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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 

publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 

days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 

necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 

clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 

comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 

to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 

completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 

comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 

than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 

period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 

appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 

may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 

objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 

will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 

by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 

with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 

Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 

substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 

30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 

public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 

receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 

comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 

inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 

certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 

process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 

provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 

objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 

consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 

Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 

emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 

regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 

law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 

days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 

operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 

unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 

more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 

months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 

Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 

procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 

agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 

Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 

regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 

180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 

chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 

prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

29:5 VA.R. 1075-1192 November 5, 2012, refers to Volume 29, Issue 

5, pages 1075 through 1192 of the Virginia Register issued on  

November 5, 2012. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

James M. LeMunyon, Vice Chair; Gregory D. Habeeb; Ryan T. 

McDougle; Pamela S. Baskervill; Robert L. Calhoun; Carlos L. 

Hopkins; E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; Christopher R. 

Nolen; Timothy Oksman; Charles S. Sharp; Mark J. Vucci. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 

Karen Perrine, Assistant Registrar; Anne Bloomsburg, Regulations 
Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Operations 

Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

July 2016 through July 2017 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

32:24 July 6, 2016 July 25, 2016 

32:25 July 20, 2016 August 8, 2016 

32:26 August 3, 2016 August 22, 2016 

33:1 August 17, 2016 September 5, 2016 

33:2 August 31, 2016 September 19, 2016 

33:3 September 14, 2016 October 3, 2016 

33:4 September 28, 2016 October 17, 2016 

33:5 October 12, 2016 October 31, 2016 

33:6 October 26, 2016 November 14, 2016 

33:7 November 9, 2016 November 28, 2016 

33:8 November 22, 2016 (Tuesday) December 12, 2016 

33:9 December 7, 2016 December 26, 2016 

33:10 December 19, 2016 (Monday) January 9, 2017 

33:11 January 4, 2017 January 23, 2017 

33:12 January 18, 2017 February 6, 2017 

33:13 February 1, 2017 February 20, 2017 

33:14 February 15, 2017 March 6, 2017 

33:15 March 1, 2017 March 20, 2017 

33:16 March 15, 2017 April 3, 2017 

33:17 March 29, 2017 April 17, 2017 

33:18 April 12, 2017 May 1, 2017 

33:19 April 26, 2017 May 15, 2017 

33:20 May 10, 2017 May 29, 2017 

33:21 May 24, 2017 June 12, 2017 

33:22 June 7, 2017 June 26, 2017 

33:23 June 21, 2017 July 10, 2017 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 3. ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL BOARD 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-30. Tied-House. 

Statutory Authority: § 4.1-111 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Terri Bierne, Esq. - Eastern Counsel to 

the Wine Institute. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: A request has been submitted 

by the Wine Institute requesting that 3VAC5-30 be amended 

to prohibit wine wholesale licensees from charging an 

additional fee or upcharge on split or mixed cases of wine 

sold to retail licensees. 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: The Virginia Alcoholic 

Beverage Control Board held a public comment period 

concerning the petition that requested an amendment to the 

existing pricing regulation. The petitioner requested that the 

existing regulation be amended to prohibit wine wholesalers 

from charging an additional fee to retailers when less than a 

full case of wine was purchased. The board took public 

comment at a meeting on June 22, 2016. At this meeting, the 

board heard from the petitioner and declined to proceed with 

the requested regulatory action. 

Agency Contact: Shawn Walker, Director of Law 

Enforcement, Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 

2901 Hermitage Road, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone 

(804) 213-4569, or email shawn.walker@abc.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-23; Filed July 6, 2016, 10:19 a.m. 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-30. Tied-House. 

Statutory Authority: § 4.1-111 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Walter Marston, Esq. representing the 

Virginia Wine Wholesalers Association. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: A request has been received 

from the Virginia Wine Wholesalers Association requesting 

that 3VAC5-30 be amended to permit wine wholesalers to 

differentiate between on-premises and off-premises licensees 

in prices charged. 

Agency Decision: Request granted. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: The Virginia Alcoholic 

Beverage Control Board held a public comment period 

concerning the petition that requested an amendment to the 

existing pricing regulation. The petitioner requested that the 

existing regulation be amended to allow for differences in 

pricing between off-premises and on-premises retailers. The 

board took public comment on June 22, 2016. At this 

meeting, the board considered all previously submitted 

written comments, all of which fully supported the proposal. 

The board decided to proceed with the requested regulatory 

action. 

Agency Contact: Shawn Walker, Director of Law 

Enforcement, Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 

2901 Hermitage Road, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone 

(804) 213-4569, or email shawn.walker@abc.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-24; Filed July 6, 2016, 10:17 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 

OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Medicine, Osteopathic Medicine, Podiatry, 

and Chiropractic. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Mitch Gray. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: The petition for rulemaking 

requests an amendment to requirements for standards for 

professional conduct in the practice of medicine. Specifically, 

it requests the addition of a requirement for physicians to 

wear gloves when conducting a genital examination to protect 

both the patient against the perception of sexual conduct and 

the physician against the transmission of sexually-transmitted 

disease. 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: At its June 16, 2016, 

meeting, the Board of Medicine decided not to initiate 

rulemaking. While members agreed that wearing of gloves is 

the standard of care for most patients, it did not agree that this 

commonplace practice needed to be singled out for regulatory 

action. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, 9960 Mayland Drive, Richmond, VA 23233, 

telephone (804) 367-4688, FAX (804) 527-4434, or email 

elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-25; Filed June 24, 2016, 4:53 p.m. 



NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 
 

Volume 32, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 25, 2016 

3114 

NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS 

Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board for Contractors has 

WITHDRAWN the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action for 

18VAC50-30, Individual License and Certification 

Regulations, which was published in 32:7 VA.R. 1135-1136 

November 30, 2015. The board plans to initiate a new 

regulatory action at a later date. 

Agency Contact: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, Board for 

Contractors, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (866) 430-1033, or 

email contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4354; Filed June 27, 2016, 12:49 p.m.  

Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board for Contractors has 

WITHDRAWN the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action for 

18VAC50-30, Individual License and Certification 

Regulations, which was published in 32:11 VA.R. 1867 

January 25, 2016. The board plans to initiate a new regulatory 

action at a later date. 

Agency Contact: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, Board for 

Contractors, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (866) 430-1033, or 

email contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4584; Filed June 27, 2016, 12:47 p.m.  

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=5297
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=5297
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=5476
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=5476
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 2VAC5-110. Rules and Regulations 

Pertaining to a Pound or Enclosure to Be Maintained by 

Each County or City (repealing 2VAC5-110-10 through 

2VAC5-110-110). 

2VAC5-111. Public and Private Animal Shelters (adding 

2VAC5-111-10 through 2VAC5-111-40).  

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-6501 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 24, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Dr. Carolynn Bissett, Program Manager, 

Office of Animal Care and Emergency Response, Department 

of Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-2483, FAX (804) 

371-2380, TTY (800) 828-1120, or email 

carolynn.bissett@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This action repeals the existing regulation that governs 

public animal shelters and replaces it with a regulation 

that governs both public and private animal shelters. The 

substantive changes in the replacement regulation (i) 

require animal shelters to provide each animal with an 

appropriate resting platform, bedding, or perch; (ii) 

require each shelter to have protocols that have been 

approved by a veterinarian for the medical treatment of 

animals, the control of infectious disease, and the 

management and care of neonatal and medically 

compromised animals; and (iii) require private animal 

shelters to have special housing for strays that are subject 

to a holding period. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

CHAPTER 111 

PUBLIC AND PRIVATE ANIMAL SHELTERS 

2VAC5-111-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Animal" means any nonaquatic companion animal that is in 

the custody of a public or private animal shelter and that is 

confined in or on the premises of the animal shelter.  

"Enclosure" means a structure used to house or restrict 

animals from running at large such as a room, pen, cage, run, 

compartment, hutch, terrarium, or otherwise confined habitat.  

"Facility" means a public animal shelter or private animal 

shelter as defined in § 3.2-6500 of the Code of Virginia. 

2VAC5-111-20. General provisions. 

A. Each facility shall be kept in a clean, dry, and sanitary 

condition and shall provide enclosures that can safely house 

and allow for adequate separation of animals of different 

species, sexes, ages, and temperaments. Animals shall be 

maintained in a manner that protects them against theft, 

injury, escape, and exposure to harmful substances. 

B. Each facility shall ensure that all enclosures provide 

adequate shelter that is properly ventilated and that can be 

maintained at a comfortable temperature for the animals 

confined therein. An enclosure shall not be cleaned when 

occupied by an animal unless the animal can be further 

confined in a portion of the enclosure that precludes exposure 

to any cleaning agent including water and shall be thoroughly 

dry before the enclosure is returned to use. A disinfectant or 

germicidal agent shall be used when cleaning an enclosure. 

C. Each facility shall reasonably endeavor to ensure that 

drinking water is available to each animal at all times unless 

otherwise ordered by a licensed veterinarian. Drinking water 

receptacles or bowls shall be secured to the enclosure in a 

fixed position or otherwise be of a design that cannot be 

tipped over by an animal and shall be maintained in sanitary 

condition. 

D. Each facility shall ensure that animals are adequately and 

appropriately fed according to their species and age and that 

feed is stored in a manner that prevents spoilage, infestation, 

and contamination. All feed delivery utensils and receptacles 

shall be properly cleaned between uses. 

E. Each facility shall ensure that each animal is provided 

access to a resting platform, bedding, or perch as appropriate 

to its species, age, and condition. All enclosures shall have 

solid floors.  

2VAC5-111-30. Provision of veterinary treatment. 

A. Each facility shall engage a licensed veterinarian to 

develop or ratify a protocol for determining if an ill, injured, 

or otherwise compromised animal requires treatment by a 

licensed veterinarian. Each facility shall adhere to this 

protocol and provide veterinary treatment when needed. 
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B. Each facility shall engage a licensed veterinarian to 

develop or ratify a protocol for the control of infectious and 

contagious disease and shall adhere to such protocol. Each 

facility shall provide a marked isolation room for the 

confinement of animals suffering from a contagious or 

infectious disease. 

C. Each facility shall engage a licensed veterinarian to 

develop or ratify a protocol for the management of neonatal 

and medically compromised animals and shall adhere to such 

protocol. Enclosures shall be maintained that can properly 

and safely house such animals. 

2VAC5-111-40. Housing of animals subject to a holding 

period. 

A. An enclosure or portion thereof used to house an animal 

subject to a holding period shall be entirely constructed of 

materials that are durable, nonporous, impervious to moisture, 

and able to be thoroughly cleaned and disinfected.  

B. An enclosure or portion thereof used to house an animal 

subject to a holding period that is part of the structural 

integrity of the building shall have a surface material that is 

durable, nonporous, impervious to moisture, and able to be 

thoroughly cleaned and disinfected. 

C. All structures contained within an enclosure or portion 

thereof shall be constructed of materials that are durable, 

nonporous, impervious to moisture, and able to be thoroughly 

cleaned and disinfected unless discarded or laundered daily. 

D. An enclosure and all structures therein used to house an 

animal subject to a holding period shall be thoroughly 

cleaned and disinfected before use by a different animal.   

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (2VAC5-111) 

Animal Facility Inspection Report, VDACS AC-10 (rev. 

7/2015) 

[ Animal Facility Inspection Form - Shelter, VDACS AC-

10-A (rev. 11/2014) 

Animal Facility Inspection Form - Shelter, VDACS AC-10-

A (eff. 3/2016) ] 

Animal Facility Inspection Form – Animal Care, VDACS 

AC-10-B (rev. 7/2015) 

Animal Facility Inspection Form – Operations, VDACS AC-

10-C (rev. 7/2015) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4009; Filed June 28, 2016, 10:27 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

BOARD OF GAME AND INLAND FISHERIES 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-20. Definitions and 

Miscellaneous: In General (amending 4VAC15-20-130).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information:  

August 18, 2016 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and Inland 

Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 

23228 

Public Comment Deadline: August 6, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-

8341, or email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) update the date reference to 

the federal list of endangered and threatened wildlife 

species and (ii) remove the Big Sandy crayfish from the 

Virginia List of Endangered and Threatened Species to 

reflect its status in Virginia more accurately. 

4VAC15-20-130. Endangered and threatened species; 

adoption of federal list; additional species enumerated.  

A. The board hereby adopts the Federal Endangered and 

Threatened Species List, Endangered Species Act of 

December 28, 1973 (16 USC §§ 1531-1543), as amended as 

of December 23, 2015 June 7, 2016, and declares all species 

listed thereon to be endangered or threatened species in the 

Commonwealth. Pursuant to subdivision 12 of § 29.1-103 of 

the Code of Virginia, the director of the department is hereby 

delegated authority to propose adoption of modifications and 

amendments to the Federal Endangered and Threatened 

Species List in accordance with the procedures of §§ 29.1-

501 and 29.1-502 of the Code of Virginia.  

B. In addition to the provisions of subsection A of this 

section, the following species are declared endangered or 

threatened in this Commonwealth, and are afforded the 

protection provided by Article 6 (§ 29.1-563 et seq.) of 

Chapter 5 of Title 29.1 of the Code of Virginia:  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f9465004407~7&typ=40&actno=004407&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f9465004407~7&typ=40&actno=004407&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=855c8004009~5&typ=40&actno=004009&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=855c8004009~5&typ=40&actno=004009&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=23661004407~7&typ=40&actno=004407&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=23661004407~7&typ=40&actno=004407&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=49a05004407~7&typ=40&actno=004407&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=49a05004407~7&typ=40&actno=004407&mime=application/pdf
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1. Fish: 

Endangered 

  Dace, Tennessee Phoxinus tennesseensis 

  Darter, sharphead Etheostoma acuticeps 

  Darter, variegate Etheostoma variatum 

  Sunfish, 

blackbanded  

Enneacanthus chaetodon 

Threatened: 

  Darter, Carolina Etheostoma collis 

  Darter, golden Etheostoma denoncourti 

  Darter, greenfin  Etheostoma 

chlorobranchium 

  Darter, sickle Percina willliamsi 

  Darter, western 

sand 

Ammocrypta clara 

  Madtom, orangefin Noturus gilberti 

  Paddlefish Polyodon spathula 

  Shiner, emerald Notropis atherinoides 

  Shiner, steelcolor Cyprinella whipplei 

  Shiner, 

whitemouth 

Notropis alborus 

2. Amphibians: 

Endangered: 

  Salamander, 

eastern tiger 

Ambystoma tigrinum  

Threatened: 

  Salamander, 

Mabee's 

Ambystoma mabeei 

  Treefrog, barking Hyla gratiosa 

3. Reptiles: 

Endangered: 

  Rattlesnake, 

canebrake (Coastal 

Plain population of 

timber rattlesnake) 

Crotalus horridus 

  Turtle, bog Glyptemys muhlenbergii 

  Turtle, eastern 

chicken 

Deirochelys reticularia 

reticularia 

Threatened: 

  Lizard, eastern 

glass 

Ophisaurus ventralis 

  Turtle, wood Glyptemys insculpta 

4. Birds: 

Endangered: 

  Plover, Wilson's Charadrius wilsonia 

 Rail, black Laterallus jamaicensis 

  Wren, Bewick's Thryomanes bewickii 

bewickii 

Threatened: 

  Falcon, peregrine Falco peregrinus 

  Shrike, loggerhead Lanius ludovicianus 

  Sparrow, 

Bachman's 

Aimophila aestivalis 

  Sparrow, 

Henslow's  

Ammodramus henslowii 

  Tern, gull-billed  Sterna nilotica 

5. Mammals: 

Endangered: 

  Bat, Rafinesque's 

eastern big-eared  

Corynorhinus rafinesquii 

macrotis 

  Bat, little brown Myotis lucifugus 

  Bat, tri-colored Perimyotis subflavus 

  Hare, snowshoe Lepus americanus 

  Shrew, American 

water 

Sorex palustris 

  Vole, rock Microtus chrotorrhinus 

6. Mollusks: 

Endangered: 

  Coil, rubble Helicodiscus lirellus 

  Coil, shaggy Helicodiscus diadema 

  Deertoe Truncilla truncata 

  Elephantear Elliptio crassidens 

  Elimia, spider Elimia arachnoidea 

  Floater, brook  Alasmidonta varicosa 
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  Ghostsnail, 

thankless 

Holsingeria unthanksensis  

  Heelsplitter, 

Tennessee 

Lasmigona holstonia 

  Lilliput, purple Toxolasma lividus 

  Mussel, 

slippershell  

Alasmidonta viridis 

  Pigtoe, Ohio  Pleurobema cordatum 

  Pigtoe, pyramid Pleurobema rubrum 

  Springsnail, 

Appalachian 

Fontigens bottimeri 

  Springsnail (no 

common name) 

Fontigens morrisoni 

  Supercoil, spirit  Paravitrea hera 

Threatened: 

  Floater, green Lasmigona subviridis 

  Papershell, fragile Leptodea fragilis 

  Pigtoe, Atlantic  Fusconaiamasoni 

  Pimpleback  Quadrula pustulosa 

pustulosa 

  Pistolgrip Tritogonia verrucosa 

  Riversnail, spiny  Iofluvialis 

  Sandshell, black Ligumia recta 

  Supercoil, brown Paravitrea septadens 

7. Arthropods: 

Threatened: 

  Amphipod, Madison 

Cave 

Stygobromus stegerorum 

  Pseudotremia, Ellett 

Valley 

Pseudotremia cavernarum 

  Xystodesmid, Laurel 

Creek 

Sigmoria whiteheadi 

8. Crustaceans: 

Endangered: 

  Crayfish, Big 

Sandy 

Cambarus veteranus 

C. It shall be unlawful to take, transport, process, sell, or 

offer for sale within the Commonwealth any threatened or 

endangered species of fish or wildlife except as authorized by 

law. 

D. The incidental take of certain species may occur in certain circumstances and with the implementation of certain 

conservation practices as described in this subsection: 

Species Location 
Allowable 

Circumstances 
Required Conservation Measures 

Expected Incidental 

Take 

Little brown bat 

Tri-colored bat 

Statewide Human health 

risk – need for 

removal of 

individual animals 

from human-

habited structures.  

Between May 15 and August 31, no 

exclusion of bats from maternity 

colonies, except for human health 

concerns. 

DGIF-permitted nuisance wildlife 

control operator with DGIF-recognized 

certification in techniques associated 

with removal of bats. 

Use of exclusion devices that allow 

individual animals to escape. 

Manual collection of individual animals 

incapable of sustaining themselves; 

transport to a willing and appropriately 

permitted wildlife rehabilitator. 

Little to no direct 

lethal taking 

expected. 

Public safety or 

property damage 

risk – need for tree 

removal, 

application of 

prescribed fire, or 

Hibernacula: no tree removal, use of 

prescribed fire, or other land 

management action within a 250-foot 

radius buffer area from December 1 

through April 30. Between September 1 

and November 30, increase the buffer 

Little to no direct 

lethal taking 

expected. 
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other land 

management 

actions affecting 

known roosts; 

removal of 

animals from 

known roosts. 

to a 1/4-mile radius with the following 

conditions: for timber harvests greater 

than 20 acres, retain snags and wolf 

trees (if not presenting public safety or 

property risk) and small tree groups up 

to 15 trees of 3-inch diameter at breast 

height (dbh) or greater, one tree group 

per 20 acres. Otherwise, document the 

need (public safety, property damage 

risk) for tree removal during this period 

and verify that no known roost trees 

exist in the buffer area. Tree removal 

and prescribed fire are permitted 

outside of these dates. 

Known roost trees: no tree removal, use 

of prescribed fire, or other land 

management action within a 150-foot 

radius buffer area from June 1 through 

July 31, if possible. Otherwise, 

document public safety or property 

damage risk. 

DGIF-permitted nuisance wildlife 

control operator with DGIF-recognized 

certification in techniques associated 

with removal of bats. 

Use of exclusion devices that allow 

individual animals to escape. 

Manual collection of individual animals 

incapable of sustaining themselves; 

transport to a willing and appropriately 

permitted wildlife rehabilitator. 

Facility or project 

operations when 

conducted in 

accordance with a 

DGIF-approved 

plan associated 

with these species.  

Development and implementation of a 

plan that avoids, minimizes, and 

mitigates incidental take associated 

with an otherwise lawful activity. 

The plan shall include, but not be 

limited to, documenting the specific 

condition or action, the specific 

mitigation to be taken, and the expected 

incidental take. 

Little to no direct 

lethal taking 

expected.  

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(4VAC15-20) 

List of Native and Naturalized Fauna of Virginia, March 

2012, Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries 

Federal Endangered and Threatened Species List, amended 

as of December 23, 2015, U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service 

Federal Endangered and Threatened Species List, amended 

as of June 7, 2016, U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4802; Filed July 6, 2016, 7:41 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-30. Definitions and 

Miscellaneous: Importation, Possession, Sale, Etc., of 

Animals (amending 4VAC15-30-40).  

Statutory Authority: § 29.1-501 of the Code of Virginia. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3a153003325~1&typ=40&actno=003325&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3a153003325~1&typ=40&actno=003325&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e9ea3004802~1&typ=40&actno=004802&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e9ea3004802~1&typ=40&actno=004802&mime=application/pdf
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Public Hearing Information:  

August 18, 2016 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and Inland 

Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 

23228 

Public Comment Deadline: August 6, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-

8341, or email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments allow anglers to legally harvest 

grass carp from public waters of the Commonwealth, 

except from department-owned or department-controlled 

lakes, provided that anglers ensure that harvested grass 

carp are dead. 

4VAC15-30-40. Importation requirements, possession and 

sale of nonnative (exotic) animals.  

EDITOR'S NOTE: Subsections A through G of 4VAC15-30 

are not amended; therefore, the text of those subsections is 

not set out. 

H. Exception for grass carp. Anglers may legally harvest 

grass carp of the family Cyprinidae from public waters of the 

Commonwealth, except from department-owned or 

department-controlled lakes, provided that anglers ensure that 

harvested grass carp are dead.  

I. All other nonnative (exotic) animals. All other nonnative 

(exotic) animals not listed in subsection A of this section may 

be possessed, purchased, and sold; provided, that such 

animals shall be subject to all applicable local, state, and 

federal laws and regulations, including those that apply to 

threatened/endangered species, and further provided, that 

such animals shall not be liberated within the 

Commonwealth.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4796; Filed July 6, 2016, 1:04 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-260. Game: Waterfowl and 

Waterfowl Blinds (adding 4VAC15-260-75).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information:  

August 18, 2016 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and Inland 

Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 

23228 

Public Comment Deadline: August 6, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-

8341, or email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) prohibit the licensing of 

nonriparian stationary waterfowl blinds adjacent to the 

Ware Creek Wildlife Management Area in New Kent 

County and (ii) enable the department to designate the 

locations where and the times when waterfowl hunting will 

be allowed within 500 yards of the wildlife management 

area. 

4VAC15-260-75. Blinds adjacent to the Ware Creek 

Wildlife Management Area. 

Except for blinds built or maintained by the department, no 

stationary waterfowl blinds shall be licensed on the public 

waters of Philbates and Ware Creeks, or on the York River 

within 1000 yards of the Ware Creek Wildlife Management 

Area, in New Kent County. Waterfowl hunting within 500 

yards of the wildlife management area property will be 

permitted only at locations and during times designated by 

the department. However, this section shall not abridge the 

privileges prescribed for landowners and their lessees and 

permittees in §§ 29.1-344 and 29.1-347 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4803; Filed July 6, 2016, 7:54 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-320. Fish: Fishing Generally 

(amending 4VAC15-320-25, 4VAC15-320-120).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information:  

August 18, 2016 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and Inland 

Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 

23228 

Public Comment Deadline: August 6, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-

8341, or email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) correctly identify the 

railroad bridge over Big Walker Creek associated with the 

New River smallmouth bass protected slot limit; (ii) create 

a seasonal 40-inch to 48-inch protected slot limit on 

muskellunge on the New River from Claytor Dam 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 25, 2016 

3121 

downstream to the Virginia/West Virginia state line; (iii) 

reduce the geographic coverage associated with the 

limitation on harvesting large animals in the daily creel 

limit for blue catfish to the James River below the fall line 

and its tidal tributaries, the York River and its tributaries 

including the Mattaponi River and Pamunkey River, and 

Kerr Reservoir; (iv) implement a five-fish per day creel 

limit on longnose gar and bowfin for anglers using hook 

and line or bowfishing tackle; (v) implement a statewide 

recreational minimum size limit and increase the daily 

creel limit for American eels, while providing an exception 

to the daily creel limit to those individuals holding permits 

for the harvest of eels for sale from Back Bay or North 

Landing River, or both, in the City of Virginia Beach; and 

(vi) remove the requirement of a special daily permit for 

fishing on a portion of Big Tumbling Creek on the Clinch 

Mountain Wildlife Management Area (Smyth County) 

where a seasonal catch and release area will be 

implemented. 

4VAC15-320-25. Creel and length limits.  

The creel limits (including live possession) and the length limits for the various species of fish shall be as follows, unless 

otherwise excepted by posted rules at department-owned or department-controlled waters (see 4VAC15-320-100 D).  

Type of fish Subtype or location 
Creel and length 

limits 

Geographic 

exceptions 

Creel or length 

limits for exceptions 

largemouth bass, smallmouth 

bass, spotted bass 

  5 per day in the 

aggregate 

(combined);  

No statewide length 

limits 

Lakes 

Briery Creek Lake No bass 16 to 24 

inches, only 1 per day 

longer than 24 inches 

Buggs Island (Kerr) Only 2 of 5 bass less 

than 14 inches 

Claytor Lake No bass less than 12 

inches 

Flannagan Reservoir No bass less than 12 

inches 

Lake Gaston Only 2 of 5 bass less 

than 14 inches 

Leesville Reservoir Only 2 of 5 bass less 

than 14 inches 

Lake Moomaw No bass less than 12 

inches 

Philpott Reservoir No bass less than 12 

inches 

Quantico Marine 

Base waters 

No bass 12 to 15 

inches 

Smith Mt. Lake and 

its tributaries below 

Niagara Dam 

Only 2 of 5 bass less 

than 14 inches 

Rivers 

Clinch River – within 

the boundaries of 

Scott, Wise, Russell, 

or Tazewell counties 

No bass less than 20 

inches, only 1 bass 

per day longer than 

20 inches 
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Dan River and 

tributaries 

downstream from the 

Union Street Dam, 

Danville 

Only 2 of 5 bass less 

than 14 inches 

James River – 

Confluence of the 

Jackson and 

Cowpasture rivers 

(Botetourt County) 

downstream to the 

14th Street Bridge in 

Richmond 

No bass 14 to 22 

inches, only 1 per day 

longer than 22 inches 

New River – Fields 

Dam (Grayson 

County) downstream 

to the VA - WV state 

line and its tributaries 

Little River 

downstream from 

Little River Dam in 

Montgomery County, 

Big Walker Creek 

from the Norfolk and 

Western Southern 

Railroad Bridge 

downstream to the 

New River, and Wolf 

Creek from the 

Narrows dam 

downstream to the 

New River in Giles 

County (This does 

not include Claytor 

Lake, which is 

delineated as: The 

upper end of the 

island at Allisonia 

downstream to the 

dam) 

No bass 14 to 22 

inches, only 1 per day 

longer than 22 inches 

North Fork Holston 

River - Rt. 91 bridge 

upstream of Saltville, 

VA downstream to 

the VA - TN state 

line 

No bass less than 20 

inches, only 1 per day 

longer than 20 inches 
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North Fork 

Shenandoah River – 

Rt. 42 bridge, 

Rockingham Co. 

downstream to the 

confluence with S. 

Fork Shenandoah at 

Front Royal 

No bass 11 to 14 

inches 

Potomac River - 

Virginia tidal 

tributaries above Rt. 

301 bridge 

No bass less than 15 

inches from March 1 

through June 15 

Roanoke (Staunton) 

River - and its 

tributaries below 

Difficult Creek, 

Charlotte Co. 

Only 2 of 5 bass less 

than 14 inches 

Shenandoah River –    

Confluence of South 

Fork and North Fork 

rivers, Front Royal, 

downstream, to the 

Warren Dam, near 

Front Royal 

No bass 11 to 14 

inches 

Base of Warren Dam, 

near Front Royal 

downstream to Rt. 

17/50 bridge 

No bass 14 to 20 

inches, only 1 per day 

longer than 20 inches 

Rt. 17/50 bridge 

downstream to VA - 

WV state line 

No bass 11 to 14 

inches 

South Fork 

Shenandoah River - 

  

Confluence of North 

and South rivers, 

below Port Republic, 

downstream to 

Shenandoah Dam, 

near Town of 

Shenandoah 

No bass 11 to 14 

inches 

Base of Shenandoah 

Dam, near Town of 

Shenandoah, 

downstream to Luray 

Dam, near Luray  

No bass 14 to 20 

inches, only 1 per day 

longer than 20 inches 
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Base of Luray Dam, 

near Luray, 

downstream to the 

confluence with 

North Fork of 

Shenandoah, Front 

Royal 

No bass 11 to 14 

inches 

Staunton River -   

Leesville Dam 

(Campbell County) 

downstream to the 

mouth of Difficult 

Creek, Charlotte 

County 

No smallmouth bass 

less than 20 inches, 

only 1 per day longer 

than 20 inches 

striped bass landlocked striped 

bass and landlocked 

striped bass x white 

bass hybrids 

4 per day in the 

aggregate;  

No fish less than 20 

inches 

Buggs Island (Kerr) 

reservoir including 

the Staunton River to 

Leesville Dam and 

the Dan River to 

Union Street Dam 

(Danville) 

October 1 - May 31: 

2 per day in the 

aggregate;  

No striped bass or 

hybrid striped bass 

less than 24 inches; 

June 1 - September 

30: 4 per day in the 

aggregate;  

No length limit 

Smith Mountain Lake 

and its tributaries, 

including the 

Roanoke River 

upstream to Niagara 

Dam 

2 per day in the 

aggregate;  

November 1 - May 

31: No striped bass 

30 to 40 inches; 

June 1 - October 31: 

No length limit 

Lake Gaston 4 per day in the 

aggregate 

October 1 - May 31: 

No striped bass or 

hybrid striped bass 

less than 20 inches 

June 1 - September 

30: No length limit 
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anadromous (coastal) 

striped bass above the 

fall line in all coastal 

rivers of the 

Chesapeake Bay 

Creel and length 

limits shall be set by 

the Virginia Marine 

Resources 

Commission for 

recreational fishing 

in tidal waters 

    

anadromous (coastal) 

in the Meherrin, 

Nottoway, Blackwater 

(Chowan Drainage), 

North Landing and 

Northwest Rivers and 

their tributaries plus 

Back Bay 

2 per day;  

No striped bass less 

than 18 inches 

    

white bass   5 per day;  

No statewide length 

limits 

    

walleye   5 per day in the 

aggregate;  

No walleye or 

saugeye less than 18 

inches 

New River upstream 

of Buck Dam in 

Carroll County 

No walleye less than 

20 inches 

    

Claytor Lake and the 

New River upstream 

of Claytor Lake Dam 

to Buck Dam in 

Carroll County 

February 1 - May 31:  

2 walleye per day; no 

walleye 19 to 28 

inches; 

June 1 - January 31:  

5 walleye per day; no 

walleye less than 20 

inches 

sauger   2 per day;  

No statewide length 

limits 

    

yellow perch  No statewide daily 

limit; 

No statewide length 

limits 

Lake Moomaw 10 per day 
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chain pickerel   5 per day;  

No statewide length 

limits 

Gaston and Buggs 

Island (Kerr) 

reservoirs 

No daily limit 

northern pike   2 per day;  

No pike less than 20 

inches 

    

muskellunge   2 per day;  

No muskellunge less 

than 30 inches 

New River - Fields 

Dam (Grayson 

County) downstream 

to the VA - WV state 

line Claytor Dam, 

including Claytor 

Lake 

  

New River - Claytor 

Dam downstream to 

the VA - WV state 

line 

1 per day  

No muskellunge less 

than 42 inches 

  

  

  

  

1 per day  

June 1 - last day of 

February: No 

muskellunge less than 

42 inches; 

March 1 - May 31: 

No muskellunge less 

than 48 inches 

bluegill (bream) and other 

sunfish excluding crappie, 

rock bass (redeye) and 

Roanoke bass 

  50 per day in the 

aggregate;  

No statewide length 

limits 

Gaston and Buggs 

Island (Kerr) 

reservoirs and that 

portion of the New 

River from the VA - 

NC state line 

downstream to the 

confluence of the 

New and Little 

Rivers in Grayson 

County 

No daily limit 

crappie (black or white)   25 per day in the 

aggregate;  

No statewide length 

limits 

Gaston and Buggs 

Island (Kerr) 

reservoirs and that 

portion of the New 

River from the VA - 

NC state line 

downstream to the 

confluence of the 

New and Little 

Rivers in Grayson 

County 

No daily limit 

Flannagan and South 

Holston reservoirs 

No crappie less than 

10 inches 
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rock bass (redeye)   25 per day;  

No statewide length 

limits 

Gaston and Buggs 

Island (Kerr) 

reservoirs and that 

portion of the New 

River from the VA - 

NC state line 

downstream to the 

confluence of the 

New and Little 

Rivers in Grayson 

County. 

No daily limit 

Nottoway and 

Meherrin rivers and 

their tributaries 

5 per day in the 

aggregate with 

Roanoke bass;  

No rock bass less 

than 8 inches  

Roanoke bass   No statewide daily 

limit;  

No statewide length 

limits 

Nottoway and 

Meherrin rivers and 

their tributaries 

5 per day in the 

aggregate with rock 

bass;  

No Roanoke bass less 

than 8 inches 

trout See 4VAC15-330. Fish: Trout Fishing. 

catfish channel, white, and 

flathead catfish 

20 per day;  

No length limits 

All rivers below the 

fall line 

No daily limit 

blue catfish 20 per day, only 1 

blue catfish per day 

longer than 32 

inches;  

No statewide length 

limits 

Kerr Reservoir 20 per day, except 

only 1 blue catfish 

per day longer than 

32 inches 

James River and its 

tributaries below the 

fall line and York 

River and its 

tributaries (including 

the Pamunkey River 

and Mattaponi River) 

below the fall line 

No daily limit, except 

only 1 blue catfish 

per day longer than 

32 inches 

All rivers below the 

fall line other than 

the James River and 

its tributaries and the 

York River and its 

tributaries 

No daily limit, except 

only 1 blue catfish 

per day longer than 

32 inches 

yellow, brown, and 

black bullheads 

No daily limit;  

No length limits 
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American shad and hickory 

shad 

James River above the 

fall line (14th Street 

Bridge), the Meherrin 

River above Emporia 

Dam, the 

Chickahominy River 

above Walkers Dam, 

the Appomattox River 

above Harvell Dam, 

the Pamunkey River 

and the Mattaponi 

River above the Rt. 

360 bridge, and the 

Rappahannock River 

above the Rt. 1 bridge, 

and Virginia waters of 

Lake Gaston and 

Buggs Island (Kerr) 

Reservoir and 

tributaries to include 

the Dan and Staunton 

rivers 

No possession (catch 

and release only) 

    

Above and below the 

fall line in all coastal 

rivers of the 

Chesapeake Bay 

Creel and length 

limits shall be the 

same as those set by 

the Virginia Marine 

Resources 

Commission for 

these species in tidal 

rivers 

    

Meherrin River below 

Emporia Dam 

Nottoway River, 

Blackwater River 

(Chowan Drainage), 

North Landing and 

Northwest rivers, and 

their tributaries plus 

Back Bay 

10 per day in the 

aggregate 

No length limits 

    

anadromous (coastal) alewife 

and blueback herring 

Above and below the 

fall line in all coastal 

rivers of the 

Chesapeake Bay 

Creel and length 

limits shall be the 

same as those set by 

the Virginia Marine 

Resources 

Commission for 

these species in tidal 

rivers 
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Meherrin River, 

Nottoway River, 

Blackwater River 

(Chowan Drainage), 

North Landing and 

Northwest rivers, and 

their tributaries plus 

Back Bay 

No possession      

red drum Back Bay and 

tributaries including 

Lake Tecumseh and 

the North Landing 

River and its 

tributaries 

1 per day;  

No drum less than 18 

inches or greater than 

27 inches 

  

spotted sea trout (speckled 

trout) 

Back Bay and 

tributaries including 

Lake Tecumseh and 

the North Landing 

River and its 

tributaries 

4 per day;  

No sea trout less than 

14 inches 

  

grey trout (weakfish) Back Bay and 

tributaries including 

Lake Tecumseh and 

North Landing River 

and its tributaries 

1 per day;  

No grey trout less 

than 12 inches 

  

southern flounder Back Bay and 

tributaries including 

Lake Tecumseh and 

the North Landing 

River and its 

tributaries 

6 per day;  

No flounder less than 

15 inches 

  

northern snakehead  Anglers may possess 

snakeheads taken 

from Virginia waters 

if they immediately 

kill the fish and 

notify the 

headquarters or a 

regional office of the 

department; 

notification may be 

made by telephoning 

(804) 367-2925 

No statewide daily 

limit 

No statewide length 

limits 

    

longnose gar   5 per day; 

No statewide length 

limits 

    



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 25, 2016 

3130 

bowfin   5 per day; 

No statewide length 

limits 

    

American eel   25 per day; 

No eel less than 9 

inches 

Back Bay and North 

Landing River 

No possession limit 

for those individuals 

possessing a permit 

obtained under 

4VAC15-340-80 

other native or naturalized 

nongame fish 

See 4VAC15-360-10. Fish: Aquatic Invertebrates, Amphibians, Reptiles, and Nongame Fish. 

Taking aquatic invertebrates, amphibians, reptiles and nongame fish for private use. 

endangered or threatened 

fish 

See 4VAC15-20-130. Definitions and Miscellaneous: In General. Endangered and threatened 

species; adoption of federal list; additional species enumerated. 

nonnative (exotic) fish See 4VAC15-30-40. Definitions and Miscellaneous: Importation, Possession, Sale, Etc., of 

Animals. Importation requirements, possession and sale of nonnative (exotic) animals. 

4VAC15-320-120. Special daily permit for fishing in 

Clinch Mountain Wildlife Management Area, Douthat 

State Park Lake and, Crooked Creek, and Wilson Creeks 

Creek.  

A. It shall be unlawful to fish in the portion of Big Tumbling 

Creek within the Clinch Mountain Wildlife Management 

Area (except in Little Tumbling Creek and Laurel Bed Lake), 

in Douthat State Park Lake and in Wilson Creek both above 

the lake to the park boundary and downstream to the lower 

USFS boundary, and in the Crooked Creek fee fishing area in 

Carroll County without having first paid to the department for 

such privilege a daily use fee. Such daily use fee shall be in 

addition to all other license fees provided by law. Upon 

payment of the daily use fee the department shall issue a 

special permit that shall be signed and carried by the person 

fishing. 

B. This fee will be required from the first Saturday in April 

through September 30 at for the portion of Big Tumbling 

Creek within the Clinch Mountain Wildlife Management 

Area (except Little Tumbling Creek and Laurel Bed Lake) 

and at Crooked Creek fee fishing area in Carroll County, and 

from the first Saturday in April through June 15 and from 

September 15 through October 31 at Douthat State Park Lake 

and Wilson Creek, except that the director may temporarily 

suspend fee requirements if conditions cause suspension of 

trout stocking. During the remainder of the year, these waters 

Douthat State Park Lake, Wilson Creek, and the Crooked 

Creek fee fishing area in Carroll County will revert to 

designated stocked trout waters and a trout license will be 

required except as provided in 4VAC15-20-190, and the 

portion of Big Tumbling Creek within the Clinch Mountain 

Wildlife Management Area will revert to a seasonal catch and 

release area subject to 4VAC15-330-150. No fishing is 

permitted in these waters for five days preceding the opening 

day.  

C. Upon payment of the daily use fee the department shall 

issue a special permit that shall be signed and carried by the 

person fishing. 

D. Fishing shall begin at 9 a.m. on opening day at all fee 

areas. After opening day, fishing times will be as posted at 

each fee area.  

E. The department may recognize clearly marked "children 

only" fishing areas within any department fee fishing area. 

Within these "children only" areas, children 12 years old or 

younger may fish without the daily use fee if accompanied by 

a fully licensed adult who has purchased a valid daily permit. 

No person older than 12 years of age may fish in these 

children-only areas. Also, children 12 years of age and 

younger can fish without a permit in all three fee fishing areas 

if under the direct supervision of a permitted adult. However, 

the combined daily creel limit for both adult and 

child/children child or children in such a party shall not 

exceed six trout. During the fee fishing season these waters 

will be subject to 4VAC15-330-60, 4VAC15-330-80, and 

4VAC15-330-90, as it relates to designated stocked trout 

waters.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4797; Filed July 6, 2016, 2:41 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-330. Fish: Trout Fishing 

(amending 4VAC15-330-120, 4VAC15-330-130, 4VAC15-

330-150, 4VAC15-330-160; adding 4VAC15-330-210).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 
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Public Hearing Information:  

August 18, 2016 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and Inland 

Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 

23228 

Public Comment Deadline: August 6, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-

8341, or email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) remove requirements of 16-

inch minimum size limits and artificial lures only for 

fishing for trout in a designated section of the South River 

and establish this area for fly fishing only, with a 20-inch 

minimum size for trout; (ii) create a seasonal catch-and-

release section on Big Tumbling Creek (Smyth County) 

open annually to fishing for trout with the use of artificial 

lures only from October 1 until five days prior to the first 

Saturday in April; (iii) create a catch-and-release fishery 

on a portion of South River in the City of Waynesboro, 

open to fishing for trout with the use of artificial lures 

only; (iv) establish delayed harvest trout waters on three 

streams in Lee, Scott, and Wise Counties and remove a 

portion of South River in the City of Waynesboro from the 

delayed harvest trout program; and (v) develop youth-only 

stocked trout waters where only youth 15 years of age and 

younger can fish specific waters from April 1 through June 

15. 

4VAC15-330-120. Special provisions applicable to certain 

portions of Buffalo Creek, Dan River, Pound River, 

Roaring Run, South River, and South Fork Holston 

River.  

A. It shall be lawful year around to fish using only artificial 

lures with single hooks in that portion of Buffalo Creek in 

Rockbridge County from the confluence of Colliers Creek 

upstream 2.9 miles to the confluence of North and South 

Buffalo Creeks, in that portion of South River from the N. 

Oak Lane Bridge in Waynesboro upstream to a sign posted 

1.5 miles above the State Route 632 (Shalom Road) Bridge, 

in that portion of the Dan River in Patrick County from 

Talbott Dam approximately six miles downstream to a sign 

posted just upstream from the confluence of Dan River and 

Townes Reservoir, in that portion of the Pound River from a 

sign posted 0.4 miles below the Flannagan Dam, downstream 

1.2 miles to a sign posted just upstream of the confluence of 

the Pound River and the Russell Fork River, in that portion of 

the South Fork Holston River in Smyth County from a sign 

posted at the upper Jefferson National Forest boundary 

downstream approximately four miles to a sign posted 500 

feet upstream of the concrete dam at Buller Fish Culture 

Station, and in that portion of Roaring Run in Botetourt 

County from a sign posted at the third footbridge above the 

Roaring Run Furnace Day Use Area upstream approximately 

one mile to a sign posted at the Botetourt/Alleghany County 

line. 

B. The daily creel limit in these waters shall be two trout a 

day year around and the size limit shall be 16 inches or more 

in length. All trout caught in these waters under 16 inches in 

length shall be immediately returned to the water unharmed. 

It shall be unlawful for any person to have in his possession 

any bait or any trout under 16 inches in length in these areas.  

4VAC15-330-130. Special provision applicable to certain 

portions of Mossy Creek and South River.  

It shall be lawful year around to fish using only artificial 

flies with single hooks in that portion of Mossy Creek in 

Augusta County upstream from the Augusta/Rockingham 

County line to a sign posted at the confluence of Joseph's 

Spring and in that portion of South River from the North Oak 

Lane Bridge in Waynesboro upstream to a sign posted 1.5 

miles above the State Route 632 (Shalom Road) Bridge. The 

daily creel limit in these waters shall be one trout a day year 

around and the size limit shall be 20 inches or more in length. 

All trout caught in these waters under 20 inches in length 

shall be immediately returned to the water unharmed. It shall 

be unlawful for any person to have in his possession any bait 

or any trout under 20 inches in length in this area.  

4VAC15-330-150. Special provision applicable to Stewarts 

Creek Trout Management Area; certain portions of the 

Dan, Rapidan, South Fork Holston and Staunton rivers, 

the Brumley Creek, East Fork of Chestnut Creek, Little 

Stony Creek, Little Tumbling Creek, Big Tumbling 

Creek, North Creek, Roaring Fork, Spring Run, Stony 

Creek, Venrick Run, South River, and their tributaries. 

It shall be lawful year around to fish for trout using only 

artificial lures with single hooks within:  

1. The Stewarts Creek Trout Management Area in Carroll 

County.  

2. The Rapidan and Staunton rivers and their tributaries 

upstream from a sign at the Lower Shenandoah National 

Park boundary in Madison County.  

3. The Dan River and its tributaries between the Townes 

Dam and the Pinnacles Hydroelectric Project powerhouse 

in Patrick County.  

4. The East Fork of Chestnut Creek (Farmer's (Farmers 

Creek) and its tributaries upstream from the Blue Ridge 

Parkway in Grayson and Carroll Counties.  

5. Roaring Fork and its tributaries upstream from the 

southwest boundary of Beartown Wilderness Area in 

Tazewell County.  

6. That section of the South Fork Holston River and its 

tributaries from the concrete dam at Buller Fish Culture 

Station downstream to the lower boundary of the Buller 

Fish Culture Station in Smyth County.  
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7. North Creek and its tributaries upstream from a sign at 

the George Washington National Forest North Creek 

Campground in Botetourt County.  

8. Spring Run from it confluence with Cowpasture River 

upstream to a posted sign at the discharge for Coursey 

Springs Hatchery in Bath County.  

9. Venrick Run and its tributaries within the Big Survey 

Wildlife Management Area and Town of Wytheville 

property in Wythe County.  

10. Brumley Creek and its tributaries from the Hidden 

Valley Wildlife Management Area boundary upstream to 

the Hidden Valley Lake Dam in Washington County.  

11. Stony Creek (Mountain Fork) and its tributaries within 

the Jefferson National Forest in Wise and Scott Counties 

from the outlet of High Knob Lake downstream to the 

confluence of Chimney Rock Fork and Stony Creek.  

12. Little Stony Creek and its tributaries within the 

Jefferson National Forest in Scott County from the Falls of 

Little Stony Creek downstream to a posted sign at the 

Hanging Rock Recreation Area.  

13. Little Tumbling Creek and its tributaries within the 

Clinch Mountain Wildlife Management Area in Smyth and 

Tazewell Counties downstream to the concrete bridge.  

14. Big Tumbling Creek and its tributaries within the 

Clinch Mountain Wildlife Management Area in Smyth 

County from a sign starting at the foot of the mountain and 

extending upstream seasonally from October 1 until five 

days prior to the first Saturday in April.  

15. South River in the City of Waynesboro from the Arch 

Avenue Bridge downstream 2.2 miles to the Second Street 

Bridge. 

All trout caught in these waters must be immediately 

returned to the water. No trout or bait may be in possession at 

any time in these areas.  

4VAC15-330-160. Special provisions applicable to certain 

portions of Accotink Creek, Back Creek, Big Moccasin 

Creek, Chestnut Creek, Hardware River, Holliday Creek, 

Holmes Run, Indian Creek, North River, Passage Creek, 

Peak Creek, Pedlar River, North Fork of Pound and 

Pound rivers, Middle Fork of Powell River, and Roanoke 

River, and South River.  

It shall be lawful to fish from October 1 through May 31, 

both dates inclusive, using only artificial lures in Accotink 

Creek (Fairfax County) from King Arthur Road downstream 

3.1 miles to Route 620 (Braddock Road), in Back Creek 

(Bath County) from the Route 600 bridge just below the 

Virginia Power Back Creek Dam downstream 1.5 miles to the 

Route 600 bridge at the lower boundary of the Virginia Power 

Recreational Area, in Big Moccasin Creek (Scott County) 

from the Virginia Department of Transportation foot bridge 

downstream approximately 1.9 miles to the Wadlow Gap 

Bridge, in Chestnut Creek (Carroll County) from the U.S. 

Route 58 bridge downstream 11.4 miles to the confluence 

with New River, in the Hardware River (Fluvanna County) 

from the Route 646 bridge upstream 3.0 miles to Muleshoe 

Bend as posted, in Holliday Creek (Appomattox/Buckingham 

Counties) from the Route 640 crossing downstream 2.8 miles 

to a sign posted at the headwaters of Holliday Lake, in 

Holmes Run (Fairfax County) from the Lake Barcroft Dam 

downstream 1.2 miles to a sign posted at the Alexandria City 

line, in Indian Creek within the boundaries of Wilderness 

Road State Park (Lee County), in the North River (Augusta 

County) from the base of Elkhorn Dam downstream 1.5 miles 

to a sign posted at the head of Staunton City Reservoir, in 

Passage Creek (Warren County) from the lower boundary of 

the Front Royal State Hatchery upstream 0.9 miles to the 

Shenandoah/Warren County line, in Peak Creek (Pulaski 

County) from the confluence of Tract Fork downstream 2.7 

miles to the Route 99 bridge, in the Pedlar River (Amherst 

County) from the City of Lynchburg/George Washington 

National Forest boundary line (below Lynchburg Reservoir) 

downstream 2.7 miles to the boundary line of the George 

Washington National Forest, in North Fork of Pound and 

Pound rivers from the base of North Fork of Pound Dam 

downstream to the confluence with Indian Creek, in the 

Middle Fork of Powell River (Wise County) from the old 

train trestle at the downstream boundary of Appalachia 

extending approximately 1.9 miles downstream to the trestle 

just upstream of the Town of Big Stone Gap,  in the Roanoke 

River (Roanoke County) from the Route 760 bridge 

(Diuguids Lane) upstream 1.0 miles to a sign posted at the 

upper end of Green Hill Park (Roanoke County), and in the 

Roanoke River (City of Salem) from the Route 419 bridge 

upstream 2.2 miles to the Colorado Street bridge, and in the 

South River from the Second Street Bridge upstream 2.4 

miles to the base of Rife Loth Dam in the City of 

Waynesboro. From October 1 through May 31, all trout 

caught in these waters must be immediately returned to the 

water unharmed, and it shall be unlawful for any person to 

have in possession any bait or trout. During the period of June 

1 through September 30, the above restrictions will not apply.  

4VAC15-330-210. Special provisions applicable to youth-

only stocked trout waters. 

Waters selected by the director for inclusion into the Youth-

Only Stocked Trout Program will be considered youth-only 

stocked trout waters from April 1 through June 15. Only 

youth 15 years of age and younger may participate in the 

program. The daily trout creel limit shall be three. From June 

16 through March 31, statewide fishing regulations and 

licensing requirements apply. Adults (17 years of age and 

older) are not required to have a freshwater fishing license or 

a trout license to assist youth fishing in youth-only stocked 

trout waters. Adults assisting youth (15 years of age and 

younger) while fishing in youth-only stocked trout waters 

may: 

1. Bait the hook; 

2. Assist in casting; and 
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3. Assist with removing the fish from the hook or line. 

Adults may not assist with catching a fish (setting the hook 

or retrieving the fish). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4798; Filed July 6, 2016, 3:44 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-340. Fish: Seines and Nets 

(amending 4VAC15-340-30, 4VAC15-340-70, 4VAC15-

340-80).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information:  

August 18, 2016 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and Inland 

Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 

23228 

Public Comment Deadline: August 6, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-

8341, or email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) remove the summer portion 

of the Back Bay and North Landing River gill net season, 

which was July 1 through November 1, for "striped" mullet 

only, and allow the harvest of striped mullet during the 

remainder of the gill net season from November 1 through 

March 31; (ii) modify the minimum size and creel limit for 

any American eel that is harvested with eel pots for 

personal use in the waters of Back Bay and the North 

Landing River; and (iii) modify the minimum size for 

American eels harvested with eel pots for commercial 

purposes in the waters of Back Bay and the North Landing 

River. 

4VAC15-340-30. Gill nets.  

A. Authorization to take fish. A gill net permit shall 

authorize the holder thereof to take nongame fish during the 

times and in the waters and for the purposes provided for in 

this section. Such gill net shall not be more than 300 feet in 

length. The mesh size shall be not less than 1 inch bar or 

square mesh (three-inch stretch mesh). Applicants must 

annually purchase tags for each net the applicant intends to 

operate and attach a department tag to each net prior to use. A 

single permit will be issued to the permittee and shall list 

each tag number the permittee has been issued. All nets must 

be checked daily and all game fish returned to the wild.  

B. Permit holder to be present when gill net is being set and 

checked for fish. The holder of a gill net permit must be 

present with the net at all times when it is being set and 

checked for fish. The holder may have others to assist him, 

and such persons assisting are not required to have a permit. 

However, those assisting the permittee must meet the fishing 

license requirements of the Commonwealth.  

C. Times and places permitted in Virginia Beach City; fish 

which may be taken. Gill nets may be used in Virginia Beach 

City in Back Bay and its natural tributaries (not including 

Lake Tecumseh and Red Wing Lake) and North Landing 

River from the North Carolina line to Pungo Ferry (not 

including Blackwater River) for the taking of mullet only for 

table use and also for sale from July 1 through November 1, 

both dates inclusive; and for the taking of other nongame fish, 

except mullet, alewife, and blueback herring, for table use 

and also for sale from November 1 through March 31, both 

dates inclusive. The harvest limit for anadromous American 

and hickory shad shall be 10 per day, in the aggregate. Gill 

nets set in Back Bay waters shall be at least 300 feet from any 

other net and at least 300 feet from the shoreline. All such 

nets must be marked at both ends and at least every 100 feet 

along the length of the net with a five-inch by 12-inch 

minimum dimensions float.  

4VAC15-340-70. Eel pots for taking American eels for 

personal use. 

A. The director may issue, deny, modify, suspend, or revoke 

annual eel pot permits for American eels designated for 

personal use. Such permits shall authorize the taking of 

American eels for personal use only (not for sale) with eel 

pots from waters designated in this section. Such permits 

shall be valid so long as the harvest of eels in the 

Commonwealth is not prohibited by other state or federal law 

or regulation. 

B. It shall be unlawful for a permit holder to possess elvers. 

C. It shall be unlawful for permit holders fishing eel pots to 

take any species other than American eels. 

D. It shall be unlawful to place, set, or fish any eel pot that 

has a mesh less than 1/2-inch by 1/2-inch and does not 

contain at least one unrestricted 4-inch by 4-inch escape panel 

of 1/2-inch by 1-inch mesh. Buoys of all pots set must be 

marked by permanent means with the permit holder's name, 

address, and phone number. 

E. American eels may be taken with eel pots in Back Bay 

and its natural tributaries (not including Lake Tecumseh and 

Red Wing Lake) and North Landing River and its natural 

tributaries from the North Carolina line to the Great Bridge 

locks. 

F. It shall be unlawful for any permit holder to possess more 

than 50 25 eels daily. When fishing from a boat or vessel 

where the entire catch is held in a common hold or container, 

the daily possession limit shall be for the boat or vessel and 

shall be equal to the number of permit holders on board 

multiplied by 50 25. The captain or operator of the boat or 

vessel shall be responsible for any boat or vessel possession 
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limit. Any eel taken after the daily possession limit has been 

reached shall be returned to the water immediately. 

Possession of any quantity of eels that exceeds the daily 

possession limit described in this subsection shall be 

presumed to be for commercial purposes. 

G. For the purposes of this section, the term "elver" shall 

mean any American eel of less than six nine inches in total 

length. 

4VAC15-340-80. Eel pots for taking American eels for 

sale. 

A. The director may issue, deny, modify, suspend, or revoke 

annual eel pot permits designated for the sale of American 

eels. Such permits shall authorize the taking of American eels 

for sale, as specified, with eel pots from waters designated in 

this section. Such permits shall be valid so long as the harvest 

of American eels in the Commonwealth is not prohibited by 

other state or federal law or regulation. To be eligible, 

applicants must document harvest of at least one pound of 

American eels from Back Bay or North Landing River or 

their tributaries via reports submitted through the Virginia 

Marine Resources Commission Mandatory Harvest Reporting 

Program during the period January 1, 2007, to December 31, 

2012, both dates inclusive. Applicants must document the 

reported harvest occurred while the applicant held a valid 

commercial fish pot or eel pot license issued by the Virginia 

Marine Resources Commission. 

B. It shall be unlawful for permit holders to possess elvers 

any American eel less than nine inches total length. 

C. It shall be unlawful for permit holders fishing eel pots to 

take any species other than American eels. 

D. It shall be unlawful to place, set, or fish any eel pot that 

has a mesh less than 1/2-inch by 1/2-inch and does not 

contain at least one unrestricted 4-inch by 4-inch escape panel 

consisting of 1/2-inch by 1-inch mesh. 

E. The permit holder's last name and Virginia Department of 

Game and Inland Fisheries American eel pot number must be 

permanently attached to buoys of all eel pots set. The 

maximum number of pots authorized per permit holder under 

this permit shall be 300. 

F. American eels may be taken with eel pots in Back Bay 

and its natural tributaries (not including Lake Tecumseh and 

Red Wing Lake) and in North Landing River and its natural 

tributaries from the North Carolina line to the Great Bridge 

locks. 

G. It shall be unlawful for any person to ship or otherwise 

transport any package, box, or other receptacle containing 

fish taken under an eel pot permit unless the same bears the 

permit holder's name and address. 

H. Failure to comply with the daily harvest and sales 

reporting requirements as detailed in conditions of the permit 

shall be unlawful and may result in immediate permit 

revocation. It shall be the permit holder's responsibility to 

report "No Activity" when no activity occurs during a 

monthly reporting period. 

I. For the purposes of this section, the term "elver" shall 

mean any American eel of less than six inches in total length. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4799; Filed July 6, 2016, 5:40 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-350. Fish: Gigs, Grab Hooks, 

Trotlines, Snares, Etc. (amending 4VAC15-350-70).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information:  

August 18, 2016 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and Inland 

Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 

23228 

Public Comment Deadline: August 6, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-

8341, or email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) remove longnose gar and 

bowfin from, and add grass carp to, the list of species that 

can be taken in unlimited numbers with bow and arrow or 

crossbow, under certain circumstances, and (ii) establish 

creel limits for longnose gar and bowfin. 

4VAC15-350-70. Taking common carp, grass carp, 

northern snakehead, bowfin, catfish, and gar with bow 

and arrow or crossbow. 

A. Season. Except as otherwise provided by local legislation 

or as posted, it shall be lawful to take common carp, northern 

snakehead, and gar from the public inland waters of the 

Commonwealth, grass carp from public inland waters of the 

Commonwealth except department-owned or department-

controlled lakes, and bowfin and catfish from below the fall 

line in tidal rivers of the Chesapeake Bay, except waters 

stocked with trout, by means of bow and arrow or crossbow.  

B. Poison arrows or explosive-head arrows prohibited. It 

shall be unlawful to use poison arrows or arrows with 

explosive heads at any time for the purpose of taking 

common carp, grass carp, northern snakehead, bowfin, 

catfish, or gar in the public inland waters of the 

Commonwealth.  

C. Fishing license required. All persons taking fish in the 

manner mentioned in this section shall be required to have a 

regular fishing license.  
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D. Creel limits. Common carp, grass carp, northern 

snakehead, bowfin, and catfish, and gar – unlimited, provided 

that any angler taking northern snakehead immediately kill 

such fish and notify the department, as soon as practicable, of 

such actions and provided that any angler taking grass carp 

ensure that harvested fish are dead. The creel limit for bowfin 

and longnose gar shall be five fish per day. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4800; Filed July 6, 2016, 5:58 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-360. Fish: Aquatic 

Invertebrates, Amphibians, Reptiles, and Nongame Fish 

(amending 4VAC15-360-10).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information:  

August 18, 2016 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and Inland 

Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 

23228 

Public Comment Deadline: August 6, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-

8341, or email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments remove longnose gar and 

bowfin from the list of species that can be taken in 

unlimited numbers and add grass carp to the list of species 

that can be taken in unlimited numbers, except in certain 

circumstances. 

4VAC15-360-10. Taking aquatic invertebrates, 

amphibians, reptiles, and nongame fish for private use. 

A. Possession limits. Except as otherwise provided for in 

§ 29.1-418 of the Code of Virginia, 4VAC15-20-130, 

subdivision 8 of 4VAC15-320-40, and the sections of this 

chapter, it shall be lawful to capture and possess live for 

private use and not for sale no more than five individuals of 

any single native or naturalized (as defined in 4VAC15-20-

50) species of amphibian and reptile and 20 individuals of 

any single native or naturalized (as defined in 4VAC15-20-

50) species of aquatic invertebrate and nongame fish unless 

specifically listed below:  

1. The following species may be taken in unlimited 

numbers from inland waters statewide: carp, bowfin, 

longnose gar, mullet, yellow bullhead, brown bullhead, 

black bullhead, flat bullhead, snail bullhead, white sucker, 

northern hogsucker, gizzard shad, threadfin shad, blueback 

herring (see 4VAC15-320-25 for anadromous blueback 

herring limits), white perch, yellow perch, alewife (see 

4VAC15-320-25 for anadromous alewife limits), 

stoneroller (hornyhead), fathead minnow, golden shiner, 

goldfish, and Asian clams. Grass carp may only be 

harvested in unlimited numbers from public inland waters 

of the Commonwealth other than department-owned or 

department-controlled lakes. Anglers taking grass carp 

must ensure that all harvested grass carp are dead. 

2. See 4VAC15-320-25 for American shad, hickory shad, 

channel catfish, white catfish, flathead catfish, and blue 

catfish limits.  

3. For the purpose of this chapter, "fish bait" shall be 

defined as native or naturalized species of minnows and 

chubs (Cyprinidae), salamanders (each under six inches in 

total length), crayfish, and hellgrammites. The possession 

limit for taking "fish bait" shall be 50 individuals in 

aggregate, unless said person has purchased "fish bait" and 

has a receipt specifying the number of individuals 

purchased by species, except salamanders and crayfish 

which cannot be sold pursuant to the provisions of 

4VAC15-360-60 and 4VAC15-360-70. However, 

stonerollers (hornyheads), fathead minnows, golden 

shiners, and goldfish may be taken and possessed in 

unlimited numbers as provided for in subdivision 1 of this 

subsection.  

4. The daily limit for bullfrogs shall be 15 and for snapping 

turtles shall be five. Snapping turtles shall only be taken 

from June 1st 1 to September 30th 30. Bullfrogs and 

snapping turtles may not be taken from the banks or waters 

of designated stocked trout waters.  

5. The following species may not be taken in any number 

for private use: candy darter, eastern hellbender, 

diamondback terrapin, and spotted turtle.  

6. Native amphibians and reptiles, as defined in 4VAC15-

20-50, that are captured within the Commonwealth and 

possessed live for private use and not for sale may be 

liberated under the following conditions: 

a. Period of captivity does not exceed 30 days; 

b. Animals must be liberated at the site of capture; 

c. Animals must have been housed separately from other 

wild-caught and domestic animals; and 

d. Animals that demonstrate symptoms of disease or 

illness or that have sustained injury during their captivity 

may not be released. 

B. Methods of taking species in subsection A of this section. 

Except as otherwise provided for in the Code of Virginia, 

4VAC15-20-130, 4VAC15-320-40, and other regulations of 

the board, and except in any waters where the use of nets is 

prohibited, the species listed in subsection A of this section 

may only be taken (i) by hand, hook and line,; (ii) with a 

seine not exceeding four feet in depth by 10 feet in length,; 

(iii) with an umbrella type net not exceeding five by five feet 

square,; (iv) by small minnow traps with throat openings no 
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larger than one inch in diameter,; (v) with cast nets,; and (vi) 

with hand-held bow nets with diameter not to exceed 20 

inches and handle length not to exceed eight feet (such cast 

net and hand-held bow nets when so used shall not be deemed 

dip nets under the provisions of § 29.1-416 of the Code of 

Virginia). Gizzard shad and white perch may also be taken 

from below the fall line in all tidal rivers of the Chesapeake 

Bay using a gill net in accordance with Virginia Marine 

Resources Commission recreational fishing regulations. 

Bullfrogs may also be taken by gigging or bow and arrow 

and, from private waters, by firearms no larger than .22 

caliber rimfire. Snapping turtles may be taken for personal 

use with hoop nets not exceeding six feet in length with a 

throat opening not exceeding 36 inches. 

C. Areas restricted from taking mollusks. Except as 

provided for in §§ 29.1-418 and 29.1-568 of the Code of 

Virginia, it shall be unlawful to take the spiny riversnail (Io 

fluvialis) in the Tennessee drainage in Virginia (Clinch, 

Powell, and the North, South, and Middle Forks of the 

Holston Rivers and tributaries). It shall be unlawful to take 

mussels from any inland waters of the Commonwealth.  

D. Areas restricted from taking salamanders. Except as 

provided for in §§ 29.1-418 and 29.1-568 of the Code of 

Virginia, it shall be unlawful to take salamanders in Grayson 

Highlands State Park and on National Forest lands in the 

Jefferson National Forest in those portions of Grayson, 

Smyth, and Washington Counties bounded on the east by 

State Route 16, on the north by State Route 603 and on the 

south and west by U.S. Route 58.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4801; Filed July 6, 2016, 6:09 a.m.  

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources Commission is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 11 of the Code of Virginia; 

however, the commission is required to publish the full text of 

final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-30. Pertaining to the 

Licensing of Crab Traps and Pounds (repealing 4VAC20-

30-10 through 4VAC20-30-40).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 28.2-201 and 28.2-701 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 5, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 

247-2248, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The action repeals the chapter. Application, location, and 

priority rights provisions are being moved into 4VAC20-

460. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4791; Filed June 30, 2016, 2:22 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-270. Pertaining to Crabbing 

(amending 4VAC20-270-40, 4VAC20-270-51, 4VAC20-

270-55; repealing 4VAC20-270-58).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 5, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 

247-2248, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) lengthen the commercial season for 

harvesting crabs by crab pot from November 30 to 

December 20 for 2016 and designate the commercial 

season for harvesting crabs by crab pot as March 1 

through December 20 for 2017; (ii) designate the 

commercial season for harvesting crabs by other 

commercial gear as April 21 through October 31 for 2016 

and 2017; (iii) include a reference to the retention box and 

other gear legal start date (4VAC20-460-25); (iv) update 

4VAC20-270-51 and 4VAC20-270-55 to correspond with 

the new season dates; and (v) remove the provisions 

regarding license revocation. 

4VAC20-270-40. Season limits.  

A. In 2015 and 2016, the lawful seasons season for the 

commercial harvest of crabs by crab pot shall be March 17 

through November 30 December 20. In 2017, the lawful 

season for the commercial harvest of crabs by crab pot shall 

be March 1 through December 20. For all other lawful 

commercial gear used to harvest crabs, as described in 

4VAC20-1040, the lawful seasons for the harvest of crabs 

shall be May 1 April 21 through September 25 October 31 in 

2015 2016 and April 21 April 1 through November 30 

October 31 in 2016 2017. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest crabs or to 

possess crabs on board a vessel, except during the lawful 

season, as described in subsection A of this section. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any person knowingly to place, 

set, fish, or leave any hard crab pot in any tidal waters of 

Virginia from December 1, 2015 21, 2016, through March 16, 

2016 February 28, 2017. It shall be unlawful for any person 

knowingly to place, set, fish, or leave any lawful commercial 

gear used to harvest crabs, except any hard crab pot, or as 

described in 4VAC20-460-25, in any tidal waters of Virginia 

from September 26, 2015 November 1, 2016, through April 

20, 2016 March 31, 2017. 
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D. It shall be unlawful for any person knowingly to place, 

set, fish, or leave any fish pot in any tidal waters from March 

12 through March 16, except as provided in subdivisions 1 

and 2 of this subsection.  

1. It shall be lawful for any person to place, set, or fish any 

fish pot in those Virginia waters located upriver of the 

following boundary lines:  

a. In the James River the boundary shall be a line 

connecting Hog Point and the downstream point at the 

mouth of College Creek.  

b. In the York River the boundary lines shall be the 

Route 33 bridges at West Point.  

c. In the Rappahannock River the boundary line shall be 

the Route 360 bridge at Tappahannock.  

d. In the Potomac River the boundary line shall be the 

Route 301 bridge that extends from Newberg, Maryland 

to Dahlgren, Virginia. 

2. This subsection shall not apply to legally licensed eel 

pots as described in 4VAC20-500-50.  

E. It shall be unlawful for any person to place, set, or fish 

any number of fish pots in excess of 10% of the amount 

allowed by the gear license limit, up to a maximum of 30 fish 

pots per vessel, when any person on that vessel has set any 

crab pots. 

1. This subsection shall not apply to fish pots set in the 

areas described in subdivision D 1 of this section. 

2. This subsection shall not apply to legally licensed eel 

pots as described in 4VAC20-500.  

3. This subsection shall not apply to fish pots constructed 

of a mesh less than one-inch square or hexagonal mesh. 

4VAC20-270-51. Daily commercial harvester, vessel, and 

harvest and possession limits. 

A. Any barrel used by a harvester to contain or possess any 

amount of crabs will be equivalent in volume to no more than 

3 bushels of crabs. 

B. From July 5, 2015 2016, through November 15, 2015 

2016, and April 1, 2016 2017, through July 4, 2016 2017, any 

Commercial Fisherman Registration Licensee legally licensed 

for any crab pot license, as described in 4VAC20-270-50 B, 

shall be limited to the following maximum daily harvest and 

possession limits for any of the following crab pot license 

categories: 

1. 10 bushels, or 3 barrels and 1 bushel, of crabs if licensed 

for up to 85 crab pots. 

2. 14 bushels, or 4 barrels and 2 bushels, of crabs if 

licensed for up to 127 crab pots. 

3. 18 bushels, or 6 barrels, of crabs if licensed for up to 170 

crab pots. 

4. 29 bushels, or 9 barrels and 2 bushels, of crabs if 

licensed for up to 255 crab pots. 

5. 47 bushels, or 15 barrels and 2 bushels, of crabs if 

licensed for up to 425 crab pots. 

C. From November 16, 2015 2016, through November 30, 

2015 December 20, 2016, and March 17, 2016 1, 2017, 

through March 31, 2016 2017, any Commercial Fisherman 

Registration Licensee legally licensed for any crab pot 

license, as described in 4VAC20-270-50 B, shall be limited to 

the following maximum daily harvest and possession limits 

for any of the following crab pot license categories: 

1. 8 bushels, or 2 barrels and 2 bushels, of crabs if licensed 

for up to 85 crab pots. 

2. 10 bushels, or 3 barrels and 1 bushel, of crabs if licensed 

for up to 127 crab pots. 

3. 13 bushels, or 4 barrels and 1 bushel, of crabs if licensed 

for up to 170 crab pots. 

4. 21 bushels, or 7 barrels, of crabs if licensed for up to 255 

crab pots. 

5. 27 bushels, or 9 barrels, of crabs if licensed for up to 425 

crab pots. 

D. When a single harvester or multiple harvesters are on 

board any vessel, that vessel's daily harvest and possession 

limit shall be equal to only one daily harvest and possession 

limit, as described in subsections B and C of this section, and 

that daily limit shall correspond to the highest harvest and 

possession limit of only one licensee on board that vessel. 

E. When transporting or selling one or more legal crab pot 

licensee's crab harvest in bushels or barrels, any agent shall 

possess either the crab pot license of that one or more crab 

pot licensees or a bill of lading indicating each crab pot 

licensee's name, address, Commercial Fisherman Registration 

License number, date, and amount of bushels or barrels of 

crabs to be sold. 

F. If any police officer finds crabs in excess of any lawful 

daily bushel, barrel, or vessel limit, as described in this 

section, that excess quantity of crabs shall be returned 

immediately to the water by the licensee or licensees who 

possess that excess over lawful daily harvest or possession 

limit. The refusal to return crabs, in excess of any lawful daily 

harvest or possession limit, to the water shall constitute a 

separate violation of this chapter. 

G. When any person on board any boat or vessel possesses a 

crab pot license, it shall be unlawful for that person or any 

other person aboard that boat or vessel to possess a seafood 

buyers boat license and buy any crabs on any day.  

4VAC20-270-55. Minimum size limits.  

A. From March 17 1 through July 15, it shall be unlawful for 

any person to harvest, possess, sell, or offer for sale more 

than 10 peeler crabs, per United States standard bushel, or 

5.0% of peeler crabs in any other container, that measure less 

than 3-1/4 inches across the shell from tip to tip of the longest 

spikes. From July 16 through November 30 December 20, it 

shall be unlawful for any person to harvest, possess, sell, or 
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offer for sale more than 10 peeler crabs, per United States 

standard bushel, or 5.0% of peeler crabs in any other 

container, that measure less than 3-1/2 inches across the shell 

from tip to tip of the longest spikes, except as described in 

subsections B and C of this section. 

B. From July 16 through November 30 December 20, it shall 

be unlawful for any person to harvest, possess, sell, or offer 

for sale more than 10 peeler crabs, per United States standard 

bushel, or 5.0% of peeler crabs in any other container, that are 

harvested from waters on the ocean side of Accomack and 

Northampton counties Counties and measure less than 3-1/4 

inches across the shell from tip to tip of the longest spikes, 

except as described in subsection C of this section.  

C. In the enforcement of these peeler crab minimum size 

limits aboard a vessel, the marine police officer shall select a 

single container of peeler crabs of his choosing to determine 

if the contents of that container violate the minimum size and 

tolerance described in this section. If the officer determines 

the contents of the container are in violation, then the officer 

shall return all peeler crabs on board the vessel to the water 

alive. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person to take, catch, harvest, 

possess, sell or offer for sale, or to destroy in any manner, any 

soft crab that measures less than 3-1/2 inches across the shell 

from tip to tip of the longest spikes.  

4VAC20-270-58. License revocation. (Repealed.) 

A. Any person convicted by a court of two crab fishery-

related violations, may be subject to having his license(s) to 

take crabs revoked in accordance with the provisions of § 

28.2-232 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. Any person serving as an agent who is convicted by a 

court of two crab fishery-related violations may be subject to 

having his authority to serve as an agent revoked by the 

commission. 

C. Any crab licensee whose agent is convicted by a court of 

two crab fishery-related violations may be subject to having 

any of his licenses to take crabs revoked by the commission. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4793; Filed June 30, 2016, 2:21 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-460. Pertaining to the Use of 

Crab Traps and Pounds (adding 4VAC20-460-13, 

4VAC20-460-15, 4VAC20-460-25).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 28.2-201 and 28.2-701 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 5, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 

247-2248, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments incorporate provisions from repealed 

4VAC20-30, Pertaining to the Licensing of Crab Traps and 

Pounds, into this chapter. The provisions (ii) establish the 

procedures for licensing and locating crab traps or 

pounds, (ii) establish the priority rights of a licensee to 

relicense any crab trap or pound, and (iii) allow crab 

pound harvesters to establish auxiliary gear related to the 

crab pound two weeks in advance of the open season, 

except the crab head or retention box, but not fish until the 

season starts.  

4VAC20-460-13. Application and location. 

A. Application for crab trap or crab pound licenses, to be issued 

pursuant to § 28.2-701 of the Code of Virginia, shall state the 

exact location of each crab trap or crab pound. If application is 

made for a license for more than one crab trap or crab pound, the 

application may embrace more than one, provided the traps or 

pounds are to be located in the same area, and further provided 

they are contiguous and are located next to each other, but the 

location of each must be definitely described. No application for 

any location for a crab trap or crab pound shall be made prior to 

December 1 of the year preceding the current license year. 

B. Only one license shall be issued for the same location, or 

within 100 yards of that location, during the same calendar 

year and any subsequent license issued through error, or 

otherwise, for the same location, or within 100 yards of that 

location, shall be void as to that location. Upon request by 

such licensee, made within 60 days after issuance, a refund of 

such license fee shall be made. 

C. The licensee shall be responsible for the location of the 

trap or pound. 

D. The license, when issued, shall be subject to oyster leases 

and riparian rights and shall not apply inshore of the mean 

low water mark. 

4VAC20-460-15. Priority rights. 

The licensee of any location for a crab trap or crab pound 

that was actually fished or crabbed by the licensee during the 

preceding year shall have a priority right over all other 

applicants to license the same location for the current license 

year, provided such licensee remains otherwise qualified and 

makes application for such location on or before April 1 of 

the current license year. All other applicants for such location 

will have their applications considered in chronological order 

of receipt after April 1 of the license year. 

4VAC20-460-25. Placement requirements for the 

retention box and other gear. 

It shall be unlawful to establish the crab head or retention 

box prior to the legal start date, but all other associated gear 

may be established at the licensed location two weeks prior to 

the legal start date of the season for this gear type. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4788; Filed June 30, 2016, 2:24 p.m.  
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Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-670. Pertaining to 

Recreational Gear Licenses (amending 4VAC20-670-30).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 5, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 

247-2248, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 170 of the 2009 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendment conforms regulation to statute, which allows 

the commission to set the dates of the closed season. 

4VAC20-670-30. Gear restrictions.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to use any gill net 

greater than 300 feet in length when licensed for recreational 

purposes under this chapter except as described in subsection 

B of this section. Any person licensed to use a recreational 

gill net up to 300 feet in length shall stay within 100 yards of 

such net when it is overboard. Failure to attend such net in 

this fashion is a violation of this chapter.  

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to use any anchored 

gill net when licensed for recreational purposes under this 

chapter that is greater than 110 feet in length in any of the 

tidal waters upriver of the saltwater-freshwater boundaries. 

Any anchored gill net set or placed in areas upriver of the 

saltwater-freshwater boundaries shall be retrieved within one 

hour of setting or placing that gill net. Any person licensed to 

use a recreational anchored gill net shall stay within 100 

yards of such net when it is overboard. Failure to attend such 

net in this fashion is a violation of this chapter, and any 

unattended anchored gill net shall be confiscated by the 

marine police officer.  

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to use more than five 

crab pots or more than two eel pots when licensed for 

recreational purposes under this chapter.  

D. Any law or chapter applying to the setting or fishing of 

commercial gill nets, cast nets, dip nets, crab pots, crab traps, 

or crab trot lines shall also apply to the gear licensed under 

this chapter when set or fished for recreational purposes, 

except that (i) certain commercial gear used for recreational 

purposes shall be marked in accordance with the provisions 

described in 4VAC20-670-40, (ii) the daily time limits for 

commercial crab potting and peeler potting established in this 

section shall not apply to the setting and fishing of 

recreational crab pots licensed under this chapter, and (iii) the 

closed season and area established in § 28.2-709 of the Code 

of Virginia shall not apply to the setting and fishing of 

recreational crab pots licensed under this chapter.  

E. It shall be unlawful for any person to use any recreational 

gill net to catch and possess any species of fish whose 

commercial fishery is regulated by an annual harvest quota.  

F. It shall be unlawful for any person using a recreational 

gill net, fish cast net, or fish dip net to take and possess more 

than the recreational possession limit for any species 

regulated by such a limit. When fishing from any boat, using 

gear licensed under this chapter, the total possession limit 

shall be equal to the number of persons on board legally 

eligible to fish multiplied by the individual possession limit 

for the regulated species, and the captain or operator of the 

boat shall be responsible for adherence to the possession 

limit.  

G. It shall be unlawful for any person using a recreational 

gill net, fish cast net, or fish dip net to take and possess any 

fish which is less than the lawful minimum size established 

for that species. When the taking of any fish is regulated by 

different size limits for commercial and recreational 

fishermen, that size limit applicable to recreational fishermen 

or to hook-and-line fishermen shall apply to the taking of that 

species by persons licensed under this chapter.  

H. It shall be unlawful for any person to use any ordinary 

crab trot line greater than 300 feet in length when licensed for 

recreational purposes under this chapter.  

I. It shall be unlawful for any person licensed to use five 

crab pots under this chapter to fish those pots on Sunday or to 

fish those pots from September 16 through May 31. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4792; Filed June 30, 2016, 2:22 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-1140. Prohibition of Crab 

Dredging in Virginia Waters (amending 4VAC20-1140-

20).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 5, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 

247-2248, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment continues the closed crab dredge fishery 

season from December 1, 2016, through March 31, 2017. 

4VAC20-1140-20. Crab dredging prohibited. 

In accordance with the provisions of § 28.2-707 of the Code 

of Virginia, the crab dredging season of December 1, 2015 
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2016, through March 31, 2016 2017, is closed, and it shall be 

unlawful to use a dredge for catching crabs from the waters of 

the Commonwealth during that season. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4790; Filed June 30, 2016, 2:23 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Waste Management 

Board is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 

A 3, which excludes regulations that consist only of changes 

in style or form or corrections of technical errors. The 

Virginia Waste Management Board will receive, consider, 

and respond to petitions by any interested person at any time 

with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC20-40. Administrative 

Procedures for Hazardous Waste Facility Site 

Certification (amending 9VAC20-40-20, 9VAC20-40-40, 

9VAC20-40-50, 9VAC20-40-80, 9VAC20-40-90, 9VAC20-

40-100, 9VAC20-40-110).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 10.1-1434 and 10.1-1436 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 24, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Leslie A. Romanchik, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4129, FAX (804) 

698-4234, TTY (804) 698-4021, or email 

leslie.romanchik@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments correct citations and update a definition 

to make them consistent with Virginia statute and update a 

title of a referenced regulation. 

9VAC20-40-20. Purpose of chapter.  

Article 6 (§ 101-1433 10.1-1433 et seq.) of Chapter 14 of 

Title 10.1 of the Code of Virginia contains a detailed 

description of the process and procedures for a certification of 

site suitability. This chapter is designed to amplify and 

supplement the statutes where appropriate. This chapter 

together with the statute establish administrative procedures 

for the submission and evaluation of applications for 

certification of hazardous waste facility sites  

Article 2  

Definitions  

9VAC20-40-40. Definitions.  

Section 10.1-1433 of the Code of Virginia defines several 

words and terms which are used in this chapter. Unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise, those words and terms 

will have the same meaning when used in this chapter. In 

addition, the following words and terms, when used in this 

chapter, shall have the following meanings unless the context 

clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Act" means §§ 10.1-1433 through 10.1-1449 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

"Affected communities" means those counties, cities or 

towns contiguous to the host community which may be 

affected by the siting of a hazardous waste facility in the host 

community.  

"Applicant" means the person applying for a certification of 

site suitability or submitting a notice of intent to apply for 

that. The applicant must be the person who that intends to 

own or operate the proposed facility.  

"Application" means an application to the board for a 

certification of site suitability.  

"Board" means the Virginia Waste Management Board.  

"Certification of site suitability" or "certification" means the 

certification issued by the board pursuant to Chapter 14 

(§ 10.1-1400 et seq.) of Title 10.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Construct" or "construction" means (i) with respect to new 

facilities, the significant alteration of a site to install 

permanent equipment or structures or the installation of 

permanent equipment or structures; or (ii) with respect to 

existing facilities, the alteration or expansion of existing 

structures or facilities to initially accommodate hazardous 

waste, any expansion of more than 50% of the area or 

capacity of an existing hazardous waste facility, or any 

change in design or process of a hazardous waste facility that 

will, in the opinion of the board, result in a substantially 

different type of facility. It does not include preliminary 

engineering or site surveys, environmental studies, site 

acquisition, acquisition of an option to purchase or activities 

normally incident to that.  

"Criteria" means the criteria adopted by the board, pursuant 

to § 10.1-1436 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Department" means the Virginia Department of 

Environmental Quality.  

"Disposal" means the discharge, deposit, injunction, 

dumping, spilling, leaking or placing of any solid waste or 

hazardous waste into or on any land or water so that such 

solid waste or hazardous waste or any constituent thereof may 

enter the environment or be emitted into the air or discharged 

into any waters, including groundwaters.  

"Emergency situation" means where an imminent and 

substantial endangerment to human health or the environment 

is determined.  

"Fund" means the technical assistance fund created pursuant 

to § 10.1-1448 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Hazardous waste" means a solid waste classified as a 

hazardous waste by the Virginia Hazardous Waste 

Management Regulations, 9VAC20-60.  
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"Hazardous waste facility" or "facility" means any facility, 

including land and structures, appurtenances, improvements 

and equipment for the treatment, storage or disposal of 

hazardous wastes, which accepts hazardous waste for storage, 

treatment or disposal. For the purposes of this chapter, it does 

not include: (i) facilities which are owned and operated by 

and exclusively for the on-site treatment, storage or disposal 

of wastes generated by the owner or operator; (ii) facilities for 

the treatment, storage or disposal of hazardous wastes used 

principally as fuels in an on-site production process; and (iii) 

facilities used exclusively for the pretreatment of wastes 

discharged directly to a publicly-owned sewage treatment 

works.  

"Hazardous waste management facility permit" means the 

permit for a hazardous waste management facility issued by 

the director or the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.  

"Host community" means any county, city or town within 

whose jurisdictional boundaries construction of a hazardous 

waste facility is proposed.  

"On-site" means facilities that are located on the same or 

geographically contiguous property which may be divided by 

public or private right-of-way, and the entrance and exit 

between the contiguous properties are at a crossroads 

intersection so that the access is by crossing, as opposed to 

going along, the right-of-way. On-site also means 

noncontiguous properties owned by the same person but 

connected by a right-of-way which the owner controls and to 

which the public does not have access.  

"Operating characteristics": These include, but are not 

limited to:  

1. Brief description of the nature of the business of the 

facility, including an estimate of the size of the business 

(number of employees, etc.);  

2. Specification of each hazardous waste involved in the 

operation of the facility and an estimate of the annual 

quantity of each;  

3. Description of the physical facility (number and size of 

buildings, tanks and other structures);  

4. General description of the process to be used in the 

treatment, storage, or disposal or both of each hazardous 

waste;  

5. Description of the anticipated traffic to and from the 

facility (number, type, and capacity of those vehicles 

transporting hazardous waste as well as other types of 

vehicles);  

6. Short and long term projections for the facility, 

including its projected life expectancy; and  

7. Any other relevant information which will assist the 

board and other persons to gain a clear understanding of 

the nature and operation of the facility.  

"Operator" means a person who is responsible for the overall 

operation of a facility.  

"Owner" means a person who owns a facility or a part of a 

facility.  

"Person" means an individual, trust, firm, joint stock 

company, corporation, including a government corporation, 

partnership, association, state, municipality, commission, 

political subdivision of a state, interstate body or federal 

government agency.  

"Site plan" means a design of the proposed facility and site. 

The site plan must accurately represent all structures of the 

proposed facility. If the site has existing structures, the site 

plan must designate these and specify the alterations to be 

made to each. The site plan shall also include a topographic 

map showing a distance of 1,000 feet around the facility at a 

scale of 2.5 centimeters (one inch) equal to not more than 

61.0 meters (200 feet). Contours shall be shown on the map. 

The contour interval shall be sufficient to clearly show the 

pattern of surface water flow in the vicinity of and from each 

operational unit of the facility, for example, contours with an 

interval of 1.5 meters (five feet), if relief is greater than 6.1 

meters (20 feet) or an interval of 0.6 meters (two feet), if 

relief is less than 6.1 meters (20 feet). Owners and operators 

of facilities proposed in mountainous areas should use a 

larger contour interval to adequately show topographic 

profiles of facilities. The map shall clearly show the 

following:  

1. Map scale and date;  

2. 100 year floodplain area;  

3. Surface waters including intermittent streams;  

4. Surrounding land uses (residential, commercial, 

agricultural, recreational);  

5. A wind rose (i.e., prevailing wind speed and direction);  

6. Orientation of the map (north arrow);  

7. Legal boundaries of the facility site;  

8. Access control (fences and gates);  

9. Injection and withdrawal wells, both on-site and off-site;  

10. Buildings; treatment, storage, or disposal operations; or 

other structures (recreation areas, run-off control systems, 

access and internal roads; storm, sanitary, and process 

sewerage systems; loading and unloading areas; fire 

control facilities, etc.);  

11. Barriers for drainage or flood control;  

12. Location of operational units within the facility site 

where hazardous waste is proposed to be treated, stored or 

disposed, including equipment cleanup areas; and  

13. Such additional information as the board deems 

necessary to carry out its duties as required by the Act.  

"Solid waste" means any garbage, refuse, sludge and other 

discarded material, including solid, liquid, semisolid or 

contained gaseous material resulting from industrial, 

commercial, mining and agricultural operations and from 

community activities but does not include (i) solid or 
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dissolved material in domestic sewage; (ii) solid or dissolved 

material in irrigation return flows or in industrial discharges 

which are sources subject to a permit from the State Water 

Control Board, or (iii) source, special nuclear, or byproduct 

material as defined by the Federal Atomic Energy Act of 

1954 (42 USCS § 2011 et seq.), as amended.  

"Storage" means the containment or holding of hazardous 

wastes pending treatment, recycling, reuse, recovery or 

disposal.  

"Treatment" means any method, technique or process, 

including incineration or neutralization, designed to change 

the physical, chemical or biological character or composition 

of any hazardous waste so as to neutralize such waste it or so 

as to render such waste it less hazardous or nonhazardous, 

safer for transport, amenable to recovery, amenable to or 

storage, or reduced in volume. Such term includes any 

activity or processing designed to change the physical form or 

chemical composition of a hazardous waste so as to render it 

less hazardous or nonhazardous.  

Part II  

Initiation of Certification Process  

9VAC20-40-50. Requirement of certification and waiver.  

A. No person shall construct or commence construction of a 

hazardous waste facility without first obtaining a certification 

of site approval by the board in the manner prescribed here.  

An owner or operator of a facility may submit a notice of 

intent as prescribed in 9VAC20-40-60 below or submit a 

request for a waiver from the procedures established in the 

Act and this chapter.  

B. Upon receiving a written request from the owner or 

operator of a facility, the board may grant a waiver upon such 

conditions as it may determine, provided that the proposed 

changes to the facility are designed to:  

1. Prevent a threat to human health or the environment 

because of an emergency situation;  

2. Comply with federal or state laws and regulations 

promulgated after July 1, 1984; or  

3. Demonstrably result in safer or environmentally more 

acceptable processes.  

C. The waiver provisions of this chapter shall apply to 

existing facilities when construction is defined to be:  

1. The alteration or expansion of existing structures or 

facilities to initially accommodate hazardous waste;  

2. Any expansion of more than 50% of the area or capacity 

of an existing hazardous waste facility; or  

3. Any change in the design or process of a hazardous 

waste facility that will result in a substantially different 

type of facility or will cause the facility to be reclassified 

as a higher numbered category.  

D. Emergency situation.  

1. Scope of waiver:. The owner or operator of a facility 

may be permitted to make changes which are designed to 

prevent a threat to human health or the environment 

because of an emergency situation.  

2. Applying for waiver:. The owner or operator of the 

facility may obtain verbal approval from the director 

effective for a period up to 30 days, unless revised by the 

board at its next regular meeting, and, in addition, must 

submit the request for waiver in writing to the director. The 

request at a minimum must contain the following 

information:  

a. The name and address of the owner or operator or both 

of the facility;  

b. Location of the facility and a description of its 

operation;  

c. Description of the circumstances creating the 

emergency situation;  

d. Description of the resulting threat to human health or 

the environment or both;  

e. Description of the changes to be made in the facility; 

and  

f. Efforts to restore the facility to original conditions of 

certification after emergency conditions are abated.  

3. The waiver:. Upon receipt of the request, the director 

will grant or deny the request for waiver. In the event the 

director grants the request for waiver, such waiver is 

subject to the approval of the council board at its next 

regularly scheduled meeting. If the director denies the 

request, the applicant may renew the request at the next 

regularly scheduled meeting of the board.  

E. State or federal laws; more acceptable process.  

1. Scope of waiver:. The owner or operator of a facility 

may be permitted to make changes which are designed to 

comply with state or federal laws enacted or regulations 

promulgated after July 1, 1984, or changes which 

demonstrably result in safer or environmentally more 

acceptable processes.  

2. Applying for waiver:. The owner or operator of the 

facility must make the request in writing to the director. At 

a minimum the request must contain the following 

information:  

a. Name and address of the owner and/or or operator of 

the facility;  

b. Location of the facility and a description of its 

operation; and  

c. Either:  

(1) A copy of the state or federal law or regulation 

necessitating the change, if applicable, and a description 

of the changes to be made in the facility to effect 

compliance with the law or regulation; or  
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(2) A description of the changes the owner or operator 

wishes to make and an analysis demonstrating the 

improved safety or environmental soundness resulting 

from the changes.  

3. The waiver:. At its next regularly scheduled meeting, the 

board will consider the request for waiver. The owner or 

operator or his representative should attend the meeting. At 

the meeting the board may:  

a. Grant the request for waiver;  

b. Deny the request for waiver;  

c. Determine that additional information is needed from 

the owner or operator;  

d. Decide that a public hearing is needed; or  

e. Take any other action the board deems appropriate.  

4. Should the board decide to hold a public hearing, it will 

also determine from among the following who will conduct 

the hearing: a member or members of the board, the 

director, or both, or a hearing officer, or both; appointed 

from outside the board. The director will give notice of the 

hearing to the same parties and in the same manner as 

described in 9VAC20-40-60 C, regarding distribution of 

the notice of intent. The owner or operator shall provide 

the director with a list of the names and addresses of all 

owners of property adjoining the facility. The notice of the 

hearing shall specify the date, time, and location of the 

hearing and include a copy of the request for waiver.  

9VAC20-40-80. Briefing meeting.  

A. Not more than 75 nor less than 60 days after the delivery 

of the notice of intent to the host community, the board shall 

conduct a briefing meeting in or in reasonable proximity to 

the host community. Notice of the date, time, place and 

purpose of the briefing session shall be prepared by the board 

and shall accompany the notice of intent delivered pursuant to 

§ 10.1-1439 10.1-1437 of the Code of Virginia, and be 

included in the notice published pursuant to § 10.1-1439 

10.1-1437 of the Code of Virginia. At least one representative 

of the applicant shall be present at the briefing meeting. The 

primary purpose of the briefing meeting will be to provide 

information on the proposed site and facility and to receive 

comments, suggestions and questions on them from the 

public.  

B. The board shall select from among its membership a 

briefing officer who will be responsible for conducting the 

meeting as follows:  

1. The briefing officer will call the meeting to order and 

explain the purpose of the briefing;  

2. The applicant shall be allowed to give a presentation 

describing the proposal and to respond to questions;  

3. Persons asking questions shall be requested to state their 

names, addresses, and interests in the project;  

4. The briefing officer shall conduct the meeting in an 

orderly manner while ensuring that all interested parties 

present are as fully briefed as possible on the proposal; and  

5. A stenographic or electronic record shall be made of all 

briefing meetings. A transcript of the meeting, together 

with copies of any documents submitted at the briefing, 

shall be made available for inspection at the office of the 

board and host community during normal working hours.  

C. If the board conducts additional briefing meetings, notice 

of such meetings shall be provided as follows:  

1. Notice of the date, time, place and purpose of the 

meeting is delivered in writing to the applicant, each 

member of the governing body of the host community, and 

to all owners of property adjoining the proposed site at 

least 15 days in advance of the meeting;  

2. Such notice is published once each week for at least two 

successive weeks in a newspaper of general circulation in 

the host community;  

3. Such notice is broadcast over one or more radio stations 

within the area to be affected by the subject of the notice;  

4. Such notice is mailed, by electronic or postal delivery, to 

each person who has asked to receive notice; and  

5. Such notice is disseminated by any additional means the 

board deems appropriate.  

9VAC20-40-90. Impact analysis.  

A. The applicant shall submit a draft impact analysis in 

accordance with § 10.1-1440 of the Code of Virginia and, in 

addition, shall furnish a copy of the draft impact analysis to 

each person designated in that section.  

B. The draft impact analysis shall include:  

1. A detailed assessment of the project's suitability with 

respect to the criteria.  

2. A cover letter signed by the applicant;  

3. An executive summary providing a brief description of 

the applicant's proposal, the impacts, and mitigating 

actions;  

4. A site plan;  

5. A full report addressing each of the following:  

a. Effects on botanical resources;  

b. Energy and water consumption;  

c. Discharge of any substance, or of heat, in surface or 

ground waters;  

d. A description of any necessary clearing, excavating, 

dredging, filling;  

e. The types and amounts of wastes which will be 

accepted;  

f. The process or processes to be employed including its 

basic characteristics and principal limitations;  

g. Planned operational safeguards and monitoring of the 

facility following cessation of operations;  
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h. Emission of radiation; and  

i. Solid waste disposal.  

6. An ownership report containing:  

a. A legal description of the applicant, including 

identification of all principal participants;  

b. A current audited financial statement or statements 

prepared by a certified public accountant including the 

accountant's opinions;  

c. A description of all liability insurance the applicant has 

or plans to obtain for the proposed site and facility and a 

description of the financial and managerial arrangements 

for closure and post-closure care of the site;  

d. A description of the applicant's experience in the field, 

including any other hazardous waste facilities operated or 

owned currently or in the past by the applicant and 

details of their compliance record; and  

e. A description of how the applicant intends to finance 

the project.  

7. An appendix providing any supporting documentation.  

C. The board, at the applicant's expense, shall cause notice 

of the filing of the draft impact analysis to be made in the 

manner provided in § 10.1-1440 10.1-1447 of the Code of 

Virginia, within 10 days of receipt. The notice shall include 

(i) a general description of the analysis, (ii) a list of recipients, 

(iii) a description of the places and times that the analysis will 

be available for inspection, (iv) a description of the board's 

procedures for receiving comments on the analysis, and (v) 

the addresses and telephone numbers for obtaining 

information from the board.  

D. The board shall allow 45 days after publication of notice 

for comment on the draft impact analysis. No sooner than 30 

and no more than 40 days after publication of notice of the 

draft impact analysis, the board shall conduct a public 

meeting on the draft impact analysis in or near the host 

community. The meeting shall be for the purpose of 

explaining, answering questions and receiving comments on 

the draft impact analysis. A representative of the governing 

body and a representative of the applicant shall be present at 

the meeting.  

E. The board will receive comments on the draft impact 

analysis pursuant to the following procedures:  

1. Comments on the draft analysis may be in writing and 

mailed to the board within 45 days of publication of the 

notice for comment; and  

2. Comments may be submitted in writing or by 

presentation before the board at the public meeting 

conducted pursuant to § 10.1-1444 of the Act. The meeting 

will be conducted in the same manner as the briefing 

meeting in 9VAC20-40-80 B.  

F. Within 10 days after the close of the comment period, the 

board shall forward to the applicant a copy of all comments 

received on the draft impact analysis, together with its own 

comments.  

G. The applicant shall prepare and submit a final impact 

analysis to the board after receiving the comments. The final 

impact analysis shall reflect the comments as they pertain to 

each of the items listed in subsection B of this section. A 

copy of the final impact analysis shall be provided by the 

applicant upon request to each of the persons who received 

the draft impact analysis.  

H. Preparation and submission of the final impact analysis 

will be in accordance with § 10.1-1440 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

Part III  

Application for Certification of Site Approval  

9VAC20-40-100. Application.  

A. At any time within six months after submission of the 

final impact analysis, the applicant may submit to the board 

an application for certification of site approval. The 

application shall contain:  

1. A summary of the proposal including a general 

description of the facility and the nature of the business;  

2. Conceptual engineering designs for the proposed 

facility;  

3. A copy of the final impact analysis which evaluates the 

siting criteria;  

4. A detailed description of the facility's suitability to meet 

the criteria promulgated by the board, including any design 

and operation means that will be necessary or otherwise 

undertaken to meet the criteria;  

5. A siting agreement, if one has been executed pursuant to 

9VAC20-40-100 subsections F and H of this section, 

9VAC20-40-110 and § 10.1-1442 of the Code of Virginia, 

or, if none has been executed, a statement to that effect.  

B. Fees. The application shall be accompanied by the fee 

established by the Fee Schedule Regulation of Fees for 

Hazardous Waste Facility Site Certification (9VAC20-20). 

C. Form of the application.  

1. The application should be contained in one or more 

three-ring loose-leaf binders preferably on 8-1/2 X 11 inch 

paper.  

2. All maps required by this chapter shall be detachable, 

but may be fold outs.  

3. The summary shall be capable of separate reproduction 

and distribution.  

D. The director shall review the application for 

completeness and notify the applicant within 15 days of 

receipt that the application is incomplete or complete.  

If the application is incomplete, the director shall so advise 

the applicant and shall identify the information necessary to 

make the application complete. The director shall take no 

further action until the application is complete.  
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If the application is complete, the director shall so advise the 

applicant and shall direct the applicant to furnish copies of the 

application to the following: five to the host community and 

one to each person owning property adjoining the proposed 

site. At least one copy of the application shall be made 

available by the applicant for inspection and copying at a 

convenient place in a host community during normal business 

hours.  

E. The board shall cause notice of the application to be made 

in the manner provided in § 10.1-1441 10.1-1447 of the Code 

of Virginia, and shall notify each governing body that upon 

publication of the notice the governing body must conclude 

all negotiations with the applicant within 30 days. The 

applicant and the governing body may, by agreement, extend 

the time for negotiation to a fixed date but shall forthwith 

notify the board of this date. The board may also extend the 

time to a fixed date for good cause shown.  

F. At the end of the period specified in subsection E of this 

section, a governing body shall submit to the board and to the 

applicant a report containing:  

1. A complete siting agreement, if any, or in case of failure 

to reach full agreement, a description of points of 

agreement and unresolved points; and  

2. Any conditions or restrictions on the construction, 

operation or design of the facility that are required by local 

ordinance.  

G. If the report is not submitted within the time required, the 

board may proceed as specified in § 10.1-1443 A of the Code 

of Virginia.  

H. The applicant may submit comments on the report of the 

governing body at any time prior to the issuance of the draft 

certification of site approval.  

9VAC20-40-110. Negotiations; role of board; good faith 

required.  

A. The governing body or its designated representatives and 

the applicant, after submission of notice of intent to file an 

application for certification of site approval, may meet to 

discuss any matters pertaining to the site and the facility, 

including negotiations of a siting agreement. The time and 

place of any meeting shall be set by agreement, but at least a 

48-hour notice shall be given to members of the governing 

body and the applicant.  

B. The board shall assist in facilitating negotiations between 

the local governing body and the applicant to the extent of 

recommending a mediator or other conflict resolution 

mechanism, but shall not become integrally involved in the 

siting agreement negotiations.  

C. The siting agreement may include any terms and 

conditions, including mitigation of adverse impacts and 

financial compensation to the host community, concerning 

the facility. In the event that a provision of a siting agreement 

conflicts with state or federal law, the state or federal law 

shall prevail.  

D. The siting agreement shall be executed by the signatures 

of (i) the chief executive officer of the host community, who 

has been so directed by a majority vote of the local governing 

body, and (ii) the applicant or authorized agent.  

E. Determination of agreement.  

1. If the report submitted by the governing body pursuant 

to § 10.1-1442 10.1-1441 of the Code of Virginia indicates 

that no siting agreement has been reached and contains a 

written allegation that the applicant has failed or refused to 

negotiate in good faith, the director shall issue notice to the 

applicant and host community of the board's intention to 

hold an informal conference pursuant to § 2.2-4019 of the 

Virginia Administrative Process Act. The notice shall state 

the time, place and date of such conference. The purpose 

shall be to determine the sole issue of whether or not the 

applicant has failed or refused to negotiate in good faith 

with the governing body in developing a siting agreement.  

2. If the board finds that the governing body has shown by 

a preponderance of the evidence that the applicant has 

failed or refused to negotiate in good faith with the 

governing body for the purpose of attempting to develop a 

siting agreement, the board may deny the application for 

certification of site approval. Such a finding shall 

constitute final action by the board.  

3. If the board finds that the governing body has not shown 

by a preponderance of the evidence that the applicant has 

failed or refused to negotiate in good faith with the 

governing body for the purpose of attempting to develop a 

siting agreement, the board may issue the draft certification 

of site approval pursuant to § 10.1-1443 of the Code of 

Virginia. Such finding shall not be considered final action 

by the board.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4628; Filed June 27, 2016, 2:16 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Waste Management 

Board is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 

A 3, which excludes regulations that consist only of changes 

in style or form or corrections of technical errors. The 

Virginia Waste Management Board will receive, consider, 

and respond to petitions by any interested person at any time 

with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC20-50. Hazardous Waste Facility 

Siting Criteria (amending 9VAC20-50-40, 9VAC20-50-

100).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 10.1-1434 and 10.1-1436 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 24, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Leslie A. Romanchik, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4129, FAX (804) 
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698-4234, TTY (804) 698-4021, or email 

leslie.romanchik@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments make technical corrections to two 

definitions to make them consistent with state statute, 

remove a reference to a state hazardous waste 

transportation permit since hazardous waste transporter 

permits are no longer required by statute, and make 

corrections to lists of responsible agencies and their 

associated contact information that are referenced in the 

regulation. 

Article 2  

Definitions  

9VAC20-50-40. Words and terms.  

Section 10.1-1433 of the Code of Virginia defines several 

words and terms also used in this chapter. Unless the context 

clearly indicates otherwise, these words and terms will have 

the same meaning when used in this chapter. In addition, the 

following words and terms, when used in this chapter shall 

have the following meaning, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise.  

"Act" means §§ 10.1-1433 through 10.1-1449 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

"Active fault" means a fault which has had displacement in 

Holocene time.  

"Active portion" means that portion of a facility where 

treatment, storage or disposal operations are being conducted. 

It includes the treated area of a land farm and the active face 

of a landfill, but does not include those portions of a facility 

which have been closed in accordance with all applicable 

closure requirements of the Virginia Department of 

Environmental Quality.  

"Anion exchange capacity (A.E.C.)" means the exchange 

capacity for negatively charged ions. (See Cation exchange 

capacity.)  

"Anti-degradation goal for groundwater" means if the 

concentration of any constituent in groundwater is less than 

the limit set forth by groundwater standards, the natural 

quality for the constituent shall be maintained; natural quality 

shall also be maintained for all constituents, including 

temperature, not set forth in groundwater standards. If the 

concentration of any constituent in groundwater exceeds the 

standards for that constituent, no addition of that constituent 

to the naturally occurring concentration shall be made.  

"Applicant" means the person applying for certification of 

site suitability or submitting a notice of intent to apply for 

that.  

"Aquifer" means water-bearing geologic formation, group of 

formations, or part of a formation that is capable of yielding a 

significant amount of groundwater to wells or springs. An 

aquifer is unconfined (water table) or confined (artesian) 

according to whether the upper surface of the water is at 

atmospheric pressure or at greater than atmospheric pressure.  

"Attenuation" means any decrease in the maximum 

concentration or total quantity of a chemical or biological 

constituent during a fixed time or distance traveled.  

"Board" means the Virginia Waste Management Board.  

"Buffering capacity" means the capacity of a soil to take up 

contaminants through a variety of attenuation processes such 

as biological activity, dilution, volatilization, mechanical 

filtration, precipitation, buffering, neutralization and ion 

exchange. Some attenuation processes result in permanent 

removal and degradation of pollutants, which others act to 

store pollutants and by that delay pollution problems but do 

not eliminate them.  

"Cation exchange capacity (C.E.C.)" means the excess of 

counter ions in the zone adjacent to the charged surface or 

layer which can be exchanged for other cations. The C.E.C. 

cation exchange capacity of geological materials is normally 

expressed as the number of milliequivalents of cations that 

can be exchanged in a sample with a dry mass of 100 grams.  

"Closure" means the act of securing a hazardous waste 

management facility pursuant to the requirements of Virginia 

Hazardous Waste Management Regulations (9VAC20-60) 

promulgated by the board.  

"Community water system" means a waterworks which 

serves at least 15 service connections used by year-round 

residents or regularly serves at least 25 year-round residents.  

"Construction" means (i) with respect to new facilities, the 

significant alteration of a site to install permanent equipment 

or structures or the installation of permanent equipment and 

structures; (ii) with respect to existing facilities, the alteration 

or expansion of existing structures or facilities to initially 

accommodate hazardous waste, any expansion of more than 

50% of the area or capacity of an existing hazardous waste 

facility, or any change in design or process of a hazardous 

waste facility that will, in the opinion of the board, result in a 

substantially different type of facility. It does not include 

preliminary engineering or site surveys, environmental 

studies, site acquisition, acquisition of an option to purchase 

or activities normally incident hereto.  

"Container" means any portable enclosure in which a 

material is stored, transported, treated, disposed of, or 

otherwise handled.  

"Dam-related flood hazard areas" means areas identified as 

being dam-related flood hazard areas which fall into one of 

two categories: areas of dynamic flooding below the dam, or 

the inundation zone, and areas of static flooding above the 

dam, or the flood pool. The inundation zone is the area that 

would be inundated by the water released by the 

impoundment in the event of a dam flood. The flood pool is 

defined as the land area above the dam which is prone to 

flooding during abnormally high runoff or precipitation.  
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"Disposal" means the discharge, deposit, injection, dumping, 

spilling, leaking, or placing of any solid waste or hazardous 

waste into or on any land or water so that such solid waste or 

hazardous waste or any constituent thereof may enter the 

environment or be emitted into the air or discharged into any 

waters, including groundwaters.  

"Disposal facility" means a facility or part of a facility at 

which hazardous waste is intentionally placed into or on any 

land or water, and at which the waste will remain after 

closure.  

"Endangered or threatened species habitat" means areas 

known to be inhabited on a seasonal or permanent basis by or 

to be critical at any stage in the life cycle of any wildlife 

(fauna) or vegetation (flora) identified as "endangered" or 

"threatened" species on official federal or state lists of 

endangered or threatened species, including the Endangered 

Species Act, 16 USC § 1531 et seq., the Virginia Endangered 

Species Act, § 29.1-563 et seq. of the Code of Virginia, and 

the Virginia Endangered Plant and Insect Species Act, § 3.1-

1020 3.2-1000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia, or under active 

consideration for state or federal listing. The definition also 

includes a sufficient buffer area to ensure continued survival 

of the species.  

"Floodplain" means an area adjoining a river, stream or 

water course which has been or hereafter is likely to be 

covered by floodwaters.  

Included in this category are coastal flood hazards which are 

defined as land areas adjacent to open coast, coastal sounds 

and their upstream estuaries which are prone to flooding from 

hurricanes and storm surges with an annual probability of 

1.0%.  

Also included in this definition are riverine flood hazard 

areas defined as the valley areas adjacent to any size 

waterway which can be covered by flood waters resulting 

from excessive rainfall or other factors. The riverine flood 

hazard areas also fall under the Federal Emergency 

Management Administration definition of a "Regulatory 

Floodway" under the National Flood Program. A regulatory 

floodway includes the channel of the river and the adjacent 

floodplain that must be reserved in order to discharge the base 

flood (the flood level anticipated in the 100-year flood plain). 

The regulatory floodway cannot cause a cumulative increase 

in the water surge elevation of the base flood of greater than 

one foot at any point.  

"Groundwater" means any water, except capillary moisture 

beneath the land surface in the zone of saturation or beneath 

the bed of any stream, lake, reservoir or other body of surface 

water within the boundaries of this state, whatever may be the 

subsurface geologic structure in which such water stands, 

flows, percolates or otherwise occurs.  

"Groundwater quality" means the quality of groundwater as 

measured against drinking water criteria and standards 

established by the U.S. EPA and the State Department of 

Health and adopted by the Virginia State Water Control 

Board.  

"Hazardous waste" means a solid waste classified as a 

hazardous waste by the Virginia Hazardous Waste 

Management Regulations, 9VAC20-60.  

"Hazardous waste facility" means any facility, including 

land and structures, appurtenances, improvements and 

equipment for treatment, storage, or disposal of hazardous 

wastes, which accepts hazardous waste for storage, treatment 

or disposal. This definition does not include: (i) facilities 

which are owned and operated by and exclusively for the on-

site treatment, storage or disposal of wastes generated by the 

owner or operator; (ii) facilities for the treatment, storage or 

disposal of hazardous wastes used principally as fuels in an 

on-site production process; and (iii) facilities used exclusively 

for the pretreatment of wastes discharged directly to a 

publicly owned sewage treatment works and 

storage/treatment facilities.  

"Hundred-year flood" means a flood of that level which on 

the average will have a 1.0% chance of being equaled or 

exceeded in any given year at designated locations.  

"Hydraulic conductivity" means the rate of flow of water in 

gallons per day through a cross section of one square foot 

under a unit hydraulic gradient, at the prevailing temperature 

(Permeability coefficient).  

"Hydraulic gradient" means the change in hydraulic pressure 

per unit of distance in a given direction.  

"Incinerator" means an enclosed device using controlled 

flame combustion, the primary purpose of which is to 

thermally break down hazardous waste.  

"Injection well" means a well or bore hole into which fluids 

are injected into selected geologic horizons. (See also 

underground injection.)  

"Inundation zone (below a dam)" means the area that would 

be inundated in the event of a dam failure.  

"Karst topography" means a type of topography that may 

form over limestone, dolomite, or gypsum formations by 

dissolving or solution, and that is characterized by closed 

depressions or sinkholes, caves, and underground drainage.  

"Land treatment facility" means a facility or part of a facility 

at which hazardous waste is applied onto or incorporated into 

the soil surface; such facilities are disposal facilities if the 

waste will remain after closure.  

"Landfill" means a disposal facility or part of a facility 

where waste is placed in or on land and which is not a 

treatment facility, a surface impoundment or an injection 

well.  

"Leachate" means a liquid, including any suspended 

components in the liquid, that has percolated through or 

drained from hazardous waste.  

"Monitoring" means all procedures used to systematically 

inspect and collect data on operational parameters of the 
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facility or on the quality of the air, groundwater, surface 

water or soils.  

"Monitoring well" means a well used to obtain water 

samples for water quality analysis or to measure depth to 

groundwater table.  

"Noncommunity water system" means a waterworks that is 

not a community waterworks, but operates at least 60 days of 

the year and is for transient use such as restaurants, 

campgrounds, or rest areas.  

"Pile" means any noncontainerized accumulation of solid, 

nonflowing hazardous waste that is used for treatment or 

storage.  

"Point source" means any discernible, confined and discrete 

conveyance, including, but not limited to any pipe, ditch, 

channel, tunnel, conduit, well, discrete fissure, container, 

rolling stock, concentrated animal feeding operation, or vessel 

or other floating craft, from which pollutants are or may be 

discharged. This term does not include return flows from 

irrigated agriculture.  

"Private water system" means all systems not defined under 

community/noncommunity water systems.  

"Proximity to an active fault" means located such that 

potential vibration of a known active fault as defined under 

"seismic risk zones" or "seismogenic volume" in this chapter 

may adversely affect the physical integrity of the facility, or 

such that ground and surface waters associated with such fault 

may be degraded.  

"Proximity to a community/noncommunity water system 

and supply of groundwater" means a site which is located 

such that the geologic features or characteristics of the site 

may lead to degradation of the aquifer as a result of 

operations or in the event of an accident or spill.  

"Proximity to a community/noncommunity water system 

and supply of surface water" means within 1/2 mile of either 

side of a stream or impoundment for a distance of five stream 

miles upstream including tributaries, and 1/10 of a mile 

downstream of any nontidal surface water intake for a public 

water supply. On tidal affected streams, the site shall be such 

greater distance than 1/10 of a mile downstream that the tidal 

action would not cause intake of waters that may be affected 

by run-off, etc., from the site location. More restrictive 

requirements of other state regulatory agencies shall apply.  

"Proximity to a private water system and supply of surface 

or groundwater" means a site which is located such that the 

geologic features or characteristics of the site may lead to 

degradation of the aquifer as a result of operations or in the 

event of an accident or spill.  

"Proximity to publicly designated areas" means a site which 

is located such that the construction and operation of the 

proposed facility may impair the environmental and aesthetic 

qualities of the area.  

"Publicly designated areas" means publicly owned lands 

designated as seashore areas, wilderness or scenic areas, 

scenic rivers, wildlife or bird sanctuaries, game lands, state 

parks and recreation areas and other natural areas. Also 

included are lands on or proposed for inclusion on the 

National Register of Historic Places, National Natural 

Landmarks, Virginia Landmarks Register and scenic 

easements held by the Virginia Outdoors Foundation. These 

lands must have been designated or be pursuant to an ongoing 

program as of the date of the notice of intent.  

"Recharge" means natural or artificial replenishment or 

storage of nondegrading (quality) water in an aquifer.  

"Run-off" means any rainwater, leachate, or other liquid that 

drains over land from any part of a facility.  

"Run-on" means any rainwater, leachate, or other liquid that 

drains over land onto any part of a facility.  

"Saprolite" means a soft, earthy, clay-rich, thoroughly 

decomposed rock formed in place by chemical weathering of 

igneous and metamorphic rocks.  

"Saturated zone (zone of saturation)" means that part of the 

earth's crust in which all voids are filled with water under 

pressure greater than that of the atmosphere.  

"Scenic rivers" means rivers designated by the Virginia 

General Assembly under the Scenic Rivers Act (§ 10.1-400 et 

seq. of the Code of Virginia) as worthy of preservation based 

on their unique environmental and aesthetic characteristics.  

"Seismic risk zones" means an area where an active fault 

which has had displacement in Holocene time is present or 

which has had historical earthquake activity in Modified 

Mercalli VII or Richter Scale 4, or greater.  

"Seismogenic volume" means a seismic risk zone of upper 

crustal rocks where earthquakes are occurring now or in the 

historic past, or both and that extends from the surface of the 

earth down to depths of 15-20 kilometers. Such volumes are 

susceptible to strong seismic shaking (Modified Mercalli 

Intensity VII or Richter Magnitude 5 or greater) as well as 

faulting and movement of subsurface rock layers.  

"Site" means the land or water area upon which a facility or 

activity is physically located or conducted including but not 

limited to adjacent land used for utility systems such as 

repair, storage, whipping or processing areas, or other areas 

incident to the hazardous waste facility or activity.  

"Soil pH" means the negative log of the hydrogen ion 

concentration, which commonly ranges from a high (acid) of 

0 to a low (alkaline) of 14, neutral being seven.  

"Soil/saprolite layer" means the unconsolidated materials 

derived primarily from the in-place weathering of underlying 

geologic deposits. Saprolite is specifically the unconsolidated 

weathering product of crystalline bedrock which retains relic 

bedrock structure. Thickness of the soil/saprolite layer is the 

depth from the surface to bedrock.  

"State waters" means all water, on the surface and under the 

ground, wholly or partially within or bordering the state or 
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within its jurisdiction. For the purpose of this chapter, 

adjacent wetlands are included in this definition.  

"Static water level" means the level at which water stands in 

a well when no water is being taken from the aquifer either by 

pumping or by free flow.  

"Storage" means the containment or holding of hazardous 

waste pending treatment, recycling, reuse, recovery or 

disposal.  

"Storage facility" means any hazardous waste facility which 

stores hazardous waste.  

"Subsidence" means the lowering of the natural land surface 

in response to: earth movements; lowering of fluid pressure; 

removal of underlying supporting material by mining or 

solution of solids, either artificially or from material causes; 

compaction due to wetting (hydrocompaction) or from 

material causes; oxidation of organic matter in soils; or added 

load on the land surface.  

"Subsurface mining areas" means areas where deep mining 

or removal by drilling of minerals or mineral fuels or 

pumping of groundwater has resulted in a potential for land 

subsidence.  

"Surface impoundment" means a facility or part of a facility 

which is a natural topographic depression, manmade 

excavation, or diked area formed primarily of earthen 

materials (although it may be lined with manmade materials), 

which is designed to hold an accumulation of liquid wastes or 

wastes containing free liquids, and which is not an 

interjection well or a seepage facility.  

"Thermal treatment" means treatment of hazardous waste in 

a device which uses elevated temperatures as the primary 

means to change the chemical, physical or biological 

character or composition of the hazardous waste.  

"Transfer facility" means any transportation related to 

facility including loading docks, parking areas, storage areas 

and other similar areas where shipments of hazardous waste 

are held during the normal course of transportation.  

"Treatment" means any method, technique, or process, 

including incineration or neutralization, designed to change 

chemical, the physical, chemical, or biological character or 

composition of any hazardous waste so as to neutralize such 

waste; so as it or to render such waste nonhazardous or it less 

hazardous, or safe or nonhazardous, safer for transport or 

disposal, amenable for recovery, amenable for or storage, or 

reduced in volume.  

"Underground injection" means the subsurface emplacement 

of fluids through a bored, drilled, jetted, driven, or dug well, 

where the depth of the well is greater than the largest surface 

dimension (See also injection well).  

"Unsaturated zone (zone of aeration)" means the zone 

between the topographic surface and water table.  

"Uppermost aquifer" means the geologic formation nearest 

the natural ground surface that is an aquifer, as well as lower 

aquifers that are hydraulically interconnected with this 

aquifer.  

"Water table" means the upper surface of the zone of 

saturation in groundwaters in which the hydrostatic pressure 

is equal to atmospheric pressure. (See uppermost aquifer.)  

"Water well" means an excavation with associated casing, 

which is drilled, cored, bored, washed, driven, dug, jetted, or 

otherwise constructed when the intended use of such 

excavation is for the location, testing, acquisition, artificial 

recharge, or storage of groundwater, the depth of which is 

greater than the diameter or width.  

"Waterworks" means a system that serves piped water for 

drinking or domestic use of (i) the public, (ii) at least 15 

connections, or (iii) an average of 25 individuals for at least 

60 days of the year. The term waterworks shall include all 

structures, equipment, and appurtenances used in the storage, 

collection, purification, treatment, and distribution of pure 

water except the piping and fixtures inside the building where 

such water is delivered.  

"Well" means any shaft or pit dug, drilled, jetted, driven, or 

bored into the earth, generally of a cylindrical form, and often 

cased with bricks or tubing to prevent the earth from caving 

in, whose depth is greater than the largest surface dimension.  

"Well yield" means average water yield in gallons per 

minute obtained from wells trapping the uppermost aquifer 

below a specific site or site vicinity.  

"Wetlands" means areas inundated by surface or 

groundwater with a frequency sufficient to support, under 

normal circumstances, a prevalence of vegetated or aquatic 

life requiring saturated or seasonally saturated soil conditions 

for growth or reproduction.  

Part IV  

Related Permits and Reviews  

9VAC20-50-100. Additional agency approval.  

A. To avoid duplication to the maximum extent feasible 

with existing agencies and their areas of responsibility, 

related agency approvals are listed below in subsection B of 

this section as notification to the applicant that these permits 

and reviews may apply in accordance with the type of facility 

proposed.  

A. B. Permits.  

1. Hazardous waste facility management.  

a. Regulatory agency:  

Virginia Waste Management Board.  

b. State permit required:  

Facility management or transportation.  

c. Statutory authority:  

(1) Chapter 11.1 (§ 10.1-1182 et seq.) of Title 10.1 of the 

Code of Virginia and the Virginia Waste Management 

Act, Chapter 14 (§ 10.1-1400 et seq.) of Title 10.1 of the 

Code of Virginia.  
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(2) Virginia Hazardous Waste Management Regulations, 

9VAC20-60.  

d. Contact:  

Department of Environmental Quality  

P.O. Box 1105 

Richmond, VA 23218 

(804) 698-4000  

2. Air emissions.  

a. Regulatory agency:  

State Air Pollution Control Board.  

b. State permit required:  

Stationary sources  

Hazardous pollutants  

Open burning  

c. Statutory authority, rules and regulations:  

(1) Virginia Air Pollution Control Law.  

(2) Federal Clean Air Act (42 USC § 7401 et seq.) and 

amendments.  

(3) Hazardous Air Pollutant Sources, 9VAC5-60 and 

Permits for Stationary Sources, 9VAC5-80.  

d. Contact:  

Department of Environmental Quality  

P.O. Box 1105 

Richmond, VA 23218 

(804) 698-4000  

3. Discharges into state waters.  

a. Regulatory agency:  

State Water Control Board.  

b. State discharge permit required:  

(1) Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 

(NPDES).  

(2) No discharge certificate.  

c. Statutory authority, rules and regulations:  

(1) Federal Water Pollution Control Act Amendments of 

1972 (33 USC § 1251 et seq.).  

(2) State Water Control Law, (§ 62.1-44.2 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia).  

d. Contact:  

Department of Environmental Quality  

P.O. Box 1105 

Richmond, VA 23218 

(804) 698-4000  

4. Land disturbance.  

a. Regulatory agency:  

Virginia Soil and Water Conservation State Water 

Control Board or local government, or both.  

b. State requirement:  

Erosion and sediment control plan.  

c. Statutory authority, rules and regulations:  

(1) Erosion and sediment control law (§§ 10.1-560 62.1-

44.15:51 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).  

(2) Virginia Erosion and Sediment Control Handbook.  

d. Contact:  

Department of Conservation and Recreation Environmental 

Quality  

203 Governor Street, Suite 213 P.O. Box 1105 

Richmond, VA 23219-2094 23218 

(804) 786-1712 698-4000 

5. Wetlands, subaqueous lands, and dunes.  

a. Regulatory agencies:  

Virginia Marine Resources Commission (VMRC) 

(Clearinghouse for permits)  

Local wetlands boards  

Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (VDEQ)  

U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE)  

b. Permit required:  

VMRC and local wetland boards: Use or development of 

any wetland within Tidewater, Virginia  

VMRC: Coastal Dunes  

VMRC, VDEQ and USACE: Tidal Wetlands and 

Subaqueous Land  

VDEQ and USACE: Nontidal Wetlands  

VDEQ: Isolated Wetlands 

USACE: Activities in the navigable waters of the United 

States, degradation of the quality of water, and 

transportation and dumping of dredged material.  

c. Statutory authority, rules and regulations:  

(1) Virginia Wetlands Act (§ 28.2-1300 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia.).  

(2) Virginia Water Control Law (§§ 62.1-44.15 and 62.1-

44.15:5 Waters of the State, Ports and Harbors (Title 62.1 

of the Code of Virginia.).  

(3) Local wetland zoning ordinances.  

(4) Federal Water Pollution Control Act (Clean Water 

Act, 33 USC § 1251 et seq.) §§ 401 and 404.  

(5) Rivers and Harbors Act of 1894 (33 USC § 1371).  

(6) Marine Protection Research and Sanctuary Act 

(16 USC §§ 1431-1434; 33 USC §§ 1401, 1402, 1411-

1421, 1441-1444).  

d. Contact:  

(1) Assistant Commissioner for Habitat Management  

Marine Resources Commission 

2600 Washington Avenue, 3rd Floor 

Newport News, VA 23607 

(757) 247-2200 
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(2) Department of Environmental Quality 

P.O. Box 1105 

Richmond, VA 23218 

(804) 698-4000 

(3) District Engineers 

U.S. Army Corps of Engineers 

Norfolk District 

803 Front Street 

Norfolk, VA 23510 23508 

B. C. Reviews. Applications for permits may result in a 

review and comment process by state agencies. Such reviews 

may include comments concerning historic landmarks, 

archaeological sites, caves, best management practices, 

fisheries, and parks and recreation. Further information on 

review procedures can be obtained by contacting, Department 

of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA, 

23218; or (804) 698-4000.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4636; Filed June 27, 2016, 2:19 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 

exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The Virginia Waste Management 

Board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 

or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC20-110. Regulations Governing 

the Transportation of Hazardous Materials (amending 

9VAC20-110-110).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 10.1-1450 and 44-146.30 of the Code 

of Virginia; 49 USC §§ 1809 through 1810; 49 CFR Parts 

107, 170 through 180, 383, and 390 through 397. 

Effective Date: August 24, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Debra A. Harris, Planning and Policy 

Specialist, Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 

1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4209, or 

email debra.harris@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment incorporates into Virginia regulation 

certain amendments promulgated by the U.S. Secretary of 

Transportation and made to federal regulations governing 

the transportation of hazardous materials as of October 1, 

2015. 

Part III  

Compliance with Federal Regulations  

9VAC20-110-110. Compliance.  

Every person who transports or offers for transportation 

hazardous materials within or through the Commonwealth of 

Virginia shall comply with the federal regulations governing 

the transportation of hazardous materials promulgated by the 

United States U.S. Secretary of Transportation with 

amendments promulgated as of October 1, 2014 2015, 

pursuant to the Hazardous Materials Transportation Act, and 

located at Title 49 of the Code of Federal Regulations as set 

forth below and which are incorporated in these regulations 

by reference:  

1. Special Permits. 49 CFR Part 107, Subpart B.  

2. Registration of Cargo Tank and Cargo Tank Motor 

Vehicle Manufacturers, Assemblers, Repairers, Inspectors, 

Testers, and Design Certifying Engineers in 49 CFR Part 

107, Subpart F.  

3. Registration of Persons Who Offer or Transport 

Hazardous Materials in 49 CFR Part 107, Subpart G.  

4. Hazardous Materials Regulations in 49 CFR Parts 171 

through 177.  

5. Specifications for Packagings in 49 CFR Part 178.  

6. Specifications for Tank Cars in 49 CFR Part 179.  

7. Continuing Qualification and Maintenance of 

Packagings in 49 CFR Part 180.  

8. Motor Carrier Safety Regulations in 49 CFR Parts 390 

through 397.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4683; Filed June 23, 2016, 2:08 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Waste Management 

Board is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 B 4 of the Code of 

Virginia, which exempts regulations relating to grants of state 

or federal funds or property. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC20-150. Waste Tire End User 

Reimbursement Regulation (amending 9VAC20-150-10, 

9VAC20-150-40, 9VAC20-150-50, 9VAC20-150-80, 

9VAC20-150-100 through 9VAC20-150-130; adding 

9VAC20-150-25; repealing 9VAC20-150-30).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 10.1-1402 and 10.1-1422.4 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 25, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Leslie D. Beckwith, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4123, FAX (804) 

698-4234, TTY (804) 698-4021, or email 

leslie.beckwith@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments revise terminology for consistency with 

state statute, make clarifying changes, and amend the 

reporting requirements for waste tires that qualify an 

eligible end user for reimbursement.  
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Part I  

Definitions  

9VAC20-150-10. Definitions.  

A. The definitions set out in Part I of the Solid Waste 

Management Regulations (9VAC20-81) are incorporated by 

reference.  

B. The following words and terms, when used in this 

chapter, shall have the following meanings, unless the context 

clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Applicant" means any person or persons seeking 

reimbursement under this chapter.  

"Asphalt pavement containing recycled rubber" means any 

hot mix or spray applied binder in asphalt paving mixture that 

contains rubber from waste tire materials which is used for 

asphalt pavement base, surface course or interlayer, or other 

road and highway related uses.  

"Authorized signature" means the signature of an individual 

who has authority to sign on behalf of, and bind, the 

applicant.  

"Available funds" means for a given fiscal year, a maximum 

of 80% of the previous fiscal year's collection of the waste 

tire tax plus 85% of nonobligated carryover funds at the end 

of the previous fiscal year.  

"Burning" means the controlled burning of waste tire 

materials for the purpose of energy recovery.  

"Collector" means a person who receives waste tires from a 

generator or hauler for the purpose of delivery to a permitted 

storage, processing, or disposal facility. 

"Cost of use" means the equipment, leasehold 

improvements, buildings, land, engineering, transportation, 

operating, taxes, interest, and depreciation or replacement 

costs of using waste tire materials incurred by the end user 

after deducting any tipping fee received by the end user.  

"Daily cover" means using waste tire material as an alternate 

cover placed upon exposed solid waste to control disease 

vectors, fires, odors, blowing litter and scavenging without 

presenting a threat to human health and the environment.  

"Department" means the Department of Environmental 

Quality.  

"Director" means the Director of the Department of 

Environmental Quality or the director's designee.  

"Embankment" means a raised earthen structure to carry a 

roadway.  

"End user" means:  

1. For energy resource recovery:, the person who utilizes 

the heat content or other forms of energy from the burning 

incineration or pyrolysis of waste tire tires, chips, or 

similar materials;  

2. For other eligible uses: of waste tires, the last person 

who uses the waste tire tires, chips, or similar materials to 

make a product with economic value. If the waste tire 

materials are is processed by more than one person in 

becoming a product, the end user is the last person to use 

the tire as waste a tire materials, tire chips, or as similar 

material. A person who produces waste distributes tire 

chips or similar materials and gives or sells them to another 

person to use is not an end user.  

"Energy recovery" means utilizing the heat content or other 

forms of energy from the burning or pyrolysis of waste tire 

materials.  

"Fill material for construction" means the material is used as 

a base or sub-base under the footprint of a structure, a paved 

parking lot, sidewalk, walkway or similar application.  

"Generator" means any person whose act or process 

produces waste tires or whose act first causes a tire to become 

a solid waste.  

"Hauler" means a person who picks up or transports waste 

tires for the purpose of removal to a permitted storage, 

processing or disposal facility.  

"Partial reimbursement" means reimbursement that does not 

exceed the purchase price of waste tire materials or the cost of 

use if the waste tire materials were not purchased.  

"Passenger tire equivalent" means a measure of passenger, 

truck tires, and oversize tires where: One passenger car tire 

equals 20 pounds or 1/100 ton. One truck tire 20-24 inch rim 

equals 100 pounds or 1/200 ton and a tire with over 24-inch 

rim equals 200 pounds or greater as computed by the end 

user.  

"Processor" means a person engaged in the processing of 

waste tires including, but not limited to, stamping, stripping, 

shredding, or crumbing; that operates under a permit issued 

by the local, state, or federal government; or is exempt from 

permit requirements.  

"Pyrolysis" means thermal treatment of waste tire materials 

to separate it into other components with economic value.  

"Retreading" means processing a waste tire by attaching a 

new tread to make a usable tire.  

"Road bed base" means the foundation of a road prepared 

for surfacing.  

"Tipping fee" means a fee charged to a person for disposal 

of a waste tire.  

"Tire" means a continuous solid or pneumatic rubber 

covering encircling the wheel of a vehicle in which a person 

or property is transported, or by which they may be drawn on 

a highway.  

"Tire pile" means an accumulation of waste tire materials 

that violates the Solid Waste Management Regulations 

(9VAC20-81).  

"Waste tire" means a tire that has been discarded because it 

is no longer suitable for its original intended purpose because 

of wear, damage or defect.  

"Waste tire materials" means whole waste tires or waste tires 

that have been size reduced by physical or chemical process. 
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This term includes waste tires or chips or similar materials as 

specified in §§ 10.1-1422.3 and 10.1-1422.4 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

"Waste Tire Trust Fund" means the nonreverting fund set up 

by § 10.1-1422.3 of the Code of Virginia in which proceeds 

from the waste tire tax recycling fee are deposited.  

9VAC20-150-25. Compliance with other requirements. 

Any removal or processing of waste tires must be conducted 

in accordance with all applicable local, state, and federal laws 

and regulations and in accordance with applicable 

departmental policies. 

9VAC20-150-30. Regulations review. (Repealed.) 

This chapter will be reviewed every six months by the 

director to determine whether the regulations should be 

continued, amended, or terminated based on the intent to 

enhance markets for waste tires, chips, or similar tire 

materials that is specified in the authorizing legislation.  

Part III  

Eligibility for Reimbursement  

9VAC20-150-40. End uses of waste tires eligible for 

reimbursement.  

A. The following uses of waste tire materials will be eligible 

for the reimbursement if the use complies with applicable 

local ordinances and regulations and the Solid Waste 

Management Regulations (9VAC20-81) or the equivalent 

regulations in another state. The eligible uses are:  

1. Civil engineering applications, which utilize waste tire 

materials as a substitute for soil, sand, or aggregate in a 

construction project such as land or surface applications, 

road bed base and embankments; fill material for 

construction projects; and daily cover and other 

substitutions at a permitted solid waste facility if the 

facility's permit is so modified;  

2. Burning Incineration of waste tire materials for energy 

recovery; and 

3. Pyrolysis; and. 

4. Products B. Producing products made from waste tire 

materials such as molded rubber products, rubberized asphalt, 

soil amendments, playground and horse arena surfacing 

materials, mulches, mats, sealers, etc. is eligible for end user 

reimbursement. 

B. C. Uses that are not eligible for reimbursement include:  

1. Reuse as a vehicle tire;  

2. Retreading;  

3. Burning without energy recovery; and  

4. Landfilling, except use as specified in subdivision A 1 of 

this section.  

9VAC20-150-50. Eligible end users.  

A. To be eligible for a reimbursement, the applicant shall be 

the end user of the waste tire materials as defined in Part I of 

this chapter. The end user need not be located in Virginia.  

B. To be eligible for a reimbursement, the waste tire 

materials utilized by the end user must be:  

1. Waste tire materials from waste tires generated in 

Virginia and be documented as such according to the 

requirements in Part V of this chapter; and  

2. Utilized through a method specified in 9VAC20-150-40.  

C. Distributors of products made from waste tire materials 

listed in 9VAC20-150-40 B are not eligible for end user 

reimbursement. 

9VAC20-150-80. Maximum rate of reimbursement.  

A. The maximum amount of the reimbursement for waste 

tires specified in 9VAC20-150-100 A 1 shall be $22.50.  

B. The maximum amount of the reimbursement for waste 

tires specified in 9VAC20-150-100 A 2 and A 3 shall be $50 

per ton, increasing to $75 per ton beginning October 25, 

2002, and $100 per ton beginning July 1, 2003, subject to 

available funding.  

Part V  

Virginia Generated Waste Tires  

9VAC20-150-100. Qualification as Virginia generated 

waste tires.  

A. A Virginia generated waste tire is a waste tire that is:  

1. Discarded as the result of a sale, trade, or exchange in 

Virginia;  

2. From a Virginia tire pile that existed prior to December 

20, 1994; or  

3. From a Virginia tire pile that was created without the 

property owner's knowledge or permission.  

B. Tires qualifying for subdivision A 2 or A 3 of this section 

must be certified as such through a field inspection conducted 

by the department using department form DEQ-CERT 12/97.  

C. Before removal of any tires from a site which meets the 

criteria of subdivision A 2 or A 3 of this section, a hazard 

prevention plan, prepared in accordance with department 

guidelines, must be fully implemented.  

9VAC20-150-110. Documentation.  

A. To be considered as Virginia generated waste tires 

eligible for reimbursement, the waste tires must be 

documented as such in a manner acceptable to the director 

department. Acceptable documentation must provide at a 

minimum a certifying statement signed by the end user 

stating that the waste tires are Virginia generated in 

accordance with the requirements of 9VAC20-150-100. One 

type of acceptable documentation is form DEQ-WTC, 

completed in the following manner: DEQ-WTC. All 

documentation submitted shall include the information listed 

in this section, as applicable. 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 25, 2016 

3154 

1. Completion of Part 1 by the generator. The generator, 

who has the waste tires for disposal, must fill in all 

pertinent information in Part 1 and sign the statement 

certifying that the waste tires are Virginia generated in 

accordance with the requirements of 9VAC20-150-100. 

When the generator is not known, the property owner is the 

generator.  

2. Completion of Part 2 by the hauler if applicable. The 

hauler must fill in all pertinent information in Part 2 and 

sign the statement certifying that he accepted the waste tire 

materials in the amounts indicated from the generator in 

Part 1.  

3. Completion of Part 3 by the collector, if applicable. The 

collector must fill in all pertinent information in Part 3 and 

sign the statement certifying that he accepted the waste tire 

materials in the amounts indicated from the hauler or 

generator as applicable.  

4. Completion of Part 4 by the processor. The processor 

must fill in all pertinent information and sign the statement 

certifying that he accepted the waste tire materials in the 

amounts indicated from a generator, hauler and/or 

collector, as applicable.  

B. Generators shall submit the following information: 

1. Generator's company name; 

2. Mailing address; 

3. Telephone number; 

4. Business identification number (ID) or Virginia driver's 

license number (VDL); 

5. Physical location of where the waste tires were 

generated; 

6. The number of car or light truck tires, truck tires, 

oversize tires, or the tire materials in tons; and 

7. The following certification signed by the generator "I 

certify under penalty of law that the information submitted 

on this document is to the best of my knowledge and 

belief, true, accurate, and complete. I am aware that there 

are significant penalties for submitting false information, 

including the possibility of a fine and imprisonment for 

willful violations. I further certify that, to the best of my 

knowledge and belief, all the waste tire materials identified 

by me on this document and delivered to the hauler below 

were generated in the Commonwealth of Virginia in 

accordance with the Waste Tire End User Reimbursement 

Regulations (9VAC20-150)." 

C. Haulers shall submit the following information: 

1. Hauler's company name; 

2. Mailing address; 

3. Telephone number; 

4. Business ID or VDL; 

5. The number of car or light truck tires, truck tires, 

oversize tires, or the tire materials in tons; and 

6. The following certification signed by the hauler "I 

certify that the waste tire materials listed in this section of 

this document were received from the generator in the 

amounts indicated, to the best of my knowledge and 

belief." 

D. Collectors shall submit the following information: 

1. Collector's company name; 

2. Mailing address; 

3. Telephone number; 

4. Business ID or VDL; 

5. The number of car or light truck tires, truck tires, 

oversize tires, or the tire materials in tons; and 

6. The following certification signed by the collector "I 

certify that the waste tire materials listed in this section of 

this document were received from the generator or hauler 

in the amounts indicated, to the best of my knowledge and 

belief." 

E. Processors shall submit the following information: 

1. Processor's company name; 

2. Mailing address; 

3. Telephone number; 

4. Business ID or VDL; 

5. The number of car or light truck tires, truck tires, 

oversize tires, or the tire materials in tons; and 

6. The following certification signed by the processor "I 

certify that the waste tire materials listed in this section of 

this document were received from the generator, hauler, or 

collector in the amounts indicated, to the best of my 

knowledge and belief."  

Part VI  

Application Procedures  

9VAC20-150-120. Application for reimbursement.  

A. A person may apply to the director department for 

reimbursement from the Waste Tire Trust Fund on a monthly 

or quarterly basis for utilizing waste tire materials if the 

request for reimbursement is complete and complies with 

other provisions of this chapter.  

B. The minimum reimbursement application amount is 

5,000 passenger tire equivalents or 50 10 tons of waste tire 

materials used. Lesser amounts may be considered on a case-

by-case basis. 

C. In order to apply for reimbursement, the utilization of the 

waste tire materials must occur after December 20, 1994.  

D. An applicant for reimbursement must file form DEQ-

EURR with the director department, providing at a minimum:  

1. Applicant's name and address;  

2. Name and location of facility where end use occurs;  

3. A description of the end use;  
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4. A statement of the purchase price paid for the waste tire 

materials or, if the waste tire materials were not purchased, 

the cost of use; and  

5. An authorized signature.  

E. Application for quarterly reimbursement will be accepted 

up to the last business day of the month following a calendar 

quarter. Applications received after the one-month deadline 

will be considered late and reimbursement will not be 

considered for that calendar quarter. Such a late application 

will be considered in the following calendar month with other 

monthly applications.  

Application for monthly reimbursement will be accepted up 

to the 15th calendar day of the month following a month. 

Applications received after the 15-day deadline will be 

considered late and reimbursement will not be considered for 

that month. Such a late application will be considered in the 

following month.  

F. E. An applicant for a reimbursement for utilization of 

waste tire materials is subject to audit by the director 

department. Applicants shall allow access to all records 

related to waste tire management activities during normal 

business hours for the purpose of determining compliance 

with this chapter for five years from the date of 

reimbursement.  

G. F. In addition to any other penalty imposed by law, any 

person who knowingly or intentionally provides false 

information to the director department in applying for a 

reimbursement shall be ineligible to receive any 

reimbursement under this chapter.  

Part VII  

Processing of Applications  

9VAC20-150-130. Review of application.  

A. The director department shall review the reimbursement 

application form, DEQ-EURR, for completeness and 

eligibility within three 10 working days of receipt.  

B. If an application is not complete as required in 9VAC20-

150-120 D, the director department may require the applicant 

to submit the missing information. The director department 

may delay reimbursement until the information is received.  

C. The director department will process for payment all 

applications for reimbursement that are complete and in 

compliance with the regulations up to the amount of available 

funds. The complete applications will be processed in the 

order received and until available funds are exhausted. When 

available funds for a given fiscal year are exhausted, all 

remaining eligible applications will be held and paid first in 

the following fiscal year.  

D. When If an applicant believes an error has been made in 

the review of or response to his application, he shall notify 

the director department in writing within 30 days of receiving 

the director's department's response. The notice shall contain 

a copy of the application and the director's response, applicant 

shall submit to the department a brief statement describing the 

believed error, and copies of any documents supporting the 

statement.  

The director department shall review the notice applicant's 

response and attached documents and may further investigate 

review the matter. The director department shall advise the 

respond to the applicant in writing in due course of his 

response to the applicant's notice of error concerning the 

review of the information submitted by the applicant. 

If the director department concludes that an error has been 

made, he shall reinstate the application and act on it shall be 

reprocessed by the department. If the available funds are 

exhausted, and would not have been had the director acted 

correctly on the application originally, the reinstated not 

available, the reprocessed application shall be carried over to 

the next year and paid from available funds.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (9VAC20-150)  

Waste Tire Pile Certification, DEQ-CERT, No. 154 (rev. 

3/2010) 

End User Reimbursement Application, DEQ-EURR (rev. 

5/2016) 

Waste Tire Certification, DEQ-WTC (rev. 4/2016) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4640; Filed June 27, 2016, 2:31 p.m.  

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 14 of the Code 

of Virginia, which exempts adoption, amendment, or repeal 

of wasteload allocations by the State Water Control Board 

pursuant to State Water Control Law (§ 62.1-44.2 et seq. of 

the Code of Virginia) if the board (i) provides public notice in 

the Virginia Register; (ii) if requested by the public during the 

initial public notice 30-day comment period, forms an 

advisory group composed of relevant stakeholders; (iii) 

receives and provides summary response to written 

comments; and (iv) conducts at least one public meeting. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-720. Water Quality 

Management Planning Regulation (amending 9VAC25-

720-50, 9VAC25-720-60, 9VAC25-720-90, 9VAC25-720-

110, 9VAC25-720-120, 9VAC25-720-130).  

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 

33 USC § 1313(e) of the Clean Water Act. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4c9b9004637~3&typ=40&actno=004637&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4c9b9004637~3&typ=40&actno=004637&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c177a004637~2&typ=40&actno=004637&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c177a004637~2&typ=40&actno=004637&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7c0a7004640~2&typ=40&actno=004640&mime=application/pdf
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Effective Date: August 24, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Elizabeth McKercher, Department of 

Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 

23218, telephone (804) 698-4291, FAX (804) 698-4116, TTY 

(804) 698-4021, or email 

elizabeth.mckercher@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments add three new TMDL wasteload 

allocations in the Potomac-Shenandoah River Basin 

(9VAC25-720-50 A), add four new TMDL wasteload 

allocations in the James River Basin (9VAC25-720-60 A), 

add one new TMDL wasteload allocation in the Tennessee-

Big Sandy River Basin (9VAC25-720-90 A), add 14 new 

TMDL wasteload allocations in the York River Basin 

(9VAC25-720-120 A), add nine new TMDL wasteload 

allocations in the New River Basin (9VAC25-720-130 A), 

replace two existing TMDL wasteload allocations with 

revised values in the James River Basin (9VAC25-720-60 

A), incorporate four technical corrections in the Potomac-

Shenandoah River Basin (9VAC25-720-50 A), incorporate 

two technical corrections in the Tennessee-Big Sandy 

River Basin (9VAC25-720-90 A), and incorporate two 

technical corrections in the Chesapeake Bay-Small 

Coastal-Eastern Shore River Basin (9VAC25-720-110 A).  

9VAC25-720-50. Potomac-Shenandoah River Basin. 

A. Total maximum daily loads (TMDLs). 

TMDL 

# 
Stream Name TMDL Title City/County WBID Pollutant WLA

1
 Units 

1. 

Muddy Creek, 

Dry River, and 

tributaries to 

North River 

Nitrate TMDL 

Development for 

Muddy 

Creek/Dry 

River, Virginia 

Rockingham 
B21R, 

B22R 
Nitrate 49,389.00 LB/YR 

2. Blacks Run 

TMDL 

Development for 

Blacks Run and 

Cooks Creek 

Rockingham B25R Sediment 32,844.00 LB/YR 

3. Cooks Creek 

TMDL 

Development for 

Blacks Run and 

Cooks Creek 

Rockingham B25R Sediment 69,301.00 LB/YR 

4. Cooks Creek 

TMDL 

Development for 

Blacks Run and 

Cooks Creek 

Rockingham B25R Phosphorus 0 LB/YR 

5. Muddy Creek 

TMDL 

Development for 

Muddy Creek 

and Holmans 

Creek, Virginia 

Rockingham B22R Sediment 286,939.00 LB/YR 

6. Muddy Creek 

TMDL 

Development for 

Muddy Creek 

and Holmans 

Creek, Virginia 

Rockingham B22R Phosphorus 38.00 LB/YR 

7. Holmans Creek 

TMDL 

Development for 

Muddy Creek 

and Holmans 

Creek, Virginia 

Rockingham, 

Shenandoah 
B45R Sediment 78,141.00 LB/YR 
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8. Mill Creek 

TMDL 

Development for 

Mill Creek and 

Pleasant Run 

Rockingham B29R Sediment 276.00 LB/YR 

9. Mill Creek 

TMDL 

Development for 

Mill Creek and 

Pleasant Run 

Rockingham B29R Phosphorus 138.00 116 LB/YR 

10. Pleasant Run 

TMDL 

Development for 

Mill Creek and 

Pleasant Run 

Rockingham B27R Sediment 0.00 LB/YR 

11. Pleasant Run 

TMDL 

Development for 

Mill Creek and 

Pleasant Run 

Rockingham B27R Phosphorus 0.00 LB/YR 

12. Linville Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development for 

Linville Creek: 

Bacteria and 

Benthic 

Impairments 

Rockingham B46R Sediment 5.50 TONS/YR 

13. Quail Run 
Benthic TMDL 

for Quail Run 
Rockingham B35R Ammonia 7,185.00 KG/YR 

14. Quail Run 
Benthic TMDL 

for Quail Run 
Rockingham B35R Chlorine 27.63 KG/YR 

15. 
Shenandoah 

River 

Development of 

Shenandoah 

River PCB 

TMDL (South 

Fork and Main 

Stem) 

Warren, Clarke 

B41R 

B55R 

B57R 

B58R 

PCBs 179.38 G/YR 

16. 
Shenandoah 

River 

Development of 

Shenandoah 

River PCB 

TMDL (North 

Fork) 

Warren, Clarke B51R PCBs 0.00 G/YR 

17. 
Shenandoah 

River 

Development of 

Shenandoah 

River PCB 

TMDL (Main 

Stem) 

Warren, Clarke WV PCBs 179.38 G/YR 

18. Cockran Spring 

Benthic TMDL 

Reports for Six 

Impaired Stream 

Segments in the 

Potomac-

Shenandoah and 

James River 

Basins  

Augusta B10R Organic solids 1,556.00 LB/YR 
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19. Lacey Spring 

Benthic TMDL 

Reports for Six 

Impaired Stream 

Segments in the 

Potomac-

Shenandoah and 

James River 

Basins  

Rockingham B47R 
Organic 

solids 
680.00 LB/YR 

20. Orndorff Spring 

Benthic TMDL 

Reports for Six 

Impaired Stream 

Segments in the 

Potomac-

Shenandoah and 

James River 

Basins  

Shenandoah B52R 
Organic 

solids 
103.00 LB/YR 

21. Toms Brook 

Benthic TMDL 

for Toms Brook 

in Shenandoah 

County, Virginia  

Shenandoah B50R Sediment 8.1 T/YR 

22. Goose Creek 

Benthic TMDLs 

for the Goose 

Creek 

Watershed 

Loudoun, 

Fauquier 
A08R Sediment 1,587 T/YR 

23. Little River 

Benthic TMDLs 

for the Goose 

Creek 

Watershed 

Loudoun A08R Sediment 105 T/YR 

24. 
Christians 

Creek 

Fecal Bacteria 

and General 

Standard Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load 

Development for 

Impaired 

Streams in the 

Middle River 

and Upper South 

River 

Watersheds, 

Augusta County, 

VA 

Augusta B14R Sediment 145 T/YR 

25. Moffett Creek 

Fecal Bacteria 

and General 

Standard Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load 

Development for 

Impaired 

Streams in the 

Middle River 

Augusta B13R Sediment 0 T/YR 
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and Upper South 

River 

Watersheds, 

Augusta County, 

VA 

26. 
Upper Middle 

River 

Fecal Bacteria 

and General 

Standard Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load 

Development for 

Impaired 

Streams in the 

Middle River 

and Upper South 

River 

Watersheds, 

Augusta County, 

VA 

Augusta B10R Sediment 1.355 T/YR 

27. Mossy Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development for 

Mossy Creek 

and Long Glade 

Run: Bacteria 

and General 

Standard 

(Benthic) 

Impairments 

Rockingham B19R Sediment 0.04 T/YR 

28. Smith Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) 

Development for 

Smith Creek 

Rockingham, 

Shenandoah 
B47R Sediment 353,867 LB/YR 

29. Abrams Creek 

Opequon 

Watershed 

TMDLs for 

Benthic 

Impairments: 

Abrams Creek 

and Lower 

Opequon Creek, 

Frederick and 

Clarke counties, 

Virginia 

Frederick B09R Sediment 478 T/YR 

30. 
Lower 

Opequon Creek 

Opequon 

Watershed 

TMDLs for 

Benthic 

Impairments: 

Abrams Creek 

and Lower 

Frederick, Clarke B09R Sediment 1,039 T/YR 
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Opequon Creek, 

Frederick and 

Clarke counties, 

Virginia 

31. Mill Creek 

Mill Creek 

Sediment 

TMDL for a 

Benthic 

Impairment, 

Shenandoah 

County, Virginia 

Shenandoah B48R Sediment 0.9 T/YR 

32. South Run 

Benthic TMDL 

Development for 

South Run, 

Virginia 

Fauquier A19R Phosphorus 0.038 T/YR 

33. Lewis Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development for 

Lewis Creek, 

General 

Standard 

(Benthic) 

Augusta B12R Sediment 40 T/YR 

34. Lewis Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development for 

Lewis Creek, 

General 

Standard 

(Benthic) 

Augusta B12R Lead 0 KG/YR 

35. Lewis Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development for 

Lewis Creek, 

General 

Standard 

(Benthic) 

Augusta B12R PAHs 0 KG/YR 

36. Bull Run 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development for 

Lewis Creek, 

General 

Standard 

(Benthic) 

Loudoun, Fairfax, 

and Prince 

William counties, 

and the Cities of 

Manassas and 

Manassas Park 

A23R-

01 
Sediment 5,986.8 T/TR 

37. 
Popes Head 

Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development for 

Lewis Creek, 

General 

Standard 

(Benthic) 

Fairfax County 

and Fairfax City 

A23R-

02 
Sediment 1,594.2 T/YR 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 25, 2016 

3161 

38. Accotink Bay 

PCB Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load 

Development in 

the tidal 

Potomac and 

Anacostia 

Rivers and their 

tidal tributaries 

Fairfax A15R PCBs 0.0992 G/YR 

39. Aquia Creek 

PCB Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load 

Development in 

the tidal 

Potomac and 

Anacostia 

Rivers and their 

tidal tributaries 

Stafford A28E PCBs 6.34 G/YR 

40. 
Belmont Bay/ 

Occoquan Bay 

PCB Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load 

Development in 

the tidal 

Potomac and 

Anacostia 

Rivers and their 

tidal tributaries 

Prince William A25E PCBs 0.409 G/YR 

41. 
Chopawamsic 

Creek 

PCB Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load 

Development in 

the tidal 

Potomac and 

Anacostia 

Rivers and their 

tidal tributaries 

Prince William A26E PCBs 1.35 G/YR 

42. Coan River 

PCB Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load 

Development in 

the tidal 

Potomac and 

Anacostia 

Rivers and their 

tidal tributaries 

Northumberland A34E PCBs 0 G/YR 

43. Dogue Creek 

PCB Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load 

Development in 

the tidal 

Potomac and 

Anacostia 

Fairfax A14E PCBs 20.2 G/YR 
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Rivers and their 

tidal tributaries 

44. Fourmile Run 

PCB Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load 

Development in 

the tidal 

Potomac and 

Anacostia 

Rivers and their 

tidal tributaries 

Arlington A12E PCBs 11 G/YR 

45. Gunston Cove 

PCB Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load 

Development in 

the tidal 

Potomac and 

Anacostia 

Rivers and their 

tidal tributaries 

Fairfax A15E PCBs 0.517 G/YR 

46. 
Hooff Run & 

Hunting Creek 

PCB Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load 

Development in 

the tidal 

Potomac and 

Anacostia 

Rivers and their 

tidal tributaries 

Fairfax A13E PCBs 36.8 G/YR 

47. 
Little Hunting 

Creek 

PCB Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load 

Development in 

the tidal 

Potomac and 

Anacostia 

Rivers and their 

tidal tributaries 

Fairfax A14E PCBs 10.1 G/YR 

48. Monroe Creek 

PCB Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load 

Development in 

the tidal 

Potomac and 

Anacostia 

Rivers and their 

tidal tributaries 

Fairfax A31E PCBs .0177 G/YR 

49. Neabsco Creek 

PCB Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load 

Development in 

the tidal 

Prince William A25E PCBs 6.63 G/YR 
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Potomac and 

Anacostia 

Rivers and their 

tidal tributaries 

50. 
Occoquan 

River 

PCB Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load 

Development in 

the tidal 

Potomac and 

Anacostia 

Rivers and their 

tidal tributaries 

Prince William A25E PCBs 2.86 G/YR 

51. 

Pohick 

Creek/Pohick 

Bay 

PCB Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load 

Development in 

the tidal 

Potomac and 

Anacostia 

Rivers and their 

tidal tributaries 

Fairfax A16E PCBs 13.5 G/YR 

52. Potomac Creek 

PCB Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load 

Development in 

the tidal 

Potomac and 

Anacostia 

Rivers and their 

tidal tributaries 

Stafford A29E PCBs 0.556 G/YR 

53. 
Potomac River, 

Fairview Beach 

PCB Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load 

Development in 

the tidal 

Potomac and 

Anacostia 

Rivers and their 

tidal tributaries 

King George A29E PCBs 0.0183 G/YR 

54. Powells Creek 

PCB Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load 

Development in 

the tidal 

Potomac and 

Anacostia 

Rivers and their 

tidal tributaries 

Prince William A26R PCBs 0.0675 G/YR 
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55. Quantico Creek 

PCB Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load 

Development in 

the tidal 

Potomac and 

Anacostia 

Rivers and their 

tidal tributaries 

Prince William A26R PCBs 0.742 G/YR 

56. 

Upper 

Machodoc 

Creek 

PCB Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load 

Development in 

the tidal 

Potomac and 

Anacostia 

Rivers and their 

tidal tributaries 

King George A30E PCBs 0.0883 G/YR 

57. Difficult Creek 

Benthic TMDL 

Development for 

Difficult Run, 

Virginia  

Fairfax A11R Sediment 3,663.2 T/YR 

58. 
Abrams Creek 

(Reserved) 

Opequon 

Watershed 

TMDLs for 

Benthic 

Impairments 

Frederick and 

Clark 
B09R Sediment 1039 T/YR 

59. 

Lower 

Opequon 

(Reserved) 

Opequon 

Watershed 

TMDLs for 

Benthic 

Impairments 

Frederick and 

Clark 
B09R Sediment 1039 T/YR 

60. South River 

Bacteria and 

Benthic Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load 

Development for 

South River 

Augusta and 

Rockingham 
B32R Sediment 619.4 T/YR 

61. South River 

Bacteria and 

Benthic Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load 

Development for 

South River 

Augusta and 

Rockingham 
B32R Phosphorus 6,929.9 KG/YR 

62. South River 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development for 

Mercury in the 

South River, 

South Fork 

Shenandoah 

Augusta, 

Rockingham, 

Page, and Warren 

B32R Mercury 112 G/YR 
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River, and 

Shenandoah 

River, Virginia  

63. 

South Fork 

Shenandoah 

River 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development for 

Mercury in the 

South River, 

South Fork 

Shenandoah 

River, and 

Shenandoah 

River, Virginia  

Augusta, 

Rockingham, 

Page, and Warren 

B32R, 

B33R 
Mercury 112 G/YR 

64. 
Shenandoah 

River 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development for 

Mercury in the 

South River, 

South Fork 

Shenandoah 

River, and 

Shenandoah 

River, Virginia  

Augusta, 

Rockingham, 

Page, and Warren 

B32R, 

B33R 
Mercury 112 G/YR 

65. Spout Run 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development to 

Address 

Bacteria and 

Benthic 

Impairments in 

the Spout Run 

Watershed, 

Clarke County, 

Virginia  

Clarke B57R Sediment 7.44 T/YR 

66. 
West Strait 

Creek 

Benthic Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load 

Development for 

Strait Creek and 

West Strait 

Creek 

Highland B02R Sediment 0.02 T/D 

67. 
West Strait 

Creek 

Benthic Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load 

Development for 

Strait Creek and 

West Strait 

Creek 

Highland B02R CBOD5 11 KG/D 

68. 
West Strait 

Creek 

Benthic Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load 

Development for 

Highland B02R 

Dry season 

(June – 

December) 

ammonia as N 

1.6 KG/D 
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Strait Creek and 

West Strait 

Creek 

69. 
West Strait 

Creek 

Benthic Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load 

Development for 

Strait Creek and 

West Strait 

Creek 

Highland B02R 

Wet season 

(January – 

May) 

ammonia as N 

2.9 KG/D 

70. Strait Creek 

Benthic Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load 

Development for 

Strait Creek and 

West Strait 

Creek 

Highland B02R Sediment 0.08 T/D 

71. 
Accotink 

Creek, lower 

Bacteria TMDL 

for the Lower 

Accotink Creek 

Watershed 

Fairfax A15 E. coli 1.76E+12 cfu/year 

72. Accotink Creek 

Fecal Coliform 

TMDL for 

Accotink Creek 

Fairfax, Fairfax 

City 
A15 

Fecal 

coliform 
1.30E+14 cfu/year 

73. Beaver Creek 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load 

Development for 

Beaver Creek 

Rockingham B18 E. coli 1.22E+10 cfu/year 

74. Blacks Run 

Fecal Coliform 

TMDL for 

Blacks Run 

Harrisonburg B26 
Fecal 

coliform 
5.52E+09 cfu/year 

75. 
North Fork 

Catoctin Creek 

Fecal Coliform 

TMDL 

Development for 

Catoctin Creek 

Impairments 

Loudoun A02 
Fecal 

coliform 
0 cfu/year 

76. 

Lower South 

Fork Catoctin 

Creek 

Fecal Coliform 

TMDL 

Development for 

Catoctin Creek 

Impairments 

Loudoun A02 
Fecal 

coliform 
1.60E+11 cfu/year 

77. 

Upper South 

Fork Catoctin 

Creek 

Fecal Coliform 

TMDL 

Development for 

Catoctin Creek 

Impairments 

Loudoun A02 
Fecal 

coliform 
4.42E+11 cfu/year 
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78. Catoctin Creek 

Fecal Coliform 

TMDL 

Development for 

Catoctin Creek 

Impairments 

Loudoun A02 
Fecal 

coliform 
0 cfu/year 

79. Licking Run 

Bacteria TMDLs 

for Cedar Run 

and Licking Run 

Fauquier A17 E. coli 2.61E+09 cfu/year 

80. Cedar Run 

Bacteria TMDLs 

for Cedar Run 

and Licking Run 

Prince William, 

Fauquier 

A17, 

A18 
E. coli 5.58E+11 cfu/year 

81. 
Christians 

Creek 

Fecal Coliform 

TMDL for 

Christians Creek 

Augusta B14 
Fecal 

coliform 
1.18E+13 cfu/year 

82. 
Coan River 

(145G) 

Coan River 

Watershed Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load Report for 

Six Shellfish 

Areas Listed 

Due to Bacteria 

Contamination 

Northumberland A34 
Fecal 

coliform 
0 cfu/year 

83. 

Coan River, 

Headly Cove 

(145H) 

Coan River 

Watershed Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load Report for 

Six Shellfish 

Areas Listed 

Due to Bacteria 

Contamination 

Northumberland A34 
Fecal 

coliform 
0 cfu/year 

84. 

Coan River, 

Killneck Creek 

(145E) 

Coan River 

Watershed Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load Report for 

Six Shellfish 

Areas Listed 

Due to Bacteria 

Contamination 

Northumberland A34 
Fecal 

coliform 
0 cfu/year 

85. 

Coan River, 

Stevens Point 

(145F) 

Coan River 

Watershed Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load Report for 

Six Shellfish 

Areas Listed 

Due to Bacteria 

Contamination 

Northumberland A34 
Fecal 

coliform 
0 cfu/year 
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86. 

Mill Creek and 

the Coan River 

(145I) 

Coan River 

Watershed Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load Report for 

Six Shellfish 

Areas Listed 

Due to Bacteria 

Contamination 

Northumberland A34 
Fecal 

coliform 
0 cfu/year 

87. 
The Glebe 

(145D) 

Coan River 

Watershed Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load Report for 

Six Shellfish 

Areas Listed 

Due to Bacteria 

Contamination 

Northumberland A34 
Fecal 

coliform 
0 cfu/year 

88. 
Bridgeman 

Creek 

Cod, Presley, 

Bridgeman, 

Hull, Rogers, 

Cubitt, and Hack 

Creeks Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load (TMDL) 

Report for 

Shellfish 

Condemnation 

Areas Listed 

Due to Bacteria 

Pollution 

Northumberland A34 
Fecal 

coliform 
7.70E+08 MPN/day 

89. Cod Creek, east 

Cod, Presley, 

Bridgeman, 

Hull, Rogers, 

Cubitt, and Hack 

Creeks Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load (TMDL) 

Report for 

Shellfish 

Condemnation 

Areas Listed 

Due to Bacteria 

Pollution 

Northumberland A34 
Fecal 

coliform 
9.06E+08 MPN/day 

90. Rogers Creek 

Cod, Presley, 

Bridgeman, 

Hull, Rogers, 

Cubitt, and Hack 

Creeks Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load (TMDL) 

Report for 

Shellfish 

Condemnation 

Areas Listed 

Northumberland A34 
Fecal 

coliform 
9.83E+08 MPN/day 
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Due to Bacteria 

Pollution 

91. 
Cod Creek, 

west 

Cod, Presley, 

Bridgeman, 

Hull, Rogers, 

Cubitt, and Hack 

Creeks Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load (TMDL) 

Report for 

Shellfish 

Condemnation 

Areas Listed 

Due to Bacteria 

Pollution 

Northumberland A34 
Fecal 

coliform 
1.53E+09 MPN/day 

92. Presley Creek 

Cod, Presley, 

Bridgeman, 

Hull, Rogers, 

Cubitt, and Hack 

Creeks Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load (TMDL) 

Report for 

Shellfish 

Condemnation 

Areas Listed 

Due to Bacteria 

Pollution 

Northumberland A34 
Fecal 

coliform 
3.63E+09 MPN/day 

93. Hack Creek 

Cod, Presley, 

Bridgeman, 

Hull, Rogers, 

Cubitt, and Hack 

Creeks Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load (TMDL) 

Report for 

Shellfish 

Condemnation 

Areas Listed 

Due to Bacteria 

Pollution 

Northumberland A34 
Fecal 

coliform 
3.00E+09 MPN/day 

94. Cubitt Creek 

Cod, Presley, 

Bridgeman, Hull, 

Rogers, Cubitt, 

and Hack Creeks 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish 

Condemnation 

Areas Listed Due 

to Bacteria 

Pollution 

Northumberland A34 
Fecal 

coliform 
4.25E+09 MPN/day 
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95. Hull Creek 

Cod, Presley, 

Bridgeman, 

Hull, Rogers, 

Cubitt, and Hack 

Creeks Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load (TMDL) 

Report for 

Shellfish 

Condemnation 

Areas Listed 

Due to Bacteria 

Pollution 

Northumberland A34 
Fecal 

coliform 
1.27E+10 MPN/day 

96. Cooks Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) 

Development for 

Cooks Creek 

Rockingham, 

Harrisonburg 

B25, 

B26 

Fecal 

coliform 
0 cfu/year 

97. Cub Run 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load for Cub 

Run 

Rockingham B34 E. coli 1.74E+10 cfu/year 

98. Difficult Run 

Bacteria TMDL 

for the Difficult 

Run Watershed 

Fairfax A11 E. coli 9.86E+12 cfu/year 

99. Dry River 

Fecal Coliform 

TMDL for Dry 

River 

Rockingham 

B20, 

B21, 

B22 

Fecal 

coliform 
0 cfu/year 

100. Four Mile Run 

Fecal Coliform 

TMDL (Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load) 

Development for 

Four Mile Run 

Arlington, 

Alexandria 
A12 

Fecal 

coliform 
2.04E+13 cfu/year 

101. Jackson Creek 

Gardner, 

Jackson, and 

Bonum Creeks 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish 

Condemnation 

Areas Listed 

Due to Bacteria 

Contamination 

Westmoreland A33 
Fecal 

coliform 
1.44E+09 MPN/day 

102. Gardner Creek 

Gardner, 

Jackson, and 

Bonum Creeks 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

Westmoreland A33 
Fecal 

coliform 
1.96E+09 MPN/day 
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for Shellfish 

Condemnation 

Areas Listed 

Due to Bacteria 

Contamination 

103. Bonum Creek 

Gardner, 

Jackson, and 

Bonum Creeks 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish 

Condemnation 

Areas Listed 

Due to Bacteria 

Contamination 

Westmoreland A33 
Fecal 

coliform 
2.96E+09 MPN/day 

104. Little River 

Bacteria TMDLs 

for the Goose 

Creek 

Watershed 

Fauquier A08 
Fecal 

coliform 
1.38E+10 cfu/year 

105. 
South Fork 

Sycolin Creek 

Bacteria TMDLs 

for the Goose 

Creek 

Watershed 

Loudoun A08 
Fecal 

coliform 
1.41E+10 cfu/year 

106. Sycolin Creek 

Bacteria TMDLs 

for the Goose 

Creek 

Watershed 

Loudoun A08 
Fecal 

coliform 
2.79E+10 cfu/year 

107. Cromwells Run 

Bacteria TMDLs 

for the Goose 

Creek 

Watershed 

Fauquier A05 
Fecal 

coliform 
9.80E+10 cfu/year 

108. 
Beaverdam 

Creek 

Bacteria TMDLs 

for the Goose 

Creek 

Watershed 

Loudoun A07 
Fecal 

coliform 
1.21E+12 cfu/year 

109. 
North Fork 

Goose Creek 

Bacteria TMDLs 

for the Goose 

Creek 

Watershed 

Loudoun A06 
Fecal 

coliform 
3.11E+13 cfu/year 

110. 
Goose Creek 

and tributaries 

Bacteria TMDLs 

for the Goose 

Creek 

Watershed 

Loudoun, 

Fauquier 

A04, 

A05, 

A06, 

A07, 

A08 

Fecal 

coliform 
3.88E+13 cfu/year 

111. 
Hawksbill 

Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development for 

Hawksbill Creek 

Page B39 E. coli 3.13E+12 cfu/year 
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112. Hogue Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development for 

Bacteria (E. 

coli) Impairment 

in Hogue Creek 

Frederick B06 E. coli 6.58E+11 cfu/year 

113. Holmans Creek 

Fecal Coliform 

TMDL 

Development for 

Holmans Creek 

Shenandoah B45 
Fecal 

coliform 
3.20E+10 cfu/year 

114. Holmes Run 

Bacteria TMDLs 

for the Hunting 

Creek, Cameron 

Run, and 

Holmes Run 

Watersheds 

Fairfax, 

Alexandria, Falls 

Church 

A13 E. coli 8.38E+13 cfu/year 

115. Cameron Run 

Bacteria TMDLs 

for the Hunting 

Creek, Cameron 

Run, and 

Holmes Run 

Watersheds 

Fairfax, 

Alexandria, Falls 

Church 

A13 E. coli 1.33E+14 cfu/year 

116. Hunting Creek 

Bacteria TMDLs 

for the Hunting 

Creek, Cameron 

Run, and 

Holmes Run 

Watersheds 

Fairfax, 

Alexandria, Falls 

Church 

A13 E. coli 3.24E+14 cfu/year 

117. 
Limestone 

Branch 

Bacteria TMDL 

for Limestone 

Branch 

Loudoun A03 E. coli 5.83E+11 cfu/year 

118. Linville Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development for 

Linville Creek: 

Bacteria and 

General 

Standard 

(Benthic) 

Impairments 

Rockingham B46 E. coli 1.10E+11 cfu/year 

119. 
Bridge Creek 

(10-9X) 

Little Wicomico 

River Watershed 

TMDL for 

Three Shellfish 

Areas Listed 

Due to Bacteria 

Contamination 

Northumberland A34 E. coli 0 cfu/year 
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120. 

Little 

Wicomico 

River (10-19) 

Little Wicomico 

River Watershed 

TMDL for 

Three Shellfish 

Areas Listed 

Due to Bacteria 

Contamination 

Northumberland A34 E. coli 0 cfu/year 

121. 

Little 

Wicomico 

River (10-20) 

Little Wicomico 

River Watershed 

TMDL for 

Three Shellfish 

Areas Listed 

Due to Bacteria 

Contamination 

Northumberland A34 E. coli 0 cfu/year 

122. 

Little 

Wicomico 

River, Cod 

Creek (10-

13.5Z) 

Little Wicomico 

River Watershed 

TMDL for 

Three Shellfish 

Areas Listed 

Due to Bacteria 

Contamination 

Northumberland A34 E. coli 0 cfu/year 

123. Branson Cove 

Lower 

Machodoc 

Creek Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load (TMDL) 

Report for 

Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination 

Westmoreland A32 
Fecal 

coliform 
4.11E+08 MPN/day 

124. 
Cabin Point 

Creek 

Lower 

Machodoc 

Creek Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load (TMDL) 

Report for 

Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination 

Westmoreland A32 
Fecal 

coliform 
1.93E+09 MPN/day 

125. 
Glebe and 

Ames Creeks 

Lower 

Machodoc 

Creek Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load (TMDL) 

Report for 

Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination 

Westmoreland A32 
Fecal 

coliform 
2.13E+09 MPN/day 
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126. 

Lower 

Machodoc 

Creek 

Lower 

Machodoc 

Creek Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load (TMDL) 

Report for 

Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination 

Westmoreland A32 
Fecal 

coliform 
9.67E+09 MPN/day 

127. 
Weatherall 

Creek 

Lower 

Machodoc 

Creek Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load (TMDL) 

Report for 

Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination 

Westmoreland A32 
Fecal 

coliform 
9.95E+08 MPN/day 

128. Mattox Creek 

Fecal Bacteria 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development for 

Mattox Creek 

Westmoreland, 

King George 
A31 E. coli 2.20E+06 cfu/year 

129. Mattox Creek 

Fecal Bacteria 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development for 

Mattox Creek 

Westmoreland, 

King George 
A31 Enterococci 1.26E+10 cfu/year 

130. 
Mattox Creek 

tidal (shellfish) 

Fecal Bacteria 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development for 

Mattox Creek 

Westmoreland, 

King George 
A31 

Fecal 

coliform 
5.03E+09 cfu/year 

131. Moffett Creek 

Fecal Bacteria 

and General 

Standard Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load 

Development for 

Impaired 

Streams in the 

Middle River 

and Upper South 

River 

Watersheds 

Augusta B13 E. coli 0 cfu/year 
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132. Polecat Draft 

Fecal Bacteria 

and General 

Standard Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load 

Development for 

Impaired 

Streams in the 

Middle River 

and Upper South 

River 

Watersheds 

Augusta B15 E. coli 0 cfu/year 

133. Lewis Creek 

Fecal Bacteria 

and General 

Standard Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load 

Development for 

Impaired 

Streams in the 

Middle River 

and Upper South 

River 

Watersheds 

Staunton B12 E. coli 3.48E+09 cfu/year 

134. 
Upper Middle 

River 

Fecal Bacteria 

and General 

Standard Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load 

Development for 

Impaired 

Streams in the 

Middle River 

and Upper South 

River 

Watersheds 

Augusta 
B10, 

B11 
E. coli 8.53E+09 cfu/year 

135. 
Upper South 

River 

Fecal Bacteria 

and General 

Standard Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load 

Development for 

Impaired 

Streams in the 

Middle River 

and Upper South 

River 

Watersheds 

Augusta B30 E. coli 1.06E+11 cfu/year 
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136. 

Lower Middle 

River 

watershed 

Fecal Bacteria 

and General 

Standard Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load 

Development for 

Impaired 

Streams in the 

Middle River 

and Upper South 

River 

Watersheds 

Augusta, Staunton 

B10, 

B11, 

B12, 

B13, 

B14, 

B15 

E. coli 1.24E+13 cfu/year 

137. Mill Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

Mill Creek 

Bacteria (E. 

coli) Impairment 

Page B38 E. coli 0 cfu/year 

138. Mill Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) 

Development for 

Mill Creek and 

Pleasant Run 

Rockingham B29 
Total 

phosphorus 
116 lbs/year 

139. 
Mill Creek and 

tributaries 

Fecal coliform 

TMDL for Mill 

Creek 

Watershed 

Rockingham B29 
Fecal 

coliform 
0 cfu/year 

140. 

Mill Creek 

including 

unnamed 

tributary to 

Kissinger 

Millpond and 

Kissinger 

Millpond 

Bacteria TMDL 

for (nontidal) 

Mill Creek 

including Un-

named Tributary 

to Kissinger 

Millpond, and 

Kissinger 

Millpond 

Northumberland A33 E. coli 5.91E+10 cfu/year 

141. Monroe Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish 

Areas Listed 

Due to Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Monroe Bay: 

Monroe Creek 

Westmoreland A31 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A

2
 MPN/day 
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142. Mossy Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development for 

Mossy Creek 

and Long Glade 

Run: Bacteria 

and General 

Standard 

(Benthic) 

Impairments 

Augusta B19 E. coli 1.74E+09 cfu/year 

143. 
Long Glade 

Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development for 

Mossy Creek 

and Long Glade 

Run: Bacteria 

and General 

Standard 

(Benthic) 

Impairments 

Augusta B24 E. coli 5.23E+09 cfu/year 

144. Muddy Creek 

Fecal coliform 

TMDL for 

Muddy Creek 

Rockingham B22 
Fecal 

coliform 
3.04E+11 cfu/year 

145. Naked Creek 

Fecal coliform 

TMDL for 

Naked Creek 

Augusta B28 
Fecal 

coliform 
5.54E+09 cfu/year 

146. Neabsco Creek 

Bacteria TMDL 

for Neabsco 

Creek 

Prince William A25 E. coli 1.27E+12 cfu/day 

147. Barnes Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish 

Areas Listed 

Due to Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Potomac River: 

Nomini Creek 

Westmoreland A32 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A

2
 MPN/day 

148. Buckner Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish 

Areas Listed 

Due to Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Potomac River: 

Nomini Creek 

Westmoreland A32 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A

2
 MPN/day 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 25, 2016 

3178 

149. 
Cold Harbor 

Bay 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish 

Areas Listed 

Due to Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Potomac River: 

Nomini Creek 

Westmoreland A32 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A

2
 MPN/day 

150. 
Currioman 

Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish 

Areas Listed 

Due to Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Potomac River: 

Nomini Creek 

Westmoreland A32 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A

2
 MPN/day 

151. Nomini Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish 

Areas Listed 

Due to Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Potomac River: 

Nomini Creek 

Westmoreland A32 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A

2
 MPN/day 

152. 
North Prong 

Buckner Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish 

Areas Listed 

Due to Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Potomac River: 

Nomini Creek 

Westmoreland A32 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A

2
 MPN/day 

153. Pierce Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish 

Areas Listed 

Due to Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Potomac River: 

Nomini Creek 

Westmoreland A32 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A

2
 MPN/day 

154. Mill Creek 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load 

Development for 

Mill Creek, 

Stony Creek, 

and the North 

Shenandoah B48 E. coli 8.80E+09 cfu/year 
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Fork of the 

Shenandoah 

River 

155. Stony Creek 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load 

Development for 

Mill Creek, 

Stony Creek, 

and the North 

Fork of the 

Shenandoah 

River 

Shenandoah B49 E. coli 4.42E+12 cfu/year 

156. 

North Fork 

Shenandoah 

River 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load 

Development for 

Mill Creek, 

Stony Creek, 

and the North 

Fork of the 

Shenandoah 

River 

Frederick, 

Rockingham, 

Shenandoah 

B42, 

B43, 

B44, 

B45, 

B46, 

B47, 

B48, 

B49, 

B50, 

B51, 

B52, 

B53, 

B54 

E. coli 1.02E+13 cfu/year 

157. North River 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load 

Development for 

North River 

Augusta, Staunton, 

Rockingham, 

Harrisonburg 

B10, 

B11, 

B12, 

B13, 

B14, 

B15, 

B16, 

B17, 

B18, 

B19, 

B20, 

B21, 

B22, 

B23, 

B24, 

B25, 

B26, 

B27, 

B28, 

B29 

E. coli 5.32E+13 cfu/year 

158. 

Broad Run (3) 

(VAN-A19R-

05) 

Bacteria TMDLs 

for Popes Head 

Creek, Broad 

Run, Kettle Run, 

South Run, 

Little Bull Run, 

Bull Run and 

Occoquan River 

Prince William, 

Fauquier 
A19 E. coli 2.35E+10 cfu/year 
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159. Little Bull Run 

Bacteria TMDLs 

for Popes Head 

Creek, Broad 

Run, Kettle Run, 

South Run, 

Little Bull Run, 

Bull Run and 

Occoquan River 

Prince William A21 E. coli 3.29E+10 cfu/year 

160. 

Broad Run (2) 

(VAN-A19R-

02) 

Bacteria TMDLs 

for Popes Head 

Creek, Broad 

Run, Kettle Run, 

South Run, 

Little Bull Run, 

Bull Run and 

Occoquan River 

Fauquier A19 E. coli 1.36E+11 cfu/year 

161. 
Occoquan 

River 

Bacteria TMDLs 

for Popes Head 

Creek, Broad 

Run, Kettle Run, 

South Run, 

Little Bull Run, 

Bull Run and 

Occoquan River 

Manassas, 

Fauquier, Prince 

William 

A17, 

A18, 

A19, 

A20 

E. coli 2.29E+11 cfu/year 

162. South Run 

Bacteria TMDLs 

for Popes Head 

Creek, Broad 

Run, Kettle Run, 

South Run, 

Little Bull Run, 

Bull Run and 

Occoquan River 

Fauquier A19 E. coli 4.32E+11 cfu/year 

163. 

Broad Run (1) 

(VAN-A19R-

01) 

Bacteria TMDLs 

for Popes Head 

Creek, Broad 

Run, Kettle Run, 

South Run, 

Little Bull Run, 

Bull Run and 

Occoquan River 

Fauquier A19 E. coli 5.84E+11 cfu/year 

164. 
Popes Head 

Creek 

Bacteria TMDLs 

for Popes Head 

Creek, Broad 

Run, Kettle Run, 

South Run, 

Little Bull Run, 

Bull Run and 

Occoquan River 

Fairfax A23 E. coli 7.12E+11 cfu/year 
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165. Kettle Run 

Bacteria TMDLs 

for Popes Head 

Creek, Broad 

Run, Kettle Run, 

South Run, 

Little Bull Run, 

Bull Run and 

Occoquan River 

Prince William A19 E. coli 8.30E+12 cfu/year 

166. Bull Run 

Bacteria TMDLs 

for Popes Head 

Creek, Broad 

Run, Kettle Run, 

South Run, 

Little Bull Run, 

Bull Run and 

Occoquan River 

Manassas Park, 

Prince William, 

Fairfax, Loudoun 

A21, 

A22, 

A23 

E. coli 1.11E+14 cfu/year 

167. Abrams Creek 

Bacteria TMDLs 

for Abrams 

Creek and 

Upper and 

Lower Opequon 

Creek 

Frederick, 

Winchester 
B09 E. coli 3.10E+12 cfu/year 

168. 

Upper Opequon 

Creek 

watershed 

Bacteria TMDLs 

for Abrams 

Creek and 

Upper and 

Lower Opequon 

Creek 

Frederick B08 E. coli 1.13E+13 cfu/year 

169. 

Lower 

Opequon Creek 

watershed and 

tributaries 

Bacteria TMDLs 

for Abrams 

Creek and 

Upper and 

Lower Opequon 

Creek 

Frederick, Clarke, 

Winchester 

B08, 

B09 
E. coli 2.13E+13 cfu/year 

170. Piney Run 
Bacteria TMDL 

for Piney Run 
Loudoun A01 E. coli 3.48E+09 cfu/year 

171. Pleasant Run 

Fecal coliform 

TMDL for 

Pleasant Run 

Rockingham B27 
Fecal 

coliform 
0 cfu/year 

172. Popes Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish 

Areas Listed 

Due to Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Potomac River: 

Mattox Creek to 

Currioman Bay 

Westmoreland A31 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A

2
 MPN/day 
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173. Potomac Run 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load 

Development for 

Tributaries to 

the Potomac 

River: Prince 

William and 

Stafford 

Counties 

Stafford A29 E. coli 1.77E+11 cfu/year 

174. 

Potomac River, 

unnamed 

tributary 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load 

Development for 

Tributaries to 

the Potomac 

River: Prince 

William and 

Stafford 

Counties 

Stafford A26 E. coli 3.92E+11 cfu/year 

175. 

Chopawamsic 

Creek, North 

Branch 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load 

Development for 

Tributaries to 

the Potomac 

River: Prince 

William and 

Stafford 

Counties 

Prince William A26 E. coli 4.01E+11 cfu/year 

176. Potomac Creek 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load 

Development for 

Tributaries to 

the Potomac 

River: Prince 

William and 

Stafford 

Counties 

Stafford A29 E. coli 7.35E+11 cfu/year 

177. 

Quantico 

Creek, South 

Fork 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load 

Development for 

Tributaries to 

the Potomac 

River: Prince 

William and 

Stafford 

Counties 

Prince William A26 E. coli 1.09E+12 cfu/year 
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178. 
Accokeek 

Creek 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load 

Development for 

Tributaries to 

the Potomac 

River: Prince 

William and 

Stafford 

Counties 

Stafford A29 E. coli 3.18E+12 cfu/year 

179. Powells Creek 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load 

Development for 

Tributaries to 

the Potomac 

River: Prince 

William and 

Stafford 

Counties 

Prince William A26 E. coli 3.18E+12 cfu/year 

180. Quantico Creek 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load 

Development for 

Tributaries to 

the Potomac 

River: Prince 

William and 

Stafford 

Counties 

Prince William A26 E. coli 3.75E+12 cfu/year 

181. Austin Run 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load 

Development for 

Tributaries to 

the Potomac 

River: Prince 

William and 

Stafford 

Counties 

Stafford A28 E. coli 3.14E+13 cfu/year 

182. Rosier Creek 

Bacteria TMDL 

for Rosier Creek 

Watershed 

King George A31 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A

2
 MPN/day 

183. Smith Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development for 

Smith Creek 

Shenandoah, 

Rockingham 
B47 E. coli 8.53E+11 cfu/year 
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184. 

South Fork 

Shenandoah 

River 

Bacteria TMDL 

Development 

and Benthic 

Stressor 

Analysis for 

South Fork 

Shenandoah 

River 

Augusta, 

Staunton, 

Rockingham, 

Harrisonburg, 

Page, Warren, 

Waynesboro 

B10, 

B11, 

B12, 

B13, 

B14, 

B15, 

B16, 

B17, 

B18, 

B19, 

B20, 

B21, 

B22, 

B23, 

B24, 

B25, 

B26, 

B27, 

B28, 

B29, 

B30, 

B31, 

B32, 

B33, 

B34, 

B35, 

B36, 

B37, 

B38, 

B39, 

B40, 

B41 

E. coli 1.43E+14 cfu/year 

185. South River 

Bacteria and 

Benthic Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load 

Development for 

South River 

Augusta, 

Waynesboro 

B30, 

B31, 

B32 

E. coli 1.13E+14 cfu/year 

186. Page Brook 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

Developments to 

Address 

Bacteria and 

Benthic 

Impairments in 

the Spout Run 

Watershed 

Clarke B57 E. coli 2.18E+11 cfu/year 

187. Roseville Run 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

Developments to 

Address 

Bacteria and 

Benthic 

Clarke B57 E. coli 3.05E+11 cfu/year 
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Impairments in 

the Spout Run 

Watershed 

188. Spout Run 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

Developments to 

Address 

Bacteria and 

Benthic 

Impairments in 

the Spout Run 

Watershed 

Clarke B57 E. coli 5.22E+11 cfu/year 

189. Mine Run 

Bacteria TMDL 

Development for 

Tributaries to 

the Potomac 

River: Sugarland 

Run, Mine Run, 

and Pimmit Run 

Fairfax A11 E. coli 1.22E+11 cfu/year 

190. Pimmit Run 

Bacteria TMDL 

Development for 

Tributaries to 

the Potomac 

River: Sugarland 

Run, Mine Run, 

and Pimmit Run 

Arlington, Fairfax A12 E. coli 1.17E+12 cfu/year 

191. Sugarland Run 

Bacteria TMDL 

Development for 

Tributaries to 

the Potomac 

River: Sugarland 

Run, Mine Run, 

and Pimmit Run 

Fairfax A10 E. coli 4.78E+12 cfu/year 

192. 
Tidal Four Mile 

Run 

Bacteria TMDL 

for the Tidal 

Four Mile Run 

Arlington, 

Alexandria 
A12 E. coli 1.42E+14 cfu/year 

193. Deep Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish 

Areas Listed 

Due to Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Upper 

Machodoc 

Creek 

King George A30 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A

2
 MPN/day 

194. 

Upper 

Machodoc 

Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish 

Areas Listed 

King George A30 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A

2
 MPN/day 
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Due to Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Upper 

Machodoc 

Creek 

195. 

Williams 

Creek, Upper 

Machodoc 

Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish 

Areas Listed 

Due to Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Upper 

Machodoc 

Creek 

King George A30 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A

2
 MPN/day 

196. Dungan Cove 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish 

Areas Listed 

Due to Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Yeocomico 

River 

Northumberland A33 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A

2
 MPN/day 

197. 
Hampton Hall 

Branch 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish 

Areas Listed 

Due to Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Yeocomico 

River 

Westmoreland A33 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A

2
 MPN/day 

198. Lodge Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish 

Areas Listed 

Due to Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Yeocomico 

River 

Northumberland A33 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A

2
 MPN/day 

199. Mill Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish 

Areas Listed 

Due to Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Yeocomico 

River 

Northumberland A33 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A

2
 MPN/day 
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200. 
White Point 

Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish 

Areas Listed 

Due to Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Yeocomico 

River 

Westmoreland A33 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A

2
 MPN/day 

201. Crooked Run 

Bacteria TMDL 

Development for 

Crooked Run, 

Borden Marsh 

Run, Willow 

Brook, West 

Run, Long 

Branch, 

Stephens Run, 

Manassas Run, 

and Happy 

Creek 

Watersheds, and 

Sediment 

TMDL 

Development for 

Happy Creek 

Watershed 

Frederick, Warren B56R E. coli 2.22E+12 cfu/year 

202. 
Borden Marsh 

Run 

Bacteria TMDL 

Development for 

Crooked Run, 

Borden Marsh 

Run, Willow 

Brook, West 

Run, Long 

Branch, 

Stephens Run, 

Manassas Run, 

and Happy 

Creek 

Watersheds, and 

Sediment 

TMDL 

Development for 

Happy Creek 

Watershed 

Clarke, Warren B55R E.coli 2.81E+11 cfu/year 

203. Willow Brook 

Bacteria TMDL 

Development for 

Crooked Run, 

Borden Marsh 

Run, Willow 

Brook, West 

Run, Long 

Branch, 

Warren B55R E. coli 2.33E+11 cfu/year 
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Stephens Run, 

Manassas Run, 

and Happy 

Creek 

Watersheds, and 

Sediment 

TMDL 

Development for 

Happy Creek 

Watershed 

204. West Run 

Bacteria TMDL 

Development for 

Crooked Run, 

Borden Marsh 

Run, Willow 

Brook, West 

Run, Long 

Branch, 

Stephens Run, 

Manassas Run, 

and Happy 

Creek 

Watersheds, and 

Sediment 

TMDL 

Development for 

Happy Creek 

Watershed 

Frederick, Warren B56R E. coli 5.80E+11 cfu/year 

205. Long Branch 

Bacteria TMDL 

Development for 

Crooked Run, 

Borden Marsh 

Run, Willow 

Brook, West 

Run, Long 

Branch, 

Stephens Run, 

Manassas Run, 

and Happy 

Creek 

Watersheds, and 

Sediment 

TMDL 

Development for 

Happy Creek 

Watershed 

Clarke B57R E. coli 1.73E+11 cfu/year 

206. Stephens Run 

Bacteria TMDL 

Development for 

Crooked Run, 

Borden Marsh 

Run, Willow 

Brook, West 

Run, Long 

Branch, 

Frederick B56R E. coli 3.07E+11 cfu/year 
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Stephens Run, 

Manassas Run, 

and Happy 

Creek 

Watersheds, and 

Sediment 

TMDL 

Development for 

Happy Creek 

Watershed 

207. Manassas Run 

Bacteria TMDL 

Development for 

Crooked Run, 

Borden Marsh 

Run, Willow 

Brook, West 

Run, Long 

Branch, 

Stephens Run, 

Manassas Run, 

and Happy 

Creek 

Watersheds, and 

Sediment 

TMDL 

Development for 

Happy Creek 

Watershed 

Warren B55R E. coli 3.24E+11 cfu/year 

208. Happy Creek 

Bacteria TMDL 

Development for 

Crooked Run, 

Borden Marsh 

Run, Willow 

Brook, West 

Run, Long 

Branch, 

Stephens Run, 

Manassas Run, 

and Happy 

Creek 

Watersheds, and 

Sediment 

TMDL 

Development for 

Happy Creek 

Watershed 

Warren B41R E. coli 4.27E+11 cfu/year 

209. Happy Creek 

Bacteria TMDL 

Development for 

Crooked Run, 

Borden Marsh 

Run, Willow 

Brook, West 

Run, Long 

Branch, 

Warren B41R Sediment 29.05 tons/year 
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Stephens Run, 

Manassas Run, 

and Happy 

Creek 

Watersheds, and 

Sediment 

TMDL 

Development for 

Happy Creek 

Watershed 

210. Turley Creek 

TMDLs for 

Turley Creek 

(sediment) and 

Long Meadow 

Run (sediment 

and nitrogen) 

Rockingham B45 Sediment 19.87 tons/year 

211. 
Long Meadow 

Run 

TMDLs for 

Turley Creek 

(sediment) and 

Long Meadow 

Run (sediment 

and nitrogen) 

Rockingham B45 Sediment 27.92 tons/year 

212. 
Long Meadow 

Run 

TMDLs for 

Turley Creek 

(sediment) and 

Long Meadow 

Run (sediment 

and nitrogen) 

Rockingham B45 Nitrogen 520.6 lbs/year 

Notes: 
1
The total WLA can be increased prior to modification provided that DEQ tracks these changes for bacteria TMDLs where 

the permit is consistent with water quality standards for bacteria. 
2
There were no point source dischargers in the modeled TMDL area. 

EDITOR'S NOTE: Subsections B and C of 9VAC25-720-50 are not amended; therefore, the text of those subsections is not set 

out. 

9VAC25-720-60. James River Basin.  

A. Total maximum daily loads (TMDLs).  

TMDL # Stream Name TMDL Title City/County WBID Pollutant WLA
1
 Units 

1. Pheasanty Run Benthic 

TMDL 

Reports for 

Six Impaired 

Stream 

Segments in 

the Potomac-

Shenandoah 

and James 

River Basins 

Bath I14R Organic 

solids 

1,231.00 LB/YR 
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2. Wallace Mill 

Stream 

Benthic 

TMDL 

Reports for 

Six Impaired 

Stream 

Segments in 

the Potomac-

Shenandoah 

and James 

River Basins 

Augusta I32R Organic 

solids 

2,814.00 LB/YR 

3. Montebello Sp. 

Branch 

Benthic 

TMDL 

Reports for 

Six Impaired 

Stream 

Segments in 

the Potomac-

Shenandoah 

and James 

River Basins 

Nelson H09R Organic 

solids 

37.00 LB/YR 

4. Unnamed 

tributary to 

Deep Creek 

General 

Standard Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

for Unnamed 

Tributary to 

Deep Creek 

Nottoway J11R Raw 

sewage 

0 GAL/YR 

5.  Unnamed 

tributary to 

Chickahominy 

River 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) 

Development 

for the 

Unnamed 

Tributary to 

the 

Chickahominy 

River 

Hanover G05R Total 

phosphorus 

409.35 LB/YR 

6. Rivanna River Benthic 

TMDL 

Development 

for the 

Rivanna River 

Watershed 

Albemarle, 

Greene, 

Nelson, 

Orange 

H27R, 

H28R 

Sediment 10,229 Lbs/Day 

7. Jackson River Benthic 

TMDL 

Development 

for the 

Jackson River, 

Virginia 

Alleghany, 

Bath, Highland 

I04R, 

I09R 

Total 

phosphorus 

72,955 LB/GS
2
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8. Jackson River Benthic 

TMDL 

Development 

for the 

Jackson River, 

Virginia 

Alleghany, 

Bath, Highland 

I04R, 

I09R 

Total 

nitrogen 

220,134 LB/GS 

9. Little 

Calfpasture 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

to Address a 

Benthic 

Impairment in 

the Little 

Calfpasture 

River, 

Rockbridge 

County, 

Virginia 

Rockbridge 132R Sediment 30.4 T/YR 

10. Phelps Branch Phelps Branch 

Sediment 

TMDL 

Development 

Report for a 

Benthic 

Impairment in 

Appomattox 

County, 

Virginia 

Appomattox H06R Sediment 115.7 T/YR 

11. Long Branch Sediment 

TMDL 

Development 

Report for 

Benthic 

Impairments 

in Long 

Branch and 

Buffalo River 

in Amherst 

County, 

Virginia 

Amherst H11R Sediment 16.2 T/YR 

12. Buffalo River Sediment 

TMDL 

Development 

Report for 

Benthic 

Impairments in 

Long Branch 

and Buffalo 

River in 

Amherst 

County, 

Virginia 

Amherst H11R Sediment 306.4 T/YR 
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13. Chickahominy 

River 

Benthic 

TMDL 

Development 

for 

Chickahominy 

River, 

Virginia 

Hanover, 

Henrico 

G05R Sediment 294.03 T/YR 

14. Colliers Creek Bacteria 

TMDL 

Development 

for Colliers 

Creek, North 

Fork Buffalo 

Creek, South 

Fork Buffalo 

Creek, 

Buffalo 

Creek, Maury 

River, and 

Cedar Creek 

and a 

Sediment 

TMDL 

Development 

for Colliers 

Creek 

Rockbridge 138R Sediment 103.4 T/YR 

15. Angola Creek 

(1) - VAC-

J06R_ANG01A

00 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the 

Appomattox 

River Basin 

Cumberland J06 E. coli 0 cfu/year 

16. Angola Creek 

(2) - VAC-

J06R_ANG02A

00 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the 

Appomattox 

River Basin 

Cumberland J06 E. coli 0 cfu/year 

17. Horsepen Creek Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the 

Appomattox 

River Basin 

Cumberland J06 E. coli 0 cfu/year 

18. Little Sandy 

Creek 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the 

Prince Edward J03 E. coli 0 cfu/year 
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Appomattox 

River Basin 

19. Saylers Creek  Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the 

Appomattox 

River Basin 

Prince Edward J06 E. coli 0 cfu/year 

20. Spring Creek Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the 

Appomattox 

River Basin 

Prince Edward J02 E. coli 0 cfu/year 

21. West Creek Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the 

Appomattox 

River Basin 

Amelia J11 E. coli 0 cfu/year 

22. Briery Creek Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the 

Appomattox 

River Basin 

Prince Edward J05 E. coli 3.50E+09 cfu/year 

23. Bush River (1) - 

VAC-

J04R_BSR02A02 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the 

Appomattox 

River Basin 

Prince Edward J04, 

J05 

E. coli 3.50E+09 cfu/year 

24. Bush River (2) - 

VAC-

J03R_BSR03A02 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the 

Appomattox 

River Basin 

Prince Edward J03, 

J04, 

J05 

E. coli 3.50E+09 cfu/year 

25. Swift Creek (1) - 

VAP-

J16R_SFT01A00 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the 

Appomattox 

River Basin 

Chesterfield J16 E. coli 8.37E+09 cfu/year 
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26. Swift Creek (2) - 

VAP-

J17R_SFT01B98 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the 

Appomattox 

River Basin 

Chesterfield J16, 

J17 

E. coli 3.24E+11 cfu/year 

27. Swift Creek (3) - 

VAP-

J17R_SFT01C98 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the 

Appomattox 

River Basin 

Chesterfield J16, 

J17 

E. coli 4.76E+11 cfu/year 

28. Flat Creek Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the 

Appomattox 

River Basin 

Nottoway, 

Amelia 

J08, 

J09 

E. coli 5.24E+11 cfu/year 

29. Nibbs Creek Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the 

Appomattox 

River Basin 

Amelia J09 E. coli 5.24E+11 cfu/year 

30. Deep Creek Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the 

Appomattox 

River Basin 

Nottoway J11 E. coli 8.71E+11 cfu/year 

31. Appomattox 

River (1) - 

VAC-

J01R_APP03A

02, VAC-

J01R_APP04A

02, VAC-

J01R_APP05A

04, VAC-

J06R_APP05A

02, VAP-

J07R_APP01A

98, VAP-

J10R_APP01A

98 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the 

Appomattox 

River Basin 

Cumberland, 

Powhatan, 

Amelia, Prince 

Edward, 

Appomattox 

J01, 

J02, 

J03, 

J04, 

J05, 

J06, 

J07 

E. coli 1.07E+13 cfu/year 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 25, 2016 

3196 

32. Appomattox 

River (2), lower 

- VAP-J15R_ 

APP01A98 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the 

Appomattox 

River Basin 

Chesterfield, 

Cumberland, 

Powhatan, 

Nottoway, 

Amelia, 

Dinwiddie, 

Prince 

Edward, 

Appomattox 

J01, 

J02, 

J03, 

J04, 

J05, 

J06, 

J07, 

J08, 

J09, 

J10, 

J11, 

J12, 

J13, 

J14, 

J15 

E. coli 1.66E+13 cfu/year 

33. Appomattox 

River and 

tributaries, 

lower tidal (3) - 

VAP-J15E_ 

APP01A98, 

VAP-J15E_ 

APP02A98, 

VAP-J15E_ 

APP02B12 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the 

Appomattox 

River Basin 

Chesterfield, 

Cumberland, 

Nottoway, 

Petersburg, 

Amelia, 

Colonial 

Heights, 

Prince 

Edward, 

Appomattox 

J01, 

J02, 

J03, 

J04, 

J05, 

J06, 

J07, 

J08, 

J09, 

J10, 

J11, 

J12, 

J13, 

J14, 

J15, 

J16, 

J17 

E. coli 7.47E+13 cfu/year 

34. Bear Garden 

Creek 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) 

Development 

for the Bear 

Garden Creek 

Watershed 

Buckingham H20 E. coli 3.15E+08 cfu/day 

35. Stonewall 

Creek 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for Bent 

Creek, North 

Creek, 

Stonewall 

Creek, 

Walkers Ford 

Creek, and 

Wreck Island 

Creek 

Appomattox H05 E. coli 9.28E+10 cfu/year 
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36. Bent Creek Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for Bent 

Creek, North 

Creek, 

Stonewall 

Creek, 

Walkers Ford 

Creek, and 

Wreck Island 

Creek 

Appomattox H07 E. coli 2.26E+11 cfu/year 

37. North Creek Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for Bent 

Creek, North 

Creek, 

Stonewall 

Creek, 

Walkers Ford 

Creek, and 

Wreck Island 

Creek 

Appomattox H06 E. coli 2.96E+11 cfu/year 

38. Wreck Island 

Creek 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for Bent 

Creek, North 

Creek, 

Stonewall 

Creek, 

Walkers Ford 

Creek, and 

Wreck Island 

Creek 

Appomattox H06 E. coli 8.76E+11 cfu/year 

39. Walkers Ford 

Creek 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for Bent 

Creek, North 

Creek, 

Stonewall 

Creek, 

Walkers Ford 

Creek, and 

Wreck Island 

Creek 

Amherst H05 E. coli 8.90E+11 cfu/year 
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40. Bleakhorn 

Creek 

TMDL Report 

for 

Chesapeake 

Bay Shellfish 

Waters: 

Bleakhorn 

Creek, 

Bennett 

Creek, and 

Knotts Creek 

Bacterial 

Impairments 

Suffolk G13 Fecal 

coliform 

2.66E+09 MPN/day 

41. Knotts Creek TMDL Report 

for 

Chesapeake 

Bay Shellfish 

Waters: 

Bleakhorn 

Creek, 

Bennett 

Creek, and 

Knotts Creek 

Bacterial 

Impairments 

Suffolk G13 Fecal 

coliform 

1.07E+10 MPN/day 

42. Bennett Creek TMDL Report 

for 

Chesapeake 

Bay Shellfish 

Waters: 

Bleakhorn 

Creek, 

Bennett 

Creek, and 

Knotts Creek 

Bacterial 

Impairments 

Suffolk G13 Fecal 

coliform 

6.37E+10 MPN/day 

43. Chickahominy 

River and 

tributaries 

E. coli TMDL 

Development 

for 

Chickahominy 

River and 

Tributaries 

New Kent, 

Henrico, 

Charles City, 

Hanover 

G05, 

G06, 

G07 

E. coli 2.41E+12 cfu/year 

44. Chuckatuck 

Creek and 

Brewers Creek 

Shellfish 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) 

Development 

Chuckatuck 

Creek and 

Brewers Creek 

Watershed 

Isle of Wight G11 Fecal 

coliform 

4.79E+11 MPN/day 
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45. Paradise Creek Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) 

Development 

for the 

Elizabeth 

River 

Watershed 

Portsmouth G15 Enterococci 5.04E+11 cfu/day 

46. Lafayette River, 

upper 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) 

Development 

for the 

Elizabeth 

River 

Watershed 

Norfolk G15 Enterococci 1.05E+13 cfu/day 

47. Lower and 

Upper Western 

Branch, 

Elizabeth River 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) 

Development 

for the 

Elizabeth 

River 

Watershed 

Chesapeake, 

Portsmouth 

G15 Enterococci 2.00E+13 cfu/day 

48. Upper 

Mainstem, 

Lower Southern 

Branch, Lower 

Eastern Branch 

Elizabeth River, 

Broad Creek, 

Indian River 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) 

Development 

for the 

Elizabeth 

River 

Watershed 

Chesapeake, 

Portsmouth, 

Norfolk 

G15, 

K39 

Enterococci 5.78E+13 cfu/day 

49. Fourmile Creek Bacteria 

TMDL for 

Fourmile 

Creek 

Henrico G02 E. coli 3.99E+10 cfu/year 

50. Hardware 

River, North 

Fork 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for North Fork 

Hardware 

River and 

Hardware 

River 

Albemarle H18 E. coli 3.50E+12 

0.06E+12 
cfu/year 
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51. Hardware River Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for North Fork 

Hardware 

River and 

Hardware 

River 

Fluvanna, 

Albemarle 

H18, 

H19 

E. coli 4.00E+12 

0.02E+13 
cfu/year 

52. Walker Creek Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for Hays 

Creek, 

Moffatts 

Creek, Walker 

Creek, and 

Otts Creek 

Rockbridge I34 E. coli 6.00E+10 cfu/year 

53. Otts Creek Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for Hays 

Creek, 

Moffatts 

Creek, Walker 

Creek, and 

Otts Creek 

Augusta I34 E. coli 9.00E+10 cfu/year 

54. Hays Creek Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for Hays 

Creek, 

Moffatts 

Creek, Walker 

Creek, and 

Otts Creek 

Rockbridge I34 E. coli 2.00E+11 cfu/year 

55. Hoffler Creek Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) 

Development 

for the Hoffler 

Creek 

Watershed 

Portsmouth G15 Enterococci 5.39E+11 cfu/day 

56. Powell Creek Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the James 

Prince George G03 E. coli 6.12E+10 cfu/year 
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River - 

Hopewell to 

Westover 

57. Bailey Creek Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the James 

River - 

Hopewell to 

Westover 

Prince George G03 E. coli 1.62E+11 cfu/year 

58. Bailey Bay, 

Bailey Creek, 

Cattail Creek 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the James 

River - 

Hopewell to 

Westover 

Prince George, 

Hopewell 

G03 E. coli 8.47E+12 cfu/year 

59. James River Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the James 

River - 

Hopewell to 

Westover 

Prince George, 

Charles City, 

Hopewell 

G03 E. coli 8.67E+14 cfu/year 

60. Austin Creek Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the James 

River Basin 

Buckingham H21 E. coli 1.62E+10 cfu/year 

61. Fisby Branch Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the James 

River Basin 

Buckingham H21 E. coli 2.15E+10 cfu/year 

62. Rock Island 

Creek 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the James 

River Basin 

Buckingham H17 E. coli 3.38E+10 cfu/year 

63. Slate River, 

upper 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the James 

River Basin 

Buckingham H21 E. coli 4.22E+10 cfu/year 
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64. Troublesome 

Creek 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the James 

River Basin 

Buckingham H21 E. coli 5.23E+10 cfu/year 

65. North River Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the James 

River Basin 

Buckingham H21 E. coli 5.52E+10 cfu/year 

66. Ballinger Creek Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the James 

River Basin 

Albemarle H17 E. coli 5.75E+10 cfu/year 

67. Totier Creek Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the James 

River Basin 

Albemarle H17 E. coli 1.62E+11 cfu/year 

68. Slate River, 

lower 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the James 

River Basin 

Buckingham H21, 

H22 

E. coli 3.19E+12 cfu/year 

69. Fine Creek Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the James 

River and 

Tributaries - 

Lower 

Piedmont 

Region 

Powhatan H38 E. coli 3.66E+10 cfu/year 

70. Big Lickinghole 

Creek, Little 

Lickinghole 

Creek 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the James 

River and 

Tributaries - 

Lower 

Piedmont 

Region 

Goochland H37 E. coli 7.94E+10 cfu/year 
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71. Byrd Creek Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the James 

River and 

Tributaries - 

Lower 

Piedmont 

Region 

Goochland, 

Fluvanna 

H34 E. coli 1.08E+11 cfu/year 

72. Upper James 

River 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the James 

River and 

Tributaries - 

Lower 

Piedmont 

Region 

Cumberland, 

Fluvanna, 

Powhatan, 

Goochland 

H33, 

H34, 

H37 

E. coli 3.50E+11 cfu/year 

73. Beaverdam 

Creek 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the James 

River and 

Tributaries - 

Lower 

Piedmont 

Region 

Goochland H38 E. coli 1.60E+12 cfu/year 

74. Lower James 

River 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the James 

River and 

Tributaries - 

Lower 

Piedmont 

Region 

Cumberland, 

Fluvanna, 

Powhatan, 

Goochland 

H33, 

H34, 

H37, 

H38 

E. coli 8.20E+12 cfu/year 

75. No Name Creek Bacterial 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the James 

River and 

Tributaries - 

City of 

Richmond 

Chesterfield G01 E. coli 4.66E+11 cfu/year 
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76. Bernards Creek Bacterial 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the James 

River and 

Tributaries - 

City of 

Richmond 

Powhatan H39 E. coli 1.67E+12 cfu/year 

77. Goode Creek Bacterial 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the James 

River and 

Tributaries - 

City of 

Richmond 

Richmond 

City 

G01 E. coli 2.52E+12 cfu/year 

78. Gillies Creek Bacterial 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the James 

River and 

Tributaries - 

City of 

Richmond 

Henrico, 

Richmond 

City 

G01 E. coli 2.93E+12 cfu/year 

79. Powhite Creek Bacterial 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the James 

River and 

Tributaries - 

City of 

Richmond 

Chesterfield H39 E. coli 3.34E+12 cfu/year 

80. Almond Creek Bacterial 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the James 

River and 

Tributaries - 

City of 

Richmond 

Henrico G01 E. coli 4.39E+12 cfu/year 
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81. Falling Creek Bacterial 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the James 

River and 

Tributaries - 

City of 

Richmond 

Chesterfield, 

Richmond 

City 

G01 E. coli 1.64E+13 cfu/year 

82. Reedy Creek Bacterial 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the James 

River and 

Tributaries - 

City of 

Richmond 

Richmond 

City 

H39 E. coli 8.23E+13 cfu/year 

83. Tidal James 

River 

Bacterial 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the James 

River and 

Tributaries - 

City of 

Richmond 

Henrico, 

Richmond 

City, 

Goochland, 

Powhatan, 

Chesterfield 

G01, 

G02, 

H39 

E. coli 3.76E+14 cfu/year 

84. Lower James 

River 

Bacterial 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the James 

River and 

Tributaries - 

City of 

Richmond 

Henrico, 

Richmond 

City, 

Goochland, 

Powhatan, 

Chesterfield 

H39 E. coli 3.06E+15 cfu/year 

85. Ivy Creek Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the James 

River Basin 

Lynchburg, 

Bedford 

H03 E. coli 6.25E+11 cfu/year 

86. Burton Creek Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the James 

River Basin 

Lynchburg H03 E. coli 7.37E+11 cfu/year 
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87. Judith Creek Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the James 

River Basin 

Lynchburg, 

Bedford 

H03 E. coli 8.31E+11 cfu/year 

88. Tomahawk 

Creek 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the James 

River Basin 

Lynchburg H03 E. coli 8.34E+11 cfu/year 

89. Fishing Creek Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the James 

River Basin 

Lynchburg H03 E. coli 1.03E+12 cfu/year 

90. Blackwater 

Creek 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the James 

River Basin 

Lynchburg H03 E. coli 3.06E+12 cfu/year 

91. James River Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the James 

River Basin 

Amherst, 

Bedford, 

Lynchburg 

H01, 

H02, 

H03, 

H04, 

H05 

E. coli 2.75E+14 cfu/year 

92. Baptist Run Fecal Bacteria 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for Warwick 

River 

York G11 E. coli 3.89E+09 cfu/year 

93. Deep Creek Fecal Bacteria 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for Warwick 

River 

Newport News G11, 

C07 

Enterococci 5.59E+12 cfu/year 

94. Skiffes Creek Fecal Bacteria 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for Warwick 

River 

James City G11 Fecal 

coliform 

2.46E+12 cfu/year 
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95. James River, 

Warwick River 

Fecal Bacteria 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for Warwick 

River 

Newport 

News, York 

G11 Fecal 

coliform 

3.04E+12 cfu/year 

96. Kings Creek 

and Bay 

Shellfish 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) 

Development 

Kings Creek 

and Bay and 

Ballard Creek 

and Bay 

Watersheds 

Isle of Wight G11 Fecal 

coliform 

1.23E+09 counts/day 

97. Ballard Creek 

and Bay 

Shellfish 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) 

Development 

Kings Creek 

and Bay and 

Ballard Creek 

and Bay 

Watersheds 

Isle of Wight G11 Fecal 

coliform 

1.64E+09 counts/day 

98. Lawnes Creek TMDL Report 

for 

Chesapeake 

Bay Shellfish 

Waters: 

Lawnes Creek 

Bacterial 

Impairment 

Surry G11 Fecal 

coliform 

5.94E+08 MPN/day 

99. Looney Creek Bacteria 

TMDL for 

Looney Creek 

Botetourt I26 E. coli 1.84E+10 cfu/year 

100. Buffalo Creek, 

South Fork 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for Colliers 

Creek, North 

Fork Buffalo 

Creek, South 

Fork Buffalo 

Creek, 

Buffalo 

Creek, Maury 

Botetourt, 

Rockbridge 

I38 E. coli 2.01E+11 cfu/year 
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River and 

Cedar Creek 

and a 

Sediment 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for Colliers 

Creek 

101. Colliers Creek Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for Colliers 

Creek, North 

Fork Buffalo 

Creek, South 

Fork Buffalo 

Creek, 

Buffalo 

Creek, Maury 

River and 

Cedar Creek 

and a 

Sediment 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for Colliers 

Creek 

Rockbridge I38 E. coli 4.75E+11 cfu/year 

102. Cedar Creek Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for Colliers 

Creek, North 

Fork Buffalo 

Creek, South 

Fork Buffalo 

Creek, 

Buffalo 

Creek, Maury 

River and 

Cedar Creek 

and a 

Sediment 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for Colliers 

Creek 

Rockbridge I28 E. coli 5.01E+11 cfu/year 
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103. Buffalo Creek, 

North Fork 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for Colliers 

Creek, North 

Fork Buffalo 

Creek, South 

Fork Buffalo 

Creek, 

Buffalo 

Creek, Maury 

River and 

Cedar Creek 

and a 

Sediment 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for Colliers 

Creek 

Rockbridge I38 E. coli 6.52E+11 cfu/year 

104. Buffalo Creek Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for Colliers 

Creek, North 

Fork Buffalo 

Creek, South 

Fork Buffalo 

Creek, 

Buffalo 

Creek, Maury 

River and 

Cedar Creek 

and a 

Sediment 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for Colliers 

Creek 

Rockbridge I38 E. coli 1.91E+12 cfu/year 

105. Maury River Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for Colliers 

Creek, North 

Fork Buffalo 

Creek, South 

Fork Buffalo 

Creek, 

Buena Vista, 

Rockbridge 

I37, 

I38 

E. coli 2.98E+13 cfu/year 
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Buffalo 

Creek, Maury 

River and 

Cedar Creek 

and a 

Sediment 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for Colliers 

Creek 

106. Powhatan 

Creek 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for Mill Creek 

and Powhatan 

Creek 

James City G10 E. coli 1.78E+13 cfu/year 

107. Mill Creek Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for Mill Creek 

and Powhatan 

Creek 

James City G10 Enterococci 3.63E+12 cfu/year 

108. Powhatan 

Creek 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for Mill Creek 

and Powhatan 

Creek 

James City G10 Enterococci 7.24E+12 cfu/year 

109. Moores Creek Development 

of the Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) for 

Fecal 

Coliform 

Bacteria in 

Moore's 

Creek, 

Albemarle 

County, 

Virginia  

Charlottesville, 

Albemarle 
H28 Fecal 

coliform 

3.30E+13 cfu/year 

110. Morris Creek Morris Creek 

(tidal), 

Charles City 

County Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load for 

Charles City G08 Enterococci 2.92E+10 cfu/day 
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Bacteria 

Contamination 

Impaired for 

Recreational 

Use 

111. Shingle Creek Fecal Bacteria 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

for the 

Nansemond 

River 

Suffolk G13, 

K39 

Fecal 

coliform 

2.78E+09 cfu/year 

112. Nansemond 

River, upper 

and middle 

Fecal Bacteria 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

for the 

Nansemond 

River 

Isle of Wight, 

Suffolk 

G12, 

G13, 

G14 

Fecal 

coliform 

3.89E+10 cfu/year 

113. Shingle Creek Fecal Bacteria 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

for the 

Nansemond 

River 

Suffolk G13, 

K39 

Enterococci 2.19E+10 cfu/year 

114. Nansemond 

River, upper 

Fecal Bacteria 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

for the 

Nansemond 

River 

Isle of Wight, 

Suffolk 

G12, 

G13, 

G14 

Enterococci 9.99E+10 cfu/year 

115. Nansemond 

River (Lake 

Meade) 

Fecal Bacteria 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

for the 

Nansemond 

River 

Suffolk G12, 

G13 

Enterococci 9.99E+10 cfu/year 

116. Pagan River, 

middle and 

upper 

Fecal Bacteria 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for Pagan 

River 

Isle of Wight G11 Enterococci 3.01E+12 cfu/year 

117. Pagan River 

and Jones Creek 

Fecal Bacteria 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Isle of Wight G11 Fecal 

coliform 

2.15E+12 cfu/year 
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Development 

for Pagan 

River 

118. Lower Reed 

Creek 

Bacteria 

TMDL for 

Reed Creek 

Bedford H01 E. coli 0 cfu/year 

119. Beaver Creek Bacteria 

TMDL 

Development 

for the 

Rivanna River 

Mainstem, 

North Fork 

Rivanna 

River, Preddy 

Creek and 

Tributaries, 

Meadow 

Creek, 

Mechums 

River, and 

Beaver Creek 

Watersheds 

Albemarle H23 E. coli 3.29E+10 cfu/year 

120. Mechums River Bacteria 

TMDL 

Development 

for the 

Rivanna River 

Mainstem, 

North Fork 

Rivanna 

River, Preddy 

Creek and 

Tributaries, 

Meadow 

Creek, 

Mechums 

River, and 

Beaver Creek 

Watersheds 

Albemarle H23 E. coli 3.31E+10 cfu/year 

121. Preddy Creek Bacteria 

TMDL 

Development 

for the 

Rivanna River 

Mainstem, 

North Fork 

Rivanna 

River, Preddy 

Creek and 

Tributaries, 

Meadow 

Creek, 

Greene, 

Albemarle 

H27 E. coli 2.43E+11 cfu/year 
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Mechums 

River, and 

Beaver Creek 

Watersheds 

122. Rivanna River, 

North Fork 

Bacteria 

TMDL 

Development 

for the 

Rivanna River 

Mainstem, 

North Fork 

Rivanna 

River, Preddy 

Creek and 

Tributaries, 

Meadow 

Creek, 

Mechums 

River, and 

Beaver Creek 

Watersheds 

Greene, 

Albemarle 

H27 E. coli 2.15E+12 cfu/year 

123. Meadow Creek Bacteria 

TMDL 

Development 

for the Rivanna 

River 

Mainstem, 

North Fork 

Rivanna River, 

Preddy Creek 

and 

Tributaries, 

Meadow 

Creek, 

Mechums 

River, and 

Beaver Creek 

Watersheds 

Charlottesville H28 E. coli 3.89E+12 cfu/year 

124. Rivanna River Bacteria 

TMDL 

Development 

for the Rivanna 

River 

Mainstem, 

North Fork 

Rivanna River, 

Preddy Creek 

and 

Tributaries, 

Meadow 

Creek, 

Mechums 

River, and 

Beaver Creek 

Watersheds 

Charlottesville, 

Albemarle, 

Greene 

H23, 

H24, 

H25, 

H26, 

H27, 

H28 

E. coli 4.93E+12 cfu/year 
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125. Rockfish River, 

North Fork 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for Rockfish 

River, North 

Fork Rockfish 

River, and 

South Fork 

Rockfish 

River 

Nelson H15 E. coli 8.44E+11 cfu/year 

126. Rockfish River, 

South Fork 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for Rockfish 

River, North 

Fork Rockfish 

River, and 

South Fork 

Rockfish 

River 

Nelson H15 E. coli 4.40E+12 cfu/year 

127. Rockfish River Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for Rockfish 

River, North 

Fork Rockfish 

River, and 

South Fork 

Rockfish 

River 

Nelson H15, 

H16 

E. coli 5.76E+12 cfu/year 

128. Tuckahoe 

Creek and 

tributaries 

Bacteria 

TMDL for 

Tuckahoe 

Creek, Little 

Tuckahoe 

Creek, 

Anderson, 

Broad, 

Georges and 

Readers 

Branches, and 

Deep Run 

Henrico, 

Goochland 

H39 E. coli 1.05E+13 cfu/year 

129. Turner Creek Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for Hat Creek, 

Piney River, 

Rucker Run, 

Mill Creek, 

Amherst H12 E. coli 1.57E+11 cfu/year 
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Rutledge 

Creek, Turner 

Creek, 

Buffalo River 

and Tye River 

130. Mill Creek Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for Hat Creek, 

Piney River, 

Rucker Run, 

Mill Creek, 

Rutledge 

Creek, Turner 

Creek, 

Buffalo River 

and Tye River 

Amherst H11 E. coli 2.08E+11 cfu/year 

131. Hat Creek Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for Hat Creek, 

Piney River, 

Rucker Run, 

Mill Creek, 

Rutledge 

Creek, Turner 

Creek, 

Buffalo River 

and Tye River 

Nelson H09 E. coli 6.02E+11 cfu/year 

132. Rutledge Creek Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for Hat Creek, 

Piney River, 

Rucker Run, 

Mill Creek, 

Rutledge 

Creek, Turner 

Creek, 

Buffalo River 

and Tye River 

Amherst H12 E. coli 1.15E+12 cfu/year 

133. Rucker Run Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for Hat Creek, 

Piney River, 

Rucker Run, 

Mill Creek, 

Rutledge 

Nelson H13 E. coli 1.32E+12 cfu/year 
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Creek, Turner 

Creek, 

Buffalo River 

and Tye River 

134. Piney River Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for Hat Creek, 

Piney River, 

Rucker Run, 

Mill Creek, 

Rutledge 

Creek, Turner 

Creek, 

Buffalo River 

and Tye River 

Amherst, 

Nelson 

H10 E. coli 2.44E+12 cfu/year 

135. Buffalo River Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for Hat Creek, 

Piney River, 

Rucker Run, 

Mill Creek, 

Rutledge 

Creek, Turner 

Creek, 

Buffalo River 

and Tye River 

Amherst H11, 

H12 

E. coli 2.54E+12 cfu/year 

136. Tye River Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for Hat Creek, 

Piney River, 

Rucker Run, 

Mill Creek, 

Rutledge 

Creek, Turner 

Creek, 

Buffalo River 

and Tye River 

Amherst, 

Nelson 

H09, 

H10, 

H11, 

H12, 

H13 

E. coli 1.33E+13 cfu/year 

137. Upham Brook 

and tributaries 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the Upham 

Brook 

Watershed 

Henrico, 

Richmond 

City 

G05 E. coli 8.04E+10 cfu/year 
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138. White Oak 

Swamp 

Bacteria 

TMDL for 

White Oak 

Swamp 

Henrico G06 E. coli 1.58E+12 cfu/year 

139. Willis River 

and tributaries 

Fecal coliform 

TMDL 

Development 

for Willis 

River 

Cumberland, 

Buckingham 

H35, 

H36 

Fecal 

coliform 

3.15E+11 cfu/year 

140. North Creek 

Benthic Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) 

Development 

for the North 

Creek 

Watershed 

Fluvanna H20R Sediment 7.29 tons/yr 

141. North Creek 

Benthic Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) 

Development 

for the North 

Creek 

Watershed 

Fluvanna H20R 
Total 

phosphorus 
187.3 lbs/yr 

142. 
Turkey Island 

Creek 

Bacteria 

TMDL 

Development 

for the Turkey 

Island Creek 

and James 

River 

Westover to 

Claremont 

Watershed 

Henrico, 

Charles City 
G02R E. coli 4.31E+11 cfu/year 

143. 

James River 

from Westover 

to Chippokes 

Point 

Bacteria 

TMDL 

Development 

for the Turkey 

Island Creek 

and James 

River 

Westover to 

Claremont 

Watershed 

Charles City, 

Prince George 

G02R, 

G04R 
E. coli 4.25E+13 cfu/year 

144. 

James River 

from Chippokes 

Point to 

Claremont 

Bacteria 

TMDL 

Development 

for the Turkey 

Island Creek 

and James 

Prince George, 

Surry 

G04E, 

G04R 
E. coli 4.99E+13 cfu/year 
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River 

Westover to 

Claremont 

Watershed 

145. Moores Creek 

Sediment 

TMDLs for 

Moores 

Creek, Lodge 

Creek, 

Meadow 

Creek, and 

Schenks 

Branch 

Albemarle,  

City of 

Charlottesville 

H28 Sediment 809.48 tons/yr 

146. Lodge Creek 

Sediment 

TMDLs for 

Moores 

Creek, Lodge 

Creek, 

Meadow 

Creek, and 

Schenks 

Branch 

Albemarle,  

City of 

Charlottesville 

H28 Sediment 46.25 tons/yr 

147. Meadow Creek 

Sediment 

TMDLs for 

Moores 

Creek, Lodge 

Creek, 

Meadow 

Creek, and 

Schenks 

Branch 

Albemarle,  

City of 

Charlottesville 

H28 Sediment 452.33 tons/yr 

148. Schenks Branch 

Sediment 

TMDLs for 

Moores 

Creek, Lodge 

Creek, 

Meadow 

Creek, and 

Schenks 

Branch 

City of 

Charlottesville 
H28 Sediment 134.52 tons/yr 

Notes: 
1
The total WLA can be increased prior to modification provided that DEQ tracks these changes for bacteria TMDLs where the 

permit is consistent with water quality standards for bacteria. 
2
GS means growing season. 

EDITOR'S NOTE: Subsections B and C of 9VAC25-720-60 are not amended; therefore, the text of those subsections is not set 

out. 
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9VAC25-720-90. Tennessee-Big Sandy River Basin.  

A. Total maximum daily loads (TMDLs).  

TMDL # 
Stream 

Name 
TMDL Title City/County WBID Pollutant WLA

1
 Units 

1. 
Guest 

River 

Guest River Total 

Maximum Load Report 
Wise P11R Sediment 317.92 LB/YR 

2. 
Cedar 

Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 

Load (TMDL) 

Development for Cedar 

Creek, Hall/Byers Creek 

and Hutton Creek 

Washington O05R Sediment 1,789.93 LB/YR 

3. 
Hall/Byers 

Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 

Load (TMDL) 

Development for Cedar 

Creek, Hall/Byers Creek 

and Hutton Creek 

Washington O05R Sediment 57,533.49 LB/YR 

4. 
Hutton 

Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 

Load (TMDL) 

Development for Cedar 

Creek, Hall/Byers Creek 

and Hutton Creek 

Washington O05R Sediment 91.32 LB/YR 

5. 
Clinch 

River 

Total Maximum Daily 

Load Development for the 

Upper Clinch River 

Watershed 

Tazewell P01R Sediment 206,636 LB/YR 

6. 
Lewis 

Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 

Load Development for the 

Lewis Creek Watershed 

Russell P04R Sediment 
40,008 

21,732 
LB/YR 

7. 
Black 

Creek 

General Standard Total 

Maximum Daily Load 

Development for Black 

Creek, Wise County, 

Virginia 

Wise P17R Manganese 2,127 KG/YR 

8. 
Dumps 

Creek 

General Standard Total 

Maximum Daily Load 

Development for Dumps 

Creek, Russell County, 

Virginia 

Russell P08R 

Total 

dissolved 

solids 

1,631,575 KG/YR 

9. 
Dumps 

Creek 

General Standard Total 

Maximum Daily Load 

Development for Dumps 

Creek, Russell County, 

Virginia 

Russell P08R 

Total 

suspended 

solids 

316,523 

322,234 
KG/YR 

10. 
Beaver 

Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 

Load Development for the 

Beaver Creek Watershed 

Washington O07R Sediment 784,036 LB/YR 

11. 
Stock 

Creek 
General Standard (Benthic) 

Total Maximum Daily 
Scott P13R Sediment 0 T/YR 
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Load Development for 

Stock Creek 

12. Lick Creek 

Lick Creek TMDLs for 

Benthic Impairments-

Dickenson, Russell and 

Wise Counties 

Dickenson, 

Russell, Wise 
P10R Sediment 63 T/YR 

13. 
Cigarette 

Hollow 

Lick Creek TMDLs for 

Benthic Impairments-

Dickenson, Russell and 

Wise Counties 

Dickenson, 

Russell, Wise 
P10R Sediment 0.4 T/YR 

14. 
Laurel 

Branch 

Lick Creek TMDLs for 

Benthic Impairments-

Dickenson, Russell and 

Wise Counties 

Dickenson, 

Russell, Wise 
P10R Sediment 3.9 T/YR 

15. Right Fork 

Lick Creek TMDLs for 

Benthic Impairments-

Dickenson, Russell and 

Wise Counties 

Dickenson, 

Russell, Wise 
P10R Sediment 1.3 T/YR 

16. 

Middle 

Fork 

Holston 

River 

Bacteria and Benthic Total 

Maximum Daily Load 

Development for Middle 

Fork Holston River 

Washington, 

Smyth 
O05R Sediment  100.4 T/YR 

17. Wolf Creek 

Bacteria and Benthic Total 

Maximum Daily Load 

Development for Wolf 

Creek 

Washington O06R Sediment 301.6 T/YR 

18. 

North Fork 

Holston 

River 

Mercury Total Maximum 

Daily Load Development 

for the North Fork Holston 

River, Virginia 

Scott, 

Washington, 

Smyth, Bland, 

Tazewell, 

Russell 

O10R Total mercury 11.9 G/YR 

19. 
Laurel 

Creek 

Bacteria and Sediment 

TMDL Development 

Lower Clinch River 

Watershed, VA 

Russell, 

Tazewell 
P05R Sediment 0.26 T/YR 

20. 
Thompson 

Creek 

Bacteria and Sediment 

TMDL Development Lower 

Clinch River Watershed, 

VA 

Russell P07R Sediment 0.22 T/YR 

21. 
Beaver 

Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 

Load Development for the 

Beaver Creek Watershed 

Washington, 

Bristol 
O07 E. coli 1.23E+12 cfu/year 

22. 

Black 

Creek and 

tributaries 

General Standard TMDL 

Development for Black 

Creek 

Wise P17 Alkalinity 0 kg/year 

23. 
Callahan 

Creek 

Fecal Bacteria and General 

Standard Total Maximum 

Daily Load Development 

for Callahan Creek 

Wise P17 E. coli 1.74E+09 cfu/year 
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24. 

Hutton 

Creek and 

tributaries 

Fecal Coliform TMDL 

Development for Cedar, 

Hall, Byers, and Hutton 

Creeks 

Washington O05 Fecal coliform 0 cfu/year 

25. 
Cedar 

Creek 

Fecal Coliform TMDL 

Development for Cedar, 

Hall, Byers, and Hutton 

Creeks 

Washington O05 Fecal coliform 1.55E+10 cfu/year 

26. 
Hall/Byers 

Creek 

Fecal Coliform TMDL 

Development for Cedar, 

Hall, Byers, and Hutton 

Creeks 

Washington O05 Fecal coliform 7.85E+10 cfu/year 

27. Stock Creek 

Bacteria TMDL 

Development Clinch River 

and Cove Creek Watershed 

Scott P13 E. coli 2.15E+12 cfu/year 

28. 
Blackwater 

Creek 

Bacteria TMDL 

Development Clinch River 

and Cove Creek Watershed 

Lee P16 E. coli 1.13E+13 cfu/year 

29. 

North Fork 

Clinch 

River 

Bacteria TMDL 

Development Clinch River 

and Cove Creek Watershed 

Scott P13, P15 E. coli 1.90E+13 cfu/year 

30. Moll Creek 

Bacteria TMDL 

Development Clinch River 

and Cove Creek Watershed 

Russell, Scott P14 E. coli 2.29E+13 cfu/year 

31. 
Clinch 

River 

Bacteria TMDL 

Development Clinch River 

and Cove Creek Watershed 

Russell, Scott P13, P14 E. coli 2.92E+14 cfu/year 

32. 

Clinch 

River and 

Plum 

Creek (near 

Tazewell) 

E. coli Total Maximum 

Daily Loads in the Upper 

Clinch River Watershed 

Tazewell P01, P02 E. coli 2.09E+13 cfu/year 

33. 

Clinch 

River, Coal 

Creek, and 

Middle 

Creek (near 

Richlands) 

E. coli Total Maximum 

Daily Loads in the Upper 

Clinch River Watershed 

Tazewell 
P01, P02, 

P03 
E. coli 6.29E+13 cfu/year 

34. 
Garden 

Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 

Load Development for 

Garden Creek 

Buchanan Q04 E. coli 3.86E+11 cfu/year 

35. 

Crab 

Orchard 

Creek 

Bacteria TMDLs for 

Sepulcher Creek, Toms 

Creek and Crab Orchard 

Branch 

Wise P11 E. coli 0 cfu/year 

36. 
Little Toms 

Creek 

Bacteria TMDLs for 

Sepulcher Creek, Toms 

Creek and Crab Orchard 

Branch 

Wise P11 E. coli 1.04E+10 cfu/year 
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37. 
Sepulcher 

Creek 

Bacteria TMDLs for 

Sepulcher Creek, Toms 

Creek and Crab Orchard 

Branch 

Wise P11 E. coli 1.39E+10 cfu/year 

38. 
Toms 

Creek 

Bacteria TMDLs for 

Sepulcher Creek, Toms 

Creek and Crab Orchard 

Branch 

Wise P11 E. coli 2.61E+10 cfu/year 

39. 
Indian 

Creek 

Bacteria Total Maximum 

Daily Load Development 

for Indian Creek 

Tazewell P02 E. coli 1.75E+10 cfu/year 

40. 

Knox 

Creek and 

Guess Fork 

Fecal Bacteria and General 

Standard Total Maximum 

Daily Load Development 

for Knox Creek and 

Pawpaw Creek 

Buchanan Q03 E. coli 4.53E+10 cfu/year 

41. Slate Creek 

E. coli, Phased Benthic, 

and Phased Total PCB 

TMDL Development for 

Levisa Fork, Slate Creek, 

and Garden Creek 

Buchanan Q07 E. coli 5.29E+11 cfu/year 

42. 
Levisa 

Fork 

E. coli, Phased Benthic, 

and Phased Total PCB 

TMDL Development for 

Levisa Fork, Slate Creek, 

and Garden Creek 

Buchanan 

Q04, 

Q05, 

Q06, 

Q07, 

Q08 

E. coli 7.69E+12 cfu/year 

43. 

Lick Creek, 

Laurel 

Branch, 

Cigarette 

Hollow 

Bacteria Total Maximum 

Daily Load Development 

for Lick Creek 

Russell, 

Dickenson 
P10 E. coli 2.42E+11 cfu/year 

44. 
Little 

Creek 

Fecal Coliform TMDL for 

Little Creek Watershed 

Washington, 

Bristol 
O07 Fecal coliform 8.29E+09 cfu/year 

45. Bear Creek 

Bacteria and Sediment 

TMDL Development 

Lower Clinch River 

Watershed 

Wise P11 E. coli 2.31E+12 cfu/year 

46. 

Clinch 

River, 

Little 

Stoney 

Creek, 

Staunton 

Creek, Fall 

Creek 

Bacteria and Sediment 

TMDL Development 

Lower Clinch River 

Watershed 

Russell, Scott P13, P14 E. coli 3.14E+12 cfu/year 

47. 
Russell 

Creek 

Bacteria and Sediment 

TMDL Development 

Lower Clinch River 

Watershed 

Russell, Wise P09, P10 E. coli 8.38E+12 cfu/year 
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48. 
Guest 

River 

Bacteria and Sediment 

TMDL Development 

Lower Clinch River 

Watershed 

Norton, Wise P11 E. coli 9.49E+12 cfu/year 

49. 
Stony 

Creek 

Bacteria and Sediment 

TMDL Development 

Lower Clinch River 

Watershed 

Scott P12 E. coli 1.00E+13 cfu/year 

50. 

Elk Garden 

Creek, 

Loop 

Creek 

Bacteria TMDL 

Development for the 

Middle Clinch River and 

Tributaries 

Russell P06 E. coli 6.36E+12 cfu/year 

51. 
Swords/He

ss Creek 

Bacteria TMDL 

Development for the 

Middle Clinch River and 

Tributaries 

Russell P04 E. coli 7.04E+12 cfu/year 

52. 
Dumps 

Creek 

Bacteria TMDL 

Development for the 

Middle Clinch River and 

Tributaries 

Russell P08 E. coli 9.90E+12 cfu/year 

53. 

Big Cedar 

Creek, 

Burgess 

Creek 

Bacteria TMDL 

Development for the Middle 

Clinch River and Tributaries 

Russell P06 E. coli 1.34E+13 cfu/year 

54. 
Lewis 

Creek 

Bacteria TMDL 

Development for the Middle 

Clinch River and Tributaries 

Russell P04 E. coli 1.53E+13 cfu/year 

55. 
Clinch 

River 

Bacteria TMDL 

Development for the 

Middle Clinch River and 

Tributaries 

Tazewell, 

Russell 

P01, 

P02, 

P03, 

P04, 

P05, 

P06, P07 

E. coli 1.64E+13 cfu/year 

56. 

Middle 

Fork 

Holston 

River 

(VAS-

O03R-02) 

Bacteria and Benthic Total 

Maximum Daily Load 

Development for Middle 

Fork Holston River 

Smyth O03 E. coli 2.61E+10 cfu/year 

57. 

Middle 

Fork 

Holston 

River 

(VAS-

O03R-01) 

Bacteria and Benthic Total 

Maximum Daily Load 

Development for Middle 

Fork Holston River 

Smyth O03 E. coli 5.29E+10 cfu/year 

58. 

Middle 

Fork 

Holston 

River 

Bacteria and Benthic Total 

Maximum Daily Load 

Development for Middle 

Fork Holston River 

Smyth, 

Washington 

O03, 

O04, 

O05 

E. coli 7.62E+12 cfu/year 
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59. 

Middle 

Fork 

Holston 

River 

Bacteria and Benthic Total 

Maximum Daily Load 

Development for Middle 

Fork Holston River 

Smyth 
O03, 

O04 
E. coli 1.04E+13 cfu/year 

60. 

Middle 

Fork 

Holston 

River 

Bacteria and Benthic Total 

Maximum Daily Load 

Development for Middle 

Fork Holston River 

Smyth 

O03, 

O04, 

O05 

E. coli 3.56E+13 cfu/year 

61. 
Abrams 

Creek 

TMDL Development 

North Fork Holston River 

Watershed 

Washington O12 E. coli 6.83E+10 cfu/year 

62. 
Possum 

Creek 

TMDL Development 

North Fork Holston River 

Watershed 

Scott O13 E. coli 2.74E+11 cfu/year 

63. 

Big 

Moccasin 

Creek 

TMDL Development 

North Fork Holston River 

Watershed 

Scott, Russell O14 E. coli 4.43E+11 cfu/year 

64. 

North Fork 

Holston 

River, 

Upper 

TMDL Development 

North Fork Holston River 

Watershed 

Bland, 

Washington, 

Smyth, 

Tazewell 

O09, 

O10, 

O11, 

O12 

E. coli 1.06E+13 cfu/year 

65. 

North Fork 

Holston, 

lower 

TMDL Development 

North Fork Holston River 

Watershed 

Bland, 

Washington, 

Smyth, 

Tazewell, 

Scott, Russell 

O09, 

O10, 

O11, 

O12, 

O13, 

014 

E. coli 1.33E+13 cfu/year 

66. 
Laurel 

Creek 

TMDL Development 

North Fork Holston River 

Watershed 

Tazewell O10 Temperature 2.85 J/m
2
/s 

67. 

South Fork 

Powell 

River 

E. coli and Phased Benthic 

Total Maximum Daily 

Load Development for 

Powell River and 

Tributaries (N.F. Powell 

River, S.F. Powell River, 

Butcher Fork, and Wallen 

Creek) 

Wise P18 E. coli 1.08E+11 cfu/year 

68. 
Butcher 

Fork 

E. coli and Phased Benthic 

Total Maximum Daily 

Load Development for 

Powell River and 

Tributaries (N.F. Powell 

River, S.F. Powell River, 

Butcher Fork, and Wallen 

Creek) 

Wise P18 E. coli 3.08E+11 cfu/year 

69. 
Wallen 

Creek 

E. coli and Phased Benthic 

Total Maximum Daily 

Load Development for 

Lee P22 E. coli 1.16E+12 cfu/year 
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Powell River and 

Tributaries (N.F. Powell 

River, S.F. Powell River, 

Butcher Fork, and Wallen 

Creek) 

70. 

North Fork 

Powell 

River 

E. coli and Phased Benthic 

Total Maximum Daily 

Load Development for 

Powell River and 

Tributaries (N.F. Powell 

River, S.F. Powell River, 

Butcher Fork, and Wallen 

Creek) 

Lee P20 E. coli 2.17E+12 cfu/year 

71. 

Upper 

Powell 

River 

E. coli and Phased Benthic 

Total Maximum Daily 

Load Development for 

Powell River and 

Tributaries (N.F. Powell 

River, S.F. Powell River, 

Butcher Fork, and Wallen 

Creek) 

Wise P17 E. coli 4.39E+12 cfu/year 

72. 

Middle 

Powell 

River 

E. coli and Phased Benthic 

Total Maximum Daily 

Load Development for 

Powell River and 

Tributaries (N.F. Powell 

River, S.F. Powell River, 

Butcher Fork, and Wallen 

Creek) 

Wise, Lee 
P17, 

P18, P19 
E. coli 9.65E+12 cfu/year 

73. 

Lower 

Powell 

River 

E. coli and Phased Benthic 

Total Maximum Daily 

Load Development for 

Powell River and 

Tributaries (N.F. Powell 

River, S.F. Powell River, 

Butcher Fork, and Wallen 

Creek) 

Wise, Lee 

P17, 

P18, 

P19, 

P20, P21 

E. coli 1.51E+13 cfu/year 

74. 
Straight 

Creek 

Fecal Bacteria and General 

Standard Total Maximum 

Daily Load Development 

for Straight Creek 

Lee P20 E. coli 0 cfu/year 

75. 

Mainstem 

North Fork 

Holston 

River 

General Standard (Benthic) 

Total Maximum Daily 

Load Development for 

Upper North Fork Holston 

River 

Bland, Smyth, 

Tazewell 

O09, 

O10, 

O11 

Chloride 862466 kg/year 

76. Wolf Creek 

Bacteria and Benthic Total 

Maximum Daily Load 

Development for Wolf 

Creek 

Washington O06 E. coli 7.31E+13 cfu/year 
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77. 

South Fork 

Holston 

River 

E. coli TMDL 

Development for South 

Fork Holston River 

Smyth, 

Washington 

O01, 

O02 
E. coli 7.52E+12 cfu/year 

Notes: 
1
The total WLA can be increased prior to modification provided that DEQ tracks these changes for bacteria TMDLs where the 

permit is consistent with water quality standards for bacteria. 

EDITOR'S NOTE: Subsection B of 9VAC25-720-90 is not amended; therefore, the text of that subsection is not set out. 

9VAC25-720-110. Chesapeake Bay -- Small Coastal -- Eastern Shore River Basin.  

A. Total maximum daily loads (TMDLs). 

TMDL 

# 

Stream 

Name 
TMDL Title City/County 

WBI

D 
Pollutant WLA

1
 Units 

1. Parker Creek 

Benthic Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load (TMDL) 

Development for 

Parker Creek, 

Virginia 

Accomack D03E 
Total 

phosphorus 
664.2 LB/YR 

2. Pettit Branch 

Benthic Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load (TMDL) 

Development for 

the Pettit Branch 

Watershed 

Accomack D02R 
Total 

phosphorus 
0.01 LB/D 

3. Mill Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load for 

Dissolved Oxygen 

in Mill Creek, 

Northampton 

County, Virginia 

Northampton D06R 

Organic 

carbon as 

TC  

30.53 

0.31 
LB/D 

4. Mill Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load for 

Dissolved Oxygen 

in Mill Creek, 

Northampton 

County, Virginia 

Northampton D06R 
Nutrients 

as TN  

10.07 

0.10 
LB/D 

5. Folly Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Loads of 

Pathogens for 

Folly Creek in 

Accomack County, 

Virginia 

Accomack D03E 
Total 

nitrogen 
2.6 LBS/D 

6. 
Gargathy 

Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Loads of 

Dissolved Oxygen 

and Pathogens for 

Gargathy Creek 

(Upper, Lower, 

and Riverine 

Portions) in 

Accomack D03E 
Total 

nitrogen 
1.9 LBS/D 
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Accomack County, 

Virginia 

7. 
Assawoman 

Creek 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load (TMDL) 

Development for 

the Assawoman 

Creek Watershed 

Accomack D02 
Fecal 

coliform 
1.12E+09 MPN/day 

8. Back River 

Total Maximum 

Daily Loads of 

Bacteria for Back 

River 

Hampton, 

Poquoson, 

York 

C07 
Fecal 

coliform 
3.87E+14 counts/year 

9. 

Barlow 

Creek 

(#191) 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Barlow and 

Jacobus Creeks 

Northampton C14 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

10. 
Jacobus 

Creek (#9D) 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Barlow and 

Jacobus Creeks 

Northampton C14 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

11. 
Jackson 

Creek (84A) 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Broad and Jackson 

Creeks 

Middlesex C03 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

12. 
Jackson 

Creek (84B) 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Broad and Jackson 

Creeks 

Middlesex C03 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

13. Browns Bay 
Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

Gloucester C06 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 
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for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Browns Bay and 

Monday Creek 

14. 
Monday 

Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Browns Bay and 

Monday Creek 

Gloucester C06 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

15. 

Cherrystone 

Inlet, Kings 

Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Cherrystone Inlet 

Northampton 
C15, 

C16 

Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

16. 
Chesconesse

x Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Chesconessex 

Creek 

Accomack C11 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

17. 
Cockrell 

Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load (TMDL) 

Report for Shellfish 

Condemnation 

Areas Listed Due to 

Bacteria 

Contamination - 

Cockrell Creek 

Northumberland C01 
Fecal 

coliform 
5.98E+10 MPN/day 

18. 
Craddock 

Creek (A) 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination 

Accomack C13 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

19. 
Bagwell 

Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish 

Condemnation 

Accomack C10 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 
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Areas Listed Due 

to Bacteria 

Contamination - 

Deep, Hunting and 

Bagwell Creeks 

20. 
Deep Creek 

(#138A) 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish 

Condemnation 

Areas Listed Due 

to Bacteria 

Contamination - 

Deep, Hunting and 

Bagwell Creeks 

Accomack C10 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

21. 

Hunting 

Creek 

(#138C) 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish 

Condemnation 

Areas Listed Due 

to Bacteria 

Contamination - 

Deep, Hunting and 

Bagwell Creeks 

Accomack C10 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

22. 
Dividing 

Creek (22A) 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load (TMDL) 

Report for Shellfish 

Condemnation 

Areas Listed Due to 

Bacteria 

Contamination - 

Dividing Creek 

Northumberland C01 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A

2
 MPN/day 

23. 
Prentice 

Creek (22C) 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load (TMDL) 

Report for Shellfish 

Condemnation 

Areas Listed Due to 

Bacteria 

Contamination - 

Dividing Creek 

Northumberland C01 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A

2
 MPN/day 

24. 
Prentice 

Creek (22D) 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load (TMDL) 

Report for Shellfish 

Condemnation 

Areas Listed Due to 

Bacteria 

Contamination - 

Dividing Creek 

Northumberland C01 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A

2
 MPN/day 

25. 

Unnamed 

cove of 

Dividing 

Creek (22B) 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load (TMDL) 

Report for Shellfish 

Condemnation 

Northumberland C01 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A

2
 MPN/day 
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Areas Listed Due to 

Bacteria 

Contamination - 

Dividing Creek 

26. East River 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

For Shellfish 

Waters Impaired 

by Bacteria - East 

River and Put in 

Creek 

Mathews C04 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

27. Put In Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load (TMDL) 

Report For Shellfish 

Waters Impaired by 

Bacteria - East 

River and Put in 

Creek 

Mathews C04 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A

2
 MPN/day 

28. 
Finney 

Creek, upper 

Total Maximum 

Daily Loads of 

Pathogens for 

Finney Creek 

Accomack D03 Enterococci 7.97E+07 cfu/day 

29. 
Rattrap 

Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Loads of 

Pathogens for 

Finney Creek 

Accomack D03 Enterococci 2.08E+08 cfu/day 

30. Folly Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Folly Creek 

Accomack D03 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

31. 

Gargathy 

Creek, 

riverine 

Total Maximum 

Daily Loads of DO 

and Pathogens for 

Gargathy Creek (-

Upper, -Lower, and 

Riverine Portions) 

Accomack D03 E. coli 1.80E+08 cfu/day 

32. Balls Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load (TMDL) 

Report for Shellfish 

Areas Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Great Wicomico 

River 

Northumberland C01 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A

2
 MPN/day 

33. 

Great 

Wicomico 

River 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load (TMDL) 

Report for Shellfish 

Northumberland C01 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A

2
 MPN/day 
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Areas Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Great Wicomico 

River 

34. Tipers Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load (TMDL) 

Report for Shellfish 

Areas Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Great Wicomico 

River 

Northumberland C01 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A

2
 MPN/day 

35. 
Warehouse 

Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load (TMDL) 

Report for Shellfish 

Areas Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Great Wicomico 

River 

Northumberland 
C01, 

A34 

Fecal 

coliform 
N/A

2
 MPN/day 

36. Whays Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load (TMDL) 

Report for Shellfish 

Areas Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Great Wicomico 

River 

Northumberland C01 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A

2
 MPN/day 

37. 

Guilford 

Creek 

(#176B) 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Messongo and 

Guilford Creeks 

Accomack C10 
Fecal 

coliform 
None2 MPN/day 

38. 
Young 

Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Messongo and 

Guilford Creeks 

Accomack C10 
Fecal 

coliform 
None2 MPN/day 

39. 

Holdens 

Creek, upper 

and lower 

Fecal Coliform 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development for 

Holdens Creek,  

 

Accomack C10 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 counts/day 
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Sandy Bottom 

Branch, and 

Unnamed 

Tributary to Sandy 

Bottom Branch 

40. 

Sandy 

Bottom 

Branch and 

UT to Sandy 

Bottom 

Branch 

Fecal Coliform 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development for 

Holdens Creek, 

Sandy Bottom 

Branch, and 

Unnamed 

Tributary to Sandy 

Bottom Branch 

Accomack C10 E. coli 4.80E+09 cfu/day 

41. Davis Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Chesapeake Bay: 

Horn Harbor, 

Doctors and Davis 

Creek Watersheds 

Mathews C04 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

42. 
Doctors 

Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Chesapeake Bay: 

Horn Harbor, 

Doctors and Davis 

Creek Watersheds 

Mathews C04 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

43. Horn Harbor 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Chesapeake Bay: 

Horn Harbor, 

Doctors and Davis 

Creek Watersheds 

Mathews C04 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

44. 
Hungars 

Creek 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load (TMDL) 

Development for 

Northampton C14 
Fecal 

coliform 
5.44E+08 MPN/day 
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the Hungars Creek 

Watershed 

45. Indian Creek 

Indian, Tabbs, 

Dymer, and 

Antipoison Creeks 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load (TMDL) 

Report for Shellfish 

Condemnation 

Areas Listed Due to 

Bacteria Pollution 

Northumberland C01 Enterococci 6.76E+08 cfu/day 

46. 
Davenport 

Creek 

Indian, Tabbs, 

Dymer, and 

Antipoison Creeks 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish 

Condemnation 

Areas Listed Due 

to Bacteria 

Pollution 

Lancaster C01 
Fecal 

coliform 
1.38E+08 MPN/day 

47. Long Creek 

Indian, Tabbs, 

Dymer, and 

Antipoison Creeks 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish 

Condemnation 

Areas Listed Due 

to Bacteria 

Pollution 

Lancaster C01 
Fecal 

coliform 
3.17E+08 MPN/day 

48. Lees Cove 

Indian, Tabbs, 

Dymer, and 

Antipoison Creeks 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish 

Condemnation 

Areas Listed Due 

to Bacteria 

Pollution 

Lancaster C01 
Fecal 

coliform 
2.51E+08 MPN/day 

49. 
Georges 

Cove 

Indian, Tabbs, 

Dymer, and 

Antipoison Creeks 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish 

Condemnation 

Areas Listed Due 

Lancaster C01 
Fecal 

coliform 
7.01E+08 MPN/day 
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to Bacteria 

Pollution 

50. Hunts Cove 

Indian, Tabbs, 

Dymer, and 

Antipoison Creeks 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish 

Condemnation 

Areas Listed Due 

to Bacteria 

Pollution 

Lancaster C01 
Fecal 

coliform 
1.05E+09 MPN/day 

51. Ashley Cove 

Indian, Tabbs, 

Dymer, and 

Antipoison Creeks 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load (TMDL) 

Report for Shellfish 

Condemnation 

Areas Listed Due to 

Bacteria Pollution 

Lancaster C01 
Fecal 

coliform 
1.17E+09 MPN/day 

52. Bells Creek 

Indian, Tabbs, 

Dymer, and 

Antipoison Creeks 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish 

Condemnation 

Areas Listed Due 

to Bacteria 

Pollution 

Northumberland C01 
Fecal 

coliform 
1.25E+09 MPN/day 

53. 
Henrys 

Creek 

Indian, Tabbs, 

Dymer, and 

Antipoison Creeks 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish 

Condemnation 

Areas Listed Due 

to Bacteria 

Pollution 

Northumberland C01 
Fecal 

coliform 
2.13E+09 MPN/day 

54. 
Barnes 

Creek 

Indian, Tabbs, 

Dymer, and 

Antipoison Creeks 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish 

Condemnation 

Areas Listed Due 

Northumberland C01 
Fecal 

coliform 
3.65E+09 MPN/day 
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to Bacteria 

Pollution 

55. Tabbs Creek 

Indian, Tabbs, 

Dymer, and 

Antipoison Creeks 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load (TMDL) 

Report for Shellfish 

Condemnation 

Areas Listed Due to 

Bacteria Pollution 

Lancaster C01 
Fecal 

coliform 
5.36E+09 MPN/day 

56. 
Dymer 

Creek 

Indian, Tabbs, 

Dymer, and 

Antipoison Creeks 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish 

Condemnation 

Areas Listed Due 

to Bacteria 

Pollution 

Lancaster C01 
Fecal 

coliform 
8.25E+09 MPN/day 

57. 
Antipoison 

Creek 

Indian, Tabbs, 

Dymer, and 

Antipoison Creeks 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish 

Condemnation 

Areas Listed Due 

to Bacteria 

Pollution 

Lancaster C01 
Fecal 

coliform 
8.60E+09 MPN/day 

58. 

Indian Creek 

(including 

Arthur and 

Pitmans 

Creeks) 

Indian, Tabbs, 

Dymer, and 

Antipoison Creeks 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish 

Condemnation 

Areas Listed Due 

to Bacteria 

Pollution 

Northumberland C01 
Fecal 

coliform 
3.82E+09 MPN/day 

59. 

Little 

Mosquito 

Creek 

Bacteria TMDL 

Development for 

the Little Mosquito 

Creek Watershed 

Accomack D01 
Fecal 

coliform 
5.15E+08 MPN/day 

60. 

Broad Bay, 

Long Creek, 

and Linkhorn 

Bay 

Lynnhaven Bay, 

Broad Bay and 

Linkhorn Bay 

Watersheds Total 

Virginia Beach C08 
Fecal 

coliform 
9.35E+10 cfu/year 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 25, 2016 

3236 

Maximum Daily 

Load (TMDL) 

Report for 

Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacteria 

Contamination 

61 
Lynnhaven 

River 

Lynnhaven Bay, 

Broad Bay and 

Linkhorn Bay 

Watersheds Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load (TMDL) 

Report for 

Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacteria 

Contamination 

Virginia Beach C08 
Fecal 

coliform 
9.01E+11 cfu/year 

62. 
Mattawoman 

Creek 

TMDL Report for 

Chesapeake Bay 

Shellfish Waters: 

Mattawoman 

Creek Bacterial 

Impairment 

Northampton C14 
Fecal 

coliform 
1.15E+09 MPN/day 

63. 
Messongo 

Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Messongo and 

Guilford Creeks 

Accomack C10 
Fecal 

coliform 
None2 MPN/day 

64. 
Messongo 

Creek 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load (TMDL) 

Development for 

the Messongo 

Creek Watershed 

Accomack C10 
Fecal 

coliform 
1.00E+08 MPN/day 

65. 
Billups 

Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Gwynn's Island 

and Milford Haven 

Watersheds 

Mathews C04 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

66. 
Edwards 

Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

Mathews C04 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 
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for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Gwynn's Island 

and Milford Haven 

Watersheds 

67. 
Morris 

Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Gwynn's Island 

and Milford Haven 

Watersheds 

Mathews C04 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

68. 
Queens 

Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Gwynn's Island 

and Milford Haven 

Watersheds 

Mathews C04 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

69. Stutts Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Gwynn's Island 

and Milford Haven 

Watersheds 

Mathews C04 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

70. Ball Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Chesapeake Bay: 

Mill Creek to 

Dividing Creek 

Northumberland C01 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

71. 
Cloverdale 

Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Northumberland C01 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 
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Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Chesapeake Bay: 

Mill Creek to 

Dividing Creek 

72. Mill Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Chesapeake Bay: 

Mill Creek to 

Dividing Creek 

Northumberland C01 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

73. McLean Gut 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Nandua and 

Curratuck Creeks 

Accomack C13 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

74. 
Nandua 

Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Nandua and 

Curratuck Creeks 

Accomack C13 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

75. 
Church 

Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Nassawadox Creek 

Watershed 

Northampton C13 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

76. 
Holly Grove 

Cove 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Nassawadox Creek 

Watershed 

Northampton C13 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 
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77. 
Nassawadox 

Creek, upper 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load (TMDL) 

Report for Shellfish 

Areas Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Nassawadox Creek 

Watershed 

Northampton C13 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A

2
 MPN/day 

78. 
Warehouse 

Creek, upper 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load (TMDL) 

Report for Shellfish 

Areas Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Nassawadox Creek 

Watershed 

Northampton C13 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A

2
 MPN/day 

79. 

Westerhouse 

Creek - Part 

A 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Nassawadox Creek 

Watershed 

Northampton 
C13, 

C14 

Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

80. 

Westerhouse 

Creek - Part 

B 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Nassawadox Creek 

Watershed 

Northampton 
C13, 

C14 

Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

81. Back Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

North River 

Gloucester C04 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

82. 
Blackwater 

Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

North River 

Mathews C04 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 
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83. 
Elmington 

Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

North River 

Gloucester C04 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

84. 
Greenmansi

on Cove 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

North River 

Mathews C04 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

85. North River 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

North River 

Mathews C04 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

86. 
Occohannock 

Creek, upper 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Occohannock 

Creek 

Accomack C13 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

87. 

Old  

Plantation 

Creek, upper 

VDH-DSS 

condemnation 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Old Plantation and 

Elliots Creeks 

Northampton C16 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

88. 

Onancock 

Creek, south 

branch 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Onancock Creek 

Accomack C11 Enterococci N/A2 cfu/day 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 25, 2016 

3241 

89. 
Onancock 

Creek, upper 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Onancock Creek 

Accomack C11 Enterococci N/A2 cfu/day 

90. 

Onancock 

Creek, north 

branch 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Onancock Creek 

Accomack C11 Enterococci 9.94E+08 cfu/day 

91. Cedar Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Onancock Creek 

Accomack C11 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

92. 
Finneys 

Creek, upper 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Onancock Creek 

Accomack C11 Enterococci N/A2 cfu/day 

93. 
Onancock 

Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Onancock Creek 

Accomack C11 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

94. 

Onancock 

Creek, 

central 

branch 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Onancock Creek 

Accomack C11 Enterococci N/A2 cfu/day 
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95. 

Chesapeake 

Bay, 

unnamed 

tributary 

(Big Fleets 

Pond) 

Owens Pond, Little 

Taskmakers Creek, 

and Un-named 

Tributary to 

Chesapeake Bay 

(Big Fleets Pond) 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load Report 

for Shellfish 

Condemnation 

Impaired Due to 

Bacteria 

Contamination 

Northumberland C01 
Fecal 

coliform 
1.37E+08 MPN/day 

96. 

Little 

Taskmakers 

Creeks 

Owens Pond, Little 

Taskmakers Creek, 

and Un-named 

Tributary to 

Chesapeake Bay 

(Big Fleets Pond) 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load Report 

for Shellfish 

Condemnation 

Impaired Due to 

Bacteria 

Contamination 

Northumberland C01 
Fecal 

coliform 
3.67E+08 MPN/day 

97. Owens Pond 

Owens Pond, Little 

Taskmakers Creek, 

and Un-named 

Tributary to 

Chesapeake Bay 

(Big Fleets Pond) 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load Report 

for Shellfish 

Condemnation 

Impaired Due to 

Bacteria 

Contamination 

Northumberland C01 
Fecal 

coliform 
1.56E+09 MPN/day 

98. 
Oyster 

Harbor 

TMDL Report for 

Chesapeake Bay 

Shellfish Waters: 

Oyster Harbor 

Bacterial 

Impairment 

Northampton 
D05, 

D06 

Fecal 

coliform 
4.28E+08 MPN/day 

99. Parker Creek 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load Development 

for the Parker 

Creek Watershed 

Accomack D03 
Fecal 

coliform 
1.59E+10 MPN/day 
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100. Pettit Branch 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load of 

Bacteria for Pettit 

Branch 

Accomack D02 E. coli 0 cfu/day 

101. 

Piankatank 

River, Cobbs 

Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Piankatank River, 

Lower 

Mathews 
C03, 

C04 

Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

102. 

Piankatank 

River, Healy 

Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Piankatank River, 

Lower 

Middlesex C03 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

103. 

Piankatank 

River, 

Wilton 

Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Piankatank River, 

Lower 

Middlesex C03 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

104. 
Harper 

Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Piankatank River, 

Upper 

Gloucester C03 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

105. 
Piankatank 

River 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Piankatank River, 

Upper 

King and 

Queen, 

Gloucester, 

Middlesex, 

Essex 

C02, 

C03 

Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 
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106. 

Pitts Creek, 

unnamed 

tributary 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load of 

Pathogens for the 

Unnamed 

Tributary to Pitts 

Creek 

Accomack C09 E. coli 6.40E+07 cfu/day 

107. 

Pitts Creek, 

unnamed 

tributary 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load on 

Dissolved Oxygen 

In Unnamed 

Tributary to Pitts 

Creek 

Accomack C09 
Total 

nitrogen 
0 lbs/day 

108. 

Pitts Creek, 

unnamed 

tributary 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load on 

Dissolved Oxygen 

In Unnamed 

Tributary to Pitts 

Creek 

Accomack C09 
Total 

phosphorus 
0 lbs/day 

109. 

Pocomoke 

Sound and 

Pocomoke 

River 

including 

Holden 

Creek, 

Bulbeggar 

Creek, and 

Pitts Creek
3
 

Total Maximum 

Daily Loads of 

Fecal Coliform for 

the Restricted 

Shellfish 
Harvesting/Growing 

Areas of the 

Pocomoke River in 

the Lower 

Pocomoke River 

Basin and 

Pocomoke Sound 

Basin 

Accomack 
C09, 

C10 

Fecal 

coliform 
1.37E+09 MPN/day 

110. Back Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Loads of 

Bacteria for 

Poquoson River 

and Back Creek 

York C07 
Fecal 

coliform 
1.41E+13 

counts/yea

r 

111. 
Poquoson 

River 

Total Maximum 

Daily Loads of 

Bacteria for 

Poquoson River 

and Back Creek 

Poquoson, 

York 
C07 

Fecal 

coliform 
1.12E+14 

counts/yea

r 

112. 
Free School 

Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Severn River 

Gloucester C06 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 
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113. 
Heywood 

Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Severn River 

Gloucester C06 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

114. 

Northwest 

Branch 

Severn River 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Severn River 

Gloucester C06 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

115. 
Thorntons 

Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Severn River 

Gloucester C06 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

116. 
Vaughans 

Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Severn River 

Gloucester C06 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

117. 
Greenbackvi

lle Harbor 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Chincoteague Bay 

Accomack D01 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

118. 
Swan Gut 

Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Chincoteague Bay 

Accomack D01 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 
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119. 
The Gulf, 

upper 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

The Gulf 

Northampton C14 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

120. 

Pungoteague 

Creek 

(Warehouse 

Prong and 

Bull Run 

Creek) 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Pungoteague Creek 

Accomack C12 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

121. 
Taylor 

Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Pungoteague Creek 

Accomack 
C12, 

C13 

Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

122. 
Fox Mill 

Run 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Ware River 

Gloucester C05 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

123. Ware River 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Ware River 

Gloucester C05 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 

124. 
Wilson 

Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish Areas 

Listed Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination - 

Ware River 

Gloucester 
C05, 

C06 

Fecal 

coliform 
N/A2 MPN/day 
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125. 
Cockrell 

Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) Report 

for Shellfish 

Condemnation 

Areas Listed Due 

to Bacteria 

Contamination - 

Cockrell Creek 

Northumberland C01 
Fecal 

coliform 
1.49E+11 cfu/day 

126. 

Red Bank 

Creek, 

riverine 

Bacteria TMDL 

Development in 

Red Bank Creek 

and Machipongo 

River, Virginia 

Accomack, 

Northampton  
D04R E. coli 1.08E+8 cfu/yr 

127. 

Red Bank 

Creek, 

estuarine 

Bacteria TMDL 

Development in 

Red Bank Creek 

and Machipongo 

River, Virginia 

Accomack, 

Northampton 
D04E Enterococci 3.93E+6 cfu/yr 

128. 

Machipongo 

River, 

estuarine 

Bacteria TMDL 

Development in 

Red Bank Creek 

and Machipongo 

River, Virginia 

Accomack, 

Northampton 
D04E Enterococci 9.03E+6 cfu/yr 

129. 

Red Bank 

Creek, 

shellfish 

Bacteria TMDL 

Development in 

Red Bank Creek 

and Machipongo 

River, Virginia 

Accomack, 

Northampton 
D04E 

Fecal 

coliform 

5.10E+1

1 
counts/yr 

130. 

Machipongo 

River, 

shellfish 

Bacteria TMDL 

Development in 

Red Bank Creek 

and Machipongo 

River, Virginia 

Accomack, 

Northampton 
D04E 

Fecal 

coliform 

2.04E+1

2 
counts/yr 

Notes: 
1
The total WLA can be increased prior to modification provided that DEQ tracks these changes for bacteria TMDLs where 

the permit is consistent with water quality standards for bacteria. 
2
There were no point source dischargers in the modeled TMDL area. 

3
This WLA represents only the Virginia portion of the watershed. 

EDITOR'S NOTE: Subsections B and C of 9VAC25-720-110 are not amended; therefore, the text of those subsections is not set out. 

 

9VAC25-720-120. York River Basin. 

A. Total maximum daily loads (TMDLs). 

TMDL # 
Stream 

Name 
TMDL Title City/County WBID Pollutant WLA

1
 Units 

1. 

Lower 

Pamunkey 

River 

E. coli TMDL 

Development 

for The 

Hanover, 

Louisa, King 

William, 

F13R, F13E, 

F14R, F14E 
E. coli 5.38E+13 cfu/yr 
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Pamunkey 

River and 

Tributaries, 

VA 

Caroline, 

Spotsylvania, 

New Kent  

2. 

Middle 

Pamunkey 

River 

E. coli TMDL 

Development 

for The 

Pamunkey 

River and 

Tributaries, 

VA 

Hanover, 

Louisa, King 

William, 

Caroline, 

Spotsylvania, 

New Kent 

F12R E. coli 2.36E+13 cfu/yr 

3. 

Taylors 

Creek 

(VAN-F03R-

01) 

E. coli TMDL 

Development 

for The 

Pamunkey 

River and 

Tributaries, 

VA 

Hanover, 

Louisa, King 

William, 

Caroline, 

Spotsylvania, 

New Kent 

F03R E. coli 3.66E+10 cfu/yr 

4. 
Northeast 

Creek 

E. coli TMDL 

Development 

for The 

Pamunkey 

River and 

Tributaries, 

VA 

Hanover, 

Louisa, King 

William, 

Caroline, 

Spotsylvania, 

New Kent 

F09R E. coli 2.34E+12 cfu/yr 

5. 
Totopotomoy 

Creek 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the 

Pamunkey 

River Basin 

Hanover F13 E. coli 2.62E+10 cfu/year 

6. 
Newfound 

River 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the 

Pamunkey 

River Basin 

Hanover F05 E. coli 2.89E+10 cfu/year 

7. 

South Anna 

River (VAN-

F02R-01) 

E. coli TMDL 

Development 

for The 

Pamunkey 

River and 

Tributaries, 

VA 

Hanover, 

Louisa, King 

William, 

Caroline, 

Spotsylvania, 

and New 

Kent 

F01R, 

F02R 
E. coli 7.50E+12 cfu/yr 

8. 

South Anna 

River (VAN-

F01R-01) 

E. coli TMDL 

Development 

for The 

Pamunkey 

 

Hanover, 

Louisa, King 

William, 

Caroline,  

 

F01R E. coli 4.92E+12 cfu/yr 
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River and 

Tributaries, 

VA 

Spotsylvania, 

and New 

Kent  

9. 

South Anna 

River (VAP-

F04R-01) 

E. coli TMDL 

Development 

for The 

Pamunkey 

River and 

Tributaries, 

VA 

Hanover, 

Louisa, King 

William, 

Caroline, 

Spotsylvania, 

and New 

Kent 

F03R, 

F04R 
E. coli 7.74E+12 cfu/yr 

10. 

South Anna 

River (VAP-

F04R-02) 

E. coli TMDL 

Development 

for The 

Pamunkey 

River and 

Tributaries, 

VA 

Hanover, 

Louisa, King 

William, 

Caroline, 

Spotsylvania, 

and New 

Kent  

F04R E. coli 6.02E+12 cfu/yr 

11. 
Adams 

Creek 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) 

Report for 

Shellfish 

Areas Listed 

Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination 

- Poropotank 

River and 

Adams Creek 

Gloucester F26 
Fecal 

coliform 
4.48E+08 MPN/day 

12. 

Poropotank 

River and 

Morris Bay 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) 

Report for 

Shellfish 

Areas Listed 

Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination 

- Poropotank 

River and 

Adams Creek 

Gloucester F26 
Fecal 

coliform 
4.78E+09 MPN/day 

13. 
Felgates 

Creek 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the Queen 

Creek, King 

Creek, and 

Felgates Creek 

Watersheds 

York F27 
Fecal 

coliform 
3.70E+10 MPN/day 
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14. King Creek 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the Queen 

Creek, King 

Creek, and 

Felgates Creek 

Watersheds 

York F27 
Fecal 

coliform 
4.37E+10 MPN/day 

15. Queen Creek 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the Queen 

Creek, King 

Creek, and 

Felgates Creek 

Watersheds 

York, 

Williamsburg 
F26 

Fecal 

coliform 
9.69E+11 MPN/day 

16. 
Perrin River, 

upper 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) 

Report for 

Shellfish 

Areas Listed 

Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination 

- Sarah Creek 

and Perrin 

River 

Gloucester F27 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A

2
 MPN/day 

17. Sarah Creek 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) 

Report for 

Shellfish 

Areas Listed 

Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination 

- Sarah Creek 

and Perrin 

River 

Gloucester F27 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A

2
 MPN/day 

18. 
Plentiful 

Creek 

Bacteria 

TMDLs for 

York River 

Basin 

Spotsylvania F07 E. coli 3.57E+09 cfu/year 

19. 
Mountain 

Run 

Bacteria 

TMDLs for 

York River 

Basin 

Orange F06 E. coli 1.22E+10 cfu/year 
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20. 
Beaver 

Creek 

Bacteria 

TMDLs for 

York River 

Basin 

Orange F06 E. coli 1.25E+10 cfu/year 

21. Terrys Run 

Bacteria 

TMDLs for 

York River 

Basin 

Orange F07 E. coli 1.86E+10 cfu/year 

22. 

Pamunkey 

Creek and 

Tomahawk 

Creek 

Bacteria 

TMDLs for 

York River 

Basin 

Orange F07 E. coli 9.05E+10 cfu/year 

23. 
Goldmine 

Creek 

Bacteria 

TMDLs for 

York River 

Basin 

Louisa F06 E. coli 1.09E+11 cfu/year 

24. 

Lower 

Pamunkey 

River 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the Upper 

York River, 

the Lower 

Pamunkey 

River, and the 

Lower 

Mattaponi 

River (Tidal) 

Watersheds 

New Kent, 

King William 
F14 Enterococci 1.34E+10 cfu/day 

25. 

Lower 

Mattaponi 

River 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the Upper 

York River, 

the Lower 

Pamunkey 

River, and the 

Lower 

Mattaponi 

River (Tidal) 

Watersheds 

King and 

Queen, King 

William 

F24, F25 Enterococci 1.42E+10 cfu/day 

26. 
Upper York 

River 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the Upper 

York River, 

the Lower 

Pamunkey 

River, and the 

Lower 

New Kent, 

King 

William, 

King and 

Queen 

F14, F24, 

F25, F26 
Enterococci 2.76E+10 cfu/day 
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Mattaponi 

River (Tidal) 

Watersheds 

27. 
Upper York 

River 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for the Upper 

York River, 

the Lower 

Pamunkey 

River, and the 

Lower 

Mattaponi 

River (Tidal) 

Watersheds 

New Kent, 

King 

William, 

King and 

Queen 

F14, F24, 

F25, F26 

Fecal 

coliform 
1.14E+12 counts/day 

28. 
Taskinas 

Creek 

TMDL Report 

for Chesapeake 

Bay Shellfish 

Waters: Ware 

Creek, 

Taskinas 

Creek, and 

Skimino Creek 

Bacterial 

Impairments 

James City F26 
Fecal 

coliform 
4.97E+08 MPN/day 

29. 
Skimino 

Creek 

TMDL Report 

for 

Chesapeake 

Bay Shellfish 

Waters: Ware 

Creek, 

Taskinas 

Creek, and 

Skimino 

Creek 

Bacterial 

Impairments 

James City F26 
Fecal 

coliform 
1.34E+09 MPN/day 

30. Ware Creek 

TMDL Report 

for 

Chesapeake 

Bay Shellfish 

Waters: Ware 

Creek, 

Taskinas 

Creek, and 

Skimino 

Creek 

Bacterial 

Impairments 

James City F26 
Fecal 

coliform 
1.36E+09 MPN/day 

31. 
Aberdeen 

Creek 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Gloucester F26 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A

2
 MPN/day 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 25, 2016 

3253 

(TMDL) 

Report for 

Shellfish 

Areas Listed 

Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination 

- York River: 

Gloucester 

Point to Jones 

Creek 

32. Carter Creek 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) 

Report for 

Shellfish 

Areas Listed 

Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination 

- York River: 

Gloucester 

Point to Jones 

Creek 

Gloucester F27 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A

2
 MPN/day 

33. 
Cedarbush 

Creek 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) 

Report for 

Shellfish 

Areas Listed 

Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination 

- York River: 

Gloucester 

Point to Jones 

Creek 

Gloucester F27 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A

2
 MPN/day 

34. Jones Creek 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) 

Report for 

Shellfish 

Areas Listed 

Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination 

- York River: 

Gloucester 

Point to Jones 

Creek 

Gloucester F26 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A

2
 MPN/day 
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35. 
Timberneck 

Creek 

Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) 

Report for 

Shellfish 

Areas Listed 

Due to 

Bacterial 

Contamination 

- York River: 

Gloucester 

Point to Jones 

Creek 

Gloucester F27 
Fecal 

coliform 
N/A

2
 MPN/day 

36. 
Upper Little 

River 

E. coli TMDL 

Development 

for The 

Pamunkey 

River and 

Tributaries, 

VA 

Hanover, 

Louisa, King 

William, 

Caroline, 

Spotsylvania, 

New Kent  

F11R, 

F10R 
E. coli 5.61E+12 cfu/yr 

37. 

Upper 

Pamunkey 

River and 

North Anna 

River 

E. coli TMDL 

Development 

for The 

Pamunkey 

River and 

Tributaries, 

VA 

Hanover, 

Louisa, King 

William, 

Caroline, 

Spotsylvania, 

New Kent  

F12R, 

F09R 
E. coli 3.25E+13 cfu/yr 

38. Brock Run 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) 

Development 

for the 

Mattaponi 

River 

Watershed 

Spotsylvania F15 E. coli 3.09E+10 cfu/yr 

39. 
Chapel 

Creek 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) 

Development 

for the 

Mattaponi 

River 

Watershed 

King and 

Queen 
F21 E. coli 1.25E+12 cfu/yr 

40. 
Doctors 

Creek 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) 

Development 

for the 

Caroline F22 E. coli 3.24E+11 cfu/yr 
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Mattaponi 

River 

Watershed 

41. Glady Run 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) 

Development 

for the 

Mattaponi 

River 

Watershed 

Spotsylvania F16 E. coli 1.85E+11 cfu/yr 

42. 
Maracossic 

Creek 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) 

Development 

for the 

Mattaponi 

River 

Watershed 

Caroline, 

King and 

Queen 

F22 E. coli 5.24E+12 cfu/yr 

43. Mat River 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) 

Development 

for the 

Mattaponi 

River 

Watershed 

Spotsylvania F18 E. coli 1.94E+11 cfu/yr 

44. Matta River 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) 

Development 

for the 

Mattaponi 

River 

Watershed 

Spotsylvania, 

Caroline 
F18 E. coli 2.14E+12 cfu/yr 

45. 
Mattaponi 

River 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) 

Development 

for the 

Mattaponi 

River 

Watershed 

Caroline F17 E. coli 6.16E+12 cfu/yr 

46. Motto River 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) 

Caroline F19 E. coli 6.48E+10 cfu/yr 
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Development 

for the 

Mattaponi 

River 

Watershed 

47. Po River 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) 

Development 

for the 

Mattaponi 

River 

Watershed 

Spotsylvania, 

Caroline 
F16 E. coli 1.46E+12 cfu/yr 

48. Polecat Creek 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) 

Development 

for the 

Mattaponi 

River 

Watershed 

Caroline F20 E. coli 1.56E+11 cfu/yr 

49. Poni River 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) 

Development 

for the 

Mattaponi 

River 

Watershed 

Caroline F17 E. coli 2.93E+12 cfu/yr 

50.  Reedy Creek 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) 

Development 

for the 

Mattaponi 

River 

Watershed 

Caroline F21 E. coli 2.08E+11 cfu/yr 

51. Root Swamp 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) 

Development 

for the 

Mattaponi 

River 

Watershed 

King and 

Queen 
F22 E. coli 5.15E+11 cfu/yr 

Notes: 
1The total WLA can be increased prior to modification provided that DEQ tracks these changes for bacteria TMDLs where the permit is 

consistent with water quality standards for bacteria. 
2There were no point source dischargers in the modeled TMDL area. 
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EDITOR'S NOTE: Subsections B and C of 9VAC25-720-120 are not amended; therefore, the text of those subsections is not 

set out. 

9VAC25-720-130. New River Basin. 

A. Total maximum daily loads (TMDLs). 

TMDL # Stream Name TMDL Title City/County WBID Pollutant WLA
1
 Units 

1. Stroubles Creek 

Benthic TMDL for 

Stroubles Creek in 

Montgomery 

County, Virginia 

Montgomery N22R Sediment 233.15 T/YR 

2. Back Creek 

Fecal Bacterial and 

General Standard 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development for 

Back Creek 

Watershed, Pulaski 

County, VA 

Pulaski N22R Sediment 0.28 T/YR 

3. Crab Creek 

Fecal Bacterial and 

General Standard 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development for 

Crab Creek 

Watershed, 

Montgomery 

County, VA 

Montgomery N18R Sediment 77 T/YR 

4. Peak Creek 

Fecal Bacterial and 

General Standard 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development for 

Peak Creek 

Watershed, Pulaski 

County, VA 

Pulaski N17R Copper 12 KG/YR 

5. Peak Creek 

Fecal Bacterial and 

General Standard 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development for 

Peak Creek 

Watershed, Pulaski 

County, VA 

Pulaski N17R Zinc 57 KG/YR 

6. Bluestone River 

Fecal Bacterial and 

General Standard 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development for 

Bluestone River 

Tazewell N36R Sediment 116.2 T/YR 
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7. 
Hunting Camp 

Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) 

Development for 

Hunting Camp 

Creek Aquatic Life 

Use (Benthic) and 

E. coli (Bacteria) 

Impairments 

Bland N31R Sediment 0 LB/YR 

8. Chestnut Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development for 

Chestnut Creek, 

Fecal Bacteria and 

General Standard 

(Benthic) 

Carroll, 

Grayson 
N06R Sediment 18.9 T/YR 

9. Laurel Fork 

Benthic TMDL for 

Laurel Fork, Sussex 

County, Virginia 

Tazewell, 

Pocahontas 
N37R Sediment 21 T/YR 

10. Little River 

Bacteria, Benthic, 

and Temperature 

Total Maximum 

Daily Loads in the 

Little River 

Watershed of Floyd 

and Montgomery 

Counties, Virginia 

Floyd, Pulaski, 

Montgomery 

N19R, 

N21R 
Sediment 116.49 T/YR 

11. Back Creek 

Fecal Bacteria and 

General Standard 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development for 

Back Creek 

Pulaski N22 E. coli 2.61E+09 cfu/year 

12. Bluestone River 

Fecal Bacteria and 

General Standard 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development for 

Bluestone River 

Tazewell N36 E. coli 9.41E+12 cfu/year 

13. Chestnut Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development for 

Chestnut Creek Fecal 

Bacteria and General 

Standard (Benthic) 

Carroll, Galax, 

Grayson 
N06 E. coli 1.74E+09 cfu/year 

14. Crab Creek 

Fecal Bacteria and 

General Standard 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development for 

Crab Creek 

Montgomery N18 E. coli 3.40E+08 cfu/year 
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15. Cripple Creek #1 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load (TMDL) 

Development for 

Cripple Creek 

Smyth N09 E. coli 2.94E+10 cfu/year 

16. Cripple Creek #2 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load (TMDL) 

Development for 

Cripple Creek 

Smyth, Wythe N09 E. coli 1.87E+11 cfu/year 

17. Cripple Creek #3 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load (TMDL) 

Development for 

Cripple Creek 

Smyth, Wythe N09 E. coli 2.82E+11 cfu/year 

18. 
Dodd Creek and 

tributaries 

Fecal coliform 

TMDL for Dodd 

Creek Watershed 

Floyd N20 
Fecal 

coliform 
6.91E+11 cfu/year 

19. Elk Creek 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load Development 

for Elk Creek 

Grayson N05 E. coli 1.48E+11 cfu/year 

20. 
Hunting Camp 

Creek 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

(TMDL) 

Development for 

Hunting Camp 

Creek 

Bland N31 E. coli 0 cfu/year 

21. Laurel Fork 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development for 

Laurel Fork Fecal 

Bacteria, Dissolved 

Oxygen and 

General Standard 

(Benthic) 

Tazewell N37 E. coli 8.72E+11 cfu/year 

22. 
Little River and 

tributaries 

Bacteria, Benthic, 

and Temperature 

Total Maximum 

Daily Loads in the 

Little River 

Watershed 

Floyd, 

Montgomery 

N19, 

N20, 

N21 

E. coli 1.13E+13 cfu/year 

23. 
Dodd Creek, lower 

(DDD01) 

Bacteria, Benthic, 

and Temperature 

Total Maximum 

Daily Loads in the 

Little River 

Watershed 

Floyd N20 Temperature 0.82 J/m
2
/s 
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24. 

West Fork Dodd 

Creek (VAW-

N20R_DDW01A02) 

Bacteria, Benthic, 

and Temperature 

Total Maximum 

Daily Loads in the 

Little River 

Watershed 

Floyd N20 Temperature 0.99 J/m
2
/s 

25. 
Little River, upper 

(LRV03) 

Bacteria, Benthic, 

and Temperature 

Total Maximum 

Daily Loads in the 

Little River 

Watershed 

Floyd N19 Temperature 1.03 J/m
2
/s 

26. 

Big Indian Creek 

(VAW-

N21R_BIC01A02) 

Bacteria, Benthic, 

and Temperature 

Total Maximum 

Daily Loads in the 

Little River 

Watershed 

Floyd N21 Temperature 1.2 J/m
2
/s 

27. 
Dodd Creek, upper 

(DDD02) 

Bacteria, Benthic, 

and Temperature 

Total Maximum 

Daily Loads in the 

Little River 

Watershed 

Floyd N20 Temperature 1.3 J/m
2
/s 

28. 
Pine Creek (VAW-

N19R_PNC01A06) 

Bacteria, Benthic, 

and Temperature 

Total Maximum 

Daily Loads in the 

Little River 

Watershed 

Floyd N19 Temperature 1.35 J/m
2
/s 

29. 
Little River, middle 

(LRV02) 

Bacteria, Benthic, 

and Temperature 

Total Maximum 

Daily Loads in the 

Little River 

Watershed 

Floyd N19 Temperature 1.44 J/m
2
/s 

30. 
Little River, lower 

(LRV01) 

Bacteria, Benthic, 

and Temperature 

Total Maximum 

Daily Loads in the 

Little River 

Watershed 

Floyd, 

Montgomery 

N19, 

N20, 

N21 

Temperature 1.66 J/m
2
/s 

31. 
Mill Creek and 

tributaries 

Fecal Coliform 

TMDL for Mill 

Creek Watershed 

Montgomery N21 
Fecal 

coliform 
2.62E+11 cfu/year 

32. Peak Creek 

Fecal Bacteria and 

General Standard 

Total Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development for 

Peak Creek 

Pulaski N17 E. coli 8.70E+08 cfu/year 
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33. Mill Creek 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load Development 

for Mill Creek, Cove 

Creek, Miller Creek, 

Stony Fork, Tate 

Run, South Fork 

Reed Creek and 

Reed Creek 

Wythe N10 E. coli 6.79E+10 cfu/year 

34. Tate Run 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load Development 

for Mill Creek, 

Cove Creek, Miller 

Creek, Stony Fork, 

Tate Run, South 

Fork Reed Creek 

and Reed Creek 

Wythe N10 E. coli 7.99E+10 cfu/year 

35. Stony Fork 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load Development 

for Mill Creek, Cove 

Creek, Miller Creek, 

Stony Fork, Tate 

Run, South Fork 

Reed Creek and 

Reed Creek 

Wythe N10 E. coli 9.00E+10 cfu/year 

36. Miller Creek 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load Development 

for Mill Creek, 

Cove Creek, Miller 

Creek, Stony Fork, 

Tate Run, South 

Fork Reed Creek 

and Reed Creek 

Wythe N11 E. coli 2.63E+11 cfu/year 

37. 
Reed Creek (VAS-

N10R_RDC01B00) 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load Development 

for Mill Creek, Cove 

Creek, Miller Creek, 

Stony Fork, Tate 

Run, South Fork 

Reed Creek and 

Reed Creek 

Wythe N10 E. coli 4.32E+11 cfu/year 

38. Cove Creek 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load Development 

for Mill Creek, Cove 

Creek, Miller Creek, 

Stony Fork, Tate 

Run, South Fork 

Reed Creek and 

Reed Creek 

Wythe N12 E. coli 7.40E+11 cfu/year 
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39. 
Reed Creek (VAS-

N10R_RDC01A02) 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load Development 

for Mill Creek, Cove 

Creek, Miller Creek, 

Stony Fork, Tate 

Run, South Fork 

Reed Creek and 

Reed Creek 

Wythe N10 E. coli 8.71E+11 cfu/year 

40. 
Reed Creek (VAS-

N10R_RDC01A00) 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load Development 

for Mill Creek, 

Cove Creek, Miller 

Creek, Stony Fork, 

Tate Run, South 

Fork Reed Creek 

and Reed Creek 

Wythe N10 E. coli 2.18E+12 cfu/year 

41. 
Reed Creek, South 

Fork 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load Development 

for Mill Creek, 

Cove Creek, Miller 

Creek, Stony Fork, 

Tate Run, South 

Fork Reed Creek 

and Reed Creek 

Wythe N10 E. coli 2.18E+12 cfu/year 

42. 
Reed Creek (VAS-

N11R_RDC01B00) 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load Development 

for Mill Creek, 

Cove Creek, Miller 

Creek, Stony Fork, 

Tate Run, South 

Fork Reed Creek 

and Reed Creek 

Wythe 

N10, 

N11, 

N12 

E. coli 3.80E+13 cfu/year 

43. 
Reed Creek (VAS-

N11R_RDC02B02) 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load Development 

for Mill Creek, 

Cove Creek, Miller 

Creek, Stony Fork, 

Tate Run, South 

Fork Reed Creek 

and Reed Creek 

Wythe 

N10, 

N11, 

N12 

E. coli 5.54E+13 cfu/year 

44. 
Reed Creek (VAS-

N11R_RDC03B04) 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum Daily 

Load Development 

for Mill Creek, 

Cove Creek, Miller 

Creek, Stony Fork, 

Tate Run, South 

Wythe 

N10, 

N11, 

N12 

E. coli 6.03E+13 cfu/year 
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Fork Reed Creek 

and Reed Creek 

45. 
East Wilderness 

Creek 

Bacteria TMDL 

Development for 

East Wilderness 

Creek, Kimberling 

Creek, Nobusiness 

Creek, Town Creek, 

and Walker Creek 

Bland N26 E. coli 1.89E+11 cfu/year 

46. Kimberling Creek 

Bacteria TMDL 

Development for 

East Wilderness 

Creek, Kimberling 

Creek, Nobusiness 

Creek, Town Creek, 

and Walker Creek 

Bland N26 E. coli 1.96E+12 cfu/year 

47. Nobusiness Creek 

Bacteria TMDL 

Development for 

East Wilderness 

Creek, Kimberling 

Creek, Nobusiness 

Creek, Town Creek, 

and Walker Creek 

Bland, Giles N26 E. coli 1.38E+12 cfu/year 

48. Town Creek 

Bacteria TMDL 

Development for 

East Wilderness 

Creek, Kimberling 

Creek, Nobusiness 

Creek, Town Creek, 

and Walker Creek 

Bland N25  E. coli 1.73E+12 cfu/year 

49. 
Walker Creek 

segment 1 

Bacteria TMDL 

Development for 

East Wilderness 

Creek, Kimberling 

Creek, Nobusiness 

Creek, Town Creek, 

and Walker Creek 

Bland N25 E. coli 2.70E+12 cfu/year 

50. 
Walker Creek 

segment 2 

Bacteria TMDL 

Development for 

East Wilderness 

Creek, Kimberling 

Creek, Nobusiness 

Creek, Town Creek, 

and Walker Creek 

Bland   N25 E. coli  3.45E+12  cfu/year  

51. 
Walker Creek 

segment 3 

Bacteria TMDL 

Development for 

East Wilderness 

Creek, Kimberling 

Creek, Nobusiness 

Creek, Town Creek, 

and Walker Creek 

Bland N25 E. coli  3.10E+11  cfu/year  
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52. 
Wolf Creek 

Headwaters 

E. coli TMDL 

Development for 

Wolf Creek and 

Tributaries  

Tazewell  

N30, 

N32, 

N33  

E. coli  6.82E+10  cfu/year  

53. Wolf Creek 

E. coli TMDL 

Development for 

Wolf Creek and 

Tributaries  

Tazewell, 

Bland, Giles 
N30  E. coli  1.14E+11   cfu/year 

Notes: 
1The total WLA can be increased prior to modification provided that DEQ tracks these changes for bacteria TMDLs where the permit is 

consistent with water quality standards for bacteria. 

EDITOR'S NOTE: Subsection B of 9VAC25-720-130 is not amended; therefore, the text of that subsection is not set out. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4771; Filed June 29, 2016, 1:49 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 

exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The State Board of Health will 

receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any interested 

person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

* * * * * * * * 

Due to its length, a summary of the regulatory action filed by 

the State Board of Health is being published in lieu of the full 

text in accordance with § 2.2-4031 of the Code of Virginia. 

The full text of the regulation is available at the office of the 

Registrar of Regulations and at the State Board of Health (see 

Agency Contact information) and is accessible on the 

Virginia Register of Regulations website at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/agency_resources 

/12VAC5-481.pdf. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-481. Virginia Radiation 

Protection Regulations (amending 12VAC5-481-10, 

12VAC5-481-240, 12VAC5-481-250, 12VAC5-481-390 

through 12VAC5-481-451, 12VAC5-481-480, 12VAC5-

481-500, 12VAC5-481-590, 12VAC5-481-630 through 

12VAC5-481-670, 12VAC5-481-690 through 12VAC5-

481-730, 12VAC5-481-750, 12VAC5-481-760, 12VAC5-

481-780, 12VAC5-481-810 through 12VAC5-481-910, 

12VAC5-481-930 through 12VAC5-481-1000, 12VAC5-

481-1030, 12VAC5-481-1040, 12VAC5-481-1090, 

12VAC5-481-1100, 12VAC5-481-1110, 12VAC5-481-1161, 

12VAC5-481-1290, 12VAC5-481-1530, 12VAC5-481-1670 

through 12VAC5-481-1800, 12VAC5-481-1820 through 

12VAC5-481-2080, 12VAC5-481-2240, 12VAC5-481-2280, 

12VAC5-481-2660, 12VAC5-481-2670 through 12VAC5-

481-2940, 12VAC5-481-3120, 12VAC5-481-3680, 

12VAC5-481-3750, 12VAC5-481-3770; adding 12VAC5-

481-421, 12VAC5-481-2011 through 12VAC5-481-2019, 

12VAC5-481-2041 through 12VAC5-481-2049, 12VAC5-

481-3262; repealing 12VAC5-481-1810, 12VAC5-481-

3690).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-229 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 25, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Steve Harrison, Director, Office of 

Radiological Health, Department of Health, 109 Governor 

Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-8151, 

FAX (804) 864-8155, or email 

steve.harrison@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

As an agreement state with the federal Nuclear Regulatory 

Commission (NRC), Virginia is required to ensure that its 

regulations are compatible with Title 10 of the Code of 

Federal Regulations (CFR). This regulatory action amends 

12VAC5-481 to implement revisions of Title 10 of CFR 

from 2011 until 2013.  

The amendments include revisions regarding: (i) 

decommissioning planning (10 CFR Parts 20, 30, 40 and 

70; NRC Regulatory Action Tracking System (RATS) 

2011–1); (ii) licenses, certifications, and approvals for 

materials licensees (10 CFR Parts 30, 40, and 70; RATS 

2011–2); (iii) advance notification of Native American 

tribes (10 CFR Part 71; RATS 2012–2); (iv) technical 

corrections (10 CFR Parts 30, 34, 40 and 71; RATS 2012–

3); (v) requirements for distribution of byproduct material 

(10 CFR Parts 30, 31, 32, 40 and 70; RATS 2012–4); and 

(vi) distribution of source material to exempt persons and 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/agency_resources/12VAC5-481.pdf
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/agency_resources/12VAC5-481.pdf
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to general licensees (10 CFR Parts 30, 40, 70, 170, and 

171; RATS 2013–2). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-3585; Filed July 1, 2016, 12:27 p.m.  

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: A form used in administering the 

following regulation has been filed by the Virginia 

Department of Health. The form is not being published; 

however, online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations may click on the name of the form to access it. 

The form is also available from the agency contact or may be 

viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, General 

Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-590. Waterworks 

Regulations. 

Contact Information: Robert A.K. Payne, JD, Office of 

Drinking Water, Director of Legal Affairs, Department of 

Health, 109 Governor Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 864-7498, or email 

robert.payne@vdh.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (12VAC5-590) 

Water Well Completion Report, Form GW-2, Virginia 

Department of Environmental Quality (rev. 7/07) 

Uniform Water Well Completion Report, Form GW-2 (rev. 

7/2015) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4786; Filed June 29, 2016, 5:26 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-610. Sewage Handling and 

Disposal Regulations (amending 12VAC5-610-30, 

12VAC5-610-920 through 12VAC5-610-950; adding 

12VAC5-610-955).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12, 32.1-164, and 32.1-164.9 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 25, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Dwayne Roadcap, Director, Division of 

Onsite Sewage and Water Services, Department of Health, 

109 Governor Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

864-7458, FAX (804) 864-7475, or email 

dwayne.roadcap@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

The amendments permanently incorporate the 

requirements for gravelless material and drip dispersal 

established by emergency regulation (30:11 VA.R. 1576 

January 27, 2014) pursuant to Chapter 202 of the 2013 

Acts of Assembly, which required the State Board of Health 

to promulgate regulations for chamber and bundled 

expanded polystyrene effluent systems. The amendments 

establish construction, design, and installation 

requirements for gravelless material and drip dispersal 

systems, as follows: 

1. Specifications for the physical construction of gravelless 

material including minimum exterior width, height, effluent 

storage capacity, and structural capacity; 

2. Requirements for a permeable interface between 

gravelless material and trench sidewall soil surfaces for 

the absorption of wastewater; 

3. Criteria for the allowable slope, maximum length, 

minimum sidewall depth, and minimum lateral separation 

of gravelless material absorption trenches; 

4. Criteria for determining the minimum absorption area 

required when utilizing gravelless material; 

5. Criteria for the substitution of gravelless material in 

place of gravel for gravity percolation lines and low 

pressure distribution systems; 

6. Specifications for the physical construction of drip 

dispersal system components; 

7. Minimum requirements for the design of drip dispersal 

systems; and 

8. Minimum installation requirements for drip dispersal 

systems; the final amendments remove the linear loading 

requirements. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

12VAC5-610-30. Relationship to Virginia Joint Sewerage 

Regulations other regulations.  

This chapter is supplemental to the current Virginia 

Sewerage Regulations, or their successor, which were 

adopted jointly by the State Board of Health and the 

Department of Environmental Quality pursuant to § 62.1-

44.19 of the Code of Virginia. This chapter addresses the 

handling and disposal of sewage not regulated by a Virginia 

Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) Permit.  

A. This chapter addresses the handling and disposal of those 

portions of sewage flows not regulated by a Virginia 

Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) Permit or a 

Virginia Pollutant Abatement (VPA) Permit issued in 

accordance with 9VAC25-31 or 9VAC25-32, respectively. 

B. Reclamation and reuse of sewage may be subject to 

permitting by the Department of Environmental Quality 

under 9VAC25-740. 

12VAC5-610-920. Distribution methods.  

The term distribution methods refers to the piping, flow 

splitting devices, gravel, and other appurtenances beginning 

at the point of flow splitting and ending at the soil-gravel or 

sand interface application of effluent to the soil absorption 

area. Two basic methods are considered:  

A. Gravity; and  

B. Pressure.  

mailto:Robert.Payne@VDH.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3db1e004786~1&typ=40&actno=004786&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3db1e004786~1&typ=40&actno=004786&mime=application/pdf
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12VAC5-610-930. Gravity distribution.  

Gravity distribution is the conveyance of effluent from a 

distribution box through the percolation lines at less than full 

flow conditions. Flow to the initial distribution box may be 

initiated by pump, siphon or gravity.  

A. Enhanced flow distribution. Enhanced flow distribution 

is the initiation of the effluent flow to the distribution box by 

pump or siphon for the purpose of assuring more uniform 

flow splitting to the percolation lines. Enhanced flow 

distribution shall be provided on systems where the flow is 

split more than 12 times or the system contains more than 

1200 linear feet of percolation lines. For the purpose of this 

chapter, enhanced flow distribution is considered to produce 

unsaturated soil conditions.  

B. System size. Distribution systems containing 1800 or 

more linear feet of percolation piping shall be split into 

multiple systems containing a maximum of 1200 linear feet 

of percolation piping per system.  

C. Distribution boxes. The distribution box is a device for 

splitting flow equally by gravity to points in the system. 

Improperly installed distribution boxes are a cause for 

absorption field malfunction.  

1. Materials. The preferred material for use in constructing 

distribution boxes is concrete (3000 psi). Other materials 

may be considered on a case-by-case basis. All materials 

must be resistant to both chemical and electrolytic 

corrosion and must have sufficient structural strength to 

contain sewage and resist lateral compressive and bearing 

loads.  

2. Design. Each distribution box shall be designed to split 

the influent flow equally among the multiple effluent ports. 

All effluent ports shall be at the same elevation and be of 

the same diameter. The elevation of the effluent ports shall 

be at a lower elevation than the influent port. The 

placement of the influent ports shall be such as to prevent 

short circuiting unless baffling is provided to prevent short 

circuiting. The minimum inside width of a gravity flow 

distribution box shall be equal to or greater than 12 inches. 

The inside bottom shall be at least four inches below the 

invert of the effluent ports and at least five inches below 

the invert of the influent port. A minimum of eight inches 

freeboard above the invert of the effluent piping shall be 

provided. The distribution box shall be fitted with a 

watertight, removable lid for access.  

3. Installation. The hole for placement of the distribution 

box shall be excavated to undisturbed soil. The distribution 

box shall be placed in the excavation and stabilized. The 

preferred method of stabilizing the distribution box is to 

bond the distribution box to a four inch poured in place 

Portland cement concrete pad with dimensions six inches 

greater than the length and width dimensions of the 

distribution box. The box shall be permanently leveled and 

checked by water testing. Conduits passing through the 

walls of a distribution box shall be provided with a water 

stop.  

D. Lead or header lines. Header or lead lines are watertight, 

semirigid or rigid lines that convey effluent from a 

distribution box to another box or to the percolation piping.  

1. Size. The lead or header lines shall have an internal 

diameter of four inches.  

2. Slope. Minimum slope shall be two inches per 100 feet.  

3. Materials. The lead or header lines shall have a 

minimum crush strength of 1500 pounds per foot and may 

be constructed of cast iron, plastic, vitrified clay or other 

material resistant to the corrosive action of sewage.  

4. Appurtenances.  

a. Joints. Lead or header lines shall have joints of the 

compressions type with the exception of plastic lead or 

header lines which may be welded sleeve, chemically 

fused or clamped (noncorrosive) flexible sleeve.  

b. Adapters. Joining of lead or header lines of different 

size [ and/or or ] material shall be accomplished by use 

of a manufactured adapter specifically designed for the 

purpose.  

c. Valves. Valves shall be constructed of materials 

resistant to the corrosive action of sewage. Valves placed 

below ground level shall be provided with a valve box 

and a suitable valve stem so that it may be operated from 

the ground surface.  

5. Construction.  

a. Bedding. All lead or header lines shall be bedded to 

supply uniform support and maintain grade and 

alignment along the length of the lead or header lines. 

Special care shall be taken when using semirigid pipe.  

b. Backfilling and tamping. Lead and header lines shall 

be backfilled and tamped as soon as possible after the 

installation of the lead or header lines has been approved. 

Material for backfilling shall be free of large stones and 

debris.  

6. Termination. Header or lead lines shall extend for a 

minimum distance of two feet into the absorption trenches.  

E. Gravity percolation lines. Gravity percolation lines are 

perforated or open joint pipes that are utilized to distribute the 

effluent along the length of the absorption trenches.  

1. Size. All gravity percolation lines shall have an internal 

diameter of four inches.  

2. Slope. The slope of the lines shall be uniform and shall 

not be less than two inches or more than four inches per 

100 feet.  

3. Design. Effluent shall be split by the distribution system 

so that all gravity percolation lines installed shall receive 

an equal volume of the total design effluent load per square 

foot of trench, i.e., the fraction of the flow received by 

each percolation line divided by the length of the gravity 
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percolation lines shall be equal for all gravity percolation 

lines in a system.  

4. Length. No individual gravity percolation line shall 

exceed 100 feet in length.  

5. Materials.  

a. Clay. Clay tile shall be extra-strength and meet current 

ASTM standards for clay tile.  

b. Perforated plastic drainage tubing. Perforated plastic 

drainage tubing shall meet ASTM standards. At not 

greater than 10 feet intervals the pipe shall be plainly 

marked, embossed or engraved thereby showing the 

manufacturer's name or hallmark and showing that the 

product meets a bearing load of 1,000 lb. per foot. In 

addition, a painted or other clearly marked line or spot 

shall be marked at not greater than 10 feet intervals to 

denote the top of the pipe.  

The tubing shall have three holes, 1/2 to 3/4 inch in 

diameter evenly spaced and placed within an arc of 130 

degrees, the center hole being directly opposite the top 

marking.  

Spacing of each set of three holes shall be at four inch 

intervals along the tube. If there is any break in the 

continuity of the tubing, an appropriate connection shall 

be used to join the tubing.  

6. Installation [ . ]  

a. Crushed stone or gravel. Clean gravel or crushed stone 

having a size range from 1/2 inch to 1-1/2 inches shall be 

utilized to bed the gravity percolation lines.  

Minimum depth of gravel or crushed stone beneath the 

percolation lines shall be six inches. Clean course silica 

sand (does not effervesce in presence of dilute 

hydrochloric acid) may be substituted for the first two 

inches (soil interface) of the require required six inches 

of gravel beneath the percolation lines. The absorption 

trench shall be backfilled to a depth of two inches over 

the gravity percolation lines with the same gravel or 

crushed stone. Clean sand, gravel or crushed stone shall 

be free of fines, clay and organic materials.  

b. Grade boards [ and/or or ] stakes. Grade boards 

[ and/or or ] stakes placed in the bottom or sidewalls of 

the absorption trench shall be utilized to maintain the 

grade on the gravel for placement of the gravity 

percolation lines. Grade stakes shall not be placed on 

centers greater than 10 feet.  

c. Placement and alignment. Perforated gravity 

percolation piping shall be placed so that the center hole 

is in the horizontal plane and interfaces with the 

minimum six inches of graded gravel. When open joint 

piping is utilized the upper half of the top of the 1/4-inch 

open space shall be covered with tar paper or building 

paper to block the entrance of fines into the pipe during 

the backfilling operation. All gravity percolating piping 

shall be placed in the horizontal center of the absorption 

trench and shall maintain a straight alignment and 

uniform grade.  

d. Backfilling. After the placement of the gravity 

percolation piping the absorption trench shall be 

backfilled evenly with crushed stone or gravel to a depth 

of two inches over the piping. Untreated building paper, 

or other suitable material shall be placed at the interface 

of the gravel and soil to prevent migration of fines to the 

trench bottom. The remainder of the trench shall be 

backfilled with soil to the ground surface. 

F. Gravelless material is a proprietary product specifically 

manufactured to disperse effluent within the absorption trench 

of an onsite sewage system without the use of gravel. 

Gravelless material may include chamber, bundled expanded 

polystyrene, and multi-pipe systems. The division shall 

maintain a list of all generally approved gravelless material. 

Gravelless material on the generally approved list may be 

used in accordance with Table 5.4 of 12VAC5-610-950. 

1. Gravelless material that received general approval as of 

December 12, 2013, shall retain such status when used in 

accordance with the requirements of this chapter. After 

December 12, 2013, the division shall review and evaluate 

new applications for general approval pursuant to the 

requirements of this chapter. 

a. Any manufacturer of gravelless material may submit 

an application for general approval to the division using a 

form provided by the division. A complete application 

shall include the manufacturer's contact information, 

product specifications, product approvals in other states 

or territories, installation manual, and other information 

deemed necessary by the division to determine 

compliance with this chapter. 

b. The manufacturer of gravelless material shall identify 

in the application for general approval any 

recommendation that deviates from the requirements of 

this chapter. If the recommendation is approved by the 

division, then the manufacturer shall include the 

deviation in the gravelless material's installation manual. 

2. Gravelless material shall have the following minimum 

characteristics for general approval: 

a. The minimum exterior width shall be at least 90% of 

the total width of the absorption trench. The exterior 

width of a chamber system shall be measured at the edge 

or outer limit of the product's contact with the trench 

bottom unless the division determines a different 

measurement is required based on the gravelless 

material's design. The exterior width of bundled 

expanded polystyrene and multi-pipe systems shall be 

measured using the outside diameter of the bundled 

gravelless material unless the division determines a 

different measurement is required based on the gravelless 

material's design. The division shall establish the exterior 

width of any gravelless material that is not considered a 
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chamber, bundled expanded polystyrene, or multi-pipe 

system. 

b. Gravelless material shall have a minimum height of 

eight inches to provide a continuous exchange of air 

through a permeable interface.  

c. Gravelless material shall have a permeable interface 

that shall be located along the trench bottom and trench 

sidewalls within the absorption trench. 

d. Gravelless material shall provide a minimum storage 

capacity of 1.3 gallons per square foot of trench bottom 

area. 

e. Gravelless material shall pose no greater risk to surface 

water and groundwater quality than gravel in absorption 

trenches. Gravelless material shall be constructed to 

maintain structural integrity such that it does not decay or 

corrode when exposed to effluent. 

f. Gravelless material shall have a minimum load rating 

of H-10 or H-20 from the American Association of State 

Highway and Transportation Officials or equivalent 

when installed in accordance with the manufacturer's 

specifications and minimum specified depth of cover in 

[ non-traffic nontraffic ] or traffic areas, respectively. 

3. For designs using gravelless material, the absorption 

trenches shall receive an equal volume of effluent per 

square foot of trench. Trench bottom area shall be equal to 

or greater than the minimum area requirements contained 

in Table 5.4 of 12VAC5-610-950. Trench sidewall shall 

not be included when determining minimum area 

requirements. When open-bottom gravelless material is 

utilized, it shall provide a splash plate at the inlet of the 

trench or other suitable method approved by the 

manufacturer to reduce effluent velocity. 

4. Installation of gravelless material shall comply with this 

chapter [ and the approved installation manual ] unless the 

department grants a deviation pursuant to 12VAC5-610-

660 or the division has granted a deviation identified in the 

installation manual.  

5. Gravelless material shall contain a pressure percolation 

line along the entire length of the trench when low pressure 

distribution is utilized pursuant to 12VAC5-610-940 D. 

6. When pumping effluent to overcome gravity, any open-

bottom gravelless material shall provide a high-flow splash 

plate at the inlet of the trench or other suitable method 

approved by the manufacturer to reduce effluent velocity. 

7. When enhanced flow distribution is used, open-bottom 

gravelless material shall contain a percolation pipe that 

extends a minimum of 10 feet from the trench's 

intersection with the header line. The percolation pipe shall 

be installed in accordance with the manufacturer's 

approved installation manual. The dosing volume shall be 

a minimum 39 gallons per 100 linear feet of absorption 

trench. 

8. Gravelless material may be substituted for gravel in 

accordance with this chapter, provided that the certifying 

licensed professional engineer or onsite soil evaluator 

approves the substitution. The certifying licensed 

professional engineer or onsite soil evaluator shall 

[ identify document ] the substitution [ and related design 

changes ] on the inspection report submitted in accordance 

with 12VAC5-610-330. A new construction permit 

pursuant to 12VAC5-610-310 is not required for the 

substitution. 

12VAC5-610-940. Low pressure distribution.  

Low pressure distribution is the conveyance of effluent 

through the pressure percolation lines at full flow conditions 

into the absorption area with the prime motive force being a 

pump or siphon. Low pressure systems are limited to a 

working pressure of from one to four feet of head at the distal 

end of the pressure percolation lines. For the purpose of this 

chapter low pressure distribution is considered to provide 

unsaturated soil conditions.  

A. Dosing cycle. Systems shall be designed so that the 

effluent volume applied to the absorption area per dosing 

cycle is from seven to 10 times the volume of the distribution 

piping, however, the volume per dosing cycle should not 

result in a liquid depth in the absorption trench greater than 

two inches.  

B. Manifold lines. Manifold lines are watertight lines that 

convey effluent from the initial point of flow splitting to the 

pressure percolation lines.  

1. Size. The manifold line shall be sized to provide a 

minimum velocity of two feet per second and a maximum 

velocity of eight feet per second.  

2. Materials. All pipe used for manifolds shall be of the 

pressure type with pressure type joints.  

3. Bedding. All manifolds shall be bedded to supply 

uniform support along its length.  

4. Backfilling and tamping. Manifold trenches shall be 

backfilled and tamped as soon as possible after the 

installation of the manifold has been approved. Material 

for backfilling shall be free of large stones and debris.  

5. Valves. Valves for throttling and check valves to prevent 

backflow are required wherever necessary. Each valve 

shall be supplied with a valve box terminating at the 

surface.  

C. Pressure percolation lines. Pressure percolation lines are 

perforated pipes utilized to distribute the flow evenly along 

the length of the absorption trench.  

1. Size. Pressure percolation lines should normally have a 

1-1/4 inch inside diameter.  

2. Hole size. Normal hole size shall be 3/16 inch to 1/4 

inch.  

3. Hole placement. Center to center hole separation shall 

be between three and five feet.  



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 25, 2016 

3269 

4. Line length. Maximum line length from manifold should 

not exceed 50 feet.  

5. Percent flow variation. Actual line size, hole size and 

hole separation shall be determined on a case-by-case basis 

based on a maximum flow variation of 10% along the 

length of the pressure percolation lines.  

6. Materials and construction. The preferred material is 

plastic, either PVC or ABS, designed for pressure service. 

The lines shall have burr free and counter sunk holes 

(where possible) placed in a straight line along the 

longitudinal axis of the pipe. Joining of pipes shall be 

accomplished with manufactured pressure type joints.  

7. Installation.  

a. Crushed stone or gravel. Clean gravel or crushed stone 

having a size range from 1/2 inch to 3/4 inch shall be 

utilized to bed the pressure percolation lines. Minimum 

depth of gravel or crushed stone beneath the percolation 

lines shall be 8-1/2 inches. Clean course silica sand (does 

not effervesce in the presence of dilute hydrochloric acid) 

may be substituted for the first two inches (soil interface) 

of the required 8-1/2 inches of gravel beneath the 

pressure percolation lines. The absorption trench shall be 

backfilled to a depth of two inches over the pressure 

percolation lines with the same gravel or crushed stone. 

Clean sand, gravel or crushed stone shall be free of fines, 

clay and organic materials.  

b. Grade boards [ and/or or ] stakes. Grade boards 

[ and/or or ] stakes placed in the bottom or sidewalls of 

the absorption trench shall be utilized to maintain the 

gravel level for placement of the pressure percolation 

lines. Grade stakes shall not be placed on centers greater 

than 10 feet.  

c. Placement and alignment. Pressure percolation lines 

shall be placed so that the holes face vertically 

downward. All pressure percolation piping shall be 

placed at the same elevation, unless throttling valves are 

utilized, and shall be level. The piping shall be placed in 

the horizontal center of the trench and shall maintain a 

straight alignment. Normally the invert of the pressure 

percolation lines shall be placed 8-1/2 inches above the 

trench bottom. However, under no circumstance shall the 

invert of the pressure percolation lines be placed closer 

than 16-1/2 inches to the seasonal water table as defined 

in 12VAC5-610-950 A 3 12VAC5-610-470 D. When the 

invert of the pressure percolation lines must be placed at 

an elevation greater than 8-1/2 inches above the trench 

bottom, landscaping over the absorption area may be 

required to provide the two inches of gravel and six 

inches of fill over the pressure percolation lines required 

in subdivision 7 a of this subsection.  

d. Backfilling. After the placement of the pressure 

percolation piping the absorption trench shall be 

backfilled evenly with crushed stone or gravel to a depth 

of two inches over the opening. Untreated building paper 

or other suitable material shall be placed at the interface 

of the gravel and soil to prevent migration of fines to the 

trench bottom. The remainder of the trench shall be 

backfilled with soil to the ground surface.  

8. Appurtenances. The distal (terminal) end of each 

pressure percolation lines shall be fitted with a vertical 

riser and threaded cap extending to the ground surface. 

Systems requiring throttling valves will be supplied with 

couplings and threaded riser extensions at least four feet 

long so that the flow may be adjusted in each line. 

D. Gravelless material with general approval may be used 

for low pressure distribution in accordance with the 

manufacturer's approved installation manual, Table 5.4 of 

12VAC5-610-950, and the applicable requirements of this 

chapter. 

12VAC5-610-950. Absorption area design.  

A. The absorption area is the undisturbed soil medium 

beginning at the soil gravel or sand interface which is utilized 

for absorption of the effluent. The absorption area includes 

the infiltrative surface in the absorption trench and the soil 

between and around the trenches when trenches are used.  

B. Suitability of soil horizon. The absorption trench bottom 

shall be placed in the soil horizon or horizons with an average 

estimated or measured percolation rate less than 120 minutes 

per inch. Soil horizons are to be identified in accordance with 

12VAC5-610-480. The soil horizon must meet the following 

minimum conditions:  

1. It shall have an estimated or measured percolation rate 

equal to or less than 120 minutes per inch.  

2. The soil horizon or horizons shall be of sufficient 

thickness so that at least 12 inches of absorption trench 

sidewall is exposed to act as an infiltrative surface; and  

3. If no single horizon meets the conditions in subdivision 

2 of this subsection, a combination of adjacent horizons 

may be utilized to provide the required 12-inch sidewall 

infiltrative surface. However, no horizon utilized shall 

have an estimated or measured percolation rate greater than 

120 minutes/inch.  

C. Placement of absorption trenches below soil restrictions. 

Placement of the soil absorption trench bottom below soil 

restrictions as defined in 12VAC5-610-490 D, whether or not 

there is evidence of a perched water table as indicated by free 

standing water or gray mottlings or coloration, requires a 

special design based on the following criteria:  

1. The soil horizon into which the absorption trench bottom 

is placed shall be a Texture Group I, II or III soil or have 

an estimated or measured percolation rate of less than 91 

minutes per inch.  

2. The soil horizon shall be a minimum of three feet thick 

and shall exhibit no characteristics that indicate wetness on 

restriction of water movement. The absorption trench 

bottom shall be placed so that at least two feet of the soil 

horizon separates the trench bottom from the water table 
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[ and/or or ] rock. At least one foot of the absorption trench 

side wall shall penetrate the soil horizon.  

3. A lateral ground water movement interceptor (LGMI) 

shall be placed upslope of the absorption area. The LGMI 

shall be placed perpendicular to the general slope of the 

land. The invert of the LGMI shall extend into, but not 

through, the restriction and shall extend for a distance of 

10 feet on either side of the absorption area (See 12VAC5-

610-700 D 3).  

4. Pits shall be constructed to facilitate soil evaluations as 

necessary.  

D. Sizing of absorption trench area.  

1. Required area. The total absorption trench bottom area 

required shall be based on the average estimated or 

measured percolation rate for the soil horizon or horizons 

into which the absorption trench is to be placed. If more 

than one soil horizon is utilized to meet the sidewall 

infiltrative surface required in subsection B of this section, 

the absorption trench bottom area shall be based on the 

average estimated or measured percolation rate of the 

"slowest" horizon. The trench bottom area required in 

square feet per 100 gallons (Ft²/100 Gals) of sewage 

applied for various soil percolation rates is tabulated in 

Table 5.4. The area requirements are based on the 

equation:  

log y = 2.00 + 0.008 (x)  

where y = Ft²/100 Gals  

x = Percolation rate in minutes/inch  

Notwithstanding the above, the minimum absorption area 

for single family residential dwellings shall be 400 square 

feet.  

2. Area reduction. See Table 5.4 for percent area reduction 

when gravelless material or low pressure distribution is 

utilized. A reduction in area shall not be permitted when 

flow diversion is utilized with low pressure distribution. 

When gravelless material is utilized, the design width of 

the trench shall be used to calculate minimum area 

requirements for absorption trenches.  

E. Minimum cross section dimensions for absorption 

trenches.  

1. Depth. The minimum trench sidewall depth as measured 

from the surface of the mineral soil shall be 12 inches 

when placed in a landscape with a slope less than 10%. 

The installation depth shall be measured on the downhill 

side of the absorption trench. When the installation depth is 

less than 18 inches, the depth shall be measured from the 

lowest elevation in the microtopography. All systems shall 

be provided with at least 12 inches of cover to prevent frost 

penetration and provide physical protection to the 

absorption trench; however, this requirement for additional 

cover shall not apply to systems installed on slopes of 30% 

or greater. Where additional soil cover must be provided to 

meet this minimum, it must be added prior to construction 

of the absorption field, and it must be crowned to provide 

positive drainage away from the absorption field. The 

minimum trench depth shall be increased by at least five 

inches for every 10% increase in slope. Sidewall depth is 

measured from the ground surface on the downhill side of 

the trench.  

2. Width. All absorption trenches utilized with gravity 

distribution shall have a width of from 18 inches to 36 

inches. All absorption trenches utilized with low pressure 

distribution shall have a width of eight inches to 24 inches.  

F. Lateral separation of absorption trenches. The absorption 

trenches shall be separated by a center to center distance no 

less than three times the width of the trench for slopes up to 

10%. However, where trench bottoms are two feet or more 

above rock, pans and impervious strata, the absorption 

trenches shall be separated by a center to center distance no 

less than three times the width of the trench for slopes up to 

20%. The minimum horizontal separation distance shall be 

increased by one foot for every 10% increase in slope. In no 

case shall the center to center distance be less than 30 inches.  

G. Slope of absorption trench bottoms.  

1. Gravity distribution. The bottom of each absorption 

trench shall have a uniform slope not less than two inches 

or more than four inches per 100 feet.  

2. Low pressure distribution. The bottom of each 

absorption trench shall be uniformly level to prevent 

ponding of effluent.  

H. Placement of absorption trenches in the landscape.  

1. The absorption trenches shall be placed on contour.  

2. When the ground surface in the area over the absorption 

trenches is at a higher elevation than any plumbing fixture 

or fixtures, sewage from the plumbing fixture or fixtures 

shall be pumped.  

I. Lateral ground water movement interceptors. Where 

subsurface, laterally moving water is expected to adversely 

affect an absorption system, a lateral ground water movement 

interceptor (LGMI) shall be placed upslope of the absorption 

area. The LGMI shall be placed perpendicular to the general 

slope of the land. The invert of the LGMI shall extend into, 

but not through, the restriction and shall extend for a distance 

of 10 feet on either side of the absorption area.  



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 25, 2016 

3271 

Table 5.4.  

Area Requirements for Absorption Trenches.  

Percolation Rate 

(Minutes/Inch)  

Area Required 

(Ft
2
/100 Gals) 

Area Required 

(Ft
2
/Bedroom) 

Gravity 
Gravity 

Gravelless 
Low Pressure 

Distribution 
Gravity 

Gravity 

Gravelless 
Low Pressure 

Distribution 

5 110 83 110 165 124 165 

10 120 90 120 180 135 180 

15 132 99 132 198 149 198 

20 146 110 146 218 164 218 

25 158 119 158 237 178 237 

30 174 131 164 260 195 255 

35 191 143 170 286 215 260 

40 209 157 176 314 236 264 

45 229 172 185 344 258 279 

50 251 188 193 376 282 293 

55 275 206 206 412 309 309 

60 302 227 217 452 339 325 

65 331 248 228 496 372 342 

70 363 272 240 544 408 359 

75 398 299 251 596 447 375 

80 437 328 262 656 492 394 

85 479 359 273 718 539 409 

90 525 394 284 786 590 424 

95 575 489 288 862 733 431 

100 631 536 316 946 804 473 

105 692 588 346 1038 882 519 

110 759 645 379 1138 967 569 

115 832 707 416 1248 1061 624 

120 912 775 456 1368 1163 684 
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J. Controlled blasting. When rock or rock outcroppings are 

encountered during construction of absorption trenches the 

rock may be removed by blasting in a sequential manner from 

the top to remove the rock. Percolation piping and sewer lines 

shall be placed so that at least one foot of compacted clay soil 

lies beneath and on each side of the pipe where the pipe 

passes through the area blasted. The area blasted shall not be 

considered as part of the required absorption area.  

12VAC5-610-955. Drip dispersal. 

A. Drip dispersal applies wastewater in an even and 

controlled manner over an absorption area. Drip dispersal 

system components may include treatment components, a 

flow equalization pump tank, a filtration system, a flow 

measurement method, supply and return piping, small 

diameter pipe with emitters, air/vacuum release valves, 

redistribution control, and electromechanical components or 

controls. 

B. Drip dispersal system tubing shall be color coded and 

certified by the manufacturer as designed and manufactured 

for the dispersal of wastewater. All drip dispersal system 

tubing shall be equipped with emitters approved for use with 

wastewater. For the application of septic tank effluent, the 

tubing must have self-cleaning emitters. 

1. The minimum linear feet of tubing in the system shall be 

one-half of the minimum soil absorption area in square 

feet. 

2. All tubing shall be placed on contour. 

3. Except as provided by 12VAC5-613, drip systems 

dispersing septic tank effluent shall comply with the 

requirements of 12VAC5-610-594. 

[ 4. ] Drip systems dispersing secondary effluent or better 

require a minimum of six inches of cover over the tubing. 

Cover may be achieved by a combination of installation 

depth and Group II or Group III soil cover or other 

approved material over the drip field. 

[ 4. 5. ] The discharge rate of any two emitters shall not 

vary by more than 10% in order to ensure that the effluent 

is uniformly distributed over the entire drip field or zone. 

[ 5. 6. ] The emitters shall be evenly spaced along the 

length of the drip tubing at not less than six inches or more 

than 24 inches apart. 

[ 6. 7. ] The system design shall protect the drip emitters 

and system from the effects of siphoning or backflow 

through the emitters. 

C. Drip dispersal systems shall comply with the following 

minimum soil absorption area requirements: 

1. For the dispersal of septic tank effluent, the minimum 

soil absorption area for a drip system shall be calculated by 

multiplying the trench bottom area required for a low 

pressure distribution system in Table 5.4 of 12VAC5-610-

950 by three.  

2. For the dispersal of secondary or better effluent, the 

minimum soil absorption area shall be calculated by 

multiplying the trench bottom area for pressure distribution 

systems in accordance with subdivision 10 of 12VAC5-

613-80 by three. 

[ 3. Landscape linear loading rates shall be considered for 

sloping absorption areas. For sites where effluent flow is 

primarily horizontal, linear loading rates shall be less than 

four gallons per day per linear foot. For sites where the 

flow is primarily vertical, the linear loading rates shall be 

less than 10 gallons per day per linear foot. 

4. 3. ] Air/vacuum release valves shall be located at the 

high points of the supply and return manifolds to each 

zone. 

D. All drip dispersal systems shall be equipped with devices 

or methods to restrict effluent from draining by gravity to 

portions of a zone or laterals lower in elevation. Variable 

distribution due to gravity drainage shall be 10% or less 

within a zone.  

E. A minimum of six hours of emergency storage above the 

high water alarm in the pump chamber shall be provided. The 

equalization volume shall be equal to 18 hours of storage. The 

equalization volume shall be measured from the pump off 

level to the high water alarm level. An audio/visual alarm 

meeting the requirements of 12VAC5-610-880 B 8 shall be 

provided for the pump chamber.  

F. Each drip dispersal zone shall be time-dosed over a 24-

hour period. The dose volume and interval shall be set to 

provide unsaturated flow conditions. Demand dosing is 

prohibited. Minimum dose volume per zone shall be 3.5 times 

the liquid capacity of the drip laterals in the zone plus the 

liquid capacity of the supply and return manifold lines (which 

drain between doses) accounting for instantaneous loading 

and drain back. 

1. At each dosing cycle, the system design shall only allow 

a full dose volume to be delivered. 

2. For design flows greater than 1,000 gallons per day, a 

means to take each zone off line separately shall be 

provided. The system shall have the capability to bypass 

each zone that is taken out of service such that each 

subsequent dose is dispersed to the next available zone in 

sequence. 

G. Filtration shall be provided to remove suspended solids 

and prevent clogging of emitters. The filtration design shall 

meet the drip tubing manufacturer's particle size requirements 

for protection of the emitters at a flow rate equal to or greater 

than the rate of forward flushing. Filter flush water shall be 

returned to the treatment system at a point where the residuals 

and volume of the flush water do not negatively impact the 

effluent quality or exceed the hydraulic design capacity of the 

treatment system. 
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H. A means for measuring or estimating total flow dispersed 

to the soil absorption area and to verify field dosing and field 

flushing rates shall be provided. 

I. The system shall provide forward field flushing to achieve 

scouring velocity as specified by the drip tubing 

manufacturer. Field flushing shall occur on a routine schedule 

to prevent excessive solids accumulation and clogging. Flush 

water shall be returned to the treatment system at a point 

where the residuals and volume of the flush water do not 

negatively impact the effluent quality or exceed the hydraulic 

design capacity of the treatment system. 

J. Electrical components shall be Underwriters Laboratory 

(UL) listed for the intended purpose. The designer shall 

provide a description with a schematic diagram of the 

electrical and control functions in the operation and 

maintenance manual. The electrical control equipment shall 

be mounted within a National Electrical Manufacturers 

Association (NEMA) 4X rated enclosure with a rigid latching 

door. All switches shall be clearly identified, and all internal 

wiring shall be factory installed. All wiring shall be installed 

according to applicable electrical safety codes and the 

manufacturer's installation schematic. 

K. All components in a drip dispersal system shall be rated 

to withstand contact with wastewater and recommended for 

this application by the manufacturer. All components shall be 

protected from freezing. 

L. The designer of the drip dispersal system shall verify the 

dosing rates, the flushing rates, and other parameters critical 

to the proper operation of the system at the startup inspection. 

A summary of the startup inspection shall be included in the 

operation and maintenance manual and shall include, at a 

minimum, the dosing volume, the forward flow flushing rate, 

the pressure head of the system, and verification of proper 

cycling between zones. 

NOTICE: The following form used in administering the 

regulation was filed by the agency. The form is not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The form is also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (12VAC5-610)  

Application for a Sewage Disposal System Construction 

Permit, C.H.S. 200 (rev. 4/83).  

Sewage Disposal System Construction Permit, C.H.S. 202A 

(rev. 6/84).  

Schematic Drawing of Sewage Disposal System and 

Topographic, C.H.S. 202B (rev. 6/84).  

Application for Sewage Handling Permit, B.W.E. 23-1.  

Application for Pump and Haul, B.W.E. 25-1.  

Pump and Haul Storage Facility Construction Permit, 

B.W.E. 26-1.  

Soil Evaluation Form, C.H.S. 201 (rev. 4/83).  

Soils Evaluation Percolation Test Data.  

Record of Inspection - Non-Public Drinking Water Supply 

System.  

Completion Statement, C.H.S. 204 (rev. 4/83).  

Gravelless Material: Application for General Approval 

(undated) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3665; Filed July 1, 2016, 11:54 a.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of Medical 

Assistance Services is claiming an exclusion from Article 2 

of the Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-

4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes 

regulations that are necessary to conform to changes in 

Virginia statutory law where no agency discretion is 

involved. The Department of Medical Assistance Services 

will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 

or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-50. Amount, Duration, and 

Scope of Medical and Remedial Care Services (amending 

12VAC30-50-335).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396. 

Effective Date: August 24, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, Policy Division, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments remove the requirement that Program of 

All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly (referred to as PACE) be 

licensed as adult day care centers to conform to Chapter 

22 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly. 

12VAC30-50-335. General PACE plan requirements. 

A. DMAS, the state agency responsible for administering 

Virginia's Medicaid program, shall only enter into PACE plan 

contracts with approved PACE plan providers. The PACE 

provider must have an agreement with CMS and DMAS for 

the operation of a PACE program. The agreement must 

include: 

1. Designation of the program's service area; 

2. The program's commitment to meet all applicable 

federal, state, and local requirements; 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=20f44003665~1&typ=40&actno=003665&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=20f44003665~1&typ=40&actno=003665&mime=application/pdf
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3. The effective date and term of the agreement; 

4. The description of the organizational structure; 

5. Participant bill of rights; 

6. Description of grievance and appeals processes; 

7. Policies on eligibility, enrollment, and disenrollment; 

8. Description of services available; 

9. Description of quality management and performance 

improvement program; 

10. A statement of levels of performance required on 

standard quality measures; 

11. CMS and DMAS data requirements; 

12. The Medicaid capitation rate and the methodology used 

to calculate the Medicare capitation rate; 

13. Procedures for program termination; and 

14. A statement to hold harmless CMS, the state, and 

PACE participants if the PACE organization does not pay 

for services performed by the provider in accordance with 

the contract. 

B. A PACE plan feasibility study shall be performed before 

DMAS enters into any PACE plan contract. DMAS shall 

contract only with those entities it determines to have the 

ability and resources to effectively operate a PACE plan. A 

feasibility plan shall only be submitted in response to a 

Request for Applications published by DMAS. 

C. PACE plans shall offer a voluntary comprehensive 

alternative to enrollees who would otherwise be placed in a 

nursing facility. PACE plan services shall be comprehensive 

and offered as an alternative to nursing facility admission. 

D. All Medicaid-enrolled PACE participants shall continue 

to meet the nonfinancial and financial Medicaid eligibility 

criteria established by federal law and these regulations. This 

requirement shall not apply to Medicare only or private pay 

PACE participants. 

E. Each PACE provider shall operate a PACE site that is in 

continuous compliance with all state licensure requirements 

for that site. 

F. Each PACE provider shall offer core PACE services as 

described in 12VAC30-50-345 B through a coordination site 

that is licensed as an ADHC by DSS. 

G. F. Each PACE provider shall ensure that services are 

provided by health care providers and institutions that are in 

continuous compliance with state licensure and certification 

requirements.  

H. G. Each PACE plan shall meet the requirements of 

§§ 32.1-330.2 and 32.1-330.3 of the Code of Virginia and 

42 CFR Part 460. 

I. H. All PACE providers must meet the general 

requirements and conditions for participation pursuant to the 

required contracts by DMAS and CMS. All providers must 

sign the appropriate participation agreement. All providers 

must adhere to the conditions of participation outlined in the 

participation agreement and application to provide PACE 

services, DMAS regulations, policies and procedures, and 

CMS requirements pursuant to 42 CFR Part 460. 

J. I. Requests for participation as a PACE provider will be 

screened by DMAS to determine whether the provider 

applicant meets these basic requirements for participation and 

demonstrates the abilities to perform, at a minimum, the 

following activities: 

1. Immediately notify DMAS, in writing, of any change in 

the information that the provider previously submitted to 

DMAS. 

2. Assure freedom of choice to individuals in seeking 

services from any institution, pharmacy, practitioner, or 

other provider qualified to perform the service or services 

required and participating in the Medicaid Program at the 

time the service or services are performed. 

3. Assure the individual's freedom to refuse medical care, 

treatment, and services. 

4. Accept referrals for services only when qualified staff is 

available to initiate and perform such services on an 

ongoing basis. 

5. Provide services and supplies to individuals in full 

compliance with Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 

as amended (42 USC § 2000 et seq.), which prohibits 

discrimination on the grounds of race, color, religion, 

sexual orientation or national origin; the Virginians with 

Disabilities Act (§ 51.5-1 et seq. of the Code of Virginia); 

§ 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended (29 

USC § 794), which prohibits discrimination on the basis of 

a disability; and the Americans with Disabilities Act of 

1990, as amended (42 USC § 12101 et seq.), which 

provides comprehensive civil rights protections to 

individuals with disabilities in the areas of employment, 

public accommodations, state and local government 

services, and telecommunications. 

6. Provide services and supplies to individuals of the same 

quality and in the same mode of delivery as is provided to 

the general public. 

7. Use only DMAS-designated forms for service 

documentation. The provider must not alter the DMAS 

forms in any manner unless approval from DMAS is 

obtained prior to using the altered forms. 

8. Not perform any type of direct marketing activities to 

Medicaid individuals. 

9. Maintain and retain business and professional records 

sufficient to document fully and accurately the nature, 

scope, and details of the services provided. 

a. In general, such records shall be retained for at least 

six years from the last date of service or as provided by 

applicable federal and state laws, whichever period is 

longer. However, if an audit is initiated within the 

required retention period, the records shall be retained 

until the audit is completed and every exception resolved. 
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Records of minors shall be kept for at least six years after 

such minor has reached the age of 18 years. However, 

records for Medicare Part D shall be maintained for 10 

years in accordance with 42 CFR 423.505(d). 

b. Policies regarding retention of records shall apply even 

if the provider discontinues operation. DMAS shall be 

notified in writing of the storage location and procedures 

for obtaining records for review. The location, agent, or 

trustee shall be within the Commonwealth. 

10. Furnish information on request and in the form 

requested to DMAS, the Attorney General of Virginia or 

his authorized representatives, federal personnel, and the 

state Medicaid Fraud Control Unit. The Commonwealth's 

right of access to provider agencies and records shall 

survive any termination of the provider agreement. 

11. Disclose, as requested by DMAS, all financial, 

beneficial, ownership, equity, surety, or other interests in 

any and all firms, corporations, partnerships, associations, 

business enterprises, joint ventures, agencies, institutions, 

or other legal entities providing any form of health care 

services to individuals of Medicaid. 

12. Pursuant to 42 CFR 431.300 et seq., 12VAC30-20-90, 

and any other applicable federal or state law, all providers 

shall hold confidential and use for authorized DMAS 

purposes only all medical assistance information regarding 

individuals served. A provider shall disclose information in 

his possession only when the information is used in 

conjunction with a claim for health benefits, or the data are 

necessary for the functioning of DMAS in conjunction 

with the cited laws. 

13. CMS and DMAS shall be notified in writing of any 

change in the organizational structure of a PACE provider 

organization at least 14 calendar days before the change 

takes effect. 

14. In addition to compliance with the general conditions 

and requirements, all providers enrolled by DMAS shall 

adhere to the conditions of participation outlined in their 

individual provider participation agreements and in the 

applicable DMAS provider manual. DMAS shall conduct 

ongoing monitoring of compliance with provider 

participation standards and DMAS policies. A provider's 

noncompliance with DMAS policies and procedures may 

result in a retraction of Medicaid payment or termination 

of the provider agreement, or both.  

15. Minimum qualifications of staff.  

a. All employees must have a satisfactory work record as 

evidenced by references from prior job experience, 

including no evidence of abuse, neglect, or exploitation 

of vulnerable adults and children. Prior to the beginning 

of employment, a criminal record check shall be 

conducted for the provider and each employee and made 

available for review by DMAS staff. Providers are 

responsible for complying with the Code of Virginia and 

state regulations regarding criminal record checks and 

barrier crimes as they pertain to the licensure and 

program requirements of their employees' particular 

practice areas. 

b. Staff must meet any certifications, licensure, 

registration, etc., as required by applicable federal and 

state law. Staff qualifications must be documented and 

maintained for review by DMAS or its authorized 

contractors. 

16. At the time of their admission to services, all providers 

participating in the Medicare and Medicaid programs must 

provide adult individuals with written information 

regarding each individual's right to make medical care 

decisions, including the right to accept or refuse medical 

treatment and the right to formulate advance directives. 

K. J. Provider's conviction of a felony. The Medicaid 

provider agreement shall terminate upon conviction of the 

provider of a felony pursuant to § 32.1-325 of the Code of 

Virginia. A provider convicted of a felony in Virginia or in 

any other of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, or the 

U.S. territories must, within 30 days, notify the Virginia 

Medicaid Program of this conviction and relinquish the 

provider agreement. In addition, termination of a provider 

participation agreement will occur as may be required for 

federal financial participation. 

L. K. Ongoing quality management review. DMAS shall be 

responsible for assuring continued adherence to provider 

participation standards. DMAS shall conduct ongoing 

monitoring of compliance with provider participation 

standards and DMAS policies and periodically recertify each 

provider for participation agreement renewal with DMAS to 

provide PACE services. 

M. L. Reporting suspected abuse or neglect. Pursuant to 

§§ 63.2-1508 through 63.2-1513 and 63.2-1606 of the Code 

of Virginia, if a participating provider entity suspects that a 

child or vulnerable adult is being abused, neglected, or 

exploited, the party having knowledge or suspicion of the 

abuse, neglect, or exploitation shall report this immediately to 

DSS and to DMAS. In addition, as mandated reporters for 

vulnerable adults, participating providers must inform their 

staff that they are mandated reporters and provide education 

regarding how to report suspected adult abuse, neglect, or 

exploitation pursuant to § 63.2-1606 F of the Code of 

Virginia. 

N. M. Documentation requirements. The provider must 

maintain all records of each individual receiving services. All 

documentation in the individual's record must be completely 

signed and dated with name of the person providing the 

service, title, and complete date with month, day, and year. 

This documentation shall contain, up to and including the last 

date of service, all of the following: 

1. The most recently updated Virginia Uniform 

Assessment Instrument (UAI), all other assessments and 
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reassessments, plans of care, supporting documentation, 

and documentation of any inpatient hospital admissions;  

2. All correspondence and related communication with the 

individual and, as appropriate, consultants, providers, 

DMAS, DSS, or other related parties; and  

3. Documentation of the date services were rendered and 

the amount and type of services rendered. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4729; Filed June 28, 2016, 11:05 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 17. LIBRARIES AND CULTURAL 
RESOURCES 

LIBRARY BOARD 

Final Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 17VAC15-60. Standards for Plats 

(repealing 17VAC15-60-10 through 17VAC15-60-70). 

17VAC15-61. Standards for Recorded Permanent 

Instruments (adding 17VAC15-61-10 through 17VAC15-

61-60). 

17VAC15-70. Standards for Recorded Instruments 

(repealing 17VAC15-70-10 through 17VAC15-70-70). 

17VAC15-80. Standards for Paper for Permanent Circuit 

Court Records (repealing 17VAC15-80-10 through 

17VAC15-80-40).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 42.1-8 and 42.1-82 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 25, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Glenn Smith, Records and Information 

Management Analyst, Library of Virginia, 800 East Broad 

Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 692-3604, or 

email glenn.smith@lva.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments combine the standards for paper, 

inscription, and format for plats, written instruments, and 

other drawings submitted for permanent retention by 

circuit courts currently spread over three regulations 

(17VAC15-60, 17VAC15-70, and 17VAC15-80) into a 

single regulation (17VAC15-61) to simplify and better 

organize the requirements and to omit obsolete sections. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

CHAPTER 61 

STANDARDS FOR PERMANENT INSTRUMENTS 

RECORDED BY HARD COPY 

17VAC15-61-10. Statement of applicability; definitions. 

These standards shall apply to all written instruments, plats, 

and other drawings submitted, recorded, or filed for 

permanent retention in the circuit courts of the 

Commonwealth.  

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Written instrument" means a writing required by law to be 

recorded and retained permanently in the clerk's office of the 

circuit courts of the Commonwealth, excluding wills as set 

forth in 17VAC15-61-60. 

"Plat" means a drawing that shows one or more geometric 

relationships expressed by a bearing and a distance. 

"Other drawing" means any drawing that does not show a 

geometric relationship expressed by a bearing and a distance.  

17VAC15-61-20. Permanent recording and filing medium. 

A. Written instruments.  

1. Documents submitted, recorded, or filed on paper shall 

be on paper that is: 

a. Acid free,  

b. Uniformly white,  

c. Opaque,  

d. Smooth in finish,  

e. Unglazed, and 

f. Free of visible watermarks and background logos. 

2. Paper size shall be: 

a. No smaller than 8-1/2 x 11 inches, and  

b. No larger than 8-1/2 x 14 inches.  

3. Required minimum paper weight is 20 pounds.  

4. Negative (white on black background) copies and 

carbon copies are not acceptable.  

B. Plats and other drawings.  

1. Plats and other drawings shall be inscribed on either 

translucent or opaque paper, polyester, or linen. 

2. The background quality for opaque paper shall be: 

a. Uniformly white,  

b. Smooth in finish,  

c. Unglazed, and 

d. Free of visible watermarks or background logos. 

3. The size for plats and other drawings shall be: 

a. No smaller than 8-1/2 x 11 inches, and 

b. No larger than 18 x 24 inches. 

4. Only the original or first generation unreduced black-

line or blue-line copy of the original plat or other drawing 

that meets the standards provided in this section, 

17VAC15-61-30 B, and 17VAC15-61-40 B and has the 

original wet or electronically printed stamp and the original 

signature of the preparer shall be accepted for recordation.  
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17VAC15-61-30. Inscription quality. 

A. Written instruments.  

1. All inscriptions shall be:  

a. Black; 

b. Solid, where "solid" means the lines forming each 

letter do not have blank or light spots; 

c. Dense, where "dense" means each letter or line is dark; 

d. Uniform, where "uniform" means the entire letter or 

line is the same darkness; 

e. Sharp, where "sharp" means the demarcation between 

each letter or line and the background is abrupt; and 

f. Unglazed, where "unglazed" means inscriptions are 

nonreflective. 

2. All signatures shall be original and in dark blue or black 

ink. 

3. Printing size shall be the equivalent of nine-point or 

larger. 

4. Typing shall be elite (12 characters per inch) or pica (10 

characters per inch) or larger. 

5. The font shall be the equivalent of a normal Arial or 

Courier. 

B. Plats and other drawings.  

1. Inscriptions shall be in ink or electrostatic process that 

produces a permanent image. 

2. Color of original inscription shall be black or dark blue.  

3. All inscriptions shall be: 

a. Solid, where "solid" means the lines forming each 

letter do not have blank or light spots; 

b. Dense, where "dense" means each letter or line is dark; 

c. Uniform, where "uniform" means the entire letter or 

line is the same darkness; 

d. Sharp, where "sharp" means the demarcation between 

each letter or line and the background is abrupt; and 

e. Unglazed, where "unglazed" means inscriptions are 

nonreflective. 

4. Lettering shall be no smaller than .09 inch (2.29 

millimeters). 

5. All signatures shall be: 

a. Original, and  

b. In dark blue or black ink. 

6. No ghost lines shall be used. 

7. All shading and screening shall be eliminated over 

written data. 

17VAC15-61-40. Format. 

A. Written instruments.  

1. The top margin shall be no smaller than 1-1/4 inch. 

2. The bottom, left, and right margins shall be no smaller 

than 3/4 inch.  

3. All instruments shall be single sided. 

B. Plats and other drawings.  

1. Margins shall be no smaller than 1/4 inch on all edges.  

2. All plats shall be single sided. 

3. All pages of a multi-sheet plat shall be the same size. 

17VAC15-61-50. Clerk's recording inscription. 

Recordation inscriptions shall be by the circuit court clerk's 

printed certificate, stamping, typing, or handwriting and shall 

conform to the standards provided in 17VAC15-61-20, 

17VAC15-61-30, and 17VAC15-61-40 that are applicable to 

the submitted instrument. 

17VAC15-61-60. Exclusions. 

The standards provided in 17VAC15-61-20, 17VAC15-61-

30, and 17VAC15-61-40 do not apply to wills. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3761; Filed July 6, 2016, 11:33 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD FOR BARBERS AND COSMETOLOGY 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board for Barbers and 

Cosmetology is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

6 of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations of the 

regulatory boards served by the Department of Professional 

and Occupational Regulation pursuant to Title 54.1 of the 

Code of Virginia that are limited to reducing fees charged to 

regulants and applicants. The Board for Barbers and 

Cosmetology will receive, consider, and respond to petitions 

by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC41-20. Barbering and 

Cosmetology Regulations (amending 18VAC41-20-140). 

18VAC41-40. Wax Technician Regulations (amending 

18VAC41-40-120). 

18VAC41-50. Tattooing Regulations (amending 

18VAC41-50-130). 

18VAC41-60. Body-Piercing Regulations (amending 

18VAC41-60-90). 

18VAC41-70. Esthetics Regulations (amending 18VAC41-

70-120). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 1, 2016.  
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Agency Contact: Demetrios J. Melis, Executive Director, 

Board for Barbers and Cosmetology, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8590, 

FAX (866) 245-9693, or email 

barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments provide for a temporary fee reduction 

from September 1, 2016, through August 31, 2018, for 

applications for licensure, renewals of licensure, and 

reinstatements of licensure for all regulants of the Board 

for Barbers and Cosmetology.  

Part III  

Fees  

18VAC41-20-140. Fees.  

The following fees apply:  

FEE TYPE 

AMOUNT 

DUE 

September 1, 

2016, through 

August 31, 

2018 

AMOUNT 

DUE 

September 1, 

2018, and 

after 

WHEN DUE 

Individuals: 

Application $75 $105 
With 

application 

License by 

Endorsement 
$75 $105 

With 

application 

Renewal: 

Barber $75 $105 

With renewal 

card prior to 

expiration 

date 

Cosmetologist $75 $105 

With renewal 

card prior to 

expiration 

date 

Nail technician $75 $105 

With renewal 

card prior to 

expiration 

date 

Reinstatement 

$150* 

*includes $75 

renewal fee 

and $75 

reinstatement 

fee 

$210* 

*includes 

$105 renewal 

fee and $105 

reinstatement 

fee 

With 

reinstatement 

application 

Instructors: 

Application $100 $125 
With 

application 

License by 

Endorsement 
$100 $125 

With 

application 

Renewal $100 $150 

With renewal 

card prior to 

expiration 

date 

Reinstatement 

$200* 

*includes 

$100 renewal 

fee and $100 

reinstatement 

fee 

$300* 

*includes 

$150 renewal 

fee and $150 

reinstatement 

fee 

With 

reinstatement 

application 

Facilities: 

Application $130 $190 
With 

application 

Renewal $130 $190 

With renewal 

card prior to 

expiration 

date 

Reinstatement 

$260* 

*includes 

$130 renewal 

fee and $130 

reinstatement 

fee 

$380* 

*includes 

$190 renewal 

fee and $190 

reinstatement 

fee 

With 

reinstatement 

application 

Schools: 

Application $140 $220 
With 

application 

Add Program $100 $100 
With 

application 

Renewal $140 $220 

With renewal 

card prior to 

expiration 

date 

Reinstatement 

$280* 

*includes 

$140 renewal 

fee and $140 

reinstatement 

fee 

$440* 

*includes 

$220 renewal 

fee and $220 

reinstatement 

fee 

With 

reinstatement 

application 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC41-20)  

Barber – Barber Instructor Examination & Instructor 

Application, A425-1301_02EXLIC (eff. 9/11) 

Cosmetology – Cosmetology Instructor Examination & 

License Application, A425-1201_04EXLIC (eff. 9/11) 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cda29001831~7&typ=40&actno=001831&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cda29001831~7&typ=40&actno=001831&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d11f2001831~8&typ=40&actno=001831&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d11f2001831~8&typ=40&actno=001831&mime=application/pdf
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Nail Technician – Nail Technician Instructor Examination & 

License Application, A425-1206_07EXLIC (eff. 9/11) 

Temporary Permit Application, A425-1213TP (eff. 9/11)  

License by Endorsement Application, A425-1213END (rev. 

2/14) 

License by Endorsement Application, A450-1213END-v9 

(rev. 9/2016) 

Training & Experience Verification Form, A425-

1213TREXP (eff. 9/11) 

Reinstatement Application, A425-1213REI (rev. 2/14) 

Salon, Shop, Spa & Parlor License Application A425-

1213BUS (rev. 2/14) 

Individuals - Reinstatement Application, A450-1213REI-v8 

(rev. 9/2016) 

Salon, Shop, Spa & Parlor License/Reinstatement 

Application, A450-1213BUS-v8 (rev. 9/2016) 

Salon, Shop & Spa Self Inspection Form, A425-

1213_SSS_INSP (eff. 9/11) 

Instructor Certification Application, A425-1213INST (rev. 

2/14) 

School License Application, A425-1213SCH (rev. 2/14) 

Instructor Certification Application, A450-1213INST-v7 

(rev. 9/2016) 

School License Application, A450-1213SCHL-v9 (rev. 

9/2016) 

School Reinstatement Application, A450-

1213SCHL_REIN-v2 (rev. 9/2016) 

School Self Inspection Form, A425-1213SCH_INSP (eff. 

9/11) 

Licensure Fee Notice, A425-1213FEE (rev. 2/14) 

Licensure Fee Notice, A450-1213FEE-v6 (rev. 9/2016) 

Part III  

Fees  

18VAC41-40-120. Fees.  

The following fees apply:  

FEE TYPE 

AMOUNT 

DUE 

September 1, 

2016, through 

August 31, 

2018 

AMOUNT 

DUE 

September 

1, 2018, 

and after 

WHEN DUE 

Individuals:        

Application $75 $105 
With 

application 

License by 

Endorsement 
$75 $105 

With 

application 

Renewal $75 $105 
With 

renewal 

card prior 

to 

expiration 

date 

Reinstatement 

$150* 

*includes $75 

renewal fee 

and $75 

reinstatement 

fee 

$210* 

*includes 

$105 

renewal 

fee and 

$105 

reinstate-

ment fee 

With 

reinstate-

ment 

application 

Instructors:       

Application $100 $125 
With 

application 

License by 

Endorsement 
$100 $125 

With 

application 

Renewal $100 $150  

With 

renewal 

card prior 

to 

expiration 

date 

Reinstatement 

$200* 

*includes 

$100 renewal 

fee and $100 

reinstatement 

fee 

$300* 

*includes 

$150 

renewal 

fee and 

$150 

reinstate-

ment fee 

With 

reinstate-

ment 

application 

Facilities:       

Application $130 $190 
With 

application 

Renewal $130 $190 

With 

renewal 

card prior 

to 

expiration 

date 

Reinstatement 

$260* 

*includes 

$130 renewal 

fee and $130 

reinstatement 

fee 

$380* 

*includes 

$190 

renewal 

fee and 

$190 

reinstate-

ment fee 

With 

reinstate-

ment 

application 

Schools:       

Application $140 $220 
With 

application 

Renewal $140 $220 
With 

renewal 

card prior 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6679a001831~9&typ=40&actno=001831&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6679a001831~9&typ=40&actno=001831&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f40b7001831~10&typ=40&actno=001831&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f2f09004795~4&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f2f09004795~4&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0ac2f001831~12&typ=40&actno=001831&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0ac2f001831~12&typ=40&actno=001831&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=49388004795~6&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=49388004795~6&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ee46c004795~3&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ee46c004795~3&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=45d80001831~15&typ=40&actno=001831&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=45d80001831~15&typ=40&actno=001831&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=62231004795~5&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=62231004795~5&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=49475004795~7&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=49475004795~7&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=78a75004795~2&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=78a75004795~2&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8a072001831~18&typ=40&actno=001831&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8a072001831~18&typ=40&actno=001831&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d9d64004795~1&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
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to 

expiration 

date 

Reinstatement 

$280* 

*includes 

$140 renewal 

fee and $140 

reinstatement 

fee 

$440* 

*includes 

$220 

renewal 

fee and 

$220 

reinstate-

ment fee 

With 

reinstate-

ment 

application 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC41-40)  

Wax Technician – Wax Technician Instructor Examination 

& License Application, A425-1214_15EXLIC (eff. 9/11) 

Temporary Permit Application, A425-1213TP (eff. 9/11)  

License by Endorsement Application, A425-1213END (rev. 

2/14)  

License by Endorsement Application, A450-1213END-v9 

(rev. 9/2016) 

Training & Experience Verification Form, A425-

1213TREXP (eff. 9/11) 

Reinstatement Application, A425-1213REI (rev. 2/14) 

Salon, Shop, Spa & Parlor License Application, A425-

1213BUS (rev. 2/14) 

Individuals - Reinstatement Application, A450-1213REI-v8 

(rev. 9/2016) 

Salon, Shop, Spa & Parlor License/Reinstatement 

Application, A450-1213BUS-v8 (rev. 9/2016) 

Salon, Shop & Spa Self Inspection Form, A425-

1213_SSS_INSP (eff. 9/11) 

Instructor Certification Application, A425-1213INST (rev. 

2/14) 

School License Application, A425-1213SCHL (rev. 2/14) 

Instructor Certification Application, A450-1213INST-v7 

(rev. 9/2016) 

School License Application, A450-1213SCHL-v9 (rev. 

9/2016) 

School Reinstatement Application, A450-

1213SCHL_REIN-v2 (rev. 9/2016) 

School Self Inspection Form, A425-1213SCH_INSP (eff. 

9/11) 

Licensure Fee Notice, A425-1213FEE (rev. 2/14) 

Licensure Fee Notice, A450-1213FEE-v6 (rev. 9/2016) 

Part III  

Fees  

18VAC41-50-130. Fees.  

The following fees apply:  

FEE TYPE 

AMOUNT 

DUE 

September 1, 

2016, through 

August 31, 

2018 

AMOUNT 

DUE 

September 

1, 2018, 

and after 

WHEN DUE 

Individuals:  

Application $75 $105 
With 

application 

License by 

Endorsement 
$75 $105 

With 

application 

Renewal $75 $105 

With 

renewal 

card prior 

to 

expiration 

date 

Reinstatement 

$150* 

*includes $75 

renewal fee 

and $75 

reinstatement 

fee 

$210* 

*includes 

$105 

renewal 

fee and 

$105 

reinstate-

ment fee 

With 

reinstate-

ment 

application 

Instructors:  

Application $100 $125 
With 

application 

License by 

Endorsement 
$100 $125 

With 

application 

Renewal $100 $150 

With 

renewal 

card prior 

to 

expiration 

date 

Reinstatement 

$200* 

*includes 

$100 renewal 

fee and $100 

reinstatement 

fee 

$300* 

*includes 

$150 

renewal 

fee and 

$150 

reinstate-

ment fee 

With 

reinstate-

ment 

application 

Parlors or salons: 

Application $130 $190 
With 

application 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d1f6d001834~7&typ=40&actno=001834&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d1f6d001834~7&typ=40&actno=001834&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=56ef4001834~8&typ=40&actno=001834&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5ec18004795~9&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5ec18004795~9&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f26d3001834~11&typ=40&actno=001834&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f26d3001834~11&typ=40&actno=001834&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6fcd6004795~12&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6fcd6004795~12&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cbe3d004795~8&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cbe3d004795~8&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f8139001834~15&typ=40&actno=001834&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f8139001834~15&typ=40&actno=001834&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=94ba0004795~11&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=94ba0004795~11&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c842b004795~14&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c842b004795~14&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=11c19004795~13&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=11c19004795~13&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=db64c001834~16&typ=40&actno=001834&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=db64c001834~16&typ=40&actno=001834&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c846e004795~10&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
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Renewal $130 $190 

With 

renewal 

card prior 

to 

expiration 

date 

Reinstatement 

$260* 

*includes 

$130 renewal 

fee and $130 

reinstatement 

fee 

$380* 

*includes 

$190 

renewal 

fee and 

$190 

reinstate-

ment fee 

With 

reinstate-

ment 

application 

Schools: 

Application $140 $220 
With 

application 

Renewal $140 $220 

With 

renewal 

card prior 

to 

expiration 

date 

Reinstatement 

$280* 

*includes 

$140 renewal 

fee and $140 

reinstatement 

fee 

$440* 

*includes 

$220 

renewal 

fee and 

$220 

reinstate-

ment fee 

With 

reinstate-

ment 

application 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC41-50)  

Tattooer Examination & License Application, A425-

1231EXLIC (eff. 9/11)  

Tattoo Training & Experience Verification Form, A425-

12TATTREXP (eff. 9/11) 

Tattooing Apprenticeship Sponsor Application, A425-

12TATSPON (eff. 9/11) 

Tattooer Apprenticeship Certification Application, A425-

1234TAC (eff. 9/11) 

Tattoo Apprenticeship Completion Form, A425-12TAC (eff. 

9/11) 

Tattoo Client Disclosure Form, A425-12DIS, A425-12TDIS 

(eff. 9/11) 

Limited Term Tattooer License Application, A425-1233LIC 

(rev. 2/14) 

Limited Term Tattoo Parlor License Application, A425-

1235LIC (rev. 2/14) 

Limited Term Tattooer License Application, A450-1233LIC-v8 

(rev. 9/2016) 

Limited Term Tattoo Parlor License Application, A450-

1235LIC-v5 (rev. 9/2016) 

Permanent Cosmetic Tattooer Examination & License 

Application, A425-1236EXLIC (eff. 9/11) 

Master Permanent Cosmetic Tattooer Examination & License 

Application, A425-1237EXLIC (eff. 9/11) 

License by Endorsement Application, A425-1213END (rev. 

2/14) 

License by Endorsement Application, A450-1213END-v9 

(rev. 9/2016) 

Training & Experience Verification Form, A425-

1213TREXP (eff. 9/11) 

Salon, Shop, Spa & Parlor License Application A425-

1213BUS (rev. 2/14) 

Licensure Fee Notice, A425-1213FEE (rev. 2/14) 

Instructor Certification Application, A425-1213INST (rev. 

2/14) 

Reinstatement Application, A425-1213REI (rev. 2/14) 

School License Application, A425-1213SCHL (rev. 2/14) 

Salon, Shop, Spa & Parlor License/Reinstatement 

Application, A450-1213BUS-v8 (rev. 9/2016) 

Licensure Fee Notice, A450-1213FEE-v6 (rev. 9/2016) 

Instructor Certification Application, A450-1213INST-v7 

(rev. 9/2016) 

Individuals - Reinstatement Application, A450-1213REI-v8 

(rev. 9/2016) 

School License Application, A450-1213SCHL-v9 (rev. 

9/2016) 

School Reinstatement Application, A450-1213SCH-REIN-

v2 (rev. 9/2016) 

Part III  

Fees  

18VAC41-60-90. Fees.  

The following fees apply:  

FEE TYPE 

AMOUNT 

DUE 

September 

1, 2016, 

through 

August 31, 

2018 

AMOUNT 

DUE 

September 

1, 2018, 

and after 

WHEN DUE 

Individuals:  

Application $75 $105 
With 

application 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=16515001835~9&typ=40&actno=001835&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=16515001835~9&typ=40&actno=001835&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bd36b001835~10&typ=40&actno=001835&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bd36b001835~10&typ=40&actno=001835&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=70809001835~11&typ=40&actno=001835&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=70809001835~11&typ=40&actno=001835&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=512a9001835~12&typ=40&actno=001835&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=512a9001835~12&typ=40&actno=001835&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7d299001835~13&typ=40&actno=001835&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7d299001835~13&typ=40&actno=001835&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=27321001835~14&typ=40&actno=001835&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=27321001835~14&typ=40&actno=001835&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=783bd004795~15&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=783bd004795~15&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0b8a4004795~16&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0b8a4004795~16&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=275b5001835~25&typ=40&actno=001835&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=275b5001835~25&typ=40&actno=001835&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=26740001835~15&typ=40&actno=001835&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=26740001835~15&typ=40&actno=001835&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=123d1004795~17&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=123d1004795~17&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=25465001835~17&typ=40&actno=001835&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=25465001835~17&typ=40&actno=001835&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9b019003919~1&typ=40&actno=003919&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9b019003919~1&typ=40&actno=003919&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b3b1c004795~18&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b3b1c004795~18&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f0915004795~19&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e0ab4004795~20&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e0ab4004795~20&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=97e80004795~21&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=97e80004795~21&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=911ec004795~22&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=911ec004795~22&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4b072004795~23&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4b072004795~23&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
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License by 

Endorsement 
$75 $105 

With 

application 

Renewal: $75 $105 

With 

renewal card 

prior to 

expiration 

date 

Reinstate-ment 

$150* 

*includes 

$75 

renewal 

fee and 

$75 

reinstate-

ment fee 

$210* 

*includes 

$105 

renewal 

fee and 

$105 

reinstate-

ment fee 

With 

reinstate-

ment 

application 

Salons: 
 

    

Application $130 $190 
With 

application 

Renewal $130 $190 

With 

renewal card 

prior to 

expiration 

date 

Reinstatement 

$260* 

*includes 

$130 

renewal 

fee and 

$130 

reinstate-

ment fee 

$380* 

*includes 

$190 

renewal 

fee and 

$190 

reinstate-

ment fee 

With 

reinstatement 

application 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC41-60)  

Body Piercer Examination & License Application, A425-

1241EXLIC (eff. 9/11)  

Body-Piercing Training & Experience Verification Form, 

A425-12BPTREXP (eff. 9/11) 

Body-Piercing Apprenticeship Sponsor Application, A425-

12BPSPON (eff. 9/11) 

Body-Piercing Apprentice Certification Application, A425-

1244BPAC (eff. 9/11) 

Body-Piercing Apprenticeship Completion Form, A425-

12BPAC (eff. 9/11) 

Body-Piercing Client Disclosure Form, A425-12BPDIS (eff. 

9/11) 

Body Piercer Ear Only License Application, A450-1245LIC 

(rev. 2/14) 

License by Endorsement Application, A425-1213END (rev. 

2/14) 

Body Piercer Ear Only License Application, A450-1245LIC-v6 

(rev. 9/2016) 

License by Endorsement Application, A450-1213END-v9 (rev. 

9/2016) 

Training & Experience Verification Form, A425-1213TREXP 

(eff. 9/11) 

Salon, Shop, Spa & Parlor License Application A425-1213BUS 

(rev. 2/14) 

Licensure Fee Notice, A425-1213FEE (rev. 2/14) 

Reinstatement Application, A425-1213REI (rev. 2/14) 

Salon, Shop, Spa & Parlor License/Reinstatement Application, 

A450-1213BUS-v8 (rev. 9/2016) 

Licensure Fee Notice, A450-1213FEE-v6 (rev. 9/2016) 

Individuals - Reinstatement Application, A450-1213REI-v8 

(rev. 9/2016) 

Part III  

Fees  

18VAC41-70-120. Fees. 

The following fees apply: 

FEE TYPE 

AMOUNT 

DUE 

September 

1, 2016, 

through 

and 

August 31, 

2018 

AMOUNT 

DUE 

September 1, 

2018, and 

after 

WHEN DUE 

Individuals: 

Application $75 $105 
With 

application 

License by 

Endorsement 
$75 $105 

With 

application 

Renewal $75 $105 

With renewal 

card prior to 

expiration 

date 

Reinstate-

ment 

$150* 

*includes 

$75 

renewal 

fee and 

$75 

reinstate-

ment fee 

$210* 

*includes 

$105 renewal 

fee and $105 

reinstate-

ment fee 

With 

reinstate-

ment 

application 

Instructors: 

Application $100 $125 
With 

application 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c51d6001836~6&typ=40&actno=001836&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c51d6001836~6&typ=40&actno=001836&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9a162001836~7&typ=40&actno=001836&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9a162001836~7&typ=40&actno=001836&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5cf74001836~8&typ=40&actno=001836&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5cf74001836~8&typ=40&actno=001836&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=60f4b001836~9&typ=40&actno=001836&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=60f4b001836~9&typ=40&actno=001836&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0ffda001836~10&typ=40&actno=001836&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0ffda001836~10&typ=40&actno=001836&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=34677001836~11&typ=40&actno=001836&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=34677001836~11&typ=40&actno=001836&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b6f25004795~24&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b6f25004795~24&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7550f004795~25&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7550f004795~25&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8427b001836~14&typ=40&actno=001836&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8427b001836~14&typ=40&actno=001836&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e4c84004795~26&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e4c84004795~26&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=704e6004795~27&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e532f004795~28&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e532f004795~28&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
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License by 

Endorsement 
$100 $125 

With 

application 

Renewal $100 $150 

With renewal 

card prior to 

expiration 

date 

Reinstate-

ment 

$200* 

*includes 

$100 

renewal 

fee and 

$100 

reinstate-

ment fee 

$300* 

*includes 

$150 renewal 

fee and $150 

reinstate-

ment fee 

With 

reinstate-

ment 

application 

Spas: 

Application $130 $190 
With 

application 

Renewal $130 $190 

With renewal 

card prior to 

expiration 

date 

Reinstate-

ment 

$260* 

*includes 

$130 

renewal 

fee and 

$130 

reinstate-

ment fee 

$380* 

*includes 

$190 renewal 

fee and $190 

reinstate-

ment fee 

With 

reinstate-

ment 

application 

Schools: 

Application $140 $220 
With 

application 

Renewal $140 $220 

With renewal 

card prior to 

expiration 

date 

Reinstatement 

$280* 

*includes 

$140 

renewal 

fee and 

$140 

reinstate-

ment fee 

$440* 

*includes 

$220 renewal 

fee and $220 

reinstatement 

fee 

With 

reinstatement 

application 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC41-70) 

Esthetician – Esthetics Instructor Examination & License 

Application, A425-1261_62EXLIC (eff. 9/11) 

Master Esthetician – Master Esthetics Instructor 

Examination & License Application, A425-1264_65EXLIC 

(eff. 9/11) 

Temporary Permit Application, A425-1213TP (eff. 9/11) 

License by Endorsement Application, A425-1213END (rev. 

2/14)  

License by Endorsement Application, A450-1213END-v9 

(rev. 9/2016) 

Training & Experience Verification Form, A425-

1213TREXP (eff. 9/11) 

Reinstatement Application, A425-1213REI (rev. 2/14) 

Salon, Shop, Spa & Parlor License Application A425-

1213BUS (rev. 2/14) 

Individuals - Reinstatement Application, A450-1213REI-v8 

(rev. 9/2016) 

Salon, Shop, Spa & Parlor License/Reinstatement Application, 

A450-1213BUS-v8 (rev. 9/2016) 

Salon, Shop & Spa Self Inspection Form, A425-

1213_SSS_INSP (eff. 9/11) 

Instructor Certification Application, A425-1213INST (rev. 

2/14) 

School License Application, A425-1213SCHL (rev. 2/14) 

Instructor Certification Application, A450-1213INST-v7 (rev. 

9/2016) 

School License Application, A450-1213SCHL-v9 (rev. 9/2016) 

School Reinstatement Application, A450-1213SCHL-REIN-v2 

(rev. 9/2016) 

School Self Inspection Form, A425-1213SCH_INSP (eff. 

9/11) 

Licensure Fee Notice, A425-1213FEE (rev. 2/14) 

Licensure Fee Notice, A450-1213FEE-v6 (rev. 9/2016) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4795; Filed July 6, 2016, 9:42 a.m.  

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC60-21. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Dentistry (amending 18VAC60-21-230).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 24, 2016. 

Effective Date: September 8, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 

Dentistry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4437, FAX (804) 527-4428, or 

email sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a4612001837~7&typ=40&actno=001837&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a4612001837~7&typ=40&actno=001837&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6c281001837~8&typ=40&actno=001837&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6c281001837~8&typ=40&actno=001837&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6c281001837~8&typ=40&actno=001837&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=333f7001837~9&typ=40&actno=001837&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6e6d9003919~2&typ=40&actno=003919&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6e6d9003919~2&typ=40&actno=003919&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=29dfd004795~30&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=29dfd004795~30&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3575c001837~11&typ=40&actno=001837&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3575c001837~11&typ=40&actno=001837&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=33948004795~33&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=33948004795~33&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c5db9004795~29&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c5db9004795~29&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=13275001837~14&typ=40&actno=001837&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=13275001837~14&typ=40&actno=001837&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b0823004795~32&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b0823004795~32&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=64511004795~35&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7c24c004795~34&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7c24c004795~34&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=18751001837~17&typ=40&actno=001837&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=18751001837~17&typ=40&actno=001837&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=12b32004795~31&typ=40&actno=004795&mime=application/pdf
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Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia provides the 

Board of Dentistry the authority to promulgate regulations to 

administer the regulatory system. The statutory authority for 

the board to promulgate regulations to determine the 

qualifications for restricted or temporary licensure is found in 

Chapter 27 (§ 54.1-2700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

Purpose: The purpose of this regulatory action is to a make a 

correction in qualifications for a restricted or temporary 

license for dental faculty or persons enrolled in an advanced 

dental education program. Regulations were changed in 2012 

for consistency with amendments to the Code of Virginia, but 

those changes were not made in promulgation of the new 

chapter. The amendments are necessary to avoid confusion in 

the qualifications, which are necessary to protect the public 

health and safety. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: 

Amendments to 18VAC60-21, Regulations Governing the 

Practice of Dentistry, were previously adopted for 

consistency with current law in 18VAC60-20, which was 

repealed effective December 2, 2015. As a result of 

amendments to Chapter 27 (§ 54.1-2700 et seq.) of the Code 

of Virginia in 2012, changes in the qualifications for faculty 

licenses and temporary licenses for persons enrolled in 

advanced dental education programs were adopted as a final 

exempt action under § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Administrative 

Process Act. In the promulgation of new chapter 18VAC60-

21 (effective December 2, 2015), those changes were not 

transferred. While the provisions of the Code of Virginia take 

precedence over the rules relating to qualifications for a 

faculty or temporary license, the current regulations need to 

be amended for consistency with the law. 

Since the amendments to Code of Virginia occurred in 2012, 

the enabling language in the Administrative Process Act for 

adoption of exempt regulations is no longer applicable. 

Therefore, the only option is promulgation of a fast-track 

rulemaking action in order to correct regulations for 

consistency with Code of Virginia as soon as possible. 

Substance: The amendments reflect statutory changes 

concerning the qualifications for dentistry faculty licenses and 

temporary licenses for persons enrolled in advanced dental 

education programs. 

Issues: There are no advantages or disadvantages to the 

public. There are no advantages or disadvantages to the 

agency or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Dentistry proposes to amend the Regulations 

Governing the Practice of Dentistry to reflect statutory 

changes concerning the qualifications for dentistry faculty 

licenses and temporary licenses for persons enrolled in 

advanced dental education programs.  

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Chapters 20 and 116 of the 2012 

Acts of Assembly amended Code Of Virginia Title 54.1, 

Chapter 27 (Dentistry) in part concerning the qualifications 

for dentistry faculty licenses and temporary licenses for 

persons enrolled in advanced dental education programs. The 

Regulations Governing the Practice of Dentistry does not 

currently reflect those changes. When the Code of Virginia 

and the Virginia Administrative Code conflict, the Code of 

Virginia applies. Thus, the proposal to amend this regulation 

to conform to the Code of Virginia will have no impact on 

applicable requirements. Nevertheless, the proposal will be 

beneficial in that it will reduce potential confusion for the 

public.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 

pertain to individuals applying for either dental faculty 

licensure or dentist-temporary resident licensure. There are 

currently 14 individuals with dental faculty licenses, and 62 

persons with dentist-temporary resident licenses.
1
 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

do not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments do not affect the use and value of 

private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

do not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments do not 

affect small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendments do not adversely affect small 

businesses. 

Adverse Impacts:  

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not adversely 

affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments do not adversely affect 

localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments do not adversely 

affect other entities. 

_________________________________________ 
1Data obtained from the Department of Health Professions' License Lookup 

webpage (https://dhp.virginiainteractive.org/Lookup/Index) on March 23, 

2016. 

https://dhp.virginiainteractive.org/Lookup/Index
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Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Dentistry concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary:  

Amendments concerning the qualifications for dentistry 

faculty licenses and temporary licenses for persons 

enrolled in advance dental education programs are made 

to comport with Chapters 20 and 116 of the 2012 Acts of 

Assembly. 

18VAC60-21-230. Qualifications for a restricted license; 

temporary permit or license. 

A. Temporary permit for public health settings. A temporary 

permit shall be issued only for the purpose of allowing dental 

practice in a dental clinic operated by a state agency or a 

Virginia charitable organization as limited by § 54.1-2715 of 

the Code.  

1. Passage of a clinical competency examination is not 

required, but the applicant cannot have failed a clinical 

competency examination accepted by the board. 

2. A temporary permit will not be renewed unless the 

holder shows that extraordinary circumstances prevented 

the holder from taking the licensure examination during the 

term of the temporary permit. 

B. Faculty license. A faculty license shall be issued for the 

purpose of allowing dental practice as a faculty member of an 

accredited dental program when the applicant meets the entry 

requirements of § 54.1-2713 of the Code. 

1. Passage of a clinical competency examination is not 

required, but the applicant cannot have failed a clinical 

competency examination accepted by the board. 

2. The holder of a faculty license may practice intramurally 

and may receive fees for service but cannot practice 

privately.  

3. 1. A faculty license shall remain valid only while the 

holder is serving on the faculty of an accredited dental 

program in the Commonwealth. When any such license 

holder ceases to continue serving on the faculty of the 

dental school for which the license was issued, the licensee 

shall surrender the license, which shall be null and void 

upon termination of employment. 

4. 2. The dean of the dental school shall notify the board 

within five working days of such termination of 

employment. 

C. Restricted license to teach for foreign dentists. The board 

may issue a restricted license to a foreign dentist to teach in 

an accredited dental program in the Commonwealth in 

accordance with provisions of § 54.1-2714 of the Code. 

D. Temporary licenses to persons enrolled in advanced 

dental education programs. A dental intern, resident, or post-

doctoral certificate or degree candidate shall obtain a 

temporary license to practice in Virginia in accordance with 

provisions of § 54.1-2711.1 of the Code.  

1. The applicant shall have successfully completed a 

D.D.S. or D.M.D. degree program required for admission 

to a clinical competency examination accepted by the 

board. Submission of a letter of confirmation from the 

registrar of the school or college conferring the 

professional degree, or official transcripts confirming the 

professional degree and date the degree was received, is 

required.  

2. 1. The applicant shall submit a recommendation from 

the dean of the dental school or the director of the 

accredited advanced dental education program specifying 

the applicant's acceptance as an intern, resident, or post-

doctoral certificate or degree candidate. The beginning and 

ending dates of the internship, residency, or post-doctoral 

program shall be specified.  

3. 2. The temporary license permits the holder to practice 

only in the hospital or outpatient clinics that are recognized 

parts of an advanced dental education program.  

4. 3. The temporary license may be renewed annually by 

June 30, for up to five times, upon the recommendation of 

the dean of the dental school or director of the accredited 

advanced dental education program. 

5. 4. The temporary license holder shall be responsible and 

accountable at all times to a licensed dentist, who is a 

member of the staff where the internship, residency, or 

post-doctoral program is taken. The holder is prohibited 

from practicing outside of the advanced dental education 

program.  

6. 5. The temporary license holder shall abide by the 

accrediting requirements for an advanced dental education 

program as approved by the Commission on Dental 

Accreditation of the American Dental Association.  

D. E. Restricted volunteer license.  

1. In accordance with § 54.1-2712.1 of the Code, the board 

may issue a restricted volunteer license to a dentist who:  

a. Held an unrestricted license in Virginia or another U.S. 

jurisdiction as a licensee in good standing at the time the 

license expired or became inactive;  

b. Is volunteering for a public health or community free 

clinic that provides dental services to populations of 

underserved people;  

c. Has fulfilled the board's requirement related to 

knowledge of the laws and regulations governing the 

practice of dentistry in Virginia;  

d. Has not failed a clinical examination within the past 

five years; and  

e. Has had at least five years of clinical practice.  

2. A person holding a restricted volunteer license under 

this section shall:  

a. Only practice in public health or community free 

clinics that provide dental services to underserved 

populations;  
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b. Only treat patients who have been screened by the 

approved clinic and are eligible for treatment; 

c. Attest on a form provided by the board that he will not 

receive remuneration directly or indirectly for providing 

dental services; and  

d. Not be required to complete continuing education in 

order to renew such a license.  

3. The restricted volunteer license shall specify whether 

supervision is required, and if not, the date by which it will 

be required. If a dentist with a restricted volunteer license 

issued under this section has not held an active, 

unrestricted license and been engaged in active practice 

within the past five years, he shall only practice dentistry 

and perform dental procedures if a dentist with an 

unrestricted Virginia license, volunteering at the clinic, 

reviews the quality of care rendered by the dentist with the 

restricted volunteer license at least every 30 days. If 

supervision is required, the supervising dentist shall 

directly observe patient care being provided by the 

restricted volunteer dentist and review all patient charts at 

least quarterly. Such supervision shall be noted in patient 

charts and maintained in accordance with 18VAC60-21-

90.  

4. A restricted volunteer license granted pursuant to this 

section shall expire on June 30 of the second year after its 

issuance or shall terminate when the supervising dentist 

withdraws his sponsorship. 

5. A dentist holding a restricted volunteer license issued 

pursuant to this section is subject to the provisions of this 

chapter and the disciplinary regulations that apply to all 

licensees practicing in Virginia.  

E. F. Registration for voluntary practice by out-of-state 

licensees. Any dentist who does not hold a license to practice 

in Virginia and who seeks registration to practice on a 

voluntary basis under the auspices of a publicly supported, all 

volunteer, nonprofit organization that sponsors the provision 

of health care to populations of underserved people shall:  

1. File a complete application for registration on a form 

provided by the board at least 15 days prior to engaging in 

such practice;  

2. Provide a complete record of professional licensure in 

each state in which he has held a license and a copy of any 

current license;  

3. Provide the name of the nonprofit organization, and the 

dates and location of the voluntary provision of services; 

and  

4. Provide a notarized statement from a representative of 

the nonprofit organization attesting to its compliance with 

provisions of subdivision 5 of § 54.1-2701 of the Code. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4600; Filed July 1, 2016, 4:13 p.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC76-20. Regulations Governing 

the Prescription Monitoring Program (amending 

18VAC76-20-40).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2520 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: September 14, 2016 - 9:50 a.m. - 

Department of Health Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Board Room 3, Richmond, VA 

23233-1463. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 23, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Ralph Orr, Program Manager, Department 

of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4523, FAX 

(804) 527-4470, or email ralph.orr@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The statutory authority for the Director of the 

Department of Health Professions to promulgate regulations 

is found in § 54.1-2520 of the Code of Virginia, which 

authorizes the director to promulgate such regulations 

necessary to implement the prescription monitoring program. 

The statutory authority for specifying data elements contained 

in and the format for the Prescription Monitoring Program 

(PMP) report is found in § 54.1-2521 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: Prescription drug abuse is one of the leading causes 

of death in the Commonwealth. The Governor's Task Force 

on Prescription Drug and Heroin Abuse has been studying 

ways to combat the problem from several perspectives, 

including data collection and monitoring. It is the task force's 

recommendation that updating the reporting format and 

including additional data elements will assist prescribers and 

other providers in a better understanding of the standard of 

care for prescribing opioids and other drugs with potential for 

abuse. To the extent that collection of more precise data on 

prescribing and dispensing can address the issue of 

prescription drug abuse, this regulatory action is necessary to 

protect the health and safety of the citizens of the 

Commonwealth. 

Substance: The format for reporting data to the PMP is 

amended to Version 4.2 (2011) of the Electronic Reporting 

Standard for Prescription Monitoring Programs of the 

American Society of Automation in Pharmacy. The 

requirement for notifying dispensers and software providers 

when a new file layout with new data elements is prescribed 

in regulation is amended from 30 days to 90 days to give 

them longer to conform.  

To facilitate collection of meaningful data that is more useful 

in developing reports on prescribing of controlled substances, 

18VAC76-20-40 is amended to include the following data 

elements: (i) the National Provider Identifier, which identifies 

the specialty area of practice; (ii) the species code, which 

identifies whether the prescription is written for a human or 

animal; (iii) the gender code; (iv) the Electronic Prescription 
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Reference Number if it is an electronic prescription; and (v) 

an indicator if the prescription is a partial fill. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public would be more 

complete information in the PMP and timelier reporting so 

that prescribers and dispensers have sufficient data to make 

appropriate decisions for patients. There are no disadvantages 

to the public. There are no advantages or disadvantages to the 

agency or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. Upon 

recommendation from the Governor's Task Force on 

Prescription Drug and Heroin Abuse and the Prescription 

Monitoring Program (PMP) Advisory Committee, the 

Department of Health Professions (DHP) proposes to add 

several new pieces of information that doctors who dispense 

medications and pharmacists will be required to report to the 

PMP. DHP also proposes to allow affected entities 90 days to 

start reporting the newly required data.  

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for these 

proposed regulatory changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Current regulation requires 

reporting of certain information on prescriptions dispensed in 

the Commonwealth to the PMP. Currently, health care 

providers that dispense medications as well as pharmacists 

are required to report 1) the Drug Enforcement 

Administration registration number of the dispenser, 2) the 

total number of refills ordered, 3) whether the prescription is 

new or a refill and 4) the date that the prescription was 

written by the prescriber. This information is filled out and 

submitted electronically and is pulled from payment system 

software that collects much more data than is required by the 

PMP. Currently, effected entities have 30 days to start 

reporting required data after they are notified that such reports 

are required.  

As a consequence of recommendations from the Governor's 

Task Force on Prescription Drug and Heroin Abuse and the 

Prescription Monitoring Program (PMP) Advisory 

Committee, DHP now proposes to add requirements that 

these entities also report: 1) the National Provider Identifier 

of the prescriber, 2) whether the prescription is a partial refill, 

3) the gender code of the patient, 4) a species code for the 

patient (so that the system can differentiate medicines 

prescribed for humans versus medicines prescribed for 

animals) and 5) the Electronic Prescription Reference 

Number and the Electronic Prescription Order Number, if it is 

an electronic prescription. Most of the newly required data 

elements will make patients easier to identify and 

differentiate. The requirement to report partial fills for 

prescriptions will allow the system to refrain from flagging an 

individual for filling two prescriptions for the same drug in a 

short amount of time when in actuality one prescription was 

filled in two partial orders (likely because the pharmacist did 

not have enough of the medication to fill it all at once but the 

patient could not wait for a new order of the medication to 

come in). DHP also proposes to allow providers 90 days, 

rather than the 30 days they are currently allowed, to adjust to 

reporting these new data points. 

DHP reports that affected entities will not incur any costs on 

account of these proposed changes. Providers will only need 

to check additional elements in their already existing software 

interface in order for those elements to be reported to the 

PMP. These changes will likely benefit both consumers and 

health care providers as they will reduce the chances of either 

a patient or a provider being unfairly flagged either because 

of ambiguous identity or because partial fills of prescriptions 

are being viewed as multiple complete fills. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. These proposed regulatory 

changes will affect all pharmacists as well as doctors and 

dentists who dispense drugs. DHP reports that there are 2,183 

dispensers who currently report to the PMP. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by these proposed regulatory changes.  

Projected Impact on Employment. These proposed regulatory 

changes are unlikely to have any effect on employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use or 

value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Real Estate Development Costs. These proposed regulatory 

changes are unlikely to affect real estate development costs in 

the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. Small businesses are unlikely to 

incur any costs on account of these proposed regulatory 

changes. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. Small 

businesses are unlikely to incur any costs on account of these 

proposed regulatory changes.  

Adverse Impacts:  

Businesses. Businesses are unlikely to incur any costs on 

account of these proposed regulatory changes. 

Localities. Localities in the Commonwealth are unlikely to 

see any adverse impacts on account of these proposed 

regulatory changes. 

Other Entities. No other entities are likely to be adversely 

affected by these proposed changes. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency concurs with the economic impact analysis of the 

Department of Planning and Budget. 
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Summary: 

The proposed amendments update the required version for 

reporting data electronically to the Prescription 

Monitoring Program, require several new data elements in 

the report, and allow dispensers at least 90 days from 

notification by the director to comply when a new file 

layout with new data elements is prescribed.  

18VAC76-20-40. Standards for the manner and format of 

reports and a schedule for reporting.  

A. Data shall be transmitted to the department or its agent 

within seven days of dispensing as provided in the Electronic 

Reporting Standard for Prescription Monitoring Programs, 

Version 4.1 (November 2009) 4.2 (September 2011) of the 

American Society of Automation in Pharmacy (ASAP), 

which are hereby incorporated by reference into this chapter.  

B. Data shall be transmitted in a file layout provided by the 

department and shall be transmitted by a media acceptable to 

the vendor contracted by the director for the program. Such 

transmission shall begin on a date specified by the director, 

no less than 30 90 days from notification by the director to 

dispensers required to report.  

C. Under extraordinary circumstances, an alternative means 

of reporting may be approved by the director.  

D. Data not accepted by the vendor due to a substantial 

number of errors or omissions shall be corrected and 

resubmitted to the vendor within five business days of 

receiving notification that the submitted data had an 

unacceptable number of errors or problems.  

E. Required data elements shall include those listed in 

subsection B of § 54.1-2521 of the Code of Virginia and the 

following: 

1. The Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) 

registration number of the dispenser; 

2. The National Provider Identifier of the prescriber; 

3. The total number of refills ordered; 

3. 4. Whether the prescription is a new prescription or a 

refill; and  

5. Whether the prescription is a partial fill; 

6. The gender code; 

7. The species code; 

8. The Electronic Prescription Reference Number, and the 

Electronic Prescription Order Number if it is an electronic 

prescription; and 

4. 9. The date the prescription was written by the 

prescriber. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(18VAC76-20)  

Implementation Guide ASAP Standard (Electronic 

Reporting Standard) for Prescription Monitoring Programs, 

Version 4, Release 1 2, November 2009 September 2011, 

American Society for Automation in Pharmacy, 492 

Norristown Road, Suite 160, Blue Bell, PA 19422 

(http://www.asapnet.org). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4370; Filed July 1, 2016, 2:24 p.m.  

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-101. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Radiologic Technology (amending 

18VAC85-101-40, 18VAC85-101-110).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2956.8:1 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 24, 2016. 

Effective Date: September 8, 2016.  

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 

Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4558, FAX (804) 

527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 authorizes the Board of Medicine to 

promulgate regulations to administer the regulatory system. 

The specific authority for the board to regulate the 

qualifications governing the licensure of radiologist 

assistants, radiologic technologists, and radiologic 

technologists, limited is found in § 54.1-2956.8:1 of the Code 

of Virginia.  

Purpose: Currently, the regulation requires submission of 

evidence that an applicant has passed an examination with a 

minimum score acceptable to the board. This requirement 

may be confusing to applicants and the public because the 

American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) or 

the Nuclear Medicine Technology Certification Board 

(NMTCB) examines the applicant, determines the passing 

score, and grants certification on that basis. The amendment 

is necessary because the board does not determine the 

minimum passing score and does not receive a score from 

ARRT or NMTCB. The credentialing bodies provide 

documentation that the applicant has been certified with the 

appropriate credential as evidence that the certifying 

examination has been passed. 

Since the certifying examination and resulting credential 

qualifies a person in an area of radiography – radiologic 

technology, nuclear medicine, sonography, etc., the regulation 

is amended to clarify that the radiologic technologist must 

practice consistent with his education and certifying 

examination. No statutory authority exists to grant specialty 

licenses in radiography, so the public is protected by 

specifying that the licensee is responsible for practicing 

within his area of education and expertise. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: There is 

no controversy in the adoption of these amendments, which 

http://www.asapnet.org/
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are explanatory of current practice and clarifying for the 

licensee and the public. 

Substance: The amendment in 18VAC85-101-40 clarifies that 

the Board of Medicine determines qualification for licensure 

of radiologic technologists based on certification by the 

ARRT or the NMTCB; such certification is evidence of 

passage of an examination and meets the statutory 

requirement for a testing program. 

The amendment in 18VAC85-101-110 clarifies that a 

radiologic technologist is responsible for administering and 

documenting procedures consistent with his education and 

certifying examination. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is assurance that 

a radiologic technologist is practicing consistent with the 

credential for which he is qualified. There are no 

disadvantages to the public. There are no advantages or 

disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Medicine (Board) proposes to clarify that a 

radiologic technologist's scope of practice must be consistent 

with his or her education and certification and that he or she 

can submit evidence of passage of a certification examination 

without the need to submit evidence of a passing score. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. One of the conditions for 

licensure as a radiologic technologist is passage of an 

examination resulting in certification by the American 

Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) or the Nuclear 

Medicine Technology Certification Board (NMTCB). These 

entities issue primary pathway certifications in radiography, 

nuclear medicine technology, radiation therapy, magnetic 

resonance imaging, or sonography. Despite different 

subspecialty certifications, Virginia statutes recognize only 

one type of licensure and use the generic title "radiologic 

technologist" for any of the subspecialty certifications.
1
 Since 

the Board does not have the authority to issue subspecialty 

certifications under the statute, it proposes to clarify that a 

radiologic technologist's scope of practice must be consistent 

with his or her education and certification. 

In addition, the current regulation requires submission of 

evidence of "certification with a minimum passing score 

acceptable to the Board." However, the Board does not 

determine the minimum passing score and requires only a 

certification which is granted upon passage of the 

examination based on a score determined by ARRT or 

NMTCB. Thus, the Board proposes to eliminate the language 

requiring submission of evidence of minimum passing score 

acceptable to the Board.  

Both of the proposed changes are mere clarifications and are 

not expected to create any significant economic effect other 

than improving the clarity of the regulation. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Currently, there are 3,893 

licensed radiologic technologists in Virginia. Specific 

subspecialty certifications of the licensed radiologic 

technologists are not tracked. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed changes apply 

statewide. 

Projected Impact on Employment. No impact on employment 

is expected. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No impact 

on the use and value of private property is expected. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. Radiologic technologists work in 

many types of practices and employment settings, some of 

which may be small businesses. However, the proposed 

changes are not anticipated to have any significant economic 

impact on them other than improving the clarity of the 

regulation. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. No 

adverse impact on small businesses is expected. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not have an 

adverse impact on non-small businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect other entities. 

________________________________ 
1See Virginia Code sections 54.1-2956.8:1 and 54.1-2956.8:2. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Medicine concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments clarify that a radiologic technologist's 

scope of practice must be consistent with his education and 

certification and that he can submit evidence of passage of 

a certification examination without the need to submit 

evidence of a passing score. 

18VAC85-101-40. Licensure requirements. 

A. An applicant for board licensure shall: 
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1. Meet the educational requirements specified in 

18VAC85-101-30; 

2. Submit the required application, fee, and credentials to 

the board; and 

3. Submit evidence of passage of an examination resulting 

in certification by the ARRT or the NMTCB certification 

examination with a minimum passing score acceptable to 

the board. 

B. If an applicant has been licensed or certified in another 

jurisdiction, he shall provide information on the status of each 

license or certificate held and verification from that 

jurisdiction of any current, unrestricted license. 

C. An applicant who fails the ARRT or NMTCB 

examination shall follow the policies and procedures of the 

certifying body for successive attempts. 

18VAC85-101-110. Individual responsibilities to patients 

and to licensed doctor of medicine, osteopathy, 

chiropractic, or podiatry.  

A. The radiologic technologist's responsibilities are to 

administer and document procedures consistent with his 

education and certifying examination and within the limit of 

his professional knowledge, judgment, and skills.  

B. A radiologic technologist shall maintain continuing 

communication with the delegating practitioner.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4633; Filed July 1, 2016, 4:14 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-150. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Behavior Analysis (amending 18VAC85-

150-90, 18VAC85-150-100).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2957.16 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information:  

August 5, 2016 - 8:40 a.m. - Perimeter Center, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 201, Richmond, VA 23233-

1463 

Public Comment Deadline: September 23, 2016. 

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 

Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4558, FAX (804) 

527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia provides the 

Board of Medicine the authority to promulgate regulations to 

administer the regulatory system.  

Section 54.1-2957.16 of the Code of Virginia mandates that 

the Board of Medicine promulgate regulations for the 

licensure of behavior analysts and assistant behavior analysts.  

Purpose: Chapter 3 of the 2012 Acts of the Assembly 

mandated that the Board of Medicine promulgate regulations 

to implement the provisions of the act within 280 days of its 

enactment. Emergency regulations were developed and then 

replaced with permanent regulations. At that time, the 

continuing competency requirements for renewal of license 

were set to mirror the requirements for maintenance of 

certification with the Behavior Analyst Certification Board 

(BACB). Certification by the BACB is required for initial 

licensure, and although licensees are not required to maintain 

current certification to renew a license, they are encouraged 

to do so. 

In 2013, the BACB announced that, beginning in December 

2014, the requirements for maintenance of certification would 

be changed from a three-year cycle to a two-year cycle and 

the hourly requirement would be increased. The proposed 

regulations for behavior analysts and assistant behavior 

analysts are consistent with the continuing competency 

requirements of the certification board, to include four hours 

each biennium in ethics relating to professional practice. The 

BACB offers several types of continuing education that are 

acceptable for certification and for renewal of licensure. With 

the additional hours, notably the hours of ethics, licensees 

may be better prepared to handle situations encountered in 

their practice and more knowledgeable about modalities and 

treatments that will improve outcomes and protect the health 

and safety of their clients. 

Substance: The amendments change continuing education 

requirements for the biennial renewal from 24 to 32 hours for 

behavior analysts and from 16 to 20 hours for assistant 

behavior analysts. Four of those hours must be in ethics 

relating to professional practice. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is knowledgeable 

behavior analysts and assistant behavior analysts who have 

more hours of continuing education to keep them informed 

about new modalities and theories of behavior analysis and 

specific hours relating to professional ethics. There are no 

disadvantages to the public. There are no advantages or 

disadvantages to the Commonwealth or the agency. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Medicine (Board) proposes to increase the required 

number of continuing education hours for biennial license 

renewal from: a) 24 to 32 for behavior analysts and b) 16 to 

20 for assistant behavior analysts. The board is also proposing 

to add a requirement that four of the required hours be related 

to the practice of ethics in behavior analysis. 

Result of Analysis. It is not clear that the uncertain benefits 

exceed the costs of the proposed amendments. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The profession of behavior 

analysis has been regulated since 2012, when Chapter 3 of the 

2012 Acts of Assembly directed the board to promulgate 

emergency regulations licensing this profession.  The final 

version of the initial licensure regulations took effect on May 

7, 2014. 

Under the regulation applicants for Virginia licensure must at 

the time of application hold current certification by the 
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national Behavior Analysis Certification Board (BACB) in 

order to qualify for initial licensure as a behavior analyst or 

an assistant behavior analyst. Licensees are not required to 

maintain active certification with BACB for license renewal. 

Nonetheless, in the initial creation of the regulation, the 

Board set the number of continuing education hours per 

annum required for license renewal to match the number 

required for BACB certification renewal: 24 hours over two 

years for behavior analysts, and 16 hours over two years for 

assistant behavior analysts.
1
 

In 2013, the BACB announced that, beginning in December 

of 2014, the required number of hours for maintenance of 

certification would increase to 32 hours and 20 hours for 

behavior analysts and assistant behavior analysts, 

respectively. Further, four of the hours must be related to 

ethics in the practice of behavior analysis. The Board 

proposes to amend the regulation's continuing education 

requirements to match the changes to the BACB's continuing 

education requirements.  

The regulation specifies that the continuing education be 

approved and documented by a sponsor recognized by the 

BACB. The BACB website includes links to online 

continuing education courses offered by its recognized 

sponsors. The lower-priced courses cost about $15 per hour.
2
 

Thus the proposed required additional 8 hours would cost 

behavior analysts about $120 plus the value of their time. 

According to PayScale Human Capital, board certified 

behavior analysts earn on average $35 per hour.
3
 Assuming 

that the value of time for behavioral analysts is their average 

hourly earnings, the proposed required additional 8 hours 

approximately cost an additional $280. Combining the course 

fees and the value of time expended, the proposed addition to 

the required number of continuing education hours would 

cost behavioral analysts approximately $400 every two years. 

Given the approximate course cost of $15 per hour, the 

proposed required additional 4 hours would cost assistant 

behavior analysts about $60 plus the value of their time. Data 

is not available for assistant behavior analyst average 

earnings. If we assume assistant behavior analysts earn $20 

per hour, the value of the additional 4 hours expended on 

continuing education would cost an additional $80. 

Combining the course fees and the value of time expended, 

the proposed addition to the required number of continuing 

education hours would cost assistant behavioral analysts 

approximately $140 every two years. 

The benefit of the proposal is more difficult to estimate than 

the cost. Continuing education can certainly be beneficial. 

Learning of new developments or methods through training 

can expand or at least maintain expertise. If analysts believe 

they would benefit by taking more hours of continuing 

education than is required by the regulation, they are of 

course free to do so. If it is believed that there is a topic or 

area of concern or new development within the profession 

that licensees need new training on, and analysts may not 

remain competent without such training, a specific training 

requirement such as the proposed ethics training requirement 

would be more likely to be effective in addressing the issue 

than an increase in required non-specified course hours.   

As mentioned above, the impetus for the Board's proposed 

amendments is to match changes to the national BACB 

certification renewal requirements. According to the 

Department of Health Professions, most licensees have 

chosen to maintain active certification with BACB. The 

proposed amendments will not directly affect these 

individuals since they are already meeting the proposed 

requirements in order to keep active BACB certification,  

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 

affect the 648 behavior analysts and 119 assistant behavior 

analysts licensed by the Commonwealth, and providers of 

BACB-approved continuing education.  

Localities Particularly Affected. Behavior analysts and 

assistant behavior analysts are sometimes employed by 

school divisions. The proposed amendments would 

particularly affect those localities that employ behavior 

analysts and assistant behavior analysts in their schools. 

Projected Impact on Employment. If none of the currently 

licensed analysts were maintaining their BACB certification, 

the proposed amendments would require the 648 behavior 

analysts and 119 assistant behavior analysts to take an 

additional 5,660 hours
4
 of courses and pay approximately an 

additional $84,900
5
 in fees over every two years to BACB-

approved continuing education providers. Since most are 

likely already meeting the requirements, there will likely be 

considerably less new business for course providers due to 

the proposed amendments. The increase of business that does 

occur may have a small positive impact on employment for 

course providers. Most of the approved online providers are 

based outside of the Commonwealth.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. Those 

behavior analysts and assistant behavior analysts who have 

chosen to not maintain active certification with BACB would 

need to take additional courses as described above. The 

increase in in business may have a small positive impact on 

the net worth of course providers. Most of the approved 

online providers are based outside of the Commonwealth. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

do not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposal to increase the number 

of hours of continuing education required for license renewal 

requires behavior analysts and assistant behavior analysts to 

expend additional time and dollars. To the extent that 
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behavior analysts and assistant behavior analysts employed 

by small businesses are reimbursed for their expenses and are 

permitted to take continuing education courses during the 

workday, the proposed amendments will increase costs for 

those small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

Board could choose to not increase the number of hours of 

continuing education required for license renewal.  

Adverse Impacts:  

Businesses. The proposal to increase the number of hours of 

continuing education required for license renewal requires 

behavior analysts and assistant behavior analysts to expend 

additional time and dollars. To the extent that behavior 

analysts and assistant behavior analysts employed by 

businesses are reimbursed for their expenses and are 

permitted to take continuing education courses during the 

workday, the proposed amendments will increase costs for 

those firms. 

Localities. Behavior analysts and assistant behavior analysts are 

sometimes employed by school divisions. To the extent that 

behavior analysts and assistant behavior analysts employed by 

school divisions are reimbursed for their expenses and are 

permitted to take continuing education courses during the 

workday, the proposed amendments will increase costs for those 

localities that employ behavior analysts and assistant behavior 

analysts in their schools. 

Other Entities. Non-profit organizations and governmental 

entities could also potentially employ behavior analysts and 

assistant behavior analysts. To the extent that the analysts are 

reimbursed for their expenses and are permitted to take 

continuing education courses during the workday, the 

proposed amendments will increase costs for these 

organizations and entities as well. 

_____________________________________________ 
1The BACB required 36 hours of continuing education over three years for 

behavior analyst certification renewal 24 hours over three years for assistant 

behavior analyst certification. The required hours for Virginia license 
renewal and national certification renewal both were 12 hours per annum for 

behavior analysts and 8 hours per annum for assistant behavior analysts. 
2The BACB website (bacb.com) and various linked course provider websites 
were viewed on April 14, 2016. 
3The PayScale Human Capital website (payscale.com) was viewed on April 
14, 2016. 
4(648 x 8) + (119 x 4) =5,660 
5(648 x $120) + (119 x $60) = $84,900 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Medicine concurs with the economic impact analysis of the 

Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments increase the required number 

of continuing education hours for biennial license renewal 

from 24 to 32 for behavior analysts and from 16 to 20 for 

assistant behavior analysts and require that four of the 

required hours be related to the practice of ethics in 

behavior analysis. In addition, the proposed amendments 

amend the number of continuing education hours required 

to reactivate an inactive license or reinstate a license that 

has lapsed more than two years. 

18VAC85-150-90. Reactivation or reinstatement. 

A. To reactivate an inactive license or to reinstate a license 

that has been lapsed for more than two years, a behavior 

analyst or assistant behavior analyst shall submit evidence of 

competency to return to active practice to include one of the 

following: 

1. Information on continued practice in another jurisdiction 

as a licensed behavior analyst or a licensed assistant 

behavior analyst or with certification as a BCBA® or 

BCaBA® during the period in which the license has been 

inactive or lapsed; 

2. Twelve Sixteen hours of continuing education for each 

year in which the license as a behavior analyst or 10 hours 

for each year in which the license as an assistant behavior 

analyst has been inactive or lapsed, not to exceed three 

years; or 

3. Recertification by passage of the BCBA® or the 

BCaBA® certification examination from the BACB. 

B. To reactivate an inactive license, a behavior analyst or 

assistant behavior analyst shall pay a fee equal to the 

difference between the current renewal fee for inactive 

licensure and the renewal fee for active licensure. 

C. To reinstate a license that has been lapsed for more than 

two years, a behavior analyst or assistant behavior analyst 

shall file an application for reinstatement and pay the fee for 

reinstatement of his license as prescribed in 18VAC85-150-

40. The board may specify additional requirements for 

reinstatement of a license so lapsed to include education, 

experience, or reexamination. 

D. A behavior analyst or assistant behavior analyst whose 

licensure has been revoked by the board and who wishes to be 

reinstated shall make a new application to the board, fulfill 

additional requirements as specified in the order from the 

board, and make payment of the fee for reinstatement of his 

licensure as prescribed in 18VAC85-150-40 pursuant to 

§ 54.1-2408.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

E. The board reserves the right to deny a request for 

reactivation or reinstatement to any licensee who has been 

determined to have committed an act in violation of § 54.1-

2915 of the Code of Virginia or any provisions of this 

chapter. 

18VAC85-150-100. Continuing education requirements. 

A. In order to renew an active license, a behavior analyst 

shall attest to having completed 24 32 hours of continuing 

education and an assistant behavior analyst shall attest to 

having completed 16 20 hours of continuing education as 

approved and documented by a sponsor recognized by the 

BACB within the last biennium. Four of the required hours 

shall be related to ethics in the practice of behavior analysis. 
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B. A practitioner shall be exempt from the continuing 

education requirements for the first biennial renewal 

following the date of initial licensure in Virginia.  

C. The practitioner shall retain in his records the completed 

form with all supporting documentation for a period of four 

years following the renewal of an active license.  

D. The board shall periodically conduct a random audit of 

its active licensees to determine compliance. The practitioners 

selected for the audit shall provide all supporting 

documentation within 30 days of receiving notification of the 

audit.  

E. Failure to comply with these requirements may subject 

the licensee to disciplinary action by the board.  

F. The board may grant an extension of the deadline for 

continuing education requirements, for up to one year, for 

good cause shown upon a written request from the licensee 

prior to the renewal date.  

G. The board may grant an exemption from all or part of the 

requirements for circumstances beyond the control of the 

licensee, such as temporary disability, mandatory military 

service, or officially declared disasters. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4296; Filed July 1, 2016, 2:25 p.m.  

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Final Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC115-20. Regulations 

Governing the Practice of Professional Counseling 

(amending 18VAC115-20-10, 18VAC115-20-40 through 

18VAC115-20-70, 18VAC115-20-130). 

18VAC115-50. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Marriage and Family Therapy (amending 18VAC115-50-

10, 18VAC115-50-20, 18VAC115-50-30 through 

18VAC115-50-96, 18VAC115-50-100, 18VAC115-50-110, 

18VAC115-50-120). 

18VAC115-60. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Licensed Substance Abuse Treatment Practitioners 

(amending 18VAC115-60-10, 18VAC115-60-20, 

18VAC115-60-40 through 18VAC115-60-90, 18VAC115-

60-110, 18VAC115-60-115, 18VAC115-60-116, 

18VAC115-60-120, 18VAC115-60-130, 18VAC115-60-140; 

repealing 18VAC115-60-55).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 24, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 527-4435, or 

email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) add the Council for Accreditation of 

Counseling and Related Educational Programs and the 

Council on Rehabilitation Education as groups that can 

approve educational programs under the professional 

counselor licensure program; (ii) eliminate the 

requirement that a transcript be included when applying 

for licensure if one was already submitted for approval of 

residency; (iii) modify experience requirements in 

18VAC115-50 and 18VAC115-60 for individuals seeking 

licensure by endorsement so that they only have to have 

clinical practice 24 of the 60 months immediately before 

licensure application, instead of five of the last six years as 

currently required; (iv) allow the use of real-time visual 

contact technology (e.g., Skype or other like services) to 

meet face-to-face supervision requirements during 

residency; (v) allow 20 hours of supervision obtained 

during an internship to count toward the 200 hours of 

face-to-face supervision required during residency so long 

as the internship supervision was under a licensed 

professional counselor or, in the case of interns working 

toward licensure as a marriage and family therapist, a 

licensed professional counselor or a licensed marriage and 

family therapist; (vi) require that residencies be completed 

in not less than 21 months and not more than four years; 

(vii) add local governments to the groups whose 

continuing education programs are approved by the board 

to count toward continuing education requirements; (viii) 

disallow certain professionals from providing supervision 

for residencies because the board does not have 

disciplinary or regulatory authority over these groups; and 

(ix) require applicants for licensure to provide a current 

report from the U.S. Department of Health and Human 

Services National Practitioner Data Bank, which contains 

disciplinary and malpractice history. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

Part I  

General Provisions  

18VAC115-20-10. Definitions. 

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the meaning ascribed to them in § 54.1-3500 of the 

Code of Virginia:  

"Appraisal activities"  

"Board"  

"Counseling"  

"Counseling treatment intervention"  

"Professional counselor"  

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Ancillary counseling services" means activities such as 

case management, recordkeeping, referral, and coordination 

of services. 
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"Applicant" means any individual who has submitted an 

official application and paid the application fee for licensure 

as a professional counselor.  

"CACREP" means the Council for Accreditation of 

Counseling and Related Educational Programs.  

"Candidate for licensure" means a person who has 

satisfactorily completed all educational and experience 

requirements for licensure and has been deemed eligible by 

the board to sit for its examinations.  

"Clinical counseling services" means activities such as 

assessment, diagnosis, treatment planning, and treatment 

implementation. 

"Competency area" means an area in which a person 

possesses knowledge and skill and the ability to apply them in 

the clinical setting.  

"CORE" means Council on Rehabilitation Education. 

"Exempt setting" means an agency or institution in which 

licensure is not required to engage in the practice of 

counseling according to the conditions set forth in § 54.1-

3501 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Face-to-face" means the in-person delivery of clinical 

counseling services for a client. 

"Group supervision" means the process of clinical 

supervision of no more than six persons in a group setting 

provided by a qualified supervisor.  

"Internship" means a formal academic course from a 

regionally accredited college or university in which 

supervised, practical experience is obtained in a clinical 

setting in the application of counseling principles, methods, 

and techniques.  

"Jurisdiction" means a state, territory, district, province, or 

country that has granted a professional certificate or license to 

practice a profession, use a professional title, or hold oneself 

out as a practitioner of that profession.  

"Nonexempt setting" means a setting that does not meet the 

conditions of exemption from the requirements of licensure to 

engage in the practice of counseling as set forth in § 54.1-

3501 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Regional accrediting agency" means one of the regional 

accreditation agencies recognized by the United States U.S. 

Secretary of Education responsible for accrediting senior 

postsecondary institutions.  

"Residency" means a post-graduate postgraduate, 

supervised, clinical experience registered with the board.  

"Resident" means an individual who has submitted a 

supervisory contract and has received board approval to 

provide clinical services in professional counseling under 

supervision.  

"Supervision" means the ongoing process performed by a 

supervisor who monitors the performance of the person 

supervised and provides regular, documented individual or 

group consultation, guidance, and instruction that is specific 

to the clinical counseling services being performed with 

respect to the clinical skills and competencies of the person 

supervised.  

Part II  

Requirements for Licensure  

18VAC115-20-40. Prerequisites for licensure by 

examination.  

Every applicant for licensure examination by the board 

shall:  

1. Meet the degree program requirements prescribed in 

18VAC115-20-49, the course work requirements 

prescribed in 18VAC115-20-51, and the experience 

requirements prescribed in 18VAC115-20-52; and  

2. Pass the licensure examination specified by the board; 

3. Submit the following to the board:  

a. A completed application;  

b. Official transcripts documenting the applicant's 

completion of the degree program and coursework 

requirements prescribed in 18VAC115-20-49 and 

18VAC115-20-51. Transcripts previously submitted for 

registration of supervision do not have to be resubmitted 

unless additional coursework was subsequently obtained;  

c. Verification of Supervision forms documenting 

fulfillment of the residency requirements of 18VAC115-

20-52 and copies of all required evaluation forms, 

including verification of current licensure of the 

supervisor if any portion of the residency occurred in 

another jurisdiction;  

d. Verification of any other mental health or health 

professional license or certificate ever held in another 

jurisdiction; and  

e. The application processing and initial licensure fee as 

prescribed in 18VAC115-20-20.; and 

f. A current report from the U.S. Department of Health 

and Human Services National Practitioner Data Bank 

(NPDB); and  

3. 4. Have no unresolved disciplinary action against a 

mental health or health professional license or certificate 

held in Virginia or in another jurisdiction. The board will 

consider history of disciplinary action on a case-by-case 

basis.  

18VAC115-20-45. Prerequisites for licensure by 

endorsement. 

A. Every applicant for licensure by endorsement shall hold 

or have held a professional counselor license in another 

jurisdiction of the United States and shall submit the 

following: 

1. A completed application; 

2. The application processing fee and initial licensure fee 

as prescribed in 18VAC115-20-20; 
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3. Verification of all mental health or health professional 

licenses or certificates ever held in any other jurisdiction. 

In order to qualify for endorsement the applicant shall have 

no unresolved action against a license or certificate. The 

board will consider history of disciplinary action on a case-

by-case basis; 

4. Documentation of having completed education and 

experience requirements as specified in subsection B of 

this section; 

5. Verification of a passing score on an examination 

required for counseling licensure in the jurisdiction in 

which licensure was obtained; and 

6. A current report from the U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Services National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB); 

and 

6. 7. An affidavit of having read and understood the 

regulations and laws governing the practice of professional 

counseling in Virginia.  

B. Every applicant for licensure by endorsement shall meet 

one of the following: 

1. Educational requirements consistent with those specified 

in 18VAC115-20-49 and 18VAC115-20-51 and experience 

requirements consistent with those specified in 

18VAC115-20-52; or  

2. If an applicant does not have educational and experience 

credentials consistent with those required by this chapter, 

he shall provide: 

a. Documentation of education and supervised 

experience that met the requirements of the jurisdiction 

in which he was initially licensed as verified by an 

official transcript and a certified copy of the original 

application materials; and  

b. Evidence of post-licensure clinical practice in 

counseling, as defined in § 54.1-3500 of the Code of 

Virginia, for 24 of the last 60 months immediately 

preceding his licensure application in Virginia. Clinical 

practice shall mean the rendering of direct clinical 

counseling services or clinical supervision of counseling 

services.; or 

3. In lieu of transcripts verifying education and 

documentation verifying supervised experience, the board 

may accept verification from the credentials registry of the 

American Association of State Counseling Boards or any 

other board-recognized entity. 

18VAC115-20-49. Degree program requirements.  

A. The applicant shall have completed a graduate degree 

from a program that prepares individuals to practice 

counseling and counseling treatment intervention, as defined 

in § 54.1-3500 of the Code of Virginia, which is offered by a 

college or university accredited by a regional accrediting 

agency and which meets the following criteria:  

1. There must be a sequence of academic study with the 

expressed intent to prepare counselors as documented by 

the institution;  

2. There must be an identifiable counselor training faculty 

and an identifiable body of students who complete that 

sequence of academic study; and  

3. The academic unit must have clear authority and 

primary responsibility for the core and specialty areas.  

B. Programs that are approved by CACREP or CORE are 

recognized as meeting the requirements of subsection A of 

this section.  

18VAC115-20-51. Coursework requirements.  

A. The applicant shall have successfully completed 60 

semester hours or 90 quarter hours of graduate study in the 

following core coursework with a minimum of three semester 

hours or 4.0 quarter hours in each of subdivisions 1 through 

12 of this subsection:  

1. Professional counseling identity, function, and ethics;  

2. Theories of counseling and psychotherapy;  

3. Counseling and psychotherapy techniques;  

4. Human growth and development;  

5. Group counseling and psychotherapy theories and 

techniques;  

6. Career counseling and development theories and 

techniques;  

7. Appraisal, evaluation, and diagnostic procedures;  

8. Abnormal behavior and psychopathology;  

9. Multicultural counseling theories and techniques;  

10. Research;  

11. Diagnosis and treatment of addictive disorders;  

12. Marriage and family systems theory; and  

13. Supervised internship of at least 600 hours to include 

240 hours of face-to-face client contact. [ Internship Only 

internship ] hours [ shall not begin until earned after ] 

completion of 30 [ graduate ] semester hours [ toward the 

graduate degree may be counted towards residency hours ].  

B. If 60 graduate hours in counseling were completed prior 

to April 12, 2000, the board may accept those hours if they 

meet the regulations in effect at the time the 60 hours were 

completed.  

18VAC115-20-52. Residency requirements.  

A. Registration. Applicants who render counseling services 

shall:  

1. With their supervisor, register their supervisory contract 

on the appropriate forms for board approval before starting 

to practice under supervision;  

2. Have submitted an official transcript documenting a 

graduate degree as specified in 18VAC115-20-49 to 

include completion of the coursework and internship 

requirement specified in 18VAC115-20-51; and  
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3. Pay the registration fee.  

B. Residency requirements.  

1. The applicant for licensure shall have completed a 

3,400-hour supervised residency in the role of a 

professional counselor working with various populations, 

clinical problems, and theoretical approaches in the 

following areas:  

a. Assessment and diagnosis using psychotherapy 

techniques;  

b. Appraisal, evaluation, and diagnostic procedures;  

c. Treatment planning and implementation;  

d. Case management and recordkeeping;  

e. Professional counselor identity and function; and  

f. Professional ethics and standards of practice.  

2. The residency shall include a minimum of 200 hours of 

face-to-face in-person supervision between supervisor and 

resident in the consultation and review of clinical 

counseling services provided by the resident. Supervision 

shall occur at a minimum of one hour and a maximum of 

four hours per 40 hours of work experience during the 

period of the residency. For the purpose of meeting the 

200-hour supervision requirement, face-to-face in-person 

may include the use of secured technology that maintains 

client confidentiality and provides real-time, visual contact 

between the supervisor and the resident. Up to 20 hours of 

the supervision received during the supervised internship 

may be counted towards the 200 hours of in-person 

supervision if the supervision was provided by a licensed 

professional counselor. 

3. No more than half of the 200 hours may be satisfied 

with group supervision. One hour of group supervision will 

be deemed equivalent to one hour of individual 

supervision.  

4. Supervision that is not concurrent with a residency will 

not be accepted, nor will residency hours be accrued in the 

absence of approved supervision.  

5. The residency shall include at least 2,000 hours of face-

to-face client contact in providing clinical counseling 

services. The remaining hours may be spent in the 

performance of ancillary counseling services.  

6. A graduate-level internship in excess of 600 hours, 

which was completed in a program that meets the 

requirements set forth in 18VAC115-20-49, may count for 

up to an additional 300 hours towards the requirements of a 

residency.  

7. The residency shall be completed in not less than [ 18 

21 ] months or more than four years. Residents who began 

a residency before [ (insert effective date of the regulation) 

August 24, 2016, ] shall complete the residency by [ (insert 

four years after the effective date) August 24, 2020 ]. An 

individual who does not complete the residency after four 

years shall submit evidence to the board showing why the 

supervised experience should be allowed to continue. 

8. The board may consider special requests in the event 

that the regulations create an undue burden in regard to 

geography or disability that limits the resident's access to 

qualified supervision.  

8. 9. Residents may not call themselves professional 

counselors, directly bill for services rendered, or in any 

way represent themselves as independent, autonomous 

practitioners or professional counselors. During the 

residency, residents shall use their names and the initials of 

their degree, and the title "Resident in Counseling" in all 

written communications. Clients shall be informed in 

writing of the resident's status and the supervisor's name, 

professional address, and phone number.  

9. 10. Residents shall not engage in practice under 

supervision in any areas for which they have not had 

appropriate education.  

11. Residency hours approved by the licensing board in 

another [ U.S. United States ] jurisdiction that meet the 

requirements of this section shall be accepted. 

C. Supervisory qualifications. A person who provides 

supervision for a resident in professional counseling shall: 

1. Document two years of post-licensure clinical 

experience;  

2. Have received professional training in supervision, 

consisting of three credit hours or 4.0 quarter hours in 

graduate-level coursework in supervision or at least 20 

hours of continuing education in supervision offered by a 

provider approved under 18VAC115-20-106; and  

3. Shall hold an active, unrestricted license as a 

professional counselor, or a marriage and family therapist, 

substance abuse treatment practitioner, school 

psychologist, clinical psychologist, clinical social worker, 

or psychiatrist in the jurisdiction where the supervision is 

being provided. At least 100 hours of the supervision shall 

be rendered by a licensed professional counselor. 

[ Supervisors who are substance abuse treatment 

practitioners, school psychologists, clinical psychologists, 

clinical social workers, or psychiatrists and have been 

approved to provide supervision may continue to do so 

until August 24, 2017. ]  

D. Supervisory responsibilities. 

1. Supervision by any individual whose relationship to the 

resident compromises the objectivity of the supervisor is 

prohibited.  

2. The supervisor of a resident shall assume full 

responsibility for the clinical activities of that resident 

specified within the supervisory contract for the duration of 

the residency.  

3. The supervisor shall complete evaluation forms to be 

given to the resident at the end of each three-month period.  
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4. The supervisor shall report the total hours of residency 

and shall evaluate the applicant's competency in the six 

areas stated in subdivision B 1 of this section.  

5. The supervisor shall provide supervision as defined in 

18VAC115-20-10. 

Part III  

Examinations  

18VAC115-20-70. General examination requirements; 

schedules; time limits.  

A. Every applicant for initial licensure by examination by 

the board as a professional counselor shall pass a written 

examination as prescribed by the board.  

B. Every applicant for licensure by endorsement shall have 

passed a licensure examination in the jurisdiction in which 

licensure was obtained.  

C. A candidate approved to sit for the examination shall take 

pass the examination within two years from the date of such 

initial approval. If the candidate has not taken passed the 

examination by the end of the two-year period here 

prescribed:  

1. The initial approval to sit for the examination shall then 

become invalid; and  

2. In order to be considered for the examination later, the 

The applicant shall file a new application with the board, 

meet the requirements in effect at that time, and provide 

evidence of why the board should approve the 

reapplication for examination. If approved by the board, 

the applicant shall pass the examination within two years 

of such approval. If the examination is not passed within 

the additional two-year period, a new application will not 

be accepted.   

D. The board shall establish a passing score on the written 

examination.  

E. A candidate for examination or an applicant shall not 

provide clinical counseling services unless he is under 

supervision approved by the board. 

Part V  

Standards of Practice; Unprofessional Conduct; Disciplinary 

Actions; Reinstatement  

18VAC115-20-130. Standards of practice. 

A. The protection of the public health, safety, and welfare 

and the best interest of the public shall be the primary guide 

in determining the appropriate professional conduct of all 

persons whose activities are regulated by the board. 

Regardless of the delivery method, whether in person, by 

phone, or electronically, these standards shall apply to the 

practice of counseling. 

B. Persons licensed or registered by the board shall: 

1. Practice in a manner that is in the best interest of the 

public and does not endanger the public health, safety, or 

welfare; 

2. Practice only within the boundaries of their competence, 

based on their education, training, supervised experience, 

and appropriate professional experience and represent their 

education, training, and experience accurately to clients; 

3. Stay abreast of new counseling information, concepts, 

applications, and practices that are necessary to providing 

appropriate, effective professional services; 

4. Be able to justify all services rendered to clients as 

necessary and appropriate for diagnostic or therapeutic 

purposes; 

5. Document the need for and steps taken to terminate a 

counseling relationship when it becomes clear that the 

client is not benefiting from the relationship. Document the 

assistance provided in making appropriate arrangements 

for the continuation of treatment for clients, when 

necessary, following termination of a counseling 

relationship; 

6. Make appropriate arrangements for continuation of 

services, when necessary, during interruptions such as 

vacations, unavailability, relocation, illness, and disability; 

7. Disclose to clients all experimental methods of treatment 

and inform clients of the risks and benefits of any such 

treatment. Ensure that the welfare of the clients is in no 

way compromised in any experimentation or research 

involving those clients; 

8. Neither accept nor give commissions, rebates, or other 

forms of remuneration for referral of clients for 

professional services; 

9. Inform clients of the purposes, goals, techniques, 

procedures, limitations, potential risks, and benefits of 

services to be performed; the limitations of confidentiality; 

and other pertinent information when counseling is 

initiated and throughout the counseling process as 

necessary. Provide clients with accurate information 

regarding the implications of diagnosis, the intended use of 

tests and reports, fees, and billing arrangements; 

10. Select tests for use with clients that are valid, reliable, 

and appropriate and carefully interpret the performance of 

individuals not represented in standardized norms; 

11. Determine whether a client is receiving services from 

another mental health service provider, and if so, refrain 

from providing services to the client without having an 

informed consent discussion with the client and having 

been granted communication privileges with the other 

professional; 

12. Use only in connection with one's practice as a mental 

health professional those educational and professional 

degrees or titles that have been earned at a college or 

university accredited by an accrediting agency recognized 

by the United States U.S. Department of Education, or 

credentials granted by a national certifying agency, and 

that are counseling in nature; and 
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13. Advertise professional services fairly and accurately in 

a manner that is not false, misleading, or deceptive. 

C. In regard to patient records, persons licensed by the board 

shall: 

1. Maintain written or electronic clinical records for each 

client to include treatment dates and identifying 

information to substantiate diagnosis and treatment plan, 

client progress, and termination; 

2. Maintain client records securely, inform all employees 

of the requirements of confidentiality, and provide for the 

destruction of records that are no longer useful in a manner 

that ensures client confidentiality; 

3. Disclose or release records to others only with the 

client's expressed written consent or that of the client's 

legally authorized representative in accordance with 

§ 32.1-127.1:03 of the Code of Virginia; 

4. Ensure confidentiality in the usage of client records and 

clinical materials by obtaining informed consent from the 

client or the client's legally authorized representative 

before (i) videotaping, (ii) audio recording, (iii) permitting 

third party observation, or (iv) using identifiable client 

records and clinical materials in teaching, writing, or 

public presentations; and 

5. Maintain client records for a minimum of five years or 

as otherwise required by law from the date of termination 

of the counseling relationship with the following 

exceptions: 

a. At minimum, records of a minor child shall be 

maintained for five years after attaining the age of 

majority (18 years) or 10 years following termination, 

whichever comes later; 

b. Records that are required by contractual obligation or 

federal law to be maintained for a longer period of time; 

or 

c. Records that have been transferred to another mental 

health service provider or given to the client or his 

legally authorized representative. 

D. In regard to dual relationships, persons licensed by the 

board shall: 

1. Avoid dual relationships with clients that could impair 

professional judgment or increase the risk of harm to 

clients. Examples of such relationships include, but are not 

limited to, familial, social, financial, business, bartering, or 

close personal relationships with clients. Counselors shall 

take appropriate professional precautions when a dual 

relationship cannot be avoided, such as informed consent, 

consultation, supervision, and documentation to ensure that 

judgment is not impaired and no exploitation occurs; 

2. Not engage in any type of romantic relationships or 

sexual intimacies with clients or those included in a 

collateral relationship with the client and not counsel 

persons with whom they have had a romantic relationship 

or sexual intimacy. Counselors shall not engage in 

romantic relationships or sexual intimacies with former 

clients within a minimum of five years after terminating 

the counseling relationship. Counselors who engage in 

such relationship or intimacy after five years following 

termination shall have the responsibility to examine and 

document thoroughly that such relations do not have an 

exploitive nature, based on factors such as duration of 

counseling, amount of time since counseling, termination 

circumstances, client's personal history and mental status, 

or adverse impact on the client. A client's consent to, 

initiation of, or participation in sexual behavior or 

involvement with a counselor does not change the nature 

of the conduct nor lift the regulatory prohibition; 

3. Not engage in any romantic relationship or sexual 

intimacy or establish a counseling or psychotherapeutic 

relationship with a supervisee or student. Counselors shall 

avoid any nonsexual dual relationship with a supervisee or 

student in which there is a risk of exploitation or potential 

harm to the supervisee or student or the potential for 

interference with the supervisor's professional judgment; 

and 

4. Recognize conflicts of interest and inform all parties of 

the nature and directions of loyalties and responsibilities 

involved. 

E. Persons licensed by this board shall report to the board 

known or suspected violations of the laws and regulations 

governing the practice of professional counseling. 

F. Persons licensed by the board shall advise their clients of 

their right to report to the Department of Health Professions 

any information of which the licensee may become aware in 

his professional capacity indicating that there is a reasonable 

probability that a person licensed or certified as a mental 

health service provider, as defined in § 54.1-2400.1 of the 

Code of Virginia, may have engaged in unethical, fraudulent, 

or unprofessional conduct as defined by the pertinent 

licensing statutes and regulations.  

18VAC115-50-10. Definitions.  

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the meaning ascribed to them in § 54.1-3500 of the 

Code of Virginia: (i) "board," (ii) "marriage and family 

therapy," (iii) "marriage and family therapist," and (iv) 

"practice of marriage and family therapy."  

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Ancillary counseling services" means activities such as 

case management, recordkeeping, referral, and coordination 

of services. 

"CACREP" means the Council for Accreditation of 

Counseling and Related Education Educational Programs.  

"COAMFTE" means the Commission on Accreditation for 

Marriage and Family Therapy Education.  
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"Clinical marriage and family services" means activities 

such as assessment, diagnosis, and treatment planning and 

treatment implementation for couples and families. 

"Face-to-face" means the in-person delivery of clinical 

marriage and family services for a client. 

"Internship" means a supervised, planned, practical, 

advanced experience obtained in the clinical setting, 

observing and applying the principles, methods and 

techniques learned in training or educational settings formal 

academic course from a regionally accredited university in 

which supervised practical experience is obtained in a clinical 

setting in the application of counseling principles, methods, 

and techniques. 

"Regional accrediting agency" means one of the regional 

accreditation agencies recognized by the United States U.S. 

Secretary of Education as responsible for accrediting senior 

post-secondary institutions and training programs.  

"Residency" means a post-internship postgraduate, 

supervised clinical experience registered with the board.  

"Resident" means an individual who has submitted a 

supervisory contract to the board and has received board 

approval to provide clinical services in marriage and family 

therapy under supervision.  

"Supervision" means an ongoing process performed by a 

supervisor who monitors the performance of the person 

supervised and provides regular, documented, individual or 

group consultation, guidance and instruction with respect to 

the clinical skills and competencies of the person or persons 

being supervised.  

18VAC115-50-20. Fees.  

A. The board has established fees for the following:  

  Registration of supervision  $50 

  Add or change supervisor  $25 

  Initial licensure by examination: 

Processing and initial licensure 

$140 

  Initial licensure by endorsement: 

Processing and initial licensure  

$140 

  Active annual license renewal  $105 

  Inactive annual license renewal $55 

  Penalty for late renewal  $35 

  Reinstatement of a lapsed license  $165 

  Verification of license to another 

jurisdiction  

$25 

  Additional or replacement licenses  $5 

  Additional or replacement wall 

certificates  

$15 

  Returned check  $35 

  Reinstatement following revocation or 

suspension  

$500 

  One-time reduction for renewal of an 

active license due on June 30, 2010 

$52 

  One-time reduction for renewal of an 

inactive license due on June 30, 2010 

$27 

B. Fees shall be paid to the board or its contractor or both in 

appropriate amounts as specified in the application 

instructions. All fees are nonrefundable.  

C. Examination fees shall be determined and made payable 

as determined by the board.  

18VAC115-50-30. Application for licensure by 

examination.  

Every applicant for examination for licensure by 

examination by the board shall:  

1. Meet the education and experience requirements 

prescribed in 18VAC115-50-50, 18VAC115-50-55 and 

18VAC115-50-60.; 

2. Meet the examination requirements prescribed in 

18VAC115-50-70;  

2. 3. Submit to the board office the following items:  

a. A completed application;  

b. The application processing and initial licensure fee 

prescribed in 18VAC115-50-20;  

c. Documentation, on the appropriate forms, of the 

successful completion of the residency requirements of 

18VAC115-50-60 along with documentation of the 

supervisor's out-of-state license where applicable;  

d. Official transcript or transcripts in the original sealed 

envelope with the registrar's signature across the sealed 

envelope flap submitted from the appropriate institutions 

of higher education directly to the applicant, verifying 

satisfactory completion of the education requirements set 

forth in 18VAC115-50-50 and 18VAC115-50-55. 

Previously submitted transcripts for registration of 

supervision do not have to be resubmitted unless 

additional coursework was subsequently obtained; and  

e. Verification on a board-approved form that any of any 

mental health or health out-of-state license, certification, 

or registration is in good standing. ever held in another 

jurisdiction; and  

f. A current report from the U.S. Department of Health 

and Human Services National Practitioner Data Bank 

(NPDB); and  

4. Have no unresolved disciplinary action against a mental 

health or health professional license or certificate held in 

Virginia or in another jurisdiction. The board will consider 

history of disciplinary action on a case-by-case basis.  
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18VAC115-50-40. Application for licensure by 

endorsement.  

A. Every applicant for licensure by endorsement shall hold 

or have held a marriage and family license in another 

jurisdiction in the United States and shall submit:  

1. A completed application;  

2. The application processing and initial licensure fee 

prescribed in 18VAC115-50-20; and  

3. Documentation of licensure as follows:  

a. Verification of all mental health or health professional 

licenses or certificates ever held in any other jurisdiction. 

In order to qualify for endorsement, the applicant shall 

have no unresolved action against a license or certificate. 

The board will consider history of disciplinary action on 

a case-by-case basis; and 

b. Documentation of a marriage and family therapy 

license obtained by standards specified in subsection B of 

this section.;  

4. Verification of a passing score on a marriage and family 

therapy licensure examination in the jurisdiction in which 

licensure was obtained; 

5. An affidavit of having read and understood the 

regulations and laws governing the practice of marriage 

and family therapy in Virginia; and 

6. A current report from the U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Services National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB).  

B. Every applicant for licensure by endorsement shall meet 

one of the following: 

1. Educational requirements consistent with those specified 

in 18VAC115-50-50 and 18VAC115-50-55 and experience 

requirements consistent with those specified in 

18VAC115-50-60; or  

2. If an applicant does not have educational and experience 

credentials consistent with those required by this chapter, 

he shall provide: 

a. Documentation of education and supervised 

experience that met the requirements of the jurisdiction 

in which he was initially licensed as verified by an 

official transcript and a certified copy of the original 

application materials; and  

b. Evidence of post-licensure clinical practice as a 

marriage and family therapist for five 24 of the last six 

years 60 months immediately preceding his licensure 

application in Virginia. Clinical practice shall mean the 

rendering of direct clinical services in marriage and 

family therapy or clinical supervision of marriage and 

family services; or 

3. In lieu of transcripts verifying education and 

documentation verifying supervised experience, the board 

may accept verification from the credentials registry of the 

American Association of State Counseling Boards or any 

other board-recognized entity. 

18VAC115-50-50. Degree program requirements.  

A. The applicant shall have completed a graduate degree 

from a program that prepares individuals to practice marriage 

and family therapy or a discipline related to the practice of 

marriage and family therapy as defined in § 54.1-3500 of the 

Code of Virginia from a college or university which is 

accredited by a regional accrediting agency and which meets 

the following criteria:  

1. There must be a sequence of academic study with the 

expressed intent to prepare students to practice marriage 

and family therapy as documented by the institution;  

2. There must be an identifiable marriage and family 

therapy training faculty and an identifiable body of 

students who complete that sequence of academic study; 

and  

3. The academic unit must have clear authority and 

primary responsibility for the core and specialty areas.  

B. Programs that are approved by CACREP as programs in 

marriage and family counseling/therapy or by COAMFTE are 

recognized as meeting the definition of a graduate degree 

program that prepares individuals to practice marriage and 

family therapy or a discipline related to the practice of 

marriage and family therapy as defined in § 54.1-3500 of the 

Code of Virginia requirements of subsection A of this section. 

18VAC115-50-55. Course work Coursework 

requirements.  

A. The applicant shall have successfully completed 60 

semester hours or 90 quarter hours of graduate study in the 

following core areas coursework with a minimum of six 

semester hours or nine quarter hours completed in each of the 

core areas identified in subdivisions 1 and 2 of this 

subsection, and three semester hours or 4.0 quarter hours in 

each of the core areas identified in subdivisions 3 through 6 9 

of this subsection (suggested courses are listed in parentheses 

after each core area):  

1. Marriage and family studies (marital and family 

development; family systems theory);  

2. Marriage and family therapy (systemic therapeutic 

interventions and application of major theoretical 

approaches);  

3. Human growth and development (theories of counseling; 

psychotherapy techniques with individuals; human growth 

and lifespan development; personality theory; 

psychopathology; human sexuality; multicultural issues) 

across the lifespan;  

4. Abnormal behaviors; 

5. Diagnosis and treatment of addictive behaviors; 

6. Multicultural counseling; 

4. 7. Professional studies (professional identity and 

function; ethical and legal issues) ethics;  

5. 8. Research (research methods; quantitative methods; 

statistics);  
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6. 9. Assessment and treatment (appraisal, assessment and 

diagnostic procedures); and  

7. 10. Supervised internship of at least 600 hours to include 

240 hours of direct client contact. Three hundred of the 

internship hours and 120 of the direct client contact, of 

which 200 hours shall be with couples and families. 

[ Internship Only internship ] hours [ shall not begin until 

earned after ] completion of 30 [ graduate ] semester 

hours [ toward the graduate degree may be counted 

towards residency hours ]. 

B. If the graduate hours in marriage and family therapy were 

begun prior to January 19, 2000, the board may accept those 

hours if they meet the requirements which were in effect on 

July 9, 1997. If the applicant holds a current, unrestricted 

license as a professional counselor, clinical psychologist, or 

clinical social worker, the board may accept evidence of 

successful completion of 60 semester hours or 90 quarter 

hours of graduate study, including a minimum of six semester 

hours or nine quarter hours completed in marriage and family 

studies (marital and family development; family systems 

theory) and six semester hours or nine quarter hours 

completed in marriage and family therapy (systemic 

therapeutic interventions and application of major theoretical 

approaches).  

18VAC115-50-60. Residency requirements. 

A. Registration. 1. Applicants who render counseling 

marriage and family therapy services shall:  

a. 1. With their supervisor, register their supervisory 

contract on the appropriate forms for board approval before 

starting to practice under supervision;  

b. 2. Have submitted an official transcript documenting a 

graduate degree as specified in 18VAC115-50-50 to 

include completion of the coursework and internship 

requirement specified in 18VAC115-50-55; and  

c. 3. Pay the registration fee.  

2. After September 3, 2008, applicants who are beginning 

their residencies in exempt settings shall register 

supervision with the board to assure acceptability at the 

time of application.  

B. Residency requirements.  

1. The applicant shall have completed at least two years of 

supervised post-graduate degree experience, representing 

no fewer than 4,000 3,400 hours of supervised work 

experience residency in the role of a marriage and family 

therapist, to include 200 hours of in-person supervision 

with the supervisor in the practice of marriage and family 

therapy consultation and review of marriage and family 

services provided by the resident. For the purpose of 

meeting the 200 hours of supervision required for a 

residency, in-person may also include the use of 

technology that maintains client confidentiality and 

provides real-time, visual contact between the supervisor 

and the resident. At least one-half of the 200 hours of 

supervision shall be rendered by a licensed marriage and 

family therapist. 

a. Residents shall receive a minimum of one hour and a 

maximum of four hours of supervision for every 40 hours 

of supervised work experience.  

b. No more than 100 hours of the supervision may be 

acquired through group supervision, with the group 

consisting of no more than six residents. One hour of 

group supervision will be deemed equivalent to one hour 

of individual supervision.  

c. Up to 20 hours of the supervision received during the 

supervised internship may be counted towards the 200 

hours of in-person supervision if the supervision was 

provided by a licensed marriage and family therapist or a 

licensed professional counselor.  

2. Of the 4,000 hours stipulated, The residency shall 

include documentation of at least 2,000 hours must be 

acquired in direct client contact of which 1,000 hours shall 

be clinical marriage and family services of which 1,000 

hours shall be face-to-face client contact with couples or 

families or both. The remaining hours may be spent in the 

performance of ancillary counseling services. For 

applicants who hold current, unrestricted licensure as a 

professional counselor, clinical psychologist, or clinical 

social worker, the remaining hours may be waived. 

3. The residency shall consist of practice in the core areas 

set forth in 18VAC115-50-55.  

4. The residency shall begin after the completion of a 

master's degree in marriage and family therapy or a related 

discipline as set forth in 18VAC115-50-50.  

5. A graduate-level internship in excess of 600 hours, 

which was completed in a program that meets the 

requirements set forth in 18VAC115-50-50, may count for 

no more than 600 of the required 4,000 hours of 

experience. The internship shall include 20 hours of 

individual on-site supervision, and 20 hours of individual 

or group off-site supervision. Internship hours shall not 

begin until completion of 30 semester hours toward the 

graduate degree up to an additional 300 hours towards the 

requirements of a residency.  

6. A graduate-level degree internship completed in a 

COAMFTE-approved program or a CACREP-approved 

program in marriage and family counseling/therapy may 

count for no more than 900 of the required 4,000 hours of 

experience. The board may consider special requests in the 

event that the regulations create an undue burden in regard 

to geography or disability which limits the resident's access 

to qualified supervision.  

7. In order for a graduate level internship to be counted 

toward a residency, either the clinical or faculty supervisor 

shall be licensed as set forth in subsection C of this section.  

8. 7. Residents shall not call themselves marriage and 

family therapists, solicit clients, directly bill for services 
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rendered, or in any way represent themselves as marriage 

and family therapists. During the residency, they may use 

their names, the initials of their degree and the title 

"Resident in Marriage and Family Therapy." Clients shall 

be informed in writing of the resident's status, along with 

the name, address and telephone number of the resident's 

supervisor.  

9. 8. Residents shall not engage in practice under 

supervision in any areas for which they do not have 

appropriate education.  

10. Residents who do not become candidates for licensure 

after five years of supervised training shall submit an 

explanation to the board stating reasons the residency 

should be allowed to continue. 9. The residency shall be 

completed in not less than [ 18 21 ] months or more than 

four years. Residents who began a residency before 

[ (insert effective date of the regulation) August 24, 2016, ] 

shall complete the residency by [ (insert four years after the 

effective date) August 24, 2020 ]. An individual who does 

not complete the residency after four years shall submit 

evidence to the board showing why the supervised 

experience should be allowed to continue. 

10. Residency hours that are approved by the licensing 

board in another [ U.S. United States ] jurisdiction and that 

meet the requirements of this section shall be accepted. 

C. Supervisory qualifications. A person who provides 

supervision for a resident in marriage and family therapy 

shall: 

1. Hold an active, unrestricted license as a marriage and 

family therapist, or professional counselor, clinical 

psychologist, clinical social worker or psychiatrist in the 

jurisdiction where the supervision is being provided; 

2. Document two years post-licensure marriage and family 

therapy experience; and 

3. Have received professional training in supervision, 

consisting of three credit hours or 4.0 quarter hours in 

graduate-level coursework in supervision or at least 20 

hours of continuing education in supervision offered by a 

provider approved under 18VAC115-50-96. Persons who 

have provided supervision for a residency prior to 

September 3, 2008 shall complete such coursework or 

continuing education by September 3, 2010. At least one-

half of the 200 hours of supervision shall be rendered by a 

licensed marriage and family therapist.  [ Supervisors who 

are clinical psychologists, clinical social workers, or 

psychiatrists and have been approved to provide 

supervision may continue to do so until August 24, 2017. ]  

D. Supervisory responsibilities. 

1. The supervisor shall complete evaluation forms to be 

given to the resident at the end of each three-month period. 

The supervisor shall report the total hours of residency and 

evaluate the applicant's competency to the board.  

2. Supervision by an individual whose relationship to the 

resident is deemed by the board to compromise the 

objectivity of the supervisor is prohibited.  

3. The supervisor shall provide supervision as defined in 

18VAC115-50-10 and shall assume full responsibility for 

the clinical activities of residents as specified within the 

supervisory contract, for the duration of the residency. 

18VAC115-50-70. General examination requirements.  

A. All applicants for initial licensure shall pass an 

examination, with a passing score as determined by the board. 

The examination is waived for an applicant who holds a 

current and unrestricted license as a professional counselor 

issued by the board. 

B. The examination shall concentrate on the core areas of 

marriage and family therapy set forth in subsection A of 

18VAC115-50-55.  

C. Approved applicants shall A candidate approved to sit for 

the examination shall pass the examination within two years 

from the initial notification date of approval. Failure to do so 

will result in the revocation of approval and obligate the 

applicant to file a new application for examination. If the 

candidate has not passed the examination within two years 

from the date of initial approval: 

1. The initial approval to sit for the examination shall then 

become invalid; and  

2. The applicant shall file a new application with the board, 

meet the requirements in effect at that time, and provide 

evidence of why the board should approve the 

reapplication for examination. If approved by the board, 

the candidate shall pass the examination within two years 

of such approval. If the examination is not passed within 

the additional two-year period, a new application will not 

be accepted.  

D. Applicants who fail the examination twice in succession 

shall document completion of 45 clock hours of additional 

education or training acceptable to the board addressing the 

areas of deficiency as reported in the examination results 

prior to obtaining board approval for reexamination. 

Applicants or candidates for examination shall not provide 

marriage and family services unless they are under 

supervision approved by the board.  

18VAC115-50-90. Annual renewal of license.  

A. All licensees shall renew licenses on or before June 30 of 

each year.  

B. All licensees who intend to continue an active practice 

shall submit to the board on or before June 30 of each year:  

1. A completed form for renewal of the license on which 

the licensee attests to compliance with the continuing 

competency requirements prescribed in this chapter; and  

2. The renewal fee prescribed in 18VAC115-50-20.  

C. A licensee who wishes to place his license in an inactive 

status may do so upon payment of the inactive renewal fee as 
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established in 18VAC115-50-20. No person shall practice 

marriage and family therapy in Virginia unless he holds a 

current active license. A licensee who has placed himself in 

inactive status may become active by fulfilling the 

reactivation requirements set forth in 18VAC115-50-100 C.  

D. Licensees shall notify the board of a change in the 

address of record or the public address, if different from the 

address of record within 60 days. Failure to receive a renewal 

notice from the board shall not relieve the license holder from 

the renewal requirement.  

E. After the renewal date, the license is expired; practice 

with an expired license is prohibited and may constitute 

grounds for disciplinary action. 

18VAC115-50-95. Continued competency requirements 

for renewal of a license.  

A. After July 1, 2004, marriage Marriage and family 

therapists shall be required to have completed a minimum of 

20 hours of continuing competency for each annual licensure 

renewal. A minimum of two of these hours shall be in courses 

that emphasize the ethics, standards of practice or laws 

governing behavioral science professions in Virginia.  

B. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up to 

one year for the completion of continuing competency 

requirements upon written request from the licensee prior to 

the renewal date. Such extension shall not relieve the licensee 

of the continuing competency requirement.  

C. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

continuing competency requirements due to circumstances 

beyond the control of the licensee such as temporary 

disability, mandatory military service, or officially declared 

disasters.  

D. Those individuals dually licensed by this board will not 

be required to obtain continuing competency for each license. 

Dually licensed [ individual individuals ] will only be 

required to provide the hours set out in subsection A of this 

section or subsection A of 18VAC115-20-105 in the 

Regulations Governing the Practice of Professional 

Counseling, or subsection A of 18VAC115-60-115 in the 

Regulations Governing the Practice of Licensed Substance 

Abuse Treatment Practitioners.  

18VAC115-50-96. Continuing competency activity 

criteria.  

A. Continuing competency activities must focus on 

increasing knowledge or skills in one or more of the 

following areas:  

1. Ethics, standards of practice or laws governing 

behavioral science professions;  

2. Counseling theory;  

3. Human growth and development;  

4. Social and cultural foundations;  

5. The helping relationship;  

6. Group dynamics, processing and counseling;  

7. Lifestyle and career development;  

8. Appraisal of individuals;  

9. Research and evaluation;  

10. Professional orientation;  

11. Clinical supervision;  

12. Marriage and family therapy; or  

13. Addictions.  

B. Approved hours of continuing competency activity shall 

be one of the following types:  

1. Formally organized learning activities or home study. 

Activities may be counted at their full hour value. Hours 

shall be obtained from one or a combination of the 

following board-approved, mental health-related activities:  

a. Regionally accredited university or college level 

academic courses in a behavioral health discipline.  

b. Continuing education programs offered by universities 

or colleges.  

c. Workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses in the 

behavioral health field offered by federal, state, or local 

governmental agencies or licensed health facilities and 

licensed hospitals.  

d. Workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses in the 

behavioral health field offered by an individual or 

organization that has been certified or approved by one 

of the following:  

(1) The American International Association of Marriage 

and Family Counselors and its state affiliates.  

(2) The American Association of for Marriage and 

Family Therapists Therapy and its state affiliates.  

(3) The American Association of State Counseling 

Boards.  

(4) The American Counseling Association and its state 

and local affiliates.  

(5) The American Psychological Association and its state 

affiliates.  

(6) The Commission on Rehabilitation Counselor 

Certification.  

(7) NAADAC, The Association for Addiction 

Professionals. and its state and local affiliates.  

(8) National Association of Social Workers.  

(9) National Board for Certified Counselors.  

(10) A national behavioral health organization or 

certification body.  

(11) Individuals or organizations that have been 

approved as continuing competency sponsors by the 

American Association of State Counseling Boards or a 

counseling board in another state.  

(12) The American Association of Pastoral Counselors. 

2. Individual professional activities.  
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a. Publication/presentation/new program development.  

(1) Publication of articles. Activity will count for a 

maximum of eight hours. Publication activities are 

limited to articles in refereed journals or a chapter in an 

edited book.  

(2) Publication of books. Activity will count for a 

maximum of 18 hours.  

(3) Presentations. Activity will count for a maximum of 

eight hours. The same presentations may be used only 

once in a two-year period. Only actual presentation time 

may be counted.  

(4) New program development activity will count for a 

maximum of eight hours. New program development 

includes a new course, seminar, or workshop. New 

courses shall be graduate or undergraduate level college 

or university courses.  

b. Dissertation. Activity will count for a maximum of 18 

hours. Dissertation credit may only be counted once.  

c. Clinical supervision/consultation. Activity will count 

for a maximum of [ ten 10 ] hours. Continuing 

competency can only be granted for clinical 

supervision/consultation received on a regular basis with 

a set agenda. Continuing competency cannot be granted 

for supervision that you provide to others.  

d. Leadership. Activity will count for a maximum of 

eight hours. The following leadership positions are 

acceptable for continuing competency credit: officers of 

state or national counseling organization; editor [ and/or 

or ] reviewer of professional counseling journals; 

member of state counseling licensure/certification board; 

member of a national counselor certification board; 

member of a national ethics disciplinary review 

committee rendering licenses; active member of a 

counseling committee producing a substantial written 

product; chair of a major counseling conference or 

convention; other leadership positions with justifiable 

professional learning experiences. The leadership 

positions must take place for a minimum of one year 

after the date of first licensure.  

e. Practice related programs. Activity will count up to a 

maximum of eight hours. The board may allow up to 

eight contact hours of continuing competency as long as 

the regulant submits proof of attendance plus a written 

justification of how the activity assists him in his direct 

service of his clients. Examples include language 

courses, software training, medical topics, etc.  

18VAC115-50-100. Late renewal, reinstatement.  

A. A person whose license has expired may renew it within 

one year after its expiration date by paying the penalty late 

fee prescribed in 18VAC115-50-20 as well as the license fee 

prescribed for the period the license was not renewed and 

providing evidence of having met all applicable continuing 

competency requirements.  

B. A person seeking reinstatement of a license one year or 

more after its expiration date must apply:  

1. Apply for reinstatement, and pay the reinstatement fee, 

submit; 

2. Submit documentation of any mental health license he 

holds or has held in another jurisdiction, if applicable;  

3. Submit evidence regarding the continued ability to 

perform the functions within the scope of practice of the 

license, if required by the board to demonstrate 

competency; and provide 

4. Provide evidence of having met all applicable 

continuing competency requirements not to exceed a 

maximum of 80 hours obtained within the four years 

immediately preceding application for reinstatement.  

C. A person wishing to reactivate an inactive license shall 

submit (i) the renewal fee for active licensure minus any fee 

already paid for inactive licensure renewal and (ii) 

documentation of continued competency hours equal to the 

number of years the license has been inactive, not to exceed a 

maximum of 80 hours, obtained within the four years 

immediately preceding application for reinstatement. The 

board may require additional evidence regarding the person's 

continued ability to perform the functions within the scope of 

practice of the license.  

18VAC115-50-110. Standards of practice.  

A. The protection of the public's health, safety and welfare 

and the best interest of the public shall be the primary guide 

in determining the appropriate professional conduct of all 

persons whose activities are regulated by the board. 

Regardless of the delivery method, whether in person, by 

phone or electronically, these standards shall apply to the 

practice of marriage and family therapy. 

B. Persons licensed or registered by the board shall: 

1. Practice in a manner that is in the best interest of the 

public and does not endanger the public health, safety, or 

welfare; 

2. Practice only within the boundaries of their competence, 

based on their education, training, supervised experience 

and appropriate professional experience and represent their 

education, training, and experience accurately to clients; 

3. Stay abreast of new marriage and family therapy 

information, concepts, applications and practices that are 

necessary to providing appropriate, effective professional 

services; 

4. Be able to justify all services rendered to clients as 

necessary and appropriate for diagnostic or therapeutic 

purposes; 

5. Document the need for and steps taken to terminate a 

counseling relationship when it becomes clear that the 

client is not benefiting from the relationship. Document the 

assistance provided in making appropriate arrangements 

for the continuation of treatment for clients, when 
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necessary, following termination of a counseling 

relationship; 

6. Make appropriate arrangements for continuation of 

services, when necessary, during interruptions such as 

vacations, unavailability, relocation, illness, and disability; 

7. Disclose to clients all experimental methods of treatment 

and inform client of the risks and benefits of any such 

treatment. Ensure that the welfare of the client is not 

compromised in any experimentation or research involving 

those clients; 

8. Neither accept nor give commissions, rebates or other 

forms of remuneration for referral of clients for 

professional services; 

9. Inform clients of the purposes, goals, techniques, 

procedures, limitations, potential risks, and benefits of 

services to be performed; the limitations of confidentiality; 

and other pertinent information when counseling is 

initiated and throughout the counseling process as 

necessary. Provide clients with accurate information 

regarding the implications of diagnosis, the intended use of 

tests and reports, fees, and billing arrangements; 

10. Select tests for use with clients that are valid, reliable 

and appropriate and carefully interpret the performance of 

individuals not represented in standardized norms; 

11. Determine whether a client is receiving services from 

another mental health service provider, and if so, refrain 

from providing services to the client without having an 

informed consent discussion with the client and having 

been granted communication privileges with the other 

professional; 

12. Use only in connection with one's practice as a mental 

health professional those educational and professional 

degrees or titles that have been earned at a college or 

university accredited by an accrediting agency recognized 

by the United States U.S. Department of Education, or 

credentials granted by a national certifying agency, and 

that are counseling in nature; and 

13. Advertise professional services fairly and accurately in 

a manner that is not false, misleading or deceptive. 

C. In regard to patient records, persons licensed by the board 

shall: 

1. Maintain written or electronic clinical records for each 

client to include treatment dates and identifying 

information to substantiate diagnosis and treatment plan, 

client progress, and termination; 

2. Maintain client records securely, inform all employees 

of the requirements of confidentiality and provide for the 

destruction of records that are no longer useful in a manner 

that ensures client confidentiality; 

3. Disclose or release client records to others only with 

clients' expressed written consent or that of their legally 

authorized representative in accordance with § 32.1-

127.1:03 of the Code of Virginia; 

4. Ensure confidentiality in the usage of client records and 

clinical materials by obtaining informed consent from 

clients or their legally authorized representative before (i) 

videotaping, (ii) audio recording, (iii) permitting third 

party observation, or (iv) using identifiable client records 

and clinical materials in teaching, writing, or public 

presentations; and 

5. Maintain client records for a minimum of five years or 

as otherwise required by law from the date of termination 

of the counseling relationship with the following 

exceptions: 

a. At minimum, records of a minor child shall be 

maintained for five years after attaining the age of 

majority (18 years) or 10 years following termination, 

whichever comes later; 

b. Records that are required by contractual obligation or 

federal law to be maintained for a longer period of time; 

or 

c. Records that have transferred to another mental health 

service provider or given to the client or his legally 

authorized representative. 

D. In regard to dual relationships, persons licensed by the 

board shall: 

1. Avoid dual relationships with clients that could impair 

professional judgment or increase the risk of harm to 

clients. Examples of such relationships include, but are not 

limited to, familial, social, financial, business, bartering, or 

close personal relationships with clients. Counselors 

Marriage and family therapists shall take appropriate 

professional precautions when a dual relationship cannot 

be avoided, such as informed consent, consultation, 

supervision, and documentation to ensure that judgment is 

not impaired and no exploitation occurs; 

2. Not engage in any type of romantic relationships or 

sexual intimacies with clients or those included in a 

collateral relationship with the client and also not counsel 

persons with whom they have had a sexual intimacy or 

romantic relationship. Marriage and family therapists shall 

not engage in romantic relationships or sexual intimacies 

with former clients within a minimum of five years after 

terminating the counseling relationship. Marriage and 

family therapists who engage in such relationship or 

intimacy after five years following termination shall have 

the responsibility to examine and document thoroughly 

that such relations do not have an exploitive nature, based 

on factors such as duration of counseling, amount of time 

since counseling, termination circumstances, client's 

personal history and mental status, or adverse impact on 

the client. A client's consent to, initiation of or 

participation in sexual behavior or involvement with a 
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marriage and family therapist does not change the nature of 

the conduct nor lift the regulatory prohibition; 

3. Not engage in any romantic relationships or sexual 

relationship or establish a counseling or psychotherapeutic 

relationship with a supervisee or student. Marriage and 

family therapists shall avoid any nonsexual dual 

relationship with a supervisee or student in which there is a 

risk of exploitation or potential harm to the supervisee or 

student or the potential for interference with the 

supervisor's professional judgment; and 

4. Recognize conflicts of interest and inform all parties of 

the nature and directions of loyalties and responsibilities 

involved. 

E. Persons licensed by this board shall report to the board 

known or suspected violations of the laws and regulations 

governing the practice of marriage and family therapy.  

F. Persons licensed by the board shall advise their clients of 

their right to report to the Department of Health Professions 

any information of which the licensee may become aware in 

his professional capacity indicating that there is a reasonable 

probability that a person licensed or certified as a mental 

health service provider, as defined in § 54.1-2400.1 of the 

Code of Virginia, may have engaged in unethical, fraudulent 

or unprofessional conduct as defined by the pertinent 

licensing statutes and regulations. 

18VAC115-50-120. Disciplinary action.  

A. Action by the board to revoke, suspend, deny issuance or 

removal of a license, or take other disciplinary action may be 

taken in accordance with the following:  

1. Conviction of a felony, or of a misdemeanor involving 

moral turpitude, or violation of or aid to another in 

violating any provision of Chapter 35 (§ 54.1-3500 et seq.) 

of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, any other statute 

applicable to the practice of marriage and family therapy, 

or any provision of this chapter;  

2. Procurement of a license, including submission of an 

application or supervisory forms, by fraud or 

misrepresentation;  

3. Conducting one's practice in such a manner as to make it 

a danger to the health and welfare of one's clients or the 

general public or if one is unable to practice marriage and 

family therapy with reasonable skill and safety to clients 

by reason of illness, abusive use of alcohol, drugs, 

narcotics, chemicals, or other type of material or result of 

any mental or physical condition;  

4. Intentional or negligent conduct that causes or is likely 

to cause injury to a client or clients;  

5. Performance of functions outside the demonstrable areas 

of competency;  

6. Violating or abetting another person in the violation of 

any provision of any statute applicable to the practice of 

marriage and family therapy, or any part or portion of this 

chapter; or  

7. Failure to comply with the continued competency 

requirements set forth in this chapter; or 

8. Performance of an act likely to deceive, defraud, or 

harm the public.  

B. Following the revocation or suspension of a license, the 

licensee may petition the board for reinstatement upon good 

cause shown or as a result of substantial new evidence having 

been obtained that would alter the determination reached.   

Part I  

General Provisions  

18VAC115-60-10. Definitions.  

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the meaning ascribed to them in § 54.1-3500 of the 

Code of Virginia:  

"Board"  

"Licensed substance abuse treatment practitioner"  

"Substance abuse"  

"Substance abuse treatment"  

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Ancillary services" means activities such as case 

management, recordkeeping, referral, and coordination of 

services. 

"Applicant" means any individual who has submitted an 

official application and paid the application fee for licensure 

as a substance abuse treatment practitioner.  

"CACREP" means the Council for Accreditation of 

Counseling and Related Education Educational Programs.  

"Candidate for licensure" means a person who has 

satisfactorily completed all educational and experience 

requirements for licensure and has been deemed eligible by 

the board to sit for its examinations.  

"Clinical substance abuse treatment services" means 

activities such as assessment, diagnosis, treatment planning, 

and treatment implementation. 

"COAMFTE" means the Commission on Accreditation for 

Marriage and Family Therapy Education.  

"Competency area" means an area in which a person 

possesses knowledge and skill and the ability to apply them in 

the clinical setting.  

"Exempt setting" means an agency or institution in which 

licensure is not required to engage in the practice of substance 

abuse treatment according to the conditions set forth in 

§ 54.1-3501 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Face-to-face" means the in-person delivery of clinical 

substance abuse treatment services for a client. 
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"Group supervision" means the process of clinical 

supervision of no more than six persons in a group setting 

provided by a qualified supervisor. 

"Internship" means supervised, planned, practical, advanced 

experience obtained in the clinical setting, observing and 

applying the principles, methods and techniques learned in 

training or educational settings a formal academic course 

from a regionally accredited university in which supervised, 

practical experience is obtained in a clinical setting in the 

application of counseling principles, methods and techniques. 

"Jurisdiction" means a state, territory, district, province or 

country which has granted a professional certificate or license 

to practice a profession, use a professional title, or hold 

oneself out as a practitioner of that profession.  

"Nonexempt setting" means a setting which does not meet 

the conditions of exemption from the requirements of 

licensure to engage in the practice of substance abuse 

treatment as set forth in § 54.1-3501 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Regional accrediting agency" means one of the regional 

accreditation agencies recognized by the United States U.S. 

Secretary of Education responsible for accrediting senior 

postsecondary institutions.  

"Residency" means a post-internship postgraduate, 

supervised, clinical experience registered with the board.  

"Resident" means an individual who has submitted a 

supervisory contract and has received board approval to 

provide clinical services in substance abuse treatment under 

supervision.  

18VAC115-60-20. Fees required by the board.  

A. The board has established the following fees applicable 

to licensure as a substance abuse treatment practitioner:  

  Registration of supervision (initial)  $50 

  Add/change supervisor  $25 

  Initial licensure by examination: 

Processing and initial licensure  

$140 

  Initial licensure by endorsement: 

Processing and initial licensure  

$140 

  Active annual license renewal  $105 

  Inactive annual license renewal $55 

  Duplicate license  $5 

  Verification of license to another 

jurisdiction  

$25 

  Late renewal  $35 

  Reinstatement of a lapsed license  $165 

  Replacement of or additional wall 

certificate  

$15 

  Returned check  $35 

  Reinstatement following revocation or 

suspension  

$500 

  One-time reduction for renewal of an 

active license due on June 30, 2010 

$52 

  One-time reduction for renewal of an 

inactive license due on June 30, 2010 

$27 

B. Fees shall be paid directly to the board or its contractor, 

or both, in appropriate amounts as specified in the application 

instructions. All fees are nonrefundable.  

C. Examination fees shall be determined and made payable 

as determined by the board.  

Part II  

Requirements for Licensure  

18VAC115-60-40. Application for licensure by 

examination.  

Every applicant for examination for licensure by 

examination by the board shall:  

1. Meet the degree program, course work coursework, and 

experience requirements prescribed in 18VAC115-60-60, 

18VAC115-60-70, and 18VAC115-60-80; and 

2. Pass the examination required for initial licensure as 

prescribed in 18VAC115-60-90;  

3. Submit the following items to the board:  

a. A completed application;  

b. Official transcripts documenting the applicant's 

completion of the degree program and [ course work 

coursework ] requirements prescribed in 18VAC115-60-

60 and 18VAC115-60-70. Transcripts previously 

submitted for registration of supervision do not have to 

be resubmitted unless additional coursework was 

subsequently obtained;  

c. Verification of supervision forms documenting 

fulfillment of the experience residency requirements of 

18VAC115-60-80 and copies of all required evaluation 

forms, including verification of current licensure of the 

supervisor of any portion of the residency occurred in 

another jurisdiction;  

d. Documentation of any other mental health or health 

professional license or certificate ever held in another 

jurisdiction; and  

e. The application processing and initial licensure fee. as 

prescribed in 18VAC115-60-20; and 

f. A current report from the U.S. Department of Health 

and Human Services National Practitioner Data Bank 

(NPDB); and  

4. Have no unresolved disciplinary action against a mental 

health or health professional license or certificate held in 

Virginia or in another jurisdiction. The board will consider 

history of disciplinary action on a case-by-case basis.  
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18VAC115-60-50. Prerequisites for licensure by 

endorsement.  

A. Every applicant for licensure by endorsement shall 

submit:  

1. A completed application;  

2. The application processing and initial licensure fee as 

prescribed in 18VAC115-60-20;  

3. Verification of all mental health or health professional 

licenses or certificates ever held in any other jurisdiction. 

In order to qualify for endorsement, the applicant shall 

have no unresolved disciplinary action against a license or 

certificate. The board will consider history of disciplinary 

action on a case-by-case basis;  

4. Further documentation of one of the following:  

a. A current substance abuse treatment license in good 

standing in another jurisdiction obtained by meeting 

requirements substantially equivalent to those set forth in 

this chapter; or  

b. A mental health license in good standing in a category 

acceptable to the board which required completion of a 

master's degree in mental health to include 60 graduate 

semester hours in mental health; and  

(1) Board-recognized national certification in substance 

abuse treatment;  

(2) If the master's degree was in substance abuse 

treatment, two years of post-licensure experience in 

providing substance abuse treatment;  

(3) If the master's degree was not in substance abuse 

treatment, five years of post-licensure experience in 

substance abuse treatment plus 12 credit hours of didactic 

training in the substance abuse treatment competencies 

set forth in 18VAC115-60-70 C; or  

(4) Current substance abuse counselor certification in 

Virginia in good standing or a Virginia substance abuse 

treatment specialty licensure designation with two years 

of post-licensure or certification substance abuse 

treatment experience;  

c. Documentation of education and supervised 

experience that met the requirements of the jurisdiction 

in which he was initially licensed as verified by an 

official transcript and a certified copy of the original 

application materials and evidence of post-licensure 

clinical practice for five 24 of the last six years 60 

months immediately preceding his licensure application 

in Virginia. Clinical practice shall mean the rendering of 

direct clinical substance abuse treatment services or 

clinical supervision of such services. 

5. Verification of a passing score on a substance abuse 

licensure examination as established by the jurisdiction in 

which licensure was obtained. The examination is waived 

for an applicant who holds a current and unrestricted 

license as a professional counselor within the 

Commonwealth of Virginia;  

6. Official transcripts documenting the applicant's 

completion of the education requirements prescribed in 

18VAC115-60-60 and 18VAC115-60-70; and  

7. An affidavit of having read and understood the 

regulations and laws governing the practice of substance 

abuse treatment in Virginia; and 

8. A current report from the U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Services National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB). 

B. In lieu of transcripts verifying education and 

documentation verifying supervised experience, the board 

may accept verification from the credentials registry of the 

American Association of State Counseling Boards or any 

other board-recognized entity.  

18VAC115-60-55. Time-limited waiver of certain 

licensure requirements. (Repealed.) 

Until February 26, 2004, individuals who do not meet the 

licensure requirements set forth in 18VAC115-60-50 and 

18VAC115-60-60 through 18VAC115-60-90 may be eligible 

for licensure if they submit a completed application and 

processing fee and provide evidence that they meet the 

following criteria:  

1. A passing score on a board-approved examination;  

2. A minimum of three comprehensive reports from:  

a. At least two licensed mental health professionals, one 

of whom must be licensed in Virginia, that affirm 

competence in all areas outlined in 18VAC115-60-80 C 1 

and attest to the applicant's ability to practice 

autonomously; and  

b. One or more clinical supervisors who have provided 

supervision, as defined in 18VAC115-60-10, of the 

applicant for a total of one year within the applicant's 

most recent five years of practice. If supervision was 

provided in an exempt setting, the report may be 

submitted by an unlicensed mental health professional; 

and  

3. One of the following:  

a. Five years full-time experience in substance abuse 

treatment plus a master's degree in a mental health field 

from a regionally accredited institution of higher learning 

with a total of 36 graduate hours covering mental health 

content to include three graduate semester hours or 4.5 

graduate quarter hours in each area of the following:  

(1) Counseling and psychotherapy techniques;  

(2) Appraisal, evaluation and diagnostic procedures;  

(3) Abnormal behavior and psychopathology:  

(4) Group counseling and psychotherapy, theories and 

techniques; and  

(5) Research.  



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 25, 2016 

3309 

The remaining graduate semester hours shall include 

content in the following areas:  

(1) Assessment, appraisal, evaluation and diagnosis 

specific to substance abuse;  

(2) Treatment planning models, client case management, 

interventions and treatments to include relapse 

prevention, referral process, step models and 

documentation process;  

(3) Understanding addictions: The biochemical, socio-

cultural and psychological factors of substance use and 

abuse;  

(4) Addictions and special populations, including, but not 

limited to, adolescents, women, ethnic groups and the 

elderly; and  

(5) Client and community education; or  

b. Ten years full-time experience in substance abuse 

treatment plus a bachelor's degree from a regionally 

accredited institution of higher learning, plus 30 graduate 

hours covering mental health content to include three 

graduate semester hours or 4.5 graduate quarter hours in 

each area of the following:  

(1) Counseling and psychotherapy techniques;  

(2) Appraisal, evaluation and diagnostic procedures;  

(3) Abnormal behavior and psychopathology;  

(4) Group counseling and psychotherapy, theories and 

techniques; and  

(5) Research.  

The remaining graduate hours shall include content in the 

following areas:  

(1) Assessment, appraisal, evaluation and diagnosis 

specific to substance abuse;  

(2) Treatment planning models, client case management, 

interventions and treatments to include relapse 

prevention, referral process, step models and 

documentation process;  

(3) Understanding addictions: the biochemical, socio-

cultural and psychological factors of substance use and 

abuse;  

(4) Addictions and special populations, including, but not 

limited to, adolescents, women, ethnic groups and the 

elderly; and  

(5) Client and community education.  

18VAC115-60-60. Degree program requirements.  

A. The applicant shall have completed a graduate degree 

from a program that prepares individuals to practice 

substance abuse treatment or a related counseling discipline 

as defined in § 54.1-3500 of the Code of Virginia from a 

college or university accredited by a regional accrediting 

agency that meets the following criteria:  

1. There must be a sequence of academic study with the 

expressed intent to prepare counselors as documented by 

the institution;  

2. There must be an identifiable counselor training 

faculty and an identifiable body of students who 

complete that sequence of academic study; and  

3. The academic unit must have clear authority and 

primary responsibility for the core and specialty areas.  

B. Education that does not come from a degree program 

meeting the requirements set forth in this section shall not be 

acceptable for licensure. Programs that are approved by 

CACREP as programs in addictions counseling are 

recognized as meeting the requirements of subsection A of 

this section. 

18VAC115-60-70. Course work Coursework 

requirements.  

A. The applicant shall have successfully completed 60 

semester hours or 90 quarter hours of graduate study.  

B. The applicant shall have completed a general core 

curriculum containing a minimum of three semester hours or 

4.0 quarter hours in each of the areas identified in this 

section:  

1. Professional identity, function and ethics;  

2. Theories of counseling and psychotherapy;  

3. Counseling and psychotherapy techniques;  

4. Group counseling and psychotherapy, theories and 

techniques;  

5. Appraisal, evaluation and diagnostic procedures;  

6. Abnormal behavior and psychopathology;  

7. Multicultural counseling, theories and techniques;  

8. Research; and  

9. Marriage and family systems theory.  

C. The applicant shall also have completed 12 graduate 

semester credit hours or 18 graduate quarter hours in the 

following substance abuse treatment competencies.  

1. Assessment, appraisal, evaluation and diagnosis specific 

to substance abuse;  

2. Treatment planning models, client case management, 

interventions and treatments to include relapse prevention, 

referral process, step models and documentation process;  

3. Understanding addictions: The biochemical, 

sociocultural and psychological factors of substance use 

and abuse;  

4. Addictions and special populations including, but not 

limited to, adolescents, women, ethnic groups and the 

elderly; and  

5. Client and community education.  

D. The applicant shall have completed a supervised 

internship of 600 hours to include 240 hours of direct client 

contact. At least 450 of the internship hours and, of which 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 25, 2016 

3310 

200 of the direct client contact hours shall be in treating 

substance abuse-specific treatment problems. [ Internship 

Only internship ] hours [ shall not begin until earned after ] 

completion of 30 [ graduate ] semester hours [ toward the 

graduate degree may be counted towards residency hours ]. 

E. One course may satisfy study in more than one content 

area set forth in subsections B and C of this section.  

F. If the applicant holds a current, unrestricted license as a 

professional counselor, clinical psychologist, or clinical social 

worker, the board may accept evidence of successful 

completion of 60 semester hours or 90 quarter hours of 

graduate study, including the hours specified in subsection C 

of this section.  

18VAC115-60-80. Residency requirements. 

A. Registration. Applicants who render substance abuse 

treatment services shall: 

1. With their supervisor, register their supervisory contract 

on the appropriate forms for board approval before starting 

to practice under supervision; 

2. Have submitted an official transcript documenting a 

graduate degree as specified in 18VAC115-60-60 to 

include completion of the coursework and internship 

requirement specified in 18VAC115-60-70; and 

3. Pay the registration fee. 

B. After September 3, 2008, applicants Applicants who are 

beginning their residencies in exempt settings shall register 

supervision with the board to assure acceptability at the time 

of application. 

C. Residency requirements. 

1. The applicant for licensure shall have completed a 4,000 

hour no fewer than 3,400 hours in a supervised residency 

in substance abuse treatment with various populations, 

clinical problems and theoretical approaches in the 

following areas:  

a. Clinical evaluation; 

b. Treatment planning, documentation and 

implementation; 

c. Referral and service coordination; 

d. Individual and group counseling and case 

management; 

e. Client family and community education; and 

f. Professional and ethical responsibility. 

2. The residency shall include a minimum of 200 hours of 

in-person supervision between supervisor and resident 

occurring at a minimum of one hour and a maximum of 

four hours per 40 hours of work experience during the 

period of the residency.  

a. No more than half of these hours may be satisfied with 

group supervision.  

b. One hour of group supervision will be deemed 

equivalent to one hour of individual supervision.  

c. Supervision that is not concurrent with a residency will 

not be accepted, nor will residency hours be accrued in 

the absence of approved supervision. 

d. For the purpose of meeting the 200-hour supervision 

requirement, in-person supervision may include the use 

of technology that maintains client confidentiality and 

provides real-time, visual contact between the supervisor 

and the resident.  

e. Up to 20 hours of the supervision received during the 

supervised internship may be counted towards the 200 

hours of in-person supervision if the supervision was 

provided by a licensed professional counselor. 

3. The residency shall include at least 2,000 hours of face-

to-face client contact in providing clinical substance abuse 

treatment services with individuals, families, or groups of 

individuals suffering from the effects of substance abuse or 

dependence. The remaining hours may be spent in the 

performance of ancillary services. 

4. A graduate level degree internship in excess of 600 

hours, which is completed in a program that meets the 

requirements set forth in 18VAC115-60-70, may count for 

no more than 600 hours of the required 4,000 hours of 

experience. The internship shall include 20 hours of 

individual on-site supervision, and 20 hours of individual 

or group off-site supervision. Internship hours shall not 

begin until completion of 30 semester hours toward the 

graduate degree up to an additional 300 hours towards the 

requirements of a residency.  

5. A graduate-level degree internship completed in a 

COAMFTE- or CACREP-approved program may count 

for no more than 900 of the required 4,000 hours of 

experience. The residency shall be completed in not less 

than [ 18 21 ] months or more than four years. Residents 

who began a residency before [ (insert effective date of the 

regulation) August 24, 2016, ] shall complete the residency 

by [ (insert four years after the effective date) August 24, 

2020 ]. An individual who does not complete the residency 

after four years shall submit evidence to the board showing 

why the supervised experience should be allowed to 

continue. 

6. In order for a graduate level internship to be counted 

toward a residency, either the clinical or faculty supervisor 

shall be licensed as set forth in subsection D of this section.  

7. 6. The board may consider special requests in the event 

that the regulations create an undue burden in regard to 

geography or disability which limits the resident's access to 

qualified supervision.  

8. 7. Residents may not call themselves substance abuse 

treatment practitioners, directly bill for services rendered, 

or in any way represent themselves as independent, 

autonomous practitioners or substance abuse treatment 

practitioners. During the residency, residents shall use their 

names and the initials of their degree, and the title 
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"Resident in Substance Abuse Treatment" in all written 

communications. Clients shall be informed in writing of 

the resident's status, the supervisor's name, professional 

address, and telephone number.  

9. 8. Residents shall not engage in practice under 

supervision in any areas for which they have not had 

appropriate education.  

9. Residency hours that are approved by the licensing 

board in another [ U.S. United States ] jurisdiction and that 

meet the requirements of this section shall be accepted. 

D. Supervisory qualifications.  

1. A person who provides supervision for a resident in 

substance abuse treatment shall hold an active, unrestricted 

license as a professional counselor, marriage and family 

therapist, or substance abuse treatment practitioner, school 

psychologist, clinical psychologist, clinical social worker, 

clinical nurse specialist or psychiatrist in the jurisdiction 

where the supervision is being provided. [ Supervisors who 

are marriage and family therapists, school psychologists, 

clinical psychologists, clinical social workers, clinical 

nurse specialists, or psychiatrists and have been approved 

to provide supervision may continue to do so until August 

24, 2017. ]  

2. All supervisors shall document two years post-licensure 

substance abuse treatment experience, and at least 100 

hours of didactic instruction in substance abuse treatment, 

and training or experience in supervision. Within three 

years of January 19, 2000, supervisors Supervisors must 

document a three-credit-hour course in supervision, a 4.0-

quarter-hour course in supervision, or at least 20 hours of 

continuing education in supervision offered by a provider 

approved under 18VAC115-60-116.  

E. Supervisory responsibilities. 

1. Supervision by any individual whose relationship to the 

resident compromises the objectivity of the supervisor is 

prohibited.  

2. The supervisor of a resident shall assume full 

responsibility for the clinical activities of that resident 

specified within the supervisory contract for the duration of 

the residency.  

3. The supervisor shall complete evaluation forms to be 

given to the resident at the end of each three-month period.  

4. The supervisor shall report the total hours of residency 

and shall evaluate the applicant's competency in the six 

areas stated in subdivision C 1 of this section.  

F. Documentation of supervision. Applicants shall document 

successful completion of their residency on the Verification 

of Supervision form at the time of application. Applicants 

must receive a satisfactory competency evaluation on each 

item on the evaluation sheet. Supervised experience obtained 

prior to January 19, 2000, may be accepted towards licensure 

if this supervised experience met the board's requirements 

which were in effect at the time the supervision was rendered. 

Part III  

Examinations  

18VAC115-60-90. General examination requirements; 

schedules; time limits.  

A. Every applicant for initial licensure as a substance abuse 

treatment practitioner by examination shall pass a written 

examination as prescribed by the board.  

B. Every applicant for licensure as a substance abuse 

treatment practitioner by endorsement shall have passed an a 

substance abuse examination deemed by the board to be 

substantially equivalent to the Virginia examination.  

C. The examination is waived for an applicant who holds a 

current and unrestricted license as a professional counselor 

issued by the board. 

D. A candidate approved by the board to sit for the 

examination shall take pass the examination within two years 

from the date of such initial board approval. If the candidate 

has not taken passed the examination by the end of the two-

year period prescribed in this subsection within two years 

from the date of initial approval:  

1. The initial board approval to sit for the examination 

shall then become invalid; and  

2. In order to be considered for the examination later, the 

The applicant shall file a complete new application with 

the board, meet the requirements in effect at that time, and 

provide evidence of why the board should approve the 

reapplication for examination. If approved by the board, 

the applicant shall pass the examination within two years 

of such approval. If the examination is not passed within 

the additional two-year period, a new application will not 

be accepted.  

D. Applicants who fail the examination twice in succession 

shall document completion of 45 clock hours of additional 

education or training acceptable to the board, addressing the 

areas of deficiency as reported in the examination results 

prior to obtaining board approval for reexamination.  

E. The board shall establish a passing score on the written 

examination.  

F. A candidate for examination or an applicant shall not 

provide clinical services unless he is under supervision 

approved by the board.  

Part IV  

Licensure Renewal; Reinstatement  

18VAC115-60-110. Renewal of licensure.  

A. All licensees shall renew licenses on or before June 30 of 

each year.  

B. Every license holder who intends to continue an active 

practice shall submit to the board on or before June 30 of 

each year:  

1. A completed form for renewal of the license on which 

the licensee attests to compliance with the continuing 

competency requirements prescribed in this chapter; and  
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2. The renewal fee prescribed in 18VAC115-60-20.  

C. A licensee who wishes to place his license in an inactive 

status may do so upon payment of the inactive renewal fee as 

established in 18VAC115-60-20. No person shall practice 

substance abuse treatment in Virginia unless he holds a 

current active license. A licensee who has placed himself in 

inactive status may become active by fulfilling the 

reactivation requirements set forth in 18VAC115-60-120 C.  

D. Licensees shall notify the board of a change in the 

address of record or the public address, if different from the 

address of record within 60 days. Failure to receive a renewal 

notice from the board shall not relieve the license holder from 

the renewal requirement.  

E. After the renewal date, the license is expired; practice 

with an expired license is prohibited and may constitute 

grounds for disciplinary action. 

18VAC115-60-115. Continued competency requirements 

for renewal of a license.  

A. After July 1, 2004, licensed Licensed substance abuse 

treatment practitioners shall be required to have completed a 

minimum of 20 hours of continuing competency for each 

annual licensure renewal. A minimum of two of these hours 

shall be in courses that emphasize the ethics, standard of 

practice or laws governing behavioral science professions in 

Virginia.  

B. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up to 

one year for the completion of continuing competency 

requirements upon written request from the licensee prior to 

the renewal date. Such extension shall not relieve the licensee 

of the continuing competency requirement.  

C. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

continuing competency requirements due to circumstances 

beyond the control of the licensee, such as temporary 

disability, mandatory military service, or officially declared 

disasters.  

D. Those individuals dually licensed by this board will not 

be required to obtain continuing competency for each license. 

Dually licensed individuals will only be required to provide 

the hours set out in subsection A of this section or subsection 

A of 18VAC115-50-95 in the Regulations Governing the 

Practice of Marriage and Family Therapy, or subsection A of 

18VAC115-20-105 in the Regulations Governing the Practice 

of Professional Counseling.  

18VAC115-60-116. Continuing competency activity 

criteria.  

A. Continuing competency activities must focus on 

increasing knowledge or skills in one or more of the 

following areas:  

1. Ethics, standards of practice or laws governing 

behavioral science professions;  

2. Counseling theory;  

3. Human growth and development;  

4. Social and cultural foundations;  

5. The helping relationship;  

6. Group dynamics, processing and counseling;  

7. Lifestyle and career development;  

8. Appraisal of individuals;  

9. Research and evaluation;  

10. Professional orientation;  

11. Clinical supervision;  

12. Marriage and family therapy; or  

13. Addictions.  

B. Approved hours of continuing competency activity shall 

be one of the following types:  

1. Formally organized learning activities or home study. 

Activities may be counted at their full hour value. Hours 

shall be obtained from one or a combination of the 

following board-approved, mental health-related activities:  

a. Regionally accredited university-or college-level 

academic courses in a behavioral health discipline.  

b. Continuing education programs offered by universities 

or colleges.  

c. Workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses in the 

behavioral health field offered by federal, state, or local 

governmental agencies or licensed health facilities and 

licensed hospitals.  

d. Workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses in the 

behavioral health field offered by an individual or 

organization that has been certified or approved by one 

of the following:  

(1) The American International Association of Marriage 

and Family Counselors and its state affiliates.  

(2) The American Association of for Marriage and 

Family Therapists Therapy and its state affiliates.  

(3) The American Association of State Counseling 

Boards.  

(4) The American Counseling Association and its state 

and local affiliates.  

(5) The American Psychological Association and its state 

affiliates.  

(6) The Commission on Rehabilitation Counselor 

Certification.  

(7) NAADAC, The Association for Addiction 

Professionals, and its state and local affiliates.  

(8) National Association of Social Workers.  

(9) The National Board for Certified Counselors.  

(10) A national behavioral health organization or 

certification body.  

(11) Individuals or organizations that have been 

approved as continuing competency sponsors by the 
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American Association of State Counseling Boards or a 

counseling board in another state.  

2. Individual professional activities.  

a. Publication/presentation/new program development.  

(1) Publication of articles. Activity will count for a 

maximum of eight hours. Publication activities are 

limited to articles in refereed journals or a chapter in an 

edited book.  

(2) Publication of books. Activity will count for a 

maximum of 18 hours.  

(3) Presentations. Activity will count for a maximum of 

eight hours. The same presentations may be used only 

once in a two-year period. Only actual presentation time 

may be counted.  

(4) New program development. Activity will count for a 

maximum of eight hours. New program development 

includes a new course, seminar, or workshop. New 

courses shall be graduate or undergraduate level college 

or university courses.  

b. Dissertation. Activity will count for a maximum of 18 

hours. Dissertation credit may only be counted once.  

c. Clinical supervision/consultation. Activity will count 

for a maximum of 10 hours. Continuing competency can 

only be granted for clinical supervision/consultation 

received on a regular basis with a set agenda. Continuing 

competency cannot be granted for supervision that you 

provide to others.  

d. Leadership. Activity will count for a maximum of 

eight hours. The following leadership positions are 

acceptable for continuing competency credit: officers of 

state or national counseling organization; editor [ and/or 

or ] reviewer of professional counseling journals; 

member of state counseling licensure/certification board; 

member of a national counselor certification board; 

member of a national ethics disciplinary review 

committee rendering licenses; active member of a 

counseling committee producing a substantial written 

product; chair of a major counseling conference or 

convention; other leadership positions with justifiable 

professional learning experiences. The leadership 

positions must take place for a minimum of one year 

after the date of first licensure.  

e. Practice related programs. Activity will count up to a 

maximum of eight hours. The board may allow up to 

eight contact hours of continuing competency as long as 

the regulant submits proof of attendance plus a written 

justification of how the activity assists him in his direct 

service of his clients. Examples include language 

courses, software training, medical topics, etc. 

18VAC115-60-120. Late renewal; reinstatement.  

A. A person whose license has expired may renew it within 

one year after its expiration date by paying the late renewal 

fee prescribed in 18VAC115-60-20, as well as the license fee 

prescribed for the year the license was not renewed and 

providing evidence of having met all applicable continuing 

competency requirements.  

B. A person who fails to renew a license after one year or 

more and wishes to resume practice shall apply for 

reinstatement, pay the reinstatement fee for a lapsed license, 

submit evidence regarding the continued ability to perform 

the functions within the scope of practice of the license 

verification of any mental health license he holds or has held 

in another jurisdiction, if applicable, and provide evidence of 

having met all applicable continuing competency 

requirements not to exceed a maximum of 80 hours obtained 

within the four years immediately preceding application for 

reinstatement. The board may require the applicant for 

reinstatement to submit evidence regarding the continued 

ability to perform the functions within the scope of practice of 

the license. 

C. A person wishing to reactivate an inactive license shall 

submit (i) the renewal fee for active licensure minus any fee 

already paid for inactive licensure renewal and; (ii) 

documentation of continued competency hours equal to the 

number of years the license has been inactive not to exceed a 

maximum of 80 hours obtained within the four years 

immediately preceding application for reactivation; and (iii) 

verification of any mental health license he holds or has held 

in another jurisdiction, if applicable. The board may require 

the applicant for reactivation to submit evidence regarding the 

continued ability to perform the functions within the scope of 

practice of the license.  

Part V  

Standards of Practice; Unprofessional Conduct; Disciplinary 

Actions; Reinstatement  

18VAC115-60-130. Standards of practice.  

A. The protection of the public health, safety, and welfare 

and the best interest of the public shall be the primary guide 

in determining the appropriate professional conduct of all 

persons whose activities are regulated by the board. 

Regardless of the delivery method, whether in person, by 

phone or electronically, these standards shall apply to the 

practice of substance abuse treatment. 

B. Persons licensed or registered by the board shall: 

1. Practice in a manner that is in the best interest of the 

public and does not endanger the public health, safety, or 

welfare; 

2. Practice only within the boundaries of their competence, 

based on their education, training, supervised experience 

and appropriate professional experience and represent their 

education, training and experience accurately to clients; 

3. Stay abreast of new substance abuse treatment 

information, concepts, application and practices that are 

necessary to providing appropriate, effective professional 

services; 
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4. Be able to justify all services rendered to clients as 

necessary and appropriate for diagnostic or therapeutic 

purposes; 

5. Document the need for and steps taken to terminate a 

counseling relationship when it becomes clear that the 

client is not benefiting from the relationship. Document the 

assistance provided in making appropriate arrangements 

for the continuation of treatment for clients, when 

necessary, following termination of a counseling 

relationship; 

6. Make appropriate arrangements for continuation of 

services, when necessary, during interruptions such as 

vacations, unavailability, relocation, illness, and disability; 

7. Disclose to clients all experimental methods of treatment 

and inform clients of the risks and benefits of any such 

treatment. Ensure that the welfare of the clients is in no 

way compromised in any experimentation or research 

involving those clients; 

8. Neither accept nor give commissions, rebates, or other 

forms of remuneration for referral of clients for 

professional services; 

9. Inform clients of the purposes, goals, techniques, 

procedures, limitations, potential risks, and benefits of 

services to be performed; the limitations of confidentiality; 

and other pertinent information when counseling is 

initiated and throughout the counseling process as 

necessary. Provide clients with accurate information 

regarding the implications of diagnosis, the intended use of 

tests and reports, fees, and billing arrangements; 

10. Select tests for use with clients that are valid, reliable 

and appropriate and carefully interpret the performance of 

individuals not represented in standardized norms; 

11. Determine whether a client is receiving services from 

another mental health service provider, and if so, refrain 

from providing services to the client without having an 

informed consent discussion with the client and having 

been granted communication privileges with the other 

professional; 

12. Use only in connection with one's practice as a mental 

health professional those educational and professional 

degrees or titles that have been earned at a college or 

university accredited by an accrediting agency recognized 

by the United States U.S. Department of Education, or 

credentials granted by a national certifying agency, and 

that are counseling in nature; and 

13. Advertise professional services fairly and accurately in 

a manner that is not false, misleading or deceptive. 

C. In regard to patient records, persons licensed by the board 

shall: 

1. Maintain written or electronic clinical records for each 

client to include treatment dates and identifying 

information to substantiate diagnosis and treatment plan, 

client progress, and termination; 

2. Maintain client records securely, inform all employees 

of the requirements of confidentiality and provide for the 

destruction of records that are no longer useful in a manner 

that ensures client confidentiality; 

3. Disclose or release records to others only with clients' 

expressed written consent or that of their legally authorized 

representative in accordance with § 32.1-127.1:03 of the 

Code of Virginia; 

4. Maintain client records for a minimum of five years or 

as otherwise required by law from the date of termination 

of the substance abuse treatment relationship with the 

following exceptions: 

a. At minimum, records of a minor child shall be 

maintained for five years after attaining the age of 

majority (18 years) or 10 years following termination, 

whichever comes later; 

b. Records that are required by contractual obligation or 

federal law to be maintained for a longer period of time; 

or 

c. Records that have been transferred to another mental 

health service provider or given to the client; and 

5. Ensure confidentiality in the usage of client records and 

clinical materials by obtaining informed consent from 

clients or their legally authorized representative before (i) 

videotaping, (ii) audio recording, (iii) permitting third 

party observation, or (iv) using identifiable client records 

and clinical materials in teaching, writing or public 

presentations. 

D. In regard to dual relationships, persons licensed by the 

board shall: 

1. Avoid dual relationships with clients that could impair 

professional judgment or increase the risk of harm to 

clients. Examples of such relationships include, but are not 

limited to, familial, social, financial, business, bartering, or 

close personal relationships with clients. Counselors shall 

take appropriate professional precautions when a dual 

relationship cannot be avoided, such as informed consent, 

consultation, supervision, and documentation to ensure that 

judgment is not impaired and no exploitation occurs; 

2. Not engage in any type of romantic relationships or 

sexual intimacies with clients or those included in a 

collateral relationship with the client and not counsel 

persons with whom they have had a sexual romantic 

relationship or sexual intimacy. Licensed substance abuse 

treatment practitioners shall not engage in romantic 

relationships or sexual intimacies with former clients 

within a minimum of five years after terminating the 

counseling relationship. Licensed substance abuse 

treatment practitioners who engage in such relationship or 

intimacy after five years following termination shall have 

the responsibility to examine and document thoroughly 

that such relations do not have an exploitive nature, based 

on factors such as duration of counseling, amount of time 
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since counseling, termination circumstances, client's 

personal history and mental status, or adverse impact on 

the client. A client's consent to, initiation of or 

participation in sexual behavior or involvement with a 

licensed substance abuse treatment practitioner does not 

change the nature of the conduct nor lift the regulatory 

prohibition; 

3. Not engage in any sexual intimacy or romantic 

relationship or establish a counseling or psychotherapeutic 

relationship with a supervisee or student. Licensed 

substance abuse treatment practitioners shall avoid any 

nonsexual dual relationship with a supervisee or student in 

which there is a risk of exploitation or potential harm to the 

supervisee or the potential for interference with the 

supervisor's professional judgment; and 

4. Recognize conflicts of interest and inform all parties of 

the nature and directions of loyalties and responsibilities 

involved. 

E. Persons licensed by this board shall report to the board 

known or suspected violations of the laws and regulations 

governing the practice of substance abuse treatment.  

F. Persons licensed by the board shall advise their clients of 

their right to report to the Department of Health Professions 

any information of which the licensee may become aware in 

his professional capacity indicating that there is a reasonable 

probability that a person licensed or certified as a mental 

health service provider, as defined in § 54.1-2400.1 of the 

Code of Virginia, may have engaged in unethical, fraudulent 

or unprofessional conduct as defined by the pertinent 

licensing statutes and regulations. 

18VAC115-60-140. Grounds for revocation, suspension, 

probation, reprimand, censure, or denial of renewal of 

license.  

A. Action by the board to revoke, suspend, deny issuance or 

renewal of a license, or take other disciplinary action may be 

taken in accord with the following:  

1. Conviction of a felony, or of a misdemeanor involving 

moral turpitude, or violation of or aid to another in 

violating any provision of Chapter 35 (§ 54.1-3500 et seq.) 

of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, any other statute 

applicable to the practice of substance abuse treatment, or 

any provision of this chapter;  

2. Procurement of a license, including submission of an 

application or supervisory forms, by fraud or 

misrepresentation.;  

3. Conducting one's practice in such a manner as to make it 

a danger to the health and welfare of one's clients or to the 

public, or if one is unable to practice substance abuse 

treatment with reasonable skill and safety to clients by 

reason of illness, abusive use of alcohol, drugs, narcotics, 

chemicals, or other type of material or result of any mental 

or physical condition;  

4. Intentional or negligent conduct that causes or is likely 

to cause injury to a client;  

5. Performance of functions outside the demonstrable areas 

of competency;  

6. Failure to comply with the continued competency 

requirements set forth in this chapter; or  

7. Violating or abetting another person in the violation of 

any provision of any statute applicable to the practice of 

licensed substance abuse therapy, or any part or portion of 

this chapter; or 

8. Performance of an act likely to deceive, defraud, or 

harm the public.  

B. Following the revocation or suspension of a license the 

licensee may petition the board for reinstatement upon good 

cause shown or as a result of substantial new evidence having 

been obtained that would alter the determination reached.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4067; Filed July 1, 2016, 11:48 a.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC120-11. Public Participation 

Guidelines (amending 18VAC120-11-50).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007.02 and 54.1-201 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: August 24, 2016. 

Effective Date: September 8, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Mary Broz-Vaughan, Director of 

Communications, Legislation and Consumer Affairs, 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 

telephone (804) 367-8537, FAX (804) 527-4403, or email 

mary.broz-vaughan@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia mandates 

each agency develop, adopt, and use public participation 

guidelines for soliciting the input of interested parties in the 

formation and development of its regulations. The Director of 

the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 

is the promulgating entity. 

Purpose: The proposed change updates the agency's public 

participation guidelines to conform to the change in the 

Administrative Process Act enacted by Chapter 795 of the 

2012 Acts of Assembly. The related provision provides that 

in formulating any regulation an interested party shall be 

entitled to be accompanied by and represented by counsel or 

other qualified representative. Allowing interested parties to 

be accompanied by and represented by counsel or other 

parties is beneficial to the public welfare. 
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Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: As the 

proposed change merely conforms the regulation to the 

underlying statute (§ 2.2-4007.02 B of the Code of Virginia), 

the rulemaking is not expected to be controversial and, 

therefore, is appropriate for the fast-track rulemaking process. 

Substance: The proposed change allows persons interested in 

the development of regulations to be accompanied by and 

represented by counsel or other representative. 

Issues: As the proposed change merely updates the regulation 

to conform to the underlying statute, the primary advantage is 

to ensure consistency between the law and regulation, which 

should reduce the chance of any confusion. There are no 

anticipated disadvantages to the public or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 795 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly, the 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 

(DPOR) proposes to update its regulation to allow persons 

interested in the development of regulations to be 

accompanied by and represented by counsel or other 

representative. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Chapter 795 of the 2012 Acts of 

Assembly
1
 allows persons interested in the development of 

regulations to be accompanied by and represented by counsel 

or other representative. The main purpose of the public 

participation guidelines is to facilitate citizen participation in 

rulemaking. Allowing interested parties to be accompanied by 

and represented by counsel or other parties is beneficial to the 

rulemaking process. 

The proposed change updates the regulation to reflect the 

existing right of interested parties under the statute since 

2012. Thus, no significant economic impact is expected upon 

promulgation of this amendment other than improving the 

consistency between the statute and the regulation. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendment 

to DPOR's public participation guidelines potentially affects 

all citizens and entities in the Commonwealth who have an 

interest in its regulations. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendment 

does not disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. No impact on employment 

is expected upon promulgation of the proposed amendment.   

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No impact 

on the use and value of private property is expected. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendment would 

have the same effect as that discussed above on small 

businesses interested in the development of DPOR 

regulations. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendment does not adversely affect small 

businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect non-small businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect other entities. 

______________________________ 
1
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?121+ful+CHAP0795 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency concurs with the economic impact analysis prepared 

by the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 795 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly, the 

proposed amendment allows persons interested in the 

development of regulations to be accompanied by and 

represented by counsel or other representative. 

Part III  

Public Participation Procedures  

18VAC120-11-50. Public comment. 

A. In considering any nonemergency, nonexempt regulatory 

action, the agency shall afford interested persons an 

opportunity to (i) submit data, views, and arguments, either 

orally or in writing, to the agency and (ii) be accompanied by 

and represented by counsel or other representative. Such 

opportunity to comment shall include an online public 

comment forum on the Town Hall.  

1. To any requesting person, the agency shall provide 

copies of the statement of basis, purpose, substance, and 

issues; the economic impact analysis of the proposed or 

fast-track regulatory action; and the agency's response to 

public comments received.  

2. The agency may begin crafting a regulatory action prior 

to or during any opportunities it provides to the public to 

submit comments.  

B. The agency shall accept public comments in writing after 

the publication of a regulatory action in the Virginia Register 

as follows:  
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1. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of the notice of intended regulatory action 

(NOIRA).  

2. For a minimum of 60 calendar days following the 

publication of a proposed regulation.  

3. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of a reproposed regulation.  

4. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of a final adopted regulation.  

5. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of a fast-track regulation.  

6. For a minimum of 21 calendar days following the 

publication of a notice of periodic review.  

7. Not later than 21 calendar days following the publication 

of a petition for rulemaking.  

C. The agency may determine if any of the comment periods 

listed in subsection B of this section shall be extended.  

D. If the Governor finds that one or more changes with 

substantial impact have been made to a proposed regulation, 

he may require the agency to provide an additional 30 

calendar days to solicit additional public comment on the 

changes in accordance with § 2.2-4013 C of the Code of 

Virginia.  

E. The agency shall send a draft of the agency's summary 

description of public comment to all public commenters on 

the proposed regulation at least five days before final 

adoption of the regulation pursuant to § 2.2-4012 E of the 

Code of Virginia.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4691; Filed July 5, 2016, 10:00 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 19. PUBLIC SAFETY 

DEPARTMENT OF STATE POLICE 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of State Police is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 B 6 of the Code of Virginia, which 

exempts agency action relating to customary military, naval, 

or police functions. 

Title of Regulation: 19VAC30-70. Motor Vehicle Safety 

Inspection Rules and Regulations (amending 19VAC30-

70-2 through 19VAC30-70-7, 19VAC30-70-9 through 

19VAC30-70-20, 19VAC30-70-31 through 19VAC30-70-

210, 19VAC30-70-230, 19VAC30-70-240, 19VAC30-70-

270, 19VAC30-70-280, 19VAC30-70-300, 19VAC30-70-

310, 19VAC30-70-320, 19VAC30-70-340, 19VAC30-70-

350, 19VAC30-70-360, 19VAC30-70-380, 19VAC30-70-

400, 19VAC30-70-410, 19VAC30-70-440 through 

19VAC30-70-570, 19VAC30-70-590 through 19VAC30-

70-650, 19VAC30-70-670; repealing 19VAC30-70-70).  

Statutory Authority: § 46.2-1165 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 3, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Lt. Colonel Tracy Russillo, Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of State Police, P.O. Box 27472, 

Richmond, VA 23261, telephone (804) 674-4606, FAX (804) 

674-2936, or email tracy.russillo@vsp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This action updates the Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection 

Rules and Regulations by making technical corrections 

and other revisions to comply with changes in Virginia law 

since 2012. 

CHAPTER 70  

MOTOR VEHICLE SAFETY INSPECTION RULES AND 

REGULATIONS  

19VAC30-70-2. Corrective action procedures.  

These procedures are intended to establish an equitable and 

effective process for recognizing and correcting unacceptable 

work performances. When multiple offenses arise out of the 

same act or inspection, disciplinary action will be taken on 

the most serious offense. All classes of offenses will apply 

uniformly to the inspectors involved in the offenses and 

management alike, where it is revealed that management was 

involved in the matter or had knowledge of its occurrence.  

Unacceptable work performance shall be divided into four 

groups of offenses based on the seriousness as they pertain to 

vehicle safety.  

Specified disciplinary action for each class offense shall not 

be exceeded. However, if strong mitigating additional 

aggravating circumstances exist, the appropriate corrective 

action will be taken.  

19VAC30-70-3. Class I offenses.  

Class I offenses are unacceptable work performances less 

serious in nature, but which require correction in order to 

maintain an efficient and effective Official Motor Vehicle 

Inspection Program. A violation of any paragraph of the 

following sections of the Official Motor Vehicle Safety 

Inspection Manual and rules and agreements not covered in 

the Official Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection Manual or those 

disseminated by other means shall constitute a Class I 

offense, unless designated otherwise:  

19VAC30-70-10 A through D  

19VAC30-70-10 F through I  

19VAC30-70-10 K through O 

19VAC30-70-10 U 

19VAC30-70-20 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-30 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-40 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-50 in its entirety  
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19VAC30-70-60 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-70 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-80 B 3  

19VAC30-70-160 in its entirety (except subdivisions I 10 

and 11 g (2))  

19VAC30-70-170 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-200 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-290 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-310 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-330 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-360 D 4 e and f  

19VAC30-70-410 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-440 B  

19VAC30-70-530 in its entirety (except subdivisions H K 

10 i and K 11 g (2))  

19VAC30-70-540 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-570 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-660 in its entirety  

Disciplinary action for Class I offenses shall be:  

1st offense - Oral reprimand Verbal counseling - Recorded 

on Form SP-164.  

2nd offense - Oral reprimand by a supervisor - Recorded 

on Form SP-164.  

3rd 2nd offense - Written reprimand from the safety officer 

or his designee.  

4th 3rd offense - Suspension of not less than 15 nor or 

more than 30 days.  

Offenses shall be cumulative in nature and shall remain 

active for 24 months from date of offense.  

19VAC30-70-4. Class II offenses.  

Class II offenses shall be violations of any section of the 

Official Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection Manual considered 

very serious but the consequence of such violation or 

omission is not likely to be an imminent cause or contributing 

factor to a traffic crash or other vehicle related injury. A 

violation of the following sections of the Official Motor 

Vehicle Safety Inspection Manual shall constitute a Class II 

offense unless designated otherwise:  

19VAC30-70-150 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-180 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-210 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-230 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-240 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-250 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-260 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-270 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-280 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-300 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-320 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-360 A 7 and C 1 through C 13  

19VAC30-70-380 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-390 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-420 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-520 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-550 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-580 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-600 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-610 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-620 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-630 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-640 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-650 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-670 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-680 in its entirety  

Disciplinary action for a Class II offense shall be:  

1st Offense - Oral reprimand Verbal counseling - Recorded 

on Form SP-164 and confirmed by a supervisor.  

2nd Offense - Written reprimand from the safety officer or 

his designee.  

3rd Offense - Suspension of not less than 30 nor or more 

than 60 days.  

Offenses are cumulative in nature and shall remain active 

for a period of 24 months from date of offense.  

A Class II offense in combination with three Class I offenses 

shall be grounds for no less than a 30-day nor or more than a 

60-day suspension.  

19VAC30-70-5. Class III offenses.  

Class III offenses shall may be violations of those sections 

of the Official Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection Manual 

considered more severe in nature, and usually considered 

most critical from a safety or administrative viewpoint. They 

would consist of include the omission of checking or 

improper approval of an item so critical to the safe operation 

of a motor vehicle as to have the potential of being the 

imminent cause or factor of a motor vehicle crash. A violation 

of the following sections of the Official Motor Vehicle Safety 

Inspection Manual shall constitute a Class III offense unless 

designated otherwise:  

19VAC30-70-10 J, and P, P1, P2  

19VAC30-70-11 in its entirety 

19VAC30-70-80 in its entirety (except subdivision B 3)  

19VAC30-70-90 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-100 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-110 in its entirety  



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 25, 2016 

3319 

19VAC30-70-120 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-130 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-140 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-160 I 10 h and 11 f  

19VAC30-70-160 I 10 g and 11 g (2)  

19VAC30-70-190 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-220 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-340 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-350 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-360 A and B  

19VAC30-70-360 D 15 through D 22  

19VAC30-70-370 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-400 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-440 in its entirety (except subdivision B 2)  

19VAC30-70-450 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-460 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-470 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-480 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-490 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-500 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-510 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-530 H K 10 i and K 11 g (2)  

19VAC30-70-560 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-590 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-690 in its entirety 

Disciplinary action for a Class III offense shall be:  

1st offense - Written reprimand from the safety officer or 

his designee.  

2nd offense - Suspension for not less than 45 nor or more 

than 90 days.  

Offenses are cumulative in nature and will remain active for 

a period of 24 months from date of offense.  

A Class III offense in combination with two Class II 

offenses or three Class I offenses shall be grounds for no less 

than a 60-day nor or more than a 90-day suspension.  

19VAC30-70-6. Class IV offenses. 

Class IV offenses are those violations considered so 

critically important to the integrity and credibility of the 

Official Annual Motor Vehicle Inspection Program as to 

require immediate and severe disciplinary action. The 

following violations and actions shall be considered a Class 

IV offense: 

1. Loss of driver's license, with the exception of an 

administrative court-ordered suspension that does not 

exceed seven days. 

2. Obvious usage of either alcohol and/or drugs by an 

employee associated with the Annual Motor Vehicle 

Inspection Program. 

3. Loss of inspection stickers through neglect or 

subsequent violations of subsection K of 19VAC30-70-10.  

4. Improper use of inspection supplies such as placement 

on a vehicle that has not been inspected or failure to affix 

the inspection sticker to the vehicle in its proper location, 

after inspection. 

5. Falsifying inspection receipts or inspection records. 

6. Giving false information during an inspection complaint 

investigation. 

7. Performing either an inspection or inspections at a 

station without authority from the safety officer. 

8. The arrest of any person associated with the inspection 

program for a criminal offense or the institution of civil 

action of a nature that would tend to immediately reflect 

upon the integrity and reputation of the Department of 

State Police shall may be grounds for an immediate 

suspension upon until final court disposition. The 

conviction for such a criminal offense or a civil judgment 

or bankruptcy may result in a revocation of the station 

appointment. 

9. The use of profanity or verbal abuse directed at 

customers presenting their vehicles for inspection by 

inspectors, managers or business owners. 

10. Illegal use of inspection supplies such as stealing, 

selling, mailing or giving away, shall be grounds for 

revocation. 

11. Nonpayment of inspection fees. 

12. Conduct displayed by station owners and/or safety 

inspectors that may be rude or discourteous, or the use of 

profanity and/or verbal abuse directed at or towards Safety 

Division Personnel, may be grounds for revocation. 

13. Failure of any person connected with the inspection 

program to immediately notify their supervising trooper or 

Safety Division Area Office of an arrest for a criminal 

offense or the institution of civil action. 

14. Any misuse or falsification of the automated Motor 

Vehicle Inspection Program (MVIP) system through 

neglect or intentionally allowing an assigned password or 

Personal Identification Number (PIN) to be used by other 

persons. 

15. Willfully obtaining computer services without proper 

authority from the safety officer.  

16. Failure to adequately explain and differentiate, both 

orally and in writing, to customers what repairs are 

necessary to pass the safety inspection and those repairs 

that are only recommended. Each station shall explicitly 

(not fine print) convey to each customer when his vehicle 

will be examined beyond the parameters of the state 
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inspection and empower the customer with the ability to 

decline this service. 

Disciplinary action for a Class IV offense shall be 

immediate suspension or revocation. A suspension shall not 

be less than 90 days nor or more than six months. A 

revocation shall not be less than one year nor or more than 

three years. Offenses are cumulative in nature and will remain 

active for a period of 24 months from the date of the offense. 

For a subsequent violation within 24 months, the suspension 

shall not be less than six months nor or more than one year. 

In the case of the loss of the driver's license, the suspension 

shall remain in effect until the driver's license is reinstated 

and consideration for reinstatement of inspection privileges 

will be made at that time. 

In cases concerning nonpayment of fees when the inspection 

station has been given 15 days to reply to their final notice, 

the suspension of the affected inspection station shall remain 

in effect until all inspection fees are paid. Consideration for 

reinstatement of inspection privileges will be made when all 

fees are paid. Furthermore, stations that have not paid their 

processing fee after the 15-day period will not be issued any 

additional inspection supplies. Supply orders may resume 

when the inspection fee is paid and the station has been 

reinstated to an active status. 

A Class IV offense in combination with three Class I 

offenses, two Class II offenses, or one Class III offense shall 

be grounds for no less than a 90-day nor or more than a six-

month suspension. 

19VAC30-70-7. General information.  

All suspension or revocation decisions may be appealed. 

The request must be made in writing to the safety officer 

within 15 calendar days of receiving the official notice of 

suspension or revocation.  

Any violation under any class of offenses requiring a third 

suspension within a 24-month period shall be grounds for a 

revocation. The suspension or revocation period for a 

subsequent violation requiring suspension or revocation under 

any class of offenses within a 24-month period shall be twice 

that of a previous suspension or revocation. 

For suspension periods of less than six months, inspection 

stations and safety inspectors will not be required to file an 

application for reinstatement. 

For suspension periods of six months or more, or revocation 

periods of one to three years, inspection stations must 

complete the process as set forth for original appointment. 

Reapplications may be made 60 days prior to the suspension 

expiration. Suspended safety inspectors shall contact the 

nearest Safety Division Area Office or supervising trooper to 

request reinstatement. 

Inspection stations who that have their privilege to perform 

inspections revoked must complete the application process as 

set forth for original appointments after the expiration of the 

period of revocation. Safety inspectors who have their 

privilege to perform inspections revoked must complete the 

application process for initial certification, after the expiration 

of the period of revocation. 

If during the course of an official investigation, station 

management voluntarily surrenders the station's inspection 

supplies, particularly after being cautioned not to do so, the 

station shall not be eligible for reinstatement for a period of 

90 days. This voluntary action shall not be the subject of an 

appeal. 

If during the course of an official investigation, an inspector 

voluntarily surrenders his inspector license, particularly after 

being cautioned not to do so, the inspector shall not be 

eligible for reinstatement for a period of 90 days. This 

voluntary action shall not be the subject of an appeal. 

19VAC30-70-9. Examinations for inspector's license. 

A. The Department of State Police administers the written 

examination for original certification for all inspectors. With 

few exceptions, recertifications are done at the normal testing 

sites along with original certification tests. 

B. In order for an individual to become a certified safety 

inspector, the following actions shall be followed: 

1. The person shall contact his assigned Safety Division 

trooper or the local Safety Division Area Office to obtain 

the following: 

a. Mechanics Certification Application, Form SP-170B; 

b. Criminal History Record Request, Form SP-167; and 

c. Mechanics Application Worksheet. 

2. The supervising trooper or Safety Division office 

personnel should ask some preliminary questions to ensure 

the applicant is qualified to apply. 

3. The applicant shall complete (i) Form SP-170B in its 

entirety and have it notarized on the back; (ii) Form SP-

167, to only include sections "Name Information To Be 

Searched" and "Affidavit For Release of Information," and 

have it notarized; and complete (iii) the worksheet with 

two character references, two mechanical references, 

places of employment, and qualified automotive training or 

schools completed.  

4. The applicant shall then take the completed application 

forms to the State Police testing site and present it to the 

trooper conducting the written examination. Applicants 

arriving after the designated testing time will not be 

eligible to participate in the written examination. 

5. The trooper will verify the notarizations and check the 

driver's license for validity and identification of the 

applicant. If the applicant's driver's license is found to be 

expired, suspended or revoked, the applicant will be 

advised and the application will be destroyed. The 

applicant may reapply once the driver's license has been 

reissued or reinstated. 

6. If the applicant successfully completes the test, the 

trooper will note at the end of Section I on the Form SP-
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170B the word "Passed" and the date. The trooper will sign 

the test and send it to Safety Division Headquarters, 

Mechanics File Section, for further processing and 

investigation. 

7. The Class A examination will consist of five sections: 

general information, brakes, suspension, lights, and glass. 

Each section will contain 20 questions. A minimum score 

of 75% must be attained for each section and for the 

practical examination. The Class B and C examinations 

will consist of 50 questions each. A minimum score of 74 

must be attained on the written and practical examination. 

8. If the applicant fails the test, it will be noted at the end 

of Section Ion the Form SP-170B with the word "Failed" 

and the date. 

9. If the applicant desires to test again for the written or 

practical test, he may do so after 30 days. If the applicant is 

again unsuccessful in passing the examination or 

examinations, the trooper shall take the application forms 

and forward them to Safety Division Headquarters, 

Mechanics File Section. The applicant may contact his 

assigned Safety Division trooper or the local Safety 

Division Area Office after six months to reapply. 

C. Recertification. 

1. Safety inspectors desiring to renew their inspector's 

license must participate in the recertification written 

examination. Inspectors arriving after the designated 

testing time will not be eligible to participate in the written 

examination. 

2. All safety inspectors will be required to satisfactorily 

pass the appropriate examination for the license the 

inspector holds. 

3. A safety inspector will not be permitted to perform 

inspections after the expiration date of his inspector's 

license. 

4. A safety inspector's license shall be valid for a period of 

three years. 

5. All safety inspectors' licenses will display an inspector's 

VSP number and will no longer display the social security 

number. The inspector's VSP number will be written on the 

inspection sticker receipt or displayed on the automated 

MVIP receipt. 

6. Safety inspector testing sites will no longer be included 

on an inspection bulletin. Testing site information will be 

updated in the computer system, so that the usual letters 

going to inspectors to remind them of their upcoming 

recertification will contain the updated information. All 

Safety Division Area Offices will also have the updated 

information. 

7. If the safety inspector has any questions about the 

testing sites, the safety inspector should contact the Safety 

Division Area Office closest to him. The office numbers 

are: 

Richmond 804-743-2217 

Culpeper 540-829-7414 

Amherst 434-946-7676 

Wytheville 276-228-6220 

Suffolk 757-925-2432 

Salem 540-387-5437 

Fairfax 703-803-2622  

D. Reinstatement of safety inspector licenses following a 

period of suspension or revocation. 

1. Once a safety inspector's license has been suspended, 

regardless of the cause for suspension, no application Form 

SP-170B is required for reinstatement; however, Form SP-

170D and Form SP-167 must be completed. 

2. If the inspector is suspended for less than six months, 

the safety inspector's license will be held at the local Safety 

Division Area Office and returned upon the expiration of 

the suspension period. A check will be made with DMV 

prior to reinstatement. 

3. If the inspector's license has been suspended for six 

months or more, he may request reinstatement 60 days 

prior to the suspension expiration by contacting the 

supervising trooper. A check will be made by the 

supervising trooper with DMV and the Central Criminal 

Records Exchange. A credit report shall also be reviewed 

by the supervising trooper prior to reinstatement of the 

inspector. The inspector's license will be returned after the 

suspension expiration if still valid. 

4. If the suspended inspector's license expires during the 

suspension period, the inspector may complete the process 

for inspector recertification as set forth in this section. The 

trooper administering the test will retain all documentation. 

The inspector's license will be returned at the end of the 

suspension period and the appropriate documents 

forwarded to the Safety Division. 

5. Inspectors whose safety inspector's licenses have been 

revoked must complete the application process for initial 

certification as set forth in this section. 

E. Vo-Tech students who successfully complete the 

Vocational Automotive Mechanics Course and who are 

expected to graduate from the program with the required 

1,080 hours, and meet the requirements of the Department of 

State Police, will be certified as safety inspectors. 

1. The Vo-Tech instructor will contact his assigned Safety 

Division trooper or the local Safety Division Area Office 

by March 15 of each year. The written examination will be 

scheduled for students who are at least 18 years of age or 

who will be at least 18 years of age by May 31 of that year. 

2. The Safety Division troopers responsible for 

administering the written examinations at the Vo-Tech 

Centers will forward sufficient application Form SP-170B 

for each student to complete prior to the testing date. A 

Criminal History Record Request (Form SP-167) if the 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 25, 2016 

3322 

student is at least 18 years of age, must also be completed. 

The Safety Division trooper will indicate at the top of the 

Form SP-170B the name of the Vo-Tech school where the 

examination was given. 

3. The trooper will verify the notarizations and check the 

driver's license for validity and identification of the 

applicant. If the applicant's driver's license is found to be 

expired, suspended or revoked, the applicant will be 

advised and the application will be destroyed. The 

applicant may re-apply once the driver's license has been 

reissued or reinstated. 

4. If the applicant successfully completes the written 

examination, the trooper will note at the end of Section I 

on the Form SP-170B the word "Passed" and the date. The 

trooper will sign the test and forward it to Safety Division 

Headquarters, Mechanics File Section, for further 

processing and investigation. Due to the age of these 

students, this should be done in a minimal amount of time. 

5. If the applicant fails the test, it will be noted at the end 

of Section I on the Form SP-170B with the word "Failed" 

and the date. 

a. The Safety Division trooper will only administer one 

written examination at the Vo-Tech Center. Those 

students who fail the first written examination may retest, 

but not sooner than 30 days from the date of the last 

written examination. Those students who fail the first 

written examination will keep the Form SP-170B in their 

possession and present it to the Safety Division trooper at 

the test site prior to taking the second written 

examination. 

b. The second written examination will not be 

administered to the students prior to June 15 of that the 

end of the school year. Prior to taking the second written 

examination, the student shall have completed the 

Vocational Automotive Mechanics Course and must be 

employed at an Official Inspection Station. These 

students will not be required to have completed the one 

year of practical experience as an automotive mechanic. 

c. Students who do not pass the initial examination 

should visit a testing site in their area to take a second 

written examination. 

d. c. For those students who pass the second written 

examination, the Safety Division trooper will forward the 

student's Form SP-170B to the Safety Division for 

further processing and investigation. Those students who 

successfully pass all phases for original certification will 

then be issued a temporary inspector license by the 

Safety Division trooper. 

e. d. Students failing the second written examination will 

not be allowed to test again for six months and must 

complete the application process as set forth for original 

certification. 

6. The written examination will consist of five sections: 

general information, brakes, suspension, lights, and glass. 

Each section will contain 20 questions. A minimum score 

of 75% must be attained for each section. 

7. Those students who successfully complete all phases of 

the written examination and background checks will then 

be administered a practical examination. The Vo-Tech 

instructor who holds a valid Class-A Class A Safety 

Inspector's License will administer the practical "Class A" 

examination to each student who is expected to graduate 

from the program. The Safety Division trooper should be 

on hand to observe at least some of the practical 

examinations administered by the Vo-Tech instructor to 

ensure that testing is administered according to Safety 

Division regulations. 

8. Those students who successfully complete all phases for 

original certification by May 31 will be issued a temporary 

inspector license by the Safety Division trooper. The 

Safety Division trooper will then forward the completed 

temporary inspector license to the Safety Division 

Headquarters, Mechanics File Section.  

a. The Safety Division will mail a permanent inspector's 

license to the student, provided he is at least 18 years of 

age after June 15 by May 31 of that year. 

b. The Vo-Tech instructor will be required to contact the 

Safety Division trooper prior to June 15 of that the end of 

the school year if any student fails to complete the 

Vocational Automotive Mechanics Course. 

c. Any student who fails to complete the Vocational 

Automotive Mechanics Course will not be licensed as a 

certified safety inspector and will be required to complete 

the application process as set forth for original 

certification. 

9. Those students who will be at least 18 years of age after 

May 31 of that year and have successfully completed the 

Vocational Automotive Mechanics Course must contact 

the Safety Division trooper assigned to the inspection 

station where they are employed and complete the 

application process as set forth for original certification. 

These students will not be required to have completed the 

one year of practical experience as an automotive 

mechanic. 

19VAC30-70-9.1. Official inspection station appointment. 

A. These procedures are applicable to the application 

process for initial appointment, reclassification of 

appointment, change in ownership, change in name, and 

reinstatement of the appointment for an official inspection 

station following a period of suspension or revocation. 

For investigations involving changes to the original report, 

only those areas of inquiry which have changed need to be 

reported.  

For changes in station name, location, and classification 

only, a narrative report is not required. These requests may be 
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reported on the Form SP-164. This report should include 

information pertinent to the change. A statement should be 

included to report verification of information contained in the 

station's new application for appointment. 

1. Any garage or other facility that routinely performs 

motor vehicle, motorcycle, or trailer repairs may apply to 

the Department of State Police in writing for appointment 

as an Official Safety Inspection Station. 

a. The Department of State Police will forward an 

application package to the applicant. 

b. The application form or forms are to be completed and 

returned to the Department of State Police for processing. 

c. The application shall include the names, addresses, 

email addresses, telephone numbers, dates of birth, and 

social security numbers for the applicant and each person 

who will supervise or otherwise participate in the 

program. Each person will also be required to execute an 

Authorization for Release of Information Form and a 

Criminal History Record Request (Form SP-167). When 

a corporation with other established inspection stations is 

applying for an additional location, it shall not be 

necessary for the corporate officers to complete the Form 

SP-167 or undergo the usual background investigation. In 

these situations, the Department of State Police is only 

concerned with the personnel who will be responsible for 

handling and securing the safety inspection supplies.  

2. Each inspection station application will be reviewed and 

the applicant must meet the following criteria: 

a. The facility must have been in business at its present 

location for a minimum of six months. 

(1) This requirement will not apply to a change in 

location for a previously appointed station or a change in 

ownership which does not affect the station's ability to 

perform safety inspections. 

(2) This requirement will not apply to a repair garage that 

is an established business and is expanding its 

mechanical convenience to the general public by the 

addition of other repair locations. 

(3) This requirement will not apply to a business license 

as a franchised dealer of new vehicles. 

b. The facility must perform motor vehicle, motorcycle, 

or trailer repairs routinely. 

c. The station must have on hand or be willing to 

purchase the necessary equipment as identified by the 

Department of State Police for performing safety 

inspections.  

d. The station must employ or be willing to employ at 

least one full time safety inspector with the appropriate 

license for the desired station's classification. 

e. The facility's physical plant must meet the specific 

standards for the station classification for which the 

appointment is required. 

3. Each applicant station must undergo a background 

investigation to determine if the business and associated 

personnel meet the following minimum criteria: 

a. A review of the history of management and all persons 

employed who will participate in the inspection program 

must reflect general compliance with all federal, state, 

and local laws. 

b. The character, attitude, knowledge of safety inspection 

requirements, mechanical ability, and experience of each 

individual who will perform or supervise safety 

inspections must be satisfactory. 

c. The applicant and all participants must be familiar with 

and agree to comply with the Official Motor Vehicle 

Inspection Manual. Each vehicle presented for safety 

inspection must be inspected in strict compliance with 

the Code of Virginia and the Official Motor Vehicle 

Inspection Manual.  

d. The business establishment must be financially stable. 

Its future existence should not be dependent upon 

appointment as an inspection station. The applicant and 

all persons to be associated with the inspection program 

must be in compliance with any judgment order or 

meeting all financial obligations, or both.  The applicant 

and all persons to be associated with the inspection 

program must be in good financial standing for a period 

of at least one year. 

4. Each business must agree to provide the necessary 

space, equipment, and personnel to conduct inspections as 

required by the Department of State Police. Facilities and 

equipment will be maintained in a manner satisfactory to 

the superintendent. All safety inspectors will read and be 

thoroughly familiar with the instructions furnished for 

Official Inspection Stations and agree to abide by these 

instructions and to carefully inspect every motor vehicle, 

trailer, and semi-trailer presented for inspection as required 

by the Official Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection Manual. 

Businesses must operate inspection stations in strict 

accordance with the Code of Virginia and the Official 

Motor Vehicle Inspection Manual. The appointment of an 

inspection station may be canceled at any time by the 

superintendent and will be automatically canceled if any 

change in address, name, or ownership is made without 

proper notification. 

5. Any applicant whose application is rejected or 

withdrawn may not reapply sooner than six months from 

the date he is notified of the rejection of their application 

or from the date the application is withdrawn. 

6. Each business to be appointed will be assigned one of 11 

classifications based upon the physical plant specifications 

or other criteria as follows: 

a. Unlimited: The inspection lane shall be level or on the 

same plane and in good condition for 60 feet. The front 

portion of the lane shall be level or on the same plane for 
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a minimum of 40 feet. The entrance shall be at least 13-

1/2 feet in height and no less than nine feet in width. 

(Space should be adequate to allow a tractor truck towing 

a 53-foot trailer access to the inspection lane.) 

b. Small exemption: The inspection lane shall be level or 

on the same plane for 40 feet. The entrance opening shall 

be at least 10 feet in height, eight feet in width, and 

adequate to accommodate vehicles 40 feet in length. Any 

vehicle exceeding 10 feet in height may be inspected if 

the building entrance will allow such vehicle to 

completely enter the designated inspection lane. 

c. Large exemption: The inspection lane shall be level or 

on the same plane and in good condition for 60 feet. The 

front portion of the lane shall be level or on the same 

plane for a minimum of 40 feet. The entrance shall be at 

least 13-1/2 feet in height and no less than nine feet in 

width. (Space should be adequate to allow a tractor truck 

towing a 53-foot trailer access to the inspection lane.) 

This classification is required to inspect only vehicles 

with a GVWR exceeding 10,000 pounds. 

d. Motorcycle: The inspection lane shall be level or on 

the same plane. The entrance shall be adequate to 

accommodate the motorcycle and the operator. 

e. Unlimited trailer: The inspection lane shall be 

reasonably level and in good condition for 60 feet. The 

entrance shall be at least 13-1/2 feet in height and no less 

than nine feet in width. This classification is required to 

inspect all trailers. 

f. Small trailer exemption: The inspection lane shall be 

reasonably level and in good condition for 40 feet. The 

entrance shall be at least 10 feet in height and adequate to 

accommodate trailers 40 feet in length. This 

classification is required to inspect only those trailers not 

exceeding 40 feet in length or 10 feet in height measured 

to the highest part of the trailer but not including racks, 

air conditioners, antennas, etc. 

g. Large trailer exemption: The inspection lane shall be 

reasonably level and in good condition for 60 feet. The 

entrance shall be at least 13-1/2 feet in height and 

adequate to accommodate all legal size trailers. This 

classification is required to inspect only property-

carrying trailers exceeding 10 feet in height or 40 feet in 

length. 

h. Safety and emissions: The inspection lane shall be 

level or on the same plane. The lane must accommodate 

most passenger cars and light trucks. The emissions 

equipment must be placed in the lane at a location to 

allow the inspected vehicle to be positioned with all four 

wheels on the floor or on an above-ground ramp on a 

plane to the floor to accommodate headlight aiming and 

other required inspection procedures. Any above-ground 

structure must be constructed so as to permit proper 

steering, suspension, brake, and undercarriage inspection 

as outlined in the Official Motor Vehicle Safety 

Inspection Manual. A list of local inspection stations that 

can accommodate vehicles that cannot be safety 

inspected due to the pretenses of emissions equipment 

must be maintained and available for customers. A 

"bottle" jack or other appropriate lifting equipment may 

be used for safety inspection on above-ground structures.  

i. Private station: The inspection lane shall be level or on 

the same plane. The entrance and size must be adequate 

to accommodate any vehicle in the fleet. An applicant 

who owns and operates less than 20 vehicles will not be 

considered. 

j. Private station (fleet service contractor): The inspection 

lane shall be level or on the same plane. The entrance and 

size must be adequate to accommodate any vehicle in the 

fleet to be inspected. This classification will permit the 

inspection of all vehicles that the applicant has a written 

agreement to service and repair. An applicant who does 

not have at least six written agreements to service private 

fleets with at least five vehicles in each fleet or at least 

one written agreement to service a private fleet with at 

least 30 vehicles in the fleet will not be considered for 

this type of appointment. Vehicles not covered by a 

written agreement for service, and repair other than the 

vehicles owned by the applicant's company or 

corporation, shall not be inspected by a garage having 

this type of classification. 

k. Private station (government): The inspection lane shall 

be level or on the same plane. The entrance and size must 

be adequate to accommodate any vehicle in the fleet to 

be inspected. This classification will permit the 

inspection of all vehicles in the government entity's fleet, 

the fleet of any volunteer or paid fire department, or any 

other unit or agency of the government structure having a 

written agreement with such governmental entity for 

repair and/or inspection service. An applicant for this 

classification must own or have a written agreement to 

inspect 30 or more vehicles. Vehicles not owned by or 

covered by a written agreement shall not be inspected by 

a garage having this type of classification.  

7. Classifications listed in subdivisions a through h of this 

subsection must be open to the public and have at least one 

safety inspector available to perform inspections during 

normal business hours as set forth in 19VAC30-70-10. 

8. Private inspection station classifications may be 

assigned to businesses or governmental entities with fixed 

garage or repair facilities operating or contracting with 

vehicle fleets.  

B. A representative of any official inspection station may 

apply to the Department of State Police in writing to request a 

change of the station's status.  

1. An application form or forms will be forwarded to the 

applicant. 
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2. The applicant will complete the application form or 

forms and contact the Department of State Police in 

keeping with the application instructions. Applications will 

include all data as set forth in this section. 

3. A Safety Division trooper will be assigned to complete 

the appropriate investigation to affect the change. A 

change in status investigation will include: 

(1) A review of the existing station file. 

(2) An update of the file to include personnel, facility, or 

other significant changes. Criteria for appointment and 

background investigation procedures for a change in 

status will be in keeping with this section. 

(3) Official inspection stations will be permitted to 

continue to perform safety inspections during a change of 

ownership investigation provided at least one safety 

inspector is retained from the prior owner. 

(4) If disqualifying criteria is revealed, the station's 

appointment shall be canceled until final disposition of 

the application is made or until issues of disqualifying 

criteria are resolved.  

C. Once an official inspection station has been suspended, 

regardless of the cause for the suspension, management may 

request reinstatement up to 60 days prior to the expiration of 

the suspension period. Stations whose appointments are 

revoked may complete the application process as set forth for 

original appointments after the expiration of the period of 

revocation. 

1. The applicant station must submit a letter to Safety 

Division Headquarters (Attention: Station Files) requesting 

reinstatement. 

2. An application package will be forwarded to the 

applicant. 

3. The completed application forms are to be returned to 

Safety Division Headquarters (Attention: Station Files). 

4. After review, the application package is forwarded to the 

appropriate Safety Division Area Office for investigation. 

a. The trooper assigned to the investigation will compare 

the information in the new application package to the 

information in the existing files. 

b. The investigation will focus on any changes or 

inconsistencies. 

c. The applicant station must meet all criteria for 

appointment as set forth in this section. 

d. Any applicant whose application for reinstatement is 

rejected or withdrawn may not reapply sooner than six 

months from the date he is notified of the rejection or 

withdrawal of the application. 

D. Failure to comply with the provisions of this section shall 

be grounds for termination of the application process or 

cancellation of the official inspection station's appointment. 

An applicant having an application terminated or an official 

inspection station having an appointment canceled for 

noncompliance may not reapply for a period of one year.  

Part II  

Inspection Requirements  

19VAC30-70-10. Official inspection station requirements. 

A. Official inspection stations, except private appointments, 

shall be open at least eight hours of each normal business day, 

and shall be able to perform inspections 12 months 

throughout the year, except during illness of limited duration 

or normal vacation. 

1. Normal business hours, Monday through Friday, are 

defined as an eight-hour period of time between 8 a.m. and 

6 p.m. 

2. Stations are not prohibited from performing inspections 

at times other than during normal business hours. 

3. A station that advertises inspections beyond normal 

business hours shall be able to perform such inspections. 

4. If a station desires to maintain business hours that are 

different from those defined in this section, written 

permission must be obtained from the safety officer and a 

sign setting forth the inspection hours must be posted 

conspicuously at the station where it can be observed by a 

person desiring to have a vehicle inspected. 

B. At least one full time safety inspector to perform 

inspections and one inspection lane meeting the minimum 

requirements shall be available for inspection at all times 

during the normal business day. All inspections must be made 

only at the locations and in the inspection lane approved by 

the Department of State Police. 

The designated inspection areas, including any location 

where customers are permitted to enter when submitting 

vehicles for inspection, must be kept clean, and free from 

excessive dirt, grease, and loose materials. If requested, 

customers presenting vehicles for inspection shall be allowed 

to observe the inspection process from a safe location 

designated by the station. 

C. Inspection station facilities must be properly maintained 

and must present a businesslike appearance to the general 

public. Property adjacent to the inspection station that is 

owned or controlled by the station must be free of debris, 

litter, used parts and junk vehicles. Vehicles properly 

contained within fenced storage areas shall be deemed to 

comply with this requirement. 

D. Inspections shall be performed on a first-come, first-

served basis. Motorists shall not be required to make an 

appointment to obtain an inspection, except that appointments 

required by § 46.2-1158.01 of the Code of Virginia shall be 

made. Businesses that take in motorists' vehicles for 

inspection at the beginning of the work day shall not be 

required to stop the work already taken in to provide an 

inspection for a drive-in motorist, provided inspections are 

actually being performed at the time and will continue 

through the day. 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 25, 2016 

3326 

A station may inquire about accepting safety inspections by 

appointment. If the requirements are met, then the official 

inspection station may, in addition to having one lane for the 

first-come, first-served customers, also have a second 

inspection lane designated for customers who have made 

appointments for a designated time slot. An additional 

certified safety inspector shall be available to perform those 

inspections that are made by an appointment. If interested, 

stations should first contact their supervising trooper for 

specific requirements and guidelines. 

E. Safety inspectors, managers who supervise inspection 

activities, and business owners, through participation in the 

Official Motor Vehicle Inspection Program, are 

representatives of the Department of State Police and should 

conduct themselves in a manner to avoid controversy in 

dealing with customers presenting vehicles for inspection. 

The use of profanity or verbal abuse directed at customers 

presenting their vehicles for inspection will be grounds for 

suspension from participation in the inspection program and 

will be considered a Class IV offense as set forth in 

19VAC30-70-6. 

Controversy that cannot be calmly resolved by the safety 

inspector, managers, and owners should be referred to the 

supervising trooper for handling. 

F. The "Certificate of Appointment" must be framed under 

glass or clear plastic and posted in the customer waiting area 

where it can be observed and read by a person submitting a 

vehicle for inspection. 

Inspection stations must have garage liability insurance in 

the amount of at least $500,000 with an approved surplus 

lines carrier or insurance company licensed to write such 

insurance in this Commonwealth. This requirement shall not 

apply to inspection stations that only inspect their company-

owned, government-owned, or leased vehicles. 

G. The required "Official Inspection Procedure" sheet and 

the "Direct Inquiries" sheet furnished to each station must 

both be framed under glass or clear plastic and posted 

conspicuously in the customer waiting area where they can be 

observed and read by a person submitting a vehicle for 

inspection. 

H. The poster designating the station as an official 

inspection station shall be posted in a prominent location, 

outside or visible outside the station, to alert passersby that 

inspection services are available. Private inspection stations 

shall not display an outside poster. 

I. Each official inspection station shall display a list with the 

name(s) and license expiration date of all employees licensed 

to inspect at that station, adjacent to the certificate of 

appointment. The Official Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection 

Manual will be kept at or near the point of inspection for 

ready reference. 

J. Important -- Any change in name, ownership or location 

of any official inspection station cancels the appointment of 

that station and the Department of State Police must be 

notified immediately. The department shall be notified when 

an official inspection station discontinues operation. 

K. All inspection supplies, inspection binders and manual, 

unused stickers, duplicates of certificates issued, bulletins and 

other forms are the property of the Department of State Police 

and must be safeguarded against loss. 

L. Inspection supplies issued to an inspection station can be 

used only by that station and are not to be loaned or reissued 

to any other station with the exception of inserts. 

1. Stations must maintain a sufficient supply of approval 

stickers, trailer/motorcycle decals trailer and motorcycle 

approval stickers, rejection stickers and inserts. When 

reordering supplies, station owners/managers shall request 

sufficient supplies to sustain their business for at least six 

months. However, it is realized that a few stations will not 

be able to comply with the six-month requirement since 

there is a maximum of 100 books per order limit. Also, 

when ordering supplies, the following information should 

be considered so that the station does not order an 

excessive amount of supplies: each book of approval 

stickers and trailer/motorcycle decals contains 25 

stickers/decals stickers, the rejection book contains 50 

stickers, the monthly month inserts are packaged in strips 

of 50 each, and trailer/motorcycle and trailer and 

motorcycle decals are five per strip. In December of each 

year, a supply of yearly year inserts will be shipped to each 

station based on their previous year's usage. In November, 

each station shall check its stock of monthly month inserts 

and order what is needed for the months of January 

through June. In May, the same should be done for the 

months of July through December. 

2. Inspection stations that exhaust their supply of approval 

stickers, trailer and motorcycle approval stickers, rejection 

stickers, and inserts rejection stickers, or trailer/motorcycle 

decals, shall immediately stop performing new inspections 

and contact their supervising trooper or the nearest Safety 

Division Area Office. 

M. All losses of stickers must be reported immediately to 

the supervising inspection trooper or the nearest Safety 

Division Area Office or supervising inspection trooper. 

N. Every precaution against the loss of stickers must be 

taken. If the loss occurs through carelessness or neglect, a 

suspension of the station may result. 

O. Manuals, bulletins, other regulations and lists of 

approved equipment must be available at all times for 

reference. Revisions to the inspection manual must be 

inserted in the manual at the proper location promptly after 

being received by the inspection station. Bulletins of 

temporary interest and pages of bulletins containing the 

synopsis of manual revisions will be retained in the front of 

each station's inspection manual for 24 months. Each safety 

inspector shall review the material contained in each 

inspection bulletin and manual revision within 15 days of its 
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receipt. The safety inspector shall certify that the revisions 

have been reviewed by signing his name and placing the date 

reviewed by the signature on the bottom or reverse side of the 

bulletin or manual revision cover sheet. Station management 

shall be responsible to see that each safety inspector is 

familiar with all bulletins and manual revisions and shall be 

required to furnish evidence to the department that all 

bulletins and manual revisions have been reviewed by each 

licensed inspector. 

A copy of the diagram drawn by the investigating trooper, 

showing the approved inspection lane or lanes will be 

inserted in a plastic page protector and inserted as the last 

page of the official inspection manual at each official 

inspection station. The name of the station and the date will 

be inserted in the top right corner. 

P. Private appointment may be made of company stations or 

government stations that own and operate a minimum of 20 

vehicles and they may inspect only company-owned or 

government-owned vehicles respectively. When authorized 

by the department, they may inspect vehicles of a wholly-

owned subsidiary or leased vehicles. 

1. A private station may perform inspections during each 

month of the year or may elect to inspect only during 

certain designated months. 

2. A private station not electing to inspect vehicles every 

month of the year that finds it necessary to inspect a 

vehicle during a month other than those selected for 

inspection may issue a sticker to the vehicle from the 

nearest past inspection month. 

Q. All official inspection station owners, managers, and 

certified safety inspectors shall comply with the Virginia 

inspection laws and the inspection rules and regulations and 

will adhere to all instructions given by the supervising trooper 

or the Safety Division. Reports of violations will be 

investigated and, if found to be valid, may result in the 

suspension of the station, suspension of the inspector, 

possible court action, or other appropriate action, or any 

combination of these actions. Repeated violations or serious 

violations may result in a revocation of the station 

appointment by the superintendent. 

R. The arrest of any person associated with the inspection 

program for a criminal offense of a nature that would tend to 

immediately reflect upon the integrity and reputation of the 

Department of State Police shall may be grounds for an 

immediate suspension, and the conviction for such an offense 

may result in a revocation of the station's appointment. 

S. When a station has been suspended or revoked, it must 

release to an employee of the Department of State Police all 

inspection supplies, posters, and papers including the 

certificate of appointment. Failure to do so is a violation of § 

46.2-1172 of the Code of Virginia. 

T. The authority of the superintendent to suspend the 

designation or appointment of an official inspection station as 

provided in § 46.2-1163 of the Code of Virginia, or to 

suspend the certification of an inspector designated to 

perform inspections at an official inspection station, and, in 

keeping with the provisions of § 46.2-1166 of the Code of 

Virginia, is hereby delegated to any of the following 

supervisory ranks of the Department of State Police: 

Lieutenant Colonel, Major, Captain, Lieutenant, First 

Sergeant, and Sergeant. 

U. Each station must purchase and keep in proper operating 

condition the following equipment: computer, printer, internet 

connection, paper hole punch, black ball point pen or pens or 

black marker or markers, sticker scraper with replacement 

razor blades, tire tread depth gauge, amp meter, headlight and 

auxiliary lamp adjustment tools, 12" ruler, 25' measuring 

tape, torque wrench or torque sticks, brake 

pads/shoes/disc/drum measuring device, dial indicator, 

micrometer, pry bars, roller jack (at least 4-ton), and an 

approved type optical headlight aiming device. Each station 

that requests an additional inspection lane that is not in close 

proximity to the originally approved inspection lane must 

purchase an additional approved headlight machine for each 

lane that meets the minimum requirements. Stations are 

required to have one of the following headlight aiming 

devices effective January 1, 2013: the Hopkins Vision1, 

Hopkins Vision 100, American Aimers Vision 100, American 

Aimers Vision 2 Pro, or the Symtech (former L.E.T.) HBA-5, 

PLA-11, and PLA-12.  This shall not apply to "trailer-only" 

inspection stations.  

19VAC30-70-11. Automated Motor Vehicle Inspection 

Program (MVIP). 

A. Effective March 1, 2011, the automated Motor Vehicle 

Inspection Program (MVIP) was implemented. The MVIP 

system will enable the Safety Division and inspection stations 

to more efficiently record and retain data, thereby enhancing 

the overall operation of the program.  

B. Passwords or personal identification numbers (PINs) 

shall only be used by the person to whom they were assigned. 

C. Automated stations shall order all supplies via the MVIP 

system. Stations will ensure supplies are ordered no more 

than once per month.  

D. Once a certified safety inspector completes an inspection, 

he will be required to immediately enter the inspection 

information via the MVIP system.  

E. All stations and inspectors are required to verify the 

accuracy of the information entered through the MVIP system 

to include: 

1. One copy of the official safety inspection 

approval/rejection receipt shall be printed on 8-1/2 by 11 

inch white paper and given to the customer or placed in the 

vehicle. The size of the print on the receipt shall not be 

reduced.  

2. The printed official inspection receipt number shall 

correspond with the issued decal.  
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3. The complete vehicle identification number (VIN) shall 

be verified before submitting the inspection through the 

MVIP system and printing the official inspection receipt.  

F. When a station has a voided decal and entered it as a 

void, it must be entered into MVIP by the inspector. Once 

entered, the receipt shall be printed, attached to the decal, and 

retained until the supervising trooper's next visit. The 

supervising trooper will be responsible for destroying the 

voided sticker and a Form SP-164 will not be required. 

G. Before a completed book of receipts is destroyed Once a 

book of stickers is completed, station management shall 

ensure that all decals are accounted for and all information 

has been entered correctly into the MVIP system. Completed 

books shall be retained by the station for a period of six 

months. At the end of the six month period, used receipts 

shall be destroyed by burning or shredding.  

19VAC30-70-20. General inspection requirements.  

A. Each Official Inspection Station must inspect every 

vehicle presented for inspection as prescribed by Department 

regulations this chapter, either approving or rejecting it. 

Inspections will not be performed unless requested.  

1. Dealers' vehicles shall be inspected according to these 

standards. The dealer's name rather than the license 

number shall be shown on the inspection receipt rear of the 

approval/rejection sticker. 

2. Out-of-state vehicles may be inspected, but shall not be 

approved unless they meet the requirements of the Official 

Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection Manual.  

3. When a vehicle is presented for inspection the entire 

approval sticker, if any, on the vehicle must be removed 

before any inspection is begun (except a rejection sticker). 

After removing the inspection sticker, the safety inspector 

who is to perform the inspection must drive the vehicle 

into an approved inspection lane unless the safety inspector 

is not qualified to operate the vehicle. During the operation 

of the vehicle, the safety inspector must make application 

of the service and parking brakes and check for conditions 

as set forth in the Service Brake Section of the Official 

Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection Manual applicable to the 

vehicle being inspected.  

WARNING: No razor blades or similar devices should 

be used to remove stickers from "Securiflex", "Anti-

Lacerative" or "Inner Shield" type windshield. These 

windshields are identified as AS-14. Any questions 

concerning removal should be directed to the nearest 

Safety Division Area Office.  

B. Each inspection shall be a complete, uninterrupted 

inspection and shall include a check of all applicable items in 

the Official Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection Manual. All 

repair tools and testing equipment required prior to a station's 

appointment shall be properly maintained and available for 

use during each inspection.  

C. The term "inspection" as herein used in this chapter shall 

not include repairs or adjustments. Repairs or adjustments 

necessary to bring the vehicle in conformity with these 

regulations may be made by agreement between the owner 

and such station or whatever repair shop the owner may 

select. When requested to do so by the person submitting a 

vehicle for inspection, any repairs or adjustments necessary to 

bring the vehicle into compliance with the inspection program 

rules and regulations shall be made by the inspection station 

performing the inspection. The inspection station 

management may utilize the option of subcontracting the 

repairs or adjustments provided the application filed for the 

station appointment reflected that such repairs or adjustments 

will be subcontracted.  

D. Each vehicle that meets the requirements as set forth in 

these regulations shall be issued an approval sticker. Those 

vehicles that do not meet the inspection requirements shall be 

issued a rejection sticker. Any trailer required to be inspected 

under the provisions of the Code of Virginia may, only if the 

size or configuration of the trailer and the size and 

configuration of the facilities of the inspection station prevent 

the trailer from being inspected inside the inspection station, 

be inspected outside the inspection station. The location on 

the outside of an inspection station where trailers may be 

inspected shall be approved by the Department of State Police 

and shown on the station diagram.  

E. Inspections may be made when it is raining or snowing. 

Care must be exercised when making inspections in 

inclement weather. Vehicles covered with ice, snow, mud or 

other debris to the extent that required parts cannot be 

inspected, may be refused inspection until the operator 

removes such debris.  

19VAC30-70-31. Inspector certification. 

A. Upon request, a Mechanics Certification Application 

(Form SP-170B) and a Criminal History Record Request 

(Form SP-167) will be provided to individuals desiring 

appointment as certified safety inspectors. 

1. The application package will include instructions to help 

guide the applicant through the process. 

2. Applicants may be certified in any of the following 

classes after completing the necessary requirements and 

the appropriate examinations: 

a. Class A – May inspect any motor vehicle, motorcycle, 

or trailer. 

b. Class B – May inspect trailers only. 

c. Class C – May inspect motorcycles only. 

B. Applicants should immediately prepare for the written 

examination by studying the Official Motor Vehicle Safety 

Inspection Manual in its entirety. 

1. When sufficiently prepared for the examination, the 

applicant should visit a testing site in his area to complete 

the appropriate examination. 
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2. The applicant will present his completed application 

Form SP-170B, a Criminal History Records Request (Form 

SP -167), and a valid driver's license at the testing site. The 

applicant's identity will be verified by comparing the 

driver's license to the application form. The application 

will be reviewed for proper notarization. The application 

shall include the applicant's name, address, date of birth, 

social security number, driver's license number, physical, 

personal, and employment data. 

3. If the applicant's driver's license is expired, suspended, 

or revoked, the applicant will be advised and the 

application will be destroyed. The applicant may reapply 

after his driver's license is reinstated.  

C. The Class A inspector examination will consist of five 

sections containing 20 questions each. A minimum score of 

75% must be attained for each section. The Class B and C 

inspector examinations will consist of 50 questions each. A 

minimum score of 74% must be attained. If the applicant fails 

the test, it will be noted at the end of Section I on the Form 

SP-170B with the word "Failed" and the date. The application 

will be returned to the applicant. Applicants failing to attain 

the minimum score will not be allowed to test again for 30 

days. Applicants failing a second or subsequent examination 

will not be allowed to test again for six months. 

D. The Mechanics Certification Application (Form SP-

170B) and Criminal History Record Request (Form SP-167) 

for applicants who achieve a minimum score or greater will 

be forwarded to Safety Division Headquarters.  

1. The applicant's record will be checked against safety 

inspector and Central Criminal Records Exchange (CCRE) 

files. 

2. Inspection and criminal record information along with 

the applicant's driver transcript will be forwarded with the 

application to the appropriate Safety Division Area Office 

for investigation.  

3. A credit check will be performed to determine that the 

applicant associated with the inspection program is in 

compliance with any judgment order or is meeting all 

financial obligations, or both. 

E. A background investigation will be conducted consisting 

of the following: 

1. Verification that the applicant is at least 18 years of age. 

2. Verification that the applicant has not less than one 

year's practical experience employed as an automotive 

technician repairing vehicles for the public or has 

satisfactorily completed a training program in the field of 

automotive mechanics approved by the Department of 

State Police. The following training programs in the field 

of automotive mechanics have been approved as a 

substitute for the one year's practical experience 

requirement: 

a. The two-year Associate Degree or diploma programs 

in automotive technology offered by the Virginia 

Community College System consisting of the following 

minimum curriculum: 

(1) Automotive Electrical Systems - 3 semester hours  

(2) Braking Systems - 3 semester hours 

(3) Emissions Control Systems - 3 semester hours 

(4) Suspension and Steering Systems - 3 semester hours 

(5) Vehicle Safety Inspection - 2 semester hours 

b. The 1,080-hour Career Technical Automotive Services 

Technology Program, offered by the Office of Career 

Technical Education, State Department of Education, in 

the various technical schools located throughout Virginia 

or be certified by the National Institute for Automotive 

Service Excellence (ASE), or both. 

(1) Upon the successful completion of this course, 

including a practical test as defined in this section, the 

student must complete a Mechanics Certification 

Application (Form SP-170B) and a Criminal History 

Record Request (Form SP-167), pass a written test as 

defined in subsection C of this section, and submit to a 

background investigation as defined in this subsection. 

Upon successful completion of these requirements, the 

student, if 18 years of age, will be certified as a safety 

inspector and issued a safety inspector license. In the 

event the student is under the age of 18 years, he will be 

issued a condition letter of appointment as a certified 

safety inspector. Upon his 18th birthday, providing he 

still meets all of the requirements, he will be issued a 

safety inspector license.  

(2) If the student scores less than 75% on any part of the 

examination, the application will be returned to the 

certifying trooper. Students scoring less than 75% on any 

part of the examination may retest at the certifying 

trooper's next recertification testing date, but not sooner 

than 30 days from the date of the last examination. If the 

student passes the test at this time and is at least 18 years 

of age, he will be issued a safety inspector license. Upon 

the student's 18th birthday, providing he still meets all of 

the requirements, the student will be issued a safety 

inspector license.  

(3) Students failing the second written examination will 

not be allowed to test again for six months. In order to 

retest the student must be at least 18 years of age and 

must complete the application process set forth for 

original certification. 

c. The 1,500-hour Course #1 entitled "Auto-Diesel 

Technician Course" offered by the Nashville Auto Diesel 

College, Inc., 1524 Gallatin Road, Nashville, Tennessee 

37206. 

3. A determination of the applicant's mechanical ability 

through interviews with employers and customers. 

4. A review of the applicant's current driving record on file 

with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will be 
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utilized in determining applicant's suitability for 

certification. 

5. Determination of the character and reputation of the 

applicant through previous associates, employers, and 

records. 

6. Determination of the applicant's attitude towards the 

inspection program and receptiveness to State Police 

supervision through personal interview.  

7. The investigating trooper shall administer a practical 

examination to determine the applicant's ability to conduct 

a safety inspection. The applicant will conduct a complete 

inspection including the use of the optical headlight aimer. 

F. Any applicant whose application is rejected or withdrawn 

may not reapply sooner than six months from the date he is 

notified of the rejection of their application or their 

application is withdrawn.  

G. When a safety inspector is certified, the bottom of the 

Form SP-170B will be completed by the certifying trooper. 

The classification for which the safety inspector is being 

certified, and the date of certification must be entered by the 

trooper on the bottom of the Form SP-170B. The Form SP-

170B shall then be forwarded to the Safety Division Area 

Office. 

H. Upon certification, the supervising trooper will fill out 

the temporary inspector's license in triplicate, forwarding the 

original (white copy) to Safety Division Headquarters, issuing 

the canary copy to the inspector, and retaining the pink copy 

at the Safety Division Area Office for six months. Once the 

safety inspector has been issued his/her his temporary license, 

he will be eligible to begin inspecting.  

I. All safety inspector licenses shall be valid for a period of 

three years.  

19VAC30-70-32. Reinstatement of safety inspector license 

following suspension or revocation. 

A. Reinstatement of safety inspector licenses following a 

period of suspension or revocation.  

1. Once a safety inspector's license has been suspended, 

regardless of the cause for suspension, he may request 

reinstatement up to 60 days prior to the expiration of the 

suspension period. 

a. No application Form SP-170B is required for 

reinstatement; however, Form SP-170D and Form SP-

167 must be completed. The safety inspector's license 

will be held at the local Safety Division Area Office and 

returned upon the expiration of the suspension period. In 

all cases, Safety Division Headquarters must be notified 

forthwith by electronic means of the reinstatement of the 

license. The Form SP-164 will be filed to indicate the 

date the inspector was reinstated.  

b. The inspector shall contact his supervising trooper or 

nearest Safety Division Area Office to initiate the 

reinstatement process. 

c. The inspector's records on file at the Department of 

Motor Vehicles and Central Criminal Records Exchange 

will be reviewed to determine his suitability for 

reinstatement. If the suspended inspector's records 

indicate he is suitable for reinstatement, at the end of the 

suspension period or other appropriate time, the original 

inspector's license will be returned. A temporary license 

may be issued if the original is not available.  

If the suspended inspector's license should expire during 

the suspension period, the inspector may complete the 

process for inspector recertification as outlined in 

19VAC30-70-9. The trooper administering the test will 

retain all documentation. The inspector's license will be 

returned at the end of the suspension period and the 

appropriate documents forwarded to the Safety Division. 

2. Inspectors whose safety inspector's licenses have been 

revoked must complete the application process as set forth 

for initial certification after the expiration of the period of 

revocation. 

B. Safety inspectors who desire to change their license 

classification must complete the written and practical 

examinations as outlined in 19VAC30-70-9. 

C. Safety inspectors desiring to renew their inspector's 

license must participate in the recertification process. The 

process will require: 

1. Review of training materials as may be presented at the 

certification testing site by State Police personnel. 

2. Completion of the appropriate examination for the class 

license the inspector holds. A minimum score must be 

attained as previously outlined in 19VAC30-70-9. 

3. An inspector holding an expired license may be tested as 

long as his license has not been expired more than one 

month. During the period of expiration he will not be 

permitted to perform inspections. 

An inspector holding an expired inspector license which 

has not been expired more than one month and who fails 

the recertification examination the first time during this 

one-month grace period may be retested one additional 

time not sooner than 30 days from the date of the last 

recertification examination. Inspectors failing this 

subsequent examination will not be retested for six months 

and must complete the application process as set forth for 

initial certification. 

D. Failure to comply with the provisions of this section shall 

be grounds for the termination of the application process or 

cancellation of the safety inspector's license, or both. 

Applicants having applications terminated and/or or safety 

inspector's license canceled may not reapply for a period of 

one year.  

19VAC30-70-40. Fees. 

A. Before the inspection of a vehicle begins, the vehicle 

owner or operator must be informed that a charge is to be 

made. 
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B. The maximum inspection fees effective July 1, 2006, are 

as follows: 

$51 for each inspection of any (i) tractor truck, (ii) truck 

that has a gross vehicle weight rating of 26,000 pounds 

or more, or (iii) motor vehicle that is used to transport 

passengers and has a seating capacity of more than 15 

passengers, including the driver. 

$12 for each inspection of any motorcycle. 

$16 for each inspection of any other vehicle, including 

trailers and motor homes. 

1. Inspection fees will result in inspection stations retaining 

and forwarding $.50 to the Department of State Police to 

support the department's costs in administering the Motor 

Vehicle Inspection Program (MVIP). Collection of these 

fees will begin on May March 15 of every year. 

2. $10 of the $12 inspection fee for motorcycles shall be 

retained by the inspection station and the other $2.00 shall 

be transmitted to the Department of State Police. 

Collection of these fees will begin May March 15 of every 

year. 

3. After the appropriate fee has been determined for each 

station, a letter from the Safety Division will be mailed to 

the station requiring that a check for that amount be mailed 

in the enclosed envelope to: Department of State Police, 

Safety Division, 7700 Midlothian Turnpike, North 

Chesterfield, VA 23235. The check must be made out to 

the Department of State Police. The letter will include the 

following notice: "Do Not Send The Processing Fee To 

The P.O. Box Or Include With The Monthly Inspection 

Receipts. All Fees Are To Be Sent To The Safety Division 

Street Address." 

4. The station will have 30 days in which to mail in the 

processing fee. In the event a check does not clear the bank 

for any reason, a $15 fee will be assessed the station. Also, 

under 19VAC30-70-5, a returned check will be a Class III 

offense and administrative actions may be held against the 

station's record. Once the station has been contacted by the 

Department of State Police regarding a returned check, it 

will have 15 days to respond. If the returned check dispute 

is not settled in this period of time, administrative or legal 

sanctions, or both, may be taken against the station and, in 

addition, any requests for supplies will not be honored until 

the dispute has been settled. 

C. If a rejected vehicle is not submitted to the same station 

within the validity period of the rejection sticker or is 

submitted to another official inspection station, a complete 

inspection must be performed and a charge of $51 may be 

made for inspection of tractor trucks, trucks that have a gross 

vehicle weight rating of 26,000 pounds or more, and buses 

that seat more than 15 passengers, including the driver. A 

charge of $16 may be made for each inspection performed on 

any other vehicle to include recreational motor homes and 

trailers. A charge of $12 may be made for each motorcycle 

inspection. 

NOTE: The truck inspection fee does not pertain to any 

trailer.  

D. A charge of $1.00 may be made for reinspection of a 

vehicle rejected by the same station during the 15-day validity 

of the rejection sticker. 

E. Inspection stations shall not charge an additional fee to 

those customers who drop off their vehicles for a state 

inspection. This is a violation of § 46.2-1167 of the Code of 

Virginia unless the station charges a "storage fee" for all 

services and repairs and not just for inspections. 

19VAC30-70-50. Approval stickers and decals. 

A. If the vehicle meets all inspection requirements, the 

inspection sticker receipt shall be legibly filled out in its entirety 

with a black ball point pen and signed by the certified safety 

inspector making the inspection. Automated MVIP stations are 

required to have the certified safety inspector performing the 

inspection shall immediately enter the receipt information via the 

MVIP system. The inspection fee (if no charge then indicate 

N/A), the cost of the repairs relating to the inspection and the 

complete vehicle identification number (VIN), tag number or car 

dealer name if a dealer tag is attached, mileage, year, make, and 

model must be filled out on the receipt. A circle to indicate 

which wheels were pulled to check the brakes, and an individual 

mark shall be made in each equipment block of the approval 

receipt that was pertinent to the inspection (straight or zig-zag 

lines are not acceptable). 

The inspection sticker is not valid unless the rear portion is 

completed with the vehicle make, year built, license plate 

number (dealer name if a dealer tag is displayed), body type, 

and the complete vehicle identification number (VIN). The 

VIN should be entered using indelible ink.  The inspection 

sticker shall be completed using black indelible ink. 

B. Approval stickers and decals shall be issued according to 

the following schedule:  

ANNUAL PROGRAM 

Vehicles inspected in January are issued stickers bearing the 

Number "1" 

Vehicles inspected in February are issued stickers bearing 

the Number "2" 

Vehicles inspected in March are issued stickers bearing the 

Number "3" 

Vehicles inspected in April are issued stickers bearing the 

Number "4" 

Vehicles inspected in May are issued stickers bearing the 

Number "5" 

Vehicles inspected in June are issued stickers bearing the 

Number "6" 

Vehicles inspected in July are issued stickers bearing the 

Number "7" 

Vehicles inspected in August are issued stickers bearing the 

Number "8" 
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Vehicles inspected in September are issued stickers bearing 

the Number "9" 

Vehicles inspected in October are issued stickers bearing 

the Number "10" 

Vehicles inspected in November are issued stickers bearing 

the Number "11" 

Vehicles inspected in December are issued stickers bearing 

the Number "12" 

All February annual inspection stickers for trailer and 

motorcycle decals (#2) due to expire at midnight, February 28 

automatically will be valid through midnight February 29 

each leap year. 

C. The numeral decal indicating the month of expiration 

shall be inserted in the box identified as month and the 

numeral decal indicating the year of expiration shall be 

inserted in the box identified as year of the approval sticker 

and the trailer or motorcycle decal sticker. Extreme care 

should be used by inspectors in applying these inserts. On all 

windshields, except school buses, the sticker is to be placed at 

the bottom of the windshield so that the inside or left edge of 

the sticker is one inch to the right of the vertical center of the 

windshield when looking through the windshield from inside 

the vehicle. (If the vehicle is normally operated from the right 

side, the sticker must be placed one inch to the left of the 

vertical center of the windshield.) 

On passenger vehicles not equipped with a windshield, the 

sticker shall be placed on or under the dash and protected in 

some manner from the weather. 

The approval sticker on official yellow school buses is to be 

placed at the bottom and in the right corner of the windshield 

when looking through the windshield from inside the vehicle. 

EXCEPTIONS: The approval sticker shall be placed one 

inch to the right of the vertical center of the windshield when 

looking through the windshield from the inside on all new 

flat-face cowl yellow school buses. On vehicles equipped 

with heating and grid elements on the inside of the 

windshield, the sticker shall be placed one inch above the top 

of the grid element and the inside left edge of the sticker shall 

be one inch to the right of the vertical center when looking 

through the windshield from the inside. 

Stickers or decals used by counties, cities and towns in lieu 

of license plates affixed adjacent to the old approval sticker 

and which are affixed in the location where the new approval 

sticker is required to be placed will not be removed. In these 

cases, the approval sticker will be placed as close to one inch 

to the right of the vertical center of the windshield as it can be 

placed without removing or overlapping the county, city or 

town decal. 

D. The Code of Virginia requires that the inspection sticker 

be displayed on the windshield or at other designated places 

at all times. The inspection sticker cannot be transferred from 

one vehicle to another. 

EXCEPTION: If the windshield in a vehicle is replaced, a 

valid sticker may be removed from the old windshield and 

placed on the new windshield. 

E. The decal sticker issued to a motorcycle shall be affixed 

to the left side of the cycle where it will be most visible after 

mounting. The decal sticker may be placed on a plate on the 

left side where it will be most visible and securely fastened to 

the motorcycle for the purpose of displaying the decal sticker. 

The sticker may be placed horizontally or vertically. 

F. Trailer decals stickers will be issued to all trailers and 

semitrailers required to be inspected. (No boat, utility, or 

travel trailer that is not equipped with brakes shall be required 

to be inspected.) 

G. All inspected trailers must display a trailer decal sticker 

on that particular vehicle. These decals stickers are to be 

placed on the left side of the trailer near the front corner. The 

decal sticker must be affixed to the trailer body or frame. In 

those instances where a metal back container with a 

removable transparent cover has been permanently affixed to 

the trailer body, the decal sticker may be glued to it. The 

container must be permanently mounted in such a manner that 

the decal sticker must be destroyed to remove it. 

H. In all other cases involving unusually designed trailers 

such as pole trailers, the safety inspector is to exercise his 

own good judgment in placing the decal sticker at a point 

where it will be as prominent as possible and visible for 

examination from the left side. 

I. Motorcycles have a separate decal sticker that is orange 

and issued with the prefix M. Trailers have a separate decal 

sticker that is blue and issued with the prefix T. The trailer 

and motorcycle receipts are completed in the same manner as 

other inspection receipts. 

J. Appointed stations will keep sufficient inspection supplies 

on hand to meet their needs. Requests for additional supplies 

may be made to the Safety Division by telephone, in writing 

or via e-mail. Automated stations shall order all supplies shall 

be ordered via the MVIP system. Requests for supplies that 

are to be picked up at the Safety Division Headquarters must 

be made at least 24 hours prior to pick up. If email is used, 

the subject line should include the station number and station 

name. If written request is preferred or if there is a need to 

return inspection receipts to the Safety Division via United 

States Postal Service, then it shall be addressed to: Safety 

Division, Department of State Police, P.O. Box 85607, 

Richmond, VA 23285-5607. 

1. Do not make requests for stickers on inventory forms or 

slips of paper enclosed with returned supplies. 

2. Packing slips mailed with inspection supplies will be kept 

on file at the station for at least 24 months. 

K. All unused center inserts used to indicate the month that a 

sticker or decal expires, in possession of the inspection station 

at the end of each month, shall be retained by the inspection 

station, properly safeguarded, and used in the inspection of 
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vehicles for that particular month in the following year or be 

disposed of as directed by the Department of State Police. 

All inspection supplies that are voided, damaged, disfigured 

or become unserviceable in any manner, will be returned to 

the Safety Division. New replacement supplies will be issued 

to the station. Expired stickers will be picked up by the 

station's supervising trooper. 

L. The white receipts for all approval stickers including 

trailer/motorcycle stickers and pink copies for rejection 

stickers will be removed from the sticker books and placed in 

numerical order for submission to the Safety Division by the 

fifth of the month following the month of inspection. (Staples 

or tape are not to be used to secure these receipts.) All voided 

approval/rejection stickers and decals, along with the white 

and pink receipts, shall be marked void and returned to the 

Safety Division. The yellow receipt shall also be marked void 

and retained in the book. All voided approval/rejection 

stickers will be picked up by the station's supervising trooper. 

M. The receipt for the approval sticker, to include MVIP 

system approval and or rejection printed copies, receipt shall 

be given to the owner or operator of the vehicle. 

N. All yellow receipt copies of approval stickers and decals 

will be retained in the books and shall be kept on file at the 

station for at least 24 months. They may be inspected by any 

law-enforcement officer during normal business hours. 

O. Safety Division troopers may replace inspection stickers 

that have separated from the windshield of motor vehicles and 

become lost or damaged without conducting an inspection of 

the safety components of the vehicle. Such replacement of 

inspection stickers shall be made only in accordance with the 

following provisions: 

1. A vehicle owner or operator complaining of the loss or 

damage to the inspection sticker on the windshield of their 

vehicle due to separation of the sticker from the windshield 

shall be directed to the nearest Safety Division Area Office 

or Safety Division trooper. 

2. Safety Division troopers, upon receipt of a complaint 

from a vehicle owner or operator that their inspection 

sticker has been stolen, lost or become damaged due to 

separation from the windshield, will make arrangements to 

meet the person to effect the replacement of the sticker. A 

vehicle owner or operator alleging theft of the inspection 

sticker will furnish proof to the Safety Division trooper 

that such theft has been reported to the proper law-

enforcement authority. 

3. The vehicle owner or operator must produce the original 

safety inspection approval sticker receipt indicating a valid 

approval inspection sticker was issued to the vehicle within 

the past 11 months. (The vehicle must be reinspected if the 

expiration of the original inspection sticker is in the month 

the request is being made.) 

4. The Safety Division trooper will verify by the inspection 

receipt that the vehicle was issued an approval inspection 

sticker within the past 11 months and will then issue a 

replacement inspection sticker to the vehicle. If any 

obvious equipment defects are detected during the 

replacement process, the vehicle will not be issued a 

replacement approval sticker.  

5. The Safety Division trooper will complete the inspection 

sticker receipt for the approval sticker from information 

contained on the original receipt. The date the replacement 

sticker is issued will be used in the date space. In the space 

for Inspection Related Charges, the trooper will insert the 

word "REPLACEMENT" and the sticker number from the 

original inspection receipt. 

6. The Safety Division trooper will sign the receipt 

vertically in the O.K. column in the "Equipment Inspected" 

blocks. These blocks will not otherwise be completed. 

7. The Safety Division trooper shall place month and year 

inserts on the inspection sticker to reflect the expiration as 

shown on the original approval inspection sticker and place 

the inspection sticker on the windshield in accordance with 

the requirements of subsection C of this section. 

8. The Safety Division trooper will enter the replacement 

information into the MVIP system. 

P. New vehicle safety inspections. 

1. Section 46.2-1158.01 of the Code of Virginia allows an 

employee who customarily performs the inspection 

requirement of a manufacturer or distributor of new motor 

vehicles to place an inspection sticker furnished by the 

Department of State Police on the vehicle once it has met 

the requirements of that manufacturer or distributor. This 

employee does not have to be a certified safety inspector. 

2. With the addition of other personnel using Department 

of State Police inspection supplies, a system shall be 

developed at each inspection station to afford 

accountability of all supplies. The system shall include 

proper safeguards to prevent the loss of supplies through 

carelessness, neglect, theft, or unauthorized use. 

3. Inspection stations shall not mix annual state inspections 

with predelivery inspections (PDI) in the same book of 

inspection stickers. 

4. All employees shall be reminded that anyone who 

performs inspections, whether it be for the annual 

inspection or the PDI inspection, is subject to criminal 

prosecution if inspection supplies are used illegally or used 

in some other unauthorized way. 

5. Station management and licensed safety inspectors are 

subject to administrative sanctions for any misuse of 

inspection supplies. 

6. The inspection receipts shall be completed as usual with 

the following exceptions: On the "inspector" line, the 

initials "PDI" (for predelivery inspection) and the printed 

employee's name performing the inspection shall be 

entered. On the "inspector's license number" line, the 

letters "N/A" shall be entered. In the equipment inspected 
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section, the words "New Vehicle" shall be entered in the 

"adjust" column. The PDI employee performing the 

inspection shall sign his name in the "O.K." column. 

19VAC30-70-60. Rejection stickers. 

A. Only one rejection sticker shall be issued to any one 

vehicle. A rejection sticker shall not be issued to any vehicle 

already bearing such a sticker or to one which bears evidence 

of previously being issued a rejection sticker. When a vehicle 

is bearing a valid or expired rejection sticker, it is not to be 

removed unless the vehicle meets all of the inspection 

requirements. 

B. A vehicle rejected by one station may be reinspected by 

another station if the owner desires to have this done; 

however, that station shall perform a complete inspection of 

the vehicle. 

C. Reinspection of a rejected vehicle by the same station 

during the 15-day validity of the rejection sticker need 

include only a check of the items previously found defective, 

unless there is an obvious equipment defect that would 

warrant further rejection of the vehicle. Such reinspection will 

not constitute a complete inspection and a $1.00 fee may be 

charged. Furthermore, if a vehicle returns for reinspection 

within the 15-day period, the rejecting station will reinspect 

the vehicle without delay or at the reasonable conclusion of 

the current inspection being performed. 

1. If additional defects are detected during reinspection of a 

vehicle previously rejected, the vehicle will not be issued 

an approval sticker. 

2. No vehicle bearing a valid rejection sticker shall be 

entitled to receive more than two reinspections by the 

rejecting station during the validity period of the rejection 

sticker. 

3. The validity period of the rejection sticker shall be 15 

days in addition to the day of inspection. 

4. Any vehicle that is presented for inspection at another 

inspection station after the 15-day validity period, if the 

vehicle was rejected for brakes, and the inspector cannot 

determine which wheels were checked, then all four 

wheels will be removed to ensure that all repairs or defects 

have been corrected. 

D. If repairs are to be made to a rejected vehicle that would 

necessitate removing the vehicle from the inspection lane, no 

rejection sticker need be issued; however, the vehicle must be 

returned to an approved lane for a recheck of the rejected 

items and the application of the approval sticker. 

E. If the vehicle does not meet all the requirements and the 

owner does not authorize immediate repairs, and if a rejection 

sticker has not already been issued, a rejection sticker shall be 

legibly filled out in its entirety with a black ball point pen. 

Automated MVIP stations are required to have the The 

certified safety inspector performing the inspection shall 

immediately enter the receipt information via the MVIP 

system. The complete vehicle identification number (VIN), 

tag number or car dealer name if a dealer tag is attached, 

mileage, year, make, and model shall be included. A circle to 

indicate which wheels were pulled to check the brakes and an 

individual mark shall be placed in each equipment block of 

the rejection sticker that was pertinent to the rejection. In 

addition, information may be written on any blank area as to 

the exact nature of the rejection (i.e., front brakes vs. rear 

brakes). The date of issue shall be punched, and the sticker 

affixed to the same location as indicated in subsections C, E, 

and G of 19VAC30-70-50 C, E, and G. (When affixed to a 

trailer or motorcycle, the face of the rejection sticker shall be 

attached to the trailer or motorcycle in order to allow the 

rejection data on the back side to be read.) 

F. The operator of the rejected vehicle shall be informed of 

the following: 

1. The rejection sticker is valid for 15 days in addition to 

the date of inspection. 

2. The rejection sticker places no travel restriction on the 

operation of the vehicle and is issued in lieu of an approval 

sticker. 

3. The vehicle operator is legally responsible for any defect 

if operated on the highway and may be subject to a traffic 

summons for any existing equipment violation. 

G. Duplicate copies (pink) of rejection stickers shall be 

forwarded, in numerical order, to the Safety Division by the 

fifth of the month following the month of inspection. The 

yellow copy shall be retained, in numerical order, by the 

station for at least 24 months. 

19VAC30-70-70. Inventory. (Repealed.) 

A. Each inspection station at the end of each quarter shall 

fill in the applicable portion of an Inspection Sticker 

Inventory Report (Form SP-221) in duplicate on approval 

stickers, trailer/motorcycle decals and rejection stickers used 

or unused. This report shall be completed by the fifth of 

April, July, October and January for the preceding quarter and 

shall be kept on file at the station.  

NOTE: The submission of the quarterly inventory report 

does not apply to automated MVIP system users. 

1. At the end of the quarter, the monthly totals will be 

combined into a quarterly total reflecting the total number 

of approval stickers, trailer/motorcycle decals, rejection 

stickers and voided stickers used during the quarter. All 

approval stickers, trailer/motorcycle decals and rejection 

stickers unused and on hand at the end of the quarter shall 

be listed in the space provided on the Inspection Sticker 

Inventory Report (Form SP-221).  

2. The inventory report, after its completion, shall be 

retained at the inspection station until it is reviewed and 

picked up by the station's supervising trooper. The 

duplicate copy of the inventory report shall be retained by 

the station for at least 24 months.  

B. The quarterly inventory reports shall be completed 

according to the following schedule:  
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  Quarter of Year Months of 

  1st January, February, March 

  2nd April, May, June 

  3rd July, August, September 

  4th October, November, 

December 

Part III  

Inspection Requirements for Passenger Vehicles and Vehicles 

Up to 10,000 Pounds (GVWR) 

19VAC30-70-80. Service brakes. 

A. The inspector, as a minimum, must drive all vehicles into 

the inspection lane and test both service and parking brakes. 

B. A minimum of two wheels or two wheels and drums, one 

front and one rear, must be removed from each passenger and 

multipurpose vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating of 

10,000 pounds gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) or less at 

the time of inspection, except those listed in subdivisions 1, 2, 

and 3 of this subsection. Two front wheels or two front 

wheels and drums must be removed from vehicles listed in 

subdivision 3 of this subsection. 

1. Motorcycles. 

2. A new model vehicle is defined as a vehicle that has not 

been titled or leased and is less than one year old, 

measured from October 1 as of each year; if such motor 

vehicle does not have a model year, such measurement 

shall be made from the date of manufacture. 

3. Trucks with floating axles that require seal replacement 

upon removal of rear wheels. The inspection receipt 

(approval and rejection) shall be marked to reflect which 

wheels were pulled. 

Warning: Lug nuts must be torqued to the manufacturer's 

specifications to prevent damage to disc rotors. The use of 

an impact wrench may exceed the manufacturer's 

specifications and damage disc rotors. 

C. If any braking problem is detected, the inspector may test 

drive or require a test drive of the vehicle. 

D. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Vehicle is not equipped with brakes or any brake has 

been disconnected, rendered inoperative, or improperly 

installed. Trailers having an actual gross weight of less 

than 3,000 pounds are not required to be equipped with 

brakes; however, if brakes are installed, these vehicles 

must be inspected. 

Brake System Failure Indicator Lamp 

2. Passenger vehicles manufactured after January 1, 1968, 

are not equipped with a red brake failure warning lamp or 

warning lamp does not light with parking brake applied 

when ignition key is turned to the start position, except for 

anti-lock system. The red brake failure warning lamp 

should light when the ignition key is turned to the start 

position; on some imports it may be checked when the 

emergency brake is applied or other factory installed test 

button. (DO NOT reject if only the amber ABS/anti-lock 

brake lamp is on.) With the engine running and parking 

brake released, the red brake failure warning lamp should 

go off, except for vehicles equipped with anti-lock system. 

If so, apply service brake for 10 seconds and if the red 

brake failure warning lamp lights again the system is 

defective. Also, if the warning lamp light does not come on 

when there is a leak or the warning lamp light is not 

functioning properly, the system is defective and shall be 

rejected. NOTE: This paragraph does not apply to vehicles 

registered as street rods nor does it imply that the red brake 

failure warning lamp needs to light when the emergency 

brake is set. There are many vehicles that are not factory 

equipped with an emergency brake indicator light. 

Brake Linings and Disc Pads  

3. Riveted linings or disc pads are worn to less than 2/32 of 

an inch over the rivet head(s). 

4. Bonded or molded linings or disc pads are worn to less 

than 2/32 of an inch in thickness. 

5. Wire in wire-backed lining is visible in friction surface. 

6. Snap-on brake linings are loose. 

7. Any lining is broken or cracked so that the lining or 

parts of the lining are not firmly attached to the shoe or has 

cracks on the friction surface extending to the open edge. 

8. Grease or other contamination is present on the linings, 

drums, or rotors. 

9. Rivets in riveted linings are loose or missing. 

10. Any lining or pad is misaligned or does not make full 

contact with the drum or rotor. 

Brake Drums and Discs 

11. Brake drums or brake discs (rotors) are worn or scored 

to the extent that their remachining machining would result 

in a failure to meet manufacturer's specifications. Use the 

specification stamped on the rotor or drum if available. 

NOTE: A number of vehicles on the market are equipped 

with a lock nut to hold the rear brake drum in place. 

Manufacturers recommend replacement of these lock nuts 

after each removal to prevent failure of the component. If 

the customer is advised up front, then the wholesale cost of 

the replacement nut may be charged to the customer. 

NOTE: The proper method to remove the rear brake 

assembly on the 2000 Ford Focus is to remove the four 

bolts from the opposite side of the assembly. Removal 

otherwise may damage the outside grease cap and incur a 

cost to replace. 

12. Brake drums or discs have any external crack or cracks 

more than one half the width of the friction surface of the 

drum or disc. NOTE: Do not confuse short hairline heat 

cracks with flexural cracks. 
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Mechanical Linkage 

13. Cables are frayed or frozen. 

14. Mechanical parts missing, broken, badly worn, or 

misaligned. 

E. Hydraulic. 

NOTE: Some motor vehicles, beginning with 1976 models, 

have a hydraulic power system that serves both the power-

assisted brakes and power-assisted steering system. Some 

vehicles, beginning with 1985 models, have an integrated 

hydraulic actuation and anti-lock brake unit using only brake 

fluid. 

1. Brake hydraulic system. Inspector should check the 

brake hydraulic system in the following manner: test 

vehicle in a standing position; apply moderate pressure to 

the brake pedal for 10 seconds. Brake pedal height must be 

maintained. On vehicles equipped with power-assisted 

systems, the engine should be running. 

2. Hydraulic system operation. Stop engine, then depress 

brake pedal several times to eliminate all pressure. Depress 

pedal with a light foot-force (30 pounds). While 

maintaining this force on the pedal, start engine and 

observe if pedal moves slightly when engine starts. 

Reject vehicle if pedal does not move slightly as engine 

is started while force is on brake pedal. 

 

3. Condition of hydraulic booster power brake system. 

Inspect system for fluid level and leaks. 

Reject vehicle if there is insufficient fluid in the 

reservoir; if there are broken, kinked or restricted fluid 

lines or hoses; if there is any leakage of fluid at the 

pump, steering gear or brake booster, or any of the lines 

or hoses in the system; or if belts are frayed, cracked or 

excessively worn. 

4. Integrated hydraulic booster/anti-lock system operation. 

With the ignition key in the off position, depress brake 

pedal a minimum of 25 times to deplete all residual stored 

pressure in the accumulator. Depress pedal with a light 

foot-force (25 pounds). Place ignition key in the on 

position and allow 60 seconds for the brake warning light 

to go out and the electric pump to shut off. 

Reject vehicle if the brake pedal does not move down 

slightly as the pump builds pressure or if the brake and 

anti-lock warning lights remain on longer than 60 

seconds. 

NOTE: The inspection of the ABS light is only for an 

integrated system that is an earlier system. The newer 

system that has the nonintegrated systems does not need 

to be checked. If the ABS system malfunctions on the 

newer system, the brake systems are still functional. 

 

5. Condition of integrated hydraulic booster/anti-lock 

system with electronic pump. With the system fully 

charged, inspect system for fluid level and leaks. 

Reject vehicle if there is insufficient fluid in the 

reservoir; if there are broken, kinked or restricted fluid 

lines or hoses; or if there is any leakage of fluid at the 

pump or brake booster, or any of the lines or hoses in the 

system. 

6. Vacuum system operation. Stop engine then depress 

brake pedal several times to eliminate all vacuum in the 

system. Depress pedal with a light foot-force (25 pounds). 

While maintaining this force on the pedal, start engine and 

observe if pedal moves down slightly when engine starts. 

Reject vehicle if pedal does not move down slightly as 

engine is started while force is on the brake pedal. In full 

vacuum-equipped vehicles, there is insufficient vacuum 

reserve for one full service brake application after engine 

is stopped. 
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7. Condition of vacuum booster power brake system. 

Reject vehicle if there are collapsed, cracked, broken, 

badly chafed or improperly supported hoses and tubes, 

loose or broken hose clamps. 

F. Inspect for and reject if: 

General Specifications - Hydraulic Brakes 

1. There is any leakage in the master cylinder, wheel 

cylinders, or brake calipers. When checking for leakage in 

rear wheel cylinders, do not disturb the dust boot. 

NOTE: Do not reject for the common dust ball formed on 

wheel cylinders or for wetness that may have spread to the 

backing plate unless it has contaminated the linings or 

drums as specified in subdivision D 8 of this section. 

Consumers should be advised of this wear so that they will 

be aware that repair may be needed before their next 

inspection. This may not warrant an immediate repair 

considering the dual valve master cylinder. 

2. Fluid level in master cylinder is below the proper level 

for the particular vehicle. 

3. There is any evidence of a caliper sticking or binding. 

Electric Brake System 

4. Trailers show an amperage value more than 20% above 

or 30% below the brake manufacturer's maximum current 

rating for each brake. 

5. Amp meter shows no reading or indicator is not steady 

on application and release of brake controller. 

6. Any terminal connections are loose or dirty; wires are 

broken, frayed, or unsupported; any single conductor 

nonstranded wire or wires below the size recommended by 

the brake manufacturers are installed. 

7. Electrical trailer brakes do not apply automatically when 

the breakaway safety switch is operated. 

8. Breakaway braking devices are missing or inoperative; 

cable is frayed or broken.  

General Specifications 

8. There is any leakage in any hydraulic, air, or vacuum 

lines; hoses have any cracks, crimps, restrictions, or are 

abraded exposing fabric; tubing or connections leak, are 

crimped, restricted, cracked or broken; any valves leak or 

are inoperative. 

Reject the vehicle if the brake hoses or tubing are 

stretched or extended and do not allow for suspension 

movement. 

Brake tubing and hoses must: 

a. Be long and flexible enough to accommodate without 

damage all normal motions of the parts to which it is 

attached; 

b. Be secured against chaffing, kinking, or other 

mechanical damage; and 

c. Be installed in a manner that prevents it from 

contacting the vehicle's exhaust system or any other 

source of high temperatures. 

9. Brakes are not equalized so as to stop the vehicle on a 

straight line. 

10. There is less than 1/5 reserve in actuator travel of the 

service brake when fully applied on all hydraulic, 

mechanical, or power-assisted hydraulic braking systems. 

11. When tested on dry, hard, approximately level road 

free from loose material, at a speed of 20 miles per hour 

without leaving a 12-foot wide lane, results in excess of the 

following distances are obtained: (When in doubt about a 

vehicle's stopping ability, the inspector shall conduct a 

road test.) 

a. Any motor vehicle (except motorcycles, trucks, and 

tractor-trucks with semitrailers attached) four wheel 

brakes - 25 feet. 

b. Any motor vehicle (except motorcycles, trucks, and 

tractor-trucks with semitrailers attached) two wheel 

brakes - 45 feet. 

c. All combinations of vehicles - 40 feet. 

9. Absence of braking action on any wheel required to 

have brakes. 

10. There is any leakage in any hydraulic, air, or vacuum 

lines; hoses have any cracks, crimps, or restrictions or are 

abraded, exposing inner fabric; tubing or connections leak 

or are crimped, restricted, cracked, or broken; or any 

valves leak or are inoperative. 

a. Reject the vehicle if the brake hoses or tubing are 

stretched or extended and do not allow for suspension 

movement. 

b. Brake tubing and hoses must be: 

(1) Long and flexible enough to accommodate without 

damage all normal motions of the parts to which they are 

attached; 

(2) Secured against chaffing, kinking, or other 

mechanical damage; and 

(3) Installed in a manner that prevents them from 

contacting the vehicle's exhaust system or any other 

source of high temperatures. 
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11. Any hydraulic brake tubing has been repaired using a 

compression fitting. 

12. Brakes are not equalized so as to stop the vehicle on a 

straight line. 

13. There is less than 1/5 reserve in actuator travel of the 

service brake when fully applied on all hydraulic, 

mechanical, or power-assisted hydraulic braking systems. 

14. When tested on dry, hard, approximately level road 

free from loose material, at a speed of 20 miles per hour 

without leaving a 12-foot wide lane, results in excess of the 

following distances are obtained:  

(When in doubt about a vehicle's stopping ability, the 

inspector shall conduct a road test.) 

a. Any motor vehicle (except motorcycles, trucks, and 

tractor-trucks with semitrailers attached) four wheel 

brakes - 25 feet. 

b. Any motor vehicle (except motorcycles, trucks, and 

tractor-trucks with semitrailers attached) two wheel 

brakes - 45 feet. 

c. All combinations of vehicles - 40 feet. 

19VAC30-70-90. Brakes: emergency, parking, or holding; 

batteries. 

A. Some vehicles are equipped with an actual emergency 

brake, while others have only a parking or holding brake. 

Some types may be actuated by a foot or hand lever, while 

others may incorporate a switch or valve to actuate the brake. 

Air and vacuum brake systems may employ spring activating 

parking brakes. 

B. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Vehicle or combination of vehicles is not equipped with 

a parking, holding, or emergency brake in good working 

order of the type installed as original standard factory 

equipment for the vehicle on which it is installed. 

2. The parking brake actuating mechanism does not fully 

release when the control is operated to the off position or if 

the parking brake lamp light remains on. 

NOTE: The light does not apply to vehicles that are not 

equipped with a parking (emergency) brake indicator light. 

3. Any mechanical parts are missing, broken, badly worn, 

or are inoperative. 

4. Cables are stretched, worn, or frayed or not operating 

freely. 

5. Grease or other contamination is present on the linings, 

drums, or rotors.  

6. Parking brake will not hold the vehicle stationary with 

the engine running at slightly accelerated speed with shift 

lever in drive position for automatic transmission or shift 

lever in low gear with clutch engaged for standard shift 

transmission. 

7. Holding brake will not disengage when engine is started 

and vehicle is placed in drive. Holding brake will not hold 

vehicle stationary with foot on holding brake and vehicle 

in drive. 

8. On vehicles equipped with automatic transmissions, the 

vehicle will start in any gear other than (P) park and (N) 

neutral. If the gearshift indicator does not identify the park 

(P) and neutral (N) positions, then the vehicle shall be 

rejected. 

9. On vehicles equipped with manual transmissions, the 

vehicle will start in any gear if the clutch is not depressed 

or disengaged. 

NOTE: This will not apply to older model vehicles, which 

were not originally equipped with a neutral-safety switch, 

clutch disengagement system or clutch pedal position 

sensor by the manufacturer. 

10. The accelerator does not disengage after being 

depressed, allowing the engine to return to a normal idle 

speed.      

11. Any battery is not attached to a fixed part of the motor 

vehicle and protected by a removable cover or enclosure if 

the battery is installed in a location other than the engine 

compartment. This includes all brackets, hardware, bolts, 

and bushings used for securely mounting the battery to the 

vehicle. 

a. Removable covers or enclosures shall be substantial 

and shall be securely latched or fastened. 

b. The battery compartment shall have openings to 

provide ample battery ventilation and drainage. 

c. Whenever the cable to the starting motor passes 

through a metal compartment, the cable shall be 

protected against grounding by an acid and waterproof 

insulating bushing. 

d. Whenever a battery and a fuel tank are both placed 

under the driver's seat, they shall be partitioned from 

each other, and each compartment shall be provided with 

an independent cover, ventilation, and drainage. 

C. Battery mounting and storage. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. A battery is not securely attached to a fixed part of the 

motor vehicle or trailer. A battery is not protected by a 

removable cover or enclosure if the battery is installed in a 

location other than the engine compartment. 

2. All brackets, hardware, bolts, and bushings used for 

securely mounting the battery to the vehicle are not 

present. 

3. Removable covers or enclosures are not substantial and 

are not securely latched or fastened. 

4. The battery compartment does not have openings to 

provide ample battery ventilation and drainage. 

5. Whenever the cable to the starting motor passes through 

a metal compartment, the cable shall be protected against 

grounding by an acid and waterproof insulating bushing. 
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6. Whenever a battery and a fuel tank are both placed 

under the driver's seat, (i) the battery and fuel tank are not 

partitioned from each other or (ii) each compartment is not 

provided with an independent cover, ventilation, and 

drainage. 

19VAC30-70-100. Brakes: trailer (GVWR less than 10,000 

pounds).  

Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Trailer brakes do not comply with 19VAC30-70-80 and 

19VAC30-70-90.  

2. Operator does not have full control over brakes. For the 

purpose of this subdivision, surge brakes are considered to 

be in control of the operator.  

3. All Breakaway braking devices are missing or 

inoperative or cable is frayed or broken, or trailers, 

manufactured or assembled after January 1, 1964, having 

an actual gross weight of 3,000 pounds or more are not 

equipped with emergency breakaway brakes designed to:  

a. Apply automatically upon breakaway from towing 

vehicle.  

b. Remain fully applied for at least 15 minutes.  

c. Apply and release by operation of the manual 

emergency control.  

4. A minimum of one wheel must be removed from each 

axle equipped with brakes to inspect the brake 

components.  

NOTE: Trailers having an actual gross weight of 3,000 

pounds or more, but with a manufacturer's gross weight 

rating of less than 10,000 pounds, need not be equipped 

with brakes on all wheels.  

a. Exception: Wheels on trailers equipped with open 

brake mechanisms are not required to be removed.  

b. The inspection receipt approval and rejection shall be 

marked to reflect on which side the wheel, drum, or 

wheels were pulled dust cover was removed or inspected.  

19VAC30-70-110. Steering and suspension. 

A. The steering and suspension systems installed and 

utilized on motor vehicles have evolved to where many 

different suspension systems are being designed, developed, 

and employed on vehicles. To properly inspect the steering 

and suspension on vehicles, it may be necessary for the 

inspection to be made in accordance with manufacturer's 

recommended procedures in addition to meeting any 

requirements outlined in this regulation. 

B. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Any modification has been made that affects normal 

functioning of the shock absorbers. The inspector should 

operate the vehicle when in doubt. (If there is no evidence 

of the convolutions (coils) of the spring hitting one 

another, one pair (two) of nonmetallic coil spring 

stabilizers may be present in each of a vehicle's front coil 

springs, provided the installation of the stabilizers does not 

cause the springs to be higher than their original height.) 

Shock absorbers in fully extended or compressed positions 

when the vehicle is stationary will not function normally. 

2. The front end suspension has been modified by the use 

of lift blocks. (A lift block is defined as any solid piece of 

wood, metal, or other material placed between and 

separating the vehicle's front axle and the springs.) This 

does not prohibit the use of shims that may be necessary to 

correct front end alignment. 

3. Any modification has been made to the front end 

suspension which reduces turning radius, bypasses safety 

components of original steering mechanism or if there is 

any lateral movement between the axle and frame. 

4. Any modification has been made to the suspension to 

cause the vehicle body or chassis to come in contact with 

the ground or expose the fuel tank to damage from 

collision. 

Reject the vehicle if it has been modified by any means so 

as to raise its body more than three inches above the 

manufacturer's attachment points or the frame rail (exclude 

original manufacturer's spacers, washers or bushings when 

measuring).  

5. Any modification has been made to cause the wheels to 

come in contact with the body or frame under normal 

operating conditions. 

6. A motor vehicle has a repair kit or preventive 

maintenance kit installed on a tie rod end, idler arm, ball 

joint, or any other part of the vehicle's steering gear. 

NOTE: The repair kit or preventive maintenance kit 

usually consists of a small coil spring and a plastic cap that 

is placed over the bolt stud of the component and held in 

place by a retaining nut. There is nothing in this paragraph 

that prohibits the replacement of parts or components of a 

motor vehicle's steering gear in order to correct 

deficiencies in the steering gear. 

7. When checked visually, the wheels appear to be out of 

line or an axle is bent. 

8. Any vehicle that shimmies or wanders at normal 

operating speeds. 

9. Rack and pinion steering bellows (boot) is defective or 

missing. Do not inspect CV boots, CV joints, or universal 

joints on rear wheel drive vehicles. 

NOTE: CV boots on the vehicle shall not be rejected if the 

CV boots are defective or missing. 

10. Power steering is defective and affects adequate 

steering of the vehicle or power steering fluid in reservoir 

is below operating level, or if there is an obvious leak of 

power steering fluid. Do not reject for dampness. 

NOTE: If the vehicle is equipped with power steering, the 

engine must be running during testing. 
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11. Power steering hoses have any cracks, crimps, or 

restrictions or are abraded, exposing inner fabric; tubing or 

connections leak or are crimped, restricted, cracked, or 

broken. Power steering tubing and hoses must be secured 

against chaffing, kinking, or other mechanical damage and 

be installed in a manner that prevents contact with the 

vehicle's exhaust system or any other source of high 

temperatures. 

11. 12. Power steering belt does not have sufficient 

tension, is frayed, or missing. The serpentine belt should 

only be rejected if a chunk of the ribbing is missing or a 

deep cut or crack exposes the inner fabric of the belt. (Do 

not reject for the many little surface cracks that appear in 

the ribs or back.) 

12. 13. Any modification has been made to any part of the 

steering or suspension system that affects proper steering 

or suspension or any part of the original suspension system 

has been disconnected. 

NOTE: "All thread rod material" shall not be used as U-

bolts in the suspension system. 

Vehicles registered as street rods may substitute any part of 

the original suspension system provided the components 

are installed in accordance with the component 

manufacturers' specifications. 

13. 14. Any modification or replacement has been made to 

the steering wheel that affects proper steering. The steering 

wheel shall be rejected if the outside diameter is less than 

13 inches unless original factory equipment. 

14. 15. Steering column has any absence or looseness of 

bolts or positioning parts, resulting in motion of the 

steering column from its normal position. 

15. 16. A spring is broken, sagging or misaligned, shackles 

are worn or loose, or if air bags are collapsed or the air 

suspension system leaks or is deflated. 

CAUTION: Underneath inspection of a vehicle equipped 

with air suspension with excessive leak down could result 

in serious personal injury. 

16. Vehicles designed for shock 17. Shock absorbers or 

cross stabilizer links if any are disconnected or, broken, 

bent, loose, or do not function properly on vehicles with 

this design. 

17. 18. Any front or rear axle or suspension positioning 

parts are cracked, broken, loose, worn, bent or missing, 

resulting in shifting of an axle from the normal position. 

Any control arm or suspension positioning part using 

bushings for control, support and normal functioning is 

deteriorated, damaged or missing. 

NOTE: All rear suspension parts including but not limited 

to control arms (upper and lower ball joints, radius or 

torque arms, stabilizer bars, and trailing arms) shall not 

have any damage or noticeable play when checked with 

hand pressure.  

18. 19. A MacPherson strut installed on a motor vehicle is 

broken, bent, loose or does not function properly. 

NOTE: Do not reject a shock absorber or MacPherson strut 

unless there is evidence of leakage that causes the device 

not to function properly. 

19. 20. If vehicles measured movement at top or bottom of 

tire is greater than: 

Wheel 

Size: 

less than 17 inches - 1/4 inch 

  17 to 18 inches - 3/8 inch 

  over 18 inches - 1/2 inch 

 

Proper lifting for wheel bearing, steering linkage 

looseness, and king pin play action 

FIGURE A FIGURE B  FIGURE C 

NOTE: King pin play. If vehicle is equipped with king 

pins, first eliminate all wheel bearing movement by 

applying service brake. With front end lifted as illustrated 

for inspecting wheel bearings (Figure C), grasp the tire at 

the top and bottom and attempt to move it in and out to 

detect looseness. Measure the movement at the top or 

bottom of the tire at the outer circumference. 

C. Wheel bearing/steering linkage.  

Reject vehicle if any wheel bearing is excessively worn or 

not properly adjusted; any cotter key or other locking device 

is missing or inoperative. 

NOTE: Lifting techniques vary for measuring wheel 

bearing movement. On vehicles with coil spring or torsion 

bar on lower support arm - hoist at frame (Figure A). On 

vehicles with coil spring on upper support arm - hoist at 

lower support arm (Figure B). On front wheel drive 

vehicles, the inspector must consult manufacturer's lifting 

information. 

NOTE: With vehicle lifted properly, grasp tire at top and 

bottom, rock in and out and record movement. Wheel 

bearing looseness is detected by the relative movement 

between the brake drum or disc and the braking plate or 

splash shield.  

CAUTION: If air suspension vehicles are hoisted via body 

support area, air spring damage may occur if the air 
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suspension switch is not turned off. Reject vehicle if 

relative movement between drum and backing plate (disc 

and splash shield) is more than 1/8 inch measured at the 

outer circumference of the tire.  

D. Steering linkage play.  

1. Reject vehicle if measured movement at front or rear of 

tire is greater than: 

Wheel 

Size: 

16 inches or less - 1/4 inch (6.5mm) 

  17 to 18 inches - 3/8 inch (9.5mm) 

  over 18 inches - 1/2 inch (13mm) 

 

NOTE: First eliminate all wheel-bearing movement by 

applying service brake. With vehicle lifted as shown in the 

diagram and wheels in straight-ahead position, grasp front 

and rear of tire and attempt to move assembly right and left 

without moving the steering gear. 

2.  Reject vehicle if the steering mechanism is unusually 

tight or binding when turning the steering wheel 

completely to the left or right or the steering mechanism 

will not turn in both directions stop to stop. 

3. Reject vehicle if the steering stops have been removed 

or adjusted in so that steering radius is reduced. 

E. Steering lash/travel. Reject vehicle if inspection reveals 

excessive wear and/or looseness in any ball stud, end 

assembly, pivot point, mechanical linkage and/or if steering 

gear box has any loose or missing bolts, or excessive wear, 

and/or looseness is found at any other location in the steering 

that adversely affects the steering of the vehicle. 

NOTE: For vehicles equipped with power steering, the 

engine must be running and the fluid level, belt tension and 

belt condition must be adequate before testing.  

With road wheels in straight ahead position, turn steering 

wheel until motion can be detected at the front road 

wheels. Align a reference mark on the steering wheel 

with a mark on a ruler and slowly turn steering wheel in 

the opposite direction until motion can again be detected 

at the front road wheel (see diagram). Measure lash at 

steering wheel. Special lash-checking instruments may 

be used to measure free play in inches or degrees. Such 

instruments should always be mounted and used 

according to the manufacturer's instructions. Reject 

vehicle if steering wheel movement exceeds:  

Power - 2 inches 

Manual - 3 inches 

Rack & Pinion - (Power or Manual) - 0.4 inch - see note 

NOTE: No play is permissible for Volkswagen and Audi 

vehicles - consult respective manufacturer's 

specifications. 

 

 

F. Steering lash/travel; trucks.  

NOTE: Before inspection, the vehicle must be placed on a 

smooth, dry, level surface. For vehicles equipped with 

power steering, the engine must be running and the fluid 

level, belt tension and belt condition must be adequate 

before testing. With road wheels in straight ahead position, 

turn steering wheel until motion can be detected at the 

front road wheels. Align a reference mark on steering 

wheel with a mark on a ruler and slowly turn steering 

wheel in the opposite direction until motion can be 

detected at the front road wheel. Measure lash at steering 

wheel. Special lash-checking instruments are also 

available, measuring free play in inches or degrees. Such 

instruments should always be mounted and used according 

to the manufacturer's instructions. With vehicle raised, 

visually inspect steering linkage, ball studs, tie rod end 

socket assemblies and all pivot points. 

NOTE: On vehicles with power steering, engine must be 

running. 

Reject vehicle if steering wheel movement exceeds: 

Steering Wheel Size and Lash 
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Steering wheel 

diameter 

Power steering 

system 

Manual steering 

system 

16 inches or less 2 inches  

(51 mm) 

4-1/4 inches  

(108 mm) 

18 inches 2-1/4 inches  

(57 mm) 

4-3/4 inches  

(121 mm) 

19 inches 2-3/8 inches  

(60 mm) 

5 inches  

(127 mm) 

20 inches 2-1/2 inches  

(64 mm) 

5-1/4 inches  

(133 mm) 

21 inches 2-5/8 inches  

(67 mm)  

5-1/2 inches  

(140 mm) 

22 inches 2-3/4 inches  

(70 mm) 

5-3/4 inches  

(146 mm) 

G. Ball joint wear (front and rear). There is a trend among 

U.S. automobile manufacturers toward the use of "wear-

indicating" ball joints. Many vehicles on the road, however, 

do not have wear-indicating ball joints. The inspection of 

both types will be discussed. With the broadening use of rear 

suspension ball joints, their inspection shall be made in 

accordance with manufacturer's recommended procedures. 

Figures 1, 2, 3 and 4 illustrate the proper hoisting for 

checking most ball joints. On late model vehicles, it may be 

necessary to check for both horizontal and vertical movement. 

Figures 1, 2, 3 and 4 illustrate the proper hoisting for 

checking ball joints. 

 

 

NOTE: To check ball joint wear on vehicles when the 

spring is supported on the upper control arm or when the 

spring is a part of a MacPherson strut or wear in any other 

type suspension not using ball joints when the front wheels 

are suspended on a solid axle, the vehicle must be hoisted 

as shown in Figure 1 or 2. 

NOTE: Upper control arm must be stabilized in normal 

load carrying position by means of an upper control or 

other support tool to insure ball joint is in unloaded 

position. 

NOTE: To check ball joint wear on vehicles not listed in 

above referred to section and diagram or tables when the 

spring is supported on the lower control arm; and to check 

the king pin wear in any other type suspension not 

previously described when the wheels are independently 

suspended, the vehicle must be hoisted as shown in Figure 

3 or 4. 

H. Ball joints without wear indicators (front and rear). 

1. If play is detected in any ball joint without "wear-

indicating" ball joints, it will be necessary for the 

inspection to be made in accordance with the 

manufacturer's recommended procedures and 

specifications prior to rejecting the vehicle. 

2. If there are no manufacturer's recommended procedures 

and specifications, the lower ball joints will be checked 

when hoisted as in Figures 1 or 2 of subsection G of this 

section, or in the upper ball joints when hoisted as in 

Figures 3 or 4 of subsection G of this section. There should 

be no noticeable play detected in the ball joints when 

checked in this manner. 

3. Reject vehicle if play exceeds the manufacturer's 

specifications. Inspectors shall use a dial indicator or ball 

joint checking gauge when checking for play of a ball 

joint, when procedures and specifications are provided by 

the manufacturer. 

I. Ball joints with wear indicators. Support vehicle with ball 

joints loaded (in normal driving attitude). Wipe grease fitting 

and checking surface free of dirt and grease. Determine if 

checking surface extends beyond the surface of the ball joint 

cover. 

Reject vehicle if checking surface is flush with or inside 

the cover surface. 
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J. American Motors Pacer (only). Position vehicle on level 

surface. Remove lubrication plug from lower ball joint. 

Check lower ball joint clearance by inserting stiff wire or thin 

rod into lubrication plug hole until it contacts ball stud. 

Accurately mark rod with knife or scriber where it aligned 

with outer edge of plug hole. Distance from ball stud to outer 

edge of plug hole is ball joint clearance. Measure distance 

from mark to end of rod. (Anything less than 7/16 inch is 

acceptable.) 

Reject vehicle if distance measured is 7/16 inch or more. 

 

 

K. Chrysler front-wheel drive vehicles (lower only). With 

the weight of the vehicle resting on the road wheels, grasp the 

grease fitting as shown below and attempt to move fitting. No 

mechanical assistance or added force is necessary. 

Reject vehicle if grease fitting shows any movement. 

  

 

19VAC30-70-120. Frame, engine mounts, coupling devices 

and emergency chains. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Frame or unitized body of any motor vehicle, trailer or 

semitrailer is broken, cracked, bent or damaged at any 

location, including any welded joint and/or is rusted or 

corroded to the point the frame is weakened as to constitute 

a hazard during the operation of the vehicle. 

2. Engine or transmission mounts and hardware is broken 

or missing. This includes all hardware bolts and bushings 

used for mounting to the vehicle's frame, engine, or 

transmission. Any engine or transmission mount should 

shall be rejected if they allow the power train to come in 

contact with the firewall or other body parts.  Cab mounts 

shall be rejected if they do not properly secure the body to 

the frame. 

3. Trailer hitch or pintle hook is not securely attached. 

Reject if the pintle eye or trailer drawbar has any cracks or 

if any welding repairs have been made to the pintle eye. 

4. Chains, cables, etc., used to attach a towed vehicle are 

not securely attached or are broken, worn or abraded. 

5. Fifth wheel does not lock in position or have a locking 

mechanism in proper working order. 

6. Fifth wheel assembly system has any leak of fluid or air. 

7. Fifth wheel has any broken, missing, or damaged parts; 

or is not securely attached to the frame. 

8. Trailer king pin is not secure, or is broken or worn so as 

to prevent secure fit in fifth wheel. 

9. Any movement is detected at any location where any 

device has been placed between the body and the chassis. 

10. Trailer is not equipped with an emergency chain or 

steel cable. 

NOTE: Fifth wheel assembly system does not require an 

emergency chain or cable. A fifth wheel is defined as a 

device which interfaces with and couples to the upper 

coupler assembly of a semitrailer. The upper coupler 

assembly is a structure consisting of an upper coupler 

plate, king pin and supporting framework which interfaces 

with and couples to a fifth wheel. Ball and socket 
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connections also referred to as hitch and coupling 

connections are not fifth wheel assemblies and do require 

an emergency chain or steel cable. 

19VAC30-70-130. Tires; wheels; rims. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Any tire is marked specifically for use other than on the 

highway such as "For Farm Use Only," or "For Off-

Highway Use Only," or "For Mobile Home Use Only," or 

"For Trailer Use Only." 

2. A radial tire is mismatched on the same axle with a bias 

ply tire or a bias belted tire. 

3. Bias ply or bias belted tires are used on the rear axle 

when radial ply tires are used on the front axle.  

EXCEPTION: On a two-axle vehicle equipped with truck 

tires with 20-inch rim diameter and larger, bias or radial 

tires may be used on either axle if the vehicle has dual rear 

wheels or is equipped with wide-base single tires. 

4. A vehicle has installed on any axle a space saver 

emergency spare tire that is intended for temporary use. 

5. Any motor vehicle, trailer or semitrailer, except the dual 

wheels installed on motor vehicles having seats for more 

than seven passengers (i) operated wholly within a 

municipality or (ii) operated by urban and suburban bus 

lines, which are defined as bus lines operating over 

regularly scheduled routes and the majority of whose 

passengers use the buses for traveling a distance not 

exceeding 40 miles, measured one way, on the same day 

between their place of abode and their place of work, 

shopping areas, or schools, is equipped with a tire that has 

a tread depth measuring less than 2/32 of an inch when 

measured as follows: 

NOTE: The exemptions provided in (i) and (ii) of this 

paragraph do not apply to buses owned or operated by any 

public school district, private school or contract operator of 

buses. 

NOTE: Measure in two adjacent tread grooves where tread 

is thinnest. Refer to Figure 1. If either of the grooves 

measure 2/32 of an inch or more, no further measurements 

are necessary and tread depth is satisfactory. Do not take 

measurements from the tread wear indicators. 

6. If both adjacent grooves measure less than 2/32 of an 

inch, the tire tread depth must be measured again at two 

additional equally spaced intervals around the 

circumference of the tire in a like manner as the first 

measurement. Refer to Figure 1. If the tread depth is less 

than 2/32 of an inch in two adjacent tread grooves at each 

of the equally spaced intervals, the tire must be rejected. 

  MEASURE WHERE THE TREAD IS THINNEST 

IN TWO ADJACENT TREAD GROOVES 

    

 

FIGURE 1 

IF THE DEPTH IS LESS THAN 2/32-INCH IN 

BOTH GROOVES, MEASURE AT TWO 

ADDITIONAL EQUALLY SPACED INTERVALS 

7. A tire equipped with tread wear indicators if found to 

have such indicators in contact with the pavement in any 

two adjacent grooves at three equally spaced intervals 

around the circumference of the tire. Refer to Figure 2. 

  

 
FIGURE 2 

REJECT IF THE TREAD WEAR 

INDICATORS ARE IN CONTACT WITH THE 

PAVEMENT IN ANY TWO ADJACENT 

GROOVES AT THREE EQUALLY SPACED 

LOCATIONS 
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8. Any tire has a cut or puncture into the fabric. This does 

not include a plug or patch that may be used as a manner of 

repair. 

NOTE: Plugs/patches shall be in the tread area only. 

Plugs/patches are not permitted in the sidewall of the tire. 

9. Any tire is worn so that the fabric or steel cord is visible. 

10. Any tire has knots or bulges in its sidewalls or if there 

is evidence of a broken belt under the tread, or if the tread 

is separating from the fabric. Any cracks in the sidewall 

where separation in the rubber is detected or the fabric is 

exposed, not to include fine hairline cracks.  

11. Any tire that has been recut or regrooved except 

commercial tires so designed and constructed to provide 

for acceptable and safe recutting and regrooving. 

(Regrooved tires must be identified on each sidewall as a 

regrooved tire.) 

12. Any wheel studs, bolts, nuts or, lugs, or other fasteners 

(both spoke and disc wheels) are loose, broken, cracked, 

stripped, missing or, damaged, or otherwise ineffective.  

13. Wheels are installed on the vehicle in a reversed 

position, except the wheels on vehicles that are reversed to 

perform part of a dual wheel combination. 

14. Directional tires and/or wheels designed and 

manufactured to travel in one direction of rotation are not 

properly installed. 

15. Rims or wheels are bent, cracked, or damaged so as to 

affect safe operation of the vehicle. Reject if lug nut holes 

are elongated (out of round). 

NOTE: Refer to subdivision 1 of 19VAC30-70-180 

(Clearance lamps and reflectors) for tires that exceed more 

than four inches from the body. 

19VAC30-70-140. Headlamps; except motorcycles. 

A. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Any motor vehicle is not equipped with headlamps of an 

approved type. The headlamps must be marked with the 

headlamp manufacturer's name or trademark, and DOT. If 

the headlamp bulbs are replaceable, the headlamp lens 

must be marked with the headlamp light source type (bulb) 

for which it was designed and the bulb must match the lens 

code. 

2. Headlights are not of the same approved type (Halogen, 

HID, etc.) except sealed beam headlamps. At least two 

headlamps are required. 

3. In any headlamp the lens is cracked, broken, discolored, 

or rotated away from the proper position, or the reflector is 

not clean and bright. 

4. Moisture or water buildup in headlamp is such that it 

affects the aiming pattern. 

5.  Headlamps omit light other than white. Light tints of 

color may be acceptable if the headlamp and headlamp 

bulbs are marked as required.  

6. Bulbs are not of an approved type and marked with all 

of the following: light source type, the manufacturer's 

name or trade mark, and DOT.  

NOTE:    

-  Approved headlamp bulbs: HB1, HB2, HB3, HB3A, 

HB4, HB4A, HB5, H1, H3, H7, H8, H8B, H9, H9B, H11, 

H11B, H11C, H13, H13C, H15, HIR1, HIR2. 

-  Approved headlamp bulbs that require ballast:  9500, 

D1R, D1S, D2R, D2S, D3R, D3S, D4R, D4S, D5S, D7S, 

D8S.  

-  Approved headlamp ballasts must be marked with the 

light source type (bulb) and DOT. The bulb type marked 

on the ballast must match the marking on the headlamp 

lens. 

7. Any filament or bulb in headlamps fails to burn properly 

or headlamps are not at the same location or configuration 

as designed by manufacturer. (Location and type of 

headlamps can be found in subsection F of this section.) 

8. Wiring is dangling or connections are loose; or if proper 

filaments do not burn at different switch positions; or if 

switches, including foot or hand dimmer, do not function 

properly and are not convenient to the driver. 

9. Foreign material is placed on or in front of the headlamp 

lens or interferes with the beam from the lamp. No glazing 

may be placed over or in front of the headlamps unless it is 

a part of an approved headlamp assembly. 

a. Reject if vehicle has wire, unapproved lens or plastic 

covers, any other materials that are not original 

equipment or any colored material placed on or in front 

of the headlamps. 

b. Vehicles registered as street rods may have clear, rigid 

plastic or glass headlamp lens covers in front of sealed 

beam units to replace original manufacturer's equipment. 

c. EXCEPTION: A clean impact film known as Headlight 

Savers produced by Grand Prix Motoring Accessories may 

be applied to the headlight lens to absorb impact of rocks, 

etc. 

10. Lamps can be moved easily by hand due to a broken 

fender or loose support, or if a good ground is not made by 

the mounting. 

11. Headlamps, auxiliary driving lamps and front fog 

lamps are not mounted so that the beams are aimable and 

the mounting does not prevent the aim of the lighting 

device from being disturbed while the vehicle is operating 

on public roads. All lamps shall be securely mounted on a 

rigid part of the vehicle. 

12. A headlamp visor is over two inches long unless part of 

the original body design. 

13. The high beam indicator in the driver's compartment 

does not burn when the high beam is on or does not go off 

when the low beam is on. (Vehicles not originally 
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equipped with an indicator are not required to comply 

unless sealed beam headlamps have been installed.) 

B. Aiming the headlamps. 

1. Headlamps shall be checked for proper aim by using an 

optical headlamp aimer on every motor vehicle inspected, 

except vehicles with on-board aimers. 

Headlamp aim on vehicles with on-board aimers shall be 

checked by visually examining the leveling device 

mounted either on or adjacent to the headlamp. Reject the 

vehicle if the leveling device shows the headlamp 

adjustment to exceed indicated specifications. 

NOTE: Driving lamp and fog lamps must be aimed using 

the optical aimer, according to instructions in 19VAC30-

70-160 I 10 i and 11 g (2). 

2. Headlamps are not aimed within the following 

tolerances using the optical aimer. 

a. The center of the hot spot of all single element high 

beam lamps is set more than four inches up or down from 

the horizontal centerline or more than four inches to the 

left or right from the vertical centerline. 

b. The left edge of the lamp pattern of any low beam 

lamp or any combination or multi-element lamp is more 

than four inches to the left or right of the vertical 

centerline or the top edge of the lamp pattern is more 

than four inches above or below the horizontal centerline 

when checked on low beam.  

C. Optical aimer. 

1. Approved optical headlamp machines shall be used to 

properly aim all headlamps, except vehicles with on-board 

aimers. Optical aimers must be properly calibrated and 

used in the manner recommended by the manufacturer. 

The optical headlamp machine must be aligned to the 

vehicle in accordance with the manufacturer's 

specifications. 

2. When aiming headlamps, first look for the type of lamp, 

which will be found embossed on the lens. The type 

determines which aiming requirements must be followed 

for the optical aimer. 

3. All low beam or combination/multi-element headlamps 

must be set by aiming the lamp pattern with the lamps set 

on low beam. 

NOTE: If attempting to align a composite or sealed beam 

lamp with a high and low beam within the same housing, 

align only the low beam. If aligning a four-lamp system 

with high and low beams in separate housings, it may be 

necessary to cover the low beam while aligning the high 

beam, if all four lamps are on at the same time. 

4. Pattern should be aimed so that the left edge does not 

extend to the left or right of straight ahead, and the top of 

the pattern should be even with the horizontal. 

Pattern "A" represents the light pattern as it should appear 

on the view screen of the approved aimer when checking 

the low-beam pattern on a single element headlamp or a 

combination multi-element headlamp. 

 

5. All VOL and VOR headlamps will be aimed as follows: 

To properly aim a combination multi-element or low-

beam VOL or VOR headlamp assembly, the headlamp 

pattern should be aimed on low beam only. 

Letters marked on the headlamp cover should properly 

identify VOL and VOR headlamps. 

NOTE: VOL and VOR headlamps will normally have 

only one adjustment, which will be for the vertical aim 

only. The horizontal aim should be disregarded, as the 

horizontal aim is preset at the factory. 

6. All single element high beam headlamps shall be set by 

aiming the center of the hot spot with the lamps set on high 

beam. 

7. Aim straight ahead-center of the hot spot should be 

centered with the vertical and horizontal centerlines. 

Pattern "B" represents the light pattern as it should appear 

on the view screen of the approved aimers. 

 

8. When lamp pairs are mounted horizontally, the low 

beam lamp must be on the outer side and when mounted 
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vertically, the low beam lamp must be at the higher 

position in the pair. 

9. The four headlamp system must be wired so that only 

the lower beam lamp will burn when the light beams are 

depressed. When switched to high beams, both high beam 

and low beam may burn. 

The "F" type halogen headlamp 1986 (LF-UF) of the four 

headlamp system will function in the following manner: 

system must be used so the low beam does not burn with 

the high beam. 

D. Headlamps on vehicles used for snow removal. Approved 

auxiliary headlamps may be mounted above the conventional 

headlamps. (These lamps must be in compliance with this 

section in its entirety, subdivision 7 of 19VAC30-70-150, and 

subdivision 1 of 19VAC30-70-170.) 

E. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Lamps are not an approved type as previously indicated 

in section A 6. 

2. Lamps are not mounted in a manner that will permit 

proper aiming. 

3. Lamps are mounted so as to obstruct the driver's vision. 

4. The auxiliary headlamp circuit does not contain a switch 

that will deactivate the primary headlamp system when the 

auxiliary headlamps are in use. 

5. Auxiliary headlamps are not aimed in accordance with 

the provisions of subdivision B 2 of this section. 

6. Headlamps are not wired in accordance with the 

provisions of subdivision C 8 of this section. 

NOTE: Light patterns shown in the following diagram will 

be displayed on the most recently approved light machines 

produced by Hopkins and Symtech Corporations. 

HEADLAMP PATTERNS 
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NOTE: Always inspect the following sealed beam and 

replaceable bulb and integral beam headlamps on LOW 

BEAM only: 

- 5-3/4 inch, marked 2, 2C, or 2C1 

- 7 inch, marked 2, 2D, or 2D1 

- 100 X 165mm rectangular, marked 2A, 2A1, or 2E1, 

2G1 or 2H1  

- 200 X 142mm rectangular, marked 2B or 2B1  

- Replaceable bulb headlamp, marked LF with 9004 

(HB1)  

- 92 X 160mm rectangular, marked LF  

- Replaceable bulb headlamps with 9006 (HB4) alone or 

in combination with 9005 (HB3)  

- 55 X 135mm rectangular, marked L  

- Integral beam headlamp when high and low beam 

reflectors move together.  

19VAC30-70-150. Rear lamps: tail lamp; license plate 

lamps; and rear lamp combinations. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Vehicle is not equipped with a rear (tail lamp) or rear 

lamp combination of an approved type or light assembly 

does not work as designed by the manufacturer. The 

approval designation letters that must appear are DOT or 

SAE-A-I-S-T-P for single lamps, DOT or SAE-A-I-S-T-P-

R with a backup light, DOT or SAE-A-I-S-T-P-P2-R with 

a wrap around side-marker lamp and backup light.  

2. The vehicle is equipped with more than one rear lamp, if 

all are not in operating condition. 

3. The vehicle is not equipped with a license plate lamp of 

an approved type (DOT or SAE-L) that emits a white light. 

The license plate lamp may be a separate lamp or part of a 

combination rear lamp. 

4. License plate is not illuminated by an approved license 

plate lamp that admits emits a white light. 

5. Lens on rear lamps, or lens area in combination rear 

lamps (tail lamps) are not red or contain a dot of another 

color. LED light-emitting (light-emitting diode) lights with 

a clear lens are acceptable if of an approved type. For those 

vehicles that are equipped with a multiple LED light (not 

filament-burning bulbs), they will pass inspection if more 

than 50% of the diode lights are burning. 

NOTE: Replacement tail lamps, commonly sold as "clear" 

tail lamps or "Euro-Tail" lamps will not pass inspection if 

the red lamps are replaced with clear ones. 

6. Lens has piece broken from it or does not fit properly. 

The lens may have one or more cracks provided an off-

color light does not project through the crack or cracks. 

NOTE: Taping or gluing cracks or pieces is not permitted. 

7. Filament in all rear (tail) lamps does not burn when 

headlamp switch is turned on to any position, or if lamps 

do not provide a red light visible to the rear through an 

approved red lens as annotated in subdivision 1 of this 

section. If it is a rear lamp combination incorporated with a 

wrap around side-marker light, then the side-marker lens 

must be red and not a clear lens with a red bulb. If the bulb, 

socket and wiring are removed from the side-marker 

lamps, then they will not be considered during the 

inspection. 

8. Rear (tail) lamp is not mounted near extreme rear of 

vehicle. Dump trucks and other specially constructed 

vehicles may mount the rear lamp at a point other than on 

the extreme rear, provided such rear lamp is clearly visible 

from the rear, and further provided that a red reflector of an 

approved type is mounted on the extreme rear. In unusual 

cases, the rear lamp may be mounted on the cab. Reject if 

the lamp is hidden by a bolster or other part of the body or 

frame, is not mounted securely, or if the lamp does not 

make a good electrical contact. 
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9. The vehicle has wire, unapproved lens or plastic covers, 

any other materials that are not original equipment or any 

colored material placed on or in front of rear lamps, license 

plate lamps and rear lamp combinations. 

10. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 

filaments do not burn. 

NOTE: Every trailer shall carry at the rear two red tail 

lights of a type approved by the superintendent. 

19VAC30-70-160. Auxiliary lamps: backup; cornering; 

driving; fog; spot and warning. 

A. Auxiliary lamps on a vehicle consist of seven general 

types: backup lamps (SAE-R), cornering lamps (SAE-K), 

driving lamps (SAE-Y), front fog lamps with an amber or 

clear lens (SAE-F and rear fog lamps with red lens (SAE-F2), 

spot lamps (SAE-O), warning lamps (SAE-W, W2, W3), and 

daytime running lamps (DRLs) (SAE-Y2). 

B. School buses may be equipped with an eight-lamp 

warning system of two red and two amber warning lamps of 

an approved type (SAE-W2) on the front and rear of such 

vehicle. 

1. School buses may also be equipped with roof-mounted 

flashing white or amber warning lamps of an approved 

type (SAE-W2). 

2. In addition to required warning lamps, school buses may 

be equipped with a stop signal arm consisting of an 

octagonal sign which meets FMVSS specifications 

(Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards, 49 CFR Part 

571). The stop signal arm shall be reflectorized or be 

equipped with two red warning lamps of an approved type. 

C. There is no limit on the number of backup lamps that a 

vehicle may have so long as they are of an approved type 

(SAE-R). 

D. No more than four lamps, including two headlamps, may 

be lighted at any time to provide general illumination ahead 

of the vehicle. 

E. Approved type (DOT or SAE-W) blue or blue and red 

lights are permitted on Department of Corrections vehicles 

designated by the Director of the Department of Corrections 

and any law-enforcement vehicle. 

1. Approved type secondary warning lights installed only 

on the four corners, on law-enforcement vehicles, 

Department of Corrections, fire apparatus, government-

owned vehicle operated on official business by a local fire 

chief or other local fire official, rescue squad vehicle, 

ambulance, or any other emergency medical vehicles. 

These lights shall also have primary warning lights 

installed. 

2. The hide-away or undercover strobe lights shall be 

installed in the side marker lights, tail lights or parking 

lights. The strobe itself must be clear and the lens color 

must continue to be the same type and color as originally 

approved. It will not be permissible to install the hide-away 

lights in the headlights or in the backup lights. 

3. Approved type (SAE-W) red warning lights or red and 

white lights showing to the front are permitted on fire 

department vehicles, including publicly-owned state forest 

warden vehicles, ambulances, any rescue vehicle used for 

emergency calls, local department of emergency 

management, animal warden vehicles, school buses and 

vehicles used by security personnel at the Newport News 

Shipbuilding and Drydock Company, Bassett-Walker, 

Incorporated, the Tultex Corporation, the Winchester 

Medical Center, or the National Aeronautics and Space 

Administration's Wallops Flight Facility. 

4. No more than two flashing or steady-burning red lights 

or red and white combination lights of an approved type 

(SAE-W) may be installed on one vehicle owned by any 

member of a fire department, volunteer fire company or 

volunteer rescue squad, any ambulance driver employed by 

a privately-owned ambulance service, and any police 

chaplain. 

F. Vehicles mentioned in subsection E of this section 

permitted to be equipped with flashing, blinking or 

alternating red, red and white, blue, or blue and red 

emergency lights (except vehicles owned by any member of a 

fire department, volunteer fire company, volunteer rescue 

squad or any ambulance driver employed by a privately-

owned ambulance service) may be equipped with the means 

to flash their headlamps when their emergency warning lamps 

are activated provided: 

1. The headlamps are wired to allow either the upper beam 

or lower beam to flash but not both. 

2. The headlamp system includes a switch or device which 

prevents flashing of headlamps when headlamps are 

required to be lighted pursuant to current statute. 

3. Emergency vehicles in Chesapeake, Poquoson, and York 

County may be equipped with flashing headlights that will 

function whenever their warning lights are activated. 

G. Any fire-fighting vehicle, ambulance, rescue or life-

saving vehicle, Virginia Department of Transportation 

vehicle, or tow truck may be equipped with clear auxiliary 

lamps which shall be used exclusively for lighting emergency 

scenes. Such lamps shall be of a type permitted by the 

superintendent. Any government-owned police vehicle may 

be equipped with clear auxiliary lamps of a type approved by 

the superintendent. 

H. Approved type (SAE-W) amber flashing, blinking or 

alternating lights are permitted on vehicles used for the 

principal purpose of towing or servicing disabled vehicles or 

in constructing, maintaining and repairing highways or 

utilities on or along public highways and vehicles used for the 

principal purpose of removing hazardous or polluting 

substances from the state waters or drainage areas on or along 

public highways. Such lamps are permitted on vehicles used 
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for servicing automatic teller machines, refuse collection 

vehicles, hi-rail vehicles and on vehicles used for towing or 

escorting over-dimensional materials, equipment, boats, or 

manufactured housing units by authority of highway hauling 

permit. 

1. Approved type (SAE-W) amber flashing, blinking or 

alternating lights are permitted on fire apparatus, 

government-owned vehicles operated on official business 

by a local fire chief or other local fire official, rescue squad 

vehicles, ambulances, and any other emergency medical 

vehicles to be equipped with alternating blinking or 

flashing red, or red and white secondary lights mounted 

inside the vehicle's tail lights or marker lights. 

2. Approved type (SAE-W) amber flashing, blinking or 

alternating lights are permitted on vehicles owned and used 

by municipal safety officers in the performance of their 

official duties, businesses providing security services and 

vehicles used to collect and deliver the United States mail, 

vehicles used by law-enforcement personnel in the 

enforcement of laws governing motor vehicle parking, 

government-owned law-enforcement vehicles provided the 

lights are used for giving directional warning and vehicles 

used to provide escort for funeral processions. 

3. Approved type (SAE-W) amber flashing, blinking or 

alternating lights are permitted on vehicles used as pace 

cars, security vehicles, or fire-fighting vehicles by any 

speedway or motor vehicle race track. 

4. An approved type (SAE-W) amber flashing, blinking or 

alternating light may be mounted on the rear of any vehicle 

used to transport petroleum products. The light must be 

wired through the reverse gear circuit and activate in 

conjunction with the back-up lights and audible alarm. 

5. An approved type (SAE-W) green warning light is 

permitted on vehicles used by police, fire-fighting, or 

rescue personnel as command centers at the scene of 

incidents. Such lights shall not be activated while the 

vehicle is operating upon the highway. 

I. Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Vehicle has an auxiliary lamp being used for a purpose 

other than for which it was approved. 

EXCEPTION: Any lighting device that is both covered and 

not illuminated, other than lamps required, shall not be 

considered for inspection. Fog and driving lamps mounted 

below the level of the regular headlamps must be checked 

for aim as outlined in subdivisions I 10 i and 11 g of this 

section if not covered. 

NOTE: The covers shall be a type that would be installed 

as original equipment and not tape, paper bags, aluminum 

foil or similar materials per subdivision I 11g (2). 

2. A vehicle has installed on it a warning lamp (DOT or 

SAE-W) that is not of an approved type or has been 

altered. 

Reject if the vehicle has wire, unapproved lens or plastic 

covers, any other materials that are not original equipment 

or any colored material placed on or in front of any 

auxiliary lamps: backup, cornering, driving, fog, spot, or 

warning lamps. 

3. Motor vehicles may be equipped with more than two fog 

or auxiliary lights; however, only two of these types of 

lights can be illuminated at any time. Reject a vehicle 

equipped with a headlamp mounted or used as an auxiliary 

lamp. 

4. Vehicle is equipped with an auxiliary lamp that does not 

function properly. (If an auxiliary lamp has been modified 

by removing the wiring, bulb and socket, the unit will be 

considered an ornament and not a lamp and will not be 

considered in inspection.) 

5. Vehicle is equipped with a lighted advertising sign, 

except commercial motor vehicles, buses operated as 

public carriers, taxicabs, and privately-owned passenger 

cars used for home delivery of commercially prepared 

food. Commercial motor vehicles, buses operated as public 

carriers, and taxicabs may be equipped with vacant and 

destination signs and one steady burning white light for the 

nighttime illumination of external advertising. Privately-

owned passenger cars used for home delivery of 

commercially prepared food may be equipped with one 

steady burning white light for the nighttime illumination of 

a sign identifying the business delivering the food. Do not 

reject approved identification lights. 

6. Any lamp is not of an approved type or if lamps to be 

burned together as a pair do not emit the same color light. 

7. The lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may have 

one or more cracks provided an off-color light does not 

project through the crack or cracks. Taping or gluing 

cracks or pieces is not permitted. 

8. Backup lamps are not required. However, if installed 

they must operate and be inspected. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Lamps are not of an approved type (DOT or SAE-R) 

or a lamp has been altered; 

b. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 

filaments do not burn; 

c. The lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may have 

one or more cracks provided an off-color light does not 

project through the crack or cracks. Taping or gluing 

cracks or pieces is not permitted; 

d. Lens is other than clear. LED light-emitting (light-

emitting diode) lights with a clear lens are acceptable, if 

of an approved type. For those vehicles that are equipped 

with a multiple LED light (not filament-burning bulbs), 

they will pass inspection if more than 50% of the diode 

lights are burning; 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 25, 2016 

3351 

e. Lamps are not wired into the reverse gear or. Vehicles 

manufactured without backup lamps may be wired into 

an independent circuit.  

9. Cornering lamps are not required. However, if installed 

they must operate and be inspected. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Lamps are not of an approved type (DOT or SAE-K) 

or a lamp has been altered; 

b. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 

filaments do not burn; 

c. The lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may have 

one or more cracks provided an off-color light does not 

project through the crack or cracks. Taping or gluing 

cracks or pieces is not permitted; 

d. The color of the light is other than clear or amber; 

e. The lamps do not burn in conjunction with the turn 

signals. 

10. Driving lamps are not required. However, if installed 

they must operate and be inspected. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Driving lamps are installed on vehicles equipped with 

the four-headlamp system, except the "F" type headlamp 

system; 

b. A vehicle is equipped with more than two driving 

lamps; 

c. Driving lamps are not of an approved type or have 

been altered; 

d. The color of the lamp is other than white; 

e. The lens has a piece broken from it or is rotated away 

from its proper position. The lens may have one or more 

cracks provided an off-color light does not project 

through the crack or cracks. Taping or gluing cracks or 

pieces is not permitted; 

f. Wiring or electrical connections are defective; 

g. Any driving lamp is mounted above the level of the 

regular headlamps, or is not mounted firmly to prevent 

excessive vibration; 

h. Driving lamps are not wired so that they will burn only 

when the high beams of the regular headlamps are 

activated; 

i. Driving lamps are not aimed so that the center of the 

hot spot drops three inches in 25 feet so that the hot spot 

is directly ahead of the lamp; 

NOTE: Driving lamps must be aimed using the optical 

headlight aimer. A tolerance of four inches in 25 feet is 

allowed in both the horizontal and the vertical 

adjustment. 

11. Fog lamps are not required. However, if installed they 

must operate and be inspected. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. A vehicle may be equipped with more than two fog 

lamps; however, not more than two fog lamps can be 

illuminated at any time; 

b. Lamps are not of an approved type (DOT or SAE-F on 

front or F2 on rear plus two-digit year and manufacturer) 

or a lamp has been altered;  

c. The lens is other than clear or amber. Fog lamps may 

have black-end bulbs or small metal caps over the end of 

the bulb; 

d. The lens has a piece broken from it or is rotated away 

from its proper position. The lens may have one or more 

cracks provided an off-color light does not project 

through the crack or cracks. Taping or gluing cracks or 

pieces is not permitted; 

e. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 

filaments do not burn; 

f. Any fog lamp is mounted above the level of the regular 

headlamps, or is not mounted firmly; 

g. Lamps are not wired and aimed according to the 

following instructions: 

(1) Fog lamps are general illumination lamps as covered 

in subsection A of this section. They must burn through 

the tail light circuit even if on a separate switch. If 

installed on a vehicle with a four-headlamp system, or a 

vehicle equipped with driving lamps, they must be wired 

into the low beam circuit. 

(2) Fog lamps must be aimed so that the top edge of the 

high intensity zone is set at the horizontal centerline and 

the left edge of the high intensity zone is set at the 

vertical centerline. (Same as low beam headlights.) 

NOTE: Fog lamps must be aimed using the optical 

headlight aimer. A tolerance of four inches in 25 feet is 

allowed in both the horizontal and the vertical 

adjustment. 

12. Spot lamps are not required; however, if installed they 

must operate and be inspected. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Vehicle is equipped with more than two spot lamps; 

b. Lamps are not of an approved type (DOT or SAE-O) 

or a lamp has been altered; 

c. The lens in any spot lamp is other than clear; 

d. The lens has a piece broken from it or is rotated away 

from its proper position. The lens may have one or more 

cracks provided an off-color light does not project 

through the crack or cracks. Taping or gluing cracks or 

pieces is not permitted; 

e. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 

filaments do not burn. 

13. Daytime Running Lamps (DRLs) are not required. 

However, if installed they must operate and be inspected. 

DRLs must be installed in pairs. 
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NOTE: DRLs may or may not be wired into the tail light 

circuit. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Any lamp, except headlamps, used as DRLs if not an 

approved type (SAE-Y2) and is not marked "DRL"; 

b. Fog lamps or parking lamps are used as DRLs; 

c. More than one pair of lamps is used and/or designated 

as DRLs; 

d. A DRL is mounted higher than 34 inches measured to 

the center of the lamp; 

e. The color is other than white to amber; 

f. DRLs do not deactivate when the headlamps are in any 

"on" position. 

Any DRL optically combined with a turn signal or hazard 

lamp must deactivate when the turn signal or hazard lamp 

is activated and then reactivate when the turn signal or 

hazard lamp deactivates. 

19VAC30-70-170. Parking lamps. 

A. Parking lamps are not required; however, if installed they 

must operate and be inspected. Parking lamps may burn in 

conjunction with the headlamps. 

B. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Lamps are not of an approved type (DOT or SAE-P) or a 

lamp has been altered;. 

NOTE: The clear lens lights between the headlamps and 

the red lens lights between tail lamps on various vehicles 

are approved parking lamps and must work if not rendered 

inoperative by removing the bulb, socket and wiring from 

each individual lamp. 

2. Parking lamps have other than white or amber lenses 

showing to the front. If the lens is clear, then the bulb shall 

be amber;. 

3. Parking lamps do not burn with the rear lamps;. 

4. If lens has a piece broken from it. Lens may have one or 

more cracks provided no off-color light projects through 

the crack or cracks;. Taping or gluing cracks or pieces is 

not permitted. 

5. Reject if the vehicle has unapproved lens or plastic 

covers, any other materials which are not original 

equipment or any colored material placed on or in front of 

the parking lamps;. 

6. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 

filaments do not burn. 

7. LED light-emitting (light-emitting diode) lights with a 

clear lens are acceptable if of an approved type. For those 

vehicles that are equipped with a multiple LED light (not 

filament-burning bulbs), they will pass inspection if more 

than 50% of the diode lights are burning. 

19VAC30-70-180. Clearance lamps, side marker lamps, 

and reflectors. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Any motor vehicle, trailer, semitrailer or other vehicle is 

not equipped with clearance lamps if the vehicle is over 

seven feet wide or if any portion extends four inches or 

more outside the front fender line. 

NOTE: See 19VAC30-70-550 for vehicles exceeding 

10,000 GVWR. 

When a motor vehicle with a trailer attached is presented, 

the combination may be considered as one unit in meeting 

this requirement. If presented separately, the individual 

unit must meet these requirements. 

2. Lamps (DOT or SAE-P2, P3, PC, or PC2) or reflectors 

(DOT or SAE-A or B) are not of an approved type or a 

lamp has been altered. 

Reject if the vehicle has wire, unapproved lens or plastic 

covers, any other materials that are not original equipment 

or any colored material placed on or in front of lamps or 

reflectors. 

3. Lenses on lamps on the front are not amber and lenses 

on lamps on the rear are not red or if a lens has a piece 

broken from it. A lens may have one or more cracks 

provided an off-color light does not project through the 

crack or cracks. Taping or gluing cracks or pieces is not 

permitted. 

NOTE: LED light-emitting (light-emitting diode) lights 

with a clear lens are acceptable if of an approved type. For 

those vehicles that are equipped with a multiple LED light 

(not filament-burning bulbs), they will pass inspection if 

more than 50% of the diode lights are burning. 

4. Wiring or electrical connections are defective, all 

filaments do not burn. 

5. Two amber lamps are not mounted on the front and two 

red lamps on the rear, so as to indicate the extreme width 

of the body, and as high on the permanent body as 

practical, except that approved 180 degree lamps with 

yellow or amber lens may be mounted on the side of the 

vehicle at or as near the front as possible, or if the front is 

not the widest portion, the lamps may be installed on the 

side and as near that point as possible. And with the further 

exception that 180 degree lamps with red lens may be 

mounted on the side of the vehicle at or as near the rear as 

possible or if the rear is not the widest portion of the 

vehicle, the lamps may be installed on the side as near that 

point as possible. 

6. Any vehicle equipped with three red identification lamps 

with the lamp centers spaced not less than six inches or 

more than 12 inches apart and installed as close as 

practicable to the top of the vehicle and as close as 

practicable to the vertical centerline of the vehicle may 

have the rear clearance lamps required by subdivision 5 of 
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this section, mounted at any height but indicate as nearly as 

practicable the extreme width of the vehicle. 

NOTE: Other specially constructed vehicles may be 

equipped with the required clearance lamps not mounted 

on the extreme rear, provided such red lamps are clearly 

visible from the rear and provided further that two red 

reflectors of an approved type are mounted on the extreme 

rear. In unusual cases the rear lamp may be mounted on the 

cab and another red reflex reflector placed on the extreme 

rear. 

NOTE: In addition to the required clearance lamps 

showing to the front and to the rear, a vehicle may be 

equipped with side marker lamps on the side of the vehicle. 

When such an installation is used, all of the clearance 

lamps on the side except the one at or near the rear must 

have an amber lens. The side marker lamps on the side at 

or near the rear must have a red lens. 

7. Any vehicle covered by subdivision 1 of this section, 

except school buses, is not equipped with amber reflectors 

on the sides as near the front as practical, and red reflectors 

on the rear. The reflectors must be at least 15 inches and 

not more than 60 inches from the ground. No reflector can 

have a piece broken from its reflective surface, but may 

have one or more cracks. Taping or gluing cracks or pieces 

is not permitted. 

8. Any combination of vehicles whose actual length 

exceeds 35 feet if the vehicles are not wide enough to 

require clearance lights, if the vehicle is not equipped with 

reflex reflectors of a type approved by the 

superintendentand superintendent and mounted on the 

widest part of the towed vehicle so as to be visible from the 

front and sides of the vehicle. No reflector can have a piece 

broken from its reflective surface, but may have one or 

more cracks. Taping or gluing cracks or pieces is not 

permitted. 

9. Any passenger vehicle is equipped with clearance lamps, 

unless such lamps are used to mark the extreme width of 

the vehicle or used as taxicab identification, or used as 

supplemental turn signals. (See 19VAC30-70-190 B.) 

10. Vehicles so constructed as to make compliance with 

the requirements of subdivisions 1, 5, 7, 9, and 10 of this 

section impractical will be equipped with clearance lamps 

and reflectors at the most practical location to provide 

maximum visibility. 

11. Any vehicle is not equipped with two front side marker 

lights (amber) and two rear side marker lights (red). 

12. Any vehicle is not equipped with two front side 

reflectors (amber), two rear side reflectors (red), and two 

reflectors mounted on the rear (red). 
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19VAC30-70-190. Signal device (intention to stop or turn), 

hazard lights, stop lamp. 

A. Any motor vehicle may be equipped with a switch that 

will permit all turn signal lamps to flash simultaneously. 

B. Supplemental turn signals, properly wired into the turn 

signal circuit, may be installed. These may be either approved 

type turn signals or clearance lamps. 

C. Single face lamps are permissible on the front, except 

tractor units shall be equipped with two-faced lamps mounted 

on the front fenders or on or near the front of the vehicle. 

D. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Motor vehicle, or trailer, except an antique vehicle not 

originally equipped with a stop lamp, is not equipped with 

at least one stop lamp of an approved type (DOT or SAE-

S) that automatically exhibits a red or amber light to the 

rear when the brake pedal is actuated;. 

2. Every passenger car manufactured for the 1986 or 

subsequent model year and multipurpose passenger 

vehicle, truck, or bus whose overall width is less than 80 

inches, manufactured September 1, 1993, and subsequent 

model year is not equipped with a supplemental center 

high mount stop lamp of an approved type (DOT or SAE-

U, U1 or U2) mounted at the vertical centerline of the 

vehicle which functions only in cooperation with the 

vehicle's stop lamps, brake lights and hazard lights. Any 

other vehicle on which a supplemental center high mount 

stop lamp is mounted shall have the lamp mounted at the 

vertical center line of the vehicle. The lamps shall be of an 

approved type and shall function only in conjunction with 

the stop lamps. The high mount stop lamp must be steady 

burning and not wired to flash with turn signals or other 

wig-wag device. 

"Multipurpose passenger vehicle" means any motor vehicle 

that is (i) designed to carry no more than 10 persons and 

(ii) constructed either on a truck chassis or with special 

features for occasional off-road use. 

NOTE: Camper shells or rear spoilers that obscure the 

original manufacturer's high mount stop lamp must be 

equipped with a center high mount stop lamp must be in 

good working order. 

NOTE: The original manufacturer's center high mount stop 

lamp will not be considered for inspection if it is obscured 

by a camper shell or rear spoiler that is equipped with a 

center high mount stop lamp of an approved type. 

NOTE: Multipurpose passenger vehicles with an overall 

width of 80 or more inches or GVWR of 10,000 pounds or 

more are not required to be equipped with a center high 

mount stop light;. 

NOTE: No sticker or other foreign material shall be affixed 

to the vehicle in such a manner so as to obscure the center 

high mount stop lamp;. 

3. Proper signals do not go on with each throw of the 

switch or if stop signals do not go on with slightest 

pressure on the brake pedal. Turn signals may flash, 

however stop signals may not flash except when the 

vehicle is equipped with a brake warning system or device 

which will cause the brake lights to flash when the vehicle 

is in motion but committed to an emergency or panic stop;. 

4. Motor vehicle was manufactured after January 1, 1955, 

and is not equipped with approved signaling devices (SAE-

I);. 

5. Vehicle is not equipped with a turn signal if such signal 

is not working properly or does not continue to function in 

the same manner as when it was originally manufactured. 

(The turn signal switch shall lock in place when positioned 

for a left turn or a right turn, and the turn signal indicators 

must function. Do not reject a vehicle if the self-cancelling 

mechanism in the switch does not function when the 

steering wheel is rotated.);. 

6. Switch is not convenient to the driver and not of an 

approved type;. 

7. Any vehicle so constructed so as to prevent the operator 

from making a hand and arm signal, if such vehicle is not 

equipped with an approved type signaling device;. 

8. Turn signal lens is not clear or amber to the front, or red 

or amber to the rear. Lens or bulb color has been altered or 

modified. If the turn signal lens is clear, then the bulb shall 

be amber. 

NOTE: The pink color lens found on 1998 and 1999 

Honda Accords emit the proper color light (amber) when 

the lamp is activated. There may be other manufacturers 

using the same configuration and are not in violation of the 

Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards;. 

9. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 

filaments do not burn. 

NOTE: LED light-emitting (light-emitting diode) lights 

with a clear lens are acceptable if of an approved type. For 

those vehicles that are equipped with a multiple LED light 

(not filament-burning bulbs), they will pass inspection if 

more than 50% of the diode lights are burning;. 

10. Lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may have one 

or more cracks provided an off-color light does not project 
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through the crack(s) cracks. NOTE: Tapping or gluing 

cracks or pieces is not permitted. 

11. The hazard warning signal operating unit does not 

operate independently of the ignition or equivalent switch 

and when activated cause all turn signals to flash 

simultaneously. 

NOTE: They are deemed not to be installed if none of the 

lights burn or flash when the switch is activated and the 

hazard warning signal flasher unit has been removed;. 

12. Device is not mounted near the rear for rear signals or 

near the front for front signals (except supplemental turn 

signals) or if the signal is hidden by a bolster or other part 

of body chassis;. 

13. All "Class A" signals are not mounted at least three feet 

apart. (This does not apply to the combination rear signal 

device.) However, signal lamps that are mounted as far 

apart as practical inside and at the rear of the frame so as to 

be properly visible will meet inspection requirements;. 

14. Any vehicle has wire, unapproved lens or plastic 

covers, any other materials that are not original equipment 

or any colored material placed on or in front of the signal 

device (intention to stop or turn), hazard lights or stop 

lamp. 

19VAC30-70-200. Permissible lighting equipment. 

A. Any vehicle may be equipped with: 

1. Running board or courtesy lamps, of not over six 

candlepower. 

2. Vacant or destination signs, if a taxicab or bus. 

3. Identification lamps of approved type (SAE -P2 or P-3). 

4. Interior lights, of not more than 15 candlepower. 

Exception: This does not apply to alternating, blinking or 

flashing colored emergency lights mounted inside law-

enforcement vehicles or flashing shielded red or red and 

white lights, mounted inside vehicles owned by members 

of volunteer fire companies, volunteer rescue squads or 

owned or used by professional firefighters, or police 

chaplains. Also, this does not apply to fire-fighting 

vehicles equipped with map lights. 

5. Hood ornament light if of an approved type or permitted 

by the superintendent. 

6. Any approved lamp in good working order when used 

for the purpose for which it was approved. 

B. Side marker lamps are not required. If installed they must 

operate and be inspected. If the bulb, socket and wiring are 

removed from an individual lamp unit, the unit will not be 

considered during inspection. This does not include 

wraparound tail/marker lamp assembly/lens, which is 

intended to perform multiple functions. 

C. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Lamps are not of an approved type (DOT or SAE-P2 or 

P3), or do not comply with subdivision 1 of this section; 

2. Lamps are not installed on the permanent structure of 

the vehicle with one as far to the rear and one as far 

forward as practicable and at a location which is not less 

than 15 inches above the road surface when measured from 

the center of the lamp; 

3. Lamps installed on the side to the rear do not have a red 

approved lens (SAE-P2). Lamps installed on the side of the 

front do not have a clear or amber approved lens (SAE-P2) 

so as to project an amber light. If the approved lens on the 

front side is clear, then the bulb shall be a DOT-approved 

amber bulb; 

4. Lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may have one 

or more cracks provided no off-color light projects through 

the crack(s); 

5. Any vehicle has wire, unapproved lens or plastic covers, 

any other materials which are not original equipment or 

any colored material placed on or in front of permissible 

lighting equipment; 

6. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 

filaments do not burn. 

7. LED light-emitting (light-emitting diode) lights with a 

clear lens are acceptable if of an approved type. For those 

vehicles that are equipped with a multiple LED light (not 

filament-burning bulbs), they will pass inspection if more 

than 50% of the diode lights are burning. 

19VAC30-70-210. Glass and glazing. 

A. Motor vehicles may be inspected without windshields, 

side glasses, or any kind of glazing, except that any motor 

vehicle other than a motorcycle that was manufactured, 

assembled, or reconstructed after July 1, 1970, must be 

equipped with a windshield. If glass or other glazing is 

installed, it must be inspected. If no windshield is installed, 

see 19VAC30-70-50 C for location of the sticker. 

B. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Any motor vehicle manufactured or assembled after 

January 1, 1936, or any bus, taxicab or school bus 

manufactured or assembled after January 1, 1935, is not 

equipped throughout with safety glass, or other safety 

glazing material. (This requirement includes slide-in 

campers used on pickups or trucks, caps, or covers used on 

pickup trucks, motor homes, and vans.) 

2. Any safety glass or glazing used in a motor vehicle is 

not of an approved type and properly identified (refer to 

approved equipment section). (Replacement safety glass 

installed in any part of a vehicle other than the windshield 

need not bear a trademark or name, provided the glass 

consists of two or more sheets of glass separated by a 

glazing material, and provided the glass is cut from a piece 

of approved safety glass, and provided the edge of the 

glass can be observed.) 

NOTE: A number of 1998 and 1999 model year Ford 

Contour/Mystique, Econoline and Ranger vehicles were 

produced without the AS-1 windshield marking as required 
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by FMVSS #205. Ford has certified that these vehicles' 

windshields meet all performance standards and will not be 

rejected. 

3. Any glass at any location where glass is used is cracked 

or broken so that it is likely to cut or injure a person in the 

vehicle. 

4. Windshield has any cloudiness more than three inches 

above the bottom, one inch inward from the outer borders, 

one inch down from the top, or one inch inward from the 

center strip. The bottom of the windshield shall be defined 

as the point where the top of the dash contacts the 

windshield. 

5. Any distortion or obstruction that interferes with a 

driver's vision; any alteration that has been made to a 

vehicle that obstructs the driver's clear view through the 

windshield. This may include but is not limited to large 

objects hanging from the inside mirror, CB radios or 

tachometers on the dash, hood scoops and other 

ornamentation on or in front of the hood that is not 

transparent. 

a. Any hood scoop installed on any motor vehicle 

manufactured for the year 1990 or earlier model year 

cannot exceed 2-1/4 inches high at its highest point 

measured from the junction of the dashboard and the 

windshield. 

b. Any hood scoop installed on any motor vehicle 

manufactured for the 1991 or subsequent model year 

cannot exceed 1-1/8 inches high at its highest point 

measured from the junction of the dashboard and the 

windshield. 

6. Windshield glass, on the driver's side, has any scratch 

more than 1/4 inch in width and six inches long within the 

area covered by the windshield wiper blade, excluding the 

three inches above the bottom of the windshield. A 

windshield wiper that remains parked within the driver's 

side windshield wiper area shall be rejected. 

EXCEPTION: Do not reject safety grooves designed to 

clean wiper blades if the grooves do not extend upward 

from the bottom of the windshield more than six inches at 

the highest point. 

7. There is a pit, chip, or star crack larger than 1-1/2 inches 

in diameter at any location in the windshield above the 

three-inch line at the bottom. 

8. At any location in the windshield above the three-inch 

line at the bottom (as measured from the junction of the 

dash board and the windshield) there is more than one 

crack from the same point if at least one of the cracks is 

more than 1-1/2 inches in length. There is any crack that 

weakens the windshield so that one piece may be moved in 

relation to the other. (If there is more than one crack 

running from a star crack that extends above the three-inch 

line, the windshield shall be rejected.) 

EXCEPTION: Windshield repair is a viable option to 

windshield replacement. A windshield that has been 

repaired will pass inspection unless: 

a. It is likely to cut or injure a person. 

b. There is any distortion that interferes with a driver's 

vision. 

c. The windshield remains weakened so that one piece 

may be moved in relation to the other. 

d. The integrity of the windshield has obviously been 

compromised by the damage or the repair.  

9. Any sticker is on the windshield other than an official 

one required by law or permitted by the superintendent. 

Authorization is hereby granted for stickers measuring not 

more than 2-1/2 inches in width and four inches in length 

to be placed in the blind spot behind the rear view mirror. 

Department of Defense decals measuring no more than 

three inches in width and eight inches in length may be 

affixed to the upper edge of the center of the windshield. 

At the option of the motor vehicle's owner, the decal may 

be affixed at the lower left corner of the windshield so that 

the inside or left edge of the sticker or decal is within one 

inch of the extreme left edge of the windshield when 

looking through the windshield from inside the vehicle. 

When placed at this location, the bottom edge of the sticker 

or decal must be affixed within three inches of the bottom 

of the windshield. This location can only be used if the 

owner of the vehicle has chosen not to place any required 

county, town or city decal there. The normal location for 

any required county, town, or city decal is adjacent to the 

official inspection sticker and must not extend upward 

more than three inches from the bottom of the windshield. 

Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance (CVSA) inspection 

decals may be placed at the bottom or sides of the 

windshield provided such decals do not extend more than 

4-1/2 inches from the bottom of the windshield and are 

located outside the area swept by the windshield wipers 

and outside the driver's sight line.  

Any sticker required by the laws of any other state or the 

District of Columbia and displayed upon the windshield of 

a vehicle submitted for inspection in this state is permitted 

by the superintendent, provided the vehicle is currently 

registered in that jurisdiction and the sticker is displayed in 

a manner designated by the issuing authority and has not 

expired. This includes vehicles with dual registration; i.e., 

Virginia and the District of Columbia.  

NOTE: Fastoll Transponder devices may be affixed to the 

inside center of the windshield at the roof line just above 

the rear view mirror. If space does not allow, then it may 

be affixed to the immediate right of the mirror at the roof 

line. 

NOTE: Volvo placed a warning sticker on the windshield 

of their cars equipped with side impact air bags. In 

accordance with this paragraph the sticker shall be 
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removed. If the sticker can be removed intact then it may 

be placed on the left rear window in the lower front corner. 

Customers should be referred to the nearest Safety 

Division area office for replacement if it could not be 

removed intact.  

NOTE: A licensed motor vehicle dealer may apply one 

transponder sticker no larger than one inch by four inches 

and one barcode sticker no larger than three inches by four 

inches to the driver's side edge of a vehicle's windshield to 

be removed upon the sale or lease of the vehicle provided 

that it does not extend below the AS-1 line. In the absence 

of an AS-1 line the sticker cannot extend more than three 

inches downward from the top of the windshield. 

EXCEPTION: Stickers or decals used by counties, cities 

and towns in lieu of license plates may be placed on the 

windshield without further authority. Except on privately 

owned yellow school buses, the sticker or decal shall be 

placed on the windshield adjacent to the right side of the 

official inspection sticker or the optional placement to the 

extreme lower left side of the windshield. The top edge of 

the sticker or decal shall not extend upward more than 

three inches from the bottom of the windshield. The left 

side edge adjacent to the official inspection sticker shall 

not be more than 1/4 inch from the right edge of the 

official inspection sticker when looking through the 

windshield from inside the vehicle. At the option of the 

motor vehicle owner, the sticker or decal may be affixed at 

the lower left corner of the windshield so that the inside or 

left edge of the sticker or decal is within one inch of the 

extreme left edge of the windshield when looking through 

the windshield from inside the vehicle. When placed at this 

location, the bottom edge of the sticker or decal must be 

affixed within three inches of the bottom of the windshield. 

Any expired sticker or decal, excluding a rejection sticker 

that is present on the windshield at the time of inspection, 

shall not be issued an approval sticker unless the 

owner/operator "authorizes" its removal. A rejection 

sticker will be issued versus an involuntary removal. On 

privately owned yellow school buses, the sticker or decal 

shall be placed on the windshield adjacent to the left side 

of the official inspection sticker, and not more than 1/4 

inch from the left edge of the official inspection sticker 

when looking through the windshield from inside the 

vehicle. The top edge of the sticker shall not extend 

upward more than three inches from the bottom of the 

windshield.  

10. Sunshading material on the windshield, or displaying 

words, lettering, numbers or pictures that does not extend 

below the AS-1 line is permitted. will not be considered for 

inspection. In the absence of an AS-1 line sunshading 

material on the windshield displaying words, lettering, 

numbers or pictures cannot extend more than three inches 

downward from the top of the windshield, unless 

authorized by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles 

and indicated on the vehicle registration. 

NOTE: Vehicles with logos made into the glass at the 

factory meet federal standards and will pass state 

inspection. 

11. Any sunscreening material is scratched, distorted, 

wrinkled or obscures or distorts clear vision through the 

glazing.  

12. Front side windows have cloudiness above three inches 

from the bottom of the glass or other defects that affect the 

driver's vision or one or more cracks which permit one part 

of the glass to be moved in relation to another part. Wind 

silencers, breezes or other ventilator adaptors are not made 

of clear transparent material.  

EXCEPTION: Colored or tinted ventvisors that do not 

exceed more than two inches from the forward door post 

into the driver's viewing area are permitted.  

13. Glass in the left front door cannot be lowered so a hand 

signal can be given. (This does not apply to vehicles that 

were not designed and/or manufactured for the left front 

glass to be lowered, provided the vehicle is equipped with 

approved turn signals.) If either front door has the glass 

removed and material inserted in place of the glass that 

could obstruct the driver's vision.  

EXCEPTION: Sunscreening material is permissible if the 

vehicle is equipped with a mirror on each side.  

14. Any sticker or other obstruction is on either front side 

window, rear side windows, or rear windows. (The price 

label, fuel economy label and the buyer's guide required by 

federal statute and regulations to be affixed to new/used 

vehicles by the manufacturer shall normally be affixed to 

one of the rear side windows.) If a vehicle only has two 

door windows, the labels may be affixed to one of these 

windows. If a vehicle does not have any door or side 

windows the labels may be temporarily affixed to the right 

side of the windshield until the vehicle is sold to the first 

purchaser.  

NOTE: A single sticker no larger than 20 square inches in 

area, if such sticker is totally contained within the lower 

five inches of the glass in the rear window if a vehicle has 

only one outside mirror, a single sticker or decal no larger 

than 10 square inches located in an area not more than 

three inches above the bottom and not more than eight 

inches from the rearmost edge of either front side window, 

is permissible and should not be rejected.  

A single sticker issued by the Department of 

Transportation to identify a physically challenged driver, 

no larger than two inches by two inches, located not more 

than one inch to the rear of the front door post, or one inch 

to the rear of the front ventilator glass, if equipped with a 

ventilator glass, and no higher than one inch from the 

bottom of the window opening, is permitted on the front 

driver's side window on a vehicle specially equipped for 

the physically challenged.  
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15. Rear window is clouded or distorted so that the driver 

does not have a view 200 feet to the rear. 

EXCEPTIONS: The following are permissible if the 

vehicle is equipped with a mirror on each side: 

a. There is attached to one rear window of such motor 

vehicle one optically grooved clear plastic right angle 

rear view lens, not exceeding 18 inches in diameter in the 

case of a circular lens or not exceeding 11 inches by 14 

inches in the case of a rectangular lens, which enables the 

operator of the motor vehicle to view below the line of 

sight as viewed through the rear window. 

b. There is affixed to the rear side windows, rear window 

or windows of such motor vehicle any sticker or stickers, 

regardless of size. 

c. There is affixed to the rear side windows, rear window 

or windows of such motor vehicle a single layer of 

sunshading material.  

d. Rear side windows, rear window or windows is 

clouded or distorted.  

19VAC30-70-230. Windshield wiper; defroster.  

A. Windshield wiper.  

Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Vehicle is equipped with a windshield and is not 

equipped with a windshield wiper;.  

2. Vehicle was manufactured before January 1, 1943, and 

is not equipped with at least one wiper on the driver's side. 

This wiper may be hand operated; operated by hand. 

3. Vehicle was manufactured after January 1, 1943, and is 

not equipped with a windshield wiper or wipers that clear 

both sides of the windshield. Vehicles converted from dual 

wipers to a single wiper are acceptable provided it 

continues to clear both sides of the windshield. These 

wipers must be mechanically operated by electric, vacuum, 

or air, but not by hand. A switch in good working order 

and convenient to the driver must be present to turn the 

wipers on and off. Any wiper that parks within the area 

covered by the driver's windshield wiper blade, excluding 

the three inches above the bottom of the windshield shall 

be rejected. (See 19VAC30-70-210 B 6);.  

4. Blade has brittle worn, torn or ripped rubber or if metal 

comes in contact with the windshield; blade is not securely 

attached to wiper arm. 

5. Wiper does not operate freely; or if it is an electrically or 

mechanically operated wiper which must be operated by 

hand.  

NOTE: Inspect only wipers found on the front windshield. 

Rear or other wipers will not be considered. 

B. Windshield defroster. Vehicles manufactured after 

January 1, 1969, must be equipped with windshield defroster 

systems.  

Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Any 1969 or subsequent model is not equipped with a 

windshield defroster system;  

2. Defroster fan fails to function;  

3. Fan functions, but a warm stream of air cannot be felt 

blowing against the windshield. Engine must be warm and 

all elements of the defroster system must be in the on 

position. Switch is not convenient to the driver and 

working properly. 

19VAC30-70-240. Horns and other warning devices.  

INSPECT FOR AND REJECT IF Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Vehicle is not equipped with a horn in good working 

order, capable of emitting a sound audible under normal 

conditions over a distance of not less than 200 feet and is 

not firmly mounted.  

2. A horn operating mechanism installed at a location 

readily accessible to the vehicle operator is not provided. 

Electrically operated horn, wiring, or electrical connections 

are defective.  

19VAC30-70-270. Floor pan.  

INSPECT FOR AND REJECT IF Inspect for and reject if:  

1. The floor pan or inner side panels, front or rear, are 

rusted out or have any holes other than normal drain holes 

that allow exhaust gases to enter the occupant compartment 

or trunk.  

2. The floor pan is rusted through or is in such condition to 

create a hazard to the occupants. A hole in the floor pan 

which has been properly repaired by welding, or through 

the utilization of a metal patch riveted, screwed or welded 

to its surface is not prohibited. If the floor pan was initially 

constructed from wood, it may be patched with wood.  

19VAC30-70-280. Seat.  

INSPECT FOR AND REJECT IF Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Any motor vehicle is not equipped with a seat to 

accommodate the operator.  

2. The seat is not securely anchored.  

3. Seat adjusting mechanism slips out of set position or the 

seat back will not lock in the proper upright position. Do 

not reject if it will not adjust as long as it does not violate 

subdivision 4 of this section.  

4. The seat is not located to permit the operator to have 

adequate control of the steering and braking mechanisms 

and other instruments necessary for the safe operation of 

the motor vehicle.  

19VAC30-70-300. Muffler, exhaust system and trailer 

venting.  

A. Flexible tubing may be used anywhere in the exhaust 

system.  

B. Inspection of exhaust system does not concern noise 

level.  
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C. Inspect for and reject if:  

1. There is any leakage of exhaust gases at any point in the 

system. Do not reject "built-in" drain holes in muffler or 

tailpipe.  

2. A muffler or catalytic converter has been repaired in any 

manner. The exhaust pipe may be welded to the muffler or 

catalytic converter. Holes or cracks in the exhaust line have 

been repaired with a patch or caulking.  

NOTE: If a vehicle is inspected that does not have a 

muffler, the inspector should explain to the customer that 

although the vehicle will pass inspection without a muffler, 

it is a violation of state law for the vehicle to be operated 

on the highway without it.  

NOTE: Nissan has designed an exhaust repair for 

leak/noise at the front tube for the 2002-03 Nissan 

Pathfinders. The repair may require the application of a 

specially designed caulk to the front tube of the exhaust 

system. Since Nissan has designed the repair for their 

vehicles and trained Nissan technicians would perform the 

repair, this would be acceptable and should not be rejected. 

This exception would not preclude the rejection of exhaust 

systems repaired in a manner that is not designed or 

approved by the manufacturer and not performed by 

trained persons. 

3. Tailpipe opening is mashed or pinched.  

4. Any components of the exhaust system are not properly 

secured. Brackets or hangers are loose, broken, or missing.  

5. The exhaust system fails to discharge the exhaust to the 

rear or sides of that part of a property-carrying-vehicle that 

is designed for and normally used for the driver and 

passengers and to the rear or sides of the passenger and 

trunk compartment of passenger vehicles.  

6. The exhaust system fails to discharge the exhaust to the 

rear or sides of the passenger compartment that is designed 

for and normally used for the driver and passengers of a 

property-carrying vehicle. 

D. Trailers and semitrailer venting. Inspection of trailers and 

semitrailers will include a visual inspection of the venting of 

cooking or heating appliances to the outside of the trailer or 

semitrailer to determine if the heating and cooking appliances 

are adequately vented to the outside to prevent the 

asphyxiation of occupants of any trailer or semitrailer by the 

operation of the heating or cooking appliances.  

1. Reject the trailer or semitrailer if not equipped with a 

vent or venting system to the outside.  

2. Reject the trailer or semitrailer if there is any complete 

or partial obstruction of the vent or venting system.  

19VAC30-70-310. Air pollution control system or device.  

A. No motor vehicle manufactured for the model year 1973 

or for subsequent model years shall be operated on the 

highways of this Commonwealth unless it is equipped with an 

air pollution control system or device, or combination of such 

systems or devices installed in accordance with federal laws 

and regulations.  

B. The provisions of this section shall not prohibit or 

prevent shop adjustments or replacements of equipment for 

maintenance or repair or the conversion of engines to low 

polluting fuels, such as, but not limited to, natural gas or 

propane, so long as such action does not degrade in any 

manner or to any degree the anti- pollution anti-pollution 

capabilities of the vehicle power system.  

C. Inspect for and reject if:  

1. The air pollution control system or device on motor 

vehicles manufactured for the model year 1973 or for 

subsequent model years has been removed or otherwise 

rendered inoperable. The conversion of an engine to utilize 

low polluting fuels such as natural gas or propane may result 

in the removal of some part of the pollution control system; 

however, if the engine is converted to utilize both low 

polluting fuels and/or gasoline no part of the pollution control 

system or device can be removed or otherwise rendered 

inoperable. 

2. Any of the essential parts of the pollution control system 

or devices on vehicles manufactured for the model year 

1973 or for subsequent model years have been removed, 

rendered inoperative inoperable or disconnected. This 

includes any belt, valve, pump, hose line, cap, cannister 

canister, catalytic converter and the restrictor in the 

gasoline tank filler neck on vehicles required to use 

unleaded fuel.  

NOTE: In order to determine if a motor vehicle was 

originally equipped with emissions control equipment, 

refer to the vehicle's emissions control information label 

which is usually located in the engine compartment.  

3. The emission control system or device on motor vehicles 

manufactured for the model year 1973 or for subsequent 

model years is not comparable to that designed for use 

upon the particular vehicle as standard factory equipment.  

Any new or used after market catalytic converter installed 

on a vehicle after December 31, 1987, shall meet and be 

installed in accordance with specifications established by 

the Environmental Protection Agency. A catalytic 

converter so installed shall be identified with a visible, 

permanent, non-destructible label or stamp which will 

identify the manufacturer, vehicle application and month 

and year of manufacture. The label shall be in accordance 

with the following format:  

a. New converters - N/XX/YYYY/ZZZZ  

b. Used converters - U/XX/YYYY/ZZZZ  

N - New converter designation  

U - Used converter designation  

XX - Manufacturer code issued by EPA  

YYYY - Numerical designation of vehicle application  
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ZZZZ - Month and year of manufacture (i.e. - 0188 for 

January, 1988)  

19VAC30-70-320. Fuel system.  

INSPECT FOR AND REJECT IF Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Any part of the fuel system is not securely fastened.  

2. There is fuel leakage at any point in the fuel system.  

3. The fuel tank filler cap is missing.  

4. The fuel tank crossover lines are not protected.  

5. Any part of the fuel system comes in contact with the 

exhaust system. 

6. Fuel lines or hoses have any cracks, crimps, or 

restrictions or are abraded, exposing inner fabric. 

19VAC30-70-340. Motorcycle brakes.  

A. The inspector, if qualified to operate a motorcycle, must 

drive it into the inspection lane and test the service brakes. If 

not qualified to operate motorcycles, the inspector must 

observe the operator operate the brakes. The inspector is 

required to observe and inspect the braking system on both 

wheels if so equipped or required to be equipped.  

B. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Any motorcycle is not equipped with a brake, or which 

has a disconnected brake.  

2. Any motorcycle which was originally equipped with a 

service brake system on both the front or rear wheel(s) if 

the service brake system has been altered by removing or 

disconnecting any of the brake system components from 

any of the wheels.  

3. Any motorcycle manufactured after July 1, 1974, is not 

equipped with either a split service brake system or two 

independently actuated service brake systems which shall 

act on the front as well as the rear wheel or wheels.  

4. Bonded linings or disc pads are worn to less than 2/32 of 

an inch in thickness or riveted linings or disc pads are worn 

to less than 2/32 of an inch over the rivet head(s).  

5. Any lining is broken or cracked so that the lining or 

parts of the lining are not firmly attached to the shoe or 

disc pad.  

6. Grease or any other contamination is present on the 

lining or disc pad brake lining, disc pad, drum or rotor. 

7. Rivets in riveted linings or disc pads are loose or 

missing.  

8. A brake drum or brake disc (rotor) is scored to the extent 

that it impairs the braking system.  

9. A brake drum or brake disc is worn beyond the 

manufacturer's recommended limit. (A brake drum or 

brake disc shall under no circumstances be re-machined 

beyond the manufacturer's specifications.)  

10. Rods are bent, cotter keys or lock nuts are missing, 

cables frayed or broken or parts misaligned.  

11. When operated at 20 miles per hour on a dry, level, 

hard surface free from loose material, the brakes will not 

stop the motorcycle within 30 feet.  

12. Levers (foot and hand) do not have at least 1/3 of their 

travel as reserve after brakes are fully applied.  

13. Any leaks in master cylinder, wheel cylinders, or any 

brake hoses or lines.  

14. A motorcycle that is equipped with a front and rear 

master cylinder, if one or both are not displaying the 

recommended manufacturer fluid level. 

15. Any line or hose not installed so as to prevent damage 

or abrasion by contact with the frame or other components. 

There is any leakage in any hydraulic, air, or vacuum lines; 

hoses have any cracks, crimps, restrictions, or are abraded 

exposing fabric; tubing or connections leak, are crimped, 

restricted, cracked or broken; any valves leak or are 

inoperative. Reject the vehicle if the brake hoses or tubing 

are stretched or extended and do not allow for suspension 

movement. Brake tubing and hoses must: 

a. Be long and flexible enough to accommodate without 

damage all normal motions of the parts to which it is 

attached; 

b. Be secured against chaffing, kinking, or other 

mechanical damage; and 

c. Be installed in a manner that prevents it from 

contacting the vehicle's exhaust system or any other 

source of high temperatures. 

19VAC30-70-350. Motorcycle airbag, seat, steering, and 

suspension.  

Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Frame is bent or damaged so as to constitute a hazard in 

proper operation.  

2. Wheels are out of line to a degree steering and control is 

affected.  

3. Steering-head bearing is loose, broken, defective or out 

of adjustment.  

4. Handlebars are loose, bent, broken or damaged in such a 

manner as to affect proper steering.  

5. Shock absorbers are broken, worn, missing, defective, 

disconnected or do not function properly.  

6. Any spring in the suspension system is broken or 

sagging.  

NOTE: If a motorcycle or autocycle is equipped or 

designed with steering or suspension components similar 

in design to a passenger vehicle, the steering or suspension 

will be inspected as if the motorcycle or autocycle were a 

passenger vehicle. 

7. If motorcycle seat or seats are not securely fastened.  

8. Any motorcycle designed to carry more than one person 

is not equipped with a footrest for each passenger.  
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9. The battery is not attached to a fixed part of the 

motorcycle and protected by a removable cover or 

enclosure if the battery is installed in a location other than 

the engine compartment. This includes all brackets, 

hardware, bolts, and bushings used for securely mounting 

the battery to the motorcycle. 

a. Removable covers or enclosures shall be substantial 

and shall be securely latched or fastened. 

b. The battery compartment shall have openings to 

provide ample battery ventilation and drainage. 

c. Whenever the cable to the starting motor passes 

through a metal compartment, the cable shall be 

protected against grounding by an acid and waterproof 

insulating bushing. 

d. Whenever a battery and a fuel tank are both placed 

under the driver's seat, they shall be partitioned from 

each other and each compartment shall be provided with 

an independent cover, ventilation, and drainage. 

10. Air bag and air bag readiness light. Inspect for and 

reject if: 

a. Any defects in the air bag system are noted by the air 

bag readiness light or otherwise indicated; 

b. The air bag has been deployed and has not been 

replaced (and is not deactivated because of a medical or 

other exemption and a notice is posted to indicate that it 

has been deactivated);  

c. Any part of the air bag system has been removed from 

the motorcycle; or 

d. If the air bag indicator fails to light or stays on 

continuously.  

NOTE: Checking the air bag readiness light. Turn the 

ignition key to the on position; the air bag readiness light 

will indicate normal operation by lighting for six to eight 

seconds, then turning off.  

A system malfunction is indicated by the flashing or 

continuous illumination of the readiness light or failure of 

the light to turn on.  

NOTE: Any motorcycle not originally manufactured with 

an air bag readiness light shall not be rejected for not 

having this item.  

19VAC30-70-360. Motorcycle lights: headlamp, rear, 

signal, warning.  

A. Headlamps. Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Motorcycle is not equipped with at least one motorcycle 

headlamp.  

2. Any motorcycle headlamp is not of an approved type 

(SAE-M). A motorcycle may have one or more headlamps. 

In addition to the headlamp(s), a motorcycle may be 

equipped with not more than two auxiliary headlamps of a 

type approved (SAE-C) by the superintendent and 

identified as "auxiliary front lamps."  

3. Lens and reflector do not match except in sealed units, 

or if the lens is cracked, broken or rotated, or if the lens 

and reflector are not clean or bright.  

4. Any motorcycle lights-headlamp, rear lamp, signal or 

warning lamp has any wire, unapproved lens or plastic 

covers, any other materials that are not original equipment 

or any colored material placed on or in front of lamp or 

lens.  

5. Lamp is not focused or any filament or bulb fails to 

burn.  

6. Lamp is not mounted securely or if switch does not 

operate properly.  

7. The center of the hot spot is set more than four inches up 

or down from the horizontal centerline or more than four 

inches to the left or right from the vertical centerline. The 

headlamp shall be checked for proper aim by using an 

optical headlamp aimer. 

8. The high beam indicator does not burn when the high 

beam is on or does not go off when the low beam is on.  

NOTE: Motorcycles may be equipped with means of 

modulating the high beam of their headlights between high 

and low beam at a rate of 200 to 280 flashes per minute, 

provided they are equipped with a switch or device that 

prevents flashing of headlights when headlights are 

required to be lighted.  

NOTE: Inspection is to be performed with lamp on high 

beam.  

NOTE: The use of strobe lights being placed inside the 

headlamps of police motorcycles is permitted. The strobe 

light system developed by Harley-Davidson for use in 

police motorcycle headlamps has been tested and does 

meet the current standard; therefore, strobe light systems of 

this type and similar types may be used in police 

motorcycle headlamp systems. 

B. Aiming the headlamp. All headlamps that do not comply 

with subdivision A 7 of this section shall be aimed straight 

ahead. (Zero inches up or down and zero inches to the right or 

left.)  

C. Rear lamp. Inspect for and reject if:  

1. The high beam indicator does not burn when the high 

beam is on or does not go off when the low beam is on.  

2. Motorcycle 1. The motorcycle is not equipped with a 

rear lamp of approved type (SAE-T-S-P-A).  

3. Lamp 2. The lamp is not mounted near rear of vehicle, 

or is not mounted securely, or if lamp does not make a 

good electrical connection.  

4. 3. Lenses are not red to the rear and clear or amber to the 

front or any lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may 

have one or more cracks provided an off-color light does 

not project through the crack(s) cracks.  

NOTE: LED (light emitting (light-emitting diode) lights 

with a clear lens are acceptable if of an approved type. For 
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those vehicles that are equipped with a multiple LED light 

(not filament burning filament-burning bulbs), they will 

pass inspection if more than 50% of the diode lights are 

burning. 

5. 4. Filaments in all lamps do not burn when headlamp 

switch is turned on to any position.  

6. 5. The rear license plate is not illuminated by an 

approved license plate bulb.  

D. Signal device (intention to stop or turn).  

1. Signal devices are not required on motorcycles; 

however, if installed, they must operate and be inspected.  

2. Signal lamp lenses installed on the front of the 

motorcycle shall be amber and be located on each side of 

the vertical centerline of the motorcycle and as far apart as 

practicable and not closer than nine inches, measured from 

the optical centerline of the lamps, and to be located on the 

same level and not less than 20 inches above the ground 

level. The optical centerline of the lamp shall not be less 

than four inches from the retaining ring of the headlamp 

unit.  

3. Signal lamps installed on the rear of the motorcycle shall 

be red or amber and shall be located on each side of the 

vertical centerline of the motorcycle as far apart as 

practicable but not closer than nine inches, measured from 

the optical centerline of the lens, and shall be located on 

the same level and not less than 20 inches above the 

ground level.  

4. Inspect for and reject if:  

a. Motorcycle, except an antique vehicle not originally 

equipped with a stop lamp, is not equipped with at least 

one stop lamp of an approved type that automatically 

exhibits a red or amber light to the rear when the brake 

control foot pedal or hand grip brake control device is 

activated. (On motorcycles manufactured prior to 

January 1, 1972, the activation of the front wheel brake 

control device is not required to activate the stop lamp.)  

NOTE: Motorcycles may be equipped with a means of 

varying the brightness of the vehicle's brake light for a 

duration of not more than five seconds upon application 

of the vehicle's brakes.  

b. The signal lamp is not of an approved type (SAE-D) or 

does not flash.  

c. Lens in brake lamp or signal lamp has a piece broken 

from it. (Lens in brake lamp or signal lamp may have one 

or more cracks provided an off-color light does not 

project through the crack or cracks.)  

d. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or any 

filaments do not burn.  

e. Switch is not convenient to the driver and not of an 

approved type.  

f. Signal devices are not installed as provided in 

subdivisions D 1 and 2 of this section.  

E. Warning lights. Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Warning lamps are not of an approved type or have been 

altered.  

2. Any lighted advertising sign is present.  

19VAC30-70-380. Motorcycle horn.  

INSPECT FOR AND REJECT IF Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Motorcycle is not equipped with a horn in good working 

order capable of emitting sound audible under normal 

conditions for a distance no less than 200 feet.  

2. Horn is not mounted securely, wiring is defective, 

control button is not operating properly, or is not installed 

at a location readily accessible to the operator.  

19VAC30-70-400. Motorcycle tires, wheels, rims.  

Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Any tire has a cut or puncture, not to include a plug or 

patch that may be used as a manner of repair, or is worn so 

that the fabric is visible.  

NOTE: Plugs/patches shall be in the tread area only. 

Plugs/patches are not permitted in the side wall of the tire. 

2. Any tire has knots or bulges in any side wall or if there 

is evidence of a broken belt under the tread or of the tread 

separating from the fabric.  

3. Any bolts, nuts, lugs or spokes are bent, loose or 

missing. Rims or wheels are bent, cracked or damaged so 

as to affect the safe operation of the motorcycle.  

4. Wheel bearings are excessively worn or out of 

adjustment.  

5. Any motorcycle is equipped with a tire that has a tread 

depth measuring less than 2/32 of an inch when measured 

in accordance with the instructions set forth in subdivisions 

6, 7, and 8 of 19VAC30-70-130.  

6. Any tire is marked specifically for use other than on the 

highway such as "For Farm Use Only," "For Off-Highway 

Use Only," or "For Mobile Home Use Only," or "For 

Trailer Use Only." 

7. Any motorcycle tire has been recut or regrooved.  

8. Directional tires and/or or wheels designed and 

manufactured to go in a certain direction or rotation are not 

installed in the proper direction of rotation. 

19VAC30-70-410. Motorcycle windscreen and glazing.  

INSPECT FOR AND REJECT IF Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Any windscreen is not of an approved type.  

2. Any windscreen obstructs the driver's vision.  

3. Any decal, support, or installation component interferes 

with the driver's vision.  

19VAC30-70-440. Service brakes.  

A. The inspector, at a minimum, must drive all vehicles into 

the inspection lane and test both service and parking brakes, 

except vehicles the inspector is not qualified to drive. In these 
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cases, the inspector will ride in the vehicle and observe the 

application of the brakes. 

B. A minimum of one wheel or one wheel and drum or dust 

cover must be removed from each vehicle at the time of 

inspection except vehicles having open brake mechanisms 

that will permit the inspection of the brake lining, or discs and 

disc pads, without removing the wheel and rim. 

WARNING: Failure to properly torque lug nuts may cause 

severe damage to the wheel. 

The inspection receipt (approval and rejection) shall be 

marked to reflect which wheel and drum or dust cover was 

removed or inspected. 

C. If any braking problem is detected, the inspector may test 

drive or require a test drive of the vehicle. 

D. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Any commercial motor vehicle manufactured on or after 

October 20, 1994, is equipped with an air brake system but 

is not equipped with the proper and functioning automatic 

brake adjuster system and brake adjuster indicator. 

2. Vehicles equipped with air brakes: when the air brake 

adjustment on vehicles is equal to or exceeds values in the 

following tables for cam brakes or brake shoe travel is 

greater than 1/16" on wedge brakes when measured 

according to Illustrations #1 and #2. (See procedure in 

addition to illustrations.)  

  TABLE 1  

MINIMUM CRITERIA FOR BRAKE 

ADJUSTMENT  

COMMERCIAL VEHICLE SAFETY ALLIANCE 

NORTH AMERICAN STANDARD OUT-OF-

SERVICE CRITERIA  

Brake adjustment shall not exceed those specifications 

contained hereunder relating to "Brake adjustment 

limit." (Dimensions are in inches.)  

  CLAMP TYPE BRAKE CHAMBER DATA 

  

Type 
Outside 

Diameter 

Brakes Exceeding the 

Maximum Brake 

Adjustment Limit Shall 

be Readjusted 

  6 4-1/2 

(114mm) 

1-1/4  

(32mm) 

  9 5-1/4 

(133mm) 

1-3/8  

(35mm) 

  12 5-11/16 

(145mm) 

1-3/8  

(35mm) 

  16 6-3/8 

(162mm) 

1-3/4  

(45mm) 

  20 6-25/32 

(172mm) 

1-3/4  

(45mm) 

  24 7-7/32 

(184mm) 

1-3/4  

(45mm) 

  30 8-3/32 

(206mm) 

2.0  

(51mm) 

  36 9.0  

(229mm) 

2-1/4  

(57mm) 

  NOTE: A brake found at the adjustment limit is not to 

be rejected.  

  LONG STROKE CLAMP TYPE BRAKE 

CHAMBER DATA 

  

Type 
Outside 

Diameter 

Brakes Exceeding the 

Maximum Brake 

Adjustment Limit Shall 

be Readjusted 

  12 5-11/16 

(14.5mm) 

1-3/4  

(45mm) 

  16 6-3/8 

(162mm) 

2.0  

(51mm) 

  20 6-25/32 

(172mm) 

2.0  

(51mm) 

  24 7-7/32 

(184mm) 

2.0  

(51mm) 

  24* 7-7/32 

(184mm) 

2.5  

(64mm) 

  30 8-3/32 

(206mm) 

2.5 

(64mm) 

  *For 3" maximum stroke type 24 chambers 

  NOTE: A brake found at the adjustment limit is not to 

be rejected.  

NOTE: 3" long stroke brake chambers are identified 

by square air line ports and a trapezoidal tag attached 

to the chamber.  

  BOLT TYPE BRAKE CHAMBER DATA 

  

Type 
Outside 

Diameter 

Brakes Exceeding the 

Maximum Brake 

Adjustment Limit Shall 

be Readjusted 

  A (12) 6-15/16 

(176mm) 

1-3/8  

(35mm) 

  B (24) -3/16 

(234mm) 

1-3/4 

(45mm) 
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  C (16) 8-1/16 

(205mm) 

1-3/4  

(45mm) 

  D (6) 5-1/4 

(133mm) 

1-1/4 

 (32mm) 

  E (9) 6-3/16 

(157mm) 

1-3/8 

 (35mm) 

  F (36) 11.0 

 (279mm) 

2-1/4 

 (57mm) 

  G (30) 9-7/8 

(251mm) 

2.0 

 (51mm) 

  NOTE: A brake found at the adjustment limit is not to 

be rejected.  

  ROTOCHAMBER DATA 

  

Type 
Outside 

Diameter 

Brakes Exceeding the 

Maximum Brake 

Adjustment Limit Shall 

be Readjusted 

  9 4-9/32 

(109mm) 

1-1/2 

 (38mm) 

  12 4-13/16 

(122mm) 

1-1/2 

 (38mm) 

  16 5-13/32 

(138mm) 

2.0 

 (51mm) 

  20 5-15/16 

(151mm) 

2.0 

 (51mm) 

  24 6-13/32 

(163mm) 

2.0 

 (51mm) 

  30 7-1/16 

(180mm) 

2-1/4 

 (57mm) 

  36 7-5/8 

(194mm) 

2-3/4 

 (70mm) 

  50 8-7/8 

(226mm) 

3.0 

 (76mm) 

  NOTE: A brake found at the adjustment limit is not to 

be rejected.  

  DD-3 BRAKE CHAMBER DATA 

  

Type 
Outside 

Diameter 

Brakes Exceeding the 

Maximum Brake 

Adjustment Limit Shall 

be Readjusted 

  30 8-1/8 

(206mm) 

2-1/4 

 (57mm) 

  NOTE: This chamber has three air lines and is found 

on motor coaches.  

NOTE: A brake found at the adjustment limit is not to 

be rejected.  

  WEDGE BRAKE DATA 

  The combined movement of both brake shoe lining 

scribe marks shall not exceed 1/8 inch (3.18mm).  

PROCEDURE FOR MEASURING CAM AND WEDGE 

BRAKES AND HOW TO PROPERLY IDENTIFY 3" 

LONG STROKE CHAMBERS  

On vehicles equipped with cam brakes, mark each brake 

chamber push rod at the face of the brake chamber with the 

brakes released. Apply the air brakes fully, minimum air 

pressure of 90 to 100 psi, and measure the distance the push 

rod travels from the face of the chamber to the mark 

previously made when the brakes were released. This 

measurement is the push-rod stroke (see illustration).  

On vehicles equipped with wedge brakes, remove the 

inspection hole cover at each dust shield and with the brakes 

released, scribe a line on the edge of the brake lining. Apply 

the air brakes fully and measure the distance the brake lining 

travels.  
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3. Brake hose and tubing. There is any leakage in any 

hydraulic, air or vacuum lines; hoses have any cracks, 

crimps, restrictions, or are abraded exposing fabric into 

second ply of fabric; tubing or connections leak, are 

crimped, restricted, cracked, or broken.  

a. Hose with any damage extending through the 

reinforcement ply. Rubber impregnated fabric cover is 

not a reinforcement ply. Thermoplastic nylon may have 

braid reinforcement or color difference between cover 

and inner tube. Exposure of second color is cause for 

rejection.  

b. Bulge or swelling when air pressure is applied.  

c. Two hoses improperly joined (such as a splice made 

by sliding the hose ends over a piece of tubing and 

clamping the hose to the tube).  

d. Brake tubing and hose must: 

(1) Be long and flexible enough to accommodate without 

damage all normal motions of the parts to which it is 

attached; 

(2) Be secured against chaffing, kinking, or other 

mechanical damage; and 

(3) Be installed in a manner that prevents it from 

contacting the vehicle's exhaust system or any other 

source of high temperatures. 

e. Any hydraulic brake tubing has been repaired using a 

compression fitting. 

4. Service brakes.  

a. There is less than 1/5 reserve in pedal travel of the 

service brake when fully applied on all hydraulic, 

mechanical, or power-assisted hydraulic braking systems.  

b. When tested on dry, hard, approximately level road 

free from loose material at a speed of 20 miles per hour 

without leaving a 12-foot wide lane, a distance in excess 

of the following stopping distance is obtained:  

Any bus, truck or tractor - 40 feet;  

All combinations of vehicles - 40 feet.  

c. Every motor vehicle, trailer or semitrailer is not 

equipped with operational brakes on all wheels (except as 

shown in subdivision a below) or any brake has been 

disconnected or rendered inoperative or improperly 

installed.  

(1) Road tractors, tractor trucks, or trucks if 

manufactured prior to July 25, 1980, having three or 

more axles are not required to have brakes on the steering 

axle; however, if installed must be inspected and meet all 

requirements of this section.  

(2) Missing, bent or broken mechanical components 

including: shoes, lining pads, spring, anchor pin, spiders, 

cam rollers, push rods and air chamber mounting bolts, 

air reservoirs not securely mounted or leaks.  

(3) Absence of braking action on any axle required to 

have brakes, upon application of the service brakes (such 

as missing brakes or brake shoes, failing to move upon 

application of a wedge, S-cam or disc brake).  

(4) Loose brake components including air chambers, 

spiders and cam shaft support brackets.  

(5) Audible air leak at brake chamber (example: ruptured 

diaphragm, loose chamber clamp, etc.)  

d. Linings or pads are broken or cracked so that brake 

pad is not firmly attached to the shoe or improperly 

installed or cracks on the friction surface extends to the 

open edge.  

(1) Rivets or bolts are loose or missing.  

(2) Lining or pad friction surface is saturated with oil, 

grease or brake fluid.  

e. Nonsteering axles. Lining has a thickness less than 1/4 

inch at the shoe center for air drum brakes, 1/16 inch or 

less at the shoe center for hydraulic and electric drum 

brakes and less than 1/8 inch for air disc brakes, lining 

with a thickness less than 3/16 inch for a shoe with a 

continuous strip of lining or to wear indicators if so 

equipped.  

(1) Steering axles. Lining has thickness less than 1/4 inch 

at the shoe center from drum brakes, less than 1/8 inch 

for air disc brakes and 1/16 inch or less for hydraulic disc 
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and electric brakes, lining with a thickness less than 3/16 

inch for a shoe with a continuous strip of lining or to 

wear indicators if so equipped.  

(2) Mismatch across any power unit steering axle of:  

(a) Air chamber sizes.  

(b) Slack adjuster length.  

f. Thickness of riveted or bolted lining is less than 2/32 

of an inch above the rivet or bolt head(s).  

g. Any lining or pad is misaligned or does not make full 

contact with the drum or rotor.  

5. Brake Drums and Discs.  

a. Brake drums or brake discs (rotors) are worn or scored 

to the extent that their remachining would result in a 

failure to meet manufacturer's specifications.  

b. Brake drums or discs with any external crack or cracks 

that open upon brake application.  

NOTE: Do not confuse short hairline heat cracks with 

flexural cracks.  

6. Mechanical linkage.  

Any portion of the drum or rotor missing or in danger of 

falling away.  

7. Hydraulic.  

NOTE: Some motor vehicles, beginning with 1976 models, 

have a hydraulic power system that serves both the power 

assisted brakes and power assisted steering system. Some 

vehicles, beginning with 1985 models, have an integrated 

hydraulic actuation and anti-lock brake unit using only 

brake fluid.  

8. Hydraulic System Operation.  

Stop engine, then depress brake pedal several times to 

eliminate all pressure. Depress pedal with a light foot-force 

(30 pounds). While maintaining this force on the pedal, 

start engine and observe if pedal moves slightly when 

engine starts.  

Reject vehicle if pedal does not move slightly as engine is 

started while force is on brake pedal.  

 

9. Condition of hydraulic booster power brake system.  

Inspect system for fluid level and leaks. Reject vehicle if 

there is insufficient fluid in the power steering pump 

reservoir; if there are broken, kinked or restricted fluid 

lines or hoses; if there is any leakage of fluid at the pump, 

steering gear or brake booster, or any of the lines or hoses 

in the system; or if belts are frayed, cracked or excessively 

worn.  

10. Integrated hydraulic booster/anti-lock system 

operation.  

With the ignition key in the off position, depress brake 

pedal a minimum of 25 times to deplete all residual stored 

pressure in the accumulator. Depress pedal with a light 

foot- force (25 lbs.). Place ignition key in the on position 

and allow 60 seconds for the brake warning light to go out 

and the electric pump to shut off.  

Reject vehicle if the brake pedal does not move down 

slightly as the pump builds pressure or if the brake and 

anti-lock warning lights remain on longer than 60 seconds.  

 

11. Condition of integrated hydraulic booster/anti-lock 

system with electronic pump.  

With the system fully charged, inspect system for fluid 

level and leaks.  

Reject vehicle if there is insufficient fluid in the reservoir; 

if there are broken, kinked or restricted fluid lines or hoses; 

or if there is any leakage of fluid at the pump or brake 

booster, or any of the lines or hoses in the system.  

12. Vacuum system operation.  

Stop engine then depress brake pedal several times to 

eliminate all vacuum in the system. Depress pedal with a 

light foot-force (25 lbs.). While maintaining this force on 

the pedal, start engine and observe if pedal moves down 

slightly when engine starts.  

Reject vehicle if pedal does not move down slightly as 

engine is started while force is on the brake pedal. In full 

vacuum-equipped vehicles, there is insufficient vacuum 
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reserve for one full service brake application after engine is 

stopped.  

a. Has insufficient vacuum reserve to permit one full 

brake application after engine is shut off.  

b. Lacks an operative low-vacuum warning device as 

required.  

 

13. Condition of vacuum booster power brake system.  

a. Visual inspection. Reject vehicle if there are collapsed, 

cracked, broken, badly chafed or improperly supported 

hoses and tubes, loose or broken hose clamps.  

b. There is any leakage in the hydraulic system. (Do not 

disturb the dust boot when checking for leaking wheel 

cylinders.)  

c. Fluid level in master cylinder is below the proper level 

for the particular vehicle.  

d. There is any evidence of a caliper sticking or binding.  

14. Air brakes.  

a. Motor vehicle is equipped with air brakes and does not 

have an operating air pressure gauge.  

b. Any bus, truck, road tractor and tractor truck 

manufactured after March 15, 1975, must have a visible 

low air warning device. Those manufactured on or before 

March 15, 1975, may have either an audible or visible 

low air warning device.  

Low pressure warning device is missing, inoperative or 

does not operate at 55 psi and below or 1/2 the governor 

cut out pressure, whichever is less.  

c. Compressed air reserve is not sufficient to make one 

full service brake application after engine is stopped, or 

with system fully charged, the reservoir pressure is 

lowered more than 30% by one full brake application.  

Brake chamber push rods do not follow application of 

service brake pedal, or do not reach full released position 

(example: defective return spring).  

d. Any bus, truck, road tractor, or tractor truck 

manufactured after February 28, 1975, if equipped with a 

manually operated device to reduce or remove the 

braking effort upon its front wheels.  

15. Electric brakes.  

a. Trailers show an amperage value more than 20% 

above or 30% below the brake manufacturer's maximum 

current rating for each brake.  

b. Ammeter shows no reading or indicator is not steady 

on application and release of brake controller.  

c. Any terminal connections are loose or dirty; wires are 

broken, frayed or unsupported; any single conductor or 

nonstranded wire or wires below size recommended by 

brake manufacturers are installed.  

d. Electrical trailer brakes do not apply automatically 

when breakaway safety switch is operated.  

e. Absence of braking action on any wheel required to 

have brakes.  

f. Missing or inoperative breakaway braking device(s) 

device; cable is frayed or broken. 

16. Air compressor.  

a. Compressor drive belts are in condition of impending 

or probable failure.  

b. Loose compressor mounting bolts or compressor leaks.  

c. Cracked, broken or loose pulley.  

d. Tractor protection valve(s) is defective or inoperative.  

e. Air safety relief valve is defective or inoperative.  

19VAC30-70-450. Brakes: emergency parking or holding; 

batteries.  

A. Some vehicles are equipped with an actual emergency 

brake, while others have only a parking or holding brake. 

Some types may be actuated by a foot or hand lever, while 

others may incorporate a switch or valve to actuate the brake. 

Air and vacuum brake systems may employ spring activating 

parking brakes.  

B. Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Vehicle or combination of vehicles is not equipped with 

a parking, holding, or emergency brake in good working 

order of the type installed as original standard factory 

equipment for the vehicle on which it is installed.  

2. The brake actuating mechanism does not fully release 

when the control is operated to the off position.  

3. Any mechanical parts are missing, broken, badly worn, 

or are inoperative.  

4. Cables are stretched, worn, or frayed or not operating 

freely.  

5. Parking brake will not hold the vehicle stationary with 

the engine running at slightly accelerated speed with shift 

lever in drive position for automatic transmission or shift 

lever in low gear with clutch engaged for standard shift 

transmission.  
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6. On vehicles equipped with automatic transmissions, the 

vehicle will start in any gear other than (P) park or (N) 

neutral. If the gearshift indicator does not identify the park 

(P) and neutral (N) positions, then the vehicle shall be 

rejected.  

7. On vehicles equipped with manual transmissions, the 

vehicle will start in any gear if the clutch is not depressed 

or disengaged. 

NOTE: This will not apply to older vehicles, which were 

not originally equipped with a neutral-safety switch, clutch 

disengagement system or clutch pedal position sensor by 

the manufacturer. 

8. Any nonmanufactured hole(s) in the spring brake 

housing section of a parking brake. 

NOTE: All commercial motor vehicles manufactured after 

March 7, 1990, shall be equipped with a parking brake 

system adequate to hold the vehicle or combination under 

any condition of loading except agricultural commodity 

trailers, converter dollies, heavy haulers and pulpwood 

trailers.  

C. Battery mounting and storage. 

NOTE: The battery shall be attached to a fixed part of the 

motor vehicle and protected by a removable cover or 

enclosure if the battery is installed in a location other than 

the engine compartment. This includes all brackets, 

hardware, bolts, and bushings used for securely mounting 

the battery to the vehicle. 

1. Removable covers or enclosures shall be substantial and 

shall be securely latched or fastened. 

2. The battery compartment shall have openings to provide 

ample battery ventilation and drainage. 

3. Whenever the cable to the starting motor passes through 

a metal compartment, the cable shall be protected against 

grounding by an acid and waterproof insulating bushing. 

4. Whenever a battery and a fuel tank are both placed 

under the driver's seat, they shall be partitioned from each 

other, and each compartment shall be provided with an 

independent cover, ventilation, and drainage. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

1. A battery is not securely attached to a fixed part of the 

motor vehicle or trailer. A battery is not protected by a 

removable cover or enclosure if the battery is installed in 

a location other than the engine compartment. 

2. All brackets, hardware, bolts, and bushings used for 

securely mounting the battery to the vehicle are not 

present. 

3. Removable covers or enclosures are not substantial 

and are not securely latched or fastened. 

4. The battery compartment does not have openings to 

provide ample battery ventilation and drainage. 

5. Whenever the cable to the starting motor passes 

through a metal compartment, the cable is not protected 

against grounding by an acid and waterproof insulating 

bushing. 

6. Whenever a battery and a fuel tank are both placed 

under the driver's seat, (i) the batter and fuel tank are not 

partitioned from each other or (ii) each compartment is 

not provided with an independent cover, ventilation, and 

drainage. 

19VAC30-70-460. Brakes: trailer (GVWR 10,000 pounds 

or more).  

A. All trailers and semitrailers having an actual gross weight 

of 10,000 pounds or more shall be equipped with operational 

brakes acting on all wheels.  

B. Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Trailer brakes do not comply with provisions of 

19VAC30-70-430, 19VAC30-70-440 and 19VAC30-70-

450.  

2. Operator does not have full control over brakes. For the 

purpose of this subdivision, surge brakes are considered to 

be in control of the operator.  

3. Combination will not stop as required in 19VAC30-70-

440 D 5.  

4. Trailers Breakaway braking devices are missing or 

inoperative or cable is frayed or broken, or trailers are not 

equipped with emergency breakaway brakes designed to:  

a. Apply automatically upon breakaway from towing 

vehicle.  

b. Remain fully applied for at least 15 minutes.  

c. Apply and release by operation of the manual 

emergency control.  

d. Apply automatically when the pressure in the towing 

vehicle reservoir is reduced to a point between 45 and 20 

PSI by a series of foot applications, when equipped with 

air brakes.  

NOTE: A minimum of one wheel must be removed from 

each axle equipped with brakes to inspect the brake 

components.  

Exceptions:  

a. Wheels on trailers equipped with open brake 

mechanisms are not required to be removed.  

b. The inspection receipt (approval and rejection) shall be 

marked to reflect which wheel, drum or dust cover was 

removed or inspected.  

19VAC30-70-470. Steering.  

Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Play at any point in the steering mechanism is excessive. 

The steering mechanism is unusually tight and binding 

when turning the steering wheel completely to the right 

and left. The steering mechanism will not turn in both 

directions, stop to stop, or steering stops have been 
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removed. On certain model passenger buses, it may be 

necessary to open the inspection access door to allow 

visual inspection of the steering shaft universal joints.  

2. Power steering is defective and affects adequate steering 

of the vehicle or fluid level in reservoir is below operating 

level or if there is an obvious leak of power steering fluid. 

Do not reject for dampness. Belts or the serpentine belt 

does not have sufficient tension or are worn, frayed, or 

missing. Damage to hoses or leaks in hoses or fittings. 

Power steering hoses have any cracks, crimps, or 

restrictions or are abraded, exposing inner fabric; tubing or 

connections leak or are crimped, restricted, cracked, or 

broken. Power steering tubing and hoses must be secured 

against chaffing, kinking, or other mechanical damage and 

be installed in a manner that prevents contact with the 

vehicle's exhaust system or any other source of high 

temperatures. Power steering belt does not have sufficient 

tension, is frayed, or is missing. The serpentine belt should 

only be rejected if a chunk of the ribbing is missing or a 

deep cut or crack exposes the inner fabric of the belt. (Do 

not reject for the many little surface cracks that appear in 

the ribs or back.) 

NOTE: If the vehicle is equipped with power steering, the 

engine must be running during testing. 

3. Any modification has been made to any part of the 

steering system that affects proper steering. A repair kit or 

preventive maintenance kit has been installed on a tie rod 

end, idler arm, ball joint, or any other part of the vehicle's 

steering gear.  

NOTE: This system requires moving components to be 

checked for steering wheel lash, loose parts or binding. To 

properly inspect the power steering components, the engine 

must be running.  

NOTE: The repair kit or preventive maintenance kit 

usually consists of a small spring and a plastic cap that is 

placed over the bolt stud of the component and held in 

place by a retaining nut. There is nothing in this paragraph 

that prohibits the replacement of parts or components of a 

motor vehicle's steering gear in order to correct 

deficiencies in the steering gear.  

4. Steering Lash/Travel-Trucks.  

Before inspection the vehicle must be placed on a 

smooth, dry, level surface. For vehicles equipped with 

power steering, the engine must be running and the fluid 

level, belt tension and condition must be adequate before 

testing.  

With road wheels in straight ahead position, turn steering 

wheel until motion can be detected at the front road 

wheels. Align a reference mark on steering wheel with a 

mark on a ruler and slowly turn steering wheel in the 

opposite direction until motion can be detected at the 

front road wheel. Measure lash at steering wheel. Special 

lash-checking instruments are also available, measuring 

free play in inches or degrees. Such instruments should 

always be mounted and used according to the 

manufacturer's instructions. With vehicle raised, visually 

inspect steering linkage, ball studs, tie rod end socket 

assemblies and all pivot points. On vehicles with power 

steering, engine must be running.  

Reject vehicle if steering wheel movement exceeds:  

Steering Wheel Size and Lash  

  Steering wheel diameter Manual steering 

system 

  16 inches or less 2 inches (51 mm) 

  18 inches 2 1/4 inches (57 mm) 

  19 inches 2 3/8 inches (60 mm) 

  20 inches 2 1/2 inches (64 mm) 

Reject vehicle if visual inspection reveals excessive wear 

and/or looseness in any ball stud, end assembly, pivot 

point or mechanical linkage.  

 

5. Any modification or replacement has been made to the 

steering wheel which affects proper steering. It shall be 

rejected if it is of a smaller size than the original factory 

equipment.  

6. Steering column has any missing or loose bolts or 

positioning parts, resulting in motion of the steering 

column from its normal position. Steering shaft universal 

joints are loose or exhibit any abnormal movement when 

shaft is rotated. Any welded repairs are made to the 

steering system, steering column, steering gear box, pitman 

arm or universal joints. Any movement of a steering nut 

under steering load.  

7. Any missing or loose bolts or other parts resulting in 

motion of the steering gear box at the point of attachment 

to the vehicle's frame.  
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8. Any looseness of the pitman arm on the steering gear 

box, output shaft or gear box.  

9. Any control arm bushing is missing.  

10. Any vehicle equipped with an idler arm shows 

excessive looseness.  

11. Any motion, other than rotational, between any linkage 

member and its attachment point of more than 1/8 inch 

measured with hand pressure only.  

12. Loose clamps, clamp bolts on tie rod ends or drag 

links.  

13. Any looseness in any threaded joint.  

14. Loose or missing nut on tie rods, pitman arm, drag ink, 

steering arm or tie rod ends.  

15. Wheel bearings/steering linkage.  

a. With the front end of vehicle lifted properly, push pads 

away from rotor on disc brakes, and grab front tire at top 

and bottom, rock vigorously in and out and record 

movement. Wheel bearing looseness is detected by the 

relative movement between the brake drum or disc and 

the backing plate or splash shield.  

(1) Reject vehicle if relative movement between drum 

and backing plate (disc and splash shield) is more than 

1/4 inch measured at the outer circumference of the tire 

for vehicles more than 10,000 pounds GVWR.  

(2) Reject vehicle if any wheel bearing is excessively 

worn or not properly adjusted; any cotter key or other 

locking device is missing or inoperative.  

b. Steering linkage play. First eliminate all wheel bearing 

movement by applying service brake. With vehicle lifted 

as shown below and wheels in straight ahead position, 

grasp front and rear of tire and attempt to move assembly 

right and left without moving the steering gear.  

Reject vehicle if measured movement at front or rear of 

tire is greater than:  

Wheel size: 17 inches or less - 1/4 inch (6.5mm) 

  17 to 18 inches  - 3/8 inch (9.5mm) 

  over 18 inches  - 1/2 inch (13mm) 

 

c. King pin. If vehicle is equipped with king pins, first 

eliminate all wheel bearing movement by applying 

service brake. With front end lifted as illustrated for 

inspecting wheel bearings, (Figure C) grasp the tire at the 

top and bottom and attempt to move in and out to detect 

looseness. Measure the movement at the top or bottom of 

the tire at the outer circumference.  

Reject vehicle if measured movement at top or bottom of 

tire is greater than:  

Wheel size: 16 inches or less  - 1/4 inch 

  17 to 18 inches  - 3/8 inch 

  over 18 inches  - 1/2 inch 

 

Proper lifting for wheel bearing, steering linkage looseness, 

and king play action 

FIGURE A FIGURE 

B  

FIGURE C 

NOTE: Ball joint wear: There is a trend among U.S. 

automobile manufacturers toward the use of "wear-

indicating" ball joints on light trucks. Many vehicles on the 
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road, however, do not have wear-indicating ball joints. The 

inspection of both types will be discussed.  

Figures 1, 2, 3 and 4 below illustrate the proper hoisting 

for checking ball joints.  

 

a. NOTE: To check ball joint wear on vehicles when the 

spring is supported on the upper control arm or when the 

spring is a part of a MacPherson strut or wear in any 

other type suspension not using ball joints when the front 

wheels are suspended on a solid axle, the vehicle must be 

hoisted as shown in Figure 1 or 2.  

b. NOTE: Upper control arm must be stabilized in 

normal load carrying position by means of an upper 

control or other support tool to insure ball joint is in 

unloaded position.  

c. NOTE: To check ball joint wear on vehicles not listed 

in above referred to section and diagram or tables when 

the spring is supported on the lower control arm; and to 

check the kingpin wear in any other type suspension not 

previously described when the wheels are independently 

suspended, the vehicle must be hoisted as shown in 

Figure 3 or 4.  

16. Vehicles without wear indicator ball joint.  

a. If play is detected in any ball joint without "wear-

indicating" ball joints, it will be necessary for the 

inspection to be made in accordance with the 

manufacturer's recommended procedures and 

specifications prior to rejecting the vehicle. 

b. If there are no manufacturer's recommended 

procedures and specifications, the lower ball joints will 

be checked when hoisted as in Figures 1 or 2, or in the 

upper ball joints when hoisted as in Figures 3 or 4. There 

should be no noticeable play detected in the ball joints 

when checked in this manner. 

c. Reject vehicle if play exceeds the manufacturer's 

specifications. It is recommended that inspectors use a 

dial indicator or ball joint checking gauge when checking 

for play of a ball joint when procedures and 

specifications are provided by the manufacturer. 

17. Ball joints with wear indicators (trucks). Support 

vehicle with ball joints loaded (in normal driving attitude). 

Wipe grease fitting and checking surface free of dirt and 

grease. Determine if checking surface extends beyond the 

surface of the ball joint cover.  

Reject vehicle if checking surface is flush with or inside 

the cover surface.  

 

18. Any vehicle inspected in accordance with the 

recommendation of the manufacturer of such vehicle and 

found to be within the specification shall be deemed to 

meet inspection regulations.  

19VAC30-70-480. Suspension.  

Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Any positioning parts are cracked, broken, loose, or 

missing resulting in shifting of an axle from its normal 

position.  

2. Any part of the torsion bar assembly or torque arm or 

any part used for attaching the same to the vehicle frame or 

axle is cracked, broken or missing.  

NOTE: This does not apply to loose bushing(s) in torque 

or track arms.  
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3. Vehicles designed for shock absorbers or cross stabilizer 

links, if any are missing, disconnected, broken, bent, loose 

or do not function properly.  

4. Any leaf spring is broken, sagging, misaligned, or if 

spring hangar(s) hangers are worn or loose.  

5. Any deflated air suspension system or leaks.  

CAUTION: Underneath inspection of a vehicle equipped 

with air suspension with excessive leakdown could result 

in serious personal injury.  

6. Any suspension system defect or any condition of 

loading that permits the body or frame to come in contact 

with a tire or any part of the wheel assemblies.  

NOTE: "All thread rod" material shall not be used as U-

bolts in the suspension system.  

7. Sliding trailer tandem or multi-axle assemblies do not 

lock in place or have broken or missing parts.  

8. Any coil spring is broken.  

9. Vehicles with composite springs on either the power unit 

or trailer, if a crack, regardless of length, is visible on 

either side, top or bottom.  

NOTE: A crack is a separation in any axis that passes 

completely through the spring.  

19VAC30-70-490. Frame, engine mounts, coupling devices 

and emergency chains. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Frame of any bus, truck, tractor truck is cracked, loose, 

broken or sagging. Frame of any trailer or semi-trailer has 

any broken cracked, loose, or sagging top or bottom frame 

rails or frame is cracked or broken.  

2. Engine, transmission or cab mounts, to include all 

hardware, bolts, and bushings used to connect the mount to 

the vehicle, frame, engine, or transmission are broken or 

missing. Any engine or transmission mount should shall be 

rejected if it allows the power train to come in contact with 

the firewall or other body parts. Cab mounts should be 

rejected if they do not properly secure the body to the 

frame.  

3. Trailer hitch or pintle hook is not securely attached. 

Reject if the pintle eye or trailer drawbar has any cracks or 

if any welding repairs have been made to the pintle eye.  

4. Chains, cables, etc., used to attach a towed vehicle are 

not securely attached, or are broken, worn or abraded.  

5. Fifth wheel does not lock in position or have a locking 

mechanism that is in proper working order.  

NOTE: Reject if horizontal movement exceeds 1/2 inch 

between upper and lower fifth wheel halves.  

6. Fifth wheel assembly system has any leak of fluid or air.  

7. Fifth wheel has any broken, missing, or damaged parts; 

or is not securely attached to the frame. This includes fore 

and aft stops.  

8. Trailer king pin is not secure, or is broken, or worn so as 

to prevent secure fit in fifth wheel. The upper coupler 

device is not securely attached.  

9. Any cracks, breaks or damaged parts in the stress or load 

bearing areas of a coupling device.  

10. Trailer is not equipped with emergency chain(s) or 

steel cable(s).  

NOTE: Fifth wheel assembly does not require emergency 

chain or steel cable. A fifth wheel is defined as a device 

that interfaces with and couples to the upper coupler 

assembly of a semitrailer. The upper coupler assembly is a 

structure consisting of an upper coupler plate, king pin and 

supporting framework which interfaces with and couples to 

a fifth wheel. Ball and socket connections also referred to 

as hitch and coupling connections are not fifth wheel 

assemblies and do require an emergency chain or steel 

cable.  

11. Sliding trailer tandem or multi-axle assemblies do not 

lock in place or have worn, broken or missing parts.  

19VAC30-70-500. Tires, wheels, rims.  

Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Any tire is marked specifically for use other than on the 

highway, such as "For Farm Use Only," or "For Off-

Highway Use Only," or any tire marked "Not for Steering 

Axle," or "For Mobile Home use only Use Only," or "For 

Trailer Use Only."  

2. A radial tire is mismatched on the same axle with a bias 

ply tire or a bias belted tire.  

3. Bias ply or bias belted tires are used on the rear axle 

when radial ply tires are used on the front axle. Except:  

a. On a two-axle vehicle equipped with truck tires with 

20-inch rim diameter and larger. Bias or radial tires may 

be used on either axle if the vehicle has dual rear wheels 

or is equipped with wide-base single tires.  

b. Either bias or radial tires may be used on the steering 

axle of vehicles with three or more axles.  

4. Bias tires and radial tires are mixed in a tandem-drive 

axle combination on a vehicle equipped with truck tires 

with 20-inch rim diameter and larger.  

5. Any tire on the front wheel of a bus, truck or any tractor 

truck has a tread groove pattern of less than 4/32 inch 

when measured at any point on a major tread groove.  

6. Any bus has regrooved, recapped, or retreaded tires on 

the front wheels.  

7. Any motor vehicle, trailer or semitrailer, except the dual 

wheels installed on motor vehicles having seats for more 

than seven passengers: (i) operated wholly within a 

municipality, or (ii) operated by urban and suburban bus 

lines, which are defined as bus lines operating over 

regularly scheduled routes and the majority of whose 

passengers use the buses for traveling a distance of not 

exceeding 40 miles, measured one way, on the same day 
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between their place of abode and their place of work, 

shopping areas, or schools, is equipped with a tire that has 

a tread depth measuring less than 2/32 of an inch when 

measured as follows: NOTE: The exemptions provided in 

clauses (i) and (ii) of this paragraph do not apply to buses 

owned or operated by any public school district, private 

school, or contract operator of buses.  

NOTE: Measure in two adjacent tread grooves where tread 

is thinnest. If either of the grooves measure 2/32 of an inch 

or more, no further measurements are necessary and tread 

depth is satisfactory. Do not measure on tread wear 

indicators.  

If both adjacent grooves measure less than 2/32 of an inch, 

the tire tread depth must be measured again at two 

additional equally spaced intervals around the 

circumference of the tire in a like manner as the first 

measurement. If the tread depth is less than 2/32 of an inch 

in two adjacent tread grooves at each of the equally spaced 

intervals, the tire must be rejected.  

NOTE: Refer to Figures 1, 2, 3, and 4 in this section for 

illustrations of how to measure tire tread.  

  MEASURE WHERE THE TREAD IS 

THINNEST IN TWO ADJACENT TREAD 

GROOVES 

 
FIGURE 1 

IF THE DEPTH IS LESS THAN 2/32-INCH IN 

BOTH GROOVES MEASURE AT TWO 

ADDITIONAL EQUALLY SPACED 

INTERVALS 

8. A tire equipped with tread wear indicators if found to 

have such indicators in contact with the pavement in any 

two adjacent grooves at three equally spaced intervals 

around the circumference of the tire. Refer to Figure 2.  

  REJECT IF THE TREAD WEAR 

INDICATORS ARE IN CONTACT WITH THE 

PAVEMENT IN ANY TWO ADJACENT 

GROOVES AT THREE EQUALLY SPACED 

LOCATIONS 

 
FIGURE 2 

9. Any tire has a cut to the extent a ply or belt material is 

exposed or puncture, not to include a plug or patch that 

may be used as a manner of repair. 

NOTE: Plugs/patches shall be in the tread area only. 

Plugs/patches are not permitted in the sidewall of the tire.  

10. Any tire is worn so that the fabric or steel cord is visible.  

11. Any tire has knots or bulges in its sidewalls or if there is 

evidence of a broken belt under the tread, or if the tread is 

separating from the fabric.  

12. Any tire that has been recut or regrooved except 

commercial tires so designed and constructed to provide for 

acceptable and safe recutting and regrooving. Each tire that 

has been regrooved must be labeled with the word 

"Regroovable" molded on or into the tire on both sidewalls in 

raised or recessed letters.  

13. Any tire is flat or has an audible air leak.  

14. Any tire so mounted or inflated that it comes into contact 

with its mate or any parts of the vehicle.  

15. Rims, or lock rings or wheels are bent, cracked or 

damaged so as to affect safe operation of the vehicle. Reject if 

lug nut holes are elongated (out of round).  

16. Any wheel studs, bolts, nuts, lugs, or other fasteners (both 

spoke and disc wheels) are loose, broken, cracked, stripped, 

missing, or damaged or otherwise ineffective.  

17. Any welded repair on aluminum wheel(s) on a steering 

axle or any welded repair (other than disc to rim attachment) 

on steel drive wheel(s) mounted on the steering axle.  

18. Directional tires and/or wheels, designed and 

manufactured to go in a certain direction of rotation not 

installed in the proper direction of rotation. 
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19VAC30-70-510. Headlamps.  

A. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Any motor vehicle is not equipped with headlamps of an 

approved type. The headlamps must be marked with the 

headlamp manufacturer's name or trademark, and DOT. If 

the headlamp bulbs are replaceable, the headlamp lens 

must be marked with the headlamp light source type (bulb) 

for which it was designed and the bulb must match the lens 

code.  

2. Headlights are not of the same approved type (Halogen, 

HID, etc.) except sealed beam headlamps. At least two 

headlamps are required. 

3. In any headlamp the lens is cracked, broken, discolored, 

or rotated away from the proper position, or the reflector is 

not clean and bright.  

4. Moisture or water buildup in headlamp is such that it 

affects the aiming pattern. 

5.. Headlamps omit light other than white. Light tints of 

color may be acceptable if the headlamp and headlamp 

bulbs are marked as required.  

6. Bulbs are not of an approved type and marked with all 

of the following: light source type, the manufacturer's 

name or trade mark, and DOT. 

- a. Approved headlamp bulbs: HB1, HB2, HB3, HB3A, 

HB4, HB4A, HB5, H1, H3, H7, H8, H8B, H9, H9B, 

H11, H11B, H11C, H13, H13C, H15, HIR1, HIR2. 

- b. Approved headlamp bulbs that require ballast:  9500, 

D1R, D1S, D2R, D2S, D3R, D3S, D4R, D4S, D5S, D7S, 

D8S.  

- c. Approved headlamp ballasts must be marked with the 

light source type (bulb) and DOT. The bulb type marked 

on the ballast must match the marking on the headlamp 

lens. 

7. Any filament or bulb in headlamps fails to burn properly 

or headlamps are not at the same location or configuration 

as designed by the manufacturer. (Location and type of 

headlamps can be found in subsection B of this section.) 

8. Wiring is dangling or connections are loose, or if proper 

filaments do not burn at different switch positions, or if 

switches -- including foot or hand dimmer -- do not 

function properly, and are not convenient to the driver. 

9. Foreign material is placed on or in front of the headlamp 

lens or interferes with the beam from the lamp. No glazing 

may be placed over or in front of the headlamps unless it is 

a part of an approved headlamp assembly. a. Reject if the 

vehicle has wire, unapproved plastic covers, any other 

materials that are not original equipment or any colored 

material placed on or in front of the headlamps.  

b. EXCEPTION: A clear impact film known as Headlight 

Savers produced by Grand Prix Motoring Accessories may 

be applied to the headlight lens to absorb impact of rocks, 

etc. 

EXCEPTION: A law-enforcement special weapons and 

tactics (SWAT) or tactical armored vehicle, designed and 

manufactured exclusively for missions, may apply 

protective bars in front of the headlamps when designed 

and installed by the manufacturer. 

NOTE: Headlamps, auxiliary driving lamps and front fog 

lamps shall be mounted so that the beams are aimable and 

the mounting shall prevent the aim of the lighting device 

from being disturbed while the vehicle is operating on 

public roads. All lamps shall be securely mounted on a 

rigid part of the vehicle. 

10. Lamps can be moved easily by hand due to a broken 

fender or loose support, or if a good ground is not made by 

the mounting.  

Headlamps, auxiliary driving lamps and front fog lamps 

shall be mounted so that the beams are aimable and the 

mounting shall prevent the aim of the lighting device from 

being disturbed while the vehicle is operating on public 

roads. All lamps shall be securely mounted on a rigid part 

of the vehicle.  

11. A headlamp visor is over two inches long unless part of 

the original body design. 

12. The beam indicator in the driver's compartment does 

not burn when the high beam is on. (Vehicles not 

originally equipped with an indicator are not required to 

comply unless sealed beam headlamps have been 

installed.) 

13. Headlamps are not aimed within the following 

tolerances using optical aimer: 

a. The center of the hot spot of all Type 1 lamps, all 

single element high beam lamps, and all lamps that do 

not have Type 2 embossed in the lens, is set more than 

four inches up or down from the horizontal centerline or 

more than four inches to the left or right from the vertical 

centerline. 

b. The left edge of the lamp pattern of any low beam 

lamp or any combination or multi-element lamp or Type 

2 lamp is more than four inches to the left or right of the 

vertical centerline or the top edge of the lamp pattern is 

more than four inches above or below the horizontal 

centerline. 

Aiming the Headlamps: 

NOTE: Headlamps shall be checked for proper aim by 

using an optical headlamp aimer on every motor vehicle 

inspected. 

Optical Aimer: 

NOTE: Approved optical headlamp machines may be used 

to properly aim any of the headlamps. Optical aimers must 

be properly calibrated and used in the manner 

recommended by the manufacturer. 

NOTE: When aiming headlamps, first look for the type of 

lamp, which will be found embossed on the lens. The type 
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determines which aiming requirements must be followed 

for the optical aimer. 

NOTE: All Type 2 headlamps and all low beam or multi-

element headlamps must be set by aiming the lamp pattern 

with the lamps set on low beam. 

NOTE: If attempting to align a composite or sealed beam 

lamp with a high and low beam within the same housing, 

align only the low beam. If aligning a four-lamp system 

with high and low beams in separate housings, it may be 

necessary to cover the low beam while aligning the high 

beam, if all four lamps are on at the same time. 

NOTE: Pattern should be aimed so that the left edge does 

not extend to the left or right of straight ahead, and the top 

of the pattern should be even with the horizontal. 

NOTE: All VOL and VOR headlamps will be aimed as 

follows: 

To properly aim a combination multi-element or low beam 

VOL or VOR headlamp assembly, the headlamp pattern 

should be aimed on low beam only. 

Letters marked on the headlamp cover should properly 

identify VOL and VOR headlamps. 

NOTE: VOL and VOR headlamps will normally have only 

one adjustment, which will be for the vertical aim only. 

The horizontal aim should be disregarded, as the horizontal 

aim is preset at the factory. 

Pattern "A" represents the light pattern, as it should appear 

on the view screen of the approved aimer when checking 

the low beam pattern on a single element headlamp or a 

combination multi-element headlamp. 

 

NOTE: All Type 1 headlamps and all headlamps that do 

not have Type 2 embossed in the lens shall be set by 

aiming the center of the hot spot with the lamps set on high 

beam. 

NOTE: Aim straight ahead-center of the hot spot should be 

centered with the vertical and horizontal centerlines. 

Pattern "B" represents the light pattern as it should appear 

on the view screen of the approved aimer. 

 

NOTE: The four headlamp system combines four 5-3/4-

inch lamps in pairs.  

NOTE: One lamp embossed at the top as Type "1" and one 

embossed on the top as a Type "2" are arranged as a pair 

on each side.  

NOTE: When lamp pairs are mounted horizontally, the 

Type "2" lamp must be on the outer side.  

NOTE: The four headlamp system must be wired so that 

only the lower beam in the Type "2" lamps will burn when 

the light beams are depressed. When switched to high 

beams, both the Type "1" and Type "2" will burn.  

NOTE: Light patterns shown on the following page will be 

displayed on the most recently approved light machines 

produced by Hopkins and Symtech Corporations. 

Aiming the Headlamps:  

NOTE: All headlamps that are found not to be within the 4 

inch tolerance shall be adjusted to zero inches up or down 

and zero inches to the right or left.  

Headlamps on Vehicles used for Snow Removal:  

NOTE: Approved auxiliary headlamps (SAE-Z) may be 

mounted above the conventional headlamps. (These lamps 

must be in compliance with 19VAC30-70-140, in its 

entirety, 19VAC30-70-150, subdivision 7, and 19VAC30-

70-170, subsection A, of this manual.)  

B. Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Lamps are not an approved type as indicated in 

subdivision A 6 of this section.  

2. Lamps are not mounted in a manner that will permit 

proper aiming.  

3. Lamps are mounted so as to obstruct the driver's vision.  

4. The auxiliary headlamp circuit does not contain a switch 

that will deactivate the primary headlamp system when the 

auxiliary headlamps are in use.  

5. Auxiliary headlamps are not aimed in accordance with 

the provisions of this section.  
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HEADLAMP PATTERNS 

 

  

 

NOTE: ALWAYS inspect the following sealed beam and 

replacement bulb headlamps on LOW BEAM only:  

- 5-3/4 inch, marked Type 2 or 2CI  

- b. 7 inch, marked Type 2 or 2DI  

- 6-1/2 X 4-1/4 inch rectangular, marked Type 2QA or 

2A1  

- 2000 X 142mm rectangular, marked Type 2B or 2B1  

19VAC30-70-520. Rear lamps: tail lamp; license plate 

lamps; and rear lamp combinations.  

A. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Vehicle is not equipped with a rear (tail lamp) or rear 

lamp combination of an approved type and the light or 

light assembly does not work as approved. The approval 
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designation letters that must appear are DOT or SAE-A-I-

S-T-P for single lamps and DOT or SAE-A-I-S-T-P-R if a 

backup light is incorporated.  

2. The vehicle is equipped with more than one rear lamp, if 

all are not in operating condition. 

3. The vehicle is not equipped with a license plate lamp of 

an approved type (DOT or SAE-L) which emits a white 

light. The license plate lamp may be a separate lamp or 

part of a combination rear lamp. (A road tractor or tractor-

truck that does not have a rear license plate is not required 

to have a license plate lamp.) 

4. Lens for license plate lamp is not illuminated by an 

approved license plate lamp that admits emits a white light. 

5. Lens on rear lamps, or lens area in combination rear 

lamps (tail lamps) are not red or contain a DOT of another 

color. LED (light emitting (light-emitting diode) lights 

with a clear lens are acceptable, if of an approved type. For 

those vehicles that are equipped with a multiple LED light 

(not filament burning filament-burning bulbs), they will 

pass inspection if more than 50% of the diode lights are 

burning. 

6. Lens has piece broken from it or does not fit properly. 

The lens may have one or more cracks provided an off-

color light does not project through the crack(s).  

NOTE: Taping or gluing cracks or pieces is not allowed. 

7. Filament in all rear (tail) lamps does not burn when 

headlamp switch is turned on to any position, or if lamps 

do not provide a red light visible to the rear through an 

approved red lens as annotated in subdivision 1 of this 

subsection.  

8. Rear (tail) lamp is not mounted near extreme rear of 

vehicle. Dump trucks and other specially constructed 

vehicles may mount the rear lamp at a point other than on 

the extreme rear, provided such rear lamp is clearly visible 

from the rear, and further provided that a red reflector of an 

approved type is mounted on the extreme rear. In unusual 

cases, the rear lamp may be mounted on the cab. Reject if 

the lamp is hidden by a bolster or other part of the body or 

frame, is not mounted securely, or if the lamp does not 

make a good electrical contact. 

9. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 

filaments do not burn. 

10. Any vehicle has unapproved lens or plastic covers, any 

other materials that are not original equipment or any 

colored material placed on or in front of rear lamps, tail 

lamps, license plate lamps or rear lamp combinations.  

B. Every trailer shall carry at the rear, two red lights of a 

type approved by the Superintendent superintendent.  

19VAC30-70-530. Auxiliary lamps: backup; cornering; 

driving; fog; spot and warning.  

A. Auxiliary lamps on a vehicle consist of seven general 

types: backup lamps (SAE-R), cornering lamps (SAE-K), 

driving lamps (SAE-Y), front fog lamps with an amber or 

clear lens (SAE-F) and rear fog lamps with red lens (SAE-

F2), spot lamps (SAE-O), warning lamps (SAE-W), and 

daytime running lamps (DRLs) (SAE-Y2). 

1. School buses may be equipped with an eight-lamp 

warning system of two red and two amber warning lamps 

of an approved type (SAE-W2) on the front and rear of 

such vehicle. 

a. In addition to required warning lamps, school buses 

may be equipped with a stop signal arm consisting of an 

octagonal sign that meets FMVSS specifications (Federal 

Motor Vehicle Safety Standards, 49 CFR Part 571). The 

stop signal arm shall be reflectorized or be equipped with 

two red warning lamps of an approved type. 

b. School buses may also be equipped with roof mounted 

flashing white or amber warning lamps of an approved 

type (SAE-W2). 

2. Reject if the vehicle has wire, unapproved plastic covers, 

any other materials that are not original equipment or any 

colored material placed on or in front of any auxiliary 

lamps-backup lamps, backup, cornering, driving, fog, spot 

or warning lamps. 

EXCEPTION: Any lighting device that is both covered and 

not illuminated, other than lamps required or permitted by 

this manual, shall not be considered for inspection. Fog 

and driving lamps mounted below the level of the regular 

headlights must be checked for aim as outlined in 

subdivisions K 10 i and K 11 g of this section, if not 

covered. 

NOTE: The covers shall be a type that would be installed 

as original equipment and not tape, paper bags, aluminum 

foil or similar materials. 

B. There is no limit on the number of backup lamps that a 

vehicle may have so long as they are of an approved type 

(SAE-R). 

C. No more than four lamps, including two headlamps may 

be lighted at any time to provide general illumination ahead 

of the vehicle. 

D. Approved type (DOT or SAE-W) blue or blue and red 

lights are permitted on Department of Corrections vehicles 

designated by the Director of the Department of Corrections 

and any law-enforcement vehicle. 

E. Approved type blue or blue and red lights as well as 

approved type hide-away or undercover strobe warning lights 

are permissible for use on Department of Corrections and any 

law-enforcement vehicles. 

1. Approved type secondary warning lights installed only 

on the four corners, on Department of Corrections and any 

law-enforcement vehicles, fire apparatus, government-

owned vehicle operated on official business by a local fire 

chief or other local fire official, rescue squad vehicle, 

ambulance, or any other emergency medical vehicles. 
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These lights shall also have primary warning lights 

installed. 

2. The hide-away or undercover strobe lights shall be 

installed in the side marker lights, tail lights or parking 

lights. The strobe itself must be clear and the lens color 

must continue to be the same type and color as originally 

approved. It will not be permissible to install the hide-away 

lights in the headlights or in the backup lights. 

F. Approved type (SAE-W) red warning lights or red and 

white lights showing to the front are permitted on fire 

department vehicles, including publicly owned state forest 

warden vehicles, ambulances, any rescue vehicle used for 

emergency calls, local Departments of Emergency 

Management, animal warden vehicles, school buses and 

vehicles used by security personnel at the Newport News 

Shipbuilding and Drydock Company, Bassett-Walker, 

Incorporated, the Tultex Corporation, the Winchester Medical 

Center, or the National Aeronautics and Space 

Administration's Wallops Flight Facility. 

G. No more than two flashing or steady-burning red or 

combination red and white lights of an approved type may be 

installed on one vehicle owned by any member of a fire 

company, volunteer fire company, volunteer rescue squad or 

any ambulance driver employed by a privately owned 

ambulance service.  

H. Vehicles mentioned in subsections D, E and F permitted 

to be equipped with flashing, blinking or alternating red, red 

and white, blue, or blue and red emergency lights (except 

vehicles owned by any member of a fire company, volunteer 

fire company, volunteer rescue squad or an ambulance driver 

employed by a privately owned ambulance service) may be 

equipped with the means to flash their headlamps when their 

emergency warning lamps are activated provided: 

1. The headlamps are wired to allow either the upper beam 

or lower beam to flash but not both and; 

2. The headlamp system includes a sensor that prevents 

flashing of headlamps when headlamps are required to be 

lighted pursuant to current statute. 

Emergency vehicles in Chesapeake, Poquoson, and York 

County may be equipped with flashing headlights that will 

function whenever their warning lights are activated. 

I. Any fire vehicle used exclusively for fire fighting 

firefighting, any ambulance or rescue or lifesaving vehicle 

used for the principal purpose of emergency relief or any 

wrecker used for the principal purpose of towing disabled 

vehicles may be equipped with clear auxiliary lamps that shall 

be used exclusively for lighting emergency scenes. Such 

lamps shall be of a type permitted by the superintendent. Any 

government-owned police vehicle may be equipped with clear 

auxiliary lamps of a type approved by the superintendent. 

J. Approved type (SAE-W) amber flashing, blinking or 

alternating lights are permitted on vehicles used for the 

principal purpose of towing or servicing disabled vehicles or 

in constructing, maintaining and repairing highways or 

utilities on or along public highways and vehicles used for the 

principal purpose of removing hazardous or polluting 

substances from the state waters or drainage areas on or along 

public highways. Such lamps are permitted on vehicles used 

for servicing automatic teller machines, refuse collection 

vehicles, hi-rail vehicles and on vehicles used for towing or 

escorting over-dimensional materials, equipment, boats, or 

manufactured housing units by authority of highway hauling 

permit. 

1. Approved type (DOT or SAE-W) amber, red, and red 

and white flashing, blinking or alternating warning lights 

are permitted on fire apparatus, ambulances, and rescue 

and life-saving vehicles, provided the lights are mounted or 

installed as to be visible from behind the vehicle.  

2. Approved type (DOT or SAE-W) amber flashing, 

blinking or alternating lights are permitted on vehicles 

owned and used by municipal safety officers in the 

performance of their official duties, by businesses 

providing security services and vehicles used to collect and 

deliver the United States mail, vehicles used by law-

enforcement personnel in the enforcement of laws 

governing motor vehicle parking, and government-owned 

law-enforcement vehicles provided the lights are used for 

giving directional warning and vehicles used to provide 

escort for funeral processions. 

3. An approved type amber flashing, blinking or alternating 

lights are permitted on vehicles used as pace cars, security 

vehicles, or fire-fighting vehicles by any speedway or 

motor vehicle race track. 

4. An approved type (DOT or SAE-W) amber flashing, 

blinking or alternating light may be mounted on the rear of 

any vehicle used to transport petroleum products. The light 

must be wired through the reverse gear circuit and activate 

in conjunction with the backup lights and audible alarm. 

5. An approved type (SAE-W) green warning light is 

permitted on vehicles used by police, fire-fighting, or 

rescue personnel as command centers at the scene of 

incidents. Such lights shall not be activated while the 

vehicle is operating upon the highway. 

K. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Vehicle has an auxiliary lamp being used for a purpose 

other than that for which it was approved. 

Do not reject tractor trucks equipped with cargo lights of 

an approved type (SAE-G) that are mounted on the rear of 

the tractor cab and wired through an independent switch 

used to illuminate brake connectors and fifth-wheels for 

nighttime hookups. 

2. A vehicle has installed on it a warning lamp that is not 

of an approved type or has been altered.  

3. Vehicle is equipped with a combination of auxiliary 

lamps which include more than two fog lamps, or more 

than two spot lamps, or more than two driving lamps. 
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Motor vehicles may be equipped with more than two fog or 

auxiliary lights; however, only two of these types of lights 

can be illuminated at any time. Reject a vehicle equipped 

with a headlamp mounted or used as an auxiliary lamp. 

NOTE: Vehicles equipped from the factory, with two 

driving lamps should not be rejected. 

4. Vehicle is equipped with an auxiliary lamp that does not 

function properly. (If an auxiliary lamp has been modified 

by removing the wiring, bulb and socket, the unit will be 

considered an ornament and not a lamp and will not be 

considered for inspection.) 

5. Vehicle is equipped with a lighted advertising sign, 

except commercial motor vehicles and buses operated as 

public carriers. These vehicles may be equipped with 

vacant and destination signs and one steadily burning white 

light for illumination of external advertising. Do not reject 

approved identification lights. 

6. Any lamp is not of an approved type or if lamps to be 

burned together as a pair do not emit the same color light. 

7. The lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may have 

one or more cracks provided an off-color light does not 

project through the crack or cracks. 

8. Backup lamps are not required on motor vehicles less 

than 26,001 pounds GVWR. However, if installed they 

must operate and be inspected.  

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Lamps are not of an approved type (DOT or SAE-R) 

or a lamp has been altered. 

b. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 

filaments do not burn. 

c. The lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may have 

one or more cracks provided an off-color light does not 

project through the crack or cracks. 

d. Lens is other than clear. LED (light emitting (light-

emitting diode) lights with a clear lens are acceptable, if 

of an approved type. For those vehicles that are equipped 

with a multiple LED light (not filament burning filament-

burning bulbs), they will pass inspection if more than 

50% of the diode lights are burning. 

e. Lamps are not wired into the reverse gear or. Vehicles 

manufactured without backup lamps may be wired into 

an independent circuit. 

9. Cornering lamps are not required. However, if installed 

they must operate and be inspected. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Lamps are not of an approved type (DOT or SAE-K) 

or a lamp has been altered. 

b. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 

filaments do not burn. 

c. The lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may have 

one or more cracks provided an off-color light does not 

project through the crack or cracks. 

d. The color of the light is other than clear or amber.  

e. The lamps do not burn in conjunction with the turn 

signals. 

10. Driving lamps are not required. However, if installed 

they must operate and be inspected.  

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Driving lamps are installed on vehicles equipped with 

the four-headlamp system, except the "F" type headlamp 

system. 

b. A vehicle is equipped with more than two driving 

lamps. 

c. Driving lamps are not of an approved type (DOT or 

SAE-Y) or have been altered. 

d. The color of the lamp is other than white. 

e. The lens has a piece broken from it or is rotated away 

from its proper position. The lens may have one or more 

cracks provided an off-color light does not project 

through the crack or cracks. 

f. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 

filaments do not burn. 

g. Any driving lamp is mounted above the level of the 

regular headlamps, or is not mounted firmly to prevent 

excessive vibration. 

h. Driving lamps are not wired so that they will burn only 

when the high beams of the regular headlamps are 

activated. 

i. Driving lamps are not aimed so that the center of the 

hot spot drops three inches in 25 feet so that the hot spot 

is directly ahead of the lamp. 

NOTE: Driving lamps must be aimed using the optical 

headlight aimer. A tolerance of four inches in 25 feet is 

allowed in both the horizontal and the vertical 

adjustment. 

11. Fog lamps are not required. However, if installed they 

must operate and be inspected.  

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. A vehicle may be equipped with more than two fog 

lamps; however, not more than two lamps can be 

illuminated at any time.  

b. Lamps are not of an approved type (SAE or DOT-F or 

F2) or a lamp has been altered. 

c. The lens is other than clear or amber. (Fog lamps may 

have black end bulbs or small metal caps over the end of 

the bulb.) 

d. The lens has a piece broken from it or is rotated away 

from its proper position. The lens may have one or more 
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cracks provided an off-color light does not project 

through the crack or cracks. 

e. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 

filaments do not burn. 

f. Any fog lamp is mounted above the level of the regular 

headlamps, or is not mounted firmly. 

g. Lamps are not wired and aimed according to the 

following instructions: 

(1) Fog lamps are general illumination lamps as covered 

in 19VAC30-70-160 D. They must burn through the tail 

light circuit even if on a separate switch. If installed on a 

vehicle with a four-headlamp system or a vehicle 

equipped with driving lamps, they must be wired into the 

low beam circuit. 

(2) Fog lamps must be aimed so that the top edge of the 

high intensity zone is set at the horizontal centerline and 

the left edge of the high intensity zone is set at the 

vertical centerline. (Same as low beam headlights.) 

NOTE: Fog lamps must be aimed using the optical 

headlight aimer. 

(3) A tolerance of four inches in 25 feet is allowed in 

both the horizontal and the vertical adjustment. 

12. Spot lamps are not required. However, if installed they 

must operate and be inspected.  

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Vehicle is equipped with more than two spot lamps. 

b. Lamps are not of an approved type (DOT or SAE-O) 

or a lamp has been altered. 

c. The lens in any spot lamp is other than clear. 

d. The lens has a piece broken from it or is rotated away 

from its proper position. The lens may have one or more 

cracks provided an off-color light does not project 

through the crack or cracks. 

e. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 

filaments do not burn. 

13. Daytime running lamps (DRLs) are not required. 

However, if installed they must operate and be inspected. 

DRLs must be installed in pairs. 

NOTE: DRLs may or may not be wired into the tail light 

circuit. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Any lamp, except headlamps, used as DRLs is not an 

approved type (SAE-Y2) and is not marked "DRL." 

b. Fog lamps or parking lamps are used as DRLs. 

c. More than one pair of lamps are used and or 

designated as DRLs. 

d. A DRL is mounted higher than 34 inches measured to 

the center of the lamp. 

e. The color is other than white or amber.  

f. DRLs do not deactivate when the headlamps are in any 

"on" position. 

Any DRL optically combined with a turn signal or 

hazard lamp must deactivate when the turn signal or 

hazard lamp is activated and then reactivate when the 

turn signal or hazard lamp deactivates. 

19VAC30-70-540. Parking lamps.  

Parking lamps are not required. However, if installed they 

must operate and be inspected. Parking lamps may burn in 

conjunction with the headlamps. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Lamps are not of an approved type (DOT or SAE-P) or a 

lamp has been altered. 

2. Parking lamps have other than clear or amber lenses 

showing to the front. If the lens is clear, then the bulb shall 

be amber.  

3. Parking lamps do not burn with the rear lamps. 

4. If lens has a piece broken from it. Lens may have one or 

more cracks provided no off-color light projects through 

the crack or cracks. 

5. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 

filaments do not burn. 

6. Any vehicle has unapproved lens or plastic covers, any 

other materials which are not original equipment or any 

colored material placed on or in front of parking lamps. 

NOTE. LED (light emitting (light-emitting diode) lights 

with a clear lens are acceptable if of an approved type. For 

those vehicles that are equipped with a multiple LED light 

(not filament burning filament-burning bulbs), they will 

pass inspection if more than 50% of the diode lights are 

burning. 

19VAC30-70-550. Clearance lamps, side marker lamps, 

and reflectors (under 26, 000 26,000 pounds GVWR). 

Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Any motor vehicle, trailer, semitrailer or other vehicle is 

not equipped with clearance lamps if the vehicle is over 

seven feet wide or if any portion extends four inches or 

more outside the front fender line.  

When a motor vehicle with a trailer attached is presented, 

the combination may be considered as one unit in meeting 

this requirement. If presented separately, the individual 

unit must meet these requirements except that any tractor-

truck need not be equipped with rear red dimension or 

marker lamps. 

2. Lamps (DOT or SAE-P2, P3, PC or PC2) or reflectors 

(DOT or SAE-A or B) are not of an approved type or a 

lamp has been altered. 

Reject if the lamps or reflectors have unapproved plastic 

covers, any other materials that are not original equipment 

or any colored material placed on or in front of lamps or 

reflectors. 
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EXCEPTION: A law-enforcement special weapons and 

tactics (SWAT) or tactical armored vehicle, designed and 

manufactured exclusively for SWAT missions, may apply 

protective bars in front of the clearance lamps, side marker 

lamps, and reflectors when designed and installed by the 

manufacturer. 

Retro-reflective surfaces. Retro-reflective surfaces other 

than required reflectors may be used, provided (see 

diagram): 

a. Designs do not resemble traffic control signs, lights, or 

devices, except that straight edge striping resembling a 

barricade pattern may be used. 

b. Designs do not tend to distort the length and/or width 

of the motor vehicle. 

c. Such surfaces shall be at least three inches from any 

required lamp or reflector unless of the same color as 

such lamp or reflector.  

d. No red color shall be used on the front of any motor 

vehicle, except for display of markings or placards 

required by law. 

3. Lenses on lamps on the front are not amber and lenses 

on lamps on the rear are not red or if a lens has a piece 

broken from it. A lens may have one or more cracks 

provided an off-color light does not project through the 

crack or cracks. 

4. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or all 

filaments do not burn. 

NOTE: LED (light emitting (light-emitting diode) lights 

with a clear lens are acceptable, if of an approved type. For 

those vehicles that are equipped with a multiple LED light 

(not filament burning filament-burning bulbs), they will 

pass inspection if more than 50% of the diode lights are 

burning. 

5. Two amber lamps are not mounted on the front and two 

red lamps on the rear, so as to indicate the extreme width 

of the body, and as high on the permanent body as 

practical, except that approved 180 degree lamps with 

yellow or amber lens may be mounted on the side of the 

vehicle at or as near the front as possible, or if the front is 

not the widest portion, the lamps may be installed on the 

side and as near that point as possible. 

And with the further exception that 180 degree lamps with 

red lens may be mounted on the side of the vehicle at or as 

near the rear as possible or if the rear is not the widest 

portion of the vehicle, the lamps may be installed on the 

side as near that point as possible. 

NOTE: Any vehicle equipped with three red identification 

lamps with the lamp centers spaced not less than six inches 

or more than 12 inches apart and installed as close as 

practicable to the top of the vehicle and as close as 

practicable to the vertical centerline of the vehicle may 

have the rear dimension or marker lamps required by 

subdivision 5 of this section mounted at any height but 

indicate as nearly as practicable the extreme width of the 

vehicle. 

NOTE: Dump trucks with a high lift body, concrete mixer 

trucks and other specially constructed vehicles may be 

equipped with the required clearance lamps not mounted 

on the extreme rear, provided such red lamps are clearly 

visible from the rear and provided further that two red 

reflectors of an approved type are mounted on the extreme 

rear. In unusual cases the rear lamp may be mounted on the 

cab and another red reflex reflector placed on the extreme 

rear. 

NOTE: In addition to the required clearance lamps 

showing to the front and to the rear, a vehicle may be 

equipped with side marker lamps on the side of the vehicle. 

When such an installation is used, all of the side marker 

lamps on the side except the one at or near the rear must 

have an amber lens. The side marker lamps on the side at 

or near the rear must have a red lens. 

6. Any vehicle covered by subdivision 1 of this section, 

except school buses, is not equipped with amber reflectors 

on the sides as near the front as practical, and red reflectors 

on the rear. The reflectors must be at least 15 inches and 

not more than 60 inches from the ground. No reflector can 

have a piece broken from its reflective surface, but may 

have one or more cracks. 

7. Any combination of vehicles whose actual length 

exceeds 35 feet if the vehicles are not wide enough to have 

clearance lights, if the vehicle is not equipped with reflex 

reflectors of a type approved by the superintendent and 

mounted on the widest part of the towed vehicle so as to be 

visible from the front and sides of the vehicle. No reflector 

can have a piece broken from its reflective surface, but 

may have one or more cracks. 

8. Any passenger vehicle is equipped with clearance lamps, 

unless such lamps are used to mark the extreme width of 

the vehicle or used as taxicab identification, or used as 

supplemental turn signals. (See 19VAC30-70-190 B.) 

NOTE: Vehicles so constructed as to make compliance 

with the requirements of subdivisions 1, 5, 7, 9 and 10 of 

this section impractical, will be equipped with clearance 

lamps and reflectors at the most practical location to 

provide maximum visibility. 

9. Any vehicle is not equipped with: two front side marker 

lights (amber), two rear side marker lights (red), and two 

rear reflectors (red). 
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19VAC30-70-560. Signal device (intention to stop or turn), 

hazard lights, stop lamps.  

A. Any motor vehicle may be equipped with a switch that 

will permit all turn signal lamps to flash simultaneously. 

B. Supplemental turn signals, properly wired into the turn 

signal circuit may be installed. These may be either approved 

type turn signals or clearance lamps. 

C. Single face lamps are permissible on the front except 

tractor units shall be equipped with two-faced lamps mounted 

on the front fenders or on or near the front of the vehicle. 

D. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Motor vehicle or trailer , trailer, except an antique 

vehicle not originally equipped with a stop lamp, is not 

equipped with at least two stop lamps of an approved type 

(DOT or SAE-S) that automatically exhibit a light through 

a red or amber lens to the rear when the brake pedal is 

actuated.  

2. Proper signals do not go on with each throw of the 

switch or if stop signals do not go on with slightest 

pressure on the brake pedal. Turn signals may flash; 

however, stop signals may not flash . 

Every passenger car manufactured for the 1986 or 

subsequent model year and multipurpose passenger 

vehicle, truck, or bus whose overall width is less than 80 

inches, manufactured September 1, 1993, and subsequent 

model year is not equipped with a supplemental center 

high mount stop lamp of an approved type (DOT or SAE-

U, U1 or U2) mounted at the vertical centerline of the 

vehicle that functions only in cooperation with the 

vehicle's brake lights and hazard lights. Any other vehicle 

on which a supplemental center high mount stop lamp is 

mounted shall have the lamp mounted at the vertical center 

line of the vehicle. The lamps shall be of an approved type 

and shall function only in conjunction with the stop lamps. 

The high mount stop lamp must be steady burning and not 

wired to flash with turn signals or other wig-wag device. 

"Multipurpose passenger vehicle" means any motor vehicle 

that is (i) designed to carry no more than 10 persons and 

(ii) constructed either on a truck chassis or with special 

features for occasional off-road use. 

NOTE: Camper shells and/or other items that may be 

temporarily carried on or attached to multipurpose vehicles 

will not be considered during inspection of the center high 

mount stop lamp, provided the lamp continues to function 

as designed or rear spoilers that obscure the original 

manufacturer's high mount stop lamp must be equipped 

with a center high mount stop lamp in good working order. 

NOTE: The original manufacturer's center high mount stop 

lamp will not be considered for inspection if it is obscured 

by a camper shell or rear spoiler that is equipped with a 

center high mount stop lamp of an approved type. 

NOTE: Multipurpose passenger vehicles with an overall 

width of 80 or more inches or GVWR of 10,000 pounds or 

more are not required to be equipped with a center high 

mount stop light. 

NOTE: No sticker or other foreign material shall be affixed 

to the vehicle in such a manner so as to obscure the center 

high mount stop lamp. 

3. Motor vehicle was manufactured after January 1, 1955, 

and is not equipped with approved signaling devices. 

4. Vehicle is not equipped with a turn signal if such signal 

is not working properly or does not continue to function in 

the same manner as when it was originally manufactured. 

(The turn signal switch shall lock in place when positioned 

for a left turn or a right turn, and the turn signal indicators 

must function. Do not reject a vehicle if the self-cancelling 

mechanism in the switch does not function when the 

steering wheel is rotated.) 

5. Switch is not convenient to the driver and/or not of an 

approved type. 

6. Any vehicle constructed so as to prevent the operator 

from making a hand and arm signal, if such vehicle is not 

equipped with an approved type signaling device. 

7. Turn signal lens is not clear or amber to the front, or red 

or amber to the rear. Lens or bulb color has been altered or 

modified. If the lens is clear, then the bulb shall be amber. 

NOTE: LED (light emitting (light-emitting diode) lights 

with a clear lens are acceptable, if of an approved type. For 

those vehicles that are equipped with a multiple LED light 

(not filament burning filament-burning bulbs), they will 

pass inspection if more than 50% of the diode lights are 

burning. 

8. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 

filaments do not burn.  

9. Lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may have one 

or more cracks provided an off-color light does not project 

through the crack(s). 

NOTE: Taping or gluing cracks or pieces is not allowed. 

NOTE: The hazard warning signal operating unit shall 

operate independently of the ignition or equivalent switch, 

and when activated, cause all turn signals to flash 

simultaneously. 

NOTE: They are deemed not to be installed if none of the 

lights burn or flash when the switch is activated and the 

hazard warning signal flasher unit has been removed. 

10. Device is not mounted near rear for rear signals, or 

near front for front signals (except supplemental turn 

signals) or if the signal is hidden by a bolster or other part 

of body chassis. 

A tractor truck need not be equipped with mechanical or 

electrical signal devices on the rear if it is equipped with 

double-faced signal lamps mounted on the front fenders or 

on the sides near the front of the vehicle clearly visible to 

the rear. 
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11. All "Class A" signals are not mounted at least three feet 

apart. (This does not apply to the combination rear signal 

device.) However, signal lamps that are mounted as far 

apart as practical inside and at the rear of the frame so as to 

be properly visible will meet inspection requirements. 

12. Any vehicle has unapproved lens or plastic covers, any 

other materials that are not original equipment or any 

colored material placed on or in front of signal device 

(intention to stop or turn), hazard lights or stop lamp. 

ILLUSTRATIONS FOR PROPER INSTALLATION AND 

TYPE OF SIGNAL LIGHTS 

 

 

TRUCK: Front  

Permissible --  

Class A Type I  

Class A Type II  

Must show to front -  

may use two faced  

TRUCK: Rear 

Permissible --  

Class A Type I 

Class A Type II  

--or-- 

Combination 

Arrow Tail Stop 

& Signal 

TRACTOR 

TRAILER: Front 

Permissible --  

Class A Type I  

Class A Type II 

Two faced lamps - 

must show to both 

front and rear 

 

TRAILER: Rear 

Permissible 

Class A Type I 

Class A Type II 

-- or 

--  

Combination 

Arrow Tail 

Stop & Signal 

Class A Type I - Are lamps which indicate a change in 

direction by giving flashing warning signal (clear lens - 

amber to front; amber to red on rear) on the side toward 

which the turn will be made. 

Class A Type II - Are lamps which indicate a change in 

direction by means of illuminated arrow heads (flashing or 

steady) on the side toward which the turn will be made. 

 

19VAC30-70-570. Permissible lighting equipment.  

A. Any vehicle may be equipped with: 

1. Running board or courtesy lamps, of not over six 

candlepower. 

2. Vacant or destination signs, if a taxicab or bus. 

3. Identification lamps of approved type (SAE-P2 or P3). 

4. Interior lights. (Not more than 15 candlepower.) 

Exception: This does not apply to alternating, blinking or 

flashing colored emergency lights mounted inside law-

enforcement vehicles or flashing shielded red or red and 

white lights, mounted inside vehicles owned or used by 

members of volunteer fire companies, volunteer rescue 

squads or owned or used by professional firefighters, or 

police chaplains. Also, this does not apply to firefighting 

vehicles equipped with map lights. 

5. A motor vehicle having a GVWR of 10,001 pounds or 

more may be equipped with an illuminated bumper guide 

attached to each end of the front bumper, provided: 

a. The light thereon is amber in color and less than 6 

candlepower. 

b. The light is wired to burn only in conjunction with the 

marker or clearance lamps on the vehicle. 

6. Any approved lamp in good working order when used 

for the purpose for which it was approved. 

B. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Lamps are not of an approved type (DOT or SAE-P2, 

P3, PC), or do not comply with subsection A of this 

section. 

2. Lamps are not installed on the permanent structure of 

the vehicle with one as far to the rear and one as far 

forward as practicable and at a location which is not less 

than 15 inches above the road surface when measured from 

the center of the lamp. 

3. Lamps installed on the side to the rear do not project a 

red light and lamps installed on the front do not project an 

amber light. 

4. Lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may have one 

or more cracks provided no off-color light projects through 

the crack(s). 
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5. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 

filaments do not burn. 

6. Any vehicle has unapproved lens or plastic covers, any 

other materials that are not original equipment or any 

colored material placed on or in front of permissible 

lighting equipment. 

NOTE: LED (light emitting (light-emitting diode) lights 

with a clear lens are acceptable, if of an approved type. For 

those vehicles that are equipped with a multiple LED light 

(not filament burning filament-burning bulbs), they will 

pass inspection if more than 50% of the diode lights are 

burning. 

19VAC30-70-590. Mirrors.  

Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Any motor vehicle is not equipped with at least one 

mirror.  

2. Any bus, truck, road tractor or tractor truck is not 

equipped with two outside rear view mirrors, one at each 

side, firmly attached.  

EXCEPTION: Only one outside mirror shall be required, 

on the driver's side, on vehicles so constructed that the 

driver has a view to the rear by means of an inside mirror.  

Vehicles equipped with only one outside mirror must have 

the mirror on the driver's side.  

NOTE: No motor vehicle shall be required to be equipped 

with an inside rear view mirror if it does not have a rear 

window or if the rear window is so obstructed as to prevent 

rearward vision by means of an inside rear view mirror, if 

the motor vehicle has horizontally and vertically adjustable 

outside rear view mirrors installed on both sides of such 

motor vehicle in such a manner as to provide the driver of 

such motor vehicle a clear view along both sides of such 

motor vehicle for a distance of not less than 200 feet.  

3. Reflecting surface of mirror is cracked, broken, peeled, 

pitted, clouded, tarnished, the image is distorted, has sharp 

edges, reflects more than one image, or is not mounted 

securely.  

4. Mirror does not give the driver a clear view of the road 

200 feet to the rear.  

5. Interior rearview rear view mirror; 

a. Mirror is loose enough that rear view is impaired. 

b. Mirror cannot be adjusted or will not maintain a set 

adjustment. 

6. Exterior rearview rear view mirror;  

a. Mirror is loose enough that rear view is impaired. 

b. Left mirror is obscured by an unwiped portion of 

windshield or mirror is mounted so it cannot be adjusted 

from driver's seat. (Applies to 1969 and subsequent 

model vehicles.) 

NOTE: A right side mirror is not required if the 

reflecting surface of the mirror has been completely 

removed from the mirror housing. However, a vehicle 

will be required to have two outside mirrors if there is a 

sticker or stickers, regardless of size, sun-shading or 

tinting film, on the rear side windows or rear window. 

NOTE: A single sticker, no larger than 20 square inches, 

if such sticker is totally contained within the lower five 

inches of the glass of the rear window, and does not 

obstruct the center high mount brake light, is allowed and 

will pass inspection. 

19VAC30-70-600. Windshield wiper/defroster.  

A. INSPECT FOR AND REJECT IF Inspect for and reject 

if: 

1. Vehicle is equipped with a windshield and is not 

equipped with a windshield wiper.  

2. Vehicle was manufactured before January 1, 1943, and 

is not equipped with at least one wiper on the driver's side. 

This wiper may be hand operated; operated by hand.  

3. Vehicle was manufactured after January 1, 1943, and is 

not equipped with a windshield wiper or wipers that clear 

both sides of the windshield; these wipers must be 

mechanically operated (electrical, vacuum, or air, but not 

by hand). A switch in good working order must be present 

to turn the wipers on and off. Any wiper that parks within 

the area covered by the driver's windshield wiper blade, 

excluding the three inches above the bottom of the 

windshield shall be rejected (19VAC30-70-580 B 6).  

4. Blade has brittle, worn, torn, or ripped rubber or if metal 

comes in contact with the windshield; the blade is not 

securely attached to wiper arm.  

5. Wiper does not operate freely; or if it is an electrically or 

mechanically operated wiper that must be operated by 

hand.  

NOTE: Inspect only wipers found on the front windshield.  

B. Windshield Defroster: Vehicles manufactured after 

January 1, 1969, must be equipped with windshield defroster 

systems.  

INSPECT FOR AND REJECT IF Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Any 1969 or subsequent model not equipped with a 

windshield defroster system.  

2. Defroster fan fails to function.  

3. Fan functions, but a warm stream of air cannot be felt 

blowing against the windshield. (Engine must be warm and 

all elements of the defroster system must be in the on 

position.)  

19VAC30-70-610. Horns and other warning devices.  

INSPECT FOR AND REJECT IF Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Vehicle is not equipped with a horn in good working 

order, capable of emitting a sound audible under normal 

conditions over a distance of not less than 200 feet and is 

not firmly mounted.  
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2. A horn operating mechanism installed at a location 

readily accessible to the vehicle operator is not provided. 

Electrically operated horn, wiring, or electrical connections 

are defective.  

3. Vehicles used for garbage and refuse collection and 

disposal, or vehicles having a manufacturer's gross vehicle 

weight rating of 10,001 pounds or more and used primarily 

for highway repair or maintenance are not equipped with a 

device of an approved type wired through the reverse gear 

circuit, in good working order, which automatically emits 

an audible alarm signal when the vehicle is operated in 

reverse gear.  

19VAC30-70-620. Doors.  

INSPECT FOR AND REJECT IF Inspect for and reject if: 

1. If each door located at the left and right side of the 

driver's seat is not equipped with a handle or opening 

device similar to that installed by the vehicle manufacturer 

which will permit the opening of the door from the outside 

and inside of the vehicle.  

2. If each door located to the left and right side of the 

driver's seat is not equipped with a latching system similar 

to that installed by the vehicle manufacturer which will 

hold the door in its proper closed position.  

19VAC30-70-630. Hood latch system.  

A. "Hood" means any exterior movable body panel forward 

of the windshield that is used to cover an engine, luggage, 

storage or battery compartment.  

INSPECT FOR AND REJECT IF Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Each hood is not provided with a hood latch system that 

will securely hold the hood in its proper fully-closed 

position.  

2. The latch release mechanism or its parts are broken, 

missing or badly adjusted so that the hood cannot be 

opened and closed properly.  

3. Latching system on a vehicle equipped with a tilt cab is 

defective, broken, missing, or not properly adjusted so that 

the tilt cab is held securely when it is in its latched 

position.  

19VAC30-70-640. Floor pan.  

INSPECT FOR AND REJECT IF Inspect for and reject if: 

1. The floor pan or inner side panels, front or rear, are 

rusted out or have any holes other than normal drain holes 

which allow exhaust gases to enter the occupant 

compartment or trunk.  

2. The floor pan is rusted through or is in such condition to 

create a hazard to the occupants. (A hole in the floor pan 

which has been properly repaired by welding, or through 

the utilization of a metal patch riveted, screwed or welded 

to its surface is not prohibited. If the floor pan was initially 

constructed from wood, it may be patched with wood.)  

19VAC30-70-650. Seat.  

INSPECT FOR AND REJECT IF Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Any motor vehicle is not equipped with a seat to 

accommodate the operator.  

2. The seat is not securely anchored.  

3. Seat adjusting mechanism slips out of set position or 

seat does not lock in normal upright position. Do not reject 

the seat if it will not adjust as long as it does not violate 

subdivision 4 of this section.  

4. The seat is not located to permit the operator to have 

adequate control of the steering and braking mechanisms 

and other instruments necessary for the safe operation of 

the motor vehicle.  

19VAC30-70-670. Muffler, exhaust system, and trailer 

venting.  

A. Flexible tubing may be used anywhere in the exhaust 

system.  

B. Inspection of exhaust system does not concern noise 

level.  

C. INSPECT FOR AND REJECT IF Inspect for and reject 

if: 

1. There is any leakage of exhaust gases at any point in the 

system. Do not reject "built-in" drain holes in muffler or 

tailpipe.  

2. A muffler or catalytic converter has been repaired in any 

manner. The exhaust pipe may be welded to the muffler or 

catalytic converter. Holes or cracks in the exhaust line have 

been repaired with a patch or caulking.  

3. Tailpipe opening is mashed or pinched.  

4. Brackets are loose, broken, or missing.  

5. Discharge of exhaust:  

a. The exhaust system fails to discharge the exhaust to 

the rear or sides of that part of a property-carrying 

vehicle which is designed for and normally used for the 

driver and passengers, and to the rear or sides of the 

passenger and trunk compartment of passenger vehicles.  

b. The exhaust system of a bus powered by a gasoline 

engine shall discharge to the atmosphere at or within six 

inches forward of the rearmost part of the bus.  

EXCEPTION: Type I small forward control buses 

(14,000 GVWR Class) and cutaway model buses (10,000 

GVWR or less) may discharge the exhaust behind the 

rear wheels.  

c. The exhaust system of a bus powered by other than a 

gasoline engine shall discharge to the atmosphere either:  

(1) At or within 15 inches forward of the rearmost part of 

the vehicle; or  

(2) To the rear of all doors or windows designed to open, 

except windows designed to be opened solely as 

emergency exits.  
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6. Inspection of trailers and semitrailers will include a 

visual inspection of the venting of cooking or heating 

appliances to the outside of the trailer or semitrailer to 

determine if the heating and cooking appliances are 

adequately vented to the outside to prevent the 

asphyxiation of occupants of any trailer or semitrailer by 

the operation of the heating or cooking appliances.  

a. Reject the trailer or semitrailer if not equipped with a 

vent or venting system to the outside.  

b. Reject the trailer or semitrailer if there is any complete 

or partial obstruction of the vent or venting system.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (19VAC30-70)  

Inspection Sticker Inventory Report, Form SP-221 (8/1/94).  

Safety Inspector Notification Form (rev. 11/98.)  

Mechanics Certification Application, Form SP-170-B, 

(9/04).  

Criminal History Record Name Search Request, Form SP-

167 (9/04).  

Authorization for Release of Information, SP-170-D (eff. 

09/78). 

Safety Inspector Notification Form (rev. 6/2012) 

Mechanics Certification Application, SP-170-B (rev. 

6/2012) - must be obtained from Virginia State Police area 

office 

Criminal History Record Name Search Request, SP-167 

(rev. 12/2012) - must be obtained from Virginia State Police 

area office 

Authorization for Release of Information, SP-170-D (rev. 

10/2013) - must be obtained from Virginia State Police area 

office  

Inspection Station Complaint/Report, SP-164 (rev. 10/01). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4533; Filed June 24, 2016, 1:34 p.m.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5cd6b004533~1&typ=40&actno=004533&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=749a2002928~2&typ=40&actno=002928&mime=application/pdf
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Bureau of Insurance 

July 1, 2016 

Administrative Letter 2016-05 

TO: All Companies Licensed to Write Fire and Fire in 

Combination with Other Coverages Including Policies 

Providing Homeowners Coverage, Coverage on Owner-

Occupied Dwellings, and Coverage for Tenants; and 

Interested Parties 

RE: Mandatory Notices; Withdrawal of Administrative 

Letter 2015-05 

This administrative letter compiles information provided in a 

previous administrative letter about notices required by a 

number of statutes when issuing certain property insurance 

policies and provides guidance as to when and how such 

notices should be provided. This letter also reflects the 

changes made to the statutes referenced below by Chapter 4 

of 2016 Acts of the Assembly (House Bill 307), which is 

effective January 1, 2017. Consequently, the following 

administrative letter is hereby withdrawn: 2015-05. 

The notices described in this letter are not subject to approval 

by the Bureau of Insurance (Bureau), and should not be filed 

with the Bureau. Unless otherwise specified in the statute, 

insurers have flexibility as to the manner in which the notice 

is provided. For example, a stuffer may be used at the time a 

policy is mailed to an insured, or the notice may be 

prominently displayed on the application. However, the 

notice must not be ambiguous or obscure and must be given 

no later than at the time the new or renewal policy is 

delivered.
1
 

Except as noted below, the policies to which the notice 

requirements identified in this letter apply include all fire 

policies and fire policies in combination with other coverages, 

including but not limited to mobile home policies, dwelling 

fire policies, homeowners policies, renters policies, 

commercial fire policies, commercial package policies 

providing fire coverage, and master policies providing 

mortgage force-placed fire coverage that are issued in 

Virginia. The notice requirements addressed in this letter do 

not apply to surplus lines policies or mutual assessment fire 

policies, except that the notice required by Section 38.2-305 

of the Code of Virginia must be provided when issuing 

mutual assessment fire policies. 

Important Information to Policyholders Notice 

Subsection B of § 38.2-305 of the Code of Virginia 

requires that a specific notice be provided with each new or 

renewal insurance policy, contract, certificate, or evidence of 

coverage issued to a policyholder, covered person, or 

enrollee. This notice must read substantially the same as the 

notice in the Code. Examiners frequently find that this 

notice is not given when policies are renewed or when a 

renewal certificate is issued. The insurer should ensure that 

this notice is being given when required. This notice 

applies to all classes of insurance except those exempted 

in § 38.2-300 of the Code of Virginia, and except as 

specifically noted in subsection E of § 38.2-305 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Replacement Cost Coverage 

Section 38.2-2118 of the Code of Virginia requires every 

insurer writing new or renewal insurance policies on owner-

occupied dwellings and appurtenant structures that have 

replacement cost provisions to provide a notice with the 

policy (1) outlining the minimum coverage requirement 

necessary to make the replacement cost provision fully 

effective, and (2) the effect on a claim payment of not 

meeting the minimum coverage requirement. 

Functional Replacement Cost Coverage 

Subsection C of § 38.2-2119 of the Code of Virginia requires 

all insurers offering coverage on a functional replacement 

cost basis to enclose with all new business policies a notice 

printed in boldface type containing the following statement,  

Important Notice  

The coverage under this policy applies on a function 

replacement cost basis which means that under certain 

conditions, claims may be settled for less than the actual cash 

value of the property insured.  

Coverage for Water that Backs Up Through Sewers and 

Drains 

Section 38.2-2120 of the Code of Virginia provides that any 

insurer who issues or delivers a homeowners insurance policy 

(including a tenant's personal property policy) as defined in 

§ 38.2-130 of the Code of Virginia in the Commonwealth 

shall offer, as an option, coverage insuring against loss caused 

or resulting from water which backs up through sewers or 

drains. This offer must accompany all new and renewal 

policies. 

Building Ordinance or Law Coverage 

Section 38.2-2124 of the Code of Virginia requires any 

insurer that issues a policy of fire insurance, or fire 

insurance in combination with other coverage, to provide a 

written offer of coverage for the repair or replacement of 

property in accordance with applicable ordinances or laws 

that regulate construction, repair, or demolition. This offer 

must accompany all new and renewal policies. 

Flood Notice 

Section 38.2-2125 of the Code of Virginia requires any 

insurer that issues a policy of fire insurance or fire insurance 

in combination with other coverage that excludes 

coverage for damage due to flood, surface water, waves, 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter3/section38.2-305/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter3/section38.2-305/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter3/section38.2-305/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter3/section38.2-300/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter3/section38.2-305/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter21/section38.2-2118/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter21/section38.2-2119/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter21/section38.2-2120/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter1/section38.2-130/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter21/section38.2-2124/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter21/section38.2-2125/
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tidal water, or any other overflow of a body of water to 

provide written notice that explicitly states (1) that flood 

damage is excluded; (2) that information about flood 

insurance is available from the insurer, the insurance 

agent, or the National Flood Insurance Program; and (3) 

that contents coverage is available on the flood policy for 

an additional premium. This notice must accompany all new 

and renewal policies. 

Insurance Credit Score Disclosure Notice 

Any insurer issuing or delivering a homeowners or tenant 

policy that uses credit information contained in a consumer 

report for underwriting, tier placement, or rating an applicant 

or insured shall disclose, on the insurance application, at the 

time the application is taken, or at renewal if no previous 

notice has been given, the information required by § 38.2- 

2126 A 1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Insurance Credit Score Adverse Action Notice 

Subsection A 2 of § 38.2-2126 of the Code of Virginia 

requires insurers that take adverse actions, based in whole 

or in part, upon credit information to provide notice to 

applicants or insureds (on owner-occupied and tenant 

residential property policies) that the adverse action was 

based in whole or in part on credit. The notice must also 

provide a statement of the primary factors or characteristics 

that were used as the basis for the adverse action, or notify 

the applicant or insured that he may request such 

information. For  the purposes of § 38.2-2126 of the Code 

of Virginia, an adverse action is defined as a denial, 

nonrenewal or cancellation of, an increase in any charge for 

or refusal to apply a discount, or placement in less 

favorable tier, or a reduction or other adverse or 

unfavorable change in the terms of coverage or amount 

of, any insurance, existing or applied for, in connection 

with underwriting, tier placement, or rating. Adverse action 

includes, but is not limited to, circumstances where the 

applicant or insured (i) did not receive the insurer's most 

favorable rate, (ii) was not placed in the insurer's best 

tier, and (iii) when there are multiple insurers available 

within a group of insurers, the applicant or insured did not 

receive coverage with the group's most favorably priced 

insurer. In the case of renewals, the circumstances listed in 

(i), (ii), and (iii) are not adverse actions if, due to the 

insured's credit information, the insured is not receiving a 

less favorable rate, or placed in a less favorable tier or 

company than during the policy period immediately 

preceding the renewal policy. 

Notice of Change in Deductible 

Section 38.2-2127 of the Code of Virginia requires an insurer 

to provide a written notice whenever it unilaterally changes 

the deductible on a policy written to insure an owner-occupied 

dwelling (homeowners and dwelling fire policies). The notice 

must (1) state that the deductible has changed and (2) explain 

how the new deductible will be applied. The law prohibits the 

insurer from changing the deductible except at renewal. 

Insurers should be aware that the law is not limited to 

changes in the deductible because of the territory or location 

of the property. For example, if the insurer unilaterally 

changes the deductible because of the insured's loss history, 

the notice must be given. 

NOTE: Deductibles may only be unilaterally changed at 

renewal. Therefore, insurers are prohibited from changing 

a deductible unilaterally during the policy term, including 

the 90-day underwriting period once coverage is bound. 

Where the need arises to make a change in a deductible 

during the underwriting period, insurers must cancel the 

policy and offer to write with a different deductible. 

However, insurers may make changes, such as increasing 

deductibles or increasing limits, during the underwriting 

period if the insured agrees to such changes, or if the 

application, signed by the insured, advises the insured that the 

deductible may be changed. 

Earthquake Notice 

Section 38.2-2129 of the Code of Virginia requires 

insurers issuing new or renewal policies of fire insurance, 

or fire insurance in combination with other insurance 

coverages, which exclude coverage for damage caused by 

earthquake, to provide a written notice that explicitly states, 

"earthquake coverage is excluded unless purchased by 

endorsement." This notice must state that information 

regarding such coverage is available from the insurer or 

the agent if earthquake coverage is otherwise available 

from the insurer. Insurers may use notices that 

unambiguously set forth the information required by the law 

even if the language of the notice is not in the precise 

language that is quoted in the law. 

All insurers issuing policies covering fire and fire in 

combination with other coverages including policies providing 

homeowners coverage, coverage on owner-occupied 

dwellings, and coverage for tenants should review this letter 

and make the changes required by 2016 Acts of the Assembly 

c. 558 (House Bill 307) by the effective date of the legislation, 

January 1, 2017. 

Questions about this administrative letter should be directed to 

Bureau of Insurance Manager, P&C Market Conduct Section, 

telephone (804) 371-9826, or email 

bureauofinsurance@scc.virginia.gov. 

_________________________________ 

1Additional information may be found in the Common Problems Found 
During Examinations Identified by the Property and Casualty Market 

Conduct and Consumer Services Sections that is located at 

http://scc.virginia.gov/boi/laws.aspx. 

/s/ Jacqueline K. Cunningham 

Commissioner of Insurance 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter21/section38.2-2126/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter21/section38.2-2126/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter21/section38.2-2126/
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000%2Bcod%2B38.2-2126
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter21/section38.2-2126/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter21/section38.2-2126/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter21/section38.2-2127/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter21/section38.2-2129/
mailto:BureauofInsurance@scc.virginia.gov
http://scc.virginia.gov/boi/laws.aspx
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July 1, 2016 

Administrative Letter 2016-06 

TO: All Insurers Licensed to Write Motor Vehicle Policies 

and Interested Parties 

RE: Mandatory Notices; Withdrawal of Administrative 

Letter 2015-06 

This administrative letter compiles information provided in a 

previous administrative letter about notices required by a 

number of statutes when issuing motor vehicle insurance 

policies and provides guidance as to when and how such 

notices should be provided. This letter also reflects the 

changes made to the statutes referenced below by Chapter 

558 of the 2016 Acts of the Assembly (House Bill 307), 

which is effective January 1, 2017. Consequently, the 

following administrative letter is hereby withdrawn: 2015-06. 

The notices described in this letter are not subject to approval 

by the Bureau of Insurance, and should not be filed with the 

Bureau. Unless otherwise specified in the statute, insurers 

have flexibility as to the manner in which the notice is 

provided. For example, when the statute requires a notice to 

be given on a new policy, a stuffer may be used at the time a 

policy is mailed to an insured, or the notice may be 

prominently displayed on the application. However, the 

notice must not be ambiguous or obscure and must be given 

not later than when the new policy is delivered.
1
 

Important Information to Policyholders Notice 

Subsection B of § 38.2-305 of the Code of Virginia requires 

that a specific notice be provided with each new or renewal 

insurance policy, contract, certificate, or evidence of coverage 

issued to a policyholder, covered person, or enrollee. This 

notice must read substantially the same as the notice in the 

Code. Examiners frequently find that this notice is not given 

when policies are renewed or when a renewal certificate is 

issued. Insurers should ensure that this notice is given when 

required. This notice applies to all classes of insurance except 

those exempted in § 38.2-305 of the Code of Virginia, and 

except as specifically noted in subsection E of § 38.2-305 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Point Surcharge Notice 

Subsection A of § 38.2-1905 of the Code of Virginia requires 

insurers to provide notice in writing to a named insured 

anytime the insurer increases the premium or charges points 

as a result of a motor vehicle accident. Furthermore, such 

notice shall inform the named insured that he may appeal the 

decision of the insurer to the Commissioner if he believes the 

action of the insurer is without just cause. In addition, the 

notice shall include the requirement that the appeal be in 

writing and made within 60 days of the receipt of the notice 

of any premium increase adjustment or any point charge 

resulting from a motor vehicle accident. 

Offer of Medical Expense and Income Loss Coverages 

Section 38.2-2202 A of the Code of Virginia requires insurers 

issuing new policies in Virginia insuring the ownership, 

maintenance, or use of a motor vehicle offer at least $2000 in 

coverage for medical expense benefits and at least $100 per 

week in income loss benefits. This section requires that 

insurers include the IMPORTANT NOTICE provided in the 

statute with the policy. This notice is not required be provided 

on renewal policies. The notice must be in boldface type and 

read exactly as stated in the statute. However, insurers are 

not precluded from offering of both higher and lower 

limits. 

Notice that UM/UIM Limits May Be Reduced 

Subsection B of § 38.2-2202 of the Code of Virginia requires 

insurers issuing new policies covering the ownership, 

maintenance, or use of a motor vehicles to provide notice that 

the named insured may reduce his uninsured/underinsured 

motorist limits to limits less than the liability limits on the 

policy. The notice must be in boldface type and read exactly 

as stated in the statute. Once any named insured has reduced 

the limits on the uninsured/underinsured motorists coverage 

below those on the liability coverage, the election is binding 

on all insureds. 

Warning Concerning Cancellation of Motor Vehicle Liability 

Policy 

Section 38.2-2210 of the Code of Virginia requires that a 

specific notice be printed in boldface type on or attached to an 

application for motor vehicle insurance as defined in § 38.2-

2212 of the Code of Virginia. The Bureau frequently finds 

that this notice is not provided on or with the application.  

Insurers should review their applications to ensure 

compliance with all of the requirements of this section of the 

Code. The notice required by this section shall be given to an 

applicant within 10 days of the date of the application in the 

event the applicant is not provided a written copy of the 

application and the coverage has been bound by the insurer. 

Insurance Credit Score Disclosure Notice 

Any insurer issuing or delivering a policy of motor vehicle 

insurance, as defined in § 38.2-2212, that uses credit 

information contained in a consumer report for underwriting, 

tier placement, or rating an applicant or insured shall disclose, 

on the insurance application, at the time the application is 

taken, or at renewal if no previous notice has been given, the 

information required by Subdivision A 1 of § 38.2-2234 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Insurance Credit Score Adverse Action Notice 

Subdivision A 2 of § 38.2-2234 of the Code of Virginia 

requires insurers that take adverse actions, based in whole or 

in part, upon credit information to provide notice to 

applicants or insureds on policies of motor vehicle 

insurance, as defined in § 38.2-2212 of the Code of 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter3/section38.2-305/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter3/section38.2-305/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter3/section38.2-305/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter19/section38.2-1905/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter22/section38.2-2202/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter22/section38.2-2202/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter22/section38.2-2210/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter22/section38.2-2212/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter22/section38.2-2212/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter22/section38.2-2212/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter22/section38.2-2234/
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000%2Bcod%2B38.2-2126
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter22/section38.2-2234/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter22/section38.2-2212/
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Virginia that the adverse action was based in whole or in 

part on credit. The notice must either provide a statement of 

the primary factors or characteristics that were used as the 

basis for the adverse action, or notify the applicant or insured 

that he may request such information. For the purposes of 

§ 38.2-2234 of the Code of Virginia, an adverse action is 

defined as a denial, nonrenewal or cancellation of, an increase 

in any charge for or refusal to apply a discount, or placement 

in a less favorable tier, or a reduction or other adverse or 

unfavorable change in the terms of coverage or amount of, 

any insurance, existing or applied for, in connection with 

underwriting, tier placement, or rating. Adverse action 

includes, but is not limited to, circumstances where the 

applicant or insured (i) did not receive the insurer's most 

favorable rate, (ii) was not placed in the insurer's best tier, 

and (iii) when there are multiple insurers available within a 

group of insurers, the applicant or insured did not receive 

coverage with the group's most favorably priced insurer.  In 

the case of renewals, the circumstances listed in (i), (ii), and 

(iii) are not adverse actions if, due to the insured's credit 

information, the insured is not receiving a less favorable rate, 

or placed in a less favorable tier or company than during the 

policy period immediately preceding the renewal policy. 

Offer of Rental Reimbursement Coverage 

Section 38.2-2230 of the Code of Virginia requires that every 

insurer issuing a new or renewal policy of motor vehicle 

insurance, as defined in § 38.2-2212 of the Code of Virginia, 

which provides comprehensive or collision coverage, must 

offer, in writing, to the named insured the option of 

purchasing rental reimbursement coverage.  This notice must 

be given by insurers writing motor vehicle policies insuring 

as the named insured one individual or a husband and wife 

who are residents of the same household where the vehicle is 

a private passenger type vehicle. Commercial policies 

endorsed to provide coverage for individuals must also 

provide this notice if the vehicle is a private passenger type 

vehicle. 

All insurers issuing motor vehicle insurance policies should 

review this letter and make the changes required by 2016 

Acts of the Assembly c. 558 (House Bill 307) by the effective 

date of the legislation, January 1, 2017. 

Questions about this administrative letter should be directed 

to Bureau of Insurance Manager, P&C Market Conduct, 

telephone (804) 371-9826, or email 

bureauofInsurance@scc.virginia.gov. 

____________________________ 

1Additional information may be found in the Common Problems Found 
During Examinations Identified by the Property and Casualty Market 

Conduct and Consumer Services Sections that is located at 

http://scc.virginia.gov/boi/laws.aspx. 

/s/ Jacqueline K. Cunningham 

Commissioner of Insurance 

July 1, 2016 

Administrative Letter 2016-07 

TO: All Companies Licensed, Approved, Registered or 

Accredited under Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia 

RE: Implementation of Principle-Based Reserving for Life, 

Annuity, and Accident and Health Contracts pursuant to 

Article 10 of Chapter 13 of the Code of Virginia 

During the 2014 General Assembly Session, the Virginia 

General Assembly enacted House Bill 631, which added a 

new Article 10 to Chapter 13 of Title 38.2 (Standard 

Valuation Act) of the Code of Virginia. House Bill 631 

required insurance companies to use a principle-based reserve 

basis for life, annuity, and accident and health contracts, and 

to use a Valuation Manual adopted by the National 

Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC). Pursuant to 

Virginia Code § 38.2-1379, use of the Valuation Manual will 

become effective on January 1 of the first calendar year 

following the first July 1 when certain conditions have been 

met, including that at least 42 states/U.S. jurisdictions have 

enacted the revised NAIC Standard Valuation Law model, or 

substantially similar terms and provisions, and that the NAIC 

has adopted the Valuation Manual. The Bureau of Insurance 

has determined that these conditions have been met.  

In light of the above, the provisions in Virginia Code §§ 38.2-

1379 and 38.2-1380 pertaining to principle-based reserving 

and use of the Valuation Manual shall become effective for 

life, annuity, and accident and health contracts issued on or 

after January 1, 2017. 

Questions concerning this administrative letter may be 

addressed to Gregory D. Walker, Supervisor, Financial 

Analysis Section - Domestic Companies, Financial 

Regulation Division, Bureau of Insurance, State Corporation 

Commission, P.O. Box 1157, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 371-9604, or email 

greg.walker@scc.virginia.gov. 

/s/ Jacqueline K. Cunningham 

Commissioner of Insurance 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Public Comments on Addiction Treatment Services 
Benefit Delivery System Design 

The Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) is 

seeking public comment in relation to future DMAS 

initiatives to improve Medicaid service benefits and delivery 

systems for individuals with substance use disorders (SUD), 

including ensuring that a sufficient continuum of care is 

available to effectively treat the physical, behavioral, and 

mental dimensions of SUD. DMAS welcomes public 

comment on the entire addiction treatment services benefit 

delivery system design. 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter22/section38.2-2234/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter22/section38.2-2230/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter22/section38.2-2212/
mailto:Joy.morton@scc.virginia.gov
http://scc.virginia.gov/boi/laws.aspx
mailto:Greg.Walker@scc.virginia.gov
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For more information regarding the substance use disorder 

benefit, please visit http://www.dmas.virginia.gov 

/Content_pgs/bh-sud.aspx. 

Public comment submission by mail: Written comments shall 

be addressed to Ashley Harrell, Policy and Planning 

Specialist, Division of Integrated Care and Behavioral 

Services, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219. 

Public comment submission electronically: For ease in 

compilation of comments, all submissions must be in 

Microsoft Word and submitted as an email attachment to 

sud@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Important Date: To submit public comments, please send 

comments to sud@dmas.virginia.gov by 5 p.m. on August 1, 

2016. There will be additional opportunities for public 

comment. The department will also continue its longstanding 

practice of meeting regularly with stakeholder groups, 

providing information, and gathering additional input on the 

important features of SUD programs. 

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 

Division of Policy and Research, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 

1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX 

(804) 786-1680, TDD (800) 343-0634, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD AND THE 
DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION AND 

RECREATION 

Total Maximum Daily Load Implementation Plan for 
the Little Calfpasture River 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) and the 

Department of Conservation and Recreation (DCR) seek 

written and oral comments from interested persons on the 

development of a total maximum daily load (TMDL) 

implementation plan (IP) for the Little Calfpasture River in 

Rockbridge County. The Little Calfpasture River was listed 

on the 1996 § 303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report as 

impaired due to violations of the state's general (benthic) 

standard for aquatic life. This impairment extends for 0.82 

miles from the Lake Merriweather Dam to the confluence 

with the Maury River. 

Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C 

of the Code of Virginia require DEQ to develop TMDLs for 

pollutants responsible for each impaired water contained in 

Virginia's § 303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report. In 

addition, § 62.1-44.19:7 C of the Code of Virginia requires 

expeditious implementation of total maximum daily loads 

when appropriate. The IP should provide measurable goals 

and the date of expected achievement of water quality 

objectives. The IP should also include the corrective actions 

needed and their associated costs, benefits, and environmental 

impacts. DEQ completed a benthic TMDL for the Little 

Calfpasture River in January 2009. The TMDL was approved 

by the Environmental Protection Agency in April 2010. The 

TMDL report is available on the DEQ website at 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityIn

formationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/ApprovedTM

DLReports.aspx. 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality will host 

a public meeting to initiate the development of a TMDL 

implementation plan for the Little Calfpasture River on 

Tuesday, August 2, 2016, at 7 p.m. at the Goshen Volunteer 

Fire Hall, 140 Main Street, Goshen VA. 

A 30-day public comment period for the meeting begins 

August 3, 2016, and ends September 1, 2016. Written 

comments should include the name, address, and telephone 

number of the person submitting the comments and should be 

sent to Nesha McRae, Department of Environmental Quality, 

P.O. Box 3000, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, telephone (540) 

574-7850, or email nesha.mcrae@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, General Assembly Building, 201 North 9th 

Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: Voice 

(804) 786-3591; Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

http://www.virginia.gov/connect/commonwealth-calendar. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 

http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/Content_pgs/bh-sud.aspx
http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/Content_pgs/bh-sud.aspx
mailto:Emily.McClellan@dmas.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/ApprovedTMDLReports.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/ApprovedTMDLReports.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/ApprovedTMDLReports.aspx
varegs@dls.virginia.gov
http://www.virginia.gov/connect/commonwealth-calendar
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
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ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF GENERAL SERVICES 

Title of Regulation: 1VAC30-45. Certification for 

Noncommercial Environmental Laboratories. 

Publication: 32:22 VA.R. 2754-2805 June 27, 2016 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 2785, 1VAC30-45-760 A 1, line 6 after "1VAC30-45-

775," delete "1VAC30-45-791 through 1VAC30-45-798, and 

1VAC30-45-811" and insert "[ 1VAC30-45-791 1VAC30-45-

790 ] through 1VAC30-45-798, and [ 1VAC30-45-811 

1VAC30-45-810 through 1VAC30-45-818 ]" 

Page 2785, 1VAC30-45-760 B 1 b, line 2, after "analyte" 

insert "or analytes" 

Page 2793, 1VAC30-45-791 B 1, line 3, after "organism" 

insert "or organisms" 

Page 2793, 1VAC30-45-791 B 1, line 4, after "organism" 

insert "or organisms" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3334; Filed July 4, 2016, 11:31 a.m. 
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