or "CD employee" means, 

for purposes of these regulations, a person who provides, via 

the consumer-directed model of services, personal care, 

companion services, or respite care, or any combination of 

these three services, who is also exempt from workers' 

compensation. 

"Consumer-directed services" means personal care, 

companion services, or respite care services where the 

individual or his family/caregiver, as appropriate, is 

responsible for hiring, training, supervising, and firing of the 

employee or employees. 

"Consumer-directed (CD) services facilitator" means the 

provider enrolled with DMAS who is responsible for 

management training and review activities as required by 

DMAS for consumer-directed services. 

"Consumer-directed (CD) model of service" means the 

model of service delivery for which the individual enrolled in 

the waiver or the employer of record, as appropriate, is 

responsible for hiring, training, supervising, and firing of the 

person or persons who render the services that are reimbursed 

by DMAS. 

"Crisis stabilization" means direct intervention for persons 

with related conditions who are experiencing serious 

psychiatric or behavioral challenges, or both, that jeopardize 

their current community living situation. This service must 

provide temporary intensive services and supports that avert 

emergency psychiatric hospitalization or institutional 

placement or prevent other out-of-home placement. This 

service shall be designed to stabilize individuals and 

strengthen the current living situations so that individuals 

may be maintained in the community during and beyond the 

crisis period. 

"Current functional status" means an individual's degree of 

dependency in performing activities of daily living. 

"DARS" means the Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services.  

"DBHDS" means the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services.  

"DBHDS staff" means employees of DBHDS who provide 

technical assistance and review individual level of care 

criteria.  

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services. 

"DMAS staff" means DMAS employees who perform 

utilization review, preauthorize service type and intensity, and 

provide technical assistance. 

"DSS" means the Department of Social Services. 

"Day support" means training in intellectual, sensory, motor, 

and affective social development including awareness skills, 

sensory stimulation, use of appropriate behaviors and social 

skills, learning and problem solving, communication and self-

care, physical development, services and support activities. 
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These services take place outside of the individual's 

home/residence. 

"Direct marketing" means either (i) conducting directly or 

indirectly door-to-door, telephonic, or other "cold call" 

marketing of services at residences and provider sites; (ii) 

mailing directly; (iii) paying "finders' fees"; (iv) offering 

financial incentives, rewards, gifts, or special opportunities to 

eligible individuals or family/caregivers as inducements to 

use the providers' services; (v) continuous, periodic marketing 

activities to the same prospective individual or his 

family/caregiver, as appropriate, for example, monthly, 

quarterly, or annual giveaways as inducements to use the 

providers' services; or (vi) engaging in marketing activities 

that offer potential customers rebates or discounts in 

conjunction with the use of the providers' services or other 

benefits as a means of influencing the individual's or his 

family/caregiver's, as appropriate, use of the providers' 

services. 

"Employer of record" or "EOR" means the person who 

performs the functions of the employer in the consumer-

directed model of service delivery. The EOR may be the 

individual enrolled in the waiver, a family member, a 

caregiver, or another designated person. 

"Enroll" means that the individual has been determined by 

the IFDDS screening team to meet the eligibility 

requirements for the waiver, DBHDS has approved the 

individual's plan of care and has assigned an available slot to 

the individual, and DSS has determined the individual's 

Medicaid eligibility for home and community-based services. 

"Entrepreneurial model" means a small business employing 

eight or fewer individuals with disabilities on a shift and may 

involve interactions with the public and coworkers with 

disabilities. 

"Environmental modifications" means physical adaptations 

to a house, place of residence, primary vehicle or work site, 

when the work site modification exceeds reasonable 

accommodation requirements of the Americans with 

Disabilities Act, necessary to ensure individuals' health and 

safety or enable functioning with greater independence when 

the adaptation is not being used to bring a substandard 

dwelling up to minimum habitation standards and is of direct 

medical or remedial benefit to individuals. 

"EPSDT" means the Early Periodic Screening, Diagnosis 

and Treatment program administered by DMAS for children 

under the age of 21 years according to federal guidelines that 

prescribe specific preventive and treatment services for 

Medicaid-eligible children as defined in 12VAC30-50-130. 

"Face-to-face visit" means the case manager or service 

provider must meet with the individual in person and that the 

individual should be engaged in the visit to the maximum 

extent possible. 

"Family/caregiver training" means training and counseling 

services provided to families or caregivers of individuals 

receiving services in the IFDDS Waiver. 

"Fiscal agent" means an entity handling employment, 

payroll, and tax responsibilities on behalf of individuals who 

are receiving consumer-directed services. 

"Fiscal/employer agent" means a state agency or other entity 

as determined by DMAS that meets the requirements of 

42 CFR 441.484 and the Virginia Public Procurement Act 

(§ 2.2-4300 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).  

"Home" means, for purposes of the IFDDS Waiver, an 

apartment or single family dwelling in which no more than 

four individuals who require services live, with the exception 

of siblings living in the same dwelling with family. This does 

not include an assisted living facility or group home. 

"Home and community-based waiver services" means a 

variety of home and community-based services reimbursed by 

DMAS as authorized under a § 1915(c) waiver designed to 

offer individuals an alternative to institutionalization. 

Individuals may be preauthorized to receive one or more of 

these services either solely or in combination, based on the 

documented need for the service or services to avoid ICF/IID 

placement. 

"ICF/IID" means a facility or distinct part of a facility 

certified as meeting the federal certification regulations for an 

Intermediate Care Facility for Individuals with Intellectual 

Disabilities and persons with related conditions. These 

facilities must address the residents' total needs including 

physical, intellectual, social, emotional, and habilitation. An 

ICF/IID must provide active treatment, as that term is defined 

in 42 CFR 483.440(a). 

"IDEA" means the federal Individuals with Disabilities 

Education Act of 2004, 20 USC § 1400 et seq.  

"ID Waiver" means the Intellectual Disability waiver. 

"IFDDS screening team" means the persons employed by 

the entity under contract with DMAS who are responsible for 

performing level of care screenings for the IFDDS Waiver. 

"IFDDS Waiver," "IFDDS," or "DD" means the Individual 

and Family Developmental Disabilities Support Waiver. 

"In-home residential support services" means support 

provided primarily in the individual's home, which includes 

training, assistance, and specialized supervision to enable the 

individual to maintain or improve his health; assisting in 

performing individual care tasks; training in activities of daily 

living; training and use of community resources; providing 

life skills training; and adapting behavior to community and 

home-like environments. 

"Instrumental activities of daily living" or "IADL" means 

meal preparation, shopping, housekeeping, laundry, and 

money management.  

"Intellectual disability" or "ID" means a disability as defined 

by the American Association on Intellectual and 
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Developmental Disabilities (AAIDD) in the Intellectual 

Disability: Definition, Classification, and Systems of 

Supports (11th edition, 2010).  

"Participating provider" means an entity that meets the 

standards and requirements set forth by DMAS and has a 

current, signed provider participation agreement with DMAS. 

"Pend" means delaying the consideration of an individual's 

request for authorization of services until all required 

information is received by DMAS or by its authorized agent.  

"Person-centered planning" means a process, directed by the 

individual or his family/caregiver, as appropriate, intended to 

identify the strengths, capacities, preferences, needs and 

desired outcomes of the individual. 

"Personal care provider" means a participating provider that 

renders services to prevent or reduce inappropriate 

institutional care by providing eligible individuals with 

personal care aides to provide personal care services. 

"Personal care services" means long-term maintenance or a 

range of support services necessary to enable individuals 

enrolled in this waiver to remain in or return to the 

community rather than enter an Intermediate Care Facility for 

Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities. Personal care 

services include assistance with activities of daily living, 

instrumental activities of daily living, access to the 

community, medication or other medical needs, and 

monitoring health status and physical condition. This does not 

include skilled nursing services with the exception of skilled 

nursing tasks that may be delegated in accordance with 

18VAC90-20-420 through 18VAC90-20-460. 

"Personal emergency response system" or "PERS" means an 

electronic device that enables certain waiver individuals at 

high risk of institutionalization to secure help in an 

emergency. PERS services are limited to those individuals 

who live alone or are alone for significant parts of the day and 

who have no regular caregiver for extended periods of time, 

and who would otherwise require extensive routine 

supervision. 

"Plan of care" means a document the written plan developed 

by the individual or his family/caregiver, as appropriate, and 

the individual's case manager addressing all needs of 

individuals of home and community-based waiver services, in 

all life areas. Supporting documentation developed by waiver 

service providers is to be incorporated in the plan of care by 

the case manager. Factors to be considered when these plans 

are developed must include, but are not limited to, 

individuals' ages, levels of functioning, and preferences. 

"Preauthorized" means the service authorization agent has 

approved a service for initiation and reimbursement of the 

service by the service provider. 

"Primary caregiver" means the primary person who 

consistently assumes the role of providing direct care and 

support of the individual to live successfully in the 

community without compensation for such care. 

"Qualified developmental disabilities professional" or 

"QDDP" means a professional who (i) possesses at least one 

year of documented experience working directly with 

individuals who have related conditions; (ii) is one of the 

following: a doctor of medicine or osteopathy, a registered 

nurse, a provider holding at least a bachelor's degree in a 

human service field including, but not limited to, sociology, 

social work, special education, rehabilitation engineering, 

counseling or psychology, or a provider who has documented 

equivalent qualifications; and (iii) possesses the required 

Virginia or national license, registration, or certification in 

accordance with his profession, if applicable. 

"Related conditions" means those persons who have autism 

or who have a severe chronic disability that meets all of the 

following conditions identified in 42 CFR 435.1009: 

1. It is attributable to: 

a. Cerebral palsy or epilepsy; or 

b. Any other condition, other than mental illness, found 

to be closely related to intellectual disability because this 

condition results in impairment of general intellectual 

functioning or adaptive behavior similar to that of 

persons with intellectual disability, and requires 

treatment or services similar to those required for these 

persons. 

2. It is manifested before the person reaches age 22 years. 

3. It is likely to continue indefinitely. 

4. It results in substantial functional limitations in three or 

more of the following areas of major life activity: 

a. Self-care. 

b. Understanding and use of language. 

c. Learning. 

d. Mobility. 

e. Self-direction. 

f. Capacity for independent living. 

"Respite care" means services provided for unpaid 

caregivers of eligible individuals who are unable to care for 

themselves and are provided on an episodic or routine basis 

because of the absence of or need for relief of those unpaid 

persons who routinely provide the care. 

"Respite care provider" means a participating provider that 

renders services designed to prevent or reduce inappropriate 

institutional care by providing respite care services for unpaid 

caregivers of eligible individuals. 

"Screening" means the process conducted by the IFDDS 

screening team to evaluate the medical, nursing, and social 

needs of individuals referred for screening and to determine 

eligibility for an ICF/IID level of care. 

"Service authorization" means the designated DMAS 

contractor has authorized a service for initiation by the 

service provider. 
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"Services facilitation" means a service that assists the waiver 

individual (or family/caregiver, as appropriate) in arranging 

for directing, training, and managing services provided 

through the consumer-directed model of service. 

"Services facilitator" means a DMAS-enrolled provider or 

DMAS-designated entity or one who is employed by or 

contracts with a DMAS-enrolled services facilitator, who is 

responsible for supporting the individual and the individual's 

family/caregiver or EOR, as appropriate, by ensuring the 

development and monitoring of the plans of care for 

consumer-directed model of services, providing employee 

management training, and completing ongoing review 

activities as required by the DMAS-approved consumer-

directed model of services. "Services facilitator" shall be 

deemed to mean the same thing as "consumer-directed 

services facilitator."  

"Skilled nursing services" means nursing services (i) listed 

in the plan of care that do not meet home health criteria, (ii) 

required to prevent institutionalization, (iii) not otherwise 

available under the State Plan for Medical Assistance, (iv) 

provided within the scope of the state's Nursing Act (§ 54.1-

3000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) and Drug Control Act (§ 

54.1-3400 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), and (v) provided 

by a registered professional nurse or by a licensed practical 

nurse under the supervision of a registered nurse who is 

licensed to practice in the state. Skilled nursing services are to 

be used to provide training, consultation, nurse delegation as 

appropriate, and oversight of direct care staff as appropriate. 

"Slot" means an opening or vacancy of waiver services for 

an individual. 

"Specialized supervision" means staff presence necessary 

for ongoing or intermittent intervention to ensure an 

individual's health and safety. 

"State Plan for Medical Assistance" or "the State Plan" 

means the document containing the covered groups, covered 

services and their limitations, and provider reimbursement 

methodologies as provided for under Title XIX of the Social 

Security Act. 

"Supporting documentation" means the specific plan of care 

developed by the individual and waiver service provider 

related solely to the specific tasks required of that service 

provider. Supporting documentation helps to comprise the 

overall plan of care for the individual, developed by the case 

manager and the individual. 

"Supported employment" means work in settings in which 

persons without disabilities are typically employed. It 

includes training in specific skills related to paid employment 

and provision of ongoing or intermittent assistance and 

specialized supervision to enable an individual to maintain 

paid employment. 

"Therapeutic consultation" means consultation provided by 

members of psychology, social work, rehabilitation 

engineering, behavioral analysis, speech therapy, 

occupational therapy, psychiatry, psychiatric clinical nursing, 

therapeutic recreation, or physical therapy or behavior 

consultation to assist individuals, parents, family members, 

in-home residential support, day support, and any other 

providers of support services in implementing a plan of care. 

"Transition services" means set-up expenses for individuals 

who are transitioning from an institution or licensed or 

certified provider-operated living arrangement to a living 

arrangement in a private residence where the person is 

directly responsible for his or her own living expenses. 

12VAC30-120-2010 provides the service description, criteria, 

service units and limitations, and provider requirements for 

this service. 

"VDH" means the Virginia Department of Health. 

12VAC30-120-770. Consumer-directed model of service 

delivery. 

A. Criteria. 

1. The IFDDS Waiver has three services, companion, 

personal care, and respite services, that may be provided 

through a consumer-directed model. 

2. Individuals who are eligible for consumer-directed 

services must have the capability to hire, train, and fire 

their consumer-directed employees attendants and 

supervise the employee's attendant's work performance. If 

an individual is unable to direct his own care or is younger 

than 18 years of age, a family/caregiver may serve as the 

employer on behalf of the individual. 

3. Responsibilities as employer. The individual, or if the 

individual is unable, then a family/caregiver, is the 

employer in this service (employer of record (EOR)) and is 

responsible for hiring, training, supervising, and firing 

employees persons who perform CD attendant duties. 

Specific duties of the EOR include checking references of 

employees attendants, determining that employees 

attendants meet basic qualifications, training employees 

attendants, supervising the employees' attendants' 

performance, and submitting timesheets to the fiscal agent 

on a consistent and timely basis. The individual or his 

family/caregiver, as appropriate, must have an emergency 

back-up plan in case the employee CD attendant does not 

show up for work. 

4. DMAS shall contract for the services of a fiscal agent 

for consumer-directed personal care, companion, and 

respite care services. The fiscal agent will be paid by 

DMAS to perform certain tasks as an agent for the 

individual/employer who is receiving consumer-directed 

services. The fiscal agent will handle responsibilities for 

the individual for employment taxes. The fiscal agent will 

seek and obtain all necessary authorizations and approvals 

of the Internal Revenue Services in order to fulfill all of 

these duties. 

5. Individuals choosing consumer-directed services must 

shall receive support from a CD services facilitator. 
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Services facilitators assist the individual or his 

family/caregiver, as appropriate, as they become employers 

for consumer-directed services. This function includes 

providing the individual or his family/caregiver, as 

appropriate, with management training, review and 

explanation of the Employee Management EOR Manual, 

and routine visits to monitor the employment process. The 

CD services facilitator assists the individual/employer with 

employer issues as they arise. The services facilitator 

meeting the stated qualifications may shall also complete 

the assessments, reassessments, and related supporting 

documentation necessary for consumer-directed services if 

the individual or his family/caregiver, as appropriate, 

chooses for the CD services facilitator to perform these 

tasks rather than the case manager. Services facilitation 

services are provided on an as-needed basis as determined 

by the individual, family/caregiver, and CD services 

facilitator. This must be documented in the supporting 

documentation for consumer-directed services and the 

services facilitation provider bills accordingly. If an 

individual enrolled in consumer-directed services has a 

lapse in consumer-directed services for more than 60 

consecutive calendar days, the case manager shall notify 

DBHDS so that consumer-directed services may be 

discontinued and the option given to change to agency-

directed services. 

6. If the services facilitator is not an RN, then, within 30 

days from the start of such services, the services facilitator 

shall inform the primary health care provider for the 

individual enrolled in the waiver that consumer-directed 

services are being provided and request consultation with 

the primary health care provider, as needed. This shall be 

done after the services facilitator secures written 

permission from the individual to contact the primary 

health care provider. The documentation of this written 

permission to contact the primary health care provider shall 

be retained in the individual's medical record. All contacts 

with the primary health care provider shall be documented 

in the individual's medical record. 

B. Provider qualifications. In addition to meeting the general 

conditions and requirements for home and community-based 

care participating providers as specified in 12VAC30-120-

730 and 12VAC30-120-740, services facilitators providers 

must meet the following qualifications: 

1. To be enrolled as a Medicaid CD services facilitation 

provider and maintain provider status, the CD services 

facilitation provider must operate from a business office 

and have sufficient qualified staff who will function as CD 

services facilitators to perform the service facilitation and 

support activities as required. It is preferred that the 

employee of the CD services facilitation provider possess a 

minimum of an undergraduate degree in a human services 

field or be a registered nurse currently licensed to practice 

in the Commonwealth. In addition, it is preferable that the 

CD services facilitator has two years of satisfactory 

experience in the human services field working with 

individuals with related conditions. To be enrolled as a 

Medicaid consumer-directed services facilitator and 

maintain provider status, the services facilitator shall have 

sufficient knowledge, skills, and abilities to perform the 

activities required of such providers. In addition, the 

services facilitator shall have the ability to maintain and 

retain business and professional records sufficient to fully 

and accurately document the nature, scope, and details of 

the services provided. 

2. Effective January 11, 2016, all consumer-directed 

services facilitators shall: 

a. Have a satisfactory work record as evidenced by two 

references from prior job experiences from any human 

services work; such references shall not include any 

evidence of abuse, neglect, or exploitation of the elderly 

or persons with disabilities or children;  

b. Submit to a criminal background check being 

conducted. The results of such check shall contain no 

record of conviction of barrier crimes as set forth in 

§ 32.1-162.9:1 of the Code of Virginia. Proof that the 

criminal record check was conducted shall be maintained 

in the record of the services facilitator. In accordance 

with 12VAC3-80-130, DMAS shall not reimburse the 

provider for any services provided by a services 

facilitator who has been convicted of committing a 

barrier crime as set forth in § 32.1-162.9:1 of the Code of 

Virginia; 

c. Submit to a search of the DSS Child Protective 

Services Central Registry. Such search shall not contain a 

founded complaint; and 

d. Not be debarred, suspended, or otherwise excluded 

from participating in federal health care programs, as 

listed on the federal List of Excluded Individuals/Entities 

(LEIE) database at 

http://www.oig.hhs.gov/fraud/exclusions/exclusions_list.

asp; 

3. The services facilitator shall not be compensated for 

services provided to the individual enrolled in the waiver 

effective on the date in which the record check verifies that 

the services facilitator (i) has been convicted of a barrier 

crime described in § 32.1-162.9:1 of the Code of Virginia; 

(ii) has a founded complaint confirmed by the DSS Child 

Protective Services Central Registry; or (iii) is found to be 

listed on LEIE. 

4. Effective January 11, 2016, all consumer-directed 

services facilitators shall possess the required degree and 

experience, as follows: 

a. Prior to initial enrollment by the department as a 

consumer-directed services facilitator or being hired by a 

Medicaid-enrolled services facilitator provider, all new 

applicants shall possess, at a minimum, either (i) an 

associate's degree from an accredited college in a health 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+32.1-162.9C1
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+32.1-162.9C1
http://www.oig.hhs.gov/fraud/exclusions/exclusions_list.asp
http://www.oig.hhs.gov/fraud/exclusions/exclusions_list.asp
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or human services field or be a registered nurse currently 

licensed to practice in the Commonwealth and possess a 

minimum of two years of satisfactory direct care 

experience supporting individuals with disabilities or 

older adults; or (ii) a bachelor's degree in a non-health or 

human services field and possess a minimum of three 

years of satisfactory direct care experience supporting 

individuals with disabilities or older adults. 

b. Persons who are consumer-directed services 

facilitators prior to January 11, 2016, shall not be 

required to meet the degree and experience requirements 

of subdivision 4 a of this subsection unless required to 

submit a new application to be a consumer-directed 

services facilitator after January 11, 2016.  

5. Effective April 10, 2016, all consumer-directed services 

facilitators shall complete required training and 

competency assessments. Satisfactory competency 

assessment results shall be kept in the service facilitator's 

record.  

a. All new consumer-directed services facilitators shall 

complete the DMAS-approved consumer-directed 

services facilitator training and pass the corresponding 

competency assessment with a score of at least 80% prior 

to being enrolled and approved as a consumer-directed 

services facilitator.  

b. Persons who are consumer-directed services 

facilitators on January 11, 2016, shall be required to 

complete the DMAS-approved consumer-directed 

services facilitator training and pass the corresponding 

competency assessment with a score of at least 80% in 

order to continue being reimbursed for or working with 

waiver individuals for the purpose of Medicaid 

reimbursement.  

6. Failure to satisfy the competency assessment 

requirements and meet all other requirements shall result in 

the retraction of Medicaid payment or the termination of 

the provider agreement, or both, or require the termination 

of a consumer-directed services facilitator employed by or 

contracted with Medicaid enrolled services facilitators.  

7. As a component of the renewal of the Medicaid provider 

agreement, all consumer-directed services facilitators shall 

take and pass the competency assessment every five years 

and achieve a score of at least 80%.  

8. The consumer-directed services facilitator shall have 

access to a computer with secure Internet access that meets 

the requirements of 45 CFR Part 164 for the electronic 

exchange of information. Electronic exchange of 

information shall include, for example, checking individual 

eligibility, submission of service authorizations, 

submission of information to the fiscal/employer agent, 

and billing for services. 

2. 9. The CD services facilitator must possess a 

combination of work experience and relevant education 

that indicates possession of the following knowledge, 

skills, and abilities. Such knowledge, skills, and abilities 

must be documented on the application form, found in 

supporting documentation, or be observed during the job 

interview. Observations during the interview must be 

documented. The knowledge, skills, and abilities include: 

a. Knowledge of: 

(1) Various long-term care program requirements, 

including nursing home, ICF/IID, and assisted living 

facility placement criteria, Medicaid waiver services, and 

other federal, state, and local resources that provide 

personal care services; 

(2) DMAS consumer-directed services requirements, and 

the administrative duties for which the individual will be 

responsible; 

(3) Interviewing techniques; 

(4) The individual's right to make decisions about, direct 

the provisions of, and control his consumer-directed 

services, including hiring, training, managing, approving 

time sheets, and firing an employee attendant; 

(5) The principles of human behavior and interpersonal 

relationships; and 

(6) General principles of record documentation. 

(7) For CD services facilitators who also How to conduct 

assessments and reassessments, thus requiring the 

following is also required. Knowledge of additional 

knowledge: 

(a) Types of functional limitations and health problems 

that are common to different disability types and the 

aging process as well as strategies to reduce limitations 

and health problems; 

(b) Physical assistance typically required by people with 

developmental disabilities, such as transferring, bathing 

techniques, bowel and bladder care, and the approximate 

time those activities normally take; 

(c) Equipment and environmental modifications 

commonly used and required by people with 

developmental disabilities that reduces the need for 

human help and improves safety; and 

(d) Conducting assessments (including environmental, 

psychosocial, health, and functional factors) and their 

uses in care planning. 

b. Skills in: 

(1) Negotiating with individuals or their 

family/caregivers, as appropriate, and service providers; 

(2) Observing, recording, and reporting behaviors; 

(3) Identifying, developing, or providing services to 

persons with developmental disabilities; and 

(4) Identifying services within the established services 

system to meet the individual's needs. 

c. Abilities to: 
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(1) Report findings of the assessment or onsite visit, 

either in writing or an alternative format for persons who 

have visual impairments; 

(2) Demonstrate a positive regard for individuals and 

their families; 

(3) Be persistent and remain objective; 

(4) Work independently, performing position duties 

under general supervision; 

(5) Communicate effectively, orally and in writing;  

(6) Develop a rapport and communicate with different 

types of persons from diverse cultural backgrounds; and 

(7) Interview. 

3. If the CD services facilitator is not an RN, the CD 

services facilitator must inform the primary health care 

provider that services are being provided and request 

skilled nursing or other consultation as needed. 

4. 10. Initiation of services and service monitoring. 

a. If the services facilitator has responsibility for 

individual assessments and reassessments, these must be 

conducted as specified in 12VAC30-120-766 and 

12VAC30-120-776. 

b. Management training. 

(1) The CD services facilitation provider must facilitator 

shall make an initial comprehensive visit with the 

individual or his family/caregiver, as appropriate, to 

provide management training. The initial management 

training is done only once upon the individual's entry into 

the service. If an individual served under the waiver 

changes CD services facilitation providers, the new CD 

services facilitator must shall bill for a regular 

management training in lieu of initial management 

training. 

(2) After the initial visit, two routine visits must occur 

within 60 days of the initiation of care or the initial visit 

to monitor the employment process. 

(3) For personal care services, the CD services 

facilitation provider will continue to monitor on an as 

needed basis, not to exceed a maximum of one routine 

visit every 30 calendar days but no less than the 

minimum of one routine visit every 90 calendar days per 

individual. After the initial visit, the CD services 

facilitator will periodically review the utilization of 

companion services at a minimum of every six months 

and for respite services, either every six months or upon 

the use of 300 respite care hours, whichever comes first. 

5. 11. The CD services facilitator must shall be available to 

the individual or his family/caregiver, as appropriate, by 

telephone during normal business hours, have voice mail 

capability, and return phone calls within 24 hours or have 

an approved back-up CD services facilitator. 

6. 12. The CD services fiscal contractor for DMAS must 

contracted fiscal/employer agent shall submit a criminal 

record check within 15 calendar days of employment 

pertaining to the consumer-directed employees attendant 

on behalf of the individual or family/caregiver and report 

findings of the criminal record check to the individual or 

his family/caregiver, as appropriate. 

7. 13. The CD services facilitator shall verify bi-weekly 

timesheets signed by the individual or his family caregiver, 

as appropriate, employer of record and the employee 

attendant to ensure that the number of plan of care 

approved hours are not exceeded. If discrepancies are 

identified, the CD services facilitator must shall contact the 

individual or family/caregiver to resolve discrepancies and 

must shall notify the fiscal agent. If an individual is 

consistently being identified as having discrepancies in his 

timesheets, the CD services facilitator must shall contact 

the case manager to resolve the situation. Failure to 

conduct timesheet verifications and maintain the 

documentation of all verifications shall result in DMAS' 

recovery of payments made. 

8. 14. Consumer-directed employee attendant registry. The 

CD services facilitator must shall maintain a consumer-

directed employee attendant registry, updated on an 

ongoing basis. 

9. 15. Required documentation in individuals' records. CD 

services facilitators responsible for individual assessment 

and reassessment must shall maintain records as described 

in 12VAC30-120-766 and 12VAC30-120-776 and monitor 

them to ensure compliance with these requirements. For 

CD services facilitators conducting management training, 

the following documentation is required in the individual's 

record: 

a. All copies of the plan of care, all supporting 

documentation related to consumer-directed services, and 

all DMAS-225 forms. 

b. CD services facilitator's notes recorded and dated at 

the time of service delivery. 

c. All correspondence to the individual, to others 

concerning the individual, and to DMAS and DBHDS. 

d. All training provided to the consumer-directed 

employees on behalf of the individual or his 

family/caregiver, as appropriate. 

e. d. All management training provided to the individuals 

or his family/caregivers, as appropriate, EOR, including 

the responsibility for the accuracy of the timesheets. 

f. e. All documents signed by the individual or his 

family/caregiver, as appropriate, EOR that acknowledge 

the responsibilities of the services. 

f. Monitoring verifications shall be documented in the 

individual's medical record.  

Failure to conduct verifications and maintain the required 

documentation of all verifications and contacts with the 

individual and all health care providers about the individual 

shall result in DMAS' recovery of payments made. 
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Part IX  

Elderly or Disabled with Consumer Direction Waiver  

12VAC30-120-900. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this part shall 

have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Activities of daily living" or "ADLs" means personal care 

tasks such as bathing, dressing, toileting, transferring, and 

eating/feeding. An individual's degree of independence in 

performing these activities is a part of determining 

appropriate level of care and service needs.  

"Adult day health care " or "ADHC" means long-term 

maintenance or supportive services offered by a DMAS-

enrolled community-based day care program providing a 

variety of health, therapeutic, and social services designed to 

meet the specialized needs of those waiver individuals who 

are elderly or who have a disability and who are at risk of 

placement in a nursing facility (NF). The program shall be 

licensed by the Virginia Department of Social Services 

(VDSS) as an adult day care center (ADCC). The services 

offered by the center shall be required by the waiver 

individual in order to permit the individual to remain in his 

home rather than entering a nursing facility. ADHC can also 

refer to the center where this service is provided. 

"Agency-directed model of service" means a model of 

service delivery where an agency is responsible for  

providing direct support staff, for maintaining individuals' 

records, and for scheduling the dates and times of the direct 

support staff's presence in the individuals' homes for personal 

and respite care.  

"Americans with Disabilities Act" or "ADA" means the 

United States Code pursuant to 42 USC § 12101 et seq.  

"Annually" means a period of time covering 365 

consecutive calendar days or 366 consecutive days in the case 

of leap years. 

"Appeal" means the process used to challenge actions 

regarding services, benefits, and reimbursement provided by 

Medicaid pursuant to 12VAC30-110 and 12VAC30-20-500 

through 12VAC30-20-560.  

"Assistive technology" or "AT" means specialized medical 

equipment and supplies including those devices, controls, or 

appliances specified in the plan of care but not available 

under the State Plan for Medical Assistance that enable 

waiver individuals who are participating in the Money 

Follows the Person demonstration program pursuant to Part 

XX (12VAC30-120-2000 et seq.) to increase their abilities to 

perform activities of daily living or to perceive, control, or 

communicate with the environment in which they live, or that 

are necessary to the proper functioning of the specialized 

equipment.  

"Barrier crime" means those crimes as defined at § 32.1-

162.9:1 of the Code of Virginia that would prohibit the 

continuation of employment if a person is found through a 

Virginia State Police criminal record check to have been 

convicted of such a crime.  

"CMS" means the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 

Services, which is the unit of the U.S. Department of Health 

and Human Services that administers the Medicare and 

Medicaid programs.  

"Cognitive impairment" means a severe deficit in mental 

capability that affects a waiver individual's areas of 

functioning such as thought processes, problem solving, 

judgment, memory, or comprehension that interferes with 

such things as reality orientation, ability to care for self, 

ability to recognize danger to self or others, or impulse 

control.  

"Conservator" means a person appointed by a court to 

manage the estate and financial affairs of an incapacitated 

individual. 

"Consumer-directed attendant" means a person who 

provides, via the consumer-directed model of services, 

personal care, companion services, or respite care, or any 

combination of these three services, who is also exempt from 

workers' compensation. 

"Consumer-directed (CD) model of service" means the 

model of service delivery for which the waiver individual 

enrolled in the waiver or the individual's employer of record, 

as appropriate, are is responsible for hiring, training, 

supervising, and firing of the person or persons attendant or 

attendants who actually render the services that are 

reimbursed by DMAS. 

"Consumer-directed services facilitator," "CD services 

facilitator," or "facilitator" means the DMAS-enrolled 

provider who is responsible for supporting the individual and 

family/caregiver by ensuring the development and monitoring 

of the consumer-directed services plan of care, providing 

attendant management training, and completing ongoing 

review activities as required by DMAS for consumer-directed 

personal care and respite services.  

"DARS" means the Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services. 

"Day" means, for the purposes of reimbursement, a 24-hour 

period beginning at 12 a.m. and ending at 11:59 p.m. 

"DBHDS" means the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services.  

"Direct marketing" means any of the following: (i) 

conducting either directly or indirectly door-to-door, 

telephonic, or other "cold call" marketing of services at 

residences and provider sites; (ii) using direct mailing; (iii) 

paying "finders fees"; (iv) offering financial incentives, 

rewards, gifts, or special opportunities to eligible individuals 

or family/caregivers as inducements to use the providers' 

services; (v) providing continuous, periodic marketing 

activities to the same prospective individual or 

family/caregiver, for example, monthly, quarterly, or annual 

giveaways as inducements to use the providers' services; or 
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(vi) engaging in marketing activities that offer potential 

customers rebates or discounts in conjunction with the use of 

the providers' services or other benefits as a means of 

influencing the individual's or family/caregiver's use of the 

providers' services.  

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services.  

"DMAS staff" means persons employed by the Department 

of Medical Assistance Services.  

"Elderly or Disabled with Consumer Direction Waiver" or 

"EDCD Waiver" means the CMS-approved waiver that 

covers a range of community support services offered to 

waiver individuals who are elderly or who have a disability 

who would otherwise require a nursing facility level of care.  

"Employer of record" or "EOR" means the person who 

performs the functions of the employer in the consumer-

directed model of service delivery. The EOR may be the 

individual enrolled in the waiver, a family member, caregiver, 

or another person.  

"Environmental modifications" or "EM" means physical 

adaptations to an individual's primary home or primary 

vehicle or work site, when the work site modification exceeds 

reasonable accommodation requirements of the Americans 

with Disabilities Act (42 USC § 1201 et seq.), which are 

necessary to ensure the individual's health and safety or 

enable functioning with greater independence and shall be of 

direct medical or remedial benefit to individuals who are 

participating in the Money Follows the Person demonstration 

program pursuant to Part XX (12VAC30-120-2000 et seq.). 

Such physical adaptations shall not be authorized for 

Medicaid payment when the adaptation is being used to bring 

a substandard dwelling up to minimum habitation standards. 

"Fiscal/employer agent" means a state agency or other entity 

as determined by DMAS that meets the requirements of 42 

CFR 441.484 and the Virginia Public Procurement Act, § 2.2-

4300 et seq. of the Code of Virginia. 

"Guardian" means a person appointed by a court to manage 

the personal affairs of an incapacitated individual pursuant to 

Chapter 20 (§ 64.2-2000 et seq.) of Title 64.2 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

"Health, safety, and welfare standard" means, for the 

purposes of this waiver, that an individual's right to receive an 

EDCD Waiver service is dependent on a determination that 

the waiver individual needs the service based on appropriate 

assessment criteria and a written plan of care, including 

having a backup plan of care, that demonstrates medical 

necessity and that services can be safely provided in the 

community or through the model of care selected by the 

individual.  

"Home and community-based waiver services" or "waiver 

services" means the range of community support services 

approved by the CMS pursuant to § 1915(c) of the Social 

Security Act to be offered to individuals as an alternative to 

institutionalization. 

"Individual" means the person who has applied for and been 

approved to receive these waiver services.  

"Instrumental activities of daily living" or "IADLs" means 

tasks such as meal preparation, shopping, housekeeping and 

laundry. An individual's degree of independence in 

performing these activities is a part of determining 

appropriate service needs.  

"Level of care" or "LOC" means the specification of the 

minimum amount of assistance an individual requires in order 

to receive services in an institutional setting under the State 

Plan or to receive waiver services.  

"License" means proof of official or legal permission issued 

by the government for an entity or person to perform an 

activity or service such that, in the absence of an official 

license, the entity or person is debarred from performing the 

activity or service.  

"Licensed Practical Nurse" or "LPN" means a person who is 

licensed or holds multi-state licensure to practice nursing 

pursuant to Chapter 30 (§ 54.1-3000 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of 

the Code of Virginia.  

"Live-in caregiver" means a personal caregiver who resides 

in the same household as the individual who is receiving 

waiver services.  

"Long-term care" or "LTC" means a variety of services that 

help individuals with health or personal care needs and 

activities of daily living over a period of time. Long-term care 

can be provided in the home, in the community, or in various 

types of facilities, including nursing facilities and assisted 

living facilities.  

"Medicaid Long-Term Care (LTC) Communication Form" 

or "DMAS-225" means the form used by the long-term care 

provider to report information about changes in an 

individual's eligibility and financial circumstances.  

"Medication monitoring" means an electronic device, which 

is only available in conjunction with Personal Emergency 

Response Systems, that enables certain waiver individuals 

who are at risk of institutionalization to be reminded to take 

their medications at the correct dosages and times.  

"Money Follows the Person" or "MFP" means the 

demonstration program, as set out in 12VAC30-120-2000 and 

12VAC30-120-2010.  

"Participating provider" or "provider" means an entity that 

meets the standards and requirements set forth by DMAS and 

has a current, signed provider participation agreement, 

including managed care organizations, with DMAS.  

"Patient pay amount" means the portion of the individual's 

income that must be paid as his share of the long-term care 

services and is calculated by the local department of social 

services based on the individual's documented monthly 

income and permitted deductions. 
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"Personal care agency" means a participating provider that 

provides personal care services.  

"Personal care aide" or "aide" means a person employed by 

an agency who provides personal care or unskilled respite 

services. The aide shall have successfully completed an 

educational curriculum of at least 40 hours of study related to 

the needs of individuals who are either elderly or who have 

disabilities as further set out in 12VAC30-120-935. Such 

successful completion may be evidenced by the existence of a 

certificate of completion, which is provided to DMAS during 

provider audits, issued by the training entity. 

"Personal care attendant" or "attendant" means a person who 

provides personal care or respite services that are directed by 

a consumer, family member/caregiver, or employer of record 

under the CD model of service delivery.  

"Personal care services" means a range of support services 

necessary to enable the waiver individual to remain at or 

return home rather than enter a nursing facility and that 

includes assistance with activities of daily living (ADLs), 

instrumental activities of daily living (IADLs), access to the 

community, self-administration of medication, or other 

medical needs, supervision, and the monitoring of health 

status and physical condition. Personal care services shall be 

provided by aides, within the scope of their 

licenses/certificates, as appropriate, under the agency-directed 

model or by personal care attendants under the CD model of 

service delivery. 

"Personal emergency response system" or "PERS" means an 

electronic device and monitoring service that enables certain 

waiver individuals, who are at least 14 years of age, at risk of 

institutionalization to secure help in an emergency. PERS 

services shall be limited to those waiver individuals who live 

alone or who are alone for significant parts of the day and 

who have no regular caregiver for extended periods of time.  

"PERS provider" means a certified home health or a 

personal care agency, a durable medical equipment provider, 

a hospital, or a PERS manufacturer that has the responsibility 

to furnish, install, maintain, test, monitor, and service PERS 

equipment, direct services (i.e., installation, equipment 

maintenance, and services calls), and PERS monitoring. 

PERS providers may also provide medication monitoring.  

"Plan of care" or "POC" means the written plan developed 

collaboratively by the waiver individual and the waiver 

individual's family/caregiver, as appropriate, and the provider 

related solely to the specific services necessary for the 

individual to remain in the community while ensuring his 

health, safety, and welfare.  

"Preadmission screening" means the process to: (i) evaluate 

the functional, nursing, and social supports of individuals 

referred for preadmission screening for certain long-term care 

services requiring NF eligibility; (ii) assist individuals in 

determining what specific services the individuals need; (iii) 

evaluate whether a service or a combination of existing 

community services are available to meet the individuals' 

needs; and (iv) provide a list to individuals of appropriate 

providers for Medicaid-funded nursing facility or home and 

community-based care for those individuals who meet 

nursing facility level of care.  

"Preadmission Screening Team" means the entity contracted 

with DMAS that is responsible for performing preadmission 

screening pursuant to § 32.1-330 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Primary caregiver" means the person who consistently 

assumes the primary role of providing direct care and support 

of the waiver individual to live successfully in the community 

without receiving compensation for providing such care. Such 

person's name, if applicable, shall be documented by the RN 

or services facilitator in the waiver individual's record. 

Waiver individuals are not required to have a primary 

caregiver in order to participate in the EDCD waiver.  

"Registered nurse" or "RN" means a person who is licensed 

or who holds multi-state licensure privilege pursuant to 

Chapter 30 (§ 54.1-3000 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia to practice nursing. 

"Respite care agency" means a participating provider that 

renders respite services.  

"Respite services" means services provided to waiver 

individuals who are unable to care for themselves that are 

furnished on a short-term basis because of the absence of or 

need for the relief of the unpaid primary caregiver who 

normally provides the care. 

"Services facilitation" means a service that assists the waiver 

individual (or family/caregiver, as appropriate) for directing, 

training, and managing services provided through the 

consumer-directed model of service. 

"Services facilitator" means a DMAS-enrolled provider or 

DMAS-designated entity or one who is employed or 

contracted by a DMAS-enrolled services facilitator, who is 

responsible for supporting the individual and the individual's 

family/caregiver or EOR, as appropriate, by ensuring the 

development and monitoring of the CD services plans of care, 

providing attendant management training, and completing 

ongoing review activities as required by DMAS for 

consumer-directed personal care and respite services. 

"Services facilitator" shall be deemed to mean the same thing 

as "consumer-directed services facilitator." 

"Service authorization" or "Srv Auth" means the process of 

approving either by DMAS, its service authorization 

contractor, or DMAS-designated entity, for the purposes of 

reimbursement for a service for the individual before it is 

rendered or reimbursed. 

"Service authorization contractor" means DMAS or the 

entity that has been contracted by DMAS to perform service 

authorization for medically necessary Medicaid covered 

home and community-based services.  

"Services facilitation" means a service that assists the waiver 

individual (or family/caregiver, as appropriate) in arranging 
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for, directing, training, and managing services provided 

through the consumer-directed model of service.  

"Services facilitator" means a DMAS-enrolled provider or 

DMAS-designated entity that is responsible for supporting 

the individual and the individual's family/caregiver or EOR, 

as appropriate, by ensuring the development and monitoring 

of the CD services plans of care, providing employee 

management training, and completing ongoing review 

activities as required by DMAS for consumer-directed 

personal care and respite services. Services facilitator shall be 

deemed to mean the same thing as consumer-directed services 

facilitator. 

"Skilled respite services" means temporary skilled nursing 

services that are provided to waiver individuals who need 

such services and that are performed by a LPN for the relief 

of the unpaid primary caregiver who normally provides the 

care.  

"State Plan for Medical Assistance" or "State Plan" means 

the Commonwealth's legal document approved by CMS 

identifying the covered groups, covered services and their 

limitations, and provider reimbursement methodologies as 

provided for under Title XIX of the Social Security Act.  

"Transition coordinator" means the person defined in 

12VAC30-120-2000 who facilitates MFP transition. 

"Transition services" means set-up expenses for individuals 

as defined at 12VAC30-120-2010. 

"VDH" means the Virginia Department of Health. 

"VDSS" means the Virginia Department of Social Services.  

"Virginia Uniform Assessment Instrument" or "UAI" means 

the standardized multidimensional comprehensive assessment 

that is completed by the Preadmission Screening Team or 

approved hospital discharge planner that assesses an 

individual's physical health, mental health, and psycho/social 

and functional abilities to determine if the individual meets 

the nursing facility level of care.  

"Weekly" means a span of time covering seven consecutive 

calendar days. 

12VAC30-120-935. Participation standards for specific 

covered services. 

A. The personal care providers, respite care providers, 

ADHC providers, and CD services facilitators shall develop 

an individualized POC that addresses the waiver individual's 

service needs. Such plan shall be developed in collaboration 

with the waiver individual or the individual's 

family/caregiver/EOR, as appropriate.  

B. Agency providers shall employ appropriately licensed 

professional staff who can provide the covered waiver 

services required by the waiver individuals. Providers shall 

require that the supervising RN/LPN be available by phone at 

all times that the LPN/attendant and consumer-directed 

services facilitators, as appropriate, are providing services to 

the waiver individual. 

C. Agency staff (RN, LPNs, or aides) or CD employees 

(attendants) attendants shall not be reimbursed by DMAS for 

services rendered to waiver individuals when the agency staff 

or the CD employee attendant is either (i) the spouse of the 

waiver individual or (ii) the parent (biological, adoptive, legal 

guardian) or other legal guardian of the minor child waiver 

individual.  

1. Payment shall not be made for services furnished by 

other family members living under the same roof as the 

individual enrolled in the waiver receiving services unless 

there is objective written documentation completed by the 

services facilitator as to why there are no other providers 

available to render the personal services. The consumer-

directed services facilitator shall initially make this 

determination and document it fully in the individual's 

record. 

2. Family members who are approved to be reimbursed for 

providing personal services shall meet the same 

qualifications as all other CD attendants.  

D. Failure to provide the required services, conduct the 

required reviews, and meet the documentation standards as 

stated herein may result in DMAS charging audited providers 

with overpayments and requiring the return of the overpaid 

funds.  

E. In addition to meeting the general conditions and 

requirements, home and community-based services 

participating providers shall also meet the following 

requirements:  

1. ADHC services provider. In order to provide these 

services, the ADCC shall:  

a. Make available a copy of the current VDSS license for 

DMAS' review and verification purposes prior to the 

provider applicant's enrollment as a Medicaid provider; 

b. Adhere to VDSS' ADCC standards as defined in 

22VAC40-60 including, but not limited to, provision of 

activities for waiver individuals; and 

c. Employ the following:  

(1) A director who shall be responsible for overall 

management of the center's programs and employees 

pursuant to 22VAC40-60-320. The director shall be the 

provider contact person for DMAS and the designated 

Srv Auth contractor and shall be responsible for 

responding to communication from DMAS and the 

designated Srv Auth contractor. The director shall be 

responsible for ensuring the development of the POCs for 

waiver individuals. The director shall assign either 

himself, the activities director if there is one, RN, or 

therapist to act as the care coordinator for each waiver 

individual and shall document in the individual's medical 

record the identity of the care coordinator. The care 

coordinator shall be responsible for management of the 

waiver individual's POC and for its review with the 

program aides and any other staff, as necessary.  
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(2) A RN who shall be responsible for administering to 

and monitoring the health needs of waiver individuals. 

The RN may also contract with the center. The RN shall 

be responsible for the planning and implementation of 

the POC involving multiple services where specialized 

health care knowledge may be needed. The RN shall be 

present a minimum of eight hours each month at the 

center. DMAS may require the RN's presence at the 

center for more than this minimum standard depending 

on the number of waiver individuals who are in 

attendance and according to the medical and nursing 

needs of the waiver individuals who attend the center. 

Although DMAS does not require that the RN be a full-

time staff position, there shall be a RN available, either in 

person or by telephone, to the center's waiver individuals 

and staff during all times that the center is in operation. 

The RN shall be responsible for: 

(a) Providing periodic evaluation, at least every 90 days, 

of the nursing needs of each waiver individual;  

(b) Providing the nursing care and treatment as 

documented in individuals' POCs; and 

(c) Monitoring, recording, and administering of 

prescribed medications or supervising the waiver 

individual in self-administered medication. 

(3) Personal care aides who shall be responsible for 

overall care of waiver individuals such as assistance with 

ADLs, social/recreational activities, and other health and 

therapeutic-related activities. Each program aide hired by 

the provider shall be screened to ensure compliance with 

training and skill mastery qualifications required by 

DMAS. The aide shall, at a minimum, have the following 

qualifications:  

(a) Be 18 years of age or older;  

(b) Be able to read and write in English to the degree 

necessary to perform the tasks expected and create and 

maintain the required waiver individual documentation of 

services rendered;  

(c) Be physically able to perform the work and have the 

skills required to perform the tasks required in the waiver 

individual's POC; 

(d) Have a valid social security number issued to the 

program aide by the Social Security Administration;  

(e) Have satisfactorily completed an educational 

curriculum as set out in clauses (i), (ii), and (iii) of this 

subdivision E 1 c 3 (e). Documentation of successful 

completion shall be maintained in the aide's personnel 

file and be available for review by DMAS' staff. Prior to 

assigning a program aide to a waiver individual, the 

center shall ensure that the aide has either (i) registered 

with the Board of Nursing as a certified nurse aide; (ii) 

graduated from an approved educational curriculum as 

listed by the Board of Nursing; or (iii) completed the 

provider's educational curriculum, at least 40 hours in 

duration, as taught by an RN who is licensed in the 

Commonwealth or who holds a multi-state licensing 

privilege.  

(4) The ADHC coordinator who shall coordinate, 

pursuant to 22VAC40-60-695, the delivery of the 

activities and services as prescribed in the waiver 

individuals' POCs and keep such plans updated, record 

30-day progress notes concerning each waiver individual, 

and review the waiver individuals' daily records each 

week. If a waiver individual's condition changes more 

frequently, more frequent reviews and recording of 

progress notes shall be required to reflect the individual's 

changing condition.  

2. Recreation and social activities responsibilities. The 

center shall provide planned recreational and social 

activities suited to the waiver individuals' needs and 

interests and designed to encourage physical exercise, 

prevent deterioration of each waiver individual's condition, 

and stimulate social interaction.  

3. The center shall maintain all records of each Medicaid 

individual. These records shall be reviewed periodically by 

DMAS staff or its designated agent who is authorized by 

DMAS to review these files. At a minimum, these records 

shall contain, but shall not necessarily be limited to:  

a. DMAS required forms as specified in the center's 

provider-appropriate guidance documents;  

b. Interdisciplinary POCs developed, in collaboration 

with the waiver individual or family/caregiver, or both as 

may be appropriate, by the center's director, RN, and 

therapist, as may be appropriate, and any other relevant 

support persons;  

c. Documentation of interdisciplinary staff meetings that 

shall be held at least every three months to reassess each 

waiver individual and evaluate the adequacy of the POC 

and make any necessary revisions;  

d. At a minimum, 30-day goal-oriented progress notes 

recorded by the designated ADHC care coordinator. If a 

waiver individual's condition and treatment POC changes 

more often, progress notes shall be written more 

frequently than every 30 days;  

e. The daily record of services provided shall contain the 

specific services delivered by center staff. The record 

shall also contain the arrival and departure times of the 

waiver individual and shall be signed weekly by either 

the director, activities director, RN, or therapist 

employed by the center. The record shall be completed 

on a daily basis, neither before nor after the date of 

services delivery. At least once a week, a staff member 

shall chart significant comments regarding care given to 

the waiver individual. If the staff member writing 

comments is different from the staff signing the weekly 

record, that staff member shall sign the weekly 

comments. A copy of this record shall be given weekly to 
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the waiver individual or family/caregiver, and it shall 

also be maintained in the waiver individual-specific 

medical record; and 

f. All contacts shall be documented in the waiver 

individual's medical record, including correspondence 

made to and from the individual with family/caregivers, 

physicians, DMAS, the designated Srv Auth contractor, 

formal and informal services providers, and all other 

professionals related to the waiver individual's Medicaid 

services or medical care.  

F. Agency-directed personal care services. The personal care 

provider agency shall hire or contract with and directly 

supervise a RN who provides ongoing supervision of all 

personal care aides and LPNs. LPNs may supervise, pursuant 

to their licenses, personal care aides based upon RN 

assessment of the waiver individuals' health, safety, and 

welfare needs. 

1. The RN supervisor shall make an initial home 

assessment visit on or before the start of care for all 

individuals admitted to personal care, when a waiver 

individual is readmitted after being discharged from 

services, or if he is transferred from another provider, 

ADHC, or from a CD services program.  

2. During a home visit, the RN supervisor shall evaluate, at 

least every 90 days, the LPN supervisor's performance and 

the waiver individual's needs to ensure the LPN 

supervisor's abilities to function competently and shall 

provide training as necessary. This shall be documented in 

the waiver individual's record. A reassessment of the 

individual's needs and review of the POC shall be 

performed and documented during these visits.  

3. The RN/LPN supervisor shall also make supervisory 

visits based on the assessment and evaluation of the care 

needs of waiver individuals as often as needed and as 

defined in this subdivision to ensure both quality and 

appropriateness of services.  

a. The personal care provider agency shall have the 

responsibility of determining when supervisory visits are 

appropriate for the waiver individual's health, safety, and 

welfare. Supervisory visits shall be at least every 90 

days. This determination must be documented in the 

waiver individuals' records by the RN on the initial 

assessment and in the ongoing assessment records.  

b. If DMAS determines that the waiver individual's 

health, safety, or welfare is in jeopardy, DMAS may 

require the provider's RN or LPN supervisor to supervise 

the personal care aides more frequently than once every 

90 days. These visits shall be conducted at this 

designated increased frequency until DMAS determines 

that the waiver individual's health, safety, or welfare is 

no longer in jeopardy. This shall be documented by the 

provider and entered into the individual's record. 

c. During visits to the waiver individual's home, the 

RN/LPN supervisor shall observe, evaluate, and 

document the adequacy and appropriateness of personal 

care services with regard to the individual's current 

functioning status and medical and social needs. The 

personal care aide's record shall be reviewed and the 

waiver individual's or family's/caregiver's, or both, 

satisfaction with the type and amount of services 

discussed.  

d. If the supervising RN/LPN must be delayed in 

conducting the regular supervisory visit, such delay shall 

be documented in the waiver individual's record with the 

reasons for the delay. Such supervisory visits shall be 

conducted within 15 calendar days of the waiver 

individual's first availability. 

e. A RN/LPN supervisor shall be available to the 

personal care aide for conferences pertaining to waiver 

individuals being served by the aide. 

(1) The RN/LPN supervisor shall be available to the aide 

by telephone at all times that the aide is providing 

services to waiver individuals.  

(2) The RN/LPN supervisor shall evaluate the personal 

care aide's performance and the waiver individual's needs 

to identify any insufficiencies in the personal care aide's 

abilities to function competently and shall provide 

training as indicated. This shall be documented in the 

waiver individual's record.  

f. Licensed practical nurses (LPNs). As permitted by his 

license, the LPN may supervise personal care aides. To 

ensure both quality and appropriateness of services, the 

LPN supervisor shall make supervisory visits of the aides 

as often as needed, but no fewer visits than provided in 

waiver individuals' POCs as developed by the RN in 

collaboration with individuals and the individuals' 

family/caregivers, or both, as appropriate. 

(1) During visits to the waiver individual's home, a LPN-

supervisor shall observe, evaluate, and document the 

adequacy and appropriateness of personal care services, 

the individual's current functioning status and social 

needs. The personal care aide's record shall be reviewed 

and the waiver individual's or family/caregiver's, or both, 

satisfaction with the type and amount of services 

discussed. 

(2) The LPN supervisor shall evaluate the personal care 

aide's performance and the waiver individual's needs to 

identify any insufficiencies in the aide's abilities to 

function competently and shall provide training as 

required to resolve the insufficiencies. This shall be 

documented in the waiver individual's record and 

reported to the RN supervisor. 

(3) An LPN supervisor shall be available to personal care 

aides for conferences pertaining to waiver individuals 

being served by them.  
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g. Personal care aides. The agency provider may employ 

and the RN/LPN supervisor shall directly supervise 

personal care aides who provide direct care to waiver 

individuals. Each aide hired to provide personal care 

shall be evaluated by the provider agency to ensure 

compliance with qualifications and skills required by 

DMAS pursuant to 12VAC30-120-930. 

4. Payment shall not be made for services furnished by 

family members or caregivers who are living under the 

same roof as the waiver individual receiving services, 

unless there is objective written documentation as to why 

there are no other providers or aides available to provide 

the care. The provider shall initially make this 

determination and document it fully in the waiver 

individual's record.  

5. Required documentation for waiver individuals' records. 

The provider shall maintain all records for each individual 

receiving personal care services. These records shall be 

separate from those of non-home and community-based 

care services, such as companion or home health services. 

These records shall be reviewed periodically by DMAS or 

its designated agent. At a minimum, the record shall 

contain:  

a. All personal care aides' records (DMAS-90) to include 

(i) the specific services delivered to the waiver individual 

by the aide; (ii) the personal care aide's actual daily 

arrival and departure times; (iii) the aide's weekly 

comments or observations about the waiver individual, 

including observations of the individual's physical and 

emotional condition, daily activities, and responses to 

services rendered; and (iv) any other information 

appropriate and relevant to the waiver individual's care 

and need for services.  

b. The personal care aide's and individual's or responsible 

caregiver's signatures, including the date, shall be 

recorded on these records verifying that personal care 

services have been rendered during the week of the 

service delivery. 

(1) An employee of the provider shall not sign for the 

waiver individual unless he is a family member or unpaid 

caregiver of the waiver individual.  

(2) Signatures, times, and dates shall not be placed on the 

personal care aide record earlier than the last day of the 

week in which services were provided nor later than 

seven calendar days from the date of the last service. 

G. Agency-directed respite care services. 

1. To be approved as a respite care provider with DMAS, 

the respite care agency provider shall:  

a. Employ or contract with and directly supervise either a 

RN or LPN, or both, who will provide ongoing 

supervision of all respite care aides/LPNs, as appropriate. 

A RN shall provide supervision to all direct care and 

supervisory LPNs. 

(1) When respite care services are received on a routine 

basis, the minimum acceptable frequency of the required 

RN/LPN supervisor's visits shall not exceed every 90 

days, based on the initial assessment. If an individual is 

also receiving personal care services, the respite care 

RN/LPN supervisory visit may coincide with the 

personal care RN/LPN supervisory visits. However, the 

RN/LPN supervisor shall document supervision of 

respite care separately from the personal care 

documentation. For this purpose, the same individual 

record may be used with a separate section for respite 

care documentation.  

(2) When respite care services are not received on a 

routine basis but are episodic in nature, a RN/LPN 

supervisor shall conduct the home supervisory visit with 

the aide/LPN on or before the start of care. The RN/LPN 

shall review the utilization of respite services either every 

six months or upon the use of half of the approved respite 

hours, whichever comes first. If a waiver individual is 

also receiving personal care services, the respite care 

RN/LPN supervisory visit may coincide with the 

personal care RN/LPN supervisory visit. 

(3) During visits to the waiver individual's home, the 

RN/LPN supervisor shall observe, evaluate, and 

document the adequacy and appropriateness of respite 

care services to the waiver individual's current 

functioning status and medical and social needs. The 

aide's/LPN's record shall be reviewed along with the 

waiver individual's or family's/caregiver's, or both, 

satisfaction with the type and amount of services 

discussed.  

(4) Should the required RN/LPN supervisory visit be 

delayed, the reason for the delay shall be documented in 

the waiver individual's record. This visit shall be 

completed within 15 days of the waiver individual's first 

availability. 

b. Employ or contract with aides to provide respite care 

services who shall meet the same education and training 

requirements as personal care aides.  

c. Not hire respite care aides for DMAS' reimbursement 

for services that are rendered to waiver individuals when 

the aide is either (i) the spouse of the waiver individual 

or (ii) the parent (biological, adoptive, legal guardian) or 

other guardian of the minor child waiver individual. 

d. Employ an LPN to perform skilled respite care 

services. Such services shall be reimbursed by DMAS 

under the following circumstances:  

(1) The waiver individual shall have a documented need 

for routine skilled respite care that cannot be provided by 

unlicensed personnel, such as an aide. These waiver 

individuals would typically require a skilled level of care 

involving, for example but not necessarily limited to, 

ventilators for assistance with breathing or either 

nasogastric or gastrostomy feedings;  
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(2) No other person in the waiver individual's support 

system is willing and able to supply the skilled 

component of the individual's care during the primary 

caregiver's absence; and  

(3) The waiver individual is unable to receive skilled 

nursing visits from any other source that could provide 

the skilled care usually given by the caregiver.  

e. Document in the waiver individual's record the 

circumstances that require the provision of services by an 

LPN. At the time of the LPN's service, the LPN shall also 

provide all of the services normally provided by an aide.  

2. Payment shall not be made for services furnished by 

other family members or caregivers who are living under 

the same roof as the waiver individual receiving services 

unless there is objective written documentation as to why 

there are no other providers or aides available to provide 

the care. The provider shall initially make this 

determination and document it fully in the waiver 

individual's record. 

3. Required documentation for waiver individuals' records. 

The provider shall maintain all records for each waiver 

individual receiving respite services. These records shall be 

separate from those of non-home and community-based 

care services, such as companion or home health services. 

These records shall be reviewed periodically either by the 

DMAS staff or a contracted entity who is authorized by 

DMAS to review these files. At a minimum these records 

shall contain:  

a. Forms as specified in the DMAS guidance documents.  

b. All respite care LPN/aide records shall contain:  

(1) The specific services delivered to the waiver 

individual by the LPN/aide; 

(2) The respite care LPN's/aide's daily arrival and 

departure times; 

(3) Comments or observations recorded weekly about the 

waiver individual. LPN/aide comments shall include, but 

shall not be limited to, observation of the waiver 

individual's physical and emotional condition, daily 

activities, the individual's response to services rendered, 

and documentation of vital signs if taken as part of the 

POC. 

c. All respite care LPN records (DMAS-90A) shall be 

reviewed and signed by the supervising RN and shall 

contain: 

(1) The respite care LPN/aide's and waiver individual's or 

responsible family/caregiver's signatures, including the 

date, verifying that respite care services have been 

rendered during the week of service delivery as 

documented in the record. 

(2) An employee of the provider shall not sign for the 

waiver individual unless he is a family member or unpaid 

caregiver of the waiver individual.  

(3) Signatures, times, and dates shall not be placed on the 

respite care LPN/aide record earlier than the last day of 

the week in which services were provided. Nor shall 

signatures be placed on the respite care LPN/aide records 

later than seven calendar days from the date of the last 

service. 

H. Consumer-directed (CD) services facilitation for personal 

care and respite services. 

1. Any services rendered by attendants prior to dates 

authorized by DMAS or the Srv Auth contractor shall not 

be eligible for Medicaid reimbursement and shall be the 

responsibility of the waiver individual. 

2. The CD services facilitator shall meet the following 

qualifications:  

a. To be enrolled as a Medicaid CD services facilitator 

and maintain provider status, the CD services facilitator 

shall have sufficient knowledge, skills, and abilities to 

perform the activities required of such providers. In 

addition, the CD services facilitator shall have the ability 

to maintain and retain business and professional records 

sufficient to fully and accurately document the nature, 

scope, and details of the services provided.  

b. It is preferred that the CD services facilitator possess, 

at a minimum, an undergraduate degree in a human 

services field or be a registered nurse currently licensed 

to practice in the Commonwealth. In addition, it is 

preferable that the CD services facilitator have at least 

two years of satisfactory experience in a human services 

field working with individuals who are disabled or 

elderly. The CD services facilitator must possess a 

combination of work experience and relevant education 

that indicates possession of the following knowledge, 

skills, and abilities described below in this subdivision H 

2 b. Such knowledge, skills, and abilities must be 

documented on the CD services facilitator's application 

form, found in supporting documentation, or be observed 

during a job interview. Observations during the interview 

must be documented. The knowledge, skills, and abilities 

include:  

(1) Knowledge of:  

(a) Types of functional limitations and health problems 

that may occur in individuals who are elderly or 

individuals with disabilities, as well as strategies to 

reduce limitations and health problems;  

(b) Physical care that may be required by individuals 

who are elderly or individuals with disabilities, such as 

transferring, bathing techniques, bowel and bladder care, 

and the approximate time those activities normally take;  

(c) Equipment and environmental modifications that may 

be required by individuals who are elderly or individuals 

with disabilities that reduce the need for human help and 

improve safety;  
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(d) Various long-term care program requirements, 

including nursing facility and assisted living facility 

placement criteria, Medicaid waiver services, and other 

federal, state, and local resources that provide personal 

care and respite services;  

(e) Elderly or Disabled with Consumer-Direction Waiver 

requirements, as well as the administrative duties for 

which the services facilitator will be responsible;  

(f) How to conduct assessments (including 

environmental, psychosocial, health, and functional 

factors) and their uses in services planning;  

(g) Interviewing techniques;  

(h) The individual's right to make decisions about, direct 

the provisions of, and control his consumer-directed 

services, including hiring, training, managing, approving 

time sheets of, and firing an aide;  

(i) The principles of human behavior and interpersonal 

relationships; and  

(j) General principles of record documentation.  

(2) Skills in:  

(a) Negotiating with individuals, family/caregivers, and 

service providers;  

(b) Assessing, supporting, observing, recording, and 

reporting behaviors;  

(c) Identifying, developing, or providing services to 

individuals who are elderly or individuals with 

disabilities; and  

(d) Identifying services within the established services 

system to meet the individual's needs.  

(3) Abilities to:  

(a) Report findings of the assessment or onsite visit, 

either in writing or an alternative format for individuals 

who have visual impairments;  

(b) Demonstrate a positive regard for individuals and 

their families;  

(c) Be persistent and remain objective;  

(d) Work independently, performing position duties 

under general supervision;  

(e) Communicate effectively orally and in writing; and  

(f) Develop a rapport and communicate with individuals 

from diverse cultural backgrounds. 

c. If the CD services facilitator is not a RN, the CD 

services facilitator shall inform the waiver individual's 

primary health care provider that services are being 

provided and request consultation as needed. These 

contacts shall be documented in the waiver individual's 

record. 

3. Initiation of services and service monitoring.  

a. For CD services, the CD services facilitator shall make 

an initial comprehensive in-home visit at the primary 

residence of the waiver individual to collaborate with the 

waiver individual or family/caregiver to identify the 

needs, assist in the development of the POC with the 

waiver individual or family/caregiver, as appropriate, and 

provide employer of record (EOR) employee 

management training within seven days of the initial 

visit. The initial comprehensive home visit shall be 

conducted only once upon the waiver individual's entry 

into CD services. If the waiver individual changes, either 

voluntarily or involuntarily, the CD services facilitator, 

the new CD services facilitator must complete a 

reassessment visit in lieu of an initial comprehensive 

visit.  

b. After the initial comprehensive visit, the CD services 

facilitator shall continue to monitor the POC on an as-

needed basis, but in no event less frequently than every 

90 days for personal care, and shall conduct face-to-face 

meetings with the waiver individual and may include the 

family/caregiver. The CD services facilitator shall review 

the utilization of CD respite services, either every six 

months or upon the use of half of the approved respite 

services hours, whichever comes first, and shall conduct 

a face-to-face meeting with the waiver individual and 

may include the family/caregiver.  

c. During visits with the waiver individual, the CD 

services facilitator shall observe, evaluate, and consult 

with the individual/EOR and may include the 

family/caregiver, and document the adequacy and 

appropriateness of CD services with regard to the waiver 

individual's current functioning, cognitive status, and 

medical and social needs. The CD services facilitator's 

written summary of the visit shall include, but shall not 

necessarily be limited to:  

(1) A discussion with the waiver individual or 

family/caregiver/EOR concerning whether the service is 

adequate to meet the waiver individual's needs;  

(2) Any suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation and to 

whom it was reported;  

(3) Any special tasks performed by the attendant and the 

attendant's qualifications to perform these tasks;  

(4) The waiver individual's or family/caregiver's/EOR's 

satisfaction with the service;  

(5) Any hospitalization or change in medical condition, 

functioning, or cognitive status; and  

(6) The presence or absence of the attendant in the home 

during the CD services facilitator's visit.  

4. DMAS, its designated contractor, or the fiscal/employer 

agent shall request a criminal record check and a check of 

the VDSS Child Protective Services Central Registry if the 

waiver individual is a minor child, in accordance with 

12VAC30-120-930, pertaining to the attendant on behalf of 

the waiver individual and report findings of these records 

checks to the EOR.  
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5. The CD services facilitator shall review copies of 

timesheets during the face-to-face visits to ensure that the 

hours approved in the POC are being provided and are not 

exceeded. If discrepancies are identified, the CD services 

facilitator shall discuss these with the waiver individual or 

EOR to resolve discrepancies and shall notify the 

fiscal/employer agent. The CD services facilitator shall 

also review the waiver individual's POC to ensure that the 

waiver individual's needs are being met. 

6. The CD services facilitator shall maintain records of 

each waiver individual that he serves. At a minimum, these 

records shall contain:  

a. Results of the initial comprehensive home visit 

completed prior to or on the date services are initiated 

and subsequent reassessments and changes to the 

supporting documentation;  

b. The personal care POC. Such plans shall be reviewed 

by the provider every 90 days, annually, and more often 

as needed, and modified as appropriate. The respite 

services POC shall be included in the record and shall be 

reviewed by the provider every six months or when half 

of the approved respite service hours have been used 

whichever comes first. For the annual review and in 

cases where either the personal care or respite care POC 

is modified, the POC shall be reviewed with the waiver 

individual, the family/caregiver, and EOR, as 

appropriate;  

c. CD services facilitator's dated notes documenting any 

contacts with the waiver individual or 

family/caregiver/EOR and visits to the individual;  

d. All contacts, including correspondence, made to and 

from the waiver individual, EOR, family/caregiver, 

physicians, DMAS, the designated Srv Auth contractor, 

formal and informal services provider, and all other 

professionals related to the individual's Medicaid 

services or medical care;  

e. All employer management training provided to the 

waiver individual or EOR to include, but not necessarily 

be limited to (i) the individual's or EOR's receipt of 

training on their responsibilities for the accuracy of the 

attendant's timesheets and (ii) the availability of the 

Consumer-Directed Waiver Services Employer Manual 

available at www.dmas.virginia.gov;  

f. All documents signed by the waiver individual or 

EOR, as appropriate, that acknowledge the 

responsibilities as the employer; and  

g. The DMAS required forms as specified in the agency's 

waiver-specific guidance document. 

7. Payment shall not be made for services furnished by 

other family members or caregivers who are living under 

the same roof as the waiver individual receiving services 

unless there is objective written documentation by the CD 

services facilitator as to why there are no other providers or 

aides available to provide the required care.  

8. In instances when either the waiver individual is 

consistently unable to hire and retain the employment of a 

personal care attendant to provide CD personal care or 

respite services such as, but not limited to, a pattern of 

discrepancies with the attendant's timesheets, the CD 

services facilitator shall make arrangements, after 

conferring with DMAS, to have the needed services 

transferred to an agency-directed services provider of the 

individual's choice or discuss with the waiver individual or 

family/caregiver/EOR, or both, other service options. 

9. Waiver individual responsibilities.  

a. The waiver individual shall be authorized for CD 

services and the EOR shall successfully complete 

consumer/employee-management training performed by 

the CD services facilitator before the individual shall be 

permitted to hire an attendant for Medicaid 

reimbursement. Any services that may be rendered by an 

attendant prior to authorization by Medicaid shall not be 

eligible for reimbursement by Medicaid. Waiver 

individuals who are eligible for CD services shall have 

the capability to hire and train their own attendants and 

supervise the attendants' performance. Waiver 

individuals may have a family/caregiver or other 

designated person serve as the EOR on their behalf. The 

EOR shall be prohibited from also being the Medicaid-

reimbursed attendant for respite or personal care or the 

services facilitator for the waiver individual. 

b. Waiver individuals shall acknowledge that they will 

not knowingly continue to accept CD personal care 

services when the service is no longer appropriate or 

necessary for their care needs and shall inform the 

services facilitator of their change in care needs. If CD 

services continue after services have been terminated by 

DMAS or the designated Srv Auth contractor, the waiver 

individual shall be held liable for attendant 

compensation.  

c. Waiver individuals shall notify the CD services 

facilitator of all hospitalizations or admissions, such as 

but not necessarily limited to, any rehabilitation facility, 

rehabilitation unit, or NF as CD attendant services shall 

not be reimbursed during such admissions. Failure to do 

so may result in the waiver individual being held liable 

for attendant compensation.  

d. Waiver individuals shall not employ attendants for 

DMAS reimbursement for services rendered to 

themselves when the attendant is the (i) spouse of the 

waiver individual; (ii) parent (biological, adoptive, legal 

guardian) or other guardian of the minor child waiver 

individual; or (iii) family/caregiver or caregivers/EOR 

who may be directing the waiver individual's care.  
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H. Consumer-directed (CD) services facilitation for personal 

care and respite services. 

1. Any services rendered by attendants prior to dates 

authorized by DMAS or the service authorization 

contractor shall not be eligible for Medicaid 

reimbursement and shall be the responsibility of the waiver 

individual. 

2. If the services facilitator is not an RN, then the services 

facilitator shall inform the primary health care provider for 

the individual who is enrolled in the waiver that services 

are being provided within 30 days from the start of such 

services and request consultation with the primary health 

care provider, as needed. This shall be done after the 

services facilitator secures written permission from the 

individual to contact the primary health care provider. The 

documentation of this written permission to contact the 

primary health care provider shall be retained in the 

individual's medical record. All contacts with the primary 

health care provider shall be documented in the 

individual's medical record. 

3. The consumer-directed services facilitator, whether 

employed or contracted by a DMAS enrolled services 

facilitator, shall meet the following qualifications:  

a. To be enrolled as a Medicaid consumer-directed 

services facilitator and maintain provider status, the 

consumer-directed services facilitator shall have 

sufficient knowledge, skills, and abilities to perform the 

activities required of such providers. In addition, the 

consumer-directed services facilitator shall have the 

ability to maintain and retain business and professional 

records sufficient to fully and accurately document the 

nature, scope, and details of the services provided.  

b. Effective January 11, 2016, all consumer-directed 

services facilitators shall: 

(1) Have a satisfactory work record as evidenced by two 

references from prior job experiences from any human 

services work; such references shall not include any 

evidence of abuse, neglect, or exploitation of the elderly 

or persons with disabilities or children; 

(2) Submit to a criminal background check being 

conducted. The results of such check shall contain no 

record of conviction of barrier crimes as set forth in 

§ 32.1-162.9:1 of the Code of Virginia. Proof that the 

criminal record check was conducted shall be maintained 

in the record of the services facilitator. In accordance 

with 12VAC30-80-130, DMAS shall not reimburse the 

provider for any services provided by a services 

facilitator who has been convicted of committing a 

barrier crime as set forth in § 32.1-162.9:1 of the Code of 

Virginia;  

(3) Submit to a search of the VDSS Child Protective 

Services Central Registry which results in no founded 

complaint; and 

(4) Not be debarred, suspended, or otherwise excluded 

from participating in federal health care programs, as 

listed on the federal List of Excluded Individuals/Entities 

(LEIE) database at 

http://www.olg.hhs.govfraud/exclusions/exclusions%20li

st.asp. 

c. The services facilitator shall not be compensated for 

services provided to the individual enrolled in the waiver 

effective on the date in which the record check verifies 

that the services facilitator (i) has been convicted of 

barrier crimes described in § 32.1-162.9:1 of the Code of 

Virginia, (ii) has a founded complaint confirmed by the 

VDSS Child Protective Services Central Registry, or (iii) 

is found to be listed on LEIE.  

d. Effective January 11, 2016, consumer-directed 

services facilitators shall possess the required degree and 

experience, as follows: 

(1) Prior to enrollment by the department as a consumer-

directed services facilitator, all new applicants shall 

possess, at a minimum, either an associate's degree or 

higher from an accredited college in a health or human 

services field or be a registered nurse currently licensed 

to practice in Commonwealth and possess a minimum of 

two years of satisfactory direct care experience 

supporting individuals with disabilities or older adults; or  

(2) Possess a bachelor's degree or higher in a non-health 

or human services field and have a minimum of three 

years of satisfactory direct care experience supporting 

individuals with disabilities or older adults. 

Persons who are consumer-directed services facilitators 

prior to January 11, 2016, shall not be required to meet 

the degree and experience requirements of this 

subsection unless required to submit a new application to 

be a consumer-directed services facilitator after January 

11, 2016.  

e. Effective April 10, 2016, all consumer-directed 

services facilitators shall complete required training and 

competency assessments. Satisfactory competency 

assessment results shall be kept in the service facilitator's 

record.  

(1) All new consumer-directed consumer directed 

services facilitators shall complete the DMAS-approved 

consumer-directed services facilitator training and pass 

the corresponding competency assessment with a score 

of at least 80% prior to being approved as a consumer-

directed services facilitator or being reimbursed for 

working with waiver individuals.  

(2) Persons who are consumer-directed services 

facilitators prior to January 11, 2016, shall be required to 

complete the DMAS-approved consumer-directed 

services facilitator training and pass the corresponding 

competency assessment with a score of at least 80% in 

order to continue being reimbursed for or working with 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/32.1-162.9:1
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/32.1-162.9:1
http://www.olg.hhs.govfraud/exclusions/exclusions%20list.asp
http://www.olg.hhs.govfraud/exclusions/exclusions%20list.asp
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waiver individuals for the purpose of Medicaid 

reimbursement.  

f. Failure to satisfy the competency assessment 

requirements and meet all other requirements shall result 

in a retraction of Medicaid payment or the termination of 

the provider agreement, or both. 

g. Failure to satisfy the competency assessment 

requirements and meet all other requirements may also 

result in the termination of a CD services facilitator 

employed by or contracted with a Medicaid enrolled 

services facilitator provider. 

h. As a component of the renewal of the Medicaid 

provider agreement, all CD services facilitators shall pass 

the competency assessment every five years and achieve 

a score of at least 80%.  

i. The consumer-directed services facilitator shall have 

access to a computer with secure Internet access that 

meets the requirements of 45 CFR Part 164 for the 

electronic exchange of information. Electronic exchange 

of information shall include, for example, checking 

individual eligibility, submission of service 

authorizations, submission of information to the fiscal 

employer agent, and billing for services.  

j. The consumer-directed services facilitator must possess 

a combination of work experience and relevant education 

that indicates possession of the following knowledge, 

skills, and abilities. Such knowledge, skills, and abilities 

must be documented on the consumer-directed services 

facilitator's application form, found in supporting 

documentation, or be observed during a job interview. 

Observations during the interview must be documented. 

The knowledge, skills, and abilities include:  

(1) Knowledge of:  

(a) Types of functional limitations and health problems 

that may occur in older adults or individuals with 

disabilities, as well as strategies to reduce limitations and 

health problems;  

(b) Physical care that may be required by older adults or 

individuals with disabilities, such as transferring, bathing 

techniques, bowel and bladder care, and the approximate 

time those activities normally take;  

(c) Equipment and environmental modifications that may 

be required by individuals who are elderly or individuals 

with disabilities that reduce the need for human help and 

improve safety;  

(d) Various long-term care program requirements, 

including nursing facility and assisted living facility 

placement criteria, Medicaid waiver services, and other 

federal, state, and local resources that provide personal 

care and respite services;  

(e) Elderly or Disabled with Consumer-Direction Waiver 

requirements, as well as the administrative duties for 

which the services facilitator will be responsible;  

(f) How to conduct assessments (including 

environmental, psychosocial, health, and functional 

factors) and their uses in services planning;  

(g) Interviewing techniques;  

(h) The individual's right to make decisions about, direct 

the provisions of, and control his consumer-directed 

services, including hiring, training, managing, approving 

timesheets, and firing an aide;  

(i) The principles of human behavior and interpersonal 

relationships; and  

(j) General principles of record documentation.  

(2) Skills in:  

(a) Negotiating with individuals, family/caregivers, and 

service providers;  

(b) Assessing, supporting, observing, recording, and 

reporting behaviors;  

(c) Identifying, developing, or providing services to 

individuals who are elderly or individuals with 

disabilities; and  

(d) Identifying services within the established services 

system to meet the individual's needs.  

(3) Abilities to:  

(a) Report findings of the assessment or onsite visit, 

either in writing or an alternative format for individuals 

who have visual impairments;  

(b) Demonstrate a positive regard for individuals and 

their families;  

(c) Be persistent and remain objective;  

(d) Work independently, performing position duties 

under general supervision;  

(e) Communicate effectively, orally and in writing; and  

(f) Develop a rapport and communicate with individuals 

from diverse cultural backgrounds.  

4. Initiation of services and service monitoring.  

a. For consumer-directed model of service, the 

consumer-directed services facilitator shall make an 

initial comprehensive home visit at the primary residence 

of the individual to collaborate with the individual or the 

individual's family/caregiver, as appropriate, to identify 

the individual's needs, assist in the development of the 

plan of care with the waiver individual and individual's 

family/caregiver, as appropriate, and provide EOR 

management training within seven days of the initial 

visit. The initial comprehensive home visit shall be 

conducted only once upon the individual's entry into 

consumer-directed services. If the individual changes, 

either voluntarily or involuntarily, the consumer-directed 

services facilitator, the new consumer-directed services 

facilitator shall complete a reassessment visit in lieu of a 

comprehensive visit.  
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b. After the initial comprehensive visit, the services 

facilitator shall continue to monitor the plan of care on an 

as-needed basis, but in no event less frequently than 

every 90 days for personal care, and shall conduct face-

to-face meetings with the individual and may include the 

family/caregiver. The services facilitator shall review the 

utilization of consumer-directed respite services, either 

every six months or upon the use of half of the approved 

respite services hours, whichever comes first, and shall 

conduct a face-to-face meeting with the individual and 

may include the family/caregiver. Such monitoring 

reviews shall be documented in the individual's medical 

record.  

c. During visits with the individual, the services 

facilitator shall observe, evaluate, and consult with the 

individual/EOR and may include the family/caregiver, 

and document the adequacy and appropriateness of CD 

services with regard to the individual's current 

functioning, cognitive status, and medical and social 

needs. The consumer-directed services facilitator's 

written summary of the visit shall include at a minimum:  

(1) Discussion with the waiver individual or 

family/caregiver/EOR, as appropriate, concerning 

whether the service is adequate to meet the waiver 

individual's needs;  

(2) Any suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation and to 

whom it was reported;  

(3) Any special tasks performed by the consumer-

directed attendant and the consumer-directed attendant's 

qualifications to perform these tasks;  

(4) The individual's or family/caregiver's/EOR's 

satisfaction with the service;  

(5) Any hospitalization or change in medical condition, 

functioning, or cognitive status; and  

(6) The presence or absence of the consumer-directed 

attendant in the home during the consumer-directed 

services facilitator's visit.  

5. DMAS, its designated contractor, or the fiscal/employer 

agent shall request a criminal record check and a check of 

the VDSS Child Protective Services Central Registry if the 

waiver individual is a minor child, in accordance with 

12VAC30-120-930, pertaining to the consumer-directed 

attendant on behalf of the waiver individual and report 

findings of these records checks to the EOR.  

6. The consumer-directed services facilitator shall review 

and verify copies of timesheets during the face-to-face 

visits to ensure that the hours approved in the plan of care 

are being provided and are not exceeded. If discrepancies 

are identified, the consumer-directed services facilitator 

shall discuss these with the individual or EOR to resolve 

discrepancies and shall notify the fiscal/employer agent. 

The consumer-directed services facilitator shall also review 

the individual's plan of care to ensure that the individual's 

needs are being met. Failure to conduct such reviews and 

verifications of timesheets and maintain the documentation 

of these reviews shall result in DMAS' recovery of 

payments made.  

7. The services facilitator shall maintain records of each 

individual that he serves. At a minimum, these records 

shall contain:  

a. Results of the initial comprehensive home visit 

completed prior to or on the date services are initiated 

and subsequent reassessments and changes to the 

supporting documentation;  

b. The personal care plan of care. Such plans shall be 

reviewed by the provider every 90 days, annually, and 

more often as needed, and modified as appropriate. The 

respite services plan of care shall be included in the 

record and shall be reviewed by the provider every six 

months or when half of the approved respite service 

hours have been used whichever comes first. For the 

annual review and in cases where either the personal care 

or respite care plan of care is modified, the plan of care 

shall be reviewed with the individual, the 

family/caregiver, and EOR, as appropriate;  

c. The consumer-directed services facilitator's dated 

notes documenting any contacts with the individual or 

family/caregiver/EOR and visits to the individual;  

d. All contacts, including correspondence, made to and 

from the individual, EOR, family/caregiver, physicians, 

DMAS, the designated service authorization contractor, 

formal and informal services provider, and all other 

professionals related to the individual's Medicaid 

services or medical care;  

e. All employer management training provided to the 

individual or EOR to include, but not necessarily be 

limited to (i) the individual's or EOR's receipt of training 

on their responsibilities for the accuracy of the consumer-

directed attendant's timesheets and (ii) the availability of 

the Consumer-Directed Waiver Services Employer 

Manual available at www.dmas.virginia.gov;  

f. All documents signed by the individual or EOR, as 

appropriate, that acknowledge the responsibilities as the 

employer; and  

g. The DMAS required forms as specified in the agency's 

waiver-specific guidance document.  

Failure to maintain all required documentation shall result 

in DMAS' action to recover payments made. Repeated 

instances of failure to maintain documentation may result 

in cancellation of the Medicaid provider agreement.  

8. In instances when the individual is consistently unable to 

either hire or retain the employment of a personal care 

consumer-directed attendant to provide consumer-directed 

personal care or respite services such as, for example, a 

pattern of discrepancies with the consumer-directed 

attendant's timesheets, the consumer-directed services 
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facilitator shall make arrangements, after conferring with 

DMAS, to have the needed services transferred to an 

agency-directed services provider of the individual's choice 

or discuss with the individual or family/caregiver/EOR, or 

both, other service options.  

9. Waiver individual, family/caregiver, and EOR 

responsibilities.  

a. The individual shall be authorized for the consumer-

directed model of service, and the EOR shall successfully 

complete EOR management training performed by the 

consumer-directed services facilitator before the 

individual or EOR shall be permitted to hire a consumer-

directed attendant for Medicaid reimbursement. Any 

services that may be rendered by a consumer-directed 

attendant prior to authorization by Medicaid shall not be 

eligible for reimbursement by Medicaid. Individuals who 

are eligible for consumer-directed services shall have the 

capability to hire and train their own consumer-directed 

attendants and supervise the consumer-directed 

attendants' performances. In lieu of handling their 

consumer-directed attendants themselves, individuals 

may have a family/caregiver or other designated person 

serve as the EOR on their behalf. The EOR shall be 

prohibited from also being the Medicaid-reimbursed 

consumer-directed attendant for respite or personal care 

or the services facilitator for the individual. 

b. Individuals shall acknowledge that they will not 

knowingly continue to accept consumer-directed 

personal care services when the service is no longer 

appropriate or necessary for their care needs and shall 

inform the services facilitator of their change in care 

needs. If the consumer-directed model of services 

continue after services have been terminated by DMAS 

or the designated service authorization contractor, the 

individual shall be held liable for the consumer-directed 

attendant compensation.  

c. Individuals shall notify the consumer-directed services 

facilitator of all hospitalizations or admissions, for 

example, to any rehabilitation facility rehabilitation unit 

or nursing facility as consumer-directed attendant 

services shall not be reimbursed during such admissions. 

Failure to do so may result in the individual being held 

liable for the consumer-directed employee compensation. 

I. Personal emergency response systems. In addition to 

meeting the general conditions and requirements for home 

and community-based waiver participating providers as 

specified in 12VAC30-120-930, PERS providers must also 

meet the following qualifications and requirements: 

1. A PERS provider shall be either, but not necessarily 

limited to, a personal care agency, a durable medical 

equipment provider, a licensed home health provider, or a 

PERS manufacturer. All such providers shall have the 

ability to provide PERS equipment, direct services (i.e., 

installation, equipment maintenance, and service calls), 

and PERS monitoring;  

2. The PERS provider shall provide an emergency 

response center with fully trained operators who are 

capable of (i) receiving signals for help from an 

individual's PERS equipment 24 hours a day, 365 or 366 

days per year, as appropriate; (ii) determining whether an 

emergency exists; and (iii) notifying an emergency 

response organization or an emergency responder that the 

PERS individual needs emergency help;  

3. A PERS provider shall comply with all applicable 

Virginia statutes, all applicable regulations of DMAS, and 

all other governmental agencies having jurisdiction over 

the services to be performed;  

4. The PERS provider shall have the primary responsibility 

to furnish, install, maintain, test, and service the PERS 

equipment, as required, to keep it fully operational. The 

provider shall replace or repair the PERS device within 24 

hours of the waiver individual's notification of a 

malfunction of the console unit, activating devices, or 

medication monitoring unit and shall provide temporary 

equipment, as may be necessary for the waiver individual's 

health, safety, and welfare, while the original equipment is 

being repaired or replaced;  

5. The PERS provider shall install, consistent with the 

manufacturer's instructions, all PERS equipment into a 

waiver individual's functioning telephone line or system 

within seven days of the request of such installation unless 

there is appropriate documentation of why this timeframe 

cannot be met. The PERS provider shall furnish all 

supplies necessary to ensure that the system is installed and 

working properly. The PERS provider shall test the PERS 

device monthly, or more frequently if needed, to ensure 

that the device is fully operational;  

6. The PERS installation shall include local seize line 

circuitry, which guarantees that the unit shall have priority 

over the telephone connected to the console unit should the 

telephone be off the hook or in use when the unit is 

activated;  

7. A PERS provider shall maintain a data record for each 

waiver individual at no additional cost to DMAS or the 

waiver individual. The record shall document all of the 

following:  

a. Delivery date and installation date of the PERS 

equipment;  

b. Waiver individual/caregiver signature verifying receipt 

of the PERS equipment;  

c. Verification by a test that the PERS device is 

operational and the waiver individual is still using it 

monthly or more frequently as needed;  

d. Waiver individual contact information, to be updated 

annually or more frequently as needed, as provided by 

the individual or the individual's caregiver/EOR;  
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e. A case log documenting the waiver individual's 

utilization of the system, all contacts, and all 

communications with the individual, caregiver/EOR, and 

responders;  

f. Documentation that the waiver individual is able to use 

the PERS equipment through return demonstration; and  

g. Copies of all equipment checks performed on the 

PERS unit; 

8. The PERS provider shall have backup monitoring 

capacity in case the primary system cannot handle 

incoming emergency signals;  

9. The emergency response activator shall be capable of 

being activated either by breath, touch, or some other 

means and shall be usable by waiver individuals who are 

visually or hearing impaired or physically disabled. The 

emergency response communicator shall be capable of 

operating without external power during a power failure at 

the waiver individual's home for a minimum period of 24 

hours. The emergency response console unit shall also be 

able to self-disconnect and redial the backup monitoring 

site without the waiver individual resetting the system in 

the event it cannot get its signal accepted at the response 

center;  

10. PERS providers shall be capable of continuously 

monitoring and responding to emergencies under all 

conditions, including power failures and mechanical 

malfunctions. It shall be the PERS provider's responsibility 

to ensure that the monitoring agency and the monitoring 

agency's equipment meet the following requirements. The 

PERS provider shall be capable of simultaneously 

responding to multiple signals for help from the waiver 

individuals' PERS equipment. The PERS provider's 

equipment shall include the following:  

a. A primary receiver and a backup receiver, which shall 

be independent and interchangeable;  

b. A backup information retrieval system;  

c. A clock printer, which shall print out the time and date 

of the emergency signal, the waiver individual's 

identification code, and the emergency code that 

indicates whether the signal is active, passive, or a 

responder test;  

d. A backup power supply;  

e. A separate telephone service;  

f. A toll-free number to be used by the PERS equipment 

in order to contact the primary or backup response 

center; and  

g. A telephone line monitor, which shall give visual and 

audible signals when the incoming telephone line is 

disconnected for more than 10 seconds; 

11. The PERS provider shall maintain detailed technical 

and operation manuals that describe PERS elements, 

including the installation, functioning, and testing of PERS 

equipment; emergency response protocols; and 

recordkeeping and reporting procedures;  

12. The PERS provider shall document and furnish within 

30 days of the action taken, a written report for each 

emergency signal that results in action being taken on 

behalf of the waiver individual. This excludes test signals 

or activations made in error. This written report shall be 

furnished to (i) the personal care provider; (ii) the respite 

care provider; (iii) the CD services facilitation provider; 

(iv) in cases where the individual only receives ADHC 

services, to the ADCC provider; or (v) to the transition 

coordinator for the service in which the individual is 

enrolled; and 

13. The PERS provider shall obtain and keep on file a copy 

of the most recently completed DMAS-225 form. Until the 

PERS provider obtains a copy of the DMAS-225 form, the 

PERS provider shall clearly document efforts to obtain the 

completed DMAS-225 form from the personal care 

provider, respite care provider, CD services facilitation 

provider, or ADCC provider.  

J. Assistive technology (AT) and environmental 

modification (EM) services. AT and EM shall be provided 

only to waiver individuals who also participate in the MFP 

demonstration program by providers who have current 

provider participation agreements with DMAS.  

1. AT shall be rendered by providers having a current 

provider participation agreement with DMAS as durable 

medical equipment and supply providers. An independent, 

professional consultation shall be obtained, as may be 

required, from qualified professionals who are 

knowledgeable of that item for each AT request prior to 

approval by either DMAS or the Srv Auth contractor and 

may include training on such AT by the qualified 

professional. Independent, professional consultants shall 

include, but shall not necessarily be limited to, 

speech/language therapists, physical therapists, 

occupational therapists, physicians, behavioral therapists, 

certified rehabilitation specialists, or rehabilitation 

engineers. Providers that supply AT for a waiver individual 

may not perform assessment/consultation, write 

specifications, or inspect the AT for that individual. 

Providers of services shall not be (i) spouses of the waiver 

individual or (ii) parents (biological, adoptive, foster, or 

legal guardian) of the waiver individual. AT shall be 

delivered within 60 days from the start date of the 

authorization. The AT provider shall ensure that the AT 

functions properly.  

2. In addition to meeting the general conditions and 

requirements for home and community-based waiver 

services participating providers as specified in 12VAC30-

120-930, as appropriate, environmental modifications shall 

be provided in accordance with all applicable state or local 

building codes by contractors who have provider 

agreements with DMAS. Providers of services shall not be 
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(i) the spouse of the waiver individual or (ii) the parent 

(biological, adoptive, foster, or legal guardian) of the 

waiver individual who is a minor child. Modifications shall 

be completed within a year of the start date of the 

authorization.  

3. Providers of AT and EM services shall not be permitted 

to recover equipment that has been provided to waiver 

individuals whenever the provider has been charged, by 

either DMAS or its designated service authorization agent, 

with overpayments and is therefore being required to return 

payments to DMAS. 

K. Transition coordination. This service shall be provided 

consistent with 12VAC30-120-2000 and 12VAC30-120-

2010. 

L. Transition services. This service shall be provided 

consistent with 12VAC30-120-2000 and 12VAC30-120-

2010. 

12VAC30-120-1020. Covered services; limits on covered 

services. 

A. Covered services in the ID Waiver include: assistive 

technology, companion services (both consumer-directed and 

agency-directed), crisis stabilization, day support, 

environmental modifications, personal assistance services 

(both consumer-directed and agency-directed), personal 

emergency response systems (PERS), prevocational services, 

residential support services, respite services (both consumer-

directed and agency-directed), services facilitation (only for 

consumer-directed services), skilled nursing services, 

supported employment, therapeutic consultation, and 

transition services.  

1. There shall be separate supporting documentation for 

each service and each shall be clearly differentiated in 

documentation and corresponding billing.  

2. The need of each individual enrolled in the waiver for 

each service shall be clearly set out in the Individual 

Support Plan containing the providers' Plans for Supports.  

3. Claims for payment that are not supported by their 

related documentation shall be subject to recovery by 

DMAS or its designated contractor as a result of utilization 

reviews or audits.  

4. Individuals enrolled in the waiver may choose between 

the agency-directed model of service delivery or the 

consumer-directed model when DMAS makes this 

alternative model available for care. The only services 

provided in this waiver that permit the consumer-directed 

model of service delivery shall be: (i) personal assistance 

services; (ii) respite services; and (iii) companion services. 

An individual enrolled in the waiver shall not receive 

consumer-directed services if at least one of the following 

conditions exists: 

(a) The individual enrolled in the waiver is younger than 

18 years of age or is unable to be the employer of record 

and no one else can assume this role; 

(b) The health, safety, or welfare of the individual 

enrolled in the waiver cannot be assured or a back-up 

emergency plan cannot be developed; or 

(c) The individual enrolled in the waiver has medication 

or skilled nursing needs or medical/behavioral conditions 

that cannot be safely met via the consumer-directed 

model of service delivery.  

5. Voluntary/involuntary disenrollment of consumer-

directed services. Either voluntary or involuntary 

disenrollment of consumer-directed services may occur. In 

either voluntary or involuntary situations, the individual 

enrolled in the waiver shall be permitted to select an 

agency from which to receive his personal assistance, 

respite, or companion services.  

a. An individual who has chosen consumer direction may 

choose, at any time, to change to the agency-directed 

services model as long as he continues to qualify for the 

specific services. The services facilitator or case 

manager, as appropriate, shall assist the individual with 

the change of services from consumer-directed to 

agency-directed.  

b. The services facilitator or case manager, as 

appropriate, shall initiate involuntary disenrollment from 

consumer direction of the individual enrolled in the 

waiver when any of the following conditions occur: 

(1) The health, safety, or welfare of the individual 

enrolled in the waiver is at risk; 

(2) The individual or EOR, as appropriate, demonstrates 

consistent inability to hire and retain a personal assistant; 

or  

(3) The individual or EOR, as appropriate, is consistently 

unable to manage the assistant, as may be demonstrated 

by, but shall not necessarily be limited to, a pattern of 

serious discrepancies with timesheets.  

c. Prior to involuntary disenrollment, the services 

facilitator or case manager, as appropriate, shall: 

(1) Verify that essential training has been provided to the 

individual or EOR, as appropriate, to improve the 

problem condition or conditions; 

(2) Document in the individual's record the conditions 

creating the necessity for the involuntary disenrollment 

and actions taken by the services facilitator or case 

manager, as appropriate; 

(3) Discuss with the individual or the EOR, as 

appropriate, the agency directed option that is available 

and the actions needed to arrange for such services while 

providing a list of potential providers; and 

(4) Provide written notice to the individual and EOR, as 

appropriate, of the right to appeal, pursuant to 12VAC30-

110, such involuntary termination of consumer direction. 

Such notice shall be given at least 10 business days prior 

to the effective date of this action. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+12VAC30-110
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+12VAC30-110
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d. If the services facilitator initiates the involuntary 

disenrollment from consumer direction, then he shall 

inform the case manager.  

6. All requests for this waiver's services shall be submitted 

to either DMAS or the service authorization contractor for 

service (prior) authorization. 

B. Assistive technology (AT). Service description. This 

service shall entail the provision of specialized medical 

equipment and supplies including those devices, controls, or 

appliances, specified in the Individual Support Plan but which 

are not available under the State Plan for Medical Assistance, 

that (i) enable individuals to increase their abilities to perform 

activities of daily living (ADLs); (ii) enable individuals to 

perceive, control, or communicate with the environment in 

which they live; or (iii) are necessary for life support, 

including the ancillary supplies and equipment necessary to 

the proper functioning of such technology.  

1. Criteria. In order to qualify for these services, the 

individual shall have a demonstrated need for equipment or 

modification for remedial or direct medical benefit 

primarily in the individual's home, vehicle, community 

activity setting, or day program to specifically improve the 

individual's personal functioning. AT shall be covered in 

the least expensive, most cost-effective manner.  

2. Service units and service limitations. AT shall be 

available to individuals who are receiving at least one other 

waiver service and may be provided in a residential or 

nonresidential setting. Only the AT services set out in the 

Plan for Supports shall be covered by DMAS. AT shall be 

prior authorized by the state-designated agency or its 

contractor for each calendar year with no carry-over across 

calendar years. 

a. The maximum funded expenditure per individual for 

all AT covered procedure codes (combined total of AT 

items and labor related to these items) shall be $5,000 per 

calendar year for individuals regardless of waiver for 

which AT is approved. The service unit shall always be 

one for the total cost of all AT being requested for a 

specific timeframe. 

b. Costs for AT shall not be carried over from calendar 

year to calendar year and shall be prior authorized by the 

state-designated agency or its contractor each calendar 

year. AT shall not be approved for purposes of 

convenience of the caregiver or restraint of the 

individual.  

3. An independent professional consultation shall be 

obtained from staff knowledgeable of that item for each 

AT request prior to approval by the state-designated 

agency or its contractor. Equipment, supplies, or 

technology not available as durable medical equipment 

through the State Plan may be purchased and billed as AT 

as long as the request for such equipment, supplies, or 

technology is documented and justified in the individual's 

Plan for Supports, recommended by the case manager, 

prior authorized by the state-designated agency or its 

contractor, and provided in the least expensive, most cost-

effective manner possible.  

4. All AT items to be covered shall meet applicable 

standards of manufacture, design, and installation.  

5. The AT provider shall obtain, install, and demonstrate, 

as necessary, such AT prior to submitting his claim to 

DMAS for reimbursement. The provider shall provide all 

warranties or guarantees from the AT's manufacturer to the 

individual and family/caregiver, as appropriate.  

6. AT providers shall not be the spouse or parents of the 

individual enrolled in the waiver. 

C. Companion (both consumer-directed and agency-

directed) services. Service description. These services provide 

nonmedical care, socialization, or support to an adult (age 18 

or older). Companions may assist or support the individual 

enrolled in the waiver with such tasks as meal preparation, 

community access and activities, laundry, and shopping, but 

companions do not perform these activities as discrete 

services. Companions may also perform light housekeeping 

tasks (such as bed-making, dusting and vacuuming, laundry, 

grocery shopping, etc.) when such services are specified in 

the individual's Plan for Supports and essential to the 

individual's health and welfare in the context of providing 

nonmedical care, socialization, or support, as may be needed 

in order to maintain the individual's home environment in an 

orderly and clean manner. Companion services shall be 

provided in accordance with a therapeutic outcome in the 

Plan for Supports and shall not be purely recreational in 

nature. This service may be provided and reimbursed either 

through an agency-directed or a consumer-directed model.  

1. In order to qualify for companion services, the 

individual enrolled in the waiver shall have demonstrated a 

need for assistance with IADLs, light housekeeping (such 

as cleaning the bathroom used by the individual, washing 

his dishes, preparing his meals, or washing his clothes), 

community access, reminders for medication self-

administration, or support to assure safety. The provision 

of companion services shall not entail routine hands-on 

care.  

2. Individuals choosing the consumer-directed option shall 

meet requirements for consumer direction as described 

herein. 

3. Service units and service limitations.  

a. The unit of service for companion services shall be one 

hour and the amount that may be included in the Plan for 

Supports shall not exceed eight hours per 24-hour day 

regardless of whether it is an agency-directed or 

consumer-directed service model, or both.  

b. A companion shall not be permitted to provide nursing 

care procedures such as, but not limited to, ventilators, 

tube feedings, suctioning of airways, or wound care. 
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c. The hours that can be authorized shall be based on 

documented individual need. No more than two unrelated 

individuals who are receiving waiver services and who 

live in the same home shall be permitted to share the 

authorized work hours of the companion.  

4. This consumer directed service shall be available to 

individuals enrolled in the waiver who receive congregate 

residential services. These services shall be available when 

individuals enrolled in the waiver are not receiving 

congregate residential services such as, but not necessarily 

limited to, when they are on vacation or are visiting with 

family members.  

D. Crisis stabilization. Service description. These services 

shall involve direct interventions that provide temporary 

intensive services and support that avert emergency 

psychiatric hospitalization or institutional placement of 

individuals with ID who are experiencing serious psychiatric 

or behavioral problems that jeopardize their current 

community living situation. Crisis stabilization services shall 

have two components: (i) intervention and (ii) supervision. 

Crisis stabilization services shall include, as appropriate, 

neuropsychiatric, psychiatric, psychological, and other 

assessments and stabilization techniques, medication 

management and monitoring, behavior assessment and 

positive behavioral support, and intensive service 

coordination with other agencies and providers. This service 

shall be designed to stabilize the individual and strengthen the 

current living situation, so that the individual remains in the 

community during and beyond the crisis period.  

1. These services shall be provided to:  

a. Assist with planning and delivery of services and 

supports to enable the individual to remain in the 

community;  

b. Train family/caregivers and service providers in 

positive behavioral supports to maintain the individual in 

the community; and  

c. Provide temporary crisis supervision to ensure the 

safety of the individual and others.  

2. In order to receive crisis stabilization services, the 

individual shall: 

a. Meet at least one of the following: (i) the individual 

shall be experiencing a marked reduction in psychiatric, 

adaptive, or behavioral functioning; (ii) the individual 

shall be experiencing an increase in extreme emotional 

distress; (iii) the individual shall need continuous 

intervention to maintain stability; or (iv) the individual 

shall be causing harm to himself or others; and  

b. Be at risk of at least one of the following: (i) 

psychiatric hospitalization; (ii) emergency ICF/ID 

placement; (iii) immediate threat of loss of a community 

service due to a severe situational reaction; or (iv) 

causing harm to self or others.  

3. Service units and service limitations. Crisis stabilization 

services shall only be authorized following a documented 

face-to-face assessment conducted by a qualified mental 

retardation professional (QMRP).  

a. The unit for either intervention or supervision of this 

covered service shall be one hour. This service shall only 

be authorized in 15-day increments but no more than 60 

days in a calendar year shall be approved. The actual 

service units per episode shall be based on the 

documented clinical needs of the individual being served. 

Extension of services, beyond the 15-day limit per 

authorization, shall only be authorized following a 

documented face-to-face reassessment conducted by a 

QMRP.  

b. Crisis stabilization services shall be provided directly 

in the following settings, but shall not be limited to: 

(1) The home of an individual who lives with family, 

friends, or other primary caregiver or caregivers;  

(2) The home of an individual who lives independently 

or semi-independently to augment any current services 

and supports; or  

(3) Either a community-based residential program, a day 

program, or a respite care setting to augment ongoing 

current services and supports.  

4. Crisis supervision shall be an optional component of 

crisis stabilization in which one-to-one supervision of the 

individual who is in crisis shall be provided by agency staff 

in order to ensure the safety of the individual and others in 

the environment. Crisis supervision may be provided as a 

component of crisis stabilization only if clinical or 

behavioral interventions allowed under this service are also 

provided during the authorized period. Crisis supervision 

must be provided one-to-one and face-to-face with the 

individual. Crisis supervision, if provided as a part of this 

service, shall be separately billed in hourly service units.  

5. Crisis stabilization services shall not be used for 

continuous long-term care. Room, board, and general 

supervision shall not be components of this service.  

6. If appropriate, the assessment and any reassessments 

may be conducted jointly with a licensed mental health 

professional or other appropriate professional or 

professionals.  

E. Day support services. Service description. These services 

shall include skill-building, supports, and safety supports for 

the acquisition, retention, or improvement of self-help, 

socialization, community integration, and adaptive skills. 

These services shall be typically offered in a nonresidential 

setting that provides opportunities for peer interactions, 

community integration, and enhancement of social networks. 

There shall be two levels of this service: (i) intensive and (ii) 

regular. 

1. Criteria. For day support services, individuals shall 

demonstrate the need for skill-building or supports offered 
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primarily in settings other than the individual's own 

residence that allows him an opportunity for being a 

productive and contributing member of his community.  

2. Types of day support. The amount and type of day 

support included in the individual's Plan for Supports shall 

be determined by what is required for that individual. 

There are two types of day support: center-based, which is 

provided primarily at one location/building; or noncenter-

based, which is provided primarily in community settings. 

Both types of day support may be provided at either 

intensive or regular levels.  

3. Levels of day support. There shall be two levels of day 

support, intensive and regular. To be authorized at the 

intensive level, the individual shall meet at least one of the 

following criteria: (i) the individual requires physical 

assistance to meet the basic personal care needs (such as 

but not limited to toileting, eating/feeding); (ii) the 

individual requires additional, ongoing support to fully 

participate in programming and to accomplish the 

individual's desired outcomes due to extensive disability-

related difficulties; or (iii) the individual requires extensive 

constant supervision to reduce or eliminate behaviors that 

preclude full participation in the program. In this case, 

written behavioral support activities shall be required to 

address behaviors such as, but not limited to, withdrawal, 

self-injury, aggression, or self-stimulation. Individuals not 

meeting these specified criteria for intensive day support 

shall be provided with regular day support. 

4. Service units and service limitations.  

a. This service shall be limited to 780 blocks, or its 

equivalent under the DMAS fee schedule, per Individual 

Support Plan year. A block shall be defined as a period of 

time from one hour through three hours and 59 minutes. 

Two blocks are defined as four hours to six hours and 59 

minutes. Three blocks are defined as seven hours to nine 

hours and 59 minutes. If this service is used in 

combination with prevocational, or group supported 

employment services, or both, the combined total units 

for day support, prevocational, or group supported 

employment services shall not exceed 780 units, or its 

equivalent under the DMAS fee schedule, per Individual 

Support Plan year. 

b. Day support services shall be billed according to the 

DMAS fee schedule. 

c. Day support shall not be regularly or temporarily 

provided in an individual's home setting or other 

residential setting (e.g., due to inclement weather or 

individual illness) without prior written approval from 

the state-designated agency or its contractor.  

d. Noncenter-based day support services shall be separate 

and distinguishable from either residential support 

services or personal assistance services. The supporting 

documentation shall provide an estimate of the amount of 

day support required by the individual. 

5. Service providers shall be reimbursed only for the 

amount and level of day support services included in the 

individual's approved Plan for Supports based on the 

setting, intensity, and duration of the service to be 

delivered.  

F. Environmental modifications (EM). Service description. 

This service shall be defined, as set out in 12VAC30-120-

1000, as those physical adaptations to the individual's primary 

home, primary vehicle, or work site that shall be required by 

the individual's Individual Support Plan, that are necessary to 

ensure the health and welfare of the individual, or that enable 

the individual to function with greater independence. 

Environmental modifications reimbursed by DMAS may only 

be made to an individual's work site when the modification 

exceeds the reasonable accommodation requirements of the 

Americans with Disabilities Act. Such adaptations may 

include, but shall not necessarily be limited to, the installation 

of ramps and grab-bars, widening of doorways, modification 

of bathroom facilities, or installation of specialized electric 

and plumbing systems that are necessary to accommodate the 

medical equipment and supplies that are necessary for the 

individual. Modifications may be made to a primary 

automotive vehicle in which the individual is transported if it 

is owned by the individual, a family member with whom the 

individual lives or has consistent and ongoing contact, or a 

nonrelative who provides primary long-term support to the 

individual and is not a paid provider of services.  

1. In order to qualify for these services, the 

individual enrolled in the waiver shall have a demonstrated 

need for equipment or modifications of a remedial or 

medical benefit offered in an individual's primary home, 

the primary vehicle used by the individual, community 

activity setting, or day program to specifically improve the 

individual's personal functioning. This service shall 

encompass those items not otherwise covered in the State 

Plan for Medical Assistance or through another program.  

2. Service units and service limitations.  

a. Environmental modifications shall be provided in the 

least expensive manner possible that will accomplish the 

modification required by the individual enrolled in the 

waiver and shall be completed within the calendar year 

consistent with the Plan of Supports' requirements. 

b. The maximum funded expenditure per individual for 

all EM covered procedure codes (combined total of EM 

items and labor related to these items) shall be $5,000 per 

calendar year for individuals regardless of waiver for 

which EM is approved. The service unit shall always be 

one, for the total cost of all EM being requested for a 

specific timeframe.  

EM shall be available to individuals enrolled in the 

waiver who are receiving at least one other waiver 

service and may be provided in a residential or 

nonresidential setting. EM shall be prior authorized by 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+12VAC30-120-1000
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+12VAC30-120-1000
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the state-designated agency or its contractor for each 

calendar year with no carry-over across calendar years. 

c. Modifications shall not be used to bring a substandard 

dwelling up to minimum habitation standards. 

d. Providers shall be reimbursed for their actual cost of 

material and labor and no additional mark-ups shall be 

permitted. 

e. Providers of EM services shall not be the spouse or 

parents of the individual enrolled in the waiver. 

f. Excluded from coverage under this waiver service shall 

be those adaptations or improvements to the home that 

are of general utility and that are not of direct medical or 

remedial benefit to the individual enrolled in the waiver, 

such as, but not necessarily limited to, carpeting, roof 

repairs, and central air conditioning. Also excluded shall 

be modifications that are reasonable accommodation 

requirements of the Americans with Disabilities Act, the 

Virginians with Disabilities Act, and the Rehabilitation 

Act. Adaptations that add to the total square footage of 

the home shall be excluded from this service. Except 

when EM services are furnished in the individual's own 

home, such services shall not be provided to individuals 

who receive residential support services. 

3. Modifications shall not be prior authorized or covered to 

adapt living arrangements that are owned or leased by 

providers of waiver services or those living arrangements 

that are sponsored by a DBHDS-licensed residential 

support provider. Specifically, provider-owned or leased 

settings where residential support services are furnished 

shall already be compliant with the Americans with 

Disabilities Act. 

4. Modifications to a primary vehicle that shall be 

specifically excluded from this benefit shall be: 

a. Adaptations or improvements to the vehicle that are of 

general utility and are not of direct medical or remedial 

benefit to the individual; 

b. Purchase or lease of a vehicle; and 

c. Regularly scheduled upkeep and maintenance of a 

vehicle, except upkeep and maintenance of the 

modifications that were covered under this waiver 

benefit.  

G. Personal assistance services. Service description. These 

services may be provided either through an agency-directed 

or consumer-directed (CD) model.  

1. Personal assistance shall be provided to individuals in 

the areas of activities of daily living (ADLs), instrumental 

activities of daily living (IADLs), access to the community, 

monitoring of self-administered medications or other 

medical needs, monitoring of health status and physical 

condition, and work-related personal assistance. Such 

services, as set out in the Plan for Supports, may be 

provided and reimbursed in home and community settings 

to enable an individual to maintain the health status and 

functional skills necessary to live in the community or 

participate in community activities. When specified, such 

supportive services may include assistance with IADLs. 

Personal assistance shall not include either practical or 

professional nursing services or those practices regulated 

in Chapters 30 (§ 54.1-3000 et seq.) and 34 (§ 54.1-3400 et 

seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, as appropriate. 

This service shall not include skilled nursing services with 

the exception of skilled nursing tasks that may be 

delegated pursuant to 18VAC90-20-420 through 

18VAC90-20-460.  

2. Criteria. In order to qualify for personal assistance, the 

individual shall demonstrate a need for assistance with 

ADLs, community access, self-administration of 

medications or other medical needs, or monitoring of 

health status or physical condition.  

3. Service units and service limitations.  

a. The unit of service shall be one hour.  

b. Each individual, family, or caregiver shall have a 

back-up plan for the individual's needed supports in case 

the personal assistant does not report for work as 

expected or terminates employment without prior notice.  

c. Personal assistance shall not be available to individuals 

who (i) receive congregate residential services or who 

live in assisted living facilities, (ii) would benefit from 

ADL or IADL skill development as identified by the case 

manager, or (iii) receive comparable services provided 

through another program or service.  

d. The hours to be authorized shall be based on the 

individual's need. No more than two unrelated 

individuals who live in the same home shall be permitted 

to share the authorized work hours of the assistant.  

H. Personal Emergency Response System (PERS). Service 

description. This service shall be a service that monitors 

individuals' safety in their homes, and provides access to 

emergency assistance for medical or environmental 

emergencies through the provision of a two-way voice 

communication system that dials a 24-hour response or 

monitoring center upon activation and via the individuals' 

home telephone system. PERS may also include 

medication monitoring devices.  

1. PERS may be authorized when there is no one else in 

the home with the individual enrolled in the waiver who is 

competent or continuously available to call for help in an 

emergency.  

2. Service units and service limitations.  

a. A unit of service shall include administrative costs, 

time, labor, and supplies associated with the installation, 

maintenance, monitoring, and adjustments of the PERS. 

A unit of service is the one-month rental price set by 

DMAS. The one-time installation of the unit shall 

include installation, account activation, individual and 

caregiver instruction, and removal of PERS equipment.  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+54.1-3000
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+54.1-3400
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+18VAC90-20-420
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+18VAC90-20-460
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b. PERS services shall be capable of being activated by a 

remote wireless device and shall be connected to the 

individual's telephone system. The PERS console unit 

must provide hands-free voice-to-voice communication 

with the response center. The activating device must be 

waterproof, automatically transmit to the response center 

an activator low battery alert signal prior to the battery 

losing power, and be able to be worn by the individual.  

c. PERS services shall not be used as a substitute for 

providing adequate supervision for the individual 

enrolled in the waiver.  

I. Prevocational services. Service description. These services 

shall be intended to prepare an individual enrolled in the 

waiver for paid or unpaid employment but shall not be job-

task oriented. Prevocational services shall be provided to 

individuals who are not expected to be able to join the general 

work force without supports or to participate in a transitional 

sheltered workshop within one year of beginning waiver 

services. Activities included in this service shall not be 

directed at teaching specific job skills but at underlying 

habilitative outcomes such as accepting supervision, regular 

job attendance, task completion, problem solving, and safety. 

There shall be two levels of this covered service: (i) intensive 

and (ii) regular.  

1. In order to qualify for prevocational services, the 

individual enrolled in the waiver shall have a demonstrated 

need for support in skills that are aimed toward preparation 

of paid employment that may be offered in a variety of 

community settings. 

2. Service units and service limitations. Billing shall be in 

accordance with the DMAS fee schedule.  

a. This service shall be limited to 780 blocks, or its 

equivalent under the DMAS fee schedule, per Individual 

Support Plan year. A block shall be defined as a period of 

time from one hour through three hours and 59 minutes. 

Two blocks are defined as four hours to six hours and 59 

minutes. Three blocks are defined as seven hours to nine 

hours and 59 minutes. If this service is used in 

combination with day support or group-supported 

employment services, or both, the combined total units 

for prevocational services, day support and group 

supported employment services shall not exceed 780 

blocks, or its equivalent under the DMAS fee schedule, 

per Individual Support Plan year. A block shall be 

defined as a period of time from one hour through three 

hours and 59 minutes. 

b. Prevocational services may be provided in center-

based or noncenter-based settings. Center-based settings 

means services shall be provided primarily at one 

location or building and noncenter-based means services 

shall be provided primarily in community settings.  

c. For prevocational services to be authorized at the 

intensive level, the individual must meet at least one of 

the following criteria: (i) require physical assistance to 

meet the basic personal care needs (such as, but not 

limited to, toileting, eating/feeding); (ii) require 

additional, ongoing support to fully participate in 

services and to accomplish desired outcomes due to 

extensive disability-related difficulties; or (iii) require 

extensive constant supervision to reduce or eliminate 

behaviors that preclude full participation in the program. 

In this case, written behavioral support activities shall be 

required to address behaviors such as, but not limited to, 

withdrawal, self-injury, aggression, or self-stimulation. 

Individuals not meeting these specified criteria for 

intensive prevocational services shall be provided with 

regular prevocational services. 

3. There shall be documentation regarding whether 

prevocational services are available in vocational 

rehabilitation agencies through § 110 of the Rehabilitation 

Act of 1973 or through the Individuals with Disabilities 

Education Act (IDEA). If the individual is not eligible for 

services through the IDEA due to his age, documentation 

shall be required only for lack of DRS funding. When 

these services are provided through these alternative 

funding sources, the Plan for Supports shall not authorize 

prevocational services as waiver expenditures. 

4. Prevocational services shall only be provided when the 

individual's compensation for work performed is less than 

50% of the minimum wage.  

J. Residential support services. Service description. These 

services shall consist of skill-building, supports, and safety 

supports, provided primarily in an individual's home or in a 

licensed or approved residence, that enable an individual to 

acquire, retain, or improve the self-help, socialization, and 

adaptive skills necessary to reside successfully in home and 

community-based settings. Service providers shall be 

reimbursed only for the amount and type of residential 

support services that are included in the individual's approved 

Plan for Supports. There shall be two types of this service: 

congregate residential support and in-home supports. 

Residential support services shall be authorized for Medicaid 

reimbursement in the Plan for Supports only when the 

individual requires these services and when such needs 

exceed the services included in the individual's room and 

board arrangements with the service provider, or if these 

services exceed supports provided by the family/caregiver. 

Only in exceptional instances shall residential support 

services be routinely reimbursed up to a 24-hour period. 

1. Criteria.  

a. In order for DMAS to reimburse for congregate 

residential support services, the individual shall have a 

demonstrated need for supports to be provided by staff 

who shall be paid by the residential support provider.  

b. To qualify for this service in a congregate setting, the 

individual shall have a demonstrated need for continuous 

skill-building, supports, and safety supports for up to 24 

hours per day.  
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c. Providers shall participate as requested in the 

completion of the DBHDS-approved SIS form or its 

approved substitute form.  

d. The residential support Plan for Supports shall indicate 

the necessary amount and type of activities required by 

the individual, the schedule of residential support 

services, and the total number of projected hours per 

week of waiver reimbursed residential support.  

e. In-home residential supports shall be supplemental to 

the primary care provided by the individual, his family 

member or members, and other caregivers. In-home 

residential supports shall not replace this primary care. 

f. In-home residential supports shall be delivered on an 

individual basis, typically for less than a continuous 24-

hour period. This service shall be delivered with a one-

to-one staff-to-individual ratio except when skill building 

supports require interaction with another person.  

2. Service units and service limitations. Total billing shall 

not exceed the amount authorized in the Plan for Supports. 

The provider must maintain documentation of the date and 

times that services have been provided, and specific 

circumstances that prevented provision of all of the 

scheduled services, should that occur.  

a. This service shall be provided on an individual-

specific basis according to the Plan for Supports and 

service setting requirements;  

b. Congregate residential support shall not be provided to 

any individual enrolled in the waiver who receives 

personal assistance services under the ID Waiver or other 

residential services that provide a comparable level of 

care. Residential support services shall be permitted to be 

provided to the individual enrolled in the waiver in 

conjunction with respite services for unpaid caregivers;  

c. Room, board, and general supervision shall not be 

components of this service;  

d. This service shall not be used solely to provide routine 

or emergency respite care for the family/caregiver with 

whom the individual lives; and  

e. Medicaid reimbursement shall be available only for 

residential support services provided when the individual 

is present and when an enrolled Medicaid provider is 

providing the services.  

K. Respite services. Service description. These services may 

be provided either through an agency-directed or consumer-

directed (CD) model.  

1. Respite services shall be provided to individuals in the 

areas of activities of daily living (ADLs), instrumental 

activities of daily living (IADLs), access to the community, 

monitoring of self-administered medications or other 

medical needs, and monitoring of health status and 

physical condition in the absence of the primary caregiver 

or to relieve the primary caregiver from the duties of care-

giving. Such services may be provided in home and 

community settings to enable an individual to maintain the 

health status and functional skills necessary to live in the 

community or participate in community activities. When 

specified, such supportive services may include assistance 

with IADLs. Respite assistance shall not include either 

practical or professional nursing services or those practices 

regulated in Chapters 30 (§ 54.1-3000 et seq.) and 34 

(§ 54.1-3400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

as appropriate. This service shall not include skilled 

nursing services with the exception of skilled nursing tasks 

that may be delegated pursuant to 18VAC90-20-420 

through 18VAC90-20-460.  

2. Respite services shall be those that are normally 

provided by the individual's family or other unpaid primary 

caregiver. These covered services shall be furnished on a 

short-term, episodic, or periodic basis because of the 

absence of the unpaid caregiver or need for relief of the 

unpaid caregiver or caregivers who normally provide care 

for the individual. 

3. Criteria.  

a. In order to qualify for respite services, the individual 

shall demonstrate a need for assistance with ADLs, 

community access, self-administration of medications or 

other medical needs, or monitoring of health status or 

physical condition.  

b. Respite services shall only be offered to individuals 

who have an unpaid primary caregiver or caregivers who 

require temporary relief. Such need for relief may be 

either episodic, intermittent, or periodic. 

4. Service units and service limitations.  

a. The unit of service shall be one hour. Respite services 

shall be limited to 480 hours per individual per state 

fiscal year. If an individual changes waiver programs, 

this same maximum number of respite hours shall apply. 

No additional respite hours beyond the 480 maximum 

limit shall be approved for payment. Individuals who are 

receiving respite services in this waiver through both the 

agency-directed and CD consumer-directed models shall 

not exceed 480 hours per year combined. 

b. Each individual, family, or caregiver shall have a 

back-up plan for the individual's care in case the respite 

assistant does not report for work as expected or 

terminates employment without prior notice.  

c. Respite services shall not be provided to relieve staff 

of either group homes, pursuant to 12VAC35-105-20, or 

assisted living facilities, pursuant to 22VAC40-72-10, 

where residential supports are provided in shifts. Respite 

services shall not be provided for DMAS reimbursement 

by adult foster care providers for an individual residing 

in that foster home.  

d. Skill development shall not be provided with respite 

services. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+54.1-3000
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+54.1-3400
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+18VAC90-20-420
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+18VAC90-20-460
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+12VAC35-105-20
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-72-10
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e. The hours to be authorized shall be based on the 

individual's need. No more than two unrelated 

individuals who live in the same home shall be permitted 

to share the authorized work hours of the respite 

assistant.  

5. Consumer-directed and agency-directed respite services 

shall meet the same standards for service limits and 

authorizations. 

L. Services facilitation and consumer-directed service 

model. Service description. Individuals enrolled in the waiver 

may be approved to select consumer-directed the consumer-

directed (CD) models model of service delivery, absent any 

of the specified conditions that precludes such a choice, and 

may also receive support from a services facilitator. Persons 

functioning as services facilitators shall be enrolled Medicaid 

providers. This shall be a separate waiver service to be used 

in conjunction with CD consumer-directed personal 

assistance, respite, or companion services and shall not be 

covered for an individual absent one of these consumer 

directed services.  

1. Services facilitators shall train individuals enrolled in 

the waiver, family/caregiver, or EOR, as appropriate, to 

direct (such as select, hire, train, supervise, and authorize 

timesheets of) their own assistants who are rendering 

personal assistance, respite services, and companion 

services.  

2. The services facilitator shall assess the individual's 

particular needs for a requested CD consumer-directed 

service, assisting in the development of the Plan for 

Supports, provide management training for the individual 

or the EOR, as appropriate, on his responsibilities as 

employer, and provide ongoing support of the CD 

consumer-directed model of services. The service 

authorization for receipt of consumer directed services 

shall be based on the approved Plan for Supports. 

3. The services facilitator shall make an initial 

comprehensive home visit to collaborate with the 

individual and the individual's family/caregiver, as 

appropriate, to identify the individual's needs, assist in the 

development of the Plan for Supports with the individual 

and the individual's family/caregiver, as appropriate, and 

provide employer management training to the individual 

and the family/caregiver, as appropriate, on his 

responsibilities as an employer, and providing ongoing 

support of the consumer-directed model of services. 

Individuals or EORs who are unable to receive employer 

management training at the time of the initial visit shall 

receive management training within seven days of the 

initial visit. 

a. The initial comprehensive home visit shall be 

completed only once upon the individual's entry into the 

CD consumer-directed model of service regardless of the 

number or type of CD consumer-directed services that an 

individual requests. 

b. If an individual changes services facilitators, the new 

services facilitator shall complete a reassessment visit in 

lieu of a comprehensive visit.  

c. This employer management training shall be 

completed before the individual or EOR may hire an 

assistant who is to be reimbursed by DMAS. 

4. After the initial visit, the services facilitator shall 

continue to monitor the individual's Plan for Supports 

quarterly (i.e., every 90 days) and more often as-needed. If 

CD consumer-directed respite services are provided, the 

services facilitator shall review the utilization of CD 

consumer-directed respite services either every six months 

or upon the use of 240 respite services hours, whichever 

comes first. 

5. A face-to-face meeting shall occur between the services 

facilitator and the individual at least every six months to 

reassess the individual's needs and to ensure 

appropriateness of any CD consumer-directed services 

received by the individual. During these visits with the 

individual, the services facilitator shall observe, evaluate, 

and consult with the individual, EOR, and the individual's 

family/caregiver, as appropriate, for the purpose of 

documenting the adequacy and appropriateness of CD 

consumer-directed services with regard to the individual's 

current functioning and cognitive status, medical needs, 

and social needs. The services facilitator's written 

summary of the visit shall include, but shall not necessarily 

be limited to:  

a. Discussion with the individual and EOR or 

family/caregiver, as appropriate, whether the particular 

consumer directed service is adequate to meet the 

individual's needs;  

b. Any suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation and to 

whom it was reported;  

c. Any special tasks performed by the assistant and the 

assistant's qualifications to perform these tasks;  

d. Individual's and EOR's or family/caregiver's, as 

appropriate, satisfaction with the assistant's service;  

e. Any hospitalization or change in medical condition, 

functioning, or cognitive status;  

f. The presence or absence of the assistant in the home 

during the services facilitator's visit; and  

g. Any other services received and the amount.  

6. The services facilitator, during routine visits, shall also 

review and verify timesheets as needed to ensure that the 

number of hours approved in the Plan for Supports is not 

exceeded. If discrepancies are identified, the services 

facilitator shall discuss these with the individual or the 

EOR to resolve discrepancies and shall notify the 

fiscal/employer agent. If an individual is consistently 

identified as having discrepancies in his timesheets, the 

services facilitator shall contact the case manager to 

resolve the situation. Failure to review and verify 
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timesheets and maintain documentation of such reviews 

shall be subject to DMAS' recovery of payments made in 

accordance with 12VAC30-80-130.  

7. The services facilitator shall maintain a record of each 

individual containing elements as set out in 12VAC30-

120-1060.  

8. The services facilitator shall be available during 

standard business hours to the individual or EOR by 

telephone. 

9. If a services facilitator is not selected by the individual, 

the individual or the family/caregiver serving as the EOR 

shall perform all of the duties and meet all of the 

requirements, including documentation requirements, 

identified for services facilitation. However, the individual 

or family/caregiver shall not be reimbursed by DMAS for 

performing these duties or meeting these requirements. 

10. If an individual enrolled in consumer-directed services 

has a lapse in services facilitator duties for more than 90 

consecutive days, and the individual or family/caregiver is 

not willing or able to assume the service facilitation duties, 

then the case manager shall notify DMAS or its designated 

prior service authorization contractor and the consumer-

directed services shall be discontinued once the required 10 

days notice of this change has been observed. The 

individual whose consumer-directed services have been 

discontinued shall have the right to appeal this 

discontinuation action pursuant to 12VAC30-110. The 

individual shall be given his choice of an agency for the 

alternative personal care, respite, or companion services 

that he was previously obtaining through consumer 

direction.  

11. The CD consumer-directed services facilitator, who is 

to be reimbursed by DMAS, shall not be the individual 

enrolled in the waiver, the individual's case manager, a 

direct service provider, the individual's spouse, a parent, 

including stepparents and legal guardians, of the individual 

who is a minor child, or the EOR who is employing the 

assistant/companion. 

12. The services facilitator shall document what constitutes 

the individual's back-up plan in case the 

assistant/companion does not report for work as expected 

or terminates employment without prior notice. 

13. Should the assistant/companion not report for work or 

terminate his employment without notice, then the services 

facilitator shall, upon the individual's or EOR's request, 

provide management training to ensure that the individual 

or the EOR is able to recruit and employ a new 

assistant/companion.  

14. The limits and requirements for individuals' selection 

of consumer directed services shall be as follows: 

a. In order to be approved to use the CD consumer-

directed model of services, the individual enrolled in the 

waiver, or if the individual is unable, the designated 

EOR, shall have the capability to hire, train, and fire his 

own assistants and supervise the assistants' performance. 

Case managers shall document in the Individual Support 

Plan the individual's choice for the CD consumer-

directed model and whether or not the individual chooses 

services facilitation. The case manager shall document in 

this individual's record that the individual can serve as 

the EOR or if there is a need for another person to serve 

as the EOR on behalf of the individual. 

b. An individual enrolled in the waiver who is younger 

than 18 years of age shall be required to have an adult 

responsible for functioning in the capacity of an EOR. 

c. Specific employer duties shall include checking 

references of assistants, determining that assistants meet 

specified qualifications, timely and accurate completion 

of hiring packets, training the assistants, supervising 

assistants' performance, and submitting complete and 

accurate timesheets to the fiscal/employer agent on a 

consistent and timely basis.  

M. Skilled nursing services. Service description. These 

services shall be provided for individuals enrolled in the 

waiver having serious medical conditions and complex health 

care needs who do not meet home health criteria but who 

require specific skilled nursing services which cannot be 

provided by non-nursing personnel. Skilled nursing services 

may be provided in the individual's home or other community 

setting on a regularly scheduled or intermittent basis. It may 

include consultation, nurse delegation as appropriate, 

oversight of direct support staff as appropriate, and training 

for other providers.  

1. In order to qualify for these services, the individual 

enrolled in the waiver shall have demonstrated complex 

health care needs that require specific skilled nursing 

services as ordered by a physician that cannot be otherwise 

provided under the Title XIX State Plan for Medical 

Assistance, such as under the home health care benefit.  

2. Service units and service limitations. Skilled nursing 

services shall be rendered by a registered nurse or licensed 

practical nurse as defined in 12VAC30-120-1000 and shall 

be provided in 15-minute units in accordance with the 

DMAS fee schedule as set out in DMAS guidance 

documents. The services shall be explicitly detailed in a 

Plan for Supports and shall be specifically ordered by a 

physician as medically necessary. 

N. Supported employment services. Service description. 

These services shall consist of ongoing supports that enable 

individuals to be employed in an integrated work setting and 

may include assisting the individual to locate a job or develop 

a job on behalf of the individual, as well as activities needed 

to sustain paid work by the individual including skill-building 

supports and safety supports on a job site. These services 

shall be provided in work settings where persons without 

disabilities are employed. Supported employment services 

shall be especially designed for individuals with 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+12VAC30-120-1000
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developmental disabilities, including individuals with ID, 

who face severe impediments to employment due to the 

nature and complexity of their disabilities, irrespective of age 

or vocational potential (i.e., the individual's ability to perform 

work). 

1. Supported employment services shall be available to 

individuals for whom competitive employment at or above 

the minimum wage is unlikely without ongoing supports 

and who because of their disabilities need ongoing support 

to perform in a work setting. The individual's assessment 

and Individual Support Plan must clearly reflect the 

individual's need for employment-related skill building. 

2. Supported employment shall be provided in one of two 

models: individual or group.  

a. Individual supported employment shall be defined as 

support, usually provided one-on-one by a job coach to 

an individual in a supported employment position. For 

this service, reimbursement of supported employment 

shall be limited to actual documented interventions or 

collateral contacts by the provider, not the amount of 

time the individual enrolled in the waiver is in the 

supported employment situation. 

b. Group supported employment shall be defined as 

continuous support provided by staff to eight or fewer 

individuals with disabilities who work in an enclave, 

work crew, bench work, or in an entrepreneurial model.  

3. Criteria. 

a. Only job development tasks that specifically pertain to 

the individual shall be allowable activities under the ID 

Waiver supported employment service and DMAS shall 

cover this service only after determining that this service 

is not available from DRS for this individual enrolled in 

the waiver. 

b. In order to qualify for these services, the individual 

shall have demonstrated that competitive employment at 

or above the minimum wage is unlikely without ongoing 

supports and, that because of his disability, he needs 

ongoing support to perform in a work setting. 

c. Providers shall participate as requested in the 

completion of the DBHDS-approved assessment. 

d. The Plan for Supports shall document the amount of 

supported employment required by the individual.  

4. Service units and service limitations. 

a. Service providers shall be reimbursed only for the 

amount and type of supported employment included in 

the individual's Plan for Supports, which must be based 

on the intensity and duration of the service delivered. 

b. The unit of service for individual job placement 

supported employment shall be one hour. This service 

shall be limited to 40 hours per week per individual.  

c. Group models of supported employment shall be billed 

according to the DMAS fee schedule.  

d. Group supported employment shall be limited to 780 

blocks per individual, or its equivalent under the DMAS 

fee schedule, per Individual Support Plan year. A block 

shall be defined as a period of time from one hour 

through three hours and 59 minutes. Two blocks are 

defined as four hours to six hours and 59 minutes. Three 

blocks are defined as seven hours to nine hours and 59 

minutes. If this service is used in combination with 

prevocational and day support services, the combined 

total unit blocks for these three services shall not exceed 

780 units, or its equivalent under the DMAS fee 

schedule, per Individual Support Plan year. 

O. Therapeutic consultation. Service description. This 

service shall provide expertise, training, and technical 

assistance in any of the following specialty areas to assist 

family members, caregivers, and other service providers in 

supporting the individual enrolled in the waiver. The 

specialty areas shall be (i) psychology, (ii) behavioral 

consultation, (iii) therapeutic recreation, (iv) speech and 

language pathology, (v) occupational therapy, (vi) physical 

therapy, and (vii) rehabilitation engineering. The need for any 

of these services shall be based on the individuals' Individual 

Support Plans, and shall be provided to those individuals for 

whom specialized consultation is clinically necessary and 

who have additional challenges restricting their abilities to 

function in the community. Therapeutic consultation services 

may be provided in individuals' homes, and in appropriate 

community settings (such as licensed or approved homes or 

day support programs) as long as they are intended to 

facilitate implementation of individuals' desired outcomes as 

identified in their Individual Support Plans.  

1. In order to qualify for these services, the individual shall 

have a demonstrated need for consultation in any of these 

services. Documented need must indicate that the 

Individual Support Plan cannot be implemented effectively 

and efficiently without such consultation as provided by 

this covered service.  

a. The individual's therapeutic consultation Plan for 

Supports shall clearly reflect the individual's needs, as 

documented in the assessment information, for 

specialized consultation provided to family/caregivers 

and providers in order to effectively implement the Plan 

for Supports.  

b. Therapeutic consultation services shall not include 

direct therapy provided to individuals enrolled in the 

waiver and shall not duplicate the activities of other 

services that are available to the individual through the 

State Plan for Medical Assistance.  

2. The unit of service shall be one hour. The services must 

be explicitly detailed in the Plan for Supports. Travel time, 

written preparation, and telephone communication shall be 

considered as in-kind expenses within this service and shall 

not be reimbursed as separate items. Therapeutic 
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consultation shall not be billed solely for purposes of 

monitoring the individual. 

3. Only behavioral consultation in this therapeutic 

consultation service may be offered in the absence of any 

other waiver service when the consultation is determined to 

be necessary.  

P. Transition services. Transition services, as defined at and 

controlled by 12VAC30-120-2000 and 12VAC30-120-2010, 

provide for set-up expenses for qualifying applicants. The ID 

case manager shall coordinate with the discharge planner to 

ensure that ID Waiver eligibility criteria shall be met. 

Transition services shall be prior authorized by DMAS or its 

designated agent in order for reimbursement to occur. 

12VAC30-120-1060. Participation standards for provision 

of services; providers' requirements. 

A. The required documentation for residential support 

services, day support services, supported employment 

services, and prevocational support shall be as follows: 

1. A completed copy of the DBHDS-approved SIS 

assessment form or its approved alternative form during 

the phase in period.  

2. A Plan for Supports containing, at a minimum, the 

following elements:  

a. The individual's strengths, desired outcomes, required 

or desired supports or both, and skill-building needs;  

b. The individual's support activities to meet the 

identified outcomes;  

c. The services to be rendered and the schedule of such 

services to accomplish the above desired outcomes and 

support activities;  

d. A timetable for the accomplishment of the individual's 

desired outcomes and support activities;  

e. The estimated duration of the individual's needs for 

services; and  

f. The provider staff responsible for the overall 

coordination and integration of the services specified in 

the Plan for Supports.  

3. Documentation indicating that the Plan for Supports' 

desired outcomes and support activities have been 

reviewed by the provider quarterly, annually, and more 

often as needed. The results of the review must be 

submitted to the case manager. For the annual review and 

in cases where the Plan for Supports is modified, the Plan 

for Supports shall be reviewed with and agreed to by the 

individual enrolled in the waiver and the individual's 

family/caregiver, as appropriate. 

4. All correspondence to the individual and the individual's 

family/caregiver, as appropriate, the case manager, DMAS, 

and DBHDS.  

5. Written documentation of contacts made with 

family/caregiver, physicians, formal and informal service 

providers, and all professionals concerning the individual.  

B. The required documentation for personal assistance 

services, respite services, and companion services shall be as 

set out in this subsection. The agency provider holding the 

service authorization or the services facilitator, or the EOR in 

the absence of a services facilitator, shall maintain records 

regarding each individual who is receiving services. At a 

minimum, these records shall contain: 

1. A copy of the completed DBHDS-approved SIS 

assessment (or its approved alternative during the phase in 

period) and, as needed, an initial assessment completed by 

the supervisor or services facilitator prior to or on the date 

services are initiated. 

2. A Plan for Supports, that contains, at a minimum, the 

following elements:  

a. The individual's strengths, desired outcomes, required 

or desired supports;  

b. The individual's support activities to meet these 

identified outcomes;  

c. Services to be rendered and the frequency of such 

services to accomplish the above desired outcomes and 

support activities; and  

d. For the agency-directed model, the provider staff 

responsible for the overall coordination and integration 

of the services specified in the Plan for Supports. For the 

consumer-directed model, the identifying information for 

the assistant or assistants and the Employer of Record. 

3. Documentation indicating that the Plan for Supports' 

desired outcomes and support activities have been 

reviewed by the provider quarterly, annually, and more 

often as needed. The results of the review must be 

submitted to the case manager. For the annual review and 

in cases where the Plan for Supports is modified, the Plan 

for Supports shall be reviewed with and agreed to by the 

individual enrolled in the waiver and the individual's 

family/caregiver, as appropriate. 

4. The companion services supervisor or CD services 

facilitator, as required by 12VAC30-120-1020, shall 

document in the individual's record in a summary note 

following significant contacts with the companion and 

home visits with the individual: 

a. Whether companion services continue to be 

appropriate; 

b. Whether the plan is adequate to meet the individual's 

needs or changes are indicated in the plan; 

c. The individual's satisfaction with the service; 

d. The presence or absence of the companion during the 

supervisor's visit; 

e. Any suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation and to 

whom it was reported; and  

f. Any hospitalization or change in medical condition, 

and functioning or cognitive status; 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+12VAC30-120-2000
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+12VAC30-120-2010
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5. All correspondence to the individual and the individual's 

family/caregiver, as appropriate, the case manager, DMAS, 

and DBHDS;  

6. Contacts made with family/caregiver, physicians, formal 

and informal service providers, and all professionals 

concerning the individual; and  

7. Documentation provided by the case manager as to why 

there are no providers other than family members available 

to render respite assistant care if this service is part of the 

individual's Plan for Supports.  

C. The required documentation for assistive technology, 

environmental modifications (EM), and Personal Emergency 

Response Systems (PERS) shall be as follows: 

1. The appropriate IDOLS documentation, to be completed 

by the case manager, may serve as the Plan for Supports 

for the provision of AT, EM, and PERS services. A 

rehabilitation engineer may be involved for AT or EM 

services if disability expertise is required that a general 

contractor may not have. The Plan for Supports/IDOL shall 

include justification and explanation that a rehabilitation 

engineer is needed, if one is required. The IDOL shall be 

submitted to the state-designated agency or its contractor in 

order for service authorization to occur;  

2. Written documentation for AT services regarding the 

process and results of ensuring that the item is not covered 

by the State Plan for Medical Assistance as DME and 

supplies, and that it is not available from a DME provider;  

3. AT documentation of the recommendation for the item 

by a qualified professional;  

4. Documentation of the date services are rendered and the 

amount of service that is needed;  

5. Any other relevant information regarding the device or 

modification;  

6. Documentation in the case management record of 

notification by the designated individual or individual's 

representative family/caregiver of satisfactory completion 

or receipt of the service or item; and  

7. Instructions regarding any warranty, repairs, complaints, 

or servicing that may be needed.  

D. Assistive technology (AT). In addition to meeting the 

service coverage requirements in 12VAC30-120-1020 and the 

general conditions and requirements for home and 

community-based participating providers as specified in 

12VAC30-120-1040, AT shall be provided by DMAS-

enrolled durable medical equipment (DME) providers or 

DMAS-enrolled CSBs/BHAs with an ID Waiver provider 

agreement to provide AT. DME shall be provided in 

accordance with 12VAC30-50-165. 

E. Companion services (both agency-directed and 

consumer-directed). In addition to meeting the service 

coverage requirements in 12VAC30-120-1020 and the 

general conditions and requirements for home and 

community-based participating providers as specified in 

12VAC30-120-1040, companion service providers shall meet 

the following qualifications:  

1. For the agency-directed model, the provider shall be 

licensed by DBHDS as either a residential service 

provider, supportive in-home residential service provider, 

day support service provider, or respite service provider or 

shall meet the DMAS criteria to be a personal care/respite 

care provider.  

2. For the consumer-directed model, there may be a 

services facilitator (or person serving in this capacity) 

meeting the requirements found in 12VAC30-120-1020. 

3. Companion qualifications. Persons functioning as 

companions shall meet the following requirements:  

a. Be at least 18 years of age;  

b. Be able to read and write English to the degree 

required to function in this capacity and possess basic 

math skills;  

c. Be capable of following a Plan for Supports with 

minimal supervision and be physically able to perform 

the required work;  

d. Possess a valid social security number that has been 

issued by the Social Security Administration to the 

person who is to function as the companion;  

e. Be capable of aiding in IADLs; and  

f. Receive an annual tuberculosis screening. 

4. Persons rendering companion services for 

reimbursement by DMAS shall not be the individual's 

spouse, parent (whether biological or adoptive), stepparent, 

or legal guardian. Other family members living under the 

same roof as the individual being served may not provide 

companion services unless there is objective written 

documentation completed by the services facilitator, or the 

EOR when the individual does not select services 

facilitation, as to why there are no other providers available 

to provide companion services. 

a. Family members who are approved to be reimbursed 

by DMAS to provide companion services shall meet all 

of the companion training and ability qualifications as 

other persons who are not family members. Family 

members who are approved to be reimbursed for 

providing this service shall not be the family 

member/caregiver/EOR who is directing the individual's 

care.  

b. Companion services shall not be provided by adult 

foster care providers or any other paid caregivers for an 

individual residing in that foster care home. 

5. For the agency-directed model, companions shall be 

employees of enrolled providers that have participation 

agreements with DMAS to provide companion services. 

Providers shall be required to have a companion services 

supervisor to monitor companion services. The companion 
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services supervisor shall have a bachelor's degree in a 

human services field and have at least one year of 

experience working in the ID field, or be a licensed 

practical nurse (LPN) or a registered nurse (RN) with at 

least one year of experience working in the ID field. Such 

LPNs and RNs shall have the appropriate current licenses 

to either practice nursing in the Commonwealth or have 

multi-state licensure privilege as defined herein.  

6. The companion services supervisor or services 

facilitator, as appropriate, shall conduct an initial home 

visit prior to initiating companion services to document the 

efficacy and appropriateness of such services and to 

establish a Plan for Supports for the individual enrolled in 

the waiver. The companion services supervisor or services 

facilitator must provide quarterly follow-up home visits to 

monitor the provision of services under the agency-

directed model and semi-annually (every six months) 

under the consumer-directed model or more often as 

needed.  

7. In addition to the requirements in subdivisions 1 through 

6 of this subsection the companion record for agency-

directed service providers must also contain:  

a. The specific services delivered to the individual 

enrolled in the waiver by the companion, dated the day of 

service delivery, and the individual's responses;  

b. The companion's arrival and departure times;  

c. The companion's weekly comments or observations 

about the individual enrolled in the waiver to include 

observations of the individual's physical and emotional 

condition, daily activities, and responses to services 

rendered; and  

d. The companion's and individual's and the individual's 

family/caregiver's, as appropriate, weekly signatures 

recorded on the last day of service delivery for any given 

week to verify that companion services during that week 

have been rendered.  

8. Consumer-directed model companion record. In addition 

to the requirements outlined in this subsection, the 

companion record for services facilitators must contain:  

a. The services facilitator's dated notes documenting any 

contacts with the individual enrolled in the waiver and 

the individual's family/caregiver, as appropriate, and 

visits to the individual's home;  

b. Documentation of training provided to the companion 

by the individual or EOR, as appropriate;  

c. Documentation of all employer management training 

provided to the individual enrolled in the waiver or the 

EOR, including the individual's and the EOR's, as 

appropriate, receipt of training on their legal 

responsibility for the accuracy and timeliness of the 

companion's timesheets; and  

d. All documents signed by the individual enrolled in the 

waiver and the EOR that acknowledge their 

responsibilities and legal liabilities as the companion's or 

companions' employer, as appropriate. 

F. Crisis stabilization services. In addition to the service 

coverage requirements in 12VAC30-120-1020 and the 

general conditions and requirements for home and 

community-based participating providers as specified in 

12VAC30-120-1040, the following crisis stabilization 

provider qualifications shall apply:  

1. A crisis stabilization services provider shall be licensed 

by DBHDS as a provider of either outpatient services, 

crisis stabilization services, residential services with a 

crisis stabilization track, supportive residential services 

with a crisis stabilization track, or day support services 

with a crisis stabilization track. 

2. The provider shall employ or use QMRPs, licensed 

mental health professionals, or other qualified personnel 

who have demonstrated competence to provide crisis 

stabilization and related activities to individuals with ID 

who are experiencing serious psychiatric or behavioral 

problems.  

3. To provide the crisis supervision component, providers 

must be licensed by DBHDS as providers of residential 

services, supportive in-home residential services, or day 

support services. Documentation of providers' 

qualifications shall be maintained for review by DBHDS 

and DMAS staff or DMAS' designated agent. 

4. A Plan for Supports must be developed or revised and 

submitted to the case manager for submission to DBHDS 

within 72 hours of the requested start date for 

authorization. 

5. Required documentation in the individual's record. The 

provider shall maintain a record regarding each individual 

enrolled in the waiver who is receiving crisis stabilization 

services. At a minimum, the record shall contain the 

following:  

a. Documentation of the face-to-face assessment and any 

reassessments completed by a QMRP; 

b. A Plan for Supports that contains, at a minimum, the 

following elements:  

(1) The individual's strengths, desired outcomes, required 

or desired supports;  

(2) Services to be rendered and the frequency of services 

to accomplish these desired outcomes and support 

activities;  

(3) A timetable for the accomplishment of the 

individual's desired outcomes and support activities;  

(4) The estimated duration of the individual's needs for 

services; and  

(5) The provider staff responsible for the overall 

coordination and integration of the services specified in 

the Plan for Supports; and 
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c. Documentation indicating the dates and times of crisis 

stabilization services, the amount and type of service or 

services provided, and specific information regarding the 

individual's response to the services and supports as 

agreed to in the Plan for Supports. 

G. Day support services. In addition to meeting the service 

coverage requirements in 12VAC30-120-1020 and the 

general conditions and requirements for home and 

community-based participating providers as specified in 

12VAC30-120-1040, day support providers, for both 

intensive and regular service levels, shall meet the following 

additional requirements: 

1. The provider of day support services must be 

specifically licensed by DBHDS as a provider of day 

support services. (12VAC 35-105-20) 

2. In addition to licensing requirements, day support staff 

shall also have training in the characteristics of intellectual 

disabilities and the appropriate interventions, skill building 

strategies, and support methods for individuals with 

intellectual disabilities and such functional limitations. All 

providers of day support services shall pass an objective, 

standardized test of skills, knowledge, and abilities 

approved by DBHDS and administered according to 

DBHDS' defined procedures. (See 

www.dbhds.virginia.gov for further information.) 

3. Documentation confirming the individual's attendance 

and amount of time in services and specific information 

regarding the individual's response to various settings and 

supports as agreed to in the Plan for Supports. An 

attendance log or similar document must be maintained 

that indicates the individual's name, date, type of services 

rendered, staff signature and date, and the number of 

service units delivered, in accordance with the DMAS fee 

schedule. 

4. Documentation indicating whether the services were 

center-based or noncenter-based shall be included on the 

Plan for Supports. 

5. In instances where day support staff may be required to 

ride with the individual enrolled in the waiver to and from 

day support services, the day support staff transportation 

time may be billed as day support services and 

documentation maintained, provided that billing for this 

time does not exceed 25% of the total time spent in day 

support services for that day.  

6. If intensive day support services are requested, 

documentation indicating the specific supports and the 

reasons they are needed shall be included in the Plan for 

Supports. For ongoing intensive day support services, there 

shall be specific documentation of the ongoing needs and 

associated staff supports. 

H. Environmental modifications. In addition to meeting the 

service coverage requirements in 12VAC30-120-1020 and the 

general conditions and requirements for home and 

community-based participating providers as specified in 

12VAC30-120-1040, environmental modifications shall be 

provided in accordance with all applicable federal, state, or 

local building codes and laws by CSBs/BHAs contractors or 

DMAS-enrolled providers. 

I. Personal assistance services (both consumer-directed and 

agency directed models). In addition to meeting the service 

coverage requirements in 12VAC30-120-1020 and the 

general conditions and requirements for home and 

community-based participating providers as specified in 

12VAC30-120-1040, personal assistance providers shall meet 

additional provider requirements:  

1. For the agency-directed model, services shall be 

provided by an enrolled DMAS personal care provider or 

by a residential services provider licensed by the DBHDS 

that is also enrolled with DMAS. All agency-directed 

personal assistants shall pass an objective standardized test 

of skills, knowledge, and abilities approved by DBHDS 

that must be administered according to DBHDS' defined 

procedures.  

2. For the CD model, services shall meet the requirements 

found in 12VAC30-120-1020. 

3. For DBHDS-licensed residential services providers, a 

residential supervisor shall provide ongoing supervision of 

all personal assistants.  

4. For DMAS-enrolled personal care providers, the 

provider shall employ or subcontract with and directly 

supervise an RN or an LPN who shall provide ongoing 

supervision of all assistants. The supervising RN or LPN 

shall have at least one year of related clinical nursing 

experience that may include work in an acute care hospital, 

public health clinic, home health agency, ICF/ID, or 

nursing facility. 

5. For agency-directed services, the supervisor, or for CD 

services the services facilitator, shall make a home visit to 

conduct an initial assessment prior to the start of services 

for all individuals enrolled in the waiver requesting, and 

who have been approved to receive, personal assistance 

services. The supervisor or services facilitator, as 

appropriate, shall also perform any subsequent 

reassessments or changes to the Plan for Supports. All 

changes that are indicated for an individual's Plan for 

Supports shall be reviewed with and agreed to by the 

individual and, if appropriate, the family/caregiver.  

6. The supervisor or services facilitator, as appropriate, 

shall make supervisory home visits as often as needed to 

ensure both quality and appropriateness of services. The 

minimum frequency of these visits shall be every 30 to 90 

days under the agency-directed model and semi-annually 

(every six months) under the CD model of services, 

depending on the individual's needs.  

7. Based on continuing evaluations of the assistant's 

performance and individual's needs, the supervisor (for 
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agency-directed services) or the individual or the employer 

of record (EOR) (for the CD model) shall identify any gaps 

in the assistant's ability to function competently and shall 

provide training as indicated.  

8. Qualifications for consumer directed personal assistants. 

The assistant shall: 

a. Be 18 years of age or older and possess a valid social 

security number that has been issued by the Social 

Security Administration to the person who is to function 

as the attendant;  

b. Be able to read and write English to the degree 

necessary to perform the tasks expected and possess 

basic math skills; 

c. Have the required skills and physical abilities to 

perform the services as specified in the individual's Plan 

for Supports;  

d. Be willing to attend training at the individual's and 

EOR's, as appropriate, request;  

e. Understand and agree to comply with the DMAS' ID 

Waiver requirements as contained in this part 

(12VAC30-120-1000 et seq.); and  

f. Receive an annual tuberculosis screening.  

9. Additional requirements for DMAS-enrolled (agency-

directed) personal care providers.  

a. Personal assistants shall have completed an 

educational curriculum of at least 40 hours of study 

related to the needs of individuals who have disabilities, 

including intellectual/developmental disabilities, as 

ensured by the provider prior to being assigned to 

support an individual, and have the required skills and 

training to perform the services as specified in the 

individual's Plan for Supports and related supporting 

documentation. Personal assistants' required training, as 

further detailed in the applicable provider manual, shall 

be met in one of the following ways: 

(1) Registration with the Board of Nursing as a certified 

nurse aide;  

(2) Graduation from an approved educational curriculum 

as listed by the Board of Nursing; or  

(3) Completion of the provider's educational curriculum, 

as conducted by a licensed RN who shall have at least 

one year of related clinical nursing experience that may 

include work in an acute care hospital, public health 

clinic, home health agency, ICF/ID ICF/IID, or nursing 

facility.  

b. Assistants shall have a satisfactory work record, as 

evidenced by two references from prior job experiences, 

if applicable, including no evidence of possible abuse, 

neglect, or exploitation of elderly persons, children, or 

adults with disabilities.  

10. Personal assistants to be paid by DMAS shall not be 

the parents, stepparents, or legal guardians of individuals 

enrolled in the waiver who are minor children or the 

individuals' spouses. 

a. Payment shall not be made for services furnished by 

other family members family members/caregivers living 

under the same roof as the individual enrolled in the 

waiver receiving services unless there is objective written 

documentation completed by the services facilitator, or 

the case manager when the individual does not select 

services facilitation, as to why there are no other 

providers available to render the services. 

b. Family members Family members/caregivers who are 

approved to be reimbursed for providing this service 

shall meet the same training and ability qualifications as 

all other personal assistants.  

11. Provider inability to render services and substitution of 

assistants (agency-directed model).  

a. When assistants are absent or otherwise unable to 

render scheduled supports to individuals enrolled in the 

waiver, the provider shall be responsible for ensuring that 

services continue to be provided to the affected 

individuals. The provider may either provide another 

assistant, obtain a substitute assistant from another 

provider if the lapse in coverage is to be less than two 

weeks in duration, or transfer the individual's services to 

another personal care or respite provider. The provider 

that has the service authorization to provide services to 

the individual enrolled in the waiver must contact the 

case manager to determine if additional, or modified, 

service authorization is necessary.  

b. If no other provider is available who can supply a 

substitute assistant, the provider shall notify the 

individual and the individual's family/caregiver, as 

appropriate, and the case manager so that the case 

manager may find another available provider of the 

individual's choice.  

c. During temporary, short-term lapses in coverage that 

are not expected to exceed approximately two weeks in 

duration, the following procedures shall apply:  

(1) The service authorized provider shall provide the 

supervision for the substitute assistant;  

(2) The provider of the substitute assistant shall send a 

copy of the assistant's daily documentation signed by the 

assistant, the individual, and the individual's 

family/caregiver, as appropriate, to the provider having 

the service authorization; and  

(3) The service authorized provider shall bill DMAS for 

services rendered by the substitute assistant.  

d. If a provider secures a substitute assistant, the provider 

agency shall be responsible for ensuring that all DMAS 

requirements continue to be met including documentation 

of services rendered by the substitute assistant and 

documentation that the substitute assistant's 

qualifications meet DMAS' requirements. The two 
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providers involved shall be responsible for negotiating 

the financial arrangements of paying the substitute 

assistant.  

12. For the agency-directed model, the personal assistant 

record shall contain:  

a. The specific services delivered to the individual 

enrolled in the waiver by the assistant, dated the day of 

service delivery, and the individual's responses;  

b. The assistant's arrival and departure times;  

c. The assistant's weekly comments or observations about 

the individual enrolled in the waiver to include 

observations of the individual's physical and emotional 

condition, daily activities, and responses to services 

rendered; and  

d. The assistant's and individual's and the individual's 

family/caregiver's, as appropriate, weekly signatures 

recorded on the last day of service delivery for any given 

week to verify that services during that week have been 

rendered.  

13. The records of individuals enrolled in the waiver who 

are receiving personal assistance services in a congregate 

residential setting (because skill building services are no 

longer appropriate or desired for the individual), must 

contain:  

a. The specific services delivered to the individual 

enrolled in the waiver, dated the day that such services 

were provided, the number of hours as outlined in the 

Plan for Supports, the individual's responses, and 

observations of the individual's physical and emotional 

condition; and  

b. At a minimum, monthly verification by the residential 

supervisor of the services and hours rendered and billed 

to DMAS.  

14. For the consumer-directed model, the services 

facilitator's record shall contain, at a minimum:  

a. Documentation of all employer management training 

provided to the individual enrolled in the waiver and the 

EOR including the individual or the individual's 

family/caregiver, as appropriate, and EOR, as 

appropriate, receipt of training on their legal 

responsibilities for the accuracy and timeliness of the 

assistant's timesheets; and  

b. All documents signed by the individual enrolled in the 

waiver and the EOR, as appropriate, which acknowledge 

the responsibilities as the employer.  

J. Personal Emergency Response Systems. In addition to 

meeting the service coverage requirements in 12VAC30-120-

1020 and the general conditions and requirements for home 

and community-based participating providers as specified in 

12VAC30-120-1040, PERS providers shall also meet the 

following qualifications:  

1. A PERS provider shall be either: (i) an enrolled personal 

care agency; (ii) an enrolled durable medical equipment 

provider; (iii) a licensed home health provider; or (iv) a 

PERS manufacturer that has the ability to provide PERS 

equipment, direct services (i.e., installation, equipment 

maintenance, and service calls), and PERS monitoring 

services.  

2. The PERS provider must provide an emergency 

response center with fully trained operators who are 

capable of receiving signals for help from an individual's 

PERS equipment 24-hours a day, 365, or 366, days per 

year as appropriate, of determining whether an emergency 

exists, and of notifying an emergency response 

organization or an emergency responder that the PERS 

service individual needs emergency help.  

3. A PERS provider must comply with all applicable 

Virginia statutes, applicable regulations of DMAS, and all 

other governmental agencies having jurisdiction over the 

services to be performed.  

4. The PERS provider shall have the primary responsibility 

to furnish, install, maintain, test, and service the PERS 

equipment, as required, to keep it fully operational. The 

provider shall replace or repair the PERS device within 24 

hours of the individual's notification of a malfunction of 

the console unit, activating devices, or medication-

monitoring unit. 

5. The PERS provider must properly install all PERS 

equipment into a PERS individual's functioning telephone 

line or cellular system and must furnish all supplies 

necessary to ensure that the PERS system is installed and 

working properly.  

6. The PERS installation shall include local seize line 

circuitry, which guarantees that the unit shall have priority 

over the telephone connected to the console unit should the 

phone be off the hook or in use when the unit is activated.  

7. A PERS provider shall install, test, and demonstrate to 

the individual and family/caregiver, as appropriate, the 

PERS system before submitting his claim for services to 

DMAS.  

8. A PERS provider shall maintain a data record for each 

PERS individual at no additional cost to DMAS or 

DBHDS. The record must document the following:  

a. Delivery date and installation date of the PERS;  

b. Individual or family/caregiver, as appropriate, 

signature verifying receipt of PERS device;  

c. Verification by a monthly, or more frequently as 

needed, test that the PERS device is operational;  

d. Updated and current individual responder and contact 

information, as provided by the individual, the 

individual's family/caregiver, or case manager; and  

e. A case log documenting the individual's utilization of 

the system and contacts and communications with the 
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individual, family/caregiver, case manager, and 

responders.  

9. The PERS provider shall have back-up monitoring 

capacity in case the primary system cannot handle 

incoming emergency signals.  

10. All PERS equipment shall be approved by the Federal 

Communications Commission and meet the Underwriters' 

Laboratories, Inc. (UL) safety standard for home health 

care signaling equipment in Underwriter's Laboratories 

Safety Standard 1637, Standard for Home Health Care 

Signaling Equipment, Fourth Edition, December 29, 2006. 

The UL listing mark on the equipment shall be accepted as 

evidence of the equipment's compliance with such 

standard. The PERS device shall be automatically reset by 

the response center after each activation, ensuring that 

subsequent signals can be transmitted without requiring 

manual reset by the individual enrolled in the waiver or 

family/caregiver, as appropriate.  

11. A PERS provider shall instruct the individual, 

family/caregiver, and responders in the use of the PERS 

service.  

12. The emergency response activator shall be able to be 

activated either by breath, by touch, or by some other 

means, and must be usable by individuals who are visually 

or hearing impaired or physically disabled. The emergency 

response communicator must be capable of operating 

without external power during a power failure at the 

individual's home for a minimum period of 24-hours and 

automatically transmit a low battery alert signal to the 

response center if the back-up battery is low. The 

emergency response console unit must also be able to self-

disconnect and redial the back-up monitoring site without 

the individual or family/caregiver resetting the system in 

the event it cannot get its signal accepted at the response 

center.  

13. The PERS provider shall be capable of continuously 

monitoring and responding to emergencies under all 

conditions, including power failures and mechanical 

malfunctions. It shall be the PERS provider's responsibility 

to ensure that the monitoring function and the agency's 

equipment meets the following requirements. The PERS 

provider must be capable of simultaneously responding to 

signals for help from multiple individuals' PERS 

equipment. The PERS provider's equipment shall include 

the following:  

a. A primary receiver and a back-up receiver, which must 

be independent and interchangeable;  

b. A back-up information retrieval system;  

c. A clock printer, which must print out the time and date 

of the emergency signal, the PERS individual's 

identification code, and the emergency code that 

indicates whether the signal is active, passive, or a 

responder test;  

d. A back-up power supply;  

e. A separate telephone service;  

f. A toll-free number to be used by the PERS equipment 

in order to contact the primary or back-up response 

center; and  

g. A telephone line monitor, which must give visual and 

audible signals when the incoming telephone line is 

disconnected for more than 10 seconds.  

14. The PERS provider shall maintain detailed technical 

and operations manuals that describe PERS elements, 

including the installation, functioning, and testing of PERS 

equipment, emergency response protocols, and 

recordkeeping and reporting procedures.  

15. The PERS provider shall document and furnish within 

30 days of the action taken a written report to the case 

manager for each emergency signal that results in action 

being taken on behalf of the individual, excluding test 

signals or activations made in error.  

K. Prevocational services. In addition to meeting the service 

coverage requirements in 12VAC30-120-1020 and the 

general conditions and requirements for home and 

community-based services participating providers as specified 

in 12VAC30-120-1040, prevocational providers shall also 

meet the following qualifications: 

1. The provider of prevocational services shall be a vendor 

of either extended employment services, long-term 

employment services, or supported employment services 

for DRS, or be licensed by DBHDS as a provider of day 

support services. Both licensee groups must also be 

enrolled with DMAS.  

2. In addition to licensing requirements, prevocational staff 

shall also have training in the characteristics of ID and the 

appropriate interventions, skill building strategies, and 

support methods for individuals with ID and such 

functional limitations. All providers of prevocational 

services shall pass an objective, standardized test of skills, 

knowledge, and abilities approved by DBHDS and 

administered according to DBHDS' defined procedures. 

(See www.dbhds.virginia.gov for further information.) 

3. Preparation and maintenance of documentation 

confirming the individual's attendance and amount of time 

in services and specific information regarding the 

individual's response to various settings and supports as 

agreed to in the Plan for Supports. An attendance log or 

similar document must be maintained that indicates the 

individual's name, date, type of services rendered, staff 

signature and date, and the number of service units 

delivered, in accordance with the DMAS fee schedule. 

4. Preparation and maintenance of documentation 

indicating whether the services were center-based or 

noncenter-based shall be included on the Plan for Supports.  

5. In instances where prevocational staff may be required 

to ride with the individual enrolled in the waiver to and 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 10 Virginia Register of Regulations January 11, 2016 

1772 

from prevocational services, the prevocational staff 

transportation time (actual time spent in transit) may be 

billed as prevocational services and documentation 

maintained, provided that billing for this time does not 

exceed 25% of the total time spent in prevocational 

services for that day.  

6. If intensive prevocational services are requested, 

documentation indicating the specific supports and the 

reasons they are needed shall be included in the Plan for 

Supports. For ongoing intensive prevocational services, 

there shall be specific documentation of the ongoing needs 

and associated staff supports. 

7. Preparation and maintenance of documentation 

indicating that prevocational services are not available in 

vocational rehabilitation agencies through § 110 of the 

Rehabilitation Act of 1973 or through the Individuals with 

Disabilities Education Act (IDEA). 

L. Residential support services. 

1. In addition to meeting the service coverage requirements 

in 12VAC30-120-1020 and the general conditions and 

requirements for home and community-based participating 

providers as specified in 12VAC30-120-1040 and in order 

to be reimbursed by DMAS for rendering these services, 

the provider of residential services shall have the 

appropriate DBHDS residential license (12VAC35-105).  

2. Residential support services may also be provided in 

adult foster care homes approved by local department of 

social services' offices pursuant to 22VAC40-771-20. 

3. In addition to licensing requirements, provider personnel 

rendering residential support services shall participate in 

training in the characteristics of ID and appropriate 

interventions, skill building strategies, and support 

methods for individuals who have diagnoses of ID and 

functional limitations. See www.dbhds.virginia.gov for 

information about such training. All providers of 

residential support services must pass an objective, 

standardized test of skills, knowledge, and abilities 

approved by DBHDS and administered according to 

DBHDS' defined procedures.  

4. Provider professional documentation shall confirm the 

individual's participation in the services and provide 

specific information regarding the individual's responses to 

various settings and supports as set out in the Plan for 

Supports.  

M. Respite services (both consumer-directed and agency-

directed models). In addition to meeting the service coverage 

requirements in 12VAC30-120-1020 and the general 

conditions and requirements for home and community-based 

participating providers as specified in 12VAC30-120-1040, 

respite services providers shall meet additional provider 

requirements:  

1. For the agency-directed model, services shall be 

provided by an enrolled DMAS respite care provider or by 

a residential services provider licensed by the DBHDS that 

is also enrolled by DMAS. In addition, respite services 

may be provided by a DBHDS-licensed respite services 

provider or a local department of social services-approved 

foster care home for children or by an adult foster care 

provider that is also enrolled by DMAS.  

2. For the CD model, services shall meet the requirements 

found in Services Facilitation, 12VAC30-120-1020.  

3. For DBHDS-licensed residential or respite services 

providers, a residential or respite supervisor shall provide 

ongoing supervision of all respite assistants.  

4. For DMAS-enrolled respite care providers, the provider 

shall employ or subcontract with and directly supervise an 

RN or an LPN who will provide ongoing supervision of all 

assistants. The supervising RN or LPN must have at least 

one year of related clinical nursing experience that may 

include work in an acute care hospital, public health clinic, 

home health agency, ICF/ID, or nursing facility. 

5. For agency-directed services, the supervisor, or for CD 

services the services facilitator, shall make a home visit to 

conduct an initial assessment prior to the start of services 

for all individuals enrolled in the waiver requesting respite 

services. The supervisor or services facilitator, as 

appropriate, shall also perform any subsequent 

reassessments or changes to the Plan for Supports. 

6. The supervisor or services facilitator, as appropriate, 

shall make supervisory home visits as often as needed to 

ensure both quality and appropriateness of services. The 

minimum frequency of these visits shall be every 30 to 90 

days under the agency-directed model and semi-annually 

(every six months) under the CD model of services, 

depending on the individual's needs.  

a. When respite services are not received on a routine 

basis, but are episodic in nature, the supervisor or 

services facilitator shall conduct the initial home visit 

with the respite assistant immediately preceding the start 

of services and make a second home visit within the 

respite service authorization period. The supervisor or 

services facilitator, as appropriate, shall review the use of 

respite services either every six months or upon the use 

of 240 respite service hours, whichever comes first. 

b. When respite services are routine in nature, that is 

occurring with a scheduled regularity for specific periods 

of time, and offered in conjunction with personal 

assistance, the supervisory visit conducted for personal 

assistance may serve as the supervisory visit for respite 

services. However, the supervisor or services facilitator, 

as appropriate, shall document supervision of respite 

services separately. For this purpose, the same individual 

record shall be used with a separate section for respite 

services documentation.  

7. Based on continuing evaluations of the assistant's 

performance and individual's needs, the supervisor (for 
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agency-directed services) or the individual or the EOR (for 

the CD model) shall identify any gaps in the assistant's 

ability to function competently and shall provide training 

as indicated.  

8. Qualifications for respite assistants. The assistant shall: 

a. Be 18 years of age or older and possess a valid social 

security number that has been issued by the Social 

Security Administration to the person who is to function 

as the respite assistant;  

b. Be able to read and write English to the degree 

necessary to perform the tasks expected and possess 

basic math skills; and  

c. Have the required skills to perform services as 

specified in the individual's Plan for Supports and shall 

be physically able to perform the tasks required by the 

individual enrolled in the waiver.  

9. Additional requirements for DMAS-enrolled (agency-

directed) respite care providers.  

a. Respite assistants shall have completed an educational 

curriculum of at least 40 hours of study related to the 

needs of individuals who have disabilities, including 

intellectual/developmental disabilities, as ensured by the 

provider prior to being assigned to support an individual, 

and have the required skills and training to perform the 

services as specified in the individual's Plan for Supports 

and related supporting documentation. Respite assistants' 

required training, as further detailed in the applicable 

provider manual, shall be met in one of the following 

ways: 

(1) Registration with the Board of Nursing as a certified 

nurse aide;  

(2) Graduation from an approved educational curriculum 

as listed by the Board of Nursing; or  

(3) Completion of the provider's educational curriculum, 

as taught by an RN who shall have at least one year of 

related clinical nursing experience that may include work 

in an acute care hospital, public health clinic, home 

health agency, ICF/ID, or nursing facility.  

b. Assistants shall have a satisfactory work record, as 

evidenced by two references from prior job experiences 

including no evidence of possible abuse, neglect, or 

exploitation of any person regardless of age or disability.  

10. Additional requirements for respite assistants for the 

CD option. The assistant shall:  

a. Be willing to attend training at the individual's and the 

individual family/caregiver's, as appropriate, request;  

b. Understand and agree to comply with the DMAS' ID 

Waiver requirements as contained in 12VAC30-120-

1000 et seq.; and  

c. Receive an annual tuberculosis screening.  

11. Assistants to be paid by DMAS shall not be the parents 

(whether biological or adoptive), stepparents, or legal 

guardians of individuals enrolled in the waiver who are 

minor children or the individuals' spouses. Payment shall 

not be made for services furnished by other family 

members living under the same roof as the individual who 

is receiving services unless there is objective written 

documentation completed by the services facilitator, or the 

case manager when the individual does not select services 

facilitation, as to why there are no other providers available 

to render the services required by the individual. Family 

members who are approved to be reimbursed for providing 

this service shall meet the same training and ability 

qualifications as all other respite assistants. Family 

members who are approved to be reimbursed for providing 

this service shall not be the family member/caregiver/EOR 

who is directing the individual's care.  

12. Provider inability to render services and substitution of 

assistants (agency-directed model).  

a. When assistants are absent or otherwise unable to 

render scheduled supports to individuals enrolled in the 

waiver, the provider shall be responsible for ensuring that 

services continue to be provided to individuals. The 

provider may either provide another assistant, obtain a 

substitute assistant from another provider if the lapse in 

coverage is expected to be less than two weeks in 

duration, or transfer the individual's services to another 

respite care provider. The provider that has the service 

authorization to provide services to the individual 

enrolled in the waiver must contact the case manager to 

determine if additional, or modified, service 

authorization is necessary.  

b. If no other provider is available who can supply a 

substitute assistant, the provider shall notify the 

individual and the individual's family/caregiver, as 

appropriate, and the case manager so that the case 

manager may find another available provider of the 

individual's choice.  

c. During temporary, short-term lapses in coverage not to 

exceed two weeks in duration, the following procedures 

shall apply:  

(1) The service authorized provider shall provide the 

supervision for the substitute assistant;  

(2) The provider of the substitute assistant shall send a 

copy of the assistant's daily documentation signed by the 

assistant, the individual and the individual's 

family/caregiver, as appropriate, to the provider having 

the service authorization; and  

(3) The service authorized provider shall bill DMAS for 

services rendered by the substitute assistant.  

d. If a provider secures a substitute assistant, the provider 

agency shall be responsible for ensuring that all DMAS 

requirements continue to be met including documentation 

of services rendered by the substitute assistant and 

documentation that the substitute assistant's 
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qualifications meet DMAS' requirements. The two 

providers involved shall be responsible for negotiating 

the financial arrangements of paying the substitute 

assistant.  

13. For the agency-directed model, the assistant record 

shall contain:  

a. The specific services delivered to the individual 

enrolled in the waiver by the assistant, dated the day of 

service delivery, and the individual's responses;  

b. The assistant's arrival and departure times;  

c. The assistant's weekly comments or observations about 

the individual enrolled in the waiver to include 

observations of the individual's physical and emotional 

condition, daily activities, and responses to services 

rendered; and  

d. The assistant's and individual's and the individual's 

family/caregiver's, as appropriate, weekly signatures 

recorded on the last day of service delivery for any given 

week to verify that services during that week have been 

rendered.  

N. Services facilitation and consumer directed model of 

service delivery. 

1. If the services facilitator is not an RN, the services 

facilitator shall inform the primary health care provider 

that services are being provided and request skilled nursing 

or other consultation as needed by the individual. 

2. 1. To be enrolled as a Medicaid CD services facilitator 

and maintain provider status, the services facilitator 

provider shall have sufficient resources to perform the 

required activities, including the ability to maintain and 

retain business and professional records sufficient to 

document fully and accurately the nature, scope, and 

details of the services provided. All CD services 

facilitators, whether employed by or contracted with a 

DMAS enrolled services facilitator provider, shall meet all 

of the qualifications set out in this subsection. To be 

enrolled, the services facilitator shall also meet the 

combination of work experience and relevant education set 

out in this subsection that indicate the possession of the 

specific knowledge, skills, and abilities to perform this 

function. The services facilitator shall maintain a record of 

each individual containing elements as set out in this 

section. 

a. It is preferred that the CD services facilitator possess a 

minimum of an undergraduate degree in a human 

services field or be a registered nurse currently licensed 

to practice in the Commonwealth or hold multi-state 

licensure privilege pursuant to Chapter 30 (§ 54.1-3000 

et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. In addition, 

it is preferable that the CD services facilitator have two 

years of satisfactory experience in a human service field 

working with individuals with intellectual disability or 

individuals with other developmental disabilities. Such 

knowledge, skills, and abilities must be documented on 

the provider's application form, found in supporting 

documentation, or be observed during a job interview. 

Observations during the interview must be documented. 

The knowledge, skills, and abilities include:  

a. If the services facilitator is not an RN, then, within 30 

days from the start of such services, the services 

facilitator shall inform the primary health care provider 

for the individual enrolled in the waiver that consumer-

directed services are being provided and request skilled 

nursing or other consultation as needed by the individual. 

Prior to contacting the primary health care provider, the 

services facilitator shall obtain the individual's written 

consent to make such contact or contacts. All such 

contacts and consultations shall be documented in the 

individual's medical record. Failure to document such 

contacts and consultations shall be subject to DMAS' 

recovery of payments made.  

b. Effective January 11, 2016, prior to enrollment by 

DMAS as a consumer-directed services facilitator, 

applicants shall possess, at a minimum, either (i) an 

associate's degree from an accredited college in a health 

or human services field or be a registered nurse currently 

licensed to practice in Commonwealth and two years of 

satisfactory direct care experience supporting individuals 

with disabilities or older adults or children or (ii) a 

bachelor's degree in a non-health or human services field 

and a minimum of three years of satisfactory direct care 

experience supporting individuals with disabilities or 

older adults.  

c. Effective January 11, 2016, all consumer-directed 

services facilitators, shall: 

(1) Have a satisfactory work record as evidenced by two 

references from prior job experiences from any human 

services work; such references shall not include any 

evidence of abuse, neglect, or exploitation of the elderly 

or persons with disabilities or children; 

(2) Submit to a criminal background check being 

conducted. The results of such check shall contain no 

record of conviction of barrier crimes as set forth in 

§ 32.1-162.9:1 of the Code of Virginia. Proof that the 

criminal record check was conducted shall be maintained 

in the record of the services facilitator. In accordance 

with 12VAC30-80-130, DMAS shall not reimburse the 

provider for any services provided by a services 

facilitator who has been convicted of committing a 

barrier crime as set forth in § 32.1-162.9:1 of the Code of 

Virginia; 

(3) Submit to a search of the DSS Child Protective 

Services Central Registry yielding no founded complaint; 

and 

(4) Not be debarred, suspended, or otherwise excluded 

from participating in federal health care programs, as 

listed on the federal List of Excluded Individuals/Entities 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+32.1-162.9C1
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+32.1-162.9C1
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(LEIE) database at 

http://www.olg.hhs.govfraud/exclusions/exclusions%20li

st.asp. 

d. The services facilitator shall not be compensated for 

services provided to the waiver individual effective on 

the date in which the record check verifies that the 

services facilitator (i) has been convicted of a barrier 

crime described in § 32.1-162.9:1 of the Code of 

Virginia; (ii) has a founded complaint confirmed by the 

VDSS Child Protective Services Central Registry; or (iii) 

is found to be listed on the LEIE.  

e. Effective April 10, 2016, all consumer-directed 

services facilitators providers and staff employed by 

consumer-directed services facilitator providers to 

function as a consumer-directed services facilitator shall 

complete the DMAS-approved consumer-directed 

services facilitator training and pass the corresponding 

competency assessment with a score of at least 80% prior 

to being approved as a consumer-directed services 

facilitator or being reimbursed for working with waiver 

individuals. The competency assessment and all 

corresponding competency assessments shall be kept in 

the employee's record.  

f. Failure to complete the competency assessment within 

the 90-day time limit and meet all other requirements 

shall result in a retraction of Medicaid payment or the 

termination of the provider agreement, or both, or require 

the termination of a consumer-directed services 

facilitator employed by or contracted with Medicaid 

enrolled services facilitators to render Medicaid covered 

services. 

g. As a component of the renewal of the provider 

agreement, all consumer-directed services facilitators 

shall take and pass the competency assessment every five 

years and achieve a score of at least 80%.  

h. The consumer-directed services facilitator shall have 

access to a computer with secure Internet access that 

meets the requirements of 45 CFR Part 164 for the 

electronic exchange of information. Electronic exchange 

of information shall include, for example, checking 

individual eligibility, submission of service 

authorizations, submission of information to the fiscal 

employer agent, and billing for services.  

i. All consumer-directed services facilitators shall 

possess a demonstrable combination of work experience 

and relevant education that indicates possession of the 

following knowledge, skills, and abilities. Such 

knowledge, skills and abilities shall be documented on 

the application form, found in supporting documentation, 

or be observed during the job interview. Observations 

during the interview shall be documented. The 

knowledge, skills and abilities include:  

(1) Knowledge of:  

(a) Types of functional limitations and health problems 

that may occur in individuals with intellectual disability 

or individuals with other developmental disabilities, as 

well as strategies to reduce limitations and health 

problems;  

(b) Physical assistance that may be required by 

individuals with intellectual disabilities, such as 

transferring, bathing techniques, bowel and bladder care, 

and the approximate time those activities normally take;  

(c) Equipment and environmental modifications that may 

be required by individuals with intellectual disabilities 

that reduce the need for human help and improve safety;  

(d) Various long-term care program requirements, 

including nursing home and ICF/ID ICF/IID placement 

criteria, Medicaid waiver services, and other federal, 

state, and local resources that provide personal 

assistance, respite, and companion services;  

(e) ID Waiver requirements, as well as the administrative 

duties for which the services facilitator will be 

responsible;  

(f) Conducting assessments (including environmental, 

psychosocial, health, and functional factors) and their 

uses in service planning;  

(g) Interviewing techniques;  

(h) The individual's right to make decisions about, direct 

the provisions of, and control his consumer-directed 

personal assistance, companion and respite services, 

including hiring, training, managing, approving 

timesheets, and firing an assistant/companion; 

(i) The principles of human behavior and interpersonal 

relationships; and  

(j) General principles of record documentation.  

(2) Skills in:  

(a) Negotiating with individuals and the individual's 

family/caregivers, as appropriate, and service providers;  

(b) Assessing, supporting, observing, recording, and 

reporting behaviors;  

(c) Identifying, developing, or providing services to 

individuals with intellectual disabilities; and  

(d) Identifying services within the established services 

system to meet the individual's needs.  

(3) Abilities to:  

(a) Report findings of the assessment or onsite visit, 

either in writing or an alternative format, for individuals 

who have visual impairments;  

(b) Demonstrate a positive regard for individuals and 

their families;  

(c) Be persistent and remain objective;  

(d) Work independently, performing position duties 

under general supervision;  

http://www.olg.hhs.govfraud/exclusions/exclusions%20list.asp
http://www.olg.hhs.govfraud/exclusions/exclusions%20list.asp
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(e) Communicate effectively, orally and in writing; and  

(f) Develop a rapport and communicate with individuals 

of diverse cultural backgrounds. 

3. The services facilitator's record about the individual 

shall contain:  

a. Documentation of all employer management training 

provided to the individual enrolled in the waiver and the 

EOR, as appropriate, including the individual's or the 

EOR's, as appropriate, receipt of training on their 

responsibility for the accuracy and timeliness of the 

assistant's timesheets; and 

b. All documents signed by the individual enrolled in the 

waiver or the EOR, as appropriate, which acknowledge 

their legal responsibilities as the employer.  

O. Skilled nursing services. In addition to meeting the 

service coverage requirements in 12VAC30-120-1020 and the 

general conditions and requirements for home and 

community-based participating providers as specified in 

12VAC30-120-1040, participating skilled nursing providers 

shall meet the following qualifications:  

1. Skilled nursing services shall be provided by either a 

DMAS-enrolled home health provider, or by a licensed 

registered nurse (RN), or licensed practical nurse (LPN) 

under the supervision of a licensed RN who shall be 

contracted with or employed by DBHDS-licensed day 

support, respite, or residential providers.  

2. Skilled nursing services providers shall not be the 

parents (natural, adoptive, or foster) or the legal guardians 

of individuals enrolled in the waiver who are minor 

children or the individual's spouse. Payment shall not be 

made for services furnished by other family members who 

are living under the same roof as the individual receiving 

services unless there is objective written documentation as 

to why there are no other providers available to provide the 

care. Other family members who are approved to provide 

skilled nursing services must shall meet the same skilled 

nursing provider requirements as all other licensed 

providers.  

3. Foster care providers shall not be the skilled nursing 

services providers for the same individuals for whom they 

provide foster care. 

4. Skilled nursing hours shall not be reimbursed while the 

individual enrolled in the waiver is receiving emergency 

care or is an inpatient in an acute care hospital or during 

emergency transport of the individual to such facilities. 

The attending RN or LPN shall not transport the individual 

enrolled in the waiver to such facilities. 

5. Skilled nursing services may be ordered but shall not be 

provided simultaneously with respite or personal assistance 

services. 

6. Reimbursement for skilled nursing services shall not be 

made for services that may be delivered prior to the 

attending physician's dated signature on the individual's 

support plan in the form of the physician's order. 

7. DMAS shall not reimburse for skilled nursing services 

that may be rendered simultaneously through the Medicaid 

EPSDT benefit and the Medicare home health skilled 

nursing service benefit. 

8. Required documentation. The provider shall maintain a 

record, for each individual enrolled in the waiver whom he 

serves, that contains:  

a. A Plan for Supports that contains, at a minimum, the 

following elements: 

(1) The individual's strengths, desired outcomes, required 

or desired supports;  

(2) Services to be rendered and the frequency of services 

to accomplish the above desired outcomes and support 

activities; 

(3) The estimated duration of the individual's needs for 

services; and  

(4) The provider staff responsible for the overall 

coordination and integration of the services specified in 

the Plan for Supports; 

b. Documentation of all training, including the dates and 

times, provided to family/caregivers or staff, or both, 

including the person or persons being trained and the 

content of the training. Training of professional staff 

shall be consistent with the Nurse Practice Act;  

c. Documentation of the physician's determination of 

medical necessity prior to services being rendered;  

d. Documentation of nursing license/qualifications of 

providers;  

e. Documentation indicating the dates and times of 

nursing services that are provided and the amount and 

type of service;  

f. Documentation that the Plan for Supports was 

reviewed by the provider quarterly, annually, and more 

often as needed, modified as appropriate, and results of 

these reviews submitted to the CSB/BHA case manager. 

For the annual review and in cases where the Plan for 

Supports is modified, the Plan for Supports shall be 

reviewed with and agreed to by the individual and the 

family/caregiver, as appropriate; and 

g. Documentation that the Plan for Supports has been 

reviewed by a physician within 30 days of initiation of 

services, when any changes are made to the Plan for 

Supports, and also reviewed and approved annually by a 

physician.  

P. Supported employment services. In addition to meeting 

the service coverage requirements in 12VAC30-120-1020 and 

the general conditions and requirements for home and 

community-based participating providers as specified in 

12VAC30-120-1040, supported employment provider 

qualifications shall include: 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 10 Virginia Register of Regulations January 11, 2016 

1777 

1. Group and individual supported employment shall be 

provided only by agencies that are DRS-vendors of 

supported employment services; 

2. Documentation indicating that supported employment 

services are not available in vocational rehabilitation 

agencies through § 110 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 

or through the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act 

(IDEA); and 

3. In instances where supported employment staff are 

required to ride with the individual enrolled in the waiver 

to and from supported employment activities, the 

supported employment staff's transportation time (actual 

transport time) may be billed as supported employment, 

provided that the billing for this time does not exceed 25% 

of the total time spent in supported employment for that 

day.  

Q. Therapeutic consultation. In addition to meeting the 

service coverage requirements in 12VAC30-120-1020 and the 

general conditions and requirements for home and 

community-based participating providers as specified in 

12VAC30-120-1040, professionals rendering therapeutic 

consultation services shall meet all applicable state or 

national licensure, endorsement or certification requirements. 

The following documentation shall be required for therapeutic 

consultation:  

1. A Plan for Supports, that contains at a minimum, the 

following elements:  

a. Identifying information; 

b. Desired outcomes, support activities, and time frames; 

and  

c. Specific consultation activities.  

2. A written support plan detailing the recommended 

interventions or support strategies for providers and 

family/caregivers to better support the individual enrolled 

in the waiver in the service.  

3. Ongoing documentation of rendered consultative 

services which may be in the form of contact-by-contact or 

monthly notes, which must be signed and dated, that 

identify each contact, what was accomplished, the 

professional who made the contact and rendered the 

service.  

4. If the consultation services extend three months or 

longer, written quarterly reviews are required to be 

completed by the service provider and shall be forwarded 

to the case manager. If the consultation service extends 

beyond one year or when there are changes to the Plan for 

Supports, the Plan shall be reviewed by the provider with 

the individual and family/caregiver, as appropriate. The 

Plan for Supports shall be agreed to by the individual and 

family/caregiver, as appropriate, and the case manager and 

shall be submitted to the case manager. All changes to the 

Plan for Supports shall be reviewed with and agreed to by 

the individual and the individual's family/caregiver, as 

appropriate.  

5. A final disposition summary must be forwarded to the 

case manager within 30 days following the end of this 

service.  

R. Transition services. Providers shall be enrolled as a 

Medicaid provider for case management. DMAS or the 

DMAS designated agent shall reimburse for the purchase of 

appropriate transition goods or services on behalf of the 

individual as set out in 12VAC30-120-1020 and 12VAC30-

120-2010. 

S. Case manager's responsibilities for the Medicaid Long-

Term Care Communication Form (DMAS-225). 

1. When any of the following circumstances occur, it shall 

be the responsibility of the case management provider to 

notify DBHDS and the local department of social services, 

in writing using the DMAS-225 form, and the 

responsibility of DBHDS to update DMAS, as requested: 

a. Home and community-based waiver services are 

implemented.  

b. An individual enrolled in the waiver dies.  

c. An individual enrolled in the waiver is discharged 

from all ID Waiver services.  

d. Any other circumstances (including hospitalization) 

that cause home and community-based waiver services to 

cease or be interrupted for more than 30 days.  

e. A selection by the individual enrolled in the waiver 

and the individual's family/caregiver, as appropriate, of 

an alternative community services board/behavioral 

health authority that provides case management services.  

2. Documentation requirements. The case manager shall 

maintain the following documentation for review by 

DMAS for a period of not less than six years from each 

individual's last date of service:  

a. The initial comprehensive assessment, subsequent 

updated assessments, and all Individual Support Plans 

completed for the individual;  

b. All Plans for Support from every provider rendering 

waiver services to the individual;  

c. All supporting documentation related to any change in 

the Individual Support Plans;  

d. All related communication with the individual and the 

individual's family/caregiver, as appropriate, consultants, 

providers, DBHDS, DMAS, DRS, local departments of 

social services, or other related parties;  

e. An ongoing log that documents all contacts made by 

the case manager related to the individual enrolled in the 

waiver and the individual's family/caregiver, as 

appropriate; and  

f. When a service provider or consumer-directed personal 

or respite assistant or companion is designated by the 
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case manager to collect the patient pay amount, a copy of 

the case manager's written designation, as specified in 

12VAC30-120-1010 D 5, and documentation of monthly 

monitoring of DMAS-designated system.  

T. The service providers shall maintain, for a period of not 

less than six years from the individual's last date of service, 

documentation necessary to support services billed. Review 

of individual-specific documentation shall be conducted by 

DMAS staff. This documentation shall contain, up to and 

including the last date of service, all of the following:  

1. All assessments and reassessments.  

2. All Plans for Support developed for that individual and 

the written reviews.  

3. Documentation of the date services were rendered and 

the amount and type of services rendered.  

4. Appropriate data, contact notes, or progress notes 

reflecting an individual's status and, as appropriate, 

progress or lack of progress toward the outcomes on the 

Plans for Support.  

5. Any documentation to support that services provided are 

appropriate and necessary to maintain the individual in the 

home and in the community.  

6. Documentation shall be filed in the individual's record 

upon the documentation's completion but not later than two 

weeks from the date of the document's preparation. 

Documentation for an individual's record shall not be 

created or modified once a review or audit of that 

individual enrolled in the waiver has been initiated by 

either DBHDS or DMAS. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-3805; Filed December 17, 2015, 3:05 p.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 12VAC35-220. Certification 

Requirements for Early Intervention Professionals, Early 

Intervention Specialists, and Early Intervention Case 

Managers (repealing 12VAC35-220-10 through 12VAC35-

220-100). 

12VAC35-225. Requirements for Virginia Early 

Intervention System (adding 12VAC35-225-10 through 

12VAC35-225-540).  

Statutory Authority: § 2.2-5304 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: February 10, 2016. 

Effective Date: February 27, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Catherine Hancock, Part C Administrator, 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services, 1220 Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 

(804) 371-6592, FAX (804) 371-7959, or email 

catherine.hancock@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services (DBHDS) has the legal authority to 

promulgate these regulations under § 2.2-5304 of the Code of 

Virginia, as the state lead agency appointed to implement the 

early intervention system in Virginia, and under Item 315 H 4 

of Chapter 806 of the 2013 Acts of Assembly. 

In addition, these regulations implement Part C of the 

Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA), at 

20 USC § 1431 et seq. and at 34 CFR Part 303, in Virginia. 

Purpose: These regulations are being promulgated to conform 

Virginia's regulations to the federal IDEA Part C regulations 

that were published in the Federal Register on September 28, 

2011. The proposed fast-track regulations describe early 

intervention practices that are already in place. This 

regulatory package will replace the current emergency 

regulations. The federal regulatory changes were 

predominately in the areas of increasing family protections 

and the requirements of the local early intervention program 

for transitioning infants and toddlers to other programs and 

services when early intervention programs are completed. 

These regulations ensure that infants, toddlers, and their 

families receive entitled services and specify protections that 

are provided to families. The regulations specify how services 

are planned, who is required to participate in the team 

planning, and the timelines for providing and reviewing 

services that are provided. Additionally, the regulations 

explain family rights and the required dispute resolution 

process for families. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The U.S. Department 

of Education Office of Special Education Programs (OSEP) 

must approve a state's policies, procedures, and regulations 

for implementing the IDEA Part C grant. Approval of the 

regulations, policies, and procedures is required to receive 

grant funding from OSEP. The fast-track rulemaking process 

is being utilized so that Virginia can meet the federal deadline 

for approval, which is June 30, 2016. Without permanent 

regulations, Virginia's $10.7 million federal Early 

Intervention (Part C of IDEA) grant would be at risk. The 

fast-track rulemaking process is the most feasible approach to 

meet the federal deadline. Since the practices and procedures 

defined in the regulations have been required by the Early 

Intervention Practice Manual, the regulations are not 

considered controversial. The requirements have been in 

place for more than three years. There have been limited 

changes to the emergency regulations. These changes are not 

considered substantive and therefore are expected to be 

noncontroversial.  

Substance: The only substantive changes from the emergency 

regulations to the fast-track regulations occur in 12VAC35-

225-490 and 12VAC30-225-500. 

In 12VAC30-225-490 the requirement that DBHDS notify 

practitioners when their early intervention certification 
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expires is deleted as DBHDS does not have the capacity in its 

data system to send these notices. 

In 12VAC30-225-500 the requirement that DBHDS notify 

practitioners that their status is inactive one year after their 

certification lapses is deleted as DBHDS does not have the 

capacity in its data system to send these notices. 

Issues: The primary advantages to implementing the 

regulations are that Virginia will be in compliance with 

federal regulations and will remain eligible for Early 

Intervention Part C of IDEA grant funding for infants and 

toddlers with disabilities. The advantage to the public is that 

infants and toddlers will continue to receive services and 

supports to promote their functional abilities and prevent 

complications. The provision of early intervention services 

has been demonstrated to reduce treatment and educational 

costs later in life. 

There are no disadvantages to the public. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

proposed regulation will consolidate and make permanent 

requirements for Early Intervention (EI) services that are 

currently located in permanent certification regulations, 

policy manuals, and emergency regulations. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The proposed regulation will 

consolidate and make permanent requirements for EI 

services. EI is a system of services that helps eligible babies 

and toddlers learn the skills that typically develop during the 

first three years of life, such as: physical (reaching, rolling, 

crawling, and walking); cognitive (thinking, learning, solving 

problems); communication (talking, listening, understanding); 

social/emotional (playing, feeling secure and happy); and 

self-help (eating, dressing).  

Provision of EI services started in 1986 when the federal 

Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) was 

enacted. IDEA governs how states and public agencies 

provide EI, special education, and related services to children 

with disabilities. Part C of IDEA refers to the section of the 

act included in 1986 (originally "Part H" until 1997) 

authorizing the federal grants for the Infants and Families 

Program that serves infants and toddlers with developmental 

delays or who have diagnosed physical or mental conditions 

with high probabilities of resulting in developmental delays. 

Early intervention is available in every state and territory of 

the United States. Virginia has participated in the federal EI 

program under IDEA since its inception in 1986. In Virginia, 

the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services (DBHDS) acts as the lead agency for the statewide 

system of EI services. The name of the system is "The Infant 

& Toddler Connection of Virginia." There are 40 local lead 

agencies. The purpose of the program is to identify children 

who could benefit from EI services; establish their eligibility 

under Part C of the IDEA; coordinate care; and assure the 

availability of needed services. In fiscal years (FY) 2014 and 

2015, 16272 and 17022 infants and toddlers were served in 

this system, respectively. 

EI services bring together families and service providers from 

many aspects of the community, including public and private 

agencies, parent child centers, local school districts, and 

private providers. Supports and services come together to 

meet each child's unique needs and the needs of their family 

in their home and community. Funding for services comes 

from a variety of sources, including the federal grant ($8.5 

million), state funds ($15 million), local funds ($8.1 million), 

Medicaid ($13.8 million), targeted case management ($5.7 

million), private insurance ($10.5 million), family cost share 

($0.9 million), and other sources ($4.9 million).
1
 

EI expenditures by type of service, on the other hand, are as 

follows: assessment for service planning ($2.8 million); 

developmental services ($3.3 million); eligibility 

determinations ($1.1 million); occupational therapy ($1.8 

million); physical therapy ($2.7 million); service coordination 

($12.4 million); speech language pathology ($8.4 million); 

services by private providers ($29.6 million); and $1 million 

for assistive technology, audiology, counseling, health, 

nursing, nutrition, social work, transportation, vision, and 

other services combined.
2
 

Until now, EI has been provided under a framework that was 

comprised of permanent certification regulations, policy 

manuals, and emergency regulations. The provider 

certification and case manager certification requirements 

were added to the Virginia Administrative Code in 2011 and 

2013, respectively. In September 2011, federal IDEA 

regulations were revised increasing family protections and 

requirements for transitioning infants and toddlers from EI 

(Part C) to educational services for school children 3-21 years 

of age (Part B). DBHDS implemented the changes through 

the policy guidance in the Virginia Early Intervention 

Practice Manual in June 2012. 

The 2012 changes included: Providing details regarding the 

state infrastructure for early intervention services; clarifying 

Virginia's referral system to EI services; outlining the intake, 

eligibility determination, and assessment processes; providing 

details for the expectations regarding service planning and 

delivery, including transition or discharge from the early 

intervention system of care; explaining the service funding 

and payment expectations; establishing the procedural 

safeguards that individuals can expect; addressing the 

alternative to resolve disputes; and continuing the 

certification process for certain EI practitioners and a 

comprehensive system of personnel development. 

However, the U.S. Department of Education, Office of 

Special Education Programs (OSEP) required that the 

Commonwealth promulgate state regulations rather than a 

policy manual to reflect the totality of the federal regulations 
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in order to continue to be eligible for federal grant funds. In 

response, DBHDS adopted emergency regulations in 

December 2014 addressing the required elements. In the 

months since the adoption of emergency regulations 

additional non-substantive amendments have been made at 

the request of OSEP and are reflected in the proposed 

language in this action. Furthermore, DBHDS now proposes 

to eliminate two notification requirements that were in the 

emergency regulations as DBHDS does not have the capacity 

in its data system to send the notices. These include the 

requirement that DBHDS notify practitioners when their EI 

certification expires and that their status is inactive one year 

after their certification lapses. 

In short, the proposed regulations consolidate permanent 

certification regulations, policy manuals, and emergency 

regulations in one chapter of the Virginia Administrative 

Code.  

No significant change in the administration of EI services, 

funding sources, or service delivery is expected upon 

promulgation of the proposed regulations. However, without 

permanent regulations, Virginia's current $10.7 million 

federal grant would be at risk.
3
 Thus, the main benefit of the 

proposed regulation is that Virginia will be in compliance 

with federal regulations and will remain eligible for EI Part C 

of IDEA grant funding for infants and toddlers with 

disabilities. Continued federal funding will help infants and 

toddlers to continue to receive services and supports to 

promote their functional abilities and prevent complications. 

Available literature also shows that EI services not only 

benefit infants and toddlers and their families, they also 

produce net benefits for society. For example, EI services 

have been shown to produce public benefits in academic 

achievement, behavior, educational progression and 

attainment, reduced delinquency and crime, and labor market 

success.
4
 Early childhood programs are estimated to produce 

$3.23 to $9.20 in public benefits for each dollar spent.
5
 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed permanent 

regulation will help maintain Virginia's current EI system in 

its current state. In FY 2015, there were 17,022 infants and 

toddlers served in the EI program. There are 40 local EI 

programs, and approximately 70 small businesses that 

provide early intervention services. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulation 

applies throughout the Commonwealth. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulation is 

not likely to have a significant impact on employment upon 

promulgation. However, it has a positive impact on 

employment in that it will help maintain Virginia's current EI 

system and the jobs of people employed in the system. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No impact 

on the use and value of private property is expected upon 

promulgation of the proposed regulation. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed regulation will not 

impose costs or other effects on small businesses upon 

promulgation. However, it will help maintain Virginia's 

current EI system and ensure small businesses currently 

providing goods and services in the system continue to do so. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. No 

adverse impact on small businesses is expected. 

Adverse Impacts:  

Businesses: The proposed regulation will not have an impact 

on non-small businesses upon promulgation. 

Localities: The proposed regulation will not adversely affect 

localities. 

Other Entities: The proposed regulation will not adversely 

affect other entities. 

________________________________________________ 
1Source: Report on Virginia's Part C Early Intervention System, submitted to 
the Chairs of the House Appropriations and Senate Finance Committees of 

the General Assembly, December 1, 2014. 
2Ibid. 
3The federal deadline for approval is June 30, 2016. 
4National Assessment of IDEA Overview, U.S. Department of Education, 

2011. 
5Early Intervention, IDEA Part C Services, and the Medical Home: 

Collaboration for Best Practice and Best Outcomes, American Academy of 

Pediatrics, 2013. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services concurs with the economic impact analysis by the 

Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

These regulations (i) provide details regarding the state 

infrastructure for early intervention services, not already 

provided by the Code of Virginia; (ii) clarify Virginia's 

referral system to early intervention services; (iii) outline 

the intake, eligibility determination, and assessment 

processes; (iv) detail the expectations regarding service 

planning and delivery, including transition or discharge 

from the early intervention system of care; (v) explain the 

service funding and payment expectations; (vi) establish 

the procedural safeguards that individuals can expect; (vii) 

address the alternative to resolve disputes; and (viii) 

establish a certification process for certain early 

intervention practitioners and a comprehensive system of 

personnel development. 

This regulatory action repeals 12VAC35-220, Certification 

Requirements for Early Intervention Professionals, Early 

Intervention Specialists, and Early Intervention Case 
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Managers, as the amendments incorporate language for 

the certification process into the new regulation. 

CHAPTER 225 

REQUIREMENTS FOR VIRGINIA EARLY 

INTERVENTION SYSTEM 

Part I 

Authority and Definitions 

12VAC35-225-10. Authority. 

A. Pursuant to § 2.2-5304 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Governor has designated the Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services as the state lead agency 

responsible for implementing the Virginia early intervention 

services system and ensuring compliance with federal 

requirements.  

B. Sections 2.2-2664, 2.2-5301, 2.2-5303, 2.2-5304, 2.2-

5305, and 2.2-5306 of the Code of Virginia establish the 

structure of Virginia's early intervention system, including the 

duties and responsibilities of the state lead agency, 

coordinating council, and participating agencies. 

C. Virginia's early intervention system, the Infant & Toddler 

Connection of Virginia, must include, at a minimum, the 

components required by Part C of the Individuals with 

Disabilities Education Act at 20 USC § 1435(a) and at 34 

CFR Part 303.  

12VAC35-225-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Ability to pay" means the amount a family is able to 

contribute toward the cost of early intervention services, 

based on family size, income, and expenses.  

"Adjusted age" means an adjustment that is made for 

premature birth (gestation less than 37 weeks) used to 

determine developmental status until the child is 18 months 

of age. 

"Administrative complaint" means a written, signed 

complaint by an individual or organization alleging that the 

department, local lead agency, or early intervention service 

provider violated a requirement of Part C or this chapter.  

"Assessment" means the ongoing procedures used by 

qualified early intervention service providers to identify (i) 

the child's unique strengths and needs and the concerns of the 

family; (ii) the early intervention services appropriate to meet 

those needs throughout the period of the child's eligibility 

under Part C; and (iii) the resources, priorities, and supports 

and services necessary to enhance the family's capacity to 

meet the developmental needs of the child.  

"Assistive technology device" means any item, piece of 

equipment, or product system, whether acquired 

commercially off the shelf, modified, fabricated, or 

customized, that is used to increase, maintain, or improve 

functional capabilities of a child. The term does not include a 

medical device that is surgically implanted, such as a cochlear 

implant, or the optimization (e.g., mapping), maintenance, or 

replacement of that device. 

"Assistive technology service" means any service that 

directly assists in the selection, acquisition, or use of an 

assistive technology device. Assistive technology services 

include (i) evaluating the needs of the child, including a 

functional evaluation in the child's customary environment; 

(ii) purchasing, leasing, or otherwise providing for the 

acquisition of assistive technology devices; (iii) selecting, 

designing, fitting, customizing, adapting, applying, 

maintaining, repairing, or replacing assistive technology 

devices; (iv) coordinating and using other therapies, 

interventions, or services with assistive technology devices, 

such as those associated with existing education and 

rehabilitation plans and programs; (v) providing training or 

technical assistance to a child, or, if appropriate, that child's 

family; and (vi) providing training or technical assistance to 

professionals, including individuals providing education or 

rehabilitation services, or other individuals who provide 

services to or are otherwise substantially involved in the 

major life functions of the child. 

"Atypical development" means one or more of the following 

conditions or responses: (i) atypical or questionable sensory-

motor responses; (ii) atypical or questionable social-

emotional development; (iii) atypical or questionable 

behaviors that interfere with the acquisition of developmental 

skills; or (iv) impaired social interaction and communication 

skills with restricted and repetitive behaviors. 

"Audiology" means services that include (i) identifying 

children with auditory impairments, using at-risk criteria and 

appropriate audiologic screening techniques; (ii) determining 

the range, nature, and degree of hearing loss and 

communication functions by use of audiological evaluation 

procedures; (iii) referring children with auditory impairment 

for medical or other services necessary for habilitation or 

rehabilitation; (iv) providing auditory training, aural 

rehabilitation, speech reading and listening devices, 

orientation and training, and other services; (v) providing 

services for prevention of hearing loss; and (vi) determining 

the child's individual amplification, including selecting, 

fitting, and dispensing appropriate listening and vibrotactile 

devices, and evaluating the effectiveness of those devices. 

"Child find" means a comprehensive and coordinated system 

to locate, identify, refer, and evaluate all children with 

disabilities in Virginia who may be eligible for early 

intervention services under Part C. 

"Child with a disability" or "infant or toddler with a 

disability" means an individual who is under three years of 

age and who needs early intervention services because he is 

experiencing a developmental delay in one or more areas of 

development or atypical development or has a diagnosed 

physical or mental condition that has a high probability of 

resulting in developmental delay. 
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"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services. 

"Counseling services" means the assessment and treatment 

of mental, emotional, or behavioral disorders and associated 

distresses that interfere with mental health, including (i) 

individual or family group counseling with the parent or 

parents and other family members; (ii) collaborating with the 

family, service coordinator, and other early intervention 

service providers identified on an infant's or toddler's 

individualized family service plan (IFSP); and (iii) family 

training, education, and support provided to assist the family 

of an infant or a toddler with a disability in understanding his 

needs related to development, behavior, or social-emotional 

functioning and to enhance his development. 

"Day" means calendar day, unless clearly specified 

otherwise. 

"Department" means the Department of Behavioral Health 

and Developmental Services.  

"Developmental delay" means a level of functioning that (i) 

is at least 25% below the child's chronological or adjusted age 

in cognitive, physical, communication, social or emotional, or 

adaptive development or (ii) demonstrates atypical 

development or behavior even in the absence of a 25% delay. 

Developmental delay is measured using the evaluation and 

assessment procedures described in 12VAC35-225-90.  

"Developmental services" means services provided to a 

child with a disability that include (i) designing learning 

environments and activities that promote the child's 

acquisition of skills in a variety of developmental areas, 

including cognitive processes and social interaction; (ii) 

curriculum planning, including the planned interaction of 

personnel, materials, time, and space, that leads to achieving 

the outcomes in the child's IFSP; (iii) providing families with 

information, skills, and support related to enhancing the skill 

development of the child; and (iv) working with the child to 

enhance his development. 

"Discipline" or "profession" means a specific occupational 

category that may provide early intervention supports and 

services to eligible children under Part C and their families. 

"Due process complaint" means a complaint filed by a 

parent requesting a due process hearing to resolve a 

disagreement with an early intervention service provider's 

proposal or refusal to initiate or change identification, 

eligibility determination, or placement of the child or the 

provision of early intervention services to the child or family. 

"Duration" means the projection of when a given early 

intervention service will no longer be provided, such as when 

the child is expected to achieve the results or outcomes in his 

IFSP. 

"Early intervention practitioner" means a person who is 

qualified to apply for or who holds certification as an early 

intervention professional, specialist, or case manager. An 

early intervention practitioner may be employed as an early 

intervention service provider under Part C. 

"Early intervention records" means all records regarding a 

child that are required to be collected, maintained, or used 

under Part C. 

"Early intervention service provider" means a provider 

agency, whether public, private, or nonprofit, or an early 

intervention practitioner that provides early intervention 

services under Part C, whether or not the agency or individual 

receives federal Part C funds. 

"Early intervention services" means services provided 

through Part C designed to meet the developmental needs of 

children and families and to enhance the development of 

children from birth to age three years who have (i) a 25% 

developmental delay in one or more areas of development, 

(ii) atypical development, or (iii) a diagnosed physical or 

mental condition that has a high probability of resulting in a 

developmental delay. Early intervention services provided in 

the child's home and in accordance with this chapter shall not 

be construed to be home health services as referenced in 

§ 32.1-162.7 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Eligibility determination" means the evaluation procedures 

used by qualified early intervention service providers to 

determine a child's initial and continuing eligibility under Part 

C.  

"Family fee" means the amount based on the accrued 

charges and copayments that may be charged to families for 

services that an infant or a toddler with a disability and his 

family receive each month. The family fee may not exceed 

the monthly cap. 

"Frequency" means the number of days or sessions a service 

will be provided. 

"Health services" means services necessary to enable a child 

receiving services under Part C to benefit from other early 

intervention supports and services he receives and includes (i) 

providing clean intermittent catheterization, tracheostomy 

care, tube feeding, the changing of dressings or colostomy 

collection bags, and other health services and (ii) arranging 

consultation by physicians with other service providers 

concerning the special health care needs of the child that will 

need to be addressed in the course of providing other early 

intervention services. The term does not include services that 

are surgical in nature (e.g., cleft palate surgery, surgery for 

club foot, or the shunting of hydrocephalus); purely medical 

in nature (e.g., hospitalization for management of congenital 

heart ailments or the prescribing of medicine or drugs for any 

purpose); or related to the implementation, optimization (e.g., 

mapping), maintenance, or replacement of a medical device 

that is surgically implanted, including a cochlear implant; 

devices (e.g., heart monitors, respirators and oxygen, and 

gastrointestinal feeding tubes and pumps) necessary to 

control or treat a medical condition; or medical health 

services (e.g., immunizations and regular "well-baby" care) 

that are routinely recommended for all children. 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 10 Virginia Register of Regulations January 11, 2016 

1783 

"Homeless children" means children who meet the definition 

given the term "homeless children and youths" in § 752 (42 

USC § 11434a) of the McKinney-Vento Homeless Assistance 

Act, as amended, 42 USC § 11434a et seq. 

"Inability to pay" means the amount a family is able to 

contribute toward the cost of early intervention services is 

zero, resulting in the family's receiving all early intervention 

services at no cost to the family. 

"Indian" means an individual who is a member of an Indian 

tribe. 

"Indian tribe" means any federal or state Indian tribe, band, 

rancheria, pueblo, colony, or community, including any 

Alaska native village or regional village corporation. 

"Individualized family service plan" or "IFSP" means a 

written plan for providing early intervention supports and 

services to a child with a disability or his family that (i) is 

based on the evaluation for eligibility determination and 

assessment for service planning; (ii) includes information 

based on the child's evaluation and assessments, family 

information, results or outcomes, and supports and services 

based on peer-reviewed research (to the extent practicable) 

that are necessary to meet the unique needs of the child and 

the family and to achieve the results or outcomes; and (iii) is 

implemented as soon as possible once parental consent is 

obtained. 

"Informed clinical opinion" means the use of professional 

expertise and experience in combination with information 

gathered through eligibility determination or assessment for 

service planning, or both, to determine the child's 

developmental status and eligibility under Part C. 

"Initial early intervention service coordination plan" means a 

written plan that specifies the activities that will be completed 

by the service coordinator prior to completion of the 

individualized family service plan.  

"Intensity" means whether a service will be provided on an 

individual or group basis. 

"Length of service" means the amount of time the service 

will be provided during each session (e.g., an hour or other 

specified timeframe). 

"Local lead agency" means an entity that, under contract 

with the department, administers a local early intervention 

system. 

"Location of service" means the actual place or places where 

the early intervention service will be provided. 

"Medical services" means services provided by a licensed 

physician for diagnostic or eligibility determination purposes 

to determine a child's developmental status and need for early 

intervention supports and services. 

"Monthly cap" means the maximum amount that a family 

will be required to pay per month for early intervention 

services regardless of the charge or charges or number of 

different types, frequency, or length of services a child and 

family receive. 

"Multidisciplinary" means the involvement of two or more 

separate disciplines or professions.  

"Native language" means the language or mode of 

communication, such as sign language, Braille, or oral 

communication for persons with no written language, that is 

normally used by the child or his parents. 

"Natural environments" means settings that are natural or 

typical for a same-aged child without a disability and may 

include the home or community settings. 

"Nursing services" means services that include (i) 

conducting assessments of health status for the purpose of 

providing nursing care, including the identification of patterns 

of human response to actual or potential health problems; (ii) 

providing nursing care to prevent health problems, restore or 

improve functioning, and promote optimal health and 

development; and (iii) administering medications, treatment, 

and regimens prescribed by a licensed physician. 

"Nutrition services" means services that include (i) 

individual assessments in nutritional history and dietary 

intake; anthropometric, biochemical, and clinical variables; 

feeding skills and feeding problems; and food habits and food 

preferences; (ii) developing and monitoring appropriate plans 

to address the nutritional needs of children eligible for early 

intervention supports and services based on the findings of 

individual assessments; and (iii) making referrals to 

appropriate community resources to carry out nutritional 

goals. 

"Occupational therapy" means services that are designed to 

improve the child's functional ability to perform tasks in 

home, school, and community settings, and include (i) 

identifying and assessing the child's functional needs and 

providing interventions related to adaptive development; 

adaptive behavior; play; and sensory, motor, and postural 

development; (ii) adapting the environment and selecting, 

designing, and fabricating assistive and orthotic devices to 

facilitate development and promote the acquisition of 

functional skills; and (iii) preventing or minimizing the 

impact of initial or future impairment, delay in development, 

or loss of functional ability. 

"Parent" means (i) a biological or adoptive parent of a child; 

(ii) a foster parent, unless state law, regulations, or 

contractual obligations with a state or local entity prohibit a 

foster parent from acting as a parent; (iii) a guardian generally 

authorized to act as the child's parent or authorized to make 

early intervention, educational, health, or developmental 

decisions for the child (but not the state if the child is a ward 

of the state); (iv) an individual acting in the place of a 

biological or adoptive parent, including a grandparent, 

stepparent, or other relative, with whom the child lives or an 

individual who is legally responsible for the child's welfare; 

or (v) a surrogate parent, when determined necessary in 

accordance with and assigned pursuant to this chapter. The 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 10 Virginia Register of Regulations January 11, 2016 

1784 

term "parent" does not include any local or state agency or its 

agents if the child is in the custody of said agency. 

"Part B" means Part B of the Individuals with Disabilities 

Education Act, 20 USC § 1411 et seq. 

"Part C" means Part C of the Individuals with Disabilities 

Education Act, 20 USC § 1431 et seq. 

"Participating agencies" means the Departments of Health, 

Education, Medical Assistance Services, Behavioral Health 

and Developmental Services, and Social Services; the 

Departments for the Deaf and Hard-of-Hearing and Blind and 

Vision Impaired; and the Bureau of Insurance within the State 

Corporation Commission. 

"Payor of last resort" means a funding source that may be 

used only after all other available public and private funding 

sources have been accessed. 

"Personally identifiable information" means the name of the 

child, the child's parent, or other family members; the address 

of the child or the child's family; a personal identifier, such as 

the child's or parent's social security number; or a list of 

personal characteristics or other information that, alone or in 

combination, could be used to identify the child or the child's 

parents or other family members. 

"Physical therapy" means services that promote the child's 

sensory or motor function and enhance his musculoskeletal 

status, neurobehavioral organization, perceptual and motor 

development, cardiopulmonary status, and effective 

environmental adaptation. These services include (i) 

screening, evaluation for eligibility determination, and 

assessment of children to identify movement dysfunction; (ii) 

obtaining, interpreting, and integrating information 

appropriate to program planning to prevent, alleviate, or 

compensate for movement dysfunction and related functional 

problems; (iii) adapting the environment and selecting, 

designing, and fabricating assistive and orthotic devices to 

facilitate development and promote the acquisition of 

functional skills; and (iv) providing individual or group 

services or treatment to prevent, alleviate, or compensate for 

movement dysfunction and related functional problems. 

"Primary referral sources" means those agencies, providers, 

entities, and persons who refer children and their families to 

the early intervention system and include (i) hospitals, 

including prenatal and postnatal care facilities; (ii) physicians; 

(iii) parents; (iv) child care programs and early learning 

programs; (v) local school divisions; (vi) public health 

facilities; (vii) other public health or social service agencies; 

(viii) other clinics and health care providers; (ix) public 

agencies and staff in the child welfare system, including child 

protective services and foster care; (x) homeless family 

shelters; and (xi) domestic violence shelters and agencies. 

"Psychological services" means services that include (i) 

administering psychological and developmental tests and 

other assessment procedures; (ii) interpreting assessment 

results; (iii) obtaining, integrating, and interpreting 

information about child behavior and child and family 

conditions related to learning, mental health, and 

development; and (iv) planning and managing a program of 

psychological services, including psychological counseling 

for children and parents, family counseling, consultation on 

child development, parent training, and education programs. 

"Service coordinator" means a person who holds a 

certification as an early intervention case manager and is 

responsible for assisting and enabling children with 

disabilities and their families to receive the services and 

rights, including procedural safeguards, that are authorized to 

be provided under Virginia's early intervention program. 

"Sign language and cued language services" means (i) 

teaching sign language, cued language, and auditory or oral 

language; (ii) providing oral transliteration services, such as 

amplification; and (iii) providing sign and cued language 

interpretation. 

"Single point of entry" means the single entity designated by 

the local lead agency in each local early intervention system 

where families and primary referral sources make initial 

contact with the local early intervention system. 

"Social work services" means services that include (i) 

making home visits to evaluate a child's living conditions and 

patterns of parent-child interaction; (ii) preparing a social or 

emotional developmental assessment of the child within the 

family context; (iii) providing individual and family-group 

counseling with parents and other family members, including 

appropriate social skill-building activities with the child and 

parents; (iv) working with identified problems in the living 

situation (home, community, and any center where early 

intervention supports and services are provided) that affect 

the child's use of early intervention supports and services; and 

(v) identifying, mobilizing, and coordinating community 

resources and services to enable the child with a disability 

and his family to receive maximum benefit from early 

intervention services. 

"Speech-language pathology services" means services that 

include (i) identifying children with communication or 

language disorders and delays in development of 

communication skills and identifying and appraising specific 

disorders and delays in those skills; (ii) referring children 

with communication or language disorders and delays in 

development of communication skills for medical or other 

professional services necessary for the habilitation or 

rehabilitation; and (iii) providing services for the habilitation, 

rehabilitation, or prevention of communication or language 

disorders and delays in development of communication skills. 

"State lead agency" means DBHDS, which is the agency 

designated by the Governor to receive funds to administer the 

state's responsibilities under Part C. 

"Surrogate parent" means a person assigned by the local lead 

agency or its designee to ensure that the rights of a child are 

protected when no parent can be identified; the lead agency or 
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other public agency, after reasonable efforts, cannot locate a 

parent; or the child is a ward of the state. 

"Transportation and related costs" means the cost of travel 

and other costs that are necessary to enable a child with a 

disability and his family to receive early intervention supports 

and services. 

"Virginia Interagency Coordinating Council" or "VICC" 

means the advisory council, established pursuant to § 2.2-

2664 of the Code of Virginia, to promote and coordinate 

Virginia's system of early intervention services. 

"Vision services" means services that include (i) evaluating 

and assessing visual functioning, including the diagnosis and 

appraisal of specific visual disorders, delays, and abilities that 

affect early childhood development; (ii) referring for medical 

or other professional services necessary for the habilitation or 

rehabilitation of visual functioning disorders, or both; and 

(iii) providing communication skills training, orientation and 

mobility training for all environments, visual training, and 

additional training necessary to activate visual motor abilities. 

"Visit" means a face-to-face encounter with (i) the child 

with a disability or (ii) his parent, another family member, or 

caregiver, or both, for the purpose of providing early 

intervention supports and services.  

"Ward of the state" means a child who, as determined by 

Virginia, is a foster child or is in the custody of a public 

children's residential facility. The term does not include a 

foster child who has a foster parent who meets the definition 

of "parent." 

Part II 

Virginia Early Intervention Services System  

12VAC35-225-30. Early intervention services 

applicability, availability, and coordination. 

A. This chapter shall apply to state and local lead agencies, 

early intervention practitioners, and provider agencies. 

B. Appropriate early intervention services based on 

scientifically based research, to the extent practicable, shall 

be available to all children with disabilities who are eligible 

for early intervention services in Virginia and their families, 

including (i) children and families who reside on an Indian 

reservation geographically located in Virginia or who are 

homeless and (ii) children who are wards of the state. 

C. The Virginia Interagency Coordinating Council (VICC) 

shall promote and coordinate early intervention services in 

the Commonwealth and shall advise and assist the 

department. 

1. Nonstate agency members of the VICC shall be 

appointed by the Governor. State agency representatives 

shall be appointed by their agency directors or 

commissioners. 

2. The VICC membership shall reasonably represent the 

population and shall be composed as follows: 

a. At least 20% shall be parents, including minority 

parents, of infants or toddlers with disabilities or children 

with disabilities aged 12 years or younger, with 

knowledge of, or experience with, programs for children 

with disabilities. At least one parent member shall be a 

parent of a child with a disability aged six years or 

younger; 

b. At least 20% shall be public or private providers of 

early intervention services; 

c. At least one member shall be from the Virginia 

General Assembly; 

d. At least one member shall be involved in personnel 

preparation; 

e. At least one member shall be from each of the 

participating agencies involved in the provision of or 

payment for early intervention services to children with 

disabilities and their families. These members shall have 

sufficient authority to engage in policy planning and 

implementation on behalf of the participating agency and 

shall include: 

(1) At least one member from the Department of 

Education, the state educational agency responsible for 

preschool services to children with disabilities. This 

member shall have sufficient authority to engage in 

policy planning and implementation on behalf of the 

Department of Education; 

(2) At least one member from the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, the agency responsible for the state 

Medicaid program; 

(3) At least one member from the Department of Social 

Services, the agency responsible for child care and foster 

care; 

(4) At least one member from the State Corporation 

Commission, Bureau of Insurance, the agency 

responsible for regulating private health insurance; 

(5) At least one member designated by the Office of the 

Coordination of Education of Homeless Children and 

Youth;  

(6) At least one member from the Department of 

Behavioral Health and Developmental Services, the 

agency responsible for children's mental health;  

(7) At least one member from the Department for the 

Blind and Vision Impaired; 

(8) At least one member from the Department for the 

Deaf and Hard of Hearing; and 

(9) At least one member from the Department of Health; 

f. At least one member shall be from the Children's 

Health Insurance Program (CHIP) of Virginia; 

g. At least one member shall be from a Head Start or 

Early Head Start agency or program in Virginia; and 

h. Other members selected by the Governor. 
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3. The VICC shall operate as follows: 

a. The VICC shall have bylaws that outline (i) 

nomination processes and roles of officers and 

committees and (ii) other operational procedures; 

b. No member of the VICC shall cast a vote on any 

matter that would provide direct financial benefit to that 

member or otherwise give the appearance of a conflict of 

interest under Virginia law; 

c. The VICC shall meet, at a minimum, on a quarterly 

basis; 

d. VICC meetings shall be announced in advance in the 

Commonwealth Calendar and through an announcement 

to local lead agencies; and 

e. VICC meetings shall be open and accessible to the 

public, and each meeting shall include a public comment 

period. Interpreters for persons who are deaf and other 

necessary services for both VICC members and 

participants shall be provided as necessary and upon 

request. 

4. Subject to approval by the Governor, the VICC shall 

work with the department to develop an annual budget for 

VICC expenses that may include the use of Part C funds 

for the following: 

a. Conducting hearings and forums; 

b. Reimbursing members of the VICC for reasonable and 

necessary expenses for attending VICC meetings and 

performing VICC duties, including child care for parent 

representatives; 

c. Compensating a member of the VICC if the member is 

not employed or must forfeit wages from other 

employment when performing official VICC business; 

d. Hiring staff; and 

e. Obtaining the services of professional, technical, and 

clerical personnel as may be necessary to carry out its 

functions under Part C. 

5. Except as provided in subdivision 4 e of this subsection, 

VICC members shall serve without compensation from 

funds available under Part C.  

Part III 

Referrals for Early Intervention Services and Supports 

12VAC35-225-40. Public awareness and child 

identification and referral. 

A. The department shall develop and implement a public 

awareness program that focuses on the early identification of 

infants and toddlers with disabilities and provides information 

to parents of infants and toddlers through primary referral 

sources.  

B. Local lead agencies and early intervention service 

providers shall collaborate with the department to prepare and 

disseminate information to all primary referral sources, 

including a description of the early intervention services 

available, a description of the child find system and how to 

refer a child under the age of three years for eligibility 

determination or early intervention services, and a central 

directory. 

C. The department, local lead agencies, and early 

intervention service providers shall collaborate with and assist 

primary referral sources in disseminating the information in 

subsection B of this section to parents of infants and toddlers, 

especially parents with premature infants or infants with other 

physical risk factors associated with learning or 

developmental complications. 

D. Local lead agencies shall develop and implement local 

public awareness and child find procedures that include the 

methods to be used for planning and distributing public 

awareness materials and the roles of agencies and persons in 

the community involved in public awareness and child find 

activities. 

E. The department shall maintain a central directory that 

shall be accessible to the general public through a toll-free 

number and the Internet. The central directory shall include 

accurate and up-to-date information about: 

1. Public and private early intervention services, resources, 

and experts available in Virginia;  

2. Professional and other groups (including parent support 

and training and information centers) that provide 

assistance to children with disabilities and their families; 

and  

3. Research and demonstration projects being conducted in 

Virginia relating to children with disabilities.  

F. The department shall implement a comprehensive child 

find system that is consistent with Part B of the Individuals 

with Disabilities Education Act, 20 USC § 1411 et seq., and 

ensures that all children with disabilities who are eligible for 

early intervention services in Virginia are identified, located, 

and evaluated for eligibility determination, including: 

1. Indian children with disabilities residing on a reservation 

geographically located in Virginia, including coordination, 

as necessary, with tribes, tribal organizations, and 

consortia;  

2. Children with disabilities who are homeless, in foster 

care, and wards of the state;  

3. Children who are the subject of a substantiated case of 

child abuse or neglect; and  

4. Children who are identified as directly affected by 

illegal substance abuse or withdrawal symptoms resulting 

from prenatal drug exposure. 

G. The department shall ensure that the child find system is 

coordinated with all other major efforts to locate and identify 

children by other state agencies responsible for administering 

the various education, health, and social service programs 

relevant to children with disabilities and their families, 

including Indian tribes, and with the efforts of the:  
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1. Preschool special education program through the 

Department of Education; 

2. Maternal and Child Health program, including the 

Maternal, Infant, and Early Childhood Home Visiting 

Program (42 USC § 711) under Title V of the Social 

Security Act; 

3. Early Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment 

(EPSDT) program under Title XIX (42 USC § 1396 et 

seq.) of the Social Security Act; 

4. Programs under the Developmental Disabilities 

Assistance and Bill of Rights Act of 2000 (42 USC 

§ 15001 et seq.); 

5. Head Start and Early Head Start programs; 

6. Supplemental Security Income program under Title XVI 

(42 USC § 1381 et seq.) of the Social Security Act; 

7. Child protection and child welfare programs, including 

programs administered by, and services provided through, 

the Department of Social Services, as the foster care 

agency and as the state agency responsible for 

administering the Child Abuse Prevention and Treatment 

Act (CAPTA) (42 USC § 5101 et seq.); 

8. Child care programs in Virginia; 

9. Programs that provide services under the Family 

Violence Prevention and Services Act (42 USC § 10401 et 

seq.); 

10. Virginia's Early Hearing Detection and Intervention 

(EHDI) system; 

11. Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) 

authorized under Title XXI (42 USC § 1397aa et seq.) of 

the Social Security Act; 

12. Virginia Newborn Screening Program; 

13. Virginia Congenital Anomalies Reporting Education 

System (VACARES); and 

14. Care Connection of Virginia. 

H. The department and local lead agencies shall use 

interagency agreements, memoranda of understanding, or 

other mechanisms, as needed, to minimize duplication of 

child find efforts among the programs listed in subsection G 

of this section and to ensure that there will be effective use of 

the resources available through each public agency and early 

intervention service providers in Virginia to implement the 

child find system. 

12VAC35-225-50. Referrals to the single point of entry. 

A. All local lead agencies shall identify a single point of 

entry in their respective local early intervention systems to 

receive all referrals and inquiries from families and primary 

referral sources. This single point of entry shall be published 

in local public awareness and child find materials and 

communicated to potential referral sources.  

B. Primary referral sources shall refer to the single point of 

entry any infant or toddler potentially eligible for early 

intervention services as soon as possible, but in no case more 

than seven days, after the child has been identified as 

potentially eligible. 

C. The department shall require that local community 

services boards responsible for implementing and managing 

discharge plans required by § 32.1-127 B 6 of the Code of 

Virginia for substance-abusing postpartum women and their 

infants refer to the single point of entry any child under the 

age of three years who is identified as affected by illegal 

substance abuse or withdrawal symptoms resulting from 

prenatal drug exposure. 

D. The Department of Social Services shall refer to the 

single point of entry any child under the age of three years 

who is:  

1. Identified as affected by illegal substance abuse or 

withdrawal symptoms resulting from prenatal drug 

exposure, or  

2. The subject of a founded disposition of child abuse or 

neglect. 

E. Early intervention service providers shall refer to the 

single point of entry any infant or toddler potentially eligible 

for early intervention services who becomes known to the 

provider through any source other than the early intervention 

system. 

F. Parental consent shall not be required in order to make a 

referral to the local early intervention system, and the local 

system shall accept a referral even if the referral source has 

not informed the family of the referral. 

G. Referrals to the local single point of entry may be made 

by phone, fax, mail, email, or web-based system; in writing; 

or in person. 

H. When making a referral, the referral source shall provide, 

at minimum, the child's or a family member's name and one 

method of contacting the family. 

I. The date on which the local single point of entry receives 

a referral shall be counted as the first day of the 45-day 

timeline specified in 12VAC35-225-80 C within which 

eligibility determination, assessment for service planning, and 

the initial IFSP meeting shall be completed. 

J. The single point of entry shall inform referred families 

whose children are close to the age of eligibility for early 

childhood special education services through the local school 

division under Part B that they have the option to be referred 

to the local school division instead of or simultaneously with 

referral to early intervention under Part C. 

K. Upon referral, the single point of entry shall begin an 

early intervention record for the child and assign a service 

coordinator who will assist the family with intake, eligibility 

determination, and, if eligible, assessment for service 

planning and development of an IFSP. 
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Part IV 

Intake, Eligibility, and Assessment 

12VAC35-225-60. Intake. 

A. For purposes of the early intervention system, including 

determination of required parental consents or exercise of 

parental rights, when more than one party is qualified under 

the definition of parent, the biological or adoptive parent must 

be presumed to be the parent unless that person does not have 

legal authority to make educational or early intervention 

decisions for the child.  However, if a judicial decree or order 

identifies a specific person or persons to act as the parent of a 

child or to make educational or early intervention decisions 

on behalf of a child, then that person or persons shall be 

determined to be the parent.  

B. The service coordinator shall conduct intake with the 

family in order to: 

1. Inform the family about early intervention services and 

the IFSP process; 

2. Provide the parent with a written notice and explanation 

of the family's rights and procedural safeguards under Part 

C, including: 

a. A description of what personally identifiable 

information is maintained, the types of information 

sought, the methods used in gathering information, 

including the sources from whom information is 

gathered, and the uses to be made of the information;  

b. The policies that early intervention service providers 

must follow regarding storage, disclosure to third parties, 

retention, and destruction of personally identifiable 

information;  

c. The rights of parents and children regarding the 

foregoing information, including their rights under the 

confidentiality provisions of Part C; and  

d. A description of the languages in which this notice of 

rights and safeguards is available in Virginia; 

3. With prior written notice and parental consent, gather 

information about the child's development and health 

history to assist in eligibility determination;  

4. Facilitate identification of team members for and 

coordinate scheduling of eligibility determination;  

5. Provide the schedule of sliding fees for early 

intervention services provided under Part C and other 

payment information; and 

6. For children with Medicaid, ensure completion of the 

paperwork, including development of an Initial Early 

Intervention Service Coordination Plan and data entry 

necessary to enroll the child in the Medicaid early 

intervention benefit. This plan shall end when the child is 

found ineligible for early intervention; the IFSP is signed; 

or 90 calendar days from the date of intake, whichever 

comes first. 

12VAC35-225-70. Eligibility criteria. 

A. The department shall identify physical and mental 

conditions with high probability of resulting in developmental 

delay. 

B. A child shall be eligible for early intervention services 

under Part C if the child is younger than three years of age 

and has: 

1. A developmental delay as measured through the 

evaluation and assessment procedures described in this 

section; or 

2. A diagnosed physical or mental condition with high 

probability of resulting in developmental delay.  

12VAC35-225-80. Evaluation for eligibility criteria. 

A. A child's medical and other records shall be used to 

establish initial eligibility (without conducting an evaluation 

for eligibility determination) if those records indicate that the 

child's level of functioning in one or more developmental 

areas constitutes a developmental delay or that the child 

otherwise meets the criteria for an infant or a toddler with a 

disability. 

1. If the records document a diagnosed physical or mental 

condition with a high probability of resulting in 

developmental delay, then a certified early intervention 

case manager or certified early intervention professional 

shall complete and sign the eligibility determination form 

to document review of the record. 

2. If the records document a developmental delay, a 

certified early intervention professional shall review the 

record to determine whether it establishes eligibility, 

completing and signing the eligibility determination form 

if it does. 

B. With prior written notice and parental consent, each child 

under the age of three years who is referred to the early 

intervention system shall receive a timely, comprehensive 

multidisciplinary evaluation to determine eligibility unless 

eligibility is established under subsection A of this section. 

C. Except as provided in subsection A of this section, the 

local lead agency shall ensure that, with parental consent, the 

evaluation for eligibility determination and, if the child is 

eligible, an assessment of the child and family and an initial 

IFSP meeting are completed within 45 days from the date of 

referral. 

D. The 45-day timeline described in subsection C of this 

section shall not apply for any period when: 

1. The child or parent is unavailable to complete the 

evaluation for eligibility determination, the assessments of 

the child and family, or the initial IFSP meeting due to 

exceptional family circumstances that are documented in 

the child's early intervention record; or  

2. The parent has not provided consent for the evaluation 

for eligibility determination or the assessment of the child 

despite documented, repeated attempts by the service 
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coordinator or other service provider, or both, to obtain 

parental consent. 

E. In the event that circumstances described in subsection D 

of this section delay the 45-day timeline, the service 

coordinator shall ensure: 

1. The exceptional family circumstances, repeated attempts 

to obtain parental consent, or other circumstances resulting 

in a delay are documented in the child's early intervention 

record;  

2. The evaluation for eligibility determination, the 

assessments of the child and family, and the initial IFSP 

meeting are completed as soon as possible after the 

documented exceptional family circumstances no longer 

exist, parental consent is obtained, or other circumstances 

causing a delay no longer exist; and 

3. Development of an interim IFSP, if appropriate for the 

child and family.  

12VAC35-225-90. Eligibility determination process. 

A. Eligibility determination shall be conducted by a 

multidisciplinary team of certified early intervention 

professionals, which may include one individual who is 

certified as an early intervention practitioner in more than one 

discipline or profession, and shall include the use of informed 

clinical opinion. 

B. Eligibility determination shall be conducted in a 

nondiscriminatory manner and with procedures selected that 

are not racially, culturally, or linguistically discriminatory.  

C. Eligibility determination shall be conducted in the native 

language of the parent or other mode of communication used 

by the parent unless the early intervention service providers 

conducting the evaluation of the child determine that the 

language normally used by the child is developmentally 

appropriate for the child.  

D. No single procedure shall be used as the sole criterion for 

determining a child's eligibility. 

E. Eligibility determination shall include: 

1. Use of an evaluation instrument; 

2. Taking the child's history, including interviewing the 

parent; 

3. Identifying the child's level of functioning in cognitive, 

physical, communication, social or emotional, and adaptive 

development; 

4. Gathering information from other sources such as family 

members, other caregivers, medical providers, social 

workers, and educators, if necessary, to understand the full 

scope of the child's unique strengths and needs; and 

5. Reviewing medical, educational, or other records. 

F. Informed clinical opinion may be used as an independent 

basis to establish a child's eligibility even when other 

instruments do not establish eligibility; however, in no event 

may informed clinical opinion be used to negate the results of 

instruments used to establish eligibility. 

G. The eligibility determination date, methods, participants, 

and results shall be documented on the eligibility 

determination form. 

H. The service coordinator shall provide the family with a 

copy and explanation of the eligibility determination form as 

soon as possible following eligibility determination at no cost 

to the family. 

12VAC35-225-100. Ineligibility for early intervention 

services. 

If, through the process of eligibility determination, a child is 

found to be not eligible for early intervention services, the 

service coordinator shall provide the parent with: 

1. A prior written notice that the child has been determined 

to be not eligible, and 

2. A copy and explanation of the notice of child and family 

rights and safeguards including the parent's right to dispute 

the eligibility determination by any combination of 

requesting mediation, making a due process complaint, or 

filing an administrative complaint. 

12VAC35-225-110. Assessment for service planning. 

A. With prior written notice and parental consent, each child 

found eligible for early intervention services shall receive: 

1. A multidisciplinary assessment of the child's unique 

strengths and needs and the identification of services 

appropriate to meet those needs; and  

2. A family-directed assessment of the resources, priorities, 

and concerns of the family and identification of the 

supports and services necessary to enhance the family's 

capacity to meet the developmental needs of that infant or 

toddler.  

B. Assessments for service planning shall be conducted by a 

multidisciplinary team of certified early intervention 

professionals, which may include one individual who is 

certified as an early intervention practitioner in more than one 

discipline or profession, and shall include the use of informed 

clinical opinion. 

C. Assessments shall be conducted in a nondiscriminatory 

manner and with procedures selected that are not racially, 

culturally, or linguistically discriminatory.  

D. Assessments shall be conducted in the native language of 

the parent or other mode of communication used by the 

parent unless the early intervention service providers 

conducting the assessment of the child determine that the 

language normally used by the child is developmentally 

appropriate for the child.  

E. The multidisciplinary assessment of the child shall 

include: 

1. A review of the results of the eligibility determination; 

2. Use of a comprehensive assessment tool; 
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3. Personal observations of the child; 

4. Identification of the child's needs in cognitive, physical, 

communication, social or emotional, and adaptive 

development; and 

5. If the child is new to Virginia's early intervention 

system, determination of entry ratings on the child 

outcome indicators required by the U.S. Department of 

Education, Office of Special Education Programs. 

F. The initial family assessment shall be conducted within 

45 days from the date of referral if the parent concurs, even if 

other family members are not available. The family-directed 

assessment shall:  

1. Be voluntary on the part of each family member 

participating in the assessment;  

2. Be based on information obtained through an assessment 

tool and through an interview with those family members 

who elect to participate in the assessment;  

3. Include the family's description of its resources, 

priorities, and concerns related to enhancing their child's 

development; and 

4. Be conducted in the native language or other mode of 

communication used by the family member participating in 

the assessment, unless clearly not feasible to do so. 

G. Early intervention service providers conducting 

assessments shall document the assessment results in the 

integrated, comprehensive assessment summary on the IFSP 

or in a separate written report that is then integrated into the 

comprehensive assessment summary on the IFSP. 

Part V 

Service Planning, Delivery, Transition, and Discharge 

12VAC35-225-120. Individualized family service plan 

(IFSP) development. 

A. A written IFSP shall be developed and implemented, 

with parental consent, for each eligible child. 

B. The IFSP shall include: 

1. The child's name, date of birth, gender, and city or 

county of residence; IFSP date and the dates the six-month 

IFSP review is due and dates reviews are completed; 

child's and family's primary language or mode of 

communication; parents' and, if requested by the family, 

other family members' contact information; and the service 

coordinator's name and contact information; 

2. Information about the child's and family's daily routines 

and activities; 

3. The child's present levels of physical, including vision, 

hearing, motor, and health status, cognitive, 

communication, social or emotional, and adaptive 

development based on the information from eligibility 

determination and assessment for service planning; 

4. With the concurrence of the family, a statement of the 

family's resources, priorities, and concerns related to 

enhancing the development of the child; 

5. The measurable outcomes to be achieved for the child, 

including preliteracy and language skills, as 

developmentally appropriate for the child, and the criteria, 

procedures, and timelines for determining the degree to 

which progress toward meeting the outcomes is being 

made and whether revisions to the outcomes or early 

intervention services identified in the IFSP are necessary; 

6. The specific early intervention services, based on peer-

reviewed research (to the extent practicable), that are 

needed to meet the unique needs of the child and family 

and to achieve the identified outcomes including: 

a. Assistive technology devices and assistive technology 

services; 

b. Audiology services; 

c. Developmental services; 

d. Counseling services; 

e. Family training services; 

f. Health services; 

g. Medical services; 

h. Nursing services; 

i. Nutrition services; 

j. Occupational therapy; 

k. Physical therapy; 

l. Psychological services; 

m. Service coordination services; 

n. Sign language and cued language services; 

o. Social work services; 

p. Speech-language pathology services; 

q. Transportation services and related costs; 

r. Vision services; or 

s. Other services, as identified by the IFSP team; 

7. The length, duration, frequency, intensity, method, and 

location of service for each service; 

8. A statement of the natural environment in which each 

early intervention service will be provided or a justification 

made by the IFSP team, including the parent, as to why, 

based on the child's outcomes, the service cannot be 

provided in the natural environment; 

9. Payment arrangements, if any; 

10. To the extent appropriate, the medical and other 

services that the child or family needs or is receiving 

through other sources, but that are neither required nor 

funded under Part C and the steps the service coordinator 

or family may take to assist the child and family in 

securing those other services if those services are not 

currently being provided; 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 10 Virginia Register of Regulations January 11, 2016 

1791 

11. The projected date for the initiation of each early 

intervention service identified in the IFSP, which shall be 

as soon as possible but no more than 30 days from the date 

the parent signs the IFSP unless the IFSP team agrees on a 

later start date in order to meet the needs of the child or 

family; 

12. The name of the service coordinator who will be 

responsible for implementing the early intervention 

services identified in the IFSP; and 

13. The steps and services to be taken to support the 

smooth transition of the child from early intervention 

services to preschool services under Part B or other 

appropriate services, if any. The transition steps in the 

IFSP shall include, but are not limited to, the following: 

a. Discussions with, and training of, parents, as 

appropriate, regarding future placements and other 

matters related to the child's transition; 

b. Procedures to prepare the child for changes in service 

delivery, including steps to help the child adjust to, and 

function in, a new setting; 

c. Confirmation that the required notification, unless the 

parent disagrees, and with parental consent additional 

information, such as copies of evaluations and 

assessments and the most recent IFSP, needed by the 

local school division to ensure continuity of services 

have been sent to the local school division; and 

d. Identification of transition services and other activities 

that the IFSP team determines are necessary to support 

the transition of the child. 

C. A meeting to develop the initial IFSP shall be held within 

45 days from the date the referral is received. 

D. Meetings of the multidisciplinary IFSP team, which must 

include two or more certified early intervention practitioners 

from separate disciplines or professions, shall include the 

following participants: 

1. The parent or parents of the child; 

2. Other family members, as requested by the parent, if 

feasible to do so; 

3. An advocate or person outside of the family if the parent 

requests that the person participate; 

4. The service coordinator who will be responsible for 

implementing the IFSP; 

5. A person or persons directly involved in conducting 

eligibility determination, assessment for service planning, 

or both; and 

6. As appropriate, persons who will be providing early 

intervention services to the child or family. 

E. Each meeting to develop an IFSP shall: 

1. Take place in a setting and at a time that is convenient to 

the family; and 

2. Be conducted in the native language of the family or 

other mode of communication used by the family, unless it 

is clearly not feasible to do so. 

F. If an IFSP team member is unable to attend an IFSP 

meeting, the service coordinator shall make arrangements for 

the person's involvement through other means, which may 

include participating by telephone, having a knowledgeable 

authorized representative attend the meeting, or submitting a 

written report. 

G. The service coordinator shall provide prior written notice 

of the date, time, and location of the IFSP meeting to the 

family and other participants early enough before the IFSP 

meeting date to ensure that they will be able to attend. 

H. The service coordinator shall assist the parent in 

preparing for the IFSP meeting and shall ensure that the 

parent has the information needed in order to fully participate 

in the meeting. 

I. With parental consent, an interim IFSP shall be developed 

and implemented when an eligible child or the child's family 

has an immediate need for early intervention services prior to 

completion of eligibility determination and assessment for 

service planning. 

1. The interim IFSP shall include the name of the service 

coordinator who will be responsible for implementing the 

interim IFSP and coordinating with other agencies and 

persons; the early intervention services that have been 

determined to be needed immediately, including the 

frequency, intensity, length, location, and methods of 

delivery; and the parent's signature indicating consent to 

implement the interim IFSP. 

2. The development of an interim IFSP shall not negate the 

requirement to complete the eligibility determination and 

assessment for service planning and develop an initial IFSP 

within 45 calendar days of referral. 

J. The service coordinator shall document in a contact note 

any circumstances that result in eligibility determination, 

assessment for service planning, or initial IFSP development 

occurring more than 45 calendar days after referral. 

12VAC35-225-130. IFSP approval and selection of service 

providers. 

A. The service coordinator shall explain the contents of the 

IFSP to the parent, and informed written consent shall be 

obtained as indicated by the parent's signature and date of 

signature on the IFSP prior to the provision of early 

intervention services. 

B. The service coordinator shall assist the family in selecting 

a service provider for each early intervention service listed on 

the IFSP from among those provider agencies, including 

independent providers, that are qualified to provide the 

services identified on the IFSP, that are in the parent's payor 

network, and that practice in the area where the child and 

family live. The parent's choice of service providers shall be 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 10 Virginia Register of Regulations January 11, 2016 

1792 

documented on the IFSP addendum page, which shall be 

signed and dated by the parent prior to service delivery. 

1. If no early intervention service provider that can support 

and assist the family in accomplishing the IFSP outcomes 

is available within the family's Medicaid or private 

insurance network, then the parent shall be able to choose 

an early intervention service provider from outside the 

parent's third party payor network. 

2. If there is only one provider agency for the service 

needed by the child and family, then the parent shall be 

offered a choice of early intervention service providers 

from within that one provider agency for services other 

than service coordination. If the parent elects not to receive 

services from the one provider agency, then the local lead 

agency shall work to identify an alternative early 

intervention service provider. 

3. The parent shall be offered the opportunity to select a 

provider agency any time a new service is added or when a 

change in provider agency is needed. 

4. If the selected provider agency is unable to provide the 

service due to full provider caseloads or the requested early 

intervention service provider within that provider agency is 

unavailable, then the service coordinator shall explain to 

the parent the option to begin services right away with an 

available provider or to wait for his chosen provider to 

become available. If the parent chooses to wait, the service 

coordinator shall document the parent's decision in a 

contact note, the parent's consent to the IFSP service shall 

begin once the parent's specific provider is available, and 

services shall be provided in a timely manner following 

parental consent. 

5. The service coordinator shall inform the parent that he 

may request to change his service provider at any time by 

contacting the service coordinator. 

C. The service coordinator shall retain a signed copy of the 

IFSP and, as soon as possible following development of the 

IFSP, shall provide a copy to the parent at no cost to the 

family and to all service providers that participated in 

assessment or development of the IFSP or will be 

implementing the IFSP. 

12VAC35-225-140. IFSP periodic review and updates. 

A. A periodic IFSP review shall be conducted every six 

months or any time the parent, service coordinator, or another 

member of the IFSP team identifies the potential need for 

revisions to the IFSP outcomes or services.  

B. Each periodic IFSP review shall provide for the 

participation of the IFSP team members listed in 12VAC35-

225-120 D 1 through D 4. If conditions warrant, provisions 

must be made for the participation of other representatives 

identified in 12VAC35-225-120 D. 

C. Each periodic IFSP review shall include a determination 

of the degree to which progress has been made toward 

achieving the outcomes identified in the IFSP and the need 

for revisions of the outcomes or early intervention services 

identified in the IFSP. 

12VAC35-225-150. Annual IFSP review. 

A. An annual IFSP review shall be conducted to evaluate 

and revise, as appropriate, the IFSP for each child and the 

child's family. 

B. The annual IFSP review shall include a determination of 

the child's continuing eligibility to receive early intervention 

services. 

1. If the child's records document a diagnosed physical or 

mental condition with a high probability of resulting in 

developmental delay, then a service coordinator or certified 

early intervention professional shall complete and sign the 

eligibility determination form to document review of the 

record. 

2. If the child's records document a developmental delay 

based on ongoing assessment, then a certified early 

intervention professional shall review the record to 

determine whether it establishes eligibility and shall 

complete and sign the eligibility determination form if it 

does. 

3. In all other circumstances, a multidisciplinary team shall 

review existing health and developmental information 

gathered through records, parent input, observation, and an 

evaluation tool, if needed, to determine the child's 

continuing eligibility. The child's continuing eligibility 

determination date, methods, participants, and results shall 

be documented on the eligibility determination form. 

4. The service coordinator shall provide the family, at no 

cost, with a copy and explanation of the eligibility 

determination form as soon as possible following the 

eligibility determination. 

C. Each annual IFSP review shall be conducted by the 

child's multidisciplinary team that includes the team members 

listed in 12VAC35-225-120 D.  

D. During the annual IFSP review, the results of any current 

evaluations and assessments of the child and family shall be 

used in determining the early intervention services that are 

needed and will be provided.  

12VAC35-225-160. Physician certification. 

A. Physician certification shall be required regarding the 

medical necessity for services if the child (i) is covered by 

public health insurance (Medicaid, FAMIS, or TRICARE) or 

by private health insurance that requires such certification and 

(ii) will receive services that can be reimbursed under that 

insurance plan. Certification shall be obtained at the initial 

and annual IFSP and any time a service is added or the 

frequency of a service is changed through a periodic IFSP 

review. 

B. The service coordinator shall obtain a written 

certification of medical necessity from a physician (or 
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physician assistant or nurse practitioner). A written 

certification requires: 

1. A signature on the IFSP; 

2. A signed letter referencing the IFSP; or  

3. A completed and signed IFSP summary letter. 

C. The service coordinator shall ensure that the certification 

required by this section certifies the IFSP as a whole. Early 

intervention service providers shall not be permitted to seek 

physician certification for individual services. 

12VAC35-225-170. Service delivery. 

A. Each early intervention service listed on a child's IFSP 

shall begin as soon as possible but no more than 30 days from 

the date the parent signs the IFSP unless the IFSP team 

decides on and documents the reasons for a later start date to 

meet the individual needs of the child and family. The 30-day 

timeline does not apply to delivery of an assistive technology 

device, which must be secured as soon as possible after the 

parent signs the IFSP. 

B. Early intervention supports and services shall be provided 

only by certified early intervention service practitioners. 

C. The service coordinator shall be responsible for the 

following: 

1. Assisting parents of children with disabilities in 

obtaining access to needed early intervention services and 

other services identified in the IFSP, including making 

referrals to providers for needed services and scheduling 

appointments for children and their families; 

2. Coordinating the provision of early intervention services 

and other services, such as educational, social, and medical 

services that are not provided for diagnostic or evaluative 

purposes, that the child needs or are being provided; 

3. Conducting referral and other activities to assist families 

in identifying available early intervention service 

providers; 

4. Coordinating, facilitating, and monitoring delivery of 

early intervention services required to ensure the services 

are provided in a timely manner; 

5. Conducting follow-up activities to determine that 

appropriate early intervention services are being provided; 

6. If the child has Medicaid or FAMIS: 

a. Documenting in a contact note the family's preferred 

method of contact (i.e., face-to-face, phone, email, or 

text) for the family contacts that are required every three 

months and any change in the family's preferred method 

of contact; 

b. Making at least one direct contact with the family 

every three calendar months, beginning no later than the 

month after the initial IFSP is signed, with the method of 

contact determined by the family; and 

c. Requesting completion of a health status report by the 

child's physician every six months.  

D. Early intervention service providers shall deliver services 

in accordance with the IFSP and make a good faith effort to 

assist each eligible child in achieving the outcomes in the 

child's IFSP. 

E. Early intervention sessions canceled by the provider or 

missed due to a holiday shall be made up as quickly as 

possible unless the parent declines a make-up session. 

F. Parents may request to change their early intervention 

service provider at any time by notifying their service 

coordinator. 

12VAC35-225-180. Service documentation. 

A. Early intervention service providers shall document all 

contacts made and all activities completed with or on behalf 

of families in a contact note within five business days of the 

contact. All contact notes shall include: 

1. The child's first and last names; 

2. Type of early intervention service provided; 

3. Method of contact; 

4. Date of the note and date of the contact if the note is not 

written on the same date; and 

5. The early intervention provider's signature, with a 

minimum of first initial and last name, discipline and 

credentials of the provider, and the date the note is signed 

by the provider. 

B. Contact notes that document a service session also shall 

include: 

1. A narrative description of what occurred during the 

session including what was done; what the family or other 

caregiver did during the session, including how they 

actively participated during the session; how the child 

responded during the session, including what the child was 

able to do in relation to outcomes and goals; and 

suggestions for follow-up; 

2. Who was present; 

3. Length of session (in minutes); 

4. Location or setting in which service was provided; 

5. Information from the family about what has happened 

since the last session; and 

6. Plan for the next contact. 

C. Contact notes that document a service coordination 

contact or activity also shall include the length of the contact 

or activity (in minutes), the service coordination short-term 

goal that the contact activity is addressing, and progress 

toward achieving the service coordination goal. 

12VAC35-225-190. Transition. 

A. A child shall be considered potentially eligible for 

preschool services under Part B unless there is a clear 

expectation that the child will no longer require services by 

the time he reaches age three years. The determination of 

whether a particular child receiving early intervention 
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services is potentially eligible for Part B shall be made by that 

child's IFSP team as part of the transition process. 

B. The department shall ensure the parent of a child with 

disabilities is informed of the availability of services under § 

619 of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act not 

fewer than 90 days prior to the toddler's third birthday. 

C. For each child who is potentially eligible for preschool 

services under Part B, and unless the parent objects, the 

service coordinator shall ensure notification to the local 

school division and the Virginia Department of Education not 

fewer than 90 days before the child's third birthday or the 

anticipated date of transition if the child is age two years by 

September 30 of a given school year. 

1. The notification shall include the child's name, date of 

birth, and parental contact information including the 

parents' names, addresses, and telephone numbers. 

2. The parent shall be informed in writing, on the IFSP, of 

the information that will be included in the notification, the 

earliest date on which the notification will be sent to the 

local school division and the Virginia Department of 

Education, and his right to opt out of the notification by 

initialing the opt out statement on the IFSP. 

3. If the parent opts out of the notification, the notification 

shall not be sent. 

D. If a child is potentially eligible for preschool services 

under Part B, the service coordinator shall, with the approval 

of the child's family, convene a transition conference among 

the local early intervention system, the family, and the local 

school division at least 90 days and (at the discretion of all 

parties) up to nine months before the child's third birthday, or 

anticipated date of transition if the child is age two years by 

September 30 of a given school year, to discuss any services 

the child may receive under Part B. 

E. If a child is not potentially eligible for preschool services 

under Part B, the service coordinator shall, with the approval 

of the family, make a reasonable effort to convene a transition 

conference among the local early intervention system, the 

family, and providers of other appropriate services, as 

available, to discuss appropriate services that the child may 

receive. 

F. The service coordinator shall ensure development of a 

transition plan in the IFSP at least 90 days and (at the 

discretion of all parties) up to nine months before the child's 

third birthday, or anticipated date of transition if the child is 

age two years by September 30 of a given school year, for all 

children exiting early intervention. 

1. The family shall be included in the development of the 

transition plan. 

2. The transition plan shall include steps for the child to 

exit the early intervention system and any transition 

services that the IFSP team identifies as needed by that 

child and family. 

3. The service coordinator shall review with the parent the 

program options for a child with a disability for the period 

from his third birthday through the remainder of the school 

year. 

G. The meeting to develop the transition plan and the 

transition conference may be combined. 

H. The meeting to develop the transition plan and the 

transition conference, whether combined or held separately, 

shall meet the requirements of an IFSP meeting in 12VAC35-

225-120. 

12VAC35-225-200. Referral and discharge. 

A. The service coordinator shall transmit, with parental 

permission, child-specific information (e.g., current IFSP), 

recent assessment findings, and other pertinent records to the 

appropriate school division in which the child resides as soon 

as possible after the notification to the local school division to 

ensure continuity of services. 

B. If the child is found eligible for early intervention 

services more than 45 days but less than 90 days before (i) the 

child's third birthday or (ii) April 1 when the child will reach 

the age of eligibility for special education at the beginning of 

the upcoming school year, then as soon as possible after 

eligibility is determined, the service coordinator shall provide 

the notification required in 12VAC35-225-190 C unless the 

parent objects to such disclosure.  

C. If a child is referred to the local early intervention system 

less than 45 days before the child's third birthday and that 

child may be eligible for preschool services under Part B, the 

service coordinator shall, with parental consent, refer the 

child to the local school division and Virginia Department of 

Education, but the local early intervention system shall not be 

required to conduct an eligibility determination, assessment 

for service planning, or hold an initial IFSP meeting under 

these circumstances. 

D. The service coordinator shall ensure exit ratings on the 

child outcome indicators required by the U.S. Department of 

Education, Office of Special Education Programs are 

completed prior to discharge from Virginia's early 

intervention system for all children who had an entry rating 

and who have been in the early intervention system for six 

months or longer since their initial IFSP. 

1. The exit rating shall be done no more than six months 

prior to the child's exit from Virginia's early intervention 

system. 

2. Any circumstances that prevent completion of exit 

ratings shall be documented in a contact note. 

E. The service coordinator shall ensure that no early 

intervention services are provided on or after the child's third 

birthday. 
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Part VI 

Service Funding and Payment Systems 

12VAC35-225-210. Use of Part C funds. 

A. Funds available under Part C shall be used for the 

following activities: 

1. To implement and maintain a statewide system of early 

intervention supports and services for children with 

disabilities and their families; 

2. For direct early intervention supports and services for 

children with disabilities and their families that are not 

otherwise funded through other public or private sources; 

and 

3. To expand and improve supports and services for 

children with disabilities and their families that are 

otherwise available. 

B. Federal Part C funds and state general funds designated 

for early intervention services under Part C shall be used as 

the payor of last resort and shall not be used to satisfy a 

financial commitment for supports and services that would 

otherwise have been paid for from another public or private 

source, including any medical program administered by the 

U.S. Department of Defense, but for the enactment of Part C 

of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act. 

C. The department and local lead agencies shall identify and 

coordinate all available resources to pay for early intervention 

services, including federal, state, local, and private sources. 

D. The service coordinator shall coordinate the funding 

sources for early intervention services in each IFSP.  

E. If necessary to prevent a delay in the timely provision of 

appropriate early intervention services to a child or the child's 

family, funds available under Part C may be used to pay the 

provider of early intervention supports and services 

(excluding medical services) and for functions associated 

with the child find system, eligibility determination, and 

assessment for service planning pending reimbursement from 

the agency or entity that has ultimate responsibility for the 

payment. 

F. The department shall establish an interagency agreement 

with each participating state agency to ensure the provision 

of, and establish financial responsibility for, early 

intervention supports and services; to establish procedures for 

achieving a timely resolution of intra-agency and interagency 

disputes about payments for a given service or disputes about 

other matters related to Virginia's early intervention system; 

and to ensure that no early intervention supports and services 

to which a child is entitled are delayed or denied because of 

disputes between agencies regarding financial or other 

responsibilities. 

G. Local lead agencies shall develop interagency 

agreements, contracts, or memoranda of agreement with as 

many early intervention service providers as possible to meet 

the needs of children with disabilities and their families and 

shall allow families to have access to any certified early 

intervention service provider in the family's payor network 

who agrees to comply with all Part C requirements and is 

working in the local early intervention system area. 

12VAC35-225-220. Services provided at public expense. 

A. The following services shall be provided at public 

expense and at no cost to families: 

1. Child find activities; 

2. Eligibility determination and assessment for service 

planning; 

3. Service coordination; 

4. Administrative and coordinative activities related to the 

development, review, and evaluation of IFSPs and interim 

IFSPs; and 

5. Administrative and coordinative activities related to 

implementation of procedural safeguards and other 

components of the statewide early intervention system 

related to child find, eligibility determination, assessment, 

and development of IFSPs. 

B. Localities shall not be required to provide funding for any 

costs for early intervention services provided at public 

expense, either directly or through participating local public 

agencies.  

12VAC35-225-230. System of payments. 

A. The department shall establish and implement a system 

of payments, including a schedule of sliding family fees with 

monthly caps, for early intervention services provided under 

Part C. Under that system: 

1. Fees shall not be charged to parents for the services a 

child is otherwise entitled to receive at no cost, including 

those listed in 12VAC35-225-220; 

2. All early intervention services other than those listed in 

12VAC35-225-220 shall be subject to family fees; 

3. The inability of the parent of a child with a disability to 

pay for services shall not result in a delay or denial of 

services to the child or his family, such that if the family 

meets the criteria for inability to pay, the child shall 

receive all early intervention services at no cost to the 

family; 

4. Parents shall not be charged any more than the actual 

cost of services, factoring in any amount received from 

other payment sources for that service;  

5. Charges for early intervention supports and services 

shall be consistent regardless of the anticipated payment 

source, and parents with public insurance or benefits or 

private insurance shall not be charged disproportionately 

more than parents who do not have public insurance or 

benefits or private insurance; 

6. All parents shall have the opportunity to submit 

information to establish ability to pay and a monthly cap 

for family fees. Parents who choose not to provide the 

required income information shall be charged for all 
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applicable copayments, deductibles, and the full early 

intervention rate for services not covered by insurance;  

7. The service coordinator shall ensure a family's ability to 

pay is established and consent for use of private insurance, 

public benefits, or public insurance is determined at intake 

for children who are covered by Medicaid or FAMIS and 

for all other children prior to delivering early intervention 

services other than those services that must be provided at 

no cost to the family; and 

8. A family's ability to pay shall be reviewed at each 

annual IFSP and any time the family's financial 

circumstances change. If the family is unable to provide 

the required information, it shall be charged for all 

applicable copayments and deductibles or the full early 

intervention rate for services not covered by insurance. 

B. Family fees collected shall be retained by the local lead 

agency to support the local early intervention system. 

C. Parents who wish to contest the imposition of a fee or the 

determination of the parents' ability to pay may contest such 

determinations in accordance with 12VAC35-225-380 A. 

12VAC35-225-240. Use of public benefits or public 

insurance. 

A. Parents shall not be required to enroll in public benefits 

or public insurance programs as a condition of receiving early 

intervention services, and parental consent shall be required 

prior to using the public benefits and public insurance of a 

child or parent if that child or parent is not already enrolled in 

such a program. 

B. Parental consent shall be obtained before the local lead 

agency or the early intervention service provider discloses, 

for billing purposes, a child's personally identifiable 

information to the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services. 

C. In Virginia, use of a child's or parent's public benefits or 

public insurance to pay for early intervention services shall 

not: 

1. Decrease available lifetime coverage or any other 

insured benefit for that child or parent under that program; 

2. Result in the child's parents paying for services that 

would otherwise be covered by the public benefits or 

public insurance program; 

3. Result in any increase in premiums or discontinuation of 

public benefits or public insurance for that child or his 

parents; or 

4. Risk loss of eligibility for the child or that child's parents 

for home and community-based waivers based on 

aggregate health-related expenditures. 

D. If the parent gives consent for use of his private insurance 

to pay for early intervention services for a child who is 

covered by private insurance and by either public benefits or 

public insurance, the parent shall be responsible for the costs 

associated with use of the private insurance, as specified in 

12VAC35-225-250 E. 

E. If the parent does not provide the consent to use or enroll 

in public benefits or public insurance or to disclose 

information to the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services for billing purposes, the local lead agency must still 

make available the early intervention services on the IFSP to 

which the parent has provided consent. 

12VAC35-225-250. Use of private insurance. 

A. The private insurance of a family may not be used to pay 

for early intervention services unless the parent has provided 

prior consent. 

B. Parental consent to use of private insurance to pay for 

early intervention services shall be obtained when the local 

lead agency or early intervention service provider seeks to use 

the parent's private insurance or benefits to pay for the initial 

provision of early intervention services and each time there is 

an increase (in frequency, length, duration, or intensity) in the 

provision of services in the child's IFSP. 

C. The consent requirements in subsections A and B of this 

section shall also apply when use of private insurance is 

required prior to use of public benefits or public insurance. 

D. If a parent is determined to be unable to pay and does not 

provide consent for use of private insurance, the lack of 

consent shall not be used to delay or deny any early 

intervention services to the child or family. 

E. If the parent provides consent for use of the family's 

private insurance to pay for early intervention services, Part C 

or other funds may be used to pay for copayment or 

deductible amounts that exceed the family's monthly cap, 

unless the family has money in a flexible spending account 

that automatically pays the early intervention service provider 

or the family for these costs.  

F. Families shall be responsible for paying their insurance 

premiums. 

12VAC35-225-260. Written notification. 

When obtaining parental consent for the provision of early 

intervention services or for use of public or private insurance 

or benefits, or both, the service coordinator shall ensure the 

parents receive written information on Virginia's system of 

payment policies, which includes the following: 

1. Required notification to parents of children covered by 

Medicaid including: 

a. Parental consent requirements in 12VAC35-225-240 

B; 

b. The cost protections in 12VAC35-225-240 C; 

c. The local lead agency responsibility to offer the early 

intervention services to which the parent has provided 

consent even if the parent does not provide consent for 

use of public benefits or public insurance as specified in 

12VAC35-225-240 E; 
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d. The parent's right to withdraw consent for disclosure, 

for billing purposes, of a child's personally identifiable 

information to the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services at any time; and 

e. Categories of costs to parents as specified in 

12VAC35-225-240 D. 

2. Potential costs to the parent when their private insurance 

is used, which may include copayments, deductibles, 

premiums, or other long-term costs such as the loss of 

benefits because of annual or lifetime health insurance 

coverage caps under the insurance policy; 

3. The payment system and schedule of sliding fees that 

may be charged to the parents for early intervention 

services; 

4. The basis and amount of payments or fees; 

5. Information on the determination of ability to pay and 

inability to pay, including when and how the determination 

is made; 

6. Assurances regarding fees and service provision as 

specified in 12VAC35-225-230 A 1, A 3, A 4, and A 5; 

7. The policy on failure to provide the required income 

information as specified in 12VAC35-225-230 A 6;  

8. Policies regarding use of federal or state Part C funds to 

pay for costs such as insurance copayments or deductibles; 

and 

9. Parent rights as specified in 12VAC35-225-230 C. 

12VAC35-225-270. Billing and collections of family fees, 

public benefits, and insurance. 

A. The local lead agency shall ensure billing for and 

collection of all family fees for the local early intervention 

system by:  

1. Doing all billing and collection of family fees; 

2. Contracting with a single entity to bill for and collect all 

family fees for the local early intervention system; or 

3. Assigning the billing and collection of the family fee to 

a specific early intervention service provider for each 

child. 

B. Early intervention service providers shall routinely, and 

no less than one time per month, confirm with families 

whether their insurance has changed and shall notify the local 

system manager immediately if a child who has or had 

Medicaid or FAMIS no longer has Medicaid or FAMIS or 

does not have the Medicaid early intervention benefit and 

notify the service coordinator if the child had TRICARE or 

private insurance coverage and the child no longer has that 

coverage or the child has newly acquired Medicaid or 

FAMIS, TRICARE, or private insurance coverage. 

C. The local system manager, or his designee, shall provide 

oversight to ensure Medicaid or FAMIS information is 

correctly entered into the department's early intervention 

management information system, ITOTS, to begin and 

maintain enrollment in the Medicaid early intervention 

benefit. 

12VAC35-225-280. Provider billing for early intervention 

services. 

A. In order to receive reimbursement from federal or state 

Part C funds as the payor of last resort, early intervention 

service providers shall: 

1. Have a contractual relationship with the local early 

intervention system; and 

2. Submit a contact log or contact notes to the local lead 

agency no later than the 21st of each month for all services 

provided in the previous month, including any service for 

which reimbursement is sought from Part C funds. 

B. Early intervention service providers shall accept 

Medicaid reimbursement for medically necessary early 

intervention services as payment in full. 

C. In order to bill Medicaid for early intervention services 

other than service coordination, the provider shall: 

1. Be certified as an early intervention practitioner; 

2. Enroll with the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services as an early intervention provider; 

3. Provide services to children who are determined eligible 

for early intervention services under Part C; 

4. Provide covered services as listed on the child's IFSP 

and, with the exception of the assessment for service 

planning and IFSP meetings, services that are approved by 

a physician, physician's assistant, or nurse practitioner; and 

5. Comply with all other applicable Department of Medical 

Assistance Services requirements. 

D. In order to bill Medicaid for service coordination, the 

provider shall: 

1. Be certified as an early intervention case manager; 

2. Enroll with the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services as an early intervention provider; 

3. Deliver service coordination in accordance with a signed 

initial early intervention service coordination plan or a 

signed individualized family service plan (IFSP); 

4. Provide at least one activity during the month being 

billed to the child, the family, service providers, or other 

organizations on behalf of the child or family in order to 

coordinate supports and services and assist the family in 

accessing needed resources and services; 

5. Document the contact or communication completely and 

correctly in accordance with 12VAC35-225-180; 

6. Make a phone, email, text, or face-to-face contact with 

the family at least one time every three calendar months, or 

document attempts of such contacts; 

7. Ensure documented face-to-face interaction between the 

service coordinator and the family at the development of 

the initial IFSP and the annual IFSP along with 

documentation that the service coordinator observed the 
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child during the calendar month that the IFSP meeting was 

held;  

8. Submit the health status indicator questions to the child's 

physician every six months; and 

9. Comply with all other applicable Department of Medical 

Assistance Services requirements. 

E. Children who are dually enrolled in Virginia's early 

intervention system and in Medicaid or FAMIS shall receive 

service coordination under the early intervention targeted case 

management program. 

Part VII 

Procedural Safeguards 

12VAC35-225-290. Notice of rights and procedural 

protections. 

A. The service coordinator shall provide a written copy and 

explanation of the child's and family's rights and procedural 

safeguards at the intake visit and shall provide ongoing 

information and assistance to the family regarding their rights 

and procedural safeguards throughout the period of the child's 

eligibility for early intervention services.  

B. The notice and explanation provided at the intake visit 

shall fully inform parents about the confidentiality 

requirements under Part C. 

12VAC35-225-300. Surrogate parent selection. 

A. A surrogate parent shall be assigned to a child if no 

parent of the child can be identified, the local system cannot 

after reasonable efforts locate a parent, or the child is a ward 

of the state. The service coordinator shall make reasonable 

efforts to ensure that a surrogate parent is assigned to the 

child within 30 days after determining the child needs a 

surrogate parent. In implementing the surrogate parent 

requirements, if the child is in foster care or a ward of the 

state, the service coordinator shall consult with the public 

agency that has been assigned care of the child. 

B. The person selected as a surrogate parent shall: 

1. Not be an employee of any public agency or early 

intervention service provider that provides early 

intervention services, education, care, or other services to 

the child or any member of the child's family; 

2. Have no personal or professional interest that conflicts 

with the interest of the child he represents; and 

3. Have knowledge and skills that ensure adequate 

representation of the child. 

C. A surrogate parent assigned to a child pursuant to this 

section shall have the same rights as a parent for all purposes 

in the early intervention system. 

12VAC35-225-310. Prior written notice. 

A. Prior written notice shall be given to the parent at least 

five days before an early intervention provider proposes or 

refuses to initiate or change identification, eligibility 

determination, or placement of the child or the provision of 

early intervention services to the child or family. 

B. The prior written notice shall be in sufficient detail to 

inform the parent of the action being proposed or refused, the 

reasons for taking the action, and available procedural 

safeguards, including dispute resolution options. 

C. The prior written notice shall be written in language 

understandable to the general public and shall be provided in 

the native language of the parent or other mode of 

communication used by the parent, unless it is clearly not 

feasible to do so. If the parent does not use a written 

language, documentation of the procedures used to provide 

prior notice shall be included in a contact note. 

12VAC35-225-320. Parental consents. 

A. Written parental consent shall be obtained prior to (i) 

performing eligibility determinations and assessments; (ii) 

providing early intervention services; and (iii) disclosing 

personally identifiable information to anyone other than 

authorized representatives, officials, or employees of the 

department, local lead agency, or early intervention service 

providers collecting, maintaining, or using information under 

Part C and using public or private insurance or benefits. 

When seeking parental consent, the service coordinator shall 

ensure the following: 

1. The parent is fully informed of all information relevant 

to the activity for which consent is sought, in the parent's 

native language; 

2. The parent understands and agrees in writing to the 

carrying out of the activity for which consent is sought; 

3. The consent form describes that activity and lists the 

early intervention records (if any) that will be released and 

to whom they will be released; and 

4. The parent understands that the granting of consent is 

voluntary on the part of the parent and may be revoked at 

any time and that, if a parent revokes consent, that 

revocation is not retroactive. 

B. The parent shall have the right to accept or decline 

specific early intervention services identified by the IFSP 

team and may decline a service after first accepting it without 

jeopardizing his right to obtain other early intervention 

services. 

C. If a parent does not give consent for eligibility 

determination, assessment, or provision of early intervention 

services, the service coordinator shall document reasonable 

efforts to ensure that the parent is fully aware of the nature of 

the eligibility determination, assessment, or the services that 

would be available and understands the child will not be able 

to receive the eligibility determination, assessment, or 

services unless consent is given. 

D. If a parent refuses to provide consent to disclose 

personally identifiable information, the service coordinator 

shall explain to the parent the impact of the parent's decision 

to refuse consent for the release of information, including 
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why consent is needed, how the information will be used, and 

how the absence of that information might affect the ability of 

the child to receive early intervention services. The 

explanation provided and the parent's final decision regarding 

consent to disclose the information shall be documented in a 

contact note. 

E. Due process hearing procedures shall not be used to 

challenge a parent's refusal to provide any consent required 

under this section. 

12VAC35-225-330. Early intervention records. 

A. The local lead agency shall maintain a central early 

intervention record for each child referred to the local early 

intervention system. The central early intervention record 

must include the following: 

1. Accurate demographic and referral information;  

2. Signed releases and consents; 

3. Other completed procedural safeguards forms; 

4. A completed and signed initial early intervention service 

coordination plan if the child has Medicaid or FAMIS;  

5. Assessment reports; 

6. Medical reports; 

7. All other documentation collected during eligibility 

determination and IFSP development, including reports 

from previous outside screenings and assessments; 

8. Completed eligibility determination forms; 

9. All IFSPs developed, including documentation of 

periodic reviews; 

10. Contact logs or contact notes submitted by providers, 

including service coordinators; 

11. Copies of all correspondence to and from the local lead 

agency or its providers with or on behalf of the family; 

12. Court orders related to service provision, custody 

issues, or parental rights; 

13. Documentation of the family's ability to pay, unless it 

is kept in a separate financial file; and 

14. Record access log listings of any individual, except 

parents and authorized employees, obtaining access to the 

early intervention record, including the individual's name, 

date of access, and purpose of access. 

B. Each early intervention service provider shall maintain a 

clinical working file that must include, at a minimum: 

1. A copy of the IFSP, including annual and periodic 

reviews,  

2. Contact notes, and  

3. Any completed screening or assessment protocols if not 

housed in the early intervention record. 

C. Early intervention service providers working in the 

provider agency where the central early intervention record is 

housed shall have the option to maintain the items listed in 

this section in the central early intervention record instead of 

in a separate clinical or working file. 

12VAC35-225-340. Confidentiality of personally 

identifiable information. 

A. The department, local lead agencies, and all early 

intervention service providers shall ensure the confidentiality 

of personally identifiable information collected, maintained, 

or used under Part C from the point in time when the child is 

referred to the local early intervention system until the later of 

when the provider agency is no longer required to maintain or 

no longer maintains that information under applicable federal 

and Virginia laws. Confidentiality shall be maintained at the 

collection, maintenance, use, storage, disclosure, and 

destruction stages. 

B. One official at each local lead agency and each early 

intervention service provider shall assume responsibility for 

ensuring confidentiality of any personally identifiable 

information. 

C. The department, local lead agency, and all early 

intervention service providers shall train all persons collecting 

or using personally identifiable information regarding federal 

and Virginia requirements for safeguarding records and 

personally identifiable information. 

D. Each local lead agency and early intervention service 

provider shall maintain, for public inspection, a current listing 

of the names and positions of those employees within the 

local lead agency and early intervention service provider who 

have access to personally identifiable information. 

12VAC35-225-350. Inspection and review of early 

intervention service records. 

A. Parents of infants and toddlers who are referred to or 

receive early intervention services shall have the right to 

inspect and review all early intervention records collected, 

maintained, or used by the local lead agency or early 

intervention service providers, including records related to 

eligibility determination, assessments for service planning, 

development and implementation of IFSPs, provision of early 

intervention services, individual complaints involving the 

child, or any other part of the child's early intervention record. 

B. The local lead agency and early intervention service 

providers shall provide parents, upon request, a list of the 

types and locations of early intervention records collected, 

maintained, or used by the local lead agency and early 

intervention service providers. 

C. If any early intervention record includes information on 

more than one child, the parent has the right to inspect and 

review only the information relating to his child or to be 

informed of that specific information.  

D. The right to inspect and review records includes the right 

to:  

1. A response from the local lead agency or early 

intervention service provider to reasonable requests for 
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explanations and interpretations of the early intervention 

records;  

2. Request that the local lead agency or early intervention 

service provider provide copies of the early intervention 

records if failure to provide those copies would effectively 

prevent the parent from exercising the right to inspect and 

review the records; and 

3. Have a representative of their choice inspect and review 

the records. 

E. The local lead agency and early intervention service 

providers shall comply with a parent's request to inspect and 

review records without unnecessary delay, before any 

meeting regarding an IFSP or a due process hearing, and in 

no case more than 10 days after the request is made. 

F. Upon request, the parent shall receive one copy of his 

child's early intervention record at no cost to the parent. After 

the parent has received one copy of the child's early 

intervention record at no cost, the local lead agency or early 

intervention service provider may charge a fee for additional 

copies. However, the local lead agency or early intervention 

service provider shall not charge a fee for additional copies of 

the child's records if the fee effectively prevents the parent 

from exercising his right to inspect and review those records. 

The local lead agency or early intervention service provider 

shall not charge a fee to search for or to retrieve information 

and shall provide at no cost to parents a copy of each 

eligibility determination, assessment, and IFSP as soon as 

possible after each IFSP meeting. 

G. The local lead agency and early intervention service 

provider shall presume the parent has authority to inspect and 

review records relating to his child unless the local lead 

agency or early intervention service provider has been 

provided documentation that the parent does not have that 

authority under applicable Virginia laws governing such 

matters as custody, foster care, guardianship, separation, and 

divorce. 

H. The local lead agency and early intervention service 

providers shall keep a record of parties obtaining access to 

early intervention records collected, maintained, or used by 

the early intervention system unless such access is by the 

parent or parents or authorized representatives and employees 

of the participating agency. The record of access shall include 

the name of the party accessing the record, the date access 

was given, and the purpose for which the party is authorized 

to use the early intervention record. 

12VAC35-225-360. Request to amend information in the 

early intervention record. 

A. A parent who believes that information in the early 

intervention records collected, maintained, or used in the 

early intervention system is inaccurate, misleading, or 

violates the privacy or other rights of the child or parent shall 

have the right to request that the agency that maintains the 

information amend the information. 

B. When a parent requests that information in a record be 

amended, the local lead agency or early intervention service 

provider shall decide whether to amend the information in 

accordance with the request within a reasonable period of 

time after the request is received. 

C. If the local lead agency or early intervention service 

provider refuses to amend the information in accordance with 

the request, the local lead agency or early intervention service 

provider shall inform the parent of the refusal and advise the 

parent of the right to a local hearing to challenge the 

information in his child's early intervention record. 

1. A hearing shall be held within 30 days after the request 

is received by the local lead agency or early intervention 

service provider from the parent. 

2. The parent shall be given written notice of the date, 

place, and time of the hearing at least 15 days before the 

hearing. 

3. The hearing may be conducted by any person, including 

an official of the local lead agency or early intervention 

service provider, who does not have a direct interest in the 

outcome of the hearing. 

4. The local lead agency or early intervention service 

provider shall give the parent a full and fair opportunity to 

present evidence relevant to the issues raised. The parent 

may, at his own expense, be assisted or represented by 

persons of his own choice, including an attorney. 

5. The local lead agency or early intervention service 

provider shall issue its decision in writing to the parent 

within five business days after the conclusion of the 

hearing. 

6. The decision of the local lead agency or early 

intervention service provider shall be based solely on the 

evidence presented at the hearing and shall include a 

summary of the evidence and the reasons for the decision. 

7. If the hearing determines that the information is 

inaccurate, misleading, or in violation of the privacy or 

other rights of the child or parent, the local lead agency or 

early intervention service provider shall amend the 

information accordingly and inform the parent in writing. 

8. If the hearing determines that the information is 

accurate, not misleading, and not in violation of the 

privacy or other rights of the child or parent, the local lead 

agency or early intervention service provider shall inform 

the parent of the right to place in the early intervention 

record a statement commenting on the information or 

setting forth any reasons for disagreeing with the decision 

of the local lead agency or early intervention service 

provider. Any such explanation placed in the early 

intervention record shall be maintained as part of the early 

intervention record as long as the record or contested 

portion is maintained by the agency.  If the early 

intervention record or the contested portion of the record is 

disclosed by the local lead agency or early intervention 
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service provider to any party, the explanation shall also be 

disclosed to the party. 

D. If the parent is not satisfied with the local hearing 

determination, the local lead agency or early intervention 

service provider shall advise the parent of his right to file a 

due process complaint with the department. 

12VAC35-225-370. Maintenance of early intervention 

service records. 

A. The local lead agency and early intervention service 

providers shall inform the parent when personally identifiable 

information collected, maintained, or used in the early 

intervention system is no longer needed to provide services to 

the child and shall destroy the information at the request of 

the parent. 

B. A child's early intervention record shall be destroyed at 

the request of his parent. However, a permanent record of a 

child's name, date of birth, parent contact information, 

including address and phone number, names of service 

coordinator or coordinators, early intervention service 

provider or providers, and exit data, including year and age 

upon exit and any programs entered into upon exiting, may be 

maintained without time limitation. 

C. The local lead agency and early intervention service 

providers shall ensure early intervention records are 

maintained for a minimum of three years following the child's 

discharge from the local early intervention system. 

Part VIII 

Dispute Resolution 

12VAC35-225-380. Notification of complaint resolution 

options. 

A. The department shall ensure the availability of 

procedures for resolving complaints through mediation, an 

administrative complaint, or a due process hearing. 

B. The service coordinator shall inform the child's parent of 

all options for resolving complaints by providing written and 

verbal information that explains the options and the 

procedures for each and shall provide the parent with a 

contact at the department who can assist the parent in filing a 

complaint. 

12VAC35-225-390. Mediation. 

A. Mediation shall be voluntary on the part of all parties; 

shall be available at any time to parties to disputes involving 

any matter under Part C, including matters arising prior to the 

filing of a due process complaint; and shall not be used to 

delay or deny a parent's right to a due process hearing. 

B. The department shall maintain a list of individuals who 

are qualified mediators and knowledgeable in laws and 

regulations relating to the provision of early intervention 

services and shall select mediators on a random or rotational 

basis. 

C. An individual who serves as a mediator shall not be an 

employee of the department, a local lead agency, or an early 

intervention service provider that is involved in the provision 

of early intervention services or other services to the child 

and shall not have a personal or professional interest that 

conflicts with the person's objectivity. A person who 

otherwise qualifies as a mediator shall not be considered an 

employee of the department, a local lead agency, or an early 

intervention provider solely because he is paid by the agency 

to serve as a mediator. 

D. The department shall appoint a trained and impartial 

mediator within five days of receiving the request for 

mediation. 

E. Each session in mediation shall be scheduled in a timely 

manner and shall be held in a location that is convenient to 

the parties involved in the dispute. 

F. Mediation, including a written mediation agreement 

reflecting agreements reached by the parties to the dispute, 

shall be completed within 15 calendar days of the receipt by 

the department of notice that both parties have agreed to 

mediation. If resolution is not reached within 15 days, the 

department shall inform the parents in writing that they may 

request a due process hearing. 

G. Extensions of the 15-day timeline may be granted for 

good cause. If there is a simultaneous request for mediation 

and a due process hearing, an extension shall not result in a 

violation of the 30-day timeline for completion of the due 

process hearing. 

H. If the parties resolve the dispute through the mediation 

process, the parties shall execute a legally binding agreement 

that sets forth the resolution, states that all discussions that 

occurred during the mediation process are confidential and 

may not be used as evidence in any subsequent due process or 

civil proceeding, and is signed by both the parent and a 

representative of the local lead agency or early intervention 

service provider who has the authority to bind that agency. 

I. The department shall bear the full cost of the mediation 

process. 

12VAC35-225-400. Due process hearing. 

A. Due process hearings shall be available to the parent of 

any child referred to the local early intervention system to 

resolve complaints regarding an early intervention provider's 

proposal or refusal to initiate or change his child's 

identification, eligibility determination, or placement or to the 

provision of early intervention services to the child or family. 

B. The department shall arrange for the appointment of an 

impartial hearing officer within five days following receipt of 

a request for a due process hearing. The due process hearing 

officer shall: 

1. Not be an employee of the department, a local lead 

agency, or an early intervention service provider involved 

in the provision of early intervention services or the care of 

the child. A person who is otherwise qualified shall not be 

considered an employee of the department, a local lead 

agency, or an early intervention provider solely because he 
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is paid by the agency to implement the due process hearing 

procedures; 

2. Not have a personal or professional interest that conflicts 

with his objectivity in implementing the process; 

3. Have knowledge about the provisions under Part C and 

the needs of and early intervention services available for 

children with disabilities and their families; 

4. Listen to the presentation of relevant viewpoints about 

the due process complaint; 

5. Examine information relevant to the issues; 

6. Seek to reach a timely resolution of the due process 

complaint; and 

7. Provide a record of the proceedings, including a written 

decision. 

C. The due process hearing shall be carried out at a time and 

place that is reasonably convenient for the parent. 

D. Any parent involved in a due process hearing shall have 

the right to: 

1. Be accompanied and advised by counsel and by 

individuals with special knowledge or training with respect 

to early intervention services for children with disabilities; 

2. Present evidence and confront, cross-examine, and 

compel the attendance of witnesses; 

3. Prohibit the introduction of any evidence at the hearing 

that has not been disclosed to the parent at least five days 

before the hearing; 

4. Obtain a written or electronic verbatim transcript of the 

hearing at no cost to the family; and 

5. Receive a written copy of the findings of fact and 

decisions at no cost to the parent. 

E. The due process hearing shall be conducted and a written 

decision shall be mailed to all parties within 30 days of 

receipt by the department of the parent's request for a due 

process hearing. The hearing officer may grant a specific 

extension of the timeline at the request of either party. 

F. Any party aggrieved by the findings and decision issued 

pursuant to a due process hearing shall have the right to bring 

a civil action in Virginia or federal court. 

G. During the pendency of any proceeding involving a due 

process complaint, unless the local lead agency and the parent 

of the child agree otherwise, the child shall continue to 

receive the appropriate early intervention services in the 

setting identified in the IFSP for which the parent has 

provided consent. If the due process complaint involves an 

application for initial services, the child shall receive those 

services that are not in dispute. 

H. Costs for due process hearings shall be equally shared by 

the local lead agency and the department. The costs shared 

include expenses of the hearing officer (i.e., time, travel, 

secretarial, postal, and telephone expenses), expenses 

incurred by order of the hearing officer (i.e., independent 

educational evaluations, deposition, or transcript), and 

expenses for making a record of a hearing (i.e., hearing 

tapes). 

I. The department shall not be responsible for expenses 

incurred for witnesses, except where hearing officers 

subpoena witnesses on their own initiative, or for the parent's 

attorney fees. 

12VAC35-225-410. Administrative complaint. 

A. An individual or organization, including those from 

another state, shall have the right to file an administrative 

complaint with the department alleging that the local lead 

agency, an early intervention service provider, or 

participating agency has violated a requirement of Part C. 

B. The department shall widely disseminate to parents and 

other interested individuals, including parent training and 

information centers, protection and advocacy agencies, and 

other appropriate entities the procedures for filing and 

resolving administrative complaints. 

C. An administrative complaint shall be made in writing to 

the department, allege a violation that occurred not more than 

one year prior to the date the complaint is received by the 

department, and include the following: 

1. A statement that the department, local lead agency, or 

early intervention service provider has violated a 

requirement of Part C; 

2. The facts on which the statement is based; 

3. The signature and contact information for the 

complainant; and 

4. If alleging violations with respect to a specific child, (i) 

the name and address of the child; (ii) the name of the early 

intervention service provider serving the child; (iii) a 

description of the problem, including facts related to the 

problem; and (iv) a proposed resolution to the problem to 

the extent known and available to the complainant if there 

is one at the time the complaint is filed. 

D. The party filing the complaint shall forward a copy of the 

complaint to the local lead agency or the early intervention 

service provider serving the child at the same time the party 

files the complaint with the department. 

E. Within 60 days after a complaint is received, the 

department shall: 

1. Carry out an independent onsite investigation, if the 

department determines that an investigation is necessary; 

2. Give the complainant the opportunity to submit 

additional information, either orally or in writing, about the 

allegations in the complaint; 

3. Provide the local lead agency other participating agency, 

or early intervention service provider with an opportunity 

to respond to the complaint within 10 days by providing a 

proposal to resolve the complaint and an opportunity to 

voluntarily engage in mediation; 
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4. Review all relevant information and make an 

independent determination as to whether the local lead 

agency, other participating agency, or early intervention 

service provider is violating a requirement of Part C; and 

5. Issue a written decision to the complainant that 

addresses each allegation in the complaint and contains 

findings of fact and conclusions and the reasons for the 

final decision. 

The final decision may include recommendations for 

technical assistance, negotiations, and corrective actions to 

achieve compliance, as well as timelines for completion. 

If, in resolving an administrative complaint, the department 

finds a failure to provide appropriate early intervention 

services then the final decision shall address the corrective 

actions appropriate to address the needs of the child who is 

the subject of the complaint and his family, such as 

compensatory services or monetary reimbursement, and 

appropriate future provision of services for all children with 

disabilities and their families. 

F. The 60-day timeline for resolving an administrative 

complaint may be extended only if exceptional circumstances 

exist with respect to a particular complaint or the parent (or 

individual or organization) and the local lead agency, other 

participating agency, or early intervention service provider 

involved in the complaint agree to extend the timeline to 

engage in mediation. 

G. If the administrative complaint received by the 

department is also the subject of a due process hearing or 

contains multiple issues of which one or more are part of that 

due process hearing, the department shall set aside any part of 

the complaint that is being addressed in the due process 

hearing until the conclusion of the hearing. Any issue in the 

complaint that is not part of the due process hearing shall be 

resolved using the 60-day time limit and the administrative 

complaint procedures. 

H. If an issue is raised in a complaint that has previously 

been decided in a due process hearing involving the same 

parties, the hearing decision shall be binding, and the 

department shall inform the complainant to that effect. 

I. A complaint alleging the local lead agency's, other 

participating agency's, or early intervention service provider's 

failure to implement a due process hearing decision shall be 

resolved by the department. 

J. A final decision of the department pursuant to this section 

shall be a final case decision that may be appealed pursuant to 

the Virginia Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of 

the Code of Virginia). 

12VAC35-225-420. Appeal to the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services. 

A. In addition to the dispute resolution options described in 

this chapter, Medicaid or FAMIS recipients shall have the 

right to file an appeal with the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services when they disagree with certain actions. 

Actions that may be appealed include: 

1. Disagreement about the child's eligibility for services;  

2. The provision of early intervention services, including 

those listed on the IFSP; and  

3. The frequency, length, and intensity of services in the 

IFSP. 

B. To ensure this right to appeal, the service coordinator 

shall provide the family with written information on the 

appeals process, regardless of whether or not the family 

expresses agreement or disagreement, if the child is found 

ineligible; the local system is refusing to initiate a service the 

family is requesting or is refusing to provide a service at the 

frequency or length desired by the family; or a service is 

decreased or ended, unless the family requested the service be 

decreased or ended. 

C. Families shall follow all applicable Department of 

Medical Assistance Services requirements when filing an 

appeal. 

Part IX 

Early Intervention Practitioner Certification Requirements 

12VAC35-225-430. Certification required for early 

intervention professionals and early intervention 

specialists. 

A. Individual practitioners of early intervention services, 

with the exception of physicians, audiologists, and registered 

dietitians, shall be certified by the department as early 

intervention professionals or early intervention specialists. 

B. Certified early intervention professionals shall have 

expertise in a discipline trained to enhance the development 

of children with a disability, as evidenced by state licensure, 

including application for state licensure if the discipline 

authorizes practice in Virginia while the application is 

pending and the individual practitioner meets all applicable 

requirements for such practice; state endorsement; or 

certification by a national professional organization. Qualified 

personnel in the following disciplines may seek certification 

from the department as early intervention professionals: 

1. Counselors. 

a. Licensed professional counselors licensed by the 

Virginia Board of Counseling; and 

b. School counselors (Pre K - 12) endorsed by the 

Virginia Board of Education. 

2. Behavior analysts licensed by the Virginia Board of 

Medicine. 

3. Educators. 

a. Educators licensed by the Virginia Board of Education 

with endorsement in Special Education - Early 

Childhood (Birth - 5);  
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b. Educators licensed by the Virginia Board of Education 

with endorsement in Early/Primary Education (Pre K - 3 

or NK - 4);  

c. Educators licensed by the Virginia Board of Education 

with endorsement in Elementary Education (Pre K - 6); 

d. Educators licensed by the Virginia Board of Education 

with endorsement in Career and Technical Education - 

Family and Consumer Services; 

e. Educators licensed by the Virginia Board of Education 

with endorsement in Special Education - Hearing 

Impairments (Pre K - 12); 

f. Educators licensed by the Virginia Board of Education 

with endorsement in Special Education - Visual 

Impairments (Pre K - 12);  

g. Educators with a technical professional license issued 

by the Virginia Board of Education in Career and 

Technical Education - Family and Consumer Sciences;  

h. Educators licensed by the Virginia Board of Education 

with Endorsement in adapted curriculum K - 12; and 

i. Educators licensed by the Virginia Board of education 

with Endorsement in general curriculum K - 12. 

4. Family and consumer science professionals certified 

through the American Association of Family and 

Consumer Sciences (AAFCS). Individuals certified by the 

AAFCS after June 30, 2009, shall meet certification 

requirements in family and consumer sciences - human 

development and family studies; 

5. Marriage and family therapists licensed by the Virginia 

Board of Counseling; 

6. Music therapists certified by the Certification Board for 

Music Therapists (CBMT); 

7. Nurses. 

a. Nurse practitioners licensed by the Virginia Board of 

Nursing; and 

b. Registered nurses licensed by the Virginia Board of 

Nursing; 

8. Occupational therapists licensed by the Virginia Board 

of Medicine; 

9. Orientation and mobility specialists certified by the 

National Blindness Professional Certification Board as a 

National Orientation and Mobility Certificant (NOMC) or 

certified by the Academy for Certification of Vision 

Rehabilitation and Education Professionals (ACVREP) as 

a Certified Orientation and Mobility Specialist (COMS); 

10. Physical therapists licensed by the Virginia Board of 

Physical Therapy; 

11. Psychologists. 

a. Applied psychologists licensed by the Virginia Board 

of Psychology; 

b. Clinical psychologists licensed by the Virginia Board 

of Psychology; and 

c. School psychologists licensed by the Virginia State 

Board of Education with an endorsement in school 

psychology; 

12. Social workers. 

a. Licensed clinical social workers licensed by the 

Virginia Board of Social Work; and  

b. School social workers licensed by the Virginia State 

Board of Education with an endorsement as a school 

social worker;  

13. Speech-language pathologists licensed by the Virginia 

Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology; and 

14. Therapeutic recreation specialists certified by the 

National Council on Therapeutic Recreation. 

C. Certified early intervention specialists shall hold a 

minimum of a high school diploma or general equivalency 

diploma. Qualified personnel in the following disciplines may 

seek certification from the department as early intervention 

specialists: 

1. Assistant behavior analysts licensed by the Virginia 

Board of Medicine. 

2. Early intervention assistants whose qualifications have 

been approved by the Department of Behavioral Health 

and Developmental Services. 

3. Licensed social workers licensed by the Virginia Board 

of Social Work. 

4. Nurses. 

a. Certified nurse aides certified by the Virginia Board of 

Nursing; and  

b. Licensed practical nurses licensed by the Virginia 

Board of Nursing. 

5. Occupational therapy assistants licensed by the Virginia 

Board of Medicine. 

6. Physical therapy assistants licensed by the Virginia 

Board of Physical Therapy. 

D. Certified early intervention professionals and certified 

early intervention specialists shall demonstrate knowledge of 

early intervention principles and practices, including infant 

and toddler development, family-centered practice and 

multidisciplinary team practice, by successful completion of 

the early intervention principles and practices online training 

modules administered by the department. A score of at least 

80% accuracy on each module's competency test shall be 

required for successful completion. 

12VAC35-225-440. Supervision requirements. 

A. Certified early intervention professionals providing 

supervision to other early intervention personnel shall 

complete the supervision training administered by the 

department. A score of at least 80% accuracy on the 

competency test shall be required for successful completion. 
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B. Certified early intervention specialists shall work under 

the supervision of a certified early intervention professional 

who has completed the required supervision training. 

12VAC35-225-450. Certification required for early 

intervention service coordinators. 

A. Individual practitioners who provide service coordination 

to children enrolled in early intervention services shall be 

certified by the department as early intervention case 

managers. 

B. Certified early intervention case managers shall hold:  

1. A minimum of an undergraduate degree in any of the 

following fields:  

a. Allied health, including rehabilitation counseling, 

recreation therapy, occupational therapy, physical 

therapy, or speech or language pathology; 

b. Child and family studies; 

c. Counseling; 

d. Early childhood; 

e. Early childhood growth and development; 

f. Early childhood special education;  

g. Human development; 

h. Human services;  

i. Nursing;  

j. Psychology;  

k. Public health; 

l. Social work;  

m. Special education - hearing impairments; 

n. Special education - visual impairments; or 

o. Other related field or interdisciplinary studies 

approved by the department; 

2. An associate degree in a related field such as 

occupational therapy assistant, physical therapy assistant, 

or nursing; or  

3. A high school diploma or general equivalency diploma, 

or an undergraduate degree in an unrelated field, plus three 

years' full-time experience, at least 32 hours per week, 

coordinating direct services to children and families and 

implementing individual service plans. Direct services 

address issues related to developmental and physical 

disabilities, behavioral health or educational needs, or 

medical conditions. Experience may include supervised 

internships, practicums, or other field placements.  

C. Qualified persons shall demonstrate: 

1. Expertise in the provision of service coordination 

services, as evidenced by successful completion of case 

management training approved by the department. A score 

of at least 80% accuracy on the case management training 

competency test shall be required for successful 

completion. 

2. Knowledge of early intervention principles and 

practices, including infant and toddler development, 

family-centered practice and multidisciplinary team 

practice, by successful completion of the early intervention 

principles and practices online training modules 

administered by the department. A score of at least 80% 

accuracy on each module's competency test shall be 

required for successful completion. 

12VAC35-225-460. Initial certification and recertification 

processes. 

A. To apply for initial certification as an early intervention 

professional, early intervention specialist, or early 

intervention case manager, applicants shall:  

1. Obtain the designated early intervention certification 

application package from the department; and  

2. Submit a completed and signed application package to 

the department with: 

a. A signed assurance that the applicant will comply with 

all federal and state early intervention requirements; 

b. Documentation of the applicant's educational 

credentials, professional certification, licensing, 

endorsement, or other qualification for the practice of his 

discipline in the Commonwealth of Virginia; and  

c. Documentation of the applicant's successful 

completion of the training required by the department. 

B. Any initial certification granted to a person who has 

made application for state certification, licensure, 

endorsement, or other qualification in his discipline and is 

awaiting licensure shall be valid only as long as that person 

meets the requirements of his discipline to practice in 

Virginia. 

C. Three-year recertification. At least 30 days prior to the 

expiration of the practitioner's certification period, the 

certified early intervention practitioner shall submit an 

application for recertification to the department. This 

application shall include:  

1. Documentation of the practitioner's continuing 

professional certification, licensing, endorsement, or other 

qualification for the practice of his discipline in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia; and 

2. Documentation that the practitioner has successfully 

completed at least 30 hours of continuing learning 

activities during the three-year certification period. The 

continuing learning activities shall address one or more of 

the following: (i) evidenced-based practices in early 

intervention services; (ii) changes in federal or state law, 

regulations, or practice requirements; (iii) topics identified 

on a personal development plan; (iv) training needed for 

new responsibilities relating to early intervention services; 

and (v) training required by the department. For each 

continuing learning activity, documentation shall include a 

description of the activity and sponsoring organization, if 

applicable; the date or dates of training; the number of 
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hours; and a copy of a certificate or verification of 

attendance, if applicable. 

12VAC35-225-470. Notice of decision on application for 

certification or recertification. 

The department shall provide written notice of the decision 

on the application for certification or recertification within 30 

days of the receipt of a completed application and required 

documentation. 

12VAC35-225-480. Early intervention practitioner 

database. 

Early intervention practitioners meeting the requirements for 

certification shall be included in the practitioner database 

maintained by the department. Early intervention practitioners 

are responsible for notifying the department of any change 

that may affect their early intervention certification status or 

their participation in Virginia's early intervention services 

system.  

12VAC35-225-490. Restoration of expired certifications. 

A. An early intervention practitioner whose early 

intervention certification has expired may apply to the 

department for restoration of certification. 

B. The department may restore early intervention 

certification for an early intervention practitioner under the 

following conditions: 

1. The individual's early intervention certification has been 

lapsed for a period of less than one year; and 

2. The early intervention certification: 

a. Has lapsed because the early intervention practitioner 

failed to complete the three-year recertification 

requirements and the practitioner provides 

documentation to the department demonstrating (i) he is 

currently qualified for the practice of his discipline in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia and (ii) he has completed at 

least 30 hours of training addressing one or more of the 

topics specified in 12VAC35-225-460 C 2; or  

b. Has lapsed because the early intervention practitioner's 

discipline-specific qualification expired and the 

practitioner provides documentation to the department 

demonstrating that he now holds a current license, 

certification, endorsement, or other qualification for the 

practice of his discipline in the Commonwealth of 

Virginia. 

C. The department shall provide written notice of its 

decision to approve or deny the early intervention 

practitioner's request for restoration of his early intervention 

certificate within 30 days after the department receives a 

completed request and all required documentation. 

D. Upon restoration of the practitioner's early intervention 

certification, the department shall record the active status of 

the certification in the practitioner database maintained by the 

department. 

12VAC35-225-500. Termination of certification. 

A. The department shall terminate an early intervention 

practitioner's early intervention certification under the 

following circumstances: 

1. The practitioner's discipline-specific license, 

certification, or endorsement has been suspended, revoked, 

or otherwise terminated by the appropriate Virginia health 

regulatory board or other Virginia entity exercising 

appropriate authority over the practitioner's discipline-

specific license, certification, or endorsement; or 

2. The practitioner fails to comply with his signed 

assurance that he will comply with all federal and state 

early intervention requirements.  

B. The department shall notify the early intervention 

practitioner in writing of the date of and reason for 

termination and that the practitioner has been removed from 

the practitioner database maintained by the department.  

12VAC35-225-510. Reconsideration of decision to deny or 

terminate certification. 

A. In the event that the early intervention practitioner 

disagrees with the determination to deny or terminate 

certification, he may request reconsideration from the 

commissioner. The request shall be made in writing within 30 

days of the date of the written notice of denial or termination 

and may include relevant additional information or 

documentation to support the request. 

B. The commissioner shall review the request for 

reconsideration and information presented and issue a 

decision in writing within 30 business days following receipt 

of the request. The decision of the commissioner shall be a 

final case decision that may be appealed under the Virginia 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia). 

Part X 

Comprehensive System of Personnel Development 

12VAC35-225-520. Comprehensive system of personnel 

development requirements. 

A. The department shall ensure a comprehensive system of 

personnel development that includes the following: 

1. Training of paraprofessionals and the training of primary 

referral sources with respect to the basic components of 

early intervention services available in Virginia; 

2. Training local lead agencies and early intervention 

service providers to implement innovative strategies and 

activities for the recruitment and retention of early 

intervention service practitioners and service providers; 

3. Promoting the preparation of early intervention 

practitioners and service providers who are fully and 

appropriately qualified to provide early intervention 

services; and 

4. Training local lead agencies and early intervention 

practitioners and service providers to coordinate transition 
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services for children with disabilities who are transitioning 

from the early intervention system under Part C to a 

preschool program under § 619 of the Individuals with 

Disabilities Education Act, Head Start, Early Head Start, or 

another appropriate program. 

B. The department shall establish and maintain an integrated 

training collaborative that includes university faculty, parents, 

early intervention service providers, and state early 

intervention professional development specialists to develop 

and implement professional development opportunities, 

materials, and resources on evidence-based practices for early 

intervention practitioners and service providers, families, 

university students, paraprofessionals, and primary referral 

sources.  

C. The department shall use a variety of mechanisms to 

ensure awareness about and access to professional 

development, support, and resources, including statewide 

conferences and meetings, regional and local training 

activities, web-based training modules and resources, a 

written monthly update listing available resources and 

training, and teleconference and webinar capabilities.  

D. The department shall support recruiting and retaining 

early intervention practitioners and service providers.  

Part XI 

Lead Agency Oversight Responsibilities 

12VAC35-225-530. Lead agency monitoring and 

supervision. 

A. The department shall monitor implementation of and 

enforce the requirements under Part C, make determinations 

annually about the performance of each local early 

intervention system, and report annually to the public on the 

performance of Virginia and of each local early intervention 

system within 120 days of submitting Virginia's annual 

performance report to the U.S. Department of Education. 

B. The primary focus of monitoring activities shall be on 

improving early intervention results and functional outcomes 

for all children with disabilities and their families and 

ensuring that local early intervention systems meet the 

requirements under Part C. 

C. The department shall use quantifiable indicators and, as 

needed, qualitative indicators to measure performance in 

providing early intervention services in natural environments, 

child find, effective monitoring, the use of mediation, and 

transition services. 

D. The local lead agency and early intervention service 

providers shall cooperate fully with the department and shall 

provide all information requested by the department or its 

designee to monitor local performance and compliance with 

applicable state and federal regulations. 

E. The department shall ensure that when it identifies 

noncompliance, the noncompliance is corrected as soon as 

possible and in no case later than one year after the 

noncompliance was identified. 

F. If a local early intervention system is determined to need 

assistance for two or more consecutive years, need 

intervention, or need substantial intervention in meeting the 

requirements under Part C, or if the local early intervention 

system fails to correct noncompliance within one year of 

identification, then the department shall enforce the 

requirements under Part C using one or more enforcement 

actions that may include the following: 

1. Technical assistance; 

2. Imposing conditions on the local early intervention 

system's funding; 

3. Requiring the development and implementation of an 

improvement plan; or 

4. Withholding funds in whole or in part. 

12VAC35-225-540. Data collection and reporting. 

A. The department shall collect, compile, and report timely, 

accurate, valid, and reliable data as needed to meet the data 

collection requirements of the U.S. Department of Education 

and the Virginia General Assembly. 

B. The department shall not report any data that would result 

in the disclosure of personally identifiable information about 

individual children. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (12VAC35-225) 

Infant & Toddler Connection of Virginia Eligibility 

Determination Form (eff. 6/2012) 

Early Intervention Certification Application (undated) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-3889; Filed December 16, 2015, 1:29 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 14. INSURANCE 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

following regulation have been filed by the State Corporation 

Commission. The forms are not being published; however, 

online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations may click on the name of a form to access it. The 

forms are also available from the agency contact or may be 

viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, General 

Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=06349003889~1&typ=40&actno=003889&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=06349003889~1&typ=40&actno=003889&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a1a2b003889~2&typ=40&actno=003889&mime=application/pdf
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Title of Regulation: 14VAC5-200. Rules Governing Long-

Term Care Insurance. 

Agency Contact: Robert Grissom, Chief Insurance Market 

Examiner, Market Regulation, Bureau of Insurance, State 

Corporation Commission, P.O. Box 1157, Richmond, VA 

23218, telephone (804) 371-9152, FAX (804) 371-9944, or 

email bob.grissom@scc.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (14VAC5-200)  

Rescission Reporting Form, Form A (eff. 2/02) 

Long-Term Care Insurance Personal Worksheet, Form B 

(rev. 4/15)  

Things You Should Know Before You Buy Long-Term Care 

Insurance, Form (rev. 9/07) 

Long-Term Care Insurance Suitability Letter, Form D (rev. 

2/02) 

Claims Denial Reporting Form, Form E (rev. 4/15) 

Potential Rate Increase Disclosure Form, Form F (rev. 9/07) 

Potential Rate Increase Disclosure Form, Form F (rev. 

12/2015) 

Replacement and Lapse Reporting Form, Form G (eff. 9/07) 

Partnership Program Notice, Form 200-A (eff. 9/07) 

Partnership Disclosure Notice, Form 200-B (eff. 9/07) 

Long-Term Care Partnership Certification Form, Form 200-

C (rev. 4/15) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4599; Filed December 11, 2015, 12:05 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

VIRGINIA WORKERS' COMPENSATION 
COMMISSION 

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 16VAC30-50. Rules of the Virginia 

Workers' Compensation Commission (amending 

16VAC30-50-150).  

Statutory Authority: § 65.2-201 of the Code of Virginia; 

Chapter 456 of the 2015 Acts of Assembly. 

Effective Dates: January 11, 2016, through July 11, 2017. 

Agency Contact: Jim Szablewicz, Chief Deputy 

Commissioner, Virginia Workers' Compensation 

Commission, 1000 DMV Drive, Richmond, VA 23030, 

telephone (804) 367-8664, or email 

james.szablewicz@workcomp.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Section 65.2-605 of the Code of Virginia was amended by 

Chapter 456 of the 2015 Acts of Assembly to include a new 

subsection B, which requires the Virginia Workers' 

Compensation Commission to "…determine the number 

and geographic area of communities across the 

Commonwealth." Enactment clause 2 of Chapter 456 

requires the commission to promulgate regulations to 

implement the provisions of Chapter 456 to be effective 

within 280 days of its enactment and to provide an 

opportunity for public comment on the regulations prior to 

adoption. 

Section 65.2-605 provides in pertinent part that "The 

pecuniary liability of the employer for medical, surgical, 

and hospital service herein required when ordered by the 

Commission shall be limited to such charges as prevail in 

the same community for similar treatment when such 

treatment is paid for by the injured person…" This is 

generally referred to as the "prevailing community rate" 

standard. 16VAC30-50-150 (Rule 14) exists to divide the 

Commonwealth into defined communities for the purpose 

of determining the prevailing community rate. Rule 14 

divides the Commonwealth into 15 defined communities 

based on planning district commission districts. However, 

because of their number, in many cases there is insufficient 

data available within the current communities to determine 

the prevailing community rate for particular medical 

services within that community. The proposed amendment 

reduces the number of defined communities to five, based 

on health planning districts and geographic contiguity, 

thereby expanding the data available within each 

community for determining the prevailing community rate 

for medical services rendered to injured workers within 

that community. 

The proposed amendment reduces the number of 

communities for the purposes of determining the liability of 

employers and insurers for the cost of medical services 

rendered to injured workers pursuant to § 65.2-605 of the 

Code of Virginia from 15 communities based on planning 

district commission districts to five communities based on 

health planning districts and geographic contiguity. 

The change is needed to (i) reduce the amount of litigation 

over prevailing community rates in specific workers' 

compensation cases, which litigation has been increasing 

over the past several years; (ii) provide sufficient data to 

determine the prevailing community rate in those cases 

that must be litigated; and (iii) bring greater certainty and 

clarity to the determination of prevailing community rates 

for medical services rendered to injured workers. 

16VAC30-50-150. Rule 14. Definition of community.  

For the purpose of § 65.2-605 of the Code of Virginia, the 

word "community" shall mean one or more planning districts 

as set forth below. groups of three-digit Virginia zip codes as 

follows: 

Community Planning District(s) 

1 Districts 1 and 2 

2 District 3 

3 District 4 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a4ac9004149~4&typ=40&actno=004149&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b7a49004149~5&typ=40&actno=004149&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b7a49004149~5&typ=40&actno=004149&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=664eb004149~6&typ=40&actno=004149&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=664eb004149~6&typ=40&actno=004149&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d38aa004149~7&typ=40&actno=004149&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d38aa004149~7&typ=40&actno=004149&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4a96f004149~8&typ=40&actno=004149&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0f1b7004599~1&typ=40&actno=004599&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0f1b7004599~1&typ=40&actno=004599&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=22657004149~10&typ=40&actno=004149&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9bfeb004149~1&typ=40&actno=004149&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=abc50004149~2&typ=40&actno=004149&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a21eb004149~3&typ=40&actno=004149&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a21eb004149~3&typ=40&actno=004149&mime=application/pdf
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4 District 5 

5 Districts 11 and 13 

6 District 12 

7 District 6 

8 District 7 

9 District 16 

10 Districts 9 and 10 

11 District 8 

12 Districts 17 and 18 

13 Districts 22 and 23 

14 Districts 14 and 15 

15 District 19 

Whenever an employee receives treatment outside of the 

Commonwealth, the commission will determine the 

appropriate community in the state or territory where the 

treatment is rendered upon application of either the employee, 

employer (or its representative), or medical provider.  

When the commission deems appropriate, it may consider 

additional data to determine the prevailing community rate.  

COMMUNITY THREE-DIGIT ZIP CODES 

1 – Northern 201, 220, 221, 222, 223 

2 – Northwest 224, 225, 226, 227, 228, 229, 

244 

3 – Central 230, 231, 232, 238, 239 

4 – Eastern  233, 234, 235, 236, 237 

5 – Southwest 240, 241, 242, 243, 244, 245, 

246  

Pursuant to subsection G of § 65.2-605.1 of the Code of the 

Virginia, the community applicable to services rendered by a 

health care provider outside of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia shall be deemed to be that associated with the 

principal place of business of the employer if located in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia, or if no such location exists, then 

that associated with the location where the commission 

hearing regarding a dispute involving those services is 

conducted. 

The commission may consider additional data to determine 

the prevailing community rate when appropriate. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4565; Filed December 11, 2015, 4:15 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 17. LIBRARIES AND CULTURAL 
RESOURCES 

DEPARTMENT OF HISTORIC RESOURCES 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 17VAC10-30. Historic Rehabilitation 

Tax Credit (amending 17VAC10-30-10 through 

17VAC10-30-160).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 10.1-2202 and 58.1-339.2 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 10, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Elizabeth Tune, Manager, Office of 

Preservation Incentives, Department of Historic Resources, 

2801 Kensington Avenue, Richmond, VA 23221, telephone 

(804) 482-6093, FAX (804) 367-2391, TTY (804) 367-2386, 

or email elizabeth.tune@dhr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments to the regulations governing historic 

property rehabilitation tax credits (i) make numerous 

clarifying changes; (ii) revise the fee structure and 

increase fees charged by the department for reviewing 

rehabilitation certification requests; (iii) provide separate 

audit reporting and review procedures for projects with 

rehabilitation expenses of $500,000 or more and for 

projects with rehabilitation expenses of less than 

$500,000; and (iv) change the eligibility date for the tax 

credit for incurred rehabilitation expenses from January 1, 

1997, and later to January 1, 2003, and later. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

17VAC10-30-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this 

[ regulation chapter ] shall have the following meanings 

unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Certified historic structure" means a building listed on the 

Virginia Landmarks Register, or certified by the Director of 

the Virginia Department of Historic Resources as 

contributing to the historic significance of a historic district 

that is listed on the Virginia Landmarks Register, or certified 

by the Director of the Department of Historic Resources as 

meeting the criteria for listing on the Virginia Landmarks 

Register. Portions of buildings, such as single condominium 

apartment units, are not independently eligible for 

certification as a certified historic structure. Rowhouses, even 

with abutting or party walls, are eligible for certification as a 

certified historic structure.  

"Certified rehabilitation" means any rehabilitation of a 

certified historic structure that is certified by the Department 

of Historic Resources as consistent with The the Secretary of 
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the Interior's Standards for Rehabilitation (36 CFR [ Part ] 67) 

67.7).  

"Commonwealth" means the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

"Completion date" means the date the last eligible 

rehabilitation expense is incurred or the final certificate of 

occupancy (if appropriate) is issued. 

"Completion year" means the calendar year in which the last 

eligible rehabilitation expense is incurred or the final 

certificate of occupancy (if appropriate) is issued.  

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Historic 

Resources.  

"Eligible rehabilitation expenses" means expenses as 

described in 17VAC10-30-110 incurred by a taxpayer in the 

material rehabilitation of a certified historic structure and 

added to the property's capital account.  

"Historic district" means any district listed on the Virginia 

Landmarks Register by the Historic Resources Board 

according to the procedures specified in Chapter 22 (§ 10.1-

2200 et seq.) of Title 10.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Inspection" means a visit by an authorized representative of 

the Department of Historic Resources to a property for the 

purposes of reviewing and evaluating the significance of the 

structure and the ongoing or completed rehabilitation work.  

"Material rehabilitation" means improvements or 

reconstruction consistent with The the Secretary of the 

Interior's Standards for Rehabilitation (36 CFR [ Part ] 67) 

67.7), the cost of which amounts to at least 50% of the 

assessed value of the building for local real estate tax 

purposes for the year prior to the initial expenditure of any 

rehabilitation expenses, unless the building is an owner-

occupied building, in which case the cost shall amount to at 

least 25% of the assessed value of such building for local real 

estate tax purposes for the year prior to the initial expenditure 

of any rehabilitation expenses. Material rehabilitation does 

not include enlargement or new construction.  

"Owner" means the person, partnership, corporation, public 

agency, or other entity holding a fee simple interest in a 

property, or any other person or entity recognized by the 

Department of Taxation for purposes of the applicable tax 

benefits.  

"Owner-occupied building" means any building, at least 

75% of which is used as a personal residence by the owner, or 

which is available for occupancy by the owner for at least 

75% of the year.  

"Plan of rehabilitation" means a plan pursuant to which a 

certified historic structure will be materially rehabilitated.  

"Program" means the Virginia Historic Rehabilitation Tax 

Credit Program. 

"Property" means a building and its site, environment, and 

landscape features.  

"Rehabilitation" means the process of returning a building or 

buildings to a state of utility, through repair or alteration, 

which that makes possible an efficient use while preserving 

those portions and features of the building and its site and 

environment which are significant to its historical, 

architectural, and cultural values as determined by the 

Department of Historic Resources.  

"Standards for Rehabilitation" means The the Secretary of 

the Interior's Standards for Rehabilitation (36 CFR [ Part ] 

67), 67.7) established by the United States U.S. Department 

of the Interior.  

"Start of rehabilitation" means the date upon which the 

taxpayer applies for the building permit for the work 

contemplated by the plan of rehabilitation, or the date upon 

which actual work contemplated by the plan of rehabilitation 

begins.  

"Virginia Landmarks Register" means the list of historic 

landmarks, buildings, structures, districts, objects, and sites 

designated by the Virginia Landmarks Board, in accord with 

the procedures specified in Chapter 22 (§ 10.1-2200 et seq.) 

of Title 10.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Work" means improvement, reconstruction, repair, 

rehabilitation, or any other alteration to a building. 

17VAC10-30-20. Introduction to certifications of 

significance and rehabilitation.  

A. Individuals, estates, partnerships, trusts, or corporations 

may apply for certification of historic significance and 

certification of rehabilitations.  

B. Requests for certifications of historic significance and of 

rehabilitations shall be made on the Historic Preservation 

Certification Application forms. Part 1 of the application, 

Evaluation of Significance, is used to request certification of 

historic significance. Part 2 of the application, Description of 

Rehabilitation, is used to request certification of a proposed 

rehabilitation project. Part 3 of the application, Request for 

Certification of Completed Work, is used to request 

certification of a completed rehabilitation project. If a 

rehabilitation project is completed before preparing Part 2 of 

the application, the applicant owner shall prepare and submit 

Parts 2 and 3 simultaneously.  

C. The Historic Preservation Certification Application forms 

are available from the Department of Historic Resources, as 

well as on the department's website at www.dhr.virginia.gov.  

D. The department generally completes reviews of 

certification requests within 30 days of receiving a complete, 

adequately documented application. Where adequate 

information is not provided, the department will notify the 

applicant owner of the additional information needed to 

complete the review. The department will adhere to this time 

period as closely as possible, but it is not mandatory, and the 

failure to complete a review within the designated period does 

not waive or alter any certification requirement. Expedited 

review of projects is available upon request as set forth in 

17VAC10-30-80.  
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E. Certifications are only given in writing by duly 

authorized officials of the Department of Historic Resources. 

Decisions with respect to certifications are made on the basis 

of the information contained in the application form and other 

available information.  

17VAC10-30-30. Certifications of historic significance.  

A. Any property owner may consult with the Department of 

Historic Resources to determine whether a property is listed 

individually on the Virginia Landmarks Register, or whether 

a property is located within a historic district that is listed on 

the Virginia Landmarks Register.  

B. Properties listed individually on the Virginia Landmarks 

Register are certified historic structures. For individually 

listed properties that contain more than one building or 

structure, the owner shall prepare Part 1 of the Historic 

Preservation Certification Application, "Evaluation of 

Significance," according to the instructions accompanying the 

application, describe each building and structure present, and 

provide information, including:  

1. Name and mailing address of the owner; 

2. Name and address of the property; 

3. Current photographs of each building and structure, and 

its site, showing exterior and interior features and spaces 

adequate to document the building's or structure's 

significance; 

4. Brief description of the appearance of the building or 

structure, including alterations, characteristic features, and 

estimated date or dates of construction; 

6. Brief statement of significance, summarizing how the 

building or structure reflects the recognized historic values 

of the property; 

7. Map showing the location of each building or structure 

on the property; and 

8. Signature of the owner requesting certification. 

C. For properties located in registered historic districts, the 

applicant shall request that the Department of Historic 

Resources determine whether the property is of historic 

significance to the district. The applicant shall prepare Part 1 

of the Historic Preservation Certification Application form 

according to the instructions accompanying the application, 

including:  

1. Name and mailing address of the owner;  

2. Name and address of the property;  

3. Name of the historic district;  

4. Current photographs of the building and its site, showing 

exterior and interior features and spaces adequate to 

document the property's significance;  

5. Brief description of the appearance of the property, 

including alterations, characteristic features, and estimated 

date or dates of construction;  

6. Brief statement of significance, summarizing how the 

property reflects the recognized historic values of the 

historic district;  

7. Map showing the location of the property within the 

historic district; and  

8. Signature of the owner requesting certification.  

D. Properties containing more than one building, where the 

department determines that the buildings have been 

functionally related historically to serve an overall purpose, 

such as a mill complex or a residence and carriage house, will 

be treated as a single certified historic structure, whether the 

property is individually listed in the Virginia Landmarks 

Register or is located within a registered historic district. 

Buildings that are functionally related historically are those 

that have functioned together to serve an overall purpose 

during the property's period of significance. In determining 

the value of the property under 17VAC10-30-100, each 

building will be assessed individually. All buildings on the 

property are not required to be rehabilitated in order for the 

owner to participate in the program. However, the work at 

each building for which tax credits are sought must be a 

material rehabilitation. 

E. Properties within registered historic districts will be 

evaluated to determine if they contribute to the historic 

significance of the district by application of the standards set 

forth in 17VAC10-30-40.  

F. Owners of properties that are not listed on the Virginia 

Landmarks Register may request a determination from the 

department as to whether the property meets the criteria for 

listing on the Virginia Landmarks Register. The department 

will provide written notification to the applicant owner of 

determinations of eligibility. Individual properties Wherever 

appropriate, the Director of the Department of Historic 

Resources may determine eligibility at his sole discretion. 

Properties determined by the department to be eligible for 

individual listing in the Virginia Landmarks Register are 

certified historic structures.  

G. Owners of properties that are located in potential historic 

districts may request preliminary determinations from the 

department as to whether the potential historic district meets 

the criteria for listing on the Virginia Landmarks Register. 

Owners of properties located in districts determined to be 

eligible for listing may apply for preliminary certification of 

their properties, as specified in 17VAC10-30-40. 

Applications for preliminary certification of buildings within 

eligible historic districts must show how the district meets the 

criteria for listing on the Virginia Landmarks Register, and 

how the property contributes to the significance of that 

district, as specified in 17VAC10-30-40. Preliminary 

certifications will become final, and the properties will 

become certified historic structures, as of the date of listing 

the district on the Virginia Landmarks Register. Issuance of 

preliminary certification does not obligate the department to 

nominate the potential district. Applicants Owners proceed 
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with rehabilitation projects at their own risk; if the historic 

district is not listed in on the Virginia Landmarks Register, 

the preliminary certification will not become final.  

H. Owners of properties that have received preliminary 

certifications may apply for certification of rehabilitation 

projects, as specified in 17VAC10-30-50. Final certifications 

of rehabilitations will be issued only for certified historic 

structures.  

I. A request for certification of historic significance may be 

submitted by an applicant who is not the owner of the 

property in question. In such cases, the applicant shall include 

a signed statement from the owner acknowledging the request 

for certification.  

J. The Department of Historic Resources discourages the 

moving of historic buildings from their original sites. Under 

certain circumstances the relocation of historic buildings may 

be part of a historic rehabilitation project that can be certified. 

Building owners are advised that the relocation of a building 

that is listed in on the Virginia Landmarks Register may 

result in removal of the building from the Register. The 

relocation of a building that has been determined eligible for 

listing in the Virginia Landmarks Register may result in the 

loss of its eligibility. The relocation of a historic building 

into, from, or within a historic district or to or from an 

individual property listed in on the Virginia Landmarks 

Register, or that has been found eligible for listing, may result 

in removal of the district or property from the Register, loss 

of the eligibility of the district or property, or loss of the 

moved building's contributing status within the district or as 

part of the property. For historic rehabilitation projects 

involving moved buildings, the following procedures apply:  

1. When a building is to be moved as part of a historic 

rehabilitation project for which certification is sought, the 

owner shall contact the department prior to moving the 

building, and shall follow procedures specified by the 

department. It is recommended that the owner receive 

approval of the relocation plan by the department prior to 

relocation of the building, as improper relocation may 

result in denial of certification for the project. When a 

building is moved, every effort should be made to 

reestablish its historic orientation, immediate setting, and 

general environment. In certain special cases, when there is 

adequate documentation about the building before its 

relocation and about the moving process, it may be 

possible to certify historic rehabilitation projects involving 

moved buildings when participation of the department 

prior to the move did not occur. However, this approach is 

not recommended, and owners pursue it at their own risk.  

2. For individual properties and properties in historic 

districts not listed in the Virginia Landmarks Register or 

not previously found eligible for listing, prior to the move 

the owner shall submit Part 1 of the historic rehabilitation 

application Historic Preservation Certification Application 

to the department, according to subsections C, F, and G of 

this section.  

3. For individual properties and properties in historic 

districts listed in the Virginia Landmarks Register or found 

eligible for listing, prior to the move the owner shall 

submit documentation to the department to determine 

whether the move is likely to result in the loss of listing or 

loss of eligibility for listing. Guidance on the type of 

documentation required can be obtained from the 

department.  

4. Following the relocation of the building and its 

installation on a new site, reevaluation of the building will 

be necessary prior to rehabilitation to determine whether it 

can become is a certified historic structure. The owner 

shall submit Part 1 of the historic rehabilitation application 

Historic Preservation Certification Application to the 

department, according to subsections C, F, and G of this 

section, presenting information about the building in its 

new location.  

5. The relocation of a historic building into, from, or within 

a listed or eligible historic district, or to or from an 

individually listed or eligible property, may result in 

alterations to the boundary definitions of the district or 

property, and will change the inventory of buildings in the 

district or on the individual property. The applicant owner 

applying for certification of the historic rehabilitation 

project involving building relocation will be responsible 

for amending the district or property information and 

nomination accordingly, following guidance provided by 

the department.  

17VAC10-30-40. Standards for evaluating significance 

within registered historic districts.  

A. Some properties listed in on the Virginia Landmarks 

Register, primarily historic districts, are resources whose 

concentration or continuity possesses greater historical 

significance than many of their individual component 

buildings and structures. These usually are documented as a 

group rather than individually. Accordingly, this type of 

documentation is not conclusive for the purposes of this part. 

The applicant owner shall supplement this documentation 

using Part 1 of the Historic Preservation Certification 

Application, providing information on the significance of the 

specific property, as set forth in 17VAC10-30-30 C.  

B. The Department of Historic Resources evaluates 

properties located within registered historic districts to 

determine if they contribute to the historic significance of the 

district by applying the following standards:  

1. A property contributing to the historic significance of a 

district is one which that by location, design, setting, 

materials, workmanship, feeling, and association adds to 

the district's sense of time and place and historical 

development.  
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2. A property not contributing to the historic significance 

of a district is one that does not add to the district's sense of 

time and place and historical development;, or one where 

the location, design, setting, materials, workmanship, 

feeling and association have been so altered or have so 

deteriorated that the overall integrity of the building has 

been irretrievably lost.  

3. Ordinarily buildings that have been built within the past 

50 years shall not be considered to contribute to the 

significance of a district unless a strong justification 

concerning their historical or architectural merit is given or 

the historical attributes of the district are considered to be 

less than 50 years old.  

C. Certifications of significance will be made on the 

appearance and condition of the property before the 

beginning of the rehabilitation work.  

D. If a nonhistoric surface material obscures a building's 

facade, it may be necessary for the owner to remove all or a 

portion of the surface material before requesting certification 

so that a determination of significance can be made. After the 

material has been removed, if the obscured facade has 

retained substantial historic integrity and the property 

otherwise contributes to the significance of the historic 

district, it will be determined to be a certified historic 

structure.  

17VAC10-30-50. Certifications of rehabilitation.  

A. Applicants Owners requesting certification of 

rehabilitation projects shall comply with the procedures listed 

below described in this section. A fee, described in 

17VAC10-30-80, is charged by the Department of Historic 

Resources for reviewing all proposed, ongoing, and 

completed rehabilitation work. No certification decisions 

shall be issued to any applicant owner until the appropriate 

remittance is received. Applicants Owners may request the 

department's review before, during, or after completion of a 

rehabilitation project. Applicants Owners are strongly 

encouraged to request the department's review before 

beginning a rehabilitation project. Though owners may begin 

work prior to review by the department, the department 

cannot guarantee in any way that such work will be certified 

for tax credits. Such work is undertaken at the risk of the 

owner. 

1. To request review of a rehabilitation project, the project 

applicant owner shall submit Part 2 of the Historic 

Preservation Certification Application form, "Description 

of Rehabilitation," according to the instructions 

accompanying the application. Documentation, including 

photographs adequate to document the appearance of the 

structure, both on the interior and the exterior, and its site 

and environment before rehabilitation, shall accompany the 

application. Other documentation, including plans, 

specifications, and surveys, renderings, and sight-line 

studies, may be required to evaluate certain rehabilitation 

projects. In the event of any discrepancy between the 

application and other supplementary material submitted 

with it (such as architectural plans, drawings, and 

specifications), the application shall take precedence. 

Where If necessary documentation is not provided, and 

review and evaluation may are not be possible and, a 

denial of certification will be issued on the basis of lack of 

information. Because the circumstances of each 

rehabilitation project are unique, certifications that may 

have been granted to other rehabilitations are not 

specifically applicable and may not be relied on by 

applicants owners as applicable to other projects.  

2. To request certification of a completed rehabilitation 

project, the applicant owner shall submit Part 3 of the 

Historic Preservation Certification Application, "Request 

for Certification of Completed Work," according to the 

instructions accompanying the application, and provide 

documentation that the completed project is consistent with 

the work described in Part 2. This documentation includes 

but is not limited to:  

a. Name and mailing address or addresses of the owner 

or owners;  

b. Name and address of the property;  

c. Photographs Comprehensive photographs of the 

property showing the completed rehabilitation work, 

including exterior and interior features and spaces, 

sufficient to demonstrate that the completed work is 

consistent with the standards Standards for rehabilitation 

Rehabilitation;  

d. Assessed value of the building in the year preceding 

the start of rehabilitation;  

e. Final costs attributed to the rehabilitation work (see 

17VAC10-30-110 for information on eligible expenses);  

f. When rehabilitation expenses exceed $100,000, 

certification For a project with (i) rehabilitation expenses 

of [ $250,000 $500,000 ] or greater, a report of an audit 

of the rehabilitation expenses by a an independent 

certified public accountant or equivalent of the actual 

costs attributed to the rehabilitation of the historic 

structure in accordance with the department's 

Rehabilitation Tax Credit Program Certification 

Requirements, dated [ January October ] 2015; and or (ii) 

less than [ $250,000 $500,000 ] in rehabilitation 

expenses, an agreed-upon procedures engagement report 

of the rehabilitation expenses by an independent certified 

public accountant in accordance with the department's 

Rehabilitation Tax Credit Program Certification 

Requirements, dated [ January October ] 2015; 

g. Signature of the applicant owner. By signing the 

application, the owner declares that the information 

stated is correct to the best of the owner's knowledge. 

Submission of false records or falsification of anything in 

communications with the department is grounds for 

denial of the certification of completed work and is 
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punishable under Virginia law [ or and ] federal law. The 

department shall submit any relevant information in its 

possession to the appropriate law-enforcement officials 

or governmental agencies as necessary; and 

h. At the department's request, any additional information 

relevant to determining whether a project meets the 

requirements of the program. This includes the 

department's right to inspect the property upon 

reasonable notice.  

B. Each rehabilitation project shall be done according to a 

plan of rehabilitation. Although the department has not set 

any formal requirements for a plan of rehabilitation, every 

plan shall include, at a minimum, the name of the owner of 

the property, the location of the property, and a description of 

the proposed, ongoing, or completed rehabilitation project. A 

plan of rehabilitation must provide the department with 

sufficient information to determine whether the rehabilitation 

qualifies for certification. The burden is on the applicant 

owner to supply sufficient information for the department to 

make a determination.  

C. A rehabilitation project for certification purposes 

encompasses all work on the interior and exterior of the 

certified historic structure or structures and its site and 

environment, as well as related demolition, new construction 

or rehabilitation work that may affect the historic qualities, 

integrity, site, landscape features, and environment of the 

property.  

1. All elements of the rehabilitation project shall be 

consistent with the standards Standards for rehabilitation 

Rehabilitation, as set forth in 17VAC10-30-60. Portions of 

a project that are not in conformance with the standards 

may not be exempted, and the department may require 

remediation as a condition to receiving a certification of 

completed work. In general, an applicant owner 

undertaking a rehabilitation project will not be held 

responsible for prior rehabilitation work not part of the 

current project, as long as it was done in good faith 

(without intent to circumvent the requirements set forth in 

this chapter or otherwise defraud the Commonwealth) and 

at least five years prior to submitting an application. Such 

prior work will not be considered done in good faith if the 

owner has received historic rehabilitation tax credits under 

Virginia's program in the past five years. Owners will not 

be held responsible for work or rehabilitation work that 

was undertaken by previous owners, as long as the 

previous owner is not a related party.  

2. Conformance to with the standards will be determined 

on the basis of the application documentation and other 

available information by evaluating, which may include 

physical inspection of the property by the department, 

evaluation of the property as it existed before the 

beginning of the rehabilitation project, and its condition at 

the completion of the rehabilitation. 

3. If the legal boundaries of the property change after the 

owner submits the Part 1 of the Historic Preservation 

Certification Application, this information must be 

disclosed to the department in writing. The disclosure must 

describe the change in the property boundaries and the 

relationships, if any, between the owner of the property 

and the owners of adjacent properties. Situations involving 

a related party between the owner of the property for which 

rehabilitation tax credits are sought and an owner of 

adjacent property may require an expanded scope of 

review by the department.  

D. The department, on receipt of the complete application 

describing the rehabilitation project, shall determine if the 

project is consistent with the standards Standards for 

rehabilitation Rehabilitation. If the project does not meet the 

standards, the department shall advise the applicant owner of 

that fact in writing. Where possible, the department will 

advise the project applicant owner of necessary revisions to 

meet the standards.  

E. Once a proposed or ongoing project plan of rehabilitation 

has been approved certified, substantive changes in the work 

as described in the application shall be brought promptly to 

the attention of the department by written statement to ensure 

continued conformance to the standards Standards for 

Rehabilitation. The owner shall describe the change on the 

"Continuation/Amendment Sheet" of the Historic 

Preservation Certification Application and include relevant 

documentation for evaluation by the department. The 

department strongly recommends receiving certification of 

changes before commencing such work. Any work that does 

not conform to the plan of rehabilitation as certified by the 

department is at the owner's own risk, as changes that are not 

consistent with the standards may cause the entire project to 

be denied certification. After Part 3 of the application has 

been submitted, only essential corrections to the application 

may be made. The department may consider amendments to 

correct information within one year of the issuance of the 

certification of completed work, if justified. 

F. An authorized representative of the department may 

inspect projects to determine if the work meets the standards 

Standards for rehabilitation Rehabilitation and is consistent 

with any information the owner supplied to the department, 

including whether the actual work completed is consistent 

with the costs reported. The department reserves the right to 

make inspections at any time up to three years after 

completion certification of the completed rehabilitation and to 

revoke a certification, after giving the applicant owner 30 

days to comment on the matter, if it is determined that the 

rehabilitation project was not undertaken as represented in the 

application and supporting documentation. If the department 

discovers a material error of fact or misrepresentation in the 

information submitted for certification, the owner must 

address the issue within 60 calendar days of written notice by 

the department to avoid revocation of certification. The 

department may investigate any project where it reasonably 
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suspects fraud or misrepresentation, regardless of the time 

that may have passed since certification of completed 

rehabilitation. The tax consequences of a revocation of 

certification will be determined by the Department of 

Taxation. However, certification shall not be revoked for 

changes that are determined to have been made following 

good-faith completion of the project.  

17VAC10-30-60. Standards for rehabilitation 

Rehabilitation.  

A. The standards Standards for rehabilitation Rehabilitation 

are the criteria used to determine if a rehabilitation project 

qualifies as a certified historic rehabilitation. The intent of the 

standards is to promote the long-term preservation of a 

property's significance through the preservation of historic 

materials and features. The standards pertain to historic 

buildings of all materials, construction types, sizes, and 

occupancy and encompass the exterior and the interior of 

historic buildings. The standards also encompass related 

landscape features and the building's site and environment, as 

well as attached, adjacent, or related new construction. To be 

certified, a rehabilitation project shall be determined by the 

Department of Historic Resources to be consistent with the 

historic character of the structure or structures and, where 

applicable, the district in which it is located.  

B. The standards Standards for rehabilitation Rehabilitation 

shall be applied to specific rehabilitation projects in a 

reasonable manner, taking into consideration economic and 

technical feasibility.  

1. A property shall be used for its historic purpose or be 

placed in a new use that requires minimal change to the 

defining characteristics of the building and its site and 

environment.  

2. The historic character of a property shall be retained and 

preserved. The removal of historic materials or alteration 

of features and spaces that characterize a property shall be 

avoided.  

3. Each property shall be recognized as a physical record 

of its time, place, and use. Changes that create a false sense 

of historical development, such as adding conjectural 

features or architectural elements from other buildings, 

shall not be undertaken.  

4. Most properties change over time; those changes that 

have acquired historic significance in their own right shall 

be retained and preserved.  

5. Distinctive features, finishes, and construction 

techniques or examples of craftsmanship that characterize 

a historic property shall be preserved.  

6. Deteriorated architectural features shall be repaired 

rather than replaced. Where the severity of deterioration 

requires replacement of a distinctive feature, the new 

feature should match the old in design, color, texture, and 

other visual qualities and, where possible, materials. 

Replacement of missing architectural features must be 

substantiated by documentary, physical, or pictorial 

evidence.  

7. Chemical or physical treatments, such as sandblasting, 

that cause damage to historic materials shall not be used. 

The surface cleaning of structures, if appropriate, shall be 

undertaken using the gentlest means possible.  

8. Significant archeological resources affected by a project 

shall be protected and preserved. If these resources must be 

disturbed, mitigation measures shall be undertaken.  

9. New additions, exterior alterations, or related new 

construction shall not destroy historic materials that 

characterize the property. The new work shall be 

differentiated from the old and shall be compatible with the 

massing, size, scale, and architectural features to protect 

the historic integrity of the property and its environment.  

10. New additions and adjacent or related new construction 

shall be undertaken in such a manner that if removed in the 

future, the essential form and integrity of the historic 

property and its environment would be unimpaired.  

C. The quality of materials, craftsmanship, and related new 

construction in a rehabilitation project should be 

commensurate with the quality of materials, craftsmanship, 

and design of the historic structure in question. Certain 

treatments, if improperly applied, or certain materials by their 

physical properties, may cause or accelerate physical 

deterioration of historic buildings. Inappropriate rehabilitation 

measures include, but are not limited to: improper masonry 

repointing techniques;, improper exterior masonry cleaning 

methods;, improper introduction of insulation where damage 

to historic fabric would result;, and incompatible additions 

and new construction on historic properties. In almost all 

situations, these measures and treatments will result in denial 

of certification.  

D. In certain limited cases, it may be necessary to dismantle 

and rebuild portions of a certified historic structure to 

stabilize and repair weakened structural members and 

systems. In these cases, the Department of Historic Resources 

will consider this extreme intervention as part of a certified 

historic rehabilitation if:  

1. The necessity for dismantling is justified in supporting 

documentation;  

2. Significant architectural features and overall design are 

retained; and  

3. Adequate historic materials are retained to maintain the 

architectural and historic integrity of the overall structure.  

E. The qualities of a property and its environment which that 

qualify it as a certified historic structure are determined 

taking into account all available information, including 

information derived from the physical and architectural 

attributes of the building; these determinations are not limited 

to information contained in the Virginia Landmarks Register 

nomination reports.  
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17VAC10-30-70. Appeals.  

A. A project applicant owner may appeal any denial of 

certification. A request for an appeal shall be made in writing 

to the Director of the Department of Historic Resources, 2801 

Kensington Avenue, Richmond, Virginia 23221, within 60 

days of receipt of the decision that is the subject of the appeal. 

It is not necessary for the applicant owner to present 

arguments for overturning a decision within this 60-day 

period. The applicant owner may request an opportunity to 

meet with the director, but all information that the applicant 

owner wishes the director to consider shall be in writing. The 

director shall consider the record of the decision in question, 

any further written submissions by the applicant owner, and 

other available information, and may consult with experts or 

others as appropriate. The director shall provide the applicant 

owner a written decision as promptly as circumstances 

permit. The appeal process is an administrative review of 

decisions made by the department; it is not an adjudicative 

proceeding.  

B. In considering appeals, the director may take into account 

new information not previously available or submitted; 

alleged errors in professional judgment; or alleged prejudicial 

procedural errors. The director's decision may:  

1. Reverse the appealed decision;  

2. Affirm the appealed decision; or  

3. Resubmit the matter to the department program staff for 

further consideration.  

C. The decision of the director shall be the final 

administrative decision on the appeal. No person shall be 

considered to have exhausted his administrative remedies 

with respect to the certifications or decisions described in this 

part until the director has issued a final administrative 

decision in response to this section.  

17VAC10-30-80. Fees for processing rehabilitation 

certification requests.  

A. Fees are charged for reviewing rehabilitation certification 

requests in accordance with the following schedule:  

Rehabilitation Costs 
Part 2 

Review Fee 

Part 3 

Review Fee 

Less than $50,000 

$100,000 

Fee waived 

$250 

$100 $250 

$50,000 $100,000 - 

$99,999 $249,999 

$250 $500 $250 $500 

$100,000 $250,000 - 

$499,999 

$400 $1,000 $400 $1,000 

$500,000 - $999,999 $750 $2,000 $750 $2,000 

$1,000,000 - 

$1,999,999 

$4,000 $4,000 

$2,000,000 - 

$3,499,999 

$5,000 $5,000 

$3,500,000 - 

$4,999,999 

$7,000 $7,000 

$1 million or more 

$5,000,000 and above 

$1,500 

$8,000 

$1,500 

$8,000 

B. The department generally completes reviews of 

certification requests within 30 days of receiving a complete, 

adequately documented application. Upon request, if the 

current workload at the department permits, the department 

will may review complete, fully documented applications 

within five business days. The director reserves the right to 

refuse requests for expedited review if the current workload at 

the department so warrants. Fees are charged for such 

expedited review in accordance with the following schedule:  

Rehabilitation Costs 
Expedited Review 

Fee 

Less than $50,000 $100,000 $100 $500 

$50,000 $100,000 - $99,999 

$249,999 

$250 $1,000 

$100,000 $250,000 - $499,999 $400 $2,000 

$500,000 - $999,999 $750 $4,000 

$1,000,000 - $1,999,999 $8,000 

$2,000,000 - $3,499,999 $10,000 

$3,500,000 - $4,999,999 $14,000 

$1 million or more $5,000,000 and 

above 

$1,500 $16,000 

C. Payment of fees for review of Parts 2 and 3 shall be made 

to the Department of Historic Resources when the 

applications are submitted. Certification decisions will not be 

issued until the appropriate remittances are received. This 

includes all additional fees required if the project expenses 

exceed the cost estimate stated in the Part 2. Payment of fees 

for expedited review shall be submitted with the request for 

expedited review, and review shall not commence until such 

fee is paid. Fees are nonrefundable, except in cases where the 

request for expedited review is refused.  

D. In general, each rehabilitation of a separate certified 

historic structure will be considered a separate project for 

purposes of computing the size of the fee. Phased projects 

incur separate Part 3 fees for each phase. 

17VAC10-30-90. Forms.  

Applications To apply for certifications of buildings and 

rehabilitation projects are made with the, an owner shall 

complete and submit the Historic Preservation Certification 

Application, prepared by to the Department of Historic 
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Resources. The forms are available from the department and 

on the department's website.  

17VAC10-30-100. Definition of rehabilitation project.  

A. A certified historic structure shall be treated as having 

been materially rehabilitated only if the eligible rehabilitation 

expenses (as defined in 17VAC10-30-110) incurred in a 24-

month period selected by the taxpayer ending with or within 

the completion year shall equal or exceed 50% of the assessed 

value of the building for local real estate tax purposes, 

determined for the year before the start of rehabilitation, 

unless the building is an owner-occupied building, in which 

case the eligible rehabilitation expenses shall amount to at 

least 25% of the assessed value of the building for local real 

estate tax purposes for the year before the start of 

rehabilitation.  

B. In the case of any rehabilitation that may reasonably be 

expected to be completed in phases set forth in a plan of 

rehabilitation submitted contemporaneously with the 

Description of Rehabilitation, subsection A of this section 

shall be applied by substituting "60-month period" for "24-

month period." A rehabilitation may reasonably be expected 

to be completed in phases if it consists of two or more distinct 

stages of development. The department may review each 

phase as it is presented, but a phased project cannot be 

designated a certified rehabilitation until all of the phases are 

completed. The applicant owner may elect to claim the credit 

allowable for each completed phase of a phased project, upon 

receipt from the department of written approval certification 

of the work completed for each phase. Any such initial claims 

will be contingent upon final certification of the completed 

project.  

C. In the case of properties containing more than one 

building for which tax credits are sought, the work at each 

building must constitute a material rehabilitation, according 

to subsection A of this section. The review fees will be 

charged according to the overall cost of the project. Buildings 

that are physically connected but that were not historically or 

functionally related, such as a duplex or rowhouse, shall 

qualify as separate certified historic structures, regardless of 

ownership, for the purposes of this program. 

17VAC10-30-110. Eligible rehabilitation expenses.  

A. Eligible rehabilitation expenses are those expenses 

incurred by a taxpayer in connection with a plan of 

rehabilitation on or after January 1, 1997 2003, in the material 

rehabilitation of a certified historic structure and added to the 

property's capital account.  

B. Once the material rehabilitation test is met, the eligible 

rehabilitation expenses upon which a credit can be claimed 

include:  

1. Expenses incurred prior to the start of the 24-month 

measuring period as defined in 17VAC10-30-100 A, 

provided that the expenses were incurred in connection 

with the rehabilitation process plan that resulted in the 

material rehabilitation of the building;  

2. Within the measuring period as defined in 17VAC10-

30-100 A; and  

3. After the end of the measuring period as defined in 

17VAC10-30-100 A but prior to the completion of the 

project.  

C. Amounts are properly chargeable to the capital account if 

they are properly includable in computing the basis of real 

property under U.S. Department of the Treasury, Internal 

Revenue Code, Reg. § 26 CFR 1.46-3(c). Amounts treated as 

an expense and deducted in the year paid or incurred or 

amounts that are otherwise not added to the basis of real 

property do not qualify. Amounts incurred for historic 

preservation consultant fees, architectural and engineering 

fees, certain site fees, and other construction-related costs that 

are added to the basis of real property satisfy this 

requirement.  

D. Certain expenses are not eligible rehabilitation expenses. 

These expenses are:  

1. The cost of acquiring a building, any interest in a 

building (including a leasehold interest) or land. Interest 

incurred on a construction loan the proceeds of which are 

used for eligible rehabilitation expenditures (and which is 

added to the basis of the property) is not treated as a cost of 

acquisition.  

2. Landscaping. 

3. Site work, including the construction or repair of 

parking lots, sidewalks, curbing, walls, fencing, pools, 

patios, etc., except that the cost of certain site work that is 

part of, and integral to, the building's systems, such as 

plumbing, mechanical, and electrical, may qualify.  

4. Any expense attributable to an enlargement of a 

building.  

a. A building is enlarged to the extent that the total 

volume of the building is increased. An increase in floor 

space resulting from interior remodeling is not 

considered an enlargement.  

b. If expenditures only partially qualify as eligible 

rehabilitation expenditures because some of the 

expenditures are attributable to the enlargement of the 

building, the expenditures must be apportioned between 

the original portion of the building and the enlargement. 

The expenditures must be specifically allocated between 

the original portion of the building and the enlargement 

to the extent possible. If it is not possible to make a 

specific allocation of the expenditures, the expenditures 

must be allocated to each portion on a reasonable basis. 

The determination of a reasonable basis for an allocation 

depends on factors such as the type of improvement and 

how the improvement relates functionally to the building.  

Example: A historic rehabilitation project includes a new 

rear wing. A new air-conditioning system and a new roof 
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are installed on the building. A reasonable basis for 

allocating the expenditures among the two portions 

generally would be the volume of the historic building 

(excluding the new wing), served by the air-conditioning 

system or the roof, relative to the volume of the new wing 

that is served by the air-conditioning system and the roof.  

3. 5. Any expense attributable to the rehabilitation of a 

certified historic structure, or a building located in a 

registered historic district, which that is not a certified 

rehabilitation.  

4. 6. Any expense incurred before January 1, 1997 2003.  

5. 7. Any expense not incurred by a taxpayer, including 

expenses incurred by a local government or any agency 

thereof, or by any agency, unit, or instrumentality of the 

Commonwealth.  

6. 8. Any rehabilitation expense financed, directly or 

indirectly, by an obligation of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia.  

9. Any expense paid with insurance or indemnity payments 

received as a result of a property casualty loss of the 

property being rehabilitated.  

10. Any expense related to personal property or 

nonessential equipment. Examples include, but are not 

limited to, removable cabinets, appliances, trade fixtures, 

and electronic and technology equipment that is not 

essential for the rehabilitation and basic function of the 

building, regardless of the specific use of the building.  

11. All costs associated with syndication of the tax credits. 

This includes legal and other business fees related to 

syndication. 

12. Deferred fees or unpaid costs for which there is no 

charge to a capital account with a corresponding recorded 

entry to a liability account and either proof of subsequent 

payment thereof or appropriate documentation evidencing 

the liability. 

E. The taxpayer may take into account eligible rehabilitation 

expenses created in connection with the same plan of 

rehabilitation by any other entity with an interest in the 

building. Where eligible rehabilitation expenses are created 

with respect to a building by an entity other than the taxpayer 

and the taxpayer acquires the building or a portion of the 

building to which the expenses were allocable, the taxpayer 

acquiring such property will be treated as having incurred the 

eligible rehabilitation expenses actually created by the 

transferor, provided that no credit with respect to such 

qualified rehabilitation expenses is claimed by anyone other 

than the taxpayer acquiring the property and that the building 

has not been placed into service prior to the taxpayer's 

acquisition of the building.  

F. A taxpayer who has incurred eligible rehabilitation 

expenses may elect to treat a tenant or tenants as having 

incurred these rehabilitation expenses, provided that the lease 

is for a term of at least five years. This election shall be made 

on the application for the certification of rehabilitation. For 

purposes of testing whether a rehabilitation is material, all 

eligible rehabilitation expenses will be counted. In the event 

the election is made to treat multiple tenants as having 

incurred rehabilitation expenses, the allocation of eligible 

rehabilitation expenses to these tenants shall be made in 

accordance with the relative square footage occupied by the 

tenants or the relative amounts of eligible rehabilitation 

expenses spent in connection with each tenant's space. 

Eligible rehabilitation expenses that are not readily allocable 

by specific space shall be allocated in a manner consistent 

with the allocation method chosen.  

17VAC10-30-120. Qualification for credit.  

Credits against tax shall be available for the material 

rehabilitation of a certified historic structure. Material 

rehabilitation means improvements or reconstruction 

consistent with the standards Standards for rehabilitation 

Rehabilitation, the cost of which amounts to at least 50% of 

the assessed value of the buildings for local real estate tax 

purposes for the year before the start of rehabilitation, unless 

the building is an owner-occupied building, in which case the 

cost shall amount to at least 25% of the assessed value of 

such building for local real estate tax purposes for the year 

before such rehabilitation expenses were incurred. An owner-

occupied building is any building, at least 75% of which is 

used as a personal residence by the owner, or which is 

available for occupancy by the owner for at least 75% of the 

year. The assessed value of the building for local real estate 

tax purposes does not include any assessment for land. The 

determination of whether a rehabilitation has been material 

shall be made at the entity level, not at the partner or 

shareholder level.  

Ex. Example 1. Certified historic structure has a 1996 2012 

tax assessment of $20,000 for the land, $80,000 for the 

building; and a 1997 2013 assessment of $20,000 for the land, 

$70,000 for the building. Taxpayer submits a plan of 

rehabilitation on December 1, 1997 2013. Taxpayer applies 

for a building permit for work to be done in accordance with 

the plan of rehabilitation on December 15, 1997 2013. 

Taxpayer incurs eligible rehabilitation expenses in the amount 

of $37,500 pursuant to the plan of rehabilitation. 

Rehabilitation is completed in 1999 2015. Taxpayer is not 

entitled to a tax credit because taxpayer's eligible 

rehabilitation expenses ($37,500) do not exceed 50% of the 

assessed value of the building in the year prior to the start of 

rehabilitation ($40,000).  

Ex. Example 2. Same facts as above, except taxpayer applies 

for the building permit on January 2, 1998 2014. Eligible 

rehabilitation expenses ($37,500) exceed 50% of the assessed 

value of the building in the year prior to the start of 

rehabilitation ($35,000). Therefore, taxpayer is entitled to a 

credit of 20% (for completion in 1999) 2015) of $37,500.  
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17VAC10-30-130. Amount and timing of credit.  

A. The amount of the credit shall be determined by 

multiplying the total amount of eligible rehabilitation 

expenses incurred in connection with the plan of 

rehabilitation by 25%. Eligible rehabilitation expenses may 

include expenses in connection with the rehabilitation that 

were incurred prior to the start of rehabilitation. Further, 

eligible rehabilitation expenses may include expenses 

incurred prior to completion of a formal plan of rehabilitation 

provided the expenses were incurred in connection with the 

rehabilitation that was completed.  

B. Complete, adequately documented Historic Preservation 

Certification Application forms must be received by the 

department within one year after the final expense is incurred 

or the final certificate of occupancy (if appropriate) is issued 

completion date. Properties that do not meet the criteria for 

individual listing on the Virginia Landmarks Register must be 

located in registered historic districts by such date. Taxpayers 

are cautioned, however, that if Parts 1 and 2 of the Historic 

Preservation Certification Application forms are not 

submitted prior to beginning work on the rehabilitation, they 

proceed with the project at the risk that the building or the 

rehabilitation project will not be certified.  

17VAC10-30-140. Entitlement to credit.  

A. Effective for taxable years beginning on and after 

January 1, [ 1997 2003 ], any individual, trust or estate, or 

corporation incurring eligible expenses in the rehabilitation of 

a certified historic structure shall be entitled to a credit 

against tax in the manner and amount set forth in these 

regulations. Credits granted to a partnership, electing small 

business corporation (S corporation), or limited liability 

company shall be passed through to the partners or 

shareholders, respectively. Credits granted to a partnership, 

electing small business corporation (S corporation), or limited 

liability company shall be allocated among partners or 

shareholders, respectively, either in proportion to their 

ownership interest in such entity or as the partners or 

shareholders mutually agree.  

The members, partners or shareholders at the end of the 

taxable year in which there is an entitlement to credit shall be 

allocated the state rehabilitation tax credits for which a 

project is certified.  

B. The Department of Historic Resources shall certify the 

amount of eligible rehabilitation expenses. The certification 

shall consist of a letter signed by an authorized representative 

of the department confirming that the rehabilitated property is 

a certified historic structure and that the rehabilitation is a 

certified historic rehabilitation, and shall specify the amount 

of eligible rehabilitation expenses, based on the Request for 

Certification of Completed Work form. The department's 

certification shall make reference to any partnership, S 

corporation, or limited liability company allocation 

document, as defined in subsection A of this section. A 

person with an interest in the property who materially 

rehabilitates a certified historic structure may apply for a 

certificate of material rehabilitation. Persons with an interest 

in the property include those individuals or entities that have 

a possessory interest in the property. The application for 

issuance certification of a certificate project shall set forth the 

name of the individual or entity that will utilize entitled to the 

credit on its tax return. The taxpayer shall attach the 

certificate letter of certification to the Virginia tax return on 

which the credit is claimed.  

C. If the amount of the credit exceeds the taxpayer's tax 

liability for such taxable year, the amount that exceeds the tax 

liability may be carried over for credit against the income 

taxes of such taxpayer for the next ten 10 taxable years or 

until the full credit is used, whichever occurs first. For 

purposes of passthrough pass-through entities (e.g., general 

and limited partnerships, limited liability companies, S 

corporations) this paragraph shall be applied to the partners, 

members or shareholders, as applicable.  

17VAC10-30-150. Transition rules for projects Projects 

begun before 1997 2003.  

A. Rehabilitation expenses incurred before January 1, 1997 

2003, do not qualify for a rehabilitation tax credit and will not 

be considered part of the rehabilitation project for which 

owner seeks tax credits.  

B. Applicants whose rehabilitation projects commenced 

before 1997, but were not completed until after January 1, 

1997, may apply for certification of their rehabilitation work, 

in accordance with the provisions of 17VAC10-30-20, 

17VAC10-30-30, and 17VAC10-30-50. In these cases, the 

tax credit is calculated as the appropriate percentage of 

expenses incurred on or after January 1, 1997.  

C. For projects begun before January 1, 1997, the material 

rehabilitation test shall be determined by the entire project, 

rather than by those parts of the work completed on or after 

January 1, 1997.  

17VAC10-30-160. Coordination with the federal certified 

historic rehabilitation program.  

A. Certifications of properties and rehabilitation projects by 

the National Park Service, U.S. Department of the Interior, 

under Federal Law 36 CFR Part 67, are not equivalent to 

certification of properties and rehabilitation projects by the 

Virginia Department of Historic Resources under § 58.1-

339.2 of the Code of Virginia, except as provided in 

subsection B of this section. Taxpayers are cautioned that 

deadlines and requirements for certifications under these state 

regulations may differ from deadlines and requirements for 

certifications under the federal program.  

B. Certifications of historic significance of properties (Part 

1, Historic Preservation Certification Application) by the 

National Park Service, U.S. Department of the Interior, dated 

after January 1, 1995, shall be accepted as equivalent of 

certification of historic significance by the Virginia 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 10 Virginia Register of Regulations January 11, 2016 

1820 

Department of Historic Resources under the provisions of 

17VAC10-30-20.  

C. Approval under one program does not necessarily mean 

the project will be approved by the other. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (17VAC10-30)  

State Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credit Program Historic 

Preservation Certification Application Part 1 - Evaluation of 

Significance, DHR Form TC-1 (rev. 8/02).  

State Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credit Program Historic 

Preservation Certification Application Part 2 - Description of 

Rehabilitation, DHR Form TC-2 (rev. 8/02).  

State Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credit Program Historic 

Preservation Certification Application Part 3 - Request for 

Certification of Completed Work, DHR Form TC-3 (rev. 

8/02).  

State Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credit Program Historic 

Preservation Certification Application Billing Statement, 

DHR Form TC-4 (rev. 10/03).  

Disclosure of Ownership - State Historic Rehabilitation Tax 

Credit Program Historic Preservation Certification 

Application, DHR Form TC-5 (rev. 8/02).  

[ State Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credit Program Historic 

Preservation Certification Application Part 1 - Evaluation of 

Significance, DHR Form TC-1 (rev. 8/13) 

State Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credit Program Historic 

Preservation Certification Application Part 2 - Description of 

Rehabilitation, DHR Form TC-2 (rev. 8/13) 

State Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credit Program Historic 

Preservation Certification Application Part 3 - Request for 

Certification of Completed Work, DHR Form TC-3 (rev. 

8/13) 

State Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credit Program Historic 

Preservation Certification Application Part 1 - Evaluation of 

Significance, DHR Form TC-1 (rev. 10/2015) 

State Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credit Program Historic 

Preservation Certification Application Part 2 - Description of 

Rehabilitation, DHR Form TC-2 (rev. 10/2015) 

State Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credit Program Historic 

Preservation Certification Application Part 3 - Request for 

Certification of Completed Work, DHR Form TC-3 (rev. 

10/2015) ]  

Continuation/Amendment Sheet - Historic Preservation 

Certification Application, DHR Form TC-4 (rev. 1/2015) 

State Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credit Program Historic 

Preservation Certification Application Billing Statement, 

DHR Form TC-5 (rev. 1/2015) 

Disclosure of Ownership - State Historic Rehabilitation Tax 

Credit Program Historic Preservation Certification 

Application, DHR Form TC-6 (rev. 1/2015) 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(17VAC10-30) 

[ Rehabilitation Tax Credit Program Certification 

Requirements, Virginia Department of Historic Resources, 

January 2015  

Rehabilitation Tax Credit Program Certification 

Requirements, October 2015, Department of Historic 

Resources ] 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3494; Filed December 18, 2015, 12:39 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

COMMON INTEREST COMMUNITY BOARD 

Final Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC48-40. Time-Share 

Regulations (repealing 18VAC48-40-10 through 

18VAC48-40-110, 18VAC48-40-120, 18VAC48-40-130, 

18VAC48-40-140, 18VAC48-40-150, 18VAC48-40-160). 

18VAC48-45. Time-Share Regulations (adding 18VAC48-

45-10 through 18VAC48-45-770).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2349 and 55-396 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 1, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Trisha Henshaw, Executive Director, 

Common Interest Community Board, Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-

8510, FAX (866) 490-2723, or email cic@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

As a result of periodic review and legislative changes, this 

regulatory action repeals current regulations and 

promulgates replacement regulations. The replacement 

regulations (i) address the board's authority, including the 

discipline of regulated entities; (ii) add provisions 

pertaining to time-share project registration, alternative 

purchase registration, exchange program registration, and 

time-share reseller registration; (iii) establish standards of 

conduct; (iv) require entities that resell time-shares for the 

time-share owners more than 12 times a year to register 

with the board and pay registration and renewal fees; and 

(v) provide a list of exemptions from the time-share 

reseller registration requirement.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a19df003494~8&typ=40&actno=003494&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a19df003494~8&typ=40&actno=003494&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a19df003494~8&typ=40&actno=003494&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8a7df003494~9&typ=40&actno=003494&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8a7df003494~9&typ=40&actno=003494&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8a7df003494~9&typ=40&actno=003494&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=04318003494~10&typ=40&actno=003494&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=04318003494~10&typ=40&actno=003494&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=04318003494~10&typ=40&actno=003494&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=04318003494~10&typ=40&actno=003494&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=df3fc003494~9&typ=40&actno=003494&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=df3fc003494~9&typ=40&actno=003494&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d24d2003494~10&typ=40&actno=003494&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d24d2003494~10&typ=40&actno=003494&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d24d2003494~10&typ=40&actno=003494&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3b053003494~11&typ=40&actno=003494&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3b053003494~11&typ=40&actno=003494&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3b053003494~11&typ=40&actno=003494&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a547b003494~11&typ=40&actno=003494&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a547b003494~11&typ=40&actno=003494&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a547b003494~11&typ=40&actno=003494&mime=application/pdf
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Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

CHAPTER 45 

TIME-SHARE REGULATIONS 

Part 1 

General 

[ 18VAC48-45-10. Purpose. (Reserved). ]  

 [ This chapter governs the exercise of powers granted to 

and the performance of duties imposed upon the Common 

Interest Community Board by the Virginia Real Estate Time-

Share Act (§ 55-360 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) as the act 

pertains to the registration of time-share programs, time-share 

projects, alternative purchases, exchange companies, and 

time-share resellers. ]  

18VAC48-45-20. Definitions. 

A. Section 55-362 of the Code of Virginia provides 

definitions of the following terms and phrases as used in this 

chapter: 

"Affiliate" 

"Alternative purchase" 

"Association" 

"Board" 

"Board of directors" 

"Common elements" 

"Contact information" 

"Contract" or "purchase 

contract" 

"Conversion time-share 

project" 

"Default" 

"Developer" 

"Developer control period" 

"Development right" 

"Dispose" or "disposition" 

"Exchange company" 

"Exchange program" 

"Guest" 

"Incidental benefit" 

"Lead dealer" 

"Managing agent" 

"Managing entity" 

"Material change" 

"Offering" or "offer"  

"Person" 

"Project" 

"Public offering 

statement" 

"Purchaser" 

"Resale purchase 

contract" 

"Resale time-share" 

"Resale service" 

"Resale transfer contract" 

"Reseller" 

"Reverter deed" 

"Situs" 

"Time-share" 

"Time-share estate" 

"Time-share expense" 

"Time-share instrument" 

"Time-share owner" or 

"owner" 

"Time-share program" or 

"program" 

"Time-share project" 

"Time-share unit" or 

"unit" 

"Time-share use" 

"Transfer" 

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Alternative disclosure statement" means a disclosure 

statement for an out-of-state time-share program or time-

share project that is properly registered in the situs. 

"Annual report" means a completed, board-prescribed form 

and required documentation submitted in compliance with 

§ 55-394.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Application" means a completed, board-prescribed form 

submitted with the appropriate fee and other required 

documentation in compliance with the Virginia Real Estate 

Time-Share Act and this chapter. 

"Department" means the Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation. 

"Electronic" means relating to technology having electrical, 

digital, magnetic, wireless, optical, electromagnetic, or 

similar capabilities.  

"Firm" means a sole proprietorship, association, partnership, 

corporation, limited liability company, limited liability 

partnership, or any other form of business organization 

recognized under the laws of the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

"Full and accurate disclosure" means the degree of 

disclosure necessary to ensure reasonably complete and 

materially accurate representation of the time-share in order 

to protect the interests of purchasers.  

"Registration file" means the application for registration, 

supporting materials, annual reports, and amendments that 

constitute all information submitted and reviewed pertaining 

to a particular time-share program, time-share project, 

alternative purchase, exchange company, or time-share 

reseller registration. A document that has not been accepted 

for filing by the board is not part of the registration file. 

"Virginia Real Estate Time-Share Act" means Chapter 21 

(§ 55-360 et seq.) of Title 55 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC48-45-30. Explanation of terms. 

Each reference in this chapter to a "developer," "purchaser," 

and "time-share owner" or to the plural of those terms shall be 

deemed to refer, as appropriate, to the masculine and the 

feminine, to the singular and the plural, and to natural persons 

and organizations. The term "developer" shall refer to any 

successors to the persons referred to in § 55-362 of the Code 

of Virginia who come to stand in the same relation to the 

time-share as their predecessors in that they assumed rights 

reserved for the benefit of a developer that (i) offers to 

dispose of its interest in a time-share not previously disposed 

of or (ii) applies for registration of the time-share program.  

18VAC48-45-40. Time-share projects located outside of 

Virginia. 

A. In any case involving a time-share project located outside 

of Virginia in which the laws or practices of the jurisdiction 

in which such time-share project is located prevent 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 10 Virginia Register of Regulations January 11, 2016 

1822 

compliance with a provision of this chapter, the board shall 

prescribe by order a substitute provision to be applicable in 

such case that is as nearly equivalent to the original provision 

as is reasonable under the circumstances.  

B. The words "time-share instrument" and "public offering 

statement," when used in this chapter with reference to a 

time-share located outside of Virginia, mean documents, 

portions of documents, or combinations thereof, by whatever 

name denominated, that have a content and function identical 

or substantially equivalent to the content and function of their 

Virginia counterparts.  

C. The word "recording" or "recordation" when used with 

reference to time-share instruments of a time-share located 

outside of Virginia means a procedure that, in the jurisdiction 

in which such time-share is located, causes the time-share 

instruments to become legally effective.  

D. This chapter shall apply to a contract for the disposition 

of a time-share located outside of Virginia only to the extent 

permissible under the provisions of subsection C of § 55-

361.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

E. The time-share shall be properly registered in the state or 

other jurisdiction where the project is located. 

Part II 

General Application Requirements 

18VAC48-45-50. Application procedures. 

A developer seeking registration of a time-share project or 

an alternative purchase, an exchange company seeking 

registration of an exchange program, or a reseller seeking 

registration in order to offer or provide resale services, all in 

accordance with the Virginia Real Estate Time-Share Act, 

shall submit an application on the appropriate form provided 

by the board, along with the appropriate fee specified in 

18VAC48-45-70.  

By submitting the application to the board, the applicant 

certifies that the applicant has read and understands the 

applicable statutes and this chapter. 

The receipt of an application and the deposit of fees by the 

board do not indicate approval or acceptance of the 

application by the board. 

The board may make further inquiries and investigations to 

confirm or amplify information supplied. All applications 

shall be completed in accordance with the instructions 

contained [ herein in this chapter ] and on the application. 

Applications will not be considered complete until all 

required documents are received by the board. 

Applications that are not complete within 12 months after 

receipt of the application in the board's office will be purged, 

and a new application and fee must be submitted in order to 

be reconsidered for registration. 

18VAC48-45-60. Review of application for registration, 

generally. 

A. Upon the review of the application for registration, if the 

requirements of this chapter have not been met, the board 

shall notify the applicant.  

B. The board may refuse initial registration due to an 

applicant's failure to comply with entry requirements or for 

any of the reasons for which the board may discipline a 

regulant. 

C. At such time as the board affirmatively determines that 

the requirements of this chapter have been met, the board 

shall issue the applicable registration. 

D. Notwithstanding the provisions of 18VAC48-45-130 for 

a time-share project registration, applicants who do not meet 

the requirements of this chapter may be approved following 

consideration by the board in accordance with the 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia). 

18VAC48-45-70. Fees. 

A. All fees are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated. The 

date on which the fee is received by the board or its agent will 

determine whether the fee is timely. Checks or money orders 

shall be made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia. 

B. Fees are as follows: 

Time-share project registration application $1,500 

Time-share project phase [ amendment ] 

filing 

$250 

Time-share project registration annual 

report 

$500 

Alternative purchase registration 

application 

$100 

Alternative purchase registration annual 

report 

$100 

Exchange program registration application $1,000 

Exchange program registration annual 

report 

$250 

Time-share reseller registration application $250 

Time-share reseller registration renewal $250 

Time-share reseller registration 

reinstatement (includes a $100 

reinstatement fee in addition to the $250 

renewal fee)  

$350 

Part III 

Marketing and Advertising 

18VAC48-45-80. Time-share marketing activities. 

A. Time-share marketing activities shall include every 

contact by or on behalf of the developer for the purpose of 
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promoting disposition of a time-share or alternative purchase. 

Such contacts may be personal, by telephone, by mail, by 

electronic means including social media, or by advertisement. 

A promise, assertion, representation, or statement of fact or 

opinion made in connection with a time-share marketing 

activity may be oral, written, electronic, or graphic.  

B. No time-share marketing activity shall be deemed an 

offer unless, by its express terms, it induces, solicits, or 

encourages a prospective purchaser to (i) execute a contract 

of sale of the time-share or alternative purchase or (ii) 

perform some other act that would create or purport to create 

a legal or equitable interest in the time-share until the board 

has issued an order of registration. 

18VAC48-45-90. Offering of gifts or prizes. 

A. Any offering that includes a gift or prize shall include the 

disclosures contained in § 55-374.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Such disclosures shall be made with the same prominence as 

the offer. 

B. The board may at any time require a developer to alter or 

amend any offering that includes a gift or prize in order to 

ensure compliance with this section. 

Part IV 

Application for Time-Share Project Registration 

18VAC48-45-100. Registration of time-share project and 

program. 

In accordance with § 55-390 of the Code of Virginia, a 

developer offering or disposing of an interest in a time-share 

program must register the time-share project and its program 

with the board. For the purposes of this chapter as it relates to 

registration, the registration of a time-share project shall 

include the simultaneous registration of the time-share 

program. 

18VAC48-45-110. Prerequisites for registration of a time-

share project. 

The following provisions are prerequisites for registration 

and are supplementary to the provisions of § 55-391.1 of the 

Code of Virginia.  

1. The developer shall own or have the right to acquire an 

estate in the land constituting or to constitute the time-

share project that is of at least as great a degree and 

duration as the estate to be conveyed in the time-shares. 

2. The time-share instrument must be adequate to bring a 

time-share project into existence upon recordation. This 

subdivision does not apply to a time-share instrument that 

may be recorded after the time-share project has been 

created.  

3. The time-share instrument must include a statement 

detailing that the developer reserves or does not reserve the 

right to add or delete any alternative purchase. 

4. The current and planned time-share advertising activities 

of the developer shall comply with § 18.2-216 of the Code 

of Virginia and this chapter.  

5. If the developer is a firm, it shall be organized as a 

business entity under the laws of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia or otherwise authorized to transact business in 

Virginia. Firms shall register any trade or fictitious names 

with the State Corporation Commission or the clerk of 

court in the jurisdiction where the business is to be 

conducted in accordance with §§ 59.1-69 through 59.1-76 

of the Code of Virginia before submitting an application to 

the board.  

18VAC48-45-120. Review of application for registration 

of a time-share project. 

A. Upon receipt of an application for registration of a time-

share project, the board shall issue the notice of filing 

required by subsection A of § 55-393.1 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

B. Upon the review of the application for registration, if the 

requirements of § 55-391.1 of the Code of Virginia and this 

chapter have not been met, the board shall notify the applicant 

as required by subsection C of § 55-393.1 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

C. If the requirements for registration are not met within the 

application review period or a valid extension thereof, the 

board shall, upon the expiration of such period, enter an order 

rejecting the registration as required by subsection C of § 55-

393.1 of the Code of Virginia. The order rejecting the 

registration shall become effective 20 days after issuance. 

D. An applicant may submit a written request for an 

informal conference in accordance with § 2.2-4019 of the 

Code of Virginia at any time between receipt of a notification 

pursuant to subsection B of this section and the effective date 

of the order of rejection entered pursuant to subsection C of 

this section. A request for such proceeding shall be deemed a 

consent to delay within the meaning of subsection A of § 55-

393.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

E. The board shall receive and act upon corrections to the 

application for registration at any time prior to the effective 

date of an order rejecting the registration. If the board 

determines after review of the corrections that the 

requirements for registration have not been met, the board 

may proceed with an informal conference in accordance with 

§ 2.2-4019 of the Code of Virginia in order to allow 

reconsideration of whether the requirements for registration 

are met. If the board does not opt to proceed with an informal 

conference, the applicant may submit a written request for an 

informal conference in accordance with § 2.2-4019 of the 

Code of Virginia in order to reconsider whether the 

requirements for registration are met. If the board does not 

proceed with an informal conference and no request for an 

informal conference is received from the applicant, an 

amended order of rejection stating the factual basis for the 

rejection shall be issued. A new 20-day period for the order of 

rejection to become effective shall commence. 

F. At such time as the board affirmatively determines that 

the requirements of § 55-391.1 of the Code of Virginia have 
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been met, the board shall enter an order registering the time-

share and shall designate the form, content, and effective date 

of the public offering statement. 

18VAC48-45-130. Minimum application requirements for 

registration of a time-share project. 

A. The documents and information contained in §§ 55-367, 

55-368, 55-369, 55-371, 55-374, and 55-391.1 of the Code of 

Virginia, as applicable, shall be included in the application for 

registration of a time-share project.  

B. The application for registration of a time-share project 

shall include the fee specified in 18VAC48-45-70. 

C. The following documents shall be included in the 

application for registration of a time-share project as exhibits. 

All exhibits shall be labeled as indicated and submitted in a 

format acceptable to the board.  

1. Exhibit A: A copy of the certificate of incorporation or 

certificate of authority to transact business in Virginia 

issued by the Virginia State Corporation Commission, or 

any other entity formation documents, together with any 

trade or fictitious name certificate. 

2. Exhibit B: A certificate of recordation or other 

acceptable documents from the city or county where the 

time-share is located. 

3. Exhibit C: A copy of the title opinion, the title policy, or 

a statement of the condition of the title to the time-share 

project including encumbrances as of a specified date 

within 30 days of the date of application by a title company 

or licensed attorney who is not a salaried employee, 

officer, or director of the developer or owner, in 

accordance with subdivision A 5 of § 55-391.1 of the Code 

of Virginia. If the developer is not the record owner of the 

land, a copy of any contract the developer has executed to 

purchase the land, any option the developer holds for the 

purchase of the land, or any lease under which the 

developer holds the land.  

4. Exhibit D: Proof that the applicant or developer owns or 

has the right to acquire an estate in the land constituting or 

to constitute the time-share project, which is of at least as 

great a degree and duration as the estate to be conveyed in 

the time-share. 

5. Exhibit E: A statement of the zoning, subdivision, or 

land use obligations or proffers and other governmental 

regulations affecting the use of the time-share, including 

the site plans and building permits and their status, any 

existing tax, and existing or proposed special taxes or 

assessments that affect the time-share. 

6. Exhibit F: A copy of the time-share instrument, 

including all applicable amendments and exhibits, that will 

be delivered to a purchaser to evidence the purchaser's 

interest in the time-share and of the contracts and other 

agreements that a purchaser will be required to agree to or 

sign. 

7. Exhibit G: A narrative description of the promotional 

plan for the disposition of the time-shares.  

8. Exhibit H: A copy of the proposed public offering 

statement that complies with § 55-374 of the Code of 

Virginia and this chapter. Pursuant to subsection G of § 55-

374, a similar disclosure statement required by other situs 

laws governing time-sharing may be submitted for a time-

share located outside of the Commonwealth. 

9. Exhibit I: A copy of the buyer's acknowledgment. 

Pursuant to § 55-376.5 of the Code of Virginia, the 

purchaser shall be given this document prior to signing a 

purchase contract, and the document shall contain the 

information required by subsection B of § 55-376.5. 

10. Exhibit J: Copies of bonds or letters of credit issued by 

a financial institution, if any, required by subsection C of 

§ 55-375 and subsection B of § 55-386 of the Code of 

Virginia, as applicable. 

11. Exhibit K: A copy of any management agreements [ , 

employment contracts or and ] other contracts or 

agreements affecting the [ overall ] use, maintenance, 

management, or access of all or any part of the time-share 

project. 

12. Exhibit L: A list with the names of every officer [ of 

the developer or persons occupying a similar status within 

or performing similar functions for the developer, 

manager, owner, or principal, as applicable to the type of 

firm under which the developer is organized to do 

business, of the developer or persons occupying a similar 

status within or performing similar functions for the 

developer ]. The list must include each 

individual's [ residential ] address [ or other address ] valid 

for receipt of service, principal occupation for the past five 

years, and title. 

13. Exhibit M: A statement whether any of the individuals 

or entities named in Exhibit L are or have been involved as 

defendants in any indictment, conviction, judgment, 

decree, or order of any court or administrative agency 

against the developer or managing entity for violation of a 

federal, state, local, or foreign country law or regulation in 

connection with activities relating to time-share sales, land 

sales, land investments, security sales, construction or sale 

of homes or improvements, or any similar or related 

activity. 

14. Exhibit N: A statement whether, during the preceding 

five years, any of the individuals or entities named in 

Exhibit L have been adjudicated bankrupt or have 

undergone any proceeding for the relief of debtors. 

15. Exhibit O: If the developer has reserved the right to add 

to or delete from the time-share program any incidental 

benefit or alternative purchase, a description of the 

incidental benefit or alternative purchase shall be provided 

pursuant to subdivision A 13 of § 55-391.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 
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16. Exhibit P: Conversion time-share projects must attach a 

copy of the notice required by subsection D of § 55-374 of 

the Code of Virginia and a certified statement that such 

notice shall be mailed or delivered to each of the tenants in 

the building or buildings for which the registration is 

sought at the time of the registration of the conversion 

project. 

Part V 

Public Offering Statement 

18VAC48-45-140. Public offering statement requirements, 

generally. 

In addition to the provisions of § 55-374 of the Code of 

Virginia, the following will be considered, as applicable, 

during review of the public offering statement: 

1. The public offering statement shall provide full and 

accurate disclosure in accordance with 18VAC48-45-150. 

2. The public offering statement shall pertain to the time-

share project in which the time-shares being offered are 

located. 

3. The public offering statement shall be clear, organized, 

and legible. 

4. Except for brief excerpts, the public offering statement 

may refer to, but should not incorporate verbatim, portions 

of the time-share instruments, the Virginia Real Estate 

Time-Share Act, or this chapter. This does not preclude 

compliance with 18VAC48-45-170. 

18VAC48-45-150. Full and accurate disclosure. 

A. The provisions of § 55-374 of the Code of Virginia and 

this chapter shall be strictly construed to promote full and 

accurate disclosure in the public offering statement. In 

addition, the following will be considered, as applicable, 

during review to assure full and accurate disclosure: 

1. The information shall be presented in a manner that is 

clear and understandable to a reasonably informed 

consumer, while maintaining consistency with the 

requirements of this chapter and the Virginia Real Estate 

Time-Share Act. 

2. No information shall be incorporated by reference to an 

outside source that is not reasonably available to a 

prospective purchaser. 

3. If required information is not known or not reasonably 

available, such fact shall be stated and explained in the 

public offering statement. 

B. The board has the sole discretion to require additional 

information or amendment of existing information as it finds 

necessary to ensure full and accurate disclosure. 

18VAC48-45-160. Contents of public offering statement. 

A. A cover, if used, must be blank or bear identification 

information only.  

B. The developer may include as part of the public offering 

statement a receipt page printed in such a way that the 

developer may obtain verification that a prospective 

purchaser has received the public offering statement. The 

receipt page shall include the effective date of the public 

offering statement as well as a place for the date of delivery 

and signature lines for the prospective purchaser. The 

authorized receipt page in proper form, duly executed, shall 

be evidence that the public offering statement was delivered. 

C. The first page of the public offering statement shall be 

substantially as follows. 

PURCHASER SHOULD READ THIS DOCUMENT 

FOR THE PURCHASER'S PROTECTION 

PUBLIC OFFERING STATEMENT 

NAME OF 

TIME-SHARE 

PROJECT:  

________________________________

________________________________ 

LOCATION OF 

TIME-SHARE 

PROJECT:  

________________________________

________________________________ 

NAME OF 

DEVELOPER:  

________________________________

________________________________ 

ADDRESS OF 

DEVELOPER:  

________________________________

________________________________ 

EFFECTIVE 

DATE OF 

PUBLIC 

OFFERING 

STATEMENT:  

________________________________

________________________________ 

REVISED:  

________________________________

________________________________ 

THE PURCHASER OF A TIME-SHARE MAY 

CANCEL THE CONTRACT UNTIL MIDNIGHT OF 

THE SEVENTH CALENDAR DAY FOLLOWING THE 

EXECUTION OF SUCH CONTRACT. THE 

PURCHASER SHOULD READ THIS DOCUMENT 

FOR THE PURCHASER'S OWN PROTECTION.  

Purchasing a time-share carries with it certain rights, 

responsibilities, and benefits, including certain financial 

obligations, rights, and restrictions concerning the use 

and maintenance of units and common elements. The 

purchaser will be bound by the provisions of the time-

share instruments and should review the Public Offering 

Statement, the time-share instruments, and other exhibits 

carefully prior to purchase.  

This Public Offering Statement presents information 

regarding time-share(s) being offered for sale by the 

developer. The Virginia Real Estate Time-Share Act (§ 55-

360 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) requires that a Public 

Offering Statement be given to every Purchaser in order to 

provide full and accurate disclosure of the characteristics of 

and material circumstances affecting the time-share project 

and the characteristics of the time-share(s) being offered. The 
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Public Offering Statement is not intended, however, to be all-

inclusive. The Purchaser should consult other sources for 

details not covered by the Public Offering Statement. 

The Public Offering Statement summarizes information and 

documents furnished by the developer to the Virginia 

Common Interest Community Board. The Board has carefully 

reviewed the Public Offering Statement but does not 

guarantee the accuracy or completeness of the Public 

Offering Statement. In the event of any inconsistency 

between the Public Offering Statement and the material it is 

intended to summarize, the material shall control. 

If the Purchaser elects to cancel the contract within the 

seven-day cancellation period, all payments made in 

connection with the purchase contract shall be refunded to the 

Purchaser within 45 days. If the Purchaser elects to cancel the 

contract, the Purchaser shall do so either by (i) hand-

delivering the notice to the developer at its principal office or 

at the project or (ii) mailing the notice by certified United 

States mail, return receipt requested, to the developer or its 

agent designated in the contract. 

Allegations of violation of any law or regulation contained 

in the Virginia Real Estate Time-Share Act or the Time-Share 

Regulations (18VAC48-45) should be reported to the 

Common Interest Community Board, Perimeter Center, Suite 

400, 9960 Mayland Drive, Richmond, Virginia 23233. 

D. A summary of important considerations shall 

immediately follow the first page for the purpose of 

reinforcing the disclosure of significant information. The 

summary shall be titled as such and shall be introduced by the 

following statement: "The following are important matters to 

be considered in acquiring a time-share. They are highlights 

only. The Public Offering Statement should be examined in 

its entirety to obtain detailed information." Appropriate 

modifications shall be made to reflect facts and circumstances 

that may vary. The summary shall consist of, but not be 

limited to, the following, as applicable: 

1. A brief description of the time-share project and the 

time-share program. 

2. A statement regarding all incidental benefits or 

alternative purchases that may be offered by the developer. 

3. A brief description of all amenities located within or 

outside of the time-share project [ and ] available 

to [ purchasers time-share owners by virtue of ownership 

in the time-share project. If such amenities are not common 

elements of the time-share project, identify who owns the 

amenities and whether time-share owners are required to 

pay to access and use ]. 

4. A statement describing any exchange program that may 

be offered to the purchaser. 

5. A statement [ regarding the payment of principal and 

interest due under any deferred purchase agreement for the 

purchase of the time-share, maintenance fees or 

assessments, special assessments, user fees, insurance 

premiums, and real estate taxes. A time-share owner 

cannot reduce the amount of any owner obligation for any 

reason, including the refraining from using the time-share, 

a developer amenity, or any common element describing 

(i) the purchaser's responsibility to make principal and 

interest payment in connection with the purchase of the 

time-share as well as to pay maintenance fees or 

assessments, special assessments, user fees, insurance 

premiums, and real estate taxes and (ii) that a time-share 

owner cannot reduce the amount of any owner obligation 

for any reason ]. 

6. A statement regarding the consequences for failure to 

pay maintenance fees or any special assessment when due. 

The statement may reference the enforcement mechanisms 

available to the developer, and if applicable the time-share 

association, by describing (i) any declaration of an owner 

being an "Owner Not in Good Standing"; (ii) any civil 

action taken for the collection of a debt; (iii) [ , means 

for ]  pursuing foreclosure or obtaining a lien against the 

time-share unit; and (iv) denial of access to the time-share 

project and participation in the time-share program. 

7. A statement indicating whether the developer or 

managing agent has indictments, convictions, judgments, 

decrees, or order of any court or administrative agency for 

matters related to fraud or consumer protection violations 

that may be required to be disclosed by subdivisions A 1 c 

and A 1 d of § 55-374 of the Code of Virginia. 

8. A statement indicating the period of time the developer 

will retain control of the association for time-share estate 

projects.  

9. A statement disclosing any management agreement with 

a managing agent to perform certain duties for the time-

share project. 

10. A statement indicating whether the developer may 

expand the time-share project.  

11. A statement indicating whether the right of the time-

share owner to resell or transfer the time-share is subject to 

restrictions.  

12. A statement indicating the time-share units are 

restricted to lodging only. 

13. A statement indicating that the time-share owner may 

not alter the interior or exterior of the time-share unit.  

14. A statement regarding the obligation of the developer 

or association to obtain certain insurance benefiting the 

time-share owner. 

15. A statement regarding a time-share estate and time-

share owner's obligation to pay real estate taxes.  

16. A statement regarding whether or not the developer 

reserves the right to add or delete any alternative purchase. 

E. The content after the summary of important 

considerations shall include the narrative sections in 
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18VAC48-45-170 through 18VAC48-45-310. Supplementary 

sections may be included as necessary.  

F. Clear and legible copies of the following documents shall 

be [ attached as exhibits included as either supplements or 

exhibits ] to the public offering statement:  

1. Project time-share instrument;  

2. Association articles of incorporation; 

3. Bylaws; 

4. Association annual report or projected budget for time-

share estate programs;  

5. Rules and regulations of the time-share owners' 

association, if available;  

6. Any management contract, if applicable;  

7. Exchange company disclosure document and narrative 

statement required pursuant to subsection B of § 55-374 of 

the Code of Virginia, if applicable; and 

8. Other documents obligating the association or time-

share owner to perform duties or obligations or pay 

charges or fees, if applicable. 

[ G. The developer may include the public offering 

statement required for any alternative purchase pursuant to 

subsection H of § 55-374 of the Code of Virginia as offered 

by the developer in conjunction with the time-share being 

registered. 

H. G. ] Other information and documentation may be 

included as necessary to ensure full and accurate disclosure. 

The board may also require additional information as 

necessary to ensure full and accurate disclosure. 

18VAC48-45-170. Narrative sections; time-share concept. 

The public offering statement shall contain a section 

captioned "The Time-Share Concept." The section shall 

consist of a brief discussion of the form of time-share 

ownership being offered. 

18VAC48-45-180. Narrative sections; creation of time-

share project. 

The public offering statement shall contain a section 

captioned "Creation of the Time-Share Project." The section 

shall briefly explain the manner in which the time-share 

project was or will be created, the locality wherein the time-

share instrument will be or has been recorded, and the 

procedure for its amendment.  

18VAC48-45-190. Narrative sections; description of time-

share project. 

A. The public offering statement shall contain a section 

captioned "Description of the Time-Share Project." The 

section shall provide a general description of the time-share 

project registered with the board and the units and common 

elements promised available to purchasers. This section shall 

also provide the developer's estimated schedule of 

commencement and completion of all promised and 

incomplete units and common elements.  

B. The section shall state whether the developer has reserved 

the right to add and delete from the time-share program a 

time-share project or any incidental benefit or alternative 

purchase.  

C. The section shall refer the purchaser to the reverter deed 

for an explanation if the developer utilized the possibility of a 

reverter. 

D. The section shall indicate all provisions that have been 

made for public utilities in the time-share project, including 

but not limited to water, electricity, telephone, and sewerage 

facilities.  

18VAC48-45-200. Narrative sections; individual time-

shares. 

A. The public offering statement shall contain a section 

captioned "Individual Time-Shares." The section shall 

indicate (i) the form of time-share ownership being offered; 

(ii) the types, duration, and number of units and time-shares 

in the project registered with the board; (iii) identification of 

units that are subject to the time-share program; and (iv) the 

estimated number of units that may become subject to the 

time-share program. 

B. This section shall explain the extent to which financial 

arrangements, if any, have been provided for completion of 

any incomplete but promised time-share unit or common 

element being offered for sale. The section shall contain a 

statement of the developer's obligation to complete any 

promised time-share unit or common element being offered 

for sale comprising the time-share project that have not begun 

or begun but not yet completed. 

C. The section shall explain the extent to which a time-share 

unit may become subject to a tax or other lien arising out of 

claims against other owners of the same unit. 

18VAC48-45-210. Narrative sections; developer. 

The public offering statement shall contain a section 

captioned "The Developer." The section shall disclose the 

following information concerning the developer: 

1. The name and principal address of the developer. 

2. The name, principal occupation, and address of every 

director, partner, limited liability company manager, or 

trustee of the developer. 

3. The name and address of each person owning or 

controlling an interest of at least 20% in the time-share 

project. 

4. The particulars of any indictment, conviction, judgment, 

decree, or order of any court or administrative agency 

against the developer or managing entity for violation of a 

federal, state, local, or foreign country law or regulation in 

connection with activities relating to time-share sales, land 

sales, land investments, security sales, construction or sale 

of homes or improvements, or any similar or related 

activity. 
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5. The nature of each unsatisfied judgment, if any, against 

the developer or the managing entity; the status of each 

pending suit involving the sale or management of real 

estate to which the developer, the managing entity, or any 

general partner, executive officer, director, limited liability 

company manager, or majority stockholder thereof, is a 

defending party; and the status of each pending suit, if any, 

of significance to any time-share project registered with the 

board. 

6. The name and address of the developer's agent for 

service of any notice permitted by this chapter. 

7. The section shall describe the type of legal entity of the 

developer and explain if other entities have any obligation 

to satisfy the financial obligations of the developer. 

8. For a time-share use program, a statement as to whether 

a developer's net worth is more than or less than $250,000. 

If the developer's net worth is less than $250,000, a current 

audited balance sheet shall be provided with the public 

offering statement. If the developer's net worth exceeds 

$250,000, a statement by the developer that its equity in 

the time-share program exceeds $250,000. 

18VAC48-45-220. Narrative sections; terms of offering. 

A. The public offering statement shall contain a section 

captioned "Terms of the Offering." The section shall discuss 

the expenses to be borne by a purchaser in acquiring a time-

share and present information regarding the settlement of 

purchase contracts as provided in subsections B through H of 

this section.  

B. The section shall indicate any initial or special fees due 

from the purchaser at settlement including a description of the 

purpose of such fees. 

C. The section shall set forth a general description of any 

financing offered by or available through the developer to 

purchasers. 

D. The section shall describe (i) services that the developer 

provides or [ expense expenses ] it pays and that it expects 

may become at any subsequent time a time-share expense of 

the owners and (ii) the projected time-share expense liability 

attributable to each of those services or expenses for each 

time-share.  

E. The section shall discuss all penalties or forfeitures to be 

incurred by a purchaser upon default in performance of a 

purchase contract. 

F. The section shall discuss the process for cancellation of a 

purchase contract by a purchaser in accordance with § 55-376 

of the Code of Virginia. The section shall include a statement 

that the purchaser has a nonwaivable right of cancellation and 

refer such purchaser to that portion of the contract in which 

the right of cancellation may be found. 

G. The section shall describe the terms of the deposit escrow 

requirements, including a statement that deposits may be 

removed from escrow at the termination of the cancellation 

period. 

H. The section shall set forth all restrictions in the purchase 

contract that limit the time-share owner's right to bring legal 

action against the developer or the association. The section 

shall set forth the paragraph or section and page number of 

the purchase contract where such provision is located. 

Nothing in this statement shall be deemed to authorize such 

limits where those limits are otherwise prohibited by law. 

18VAC48-45-230. Narrative sections; encumbrances. 

The public offering statement shall contain a section 

captioned "Encumbrances" that shall describe all liens, 

defects, or encumbrances affecting the time-share project and 

in particular the time-share offered to the purchaser. 

18VAC48-45-240. Narrative sections; exchange program. 

If any prospective purchaser is offered the opportunity to 

subscribe to or participate in any exchange program, the 

public offering statement shall contain a section captioned 

"Exchange Program" that shall include the following:  

1. A statement of whether membership or participation in 

the program is voluntary or mandatory; and 

2. A statement that the purchaser's contract with the 

exchange company is a contract separate and distinct from 

the purchaser's contract with the developer and whether 

there is a fee associated with membership or participation 

in the exchange program.  

18VAC48-45-250. Narrative sections; financial matters. 

A. The public offering statement shall contain a section 

captioned "Financial Matters." The section shall discuss the 

expenses incident to the ownership of a time-share.  

B. The section shall distinguish, in general terms, the 

following categories of costs of operation, maintenance, 

repair, and replacement of various portions of the time-share 

as follows: (i) time-share expenses; (ii) time-share estate 

occupancy expenses as defined in § 55-369 of the Code of 

Virginia; and (iii) all other costs that may be borne directly by 

individual time-share owners.  

C. A budget shall show projected common expenses in each 

of the categories in subsection B of this section for the first 

year of the time-share's operation or, if different, the latest 

year for which a budget is available. The projected budget 

shall be attached to the public offering statement as an exhibit 

and the section shall direct the purchaser's attention to such 

exhibit. The section shall describe the manner in which the 

projected budget is established. If the time-share is phased, 

the budget shall project future years until all phases are 

projected to be developed and all common elements that must 

be built have been completed. The budget shall include an 

initial working capital budget showing sources and uses of 

initial working capital and a reserve table showing amounts to 

be collected to fund those reserves. The budget shall show 

regular individual assessments by unit type. The budget shall 

note that the figures are not guaranteed and may vary.  

D. The section shall describe the manner in which (i) time-

share expenses; (ii) time-share estate occupancy expenses as 
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defined in § 55-369 of the Code of Virginia; and (iii) all other 

costs that may be borne directly by individual time-share 

owners are apportioned among and assessed to the time-share 

units. The section shall include the substance of the following 

statement, if applicable: "A time-share owner cannot obtain a 

reduction of the (i) time-share expenses; (ii) time-share estate 

occupancy expenses as defined in § 55-369 of the Code of 

Virginia; and (iii) any other costs that may be borne directly 

by individual time-share owners assessed against the unit by 

refraining from use of any of the common elements."  

E. The section shall describe budget provisions for reserves 

for capital expenditures, if any. If there are no reserves, the 

section shall so state. 

F. The section shall discuss [ any ] (i) time-share expenses; 

(ii) time-share estate occupancy expenses as defined in § 55-

369 of the Code of Virginia; [ and ] (iii) all other costs that 

may be borne directly by individual time-share owners [ , 

actually planned to be specially assessed; and (iv) any right 

the developer or association has to institute special 

assessments ].  

G. The section shall indicate any fee, rental, or other charge 

to be payable by unit owners other than through assessments 

and maintenance fees to any party for use of the common 

elements or for use of recreational or parking facilities in the 

vicinity of the time-share project.  

H. The section shall discuss the effect of failure of a time-

share owner to pay the assessments and maintenance fees 

levied against the time-share unit. Such discussion shall 

indicate provisions for charges or other remedies that may be 

imposed to be applied in the case of unpaid and past due 

assessments and for acceleration of unpaid assessments.  

 [ 18VAC48-45-255. Narrative sections; governmental 

reviews. 

The public offering statement shall contain a section 

captioned "Governmental Reviews." The section shall discuss 

governmental approvals required for the development of the 

time-share project. In addition, the section shall discuss 

approval of the zoning application and site plan and issuance 

of building permits by appropriate governmental authorities. 

The section shall state the current zoning classification for the 

time-share project property. The section shall also include a 

statement regarding zoning, subdivision, or land use 

obligations or proffers that would be imposed on the time-

share owner or the association, but need not disclose zoning, 

subdivision, or land use obligations or proffers that do not 

impose any obligation on the association. ]  

18VAC48-45-260. Narrative sections; restrictions on 

transfer. 

The public offering statement shall include a section 

captioned "Restrictions on Transfer." The section shall 

describe and explain limitations on leasing or other restraints 

on free alienability created by the time-share instruments or 

the rules and regulations of the time-share owners' association 

that affect the time-share owners' right to resell, lease or 

otherwise transfer an interest in the time-share. 

18VAC48-45-270. Narrative sections; time-share owners' 

association. 

A. For time-share estate projects the public offering 

statement shall contain a section captioned "Time-Share 

Owners' Association." The section shall discuss the 

arrangements for the management and operation of the time-

share estate program and for the maintenance, repair, and 

furnishing of units and shall include the information required 

by subdivisions 1 through 15 of this subsection. The section 

shall describe or discuss the following: 

1. The creation of the association. 

2. The payment of costs and expenses of operating the 

time-share estate program and owning and maintaining the 

time-share units. 

3. Employment and termination of employment of the 

managing agent for the time-share estate project. 

4. Termination of leases and contracts for goods and 

services for the time-share estate project that were entered 

into during the developer control period. 

5. Preparation and dissemination of the annual report 

required by § 55-370.1 of the Code of Virginia to the time-

share estate owners. 

6. Adoption of standards and rules of conduct for the use, 

enjoyment, and occupancy of units by the time-share estate 

owners. 

7. Collection of regular assessments, fees or dues, and 

special assessments from time-share estate owners to 

defray all time-share expenses. 

8. Comprehensive general liability insurance for death, 

bodily injury, and property damage arising out of, or in 

connection with, the use and enjoyment of the time-share 

project by time-share estate owners, their guests and other 

users. The cost for such insurance shall be a time-share 

expense. 

9. Methods for providing compensation or alternate use 

periods or monetary compensation to a time-share estate 

owner if his contracted-for unit cannot be made available 

for the period to which the owner is entitled by schedule or 

by confirmed reservation. 

10. Procedures for imposing a monetary penalty or 

suspension of a time-share estate owner's rights and 

privileges in the time-share estate program or time-share 

project for failure to comply with provisions of the time-

share instrument or the rules and regulations of the 

association with respect to the use and enjoyment of the 

units and the time-share project. Under these procedures a 

time-share estate owner must be given reasonable notice 

and reasonable opportunity to be heard and explain the 

charges against him in person or in writing to the board of 
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directors of the association before a decision to impose 

discipline is rendered. 

11. Employment of attorneys, accountants, and other 

professional persons as necessary to assist in the 

management of the time-share estate program and the time-

share project. 

12. Developer control period, during which time period the 

developer, or a managing agent selected by the developer, 

shall manage and control the time-share estate project and 

the common elements and units, including decisions about 

the financial operation of the association. 

13. The managing agent, if any, shall be identified, and the 

section shall indicate any relationship between the 

managing agent and the developer. The duration of any 

management agreement shall be stated.  

14. Except to the extent otherwise disclosed in connection 

with discussion of a management agreement, the 

significant terms of any lease of recreational areas or 

similar contract or agreement affecting the use, 

maintenance or access of all or any part of the time-share 

project shall be stated. The section shall include a brief 

narrative statement of the effect of each such agreement 

upon a purchaser.  

15. Rules and regulations of the time-share estate 

association shall be discussed. The purchaser's attention 

shall be directed to the copy of rules and regulations, if 

any, attached to the public offering statement.  

B. For time-share use projects, if an association is formed 

for management and operation of the time-share use program 

and for the maintenance, repair, and furnishing of time-share 

use units comprising the time-share, the public offering 

statement shall contain a section captioned "Time-Share 

Owners' Association." This section shall contain the 

information required by subdivisions A 1 through 15 of this 

section as applicable to the association for the time-share use 

project. 

18VAC48-45-280. Narrative sections; managing entity. 

The public offering statement shall include a section 

captioned "Managing Entity." This section shall provide the 

name and address of the managing entity for the project. The 

section shall also provide a description of the facilities, if any, 

provided by the developer to the association in a time-share 

estate project for the management of the project.  

18VAC48-45-290. Narrative sections; conversion time-

share projects. 

A. The public offering statement of a conversion time-share 

project shall contain a section captioned "Conversion Time-

Share Projects." The section shall include the following:  

1. A specific statement of the amount of any initial or 

special fee, if any, due from the purchaser of a time-share 

on or before settlement of the purchase contract and the 

basis of such fee occasioned by the fact that the project is a 

conversion time-share project.  

2. Information on the actual expenditures, if available, 

made on all repairs, maintenance, operation, or upkeep of 

the building or buildings within the last three years. This 

information shall be set forth in a tabular manner within 

the proposed budget of the project. If such building or 

buildings have not been occupied for a period of three 

years then the information shall be set forth for the period 

during which such building or buildings were occupied. 

3. A description of any provisions made in the budget for 

reserves for capital expenditures and an explanation of the 

basis for such reserves occasioned by the fact that the 

project is a conversion time-share project, or, if no 

provision is made for such reserves, a statement to that 

effect. 

4. A statement of the present condition of all structural 

components and major utility installations in the building, 

which statement shall include the approximate dates of 

construction, installations, and major repairs as well as the 

expected useful life of each such item, together with the 

estimated cost, in current dollars, of replacing each such 

component.  

B. In lieu of a narrative section pursuant to this section, the 

requirements of this section may be satisfied in the form of an 

exhibit to the public offering statement. 

18VAC48-45-300. Narrative sections; insurance. 

The public offering statement shall contain a section 

captioned "Insurance."  The section shall describe generally 

the insurance coverage provided by the developer or the 

association for the benefit of time-share owners not otherwise 

described in the public offering statement. The section shall 

state, with respect to such insurance, each of the following 

circumstances, to the extent applicable: (i) property damage 

coverage will not insure personal property belonging to unit 

owner; and (ii) liability coverage will not insure against 

liability arising from an accident or injury occurring within a 

unit or as a result of the act or negligence of a time-share 

owner. The section shall include a statement whether the 

time-share owner is obligated to obtain coverage for any or 

all of the coverages described. The section shall include a 

statement indicating that the time-share owner should consult 

with an insurance professional to determine appropriate 

coverage. 

18VAC48-45-310. Narrative sections; alternative 

purchase. 

The public offering statement shall contain a section entitled 

"Alternative Purchases." The section shall state whether or 

not the developer has reserved the right to add to or delete 

from the time-share program any incidental benefit or 

alternative purchase. The section shall state that such 

alternative purchase has been or will be registered with the 

board. [ If the developer chooses to include the public 

offering statement for the alternative purchase, the section 

shall reference the appropriate exhibit wherein the alternative 

purchase public offering statement may be located. ]  
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18VAC48-45-320. Documents from other jurisdictions. 

A. A substituted public offering statement shall only be 

permitted for a time-share program for which some portion of 

the time-share project associated with the program is located 

outside of Virginia.  

B. The substituted public offering statement shall be 

prepared by deleting from the original disclosure document 

the following: (i) references to any governmental agency of 

another jurisdiction to which application has been made or 

will be made for registration or related action; (ii) references 

to the action of such governmental agency relative to the 

time-share project and its time-share program; (iii) statements 

of the legal effect in another jurisdiction of delivery, failure to 

deliver, acknowledgment of receipt or related events 

involving the disclosure document; (iv) the effective date or 

dates in another jurisdiction of the disclosure document; and 

(v) all other information that is untrue, inaccurate, or 

misleading with respect to marketing, offers, or disposition of 

time-shares in Virginia.  

C. The substituted public offering statement shall 

incorporate all information not otherwise included that is 

necessary to effect fully and accurately the disclosures 

required by § 55-374 of the Code of Virginia. The substituted 

disclosure document shall clearly explain any nomenclature 

that is different from the definitions provided in § 55-362 of 

the Code of Virginia.  

D. The substituted public offering statement shall include as 

the first item of the summary of important considerations a 

statement that includes the following information: (i) the 

designation by which the original disclosure document is 

identified in the original jurisdiction; (ii) the governmental 

agency of such other jurisdiction where the original 

disclosure document is or will be filed; and (iii) the 

jurisdiction of such filing. 

E. The provisions of §§ 55-374 and 55-376 of the Code of 

Virginia and 18VAC48-45-150, 18VAC48-45-160, and 

18VAC48-45-170 shall apply to substituted public offering 

statements in the same manner and to the same extent that 

they apply to public offering statements. 

F. In the case of a time-share project located outside of the 

Commonwealth, pursuant to subsection G of § 55-374 of the 

Code of Virginia, disclosure statements required by other 

situs laws governing time-sharing that are equivalent to the 

requirements of this chapter may be accepted as alternative 

disclosure statements. 

Part VI 

Time-Share Project Post-Registration Provisions 

18VAC48-45-330. Minimum post-registration reporting 

requirements for a time-share project. 

A. Subsequent to the issuance of a registration for a time-

share by the board, the developer of a time-share shall do the 

following: 

1. File an annual report in accordance with § 55-394.1 of 

the Code of Virginia and this chapter. 

2. Upon the occurrence of a material change, file an 

amended public offering statement in accordance with the 

provisions of subsection E of § 55-374 and subsection C of 

§ 55-394.1 of the Code of Virginia and this chapter. These 

amendments shall be filed with the board within 20 

business days after the occurrence of the material change. 

3. Upon the occurrence of any material change in the 

information contained in the registration file, the developer 

shall immediately report such material changes to the 

board in accordance with the provisions of subsection B of 

§ 55-391.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

4. Notify the board of a change in the bond or letter of 

credit, as applicable, required by subsection C of § 55-375 

and subsection B of § 55-386 of the Code of Virginia.  

5. File a completed application for registration of an 

unregistered phase or phases upon the expansion of the 

time-share, along with the appropriate fee specified in 

18VAC48-45-70. 

6. Notify the board of transition of control from the 

developer to the time-share estate owners' association 

(time-share estate projects only). 

7. Submit appropriate documentation to the board once the 

registration is eligible for termination. 

8. Submit to the board any other document or information, 

which may include information or documents that have 

been amended or may not have existed previously, that 

affects the accuracy, completeness, or representation of 

any information or document filed with the application for 

registration. 

9. Submit to the board any document or information to 

make the registration file accurate and complete. 

B. Notwithstanding the requirements of subsection A of this 

section, the board at any time may require a developer to 

provide information or documents, or amendments thereof, in 

order to assure full and accurate disclosure to prospective 

purchasers and to ensure compliance with the Virginia Real 

Estate Time-Share Act and this chapter. 

18VAC48-45-340. Amendment of public offering 

statement. 

Any amendment of the public offering statement or 

substituted public offering statement shall comply with this 

chapter.  

18VAC48-45-350. Nonmaterial changes to the public 

offering statement. 

Changes to the public offering statement that are not 

material are not required to be filed with the board, shall not 

be deemed an amendment of the public offering statement for 

the purposes of this chapter, and shall not give rise to a 

renewed right of rescission in any purchase. Nonmaterial 
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changes to the public offering statement include, but may not 

be limited to, the following: 

1. Correction of spelling, grammar, omission, or other 

similar errors not affecting the substance of the public 

offering statement; 

2. Changes in presentation or format; 

3. Substitution of an executed, filed, or recorded copy of a 

document for the otherwise substantially identical 

unexecuted, unfiled, or unrecorded copy of the document 

that was previously submitted; 

4. Inclusion of updated information such as identification 

or description of the current officers and directors of the 

developer; 

5. Disclosure of completion of improvements for 

improvements that were previously proposed or not 

complete; 

6. Changes in real estate tax assessment or rate or 

modifications related to those changes; 

7. Changes in utility charges or rates or modifications 

related to those changes; 

8. Addition or deletion of incidental benefits or alternative 

purchases provided the developer reserved in the time-

share instrument the right to add or delete incidental 

benefits or alternative purchases [ .; ] 

9. Adoption of a new budget that does not result in a 

significant change in fees or assessments or significantly 

impact the rights or obligations of the prospective 

purchasers; 

10. Modifications related to changes in insurance company 

or financial institution, policy, or amount for bonds or 

letters of credit required pursuant to §§ 55-375 and 55-386 

of the Code of Virginia;  

11. Changes in personnel of the managing agent; and 

12. Any change that is the result of orderly development of 

the time-share in accordance with the time-share 

instruments as described in the public offering statement. 

18VAC48-45-360. Filing of amended public offering 

statement. 

A. The developer shall promptly file with the board for 

review a copy of the amended public offering statement 

together with a copy of a summary of proposed amendments 

that shall be distributed to purchasers during the board review 

period. The summary of proposed amendments shall 

enumerate the amendments to the public offering statement 

submitted for board review and include a statement that the 

amendments to the public offering statement have been filed 

with the board but have not yet been accepted. The form of 

the submission is at the discretion of the developer provided 

that (i) all amendments are clearly represented in the 

documentation presented; (ii) the additions and deletions of 

text in the public offering statement and exhibits shall be 

identified by underlining and striking through text to be 

added and deleted; and (iii) documents being added to or 

deleted from the contents of the public offering statement 

shall be clearly and accurately reflected in the table of 

contents utilizing underlines and strikethroughs for additions 

and deletions. In addition to the copies showing edits to the 

text, a clean copy of all new and amended documents shall be 

provided.  

B. The amended public offering statement submitted to the 

board for review shall include the effective date of the 

amendments. 

C. Within 30 days of receipt of the amended public offering 

statement, the board shall review the amended public offering 

statement and supporting materials to determine whether the 

amendment complies with this chapter. If the board's review 

determines that the amended public offering statement 

complies with this chapter, it shall notify the developer in 

writing and confirm the new effective date of the public 

offering statement.  

D. If the board's review determines that the amended public 

offering statement does not comply with this chapter, it shall 

immediately notify the developer in writing that the review 

has determined the amended public offering statement is not 

in compliance and shall specify the particulars of such 

noncompliance. The developer shall then have 20 days in 

which to correct the particulars of noncompliance identified 

by the board. The developer may, prior to the completion of 

the 20-day correction period, request an extension in writing 

of the 20-day correction period. Upon expiration of the 20-

day correction period, if requested corrections have not been 

made or a request for extension properly received, the board 

may issue a temporary cease and desist order in accordance 

with subdivision D 2 of § 55-396 of the Code of Virginia to 

require the cessation of sales until such time as affirmative 

action as directed by the board is taken. Use of the 

noncompliant public offering statement may result in further 

action by the board pursuant to §§ 55-396, 55-399.1, and 55-

400 of the Code of Virginia.  

E. Notwithstanding an extension of the 30-day period for 

review agreed to in writing by the board and developer, if the 

board does not perform the required review of the public 

offering statement in accordance with subsection C of this 

section, the amendment shall be deemed to comply with 

18VAC48-45-150 through 18VAC48-45-310, and the new 

effective date shall be the effective date of the amendment 

provided pursuant to subsection B of this section.  

F. In each case in which an amended document is filed 

pursuant to this section and the manner of its amendment is 

not apparent on the face of the document, the developer shall 

provide an indication of the manner and extent of 

amendment.  

18VAC48-45-370. Current public offering statement. 

A. Upon issuance of an effective date by the board, all 

purchasers who received a public offering statement and 

summary of proposed amendments during the board review 
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period pursuant to subsection A of 18VAC48-45-360 shall be 

provided with the public offering statement as accepted by the 

board. A public offering statement remains current until such 

time as the occurrence of a material change requires 

amendment of the public offering statement pursuant to this 

chapter and a new effective date is issued by the board. 

B. Upon issuance of an effective date by the board, a public 

offering statement remains current until such time as a new 

effective date is established pursuant to this chapter.  

C. Notwithstanding the board's authority to issue a cease and 

desist order pursuant to § 55-396 of the Code of Virginia, the 

filing of an amended public offering statement shall not 

require the developer to cease sales provided that the 

developer provides to purchasers the summary of proposed 

amendments pursuant to subsection A of 18VAC48-45-360 

pending the issuance of a new effective date by the board. 

18VAC48-45-380. Public offering statement not current; 

notification of purchasers. 

A. A purchaser who has been delivered a public offering 

statement that is not current due to a material change and was 

not provided with the summary of proposed amendments 

containing the proposed changes to the amended public 

offering statement pursuant to subsection A of 18VAC48-45-

360 pending the issuance of a new effective date by the board 

shall be notified of such fact by the developer. 

B. A purchaser who has been delivered a public offering 

statement and summary of proposed amendments pursuant to 

subsection A of 18VAC48-45-360, but the amended public 

offering statement is determined to be noncompliant in 

accordance with subsection D of 18VAC48-45-360 [ , ] shall 

be notified of such fact by the developer. 

1. The notification shall indicate that any contract for 

disposition of a time-share may be canceled by the 

purchaser pursuant to subsection C of § 55-376 of the Code 

of Virginia.  

2. The developer shall file a copy of the notification with 

the board and provide proof that such notification has been 

delivered to all purchasers under contract.  

18VAC48-45-390. Filing of phase amendment application. 

A. A phase amendment application for a time-share project 

shall be filed when adding a phase or phases to the time-share 

project. Such phase amendment application shall be 

accompanied by the fee provided for in 18VAC48-45-70 and 

shall be subject to all of the provisions of 18VAC48-45-50 

and 18VAC48-45-110 [ through, 18VAC48-45-120, and ] 

18VAC48-45-130. Documents on file with the board that 

have not changed in connection with the additional phase or 

phases need not be refiled, provided that the phase 

amendment application indicates that such documents are 

unchanged. 

B. The application shall include a bond or letter of credit 

required pursuant to subsection B of § 55-386 of the Code of 

Virginia if any of the time-share units and common elements 

contained in the submitted additional phase or phases have 

not been completed. 

C. The board shall review the phase amendment application 

and supporting materials to determine whether the 

amendment complies with this chapter. If the board's review 

determines the phase amendment application complies with 

this chapter, it shall issue an amended order of registration for 

the time-share project and shall provide that previous orders 

and designations of the form, content, and effective date of 

the public offering statement are superseded. If the board's 

review determines that the phase amendment application is 

not complete, the board shall correspond with the developer 

to specify the particulars that must be completed to obtain 

compliance with this chapter.  

18VAC48-45-400. Annual report for a time-share project 

registration required by developer. 

A. A developer shall file an annual report for a time-share 

project registration on a form provided by the board to update 

the material contained in the registration file by June 30 of 

each year the registration is effective and shall be 

accompanied by the fee specified in 18VAC48-45-70. Prior to 

filing the annual report required by § 55-394.1 of the Code of 

Virginia, the developer shall review the public offering 

statement then being delivered to purchasers. If such public 

offering statement is current, the developer shall so certify in 

the annual report. If such public offering statement is not 

current, the developer shall amend the public offering 

statement and the annual report shall, in that event, include a 

filing in accordance with 18VAC48-45-360. 

B. The annual report shall contain, but may not be limited 

to, the following: 

1. Current contact information for the developer; 

2. Information concerning the current status of the time-

share project; 

3. Information concerning the current status of the time-

share program, including (i) the type of time-shares being 

offered and sold; (ii) the total number of time-share 

interests available in the program; (iii) the total number of 

time-share interests sold; and (iv) information regarding 

any incomplete units and common elements; 

4. If the project is a time-share estate project and the 

developer control period has not yet expired, a copy of the 

annual report that was prepared and distributed by the 

developer to the time-share owners required by § 55-370.1 

of the Code of Virginia must accompany the annual report; 

5. Date of the public offering statement currently being 

delivered to purchasers; and 

6. Current evidence from the surety or financial institution 

of bonds or letters of credit, or submittal of replacement 

bonds or letters of credit, required pursuant to subsection C 

of § 55-375 and subsection B of § 55-386 of the Code of 

Virginia. Such verification shall provide the following: 

a. Principal of bond or letter of credit; 
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b. Beneficiary of bond or letter of credit; 

c. Name of the surety or financial institution that issued 

the bond or letter of credit; 

d. Bond or letter of credit number as assigned by the 

issuer; 

e. The dollar amount; and 

f. The expiration date or, if self-renewing, the date by 

which the bond or letter of credit shall be renewed. 

18VAC48-45-410. Board review of annual report for a 

time-share project registration. 

A. During review of the annual report, the board may make 

inquiries or request additional documentation to amplify or 

clarify the information provided. 

B. If the board does not accept the annual report and the 

annual report filing is not completed within 60 days of a 

request by the board for additional information, the board 

may take further action pursuant to §§ 55-396, 55-399.1, and 

55-400 of the Code of Virginia for failing to file an annual 

report as required by § 55-394.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. If the board does not perform the required review of the 

annual report within 30 days of receipt by the board, the 

annual report shall be deemed to comply with § 55-394.1 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC48-45-420. Return of bond or letter of credit to 

ensure completion of promised units and common 

elements to developer. 

A bond or letter of credit on file with the board pursuant to 

subsection B of § 55-386 of the Code of Virginia may be 

returned to the developer upon written request. Such request 

shall include a statement from the developer that indicates the 

units and common elements for which the bond or letter of 

credit was submitted have been completed. If the submitted 

statement is not sufficient to confirm completion, the board 

may request additional documentation. 

18VAC48-45-430. Return of bond or letter of credit upon 

termination of time-share project registration. 

Upon issuance of an order of termination of the time-share 

project registration pursuant to 18VAC48-45-450, the bond or 

letter of credit on file with the board for the purpose of 

protecting all deposits escrowed pursuant to subsection C of § 

55-375 will be returned to the developer. 

18VAC48-45-440. Maintenance of bond or letter of credit. 

A. The developer shall report the extension, cancellation, 

amendment, expiration, termination, or any other change of 

any bond or letter of credit submitted in accordance with 

subsection C of § 55-375 and subsection B of § 55-386 of the 

Code of Virginia within five days of the change. 

B. The board at any time may request verification from the 

developer of the status of a bond or letter of credit on file with 

the board. Such verification shall comply with the provisions 

of subdivision B 6 of 18VAC48-45-400. 

C. Failure to report a change in the bond or letter of credit in 

accordance with this section shall result in further action by 

the board pursuant to the Virginia Real Estate Time-Share 

Act. 

18VAC48-45-450. Termination of time-share project 

registration. 

A. The time-share project registration shall be terminated 

upon receipt of documentation of one of the following: 

1. In accordance with subsection A of § 55-394.2 of the 

Code of Virginia, an annual report for a time-share estate 

program filed pursuant to § 55-394.1 of the Code of 

Virginia indicates that the developer has transferred title to 

the time-share owners' association and that no further 

development rights exist. 

2. In accordance with subsection B of § 55-394.2 of the 

Code of Virginia, written notification is received from the 

developer attesting that no further development of the 

project is anticipated and that the developer has ceased 

sales of time-shares at the project. 

B. Upon receipt and review of documentation pursuant to 

subsection A of this section, the board shall issue an order of 

termination for the time-share registration. The board may 

request additional information as necessary during the review 

of the submitted documentation to ensure that the time-share 

registration is eligible for termination.  

18VAC48-45-460. Administrative termination of time-

share project registration. 

A. In accordance with subsection C of § 55-394.2 of the 

Code of Virginia, the board may administratively terminate 

the registration of a time-share project. Prior to the 

administrative termination of the registration, the board shall 

send written notice of its intent to terminate the registration to 

all known parties associated with the time-share project, 

including, but not limited to, the registered agent, developer's 

attorney, and principals of the developer. Such written notice 

shall be given to the parties by mail or otherwise if 

acknowledged by them in writing. 

B. The board shall issue an order of termination for the time-

share registration if (i) a response is not received within 30 

days after sending the written notice, or (ii) the response 

received does not indicate termination of the registration is 

inappropriate in accordance with the Virginia Real Estate 

Time-Share Act and this chapter. 

C. Nothing contained in this section shall prevent the board 

from taking further action as allowed by law including 

issuance of a temporary cease and desist order, issuance of a 

cease and desist order, revocation of registration, and 

bringing action in the appropriate circuit court to enjoin the 

acts or practices and to enforce compliance. 

18VAC48-45-470. Reporting of other changes to the time-

share project. 

Any other change made or known by the developer that may 

affect the accuracy or completeness of the time-share 
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registration file shall be reported promptly to the board. Such 

change may include but is not limited to the name of the 

developer, name of the time-share project, or any other 

changes in information submitted in accordance with § 55-

391.1 of the Code of Virginia. The board may request 

additional information as necessary to ensure compliance 

with the Virginia Real Estate Time-Share Act and this 

chapter. 

Part VII 

Alternative Purchase Registration 

18VAC48-45-480. Registration of alternative purchase 

required. 

As required by § [ 55-362 55-394.5 ] of the Code of 

Virginia, a time-share developer shall register [ as ] an 

alternative purchase [ anything valued in excess of $100 that 

is offered to a potential purchaser during the developer’s sales 

presentation and purchased by such potential purchaser for 

more than $100, even though the purchaser did not purchase a 

time-share. An alternative purchase is not a time-share as 

defined by § 55-362 of the Code of Virginia ]. 

18VAC48-45-490. [ Minimum requirements Application ] 

for registration of an alternative purchase. 

[ An application for registration of an alternative purchase 

shall include the following: 

1. An application submitted in accordance with 18VAC48-

45-50. 

2. Current contact information for the developer. 

3. The name of the time-share project or projects affiliated 

with the registered alternative purchase. 

4. Public offering statement, or public offering statements, 

if applicable, submitted in accordance with 18VAC48-45-

500. This may be accomplished through a single public 

offering statement that includes all types of alternative 

purchases offered by the developer, or a separate public 

offering statement for each type of alternative purchase 

offered by the developer. 

5. The escrow bond or letter of credit submitted in 

compliance with subsection C of § 55-375 of the Code of 

Virginia, if applicable. 

Application for registration of alternative purchase shall be 

filed with the board on an application form furnished by the 

board and shall contain all of the documents and information 

required by § 55-394.5 Code of Virginia. ]  

18VAC48-45-500. [ Public offering statement for an 

alternative purchase. (Reserved.) ] 

[ The developer shall file with the board a public offering 

statement that will be distributed to each prospective 

purchaser about the alternative purchase. The public offering 

statement shall fully and accurately disclose the material 

characteristics of such alternative purchase as required by 

subsection H of § 55-374 of the Code of Virginia. The 

material characteristics of such alternative purchase may vary 

based on time of year and availability of offerings and may 

include, but are not limited to, vacation packages, meals, 

ancillary benefits or options, excursions, and retail products. 

The public offering statement for an alternative purchase 

need not contain any information about the time-share 

project, time-share program, or the time-shares offered by the 

developer initially offered to such purchaser by the developer. 

The public offering statement for an alternative purchase is 

not required to have exhibits. ] 

18VAC48-45-510. Review of application for registration 

of an alternative purchase. 

At such time as the board affirmatively determines that the 

requirements of this chapter have been met, the board shall 

register the alternative purchase [ and shall designate the 

form, content, and effective date of the public offering 

statement to be used ]. The registration period of the 

alternative purchase shall expire the last day of the month one 

year from the date of issuance. 

18VAC48-45-520. Minimum alternative purchase post-

registration reporting requirements. 

A. Subsequent to the issuance of a registration for an 

alternative purchase by the board, the developer offering the 

alternative purchase shall do the following: 

1. File the annual report required pursuant to 18VAC48-

45-540. 

[ 2. Upon the occurrence of a material change to the public 

offering statement, the developer of a registered alternative 

purchase shall file an amended public offering statement. 

These amendments shall be filed with the board within 20 

business days after the occurrence of the material change. 

3. 2. ] Upon the occurrence of any material change in the 

information contained in the registration file, the developer 

of a registered alternative purchase shall [ immediately 

report such material changes to the board file the material 

change with the board within 30 days of the effective date 

of the material change. 

4. 3. ] Submit appropriate documentation to the board once 

the registration is eligible for termination. 

[ 5. 4. ] Submit to the board any other document or 

information, which may include information or documents 

that have been amended or may not have existed 

previously, that affects the accuracy, completeness, or 

representation of any information or document filed with 

the application for registration. 

[ 6. 5. ] Submit to the board any document or information 

to make the registration file accurate and complete and to 

ensure compliance with the Virginia Real Estate Time-

Share Act and this chapter. 

[ 7. Submit to the board the escrow bond or letter of credit 

for any deposits for the alternative purchase that are held in 

escrow pursuant to § 55-375 of the Code of Virginia. If the 

bond or letter of credit for protecting all alternative 
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purchase deposits escrowed is the same as the bond or 

letter of credit for the time-share project registration, the 

applicant shall so state. ]  

B. Notwithstanding the requirements of subsection A of this 

section, the board at any time may require the developer of a 

registered alternative purchase to provide information or 

documents, or amendments thereof, in order to assure full and 

accurate disclosure to prospective purchasers and to ensure 

compliance with the Virginia Real Estate Time-Share Act and 

this chapter. 

18VAC48-45-530. [ Filing of amended public offering 

statement for alternative purchase. (Reserved.) ] 

[ A. The developer shall promptly file with the board for 

review a copy of the amended public offering statement. The 

form of the submission is at the discretion of the developer, 

provided that (i) all amendments are clearly represented in the 

documentation presented; (ii) the additions and deletions of 

text in the public offering statement and exhibits shall be 

identified by underlining and striking through text to be 

added and deleted; and (iii) documents being added to or 

deleted from the contents of the public offering statement 

shall be clearly and accurately reflected in the table of 

contents utilizing underlines and strike-throughs for additions 

and deletions. In addition to the copies showing edits to the 

text, a clean copy of all new and amended documents shall be 

provided.  

B. The amended public offering statement submitted to the 

board for review shall include the effective date of the 

amendments. 

C. Within 30 days of receipt, the board shall review the 

amended public offering statement and supporting materials 

to determine whether the amendment complies with this 

chapter. If the board's review determines that the amended 

public offering statement complies with this chapter, it shall 

notify the developer in writing and confirm the new effective 

date of the public offering statement.  

D. If the board's review determines that the amended public 

offering statement does not comply with this chapter, the 

board shall immediately notify the developer in writing that 

the review has determined the amended public offering 

statement is not in compliance and shall specify the 

particulars of such noncompliance. The developer shall then 

have 20 days in which to correct the particulars of 

noncompliance identified by the board. The developer may, 

prior to the completion of the 20-day correction period, 

request an extension in writing of the 20-day correction 

period. Upon expiration of the 20-day correction period, if 

requested corrections have not been made or a request for 

extension properly received, the board may issue a temporary 

cease and desist order in accordance with subsection B of § 

55-396 of the Code of Virginia to require the cessation of 

sales until such time as affirmative action as directed by the 

board is taken. Use of the noncompliant public offering 

statement may result in further action by the board pursuant 

to §§ 55-396, 55-399.1, and 55-400 of the Code of Virginia.  

E. Notwithstanding an extension of the 30-day period for 

review agreed to in writing by the board and developer, if the 

board does not perform the required review of the public 

offering statement in accordance with subsection C of this 

section, the amendment shall be deemed to comply with 

18VAC48-45-490, and the new effective date shall be the 

effective date of the amendment provided pursuant to 

subsection B of this section.  

F. In each case in which an amended document is filed 

pursuant to this section and the manner of its amendment is 

not apparent on the face of the document, the developer shall 

provide an indication of the manner and extent of 

amendment. ] 

18VAC48-45-540. Annual report required for alternative 

purchase registration. 

A. Prior to the expiration of the registration, the developer 

shall file an annual report in a form approved by the board for 

the registered alternative purchase affiliated with such time-

share project registration. Such alternative purchase annual 

report shall be accompanied by the fee specified in 

18VAC48-45-70.  

B. The annual report shall contain, but may not be limited 

to, the following: 

1. Current contact information for the developer. 

[ 2. The name of the time-share project or projects 

affiliated with the registered alternative purchase. 

3. 2. ] Information concerning the current status of the 

alternative purchase. 

[ 4. Current evidence from the surety or financial 

institution of any bonds or letters of credit, or submittal of 

replacement bonds or letters of credit, required pursuant to 

subsection C of § 55-375 of the Code of Virginia. Such 

verification shall provide the following: 

a. Principal of bond or letter of credit; 

b. Beneficiary of bond or letter of credit; 

c. Name of the surety or financial institution that issued 

the bond or letter of credit; 

d. Bond or letter of credit number as assigned by the 

issuer; 

e. The dollar amount; and 

f. The expiration date or, if self-renewing, the date by 

which the bond or letter of credit shall be renewed. 

5. The date of the public offering statement currently being 

delivered to purchasers.  

C. Once the annual report has been accepted by the board, 

the registration shall be extended for an additional one-year 

period from the date of the expiration of the registration. If 

the developer fails to complete the annual report filing within 

one year after the date of expiration, the registration shall not 
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be extended and the developer must apply as a new 

applicant. ]  

18VAC48-45-550. [ Board review of annual report for an 

alternative purchase registration. (Reserved.) ] 

[ A. During review of the annual report, the board may make 

inquiries or request additional documentation to amplify or 

clarify the information provided. 

B. If the board does not accept the annual report and the 

annual report filing is not completed within 60 days of a 

request by the board for additional information, the board 

may take further action pursuant to §§ 55-396 and 55-399.1 

of the Code of Virginia. 

C. If the board does not perform the required review of the 

annual report within 30 days of receipt by the board, the 

annual report shall be accepted and the alternative purchase 

registration shall be continued to run concurrent with the 

time-share project registration with which it is affiliated. 

D. Once the annual report has been accepted by the board, 

the registration shall be extended for an additional one-year 

period from the date of expiration of the registration. If the 

developer fails to complete the annual report filing within one 

year after the date of expiration, the registration shall not be 

extended and the developer must apply as a new applicant. ] 

18VAC48-45-560. Termination of registration for an 

alternative purchase. 

A. The alternative purchase registration shall be terminated 

upon receipt of written notification from the developer 

attesting that the developer has ceased sales and requests 

termination of the alternative purchase. Should the developer 

later choose to offer alternative purchases for which the 

registration has been terminated in accordance with this 

subsection, prior to offering an alternative purchase, the 

developer must submit a new application for registration of 

the alternative purchase, meet all requirements in effect at the 

time of application, and obtain an alternative purchase 

registration from the board. 

B. Upon receipt and review of the notification pursuant to 

subsection A of this section, the board shall terminate the 

alternative purchase registration. The board may request 

additional information as necessary during the review of the 

submitted notification to ensure that the alternative purchase 

registration is eligible for termination.  

[ C. If all affiliated time-share project registrations are 

terminated pursuant to 18VAC48-45-450 or 18VAC48-45-

460, such terminations shall result in the automatic 

termination of the affiliated alternative purchase registration. 

D. C. ] An alternative purchase registration shall be 

automatically terminated for failure to file an acceptable 

annual report within one year after the expiration of the 

registration. 

18VAC48-45-570. Reporting of other changes to the 

alternative purchase. 

[ Any other In accordance with subsection B of § 55.394.5 

of the Code of Virginia, any material ] change made or 

known by the developer that may affect the accuracy or 

completeness of the alternative purchase registration file shall 

be [ promptly reported to filed with ] the board [ within 30 

days of the effective date of the change ]. The board may 

request additional information as necessary to ensure 

compliance with the Virginia Real Estate Time-Share Act and 

this chapter. 

Part VIII 

Exchange Program Registration 

18VAC48-45-580. Registration of exchange program 

required. 

As required by § 55-374.2 of the Code of Virginia, an 

exchange company that offers an exchange program in the 

Commonwealth shall register the exchange program with the 

board. 

18VAC48-45-590. Minimum requirements for registration 

of an exchange program. 

An application for registration of an exchange program shall 

include the following: 

1. An application submitted in accordance with 18VAC48-

45-50; 

2. Current contact information for the exchange company; 

3. A disclosure document that complies with § 55-374.2 of 

the Code of Virginia; and 

4. A report independently audited by a certified public 

accountant or accounting firm in accordance with the 

standards of the Accounting Standards Board of the 

American Institute of Certified Public Accountants. The 

report shall provide the following for the preceding 

calendar year: 

a. The number of owners enrolled in the exchange 

program. Such numbers shall disclose the relationship 

between the exchange company and owners as being 

either fee paying or gratuitous in nature; 

b. The number of time-share properties, accommodations 

or facilities eligible to participate in the exchange 

program; 

c. The percentage of confirmed exchanges, which shall 

be the number of exchanges confirmed by the exchange 

company divided by the number of exchanges properly 

applied for, together with a complete and accurate 

statement of the criteria used to determine whether an 

exchange request was properly applied for; 

d. The number of time-shares for which the exchange 

company has an outstanding obligation to provide an 

exchange to an owner who relinquished a time-share 

during the year in exchange for a time-share in any future 

year; and 
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e. The number of exchanges confirmed by the exchange 

company during the year. 

18VAC48-45-600. Minimum exchange program post-

registration reporting requirements. 

A. Subsequent to the issuance of a registration for an 

exchange program by the board, the exchange company shall: 

1. File an annual report in accordance with subsection E of 

§ 55-374.2 of the Code of Virginia and this chapter. 

2. Upon the occurrence of a material change to the 

disclosure document, the exchange company shall file an 

amended disclosure document in accordance with the 

provisions of § 55-374.2 of the Code of Virginia and this 

chapter. These amendments shall be filed with the board 

within 20 business days after the occurrence of the material 

change. 

3. Upon the occurrence of any material change in the 

information contained in the registration file, the exchange 

company shall immediately report such material changes to 

the board. 

4. Submit appropriate documentation to the board once the 

registration is eligible for termination. 

5. Submit to the board any other document or information, 

which may include information or documents that have 

been amended or may not have existed previously, that 

affects the accuracy, completeness, or representation of 

any information or document filed with the application for 

registration. 

6. Submit to the board any document or information to 

make the registration file accurate and complete to ensure 

compliance with the Virginia Real Estate Time-Share Act 

and this chapter. 

B. Notwithstanding the requirements of subsection A of this 

section, the board at any time may require an exchange 

company to provide information or documents, or 

amendments thereof, in order to assure full and accurate 

disclosure to prospective purchasers and to ensure compliance 

with the Virginia Real Estate Time-Share Act and this 

chapter. 

18VAC48-45-610. Annual report required for an 

exchange program registration. 

A. An exchange company shall file an annual report to 

update the material contained in the exchange program 

registration file by July 1 of each year the registration is 

effective and shall be accompanied by the fee specified in 

18VAC48-45-70. 

B. The annual report shall contain, but may not be limited 

to, the following: 

1. Current contact information for the exchange company; 

2. Information concerning the current status of the 

exchange program; 

3. A report that contains the information in subdivision 4 

of 18VAC48-45-590 and submitted in compliance with 

subdivision A 17 of § 55-374.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC48-45-620. Board review of annual report for 

exchange program registration. 

A. During review of the annual report, the board may make 

inquiries or request additional documentation to amplify or 

clarify the information provided. 

B. If the board does not accept the annual report and the 

annual report filing is not completed within 60 days of a 

request by the board for additional information, the board 

may take further action pursuant to §§ 55-396, 55-399.1, and 

55-400 of the Code of Virginia for failing to file an annual 

report as required by subsection E of § 55-374.2 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

C. If the board does not perform the required review of the 

annual report within 30 days of receipt by the board, the 

annual report shall be deemed to comply with subsection E of 

§ 55-374.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC48-45-630. Termination of an exchange program 

registration. 

A. The exchange program registration shall be terminated 

upon receipt of written notification from the exchange 

company indicating that the exchange program is no longer 

being offered in the Commonwealth. Should the exchange 

company later choose to offer the exchange program for 

which the registration has been terminated in accordance with 

this subsection, prior to offering the exchange program, the 

exchange company must submit a new application for 

registration of the exchange program, meet all requirements 

in effect at the time of application, and be issued an order of 

registration for the exchange program by the board. 

B. Upon receipt and review of the notification pursuant to 

subsection A of this section, the board shall issue an order of 

termination for the exchange program registration. The board 

may request additional information as necessary during the 

review of the submitted notification to ensure that the 

exchange program registration is eligible for termination.  

18VAC48-45-640. Reporting of other changes to an 

exchange program. 

Any other change made or known by the exchange company 

that may affect the accuracy or completeness of the exchange 

program registration file shall be promptly reported to the 

board. The board may request additional information as 

necessary to ensure compliance with the Virginia Real Estate 

Time-Share Act and this chapter. 

Part IX 

Time-Share Reseller Registration 

18VAC48-45-650. Registration of time-share reseller 

required. 

In accordance with § 55-394.3 of the Code of Virginia, a 

reseller shall not offer or provide any resale service without 
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holding a current time-share reseller registration issued by the 

board.  

18VAC48-45-660. Exemptions from time-share reseller 

registration. 

Time-share reseller registration shall not apply to the 

following: 

1. A person that solely or with affiliates engages in a resale 

service with respect to an aggregate of no more than 12 

resale time-shares per calendar year;  

2. A person that owns or acquires more than 12 resale 

time-shares and subsequently transfers all such resale time-

shares to a single purchaser in a single transaction;  

3. The owner, owner's agents, and employees of a regularly 

published newspaper, magazine, or other periodical 

publication of general circulation; broadcast station; 

website; or billboard, to the extent their activities are 

limited to solicitation and publication of advertisements 

and the transmission of responses to the persons who place 

the advertisements. Any person that would otherwise be 

exempt from this chapter pursuant to this section shall not 

be exempt if the person (i) solicits the placement of the 

advertisement by representing that the advertisement will 

generate cash, a certain price, or a similar type of 

representation for the time-share owner's resale time-share, 

(ii) makes a recommendation as to the sales price for which 

to advertise the resale time-share, (iii) makes 

representations to the person placing the advertisement 

regarding the success rate for selling resale time-shares 

advertised with such person, or (iv) makes 

misrepresentations as described in this chapter;  

4. Sale by a developer or a party acting on its behalf of a 

resale time-share under a current registration of the time-

share program in which the resale time-share is included;  

5. Sale by an association, managing entity, or a party 

acting on its behalf of a resale time-share owned by the 

association provided the sale is in compliance with 

subsection C of § 55-380.1; or  

6. Attorneys, title agents, title companies, or escrow 

companies providing closing services in connection with 

the transfer of a resale time-share.  

18VAC48-45-670. Requirements for registration as a 

time-share reseller. 

A. Individuals or firms that provide any time-share resale 

services shall submit an application on a form prescribed by 

the board and shall meet the requirements of this section, 

including: 

1. The information contained in § 55-394.3 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

2. The application fee specified in 18VAC48-45-70. 

3. All contact information applicable to the time-share 

reseller and the lead dealer. 

B. Any individual or firm offering resale services as defined 

in § 55-362 of the Code of Virginia shall be registered with 

the board. All names under which the time-share reseller 

conducts business shall be disclosed on the application. The 

name under which the firm conducts business and holds itself 

out to the public (i.e., the trade or fictitious name) shall also 

be disclosed on the application. Firms shall be organized as 

business entities under the laws of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia or otherwise authorized to transact business in 

Virginia. Firms shall register any trade or fictitious names 

with the State Corporation Commission or the clerk of court 

in the jurisdiction where the business is to be conducted in 

accordance with §§ 59.1-69 through 59.1-76 of the Code of 

Virginia before submitting an application to the board. 

C. The applicant for a time-share reseller registration shall 

disclose the firm's mailing address and the firm's physical 

address. A post office box is only acceptable as a mailing 

address when a physical address is also provided. 

D. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant for a time-share reseller registration shall 

disclose the following information about the firm, the lead 

dealer, and any of the principals of the firm, if applicable: 

1. All felony convictions. 

2. All misdemeanor convictions in any jurisdiction that 

occurred within three years before the date of application. 

3. Any plea of nolo contendere or finding of guilt 

regardless of adjudication or deferred adjudication shall be 

considered a conviction for the purposes of this section. 

The record of conviction certified or authenticated in such 

form as to be admissible in evidence under the laws of the 

jurisdiction where convicted shall be admissible as prima 

facie evidence of such guilt. 

E. The applicant shall obtain and maintain a bond or letter of 

credit pursuant to § 55-375 of the Code of Virginia, for the 

purpose of protecting deposits and refundable moneys 

received by a time-share reseller from clients in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia in connection with the purchase, 

acquisition, or sale of a time-share. 

F. The applicant for time-share reseller registration shall be 

in compliance with the standards of conduct set forth in Part 

X (18VAC48-45-720 et seq.) of this chapter at the time of 

application, while the application is under review by the 

board, and at all times when the registration is in effect. 

G. The applicant for time-share reseller registration, the lead 

dealer, and all principals of the firm shall be in good standing 

in Virginia and in every jurisdiction and with every board or 

administrative body where licensed, certified, or registered, 

and the board, in its discretion, may deny registration to [ , ] 

any applicant who has been subject to, or whose lead dealer 

or principals have been subject to, any form of adverse 

disciplinary action, including but not limited to, reprimand, 

revocation, suspension or denial, imposition of a monetary 

penalty, required to complete remedial education, or any 
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other corrective action, in any jurisdiction or by any board or 

administrative body or surrendered a license, certificate, or 

registration in connection with any disciplinary action in any 

jurisdiction prior to obtaining registration in Virginia. 

H. The applicant for time-share reseller registration shall 

provide all relevant information about the firm, the lead 

dealer, and of the principals of the firm for the seven years 

prior to application on outstanding judgments, past-due tax 

assessments, defaults on bonds, or pending or past 

bankruptcies and specifically shall provide all relevant 

financial information related to providing resale services as 

defined in § 55-362 of the Code of Virginia.  

I. The application for time-share reseller registration shall 

include the exhibits required pursuant to 18VAC48-45-680. 

18VAC48-45-680. Exhibits required for registration as a 

time-share reseller. 

A. The following documents shall be included as exhibits to 

the application for registration. All exhibits shall be labeled as 

indicated and submitted in a format acceptable to the board. 

1. Exhibit A: A copy of the certificate of incorporation or 

certificate of authority to transact business in Virginia 

issued by the Virginia State Corporation Commission, or 

any other entity formation documents, together with any 

trade or fictitious name certificate. 

2. Exhibit B: A copy of the resale purchase contract. 

3. Exhibit C: A copy of the resale transfer contract. 

4. Exhibit D: A copy of disclosures required by § 55-380.1 

of the Code of Virginia. 

5. Exhibit E: A narrative description of the marketing or 

advertising plan. 

6. Exhibit F: A bond or letter of credit in accordance with 

subsection E of 18VAC48-45-670. 

B. The board has the sole discretion to require additional 

information or amendment of existing information as the 

board finds necessary to ensure full and accurate disclosure 

and compliance with the provisions of § 55-380.1 of the Code 

of Virginia and to ensure compliance with the provisions of 

§ 55-394.3 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC48-45-690. Renewal and reinstatement of a time-

share reseller registration. 

A. A time-share reseller registration issued under this 

chapter shall expire one year from the last day of the month in 

which it was issued. The fee specified in 18VAC48-45-70 

shall be required for renewal.  

B. Prior to the expiration date shown on the registration, a 

registration shall be renewed upon payment of the fees 

specified in 18VAC48-45-70 and submittal of proof of a 

current bond or letter of credit required in accordance with 

subsection E of 18VAC48-45-670. 

C. The board will send a renewal notice to the regulant at 

the last known address of record. Failure to receive this notice 

shall not relieve the regulant of the obligation to renew. If the 

regulant fails to receive the renewal notice, a copy of the 

registration may be submitted with the required fees as an 

application for renewal. By submitting a renewal fee, the 

regulant is certifying continued compliance with this chapter, 

as applicable, and certifying that all documents required for 

registration pursuant to 18VAC48-45-680 on file with the 

board reflect the most current version used by the reseller. 

D. If the requirements for renewal of a registration as 

specified in this chapter are not completed more than 30 days 

and within six months after the registration expiration date, 

the reinstatement fee specified in 18VAC48-50-70 shall be 

required.  

E. A registration may be reinstated for up to six months 

following the expiration date. After six months, the 

registration may not be reinstated under any circumstances 

and the firm or individual must meet all current entry 

requirements and apply as a new applicant. 

F. The board may deny renewal or reinstatement of 

registration for the same reasons as it may refuse initial 

registration or discipline a registrant. 

G. The date the renewal application and fee are received in 

the office of the board shall determine whether a registration 

shall be renewed without reinstatement, or shall be subject to 

reinstatement application procedures. 

H. A registration that is reinstated shall be regarded as 

having been continuously registered without interruption. 

Therefore, the registration holder shall remain under the 

disciplinary authority of the board during the entire period 

and shall be accountable for its activities during the period. 

Nothing in this chapter shall divest the board of its authority 

to discipline a registration holder for a violation of the law or 

regulation during the period of time for which the regulant 

was registered. 

I. Applicants for renewal shall continue to meet all of the 

qualifications for registration set forth in 18VAC48-45-680. 

18VAC48-45-700. Maintenance of time-share reseller 

registration. 

Any material changes made or known by the time-share 

reseller that may affect the accuracy or completeness of the 

time-share reseller registration file shall be promptly reported 

to the board. The board may request additional information as 

necessary to ensure compliance with the Virginia Real Estate 

Time-Share Act and this chapter. 

18VAC48-45-710. Recordkeeping for a time-share reseller 

registration. 

A time-share reseller registered by the board shall comply 

with the recordkeeping provisions of § 55-394.4 of the Code 

of Virginia. 
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Part X 

Board Authority and Standards of Conduct 

18VAC48-45-720. Grounds for disciplinary action. 

The board may revoke a registration that is not in 

compliance with any provision of the regulations of the board 

or the Virginia Real Estate Time-Share Act. Additional action 

may include issuance of a temporary cease and desist order, 

issuance of a cease and desist order, and bringing action in 

the appropriate circuit court to enjoin the acts or practices and 

to enforce compliance. 

18VAC48-45-730. Registration required. 

A. No developer or agent of a developer shall offer a time-

share prior to the registration of the time-share program and 

time-share project. 

B. No developer or agent of a developer shall offer an 

alternative purchase prior to the registration of the alternative 

purchase by the developer. 

C. No exchange company or agent of an exchange company 

shall offer an exchange program prior to the registration of 

the exchange program by the exchange company. 

D.  No time-share reseller or agent of a time-share reseller 

shall offer any resale services prior to the registration of the 

time-share reseller. 

18VAC48-45-740. Time-share advertising standards. 

A. No promise, assertion, representation, or statement of fact 

or opinion in connection with a time-share marketing activity 

shall be made that is false, inaccurate or misleading by reason 

of inclusion of an untrue statement of a material fact or 

omission of a statement of a material fact relative to the actual 

or intended characteristics, circumstances, or features of a 

time-share program or a time-share project.  

B. No promise, assertion, representation, or statement of fact 

or opinion made in connection with a time-share marketing 

activity shall indicate that a unit or common element will be 

built or placed on the time-share unless proposed within the 

meaning of subsection A of 18VAC48-45-200.  

C. No promise, assertion, representation, or statement of fact 

or opinion made in connection with a time-share marketing 

activity and relating to a time-share project not registered 

shall, by its express terms, induce, solicit, or encourage a 

contract for sale or performing some other act that would 

create or purport to create a legal or equitable interest in the 

time-share, other than a security interest in or a nonbinding 

reservation of the time-share, when to do so would 

circumvent the provisions of the Virginia Real Estate Time-

Share Act. 

18VAC48-45-750. Board oversight of public offering 

statement and exchange program disclosure document. 

A. The board at any time may require a developer to alter or 

amend the public offering statement for a time-share [ or an 

alternative purchase ] or an exchange program disclosure 

document to assure full and accurate disclosure to prospective 

purchasers and to ensure compliance with the Virginia Real 

Estate Time-Share Act and this chapter.  

B. The board does not approve or recommend the time-share 

[ , alternative purchase, ] or exchange program, or disposition 

thereof. The board's issuance of an effective date for a public 

offering statement or acceptance of an exchange program 

disclosure document shall not be construed to (i) constitute 

approval of the time-share [ , alternative purchase, ] or 

exchange program; (ii) represent that the board asserts that 

either all facts or material changes or both concerning the 

time-share [ , alternative purchase, ] or exchange program 

have been fully and accurately disclosed; or (iii) indicate that 

the board has made judgment on the value or merits of the 

time-share [ , alternative purchase, ] or exchange program. 

18VAC48-45-760. Response to inquiry and provision of 

records. 

A. The developer, exchange company, or reseller must 

respond within 15 days to a request by the board or any of its 

agents regarding any complaint filed with the department. 

The board may extend such [ time frame timeframe ] upon a 

showing of extenuating circumstances prohibiting delivery 

within such 15-day period. 

B. Unless otherwise specified by the board, the developer, 

exchange company, or reseller shall produce to the board or 

any of its agents within 15 days of the request any document, 

book, or record concerning any transaction in which the 

developer, exchange company, or reseller was involved, or 

for which the developer, exchange company, or reseller is 

required to maintain records, for inspection and copying by 

the board or its agents. The board may extend such [ time 

frame timeframe ] upon a showing of extenuating 

circumstances prohibiting delivery within such 15-day period. 

C. A developer, exchange company, or reseller shall not 

provide a false, misleading, or incomplete response to the 

board or any agent of the board seeking information in the 

investigation of a complaint filed with the board. 

D. With the exception of the requirements of subsections A 

and B of this section, a developer, exchange company, or 

reseller must respond to an inquiry by the board or its agent 

within 21 days. 

18VAC48-45-770. Prohibited acts. 

The following acts are prohibited and any violation may 

result in action by the board, including but not limited to 

issuance of a temporary cease and desist order in accordance 

with subdivision D 2 of § 55-396 of the Code of Virginia: 

1. Violating, inducing another to violate, or cooperating 

with others in violating any of the provisions of any 

regulation of the board or the Virginia Real Estate Time-

Share Act or engaging in any act enumerated in §§ 54.1-

102 and 54.1-111 of the Code of Virginia. 

2. Obtaining or attempting to obtain a registration by false 

or fraudulent representation, or maintaining, renewing, or 
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reinstating a registration by false or fraudulent 

representation. 

3. Failing to alter or amend the public offering statement or 

disclosure document as required in accordance with the 

provisions of this chapter. 

4. Providing information to purchasers in a manner that 

willfully and intentionally fails to promote full and 

accurate disclosure. 

5. Making any misrepresentation or making a false promise 

that might influence, persuade, or induce. 

6. Failing to provide information or documents, or 

amendments thereof, in accordance with this chapter. 

7. Failing to comply with the post-registration 

requirements of this chapter. 

8. Filing false or misleading information in the course of 

terminating a registration in accordance with 18VAC48-

45-460, [ 18VAC48-45-540 18VAC48-50-560 ], or 

[ 18VAC48-45-610 18VAC48-50-630 ]. 

9. Failing to comply with the advertising standards 

contained in Part III [ (18VAC48-45-50 (18VAC48-45-

80 ] et seq.) of this chapter.  

10. Failing to notify the board of the cancellation, 

amendment, expiration, termination, or any other change 

that affects the validity of a bond or letter of credit required 

pursuant to subsection E of 18VAC48-45-670. 

11. Allowing a registration issued by the board to be used 

by another. 

12. A regulant having been convicted, found guilty, or 

disciplined in any jurisdiction of any offense or violation 

[ enumerated described ] in [ subdivisions C 13 and C 14 

of ] 18VAC48-45-130, [ subdivisions 4 and 5 of ] 

18VAC48-45-210, and [ subsections D, G, and H of ] 

18VAC48-45-670. 

13. Failing to inform the board in writing within 30 days 

that the regulant was convicted, found guilty, or disciplined 

in any jurisdiction of any offense or violation 

[ enumerated described ] in [ subsections D, G, and H of ] 

18VAC48-45-670. 

14. Failing to report a change as required by 18VAC48-45-

470. 

15. Failing to satisfy any judgments or restitution orders 

entered by a court or arbiter of competent jurisdiction. 

16. Misrepresenting or misusing the intended purpose of a 

power of attorney or similar document to the detriment of 

any grantor of such power of attorney.  

17. Engaging in dishonest of fraudulent conduct in 

providing resale services, including but not limited to the 

following: 

a. The intentional and unjustified failure to comply with 

the terms of the resale purchase contract or resale transfer 

contract. 

b. Engaging in dishonest or fraudulent conduct in 

providing resale services. 

c. Failing to comply with the recordkeeping requirements 

of § 55-394.4 of the Code of Virginia.  

d. Failing to disclose information in writing concerning 

the marketing, sale, or transfer of resale time-shares 

required by this chapter prior to accepting any 

consideration or with the expectation of receiving 

consideration from any time-share owner, seller, or 

buyer. 

e. Making false or misleading statements concerning 

offers to buy or rent; the value, pricing, timing, or 

availability of resale time-shares; or numbers of sellers, 

renters, or buyers when engaged in time-share resale 

activities.  

f. Misrepresenting the likelihood of selling a resale time-

share interest.  

g. Misrepresenting the method by or source from which 

the reseller or lead dealer obtained the contact 

information of any time-share owner.  

h. Misrepresenting price or value increases or decreases, 

assessments, special assessments, maintenance fees, or 

taxes or guaranteeing sales or rentals in order to obtain 

money or property.  

i. Making false or misleading statements concerning the 

identity of the reseller or any of its affiliates or the time-

share resale entity's or any of its affiliate's experience, 

performance, guarantees, services, fees, or commissions, 

availability of refunds, length of time in business, or 

endorsements by or affiliations with developers, 

management companies, or any other third party.  

j. Misrepresenting whether or not the reseller or its 

affiliates, employees, or agents hold, in any state or 

jurisdiction, a current real estate sales or broker's license 

or other government-required license.  

k. Misrepresenting how funds will be utilized in any 

time-share resale activity conducted by the reseller.  

l. Misrepresenting that the reseller or its affiliates, 

employees, or agents have specialized education, 

professional affiliations, expertise, licenses, 

certifications, or other specialized knowledge or 

qualifications.  

m. Making false or misleading statements concerning the 

conditions under which a time-share owner, seller, or buyer 

may exchange or occupy the resale time-share interest.  

n. Representing that any gift, prize, membership, or other 

benefit or service will be provided to any time-share owner, 

seller, or buyer without providing such gift, prize, 

membership, or other benefit or service in the manner 

represented.  

o. Misrepresenting the nature of any resale time-share 

interest or the related time-share plan.  
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p. Misrepresenting the amount of the proceeds, or failing 

to pay the proceeds, of any rental or sale of a resale time-

share interest as offered by a potential renter or buyer to 

the time-share owner who made such resale time-share 

interest available for rental or sale through the reseller.  

q. Failing to transfer any resale time-share interests as 

represented and required by this chapter or to provide 

written evidence to the time-share owner of the recording 

or transfer of such time-share owner's resale time-share 

interest as required by this chapter.  

r. Failing to pay any annual assessments, special 

assessments, personal property or real estate taxes, or 

other fees relating to an owner's resale time-share interest 

as represented or required by this chapter.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC48-45) 

Time-Share Amendment Application A492-0515AMEND-

v1 (eff. 9/2013) 

Time-Share Annual Report A492-0515ANRPT-v2 (eff. 

5/2014) 

Time-Share Building Status Form A492-0515BLDST-v1 

(eff. 9/2013) 

Time-Share Bond/Letter of Credit Verification Form A492-

0515BOND-v1 (eff. 9/2013) 

Time-Share Registration Application A492-0515REG-v1 

(eff. 9/2013) 

Time-Share Exchange Company Annual Report A492-

0516ANRPT-v1 (eff. 9/2013) 

Time-Share Exchange Company Registration Application 

A492-0516REG-v1 (eff. 9/2013) 

[ Alternative Purchase Annual Report A492-0524ANRPT-

v1 (eff. 10/2015) 

Alternative Purchase Registration Application A492-

0524REG-v1 (eff. 10/2015) 

Time-Share Reseller Bond/Letter of Credit Verification 

Form A492-0525BOND-v1 (eff. 1/2016) 

Time-Share Reseller Lead Dealer Change Form A492-

0525LDCHG-v1 (eff. 1/2016) 

Time-Share Reseller Application A492-0525REG-v1 (eff. 

2015) ] 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3613; Filed December 11, 2015, 9:38 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

DEPARTMENT FOR THE BLIND AND VISION 
IMPAIRED 

Proposed Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 22VAC45-50. Regulation Governing 

Provisions of Services in Vocational Rehabilitation 

(repealing 22VAC45-50-10 through 22VAC45-50-150). 

22VAC45-51. Regulations Governing Provisions of 

Services in Vocational Rehabilitation (adding 22VAC45-

51-10 through 22VAC45-51-140).  

Statutory Authority: § 51.5-66 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: March 11, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Susan D. Payne, Program Director, 

Vocational Rehabilitation, Department for the Blind and 

Vision Impaired, 397 Azalea Avenue, Richmond, VA 23227, 

telephone (804) 371-3184, FAX (804) 371-3351, TTY (804) 

371-3140, or email susan.payne@dbvi.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 51.5-65 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

Commissioner of the Department for the Blind and Vision 

Impaired to promulgate regulations to carry out the applicable 

provisions of Title 51.1 (Persons with Disabilities) of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: This proposed action repeals existing regulations 

(22VAC45-50) concurrently with promulgating new 

regulations (22VAC45-51) to update Virginia's Regulations 

Governing Provision of Services in Vocational 

Rehabilitation. The action ensures that blind, visually 

impaired, and deafblind citizens receiving vocational 

rehabilitation services from the department have accurate and 

clearly articulated regulations regarding vocational 

rehabilitation services that are consistent with federal 

regulations. 

Substance: 22VAC45-50 is outdated and subsequently 

inconsistent with federal regulations. 22VAC45-51 conforms 

existing regulations to the federal regulations at 34 CFR Part 

361, incorporates the name changes for two agencies, 

removes Department for the Blind and Vision Impaired 

policy language, removes one section that is not necessary to 

ensure compliance with federal regulations, separates one 

section into two separate sections to provide greater clarity, 

and combines two other sections that are duplicative. 

Issues: The proposed regulatory action poses no 

disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth. Blind, 

visually impaired, and deafblind citizens, their family 

members, consumer groups, state and local government 

entities, and others in the Commonwealth benefit from the 

promulgation of new regulations that are clearer, so easier to 

understand, and provide an accurate explanation of the 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=15e4a003613~1&typ=40&actno=003613&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=15e4a003613~1&typ=40&actno=003613&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9044c003613~2&typ=40&actno=003613&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9044c003613~2&typ=40&actno=003613&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4109c003613~3&typ=40&actno=003613&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4109c003613~3&typ=40&actno=003613&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a6fbb003613~4&typ=40&actno=003613&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a6fbb003613~4&typ=40&actno=003613&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b36b1003613~5&typ=40&actno=003613&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b36b1003613~5&typ=40&actno=003613&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6a8db003613~6&typ=40&actno=003613&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6a8db003613~6&typ=40&actno=003613&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7333e003613~7&typ=40&actno=003613&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7333e003613~7&typ=40&actno=003613&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=66129003613~8&typ=40&actno=003613&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=66129003613~8&typ=40&actno=003613&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=aa6c0003613~9&typ=40&actno=003613&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=aa6c0003613~9&typ=40&actno=003613&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=02661003613~10&typ=40&actno=003613&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=02661003613~10&typ=40&actno=003613&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=204b3003613~11&typ=40&actno=003613&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=204b3003613~11&typ=40&actno=003613&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=77d41003613~12&typ=40&actno=003613&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=77d41003613~12&typ=40&actno=003613&mime=application/pdf
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vocational rehabilitation services available to eligible 

Virginians. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Commissioner for the Department of Blind and Vision 

Impaired (DBVI) proposes to repeal the Department's 

regulation that governs vocational rehabilitation services 

(22VAC45-50) and replace it with a regulation (22VAC45-

51) that has been reorganized and updated and that 

additionally has one substantive change. Specifically, the 

Commissioner proposes to repeal language which specifically 

mentions provision of services for American Indians. 

Result of Analysis. Benefits outweigh costs for all proposed 

regulatory changes.  

Estimated Economic Impact. The current regulation that 

governs DBVI's provision of vocational rehabilitation 

services was last amended in 1990. Since then, much of the 

language in the regulation has become obsolete including the 

name of the agency the Commissioner heads, which used to 

be known as the Department for the Visually Handicapped. 

Because this regulation is so substantially out-of-date, the 

Commissioner now proposes to repeal it and promulgate a 

new regulation that updates and reorganizes sections so that 

information is easier to find. No entity is likely to incur costs 

on account of this reorganization; all affected entities are 

likely to benefit from having this regulation updated so that it 

correctly reflects terminology that has changed since 1990 as 

this will reduce possible confusion. 

The Commissioner also proposes to repeal language in 

current regulation which specifies that American Indians will 

be provided vocational rehabilitation services to the same 

extent, and in the same fashion, as other eligible individuals 

(this language is in 22VAC45-50-70). DBVI staff reports that 

this language is being removed because it only applies to 

federally recognized Indian tribes and Virginia has no such 

tribes. The newly promulgated regulation will retain language 

that prohibits discrimination against any individual who seeks 

vocational rehabilitation services. Because of this, no 

American Indian who is a citizen of the Commonwealth, and 

is also a citizen of a federally recognized Indian tribe based in 

another state, is likely to be denied services on account of the 

repeal of 22VAC45-50-70.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. These proposed regulatory 

changes will affect all individuals who receive vocational 

rehabilitation services through DBVI. There are currently 

approximately 1,400 such individuals in the Commonwealth.  

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by these proposed regulatory changes. 

Projected Impact on Employment. These proposed regulatory 

changes are unlikely to significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use and 

value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No small business 

in the Commonwealth is likely to incur costs on account of 

these proposed regulatory changes. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. No small business in the Commonwealth is 

likely to incur costs on account of these proposed regulatory 

changes. 

Real Estate Development Costs. These proposed regulatory 

changes are unlikely to affect real estate development costs. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: As 

indicated in DBVI's agency statement as modified on October 

23, 2013, and the Department of Planning and Budget 

economic impact analysis as modified on April 7, 2014, 

DBVI's proposed regulations do not cause DBVI to incur any 

additional cost to implement and enforce the proposed 

regulations since the existing regulation (22VAC45-50, 

Regulation Governing Provision of Services in Vocational 

Rehabilitation) is already in effect and enforced, and there 

will be no additional cost incurred by individuals, businesses, 

or other entities. It is unlikely that additional costs will be 

incurred by any entity. All affected entities are likely to 

benefit from having this regulation updated so that it correctly 

reflects terminology that has changed since 1990 as this will 

reduce possible confusion. 

Entities affected by the overall proposed regulations, without 

regard to costs incurred as stated earlier, include individuals 

who are blind and visually impaired applying for or receiving 

vocational rehabilitation services, approximately 1,450 

individuals annually. The newly promulgated regulation will 

retain language that prohibits discrimination against any 

individual who seeks vocational rehabilitation services. 

Summary: 

The proposed action replaces existing regulations 

governing vocational rehabilitation services (22VAC45-

50) with new regulations (22VAC45-51) that are 

reorganized and updated to comport with federal 

requirements, remove duplicative provisions, and remove 

agency policy language. In addition, the language 

pertaining to provision of services for American Indians is 

repealed because the language only applies to federally 

recognized Indian tribes and Virginia has no such tribes.  

CHAPTER 51  

REGULATIONS GOVERNING PROVISION OF 

SERVICES IN VOCATIONAL REHABILITATION  

22VAC45-51-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

states otherwise: 

"Applicant" means an individual who submits an application 

for vocational rehabilitation services. 
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"Appropriate modes of communication" means specialized 

aids and supports that enable an individual with a disability to 

comprehend and respond to information that is being 

communicated. Appropriate modes of communication 

include, but are not limited to, the use of interpreters, open 

and closed captioned videos, specialized telecommunication 

services and audio recordings, Brailed and large print 

materials, materials in electronic formats, augmentative 

communication devices, graphic presentations, and simple 

language materials.  

"Assistive technology device" means any item, piece of 

equipment, or product system, whether acquired 

commercially off the shelf, modified, or customized, that is 

used to increase, maintain, or improve the functional 

capabilities of an individual with a disability.  

"Assistive technology service" means any service that 

directly assists an individual with a disability in the selection, 

acquisition, or use of an assistive technology device 

including: 

1. The evaluation of the needs of an individual with a 

disability, including a functional evaluation of the 

individual in his customary environment; 

2. Purchasing, leasing, or otherwise providing for the 

acquisition by an individual with a disability of an assistive 

technology device; 

3. Selecting, designing, fitting, customizing, adapting, 

applying, maintaining, repairing, or replacing assistive 

technology devices; 

4. Coordinating and using other therapies, interventions, or 

services with assistive technology devices, such as those 

associated with existing educational and rehabilitation 

plans and programs; 

5. Training or technical assistance for an individual with a 

disability or, if appropriate, the family members, 

guardians, advocates, or authorized representatives of the 

individual; and 

6. Training or technical assistance for professionals 

(including individuals providing education and 

rehabilitation services), employers, or others who provide 

services to, employ, or are otherwise substantially involved 

in the major life functions of individuals with disabilities to 

the extent that training or technical assistance is necessary 

to the achievement of an employment outcome by an 

individual with a disability. 

"Blind" means having not better than 20/200 central visual 

acuity in the better eye measured at 20 feet with correcting 

lenses or having visual acuity greater than 20/200 but with the 

widest diameter of the visual field in the better eye 

subtending an angle of no greater than 20 degrees, measured 

at a distance of 33 centimeters using a three-millimeter white-

test object, a Goldman III-4e target, or other equivalent 

equipment. Such blindness shall be certified by a duly 

licensed physician or optometrist. (§ 51.5-60 of the Code of 

Virginia) 

"Client assistance program" means the program located 

within the disAbility Law Center of Virginia for the purpose 

of advising applicants or eligible individuals about all 

available services under the Rehabilitation Act, as amended 

by the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act of 2014 

(29 USC § 3101 et seq.), as amended, and to assist them in 

their relationship with programs, projects, and facilities 

providing rehabilitation services.  

"Community rehabilitation program" means a program that 

provides directly or facilitates the provision of one or more of 

the allowable vocational rehabilitation services to individuals 

with disabilities to enable those individuals to maximize their 

opportunities for employment, including career advancement. 

"Comparable services and benefits" means services and 

benefits that are (i) provided or paid for, in whole or in part, 

by other federal, state, or local public agencies, by health 

insurance, or by employee benefits; (ii) available to the 

individual at the time needed to ensure the progress of the 

individual toward achieving the employment outcome in the 

individual's individualized plan for employment and (iii) 

commensurate to the services that the individual would 

otherwise receive from the designated state vocational 

rehabilitation agency. For the purposes of this definition, 

comparable benefits do not include awards and scholarships 

based on merit.  

"Competitive employment" means work in the competitive 

labor market that is performed on a full-time or part-time 

basis in an integrated setting and for which an individual is 

compensated at or above the minimum wage, but not less 

than the customary wage and level of benefits paid by the 

employer for the same or similar work performed by 

individuals who are not disabled.  

"DBVI" means the Department for the Blind and Vision 

Impaired. 

"Eligible individual" means an applicant for vocational 

rehabilitation services who meets the eligibility requirements 

in 22VAC45-51-40. 

"Employment outcome" means, with respect to an 

individual, entering or retaining full-time or, if appropriate, 

part-time competitive employment in the integrated labor 

market to the greatest extent practicable, supported 

employment, or any other type of employment, including 

self-employment, telecommuting, or business ownership, that 

is consistent with an individual's strengths, resources, 

priorities, concerns, abilities, capabilities, interests, and 

informed choice.  

"Extended employment" means work in a nonintegrated or 

sheltered setting for a public or private nonprofit agency or 

organization that provides compensation in accordance with 

the Fair Labor Standards Act (29 USC § 201 et seq.) and any 

needed support services to an individual with a disability to 
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enable the individual to continue to train or otherwise prepare 

for competitive employment, unless the individual through 

informed choice chooses to remain in extended employment.  

"Extended services," as used in the definition of "supported 

employment," means ongoing support services and other 

appropriate services that are needed to support and maintain 

an individual with a most significant disability in supported 

employment and that are provided by a state agency, a private 

nonprofit organization, an employer, or any other appropriate 

resource from funds other than funds received under 34 CFR 

Part 361 and 34 CFR Part 363 after an individual with a most 

significant disability has made the transition from support 

provided by DBVI.  

"Family member" for the purposes of receiving vocational 

rehabilitation services means an individual who is either a 

relative or guardian of an applicant or eligible individual or 

lives in the same household as an applicant or eligible 

individual who has a substantial interest in the well-being of 

that individual and whose receipt of vocational rehabilitation 

services is necessary to enable the applicant or eligible 

individual to achieve an employment outcome.  

"Financial need test" means the test developed by DBVI and 

used to consider the financial need of applicants or eligible 

individuals with blindness or visual impairment for the 

purpose of determining the extent of their participation in the 

costs of vocational rehabilitation services. 

"Impartial hearing officer" means an individual who is not 

an employee of a public agency other than an administrative 

law judge, hearing examiner, or employee of an institution of 

higher education; is not a member of the State Rehabilitation 

Council for the Blind and Vision Impaired; has not been 

involved previously in the vocational rehabilitation of the 

applicant or eligible individual; has knowledge of the delivery 

of vocational rehabilitation services, the state plan, and the 

federal and state regulations governing the provision of 

services; has received training with respect to the 

performance of official duties; and has no personal, 

professional, or financial interest that would be in conflict 

with the objectivity of the individual. An individual is not 

considered to be an employee of DBVI for the purposes of 

this definition solely because the individual is paid by the 

DBVI to serve as a hearing officer (34 CFR 361.5(b)(25)).  

"Individual's representative" means any representative 

chosen by an applicant or eligible individual, as appropriate, 

including a parent, guardian, other family member, or 

advocate, unless a representative has been appointed by a 

court to represent the individual, in which case the court-

appointed representative is the individual's representative.  

"Individual with a most significant disability" means an 

individual who has no functional vision or is significantly 

visually impaired; has a secondary disability that profoundly 

limits two or more life activities, such as mobility, 

communication, self-care, interpersonal skills, self-direction, 

work tolerance, or work skills in terms of achieving an 

employment outcome; and the individual's vocational 

rehabilitation is expected to require three or more vocational 

rehabilitation services for one year or more.  

"Individual with a significant disability" means the 

significant visual impairment does not enable the individual 

to obtain a driver's license in Virginia with normal correction; 

"seriously limits" one or more life activities, such as mobility, 

communication, self-care, interpersonal skills, self-direction, 

work tolerance, or work skills, in terms of achieving an 

employment outcome; and the individual's vocational 

rehabilitation shall  require two or more substantial vocational 

rehabilitation services for a minimum of three months. 

"Individualized plan for employment" or "IPE" means a 

unique plan for employment that is customized for each 

eligible individual receiving vocational rehabilitation 

services.  

"Integrated setting," with respect to the provision of 

services, means a setting typically found in the community in 

which applicants or eligible individuals interact with 

nondisabled individuals, other than nondisabled individuals 

who are providing services to those applicants or eligible 

individuals, to the same extent that nondisabled individuals in 

comparable positions interact with other persons.  

"Maintenance" means monetary support provided to an 

individual for expenses, such as food, shelter, and clothing, 

that are in excess of the normal expenses of the individual and 

that are necessitated by the individual's participation in an 

assessment for determining eligibility and  vocational 

rehabilitation services under an individualized plan for 

employment.  

"Mediation" means the act or process of using an 

independent third party to act as a mediator, intermediary, or 

conciliator to assist persons or parties in settling differences 

or disputes prior to pursuing formal administrative or other 

remedies. 

"One-stop center" means a center designed to provide a full 

range of assistance to job seekers under one roof. Established 

under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act of 2014 

(29 USC § 3101 et seq.), the centers offer training, career 

counseling, job listings, and similar employment-related 

services. 

"On-the-job training" means job training received in a real 

work environment for individuals who are job ready. 

"Ophthalmologist" means a physician specializing in 

diseases of the eye.  

"Optometrist" means any person practicing the profession of 

optometry as defined by § 54.1-3200 of the the Code of 

Virginia and regulations of the Board of Optometry 

(18VAC105-20).  

"Order of selection" means the order defined in the state 

plan for vocational rehabilitation services that DBVI shall 

follow in selecting eligible individuals to be provided 

vocational rehabilitation services when DBVI determines that 
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it is unable to provide the full range of vocational 

rehabilitation services to all eligible individuals. 

"Personal assistance services" means a range of services 

provided by one or more persons designed to assist an 

individual with a disability to perform daily living activities 

on or off the job that the individual would typically perform 

without assistance if the individual did not have a disability. 

The services shall be designed to increase the individual's 

control in life and ability to perform everyday activities on or 

off the job. These services shall be necessary to the 

achievement of an employment outcome and may be 

provided only while the individual is receiving other 

vocational rehabilitation services. These services may include 

training in managing, supervising, and directing personal 

assistance services.  

"Personal information" means all information that describes, 

locates, or indexes anything about an individual including (i) 

social security number, driver's license number, agency-

issued identification number, student identification number, 

or real or personal property holdings derived from tax returns 

and (ii) education, financial transactions, medical history, or 

employment record.  

"Post-employment services" means one or more of the 

services identified in 22VAC45-51-80 that are provided 

subsequent to the achievement of an employment outcome 

and that are necessary for an individual to maintain, regain, or 

advance in employment, consistent with the individual's 

strengths, resources, priorities, concerns, abilities, 

capabilities, interests, and informed choice.  

"Profoundly limits" means the individual is unable to use 

vision (with or without visual aids) to assist him in 

performing such functions as mobility, communication, self-

care, interpersonal skills, self-direction, work tolerance, or 

work skills and the individual has not acquired the adaptive 

skills to compensate for the lack of functional vision. 

"Qualified and impartial mediator" means an individual who 

is not an employee of a public agency other than an 

administrative law judge, hearing examiner, employee of a 

state office of mediators, or employee of an institution of 

higher education; is not a member of the State Rehabilitation 

Council for the Blind and Vision Impaired; has not been 

involved previously in the vocational rehabilitation of the 

applicant or eligible individual; is knowledgeable of the 

vocational rehabilitation program and the applicable federal 

and state laws, regulations, and policies governing the 

provision of vocational rehabilitation services; has been 

trained in effective mediation techniques consistent with any 

state-approved or recognized certification, licensing, 

registration, or other requirements; and has no personal, 

professional, or financial interest that would be in conflict 

with the objectivity of the individual during the mediation 

proceedings.  An individual serving as a mediator is not 

considered to be an employee of DBVI for the purposes of 

this definition solely because the individual is paid by DBVI 

to serve as a mediator.  

"Rehabilitation technology" means the systematic 

application of technologies, engineering methodologies, or 

scientific principles to meet the needs of, and address the 

barriers confronted by, individuals with disabilities in areas 

that include education, rehabilitation, employment, 

transportation, independent living, and recreation. The term 

includes rehabilitation engineering, assistive technology 

devices, and assistive technology services.  

"Seriously limits" means an individual has some functional 

vision (with or without visual aids) that is used by the 

individual in performing such functions as mobility, 

communication, self-care, interpersonal skills, self-direction, 

work tolerance, or work skills and the individual has not 

acquired the adaptive skills to compensate for the limited 

functional vision. 

"Significant visual impairment" means vision worse than 

20/70 in the better eye with correction or a field of vision 

restricted to less than 70 degrees in the better eye. 

"Supported employment" means (i) competitive work in an 

integrated setting or employment in integrated work settings 

in which individuals are working toward competitive 

employment, consistent with the strengths, resources, 

priorities, concerns, abilities, capabilities, interests, and 

informed choice of the individual with ongoing support 

services for individuals with the most significant disabilities 

for whom competitive employment has not traditionally 

occurred or for whom competitive employment has been 

interrupted or intermittent as a result of a significant 

disability, and who, because of the nature and severity of their 

disabilities, need intensive supported employment services 

from DBVI and extended services after transition to perform 

this work or (ii) transitional employment for individuals with 

the most significant disabilities due to mental illness.  

"Transition services" means a coordinated set of activities 

for a student designed within an outcome-oriented process 

that promotes movement from school to post-school 

activities, including post-secondary education, vocational 

training, and integrated employment (including supported 

employment), continuing adult education, adult services, 

independent living, or community participation.  

"Transportation" means travel and related expenses that are 

necessary to enable an applicant or eligible individual to 

participate in a vocational rehabilitation service, including 

expenses for training in the use of public transportation 

vehicles and systems.  

"Vocational rehabilitation services" or "services" means 

goods and services that are available to assist the individual 

with a disability in preparing for, securing, retaining, or 

regaining an employment outcome that is consistent with the 

individual's strengths, resources, priorities, concerns, abilities, 

capabilities, interests, and informed choice as described in 

22VAC45-51-70 and 34 CFR 361.48. 
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"Work adjustment training" means a training process 

utilizing individual and group work or work-related activities 

to assist individuals in understanding the meaning, value, and 

demands of work; to modify or develop attitudes, personal 

characteristics, and work behavior; and to develop functional 

capacities, as required, in order to assist individuals toward 

their optimum level of vocational development. 

22VAC45-51-20. Protection, use, and release of personal 

information (34 CFR 361.38). 

A. General provisions. DBVI shall safeguard the 

confidentiality of all personal information, including 

photographs and lists of names to ensure that: 

1. Current and stored personal information is protected; 

2. All applicants and eligible individuals and, as 

appropriate, those individuals' representatives, service 

providers, cooperating agencies, and interested persons are 

informed through appropriate modes of communication of 

the confidentiality of personal information and the 

conditions for accessing and releasing this information; 

3. All applicants or their representatives are informed 

about DBVI's need to collect personal information and the 

policies governing its use including: 

a. The purposes for which DBVI intends to use or release 

the information; 

b. An explanation of whether providing requested 

information is mandatory or voluntary and the effects of 

not providing requested information; 

c. Identification of those situations in which DBVI 

requires or does not require the informed written consent 

of the individual before information may be released; and 

d. Identification of other agencies to which information is 

routinely released; and 

4. An explanation of DBVI policies and procedures 

affecting personal information shall be provided to each 

individual in that individual's native language or through 

the appropriate mode of communication.  

B. All personal information in the possession of DBVI shall 

be used only for the purposes directly connected with the 

administration of the DBVI vocational rehabilitation 

program. Information containing identifiable personal 

information shall not be shared with advisory or other bodies 

that do not have official responsibility for the administration 

of the program. In the administration of the program, DBVI 

may obtain personal information from service providers and 

cooperating agencies under assurances that the information 

shall not be further disclosed except as described in 

subsection A of this section. 

C. Release to applicants and eligible individuals. 

1. When requested in writing, DBVI shall make all 

requested information in that individual's record of 

vocational rehabilitation services accessible to and shall 

release the information to the individual or the individual's 

representative promptly.  

2. Medical, psychological, or other information that DBVI 

determines may be harmful to the individual shall not be 

released directly to the individual but shall be provided to 

the individual through a third party chosen by the 

individual, which may include an advocate, family 

member, or medical or mental health professional. If a 

representative has been appointed by a court to represent 

the individual, the information shall be released to the 

court-appointed representative. 

3. Personal information obtained by DBVI from another 

agency or organization may be released only by, or under 

conditions established by, the other agency or organization.  

D. Release for audit, evaluation, and research. DBVI may 

release personal information to an organization, agency, or 

individual engaged in audit, evaluation, or research only for 

purposes directly connected with the administration of the 

vocational rehabilitation program, or for purposes that would 

significantly improve the quality of life for applicants and 

eligible individuals and only if the organization, agency, or 

individual assures that:  

1. The information shall be used only for the purposes for 

which it is being provided;  

2. The information shall be released only to persons 

officially connected with the audit, evaluation, or research; 

3. The information shall not be released to the involved 

individual; 

4. The information shall be managed in a manner to 

safeguard confidentiality; and  

5. The final product shall not reveal any identifying 

personal information without the informed written consent 

of the involved individual or the individual's 

representative.  

E. Release to other programs or authorities. 

1. Upon written consent of the individual or, if appropriate, 

the individual's representative, DBVI shall release personal 

information to another agency or organization for its 

program purposes only to the extent that the information 

shall be released to the involved individual or the 

individual's representative and only to the extent that the 

other agency or organization demonstrates that the 

information is necessary for its program.  

2. Medical or psychological information that DBVI 

determines may be harmful to the individual shall be 

released if the other agency or organization assures DBVI 

that the information shall be used only for the purpose for 

which it is being provided and that it shall not be further 

released to the individual.  

F. DBVI shall release any personal information required by 

federal and state laws or regulations.  
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G. DBVI shall release personal information in response to 

investigations in connection with law enforcement, fraud, or 

abuse, unless expressly prohibited by federal or state laws or 

regulations, and in response to an order issued by a judge, 

magistrate, or other authorized judicial officer.  

H. DBVI shall also release personal information in order to 

protect the individual or others if the individual poses a threat 

to his safety or to the safety of others.  

I. DBVI shall release to the Governor or his designee a 

complete and certified copy of the case record including 

transcripts of a fair hearing decision for the purpose of the 

Governor's review of an impartial hearing officer's final 

decision when one of the parties to a fair hearing requests a 

review.  

22VAC45-51-30. Processing referrals and application.  

A. DBVI has established and implemented standards for the 

prompt and equitable handling of applications of individuals 

for vocational rehabilitation services. These standards include 

timelines for making good faith efforts to inform individuals 

of application requirements and to gather information 

necessary to initiate an assessment for determining eligibility 

and priority for services. 

1. An individual shall be considered to have submitted an 

application for vocational rehabilitation services from 

DBVI when the individual or the individual's 

representative, as appropriate: 

a. Has completed and signed a DBVI vocational 

rehabilitation services application form, which is 

available at the six DBVI regional offices, DBVI 

Headquarters, and on the DBVI website; 

b. Has completed a common intake application form in a 

one-stop center requesting vocational rehabilitation 

services; or 

c. Has otherwise requested vocational rehabilitation 

services from DBVI; and 

2. Has provided to DBVI information necessary to initiate 

an assessment to determine eligibility and priority for 

vocational rehabilitation services; and  

3. Is available to complete the assessment process.  

B. Once an individual has submitted an application for 

vocational rehabilitation services, including applications 

made through common intake procedures in one-stop centers 

established under § 121 of the Workforce Innovation and 

Opportunity Act of 2014, an eligibility determination shall be 

made within 60 days, unless (i) exceptional and unforeseen 

circumstances beyond the control of DBVI preclude making a 

determination within 60 days, and DBVI and the individual 

agree to a specific extension of time or (ii) an exploration of 

the individual's abilities, capabilities, and capacity to perform 

in work situations is carried out in accordance with 

22VAC45-51-40 or, if appropriate, an extended evaluation is 

necessary.  

22VAC45-51-40. Eligibility for vocational rehabilitation 

services.  

A. The DBVI Vocational Rehabilitation Program shall serve 

only individuals who are blind or who have significant visual 

impairment and have attained the age of 14 years. DBVI and 

the Virginia Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 

Services shall identify client populations served by each 

agency through a cooperative agreement.  

B. Any qualified applicant residing in Virginia shall be 

served by the DBVI Vocational Rehabilitation Program. 

Services may be provided to otherwise qualified non-U.S. 

citizens who can produce a permanent or working visa, or 

their green card registration number. Copies of these 

documents shall be retained in the applicant's case service 

record. 

C. DBVI shall conduct an initial assessment to determine 

whether an applicant is eligible for vocational rehabilitation 

services and to determine the individual's priority under an 

order of selection for services if DBVI is operating under an 

order of selection pursuant to 22VAC45-51-60. The initial 

assessment must be conducted in the most integrated setting 

possible, consistent with the individual's needs and informed 

choice. The applicant for vocational rehabilitation services 

may use a qualified service provider of his choice in 

obtaining necessary assessments to determine eligibility for 

services and priority for services.  

D. Qualified applicants shall be assessed as meeting the 

following eligibility criteria to receive vocational 

rehabilitation services from DBVI: 

1. The applicant shall meet the criteria of being blind or 

visually impaired through one or more of the following:  

a. The individual has a visual impairment that results in 

functional limitations related to obtaining, regaining, or 

maintaining employment and causes the individual to 

require the specialized services available through DBVI; 

b. The individual has a rapidly progressive eye condition 

that, in the opinion of a qualified ophthalmologist, will 

cause the individual to experience functional limitations 

related to obtaining, regaining, or maintaining 

employment and causes the individual to require the 

specialized services available through DBVI, or 

c. The individual is in a situation where eye treatment or 

surgery, or both, are recommended and there are 

functional limitations in performing employment duties. 

2. The individual's blindness or visual impairment shall 

constitute or result in a substantial impediment to 

employment. 

3. The individual shall require vocational rehabilitation 

services to prepare for, secure, retain, or regain 

employment. 

4. The individual shall be able to benefit in terms of an 

employment outcome from the provision of vocational 

rehabilitation services. 
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E. Applicants who are unemployed, underemployed, or in 

unstable employment as determined by the DBVI vocational 

rehabilitation counselor meet the requirement that there exists 

a substantial impediment to employment.  

F. A beneficiary of social security benefits due to blindness 

under Title II or XVI of the Social Security Act shall be 

presumed eligible for DBVI vocational rehabilitation services 

under subsection D of this section provided the individual 

intends to achieve an employment outcome consistent with 

the unique strengths, resources, priorities, concerns, abilities, 

capabilities, interests, and informed choice of the individual.  

G. Vocational rehabilitation services shall not be provided to 

a potentially eligible individual on the basis of an interim 

determination of eligibility.  

22VAC45-51-50. Comprehensive assessment of 

qualifications for individualized plans of employment. 

Once it is determined that an individual is eligible for DBVI 

vocational rehabilitation services, to the extent additional data 

are necessary to make a determination of the employment 

outcomes and the nature and scope of vocational 

rehabilitation services to be included in the individualized 

plan for employment of an eligible individual, a 

comprehensive assessment shall be conducted to determine 

the unique strengths, resources, priorities, concerns, abilities, 

capabilities, interests, and informed choice, including the 

need for supported employment, of the individual. This 

comprehensive assessment:  

1. Shall be limited to information that is necessary to 

identify the rehabilitation needs of the individual and to 

develop the individualized plan of employment of the 

eligible individual. 

2. Shall be used as a primary source of information to the 

maximum extent possible, as appropriate, and in 

accordance with confidentiality requirements may include:  

a. Existing information obtained for the purposes of 

determining the eligibility of the individual and assigning 

priority for an order of selection for the individual; and 

b. Information that can be provided by the individual 

and, if appropriate, by the family of the individual. 

3. May include, to the degree needed to make such a 

determination, an assessment of the personality, interests, 

interpersonal skills, intelligence and related functional 

capacities, educational achievements, work experience, 

vocational aptitude, personal and social adjustments, and 

employment opportunities of the individual and the 

medical, psychiatric, psychological, and other pertinent 

vocational, educational, cultural, social, recreational, and 

environmental factors that affect the employment and 

rehabilitation needs of the individual. 

4. May include, to the degree needed, an appraisal of the 

patterns of work behavior of the individual and vocational 

rehabilitation services needed for the individual to acquire 

occupational skills and to develop work attitudes, work 

habits, work tolerance, and social and behavior patterns 

necessary for successful job performance, including the use 

of work in a real job situation to assess and develop the 

capacities of the individual to perform adequately in a 

work environment. 

5. May include referral for the provision of rehabilitation 

technology services to the individual to assess and develop 

the capacities of the individual to perform in a work 

environment. 

6. May include an exploration of the individual's abilities, 

capabilities, and capacity to perform in work situations, 

which must be assessed periodically during trial work 

experiences, including experiences in which the individual 

is provided appropriate supports and training.  

22VAC45-51-60. Order of selection for services. 

A. When DBVI is unable to serve all potentially eligible 

individuals due to insufficient funds, an order of selection for 

vocational rehabilitation services shall be implemented. The 

order of selection shall consist of a group of categories that 

designate who shall be served first based on: 

1. The individual's blindness or visual impairment 

including secondary disabling conditions; 

2. Whether the individual's blindness or visual impairment 

profoundly or significantly limits one or more life activities 

such as mobility, communication, self-care, interpersonal 

skills, self-direction, work tolerance, or work skills in 

terms of achieving an employment outcome; and 

3. The number of vocational rehabilitation services 

required over an extended period of time. 

B. When an order of selection must be instituted, DBVI 

shall: 

1. Consult with the State Rehabilitation Council for the 

Blind and Vision Impaired regarding (i) the need to 

establish an order of selection, (ii) establishment of 

categories in the order of selection, (iii) establishment of 

criteria for each category, and (iv) administration of the 

order of selection; 

2. Conduct a public hearing prior to implementation of the 

order of selection; 

3. Continue to provide services to all individuals currently 

receiving services under an individualized plan for 

employment;  

4. Provide assessment services to determine eligibility for 

individuals who apply for services; 

5. Provide referral services to individuals who apply for 

services; 

6. Identify service and outcome goals and the time within 

which the goals may be achieved for individuals in each 

priority category within the order; and 
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7. Assure that: 

a. Individuals with the most significant disabilities shall 

be selected first for the provision of vocational 

rehabilitation services; and 

b. Individuals who do not meet the criteria for the 

categories being served shall have access to services 

provided through the information and referral system. 

22VAC45-51-70. Scope of vocational rehabilitation 

services for individuals who are blind or vision impaired. 

The following vocational rehabilitation services shall be 

available to assist individuals who are blind or visually 

impaired in preparing for, securing, retaining, or regaining an 

employment outcome that is consistent with the individual's 

strengths, resources, priorities, concerns, abilities, 

capabilities, interests, and informed choice:  

1. An initial assessment for determining eligibility and 

priority for vocational rehabilitation services conducted by 

a DBVI vocational rehabilitation counselor, including, if 

appropriate, an initial assessment in rehabilitation 

technology;  

2. A comprehensive assessment for determining vocational 

rehabilitation needs conducted by a DBVI vocational 

rehabilitation counselor, including, if appropriate, an 

assessment by other DBVI staff skilled in rehabilitation 

technology; 

3. Vocational rehabilitation counseling and guidance, 

including information and support services to assist an 

individual in exercising informed choice; 

4. Referrals and other services necessary to assist 

applicants and eligible individuals to secure needed 

services from other agencies, including other components 

of the statewide workforce investment system and to 

advise those individuals about the client assistance 

program established within the disAbility Law Center of 

Virginia;  

5. Physical and mental restoration services, to the extent 

that financial support is not readily available from a source 

other than DBVI, such as through health insurance or other 

comparable services and benefits; 

6. Vocational and other training services, including 

personal and vocational adjustment training, books, tools, 

and other training materials, except for training or training 

services in an institution of higher education (i.e., 

universities, colleges, community colleges, junior colleges, 

vocational schools, technical institutes, or hospital schools 

of nursing), that may be paid for with funds under this 

chapter only if maximum efforts have been made by DBVI 

and the individual to secure grant assistance in whole or in 

part from other sources to pay for that training and they are 

not available; 

7. Maintenance, as defined in 22VAC45-51-10; 

8. Transition services, which are a coordinated set of 

activities based on the individual student's needs, taking 

into account the student's preferences and interests, and 

including instruction, community experiences, 

development of employment and other post-secondary 

adult living objectives and, if appropriate, acquisition of 

daily living skills and functional vocational evaluation. 

Transition services must promote or facilitate the 

achievement of the employment outcome identified in the 

student's individualized plan for employment (34 CFR 

361.5(b)(55)); 

9. Transportation, as defined in 22VAC45-51-10; 

10. Vocational rehabilitation services to family members as 

defined in 22VAC45-51-10 if necessary to enable the 

applicant or eligible individual to achieve an employment 

outcome; 

11. Interpreter services, including sign language and oral 

interpreter services, for individuals who are deaf or hard of 

hearing and tactile interpreting services for individuals 

who are deafblind; 

12. Reader services, rehabilitation teaching services, and 

orientation and mobility services for individuals who are 

blind;  

13. Job-related services, including job search and 

placement assistance, job retention services, follow-up 

services, and follow-along services; 

14. Supported employment services as defined in 

22VAC45-51-10;  

15. Personal assistance services as defined in 22VAC45-

51-10; 

16. Post-employment services as defined in 22VAC45-51-

10;  

17. Occupational licenses, tools, equipment, initial stocks, 

and supplies; 

18. Rehabilitation technology as defined in 22VAC45-51-

10 including vehicular modification, telecommunications, 

sensory, and other technology aids and services;  

19. Transition services as defined in 22VAC45-51-10; 

20. Technical assistance and other consultation services to 

conduct market analyses and develop business plans for 

individuals who are pursuing self-employment or 

telecommuting or establishing a small business operation 

as an employment outcome; and  

21. Other goods and services determined necessary for the 

individual who is blind or visually impaired to achieve an 

employment outcome.  

22VAC45-51-80. Development of the individualized plan 

for employment.  

A. General requirements. 

1. As described in 22VAC45-51-50, DBVI shall conduct 

an assessment for determining vocational rehabilitation 
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needs, if appropriate, for each eligible individual, or if 

DBVI is operating under an order of selection, for each 

eligible individual to whom DBVI is able to provide 

vocational rehabilitation services. The purpose of the 

assessment is to determine the employment outcome and 

the nature and scope of vocational rehabilitation services to 

be included in the individualized plan for employment.  

2. The IPE shall be developed and implemented within 90 

days for each individual determined eligible for vocational 

rehabilitation services, or if DBVI is operating under an 

order of selection, for each eligible individual to whom 

DBVI is able to provide vocational rehabilitation services. 

DBVI shall take into consideration the needs of the 

individual and if an IPE cannot be developed within 90 

days because a vocational goal cannot yet be established, 

DBVI and the individual shall agree upon an extension. 

3. Vocational rehabilitation services shall be provided in 

accordance with the provisions of the IPE. 

4. The IPE shall: 

a. Be designed to achieve the specific employment 

outcome selected by the individual consistent with the 

individual's unique strengths, resources, priorities, 

concerns, abilities, capabilities, interests, and informed 

choice; and 

b. To the maximum extent appropriate, result in 

employment in an integrated setting.  

B. Required information. DBVI shall provide information to 

each eligible individual or, as appropriate, the individual's 

representative, in writing and, if appropriate, in the native 

language or mode of communication of the individual or the 

individual's representative, including: 

1. Available options for developing the IPE, including the 

option that an eligible individual or, as appropriate, the 

individual's representative may develop all or part of the 

IPE: 

a. Without assistance from DBVI or other entity; or 

b. With assistance from: 

(1) A DBVI vocational rehabilitation counselor; 

(2) A vocational rehabilitation counselor who is not 

employed by DBVI; and 

(3) Resources other than those in subdivisions 1 b (1) and 

1 b (2) of this subsection.  

2. Additional information to assist the eligible individual 

or, as appropriate, the individual's representative in 

developing the IPE, including: 

a. Information describing the full range of components 

that shall be included in an IPE; 

b. As appropriate to each eligible individual: 

(1) An explanation of DBVI guidelines and criteria for 

determining an eligible individual's financial 

commitments under an IPE; 

(2) Information on the availability of assistance in 

completing DBVI forms required as a part of the IPE; 

and 

(3) Additional information that the eligible individual 

requests or DBVI determines to be necessary to the 

development of the IPE.  

c. A description of the rights and remedies available to 

the individual including recourse to the processes for 

review of DBVI determinations described in 22VAC45-

51-140; and 

d. A description of availability of the client assistance 

program within the disAbility Law Center of Virginia 

and information on how to contact that office. 

C. IPE requirements: 

1. The IPE shall be a written document prepared on forms 

provided by DBVI. 

2. The IPE shall be developed and implemented in a 

manner that gives individuals the opportunity to exercise 

informed choice in selecting: 

a. The employment outcome, including the employment 

setting; 

b. The specific vocational rehabilitation services to 

achieve the employment outcome, including the settings 

in which vocational rehabilitation services will be 

provided; 

c. The entity or entities that will provide the vocational 

rehabilitation services; and 

d. The methods available for procuring the vocational 

rehabilitation services. 

3. The IPE shall be: 

a. Agreed to and signed by the eligible individual or, as 

appropriate, the individual's representative; and 

b. Approved and signed by a DBVI vocational 

rehabilitation counselor.  

4. DBVI shall provide a copy of the IPE and a copy of 

amendments to the IPE to the eligible individual or, as 

appropriate, to the individual's representative, in writing 

and, if appropriate, in the native language or mode of 

communication of the individual or, as appropriate, the 

individual's representative. 

5. The IPE shall be reviewed at least annually by a DBVI 

vocational rehabilitation counselor and the eligible 

individual or, as appropriate, the individual's representative 

to assess the eligible individual's progress in achieving the 

identified employment outcome. 

6. The IPE shall be amended, as necessary, by the 

individual or, as appropriate, the individual's 

representative, in collaboration with a DBVI vocational 

rehabilitation counselor (to the extent determined to be 

appropriate by the individual) if there are substantive 

changes in the employment outcome, the vocational 
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rehabilitation services to be provided, or the providers of 

the vocational rehabilitation services. 

7. Amendments to the IPE shall not take effect until agreed 

to and signed by the individual or, as appropriate, the 

individual's representative and by a DBVI vocational 

rehabilitation counselor. 

8. The IPE for a student with a disability who is receiving 

special education services shall be developed: 

a. In consideration of the student's individualized 

education plan; and 

b. In accordance with the plans, policies, procedures, and 

terms of the interagency agreement between DBVI and 

the Virginia Department of Education designed to 

facilitate the transition of students who are blind or 

vision impaired from school to the receipt of vocational 

rehabilitation services. 

9. Content of the IPE. Each IPE shall include:  

a. A description of the specific employment outcome 

chosen by the eligible individual that is: 

(1) Consistent with the individual's unique strengths, 

resources, priorities, concerns, abilities, capabilities, 

career interests, and informed choice; and 

(2) To the maximum extent appropriate, results in 

employment in an integrated setting. 

b. A description of the specific vocational rehabilitation 

services under 22VAC45-51-70 that are:  

(1) Needed to achieve the employment outcome, 

including, as appropriate, the provision of assistive 

technology devices, assistive technology services, and 

personal assistance services, including training and 

management of those services; and  

(2) Provided in the most integrated setting that is 

appropriate for the vocational rehabilitation services 

involved and is consistent with the informed choice of 

the eligible individual. 

c. Timelines for the achievement of the employment 

outcome and for the initiation of vocational rehabilitation 

services. 

d. A description of the entity or entities chosen by the 

eligible individual or, as appropriate, the individual's 

representative that shall provide the vocational 

rehabilitation services and the methods used to procure 

those vocational rehabilitation services. 

e. A description of the criteria used to evaluate progress 

toward achievement of the employment outcome. 

f. The terms and conditions of the IPE, including, as 

appropriate, information describing:  

(1) The responsibilities of DBVI;  

(2) The responsibilities of the eligible individual, 

including: 

(a) The responsibilities the individual shall assume in 

relation to achieving the employment outcome;  

(b) If applicable, the extent of the individual's 

participation in paying for the cost of vocational 

rehabilitation services; and 

(c) The responsibility of the individual with regard to 

applying for and securing comparable services and 

benefits as defined in 22VAC45-51-10; and 

(3) The services received by the individual from other 

comparable services and benefits as defined in 

22VAC45-51-10.  

10. Post-employment services. The IPE for each individual 

shall contain, as determined to be necessary, statements 

concerning: 

a. The expected need for post-employment services prior 

to closing the record of vocational rehabilitation services 

of an individual who has achieved an employment 

outcome;  

b. A description of the terms and conditions for the 

provision of any post-employment service; and  

c. If appropriate, a statement of how post-employment 

services shall be provided or arranged through other 

comparable services and benefits as defined in 

22VAC45-51-10.  

22VAC45-51-90. Provision of services for individuals who 

are blind or visually impaired. 

The provision of vocational rehabilitation services shall be 

based on the rehabilitation needs of each individual as 

identified in that individual's IPE and shall be consistent with 

the individual's informed choice. DBVI shall not place 

arbitrary limits on the nature and scope of vocational 

rehabilitation services to be provided to the individual to 

achieve an employment outcome: 

1. In-state vocational rehabilitation services shall be 

preferred provided that the preference does not effectively 

deny an individual a necessary vocational rehabilitation 

service. If the individual chooses an out-of-state vocational 

rehabilitation service at a higher cost than an in-state 

vocational rehabilitation service and if either vocational 

rehabilitation service would meet the individual's 

rehabilitation needs, DBVI shall not be responsible for 

those costs in excess of the cost of the in-state vocational 

rehabilitation service.  

2. DBVI shall maintain written policies governing the rates 

of payment for all purchased vocational rehabilitation 

services.  

3. DBVI shall maintain a fee schedule designed to ensure a 

reasonable cost to the program for each vocational 

rehabilitation service that is not so low as to effectively 

deny an individual a necessary vocational rehabilitation 

service and not absolute and permits exceptions so that 

individual needs can be addressed.  
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4. DBVI shall not place absolute dollar limits on specific 

vocational rehabilitation service categories or on the total 

vocational rehabilitation services provided to an individual.  

5. DBVI shall not establish absolute time limits on the 

provision of specific vocational rehabilitation services or 

on the provision of vocational rehabilitation services to an 

individual. The duration of each vocational rehabilitation 

service needed by an individual shall be determined on an 

individual basis and reflected in that individual's IPE.  

6. DBVI shall authorize vocational rehabilitation services 

in a timely manner. 

7. Written authorizations shall be made either before or at 

the same time as the purchase of vocational rehabilitation 

services. An oral authorization may be given in an 

emergency situation, and the nature of the emergency, the 

specific authorization given, and the manner in which the 

authorization was made shall be documented in the 

individual's case file, and the authorization shall be 

confirmed in writing and forwarded to the provider of 

vocational rehabilitation services.  

22VAC45-51-100. Participation of individuals in the cost 

of services based on financial need.  

A. Individuals shall be required to participate in the costs of 

vocational rehabilitation services listed in subsection F of this 

section provided by DBVI based on financial need. DBVI 

shall consider certain factors in order to determine the 

financial needs of individuals applying for and receiving 

DBVI vocational rehabilitation services. 

B. DBVI shall consider an individual's financial need based 

on certain allowances and exclusions including: 

1. The individual's gross income. DBVI shall use a uniform 

income level including normal living requirements based 

on the median income for a four-person family provided by 

the Bureau of the Census as published in the Federal 

Register (45 CFR 96.85) for the Low Income Home 

Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP). The individual's 

financial need shall be based on 100% of the federal 

estimated median income in Virginia, which is published 

annually in the Federal Register; 

2. The individual's income or a portion of the individual's 

income based on family size;  

3. The estimated cost of the individual's vocational 

rehabilitation services specifically related to the 

individual's disability and not covered by comparable 

services and benefits; and 

4. The tuition costs for the individual or a family member 

to attend a private or public educational facility. 

C. DBVI shall consider the financial needs of eligible 

individuals using the following income: 

1. Annual taxable income (gross income);  

2. Annual nontaxable income such as social security 

benefits, veterans' benefits, retirement benefits, and 

workers' compensation benefits; 

3. Total cash assets, including checking and savings 

accounts, certificates, stocks, and bonds. DBVI shall 

maintain Exemptions for Liquid Assets table; and  

4. Income from real property. 

D. Annually, DBVI shall make a determination of the 

financial contribution of the individual resulting from an 

examination of (i) the number of persons in the family unit; 

(ii) annual taxable income minus allowances; and (iii) 

exclusions based on individual costs for medical or 

educational services specifically related to the individual's 

disability. 

E. Individuals with disabilities receiving social security 

benefits under Title II or XVI of the Social Security Act are 

exempt from consideration of financial need for vocational 

rehabilitation services.  

F. DBVI shall consider the financial need of eligible 

individuals who receive the following vocational 

rehabilitation services: 

1. Tuition for college or other training;  

2. Medical treatment and physical restoration services;  

3. Books and supplies;  

4. Services to members of an eligible individual's family 

when necessary to the vocational rehabilitation of the 

eligible individual; 

5. Occupational licenses, tools, equipment, and initial stock 

and supplies;  

6. Maintenance, as defined in 22VAC45-51-10, during 

training;  

7. Personal incidentals during training;  

8. Telecommunications, sensory, and other technological 

aids and devices when such aids and equipment are not 

used as adaptive devices for vocational training or 

employment or both;  

9. Transportation; and  

10. Rehabilitation engineering services when not incidental 

to the evaluation of rehabilitation potential. 

22VAC45-51-110. Participation of individuals in use of 

comparable services and benefits.  

A. Prior to providing any vocational rehabilitation services 

to an eligible individual, or to members of the individual's 

family, DBVI shall determine whether comparable services 

and benefits, as defined in 22VAC45-51-10, exist under any 

other program and whether those services and benefits are 

available to the individual unless such a determination would 

interrupt or delay the following: 

1. The progress of the individual toward achieving the 

employment outcome identified in the IPE; 

2. An immediate job placement; or 
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3. The provision of vocational rehabilitation services to 

any individual who is determined to be at extreme medical 

risk, based on medical evidence provided by an appropriate 

qualified medical professional.  

B. The following vocational rehabilitation services shall be 

exempt from a determination of the availability of 

comparable services and benefits and financial need 

consideration: 

1. Assessment for determination of eligibility and 

vocational rehabilitation needs and priority of vocational 

rehabilitation services;  

2. Counseling and guidance, including information and 

support services to assist an individual in exercising 

informed choice;  

3 Referral and other services to secure needed services 

from other agencies; 

4. Job-related services, including job search and placement 

assistance, job retention services, follow-up services, and 

follow-along services;  

5. Post-employment services consisting of services listed 

under subdivisions 1 through 4 of this subsection;  

6. Reader service for eligible individuals enrolled in 

college or in a vocational training program;  

7. Adjustment training and evaluations provided at the 

Virginia Rehabilitation Center for the Blind and Vision 

Impaired in Richmond;  

8. Prevocational adjustment training, such as rehabilitation 

teaching, provided to eligible individuals receiving 

vocational rehabilitation services from DBVI staff;  

9. Interpreter services for eligible individuals who are 

deafblind;  

10. Orientation and mobility training;  

11. Summer work experience for high school and college 

students; 

12. Work evaluation up to 30 days; 

13. Community evaluation training program with 

rehabilitation teaching; 

14. Work experience for adults up to three months; 

15. Work adjustment training up to three months; 

16. On-the-job training up to 30 days; 

17. Supported employment services; and 

18. Personal assistance services.  

C. If comparable services and benefits exist under any other 

program and are available to the individual at the time needed 

to ensure the progress of the individual toward achieving the 

employment outcome in the individual's IPE, DBVI shall use 

those comparable services and benefits to meet, in whole or 

part, the costs of the vocational rehabilitation services.  

D. If comparable services and benefits exist under any other 

program, but are not available to the individual at the time 

needed to ensure the progress of the individual toward 

achieving the employment outcome in the individual's IPE, 

DBVI shall provide vocational rehabilitation services until 

those comparable services and benefits become available. 

22VAC45-51-120. Periodic review of ineligibility 

determinations. 

When DBVI determines that an applicant is ineligible for 

vocational rehabilitation services or determines that an 

individual receiving vocational rehabilitation services under 

an IPE is no longer eligible for vocational rehabilitation 

services, DBVI shall: 

1. Make a determination of ineligibility only after 

providing the individual, or as appropriate, the individual's 

representative, with an opportunity for full consultation; 

2. Inform the individual in writing, supplemented as 

necessary by other modes of communication consistent 

with the informed choice of the individual, of the 

ineligibility determination including reasons for that 

determination; 

3. Inform the individual in writing, supplemented as 

necessary by other modes of communication consistent 

with the informed choice of the individual, the means by 

which the individual may express and seek remedy for 

dissatisfaction, including the procedures for review of 

determinations by DBVI; 

4. Provide the individual with a description of services 

available from the client assistance program established in 

the disAbility Law Center of Virginia; and  

5. Within 12 months of the ineligibility determination and 

annually thereafter if requested by the individual or, if 

appropriate, by the individual's representative, review any 

ineligibility determination that is based on a finding that 

the individual is incapable of achieving an employment 

outcome. This review need not be conducted in situations 

in which the individual has refused it, the individual is no 

longer present in the state, the individual's whereabouts are 

unknown, or the individual's medical condition is rapidly 

progressive or terminal.  

22VAC45-51-130. Periodic review of extended 

employment. 

DBVI shall annually review and reevaluate the status of 

each individual with a disability who has achieved an 

employment outcome either in an extended employment 

setting in a community rehabilitation program or in any other 

employment setting in which the individual is compensated in 

accordance with § 14(c) of the Fair Labor Standards Act and 

29 CFR Part 525 for two years after the individual achieves 

the employment outcome (and thereafter if requested by the 

individual or, if appropriate, the individual's representative) to 

determine the interests, priorities, and needs of the individual 

with respect to competitive employment or training for 

competitive employment.  
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22VAC45-51-140. Review of determinations made by 

DBVI. 

A. An applicant or eligible individual who is dissatisfied 

with any determination made by DBVI that affects the 

provision of vocational rehabilitation services may request, 

or, if appropriate, may request through the individual's 

representative, a timely review of that determination.  

B. General requirements. 

1. Notification. DBVI shall provide the applicant, or 

eligible individual or, as appropriate, the individual's 

representative, notice of: 

a. His right to obtain review of DBVI determinations that 

affect the provision of vocational rehabilitation through 

an impartial due process hearing conducted by an 

impartial hearing officer; 

b. His right to informal dispute resolution; 

c. His right to pursue mediation with respect to 

determinations made by DBVI that affect the provision 

of vocational rehabilitation services to the applicant or 

eligible individual conducted by an impartial certified 

mediator; 

d. The names and addresses of individuals with whom 

requests for mediation or due process hearings may be 

filed; 

e. The manner in which a mediator or impartial hearing 

officer may be selected; and 

f. The availability of the client assistance program, 

established in the disAbility Law Center of Virginia, to 

assist the applicant or eligible individual during 

mediation sessions or impartial due process hearings.  

2. Timing. DBVI shall provide notice of the review 

process: 

a. At the time the individual applies for vocational 

rehabilitation services; 

b. At the time the individual is assigned to a category in 

DBVI's order of selection; 

c. At the time the IPE is developed; and 

d. Whenever vocational rehabilitation services for an 

individual are reduced, suspended, or terminated.  

3. DBVI shall not suspend, reduce, or terminate vocational 

rehabilitation services provided to an applicant or eligible 

individual, including evaluation and assessment services 

and IPE development, pending a decision by a hearing 

officer, mediator, or informal resolution unless:  

a. The individual or, in appropriate cases, the individual's 

representative, requests a suspension, reduction, or 

termination of services; or 

b. DBVI has evidence that the services have been 

obtained through misrepresentation, fraud, collusion, or 

criminal conduct on the part of the individual or the 

individual's representative. 

C. Informal dispute resolution.  

1. DBVI maintains a two-step informal dispute resolution 

process that is available, at a minimum, whenever an 

applicant or eligible individual or, as appropriate, the 

individual's representative, requests an impartial due 

process hearing under this section.  

a. Step 1. If an individual has a complaint or grievance 

that cannot be resolved in conversation with the DBVI 

employee, the individual must prepare a written 

grievance on a grievance form obtainable from DBVI. 

The grievance form is submitted by the individual to the 

DBVI employee and the employee's supervisor. The 

supervisor shall meet with the individual, and as 

requested, the individual's representative, within a 

reasonable time not to exceed two weeks of DBVI's 

receipt of the grievance form. The supervisor shall work 

with the individual to reach a mutually satisfactory 

solution to the grievance.  

b. Step 2. If the individual's grievance is not resolved in 

Step 1, the individual may request a meeting with the 

Deputy Commissioner of DBVI. This request shall be 

made in writing to the deputy commissioner within two 

weeks of the Step 1 decision. The deputy commissioner 

shall meet with the individual and, as requested, the 

individual's representative within five full working days 

of receipt of the Step 2 request. The deputy 

commissioner shall reply in writing to the individual 

within three full working days following the Step 2 

meeting. In the event that the individual's complaint 

involves the supervisor, the deputy commissioner shall 

handle the Step 1 meeting, and the commissioner shall 

handle the Step 2 meeting.  

c. Steps 1 and 2 may be conducted in person or by 

telephone. 

2. Participation in the informal dispute resolution process 

shall be voluntary on the part of the applicant or eligible 

individual and on the part of DBVI. 

3. The informal dispute resolution process shall not be used 

to deny the right of an applicant or eligible individual to a 

hearing, including the right to pursue mediation.  

4. If informal dispute resolution is not successful in 

resolving the dispute, a  formal hearing shall be conducted 

within 60 days of the applicant's or eligible individual's 

request for review of a determination made by DBVI, 

unless DBVI and the individual agree to a specific 

extension of time.  

D. Mediation. 

1. A mediation process shall be made available, at a 

minimum, whenever an applicant or eligible individual or, 

as appropriate, the individual's representative requests an 

impartial due process hearing under this section.  
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2. Participation in the mediation process shall be voluntary 

on the part of the applicant or eligible individual and on the 

part of DBVI. 

3. Use of the mediation process shall not be used to deny 

or delay the applicant's or eligible individual's right to 

pursue resolution of the dispute through an impartial 

hearing held within the time period specified in subsection 

E of this section.  

4. The mediation process shall be conducted by a qualified 

and impartial mediator who shall be selected from a list of 

qualified and impartial mediators maintained by DBVI.  

5. At any point during the mediation process, either party 

or the mediator may elect to terminate the mediation.  In 

the event mediation is terminated, either party may pursue 

resolution through an impartial hearing. 

6. The applicant or eligible individual or, as appropriate, 

the individual's representative shall have the opportunity to 

submit during mediation sessions or due process hearings 

evidence and other information that supports the 

applicant's or eligible individual's position.  

7. The applicant or eligible individual may be represented 

during mediation sessions or due process hearings by 

counsel or other advocates selected by the applicant or 

eligible individual.  

E. Formal due process hearings. 

1. If the individual is not satisfied with decisions made 

during the informal resolution process or through 

mediation, he may proceed to a formal due process hearing 

by making a request in writing to the DBVI Vocational 

Rehabilitation Director. 

2. The formal due process hearing shall be conducted by an 

impartial hearing officer within 60 days of the applicant's 

or eligible individual's request for review of a 

determination made by DBVI unless informal resolution or 

a mediation agreement achieves resolution prior to the 60th 

day or the parties agree to a specific extension of time. 

3. DBVI shall randomly select the impartial hearing officer 

from a list of qualified hearing officers identified jointly by 

the State Rehabilitation Council for the Blind and Vision 

Impaired and the Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 

Services. 

4. The hearing officer shall conduct the formal due process 

hearing in accordance with this section and federal 

vocational rehabilitation regulations.  

5. In addition to the rights described in this section, the 

applicant or eligible individual or, if appropriate, the 

individual's representative shall be given the opportunity to 

present witnesses during the hearing and to examine all 

witnesses and other relevant sources of information and 

evidence.  

6. The applicant or eligible individual or, as appropriate, 

the individual's representative shall have the opportunity to 

submit during the formal due process hearings evidence 

and other information that supports the applicant's or 

eligible individual's position. 

7. The applicant or eligible individual may be represented 

during the formal due process hearings by counsel or other 

advocates selected by the applicant or eligible individual. 

8. Conduct of the formal due process hearing: 

a. The hearing officer shall determine the proprietary of 

attendance at the hearing of those individuals not having 

a direct interest in the hearing.  

b. The hearing officer may, at the beginning of the 

hearing, ask for statements clarifying the issues involved. 

c. Exhibits offered by the applicant or eligible individual 

may be received by the hearing officer; when received, 

the exhibits shall be marked and made part of the record.  

d. The applicant or eligible individual and his 

representative and the DBVI employee shall then present 

claims, proof, and witnesses who shall submit to 

questions or other examinations. The hearing officer, at 

his discretion, may vary this procedure but shall present 

full opportunity to all parties and witnesses for 

presentation of any material or relevant proof. 

e. The parties shall produce such additional evidence as 

the hearing officer may deem necessary to reach an 

understanding or determination of the dispute. The 

hearing officer shall be the judge of relevancy or 

materiality of the evidence presented in the case. All 

evidence shall be taken in the presence of the parties. 

f. After all evidence has been presented, the hearing 

officer shall declare the hearing closed.  

9. At the conclusion of the formal hearing, the hearing 

officer shall issue a written decision of his findings of fact 

and conclusions of law within 30 days of the completion of 

the formal hearing. 

10. The hearing officer's decision shall be a final decision, 

and the applicant or eligible individual may appeal the 

hearing officer's decision to a representative from the 

Governor's office within 20 days of the mailing of the 

impartial hearing officer's decision. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (22VAC45-51) 

Application for Vocational Rehabilitation Services, DBVI-

04-01 (rev. 4/2014) 

Consent to Release Confidential Information for Alcohol or 

Drug Patients, DBVI-70-22 (rev. 10/2015) 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=04248001168~1&typ=40&actno=001168&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=04248001168~1&typ=40&actno=001168&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=55faa001168~2&typ=40&actno=001168&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=55faa001168~2&typ=40&actno=001168&mime=application/pdf
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Consent to Release Health Information, DBVI-70-23 (rev. 

10/2015) 

Consent to Release Personal Information, DBVI-70-29 (rev. 

10/2015) 

Eye Exam Report, DBVI-70-20E (rev. 7/2014) 

Financial Determination/Redetermination Statement Form, 

DBVI-70-06 (rev. 9/2014) 

Health Checklist/General Medical Examination, DBVI-70-

04 (rev. 6/2014) 

Individualized Plan for Employment Form (eff. 12/2015) 

Individualized Plan for Employment Planned Services Form 

(rev. 12/2015) 

Service Complaint/Grievance Form, DBVI-70-01 (rev. 

9/2013) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1168; Filed December 15, 2015, 4:15 p.m.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f9bfe001168~3&typ=40&actno=001168&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f9bfe001168~3&typ=40&actno=001168&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=77ebe001168~4&typ=40&actno=001168&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=77ebe001168~4&typ=40&actno=001168&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1d711001168~5&typ=40&actno=001168&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=52a2e001168~6&typ=40&actno=001168&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=52a2e001168~6&typ=40&actno=001168&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=76af8001168~7&typ=40&actno=001168&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=76af8001168~7&typ=40&actno=001168&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0a3d0001168~8&typ=40&actno=001168&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6f659001168~9&typ=40&actno=001168&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6f659001168~9&typ=40&actno=001168&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b4ba9001168~10&typ=40&actno=001168&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b4ba9001168~10&typ=40&actno=001168&mime=application/pdf
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

BOARD FOR ARCHITECTS, PROFESSIONAL 
ENGINEERS, LAND SURVEYORS, CERTIFIED 

INTERIOR DESIGNERS AND LANDSCAPE 
ARCHITECTS 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Board for Architects, 

Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, Certified Interior 

Designers and Landscape Architects is currently reviewing 

each of the regulations listed below to determine whether the 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. The review of each regulation will be guided by 

the principles in Executive Order 17 (2014). Public comment 

is sought on the review of any issue relating to each 

regulation, including whether the regulation (i) is necessary 

for the protection of public health, safety, and welfare or for 

the economical performance of important governmental 

functions; (ii) minimizes the economic impact on small 

businesses in a manner consistent with the stated objectives 

of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly written and easily 

understandable. 

18VAC10-11, Public Participation Guidelines 

18VAC10-20, Board for Architects, Professional 

Engineers, Land Surveyors, Certified Interior Designers 

and Landscape Architects Regulations 

The comment period begins January 11, 2016, and ends 

February 1, 2016. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Town Hall and a report of the small business 

impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

Contact Information: Kathleen R. Nosbisch, Executive 

Director, Department of Professional Occupational 

Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-8514, FAX (866) 465-6206, or 

email apelscidla@dpor.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation is conducting a 

periodic review and small business impact review of 

18VAC120-40, Virginia Professional Boxing and 

Wrestling Event Regulations. 

The review of this regulation will be guided by the principles 

in Executive Order 17 (2014).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

The comment period begins January 11, 2016, and ends 

February 1, 2016. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall at 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 

may also be sent to Kathleen R. Nosbisch, Executive 

Director, Department of Professional Occupational 

Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-8514, FAX (866) 465-6206, or 

email boxing@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Town Hall and a report of the small business 

impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Total Maximum Daily Load for Hardware River 
Watershed 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) seeks 

written and oral comments from interested persons on the 

development of a total maximum daily load (TMDL) 

implementation plan (IP) for the Hardware River watershed 

(North Fork Hardware and Hardware Rivers) in Albemarle 

and Fluvanna Counties. The North Fork Hardware River and 

the Hardware River were first listed as impaired on the 

Virginia's § 303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report due to 

violations of the state's water quality standard for bacteria in 

2006. The creeks have remained on the § 303(d) list for these 

impairments since then.  

The impaired segment of the North Fork Hardware River 

extends 10.42 miles from the headwaters downstream to its 

confluence with the South Fork Hardware River. The 

impaired segment of Hardware River extends 23.03 miles 
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from its confluence with the North Fork downstream to its 

confluence with the James River.  

Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C 

of the Code of Virginia require DEQ to develop TMDLs for 

pollutants responsible for each impaired water contained in 

Virginia's § 303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report. In 

addition, § 62.1- 44.19:7 C of the Code of Virginia requires 

expeditious implementation of total maximum daily loads 

when appropriate. The IP should provide measurable goals 

and the date of expected achievement of water quality 

objectives. The IP should also include the corrective actions 

needed and their associated costs, benefits, and environmental 

impacts. DEQ completed bacteria TMDLs for the Hardware 

River and the North Fork in July 2007. The TMDLs were 

approved by the Environmental Protection Agency on April 

10, 2008. The TMDL report is available on the DEQ website 

at 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityIn

formationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/ApprovedTM

DLReports.aspx. The TMDLs were modified in 2015 to 

correct a series of modeling errors. The draft revised TMDL 

report is available on the DEQ website at 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityIn

formationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/DraftTMDLR

eports.aspx. 

Development of the Hardware River TMDL Implementation 

Plan began in March 2015.  

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality will host 

a public meeting on the development of this TMDL 

implementation plan on January 12, 2016, from 7 p.m. to 

8:30 p.m. at Walton Middle School, 4217 Red Hill Road, 

Charlottesville, VA. The meeting will include refreshments 

from the Crust and Crumb Bakery in Scottsville, sponsored 

by the Fluvanna County Farm Bureau. On January 13, 2016, 

the implementation plan will be available for public comment 

on the DEQ website at 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityIn

formationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLImplementation/TMDLImpl

ementationPlans.aspx. 

In the event of inclement weather, the meeting will be 

postponed until Tuesday, January 19, but will still be held at 

the same time and location. If schools are closed on January 

12, then the meeting will be postponed. If inclement weather 

begins after schools let out for the day, please call Nesha 

McRae at (540) 574-7850 to determine whether the meeting 

will be held as scheduled.  

The public comment period for the implementation plan will 

end on February 11, 2016. Written comments should include 

the name, address, and telephone number of the person 

submitting the comments and should be sent to Nesha 

McRae, Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 

3000, Harrisonburg, VA, 22801, telephone (540) 574-7850, 

or emailed to nesha.mcrae@deq.virginia.gov. 

Total Maximum Daily Load for West, Stephens, and 
Crooked Runs Watersheds 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) seeks 

written and oral comments from interested persons on the 

development of a total maximum daily load (TMDL) 

implementation plan (IP) for the West, Stephens, and 

Crooked Runs watersheds in Frederick, Warren, and Clarke 

Counties. West and Stephens Runs were first listed as 

impaired on the Virginia's § 303(d) TMDL Priority List and 

Report due to violations of the state's water quality standard 

for bacteria in 2010, while Crooked Run was listed in 2002. 

The creeks have remained on the § 303(d) list for these 

impairments since then.  

The impaired segment of West Run extends 6.12 miles from 

its headwaters downstream to its confluence with Crooked 

Run. The impaired segment of Stephens Run extends 0.95 

miles from its confluence with an unnamed tributary to its 

confluence with Crooked Run. The impaired segment of 

Crooked Run extends 8.87 miles down from the Lake 

Frederick dam to its confluence with the Shenandoah River.  

Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C 

of the Code of Virginia require DEQ to develop TMDLs for 

pollutants responsible for each impaired water contained in 

Virginia's § 303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report. In 

addition, § 62.1-44.19:7 C of the Code of Virginia requires 

expeditious implementation of total maximum daily loads 

when appropriate. The IP should provide measurable goals 

and the date of expected achievement of water quality 

objectives. The IP should also include the corrective actions 

needed and their associated costs, benefits, and environmental 

impacts. DEQ completed bacteria TMDLs for the Crooked, 

Stephens, and West Runs in September 2014. The TMDLs 

were submitted to the Environmental Protection Agency for 

approval November of 2015. The draft TMDL report is 

available on the DEQ website at 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityIn

formationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/DraftTMDLR

eports.aspx. 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality will host 

a public meeting to initiate the development of a TMDL 

Implementation Plan for Crooked, Stephens, and West Runs. 

The meeting will be held on Thursday, January 28, 2016, at 

6:30 p.m. at the Lord Fairfax Community College's Carl and 

Emily Thompson Conference Center, 173 Skirmisher Lane, 

Middletown, VA. For driving directions, please visit 

http://www.lfcc.edu/about-lfcc/locations/middletown-

campus/. In the event of inclement weather, the meeting will 

be postponed until February 3, 2016, to be held at the same 

time and location. Please call the number provided below to 

confirm postponement of the meeting.  

A 30-day public comment period for the meeting will begin 

January 29, 2016, and end February 29, 2016. Written 

comments should include the name, address, and telephone 
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number of the person submitting the comments and should be 

sent to Nesha McRae, Department of Environmental Quality, 

P.O. Box 3000, Harrisonburg, VA, 22801, telephone (540) 

574-7850, or emailed to nesha.mcrae@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Fannon 
Petroleum Services, Inc. and Wharton Supply Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Fannon 

Petroleum Services, Inc. and Wharton Supply Inc. of Virginia 

for violations in Fairfax County. The order resolves violations 

of State Water Control Law stemming from the unauthorized 

discharge of oil. A description of the proposed action is 

available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 

named below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Daniel 

Burstein will accept comments by email at 

daniel.burstein@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (703) 583-3821, or 

postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, 

VA 22193, from January 12, 2016, through February 11, 

2016. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, General Assembly Building, 201 North 9th 

Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: Voice 

(804) 786-3591; Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

http://www.virginia.gov/connect/commonwealth-calendar. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 

 

ERRATA 

BOARD FOR ARCHITECTS, PROFESSIONAL 
ENGINEERS, LAND SURVEYORS, CERTIFIED 

INTERIOR DESIGNERS AND LANDSCAPE 
ARCHITECTS 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC10-20. Board for Architects, 

Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, Certified 

Interior Designers and Landscape Architects Regulations. 

Publication: 32:6 VA.R. 1057-1100 November 16, 2015. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 1066, subdivision 2 of 18VAC10-20-220, line 5, after 

"licensed in" unstrike "a" and delete "another" 

Page 1066, subdivision 3 of 18VAC10-20-220, line 5, after 

"in" unstrike "a" and delete "another" 

VA.R. Doc. No.R11-2357; Filed December 17, 2015, 2:21 p.m. 

 

varegs@dls.virginia.gov
http://www.virginia.gov/connect/commonwealth-calendar
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
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