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VIRGINIA REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are
published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia
Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of
regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law
to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia
Register is a source of other information about state government,
including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive
orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on
regulations.

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS
An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first
publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the
agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice
giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the
text of the proposed regulation.

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60
days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is
necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is
clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to
comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted
to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the
completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s
comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less
than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment
period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation.

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the
appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly
may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an
objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection
will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt
by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response
with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor.
When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since
publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon
final publication in the Virginia Register.

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end
of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive
signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body
and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the
regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the
Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have
substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional
30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional
public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the
Virginia Register.

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it
receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public
comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or
inconsequential impact.

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating
agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection
period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to
provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation,

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall
be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided
for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General
Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a
regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation,
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall
be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no
earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action.
A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at
any time before the regulation becomes final.
FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS
Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from
certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency
regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial. To use this
process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be
provided to certain legislative committees. Fast-track regulations will
become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no
objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1.
EMERGENCY REGULATIONS
Pursuant to §2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon
consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the
Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an
emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency
regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal
law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280
days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes
operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations,
unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no
more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six
months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D.
Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register.
During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual
procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the
agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the
Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency
regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within
180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency
chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the
prescribed time limit expires.
STATEMENT
The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2
(8 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be
examined carefully.

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER
The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date.
29:5 VA.R. 1075-1192 November 5, 2012, refers to VVolume 29, Issue
5, pages 1075 through 1192 of the Virginia Register issued on
November 5, 2012.
The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6
(8 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.
Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair;
James M. LeMunyon, Vice Chair; Gregory D. Habeeb; Ryan T.
McDougle; Pamela S. Baskervill; Robert L. Calhoun; Carlos L.
Hopkins; E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; Christopher R.
Nolen; Timothy Oksman; Charles S. Sharp; Mark J. Vucci.
Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations;
Karen Perrine, Assistant Registrar; Anne Bloomsburg, Regulations
Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Operations
Staff Assistant.
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES

This schedule is available on the Register's Internet home page (http://register.dls.virginia.gov).

Volume: Issue

32:17
32:18
32:19
32:20
32:21
32:22
32:23
32:24
32:25
32:26
331
33:2
333
33:4
335
33:6
33:7
33:8
33:9
33:10
33:11
33:12
33:13
33:14
33:15
33:16

April 2016 through April 2017

Material Submitted By Noon*

Will Be Published On

March 30, 2016
April 13, 2016
April 27, 2016

May 11, 2016

May 25, 2016

June 8, 2016

June 22, 2016

July 6, 2016

July 20, 2016
August 3, 2016
August 17, 2016
August 31, 2016
September 14, 2016
September 28, 2016
October 12, 2016
October 26, 2016
November 9, 2016
November 22, 2016 (Tuesday)
December 7, 2016
December 19, 2016 (Monday)
January 4, 2017
January 18, 2017
February 1, 2017
February 15, 2017
March 1, 2017
March 15, 2017

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified.

April 18, 2016
May 2, 2016

May 16, 2016

May 30, 2016

June 13, 2016

June 27, 2016

July 11, 2016

July 25, 2016
August 8, 2016
August 22, 2016
September 5, 2016
September 19, 2016
October 3, 2016
October 17, 2016
October 31, 2016
November 14, 2016
November 28, 2016
December 12, 2016
December 26, 2016
January 9, 2017
January 23, 2017
February 6, 2017
February 20, 2017
March 6, 2017
March 20, 2017
April 3, 2017
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING

TITLE 12. HEALTH

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH
Agency Decision

Title of Regqulation: 12VAC5-550. Board of Health
Regulations Governing Vital Records.

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-12 and 32.1-249 through 32.1-276
of the Code of Virginia.

Name of Petitioner: James Parrish, Equality Virginia; and
Arli Christian, National Center for Transgender Equality.

Nature of Petitioner's Request: The petitioner requests that the
vital records regulations be amended as follows: Virginia's
birth certificate gender change regulation should not require
surgery, based on a modern understanding of appropriate
treatment for transgender people. Virginia's birth certificate
gender change regulation should not require a court order, as
courts are a costly and complicated barrier to many
transgender people, and medical providers, rather than judges,
have the professional expertise to request the appropriate
gender marker on a birth certificate.

Agency Decision: Request denied.

Statement of Reason for Decision: The Board of Health does
not have statutory authority to amend the Regulations
Governing Vital Records (12VAC5-550) as requested by the
petitioner. Section 32.1-269 E of the Code of Virginia states
as follows: "Upon receipt of a certified copy of an order of a
court of competent jurisdiction indicating that the sex of an
individual has been changed by medical procedure and upon
request of such person, the State Registrar shall amend such
person's certificate of birth to show the change of sex and, if a
certified copy of a court order changing the person's name is
submitted, to show a new name." Given this current statutory
requirement, legislation would need to be enacted authorizing
the Board of Health to amend the regulations as requested.

Agency Contact: Janet Rainey, Director, Department of
Health, Division of Vital Records, 2001 Maywill Street, Suite
268, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 662-5245, FAX
(804) 662-6272, or email janet.rainey@vdh.virginia.gov.

VAR. Doc. No. R16-07; Filed March 17, 2016, 3:41 p.m.

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
SERVICES
Agency Decision

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-20. Administration of
Medical Assistance Services.

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia.

Name of Petitioner: Jeremiah J. Jewett, I11.

Nature of Petitioner's Request: The petitioner requests that the
formal appeals regulations be amended as follows: "The
DMAS director shall issue the final agency case decision to
the provider, with a copy to the hearing officer, within 60
days of receipt of the hearing officer's recommended
decision."

Agency Decision: Request denied.

Statement of Reason for Decision: After considering the
petition for rulemaking, the DMAS director, under the
authority of § 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia, determined
that the requested change does not require regulatory action.
DMAS will begin sending final agency decisions to the
provider, with a copy to the hearing officer. The copy sent to
the hearing officer will not be redacted.

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor,
Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical
Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300,
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, or email
emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov.

VAR. Doc. No. R16-14; Filed March 18, 2016, 1:27 p.m.
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION

TITLE 13. HOUSING

BOARD OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY
DEVELOPMENT

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Housing and
Community Development intends to consider amending
13VAC5-31, Virginia Amusement Device Regulations. The
purpose of the proposed action is to update the regulation to
incorporate by reference the 2015 editions of the nationally
recognized American Society for Testing and Materials
(ASTM) standards. This action is exempt from the
Administrative Process Act in accordance with subdivision
A 2 of § 2.2-4006 of the Code of Virginia.

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed
action after publication in the Virginia Register.
Statutory Authority: § 36-98.3 of the Code of Virginia.
Public Comment Deadline: May 18, 2016.
Agency Contact: Elizabeth O. Rafferty, Policy and
Legislative Director, Department of Housing and Community
Development, Main Street Centre, 600 East Main Street,
Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-7011,
FAX (804) 371-7090, TTY (804) 371-7089, or email
elizabeth.rafferty@dhcd.virginia.gov.

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4667; Filed March 25, 2016, 10:10 a.m.

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with 8 2.2-4007.01 of
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Housing and
Community Development intends to consider amending
13VAC5-51, Virginia Statewide Fire Prevention Code.
The purpose of the proposed action is to update the regulation
to incorporate by reference the 2015 editions of the nationally
recognized model building codes and standards produced by
the International Code Council. This action is exempt from
the Administrative Process Act in accordance with
subdivision A 12 of § 2.2-4006 of the Code of Virginia.

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed
action after publication in the Virginia Register.
Statutory Authority: § 27-97 of the Code of Virginia.
Public Comment Deadline: May 18, 2016.
Agency Contact: Elizabeth O. Rafferty, Policy and
Legislative Director, Department of Housing and Community
Development, Main Street Centre, 600 East Main Street,
Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-7011,
FAX (804) 371-7090, TTY (804) 371-7089, or email
elizabeth.rafferty@dhcd.virginia.gov.

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4665; Filed March 25, 2016, 9:54 a.m.

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Housing and
Community Development intends to consider amending
13VAC5-63, Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code.
The purpose of the proposed action is to update the regulation
to incorporate by reference the 2015 editions of the nationally
recognized model building codes and standards produced by
the International Code Council. This action is exempt from
the Administrative Process Act in accordance with
subdivision A 12 of § 2.2-4006 of the Code of Virginia.

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed
action after publication in the Virginia Register.
Statutory Authority: § 36-98 of the Code of Virginia.
Public Comment Deadline: May 18, 2016.
Agency Contact: Elizabeth O. Rafferty, Policy and
Legislative Director, Department of Housing and Community
Development, Main Street Centre, 600 East Main Street,
Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-7011,
FAX (804) 371-7090, TTY (804) 371-7089, or email
elizabeth.rafferty@dhcd.virginia.gov.

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4664; Filed March 25, 2016, 9:49 a.m.

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Housing and
Community Development intends to consider amending
13VAC5-91, Virginia Industrialized Building Safety
Regulations. The purpose of the proposed action is to update
the regulation to incorporate by reference the 2015 editions of
the nationally recognized model building codes and standards
produced by the International Code Council. This action is
exempt from the Administrative Process Act in accordance
with subdivision A 12 of § 2.2-4006 of the Code of Virginia.

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed
action after publication in the Virginia Register.
Statutory Authority: § 36-73 of the Code of Virginia.
Public Comment Deadline: May 18, 2016.
Agency Contact: Elizabeth O. Rafferty, Policy and
Legislative Director, Department of Housing and Community
Development, Main Street Centre, 600 East Main Street,
Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-7011,
FAX (804) 371-7090, TTY (804) 371-7089, or email
elizabeth.rafferty@dhcd.virginia.gov.

VAR. Doc. No. R16-4666; Filed March 25, 2016, 10:01 a.m.
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REGULATIONS

For information concerning the different types of regulations, see the Information Page.

Symbol Key
Roman type indicates existing text of regulations. Underscored language indicates proposed new text.
Language that has been stricken indicates proposed text for deletion. Brackets are used in final regulations to indicate changes from the
proposed regulation.

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER
SERVICES

Fast-Track Regulation

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-200. Rules and Regulations
Pertaining to the Disposal of Entire Flocks of Dead
Poultry (repealing 2VAC5-200-10 through 2VAC5-200-
60).

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-6029 of the Code of Virginia.

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are
scheduled.

Public Comment Deadline: May 18, 2016.
Effective Date: June 2, 2016.

Agency Contact: Charles Broaddus, DVM, Program
Manager, Veterinary Services, Department of Agriculture and
Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218,
telephone (804) 786-4560, FAX (804) 371-2380, TTY (800)
828-1120, or email charles.broaddus@vdacs.virginia.gov.

Basis: Section 3.2-109 of the Code of Virginia establishes the
Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services as a policy
board with the authority to adopt regulations in accordance
with the provisions of Title 3.2 of the Code of Virginia.
Section 3.2-6001 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the board
and the State Veterinarian to protect livestock and poultry
from contagious and infectious disease. Section 3.2-6002 of
the Code of Virginia authorizes the board to adopt regulations
to prevent the spread of and to eradicate contagious and
infectious livestock and poultry diseases. Section 3.2-6029 of
the Code of Virginia authorizes the board to adopt regulations
concerning the specifications of disposal pits, incinerators,
composting, and rendering and all other matters within the
purview and scope of Article 2 (§ 3.2-6024 et seq.) of Chapter
60 of Title 3.2 of the Code of Virginia to carry out the
provisions of that article.

Purpose: This regulation was adopted in the late 1980s and
describes rules that pertain to a poultry producer with 500 or
more poultry that needs to dispose of the entire flock of dead
poultry. Recent discussion with the poultry industry indicate
that the regulation has not been utilized or applied since it
was adopted over 25 years ago and the agency cannot foresee
a circumstance where the regulation would be needed in the
future. The regulation includes outdated language, including
references to Department of Environmental Quality
regulations that are no longer valid or applicable. It is
generally redundant with § 3.2-6026 of the Code of Virginia

titled "Disposal of dead poultry.”" This section of the Code of
Virginia lists the same methods of disposal that are listed in
this regulation.

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The
regulation has not been utilized or applied since it was
adopted over 25 years ago, and the agency cannot foresee a
circumstance where the regulation would be needed in the
future. There is no longer a need for this regulation. The
agency is not aware of any stakeholders who think that the
regulation should be retained or that the regulation is of any
benefit to them.

Substance: Due to an existing Code of Virginia section that
makes the regulation redundant and the fact that the
regulation has never been utilized or applied since its
adoption, this regulation is no longer needed. Therefore, the
agency proposes to repeal the regulation.

Issues: The primary advantage to the public in repealing the
regulation is that there would no longer be an outdated
regulation that specifies actions that are no longer taken. The
agency and Commonwealth will no longer be in a position of
having an outdated regulation that is not enforced. This action
is part of good governance in that an outdated, unnecessary
regulation will be eliminated. There are no disadvantages to
the public or the Commonwealth associated with repealing
the regulation.

Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings: This
regulatory action serves as the report of the findings of the
regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of
Virginia.

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact
Analysis:

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. As the
result of a periodic review, the Board of Agriculture and
Consumer Services (Board) proposes to repeal its Rules and
Regulations Pertaining to the Disposal of Entire Flocks of
Dead Poultry.

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for all
proposed regulatory changes.

Estimated Economic Impact. This regulation provides the
framework for the transportation and disposal methods for
entire flocks of dead poultry (i.e., pits, incinerators, landfills
and rendering).! Board staff reports that the substance of this
regulation is redundant with the Code of Virginia,® the
regulation has not been utilized in the 25 years it has been in
effect and that the Board does not foresee a circumstance
where it would be utilized in the future.
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Regulations

Because of this, and because the regulation contains outdated
references that would likely be confusing to readers, the
Board now proposes its repeal. No entity is likely to incur
costs on account of this action. To the extent that readers
might have found the obsolete language contradictory to other
regulations and confusing, this repeal will provide the benefit
of clarification.

Businesses and Entities Affected. Poultry farmers who
maintain flocks of poultry would in theory be affected by
both this regulation and its repeal. Board staff does not have
an estimate of how many such flocks are maintained in the
Commonwealth.

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be
particularly affected by this proposed regulatory repeal.

Projected Impact on Employment. This proposed regulatory
repeal is unlikely to have any effect on employment in the
Commonwealth.

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This
proposed regulatory repeal is unlikely to affect the use or
value of private property in the Commonwealth.

Real Estate Development Costs. This proposed regulatory
repeal is unlikely to affect real estate development costs in the
Commonwealth.

Small Businesses:

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia,
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and
(i) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross
annual sales of less than $6 million."

Costs and Other Effects. Small businesses are unlikely to
incur any costs on account of this proposed regulatory repeal.
Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. Small
businesses are unlikely to incur any costs on account of the
proposed regulatory repeal.

Adverse Impacts:

Businesses. Businesses are unlikely to incur any costs on
account of this proposed regulatory repeal.

Localities. Localities in the Commonwealth are unlikely to
see any adverse impacts on account of this proposed
regulatory repeal.

Other Entities. No other entities are likely to be adversely
affected by this proposed repeal.

Yhis regulation does not have a definition for rendering but instead refers to
the federal regulation (9 CFR 82.1) that does.

2§§ 3.2-6024 through 3.2-6030 (titled as Article 1l — Disposal of Dead
Poultry)

Agency Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The agency
concurs with the economic impact analysis of the Department
of Planning and Budget.

Summary:

The regulation has not been used or applied since it was
adopted more than 25 years ago, and the agency cannot
foresee a circumstance in which the regulation would be
needed in the future. The regulation includes outdated
language and is generally duplicative of § 3.2-6026 of the
Code of Virginia, which lists the same methods of disposal
as the regulation. Therefore, the regulation is repealed.
VAR. Doc. No. R16-4573; Filed March 30, 2016, 10:19 a.m.

L 4 *

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL
RESOURCES

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION

Forms

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: A form used in administering the
following regulation has been filed by the Marine Resources
Commission. The form is not being published; however,
online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of
Regulations may click on the name of the form to access it.
The form is also available from the agency contact or may be
viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, General
Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219.

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-395. General Permit for
Emergency Situations and Water Quality Improvement
Projects.

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator,
Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue,
3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-
2248, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov.

FORMS (4VAC20-395)

1065A/MRC-30-300-{rev—4/93).

Tidewater Joint Permit Application (JPA) for Projects
Involving Tidal Waters, Tidal Wetlands, and/or Dunes and
Beaches in Virginia (rev. 3/2014)

VAR. Doc. No. R16-4659; Filed March 22, 2016, 8:38 a.m.
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Regulations

Final Regulation

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources
Commission is claiming an exemption from the
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A
11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is
required to publish the full text of final regulations.

Title of Requlation: 4VAC20-490. Pertaining to Sharks
(amending 4VAC20-490-20; adding 4VAC20-490-48).

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia.
Effective Date: April 1, 2016.

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator,
Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue,
3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-
2248, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov.

Summary:
The amendments add (i) smoothhound shark to the smooth
dogfish definition and (ii) a smooth dogfish commercial
quota and smooth dogfish catch limitations.
4VAC20-490-20. Definitions.

The following words and terms when used in this chapter
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly
indicates otherwise.

"Agent" means any person who possesses the Commercial
Fisherman Registration License, fishing gear license, or
fishing permit of a registered commercial fisherman in order
to fish that commercial fisherman's gear or sell that
commercial fisherman's harvest.

"Carcass length" means that length measured in a straight
line from the anterior edge of the first dorsal fin to the
posterior end of the shark carcass.

"COLREGS Line" means the COLREGS Demarcation Line,
as defined in the Code of Federal Regulations (33 CFR
80.510 Chesapeake Bay Entrance, VA).

"Commercial shark fisherman” means any commercial
fisherman permitted to land or possess sharks (excluding
spiny dogfish) that has landed and sold one pound of shark or
more (excludes spiny dogfish) in that calendar year (January
1 through December 31).

"Commercially permitted aggregated large coastal shark™
means any of the following species:

Blacktip, Carcharhinus limbatus
Bull, Carcharhinus leucas
Lemon, Negaprion brevirostris
Nurse, Ginglymostoma cirratum
Silky, Carcharhinus falciformis
Spinner, Carcharhinus brevipinna
Tiger, Galeocerdo cuvier

"Commercially permitted hammerhead shark" means any of
the following species:

Great hammerhead, Sphyrna mokarran
Scalloped hammerhead, Sphyrna lewini
Smooth hammerhead, Sphyrna zygaena

"Commercially permitted nonblacknose small coastal shark™
means any of the following species:

Atlantic sharpnose, Rhizoprionodon terraenovae
Bonnethead, Sphyrna tiburo
Finetooth, Carcharhinus isodon

"Commercially permitted pelagic shark" means any of the
following species:

Blue, Prionace glauca

Oceanic whitetip, Carcharhinus longimanus
Porbeagle, Lamna nasus

Shortfin mako, Isurus oxyrinchus

Thresher, Alopias vulpinus

"Commercially prohibited shark"
following species:

Atlantic angel, Squatina dumeril
Basking, Cetorhinus maximus

Bigeye sand tiger, Odontaspis noronhai
Bigeye sixgill, Hexanchus nakamurai
Bigeye thresher, Alopias superciliosus
Bignose, Carcharhinus altimus
Blacknose, Carcharhinus acronotus
Caribbean reef, Carcharhinus perezii
Caribbean sharpnose, Rhizoprionodon porosus
Dusky, Carcharhinus obscurus
Galapagos, Carcharhinus galapagensis
Longfin mako, Isurus paucus
Narrowtooth, Carcharhinus brachyurus
Night, Carcharhinus signatus

Sand tiger, Carcharias taurus
Sevengill, Heptranchias perlo

Sixgill, Hexanchus griseus

Smalltail, Carcharhinus porosus
Whale, Rhincodon typus

White, Carcharodon carcharias

"Control rule" means a time-certain date, past, present or
future, used to establish participation in a limited entry
fishery and may or may not include specific past harvest
amounts.

"Dressed weight" means the result from processing a fish by
removal of head, viscera, and fins, but does not include
removal of the backbone, halving, quartering, or otherwise
further reducing the carcass.

means any of the
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"Finning" means removing the fins and returning the
remainder of the shark to the sea.

"Fork length" means the straight-line measurement of a fish
from the tip of the snout to the fork of the tail. The
measurement is not made along the curve of the body.

"Large mesh gill net" means any gill net with a stretched
mesh of greater than five inches.

"Longline” means any fishing gear that is set horizontally,
either anchored, floating or attached to a vessel, and that
consists of a mainline or groundline, greater than 1,000 feet in
length, with multiple leaders (gangions) and hooks, whether
retrieved by hand or mechanical means.

"Movable gill net"* means any gill net other than a staked gill
net.

"Permitted commercial gear" means rod and reel, handlines,
shark shortlines, small mesh gill nets, large mesh gill nets,
pound nets, and weirs.

"Recreational shore angler" means a person neither fishing
from a vessel nor transported to or from a fishing location by
a vessel.

"Recreational vessel angler” means a person fishing from a
vessel or transported to or from a fishing location by a vessel.

"Recreationally permitted shark" means any of the following

species:
Atlantic sharpnose, Rhizoprionodon terraenovae
Blacknose, Carcharhinus acronotus
Blacktip, Carcharhinus limbatus
Blue, Prionace glauca
Bonnethead, Sphyrna tiburo
Bull, Carcharhinus leucas
Finetooth, Carcharhinus isodon
Great hammerhead, Sphyrna mokarran
Lemon, Negaprion brevirostris
Nurse, Ginglymostoma cirratum
Oceanic whitetip, Carcharhinus longimanus
Porbeagle, Lamna nasus
Scalloped hammerhead, Sphyrna lewini
Shortfin mako, Isurus oxyrinchus
Smooth dogfish, Mustelus canis
Smooth hammerhead, Sphyrna zygaena
Spinner, Carcharhinus brevipinna
Thresher, Alopias vulpinus
Tiger, Galeocerdo cuvier

"Recreationally prohibited shark"
following species:

Atlantic angel, Squatina dumeril
Basking, Cetorhinus maximus

means any of the

Bigeye sand tiger, Odontaspis noronhai
Bigeye sixgill, Hexanchus nakamurai
Bigeye thresher, Alopias superciliosus
Bignose, Carcharhinus altimus
Caribbean reef, Carcharhinus perezii
Caribbean sharpnose, Rhizoprionodon porosus
Dusky, Carcharhinus obscurus
Galapagos, Carcharhinus galapagensis
Longfin mako, Isurus paucus
Narrowtooth, Carcharhinus brachyurus
Night, Carcharhinus signatus
Sand tiger, Carcharias taurus
Sandbar, Carcharhinus plumbeus
Sevengill, Heptranchias perlo
Silky, Carcharhinus falciformis
Sixgill, Hexanchus griseus
Smalltail, Carcharhinus porosus
Whale, Rhincodon typus
White, Carcharodon carcharias
"Research only shark" means any of the following species:
Sandbar, Carcharhinus plumbeus

"Shark shortline” means a fish trotline that is set
horizontally, either anchored, floating or attached to a vessel,
and that consists of a mainline or groundline, 1,000 feet in
length or less, with multiple leaders (gangions) and no more
than 50 corrodible circle hooks, whether retrieved by hand or
mechanical means.

"Small mesh gill net" means any gill net with a stretched
mesh of equal to or less than five inches.

"Smooth dogfish” means any shark of the species Mustelus
canis. Smooth dogfish are also known as "smoothhound
shark."

"Spiny dogfish" means any shark of the species Squalus
acanthias.

4VVAC20-490-48. Smooth dogfish commercial guota and
catch limitations.

A. The annual commercial quota for smooth dogfish shall be
922,030 pounds in dressed weight.

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to take, harvest, or
possess aboard any vessel or to land in Virginia any smooth
dogfish harvested from federal waters once the National
Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Fisheries
has determined and announced that 80% of the smooth
dogfish coastwide guota has been harvested.

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest or to land in
Virginia any smooth dogfish for commercial purposes after
the quota specified in subsection A of this section has been
landed and announced as such.
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D. Any smooth dogfish harvested from state waters or
federal waters for commercial purposes shall only be sold to a
federally permitted dealer.

E. It shall be unlawful for any buyer of seafood to receive
any smooth dogfish harvested from federal waters once
NOAA Fisheries has determined and announced that 80% of
the smooth dogfish coastwide guota has been harvested.

F. It shall be unlawful for any buyer of seafood to receive
any smooth dogfish after the commercial guota specified in
subsection A of this section has been attained and announced
as such.

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4661; Filed March 24, 2016, 9:46 a.m.

Final Regulation

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources
Commission is claiming an exemption from the
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A
11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is
required to publish the full text of final regulations.

Title of Regqulation: 4VAC20-720. Pertaining to
Restrictions on Oyster Harvest (amending 4VAC20-720-
80).

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia.
Effective Date: March 24, 2016.

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator,
Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue,
3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-
2248, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov.

Summary:
The amendment allows payment of the oyster resource user
fee to use one or more gear types only by (i) those
harvesters who previously paid an oyster resource user fee
and (ii) beginning May 1, 2016, those persons who wish to
obtain an oyster hand tong license for the purpose of
harvesting seed oysters.

4VAC20-720-80. Quotas and harvest limits.

A. It shall be unlawful for any person who does not possess
a valid commercial fisherman's registration license and a
valid gear license required by harvest area, as described in
4VAC20-720-75, and has not paid the current year's oyster
resource user fee to harvest or possess any oysters for
commercial purposes. Any individual who possesses the valid
licenses and has paid the oyster resource user fee as described
in this subsection shall be limited to a maximum harvest of
eight bushels per day. It shall be unlawful for any vessel to
exceed a daily vessel limit of 24 bushels clean cull oysters
harvested from the areas described in 4VAC20-720-40 B 8
through 16.

B. It shall be unlawful for any person who does not possess a
valid commercial fisherman's registration license and a valid
gear license required by harvest area, as described in 4VAC20-
720-75, and has not paid the current year's oyster resource user
fee to harvest or possess any oysters for commercial purposes.

Any individual who possesses the valid licenses and has paid the
oyster resource user fee as described in this subsection shall be
limited to a maximum harvest of eight bushels per day. It shall
be unlawful for any vessel to exceed a daily vessel limit for clean
cull oysters harvested from the areas described in 4VAC20-720-
40 B 2 through 7 and 17, whereby that vessel limit shall equal
the number of registered commercial fisherman licensees on
board the vessel who hold a valid gear license and who have paid
the oyster resource user fee multiplied by eight.

C. It shall be unlawful for any vessel to exceed a daily
vessel limit for clean cull oysters harvested from the areas
described in 4VAC20-720-40 B 1, whereby that vessel limit
shall equal the number of registered commercial fisherman
licensees on board the vessel who hold a valid gear license
and who have paid the oyster resource user fee multiplied by
12. It shall be unlawful for any person who does not possess a
valid commercial fisherman's registration license and hold a
valid gear license required by harvest area, as described in
4VAC20-720-75, and has not paid the current year's oyster
resource user fee to harvest or possess any oysters for
commercial purposes. Any individual who possesses the valid
licenses and has paid the oyster resource user fee as described
in this subsection shall be limited to a maximum harvest of 12
bushels per day.

D. It shall be unlawful for any vessel to exceed a daily vessel
limit for clean cull oysters harvested from the areas described in
4VAC20-720-40 B 18, whereby that vessel limit shall equal the
number of registered commercial fisherman licensees on board
the vessel who are licensed by a valid gear license and have paid
the oyster resource user fee, multiplied by eight. It shall be
unlawful for any person who does not possess a valid
commercial fisherman's registration license and a valid gear
license required by harvest area, as described in 4VAC20-720-
75, and has not paid the current year's oyster resource user fee to
harvest or possess any oysters for commercial purposes. Any
individual who possesses the valid licenses and has paid the
oyster resource user fee, as described in this subsection, shall be
limited to a maximum harvest of eight bushels per day.

E. Beginning February 23, 2016, payment of the oyster
resource user fee that allows any harvester to use one or more
gear types to harvest oysters or possess any bushel limit, as
described in this section, shall be limited to those individuals
who previously paid an oyster resource user fee. Beginning
on May 1, 2016, payment of the oyster resource user fee shall
be limited to (i) those individuals who previously paid an
oyster resource user fee and (ii) those persons who wish to
obtain _an oyster hand tong license for the purpose of
harvesting seed oysters.

E: E. In the Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds Rotation Area 1,
no blue crab bycatch is allowed. It shall be unlawful to
possess on board any vessel more than 250 hard clams.

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4641; Filed March 24, 2016, 9:28 a.m.

Forms

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: A form used in administering the
following regulation has been filed by the Marine Resources
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Commission. The form is not being published; however,
online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of
Regulations may click on the name of the form to access it.
The form is also available from the agency contact or may be
viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, General
Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219.

Title of Requlation: 4VAC20-900. Pertaining to Horseshoe
Crab.

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator,
Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue,
3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-
2248, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov.

FORMS (4VAC20-900)

Virginia Marine Mandatory Reports, MR 560001 (rev.
1/2015)
VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4660; Filed March 28, 2016, 8:18 a.m.
g 2

TITLE 8. EDUCATION

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

Reproposed Regulation

Title of Requlation: 8VAC20-740. Regulations Governing
Nutritional Standards for Competitive Foods Available
for Sale in the Public Schools (adding 8VAC20-740-10
through 8VAC20-740-40).

Statutory Authority: § 22.1-207.4 of the Code of Virginia.
Public Hearing Information:

April 28, 2016 - 11 a.m. - James Monroe Building, 101
North 14th Street, 22nd Floor Conference Room;
Richmond, VA 23219. The public hearing will begin
immediately following adjournment of the Board of
Education business meeting.

Public Comment Deadline: May 18, 2016.

Agency Contact: Catherine Digilio-Grimes, Director of
School Nutrition Programs, Department of Education, P.O.
Box 2120, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 225-2074,
or email catherine.digilio-grimes@doe.virginia.gov.

Basis: Section 22.1-207.4 of the Code of Virginia requires the
Board of Education, in cooperation with the Department of
Health, to promulgate and periodically update regulations
setting nutritional guidelines for all competitive foods sold to
students during regular school hours that are not part of the
federal school lunch or school breakfast program.

Purpose: Section 22.1-207.4 requires the development and
implementation of regulations regarding  nutritional
guidelines. In addition, the rising rate of obesity in children
has become a major health concern, both because of its
impact on childhood health and its potential effect on the

development of chronic disease in adulthood. In response to
this growing concern, attention has focused on the need to
establish nutrition standards for foods in schools. Federal
regulations governing the national school lunch and breakfast
programs and afterschool snhack program establish nutrition
standards for school meals. In addition, federal regulations
require every school division to have wellness policies that
address nutrition and physical activity; the content and
implementation of these local wellness policies have been at
the discretion of the local school divisions. The proposed
regulations would require each local school board to adopt the
state nutrition guidelines as part of their existing local
wellness policies.

Statewide nutritional guidelines for competitive foods
available for sale to students on the school campus during the
school day of any public school, and other public school food
authorities such as residential child care institutions, would
strengthen the local wellness policies and help address some
of the factors that impact childhood obesity as well as
increase the nutritional quality of foods offered in the school
setting.

Substance: The language in the reproposed regulation is
aligned with new federal regulation governing competitive
foods in schools to provide clarity and consistency and avoid
having different sets of regulations that school divisions
would be required to follow. All references to beverages are
eliminated. The reproposed regulation contains changes in the
following sections:

* 8VAC20-740-10 - Definitions: modified several, added new
definitions, and deleted some.

* 8VAC20-740-20 - Applicability: added item clarifying
nonapplicability of food available for sale to adults only.

* 8VAC20-740-30 - Nutrition standards: reworded and
expanded language to align with the federal regulation; added
section on general standards, general exemptions and
accompaniments.

* 8VAC20-740-40 - Implementations and compliance:
expanded to address recordkeeping, oversight and compliance
and noncompliance.

Issues: Nutrition standards for competitive foods can
complement the federal school meal nutrition standards for an
overall healthier eating environment in schools and
implementation of consistent nutrition messages throughout
the school day. Additionally, the rising rate of childhood
obesity has become a major health concern because of both
its impact on childhood health and as a contributing factor to
the development of chronic disease in adulthood. In response
to this growing concern, attention has focused on the need to
establish nutrition standards for foods in schools by offering
healthier food options on school grounds during the school
day. From a nutritional perspective, the goal is to increase the
consumption of whole grains, fruits, vegetables, and nonfat or
low-fat dairy, and reduce fat, sugars, and sodium. Federal
regulations governing the national school lunch program,
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school breakfast program, and afterschool snack program
establish nutrition standards for school meals. Strengthened
federal nutrition standards governing competitive foods
became effective July 1, 2014, and these proposed state
nutrition standards are aligned with the federal Smarts Snacks
in School rules. Statewide nutrition standards for competitive
foods available for sale to students during the school day on
the school campus would help to strengthen local wellness
policies and address some of the factors that impact childhood
obesity. Potential disadvantages associated with this
regulation to the public and regulated community include the
following: (i) school divisions will be impacted
administratively, as they will be required to adopt the new
state nutrition standards as part of their required local
wellness policies, and (ii) as schools change the food
offerings on the school site during the school day to meet the
adopted nutrition standards, they may experience financial
impact. Disadvantages to the Commonwealth and agency
include the following: (i) the Department of Education will be
required to ensure compliance with these state and federal
regulations throughout the local school agency and school
food authority with existing resources, and (ii) the department
may need to provide additional ongoing staff support and
technical assistance to school divisions in the implementation
of these regulations

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact
Analysis:

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation.
Chapter 718 (2010 Acts of Assembly) amended the Code of
Virginia by adding § 22.1-207.4 on nutritional guidelines for
competitive foods. The legislation requires the Board of
Education (Board), in cooperation with the Department of
Health, to promulgate and periodically update regulations
setting nutritional guidelines for all competitive foods sold to
students during regular school hours. The term competitive
foods refers to food available for sale to students on the
school campus during the school day other than meals
reimbursed under programs authorized by the federal Richard
B. Russell National School Lunch Act and the Child Nutrition
Act of 1966. Pursuant to the legislation, the Board proposes
for this regulation the maximum calorie, fat, sugar, and
sodium content for competitive foods.

In addition, federal regulations require every school division
to have wellness policies that address nutrition and physical
activity. The content and implementation of these policies
have been at the discretion of the local school divisions. The
proposed regulations would require each local school board to
adopt the state nutrition guidelines as part of their existing
local wellness policies.

Result of Analysis. There is insufficient data to accurately
compare the magnitude of the benefits versus the costs.
Detailed analysis of the benefits and costs can be found in the
next section.

Estimated Economic Impact. The U.S. Department of
Agriculture adopted the Institutes of Medicines nutrition
standards for competitive foods. These standards became
effective as part of federal regulation on July 1, 2014. All
schools that participate in the National School Lunch
Program (NSLP) and School Breakfast Program (SBP) are
bound by the federal regulation and its nutrition standards for
competitive foods. All Virginia school divisions participate in
the NSLP and SBP for elementary school. Chesterfield, Falls
Church and Hanover do not participate in NSLP and SBP for
high school. Falls Church does not participate in NSLP and
SBP for middle school. All other Virginia school divisions
participate in the federal programs for high school and middle
school as well as elementary school.!

The Board proposes competitive food nutritional standards
(maximum calorie, fat, sugar, and sodium content) that are
consistent with the federal regulation.” Thus, this proposed
state regulation (8 VAC 20-740) will essentially only affect
high schools in Chesterfield, Falls Church and Hanover, and
the middle school in Falls Church.

Historically it has been common practice for schools to sell a
la carte food items in addition to planned meals under the
federal school lunch and school breakfast programs. An a la
carte item means an individually priced food item served by
the local school nutrition department that may or may not be
part of the reimbursable meal under the federal child nutrition
programs. A la carte items as well as food sold in vending
machines and other food sold to students during regular
school hours, including fundraisers, are subject to the
maximum calorie, fat, sugar, and sodium content values in the
federal and state regulations.

The standards in the federal regulation and this proposed state
regulation effectively prohibit the sale of much of the
competitive foods historically sold in schools. Thus, students
will likely consume fewer foods during the school day that
are high in calories, fat, sugar, and sodium. This may result in
improved health for Virginia's schoolchildren. On the other
hand it may have some negative consequences on revenues
for schools. For example, one Virginia school division that on
its own decided to stop selling french fries noticed an
associated decrease in food sale revenue. This anecdotal
example is countered though by a study® published in the
Journal of School Health which found that "Thus far, few
data exist to substantiate the concern that changes in nutrition
standards in schools lead to a loss in total revenue." An
interesting phenomenon of increased participation in the
National School Lunch Program was noted in a number of
reports and might play a role in buffering financial losses.

At least some firms and farms which produce foods that meet
the proposed standards for competitive food will likely
encounter greater demand for their products. For example,
standard hamburgers currently provided to schools do not
meet the proposed standards, but healthier hamburgers which
do meet the proposed standards and cost 20 percent more are
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commercially available.* Of course at least some other firms
and farms which produce foods that do not meet the proposed
standards for competitive food will likely encounter lesser
demand for their products. Since Virginia school divisions all
together comprise a significant market, due to the
combination of the new federal regulation along with this
proposed state regulation there will likely be some adjustment
in food production to meet the changed demand.

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed regulations
affect the 132 public school divisions in the Commonwealth
as well as food producers and distributors which supply
schools with food.

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulations
particularly affect Chesterfield, Falls Church and Hanover.

Projected Impact on Employment. Due to the combination of
the new federal regulation along with this proposed state
regulation, at least some firms and farms which produce
foods which meet the proposed standards for competitive
food will likely encounter greater demand for their products.
These firms may hire new workers. Other firms and farms
which produce foods that do not meet the proposed standards
for competitive food will likely encounter lesser demand for
their products. These firms may layoff workers.

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. Due to the
combination of the new federal regulation along with this
proposed state regulation, the value of firms which produce
foods which meet the proposed standards for competitive
food may increase. The value of firms which produce foods
that do not meet the proposed standards for competitive food
may decrease.

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Small businesses
which produce foods that are sold to schools and do not meet
the proposed standards are likely to lose demand for their
products. Depending on the product, it may be possible to
adjust the product to meet the proposed standards. That would
likely add to the costs, though.

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes
Adverse Impact. There are no clear alternative methods that
would both reduce costs and still produce the desired policy.

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed regulations are
unlikely to affect real estate development costs.

Small Businesses: If the proposed regulatory action will have
an adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires
that such economic impact analyses include:

«an identification and estimate of the number of small
businesses subject to the proposed regulation,

«the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other
administrative costs required for small businesses to comply
with the proposed regulation, including the type of
professional skills necessary for preparing required reports
and other documents,

* a statement of the probable effect of the proposed regulation
on affected small businesses, and

* a description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative
methods of achieving the purpose of the proposed regulation.

Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1, if there is a finding
that a proposed regulation may have an adverse impact on
small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative
Rules (JCAR) is notified at the time the proposed regulation
is submitted to the Virginia Register of Regulations for
publication. This analysis shall represent DPBs best estimate
for the purposes of public review and comment on the
proposed regulation.

YSource: Virginia Department of Education

Zpyrsuant to Chapter 718 (2010 Acts of Assembly), the proposed state
regulations governing nutritional standards for competitive foods sold in
public schools do not apply to beverages. The federal regulation does apply
to beverages.

3\Wharton CM, Long M, Schwartz MB. Changing nutrition standards in
schools: the emerging impact on school revenue. J Sch Health. 2008; 78:
245-251.

*Source: a Virginia-based food distributor which currently serves several
school divisions

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The
agency concurs with the economic impact analysis completed
by the Department of Planning and Budget. The agency will
continue to examine the economic and administrative impact
of the regulations as they progress through the regulatory
process under the Administrative Process Act.

Summary:

The reproposed amendments (i) establish nutritional
standards for competitive foods available for sale to students
on the school campus of any public school and other public
school food authorities, such as residential child care
institutions, during the school day; (ii) require all local school
boards to adopt the nutritional standards as part of existing
wellness policies; (iii) establish recordkeeping requirement;
and (iv) require the Department of Education to ensure
compliance with the standards.

The reproposed amendments are based on the Institute of
Medicine's Recommended Standards for Competitive
Foods in Schools and align the regulation with the U.S.
Department of Agriculture interim final rule governing
competitive foods in schools issued in June 2013.

CHAPTER 740
REGULATIONS GOVERNING NUTRITIONAL
[ SHBELINES STANDARDS ] FOR COMPETITIVE
FOODS [ SOLB AVAILABLE FOR SALE ] IN THE
PUBLIC SCHOOLS

8VAC20-740-10. Definitions.

"A la carte item" means an individually priced food item
served by the local school nutrition department that may or
may not be part of the reimbursable meal under the federal
Child Nutrition Programs.
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"After school activities” means activities that occur on
[ the ] school [ greunds campus ] after [ regular-school-hours
the school day ].

"Beverage" means a drinkable liquid.

"Calorie" means the amount of heat required to change the
temperature of one gram of water from 14.5 degrees Celsius
to 15.5 degrees Celsius. Calorie is used synonymously with

however, this provision does not apply if food is sold to
adults only. ]
This term does not apply to food a student brings from home
for _consumption at school [or items available for sale to
adults only in areas not accessible to students (e.g., teachers

lounges) ].

"Dietary Guidelines for Americans" means guidelines

kilocalorie as a unit of measure for energy obtained from food

jointly issued by the U.S. Department of Health and Human

and beverages.

"Child Nutrition Programs” means school meal programs
funded and regulated by the U.S. Department of Agriculture
(USDA) and includes the National School Lunch Program
(NSLP), School Breakfast Program (SBP), [ Afterschool
Snack Programs (ASP),] Child and Adult Care Food
Program (CACFP), Summer Food Service Program (SFSP),
and Special Milk Program (SMP).

[ "Combination foods™ means products that contain two or
more _components representing two or more of the
recommended food groups: fruit, vegetable, dairy, protein, or
grains. ]

"Competitive food" means [any all ] food [ —excluding
beverages;—sold available for sale] to students on [the]
school [greunds campus] during [regular the] school
[ bours—thatis—not partof the reimbursable meals served
through-the National-School Lunch-Program-(NSLP). School
Breakfast Program (SBP), or Afterschool -Snack—Program
{ASP) day other than meals reimbursed under programs
authorized by the Richard B. Russell National School Lunch
Act (42 USC § 1751 et seq.) and the Child Nutrition Act of
1966 (42 USC §1771etseq.) ].

Competitive food includes all foods [seld available for
sale ] to students:
1. In school cafeterias as a la carte items [ ret-offered-asa
eemsenen%eﬂh&pl&nned—mmbe%&bl&mena]

. In vending machines located on [ schoel-grounds-during
Feqalar—seheel—heups the school campus during the school
day ].

3. As fundraisers held on [ schesl-greunds-duringregular
schoelheurs the school campus during the school day ].

4. In school snack bars on [ seheel-grounds-during-regular
seheel—heu#s the school campus during the school day ].

In school stores operated on [ seheel-grounds—during

Services and U.S. Department of Agriculture and revised
every five years and that provide authoritative advice based
on_current_scientific evidence and medical knowledge for
people two years of age and older about how good dietary
habits can promote health and reduce risk for major chronic
diseases.

P  rinimal_rutritional_value?_op " .

"Entree item" means an item that is either (i) a combination
food of meat or meat alternate and whole grain rich food; (ii)
a_combination food of vegetable or fruit and meat or meat
alternate; or (iii) a meat or meat alternate alone with the

Feqalar—seheel—heups the school campus during the school

exception of yoqurt; low-fat or reduced fat cheese; nuts,

day ] by the school, a student association, or other school-

seeds, and nut or seed butters; and meat snacks (e.g., dried

sponsored organization.

6. At school activities such as special fundraisers,
achievement  rewards,  classroom  parties,  school

beef jerky). ]

celebrations, classroom snacks, or school meetings held on

[ schoel-grounds—during-regularschoel-hours the school

campus during the school day ].
[ 7. In culinary education programs where food prepared as

in_children and adolescents

"Obesity" means obesity
referring to the age-specific and sex-specific body mass index

part of the educational curriculum is sold to students;

(BMI) that is equal to or greater than the 95th percentile of
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the BMI charts of the Centers for Disease Control and

B. This [ regulation chapter ] shall not apply to beverages.

Prevention (CDC).
[ “Regular—school-hours"—means—the—same—as—thestandard

C. This [ regulatien chapter ] shall apply to the nutritional
content of food items [ —excluding-beverages—seld available

school-day—as-defined-in-8VAC20-131-5acalendar-day-that

for sale ] to students on the school [ greunds campus ] of any

public school [ during-regular-schoel-heurs, and other public

SFAs such as residential child care institutions, during the

school day ]. It shall [ include apply to ]:

"School campus" means, for the purpose of competitive food
standards implementation, all areas of the property under the
jurisdiction of the school that are accessible to students
during the school day.

"School day" means, for the purpose of competitive food
standards implementation, the period from the midnight
before to 30 minutes after the end of the official school day. ]

1. Foods [ seld available for sale ] to students in vending
machines.

2. Foods [ seld available for sale ] to students as a la carte
items in the school cafeteria.

3. Foods [ seld available for sale ] to students at snack bars
and stores operated by the school, a student association, or
other school-sponsored organization.

4. Foods [ seld available for sale] to students at school
activities such as fundraisers.

[ 5. Foods available for sale to students by culinary or other
educational programs. ]

D. This [regulation chapter] shall not apply to the

"School food authority" or "SFA" means, under the federal
child nutrition laws, the entity that is legally responsible for

nutritional content of foods [ ane-beverages ]:
1. Provided [ through-the National-Schoel-Lunch.-School

the operations and administration of the local school nutrition

Breakfast—and -Afterschool - Snack programs—as—regulated

programs (i.e., school division).

entity-formed ae_eel_ell_ g-to-the PFOVISIONS of§-22:1-275.1 of

: e”ggde el_l v Hginta E.I atl IaSSE'SES; : ; 18 Id.EuE|GBII;EE E; ?I

42 JSC 8§ 1751 ef seq.)and-developsan—-annual report of
—== - - benittad "

by 7 CER Part 210 and 7 CFR Part 220 as meals
reimbursed under programs authorized by the Richard B.
Russell National School Lunch Act (42 USC § 1751 et
seq.) and the Child Nutrition Act of 1966 (42 USC § 1771
etseq.) ].

2. [Seld Available for sale] at snack bars, concession
stands, or athletic events after [ regularscheolhours the

Education-as-amended- |
"Trans fat" means food items containing vegetable
shortening, margarine, or any partially hydrogenated

school day ].
3. [ Seld Available for sale ] either during intermission or
immediately before or after athletics events [ scheduled

vegetable oil unless the label required on the food, pursuant to

after the school day ].

applicable federal and state law, lists the trans fat content as
[ less-than0.5 zero ] grams per serving.

"Wellness policy" means a policy required for public

4. [ Seld Available for sale ] for school-related fundraising
activities that take place off [the] school [ greunds
campus ].

schools participating in a nutrition program authorized by the
Richard B. Russell National School Lunch Act (42 USC
8§ 1751 et seq.) or the Child Nutrition Act of 1966 (42 USC
8 1771 et seq.) [ that meets minimum standards designed to
support school environments that promote student wellness ].

[ "Whole grains" means grains that are made with enriched
and whole grain meal or flour in accordance with the most
recent grains guidance from the U.S. Department of
Agriculture Food and Nutrition Service.

"Whole-grain rich" means products that contain at least 50%
whole grains and the remaining grains in the product must be
enriched. ]
8VAC20-740-20. Applicability.

A. This [ regulation chapter ] shall apply to all public school

divisions, public schools, and [public] school food
authorities (SFAS) in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

5. [ Seld Available for sale] during activities that take
place after [ regularseheolhours the school day ], such as
clubs, vyearbook, band and choir practice, student
government, drama, sports practices, interscholastic
sporting events, school plays, and band concerts.

[ 6. Available for sale to adults only in areas not accessible
to students.
E. The requirements of this chapter supplement 8VAC20-
290 and 8VAC20-580, which remain in effect. ]

8VAC?20-740-30. Nutrition standards.

[ "

.Gg Bet'.t"’el. Iggdﬁs sold te_ steidents—s! aIII.SHBBS.'It tlle
follewingnutritional standards:

A. The nutrition standards apply to all foods available for
sale to students (i) outside the school meal programs; (ii) on
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the school campus; and (iii) at any time during the school
day. The nutrition standards shall be consistent with the most
recent Dietary Guidelines for Americans.

B. To be allowable, a competitive food must (i) meet all of
the competitive food nutrient standards and (ii) must either:

1. Be a grain product that contains 50% or more whole
grains by weight or have as the first ingredient a whole
grain (i.e., whole-grain rich);

2. Have as the first ingredient one of the nongrain major
food groups: fruits, vegetables, dairy, or protein foods
(e.g., meat, beans, poultry, seafood, eqgs, nuts, seeds, etc.);

3. Be a combination food that contains 1/4 cup of fruit or
vegetable; or

4. Contain 10% of the Daily Value of a nutrient of public
health concern based on the most recent Dietary Guidelines
for Americans (i.e., calcium, potassium, vitamin D, or
dietary fiber) for the period through June 30, 2016.
Effective July 1, 2016, this criterion is obsolete and may
not be used to qualify as a competitive food.

If water is the first ingredient, the second ingredient must be
one of the food items listed in this subsection.

C. General exemptions:

1. Fresh, canned, and frozen fruits or vegetables with no
added ingredients except water or, in the case of fruit,
packed in 100% juice, extra light, or light syrup are exempt
from the nutrient standards.

2. Canned vegetables that contain a small amount of sugar
for processing purposes are also exempt from the nutrient
standards.

3. An entree item offered as part of the national school
lunch program under 7 CFR Part 210 or the school
breakfast program under 7 CFR Part 220 is exempt from
all _competitive food standards if it is offered as a
competitive food on the day of, or the school day after, it is
offered in the lunch or breakfast program. Exempt entree
items offered as a competitive food must be offered in the
same or smaller portion sizes as in the lunch or breakfast
program.

Side dishes offered as part of the lunch or breakfast
program and served a la carte must meet the nutrition
standards in this section.

D. The accompaniments to a competitive food item must be
included in the nutrient profile as a part of the food item
served in determining if an item meets the nutrition standards
for  competitive  food. The contribution of the
accompaniments may be based on the average serving size of
the accompaniment used per item.

E. Nutrient standards: ]
1. Standard 1: Calories.

a. Snack items [ and side dishes sold a la carte ] (i) shall
be [ no more than ] 200 calories [ erless | per [ pertion
item as served ] or as packaged [, including the calorie

content in any accompaniments, such as butter, cream
cheese, and salad dressing, and (ii) must meet all other
nutrient standards ].

b, [Al . hall lorielimi
oncomparable National School Lunch Program-(NSLP)

Entree items sold a la carte, unless the entree item meets
the exemption for NSLP/SBP entree items in subdivision
C 3 of this section, shall (i) contain no more than 350
calories, including the calorie content of any
accompaniments, per item as served or as packaged, and
(ii) meet all of the other nutrient standards in this section.

c. The calories contained in any accompaniments must be
included in the nutrient profile as a part of the item
served. ]

2. Standard 2: Fat.

a. [ Snacks—and-fooditems—shal—meet—the folowing
iteria for di ‘ - I :

Total fat. Competitive foods shall contain no more than
35% of total calories from fat per item as packaged or
served. Exemptions to the total fat standard are granted
for:

(1) Reduced fat cheese and part-skim mozzarella cheese.
This exemption does not apply to combination foods.

(2) Nuts, seeds, and nut or seed butters. This exemption
does not apply to combination foods that contain nuts,
seeds, or nut or seed butters, such as peanut butter and
crackers and trail mix.

(3) Products consisting of only dried fruit with nuts or
seeds with no added nutritive sweeteners or fat.

(4) Seafood with no added fat.

b. Saturated fat. Competitive foods shall have less than
10% of total calories from saturated fat per item as
packaged or served. Exemptions to the saturated fat
standard are granted for:

(1) Reduced fat cheese and part-skim mozzarella cheese.
This exemption does not apply to combination foods.
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(2) Nuts, seeds, and nut or seed butters. This exemption
does not apply to combination foods that contain nuts,
seeds, or nut or seed butters, such as peanut butter and
crackers and trail mix.

(3) Products consisting of only dried fruit with nuts or
seeds with no added nutritive sweeteners or fat.
c. Trans fat. Competitive foods must have zero grams of
trans fat per item as packaged or served. ]

3. Standard 3: Sugar. [ a—Snacks—and-foed-items—shall

provide-no-more than 35%of calories fromtotal sugarsper
portion-or-as-packaged-b—Exceptions Total sugar shall be

than 480 mg of sodium per item as packaged or served,
including the sodium content in any accompaniments,
such as butter, cream cheese, and salad dressing; and (ii)

must meet all other nutrient standards in this section ].

i 1
accorda Ge.“.“ H8Y tg.g.g 290-10-and 7 CFR-Part 2.19 a_II
foods-of-minimal 'IHE”'HG il ua_lue_ ( "F”‘I“) a5 defi |e|e| i

i -]

8VAC?20-740-40. Implementation and compliance.

no more than 35% of weight per item as packaged or

A. Each local school board shall [ incorporate and ] adopt
[ these the ] nutrition [ guidelines-aspart-ofits-existing-local

served. Exemptions to the sugar standard are provided

welnesspolicy standards in this chapter as a compulsory

for J:

component of the divisionwide local wellness policy
mandated by federal regulation for all local education
agencies that participate in the national school lunch program.
In_addition to incorporating the nutrition standards for
competitive foods, the local wellness policy shall (i) establish
and identify school division leadership with the authority to
enforce the local wellness policy throughout the school
campus; (ii) establish specific goals for nutrition promotion,
nutrition education, physical activities, and other school-

based activities that promote wellness; and (iii) establish

a. Dried whole fruits or vegetables.
b. Dried whole fruit or vegetable pieces.
c. Dehydrated fruits or vegetables with no added nutritive
sweeteners.
d. Dried fruits with nutritive sweeteners that are required
for processing or palatability purposes. ]
4. Standard 4: Sodium.
[a . . L.
a.“S_ 86K |te||s shall ee_taseshun eel ite 'E_I"' 104200

a. Sodium content in snacks (i) shall be no more than 230
mg per item as packaged or served, including the sodium
content in any accompaniments, such as butter, cream
cheese, and salad dressing; and (ii) must meet all other
nutrient standards. Effective July 1, 2016, the sodium
standard shall be no more than 200 mg per item as
packaged or served, including the sodium content in any
accompaniments.

b. Entree items sold a la carte, unless the entre item

policies that address marketing and advertising of only foods
that meet the nutrition standards for competitive foods, serve
to promote student health, prevent childhood obesity, and
combat problems associated with poor nutrition and physical
inactivity 1.

B. [ Each-local-schosl-board-shall submitannuatly—to-the

‘ ionthe S | " ;

Code-of Virginia. | HE- 6pOFt- a“.' clude-a-status-reportof
t el_ele.uelep_ ent-and| IIBIIEI he |tatlle Il of thelocal-well ESSF
Educationto—monitor compliance—withthis chapter- L ocal
educational agencies and school food authorities must retain
the records used to document compliance with this chapter;
that _is, the documentation used to assess the nutritional
profile of the food item and determine whether a food item is
an_allowable competitive food (e.q., the nutrition labels,
recipes, or product specifications).

1. Local educational agencies:

a. Shall be responsible for maintaining records
documenting compliance with the competitive food
nutrition standards for food available for sale in areas
that are outside of the control of the school nutrition
programs operation.

b. Shall be responsible for ensuring any organization or
school activity designated as responsible for food service
at the various venues in the school (other than the school
nutrition programs) maintains records documenting

- - - compliance with the competitive food nutrition
meets the exemption for NSLP/SBP entree items in b D
— - - - standards.
subdivision C 3 of this section (i) shall have no more -
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c. Shall designate an individual at the division or school
level to monitor and ensure compliance with this chapter
in all areas that are outside the control of the school
nutrition programs operation. This designee shall not be
school nutrition personnel.

2. The school food authority shall be responsible for
maintaining records for foods served under the auspices of

ambiguities that were inadvertently made during the last
revision of the regulations that became effective February 3,
2014. The changes remove fees that are no longer charged
and correct wording so that it does not conflict with wording
in other sections of the regulation or with the Code of
Virginia.

Substance: There are no substantive changes. These changes

the nonprofit school nutrition programs account.

3. The Department of Education shall ensure that the local
education agencies and school food authorities comply

are to remove fees no longer charged or to remove
ambiguities.

Issues: The primary advantages to the public and the agency

with these nutrition standards. Noncompliance determined

by the local education agency, school food authority, or

Department of Education shall require corrective action. ]
VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2611; Filed March 24, 2016, 9:20 a.m.

STATE COUNCIL OF HIGHER EDUCATION FOR
VIRGINIA

Fast-Track Regulation

Title of Regulation: 8VAC40-31. Regulations Governing
Certification of Certain Institutions to Confer Degrees,
Diplomas and Certificates (amending 8VAC40-31-160,
8VAC40-31-170, 8VAC40-31-260).

Statutory Authority: 88 23-9.6:1 and 23-276.3 of the Code of
Virginia.

Public Hearing
scheduled.

Public Comment Deadline: May 18, 2016.
Effective Date: June 3, 2016.

Agency Contact: Sylvia Rosa-Casanova, Director, Private and
Out-of-State Postsecondary Education, State Council of
Higher Education for Virginia, 101 North 14th Street, James
Monroe Building, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804)
225-3399, FAX (804) 225-2604, or email
sylviarosacasanova@schev.edu.

Basis: Chapter 21.1 (§ 23-276.1 et seq.) of Title 23 of the
Code of Virginia grants the State Council of Higher
Education for Virginia the authority to regulate certain private
and out-of-state institutions of higher education. Section 23-
276.3 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the State Council of
Higher Education for Virginia to adopt, pursuant to the
Administrative Process Act (8 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of
Virginia), such regulations as may be necessary to implement
the provisions of Chapter 21.1.

Purpose: The reason for this change is to provide clarity,
which protects the welfare of the public. Educational
institutions certified to operate in Virginia rely on these
regulations to maintain compliance with the laws governing
their operation in Virginia. These changes remove errors and
ambiguities not detected until after the changes to the
regulations became effective on February 3, 2014.

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: These
changes are noncontroversial because they correct

Information: No public hearings are

or the Commonwealth are that the changes correct errors that
cause ambiguity in the current regulation and remove fees
that are no longer charged. There are no disadvantages to the
public or the Commonwealth.

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact
Analysis.

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The
State Council of Higher Education (Council) for Virginia
proposes to fix what they have referred to as five errors in this
regulation. Two of the errors involve fees included on the fee
chart that are no longer applicable. Two errors in the
regulation involve wording that reflects former fees charged
as opposed to current fees. The last error mistakenly uses the
word "following™ instead of the correct "prior to,” which
causes the paragraph to conflict with the Code of Virginia.

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all
proposed changes.

Estimated Economic Impact. The Council proposes to
remove the listing of two fees that no longer apply. The two
fees that are no longer applicable are for unaccredited out-of-
state career-technical schools and for additional branches.
The existing unaccredited out-of-state career technical
schools had to become accredited by 2009. The Council does
not permit any additional out-of-state career technical schools
unless they already have accreditation.

According to the Council the additional branch fee has never
been charged. Elsewhere in the regulation it is stated that
"Postsecondary schools operating branches in Virginia must
certify each separately" A branch location is considered
separate and distinct because its administrators, programs,
instructors are all different. This means they must submit an
entire application to be reviewed prior to opening a branch
location. As such, the Council charges a new school fee for
additional branches rather than an "additional branch" fee.
Removing fees from the regulation that are not applicable in
practice will be beneficial in that it may reduce confusion for
the public, but will not otherwise have any impact.

When this regulation was last revised the Council amended
the fee schedule, but did not amend language in two places
elsewhere in the regulation that referred to handling
charges/administrative fees. This resulted in contradictory
language concerning the dollar amount of handling
charges/administrative fees. The Council proposes to amend
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the language in the two places outside of the fee chart to
conform to the fee chart. These proposed amendments will
not change the fees charged in practice, but will be beneficial
in that it will likely reduce confusion for the public.

The current regulation states that institutions shall notify
Council staff of additions or changes to programs or branches
no later than 30 days "following" said occurrence. The
Council proposes to change "following” to “prior to."
According to the Council, this proposal is correcting an error
made during the last revision of this regulation. The Code of
Virginia requires institutions to receive approval from the
Council prior to: 1) offering degrees, courses for degree
credit, programs of study leading to a degree, or non-degree
credit’ and 2) initiating other programs for degree credit or
awarding degrees, certificates, or diplomas at a new or
additional level.? Thus even with the mistaken language from
the last revision, postsecondary institutions must already
notify and receive approval from the Council prior to
additions or changes to programs or branches. Therefore
amending "following™ to "prior to" will also be beneficial in
reducing potential confusion, but will not otherwise have a
significant impact.

Businesses and Entities Affected. The Council regulates
approximately 300 postsecondary institutions of which
approximately 50% would be considered small businesses.?

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments
do not disproportionately affect particular localities.

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments
do not affect employment.

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The
proposed amendments do not significantly affect the use and
value of private property.

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments
do not affect real estate development costs.

Small Businesses:

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia,
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross
annual sales of less than $6 million."

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments do not
significantly affect costs for small businesses.

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The
proposed amendments do not adversely affect small
businesses.

Adverse Impacts:

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not adversely
affect businesses.

Localities. The proposed amendments do not adversely affect
localities.

Other Entities. The proposed amendments do not adversely
affect other entities.

1§ 23-276.4(A)(3)

2§ 23-276.4(A)(4)

3Source: State Council of Higher Education for Virginia

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The State
Council of Higher Education for Virginia concurs with the
economic impact analysis.

Summary:

To correct certain inadvertent errors made during the
2014 revisions to the Regulations Governing Certification
of Certain Institutions to Confer Degrees, Diplomas and
Certificates, the amendments (i) remove fees that are no
longer applicable, (ii) clarify current fees, and (iii) change
"following" to "prior to" to conform 8VAC40-31-160 Q to
the Code of Virginia.

8VAC40-31-160.  Certification
postsecondary schools.

A. The criteria in this section shall apply to all
postsecondary schools for which certification is required.
With regard to postsecondary schools that are accredited by
an accrediting agency recognized by the U.S. Department of
Education, the council may apply a presumption of
compliance with criteria in this section if the school has
complied with an accreditation standard directed to the same
subject matter as the criteria. The council need not apply this
presumption if the accreditation standard is deficient in
satisfying an identifiable goal of the council. The council
shall articulate reasons that the accreditation standard is
deficient.

B. The postsecondary school shall have a clear, accurate,
and comprehensive written statement, which shall be
available to the public upon request. The statement minimally
shall include the following items:

1. The history and development of the postsecondary
school;

2. An identification of any persons, entities, or institutions
that have a controlling ownership or interest in the
postsecondary school,

3. The purpose of the postsecondary school, including a
statement of the relative degree of emphasis on instruction,
research, and public service as well as a statement
demonstrating that the school's proposed offerings are
consistent with its stated purpose;

4. A description of the postsecondary school's activities
including telecommunications activities away from its
principal location, and a list of all program areas in which
courses are offered away from the principal location;

5. A list of all locations in Virginia at which the
postsecondary school offers courses and a list of the degree
and nondegree programs currently offered or planned to be
offered in Virginia;

criteria for all
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6. For each Virginia location, and for the most recent
academic year, the total number of students who were
enrolled as well as the total number and percentage of
students who were enrolled in each program offered;

7. For each Virginia location, the total number of students

who completed or graduated
from the school as of the end of the last academic year and
the total number and percentage of students who
completed/graduated completed or graduated from each
program offered by the school as of the end of the last
academic year; and

8. For unaccredited institutions of higher education and
career-technical schools only, the total number of students
who report employment in their field of study within (i) six

months of graduationicompletion completion or graduation
and (ii) one year of graduation/completion completion or
graduation.

C. The postsecondary school or branch shall have a current,
written document available to students and the general public
upon request that accurately states the powers, duties, and
responsibilities of:

1. The governing board or owners of the school,

2. The chief operating officer, president, or director at that
branch in Virginia;

3. The principal administrators and their credentials at that
branch in Virginia; and

4. The students, if students participate in school
governance.

D. The postsecondary school shall have, maintain, and
provide to all applicants a policy document accurately
defining the minimum requirements for eligibility for
admission to the school and for acceptance at the specific
degree level or into all specific degree programs offered by
the postsecondary school that are relevant to the school's
admissions standards. In addition, the document shall explain:

1. The standards for academic credit or course completion
given for experience;

2. The criteria for acceptance of transfer credit where
applicable;

3. The criteria for refunds of tuition and fees;
4. Students' rights, privileges, and responsibilities; and

5. The established grievance process of the school, which
shall indicate that students should follow this process and
may contact council staff to file a complaint about the
school as a last resort. The written policy shall include a
provision that students will not be subjected to adverse
actions by any school officials as a result of initiating a
complaint.

E. The postsecondary school shall maintain records on all
enrolled students. At a minimum, these records shall include:

1. Each student's application for admission and admissions
records containing information regarding the educational

qualifications of each regular student admitted that are
relevant to the postsecondary school's admissions
standards. Each student record must reflect the
requirements and justification for admission of the student
to the postsecondary school. Admissions records must be
maintained by the school, its successors, or its assigns for a
minimum of three years after the student's last date of
attendance.

2. A transcript of the student's academic or course work at
the school, which shall be retained permanently in either
hard copy forms or in an electronic database with backup
by the school, its successors, or its assigns.

3. A record of student academic or course progress at the
school including programs of study, dates of enroliment,
courses taken and completed, grades, and indication of the
student's current status (graduated, probation, etc.) must be
retained permanently. Any changes or alterations to student
records must be accurately documented and signed by an
appropriate school official.

4. A record of all financial transactions between each
individual student and the school including payments from
the student, payments from other sources on the student's
behalf, and refunds. Fiscal records must be maintained for
a minimum of three years after the student's last date of
attendance. When tuition and fees are paid by the student
in installments, a clear disclosure of truth-in-lending
statement must be provided to and signed by the student.

5. The school shall make the documents referenced in
subdivisions 1 through 4 of this subsection available to the
student upon request. Academic transcripts shall be
provided upon request if the student is in good financial
standing.

F. Each school shall provide or make available to students,

prospective students, and other interested persons a catalog,
bulletin, brochure, or electronic media containing, at a
minimum, the following information:

1. The number of students enrolled in each program
offered.

2. For each Virginia location, the total number of students

who completed or graduated
from the school as of the end of the last academic year and
the total number and percentage of students who
completed/graduated completed or graduated from each
program offered by the school as of the end of the last
academic year.

3. A description of any financial aid offered by the school
including repayment obligations, standards of academic
progress required for continued participation in the
program, sources of loans or scholarships, the percentage
of students receiving federal financial aid (if applicable)
and the average student indebtedness at graduation.

4. A broad description, including academic andler or
career-technical objectives of each program offered, the
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number of hours of instruction in each subject and total
number of hours required for course completion, course
descriptions, and a statement of the type of credential
awarded.

5. A statement of tuition and fees and other charges related
to enrollment, such as deposits, fees, books and supplies,
tools and equipment, and any other charges for which a
student may be responsible.

6. The school's refund policy for tuition and fees pursuant
to subsection N of this section.

7. The school's procedures for handling complaints,
including procedures to ensure that a student will not be
subject to unfair actions as a result of his initiation of a
complaint proceeding.

8. The name and address of the school's accrediting body,
if applicable.

9. The minimum requirements for satisfactory completion
of each degree level and degree program, or nondegree

certificates/diplomas certificates or diplomas.

10. A statement that accurately describes the transferability
of any courses.

11. A statement that accurately represents the
transferability of any diplomas, certificates, or degrees
offered by the school.

12. If the institution offers programs leading to the
Associate of Applied Science or Associate of Occupational
Science degree, a statement that these programs are
terminal eceupationalftechnical occupational or technical
programs and that credits generally earned in these
programs are not applicable to other degrees.

13. The academic or course work schedule for the period
covered by the publication.

14. A statement that accurately details the type and amount
of career advising and placement services offered by the
school.

15. The name, location, and address of the main campus,
branch, or instructional site operating in Virginia.

G. The school must have a clearly defined process by which
the curriculum is established, reviewed and evaluated.
Evaluation of school effectiveness must be completed on a
regular basis and must include, but not be limited to:

1. An explanation of how each program is consistent with
the mission of the school.

2. An explanation of the written process for evaluating
each degree level and program, or career-technical
program, once initiated and an explanation of the
procedures for assessing the extent to which the
educational goals are being achieved.

3. Documented use of the results of these evaluations to
improve the degree and career-technical programs offered
by the school.

H. Pursuant to § 23-276.3 B of the Code of Virginia, the
school must maintain records that demonstrate it is financially
sound; exercises proper management, financial controls and
business practices; and can fulfill its commitments for
education or training. The school’s financial resources should
be characterized by stability, which indicates the school is
capable of maintaining operational continuity for an extended
period of time. The stability indicator that will be used is the
USDOE Financial Ratio (composite score).

1. Institutions of higher education shall provide the results
of an annual audited, reviewed or compiled financial
statement. Career-technical schools shall provide the
results of an annual audited, reviewed or compiled
financial statement or the school may elect to provide
financial information on forms provided by council staff.
The financial report shall be prepared in accordance with
generally accepted accounting principles (GAAP) currently
in effect. The financial report shall cover the most recent
annual accounting period completed.

2. The USDOE composite score range is -1.0 to 3.0.
Schools with a score of 1.5 to 3.0 meet fully the stability
requirement in subsection | of this section; scores between
1.0 and 1.4 meet the minimum expectations; and scores
less than 1.0 do not meet the requirement and shall be
immediately considered for audit.

I. Pursuant to § 23-276.3 B of the Code of Virginia, the
school shall have and maintain a surety instrument issued by
a surety company or banking institution authorized to transact
business in Virginia that is adequate to provide refunds to
students for the unearned non-Title IV portion of tuition and
fees for any given semester, quarter or term and to cover the
administrative cost associated with the instrument claim. The
instrument shall be based on the non-Title IV funds that have
been received from students or agencies for which the
education has not yet been delivered. This figure shall be
indicated in an audited financial statement as a Current (non-
Title 1V) Tuition Liability. A school certified under this
regulation shall be exempt from the surety instrument
requirement if it can demonstrate a USDOE composite
financial responsibility score of 1.5 or greater on its current
financial statement; or if it can demonstrate a composite score
between 1.0 and 1.4 on its current financial statement and has
scored at least 1.5 on a financial statement in either of the
prior two years. The school's eligibility for the surety waiver
shall be determined annually, at the time of recertification.

1. Public postsecondary schools originating in a state other
than Virginia that are operating a branch campus or
instructional site in the Commonwealth of Virginia are
exempt from the surety bond requirement.

2. New schools and unaccredited existing schools must

complete at least five calendar years of academic
instruction andfer or certification to qualify for the surety

waiver/exemption waiver or exemption.
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3. Existing schools seeking a waiver of the surety
instrument requirement must submit an audited financial
statement for the most recent fiscal year end that reflects
the appropriate composite score as indicated in this
subsection.

J. The school shall have a current written policy on faculty
accessibility that shall be distributed to all students. The
school shall ensure that instructional faculty are accessible to
students for academic or course advising at stated times
outside a course's regularly scheduled class hours at each
branch and throughout the period during which the course is
offered.

K. All recruitment personnel must provide prospective
students with current and accurate information on the school
through the use of written and electronic materials and in oral
admissions interviews:

1. The school shall be responsible and liable for the acts of
its admissions personnel.

2. No school, agent, or admissions personnel shall
knowingly make any statement or representation that is
false, inaccurate or misleading regarding the school.

L. All programs offered via telecommunications or distance
education must be comparable in content, faculty, and
resources to those offered in residence; and must include
regular student-faculty interaction by computer, telephone,
mail, or face-to-face meetings. Telecommunication programs
and courses shall adhere to the following minimum standards:

1. The educational objectives for each program or course
shall be clearly defined, simply stated, and of such a nature
that they can be achieved through telecommunications.

2. Instructional materials and technology methods must be
appropriate to meet the stated objectives of the program or
course. The school must consider and implement basic
online navigation of any course or program, an information
exchange privacy and safety policy, a notice of minimum
technology specification for students and faculty, proper
system monitoring, and technology infrastructure
capabilities sufficient to meet the demands of the programs
being offered.

3. The school shall provide faculty and student training and
support services specifically related to telecommunication
activities.

4. The school shall provide for methods for timely
interaction between students and faculty.

5. The school shall develop standards that ensure that
accepted students have sufficient background, knowledge,
and technical skills to successfully undertake a
telecommunications program.

M. The school shall maintain and ensure that students have
access to a library with a collection, staff, services, equipment
and facilities that are adequate and appropriate for the
purpose and enrollment of the school. Library resources shall
be current, well distributed among fields in which the

institution offers instructions, cataloged, logically organized,
and readily located. The school shall maintain a continuous
plan for library resource development and support, including
objectives and selections of materials. Current and formal
written agreements with other libraries or with other entities
may be used. Institutions offering graduate work shall
provide access to library resources that include basic
reference and bibliographic works and major journals in each
discipline in which the graduate program is offered. Career-
technical schools shall provide adequate and appropriate
resources for completion of course work.

N. In accordance with § 23-276.3 B of the Code of Virginia,
the school shall establish a tuition refund policy and
communicate it to students. Each school shall establish,
disclose, and utilize a system of tuition and fee charges for
each program of instruction. These charges shall be applied
uniformly to all similarly circumstanced students. This
requirement does not apply to group tuition rates to business
firms, industry, or governmental agencies that are
documented by written agreements between the school and
the respective organization.

1. The school shall adopt a minimum refund policy relative
to the refund of tuition, fees, and other charges. All fees
and payments, with the exception of the nonrefundable fee
described in subdivision 2 of this subsection, remitted to
the school by a prospective student shall be refunded if the
student is not admitted, does not enroll in the school, does
not begin the program or course, withdraws prior to the
start of the program, or is dismissed prior to the start of the
program.

2. A school may require the payment of a reasonable
nonrefundable initial fee, not to exceed $100, to cover
expenses in connection with processing a student's
enrollment, provided it retains a signed statement in which
the parties acknowledge their understanding that the fee is
nonrefundable. No other nonrefundable fees shall be
allowed prior to enrollment.

3. The school shall provide a period of at least three
business days, excluding weekends and holidays, during
which a student applicant may cancel his enrollment
without financial obligation other than the nonrefundable
fee described in subdivision 2 of this subsection.

4. Following the period described in subdivision 3 of this
subsection, a student applicant (one who has applied for
admission to a school) may cancel, by written notice, his
enrollment at any time prior to the first class day of the
session for which application was made. When
cancellation is requested under these circumstances, the
school is required to refund all tuition paid by the student,
less a maximum tuition fee of 15% of the stated costs of
the course or program or $100, whichever is less. A student
applicant will be considered a student as of the first day of
classes.
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5. The date of the institution's determination that the
student withdrew should be no later than 14 calendar days
after the student's last date of attendance as determined by
the institution from its attendance records. The institution
is not required to administratively withdraw a student who
has been absent for 14 calendar days. However, after 14
calendar days, the institution is expected to have
determined whether the student intends to return to classes
or to withdraw. In addition, if the student is eventually
determined to have withdrawn, the end of the 14-day
period begins the timeframe for calculating the refunds. In
the event that a written notice is submitted, the effective
date of termination shall be the date of the written notice.
The school may require that written notice be transmitted
via registered or certified mail, or by electronic
transmission provided that such a stipulation is contained
in the written enrollment contract. The school is required to
submit refunds to individuals who have terminated their
status as students within 45 days after receipt of a written
request or the date the student last attended classes
whichever is sooner. An institution that provides the
majority of its program offerings through distance learning
shall have a plan for student termination, which shall be
provided to council staff for review with its annual or
recertification application.

6. In the case of a prolonged illness or accident, death in
the family, or other special circumstances that make
attendance impossible or impractical, a leave of absence
may be granted to the student if requested in writing by the
student or designee. No monetary charges or accumulated
absences may be assessed to the student during a leave of
absence. A school need not treat a leave of absence as a
withdrawal if it is an approved leave of absence. A leave of
absence is an approved leave of absence if:

a. The school has a formal, published policy regarding
leaves of absence;

b. The student followed the institution's policy in
requesting the leave of absence and submits a signed,
dated request with the reasons for the leave of absence;

c. The school determines that there is a reasonable
expectation that the student will return to the school;

d. The school approved the student's request in
accordance with the published policy;

e. The school does not impose additional charges to the
student as a result of the leave of absence;

f. The leave of absence does not exceed 180 days in any
12-month period; and

g. Upon the student's return from the leave of absence,
the student is permitted to complete the coursework he
began prior to the leave of absence.

7. If a student does not resume attendance at the institution
on or before the end of an approved leave of absence, the
institution must treat the student as a withdrawal, and the

date that the leave of absence was approved should be
considered the last date of attendance for refund purposes.

8. The minimum refund policy for a school that financially
obligates the student for a quarter, semester, trimester or
other period not exceeding 4-1/2 calendar months shall be
as follows:

a. For schools that utilize an add/drop period, a student
who withdraws during the add/drop period shall be
entitled to 100% refund for the period.

b. For unaccredited schools and schools that do not
utilize an add/drop period:

(1) A student who enters school but withdraws during the
first 1/4 (25%) of the period is entitled to receive as a
refund a minimum of 50% of the stated cost of the course
or program for the period.

(2) A student who enters a school but withdraws after
completing 1/4 (25%), but less than 1/2 (50%) of the
period is entitled to receive as a refund a minimum of
25% of the stated cost of the course or program for the
period.

(3) A student who withdraws after completing 1/2 (50%),
or more than 1/2 (50%), of the period is not entitled to a
refund.

9. The minimum refund policy for a school that financially
obligates the student for the entire amount of tuition and
fees for the entirety of a program or course shall be as
follows:

a. A student who enters the school but withdraws or is
terminated during the first quartile (25%) of the program
shall be entitled to a minimum refund amounting to 75%
of the cost of the program.

b. A student who withdraws or is terminated during the
second quartile (more than 25% but less than 50%) of the
program shall be entitled to a minimum refund
amounting to 50% of the cost of the program.

c. A student who withdraws or is terminated during the
third quartile (more than 50% but less than 75%) of the
program shall be entitled to a minimum refund
amounting to 25% of the cost of the program.

d. A student who withdraws after completing more than
three quartiles (75%) of the program shall not be entitled
to a refund.

10. The minimum refund policy for a school that offers its
programs completely via telecommunications or distance
education shall be as follows:

a. For a student canceling after the 5th calendar day
following the date of enrollment but prior to receipt by
the school of the first completed lesson assignment, all
moneys paid to the school shall be refunded, except the
nonrefundable fee described in subdivision 2 of this
subsection.
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b. If a student enrolls and withdraws or is discontinued
after submission of the first completed lesson
assignment, but prior to the completion of the program,
minimum refunds shall be calculated as follows:

(1) A student who starts the program but withdraws up to
and including completion of the first quartile (25%) of
the program is entitled to receive as a refund a minimum
of 75% of the stated cost of the course or program for the
period.

(2) A student who starts the program but withdraws after
completing up to the second quartile (more than 25%, but
less than 50%) of the program is entitled to receive as a
refund a minimum of 50% of the stated cost of the course
or program for the period.

(3) A student who starts the program but withdraws after
completing up to the third quartile (more than 50%, but
less than 75%) of the program is entitled to receive as a
refund a minimum of 25% of the stated cost of the course
or program for the period.

(4) A student who withdraws after completing the third
quartile (75%) or more of the program is not entitled to a
refund.

c. The percentage of the program completed shall be
determined by comparing the number of completed
lesson assignments received by the school to the total
number of lesson assignments required in the program.

d. If the school uses standard enrollment terms, such as
semesters or quarters, to measure student progress, the
school may use the appropriate refund policy as provided
in subdivision 8 or 9 of this subsection.

11. Fractions of credit for courses completed shall be
determined by dividing the total amount of time required to
complete the period or the program by the amount of time
the student actually spent in the program or the period, or
by the number of correspondence course lessons
completed, as described in the contract.

12. Expenses incurred by students for instructional
supplies, tools, activities, library, rentals, service charges,
deposits, and all other charges are not required to be
considered in tuition refund computations when these
expenses have been represented separately to the student in
the enrollment contract and catalogue, or other documents,
prior to enrollment in the course or program. The school
shall adopt and adhere to reasonable policies regarding the
handling of these expenses when calculating the refund.

13. For programs longer than one year, the policy outlined
in subdivisions 9, 10, and 11 of this subsection shall apply
separately for each academic year or portion thereof.

14. Schools shall comply with the cancellation and
settlement policy outlined in this section, including
promissory notes or contracts for tuition or fees sold to
third parties.

15. When notes, contracts or enrollment agreements are
sold to third parties, the school shall continue to have the
responsibility to provide the training specified regardless
of the source of any tuition, fees, or other charges that have
been remitted to the school by the student or on behalf of
the student.

O. The school shall keep relevant academic transcripts for
all teaching faculty to document that each has the appropriate
educational credentials in the area of teaching responsibility.
In the event teaching qualification is based on professional
competencies andfor or scholarly achievements, relevant
documentation to support reported experience must be
retained by the school.

P. If an internship, externship, or production work is
necessary as a part of the school's education program, the
school must adhere to the following:

1. When programs contain internships or externships, in
any form, the professional training must:

a. Be identified as part of the approved curriculum of the
school and be specified in terms of expected learning
outcomes in a written training plan.

b. Be monitored by an instructor of record during the
entire period of the internship.

c. Not be used to provide labor or as replacement for a
permanent employee.

d. Be performed according to a specified schedule of
time required for training including an expected
completion date.

e. If the internship, externship, or production work is part
of the course requirement, the student may not be
considered as a graduate or issued a graduation credential
until the internship, externship, or production work has
been satisfactorily completed.

2. When receiving compensation for services provided by
students as part of their education program, the school
must clearly inform customers that services are performed
by students by (i) posting a notice in plain view of the
public or (ii) requiring students to wear nametags that
identify them as students while performing services related
to their training.

Q. An institution shall notify council staff of the following
occurrences no later than 30 days fellewing prior to said
occurrence:

1. Addition of new programs or modifications to existing
program. Program names must adhere to the CIP taxonomy
maintained by the National Center for Education Statistics.

2. Addition of a new branch location or instructional site.
3. Address change of a branch or instructional site in
Virginia.

Notification of the above-referenced occurrences shall be

submitted in writing on forms provided by and in a manner
prescribed by the council.
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R. An institution shall notify the council of the following
occurrences no later than 30 days following said occurrence.

1. Naming of new school president.
2. Naming of new campus or branch director.

3. Naming of person responsible for the regulatory
oversight of the institution.

Part VI
Certification Requirements

8VAC40-31-170. Initial certification, recertification, and
change of ownership.

A. An institution shall not use the term "college" or
"university" or words of similar meaning until it has received
acknowledgment from council staff that the name is not in
violation of 8VAC40-31-20.

1. A school may not use the term "college™ in its name
unless the school has been approved or seeks to offer
programs at the associate degree or above.

2. A school may not use the term "university" in its name
unless the school has been approved or seeks to offer
programs at the master's degree or above.

3. The council may refuse to approve a name change when,
in the council's judgment, the proposed name is likely to
mislead the public about the school's identity or the nature
of its programs.

4. A school seeking certification must notify council staff
of its proposed name prior to filing such name with the
State Corporation Commission.

5. Prior to receiving certification to operate, a copy of the
school's certificate from the Virginia State Corporation
Commission authorizing it to transact business in the
Commonwealth under the acknowledged name must be
submitted to council staff.

B. A school shall not operate in the Commonwealth of
Virginia without first receiving certification to operate from
the council. Certified schools shall not enter into any
agreement to deliver or develop courses or programs of study
in Virginia with noncertified postsecondary schools.

C. An out-of-state postsecondary school seeking
certification to operate in the Commonwealth of Virginia
must secure written documentation from the higher education
coordinating andfer or approving agency in the state or
country in which the school is formed, chartered, established,
or incorporated indicating that the school is operating in good
standing. If the school formerly operated in another state or
country but is not operating there at the time of its application
to operate in Virginia, the school must secure from the higher
education coordinating andfer or approving agency
documentation that it closed in good standing and would be
allowed to re-establish reestablish a postsecondary school in
that state or country. These written documentations must be
provided to council staff.

D. A school submitting its initial application for certification
will have 180 days to complete the application process, after
which time its application will be withdrawn by the council
and it will receive a refund of the application fee minus the a

nonrefundable handling-charge-of-$300 administrative fee as
listed in 8VAC40-31-260 D.

E. All certifications shall expire on the certificate expiration
date. Applications for recertification must be submitted to
council staff at least 60 days prior to the expiration date of the
current certification. If a school allows its certification to
operate to expire, the school shall not be eligible for
recertification and must submit an application for initial
certification including the appropriate application fee.

F. Certification is not transferable. In the event of a change
of ownership of a certified school, the new owner or
governing body must secure certification. The school must
apply for certification within 45 business days following a
change of ownership. During the 45-day period and the time
required for the council staff to process the new application,
up to and not exceeding 90 days, the old certification shall
remain in effect provided that no changes have been made in
the academic programs, policies, or financial considerations
such that the change would constitute or create a violation of
council's policies.

1. The following constitutes a change of ownership:
a. Purchase of the entire school or assets of school.

b. Transfer, sale, or purchase of stock, membership, or
other direct or beneficial ownership interest by a single
entity or by multiple entities in a single transaction or a
series of transactions that results in at least 51% change
in control.

2. The acquisition of an interest in a certified school by
bequest, descent, survivorship, or operation of law does not
constitute a change of ownership. However, the person
acquiring the ownership interest shall send written notice
to the council of such acquisition within 30 days of its
closing or validation. The council may determine on a
case-by-case basis that other similar transfers may not
constitute a change of ownership.

3. New school owners are responsible for maintaining and
servicing all student records that were the responsibility of
the prior owners of the school.

4. New school owners are responsible for resolving all
student complaints that were the responsibility of the prior
owners of the school or that were filed with the council
prior to the final approval of the change of ownership.

5. New school owners are responsible for honoring the
terms of current student enrollment agreements,
institutional scholarships, or institutional grants for all
students who were enrolled or taking classes at the time the
change of ownership took place.

G. Council staff will process all applications, conduct the
site visit, and provide notice to applicants within 45 business
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days of receipt of a completed application package. Approval
of the certificate to operate by the council is subject to
scheduling of council meetings and other factors affecting the
agendas of council meetings.

H. Valid-through dates of Certificates-te-Operate certificates
to operate and due dates of recertification applications are as
follows:

1. Out-of-state private degree-granting and career-technical
school certificates are valid for one year beginning on
September 1 of the calendar year and ending on August 31
of the following calendar year. Applications are due not
later than July 2.

2. Out-of-state public institution certificates are valid for
one year beginning on September 15 of the calendar year
and ending on September 14 of the following calendar
year. Applications are due not later than July 16.

3. In-state private nonprofit institution certificates are valid
for one year beginning on October 1 of the calendar year
and ending on September 30 of the following calendar
year. Applications are due not later than August 2.

4. In-state proprietary degree-granting and career-technical
school certificates are valid for one year beginning on
October 15 of the calendar year and ending on October 14
of the following calendar year. Applications are due not
later than August 16.

5. In-state proprietary career-technical school certificates
(letters A-D) are valid for one year beginning on
November 1 of the calendar year and ending on October 31
of the following calendar year. Applications are due not
later than September 2.

6. In-state proprietary career-technical school certificates
(letters E-P) are valid for one year beginning on November
15 of the calendar year and ending on November 14 of the
following calendar year. Applications are due not later than
September 16.

7. In-state proprietary career-technical school certificates
(letters Q-Z and others) are valid for one year beginning on
December 1 of the calendar year and ending on November
30 of the following calendar year. Applications are due not
later than October 2.

8VAC40-31-260. Fees.
A. All fees collected by council staff will be deposited in the
State Treasury.

B. All fees are nonrefundable with the exception of
withdrawal of an application in which case all fees will be
refunded minus a reasonable—handling—charge—of—$300
nonrefundable administrative fee noted in subsection D of
this section.

C. Fees must be paid with a company check and made
payable to the Treasurer of Virginia.

D. The annual fee is based on the annual gross tuition
received by each administrative branch of institutions

certified to operate in Virginia. For out-of-state institutions
certified to operate in Virginia, annual gross tuition means
income generated from students enrolled at Virginia
locations. The flat fee schedule is as follows:

New school orientation session, per

person $150

Initial fee for all new institutions of

higher education $6,000

Initial fee for all new career-technical

schools $2,500

Annual fee for all unaccredited

institutions of higher education $6,000

Annual-fee-forall unaccredited out-

of-state-career-technicalschools | $2,500

Renewal fee for all postsecondary
schools with an annual gross tuition
collected less than $50,000, as
recorded on most recent financial

statement $250

Renewal fee for all postsecondary
schools with an annual gross tuition
collected greater than or equal to
$50,000 but less than $100,000, as
recorded on most recent financial

statement $1,000

Renewal fee for all postsecondary
schools with an annual gross tuition
collected greater than or equal to
$100,000 but less than $500,000, as
recorded on most recent financial

statement $2,500

Renewal fee for all postsecondary
schools with an annual gross tuition
collected greater than or equal to
$500,000 but less than $1,000,000, as
recorded on most recent financial

statement $4,000

Renewal fee for all postsecondary
schools with an annual gross tuition
collected greater than or equal to
$1,000,000, as recorded on most

recent financial statement $5,000

Returned check fee $35

Initial or renewed exemption
application/request for name

acknowledgement/agent registration $300

Nonrefundable administrative fee
(withdrawal of application)

$500 career-
technical, $1000
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institutions of
higher education

Request duplicate certificate to

operate due to school name or

address change $100

Request duplicate agent permit, to

replace lost/stolen/misplaced permit $100

lication fee f tional

branch $300

Application fee for each additional

site $100

Application fee for each additional

program or modification to an

existing program $100

E. A school that submits a payment that is returned for any
reason must resubmit the required payment, any applicable
late fee, and the assessed returned check fee of $35 via a
money order or certified bank check only.

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4393; Filed March 29, 2016, 12:00 p.m.

* *

TITLE 12. HEALTH

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH

Fast-Track Regulation

Title of Requlation: 12VAC5-481. Virginia Radiation
Protection Regulations (amending 12VAC5-481-10,
12VAC5-481-3390 through 12VAC5-481-3450; adding
12VAC5-481-3451, 12VAC5-481-3452, 12VAC5-481-
3453).

Statutory Authority: 88 32.1-12 and 32.1-229 of the Code of
Virginia.

Public Hearing
scheduled.

Public Comment Deadline: May 18, 2016.
Effective Date: June 5, 2016.

Agency Contact: Steve Harrison, Director, Office of
Radiological Health, Department of Health, 109 Governor
Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-8151,
FAX (804) 864-8155, or email
steve.harrison@vdh.virginia.gov.

Basis: Section 32.1-229 of the Code of Virginia authorizes
the State Board of Health to require the licensure and
inspection of radioactive materials facilities and mandates
inspections of mammography facilities. Section 32.1-229.1 of
the Code of Virginia requires the State Board of Health to
promulgate regulations for the registration, inspection, and
certification of x-ray machines.

Information: No public hearings are

Purpose: The Virginia Department of Health (VDH), Office
of Radiological Health (ORH) proposes to amend 12VAC5-
481, Virginia Radiation Protection Regulations, to reflect
changes in and new x-ray modalities pertaining to the medical
field, amend existing and add new definitions, and update the
regulations to meet the current Virginia Register Form, Style,
and Procedure Manual.

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process:
Practitioners have requested that regulations providing for the
use of therapeutic radiation machines be instituted in the
Commonwealth in order to remain up to date with regard to
current practices. The regulated community has requested that
regulations be put into place for the proper operation of
therapeutic and electronic brachytherapy equipment. This
initiative was discussed and endorsed at the November 2014
Radiation Advisory Board meeting. Accordingly, ORH does
not view this initiative as being controversial in nature.

Substance: The Conference of Radiation Control Program
Directors (CRCPD) develops Suggested State Regulations
(SSRs) upon which an individual state may base its
regulations. The x-ray regulations were based upon the SSRs
when adopted in 2006; this amendment will ensure that
Virginia's regulations are brought up to date by incorporating
the most recent CRCPD SSRs in totality. This action adds or
amends provisions concerning radiation therapy machines,
including electronic brachytherapy, as follows:

1. Adds new terms and definitions in 12VAC5-481-10,
including conventional simulator, electronic
brachytherapy, electronic  brachytherapy  device,
electronic brachytherapy source, intensity modulated
radiation  therapy  (IMRT), mobile electronic
brachytherapy service, qualified inspector, qualified
medical physicist, radiation therapy system, target-skin
distance (TSD), and virtual simulator.

2. Amends definitions in 12VAC5-481-10, including
beam-limiting device, leakage radiation, light field,
prescribed dose, and therapeutic radiation machine.

3. Amends the following sections in Part XV,
Therapeutic Radiation Machines: 12VAC5-481-3390,
General administrative requirements for facilities using
therapeutic radiation machines; 12VAC5-481-3400,
General technical requirements for facilities using
therapeutic radiation machines; 12VAC5-481-3410,
Quality management program; 12VAC5-481-3420,
Therapeutic radiation machines of less than 500 kV;
12VAC5-481-3430, Therapeutic radiation machines -
photon therapy systems (500 kV and above) and electron
therapy systems (500 kV and above), and electron
therapy systems (500kv and above); and 12VAC5-481-
3450, Shielding and safety design requirements.

4. Adds the following new sections to Part XV,
Therapeutic Radiation Machines: 12VAC5-481-3451,
Quality assurance for radiation therapy simulation
systems; 12VAC5-481-3452, Electronic brachytherapy;
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and 12VAC5-481-3453, Other use of electronically-
produced radiation to deliver therapeutic radiation
dosage.

Issues: The advantage of this action is that health care
providers regulated by VDH will operate under clear worker
and machine performance standards. Another advantage for
health care professionals and patients is that regulations
governing the application of radiation will meet nationally
recognized performance standards, which will promote
quality of care. There are no disadvantages to the public in
promulgating the proposed regulation.

The advantage of the proposed regulation to the agency is that
the proper regulation of therapeutic radiation producing
machines will now be addressed. There are no disadvantages
to the agency in promulgating the proposed regulation. There
are no disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth as a
result of this initiative.

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact
Analysis:

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation: The
State Health Commissioner proposes to amend the Virginia
Radiation Protection Regulations to 1) add new definitions,
amend existing definitions and update other sections of this
regulation so that it accurately reflects current practice for
therapeutic radiation machines and 2) update the regulation so
that it conforms to the current Virginia Register Form, Style
and Procedure Manual.

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for all
proposed regulatory changes.

Estimated Economic Impact. The Commissioner proposes to
add eleven new definitions and amend a further five to
account for new therapeutic radiation machine techniques and
procedures. For instance, the Commissioner proposes to add a
definition for "radiation therapy systems" and amend the
definition of "therapeutic radiation machine." The
Commissioner also proposes to add language to the
regulatory text to clarify current procedures and requirements
for the regulated community. Some of these changes will, for
instance, replace general language that requires facilities that
own machines covered by this regulation to have a quality
management program with specific language that lays out
exactly what is currently required of such a program.

All of these amendments, as well as the amendments that
bring regulatory language into conformity with the state's
regulatory style manual, are clarifying rather than substantive.
No affected entity is likely to incur costs on account of any of
these changes. To the extent that this regulation was out of
date and out of sync with current radiation machine practices
and terminology, these changes will benefit readers who will
likely find the regulation easier to understand and comply
with.

Businesses and Entities Affected. Virginia Department of
Health staff reports that this x-ray program currently registers

approximately 21,464 x-ray machines. Of these 21,464,
approximately 90 are therapeutic radiation machines. Staff
further reports that approximately 1,500 registrants meet the
criteria for small business.

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be
particularly affected by this regulatory change.

Projected Impact on Employment. These regulatory changes
are unlikely to have any effect on employment in the
Commonwealth.

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These
proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use or
value of private property in the Commonwealth.

Real Estate Development Costs. These proposed regulatory
changes are unlikely to affect real estate development costs in
the Commonwealth.

Small Businesses:

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia,
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and
(i) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross
annual sales of less than $6 million."

Costs and Other Effects. Small businesses are unlikely to
incur any costs on account of these proposed regulatory
changes.

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. Small
businesses are unlikely to incur any costs on account of these
proposed regulatory changes.

Adverse Impacts:

Businesses. Businesses are unlikely to incur any costs on
account of these proposed regulatory changes.

Localities. Localities in the Commonwealth are unlikely to
see any adverse impacts on account of this proposed
regulatory change.

Other Entities. No entities are likely to incur any costs on
account of these regulatory changes.

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The
Virginia Department of Health concurs with the economic
impact analysis submitted by the Department of Planning and
Budget.

Summary:
To reflect changes in and new x-ray modalities for the
medical field, including therapeutic and electonic
brachytherapy equipment, this action (i) amends and adds
defined terms and (ii) updates the regulatory text to clarify
current procedures and requirements.

Part |
General Provisions
12VAC5-481-10. Definitions.

The following words and terms as used in this chapter shall
have the following meanings unless the context clearly
indicates otherwise:
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"A;" means the maximum activity of special form
radioactive material permitted in a Type A package. This
value is listed in Table 1 of 12VAC5-481-3770.

"A," means the maximum activity of radioactive material,
other than special form radioactive material, LSA, and SCO
material, permitted in a Type A package. This value is listed
in Table 1 of 12VAC5-481-3770.

"Absorbed dose" means the energy imparted by ionizing
radiation per unit mass of irradiated material. The units of
absorbed dose are the gray (Gy) and the rad.

"Absorbed dose rate” means absorbed dose per unit time, for
machines with timers, or dose monitor unit per unit time for
linear accelerators.

"Accelerator" means any machine capable of accelerating
electrons, protons, deuterons, or other charged particles in a
vacuum and of discharging the resultant particulate or other
radiation into a medium at energies usually in excess of one
MeV. For purposes of this definition, "particle accelerator" is
an equivalent term.

"Accelerator-produced material* means any material made
radioactive by a particle accelerator.

"Access control" means a system for allowing only
approved individuals to have unescorted access to the security
zone and for ensuring that all other individuals are subject to
escorted access.

"Accessible surface” means the external surface of the
enclosure or housing of the radiation producing machine as
provided by the manufacturer. It also means surface of
equipment or of an equipment part that can be easily or
accidentally touched by persons without the use of a tool.

"Act" means 8§ 32.1-227 through 32.1-238 of the Code of
Virginia.

"Active maintenance" means any significant activity needed
during the period of institutional control to maintain a
reasonable assurance that the performance objectives in
12VAC5-481-2490 and 12VAC5-481-2500 are met. Such
active maintenance includes ongoing activities such as the
pumping and treatment of water from a disposal unit or one-
time measures such as replacement of a disposal unit cover.
Active maintenance does not include custodial activities such
as repair of fencing, repair or replacement of monitoring
equipment, revegetation, minor additions to soil cover, minor
repair of disposal unit covers, and general disposal site
upkeep such as mowing grass.

"Activity" means the rate of disintegration or transformation
or decay of radioactive material. The units of activity are the
becquerel (Bq) and the curie (Ci).

"Acute" means a single radiation dose or chemical exposure
event or multiple radiation dose or chemical exposure events
occurring within a short time (24 hours or less).

"Address of use" means the building or buildings that are
identified on the license and where radioactive material may
be produced, prepared, received, used, or stored.

"Adult" means an individual 18 or more years of age.

"Agency" means the Radiological Health Program of the
Virginia Department of Health.

"Aggregated” means accessible by the breach of a single
physical barrier that would allow access to radioactive
material in any form, including any devices that contain the
radioactive material, when the total activity equals or exceeds
a Category 2 quantity of radioactive material as listed in
12VAC5-481-451.

"Agreement state” means any state with which the NRC or
the Atomic Energy Commission has entered into an effective
agreement under subsection 274b of the Atomic Energy Act
of 1954, as amended (73 Stat. 689).

"Airborne radioactive material" means any radioactive
material dispersed in the air in the form of dusts, fumes,
particulates, mists, vapors, or gases.

"Airborne radioactivity area" means a room, enclosure, or
area in which airborne radioactive materials composed wholly
or partly of licensed material exist in concentrations:

1. In excess of the derived air concentrations (DACs)
specified in 12VAC5-481-3690; or

2. To such a degree that an individual present in the area
without respiratory protective equipment could exceed,
during the hours an individual is present in a week, an
intake of 0.6% of the annual limit on intake (ALI) or 12
DAC hours.

"Air kerma" or "K" means kerma in air (see definition of
"kerma™).

"Air kerma rate" or "AKR" means the air kerma per unit
time.

"Air-purifying respirator” means a respirator with an air-
purifying filter, cartridge, or canister that removes specific air
contaminants by passing ambient air through the air-purifying
element.

"Alert" means events may occur, are in progress, or have
occurred that could lead to a release of radioactive material
but that the release is not expected to require a response by
offsite response organizations to protect persons offsite.

"Aluminum equivalent" means the thickness of type 1100
aluminum alloy affording the same attenuation, under
specified conditions, as the material in question. The nominal
chemical composition of type 100 aluminum is 99.00%
minimum aluminum, 0.12% copper.

"Analytical x-ray equipment" means equipment used for x-
ray diffraction or fluorescence analysis.

"Analytical x-ray system" means a group of components
utilizing x-rays or gamma-rays to determine the elemental
composition or to examine the microstructure of materials.
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"Annual limit on intake" or "ALI" means the derived limit
for the amount of radioactive material taken into the body of
an adult worker by inhalation or ingestion in a year. ALI is
the smaller value of intake of a given radionuclide in a year
by the reference man that would result in a committed
effective dose equivalent of 0.05 Sv (5 rem) or a committed
dose equivalent of 0.5 Sv (50 rem) to any individual organ or
tissue. ALI values for intake by ingestion and by inhalation of
selected radionuclides are given in Tables 1 and 2 in
12VAC5-481-3690.

"Annual refresher safety training” means a review conducted
or provided by the licensee or registrant for its employees on
radiation safety aspects of industrial radiography. The review
shall include, as a minimum, any results of internal
inspections, new procedures or equipment, new or revised
regulations, and accidents or errors that have been observed.
The review shall also provide opportunities for employees to
ask safety questions.

"Annually" means at intervals not to exceed one year.
"ANSI" means the American National Standards Institute.

"Approved individual* means an individual whom the
licensee has determined to be trustworthy and reliable for
unescorted access in accordance with 12VAC5-481-451 and
has completed the training required in 12VAC5-481-451.

"Area of use" means a portion of a physical structure that
has been set aside for the purpose of producing, preparing,
receiving, using, or storing radioactive material.

"Assigned protection factor” or "APF" means the expected
workplace level of respiratory protection that would be
provided by a properly functioning respirator or a class of
respirators to properly fitted and trained users. Operationally,
the inhaled concentration can be estimated by dividing the
ambient airborne concentration by the APF.

"As low as is reasonably achievable™ or "ALARA" means
making every reasonable effort to maintain exposures to
radiation as far below the dose limits in these regulations as is
practical, consistent with the purpose for which the licensed
or registered activity is undertaken, taking into account the
state of technology, the economics of improvements in
relation to state of technology, the economics of
improvements in relation to benefits to the public health and
safety, and other societal and socioeconomic considerations,
and in relation to utilization of nuclear energy and licensed or
registered sources of radiation in the public interest.

"Articulated joint" means a joint between two separate
sections of a tabletop that provides the capacity for one of the
sections to pivot on the line segment along which the sections
join.

"Assembler” means any person engaged in the business of
assembling, replacing, or installing one or more components
into an x-ray system or subsystem. The term includes the
owner of an x-ray system or his employee or agent who
assembles components into an x-ray system that is

subsequently used to provide professional or commercial
services.

"Associated equipment" means equipment that is used in
conjunction with a radiographic exposure device to make
radiographic exposures that drive, guide, or come in contact
with the source.

"Atmosphere-supplying respirator" means a respirator that
supplies the respirator user with breathing air from a source
independent of the ambient atmosphere, and includes
supplied-air respirators (SARs) and self-contained breathing
apparatus (SCBA) units.

"Attenuation block™ means a block or stack, having
dimensions 20 centimeters by 20 centimeters by 3.8
centimeters, of type 1100 aluminum alloy or other materials
having equivalent attenuation. The nominal chemical
composition of type 100 aluminum is 99.00% minimum
aluminum, 0.12% copper.

"Authorized medical physicist” means an individual who:

1. Meets the requirements in 12VAC5-481-1760 and
12VAC5-481-1790; or

2. Is identified as an authorized medical physicist or
teletherapy physicist on:

a. A specific medical use license issued by the NRC or
another agreement state;

b. A medical use permit issued by an NRC master
material licensee;

c. A permit issued by an NRC or another agreement state
broad scope medical use licensee; or

d. A permit issued by an NRC master material license
broad scope medical use permittee.

"Authorized nuclear pharmacist” means a pharmacist who:

1. Meets the requirements in 12VAC5-481-1770 and
12VAC5-481-1790;

2. Is identified as an authorized nuclear pharmacist on:

a. A specific license issued by the NRC or another
agreement state that authorizes medical use or the
practice of nuclear pharmacy;

b. A permit issued by an NRC master material licensee
that authorizes medical use or the practice of nuclear
pharmacy;

c. A permit issued by an NRC or another agreement state
broad scope medical use licensee that authorizes medical
use or the practice of nuclear pharmacy; or

d. A permit issued by an NRC master material license
broad scope medical use permittee that authorizes
medical use or the practice of nuclear pharmacy;

3. Is identified as an authorized nuclear pharmacist by a
commercial nuclear pharmacy that has been authorized to
identify authorized nuclear pharmacists; or

4. Is designated as an authorized nuclear pharmacist in
accordance with 12VAC5-481-440 | 2.
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"Authorized user" means a practitioner of the healing arts
who:

1. Meets the requirements in 12VAC5-481-1790 and any
of the following:

a. 12VAC5-481-1910;
b. 12VAC5-481-1940;
c. 12VAC5-481-1980;
d. 12VAC5-481-1990;
e. 12VAC5-481-2000;
f. 12VAC5-481-2010;
g. 12VAC5-481-2030;
h. 12VAC5-481-2040; or
2. Is identified as an authorized user on:

a. A specific license issued by the NRC or another
agreement state that authorizes medical use;

b. A permit issued by an NRC master material licensee
that authorizes medical use;

c. A permit issued by an NRC or another agreement state
broad scope medical use licensee that authorizes medical
use; or

d. A permit issued by an NRC master material license
broad scope medical use permittee that authorizes
medical use.

"Automatic exposure control” or "AEC" means a device that
automatically controls one or more technique factors in order
to obtain, at a preselected leeation{s) location, a required
quantity of radiation (includes devices such as phototimers
and ion chambers).

"Background investigation" means the investigation
conducted by a licensee or applicant to support the
determination of trustworthiness and reliability.

"Background radiation" means radiation from cosmic
sources, naturally occurring radioactive materials, that have
not been technologically enhanced, including radon, except as
a decay product of source or special nuclear material, and
including global fallout as it exists in the environment from
the testing of nuclear explosive devices, or from past nuclear
accidents such as Chernobyl that contribute to background
radiation and are not under the control of the licensee or
registrant. "Background radiation" does not include sources
of radiation from radioactive materials regulated by the
agency.

"Barrier" (See "Protective barrier").

"Beam axis" means a line from the source through the
centers of the x-ray fields.

"Beam-limiting device"™ means a device that provides a
means to restrict the dimensions of the x-ray field or useful
beam.

"Beam monitoring system" means a system designed and
installed in the radiation head to detect and measure the
radiation present in the useful beam.

"Beam scattering foil" means a thin piece of material
(usually metallic) placed in the beam to scatter a beam of
electrons in order to provide a more uniform electron
distribution in the useful beam.

"Becquerel” or "Bg" means the Sl unit of activity. One
becquerel is equal to one disintegration or transformation per
second (dps or tps).

"Beneficial attribute" means, as used in Part XVI (12VAC5-
481-3460 et seq.) of this chapter, the radioactivity of the
product necessary to the use of the product.

"Beneficial to the product” see "Beneficial attribute.”

"Bent beam linear accelerator" means a linear accelerator
geometry in which the accelerated electron beam must change
direction by passing through a bending magnet.

"Bioassay" means the determination of kinds, quantities or
concentrations, and, in some cases, the locations of
radioactive material in the human body, whether by direct
measurement, in-vivo counting, or by analysis and evaluation
of materials excreted or removed from the human body. For
purposes of these regulations, "radiobioassay" is an
equivalent term.

"Board" means the State Board of Health.

"Brachytherapy" means a method of radiation therapy in
which sealed sources are utilized to deliver a radiation dose at
a distance of up to a few centimeters, by surface,
intracavitary, or interstitial application.

"Buffer zone" means a portion of the disposal site that is
controlled by the licensee and that lies under the disposal
units and between the disposal units and the boundary of the
site.

"Byproduct material" means:

1. Any radioactive material (except special nuclear
material) yielded in, or made radioactive by, exposure to
the radiation incident to the process of producing or using
special nuclear material;

2. The tailings or wastes produced by the extraction or
concentration of uranium or thorium from ore processed
primarily for its source material content, including discrete
surface wastes resulting from uranium solution extraction
processes. Underground ore bodies depleted by these
solution extraction operations do not constitute "byproduct
material™ within this definition;

3. a. Any discrete source of radium-226 that is produced,
extracted, or converted after extraction, before, on, or after
August 8, 2005, for use for a commercial, medical, or
research activity; or

b. Any material that:

(1) Has been made radioactive by use of a particle
accelerator; and
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(2) Is produced, extracted, or converted after extraction,
before, on, or after August 8, 2005, for use for a
commercial, medical, or research activity; and

4. Any discrete source of naturally occurring radioactive
material, other than source material, that:

a. The NRC, in consultation with the Administrator of
the Environmental Protection Agency, the Secretary of
Energy, the Secretary of Homeland Security, and the
head of any other appropriate federal agency, determines
would pose a threat similar to the threat posed by a
discrete source of radium-226 to the public health and
safety or the common defense and security; and

b. Before, on, or after August 8, 2005, is extracted or
converted after extraction for use in a commercial,
medical, or research activity.

"C-arm fluoroscope™ means an x-ray system in which the
image receptor and x-ray tube housing assembly are
connected by a common mechanical support system in order
to maintain a desired spatial relationship. This system is
designed to allow a change in the projection of the beam
through the patient without a change in the position of the
patient.

"Cabinet radiography” means industrial radiography
conducted in an enclosure or cabinet so shielded that every
location on the exterior meets the dose limits for individual
members of the public as specified in 12VAC5-481-720.

"Cabinet x-ray system™ means an x-ray system with the x-
ray tube installed in an enclosure independent of existing
architectural structures except the floor on which it may be
placed. The cabinet x-ray system is intended to contain at
least that portion of a material being irradiated, provide
radiation attenuation, and exclude personnel from its interior
during generation of radiation. Included are all x-ray systems
designed primarily for the inspection of carry-on baggage at
airline, railroad, and bus terminals, and in similar facilities.
An x-ray tube used within a shielded part of a building, or x-
ray equipment that may temporarily or occasionally
incorporate portable shielding, is not considered a cabinet x-
ray system.

"Calendar quarter" means not less than 12 consecutive
weeks nor more than 14 consecutive weeks. The first calendar
quarter of each year shall begin in January and subsequent
calendar quarters shall be so arranged such that no day is
included in more than one calendar quarter and no day in any
one year is omitted from inclusion within a calendar quarter.
The method observed by the licensee or registrant for
determining calendar quarters shall only be changed at the
beginning of a year.

"Calibration" means the determination of (i) the response or
reading of an instrument relative to a series of known
radiation values over the range of the instrument or (ii) the
strength of a source of radiation relative to a standard.

"Camera" (See "Radiographic exposure device").

"Carrier" means a person engaged in the transportation of
passengers or property by land or water as a common,
contract, or private carrier, or by civil aircraft.

"Cassette holder” means a device, other than a spot-film
device, that supports or fixes the position of an x-ray film
(imaging) cassette during an x-ray exposure.

"Category 1 quantities of radioactive material" or "Category
1" means a quantity of radioactive material meeting or
exceeding the Category 1 threshold in Table 1 of 12VAC5-
481-451. This is determined by calculating the ratio of the
total activity of each radionuclide to the Category 1 threshold
for that radionuclide and adding the ratios together. If the sum
is equal to or exceeds 1, the quantity would be considered a
Category 1 quantity. Category 1 quantities of radioactive
material do not include the radioactive material contained in
any fuel assembly, subassembly, fuel rod, or fuel pellet.

"Category 2 quantities of radioactive material" or "Category
2" means a quantity of radioactive material meeting or
exceeding the Category 2 threshold but less than the Category
1 threshold in Table 1 of 12VAC5-481-451. This is
determined by calculating the ratio of the total activity of
each radionuclide to the Category 2 threshold for that
radionuclide and adding the ratios together. If the sum is
equal to or exceeds 1, the quantity would be considered a
Category 2 quantity. Category 2 quantities of radioactive
material do not include the radioactive material contained in
any fuel assembly, subassembly, fuel rod, or fuel pellet.

"Certifiable cabinet x-ray system” means an existing
uncertified x-ray system that has been modified to meet the
certification requirements specified in 21 CFR 1020.40.

"Certificate holder" means a person who has been issued a
certificate of compliance or other package approval by the
NRC.

"Certificate of compliance" or "CoC" means the certificate
issued by the NRC that approves the design of a package for
the transportation of radioactive material.

"Certified cabinet x-ray system" means an x-ray system that
has been certified in accordance with 21 CFR 1010.2 as being
manufactured and assembled pursuant to the provisions of 21
CFR 1020.40.

"Certified components" means components of x-ray systems
that are subject to regulations promulgated under Pub. L. 90-
602, the Radiation Control for Health and Safety Act of 1968
of the Food and Drug Administration.

"Certifying entity" means an independent certifying
organization meeting the agency's requirements for
documenting applicant's training in topics set forth in
12VAC5-481-1320 or equivalent state or NRC regulations.

"CFR" means Code of Federal Regulations.

"Chelating agent" means amine polycarboxylic acids,
hydroxycarboxylic acids, gluconic acid, and polycarboxylic
acids.
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"Chemical description” means a description of the principal
chemical characteristics of a low-level radioactive waste.

"Class" means a classification scheme for inhaled material
according to its rate of clearance from the pulmonary region
of the lung. Materials are classified as D, W, or Y, which
applies to a range of clearance half-times: for Class D, Days,
of less than 10 days; for Class W, Weeks, from 10 to 100
days; and for Class Y, Years, of greater than 100 days. For
purposes of these regulations, "lung class" and "inhalation
class" are equivalent terms.

"Closed transport vehicle” means a transport vehicle
equipped with a securely attached exterior enclosure that
during normal transportation restricts the access of
unauthorized persons to the cargo space containing the
radioactive material. The enclosure may be either temporary
or permanent but shall limit access from top, sides, and ends.
In the case of packaged materials, it may be of the "see-
through” type.

"cm" means centimeters.

"Coefficient of variation" or "C" means the ratio of the
standard deviation to the mean value of a population of
observations. It is estimated using the following equation:

.........

where:
s = Standard deviation of the observed values;
X = Mean value of observations in sample;
Xi = iy, Observation in sample;
n = Number of observations in sample.

"Collective dose" means the sum of the individual doses
received in a given period of time by a specified population
from exposure to a specified source of radiation.

"Collimator" means a device used to limit the size, shape,
and direction of the primary radiation beam. For industrial
radiography it means a radiation shield that is placed on the
end of the guide tube or directly onto a radiographic exposure
device to restrict the size of the radiation beam when the
sealed source is cranked into position to make a radiographic
exposure.

"Commencement of construction” means any clearing of
land, excavation, or other substantial action that would
adversely affect the environment of a land disposal facility.
The term does not mean disposal site exploration, necessary
roads for disposal site exploration, borings to determine
foundation conditions, or other preconstruction monitoring or
testing to establish background information related to the
suitability of the disposal site or the protection of
environmental values.

"Committed dose equivalent” or “"Hrg" means the dose

equivalent to organs or tissues of reference (T) that will be
received from an intake of radioactive material by an
individual during the 50-year period following the intake.

"Committed effective dose equivalent” or "Hgs" is the sum
of the products of the weighting factors (wy) applicable to
each of the body organs or tissues that are irradiated and the
committed dose equivalent to each of these organs or tissues
(Hess0 = 2 (Wt Hr50))-

"Computed tomography" means the production of a
tomogram by the acquisition and computer processing of x-
ray transmission data.

"Computed tomography dose index" means the integral from
-7T to +7T of the dose profile along a line perpendicular to
the tomographic plane divided by the product of the nominal
tomographic section thickness and the number of tomograms
produced in a single scan, that is:

1 +7T
CTDI = — j D(z)d=z
nT J_.;
where:
z = Position along a line perpendicular to the

tomographic plane;

D(z) = Dose at position z;

T = Nominal tomographic section thickness;

n = Number of tomograms produced in a single scan.

This definition assumes that the dose profile is centered
around z = 0 and that, for a multiple tomogram system, the
scan increment between adjacent scans is nT.

"Computer-readable medium" means that the regulatory
agency's computer can transfer the information from the
medium into its memory.

"Consignee" means the designated receiver of the shipment
of low-level radioactive waste.

"Consignment" means each shipment of a package or groups
of packages or load of radioactive material offered by a
shipper for transport.

"Consortium" means an association of medical use licensees
and a PET radionuclide production facility in the same
geographical area that jointly own or share in the operation
and maintenance cost of the PET radionuclide production
facility that produces PET radionuclides for use in producing
radioactive drugs within the consortium for noncommercial
distributions among its associated members for medical use.
The PET radionuclide production facility within the
consortium must be located at an educational institution or a
federal facility or a medical facility.

"Constraint" means each shipment of a package or groups of
packages or load of radioactive material offered by a shipper
for transport.

Volume 32, Issue 17

Virginia Register of Regulations

April 18, 2016

2346



Regulations

"Constraint” or "dose constraint” means a value above which
specified licensee actions are required.

"Contact therapy system” means a therapeutic radiation
machine with a short target to skin distance (TSD), usually
less than five centimeters.

"Contrast scale" means the change in the linear attenuation
coefficient per CTN relative to water, that is:

TS = My — Hyp
CTN, — CTN,,
where:

MUx = Linear attenuation coefficient of the material of
interest;

Uw=Linear  attenuation  coefficient of  water;

CTN . = of the material of interest;

CT Ny = of water.

"Control cable” or "drive™ means the cable that is connected
to the source assembly and used to drive the source to and
from the exposure location.

"Control drive mechanism" means a device that enables the
source assembly to be moved into and out of the exposure
device.

"Control panel” means that part of the x-ray control upon
which are mounted the switches, knobs, pushbuttons, and
other hardware necessary for manually setting the technique
factors.

"Control tube" means a protective sheath for guiding the
control cable. The control tube connects the control drive
mechanism to the radiographic exposure device.

"Controlled area" means an area, outside of a restricted area
but inside the site boundary, access to which can be limited
by the licensee for any reason.

"Conventional simulator" means any x-ray system designed
to reproduce the geometric conditions of the radiation therapy
equipment.

"Conveyance" means:

1. For transport by public highway or rail any transport
vehicle or large freight container;

2. For transport by water any vessel, or any hold,
compartment, or defined deck area of a vessel including
any transport vehicle on board the vessel; and

3. For transport by any aircraft.

"Cooling curve" means the graphical relationship between
heat units stored and cooling time.

"Cradle" means either:

1. A removable device that supports and may restrain a
patient above an x-ray table; or

2. A device:

a. Whose patient support structure is interposed between
the patient and the image receptor during normal use;

b. Which is equipped with means for patient restraint;
and

c. Which is capable of
(longitudinal) axis.

"Critical group” means the group of individuals reasonably

expected to receive the greatest exposure to residual
radioactivity for any applicable set of circumstances.

"Criticality safety index™" or "CSI" means the dimensionless
number (rounded up to the next tenth) assigned to and placed
on the label of a fissile material package, to designate the
degree of control of accumulation of packages containing
fissile material during transportation. Determination of the
criticality safety index is described in Part XIIl (12VAC5-
481-2950 et seq.).

"CS" (See "Contrast scale").
"CT" (See "Computed tomography").

"CT conditions of operation®™ means all selectable
parameters governing the operation of a CT x-ray system
including, but not limited to, nominal tomographic section
thickness, filtration, and the technique factors as defined in
these regulations.

"CTDI" (See "Computed tomography dose index"™).

"CT gantry" means the tube housing assemblies, beam-
limiting devices, detectors, and the supporting structures and
frames which hold these components.

"CTN" (See "CT number").

"CT number" means the number used to represent the x-ray
attenuation associated with each elemental area of the CT

image.
k I:Jux -
fhys

rotation about its long

Ho)

CTN =

where:

k= A constant, a normal value of 1,000 when the
Hounsfield scale of CTN is used;

Ux = Linear attenuation coefficient of the material of
interest;

Mw = Linear attenuation coefficient of water.

"Cumulative air kerma" means the total air kerma accrued
from the beginning of an examination or procedure and
includes all contribution from fluoroscopic and radiographic
irradiation.

"Curie" means a unit of quantity of activity. One curie (Ci)
is that quantity of radioactive material that decays at the rate
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of 3.7E+10 disintegrations or transformations per second (dps
or tps).

"Custodial agency" means an agency of the government
designated to act on behalf of the government owner of the
disposal site.

"Declared pregnant woman" means a woman who has
voluntarily informed the licensee, in writing, of her
pregnancy and the estimated date of conception. The
declaration remains in effect until the declared pregnant
woman withdraws the declaration in writing or is no longer
pregnant.

"Decommission” means to remove a facility or site safely
from service and reduce residual radioactivity to a level that
permits release of the property for unrestricted use and
termination of the license or release of the property under
restricted conditions and termination of the license.

"Decontamination facility" means a facility operating under
a Commission or Agreement State license whose principal
purpose is decontamination of equipment or materials to
accomplish recycle, reuse, or other waste management
objectives, and, for purposes of this part, is not considered to
be a consignee for LLW shipments.

"Dedicated check source™ means a radioactive source that is
used to assure the constant operation of a radiation detection
or measurement device over several months or years. This
source may also be used for other purposes.

"Deep dose equivalent™ or "Hg," which applies to external
whole body exposure, means the dose equivalent at a tissue
depth of one centimeter (1000 mg/cm?).

"Demand respirator" means an atmosphere-supplying
respirator that admits breathing air to the facepiece only when
a negative pressure is created inside the facepiece by
inhalation.

"Department of Energy" means the Department of Energy
established by Pub. L. 95-91, August 4, 1977, 91 Stat. 565,
42 USC 87101 et seq., to the extent that the Department
exercises functions formerly vested in the Atomic Energy
Commission, its Chairman, members, officers, and
components and transferred to the Energy Research and
Development Administration and to the Administrator thereof
pursuant to 88104(b), (c) and (d) of the Energy
Reorganization Act of 1974 (Pub. L. 93-438, October 11,
1974, 88 Stat. 1233 at 1237, 42 USC § 5814, effective
January 19, 1975) and retransferred to the Secretary of
Energy pursuant to § 301(a) of the Department of Energy
Organization Act (Pub. L. 95-91, August 4, 1977, 91 Stat.
565 at 577-578, 42 USC § 7151, effective October 1, 1977).

"Depleted uranium™ means the source material uranium in
which the isotope uranium-235 is less than 0.711 weight
percentage of the total uranium present. Depleted uranium
does not include special nuclear material.

"Derived air concentration" or "DAC" means the
concentration of a given radionuclide in air which, if breathed

by the reference man for a working year of 2,000 hours under
conditions of light work, results in an intake of one ALI. For
purposes of these regulations, the condition of light work is
an inhalation rate of 1.2 cubic meters of air per hour for 2,000
hours in a year. DAC values are given in 12VAC5-481-3690.

"Derived air concentration-hour" or "DAC hour" means the
product of the concentration of radioactive material in air,
expressed as a fraction or multiple of the derived air
concentration for each radionuclide, and the time of exposure
to that radionuclide, in hours. A licensee or registrant may
take 2,000 DAC hours to represent one ALI, equivalent to a
committed effective dose equivalent of 0.05 Sv (5 rem).

"Detector” (See "Radiation detector").

"Deuterium" means, for the purposes of Part X1l (12VAC5-
481-2950 et seq.) deuterium and any deuterium compounds,
including heavy water, in which the ratio of deuterium atoms
to hydrogen atoms exceeds 1:5000.

"Diagnostic clinical procedures manual” means a collection
of written procedures that describes each method (and other
instructions and precautions) by which the licensee performs
diagnostic clinical procedures, where each diagnostic clinical
procedure has been approved by the authorized user and
includes the radiopharmaceutical, dosage, and route of
administration.

"Diagnostic source assembly” means the tube housing
assembly with a beam-limiting device attached.

"Diagnostic x-ray system" means an x-ray system designed
for irradiation of any part of the human or animal body for the
purpose of diagnosis or visualization.

"Direct scattered radiation” means that scattered radiation
that has been deviated in direction only by materials
irradiated by the useful beam (See "Scattered radiation™).

"Discrete source" means a radionuclide that has been
processed so that its concentration within a material has been
purposely increased for use for commercial, medical, or
research activities.

"Disposable respirator" means a respirator for which
maintenance is not intended and that is designed to be
discarded after excessive breathing resistance, sorbent
exhaustion, physical damage, or end-of-service-life renders it
unsuitable for use. Examples of this type of respirator are a
disposable half-mask respirator and a disposable escape-only
self-contained breathing apparatus (SCBA).

"Disposal" means the isolation of wastes from the biosphere
inhabited by man and his food chains by emplacement in a
land disposal facility.

"Disposal container" means a container principally used to
confine low-level radioactive waste during disposal
operations at a land disposal facility (also see "high integrity
container"). Note that for some shipments, the disposal
container may be the transport package.
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"Disposal site" means that portion of a land disposal facility
that is used for disposal of waste. It consists of disposal units
and a buffer zone.

"Disposal unit" means a discrete portion of the disposal site
into which waste is placed for disposal. For near-surface
disposal, the unit is usually a trench.

"Distinguishable from background” means that the
detectable concentration of a radionuclide is statistically
different from the background concentration of that
radionuclide in the vicinity of the site or, in the case of
structures, in similar materials using adequate measurement
technology, survey, and statistical techniques.

"Diversion" means the unauthorized movement of
radioactive material subject to 12VAC5-481-451 to a location
different from the material's authorized destination inside or
outside of the site at which the material is used or stored.

"Dose" is a generic term that means absorbed dose, dose

equivalent, effective dose equivalent, committed dose
equivalent, committed effective dose equivalent, total organ
dose equivalent, or total effective dose equivalent. For
purposes of these regulations, "radiation dose" is an
equivalent term.

"Dose commitment” means the total radiation dose to a part
of the body that will result from retention in the body of
radioactive material. For purposes of estimating the dose
commitment, it is assumed that from the time of intake the
period of exposure to retained material will not exceed 50
years.

"Dose equivalent” or "Hy" means the product of the
absorbed dose in tissue, quality factor, and all other necessary
modifying factors at the location of interest. The units of dose
equivalent are the sievert (Sv) and rem.

"Dose limits" means the permissible upper bounds of
radiation doses established in accordance with these
regulations. For purposes of these regulations, "limits" is an
equivalent term.

"Dose monitor unit" or "DMU" means a unit response from
the beam monitoring system from which the absorbed dose
can be calculated.

"Dose profile" means the dose as a function of position
along a line.

"Dosimetry processor" means an individual or an
organization that processes and evaluates individual
monitoring devices in order to determine the radiation dose
delivered to the monitoring devices.

"Doubly encapsulated sealed source™ means a sealed source
in which the radioactive material is sealed within an inner
capsule and that capsule is sealed within an outer capsule.

"Drive cable" (See "Control cable").

"Effective dose equivalent” or "Hg" means the sum of the
products of the dose equivalent (Hy) to each organ or tissue

and the weighting factor (wy) applicable to each of the body
organs or tissues that are irradiated (Hg = £ wrHy).

"Electronic brachytherapy" means a method of radiation
therapy where an electrically generated source of ionizing
radiation is placed in or near the tumor or target tissue to
deliver therapeutic radiation dosage.

"Electronic brachytherapy device" means the system used to
produce and deliver therapeutic radiation including the x-ray
tube, the control mechanism, the cooling system, and the
power source.

"Electronic brachytherapy source” means the x-ray tube
component used in an electronic brachytherapy device.

"Elemental area™ means the smallest area within a tomogram
for which the x-ray attenuation properties of a body are
depicted. (See also "Picture element").

"Embryo/fetus" means the developing human organism from
conception until the time of birth.

"Energy compensation source” or "ECS" means a small
sealed source, with an activity not exceeding 3.7 MBq (100
uCi), used within a logging tool, or other tool components, to
provide a reference standard to maintain the tool's calibration
when in use.

"Engineered barrier" means a manmade structure or device
that is intended to improve the land disposal facility's ability
to meet the performance objectives in these regulations.

"Enriched uranium” (See "Uranium - natural, depleted,
enriched™).

"Entrance or access point" means any opening through
which an individual or extremity of an individual could gain
access to radiation areas or to licensed or registered
radioactive materials. This includes entry or exit portals of
sufficient size to permit human entry, irrespective of their
intended use.

"EPA identification number" means the number received by
a transporter following application to the Administrator of
EPA as required by 40 CFR Part 263.

"Equipment" (See "X-ray equipment").

"Escorted access" means accompaniment while in a security
zone by an approved individual who maintains continuous

direct visual surveillance at all times over an individual who
is not approved for unescorted access.

"Exclusive use" means the sole use by a single consignor of
a conveyance for which all initial, intermediate, and final
loading and unloading are carried out in accordance with the
direction of the consignor or consignee. The consignor and
the carrier must ensure that any loading or unloading is
performed by personnel having radiological training and
resources appropriate for safe handling of the consignment.
The consignor must issue specific instructions, in writing, for
maintenance of exclusive use shipment controls, and include
them with the shipping paper information provided to the
carrier by the consignor.
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"Explosive material* means any chemical compound,
mixture, or device that produces a substantial instantaneous
release of gas and heat spontaneously or by contact with
sparks or flame.

"Exposure™” means being exposed to ionizing radiation or to
radioactive material.

"Exposure head" means a device that locates the gamma
radiography sealed source in the selected working position.

"Exposure rate" means the exposure per unit of time, such as
roentgen per minute and milliroentgen per hour.

"External beam radiation therapy" means therapeutic
irradiation in which the source of radiation is at a distance
from the body.

"External dose" means that portion of the dose equivalent
received from any source of radiation outside the body.

"Extremity” means hand, elbow, arm below the elbow, foot,
knee, and leg below the knee.

"Facility" means the location, building, vehicle, or complex
under one administrative control, at which one or more
radiation machines are installed, located andfer or used.

"Fail-safe characteristics" means a design feature that causes
beam port shutters to close, or otherwise prevents emergence
of the primary beam, upon the failure of a safety or warning
device.

"Field emission equipment" means equipment that uses an
x-ray tube in which electron emission from the cathode is due
solely to the action of an electric field.

"Field-flattening filter" means a filter used to homogenize
the absorbed dose rate over the radiation field.

"Field station” means a facility where radioactive sources
may be stored or used and from which equipment is
dispatched to temporary jobsites.

"Filter" means material placed in the useful beam to
preferentially absorb selected radiations. It also means
material placed in the useful beam to change beam quality in
therapeutic radiation machines subject to Part XV (12VACS5-
481-3380 et seq.) of this chapter.

"Filtering facepiece” or "dusk mask"™ means a negative
pressure particulate respirator with a filter as an integral part
of the facepiece or with the entire facepiece composed of the
filtering medium, not equipped with elastomeric sealing
surfaces and adjustable straps.

"Fingerprint orders" means the requirements of 12VAC5-
481-451 C or orders issued by the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory
Commission or the legally binding requirements issued by
agreement states that require fingerprints and criminal history
records checks for individuals with unescorted access to
Category 1 and Category 2 quantities of radioactive material
or safeguards information-modified handling.

"Fissile material” means the radionuclides uranium-233,
uranium-235, plutonium-239, and plutonium-241, or any
combination of these radionuclides. "Fissile material” means

the fissile nuclides themselves, not material containing fissile
nuclides. Unirradiated natural uranium and depleted uranium
and natural uranium or depleted uranium, that has been
irradiated in thermal reactors only, are not included in this
definition. Certain exclusions from fissile material controls
are provided in 10 CFR 71.15.

1. Fissile Class I: A package that may be transported in
unlimited numbers and in any arrangement, and that
requires no nuclear criticality safety controls during
transportation. A transport index is not assigned for
purposes of nuclear criticality safety but may be required
because of external radiation levels.

2. Fissile Class Il: A package that may be transported
together with other packages in any arrangement but, for
criticality control, in numbers that do not exceed an
aggregate transport index of 50. These shipments require
no other nuclear criticality safety control during
transportation. Individual packages may have a transport
index not less than 0.1 and not more than 10.

"Fissile material package” means a fissile material
packaging together with its fissile material contents.

"Fit factor" means a quantitative estimate of the fit of a
particular respirator to a specific individual, and typically
estimates the ratio of the concentration of a substance in
ambient air to its concentration inside the respirator when
worn.

"Fit test” means the use of a protocol to qualitatively or
quantitatively evaluate the fit of a respirator on an individual.

"Fluoroscopic imaging assembly” means a subsystem in
which x-ray photons produce a set of fluoroscopic images or
radiographic images recorded from the fluoroscopic image
receptor. It includes the image receptors, electrical interlocks,
if any, and structural material providing linkage between the
image receptor and diagnostic source assembly.

"Fluoroscopic irradiation time" means the cumulative
duration during an examination or procedure of operator-
applied continuous pressure to the device, enabling x-ray tube
activation in any fluoroscopic mode of operation.

"Fluoroscopy” means a technique for generating Xx-ray
images and presenting them simultaneously and continuously
as visible images. This term has the same meaning as the term
"radioscopy” in the standards of the International
Electrotechnical Commission.

"Focal spot" or "actual” means the area projected on the
anode of the x-ray tube bombarded by the electrons
accelerated from the cathode and from which the useful beam
originates.

"Former Atomic Energy Commission or NRC licensed
facilities” means nuclear reactors, nuclear fuel reprocessing
plants, uranium enrichment plants, or critical mass
experimental facilities where Atomic Energy Commission or
NRC licenses have been terminated.
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"Gantry" means that part of a radiation therapy system
supporting and allowing movements of the radiation head
about a center of rotation.

"Generally applicable environmental radiation standards"
means standards issued by the Environmental Protection
Agency under the authority of the Atomic Energy Act of
1954, as amended, that impose limits on radiation exposures
or levels, or concentrations or quantities of radioactive
material, in the general environment outside the boundaries of
locations under the control of persons possessing or using
radioactive material.

"General environment" means, as used in Part XVI
(12VAC5-481-3460 et seqg.) of this chapter, the total
terrestrial, atmospheric, and aquatic environments outside the
site boundary within which any activity, operation, or process
authorized by a general or specific license issued under Part
XVI, is performed.

"General purpose radiographic x-ray system" means any
radiographic x-ray system that, by design, is not limited to
radiographic examination of specific anatomical regions.

"Generator" means a licensee who (i) is a waste generator as
defined in this chapter or (ii) is the licensee to whom waste
can be attributed within the context of the Low-Level
Radioactive Waste Policy Amendments Act of 1985 (e.g.,
waste generated as a result of decontamination or recycle
activities).

"Gonad shield" means a protective barrier for the testes or
ovaries.

"Gray (Gy)" means the Sl unit of absorbed dose. One gray is
equal to an absorbed dose of one joule per kilogram (100
rad).

"Guide tube (protection sheath)" means a flexible or rigid
tube, or "J" tube, for guiding the source assembly and the
attached control cable from the exposure device to the
exposure head. The guide tube may also include the
connections necessary for attachment to the exposure device
and to the exposure head.

"Half-value layer" or "HVL" means the thickness of a
specified material that attenuates the beam of radiation to an
extent that the AKR is reduced by one-half of its original
value. In this definition, the contribution of all scattered
radiation, other than any which might be present initially in
the beam concerned, is deemed to be excluded.

"Hand-held radiographic unit" means x-ray equipment that
is designed to be hand-held during operation.

"Hands-on experience” means experience in all of those
areas considered to be directly involved in the radiography
process, and includes taking radiographs, calibration of
survey instruments, operational and performance testing of
survey instruments and devices, film development, posting of
radiation areas, transportation of radiography equipment,
posting of records and radiation area surveillance, etc., as
applicable. Excessive time spent in only one or two of these

areas, such as film development or radiation area
surveillance, should not be counted toward the 2,000 hours of
hands-on experience required for a radiation safety officer in
12VAC5-481-1310 B 2 or the hands-on experience for a
radiographer as required by 12VAC5-481-1320 A.

"Hazardous waste" means those wastes designated as
hazardous by the Environmental Protection Agency
regulations in 40 CFR Part 261.

"Healing arts" means the art or science or group of arts or
sciences dealing with the prevention and cure or alleviation of
ailments, diseases or infirmities, and has the same meaning as
"medicine" when the latter term is used in its comprehensive
sense.

"Healing arts screening"” means the testing of human beings
using x-ray machines for the detection or evaluation of health
indications when such tests are not specifically and
individually ordered by a licensed practitioner of the healing
arts legally authorized to prescribe such x-ray tests for the
purpose of diagnosis or treatment.

"Heat unit" means a unit of energy equal to the product of
the peak Kilovoltage, milliamperes, and seconds, such as
(kVp) times (mA) times (seconds).

"Helmet" means a rigid respiratory inlet covering that also
provides head protection against impact and penetration.

"High integrity container" or "HIC" means a container
commonly designed to meet the structural stability
requirements of 12VAC5-481-2572 and to meet
U.S. Department of Transportation requirements for a Type A
package.

"High radiation area"” means an area, accessible to
individuals, in which radiation levels from radiation sources
external to the body could result in an individual receiving a
dose equivalent in excess of one mSv (0.1 rem) in one hour at
30 centimeters from any source of radiation or 30 centimeters
from any surface that the radiation penetrates.

"Hood" means a respiratory inlet covering that completely
covers the head and neck and may also cover portions of the
shoulders and torso.

"Human use" means the internal or external administration
of radiation or radioactive material to human beings.

"Hydrogeologic unit" means any soil or rock unit or zone
which by virtue of its porosity or permeability, or lack
thereof, has a distinct influence on the storage or movement
of groundwater.

"Image intensifier" means a device, installed in its housing,
that instantaneously converts an x-ray pattern into a
corresponding light image of higher intensity.

"Image receptor" means any device, such as a fluorescent
screen, radiographic film, x-ray image intensifier tube, solid-
state detector, or gaseous detector that transforms incident x-
ray photons either into a visible image or into another form
that can be made into a visible image by further
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transformations. In those cases where means are provided to
preselect a portion of the image receptor, the term "image
receptor” shall mean the preselected portion of the device.

"Image receptor support device" means, for mammographic
systems, that part of the system designed to support the image
receptor during mammographic examination and to provide a
primary protective barrier.

"Inadvertent intruder" means a person who might occupy the
disposal site after closure and engage in normal activities,
such as agriculture, dwelling construction, or other pursuits in
which an individual might be unknowingly exposed to
radiation from the waste.

"Independent certifying organization" means an independent
organization that meets the agency's criteria for documenting
applicant's training in topics set forth in 12VAC5-481-1320
or equivalent agreement state or NRC regulations.

"Individual” means any human being.
"Individual monitoring" means the assessment of:

1. Dose equivalent (i) by the use of individual monitoring
devices or (ii) by the use of survey data; or

2. Committed effective dose equivalent (i) by bioassay or
(i) by determination of the time-weighted air
concentrations to which an individual has been exposed,
that is, DAC hours. (See the definition of DAC)

"Individual monitoring devices" means devices designed to
be worn by a single individual for the assessment of dose
equivalent. For purposes of these regulations, "personnel
dosimeter” and "dosimeter" are equivalent terms. Examples
of individual monitoring devices are film badges,
thermoluminescent dosimeters (TLDs), pocket ionization
chambers, optically stimulated luminescence (OSL)
dosimeters and personal air sampling devices.

"Industrial radiography” means an examination of the
structure of materials by the nondestructive method of
utilizing ionizing radiation to make radiographic images.
"Inhalation class" (See "Class").

"Injection tool" means a device used for controlled
subsurface injection of radioactive tracer material.

"Inspection” means an official examination or observation
including, but not limited to, tests, surveys, and monitoring to
determine compliance with rules, regulations, orders,
requirements, and conditions of the agency.

"Institutional controls" means: (i) permanent markers placed
at a disposal site, (ii) public records and archives, (iii)
government ownership and regulations regarding land or
resource use, and (iv) other methods of preserving knowledge
about the location, design, and contents of a disposal system.

"Instrument  traceability"  (for ionizing  radiation
measurements) means the ability to show that an instrument
has been calibrated at specified time intervals using a national
standard or a transfer standard. If a transfer standard is used,
the calibration must be at a laboratory accredited by a

program that requires continuing participation in
measurement quality assurance with the National Institute of
Standards and Technology or other equivalent national or
international program.

"Intensity modulated radiation therapy" or "IMRT" means
radiation therapy that uses nonuniform radiation beam
intensities that have been determined by various computer-
based optimization techniques.

"Interlock" means a device arranged or connected such that
the occurrence of an event or condition is required before a
second event or condition can occur or continue to occur.

"Internal dose™ means that portion of the dose equivalent
received from radioactive material taken into the body.

"Interruption of irradiation” means the stopping of
irradiation with the possibility of continuing irradiation
without resetting of operating conditions at the control panel.

"Intruder barrier" means a sufficient depth of cover over the
waste that inhibits contact with waste and helps to ensure that
radiation exposures to an inadvertent intruder will meet the
performance objectives set forth in these regulations, or
engineered structures that provide equivalent protection to the
inadvertent intruder.

"Irradiation" means the exposure of matter to ionizing
radiation.

"Irradiator" means a facility that uses radioactive sealed
sources for the irradiation of objects or materials and in which
radiation dose rates exceeding five grays (500 rads) per hour
exist at one meter from the sealed radioactive sources in air or
water, as applicable for the irradiator type, but does not
include irradiators in which both the sealed source and the
area subject to irradiation are contained within a device and
are not accessible to personnel.

"Irradiator operator" means an individual who has
successfully completed the training and testing described in
12VAC5-481-2830 and is authorized by the terms of the
license to operate the irradiator without a supervisor present.

"Irradiator operator supervisor" means an individual who

meets the requirements for an irradiator operator and who
physically oversees operation of the irradiator by an
individual who is currently receiving training and testing
described in 12VAC5-481-2830.

"lsocenter" means the center of the smallest sphere through
which the beam axis passes when the equipment moves
through a full range of rotations about its common center.

"kBq" means kilabecquerels.

"Kerma" or "K" means the quantity defined by the
International Commission on Radiation Units and
Measurements. The kerma is the quotient of dEtr by dm,
where dEtr is the sum of the initial kinetic energies of all
charged particles liberated by uncharged particles in a mass
dm of materials; thus K=dEtr/dm, in units of J/kg, where the
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special name for the units of kerma is gray (Gy). When the
materials is air, the quantity is referred to as "air kerma."

"Kilovolt" or "kV" means the energy equal to that acquired
by a particle with one electron charge in passing through a
potential difference of 1,000 volts in a vacuum. Current
convention is to use kV for photons and keV for electrons.

"Kilovolts peak" (See "Peak tube potential™).
"kV" means kilovolts.

"kVp" (See "Peak tube potential™).

"kWs" means kilowatt second.

"Land disposal facility" means the land, buildings, structures
and equipment that is intended to be used for the disposal of
wastes into the subsurface of the land. For purposes of this
chapter, a "geologic repository” as defined in 10 CFR Part 60
or 10 CFR Part 63 is not considered a land disposal facility.

"Last image hold radiograph" or "LIH" means an image
obtained either by retaining one or more fluoroscopic images,
which may be temporarily integrated, at the end of a
fluoroscopic exposure or by initiating a separate and distinct
radiographic exposure automatically and immediately in
conjunction with termination of the fluoroscopic exposure.

"Lay-barge radiography” means industrial radiography
performed on any water vessel used for laying pipe.

"Lead equivalent" means the thickness of the material in
question affording the same attenuation, under specified
conditions, as lead.

"Leakage radiation"” means radiation emanating from the
diagnostic source assembly or the radiation therapy system
except for:

1. The useful beam; and

2. Radiation produced when the exposure switch or timer is
not activated.

"Leakage technique factors” means the technique factors
associated with the diagnostic source assembly that are used
in measuring leakage radiation. They are defined as follows:

1. For diagnostic source assemblies intended for capacitor
energy storage equipment, the maximum-rated peak tube
potential and the maximum-rated number of exposures in
an hour for operation at the maximum-rated peak tube
potential with the quantity of charge per exposure being 10
millicoulombs, (10 mAs), or the minimum obtainable from
the unit, whichever is larger;

2. For diagnostic source assemblies intended for field
emission equipment rated for pulsed operation, the
maximum-rated peak tube potential and the maximum-
rated number of x-ray pulses in an hour for operation at the
maximum-rated peak tube potential; or

3. For all other diagnostic source assemblies, the
maximum-rated peak tube potential and the maximum-
rated continuous tube current for the maximum-rated peak
tube potential.

"Lens dose equivalent" or "LDE" applies to the external
exposure of the lens of the eye and is taken as the dose
equivalent at a tissue depth of 0.3 cm (300 mg/cm?).

"License” means a license issued by the agency in
accordance with the regulations adopted by the board.

"Licensed material" means radioactive material received,
possessed, used, transferred or disposed of under a general or
specific license issued by the agency.

"Licensee" means any person who is licensed by the agency
in accordance with these regulations and the Act.

"Light field" means that the area of-the-intersection-of-the
light-beam-from-the-bea .I' Iml'lg device Ia d GIFE gl I t.' e-set

|_Ie|eep_te| whose pe'ﬁ' etel ISF the-ocus-of-poi |t|s abwhich the

illuminated by light, simulating the radiation field.
"Limits" (See "Dose limits").
"Line-voltage regulation” means the difference between the

no-load and the load line potentials expressed as a percent of
the load line potential as follows:

Percent line-voltage regulation = 100 (V,-V)/V,
where:

V, = No-load line potential; and

V, = Load line potential.

"Lixiscope" means a portable light-intensified imaging
device using a sealed source.

"Local components” means part of an analytical x-ray
system and include areas that are struck by x-rays such as
radiation source housings, port and shutter assemblies,
collimators, sample holders, cameras, goniometers, detectors,
and shielding, but do not include power supplies,
transformers, amplifiers, readout devices, and control panels.

"Local law-enforcement agency"” or "LLEA" means a public
or private organization that has been approved by a federal,
state, or local government to carry firearms and make arrests
and is authorized and has the capability to provide an armed
response in the jurisdiction where the licensed Category 1 or
Category 2 quantity of radioactive material is used, stored, or
transported.

"Logging assistant"™ means any individual who, under the
personal supervision of a logging supervisor, handles sealed
sources or tracers that are not in logging tools or shipping
containers or who performs surveys required by Part XIV
(12VAC5-481-3140 et seq.) of this chapter.

"Logging supervisor" means the individual who uses
licensed material or provides personal supervision in the use
of licensed material at a temporary jobsite and who is
responsible to the licensee for assuring compliance with the
requirements of this chapter and the conditions of the license.

"Logging tool" means a device used subsurface to perform
well-logging.
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"Loose-fitting facepiece” means a respiratory inlet covering
that is designed to form a partial seal with the face.

"Lost or missing licensed material” means licensed (or
registered) source of radiation whose location is unknown.
This definition includes, but is not limited to, radioactive
material that has been shipped but has not reached its planned
destination and whose location cannot be readily traced in the
transportation system.

"Lot tolerance percent defective” means, expressed in
percent defective, the poorest quality in an individual
inspection lot that should be accepted.

"Low specific activity material” or "LSA material” means
radioactive material with limited specific activity that is
nonfissile or is excepted under 12VAC5-481-2970 C, and that
satisfies the descriptions and limits set forth below. Shielding
materials surrounding the LSA material may not be
considered in determining the estimated average specific
activity of the package contents. LSA material must be in one
of three groups:

1. LSA-I

a. Uranium and thorium ores, concentrates of uranium
and thorium ores, and other ores containing naturally
occurring radioactive radionuclide that are not intended
to be processed for the use of these radionuclides;

b. Solid unirradiated natural uranium or depleted uranium
or natural thorium or their solid or liquid compounds or
mixtures;

c. Radioactive material, for which the A, value is
unlimited; or

d. Other radioactive material in which the activity is
distributed throughout and the estimated average specific
activity does not exceed 30 times the value for exempt
material activity concentration determined in accordance
with 12VAC5-481-3720.

2. LSA-II

a. Water with tritium concentration up
terabecquerel per liter (20.0 Ci/L); or

b. Other material in which the activity is distributed
throughout, and the average specific activity does not
exceed 1.0 E-04 A,/g for solids and gases, and 1.0 E-05
A,/g for liquids.

3. LSA-I

Solids (e.g., consolidated wastes, activated materials),
excluding powders, that satisfy the requirements of
10 CFR 71.77) in which:

a. The radioactive material is distributed throughout a
solid or a collection of solid objects, or is essentially
uniformly distributed in a solid compact binding agent
(e.g., concrete, bitumen, or ceramic);

b. The radioactive material is relatively insoluble, or it is
intrinsically contained in a relatively insoluble material,
so that, even under loss of packaging, the loss of

to 0.8

radioactive material per package by leaching, when
placed in water for seven days, would not exceed 0.1 A;
and

c. The estimated average specific activity of the solid
does not exceed 2.0 E-03 A,/g.

"Low toxicity alpha emitters" means natural uranium,
depleted uranium, natural thorium; uranium-235, uranium-
238, thorium-232, thorium-228 or thorium-230 when
contained in ores or physical or chemical concentrates or
tailings; or alpha emitters with a half-life of less than 10 days.

"Lung class" (See "Class").

"mA" means milliampere.

"mAs" means milliampere second.

"Major processor" means a user processing, handling, or
manufacturing radioactive material exceeding Type A
quantities as unsealed sources or material, or exceeding four
times Type B quantities as sealed sources, but does not
include nuclear medicine programs, universities, industrial
radiographers, or small industrial programs. Type A and B
quantities are defined in this section.

"Management” means the chief executive officer or that
individual's designee.

"MB(q" means megabecquerels.

"Medical event" means an event that meets the criteria in
12VAC5-481-2080.

"Medical institution" means an organization in which
several medical disciplines are practiced.

"Medical use" means the intentional internal or external
administration of radioactive material or the radiation from
radioactive material to patients or human research subjects
under the supervision of an authorized user.

"Megavolt" or "MV" means the energy equal to that
acquired by a particle with one electron charge in passing
through a potential difference of one million volts in a
vacuum. (Note: current convention is to use MV for photons
and MeV for electrons.)

"Member of the public" means an individual except when
that individual is receiving an occupational dose.

"Mineral logging" means any logging performed for the
purpose of mineral exploration other than oil or gas.

"Minor" means an individual less than 18 years of age.

"Misadministration" means either:

1. An x-ray teletherapy radiation dose:
a. Involving the wrong patient;
b. Involving the wrong mode of treatment;
c. Involving the wrong treatment site;

d. Where the calculated total administered dose differs
from the total prescribed dose by more than 10% when
the treatment consists of three or fewer fractions;
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e. Where the calculated weekly administered dose differs
from the weekly prescribed dose by 30%; or

f. Where the calculated total administered dose differs
from the total prescribed dose by more than 20%; or

2. An x-ray brachytherapy radiation dose:
a. Involving the wrong patient;
b. Involving the wrong treatment site; or

c. Where the calculated administered dose differs from
the prescribed dose by more than 20%.

"mm" means millimeters.

"Mobile device" means a piece of equipment containing
licensed radioactive materials that is either mounted on
wheels or casters, or otherwise equipped for moving without
a need for disassembly or dismounting, or designed to be
hand carried. Mobile devices do not include stationary
equipment installed in a fixed location.

"Mobile electronic _ brachytherapy  service” means
transportation of an electronic brachytherapy device to
provide electronic brachytherapy at an address that is not the
address of record.

"Mobile nuclear medicine service” means the transportation
and medical use of radioactive material.

"Mobile x-ray equipment" (See "X-ray equipment").

"Mode of operation" means, for fluoroscopy systems, a
distinct method of fluoroscopy or radiography provided by
the manufacturer and selected with a set of several technique
factors or other control settings uniquely associated with the
mode. The set of distinct technique factors and control
settings for the mode may be selected by the operation of a
single control. Examples of distinct modes of operation
include normal fluoroscopy (analog or digital), high-level
control fluoroscopy, cineradiography (analog and digital),
digital subtraction angiography, electronic radiography using
the fluoroscopic image receptor, and photospot recording. In
a specific mode of operation, certain system variables
affecting kerma, AKR, or image quality, such as image
magnification, x-ray field size, pulse rate, pulse duration,
number of pulses, source-image receptor distance (SID), or
optical aperture, may be adjustable or may vary; their
variation per se does not comprise a mode of operation
different from the one that has been selected.

"Monitor unit" or "MU" (See "Dose monitor unit").

"Monitoring” means the measurement of radiation,
radioactive material concentrations, surface area activities or
quantities of radioactive material and the use of the results of
these measurements to evaluate potential exposures and
doses. For purposes of these regulations, “radiation
monitoring"” and ‘"radiation protection monitoring" are
equivalent terms. For Part XI (12VAC5-481-2330 et seq.) of
this chapter, it means observing and making measurements to
provide data to evaluate the performance and characteristics
of the disposal site.

"Movement control center" means an operation center that is
remote from the transport activity and that maintains the
position information on the movement of radioactive
material, receives reports of attempted attacks or thefts,
provides a means for reporting these and other problems to
appropriate agencies and can request and coordinate
appropriate aid.

"Moving beam radiation therapy" means radiation therapy
with any planned displacement of radiation field or patient
relative to each other, or with any planned change of absorbed
dose distribution. It includes arc, skip, conformal, intensity
modulation and rotational therapy.

"Multiple tomogram  system” means a computed
tomography x-ray system that obtains x-ray transmission data
simultaneously during a single scan to produce more than one
tomogram.

"NARM" means any naturally occurring or accelerator-
produced radioactive material. It does not include byproduct,
source, or special nuclear material.

"National Sealed Source and Device Registry" or "SSDR"
means the national registry that contains the registration
certificates, maintained by the NRC, that summarize the
radiation safety information for sealed sources and devices,
and describes the licensing and use conditions approved for
the product.

"Nationally tracked source” means a sealed source
containing a quantity equal to or greater than Category 1 or
Category 2 levels of any radioactive material listed in
12VAC5-481-3780. In this context a sealed source is defined
as radioactive material that is sealed in a capsule or closely
bonded, in a solid form and that is not exempt from
regulatory control. It does not mean material encapsulated
solely for disposal, or nuclear material contained in any fuel
assembly, subassembly, fuel rod, or fuel pellet. Category 1
nationally tracked sources are those containing radioactive
material at a quantity equal to or greater than the Category 1
threshold. Category 2 nationally tracked sources are those
containing radioactive material at a quantity equal to or
greater than the Category 2 threshold but less than the
Category 1 threshold.

"Natural radioactivity" means radioactivity of naturally
occurring nuclides.

"Natural thorium" means thorium with the naturally
occurring distribution of thorium isotopes, which is
essentially 100 weight percent thorium-232.

"Natural uranium" (See "Uranium - natural, depleted,
enriched").
"Near-surface disposal facility” means a land disposal

facility in which waste is disposed of within approximately
the upper 30 meters of the earth's surface.

"Negative pressure respirator” or "tight fitting" means a
respirator in which the air pressure inside the facepiece is
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negative during inhalation with respect to the ambient air
pressure outside the respirator.

"No-later-than arrival time" means the date and time that the
shipping licensee and receiving licensee have established as
the time at which an investigation will be initiated if the
shipment has not arrived at the receiving facility. The no-
later-than arrival times may not be more than six hours after
the estimated arrival time for shipments of Category 2
quantities of radioactive material.

"Noise" means the standard deviation of the fluctuations in
CTN expressed as a percentage of the attenuation coefficient
of water. Its estimate (S,) is calculated using the following
expression:

1005 CS B's
p:w

!
where:

== Linear attenuation coefficient of the material of
interest.

Mw = Linear attenuation coefficient of water.

s = Standard deviation of the CTN of picture elements in
a specified area of the CT image.

"Nominal tomographic section thickness" means the full
width at half-maximum of the sensitivity profile taken at the
center of the cross-sectional volume over which x-ray
transmission data are collected.

"Non-image-intensified fluoroscopy" means fluoroscopy
using only a fluorescent screen.

"Nonstochastic effect” means a health effect, the severity of
which varies with the dose and for which a threshold is
believed to exist. Radiation-induced cataract formation is an
example of a nonstochastic effect. For purposes of these
regulations, "deterministic effect” is an equivalent term.

"NORM" means any naturally occurring radioactive
material. It does not include accelerator produced, byproduct,
source, or special nuclear material.

"Normal form radioactive material® means radioactive
material that has not been demonstrated to qualify as special
form radioactive material.

"Normal operating procedures” mean step-by-step
instructions necessary to accomplish the analysis. These
procedures shall include sample insertion and manipulation,
equipment alignment, routine maintenance by the registrant
(or licensee), and data recording procedures, which are
related to radiation safety.

"Nominal treatment distance™ means:
1. For electron irradiation, the distance from the scattering
foil, virtual source, or exit window of the electron beam to

the entrance surface of the irradiated object along the
central axis of the useful beam.

2. For x-ray irradiation, the virtual source or target to
isocenter distance along the central axis of the useful beam.
For nonisocentric equipment, this distance shall be that
specified by the manufacturer.

"NRC Forms 540, 540A, 541, 541A, 542, and 542A" means
official NRC forms referenced in this chapter. Licensees need
not use originals of these NRC Forms as long as any
substitute forms are equivalent to the original documentation
in respect to content, clarity, size, and location of information.
Upon agreement between the shipper and consignee, NRC
Forms 541 (and 541A) and NRC Forms 542 (and 542A) may
be completed, transmitted, and stored in electronic media.
The electronic media must have the capability for producing
legible, accurate, and complete records in the format of the
uniform manifest.

"Nuclear Regulatory Commission™ or "NRC" means the
NRC or its duly authorized representatives.

"Nuclear waste" means a quantity of source, byproduct or
special nuclear material (the definition of nuclear waste in
this part is used in the same way as in 49 CFR 173.403)
required to be in NRC-approved specification packaging
while transported to, through or across a state boundary to a
disposal site, or to a collection point for transport to a
disposal site.

"Occupational dose” means the dose received by an
individual in the course of employment in which the
individual's assigned duties for the licensee or registrant
involve exposure to sources of radiation, whether or not the
sources of radiation are in the possession of the licensee,
registrant, or other person. Occupational dose does not
include doses received from background radiation, from any
medical administration the individual has received, from
exposure to individuals administered radioactive material and
released in accordance with 12VAC5-481-1870, from
voluntary participation in medical research programs, or as a
member of the public.

"Offshore platform radiography” means industrial
radiography conducted from a platform over a body of water.

"Offshore waters" means that area of land and water, beyond
the Commonwealth of Virginia's jurisdiction, on or above the
U.S. Outer Continental Shelf.

"Open-beam configuration" means an analytical x-ray
system in which an individual could accidentally place some
part of his body in the primary beam path during normal
operation.

"Output" means the exposure rate, dose rate, or a quantity
related in a known manner to these rates from a teletherapy
unit for a specified set of exposure conditions.

"Package" means the packaging together with its radioactive
contents as presented for transport.

1. Fissile material package or Type AF package, Type BF
package, Type B(U)F package, or Type B(M)F package
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means a fissile material packaging together with its fissile
material contents.

2. Type A package means a Type A packaging together
with its radioactive contents. A Type A package is defined
and must comply with the DOT regulations in 49 CFR Part
173.

3. Type B package means a Type B packaging together
with its radioactive contents. On approval, a Type B
package design is designated by NRC as B(U) unless the
package has a maximum normal operating pressure of
more than 700 kPa (100 Ibs/in?) gauge or a pressure relief
device that would allow the release of radioactive material
to the environment under the tests specified in 10 CFR
71.73 (hypothetical accident conditions), in which case it
will receive a designation B(M). B(U) refers to the need
for unilateral approval of international shipments; B(M)
refers to the need for multilateral approval of international
shipments. There is no distinction made in how packages
with these designations may be used in domestic
transportation. To determine their distinction for
international transportation, see DOT regulations in 49
CFR Part 173. A Type B package approved before
September 6, 1983, was designated only as Type B.
Limitations on its use are specified in 10 CFR 71.19.

"Packaging" means the assembly of components necessary
to ensure compliance with the packaging requirements of
these regulations. It may consist of one or more receptacles,
absorbent materials, spacing structures, thermal insulation,
radiation shielding, and devices for cooling or absorbing
mechanical shocks. The vehicle, tie-down system, and
auxiliary equipment may be designated as part of the
packaging.

"Panoramic  dry-source-storage irradiator" means an
irradiator in which the irradiations occur in air in areas
potentially accessible to personnel and in which the sources
are stored in shields made of solid materials. The term
includes beam-type dry-source-storage irradiators in which
only a narrow beam of radiation is produced for performing
irradiations.

"Panoramic irradiator" means an irradiator in which the
irradiations are done in air in areas potentially accessible to
personnel. The term includes beam-type irradiators.

"Panoramic  wet-source-storage irradiator" means an
irradiator in which the irradiations occur in air in areas
potentially accessible to personnel and in which the sources
are stored under water in a storage pool.

"Particle accelerator" (See "Accelerator").

"Patient" means an individual or animal subjected to healing
arts examination, diagnosis, or treatment.

"PBL" (See "Positive beam limitation™).

"Peak tube potential” means the maximum value of the
potential difference across the x-ray tube during an exposure.

"Periodic quality assurance check" means a procedure that is
performed to ensure that a previous calibration continues to
be valid.

"Permanent radiographic installation” means an enclosed
shielded room, cell, or vault, not located at a temporary
jobsite, in which radiography is performed.

"Person” means any individual, corporation, partnership,
firm, association, trust, estate, public or private institution,
group, department of the Commonwealth other than the
Department of Health, political subdivision of the
Commonwealth, any other state or political subdivision or
department thereof, and any legal successor, representative,
agent, or department of the foregoing, but not including
federal government agencies.

"Personal supervision" means guidance and instruction by
the supervisor who is physically present at the jobsite and
watching the performance of the operation in such proximity
that contact can be maintained and immediate assistance
given as required. In radiography it means guidance and
instruction provided to a radiographer trainee by a
radiographer instructor who is present at the site, in visual
contact with the trainee while the trainee is using sources of
radiation, and in such proximity that immediate assistance can
be given if required.

"Personnel  monitoring
monitoring devices").

"Phantom" means a volume of material behaving in a
manner similar to tissue with respect to the attenuation and
scattering of radiation. This requires that both the atomic
number (Z) and the density of the material be similar to that
of tissue.

"Physical description” means the items called for on NRC
Form 541 to describe a low-level radioactive waste.

"Pool irradiator" means any irradiator at which the sources
are stored or used in a pool of water including panoramic wet-
source-storage irradiators and underwater irradiators.

"Pharmacist” means an individual licensed by this state to
compound and dispense drugs, prescriptions, and poisons.

"Physician” means an individual licensed by this state to
prescribe drugs in the practice of medicine.

"Picture element" means an elemental area of a tomogram.
"PID" (See "Position indicating device").

"Pigtail" (See "Source assembly").

"Pill" (See "Sealed source").

"Planned special exposure™ means an infrequent exposure to
radiation, separate from and in addition to the annual
occupational dose limits.

"Portable x-ray equipment" (See "X-ray equipment").

"Position indicating device" means a device on dental x-ray
equipment used to indicate the beam position and to establish

equipment”  (See "Individual
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a definite source-surface (skin) distance. It may or may not
incorporate or serve as a beam-limiting device.

"Positive beam limitation" means the automatic or semi-
automatic adjustment of an x-ray beam to the size of the
selected image receptor, whereby exposures cannot be made
without such adjustment.

Positron emission tomography radionuclide production
facility" or "PET" means a facility operating a cyclotron or
other particle accelerator for the purpose of producing
radionuclides that decay by positron emission.

"Positive pressure respirator" means a respirator in which
the pressure inside the respiratory inlet covering exceeds the
ambient air pressure outside the respirator.

"Powered air-purifying respirator” or "PAPR" means an air-
purifying respirator that uses a blower to force the ambient air
through air-purifying elements to the inlet covering.

"Practical examination" means a demonstration through
application of the safety rules and principles in industrial
radiography including use of all procedures and equipment to
be used by radiographic personnel.

"Practical range of electrons” corresponds to classical
electron range where the only remaining contribution to dose
is from bremsstrahlung x-rays. A further explanation may be
found in "Clinical Electron Beam Dosimetry: Report of
AAPM Radiation Therapy Committee Task Group 25"
(Medical Physics 18(1): 73-109, Jan/Feb. 1991) and ICRU
Report 35, "Radiation Dosimetry: Electron Beams with
Energies Between 1 and 50 MeV," International Commission
on Radiation Units and Measurements, September 15, 1984.

"Preceptor" means an individual who provides, directs, or
verifies training and experience required for an individual to
become an authorized user, an authorized medical physicist,
an authorized nuclear pharmacist, or a radiation safety officer.

"Prescribed  dosage" means the  quantity of
radiopharmaceutical activity as documented:

1. In a written directive; or

2. Either in the diagnostic clinical procedures manual or in
any appropriate record in accordance with the directions of
the authorized user for diagnostic procedures.

"Prescribed dose" means:

1. For gamma stereotactic radiosurgery, the total dose as
documented in the written directive; of

2. For teletherapy, the total dose and dose per fraction as
documented in the written directive. The prescribed dose is
an_estimation from measured data from a specified
therapeutic machine using assumptions that are clinically
acceptable for that treatment technique and historically
consistent with the clinical calculations previously used for
patients treated with the same clinical technigue; or

3. For brachytherapy, either the total source strength and
exposure time, or the total dose, as documented in the
written directive.

"Pressure demand respirator" means a positive pressure
atmosphere-supplying respirator that admits breathing air to
the facepiece when the positive pressure is reduced inside the
facepiece by inhalation.

"Primary beam" means radiation that passes through an
aperture of the source housing by a direct path from the x-ray
tube or a radioactive source located in the radiation source
housing.

"Primary dose monitoring system"” means a system that will

monitor the useful beam during irradiation and that will
terminate irradiation when a preselected number of dose
monitor units have been delivered.

"Primary protective barrier" means the material, excluding

filters, placed in the useful beam to reduce the radiation
exposure (beyond the patient and cassette holder) for
protection barriers.

"Principal activities,” as used in this chapter, means
activities authorized by the license that are essential to
achieving the purpese{s) purposes for which the license was
issued or amended. Storage during which no licensed material
is accessed for use or disposal and activities incidental to
decontamination or decommissioning are not principal
activities.

"Private inspector" means an individual who meets the
requirements set forth in 12VAC5-481-340 and who has
demonstrated to the satisfaction of the agency that such
individual possesses the knowledge, training and experience
to measure ionizing radiation, to evaluate safety techniques,
and to advise regarding radiation protection needs.

"Product" means, as used in Part XVI (12VAC5-481-3460 et
seq.) of this chapter, something produced, made,
manufactured, refined, or benefited.

"Product conveyor system™ means a system for moving the
product to be irradiated to, from, and within the area where
irradiation takes place.

"Projection sheath” (See "Guide tube").
"Projector" (See "Radiographic exposure device").

"Protective apron” means an apron made of radiation-
attenuating or absorbing materials used to reduce exposure to
radiation.

"Protective glove"” means a glove made of radiation
absorbing materials used to reduce radiation exposure.

"Public dose" means the dose received by a member of the
public from exposure to sources of radiation released by the
licensee or registrant, or to any other source of radiation
under the control of the licensee or registrant. "Public dose"
does not include occupational dose, or doses received from
background radiation, from any medical administration the
individual has received, from exposure to individuals
administered radioactive material and released in accordance
with 12VAC5-481-1870, or from voluntary participation in
medical research programs.
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"Pulsed mode" means operation of the x-ray system such
that the x-ray tube is pulsed by the x-ray control to produce
one or more exposure intervals of duration less than one-half
second.

"Pyrophoric material* means any liquid that ignites
spontaneously in dry or moist air at or below 130°F (54.4°C)
or any solid material, other than one classed as an explosive,
which under normal conditions is liable to cause fires through
friction, retained heat from manufacturing or processing, or
that can be ignited readily and, when ignited, burns so
vigorously and persistently as to create a serious
transportation, handling, or disposal hazard. Included are
spontaneously combustible and water-reactive materials.

"Qualified inspector" means an individual who is granted
professional privileges based on education and experience to
provide clinical services in diagnostic and therapeutic medical
physics.

"Qualified medical physicist" means an individual qualified
in accordance with 12VAC5-481-3390 D.

"Qualitative fit test" or "QLFT" means a pass/fail fit test to
assess the adequacy of respirator fit that relies on the
individual's response to the test agent.

"Quality factor” or "Q" means the modifying factor, that is
referenced in 12VAC5-481-240, that is used to derive dose
equivalent from absorbed dose.

"Quantitative fit test” or "QNFT" means an assessment of
the adequacy of respirator fit by numerically measuring the
amount of leakage into the respirator.

"Quarter" means a period of time equal to one-fourth of the
year observed by the licensee, approximately 13 consecutive
weeks, providing that the beginning of the first quarter in a
year coincides with the starting date of the year and that no
day is omitted or duplicated in consecutive quarters.

"Rad" means the special unit of absorbed dose. One rad is
equal to an absorbed dose of 100 erg per gram or 0.01 joule
per kilogram (0.01 gray).

"Radiation” means alpha particles, beta particles, gamma
rays, x-rays, neutrons, high-speed electrons, high-speed
protons, and other particles capable of producing ions. For
purposes of these regulations, ionizing radiation is an
equivalent term. Radiation, as used in these regulations, does
not include nonionizing radiation, such as radiowaves or
microwaves, visible, infrared, or ultraviolet light.

"Radiation area" means any area, accessible to individuals,
in which radiation levels could result in an individual
receiving a dose equivalent in excess of 0.05 mSv (0.005
rem) in one hour at 30 centimeters from the source of
radiation or from any surface that the radiation penetrates.

"Radiation dose" (See "Dose").

"Radiation field" (See "Useful beam™).

"Radiation head" means the structure from which the useful
beam emerges.

"Radiation machine" means any device capable of producing
radiation except those devices with radioactive material as the
only source of radiation.

"Radiation room" means a shielded room in which
irradiations take place. Underwater irradiators do not have
radiation rooms.

"Radiation safety officer" or "RSO" means an individual

who has the knowledge and responsibility to apply
appropriate radiation protection regulations and has been
assigned such responsibility by the licensee or registrant.

"Radiation safety officer for industrial radiography"” means
an individual with the responsibility for the overall radiation
safety program on behalf of the licensee or registrant and who
meets the requirements of 12VVAC5-481-1310.

"Radiation safety officer for medical” means an individual
who meets the requirements of 12VAC5-481-1750 and
12VAC5-481-1790 or is identified as an RSO on a medical
use license issued by the agency, NRC or another agreement
state, or a medical use permit issued by an NRC masters
material licensee.

"Radiation therapy physicist" means an individual qualified
in accordance with 12VAC5-481-340.

"Radiation therapy simulation system" means a radiographic
or fluoroscopic x-ray system intended for localizing the
volume to be exposed during radiation therapy and
confirming the position and size of the therapeutic irradiation
field.

"Radiation therapy system" means a device that delivers
radiation to a specific area of the body where cancer cells or
tumors are located.

"Radioactive material" means any solid, liquid, or gas which
emits radiation spontaneously.

"Radioactive marker" means radioactive material placed
subsurface or on a structure intended for subsurface use for
the purpose of depth determination or direction orientation.

"Radioactivity" means the transformation of unstable atomic
nuclei by the emission of radiation.

"Radiobioassay" (See "Bioassay").

"Radiograph™ means an image receptor on which the image
is created directly or indirectly by an x-ray pattern and results
in a permanent record.

"Radiographer" means any individual who performs or who,
in attendance at the site where the sources of radiation are
being used, personally supervises industrial radiographic
operations and who is responsible to the licensee or registrant
for assuring compliance with the requirements of the agency's
regulations and the conditions of the license or registration.

"Radiographer certification” means written approval
received from a certifying entity stating that an individual has
satisfactorily met the radiation safety, testing, and experience
criteria in 12VAC5-481-1320.
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"Radiographer instructor” means any radiographer who has
been authorized by the agency to provide on-the-job training
to radiographer trainees in accordance with Part V (12VAC5-
481-1170 et seq.) of this chapter.

"Radiographer trainee" means any individual who, under the

personal supervision of a radiographer instructor, uses
sources of radiation, related handling tools, or radiation
survey instruments during the course of his instruction.

"Radiographer's assistant" means any individual who under
the direct supervision of a radiographer, uses radiographic
exposure devices, sources of radiation, related handling tools,
or radiation survey instruments in industrial radiography.

"Radiographic exposure device" means any instrument
containing a sealed source fastened or contained therein, in
which the sealed source or shielding thereof may be moved,
or otherwise changed, from a shielded to unshielded position
for purposes of making a radiographic exposure.

"Radiographic operations” means all activities performed
with a radiographic exposure device, or with a radiation
machine. Activities include using, transporting except by
common or contract carriers, or storing at a temporary job
site, performing surveys to confirm the adequacy of
boundaries, setting up equipment, and any activity inside
restricted area boundaries. Transporting a radiation machine
is not considered a radiographic operation.

"Radiographic  personnel” means any
radiographer instructor, or radiographer trainee.

"Radiography" means:
1. For radioactive materials: See "Industrial radiography."

2. For x-ray: A technique for generating and recording an
x-ray pattern for the purpose of providing the user with an
image after termination of the exposure.

"Rating" means the operating limits as specified by the
component manufacturer.

"Reasonably maximally exposed individual" means, as used
in Part XVI (12VAC5-481-3460 et seq.) of this chapter, a
representative of a population who is exposed to TENORM at
the maximum TENORM concentration measured in
environmental media found at a site along with reasonable
maximum case exposure assumptions. The exposure is
determined by using maximum values for one or more of the
most sensitive parameters affecting exposure, based on
cautious but reasonable assumptions, while leaving the others
at their mean value.

"Recording” means producing a retrievable form of an
image resulting from x-ray photons.

"Redundant beam monitoring system™ means a combination
of two dose monitoring systems in which each system is
designed to terminate irradiation in accordance with a
preselected number of dose monitor units.

"Reference man" means a hypothetical aggregation of
human physical and physiological characteristics determined

radiographer,

by international consensus. These characteristics may be used
by researchers and public health employees to standardize
results of experiments and to relate biological insult to a
common base. A description of the reference man is
contained in the International Commission on Radiological
Protection report, ICRP Publication 23, "Report of the Task
Group on Reference Man."

"Reference plane” means a plane that is displaced from and
parallel to the tomographic plane.

"Registrant” means any person who is registered with the
agency and is legally obligated to register with the agency
pursuant to these regulations and the Act.

"Registration" means registration with the agency in
accordance with the regulations adopted by the agency.

"Regulations of the U.S. Department of Transportation”
means the regulations in 49 CFR Parts 100 - 189.

"Rem" means the special unit of any of the quantities
expressed as dose equivalent. The dose equivalent in rems is
equal to the absorbed dose in rad multiplied by the quality
factor (1 rem = 0.01 Sv).

"Reportable event" means the administration of either:

1. A diagnostic x-ray exposure where an actual or
suspected acute or long-term functional damage to an
organ or a physiological system has occurred. Exempt
from this reporting requirement is any event when any
functional damage to a patient organ or a physiological
system that was an expected outcome when the causative
procedures were prescribed;

2. A procedure where the patient or operator is injured as a
result of a mechanical injury;

3. A teletherapy x-ray or electron dose where the
calculated weekly administered dose differs from the
weekly prescribed dose by 15% or more; or

4. A brachytherapy x-ray dose where the calculated
administered dose differs from the prescribed dose by 10%
or more.

"Research and development" means (i) theoretical analysis,
exploration, or experimentation; or (ii) the extension of
investigative findings and theories of a scientific or technical
nature into practical application for experimental and
demonstrative  purposes, including the experimental
production and testing of models, devices, equipment,
materials, and processes. Research and development does not
include the internal or external administration of radiation or
radioactive material to human beings.

"Residential location" means any area where structures in
which people lodge or live are located, and the grounds on
which such structures are located including, but not limited
to, houses, apartments, condominiums, and garages.

"Residual radioactive material” means (i) waste (that the
U.S. Secretary of Energy determines to be radioactive) in the
form of tailings resulting from the processing of ores for the
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extraction of uranium and other valuable constituents of the
ores and (ii) other waste (that the U.S. Secretary of Energy
determines to be radioactive) at a processing site that relates
to such processing, including any residual stock of
unprocessed ores or low-grade materials. This term is used
only with respect to materials at sites subject to remediation
under Title | of the Uranium Mill Tailings Radiation Control
Act of 1978, as amended.

"Residual radioactivity" means radioactivity in structures,
materials, soils, groundwater, and other media at a site
resulting from activities under the licensee's control. This
includes radioactivity from all licensed and unlicensed
sources used by the licensee, but excludes background
radiation. It also includes radioactive materials remaining at
the site as a result of routine or accidental releases of
radioactive materials at the site and previous burials at the
site, even if those burials were made in accordance with the
provisions of Part IV (12VAC5-481-600 et seq.) of this
chapter.

"Residual waste"” means low-level radioactive waste
resulting from processing or decontamination activities that
cannot be easily separated into distinct batches attributable to
specific waste generators. This waste is attributable to the
processor or decontamination facility, as applicable.

"Respiratory protective device" means an apparatus, such as
a respirator, used to reduce an individual's intake of airborne
radioactive materials.

"Restricted area" means an area, access to which is limited
by the licensee or registrant for the purpose of protecting
individuals against undue risks from exposure to radiation
and radioactive materials. Restricted area does not include
areas used as residential quarters, but separate rooms in a
residential building may be set apart as a restricted area.

"Reviewing official" means the individual who shall make
the trustworthiness and reliability determination of an
individual to determine whether the individual may have, or
continue to have, unescorted access to the Category 1 or
Category 2 quantities of radioactive materials that are
possessed by the licensee.

"Roentgen" means the special unit of exposure. One
roentgen (R) equals 2.58E-4 coulombs per kilogram of air
(see "Exposure" and 12VAC5-481-240).

"S-tube" means a tube through which the radioactive source
travels when inside a radiographic exposure device.

"Sabotage" means deliberate damage, with malevolent
intent, to a Category 1 or Category 2 quantity of radioactive
material, a device that contains a Category 1 or Category 2
quantity of radioactive material, or the components of the
security system.

"Safe haven" means a readily recognizable and readily
accessible site at which security is present or from which, in
the event of an emergency, the transport crew can notify and
wait for the local law-enforcement authorities.

"Sanitary sewerage" means a system of public sewers for
carrying off waste water and refuse, but excluding sewage
treatment facilities, septic tanks, and leach fields owned or
operated by the licensee or registrant.

"Scan" means the complete process of collecting x-ray
transmission data for the production of a tomogram. Data can
be collected simultaneously during a single scan for the
production of one or more tomograms.

""Scan increment"” means the amount of relative displacement
of the patient with respect to the CT x-ray system between
successive scans measured along the direction of such
displacement.

"Scan sequence" means a preselected set of two or more
scans performed consecutively under preselected CT
conditions of operation.

"Scan time" means the period of time between the beginning
and end of x-ray transmission data accumulation for a single
scan.

"Scattered radiation” means ionizing radiation emitted by
interaction of ionizing radiation with matter, the interaction
being accompanied by a change in direction of the radiation.
Scattered primary radiation means that scattered radiation
which has been deviated in direction only by materials
irradiated by the useful beam.

"Sealed source” means any radioactive material that is
encased in a capsule designed to prevent leakage or escape of
any radioactive material.

"Secondary dose monitoring system" means a system which
will terminate irradiation in the event of failure of the primary
dose monitoring system.

"Security zone" means any temporary or permanent area
determined and established by the licensee for the physical
protection of Category 1 or Category 2 quantities of
radioactive material.

"Seismic area" means any area where the probability of a
horizontal acceleration in rock of more than 0.3 times the
acceleration of gravity in 250 years is greater than 10%, as
designated by the United States Geological Survey.

"Self-contained breathing apparatus " or "SCBA" means an
atmosphere-supplying respirator for which the breathing air
source is designed to be carried by the user.

"Shadow tray" means a device attached to the radiation head
to support auxiliary beam blocking material.

"Shallow dose equivalent " or "Hg," which applies to the
external exposure of the skin or an extremity, means the dose
equivalent at a tissue depth of 0.007 centimeter (7 mg/cm2).

"Shielded position” means the location within the
radiographic exposure device or storage container which, by
manufacturer's design, is the proper location for storage of the
sealed source.

"Shielded-room radiography" means industrial radiography
conducted in a room shielded so that radiation levels at every
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location on the exterior meet the limitations specified in
12VAC5-481-640.

"Shipper" means the licensed entity (i.e., the waste
generator, waste collector, or waste processor) who offers
low-level radioactive waste for transportation, typically
consigning this type of waste to a licensed waste collector,
waste processor, or land disposal facility operator.

"Shipping paper" means NRC Form 540 and, if required,
NRC Form 540A, which includes the information required by
the U.S. Department of Transportation in 49 CFR Part 172.

"Shutter" means a device attached to the tube housing
assembly which can intercept the entire cross sectional area of
the useful beam and which has a lead equivalency not less
than that of the tube housing assembly.

"SI" means the abbreviation for the International System of
Units.

"SID" (See "Source-image receptor distance").

"Sievert" or "Sv" means the Sl unit of any of the quantities
expressed as dose equivalent. The dose equivalent in sievert
is equal to the absorbed dose in gray multiplied by the quality
factor (1 Sv = 100 rem).

"Simulator" or "radiation therapy simulation system™ means
any x-ray system intended for localizing the volume to be
exposed during radiation therapy and reproducing the
position and size of the therapeutic irradiation field.

"Single tomogram system™ means a CT x-ray system that
obtains x-ray transmission data during a scan to produce a
single tomogram.

"Site area emergency" means events may occur, are in
progress, or have occurred that could lead to a significant
release of radioactive material and that could require a
response by offsite response organizations to protect persons
offsite.

"Site boundary" means that line beyond which the land or
property is not owned, leased, or otherwise controlled by the
licensee.

"Site closure and stabilization" means those actions that are
taken upon completion of operations that prepare the disposal
site for custodial care and that assure that the disposal site
will remain stable and will not need ongoing active
maintenance.

"Source" means the focal spot of the x-ray tube.

"Source assembly" means an assembly that consists of the
sealed source and a connector that attaches the source to the
control cable. The source assembly may include a ballstop to
secure the source in the shielded position.

"Source changer" means a device designed and used for
replacement of sealed sources in radiographic exposure
devices, including those source changers also used for
transporting and storage of sealed sources.

"Source holder" means a housing or assembly into which a
radioactive source is placed for the purpose of facilitating the
handling and use of the source in well-logging operations.

"Source-image receptor distance” means the distance from
the source to the center of the input surface of the image
receptor.

"Source material" means:

1. Uranium or thorium, or any combination thereof, in any
physical or chemical form; or

2. Ores that contain by weight one-twentieth of 1.0%
(0.05%) or more of uranium, thorium or any combination
of uranium and thorium. Source material does not include
special nuclear material.

"Source of radiation” means any radioactive material or any
device or equipment emitting, or capable of producing,
radiation.

"Source-skin distance” or "SSD" means the distance from
the source to the center of the entrant x-ray field in the plane
tangent to the patient's skin surface.

"Source traceability” means the ability to show that a
radioactive source has been calibrated either by the national
standards laboratory of the National Institute of Standards and
Technology, or by a laboratory that participates in a
continuing measurement quality assurance program with
National Institute of Standards and Technology or other
equivalent national or international program.

"Special form radioactive material* means radioactive
material that satisfies the following conditions:

1. It is either a single solid piece or is contained in a sealed
capsule that can be opened only by destroying the capsule;

2. The piece or capsule has at least one dimension not less
than five millimeters (0.2 in.); and

3. It satisfies the test requirements specified by the NRC. A
special form encapsulation designed in accordance with the
NRC requirements in effect on June 30, 1983, and
constructed prior to July 1, 1985, may continue to be used.
A special form encapsulation either designed or
constructed after April 1, 1998, must meet requirements of
this definition applicable at the time of its design or
construction.

"Special nuclear material" means:

1. Plutonium, uranium-233, uranium enriched in the
isotope 233 or in the isotope 235, and any other material
the NRC, pursuant to the provisions of § 51 of the Atomic
Energy Act of 1954, as amended, determines to be special
nuclear material, but does not include source material; or

2. Any material artificially enriched by any of the
foregoing but does not include source material.

"Special nuclear material in quantities not sufficient to form
a critical mass" means uranium enriched in the isotope U-235
in quantities not exceeding 350 grams of contained U-235;
uranium-233 in quantities not exceeding 200 grams;
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plutonium in quantities not exceeding 200 grams; or any
combination of them in accordance with the following
formula: For each kind of special nuclear material, determine
the ratio between the quantity of that special nuclear material
and the quantity specified above for the same kind of special
nuclear material. The sum of such ratios for all of the kinds of
special nuclear material in combination shall not exceed 1.
For example, the following quantities in combination would
not exceed the limitation and are within the formula:

175 grams contained U235 + 50 grams U — 235 + 50 grams Pu -1
350 200 200

"Specific activity" of a radionuclide means the radioactivity
of a radionuclide per unit mass of that nuclide. The specific
activity of a material in which the radionuclide is essentially
uniformly distributed is the radioactivity per unit mass of the
material.

"Spot film" means a radiograph that is made during a
fluoroscopic examination to permanently record conditions
that exist during that fluoroscopic procedure.

"Spot-film device" means a device intended to transport
andfor or position a radiographic image receptor between the
x-ray source and fluoroscopic image receptor. It includes a
device intended to hold a cassette over the input end of an
image intensifier for the purpose of making a radiograph.

"Stability" means structural stability.

"State inspector” means an employee of the Virginia
Department of Health designated to perform those duties or
functions assigned the Radiological Health Program.

""Stationary beam radiation therapy" means radiation therapy
without displacement of one or more mechanical axes relative
to the patient during irradiation.

"Stationary x-ray equipment" (See "X-ray equipment").

"Stochastic effect” means a health effect that occurs
randomly and for which the probability of the effect
occurring, rather than its severity, is assumed to be a linear
function of dose without threshold. Hereditary effects and
cancer incidence are examples of stochastic effects. For
purposes of these—regulations this chapter, "probabilistic
effect” is an equivalent term.

"Storage" means a condition in which a device or source is
not being used for an extended period of time, and has been
made inoperable.

"Storage area" means any location, facility, or vehicle that is
used to store and secure a radiographic exposure device, a
radiation machine, or a storage container when it is not used
for radiographic operations. Storage areas are locked or have
a physical barrier to prevent accidental exposure, tampering,
or unauthorized removal of the device, machine, or container.

"Storage container" means a device in which sealed sources
or radiation machines are secured and stored.

"Stray radiation" means the sum of leakage and scattered
radiation.

"Subsurface tracer study" means the release of a substance
tagged with radioactive material for the purpose of tracing the
movement or position of the tagged substance in the well-
bore or adjacent formation.

"Supplied-air respirator,” "airline respirator,” or "SAR"
means an atmosphere-supplying respirator for which the
source of breathing air is not designed to be carried by the
user.

"Surface contaminated object” or "SCO" means a solid
object that is not itself classed as radioactive material, but that
has radioactive material distributed on any of its surfaces. An
SCO must be in one of two groups with surface activity not
exceeding the following limits:

1. SCO-I: A solid object on which:

a. The nonfixed contamination on the accessible surface
averaged over 300 cm?, or the area of the surface if less
than 300 cm?, does not exceed four becquerel per cm? (1
E-04 pCi/cm?) for beta and gamma and low toxicity
alpha emitters, or 0.4 becquerel per cm? (1 E-05 pCi/cm?)
for all other alpha emitters;

b. The fixed contamination on the accessible surface
averaged over 300 cm?, or the area of the surface if less
than 300 cm?, does not exceed 4 E+04 becquerel per cm?
(1.0 pCi/em?) for beta and gamma and low toxicity alpha
emitters, or 4 E+03 becquerel per cm? (0.1 pCi/cm?) for
all other alpha emitters; and

c. The nonfixed contamination plus the fixed
contamination on the inaccessible surface averaged over
300 cm?, or the area of the surface if less than 300 cm?,
does not exceed 4 E+04 becquerel per cm? (1 pCi/cm?)
for beta and gamma and low toxicity alpha emitters, or 4
E+03 Becquerel per cm? (0.1 pCi/cm?) for all other alpha
emitters.

2. SCO-II: A solid object on which the limits for SCO-I are
exceeded and on which:

a. The nonfixed contamination on the accessible surface
averaged over 300 cm?, or the area of the surface if less
than 300 cm?, does not exceed 400 becquerel per cm? (1
E-02 pCi/cm?) for beta and gamma and low toxicity
alpha emitters or 40 becquerel per cm? (1 E-03 uCi/cm?)
for all other alpha emitters;

b. The fixed contamination on the accessible surface
averaged over 300 cm?, or the area of the surface if less
than 300 cm?, does not exceed 8 E+05 becquerel per cm?
(20 pCi/cm?) for beta and gamma and low toxicity alpha
emitters, or 8 E+04 becquerel per cm? (2 uCi/cm?) for all
other alpha emitters; and

c. The nonfixed contamination plus the fixed
contamination on the inaccessible surface averaged over
300 cm?, or the area of the surface if less than 300 cm?,
does not exceed 8 E+05 becquerel per cm? (20 pCi/cm?)
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for beta and gamma and low toxicity alpha emitters, or 8
E+04 becquerel per cm? (2 pnCi/cm?) for all other alpha
emitters.

"Surveillance” means monitoring and observation of the
disposal site for purposes of visual detection of need for
maintenance, custodial care, evidence of intrusion, and
compliance with other license and regulatory requirements.

"Survey" means an evaluation of the radiological conditions
and potential hazards incident to the production, use, transfer,
release, disposal, or presence of radioactive material or other
sources of radiation. When appropriate, such an evaluation
includes a physical survey of the location of radioactive
material and measurements or calculations of levels of
radiation, or concentrations or quantities of radioactive
material present.

"Tabletop, stationary” means a tabletop that, when
assembled for use, is incapable of movement with respect to
its supporting structure within the plane of the tabletop.

"Target" means that part of an x-ray tube or accelerator onto
which a beam of accelerated particles is directed to produce
ionizing radiation or other particles.

"Target-skin distance” or "TSD" means the distance
measured along the beam axis from the center of the front
surface of the x-ray target or electron virtual source, or both,
to the surface of the irradiated object or patient.

"Technologically Enhanced Naturally Occurring
Radioactive Material” or "TENORM" means, as used in Part
XVI (12VAC5-481-3460 et seq.) of this chapter, naturally
occurring radionuclides whose concentrations are increased
by or as a result of past or present human practices.
TENORM does not include background radiation or the
natural radioactivity of rocks or soils. TENORM does not
include uranium or thorium in "source material” as defined in
the AEA and NRC regulations.

"Technique factors” means the following conditions of
operation:

1. For capacitor energy storage equipment, peak tube
potential in kilovolts (kV) and quantity of charge in
milliampere-seconds (mAS);

2. For field emission equipment rated for pulsed operation,
peak tube potential in kilovolts (kV), and number of x-ray
pulses;

3. For CT equipment designed for pulsed operation, peak
tube potential in kilovolts (kV), scan time in seconds, and
either tube current in milliamperes (mA), x-ray pulse width
in seconds, and the number of x-ray pulses per scan, or the
product of tube current, x-ray pulse width, and the number
of x-ray pulses in milliampere-seconds (mAs);

4. For CT equipment not designed for pulsed operation,
peak tube potential in kilovolts (kV), and either tube
current in milliamperes (mA) and scan time in seconds, or
the product of tube current and exposure time in

milliampere-seconds (mAs) and the scan time when the
scan time and exposure time are equivalent; and

5. For all other equipment, peak tube potential in kilovolts
(kV), and either tube current in milliamperes (mA) and
exposure time in seconds, or the product of tube current
and exposure time in milliampere-seconds (mAsS).

"Telemetric position monitoring system™ means a data
transfer system that captures information by either
instrumentation, measuring devices about the location or
both, and status of a transport vehicle or package between the
departure and destination locations.

"Teletherapy physicist" means an individual identified as a
qualified teletherapy physicist on an agency license.

"Teletherapy" means therapeutic irradiation in which the
source of radiation is at a distance from the body.

"Temporary job site" means any location where industrial
radiography, wireline service, well-logging, portable gauge,
or x-ray fluorescence use is performed and where licensed
material may be stored other than those leecatien{s) locations
of use authorized on the license.

"Tenth-value layer" or "TVL" means the thickness of a
specified material that attenuates x-radiation or gamma
radiation to an extent such that the air kerma rate, exposure
rate, or absorbed dose rate is reduced to one-tenth of the value
measured without the material at the same point.

"Test" means the process of verifying compliance with an
applicable regulation.

"Therapeutic radiation machine" means x-ray or electron-
producing equipment designed and used for external beam
radiation therapy. For the purpose of this chapter, devices
used to administer electronic brachytherapy shall also be
considered therapeutic radiation machines.

"These regulations™ mean all parts of this chapter.

"Tight-fitting facepiece" means a respiratory inlet covering
that forms a complete seal with the face.

"Tomogram" means the depiction of the x-ray attenuation
properties of a section through the body.

"Tomographic plane” means that geometric plane that is
identified as corresponding to the output tomogram.

"Tomographic section"” means the volume of an object
whose x-ray attenuation properties are imaged in a tomogram.

"Total effective dose equivalent” or "TEDE" means the sum
of the effective dose equivalent for external exposures and the
committed effective dose equivalent for internal exposures.

"Total organ dose equivalent" or "TODE" means the sum of
the deep dose equivalent and the committed dose equivalent
to the organ receiving the highest dose as described in
12VAC5-481-1040.

"Traceable to a National Standard" (See "Instrument
traceability” or "Source traceability").
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"Transfer" means, as used in Part XVI (12VAC5-481-3460
et seq.) of this chapter, the physical relocation of NORM
containing materials not directly associated with commercial
distribution within a business's operation or between general
or specific licensees. This term does not include a change in
legal title to NORM containing materials that does not
involve physical movement of those materials.

"Transport container" means a package that is designed to
provide radiation safety and security when sealed sources are
transported and which meets all applicable requirements of
the U.S. Department of Transportation.

"Transport index" or "TI" means the dimensionless number,
rounded up to the next tenth, placed on the label of a package
to designate the degree of control to be exercised by the
carrier during transportation. The transport index is the
number determined by multiplying the maximum radiation
level in millisievert (mSv) per hour at one meter (3.3 feet)
from the external surface of the package by 100 (equivalent to
the maximum radiation level in millirem per hour at one
meter (3.3 ) feet)).

"Treatment site” means the correct anatomical description of
the area intended to receive a radiation dose, as described in a
written directive.

"Tritium neutron generator target source” means a tritium
source used within a neutron generator tube to produce
neutrons for use in well-logging applications.

"Trustworthiness and reliability” means characteristics of an
individual considered dependable in judgment, character, and
performance, such that unescorted access to Category 1 or
Category 2 quantities of radioactive material by that
individual does not constitute an unreasonable risk to the
public health and safety or security. A determination of
trustworthiness and reliability for this purpose is based upon
the results from a background investigation.

"Tube" means an x-ray tube, unless otherwise specified.

"Tube housing assembly" means the tube housing with tube
installed. It includes high-voltage andler or filament
transformers and other appropriate elements when such are
contained within the tube housing.

"Tube rating chart” means the set of curves which specify
the rated limits of operation of the tube in terms of the
technique factors.

"Type A quantity” means a quantity of radioactive material,
the aggregate radioactivity of which does not exceed A; for
special form radioactive material or A, for normal form
radioactive material, where A; and A, are given in Table A-1
of 12VAC5-481-3770 or may be determined by procedures
described in Table A-1 of 12VAC5-481-3770.

"Type B quantity" means a quantity of radioactive material
greater than a Type A quantity.

"Underwater irradiator" means an irradiator in which the
sources always remain shielded under water and humans do

not have access to the sealed sources or the space subject to
irradiation without entering the pool.

"Underwater radiography" means radiographic operations
performed when the radiographic exposure device or
radiation machine and/er or related equipment are beneath the
surface of the water.

"Unescorted access” means solitary access to an aggregated
Category 1 or Category 2 quantity of radioactive material or
the devices that contain the material.

"Uniform Low-Level Radioactive Waste Manifest" or
"uniform manifest" means the combination of NRC Forms
540 and 541, and, if necessary, 542, and their respective
continuation sheets as needed, or equivalent.

"Unirradiated uranium" means uranium containing not more
than 2 x 10° Bq of plutonium per gram of uranium-235, not
more than 9 x 10° Bq of fission products per gram of
uranium-235, and not more than 5 x 10° g of uranium-236
per gram of uranium-235.

"Unrefined and unprocessed ore™ means ore in its natural
form prior to any processing, such as grinding, roasting,
beneficiating, or refining.

"Unrestricted area" means an area, access to which is neither

limited nor controlled by the licensee or registrant. For
purposes of these regulations, "uncontrolled area" is an
equivalent term.

"Uranium - natural, depleted, enriched"

1. "Natural uranium” means uranium with the naturally
occurring distribution of uranium isotopes, which is
approximately 0.711 weight percent uranium-235, and the
remainder by weight essentially uranium-238.

2. "Depleted uranium™ means uranium containing less
uranium-235 than the naturally occurring distribution of
uranium isotopes.

3. "Enriched uranium" means uranium containing more
uranium-235 than the naturally occurring distribution of
uranium isotopes.

"Uranium sinker bar" means a weight containing depleted
uranium used to pull a logging tool down toward the bottom
of a well.

"Useful beam" means the radiation that passes through the
tube housing port and the aperture of the beam-limiting
device when the exposure switch or timer is activated.

"User seal check" or "fit check" means an action conducted
by the respirator user to determine if the respirator is properly
seated to the face. Examples include negative pressure check,
positive pressure check, irritant smoke check, or isoamyl
acetate check.

"Variable-aperture beam-limiting device" means a beam-
limiting device which has capacity for stepless adjustment of
the x-ray field size at a given SID.

"Very high radiation area” means an area, accessible to
individuals, in which radiation levels from radiation sources
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external to the body could result in an individual receiving an
absorbed dose in excess of five Gy (500 rad) in one hour at
one meter from a source of radiation or one meter from any
surface that the radiation penetrates.

"Virtual simulator" means a computed tomography (CT)
unit used in conjunction with relevant software that recreates
the treatment machine and that allows import, manipulation,
display, and storage of images from CT or other imaging
modalities, or both.

"Virtual source" means a point from which radiation appears
to originate.

"Visible area™ means that portion of the input surface of the
image receptor over which incident x-ray photons are
producing a visible image.

"Visiting authorized user” means an authorized user who is
not identified on the license of the licensee being visited.

"Waste" means those low-level radioactive wastes
containing source, special nuclear, or byproduct material that
are acceptable for disposal in a land disposal facility. For the
purposes of this definition, low-level radioactive waste means
radioactive waste not classified as high-level radioactive
waste, transuranic waste, spent nuclear fuel, or byproduct
material as defined in subdivisions 2, 3, and 4 of the
definition of byproduct material.

"Waste collector” means an entity, operating under a
specific license, whose principal purpose is to collect and
consolidate waste generated by others, and to transfer this
waste, without processing or repackaging the collected waste,
to another licensed waste collector, licensed waste processor,
or licensed land disposal facility.

"Waste description” means the physical, chemical and
radiological description of a low-level radioactive waste as
called for on NRC Form 541.

"Waste generator" means an entity, operating under a
license, that (i) possesses any material or component that
contains radioactivity or is radioactively contaminated for
which the licensee foresees no further use, and (ii) transfers
this material or component to a licensed land disposal facility
or to a licensed waste collector or processor for handling or
treatment prior to disposal. A licensee performing processing
or decontamination services may be a "waste generator" if the
transfer of low-level radioactive waste from its facility is
defined as "residual waste."

"Waste handling licensees" mean persons licensed to receive
and store radioactive wastes prior to disposal andfer or
persons licensed to dispose of radioactive waste.

"Waste processor" means an entity, operating under a
specific license, whose principal purpose is to process,
repackage, or otherwise treat low-level radioactive material or
waste generated by others prior to eventual transfer of waste
to a licensed low-level radioactive waste land disposal
facility.

"Waste type" means a waste within a disposal container
having a unique physical description (i.e., a specific waste
descriptor code or description; or a waste sorbed on or
solidified in a specifically defined media).

"Wedge filter" means a filter that effects continuous change
in transmission over all or a part of the useful beam.

"Week" means seven consecutive days starting on Sunday.

"Weighting factor " or "w+" for an organ or tissue (T) means
the proportion of the risk of stochastic effects resulting from
irradiation of that organ or tissue to the total risk of stochastic
effects when the whole body is irradiated uniformly. For
calculating the effective dose equivalent, the values of wr are:

Organ Dose Weighting Factors

Organ or Tissue Wr

Gonads 0.25
Breast 0.15
Red bone marrow 0.12
Lung 0.12
Thyroid 0.03
Bone surfaces 0.03
Remainder 0.30"
Whole Body 1.00"

¥0.30 results from 0.06 for each of five "remainder"
organs, excluding the skin and the lens of the eye,
that receive the highest doses.

YFor the purpose of weighting the external whole
body dose for adding it to the internal dose, a single
weighting factor, wy = 1.0, has been specified. The
use of other weighting factors for external exposure
will be approved on a case-by-case basis until such
time as specific guidance is issued.

"Well-bore" means a drilled hole in which wireline service
operations or subsurface tracer studies are performed.

"Well-logging" means all operations involving the lowering
and raising of measuring devices or tools that may contain
sources of radiation into well-bores or cavities for the purpose
of obtaining information about the well or adjacent
formations.

"Whole body" means, for purposes of external exposure,
head, trunk including male gonads, arms above the elbow, or
legs above the knee.

"Wireline" means a cable containing one or more electrical
conductors that is used to lower and raise logging tools in the
well-bore.

"Wireline service operation” means any evaluation or
mechanical service that is performed in the well-bore using
devices on a wireline.
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"Worker" means an individual engaged in work under a
license or registration issued by the agency and controlled by
a licensee or registrant but does not include the licensee or
registrant.

"Working level” or "WL" means any combination of short-
lived radon daughters in one liter of air that will result in the
ultimate emission of 1.3E+5 MeV of potential alpha particle
energy. The short-lived radon daughters of radon-222 are
polonium-218, lead-214, bismuth-214, and polonium-214;
and those of radon-220 are polonium-216, lead-212, bismuth-
212, and polonium-212.

"Working level month" or "WLM" means an exposure to
one working level for 170 hours. Two thousand working
hours per year divided by 12 months per year is
approximately equal to 170 hours per month.

"Written directive™ means an order in writing for a specific
patient, dated and signed by an authorized user prior to the
administration of a radiopharmaceutical or radiation, except
as specified in subdivision 6 of this definition, containing the
following information:

1. For any administration of quantities greater than 1.11
megabecquerels (30 mCi) of sodium iodide 1-125 or 1-131:
the radionuclide, and dosage; or

2. For a therapeutic  administration of a
radiopharmaceutical other than sodium iodide 1-125 or I-
131: the radiopharmaceutical, dosage, and route of
administration; or

3. For gamma stereotactic radiosurgery: target coordinates,
collimator size, plug pattern, and total dose; or

4. For teletherapy: the total dose, dose per fraction,
treatment site, and overall treatment period; or

5. For high-dose-rate remote afterloading brachytherapy:
the radionuclide, treatment site, and total dose; or

6. For all other brachytherapy,

a. Prior to implantation: the radionuclide, number of
sources, and source strengths; and

b. After implantation but prior to completion of the
procedure: the radionuclide, treatment site, and total
source strength and exposure time (or, equivalently, the
total dose).

"X-ray control" means a device that controls input power to
the x-ray high-voltage generator or the x-ray tube. It includes
equipment such as timers, phototimers, automatic brightness
stabilizers, and similar devices, which control the technique
factors of an x-ray exposure.

"X-ray exposure control” means a device, switch, button or
other similar means by which an operator initiates and/er or
terminates the radiation exposure. The x-ray exposure control
may include such associated equipment as timers and back-up
timers.

"X-ray equipment" means an x-ray system, subsystem, or
component thereof. Types of x-ray equipment are as follows:

1. "Mobile x-ray equipment" means x-ray equipment
mounted on a permanent base with wheels and/or casters
for moving while completely assembled.

2. "Portable x-ray equipment” means Xx-ray equipment
designed to be hand-carried.

3. "Stationary x-ray equipment" means X-ray equipment
that is installed in a fixed location.

"X-ray field" means that area of the intersection of the
useful beam and any one of the sets of planes parallel to and
including the plane of the image receptor, whose perimeter is
the locus of points at which the AKR is one-fourth of the
maximum in the intersection.

"X-ray high-voltage generator” means a device that
transforms electrical energy from the potential supplied by
the x-ray control to the tube operating potential. The device
may also include means for transforming alternating current
to direct current, filament transformers for the x-ray tube(s)
tubes, high-voltage switches, electrical protective devices,
and other appropriate elements.

"X-ray system" means an assemblage of components for the
controlled production of x-rays. It includes minimally an x-
ray high-voltage generator, an x-ray control, a tube housing
assembly, a beam-limiting device, and the necessary
supporting structures. Additional components that function
with the system are considered integral parts of the system.

"X-ray table" means a patient support device with its patient
support structure (tabletop) interposed between the patient
and the image receptor during radiography andfer or
fluoroscopy. This includes, but is not limited to, any stretcher
equipped with a radiolucent panel and any table equipped
with a cassette tray (or bucky), cassette tunnel, fluoroscopic
image receptor, or spot-film device beneath the tabletop.

"X-ray tube" means any electron tube that is designed for
the conversion of electrical energy into x-ray energy.

"Year" means the period of time beginning in January used
to determine compliance with the provisions of this chapter.
The licensee or registrant may change the starting date of the
year used to determine compliance by the licensee or
registrant provided that the change is made at the beginning
of the year. If a licensee or registrant changes in a year, the
licensee or registrant shall assure that no day is omitted or
duplicated in consecutive years.

12VAC5-481-3390. General administrative requirements
for facilities using therapeutic radiation machines.

A. Administrative controls. The registrant shall be
responsible for directing the operation of the therapeutic
radiation machines that have been registered with the agency

i i ini i ithi The
registrant or the registrant's agent shall ensure that the
requirements of Part XV (12VAC5-481-3380 et seq.) of this
chapter are met in the operation of the therapeutic radiation

machine(s) machines.
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B. A therapeutic radiation machine that does not meet the

provisions of these-regulatiens this chapter shall not be used
for irradiation of patients.

C. Training for external beam radiation therapy authorized
users. The registrant for any therapeutic radiation machine
subject to 12VAC5-481-3420 or 12VAC5-481-3430 shall
require the authorized user to be a physician who:

1. Is certified in:

a. Radielogy Radiation oncology or therapeutic radiology
by the American Board of Radiology or radiology
(combined diagnostic and therapeutic radiology program)
by the American Board of Radiology prior to 1976;

b. Radiation oncology by the American Osteopathic
Board of Radiology;

c. Radiology, with specialization in radiotherapy, as a
British "Fellow of the Faculty of Radiology" or "Fellow
of the Royal College of Radiology"; or

d. Therapeutic radiology by the Canadian Royal College
of Physicians and Surgeons;

or

2. Is in the active practice of therapeutic radiology, and has
completed 200 hours of instruction in basic radiation
techniques applicable to the use of an external beam
radiation therapy unit, 500 hours of supervised work
experience, and a minimum of three years of supervised
clinical experience.

a. To satisfy the requirement for instruction, the
classroom and laboratory training shall include:

(1) Radiation physics and instrumentation;

(2) Radiation protection;

(3) Mathematics pertaining to the use and measurement
of ionization radiation; and

(4) Radiation biology.

b. To satisfy the requirement for supervised work

experience, training shall be under the supervision of an
authorized user and shall include:

(1) Review of the full calibration measurements and
periodic quality assurance checks;

(2) Evaluation of prepared treatment plans and
calculation of treatment times and patient treatment
settings;

(3) Using administrative controls to prevent maiss-
administrations misadministrations;

(4) Implementing emergency procedures to be followed
in the event of the abnormal operation of an external
beam radiation therapy unit or console; and

(5) Checking and using radiation survey meters.

c. To satisfy the requirement for a period of supervised

clinical experience, training shall include one year in a
formal training program approved by the Residency

Review Committee for Radiology of the Accreditation
Council for Graduate Medical Education or the
Committee on Postdoctoral Training of the American
Osteopathic Association and an additional two years of
clinical experience in therapeutic radiology under the
supervision of an authorized user. The supervised clinical
experience shall include:

(1) Examining individuals and reviewing their case
histories to determine their suitability for external beam
radiation therapy treatment, and any limitations or
contraindications;

(2) Selecting proper dose and how it is to be
administered,

(3) Calculating the external beam radiation therapy doses
and collaborating with the authorized user in the review
of patients' progress and consideration of the need to
modify originally prescribed doses andier or treatment
plans as warranted by patients' reaction to radiation; and

(4) Post-administration follow-up and review of case
histories.

3. Notwithstanding the requirements of subdivisions 1 and
2 of this subsection, the registrant for any therapeutic
radiation machine subject to 12VAC5-481-3420 may also
submit the training of the prospective authorized user
physician for agency review on a case-by-case basis.

4. A physician shall not act as an authorized user for any
therapeutic radiation machine until such time as said
physician's training has been reviewed and approved by the
agency.

D. Training for radiation—therapy qualified medical
physicist. The registrant for any therapeutic radiation machine
subject to 12VAC5-481-3420 and 12VAC5-481-3430 shall
require the radiation-therapy qualified medical physicist to—1-
Be be registered with the agency, under the provisions of Part
Il (12VAC5-481-260 et seq.) of this chapter, as a provider of
radiation services in the area of calibration and surveys of
external beam radiation therapy units; and 2—Shal-meet-the
reguirements-of 12V AC5-481-340 B 2 to:

1. Be certified by the American Board of Radiology in:
a. Therapeutic radiological physics;
b. Roentgen-ray and gamma-ray physics;
c. X-ray and radium physics; or
d. Radiological physics;

2. Be certified by the American Board of Medical Physics
in Radiation Oncology Physics;

3. Be certified by the Canadian College of Medical
Physics; or

4, Hold a master's or doctor's degree in physics, medical
physics, other physical science, engineering, or applied
mathematics from an accredited college or university and
have completed one year of full-time training in medical
physics and an additional year of full-time work experience
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under the supervision of a qualified medical physicist at a
medical institution. This training and work experience shall
be conducted in clinical radiation facilities that provide
high-energy external beam radiation therapy (photons and
electrons with energies greater than or equal to one
MV/one MeV). To meet this requirement, the individual
shall have performed the tasks listed in 12VAC5-481-3400
A, 12VAC5-481-3420 P, 12VAC5-481-3420 Q, 12VVACS5-
481-3430 T, and 12VAC5-481-3430 U under the
supervision of a qualified medical physicist during the year
of work experience.

E. Qualifications of operators.

1. Individuals who will be operating a therapeutic radiation
machine for medical use shall be American Registry of
Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) Registered Radiation
Therapy Technologists. Individuals who are not ARRT
Registered Radiation Therapy Technologists shall submit
evidence that they have satisfactorily completed a radiation
therapy technologist training program that complies with
the requirements of the Joint Review Committee on
Education in Radiologic Technology.

2. The names and training of all personnel currently
operating a therapeutic radiation machine shall be kept on
file at the facility. Information on former operators shall be
retained for a period of at least two years beyond the last
date they were authorized to operate a therapeutic radiation
machine at that facility.

F. Written safety procedures and rules shall be developed by
a radiation—therapy qualified medical physicist and shall be
available in the control area of a therapeutic radiation
machine, including any restrictions required for the safe
operation of the particular therapeutic radiation machine. The
operator shall be able to demonstrate familiarity with these
rules.

G. Individuals shall not be exposed to the useful beam
except for medical therapy purposes and unless such exposure
has been ordered in writing by a licensed-practitionerof-the

healing-arts-wheo-is-specifically-identified-on-the Certificate of
Registration therapeutic radiation machine authorized user.

This provision specifically prohibits deliberate exposure of an
individual for training, demonstration or other nenhealing-
arts non-healing-arts purposes.

H. Visiting authorized user. Notwithstanding the provisions
of subsection G of this section, a registrant may permit any
physician to act as a visiting authorized user under the term of
the registrant's Certificate of Registration for up to 60 days
per calendar year under the following conditions:

1. The visiting authorized user has the prior written
permission of the registrant's management and, if the use
occurs on behalf of an institution, the institution's radiation
safety committee, where applicable; and

2. The visiting authorized user meets the requirements
established for an authorized user{s)} user in subdivisions &
and-2 C 1 and C 2 of this subsection section; and

3. The registrant maintains—copies-of-al-records-specified
hi ion for fi ‘ | ‘ |

visit shall maintain _copies of the written permission
required in_subdivision 1 of this subsection and
documentation that the visiting authorized user met the
requirements of subdivision 2 of this subsection for five
years from the date of the last visit.

I. All individuals associated with the operation of a
therapeutic radiation machine shall be instructed in and shall
comply with the provisions of the registrant's quality
management program. In addition to the requirements of Part
XV of this chapter, these individuals are also subject to the
requirements of 12VAC5-481-640, 12VAC5-481-680, and
12VAC5-481-760.

J. Information and maintenance record and associated
information. The registrant shall maintain the following
information in a separate file or package for each therapeutic
radiation machine, for inspection by the agency:

1. Report of acceptance testing;

2. Records of all surveys, calibrations, and periodic quality
assurance checks of the therapeutic radiation machine
required by Part XV of this chapter, as well as the name(s)
of person(s) who performed such activities;

3. Records of maintenance andfor or modifications
performed on the therapeutic radiation machine after
September 20, 2006, as well as the namefs) names of
persen{s) persons who performed such services;

4. Signature of person authorizing the return of therapeutic
radiation machine to clinical use after service, repair, or
upgrade.

K. Records retention. All records required by Part XV of
this chapter shall be retained until disposal is authorized by
the agency unless another retention period is specifically
authorized in Part XV of this chapter. All required records
shall be retained in an active file from at least the time of
generation until the next agency inspection. Any required
record generated prior to the last agency inspection may be
microfilmed or otherwise archived as long as a complete copy
of said record can be retrieved until such time as the agency
authorizes final disposal.

12VAC5-481-3400. General technical requirements for
facilities using therapeutic radiation machines.

A. Surveys Protection surveys.

1. The registrant shall ensure that radiation protection
surveys of all new facilities; and existing facilities not
previously surveyed are performed with an operable
radiation measurement survey instrument calibrated in
accordance with 12VAC5-481-3440. The radiation
protection survey shall be performed by, or under the

direction of, a radiation-therapy gualified medical physicist
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or a private-inspeetor qualified inspector and shall verify
that, with the therapeutic radiation machine in a "BEAM-

ON" condition, with the largest clinically available

unrestricted area may be exposed to levels of radiation greater
than those permitted by 12VAC5-481-720, before beginning
the treatment program the registrant shall:

treatment field, and with a scattering phantom in the useful
beam of radiation:

a. Radiation levels in restricted areas are not likely to
cause personnel exposures in excess of the limits
specified in 12VAC5-481-640; and

b. Radiation levels in unrestricted areas do not exceed the
limits specified in 12VAC5-481-720.

2. In addition to the requirements of 12AC5-481-3400-A
1 subdivision 1 of this subsection, a radiation protection
survey shall also be performed prior to any subsequent
medical use and:

a. After making any change in the treatment room
shielding;

b. After making any change in the location of the
therapeutic radiation machine within the treatment room;

c. After relocating the therapeutic radiation machine; or

d. Before using the therapeutic radiation machine in a
manner that could result in increased radiation levels in
areas outside the external beam radiation therapy
treatment room.

3. The survey record shall indicate all instances where the
facility, in the opinion of the radiation—therapy qualified
medical physicist or a private-inspector qualified inspector,
is in violation of applicable regulations. The survey record
shall also include: the date of the measurements;, the
reason the survey is required;, the manufacturer's names;,
the model number and serial number of the therapeutic
radiation machine;, the instrument(s) instruments used to
measure radiation levels;, a plan of the areas surrounding
the treatment room that were surveyed;, the measured dose
rate at several points in each area expressed in
microsieverts or millirems per hour;, the calculated
maximum level of radiation over a period of one week for
each restricted and unrestricted area;, and the signature of
the individual responsible for conducting the survey;

4. If the results of the surveys required by subdivision 1 or
2 of this subsection indicate any radiation levels in excess
of the respective limit specified in subdivision 1 of this
subsection, the registrant shall lock the control in the
"OFF" position and not use the unit:
a. Except as may be necessary to repair, replace, or test
the therapeutic radiation machine, the therapeutic
radiation machine shielding, or the treatment room
shielding; or
b. Until the registrant has received a specific exemption
from the agency.

B. Modification of radiation therapy unit or room before

1. Either equip the unit with beam direction interlocks or
add additional radiation shielding to ensure compliance
with 12VVAC5-481-720;

2. Perform the survey required by subsection A of this
section again; and

3. Include in the report required by subsection D of this
section the results of the initial survey, a description of the
modification made to comply with subdivision 1 of this
subsection, and the results of the second survey; or

4. Request and receive a registration amendment under
12VAC5-481-720 that authorizes radiation levels in
unrestricted areas greater than those permitted by
12VAC5-481-720.

C. Dosimetry equipment.

1. The registrant shall have a calibrated dosimetry system
available for use. The system shall have been calibrated by
the National Institute for Standards and Technology
(NIST) or by an American Association of Physicists in
Medicine (AAPM) Accredited Dosimetry Calibration
Laboratory (ADCL). The calibration shall have been
performed within the previous 24 months and after any
servicing that may have affected system calibration. An
independent survey shall be conducted by a qualified
inspector or qualified medical physicist other than the
person performing the original survey prior to the
equipment being used except as described in subsection A

a. For beams with energies greater than one MV (1
MeV), the dosimetry system shall have been calibrated
for Cobalt-60;

b. For beams with energies equal to or less than one MV
(1 MeV), the dosimetry system shall have been calibrated
at an energy (energy range) appropriate for the radiation
being measured,;

2. The registrant shall have available for use a dosimetry
system for quality assurance check measurements. To meet
this requirement, the system may be compared with a
system that has been calibrated in accordance with
subdivision € 1 of this seetien subsection. This comparison
shall have been performed within the previous 12 months
and after each servicing that may have affected system
calibration. The quality assurance check system may be the
same system used to meet the requirement in subdivision &
1 of this seetien subsection;

3. The registrant shall maintain a record of each dosimetry
system calibration, intercomparison, and comparison for
the duration of the license and/er or registration. For each

calibration, intercomparison, or comparison, the record
shall include: the date; the model numbers and serial
numbers of the instruments that were calibrated, inter-

beginning a treatment program. If the survey required by
subsection A of this section indicates that an individual in an
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compared, or compared as required by subdivisions € 1
and 2 of this seetien subsection; the correction factors that
were determined; the names of the individuals who
performed the calibration, intercomparison, or comparison;
and evidence that the intercomparison was performed by,
or under the direct supervision and in the physical presence
of, a radiation-therapy gualified medical physicist.

D. Reports of external beam radiation therapy surveys and
measurements. The registrant for any therapeutic radiation
machine subject to 12VAC5-481-3420 or 12VAC5-481-3430
shall furnish a copy of the records required in subsections A
and B of this section to the agency within 30 days following
completion of the action that initiated the record requirement.

12VAC5-481-3410. Quality management program.

TFhefacility-shal-implement a-guality-management program.
I € facility .SI. a“.' elude-in-the-guality anagemer Eprogram
“.”tte |etF|I|eat|e| tel the—agency '“Itll ' .;2 I_eu sEacghI
registrant _or applicant subject to 12VAC5-481-3420 and
12VAC5-481-3430 shall develop, implement, and maintain a

identity is verified by more than one method as the
individual named in the written directive;

b. Each administration is in accordance with the written
directive;

c. Therapeutic radiation machine final plans of treatment
and related calculations are in accordance with the
respective written directives by:

(1) Checking both manual and computer-generated dose
calculations to verify they are correct and in accordance
with the written directive; and

(2) Verifying that any computer-generated calculations
are correctly transferred into the consoles of authorized
therapeutic medical units;

d. Any unintended deviation from the written directive is
identified and evaluated, and appropriate action is taken;
and

e. The reqistrant retains a copy of the procedures for
administrations for the duration of the registration.

B. Reports and notifications of misadministrations.

guality management program to provide high confidence that
radiation will be administered as directed by the authorized
user.

A. Scope and applicability. The quality management
program shall address, at a minimum, the following specific
objectives:

1. Written directives.

a. A written directive shall be dated and signed by an
authorized user prior to the administration of radiation. If
because of the patient's condition a delay caused by
providing a written revision to an existing written
directive would jeopardize the patient's health, an oral
revision to an existing written directive will be
acceptable, provided that the oral revision is documented
as soon as possible in writing in the patient's record and a
revised written directive is signed by an authorized user
within 48 hours of the oral revision.

b. The written directive shall contain the patient's or
human research subject's name, type and energy of the
beam, total dose, dose per fraction, treatment site, and
number of fractions.

c. A written revision to an existing written directive may
be made provided that the revision is dated and signed by
an_authorized user prior to the administration of the
therapeutic radiation machine dose or the next fractional
dose.
d. The registrant shall retain a copy of the written
directive for three years.

2. Procedures for administrations. The registrant shall

develop, implement, and maintain written procedures to
provide high confidence that:

a. Prior to the administration of each course of radiation
treatment, the patient's or human research subject's

1. A reqistrant shall report any event resulting from the
treatment of a patient or human research subject in which
the administration of therapeutic radiation machine
radiation results, or will result in, unintended permanent
functional damage to an organ or a physiological system as
determined by a physician.
2. Other than events that result from the treatment of a
patient or human research subject, a registrant shall report
any event in which the administration of a therapeutic
radiation machine therapy dose:
a. Involves the wrong patient, wrong treatment modality,
or wrong treatment site;
b. The calculated weekly administered dose differs from
the weekly prescribed dose by more than 30%; or
c. The calculated total administered dose differs from the
total prescribed dose by more than 20% of the total
prescribed dose.
3. The registrant shall notify the agency by telephone no
later than the next calendar day after the discovery of a
misadministration.
4. The registrant shall submit a written report to the agency
within 15 days after the discovery of a misadministration.
The written report shall include:

a. The registrant's name;

b. The name of the prescribing physician;
c. A brief description of the event;

d. Why the event occurred;

e. The effect, if any, on the individual who received the
misadministration;

f. Actions, if any, that have been taken or are planned to
prevent recurrence; and
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0. Certification that the registrant notified the individual,

5. Whether the registrant notified the individual, or the

or the individual's responsible relative or guardian, and if

individual's responsible relative or guardian and, if not,

not, why not.
5. The report shall not contain the individual's name or any
other information that could lead to the identification of the
individual.

6. The registrant shall provide notification of the event to
the referring physician and also notify the individual who
is the subject of the misadministration no later than 24
hours after its discovery, unless the referring physician
personally informs the registrant either that he will inform
the individual or that, based on medical judgment, telling
the individual would be harmful. The registrant is not
required to notify the individual without first consulting the
referring physician. If the referring physician or the
affected individual cannot be reached within 24 hours, the
registrant shall notify the individual as soon as possible
thereafter. The registrant may not delay any appropriate
medical care for the individual, including any necessary
remedial care as a result of the misadministration, because
of any delay in notification. To meet the requirements of
this subdivision, the notification of the individual who is
the subject of the misadministration may be made instead
to that individual's responsible relative or guardian. If a
verbal notification is made, the registrant shall inform the
individual, or appropriate responsible relative or guardian,
that a written description of the event can be obtained from
the registrant upon request. The registrant shall provide
such a written description if requested.

7. Aside from the notification requirement, nothing in this
section affects any rights or duties of registrants and
physicians in relation to each other, to individuals affected
by the misadministration, or to that individual's responsible
relatives or guardians.

8. The registrant shall retain a record of a
misadministration in accordance with subsection C of this
section. A copy of the required record shall be provided to
the referring physician if other than the registrant within 15
days after discovery of the misadministration.

C. Records of misadministrations. A registrant shall retain a

whether such failure to notify was based on guidance from
the referring physician.

12VAC5-481-3420. Therapeutic radiation machines of less
than 500 kV.

A. Leakage radiation. When the X-ray x-ray tube is operated
at its maximum rated tube current for the maximum kV, the
leakage air kerma rate shall not exceed the value specified at
the distance specified for that classification of therapeutic
radiation machine:

1. 5-50 kV Systems systems. The leakage air kerma rate
measured at any position five centimeters from the tube
housing assembly shall not exceed one mGy (100 mrad) in
any one hour.

2. > Greater than 50 and < less than 500 kV Systems
systems. The leakage air kerma rate measured at a distance
of one meter from the target in any direction shall not
exceed one cGy (1 rad) in any one hour. This air kerma
rate measurement may be averaged over areas no larger
than 100 square centimeters. In addition, the air kerma rate
at a distance of five centimeters from the surface of the
tube housing assembly shall not exceed 30 cGy (30 rad)
per hour.

3. For each therapeutic radiation machine, the registrant
shall determine, or obtain from the manufacturer, the
leakage radiation existing at the positions specified in
subdivisions A 1 and 2 of this section subsection for the
specified operating conditions. Records on leakage
radiation measurements shall be maintained at the
installation for inspection by the agency.

B. Permanent beam limiting devices. Permanent diaphragms
or cones used for limiting the useful beam shall provide at
least the same degree of attenuation as required for the tube
housing assembly.

C. Adjustable or removable beam limiting devices.

1. All adjustable or removable beam limiting devices,
diaphragms, cones or blocks shall not transmit more than
5.0% of the useful beam for the most penetrating beam

record of misadministrations reported in accordance with used;
subsection B of this section for three years. The record shall 2. When adjustable beam limiting devices are used, the
contain the following: position and shape of the radiation field shall be indicated

1. The registrant's name and the names of the individuals
involved;

2. The social security number or other identification
number, if one has been assigned, of the individual who is
the subject of the misadministration;

3. A brief description of the event; why it occurred; and the
effect, if any, on the individual;

4. The actions, if any, taken or planned to prevent
recurrence; and

by a light beam.
D. Filter system. The filter system shall be so designed that:

1. Filters cannot be accidentally displaced at any possible
tube orientation;

2. For equipment installed after September 20, 2006, an
interlock system prevents irradiation if the proper filter is
not in place;

3. The air kerma rate escaping from the filter slot shall not
exceed one cGy (1 rad) per hour at one meter under any
operating conditions; and
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4, Each filter shall be marked as to its material of
construction and its thickness.

E. Tube immobilization.

1. The X-ray x-ray tube shall be so mounted that it cannot
accidentally turn or slide with respect to the housing
aperture; and

2. The tube housing assembly shall be capable of being
immobilized for stationary portal treatments.

F. Source marking. The tube housing assembly shall be so
marked that it is possible to determine the location of the
source to within five millimeters, and such marking shall be
readily accessible for use during calibration procedures.

G. Beam block. Contact therapy tube housing assemblies
shall have a removable shield of material, equivalent in
attenuation to 0.5 millimeters of lead at 100 kV, which can be
positioned over the entire useful beam exit port during
periods when the beam is not in use.

H. Timer. A suitable irradiation control device shall be
provided to terminate the irradiation after a pre-set time
interval.

1. A timer with a display shall be provided at the treatment
control panel. The timer shall have a pre-set time selector
and an elapsed time or time remaining indicator;

2. The timer shall be a cumulative timer that activates with
an indication of "BEAM-ON" and retains its reading after
irradiation is interrupted or terminated. After irradiation is
terminated and before irradiation can be reinitiated, it shall
be necessary to reset the elapsed time indicator;

3. The timer shall terminate irradiation when a preselected
time has elapsed, if any dose monitoring system present
has not previously terminated irradiation;

4. The timer shall permit accurate pre-setting and
determination of exposure times as short as one second;

5. The timer shall not permit an exposure if set at zero;

6. The timer shall not activate until the shutter is opened
when irradiation is controlled by a shutter mechanism
unless calibration includes a timer error correction to
compensate for mechanical lag; and

7. Fimer The timer shall be accurate to within 1.0% of the
selected value or one second, whichever is greater.

I. Control panel functions. The control panel, in addition to
the displays required by other provisions in this section, shall
have:

1. An indication of whether electrical power is available at
the control panel and if activation of the X-ray x-ray tube
is possible;

2. An indication of whether X-rays x-rays are being
produced;

3. A means for indicating X-ray x-ray tube potential and
current;

4. The means for terminating an exposure at any time;

5. A locking device which will prevent unauthorized use of
the therapeutic radiation machine; and

6. For therapeutic radiation machines manufactured after
September 20, 2006, a positive display of specific filter(s)
filters in the beam.

J. Multiple tubes. When a control panel may energize more
than one X-ray x-ray tube:
1. It shall be possible to activate only one X-ray x-ray tube
at any time;
2. There shall be an indication at the control panel
identifying which X-ray x-ray tube is activated; and

3. There shall be an indication at the tube housing
assembly when that tube is energized.

K. Target-to-skin distance (TSD). There shall be a means of
determining the central axis TSD to within one centimeter
and of reproducing this measurement to within two
millimeters thereafter.

L. Shutters. Unless it is possible to bring the X-ray x-ray
output to the prescribed exposure parameters within five
seconds after the X-ray x-ray "ON" switch is energized, the
beam shall be attenuated by a shutter having a lead
equivalency not less than that of the tube housing assembly.
In addition, after the unit is at operating parameters, the
shutter shall be controlled by the operator from the control
panel. An indication of shutter position shall appear at the
control panel.

M. Low filtration X-ray x-ray tubes. Each therapeutic
radiation machine equipped with a beryllium or other low-
filtration window shall be clearly labeled as such upon the
tube housing assembly and shall be provided with a
permanent warning device on the control panel that is
activated when no additional filtration is present, to indicate
that the dose rate is very high.

N. Facility design requirements for therapeutic radiation
machines capable of operating in the range 50 kV to 500 kV.
In addition to adequate shielding to meet requirements of
12VAC5-481-3450, the treatment room shall meet the
following design requirements:

1. Aural communication. Provision shall be made for
continuous two-way aural communication between the
patient and the operator at the control panel;

2. Viewing systems. Provision shall be made to permit
continuous observation of the patient during irradiation and
the viewing system shall be so located that the operator can
observe the patient from the control panel. The therapeutic
radiation machine shall not be used for patient irradiation
unless at least one viewing system is operational.

O. Additional requirements. Treatment rooms that contain a
therapeutic radiation machine capable of operating above 150
kV shall meet the following additional requirements:

1. All protective barriers shall be fixed except for entrance
doors or beam interceptors;
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2. The control panel shall be located outside the treatment
room or in a totally enclosed booth, which has a ceiling,
inside the room;

3. Interlocks shall be provided such that all entrance doors,
including doors to any interior booths, shall be closed
before treatment can be initiated or continued. If the
radiation beam is interrupted by any door opening, it shall
not be possible to restore the machine to operation without
closing the door and reinitiating irradiation by manual
action at the control panel; and

4. When any door referred to in subdivision 3 of this
subsection is opened while the X-ray x-ray tube is
activated, the air kerma rate at a distance of one meter from
the source shall be reduced to less than one mGy (100
mrad) per hour.

P. Full calibration measurements.

1. Full calibration of a therapeutic radiation machine
subject to this section shall be performed by, or under the
direct supervision of, a radiation-therapy qualified medical
physicist:
a. Before the first medical use following installation or
reinstallation of the therapeutic radiation machine;

b. At intervals not exceeding one year; and
c. Before medical use under the following conditions:

(1) Whenever quality assurance check measurements
indicate that the radiation output differs by more than
5.0% from the value obtained at the last full calibration
and the difference cannot be reconciled; and

(2) Following any component replacement, major repair,
or modification of components that could significantly
affect the characteristics of the radiation beam.

d. Notwithstanding the requirements of subdivision 1 c of
this subsection:

(1) Full calibration of therapeutic radiation machines
with multienergy capabilities is required only for those
modes andfor or energies that are not within their
acceptable range; and

(2) If the repair, replacement or modification does not
affect all energies, full calibration shall be performed on
the affected energy that is in most frequent clinical use at
the facility. The remaining energies may be validated
with quality assurance check procedures against the
criteria in subdivision 1 ¢ (1) of this subsection.

2. To satisfy the requirement of subdivision 1 of this
subsection, full calibration shall include all measurements
recommended for annual calibration by NGRP the National
Council on Radiation Protection and Measurements
(NCRP) Report 69, "Dosimetry of X-ray and Gamma Ray
Beams for Radiation Therapy in the Energy Range 10 keV
to 50 MeV" (1981).

3. The registrant shall maintain a record of each calibration
for the duration of the registration. The record shall

include: the date of the calibration; the manufacturer's
name, model number, and serial number for both the
therapeutic radiation machine and the X-ray x-ray tube; the
model numbers and serial numbers of the instruments used
to calibrate the therapeutic radiation machine; and the

signature of the radiation—therapy qualified medical

physicist responsible for performing the calibration.
Q. Periodic quality assurance checks.

1. Periodic quality assurance checks shall be performed on
therapeutic radiation machines subject to this section,
which are capable of operation at greater than or equal to
50 kV-;

2. To satisfy the requirement of subdivision 1 of this
subsection, quality assurance checks shall meet the
following requirements:

a. The registrant shall perform quality assurance checks
in accordance with written procedures established by the
radiation-therapy qualified medical physicist:; and

b. The quality assurance check procedures shall specify
the frequency at which tests or measurements are to be
performed. The quality assurance check procedures shall
specify that the quality assurance check shall be
performed during the calibration specified in subdivision
P 1 of this section. The acceptable tolerance for each
parameter measured in the quality assurance check, when
compared to the value for that parameter determined in
the calibration specified in subdivision P 1 of this
section, shall be stated-;

3. The cause for a parameter exceeding a tolerance set by
the radiation-therapy gualified medical physicist shall be
investigated and corrected before the system is used for
patient irradiation;

4. Whenever a quality assurance check indicates a
significant change in the operating characteristics of a
system, as specified in the radiation—therapy qualified
medical physicist's quality assurance check procedures, the
system shall be recalibrated as required in subdivision P 1
of this section;

5. The registrant shall use the dosimetry system described
in 12VAC5-481-3400 C 2 to make the quality assurance
check required in subdivision 2 of this subsection;

6. The registrant shall have the radiation-therapy qualified
medical physicist review and sign the results of each

radiation output quality assurance check within ene-menth
30 days of the date that the check was performed,

7. The registrant shall ensure that safety quality assurance
checks of therapeutic radiation machines subject to this
section are performed at intervals not to exceed ene-moenth
30 days;

8. Notwithstanding the requirements of subdivisions 4 and
7 of this subsection, the registrant shall ensure that no
therapeutic radiation machine is used to administer
radiation to humans unless the quality assurance checks
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required by subdivisions 6 4 and 7 of this subsection have
been performed within the 30-day period immediately
prior to said administration;

9. To satisfy the requirement of subdivision 7 of this
subsection, safety quality assurance checks shall ensure
proper operation of:

a. Electrical interlocks at each external beam radiation
therapy room entrance;

b. The "BEAM-ON" and termination switches;

c. Beam condition indicator lights on the access deot{s)
door, control console, and in the radiation therapy room;

d. Viewing systems; and

e. If applicable, electrically operated treatment room
doors from inside and outside the treatment room; and

10. The registrant shall maintain a record of each quality
assurance check required by subdivisions 1 and 7 of this
subsection for three years. The record shall include: the
date of the quality assurance check; the manufacturer's
name, the model number, and serial number of the
therapeutic radiation machine; the manufacturer's name:,
the model number, and serial number for the iastrument(s)
instruments used to measure the radiation output of the
therapeutic radiation machine; and the signature of the
individual who performed the periodic quality assurance
check.

R. Operating procedures.

1. The therapeutic radiation machine shall not be used for
irradiation of patients unless the requirements of
subsections P and Q of this section have been met;

2. Therapeutic radiation machines shall not be left
unattended unless secured pursuant to subdivision | 5 of
this section;

3. When a patient must be held in position for radiation
therapy, mechanical supporting or restraining devices shall
be used;

4. The tube housing assembly shall not be held by an
individual during operation unless the assembly is
designed to require such holding and the peak tube
potential of the system does not exceed 50 kV. In such
cases, the holder shall wear protective gloves and an apron
of not less than 0.5 millimeters lead equivalency at 100
kV;

5. A copy of the current operating and emergency
procedures shall be maintained at the therapeutic radiation
machine control console; and

6. No individual other than the patient shall be in the
treatment room during exposures from therapeutic
radiation machines operating above 150 kV. At energies
less than or equal to 150 kV, any individual, other than the
patient, in the treatment room shall be protected by a
barrier sufficient to meet the requirements of 12VAC5-
481-640.

S. Possession of survey instrument(s) instruments. Each
facility location authorized to use a therapeutic radiation
machine in accordance with this section shall possess
appropriately calibrated portable monitoring equipment. As a
minimum, such equipment shall include a portable radiation
measurement survey instrument capable of measuring dose
rates over the range 10 mSv uSv (1 mrem) per hour to 10
mSv (1000 mrem) per hour. The survey instrument(s)
instruments shall be operable and calibrated in accordance
with 12VAC5-481-3440.

T. Electronic brachytherapy devices are subject to the
requirements of 12VAC5-481-3452 and are exempt from the
requirements of this section.

12VAC5-481-3430. Therapeutic radiation machines -
photon therapy systems (500 kV and above) and electron
therapy systems (500 KV and above).

A. Possession of survey instrument(s) instruments. Each
facility location authorized to use a therapeutic radiation
machine in accordance with this section shall pessess have
access to appropriately calibrated portable monitoring
equipment. As a minimum, such equipment shall include a
portable radiation measurement survey instrument capable of
measuring dose rates over the range 10 mSv uSv (1 mrem)
per hour to 10 mSv (1000 mrem) per hour. The survey
nstrament(s) instruments shall be operable and calibrated in
accordance with 12VAC5-481-3440.

B. Leakage radiation outside the maximum useful beam in
photon and electron modes.

1. The absorbed dose due to leakage radiation (excluding
neutrons) at any point outside the maximum sized useful
beam, but within a circular plane of radius two meters
which is perpendicular to and centered on the central axis
of the useful beam at the nominal treatment distance (i.e.,
patient plane), shall not exceed a maximum of 0.2% and an
average of 0.1% of the absorbed dose on the central axis of
the beam at the nominal treatment distance. Measurements
shall be averaged over an area not exceeding 100 square
centimeters at a minimum of 16 points uniformly
distributed in the plane;

2. Except for the area defined in subdivision 1 of this
subsection, the absorbed dose due to leakage radiation
(excluding neutrons) at one meter from the electron path
between the electron source and the target or electron
window shall not exceed 0.5% of the absorbed dose on the
central axis of the beam at the nominal treatment distance.
Measurements shall be averaged over an area not
exceeding 100 square centimeters;

3. For equipment manufactured after September 20, 2006,
the neutron absorbed dose outside the useful beam shall be
in compliance with International Electrotechnical
Commission (IEC) Document 601-2-1 (most current
revision); and
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4. For each therapeutic radiation machine, the registrant
shall determine, or obtain from the manufacturer, the
leakage radiation existing at the positions specified in
subdivisions 1 threugh, 2, and 3 of this subsection for the
specified operating conditions. Records on leakage
radiation measurements shall be maintained at the
installation for inspection by the agency.

C. Leakage radiation through beam limiting devices.

1. Photon radiation. All adjustable or interchangeable beam
limiting devices shall attenuate the useful beam such that at
the nominal treatment distance, the maximum absorbed
dose anywhere in the area shielded by the beam limiting
device(s) devices shall not exceed 2.0% of the maximum
absorbed dose on the central axis of the useful beam

measured in a 10-centimeterby10-centimeterradiation
manufacturers—specifications 100 sguare centimeter
radiation field, or maximum available field size if less than
100 square centimeters;

2. Electron radiation. All adjustable or interchangeable
electron applicators shall attenuate the radiation, including
but not limited to photon radiation generated by electrons
incident on the beam limiting device and electron
applicator and other parts of the radiation head, such that
the absorbed dose in a plane perpendicular to the central
axis of the useful beam at the nominal treatment distance
shall not exceed:

a. A maximum of 2.0% and average of 0.5% of the
absorbed dose on the central axis of the useful beam at
the nominal treatment distance. This limit shall apply
beyond a line seven centimeters outside the periphery of
the useful beam; and

b. A maximum of 10% of the absorbed dose on the
central axis of the useful beam at the nominal treatment
distance. This limit shall apply beyond a line two
centimeters outside the periphery of the useful beam.

3. Measurement of leakage radiation.

a. Photon radiation. Measurements of leakage radiation
through the beam limiting devices shall be made with the
beam limiting devices closed and any residual aperture
blocked by at least two-tenth-value two tenth-value layers
of suitable absorbing material. In the case of overlapping
beam limiting devices, the leakage radiation through each
set shall be measured independently at the depth of
maximum dose. Measurements shall be made using a
radiation detector of area not exceeding 10 square
centimeters;

b. Electron radiation. Measurements of leakage radiation
through the electron applicators shall be made with the
electron beam directed into the air and using a radiation
detector of area up to but not exceeding one square
centimeter suitably protected against radiation which has
been scattered from material beyond the radiation

detector. Measurements shall be made using one
centimeter of water equivalent build up material.

D. Filters and wedges.

1. Each wedge filter that is removable from the system
shall be clearly marked with an identification number. For
removable wedge filters, the nominal wedge angle shall
appear on the wedge or wedge tray (if permanently
mounted to the tray). If the wedge or wedge tray is
significantly damaged, the wedge transmission factor shall
be redetermined:.

2. If the absorbed dose rate information required by
subsection | of this section relates exclusively to operation
with a field flattening filter or beam scattering foil in place,
such foil or filter shall be removable only by the use of
tools:.

3. For equipment manufactured after September 20, 2006,
that utilizes wedge filters, interchangeable field flattening
filters, or interchangeable beam scattering foils:

a. Irradiation shall not be possible until a selection of a
filter or a positive selection to use "no filter" has been
made at the treatment control panel, either manually or
automatically;

b. An interlock system shall be provided to prevent
irradiation if the filter selected is not in the correct
position;

c. A display shall be provided at the treatment control
panel showing the wedge filter{s} filters, interchangeable
field flattening filter(s) filters, and/er or interchangeable
beam scattering fei(s) foils in use; and

d. An interlock shall be provided to prevent irradiation if
any filter andlor or beam scattering foil selection
operation carried out in the treatment room does not
agree with the filter andfor or beam scattering foil
selection operation carried out at the treatment control
panel.

E. Stray radiation in the useful beam. For equipment
manufactured after September 20, 2006, the registrant shall
determine during acceptance testing, or obtain from the
manufacturer, data sufficient to ensure that X-ray x-ray stray
radiation in the useful electron beam, absorbed dose at the
surface during X-ray x-ray irradiation, and stray neutron
radiation in the useful X-ray x-ray beam are in compliance
with International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC)
Document 601-2-1 (most current revision).

F. Beam monitors. All therapeutic radiation machines
subject to this section shall be provided with redundant beam
monitoring systems. The sensors for these systems shall be
fixed in the useful beam during treatment to indicate the dose
monitor unit rate.

1. Equipment manufactured after September 20, 2006,
shall be provided with at least two independently powered
integrating dose meters. Alternatively, common elements
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may be used if the production of radiation is terminated
upon failure of any common element.

2. Equipment manufactured on or before September 20,
2006, shall be provided with at least one radiation detector.
This detector shall be incorporated into a useful beam
monitoring system;.

3. The detector and the system into which that detector is
incorporated shall meet the following requirements:

a. Each detector shall be removable only with tools and,
if movable, shall be interlocked to prevent incorrect
positionings;.

b. Each detector shall form part of a beam monitoring
system from whose readings in dose monitor units the
absorbed dose at a reference point can be calculated;.

c. Each beam monitoring system shall be capable of
independently monitoring, interrupting, and terminating
irradiation:-and.
d. For equipment manufactured after September 20,
2006, the design of the beam monitoring systems shall
ensure that the:

(1) Malfunctioning of one system shall not affect the
correct functioning of the other system{s} systems; and

(2) Failure of either system shall terminate irradiation or
prevent the initiation of radiation.

e. Each beam monitoring system shall have a legible
display at the treatment control panel. For equipment
manufactured after September 20, 2006, each display
shall:

(1) Maintain a reading until intentionally reset;

(2) Have only one scale and no electrical or mechanical
scale multiplying factors;

(3) Utilize a design such that increasing dose is displayed
by increasing numbers; and

(4) In the event of power failure, the beam monitoring
information required in subdivision 3 e (3) of this
subsection displayed at the control panel at the time of
failure shall be retrievable in at least one system for a 20-
minute period of time.

G. Beam symmetry.

1. Bent-beamlinear—accelerators A bent-beam linear
accelerator with beam flattening filter subject to this
section shall be provided with an auxiliary device{s} device
to monitor beam symmetry;

2. The device{s) device referenced in subdivision 1 of this
subsection shall be able to detect field asymmetry greater
than 10%; and

3. The device{s) device referenced in subdivision 1 of this
subsection shall be configured to terminate irradiation if
the specifications in subdivision 2 of this subsection cannot
be maintained.

H. Selection and display of dose monitor units.

1. Irradiation shall not be possible until a new selection of
a number of dose monitor units has been made at the
treatment control panel;

2. The preselected number of dose monitor units shall be
displayed at the treatment control panel until reset
manually for the next irradiation;

3. After termination of irradiation, it shall be necessary to
reset the dosimeter display before subsequent treatment
can be initiated; and

4. For equipment manufactured after September 20, 2006,
after termination of irradiation, it shall be necessary for the
operator to reset the preselected dose monitor units before
irradiation can be initiated.

I. Air kerma rate or absorbed dose rate. For equipment
manufactured after September 20, 2006, a system shall be
provided from whose readings the air kerma rate or absorbed
dose rate at a reference point can be calculated. (The radiation
detectors specified in subsection F of this section may form
part of this system.) In addition:

1. The dose monitor unit rate shall be displayed at the
treatment control panel;

2. If the equipment can deliver under any conditions an air
kerma rate or absorbed dose rate at the nominal treatment
distance more than twice the maximum value specified by
the manufacturer, a device shall be provided that
terminates irradiation when the air kerma rate or absorbed
dose rate exceeds a value twice the specified maximum.
The dose rate at which the irradiation will be terminated
shall be a record maintained by the registrant;

3. If the equipment can deliver under any fault condition{s)}
conditions an air kerma rate or absorbed dose rate at the
nominal treatment distance more than 10 times the
maximum value specified by the manufacturer, a device
shall be provided to prevent the air kerma rate or absorbed
dose rate anywhere in the radiation field from exceeding
twice the specified maximum value and to terminate
irradiation if the excess absorbed dose at the nominal
treatment distance exceeds 4 Gy (400 rad); and

4. For each therapeutic radiation machine, the registrant
shall determine, or obtain from the manufacturer, the
maximum value(s) values specified in subdivisions 2 and 3
of this subsection for the specified operating conditions.
Records of these maximum wvalue(s) values shall be
maintained at the installation for inspection by the agency.

J. Termination of irradiation by the beam monitoring system
or systems during stationary beam radiation therapy.

1. Each primary system shall terminate irradiation when
the preselected number of dose monitor units has been
detected by the system;

2. If the original design of the equipment included a
secondary dose monitoring system, that system shall be
capable of terminating irradiation when not more than 15%
or 40 dose monitor units above the preselected number of
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dose monitor units set at the control panel has been
detected by the secondary dose monitoring system; and

3. For equipment manufactured after September 20, 2006,
an indicator on the control panel shall show which
monitoring system has terminated irradiation.

K. Termination of irradiation. It shall be possible to
terminate irradiation and equipment movement or go from an
interruption condition to termination condition at any time
from the operator's position at the treatment control panel.

L. Interruption of irradiation. If a therapeutic radiation
machine has an interrupt mode, it shall be possible to
interrupt irradiation and equipment movements at any time
from the treatment control panel. Following an interruption it
shall be possible to restart irradiation by operator action
without any reselection of operating conditions. If any change
is made of a preselected value during an interruption,
irradiation and equipment movements shall be automatically
terminated.

M. Timer. A suitable irradiation control device shall be
provided to terminate the irradiation after a pre-set time
interval.

1. A timer shall be provided which has a display at the
treatment control panel. The timer shall have a pre-set time
selector and an elapsed time indicator;

2. The timer shall be a cumulative timer that activates with
an indication of "BEAM-ON" and retains its reading after
irradiation is interrupted or terminated. After irradiation is
terminated and before irradiation can be reinitiated, it shall
be necessary to reset the elapsed time indicator;

3. The timer shall terminate irradiation when a preselected
time has elapsed; if the dose monitoring systems have not
previously terminated irradiation.

N. Selection of radiation type. Equipment capable of both
X-ray x-ray therapy and electron therapy shall meet the
following additional requirements:

1. Irradiation shall not be possible until a selection of
radiation type (4-rays (x-rays or electrons) has been made
at the treatment control panel;

2. The radiation type selected shall be displayed at the
treatment control panel before and during irradiation;

3. An interlock system shall be provided to ensure that the
equipment can principally emit only the radiation type that
has been selected,;

4. An interlock system shall be provided to prevent
irradiation with X-rays x-rays, except to obtain an image,
when electron applicators are fitted;

5. An interlock system shall be provided to prevent
irradiation with electrons when accessories specific for X-
ray x-ray therapy are fitted; and

6. An interlock system shall be provided to prevent
irradiation if any selected operations carried out in the

treatment room do not agree with the selected operations
carried out at the treatment control panel.

O. Selection of energy. Equipment capable of generating
radiation beams of different energies shall meet the following
requirements:

1. Irradiation shall not be possible until a selection of
energy has been made at the treatment control panel;

2. The nominal energy value selected shall be displayed at
the treatment control panel until reset manually for the next
irradiation. After termination of irradiation, it shall be
necessary to reset the nominal energy value selected before
subsequent treatment can be initiated;

3. Irradiation shall not be possible until the appropriate
flattening filter or scattering foil for the selected energy is
in its proper location; and

4. For equipment manufactured after September 20, 2006,
the selection of energy shall be in compliance with
International ~ Electrotechnical ~ Commission  (IEC)
Document 601-2-1.

P. Selection of stationary beam radiation therapy or moving
beam radiation therapy. Therapeutic radiation machines
capable of both stationary beam radiation therapy and moving
beam radiation therapy shall meet the following requirements:

1. Irradiation shall not be possible until a selection of
stationary beam radiation therapy or moving beam
radiation therapy has been made at the treatment control
panel;

2. The mode of operation shall be displayed at the
treatment control panel;

3. An interlock system shall be provided to ensure that the
equipment can operate only in the mode that has been
selected;

4. An interlock system shall be provided to prevent
irradiation if any selected parameter in the treatment room
does not agree with the selected parameter at the treatment
control panel,

5. Moving beam radiation therapy shall be controlled to
obtain the selected relationships between incremental dose
monitor units and incremental movement. For equipment
manufactured after September 20, 2006:

a. An interlock system shall be provided to terminate
irradiation if the number of dose monitor units delivered
in any 10 degrees of rotation or one em centimeter of
linear motion differs by more than 20% from the selected
value;

b. Where angle terminates the irradiation in moving
beam radiation therapy, the dose monitor units delivered
shall differ by less than 5.0% from the dose monitor unit
value selected;

c. An interlock shall be provided to prevent motion of
more than five degrees or one em centimeter beyond the
selected limits during moving beam radiation therapy;

Volume 32, Issue 17

Virginia Register of Regulations

April 18, 2016

2378



Regulations

d. An interlock shall be provided to require that a
selection of direction be made at the treatment control
panel in all units that are capable of both clockwise and
counter-clockwise moving beam radiation therapy-;

e. Moving beam radiation therapy shall be controlled
with both primary position sensors and secondary
position sensors to obtain the selected relationships
between incremental dose monitor units and incremental
movement:;
6. Where the beam monitor system terminates the
irradiation in moving beam radiation therapy, the
termination of irradiation shall be as required by 12\ AC5-
481-3430-J subsection J of this section; and

7. For equipment manufactured after September 20, 2006,
an interlock system shall be provided to terminate
irradiation if movement:

a. Occurs during stationary beam radiation therapy; or

b. Does not start or stops during moving beam radiation
therapy unless such stoppage is a pre-planned function.

Q. Facility design requirements for therapeutic radiation

5. Room entrances. Treatment room entrances shall be
provided with warning lights in a readily observable
position near the outside of all access doors, which will
indicate when the useful beam is "ON" and when it is
"OFF";

6. Entrance interlocks. Interlocks shall be provided such
that all access controls are activated before treatment can
be initiated or continued. If the radiation beam is
interrupted by any access control, it shall not be possible to
restore the machine to operation without resetting the
access control and reinitiating irradiation by manual action
at the control panel;

7. Beam interceptor interlocks. If the shielding material in
any protective barrier requires the presence of a beam
interceptor to ensure compliance with 12VAC5-481-720,
interlocks shall be provided to prevent the production of
radiation, unless the beam interceptor is in place, whenever
the useful beam is directed at the designated barrier(s)
barrier;

8. Emergency cutoff switches. At least one emergency
power cutoff switch shall be located in the radiation

machines operating above 500 kV. In addition to shielding
adequate to meet requirements of 12VAC5-481-3450, the
following design requirements are made:

therapy room and shall terminate all equipment electrical
power including radiation and mechanical motion. This

1. Protective barriers. All protective barriers shall be fixed,
except for access doors to the treatment room or movable
beam interceptors;

2. Control panel. In addition to other requirements
specified in Part XV (12VAC5-481-3380 et seq.) of this
chapter, the control panel shall also:

a. Be located outside the treatment room;

b. Provide an indication of whether electrical power is
available at the control panel and if activation of the
radiation is possible;

c. Provide an indication of whether radiation is being
produced; and

d. Include an access control (locking) device that will
prevent unauthorized use of the therapeutic radiation
machine;

3. Viewing systems. Windows, mirrors, closed-circuit
television or an equivalent viewing system shall be
provided to permit continuous observation of the patient
following positioning and during irradiation and shall be so
located that the operator may observe the patient from the
treatment control panel. The therapeutic radiation machine
shall not be used for patient irradiation unless at least one
viewing system is operational,

4. Aural communications. Provision shall be made for
continuous two-way aural communication between the
patient and the operator at the control panel. The
therapeutic radiation machine shall not be used for
irradiation of patients unless continuous two-way aural
communication is possible;

switch is in addition to the termination switch required by
subsection K of this section. All emergency power cutoff
switches shall include a manual reset so that the
therapeutic radiation machine cannot be restarted from the
unit's control console without resetting the emergency
cutoff switch;

9. Safety interlocks. All safety interlocks shall be designed
so that any defect or component failure in the safety
interlock system prevents or terminates operation of the
therapeutic radiation machine; and

10. Surveys for residual radiation. Surveys for residual
activity shall be conducted on all therapeutic radiation
machines capable of generating photon and electron
energies above 10 MV prior to machining, removing from
treatment—room, or working on therapeutic radiation
machine components which may have become activated
due to photo-neutron production.

R. Radiation-therapy Qualified medical physicist support.

1. The services of a radiation—therapy qualified medical
physicist shall be required in facilities having therapeutic

radiation machines with energies of 500 kV and above.

The radiation-therapy gualified medical physicist shall be
responsible for:

a. Full ealibratien(s) calibrations required by subsection
T of this section and protection surveys required by
12VAC5-481-3400 A,

b. Supervision and review of dosimetry;

c. Beam data acquisition and transfer for computerized
dosimetry, and supervision of its use;

Volume 32, Issue 17

Virginia Register of Regulations

April 18, 2016

2379



Regulations

d. Quality assurance, including quality assurance check
review required by subdivision U 5 of this section:;

e. Consultation with the authorized user in treatment
planning, as needed; and

f. Performance of calculations or assessments regarding
misadministrations.

2. If the radiation-therapy qualified medical physicist is not
a full-time employee of the registrant, the operating

procedures required by subsection S of this section shall
also specifically address how the radiation—therapy
qualified medical physicist is to be contacted for problems
or emergencies, as well as the specific actions, if any, to be

taken until the radiation-therapy qualified medical physicist
can be contacted.

S. Operating procedures.

1. No individual, other than the patient, shall be in the
treatment room during treatment or during any irradiation
for testing or calibration purposes;

2. Therapeutic radiation machines shall not be made
available for medical use unless the requirements of
12VAC5-481-3400 A, and subsections T and U of this
section have been met;

3. Therapeutic radiation machines, when not in operation,
shall be secured to prevent unauthorized use;

4. When adjustable beam limiting devices are used, the
position and shape of the radiation field shall be indicated
by a light field.

5. If a patient must be held in position during treatment,
mechanical supporting or restraining devices shall be used,;
and

6. A copy of the current operating and emergency
procedures shall be maintained at the therapeutic radiation
machine control console.

T. Acceptance testing, commissioning, and full calibration
measurements.

1. Acceptance testing, commissioning and full calibration
of a therapeutic radiation machine subject to this section
shall be performed by, or under the direct supervision of, a
radiation-therapy gualified medical physicist.

2. Acceptance testing and commissioning shall be
performed in accordance with the American Association of
Physicists in Medicine (AAPM) AAPM Code of Practice
for Radiotherapy Accelerators: Reportof AAPM Report
Number 47" prepared by Radiation Therapy Task Group
45" and the manufacturer's contractual specifications.
Acceptance testing and commissioning shall be conducted
before the first medical use following installation or
reinstallation of the therapeutic radiation machine.

3. Full calibration shall include measurement of all
parameters required by Table 11 of "Comprehensive QA for
Radiation Oncology: Report of AAPM Radiation Therapy:
AAPM Report No. 46," prepared by Committee Task

Group 40“ and shall be performed in accordance with
"AAPM Code of Practice for Radiotherapy Accelerators:
Reportof - AAPM AAPM Report No. 47" prepared by
Radiation Therapy Task Group 45“. Although it shall not
be necessary to complete all elements of a full calibration
at the same time, all parameters (for all energies) shall be
completed at intervals not exceeding 12 calendar months,
unless a more frequent interval is required in Table II.

4. The radiation-therapy qualified medical physicist shall
perform all elements of a full calibration necessary to

determine that all parameters are within acceptable limits:

a. Whenever quality assurance check measurements
indicate that the radiation output differs by more than
5.0% from the value obtained at the last full calibration
and the difference cannot be reconciled. Therapeutic
radiation machines with multienergy andier or
multimode capabilities shall only require measurements
for those modes andier or energies that are not within
their acceptable range; and

b. Following any component replacement, major repair,
or modification of components that could significantly
affect the characteristics of the radiation beam. If the
repair, replacement or modification does not affect all
modes andlor or energies, measurements shall be
performed on the effected mode or energy that is in most
frequent clinical use at the facility. The remaining
energies or modes may be validated with quality
assurance check procedures against the criteria in
subdivision 4 a of this subsection.

5. The registrant shall maintain a record of each calibration
in an auditable form for the duration of the registration.
The record shall include: the date of the calibration; the
manufacturer's name, model number, and serial number for
the therapeutic radiation machine; the model numbers and
serial numbers of the instruments used to calibrate the
therapeutic radiation machine; and the signature of the

radiation—therapy qualified medical physicist responsible
for performing the calibration.

U. Periodic quality assurance checks.

1. Periodic quality assurance checks shall be performed on
all therapeutic radiation machines subject to this section at
intervals not to exceed those specified in "Comprehensive
QA for Radiation Oncology: Repert-of AAPM Report No.
46," prepared by AAPM Radiation Therapy Committee
Task Group 40~;

2. To satisfy the requirement of subdivision 1 of this
subsection, quality assurance checks shall include
determination of central axis radiation output and a
representative sampling of periodic quality assurance
checks contained in "Comprehensive QA for Radiation
Oncology: Repert-of AAPM Report No. 46" prepared by
AAPM Radiation Therapy Committee Task Group 40-.
Representative sampling shall include all referenced
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periodic quality assurance checks in an interval not to
exceed 12 consecutive calendar months;

3. The registrant shall use a dosimetry system that has been
inter-compared within the previous 12 months with the
dosimetry system described in 12VVAC5-481-3400 C 1 to
make the periodic quality assurance checks required in
subdivision 2 of this subsection;

4. The registrant shall perform periodic quality assurance
checks required by subdivision 1 of this subsection in
accordance with procedures established by the radiation
therapy gualified medical physicist;

5. The registrant shall review the results of each periodic
radiation output check according to the following
procedures:

a. The authorized user and radiation—therapy qualified
medical physicist shall be immediately notified if any

parameter is not within its acceptable tolerance. The
therapeutic radiation machine shall not be made available
for subsequent medical use until the radiation—therapy
qualified medical physicist has determined that all
parameters are within their acceptable tolerances;

b. If all quality assurance check parameters appear to be
within their acceptable ranges, the quality assurance
check shall be reviewed and signed by either the

authorized user or radiation—therapy qualified medical

physicist within three treatment days; and

c. The radiation-therapy qualified medical physicist shall
review and sign the results of each radiation output

quality assurance check at intervals not to exceed ene
month 30 days.

6. Therapeutic radiation machines subject to this section
shall have applicable safety quality assurance checks listed
in "Comprehensive QA for Radiation Oncology: Repert-of
AAPM Report No. 46," prepared by AAPM Radiation
Therapy Committee Task Group 40~ performed at intervals
not to exceed one week;

7. To satisfy the requirement of subdivision 6 of this
subsection, safety quality assurance checks shall ensure
proper operation of:

a. Electrical interlocks at each external beam radiation
therapy room entrance;

b. Proper operation of the "BEAM-ON," interrupt, and
termination switches;

c. Beam condition indicator lights on the access doors,
control console, and in the radiation therapy room;

d. Viewing systems;

e. Electrically operated treatment room deer{s)} doors
from inside and outside the treatment room;

f. At least one emergency power cutoff switch. If more
than one emergency power cutoff switch is installed and
not all switches are tested at once, each switch shall be
tested on a rotating basis. Safety quality assurance checks

of the emergency power cutoff switches may be
conducted at the end of the treatment day in order to
minimize possible stability problems with the therapeutic
radiation machine.

8. The registrant shall promptly repair any system
identified in subdivision 7 of this subsection that is not
operating properly; and

9. The registrant shall maintain a record of each quality
assurance check required by subdivisions 1 and 7 of this
subsection for three years. The record shall include: the
date of the quality assurance check; the manufacturer's
name, model number, and serial number of the therapeutic
radiation machine; the manufacturer's name, model number
and serial number for the iastrument{s} instruments used to
measure the radiation output of the therapeutic radiation
machine; and the signature of the individual who
performed the periodic quality assurance check.

V. Quality assurance checks for intensity modulated
radiation therapy (IMRT) shall:

1. Include commissioning and testing of the treatment
planning and delivery systems, routine guality assurance of
the delivery system, and patient-specific validation of
treatment plans;

2. Be performed in accordance with "Guidance document
on  delivery, treatment planning, and clinical
implementation of IMRT: Report of the IMRT
subcommittee of the AAPM radiation therapy committee:
AAPM Report No. 82"; and

3. Be performed in accordance with the manufacturer's
contractual specifications.

12VAC5-481-3450.  Shielding
requirements.

A. Each therapeutic radiation machine subject to 12VAC5-
481-3420 or 12VAC5-481-3430 shall be provided with such
primary andfor or secondary barriers as are necessary to
ensure compliance with 12VAC5-481-640 and 12VAC5-481-
720.

B. Facility design information for all new installations of a
therapeutic radiation machine or installations of a therapeutic
radiation machine of higher energy into a room not previously
approved for that energy shall be submitted for agency
approval prior to actual installation of the therapeutic
radiation machine. At a minimum, facility design information
shall include:

1. All therapeutic radiation machines.

a. Basic facility information including name, telephone
number, and agency registration number of the individual
responsible for preparation of the shielding plan; name
and telephone number of the facility supervisor; and the
street address, including room number, of the therapeutic
radiation machine facility. The plan shall also indicate
whether this is a new structure or a modification to an

existing structure.

and safety design

Volume 32, Issue 17

Virginia Register of Regulations

April 18, 2016

2381



Regulations

b. The primary areas where all wall, floor, and ceiling

3. Therapeutic radiation machines over 150 kV. In addition

areas are struck by the useful beam.

c. The secondary barriers where all wall, floor, and
ceiling areas do not have primary barriers.

2. Therapeutic radiation machines less than or equal to 150
KV (photons only). In addition to the requirements listed in
subdivision 1 of this subsection, therapeutic radiation
machine facilities that produce only photons with a
maximum energy less than or equal to 150 kV shall submit
shielding plans that contain, at a minimum, the following
additional information:

a. Equipment specifications, including the manufacturer
and model number of the therapeutic radiation machine,
as well as the maximum technique factors;

b. Maximum design workload for the facility including
total weekly radiation output, expressed in gray (rad) or
air kerma at one meter; total beam-on time per day or per
week; average treatment time per patient; and the
anticipated number of patients to be treated per day or
per week;

c. A facility blueprint or drawing indicating scale (0.25
inch equals 1 foot is typical); direction of north; normal
location of the therapeutic radiation machine's radiation
port; the port's travel and traverse limits; general
direction of the useful beam; locations of any windows
and doors; and location of the therapeutic radiation
machine control panel. If the control panel is located
inside the therapeutic radiation machine treatment room,
the location of the operator's booth shall be noted on the
plan and the operator's station at the control panel shall
be behind a protective barrier sufficient to ensure
compliance with 12VAC5-481-640;

d. The structural composition and thickness or lead or
concrete equivalent of all walls, doors, partitions, floor,
and ceiling of the room concerned;

e. The type of occupancy of all adjacent areas inclusive
of space above and below the room concerned. If there is
an exterior wall, the distance to the closest areas where it
is_likely that individuals may be present shall be
included; and

f. At least one example calculation that shows the
methodology used to determine the amount of shielding
required for each physical condition (e.g., primary,
secondary, and leakage barriers; restricted and
unrestricted areas; and entry doors) and shielding
material in the facility:

(1) If commercial software is used to generate shielding
requirements, the software used and the version and
revision date shall be identified.

(2) If the software used to generate shielding
requirements is not in the open literature, quality control
sample calculations to verify the result obtained with the
software shall be submitted.

to the requirements listed in subdivision 1 of this
subsection, therapeutic radiation machine facilities that
produce photons with a maximum energy in excess of 150
KV or electrons, or both, shall submit shielding plans that
contain, at a minimum, the following additional
information:

a. Equipment specifications including the manufacturer
and model number of the therapeutic radiation machine,
gray (rad) at the isocenter, and the energy and type of
radiation produced (e.g., photon, electron). The target to
isocenter distance shall be specified;

b. Maximum design workload for the facility including
total weekly radiation output, expressed in gray (rad) at
one meter; total beam-on time per day or per week; the
average treatment time per patient; and the anticipated
number of patients to be treated per day or per week;

c. Facility blueprint or drawing, including both floor plan
and elevation views, indicating relative orientation of the
therapeutic radiation machine; scale (0.25 inch equals 1
foot is typical); type, thickness, and minimum density of
shielding material; direction of north, locations and size
of all penetrations through each shielding barrier (ceiling,
walls, and floor); and details of the door and maze;

d. The structural composition and thickness or concrete
equivalent of walls, doors, partitions, floor, and ceiling of
the room concerned;

e. The type of occupancy of all adjacent areas inclusive
of space above and below the room concerned. If there is
an exterior wall, the distance to the closest areas where it
is likely that individuals may be present shall be
included;

f. Description of all assumptions that were used in
shielding calculations including, but not limited to,
design energy (e.g., room may be designed for 6 MV unit
although only a 4 MV unit is currently proposed),
workload, presence of integral beam-stop in unit,
occupancy and use of adjacent areas, fraction of time that
useful beam will intercept each permanent barrier (walls,
floor, and ceiling), and "allowed" radiation exposure in
both restricted and unrestricted areas; and

g. At least one example calculation that shows the
methodology used to determine the amount of shielding
required for each physical condition (e.g., primary,
secondary, and leakage barriers; restricted and
unrestricted areas; small angle scatter; entry doors; and
maze), and shielding material in the facility.

(1) If commercial software is used to generate shielding
requirements, the software used and the version and
revision date shall be identified; and

(2) If the software used to generate shielding
requirements is not in the open literature, guality control
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sample calculations to verify the result obtained with the
software shall be submitted.

4. Neutron shielding. In addition to the requirements listed

participating in _a research study approved by the
registrant's institutional review board (IRB).

B. Possession of survey instruments. Each facility location

in_subdivision 3 of this subsection, therapeutic radiation

authorized to use an electronic brachytherapy device in

machine facilities that are capable of operating above 10

accordance with this section shall have access to

MV _shall submit shielding plans that contain, at a

appropriately calibrated portable monitoring equipment. At a

minimum, the following additional information:

a. The structural composition, thickness, minimum
density, and location of all neutron shielding material;

b. Description of all assumptions that were used in
neutron shielding calculations including, but not limited
to, neutron spectra as a function of energy, neutron
fluence rate, absorbed dose and dose equivalent (due to
neutrons) in both restricted and unrestricted areas;

c. At least one example calculation that shows the
methodology used to determine the amount of neutron
shielding required for each physical condition (e.qg.,
restricted and unrestricted areas, entry doors, and maze),
and neutron shielding material utilized in the facility.

(1) If commercial software is used to generate shielding
requirements, the software used and the version and
revision date shall be identified; and

(2) If the software used to generate shielding
requirements is not in the open literature, control sample
calculations to verify the result obtained with the
software shall be submitted.

d. The methods and instrumentation that will be used to
verify the adequacy of all neutron shielding installed in
the facility.
12VAC5-481-3451. Quality assurance for
therapy simulation systems.

Quality assurance for a conventional or virtual simulator
shall include acceptance testing and periodic verification of
system performance and shall be performed in accordance
with (i) "Comprehensive QA for Radiation Oncology: AAPM
Report No. 46, Report of AAPM Radiation Therapy
Committee Task Group No0.40" for a conventional simulator
or (ii) "Quality assurance for computed tomography
simulators and the computed tomography-simulation process:
AAPM Report No. 83, Report of the AAPM Radiation
Therapy Committee Task Group No. 66" for a virtual
simulator.

12VAC5-481-3452. Electronic brachytherapy.

A. Applicability. Electronic brachytherapy devices shall be
subject to the requirements of this section and shall be exempt
for the requirements of 12VAC5-481-3420.

1. An electronic brachytherapy device that does not meet
the requirements of this section shall not be used for
irradiation of patients; and

2. An electronic brachytherapy device shall only be
utilized for human use applications specifically approved
by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) unless

radiation

minimum, such equipment shall include a portable radiation
measurement survey instrument capable of measuring dose
rates over the range 10 pSv (1 mrem) per hour to 10 mSv
(1000 mrem) per hour. The survey instruments shall be
operable and calibrated in accordance with 12VAC5-481-
3440 for the applicable electronic brachytherapy source
energy.

C. Facility design requirements for electronic brachytherapy
devices. In addition to shielding adequate to meet
requirements of 12VAC5-481-3450, the treatment room shall
meet the following design requirements:

1. If applicable, provision shall be made to prevent
simultaneous operation of more than one therapeutic
radiation machine in a treatment room.

2. Access to the treatment room shall be controlled by a
door at each entrance.

3. Each treatment room shall have provisions to permit
continuous aural communication and visual observation of
the patient from the treatment control panel during
irradiation. The electronic brachytherapy device shall not
be used for patient irradiation unless the patient can be
observed.

4. For electronic brachytherapy devices capable of
operating below 50 kV, radiation shielding for the staff in
the treatment room shall be available, either as a portable

shield or as localized shielded material around the
treatment site.
5. For electronic brachytherapy devices capable of

operating at greater than 150 KV:

a. The control panel shall be located outside the treatment
room; and

b. Electrical interlocks shall be provided for all doors to
the treatment room that will:

(a) Prevent the operator from initiating the treatment
cycle unless each treatment room entrance door is closed;

(b) Cause the source to be shielded when an entrance
door is opened; and

(c) Prevent the source from being exposed following an
interlock interruption until all treatment room entrance
doors are closed and the source on-off control is reset at
the console.

D. Electrical safety for electronic brachytherapy devices.

1. The high voltage transformer shall be electrically
isolated to prevent electrical and magnetic interference
with the surrounding environment and ancillary equipment.
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2. The high voltage transformer shall be isolated from

G. Qualified medical physicist support.

personnel (e.q., an operator) and the environment by a
protective housing that can only be accessed through a
cover requiring a tool for access or with electrical
interlocks to prevent operation while open.

3. The high voltage transformer shall have appropriate
safety labels warning personnel of potential electrical
shock or heat related injuries.

4. Equipment manufactured after March 2009 shall be in
compliance with the most current revision of the following
International  Electrotechnical — Commission  (IEC)
Documents:

a. IEC 60601-1:1998+A1+A2:1995;
b. IEC 60601-1-2:2001;

c. IEC 60601-2-8:1999; and

d. IEC 60601-2-17:2004.

E. Control panel functions. The control panel, in addition to
the displays required by other provisions in this section, shall:

1. Provide an indication of whether electrical power is

1. The services of a gualified medical physicist shall be
required in facilities having electronic brachytherapy
devices. The qualified medical physicist shall be
a. Evaluation of the output from the electronic
brachytherapy source;

b. Generation of the necessary dosimetric information;

c. Supervision and review of treatment calculations prior
to initial treatment of any treatment site;

d. Establishing the periodic and day-of-use quality
assurance checks and reviewing the data from those
checks as required in subsection K of this section;

e. Consultation with the authorized user in treatment
planning, as needed; and

f. Performing calculations or assessments regarding
patient treatments that may constitute a
misadministration.

2. If the qualified medical physicist is not a full-time

available at the control panel and if activation of the

employee of the registrant, the operating procedures

electronic brachytherapy source is possible;

2. Provide an indication of whether x-rays are being
produced:;

3. Provide a means for indicating electronic brachytherapy
source potential and current;

4. Provide the means for terminating an exposure at any
time; and

5. Include an access control (locking) device that will

prevent unauthorized use of the electronic brachytherapy
device.

F. Timer. A suitable irradiation control device (timer) shall
be provided to terminate the irradiation after a pre-set time

interval or integrated charge on a dosimeter-based monitor.

1. A timer shall be provided at the treatment control panel.
The timer shall indicate planned setting and the time
elapsed or remaining;

2. The timer shall not permit an exposure if set at zero;

3. The timer shall be a cumulative device that activates
with an indication of "BEAM-ON" and retains its reading
after _irradiation is _interrupted or terminated. After
irradiation is terminated and before irradiation can be
reinitiated, it shall be necessary to reset the elapsed time
indicator;

4. The timer shall terminate irradiation when a preselected
time _has elapsed if any dose monitoring system has not
previously terminated irradiation.

5. The timer shall permit setting of exposure times as short
as 0.1 second; and

6. The timer shall be accurate to within 1.0% of the
selected value or 0.1 second, whichever is greater.

required by subsection H of this section shall also
specifically address how the qualified medical physicist is
to be contacted for problems or emergencies, as well as the
specific_actions, if any, to be taken until the qualified
medical physicist can be contacted.

H. Operating procedures.

1. Only individuals approved by the authorized user,
radiation safety officer, or qualified medical physicist shall
be present in the treatment room during treatment;

2. Electronic brachytherapy devices shall not be made
available for medical use unless the requirements of
12VAC5-481-3400 A and subsections | and J of this
section have been met;

3. The electronic brachytherapy device shall be inoperable,
either by hardware or password, when unattended by
gualified staff or service personnel;

4. During operation, the electronic brachytherapy device
operator shall monitor the position of all persons in the
treatment room and all persons entering the treatment room
to prevent entering persons from unshielded exposure from
the treatment beam;

5. If a patient must be held in position during treatment,
mechanical supporting or restraining devices shall be used;

6. Written procedures shall be developed, implemented,
and maintained for responding to an abnormal situation.
These procedures shall include:

a. Instructions for responding to equipment failures and
the  _names of the individuals responsible for
implementing corrective actions; and

b. The names and telephone numbers of the authorized
users, the qualified medical physicist, and the radiation
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safety officer to be contacted if the device or console
operates abnormally;

7. A copy of the current operating and emergency
procedures shall be physically located at the electronic
brachytherapy device control console. If the control
console is integral to the electronic brachytherapy device,
the required procedures shall be kept where the operator is
located during electronic brachytherapy device operation;

8. Instructions shall be posted at the electronic
brachytherapy device control console to inform the
operator _of the names and telephone numbers of the
authorized users, the qualified medical physicist, and the
radiation safety officer to be contacted if the device or
console operates abnormally; and

9. The radiation safety officer, or his designee, and an
authorized user shall be notified as soon as possible if the
patient has a medical emergency, suffers injury, or dies.
The radiation safety officer or the qualified medical
physicist shall inform the manufacturer of the event.

|. Safety precautions for electronic brachytherapy devices.

1. A qualified medical physicist shall determine which
persons in the treatment room require monitoring when the
beam is energized;

2. An authorized user and a qualified medical physicist
shall be physically present during the initiation of all
patient treatments involving the electronic brachytherapy
device;

3. A qualified medical physicist and either an authorized
user _or _a nonauthorized user (physician or electronic
brachytherapy device operator) under the supervision of an
authorized user, who has been trained in the operation and
emergency response for the electronic brachytherapy
device, shall be physically present during continuation of
all  patient  treatments _involving the electronic
brachytherapy device;

4. When shielding is required by subdivision C 4 of this
section, the electronic brachytherapy device operator shall
use a survey meter to verify proper placement of the
shielding immediately upon initiation of treatment.
Alternatively, a qualified medical physicist shall designate
shield locations sufficient to meet the requirements of
12VAC5-481-640 for any individual, other than the
patient, in the treatment room; and

5. All personnel in the treatment room shall remain behind
shielding during treatment. A qualified medical physicist
shall approve any deviation from this requirement and shall
designate alternative radiation safety protocols, compatible
with patient safety, to provide an equivalent degree of

protection.
J. Electronic

brachytherapy source calibration

this section shall be performed by or under the direct
supervision of a qualified medical physicist;

2. Calibration of the electronic brachytherapy source
output shall be made for each electronic brachytherapy
source after any repair affecting the x-ray beam generation,
or when indicated by the electronic brachytherapy source
guality assurance checks;

3. Calibration of the electronic brachytherapy source
output shall utilize a dosimetry system described in
12VAC5-481-3400 C;

4. Calibration of the electronic brachytherapy source
output shall include, as applicable, determination of:

a. The output within 2.0% of the expected value, if
applicable, or determination of the output if there is no

expected value;
b. Timer accuracy and linearity over the typical range of
use;

c. Proper operation of back-up exposure control devices;

d. Evaluation that the relative dose distribution about the
source is within 5.0% of that expected; and

e. Source positioning accuracy to within one millimeter
within the applicator;

5. Calibration of the x-ray source output required by
subdivisions 1 through 4 of this subsection shall be in
accordance with current published recommendations from
a_recognized national professional association with
expertise in electronic_brachytherapy, when available. In
the absence of a calibration protocol published by a
national professional association, the manufacturer's
calibration protocol shall be followed; and

6. The registrant shall maintain a record of each calibration
in an auditable form for the duration of the registration.
The record shall include the date of the calibration; the
manufacturer's name, model number, and serial number for
the electronic brachytherapy device and a unique identifier
for its electronic brachytherapy source; the model numbers
and serial numbers of the instrument used to calibrate the
electronic__brachytherapy device; and the name and
signature of the qualified medical physicist responsible for
performing the calibration.

K. Periodic_and day-of-use quality assurance checks for

electronic brachytherapy devices.

measurements.
1. Calibration of the electronic brachytherapy source

output for an electronic brachytherapy device subject to

1. Quality assurance checks shall be performed on each
electronic brachytherapy device:

a. At the beginning of each day of use;

b. Each time the device is moved to a new room or each
day of use at each operating location for a self-contained
electronic brachytherapy unit transported in a van or
trailer; and

c. After each x-ray tube installation.
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2. The registrant shall perform periodic quality assurance
checks required by subdivision 1 of this subsection in
accordance with procedures established by the qualified
medical physicist.

3. To satisfy the requirements of subdivision 1 of this
subsection, radiation output quality assurance checks shall
include at a minimum:

a. Verification that output of the electronic brachytherapy

d. The integrity of all cables, catheters, or parts of the
device that carry high voltages; and

e. Connecting guide tubes, transfer tubes, transfer-tube-
applicator interfaces, and treatment spacers are free from
any defects that interfere with proper operation.

7. If the results of the safety device quality assurance
checks required in subdivision 6 of this subsection indicate
the malfunction of any system, a registrant shall secure the

source falls within 3.0% of expected values, as

control console in the "OFF" position and not use the

appropriate for the device, as determined by:
(1) Output as a function of time, or
(2) Output as a function of setting on a monitor chamber.

b. Verification of the consistency of the dose distribution
to within 3.0% of that found during calibration required
by subsection J of this section; and

c. Validation of the operation of positioning methods to
ensure that the treatment dose exposes the intended
location within one millimeter.

4, The registrant shall use a dosimetry system that has been
intercompared within the previous 12 months with the
dosimetry system described in 12VAC5-481-3400 C 1 to
make the quality assurance checks required in subdivision
3 of this subsection.

5. The registrant shall review the results of each radiation
output quality assurance check according to the following
procedures:
a. An authorized user and gualified medical physicist
shall be immediately notified if any parameter is not
within _its acceptable tolerance. The electronic

electronic _brachytherapy device except as may be
necessary to repair, replace, or check the malfunctioning
system.

8. The registrant shall maintain a record of each quality
assurance check required by subdivisions 3 and 7 of this
subsection in an auditable form for three years.

a. The record shall include the date of the quality
assurance check; the manufacturer's name, model
number, and serial number for the electronic
brachytherapy device; the name and signature of the
individual who performed the periodic quality assurance
check; and the name and signature of the qualified
medical physicist who reviewed the quality assurance
check; and

b. For radiation output guality assurance checks required
by subdivision 3 of this subsection, the record shall also
include the unigue identifier for the electronic
brachytherapy source and the manufacturer's name,
model number, and serial number for the instrument used
to measure the radiation output of the electronic
brachytherapy device.

brachytherapy device shall not be made available for
subsequent medical use until the qualified medical
physicist has determined that all parameters are within
the acceptable tolerances;

b. If all radiation output quality assurance check
parameters appear to be within the acceptable range, the
guality assurance check shall be reviewed and signed by
either the authorized user or qualified medical physicist
within two days; and

c. The qualified medical physicist shall review and sign
the results of each radiation output quality assurance
check at intervals not to exceed 30 days.

6. To satisfy the requirements of subdivision 1 of this

L. Therapy-related computer systems. The registrant shall
perform acceptance testing on the treatment planning system
of electronic brachytherapy-related computer systems in
accordance with current published recommendations from a
recognized national professional association with expertise in
electronic_brachytherapy, when available. In the absence of
an_acceptance testing protocol published by a national
professional association, the manufacturer's acceptance
testing protocol shall be followed.

1. Acceptance testing shall be performed by or under the
direct supervision of a qualified medical physicist. At a
minimum, the acceptance testing shall include, as
applicable, verification of:

subsection, safety device guality assurance checks shall, at
a minimum, assure:

a. Proper operation of radiation exposure indicator lights
on the electronic brachytherapy device and on the control
console;

b. Proper operation of viewing and intercom systems in
each electronic brachytherapy facility, if applicable;

c. Proper operation of radiation monitors, if applicable;

a. The source-specific_input parameters required by the
dose calculation algorithm;

b. The accuracy of dose, dwell time, and treatment time
calculations at representative points;

c. The accuracy of isodose plots and graphic displays;

d. The accuracy of the software used to determine
radiation source positions from radiographic images; and

e. If the treatment-planning system is different from the
treatment-delivery system, the accuracy of electronic
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transfer of the treatment delivery parameters to the
treatment delivery unit from the treatment planning
system.
2. The position indicators in the applicator shall be
compared to the actual position of the source or planned
dwell positions, as appropriate, at the time of
commissioning.
3. Prior to each patient treatment regimen, the parameters
for the treatment shall be evaluated and approved by the
authorized user and the qualified medical physicist for
correctness through means independent of that used for the
determination of the parameters.

M. Training.
1. A registrant shall provide instruction, initially and at

1. Check all survey instruments before medical use at each
address of use or on each day of use, whichever is more
restrictive.

2. Account for the electronic_brachytherapy source in the
electronic brachytherapy device before departure from the
client's address.

3. Perform at each location on each day of use all of the
required quality assurance checks specified in subsection K
of this section to assure proper operation of the device.

12VAC5-481-3453. Other use of electronically produced
radiation to deliver therapeutic radiation dosage.

A person shall not utilize any device that is designed to
electronically generate a source of ionizing radiation to
deliver therapeutic radiation dosage and that is not

least annually, to all individuals who operate the electronic

appropriately regulated under any existing category of

brachytherapy device, as appropriate to the individual's

therapeutic radiation machine until:

assigned duties, in the operating procedures identified in
subsection H of this section. If the interval between
patients exceeds one vear, retraining of the individuals
shall be provided.

2. In addition to the requirements of 12VAC5-481-3390 C
for therapeutic radiation _machine authorized users and
12VAC5-481-3390 D for qualified medical physicists, the
therapeutic _radiation machine authorized users and
gualified medical physicists shall also receive device-
specific instruction initially from the manufacturer and
annually from either the manufacturer or other qualified
trainer. The training shall be of a duration recommended
by a recognized national professional association with
expertise in electronic brachytherapy, when available. In
the absence of any training protocol recommended by a
national professional association, the manufacturer's
training protocol shall be followed. The training shall
include, but not be limited to:

a. Device-specific radiation safety requirements;
b. Device operation;

c. Clinical use for the types of use approved by the U.S.
Food and Drug Administration;

d. Emergency procedures, including an emergency drill;
and

e. The reqistrant's quality assurance program.
3. A registrant shall retain a record of individuals receiving

1. The applicant or registrant has, at a minimum, provided
the agency with:
a. A detailed description of the device and its intended
b. Facility design requirements, including shielding and
access control;

c. Documentation of appropriate training for authorized
user physicians and qualified medical physicists;

d. Methodology for measurement of dosages to be
administered to patients or human research subjects;

e. Documentation regarding calibration, maintenance,
and repair of the device, as well as instruments and
eguipment necessary for radiation safety;

f. Radiation safety precautions and instructions; and

g. Other information requested by the agency in its
review of the application; and

2. The applicant or registrant has received written approval
from the agency to utilize the device in accordance with
the requlations and specific conditions the agency
considers necessary for the medical use of the device.

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE
(12VAC5-481)

Dosimetry of X-ray and Gamma-Ray Beams for Radiation
Therapy in the Energy Range 10 keV to 50 MeV: NCRP
Report 69, 1981, National Council on Radiation Protection

instruction required by subdivisions 1 and 2 of this

and Measurements, 7910 Woodmont Avenue, Washington,

subsection for three years. The record shall include a list of

DC 20014

the topics covered, the date of the instruction, the names of
the attendees, and the names of the individuals who
provided the instruction.

N. Mobile electronic brachytherapy service. A registrant

Comprehensive QA for Radiation Oncology: AAPM Report
No. 46, 1994, American Association of Physicists in
Medicine, Committee Task Group 40, Radiation Therapy
Committee, published by the American Institute of Physics,

providing mobile electronic brachytherapy service shall, at a

One Physics Ellipse, College Park, MD 20740-3846

minimum:

AAPM Code of Practice for Radiotherapy Accelerators:
AAPM Report Number 47, 1994, American Association of
Physicists in Medicine Radiation Therapy Task Group 45,
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published by the American Institute of Physics, One Physics

Title of Regulation: 15VAC5-40. Bylaws of the Virginia

Ellipse, College Park, MD 20740-3846

Guidance document on delivery, treatment planning, and
clinical implementation of IMRT: Report of the IMRT

State Bar and Council (repealing 15VAC5-40-10 through
15VACS5-40-430).

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-3910 of the Code of Virginia.

subcommittee of the AAPM radiation therapy committee:
AAPM Report No. 82, Medical Physics, Vol. 30, No. 8,
August 2003, American Association of Physicists in
Medicine

Quality assurance for computed tomography simulators and
the computed tomography-simulation process: Report of the
AAPM Radiation Therapy Committee Task Group No. 66:
AAPM Report No. 83, Medical Physics, Vol. 30, No. 10,
October 2003, American Association of Physicists in
Medicine

VAR. Doc. No. R16-4305; Filed March 25, 2016, 1:12 p.m.

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
SERVICES

Withdrawal of Proposed Regulation

Titles of Regulations: 12VAC30-50. Amount, Duration,
and Scope of Medical and Remedial Care Services
(amending 12VAC30-50-160, 12VAC30-50-210).

12VAC30-80. Methods and Standards for Establishing
Payment Rates; Other Types of Care (amending
12VAC30-80-40).

The Department of Medical Assistance Services has
WITHDRAWN the proposed regulatory action for 12VAC30-50,
Amount, Duration, and Scope of Medical and Remedial Care
Services; and 12VAC30-80, Methods and Standards for
Establishing Payment Rates; Other Types of Care, which was
published in 16:26 VA.R. 3459-3465 September 11, 2000. The
agency has determined that this action is no longer relevant or
necessary.

Agency Contact: William Lessard, Director, Division of Program
Reimbursement, Department of Medical Assistance Services,
600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219,

telephone (804) 225-4593, or email
william.lessard@dmas.virginia.gov.
VAR. Doc. No. R00-1; Filed March 18, 2016, 11:41 a.m.
2 L 2

TITLE 15. JUDICIAL

VIRGINIA STATE BAR

Final Regulation

Effective Date: March 25, 2016.

Agency Contact: Stephanie Blanton, Executive Assistant,
Virginia State Bar, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 700,
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 775-0576, or email
blanton@vsb.org.

Summary:
Due to a determination that the Bylaws of the Virginia
State Bar and Council are not regulations as defined by
§2.2-4101 of the Code of Virginia, 15VAC5-40 is
repealed.
VAR. Doc. No. R16-4610; Filed March 18, 2016, 3:05 p.m.

Final Regulation

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia State Bar is claiming
an exemption from the Administrative Process Act in
accordance with §2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia,
which exempts agencies of the Supreme Court.

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia State Bar is claiming
an exemption from the Administrative Process Act in
accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia,
which exempts agencies of the Supreme Court.

Title of Regulation: 15VAC5-80. Regulations under the
Virginia Consumer Real Estate Settlement Protection Act
(amending 15VAC5-80-10 through 15VAC5-80-50).

Statutory Authority: § 55-525.30 of the Code of Virginia.
Effective Date: March 25, 2016.

Agency Contact: Stephanie Blanton, Executive Assistant,
Virginia State Bar, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 700,
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 775-0576, or email
blanton@vsb.org.

Summary:

The amendments conform the regulation to changes
enacted by Chapter 794 of the 2010 Acts of Assembly,
which repealed Title 6.1 of the Code of Virginia and
transferred the provisions regarding real estate settlements
and settlement agents to new Chapters 27.2 (8 55-525.8 et
seq.) and 27.3 (§ 55-525.16 et seq.) of Title 55 of the Code
of Virginia as part of the recodification of Title 6.1. The
amendments update citations to the Code of Virginia and
terminology.

CHAPTER 80
REGULATIONS UNDBER THE VIRGINIA-CONSUMER
ATTORNEY REAL ESTATE SETTLEMENT
PROFECHON-ACT AGENTS REGULATIONS

15VAC5-80-10. Authority; applicability; scope.
TFhese-regulations-are This chapter is issued by the Virginia
State Bar pursuant to and-under-the-authority-of the \Virginia

Consumer-Real-Estate-Settlement Protection-Act (8§ 6.1-2.19
et-seg- Chapter 27.3 (8 55-525.16 et seq.) of Title 55 of the

Code of Virginia)-as—enacted—by-the1997 session—of-the

General-Assembly-of Virginia. Fhe-Act Chapter 27.3 does not
apply to licensed attorneys who provide escrow, closing, or
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settlement services solely for public bodies as defined in §
11-37 2.2-4301 of the Code of Virginia; thus, such attorneys
are exempt from the registration, certification, and separate
fiduciary trust account requirements set—forth—in—these
regulations of this chapter.

CRESPA Chapter 27.3 (8 55-525.16 et seq.) of Title 55 of
the Code of Virginia), and therefore these—regulations this
chapter, applies to transactions involving the purchase of or
lending on the security of real estate located in Virginia
containing not more than four residential units. In addition, a
lay settlement agent may provide escrow, settlement, and
closing services for transactions involving any real property
located in Virginia, provided the agent is registered under and
in compliance with CRESPA-See-the-Real-Estate-Settlement
Agent-Registration-Act{8-6-1-2.30-et-seq- §§ 55-525.17 and
55-525.18 of the Code of Wirginia) Virginia. Lawyer
settlement agents are not required to register under CRESPA
Chapter 27.3 unless the transaction involves the purchase of
or lending on the security of real estate located in Virginia
containing not more than four residential dwelling units.

15VAC5-80-20. Definitions.

The following words and terms when used in this chapter
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly
indicates otherwise. Unless otherwise defined in this section,
all terms in this chapter shall have the meanings set forth in
Chapter 27.3 (§ 55-525.16 et seq.) of Title 55 of the Code of
Virginia.

"Attorney" means a person licensed as an attorney under
Chapter 39 (8 54.1-3900 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of
Virginia and who is an active member of the Virginia State
Bar in good standing under the Rules of the Virginia Supreme
Court.

"Bar" means the Virginia State Bar.
"Board" means the Virginia Real Estate Board.

i 0 0 v
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"Disciplinary board” means the Virginia State Bar
Disciplinary Board.

"First dollar coverage™ means an insurance policy which that
obligates the company issuing the policy to pay covered
claims in their entirety, up to the policy limits, regardless of
the presence of a deductible amount to which the company
may be entitled as a reimbursement from the insured.

"SCC" means the Virginia State Corporation Commission.

“These—regulations” "This chapter" means 15VAC5-80,

Regulations—under—the Virginia—Consumer Attorney Real
Estate Settlement Protection-Act Agents Regulations.

15VAC5-80-30. Registration; reregistration; required fee.

Every licensed attorney now providing or offering, or
intending to provide or offer, escrow, closing, or settlement

services as a settlement agent with respect to real estate
transactions in Virginia shall register with the Bar using the
registration form available from the Bar for that purpose.
Settlement agents beginning to provide or offer such services
shall register with the Bar prior to doing so. The registration
requirement in this paragraph shall not apply to attorney
settlement agents unless they provide or offer to provide
escrow, settlement, and closing services for real estate subject
to CRESPA Chapter 27.3 (8 55-525.16 et seq.) of Title 55 of
the Code of Virginia, (i.e., real estate containing not more
than four residential dwelling units). Thus, for example,
attorneys who handle only commercial real estate transactions
are not subject to theseregulations this chapter.

Every settlement agent shall thereafter reregister after notice
on a schedule established by the Bar, providing updated
registration information. Every settlement agent shall have a
continuing duty to advise the Bar of any change in name,
address, or other pertinent registration data that occurs
between registrations.

The fee for each registration and reregistration shall be $35
for an attorney settlement agent. The Bar reserves the right to
adjust the fee as necessary within the statutory limit of $100.
The prescribed fee shall accompany each registration or
reregistration in the form of a check made payable to the
Treasurer of Virginia.

Registration is subject to revocation or suspension if the Bar
or other appropriate licensing authority finds the settlement
agent out of compliance with CRESPA Chapter 27.3 (8 55-
525.16 et seq.) of Title 55 of the Code of Virginia or
regulations issued thereunder.

15VAC5-80-40. Unauthorized practice of law guidelines;
investigation of complaints.

The Bar will issue guidelines under—CRESPA—and in
consultation with the SCC and the board to assist settlement
agents in avoiding and preventing the unauthorized practice
of law in connection with the furnishing of escrow, closing,
or settlement services. In conformity with GRESRPA Chapter
27.3 (8 55-525.16 et seq.) of Title 55 of the Code of Virginia,
the rules of the Virginia Supreme Court, and the Bar's YRPL
unauthorized practice of law opinions, these guidelines will
delineate activities which that can and cannot be carried out
by registered nonattorney settlement agents in conducting
settlements. The guidelines will be revised from time to time
as necessary.

The guidelines will be available on the Bar's website and
provided by the appropriate licensing authority to each
registered settlement agent at the time of initial registration
and at each reregistration. The guidelines will also be
furnished to the SCC, the board, and all other state and
federal agencies that regulate financial institutions, as well as

to members of the general public upon request. The
guidelines may be photocopied as necessary.
The Bar will continue to receive and investigate

unauthorized practice of law complaints in the real estate
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settlement area, as well as in other fields, under its
unauthorized practice of law rules and procedures.
If the Bar receives complaints against nonattorney

settlement agents that do not allege the unauthorized practice
of law, it will refer the complaints to the appropriate licensing
authority that has jurisdiction over the subject of the
complaint. If the complaint involves an attorney settlement
agent's noncompliance with 15VAC5-80-30, the Bar will
conduct an informal investigation. If the Bar believes a
violation has occurred, it will notify the attorney settlement
agent in writing. If the apparent violation is not rectified
within 30 days, the Bar will investigate the alleged violations
pursuant to 15VAC5-80-50 D.

15VAC5-80-50. Attorney settlement agent compliance.

A. Attorney settlement agent certification. Each attorney
settlement agent shall, at the time of initial registration and of
each subsequent reregistration, certify on the form available
from the Bar for that purpose, that the attorney settlement
agent has in full force and effect the following insurance and
bond coverages, and that such coverages will be maintained
in full force and effect throughout the time the attorney
settlement agent acts, offers, or intends to act in that capacity:

1. A lawyer's professional liability insurance policy issued
by a company authorized to write such insurance in
Virginia providing first dollar coverage and limits of at
least $250,000 per claim covering the licensed attorney
acting, offering, or intending to act as a settlement agent.
The policy may also cover other attorneys practicing in the
same firm or legal entity.

2. A Dblanket fidelity bond or employee dishonesty
insurance policy issued by a company authorized to write
such bonds or insurance in Virginia providing limits of at
least $100,000 covering all other employees of the attorney
settlement agent or the legal entity in which the attorney
settlement agent practices.

3. A surety bond issued by a company authorized to write
such bonds in Virginia, on a form approved by the Virginia
State Bar, providing limits of at least $200,000 covering
the licensed attorney acting, offering or intending to act as
a settlement agent. A copy of the approved bond form is
available from the Bar. The bond may also cover other
attorney settlement agents practicing in the same firm or
legal entity. The original surety bond must be attached to
the attorney settlement agent's certification form and
furnished to the Bar; a surety bond on which a law firm is
named as principal may be furnished by the firm or any
one attorney settlement agent in the firm, with other such
attorney settlement agents in the same firm attaching a
copy to their forms.

The Bar reserves the right to require other evidence of the
above insurance and bond coverages listed in this subsection
beyond the attorney's certification and surety bond, at its
discretion.

An attorney settlement agent who has no employees other
than the attorney settlement agent or other than a licensed
owner(s)—partner{s)—shareholder(s} owner, partner,
shareholder, or member(s}) member of the legal entity in
which the attorney settlement agent practices may apply to
the Bar for a waiver of the coverage required in subdivision A
2 of this seetion subsection, using the waiverreguest form
available from the Bar. Such waiver requests will be acted on
by the Executive Committee of the Bar, whose decision shall
constitute final action by the agency.

B. Separate fiduciary trust account. Each attorney settlement
agent shall maintain one or more separate and distinct
fiduciary trust aceount(s} accounts used only for the purpose
of handling funds received in connection with escrow,
closing, or settlement services. Funds received in connection
with real estate transactions not covered by GRESRPA Chapter
27.3 (8 55-525.16 et seq.) of Title 55 of the Code of Virginia
may also be deposited in and disbursed from such acecount{s)
accounts. All funds received by an attorney settlement agent
in connection with escrow, closing, or settlement services
shall be deposited in and disbursed from the separate
fiduciary aeeount(s) accounts in conformity with both the
Bar's disciplinary rules and GRESRA Chapter 27.3. These
separate fiduciary trust accounts shall be maintained in the
same manner and subject to the same rules as those
promulgated by the Bar for other lawyer trust accounts, as
well as in conformity with GRESRPA Chapter 27.3. One
separate fiduciary trust account may be maintained and used
by all attorney settlement agents practicing in the same firm
or legal entity.

C. Settlement statements. All settlement statements for
escrow, closing, and settlement services governed by
CRESPA Chapter 27.3 (8 55-525.16 et seq.) of Title 55 of the
Code of Virginia and theseregtlations this chapter shall be in
writing and identify, by name and business address, the
settlement agent.

D. Complaints against attorney settlement agents. The Bar
shall receive complaints andlor or investigate alleged
violations of CRESPA Chapter 27.3 (8§ 55-525.16 et seq.) of
Title 55 of the Code of Virginia or these—regulations this
chapter by attorney settlement agents. If, after investigation,
the Bar does not have reasonable cause to believe that one or
more violations of CRESPA-and/or-theseregulations Chapter
27.3 or this chapter have occurred, the Bar may dismiss the
complaint as unfounded.

If, after investigation, the Bar has reasonable cause to
believe that one or more violations have occurred, the
following procedures shall apply:

1. The attorney settlement agent shall be notified in writing
of the alleged vielation{s} violations.

2. The attorney settlement agent shall have 30 days from
the date of such notification to respond in writing to the
alleged violations. If, after receipt of the response, the Bar
no longer has reasonable cause to believe that one or more
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violations of CRESPA-—and/or-theseregulations Chapter
27.3 (§55-525.16 et seq.) of Title 55 of the Code of

Virginia or this chapter have occurred, the Bar may dismiss
the complaint as unfounded.

3. If the Bar believes the alleged violation presents or
presented a risk to consumers protected under GRESPA
Chapter 27.3 (§ 55-525.16 et seq.) of Title 55 of the Code
of Virginia, the Bar may request a hearing and issue an
order requiring the attorney settlement agent to appear at
the hearing, whether or not the attorney settlement agent
has responded in writing to the notice of alleged
vielation(s) violation or the 30-day response time period
has lapsed.

4. In conducting investigations of alleged violations of
CRESPA—and/or—these—regulations Chapter 27.3 (8 55-
525.16 et seq.) of Title 55 of the Code of Virginia or this
chapter by attorney settlement agents, the Bar, by Bar
Counsel, shall have the authority to issue summonses or
subpoenas to compel the attendance of witnesses and the
production of documents necessary and material to any
inquiry.

5. The following shall be applicable to hearings on alleged
violations of CRESPA-—and/or—these—regulations Chapter
27.3 (§855-525.16 et seq.) of Title 55 of the Code of
Virginia or this chapter:

a. Hearings shall be held before the disciplinary board
within 60 days of the issuance of the Bar's order to
appear.

b. The standard of proof of violations of CRESPA
Chapter 27.3 (§ 55-525.16 et seq.) of Title 55 of the Code
of Virginia or theseregulations this chapter shall be clear
and convincing evidence.

c. Hearings shall be conducted in the same manner as
attorney misconduct hearings as set out in Rules of
Court, Part Six, Section IV, Paragraph 13.

d. Agreed dispositions may be entered into in the same
manner as agreed dispositions at the disciplinary board in
attorney misconduct cases.

e. The attorney settlement agent's prior disciplinary
record and prior record of violations of CRESRA-and/or
these-regulations Chapter 27.3 (8 55-525.16 et seq.) of
Title 55 of the Code of Virginia or this chapter shall be
made available to the disciplinary board during the
sanction stage of a hearing. The prior record of violations
of CRESPA-and/ertheseregulations Chapter 27.3 or this
chapter may be made available to Bar subcommittees,
district committees, the disciplinary board or a three-
judge circuit court prior to the imposition of any sanction
for attorney misconduct.

f. If the attorney settlement agent is found to have

violated CRESPA-and/or-these-regulations Chapter 27.3
(8 55-525.16 et seq.) of Title 55 of the Code of Virginia

or this chapter, the attorney settlement agent may be

subject to the following penalties, at the disciplinary
board's discretion:

(1) A penalty not exceeding $5,000 for each violation;

(2) Revocation or suspension of the attorney settlement
agent's registration; and

(3) Any other sanction available to the disciplinary board
in attorney disciplinary proceedings under the rules of the
Virginia Supreme Court, including, but not limited to,
revocation or suspension of the attorney settlement
agent's license to practice law.

6. The disciplinary board shall assess costs in accordance
with the same rules and procedures that apply to the
imposition of costs in attorney misconduct cases.

7. All matters and proceedings pertaining to alleged
violations of CRESPA—and/ortheseregulations Chapter
27.3 (8 55-525.16 et seq.) of Title 55 of the Code of
Virginia or this chapter are public. Related attorney
misconduct cases shall be heard by the disciplinary board
together with alleged violations of CRESPA-and/orthese
regulations Chapter 27.3 or this chapter. Any related
disability issues shall be heard by the disciplinary board
separately.

8. The Clerk of the Disciplinary System of the Bar shall
maintain files and records pertaining to ended cases
involving alleged violations of CRESRA—andfor—these
regulations Chapter 27.3 (8§ 55-525.16 et seq.) of Title 55
of the Code of Virginia or this chapter. The clerk shall
follow the same file destruction policies that are utilized in
attorney misconduct cases.

9. The Bar may proceed against an attorney settlement
agent for alleged violations of CRESPA—and/or—these
regulations Chapter 27.3 (§ 55-525.16 et seq.) of Title 55
of the Code of Virginia or this chapter notwithstanding that
the attorney settlement agent has resigned from the practice
of law, surrendered his license to practice law in the
Commonwealth of Virginia or had his license to practice
law in the Commonwealth of Virginia revoked.

10. An appeal from an order of the disciplinary board
imposing sanctions under CRESPA—and/or—these
regulations Chapter 27.3 (8 55-525.16 et seq.) of Title 55
of the Code of Virginia or this chapter shall be conducted
in accordance with the provisions of Rules of Court, Part
Six, Section IV, Paragraph 13 pertaining to an appeal of an
order of the disciplinary board imposing sanctions upon
findings of attorney misconduct.

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being
published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia
Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with
a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the
agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the
Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd
Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219.
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FORMS (15VAC5-80)

Settlement Agent Official Registration Form for an
Individual Attorney (rev. 7/2014)

Virginia Attorney Real Estate Settlement Agent Financial
Responsibility Certification (includes waiver request) (rev.

3/2012)

Bond for Attorney Settlement Agent -
Individual (rev. 3/2012)

Bond for Attorney Settlement Agent - Principal as Law Firm

(rev. 3/2012)

VAR. Doc. No. R16-3141; Filed March 18, 2016, 9:53 a.m.

* *

Principal _as

TITLE 17. LIBRARIES AND CULTURAL
RESOURCES

BOARD OF HISTORIC RESOURCES

Proposed Regulation

Title of Requlation: 17VACS5-30. Evaluation Criteria and
Procedures for Designations by the Board of Historic
Resources (amending 17VAC5-30-100, 17VAC5-30-110,
17VAC5-30-120, 17VAC5-30-160).

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-2205 of the Code of Virginia.

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are
scheduled.

Public Comment Deadline: June 17, 2016.

Agency Contact: Jennifer Pullen, Executive Assistant,
Department of Historic Resources, 2801 Kensington Avenue,
Richmond, VA 23221, telephone (804) 482-6085, FAX (804)
367-2391, or email jennifer.pullen@dhr.virginia.gov.

Basis: The Board of Historic Resources has authority to
promulgate regulations necessary to carry out its powers and
duties, including at a minimum criteria and procedures for the
designation of historic landmarks, including buildings,
structures, districts, objects, and sites under § 10.1-2205 of
the Code of Virginia.

Purpose: The subject matter addressed is the owner objection
process to properties nominated for historic district
designation by the Board of Historic Resources for inclusion
in the Virginia Landmarks Register (VLR). The intent of the

proposed amendments is to clarify and detail the process and
requirements necessary for formal objection. Amendment and
clarification of the existing procedures are necessary to more
clearly set out the objection letter requirements for both
property owners and the Department of Historic Resources
(DHR) staff and set out what is required for an owner
objection to be considered formal and valid. By clarifying and
detailing existing language, the proposed amendments will
make the objection process and requirements easier to
understand for property owners and DHR staff. Making
specific the records to be consulted and the timeframe in
which they should be consulted in addition to creating
specific deadlines and attestation requirements as well as
requiring proof of ownership on the part of objecting owners
are intended to prevent confusion or assumptions about the
formal objection process and will benefit both property
owners and DHR staff. By protecting property interests, the
proposed action will benefit the public welfare.

Substance: The amendments to the existing regulations
clarify language that written notification of the nomination
and written notification of the public hearing will be sent to
property owners listed, within 90 days of notification, in
official land recordation records or tax records. In addition,
property owners who wish to object to a designation must
submit their formal objection seven business days prior to the
board meeting. The amendments also add that in addition to
the letter being notarized, it must also be attested and
reference the property by address or parcel number. Also, in
order to be counted by the director as a property owner, if the
objecting party was not listed on the official land recordation
records or tax records within 90 days of notification, then a
copy of the recorded deed evidencing transfer of ownership
must be submitted along with the written, attested, and
notarized statement. Lastly, formal designations may be
reconsidered at a subsequent board meeting if the director
receives, at least 30 days prior to the next scheduled board
meeting, written, attested, and notarized statements stating
that there is no longer an objection. In current regulations, it
is unclear as to what "current real estate tax assessment
books" really means so amending it to specifically state the
official land recordation records or tax records makes certain
what records are to be consulted to determine property
ownership within nominated district boundaries. Also,
currently there is no time restriction or deadline on the
director receiving formal letters of objection to a property
being considered for designation on the VLR. Also, property
owners are not required to state the subject property address
or parcel number in a formal objection letter, nor is it required
that the letter be attested. Current regulations do not require
that a copy of the recorded deed evidencing ownership
transferred to the objecting party be submitted along with the
objection letter. Lastly, in current regulations, there is no time
restriction or deadline for the director to receive letters for
reconsideration.
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Issues: The primary advantage to the public that is offered by
the proposed regulation is a clear timeframe within which
private property owners may participate in the VLR
nomination process and to submit comments or objections to
the proposed listing, and the proposed regulation clearly
defines what local government records will be used and when
for the purpose of identifying property owners within a
nominated historic boundary. The primary disadvantage to
the public is that the proposed regulation introduces a new
requirement to provide a copy of a recorded deed showing
evidence of a transfer of property if the transfer occurred after
the date that then-current local government records were used
to gather property owner information.

Under the current regulation, such a situation does not require
a property owner to provide a copy of a recorded deed with
their written objection. Under the proposed regulation, to
object to VLR listing, a property owner must provide written
notice no less than seven business days prior to a meeting of
the Board of Historic Resources, but the property owner will
retain a minimum of 30 days from notice of a proposed
nomination to the deadline to object. The primary advantage
to DHR and the Commonwealth is that DHR staff will have a
clear definition of the local government records to be
consulted for a proposed nomination, the timeframe within
which they may be consulted, the timeframe within which
property owner objections to VLR listings will be received
prior to a joint board meeting, and a minimum of seven
business days within which to process and verify the property
owner's objection. Under the current regulation, property
owner objections to a VLR listing may be received up to the
day of a joint board meeting, leaving no opportunity for DHR
staff to process the objection and keep Board of Historic
Resources members informed of property owner objections.
The proposed regulation offers no disadvantage to DHR or
the Commonwealth. The proposed regulation offers
advantages to local governments and to nomination authors
by clearly explaining the types of local government records
that will be consulted to identify property owners within a
nominated historic boundary, the timeframe within which the
records are to be consulted, and a deadline of at least seven
business days prior to a joint board meeting for DHR staff to
notify them of any property owner objections. The proposed
regulation offers no disadvantage to local governments or to
nomination authors.

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact
Analysis:

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The
proposed changes will clarify the owner objection process
when an owner's real property is nominated to be included in
the Virginia Landmarks Register.

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all
proposed changes.

Estimated Economic Impact. This regulation establishes the
owner objection process when the owner's real property is

nominated to be included in the Virginia Landmarks Register,
which is the state's official list of properties important to
Virginia's history. The purpose of the registration is to
recognize the historic value of a property and encourage
present and future owners to continue to exercise good
stewardship. Participation is voluntary and registration itself
does not limit the owner's rights in any way. However,
owners of registered properties may donate historic
preservation easements, participate in state historic
rehabilitation tax credit programs, or accept grants which may
place certain restrictions on alterations or demolitions.

In most cases, owners nominate their own properties.
However, in cases where there are multiple owners or a
property is located in a district nominated to be listed in the
register, an owner has a right to object according to the
procedures set out in this regulation. The proposed changes
primarily clarify the objection process. Specifically, the
Board of Historic Resources (Board) proposes to 1) require
that a copy of the recorded deed evidencing transferred
ownership to the objecting party be submitted along with the
objection letter when official land records or tax records do
not reflect the accurate ownership information; 2) require
owners to state the subject property address or parcel number
in a formal objection letter and require that the letter be
attested; 3) require that formal letters of objection be
submitted at least seven days prior to the Board meeting and
require that letters for reconsideration be submitted at least 30
days prior the Board meeting; and 4) clarify that the
ownership information be obtained from official land records
or tax records for public hearing notifications sent to owners.

While requiring a copy of a recorded deed may introduce a
nominal cost on the owners whose ownership is not yet
reflected in the official land records or tax records, this
requirement will be relevant only when a transfer of
ownership occurred between the time the Board obtained
ownership information and sent notices to the owners. The
number of such cases is expected to be very small.! On the
other hand, this change will ensure that the new owner of the
property is notified and afforded a chance to object.
Remaining proposed changes are expected to improve the
clarity of the formal objection process requirements to
prevent any confusion by the property owners and the staff,
and are not expected to create any significant economic
effects.

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed regulation
applies to property owners who may wish to object to the
nomination of their property for listing in the Virginia
Landmarks Register. Between September 2014 and December
2015, the Department of Historic Resources received 58
nominations to either the Virginia Landmarks Register or the
National Register, sent out 1673 notifications to the property
owners, and received 6 objection letters. Separate statistics
for the Virginia Landmarks Register alone is not available at
this time.
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Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed changes apply
throughout the Commonwealth.

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments
are unlikely to affect employment.

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No impact
on the use and value of private property is expected.

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate
development costs is expected.

Small Businesses:

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia,
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and
(i) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross
annual sales of less than $6 million."

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed regulation will not
affect small businesses unless a property they own is
nominated for listing in the Virginia Landmarks Register, in
which case the effects would be the same as discussed above.

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. No
adverse impact on small businesses is expected.

Adverse Impacts:

Businesses. The proposed regulation will not adversely affect
non-small businesses.

Localities. The proposed regulation will not adversely affect
localities.

Other Entities. The proposed regulation will not adversely
affect other entities.

! There were only 6 objections between September 2014 and December 2015
to the nominations for either the Virginia Landmarks Register or the National
Register. Thus, the chance of one of them being a new owner is relatively
small.

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The
agency concurs with the economic impact analysis submitted
by the Department of Planning and Budget.

Summary:
The proposed amendments address the process of owner
objection to designation of properties by the Board of
Historic Resources for inclusion in the Virginia Landmarks
Register. The proposed amendments (i) clarify that written
notification of the proposed designation and written
notification of the public hearing will be sent to property
owners listed within 90 days prior to the notification in
official land recordation records or tax records; (ii)
require property owners to submit their formal objections
seven business days prior to the board meeting; (iii)
require that the objection letter, in addition to being
notarized, must be attested and reference the property by
address or parcel number, or both; (iv) require that an
objecting party who was not listed on the official land
recordation records or tax records submit a copy of the
recorded deed evidencing transfer of ownership with the

attested and notarized statement to be counted by the
director in determining whether a majority of the owners
object; and (v) provide that formal designations may be
reconsidered at a subsequent board meeting if the director
receives, at least 30 days prior to the next scheduled board
meeting, written, attested, and notarized statements stating
that there is no longer an objection.

Part IV
Public Notice and Public Hearings

17VAC5-30-100. Written notice of proposed nominations.

In any county, city, or town where the board proposes to
designate property for inclusion in the Virginia Landmarks
Register, the department shall give written notice of the
proposal to the governing body and to the owner, owners, or
the owner's agent (i) of property proposed to be designated as
a historic landmark building, structure, object, or site, or to be
included in a historic district, and te—the—ewners,—ortheir
agents; (ii) of all abutting property and property immediately
across the street or road or across any railroad or waterway
less than 300 feet wide. The list of such owners shall be
obtained from either the official land recordation records or
tax records, whichever is more appropriate, within 90 days
prior to the notification of the proposal.

17VAC5-30-110. Public hearing for historic district;
notice of hearing.

A. Prior to the designation by the board of a historic district,
the department shall hold a public hearing at the seat of
government of the county, city, or town in which the
proposed historic district is located or within the proposed
historic district. The public hearing shall be for the purpose of
supplying additional information to the board. The time and
place of such hearing shall be determined in consultation with
a duly authorized representative of the local governing body;
and shall be scheduled at a time and place that will reasonably
allow for the attendance of the affected property owners.

B. The department shall publish notice of the public hearing
once a week for two successive weeks in a newspaper
published or having general circulation in the county, city, or
town. Such notice shall specify the time and place of the
public hearing at which persons affected may appear and
present their views, not less than six days or more than 21
days after the second publication of the notice in such
newspaper.

C. In addition to publishing the notice, the department shall
give written notice of the public hearing at least five days
before such hearing to the owner, owners, or the owner's
agent of (i) each parcel of real property to be included in the
proposed historic district; and te-the-ewners—or-their-agents;
of (ii) all abutting property and property immediately across
the street or road or across any railroad or waterway less than
300 feet wide pursuant to 17VAC5-30-100. Notice required
to be given to owners by this section may be given
concurrently with the notice required to be given to the
owners by 17VAC5-30-100. A complete copy of the
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nomination report and a map of the historic district showing
the boundaries shall be sent to the local jurisdiction for public
inspection at the time of notice. The notice shall include a
synopsis of why the district is significant.

D. The department shall make and maintain an appropriate
record of all public hearings held pursuant to this section.

17VAC5-30-120. Mailings and affidavits; concurrent state
and federal notice.

The department shall send the required notices by first class
mail to the last known address of each person entitled to
notice—as—shown—on—the—current real-estate tax—assessment
beeoks pursuant to 17VAC5-30-100. A representative of the
department shall make an affidavit that the required mailings
have been made. In the case where property is also proposed
for inclusion in the National Register of Historic Places
pursuant to nomination by the director, the department may
provide concurrent notice of and hold a single public hearing
on the proposed state designation and the proposed
nomination to the National Register.

17VAC5-30-160. Owner objections.

A. Upon receiving the notification required by 17VAC5-30-
100, any owner or owners of property proposed for
designation by the board shall have the opportunity to concur
in or object to that designation.

B. Property owners who wish to object to designation shall
submit to—thedirector a written, attested, and notarized
statement eertifiring of objection. The statement of objection

designation. Fhese-objections—must-bereceived-priorto-the
A  the | | ch 1l . . :

E. Where formal designation at a board meeting has been
prevented by owner objection, the board may reconsider the
property for designation at a subsequent board meeting upon
presentation to the director, at least 30 days prior to the next
scheduled meeting of the board, of written, attested, and
notarized statements sufficient to indicate that the owner or
majority of owners no longer object objects to the
designation. In the case of a proposed reconsideration, the
notification procedures set out in Part 1V (17VAC5-30-100 et
seq.) of this chapter shall apply.
F. Each owner of property in a district has one vote
regardless of how many properties or what part of one
property that party owns and regardless of whether the
property contributes to the significance of the district.

VAR. Doc. No. R16-4259; Filed March 17, 2016, 2:54 p.m.

DEPARTMENT OF HISTORIC RESOURCES

Proposed Regulation

Title of Requlation: 17VAC10-20. Evaluation Criteria and
Procedures for Nominations of Property to the National
Register or for Designation as a National Historic
Landmark (amending 17VAC10-20-130, 17VAC10-20-
140, 17VAC10-20-150, 17VAC10-20-200).

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-2202 of the Code of Virginia.

shall (i) reference the subject property by address or parcel
number, or both; (ii) certify that the objecting party is the sole
or partial owner of the property, as appropriate;; and (iii)
certify that the objecting party objects to the designation. The
statement of objection must be received by the director at
least seven business days prior to the meeting of the board at
which the property is considered for designation.

H—an—oewner C. An objecting party whose name did not
appear on the eurrentreal-estatetax—assessment-tst official
land recordation records or tax records used by the director
pursuant to 17VAC5-30-120 certifiesin—-a must submit with
the written, attested, and notarized statement that of objection
an attested and notarized copy of the party—is—the-sole—or
partial-owner-of-a—neminated-property—such-owner recorded

deed evidencing transfer of ownership to such objecting
party. Only upon such submission shall such objecting owner
be counted by the director in determining whether a majority
of the owners has objected. The statement of objection must
be received by the director at least seven business days prior
to the meeting of the board at which the property is
considered for designation.

D. The board shall take no formal action to designate the
property or district for inclusion in the Virginia Landmarks
Register if (i) the owner of a property, er (ii) the majority of
owners of a single property with multiple owners, or (iii) a
majority of the owners in a district—have has objected to the

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are
scheduled.

Public Comment Deadline: June 17, 2016.

Agency Contact: Jennifer Pullen, Executive Assistant,
Department of Historic Resources, 2801 Kensington Avenue,
Richmond, VA 23221, telephone (804) 482-6085, or email
jennifer.pullen@dhr.virginia.gov.

Basis: The Department of Historic Resources (DHR) has
specific statutory authority under § 58.1-339.2 of the Code of
Virginia to promulgate regulations necessary to implement
the program. The regulation is mandated in whole by the state
statute. The statute provides that the Director of DHR shall
establish by regulation the requirements needed for the
program, including the process and procedures by which
nominations and designations of properties are approved by
the State Review Board for forwarding to the National Park
Service, which manages both the National Register of
Historic Places (NRHP) and the National Historic Landmark
(NHL) programs.

Purpose: The subject matter addressed is the owner objection
process to properties nominated for designation by the State
Review Board for inclusion in the National Register of
Historic Places or designation as a National Historic
Landmark. The intent of the planned regulatory action is to
clarify and detail the process and requirements necessary for
formal objection to designation. Amendment and clarification
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of the existing procedures are necessary to more clearly set
out the objection letter requirements for both property owners
and DHR staff and what is required for an owner objection to
be considered formal and valid. By clarifying and detailing
existing language, the amendments will make the objection
process and requirements easier to understand for property
owners and DHR staff. Making specific the records to be
consulted and the timeframe in which the records should be
consulted, in addition to creating specific deadlines and
attestation requirements, are all intended to prevent confusion
or assumptions about the formal objection process and will
benefit both property owners and DHR staff. By protecting
property interests, the proposed action will benefit the public
welfare.

Substance: The proposed amendments to the existing
regulations add clarifying language that written notification of
the nomination and written notification of the public hearing
will be sent to property owners listed, within 90 days prior to
the notification, in official land recordation records or tax
records. In addition, property owners who wish to object to a
designation must submit their formal objection seven
business days prior to the board meeting. The proposed
amendments also add that in addition to the letter being
notarized, the letter must also be attested and must reference
the property by address or parcel number.

In current regulations, it is unclear as to what "current real
estate tax assessment books" means, so amending it to
specifically state the official land recordation records or tax
records makes clear what records are to be consulted to
determine property ownership within nominated district
boundaries. Also, there is no time restriction or deadline for
the director to receive the formal objections. Lastly, in current
regulations, property owners are not required to state the
subject property address or parcel number in a formal
objection letter, nor is it required that the letter be attested.

Issues: The primary advantage to the public that is offered by
the proposed amendments is a clear timeframe within which
private property owners may participate in the NRHP
nomination process and to submit comments or objections to
the proposed listing, and the changed regulation clearly
defines what local government records will be used and when
the records will be used for the purpose of identifying
property owners within a nominated historic boundary.

The opportunity to object to NRHP listing will not be affected
by the proposed amendments.

DHR staff will continue to receive property owner objections
to an NRHP listing as required under federal regulations and
will continue to process and forward such objections to the
National Park Service even if the objections are received after
the State Review Board has recommended that the
nomination be listed in the NRHP, as the National Park
Service has the final authority to approve a nomination for
listing in the NRHP. The proposed amendments offer no
disadvantage to DHR or the Commonwealth.

The proposed amendments offer advantages to local
governments and to nomination authors by clearly explaining
the types of local government records that will be consulted
to identify property owners within a nominated historic
boundary, the timeframe within which the records are to be
consulted, and a deadline of at least seven business days prior
to a joint board meeting for DHR staff to notify local
governments and nomination authors of any property owner
objections. The proposed amendments offer no disadvantage
to local governments or to nomination authors.

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact
Analysis:

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The
proposed changes will clarify the owner objection process
when an owner's real property is nominated to be included in
the National Register of Historic Places.

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all
proposed changes.

Estimated Economic Impact. This regulation establishes the
owner objection process when an owner's real property is
nominated to be included in the National Register of Historic
Places, which is the official list of structures, sites, objects,
and districts that has historical and cultural significance for
the nation. The National Register is a part of a national
program to coordinate and support public and private efforts
to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and
archeological resources. Participation is voluntary and
registration itself does not limit the owner's rights in any way.
However, owners of registered properties may donate historic
preservation easements, participate in federal historic
rehabilitation tax credit programs, or accept grants which may
place certain restrictions on alterations or demolitions.

In most cases, owners nominate their own properties.
However, in cases where there are multiple owners or a
property is located in a district nominated to be listed in the
register, an owner has a right to object according to the
procedures set out in this regulation. The proposed changes
merely clarify the objection process. Specifically, the
Department of Historic Resources (DHR) proposes to 1)
clarify that the ownership information be obtained from
official land records or tax records for public hearing
notifications sent to owners; 2) require that formal letters of
objection be submitted at least seven days prior to the State
Review Board meeting; and 3) require owners to state the
subject property address or parcel number in a formal
objection letter and require that the letter be attested.

The proposed changes are expected to improve the clarity of
the formal objection process requirements to prevent any
confusion by the property owners and the staff and are not
expected to create any significant economic effects.

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed regulation
applies to property owners who may wish to object to the
nomination of their property for listing in the National
Register. Between September 2014 and December 2015,
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DHR received 58 nominations to either the Virginia
Landmarks Register or the National Register, sent out 1673
notifications to the property owners, and received 6 objection
letters. Separate statistics for the National Register alone is
not available at this time.

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed changes apply
throughout the Commonwealth.

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments
are unlikely to affect employment.

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No impact
on the use and value of private property is expected.

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate
development costs is expected.

Small Businesses:

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia,
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross
annual sales of less than $6 million."

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed regulation will not
affect small businesses unless a property a small business
owns is nominated for listing in the National Register, in
which case the effects would be the same as discussed above.

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. No
adverse impact on small businesses is expected.

Adverse Impacts:

Businesses. The proposed regulation will not adversely affect
non-small businesses.

Localities. The proposed regulation will not adversely affect
localities.

Other Entities. The proposed regulation will not adversely
affect other entities.

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The
agency concurs with the economic impact analysis submitted
by the Department of Planning and Budget.

Summary:
The proposed amendments address the process of owner
objection to designation of properties by the State Review
Board for inclusion in the National Register of Historic
Places or designation as a National Historic Landmark.
The proposed amendments (i) clarify that written
notification of the nomination and written notification of
the public hearing will be sent to property owners listed
within 90 days prior to the notification in official land
recordation records or tax records; (ii) require property
owners to submit their formal objections seven business
days prior to the board meeting; (iii) require that the
objection letter, in addition to being notarized, be attested
and reference the property by address or parcel number,
or both; and (iv) require that an objecting party who was
not listed on the official land recordation records or tax
records submit a copy of the recorded deed evidencing

transfer of ownership with the attested and notarized
statement to be counted by the director as a property
owner.

Part IV
Public Notice and Public Hearings
17VAC10-20-130.  Written  notice  of  proposed

nominations.

In any county, city, or town where the director proposes to
nominate property to the National Park Service for inclusion
in the National Register of Historic Places or for designation
as a National Historic Landmark, the department shall give
written notice of the proposal to the governing body and to
the owner, owners, or the owner's agent of (i) property
proposed to be nominated as a historic landmark building,
structure, object, or site, or to be included in a historic
district; and to-the-owners—ortheiragents—of (ii) all abutting
property and property immediately across the street or road or
across any railroad or waterway less than 300 feet wide. The
list of such owners shall be obtained from either the official
land recordation records or tax records, whichever is more
appropriate, within 90 days prior to the notification of the
proposal. The department shall send this written notice at
least 30 but not more than 75 days before the State Review
Board meeting at which the nomination will be considered.

17VAC10-20-140. Public hearing for historic district;
notice of hearing.

A. Prior to the nomination of a historic district, the
department shall hold a public hearing at the seat of
government of the county, city, or town in which the
proposed historic district is located or within the proposed
historic district. The public hearing shall be for the purpose of
supplying additional information to the director. The time and
place of such hearing shall be determined in consultation with
a duly authorized representative of the local governing body;
and shall be scheduled at a time and place that will reasonably
allow for the attendance of the affected property owners.

B. The department shall publish notice of the public hearing
once a week for two successive weeks in a newspaper
published or having general circulation in the county, city, or
town. Such notice shall specify the time and place of the
public hearing at which persons affected may appear and
present their views, not less than six days or more than 21
days after the second publication of the notice in such
newspaper.

C. In addition to publishing the notice, the department shall
give written notice of the public hearing at least five days
before such hearing to the owner, owners, or the owner's
agent of (i) each parcel of real property to be included in the
proposed historic district; and te-the-owners—or-their-agents;
of (ii) all abutting property, and property immediately across
the street or road, or across any railroad or waterway less than
300 feet wide pursuant to 17VAC10-20-130. Notice required
to be given to owners by this section may be given
concurrently with the notice required to be given to the
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owners by 17VAC10-20-130. A complete copy of the
nomination report and a map of the historic district showing
the boundaries shall be sent to the local jurisdiction for public
inspection at the time of notice. The notice shall include a
synopsis of why the district is significant.

D. The department shall make and maintain an appropriate
record of all public hearings held pursuant to this section.

17VAC10-20-150. Mailings and affidavits; concurrent
state and federal notice.

The department shall send the required natices by first class
mail to the last known address of each person entitled to
notice;—as—shown—on-the—currentreal-estatetax—assessment
beeks pursuant to 17VAC10-20-130. A representative of the
department shall make an affidavit that the required mailings
have been made. In the case where property is also proposed
for inclusion in the Virginia Landmarks Register pursuant to
designation by the Virginia Board of Historic Resources, the
department may provide concurrent notice of the proposed
state designation and the proposed nomination to the National
Register.

17VAC10-20-200. Owner objections.

A. Upon receiving the notification required by 17VAC10-
20-130, the owners of property proposed for nomination shall
have the opportunity to concur in or object to the nomination.

B. Any owner or owners of a private property who wish to
object shall submit to—the—director a written, attested, and
notarized statement certifiring of objection. The statement of
objection shall (i) reference the subject property by address or
parcel number, or both; (ii) certify that the objecting party is
the sole or partial owner of the private property, as
appropriate;; and (iii) certify that the objecting party objects
to the listing. The statement of objection must be received by
the director at least seven business days prior to the meeting
of the State Review Board at which the property is considered
for nomination

C. If an ewner objecting party whose name did not appear
on the ecurrentreal-estatetax—assessmenttist official land
recordation records or tax records used by the director
pursuant to 17VAC10-20-150 certifies in a written, attested,
and notarized statement that the party is the sole or partial
owner of a nominated private property, such owner shall be
counted by the director in determining whether a majority of
the owners has objected. The statement of objection must be
received by the director at least seven business days prior to
the meeting of the State Review Board at which the property
is considered for nomination.

D. If (i) the owner of a private property, e (ii) the majority
of the owners of a single private property with multiple
owners, or (iii) the majority of the owners in a district-have
has objected to the nomination prior to the submittal of a
nomination, the director shall submit the nomination to the
keeper only for a determination of eligibility for the National
Register. In accordance with the National Historic

Preservation Act, the keeper shall determine whether the
property meets the National Register criteria for evaluation;
but shall not add the property to the National Register.

E. Each owner of private property in a district has one vote
regardless of how many properties or what part of one
property that party owns and regardless of whether the
property contributes to the significance of the district.

VAR. Doc. No. R16-4260; Filed March 17, 2016, 2:53 p.m.

* L 4

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING

DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AND
OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION

Final Regulation

Title of Requlation: 18VAC120-50. Regulations Governing
Natural Gas Automobile Mechanics and Technicians
(adding 18VAC120-50-10 through 18VAC120-50-230).

Statutory Authority: 88 54.1-201 and 54.1-2356 of the Code
of Virginia.
Effective Date: July 1, 2016.

Agency Contact: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director,
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233,
telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (866) 430-1033, or email
cngmech@dpor.virginia.gov.

Summary:

This action establishes a regulatory program for the
voluntary certification of natural gas automobile
mechanics and technicians in accordance with Chapter
763 of the 2014 Acts of Assembly. The new chapter
includes establishment of (i) certification, renewal, and
reinstatement requirements; (ii) standards of practice and
conduct; (iii) grounds for disciplinary actions; (iv)
education provider requirements for training programs;
(v) fees; and (vi) an advisory board.

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No
public comments were received by the promulgating agency.
CHAPTER 50
REGULATIONS GOVERNING NATURAL GAS
AUTOMOBILE MECHANICS AND TECHNICIANS
Part |
Definitions

18VAC120-50-10. Definitions.

A. Section 54.1-2355 of the Code of Virginia provides
definitions of other terms and phrases as used in this chapter.

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly
indicates otherwise:
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"Address of record” means the mailing address designated

original appointments, all appointments shall be for terms of

by the certificate holder to receive notices and

four years, except that appointments to fill vacancies shall be

correspondence from the board or the board's agent.
"Advisory board" or "board" means the Natural

Gas

for the unexpired terms.
C. Each member shall serve a four-year term. No _member

Automobile Mechanics and Technicians Advisory Board.
"Applicant” means an individual seeking certification who

shall serve more than two consecutive four-year terms.
D. The advisory board shall meet upon the call of the

has submitted a fully executed application.

"Application" means a board prescribed form submitted with
the appropriate fee and other required documentation,
including, but not limited to, verification of formal vocational
training, verification of experience, and documentation of
other certifications and examinations.

"Department” means the Virginia
Professional and Occupational Requlation.

"Director" means the Director of the Virginia Department of

Department _ of

director, but at least once per year.

Part [l
Application Procedures and Entry Requirements

18VAC120-50-30. Application procedures.

A. Every applicant seeking certification shall submit an
application with the appropriate fee specified in 18VAC120-
50-80. Application shall be made on forms provided by the
department and shall contain the following information and
documentation:

Professional and Occupational Regulation.

"Formal vocational training” means courses in the trade
administered at an accredited educational facility or formal
training, approved by the director or his designee, conducted

by trade  associations,  businesses, the  military,
correspondence  schools, or other similar _training
organizations.

"Reciprocity” means a mutual agreement between the

director and any other regulating body that accepts one or
more of the eligibility criteria from that requlating body as
having met the requirements of this chapter.

"Regulant” means a licensee, certificate holder, or registrant
of any other requlatory programs in the Commonwealth of
Virginia or any other jurisdiction.

"Reinstatement” means the process and requirements
through which an expired certificate can be restored to
effectiveness after the expiration date has passed.

"Renewal"” means the process and requirement for
periodically approving a certification for another period of
time.

18VAC120-50-20. Advisory board.

A. The Natural Gas Automobile Mechanics and Technicians
Advisory Board shall exercise the authority delegated by the
director consistent with subsection A of § 2.2-2100 of the
Code of Virginia and shall advise the department on any
matters relating to the certification of natural gas automobile
mechanics and technicians in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

B. The advisory board shall consist of eight members
appointed by the director as follows: two representatives of
private businesses that utilize natural gas powered vehicles,
one representative of a local government that utilizes natural
gas vehicles, one representative of a municipal transit agency
that uses natural gas vehicles, one certified natural gas
automobile mechanic or technician, one representative of an
approved natural gas automobile mechanic or technician
training provider, and two citizen members. All members
must be residents of the Commonwealth of Virginia. After the

1. The full legal name of the applicant, a copy of a
government-issued photo identification and verification
that the applicant is at least 18 years old.

2. The applicant shall disclose his social security number
or a control number issued by the Virginia Department of
Motor Vehicles in accordance with § 54.1-116 of the Code
of Virginia.

3. The physical address of the applicant and, if it is going
to be used as the address of record, a mailing address. A
post office box, private mail box, or other mail service may
be used as a mailing address, but not as the address of
record.

4. Documentation of formal vocational training as required
in 18VAC120-50-50 in a format approved by the director.

5. Documentation of experience, as required in
18VAC120-50-50 in a format approved by the director.

6. Each applicant shall disclose the following convictions
in any jurisdiction:

a. All misdemeanor convictions within three years of the
date of the application; and

b. All felony convictions at any time.

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a
conviction for the purpose of this subdivision. Individuals
convicted in the Commonwealth of Virginia shall include a
copy of their Central Criminal Records Exchange report
that is no_more than 90 days old. Individuals convicted
outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia shall include a
copy of their Central Criminal Records Exchange report
and documentation of their out-of-state convictions from a
source approved by the department.

7. Each applicant shall provide certified copies of all other
licenses, certifications, or registrations held in any
jurisdiction as a natural gas or alternative fuel vehicle
mechanic or technician. Additionally, the applicant must
provide documentation of any disciplinary action taken
against any other license, certification, or registration.
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B. By signing the application or submitting it electronically
to the department, the applicant certifies that he has read and
understands the statutes and requlations that govern the
program.

C. The receipt of an application and the deposit of fees by
the department [dees do] not indicate approval of the
application.

D. Applicants will be notified if their application is

a. All misdemeanor convictions within three years of the
date of the application; and

b. All felony convictions during his lifetime.

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a
conviction for the purpose of this subdivision. The record
of conviction received from a court shall be accepted as
prima_facie evidence of a conviction or finding of quilt.
The department, at its discretion, may deny certification to

incomplete. Applicants who fail to complete the process

any applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of

within _one year of the date the original application was

Virginia.

received by the department must submit a new application
and fee.

18VAC120-50-40. General qualifications for certification.

9. The applicant shall report all suspensions, revocations,
or_surrender of a certificate or license that is connected
with a disciplinary action or that has been the subject of

Every applicant for certification as a certified natural gas
automobile mechanic _or technician shall meet the
requirements and have the qualifications provided in this
section.

1. The applicant shall be at least 18 years old.

2. Unless otherwise exempted, the applicant shall meet the
current _educational requirements by passing all required
courses prior to the time the applicant sits for the
examination and applies for certification.

3. Unless otherwise exempted, the applicant shall have
passed the examination provided by [ the ] department or
by a testing organization acting on behalf of the
department.

4. The applicant shall meet the experience requirements in
18VAC120-50-50.

5. In those instances where the applicant is required to take
the certification examination, the applicant shall follow all
rules established by the department or testing organization
with regard to conduct at the examination. Such rules shall
include all written instructions communicated prior to the
examination date and all instructions communicated at the
site, either written or oral, on the date of the examination.
Failure to comply with all rules established by the
department or the testing organization with regard to
conduct at the examination shall be grounds for denial of
the application and may result in the voiding of the
examination or scores or both.

6. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a
statement certifying that the applicant has read and
understands Chapter 23.4 (8§ 54.1-2355 et seq.) of Title
54.1 of the Code of Virginia and this chapter.

7. The department may make further inquiries or
investigations _or_require _a_personal interview with the
applicant with respect to the qualification of the applicant

discipline _in _any jurisdiction prior to applying for
certification in Virginia. The director, at his discretion,
may deny certification to any applicant based on prior
suspensions, revocations, or surrender of certifications or
licenses connected with disciplinary action by any
jurisdiction.

18VAC120-50-50. Evidence of ability and proficiency.

A natural gas automobile mechanic or technician certificate

shall be issued to an applicant who fulfills the requirements of

18VAC120-50-40 and one of the following:

1. One year of practical experience in the performance of
services relating to the repair, conversion, or maintenance
of motor vehicles that use, in whole or in part, natural gas
as a fuel and successful completion of a training program
approved by the director;

2. A current license as a professional engineer and one year
of practical experience in the performance of services
relating to the repair, conversion, or maintenance of motor
vehicles that use, in whole or in part, natural gas as a fuel;

3. Successful completion of an apprenticeship program
approved by the Virginia Apprenticeship Council or the
U.S. Department of Labor, with a Dictionary of
Occupational Title or Standard Industrial Classification
identifier approved by the director, which includes a
minimum_of one year of practical experience in the
performance of services relating to the repair, conversion,
or_ maintenance of motor vehicles that use, in whole or in
part, natural gas as a fuel; or

4. Three years of practical experience in the repair,
conversion, or maintenance of motor vehicles that use, in
whole or in part, natural gas as a fuel.

18VAC120-50-60. Qualifications  for
reciprocity or substantial equivalency.

Individuals certified or licensed as natural gas automobile

licensure by

to verify information and documentation, or to clarify

mechanics or technicians by governing bodies located outside

information supplied.

8. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia,
each applicant shall disclose the following information:

the Commonwealth of Virginia shall be in compliance with
this chapter if the director has determined the certifying or
licensing requirements to be substantially equivalent to the
requirements in Virginia. In addition to the requirements set
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forth in 18VAC120-50-40, these individuals must meet the

B. Fees are as follows:

following requirements:

1. The applicant shall have received the natural gas
automobile mechanic or technician certification by virtue
of having passed in the jurisdiction of original certification
or_licensing a written or oral examination deemed to be
substantially equivalent to the Virginia examination; and

2. The applicant shall be in good standing as a certified or
licensed natural gas automobile mechanic or technician in
every jurisdiction where certified or licensed, and the
applicant shall not have had a certificate or license that has
been suspended, revoked, or surrendered in connection
with a disciplinary action or that has been the subject of
discipline _in_any jurisdiction prior to applying for
certification in Virginia.

18VAC120-50-70. Application denial.

The director may refuse initial certification due to an
applicant's failure to comply with entry requirements or for
any of the reasons the director may discipline a certified
natural gas automobile mechanic or technician.
18VAC120-50-80. Application fees.

A. All fees are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated. The
date on which the fee is received by the department or its
agent will determine whether the fee has been submitted
within the time requirements of this chapter. Checks or
money orders shall be made payable to the Treasurer of
Virginia.

B. Fees are as follows:

Fee Type Fee Amount When Due
Original $150 Upon
certification submission of
application the

application
Expedited $250 plus Upon
application - application submission of
application will be fee the
reviewed within application
two business days

C. The fee for examination or re-examination is subject to
contracted charges by an outside vendor. These contracts are
competitively negotiated and bargained for in compliance
with the Virginia Public Procurement Act (8§ 2.2-4300 et seq.
of the Code of Virginia). The board may adjust the fee
charged to candidates in accordance with these contracts.

18VAC120-50-90. Renewal and reinstatement fees.

A. All fees are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated. The
date on which the fee is received by the department or its
agent will determine whether the fee has been submitted
within _the time requirements of this chapter. Checks or
money orders shall be made payable to the Treasurer of

Virginia.

Fee Type Fee When Due
Amount

Certification $100 Within 60 days

renewal of, but no later
than, the
expiration date
of the
certification

Certification $150 - Within one year

reinstatement includes of the expiration

renewal fee date of the

18VAC120-50-100. Certificate fees.

A. All fees are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated. The
date on which the fee is received by the department or its
agent will determine whether the fee has been submitted
within time requirements set forth in this chapter. Checks or
money orders shall be made payable to the Treasurer of

Virginia.
B. Fees are as follows:
Fee Type Fee Amount When Due
Wall $40 Upon
certificate submission of
the request for
awall
certificate
Duplicate First request Upon
pocket within same submission of
certification licensing period - the request for
card $0 a duplicate
Second request pocket
within same certification
licensing period - card
$25
Third or
subsequent
reguest within
five years - $50

C. Third and subsequent requests for duplicate certification
pocket cards or wall certificates may result in the director
initiating an_investigation to determine if a violation has
occurred.

Part 11l
Renewal and Reinstatement

18VAC120-50-110. Renewal.

A. Certifications issued under this chapter shall expire two
years from the last day of the month in which they were
issued.
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B. The department will mail a renewal notice to the requlant

renewal, reinstatement, processing of a new application, or

at the last known mailing address of record. Failure to receive

examination administration.

this notice shall not relieve the requlant of the obligation to
renew.

C. Requlants may renew their certifications up to 60 days
prior to the expiration date by submitting the fee specified in
18VAC120-50-90. If the regulant fails to receive the renewal
notice, a copy of the certification pocket card or wall
certification may be submitted with the required fee as an
application for renewal.

D. By renewing the certification the regulant is attesting
continued compliance with Part 1V (Standards of Conduct
and Practice [ , 18VAC120-50-140 et seq. ]) of this chapter.

E. The director may deny renewal of a certification card for

18VAC120-50-130. Status of regulant during the period
prior to reinstatement.

A. When a requlant is reinstated, the individual shall
continue to have the same certificate number and shall be
assigned an expiration date two years from the previous
B. A regulant who reinstates his certification shall be
regarded as having been continuously certified without
interruption. Therefore, the regulant shall remain under the
disciplinary authority of the board during this entire period
and may be held accountable for activities during this period.
Nothing in this chapter shall divest the director of the

the same reasons that he may refuse initial issuance or that he

authority to discipline a regulant for a violation of the law or

may discipline a requlant. The requlant has a right to appeal

requlations during the period of certification.

any such action by the director under the Administrative
Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).

F. Failure to timely pay any monetary penalty,
reimbursement of cost, or other fee assessed by consent order
or final order shall result in delaying or withholding services
provided by the department, such as, but not limited to,
renewal, reinstatement, processing of a new application, or
examination administration.

18VAC120-50-120. Reinstatement.

A. Should the department fail to receive the renewal
application or fees by the expiration date, the regulant will be
required to apply for reinstatement of the certification.

B. The date on which the reinstatement fee is received by
the department or its agent will determine whether the
certification is reinstated or a new application is required.

C. In order to ensure that certification holders are qualified

Part IV
Standards of Conduct and Practice

18VAC120-50-140. Grounds for disciplinary action.

The director may place a regulant on probation; impose a
monetary penalty; or revoke, suspend, or refuse to renew a
certification when the regulant has been found to have
violated or cooperated with others in violating any provisions
of this chapter or Chapter 23.4 (8 54.1-2355 et seq.) of Title
54.1 of the Code of Virginia.

18VAC120-50-150. Maintenance of certification.

A. Any change of address shall be reported within 30 days
of the change on a form provided by the department. The
department shall not be responsible for the regulant's failure
to receive notices or correspondence due to the regulant's
failure to report a change of address. A post office box,
private mail box, or other mailing service address alone is not

to practice as certified natural gas automobile mechanics and

acceptable as an address of record.

technicians, no reinstatement will be permitted once one year
from the expiration date has passed. After that date, the
applicant must apply for a new certification and meet the then
current _entry requirements, _including the successful
completion of the examination.

D. Any person who holds himself out as a certified natural
gas automobile mechanic or technician, without the
appropriate certification, may be subject to prosecution under
Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.

E. The director may deny reinstatement of a certification for
the same reasons that he may refuse initial issuance or that he
may discipline a requlant. The requlant has a right to appeal
any such action by the director under the Virginia
Administrative Process Act (8§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of
Virginia).

F. Failure to timely pay any monetary penalty,

B. Any name change of the requlant shall be reported within
30 days of the change on a form provided by the department.
The department shall not be responsible for the regulant's
failure to receive notices or correspondence due to the
requlant's failure to report a name change.

18VAC120-50-160. Transfer of certification prohibited.

No certification issued by the director shall be assigned or
otherwise transferred.

18VAC120-50-170. Prohibited acts.

A. All complaints against certified natural gas automobile
mechanics and technicians may be filed with the department
at any time during business hours, pursuant to subdivision A
8 of § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia.

B. The following acts are prohibited:
1. Failing in _any material way to comply with the

reimbursement of cost, or other fee assessed by consent order

provisions of Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.) or Chapter

or final order shall result in delaying or withholding services

23.4 (8 54.1-2355 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of

provided by the department, such as, but not limited to,

Virginia or the requlations of the department;
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2. Furnishing substantially inaccurate or incomplete

B. The course provider shall submit an application for

information to the department in obtaining, renewing,

course approval in a format approved by the director. The

reinstating, or maintaining a certification;

3. Negligence or incompetence in the practice of
alternative fuel vehicle repair, conversion, or maintenance;

4, Misconduct in the practice of alternative fuel vehicle
repair, conversion, or maintenance;

5. Failing to respond to an agent of the department or
providing false, misleading, or incomplete information to
an investigator seeking information in the investigation of
a complaint filed with the department against the regulant
or failing or refusing to claim certified mail sent to the
regulant's address of record shall constitute a violation of
this regulation;

6. Making any misrepresentation or making a false promise

application shall include, but is not limited to:
1. The name of the provider;
2. Provider contact person, address, and telephone number;
3. Contact hours for each course submitted for approval;

4. Schedule of courses, if established, including dates,
time, and locations;

5. Instructor information, including name, certification
number, if applicable, and a list of other appropriate trade

designations;
6. Course and material fees for each course offered; and

7. A syllabus for each course submitted for approval.
C. Each applicant for approval as an instructor for an

that might influence, persuade, or induce;

7. Assisting another to violate any provision of Chapter 1
(8 54.1-100 et seq.) or Chapter 23.4 (§ 54.1-2355 et seq.)
of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia or this chapter; or
combining or conspiring with or acting as agent, partner, or
associate for another to do so;

8. Allowing one's certification to be used by another;

9. After initial certification, being convicted or found
guilty, regardless of adjudication in any jurisdiction, of any
felony or of any misdemeanor, there being no appeal
pending therefrom or the time of appeal having elapsed.
Any plea of quilty or nolo contendere shall be considered a
conviction for the purposes of this subdivision. The record

approved formal vocational training provider shall have one
of the following qualifications:

1. A Natural Gas Automobile Mechanic or Technician
Certification issued by the director, or a comparable
certification as determined by the director, and two
consecutive  years  of  discipline-free  experience
immediately prior to application; or

2. A minimum of three years of active experience in the
subject matter being taught. Such applicants shall teach
only in the area of their expertise and will be required to
furnish proof of their expertise that is satisfactory to the
director.

D. Approval of formal vocation training courses shall expire

of a conviction received from a court shall be accepted as

three years from the year in which the approval was issued, as

prima facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt;

indicated on the approval document. At the end of the three

10. Failing to inform the department in writing within 30
days that the requlant has pleaded quilty or nolo
contendere _or was convicted and found quilty of any

years, the course provider shall submit a new application to
be approved by the director.

E. The course provider must establish and maintain a record

felony or of a misdemeanor; and

11. Failing to ensure that all work performed on natural gas
fuel vehicles is consistent with the requirements set forth
by the department, the U.S. Environmental Protection
Agency, the California Air Resources Board, the National
Fire Protection Agency 52: Vehicular Gaseous Fuel
Systems Code, or other applicable authority as determined

by the director.

Part V
Education Providers and Training Requirements

18VAC120-50-180. Requirements for formal vocational
training providers, instructor qualifications, and course
requirements.

A. The director is responsible for reviewing applications
from education providers seeking board approval. Provider
and course applications must be submitted by the
department's established deadlines.

for each student. The record shall include the student's name
and address; social security number or a control number
issued by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles; the
course_name and clock hours attended; and the course
syllabus or outline, the name [ er—names | of the instructor,
the date of successful completion, and the board's course
code. Records shall be available for inspection during normal
business hours by authorized representatives of the board.
Providers must maintain all student and class records for a
minimum of five years.

F. The course provider must provide each student with a
certificate of course completion or other documentation that
the student may use as proof of course completion. Such
documentation shall contain the hours of credit completed.
Fifty contact minutes shall equal one credit hour. No credit
shall be awarded for partial credit hours or partial completion
of the course.

G. The course provider certifies that the laws, reqgulations,
and industry practices that will be taught or utilized in the
course are up-to-date and that subsequent changes in the laws,
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regulations, or industry practices will be incorporated into the

audit of the approved courses, student records, or course

course curriculum as they occur.
18VAC120-50-190. Educational

provider and course

materials.
7. The provider fails to submit an electronic roster of

approval fees.
A. All fees are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated. The
date on which the fee is received by the department or its

students completing a course within seven business days in
a method and in a format approved by the department.

18VAC120-50-220. Course content.

agent will determine whether the fee has been submitted
within the time requirements of this chapter. Checks or
money orders shall be made payable to the Treasurer of

A. The following shall be included in the course that shall
not have less than 24 classroom hours, of which four hours

are hands on training:

1. Conversions, repairs, and maintenance.

3. National Fire Protection Agency 52: Vehicular Gaseous
Fuel System Code.

4. Principles of natural gas.
5. Natural gas fuel line safety and inspection.

6. Natural gas fuel container mounting.
7. Fundamentals of natural gas engines.

B. Courses shall be taught in a classroom environment. No
online courses or correspondence courses shall be approved.

Virginia.
B. Fees are as follows: 2. Safety.
Fee Type Fee When Due
Amount
Formal $190 Upon submission
education of the school
provider application
approval initial
application fee
8. Practical lab.

Course approval $190 Upon submission
application fee of the course

application

18VAC120-50-200. Posting formal education provider
certificate of approval.

Copies of formal education provider certificates of approval
must be available at the location a course is taught.

18VAC120-50-210. Termination of approval.

The director may withdraw approval of any formal
vocational provider or course for any of the following

18VAC120-50-230. Reporting changes.

Any change in the information provided in subsection B of
18VAC120-50-180 must be reported to the director within 30
days of the change with the exception of changes in the
schedule of courses, which must be reported within 10 days
of the change. Failure to report the changes as required may
result in the withdrawal of approval of the course provider by
the director.

reasons:

1. The provider, instructors, courses, or subjects no longer
meet the standards established by the director.

2. The provider or instructor solicits information from any
person for the purpose of discovering past examination
guestions or questions that may be used in future
examinations.

3. The provider or instructor distributes to any person
copies of examination  guestions or  otherwise
communicates to any person _examination questions
without receiving the prior written approval of the owner
to distribute or communicate those questions.

4. The provider, through an agent or otherwise, advertises
its services in a fraudulent, deceptive, or misrepresentative
manner.

5. Officials, instructors, or designees of the provider sit for
the natural gas automobile technician or mechanic
certification examination for any purpose other than to
obtain a certification.

6. The provider or instructor fails to allow any agent of the
board access to facilities or records to conduct a review or

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the
regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being
published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia
Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with
a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the
agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the
Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd
Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219.

FORMS (18VAC120-50)

Certification-Application A505-2310CERT-vi {rev-2/2016)

Natural Gas Automobile Mechanics or _Technicians
Certification Application, A505-2310CERT-v1 (rev. 5/2016)
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Natural Gas Automobile Mechanics and Technicians
Experience Verification Form, A505-2310CNG_EXP-v3

(rev. 5/2016)

Natural Gas Automobile Mechanics and Technicians
Training Provider Approval Application A505-2330SCHL-v1

(rev. 5/2016)

Natural Gas Automobile Mechanics and Technicians
Education Course Approval Application A505-2331CRS-v1

(rev. 5/2016) ]
Address Change Form, A406-ACHG-V5 (rev. 6/2015)

Name Change Form, A406-NAMECHG-v4 (rev. 6/2015)
VAR. Doc. No. R14-4029; Filed March 25, 2016, 1:02 p.m.

* L 4

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Final Regulation
Title of Requlation: 22VAC40-201. Permanency Services -
Prevention, Foster Care, Adoption and Independent
Living (amending 22VAC40-201-10; adding 22VAC40-
201-115).
Statutory Authority: 8§ 63.2-217, 63.2-900, and 63.2-915 of
the Code of Virginia.
Effective Date: June 1, 2016.
Agency Contact: Phyl Parrish, Department of Social Services,
Division of Family Services, 801 East Main Street,
Richmond, VA 23219-2901, telephone (804) 726-7926, FAX

(804) 726-7895, TTY (800) 828-1849, or email
phyl.parrish@dss.virginia.gov.
Summary:

Pursuant to Chapter 437 of the 2013 Acts of Assembly, this
regulatory action establishes a hearing process for
individuals eligible for benefits under the foster care
program and provides that those individuals may appeal to
the Commissioner of Social Services when they believe a
benefit has been denied or unreasonably delayed. The key
provisions of the regulation address (i) who has a right to
appeal to the commissioner, (ii) what decisions or benefits
may not be appealed, (iii) who is notified of the right to an
appeal and what is included in the notice, (iv) the ability of
the commissioner to delegate the duty and authority to duly
qualified officers, (v) information about the decision, and
(vi) the appellant’s right to judicial review.

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No
public comments were received by the promulgating agency.
22VAC40-201-10. Definitions.

The following words and terms when used in this regulation
chapter shall have the following meanings unless the context
clearly indicates otherwise:

"Administrative panel review" means a review of a child in
foster care that the local board conducts on a planned basis,
and that is open to the participation of the birth parents or
prior custodians and other individuals significant to the child
and family, to evaluate the current status and effectiveness of
the objectives in the service plan and the services being
provided for the immediate care of the child and the plan to
achieve a permanent home for the child.

"Adoption” means a legal process that entitles the person
being adopted to all of the rights and privileges, and subjects
the person to all of the obligations of a birth child.

"Adoption assistance" means a money payment or services
provided to adoptive parents on behalf of a child with special
needs.

"Adoption assistance agreement" means a written agreement
between the child-placing agency and the adoptive parents of
a child with special needs to provide for the unmet financial
and service needs of the child.

"Adoption Manual™ means Volume VII, Section 111, Chapter
C - Adoption/Agency Placement of the Service Program
Manual of the Virginia Department of Social Services dated
October 2009/March 2010.

"Adoption Progress Report” means a report filed with the
juvenile court on the progress being made to place the child in
an adoptive home. Section 16.1-283 of the Code of Virginia
requires that an Adoption Progress Report be submitted to the
juvenile court every six months following termination of
parental rights until the adoption is final.

"Adoption search"” means interviews and written or
telephone inquiries made by a local department to locate and
advise the biological parents or siblings of an adult adoptee's
request, by Application for Disclosure or petition to the court,
for identifying information from a closed adoption record.

"Adoptive home" means any family home selected and
approved by a parent, local board or a licensed child-placing
agency for the placement of a child with the intent of
adoption.

"Adoptive home study" means an assessment of a family
completed by a child-placing agency to determine the family's
suitability for adoption. The adoptive home study is included
in the dual approval process.

"Adoptive parent"” means any provider selected and
approved by a parent or a child-placing agency for the
placement of a child with the intent of adoption.

"Adoptive placement” means arranging for the care of a
child who is in the custody of a child-placing agency in an
approved home for the purpose of adoption.

"Adult adoption” means the adoption of any person 18 years

of age or older, carried out in accordance with § 63.2-1243 of
the Code of Virginia.
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"Agency placement adoption™ means an adoption in which a
child is placed in an adoptive home by a child-placing agency
that has custody of the child.

"AREVA" means the Adoption Resource Exchange of
Virginia that maintains a registry and photo-listing of children
waiting for adoption and families seeking to adopt.

"Assessment" means an evaluation of the situation of the
child and family to identify strengths and services needed.

"Birth family" means the child's biological family.

"Birth parent” means the child's biological parent and for
purposes of adoptive placement means a parent by previous
adoption.

"Birth sibling™ means the child's biological sibling.
"Board"” means the State Board of Social Services.
"Child" means any natural person under 18 years of age.

"Child-placing agency” means any person who places
children in foster homes, adoptive homes, or independent
living arrangements pursuant to § 63.2-1819 of the Code of
Virginia or a local board that places children in foster homes
or adoptive homes pursuant to §§ 63.2-900, 63.2-903, and
63.2-1221 of the Code of Virginia. Officers, employees, or
agents of the Commonwealth, or any locality acting within
the scope of their authority as such, who serve as or maintain
a child-placing agency, shall not be required to be licensed.

"Child with special needs" as it relates to adoption assistance
means a child who meets the definition of a child with special
needs set forth in 88 63.2-1300 and 63.2-1301 B of the Code
of Virginia.

"Children's Services Act" or "CSA" means a collaborative
system of services and funding that is child centered, family
focused, and community based when addressing the strengths
and needs of troubled and at-risk youth and their families in
the Commonwealth.

"Claim for benefits," as used in § 63.2-915 of the Code of
Virginia _and 22VAC40-201-115, means (i) foster care
maintenance, including enhanced maintenance; (ii) the
services set forth in a court approved foster care service plan,
the foster care services identified in an individual family
service plan developed by a family assessment and planning
team or other multi-disciplinary team pursuant to the
Children's Services Act (§ 2.2-5200 et seq. of the Code of
Virginia), or a transitional living plan for independent living
services; (iii) the placement of a child through an agreement
with the child's parents or guardians, where legal custody
remains with the parents or guardians; (iv) foster care
prevention services as set out in a prevention service plan; or
(v) placement of a child for adoption when an approved
family is outside the locality with the legal custody of the
child, in accordance with 42 USC § 671(a)(23).

"Close relative” means a grandparent, great-grandparent,
adult nephew or niece, adult brother or sister, adult uncle or
aunt, or adult great uncle or great aunt.

"Commissioner" means the commissioner of the department,
his designee, or his authorized representative.

"Community Policy and Management Team—(CGPMT)" or
"CPMT" means a team appointed by the local governing body
to receive funds pursuant to Chapter 52 (§ 2.2-5200 et seq.)
of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. The powers and duties of
the CPMT are set out in § 2.2-5206 of the Code of Virginia.

ne S Act_for At-Risk Y

"Concurrent permanency planning" means a sequential,
structured approach to case management which requires
working towards a permanency goal (usually reunification)
while at the same time establishing and working towards an
alternative permanency plan.

"Custody investigation" means a method to gather
information related to the parents and a child whose custody,
visitation, or support is in controversy or requires
determination.

"Department”
Services.

"Denied," as used in 8§ 63.2-915 of the Code of Virginia and
22VAC40-201-115, means the refusal to provide a claim for
benefits.

"Dual approval process" means a process that includes a
home study, mutual selection, interviews, training, and
background checks to be completed on all applicants being
considered for approval as a resource, foster or adoptive
family home provider.

“Fami i =~ "Family
assessment and planning team" or "FAPT" means the local
team created by the CPMT (i) to assess the strengths and
needs of troubled youths and families who are approved for
referral to the team and (ii) to identify and determine the
complement of services required to meet their unique needs.
The powers and duties of the FAPT are set out in § 2.2-5208
of the Code of Virginia.

"Foster care” means 24-hour substitute care for children
placed away from their parents or guardians and for whom
the local board has placement and care responsibility. Foster
care also includes children under the placement and care of
the local board who have not been removed from their home.

"Foster care maintenance payments" means payments to
cover federally allowable expenses made on behalf of a child
in foster care including the cost of food, clothing, shelter,
daily supervision, reasonable travel for the child to visit
relatives and to remain in his previous school placement, and
other allowable expenses in accordance with guidance
developed by the department.

means the State Department of Social
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"Foster Care Manual" means Chapter E - Foster Care of the
Child and Family Services Manual of the Virginia
Department of Social Services dated July 2011.

"Foster care placement” means placement of a child through
(i) an agreement between the parents or guardians and the
local board or the public agency designated by the CPMT
where legal custody remains with the parents or guardians, or
(ii) an entrustment or commitment of the child to the local
board or licensed child-placing agency.

"Foster care prevention™ means the provision of services to a
child and family to prevent the need for foster care placement.

"Foster care services" means the provision of a full range of
prevention, placement, treatment, and community services,
including but not limited to independent living services, for a
planned period of time as set forth in § 63.2-905 of the Code
of Virginia.

"Foster child" means a child for whom the local board has
assumed placement and care responsibilities through a
noncustodial foster care agreement, entrustment, or court
commitment before 18 years of age.

"Foster home" means the place of residence of any natural
person in which any child, other than a child by birth or
adoption of such person, resides as a member of the
household.

"Foster parent” means an approved provider who gives 24-
hour substitute family care, room and board, and services for
children or youth committed or entrusted to a child-placing
agency.

"Independent living arrangement” means placement of a
child at least 16 years of age who is in the custody of a local
board or licensed child-placing agency and has been placed
by the local board or licensed child-placing agency in a living
arrangement in which he does not have daily substitute
parental supervision.

"Independent living services" means services and activities
provided to a child in foster care 14 years of age or older who
was committed or entrusted to a local board of social services,
child welfare agency, or private child-placing agency.
Independent living services may also mean services and
activities provided to a person who was in foster care on his
18th birthday and has not yet reached the age of 21 years.
Such services shall include counseling, education, housing,
employment, and money management skills development,
access to essential documents, and other appropriate services
to help children or persons prepare for self-sufficiency.

“ “ "Individual family
service plan" or "IFSP" means the plan for services developed
by the FAPT in accordance with § 2.2-5208 of the Code of
Virginia.

"Intercountry placement” means the arrangement for the
care of a child in an adoptive home or foster care placement
into or out of the Commonwealth by a licensed child-placing
agency, court, or other entity authorized to make such

placements in accordance with the laws of the foreign country
under which it operates.

"Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children-4GPC)"
or "ICPC" means a uniform law that has been enacted by all
50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and the U.S.
Virgin Islands which establishes orderly procedures for the
interstate placement of children and sets responsibility for
those involved in placing those children.

"Interstate placement™ means the arrangement for the care of
a child in an adoptive home, foster care placement, or in the
home of the child's parent or with a relative or nonagency
guardian, into or out of the Commonwealth, by a child-
placing agency or court when the full legal right of the child's
parent or nonagency guardian to plan for the child has been
voluntarily terminated or limited or severed by the action of
any court.

"Investigation" means the process by which the local
department obtains information required by § 63.2-1208 of
the Code of Virginia about the placement and the suitability
of the adoption. The findings of the investigation are
compiled into a written report for the circuit court containing
a recommendation on the action to be taken by the court.

"Local department” means the local department of social
services of any county or city in the Commonwealth.

"Nonagency placement adoption" means an adoption in
which the child is not in the custody of a child-placing agency
and is placed in the adoptive home directly by the birth parent
or legal guardian.

"Noncustodial foster care agreement” means an agreement
that the local department enters into with the parent or
guardian of a child to place the child in foster care when the
parent or guardian retains custody of the child. The agreement
specifies the conditions for placement and care of the child.

"Nonrecurring expenses” means expenses of adoptive
parents directly related to the adoption of a child with special
needs including, but not limited to, attorney or other fees
directly related to the finalization of the adoption;,
transportation;, court costs;, and reasonable and necessary
fees of licensed child-placing agencies.

"Parental placement” means locating or effecting the
placement of a child or the placing of a child in a family
home by the child's parent or legal guardian for the purpose
of foster care or adoption.

"Permanency” means establishing family connections and
placement options for a child to provide a lifetime of
commitment, continuity of care, a sense of belonging, and a
legal and social status that go beyond a child's temporary
foster care placements.

"Permanency planning” means a social work practice
philosophy that promotes establishing a permanent living
situation for every child with an adult with whom the child
has a continuous, reciprocal relationship within a minimum
amount of time after the child enters the foster care system.
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"Permanency planning indicator-{PRPH" or "PPI" means a
tool used in concurrent permanency planning to assess the
likelihood of reunification. This tool assists the worker in
determining if a child should be placed with a resource family
and if a concurrent goal should be established.

"Prior custodian" means the person who had custody of the
child and with whom the child resided, other than the birth
parent, before custody was transferred to or placement made
with the child-placing agency when that person had custody
of the child.

"Putative Father Registry” means a confidential database
designed to protect the rights of a putative father who wants
to be notified in the event of a proceeding related to
termination of parental rights or adoption for a child he may
have fathered.

"Residential placement” means a placement in a licensed
publicly or privately owned facility, other than a private
family home, where 24-hour care is provided to children
separated from their families. A residential placement
includes children's residential facilities as defined in § 63.2-
100 of the Code of Virginia.

"Resource parent" means a provider who has completed the
dual approval process and has been approved as both a foster
and adoptive family home provider.

"Reunification" means the return of the child to his home
after removal for reasons of child abuse and neglect,
abandonment, child in need of services, parental request for
relief of custody, noncustodial agreement, entrustment, or any
other court-ordered removal.

"Service plan" means a written document that describes the
programs, care, services, and other support which will be
offered to the child and his parents and other prior custodians
pursuant to § 16.1-281 of the Code of Virginia,

"Service worker" means a worker responsible for case
management or service coordination for prevention, foster
care, or adoption cases.

"SSI" means Supplemental Security Income.

"State pool fund" means the pooled state and local funds
administered by CSA and used to pay for services authorized
by the CPMT.

"Step-parent adoption” means the adoption of a child by a
spouse;, or the adoption of a child by a former spouse of the
birth or adoptive parent in accordance with § 63.2-1201.1 of
the Code of Virginia.

"Title IV-E" means the title of the Social Security Act that
authorizes federal funds for foster care and adoption
assistance.

"Visitation and report" means the visitation conducted
pursuant to § 63.2-1212 of the Code of Virginia subsequent to
the entry of an interlocutory order of adoption and the written
report compiling the findings of the visitation which is filed
in the circuit court.

"Wrap around services" means an individually designed set
of services and supports provided to a child and his family
that includes treatment services, personal support services or
any other supports necessary to achieve the desired outcome.
Wrap around services are developed through a team
approach.

"Youth" means any child in foster care between 16 and 18
years of age or any person 18 to 21 years of age transitioning
out of foster care and receiving independent living services
pursuant to § 63.2-905.1 of the Code of Virginia.

22VVAC40-201-115. Foster care appeal process.

A. Any individual whose claim for benefits available
pursuant to 42 USC 8§ 670 et seq. or whose claim for benefits
pursuant to § 63.2-905 of the Code of Virginia is denied or is
not acted upon by the local department with reasonable
promptness shall have a right to appeal to the commissioner.

B. A hearing need not be granted when either state or federal
law requires automatic maintenance payment adjustments for
classes of recipients unless the reason for an individual appeal
is incorrect maintenance amount computation.

C. Placement decisions of local boards are final when in
accordance with the relevant provisions of Title 16.1 of the
Code of Virginia. However, in _accordance with 42 USC
§ 671(a)(23), a hearing shall be granted for the denial or delay
in placement of a child for adoption when an approved family
is outside the locality with the legal custody of the child.

D. The hearing shall be face-to-face or, at the option of the
commissioner or his designee, a hearing by telephone may be
held if the individual agrees. The individual shall be afforded
all rights as specified in this section, whether the hearing is
face-to-face or by telephone.

E. The local department [ er—in-these-cases-where-the-local
i i [ i j i [l
elleraa;tn e‘l tis-not-involved tlelllee_ iseee "Id' alaenla age! el ;
disciplinary-team ] shall inform an individual in writing of the
right to appeal the denial of a benefit or the delay of a
decision regarding a benefit under this section at the time the
applicable plan is written and at the time of any action
affecting claim for benefit. This shall include a written notice
to the birth parents or caretaker at the time a child comes into
foster care, a written notice to the guardian ad litem, and
written notice to foster parents at the time the foster care
agreement is signed. The notice shall include:

1. The right to a hearing;

2. The method by which the individual may obtain a
hearing; and

3. That the individual may be represented by an authorized
representative, such as legal counsel, relative, friend, or
other spokesman, or he may represent himself.

F. The local department [ er—in-those-cases-where-the local
dleraa; tme_l itisRotinvolved “el I'Ge. sed6 "I'd ralaenl Sagel el ;
diseiphinary-team | shall provide timely notice of a decision to
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discontinue, terminate, suspend, or change a benefit for the

L. The individual requesting the hearing or his

child. Timely notice means the notice is mailed at least 10

representative shall have adequate opportunity to:

days before the date the action becomes effective. If the
individual requests a hearing within the timely notice period,
the benefit shall not be suspended, reduced, discontinued, or
terminated, but is subject to recovery if the action is
sustained, until a decision is rendered after a hearing unless:
1. A determination is made at the hearing that the sole
issue is one of state or federal law or policy or a change in
state or federal law and not one of incorrect benefit
computation:;
2. A change affecting the individual's benefit occurs while
the hearing decision is pending and the individual fails to
request a hearing after notice of the change; or

3. The individual specifically requests that he not receive

1. Examine information relied upon by the local
department, licensed  child-placing agency, family
assessment and planning team, or other multi-disciplinary
team in considering the request for a benefit to the extent
that the information does not violate confidentiality

requirements;
2. Bring witnesses;

3. Establish all pertinent facts and circumstances;
4. Advance arguments without undue interference;
5. Question or refute testimony or evidence; and
6. Confront and cross-examine witnesses.
M. Decisions of the commissioner or designated hearing

continued benefits pending a hearing decision.

G. An individual shall be allowed to request a hearing for up
to 30 days after the denial of a claim for benefit. Reasonable
notice of the hearing shall be provided to the individual.
Within 90 days of the request for a hearing, the hearing shall
be conducted, a decision reached, and the individual notified
of the decision.

H. The commissioner may provide that a hearing request
made after the date of action, but during a period not in
excess of 10 days following such date, shall result in
reinstatement of the benefit to be continued until the hearing
decision unless (i) the individual specifically requests that
continued benefit not be paid pending the hearing decision or

officer _shall be based exclusively on evidence and other
material introduced at the hearing. The transcript or recording
of testimony and exhibits, or an official report containing the
substance of what transpired at the hearing, together with all
the papers and requests filed in the proceeding and the
decision of the commissioner or hearing officer shall
constitute the exclusive record and shall be available to the
individual at a place accessible to him or his representative at
a reasonable time.

N. Decisions by the commissioner or hearing officer shall
consist of a memorandum decision summarizing the facts and
identifying the requlations and policy supporting the decision.

0. The individual shall be notified of the decision in writing.

(ii) at the hearing it is determined that the sole issue is one of
state or federal law or policy. In any case where action was
taken without timely notice, if the individual requests a
hearing within 10 days of the mailing of the notice of the
action and the commissioner determines that the action
resulted from other than the application of state or federal law
or policy or a change in state or federal law, the benefit shall
be reinstated and continued until a decision is rendered after
the hearing unless the individual specifically requests that he
not receive continued benefits pending the hearing decision.

I. Pursuant to §63.2-915 of the Code of Virginia, the
commissioner may delegate the duty and authority to consider
and make determinations on any appeal filed in accordance
with this section to duly qualified officers.

J. The commissioner or designated hearing officer may deny
or_dismiss a request for a hearing where it has been
withdrawn by the individual in writing or where it is
abandoned. Abandonment may be deemed to have occurred if
the individual without good cause fails to appear by himself
or by authorized representative at the hearing scheduled for
such individual.

K. The hearing shall include consideration of the denial of a
claim for benefits or the local department's failure to act with
reasonable promptness on a request for a benefit for the
individual.

P. When the hearing decision is favorable to the individual,

the local department [ —Heensed-child-placing-agency—family
lanni ’ I li-discipli

team ] shall promptly begin the process to provide the
requested service or, in the case of foster care maintenance,
make corrective payments retroactively to the date the
incorrect action was taken, unless foster care maintenance
payments were continued during the pendency of the hearing
decision.

Q. The decision of the commissioner shall be binding and
considered a final agency action for purposes of judicial
review. The hearing decision shall be a memorandum
decision summarizing the facts and identifying the statutes
and regulations supporting the decision.

VAR. Doc. No. R14-3687; Filed March 29, 2016, 11:40 a.m.
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BOARD FOR ARCHITECTS, PROFESSIONAL
ENGINEERS, LAND SURVEYORS, CERTIFIED
INTERIOR DESIGNERS, AND LANDSCAPE
ARCHITECTS

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings

Pursuant to 8§ 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board
for Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors,
Certified Interior Designers, and Landscape Architects
conducted a small business impact review of 18VAC10-11,
Public Participation Guidelines, and determined that this
regulation should be retained in its current form. The Board
for Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors,
Certified Interior Designers, and Landscape Architects is
publishing its report of findings dated March 24, 2016, to
support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the
Code of Virginia.

1. The current regulations are necessary for the board to
comply with § 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia and
Chapter 321 of the 2008 Acts of Assembly.

2. No public comments were received during the public
comment period January 11, 2016, through February 1,
2016.

3. The regulations are not complex in nature.

4. The regulations do not overlap, duplicate, or conflict
with federal or state laws or regulations but instead work in
concert with them.

5. The last periodic review concluded December 2011. The
current regulations became effective November 2008.

6. No small business impact has been identified.

Contact Information: Kathleen R. Nosbisch, Executive
Director, Department of Professional and Occupational
Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond,
Virginia, 23233, telephone (804) 367-8514, FAX (866) 465-
6206, or email apelscidla@dpor.virginia.gov.

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board
for Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors,
Certified Interior Designers, and Landscape Architects
conducted a small business impact review of 18VAC10-20,
Board For Architects, Professional Engineers, Land
Surveyors, Certified Interior Designers, And Landscape
Architects Regulations, and determined that this regulation
should be retained in its current form. The Board for
Acrchitects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, Certified
Interior Designers, and Landscape Architects is publishing its
report of findings dated March 24, 2016, to support this
decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of
Virginia.

1. The current regulations establish minimum licensing
requirements for architects, professional engineers, land
surveyors, and landscape architects. Minimum standards
are necessary for these professions because these
individuals design the very infrastructure of the country
including buildings, bridges, and other important structures.
Ensuring that these professionals meet minimum education,
training, experience, and examination standards is crucial
to the protection of the public health, safety, and welfare.
The regulations also establish specific requirements for the
certification of interior designers. However, as a certificate
program, it does not affect the practice of interior design by
noncertified individuals. These regulations also establish
minimum requirements for business registrations.

2. Four public comments were received during the public
comment period January 11 through February 1, 2016. The
first comment recommends that the regulation regarding
the licensing/certification of architects, professional
engineers, land surveyors, certified interior designers, and
landscape architects be retained in order to help protect the
health, safety, and welfare. The other comments pertain to
allowing experience to replace education requirements. The
board determined to keep the requirements as currently
written.

3. The regulations are not complex in nature.

4. The regulations do not overlap, duplicate, or conflict
with federal or state laws or regulations but instead work in
concert with them.

5. The last periodic review concluded December 2011. The
current regulations became effective January 1, 2016.

6. No small business impact has been identified.

Contact Information: Kathleen R. Nosbisch, Executive
Director, Department of Professional and Occupational
Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond,
Virginia, 23233, telephone (804) 367-8514, FAX (866) 465-
6206, or email apelscidla@dpor.virginia.gov.

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION
Bureau of Insurance
March 23, 2016
Administrative Letter 2016-02

To: All Carriers with in force Long-Term Care Insurance
Policies in Virginia and All Interested Parties

Re: Rules Governing Long Term Care Insurance
14VAC5-200-125 Annual Rate Reports

This Administrative Letter serves to remind carriers with
Long-Term Care Insurance (LTCI) coverage in force in
Virginia of new reporting requirements beginning in 2016.
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In accordance with the Rules Governing Long Term Care
Insurance (Rules) at 14VAC5-200-125, insurers must report
to the commission annually by June 30 premium rates for all
LTCI policies. The first annual rate reports are due no later
than June 30, 2016.

The rules identify different reporting requirements depending
upon when the policies were issued and whether or not the
policies are currently being marketed. Insurers are responsible
for consulting the rules for more specific information
concerning the information to be reported.

To facilitate and standardize the completion and submission
of the annual rate reports, we strongly encourage insurers to
use the annual rate reporting forms developed by the bureau
and to submit the annual rate reports and any accompanying
documentation via the System for Electronic Rate and Form
Filings (SERFF). The annual rate reporting forms, which vary
depending upon the dates of issue of the policies and by their
marketing status, may be found on the bureau's website at
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/co/health/index.aspx.

Any policy forms that have or will be combined for purposes
of rate increases must also be combined in the annual rate
report.

An annual rate report is not required for non-cancellable
LTCI policies. An insurer may also request an exemption
from future annual rate reports for any form or forms for
which it provides written certification that it will not increase
premiums in the future.

Questions or requests for clarification should be directed to
Toni Janoski, Supervisor, Rates Section, Life and Health
Division, Bureau of Insurance, (804) 371-9945, or email
Toni.Janoski@scc.virginia.gov.

/sl Jacqueline K. Cunningham
Commissioner of Insurance

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business
Impact Review

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and 88 2.2-4007.1 and
2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Department of Criminal
Justice Services is conducting a periodic review and small
business impact review of 6VAC20-90, Rules Relating to
Regional Criminal Justice Training Academies.

The review of this regulation will be guided by the principles
in Executive Order 17 (2014). The purpose of this review is
to determine whether this regulation should be repealed,
amended, or retained in its current form. Public comment is
sought on the review of any issue relating to this regulation,
including whether the regulation (i) is necessary for the
protection of public health, safety, and welfare or for the
economic performance of important governmental functions;
(if) minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a

manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable
law; and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable.

The comment period begins April 18, 2016, and ends May
18, 2016.

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia
Regulatory Town Hall at
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments
may also be sent to Barbara Peterson-Wilson, Law
Enforcement Program Coordinator, 1100 Bank Street,
Richmond, Virginia, 23219, telephone (804) 225-4503, FAX
(804) 786-0410, or email barbara.peterson-
wilson@dcjs.virginia.gov.

Comments must include the commenter's name and address
(physical or email) information in order to receive a response
to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the
public comment period, a report of both reviews will be
posted on the Town Hall and a report of the small business
impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of
Regulations.

Revisions to the Virginia Criminal Justice Services
Training Manual and Compulsory Minimum Training
Standards

On March 24, 2016, the Criminal Justice Services Board's
Committee on Training voted to approve revisions to the
training standards related to terrorism awareness level
training. A detailed summary of the revisions will be emailed
to all training academies listed in the Department of Criminal
Justice Services Criminal Justice Directory. The revisions
will become effective May 19, 2016.

In accordance with the requirements of 6VAC20-20-25 and
6VVAC20-50-21 this general notice serves as notification to all
affected entities that revisions will be made to the Virginia
Criminal Justice Services Training Manual and Compulsory
Minimum Training Standards in the following areas:

Law Enforcement (Patrol) — Chapter 5, Patrol, 4.2, Special
Note.

Civil Process Officers (Field Training) — Chapter 5, Field
Training. Revisions have been made to Performance
Outcomes 9.7, 9.8, 9.9, and to the Special Note Section.

Courtroom Security Officers (Field Training) — Chapter 5,
Field Training. Revisions have been made to Performance
Outcomes 9.10, 9.11, 9.12, and to the Special Note Section.

Jail Officers (Field Training) — Chapter 5, Field Training.
Revisions have been made to Performance Outcomes 9.67,
9.68, and 9.69.

Basic Corrections Officer (Emergency Response) -
Chapter 5, Emergency Response. Revisions have been made
to Performance Outcomes 4.5, 4.5.2, 4.5.3, 4.5.4, the Lesson
Plan Guide under Performance Outcome 4.5. (Identify Public
Safety Response to Terrorism Awareness level training
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courses), the Training Objectives Related to 4.5, and to the
Criteria on which trainees will be tested.

Juvenile Corrections Officer (Emergency Response) —
Chapter 5, Emergency Response. Revisions have been made
to Performance Outcomes 4.7, 4.7.2, 4.7.3, 4.7.4, the Lesson
Plan Guide under Performance Outcome 4.7. (Identify Public
Safety Response to Terrorism Awareness level training
course), the Training Objectives Related to 4.5, and to the
Criteria on which trainees will be tested.

Contact _Information: Barbara Peterson-Wilson, Law
Enforcement Program Coordination, 1100 Bank Street, 12th
Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-4503,
FAX (804) 786-0410, or email barbara.peterson-
wilson@dcjs.virginia.gov.

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY

State Implementation Plan Revision - Amended
Motor Vehicle Emissions Budgets

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) is seeking
comments and announcing a public hearing on a proposed
revision to the Commonwealth of Virginia State
Implementation Plan (SIP). The Commonwealth intends to
submit amended motor vehicle emissions budgets (MVEBS)
as a revision to the Virginia SIP in accordance with the
federal Clean Air Act. The SIP is the plan developed by the
Commonwealth in order to fulfill its responsibilities under the
Act to attain and maintain the ambient air quality standards
promulgated by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
(EPA).

DEQ is seeking comments on the amended MVEBs for the
Northern Virginia portion of the Metropolitan Washington,
DC-MD-VA PM2.5 Maintenance Area, which consists of the
counties of Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun, and Prince William
and the cities of Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls Church, Manassas,
and Manassas Park.

Public comment period: April 18, 2016, to May 19, 2016.

A public hearing will be conducted at the Department of
Environmental Quality, Northern Region Office, 13901
Crown Court, Woodbridge, Conference Room 1, Virginia, at
10 a.m. on May 10, 2016. A map and directions maybe found
at http://www.deg.virginia.gov/Locations/NorthernRegional
Office.aspx.

This revision consists of amendments to the 1997 annual
primary fine particulate (PM2.5) maintenance plan for the
Washington DC-MD-VA PM2.5 Maintenance Area. These
revisions include changes to on-road MVEBs for very fine
particulate matter (PM2.5) and nitrogen oxides (NOy) based
on the EPA-approved MOVES2014 model. The MVEBs are
being revised in order to meet commitments in the area's
PM2.5 maintenance plan.

This notice is being given to satisfy the public participation
requirements of federal regulations (40 CFR 51.102). The
proposed amendments and any supporting technical
documents will be submitted as a revision to the SIP under
§ 110(a) of the federal Clean Air Act in accordance with 40
CFR 51.104.

DEQ accepts written comments by email, fax, and postal
mail. In order to be considered, comments must include the
full name, address, and telephone number of the person
commenting and be received by DEQ no later than the last
day of the comment period. Both oral and written comments
are accepted at the public hearing. DEQ prefers that
comments be provided in writing, along with any supporting
documents or exhibits. Comments must be submitted to Doris
A. McLeod, Air Quality Planner, Department of
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105,
Richmond, Virginia 23218, telephone (804) 698-4197, FAX
(804) 698-4510, or email doris.mcleod@deq.virginia.gov. All
materials received are part of the public record.

The proposal and any supporting documents are available on
the DEQ Air Public Notices for Plans web site at
http://www.deq.state.va.us/Programs/Air/PublicNotices/airpla
nsandprograms.aspx. The documents may also be obtained by
contacting Doris McLeod. The public may review the
documents between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. of each business
day until the close of the public comment period at the
following DEQ locations: Main Street Office, 8th Floor, 629
East Main Street, Richmond, VA, telephone (804) 698-4070
and Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court,
Woodbridge, VA, telephone (703) 583-3800.

Small Renewable Energy (Solar) Project - Accomack
County

SunTec Solar Solutions LLC, has provided notice to the
Department of Environmental Quality of its intent to submit
the necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small
renewable energy project (solar) in Accomack County,
Virginia, pursuant to §10.1-1197.6 B 1 of the Code of
Virginia and 9VAC15-60. The project is located between the
towns of Onancock, Virginia, and Tasley, Virginia, in the
vicinity of the Tasley electrical substation. The project is
expected to have four subprojects, each subproject expected
to have a maximum capacity of 20 megawatts alternating
current (AC), for a total combined maximum capacity of 80
megawatts AC. The subprojects will utilize traditional
photovoltaic solar modules and are expected to rotate
throughout the day to track the sun. The combined 80 MW of
subprojects will be sited across up to roughly 500 acres of
existing cleared land and across multiple parcels. The four
subprojects may ultimately be broken out, such that four
separate permits may be requested from the department,
pursuant to this notice.

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105,
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Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4423, FAX (804)
698-4510, or email mary.major@deq.virginia.gov.

Small Renewable Energy (Solar) Project - Isle of
Wight

On March 29, 2016, Ecoplexus, Inc. provided notice to the
Department of Environmental Quality of its intent to submit
the necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small
renewable solar energy project in Isle of Wight County. The
project will be located on a 122-acre parcel located at
approximately 15562 Scotts Factory Road, Smithfield,
Virginia. The parcel is bounded by Scotts Factory Road (SR
620) to the east and is located about 0.4 miles south of the
intersection of Scotts Factory Road and US 58. The project
will consist of solar modules; the exact number, inverters,
service boards, and transformers will be contingent upon final
electrical design specifications, with a nameplate generation
capacity of 14 megawatts AC. The notice of intended
regulatory action will be published in the Virginia Register of
Regulations on May 2, 2016.

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105,
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4423, FAX (804)
698-4510, or email mary.major@deq.virginia.gov.

DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AND
OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings

Pursuant to §2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation
conducted a small business impact review of 18VAC120-40,
Virginia Professional Boxing and Wrestling Events
Regulations, and determined that this regulation should be
retained in its current form. The Department of Professional
and Occupational Regulation is publishing its report of
findings dated March 24, 2016, to support this decision in
accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia.

1. The current regulations are necessary for the department
to comply with § 54.1-831 of the Code of Virginia.

2. Two hundred and nine individual comments were
received during the public comment period.

3. The regulations are not complex in nature.

4. The regulations do not overlap, duplicate, or conflict
with federal or state laws or regulations but instead work in
concert with them.

5. The last periodic review concluded December 2011. The
current regulations became effective October 1, 2015.

6. No small business impact has been identified.

Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond,
Virginia, 23233, telephone (804) 367-8514, FAX (866) 465-
6206, or email apelscidla@dpor.virginia.gov.

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD

Public Meeting and Public Comment - TMDL for the
Lower Chickahominy River Watershed in New Kent,
Charles City, and James City Counties

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) seeks
written and oral comments from interested persons on the
development of total maximum daily loads (TMDLs) for the
Lower Chickahominy River Watershed in New Kent, Charles
City, and James City Counties. These streams are listed on
the § 303(d) TMDL priority list and report as impaired due to
violations of the state's water quality standards for bacteria
for the recreation use.

Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C
of the State Water Control Law require the Department of
Environmental Quality to develop TMDLs for pollutants
responsible for each impaired water contained in Virginia's
§ 303(d) TMDL priority list and report.

Waterbodies identified for TMDL development include the
following:

Stream Impairment Location

Beaverdam
Creek

XAH-
Beaverdam
Creek, UT

New Kent County

Recreation Use

(bacteria) New Kent and James

City Counties

Diascund Creek

Mill Creek James City County

Barrows Creek Charles City County

Chickahominy
River

Charles City, James
City, New Kent
Counties

Gordon Creek

James City County

The final public meeting on the development of the TMDL to
address the recreation impairment for these segments will be
held on Tuesday April 26, 2016, at 1 p.m. at the Charles City
County Social Center, 8320 Ruthville Road, Providence
Forge, VA 23140. In the case of inclement weather the
meeting will be rescheduled for April 27, 2016, at 1 p.m.

A 30-day public comment period will be held to solicit
comments on the draft TMDL report. The public comment
period will begin April 27 and end May 27, 2016. The draft

C(_)ntact Information: Kathleen R Nosbisch, Execgtlve TMDL report can be found at
Director, Department of Professional and Occupational
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http://www.deq.virginia.gov/programs/water/waterqualityinfo
rmationtmdls/tmdl/tmdldevelopment/drafttmdlreports.aspx.

An advisory committee to assist in development of this
TMDL was convened October 7, 2015, and January 19, 2016.

A component of a TMDL is the wasteload allocation (WLA);
therefore, this notice is provided pursuant to § 2.2-4006 A 14
of the Administrative Process Act for any future adoption of
the TMDL WLA:s.

Information on the development of the TMDLs for the
impairments is available upon request. All written comments
include the name, address, and telephone number of the
person submitting the comments and should be sent to the
Kelley West, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060,
telephone (804) 527-6029, or email
kelley.west@deq.virginia.gov.

Proposed Enforcement Action for A & R Logistics,
Inc.

An enforcement action has been proposed for A & R
Logistics, Inc. for alleged violations of the State Water
Control Law in Chesapeake, Virginia. A description of the
proposed action is available at the Department of
Environmental Quality office named below or online at
www.deq.virginia.gov. John Brandt will accept comments by
email at john.brandt@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (757) 518-
2009, or postal mail at the Department of Environmental
Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern
Boulevard, Virginia Beach, VA 23462, from April 18, 2016,
to May 18, 2016.

Proposed Enforcement Action for the County of
Accomack at Wallops Research Park

An enforcement action has been proposed for the County of
Accomack for alleged violations of the State Water Control
Law at Wallops Research Park. A description of the proposed
action is available at the DEQ office named below or online
at www.deq.virginia.gov. John Brandt will accept comments
by email at john.brandt@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (757) 518-
2009, or postal mail at the Department of Environmental
Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern
Boulevard, Virginia Beach, VA 23462, from April 18, 2016,
to May 18, 2016.

Proposed Enforcement Action for S.B. Ballard
Construction Company

An enforcement action has been proposed for S.B. Ballard
Construction Company for alleged violations of the State
Water Control Law in Norfolk, Virginia. A description of the
proposed action is available at the DEQ office named below
or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. John Brandt will accept
comments by email at john.brandt@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at
(757) 518-2009, or postal mail at the Department of
Environmental Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636

Southern Boulevard, Virginia Beach, VA 23462, from April
18, 2016, to May 18, 2016.

Proposed Enforcement Action for Delmarva Power
& Light Company

An enforcement action has been proposed for Delmarva
Power & Light Company for alleged violations of the State
Water Control Law in Accomack County, Virginia. A
description of the proposed action is available at the
Department of Environmental Quality office named below or
online at www.deq.virginia.gov. John Brandt will accept
comments by email at john.brandt@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at
(757) 518-2009, or postal mail at the Department of
Environmental Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636
Southern Boulevard, Virginia Beach, VA 23462, from April
18, 2016, to May 18, 2016.

Proposed Enforcement Action for Enterprise
Leasing Company of Norfolk/Richmond, LLC

An enforcement action has been proposed for Enterprise
Leasing Company of Norfolk/Richmond, LLC for alleged
violations of the State Water Control Law in Chesapeake,
Virginia. A description of the proposed action is available at
the DEQ office named below or online at
www.deq.virginia.gov. John Brandt will accept comments by
email at john.brandt@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (757) 518-
2009, or postal mail at the Department of Environmental
Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern
Boulevard, Virginia Beach, VA 23462, from April 18, 2016,
to May 18, 2016.

Notice of Intent to Reauthorize Use of Virginia
Aguatic Resources Trust Fund as a Form of
Compensatory Mitigation under 9VAC25-210

Pursuant to § 62.1-44.15:20-23 of the Code of Virginia and
9VAC25-210-116 D, the State Water Control Board (the
Board) is giving notice of its intent to reauthorize the Virginia
Aquatic Resources Trust Fund (VARTF), one of several
acceptable forms of compensatory mitigation for permitted
impacts to state waters including streams and wetlands, to
continue use of its existing program instrument (instrument),
after considering public comment for a 30-day period starting
April 18, 2016.

The Nature Conservancy (TNC) remains the sponsor of
VARTF, an existing in-lieu fee compensatory mitigation
program, which has been in operation in the Commonwealth
of Virginia since 1995, in accordance with a memorandum of
understanding between TNC and the U.S. Army Corps of
Engineers (Corps), as amended in 2003. In 2011, the Virginia
Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) participated on
a work group with the Corps, TNC, the Environmental
Protection Agency (EPA), the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
(USFWS), and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric
Administration (NOAA) to develop the instrument, bringing
VARTF into compliance with the Federal Mitigation Rule (33
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CFR 332), which governs compensatory mitigation for
activities authorized by Corps permits, as well as Virginia
State Water Control Law and DEQ's Virginia Water
Protection Permit (VWPP) program.

The purpose of this reauthorization is to maintain guidelines,
responsibilities, and standards set forth in 2011 for the
establishment, use, operation, and maintenance of VARTF in
compliance with State Water Control Law and the VWPP
program. The instrument satisfies the requirements set forth
by the VWPP program in 9VAC25-210-116 D, including
dedication to the achievement of no net loss of wetland
acreage and functions or stream functions and water quality
benefits; consultation with DEQ on site selection; provision
of annual reports detailing projects and contributions by
watershed; and a mechanism to establish fee amounts.
Additionally, VARTF demonstrates, through annual reports,
that its efforts have enhanced wetland acreage and functions
or stream functions and water quality benefits, through the
preservation, creation, or restoration of wetlands or streams.
Lastly, VARTF continues to work in collaboration with the
interagency review team for in-lieu fee programs on efforts to
advance the VARTF program over time.

The board proposes to reauthorize VARTF to use the
instrument, continuing as a compensatory mitigation option
for a five-year period ending July 14, 2021. DEQ's approval
will remain in effect until July 14, 2021, provided that the
conditions of the instrument are met. Approval of VARTF
may be made by letter, after accepting and considering public
comments on its approval of VARTF for at least a 30-day
public comment period. A copy of this public notice and
links to the VARTF program instrument, exhibits, and most
recent VARTF annual report are available on the DEQ
website wetlands and streams public notice page at
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WetlandsStrea
ms/PublicNotices.aspx, under the program and regulatory
section. These documents may also be obtained by calling or
emailing David L. Davis. Written comments, including those
by email, must be received no later than 11:59 p.m. on May
18, 2016, and should be submitted to David L. Davis using
the contact information given below. Only those comments
received within the comment period will be considered by the
board. Written comments shall include the name, address, and
telephone number of the person submitting the comment,
shall reference "VARTF Reauthorization™ in the subject line,
and shall contain a complete, concise statement of the factual
basis for comments.

Contact Information: David L. Davis, Virginia Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Wetlands and Stream
Protection, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, Virginia 23218,
telephone (804) 698-4105, or email
dave.davis@deq.virginia.gov.

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION
Notice to State Agencies

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code
Commission, General Assembly Building, 201 North 9th
Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: Voice
(804) 786-3591; Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov.

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia
requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their
websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at
http://www.virginia.gov/connect/commonwealth-calendar.

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code
Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing
regulation sections that have been amended, added, or
repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the
regulations were originally published or last supplemented in
the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is
available at http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/
cumultab.pdf.

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of
Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information
System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for
publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The
Registrar's office works closely with the Department of
Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the
Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall
complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent
regulatory information.
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