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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 

publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 

days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 

necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 

clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 

comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 

to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 

completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 

comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 

than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 

period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 

appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 

may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 

objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 

will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 

by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 

with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 

Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 

substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 

30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 

public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 

receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 

comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 

inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 

certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 

process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 

provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 

objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 

consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 

Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 

emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 

regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 

law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 

days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 

operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 

unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 

more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 

months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 

Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 

procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 

agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 

Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 

regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 

180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 

chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 

prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

29:5 VA.R. 1075-1192 November 5, 2012, refers to Volume 29, Issue 

5, pages 1075 through 1192 of the Virginia Register issued on  

November 5, 2012. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

James M. LeMunyon, Vice Chair; Gregory D. Habeeb; Ryan T. 

McDougle; Pamela S. Baskervill; Robert L. Calhoun; Carlos L. 

Hopkins; E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; Christopher R. 

Nolen; Timothy Oksman; Charles S. Sharp; Mark J. Vucci. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 

Karen Perrine, Assistant Registrar; Anne Bloomsburg, Regulations 
Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Operations 

Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

July 2016 through July 2017 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

32:23 June 22, 2016 July 11, 2016 

32:24 July 6, 2016 July 25, 2016 

32:25 July 20, 2016 August 8, 2016 

32:26 August 3, 2016 August 22, 2016 

33:1 August 17, 2016 September 5, 2016 

33:2 August 31, 2016 September 19, 2016 

33:3 September 14, 2016 October 3, 2016 

33:4 September 28, 2016 October 17, 2016 

33:5 October 12, 2016 October 31, 2016 

33:6 October 26, 2016 November 14, 2016 

33:7 November 9, 2016 November 28, 2016 

33:8 November 22, 2016 (Tuesday) December 12, 2016 

33:9 December 7, 2016 December 26, 2016 

33:10 December 19, 2016 (Monday) January 9, 2017 

33:11 January 4, 2017 January 23, 2017 

33:12 January 18, 2017 February 6, 2017 

33:13 February 1, 2017 February 20, 2017 

33:14 February 15, 2017 March 6, 2017 

33:15 March 1, 2017 March 20, 2017 

33:16 March 15, 2017 April 3, 2017 

33:17 March 29, 2017 April 17, 2017 

33:18 April 12, 2017 May 1, 2017 

33:19 April 26, 2017 May 15, 2017 

33:20 May 10, 2017 May 29, 2017 

33:21 May 24, 2017 June 12, 2017 

33:22 June 7, 2017 June 26, 2017 

33:23 June 21, 2017 July 10, 2017 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC60-21. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Dentistry. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Deborah R. Blanchard, DDS. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: The request is to eliminate the 

requirement for posting of a copy of a dentist's registration 

issued by the Drug Enforcement Administration to avoid 

opportunity for individuals to use the number for illegal 

purposes. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: The petition will be 

published on July 11, 2016, in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations and posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall 

at www.townhall.virginia.gov to receive public comment 

ending August 10, 2016. The request to amend regulations 

and any comments for or against the petition will be 

considered by the board at its meeting scheduled for 

September 16, 2016. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 10, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Sandra Reen, Executive Director, 

Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4437, 

email sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-28; Filed June 16, 2016, 2:03 p.m. 

 
PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board 

intends to consider amending 9VAC25-890, General 

VPDES Permit for Discharges of Stormwater from Small 

Municipal Separate Storm Sewer Systems. The purpose of 

the proposed action is to amend and reissue the existing 

general permit, which expires on June 30, 2018. The general 

permit governs local governments, state agencies, and federal 

agencies that discharge stormwater from municipally owned 

separate storm sewer systems located within "urbanized 

areas" as designated by the U.S. Census Bureau.  

In addition, pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and § 2.2-

4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the agency is conducting a 

periodic review and small business impact review of this 

regulation to determine whether this regulation should be 

terminated, amended, or retained in its current form. Public 

comment is sought on the review of any issue relating to this 

regulation, including whether the regulation (i) is necessary 

for the protection of public health, safety, and welfare or for 

the economical performance of important governmental 

functions; (ii) minimizes the economic impact on small 

businesses in a manner consistent with the stated objectives 

of applicable law; (iii) is designed to achieve its intended 

objective in the most efficient, cost-effective manner; (iv) is 

clearly written and easily understandable; and (v) overlaps, 

duplicates, or conflicts with federal or state law or regulation. 

Additional consideration will be given to the degree to which 

technology, economic conditions, or other factors have 

changed in the area affected by the regulation since the last 

review.  

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15:28 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 10, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Bauer, Department of Environmental 

Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, 

VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4416, FAX (804) 698-5106, 

or email jaime.bauer@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4777; Filed June 22, 2016, 7:47 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Medical Assistance 

Services intends to consider amending 12VAC30-60, 

Standards Established and Methods Used to Assure High 

Quality Care. The purpose of the proposed action is to 

implement Chapter 413 of the 2014 Acts of Assembly, Item 

301 QQQQ of Chapter 3 of the 2015 Acts of Assembly, and 

Item 306 PPP of Chapter 780 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly 

and to improve the preadmission screening process for 

individuals who will be eligible for long-term services and 

supports. The regulatory action may include (i) adding 

requirements for accepting screening requests, managing the 

screening process, and submitting findings from screenings 

completed by community and hospital preadmission 

screening (PAS) teams and contractors performing 

screenings; (ii) use of the electronic preadmission screening 

(ePAS) system; (iii) contracting with public or private entities 

to perform screenings that have not been completed within 30 

days of an individual's request; (iv) contracting out 

community based screenings for children; (v) clarifying 

requirements of community and hospital PAS teams and 

screenings performed by these teams; and (vi) adding a 

definitions section. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 10, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, Policy Division, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4355; Filed June 21, 2016, 10:25 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING  

BOARD OF NURSING  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Nursing intends to 

consider amending 18VAC90-50, Regulations Governing 

the Certification of Massage Therapists, as a result of the 
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periodic review of regulations conducted by the board. The 

purpose of the proposed action is to clarify certain sections, 

offer additional options for completion of continuing 

education, require an attestation of compliance with laws and 

ethics for initial certification, and add provisions to the 

standards of conduct that may subject a regulant to 

disciplinary action. The Board of Nursing will initiate a 

separate regulatory action to amend the regulation in 

accordance with Chapter 324 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly, 

which requires that massage therapists be licensed, rather than 

certified.  

This Notice of Intended Regulatory Action serves as the 

report of the findings of the regulatory review pursuant to 

§ 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1 2400 and 54.1-3005 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 10, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 

Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4515, FAX 

(804) 527-4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4739; Filed June 18, 2016, 11:19 a.m.  

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Pharmacy intends to 

consider (i) amending 18VAC110-20, Regulations 

Governing the Practice of Pharmacy, and 18VAC110-50, 

Regulations Governing Wholesale Distributors, 

Manufacturers, and Warehousers and (ii) adopting 

18VAC110-16, Regulations Governing the Delegation of 

Informal Fact-Finding Proceedings to an Agency 

Subordinate, and 18VAC110-25, Regulations Governing 

the Licensure of Pharmacists and Registration of 

Pharmacy Technicians. The purpose of the proposed action 

is to (i) reduce the size and complexity of 18VAC110-20 by 

moving some of the provisions of that chapter into new 

chapters and (ii) amend 18VAC110-20 and 18VAC110-50 to 

clarify certain requirements, incorporate provisions currently 

found in guidance documents, and update and streamline 

requirements where possible. Provisions relating to the 

licensure of pharmacists and registration of pharmacy 

technicians and certain general provisions will be moved 

from 18VAC110-20 to new chapter 18VAC110-25. 

Additionally, 18VAC110-20-15, relating to criteria for 

delegation of informal fact-finding proceedings to an agency 

subordinate, will be moved into new chapter 18VAC110-16 

because it applies to all types of licensees, registrants, and 

permit holders regulated by the board.  

The regulatory action being considered is in response to a 

periodic review of the regulations, and this Notice of Intended 

Regulatory Action serves as the report of the findings of the 

regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3307 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 10, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4416, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4673; Filed June 18, 2016, 11:20 a.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-160. Rules and Regulations 

Governing the Transportation of Horses (repealing 

2VAC5-160-10 through 2VAC5-160-90).  

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-6501 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 10, 2016. 

Effective Date: August 25, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Dr. Carolynn Bissett, Program Manager, 

Office of Veterinary Services, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-2483, FAX (804) 371-2380, TTY (800) 

828-1120, or email carolynn.bissett@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 3.2-109 of the Code of Virginia establishes the 

board as a policy board with the authority to adopt regulations 

in accordance with the provisions of Title 3.2 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Section 3.2-6501 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the board 

to adopt regulations and guidelines consistent with the 

objectives and intent of the Virginia Comprehensive Animal 

Care Law (Chapter 65 of Title 3.2 of the Code) concerning 

the care and transportation of animals. 

Purpose: The proposed regulatory action will repeal this 

regulation that has not been utilized or applied since it was 

adopted over 25 years ago. The agency cannot foresee a 

circumstance where the regulation would be needed in the 

future as there are no longer any operating horse slaughter 

plants in the United States. If horse slaughter plants were to 

reopen in the United States, or if Virginia horses are 

transported outside of the United States for slaughter, the 

humane care of horses is covered under the Virginia 

Comprehensive Animal Care Law. Additionally, federal 

regulations pertaining to the commercial transportation of 

equines for slaughter can be found in 9 CFR Part 88. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

regulation has not been utilized or applied since it was 

adopted over 25 years ago, and the agency cannot foresee a 

circumstance where the regulation would be needed in the 

future as other state animal care laws and federal laws 

pertaining to this topic exist. There is no longer a need for 

this regulation. The agency is not aware of any stakeholders 

suggesting that the regulation be retained or that the 

regulation is of any benefit to them. 

Substance: The proposed regulatory action will repeal this 

regulation that has not been utilized or applied since it was 

adopted over 25 years ago. The agency cannot foresee a 

circumstance where the regulation would be needed in the 

future as there are no longer any operating horse slaughter 

plants in the United States. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is the repeal of an 

outdated regulation that specifies actions that have never been 

taken. The agency and the Commonwealth will no longer be 

in a position of having an outdated regulation that is not 

enforced. This action to eliminate an outdated, unnecessary 

regulation is part of good governance. There are no 

disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth associated 

with repealing the regulation. 

Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings:  This 

regulatory action serves as the report of the findings of the 

regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services (Board) 

proposes to repeal this regulation.  

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The existing regulation provides 

the rules regarding the transportation of loads of more than 

six horses being transported to a commercial slaughter facility 

in a vehicle. The regulation does not address the 

transportation of horses under other circumstances. 

The regulation has not been utilized or applied since it was 

adopted over 25 years ago; also, the Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services cannot foresee a 

circumstance where the regulation would be needed in the 

future, as there are no longer any operating horse slaughter 

plants in the U.S. If horse slaughter plants were to reopen in 

the U.S., or if Virginia horses are transported outside of the 

U.S. for slaughter, the humane care of horses is covered under 

the Virginia Comprehensive Animal Care Law.
1
 Additionally, 

federal regulations pertaining to the commercial 

transportation of equines for slaughter can be found in 9 CFR, 

Part 88. 

The repeal of this regulation will have no impact beyond 

potentially reducing the likelihood that readers may be misled 

into believing that the transport of horses to operating horse 
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slaughter plants is currently done in Virginia. To the extent 

that the repeal of the regulation reduces the likelihood of such 

confusion, the proposed repeal would be beneficial.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. Since there are no operating 

horse slaughter plants in the U.S. and this regulation has not 

been utilized or applied since it was adopted over 25 years 

ago, its repeal will not significantly affect any businesses or 

entities.  

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed repeal of the 

regulation does not disproportionately affect particular 

localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed repeal of the 

regulation does not affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed repeal of the regulation does not affect the use and 

value of private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed repeal of the 

regulation does not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed repeal of the 

regulation does not affect small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed repeal of the regulation does not affect small 

businesses. 

Adverse Impacts:  

Businesses. The proposed repeal of the regulation will not 

adversely affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed repeal of the regulation will not 

adversely affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed repeal of the regulation will not 

adversely affect other entities. 

_________________ 
1http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title3.2/chapter65/ 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The regulatory action repeals the chapter, which has not 

been utilized or applied since it was adopted over 25 years 

ago. The agency cannot foresee a circumstance where the 

regulation would be needed in the future as other state 

animal care laws and federal laws pertaining to this topic 

exist. Therefore, the regulation is repealed.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4645; Filed June 21, 2016, 11:27 a.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-501. Regulations Governing 

the Cooling, Storing, Sampling and Transporting of Milk 

(amending 2VAC5-501-10, 2VAC5-501-50 through 

2VAC5-501-90; repealing 2VAC5-501-110).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 3.2-5206, 3.2-5223, and 3.2-5224 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 10, 2016. 

Effective Date: August 25, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Robert Trimmer, Program Supervisor, 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 

1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-1452, FAX 

(804) 371-7792, TTY (800) 828-1120, or email 

robert.trimmer@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 3.2-109 of the Code of Virginia establishes the 

Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services as a policy 

board and authorizes the board to adopt regulations in 

accordance with the provisions of Title 3.2 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Section 3.2-5206 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the board 

to establish definitions and standards of quality and identity 

and to adopt and enforce regulations dealing with the issuance 

of permits, production, importation, processing, grading, 

labeling, and sanitary standards for milk, milk products, 

market milk, market milk products, and those products 

manufactured or sold in semblance to or as substitutes for 

milk, milk products, market milk, or market milk products.  

This section also authorizes the board to adopt (i) any 

regulation or part thereof under federal law that pertains to 

milk or milk products, amending the federal regulation as 

necessary for intrastate application and (ii) any model 

ordinance or regulation issued under federal law including the 

Pasteurized Milk Ordinance (PMO) and the U.S. Department 

of Agriculture's Milk for Manufacturing Purposes. 

Purpose: The amendments bring the regulation in line with 

current federal standards as established by the 2013 revision 

of the PMO. In addition to providing for consistency with 

current federal standards and existing Virginia regulations, 

these amendments provide for sufficient flexibility regarding 

milk storage times for the dairy industry while continuing to 

protect the public's health, safety, and welfare by ensuring the 

safety and wholesomeness of all milk shipped from Virginia 

dairy farms. 

Surrounding states have already updated their regulations to 

be consistent with the less stringent requirements established 

in the revised PMO governing the storage and transportation 

of milk. The changes facilitate interstate sales of Virginia 

milk producers by providing a level playing field with 

surrounding states in regards to the storage and transportation 

of milk. The regulatory modifications should effect a cost 

savings to producers associated with the transportation of 
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milk from farms to processing facilities with no adverse 

effects on the health and safety of consumers. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

amendments are noncontroversial changes requested by the 

dairy industry and bring the regulation in line with current 

federal standards and regulations adopted by surrounding 

states. The amendments are less stringent than the 

requirements currently in place, and producers are not 

required to exercise the 72-hour storage option. The 

additional 20 hours of storage provided for in the 

amendments does not affect the safety of the milk supply and 

reduces producer costs associated with the transportation of 

milk. The amendment aids producers during extreme weather 

events that disrupt normal transportation by increasing the 

permissible storage time and reducing the need to seek 

emergency variances during such weather events. 

Substance: The substantive changes are as follows: 

1. The addition of 20 hours of milk storage time in a farm 

bulk tank, allowing for the sale of milk no older than 72 hours 

from completion of the first milking. The current regulation 

allows 52 hours of storage time in a farm bulk tank. 

2. Allows for a 24, 48, or 168 hour (seven day) rotation of 

recording charts based on the frequency of milk pick up. 

These changes align the regulations with existing federal 

regulation and regulations of surrounding states. 

The removal of 2VAC5-501-110 from the chapter since this 

section is no longer relevant and is unnecessary for the 

enforcement of 2VAC5-501. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is that the 

regulation allows for the safe storage and cooling of milk 

produced on dairy farms in Virginia and sold in intrastate and 

interstate commerce. This ensures that the public is afforded 

the opportunity to consume a safe product and further ensures 

that the dairy industry is afforded additional flexibility 

regarding the storage of milk. 

The primary advantage to the agency and Commonwealth is 

that the regulation ensures that the Commonwealth can 

adequately protect the public. The requirements also aid the 

continued intrastate and interstate sale of milk on a more 

competitive basis, which ultimately benefits Virginia's 

economy. 

This regulatory action poses no disadvantages to the public or 

the Commonwealth. 

Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings: This 

regulatory action serves as the report of the findings of the 

regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (DACS) 

proposes to increase the permissible storage time of milk in a 

farm bulk tank from 52 hours to 72 hours and to allow the use 

of chart recorders supporting a 72-hour pick up schedule. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. In most farms once milk is 

obtained from the cow it is stored in a tank to be picked up by 

a hauler at certain frequencies to be delivered to the 

processing plant. Under the current regulations, producers can 

store milk in a farm tank up to 52 hours. However, the 

permissible storage time in surrounding states as well as the 

standard established in the federal Pasteurized Milk 

Ordinance is 72 hours. The proposed regulation will allow 

storage of milk in Virginia farms up to 72 hours. 

An increase in storage time would allow producers to reduce 

the frequency of pick-ups from the farm; albeit lower 

frequency pick-ups may require a larger tank and a new chart 

recorder. According to DACS, haulers usually charge $65 to 

$100 per pick-up; the cost of a storage tank is about $100 per 

gallon of capacity; and a recorder that can support a 72-hour 

rotation schedule costs about $1,800. The proposed regulation 

allows but does not require storage of milk up to 72 hours. 

Thus, producers that anticipate savings from less frequent 

pick-ups will be allowed to do so under the proposed 

regulation. The proposed change may also reduce the need to 

seek emergency variances during extreme weather events. 

Given the federal ordinance and the permissible storage times 

from neighboring states, the proposed increase in the storage 

time is not expected to affect the safety of milk supply or 

pose any health risks. 

In addition, consistency with dairy industry standards in 

surrounding states would promote competition. Virginia 

farmers will now be able to reduce their transportation costs 

to the levels comparable to those of producers in other states 

which may promote production. Since Virginia's current 

storage times are more restrictive than the other states, there 

may also be an increase in the quantity of milk imported to 

the Commonwealth further promoting competition. 

The remaining proposed changes are clarifying in nature and 

are not expected to create any significant economic effects 

other than improving the clarity of the regulation. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. There are 639 estimated 

Grade "A" milk producers in Virginia. Some of these 

producers may already have the storage tank capacity and a 

chart recorder to accommodate a 72-hour pick-up schedule. 

There are 281 licensed haulers that drive the trucks and pick 

up milk and 17 companies in and out of state that hire them. 

There are approximately five dairy equipment dealers in 

Virginia that represent or distribute for a number of dairy 

equipment manufacturers.
1
 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed changes apply 

statewide. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed changes will 

allow the dairy industry to reduce transportation costs and 
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improve competition. An increase in competition may lead to 

more production and an increased demand for labor. In 

addition, demand for storage tanks and chart recorders may 

increase. On the other hand, less frequent milk pick up times 

has the potential to reduce the demand for transportation 

services offered by milk haulers. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed changes may have a positive impact on asset values 

of some producers of milk, manufacturers, distributors, and 

installers of storage tanks and chart recorders, and may have a 

negative impact on asset values of some milk haulers and 

businesses that hire them. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. Most of the producers of milk, milk 

haulers, distributors and installers of tanks and recorders are 

considered small businesses. The potential effects on them are 

the same as those discussed above. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There is 

no known alternative to minimize the potential adverse 

impact on milk haulers and businesses that hire them while 

achieving the intended policy goals. 

Adverse Impacts:  

Businesses. The proposed amendments are not anticipated to 

have an adverse impact on non-small businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect other entities. 

_______________________ 
1 Data source: Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) add 20 hours of milk storage time in a 

farm bulk tank, allowing for the sale of milk no older than 

72 hours from completion of the first milking; (ii) allow the 

use of a 24-hour, 48-hour, or 168-hour (seven-day) chart 

recorder based upon the frequency of milk pickup from 

producers; and (iii) update certain standards incorporated 

by reference. 2VAC5-501-110 is repealed as it is no longer 

necessary for the enforcement of the chapter. 

2VAC5-501-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Bulk milk hauler" means any person who holds a permit 

issued by the Virginia Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services to collect official milk samples and 

transport: (i) raw milk from a dairy farm to a milk plant, 

receiving station, or transfer station; or (ii) raw milk products 

from one milk plant, receiving station, or transfer station to 

another milk plant, receiving station, or transfer station.  

"Bulk milk pickup tanker" means a vehicle, including the 

truck, tank, and those appurtenances necessary for its use, 

used by a bulk milk hauler or bulk milk sampler to transport 

bulk raw milk for pasteurization from a dairy farm to a milk 

plant, receiving station, or transfer station.  

"Bulk milk pickup tanker commingled milk" means the 

commingled raw milk from two or more dairy farms which 

that has not been removed from the bulk milk pickup tanker.  

"Bulk milk sampler" means any person who holds a permit 

issued by the Virginia Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services to collect, store, or transport official milk 

samples.  

"Cancel" means to permanently nullify, void, or delete a 

permit issued by the Virginia Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services.  

"Contract hauler" or "subcontract hauler" means any person 

who contracts; (i) to transport raw milk from a dairy farm to a 

milk plant, receiving station, or transfer station; or (ii) to 

transport raw milk or milk products between a milk plant, 

receiving station, or transfer station and another milk plant, 

receiving station, or transfer station.  

"Dairy farm" means any place or premises (i) where any 

cow, goat, sheep, water buffalo, or other mammal (except 

humans) is kept, or (ii) from which any cow, goat, sheep, 

water buffalo, or other mammal (except humans) milk, dairy 

product, or milk product is sold or offered for sale for human 

consumption.  

"Dairy plant sampler" means any employee of: (i) a milk 

plant who is responsible for collecting official milk samples 

in the Commonwealth of Virginia;, (ii) the Virginia 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services who is 

responsible for collecting raw milk or pasteurized milk 

product samples at a milk plant;, or (iii) the Virginia 

Department of Health who is responsible for collecting raw 

milk or pasteurized milk product samples at a milk plant and 

who holds a permit issued by the Virginia Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services for the collection of 

official milk samples for regulatory purposes.  

"Dairy product" means butter, natural or processed cheese, 

dry whole milk, nonfat dry milk, dry buttermilk, dry whey, 

evaporated whole or skim milk, condensed whole milk, and 

condensed plain or sweetened skim milk.  
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"Deny" means the Virginia Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services will not issue a permit to the applicant.  

"Farm bulk cooling or holding tank" means any tank 

installed on a dairy farm for the purpose of cooling or storing 

raw milk.  

"Milk" means the whole, fresh, clean lacteal secretion 

obtained by the complete milking of one or more healthy 

cows, goats, sheep, water buffalo, or other mammal (except 

humans) intended for human consumption excluding that 

obtained before and after birthing for such a period as may be 

necessary to render the milk practically colostrum-free.  

"Milk plant" means any place, premises, or establishment 

where milk, milk products, or dairy products are collected, 

handled, processed, stored, pasteurized, aseptically processed, 

bottled, packaged, or prepared for distribution.  

"Milk producer" means any person who operates a dairy 

farm and provides, sells, or offers any milk for human 

consumption.  

"Milk product" means: (i) acidified lowfat milk, acidified 

milk, acidified milk product, acidified skim milk, acidified 

sour cream, acidified sour half-and-half, aseptically processed 

milk, aseptically processed milk product, buttermilk, coffee 

cream, concentrated milk, concentrated milk product, cottage 

cheese, cottage cheese dry curd, cream, cultured half-and-

half, cultured milk, cultured lowfat milk, cultured skim milk, 

cultured sour cream, dry curd cottage cheese, eggnog, 

eggnog-flavored milk, flavored milk, flavored milk product, 

fortified milk, fortified milk product, frozen milk concentrate, 

goat milk, half-and-half, heavy cream, lactose-reduced lowfat 

milk, lactose-reduced milk, lactose-reduced skim milk, light 

cream, light whipping cream, lowfat cottage cheese, lowfat 

milk, lowfat yogurt, low-sodium lowfat milk, low-sodium 

milk, low-sodium skim milk, milk, nonfat milk, nonfat 

yogurt, recombined milk, recombined milk product, 

reconstituted milk, reconstituted milk product, sheep milk, 

skim milk, sour cream, sour half-and-half, table cream, 

vitamin D milk, vitamin D milk product, whipped cream, 

whipped light cream, whipping cream, or yogurt; (ii) any of 

the following foods: milk, lowfat milk, or skim milk with 

added safe and suitable microbial organisms; or (iii) any food 

made with a food specified in clause (i) of this definition by 

the addition or subtraction of milkfat or addition of safe and 

suitable optional ingredients for protein, vitamin, or mineral 

fortification. Milk products also include those dairy foods 

made by modifying the federally standardized products listed 

above in this definition in accordance with 21 CFR 130.10 - 

Requirements for foods named by use of a nutrient content 

claim and a standardized term.  

"Milk tank truck" means the term used to describe both a 

bulk milk pickup tanker and a milk transport tank.  

"Milk tank truck cleaning facility" means any place, 

premise, or establishment, separate from a milk plant, 

receiving station, or transfer station where a bulk milk pickup 

tanker or milk transport tank is cleaned and sanitized.  

"Milk transport tank" means a vehicle, including the truck 

and tank, used by a bulk milk hauler to transport bulk 

shipments of milk, milk product, or dairy product from a milk 

plant, receiving station, or transfer station to another milk 

plant, receiving station, or transfer station.  

"Official laboratory" means a facility where biological, 

chemical, or physical testing is performed that is operated or 

approved by the state regulatory authority.  

"Official milk sample" means each sample of milk, milk 

product, or dairy product that is collected for compliance with 

requirements of this chapter by a person who holds a permit 

to collect milk, milk product, or dairy product samples issued 

by the state regulatory authority.  

"Other mammals" means any mammal except humans, 

cows, goats, sheep, or water buffalo.  

"Pay purpose laboratory" means a laboratory that conducts 

tests for the purpose of determining the composition of milk, 

milk product, cream, or dairy product as a basis for payment 

in buying or selling any milk, milk product, cream, or dairy 

product.  

"Permit" means the written document issued by the Virginia 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services to a 

person qualified to (i) be a bulk milk hauler, bulk milk 

sampler, contract hauler, subcontract hauler, dairy plant 

sampler, or pay purpose tester, or to (ii) operate a pay purpose 

laboratory, bulk milk pickup tanker, or milk transport tank.  

"Person" means any individual, plant operator, partnership, 

corporation, company, firm, trustee, institution, or 

association.  

"Raw" means unpasteurized.  

"Receiving station" means any place, premises, or 

establishment where any milk, milk product, or dairy product 

is received, collected, handled, stored or cooled, and prepared 

for further transporting.  

"Revoke" means to permanently annul, repeal, rescind, 

countermand, or abrogate the opportunity for any person or 

persons to hold a permit issued by the Virginia Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services.  

"State regulatory authority" means the Virginia Department 

of Agriculture and Consumer Services, the agency having 

jurisdiction and control over the matters embraced within this 

chapter.  

"Summarily suspend" means the immediate suspension of a 

permit issued by the state regulatory authority without the 

permit holder being granted the opportunity to contest the 

action prior to the effective date and time of the suspension.  

"Suspend" means to temporarily nullify, void, debar, or 

cease for a period of time a permit issued by the Virginia 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services.  

"Transfer station" means any place, premises, or 

establishment where milk, dairy products, or milk products 

are transferred directly from one milk transport milk tank to 
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another, or from one or more bulk milk pickup tankers to one 

or more milk transport milk tanks.  

"Transport-commingled milk" means any raw milk, milk 

product, or dairy product that has been removed from one or 

more bulk milk pickup tankers or any silo, vat, or container in 

a milk plant and loaded into a milk transport tank.  

"Transport tank operator" means any person who hauls 

transport-commingled milk.  

"3-A Sanitary Standards" means the standards for dairy 

equipment and accepted practices formulated by the 3-A 

Sanitary Standards Committees representing the International 

Association for Food Protection, the U. S. U.S. Public Health 

Service, and the Dairy Industry Committee and published by 

the International Association for Food Protection.  

2VAC5-501-50. Cooling temperature and storage 

standards for milk stored on a dairy farm.  

A. Each person who that operates a dairy farm shall cool his 

raw milk to 40°F or cooler, but not frozen, within two hours 

after milking and the temperature at any time thereafter shall 

not be warmer than 50°F. Raw milk that is warmer than a 

temperature of 50°F two hours after the first milking or at any 

time thereafter shall be deemed a public health hazard and 

shall not be utilized in any milk, milk product, or dairy 

product, offered for sale, or sold.  

B. No person who that operates a dairy farm and holds a 

grade "A" dairy farm permit shall sell or offer to sell any milk 

as grade "A" milk if the age of the milk is older than 52 72 

hours after the completion of the first milking.  

C. No person who that operates a dairy farm and holds a 

permit to produce milk for manufacturing purposes shall sell, 

offer to sell, or process any milk for manufacturing purposes 

if the age of the milk is older than 76 hours after the 

completion of the first milking. Raw milk for manufacturing 

purposes older than 76 hours shall be deemed to be a public 

health hazard.  

2VAC5-501-60. Construction and operation of farm bulk 

milk cooling or holding tanks, recording thermometers, 

interval timing devices, and other required milkhouse or 

milkroom facilities.  

A. Each person who that operates a dairy farm and installs 

one or more farm bulk cooling or holding tanks in his the 

milkhouse shall provide the following facilities:  

1. A milk hose port opening no larger than eight inches in 

diameter through a wall in the milkhouse closest to the area 

the bulk milk pickup tanker will be parked to receive the 

milk from each farm bulk cooling or holding tank;. The 

hose port shall be:  

a. Provided with a self-closing door that shall open to the 

outside; and 

b. Of sufficient height above the milkhouse floor and the 

outside apron to prevent flooding or draining of the 

milkhouse; 

2. The hose port shall be provided with a self-closing door 

which shall open to the outside;  

3. The hose port shall be of sufficient height above the 

milkhouse floor and the outside apron to prevent flooding 

or draining of the milkhouse;  

4. 2. An outside apron constructed of concrete or other 

equally impervious material shall be provided on the 

outside of the milkhouse directly beneath the hose port to 

protect the milk-conducting equipment from 

contamination;, and:  

a. If constructed of concrete, each outside apron shall be 

a minimum of four inches thick and measure a minimum 

of two feet by two feet horizontally; or 

b. If constructed of a material other than concrete, each 

outside apron shall measure a minimum of two feet by 

two feet horizontally; 

5. Each outside apron shall be a minimum of four inches 

thick if constructed of concrete and measure a minimum of 

two feet by two feet horizontally;  

6. Each outside apron constructed of a material other than 

concrete shall measure a minimum of two feet by two feet 

horizontally;  

7. 3. A 220-volt grounded weatherproof electrical outlet 

installed on the outside of the milkroom or milkhouse near 

the hoseport for the bulk milk hauler's use to power the 

milk pump on the bulk milk pickup tanker; and  

8. 4. A switch to control the electrical power to the 220-

volt grounded weatherproof electrical outlet located on the 

inside of the milkroom or milkhouse near the outlet to the 

farm bulk cooling or holding tank.  

B. Each person who that operates a dairy farm and installs 

one or more farm bulk cooling or holding tanks in his the 

milkhouse or milkroom shall comply with the following 

requirements:  

1. Each farm bulk cooling or holding tank shall comply 

with all the requirements contained in:  

a. 3-A Sanitary Standards for Farm Milk Cooling and 

Holding Tanks, Document No. 13-09 (Nov. 1993) 13-11 

(July 2012); or  

b. 3-A Sanitary Standards for Farm Milk Storage Tanks, 

Document No. 30-01 (Sept. 1984);  

2. Each farm bulk cooling or holding tank shall be 

equipped with an indicating thermometer accurate to plus 

or minus 2.0°F and capable of registering the temperature 

of the milk in the tank before it reaches 10% of the tank's 

volume;  

3. Each farm bulk cooling or holding tank shall be installed 

to comply with the following minimum clearance distances 

around, above, and below each farm bulk cooling or 

holding tank:  
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a. Three feet measured horizontally between a wash vat 

and the outermost portion of any farm bulk cooling or 

holding tank;  

b. Three feet measured horizontally in a 180-degree arch 

from the front of the tank where the outlet valve is 

located;  

c. Two feet measured horizontally from the sides and rear 

of any farm bulk cooling or holding tank to any wall, 

shelves, water heater, hand-basin, or other object;  

d. Eighteen inches measured horizontally from the 

outermost portion of any farm bulk cooling or holding 

tank to any floor drain and the floor drain shall not be 

located underneath the tank;  

e. Three feet measured vertically from the top of the 

manhole cover of any farm bulk cooling or holding tank 

to the ceiling;  

f. Eight inches measured vertically from the floor 

underneath the bottom of any round farm bulk cooling or 

holding tank that measures greater than 72 inches in 

diameter;  

g. Four inches measured vertically from the floor 

underneath the bottom of any round farm bulk cooling or 

holding tank that measures equal to or less than 72 inches 

in diameter; and  

h. Six inches measured vertically from the floor 

underneath the bottom of any flat bottom farm bulk 

cooling or holding tank;  

4. Farm bulk cooling or holding tanks installed through a 

milkroom wall shall meet the following minimum 

requirements:  

a. The area between the farm bulk cooling or holding 

tank and the wall shall be tightly sealed;  

b. All vents and openings on the farm bulk cooling or 

holding tank located outside the milkroom shall be 

protected from dust, insects, moisture, and other debris 

which might enter the tank; and 

c. All agitators located outside the milkroom shall be 

equipped with a tightly fitting seal between the bottom of 

the agitator motor and the top of the farm bulk cooling or 

holding tank;  

5. Each person who that operates a dairy farm shall ensure 

that each farm bulk cooling or holding tank is installed 

with a foundation of sufficient strength to support the tank 

when it is full;  

6. Each person who that operates a dairy farm shall obtain 

prior approval from the state regulatory authority for each 

farm bulk cooling or holding tank and its installation 

before it is installed on the person's dairy farm; and  

7. Each person who that operates a dairy farm shall ensure 

each farm bulk cooling or holding tank on his the farm is 

installed, gauged, and a volume chart prepared in 

compliance with § 3.2-5260 regulations adopted pursuant 

to § 3.2-5206 of the Code of Virginia. Each farm bulk 

cooling or holding tank and any gauge rod, surface gauge, 

gauge, or gauge tube and calibration chart associated with 

it shall be identified by serial number in a prominent 

manner.  

C. Each person who that holds a grade "A" dairy farm 

permit and installs a farm bulk cooling or holding tank shall 

comply with the following:  

1. Each farm bulk cooling or holding tank shall be 

equipped with a recording thermometer;  

2. Each recording thermometer shall be installed to comply 

with the following:  

a. Each recording thermometer shall be installed in the 

milkhouse;  

b. No recording thermometer may be installed on or 

attached to a farm bulk cooling or holding tank;  

c. Each recording thermometer shall be installed: (i) on 

an inside wall of the milkhouse;, (ii) on an outside wall 

of the milkhouse or milkroom if installed with one inch 

of rigid insulation between the back of the recording 

thermometer and the surface of the outside wall;, or (iii) 

on metal brackets from the ceiling or floor; and 

d. Each recording thermometer sensor shall be installed 

on the farm bulk cooling or holding tank to record the 

temperature of the milk in the tank before the milk 

reaches 10% of the tank's volume;  

3. Standards for recording thermometers. Each recording 

thermometer installed on a farm bulk cooling or holding 

tank shall comply with the following minimum 

requirements:  

a. The case for each recording thermometer shall be 

moisture proof under milkhouse conditions;  

b. The case for each recording thermometer shall be UL 

rated NEMA 4X enclosure or equivalent as provided in 

ANSI/NEMA 250, Enclosures for Electrical Equipment 

(1000 Volts Maximum) dated August 30, 2001 

December 29, 2014;  

c. The case for each recording thermometer shall be 

equipped with a corrosion-resistant latching mechanism 

that keeps the recording thermometer tightly closed;  

d. The recorder chart for each recording thermometer 

shall not exceed a maximum chart rotation time of 48 

168 hours (seven days). Recorder charts for farm bulk 

cooling or holding tanks that are picked up every other 

day shall have a chart rotation time of 48 hours. Recorder 

charts for farm bulk cooling or holding tanks that are 

picked up every day may have a chart rotation time of 24 

or 48 hours;  

e. The recorder chart for each recording thermometer 

shall be marked with water resistant ink;  

f. The scale on the recording chart shall cover a 

minimum of 30°F to 180°F, with the scale reversed to 
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show cold temperatures at the outside of the chart for 

best resolution;  

g. Each division on the recording chart shall represent a 

maximum of 1.0°F between 30°F and 60°F, with two 

degree divisions between 60°F and 180°F;  

h. Spacing of divisions on the recorder chart shall be a 

minimum of 0.040 inches per 2.0°F, with the ink line 

easily distinguishable from the printed line;  

i. The recording thermometer speed of response or 

sensing of temperature shall be a maximum of 20 

seconds;  

j. The recording thermometer shall be accurate to plus or 

minus 2.0°F;  

k. The sensor for each recording thermometer shall be: (i) 

a resistance temperature detector (RTD) type sensor;, (ii) 

constructed of stainless steel type 304 or type 316 on all 

exterior surfaces;, (iii) hermetically sealed;, (iv) accurate 

to 0.3°C;, and (v) continuous run wire;  

l. Each recording thermometer and sensor shall be 

calibrated and supplied as a package;  

m. No capillary system containing any toxic gas or liquid 

shall be allowed to come into direct contact with any 

milk or milk product;  

n. Other recording devices may be accepted by the state 

regulatory authority if they comply with the requirements 

of subdivisions 3 a through m of this subsection;  

o. If a strip chart style recorder is used, it shall move not 

less than one inch per hour, and may be continuous for a 

maximum of 30 days; and  

p. Recording thermometers may be manually wound or 

electrically operated;  

4. Recording thermometer operation: Each recording 

thermometer installed on a farm bulk cooling or holding 

tank shall comply with the following minimum operating 

requirements:  

a. Each recording thermometer shall be provided with a 

means to seal the calibration and zeroing mechanism to 

provide evidence of unauthorized adjustment or 

tampering;  

b. Each recording thermometer shall be provided with a 

pin in the hub to prevent the recording chart from being 

rotated; and  

c. Each recording thermometer shall be properly 

grounded and short circuit protected;  

5. Each person who that operates a dairy farm and installs a 

recording thermometer on his the farm bulk cooling or 

holding tank shall maintain a minimum of a 30-day supply 

of unused recorder charts designed for the specific 

recording thermometer he installed and shall maintain a 

minimum of the past 60 days of used charts for purposes of 

inspection; and 

6. Each person who that operates a dairy farm and installs a 

recording thermometer on his the farm bulk cooling or 

holding tank shall provide a moisture proof storage 

container in the milkhouse or milkroom for purpose of 

storing a supply of new charts and a minimum of 60 days 

of used charts;.  

D. No person may remove from the dairy farm any recorder 

chart that has been used once and removed from the recorder 

within the past 60 days unless he has obtained permission 

from the state regulatory authority. All recorder charts 

removed from any dairy farm by any person other than a 

representative of the state regulatory authority shall be 

returned to the dairy farm within ten 10 days. All recorder 

charts shall be available to the state regulatory authority.  

E. Handling of recording charts. Each bulk milk hauler shall 

comply with the following requirements when picking up 

milk from a dairy farm if the farm bulk cooling or holding 

tank is equipped with a recording thermometer:  

1. Each milk hauler, in making a milk pickup, shall 

properly agitate the milk and remove the chart from the 

recorder;  

2. Each milk hauler shall record the following information 

on each chart removed from the recorder:  

a. The date and time of pickup; and  

b. The signature of the milk hauler;  

3. Each milk hauler shall store the used chart in the storage 

container supplied by the dairy farmer;  

4. Each milk hauler shall obtain a new chart from the 

supply provided by the dairy farmer and record the 

following information in the chart:  

a. The date; and  

b. The patron number of the dairy farmer;  

5. If a recorder chart is used for more than one pickup, 

each milk hauler shall identify each lot of milk on the chart 

with the date, time of pickup, and his signature; and 

6. Before removing any milk from the farm tank, each milk 

hauler shall check the recorder chart. If the recorder chart 

indicates that the milk temperature has varied in a manner 

that would preclude acceptance, he shall immediately 

notify his superior and the dairy farmer. If the milk is 

rejected, each milk hauler shall record this information on 

the chart. If the milk is picked up, each milk hauler shall 

sign the chart and record the date and time of pickup;.  

F. Maintenance of recording thermometers. Each person 

who that operates a dairy farm and holds a grade "A" dairy 

farm permit shall be responsible for maintaining each of his 

the recording thermometers in good repair and adjustment to 

include calibrating the recording thermometer to read 

accurately within plus or minus 2.0°F of the actual milk 

temperature in the farm bulk cooling or holding tank.  

G. Sealing of recording thermometers: Each recording 

thermometer installed on a farm bulk cooling or holding tank 
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shall be inspected and may be sealed by the state regulatory 

authority after it has been shown to be properly installed and 

calibrated.  

H. Each person who that holds a grade "A" dairy farm 

permit and installs a farm bulk cooling or holding tank shall:  

1. Install on each farm bulk cooling or holding tank an 

interval timing device that automatically agitates the milk 

in the farm bulk tank for not less than five minutes every 

hour during the entire time milk is being cooled or stored 

in the tank;  

2. Not install a manual switch capable of turning off the 

interval timing device on any farm bulk milk cooling or 

holding tank while any milk is being cooled or stored; and  

3. Maintain in good repair and operating condition each 

interval timing device installed on his the farm bulk 

cooling or holding tank.  

2VAC5-501-70. Measuring, sampling, and testing.  

A. Quantity measurements. Each person who determines the 

quantity of milk in any lot of milk being picked up on any 

dairy farm in Virginia shall comply with one of the following:  

1. If the milk is being picked up from a farm bulk cooling 

or holding tank, the person shall use only a measuring rod, 

gauge, or gauge tube accurately calibrated to the individual 

farm bulk cooling or holding tank and the accompanying 

calibration chart with a serial number that matches the 

serial number for the specific farm bulk cooling or holding 

tank for which it was prepared;  

2. If the milk being picked up is not stored in a farm bulk 

cooling or holding tank, the person shall determine the 

quantity of milk at the point of delivery to the milk plant 

processing the milk by commingling all of the milk in a 

vessel equipped with a gauge rod, surface gauge, gauge, or 

gauge tube and a volume chart that has been prepared in 

compliance with § 3.2-5620 of the Code of Virginia;  

3. If the milk being picked up is not stored in a farm bulk 

cooling or holding tank and the basis for payment for the 

milk will be based solely on the volume of milk in gallons, 

the person shall determine the quantity of milk by adding 

the volume in gallons of each separate full container and 

the volume in gallons of any milk in containers that are not 

full; or  

4. If the milk being picked up is not stored in a farm bulk 

cooling or holding tank and the basis for payment for the 

milk will be based solely on the pounds of milk delivered, 

the person shall determine the quantity of milk in pounds 

by weighing each of the containers of milk on a 

commercial scale before and after they have been emptied 

and subtracting the weight of the empty containers from 

the total weight of the containers and the milk, the 

difference being the weight in pounds of milk.  

B. Each person who desires to convert a volumetric 

measurement of milk to weight in pounds of milk shall 

multiply the volume of milk in gallons by 8.60.  

C. Each person who that operates a dairy farm and 

transports any milk in cans or other containers from his the 

dairy farm to a milk plant and intends to determine the basis 

for payment of his the milk based solely on its volume in 

gallons or solely on its weight in pounds, shall ensure the 

cans or other containers comply with the following:  

1. Each container shall be provided with a visual means to 

measure the volume of milk in the container in divisions of 

one or more whole gallons up to the total capacity of the 

container;  

2. Each container shall be equipped with a tightly fitting lid 

that prevents any milk from leaking out around the closure;  

3. Each container shall be manufactured from stainless 

steel, food grade plastic, or tinned metal;  

4. No container shall be manufactured from glass or other 

easily breakable material;  

5. Each container shall be smooth and easily cleanable; and  

6. Each container shall be equipped with an opening large 

enough to allow the container to be washed by hand if it is 

intended to be washed by hand or washed by mechanical 

means if it is intended to be washed by mechanical means.  

D. Each person who that operates a pay purpose laboratory 

shall:  

1. Provide a separate room of sufficient size in which pay 

purpose testing shall be conducted;  

2. Provide lighting of at least 20 foot-candles when 

measured at work bench levels and at all other work areas 

used to conduct testing;  

3. Provide adequate ventilation sufficient to prevent 

condensation from forming and to prevent noxious or 

hazardous chemical fumes from collecting in the 

laboratory;  

4. Provide heating and cooling equipment sufficient to 

maintain a constant room temperature of 70°F plus or 

minus 2.0°F in his laboratory at all times;  

5. Provide a separate permanently installed hand-washing 

facility with hot and cold running water under pressure 

supplied through a mix valve, soap, and single service 

paper towels;  

6. Provide only potable water under pressure in his the 

laboratory;  

7. Provide walls that are constructed of impervious 

material with a light-colored material and that are easily 

cleanable;  

8. Provide floors made of concrete or other equally 

impervious material that are easily cleanable;  

9. Provide toilet facilities for his employees;  

10. Use only methods and equipment approved by the state 

regulatory authority to test milk for protein, solids, solids 

not fat, and fat;  
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11. Construct the facility to insure ensure that the 

laboratory environment has a stable electrical supply, 

stable water supply, stable heating and cooling, and stable 

ventilation to allow a constantly controllable environment 

for pay purpose testing procedures and pay purpose 

equipment; and  

12. Dispose of all liquid, solid, and gaseous wastes in a 

manner that complies with state and federal requirements 

for waste disposal.  

E. Sampling. Each bulk milk hauler shall:  

1. Collect at least two representative samples from each 

bulk milk cooling or holding tank each time that milk is 

picked up from the dairy farm for use as official milk 

samples;  

2. Collect a minimum of four ounces of milk for each 

official milk sample collected;  

3. Maintain custody of all official milk samples collected 

or transfer custody of all official milk samples collected to 

another permitted bulk milk hauler, bulk milk sampler, or 

at the discretion of the state regulatory agency, lock all 

official milk samples in a suitable container in which they 

may be transported or stored;  

4. Pickup Pick up all of the milk in each farm bulk cooling 

or holding tank each time that milk is picked up from the 

farm bulk cooling or holding tank; and  

5. Pick up only milk that is 45°F or cooler, but not frozen.  

F. Butterfat testing. Each person who desires to determine 

the butterfat content of milk as a basis for payment shall: 1. 

Select either select from each dairy farm supplying them with 

milk a minimum of four milk samples taken at irregular 

intervals each month and utilize only laboratory butterfat test 

results from milk samples that have been tested within 48 

hours of collection for pay purposes; or:  

2. 1. Collect a representative sample from each shipment of 

each producer supplying them with milk for a maximum of 

16 days, if composite milk samples are used to determine 

butterfat content;  

3. 2. Store composite milk samples only in an approved 

milk laboratory that will perform the butterfat test;  

4. 3. Preserve all composite milk samples with an 

appropriate preservative designed to prevent the spoilage 

of milk and that will not affect the butterfat test; and  

5. 4. Test each composite milk sample within three days 

following the end of the number of days used to create the 

composite milk sample.  

2VAC5-501-80. Farm bulk milk pickup tanker and milk 

transport tank requirements. 

A. Each contract hauler or subcontract hauler shall: 

1. Use only a farm bulk milk pickup tanker or a milk 

transport tank that complies with all the requirements 

contained in 3-A Sanitary Standards for Stainless Steel 

Automotive Transportation Tanks for Bulk Delivery and 

Farm Pick-Up Service, Number 05-15 (effective 

November 24, 2002), (3-A Sanitary Standards, 

Incorporated) and that are maintained in good repair; 

2. Ensure that all appurtenances of each farm bulk milk 

pickup tanker or each milk transport tank including any 

hoses, pumps, and fittings comply with all applicable the 

requirements contained in 3-A Sanitary Standards for 

Stainless Steel Automotive Transportation Tanks for Bulk 

Delivery and Farm Pick-Up Service, Number 05-15 

(effective as of November 20, 2001) 24, 2002), (3-A 

Sanitary Standards, Incorporated) for construction and are 

maintained in good repair; 

3. Provide sample racks for holding all milk samples 

collected in the sample cooler; 

4. Provide a sample dipper or other sampling device of 

sanitary design that is maintained clean and in good repair; 

5. Provide milk sample storage coolers that have sufficient 

insulation to maintain proper milk temperatures under all 

conditions throughout the year; 

6. Provide only sterile sample bags, tubes, or bottles, 

properly stored to prevent contamination;  

7. Provide a calibrated pocket thermometer certified as 

accurate within plus or minus 2.0°F to each bulk milk 

hauler in his employ and ensure the pocket thermometer is 

recertified a minimum of each six months thereafter;  

8. Provide a United States U.S. Environmental Protection 

Agency approved and registered sanitizer for the sample 

dipper container;  

9. Provide a suitable sanitizer test kit to each bulk milk 

hauler in his employ for use in checking the strength of 

sanitizing solutions;  

10. Ensure that each appurtenance requiring flexibility for 

the milk transfer system to operate properly is free 

draining, supported to maintain a uniform slope and 

alignment, and easily disassembled and accessible for 

inspection without the use of tools;  

11. Ensure that each farm bulk milk pickup tanker or a 

milk transport tank and their appurtenances are cleaned and 

sanitized prior to being used the first time, after each use 

thereafter, and each time 72 hours has elapsed since the 

last cleaning and sanitizing treatment;  

12. Ensure that multiple milk pickups from dairy farms 

occur during a 24-hour period without washing and 

sanitizing the farm bulk milk pickup tanker only if a 

maximum of two hours elapses between the time of the last 

delivery and start of the next milk pickup;  

13. Pickup Pick up any milk in a farm bulk milk pickup 

tanker or milk transport tank only if there exists a wash and 

sanitize record for the farm bulk milk pickup tanker or 

milk transport tank documenting that the tank has been 

washed and sanitized within the past 72 hours;  
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14. Install and use clamps on each milk pickup hose that 

are easily dismantled by hand without the use of tools;  

15. Identify and maintain each farm bulk milk pickup 

tanker or milk transport tank with the identification 

numbers and letters assigned to each farm bulk milk 

pickup tanker or milk transport tank by the state regulatory 

agency. The identification shall be affixed to the left rear 

bulkhead of the tanker;  

16. Provide a suitable enclosure in the rear milk hose or 

sample compartment of each farm bulk milk pickup tanker 

for storing inspection sheets capable of protecting the 

inspection sheets from excessive moisture, dust, soil, or 

light that might damage or render the inspection sheets 

illegible and so they will be available to any state or 

federal regulatory agent wherever the farm bulk milk 

pickup tanker might deliver;  

17. Provide a suitable enclosure located within three feet of 

the tank outlet valve or located on top of one of the rear 

wheel fenders for each milk transport tank for storing 

inspection sheets capable of protecting the inspection 

sheets from excessive moisture, dust, soil, or light that 

might damage or render the inspection sheets illegible and 

so they will be available to any state or federal regulatory 

agent wherever the milk transport tank might deliver;  

18. Completely empty the farm bulk cooling or holding 

tank each time that milk is picked up;  

19. Store the three most recent inspection reports for each 

farm bulk milk pickup tanker or transport tank in the 

protected enclosure provided on each farm bulk milk 

pickup tanker or transport tank at all times; and  

20. Provide a means to lock or seal each opening into a 

bulk milk pickup tanker or milk transport tank for security 

purposes.  

B. When picking up and transporting any milk in a bulk 

milk pickup tanker each bulk milk hauler shall:  

1. Practice good hygiene, maintain a neat and clean 

appearance, and abstain from using tobacco products in 

any milkhouse;  

2. Conduct all pickup and handling practices to prevent 

contamination of any milk contact surface;  

3. Pass the milk transfer hose through the hose port and 

remove the cap from the transfer milk hose and set it where 

it will not become contaminated and then attach the 

transfer milk hose to the tank outlet valve;  

4. Wash his hands thoroughly and dry his hands with a 

clean single-service towel or electric forced air hand dryer 

immediately prior to measuring or sampling the milk in the 

tank;  

5. Examine the milk in the tank by sight and smell for any 

off odor or any other abnormalities that would render the 

milk unacceptable and reject the milk if necessary;  

6. Record the milk producer's name, milk producer's 

identification number, the date and time of pickup, the 

temperature of the milk, the measuring rod reading, the 

poundage, the name of the purchasing organization, and 

the signature of the bulk milk hauler on the producer's 

weight ticket;  

7. Check the temperature of the milk in each farm bulk 

cooling or holding tank at least once a month with an 

accurately calibrated pocket thermometer after it has been 

properly sanitized;  

8. Turn off the milk tank agitator if it is running when they 

arrive he arrives at the milkhouse or milkroom and allow 

the surface of the milk to become quiescent;  

9. Carefully insert the measuring rod, after it has been 

wiped dry with a single-service towel, into the tank and 

then read the measurement. Each bulk milk hauler shall 

repeat this procedure until two identical measurements are 

obtained and then shall record the measurement on the 

weight ticket;  

10. Agitate the milk in each tank holding two thousand 

2,000 gallons or less of milk a minimum of five minutes 

before collecting any milk sample;  

11. Agitate the milk in each tank holding more than two 

thousand 2,000 gallons of milk a minimum of ten 10 

minutes before collecting any milk sample;  

12. While the tank is being agitated, bring the sample 

container, dipper, dipper container, and sanitizing agent, or 

single service sampling tubes into the milkhouse 

aseptically;  

13. While the tank is being agitated, remove the cap from 

the tank outlet valve and examine for milk deposits or 

foreign matter and then sanitize if necessary;  

14. Remove the sample dipper or sampling device from the 

sanitizing solution and rinse it in the milk from the tank at 

least twice before collecting any official milk sample;  

15. Collect two representative samples from each tank after 

the milk has been properly agitated, transferring the milk 

from the sample dipper to the sample container away from 

the tank opening to avoid spilling any milk back into the 

tank, and filling the sample containers only three quarters 

3/4 full;  

16. Rinse the sample dipper with water until it is free of 

visible milk and replace it in its carrying container;  

17. Close the cover or lid of the bulk tank;  

18. Identify each milk sample with the producer's patron or 

member number and the date of collection;  

19. Collect at the first pickup for each load of milk two 

temperature samples and identify the temperature samples 

with the date, time, temperature of the milk, producer 

number, and name of the bulk milk hauler;  

20. Place each milk sample collected immediately on ice in 

the sample storage cooler;  
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21. After collection of milk samples, open the outlet valve 

and start the pump to transfer the milk from the farm tank 

to the bulk milk pickup tanker;  

22. Turn off the agitator once the level of milk in the tank 

has reached the level where over-agitation will occur;  

23. Disconnect and cap the transfer hose after removing it 

from the outlet valve of the tank;  

24. Observe the walls and bottom of the tank for foreign 

matter and extraneous material and record any 

objectionable observations on the weight ticket;  

25. Rinse the entire inside of the tank with warm water 

while the tank outlet valve is open;  

26. Use only sample containers and single-service 

sampling tubes that comply with all the requirements 

contained in Standard Methods for the Examination of 

Dairy Products, 16th 17th Edition, 1992 2004;  

27. Cool and store all official milk samples to a 

temperature of 40°F or cooler, but not frozen;  

28. Provide sufficient ice and water or other coolant in the 

sample storage cooler to maintain all milk samples at 

proper temperature;  

29. Discard any milk that remains in the external transfer 

system that exceeds 45°F including any milk in pumps, 

hoses, and air elimination equipment or metering systems;  

30. Protect samples from contamination and shall not bury 

the tops of sample containers in ice or bury sample 

containers above the milk level in the sample containers;  

31. Keep all producer milk samples that represent the 

commingled milk on the load with the load of milk until 

the load of milk has been received by a milk plant, 

receiving station, or transfer station or if rejected by a milk 

plant, receiving station, or transfer station until the milk 

samples are collected for official laboratory testing to 

determine the disposition of the load of milk; and  

32. Deliver each bulk milk pickup tanker of commingled 

milk to a milk plant, receiving station, or transfer station 

within 24 hours after the last milk pickup on the route for 

the bulk milk pickup tanker.  

C. When sampling any milk from a bulk milk pickup tanker 

or transport tanker the dairy plant sampler shall:  

1. Practice good hygiene, maintain a neat and clean 

appearance, and abstain from using tobacco products in the 

receiving area;  

2. Conduct all sampling and handling practices to prevent 

contamination of any milk contact surface;  

3. Wash his hands thoroughly and dry his hands with a 

clean single-service towel or acceptable air dryer 

immediately prior to sampling the milk in the tank;  

4. Examine the milk in the tank by sight and smell for any 

off odor or any other abnormalities that would classify the 

milk as unacceptable and reject the milk if necessary;  

5. Agitate for a period of time needed to blend the milk in 

each compartment to a homogenous state using odor-free, 

pressurized, filtered air or electrically driven stirring or 

recirculating equipment that has been properly sanitized 

before sampling or receiving;  

6. Check the temperature of the milk in each compartment 

with a properly sanitized thermometer that has been 

checked against a standardized thermometer at least once 

every six months and certified accurate;  

7. Reject any milk that has a temperature above 45°F;  

8. Bring the sample container, properly constructed sample 

dipper, and sanitizing solution to the tanker aseptically 

after the milk is properly agitated;  

9. Remove the sample dipper or sampling device from the 

sanitizing solution and rinse it in the milk from the tank at 

least twice before collecting any official milk sample;  

10. Collect at least one representative sample from each 

compartment of the tanker, transferring the milk from the 

sample dipper to the sample container away from the tank 

opening to avoid spilling any milk back into the tank, and 

filling the sample container only three quarters full;  

11. Rinse the sample dipper with water until it is free of 

visible milk and replace it in its carrying container or 

storage container;  

12. Close the cover or lid for each compartment of the bulk 

milk tanker;  

13. Identify each milk sample with the tanker number, 

compartment if the tanker is equipped with more than one 

compartment, and the date of collection;  

14. Place each milk sample collected immediately on ice in 

a sample storage cooler or deliver it to the laboratory for 

immediate analysis;  

15. Attach the milk transfer hose to the outlet valve of the 

milk tank truck and open the outlet valve of the milk tank 

truck before starting the pump to transfer the milk from the 

bulk milk pickup tanker to the milk plant storage facility or 

silo only after the collection of official milk samples;  

16. Turn off the agitator once the level of milk in the tank 

has reached the level where over-agitation will occur;  

17. Disconnect and cap the transfer hose after removing it 

from the outlet valve of the tank;  

18. Observe the walls and bottom of the tank for foreign 

matter and extraneous material and record any 

objectionable observations on the plant receiving log;  

19. Rinse the entire inside of the tanker with warm water 

after the tanker has been emptied and the external transfer 

system has been disconnected while the tanker outlet valve 

is open;  

20. Use only sample containers and single-service 

sampling tubes that comply with all the requirements 

contained in Standard Methods for the Examination of 

Dairy Products, 16th 17th Edition, 1992 2004;  
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21. Cool and store all official milk samples to a 

temperature of 40°F or cooler, but not frozen;  

22. Provide sufficient ice and water or other coolant in the 

sample storage cooler to maintain all milk samples at 

proper temperature;  

23. Protect samples from contamination and not bury tops 

of sample containers in ice or bury samples above the milk 

level in the sample containers;  

24. Promptly deliver samples and sample data to the 

laboratory; and  

25. Discard any milk that remains in the external transfer 

system that exceeds 45°F including any milk in pumps, 

hoses, air elimination equipment, or metering systems.  

D. Wash and sanitize records. Each bulk milk hauler shall:  

1. Ensure each bulk milk pickup tanker or milk transport 

tank is properly cleaned and sanitized after unloading;  

2. Ensure a cleaning and sanitizing tag is affixed to the 

outlet valve of the bulk milk pickup tanker or milk 

transport tank after it is washed;  

3. Ensure when the bulk milk pickup tanker or milk 

transport tank is next washed, the previous cleaning and 

sanitizing tag is removed and stored at the location where 

the bulk milk pickup tanker or milk transport tank was 

washed; and  

4. Ensure the following information is recorded on the 

wash and sanitize tag before it is attached to the outlet 

valve of the bulk milk pickup tanker or milk transport tank:  

a. Identification number of the bulk milk pickup tanker or 

milk transport tank;  

b. Date and time of day the bulk milk pickup tanker or 

milk transport tank was cleaned and sanitized;  

c. Location where the bulk milk pickup tanker or milk 

transport tank was cleaned and sanitized; and  

d. The signature of the person who cleaned and sanitized 

the bulk milk pickup tanker or milk transport tank.  

E. Wash and sanitize records. Each person who that operates 

a milk plant, receiving station, or transfer station and each 

dairy plant sampler responsible for sampling and receiving 

milk into a milk plant, receiving station, or transfer station 

shall:  

1. Ensure each bulk milk pickup tanker and milk transport 

tank is properly cleaned and sanitized after unloading;  

2. Ensure a cleaning and sanitizing tag is affixed to the 

outlet valve of the bulk milk pickup tanker or milk 

transport tank after it is washed;  

3. Ensure when washing a bulk milk pickup tanker or milk 

transport tank, the previous cleaning and sanitizing tag is 

removed and stored at the location where the bulk milk 

pickup tanker or milk transport tank is washed; and  

4. Record the following information on the wash and 

sanitize tag before it is attached to the outlet valve of the 

bulk milk pickup tanker or milk transport tank:  

a. Identification number of the bulk milk pickup tanker or 

milk transport tank;  

b. Date and time of day the bulk milk pickup tanker or 

milk transport tank was cleaned and sanitized;  

c. Location where the bulk milk pickup tanker or milk 

transport tank was cleaned and sanitized; and  

d. The signature of the person who cleaned and sanitized 

the bulk milk pickup tanker or milk transport tank.  

F. Labeling and shipping documents. Each bulk milk hauler 

shall ensure that each shipping document or load manifest 

contains the following information for each bulk milk pickup 

tanker or milk transport tank:  

1. The shipper's name, address, and permit number;  

2. The Interstate Milk Shipper Bulk Tank Unit 

identification number for each Bulk Tank Unit on the load 

of milk or the Interstate Milk Shipper listed Plant Number;  

3. The milk hauler permit number if the milk hauler is not 

an employee of the shipper;  

4. The point of origin of the shipment;  

5. The bulk milk pickup tanker or milk transport tank 

identification number;  

6. The name of the product;  

7. The weight of the product;  

8. The temperature of the product when loaded;  

9. The date of shipment;  

10. The name of the supervising regulatory agency at the 

point of origin of shipment;  

11. A statement as to whether the contents of the load are 

raw, pasteurized, or in the case of cream, lowfat, or skim 

milk whether it has been heat-treated;  

12. The seal number on inlet, outlet, wash connections and 

vents, if applicable; and  

13. The grade of the product.  

G. Protection of bulk milk and chain of custody of milk 

samples. Each contract hauler, subcontract hauler, bulk milk 

hauler, and operator of a bulk milk pickup tanker or milk 

transport tank shall: 

1. Each contract hauler, subcontract hauler, bulk milk 

hauler, and operator of a bulk milk pickup tanker or milk 

transport tank shall ensure Ensure the proper protection of 

all milk and milk samples in his custody. Each contract 

hauler, subcontract hauler, bulk milk hauler, and operator 

of a bulk milk pickup tanker or milk transport tank shall 

seal or lock each opening into a bulk milk pickup tanker or 

milk transport tank including each manhole lid, vent, wash 

port, and door to the pump housing and sample storage box 
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prior to leaving the bulk milk pickup tanker or milk 

transport tank unattended.;  

2. Each contract hauler, subcontract hauler, bulk milk 

hauler, and operator of a bulk milk pickup tanker or milk 

transport tank shall inspect Inspect the condition of the 

seals and locks placed on each opening into the bulk milk 

pickup tanker or milk transport tank upon his return after 

an absence to determine if the seals or locks have been 

tampered with.;  

3. Each contract hauler, subcontract hauler, bulk milk 

hauler, and operator of a bulk milk pickup tanker or milk 

transport tank shall report Report immediately to the state 

regulatory authority instances of tampering with the seals 

or locks.; and  

4. Each contract hauler, subcontract hauler, bulk milk 

hauler, and operator of a bulk milk pickup tanker or milk 

transport tank shall hold Hold a valid permit issued by the 

state regulatory authority for the collection of milk samples 

prior to collecting or transporting any milk or milk 

samples. 

H. Notwithstanding the provisions of subdivisions A 4 and 

A 8 of this section for each contract hauler or subcontract 

hauler to provide a sample dipper and approved sanitizer for 

the sample dipper container, the sample dipper, sample dipper 

container, and approved sanitizer may be provided and stored 

in the milkroom accessible to the contract hauler or 

subcontract hauler by the person operating the dairy farm 

where the contract hauler or subcontract hauler is picking up 

the milk. 

2VAC5-501-90. Sanitation requirements for a milk tank 

truck cleaning facility.  

Each person who that operates a milk tank truck cleaning 

facility permit shall:  

1. Provide floors constructed of concrete or equally 

impervious material that are easily cleanable, smooth, 

properly sloped, and provided with trapped floor drains 

and kept in good repair;  

2. Provide walls and ceilings with a smooth, washable, 

light-colored surface and kept in good repair;  

3. Provide effective means to prevent the access of flies 

and rodents;  

4. Provide solid doors or glazed windows for each opening 

to the outside and keep the doors and windows closed 

during dusty weather;  

5. Provide lighting of at least 20 foot-candles measured in 

all work areas;  

6. Provide ventilation sufficient to prevent condensation 

and odors;  

7. Provide a toilet room fitted with tightly-fitting self-

closing doors, kept clean and in good repair, well-

ventilated and lighted and that does not open directly into 

any room in which milk or milk products are processed or 

milk product contact-surfaces, utensils and equipment are 

washed;  

8. Dispose of all sewage and other wastes in a sanitary 

manner;  

9. Provide hot and cold running water from a supply that is 

properly located, protected, and operated, and shall be 

easily accessible, adequate, and of a safe and sanitary 

quality;  

10. Provide hand-washing facilities with hot and cold 

running water, soap, and individual sanitary towels or other 

approved hand-drying devices and keep the hand-washing 

facilities clean and in good repair;  

11. Provide and maintain an effective insect and rodent 

control program and shall keep the milk tank truck 

cleaning facility neat and clean;  

12. Provide only sanitary piping, fittings, and connections 

that are constructed to be smooth, impervious, corrosion-

resistant, nontoxic, easily cleanable, and manufactured 

from material that is approved for food contact surfaces;  

13. Provide and use only stainless steel piping complying 

with the American Iron and Steel Institute (AISI) 300 

series as published in the Iron and Steel Society's Steel 

Products Manual for Manual: Stainless Steels, dated March 

1999;  

14. Provide only sanitary piping, fittings, and connections 

that are in good repair and constructed for ease of cleaning;  

15. Provide and use only plastic, rubber, or rubber-like 

materials made from approved food contact-grade 

materials that are relatively inert, and resistant to 

scratching, scoring, and damage from cleaning compounds;  

16. Clean and sanitize before each use the product-contact 

surfaces of utensils and equipment used in the 

transportation of any milk or food;  

17. Attach a wash tag to the outlet valve of the tanker 

showing the date, time, place, and signature of the 

employee who washed the bulk milk pickup tanker or milk 

transport tank after the milk tank truck has been cleaned 

and sanitized;  

18. Store and transport all clean and sanitized utensils and 

equipment to assure complete draining and protection from 

contamination before use;  

19. Store all single-service containers, utensils, and 

materials in a sanitary manner in a clean dry place until 

used;  

20. Store, handle, and use poisonous or toxic materials to 

preclude the contamination of any milk product contact-

surfaces of equipment and utensils;  

21. Ensure that his employees wash their hands thoroughly 

before commencing cleaning functions and as may be 

required to remove soil and contamination;  
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22. Allow an employee to resume work after visiting the 

toilet room only after that employee has thoroughly 

washed his hands;  

23. Ensure that each of his employees employee engaged 

in the handling of milk product contact-surfaces, 

equipment, and utensils wears clean outer garments, 

adequate hair covering, and refrains from using any 

tobacco products; and  

24. Keep the surroundings of the milk tank truck cleaning 

facility neat, clean, and free from conditions that may 

attract flies, insects, or rodents.  

2VAC5-501-110. Regulation superseded. (Repealed.)  

This chapter supersedes 2VAC5-500, Rules and Regulations 

Governing the Cooling, Storing, Sampling and Transporting 

of Milk or Milk Samples from the Farm to the Processing 

Plant or Laboratory, and is based upon a Notice of Intended 

Regulatory Action published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations for June 4, 2001 at page 2704 under "Title 2. 

Agriculture."  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (2VAC5-501) 

Application for a Dairy Farm Permit, ODF-DS-100 (rev. 

6/2012) 

Dairy Farm Inspection Report, ODF-DS-102 (rev. 2/2006) 

Guide for the Submission of Plans for Milking Operations, 

ODF-DS-104 (rev. 2/2015) 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(2VAC5-501) 

3-A Sanitary Standards for Stainless Steel Automotive 

Transportation Tanks for Bulk Delivery and Farm Pick-Up 

Service, Number 05-15, eff. November 24, 2002, 3-A 

Sanitary Standards, Inc. Incorporated, 6888 Elm Street, Suite 

2D, McLean, Virginia 22101, www.3-a.org 

3-A Sanitary Standards, effective as of November 20, 2001, 

3-A Sanitary Standards, Incorporated. 

3-A Sanitary Standards for Farm Milk Cooling and Holding 

Tanks, Number 13-11, eff. July 23, 2012, 3-A Sanitary 

Standards, Incorporated, 6888 Elm Street, Suite 2D, McLean, 

Virginia 22101, www.3-a.org 

3-A Sanitary Standards for Farm Milk Storage Tanks, 

Number 30-01, eff. September 9, 1984, 3-A Sanitary 

Standards, Incorporated, 6888 Elm Street, Suite 2D, McLean, 

Virginia 22101, www.3-a.org  

UL Rated NEMA 4x Enclosure Definition as published in 

ANSI/NEMA 250, Enclosures for Electrical Equipment 

(1000 Volts Maximum), ANSI Approval Date August 30, 

2001 December 29, 2014, American Society of Mechanical 

Engineers. 

Standard Methods for the Examination of Dairy Products, 

16th 17th Edition, 1992 2004, American Public Health 

Association. 

American Iron & Steel Institute (AISI) 300 Series as 

published in Steel Products Manual -: Stainless Steels, March 

1999, Iron and Steel Society., 186 Thorn Hill Road, 

Warrendale, Pennsylvania 15086 www.iom3.org/iron-steel-

society 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4567; Filed June 21, 2016, 12:44 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

BOARD OF GAME AND INLAND FISHERIES 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-20. Definitions and 

Miscellaneous: In General (adding 4VAC15-20-230; 

repealing 4VAC15-20-80).  

Statutory Authority: § 29.1-501 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-

8341 or email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) repeal requirements regarding 

execution of a certificate for a resident license by the 

licensee and (ii) prescribe aluminum or purple as the color 

of paint to be used for posting land to prohibit hunting, 

fishing, or trapping without the written permission of the 

landowner. 

4VAC15-20-80. Certificate on hunting, trapping and 

fishing license to be executed by licensee. (Repealed.) 

No state or county resident license to hunt, trap or fish in or 

on the lands or inland waters of this Commonwealth shall be 

deemed to be issued until the certificate printed on the reverse 

side of that license shall have been executed by the named 

licensee. For those licenses issued by telephone or electronic 

media agent pursuant to § 29.1-327 B of the Code of 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=42807004567~4&typ=40&actno=004567&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=42807004567~4&typ=40&actno=004567&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=483e4004567~5&typ=40&actno=004567&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0b703004567~6&typ=40&actno=004567&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0b703004567~6&typ=40&actno=004567&mime=application/pdf
http://www.3-a.org/
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4ecb4004567~1&typ=0%20&actno=004567&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4ecb4004567~1&typ=0%20&actno=004567&mime=application/pdf
http://www.3-a.org/
http://www.3-a.org/
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5cb7a004567~2&typ=0%20&actno=004567&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5cb7a004567~2&typ=0%20&actno=004567&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5cb7a004567~2&typ=0%20&actno=004567&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5cb7a004567~2&typ=0%20&actno=004567&mime=application/pdf
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Virginia, the license shall be deemed issued when the license 

authorization number is put on paper and the paper is signed 

by the designated licensee and shall remain effective only 

until the permanent license, for which the number was issued, 

is received by the licensee.  

4VAC15-20-230. Color of paint prescribed for posting 

land. 

The color of paint prescribed for posting land in accordance 

with § 18.2-134.1 of the Code of Virginia shall be aluminum 

or purple.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4689; Filed June 28, 2016, 4:01 p.m.  

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-1090. Pertaining to Licensing 

Requirements and License Fees (amending 4VAC20-1090-

30).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 28.2-201 and 28.2-210 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Dates: July 1, 2016, through July 30, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-

2248, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Pursuant to § 28.2-226.2 of the Code of Virginia the 

amendment separates the five crab pot recreational license 

into two categories, one with a terrapin excluder device 

($36) and one without such device ($46). 

4VAC20-1090-30. License fees. 

The following listing of license fees applies to any person 

who purchases a license for the purposes of harvesting for 

commercial purposes, or fishing for recreational purposes, 

during any calendar year. The fees listed below include a 

$1.00 agent fee. 

EDITOR'S NOTE: Subdivisions 1 through 10 and 12 through 

16 of 4VAC20-1090-30 are not amended; therefore, the text 

of those subdivisions is not set out.  
 

11. COMMERCIAL GEAR FOR RECREATIONAL USE 

Up to five crab pots with a terrapin 

excluder device $36.00 

Up to five crab pots without a terrapin 

excluder device $46.00 

Crab trotline (300 feet maximum) $10.00 

One crab trap or crab pound $6.00 

One gill net up to 300 feet in length $9.00 

Fish dip net $7.00 

Fish cast net $10.00 

Up to two eel pots $10.00 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4787; Filed June 29, 2016, 3:02 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Pursuant to § 28.2-106.2 of the 

Code of Virginia, the provisions of the Administrative 

Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) and 

§§ 28.2-209 through 28.2-215 do not apply to regulations 

promulgated under that section.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-1320. Pertaining to 

Establishment of Restricted Area - Maritime 

Administration James River Reserve Fleet (adding 

4VAC20-1320-10 through 4VAC20-1320-50).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-106.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: June 30, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-

2248 or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The purpose of the establishment of this regulation is to 

enhance the physical security of the James River Reserve 

Fleet as part of a comprehensive plan to protect the public, 

environment, and economic interests from sabotage and 

other subversive acts, accidents, or incidents of a similar 

nature. This regulation delineates an area within an 

undefined area already designated by the federal 

government under 33 CFR 162.270, Restricted areas in 

vicinity of Maritime Administration Reserve Fleets, and 

provides the Virginia Marine Police the authority to 

enforce Virginia law that prohibits entrance into 

prohibited restricted areas. 

CHAPTER 1320 

PERTAINING TO ESTABLISHMENT OF RESTRICTED 

AREA - MARITIME ADMINISTRATION JAMES RIVER 

RESERVE FLEET 

4VAC20-1320-10. Purpose. 

The purpose of this chapter is to enhance the physical 

security of the James River Reserve Fleet as part of a 

comprehensive plan to protect the public, environment, and 

economic interests from sabotage and other subversive acts, 

accidents, or incidents of a similar nature. 

This regulation delineates an area within an undefined area 

already designated by the federal government under 33 CFR 

162.270 and provides the Virginia Marine Police the 

authority to enforce Virginia law that prohibits entrance into 

prohibited restricted areas. 
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4VAC20-1320-20. Definitions. 

The following words when used in this chapter shall have 

the following meanings unless the context clearly indicates 

otherwise: 

"Restricted area" means those waters within an area 

beginning at latitude 37º08.4999992' N, longitude 

76º38.4799994' W; thence to latitude 37º07.1885596' N, 

longitude76º38.4395503 W; thence to latitude 

37º06.9585351' N, longitude 76º38.4331102' W; thence to 

latitude 37º06.4202049' N, longitude 76º38.4158624' W; 

thence to latitude 37º06.1150372' N, longitude 

76º38.5271810' W; thence to latitude 37º06.6400002' N, 

longitude 76º39.1899998' W; thence to latitude 

37º07.8999983' N, longitude 76º39.3400007' W; thence to 

latitude 37º08.4999986' N, longitude 76º38.6299996' W; 

thence to latitude 37º08.4999992' N, longitude 

76º38.4799994' W, being the point of beginning. 

4VAC20-1320-30. Prohibitions. 

No vessel or other watercraft, except those owned or 

controlled by the United States government or the Virginia 

Marine Police, shall cruise or anchor within the restricted area 

as defined in 4VAC20-1320-20 any closer than 500 feet of 

any reserve fleet unit or units unless specific permission to do 

so has first been granted in each case by the Maritime 

Administration James River Reserve Fleet. 

4VAC20-1320-40. Penalty. 

As set forth in § 28.2-106.2 D of the Code of Virginia, any 

person violating any provision of this chapter shall be guilty 

of a Class I misdemeanor.  

4VAC20-1320-50. Duration of regulation. 

This regulation will remain in effect until the federal rule 

pertaining to this restricted area expires. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4794; Filed June 30, 2016, 12:13 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Education is 

claiming an exclusion from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where no 

agency discretion is involved. The State Board of Education 

will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 

or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 8VAC20-70. Regulations Governing 

Pupil Transportation (amending 8VAC20-70-460).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 22.1-16, 22.1-176, and 22.1-177 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 10, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Melissa Luchau, Director for Board 

Relations, Department of Education, P.O. Box 2120, 101 

North 14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 225-2924, FAX (804) 225-2524, or email 

melissa.luchau@doe.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

To comport with Chapter 559 of the 2015 Acts of 

Assembly, the amendments permit a local school board to 

sell or transfer its school buses to another school division 

or purchase a used bus from another school division or a 

school bus dealer as long as the bus (i) conforms to the 

State Board of Education's construction and design 

specifications in effect at the time of manufacture, (ii) has 

a valid Virginia State Police inspection, and (iii) is not 

older than 15 model years at the time of sale, transfer, or 

purchase.  

Part IV  

General Requirements for School Buses in Virginia  

8VAC20-70-460. Specifications.  

It is the intent of the Board of Education to accommodate 

new equipment and technology that will better facilitate the 

safe and efficient transportation of students. When a new 

technology, piece of equipment, or component is desired to be 

applied to a school bus, it must have the approval of the 

Department of Education and must meet the following 

criteria:  

1. The technology, equipment, or component shall not 

compromise the effectiveness or integrity of any major 

safety system.  

2. The technology, equipment, or component shall not 

diminish the safety of the interior of the bus.  

3. The technology, equipment, or component shall not 

create additional risk to students who are boarding or 

exiting the bus or are in or near the school bus loading 

zone.  

4. The technology, equipment, or component shall not 

require undue additional activity or responsibility for the 

driver.  

5. The technology, equipment, or component shall 

generally increase efficiency or safety, or both, of the bus, 

generally provide for a safer or more pleasant experience 

for the occupants and pedestrians in the vicinity of the bus, 

or shall generally assist the driver and make his many tasks 

easier to perform.  

School buses and school activity buses purchased new must 

conform to the specifications relative to construction and 

design effective on the date of the initial procurement. Any 

variation from the specifications, in the form of additional 

equipment or changes in style of equipment, without prior 
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approval of the Department of Education, is prohibited. The 

Department of Education shall issue specifications and 

standards for public school buses to reflect desired 

technology or safety improvements for the then current model 

year.  

A local school board may sell or transfer any of its school 

buses or school activity buses to another school division or 

purchase a used bus from another school division or a school 

bus dealer as long as the school bus or school activity bus 

conforms to the specifications relating to construction and 

design in effect on the date of manufacture. The bus must also 

have a valid Virginia State Police inspection and may not be 

older than 15 model years at the time of sale, transfer, or 

purchase. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4577; Filed June 17, 2016, 2:12 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Notice of Extension of Emergency Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 12VAC5-71. Regulations Governing 

Virginia Newborn Screening Services (amending 

12VAC5-71-30, 12VAC5-71-150; adding 12VAC5-71-200 

through 12VAC5-71-260). 

12VAC5-191. State Plan for the Children with Special 

Health Care Needs Program (amending 12VAC5-191-

260).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12, 32.1-65.1, and 32.1-67 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Expiration Date Extended Through: December 22, 2016. 

The Governor has approved the State Board of Health request 

to extend the expiration date of the above-referenced 

emergency regulation for six months as provided for in § 2.2-

4011 D of the Code of Virginia. Therefore, the emergency 

regulation will continue in effect through December 22, 2016. 

The emergency regulation relates to screening for critical 

congenital heart disease and permitting the Virginia 

Department of Health to collect information via the Virginia 

Congenital Anomalies Reporting and Education System 

(VaCARES) reporting system. The emergency regulation was 

published in 31:11 VA.R. 942-946 January 26, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Dev Nair, Director, Division of Policy and 

Evaluation, Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-7662, FAX (804) 

864-7647, or email dev.nair@vdh.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4176; Filed June 17, 2016, 5:22 p.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-20. Administration of 

Medical Assistance Services (amending 12VAC30-20-500 

through 12VAC30-20-560).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Effective Date: August 10, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, Policy Division, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) address the manner in which alleged 

deficiencies in case summaries can be resolved and the 

means by which documentation can be transmitted in an 

informal appeal; (ii) clarify and adjust timelines and filing 

specifications, for example an extension of a 45-day 

limitation in which the hearing officer must conduct a 

formal hearing if agreed to by all parties and delivery 

using electronic means are added; and (iii) update and 

clarify the department's authority to take administrative 

action to dismiss untimely, unauthorized, or insufficient 

appeal requests. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

Part XII  

Provider Appeals  

12VAC30-20-500. Definitions. 

The following words, and terms when used in this part, shall 

have the following meanings:  

"Administrative dismissal" means a dismissal that requires 

only the issuance of a decision with appeal rights but does not 

require the submission of a case summary or any further 

proceeding. 

"Day" means a calendar day unless otherwise stated.  

"DMAS" means the Virginia Department of Medical 

Assistance Services or its agents or contractors.  

"Hearing officer" means an individual selected by the 

Executive Secretary of the Supreme Court of Virginia to 

conduct the formal appeal in an impartial manner pursuant to 

§§ 2.2-4020 and 32.1-325.1 of the Code of Virginia and this 

part. 

"Informal appeals agent" means a DMAS employee who 

conducts the informal appeal in an impartial manner pursuant 

to §§ .2-4019 and 32.1-325.1 of the Code of Virginia and this 

part. 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=4827
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"Last known address" means the provider's physical or 

electronic correspondence address on record in the DMAS 

Medicaid Management Information System as of the date 

DMAS transmits an item to the provider or the address of the 

provider's counsel of record. Nothing herein shall prevent 

DMAS and the provider from agreeing in writing during the 

course of an audit or an appeal to use an alternative location 

for the transmittal of an item or items related to the audit or 

the appeal. 

"Provider" means an individual or entity that has a contract 

with DMAS to provide covered services and that is not 

operated by the Commonwealth of Virginia.  

"Transmit" means to send by means of the United States 

mail, courier or other hand delivery, facsimile, electronic 

mail, or electronic submission.  

12VAC30-20-520. Provider appeals: general provisions. 

A. This part governs all DMAS informal and formal 

provider appeals and shall supersede supersedes any other 

provider appeals regulations.  

B. A provider may appeal any DMAS action that is subject 

to appeal under the Virginia Administrative Process Act 

(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), including 

DMAS' interpretation and application of payment 

methodologies. A provider may not appeal the actual payment 

methodologies.  

C. DMAS shall mail transmit all items to the last known 

address of the provider. It is presumed that DMAS mails 

transmits items on the date noted on the item. It is presumed 

that providers receive items mailed transmitted by United 

States mail to their last known address within three days after 

DMAS mails transmits the item by United States mail. It is 

presumed that providers receive items transmitted by 

[ facsimile, ] electronic mail [ , ] or [ facsimile to their last 

known other ] electronic [ mail address of facsimile 

number submission ] on the date transmitted. It is presumed 

that [ the providers receive ] items [ are received upon 

transmitted by courier or other hand delivery ] the date [ and 

time ] of delivery to the provider's last known address [ by a 

courier ]. These presumptions in this section shall apply 

unless the provider, through evidence beyond a mere denial 

of receipt, introduces evidence sufficient to rebut the 

presumption. If a provider requests a copy of an item, the 

transmittal date for the item remains the date originally noted 

on the item, and not the date that the copy of the requested 

item is transmitted. A provider's failure to accept delivery of 

an item transmitted by DMAS, or a provider's failure to open 

an item upon receipt, shall not result in an extension of any of 

the timelines established by this part.  

D. Whenever DMAS or a provider is required to file a 

document, the document shall be considered filed when it is 

date stamped by the DMAS Appeals Division in Richmond, 

Virginia.  

E. Whenever the last day specified for the filing of any 

document or the performance of any other act falls on a day 

on which DMAS is officially closed for the full or partial day, 

the time period shall be extended to the next day on which 

DMAS is officially open.  

F. Conferences and hearings shall be conducted at DMAS' 

main office in Richmond, Virginia, or at such other place as 

agreed to upon in writing by the parties DMAS, the provider, 

and the informal appeals agent for informal appeals. For 

formal appeals, this agreement shall be between DMAS, the 

provider, and the hearing officer. 

G. Whenever DMAS or a provider is required to attend a 

conference or hearing, failure by one of the parties to attend 

the conference or hearing shall result in dismissal of the 

appeal in favor of the other party.  

H. DMAS shall reimburse a provider for reasonable and 

necessary attorneys' fees and costs associated with an 

informal or formal administrative appeal if the provider 

substantially prevails on the merits of the appeal and DMAS' 

position is not substantially justified, unless special 

circumstances would make an award unjust. In order to 

substantially prevail on the merits of the appeal, the provider 

must be successful on more than 50% of the dollar amount 

involved in the issues identified in the provider's notice of 

appeal.  

I. Any document that is filed with the DMAS Appeals 

Division after 5 p.m. [ Eastern Time shall be date stamped on 

the next day DMAS is officially open. Any document that is 

filed with the DMAS Appeals Division after 5 p.m. ] Eastern 

Time on the due date shall be untimely. 

12VAC30-20-540. Informal appeals.  

A. Providers appealing a DMAS decision shall file a written 

notice of informal appeal with the DMAS Appeals Division 

within 30 days of the provider's receipt of the decision. 

Notice of informal appeal. 

1. Providers appealing the termination or denial of their 

Medicaid agreement pursuant to § 32.1-325 [ D E ] of the 

Code of Virginia shall file a written notice of informal 

appeal with the DMAS Appeals Division within 15 days of 

the provider's receipt of the notice of termination or denial.  

2. Providers appealing adjustments to a cost report shall 

file a written notice of informal appeal with the DMAS 

Appeals Division within 90 days of the provider's receipt 

of the notice of program reimbursement. The written notice 

of informal appeal shall identify the issues being appealed, 

adjustments, or items that the provider is appealing. 

3. Providers appealing all other DMAS decisions shall file 

a written notice of informal appeal with the DMAS 

Appeals Division within 30 days of the provider's receipt 

of the decision. The written notice of informal appeal shall 

identify each adjustment, patient, service date, or other 

disputed matter that the provider is appealing.  
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B. Administrative dismissals. 

1. Failure to timely file a written notice of informal appeal 

within 30 days of receipt of the decision or within 90 days 

of receipt of the notice of program reimbursement shall 

result in dismissal of the appeal. Failure to file a written 

notice of informal appeal for termination or denial of a 

Medicaid agreement pursuant to § 32.1-325 D of the Code 

of Virginia within 15 days of receipt of the notice of 

termination or denial shall result in dismissal of the appeal 

with the information required by subdivision A 2 or A 3 of 

this section shall result in an administrative dismissal.  

2. A representative, billing company, or other third-party 

entity filing a written notice of appeal on behalf of a 

provider shall submit to DMAS, at the time of filing or 

upon request, a written authorization to act on the 

provider's behalf, signed by the provider. The authorization 

shall reference the specific adverse action or actions being 

appealed including, if applicable, each patient's name and 

date of service. Failure to submit a written authorization as 

specified in this subdivision shall result in an 

administrative dismissal. This requirement shall not apply 

to an appeal filed by a Virginia licensed attorney. 

3. If a provider has not exhausted any applicable DMAS or 

contractor reconsideration or review process or contractor's 

internal appeals process that the provider is required to 

exhaust before filing a DMAS informal appeal, the 

provider's written notice of informal appeal shall be 

administratively dismissed. 

4. If DMAS has not issued a decision with appeal rights, 

the provider's attempt to file a written notice of informal 

appeal, prior to the issuance of a decision by DMAS that 

has appeal rights, shall be administratively dismissed. 

B. C. Written case summary. 

1. DMAS shall file a written case summary with the 

DMAS Appeals Division within 30 days of the filing of the 

provider's notice of informal appeal. DMAS and shall 

mail transmit a complete copy of the case summary to the 

provider on the same day that the case summary is filed 

with the DMAS Appeals Division.  

The case summary shall address each adjustment, patient, 

service date, or other disputed matter and shall state 

DMAS' position for each adjustment, patient, service date, 

or other disputed matter. The case summary shall contain 

the factual basis for each adjustment, patient, service date, 

or other disputed matter and any other information, 

authority, or documentation DMAS relied upon in taking 

its action or making its decision. 2. For each adjustment, 

patient, and service date or other disputed matter identified 

by the provider in its notice of informal appeal, the case 

summary shall explain the factual basis upon which DMAS 

relied in taking its action or making its decision and 

identify any authority or documentation upon which 

DMAS relied in taking its action or making its decision. 

3. Failure to file a written case summary with the DMAS 

Appeals Division in the detail specified within 30 days of 

the filing of the provider's notice of informal appeal within 

30 days of the filing of the written notice of informal 

appeal shall result in dismissal in favor of the provider on 

those issues not addressed in the detail specified.  

4. The provider shall have 12 days following the due date 

of the case summary to file with the DMAS Appeals 

Division and transmit to the author of the case summary a 

written notice of all alleged deficiencies in the case 

summary that the provider knows, or reasonably should 

know, exist. Failure of the provider to timely file a written 

notice of deficiency with the DMAS Appeals Division 

shall be deemed a waiver of all deficiencies, alleged or 

otherwise, with the case summary. 

5. Upon timely receipt of the provider's notice of 

deficiency, DMAS shall have 12 days to address the 

alleged deficiency or deficiencies. If DMAS does not 

address the alleged deficiency or does not address the 

alleged deficiency to the provider's satisfaction, the alleged 

deficiency or deficiencies shall become an issue to be 

addressed by the informal appeals agent as part of the 

informal appeal decision. 

6. The informal appeals agent shall make a determination 

as to each deficiency that is alleged by the provider as set 

forth in this subsection. In making that determination, the 

informal appeals agent shall determine whether the alleged 

deficiency is such that it could not reasonably be 

determined from the case summary the factual basis and 

authority for the DMAS action, relating to the alleged 

deficiency, so as to require a dismissal in favor of the 

provider on the issue or issues to which the alleged 

deficiency pertains.  

C. D. Conference. 

1. The informal appeals agent shall conduct the conference 

within 90 days from the filing of the notice of informal 

appeal. If DMAS and, the provider, and the informal 

appeals agent agree, the conference may be conducted by 

way of written submissions. If the conference is conducted 

by way of written submissions, the informal appeals agent 

shall specify the time within which the provider may file 

written submissions, not to exceed 90 days from the filing 

of the notice of informal appeal. Only written submissions 

filed within the time specified by the informal appeals 

agent shall be considered.  

D. 2. The conference may be recorded at the discretion of 

the informal appeals agent and solely for the convenience 

of the informal appeals agent. Since Because the 

conference is not an adversarial or evidentiary proceeding, 

recordings shall not be made part of the administrative 

record and shall not be made available to anyone other than 

the informal appeals agent no other recordings or 

transcriptions shall be permitted. Any recordings made for 
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the convenience of the informal appeals agent shall not be 

released to DMAS or to the provider. 

E. 3. Upon completion of the conference, the informal 

appeals agent shall specify the time within which the 

provider may file additional documentation or information, 

if any, not to exceed 30 days. Only documentation or 

information filed within the time specified by the informal 

appeals agent shall be considered.  

F. E. Informal appeals decision. The informal appeal 

decision shall be issued within 180 days of receipt of the 

notice of informal appeal.  

F. Remand. Whenever an informal appeal is required 

pursuant to a remand by court order, final agency decision, 

agreement of the parties, or otherwise, all time periods set 

forth in this section shall begin to run effective with the date 

that the document containing the remand is date-stamped by 

the DMAS Appeals Division in Richmond, Virginia. 

12VAC30-20-560. Formal appeals.  

A. Any A provider appealing a DMAS informal appeal 

decision shall file a written notice of formal appeal with the 

DMAS Appeals Division within 30 days of the provider's 

receipt of the informal appeal decision. The notice of formal 

appeal shall identify the issues being appealed each 

adjustment, patient, service date, or other disputed matter that 

the provider is appealing. Failure to file a written notice of 

formal appeal in the detail specified within 30 days of receipt 

of the informal appeal decision shall result in dismissal of the 

appeal. Pursuant to § 2.2-4019 A of the Code of Virginia, 

DMAS shall ascertain the fact basis for decisions through 

informal proceedings unless the parties consent in writing to 

waive such a conference or proceeding to go directly to a 

formal hearing, and therefore only issues that were addressed 

pursuant to § 2.2-4019 shall be addressed in the formal 

appeal, unless DMAS and the provider consent to waive the 

informal fact-finding process under § 2.2-4019 A of the Code 

of Virginia. 

B. DMAS and the provider shall exchange and file with the 

hearing officer all documentary evidence on which DMAS or 

the provider relies within 21 days of the filing of the notice of 

formal appeal. Only documents filed within 21 days of the 

filing of the notice of formal appeal shall be considered. 

DMAS and the provider shall file any objections to the 

admissibility of documentary evidence within seven days of 

the filing of the documentary evidence. Only objections filed 

within seven days of the filing of the documentary evidence 

shall be considered. The hearing officer shall rule on any 

objections within seven days of the filing of the objections. 

Documentary evidence [ , objections to documentary 

evidence, opening briefs, and reply briefs ]. 

1. [ Objections Documentary evidence, objections ] to 

documentary evidence, opening briefs, and reply briefs 

shall be filed with the DMAS Appeals Division on the date 

specified in this subsection. The hearing officer shall only 

consider those documents or pleadings that are filed within 

the required timeline. [ DMAS and Simultaneous with 

filing, ] the [ provider filing party ] shall [ also ] transmit 

[ any required document a copy ] to the other party and to 

the hearing officer [ on the date of filing ]. 

a. All documentary evidence upon which DMAS or the 

provider relies shall be filed within 21 days of the filing 

of the notice of formal appeal. 

b. Any objections to the admissibility of documentary 

evidence shall be filed within seven days of the filing of 

the documentary evidence. The hearing officer shall rule 

on any such objections within seven days of the filing of 

the objections. 

c. The opening brief shall be filed by DMAS and the 

provider within 30 days of the completion of the hearing. 

d. Any reply brief from DMAS or the provider shall be 

filed within 10 days of the filing of the opening brief to 

which the reply brief responds. 

2. If there has been an extension to the time for conducting 

the hearing pursuant to subsection C of this section, the 

hearing officer is authorized to alter the due dates for filing 

opening and reply briefs to permit the hearing officer to be 

in compliance with the due date for the submission of the 

recommended decision as required by § 32.1-325.1 B of 

the Code of Virginia and subsection E of this section.  

C. The hearing officer shall conduct the hearing within 45 

days from the filing of the notice of formal appeal, unless the 

hearing officer, DMAS, and the provider all mutually agree to 

extend the time for conducting the hearing. Notwithstanding 

the foregoing, the due date for the hearing officer to submit 

the recommended decision to the DMAS director, as required 

by § 32.1-325.1 B of the Code of Virginia and subsection E 

of this section, shall not be extended or otherwise changed. 

D. Hearings shall be transcribed by a court reporter retained 

by DMAS.  

E. Upon completion of the hearing, DMAS and the provider 

shall have 30 days to exchange and file with the hearing 

officer an opening brief. Only opening briefs filed within 30 

days after the hearing shall be considered. DMAS and the 

provider shall have 10 days to exchange and file with the 

hearing officer a reply brief after the opening brief has been 

filed. Only reply briefs filed within 10 days after the opening 

brief has been filed shall be considered.  

F. E. The hearing officer shall submit a recommended 

decision to the DMAS director with a copy to the provider 

within 120 days of receipt the filing of the formal appeal 

request notice. If the hearing officer does not submit a 

recommended decision within 120 days of the filing of the 

notice of formal appeal, then DMAS shall give written notice 

to the hearing officer and the Executive Secretary of the 

Supreme Court that a recommended decision is due.  

G. F. Upon receipt of the hearing officer's recommended 

decision, the DMAS director shall notify DMAS and the 

provider in writing that any written exceptions to the hearing 
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officer's recommended decision shall be filed with the DMAS 

Appeals Division within 30 14 days of receipt of the DMAS 

director's letter. Only exceptions filed within 30 14 days of 

receipt of the DMAS director's letter shall be considered. The 

DMAS director shall issue the final agency case decision 

within 60 days of receipt of the hearing officer's 

recommended decision.  

G. The DMAS director shall issue the final agency decision 

within 60 days of receipt of the hearing officer's 

recommended decision in accordance with § 32.1-325.1 B of 

the Code of Virginia.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3105; Filed June 21, 2016, 10:32 a.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-30. Groups Covered and 

Agencies Responsible for Eligibility Determination 

(adding 12VAC30-30-70).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 10, 2016. 

Effective Date: August 26, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, Policy Division, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia grants to the 

Board of Medical Assistance Services the authority to 

administer and amend the Plan for Medical Assistance. 

Section 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

Director of the Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) to administer and amend the Plan for Medical 

Assistance according to the board's requirements. The 

Medicaid authority as established by § 1902(a) of the Social 

Security Act (42 USC § 1396a) provides governing authority 

for payments for services. 

The new section, 12VAC30-30-70, is required by 42 CFR 

435.1110, a federal regulation stating that DMAS "must 

provide Medicaid during a presumptive eligibility period to 

individuals who are determined by a qualified hospital, on the 

basis of preliminary information, to be presumptively eligible 

[for Medicaid]". The federal regulation states that the 

requirements of 42 CFR 435.1102 and 42 CFR 435.1103 

apply to these determinations. 

Purpose: The purpose of this action is to comply with federal 

regulations, which require DMAS to permit qualified 

hospitals to make presumptive eligibility determinations.  

The regulations protect the health, safety, and welfare of 

citizens by promoting enrollment in Medicaid for individuals 

who may be eligible but who are not enrolled. The changes 

allow these individuals to receive Medicaid covered services 

during the presumptive eligibility period. The changes assure 

individuals timely access to care while a final eligibility 

determination is made and promote enrollment in Medicaid. 

These changes assist both the individual with the cost of the 

medical care they receive and assist the hospital, which can 

be assured of payment for services rendered. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 

regulatory change is expected to be noncontroversial because 

the federal government has required all states to make this 

change; it is nondiscretionary. 

Further, the regulatory change is expected to be 

noncontroversial because DMAS engaged stakeholder groups 

in making certain choices that are permitted by the federal 

regulations. DMAS worked closely with the Virginia Hospital 

and Healthcare Association on both the content of the 

changes and on training materials for hospitals. As of August 

2014, 57 hospitals across Virginia are qualified to make 

presumptive eligibility determinations. 

Substance: The section of the State Plan for Medical 

Assistance affected by this action is Groups Covered and 

Agencies Responsible for Eligibility Determination 

(12VAC30-30).  

Federal regulations require DMAS to implement these 

regulatory changes and to establish the requirements that 

hospitals must meet in order to participate. (The hospital must 

be a Medicaid provider, must notify DMAS of its election to 

make presumptive eligibility determinations, and must do so 

in accordance with state policies and procedures. The hospital 

must not have been disqualified for failing to follow these 

policies and procedures.) DMAS chose to allow hospitals to 

use an abbreviated online form to determine presumptive 

eligibility, rather than using the full Medicaid application for 

this purpose; individuals are not required to sign this online 

form. DMAS also chose to require hospitals to assist the 

individual with completing and submitting a full Medicaid 

application.  

The federal requirements also establish a minimum set of 

groups that must be considered for possible presumptive 

eligibility, as follows: (i) pregnant women; (ii) infants and 

children younger than age 19 years, parents, and other 

caretaker relatives; (iii) adults if covered by the state; (iv) 

individuals with an income above 133% of the federal 

poverty level and younger than age 65 years if covered by the 

state; (v) individuals eligible for family planning services if 

covered by the state; (vi) former foster care children; and (vii) 

individuals needing treatment for breast or cervical cancer if 

covered by the state. The eligibility determination for selected 

groups (i), (ii), (v), (vi) and (vii) does not require that 

hospitals evaluate the resources of these individuals. Thus, 

these hospital eligibility determinations are more likely to be 

more accurate.  

Virginia currently does not cover groups (iii) and (iv), thus 

these two groups are not covered under hospital presumptive 

eligibility. DMAS elected not to provide coverage to other 
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nonmandated groups because the other nonmandated groups 

require resource tests. 

In accordance with federal requirements, presumptive 

eligibility is determined based on membership in one of the 

above groups: household income, state residency, and 

immigration status. State residency and immigration status 

were options permitted by the Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services (CMS) and chosen by DMAS because this 

is consistent with the rest of Virginia Medicaid eligibility. 

Federal regulations establish when the presumptive eligibility 

period begins (the date the presumptive eligibility 

determination is made) and ends, which is the earlier of the (i) 

day on which a decision is made on a full Medicaid 

application; or (ii) last day of the month following the month 

that the hospital presumptive eligibility determination was 

made and no full Medicaid application was filed. 

CMS required the Commonwealth to set performance 

standards for hospitals performing presumptive eligibility 

determinations. Virginia opted to set standards related to the 

percentage of individuals who submit a full Medicaid 

application and who are subsequently determined to be 

eligible for Medicaid as a result of that application. In 

Virginia, the standards are that 85% of individuals who are 

determined to be presumptively eligible by a hospital must 

file a full application for Medicaid. Of those individuals, 70% 

must be determined eligible for Medicaid based on their full 

application. If hospitals fail to meet these standards after 

corrective action plans are put into place, their authority to 

make presumptive eligibility determinations may be 

terminated. 

Issues: The primary advantages of this regulatory action are 

that it will enable DMAS to comply with federal 

requirements; will promote Medicaid enrollment among 

individuals who are eligible for Medicaid but not enrolled; 

and will permit hospitals to receive Medicaid reimbursement 

for covered services rendered. 

With regard to hospital reimbursement, services covered 

during a presumptive eligibility period will be considered 

Medicaid-covered services for year-end hospital cost 

reporting purposes. For hospitals that receive supplemental 

reimbursement for indigent care, the amount of indigent care 

reimbursement will be reduced due to the increased Medicaid 

reimbursement. 

There are no known disadvantages to the public, the 

department, or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

proposed regulations establish rules for federally required 

Medicaid presumptive eligibility determinations made by 

hospitals for their patients seeking treatment. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. An alternative or an additional standard 

may improve the regulation in measuring a hospital's 

performance. Additional regulatory language about the length 

of the disqualification period may improve the regulation. 

Additional language may be needed to dissuade applicants 

from being untruthful. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Starting in January 2014, the 

federal Affordable Care Act provided qualified hospitals an 

opportunity to make Medicaid presumptive eligibility 

determinations for their patients seeking treatment. States 

must allow all qualifying hospitals willing to abide by state 

policies and procedures to perform presumptive eligibility 

determinations. Federal regulations in 42 CFR 435.1101 and 

42 CFR 435.1102 outline the details regarding the 

implementation of this requirement by the states. Virginia's 

presumptive eligibility rules were approved by the Centers for 

Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) in July 2015 and 

have already been implemented under the approved state 

plan. In fiscal year 2015, approximately $3.5 million in total 

expenditures was paid for 19,423 claims involving 2,079 

unique recipients. 

Under the presumptive eligibility rules, Medicaid eligibility 

determinations are made by trained hospital staff based on an 

assessment of the individual's status as a member of a group 

(i.e., pregnant women, infants and children under age 19, 

parents and other caretaker relatives, individuals eligible for 

family planning services, former foster care children, 

individuals needing treatment for breast and cervical cancer), 

their income, state residency, and citizenship status. The 

hospital then assists the individual in completing and 

submitting a full Medicaid application for future Medicaid 

coverage. If the individual is found presumptively eligible, he 

or she is temporarily enrolled in Medicaid and health care 

providers receive payment for services provided during this 

interim period. A full application for Medicaid coverage may 

follow, with the determination of eligibility completed by a 

local department of social services, or the Department of 

Medical Assistance Services (DMAS). The presumptive 

eligibility begins on the date the determination is made and 

ends on the earlier of the day on which a decision is made on 

a full Medicaid application, or the last day of the month 

following the month that the hospital's presumptive eligibility 

determination was made and no full Medicaid application was 

filed. Payment for services covered is guaranteed during the 

presumptive eligibility period. There is no recoupment for 

Medicaid services provided during that period resulting from 

erroneous determinations made by qualified entities. 

Pursuant to a request by CMS, the proposed regulation 

establishes two performance standards for hospitals 

performing presumptive eligibility determinations. In order to 

maintain their participation to make presumptive eligibility 

determinations, a hospital is required to ensure (i) that a 

certain percentage of individuals deemed presumptively 

eligible will file a full Medicaid application before the end of 

the presumptive eligibility period, and (ii) that a certain 

percentage of individuals deemed presumptively eligible will 
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be determined eligible based on the full application. The 

purpose of the proposed performance standards is to ensure 

that hospitals are making appropriate presumptive eligibility 

determinations and fulfilling their oversight responsibilities. 

If a hospital fails to follow these standards it may be 

disqualified from making such determinations. 

DMAS recognizes if not carefully implemented, the proposed 

performance standards for participating hospitals could have 

unintended adverse effects on their ability to participate in the 

program through no fault of their own. 

A performance standard must be under the control of the 

entity whose performance it measures. In this case, a hospital 

does not have control over whether the individuals deemed 

presumptively eligible will file a full Medicaid application. 

The individual may not want to file a full Medicaid 

application or may even refuse to do so. The individual's 

failure to follow through with the full application should not 

be held against the performance of a qualified hospital and 

put its participation in jeopardy. In order to avoid such 

unintended consequences, such cases will be excluded in 

calculating the performance metric when the hospital certifies 

that an attempt has been made but the individual declined to 

follow through with the full application. 

Similarly, the hospital does not have control over whether the 

individual is providing accurate or even truthful information 

when filing the application for the presumptive eligibility. 

Additionally, comparison of determinations made at two 

different points in time may lead to erroneous conclusions as 

the applicant's financial circumstances may have changed 

between the interim and the full applications. Thus, a 

participating hospital will not be held liable if the information 

provided by the applicant results in a denial of eligibility 

following the full application; such cases will also be 

excluded from the data in calculating the performance metric. 

In the alternative, this performance standard may perhaps 

focus solely on whether the hospital made an error in its 

presumptive eligibility determination treating the information 

on the application as true.  

DMAS notes that these two performance measures were 

suggested by CMS and any revision in these measures would 

necessitate a state plan amendment. It appears that the states 

have the option to choose different performance standards 

than those suggested by CMS.
1
  

The primary advantages of this regulatory action are that it 

enables DMAS to comply with federal requirements, assures 

individuals timely but limited access to care, promotes 

Medicaid enrollment among individuals who are eligible for 

Medicaid but not enrolled, and permits hospitals to receive 

Medicaid reimbursement for covered services rendered. Since 

the presumptive eligibility program has already been 

implemented since July 2015, no significant economic impact 

is expected upon promulgation of the proposed changes other 

than providing the rules in the regulations for the affected 

entities and the public. 

The proposed regulation may be improved by addressing the 

length of the disqualification period and when and how a 

reinstatement could occur if a hospital fails to meet the 

performance standards. It does not make sense to prohibit a 

hospital from participation in this program indefinitely. 

Further, as discussed above, there is no recoupment for 

payments from hospitals for services provided during the 

presumptive eligibility period. Without such a guarantee, a 

hospital could not rely on the presumptive eligibility 

determination and may be inclined to refrain from 

participation. However, given the unique nature of this 

program, the applicant should be held liable when he or she 

intentionally provides false information. The proposed 

regulation may be further improved by making it clear that 

the applicant may be held liable or by requiring disclosure of 

such a potential liability on the application form. Such 

language would dissuade applicants from being untruthful 

and mitigate the Commonwealth's exposure to risk of fraud. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed regulation 

primarily applies to hospitals wishing to participate in 

presumptive eligibility determinations and the individuals 

who may presumptively qualify for Medicaid. As of August 

2014, there were 57 hospitals making presumptive eligibility 

determinations. In fiscal year 2015, there were 2,079 

recipients identified as presumptively eligible. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed changes apply 

statewide. 

Projected Impact on Employment. A hospital may voluntarily 

choose to participate in presumptive eligibility 

determinations. Such participation may increase their demand 

for labor to assist the individuals in the application process.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. 

Participation in presumptive eligibility determinations helps 

hospitals receive payment from Medicaid for eligible 

individuals. In that sense, the proposed regulation has a 

positive impact on the asset values of participating hospitals. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. Affected hospitals are not considered 

small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed changes do not affect small businesses. 

Adverse Impacts:  

Businesses. The proposed changes are not anticipated to have 

an adverse impact on businesses. 
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Localities. The proposed amendments should not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed changes are not anticipated to 

have an adverse impact on other entities.  

_________________ 
1 See Answer #24, "Medicaid and CHIP FAQs: Implementing Hospital 
Presumptive Eligibility Programs," January 2014, Centers for Medicare & 

Medicaid Services. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency has reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared 

by the Department of Planning and Budget. The agency raises 

no issues with this analysis. 

Summary: 

This action creates a new section, 12VAC30-30-70, 

Hospital presumptive eligibility, in accordance with 

federal regulations that require the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services to allow qualified hospitals to make 

temporary Medicaid eligibility determinations for 

individuals who are seeking medical treatment. The 

Medicaid determinations are made by trained hospital staff 

based on an assessment of an individual's status as a 

member of an eligible group and an individual's income, 

state residency, and citizenship status. The hospital then 

assists the individual in completing and submitting a full 

Medicaid application for future Medicaid coverage. 

12VAC30-30-70. Hospital presumptive eligibility. 

A. Qualified hospitals shall administer presumptive 

eligibility in accordance with the provisions of this section. A 

qualified hospital is a hospital that: 

1. Has entered into a valid provider agreement with 

DMAS, participates as a Virginia Medicaid provider, 

notifies DMAS of its election to make presumptive 

eligibility determinations, and agrees to make presumptive 

eligibility determinations consistent with DMAS policies 

and procedures; and  

2. Has not been disqualified by DMAS for failure to make 

presumptive eligibility determinations in accordance with 

applicable state policies and procedures or for failure to 

meet any standards established by the Medicaid agency. 

B. The eligibility groups or populations for which hospitals 

determine eligibility presumptively are: (i) pregnant women; 

(ii) infants and children younger than age 19 years; (iii) 

parents and other caretaker relatives; (iv) individuals eligible 

for family planning services; (v) former foster care children; 

and (vi) individuals needing treatment for breast and cervical 

cancer. 

C. The presumptive eligibility determination shall be based 

on: 

1. The individual's categorical or nonfinancial eligibility 

for the group, as listed in subsection B of this section, for 

which the individual's presumptive eligibility is being 

determined; 

2. Household income shall not exceed the applicable 

income standard for the group, as the groups are listed in 

subsection B of this section, for which the individual's 

presumptive eligibility is being determined if an income 

standard is applicable for this group; 

3. Virginia residency; and 

4. Satisfactory immigration status. 

D. Qualified hospitals shall ensure that at least 85% of 

individuals deemed by the hospital to be presumptively 

eligible will file a full Medicaid application before the end of 

the presumptive eligibility period.  

E. Qualified hospitals shall ensure that at least 70% of 

individuals deemed by the hospital to be presumptively 

eligible are determined eligible for Medicaid based on the full 

application that is submitted before the end of the 

presumptive eligibility period. 

F. The presumptive eligibility period shall begin on the date 

the presumptive eligibility determination is made. The 

presumptive eligibility period shall end on the earlier of: 

1. The date the eligibility determination for regular 

Medicaid is made if an application for Medicaid is filed by 

the last day of the month following the month in which the 

determination of presumptive eligibility is made; or  

2. The last day of the month following the month in which 

the determination of presumptive eligibility is made if no 

application for Medicaid is filed by last day of the month 

following the month in which the determination of 

presumptive eligibility is made. 

G. Periods of presumptive eligibility are limited to one 

presumptive eligibility period per pregnancy and one per 

calendar year for all other covered groups.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4431; Filed June 21, 2016, 10:07 a.m.  

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-60. Standards Established 

and Methods Used to Assure High Quality Care 

(amending 12VAC30-60-303, 12VAC30-60-310; adding 

12VAC30-60-301, 12VAC30-60-302, 12VAC30-60-304, 

12VAC30-60-305, 12VAC30-60-306, 12VAC30-60-308, 

12VAC30-60-313, 12VAC30-60-315; repealing 12VAC30-

60-300, 12VAC30-60-307, 12VAC30-60-312).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Effective Dates: September 1, 2016, through February 28, 

2018. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, Policy Division, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 
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Preamble: 

Section 2.2-4011 B of the Code of Virginia authorizes state 

agencies to adopt emergency regulations in situations in 

which Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or 

federal law or federal regulation requires that a regulation 

become effective in 280 days or less from its enactment, 

and the regulation is not exempt under the provisions of 

§ 2.2-4006 A 4. Chapter 413 of the 2014 Acts of Assembly, 

Item 301 QQQQ of Chapter 3 of the 2015 Acts of the 

Assembly, and Item 306 PPP of Chapter 780 of the 2016 

Acts of Assembly direct the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services (DMAS) to contract out community-

based screenings for children, track and monitor all 

requests for screenings that have not been completed 

within 30 days of an individual's request, establish 

reimbursement and tracking mechanisms, and promulgate 

regulations to implement these provisions to be effective 

within 280 days of enactment. This emergency regulatory 

action responds to the legislative mandates. 

In 1984, the Code of Virginia was modified to add § 32.1-

330, Preadmission screening required. Section 32.1-330 of 

the Code of Virginia requires that all individuals who will 

be eligible for community or institutional long-term 

services and supports (LTSS) as defined in the State Plan 

for Medical Assistance be evaluated to determine their 

needs for Medicaid-funded nursing facility services. Also, 

the Code of Virginia specifically requires DMAS to utilize 

employees of local departments of social services and local 

health departments for community screenings and acute 

care hospitals for inpatient screenings, respectively. While 

this screening structure, established in the early 1980s, 

worked effectively for many years, the evolution of 

Virginia's Medicaid service delivery system has outgrown 

the original design. Significant challenges have developed 

that require a change to the Virginia Administrative Code. 

Some community-based screenings have taken longer than 

30 days to complete thereby creating a significant risk to 

individuals who have been unable to access Medicaid 

LTSS.  

The existing regulations for nursing facility criteria and 

preadmission screening were first promulgated in 1994 

and amended in 2002. The regulations include the criteria 

for receiving Medicaid-funded community-based and 

nursing facility long-term services and supports. This 

emergency regulation adds requirements for accepting, 

managing, and completing requests for community and 

hospital electronic screenings for community-based and 

nursing facility services, and using the electronic 

preadmission screening (ePAS) system.  

One potential issue may be limited staff resources in 

community and hospital settings. The emergency 

regulation clarifies requirements of community and 

hospital preadmission teams and includes requirements to 

use the new automated ePAS system to enhance work 

efficiency. This emergency regulation also establishes the 

use by DMAS of a contractor or contractors and provides 

a framework for public or private entities to screen 

children and adults in communities where community 

preadmission screening teams are unable to complete 

screenings within 30 days of the initial request date for a 

screening. These strategies are designed to ensure prompt 

services to citizens requesting Medicaid-funded LTSS and 

to protect their health, safety, and welfare.  

The current requirements for functional eligibility 

(12VAC30-60-303 B) for Medicaid-funded LTSS are being 

retained since these standards support the eligibility 

process for the DMAS home-based and community-based 

waiver programs (the Elderly or Disabled with Consumer 

Direction Waiver, the Technology Assisted Waiver, the 

Alzheimer's Assisted Living Waiver, the Program of All-

Inclusive Care for the Elderly Program, and nursing 

facility care).  

The regulations repeal the existing nursing facility criteria 

(12VAC30-60-300) in order to move the criteria to a new 

location within 12VAC30-60-303. To be clear, the 

functional criteria, based on the Uniform Assessment 

Instrument (UAI) form, are not changing in this regulatory 

action, and the use of the UAI for this purpose remains the 

same. This action simply moves the existing criteria to a 

new location in the chapter to assist the public and 

regulated entities to more easily understand the regulation.  

The remaining current provisions in the Virginia 

Administrative Code are incomplete and fragmented. To 

remedy this, amendments include adding a definitions 

section (12VAC30-60-301) and sections describing the 

requirement for the request for screenings (12VAC30-60-

304), screenings for Medicaid-funded LTSS (12VAC30-60-

305), submission of screenings (12VAC30-306), ePAS 

requirements and submissions (12VAC30-60-310), 

individuals determined to not meet criteria (12VAC30-60-

313), and ongoing evaluations for individuals receiving 

Medicaid-funded LTSS (12VAC30-60-315).  

12VAC30-60-300. Nursing facility criteria. (Repealed.)  

A. Medicaid-funded long-term care services may be 

provided in either a nursing facility or community-based care 

setting. The criteria for assessing an individual's eligibility for 

Medicaid payment of nursing facility care consist of two 

components: (i) functional capacity (the degree of assistance 

an individual requires to complete activities of daily living) 

and (ii) medical or nursing needs. The criteria for assessing an 

individual's eligibility for Medicaid payment of community-

based care consist of three components: (i) functional 

capacity (the degree of assistance an individual requires to 

complete activities of daily living), (ii) medical or nursing 

needs and (iii) the individual's risk of nursing facility 

placement in the absence of community-based waiver 

services. In order to qualify for either Medicaid-funded 
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nursing facility care or Medicaid-funded community-based 

care, the individual must meet the same criteria.  

B. The preadmission screening process preauthorizes a 

continuum of long-term care services available to an 

individual under the Virginia Medical Assistance Program. 

Nursing Facilities' Preadmission Screenings to authorize 

Medicaid-funded long-term care are performed by teams 

composed by agencies contracting with the Department of 

Medical Assistance Services (DMAS). The authorization for 

Medicaid-funded long-term care must be rescinded by the 

nursing facility or community-based care provider or by 

DMAS at any point that the individual is determined to no 

longer meet the criteria for Medicaid-funded long-term care. 

Medicaid-funded long-term care services are covered by the 

program for individuals whose needs meet the criteria 

established by program regulations. Authorization of 

appropriate non-institutional services shall be evaluated 

before nursing facility placement is considered.  

C. Prior to an individual's admission, the nursing facility 

must review the completed pre-admission screening forms to 

ensure that appropriate nursing facility admission criteria 

have been documented. The nursing facility is also 

responsible for documenting, upon admission and on an 

ongoing basis, that the individual meets and continues to meet 

nursing facility criteria. For this purpose, the nursing facility 

will use the Minimum Data Set (MDS) The post admission 

assessment must be conducted no later than 14 days after the 

date of admission and promptly after a significant change in 

the resident's physical or mental condition. If at any time 

during the course of the resident's stay, it is determined that 

the resident does not meet nursing facility criteria as defined 

in the State Plan for Medical Assistance, the nursing facility 

must initiate discharge of such resident. Nursing facilities 

must conduct a comprehensive, accurate, standardized, 

reproducible assessment of each resident's functional capacity 

and medical and nursing needs.  

The Department of Medical Assistance Services shall 

conduct surveys of the assessments completed by nursing 

facilities to determine that services provided to the residents 

meet nursing facility criteria and that needed services are 

provided.  

D. The community-based provider is responsible for 

documenting upon admission and on an ongoing basis that 

the individual meets the criteria for Medicaid-funded long-

term care.  

E. The criteria for nursing facility care under the Virginia 

Medical Assistance Program are contained herein. An 

individual's need for care must meet these criteria before any 

authorization for payment by Medicaid will be made for 

either institutional or non-institutional long-term care 

services. The Nursing Home Pre-Admission Screening team 

is responsible for documenting on the state-designated 

assessment instrument that the individual meets the criteria 

for nursing facility or community-based waiver services and 

for authorizing admission to Medicaid-funded long-term care. 

The rating of functional dependencies on the assessment 

instrument must be based on the individual's ability to 

function in a community environment, not including any 

institutionally induced dependence.  

12VAC30-60-301. Definitions.  

The following words and terms as used in 12VAC30-60-302 

through 12VAC30-60-315 shall have the following meanings 

unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Activities of daily living" or "ADLs" means personal care 

tasks such as bathing, dressing, toileting, transferring, and 

eating/feeding. An individual's degree of independence in 

performing these activities is a part of determining 

appropriate level of care and service needs. 

"Adult" means a person age 18 years or older who may need 

Medicaid-funded long-term services and supports (LTSS) or 

who becomes eligible to receive Medicaid-funded LTSS.  

"Appeal" means the processes used to challenge actions 

regarding services, benefits, and reimbursement provided by 

Medicaid pursuant to 12VAC30-110 and Part XII 

(12VAC30-20-500 et seq.) of 12VAC30-20. 

"At risk" means the need for the level of care provided in a 

hospital, nursing facility, or an Intermediate Care Facility for 

Individuals with Intellectual Disability (ICF/IID) when there 

is reasonable indication that the individual is expected to need 

the services in the near future (that is, one month or less) in 

the absence of home or community-based services. 

"Child" means a person up to the age of 18 years who may 

need Medicaid-funded LTSS or who becomes eligible to 

receive Medicaid-funded LTSS. 

"Choice" means the individual is provided the option of 

either home and community-based services or institutional 

services and supports, including the Program of All-Inclusive 

Care for the Elderly (PACE), if available and appropriate, 

after the individual has been determined likely to need LTSS. 

"Communication" means all forms of sharing information 

and includes oral speech and augmented or alternative 

communication used to express thoughts, needs, wants, and 

ideas, such as the use of a communication device, interpreter, 

gestures, and picture/symbol communication boards. 

"Community-based screening" means the face-to-face 

process conducted pursuant to § 32.1-330 of the Code of 

Virginia to determine whether an individual meets the criteria 

for Medicaid-funded LTSS and that shall be conducted in the 

individual's place of residence or, at the request of the 

individual, an alternate location within the same jurisdiction. 

"Community-based services" or "CBS" means community-

based services waivers or the Program of All-Inclusive Care 

for the Elderly (PACE). 

"Community-based services provider" or "CBS provider" 

means a provider or agency enrolled with Virginia Medicaid 
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to offer services to individuals eligible for home and 

community-based waivers services or PACE. 

"Community-based team" or "CBT" means a nurse, social 

worker, or other assessors designated by the department and a 

physician who are employees of, or contracted with, the 

Virginia Department of Health or the local department of 

social services.  

"DARS" means the Virginia Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services.  

"Day" means calendar day unless specified otherwise. 

"DBHDS" means the Virginia Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services. 

"DMAS" or "the department" means the Department of 

Medical Assistance Services.  

"DMAS designee" means the public or private entity with an 

agreement with the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services to complete preadmission screenings pursuant to 

§ 32.1-330 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Electronic preadmission screening" or "ePAS" means the 

automated system for use by all entities contracted by DMAS 

to perform preadmission screenings pursuant to § 32.1-330 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

"Face-to-face" means an in-person meeting with the 

individual seeking Medicaid-funded LTSS that may also 

occur through technological means that permit visualization 

and real-time communication with the individual if 

circumstances prohibit in-person access to the individual.  

"Feasible alternative" means a range of services that can be 

provided in the community, for less than the cost of 

comparable institutional care, in order to enable an individual 

to continue living in the community.  

"Home and community-based services waiver" or "waiver 

services" means the range of community services and 

supports approved by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 

Services (CMS) pursuant to § 1915(c) of the Social Security 

Act to be offered to individuals as an alternative to 

institutionalization.  

"Hospital team" means persons designated by the hospital 

who are responsible for conducting and submitting the PAS 

for inpatients to the DMAS automated system. 

"Inpatient" means an individual who has a physician's order 

for admission to an acute care hospital, rehabilitation hospital, 

or a rehabilitation unit in an acute care hospital. 

"Institutional screening" means the face-to-face process 

conducted pursuant to § 32.1-330 of the Code of Virginia for 

individuals who are inpatients in hospitals to determine 

whether an individual meets the criteria for Medicaid-funded 

LTSS. 

"Licensed health care professional" or "LHCP" means a 

registered nurse, nurse practitioner, or physician currently 

employed or contracted by the Virginia Department of Health 

and licensed by the relevant health regulatory board of the 

Department of Health Professions who is practicing within 

the scope of his license.  

"Local department of social services" or "LDSS" means the 

entity established under § 63.2-324 of the Code of Virginia 

by the governing city or county in the Commonwealth.  

"Local health department" or "LHD" means the entity 

established under § 32.1-31 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Long-term services and supports" or "LTSS" means a 

variety of services that help individuals with health or 

personal care needs and ADLs over a period of time that can 

be provided in the home, the community, assisted living 

facilities, or nursing facilities.  

"Medicaid" means the program set out in the 42 USC § 1396 

and administered by the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services consistent with Chapter 10 (§ 32.1-323 et seq.) of 

Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Medicare" means the Health Insurance for the Aged and 

Disabled program as administered by the Centers for 

Medicare and Medicaid Services pursuant to 42 USC 

1395ggg. 

"Nursing facility" or "NF" means any nursing home as 

defined in § 32.1-123 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Other assessor designated by DMAS" means an employee 

of the local department of social services holding the 

occupational title of family services specialist.  

"Preadmission screening," "PAS," or "screening" means the 

process to (i) evaluate the functional, nursing, and social 

support needs of individuals referred for preadmission 

screening for certain long-term care services requiring NF 

eligibility; (ii) assist individuals in determining what specific 

services the individual needs; (iii) evaluate whether a service 

or a combination of existing community services are available 

to meet the individual's needs; and (iv) provide a list to 

individuals of appropriate providers for Medicaid-funded 

nursing facility or home and community-based services for 

those individuals who meet nursing facility level of care.  

"Program of All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly" or "PACE" 

means the community-based service pursuant to § 32.1-330.3 

of the Code of Virginia.  

"Referral for screening" means information obtained from 

an interested person or other third party having knowledge of 

an individual who may need Medicaid-funded LTSS and may 

include, for example, a physician, PACE provider, service 

provider, family member, or neighbor who is able to provide 

sufficient information to enable contact with the individual.  

"Reimbursement" means the evaluation of the submitted 

claims for completeness, accuracy, and service resulting in 

the payment by DMAS for the services represented on the 

claims.  

"Representative" means a person who is authorized to make 

decisions on behalf of the individual.  
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"Request date for screening" or "request date" means the 

date (i) that an individual or the individual's representative 

contacts the screening entity in the jurisdiction where the 

individual resides asking for assistance with LTSS or, (ii) for 

hospital inpatients, that a physician orders case management 

consultation or case management determines the need for 

LTSS upon discharge from a hospital.  

"Request for screening" means (i) communication from an 

individual, individual's representative, adult protective 

services (APS), or child protective services (CPS) expressing 

the need for LTSS, or (ii) for hospital inpatients, a physician 

order for case management consultation or case management 

determination of the need for LTSS upon discharge from a 

hospital.  

"Residence" means an individual's private home, apartment, 

assisted living facility, nursing facility, or jail/correctional 

facility, for example, if the individual to be screened is 

seeking Medicaid-funded LTSS and does not request an 

alternative screening location as allowed in 12VAC30-60-305 

A. 

"Screening entity" means the hospital screening team, 

community-based team (CBT), or DMAS designee contracted 

to perform preadmission screenings pursuant to § 32.1-330 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

"Significant change in circumstances" means a change in an 

individual's condition that is expected to last longer than 30 

days and shall not include short-term changes that resolve 

with or without intervention; a short-term illness or episodic 

event; or a well-established, predictive, cyclic pattern of 

clinical signs and symptoms associated with a previously 

diagnosed condition where an appropriate course of treatment 

is in progress.  

"Submission" means the transmission of the screening 

findings and receipt of successfully processed results using 

the DMAS automated system.  

"Submission date" means the date that the screening entity 

transmits to DMAS the screening findings using the DMAS 

automated system.  

"Uniform Assessment Instrument" or "UAI" means the 

standardized multidimensional assessment instrument that is 

completed by the screening entity that assesses an individual's 

physical health, mental health, and psycho/social and 

functional abilities to determine if the individual meets the 

nursing facility level of care. 

"VDH" means the Virginia Department of Health. 

"VDSS" means the Virginia Department of Social Services. 

12VAC30-60-302. Introduction; access to Medicaid-

funded long-term services and supports. 

A. Medicaid-funded long-term services and supports (LTSS) 

may be provided in either community-based or institutional-

based settings. To receive LTSS, the individual's condition 

shall first be evaluated using the designated assessment 

instrument, the Uniform Assessment Instrument (UAI), and 

other designated forms. Screening entities shall use the 

DMAS-designated forms (UAI, DMAS-95, DMAS-96, 

DMAS-95 Level I (MI/IDD/RC) and if appropriate, DMAS-

95 Level II (for nursing facility placements only), and the 

DMAS-97) to perform preadmission screenings for LTSS.  

1. An individual's need for LTSS shall meet the established 

criteria (12VAC30-60-303) before any authorization for 

reimbursement by Medicaid is made for LTSS. 

2. Appropriate community-based services shall be 

evaluated prior to consideration of nursing facility 

placement. 

B. The evaluation shall be the preadmission screening (PAS) 

or screening process, as designated in § 32.1-330 of the Code 

of Virginia, which shall preauthorize a continuum of LTSS 

covered by Medicaid.  

1. Such screenings, using the UAI, shall be conducted by 

teams of representatives of (i) hospitals for individuals 

(adults and children) who are inpatients; (ii) local 

departments of social services and local health 

departments, known herein as CBTs, for individuals 

(adults) residing in the community and who are not 

inpatients; or (iii) a DMAS designee for individuals 

(children) residing in the community who are not 

inpatients. All of these entities shall be contracted with 

DMAS to perform this activity and be reimbursed by 

DMAS. 

2. All screenings shall be comprehensive, accurate, 

standardized, and reproducible evaluations of individual 

functional capacities, medical or nursing needs, and risk 

for institutional placement. 

C. The authorization for Medicaid-funded LTSS shall be 

rescinded by the community-based services provider, the NF, 

or DMAS when the individual is determined to no longer 

meet the criteria for Medicaid-funded LTSS. The individual 

shall have the right to appeal such rescission decision. The 

individual shall be responsible for all expenditures made after 

the date of the rescission decision in the event that the 

rescission is upheld on appeal. 

D. Individuals shall not be required to be financially eligible 

for receipt of Medicaid or have submitted an application for 

Medicaid in order to be screened for LTSS. 

E. Pursuant to § 32.1-330 of the Code of Virginia, 

individuals shall be screened if they are eligible for Medicaid 

or are anticipated to become eligible for Medicaid 

reimbursement of their NF care within six months of nursing 

facility placement. 

12VAC30-60-303. Preadmission screening criteria for 

Medicaid-funded long-term care services and supports.  

A. Functional dependency alone is shall not be deemed 

sufficient to demonstrate the need for nursing facility care or 

placement or authorization for community-based care 

services. An individual shall be determined to meet the 

nursing facility criteria when:  
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1. The individual has both limited functional capacity and 

medical or nursing needs according to the requirements of 

this section; or 

2. The individual is rated dependent in some functional 

limitations, but does not meet the functional capacity 

requirements, and the individual requires the daily direct 

services or supervision of a licensed nurse that cannot be 

managed on an outpatient basis (e.g., clinic, physician 

visits, home health services).  

B. An individual shall only be considered to meet the 

nursing facility criteria when both the functional capacity of 

the individual and his medical or nursing needs meet the 

following requirements. Even when an individual meets 

nursing facility criteria, placement in a noninstitutional 

setting shall be evaluated before actual nursing facility 

placement is considered In order to qualify for Medicaid-

funded LTSS, the individual shall meet the following criteria:  

1. For Medicaid-funded nursing facility services to be 

authorized, the screening entity shall document that the 

individual has both functional and medical or nursing 

needs. The criteria for screening an individual's eligibility 

for Medicaid reimbursement of NF services shall consist of 

two components: (i) functional capacity (the degree of 

assistance an individual requires to complete ADLs) and 

(ii) medical or nursing needs. The rating of functional 

dependency on the UAI shall be based on the individual's 

ability to function in a community environment and 

exclude all institutionally induced dependencies. 

2. For Medicaid-funded community-based services to be 

authorized, an individual shall not be required to be 

physically admitted to a NF. The criteria for screening an 

individual's eligibility for Medicaid reimbursement of 

community-based services shall consist of three 

components: (i) functional capacity needs (the degree of 

assistance an individual requires in order to complete 

ADLs), (ii) medical or nursing needs, and (iii) the 

individual's risk of NF placement within 30 days in the 

absence of community-based services.  

1. C. Functional capacity.  

a. 1. When documented on a completed state-designated 

preadmission screening assessment instrument a UAI that 

is completed in a manner consistent with the definitions of 

activities of daily living (ADLs) and directions provided by 

DMAS for the rating of those activities, individuals may be 

considered to meet the functional capacity requirements for 

nursing facility care when one of the following describes 

their functional capacity:  

(1) a. Rated dependent in two to four of the Activities of 

Daily Living ADLs, and also rated semi-dependent or 

dependent in Behavior Pattern and Orientation, and semi-

dependent in Joint Motion or dependent in Medication 

Administration.  

(2) b. Rated dependent in five to seven of the Activities 

of Daily Living ADLs, and also rated dependent in 

Mobility.  

(3) c. Rated semi-dependent in two to seven of the 

Activities of Daily Living ADLs, and also rated 

dependent in Mobility and Behavior Pattern and 

Orientation.  

b. 2. The rating of functional dependencies on the 

preadmission screening assessment instrument must shall 

be based on the individual's ability to function in a 

community environment, not including any institutionally 

induced dependence. The following abbreviations shall 

mean: I = independent; d = semi-dependent; D = 

dependent; MH = mechanical help; HH = human help.  

(1) a. Bathing.  

(a) (1) Without help (I)  

(b) (2) MH only (d)  

(c) (3) HH only (D)  

(d) (4) MH and HH (D)  

(e) (5) Performed by Others (D)  

(2) b. Dressing.  

(a) (1) Without help (I)  

(b) (2) MH only (d)  

(c) (3) HH only (D)  

(d) (4) MH and HH (D)  

(e) (5) Performed by Others (D)  

(f) (6) Is not Performed (D)  

(3) c. Toileting.  

(a) (1) Without help day or night (I)  

(b) (2) MH only (d)  

(c) (3) HH only (D)  

(d) (4) MH and HH (D)  

(e) (5) Performed by Others (D)  

(4) d. Transferring.  

(a) (1) Without help (I)  

(b) (2) MH only (d)  

(c) (3) HH only (D)  

(d) (4) MH and HH (D)  

(e) (5) Performed by Others (D)  

(f) (6) Is not Performed (D)  

(5) e. Bowel Function function. 

(a) (1) Continent (I)  

(b) (2) Incontinent less than weekly (d)  

(c) (3) External/Indwelling Device/Ostomy -- self care 

(d)  

(d) (4) Incontinent weekly or more (D)  

(e) (5) Ostomy -- not self care (D)  



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 23 Virginia Register of Regulations July 11, 2016 

3080 

(6) f. Bladder Function function. 

(a) (1) Continent (I)  

(b) (2) Incontinent less than weekly (d)  

(c) (3) External device/Indwelling Catheter/Ostomy -- 

self care (d)  

(d) (4) Incontinent weekly or more (D)  

(e) (5) External device -- not self care (D)  

(f) (6) Indwelling catheter -- not self care (D)  

(g) (7) Ostomy -- not self care (D)  

(7) g. Eating/Feeding.  

(a) (1) Without help (I)  

(b) (2) MH only (d)  

(c) (3) HH only (D)  

(d) (4) MH and HH (D)  

(e) (5) Spoon fed (D)  

(f) (6) Syringe or tube fed (D)  

(g) (7) Fed by IV or clysis (D)  

(8) h. Behavior Pattern pattern and Orientation 

orientation. 

(a) (1) Appropriate or Wandering/Passive less than 

weekly + Oriented (I)  

(b) (2) Appropriate or Wandering/Passive less than 

weekly + Disoriented -- Some Spheres (I)  

(c) (3) Wandering/Passive Weekly/or more + Oriented (I)  

(d) (4) Appropriate or Wandering/Passive less than 

weekly + Disoriented -- All Spheres (d)  

(e) (5) Wandering/Passive Weekly/Some or more + 

Disoriented -- All Spheres (d)  

(f) (6) Abusive/Aggressive/Disruptive less than weekly + 

Oriented or Disoriented (d)  

(g) (7) Abusive/Aggressive/Disruptive weekly or more + 

Oriented (d)  

(h) (8) Abusive/Aggressive/Disruptive + Disoriented -- 

All Spheres (D)  

(9) i. Mobility.  

(a) (1) Goes outside without help (I)  

(b) (2) Goes outside MH only (d)  

(c) (3) Goes outside HH only (D)  

(d) (4) Goes outside MH and HH (D)  

(e) (5) Confined -- moves about (D)  

(f) (6) Confined -- does not move about (D)  

(10) j. Medication Administration administration. 

(a) (1) No medications (I)  

(b) (2) Self administered -- monitored less than weekly 

(I)  

(c) (3) By lay persons, Administered/Monitored (D)  

(d) (4) By Licensed/Professional nurse 

Administered/Monitored (D)  

(11) k. Joint Motion motion. 

(a) (1) Within normal limits or instability corrected (I)  

(b) (2) Limited motion (d)  

(c) (3) Instability -- uncorrected or immobile (D)  

c. D. Medical or nursing needs. An individual with medical 

or nursing needs is an individual whose health needs require 

medical or nursing supervision or care above the level that 

could be provided through assistance with Activities of Daily 

Living ADLs, Medication Administration medication 

administration, and general supervision and is not primarily 

for the care and treatment of mental diseases. Medical or 

nursing supervision or care beyond this level is required when 

any one of the following describes the individual's need for 

medical or nursing supervision:  

(1) 1. The individual's medical condition requires 

observation and assessment to assure evaluation of the 

person's need for modification of treatment or additional 

medical procedures to prevent destabilization, and the 

person has demonstrated an inability to self observe or 

evaluate the need to contact skilled medical professionals;  

(2) 2. Due to the complexity created by the person's 

multiple, interrelated medical conditions, the potential for 

the individual's medical instability is high or medical 

instability exists; or  

(3) 3. The individual requires at least one ongoing medical 

or nursing service. The following is a nonexclusive list of 

medical or nursing services that may, but need not 

necessarily, indicate a need for medical or nursing 

supervision or care:  

(a) a. Application of aseptic dressings;  

(b) b. Routine catheter care;  

(c) c. Respiratory therapy;  

(d) d. Supervision for adequate nutrition and hydration 

for individuals who show clinical evidence of 

malnourishment or dehydration or have recent history of 

weight loss or inadequate hydration that, if not 

supervised, would be expected to result in 

malnourishment or dehydration;  

(e) e. Therapeutic exercise and positioning;  

(f) f. Routine care of colostomy or ileostomy or 

management of neurogenic bowel and bladder;  

(g) g. Use of physical (e.g., side rails, poseys, locked 

wards) and/or or chemical restraints, or both;  

(h) h. Routine skin care to prevent pressure ulcers for 

individuals who are immobile;  

(i) i. Care of small uncomplicated pressure ulcers and 

local skin rashes;  
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(j) j. Management of those with sensory, metabolic, or 

circulatory impairment with demonstrated clinical 

evidence of medical instability;  

(k) k. Chemotherapy;  

(l) l. Radiation;  

(m) m. Dialysis;  

(n) n. Suctioning;  

(o) o. Tracheostomy care;  

(p) p. Infusion therapy; or 

(q) q. Oxygen.  

d. Even when an individual meets nursing facility 

criteria, provision of services in a noninstitutional setting 

shall be considered before nursing facility placement is 

sought.  

C. E. When assessing an individual 21 years of age or 

younger screening a child, the teams who are screening entity 

who is conducting preadmission screenings for long-term care 

services LTSS shall utilize the electronic Uniform 

Assessment Instrument (UAI) interpretive guidance as 

contained referenced in DMAS' Medicaid Memo dated 

October 3, 2012, entitled "Development of Special Criteria 

for the Purposes of Pre-Admission Screening," which can be 

accessed on the DMAS website 

at https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/. 

12VAC30-60-304. Requests for screening for adults and 

children living in the community and adults and children 

in hospitals. 

A. Screenings for adults living in the community. 

Screenings for adults who are residing in the community but 

who are not inpatients in acute care hospitals shall be 

completed and submitted to the DMAS automated system 

within 30 days of the request date for screening.  

1. Requests for screenings shall be accepted from either an 

individual, the individual's representative, or an adult 

protective services worker having an interest in the 

individual. The community-based team (CBT) in the 

jurisdiction where the individual resides shall conduct such 

screening. For the screening to be scheduled by the CBT, 

the individual shall either agree to participate or if refusing, 

shall be under order of a court of appropriate jurisdiction to 

have a screening.  

a. The LDSS or LHD in receipt of the request for a 

screening shall contact the individual or his 

representative within seven days of the request date for 

screening to schedule a screening with the individual and 

any other persons who the individual selects to attend the 

screening. 

b. When the CBT has not scheduled a screening to occur 

within 21 days of the request date for screening, and the 

screening is not anticipated to be complete within 30 

days of the request date for screening due to the 

screening entity's inability to conduct the screening, the 

LDSS and LHD shall, no later than seven days of the 

request date for screening, notify DARS and VDH staff 

designated for technical assistance. After contact with the 

LDSS and LHD, if DARS and VDH confirm that the 

screening entity is unable to complete the screening 

within 30 days of the request date for screening, the 

designated VDH staff shall refer the CBT and screening 

request to the DMAS designee for scheduling of a 

screening and submission of documentation.  

2. Referrals for screenings may also be accepted by LDSS 

or LHD from an interested person having knowledge of an 

individual who may need LTSS. When the LDSS or LHD 

receives such a referral, the LDSS or LHD shall obtain 

sufficient information from the referral source to initiate 

contact with the individual or his representative to discuss 

the PAS process. Within seven days of the referral date, the 

LDSS or LHD shall contact the individual or his 

representative to determine if the individual is interested in 

receiving LTSS and would participate in the screening. If 

the LDSS or LHD is unable to contact the individual or his 

representative, it shall document the attempt to contact the 

individual or his representative using the method adopted 

by the CBT.  

a. After contact with the individual or his representative, 

or if the LDSS or LHD is unable to contact the individual 

or his representative, the LDSS or LHD shall advise the 

referring interested person that contact or attempt to 

contact has been made in response to the referral for 

screening. 

b. Information about the results of the contact shall be 

shared with the interested person who made the referral 

only with either the individual's written consent or the 

written consent of his legal representative who has such 

authority on behalf of the individual.  

B. Screenings for children living in the community. 

Screenings for children who are residing in the community 

shall be completed and submitted to the DMAS automated 

system within 30 days of the request date for screening. 

1. A child who is residing in the community and is not an 

inpatient in an acute care hospital, rehabilitation unit of an 

acute care hospital, or a rehabilitation hospital, and who 

may need LTSS, shall receive a screening from a DMAS 

designee. Local CBTs shall forward requests for such 

screenings directly to the DMAS designee.  

2. The request for screening of a child residing in the 

community shall initiate from the parent, the entity having 

legal custody of that child, an emancipated child, or a child 

protective services worker having an interest in the child.  

3. Upon receipt of such a request, the DMAS designee 

shall schedule an appointment to complete the screening. 

Community settings where screenings may occur include 

the child's residence, other residences, children's residential 

facilities, or other settings with the exception of acute care 
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hospitals, rehabilitation units of acute care hospitals, and 

rehabilitation hospitals. 

4. Referrals for screenings may also be accepted from an 

interested person having knowledge of a child who may 

need LTSS. The same process and timing and limitations 

on the sharing of the results shall apply to such referrals for 

screenings for children as set out for adults. 

C. Screening in hospitals for adults and children who are 

inpatients. Screening in hospitals shall be completed when an 

adult or child who is an inpatient may need LTSS upon 

discharge. 

1. As a part of the discharge planning process, the hospital 

team shall complete a screening when: 

a. The individual's physician, in collaboration with the 

individual, the individual's representative, if there is one, 

parent, entity having legal custody, the managed care 

organization's care manager, or emancipated child makes 

a request of the hospital team; or 

b. The individual, the individual's representative, if there 

is one, parent, entity having legal custody, the managed 

care organization's care manager, or emancipated child 

requests a consultation with hospital case management.  

2. Such individual shall receive a screening conducted by 

the hospital team regardless of the primary payer source 

(e.g., Medicare, health maintenance organization) and 

whether or not they are eligible for Medicaid or are 

anticipated to become eligible for Medicaid within six 

months after admission to a NF. 

12VAC30-60-305. Screenings in the community and 

hospitals for Medicaid-funded long-term services and 

supports. 

A. Community screenings for adults. 

1. Eligibility for Medicaid-funded long-term services and 

supports (LTSS) shall be determined by the community-

based team (CBT) after completion of a screening of the 

individual's needs and available supports. The CBT shall 

document a screening of all the supports available for that 

individual in the community (i.e., the immediate family, 

other relatives, other community resources, and other 

services in the continuum of LTSS).  

2. Screenings shall be completed in the individual's 

residence unless the residence presents a safety risk for the 

individual or the CBT, or unless the individual or the 

representative requests that the screening be performed in 

an alternate location within the same jurisdiction. The 

individual shall be permitted to have another person or 

persons present at the time of the screening. The CBT shall 

determine the appropriate degree of participation and 

assistance given by other persons to the individual during 

the screening and accommodate the individual's 

preferences to the extent feasible. 

3. The CBT shall: 

a. Observe the individual's ability to perform ADLs 

according to 12VAC30-60-303 and consider the 

individual's communication or responses to questions or 

his representative's communication or responses; 

b. Observe and assess the individual's medical condition 

to ensure accurate evaluation of the individual's need for 

modification of treatment or additional medical 

procedures to prevent destabilization even when the 

individual has demonstrated an inability to self-observe 

or evaluate the need to contact skilled medical 

professionals; and 

c. Identify the medical or nursing needs, or both, of the 

individual. 

4. The CBT shall consider services and settings that may 

be needed by the individual in order for the individual to 

safely perform ADLs.  

5. Upon completion of the screening and in consideration 

of the communication from the individual, his 

representative, if appropriate, and observations obtained 

during the screening, the CBT shall determine whether the 

individual meets the criteria set out in 12VAC30-60-303. If 

the individual meets the criteria for LTSS, the CBT shall 

inform and provide choice to the individual and his 

representative, if appropriate, of the feasible alternatives 

available through waiver services, PACE where 

appropriate and available, or placement in a NF. If waiver 

services or PACE, where available, are declined, the 

reason for the declination shall be recorded on the DMAS-

97, Individual Choice, Institutional Care, or Waiver 

Services form. The CBT shall have this document signed 

by either the individual or his representative, if appropriate. 

In addition to the electronic document, a paper copy of the 

DMAS-97 form with the individual's or his representative's 

signature shall be retained in the individual's record by the 

screening entity.  

6. If the individual meets criteria selects community-based 

services, the CBT shall also document that the individual is 

at risk of NF placement in the absence of waiver services 

by finding that at least one of the following conditions 

exists: 

a. The individual has been cared for in the home prior to 

the screening and evidence is available demonstrating a 

deterioration in the individual's health care condition or a 

change in available supports preventing former services 

and supports from meeting the individual's needs. 

Examples of such evidence may include (i) recent 

hospitalizations, (ii) attending physician documentation, 

or (iii) reported findings from medical or social service 

agencies.  

b. There has been no change in condition or available 

support but evidence is available that demonstrates the 

individual's functional, medical, or nursing needs are not 
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being met. Examples of such evidence may include (i) 

recent hospitalizations, (ii) attending physician 

documentation, or (iii) reported findings from medical or 

social service agencies.  

7. If the individual selects NF placement, the CBT shall 

complete a Level I screening, on the DMAS-95 Level I 

form, for mental illness, intellectual disability, or related 

condition as required by § 1919(e)(7) of the Social 

Security Act. When the Level I screening indicates that the 

individual may have mental illness, intellectual disability, 

or related condition or conditions, the CBT shall refer the 

individual to DBHDS for a Level II screening. 

a. DBHDS shall perform the Level II screening, 

documenting it on the DMAS-95 Level II form. 

b. DBHDS shall determine if the individual may benefit 

from additional specialized services upon NF placement. 

DBHDS shall provide the outcome of its Level II 

screening to the CBT for NF placements only. 

c. The CBT shall provide the outcome of the Level II 

screening to the NF that admits the individual and agrees 

to provide the required specialized services indicated by 

the Level II outcome. The individual shall be permitted 

to exercise choice among Medicaid-funded LTSS 

programs throughout the process. 

8. If the CBT determines that the individual does not meet 

the criteria set out in 12VAC30-60-303, the CBT shall 

notify in writing the individual and family/caregiver, as 

may be appropriate, that LTSS are being denied for the 

individual. The denial notice shall include the individual's 

right to appeal consistent with DMAS client appeals 

regulations (12VAC30-110).  

B. Community screenings for children. 

1. Eligibility for Medicaid-funded LTSS shall be 

determined by the DMAS designee. The DMAS designee 

shall document a complete assessment of the child's needs 

and available supports. The assessment shall be 

documented on the designated DMAS forms identified in 

12VAC30-60-306. If the child meets criteria defined in 

12VAC30-60-303, the DMAS designee shall provide the 

parent or entity having legal custody of the child, or the 

emancipated child, the choice of waiver services or nursing 

facility placement.  

2. The DMAS designee shall determine the appropriate 

degree of participation and assistance given by other 

persons to the individual during the screening in 

recognition of the individual's preferences to the extent 

feasible. 

3. The DMAS designee shall: 

a. Observe the child's ability to perform ADLs according 

to 12VAC30-60-303 and consider the parent's, legal 

guardian's, or emancipated child's communications or 

responses to questions; 

b. Observe and assess the child's medical condition to 

assure accurate evaluation of the child's need for 

modification of treatment or additional medical 

procedures to prevent destabilization even when the child 

has demonstrated an inability to self-observe or evaluate 

the need to contact skilled medical professionals; and 

c. Identify the medical or nursing needs, or both, of the 

child. 

4. The DMAS designee shall consider services and settings 

that may be needed by the child in order for the child to 

safely perform ADLs. 

5. Upon completion of the screening and in consideration 

of the communication from the individual, his 

representative, if appropriate, and observations obtained 

during the screening, the DMAS designee shall determine 

whether the individual meets the criteria set out in 

12VAC30-60-303. If the individual meets the criteria for 

LTSS, the DMAS designee shall inform and provide 

choice to the individual and his representative, if 

appropriate, of the feasible alternatives available through 

waiver services, PACE where appropriate and available, or 

placement in a NF. If waiver services or PACE, where 

available, are declined, the reason for declining shall be 

recorded on the DMAS-97, Individual Choice, Institutional 

Care or Waiver Services form. The DMAS designee shall 

have this document signed by either the individual or his 

representative, if appropriate. In addition to the electronic 

document, a paper copy of the DMAS-97 form with the 

individual's or his representative's signature shall be 

retained in the individual's record by the screening entity.  

6. If the individual who meets criteria selects community-

based services, the CBT shall also document that the 

individual is at risk of NF placement in the absence of 

waiver services by finding that at least one of the following 

conditions exists: 

a. The individual has been cared for in the home prior to 

the screening and evidence is available demonstrating a 

deterioration in the individual's health care condition or a 

change in available supports preventing former services 

and supports from meeting the individual's needs. 

Examples of such evidence may include (i) recent 

hospitalizations, (ii) attending physician documentation, 

or (iii) reported findings from medical or social service 

agencies. 

b. There has been no change in condition or available 

support but evidence is available that demonstrates the 

individual's functional, medical, or nursing needs are not 

being met. Examples of such evidence may include (i) 

recent hospitalizations, (ii) attending physician 

documentation, or (iii) reported findings from medical or 

social service agencies. 

7. If the parent, entity having legal custody of the child, or 

emancipated child selects NF placement, the DMAS 

designee shall complete a Level I screening, on the 
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DMAS-95 Level I form, for mental illness, intellectual 

disability, or related condition as required by § 1919(e)(7) 

of the Social Security Act. When the Level I screening 

indicates that the child may have mental illness, 

intellectual disability, or related condition, the DMAS 

designee shall refer the child to DBHDS for a Level II 

screening. 

a. DBHDS shall perform the Level II screening, 

documenting it on the DMAS-95 Level II form. 

b. DBHDS shall determine if the child may benefit from 

additional specialized services upon NF placement. 

DBHDS shall provide the outcome of its Level II 

screening to the DMAS designee. 

c. The DMAS designee shall provide the outcome of the 

Level II screening to the NF that admits the child and 

agrees to provide the required specialized services 

indicated by the Level II outcome. The child, parent, 

entity having legal custody, or emancipated child shall be 

permitted to exercise choice among Medicaid-funded 

LTSS programs throughout the process. 

8. If the DMAS designee determines that the child does not 

meet the criteria to receive LTSS as set out in 12VAC30-

60-303, the DMAS designee shall notify in writing the 

parent, entity having legal custody of the child, or the 

emancipated child and family/caregiver, as may be 

appropriate, that LTSS are being denied for the child. The 

denial notice shall include the child's right to appeal 

consistent with DMAS client appeals regulations 

(12VAC30-110).  

C. Screenings for adults and children in hospitals. For the 

purpose of this subsection, the term "individual" shall mean 

either an adult or a child.  

1. Eligibility for Medicaid-funded LTSS for individuals 

who are inpatients shall be determined by the hospital 

screening team, which shall document a complete 

assessment of the individual's needs and available 

supports.  

2. Screenings shall be completed in the hospital prior to 

discharge. The individual shall be permitted to have 

another person present at the time of the screening. The 

hospital screening team shall determine the appropriate 

degree of participation and assistance given by other 

persons to the individual during the screening. 

3. The hospital screening team shall: 

a. Observe the individual's ability to perform ADLs 

according to 12VAC30-60-303, excluding all 

institutionally induced dependencies, and consider the 

individual's communication or responses to questions, or 

his representative's communications or responses to 

questions; 

b. Observe and assess the individual's medical condition 

to ensure accurate evaluation of the individual's need for 

modification of treatment or additional medical 

procedures or services to prevent destabilization even 

when an individual has demonstrated an inability to self-

observe or evaluate the need to contact skilled medical 

professionals; and 

c. Identify the medical or nursing needs, or both, of the 

individual. 

4. In developing the individual's discharge plans, the 

hospital screening team shall consider services and settings 

that may be needed by the individual in order for him to 

safely perform ADLs. 

5. Upon completion of the screening and in consideration 

of the communication from the individual, his 

representative, if appropriate, and observations obtained 

during the screening, the hospital screening team shall 

determine whether the individual meets the criteria set out 

in 12VAC30-60-303. If the individual meets the criteria for 

LTSS, the hospital screening team shall inform and 

provide choice to the individual and his representative, if 

appropriate, of the feasible alternatives available through 

waiver services, PACE where appropriate and available, or 

placement in a NF. If waiver services or PACE, where 

available, are declined, the reason for declining shall be 

recorded on the DMAS-97, Individual Choice, Institutional 

Care or Waiver Services form. The hospital screening team 

shall have this document signed by either the individual or 

his representative, if appropriate. In addition to the 

electronic document, a paper copy of the DMAS-97 form 

with the individual's or his representative's signature shall 

be retained in the individual's record by the hospital 

screening team.  

6. If the individual or his representative, if appropriate, 

selects NF placement, the hospital screening team shall 

complete a Level I screening, on the DMAS-95 Level I 

form, for mental illness, intellectual disability, or related 

condition as required by § 1919(e)(7) of the Social 

Security Act. When the Level I screening indicates the 

presence of mental illness, intellectual disability, or related 

condition, the hospital screening team shall refer the 

individual to DBHDS for a Level II screening prior to 

discharge to determine if the individual may benefit from 

additional specialized services upon NF admission.  

a. DBHDS shall perform the Level II screening, 

documenting it on the DMAS-95 Level II form. 

b. DBHDS shall determine if the individual may benefit 

from additional specialized services upon NF placement. 

DBHDS shall provide the outcome of its Level II 

screening on the DMAS-95 Level I (MI/MR/RC) and if 

appropriate, the DMAS-95 Level II form for NF 

placements only. 

c. The hospital screening team shall provide the outcome 

of the Level II screening to the NF that admits the 

individual and agrees to provide the required specialized 

services indicated by the Level II outcome. The 

individual or his representative, as appropriate, shall be 
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permitted to exercise choice among Medicaid-funded 

LTSS programs throughout the process. 

7. If the hospital screening team determines that the 

individual does not meet the criteria for LTSS set out in 

12VAC30-60-303, the hospital screening team shall notify 

in writing the individual and family/caregiver, as may be 

appropriate, that LTSS are being denied for the individual. 

The denial notice shall include the individual's right to 

appeal consistent with DMAS client appeals regulations 

(12VAC30-110).  

12VAC30-60-306. Submission of screenings. 

A. The screening entity shall complete and submit the 

following forms to DMAS electronically on ePAS: 

1. DMAS 95 - MI/MR/ID/RC (Supplemental Assessment 

Process Form Level I); 

2. DMAS - 96 (Medicaid-Funded Long-Term Care Service 

Authorization Form), as appropriate; 

3. DMAS - 97 (Individual Choice – Institutional Care or 

Waiver Services);  

4. DMAS - 95 MI/MR Supplement II; and  

5. UAI (Uniform Assessment Instrument). 

B. For screenings performed in the community, the 

screening entity shall submit to DMAS on ePAS each PAS 

form listed in subsection A of this section within 30 days of 

the individual's request date for screening.  

C. For screenings performed in a hospital, the hospital team 

shall submit to DMAS on ePAS each screening form listed in 

subsection A of this section, which shall be completed prior 

to the individual's discharge. For individuals who will be 

admitted to a Medicare-funded skilled NF or to a Medicare-

funded rehabilitation hospital (or rehabilitation unit) directly 

upon discharge from the hospital, the hospital screener shall 

have up to an additional three days post-discharge to submit 

the screening forms via ePAS.  

12VAC30-60-307. Summary of pre-admission nursing 

facility criteria. (Repealed.) 

A. An individual shall be determined to meet the nursing 

facility criteria when:  

1. The individual has both limited functional capacity and 

requires medical or nursing management according to the 

requirements of 12VAC30-60-303, or  

2. The individual is rated dependent in some functional 

limitations, but does not meet the functional capacity 

requirements, and the individual requires the daily direct 

services or supervision of a licensed nurse that cannot be 

managed on an outpatient basis (e.g., clinic, physician 

visits, home health services).  

B. An individual shall not be determined to meet nursing 

facility criteria when one of the following specific care needs 

solely describes his or her condition:  

1. An individual who requires minimal assistance with 

activities of daily living, including those persons whose 

only need in all areas of functional capacity is for 

prompting to complete the activity;  

2. An individual who independently uses mechanical 

devices such as a wheelchair, walker, crutch, or cane;  

3. An individual who requires limited diets such as a 

mechanically altered, low salt, low residue, diabetic, 

reducing, and other restrictive diets;  

4. An individual who requires medications that can be 

independently self-administered or administered by the 

caregiver;  

5. An individual who requires protection to prevent him 

from obtaining alcohol or drugs or to address a social or 

environmental problem;  

6. An individual who requires minimal staff observation or 

assistance for confusion, memory impairment, or poor 

judgment;  

7. An individual whose primary need is for behavioral 

management which can be provided in a community-based 

setting;  

12VAC30-60-308. Nursing facility admission and level of 

care determination requirements.  

A. Prior to an individual's admission, the NF shall review 

the completed preadmission screening forms to ensure that 

applicable NF admission criteria have been met and 

documented. 

B. The Department of Medical Assistance Services shall 

conduct reviews of Minimum Data Set individuals' data 

submitted by NFs.  

12VAC30-60-310. ePAS requirements and submission. 

[Reserved] 

12VAC30-60-312. Evaluation to determine eligibility for 

Medicaid payment of nursing facility or home and 

community-based care services. (Repealed.) 

A. The screening team shall not authorize Medicaid-funded 

nursing facility services for any individual who does not meet 

nursing facility criteria. Once the nursing home preadmission 

screening team has determined whether or not an individual 

meets the nursing facility criteria, the screening team must 

determine the most appropriate and cost-effective means of 

meeting the needs of the individual. The screening team must 

document a complete assessment of all the resources 

available for that individual in the community (i.e., the 

immediate family, other relatives, other community resources 

and other services in the continuum of long-term care which 

are less intensive than nursing facility level-of-care services). 

The screening team shall be responsible for preauthorizing 

Medicaid-funded long-term care according to the needs of 

each individual and the support required to meet those needs. 

The screening team shall authorize Medicaid-funded nursing 

facility care for an individual who meets the nursing facility 
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criteria only when services in the community are either not a 

feasible alternative or the individual or the individual's 

representative rejects the screening team's plan for 

community services. The screening team must document that 

the option of community-based alternatives has been 

explained, the reason community-based services were not 

chosen, and have this document signed by the client or 

client's primary caregivers.  

B. The screening team shall authorize community-based 

waiver services only for an individual who meets the nursing 

facility criteria and is at risk of nursing home placement 

without waiver services. Waiver services are offered to such 

an individual as an alternative to avoid nursing facility 

admission pursuant to 42 CFR 441.302 (c)(1).  

C. Federal regulations which govern Medicaid-funded home 

and community-based services require that services only be 

offered to individuals who would otherwise require 

institutional placement in the absence of home- and 

community-based services. The determination that an 

individual would otherwise require placement in a nursing 

facility is based upon a finding that the individual's current 

condition and available support are insufficient to enable the 

individual to remain in the home and thus the individual is at 

risk of institutionalization if community-based care is not 

authorized. The determination of the individual's risk of 

nursing facility placement shall be documented either on the 

state-designated pre-admission screening assessment or in a 

separate attachment for every individual authorized to receive 

community-based waiver services. To authorize community-

based waiver services, the screening team must document that 

the individual is at risk of nursing facility placement by 

finding that one of the following conditions is met:  

1. Application for the individual to a nursing facility has 

been made and accepted;  

2. The individual has been cared for in the home prior to 

the assessment and evidence is available demonstrating a 

deterioration in the individual's health care condition or a 

change in available support preventing former care 

arrangements from meeting the individual's need. 

Examples of such evidence may be, but shall not 

necessarily be limited to:  

a. Recent hospitalizations;  

b. Attending physician documentation; or  

c. Reported findings from medical or social service 

agencies.  

3. There has been no change in condition or available 

support but evidence is available that demonstrates the 

individual's functional, medical and nursing needs are not 

being met. Examples of such evidence may be, but shall 

not necessarily be limited to:  

a. Recent hospitalizations;  

b. Attending physician documentation; or  

c. Reported findings from medical or social service 

agencies.  

12VAC30-60-313. Individuals determined to not meet 

criteria for Medicaid-funded long-term services and 

supports.  

An individual shall be determined not to meet criteria for 

Medicaid-funded LTSS when one of the following specific 

care needs solely describes the individual's condition: 

1. The individual requires minimal assistance with ADLs, 

including those individuals whose only need in all areas of 

functional capacity is for prompting to complete the 

activity;  

2. The individual independently uses mechanical devices 

such as a wheelchair, walker, crutch, or cane;  

3. The individual requires limited diets such as a 

mechanically altered, low-salt, low-residue, diabetic, 

reducing, and other restrictive diets;  

4. The individual requires medications that can be 

independently self-administered or administered by the 

caregiver;  

5. The individual requires protection to prevent him from 

obtaining alcohol or drugs or to address a social or 

environmental problem;  

6. The individual requires minimal staff observation or 

assistance for confusion, memory impairment, or poor 

judgment; or 

7. The individual's primary need is for behavioral 

management that can be provided in a community-based 

setting. 

12VAC30-60-315. Ongoing evaluations for individuals 

receiving Medicaid-funded long-term services and 

supports. 

A. Once an individual is admitted to community-based 

services, the CBS provider shall be responsible for 

conducting ongoing evaluations to ensure that the individual 

meets, and continues to meet, the waiver program or PACE 

criteria. These ongoing evaluations shall be conducted using 

the Level of Care form (DMAS 99 LOC).  

B. Once an individual is admitted to a NF, the NF shall be 

responsible for conducting ongoing evaluations to ensure that 

the individual meets, and continues to meet, the NF criteria. 

For this purpose, the NF shall use the federally required 

Minimum Data Set (MDS) form. The post-admission 

evaluation shall be conducted no later than 14 days after the 

date of NF admission and promptly after an individual's 

significant change in circumstances.  

C. For individuals who are enrolled in a managed care 

organization (MCO) that is responsible for providing LTSS, 

the MCO shall conduct ongoing evaluations by qualified 

MCO staff to ensure the individual continues to meet criteria 

for LTSS. 
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NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (12VAC30-60)  

Certificate of Medical Necessity -- Durable Medical 

Equipment and Supplies, DMAS 352 (rev. 8/95).  

Request for Hospice Benefits, DMAS 420 (rev. 1/99).  

Screening for Mental Illness, Mental Retardation/Intellectual 

Disability, or Related Conditions, DMAS-95/IDD/RC (rev. 

12/2015) 

Medicaid Funded Long-Term Services and Supports 

Authorization Form, DMAS-96 (rev. 12/2015) 

Individual Choice - Institutional Care or Waiver Services 

Form, DMAS-97 (rev. 8/2012) 

Virginia Uniform Assessment Instrument  

Virginia Uniform Assessment Instrument, DMAS-98 (eff. 

2/2016), including: 

UAI-A; UAI-B; Eligibility Communication Document; 

Screening for Mental Illness, Mental 

Retardation/Intellectual Disability, or Related Conditions; 

MI/MR Supplemental: Level II; Medicaid Funded Long-

Term Care Service Authorization Form; Individual Choice 

- Institutional Care or Waiver Services Form; and 

Attachment to Public Pay Short Form Assessment 

Community-Based Care Level of Care Review Instrument, 

DMAS-99LOC (undated) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4355; Filed June 21, 2016, 10:25 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-80. Methods and Standards 

for Establishing Payment Rates; Other Types of Care 

(amending 12VAC30-80-20, 12VAC30-80-40; adding 

12VAC30-80-36).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 10, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 

Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments implement a prospective payment 

methodology for Medicaid outpatient hospital services as 

provided in Item 301 TT of Chapter 3 of the 2014 Acts of 

Assembly, Special Session I. The enhanced ambulatory 

patient group (EAPG) reimbursement methodology for 

outpatient hospital services, which is currently in place 

through emergency regulations, assigns outpatient 

procedures and ancillary services that reflect similar 

patient characteristics and resource utilization to EAPG 

codes. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

12VAC30-80-20. Services that are reimbursed on a cost 

basis.  

A. Payments for services listed below in this section shall be 

on the basis of reasonable cost following the standards and 

principles applicable to the Title XVIII Program with the 

exception provided for in subdivision D 1 d e of this section. 

The upper limit for reimbursement shall be no higher than 

payments for Medicare patients on a facility by facility basis 

in accordance with 42 CFR 447.321 and 42 CFR 447.325. In 

no instance, however, shall charges for beneficiaries of the 

program be in excess of charges for private patients receiving 

services from the provider. The professional component for 

emergency room physicians shall continue to be uncovered as 

a component of the payment to the facility.  

B. Reasonable costs will be determined from the filing of a 

uniform cost report by participating providers. The cost 

reports are due not later than 150 days after the provider's 

fiscal year end. If a complete cost report is not received 

within 150 days after the end of the provider's fiscal year, the 

Program shall take action in accordance with its policies to 

assure that an overpayment is not being made. The cost report 

will be judged complete when DMAS has all of the 

following:  

1. Completed cost reporting [ form(s) form ] provided by 

DMAS, with signed [ certification(s) certification ];  

2. The provider's trial balance showing adjusting journal 

entries;  

3. The provider's financial statements including, but not 

limited to, a balance sheet, a statement of income and 

expenses, a statement of retained earnings (or fund 

balance), and a statement of changes in financial position;  

4. Schedules that reconcile financial statements and trial 

balance to expenses claimed in the cost report;  

5. Depreciation schedule or summary;  

6. Home office cost report, if applicable; and  

7. Such other analytical information or supporting 

documents requested by DMAS when the cost reporting 

forms are sent to the provider.  

C. Item 398 D of the 1987 Appropriation Act (as amended), 

effective April 8, 1987, eliminated reimbursement of return 

on equity capital to proprietary providers.  

D. The services that are cost reimbursed are:  

1. Outpatient For dates of service prior to January 1, 2014, 

outpatient hospital services, including rehabilitation 

hospital outpatient services and excluding laboratory 

services.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e0e4d004355~2&typ=40&actno=004355&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e0e4d004355~2&typ=40&actno=004355&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e0e4d004355~2&typ=40&actno=004355&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8a9da004355~3&typ=40&actno=004355&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8a9da004355~3&typ=40&actno=004355&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=42971004355~1&typ=40&actno=004355&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=42971004355~1&typ=40&actno=004355&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9bff4004355~4&typ=40&actno=004355&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=48688004355~5&typ=40&actno=004355&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=48688004355~5&typ=40&actno=004355&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=80a13004355~7&typ=40&actno=004355&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=80a13004355~7&typ=40&actno=004355&mime=application/pdf
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a. Definitions. The following words and terms when used 

in this regulation shall have the following meanings 

when applied to emergency services unless the context 

clearly indicates otherwise:  

"All-inclusive" means all emergency department and 

ancillary service charges claimed in association with the 

emergency room visit, with the exception of laboratory 

services.  

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services consistent with Chapter 10 (§ 32.1-323 et seq.) 

of Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Emergency hospital services" means services that are 

necessary to prevent the death or serious impairment of 

the health of the recipient. The threat to the life or health 

of the recipient necessitates the use of the most 

accessible hospital available that is equipped to furnish 

the services.  

"Recent injury" means an injury that has occurred less 

than 72 hours prior to the emergency department visit.  

b. Scope. DMAS shall differentiate, as determined by the 

attending physician's diagnosis, the kinds of care 

routinely rendered in emergency departments and 

reimburse for nonemergency care rendered in emergency 

departments at a reduced rate.  

(1) With the exception of laboratory services, DMAS 

shall reimburse at a reduced and all-inclusive 

reimbursement rate for all services rendered in 

emergency departments that DMAS determines were 

nonemergency care.  

(2) Services determined by the attending physician to be 

emergencies shall be reimbursed under the existing 

methodologies and at the existing rates.  

(3) Services performed by the attending physician that 

may be emergencies shall be manually reviewed. If such 

services meet certain criteria, they shall be paid under the 

methodology for subdivision 1 b (2) of this subsection. 

Services not meeting certain criteria shall be paid under 

the methodology of subdivision 1 b (1) of this subsection. 

Such criteria shall include, but not be limited to:  

(a) The initial treatment following a recent obvious 

injury.  

(b) Treatment related to an injury sustained more than 72 

hours prior to the visit with the deterioration of the 

symptoms to the point of requiring medical treatment for 

stabilization.  

(c) The initial treatment for medical emergencies 

including indications of severe chest pain, dyspnea, 

gastrointestinal hemorrhage, spontaneous abortion, loss 

of consciousness, status epilepticus, or other conditions 

considered life threatening.  

(d) A visit in which the recipient's condition requires 

immediate hospital admission or the transfer to another 

facility for further treatment or a visit in which the 

recipient dies.  

(e) Services provided for acute vital sign changes as 

specified in the provider manual.  

(f) Services provided for severe pain when combined 

with one or more of the other guidelines.  

(4) Payment shall be determined based on ICD diagnosis 

codes and necessary supporting documentation. As used 

here, the term "ICD" is defined in 12VAC30-95-5. 

(5) DMAS shall review on an ongoing basis the 

effectiveness of this program in achieving its objectives 

and for its effect on recipients, physicians, and hospitals. 

Program components may be revised subject to achieving 

program intent, the accuracy and effectiveness of the 

ICD code designations, and the impact on recipients and 

providers. As used here, the term "ICD" is defined in 

12VAC30-95-5. 

c. Limitation of allowable cost. Effective for services on 

and after July 1, 2003, reimbursement of Type Two 

hospitals for outpatient services shall be at various 

percentages as noted in subdivisions 1 c (1) and 1 c (2) of 

this subsection of allowable cost, with cost to be 

determined as provided in subsections A, B, and C of this 

section. For hospitals with fiscal years that do not begin 

on July 1, outpatient costs, both operating and capital, for 

the fiscal year in progress on that date shall be 

apportioned between the time period before and the time 

period after that date, based on the number of calendar 

months in the cost reporting period, falling before and 

after that date.  

(1) Type One hospitals. 

(a) Effective July 1, 2003, through June 30, 2010, 

hospital outpatient operating reimbursement shall be at 

94.2% of allowable cost and capital reimbursement shall 

be at 90% of allowable cost. 

(b) Effective July 1, 2010, through September 30, 2010, 

hospital outpatient operating reimbursement shall be at 

91.2% of allowable cost and capital reimbursement shall 

be at 87% of allowable cost. 

(c) Effective October 1, 2010, through June 30, 2011, 

hospital outpatient operating reimbursement shall be at 

94.2% of allowable cost and capital reimbursement shall 

be at 90% of allowable cost. 

(d) Effective July 1, 2011, hospital outpatient operating 

reimbursement shall be at 90.2% of allowable cost and 

capital reimbursement shall be at 86% of allowable cost. 

(2) Type Two hospitals. 

(a) Effective July 1, 2003, through June 30, 2010, 

hospital outpatient operating and capital reimbursement 

shall be 80% of allowable cost. 
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(b) Effective July 1, 2010, through September 30, 2010, 

hospital outpatient operating and capital reimbursement 

shall be 77% of allowable cost. 

(c) Effective October 1, 2010, through June 30, 2011, 

hospital outpatient operating and capital reimbursement 

shall be 80% of allowable cost. 

(d) Effective July 1, 2011, hospital outpatient operating 

and capital reimbursement shall be 76% of allowable 

cost. 

d. The last cost report with a fiscal year end on or after 

December 31, 2013, shall be used for reimbursement for 

dates of service through December 31, 2013, based on 

this section. Reimbursement shall be based on charges 

reported for dates of service prior to January 1, 2014. 

Settlement will be based on four months of runout from 

the end of the provider's fiscal year. Claims for services 

paid after the cost report runout period will not be settled. 

e. Payment for direct medical education costs of nursing 

schools, paramedical programs and graduate medical 

education for interns and residents.  

(1) Direct medical education costs of nursing schools and 

paramedical programs shall continue to be paid on an 

allowable cost basis.  

(2) Effective with cost reporting periods beginning on or 

after July 1, 2002, direct graduate medical education 

(GME) costs for interns and residents shall be reimbursed 

on a per-resident prospective basis. See 12VAC30-70-

281 for prospective payment methodology for graduate 

medical education for interns and residents.  

2. Rehabilitation agencies or comprehensive outpatient 

rehabilitation. 

a. Effective July 1, 2009, rehabilitation agencies or 

comprehensive outpatient rehabilitation facilities that are 

operated by community services boards or state agencies 

shall be reimbursed their costs. For reimbursement 

methodology applicable to all other rehabilitation 

agencies, see 12VAC30-80-200.  

b. Effective October 1, 2009, rehabilitation agencies or 

comprehensive outpatient rehabilitation facilities 

operated by state agencies shall be reimbursed their 

costs. For reimbursement methodology applicable to all 

other rehabilitation agencies, see 12VAC30-80-200. 

12VAC30-80-36. Fee-for-service providers: outpatient 

hospitals.  

A. Definitions. The following words and terms when used in 

this section shall have the following meanings unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Enhanced ambulatory patient group" or "EAPG" means a 

defined group of outpatient procedures, encounters, or 

ancillary services that incorporates International 

Classification of Diseases (ICD) diagnosis codes, Current 

Procedural Terminology (CPT) codes, and Healthcare 

Common Procedure Coding System (HCPCS) codes. 

"EAPG relative weight" means the expected average costs 

for each EAPG divided by the relative expected average costs 

for visits assigned to all EAPGs. 

"Base year" means the state fiscal year for which data is 

used to establish the EAPG base rate. The base year will 

change when the EAPG payment system is rebased and 

recalibrated. In subsequent rebasings, [ the Commonwealth 

DMAS ] shall notify affected providers of the base year to be 

used in this calculation.  

"Cost" means the reported cost as described in 12VAC30-

80-20 A and B. 

"Cost-to-charge ratio" equals the hospital's total costs 

divided by the hospital's total charges. The Cost-to-charge 

ratio shall be calculated using data from cost reports from 

hospital fiscal years ending in the state fiscal year used as the 

base year.  

"Medicare wage index" means the Medicare wage index 

published annually in the Federal Register by the Centers for 

Medicare and Medicaid Services. The indices used in this 

section shall be those in effect in the base year.  

B. Effective January 1, 2014, the prospective enhanced 

ambulatory patient group (EAPG) based payment system 

described in this subsection shall apply to reimbursement for 

outpatient hospital services (with the exception of laboratory 

services referred to the hospital but not associated with an 

outpatient hospital visit, which will be reimbursed according 

to the laboratory fee schedule). 

1. The payments for outpatient hospital visits shall be 

determined on the basis of a hospital-specific base rate per 

visit multiplied by the relative weight of the EAPG (and 

the payment action) assigned for each of the services 

performed during a hospital visit. 

2. The EAPG relative weights shall be the weights 

determined and published periodically by DMAS and shall 

be consistent with applicable Medicaid reimbursement 

limits and policies. The weights shall be updated at least 

every three years.  

3. The statewide base rate shall be equal to the total costs 

described in this subdivision divided by the wage-adjusted 

sum of the EAPG weights for each facility. The wage-

adjusted sum of the EAPG weights shall equal the sum of 

the EAPG weights multiplied by the labor percentage times 

the hospital's Medicare wage index plus the sum of the 

EAPG weights multiplied by the nonlabor percentage. The 

base rate shall be determined for outpatient hospital 

services at least every three years so that total expenditures 

will equal the following: 

a. When using base years prior to January 1, 2014, for all 

services, excluding all laboratory services and emergency 

services described in subdivision 3 c of this subsection, a 

percentage of costs as reported in the available cost 
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reports for the base period for each type of hospital as 

defined in 12VAC30-70-221.  

(1) Type One hospitals. Effective January 1, 2014, 

hospital outpatient operating reimbursement shall be 

calculated at 90.2% of cost, and capital reimbursement 

shall be at 86% of cost inflated to the rate year. 

(2) Type Two hospitals. Effective January 1, 2014, 

hospital outpatient operating and capital reimbursement 

shall be calculated at 76% of cost inflated to the rate 

year. 

When using base years after January 1, 2014, the 

percentages described in subdivision 3 a of this 

subsection shall be adjusted according to subdivision 3 c 

of this subsection. 

b. Laboratory services, excluding laboratory services 

referred to the hospital but not associated with a hospital 

visit, are calculated at the fee schedule in effect for the 

rate year. 

c. Services rendered in emergency departments 

determined to be nonemergencies as prescribed in 

12VAC30-80-20 D 1 b shall be calculated at the 

nonemergency reduced rate reported in the base year for 

base years prior to January 1, 2014. For base years after 

January 1, 2014, the cost percentages in subdivision 3 a 

of this subsection shall be adjusted to reflect services 

paid at the nonemergency reduced rate in the last [ base ] 

year prior to January 1, 2014. 

4. Inflation adjustment to base year costs. Each July, the 

Virginia moving average values as compiled and published 

by Global Insight (or its successor), under contract with 

DMAS, shall be used to update the base year costs to the 

midpoint of the rate year. The most current table available 

prior to the effective date of the new rates shall be used to 

inflate base year amounts to the upcoming rate year. Thus, 

corrections made by Global Insight (or its successor) in the 

moving averages that were used to update rates for 

previous state fiscal years shall be automatically 

incorporated into the moving averages that are being used 

to update rates for the upcoming state fiscal year. Inflation 

shall be applied to the costs identified in subdivision 3 a of 

this subsection.  

5. Hospital-specific base rate. The hospital-specific base 

rate per case shall be adjusted for geographic variation. 

The hospital-specific base rate shall be equal to the labor 

portion of the statewide base rate multiplied by the 

hospital's Medicare wage index plus the nonlabor 

percentage of the statewide base rate. The labor percentage 

shall be determined at each rebasing based on the most 

recently reliable data. For rural hospitals, the hospital's 

Medicare wage index used to calculate the base rate shall 

be the Medicare wage index of the nearest metropolitan 

wage area or the effective Medicare wage index, 

whichever is higher. A base rate differential of 5.0% shall 

be established for freestanding Type Two children's 

hospitals. The base rate for noncost-reporting hospitals 

shall be the average of the hospital-specific base rates of 

in-state Type Two hospitals. 

6. The total payment shall represent the total allowable 

amount for a visit including ancillary services and capital. 

7. The transition from cost-based reimbursement to EAPG 

reimbursement shall be transitioned over a four-year 

period. DMAS shall calculate a cost-based base rate at 

January 1, 2014, and at each rebasing during the transition. 

a. Effective for dates of service on or after January 1, 

2014, DMAS shall calculate the hospital-specific base 

rate as the sum of 75% of the cost-based base rate and 

25% of the EAPG base rate.  

b. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2014, 

DMAS shall calculate the hospital-specific base rate as 

the sum of 50% of the cost-based base rate and 50% of 

the EAPG base rate. 

c. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2015, 

DMAS shall calculate the hospital-specific base rate as 

the sum of 25% of the cost-based base rate and 75% of 

the EAPG base rate. 

d. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2016, 

DMAS shall calculate the hospital-specific base rate as 

the EAPG base rate. 

8. To maintain budget neutrality during the first six years 

of the transition to EAPG reimbursement, DMAS shall 

compare the total reimbursement of hospital claims based 

on the parameters in subdivision 3 of this subsection to 

EAPG reimbursement every six months based on the six 

months of claims ending three months prior to the potential 

adjustment. If the percentage difference between the 

reimbursement target in subdivision 3 of this subsection 

and EAPG reimbursement is greater than 1.0%, plus or 

minus, DMAS shall adjust the statewide base rate by the 

percentage difference the following July 1 or January 1. 

The first possible adjustment would be January 1, 2015, 

using reimbursement between January 1, 2014, and 

October 31, 2014.  

C. The enhanced ambulatory patient group (EAPG) grouper 

version used for outpatient hospital services shall be 

determined by DMAS. Providers or provider representatives 

shall be given notice prior to implementing a new grouper. 

D. The primary data sources used in the development of the 

EAPG payment methodology are the DMAS hospital 

computerized claims history file and the cost report file. The 

claims history file captures available claims data from all 

enrolled, cost-reporting general acute care hospitals. The cost 

report file captures audited cost and charge data from all 

enrolled general acute care hospitals. The following table 

identifies key data elements that are used to develop the 

EAPG payment methodology. DMAS may supplement this 

data with similar data for Medicaid services furnished by 
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managed care organizations if DMAS determines that it is 

reliable. 

Data Elements for EAPG Payment Methodology 

Data Elements Source 

Total charges for each 

outpatient hospital 

visit Claims history file 

Number of groupable 

claims lines in each 

EAPG Claims history file 

Total number of 

groupable claim lines Claims history file 

Total charges for each 

outpatient hospital 

revenue line Claims history file 

Total number of 

EAPG assignments Claims history file 

Cost-to-charge ratio 

for each hospital Cost report file 

Medicare wage index 

for each hospital Federal Register 

12VAC30-80-40. Fee-for-service providers: pharmacy. 

Payment for pharmacy services (excluding outpatient 

hospital) shall be the lowest of subdivisions 1 through 5 of 

this section (except that subdivisions 1 and 2 of this section 

will not apply when prescriptions are certified as brand 

necessary by the prescribing physician in accordance with the 

procedures set forth in 42 CFR 447.512(c) if the brand cost is 

greater than the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services 

(CMS) upper limit of VMAC cost) subject to the conditions, 

where applicable, set forth in subdivisions 6 and 7 of this 

section:  

1. The upper limit established by the CMS for multiple 

source drugs pursuant to 42 CFR 447.512 and 447.514, as 

determined by the CMS Upper Limit List plus a dispensing 

fee. If the agency provides payment for any drugs on the 

HCFA Upper Limit List, the payment shall be subject to 

the aggregate upper limit payment test.  

2. The methodology used to reimburse for generic drug 

products shall be the higher of either (i) the lowest 

Wholesale Acquisition Cost (WAC) plus 10% or (ii) the 

second lowest WAC plus 6.0%. This methodology shall 

reimburse for products' costs based on a Maximum 

Allowable Cost (VMAC) list to be established by the 

single state agency.  

a. In developing the maximum allowable reimbursement 

rate for generic pharmaceuticals, the department or its 

designated contractor shall: 

(1) Identify three different suppliers, including 

manufacturers that are able to supply pharmaceutical 

products in sufficient quantities. The drugs considered 

must be listed as therapeutically and pharmaceutically 

equivalent in the Food and Drug Administration's most 

recent version of the Approved Drug Products with 

Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations (Orange Book). 

Pharmaceutical products that are not available from three 

different suppliers, including manufacturers, shall not be 

subject to the VMAC list. 

(2) Identify that the use of a VMAC rate is lower than the 

Federal Upper Limit (FUL) for the drug. The FUL is a 

known, widely published price provided by CMS; and 

(3) Distribute the list of state VMAC rates to pharmacy 

providers in a timely manner prior to the implementation 

of VMAC rates and subsequent modifications. DMAS 

shall publish on its website, each month, the information 

used to set the Commonwealth's prospective VMAC 

rates, including, but not necessarily limited to: 

(a) The identity of applicable reference products used to 

set the VMAC rates; 

(b) The Generic Code Number (GCN) or National Drug 

Code (NDC), as may be appropriate, of reference 

products; 

(c) The difference by which the VMAC rate exceeds the 

appropriate WAC price; and 

(d) The identity and date of the published compendia 

used to determine reference products and set the VMAC 

rate. The difference by which the VMAC rate exceeds 

the appropriate WAC price shall be at least or equal to 

10% above the lowest-published wholesale acquisition 

cost for products widely available for purchase in the 

Commonwealth and shall be included in national pricing 

compendia. 

b. Development of a VMAC rate that does not have a 

FUL rate shall not result in the use of higher-cost 

innovator brand name or single source drugs in the 

Medicaid program. 

c. DMAS or its designated contractor shall: 

(1) Implement and maintain a procedure to add or 

eliminate products from the list, or modify VMAC rates, 

consistent with changes in the fluctuating marketplace. 

DMAS or its designated contractor will regularly review 

manufacturers' pricing and monitor drug availability in 

the marketplace to determine the inclusion or exclusion 

of drugs on the VMAC list; and 

(2) Provide a pricing dispute resolution procedure to 

allow a dispensing provider to contest a listed VMAC 

rate. DMAS or its designated contractor shall confirm 

receipt of pricing disputes within 24 hours, via telephone 

or facsimile, with the appropriate documentation of 

relevant information, e.g. for example, invoices. Disputes 

shall be resolved within three business days of 
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confirmation. The pricing dispute resolution process will 

include DMAS' or the contractor's verification of 

accurate pricing to ensure consistency with marketplace 

pricing and drug availability. Providers will be 

reimbursed, as appropriate, based on findings. Providers 

shall be required to use this dispute resolution process 

prior to exercising any applicable appeal rights. 

3. The provider's usual and customary charge to the public, 

as identified by the claim charge. 

4. The Estimated Acquisition Cost (EAC), which shall be 

based on the published Average Wholesale Price (AWP) 

minus a percentage discount established by the General 

Assembly (as set forth in subdivision 7 of this section) or, 

in the absence thereof, by the following methodology set 

out in subdivisions a through c of this subdivision. 

a. Percentage discount shall be determined by a statewide 

survey of providers' acquisition cost. 

b. The survey shall reflect statistical analysis of actual 

provider purchase invoices. 

c. The agency will conduct surveys at intervals deemed 

necessary by DMAS. 

5. [ MAC Maximum allowable cost (MAC) ] methodology 

for specialty drugs. Payment for drug products designated 

by DMAS as specialty drugs shall be the lesser of 

subdivisions 1 through 4 of this section or the following 

method, whichever is least: 

a. The methodology used to reimburse for designated 

specialty drug products shall be the WAC price plus the 

WAC percentage. The WAC percentage is a constant 

percentage identified each year for all GCNs. 

b. Designated specialty drug products are certain 

products used to treat chronic, high-cost, or rare diseases; 

the drugs subject to this pricing methodology and their 

current reimbursement rates are listed on the DMAS 

website at the following internet address: 

http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/downloads/pdfs/pharm-

special_mac_list.pdf 

http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/Content_pgs/pharm-

home.aspx. 

c. The MAC reimbursement methodology for specialty 

drugs shall be subject to the pricing review and dispute 

resolution procedures described in subdivisions 2 c (1) 

and 2 c (2) of this section. 

6. Payment for pharmacy services will be as described 

above in subdivisions 1 through 5 of this section; however, 

payment for legend drugs will include the allowed cost of 

the drug plus only one dispensing fee per month for each 

specific drug. Exceptions to the monthly dispensing fees 

shall be allowed for drugs determined by the department to 

have unique dispensing requirements. The dispensing fee 

for brand name and generic drugs is $3.75.  

7. An EAC of AWP minus 13.1% shall become effective 

July 1, 2011. The dispensing fee for brand name and 

generic drugs of $3.75 shall remain in effect, creating a 

payment methodology based on the previous algorithm 

(least of subdivisions of this section) plus a dispensing fee 

where applicable. 

8. Home infusion therapy.  

a. The following therapy categories shall have a 

pharmacy service day rate payment allowable: hydration 

therapy, chemotherapy, pain management therapy, drug 

therapy, and total parenteral nutrition (TPN). The service 

day rate payment for the pharmacy component shall 

apply to the basic components and services intrinsic to 

the therapy category. Submission of claims for the per 

diem rate shall be accomplished by use of the CMS 1500 

claim form.  

b. The cost of the active ingredient or ingredients for 

chemotherapy, pain management, and drug therapies 

shall be submitted as a separate claim through the 

pharmacy program, using standard pharmacy format. 

Payment for this component shall be consistent with the 

current reimbursement for pharmacy services. Multiple 

applications of the same therapy shall be reimbursed one 

service day rate for the pharmacy services. Multiple 

applications of different therapies shall be reimbursed at 

100% of standard pharmacy reimbursement for each 

active ingredient.  

9. Supplemental rebate agreement. The Commonwealth 

complies with the requirements of § 1927 of the Social 

Security Act and Subpart I (42 CFR 447.500 et seq.) of 

42 CFR Part 447 with regard to supplemental drug rebates. 

In addition, the following requirements are also met: 

a. Supplemental drug rebates received by the state in 

excess of those required under the national drug rebate 

agreement will be shared with the federal government on 

the same percentage basis as applied under the national 

drug rebate agreement.  

b. Prior authorization requirements found in § 1927(d)(5) 

of the Social Security Act have been met.  

c. Nonpreferred drugs are those that were reviewed by 

the Pharmacy and Therapeutics Committee and not 

included on the preferred drug list. Nonpreferred drugs 

will be made available to Medicaid beneficiaries through 

prior authorization.  

d. Payment of supplemental rebates may result in a 

product's inclusion on the PDL.  

10. Each drug administered in an outpatient hospital setting 

and reimbursed based on the enhanced ambulatory patient 

group methodology, as described in 12VAC30-80-36, shall 

be reimbursed separately at a rate greater than zero to be 

eligible for drug rebate claiming. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3799; Filed June 21, 2016, 10:17 a.m.  

http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/Content_pgs/pharm-home.aspx
http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/Content_pgs/pharm-home.aspx
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Notice of Extension of Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-120. Waivered Services 

(amending 12VAC30-120-360 through 12VAC30-120-395, 

12VAC30-120-410, 12VAC30-120-420).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396. 

Expiration Date Extended Through: December 29, 2016. 

The Governor has approved the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services request to extend the expiration date of 

the above-referenced emergency regulation for six months as 

provided for in § 2.2-4011 D of the Code of Virginia. 

Therefore, the emergency regulation will continue in effect 

through December 29, 2016. The emergency regulation 

implements several mandates from various legislative actions 

to (i) require individuals who are participating in a home and 

community-based care services waiver, specifically the 

Elderly or Disabled with Consumer Direction Waiver, to also 

be enrolled in Medicaid contracted managed care 

organizations and (ii) require expedited enrollment for 

Medicaid individuals into Medicaid contracted managed care 

organizations, especially for pregnant women. The 

emergency regulation was published in 31:11 VA.R. 947-955 

January 26, 2015, and a final regulation to replace the 

emergency regulation was published in 32:22 VA.R. 2953-

2961 June 27, 2016. 

Contact Information: Victoria Simmons, Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 

East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-6043, FAX (804) 786-1680, TTY (800) 

343-0634, or email victoria.simmons@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4135; Filed June 17, 2016, 5:22 p.m.  

Notice of Extension of Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-135. Demonstration Waiver 

Services (adding 12VAC30-135-400 through 12VAC30-

135-498).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

§ 1115 of the Social Security Act. 

Expiration Date Extended Through: December 29, 2016. 

The Governor has approved the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services request to extend the expiration date of 

the above-referenced emergency regulation for six months as 

provided for in § 2.2-4011 D of the Code of Virginia. 

Therefore, the emergency regulation will continue in effect 

through December 29, 2016. The emergency regulation 

established the Governor's Access Plan Demonstration 

Waiver to improve access to health care for a segment of the 

uninsured population in Virginia who have significant 

behavioral and medical needs, improve health and behavioral 

health outcomes of participants in this program, and serve as 

a bridge to closing the insurance coverage gap for uninsured 

Virginians. The emergency regulation was published in 31:10 

VA.R. 864-882 January 12, 2015, and an amendment to 

certain sections of the emergency regulation was published in 

31:23 VA.R. 2128-2137 July 13, 2015.   

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 

Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4171; Filed June 17, 2016, 5:22 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF AUDIOLOGY AND SPEECH-LANGUAGE 
PATHOLOGY 

Final Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC30-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Audiology and Speech-Language 

Pathology (repealing 18VAC30-20-10 through 18VAC30-

20-320). 

18VAC30-21. Regulations Governing Audiology and 

Speech-Language Pathology (adding 18VAC30-21-10 

through 18VAC30-21-170).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 10, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 

Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, 

telephone (804) 367-4630, FAX (804) 527-4413, or email 

leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The action repeals 18VAC30-20 and adopts new 

regulations in 18VAC30-21 to organize sections and 

provisions more logically and with more clarity. 

Provisions of the regulation include (i) a change in 

continuing competency requirements from 30 hours within 

two years to 10 hours annually, offered by an approved 

sponsor or provider; (ii) less burdensome rules for 

licensure and reentry into practice; (iii) elimination of 

barriers to provisional licensure, including requirements 

pursuant to Chapter 436 of the 2013 Acts of Assembly; (iv) 

more explicit rules for patient confidentiality and 

maintenance of records and regarding violations of 

professional boundaries; and (v) performance of flexible 

endoscopic evaluation of swallowing. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/32.1-325/
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=4828
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=4828
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=5731
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=5731
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=4800
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=4800
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=5044
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CHAPTER 21 

REGULATIONS GOVERNING AUDIOLOGY AND 

SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGY 

Part I 

General Provisions 

18VAC30-21-10. Definitions. 

A. The words and terms "audiologist," "board," "practice of 

audiology," "practice of speech-language pathology," 

"speech-language disorders," and "speech-language 

pathologist" when used in this chapter shall have the 

meanings ascribed to them in § 54.1-2600 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Active practice" means a minimum of 160 hours of 

professional practice as an audiologist or speech-language 

pathologist for each 12-month period immediately preceding 

application for licensure. Active practice may include 

supervisory, administrative, educational, research, or 

consultative activities or responsibilities for the delivery of 

such services. 

"ASHA" means the American Speech-Language-Hearing 

Association. 

"Client" means a patient or person receiving services in 

audiology or speech-language pathology. 

"Contact hour" means 60 minutes of time spent in 

continuing learning activities.  

"School speech-language pathologist" means a person 

licensed pursuant to § 54.1-2603 of the Code of Virginia to 

provide speech-language pathology services solely in public 

school divisions.  

"Supervision" means that the audiologist or speech-language 

pathologist is responsible for the entire service being rendered 

or activity being performed, is available for consultation, and 

is providing regular monitoring and documentation of clinical 

activities and competencies of the person being supervised.  

18VAC30-21-20. Required licenses; posting of licenses. 

A. There shall be separate licenses for the practices of 

audiology and speech-language pathology. It is prohibited for 

any person to practice as an audiologist or a speech-language 

pathologist unless the person has been issued the appropriate 

license.  

B. A licensee shall post his license in a place conspicuous to 

the public in each facility in which the licensee is employed 

and holds himself out to practice. If it is not practical to post 

the license, the licensee shall provide a copy of his license 

upon request. 

18VAC30-21-30. Records; accuracy of information. 

A. All changes of name, address of record, or public 

address, if different from the address of record, shall be 

furnished to the board within 30 days after the change occurs.  

B. A licensee who has changed his name shall submit as 

legal proof to the board a copy of the marriage certificate, a 

certificate of naturalization, or a court order evidencing the 

change. A duplicate license with the changed name shall be 

issued by the board upon receipt of such evidence and the 

required fee. 

C. All notices required by law and by this chapter to be 

mailed by the board to any registrant or licensee shall be 

validly served when mailed to the latest address of record on 

file with the board. 

18VAC30-21-40. Fees required. 

A. The following fees shall be paid as applicable for 

licensure: 

1. Application for audiology or speech-

language pathology license 

$135 

2. Application for school speech-language 

pathology license 

$70 

3. Verification of licensure requests from 

other states 

$20 

4. Annual renewal of audiology or speech-

language pathology license 

$75 

5. Late renewal of audiology or speech-

language pathology license 

$25 

6. Annual renewal of school speech-

language pathology license 

$40 

7. Late renewal of school speech-language 

pathology license 

$15 

8. Reinstatement of audiology or speech-

language pathology license 

$135 

9. Reinstatement of school speech-language 

pathology license 

$70 

10. Duplicate wall certificate $25 

11. Duplicate license $5 

12. Returned check $35 

13. Inactive license renewal for audiology 

or speech-language pathology 

$40 

14. Inactive license renewal for school 

speech-language pathology 

$20 

15. Application for provisional license  $50 

16. Renewal of provisional license  $25 

B. Fees shall be made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia 

and shall not be refunded once submitted. 
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Part II 

Requirements for Licensure 

18VAC30-21-50. Application requirements. 

A. A person seeking a provisional license or licensure as an 

audiologist, a speech-language pathologist, or a school 

speech-language pathologist shall submit:  

1. A completed and signed application;  

2. The applicable fee prescribed in 18VAC30-21-40;  

3. Documentation as required by the board to determine if 

the applicant has met the qualifications for licensure;  

4. An attestation that the applicant has read, understands, 

and will comply with the statutes and regulations 

governing the practice of audiology or speech-language 

pathology; and 

5. If licensed or certified in another United States 

jurisdiction, verification of the status of the license or 

certification from each jurisdiction in which licensure or 

certification is held.  

B. An incomplete application package shall be retained by 

the board for a period of one year from the date the 

application is received by the board. If an application is not 

completed within the year, an applicant shall reapply and pay 

a new application fee. 

18VAC30-21-60. Qualifications for initial licensure. 

A. The board may grant an initial license to an applicant for 

licensure in audiology or speech-language pathology who:  

1. Holds a current and unrestricted Certificate of Clinical 

Competence issued by ASHA or certification issued by the 

American Board of Audiology or any other accrediting 

body recognized by the board. Verification of currency 

shall be in the form of a certified letter from a recognized 

accrediting body issued within six months prior to filing an 

application for licensure; and  

2. Has passed the qualifying examination from an 

accrediting body recognized by the board. 

B. The board may grant a license to an applicant as a school 

speech-language pathologist who [ : 1. Holds holds ] a 

master's degree in speech-language-pathology [ ; and 

2. Holds an endorsement in speech-language pathology 

from the Virginia Department of Education.  

C. Any individual who holds an active, renewable license 

issued by the Virginia Board of Education with a valid 

endorsement in speech-language pathology on June 30, 2014, 

shall be deemed qualified to obtain a school speech-language 

pathologist license from the board until July 1, 2016, or the 

date of expiration of such person's license issued by the 

Virginia Board of Education, whichever is later. ]  

18VAC30-21-70. Provisional licensure. 

A. Provisional license to qualify for initial licensure. An 

applicant may be issued a provisional license in order to 

obtain clinical experience required for certification by ASHA, 

the American Board of Audiology, or any other accrediting 

body recognized by the board.  To obtain a provisional 

license in order to qualify for initial licensure, the applicant 

shall submit documentation that he has:  

1. Passed the qualifying examination from an accrediting 

body recognized by the board; and 

2. Either: 

a. For provisional licensure in audiology, successfully 

completed all the didactic coursework required for the 

doctoral degree as documented by a college or university 

whose audiology program is accredited by the Council on 

Academic Accreditation of ASHA or an equivalent 

accrediting body; or 

b. For provisional licensure in speech-language 

pathology, successfully completed all the didactic 

coursework required for a graduate program in speech-

language pathology as documented by a college or 

university whose program is accredited by the Council on 

Academic Accreditation of the American Speech-

Language-Hearing Association or an equivalent 

accrediting body.  

B. Provisional license to qualify for endorsement or reentry 

into practice. An applicant may be issued a provisional 

license in order to qualify for licensure by endorsement 

pursuant to 18VAC30-21-80, reactivation of an inactive 

license pursuant to subsection C of 18VAC30-21-110, or 

reinstatement of a lapsed license pursuant to subsection B of 

18VAC30-21-120.  

C. All provisional licenses shall expire 18 months from the 

date of issuance and may be renewed for an additional six 

months by submission of a renewal form and payment of a 

renewal fee. Renewal of a provisional license beyond 24 

months shall be for good cause shown as determined by a 

committee of the board.  

D. The holder of a provisional license in audiology shall 

only practice under the supervision of a licensed audiologist, 

and the holder of a provisional license in speech-language 

pathology shall only practice under the supervision of a 

licensed speech-language pathologist. The provisional 

licensee shall be responsible and accountable for the safe 

performance of those direct client care tasks to which he has 

been assigned. 

E. Licensed audiologists or speech-language pathologists 

providing supervision shall: 

1. Notify the board electronically or in writing of the intent 

to provide supervision for a provisional licensee; 

2. Have an active, current license and at least three years of 

active practice as an audiologist or speech-language 

pathologist prior to providing supervision; 

3. Document the frequency and nature of the supervision of 

provisional licensees; 
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4. Be responsible and accountable for the assignment of 

clients and tasks based on their assessment and evaluation 

of the provisional licensee's knowledge and skills; and 

5. Monitor clinical performance and intervene if necessary 

for the safety and protection of the clients. 

F. The identity of a provisional licensee shall be disclosed to 

the client prior to treatment and shall be made a part of the 

client's file. 

18VAC30-21-80. Qualifications for licensure by 

endorsement. 

An applicant for licensure in audiology or speech-language 

pathology who has been licensed in another United States 

jurisdiction may apply for licensure in Virginia in accordance 

with application requirements in 18VAC30-20-50 and 

submission of documentation of: 

1. Ten continuing education hours for each year in which 

he has been licensed in the other jurisdiction, not to exceed 

30 hours, or a current and unrestricted Certificate of 

Clinical Competence in the area in which he seeks 

licensure issued by ASHA or certification issued by the 

American Board of Audiology or any other accrediting 

body recognized by the board. Verification of currency 

shall be in the form of a certified letter from a recognized 

accrediting body issued within six months prior to filing an 

application for licensure;  

2. Passage of the qualifying examination from an 

accrediting body recognized by the board; 

3. Current status of licensure in another United States 

jurisdiction showing that no disciplinary action is pending 

or unresolved. The board may deny a request for licensure 

to any applicant who has been determined to have 

committed an act in violation of 18VAC30-21-160; and 

4. Evidence of active practice in another United States 

jurisdiction for at least one of the past three years or 

practice for six months with a provisional license in 

accordance with 18VAC30-21-70 and by providing 

evidence of a recommendation for licensure by his 

supervisor. 

Part III 

Renewal and Continuing Education 

18VAC30-21-90. Renewal requirements. 

A. A person who desires to renew his license shall, not later 

than December 31 of each year, submit the renewal notice 

and applicable renewal fee. A licensee who fails to renew his 

license by the expiration date shall have a lapsed license, and 

practice with a lapsed license may constitute grounds for 

disciplinary action by the board.  

B. A person who fails to renew his license by the expiration 

date may renew at any time within one year of expiration by 

submission of a renewal notice, the renewal fee and late fee, 

and statement of compliance with continuing education 

requirements. 

18VAC30-21-100. Continuing education requirements for 

renewal of an active license. 

A. In order to renew an active license, a licensee shall 

complete at least 10 contact hours of continuing education 

prior to December 31 of each year. Up to 10 contact hours of 

continuing education in excess of the number required for 

renewal may be transferred or credited to the next renewal 

year. 

B. Continuing education shall be activities, programs, or 

courses related to audiology or speech-language pathology, 

depending on the license held, and offered or approved by 

one of the following accredited sponsors or organizations 

sanctioned by the profession:  

1. The Speech-Language-Hearing Association of Virginia 

or a similar state speech-language-hearing association of 

another state;  

2. The American Academy of Audiology;  

3. The American Speech-Language-Hearing Association;  

4. The Accreditation Council on Continuing Medical 

Education of the American Medical Association offering 

Category I continuing medical education;  

5. Local, state, or federal government agencies;  

6. Colleges and universities;  

7. International Association of Continuing Education and 

Training; or  

8. Health care organizations accredited by the Joint 

Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations.  

C. If the licensee is dually licensed by this board as an 

audiologist and speech-language pathologist, a total of no 

more than 15 hours of continuing education are required for 

renewal of both licenses with a minimum of 7.5 contact hours 

in each profession.  

D. A licensee shall be exempt from the continuing education 

requirements for the first renewal following the date of initial 

licensure in Virginia under 18VAC30-20-60.  

E. The licensee shall retain all continuing education 

documentation for a period of three years following the 

renewal of an active license. Documentation from the sponsor 

or organization shall include the title of the course, the name 

of the sponsoring organization, the date of the course, and the 

number of hours credited.  

F. The board may grant an extension of the deadline for 

continuing education requirements, for up to one year, for 

good cause shown upon a written request from the licensee 

prior to the renewal date of December [ 31st 31 ]. 

G. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

requirements for circumstances beyond the control of the 

licensee, such as temporary disability, mandatory military 

service, or officially declared disasters. 

H. The board shall periodically conduct an audit for 

compliance with continuing education requirements. 
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Licensees selected for an audit conducted by the board shall 

complete the Continuing Education Activity and Assessment 

Form and provide all supporting documentation within 30 

days of receiving notification of the audit.  

I. Failure to comply with these requirements may subject the 

licensee to disciplinary action by the board. 

Part IV 

Reactivation and Reinstatement 

18VAC30-21-110. Inactive licensure; reactivation for 

audiologists [ and or ] speech-language pathologists. 

A. An audiologist or speech-language pathologist who holds 

a current, unrestricted license in Virginia may, upon a request 

on the renewal application and submission of the required fee, 

be issued an inactive license. The holder of an inactive license 

shall not be required to maintain continuing education 

requirements and shall not be entitled to perform any act 

requiring a license to practice audiology or speech-language 

pathology in Virginia. 

B. A licensee whose license has been inactive and who 

requests reactivation of an active license shall file an 

application, pay the difference between the inactive and 

active renewal fees for the current year, and provide 

documentation of current ASHA certification or of having 

completed 10 continuing education hours equal to the 

requirement for the number of years in which the license has 

been inactive, not to exceed 30 contact hours.  

C. A licensee who does not reactivate within five years shall 

meet the requirements of subsection B of this section and 

shall either: 

1. Meet the requirements for initial licensure as prescribed 

by 18VAC30-21-60; or 

2. Provide documentation of a current license in another 

jurisdiction in the United States and evidence of active 

practice for at least one of the past three years or practice 

in accordance with 18VAC30-21-70 with a provisional 

license for six months and submit a recommendation for 

licensure from his supervisor.  

D. If the licensee holds licensure in any other state or 

jurisdiction, he shall provide evidence that no disciplinary 

action is pending or unresolved. The board may deny a 

request for reactivation to any licensee who has been 

determined to have committed an act in violation of 

18VAC30-21-160. 

18VAC30-21-120. Reinstatement of a lapsed license for 

audiologists or speech-language pathologists. 

A. When a license has not been renewed within one year of 

the expiration date, a person may apply to reinstate his license 

by submission of a reinstatement application, payment of the 

reinstatement fee, and submission of documentation of 

current ASHA certification or at least 10 continuing 

education hours for each year the license has been lapsed, not 

to exceed 30 contact hours, obtained during the time the 

license in Virginia was lapsed.  

B. A licensee who does not reinstate within five years shall 

meet the requirements of subsection A of this section and 

shall either: 

1. Reinstate by meeting the requirements for initial 

licensure as prescribed by 18VAC30-21-60; or 

2. Provide documentation of a current license in another 

United States jurisdiction and evidence of active practice 

for at least one of the past three years or practice in 

accordance with 18VAC30-21-70 with a provisional 

license for six months and submit a recommendation for 

licensure from his supervisor.  

C. If the licensee holds licensure in any other state or 

jurisdiction, he shall provide evidence that no disciplinary 

action is pending or unresolved. The board may deny a 

request for reinstatement to any licensee who has been 

determined to have committed an act in violation of 

18VAC30-21-160. 

18VAC30-21-130. Reactivation or reinstatement of a 

school speech-language pathologist. 

A. A school speech-language pathologist whose license has 

been inactive and who requests reactivation of an active 

license shall file an application and pay the difference 

between the inactive and active renewal fees for the current 

year.  A school speech-language pathologist whose license 

has lapsed and who requests reinstatement shall file an 

application and pay the reinstatement fee as set forth in 

18VAC30-20-40. 

B. The board may reactivate or reinstate licensure as a 

school speech-language pathologist to an applicant who: 

1. Holds a master's degree in speech-language-pathology; 

and 

2. Holds a current endorsement in speech-language 

pathology from the Virginia Department of Education.  

C. The board may deny a request for reactivation or 

reinstatement to any licensee who has been determined to 

have committed an act in violation of 18VAC30-21-160. 

 [ 18VAC30-21-131. Performance of flexible endoscopic 

evaluation of swallowing. 

A. For the purposes of this section, an endoscopic procedure 

shall mean a flexible endoscopic evaluation of swallowing 

limited to the use of flexible endoscopes to observe, collect 

data, and measure the parameters of swallowing for the 

purposes of functional assessment and therapy planning.  

B. A speech-language pathologist who performs an 

endoscopic procedure shall meet the following qualifications: 

1. Completion of a course or courses or an educational 

program offered by a provider approved in 18VAC30-20-

100 that includes at least 12 hours on endoscopic 

procedures; 

2. Successful performance of at least 25 flexible 

endoscopic procedures under the immediate and direct 

supervision of a board-certified otolaryngologist or another 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 23 Virginia Register of Regulations July 11, 2016 

3098 

speech-language pathologist who has successfully 

performed at least 50 flexible endoscopic procedures 

beyond the 25 required for initial qualification and has 

been approved in writing by a board-certified 

otolaryngologist to provide that supervision; and 

3. Current certification in basic life support. 

C. The speech-language pathologist who qualifies to 

perform an endoscopic procedure pursuant to subsection B of 

this section shall maintain documentation of course 

completion and written verification from the supervising 

otolaryngologist or speech-language pathologist of successful 

completion of flexible endoscopic procedures. 

D. An endoscopic procedure shall only be performed by a 

speech-language pathologist on referral from an 

otolaryngologist or other qualified physician. 

E. A speech-language pathologist shall only perform an 

endoscopic procedure in a facility that has protocols in place 

for emergency medical backup. A flexible endoscopic 

evaluation of swallowing shall only be performed by a 

speech-language pathologist in either: 

1. A licensed hospital or nursing home under the general 

supervision of a physician who is readily available in the 

event of an emergency, including physical presence in the 

facility or available by telephone; or  

2. A physician's office at which the physician is on 

premises and available to provide onsite supervision. 

F. The speech-language pathologist shall promptly report 

any observed abnormality or adverse reaction to the referring 

physician, an appropriate medical specialist, or both. The 

speech-language pathologist shall provide a report of an 

endoscopic procedure to the referring physician in a timely 

manner and, if requested, shall ensure access to a visual 

recording for viewing.  

G. A speech-language pathologist is not authorized to 

possess or administer prescription drugs except as provided in 

§ 54.1-3408 B of the Code of Virginia. 

H. A speech-language pathologist who has been performing 

flexible endoscopic evaluations of swallowing prior to 

October 7, 2015, may continue to perform such evaluations 

provided he has written verification from a board-certified 

otolaryngologist that he has the appropriate training, 

knowledge, and skills to safely perform such evaluations. ]  

Part V 

Standards of Practice 

18VAC30-21-140. Supervision of unlicensed assistants. 

A. If a licensed audiologist or speech-language pathologist 

has unlicensed assistants, he shall document supervision of 

them, shall be held fully responsible for their performance 

and activities, and shall ensure that they perform only those 

activities which do not constitute the practice of audiology or 

speech-language pathology and which are commensurate with 

their level of training. 

B. A licensee may delegate to an unlicensed assistant such 

activities or functions that are nondiscretionary and do not 

require the exercise of professional judgment for 

performance.  

C. The identity of the unlicensed assistant shall be disclosed 

to the client prior to treatment and shall be made a part of the 

client's file.  

18VAC30-21-150. Prohibited conduct. 

A. No person, unless otherwise licensed to do so, shall 

prepare, order, dispense, alter, or repair hearing aids or parts 

of or attachments to hearing aids for consideration. However, 

audiologists licensed under this chapter may make earmold 

impressions and prepare and alter earmolds for clinical use 

and research.  

B. No person licensed as a school speech-language 

pathologist shall conduct the practice of speech-language 

pathology outside of the public school setting.  

18VAC30-21-160. Unprofessional conduct. 

The board may refuse to issue a license to any applicant, 

suspend a license for a stated period of time or indefinitely, 

reprimand a licensee or place his license on probation with 

such terms and conditions and for such time as it may 

designate, impose a monetary penalty, or revoke a license for 

any of the following:  

1. Guarantee of the results of any speech, voice, language, 

or hearing consultative or therapeutic procedure or 

exploitation of clients by accepting them for treatment 

when benefit cannot reasonably be expected to occur or by 

continuing treatment unnecessarily;  

2. Diagnosis or treatment of speech, voice, language, and 

hearing disorders solely by written correspondence, 

provided this shall not preclude:  

a. Follow-up by written correspondence or electronic 

communication concerning individuals previously seen; 

or  

b. Providing clients with general information of an 

educational nature;  

3. Failure to comply with provisions of § 32.1-127.1:03 of 

the Code of Virginia related to the confidentiality and 

disclosure of client records or related to provision of client 

records to another practitioner or to the client or his 

personal representative;  

4. Failure to properly manage and keep timely, accurate, 

legible, and complete client records, to include the 

following: 

a. For licensees who are employed by a health care 

institution, school system, or other entity, in which the 

individual practitioner does not own or maintain his own 

records, failure to maintain client records in accordance 

with the policies and procedures of the employing entity; 

or  
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b. For licensees who are self-employed or employed by 

an entity in which the individual practitioner does own 

and is responsible for client records, failure to maintain a 

client record for a minimum of six years following the 

last client encounter with the following exceptions: 

(1) For records of a minor child, the minimum time is six 

years from the last client encounter or until the child 

reaches the age of 18 or becomes emancipated, 

whichever is longer; or 

(2) Records that have previously been transferred to 

another practitioner or health care provider or provided to 

the client or his personal representative as documented in 

a record or database maintained for a minimum of six 

years; 

5. Engaging or attempting to engage in a relationship with 

a client that constitutes a professional boundary violation 

in which the practitioner uses his professional position to 

take advantage of the vulnerability of a client or a client's 

family, including but not limited to sexual misconduct with 

a client or a member of the client's family or other conduct 

that results or could result in personal gain at the expense 

of the client;  

6. Incompetence or negligence in the practice of the 

profession;  

7. Failure to comply with applicable state and federal 

statutes or regulations specifying the consultations and 

examinations required prior to the fitting of a new or 

replacement prosthetic aid for any communicatively 

impaired person;  

8. Failure to refer a client to an appropriate health care 

practitioner when there is evidence of an impairment for 

which assessment, evaluation, care, or treatment might be 

necessary;  

9. Failure to supervise persons who assist in the practice of 

audiology or speech-language pathology as well as failure 

to disclose the use and identity of unlicensed assistants;  

10. Conviction of a felony or a misdemeanor involving 

moral turpitude;  

11. Violating or cooperating with others in violating any of 

the provisions of Chapters 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.), 24 

(§ 54.1-2400 et seq.), or 26 (§ 54.1-2600 et seq.) of Title 

54 of the Code of Virginia or the regulations of the board;  

12. Publishing or causing to be published in any manner an 

advertisement relating to his professional practice that is 

false, deceptive, or misleading;  

13. Inability to practice with skill and safety;  

14. Fraud, deceit, or misrepresentation in provision of 

documentation or information to the board or in the 

practice of audiology or speech-language pathology;  

15. Aiding and abetting unlicensed activity; or 

16. Revocation, suspension, restriction, or any other 

discipline of a license or certificate to practice or surrender 

of license or certificate while an investigation or 

administrative proceedings are pending in another 

regulatory agency in Virginia or another jurisdiction. 

18VAC30-21-170. Criteria for delegation to an agency 

subordinate. 

A. Decision to delegate. In accordance with subdivision 10 

of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, the board may 

delegate an informal fact-finding proceeding to an agency 

subordinate upon determination that probable cause exists 

that a practitioner may be subject to a disciplinary action.  

B. Criteria for delegation. Cases that may not be delegated 

to an agency subordinate are those that involve:  

1. Intentional or negligent conduct that causes or is likely 

to cause injury to a patient;  

2. Mandatory suspension resulting from action by another 

jurisdiction or a felony conviction;  

3. Impairment with an inability to practice with skill and 

safety;  

4. Sexual misconduct;  

5. Unauthorized practice.  

C. Criteria for an agency subordinate.  

1. An agency subordinate authorized by the board to 

conduct an informal fact-finding proceeding may include 

board members and professional staff or other persons 

deemed knowledgeable by virtue of their training and 

experience in administrative proceedings involving the 

regulation and discipline of health professionals.  

2. The executive director shall maintain a list of 

appropriately qualified persons to whom an informal fact-

finding proceeding may be delegated.  

3. The board may delegate to the executive director the 

selection of the agency subordinate who is deemed 

appropriately qualified to conduct a proceeding based on 

the qualifications of the subordinate and the type of case 

being heard.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC30-21) 

Continuing Education Form (rev. 3/2015) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2759; Filed June 18, 2016, 11:21 a.m.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7ee9f002759~1&typ=40&actno=002759&mime=application/pdf
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BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC150-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Veterinary Medicine (amending 

18VAC150-20-70).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3805.2 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 10, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 

Board of Veterinary Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4468, FAX 

(804) 527-4471, or email leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment increases the number of continuing 

education hours required for renewal of a veterinary 

technician license to eight hours per year. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

18VAC150-20-70. Licensure renewal requirements. 

A. Every person licensed by the board shall, by January 1 of 

every year, submit to the board a completed renewal 

application and pay to the board a renewal fee as prescribed 

in 18VAC150-20-100. Failure to renew shall cause the 

license to lapse and become invalid, and practice with a 

lapsed license may subject the licensees to disciplinary action 

by the board. Failure to receive a renewal notice does not 

relieve the licensee of his responsibility to renew and 

maintain a current license. 

B. Veterinarians shall be required to have completed a 

minimum of 15 hours, and veterinary technicians shall be 

required to have completed a minimum of six eight hours, of 

approved continuing education for each annual renewal of 

licensure. Continuing education credits or hours may not be 

transferred or credited to another year. 

1. Approved continuing education credit shall be given for 

courses or programs related to the treatment and care of 

patients and shall be clinical courses in veterinary medicine 

or veterinary technology or courses that enhance patient 

safety, such as medical recordkeeping or compliance with 

requirements of the Occupational Health and Safety 

Administration (OSHA). 

2. An approved continuing education course or program 

shall be sponsored by one of the following:  

a. The AVMA or its constituent and component/branch 

associations, specialty organizations, and board certified 

specialists in good standing within their specialty board;  

b. Colleges of veterinary medicine approved by the 

AVMA Council on Education;  

c. International, national, or regional conferences of 

veterinary medicine;  

d. Academies or species specific interest groups of 

veterinary medicine;  

e. State associations of veterinary technicians;  

f. North American Veterinary Technicians Association;  

g. Community colleges with an approved program in 

veterinary technology;  

h. State or federal government agencies;  

i. American Animal Hospital Association (AAHA) or its 

constituent and component/branch associations;  

j. Journals or veterinary information networks recognized 

by the board as providing education in veterinary 

medicine or veterinary technology; or  

k. An organization or entity approved by the Registry of 

Approved Continuing Education of the American 

Association of Veterinary State Boards.  

3. A licensee is exempt from completing continuing 

education requirements and considered in compliance on 

the first renewal date following his initial licensure by 

examination.  

4. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

continuing education requirements due to circumstances 

beyond the control of the licensee, such as temporary 

disability, mandatory military service, or officially 

declared disasters.  

5. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up 

to one year for the completion of continuing education 

requirements upon written request from the licensee prior 

to the renewal date. Such an extension shall not relieve the 

licensee of the continuing education requirement.  

6. Licensees are required to attest to compliance with 

continuing education requirements on their annual license 

renewal and are required to maintain original documents 

verifying the date and subject of the program or course, the 

number of continuing education hours or credits, and 

certification from an approved sponsor. Original 

documents must be maintained for a period of two years 

following renewal. The board shall periodically conduct a 

random audit to determine compliance. Practitioners 

selected for the audit shall provide all supporting 

documentation within 10 days of receiving notification of 

the audit.  

7. Continuing education hours required by disciplinary 

order shall not be used to satisfy renewal requirements.  

C. A licensee who has requested that his license be placed 

on inactive status is not authorized to perform acts that are 

considered the practice of veterinary medicine or veterinary 

technology and, therefore, shall not be required to have 

continuing education for annual renewal. To reactivate a 

license, the licensee is required to submit evidence of 

completion of continuing education hours as required by 
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§ 54.1-3805.2 of the Code of Virginia equal to the number of 

years in which the license has not been active for a maximum 

of two years.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-18; Filed June 18, 2016, 11:18 a.m.  
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GOVERNOR 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 55 (2016) 

Directing the Commissioner of the Department of 
Motor Vehicles to Extend the Validity of Expiring 

Driver's Licenses 

Importance of the Issue 

On Saturday May 21, 2016, an internal power disruption 

temporarily interrupted the electronic services provided by 

the Commonwealth's data center. This disruption greatly 

impacted the ability of many Virginians to renew their 

driver's licenses. On May 23, 2016, I verbally directed the 

Commissioner of the Department of Motor Vehicles to extend 

the validity period for expiring licenses for a period of one 

week. This unforeseen disruption of services places citizens at 

risk of suffering fines and others costs resulting from their 

inability to timely renew their driver's licenses. 

Therefore, by virtue of the authority vested in me as 

Governor, and subject always to my continuing and ultimate 

authority and responsibility to act in such matters, I hereby 

confirm, ratify, and memorialize in writing that verbal 

directive issued on May 23, 2016, whereby it was determined 

that the Department of Motor Vehicles suffered a disruption 

in service that prevented the Department from processing 

applications for renewal of driver's licenses. 

In order to prevent any further hardship to the citizens of 

Virginia, and in accordance with my authority contained in 

§§ 46.2-330 (A) and 46.2-345 of the Code of Virginia, I 

hereby order the following measures: 

I hereby direct the Commissioner of the Department of 

Motor Vehicles, and such other executive branch agencies 

as deem appropriate in their discretion, to extend the 

validity period of Virginia driver's license, permits and 

commercial driver's licenses issued by the Commonwealth 

that expire May 21, 2016, through May 22, 2016, until May 

28, 2016. 

Effective Date of this Executive Order 

This Executive Order shall be effective retroactively from 

May 21, 2016, and shall remain in full force and effect until 

May 28, 2016. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia, this 24th day of May, 2016. 

/s/ Terence R. McAuliffe 

Governor 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 56 (2016) 

Declaration of a State of Emergency for the 
Commonwealth of Virginia Due to Severe Flooding 

Part I - Importance of the Issue 

On June 23, 2016, I verbally declared a state of emergency to 

exist for the Commonwealth of Virginia based on record level 

flooding of the Jackson River watershed. The extended rain 

showers, flash flooding, and high winds have the potential to 

impact life safety and create significant transportation issues 

throughout the Commonwealth. 

The health and general welfare of the citizens require that 

state action be taken to help alleviate the conditions caused by 

this situation. The effects of this incident constitute a disaster 

wherein human life and public and private property are 

imperiled, as described in § 44-146.16 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Therefore, by virtue of the authority vested in me by § 44-

146.17 of the Code of Virginia, as Governor and as Director 

of Emergency Management, and by virtue of the authority 

vested in me by Article V, Section 7 of the Constitution of 

Virginia and by § 44-75.1 of the Code of Virginia, as 

Governor and Commander-in-Chief of the armed forces of 

the Commonwealth, and subject always to my continuing and 

ultimate authority and responsibility to act in such matters, I 

hereby confirm, ratify, and memorialize in writing my verbal 

orders issued on June 23, 2016, whereby I proclaimed that a 

state of emergency exists, and I directed that appropriate 

assistance be rendered by agencies of both state and local 

governments to prepare for potential impacts of the flooding, 

alleviate any conditions resulting from the incident, and to 

implement recovery and mitigation operations and activities 

so as to return impacted areas to pre-event conditions in so far 

as possible. Pursuant to § 44-75.1(A)(3) and (A)(4) of the 

Code of Virginia, I also directed that the Virginia National 

Guard and the Virginia Defense Force be called forth to state 

active duty to be prepared to assist in providing such aid. This 

shall include Virginia National Guard assistance to the 

Virginia Department of State Police to direct traffic, prevent 

looting, and perform such other law enforcement functions as 

the Superintendent of State Police, in consultation with the 

State Coordinator of Emergency Management, the Adjutant 

General, and the Secretary of Public Safety and Homeland 

Security, may find necessary. 

In order to marshal all public resources and appropriate 

preparedness, response, and recovery measures to meet this 

threat and recover from its effects, and in accordance with my 

authority contained in § 44-146.17 of the Code of Virginia, I 

hereby order the following protective and restoration 

measures: 
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A. Implementation by state agencies of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia Emergency Operations Plan (COVEOP), as 

amended, along with other appropriate state agency plans. 

B. Activation of the Virginia Emergency Operations Center 

(VEOC) and the Virginia Emergency Support Team (VEST) 

to coordinate the provision of assistance to local 

governments. I am directing that the VEOC and VEST 

coordinate state actions in support of affected localities, other 

mission assignments to agencies designated in the COVEOP, 

and others that may be identified by the State Coordinator of 

Emergency Management, in consultation with the Secretary 

of Public Safety and Homeland Security, which are needed to 

provide for the preservation of life, protection of property, 

and implementation of recovery activities. 

C. The authorization to assume control over the 

Commonwealth's state-operated telecommunications systems, 

as required by the State Coordinator of Emergency 

Management, in coordination with the Virginia Information 

Technologies Agency, and with the consultation of the 

Secretary of Public Safety and Homeland Security, making all 

system assets available for use in providing adequate 

communications, intelligence, and warning capabilities for 

the incident, pursuant to § 44-146.18 of the Code of Virginia. 

D. The evacuation of areas threatened or stricken by effects of 

the flooding, as appropriate. 

Following a declaration of a local emergency pursuant to 

§ 44-146.21 of the Code of Virginia, if a local governing 

body determines that evacuation is deemed necessary for the 

preservation of life or other emergency mitigation, response, 

or recovery effort, pursuant to § 44-146.17(1) of the Code of 

Virginia, I direct the evacuation of all or part of the populace 

therein from such areas and upon such timetable as the local 

governing body, in coordination with the VEOC, acting on 

behalf of the State Coordinator of Emergency Management, 

shall determine. Notwithstanding the foregoing, I reserve the 

right to direct and compel evacuation from the same and 

different areas and determine a different timetable both where 

local governing bodies have made such a determination and 

where local governing bodies have not made such a 

determination. Also, in those localities that have declared a 

local emergency pursuant to § 44-146.21 of the Code of 

Virginia, if the local governing body determines that 

controlling movement of persons is deemed necessary for the 

preservation of life, public safety, or other emergency 

mitigation, response, or recovery effort, pursuant to § 44-

146.17(1) of the Code of Virginia, I authorize the control of 

ingress and egress at an emergency area, including the 

movement of persons within the area and the occupancy of 

premises therein upon such timetable as the local governing 

body, in coordination with the State Coordinator of 

Emergency Management and the VEOC, shall determine. 

Violations of any order to citizens to evacuate shall constitute 

a violation of this Executive Order and are punishable as a 

Class 1 misdemeanor. 

E. The activation, implementation, and coordination of 

appropriate mutual aid agreements and compacts, including 

the Emergency Management Assistance Compact (EMAC), 

and the authorization of the State Coordinator of Emergency 

Management to enter into any other supplemental 

agreements, pursuant to § 44-146.17(5) and § 44-146.28:1 of 

the Code of Virginia, to provide for the evacuation and 

reception of injured and other persons and the exchange of 

medical, fire, police, National Guard personnel and 

equipment, public utility, reconnaissance, welfare, 

transportation, and communications personnel, equipment, 

and supplies. The State Coordinator of Emergency 

Management is hereby designated as Virginia's authorized 

representative within the meaning of the Emergency 

Management Assistance Compact, § 44-146.28:1 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

F. The authorization of the Departments of State Police, 

Transportation, and Motor Vehicles to grant temporary 

overweight, over width, registration, or license exemptions to 

all carriers transporting essential emergency relief supplies, 

livestock or poultry, feed or other critical supplies for 

livestock or poultry, heating oil, motor fuels, or propane, or 

providing restoration of utilities (electricity, gas, phone, 

water, wastewater, and cable) in and through any area of the 

Commonwealth in order to support the disaster response and 

recovery, regardless of their point of origin or destination. 

Such exemptions shall not be valid on posted structures for 

restricted weight. 

All over width loads, up to a maximum of 12 feet, and over 

height loads up to a maximum of 14 feet must follow Virginia 

Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) hauling permit and 

safety guidelines. 

In addition to described overweight/over width transportation 

privileges, carriers are also exempt from registration with the 

Department of Motor Vehicles. This includes vehicles en 

route and returning to their home base. The above-cited 

agencies shall communicate this information to all staff 

responsible for permit issuance and truck legalization 

enforcement. 

Authorization of the State Coordinator of Emergency 

Management to grant limited exemption of hours of service 

by any carrier when transporting essential emergency relief 

supplies, passengers, property, livestock, poultry, equipment, 

food, feed for livestock or poultry, fuel, construction 

materials, and other critical supplies to or from any portion of 

the Commonwealth for purpose of providing direct relief or 

assistance as a result of this disaster, pursuant to § 52-8.4 of 

the Code of Virginia and Title 49 Code of Federal 

Regulations, Section 390.23 and Section 395.3. 
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The foregoing overweight/over width transportation 

privileges as well as the regulatory exemption provided by 

§ 52-8.4(A) of the Code of Virginia, and implemented in 

19VAC30-20-40(B) of the "Motor Carrier Safety 

Regulations," shall remain in effect for 30 days from the onset 

of the disaster, or until emergency relief is no longer 

necessary, as determined by the Secretary of Public Safety 

and Homeland Security in Consultation with the Secretary of 

Transportation, whichever is earlier. 

G. The discontinuance of provisions authorized in paragraph 

F above may be implemented and disseminated by 

publication of administrative notice to all affected and 

interested parties. I hereby delegate to the Secretary of Public 

Safety and Homeland Security, after consultation with other 

affected Cabinet Secretaries, the authority to implement this 

order as set forth in § 2.2-104 of the Code of Virginia. 

H. The authorization of a maximum of $1,600,000 in state 

sum sufficient funds for state and local government mission 

assignments authorized and coordinated through the Virginia 

Department of Emergency Management that are allowable as 

defined by The Stafford Act. This funding is also available 

for state response and recovery operations and incident 

documentation. Out of this state disaster sum sufficient, 

$100,000 or more if available, is authorized for the 

Department of Military Affairs for the state's portion of the 

eligible disaster related costs incurred for salaries, travel, and 

meals during mission assignments authorized and coordinated 

through the Virginia Department of Emergency Management. 

I. The authorization of a maximum of $250,000 for matching 

funds for the Individuals and Household Program, authorized 

by The Stafford Act (when presidentially authorized), to be 

paid from state funds. 

J. The implementation by public agencies under my 

supervision and control of their emergency assignments as 

directed in the COVEOP without regard to normal procedures 

pertaining to performance of public work, entering into 

contracts, incurring of obligations or other logistical and 

support measures of the Emergency Services and Disaster 

Laws, as provided in § 44-146.28(b) of the Code of Virginia. 

§ 44-146.24 of the Code of Virginia also applies to the 

disaster activities of state agencies. 

K. Designation of members and personnel of volunteer, 

auxiliary, and reserve groups including search and rescue 

(SAR), Virginia Associations of Volunteer Rescue Squads 

(VAVRS), Civil Air Patrol (CAP), member organizations of 

the Voluntary Organizations Active in Disaster (VOAD), 

Radio Amateur Civil Emergency Services (RACES), 

volunteer fire fighters, Citizen Corps Programs such as 

Medical Reserve Corps (MRCs), Community Emergency 

Response Teams (CERT), and others identified and tasked by 

the State Coordinator of Emergency Management for specific 

disaster related mission assignments as representatives of the 

Commonwealth engaged in emergency services activities 

within the meaning of the immunity provisions of § 44-

146.23(a) and (f) of the Code of Virginia, in the performance 

of their specific disaster-related mission assignments. 

L. The authorization of appropriate oversight boards, 

commissions, and agencies to ease building code restrictions 

and to permit emergency demolition, hazardous waste 

disposal, debris removal, emergency landfill sitting, and 

operations and other activities necessary to address immediate 

health and safety needs without regard to time-consuming 

procedures or formalities and without regard to application or 

permit fees or royalties. 

M. The activation of the statutory provisions in § 59.1-525 et 

seq. of the Code of Virginia related to price gouging. Price 

gouging at any time is unacceptable. Price gouging is even 

more reprehensible during a time of disaster after issuance of 

a state of emergency. I have directed all applicable executive 

branch agencies to take immediate action to address any 

verified reports of price gouging of necessary goods or 

services. I make the same request of the Office of the 

Attorney General and appropriate local officials. I further 

request that all appropriate executive branch agencies 

exercise their discretion to the extent allowed by law to 

address any pending deadlines or expirations affected by or 

attributable to this disaster event. 

N. The following conditions apply to the deployment of the 

Virginia National Guard and the Virginia Defense Force: 

1. The Adjutant General of Virginia, after consultation with 

the State Coordinator of Emergency Management, shall 

make available on state active duty such units and members 

of the Virginia National Guard and Virginia Defense Force 

and such equipment as may be necessary or desirable to 

assist in preparations for this incident and in alleviating the 

human suffering and damage to property. 

2. Pursuant to § 52-6 of the Code of Virginia, I authorize 

the Superintendent of the Department of State Police to 

appoint any and all such Virginia Army and Air National 

Guard personnel called to state active duty as additional 

police officers as deemed necessary. These police officers 

shall have the same powers and perform the same duties as 

the State Police officers appointed by the Superintendent. 

However, they shall nevertheless remain members of the 

Virginia National Guard, subject to military command as 

members of the State Militia. Any bonds and/or insurance 

required by § 52-7 of the Code of Virginia shall be 

provided for them at the expense of the Commonwealth. 

3. In all instances, members of the Virginia National Guard 

and Virginia Defense Force shall remain subject to military 

command as prescribed by § 44-78.1 of the Code of 

Virginia and are not subject to the civilian authorities of 

county or municipal governments. This shall not be deemed 

to prohibit working in close cooperation with members of 

the Virginia Departments of State Police or Emergency 
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Management or local law enforcement or emergency 

management authorities or receiving guidance from them in 

the performance of their duties. 

4. Should service under this Executive Order result in the 

injury or death of any member of the Virginia National 

Guard, the following will be provided to the member and 

the member's dependents or survivors: 

a. Workers' Compensation benefits provided to members of 

the National Guard by the Virginia Workers' Compensation 

Act, subject to the requirements and limitations thereof; 

and, in addition,  

b. The same benefits, or their equivalent, for injury, 

disability, and/or death, as would be provided by the 

federal government if the member were serving on federal 

active duty at the time of the injury or death. Any such 

federal-type benefits due to a member and his or her 

dependents or survivors during any calendar month shall be 

reduced by any payments due under the Virginia Workers' 

Compensation Act during the same month. If and when the 

time period for payment of Workers' Compensation 

benefits has elapsed, the member and his or her dependents 

or survivors shall thereafter receive full federal-type 

benefits for as long as they would have received such 

benefits if the member had been serving on federal active 

duty at the time of injury or death. Any federal-type 

benefits due shall be computed on the basis of military pay 

grade E-5 or the member's military grade at the time of 

injury or death, whichever produces the greater benefit 

amount. Pursuant to § 44-14 of the Code of Virginia, and 

subject to the availability of future appropriations which 

may be lawfully applied to this purpose, I now approve of 

future expenditures out of appropriations to the Department 

of Military Affairs for such federal-type benefits as being 

manifestly for the benefit of the military service. 

5. The following conditions apply to service by the 

Virginia Defense Force: 

a. Compensation shall be at a daily rate that is equivalent of 

base pay only for a National Guard Unit Training 

Assembly, commensurate with the grade and years of 

service of the member, not to exceed 20 years of service; 

b. Lodging and meals shall be provided by the Adjutant 

General or reimbursed at standard state per diem rates; 

c. All privately owned equipment, including, but not 

limited to, vehicles, boats, and aircraft, will be reimbursed 

for expense of fuel. Damage or loss of said equipment will 

be reimbursed, minus reimbursement from personal 

insurance, if said equipment was authorized for use by the 

Adjutant General in accordance with § 44-54.12 of the 

Code of Virginia; 

d. In the event of death or injury, benefits shall be provided 

in accordance with the Virginia Workers' Compensation 

Act, subject to the requirements and limitations thereof. 

Upon my approval, the costs incurred by state agencies and 

other agents in performing mission assignments through the 

VEOC of the Commonwealth as defined herein and in § 44-

146.28 of the Code of Virginia, other than costs defined in the 

paragraphs above pertaining to the Virginia National Guard 

and pertaining to the Virginia Defense Force, in performing 

these missions shall be paid from state funds. 

Part II - Effective Date of this Executive Order 

This Executive Order shall be effective as of June 23, 2016, 

and shall remain in full force and effect until September 30, 

2016 unless sooner amended or rescinded by further 

executive order. Termination of the Executive Order is not 

intended to terminate any federal-type benefits granted or to 

be granted due to injury or death as a result of service under 

this Executive Order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia, this 24th day of June, 2016. 

/s/ Terence R. McAuliffe 

Governor 
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Criminal Justice 

Services Board is currently reviewing each of the regulations 

listed below to determine whether the regulation should be 

repealed, amended, or retained in its current form. The review 

of each regulation will be guided by the principles in 

Executive Order 17 (2014). Public comment is sought on the 

review of any issue relating to each regulation, including 

whether the regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of 

public health, safety, and welfare or for the economical 

performance of important governmental functions; (ii) 

minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 

manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable 

law; and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable. 

6VAC20-50, Rules Relating to Compulsory Minimum 

Training Standards for Jailors or Custodial Officers, 

Courthouse and Courtroom Security Officers and Process 

Service Officers 

6VAC20-180, Crime Prevention Specialists 

Contact Information: Barbara Peterson-Wilson, Law 

Enforcement Program Coordinator, Department of Criminal 

Justice Services, 1100 Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 225-4503, FAX (804) 786-0410, or email 

barbara.peterson-wilson@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

The comment period begins July 11, 2016, and ends August 

11, 2016. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall, and a report of 

the small business impact review will be published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Twittys Creek Solar LLC Notice of Intent - Small 
Renewable Energy Project (Solar) Permit by Rule 

Twittys Creek Solar, LLC has notified the Department of 

Environmental Quality of its intent to submit the necessary 

documentation for a permit by rule for a small renewable 

energy project (solar) in Charlotte County, pursuant to 

9VAC15-60. The project is located west of the intersection of 

Highway 59 and Ingleside Lane and will have a maximum 

capacity of 15 megawatts alternating current. The array will 

utilize approximately 65,100 ground-mounted photovoltaic 

solar modules, or equivalent, feeding into six 2.5 megawatt 

inverters, or equivalent, before interconnection. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4423, FAX (804) 

698-4510, or email mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

Application for No Discharge Zones within 
Gloucester County 

Purpose of notice: The Virginia Department of Environmental 

Quality (DEQ) is announcing its intent to apply to the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) for two federal no 

discharge zones (NDZs) and is seeking public comment on 

the draft application. 

Public meeting: Wednesday, July 27, 2016, 6 p.m. at the 

Abingdon Elementary School, in library room B103, 7087 

Powhatan Drive, Hayes, VA 23072. 

Meeting description: To provide a summary of a draft 

application for designation of selected waterbodies within 

Gloucester County (Sarah Creek and Perrin River) as federal 

no discharge zones (NDZs). The NDZ designation would 

prohibit the overboard discharge of treated sewage effluent 

from marine sanitation devices (MSDs) in these waterways. 

Description of study: Section 62.1-44.33of the Code of 

Virginia resolves that all tidal creeks in Virginia be 

designated federal no discharge zones premised on the 

improvement of impaired tidal creeks and directs the DEQ to 

pursue this designation. It is currently illegal to discharge raw 

sewage in U.S. territorial waters. In a NDZ, this ban is 

expanded to include sewage treated by on-board marine 

sanitation devices. A NDZ is determined by EPA upon 

application from the state and is contingent on the state 

demonstrating (1) the need for enhanced protection of water 

quality, (2) the availability of sufficient local alternatives to 

overboard discharge (i.e., pump-outs), and (3) local 

stakeholder support. DEQ is seeking this designation as one 

component of a "pollution diet" for small tidal Chesapeake 

Bay tributaries, which are frequently impaired for shellfish 

harvest due to elevated levels of fecal bacteria. The Go Green 

Committee of Gloucester County has partnered with the 

Virginia Institute of Marine Science to conduct an analysis of 

boat usage and pump-out availability for Sarah Creek and 

Perrin River in Gloucester County, and DEQ has concluded 

that existing pump-out facilities are adequate to service 

estimated peak-demand. A draft application to EPA for NDZ 

designation has been prepared and will be available for public 

review and comment on the DEQ website at 
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInfor

mationTMDLs/TMDL/NoDischargeZoneDesignations.aspx the 

day after the public meeting. Presentations provided at the 

meeting will also be available on the website. 

How to comment: DEQ will accept written comments 

beginning Thursday, July 28, 2016, by email or postal mail. 

Comments should include the name, address, and telephone 

number of the person commenting and be received by DEQ 

mailto:mary.major@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/NoDischargeZoneDesignations.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/NoDischargeZoneDesignations.aspx
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during the comment period, which will expire Friday, August 

26, 2016. 

Contact for additional information and send comments to: 

Anne Schlegel, TMDL Coordinator, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Central Office, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4046, or email 

anne.schlegel@deq.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Department of Health is 

conducting a periodic review and small business impact 

review of 12VAC5-610, Sewage Handling and Disposal 

Regulations. 

The review of this regulation will be guided by the principles 

in Executive Order 17 (2014).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

The comment period begins July 11, 2016, and ends August 

1, 2016. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall at 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 

may also be sent to Dwayne Roadcap, Director, Division of 

Onsite Sewage, Water Services, Environmental Engineering 

and Marina Programs, Virginia Department of Health, 109 

Governor Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-

7458, FAX (804) 864-7475, or email 

dwayne.roadcap@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Town Hall and a report of the small business 

impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

VIRGINIA LOTTERY 

Director's Orders 

The following Director's Orders of the Virginia Lottery were 

filed with the Virginia Registrar of Regulations on June 20, 

2016, and June 27, 2016. The orders may be viewed at the 

Virginia Lottery, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia, 

or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 201 North 9th 

Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

Director's Order Number Ninety-Four (16) 

Virginia Lottery's Scratch Game 1703 "BIG BILLS" Final 

Rules for Game Operation (effective June 6, 2016) 

Director's Order Number Ninety-Five (16) 

Virginia Lottery's Scratch Game 1684 "Hot Winnings" Final 

Rules for Game Operation (effective June 6, 2016) 

Director's Order Number Ninety-Six (16) 

Certain Virginia Print 'n Play Games; End of Games 

Virginia Lottery's Print 'n Play Blackjack (22 16)  

Virginia Lottery's Print 'n Play Bonus Bingo (19 16)  

Virginia Lottery's Print 'n Play Daily Crossword (17 16) 

Virginia Lottery's Print 'n Play Hot 'n Spicy Bingo (20 16) 

Virginia Lottery's Print 'n Play Smokin' Hot Crossword (13 

16) 

(This Director's Order is effective on July 9, 2016, and shall 

remain in full force and effect unless amended or rescinded 

by further Director's Order) 

Director's Order Number Ninety-Seven (16) 

Virginia Lottery's "Q1 FY17 eXTRA Chances Scratcher 

Promotion" Final Rules for Operation (effective June 28, 

2016) 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

2016 Notice of Intent to Amend Medicaid 
Reimbursement Rates - Virginia State Plan for 

Medical Assistance (pursuant to § 1902(a)(13) of the 
Social Security Act (USC § 1396a(a)(13))) 

Revised Notice dated June 15, 2016 

The Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) hereby affords the public notice of its intention to 

amend the Virginia State Plan for Medical Assistance to 

provide for changes to the Amount, Duration, and Scope of 

Medical and Remedial Care Services (12VAC30-50); 

Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates - 

Inpatient Hospital Services (12VAC30-70); Methods and 

Standards for Establishing Payment Rates; Other Types of 

Care (12VAC30-80); and Methods and Standards for 

mailto:anne.schlegel@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm
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Establishing Payment Rates for Long-Term Care (12VAC30-

90). 

This notice is intended to satisfy the requirements of 42 CFR 

§ 447.205 and of § 1902(a)(13) of the Social Security Act, 

42 USC § 1396a(a)(13). A copy of this notice is available for 

public review from the contact listed at the end of this notice. 

DMAS is specifically soliciting input from stakeholders, 

providers, and beneficiaries, on the potential impact of the 

proposed reduction in the hospital inflation adjustment on 

beneficiary access to care. Comments or inquiries may be 

submitted, in writing, within 30 days of this notice 

publication to Mr. Lessard and such comments are available 

for review at the same address. Comments may also be 

submitted, in writing, on the Town Hall public comment 

forum attached to this notice at 

http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/Email_Notice.cfm?GNid=606

&CFID=24385644&CFTOKEN=4dabe0a4218fb3ac-

504D2605-EA48-541B-F92DE31D6CF24206. 

This notice is available for public review on the Regulatory 

Town Hall (www.townhall.virginia.gov), on the General 

Notices page, found at: 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/generalnotice.cfm. 

DMAS is making these changes in its methods and standards 

for setting payment rates for services in order to comply with 

the legislative mandates set forth in the Item 306 of Chapter 

780 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly. 

Reimbursement Changes Affecting Hospitals (12VAC30-70) 

12VAC30-70-351 is being amended to reduce fiscal year 

(FY) 2017 inflation by 50% for inpatient and outpatient 

hospital operating (including freestanding psychiatric and 

long stay hospitals), graduate medical education (GME) and 

indirect medical education (IME) payments, disproportionate 

share hospital (DSH) payments and outpatient hospital rates 

with the exception of 100% of inflation for inpatient and 

outpatient hospital operating, GME, and IME payments for 

Children's Hospital of King's Daughters. 

The expected decrease in annual aggregate expenditures is 

$13,895,790. 

12VAC30-70-221 and 12VAC30-70-381 are being amended 

to change the methodology for costing claims used to rebase 

weights from a fee-for-service global cost-to-charge 

methodology to a methodology that uses per diems and cost-

to-charge ratios by cost center for the fee-for-service and 

managed care claims, effective July 1, 2016. In a similar 

fashion, each hospital's total costs by claim using this 

methodology will be divided by the total charges for the 

hospital cost-to-charge ratio. 

The expected increase in annual aggregate expenditures is $0. 

12VAC30-70-281 is being amended to create GME 

supplemental payments for new primary care and high-need 

specialty residencies, effective July 1, 2017. 

The expected increase in annual aggregate expenditures is 

$2,500,000. 

Reimbursement Changes Affecting Other Providers 

(12VAC30-80) 

12VAC30-80-32 is being amended to increase rates for 

existing substance use disorder services and add rates for new 

substance use disorder services, effective April 1, 2017, and 

peer support services, effective January 1, 2017. 

The expected annual increase in expenditures for the rate 

increase is $1,460,647, and the expected annual increase for 

expenditures for new services is $2,871,908. Administrative 

expenses of the program are expected to be $872,269 for a 

total annual aggregate increase of $5,204,824. 

12VAC30-80-30 is being amended to implement a 

supplemental payment for Children's National Health System 

physicians, effective July 1, 2016. The total supplemental 

Medicaid payment shall be based on the upper payment limit 

approved by CMS and all other Virginia Medicaid fee-for-

service payments but not to exceed $551,000. 

The expected increase in annual aggregate expenditures is 

$551,000. 

Reimbursement Changes Affecting Nursing Facilities 

(12VAC30-90) 

12VAC30-90-264 is being amended to convert the 

specialized care rate methodology to a fully prospective state 

fiscal year rate, effective July 1, 2016. This would be 

accomplished consistent with the existing cost-based 

methodology by adding inflation to the per diem costs subject 

to existing ceilings for direct, indirect and ancillary costs 

from the most recent settled cost report prior to the state fiscal 

year for which the rates are being established. The same 

inflation adjustment shall apply to plant costs for specialized 

care facilities that do not have prospective capital rates that 

are based on fair rental value. The department shall use the 

state fiscal year inflation rate recently adopted for regular 

nursing facilities. Partial year inflation shall be applied to per 

diem costs if the provider fiscal year end is different than the 

state fiscal year. Ceilings shall also be maintained by state 

fiscal year. 

The expected increase in annual aggregate expenditures is $0. 

Contact Information: William Lessard, Director, Division of 

Provider Reimbursement, Department of Medical Assistance 

Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 225-4593, FAX (804) 786-1680, or 

email william.lessard@dmas.virginia.gov. 

http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/Email_Notice.cfm?GNid=606&CFID=24385644&CFTOKEN=4dabe0a4218fb3ac-504D2605-EA48-541B-F92DE31D6CF24206
http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/Email_Notice.cfm?GNid=606&CFID=24385644&CFTOKEN=4dabe0a4218fb3ac-504D2605-EA48-541B-F92DE31D6CF24206
http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/Email_Notice.cfm?GNid=606&CFID=24385644&CFTOKEN=4dabe0a4218fb3ac-504D2605-EA48-541B-F92DE31D6CF24206
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/generalnotice.cfm
mailto:william.lessard@dmas.virginia.gov


General Notices/Errata 

Volume 32, Issue 23 Virginia Register of Regulations July 11, 2016 

3109 

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Department of 

Environmental Quality on behalf of the Waste Management 

Board is conducting a periodic review and small business 

impact review of 9VAC20-190, Litter Receptacle 

Regulations. 

The review of this regulation will be guided by the principles 

in Executive Order 17 (2014).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

The comment period begins July 11, 2016, and ends August 

1, 2016. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall at 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 

may also be sent to Melissa Porterfield, Policy Analyst, P.O. 

Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4238, 

FAX (804) 698-4019, or email 

melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Town Hall and a report of the small business 

impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Consent Special Order for Wakefield 
Peanut Company, LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Wakefield 

Peanut Company, LLC for alleged violations that occurred at 

its property located at 11253 General Mahone Highway, 

Sussex County, Virginia. The proposed consent special order 

requires corrective actions to resolve the noncompliance and 

payment of a civil charge. A description of the proposed 

action is available at the Department of Environmental 

Quality office named below or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. David Robinett will accept comments 

by email at david.robinett@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (804) 

527-5106, or postal mail at Department of Environmental 

Quality, Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen 

Allen, VA 23060-6295, from July 13, 2016, to August 14, 

2016; 

Total Maximum Daily Loads for the McClure River, 
Big Spraddle Branch, Buffalo Creek, and Roaring 

Fork in Dickenson County 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) seeks 

written and oral comments from interested persons on the 

development of total maximum daily loads (TMDLs) for the 

McClure River, Big Spraddle Branch, Buffalo Creek, and 

Roaring Fork in Dickenson County. These streams are listed 

on the 2012 § 303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report as 

impaired due to violations of the state's water quality 

standards for bacteria. 

Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C 

of the State Water Control Law requires DEQ to develop 

TMDLs for pollutants responsible for each impaired water 

contained in Virginia's § 303(d) TMDL Priority List and 

Report. 

The impaired segments include: 21.76 miles of the McClure 

River from the headwaters downstream to the Road Branch 

confluence near Steinman; 2.31 miles of Big Spraddle 

Branch, a tributary to the McClure River west of Stratton; 

3.25 miles of Buffalo Creek, a tributary to the McClure River 

north of Nora; 1.08 miles of Roaring Fork, a tributary to the 

McClure River upstream of Nora. 

The first public meeting on the development of the TMDL to 

address the bacteria impairments for these segments will be 

held on July 14, 2016, from 6 p.m. to 8 p.m. at the McClure 

Kiwanis Building located at the intersection of State Route 63 

(Dante Mountain Road) and State Route 773 (Herndon Road) 

in the McClure Community, Dickenson County, Virginia. 

The public comment period will begin July 14, 2016, and end 

August 15, 2015.  

An advisory committee to assist in development of this 

TMDL may be established. Any person interested in assisting 

should notify the DEQ contact person by the end of the 

comment period and provide name, address, phone number, 

email address, and the organization being represented (if 

any). Notification of the composition of the panel will be sent 

to all applicants. 

A component of a TMDL is the wasteload allocations 

(WLAs); therefore, this notice is provided pursuant to § 2.2-

4006 A 14 of the Code of Virginia for any future adoption of 

the TMDLs associated WLAs. Information on the 

development of the TMDLs for these impairments is 

available upon request. Questions or information requests 

should be addressed to Martha Chapman. All written 

comments should include name, address, and telephone 

number of the person submitting the comments and should be 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm
mailto:melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:david.robinett@deq.virginia.gov
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sent to DEQ contact person Martha Chapman, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Southwest Regional Office, 355-A 

Deadmore Street, Abingdon, VA 24210, telephone (276) 676-

4800, or email martha.chapman@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, General Assembly Building, 201 North 9th 

Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: Voice 

(804) 786-3591; Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

http://www.virginia.gov/connect/commonwealth-calendar. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 

ERRATA 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-421. Food Regulations. 

Publication: 32:22 VA.R. 2866 June 27, 2016 

Correction to Title of Regulation: 

Page 2866, column 2, delete "12VAC5-421-750," 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-2701 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Titles of Regulations: 12VAC30-50. Amount Duration, and 

Scope of Medical and Remedial Care Services (amending 

12VAC30-50-226). 

12VAC30-60. Standards Established and Methods Used to 

Assure High Quality Care (amending 12VAC30-60-143). 

Publication: 32:22 VA.R. 2936-2951 June 27, 2016 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 2950, column 2, 12VAC30-60-143 I 18, line 4, 

replace "4160" with "[ 4160 416 ]" 

Page 2951, column 1, 12VAC30-60-143 I 18, line 1, 

replace "80" with "[ 80 8 ]" 

Page 2951, column 1, 12VAC 30-60-143 I 18, line 4, 

replace "20" with "[ 20 2 ]" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3451; Filed June 23, 2016, 11:51 a.m. 
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